Skip to main content

Full text of "Encyclopedia of Massachusetts, biographical--genealogical"

See other formats


















M A 


ka/^ 4>; 


Enryclnpetita gf Massachusetts 

Biographical — Genealogical 

Compiled with the Assistance of a 

Capable Corps of Advisers and Contributors 




Both justice and decency require that we should bestow on our forefathers 
an honorable remembrance — Thucydides 


S^i^'f//^ yl^j^yL^fla/'^fr 


MAYO, Alfred Nye, 

Head of Important Industries. 

The late Alfred Nye Mayo, who was a 
man of enterprise and worth, closely 
allied with many of the leading industries 
of various cities of the State of Massachu- 
setts, of which he was a native, traced his 
lineage back many centuries, he having 
been a worthy descendant of an honored 
English family, the line of descent being 
as follows : 

(I) John Mayo, born in England, a uni- 
versity graduate and a minister of the 
gospel, who came to New England about 
1638, and settled in Barnstable, Massa- 
chusetts. In 1639 a teaching elder of the 
church over which Rev. John Lothrop 
was the settled pastor. He was admitted 
a freeman in 1640, and was settled pastor 
of the church at Eastham. In 1655 he was 
called to the Second Church of Boston, 
or what is now the Old South Church, as 
its first pastor, he being followed by Dr. 
Increase Mather, with whom he was long 
associated. In 1673 he resigned the pas- 
torate of the Second Church, and in 1676 
died in Yarmouth, Massachusetts. His 
wife, Tamsin, whom he married in Eng- 
land, died in Yarmouth in 1682. Their 
five children, born in England, were as 
follows : Hannah, married Nathaniel Ba- 
con, of Barnstable ; Samuel, a seafaring 
man, long master of a vessel trading be- 
tween Boston and Cape Cod ports, was 
one of the early settlers of Oyster Bay, 
Long Island, but later settled in Boston, 
Massachusetts, where he died in 1663; 
John (2), of further mention; Nathaniel, 
who represented Eastham in the General 
Court in 1660, and died in 1662, married 

Hannah, daughter of Governor Thomas 
Prence, of Plymouth Colony, and reared 
a large family ; Elizabeth, married Joseph 
Howes, of Yarmouth. 

(II) John (2) Mayo, son of Rev. John 
(i) and Tamsin Mayo, was taken to East- 
ham, with his father, but later returned 
to Barnstable, where, as per town records, 
he was living in 1672. He married Han- 
nah Reycroft (perhaps this name is Le- 
craft). They were the parents of nine 
children: John, born December 15, 1652; 
William, October 7, 1654; James, Octo- 
ber 3, 1656; Samuel, August 2, 1658; Eli- 
sha, November 7, 1661 ; Daniel, Janu- 
ary 24, 1664; Nathaniel, April 2, 1667; 
Thomas, June 24, 1670, died in infancy; 
Thomas, of further mention. 

(III) Thomas Mayo, son of John (2) 
and Hannah (Reycroft) Mayo, was born 
in Barnstable, Massachusetts, July 15, 
1672. In 1695 he was residing in East- 
ham, Massachusetts, and by wife Mary 
had daughters, Mary, Mercy, Hannah, 
and an only son Noah. 

(IV) Noah Mayo, son of Thomas and 
Mary Mayo, was living in Truro, Massa- 
chusetts, at the time of his marriage to 
Mary Cushing, that marriage occurring 
some time during the period 1742-43. 
They moved to Provincetown, Massachu- 
setts, but his eldest child, Noah (2), was 
born in Truro. 

(V) Noah (2) Mayo, son of Noah (i) 
and Mary (Cushing) Mayo, was born 
about 1743-44. In 1764 he married Hope 
Rich. They were the parents of seven 
children: Noah, born in 1767, died in 
Truro in 1809 ; Nehemiah Doane, born 
1769, married Malatiah Rich; Thomas, 


born 1772, married Sarah Rich ; Mary, 
born 1774, married Zoheth Smith ; John 
(3), of further mention; Jane, born 1784, 
married Moses Paine; Samuel, born 1787, 
married, in 1810, Tirzal Wiley, of Well- 

(VI) Captain John (3) Mayo, son of 
Noah (2) and Hope (Rich) Mayo, was born 
in 1776, at either Truro or Provincetown, 
Massachusetts, authorities conflicting. He 
early began following the sea, and during 
the second war with Great Britain was a 
successful blockade runner. Later he re- 
tired from the sea, although he was a cap- 
tain for many years, and settled on a farm 
in Truro, where he died, aged about 
eighty years. In 1798 he married Hannah 
Rich, who lived to the great age of ninety- 
six years. They were the parents of 
seven children : John, Alfred, Timothy, 
Amaziah, of further mention ; Susan, mar- 
ried an Atwood, of Truro; Hannah, and 

(VII) Amaziah Mayo, son of Captain 
John (3) and Hannah (Rich) Mayo, was 
born in Truro, Massachusetts, June 4, 
1812, and died in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, January 8, 1892. He was educated 
in the public schools and in Wilbraham 
Academy, later serving a four years' ap- 
prenticeship at the carpenter's trade. He 
became a building contractor before he 
was thirty, and in 1842 located in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, where he erected 
many high-class residences and public 
buildings. Among the latter class may be 
named the William Rice Library build- 
ing, State Street Methodist Episcopal 
Church, Springfield High School, and 
other school buildings, also the Woman's 
Reformatory at Sherborn. He owned con- 
siderable real estate in Ward I, which he 
laid out in streets, also improving that 
section by the erection of many resi- 
dences. He gave particular attention to 
the development of North Chestnut street. 

he owning considerable property thereon. 
He was a Republican in politics, and a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal 

Amaziah Mayo married, April 16, 1843, 
Hester A. R. (Nye) Mayo, widow of his 
brother Alfred, a sea captain who was lost 
at sea. Mrs. Mayo was born in Chatham, 
Massachusetts, August 14, 1820, daughter 
of Isaiah and Keziah (Rider) Nye. Isaiah 
Nye in his early years was a merchant of 
Chatham, and later was a United States 
deputy collector of customs and registers 
of deeds. He and his wife were members 
of the Methodist Episcopal church. They 
were the parents of a son and six daugh- 
ters, Hester A. R. Mayo being the last 
survivor. Isaiah Nye died in May, 1835, 
his wife the following September. Mr. 
and Mrs. Amaziah Mayo were the par- 
ents of three sons: Alfred Nye, of fur- 
ther mention; Amaziah (2), born in 1846, 
a brick manufacturer of Springfield, 
married Sarah White, of New Hamp- 
shire ; Charles Sumner, born in 1858, be- 
came agent of the Merrimac Paper Mill, 
at Laurence, Massachusetts, and moved 
to that city ; all now deceased. 

(VIII) Alfred Nye Mayo, son of Ama- 
ziah and Hester A. R. (Nye-Mayo) 
Mayo, was born in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, March 19, 1844, and died June 26, 
1912. He left school at the age of 
eighteen to enlist in the Union army, serv- 
ing about one year, receiving an honor- 
able discharge in 1863. Upon his return 
to Springfield in 1863, he entered the em- 
ploy of Smith & Dickinson, dealers in 
paper stocks. Three years later Mr. Mayo 
bought Mr. Smith's interest, and for fif- 
teen years was a partner in that business. 
He then organized the firm, A. N. Mayo & 
Company, a firm of which he was long the 
active managing head. He was also pres- 
ident of the Dexter P. Lilley Company, of 
Indian Orchard ; president of the Spring- 


field Brick Company; president of the 
Standard Brick Company, of Springfield ; 
president of the Fisk Rubber Company, of 
Chicopee Falls; treasurer of the Knox 
Automobile Company, of Springfield ; di- 
rector of the Union Trust Company of 
Springfield ; attendant of the First Congre- 
gational Church, and member of the parish 
committee; trustee of the Wesson Me- 
morial Hospital. He was long a member 
of E. K. Wilcox Post, Grand Army of the 
Republic, and of the Nayasset Club and 
Springfield Country Club. 

Alfred Nye Mayo married, December 
21, 1870, Julia Billings, of Springfield, 
daughter of Horace E. Billings, son of 
Solomon Billings, son of John and Eunice 
(Cooley) Billings. Mrs. Mayo died June 
6, 1915. Children of Mr. and Mrs. Alfred 
Nye Mayo : Alice Billings, born in March, 
1872, married Harry G. Fiske, whose 
sketch follows ; Ada Frances, born May 
13, 1874, married Edward Owen Sutton, 
whose sketch also follows : Emily Steb- 
bins, born October, 1881, married Rev. 
William P. Schell, of Harrisburg, New 
York, now of New York City. 

FISK, Harry George, 

Manufacturer, Man of AfiFairs. 

In Springfield, Massachusetts, the name 
Fisk has long been an honored one, 
George C. Fisk, Lucius I. Fisk, and Noyes 
W. Fisk being men of the highest grade 
and official heads of important enter- 
prises. They were sons of Thomas Trow- 
bridge Fisk, a farmer and business man 
of Hinsdale, New Hampshire. A new 
generation is now upholding the honor 
and prestige of the family name, and con- 
ducting the affairs of the corporations 
which these three Fisk brothers founded 
and developed. One of these men of the 
present day, Harry George Fisk, treas- 
urer of the Fisk Rubber Company, located 

at Chicopee Falls, is one of the well 
known and prominent business men of 
Springfield. His line of ancestry is as 
follows : 

(I) Lord Symond Fiske, grandson of 
Daniel Fisc, was Lord of the Manor of 
Standhaugh, Parish of Laxfield, County 
of Suffolk, England, lived in the reigns of 
Henry IV. and VI. (1399-1422). He mar- 
ried Susannah Smyth, and after her death 
he had wife Katherine. Symond Fiske, of 
Laxfield, will dated December 22, 1463, 
proved at Norwich, February 26, 1463-64, 
died in February, 1464. He was survived 
by five children : William, Jeffrey, John, 
Edmund, and Margaret. 

(II) William Fiske, eldest son of Sy- 
mond Fiske, born in Standhaugh, County 
of Suffolk, England, lived in the reigns of 
Henry VI., Edward IV., Richard III., and 
Henry VII. He died about 1504, and was 
survived by his wife, Joan (Lyme) Fiske, 
who died in 1505, and left seven children: 
William, Augustine, Simon, Robert, John, 
Margery, and Margaret. 

(III) Simon Fiske, son of William and 
Joan (Lyme) Fiske, was born in Lax- 
field, England, date unknown. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth , who died in Hales- 

worth, June, 1558. In his will made July 
10, 1536, he desired to be buried at the 
chancel end of the Church of All Saints, 
in Laxfield. He died in the town in June, 
1538, leaving (living or dead) ten chil- 
dren : Simon, William, Robert, Joan, 
Jeffrey, Gelyne, Agnes, Thomas, Eliza- 
beth, and John. 

(IV) Simon (2) Fiske, son of Simon 
(i) and Elizabeth Fiske, was born in 
Laxfield, England. The name of his wife 
and date of his marriage are not known. 
He died in 1605. His children were: 
Robert, John, George, Nicholas, Jeffrey, 
William, Richard, Joan, Gelyne, Agnes. 

(V) Robert Fiske, son of Simon (2) 
Fiske, was born in Sandhaugh, England, 


about 1525. He married Mrs. Sybil 
(Gould) Barber. For some time he was 
of the Parish of St. James, South Elm- 
ham, England. His wife was in great 
danger in the time of the religious persecu- 
tion, 1553-58, as was her sister Tsabelle, 
originally Gould, who was confined in the 
Castle of Norwich, and escaped death 
only by the power of her brothers, who 
were men of great influence in the county. 
Robert Fiske fled from religious persecu- 
tion in the days of Queen Mary to Gen- 
eva, but returned later and died in St. 
James in 1600. His sons were : William, 
Jeff'rey, Thomas, and Eleazer. The latter 
had no issue, but the progeny of the other 
three sons, in whole or in part, settled in 
New England. Besides these sons there 
was a daughter Elizabeth, who married 
Robert Bernhard; their daughter married 
a Mr. Locke, and was the mother of the 
celebrated John Locke, the English phi- 

(VI) William (2) Fiske, eldest child 
of Robert and Sybil (Gould-Barber) 
Fiske, was born in Laxfield, England, in 
1566. He married Anna Austye, daughter 
of Walter Austye, of Fibbenham. Long 
Row, in Norfolk, England. After her 
death he married Alice . He is de- 
scribed as of St. James in South Elmham, 
and it is said of him that he fled with his 
father from religious persecution. He 
died in 1623. Children by his first wife : 
John, Nathaniel, Eleazer, Eunice, Han- 
nah, Esther (sometimes called Hester). 
The youngest child, Mary, seems to have 
been of the second wife. 

(VII) Nathaniel Fiske, second son of 
William (2) and Anna (Austye) Fiske, 
was born in Ditchingham, England, and 
resided in Weybred. He married Alice 
(Henel) Leman. Children : Nathaniel 
and Sarah. 

(VIII) Nathaniel (2) Fiske, son of Na- 
thaniel (i) and AHce (Henel-Leman) 

Fiske, was born in Weybred, England. 
There is a tradition in the family that he 
died on the passage to New England. He 
married Dorothy Symonds, daughter of 
John Symonds, of Wendham. Children : 
John, Nathan, Esther, Martha. 

(IX) Nathan Fisk, son of Nathaniel 
(2) and Dorothy (Symonds) Fiske, and 
the American ancestor, was born in 1615, 
and died in Watertown, Massachusetts, 
June 21, 1676. He settled in Watertown 
as early as 1642, his home lot being on the 
north side of the Sudbury road. He was 
admitted a freeman, May 10, 1643, ^"^ 
was selectman in 1673. The maiden name 
of his wife, Susannah, is unknown. Chil- 
dren : Nathan, John, David, Nathaniel, 

(X) Nathaniel (3) Fisk, son of Nathan 
and Susannah Fisk, was born in Water- 
town, Massachusetts, July 12, 1653, <^'ed 
there in September, 1735. He was a 
weaver. He married a Mrs. Mary (War- 
ren) Child, born November 29. 1651, 
daughter of Daniel Warren, of Water- 
town, and widow of John Child. Chil- 
dren : Nathaniel, Hannah, John, Sarah, 
Lydia, Mary, Elizabeth, Abigail. 

(XI) John Fisk, son of Nathaniel (3) 
and Mary (Warren-Child) Fisk, was born 
in Watertown, Massachusetts, March 17, 
1682, died in Sherburne, May 8, 1730. He 
married, in Sherburne, July 31, 1706, Ly- 
dia Adams, daughter of Moses and Lydia 
(Whitney) Adams. Children : John, 
Lydia, Isaac, Daniel, Lydia, Peter, Abi- 
gail, Nathaniel. 

(XII) Isaac Fisk, son of John and 
Lydia (Adams) Fisk, was born in Sher- 
burne, Massachusetts, April 24, 1714, died 
December 22, 1799. He was a skilled 
weaver, residing in Worcester, and later 
in Framingham. He married Hannah 
Haven, daughter of Richard and Lydia 
(Whitney) Haven, of Framingham. She 
died February 21, 1800. Children: Isaac, 


Hannah, John, Richard, Daniel, Moses, 
Lydia, Moses. 

(XIII) Hon. John (2) Fisk, son of 
Isaac and Hannah (Haven) Fisk, was born 
in Framingham, Massachusetts, in 1741, 
always made Framingham his home, and 
there died December 17, 1819. He lived 
near the Isaac Warren place on the Silk 
Farm, and built the house of Rufus 
Brewer. For years he was justice of the 
peace, for twelve years was a selectman, 
and for six years represented his town in 
the Massachusetts Legislature. He mar- 
ried Abigail Howe, born in 1752, died in 
April, 1829. Children: Nat, Thomas, 
Sally, John Boyle, Susanna, Sally, Ed- 
ward, Nancy, William, George. 

(XIV) Thomas Fisk, second son of 
Hon, John (2) and Abigail (Howe) Fisk, 
was born in Framingham, Massachusetts, 
March 22, 1774, and died in Chesterfield, 
Massachusetts, July 25, 1861. He was left 
totally deaf and dumb by an attack of 
scarlet fever at the age of two years, and 
never regained hearing or speech. Yet he 
acquired an education, and was a success- 
ful farmer of Chesterfield, New Hamp- 
shire. At the age of fifty years he was 
admitted to the school for deaf mutes in 
Hartford, Connecticut, for the term of one 
year. He made rapid progress and ac- 
quired knowledge that was of great use to 
him during the remaining years of his 
life. He married, in Westmoreland, New 
Hampshire, Lucinda Trowbridge, of Pom- 
fret, Connecticut, born in 1782, died April 
14, 1869. They were the parents of two 
sons, Thomas Trowbridge, of further 
mention; and John B., who inherited the 
home farm in Chesterfield. His daugh- 
ters were : Lucinda D. and Mary Ann. 

(XV) Thomas Trowbridge Fisk, son 
of Thomas and Lucinda (Trowbridge) 
Fisk, was born in Chesterfield, New 
Hampshire, November 27, 1806, and died 

in Hinsdale, New Hampshire, June 17, 
1861. He grew up on the farm, and later 
became a farmer on his own account, and 
also conducted an express and trucking 
business, and later with his son, Lucius 
I., began the manufacture of soap in a 
small way. Later this became his main 
business and he developed it to large pro- 
portions. He married Emily H. Hildreth, 
born in Chesterfield, November 28, 1806, 
died in Hinsdale, January 6, 1849, both 
she and her husband being buried in Pine 
Grove Cemetery there. She was a woman 
of strong character, deeply devoted to her 
family. Mr. and Mrs. Fisk were the par- 
ents of three sons: i. George C, who 
was president of the Wason Car Com- 
pany, married Maria Ripley. 2. Lucius 
I., born in 1833, died in Springfield, Au- 
gust 18, 1880; engaged with his brothers 
in the manufacture of soap ; married Eva- 
line E. Raymond. 3'. Noyes W., of fur- 
ther mention. 

(XVI) Noyes W. Fisk, youngest son 
of Thomas Trowbridge and Emily H. 
(Hildreth) Fisk, was born in Hinsdale, 
New Hampshire, May 15, 1839, died Jan- 
uary 21, 1901. When thirteen years of 
age he entered the general store of Fred- 
eric Hunt, in Hinsdale, as a clerk, remain- 
ing there four years. The next two years, 
1856-1858, he was employed in Northamp- 
ton as bookkeeper for Thayer & Sargent, 
going thence to Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, as bookkeeper for E. B. Haskell & 
Sons, grocers. In 1862, he enlisted in 
Company A, Forty-sixth Regiment, Mas- 
sachusetts Volunteer Infantry, and after 
serving out his term of enlistment was 
honorably discharged. He returned to 
Springfield and there engaged in business 
as a grocer and provision dealer, continu- 
ing until 1867, when he began the manu- 
facture of lampblack. Soon after begin- 
ning the latter business his building at tl^e 


corner of Chestnut and Ringold streets 
was destroyed by fire. The following 
year, 1868, he entered into a partnership 
with his brothers, George C, and Lucius 
I., in the manufacture of soap, and until 
1880, they continued as a firm. In that 
year Lucius I. Fisk died and the business 
was incorporated as The Fisk Manufac- 
turing Company, George C. Fisk, presi- 
dent, Noyes W. Fisk, clerk and treasurer. 
The company became the largest manu- 
facturers of soap in New England, and 
ranked among the largest in the United 
States. Noyes W. Fisk continued active 
in business until his death, being one of 
the organizers of the Fisk Rubber Com- 
pany ; a director of the Chicopee National 
Bank; Springfield Wood- Working Com- 
pany, and the Hampden Paint Works. He 
was a man of diversified tastes and inter- 
ests, and outside the business world was 
well known and very popular. He was a 
trustee of the School of Christian Work- 
ers ; director of the Masonic Mutual In- 
surance Company; member of the Win- 
throp and Nayasset clubs, was affiliated 
with lodge, chapter, and commandery of 
the York Rite of the Masonic order, and 
had also attained the thirty-second degree 
in the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite. 
He was also a member of the Grand Army 
of the Republic, and of Memorial Congre- 
gational Church. He loved animals, 
horses and dogs particularly, and owned 
some very fine horses. He was intensely 
pubHc-spirited, represented Ward I in 
Common Council for seven years, and for 
ten years was a member of the Board of 
Water Commissioners. He was loyal in 
his friendships, and just and generous in 
all his intercourse with men, and a man 
genuinely respected. 

Noyes W. Fisk married, August 25, 
1862, Emmeline G. Adams, of Hinsdale, 
New Hampshire, daughter of Oliver and 

Fanny (Stearns) Adams. They were the 
parents of an only son, Harry George, of 
further mention, and of an only daughter, 
who died in infancy. 

(XVII) Harry George Fisk, only son 
of Noyes W. and Emmeline G. (Adams) 
Fisk, was born in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, May 5, 1873. He was graduated 
from the Springfield High School, class of 
1892, and later the Massachusetts Insti- 
tue of Technology, class of 1896. He then 
became associated with the Davis Electri- 
cal Works in Springfield, and continued 
with that company until the fall of 1899, 
when, with others, he organized The Fisk 
Rubber Company, of which Noyes W. 
Fisk, his father, was the first president, 
and Harry G. Fisk, treasurer. The com- 
pany purchased the Spaulding & Pepper 
plant at Chicopee Falls and began busi- 
ness. Here they continued some years, 
then built the present Fisk plant, which, 
although it occupies the same site, is 
greatly enlarged, being one of the largest 
and most complete manufacturing plants 
in the United States, the acme of perfec- 
tion in industrial architecture. The com- 
pany employ several thousand hands and 
ship rubber goods to all parts of the 
world, though they are best known as 
manufacturers of automobile tires, their 
annual output in this line going far into 
the millions. The name Fisk has become 
a sure guarantee of high quality for these 
goods, their aim being to make the best 
automobile tire on the market. The gen- 
eral office structure of this immense plant 
is one of the finest in the country. Each 
of the officers has an office commensurate 
with the importance of his position in this 
gigantic business. Yet, imposing as are 
the executive headquarters, it is for the 
comfort of its employees that the greatest 
care and attention have been given. All 
of its manufacturing departments are as 


light and airy as scientific construction 
can make them, and every precaution has 
been taken for the health and welfare of 
the workers and the efficiency of their 
work. In fact, nothing has been left un- 
done to make this the most up-to-date 
plant in the country. During the entire 
history of the Fisk Rubber Company, 
1899-1919, although there have been sev- 
eral reorganizations, Mr. Harry G. Fisk 
has held the treasurer's office continu- 

The Fisk Manufacturing Company, an- 
other large concern in which Mr. Fisk has 
been interested, was incorporated by the 
Fisk brothers in 1880, and this became a 
prosperous soap manufacturing concern, 
Harry G. Fisk succeeding his uncle, 
George C. Fisk, as president. He con- 
tinued executive head of that corporation 
until its sale (1919) to the American Tex- 
tile Soap Company, of which Mr. Fisk is a 
director. He is president of the Knox 
Motor Company ; president of the Spring- 
field Brick Company ; treasurer of the 
Federal Rubber Company, which is con- 
trolled by the Fisk Rubber Company ; was 
treasurer and one of the owners of the 
Steere Organ Company ; director of the 
Union Trust Company, also of the Mas- 
sachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Com- 
pany ; and an organizer and a director of 
the Eastern States Exposition Company. 
Like his uncle, George C. Fisk, he is an 
enthusiastic breeder of blooded cattle, his 
preference being for Guernseys, and at his 
stock farm, "Watchuette," at East Long- 
meadow, he has a fine herd. 

During the time the United States was 
engaged in the World War, Mr. Fisk was 
chairman of the Springfield Food Conser- 
vation Committee, took an active part in 
public safety movements, and warmly 
championed the various Liberty Loan and 
other "drives" of the war peried, serving 
as chairman of the executive board, dis- 

trict No. I. He is a Republican in poli- 
tics, member of the Springfield Chamber 
of Commerce, Rotary Club, Springfield 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, Morn- 
ing Star Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, 
and Springfield Commandery, Knights 
Templar. He is also president of the Col- 
ony Club, the most select club of Massa- 
chusetts if not in the United States, and 
member of the Nayasset and Country 
clubs, of Springfield, the Union League, 
of New York, the Athletic Club, of 
Boston, and the South Congregational 

Mr. Fisk married, January 24, 1900, 
Alice Billings Mayo, of Springfield, daugh- 
ter of Alfred Nye and Julia (Billings) 
Mayo. Mr. and Mrs. Fisk are the par- 
ents of two sons and two daughters : Julia 
Mayo, born March 15, 1903 ; Noyes Mayo, 
born February 16, 1907; Charlotte Mayo, 
born February 9, 1909, died in infancy; 
Alfred Mayo, born March 16, 1910. 

SUTTON, Edward Owen, 

Official of Knox Motor Company. 

This branch of the Sutton family is de- 
scended from Joseph Sutton, whose father, 
John Sutton, was of Lincolnshire, Eng- 
land. Prior to his coming to Massachu- 
setts, Joseph Sutton resided on Long 
Island, thence moved to Port Chester, 
New York, founding the family of which 
Edward Owen Sutton, of the sixth gen- 
eration, is representative. In England the 
Suttons are traced to a Robert Sutton, 
who in 1506 was a high sheriff. The coat- 
of-arms of the family is as follows : 

Arms — Argent on a chevron between three an- 
nulets gules as many crescents or. 

Crest — Head couped ermine, collared gules, gar- 
nished and ringed or, on the collar three annulets 
of the last. 

Motto — Fidelis tisqiie ad mortem. 


(I) Joseph Sutton, son of John Sutton, 
was born in 1685, and died aged eighty 
years. He married Mary Sands, and they 
were the parents of nine children : Joseph, 
of North Castle, died aged eighty years, 
married Deborah Haight, of Chappaqua ; 
Caleb, died aged eighty years, married 
Abby Pell ; James, of Croton Valley, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Brown ; William, of Cro- 
ton Valley, died aged eighty-six years, 
married Dorcas Clapp ; Richardson, of 
further mention ; Abby, married Robert 
Field; Mary, married Samuel Palmer; 
Sophia ; Jerusha, married Benjamin Field. 

(II) Richardson Sutton, fifth child of 
Joseph and Mary (Sands) Sutton, was 
born in Croton Valley, Westchester 
county. New York, July 11, 1732, died 
July II, 1776. He married Elizabeth 
Quimby, and they were the parents of 
eleven children: Esther, born March 15, 
1752, married Joseph Totten ; Moses, born 
March 15, 1756, married Rebecca Under- 
bill ; Daniel, born May 22, 1758, married 
Phoebe Hulsted ; Deborah, born June 17, 
1760, married Zopher Griffin ; Robert, of 
further mention ; Samuel, born January 
2.2, 1764, married Sarah Underbill, daugh- 
ter of Abraham Underbill ; Phoebe, born 
August 27, 1765 ; Mary, born March 7, 
1767; Jerusha, born September 2, 1768; 
Abigail, born December 12, 1770, married 
Benjamin Underbill ; Frances, born De- 
cember 13, 1772. 

(III) Robert Sutton, fifth child of Rich- 
ardson and Elizabeth (Quimby) Sutton, 
was born April 5, 1762. He married Sarah 
Underbill, born in 1771, died in 1840. 
They are the parents of nine children : 
Phoebe, Mary, Thomas, Deborah, Gula, 
married John Mott; Abbey, married a Mr. 
Carpenter ; Lydia, married Walter Haight ; 
Leonard and Jane. 

(IV) Leonard Sutton, son of Robert 
and Sarah (Underbill) Sutton, was born 
in Yorktown, New York, and died in 

Bedford, New York, in 1890. He married 
Lydia J. Haviland, of Quaker Hill, New 
York, born 1814, died 1885. 

(V) George Haviland Sutton, son of 
Leonard and Lydia J. (Haviland) Sutton, 
was born in 1839, and died in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, in August, 1913. After 
preparation in public and private schools, 
he entered Union College (now Univer- 
sity), Schenectady, New York, and was 
there graduated in 1865. After gradua- 
tion he taught school in Madison (Con- 
necticut) Seminary, and later was asso- 
ciated with N. W. Harris & Company, 
investment brokers of New York City. 
Later Mr, Sutton located in New Haven, 
Connecticut, where for a number of years 
he was engaged in the insurance business. 
Later he became a manager of agencies 
with the Mutual Life Insurance Company 
of New York, located in Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. He retired from business in 
1899. Mr. Sutton was a man of social, 
friendly nature, and greatly beloved. He 
was deeply interested in the cause of edu- 
cation and accomplished a great deal to- 
ward its advancement. He married, in 
1866, Mary Elizabeth Owen, who died in 

(VI) Edward Owen Sutton, son ot 
George Haviland and Mary Elizabeth 
(Owen) Sutton, was born in Bedford, 
New York, August 8, 1871, but when very 
young his parents moved to New Haven, 
Connecticut. There he prepared in the 
public schools, finishing in high school in 
Massachusetts, then entered Sheffield 
Scientific School, Yale University, whence 
he was graduated, class of 1891. After 
graduation from Yale, Mr. Sutton entered 
the service of the Mutual Life Insurance 
Company, of New York, in Springfield, of 
which he finally became manager. He 
later resigned and became a member of 
the firm of Sutton, Allis & Richards, gen- 
eral agents for the Massachusetts Mutual 


Life Insurance Company, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts. He continued in the in- 
surance business for twenty years, 1891- 
191 1, then became indentified with the 
Knox Motor Company, as director and 
treasurer, and this association has con- 
tinued until the present (1921). While in 
the insurance business as head of Sutton, 
Allis & Richards, Mr. Sutton was presi- 
dent of the Life Underwriters' Associa- 
tion of Western Massachusetts, and chair- 
man of the finance committee of the 
National Association of Life Underwriters. 
He was also director, trustee, and presi- 
dent of the Union Relief Association, and 
also treasurer of the Wesson Memorial 
Hospital for fifteen years. He is a mem- 
ber of Springfield Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, the Colony and Spring- 
field Country clubs, and his religious 
affiliation is with the South Congrega- 
tional Church. 

Mr. Sutton married. May 13, 1902, Ada 
Frances Mayo, of Springfield, daughter of 
Alfred Nye and Julia (Billings) Mayo. 
(See Mayo VIII.). Mr. and Mrs. Sut- 
ton are the parents of four children : 
Emily Mayo, born September 6, 1904; 
Alfred Mayo, born January 10, 1906; 
Owen Mayo, born September 26, 1908; 
Haviland Mayo, born October 2, 1912. 

BIRNIE, William Perkins, 

Head of Bimie Paper Company. 

This name is rare in the genealogical 
records of the United States, the family 
herein reveiwed being probably the only 
Birnie family in New England, though a 
widely scattered but not numerous fam- 
ily, spelling the name Birnie, is found in 
various states. 

(I) The ancestor in the line of William 
Perkins Birnie, president of the Birnie 
Paper Company, of Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, is his grandfather, George Bir- 

nie, who was born in Aberdeenshire, Scot- 
land, came to the United States in 1827, 
and died in Morristown, New Jersey, in 
August, 1828. George Birnie was a con- 
tracting stone mason in Scotland, and 
after coming to the United States to join 
his son George, he settled in Morristown, 
having secured a contract for stone con- 
struction on the then building Morris and 
Essex canal. A year later he died, leaving 
the execution of his contract to his son, 
Alexander, a young man of twenty-five 
years. George Birnie married Ann Iniry, 
in Scotland, and they were the parents of 
twelve children, seven of whom grew to 
mature years: i. George, the first of the 
family in the United States. 2. A.lexan- 
der, born in Porto Bello, Scotland, asso- 
ciated with his father in business. 3. 
Euphemia, married William Ross, and re- 
sided in Batavia, New York. 4. Joseph. 
5. Catherine, married (first) Alexander 
Ross, (second) George Robb, of Genesee, 
Wisconsin. 6. Ann, married William 
Lemon, of Oxford, Ontario, Canada. 7. 
William, of further mention. Mrs. Ann . 
Birnie survived her husband and died in 

(II) William Birnie, youngest son of 
George and Ann (Inery) Birnie, was born 
in Porto Bello, Scotland, November 11, 
1818, and died in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, December 2, 1889. He was nine 
years of age when brought to the I'^nited 
States by his parents, and in Morristown, 
New Jersey, and New York City, he at- 
tended the public schools. In due season 
he learned the stone cutter's trade, became 
an expert workman, and in afterlife would 
point with pride to certain capstones and 
capitals he had cut. After leaving New 
York City, he became associated with his 
brother Alexander, becoming his general 
outside manager on the important con- 
tracts he had taken after completing the 
stonework on the Morris and Essex canal 


from the Delaware river to tide water at 
Nev/ark, New Jersey. While yet asso- 
ciated with this brother, William Birnie 
executed the first independent contract he 
had ever taken, doing- work in Chester, 
Massachusetts, which netted him $ 
While engaged on that contract he be- 
came acquainted with Azariah Boody, 
Daniel L. Harris, and Anasa Stone, men 
with whom he later held close and im- 
portant relations, joining with them in 
1842 in handling the Howes Truss Bridge 
patent. This firm built nearly all the 
bridges on the Richmond & Danville rail- 
road in Virginia, the Providence & Ston- 
ington railroad in Rhode Island, and the 
Harlem River railroad in New York, Mr. 
Birnie doing the mason work. He also 
built the water shops and raceway, and 
laid the foundations of the United States 
Armory at Springfield, Massachusetts. 
With D. D. Warren and Willis Phelps he 
built eight miles of the Springfield & New 
London railroad, and with others did the 
bridge work at Northfield and other 
places on the Vermont Central, and the 
Vermont & Massachusetts lines. He was 
also connected with other noted builders 
of his day in Western railroad construc- 
tion, and several men who later became 
prominent contractors gained their experi- 
ence under William Birnie. To Harris & 
Birnie in close competition with other 
builders. The Philadelphia-Wilmington & 
Baltimore Railroad Company awarded 
the contract for the great bridge across 
the Susquehanna at Havre de Grace, but 
later the company became alarmed at the 
magnitude of that undertaking and paid 
Harris & Birnie $5,000, and all expenses 
already incurred, to stop work. Harris 
& Birnie built the Agawam foundry on 
Liberty street, Springfield, now occupied 
by the Spring^eld Foundry Company. 
They also built the stone arch and canal 
at the water shops. With Dr. Tosiah B. 

Weston, Mr. Birnie bought the govern- 
ment property on Mill river, now owned 
by the Springfield Waste Company. Bir- 
nie & Weston also owned the Nayasset 
Paper Company, which they later sold to 
the New Hampshire Paper Company. 

After his practical retirement from the 
contracting field, Mr. Birnie was for a 
time interested in shoe manufacturing, 
and from 1855 until 1865 ^^ devoted much 
of his time to cattle raising at his North 
Chestnut street farm, specializing in Ayr- 
shires, gaining a national reputation. He 
was then a member of the Massachusetts 
State Board of Agriculture, and actively 
identified with the Hampden County Ag- 
ricultural Society. As an expert in Ayr- 
shire cattle, he was chosen one of the 
judges at the cattle show at the Centen- 
nial Exposition, held in Philadelphia, in 
1876. He later began as financial man- 
ager of the firm, Goodhue & Birnie, con- 
tractors, his first contract with Mr. Good- 
hue involving the putting up of a $100,000 
bond for the faithful execution of a con- 
tract with the city of St. Albans, Ver- 
mont. This firm specialized in the con- 
struction and installation of water-works 
systems, and so well known were they 
that they performed that service for sixty 
cities and towns and did a part of the 
work in twenty others. Thomas N. 
Birnie, a son of William Birnie, was asso- 
ciated with the firm of Goodhue & Birnie, 
which operated as far South as Jackson- 
ville, Florida, West to Streater, Illinois, 
and all through the New England States. 
Mr. Birnie continued active in the busi- 
ness until his death, the last years of his 
life being very successful, pleasant ones. 
He built about twenty houses upon his 
land at Brightwood, a suburb of Spring- 
field, and owned considerable farm and 
city property. 

Mr. Birnie cast his first presidential 
vote in 1840 for William Henry Harri- 


son, and his late vote in 1888 for Benja- 
min Harrison, he having gone from the 
Whig to the Republican party upon the 
formation of the latter. In 1857 he was a 
member of Springfield Common Council, 
and again in i860. In November, 1862, 
he made a trip to the Massachusetts 
troops at the front, and despite many 
obstacles gave the men a genuine Thanks- 
giving dinner for which he was held in 
grateful remembrance. He was a man of 
strong religious convictions, and was an 
attendant at the services of the First Con- 
gregational Church for many years, but 
later attended South Church. He was a 
man of most genial, friendly nature, true 
as steel, upright and honorable to a fault, 
and highly esteemed. 

William Birnie married (first), Febru- 
ary 4, 1841, Sarah L. Perkins, born in 
Becket, Massachusetts, September 8, 1822, 
died January 12, 1850, daughter of Ori- 
gen Augustus Perkins, of Becket. They 
were the parents of four sons: i. George 
Augustus, died young. 2. Henry Champ- 
lin, died young. 3. Charles Alexander, 
lives in Virginia. 4. William Perkins, of 
further mention. Mr, Birnie married 
(second) Martha Noyes Perkins, born in 
Salem, Connecticut, December 22, 1S25, 
died October 15, 1871, daughter of Henry 
Perkins, of Lyme, Connecticut. They 
were the parents of seven children: i. 
Henry Perkins, died young. 2. Thomas 
Noyes, died February 26, 1906. 3. Sarah 
Perkins, twin with Thomas N., born Sep- 
tember 19, 1854, resided in Springfield 
until her death. 4. Douglas Putnam, mar- 
ried Lucia L. Meigs, and resides in Wash- 
ington, D. C. 5. Alfred, born in Spring- 
field, March 13, 1858, died January 26, 
1909; was a paper manufacturer, long as- 
sociated with his brother, William P., in 
the Birnie Paper Company ; he married 
Louise E. Burke, of Springfield. 6. Don- 
ald, deceased, married Minnie I. Jobson, 

and resided in Springfield ; one son, Ed- 
mund J., now in Yale College ; during the 
World War joined the Royal Air Force. 
7. Walter, a sketch of whom follows. Mr. 
Birnie married (third) Harriet Stowe 
Chapin, born February 8, 1808, daughter 
of Marvin and Rebecca (Stowe) Chapin, 
now deceased. They were the parents of 
three children : i. Grace Chapin, married 
Carl L. Stebbins, and resides in Spring- 
field. 2. Rebecca, a resident of Spring- 
field. 3. Marvin Chapin, married Mabel 
F. Galagar, and resides in Springfield. 

(Ill) William Perkins Birnie, young- 
est child of William and Sarah L. (Per- 
kins) Birnie, was born in Becket, Mas- 
sachusetts, December 24, 1849, the house 
in which he Vv^as born being the first his 
father owned. In 1852, his parents moved 
to Springfield, Massachusetts, and in that 
city yet resides. He was educated in the 
Springfield schools and Massachusetts 
State Agricultural College, his father 
serving the last named institution as a 
trustee. After completing his studies, 
William P. Birnie went West as far as 
Kansas, but soon returned to Springfield 
where for two years he engaged in the 
wholesale boot and shoe business under 
the firm name, Hickson & Birnie. At the 
end of that period he became associated 
with his father in the construction and in- 
stallation department of water systems for 
cities and towns, and in railroad construc- 
tion. For five years he remained with 
Goodhue & Birnie, his father's firm, then 
formed a partnership with his brother 
Alfred, and organized the Birnie Paper 
Company, with offices in the Birnie busi- 
ness block in Springfield, continuing until 
the destruction of that block by fire in 1892, 
The company then erected a new plant in 
Brightwood, resumed business as a firm, 
continuing until 1905, then incorporated 
under the old name. The Birnie Paper 
Company, William P. Birnie the first, and 



yet (1920), the only president of the com- 
pany, his brother, Alfred, treasurer and 
general manager until his death. Mr. 
Birnie, in addition to his duties as presi- 
dent of the Birnie Paper Company, is a 
director of the Springfield Water Com- 
pany. Mr. Birnie is a Master Mason of 
Rosewell Lee Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; and has attained all degrees of 
the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite up to 
and including the thirty-second. He is 
also a Noble of Melha Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. 
In politics he is a Republican, and is now 
an attendant of the South Church. 

On August 30, 1874. Mr. Birnie mar- 
ried Mary W. Matthews, of New York, 
who died January 10, 191 5, daughter of 
John and Ann (Maxfield) Matthews. 
Children: i. Mary Louise, at home. 2. 
John Matthews, born September 5, 1878; 
a graduate of Williams College, A. B., 
1901, and Harvard Medical College, M. 
D., 1906, and until 1917 a successful prac- 
ticing physician of Springfield. When the 
United States joined in the World War 
and called for volunteer physicians, Dr. 
Birnie offered his services, went into 
training at Fort Ethan Allen, was in In- 
dianapolis, Indiana, several months, then 
went to Fort Sill, Oklahoma, thence to 
camp in South Carolina, sailing for France 
in July, 1918, and reached the battlefront 
at Verdun. He rose in rank through suc- 
cessive promotions to first lieutenant, to 
captain, to major, and to lieutenant-col- 
onel, being in charge of the sanitary de- 
partment of four field hospitals and many 
ambulances. He returned to his native 
country in 1919, and is now (1921) in 
practice in Springfield. 

BIRNIE, Walter, 

Financier, National Legislator. 

Walter Birnie, son of William and 
Martha Noyes (Perkins) Birnie (q. 

v.), was born in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, October 5, 1871. He completed 
public school courses in Springfield, and 
attended Phillips Andover Academy and 
Yale Scientific School of New Haven. He 
later followed the paper business with the 
Birnie Paper Company, and when the 
same was incorporated he became secre- 
tary and director of the corporation. Upon 
the death of his brother Donald he suc- 
ceeded him as assistant-treasurer, his pres- 
ent position. Mr. Birnie is a member of 
the advisory committee, and a director of 
the Springfield Boys' Club, of which he 
was president for three years : member of 
Springfield Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; the Colony and Country clubs, 
Yale Alumni Association, Sons of the 
American Revolution, South Congrega- 
tional Church, and is a Republican in 

Mr. Birnie married, April 18, 1900, Lo- 
raine Field Hart, of Albion, New York, 
daughter of Hon. E. Kirke and Louise 
(Sanderson) Hart. Mr. and Mrs. Birnie 
are the parents of two sons: Walter 
Hart, born July 2, 1909; and William 
Alfred Hart, born August 4, 1910. 

E. Kirke Hart, father of Mrs. Birnie, 
the only son of Elizurand Loraine (Field) 
Hart, was born in Albion, Orleans county, 
New York, April 8, 1841, and died at his 
home on Main street in the same village, 
February 18, 1893. He was educated in 
the village public schools and in old Al- 
bion Academy, his education of a prac- 
tical business character, embracing a lib- 
eral range of the sciences and the English 
classics. He spent two years in Michigan 
and Illinois, after finishing school, and for 
a few months of that period was with the 
forces of General Harney, employed 
against the Mormons. He then returned 
to Albion, and in February, i860, became 
bookkeeper of the Orleans County Bank. 
He continued as bookkeeper until 1865, 



when the Orleans County National Bank 
superceded the Orleans County Bank, E. 
K. Hart then becoming teller of the new- 
bank, later becoming- cashier, and as his 
father's residuary legatee becoming the 
principal stockholder and succeeding him 
as president, a post he ably filled until 
his death. 

A Republican in politics, Mr. Hart gave 
much time to the public service. In 1871, 
he was elected assemblyman, serving in 
the house on the committee of ways, 
means and banks. He was the Demo- 
cratic nominee for Congress from the dis- 
trict composed of Orleans and Monroe 
counties, and was elected and served on 
committees on banking and currency, and 
revision of the laws. In local affairs he 
took a deep interest. He repeatedly 
served as trustee of the village, was a 
member of the Board of Education for a 
number of years, and also commissioner 
of Mt. Albion Cemetery. He also secured 
for Albion the location of a House of 
Refuge for Women. 

Mr. Hart married, June 10, 1863, Louise 
Sanderson, of Alton, Illinois. Children : 
Charles E. ; E. Kirke (2) ; Emma ; Loraine 
Field, wife of Walter Birnie, of Spring- 
field ; and Louise Sanderson Hart. 

BIRNIE, William Adams, 

Retired Head of Important Business. 

William Adams Birnie, of Middlefield 
and Springfield, Massachusetts, son of 
Alexander Birnie, is a representative of 
an old Scotch family. 

Alexander Birnie, son of George 
and Ann (Inery) Birnie (q. v.), was born 
in Short Hills, near Aberdeenshire, Scot- 
land, in 1803, and there resided until 1827, 
in the meantime acquiring a practical edu- 
cation and serving an apprenticeship at 
the trade of stone cutter. In the latter- 
named year he accompanied his parents to 

this country, locating with them in Morris 
county, New Jersey, where he completed 
a contract assumed by his father and him- 
self. He then began an independent 
career as a contractor, his first work being 
the building of the Boston & Providence 
railroad, and this was followed by the 
building of a bridge across the Passaic 
river. In 1832 he took up his residence in 
Berkshire county, Massachusetts, where 
he continued his contracting operations, 
building a section of the Western railroad 
(now the Boston & Albany), his contract 
being the section between Chester and 
Washington. In 1842 he moved to New 
York State, purchased an estate at Hast- 
ings-on-the-Hudson, and erected a stone 
mansion in which he resided for two dec- 
ades. After disposing of this property, 
he purchased the adjoining estate and 
thereon erected a brick mansion and be- 
gan the beautifying of the grounds, his 
plans including an artificial fish pond. 
While holding a drill which was being 
used to make a hole for blasting the rock, 
a hammer, weighing thirteen pounds, 
which was being used by the man striking 
the drill, broke and flew, striking him a 
blow from which he died two days later, 
August 13, 1858, thus cutting ofT a pros- 
perous and successful business career. 
During his residence in Scotland, he affili- 
ated with the Masonic order. 

He married, in 1836, Mary Spring 
Adams, who was born in Providence, 
Rhode Island, in 1807, and died in Lud- 
low, Massachusetts, aged seventy-five 
years, daughter of Joel and Azubah 
(Whitney) Adams, of Providence, Rhode 
Island, her parents natives of Worcester 
county, Massachusetts. Seven children 
were born to Mr. and Mrs. Birnie, as fol- 
lows : I. George, died in childhood. 2. 
Alexander, Jr., died in childhood. 3. 
Mary Ann, deceased, who was the wife of 
James Haviland, of Ludlow, Massachu- 



setts. 4. George Alexander, born May 
29, 1842, married (first) Julia W. Carroll, 
(second) Ellen Bowen. 5. Sarah Eu- 
phemia, deceased, who was the wife of 
Andrew Bryant. 6. William Adams, see 
following paragraph. 7. Catherine, de- 
ceased, who was the wife of Charles A. 
Dresser, of New York City, New York. 

William Adams Birnie, fourth son of 
Alexander and Mary Spring (Adams) 
Birnie, was born at Hastings-on-the- 
Hudson. He attended the schools 
of Hastings, Tarrytown, Yonkers. all in 
New York State, and completed his stud- 
ies by a course in the New York Univer- 
sity. Following in the footsteps of his 
grandfather and father, he learned the 
trade of stone mason, and throughout his 
active career has been identified with 
stone construction work, in which he 
achieved success. He is now retired from 
^ active business pursuits, and spends much 
of his time on his country estate in Mid- 
dlefield, Massachusetts, from which is ob- 
tainable one of the most beautiful views 
in the Berkshire Mountains. Mr. Birnie 
is a member of the Order of Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons. 

Mr. Birnie married, 1915, Annie E. Ful- 
ler, born in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
daughter of Charles and Saphronia K. 

BIRNIE, Alexander Cullen, 

Man of Enterprise. 

George Alexander Birnie, the first 
son of Alexander and Mary Spring 
(Adams) Birnie (q. v.), to reach mature 
years, and father of the subject of this 
sketch, was born in Becket, Massachusetts, 
May 29, 1842. He was an infant in arms 
when his parents moved to Hastings, 
New York State, and there his youth was 
passed. He attended Hastings schools, a 

private school at Longmeadow, Massa- 
chusetts, and a school in New York City. 
He obtained his first position with C. L. 
Cole, lumberman of Springfield, whom he 
served as clerk for two years, then occu- 
pied similar positions with Bemis & Call, 
hardware dealers. He next began busi- 
ness for himself as a manufacturer of 
shoes in company with J. R. Hixon, they 
operating as Hixon & Birnie for two 
years. Mr. Birnie then retired from the 
firm, and for eighteen months was in the 
grain business with his brother, William 
A. Birnie. His next position was fore- 
man of a gang of men engaged in building 
the acqueduct for Springfield's water sup- 
ply, later he served as traveling salesman 
for Peck & Baker, continuing until his 
health gave way. He then located in Lud- 
low, Massachusetts, engaging for a time 
in farming. 

After regaining his health, Mr. Birnie 
was deputy marshal of the United States 
District Court in Brooklyn, New York, 
under United States Marshal Harlow. He 
filled that position for seven years, then 
returned to Ludlow, accepting a book- 
keeper's position with Whitcomb & Com- 
pany, of Springfield. Later he became 
associated with the Ludlow Manufactur- 
ing Company, with whom he remained 
for a short period of time. He was elected 
treasurer of the Ludlow Savings Bank 
upon its incorporation, and served until 
February i, 1918, when he resigned. 

Mr. Birnie is a Republican in politics. 
In 1892 he was appointed postmaster of 
Ludlow, remaining until 1914, with the ex- 
ception of four years. During his term the 
office grew in importance from a fourth- 
class to a second-class office. From 1898 to 
1920, he served Ludlow as justice of the 
peace. He was appointed trial justice in 
1908 and still holds that office. He served 
as a member of the school committee for 



aine years, was treasurer of Ludlow Hos- 
pital three years, and its president until 
resigning- the honor in February, 1918. 
He is a member of the Congregational 

George A. Birnie married (first), April 
20, 1865, Julia W. Carroll, of New York 
City, who died the following year, leaving 
a child, who met accidental death at the 
age of five years. Mr. Birnie married 
(second) Ellen Bowen, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, daughter of Cullen and 
Susan (Haskell) Bowen. Mr. and Mrs. 
Birnie are the parents of three children: 
Mary E., died in infancy; Mary Adams; 
Alexander Cullen, of further mention. 

Alexander Cullen Birnie, only son 
of George Alexander and Ellen (Bowen) 
Birnie, was born in Brooklyn, New York, 
February 25, 1877. He was young when 
his parents moved to Ludlow, Massachu- 
setts, and in Ludlow public schools he 
obtained his early educational training. 
He was also a student at Wilbraham 
Academy and Massachusetts Agricultural 
College. He began business life with l^he 
construction department of the Chester & 
Becket railroad, and going thence to the 
engineering department of the Boston & 
Albany railroad. Later he was concerned 
in the construction of the Suburban Street 
railway at Syracuse, New York, and still 
later was assistant superintendent of con- 
struction on the Duluth & Iron Range 
railroad, his headquarters at Two Har- 
bors, Minnesota. He was resident engi- 
neer at the building of the Montville 
branch of the New London Northern rail- 
road ; was general manager of the Spring- 
field Construction Company for two 
years ; with the United Construction Com- 
pany of Albany, New York, as chief of all 
steel erection, and in that connection was 
concerned with the building of the bridge 
at Lake Carnegie, Princeton, New Jersey. 

For three years Mr. Birnie was with Mace 
Moulton, of Springfield, as constructing 
engineer of steel work, and was engaged 
on the plans for the bridge across the 
Connecticut river at Springfield to replace 
the old bridge. In 1905 Mr. Birnie located 
in Ludlow, and there for two years en- 
gaged in concrete construction work. In 
1907 he admitted his brother-in-law to a 
partnership, the business being conducted 
under the firm name, A. C. Birnie & Com- 
pany, later becoming the Birnie, Adams 
& Ruxton Construction Company, the 
latter company the builders of the Hamp- 
den railroad with the exception of the 
straight grading. Mr. Birnie sold his in- 
terest in Birnie, Adams and Ruxton Con- 
struction Company, to E. J. Ruxton, and 
in the fall of 1913 organized the Birnie 
Sand and Gravel Company and conducted 
it as an individual enterprise until April, 
1915, when a voluntary trust was formed, 
under the same name, and of this Mr. 
Birnie is assistant treasurer and general 
manager. The company's product sup- 
plants broken stone in a large amount of 
construction work, and is shipped by 
trucks, electric and steam railroads all 
over this section as far East as Boston, 
north to East Windsor, Vermont, west 
to Detroit, Michigan, and to all intermed- 
iate points. Mr. Birnie has served as a 
member of the Ludlow Board of Select- 
men and on the town finance committee. 
He is an attendant of the Universalist 
church, a Republican in politics, and a 
member of several societies. 

Mr. Birnie married, July i, 1901, Mary 
Ruxton, of Ludlow, and they are the par- 
ents of five children, three of whom are 
living, the two eldest dying in infancy. 
Those living are : Marie Ellen, born May 
3, 1910; Catherine Martha, born June 8, 
1916; Alexander Ruxton, born June 2, 



TRASK, John Low Rogers, D. D,, 
Clergyman, Man of Great Talent. 

When on March 23, 1915, Dr. Trask 
passed to his reward, he left a record of 
usefulness and devotion as a minister of 
the gospel which to his family is a precious 
heritage. He was a man of strong per- 
sonality, and his fine quality of manhood 
and his influence as minister and citizen 
was very strong and a power for good in 
the communities he served as pastor. 
During his long term as pastor of Spring- 
field Memorial Church, he was held in 
high esteem and he drew large congrega- 
tions to the services of that church. He 
possessed a marvelous power of descrip- 
tion, and had a happy faculty of present- 
ing gospel truths in an attractive man- 
ner. His years in the active ministry of 
the Congregational church numbered 
thirty-six, and these were spent as pastor 
of but three churches, the Second Church 
of Holyoke, Trinity Church of Lawrence, 
and Memorial Church of Springfield, all 
in Massachusetts. 

(I) Dr. Trask was a descendant of Os- 
mond Trask, a brother of William Trask, 
and early settler of Salem, Massachusetts. 
Mary Ellery (Rogers) Trask, mother of 
Dr. Trask, was a descendant of Rev. John 
Rogers, the first president of Harvard 
College in 1684. His ancestry on both 
sides includes men of prominence in reli- 
gious, public and military life, his great- 
grandfather, Ebenezer (2) Trask, 1741- 
1814, serving with the "minute-men" who 
marched with Lieutenant Peter Shaw's 
company on the "Lexington Alarm," 
April 19, 1775. Osmond Trask, the 
founder of this branch of the Trask fam- 
ily in New England, was born in Eng- 
land about 1626, and was a planter in 
Salem prior to 1649. He moved to Bev- 
erly, Massachusetts, later in hfe, was con- 
stable there, and died in 1676. His first 

wife, Mary, died January 2, 1663, their 
marriage being recorded as occurring 
January i, 1650. He married (second). 
May 22, 1663, Elizabeth, daughter of John 
Gaily. By his first marriage there were 
thirteen children, including a son John, 
who was the fourth child and second son. 
It is through him that descent is traced. 

(II) John Trask was born in Salem, 
August 15, 1658, died in Beverly, Massa- 
chusetts, May 13, 1720. He married 
(first) Christian Woodbury, who died 
June 3, 1689; he married (second). Octo- 
ber 30, 1690, Mary Dodge. He married 
(third), 1692-93, Elizabeth, who died in 
Beverly, November 26, 1715. The line is 
traced through Ebenezer, the youngest 
child of the third wife and eleventh in 
order of birth of John Trask's children. 

(III) Ebenezer Trask was born about 
the year 1705, and died in 1779, his estate 
being settled December 6 of that year. He 
was a house carpenter by trade, and was 
in the Revolutionary War, serving in Caleb 
Dodge's company, which marched on the 
alarm of April 19, 1775. He married, at 
Beverly, March 5, 1729, Mary Rix, and 
they were the parents of eleven children, 
the eighth a son, Ebenezer, of whom fur- 

(IV) Ebenezer (2) Trask was born in 
Beverly, Massachusetts, June 12, 1741, 
and there died, March 9, 1814. He was a 
soldier of the Revolution, a private of 
Lieutenant Peter Shaw's company, the 
"minute-men" who fought the battle of 
Lexington, April 19, 1775. He married, 
January 31, 1765, Betty Dodge, of Wen- 
ham. They were the parents of eleven 
children, all born in Beverly, Massachu- 
setts. The line continues through Joseph, 
the seventh child. 

(V) Joseph Trask was born April 21, 
1776, and settled in Gloucester, Mas- 
sachusetts. He married (first) Sarah 
Dodge ; (second) Susanna Harvey. 



(VI) Joshua P. Trask, eldest son of 
Joseph Trask and his second wife, Su- 
sanna (Harvey) Trask, was born in Glou- 
cester, Massachusetts, July 23, 1805, and 
died there in September, 1862. He was in 
business for a few years at Hampden, 
Penobscot county, Maine, but later re- 
turned to Gloucester, where the remainder 
of his life was passed. He took an active 
part in public affairs, and having some 
legal education, was appointed the first 
judge of Gloucester's Municipal Court. 
A just and upright man and well informed 
citizen, he took part in every movement 
for the welfare and benefit of the town, 
his public spirit, coupled with a resolute, 
aggressive nature, enabling him to accom- 
plish a great deal for the public good. The 
cause of temperance particularly appealed 
to him, and several societies, who pro- 
moted that cause, owe their inception to 
his interest. He was also the leader in 
the agitation which brought about the 
establishment of a public library in Glou- 
cester. He married, December 14, 1830, 
Mary EUery Rogers, born in April, 1803, 
daughter of William and Elizabeth (Low) 
Rogers. William Rogers was an officer 
of the United States Customs Depart- 
ment, a school teacher for many years, a 
soldier of the Revolution, and a direct de- 
scendant of the first president of Harvard 
College, Rev. John Rogers. Joshua P. 
and Mary EUery (Rogers) Trask were 
the parents of : William P. ; Charles A. ; 
Susan E. ; Elizabeth R. ; John Low 
Rogers, of whom further; and Mary A., 
twin to John Low Rogers, who is still 
living, in Boston, the only one left of the 

(VII) John Low Rogers Trask, son of 
Joshua P. and Mary Ellery (Rogers) 
Trask, was born in Hampden, Maine, De- 
cember 19, 1842, died in Hartford, Con- 
necticut, March 23, 1915. He was edu- 
cated in Gloucester public schools, Dum- 

mer Academy, Byfield, Massachusetts, 
Atkinson (New Hampshire) Academy, 
and Williams College, receiving his A. B. 
from the last-named institution at gradu- 
ation with the class of 1864. Choosing 
the ministry he began studies in divinity 
at Princeton Theological Seminary, then 
went to Andover Theological Seminary, 
after which he was called to the pastorate 
of the Second Congregational Church of 
Holyoke. He was ordained at Holyoke, 
December 4, 1867. He continued pastor 
for the Second Church for sixteen years 
and was a great factor in the development 
of that church. He was a very able 
preacher, sympathetic and well beloved. 
His prayers are remembered even to this 
day, for in time of trouble he was the 
most sympathetic and lovable friend. He 
came to the church at an important epoch 
in its history, when Holyoke was growing 
rapidly in population and in wealth. Into 
the expanding life of this congregation, he 
put all the enthusiasm and energy of 
youth, the moulding influence of a vigor- 
ous and versatile mind and a warm heart. 
With the aid of his amiable and accom- 
plished wife he did a great and enduring 
work. During his ministry of sixteen 
years, the longest in the history of the 
parish up to that time, the city of Holyoke 
nearly quadrupled its population, increas- 
ing from 5,648 to 21,961 in 1880. The 
church grew steadily in membership, 
benevolence and influence in the commun- 
ity. There were several years of marked 
religious interest, and numerous addi- 
tions, notably in 1870, when ninety-one 
were received into this community, sixty- 
four on confession of faith, and in 1879, 
when seventy-seven were admitted, thirty- 
six on confession. The membership rose 
from 163 at the time of Dr. Trask's ordi- 
nation to 504 at the close of the year when 
he resigned. 

During his pastorate there was a large 



and continual increase in the amounts 
contributed for benevolence, and steady- 
growth in the Sunday school and the 
various organizations within the parish. 
Also during his pastorate at the church, 
the Articles of Faith and Covenant were 
changed (1872), the substance of the sim- 
pler creed adopted by the National Coun- 
cil at Plymouth, June 22, 1865, being sub- 
stituted for the old and elaborate confes- 
sion. While he was pastor, the young 
men of J. S. McElwain's Sunday school 
class began the work in Parsons Hall, 
which resulted in the erection of Grace 
Chapel, on Main street, in the fall of that 
year. Dr. Trask had been very active in 
all measures connected with the church, 
but in the fall of 1881 his health failed and 
after a year's rest, to the profound regret 
and sorrow of the congregation, he re- 
signed, November 23, 1882. His letter 
of resignation was filled with tender 
memories and grateful affection, expressed 
in the clear and pleasing style so char- 
acteristic of him. During his pastorate he 
raised funds for the purchase of the site 
of the present church edifice, and was one 
of the founders of the Holyoke Public 

After resting and recovering his health, 
Dr. Trask accepted a call from Trinity 
Congregation Church of Lawrence, and 
in 1884 was installed its pastor. He spent 
four years with that congregation, then 
resigned, toured Europe during the late 
summer, and upon his return was called 
to the Memorial Church of Springfield, 
Massachusetts. That church, classed as 
Union Evangelical, is entirely unsectar- 
ian in its government, and aspires to meet 
the spiritual needs of all. He began his 
pastorate in 1888, and until 1903 he was 
the spiritual head of the congregation, 
greatly beloved by all with whom he came 
in contact. A parish house was erected 

during his term and one of the largest 
Sunday schools in the city, and the larg- 
est Christian Endeavor Society grev/ up 
under his ministrations. In 1903 weight 
of years caused his resignation and he re- 
tired from the active ministry to his home 
at No. 55 Marengo Park, Springfield, Mas- 

For more than twenty-one years. Dr. 
Trask was secretary of the board of trus- 
tees of Mount Holyoke College. He was 
for many years chaplain of the Massachu- 
setts Chapter of the Sons of the American 
Revolution, and was a member of the "T" 
Club, and the Congregational Club of 
Springfield, and the Winthrop Club of 
Boston. When the city of Gloucester 
celebrated its 250th anniversary in 1892, 
Dr. Trask was chosen orator to deliver 
the address of the day. He was a member 
of the New England Historic-Genealogi- 
cal Society; and Phi Beta Kappa fra- 
ternity. The degree of A. M. was con- 
ferred upon him by Williams College in 
1867, and the degree of D. D. was con- 
ferred upon him by the same college in 

Dr. Trask married, August i, 1871, Ab- 
bie J. Parker, born September 21, 1846, 
died in 1915, daughter of Daniel Hardy 
Parker of Dunbarton, New Hampshire. 
Dr. and Mrs. Trask were the parents of a 
son and two daughters: i. Frederick 
Parker, born July 13, 1872, a graduate of 
Amherst College, class of 1896. He mar- 
ried Catherine Davies, and has a son, 
Parker Trask. 2. Elizabeth Rogers, a 
graduate of Mount Holyoke College, class 
of 1898, studied music and language 
abroad, and was a well known lecturer on 
art. 3. Mary Ellery, a graduate of Smith 
College, class of 1900, married, in Novem- 
ber, 1903, Paul H. Loomis. They are the 
parents of two children: Ellery Trask, 
and John Dwight Loomis. 



Divines, Authors, Journalists. 

This family has been noted in litera- 
ture, journalism, and the professions from 
its earliest settlement in Connecticut, 
where Rev. Joseph Bellamy, D. D., 
founded a school of theology, down to 
Charles Joseph Bellamy, editor and pub- 
lisher of the Springfield "Daily News," 
who died December 12, 1910. The "Daily 
News" was founded by Charles Joseph 
and Edward Bellamy, both now deceased, 
and to its upbuilding Charles J. gave the 
greater part of his life, although he had 
trained for, and was in, law practice when 
more as a diversion than with serious 
intent the Bellamy brothers launched 
"The Penny News." But once the im- 
portance of this undertaking was realized, 
he entered into it with vigor and with 
wonderful success. He combined an ex- 
ceptional degree of literary talent with 
business ability, and as editor and busi- 
ness manager of the paper he was a pro- 
nounced success. The decided literary 
ability which he possessed was a heritage 
from scholarly forebears, there being 
many men of culture and learning in the 
family, beginning with Rev. Joseph Bel- 
lamy, D. D. 

Rev. Joseph Bellamy was born in New 
Haven, Connecticut, in 1719, died March 
6, 1790. He was a graduate of Yale Col- 
lege, class of 1735, and in 1740 was or- 
dained pastor of the church at Bethlehem, 
Connecticut. He became a zealous, reli- 
gious worker, and during a revival of 
religion in 1742, preached almost daily in 
different parts of Connecticut, Massachu- 
setts, and New York. He later opened a 
theological school at Bethlehem, and ap- 
plied his mind to writing books for the 
use of his pupils. Among them were: 
"True Religion Delineated," first printed 

in 1750; it passed through several edi- 
tions and reached a high degree of popu- 
larity as a monument of learned scholar- 
ship and unusual logical acumen ; also 
"Dialogues on Theron ;" "Aspasia and 
Paulinus ;" "Sermons on the Divinity of 
Christ;" "The Millenium and the Wisdom 
of God in the Permission of Sin ;" "Essay 
of the Gospel ;" "The Great Evil of Sin ;" 
"The Law Our Schoolmaster;" "Early 
Piety Recommended ;" "A Letter to Scrip- 
tureista ;" "The Nature and Glory of the 
Gospel;" "Four Dialogues Between a 
Minister and a Parishioner ;" and a trea- 
tise on "Half-Way Covenant." The care- 
ful research and wide reading displayed 
by all of them indicate the truly inductive 
method by which he sought to train the 
minds and habits of his students. He was 
accustomed to give them questions in 
theology to be answered by their own 
thinking and research. Through his 
friend, Dr. John Erskine, of Edinburgh, 
he received from Aberdeen University the 
degree of D. D. 

Rev. Rufus King Bellamy, great-grand- 
son of Rev. Joseph Bellamy, D. D., was 
born about 181 5, in Connecticut, died at 
Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts, November 
16, 1886, he also the son of a minister. 
Rufus King Bellamy, after completing his 
classical and theological study, was or- 
dained a minister of the Baptist church, 
and for thirty-five years was the settled 
pastor over the church at Chicopee Falls. 
He was a man of learning, piety, and in- 
fluence, of forceful character, and very 
useful. He married Maria Louise Put- 
nam, born in 1817, died September 11, 
1892, daughter of Rev. Benjamin Putnam, 
a leading Baptist clergyman of his day, 
and one of the early pastors of the First 
Baptist Church of Springfield, a descend- 
ant of the celebrated General Israel Put- 
nam of Revolutionary fame. Rev. Rufus 



King and Maria Louise (Putnam) Bel- 
lamy were the parents of four sons: i. 
William H., who died at the age of 
twenty-six. 2. Frederick Putnam, a prom- 
inent attorney of Brooklyn, New York. 3. 
Edward, born at Chicopee Falls, Massa- 
chusetts, March 26, 1850, died in 1898. He 
was admitted to the bar at Springfield, 
Massachusetts, but did not practice, be- 
coming, in 1871, an editorial writer for the 
New York "Evening Post," and subse- 
quently for the Springfield "Union." In 
1877 he went to the Sandwich Islands, re- 
turning in 1878, and the same year pub- 
lished his first novel, "A Nantucket Idyl." 
This was followed by two others, and in 
1888 by "Looking Backward," a book 
which has had an extraordinary circula- 
tion. The work has been translated into 
German, Danish, French, and other lan- 
guages, and in England it is said the sales 
are as large as in America. 4. Charles 
Joseph, of further mention. 

Charles Joseph Bellamy, fourth son of 
Rev. Rufus King Bellamy, was born at 
Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts, May 7, 
1852, died at his home on Central street, 
Springfield, Massachusetts, December 12, 
1910. He was educated in the public 
schools of Chicopee Falls, going thence to 
Williston Seminary, there completing a 
three years' course, with graduation in 
1872. He then spent a year at Harvard 
University, and a similar period was de- 
voted to astrological and philosophical 
research. In 1874 he began the study of 
law with Leonard & Wells, two promi- 
nent attorneys of Springfield, and in 1876 
Mr. Bellamy was admitted to the Hamp- 
den county bar. For about five years he 
practiced law at Chicopee Falls, but his 
love for writing was gradually luring his 
love from the law. He wrote several 
novels including: "The Breton Mills;" 
"An Experiment in Marriage;" "Were 

They Sinners ;" "A Moment of Madness ;" 
"The Way Out ;" and later, "The Return 
of the Fairies," which was acclaimed and 
used in the public schools of Springfield 
and other cities. He also wrote "Every 
Man His Own Lawyer," and the "Won- 
der Children." 

In 1880, Mr. Bellamy and his brother 
Edward, then an editorial writer on the 
Springfield "Union," established a tri- 
weekly paper, which was known as "The 
Penny News," that paper making its first 
appearance February 24, 1880. The 
brothers had little intention of devoting a 
great deal of their time to the new adven- 
ture, but the little sheet was received with 
such favor that they decided to continue 
it as a daily, the first issue as such being 
May 13, 1880. Thereafter, the publishers 
began to enlarge and improve the paper, 
the subscription list and the advertising 
patronage being very satisfactory. 

Later, Edward Bellamy, having with- 
drawn from the enterprise to devote him- 
self entirely to literature, Charles J. 
assumed sole control, and the "Daily 
News," as the paper was renamed, became 
one of the successes of journalism. In 
1894 a new home for the "News" was 
erected and later a job printing plant 
acquired, which Mr. Bellamy built up and 
supervised. Since then the "News" build- 
ing has been enlarged and the equipment 
is modern and complete. Could he have 
devoted all his time to his duties as editor 
he would have attained a rank in keep- 
ing with his literary ability, but the task 
of building up the business side of his 
paper, as well as directing the editorial 
policy, developed such a fascination for 
him that he found equal enjoyment in his 
dual roles of editor and business-manager. 

As an editorial writer, Mr. Bellamy pos- 
sessed grace and style, and he was master 
of a remarkable vocabulary. His writ- 


ings were distinguished by freshness and 
clearness of thought and by deep insight 
into any subject which he was handling, 
and by special force in analytical treat- 
ment. He wrote direct and to the point, 
and his editorials were notable, not alone 
for their brilliancy as writings, but for the 
research and marshaling of details that 
often entered into them. He was aggres- 
sive, but not bitter in denunciation. Keen- 
est sympathy and charming sentiment 
went into subjects demanding these qual- 
ities. There was never any doubt as to 
the point which he wished to emphasize. 
Although a long-time Democrat, and a 
firm believer in its platform, Mr. Bellamy 
never believed it necessary to abuse his 
opponent, nor to indulge in bitter person- 
alities in his political writings. 

He had an extraordinary capacity for 
work. He wrote fluently and without ap- 
parent effort, and when many men who 
shoulder such heavy responsibilities would 
be thinking about rest and recreation, Mr. 
Bellamy was wont to take up his time 
with other duties. He was of an inven- 
tive turn, and busied himself in his few 
leisure hours until a few years before his 
death in creative work of that nature. 
Often he had wished that he were able to 
devote more time to this field His energy 
seemed inexhaustible, and no detail of his 
business was too small for his considera- 

The public of Springfield well know how 
assiduously the "Daily News" pressed for 
reforms, for municipal improvements, for 
justice towards all classes, for progres- 
sive measures in every department of 
civic life. Mr. Bellamy once wrote edi- 
torially : "In very many cases our urgency, 
oftentimes resented, has been triumphant 
in accomplishing the desired ends. In 
many cases the struggle is still on and our 
zeal is unabated after a score of years. 

But the criterion by which we would be 
judged is by the popular verdict as to the 
honesty of our contentions and the disin- 
terestedness of our course. We dare to 
hope that we shall also have with us a pre- 
ponderating popular feeling that in most 
cases we have been right in our conten- 
tions, whether it has yet proved success- 
ful or not." 

Social in nature, Mr. Bellamy was a 
member of the Nayasset and Country 
clubs, was an interested member of the 
Board of Trade, and won to himself dur- 
ing his long newspaper career the loyal 
support of a host of friends. With his 
employees he enjoyed the friendliest of 
relations, and to his friends and em- 
ployees his death came as a personal loss. 

Mr. Bellamy married, in 1879, Imogene 
Cooper, of the same family as Peter 
Cooper, the philanthropist. Mrs. Bellamy, 
a talented, cultured lady, survived her 
husband but a year. Mr. and Mrs. Bel- 
lamy were the parents of a daughter, 
Louise Imogene, now deceased, who mar- 
ried W. D. Mason, Jr., and of a son, 
Charles Joseph (2) Bellamy, of whom 

Charles Joseph (2) Bellamy was born 
at Chicopee Falls, March 8, 1892. He 
came to Springfield in 1893, when an in- 
fant, and was educated in the Springfield 
public schools ; Springfield High School ; 
the Middlesex School in Concord ; the 
Hotchkiss School, Lakeville, Connecticut, 
and Yale University, graduating from 
Yale in 1913 with the degree of B. A. 
After graduation he entered the business 
offices of the "Daily News," founded and 
developed by his father, continuing until 
the sale of that journal to the Springfield 

At the entrance of he United States 
into the World War Charles J. (2) Bel- 
lamy enlisted, and was sent to Officers' 



Training Camp at Plattsburg, New York, 
April 13, 1917, and remained there until 
November 27, 1917, when he was commis- 
sioned first lieutenant. He was assigned 
to Camp Devens, Massachusetts, where 
he was commissioned captain, but on ac- 
count of the signing of the armistice he 
was discharged from the army in Decem- 
ber, 1918, and has since been connected 
with the Daily News Company. He is 
president of that company, and is also 
editor of that paper. He is a member of 
the Colony, Nayasset and Springfield 
Country clubs, Delta Kappa Epsilon fra- 
ternity, and other organizations, social 
and fraternal. 

Mr. Bellamy married, June i, 1918, 
Edith Meyer, of Montclair, New Jersey, 
daughter of John and Ida (Booth) Meyer. 

SHUART, William Herbert, 

Head of Important Industry. 

William Herbert Shuart, the subject of 
this sketch, is of Dutch and English de- 
scent. Family tradition has it that the 
first paternal ancestor from Holland set- 
tled in New Jersey somewhere about two 
hundred years ago, but the earliest ances- 
tor of whom anything definite is known 
was Johannis Shuart. In 1773 he pur- 
chased a tract of land consisting of several 
hundred acres in the town of Plattskill, 
Ulster county, New York, and for many 
years was engaged in extensive farming. 
Johannis Shuart married for his second 
wife Rachel Garrison, and they were the 
parents of a son, Abraham, of whom fur- 
ther. They later removed to Western 
New York. 

(II) Abraham Shuart, son of Johannis 
and Rachel (Garrison) Shuart, was born 
in Ulster county. New York, in 1789, and 
died in 1854. He was one of the pioneer 
settlers in Mendon, Monroe county, New 

York, and resided there until his death, 
at the age of sixty-five years. He was the 
owner of a large farm, and was one of the 
prosperous, substantial agriculturists of 
the Mendon section. He married Betsey 
Rail, and they were the parents of Denton 
Gregory, of whom further. 

(Ill) Denton Gregory Shuart, son of 
Abraham and Betsey (Rail) Shuart, vvas 
born in Plattskill, Ulster county, New 
York, February 9, 1805, and died in 
Honeoye Falls, Monroe county, New 
York, August 28, 1892. He was educated 
in the school and academy of his neigh- 
borhood, thus obtaining a practical educa- 
tion. In the year 1826 he took up the 
study of law in New York City, and in 
1 83 1 was admitted to the bar. Shortly 
afterward he located in Monroe county. 
New York, and began the practice of law 
in Honeoye Falls, a milling and manufac- 
turing village, situated sixteen miles from 
Rochester. He acquired high standing at 
the Monroe county bar, and for nearly 
half a century was one of its prominent 
attorneys. In November, 1851, he was 
elected surrogate of Monoe county and 
served in that office for four years, being 
the first surrogate of that county to be 
elected by the people. Mr. Shuart was one 
of the founders and trustees of Genesee 
College at Lima, New York, which later, 
through his influence, and that of others, 
was removed to Syracuse, New York, and 
became the nucleus of Syracuse Univer- 
sity. He took a prominent part in Mon- 
roe county politics. He was a man of 
substance, and later in life, aside from his 
professional duties, engaged quite exten- 
sively in agricultural pursuits. He main- 
tained his residence at Honeoye Falls, 
where his death occurred at the age of 
eighty-seven years. 

Denton Gregory Shuart married, Sep- 
tember 18, 1837, Mary Elizabeth Barrett. 


• Amertcvi Histortcnl 5oaety 




born in Oneida county, New York, Sep- 
tember 30, 1818, died May 10, 1881. She 
was a daughter of Stephen and Lois 
(Day) Barrett, and a descendant of Hum- 
phrey Barrett, who was born in England 
in 1592, located in Concord, Massachu- 
setts, in 1639, "^^s made a freeman in 
1657,. and died in November, 1662, aged 
seventy years. His widow, Mary Barrett, 
in her will of June 15, 1663, probated Oc- 
tober 20, 1663, names sons, John and 
Humphrey, Jr. The latter-named was 
born in 1630, was made a freeman in 1662, 
and was appointed a representative in Oc- 
tober, 1691. He married Mary Potter, 
daughter of Luke and Mary Potter, and 
had sons, Joseph and Benjamin. The line 
traces through the son Benjamin, born in 
1681 ; his son, Stephen, born in 1720; his 
son, Stephen, born in 1753; his son, 
Stephen, born in 1793 ; his daughter, Mary 
Elizabeth, wife of Denton Gregory Shu- 
art. Mr. and Mrs. Shuart were the par- 
ents of four sons: i. Denton Barrett, 
born in 1842, died in 1866. 2. William 
Herbert, of whom further. 3. Clarence 
Allison, born November 15, 1856, a promi- 
nent attorney of Monroe county, New 
York, and now occupying the law offices 
so long conducted by his father. 4. Irv- 
ing J., born July 7, i860 ; now a resident 
of Chicago, Illinois, representing the 
Western interests of the Springfield 
Glazed Paper Company, of which he is 

(IV) William Herbert Shuart, second 
son of Denton Gregory and Mary Eliz- 
abeth (Barrett) Shuart, was born in 
Honeoye Falls, Monroe county. New 
York, September 21, 1852. He acquired 
his early education in the public schools 
of his native place, prepared for college 
at Genesee Wesleyan Seminary, Lima, 
New York, and was graduated from Syra- 
cuse University with the degree of Bache- 

lor of Arts in the class of 1875. Deciding 
upon the profession of law, he began his 
studies in his father's office and later was 
a student in Rochester, New York. He 
was admitted to the bar in 1878 and at 
once began to practice in Rochester, there 
continuing until 1897, when he located in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, and became 
the president of the Springfield Glazed 
Paper Company, of which he is its head 
at the present time (1921), He is also 
president of the Glazed and Fancy Paper 
Manufacturers' Association. For several 
years he was a director and vice-president 
of the Springfield Chamber jof Commerce, 
and during the war served two terms as 
its president. He was also one of the 
early supporters of the Chamber of Com- 
merce of the United States. 

Among the organizations and clubs of 
which Mr. Shuart is a member are the 
Society of Colonial Wars, the New 
England Historic-Genealogical Society, 
the Connecticut Valley Historical So- 
ciety, the Rochester (N. Y.) Historical 
Society, the Century Club of Springfield, 
of which he is president (1921), Colony 
Club of Springfield, and also the Rotary 
Club, of which he is a former president. 
He is a member of Christ Church 
(Springfield, Mass.), of which he is a 
vestryman, and his family are also mem- 
bers of that church. 

Mr. Shuart married Nella Sumner Phil- 
lips, of Springfield, Massachusetts, her 
middle name in honor of the famed states- 
man, Charles Sumner, who was a friend 
of her father's. Mrs. Shuart is a daugh- 
ter of Smith Robinson and Ida M. (Bis- 
sell) Phillips. She was a student of Smith 
College in the class of 1882. Mr. and Mrs. 
Shuart are the parents of three children : 
I. Christine, born December 11, 1884; 
graduated from Smith College in the class 
of 1907; married. May 6, 1915, Karl 



R. Hammond, assistant treasurer of the 
Springfield Glazed Paper Company, son 
of Dr. Charles H. and Mary Tracy Ham- 
mond, of Nashua, New Hampshire. They 
have a son, William Bartlett Hammond, 
born October 25, 1918. 2. John Denton, 
born November 16, 1894; prepared for 
college at Choate School, Wallingford, 
Connecticut, and entered Williams Col- 
lege in the class of 1918. In February, 
1917, he joined the first naval unit organ- 
ized from a college for war service and 
later was assigned to the U. S. Crusier 
"Chester." He was on that ship for seven- 
teen months' continual overseas service, 
during the World War, attaining the rank 
of ensign, and later was appointed junior 
lieutenant in the Naval Reserve. He was 
relieved from service in the spring of 1919. 
At the present time (1921) he is secretary 
of the Springfield Glazed Paper Company. 
He married, April 30, 1917, Harriet Dick- 
inson, daughter of Henry and Stella 
(Paige) Dickinson, of Springfield, and 
they are the parents of two children, John 
Denton, born April 29, 1918; Barbara 
Phillips, born June 26, 1920. 3. Kath- 
arine Barrett, born June 20, 1899; mar- 
ried, December i, 1920, A. Stuart Pratt, 
Jr., son of A. Stuart and Josephine 
(Stewart) Pratt, of West Newton, Massa- 
chusetts. They have a son, A. Stuart 
Pratt, 3rd, born September 30, 1921. 

MARSH, Col. John F., 

Civil War Veteran, Manufacturer. 

In the death of Colonel Marsh, Janu- 
ary 10, 1915, Springfield lost a highly val- 
ued citizen, one who linked the present 
with those periods in history, the Mexi- 
can War, the California gold fever of 1849, 
and the Civil War. In all of these Colonel 
Marsh participated, and with his legisla- 
tive service, his long and successful busi- 

ness career, and with numerous other 
activities, he passed a most remarkable 
life. He possessed an excellent memory, 
and he was freely interviewed by repre- 
sentatives of the press, numerous inter- 
views upon his experiences being printed. 
His greatest business achievement was 
the founding and developing of the Spring- 
field Glazed Paper Company, of which he 
was treasurer and manager until his re- 
tirement in 1909. For forty years he was 
prominent in Springfield's business life, 
and he had almost completed the eighty- 
seventh year of his life. 

Colonel John F. Marsh was born, Feb- 
ruary I, 1828, at Hudson, New Hamp- 
shire, the son of Fitch Pool and Mary J. 
(Emery) Marsh. His grandfather, Sam- 
uel Marsh, was among the early settlers 
of West Nottingham, now Hudson. The 
paternal descent was from George Marsh, 
who came from Norfolk, England, in 1635, 
and settled in Hingham. On his mother's 
side. Colonel Marsh's ancestors were 
Scotch-Irish, prominent in Colonial days. 
He was educated in the public schools of 
his native town, and at Crosby's Literary 
Institute, in Nashua, New Hampshire. 
His youth was spent on his father's farm, 
but early in life he manifested much inter- 
est in the militia, and his great ambition 
was to enter the Military Academy at 
West Point. He failed to get the appoint- 
ment, and in the spring of 1847, he en- 
listed in Captain Joseph Bower's com- 
pany, of the Ninth United States Infantry, 
for the Mexican War. The regiment 
landed in Vera Cruz in July of that year, 
and a month later he was in the command 
of General Franklin Pierce, afterwards 
President of the United States. The army 
marched into the interior, and a morith 
later joined General Scott at Pueblo. 
Four days later they marched towards 
the Valley of Mexico. The nineteen-year- 



old boy received his first practical train- 
ing in warfare in the battles of Contreras, 
Cherubusco, on August 19 and 20; Molino 
del Rey, September 8; Chapultepec, the 
Garitos, the City of Mexico, on the 12th, 
13th, and 14th. 

After being mustered out in August, 
1848, Colonel Marsh returned to New 
Hampshire, intending to enter Exeter 
Academy, but sickness prevented this and 
he taught school at Hudson. This prosaic 
occupation did not hold him long as, hav- 
ing caught the "gold fever," he sailed for 
Galveston, Texas, in January, 1849, on the 
"William F. Davis." After a few days at 
sea, some of the party got together, de- 
posed the captain and chose young Marsh 
to direct the crew. The journey overland, 
from Galveston to the gold lands, took 
four months and v/as made with great dif- 
ficulty and danger because of hostile In- 
dians and Mexicans, and lack of food. 
Colonel Marsh remained one year on the 
Pacific slope and had good sucess, for he 
came East with several thousand dollars. 
He returned soon after to California and 
established a trading post. 

In 1855 he was appointed by the Presi- 
dent a special agent in the postal service 
between New York and San Francisco. 
In 1856 he settled in Hastings, Minne- 
sota, and was appointed postmaster there 
by President Pierce, in whose brigade he 
had served in the Mexican War. He was 
mayor of Hastings from 1859 to 1861. 
When the Civil War broke out he en- 
listed, June 17, 1861, and was appointed 
first lieutenant of the Sixth Wisconsin 
Infantry, afterwards part of the "Iron 
Brigade" of the Army of the Potomac, 
and was made a captain in October of that 
year. On August 28, 1862, he was wounded 
in the knee at the battle of Gainesville. 
Promotion came again on September 11, 
when he was appointed lieutenant-colonel 

of the Twelfth New Hampshire Infan- 
try. A severe wound, received May 3, 
1863, at Chancellorsville, compelled him 
to retire from field service, and on Janu- 
ary 22, 1864, he was made lieutenant- 
colonel of the Veteran Reserve Corps. 
His service during the last year of the 
war was on General Casey's board, con- 
vened for the examination of candidates 
for commission in the military service, and 
he also performed special service in the 
Inspector General's Department. 

He was commissioned colonel of the 
Twenty-fourth United States Colored In- 
fantry, April 20, 1865, but this he declined, 
as he doubted the expediency of employ- 
ing freed slaves as soldiers. On March 
13, 1865, he was brevetted colonel for 
"gallant and meritorious conduct" at the 
battle of Chancellorsville. On August 16, 
1867, Colonel Marsh resigned from the 
army, and in November, 1868, was ap- 
pointed United States pension agent at 
Concord, New Hampshire. He soon re- 
tired from this position to engage in the 
manufacturing of surface-coated papers 
at Nashua. In 1874 he moved to Spring- 
field and established the Springfield 
Glazed Paper Company, of which he was 
treasurer and general manager until his 
retirement, as before stated. 

Proof of the high regard with which his 
military record was viewed was given in 
July, 1898, when he was requested by the 
Volunteer Aid Association of Massachu- 
setts, and the Local Association in this 
city, to go to San Diego, Cuba, with sup- 
plies for our soldiers and to report their 
condition and wants. Though over sev- 
enty years old. Colonel Marsh undertook 
this mission and carried it to a successful 
close, accepting only the thanks of the 
association in return. 

In 1899, at the urging of his friends, he 
was a candidate for and elected represen- 



tative from the Fourth Hampden District, 
and was elected to the Senate for two 
terms, 1901 and 1902. The length to 
which a bare summary of Colonel Marsh's 
activities run show what a crowded life 
he led. He was of the old stock. His was 
the physical constitution and adventurous 
spirit of his Pilgrim ancestors. His spirit 
was clearly military, and he was a thor- 
ough soldier, personally brave, a stern dis- 
ciplinarian, but just and kind in his judg- 
ment. His men respected him, and the 
duties reposed in him by his superiors 
were shown by his rapid rise in rank, and 
by the special missions for which he was 
engaged. The word "positive" is most 
descriptive of his character. He was fond 
of his friends and he had many of them, 
but he was marked by a certain reserve 
that kept him from forming new friend- 
ships easily. He was a member of the 
Masonic order, and of the Military Order 
of the Loyal Legion of the United States. 
Colonel Marsh married (first) Harriett 
Warren, of Hudson, New Hampshire ; 
(second) Ida M. Phillips, of vSpringfield. 
She died in May, 191 1. A son, Frank W. 
Marsh, and a daughter, Nella S. (Phillips) 
Shuart, both of Springfield, survived him, 
the latter the wife of William Herbert 
Shuart. (See preceding sketch). 

BARKER, John Francis, 

Manufacturer, Inventor. 

The family from which Mr. Barker de- 
scended, was of English origin. Ephraim 
Barker, great-grandfather of John Francis 
Barker, and immigrant ancestor of this 
branch of the family, was a native of Eng- 
land, from whence he emigrated, in com- 
pany with his brother, Richard Barker, to 
the New World, prior to the year 1752. 
Richard Barker went West, where all 
trace of him was lost. Ephraim Barker, 

after his marriage to Hannah Grove, 
which occurred February 27, 1752, located 
in Pomfret, Connecticut, and there spent 
the remainder of their days. Their chil- 
dren were: i. William, born November 
18, 1753; participated in the battles of 
Lexington and Bunker Hill. 2. Hannah, 
born September 15, 1754. 3. John, of 
whom further. 4. Ephraim, born Febru- 
ary 28, 1759. 5. Nathan, born June 8, 
1 761; served in the Revolutionary War; 
married, November 27, 1783, Lydia Bar- 
ker. 6. Calvin. 7. Dolly. 

(II) John Barker, second son of 
Ephraim and Hannah (Grove) Barker, 
was born in Pomfret, Connecticut, De- 
cember 18, 1756, and his death occurred in 
Stoddard, New Hampshire, March 15, 
1834. He enlisted in the Continental 
army for service during the Revolutionary 
War, was an active participant in the bat- 
tles of Lexington and Bunker Hill, and 
was present at Saratoga when General 
Burgoyne surrendered. He accompanied 
Benedict Arnold on the trip to Quebec, 
was one of the troops under command of 
General Sullivan in his Indian Campaign, 
also under command of Colonel Alden at 
Cherry Valley, in which battle that noted 
colonel lost his Hfe. Mr. Barker married 
(first), July 9, 1786, Esther Richardson, 
born at Leominster, Massachusetts, died 
at Stoddard, New Hampshire, July 17, 
1806. He married (second), December 2, 
1806, Mrs. Sally (Guild) Warren. Chil- 
dren of first wife: i. John, born January 
24, 1788, at Leominster, Massachusetts ; 
married, January i, 1815, Susan Bigelow ; 
he died March 15, 1834. 2. William, born 
October 20, 1789; married Phebe Rose; 
he died April 30, 1854. 3. Franklin, born 
July 12, 1790, died in Stoddard, April 12, 
1799. 4. Sally, born May 23, 1792. 5. 
Cephas, born December 7, 1793 ; married, 
February 20, 1821, Mary Jewett; he died 



August lo, 1857. 6. Cicero, twin of 
Cephas, married, August 19, 1817. Mary 
Satterly; he died June 22, 1870. 7. Bet- 
sey, born July 4, 1795; became the wife 
of Moody Tyler; she died May 30, 1877. 
8. Albermarle, of whom further. 9. Lor- 
enzo, born January 16, 1799, died, unmar- 
ried, July 20, 1845. 10. Louise, twin of 
Lorenzo, born January 16, 1799, died same 
day. II. Ephraim, born February 10, 
1801 ; married, September 15, 1825, Lydia 
Vinton; he died September 13, 1875. 12. 
Franklin, born April 11, 1803; married, 
April 15, 1826, Betsey Blood; he died July 
13', 1858. 13. Almira, born December 8, 
1804; married. May 21, 1834, Daniel Rus- 
sell; she died February 3, 1885. 14. Na- 
than, born June 25, 1806, died July 21, 
1806. Children of second wife : 15. Sam- 
uel Guild, born October 16, 1807; mar- 
ried (first). May 18, 1837, Sarah Towne ; 
(second), November 29, 1865, Phebe 
(Myers) Sears, a widow. 16. Luman, 
born July 8, 1809, killed at a house-raising 
in Port Eulo, Wisconsin, April 18, 1859. 
17, Mary, born December 2, 181 1; mar- 
ried, April 18, 1837, Eliphalet Fox. 18. 
Harriet Newell, born January 7, 1819; 

became the wife of Worcester. 

(Ill) Albermarle Barker, sixth son of 
John and Esther (Richardson) Barker, 
was born in Stoddard, New Hampshire, 
June 13, 1797, and died at Newton Upper 
Falls, Massachusetts, April 18, 1848. 
After completing his studies in the schools 
adjacent to his home, he served an ap- 
prenticeship at the trade of blacksmith, 
but did not follow this for any consider- 
able period, owing to the fact that during 
his young manhood he had a severe fall, 
which resulted in the complete paralysis 
of his lower limbs, and during the re- 
mainder of his life he was an invalid. He 
married Abigail A. Francis, of Marble- 
head, Massachusetts, born July 17, 1800. 

Children: i. Albermarle. born in Lex- 
ington, Massachusetts, March 13, 1825 ; 
went in the ship "Edward Everett," to 
California, in 1849, to join his brother 
William F. ; was a successful miner and 
cattle owner. 2. William Frederick, born 
June 19, 1827; went to California, in 
1848, in the ship "Leonore," among the 
first company of about three hundred 
men ; at the end of two years he was one 
of only six survivors, and lay ill of the 
fever alone; he was found and brought 
back to health by a stranger ; was taken 
once by a party of Indians and escaped 
after a terrible struggle with his three 
captors, having killed them all ; his left 
arm was disabled and he was cut in many 
places ; returned in 1879 to Springfield, 
Massachusetts, and later settled in the 
State of Washington, where he was a 
farmer; he married Kittie Chambers, who 
bore him four children : William, George, 
Ida, and John. 3. Horace Rice, born June 
27, 1829, in Lexington ; he learned the 
trade of machinist with his brothers in 
Otis Pettee's shop in Newton Upper 
Falls, and later was owner of the H. R. 
Barker Machine Shop in Lowell ; he 
served as alderman of Lowell ; he mar- 
ried Martha M. Merritt, who bore him 
two children : Louise Ardelle, and Ber- 
tha Estelle ; he died in Lowell, in Septem- 
ber, 1886. 4. Abigail Ann, born June 12, 
1831. 5. Sarah Adelia, born February 12, 
1834. 6. Ellen Amanda, born in Need- 
ham, May 13, 1836. 7. John Francis, of 
whom further. 8. Louise Maria, born 
January 12, 1841. All these children are 

(IV) John Francis Barker, youngest 
son of Albermarle and Abigail A. (Fran- 
cis) Barker, was born in Needham, Mas- 
sachusetts, December 16, 1839, and died 
November 25, 1919. His education was 
very meagre, owing to the fact that he 



was deprived of a father's care by death 
at the early age of nine, when he discon- 
tinued his studies in order to earn his own 
livelihood, being employed on a farm. 
Later, he again took up his studies, but 
they were discontinued altogether, as far 
as attending school was concerned, at the 
age of twelve. His next employment was 
with Brown & Company, of West New- 
ton, his duty being to drive a two-horse 
express between West Newton and Bos- 
ton, and in this capacity he served for one 
year. Shortly afterward he went to 
Lowell and secured employment in the 
machine shop conducted by his brother, 
Horace R. Barker, and at the age of fif- 
teen he owned a complete set of tools and 
was in command of a force of men. After 
a residence of four years in Lowell, he re- 
moved to the city of Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania, and there resided and was 
employed until the year 1862, when he 
returned to his native State, locating in 
Springfield, where he took charge of the 
pipe-works in the water-shops of the Na- 
tional Armory, holding that position for 
four years. He then became superin- 
tendent of the newly organized Portable 
Gas Works Company of Springfield, for 
the manufacture of portable gas machines. 
A year later, in July, 1867, finding their 
machinery impracticable, they reorgan- 
ized as the Springfield Gas Machine Com- 
pany, under patents planned by Mr. Bar- 
ker, for machines of a different style. He 
was fortunate in that he did not have to 
wait long to have his patents granted, and 
the company was organized with a capi- 
tal of $25,000, Mr. Barker's patents being 
valued at $15,000, At the expiration of 
two years, during which time the business 
was eminently successful, the firm of Gil- 
• bert. Barker & Company purchased the 
business of the Springfield Gas Machine 
Company, in which Mr. Barker was inter- 

ested until 1869, in which year he went to 
New York City, entered into partnership 
with C. N. Gilbert, and they established a 
store chiefly for the sale of the goods of 
the Springfield Gas Machine Company. 
In September, 1869, Gilbert, Barker & 
Company purchased the plant at Spring- 
field, Horace R. Barker, of Lowell, and 
W. S. Gilbert, of Cohoes, being added to 
the firm. In 1870 the firm was incorpo- 
rated as the Gilbert & Barker Manufac- 
turing Company, Mr. Barker being treas- 
urer and manager. In 1884 Mr. Gilbert 
retired from the business and Mr. Barker 
became president. The company manu- 
factures machinery which converts crude 
petroleum, as well as distillants, into gas- 
eous form, extensively used for heating 
and lighting. The business has done so 
much towards revolutionizing the fuel 
and lighting industries of New England 
that many enterprises remain in the East 
which would otherwise have removed 
West, where cheaper fuel could be ob- 
tained. Mr. Barker held between fifty 
and sixty patents, all marking important 
eras in the development of the business, 
which has led to an enormous trade, 
amounting to more than $3,000,000 yearly. 
Mr. Barker was a member of Hampden 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Springfield ; Morning Star Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Springfield Council, Royal 
and Select Masters; Springfield Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar; belonged 
to all the Scottish Rite bodies, up to and 
including the thirty-second degree ; also 
Melha Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; was also a 
member of the Masonic Club, and Hamp- 
den Lodge, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. He was one of the charter mem- 
bers of the Rod and Gun Club, later 
merged into the Winthrop Club. He was 
formerly a member of the Amabelish Fish 



and Game Club, limited to thirty-five 
members, which leased from the Canadian 
government a tract of land on the Ama- 
belish river and lake, the club house being 
built on an island, and was a member of 
the Home Market Club, of Boston, of 
which he was one of the vice-presidents. 
Mr. Barker was a Republican in politics, 
and his family attend Hope Church. 

Mr. Barker married (first) in Lowell, in 
March, 1858, Laura B. Pierce, born in 
April, 1840, died in May, 1884, daughter 
of George Pierce, a jeweller, of Lowell. 
He married (second), November 26, 1888, 
her sister, Jennie F. Pierce. Children of 
first wife: i. Frederick Francis, born 
June 17, 1859, accidentally drowned at the 
age of seven. 2. Amelia Maria, born April 
27, 1865; became the wife of Wheeler H. 
Hall, secretary of the Massachusetts Mu- 
tual Life Insurance Company. 3. John 
Francis, born October 18, 1879. Children 
of second wife : 4. Horace Richard, born 
March 9, 1890; during the World War 
he was in the service of the United States, 
located at Camp Jackson. 5. Laura Fran- 
cis, born September 29, 1896, at home. 

FLAGG, George A., 

Public-Spirited Citizen. 

George A. Flagg, of Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, comes of an old English family. 
The name is found in the English records 
spelled Flagg, Flegge, Flag, Flege, Flegh, 
Fleght, Fleggh and Flight. The family 
has been traced back many generations in 
England prior to its coming to New Eng- 
land, and is undoubtedly of Norman 

Thomas Flagg, the founder of the fam- 
ily in New England, was baptized in 1615, 
at Whinbergh, and in 1637, at the age of 
twenty-one, he came to New England. 
He settled at Watertown, Massachusetts, 

in 1641, owned considerable land, and was 
selectman several terms between 1671 and 
1687. He died February 6, 1698. He 
married, in Watertown, soon after his 
arrival, Mary . They were the par- 
ents of nine sons, their fifth, William, 
killed by the Indians in 1675. Descent is 
traced through John, the second son. 

John Flagg was born in Watertown, 
Massachusetts, June 14, 1643, and there 
died, February 6, 1697. He was admit- 
ted a freeman October 11, 1682, served as 
constable and tax collector in 1685. He 
married, March 30, 1670, Mary Gale, and 
they were the parents of a son, John (2). 

John (2) Flagg was born in Watertown, 
Massachusetts, November 6, 1677, and 
there made his home. He married twice, 
his second wife, Sarah Hagar, the mother 
of Asa, great-great-grandfather of George 
F, Flagg, of Springfield. 

Asa Flagg, son of John and Sarah 
(Hagar) Flagg, was born November 18, 
1712. He married and was the father of 
Asa (2) Flagg, who settled in Royalston, 
Massachusetts, and later in Fitzwilliam, 
New Hampshire. He was a traveling 
minister. He married a Miss Cheeney. 

William Flagg, the son of Asa Flagg, 
was born in Royalston, Massachusetts, 
March 31, 1789, died October 16, 1839, i" 
Fitzwilliam, New Hampshire. He was 
reared in the family of a man named 
Waite, and later became a landowner and 
farmer of Fitzwilliam, where he lived 
nearly his entire life. He married, Octo- 
ber 31, 1812, Sophia Forrestall, born May 
14, 1793, died April 17, 1867, daughter of 
Jesse and Martha (Gibson) Forrestall. 
Jesse Forrestall, son of John and Thank- 
ful (Jones) Forrestall, was born June 25, 
1756, died October 12, 1824. He married 
Martha Gibson, of Hopkinton, Massa- 
chusetts, born March 29, 1753, died March 
31, 1844. William and Sophia (Forrest- 



all) Flagg were the parents of thirteen 
children: Sarah Lovell, Josiah Waite, 
Nancy Birt, John Sabin, Mary Damon, 
Lucy Blandon, Charles Wright, William 
Frederick, Asa Cheney, George Austin, 
of further mention ; Harvey Preston, Har- 
riet Melinda, and Ellen Sophia. 

George Austin Flagg, tenth child of 
William and Sophia (Forrestall) Flagg, 
was born in Fitzwilliam, New Hampshire, 
August 29, 1829, died in Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, May 26, 1906. He was edu- 
cated in the district school, and resided for 
a time in Watertown, then, about 1850, 
removed to Springfield, Massachusetts, 
where he worked with his uncle at farm- 
ing for a time, then started a retail ice 
business in a small way, gradually ex- 
tending it until he eventually controlled 
the retail ice business of Springfield, em- 
ploying thirty to forty men and thirty 

For twenty years Mr. Flagg continued 
in the ice business, then disposed of his 
business. He then engaged in real estate 
operations, buying large unimproved areas 
on State, Catherine, and Tyler streets, 
upon which he built residences. In 1864 
he built a residence for himself on State 
street. He set out the trees adjacent to 
his land on State street, bringing them in 
from the woods, and lived to see them grow 
into handsome, stately shade trees, adding 
much to the beauty and attractiveness of 
the street. He was a director of the 
Chapin National Bank, a Republican in 
politics, and an attendant of the services 
of Olivet Church until its destruction by 
fire, he then transferring his support to 
the Unitarian church. 

George A, Flagg married (first), in 1859, 
Harriet Mosely, of Springfield, born in 
1833, died in 1887, daughter of Edward 
E. and Eliza (Van Horn) Mosely. He 
married (second), in 1893, Annie Dibble, 

who died in 1908. Children all by first 
marriage: Frederick M., of Longmeadow, 
Massachusetts ; Minnie L., married Wil- 
liam E. Stibbs, whom she survives with 
children, Franklin, Marion, and Dorothy ; 
Alice E., married Fred A. Eldred, and has 
a son, Robert M. ; George Forrestall, of 
further mention ; Harriet V., and Ida C. 

George Forrestall Flagg, youngest son 
of George Austin and Harriet (Mosely) 
Flagg, was born in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, October 10, 1869. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools of the city, fin- 
ishing with graduation from high school, 
class of 1889. Immediately after leaving 
school he became associated with his 
father in the real estate business, father 
and son continuing in business together 
until death removed the senior partner in 
1906. Since then George F. Flagg has 
conducted the business alone. 

Mr. Flagg married. May 27, 1902, Jes- 
sie Amelia Jones, of Athol, Massachu- 
setts, daughter of Edward Francis and 
Louise (Leonard) Jones. Mr. and Mrs. 
Flagg are the parents of two sons : George 
Austin (2), born November 23, 1906; 
Forrestall Frederick, born March 14, 191 1, 
died February 17, 1913. 

HYDE, Henry Cleveland, 


Although born and reared in the Mid- 
dle West, Henry Cleveland Hyde, assist- 
ant treasurer of Barney & Berry, Inc., has 
passed a good part of his business life in 
the city of Springfield, New England be- 
ing the ancestral home of the Hydes until 
the seventh generation in this branch, 
when Oliver Moulton Hyde removed to 
Detroit, Michigan. There his son, Louis 
C. Hyde, former postmaster of Spring- 
field, 1898-1914, was born. Henry C, son 
of Louis C. Hyde, was also born in De- 



troit, but, like his father, he too sought 
the ancestral home, and is as closely iden- 
tified with Springfield and New England 
as a native. The Hyde family embraces 
a long line of distinguished men in both 
England and the United States. Sir Nich- 
olas Hyde, Earl of Clarendon, was chief 
justice of the King's church, and Edward 
Hyde, Earl of Clarendon, was lord chan- 
cellor at the Restoration, and grandfather 
to two English queens, Mary and Anne. 
In the United States descendants of Wil- 
liam Hyde are numerous and are found in 
high position in the walks of American 

(I) William Hyde, the founder, came 
from England to New England about 
1633, and for a time was a resident of 
Newton, Massachusetts. He is believed 
to have gone to Connecticut with Rev. 
Thomas Hooker, in 1636, and to have set- 
tled at Saybrook. He was one of the orig- 
inal proprietors of Norwich, Connecticut, 
in 1660, and is recorded as the holder of 
several town offices. He died at Nor- 
wich, January 6, 1681, a man of consider- 
able wealth. He left a son, Samuel, of 
whom further ; and a daughter, Hester. 

(II) Samuel Hyde was born about 
1637, died in 1677, He settled at Nor- 
wich, West Farms, Connecticut, and fol- 
lowed agriculture all his life. He married 
Jane Lee, daughter of Thomas Lee. Their 
daughter Elizabeth was the first white 
child born in Norwich, Connecticut. 

(HI) William (2) Hyde, third son of 
Samuel and Jane (Lee) Hyde, was born 
at Norwich, Connecticut, in January, 1670, 
died August 8, 1759. He was a man of 
wealth and influence, a magistrate of Nor- 
wich, and a member of the Colonial Legis- 
lature. He married Anne Bushnell, who 
died July 8, 1745. 

(IV) Rev. Jedediah Hyde, fifth son of 
William (2) and Anne (Bushnell) Hyde, 

was born at Norwich, Connecticut, June 
2, 1712, died there, September 26, 1761. 
He was an ordained minister of the Con- 
gregational church and preached at 
"Beams Hill." He married (first), July 
!/» ^7ZZ' Jerusha Perkins, daughter of 
Deacon Joseph and Martha (Morgan) 
Perkins, of Norwich. She died February 
8, 1 741, leaving four children. He mar- 
ried (second). May 17, 1742, Jerusha 

(V) Captain Jedediah Hyde, only son 
of Rev. Jedediah and his first wife, Jeru- 
sha (Perkins) Hyde, was born at Nor- 
wich, Connecticut, August 24, 1735, died 
at Hyde Park, Vermont, May 29, 1822. 
He was an officer in the Revolutionary 
army. At Bunker Hill he was lieutenant 
in Captain Coit's company, and during 
the action received a slight wound. He 
afterward commanded a company in the 
regular army. Captain Hyde married 
(first), January 28, 1761, Mary Waterman, 
daughter of Asa and Lucy (Hyde) Water- 
man, of Norwich, his second cousin. She 
died September 2, 1780, her husband then 
being away on military duty. He married 
(second) Elizabeth (Brown) Parker, 
widow of David Parker. They settled in 
Hyde Park, Vermont, of which town he 
was an original proprietor. There in the 
town which bore his name he continued a 
farmer until his death. 

(VI) Pitt William Hyde, fifth son of 
Captain Jedediah and his first wife, Mary 
(Waterman) Hyde, was born in Norwich, 
Connecticut, December 29, 1776, died May 
29, 1823, at Sudbury, Connecticut. He 
married, October 19, 1796, Mary Kil- 
bourne, of Castleton, Vermont, daughter 
of James and Mary (Crampton) Kil- 
bourne. Mrs. Hyde died at Sudbury, 
March 3, 1813, and Mr. Hyde married 
(second), November 4, 1813, a widow, 



Mrs. Rebecca (Sherman) Gaige, of Fer- 
risburg, Vermont. 

(VII) Oliver Moulton Hyde, third son 
of Pitt WilHam and his first wife, Mary 
(Kilbourne) Hyde, was born March lo, 
1804, died in Detroit, Michigan, in 1S70. 
He became a merchant of Castleton, Ver- 
mont, later going to Mount Hope, New 
York, where he operated a blast furnace. 
In 1840 he moved to Detroit, Michigan, 
and there became prominent in public life, 
serving Detroit as mayor and as collector 
of customs for several years. He married 
Julia Anne Sprague, daughter of Daniel 
Sprague, of West Poultney, Vermont. 
Children: William Pitt; Charles H. ; 
Henry Stanley ; Harriett S. ; and Louis 
C, of whom further, 

(VIII) Louis Cavelli Hyde, youngest 
son of Oliver Moulton and Julia Anne 
(Sprague) Hyde, was born in Detroit, 
Michigan, October 31, 1849, died in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, December 9, 
1918. His name was in honor of a friend 
of his father's, Dr. Louis Cavelli, a diplo- 
mat sent by the French government to 
this country to confer with Lewis Cass, 
then governor of Michigan. Dr. Cavelli 
remained in the United States for several 
years, and a warm friendship existed be- 
tween him and Oliver M. Hyde. The boy, 
Louis C, was early placed under private 
tutors in Detroit, Michigan, but later he 
was sent to Leicester Academy (Massa- 
chusetts), whence he was graduated, class 
of 1863. He was associated with his 
father until the latter's death in 1870, he 
then beginning the study of law, continu- 
ing four years under the direction of Dick- 
inson & Chambers, of Detroit. He came 
to Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1876, 
and formed a connection with the 
Wason Manufacturing Company, soon be- 
ing made clerk of the corporation, and 
later secretary. These relations existed 

for many years. At one time he was also 
associated with the Springfield Steam 
Power Company, and later in life was 
treasurer of the Barney & Berry Com- 
pany, Inc., and a director of the Spring- 
field National Bank. 

In politics, Mr. Hyde was a consistent 
Republican. In 1890 he represented Ward 
No. I, in Common Council, and the fol- 
lowing two years he was a member of the 
Board of Aldermen. During his first year 
of service he was secretary of the city 
property committee, and during his in- 
cumbency the Pynchon, Buckingham and 
Carew streets schoolhouses were erected. 
In 1896 he was chairman of the Central 
High School Building Commission. In 
1898 he was appointed postmaster of 
Springfield, an office he held continuously 
until 1914, when he gave way to Presi- 
dent Wilson's appointee. He was incom- 
parably one of the best officials who 
ever held that position. The business of 
the office greatly expanded with the city's 
rapid growth in population during his 
long administration, yet the office facili- 
ties kept pace and the most progressive 
policy prevailed. His gracious personal- 
ity won him many friends, and he com- 
manded the respect of everyone who came 
in contact with him. 

After his retirement from the postmas- 
tership in 1914, Mr. Hyde was sought 
especially to supervise the management of 
estates. He was appointed administra- 
tor of the Everett LI. Barney estate before 
Mr. Barney's death, and at the same time 
served as treasurer of Barney & Berry, 
Inc. He gave a great deal of his time to 
that estate and to the affairs of the cor- 
poration. He was also trustee of the 
George M. Atwater estate ; executor of 
the David M. Atwater estate; executor of 
the George C. Fisk estate ; executor of the 
Henry S. Hyde estate; and the estate of 



Mrs. Harry S. Dickinson was settled by 
him. In the ag-gregate the settlement of 
these estates imposed heavy responsibili- 
ties upon Mr. Hyde, they representing- a 
property value of several millions of dol- 
lars. In his business relations he was a 
man of conspicuous probity, and served 
faithfully, as well as efficiently, in the 
many positions of trust which he filled. 

Mr. Hyde was a charter member of 
Springfield Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons ; and member of Morning Star Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons. His clubs were 
the Masonic, Colony, and Nayasset, and 
for a long time he was secretary of the 
Charity Ball Committee whose annual 
affairs were once the most brilliant of the 
year. In local charities his aid was never 
soug-ht in vain, and in all the varied forms 
of war work after the United States en- 
tered the Wold War conflict he was most 
helpful, although all his support was given 
in a very quiet, unostentatious manner. 

Mr. Hyde married, in 1870, Mary Cleve- 
land, who died in Springfield, daughter of 
Ira B. and Clara (Cole) Cleveland, of 
Flint, Michigan. Mrs. Hyde was richly 
endowed naturally, was thoroughly edu- 
cated, and highly cultured. She pos- 
sessed a rare and charming personality, 
and numbered many friends among the 
older Springfield families. She was a de- 
voted member of Christ Episcopal Church, 
and deeply interested in its many socie- 
ties, and in several charitable organiza- 
tions. A keen sense of humor was coupled 
with her refined manners, making her a 
delightful companion. Mr. and Mrs. Hyde 
were the parents of: Henry Cleveland, of 
whom further ; Harriet, the wife of Philip 
Delano Hawkins ; and Dorothy, who died 
at the age of twenty-one. 

(IX) Henry Cleveland Hyde, of the 
ninth American generation, only son of 
Louis Cavelli and Mary (Cleveland) 

Hyde, was born in Detroit, Michigan, 
February 15, 1872. His parents came to 
Springfield in 1876, and in that city he 
completed public school courses of study, 
finishing- with high school. His first busi- 
ness position was with the Agawam Na- 
tional Bank of Springfield, and for eleven 
years he continued with that bank. He 
then went West, and in Saginaw, Michi- 
gan, became identified with the Porter 
Cedar Company, the business of that com- 
pany being the manufacture of railroad 
ties and the getting out of telephone and 
telegraph poles. For fifteen years Air. 
Hyde continued with that company, its 
treasurer and member of the board of 
directors. In 191 5 he returned to Spring- 
field, and has since been identified with 
the manufacturing firm, Barney & Berry, 
Inc., as assistant treasurer. 

Mr. Hyde married, October 14, 1898, 
Emma Wing Inshaw, born February 12, 
1875, daughter of Richard Bates and Mary 
(Poole) Inshaw. Mr. Inshaw, a guns- 
smith and engraver, came from England 
to the United States, locating first in New 
York City, but afterwards in Chicopee, 
Massachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. Hyde are 
the parents of two sons: Louis Cutter, 
born in Saginaw, Michigan, November 20, 
191 1 ; and Richard Inshaw, born in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, May 26, 1916. 

LEWIS, Charles Cottrell, 

A I<eader in Business World. 

In all that tended to make noble man- 
hood, Charles C. Lewis, a late resident of 
Springfield, Massachusetts, was rich. En- 
dowed by nature with a temperament 
keenly sensitive to joy and sorrow, to 
humor and pathos, he lived in close touch 
with his fellowmen in those things which 
make life brighter and better. He was an 
important factor in the business circles of 



the city, and along the lines of earnest, 
persistent and honorable endeavor he 
steadily advanced until he occupied an 
honorable position in trade circles and 
enjoyed a handsome income from a busi- 
ness which was built upon energy, indus- 
try, enterprise and integrity. 

William H. Lewis, father of Charles C. 
Lewis, was a resident of New London, 
Connecticut, from whence he removed to 
the State of California, where he con- 
tracted a fever and his death occurred in 
1862. He married Ann Elizabeth Case, 
and three children were born to them, 
namely: William F. ; Charles Cottrell, of 
this review ; and Harry. These children 
are all deceased. 

Charles Cottrell Lewis was born in 
New London, Connecticut, March 13, 
1859. He attended the public schools of 
New London for a few years, but left his 
studies at an early age in order to assist 
his mother in the maintenance of the fam- 
ily, this devolving upon her after the 
death of her husband, which occurred 
when Charles C. was only two and one- 
half years of age. While attending school, 
Charles C. Lewis was employed in a book 
store in New London, part time, and 
when fourteen years of age, entered the 
employ of Dudley & Stevens, of New 
London, who were engaged in the iron 
and steel industry. During the thirteen 
years he remained in their employ, he ac- 
quired a thorough knowledge of the busi- 
ness and also gained confidence in his 
ability to conduct an enterprise of his 
own, which he did in the year 1886, com- 
ing to Springfield, Massachusetts, for that 
purpose. The iron and steel business, 
which he started in a small way, increased 
in volume and importance and was event- 
ually incorporated under the name of 
Charles C. Lewis Company, of which he 
was the president and treasurer. The 

business of the company was strictly 
wholesale iron and steel, and included 
heavy hardware. It was established at 
No. 30 Lyman street, and continued in the 
same building up to the time of his death. 
He left it in a flourishing condition. In 
1898 he served one term as alderman, his 
tenure of office noted for efficiency, and 
on three occasions he was requested to 
become the candidate for mayor of Spring- 
field, but declined the honor. He was a 
member of the Board of Trade of Spring- 
field, a member and vice-president of the 
American Iron, Steel and Heavy Hard- 
ware Association; a member of the IMe- 
gantic Club of Megantic, Maine ; the Pub- 
licity Club; the Nayasset Club; the 
Springfield Club ; the Oxford Club ; and 
Springfield Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of which he was chaplain. He 
held membership in the Faith Congrega- 
tional Church. 

Mr. Lewis married, October 7, 1891, 
Irene Pratt, born in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, July 15, 1869, daughter of 
Charles Adams and Clara (Crossett) 
Pratt, granddaughter of Orrin and Irene 
(Richmond) Pratt, of Ashfield, great- 
granddaughter of Ellis and Myra Ann 
(Oris wold) Pratt, of Ashfield, and great- 
great-granddaughter of Josiah and Sally 
(Copeland) Pratt, and of Major Joseph 
Griswold, of Buckland. Children of Mr. 
and Mrs. Lewis: i. Donald Balles, born 
October 6, 1892, died December 5, 1902. 

2. Dorothy Jeanette, born February 29, 
1900; married, October 2, 1920, CHflford 
Slater Wheeler, born in Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, May 27, 1892; he saw service 
in the French army under General Milan 
Stefanic, serving as captain on his staflf. 

3. Richmond, born March 19, 190 1. 4. 
Ann Elizabeth, born January 29, 1903. 

Charles Cottrell Lewis died at his home 
in Springfield, May 4, 1915. His loss to 



society, to the business world, and to his 
family, will long be felt and deeply 
mourned. He was a manly man, actu- 
ated in all he did by the highest principles 
and a broad humanitarian spirit, and his 
memory is hallowed by the love and re- 
gard which he engendered in the hearts of 
all who knew him. 

PHELPS, Mary Elizabeth, 

Member of Important Family. 

The American ancestor of this branch 
of the Phelps family was William (2) 
Phelps, the son of William, son of John 
Phelps, born about 1520, and his wife, 
Joan. William (i) Phelps was baptized 
in Tewkesbury Abby Church, England, 
August 4, 1560, and died in 161 1. His 
eight children were born in Tewkesbury, 
William (2) being fifth in order of birth. 
William (2) Phelps was baptized at 
Tewkesbury Abby Church, August 19, 
1599, died in Windsor, Connecticut, his 
will being probated July 26, 1672. He 
came to New England with his wife and 
six children in the "Mary and John," sail- 
ing from Plymouth, England, March 20, 
1630, landing at Nantasket, now Hull, 
Massachusetts, May 30th, following. He 
was one of the founders and first settlers 
of Dorchester, and took an active part in 
town affairs. He was a member of the 
first jury which tried a case in New Eng- 
land. He was constable in 1631 ; deputy 
to the general Court, 1634- 1635 ; and in 
the fall of 1635 moved to Windsor, Con- 
necticut, which was ever afterwards his 
home. General William Phelps was one 
of the six men forming the first town 
meeting in Windsor, and on May i, 1637, 
presided at a court which ordered "an 
offensive war against the Pequots." He 
was a magistrate from 1639 to 1643, then 
again from 1645 to 1649; in 165 1 he was 

deputy, and again was magistrate from 
1656 to 1662. In 1641, he was governor 
of the Windsor colony. That he was a 
man of property is evidenced by the high 
pew rent that he paid. Not being able to 
prove his title to the land he bought from 
Sehat, an Indian, he paid for it a second 
time. His farm, north of the Mill River 
Valley, was inundated by the great flood 
of 1639, ^n^ soon afterward he moved 
further north and settled on what is 
known as Phelps meadow. His first wife, 
whom he married in England, died in 
1635, and he married (second), in 1638, 
Mary Dover, who came from England in 
the "Mary and John." By his first mar- 
riage there were six children, and by the 
second marriage two. The eldest and only 
son of William (2) and Mary (Dover) 
Phelps was Lieutenant Timothy, the head 
of the second generation. 

(II) Lieutenant Timothy Phelps was 
born in Windsor, Connecticut, September 
I, 1639, died in 1719. He lived on the old 
homestead in Windsor, on land purchased 
by his father from the Indians. He was 
made a freeman May 2, 1664; in May, 
1690, was chosen lieutenant of the Wind- 
sor train band ; and in May, 1696, the sol- 
diers elected him captain, the court ap- 
proving the choice. In 1709 he was com- 
missioned lieutenant by the General 
Court, and in Queen Anne's War he 
served in Captain Matthew Allyn's com- 
pany. Captain Matthew Allyn led a com- 
pany from Windsor in the campaign 
against Quebec. Lieutenant Timothy 
Phelps married, March 19, 1661, Mary 
Griswold, born in Windsor, baptized Oc- 
tober 13, 1644, daughter of Edward Gris- 
wold, of Killingworth, Connecticut. She 
died several years earlier than her hus- 
band. They were the parents of twelve 
children, decent in this line being traced 
through the eldest son, Timothy (2). 



(III) Timothy (2) Phelps was born in 
Windsor, Connecticut, November i, i66j. 
He married, November 4, 1686, Mary 
Crowe, and in 1690 moved to Hebron, 
Connecticut. The line continues through 
their son, Charles Phelps, of whom 

(IV) Charles Phelps was born in Heb- 
ron, Connecticut, July 26, 1702. lie mar- 
ried, February 26, 1726, Hepzibah Stiles, 
their son, Zuriah, being head of the fifth 

(V) Zuriah Phelps was born in Heb- 
ron, Connecticut, April 3, 1729, but prior 
to 1754 he and his wife Dorothy settled in 
Lyme, Connecticut, where their son, Eli- 
jah Phelps, was born. 

(VI) Elijah Phelps was born May 13, 
1754. He married, August 16, 1775, Mary 
Gibbs, and in 1779 moved to Wilbraham, 
Massachusetts. Later, he lived in Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, and in 1818 made Mor- 
risonville. New York, his home, there 
residing until his death. May 16, 1823. 
He marched on the "alarm" at Lexing- 
ton April 19, 1775, and later enlisted in 
the Continental army for three years. 

(VII) Henry Phelps, son of Elijah 
Phelps, the patriot, and his wife Mary 
(Gibbs) Phelps, was born in Wilbraham, 
Massachusetts, April 21, 1797, died in 
Windsor, Connecticut, February 17, 1875. 
He was a large land owner of Windsor, 
and an extensive grower of tobacco. He 
married, December 12, 1819, Rachael 
Jacobs. They were the parents of seven 
sons and a daughter : Edgar ; Ebenezer ; 
Mary, who went to Mendocino, California ; 
William Jacobs, head of the eighth gener- 
ation ; Nathaniel; Samuel; Abraham, 
and Henry E. 

(VIII) William Jacobs Phelps, third son 
and fourth child of Henry and Rachael 
(Jacobs) Phelps, was born in Windsor, 
Connecticut, January 12, 1838, died in 

Springfield, Massachusetts, April 21, 1882. 
He attended Windsor, Connecticut, pub- 
lic schools and there spent his youth. 
Quite early in life he left home and came 
to Springfield, Massachusetts, where he 
entered the employ of the Connecticut 
River Railroad Company, rising in rank 
until he became general passenger agent, 
a position he held for many years, until 
he resigned and went South, holding posi- 
tions with other companies. He devoted 
his entire mature life to the railroad busi- 
ness and was a thorough master of the 
duties of his position. He attended the 
First Congregational Church, and was 
a man highly respected and esteemed 
wherever known. He married, in 1866, 
Elizabeth Fowler Cooley, of Springfield, 
daughter of Ralzs Man and Harriet So- 
phia (Ashley) Cooley, who were married 
October 17, 1833, in Springfield. Mrs. 
Phelps survived her husband until De- 
cember 23, 1914. Mr. and Mrs. Phelps 
were the parents of three daughters: 
Mary Elizabeth, Harriet Christine, and 
Rachael Jacobs Phelps, all born in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, and all now residing 
at No. 131 Florida street, in their native 

DICKINSON, Henry Smith, 

Manufacturer, Civic Official. 

The Dickinson family, of which Henry 
Smith Dickinson, now deceased, but for 
many years a well-known and highly re- 
spected citizen of his native city, Spring- 
field, was a member, is of many genera- 
tions' residence in the New England 
States, and in the Old World dates back 
to an early period, an account of which 
follows : 

The Scandinavian Earls trace their de- 
scent from the noblest and most heroic of 
the ruling dynasties of the North, and 



Ivan, Prince of the Uplands in Norway, 
was the father of Eystein, who had issue. 
Rogenwald and Mulahule. Rogenwald 
was a supporter of King Harold Harfagr 
and assisted him in obtaining the mastery 
over all the other independent Norwegian 
chiefs. One of his sons, Rollo, founded 
the line of Sovereign Dukes of Normandy, 
and was ancestor to William the Con- 
queror. (Burke's "Extinct Peerages," 
page 492). 

About eleven centuries ago there ap- 
peared at the court of Halfdan Hiulbein, 
king of Norway, a soldier of fortune, 
named War. He was said to have been 
originally a shepherd. One day he was 
captured by a roving band of Northmen 
and carried off to sea. After a series of 
adventures, he made his appearance at the 
Norse King's court, about the year 700. 
Being of handsome presence, he became a 
great favorite with the king, who made 
him general of his army, Prince of the Up- 
lands, and in 725 bestowed upon him 
in marriage his daughter, Eurittea, the 
heiress of the realm. Halfdan died in 725, 
leaving his crown to his grandson, Ey- 
stein. Ivan was regent during his son's 
minority. Eystein reigned until 755 and 
left Harold Harfagr successor, and an- 
other son Rogenwald. Among other 
issues, Rogenwald left Rolf, or Rollo, the 
most adventurous prince of his age, who 
overran Normandy in 910. His sixth and 
youngest son, Walter, received the town 
and castle of Caen as his inheritance. His 
great-grandson, Walter de Caen, accom- 
panied William the Conqueror to Eng- 
land. From Walter de Caen, later Wal- 
ter de Kenson (taking the name of his 
manor in Yorkshire) comes Johnne Dy- 
konson, of further mention. 

Johnne Dykonson, freeholder, of Kings- 
ton-upon-Hull, Yorkshire, died in 1316. 
William Dykenson, freeholder of Kings- 

ton-upon-Hull, Yorkshire, died in 1330-31. 
Hugh Dykensonne, freeholder of Kings- 
ton-upon-Hull, Yorkshire, died 1376. An- 
thoyne Dickensonne, freeholder of Kings- 
ton-upon-Hull, Yorkshire, died in 1396. 
Richard Dickenson, freeholder of Kings- 
ton-upon-Hull, Yorkshire, died in 1441. 
Thomas Dickinson, freeholder of Kings- 
ton-upon-Hull, Yorkshire, died in 1475. 
Hugh Dickinson, freeholder, died 1509. 
William Dickinson, freeholder of Kenson 
Manor, Yorkshire, died in 1546. John 
Dickinson, who settled in Leeds, York- 
shire,' died in 1554. William Dickinson, 
who settled in Bradley Hall, Stafford- 
shire, died in 1605. Thomas Dickinson, 
clerk, Portsmouth Navy Yard, from 1557 
to 1587, died in 1590. William Dickinson, 
who settled in Ely, Cambridge, died in 

Nathaniel Dickinson, born in Ely, Cam- 
bridge, 1600. In A. D. 1628-29, the aspect 
of public affairs in England became more 
threatening than ever. Charles I. dis- 
missed his Parliament and tried govern- 
ing without one, introducing a system of 
tyranny which eventually brought him to 
the block. His inquisitorial policy was 
to extinguish Puritan opinions and to 
punish by imprisonment and death all 
who deviated from established ceremonies. 
Reared in the traditions of a race which 
for six centuries had braved tyranny, 
from the Norman Rufus to the unfortunate 
Charles Stuart, is it any wonder that the 
same spirit led the stern Puritan, Nathan- 
iel Dickinson, at this time to seek the 
wilds of America? 

In 1630 the London Company, of Mas- 
sachusetts Bay, transferred itself and the 
entire government of its colonists to its 
American settlement, and in June, 1630, 
John Winthrop, chosen governor by the 
Massachusetts Company, with his fleet, 
the "Arabella," "Talbot," "Ambrose," and 



"Jewell," bearing- three or four hundred 
colonists, two of whom were Nathaniel 
Dickinson and his wife, arrived in Salem, 
Massachusetts. Some "resolved to set 
down at the head of Charles River," 
others "relinquishing Salem, shipped their 
goods to Charlestown, Watertown, and 
Roxbury." Nathaniel Dickinson is said 
to have settled in Watertown, where John, 
Joseph, and Thomas were born, and where 
he remained until 1635-36, when he re- 
moved to Wethersfield, Connecticut, and 
our American record begins. 

To any one who has made a study of 
American genealogy, the name of Nathan- 
iel Dickinson is a household word. Set- 
tling with his wife, Anna (Gull) Dickin- 
son, in Wethersfield, Connecticut, in A. 
D. 1636, he took front rank. He was a 
member of the first Board of Selectmen, 
representative to the General Assembly 
from 1645 to 1656, recorder for twenty 
years in Wethersfield, deacon in the 
church throughout his life. In 1659. he 
removed with his family to Hadley, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he was no less a leader. 
As shown above, he was one of the origi- 
nal committee sent to lay out the town, 
was first recorder there, assessor, town 
magistrate, member of the Hampshire 
Troop, one of the members of the first 
board of trustees of Hopkins Academy. 
"An intelligent and influential man, and 
one qualified to do public business, as 
well as a man of substance, rating with 
the highest in the division of lands." He 
owned, east of the "Great River" at PTart- 
ford, one hundred acres in the tract called 
"Maubuc Farms." This was sold on or 
before the removal to Hadley. With him, 
from Wethersfield to Hadley, removed 
his minister, Mr. Russel, who gave per- 
manent concealment to Generals Whalley 
and Gofif, two members of the High Court 
of Justice that condemned Charles I. 

George Richard Dickinson, a descend- 
ant of this family, and father of Henry 
Smith Dickinson, was a native of Reads- 
boro, Vermont, born December 15, 1832, 
and died in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
December 29, 1887, J" the prime of life, 
aged fifty-five. He was reared and edu- 
cated in his native town, and during his 
young manhood removed to Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, the center of the paper 
trade, where he engaged in the paper busi- 
ness. By the exercise of ability, energy, 
and perseverance, he succeeded so well 
in this enterprise that he was enabled to 
establish a business of his own, which, 
growing to large proportions, finally be- 
came the George R. Dickinson Paper 
Mill, later absorbed by the American 
Writing Paper Company. In due course 
of time he became an active and influen- 
tial citizen of his adopted city, and was 
elected, on the Republican ticket, to the 
ofifice of alderman of Holyoke, in which 
capacity he rendered efficient service. He 
held membership, as did also his wife, in 
the Methodist Episcopal church, in the 
affairs of which they took an active inter- 
est. George R. Dickinson married (first), 
January 11, 1859, Mary Jane Clark, born 
in Framingham, Massachusetts, February 
5, 1839. They were the parents of Henry 
Smith, of further mention. Mary Jane 
(Clark) Dickinson died September 30, 
1863. George R. Dickinson married (sec- 
ond) her sister, Harriet Andrews Clark, 
June 25, 1864. After his death his second 
wife and widow married William W. 
Stewart, a retired business man of Fall 
River, Massachusetts. She died in Peter- 
sham, Massachusetts, October 15, 1915. 

Henry Smith Dickinson, son of George 
Richard and Mary Jane (Clark) Dickin- 
son, was born in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, September 26, 1863. He attended 
the local schools, where he received a 



practical education, and later began his 
business career in the employ of his father 
at his mill in Holyoke, where he obtained 
a thorough knowledge of the paper mak- 
ing industry, which line of work he fol- 
lowed during the active years of his life, 
serving for a number of years as president 
of the George R. Dickinson Paper Mill 
Company, and after the merger with the 
American Writing Paper Company, afore- 
mentioned, served as their agent in the 
city of Boston. He was an active, ener- 
getic, progressive man, alive to every 
opportunity that presented itself, not in 
business circles only, but in the realm of 
politics as well, and was chosen to fill the 
responsible office of mayor of Springfield, 
serving during the years 1897-98, the 
period of the Spanish-American War, his 
term of service being noted for efficiency 
and progress in every detail. He was an 
attendant of the South Congregational 
Church, Springfield, as was also his wife. 
Mr. Dickinson married, in Cleveland, 
Ohio, March 2, 1885, Stella Emily Paige, 
born in West Springfield, Massachusetts, 
October 31, 1862, and died in South Fram- 
ingham, Massachusetts, March 17, 1902.. 
She was a daughter of William Henry and 
Laura Ann (Tubbs) Paige. William H. 
Paige, who died in Cleveland, Ohio, in 
1885, served for fifteen years as superin- 
tendent of the well-known Wason Car 
Shops, of Springfield. He was a brilliant 
man, a noted inventor, and developed 
many things in connection with railway 
equipment; he was the first to develop 
the idea of a sleeping car, and at the 
Wason Car Shops built one of the first 
sleeping cars made in this country ; in 
1882, he went to Cleveland, Ohio, to 
Establish a factory for the manufacture of 
a special patented car wheel he had de- 
veloped; and he and his family finally 
traveled to Cleveland in the sleeper he had 
built, living in the car for three weeks 

after arriving in that city. The death of 
his wife occurred in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1917. Four children were 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Dickinson: i, 
George Richard (2), born February 8, 
1890, educated in Springfield schools, in 
the Hotchkiss school, Lakeville, Connec- 
ticut, and in Williams College, which he 
attended for one year. Since then he has 
resided in Springfield. At the declaration 
of war with Germany, he enlisted in the 
2nd Massachusetts Infantry, which later 
formed a part of the 104th United States 
Infantry, and was discharged at Camp 
Devons, Ayer, Massachusetts, April 28, 
1919. 2. Henry Raymond, of further men- 
tion. 3. Stuart Winthrop, a sketch of 
whom follows. 4. Harriet x^ndrews, mar- 
ried John D. Shuart, a sketch of whom 

Henry Raymond Dickinson, second son 
of Henry Smith and Stella Emily (Paige) 
Dickinson, was born in Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, June 12, 1891. His prepara- 
tory education was received in the schools 
of his native city, and this was supple- 
mented by a course of study in the Hotch- 
kiss School in Lakeville, Connecticut, and 
a one-year term in Williams College, he 
leaving before graduation in order to 
engage in business pursuits. His first 
employment was with the Phelps Publish- 
ing Company, where he was engaged for 
a period of two years, at the expiration of 
which time he entered the service of the 
Springfield Institution for Savings, serv- 
ing that institution in the capacity of as- 
sistant paying teller until 1918, when he 
resigned. He gives his political allegi- 
ance to the Republican party, but aside 
from exercising his right of franchise, 
takes no active part in public affairs. He 
holds membership in the Springfield Coun- 
try Club. In 1920 he removed to Peter- 
sham, Massachusetts, where he is resid- 
ing at the present time (1921). 



DICKINSON, Stuart Winthrop, 

Volunteer for World War. 

Prominent among the young- represen- 
tative men of Springfield, Massachusetts, 
is Stuart Winthrop Dickinson, third son 
of Henry Smith and Stella Emily (Paige) 
Dickinson (q. v.), whose birth occurred 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, August 31, 


His preliminary education was obtained 
in the schools of his native city, and ad- 
vanced studies were pursued in the well- 
known Phillips Andover Academy, the 
knowledge thus acquired thoroughly qual- 
ifying him for an active business career. 
His first position was in the offices of the 
Massachusetts Life Insurance Company, 
in Springfield, where he remained until 
the United States declared war against 
Germany, when he displayed his spirit of 
patriotism by becoming a member of the 
National army, and in September, 1917, 
was sent to Camp Devens, Ayer, Massa- 
chusetts, where he was trained for active 
service. He did not have the opportunity 
to go "over there," but despite this he "did 
his bit" for his country in her hour of 
need, and received his honorable dis- 
charge at Camp Devens, April 28, 1919. 

SHUART, John Denton, 

In Naval Service in "World War. 

John Denton Shuart, only son of Wil- 
liam Herbert and Nella Sumner (Phillips) 
Shuart, a sketch of whom appears else- 
where in this work, was born in Roches- 
ter, New York, November 16, 1894. He 
was a student in the Springfield High 
School, the Choate School in Walling- 
ford, Connecticut, and in Williams Col- 
lege, where he was pursuing an advanced 
course of study at the time the United 
States Government declared war against 

In February, 1917, he joined the 

first college unit in the East, this be- 
ing the unit from Williams College, for 
war service, enlisted in the Naval Reserve, 
was assigned to the sub-marine chaser 
"Arcady," and in August, 191 7, trans- 
ferred to the scout cruiser "Chester." He 
enlisted as an ensign and later was pro- 
moted to the rank of junior lieutenant. 
The "Chester" was employed in convoy 
work for seventeen months between Eng- 
land and Gibralter. One of the most inter- 
esting encounters which the "Chester" 
had, was a fight, in September, 1918, with 
the submarine "U-53" which, previous to 
the entry of the United States in the war, 
had crossed to this country and attacked 
and sunk several fishing vessels off Nan- 
tucket. The "Chester" was unharmed, 
but the "U-53" was practically put out of 
commission. In January, 1919, Mr. Shu- 
art, with his comrades, was ordered home 
and placed on the inactive list. Since his 
return from the scene of conflict, Mr. 
Shuart has acted in the capacity of pur- 
chasing agent for the Springfield Glazed 
Paper Company, he also being a member 
of the board of directors of this corpora- 
tion. He is a member of the Young 
Men's Christian Association, of the 
Springfield Country Club, and of the Psi 
Upsilon college fraternity. 

Mr. Shuart married, April 30, 191 7, 
Harriet Andrews Dickinson, only daugh- 
ter of Henry Smith and Stella Emily 
(Paige) Dickinson, born February 13, 
1895. She was educated at Miss Porter's 
School, in Springfield, at Fairmont Acad- 
emy, Washington, D. C, and at Miss 
Capen's School, in Northampton, Massa- 
chusetts. Two children have been born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Shuart: John Denton, 
Jr., born April 29, 1918, while his father 
was in the service, and he was ten months 
old when his father returned from the seat 
of war ; and Barbara Phillips, born June 
26, 1920. 



GRIFFIN, Solomon Bulkley, 

Jonrnalist, Man of Affairs. 

Forty years managing- editor of the 
"Springfield Republican," and for more 
than a quarter of a century one of the best 
known men in the newspaper world of the 
United States, Mr. Griffin, who has now 
retired to private life, enjoyed, in addi- 
tion to his celebrity as a journalist, a na- 
tional reputation by reason of his activity 
in public affairs and his keen insight into 
matters political. 

The GriiYuds of Welsh history are re- 
garded by many antiquarians of the pres- 
ent day as Griffins, or Griffiths. A strong 
tradition which has come down through 
the different lines says that the last prince 
of Wales, Llewellyn ap Griffith ap Llew- 
ellyn, is the progenitor of all. One of 
these, in a record connected with the 
tower of London, is called a Griffin. The 
Virginia Griffins, who are descended from 
Cyrus Griffin, of the Provincial Congress, 
have the same tradition. The name has 
been and is still spelled both Griffin and 
Griffing, the form having varied in the 
course of the successive generations. 

(I) Jasper Griffin, who was born about 
1648, in Wales, emigrated as a youth to 
the American colonies. In 1670 he was in 
Essex county, Massachusetts, and in 1674 
in Marblehead. About 1675 he settled in 
Southold, Long Island, where he passed 
the remainder of his life. His wife, whose 
name was Hannah, is said to have been a 
native of New England. They were the 
parents of eighteen children. Jasper Grif- 
fin died in Southold, April 17, 1718, his 
wife having passed away April 20, 1699. 

(II) John Griffin, son of Jasper and 
Hannah Griffin, probably died in 1714 or 


(III) John (2) Griffin, son of John (i) 
Griffin, was born in 1710, and was an 

early settler of what is now Riverhead, 
Long Island. During the Revolutionary 
War he removed with his family to Lyme, 
or Middletown, Connecticut. He married 
(first) Sarah Paine, who died September 
12, 1761. He married (second) Anna 
Sweezey, daughter of Richard and Abiah 
Sweezey, of Riverhead. John Griffin died, 
tradition says, in Guilford, Connecticut. 

(IV) James Griffin, son of John (2) 
and Sarah (Paine) Griffin, was born in 
1746. He married (first), about 1769, 
Nancy Overton, of Southold, who died in 
1784. He married (second) Charity Top- 
ping. James Griffin died about 1791. 

(V) Nathaniel Griffin, son of James 
and Nancy (Overton) Griffin, was born 
March 15, 1780, in Middletown, Connec- 
ticut, and in April, 1803, went to Mastick 
to take charge of the estate of Christo- 
pher Roberts, son of Dr. Roberts, of West 
India fame, who was then in college. Mr. 
Griffin resided in Quogue, and was an 
elder and leader in the Presbyterian 
church. He married (first), in 1802, Eliz- 
abeth Lincoln, daughter of Lemuel and 
Deborah (Culver) Lincoln, of Southamp- 
ton township. Long Island, who died in 
1805. He married (second), in 181 1, Azu- 
bah Herrick, daughter of Nathaniel and 
Elizabeth Herrick, of Quogue. Mr. Grif- 
fin died August 28, 1832, and his widow 
survived him many years, her death oc- 
curring January 24, 1861. 

(VI) Dr. Nathaniel (2) Griffin, son of 
Nathaniel (i) and Azubah (Herrick) 
Griffin, was born December 28, 1814. He 
graduated from Williams College in the 
class of 1834. He studied theology at 
Princeton Theological Seminary, and in 
1837 was licensed to preach by the Pres- 
bytery of Long Island. He was for a time 
pastor of the Presbyterian church at 
Delhi, New York. He was called to Wil- 
liams College as tutor, and later became 



professor and librarian. He received from 
Lafayette College the degree of Doctor of 
Divinity. He married, in 1839, Hannah 
Elizabeth Bulkley, daughter of Major 
Solomon Bulkley, of Willamstown, and a 
descendant of the Rev. Peter Bulkley, 
founder of Concord, Massachusetts, and 
its first minister. Dr. Griffin died in Wil- 
liamstown, October 16, 1876. 

(VII) Solomon Bulkley Griffin, son of 
Dr. Nathaniel (2) and Hannah Elizabeth 
(Bulkley) Griffin, was born August 13, 
1852. He entered as sophomore in Wil- 
liams College, and became associated with 
the class of 1872. In 1881, after nine years 
of journalistic work, he was given the 
honorary degree of Master of Arts. His 
editorial experience might be said to have 
begun during his student days inasmuch 
as he had been one of the editors of the 
"Vidette," the college weekly. In 1907 
he was made L. H. D., and in 1919 Am- 
herst College conferred upon him the 
degree of Doctor of Laws. 

In July, 1872, Mr. Griffin became a mem- 
ber of the editorial staff of the "Spring- 
field Republican," receiving his first news- 
paper training under the elder Samuel 
Bowles, and serving an apprenticeship as 
a reporter. In 1878, when the new Re- 
publican Company was formed to succeed 
the old firm of Samuel Bowles & Com- 
pany, Mr. Griffin was made managing edi- 
tor and one of the board of three direc- 
tors. At one time or another he filled 
every position in the editorial department. 
During his long tenure of the office of 
managing editor, he was constantly en- 
gaged in editorial writing, also exercising 
a general oversight of the work of other 
departments, his experience and sound 
judgment being large factors in maintain- 
ing journalistic standards. As an editor 
he was progressive and alert, quick to 
adopt the best of new methods, but always 

holding fast to what had stood the test 
of time, and thus tempering courageous 
progress with a wise conservatism. In 
advancing the growth and maintaining 
and strengthening the character of the 
"Republican" no man exercised greater or 
more lasting influence. 

Always keenly interested in politics, 
Mr. Griffin has attended most of the Na- 
tional and State conventions of the last 
forty years, his insight into political con- 
ditions creating for him a reputation 
which extended throughout the United 
States. His skill as special correspondent 
of the "Republican" at political conven- 
tions and on other occasions was of ines- 
timable value both to the paper and the 
general public. In 1885, while spending 
a long vacation in Mexico, when Porfirio 
Diaz was at the height of his power, Mr. 
Griffin wrote notable letters to the "Re- 
publican." These were published in 1886 
under the title "Mexico of To-day." 
Especially noteworthy were a series of 
letters on the Irish question written for 
the "Republican" in 1887, when Mr. Grif- 
fin was in Europe with Judge William S. 
Shurtleff, of Springfield. 

In politics Mr. Griffin was an Independ- 
ent. In January, 1912, he published in 
the "Atlantic Monthly" an article of his- 
toric interest, entitled "The Political Evo- 
lution of a College President," a study of 
Woodrow Wilson's ideas of political lead- 
ership as applied through the governor- 
ship of New Jersey and since made famil- 
iar to the United States and the world. 
He was a strong advocate of Woodrow 
Wilson's election and reelection to the 

Among the business interests of Mr. 
Griffin are the Hampshire Paper Com- 
pany, of which he is president, and the 
Carew Manufacturing Company, of which 
he is vice-president, both of Holyoke, 



Massachusetts. He is also officially con- 
nected with other enterprises, including 
the Southworth Company, of Mittineague, 
Massachusetts, in which he holds the 
office of director. 

Twice Mr. Griffin was chosen alumni 
member of the board of trustees of Wil- 
liams College, and is now a permanent 
member of that body. He is also a mem- 
ber of the advisory board of the Pulitzer 
School of Journalism. His clubs are the 
Authors' and Century, of New York, and 
the Colony, Nayasset, Winthrop and 
Country, of Springfield. He belongs to 
the Kappa Alpha Society. 

Mr. Griffin married, November 25, 1892, 
Ida M. Southworth, daughter of John H. 
Southworth, of Springfield, and they are 
the parents of two sons : Bulkley South- 
worth, and Cortlandt Brooke, both of 
whom were in the aviation service during 
the World War. The elder son is city 
editor of the "Republican," and the 
younger is connected with the Carew 
Manufacturing Compan}^ of South Had- 
ley Falls. 

In January, 1918, Mr. Griffin completed 
forty years' of service as managing editor 
and director of the "Republican," and in 
March, 1919, he resigned these positions. 
He received at the time many apprecia- 
tive letters from men of note all over the 
country, and from among the numerous 
press notices which partook of the same 
character we select the following, which 
appeared in the "Republican :" 

Solomon Bulkley Griffin, a member of the staff 
of the "Republican" since 1872, and for many- 
years its managing editor, has retired. Mr. Grif- 
fin, after being in the harness nearly forty-seven 
years, seeks relief from the burdens of daily 
newspaper work and proposes to devote his atten- 
tion to matters of personal concern. In the long 
period of his service, notable in American jour- 
nalism, there have worked under him and been 
trained under him many men now occupying news- 

paper positions of influence and responsibility 
throughout the country, who hold him in grateful 

Mr. Griffin's work has passed into his- 
tory and forms a chapter of honor in the 
annals of the journalism of the United 

ADAMS, G. Frank, 

Enterprising Citizen. 

G. Frank Adams, now, 1920, vice-pres- 
ident of the Chicopee National Bank, of 
Springfield, who for nearly thirty years 
was prominent in the steam heating busi- 
ness of that city, comes of an English 
family. It traces back to Henry Adams, 
ancestor of John Adams, second president 
of the United States, who was honored by 
his distinguished descendants by their 
erecting a handsome monument in Brain- 
tree, Massachusetts, the inscription on 
one side being as follows : "To the mem- 
ory of Henry Adams, who came from 
Devonshire, England, with his eight sons, 
and settled near Mt. Wollaston." One of 
the sons returned to England. After 
taking some time to explore the country, 
in the vicinity of Wollaston, four of the 
sons removed to Medfield and the neigh- 
boring towns, two to Chelmsford, one 
only, Joseph Adams, remaining in Mt. 
Wollaston. He was later an original pro- 
prietor of the township of Braintree, in- 
corporated in 1639. 

Of these sons, Samuel Adams, born in 
England, married, May 10, 1643', Rebecca 
Graves, and they had a son from whom 
John Adams, of Marlboro, Connecticut, 

(I) This John Adams was born in 
Marlboro, Connecticut, April 9, 1733, and 
died at the home of his son John in Wil- 
braham, March 28, 1828, aged ninety-five 
years. He married, May i, 1755, Sarah 
Skinner, born November 25, 1735, died 



November 5, 1818, aged eighty-three 
years. They were the great-great-grand- 
parents of George Francis Adams, of this 
review. John and Sarah (Skinner) Adams 
were the parents of five children : Lydia, 
born June 4, 1756, died March 15, 1817; 
Sarah, born September 3, 1757; John, of 
further mention ; Huldah, born January 
28, 1769; David, born June 25, 1772. 

(II) John (2) Adams, son of John (i) 
and Sarah (Skinner) Adams, was born in 
Marlboro, Connecticut, May 9, 1760, and 
died March 3, 1826. In 1784 he and his 
wife made a journey to Wilbraham on 
horseback, she riding behind him on a 
pillion. Here he settled, and in 1798 built 
a house that is still standing. John (2) 
Adams was a blacksmith and operated his 
own shop in Wilbraham. He married, 
July I, 1784, Rebecca Skinner, born May 
4, 1760, died May 6, 1842. Children: 
John, of further mention ; Roderick, born 
August 25, 1787, died August 18, 1836; 
Sally, born June, 1791, died November 13, 
1845; Amelia, born March 23, 1795, died 
1827; David, born January 11, 1797, died 
October 19, 1886. 

(III) John (3) Adams, son of John (2) 
and Rebecca (Skinner) Adams, was born 
in Wilbraham, Massachusetts, October 5, 

1785, died September 21, 1850. During all 
his active life he was a farmer of Wilbra- 
ham. He married Betsy King, born in 

1786, died August 2, 1867. They were 
the parents of two children : George, of 
further mention ; and Harriet. 

(IV) George Adams, only son of John 
(3) and Betsy (King) Adams, was born 
in Wilbraham, Massachusetts, in 1815, 
died April 20, 1852. He was a farmer of 
Wilbraham until the end of his short life 
of thirty-seven years. He married Nancy 
P. Vining, of Wilbraham, born in 1817, 
died November 13, 1869, leaving an only 
son, G. Frank (George Francis). 

(V) G. Frank Adams, only son of 
George and Nancy P. (Vining) Adams, 
was born in Wilbraham, Massachusetts, 
March 16, 1845. He was educated in 
the public schools and academy of Wil- 
braham. He resided in Wilbraham 
during his youth, locating in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, in 1862, holding 
a clerical position at the Armory dur- 
ing the Civil War. He then became inter- 
ested in the steam heating and plumbing 
business, and followed this successfully 
for nearly thirty years, retiring in 1898. 
In the year 1909, he was elected vice- 
president of the Chicopee National Bank, 
of Springfield, of which he had been a di- 
rector since 1902, and this position he also 
holds. He is also a trustee of the Spring- 
field Institution for Savings, clerk of that 
corporation, and has been connected with 
various other corporations in an official 
capacity. He is a member of the Masonic 
order, and is a past high priest of Morning 
Star Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, and 
past commander of Springfield Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar. His clubs 
are the Nayasset and Winthrop. He was 
president of Springfield Masonic Hall As- 
sociation for a number of years. 

Such is a brief review of some of the 
incidents in the life of one who has won 
success by deserving it, and who has 
achieved for himself a prominent position 
among the business men of his adopted 
city, and is highly esteemed among a 
large circle of associates and personal 

BEMIS, Howard R., 

Official of Important Corporations. 

Howard Rodgers Bemis, president of 
the Bemis & Call Company, and treasurer 
of the Fiberloid Company, of Indian 
Orchard, comes of an early New Eng- 



land family of English descent. He is 
one of Spring-field's native sons, and, 
through his long connection with the 
business interests of that city, is one of 
her well known business men. 

(I)John Bemis, the first known ances- 
tor of this line, was a resident of Dedham, 
County Essex, England, where his death 
occurred, June 28, 1604. He was the 
father of seven children, as follows : Isaac, 
Luke, Mary, James, Susan, Joseph, and 

(II) Joseph Bemis, son of John Bemis, 
and the immigrant ancestor of the family, 
was born in Dedham, County Essex, Eng- 
land, in 1619. He was reared and edu- 
cated there, and upon attaining his 
majority emigrated to the New World, 
locating in Watertown, Massachusetts. 
He was a blacksmith and farmer, and 
served the town as hayward, collector of 
taxes, member of school committee, and 
selectman in 1648-73-75. His wife, Sarah 
Bemis, bore him nine children : Sarah, 
Mary, Joseph, Jr., Ephraim, twin of Jo- 
seph, Jr. ; Martha ; Joseph, of whom fur- 
ther; Rebecca, Ephraim, John. Joseph 
Bemis (father) died August 7, 1684. His 
widow died in 1712. 

(HI) Joseph (2) Bemis, third son of 
Joseph (i) and Sarah Bemis, was born 
in Watertown, Massachusetts, December 
12, 1651. He later changed his place of 
residence to Westminster, same State, 
then called Narragansett No. 2, and there 
resided until his death, August 7, 1684, in 
his thirty-third year. He participated in 
King Philip's War, a member of the com- 
pany commanded by Captain James 
Oliver, and his son, Joseph Bemis, Jr., 
received a grant of land for his father's 
services in that struggle. His wife, Anna 
Bemis, bore him four children, as follows : 
Joseph, Mary, Philip, of whom further; 
and Thomas. 

(IV) Philip Bemis, second son of Jo- 
seph (2) and Anna Bemis, was born in 
Watertown, Massachusetts, about 1700, 
and lived to a venerable age. He was the 
third permanent settler in Westminster, 
Massachusetts, locating there in 1738. He 
was also a resident of Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts. He married, November 21, 1723, 
Elizabeth Lawrence, and his children, six 
in number, were born in Cambridge, as 
follows: I. Philip, Jr., baptized Novem- 
ber 13, 1726; married, February 22, 1749, 
Lydia Dix. 2. William, of whom further. 
3. David, baptized July 30, 1729, died 
1813. 4. Abigail, baptized July 25, 1731, 
died young. 5. Edmund, baptized Octo- 
ber 22, 1732, died December i, 1736. 6. 
Zaccheus, baptized July 25, 1736, died 

(V) William Bemis, second son of 
Philip and Elizabeth (Lawrence) Bemis, 
was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
and baptized November 13, 1726. He 
married (first), probably at Princeton, 
1755, Regina Wilder, daughter of Joshua 
and Sarah (Keyes) Wilder, of Princeton. 
He married (second), November 12, 1772, 
Abigail Annis, who died at Harvard, De- 
cember, 1823, or January, 1824. Children 
of first wife, born at Westminster: i. 
William, born July 29, 1756, died October 
10, 1764. 2. Philip, born November 9, 
1757, died October 4, 1764. 3. Elizabeth, 
born April 17, 1759; married, November, 
1780, Jonathan Phillips. 4. Joshua, born 
March 19, 1761. 5. Regina, born January 
30, 1763, died March 8, 1763. 6. William, 
born November 10, 1764, died July 25, 
1776. Children of second wife: 7. Re- 
gina, born June 3, 1773. 8. Stephen, of 
whom further. 9. Annis, born Septem- 
ber I, 1776; married, March 11, 1794, 
Joseph Beaman. William Bemis. father 
of these children, died in Weston, Novem- 
ber 8, 1801. 



(VI) Rev. Stephen Bemis, eldest son of 
William and Abigail (Annis) Bemis, was 
born in Westminster, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember lo, 1774. He completed his com- 
mon school education by a cou'rse in 
Dartmouth College, from which he was 
graduated in 1798, and he was ordained to 
the ministry at Harvard, Massachusetts, 
June 3, 1802. For the following twelve 
years, he was pastor of the church at 
Harvard, exerting a wholesome influence 
over his parishioners, and at the expira- 
tion of that time, owing to failing health, 
was obliged to relinquish his labors in 
that line. Thereafter, until his death, he 
was prominently identified with public 
aflfairs. He married (first), at Chicopee, 
Massachusetts, February 13, 1802, Soph- 
ronia Chapin, daughter of Captain Phineas 
and Sabina (Wright) Chapin. She died 
September 10, 1804. He married (sec- 
ond), April 20, 1808, Susanna Chapin, 
who died October 5, 1810. He married 
(third), December 8, 181 1, Mrs. Rejoice 
(Wetherbee) Olds, widow of Dr. Warren 
Olds. She died January 29, 1856. Chil- 
dren of first wife, born at Harvard: i. 
Stephen Chapin, of whom further. 2. 
Sophronia, born July 23, 1804, died March 
27, 1842 ; married Deacon John Pendle- 
ton. Children of second wife : 3. Daniel 
Chapin, born May i, 1809, died September 
16, 1828. 4. William Lawrence, born 
September 21, 1810, died April 17, 1877; 
married (first), December 27, 1836, Eunice 
G. Chapin; (second), November 8, 1849, 
Mary Campbell Ames, widow of Nathan 
P. Ames, and daughter of Robert Bayley. 
Children of third wife : 5. Lathrop, born 
October 13, 1812, died October 2, 1813. 6. 
Abigail, born December 18, 1813, died 
July 14, 1894; married, October 10, 1836, 
George Whitney. 7. Catherine, born Oc- 
tober 16, 1817, died January 24, 1892; 
married Caleb Warner. Rev. Stephen 

Bemis died at Harvard, Massachusetts, 
November 11, 1828. 

(VII) Hon. Stephen Chapin Bemis, 
only son of Rev. Stephen Bemis and his 
first wife, Sophronia (Chapin) Bemis, was 
born in Harvard, Massachusetts, Novem- 
ber 28, 1802. His mother died when he 
was about two years old, and after this 
sad event he and his baby sister were sent 
to live with their grandparents in Chico- 
pee, at that time a part of Springfield, and 
remained until his father's second mar- 
riage, in 1808, then returned to his father's 
home in Harvard. He attended school in 
that city, and was also under the instruc- 
tion of his father. In the spring of 181 7, 
when fourteen years of age, he began his 
business career as clerk for his uncle, Cap- 
tain Joseph Pease, who kept a country 
store on Chicopee street. About this time 
his father wrote him : "One thing is cer- 
tain that in my present circumstances it 
will be impossible for me to afford you 
much assistance. Having given you as 
good an education as I could, and your 
time, I must leave you under providence 
to make your way in the world as well as 
you can. Be sober, industrious, honest, 
faithful and frugal. On these virtues your 
success and prosperity depend." 

From the beginning, Stephen C. Bemis 
developed remarkable aptitude for trade 
and business. He was ambitious, active, 
impatient to get ahead, and so restless at 
times that his father needed to caution 
him. His uncle had other business which 
engaged a large part of his attention, and 
Stephen C. took almost the entire charge 
of the store. In 1819, he got the "sea 
fever" and wanted to go as a sailor, but 
his father would not give his consent and 
persuaded him to relinquish the idea. In 
1821, in a letter to his father, he expressed 
his desire to go to a larger place and se- 
cure employment in a store where more 



business was done and where he could 
learn more. Accordingly, in that year, he 
went to Hartford and entered the employ 
of Lemuel Swift, wholesale and retail 
grocer. His employer was a hard master 
and he had to work from sunrise until 9 
P. M. and sometimes to 12 P. M., and this 
hard work brought on a debility that he 
could not throw off. He was obliged to 
give up this position, and thereupon re- 
turned to Chicopee. In 1822, when nine- 
teen years of age, he formed a partnership 
with his uncle under the firm name of 
Pease & Bemis, which continued for two 
years, when the senior partner withdrew, 
selling his interest in the firm to Sylvester 
Chapin, and Mr. Bemis and Mr. Chapin 
formed a new company under the name of 
Chapin & Bemis. After a few months 
Mr. Bemis purchased his partner's inter- 
est and immediately formed a new part- 
nership with Chester W. Chapin. They 
retained the firm name of Chapin & Bemis 
and conducted the business for two years, 
when Mr. Chapin was obliged to with- 
draw on account of ill health. Although 
this partnership was of short duration the 
friendship formed was lifelong, and in 
after years the fortunes of the two were 
united in various ways and enterprises. 
Mr. Bemis kept an interest in the old 
store for a number of years, as well as in 
other stores established in Willimansett 
and Cabotville, with different men as 

In 1829, Mr. Bemis organized the Wil- 
limansett Manufacturing Company, and 
was elected agent and treasurer. The 
company bought a water privilege in Wil- 
limansett and built a factory and board- 
ing houses for the employees. It manu- 
factured wool cards, tools and small 
hardware. In this venture Mr. Bemis was 
the pioneer in hardware manufacture in 
the Connecticut Valley. The business 

was conducted successfully for ten years 
or more, and its products gained a wide 
reputation. In recognition of their supe- 
riority, silver medals were awarded the 
company at a number of industrial fairs. 
In 1844, the tool manufacture was trans- 
ferred to Springfield, where Mr. Bemis, 
in company with Amos Call, conducted it 
at Mill river. In 1855, the business was 
incorporated and became known as the 
Bemis & Call Hardware and Tool Com- 
pany, which is one of the successful in- 
dustries of Springfield at the present time. 
In 1843, ^'"- Bemis moved to Springfield, 
and in addition to manufacturing tools 
engaged in the retail hardware business. 
In 1853, ^^ gave the management of this 
business to his eldest son, and devoted 
himself more exclusively to the coal and 
iron business which, in company with 
Chester W. Chapin, under the firm name 
of S. C. Bemis & Company, he had first 
engaged in about 1845. He applied him- 
self closely to business until 1868, when 
on account of ill health, brought on by 
constant care and overwork, he withdrew 
from all active pursuits. 

Mr. Bemis, during his lifetime, held 
many public offices and places of trust. 
In his inaugural address as mayor of 
Springfield in 1862, at the beginning of his 
second term, he said: 

I have been a citizen of Springfield for the last 
forty-five years, and during that period I have 
received many marks of confidence and regard 
from my fellow-citizens. I believe I have been 
elected to almost every office within the gift of the 
town or city, from the lowest to the highest. 

His first official duties date back to 
1824, when he was appointed postmaster 
at Chicopee. He held this office until 
1834, when it was removed to Williman- 
sett. He was tax collector in 1824, and 
again in subsequent years; fire warden 
for a long term of years; member of the 



Legislature, 1837; assistant engineer of 
the fire department, 1846-47-48; select- 
man before the town became a city; jus- 
tice of the peace ; alderman, 1856-57-58 ; 
and mayor of the city in 1861-62. In poli- 
tics he was first a Whig, but in 1838 he 
went over to the Democratic party, and 
thereafter was an earnest supporter of 
Jeffersonian democracy. He was looked 
upon as one of the "old war horses" of his 
party. Several times he was delegate to 
Democratic National conventions. In 
1854 he was nominated for Congress, and 
was also candidate for lieutenant-gov- 
ernor in 1859. His attitude in respect to 
national affairs immediately preceding the 
Civil War may be understood by quoting 
from his inaugural address as mayor of 
Springfield, January 7, 1861 : 

While our granaries are full to overflowing — 
our storehouses filled with merchandise, and our 
capitalists with an abundance of means to transact 
the business of the country— a mighty change has 
come over us. The smith is resting on his anvil, 
the noise of the shuttle has ceased, the sound of 
the grinding is low. Many of our mechanics are 
out of employment, and our workshops partially 
or entirely closed. With all the elements of pros- 
perity and abundance, why does this state of things 
exist, and to what cause can we attribute the pres- 
ent stagnation of business? Is it not to be found 
in forgetfulness among the people of their obli- 
gations to the Constitution under which we live? 
of a tendency to new theories and abstractions, 
and an adoption of fanatical ideas which are at 
war with the great principles which have so long 
bound us together as a brotherhood of states.' If 
so, whether it be the North or the South, let errors 
be corrected in a spirit of concession ; let the coun- 
sels of good and conservative men prevail and save 
us from an anarchy and civil war. * * * But, 
after all, if Liberty shall prove to be but another 
name for Treason, and a conflict must ensue, then 
I trust we have hosts of men like Scott and Wool 
and Anderson who will, let what may come, see 
that the Stars and Stripes are triumphant, and 
that traitors and their abettors may read their 

Mr. Bemis stood resolutely with Presi- 
dent Lincoln for the suppression of the 

Rebellion and preservation of the Union. 
In his second inaugural address, January 
6, 1862, he said in part : 

In this crisis, we must stand by the government 
— we should combine all our energies to suppress 
the rebellion * * * there should be no fretful 
and unavailing complaints, but all should go heart- 
ily into the work of restoring our national Con- 
stitution to its just supremacy. Let the govern- 
ment be sustained in its endeavor to restore its 
authority over the thirty-four states. This can be 
done in no other way than by united action, brav- 
ery and fidelity among the people, and the officers 
and soldiers of our army; thus will traitors be 
humbled and snarling fanatics silenced. 

With the breaking out of the war Mr. 
Bemis, as mayor, applied himself with un- 
swerving patriotism and untiring energy 
to the multiplied duties of his office. Never 
did the fiery enthusiasm of his nature 
show to better advantage than during 
those early rebellious days, when he bent 
his whole soul to the furthering of the 
national cause. 

Mr. Bemis was one of those earnest, 
fearless men who went straight to the 
mark in all his operations, and no one had 
occasion to misunderstand or doubt his 
meaning. He won success through a 
clear head, hard work, and unswerving- 
purpose, and when he made a stand on 
any question everybody knew where to 
find him. In manner he was quick and 
impulsive, at times almost passionate in 
his vehemence ; but those who knew him 
best were keenly aware of the warm, 
affectionate heart and ready sympathy 
that were so easily enlisted in behalf of 
the suffering and needy. Mr. Bemis 
joined the old church on Chicopee street, 
in 1826, and retained his membership 
therein to the end of his life. Early ties 
were too strong to be severed, and at his 
request he and his wife were buried in the 
cemetery on Chicopee street. 

Mr. Bemis married, December 25, 1828, 
Julia Emeline Skeele, born July 11, 1809, 



died April 25, 1900, daughter of Otis and 
Kezia (Chapin) Skeele, of Chicopee. Chil- 
dren : I. Stephen Augustus, born in Chic- 
opee, September 27, 1830, died in Spring- 
field, June 13, 1897; married (first), at 
Boston, February 8, 1855, Frances Ann 
Lewis, daughter of Alonzo Burdick and 
Lucy Ann Lewis ; Mrs. Bemis died Octo- 
ber 2, 1869; Mr. Bemis married (second), 
at New Bedford, October 10, 1876, Mrs. 
Emma Theora (White) Collins, widow of 
Charles M. Collins, and daughter of Wil- 
liam G. and Betsey White. Children by 
his first wife : i. Infant daughter, born 
April 17, 1857, died August 2, 1857; ii. 
Lilly Chapin, born April 7, 1859, died May 
26, 1863; iii. Frank Augustus, born No- 
vember 29, 1862. Child by second wife: 
iv. Florence, born June 8, 1879. 2. Wil- 
liam Chaplin, of whom further, 3. Arthur 
Irving, an account of whom appears in the 
following sketch. 4. Julia Emeline, born 
in Willimansett, February 26, 1838, died 
in Springfield, April 25, 1905 ; married, in 
Springfield, November 8, i860, Warner 
Fassett Sturtevant, son of Warner C. and 
Abigail (Lyon) Sturtevant; he died Octo- 
ber 27, 1906. Children : i. Minnie Abi- 
gail, born July 10, 1861 ; ii. Robert Ham- 
ilton, born November 3, 1864, died Sep- 
tember 26, 1865 ; iii. Royal Bassett, born 
January 27, 1868; iv. Julia Bemis, born 
August 12, 1874. 5. Thomas Otis, born in 
Willimansett, August i, 1840, died in 
Springfield, June 22, 1903; married, No- 
vember 18, 1863, at Springfield, Sarah 
Ellen Bascom, daughter of Daniel Collins 
and Sarah Bascom. Children: i. Mabel 
Collins, born January 23, 1867; ii. Emma 
Wilcox, born November 8, 1870. 6. Ed- 
ward Fitzgerald, born in Springfield, May 
8, 1843, died March 7, 1844. 7. Kate 
Chapin, born in Springfield, May 30, 1846; 
married, in Springfield, October 23, 1872, 
Howard Ashley Gibbs, son of Jarvis W. 

and Tryphena (Mann) Gibbs. Children: 
i. Ralph Bemis, born December 26, 1875, 
deceased ; ii. Edith, born December 14, 
1879. 8. Henry Skeele, born in Spring- 
field, October 23, 1850, deceased; married, 
in Pittsfield, May 21, 1873, Henrietta Su- 
sanna Kelly, daughter of Patrick and 
Eliza Kelly. She was born in Pittsfield, 
April 25, 1848. They have no children. 
Mr. Bemis, father of these children, died 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, February 
12, 1875. 

(VIII) William Chaplin Bemis, second 
son of Stephen Chapin and Julia Emeline 
(Skeele) Bemis, was born in Williman- 
sett, Massachusetts, November 16, 1832, 
and died in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
October 26, 1904. When he was eleven 
years of age his parents removed to 
Springfield, and his education, which was 
begun in the schools of his native town, 
was completed in the public schools of 
Springfield. In 1855, in early manhood, 
he was one of the organizers of the Bemis 
& Call Hardware and Tool Company, be- 
ing elected to serve in the capacity of 
treasurer of the same, which position he 
held until his death, in addition to that of 
president of the company from 1897 until 
his death, having been elected to that high 
position upon the death of William K. 
Baker. His other business connection was 
trustee of the Hampden Savings Bank. 
He also served in a similar capacity for 
the Asbury Church. He was a man of 
judgment, enterprise and integrity, highly 
esteemed by all with whom he was 
brought in contact. 

Mr. Bemis married, December 25, 1856, 
in Springfield, Emily Olive Rodgers, 
daughter of Aaron D. and Olive R. (Leon- 
ard) Rodgers, and granddaughter of 
Thomas Rodgers. She died October 9, 
1912. Children: i. Edwin Leonard, of 
whom further. 2. William Stephen, born 



November 24, i860, died March 25, 1895 ; 
married, January i, 1885, Adella E. Mark- 
ham ; children : i. Emily Eveline, born 
April 25, 1888; ii. Aline Markham, born 
December 11, 1889; iii. Helen, born April 
10, 1892. 3. Howard Rodgers, of whom 
further. 4. Belle, born November i, 1872, 
died February 24, 1874. 5. Chester 
Chapin, born August 6, 1879, died Febru- 
ary II, 1880. 

(IX) Edwin Leonard Bemis, eldest son 
of William Chaplin and Emily Olive 
(Rodgers) Bemis, was born in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, November 17, 1858. He 
attended the public schools of his native 
city, including the high school, which he 
attended for two years, and then pursued 
a one-year course in the Springfield Col- 
legiate Institute. He entered the employ 
of Mcintosh & Company, manufacturers 
and jobbers of boots and shoes, with 
whom he remained for a period of seven- 
teen years, serving in the capacities of 
clerk, traveling salesman, and in higher 
offices that required considerable skill and 
judgment in the handling thereof. In 
1894, he became a stockholder in the 
Bemis & Call Hardware and Tool Com- 
pany, later being elected to the office of 
secretary, which position he still (1921) 
fills. He is affiliated with the Congrega- 
tional church, and is an independent Re- 
publican in politics. His Masonic con- 
nections are as follows : Member of 
Roswell Lee Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Morning Star Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Springfield Council, Royal 
and Select Masters ; Springfield Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar; and Melha 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Orders Nobles 
of the Mystic Shrine. He also holds mem- 
bership in the Nayasset Club. 

Mr. Bemis married, in Springfield, 
April 14, 1886, Carrie Alice Vose, born in 
Westfield, Massachusetts, daughter of 

Roger and Calista Vose. Child, Marion 
Vose, born in Springfield, August 24, 1889. 
(IX) Howard Rodgers Bemis, third 
son of William Chaplin and Emily Olive 
(Rodgers) Bemis, was born in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, March 5, 1867. His 
early studies were pursued in the school 
in the vicinity of his home, and this was 
supplemented by a course in the Spring- 
field High School. His first employment 
was with Mcintosh & Company, manu- 
facturers and jobbers of boots and shoes, 
Springfield, where he remained for two 
years. The following year he was an 
employee of Cutler & Company, grain 
dealers, North Wilbraham. In 1886 he 
entered the employ of the Bemis & Call 
Hardware and Tool Company, Spring- 
field, in the capacity of time-keeper, and 
shortly afterward he acquired an interest 
in the business. Upon the death of his 
father, in 1904, he succeeded to the offices 
so capably filled by him, president and 
treasurer, and held these offices for many 
years. In addition to the above, he is at 
the present time (1921) filling the offices 
of treasurer of the Fiberloid Company, of 
Indian Orchard, Massachusetts; director 
of the Massachusetts Mutual Life Insur- 
ance Company, the Union Trust Com- 
pany, Hendee Manufacturing Company, 
and the United Manufacturing Company, 
and vice-president of the Hampden Sav- 
ings Bank. He is a member of Faith 
Congregational Church, the Colony Club, 
Nayasset Club, Springfield Country Club, 
and Union League Club, of New York. 
His Masonic connection is with Roswell 
Lee Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; 
Morning Star Chapter, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons ; Springfield Council, Royal and 
Select Masters ; Springfield Commandery, 
Knights Templar ; and Melha Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mys- 
tic Shrine. 


Mr. Bemis married, in Springfield, Jan- 
uary 8, 1889, Helen Elizabeth Kenyon, 
born in Spring-field, daughter of Silas L. 
and Ella A. (Crosby) Kenyon, and grand- 
daughter of John Crosby. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bemis are the parents of one child, Wil- 
liam Chaplin, of whom further. 

(X) William Chaplin (2) Bemis, only 
child of Howard Rodgers and Helen 
Elizabeth (Kenyon) Bemis, was born in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, December 3, 
1891. The public schools of his native 
city and the Allen School afforded him 
the means of securing a preparatory edu- 
cation, and he completed his studies by a 
course in Dartmouth College, from which 
institution he was graduated in 1915. His 
business experience has been gained in 
the employ of the Fiberloid Company, of 
Indian Orchard, Massachusetts, of which 
he is at the present time (1921) assistant 
to the general manager. He holds mem- 
bership in Roswell Lee Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and the Country Club. 

Mr. Bemis married, February 12, 1916, 
Dorothy S. Stearns, daughter of James P. 
and Gertrude (Nelson) Stearns, of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, and they are the 
parents of one child, Howard Kenyon, 
born October 11, 1917. 

BEMIS, Charles Arthur, 

Official in Important House. 

(VIII) Arthur Irving Bemis, third son 
of Hon. Stephen Chapin and Julia Eme- 
line (Skeele) Bemis (q. v.), was born Jan- 
uary 18, 1835, died December 2, 1893. 
After completing his education he became 
associated with his father in the coal and 
other businesses in which he was engaged 
in Springfield, but in later years he be- 
came a partner with his brother, William 
C. Bemis, of the Bemis & Philipps Coal 
Company, later vv^ith the Bemis & Call 

Company, continuing with that company 
until his death. Arthur I. Bemis married 
Anna Parker, and they were the parents 
of seven children : Harry, died in infancy ; 
Charles Arthur, of further mention ; Fred- 
erick I. ; Grace P., married F. T. Buchan- 
non, of Detroit, Michigan; Fanny Anna, 
married Everett E. Stone, of Boston ; 
Maud, married John W. B. Brand ; Lu- 
cinda S., married Frank G. Hodgkins. 

(IX) Charles Arthur Bemis, son of Ar- 
thur Irving and Anna (Parker) Bemis 
(q. v.), was born in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, November 3, 1861. He was edu- 
cated in public and private schools of 
Springfield, and began his business life as 
clerk in a general store of Longmeadow. 
A year later he entered the employ of the 
Mcintosh Boot & Shoe Company as clerk, 
but later and for ten years was "on the 
road" for that company as a traveling 
salesman. In 1889 Mr. Bemis became as- 
sociated with the Charles C. Lewis Hard- 
ware Company as bookkeeper, and has 
since been continuously connected with 
that company. He is a member of its 
board of directors, and since 1915 has 
been assistant treasurer and manager. He 
is a member of the Springfield Rotary 
Club, and an attendant of the Baptist 

Mr. Bemis married (first) Belle M. 
Kirby, of Brownsville, Virginia, who died 
in 1897. He married (second) Lucinda F. 
Day, of Northampton, Massachusetts. 
Children of first marriage : i. Eleanor S., 
married Clifton Plumb, of Meriden, Con- 
necticut, and they have two sons, Richard 
and Theodore Chapin. 2. Chapin T., born 
in 1897; educated in Springfield schools 
and Wilbraham Academy, and for two 
years was engaged with the Charles C. 
Lewis Hardware Company; he then en- 
listed in the United States Naval Reserve, 
and was assigned to duty on the "Benson- 



hurst" in patrol work off Long Island 
Sound ; was rated as a first-class seaman ; 
since his return has been with the Charles 
C. Bemis Hardware Company as a travel- 
ing representative ; he married Dorothy 

STEARNS, Charles Ashley, 

Member of Important Family. 

All the surnames "Stearns," "Sterns," 
"Sternes," "Strans," are variations of the 
English family name "Sterne." That fam- 
ily bore arms, that of the Archbishop of 
York, 1664-1683, being the oldest of the 
various arms borne by the Sterne family. 

Arms — Or a chevron between three crosses flory 

Crest — A cock starling proper. 

(I) The American ancestor, Isaac 
Stearns, was born in the parish of Nay- 
land, County of Suffolk, England, and 
came April 8, 1630, in the ship "Ara- 
bella," his fellow passengers being Gov- 
ernor Winthrop, Sir Richard Saltonstall 
and Rev. George Phillips. The "Ara- 
bella" arrived at Salem, Massachusetts, 
June 12, 1630. Isaac Stearns did not re- 
main at Salem, but settled at Watertown, 
where he had a home lot, in 1642. In 
1647, he and Mr. Biscoe were appointed 
by the selectmen "to consider how the 
bridge over the river shall be built." This 
is the first mention of a bridge over the 
Charles river, at Watertown. Isaac 
Stearns was a man of thrift and industry, 
his land holdings amounting in all, to four 
hundred and sixty-seven acres. He died 
June 28, 1671. He married Mary Barker, 
who died April 2, 1677, daughter of John 
and Margaret Barker, of Stoke, in Nay- 
land, Suffolkshire, England. She accom- 
panied her husband to New England with 
their two daughters, Mary and Ann, and 
their elder son, John. Five children were 
born to them after their arrival in New 

England: Isaac (2), of further mention; 
Sarah, married Deacon Samuel Stone; 
Samuel, born April 24, 1638, died August 
3, 1683 ; Elizabeth, married Samuel Man- 
ning; Abigail, married Deacon John 
Morse. Isaac Stearns is the progenitor of 
Charles Ashley Stearns, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, descent being traced 
through Isaac (2) Stearns, who was the 
first New England born child of Isaac and 
Mary (Barker) Stearns. 

(II) Isaac (2) Stearns, son of Isaac (i) 
and Mary (Barker) Stearns, was born in 
Watertown, January 6, 1632, died August 
29, 1676. He married, June 24, 1660, 
Sarah Beers, and settled at Cambridge 
Farms, now Lexington. His wife sur- 
vived him and married (second), July 23, 
1677, Thomas Wheeler, of Concord. Chil- 
dren : Sarah, born January 15, 1662 ; mar- 
ried, December, 1678, John Wheeler; 
Mary, born October 8, 1663, married, Jan- 
uary I, 1694, John Cutler; Isaac (3), born 
August 26, 1665, married Elizabeth Stone ; 
Samuel, of further mention ; Abigail, mar- 
ried, November 29, 1792, Samuel Hallo- 
well ; she died May ii, 1709; John, born 
1675 ; died in Bedford, Massachusetts, 
June 14, 1734. 

(III) Samuel Stearns, son of Isaac 
(2) and Sarah (Beers) Stearns, born 
January 11, 1668, was accidentally killed, 
November 19, 1721. His wife, Phoebe, 
moved in 1730, to Littleton, New Hamp- 
shire. Children : Sarah, married Wil- 
liam Wheeler; Mary, married John 
Powers ; Abigail, married Joseph Tem- 
ple ; Samuel, settled in Hollis. New 
Hampshire ; Ruth, married Oliver Liver- 
more ; Phoebe, married Mr. Cummings ; 
Rebecca, married Mr. Whittemore; 
Thomas, of further mention ; John, mar- 
ried (first) Rebecca Dean; (second) 
Molly Corey; Joseph, baptized April 15, 
1715; Benjamin, married Mrs. Mary War- 
ren, a widow. 



i'lV; Thomas Stearns, son of Samuel 
and Phoebe Stearns, born, July 4, 1710, 
lived in Littleton, New Hampshire, and 
was eminent for his Christian virtues. He 
married (first) Abigail Reed, the mother 
of three sons : Ebenezer, John and Jo- 
siah. By his second marriage he had 
daughters, Abigail and Mary, both of 
whom died young. He married (third) 
Mary Heald, of Chelmsford, who died 
April 22, 1809. Children of the third mar- 
riage : Noah, died unmarried, one of the 
most intelligent, influential men of Lit- 
tleton ; Abigail, lived with her brother, 
Noah, and died unmarried ; Lydia, mar- 
ried Joshua Cheever Fowle; Molly, mar- 
ried Silas Smith ; Samuel, a soldier of the 
Revolution ; Levi, married Elizabeth 

(V) Hon. Josiah Stearns, son of 
Thomas and Abigail (Reed) Stearns, was 
born in Littleton, New Hampshire, July 
18, 1747, and settled in Lunenburg, where 
when the tidings of the fight at Lexing- 
ton reached him, he marched his men to 
meet the invaders, and served his country 
with sword and pen. In 1776, he was a 
member of the committee of public safety, 
and at different times filled every office 
of importance in the town. He married, 
March 6, 1769, Mary Corey, born March, 
1750; died December 28, 1828. He died 
in Lunenburg, April 6, 1822. Children : 
Luther, married Mary Hall ; Susanna, 
died aged twelve years; Arabel, born 
June 17, 1774; Mary, married Hon. Ed- 
mund Gushing; Thomas, married Pris- 
cilla Gushing; Elizabeth, married Major 
Levi Houghton ; Sarah, married Captain 
James Patterson ; Oliver, of further men- 
tion; Susanna, married Joseph Bicknel ; 
Ann, married Benjamin Snow, a widower. 

(VI) Oliver Stearns, son of Hon. Josiah 
and Mary (Corey) Stearns, born March 4, 
1786, died in Dracut, Massachusetts, 1826. 
He was a graduate of Harvard College, 

1808, studied law, and settled in Ames- 
bury, Massachusetts, where he became a 
man of importance. He was a represen- 
tative in 1819, and was highly esteemed 
as a lawyer. He married in 1810, Dorcas 
Varnum, daughter of Hon. J. B. Varnum, 
of Dracut. Children : Anne Dorcas, mar- 
ried Freeman Huggins ; Charles Oliver, 
married Adeline Eastman ; Susan Maria 
Corey, married Joseph Chandler; George 
Parker, died April 20, 1845 5 Luther, of 
further mention ; William Henry, mar- 
ried Mary Ann Durent; Laurens, died 
May 21, 1846; Mary Elizabeth, born Jan- 
uary 7, 1825. 

(VII) Luther Stearns, son of Oliver 
and Dorcas (Varnum) Stearns, was born 
August 17, 1820, in Dracut, died Sept. 17, 
1917. He was an engineer on the Boston 
and Albany railroad for forty years. He 
married Mary Alvord, and had children : 
Mary, died an infant; Neal, died at the 
age of fifty; Albert, died in 1913; George, 
died young; Charles Ashley Stearns, of 
further mention ; James P., in Spring- 

(VIII) Charles Ashley Stearns, son of 
Luther and Mary (Alvord) Stearns, was 
born in Springfield, Massachusetts, No- 
vember 28, 1865. He was educated in the 
city schools, and has long been asso- 
ciated with the Springfield Fire and 
Marine Insurance Company, He mar- 
ried, April 20, 1892, Carrie Emery Cooley, 
daughter of Reuben Valorous and Rose 
M. (Shaw) Cooley. 

(The Cooley Line) 

(I) Benjamin Cooley, the American 
ancestor of Mrs. Charles A. Stearns, was 
an early settler in that part of Spring- 
field, called "Longmeadow," From him 
are descended all of the name in this 
country, claiming early Colonial descent. 
For thirteen years he was a selectman of 
Springfield, serving with Miles Morgan 



and James Pynchon. He died, August 
17, 1684. His wife, Sarah, died August 23, 
1684. Children: Bethiah; Obadiah of 
whom further ; Elakin ; Daniel ; Sarah ; 
Benjamin ; Mary ; and Joseph. 

(II) Obadiah Cooley, son of Ben- 
jamin and Sarah Cooley, was born, Sep- 
tember 27, 1646, died September 3, 1690. 
He married, November 9, 1670, Rebecca 
Williams, who survived him, and mar- 
ried (second) John Warner. She died, 
October 18, 1715. They were the parents 
of seven children, descent in this branch 
following through Obadiah (2) Cooley, 
the fourth child. 

(III) Obadiah (2) Cooley, son of 
Obadiah (i) and Rebecca (Williams) 
Cooley, was born in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, August I, 1678; died, October 
6, 1764. He bought land in Springfield, 
on the west side of the "Great river," in 
1730, and in 1738 purchased of Benjamin 
Ball three acres of land on the bank of 
the river, later known as the "Isaac Hum- 
iston place," where he died. He married, 
January 22, 1702, Dorcas Hale. They 
v/ere the parents of six sons : Obadiah 
(3), Noah, Moses, David; Abel, a Revolu- 
tionary soldier; and Jacob. 

(IV) Jacob Cooley, son of Obadiah (2) 
and Dorcas (Hale) Cooley, was born 
November 19, 1720, died September 24, 
1807. He settled in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, where he married Abigail Cha- 
pin, of the ancient Chapin family of 
Western Massachusetts, and reared a 
family of sons and daughters. 

(V) Earl Cooley, son of Jacob and 
Abigail (Chapin) Cooley, was born in 
Springfield, in 1757, died November 15, 
1809. He was a farmer and land owner, 
his farm in Springfield, now in that part 
of the city occupied by the county jail. 
His farm house, in which the last years of 
his life were spent, was for a long time an 

old landmark, standing at the corner of 
York and Main streets. He married, No- 
vember 29, 1871, Amy Stebbins, who sur- 
vived him, and married (second) Cap- 
tain liitchcock. Children of Earl and 
Amy (Stebbins) Cooley: Samuel, of fur- 
ther mention ; Jacob, Edward, Earl, Har- 
vey, Betsey, Amy, and Sophia. 

(VI) Samuel Cooley, eldest son of Earl 
and Amy (Stebbins) Cooley, was born in 
Springfield, October 16, 1782; died in 
1863. He grew up at the home farm, in 
Springfield, but after arriving at man's 
estate, bought a stage route between 
Springfield and Wilbraham which he op- 
erated for many years, becoming a well- 
known and very popular stage driver. 
When railways came, he retired and be- 
came a farmer. He spent the last years of 
his life at Springfield, although he died at 
the home of his son, Thomas, in South- 
wick. During the War of 1812, he vol- 
unteered and served in the American 
army. He married, January 16, 1804, 
Ruth Ferry, born January 2, 1874, died 
in 1875, daughter of Thaddeus Ferry, a 
fife major in the army. Mrs. Cooley was 
a woman of intelligence and energy, re- 
taining these traits until the close of her 
life, although a nonagenarian. Children : 
Alvah, born February 10, 1805 ; Edmund, 
born June 24, 1808; Samuel (2), born No- 
vember 24, 1809; Ruth, born September 
24, 181 1 ; Thomas, of further mention; 
Barnabas, born December 13, 1815. 

(VII) Thomas Cooley, son of Samuel 
and Ruth (Ferry) Cooley, was born June 
6, 1813, died December 16, 1868. He 
married September 20, 1837, Elvira Ste- 
vens, born March i, 1813, died June 10, 
188S. Children: Reuben Valorous, of 
further mention; Marie Antoinette, born 
June 22, 1842, died December i, 1842; 
Samuel Dexter, born August 31, 1843, 
died September, 1910; Charles Eno, born 


4z4no^ kcd^. kvc,^^-^^^ 


August 25, 1848, died May 11, 1912; 
Thomas Jerome, born July 27, 1850. 

(VIII) Reuben Valorous Cooley, eldest 
son of Thomas and Elvira (Stevens) 
Cooley, was born in Southwick, Massa- 
chusetts, January 18, 1839, died in Water- 
town, Connecticut, February 25, 1906. He 
was educated in the district school and 
until the Civil War was in the employ of 
Mr. Atwater in Springfield, where he 
learned the carpenter's trade, and worked 
on the Memorial Church. He enlisted in 
the Union army, and served until the end 
of the war, having an honorable military 
record. After the war ended, he returned 
to Springfield, where, for a time he was 
a proprietor of a restaurant. Later he 
became a hotel proprietor, having hotels 
in Northampton, Westfield, Litchfield, 
Massachusetts, and Waterbury, Connec- 
ticut; also in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
he conducted the Waverly Restaurant. 
After retiring from business, he went to 
Waterbury, Connecticut, there residing 
with his son until his death. He was a 
member of the Mt. Moriah Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons of Westfield ; In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows ; and the 
Improved Order of Red Men. He mar- 
ried (first), September, 1866, Rosa M. 
Shaw, of Danamora, New York, born 
September 19, 1842, died December 2, 
1877, daughter of Darius P. Shaw, He 
married (second) Lizzie C. Camp, and 
resides in Brooklyn. Children of first 
marriage : Carrie Emery, married Charles 
Ashley Stearns; George M., born 1868, 
died 1870 ; Annie Louise Cooley, who 
married George Davy, of Detroit. Chil- 
dren of second marriage : Harry Camp 
Cooley, born April 12, 1883, now living at 
Cleveland, Ohio ; he married Ruth Turner 
and has a son, Harry Turner Cooley, born 
January 10, 1909; and a daughter, Ruth 
Alice Cooley, who resides with her mother 
in Brooklyn. 

SMITH, George W. V., 

Art Connoisseur, Public Benefactor. 

The history of art in the city of Spring- 
field, if written, would center largely 
around George Weaker Vincent Smith, col- 
lector of that wonderful gathering of 
treasures which he presented to the city 
through the City Library Association, 
February 7, 1914, and which bears his 
name as its legal title, "The George Wal- 
ter Vincent Smith Collection. 

Mr. Smith's father, George Wilson 
Smith, youngest of the thirteen children 
of Abijah and Eunice (Chatfield) Smith, 
was born in Derby, Connecticut, Septem- 
ber 2, 1807, and died in January, 1835. He 
was a man of education and literary abil- 
ity, a successful journalist, an intimate 
friend of Robert Hoe, the inventor of the 
Hoe printing press, and during his short 
life of twenty-seven years was editor, 
printer, and publisher. He married, Sep- 
tember 29, 183 1, Sarah Henrietta Wheeler, 
of Trumbull, Connecticut, daughter of 
Amos Hawley and Huldah (Mallett) 
Wheeler. Her father was a graduate of 
Yale, in the class of 1804, and a lawyer of 
ability, who settled in Trumbull, in March, 
1810. He represented Trumbull in the 
General Assembly from 1814 to 1816. 

George Walter Vincent Smith, the only 
child of George Wilson and Sarah H. 
(Wheeler) Smith, was born June 14, 1832, 
in New York City. He was left father- 
less at the age of two and one-half years, 
his early training depending upon the fine 
quality of his gentle mother's mind. 
Under the influence of her well-balanced 
nature he developed into the man of re- 
fined and artistic tendencies, to whom 
Springfield owes so much of that which 
is high and ennobling in art. 

Upon the death of his father, his 
mother removed to Bridgeport, Connec- 
ticut, in 1835, and there he attended the 



school of Warren W. Sellick until he en- 
tered the Seminary in Amenia, Dutchess 
county, New York. At the age of 
eighteen, he entered business life as a 
clerk with the importing house of Bab- 
cock, Gould & Company, New York City, 
with whom he remained six years. Dur- 
ing this time he was offered, but declined, 
a partnership in this firm. At the expir- 
ation of the six years, he resigned from 
this position, and formed the firm of 
Stivers & Smith, carriage manufacturers. 
This period of his business career was 
cast in strenuous times. Hardly had the 
firm made a beginning, when the financial 
crashes of 1857, with their attendant 
panics, swept the country. But this did 
not discourage Mr. Smith ; he pressed 
resolutely forward, holding his own even 
in the dark and troublesome days of the 
Civil War, until January i, 1867, when he 
withdrew from the firm. 

During all this time he was developing 
the artistic ideas of a connoisseur. Mr. 
Smith, like most collectors, started his 
collection with paintings, making his first 
purchase in 1852. Gradually his interests 
broadened, and fine bronzes and ivories 
were added to it. One day in passing a 
small shop in lower New York, where 
curios were dealt in, he chanced to see a 
bowl and a pilgrim bottle, in a curious 
ware, which was entirely unknown to him. 
Upon investigation, he learned they had 
been brought to this country from China 
by an old sea captain. The rare beauty 
of these two pieces attracted him, and 
they were the beginning of his now fam- 
ous cloisonne collection. 

The passion for art during these years 
had grown too strong to make the mere 
rolling of dollars longer attractive, so at 
the early age of thirty-five, he retired from 
an active and prosperous career to devote 
the balance of his life to the cultivation of 
his aesthetic tastes, and to the gratifica- 

tion of his keen love of the beautiful. He 
entered the field at a most favorable time. 
The millionaire collector had not arrived, 
the professional or amateur was rara avis. 
He gave himself unreservedly to the lux- 
ury of study and collecting in the Old 
World. Twelve years were spent by him 
abroad, travelling widely and meeting ar- 
tists and connoisseurs, thereby gaining a 
liberal art education. His keen judgment 
and love of color, form, and texture, made 
him an expert in the valuation of art, es- 
pecially Chinese and Japanese, and his 
collection of cloisonne, jades, lacquers, 
porcelains, bronzes, ivories, and of curios 
is conceded to be one of the most unique 
and representative in America. 

Through Mr. Smith's influence, the 
first noteworthy exhibition of paintings 
was held in Springfield, in 1878, and as a 
proof of the local interest it aroused, it 
was noted at the time that out of fifty- 
six paintings exhibited, thirty-six were 
sold as a result, and the art exhibition be- 
came an annual affair in Springfield. 
Mr. Smith's own collection was growing 
constantly, and from 1882 to 1887 Mr. and 
Mrs. Smith were abroad continuously, 
and many articles of great value were 
added to the collection, which now 
reached large proportions. He greatly 
desired that it might become a means of 
enjoyment and art education to the people, 
and when in 1889 the City Library Asso- 
ciation of Springfield was discussing plans 
to enlarge the facilities of the public 
library, he proposed to bequeath his col- 
lection to the association, on condition 
that a suitable fireproof structure be built 
in which to preserve and display it. He 
also offered to guarantee its perpetual 
care by a suitable endowment, and Mrs. 
Smith proposed to give her valuable col- 
lection of laces and embroideries, on the 
same conditions. The association ac- 
cepted the gift upon the terms proposed ; 



the building was erected ; the collection 
installed and opened to the public, in 
1896. Meanwhile, and up to the present, 
1920, under the care of Mr. Smith, the col- 
lection has been steadily gaining in size 
and completeness. The formal deed of 
gift, by which the collection became for- 
ever the possession of the Springfield City 
Library Association, was executed Febru- 
ary 7, 1914. The collection of treasures 
including as the deed recites : "A very 
valuable, choice, and extensive collection 
of ceramics, bronzes, paintings, arms, 
textiles, lacquers, cloisonne, enamels, sil- 
verware, furniture, laces, books, manu- 
scripts, jades, and many other art objects 
and curios," represents the chief life work 
of George Walter Vincent Smith and his 
wife, and is given by them jointly to be 
used for the pleasure and instruction of 
the present and future generations. The 
legal title by which the collection is 
known is "The George Walter Vincent 
Smith Collection." Mr. Smith, despite 
his eighty-eight years, retains and exer- 
cises his function of supervisor and di- 
rector of the collection ; adding to it, im- 
proving it, and doing everything he deems 
possible for the betterment of his life gift 
to the public. 

A man who has given the wealth of 
his life endeavors for others ; who, pos- 
sessed of marked genius, has devoted it 
with energy and assiduity to so worthy a 
field of activity, and who, while in the 
full possession of his powers and facul- 
ties, has had the altruistic spirit, to place 
the total result of these labors at the ser- 
vice of his followers for all time to come, 
would naturally win many encomiums. 
Among the many which have found voice, 
the following from the Springfield "Re- 
publican" is quoted : 

To his honor will stand a monument, whose 
beauty is infinitely varied, enduring almost beyond 
the reach of thought, the teacher of generations 

unborn, giving pleasure to eye and heart and in- 
creasing the cunning of hands not to be num- 
bered. The spiritual appeal will be there forever. 
A writer of books can put his single soul with its 
message between covers. Mr. Smith has gathered 
for us this faithful work of thousands of souls 
as expressed in superior craftsmanship. Through 
him, they are to teach us. As a master in appre- 
ciating them, he has assembled a noble company 
for our service. This is what Mr. Smith has done 
with his life and money, — and he has done well. 
Few men have built upon foundation so enduring, 
so worthy of respect, of tribute and gratitude. 

The following is also a quoted expres- 
sion of the esteem and appreciation of his 
fellows : 

His name is indisseverably linked with a public 
benefaction, splendid alike in its artistic and its 
monetary worth. He has given to the city a 
priceless collection of works of an ancient and 
medieval art and artisanship. The munificence of 
the honored donor cannot be measured by terms 
of art, or as money. Rather shall it be measured 
by this, that he gave his life to the city that he 

While Mr. Smith has followed with 
such singleness of purpose his chosen vo- 
cation of collecting, he has found time and 
place for many other activities. He has 
been a member for fifty years of the Union 
League Club, New York City ; also of the 
Japan Society of America; the American 
Association of Museums ; the American 
Federation of Arts; the National Geo- 
graphic Society; United States Chamber 
of Commerce ; Springfield Chamber of 
Commerce ; Colony Club ; Nayasset Club ; 
Unity Men's Club; and is an honorary 
member of the Springfield Art League; 
and honorary member of the Rotary Club. 
He was elected a member of the Order 
of William Pynchon of the Publicity Club, 
of Springfield. This is an honor conferred 
by the club upon citizens of Springfield 
who have served the city in a notable 
manner. In politics, Mr. Smith is a Re- 
publican, and when twelve years of age 
was marshal of the Henry Clay's Boys' 



Club, and has always voted the Republi- 
can ticket. In church relation, he is an 

Mr. Smith married, June 22, 1869, Belle 
Townsley, daughter of George Reuben 
and Mary Ann (Hitchcock) Townsley, of 
Springfield, Massachusetts. In his wife, 
he found not only a congenial and sym- 
pathetic companion, but also an able co- 
adjutor, Mrs. Smith's interest in collect- 
ing being second only to that of her hus- 
band. They decided to make Spring- 
field their home, and in 1871 the first in- 
stallment of the now famous collection 
was brought to the city, which has since 
been its home and the home of its owners. 
To young men who would be successful 
Mr. Smith gives this word : 

Choose your companions with care, seeking 
those of principle and character, rather than those 
of wealth. Be sincere and honest, observe the 
"Golden Rule," and believe that there are other 
things more productive of happiness than the ac- 
quiring of great wealth. 

These are no theorist's words, but the 
utterances of a man speaking out of the 
fulness of experience, and recommending 
virtues which he has personally tested and 

SMITH, Samuel Finley, M. D., 

Physician, Civic OfB.cial. 

Dr. Samuel Finley Smith, of Indian 
Orchard, Massachusetts, has been in prac- 
tice there nearly a half century, having 
located in that town in 1873, and is there 
highly regarded as a physician, and citi- 
zen. He comes of an old English family. 

(I) Lieutenant Samuel Smith, ances- 
tor of Dr. Samuel F. Smith, was born in 
England, about 1602, and April 3, 1634, 
sailed for New England on the ship 
"Elizabeth." He settled first in Salem, 
Massachusetts, where he was admitted a 
freeman, September 3, 1634; was a pro- 
prietor in 1638, but later was a citizen of 

Wethersfield, Connecticut, going thence 
to Hadley, Massachusetts, where he held 
important offices both in church and 
State. He died about 1680, aged seventy- 
eight. Descent in the line of Dr. Samuel 
F. Smith is through the fifth child of 
Lieutenant Samuel and Elizabeth Smith. 

(II) Ensign Chileab Smith, son of 
Lieutenant Samuel and Elizabeth Smith, 
was born in New England, and died 
March 7, 1731, aged ninety-five years. He 
was admitted a freeman in 1673, and in the 
Colonial military service gained the rank 
of ensign. He married, October 2, 1661, 
Hannah Hitchcock, who died August 31, 
1733, aged eighty-eight, daughter of Luke 
Hitchcock, of Wethersfield, Connecticut. 
They were the parents of four children 
born between 1662 and 1668, this review 
following through Ebenezer, the fourth 
child, and third son. 

(III) Ebenezer Smith, son of Ensign 
Chileab and Hannah (Hitchcock) Smith, 
was born July 11, 1668, and died about 
1716. He was a weaver by trade. In 

October, 1691, he married Abigail Brough- 
ton, and they were the parents of ten chil- 
dren, descent in this line being traced 
through Deacon John, fourth child, and 
second son. 

(IV) Deacon John Smith, son of Eben- 
ezer and Abigail (Broughton) Smith, was 
born May i, 1699, and died in Granby, 
Hampden county, Massachusetts, June 
17, 1774. He resided in the south pre- 
cinct of Hadley, and there was a collector 
for the church, a deacon and selectman 
for five terms. Later he moved to Granby, 
where he died. Deacon Smith married 
(first), August 14, 1724, Rachel Smith, 
who died September 20, 1724, daughter 
of John Smith. He married (second), 
April 6, 1727, Mary Dickinson, who died 
March 5, 1781, daughter of William B, 

(V) Deacon Nathan Smith, only son 



of Deacon John Smith and his second 
wife, Mary (Dickinson) Smith, was born 
about 1 73 1, and died August 21, 181 1. 
He lived in Granby, Massachusetts, and 
was one of the influential patriots of the 
town. He was a member of the Revolu- 
tionary county convention held at North- 
ampton, and in 1777 was representative to 
the General Court. In 1771 his estate was 
rated among the largest in Granby. He 
married Eunice Smith, who died Septem- 
ber 19, 1822, daughter of James Smith. 
They were the parents of sixteen chil- 
dren, including a son Samuel, the four- 
teenth child. 

(VI) Samuel (2) Smith, son of Deacon 
Nathan and Eunice (Smith) Smith, was 
born in Granby, Massachusetts, August 
4, 1775, and died ninety-four years later, 
in 1869. He married in 1799, Mehitable 
Burnett, and they were the parents of 
eleven children, born in Granby. Descent 
is traced through his sixth child, Sam- 
uel (2). 

(VII) Samuel (3) Smith, son of Sam- 
uel (2) and Mehitable (Burnett) Smith, 
was born in Granby, Massachusetts, De- 
cember 22, 1808, and died August 5, 1890. 
He lived on the homestead at Granby, 
taught school, engaged in farming, and 
was prominent in church and town affairs. 
For many years he served as assessor of 
taxes, and as member of the school com- 
mittee ; was representative to the General 
Court in 1863, and a member of the com- 
mittee in charge of the Massachusetts 
Agricultural College, of Boston Society of 
Natural History, and the Massachusetts 
Institute of Technology. At the time of 
his election to the General Court, he re- 
ceived every vote cast in the district, a 
most remarkable fact. He served the 
Granby Church for twenty years as dea- 
con, and the Sunday School twenty-seven 
consecutive years as superintendent. He 

married, December 7, 1835, Maryett 
White, who died December 15, 1888, 
daughter of Luther and Abigail (Preston) 
White, of Granby. Maryett White was a 
descendant of Elder John White, who 
came in the ship "Lion" in 1632, descent 
being through the Elder's son, Jonathan 
White ; his son Deacon Nathaniel White ; 
his son, Daniel White, and his wife, Han- 
nah Bagg ; their son, Jacob White, and his 
wife Amy Stebbins ; their son Luther 
White and his wife Abigail Preston ; their 
daughter, Maryett, wife of Deacon Sam- 
uel Smith. Deacon Samuel and Maryett 
(White) Smith, were the parents of nine 
children: i. Eliza Thayer, wife of Cap- 
tain William B. Clark, who was killed in 
the Civil War, October 24, 1864. 2. Rob- 
ert Morrison, a soldier of the Union, serv- 
ing in Company K, Thirty-fourth Regi- 
ment, Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry. 
He was slightly wounded at New Market, 
Virginia, in May, 1864, and at the battle 
of Piedmont, Virginia, was so severely 
wounded as to be unfit for field duty. 
He was retained in the service on light 
duty until honorably discharged June 15, 
1865. 3. Lucretia Marie, born May 19, 
1841, died August 26, 1842. 4. Marietta, 
married Charles S. Boynton. 5. Henry 
Neal, died aged three years. 6. Samuel 
Finley, of further mention. 7. Abby 
White, married John H. Chandler. 8. 
Henry Martin, died young. 9. Emma 
Clarinda, married John H. Chandler. She 
and the doctor only are living. 

(VIII) Dr. Samuel Finley Smith, sixth 
child of Deacon Samuel (3) and Maryett 
(White) Smith, was born in Granby, 
Hampshire county, Massachusetts, July 17. 
1847. After finishing public school study 
with courses of study at South Hadley 
High School, he entered Wesleyan Acad- 
emy, Wilbraham, finishing with gradua- 
tion in 1868. The following autumn he 



entered Amherst College, but about one 
year later left Amherst, and began study 
in the medical department of the Uni- 
versity of Michigan, whence he was grad- 
uated M. D., March 26, 1873. Soon after- 
ward he located in Indian Orchard, the 
Eighth Ward of Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, and there he has continued in gen- 
eral practice during the forty-seven years 
which have since intervened. Could the 
record of this nearly half century of his 
profession be written in detail, it would 
reveal a life of self sacrifice, of devotion to 
duty, but crowned with a success, not to 
be measured by the usual standard of pro- 
fessional honor which he has won in 
abundance in addition to this. He is rich 
in the regard of his fellow-men. 

He is a member of Springfield Academy 
of Medicine ; Hampden District Medical 
Society ; Eastern Hampden Medical Asso- 
ciation ; Massachusetts Medical Society ; 
and the American Medical Association, 
and his standing is high among his pro- 
fessional brethren, and his relations most 
pleasant. He is affiliated with Roswell Lee 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; also 
the Indian Orchard Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons; Wallamanump tribe, Im- 
proved Order of Red Men ; this has now 
affiliated with Qusamequin tribe of 
Springfield ; and the Independent Order 
of Foresters. In 1876, when a candidate 
for Springfield Common Council, he was 
the nominee of both parties. 

Dr. Smith married, June 2^], 1877, Alice 
Kimball, born February 27, 1853, died 
February 5, 1890, daughter of Rev. 
George P. Kimball, of Chicago. Their 
only child, Neal Kimball Smith, born Jan- 
uary 10, 1879, died November i, 1879. 
Dr. Smith is a member of the Evangelical 
Church of Indian Orchard, and was also 
superintendent of the Sunday school, 1873 
to 1883. 

PARSONS, Charles Henry, 

Man of Great Enterprise. 

Charles H. Parsons, vice-president of 
the Springfield Chamber of Commerce, 
chairman of public affairs of the same or- 
ganization, and extensively engaged in 
real estate operations in his native city, 
represents a family that has been resident 
in this country since the year 1635. The 
greater number of its members were resi- 
dents of the State of Massachusetts, and 
actively interested in promoting the wel- 
fare and development of the communities 
where they made their homes. 

(I) Cornet Joseph Parsons, the immi- 
grant ancestor, was born in England, 
about 1613, and with his brother Ben- 
jamin, is said to have been a passenger 
on the ship, "Transport," sailing from 
Gravesend, England, early in July, 1635. 
It is also said that he was a fellow-pas- 
senger with William Pynchon, in 1630, 
was with him in the neighborhood of 
Boston, went with him to the Connecticut 
Valley, and was a protege of Pynchon. 
As he was only seventeen years of age 
when Pynchon founded Agawam, his name 
does not appear on the records of the early 
Colony except as a witness to the Indian 
deed given to William Pynchon and 
others of the lands adjacent to the fork 
of the Agawam and Connecticut rivers. 
This was only sixteen years after the 
landing of the Pilgrims, at Plymouth, and 
only six years after the first settlement 
of Boston. The date of his arrival in the 
Colony of Massachusetts Bay, and the 
location of his home in England, are not 
definitely known. He was the justice of 
the peace and witnessed the deed trans- 
ferring vast tracts of land to the white 
settlers, bearing date, "J^^y I5» 1638." 
The consideration for it, received by the 
Indians, was eighteen fathoms of wam- 
pum, eighteen hatchets, eighteen knives, 



eighteen coats, eighteen hoes, and the 
land extended on both sides of the Con- 
necticut and Agawam rivers to the falls. 
No other record or part, in the formation 
and conduct of the business of the Colony 
appears until 1642, when he left Spring- 
field, and viewed the plantation "Nolt- 
wog" as a site for a new town above the 
falls. This, in 1662, became the town ot 
Northampton. He did not settle there 
permanently at this time, as he was a 
surveyor of lands in Springfield, in 1646- 
47, and was one of the fifty-two land 
owners of the town of Springfield. He 
also held the office of overseer of fences 
in 1650, and was selectman of the town in 
165 1. In 1662 he, with others, purchased 
the plantation at "Noltwog,"- which in- 
cluded a large tract of valuable land, and 
commanded an extensive trade in furs of 
the beaver and other fur-bearing animals. 
He became proprietor of the place by right 
of purchase, and was made the first se- 
lectman of the town ; he was very prom- 
inent in town and church affairs. That 
these cares were onerous, is evidenced by 
the fact that he asked, in 1656, to be re- 
leased from the cares of office for one 
3'ear, in consideration of paying into the 
town treasury the sum of twenty shil- 
lings. In 1655 he purchased from William 
Pynchon, for twelve pounds sterling, to be 
paid annually, the sole right to trade in 
beaver and other furs in the Connecticut 
Valley, and the trade was large. The 
P3'nchon estate realized four hundred 
pounds, and five hundred pounds for the 
privilege. In 1668 he successfully main- 
tained a saw mill, after other holders of 
the privilege had made a failure of the 
enterprise. In 1664 he was a member of 
the committee to fix the conduct of the 
Indians so they should not work on the 
Sabbath Day, and shall not "pow wow" 
on the settlement, or get drunk. He was 
a member of Captain John Pynchon's 

Hampshire County Troop, in King 
Philip's War, 1672-78, and he was made 
cornet of troop, October 7, 1678. In 1679 
he was made a member of the Ancient 
and Honorable Artillery Company, of 
Boston ; and he served in the early French 
and Indian Wars, in the Colony of Massa- 
chusetts Bay. 

Cornet Joseph Parsons married, No- 
vember 26, 1646, Mary Bliss, daughter of 
Thomas Bliss, of Hartford Colony, and 
granddaughter of Thomas Bliss, of Bil- 
stone parish, Devonshire, England. She 
was born in England, in 1620, and died in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, January 29, 
1712, after having reached the ninety- 
second year of her age. Cornet Joseph 
Parsons died in Springfield, October 9, 
1683, to which place he had removed from 
Northampton, on account of Indian trou- 
bles. The years of widowhood of Mary 
(Bliss) Parsons, were twenty-nine. Chil- 
dren of Cornet Joseph and Mary (Bliss) 
Parsons: i. Joseph, of further mention. 
2. John, born 1649; married Sarah Clarke, 
daughter of Lieutenant Clarke, of North- 
ampton, December 23, 1675. 3. Samuel, 
born 1652; settled in Dunham, Connecti- 
cut, 1706. 4. Ebenezer, born 1655 ; the first 
white child born in Northampton ; was 
killed by the Indians in King Philip's 
War, at Northfield, September 8, 1675. 5. 
Jonathan, born June 6, 1657, ^i^d October 
16, 1684. 6. David, born April 30, 1659. 7. 
Mary, born June 27, 1661 ; married (first), 
October 15, 1685, Joseph Ashley, of 
Springfield; (second), March 2, 1699, Jo- 
seph Williston. 8. Hannah, born 1663 ; 
married, January 6, 1687, Rev. Pelatiah 
Glover, of Springfield. 9. Abigail, born 
September 3, 1666; married, February 19, 
1689, John Colton ; she died soon after, 
leaving one child, who married Francis 
Griswold, of Windsor, Connecticut. 10. 
Hester, born 1672; married Joseph Smith, 
of Greenwich, Connecticut Colony. 



(II) Joseph (2) Parsons, eldest son of 
Cornet Joseph (i) and Mary (Bliss) Par- 
sons, was born in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, November i, 1647. ^^ was one of 
the earliest lawyers of Western Massachu- 
setts, was justice of the peace at North- 
ampton, for several years ; judge of the 
Hampton County Court, for twenty-three 
years, from October 16, 1696, He was 
deputy to the General Court twelve years 
from Northampton, and two years from 
Springfield, beginning 1693. He inherited 
valuable lands in Boston and in North- 
ampton, and was a man of unusual prom- 
inence. He married, March 17, 1669, 
Elizabeth Strong, daughter of Elder John 
and Abigail (Ford) Strong. She was 
born in Windsor, Connecticut, February 
24, 1648, died in Northampton, Massachu- 
setts, May 12, 1736. They celebrated 
their golden wedding anniversary. Chil- 
dren of Joseph and Elizabeth (Strong) 
Parsons: i. Joseph, of further mention. 
2. John, born January 11, 1674. 3. Eben- 
ezer, born December 11, 1675; married, 
December 15, 1703, Mary Stebbins, and 
died in 1744. 4. Elizabeth, born Febru- 
ary 3, 1678. 5. David, born February i, 
1680; was graduated at Harvard College, 
A. B., 1705, A. M., 1715; Yale, A. B., 
1705, A. M., 1708; was ordained to the 
Congregational ministry, and was minis- 
ter at Maiden, Massachusetts, 1708-21, 
and at Leicester, Massachusetts, 1721-35, 
and died in Leicester, 1743; he married 
Eunice Wells, of Wethersfield, Connecti- 
cut, and they had nine children. Their 
son, David Parsons, was graduated at 
Harvard College, A. B., 1729, A. M., 1732; 
was first minister of the first church, Am- 
herst, Massachusetts, from November 6, 
1739, until he died in 1781. His son, 
David Parsons, Jr., born in Amherst, Jan- 
uary 28, 1749, was graduated at Harvard. 
A. B., 1771, A. M., 1774, and received the 
honorary degree of D. D, from Brown 

University, Providence, Rhode Island, in 
1800. He was minister in Amherst as 
successor to his father, from October 21, 
1782, and died in Amherst, in 1823. His 
children were : i. Dr. Ezekiel William 
Parsons, of Colchester, ii. David, an ar- 
tisan, of Amherst, iii. Prudence Stod- 
dard, who married Rev. Marcus Smith, of 
Rensselaerville, New York. iv. Thomas, 
a merchant in New York City. v. Harriet, 
married (first) Rev. Royal Washburn; 
and (second) Hon. David Mack, of Am- 
herst, vi. Francis, attorney-at-law, Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, vii. Mary, married 
Rev. William Williams, who was first a 
clergyman and then a physician, in Salem, 
viii. Caroline, ix. Sophia, married Rev. 
Silas Aiken, of Boston, x. William, a 
physician in Canaan, Connecticut, xi. 
James, graduate of Amherst, A. B., 1830; 
instructor in Savannah, Georgia, where he 
died in 1833, at the age of twenty-eight 
years. 6. Josiah, born January 2, 1682; 
married, June 22, 1710, Sarah Sheldon; 
and died April 12, 1768. 7. Daniel, born 
August, 1685 ; married, June 17, 1709, 
Abigail Corley, of Springfield, Massachu- 
setts. 8. Moses, born January 15, 1687; 
married, January 20, 1710, Abigail Ball, 
and lived in Durham, Connecticut. 9. 
Abigail, born January i, 1690. 10. Noah, 
born August 15, 1692. 

(Ill) Joseph (3) Parsons, eldest child 
of Joseph (2) and Elizabeth (Strong) 
Parsons, was born in Northampton, 
Massachusetts, June 26, 1671. He was 
graduated from Harvard College, A. B., 
1697, A. M., 1700, the first of the name of 
Parsons to graduate from Harvard, his 
example being followed by forty of the 
name, up to 1899. He was married, in 
1701, to Elizabeth Thompson, daughter of 
Dr. Benjamin Thompson, of Roxbury, 
Massachusetts, and granddaughter of Rev. 
William Thompson, of Braintree, Massa- 
chusetts. He was ordained to the Con- 



gregational ministry, and his first pastor- 
ate was in Lebanon, Connecticut ; his sec- 
ond in Salisbury, Massachusetts, of which 
church he took charge in 1718. He died 
there, March 13, 1738. Joseph and Eliza- 
beth (Thompson) Parsons had five chil- 
dren, including Joseph, of further men- 

(IV) Rev. Joseph (4) Parsons, son of 
Joseph (3) and Elizabeth (Thompson) 
Parsons, was born in Salisbury, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1702. He was graduated from 
Harvard College, A. B., 1720, A. M., 1723; 
was ordained to the Congregational min- 
istry in Bradford, Massachusetts, June 8, 
1716, was minister of the church there all 
his ministerial life, and died there, May 
4, 1765. He was married in 1729, to Fran- 
ces Usher, daughter of Hon. John Usher, 
lieutenant-governor of New Hampshire, 
who was a son of Hezekiah and Elizabeth 
(Symmes) Usher. He published an elec- 
tion, ordination, and an artillery election 
sermon in 1744. Children of Rev. Joseph 
and Frances (Usher) Parsons: i. Fran- 
ces, born in 1730; died in Epping, New 
Hampshire, October 7, 1808. 2. Eliza- 
beth, born 1731 ; died 1733. 3. Joseph, 
born October 5, 1733; graduated Harvard, 
A. B., 1752, A. M., 1755; was a Congre- 
gational minister in Bradford, Massachu- 
setts ; married Sarah Williams, daughter 
of Rev. W. and Abigail (Leonard) Wil- 
liams, of Walton, Massachusetts, grand- 
daughter of Rev. John Williams, of Deer- 
field, Massachusetts, the "Redeemed Cap- 
tain," and great-granddaughter of Deacon 
Samuel Williams, of Roxbury, and of 
Rev. Eleazer Mather, of Northampton, 
Massachusetts, and great-great-grand- 
daughter of Robert Williams, and of Dea- 
con William Park, of Roxbury, Massachu- 
setts. 4. Thomas, of further mention. 5, 
Samuel, born 1737; died in Cornville, 
Maine, 1807. 6. John, born 1740; died in 
South Berwick, Maine, 1775. 7. William, 

Mass — 10 — 5 

born 1741 ; died 1742. 8. William, born 
1743; died in Alfred, Maine, August 4, 
1826. 9. Sarah, born 1745; died in Par- 
sonsfield, Maine, 1800. 10. Edward, born 
1747; was adjutant in the American Rev- 
olution; and died in 1776. 

(V) Thomas Parsons, fourth son of 
Rev. Joseph (4) and Frances (Usher) 
Parsons, was born in Bradford, Massa- 
chusetts, September 18, 1735. On Au- 
gust 5, 1771, he was granted a township of 
land, in York county, Maine, by the pro- 
prietors, claiming it under the will of 
Mrs. Bridget Phillips, and under his di- 
rection it was surveyed, by Joseph Cram, 
of Exeter, New Hampshire, in the autumn 
of the same year. He did not, however, 
settle on the land until 1784, when he re- 
moved his family from Leavittstown (now 
Effingham), New Hampshire, near the 
northwestern border of his Maine tract, 
which became Parsonsfield. He was made 
moderator of the town meeting held in 
Leavittstown, New Hampshire, in March, 
1784. He erected a dwelling house, the 
first pretentious building in the town of 
Parsonsfield, the same year, and became 
a resident of the town of which he was the 
leading proprietor, before August, 1785, 
as he was, on August 19, 1785, moderator 
and chairman of the first board of select- 
men of the newly incorporated town of 
Parsonsfield, the town meeting being 
held in his house. He married (first) 
Anna Poor, of Andover, Massachusetts, in 
1757. She died in Leavittstown, May 24, 
1783, aged forty -four years. He married 
(second) Lucy Bradbury, of Saco, Maine. 
She died in 181 1. Children of Thomas 
and Anna (Poor) Parsons, born in South- 
ampton, Massachusetts, and Leavitts- 
town, New Hampshire: i. Thomas, Jr., 
born 1759. 2. Stephen, born 1760; died 
1764. 3- Joseph, born 1762; married 
(first), 1785, Lydia Lord; (second), 1800, 
Abigail Adams. 4. Enoch, born 1764; 



died 1782. 5. Stephen, born 1766; married, 
1787, Abigail Moore, of Stratham, New 
Hampshire ; he died September 6, 1836. 6. 
Nancy, born 1769; married (first) Josiah 
Pearse, (second) a Mr. Holmes. 7. John 
Usher, born 1771 ; married, in 1802, Mrs. 
Susan Savory, of Kennebunk; died Octo- 
ber 13, 1825. 8. Sarah, born 1773 ; married 
(first) Asa Pease, of Newmarket, and 
(second) John Leavitt. 9. Mary, born 
1775; married Major John Leavitt, of Ef- 
fingham, New Hampshire; died December 
20, 1856. Children of Thomas and Lucy 
(Bradbury) Parsons: i. Elizabeth Usher, 
born 1787; married Luther Emmerson ; 
died October 11, 1857. 2. Susan, born 
1788; married, in 1808, Richard F. Dow, of 
Wakefield; died August 2, 1837. 3. 
Thomas Bradbury, born February 11, 
1789; officer of United States Navy, 1808; 
sailing master of the privateer brig, "Gen- 
eral Armstrong," under Captain Samuel 
Chester Reid, in Fayal Harbor, Azores, 
1812, when he shared with Captain Reid 
the honors of the victory over the boats of 
the British Squadron, which exploit has 
gone into history, as the most daring sea 
fight of a vessel under the American flag, 
in the War of 1812. 4. Abigail, born 1790; 
married, in 1807, Isaac M. Parker; died 
November 20, 1848. 5. William, of 
further mention. 6. Lucy, born 1792; 
married Isaac B. Chesley; died in March, 
1884. 7. Lucinda, born 1795; died Janu- 
ary 27, 1796. 8. Sylvester, born 1796 ; mar- 
ried Abigail Pickering, of Greenland ; died 
August 7, i860. 9. Lucinda, born 1798; 
married David T. Levy, M. D., of Wolfs- 
boro; died August 31, 1877. 10. Samuel, 
born 1801 ; married, in 1828, Mary B. 
Allen ; died December 22, 1869. 

(VI) William Parsons, son of Thomas 
and Lucy (Bradbury) Parsons, was born 
in Parsonsfield, Maine, in 1791. After his 
marriage to Sarah S. Dearborn, in 1813, he 
removed to Concord, New Hampshire, 

and in 1836, to Springfield, Massachusetts, 
where he conducted a grocery business, 
and where he died, April 15, 1876. 

(VII) William Henry Parsons, son of 
William and Sarah S. (Dearborn) Par- 
sons, was born in Concord, New Hamp- 
shire, February 4, 1822, and removed with 
his parents to Springfield, Massachusetts, 
in 1836, where he attended school, and as- 
sisted his father in the grocery business 
Later he learned the mason's trade. He 
began his career as a dealer in real estate 
in 1843. His sons became associated with 
him in the real estate business. He mar- 
ried, September 20, 1848, Sarah A. Wood, 
of Northampton, Massachusetts, and they 
had five children, three of whom survived, 
namely : Harriette E., wife of Justin D. 
Parks, of Westfield ; Charles H., and Wil- 
liani F., of Springfield. Mr. Parsons died 
at his home in Springfield, March 10, 1907, 
aged eighty-five years, sixty-four of these 
years having been spent in Springfield, 
helping to build up the city. He left, be- 
sides his widow, a daughter, and two sons, 
six grandchildren, as follows: William 
H. Parks and Mrs. Greta McElwain, chil- 
dren of Mrs. Harriette E. Parks; Marvel 
and Russell Parsons, children of Charles 
H. Parsons ; and Gladys and William Ed- 
ward Parsons, Jr., children of William E. 
and Grace (Blake) Parsons. He also had 
two great-grandchildren, Edmund and 
Katharine Parks, children of his grand- 
son, William H. Parks. His only social 
affiliation outside his family circle, was 
the Winthrop Club. Mrs. Parsons, wife 
of William Henry Parsons is deceased. 

(VIII) Charles Henry Parsons, son of 
William Henry and Sarah A. (Wood) 
Parsons, was born in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, June 18, 1864. He attended the 
schools of his native city, and after com- 
pleting his studies, learned the trade of 
carpenter, and at the age of eighteen 
years, began assisting his father in the 



real estate business. He purchased land, 
erected houses thereon, and then disposed 
of them at advantageous prices. He also 
was actively interested in the cold stor- 
age business, and in addition to erecting 
the Springfield City Market, he erected the 
plant for the Eastern States Cold Storage 
Company, in Springfield, and large plants 
in Albany, New York, Jersey City, New 
Jersey, and East Boston, Massachusetts, 
which he operated successfully. He 
served as president of the Eastern States 
and Boston Terminal Refrigerating Com- 
pany, and was its general manager some 
years, and then retired from its active 
management, but is still serving as a direc- 
tor of this, and also of the Eastern States 
Refrigerating Company, of Springfield, 
but devotes the greater portion of his time 
to his extensive real estate interests. Mr. 
Parsons has also served as treasurer of 
the Napier Saw Works, of Springfield. 
He is also serving in the capacity of vice- 
president of the Springfield Chamber of 
Commerce ; chairman of public affairs of 
the same, and during the War was chair- 
man of the Civilian Relief Committee, 
whose operations were conducted in 
Hampden county. He is a member of 
Hampden Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Morning Star Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Springfield Council, Royal 
and Select Masters ; Springfield Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar. He is also 
a member of the Nayasset and Country 
Clubs, and was chairman of the first 
Springfield Planning Commission, holding 
this office three years. 

Mr. Parsons married, September 25, 
1885, Addie M. Marvel, of Hartford, Con- 
necticut, daughter of Joseph E. and Sarah 
G. (Hodges) Marvel. Children: i. Mar- 
vel H., born August 23, 1889; during the 
Mexican trouble on the Border, he offered 
his service to the Government and enlisted 
as a member of the Cavalry Troops, Na- 

tional Guard ; during the World War he 
went to Plattsburgh, New York ; later to 
Fort Monroe, as instructor, and was pro- 
moted through the various ranks to major ; 
went overseas in the capacity of major, and 
later returned and was commissioned cap- 
tain of Heavy Artillery, stationed at Camp 
Eustis. He married (first) Ruth White- 
side, by whom he had one child. Marvel, 
Jr. He married (second) Nellie Whler, of 
Alexandria, Virginia. 2. Russell C, born 
April 20, 1893 ; president and manager of 
Parsons Brothers Company, of Spring- 
field ; married Gertrude Ingram, of Minne- 
apolis, Minnesota ; they are the parents 
of one child, William Henry (2), born 
June 27, 1917. 

WALLACE, and Allied Families, Vaille, 

This article is a history of the Wallace 
and Vaille families. Andrew B. Wallace, 
who for nearly half a century has been the 
proprietor of one of the largest dry goods 
emporiums in Western Massachusetts, is 
of Scotch descent. He married Miss 
Madora Crosby Vaille, daughter of Dr. 
Henry Robert Vaille, who was for many 
years a prominent physician of Spring- 
field ; he was by birth an Underwood, but 
in 1835 petitioned the Legislature to 
change his name to Vaille. He was the 
son of Thaddeus Underwood, a descend- 
ant of Joseph Underwood, the founder of 
the family in America. 

The Underwoods are of distinctively 
English descent. The origin of the name is 
apparent from some of the more ancient 
forms of spelling of the name : Underwode, 
Underode, Underwoode, Under the Wode 
and Under the Wood. The earliest trace 
of the documents is found as far back as 
1 1 77 in the genealogy of Underwood of 
Bixley, Norfolk, in the Harleian Manu- 
scripts in the British Museum. The 



principal Underwood families of England 
are those of Heilfordshire, Hereford, and 
of Bixley and Hevringham, Norfolk. The 
arms in all these families are strikingly 
alike and would seem to indicate a com- 
mon origin. The arms of Underwood of 
Bixley are as follows : 

Arms — Sable on a fess ermine between three 
annulets or, a lion passant sable. 

Crest — A hind's head or, encircled by a wreath 

(I) The branch herein traced dates in 
New England from Joseph Underwood, 
founder of the Watertown family. He 
came from England in 1637, at twenty- 
three years of age, settling in Hingham, 
but later going to Watertown, where he 
was admitted a freeman in 1645. ^^ mar- 
ried Mary Wilder, daughter of the widow 
of Thomas Wilder. Mrs. Thomas Wilder 
came to America from Lancashire, Eng- 
land, in 1638, bringing three children, Ed- 
ward, Elizabeth, and Mary. They settled 
at Hingham, Massachusetts, and Mary 
married Joseph Underwood. Mary 
(Wilder) Underwood died December 13, 
1658, and he married (second), April 29, 
1665, Mary How, of Dorchester. Joseph 
Underwood died February 16, 1676-77, 
aged about sixty-two years. He was the 
father of the following children : Mary, 
born April 13, 1645, rnarried. May 18, 
1670; Isaac Onge; Martha; Joseph (2), of 
further mention ; Sarah ; Hannah, mar- 
ried, in October, 1680, John Gibson ; Eliza- 
beth, married, September 13, 1693, Wil- 
liam Bull, his second wife ; Thomas, born 
October 11, 1658, married Mary Palmer. 

(II) Joseph (2) Underwood was born 
at Watertown, Massachusetts, in 1650, 
and his will was probated April 7, 1691. 
He lived for a time in Reading, later re- 
turning to Watertown. His first daugh- 
ter, Mary, and his first son, Joseph (3), 
were born in that town. He married, 
about 1672, Elizabeth , and they 

were the parents of nine children : Mary, 
born June 13, 1673; Joseph, died in in- 
fancy ; Elizabeth, born May 8, 1679, mar- 
ried May 20, 1700, Nathaniel Cutler, of 
Reading, Massachusetts; John, born 
March 6, 1677, married Rebecca Shattuck; 
Joseph (3), of further mention; Joshua, 
born January 31, 1683, married, January 
I3> ^7^7y Mercy Fairbanks, of Sherbom; 
Jonathan, born in 1685, of Boston ; Mary, 
born May 9, 1687; Hannah, baptized April 

13, 1690, married, in 1709, Daniel Rich- 

(Ill) Joseph (3) Underwood was born 
at Watertown, Massachusetts, May 29, 
1681, and his will was probated January 

14, 1762. He was a subscriber to the Cov- 
enant in 1727, when the church at West- 
ford, Massachusetts, was formed from the 
church at Chelmsford. He had lived in 
Reading until 1715, then moved to West- 
ford, where he died, January 29, 1761. He 
was active in all public affairs and a man 
of character and influence. He was a 
farmer and owned a large tract of the best 
land near the Centre. He was also inter- 
ested in the settlement at Litchfield, 
New Hampshire, although he did not re- 
move there. He married. May 27, 1707, 
in Reading, Massachusetts, Susannah 
Parker, born December 29, 1687, daughter 
of Nathaniel and Bethiah (Polly) Parker, 
of Reading. They were the parents of 
thirteen children ; Joseph (4) ; Thomas, 
who died at the age of twenty-three 
years ; Mary, married Colonel Buckley ; 
Elizabeth, born February 2, 1714, married 
May 21, 1735, Joseph Fletcher, and 
moved to Barnstable ; Jonathan, of further 
mention; Amy, married James Spaulding; 
Ruth, married Joseph Read; Phineas, 
born January 3, 1722, settled in Merri- 
mack, New Hampshire ; Timothy, lived at 
Chelmsford, Massachusetts ; Susannah, 
died in childhood ; John, founder of the 
Westford branch, a soldier of the Colonial 



army, married Hannah Wright; Bethia, 
married Oliver Prescott ; James, of Merri- 
mack, and Litchfield, New Hampshire. 

(IV) Jonathan Underwood was born 
at Westford, Massachusetts, January 22, 
1716, died at Marlboro, Vermont, Octo- 
ber I, 1794. He moved from Westford to 
Suffield, Connecticut, where he owned a 
large tract of land in 1754, and there lived 
until 1776, when he moved to Marlboro, 
his home until death. He married, in 
1739, Hannah Richardson, of Medway. 
They were the parents of eight children : 
Hannah, married Samuel Hildreth, of 
Chesterfield, New Hampshire; Jonathan, 
born in 1744, married Deborah Morgan; 
Susannah, born in 1747, married Simeon 
Adams, of Suffield, Connecticut, a soldier 
of the French and Indian War, captured 
by the Indians and carried to Connecticut; 
Phineas, of whom nothing is known ; John, 
born July 30, 1752; Samuel, born July 22, 
1754, at Suffield; Thaddeus, of further 
mention ; Oliver, died young. 

(V) Thaddeus Underwood was born in 
Suffield, Connecticut, in 1760, and died at 
Marlboro, Vermont, September 8, 1840. 
He was a farmer at Marlboro. He mar- 
ried Mary Farr, daughter of Daniel Farr, 
of Boylston, Massachusetts, who survived 
him several years and died at Westmins- 
ter, Vermont. They were the parents 
of following children: Arethusa, mar- 
ried Moody Tenny ; Samuel, born Decem- 
ber 27, 1790, married Orpha Fisher; 
Thaddeus (2), born December 7, 1796, 
married Phoebe Joy ; Lewis, born January 
8, 1799; Gralia, married Zina Goodale; 
Richardson, born February 8, 1801, never 
married ; Fanny, married Simon Phillips, 
of Newfane, Vermont; Bennett, born 
April 17, 1807, married Restas Ann Good- 
ell ; Ozni, of further mention. 

(VI) Ozni Underwood, youngest child 
of Thaddeus and Mary (Farr) Under- 
wood, was born July 27, 1809, at Marlboro, 

Vermont, died in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, July 15, 1885. He spent his boy- 
hood in Marlboro at the homestead farm, 
prepared for college in the public schools 
of Marlboro and Brattleboro, and later en- 
tered Williams College, whence he was 
graduated, class of 1835. After gradua- 
tion he was appointed principal of the 
town high school, located on School 
street, he having the distinction of being 
the first and only principal that school 
ever had; because of its location it 
was soon discontinued. He then became 
principal of the high school in Spring- 
field. After teaching a time, the young 
man began the study of medicine, his pre- 
ceptor being the eminent Dr. Joshua 
Frost, of Springfield. He completed his 
professional education at Pittsfield Med- 
ical College, and after receiving his M. D. 
from that institution, began practicing in 
Longmeadow, but did not long remain 
there, removing to Springfield, where he 
succeeded to the practice of his old pre- 
ceptor, Dr. Frost, becoming eminent in 
his profession, continuing for over forty 
years. Later he studied in Paris, France. 
In 1835, as explained farther on, he peti- 
tioned the Massachusetts Legislature for 
permission to change his name; this was 
granted and from that time onward he 
was known as Dr. Henry Robert Vaille. 
He was a skillful physician and surgeon, 
making a specialty of obstetrics. He pos- 
sessed the confidence of a very large clien- 
tele and was held in the highest esteem. 
During the Civil War he was in the ser- 
vice of the Christian Commission, at the 
front for a time, and in 1862 was assistant 
surgeon of the 12th Regiment, Massachu- 
setts Infantry, on duty in the military hos- 
pitals at Middletown, Maryland, for three 
months, caring for the wounded soldiers 
from the battles of South Mountain and 

Dr. Vaille early became a member of 



the church, and all his life was true to the 
obligations of good citizenship. Until the 
founding of the Republican party he was 
a Whig, and was later affiliated with the 
new party. He was city physician for a 
long time, and also a member of the 
school board. He was a member of the 
District Medical, and of the Massachu- 
setts Medical societies, taking a deep in- 
terest in both. His last years were spent 
in retirement, and he died in 1885. He 
was highly spoken of by the press of that 
day for his professional skill and his 
worth as a citizen at his Springfield 
home, and at his death the medical socie- 
ties and other organizations passed resolu- 
tions of respect to his memory. The Dis- 
trict Medical Society, in a memorial to 
the good doctor, described him as "one 
who ever maintained the honor and 
worked for the interests of legitimate 

Dr. Vaille married (first), June 25, 1838, 
Anna Pitman, who died in 1847, daughter 
of the Rev. Benjamin H. Pitman, of Al- 
bany, New York, and at this time Dr. 
Vaille changed his name. The Rev. B, H. 
Pitman was a man of strong prejudices 
and thoroughly orthodox, and at some 
time an Underwood had come under the 
ban of his displeasure and he would not 
consider for a moment his daughter taking 
that name. As there was no objection to 
the young man personally, a change of 
name was decided upon and he applied to 
the Legislature and received permission, 
when Ozni Underwood became Dr. Henry 
Robert Vaille. Dr. and Mrs. Vaille be- 
came the parents of two sons : Henry R., 
deceased, and Thomas P. Dr. Vaille mar- 
ried (second), in 1849, Sarah Wilkinson 
Lewis, of Walpole, who survived him, 
and died at the age of eighty-nine years. 
Mrs. Vaille was a member of the Congre- 
gational church, and a woman greatly 
esteemed for her charming social quali- 

ties and womanly grace. She died in 
Springfield, in 1913. Dr. and Sarah W. 
(Lewis) Vaille were the parents of four 
sons and one daughter : Frederick Ozni, 
born July 28, 1850, married Harriet Wol- 
cott, and resides in Denver, Colorado ; 
Frank W., born December 7, 1854, resides 
in Seattle, Washington, superintendent of 
a railway mail service division of the 
Northwest, married Juna Boaz, of Indian- 
apolis ; Madora Crosby, of further men- 
tion ; Howard T., born February 26, 1861, 
married Martha Elder, of Pittsburgh, and 
resides in Denver, Colorado. 

(VII) Madora Crosby Vaille, only 
daughter and third child of Dr. Henry 
Robert Vaille and his second wife, Sarah 
W. (Lewis) Vaille, was born in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, May 15, 1857. She 
married, June 25, 1883, Andrew Brabner 
Wallace, of the firm of Forbes & Wallace, 
of Springfield, Massachusetts, of whom 

Andrew B. Wallace was born in New- 
burg, Fifeshire, Scotland, March 2."], 1842, 
son of David and Christina (Brabner) 
Wallace, the former named a representa- 
tive of an ancient and honorable Scotch 
family. He was a dealer in wood, a mem- 
ber of the Town Council, a member of the 
Presbyterian church, and a man of in- 
fluence in his town. He died in 1894. 

Andrew B. Wallace attended school in 
his native town until the age of fifteen 
years, then was apprenticed to a dry 
goods merchant for a term of four years. 
When that term expired, in 1862, he left 
home and went to Stirling, going thence 
to Glasgow, remaining in those two cities 
until 1867, when he came to the United 
States, locating in Boston, Massachusetts. 
Being an experienced dry goods clerk, and 
before coming over, well known, he was 
hired by a Boston firm, Hogg, Brown and 
Taylor, while in Glasgow. From Boston 
Mr. Wallace went to Pittsfield, Massa- 





chusetts, where for four years he was a 
member of the firm of Smith & Wallace. 
That firm continued in business until 
1874, when Mr. Wallace withdrew and 
moved to Springfield, Massachusetts, 
there founding the dry goods firm of 
Forbes & Wallace. That firm has pros- 
pered and has now (1920) become the 
leading dry goods house in Western 
Massachusetts, a large business having 
been developed. They erected, in 1920, a 
building in place of their present store at 
Nos. 392-94-96-98 Main street, which when 
completed will give them a unified eight 
story and basement store with the present 
Main street front and extending down 
Vernon street. The building is of the 
most modern type of steel frame and fire- 
proof construction. The outside is faced 
with gray brick and Indiana limestone, 
corresponding with the present Vernon 
and Pynchon street buildings. One of the 
conspicuous features of the new store is 
a vestibule entrance at the center front, 
faced with Vermont marble and bronze, the 
entrance being banked with display win- 
dows and cases. Large show windows 
occupy the entire Main street front, and 
also extend two hundred feet on the Ver- 
non street side of the store. The store 
extension adds four additional floors to 
the space already in use, with a total of 
forty thousand square feet of floor space, 
which makes possible extensive expan- 
sion for many departments. A spacious 
new waiting-room, rest-room, and art gal- 
lery on the fifth floor is one of the new 
attractions. On the fourth floor the 
added space gives room for a necessary 
enlargement of the store's private fur 
storage plant. Main offices are on the 
second floor, stock-rooms on the third and 
seventh floors, and the first floor includes 
a lady's hair-dressing and manicuring de- 
partment, and specialty shop for chil- 
dren's hair-cutting. 

Mr. Wallace is also head of a syndicate 
known as the Consolidated Dry Goods 
Company, with stores in Pittsfield, North- 
ampton and North Adams, Massachusetts, 
and Schenectady and Poughkeepsie, New 
York, — five stores. In addition to these 
Mr. Wallace is interested in a number of 
Springfield corporations, including the 
Warwick Bicycle Company, the Spring- 
field Knitting Company, the Pettis Dry 
Goods Company of Indianapolis, the 
Springfield Electric Light Company, the 
Denholm & McKay Dry Goods Company, 
of Worcester, the Springfield Loan and 
Trust Company, of which he was an in- 
corporator and director, and the Massa- 
chusetts Mutual Life Insurance Com- 
pany, of which he is also a director. 

A Republican in politics, Mr. Wallace 
has always been interested in all that per- 
tains to the public good. He was for 
years, and now is, one of the auditors of 
the city. He is a member of the Congre- 
gational church, having served on the 
parish committee for many years. He 
was a member of the building committee 
in charge of the erection of the Young 
Men's Christian Association in Spring- 
field, and long served the association as a 

Mr. Wallace married (first) Jean Mil- 
ler, of Scotland, and they were the parents 
of a son, Robert M., a merchant of Spring- 
field ; he married Ellen Dudley, and they 
were the parents of three children : Janet, 
Dudley, and Dorcas. Mr. Wallace mar- 
ried (second) Madora Crosby Vaille, and 
they were the parents of five children : i. 
Andrew Brabner, Jr., born August 26, 
1884; married Florence Woods, and has 
a son, Andrew Brabner (3), and a daugh- 
ter, Barbara. 2. Douglas Vaille, born No- 
vember 27, 1885 ; married Mary Robinson, 
and has two sons, John R., and Mack Fos- 
ter. 3. Madora, born July 30, 1887; mar- 
ried Douglas H. Thomson, and has tliree 



children : James McArthur, Madora and 
Douglas H., Jr. 4. Ruth, born February 
21, 1890, attended the MacDuffie School 
for Girls in Springfield, Miss Porter's 
School in Farmington, and spent two 
years in study abroad ; married, October 
31, 1920, Laurens McGregor Demarest, of 
Newark, New Jersey, son of Mrs. Daniel 
Demarest, of Montclair, New Jersey; the 
ceremony was performed by the Rev. Dr. 
Neil McPherson, pastor of the First Con- 
gregational Church, of Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts. Mr. Demarest is a graduate of 
Yale, class of 1893, and is now president of 
the American Machinery and Equipment 
Corporation of Newark, New Jersey. 
They will make their home in East 
Orange, New Jersey. 5. Norman, born 
February 24, 1893 ; married Marjorie Rob- 
bins, and has three children : Marjorie, 
Laurens, and Johanne. 

McCLENCH, William Wallace, 

Head of Great Insurance Company. 

The life of William Wallace McClench, 
of Springfield, Massachusetts, president 
of the Massachusetts Mutual Life Insur- 
ance Company, has been a very busy one 
since his graduation from college in 1875, 
and has been one of constant progress in 
professional eminence and official position. 
His rise as a lawyer and business man 
has been through natural ability and ener- 
getic prosecution of the duty in hand. 
His record from student to that of presi- 
dent of one of the largest insurance com- 
panies in Massachusetts shows to the 
fullest extent his ability both as a business 
and a professional man. 

William W. McClench is a great-grand- 
son of John McClench, who came from 
Glasgow, Scotland, and settled in Merri- 
mack, New Hampshire, where his name 
is seventeenth on a list of selectmen of 
thnt town, which office he is believed to 

have held prior to the Revolution. His 
first wife was a Miss Riddle, of Bedford, 
Massachusetts, and they were the parents 
of : John (2), of further mention ; Joseph, 
and Rachel. By a second marriage his 
children were : Samuel and Nancey. 

John (2) McClench died at the age of 
seventy-four and was buried at Fayette, 
Maine. He was a lieutenant-colonel of 
New Hampshire Militia, and a farmer, 
living in Fayette at the time of the birth 
of his son, Joseph. He married Sarah 
Hutchinson, who died in Fayette, at the 
age of eighty-three, daughter of Captain 
Solomon Hutchinson, of Bedford, New 
Hampshire, a direct descendant of Gov- 
ernor Hutchinson. They were the parents 
of nine children : Sarah, Lucinda, Abigail, 
John, Joseph Underwood, of whom 
further ; Elizabeth, Mary, Susannah, and 
Benjamin F. 

Joseph Underwood McClench was born 
in Fayette, Maine, August 24, 1813, died 
in Chicopee, Massachusetts, December 9, 
1895. He continued at the home farm 
until attaining his majority, obtaining his 
education in the meantime in the district 
school. In 1834 he left home and jour- 
neyed to Boston, where he obtained a 
position as hotel clerk. From Boston he 
went to Chicopee in 1837, Chicopee then 
a part of Springfield and known as Cabot- 
ville. There he engaged in business as a 
dealer in meats and ice, gave close atten- 
tion to his dual lines and prospered 
abundantly, retiring in 1887, after half a 
century of uninterrupted business life. 
He was a man of sympathetic, generous 
nature, and his books revealed the fact 
that accounts aggregating thousands of 
dollars were out-standing without any at- 
tempt to collect them, as the attempt 
would distress the debtors, pinched by 
poverty or distressed by sickness. 

Mr. McClench was senior deacon of the 
Chicopee Universalist Church; chairman 



of the Standing Committee of the church ; 
a member of the Masonic order; and of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows ; 
a Whig- and later a Republican ; chief en- 
gineer of the volunteer fire department 
for a few years ; and assessor of taxes. 
He was extremely fond of reading, the 
Bible and poetical works his favorites. 

Mr. McClench married, in Chicopee, 
January 5, 1845, Mary Ann Johnson, born 
in East Weare, New Hampshire, Decem- 
ber 14, 1819, died in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, September 5, 1908, daughter of 
John and Phoebe (Kimball) Johnson, and 
a descendant of Edmund Johnson, who 
came from Wales in 1635 and settled in 
Winnicumet, New Hampshire. Edmund 
Johnson and his wife Mary were the par- 
ents of sons : Peter, John and James, 
descent being traced to Mrs. McClench 
through Peter and Ruth (Moulton) John- 
son ; their son, Edmund, and his wife, 
Abigail Green ; their son, Obadiah, and his 
wife, Judith Brown; their son, Edmund, 
and his wife, Hannah Collins ; their son, 
Robert, and his wife, Abigail Peaslee ; 
their son, John, and his wife, Phoebe 
Kimball ; their daughter, Mary Ann, mar- 
ried Joseph Underwood McClench, and 
they were the parents of four children : 
John W., Joseph F., Cora Belle, and Wil- 
liam Wallace, of further mention. 

William Wallace McClench was born at 
Chicopee, Massachusetts, April 6, 1854. 
He completed public school study with 
high school graduation, class of J871, and 
the following fall entered Tufts College, 
whence he was graduated A. B., class of 
'75. For one year after graduation he 
taught in Hitchcock Free Academy at 
Brimfield, Massachusetts, and the follow- 
ing year was principal of the Ware High 
School. While teaching, he began the 
study of law, and in 1877 entered the law 
offices of Sterns, Knowlton & Long, of 
Springfield, and in October, 1878, was ad- 

mitted to the Hampden county bar. Soon 
after his admission, he opened a law office 
in Chicopee and for eleven years was 
there associated in law practice with Mr. 
Stearns, head of the firm under which 
Mr. McClench studied. In 1889 he moved 
his law practice to Springfield, becoming 
a member of the firm, Wells, McClench & 
Barnes, his partners Judge Gideon Wells 
and Jonathan Barnes. That association 
continued until 1893, and in January of 
that year Mr. McClench formed a partner- 
ship with F. H. Gillett, the Congressman 
from Massachusetts, and as Gillett & Mc- 
Clench they continued in practice until 
1898. During the years 1893-1898 Mr. 
McClench was associated with Judge 
Wells as associate counsel for the Massa- 
chusetts Mutual Life Insurance Com- 
pany, and when in 1898 Judge Wells' 
death created a vacancy, the associate 
counsel was promoted to the post of gen- 
eral counsel for the company. 

The duties of associate and general 
counsel were performed by the incumbent 
of the office to the great satisfaction of 
the board of directors, and in 1899 Mr. 
McClench was elected a director, and in 
1905 second vice-president. His years of 
service, beginning in 1893, had so famil- 
iarized him with life insurance law, cus- 
tom and procedure, that upon the death of 
John A. Hall, president of the company, 
William W. McClench was elected his 
successor, October 28, 1908. As president 
of the Massachusetts Mutual, one of the 
leading life insurance companies of the 
United States in stability, fairness of 
policy contract, and efficiency of manage- 
ment, Mr. McClench fills a highly im- 
portant place in the world of finance and 
investment. From 1898, when Mr. Mc- 
Clench gave up private practice until the 
present (1920), he has devoted himself 
entirely to the interests of the company, 
and under his executive management the 



same high standards prevail that have al- 
ways distinguished the Massachusetts 
Mutual. He is also a trustee of the 
Springfield Institution for Savings. 

During his career at the bar, Mr. Mc- 
Clench was for several years a member of 
the Board of Bar Examiners, and by ap- 
pointment of the Supreme Judicial Court 
of Massachusetts, sat as a delegate in the 
Universal Congress of Lawyers and Ju- 
rists, assembled in St. Louis in 1904. He 
is a member of the American Bar Asso- 
ciation ; ex-president of the Springfield 
Board of Trade ; trustee of Tufts College, 
his alma mater; a director of the American 
Telephone and Telegraph Company; 
member of Phi Beta Kappa, Zeta Psi; 
American Historical Association ; Ameri- 
can Academy of Political and Social 
Science ; Chicopee Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; and of the Unitarian 
Society of Springfield. His clubs are: 
the Republican of Massachusetts, the 
Union League and the University of New 
York, and various clubs in Springfield. 

His first vote was Republican. For 
several years he was chairman of the 
Chicopee School Board, and a member 
of the Registration Board. For some 
years he was associate justice of the po- 
lice court, and in 1890 was the nominee of 
the Democratic party for mayor of Chico- 
pee, In 1891 both parties united upon 
him as a candidate, and he was chosen 
Chicopee's second mayor. He was an ad- 
mirer and staunch supporter of Grover 
Cleveland during his term of prominence 
in National politics, but when the Free 
Silver heresy engulfed the Democratic 
party, he returned to his Republican alle- 
giance. In 1892 he was the Democratic 
candidate for district attorney for the 
Western District, comprising Hampden 
and Berkshire counties. 

Mr. McClench married, December 8, 
1880, Katherine Amanda Hill, born in 

Chicopee, December 8, 1858, only daugh- 
ter of Sylvester Bradley and Catherine A. 
(Blauvelt) Hill. Sylvester B. Hill was 
born in Alexandria, New Hampshire, and 
for many years was associated with the 
Ames Manufacturing Company, of Chico- 
pee, as contractor and otherwise. Mrs. 
Catherine A. (Blauvelt) Hill was born in 
Nyack, New York. Mrs. McClench is a 
member of the Woman's Club, the Cos- 
mopolitan Club, and is an ex-regent of 
Mercy Warren Chapter, Daughters of the 
American Revolution. Mr. and Mrs. Mc- 
Clench are the parents of three children : 
I. Marion Hill, a graduate of Smith Col- 
lege, 1903, now connected with the 
Woman's Department of the Detroit 
agency of the Massachusetts Mutual Life 
Insurance Company. She is an ex-presi- 
dent of the College Club of Springfield, 
and member of the Daughters of the 
American Revolution. 2. Cora Christine, 
educated at Smith College, and during the 
World War was engaged in government 
work in the Medical Department. She is 
now engaged in hospital work. 3. Don- 
ald, born March 5, 1895, prepared in 
Springfield Technical High School, Phil- 
lips Exeter Academy, and graduated from 
Tufts College, B. S., class of 1919. In 
March, 1917, he enlisted in the United 
States navy, attaining the rank of ensign. 
After taking a special course at the United 
States Naval Academy at Annapolis, he 
was commissioned lieutenant, and was 
assigned to sea duty, sailing to South 
American and African ports. During the 
participation of the United States in the 
war, he was stationed at Pernambuco, 
Brazil, on duty at the office of the censor 
of cables. 

BEEBE, Henry Jared, 

Head of Important Industry. 

Jared Beebe became the first manu- 
facturer of the Beebe famil}^ when, in 



1866, he erected a small woolen mill in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts. He later became 
very prominent in the textile industry, 
perhaps being best known as the president 
of the Farr Alpaca Company. In 1880 
his son, Henry Jared Beebe, became his 
father's business associate, and as Beebe 
& Son, they continued in woolen manu- 
facture. Henry Jared Beebe brought 
about the consolidation of the Monson and 
Holyoke mills under the management of 
Beebe, Webber & Company, and when 
his son, Henry Jared (2) Beebe, com- 
pleted his years of educational prepara- 
tion, he was admitted to the business as a 
representative of the third generation to 
own and manage the business, which since 
1914 has been known as the Holyoke 
Worsted Mills, Henry J. (2) Beebe, 

Henry J. Beebe, of Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, proprietor of the Holyoke 
Woolen Mills, of Holyoke, comes of an 
old English family. The surname Beebe 
is of ancient origin, the archives showing 
that the family in England descended 
from two Norman Knights, Richard and 
William de Boebe, who came in the train 
of William the Conqueror. They were 
granted lands in Warwickshire, where a 
descendant, John Beebe, during the Civil 
War took sides with Parliament against 
the Stuarts. This exposed him to later 
execution and with others they settled 
elsewhere, one branch of the Beebes set- 
tling in Roxbury, Massachusetts. 

(I) John Beebe, the founder of this 
branch in New England, was born in 
Broughton, Northampton, England. In 
April or May, 1650, accompanied by five 
children he sailed for New England. His 
will was written on shipboard and indi- 
cates that he died the same day, May 18, 
1650, as he writes: "Being by God's 
good hand brought on a voyage towards 
New England to sea and there smitten by 

the good hand of God, so as that expecta- 
tion is for my chaynge." His wife, Re- 
becca, died in England, leaving eight chil- 
dren ; the sons: John (i), deceased; 
Thomas, Samuel, and Nathaniel, all set- 
tled in New London, Connecticut; John 
(2), went to Hadley, Massachusetts. 
This branch traces through Samuel Beebe, 
the third child. 

(II) Samuel Beebe was baptized at 
Broughton, England, June 23, 1633. 
Lands were granted him at New London, 
Connecticut, December 2, 1651, and at 
later dates. He married (first) Agnes, 
daughter of William Keeney; (second) 
Mary Keene}^ a sister of his first wife. 
Samuel Beebe moved to Plumb Island, 
and there died early in 1712, as letters of 
administration were granted his widow 
Mary, and his son Samuel, April 6, 1712, 
at Southold, Long Island, New York. 
Descent is traced through Jonathan 
Beebe, his seventh child. 

(HI) Jonathan Beebe was born in New 
London, Connecticut, in 1674, died in 
East Haddam, Connecticut, October 12, 
1761. He settled at Millington, Connecti- 
cut, town of East Haddam, leaving New 
London in 1704. He also owned property 
in Colchester, and was a man of conse-' 
quence in his town. He married (first) 
Bridget Brockway, born at Lyme, Janu- 
ary 9, 1671, died April 5, 1756, daughter 
of Wolstan and Hannah (Briggs) Brock- 
way. He married (second) October 4, 
1759, Elizabeth Staples, a widow of Mill- 
ington, "each aged about eighty years" 
at the time of their marriage. Descent is 
traced through William, second son of 
Jonathan Beebe, of the third generation. 

(IV) William Beebe was born in New 
London, Connecticut, about 1700, died in 
East Haddam, Connecticut, January 29, 
1799. By wives Phoebe and Eleanor he 
had nine children, Silas, his second son, 
being next in line of descent. 



(V) Silas Beebe was bom in East Had- 
dam, Connecticut, in 1728. He married 
(first) Elizabeth Emmons; (second) 
Esther Cone. Two of his sons, Silas and 
Nathaniel, died in New York State. Ansel, 
their second son, is next in line. 

(VI) Ansel Beebe married Charlotte 
Arnold, and had sons: Ansel (2); and 
Jared, of further mention. 

(VII) Jared Beebe was born in Mon- 
son, Massachusetts, in 1814, died in 
Hampton Beach, New Hampshire, July 3, 
1876. He was engaged in manufacturing 
all his mature years, he being associated 
first with Holmes, Reynolds & Company, 
in Somerville, Connecticut. In i860 he 
left Somerville and came to Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, where he built a small 
woolen mill and began business for him- 
self. The small mill of i860 was suc- 
ceeded in 1863 by one of four stories, em- 
ploying two hundred and fifty hands. In 
connection with his son-in-law, George B. 
Holbrook, Mr. Beebe erected the factory 
of the Beebe & Holbrook Paper Company, 
in which he was largely interested, as he 
also was in the Farr Alpaca Company, of 
which he was one of the founders. He 
was a director of the Agawam Bank, but 
was essentially a manufacturer, and 
gave to the textile industry the best of his 
great powers of mind and body. 

Mr. Beebe married Mary Stacy, a de- 
voted member of the First Baptist Church 
of Springfield. They were the parents of 
seven children : Maria Louisa, who mar- 
ried Joel S. Webber; Henry Jared, of 
further mention ; Mary Laura, who mar- 
ried E. W. Chapin, of Holyoke ; Frank ; 
Ellen, who married George B. Holbrook ; 
Nellie R., who married E. D. Robbins ; 
Carrie, who married the Rev. George E. 

(VIII) Henry Jared Beebe, eldest son 
and second child of Jared and Mary 
(Stacy) Beebe, was born in Monson, 

Massachusetts, July 3, 1843, ^i^d Novem- 
ber 6, 1919. He attended the public 
schools of Monson, finishing his studies 
at Wilbraham Academy, whence he was 
graduated, class of i860. His first posi- 
tion in the business world was with R. B, 
Johnson, a clothing dealer of Holyoke, his 
parents having moved to that city in i860. 
He was also in the employ of Wells & 
Younglove, in Chicopee, and from 1861 to 
1864 was with his father, who was be- 
coming known as a successful woolen 
manufacturer. In 1864 he became New 
York representative of O. H. Sampson & 
Company, of Holyoke, and in 1868 was 
elected treasurer of the Springfield Silver 
Plate Company. In 1870 he again be- 
came associated with his father, they buy- 
ing the North Monson Woolen Mills, 
which they operated under the firm name 
of Beebe & Son. In 1876, Jared Beebe, the 
senior partner, withdrew, the firm then 
becoming Beebe, Webber & Company, 
this bringing the North Monson and Hol- 
yoke mills under one management, and 
so continued until 1914, then was sold. 
The mills of Beebe, Webber & Company 
produce doeskins and cassimere cloth in 
large quantities. In 1871 Henry J. Beebe 
was elected a member of the board of di- 
rectors of the Farr Alpaca Company, a 
position he held as long as his health per- 
mitted, his honored father having also 
been a member of the board and president 
of the company. Henry J. Beebe was also 
a director of the Holbrook Paper Com- 
pany, the First National Bank of Spring- 
field, and was vice-president of the Na- 
tional Automatic Weighing Machine 
Company, which is now out of business. 
He later retired from the heavier burdens 
of corporation management, but always 
retained lively interest in all. 

Mr. Beebe was a charter member of 
the Nayasset Club, and also was a mem- 
ber of the Winthrop Club. In 1880 and 




1881 he was a member of the Aldermanic 
Financial Committee, and in 1881 was a 
delegate to the Republican State Con- 
vention. His religious affiliation was with 
the First Congregational Church of 

Mr. Beebe married (first) Othalie 
Vaughn, who died in 1874, daughter of 
George Vaughn, of Springfield. He mar- 
ried (second) Kate Elizabeth Olmstead, 
of Springfield. Children of Henry J. and 
Othalie (Vaughn) Beebe: Henry Jared 
(2), of further mention ; Albert Augustus, 
and Arthur Vaughn, twins, the latter 
dying in April, 1920. Henry Jared Beebe 
died November 16, 1919. 

(IX) Henry Jared (2) Beebe, of the 
ninth generation of the family founded in 
New England by John Beebe, was born 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, March i, 
1867, and there has spent his life, a busi- 
ness associate with his father since his 
school days ended. He completed public 
school courses, then at once entered the 
woolen mills of Beebe, Webber & Com- 
pany, a business founded by his grand- 
father and developed by his father and 
with which he is yet connected. Since 
1914 the business has been conducted 
under the corporate title, the Holyoke 
Worsted Mills, of which his father was 
president, Henry J. (2) Beebe, treasurer. 
Mr. Beebe is a member of the Colony and 
the Springfield Country clubs. 

Mr. Beebe married, October 12, 1892, 
Mary Bryan, of Titusville, Pennsylvania, 
and they are the parents of three children : 
I. Henry O., born December 25, 1893, 
educated in Springfield public schools, and 
the Berkshire School of Sheffield, Massa- 
chusetts, and from 1917 until 1919 was in 
the military service of his country, being 
attached to the Fifty-sixth Pioneer In- 
fantry, ranking a sergeant. He was hon- 
orably discharged in May, 1919, and is 
now with his father. 2. Margaret C, born 

January 18, 1897. 3. William J., born 
February 3, 1899, died March 19, 1916. 
The family home is at No. 42 Ridgewood 
place, Springfield. 

BOSWORTH, Homer Lyman, 

Man of Enterprise. 

In studying the lives and character of 
prominent men we are naturally led to in- 
quire into the secret of their success and 
the motives that prompted their action. 
Success is a question of genius, as held by 
many, but it is not rather a matter of ex- 
perience and sound judgment? For when 
we trace the career of those who stand 
highest in public esteem, we find in nearly 
every case that they have risen gradu- 
ally, fighting their way in the face of all 
opposition. Self-reliance, conscientious- 
ness, energy, honesty — these are the traits 
of character that insure the highest emolu- 
ments and greatest success. To these 
may we attribute the success that has 
crowned the efforts of Homer L. Bos- 
worth, a descendant of a family that has 
been seated in this country since the year 
1634. Bosworth and its variations, Bose- 
worth and Bozworth, are ancient English 
surnames derived from a place name. 

(I) Edward Bosworth, immigrant an- 
cestor, was a native of England, where 
he was reared, educated and grew to man- 
hood, and in 1634 emigrated to the New 
World, sailing on the ship, "Elizabeth 
Dorcas," which landed at Boston, Massa- 
chusetts. He died son afterward, and his 
remains were interred in a cemetery in 
Boston. His widow, who accompanied 
him to this country, died at Hingham, 
Massachusetts, May 18, 1648. They were 
the parents of five or six children, among 
whom was Jonathan, mentioned below. 

(II) Jonathan Bosworth, second son of 
Edward Bosworth, was born at Coventry, 
England, about 161 1, died at Swansea, 



Massachusetts, in July, 1676. He was a 
tailor by trade, which line of work he 
followed in Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
where he was a proprietor; also in Hing- 
ham, whither he removed about 1637, ^^^ 
in Swansea, whither he removed about 
1660, and where he spent the remainder 
of his days. His wife, Susannah Bos- 
worth, bore him fourteen children, among 
whom was Jonathan (2), mentioned 

(III) Jonathan (2) Bosworth, eldest 
son of Jonathan (i) and Susannah Bos- 
worth, was born at Cambridge or Hing- 
ham, Massachusetts, about 1638-40, died 
at Rehoboth, Massachusetts, in 1687. He 
accompanied his father upon his removal 
from Hingham to Swansea, and there re- 
sided until about 1680, in which year 
he removed to Rehoboth. He married, at 
Swansea, July 6, 1661, Hannah Howland, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (Tillie) 
Howland, and granddaughter of John 
Tillie. John Howland came in the his- 
toric "Mayflower" as steward for Mr. 
John Carver, signed the compact, and 
took an active part in the early explora- 
tions. He settled at Plymouth and was 
a town officer and a partner in the trading 
company of the colony ; was prominent in 
the church and assisted in the ordination 
of Rev. John Cotton, Jr. Hannah (How- 
land) Bosworth died in Swansea in 1687. 
Their children, born at Swansea, were as 
follows : Mercy, born May 30, 1662 ; 
Hannah, born November 5, 1663 ; Eliza- 
beth born June 6, 1665, died July 31, 1676; 
Jonathan, born December 24, 1666, died 
1680; David, born September 15, 1670; 
John, mentioned below; Jabez, born Feb- 
ruary 14, 1673; Ichabod, born March 18, 
1676; Jonathan, born September 22, 1680. 

(IV) John Bosworth, third son of 
Jonathan (2) and Hannah (Howland) 
Bosworth, was born in Swansea, Massa- 
chusetts, April 6, 1671, died prior to 

March 2, 1724-25, and was buried in the 
One Hundred Cove Cemetery at Reho- 
both, Massachusetts. He served as sur- 
veyor of highways in Barrington, Rhode 
Island, and in 1719 in the State of Massa- 
chusetts. He married, in Swansea, June 
16, 1702, Elizabeth Toogood, born Sep- 
tember 25, 1682, daughter of Nathaniel 
and Elizabeth Toogood. They were the 
parents of eight children, namely : Na- 
thaniel, mentioned below; John; David; 
Oliver ; Elizabeth, who became the wife of 
John Thomas ; Mary ; Hannah ; Lydia. 

(V) Nathaniel Bosworth, son of John 
and Elizabeth (Toogood) Bosworth, was 
born in Swansea, Massachusetts, and died 
at Sandisfield, Massachusetts, in 1807. 
He and his brother David removed to 
Lebanon, Connecticut, about 1733, as 
shown by various deeds, and he was a 
resident there until 1780, when he re- 
turned to his native State, locating in 
Sandisfield, where he was one of the 
founders of the church. Nathaniel Bos- 
worth married, at Lebanon, Connecticut, 
in 1733, Bethia Hinckley, born in 1713, 
died in 1749, daughter of Gershom and 
Mary (Burt) Hinckley, and a lineal de- 
scendant of John and Samuel Hinckley, 
and Thomas and Rev. John Lothrop. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bosworth were the parents of 
at least one child, Jabez, mentioned below. 

(VI) Jabez Bosworth, son of Nathaniel 
and Bethia (Hinckley) Bosworth, was 
born in the State of Connecticut, in 1742, 
and died at Sandisfield, Massachusetts, in 
1827, having removed to that town prior 
to the Revolutionary War, in which he 
took an active part, serving in the capac- 
ity of corporal in Captain Jacob Brown's 
company, Colonel John Fellow's regi- 
ment, which marched on April 21, 1775, in 
response to the "Lexington Alarm," 
serving fifteen days; also acted as ser- 
geant in Captain Kasson's company, 
Colonel Israel Chapin's regiment, for a 



period of three months, serving at Clav- 
erack and along the Hudson river ; and 
sergeant in Captain Samuel Walcott's 
company, Colonel John Brown's regi- 
ment, during the months of June and 
July, 1777, reinforcing the Northern 
army. Sergeant Bosworth married Re- 
becca Moody, who bore him seven chil- 
dren, as follows : Ichabod, mentioned 
below ; Bethia, Osmon, Amos, Jabez, 
Stephen, and Roswell. 

(VII) Ichabod Bosworth, eldest son of 
Jabez and Rebecca (Moody) Bosworth, 
was born in Sandisfield, Massachusetts, 
December 25, 1765, died January 15, 1837. 
He gave his attention to agricultural pur- 
suits, conducting his operations on a farm 
located in Otis, Massachusetts, the prop- 
erty lying at the intersection of the town 
lines of Otis, Tyringham and Monterey. 
He was a man of good judgment, perse- 
verance and thrift, and his labors were re- 
warded with success. He married, Febru- 
ary 4, 1790, at New Marlborough, Massa- 
chusetts, Lucretia Harmon, born April 5, 
1770, at New Marlborough, died April 26, 
1833, daughter of Jonathan and Lucretia 
(Bosworth) Harmon, granddaughter of 
Samuel and Deborah (Winchell) Har- 
mon, great-granddaughter of Nathaniel 
and Mary (Skinner) Harmon and Joseph 
and Sarah (Taylor) Winchell, and a de- 
scendant of the old and honored Harmon 
family of SufHeld, Connecticut. Jona- 
than Harmon, father of Mrs. Bosworth, 
was born in July, 1744, and died August 
7, 1828. He was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion, private in Captain Zenas Wheeler's 
company, Colonel John Ashley's regi- 
ment, July and August, 1777, marching to 
Fort Edward, New York. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bosworth were the parents of at least one 
child, Lyman, mentioned below. 

(VIII) Lyman Bosworth, son of Icha- 
bod and Lucretia (Harmon) Bosworth, 
was born in Otis, Massachusetts, Decem- 

ber 31, 1790, and died there May 9, 1875. 
After completing his studies in the com- 
mon schools of the neighborhood, he fol- 
lowed in the footsteps of his father as to 
his occupation in life, having been reared 
on a farm and thus becoming familiar 
with the details of farming operations. 
He was energetic and progressive, hence 
his labors yielded him a goodly return in 
the shape of general products. The house 
in which he resided and in which his chil- 
dren were born remained standing until 
the year 1907, when it was demolished. 
He, like his ancestors, took an active in- 
terest in military affairs, participating in 
the War of 1812. Mr. Bosworth married 
(first) Sarah Waite, born September 11, 
1799, died September 27, 1853, daughter 
of John and Sarah (Wilder) Waite, and 
granddaughter of Elverton Waite and 
Joseph and Hannah Wilder. John Waite 
was a captain in the Revolution and lived 
in what is now Sandisfield ; was the 
father of ten children, namely : John W. ; 
Sarah W. ; Henry Wilder, mentioned 
below ; Homer Lyman, mentioned below ; 
Benjamin Rush; Virgil; Charles; Mary 
E., wife of Major William Streeter, of 
Rochester, New York ; Charles R., of 
Melksham, England ; and George L., of 
Tyringham, Massachusetts. The last two 
children were born of his second mar- 

(IX) Hon. Henry Wilder Bosworth, 
eldest son of Lyman and Sarah (Waite) 
Bosworth, was born in Otis, Berkshire 
county, Massachusetts, April 2, 1832, died 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1917. 
His education was obtained by attendance 
at the district schools and the New York 
Conference Seminary at Charlotteville, 
New York, where he prepared for en- 
trance to Yale College, but was obliged to 
relinquish that course on account of trou- 
ble with his eyes. He then returned to 
Otis, took an active and prominent part 



in politics, and was chosen by his fellow- 
citizens to serve as representative to the 
General Court from the district consisting 
of Otis, New Marlborough and Sandis- 
field, also served on the committee on 
valuation, and took part in the legislative 
action of that first critical year of the 
Civil War, i860. Early in his adminis- 
tration. President Lincoln appointed John 
Z. Goodrich, of Stockbridge, collector of 
the port of Boston, and shortly afterward 
Mr. Bosworth was appointed an inspector 
in the Boston Custom House, in which 
capacity he served for three years, and he 
was also employed for a time in the office 
of the fifth auditor of the United States 
Treasury Department. After the cessa- 
tion of hostilities between the North and 
South, Mr. Bosworth returned to his na- 
tive city and turned his attention to the 
study of law, at which he labored assidu- 
ously with such good result that at the 
expiration of six months he passed a 
special examination creditably, and was 
admitted to the Hampden county bar in 
Lenox in 1866. He thereupon opened an 
office for the active practice of his pro- 
fession in Springfield, Massachusetts, and 
in the following year, 1867, entered into 
partnership with William S. Greene, this 
relation continuing for eleven years, until 
the decease of Mr. Greene. For the fol- 
lowing five years he conducted his prac- 
tice of law alone, then took as a partner 
Charles H. Barrows, which business rela- 
tion continued for six years, which 
brought him up to the year 1889. Prior 
to this year, in 1885, Mr. Bosworth again 
entered public life, being appointed by 
Governor George D. Robinson one of the 
special justices of the Springfield police 
court to fill the vacancy caused by the 
resignation of Major Samuel B. Spooner. 
In 1889, by appointment of Governor 
Oliver Ames, Judge Bosworth succeeded 
Hon. Gideon Wells as judge of the Spring- 

field police court, holding that responsi- 
ble office for many years, his decisions 
being always honored, he being thor- 
oughly qualified for dispensing justice 
without the thought of fear or favor. 
He attended the South Congregational 
Church of Springfield, gave his loyal sup- 
port to the candidates of the Republican 
party, and held membership in the "T" 
Club, of Springfield, a literary organiza- 

Mr. Bosworth married, March 8, 1866, 
Mary E. Hall, daughter of the Rev. 
Thomas A. and Mary L. (Strong) Hall, of 
Otis, Massachusetts. They were the 
parents of two children : Henry H., born 
in Springfield, March 16, 1868, married, 
June 21, 1898, Grace Sherman Wright; 
and Charles W., born in Springfield, Au- 
gust 28, 1871. 

(IX) Homer Lyman Bosworth, sec- 
ond son of Lyman and Sarah (Waite) 
Bosworth, was born in Otis, Massachu- 
setts, May 26, 1834. He attended the 
schools of Otis until he was fifteen years 
of age, the knowledge thus gained being 
supplemented by a course at a private 
school located in Stockbridge, by a 
course in the State Normal School at 
Westfield, which he attended for one 
year, by a course at Williston Seminary 
at Easthampton, and by a course in book- 
keeping at a commercial school in Bos- 
ton, thus being thoroughly qualified to 
enter upon an active business career. 
His first employment was as clerk in a 
wholesale flour and grain store in Boston, 
but one year later he was obliged to re- 
sign on account of illness and return to 
his home in Otis. About the year 1857, 
having an idea that the West offered 
greater opportunities than the East, he 
went thither and for a time sold subscrip- 
tion books in the State of Missouri, from 
whence he removed to the State of Illi- 
nois and for several years taught a school 



near Dixon, that State. Later he was 
appointed deputy to the county clerk in 
Dixon, in which capacity he served for 
one year. His next occupation was in a 
store in Dixon, and upon the failure of 
this enterprise he removed to Sterling, 
Illinois, where he again turned his atten- 
tion to the teaching profession. April 20, 
1864, Mr. Bos worth was called to Wash- 
ington, D. C, and entered the fifth audit- 
ing department of the government. He 
later became a regularly appointed treas- 
ury clerk, which position he filled for 
seven years, and he was employed in 
Washington when President Lincoln was 
assassinated. Mr. Bosworth resigned his 
office in Washington in the latter part of 
1871, and on October 19, 1872, sailed for 
Europe where, with others, he established 
factories for the making of condensed 
milk, he remaining in England for thir- 
teen years, then returned to his native land, 
arriving here on October 19, 1885, and 
from that time to the present, a period of 
thirty-five years, has been practically re- 
tired from active life. He was associated 
with the Anglo-Swiss Condensed Milk 
Company, was general manager of the 
English plant, which under his able man- 
agement doubled its output. Mr. Bos- 
worth was located at Chippenham, Wilt- 
shire, near Bath, England, and although 
the London ofiice of the company was of- 
fered to him he preferred to remain where 
he was. 

In addition to the above mentioned lines 
of activity, Mr. Bosworth serves as di- 
rector of the Springfield Fire and Marine 
Insurance Company, being the oldest 
member of that board in point of years; 
was a director of the Springfield Gas Com- 
pany, and is a trustee of the Institution 
for Savings. He is the owner of consider- 
able valuable real estate at Hyannisport, 
on Cape Cod, Massachusetts, where he 
spends his summers, his winters being 

Mass — 10 — 6 

spent in Florida. He is an enthusiastic 
hunter and fisherman, finding pleasure 
and relaxation in these healthy out-of- 
door sports, and is also an expert golf 
player, having won many prizes at the 
latter sport. He is an attendant of the 
South Congregational Church, a member 
of the Colony Club, was a member of the 
Fishing Club of the North Branch, and 
is now a member of the Anglers' Club of 
the South Branch. 

Mr. Bosworth married, October 27, 
1870, Delia Evelyn Rood, of Canaan, Con- 
necticut, born November 8, 1842, daugh- 
ter of W. W. Rood. They are the par- 
ents of two children: i. Mary Evelyn, 
born July 2.J, 1871, who became the wife 
of Hinsdale Smith, they the parents of 
two children : Hinsdale, Jr., and Evelyn 
Smith. 2. Anne Waite, born October 25, 
1876, who became the wife of Dr. Harrie 
W. Greene, now deceased, they the par- 
ents of one child, Lorna Greene. 

GILL, James D., 

Enterprising Citizen, Art Connoissenr. 

James D. Gill, of Springfield, dealer in 
fine arts, an authority in the world of 
art, is a man of excellent business 
ability, who has recognized his oppor- 
tunities and utilized them for the 
benefit of the community in which he 
lives as well as for his own advantage. 
His opinions are valued in business and 
art circles, and his cooperation has been a 
stimulus which has carried various enter- 
prises forward to success. Upon every 
question of public interest he takes a pro- 
nounced stand, and he ranks with the 
public-spirited, progressive men of his 
city. This statement is also true of his 
son, James M. Gill, and they are con- 
temporaries in worthy deeds as well as in 
business life. 

The American ancestor, Bartholomew 



Gill, born in County Clare, Ireland, in 
1819, died in Cleveland, Ohio, August 8. 
1905. He came to the United States when 
a Doy of fourteen years and located in 
Hinsdale, Massachusetts, where for a time 
he followed the occupation of farming. 
He then entered the employ of the Boston 
& Albany railroad and for many years he 
continued with that corporation. He re- 
tired several years prior to his death and 
made his home with a married daughter 
in Cleveland, Ohio. He married Mary 
Dwyer, born in 1821, died in 1870. They 
were the parents of four sons and a daugh- 
ter: James D., of further mention ; John 
D. ; Thomas E. ; Nancy, who married 
George P. Comey ; and George C, presi- 
dent of the Holyoke National Bank. 

James D. Gill, son of Bartholomew and 
Mary (Dwyer) Gill, was born in Plins- 
dale, Berkshire county, Massachusetts, 
June 2^, 1849. The public schools and the 
local academy furnished him with the 
advantages of a practical education, and 
during his school years a considerable 
portion of his spare time was utilized in 
some employment which brought him 
financial return. During one summer he 
was regularly employed on the farm of 
George T. Plunkett, and drove a milk cart 
through the village. During the spring 
months he bought maple sugar, which he 
sold on the cars between Hinsdale and 
Pittsfield. In 1867 he left Hinsdale, tak- 
ing a position in the retail department of 
the paper and notion business conducted 
by Lewis J. Powers, of Springfield, con- 
tinuing until the business was sold to 
Charles W. Clark, with whom Mr. Gill 
remained until 1871. During this time he 
had acquired a thorough and practical 
knowledge of this line of business, and 
decided to branch out independently. He 
formed a partnership with the late Fred- 
erick R. Hayes, under the firm name, Gill 
& Hayes, operating under this name until 

1876, when Mr. Gill became the sole pro- 
prietor. Gradually the business was given 
over to' the sale of original paintings by 
American artists solely, and the name of 
Mr. Gill has become known in this coun- 
try and Europe as that of one of the lead- 
ing art dealers, especially in connection 
with American art. It became his habit 
to have annual exhibitions in the month 
of February, all of the work shown on 
these occasions coming directly from the 
artists' studios. The galleries in which 
these exhibitions were held were erected 
especially for the purpose and their con- 
struction has been along the best models, 
Mr. Gill has done much for American art, 
in which he is a firm believer, a belief 
which his visits to the art galleries of 
Europe strengthen. Mr. Gill's interest is 
not, however, confined solely to his busi- 
ness affairs, but whatever affects the so- 
cial and political life of his city has his 
close attention, and this has been evi- 
denced by the admirable manner in which 
he has discharged the duties of the various 
public and semi-public offices he has held. 
His political affiliations are with the Re- 
publican party, and he was president of 
the Harrison and Morton Battalion in 
1888; president of the City Republican 
Club from 1890 to 1893; chairman of the 
Republican County Committee of Hamp- 
den county about six years, prior to re- 
signing from office ; was vice-president of 
the National League of Republican clubs 
for Massachusetts in 1894; represented 
his ward in the Springfield City Council 
in 1880 and 1881 ; and was a member of 
the Board of Aldermen in 1883. He is a 
member of the Winthrop and Nayasset 
clubs ; De Soto Lodge, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows ; and Springfield Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons. He was ap- 
pointed by President McKinley to the office 
of Collector of Internal Revenue for the 
Third District, and has held the office for 



sixteen years. A letter received by Mr. 
Gill from the Secretary of the Treasury 
compliments him on the efficiency of his 
office. For some years his home has been 
in Beverly, Massachusetts. 

Mr. Gill married, November i6, 1874, 
Evelyn Louise Clyde, born July 29, 1852, 
daughter of Milton Adams and Caroline 
V. (Read) Clyde, granddaughter of John 
and Mehitable (Sargent) Clyde, great- 
granddaughter of Hugh Clyde, and great- 
great-granddaughter of Daniel Clyde, the 
Clydes an early New Hampshire family. 
Mr. and Mrs. Gill are the parents of a 
son, James Milton Gill, of whom further. 

James Milton Gill was born in Bristol 
Ferry, Rhode Island, August 24, 1875, but 
was educated in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, public schools, finishing with grad- 
uation from high school, class of 1895. 
After completing his school years, he en- 
tered the employ of the George C. Gill 
Paper Company, owned by his uncle, first 
going in the factory, later was in the office 
department and went "on the road" in the 
interests of the company. Later, he re- 
signed to become manager of the Spring- 
field Paper Company, with mills at Rain- 
bow, Connecticut. This preparatory busi- 
ness experience was all valuable in an 
educational sense, and in 1902 Mr. Gill en- 
gaged in the ice business in Springfield, 
organizing the Springfield Consolidated 
Ice Company, which was later reorganized, 
he having purchased the Springfield Ice 
and Coal Company and also the business 
of Burger & Taft, the two largest con- 
cerns in the ice business and merged them 
under the title of the Springfield Ice Com- 
pany, of which Mr. Gill is president. 
Through these developing changes Mr. 
Gill was the leading spirit and is the pres- 
ent efficient chief executive of the com- 
pany. He is also president of the Peerless 
Hand Cuff Company, the largest manu- 

facturers of hand cuflfs in the United 

As a citizen, Mr. Gill bore his share of 
public responsibility, and from May i, 
1913, until May i, 1916, was chairman of 
the Springfield board of police commis- 
sioners. Politically, he is a Republican. 
His clubs are the Nayasset, Rotary, Win- 
throp, and Springfield Country. 

Mr. Gill married, October 23, 1901, Jose- 
phine Mary Wright, of Springfield, daugh- 
ter of Andrew J. and Mary (Case) 
Wright. Mr. and Mrs. Gill are the par- 
ents of three children : Barbara, born 
October 12, 1906; Clyde, born August 9, 
1908; and Marjorie, born June 6, 1915. 

TUCKER, Edward Hutchins, 

Head of Large Paper Indnstry. 

Edward Hutchins Tucker, president of 
the H. W. Carter Paper Company, of 
Springfield, comes from a manufacturing 
family, his father, David K., and his 
grandfather, Richard Tucker, both being 
interested in the Tucker & Cook Manu- 
facturing Company and in other New 
England industries. 

The first American ancestor in this 
branch was John Tucker, who came from 
England in Colonial days and settled in 
Saybrook, Connecticut. He married, and 
his grandson, John (2) Tucker, was born 
in Saybrook, Connecticut, March 20, 1785. 
John (2) Tucker married, in 1810, Eliza 
Beckwith, born June 15, 1797, daughter of 
Elisha Beckwith. They were the parents 
of ten children, including a son, Richard, 
of whom further. 

Richard Tucker, son of John (2) and 
Eliza (Beckwith) Tucker, was born in 
Saybrook, Connecticut, February 20, 1812, 
and died in Conway, Massachusetts, in 
1889. He attended public schools until 
fifteen years of age, then became a cotton 



mill employe, continuing such until reach- 
ing legal age. He was variously employed 
until 1846, when he became a traveling 
salesman for the Rogers Silver Company, 
and in 1858 moved to Conway, Franklin 
county, Massachusetts, there beginning 
the manufacture of cotton warp in a small 
way. In 1861 he admitted his son-in-law, 
Chelsea Cook, as a partner, and in 1862 
they bought the Howland & Morse mill, 
refitted it and operated both mills, their 
warp becoming well known on the market. 
Eighty hands were employed in the two 
mills at that time, but that number was 
increased when in 1876 they began the 
manufacture of ball knitting cotton, later 
known and popular as Tucker & Cook's 
knitting cotton. A branch factory was 
established in Springfield, and in addition 
to these plants Mr. Tucker was a partner 
in the firm of Maynard, Damon & Tucker, 
of Northampton, manufacturers of tapes 
and bindings. Mr. Tucker was a success- 
ful manufacturer, and attained promi- 
nence in his business, and from a small 
beginning he acquired a large fortune. 

Mr. Tucker was for eight years post- 
master of Conway, Massachusetts, and for 
ten years was a director of the Conway 
National Bank. For twenty years he was 
a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and liberal in his donations to 
church and charity. In politics he was a 

On November 11, 1831, when but nine- 
teen, Richard Tucker married Delia R., 
daughter of Deacon Silas Walden, the 
bride not yet out of her teens, her birth 
date July 25, 1812. She died in 1891. 
They were the parents of three children: 
Julia R., married Chelsea Cook (his first 
wife); David K., of further mention; 
Richard M., a merchant of Conway. 

David K. Tucker, eldest son of Richard 
and Delia R. (Walden) Tucker, was bom 
in 1834, died in Springfield, Massachu- 

setts, May 15, 1894. He was educated in 
the public schools, and spent the years of 
his minority at home as his father's assist- 
ant. His first individual business venture 
was made in gentlemen's furnishing 
goods, his store being located in Wil- 
limantic, Connecticut, but in 1878 he 
located in Springfield, Massachusetts, as 
agent for the Tucker & Cook Manufactur- 
ing Company, a corporation founded by 
Richard Tucker, in Conway, Massachu- 
setts, in 1858. At the time David K. 
Tucker came to Springfield as agent the 
company was operating two plants for the 
manufacture of cotton yarns, one in Con- 
way, the other in Springfield. Mr. Tucker 
was rated a wise, energetic business man, 
who was identified with Tucker & Cook 
until his death. 

Mr. Tucker married Mary A. Hutchins, 
of Malone, New York, born in 1837, and 
they were the parents of four children : 
Delia, married Charles W. Roane, of 
Springfield ; Frederick A., a manufacturer 
and a founder of the present Carter Paper 
Company, married Delia C. Hamilton; 
Homer K., salesman and manufacturer, 
married Emily Howard; Edward Hut- 
chins, of further mention. 

Edward Hutchins Tucker, son of David 
K. and Mary A. (Hutchins) Tucker, was 
born in Willimantic, Connecticut, March 
10, 1875, but in 1878 he was brought by 
his parents to Springfield, Massachusetts, 
that city having since been his home, and 
since leaving school, the scene of his busi- 
ness activities. He was educated in 
Springfield grammar and high schools and 
in business college, his business life be- 
ginning with Cutler & Porter, wholesale 
shoe dealers, of Springfield. He remained 
with that firm two years, then for eight 
years was associated with his father, who 
was the Springfield agent for the Tucker 
& Cook Manufacturing Company. From 
that company he went to the H. W. Car- 



ter Paper Company as manager of the 
Berkshire Paper Company, located at 
North Adams, Massachusetts. He re- 
mained in that position six years, then 
was appointed manager of the H. W. Car- 
ter Paper Company, with headquarters in 
Springfield, a position he capably filled 
until 1912, when he was elected president 
of the company, a position he is most ably 
filling at the present date (1921 ), 

Mr. Tucker is a member of Greylock 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
North Adams, Massachusetts ; Spring- 
field Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Springfield ; and in the Ancient Accepted 
Scottish Rite has attained the thirty-sec- 
ond degree. He belongs to all York Rite 
bodies, and in 1920 was eminent com- 
mander of Springfield Commandery. He 
is also a noble of Melha Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine ; through the services of a patriotic 
ancestor he holds membership in the Sons 
of the American Revolution ; is a member 
of the Congregational church ; and in po- 
litical preference is a Republican. His 
clubs are the Masonic, Nayasset, Country, 
Publicity, and Automobile, all of Spring- 
field. His residence is at Longmeadow. 

Mr. Tucker married, November 20, 
1895, Anna M. Gladden, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, daughter of Theodore E, 
and Harriet C. (Bartlett) Gladden. Mr. 
and Mrs. Tucker are the parents of two 
daughters : Madeline G., born November 
16, 1899; ^nd Ruth, born February 28, 

BEARSE, Leon Henry, 

Respected Citiien. 

Barnstable county, the southwestern 
extremity of Massachusetts, includes Cape 
Cod, and the town of Barnstable includes 
a number of villages, among them Hyan- 

nis; the capitol of the county is Barn- 
stable, a port of entry, long an important 
maritime centre. The Bearse family were 
early settlers in this vicinity of Barn- 
stable, and were for several generations 
hardy mariners and masters of ships. The 
first of the family in New England was 
Austin B. Bearse, who came from Eng- 
land in April, 1638, being then twenty 
years of age. He settled in Barnstable 
with the first company in 1639, and 
through his sons, Joseph and James, be- 
came the ancestral head of a large family 
bearing the name then spelled both 
Bearse and Beace. He also had nine 
daughters and they intermarried with the 
Hall, Hamblin and Nichols families of 
Barnstable, and his descendants bearing 
these names are yet numerous on Cape 
Cod. In Barnstable he owned meadows 
and uplands, also two islands still known 
as Bearse's Islands. He was admitted a 
freeman. May 3, 1652, was grand juror in 
1653 and 1662, and surveyor of highways 
in 1674. He became a member of the 
Rev. Mr. Lothrop's church, April 29, 1643, 
was a man of good standing in his com- 
munity, an industrious farmer, and taught 
his large family the virtues of industry 
and right living. He died about the year 

Benjamin Bearse, of the third genera- 
tion, was one of the early settlers of Hyan- 
nis, and interested in the fisheries of the 
town, in which occupation he was very 
successful. His son, Augustine Bearse, 
made his home in Hyannis, where he was 
head of a whaling fishery and owned the 
try works there. Both he and his father 
were buried in Hyannis. It is from this 
race of seafaring men that Leon H. 
Bearse, of Springfield, son of George 
Henry Bearse, and grandson of Captain 
Richard Bearse, is descended. 

(I) Captain Richard Bearse was born 



in Barnstable, Massachusetts, and there 
died about 1855. He was a mariner all his 
life, and rose to the command of ships 
which he sailed on many seas. During 
the War of 1812 he was captured by the 
British and confined in Dartmoor prison, 

England. He married Betsy , and 

they had sons : Richard, Oliver, and Wil- 
liam, all of whom were sea captains ; 
George Henry, of further mention ; James, 
died in Porto Rico. 

(II) George Henry Bearse, son of Cap- 
tain Richard and Betsy Bearse, was born 
in Barnstable, Massachusetts, 1824, and 
died in Springfield, Massachusetts, in 
1897. He learned the carpenter's trade, 
which he followed in Barnstable until the 
Civil War, During the war he was con- 
nected with the sutlers department at St. 
Augustine, Florida. In 1865 he located in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, bringing his 
family in 1866, and there residing until 
death. He was employed as a journey- 
man carpenter by D. L. Swan for nine 
years, then became a contractor and 
builder, under his own name, conducting 
a very successful business until his pass- 
ing away in 1897, ^t the age of seventy- 
three years. He was a man of industrious 
and quiet life, devoted to his home and 
family. A member of the Baptist church, 
and a man highly respected. He married 
Deborah Howland, of Plymouth, Massa- 
chusetts,* born in 1830, died May 29, 1905, 
daughter of John and Ruth Howland, and 
a descendant of John Howland, of the 
"Mayflower." They were the parents of 
four children : Leon Henry, of further 
mention ; Sophia, died in 1868 ; Oliver 
Lewis, died July 16, 1896; Mary Louise, 
married a George Stokes ; she now re- 
sides in Boston, Massachusetts. 

(III) Leon Henry Bearse, eldest child 
of George Henry and Deborah (How- 
land) Bearse, was born in the village of 

Hyannis, town of Barnstable, Massachu- 
setts, January 30, 1850, and is now (1921) 
living in the city of Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts. He was educated in the town 
schools of Hyannis, finishing his studies 
in Springfield High School, the family 
moving to that city in 1866. When 
through his school years, he learned the 
carpenter's trade under his father's in- 
struction, and was so engaged for five 
years. He was then for fifteen years 
employed by Barney & Berry, the well- 
known skate manufacturers, as a fore- 
man in the erection and installation of 
machinery and its care in operation. He 
also was in charge of Mr. Barney's 
beautiful grounds and residence on Pecau- 
sic avenue. Later he was connected with 
the Springfield "Republican" as distribu- 
tion agent for wards seven and eight, his 
duties also being to receive all moneys 
due the paper in his district. For eleven 
years he held that position and most capa- 
bly performed its duties. He then gave 
this up and since then has had a fruit farm 
of thirty acres at West Granville, although 
residing in a house on Boston road, 
Springfield, which he built in 1917. He has 
eighteen acres of land, the cultivation of 
which furnishes him employment. He is 
a member of Hampden Lodge, No. 27, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, which 
he has served as trustee for nine years, is 
a Republican in politics, and a member 
of the State Street Baptist Church. 

Leon H. Bearse married, January 10, 
1870, Harriet E. Hollister, of Long- 
meadow, Massachusetts, daughter of Gil- 
son D. and Mary Ann (Cooper) Hollis- 
ter. Mr. and Mrs. Bearse are the parents 
of two children: i. Frederick Alfred, 
born in February, 1871 ; he began life as 
a newsboy in Springfield, bought the right 
of distribution of the center of the city 
for the sale of the "Republican," and 



eventually, with his father, controlled the 
sale of the "Republican" throughout the 
entire city ; later he entered public life, 
served in City Council, then on the Board 
of Aldermen, several terms then in the 
State Legislature, and for seven years, 
1913-1920, held the office of treasurer of 
Hampden county and is still holding that 
important position, being elected in 1917 
for five years. He married, March 17, 
1891, Etta Bartholomew^, and they are 
the parents of a son, Richard Clarence, 
born September 10, 1899. 2- Richard 
Henry, born January 16, 1874; enlisted in 
the United States army and served for a 
time in the Spanish-American War ; he 
died in a military hospital, August i, 

SMITH, Charles Boardman, 
Man of Enterprise. 

For sixty-seven years Charles B. Smith 
was engaged in business in New Orleans, 
New York, and Hartford, and all through 
that period maintained his personal and 
firm credit unimpaired. He was a de- 
scendant of Joseph Smith, of an English 
family, who resided in Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, where he married, April 20, 1656, 
Lydia Huitt, daughter of Rev. Ephraim 
and Isabel Huitt. Her father, Rev. 
Ephraim Huitt, who was ordained a min- 
ister of the Gospel at Wraxall, Kent- 
worth, England, came from there in 1639 
to Boston, Massachusetts, locating in 
Windsor, Connecticut, August 17 of that 

The line of descent from Joseph Smith 
was through his son, Simon Smith, born 
in Hartford, Connecticut, October 2, 1662, 
who married. May i, 1689, Hannah Haley, 
widow of John Haley, and daughter of 
Samuel and Mary (Leonard) Bliss, of 
Springfield. He lived in Springfield, Mas- 

sachusetts, for a time, but later removed 
to Hartford, Connecticut. He was the 
father of Ebenezer Smith, born in 1703, 
who was the father of William Smith, 
born 1740, who was the father of Nor- 
mand Smith, born November 4, 1772. The 
latter was a saddler and dealer in leather 
goods of various kinds. A copy of his 
advertisement in the Hartford "Courant," 
date of October 11, 1794, is preserved and 
shown. The location of his store was six 
rods north of the Court House, that sec- 
tion then a rural community but now a 
populous part of a beautiful modern city. 
The business he founded more than a cen- 
tury ago is still carried on. Normand 
Smith was a lovable character, highly 
esteemed as business man and citizen. He 
married (first), in Wethersfield, Connecti- 
cut, November 23, 1795, Mary Boardman, 
daughter of Captain Charles and Abigail 
(Stillman) Boardman, born October 31, 
1772, in Wethersfield, died in that town 
August 3, 1820, leaving children : Nor- 
mand (2) ; Deacon Thomas, died in 1882 ; 
Rev. James A., died in 1882; Charles 
Boardman, whose useful, honorable life is 
the inspiration of this review; Henry; 
Maria ; Martha ; Caroline A., and Mary 
Anne. Mr. Smith married (second) Bet- 
sey Kingsbury. They had a son. Dr. An- 
drew Kingsbury Smith, a surgeon of the 
United States army, who retired in Feb- 
ruary, 1890, with the rank of colonel, and 
died in New York in 1899. Mr. Smith 
married (third) Lucy Morris, and she left 
sons : Jonathan Trumbull, who made his 
home in New York ; and Morris W., of 
New York City, later of New Hartford, 
Connecticut, and New Orleans. 

Charles Boardman Smith was bom in 
Hartford, Connecticut, July 30, 181 1, and 
died at his home, No. 66 Forest street, in 
the city of his birth, February 5, 1900. He 
was educated in the graded and high 


;ncyclopedia of biography 

schools, and at a Lenox (Massachusetts) 
boarding school. He acted as an assistant 
to his honored father, a saddler and leather 
goods dealer, until twenty-two years of 
age. In 1833 he became a member of the 
firm of Smith, Hubbard & Company, a 
New Orleans, Louisiana, concern, which 
was established in that city in 1816 as a 
branch of the Hartford house of T. Smith 
& Company, one of the oldest houses in 
the Southwest. Subsequently, in 1835, he 
returned to Hartford and began a long 
and successful business career in the firm 
of what was later Smith, Bourn & Com- 
pany, but at that period known as T. 
Smith & Company. This firm, the oldest 
in the United States, engaged in the sad- 
dlery business in 1794. During this time 
Mr. Smith had retained his interest in the 
Southern house, and in 1870 he withdrew 
from the New Orleans firm of Smith & 
Brother, as the house was then styled, 
having previously opened a branch of the 
Hartford house in New York under the 
name of J. T. Smith & Company, at No. 
40 Warren street, the firm name later 
being changed to C. B. Smith & Company, 
later Smith, Worthington & Company, 
they having an ofifice in New Jersey and 
a factory in Hartford. 

Mr. Smith was one of the early mem- 
bers of the Pearl Street Congregational 
Church, which he attended until 1866, 
when he became a member of the Asylum 
Hill Congregational Church, and one of 
its liberal supporters. He was a man of 
great benevolence, and retained through 
his long period of business activity the re- 
spect of his employees, all of whom had 
for him the highest regard. He was never 
an office seeker, declining all positions 
that might call him from his chosen field. 
When a young man he was identified with 
the Putnam Phalanx, which later became, 
and is still known as, the Governor's Foot 

Guard. He was a notable figure in Hart- 
ford, and although nearly ninety years of 
age, he was able to be out until within ten 
days of his death. He was a man of great 
executive ability, stood over six feet in 
height, and his work was memorable in 
every way. 

Charles B. Smith married (first), No- 
vember 5, 1844, Frances M. Humphrey, 
daughter of Lemuel Humphrey, of Hart- 
ford. He married (second), October 3, 
1855, Eliza A. Thayer, of Westfield, 
Massachusetts, who died November 30, 
1915, daughter of Deacon Lucius F. 
Thayer. One daughter by the second 
marriage survives him, Frances Eliza, 
widow of Ira Miller, of Westfield, a 
sketch of whom follows. 


Head of Large Bnsiness. 

Ira Miller, who for many years was one 
of the prominent and successful business 
men of Westfield, being at the time of 
his death president and manager of the 
United States Whip Company, of that city, 
was born in Cadiz, Kentucky, and died 
December 14, 1915, a son of James Quinn 
and Susan (Raglan) Miller. Ira Miller 
had received an appointment to the United 
States Military Academy at West Point, 
and while he was on his way to enter that 
institution Fort Sumter was fired upon, 
and the opening scenes in the Civil War 
were enacted. The Southern Senators 
resigning their seats, all appointees to the 
academy from the South were recalled, 
and Ira Miller entered the Confederate 
army, serving under the command of Gen- 
eral Forest. At the conclusion of the war 
he was engaged in a number of lines of 
business in Louisville, Kentucky, and as 
a young man came to New York City, 
where he was employed by the saddlery 




firm of C. B. Smith & Company. He was 
associated with this firm until he came 
to Westfield, where he took an active part 
in and became finally president and gen- 
eral manager of the United States Whip 
Company. Mr. Miller was a man of 
strong business ability, and his sterling 
qualities of character and integrity did 
even more for him than win him worldly 

Mr. Miller married, October 3, 1883, 
Frances Eliza Smith, daughter of Charles 
Boardman Smith, whose sketch pre- 
cedes this (for a detailed review of his 
life see "History of Representative Men 
of Connecticut"). Children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Miller: i. Charles Boardman, a 
graduate of Harvard ; musically educated 
in Paris, France ; now residing near Port- 
land, Oregon ; married Alvine Beaulieu. 
2. James Raglan, a graduate of Yale, A. 
B., 1907, and from Johns Hopkins Uni- 
versity, received degree of M. D., 191 1; 
studied in Munich, Germany, three years ; 
at Fryesburg, one year ; Vienna, one year ; 
then was assistant to Dean Williams, of 
Johns Hopkins University; practiced in 
Hartford until the entrance of the United 
States in the World War, then entered the 
army, ranking as first lieutenant, and 
serving with the American Expeditionary 
Forces, later receiving the rank of captain ; 
after the war was over, he located in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, where he has since 
been engaged in the active practice of his 
profession ; he married Elizabeth Wells, 
of Detroit ; children : Katherine Van 
Heusen, Frances Thayer, and Elizabeth 
Raglan Miller. 3. Preston Thayer, who, 
at the outbreak of the war with Germany, 
enlisted in the United States army, hav- 
ing trained at Fort Sill, Oklahoma, and 
attained the rank of sergeant ; at the 
close of the war he returned to Westfield, 
where he is now associated with the 

Westfield Machine Company ; he married, 
October 25, 1918, Anna Isabelle Bemis, of 
Springfield. 4. Susan Elizabeth, married 
Kent Wadsworth Clark, manager of the 
Oriental Hotel at Koby, Japan ; they have 
one son, Kent Wadsworth Clark, Jr. 

FIELD, Henry Alonzo, 

Insurance Actuary. 

In the branch of Henry A. Field, of 
Spring^eld, Massachusetts, descent is 
traced to Roger Del Feld, born in Sow- 
erby, England, about 1240. He was a 
descendant of Sir Hubertus De La Feld, 
who went to England with William the 
Conqueror in 1066, he belonging to the 
family of the Counts De La Feld who 
trace back to the middle age, about the 
sixth century, their estates being in Col- 
man, a village in Alsace, near the German 
border of France. The line from Roger 
Del Feld is through his son, Thomas, of 
Sowerby, England ; his son, John, of 
Sowerby ; his son, Thomas, of same place ; 
his son, Thomas Del Feld, of Bradford ; 
his son, William Feld, of Bradford; his 
son, William Feld, of East Ardsley, Eng- 
land ; his son, Richard Feld, "husband- 
man of the parish of Ardeslowe ;" his son, 
John Field, a distinguished pioneer in the 
cause of science, particularly astronomy; 
his son, Zachariah Field, of the eleventh 
English generation, and the founder of 
this branch of the family in New Eng- 

(I) Zachariah Field was born in East 
Ardsley, Yorkshire, England, in 1596, and 
died in Hatfield, Massachusetts, in 1663. 
He came to New England in 1629, and 
settled in Dorchester, Massachusetts, but 
in 1636 went to Hartford, Connecticut, 
remaining there until 1659, when he 
moved to Northampton, Massachusetts, 
where he engaged as a merchant, trading 


with the Indians. Later he settled in Hat- 
field, which was his home until death. He 

married, about 1641, Mary , who 

died about 1670. They were the parents 
of five children, the fourth a son, Samuel. 

(II) Sergeant Samuel Field, son of 
Zachariah and Mary Field, was born 
about 1 65 1 in Hartford, Connecticut, and 
was slain by the Indians while working 
in the fields at Hatfield, June 24, 1697. He 
was a sergeant in the Turner's Falls fight. 
May 19, 1676, and a prominent, influential 
man in Hatfield, holding many town 
offices. He married, August 9, 1676, 
Sarah Gilbert, daughter of Thomas and 
Catherine (Chapin) Gilbert, of Spring- 
field. They were the parents of eight 
children, their eldest son, Samuel, of 
whom further. 

(HI)) Deacon Samuel (2) Field, son 
of Sergeant Samuel (i) and Sarah (Gil- 
bert) Field, was born in Hatfield, Massa- 
chusetts, September 27, 1678. He moved 
to Deerfield in 1706, and there died Au- 
gust 25, 1762. He was one of the twenty- 
two men who came from Hatfield and 
were engaged in the Meadow fight in the 
unsuccessful attempt to rescue the three 
prisoners taken by the French and In- 
dians at the destruction of Deerfield, Feb- 
ruary 29, 1704. He was wounded in a 
fight with the Indians, August 25, 1725, 
He was a deacon in the church, and a 
prominent man of Deerfield, respected 
and honored by all. He married, January 
10, 1706, Mrs. Hannah (Edwards) Hoyt, 
daughter of Joseph Edwards, widow of 
David Hoyt, who was killed by the In- 
dians in the Meadow fight. Mr. and Mrs. 
Samuel Field were the parents of six chil- 
dren, their fourth child a son, David, of 
whom further. 

(IV) Colonel David Field, son of Dea- 
con Samuel (2) and Hannah (Edwards- 
Hoyt) Field, was born in Hatfield, Massa- 

chusetts, January 4, 1712, and died in Deer- 
field, April 19, 1792. He settled in Deer- 
field, where he was engaged in mercantile 
life, also in trading with the Indians of 
the Mohawk Valley. During the Revo- 
lution he held notes and accounts receiv- 
able for nearly $20,000 and never realized 
six cents on the dollar from them. He 
was a member of the first Congress that 
met in Concord, Massachusetts, in 1774, 
also of the Congress that met in Cam- 
bridge in 1775, and a member of the Mas- 
sachusetts Council of Safety, which gave 
a commission to Benedict Arnold author- 
izing him to raise four hundred men to be 
known as the Berkshire regiment for the 
expedition against Fort Ticonderoga. He 
was commissary general under General 
Stark at the battle of Bennington. August 
16, 1777, and for a time was in command 
of a regiment, the Fifth Hampshire Com- 
pany, his appointment voted by the Mas- 
sachusetts House of Representatives, 
January 31, 1776, concurred in by the 
Council, February 8, 1776, and his com- 
mission as colonel dated the same day. 
He resigned his command, February 20, 
1778. Colonel Field married, in 1740, Mrs. 
Thankful (Taylor) Doolittle, born July 
18, 1 716, daughter of Thomas Taylor, and 
widow of Oliver Doolittle. They were 
the parents of nine children, Rev. Samuel 
Field, the eldest, of whom further. 

(V) Rev. Samuel (3) Field, son of Col- 
onel David and Thankful (Doolittle) 
Field, was born in Deerfield, Massachu- 
setts, September 14, 1743, and died in Con- 
way, Massachusetts, vSeptember 17, 1800. 
After graduation from Yale, in 1762, he 
studied divinity under Rev. Jonathan 
Ashley, of Deerfield, but later studied law 
under Daniel Jones, of Hinsdale, New 
Hampshire. He was admitted to the bar, 
but after a time returned to Deerfield, 
where he was in mercantile life. In 1771 



he opened a law office in Greenfield and 
also eng-aged in trade. The years 1774- 
1776 were passed on a farm in Conway, 
then he returned to Deerfield, which was 
his home until May, 1794, when he re- 
turned to Conway. He represented the 
town of Deerfield in the General Court 
for several years, and was a member 
of the Massachusetts convention which 
adopted the Constitution of the United 
States. He was a Swedenborgian in reli- 
gion, and lectured, wrote and preached in 
support of that doctrine. He was a polit- 
ical writer of note. He married, April 26, 
1769, Sarah Childs, born in Deerfield, Sep- 
tember 27, 1742, died December 3, 1831. 
They were the parents of seven children, 
descent in this line following through 
Robert Rufus, of whom further. 

(VI) Robert Rufus Field, son of Rev. 
Samuel (3) and Sarah (Childs) Field, was 
born in Deerfield, Massachusetts, August 
22, 1771, and died there July 26, 1841. He 
moved in 1791 to Conway, Massachu- 
setts, and in 1796 to Phelps, Ontario 
county, New York, going thence in 1800 
to Geneva, New York, returning in 1809 
to Deerfield, where he died. He was for 
many years toll gatherer at the Deerfield 
bridge, Cheapside, but his occupation was 
farming. He married, January 15, 1795, 
Patty Hoyt, born in 1775, died July 23, 
1859, daughter of Jonathan and Abigail 
(Nash) Hoyt. They were the parents of 
four children, their third child, Robert 
Rufus, of whom further. 

(VH) Robert Rufus (2) Field, son of 
Robert Rufus (i) and Patty (Hoyt) 
Field, was born in Geneva, New York, 
June 29, 1806, and died in Deerfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. He was a manufacturer of 
carriages and sleighs in Greenfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, until 1838, when he moved to 
Attleboro, Massachusetts, thence in 1843 
to West Newton, Massachusetts, and 

about 1850 returned to Greenfield. I.ater 
he went to Columbus, Ohio, to superin- 
tend the manufacture of a line of chil- 
dren's carriages, but returned again to 
Deerfield after a few years. He married. 
May 6, 1834, Eliza Ophelia Barnard, born 
May 13, 181 1, died in Bernardstown, Mas- 
sachusetts, November 3, 1869, daughter of 
Eleazer and Abigail Barnard. They were 
the parents of three sons : Frederick Bar- 
nard, born October 10, 1835 ; John Adams, 
of whom further ; Charles Albert, born 
May 15, 1845. 

(VHI) John Adams Field, son of Rob- 
ert Rufus (2) and Eliza O. (Barnard) 
Field, was born in Attleboro, Massachu- 
setts, July 4, 1842, now deceased. He 
came with his father to Greenfield, but 
later removed to Deerfield, where he en- 
gaged in the hotel business until burned 
out. In 1880 he moved to Fort Wayne, 
Indiana, there residing until moving to 
Chicago, Illinois, where he engaged in the 
hotel business, continuing in active busi- 
ness life until his death. He married 
(first), November 8, 1868, Mary A. Phil- 
lips, born in Athol, Massachusetts, Feb- 
ruary 22, 1848, daughter of Alonzo and 
Mary A. Phillips, of Deerfield. She died, 
leaving a son, Henry Alonzo, of whom 
further. He married (second), October 
28, 1888, Emma C. Lathe, born November 
25, 1865. 

(IX) Henry Alonzo Field, only son of 
John Adams and Mary A. (Phillips) 
Field, was born in Milford, Massachu- 
setts, August 8, 1870. He was taken tc 
Deerfield, in 1872, and there was educated 
in the public schools and academy. At 
the age of twenty (in 1890), he came to 
Springfield, Massachusetts, entering the 
employ of the Phillips Manufacturing 
Company, continuing with that company 
until they went out of business in 1898. 
The next ten years, 1898-1908, he spent 



with the Vacuum Oil Company, and in 
1908 formed a partnership with B. A, Op- 
penheim and as Oppenheim & Field they 
have since conducted a general insurance 
business very successfully. Mr. Field was 
secretary of the Nayasset Club, 1898-1903, 
and again 1906-1914. In 1918 and 1919 
he was president of the club. He was 
active in the work of Hampden Chapter of 
the Red Cross, vice-chairman in 1917, and 
chairman during 1918-1919. In 1919 he 
was elected president of Springfield 
Chamber of Commerce and served until 

Mr. Field married, October 23, 1901, 
Margaret Owen, of Jersey City, New Jer- 
sey, daughter of Mortimer and Ann C. 
(Combe) Owen. 

WINS OR, Rufus Hathaway, 

Expert in Textile Indnstry. 

William Winsor, the pioneer ancestor 
of the family of which Rufus H. Winsor, 
of Springfield, was a worthy representa- 
tive, was a native of England, emigrating 
from Devonshire, and landmg in Boston, 
Massachusetts. Shortly after his arrival 
he married, as his second wife, Betsey 
Smith. He was the father of three chil- 
dren, as follows : Samuel, of further 
mention ; William, a jeweler by trade, 
remained in Boston, where his death oc- 
curred ; Peter, who went to the West 
Indies, where his death occurred. 

(II) Samuel Winsor, son of William 
Winsor, was born May 14, 1725. He 
removed from Boston to Duxbury, Mas- 
sachusetts, settled on Clark's Island in 
Duxbury Bay, and the site of his house 
was a few rods northwest of the present 
building. Here he built several small 
vessels, which he used to good advantage. 
His next removal was to Captain's Hill, 
where he erected a house on the southern 

slope, and there spent the remainder of his 
days. He married, February 18, 1746, 
Rhoda Delano, and they were the par- 
ents of the following children : Nathaniel, 
born January 15, 1747; Joshua, of further 
mention; Samuel, born August 31, 1751; 
William, born January 27, 1753 ; John, 
born August 31, 1756; James, born July 
I9> i759> died February 21, 1767; Peter, 
born August 21, 1761 ; Rhoda, born June 

5, 1764, married, January i, 1784, Amos 
Brown; Betsey, born February 3, 1768, 
married Job Sampson ; James, born March 

17, 1770. Samuel Winsor (father) died 
May 22, 1770, aged forty-five 3^ears, and 
his widow survived him many years, her 
death occurring June i, 1799. 

(Ill) Joshua Winsor, second son of 
Samuel and Rhoda (Delano) Winsor, was 
born in Duxbury, Massachusetts, May i, 
1749. He spent a long life of activity and 
usefulness, honored and esteemed for his 
many noble qualities of mind and heart. 
He married (first) Olive Thomas, bom 
December 28, 1752, in Marshfield, Massa- 
chusetts, died in Duxbury, same .State, 
daughter of Deacon Nehemiah and Abiah 
(Winslow) Thomas. He married (sec- 
ond) Ruth Thomas, sister of his first wife, 
born June 14, 1755. He married (third) 
Deborah Fish, born December 11, 1756, 
died May 6, 1843. Ten children were 
born to Mr. Winsor, as follows : i. Lucy, 
born May 17, 1775, died February 15, 
1867 ; married Captain Samuel Delano. 2. 
Charles, born December 9, 1776, died 
young. 3. Judith, born September 11, 
1778; married, December 10, 1795, Dr. 
Rufus Hathaway. 4. Thomas, of further 
mention. 5. Seth, born May 5, 1782; 
married, September 30, 1802, Betsey Hunt. 

6. Hannah, born May 20, 1785 ; married 
Solomon Washburn. 7. Olive, born June 

18, 1786, died young. 8. Joseph, bom 
May 6, 1788 ; married (first) Lydia Samp- 



son, (second) Betsey Sprague. 9. George, 
born March 14, 1790; married Alice 
Turner. 10. Ellis, born May 29, 1797. 
Joshua Winsor, father of these children, 
died in 1827. 

(IV) Thomas Winsor, second son of 
Joshua Winsor, was born July 22, 1780, 
and died in the year 1832. He was con- 
nected with the firm of Phineas Sprague 
& Company, merchants and ship owners, 
of Boston, Massachusetts, whose business 
was conducted along strictly honorable 
lines. Mr. Winsor fulfilled the duties of 
business man, citizen, husband and father 
in an exemplary manner, which won for 
him the respect of all who knew him. He 
married, in 1802, Welthea Sprague, born 
June 2, 1784, died May 15, 1855. Chil- 
dren: Henry, born December 31, 1803; 
Jane, born July 31, 1805; Seth, born Sep- 
tember 30, 1807; Thomas, Jr., born Au- 
gust 22, 1809 ; Alfred, of further mention ; 
Edwin, born November 5, 1812, died aged 
one year; Harriet, born May 25, 1816; 
Ezbeth Hale, born April 14, 1818; Ju- 
dith Sprague, born August i, 1820; Rufus, 
born September 27, 1822; Frederick, born 
October 2, 1829. 

(V) Alfred Winsor, fourth son of 
Thomas and Welthea (Sprague) Winsor, 
was born April 9, 181 1, and died Septem- 
ber 16, 1871. He was a well-known mer- 
chant of Boston, Massachusetts, also an 
extensive ship owner, deriving a lucrative 
livelihood from these lines of business. 
He was active in community aflFairs, inter- 
ested in all that concerned the good of his 
section of the State, and ranked high in 
commercial circles. He married, April 11, 
1833, Ann Maria Bird, born December 28, 
1812, died August 16, 1895. Children: 
Helen Maria, born February 22, 1834; 
Mary Percival, born April 9, 1836; Alfred, 
Jr., born February 4, 1838; Frank Gor- 
don, born February 27, 1840 ; Rufus Hath- 

away, of further mention ; Laura Town- 
send, born June 30, 1845; Walter Thax- 
ter, born November i, 1847; Amy Scott, 
born October 10, 1850; Ernest, born July 
18, 1852. 

(VI) Rufus Hathaway Winsor, third 
son of Alfred and Ann Maria (Bird) Win- 
sor, was born in Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts, July 16, 1843. He was educated in 
the schools of Boston, Massachusetts, 
Perth Amboy, New Jersey, and in private 
schools, this knowledge qualifying him 
for an active and useful career, which was 
spent in the textile industry, serving in 
the capacity of paymaster at the Chapin 
Mills in Northboro and in the Ludlow 
Mills in Ludlow, both in Massachusetts. 
In 1898 he moved to Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, and from that time until his 
death, he was practically retired. He was 
a man of high character, and sterling in- 
tegrity. He was a Unitarian in religion, 
and a Republican in politics. 

Mr. Winsor married, October 6, 1873, 
Clara Ann Bartlett, of Sutton, Vermont, 
born June 25, 1849, ^^^^ February 23, 
1918, daughter of Alfred and Anna H. 
(Joy) Bartlett. (See Bartlett VII.). Chil- 
dren of Mr. and Mrs. Winsor: Harriet 
Bartlett, born June 24, 1875 ; Anna, bom 
November 21, 1876, died May 14, 1885 ; 
Rufus Hathaway, Jr., born March 27, 
1880, died May 21, 1885; Helen Maria, 
born April 14, 1886, died March 17, 1891. 
Harriet Bartlett Winsor still resides in 
Springfield ; she takes much interest in 
genealogy and is a member of the Daugh- 
ters of the American Revolution. Rufus 
H. Winsor, father of these children, died 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, March 31, 

(The Bartlett Line) 

The Bartlett name is one of the most 
ancient in England, and one of the most 
distinguished in America. The original 



spelling- was Barttelot, and that has been 
retained by the head of the English house, 
Sir and Colonel Walter B. Barttelot, of 
Stopham in Sussex. He traces his descent 
to Adam Barttelot, who came over with 
William the Conqueror, and received a 
grant of land in Sussex. 

(I) Robert Bartlett, the first American 
ancestor, was born in England, and died 
in 1676, in Plymouth, Massachusetts. In 
July, 1623, he landed in the New World, 
having come from Europe in the ship 
"Ann." He located at Plymouth, and 
Plymouth Colony gave him an acre of 
land for a house lot and garden. He mar- 
ried, in 1628, Mary Warren, daughter of 
Richard Warren, a "Mayflower" Pilgrim. 
Eight children were born to them, among 
whom is Joseph, of further mention. 

(II) Joseph Bartlett, second son and 
child of Robert and Mary (Warren) Bart- 
lett, was born in Plymouth, Massachu- 
setts, in 1639, and died in 171 1. He set- 
tled in Manomet Ponds or South Plym- 
outh, a village located about seven or 
eight miles from the town proper, on the 
seashore, and of late years has been a 
summer resort of some note. He married 
Hannah Fallowell, daughter of Gabriel 
Fallowell. She died in 1710, aged seventy- 
two years. The monuments of Joseph 
and Hannah Bartlett are on Burial Hill, 
in Plymouth, Massachusetts. They were 
the parents of seven children, among 
whom was Robert, of further mention. 

(HI) Robert (2) Bartlett, son of Jo- 
seph and Hannah (Fallowell) Bartlett, 
was born in Plymouth, Massachusetts, in 
1663, date of death 1718, aged fifty-five 
years. He married (first), in 1687, Sarah 
Bartlett, his cousin, daughter of Benja- 
min Bartlett. He married (second), in 
1 69 1, Sarah Cook, daughter of Jacob Cook. 
Children of second marriage : Hannah, 
born- 1691 ; Thomas, born 1694; John, 
bom 1696; Sarah, born 1699; James, 

born 1701 ; Joseph, of further mention; 
Elizabeth, born 1707; William, born 1709. 

(IV) Joseph (2) Bartlett, fourth son 
of Robert (2) and Sarah (Cook) Bartlett, 
was born in Plymouth, Massachusetts, in 
1704. He resided in Plymouth all his 
days, and was a deacon in the church 
there. He married, in 1737, Sarah Norton, 
born 1705, died December 23, 1785, and 
she bore him seven children, as follows : 
Sarah, born 1737; Joseph, born 1738; 
Thomas, of further mention ; Josiah, born 
1744; Martha, born 1747; Hannah, born 
1749. The father of these children died 
May 30, 1783', and both he and his wife 
are interred in Burial Hill Cemetery, 

(V) Thomas Bartlett, second son of Jo- 
seph (2) and Sarah (Norton) Bartlett, 
was born in Plymouth, Massachusetts, 
1742, and died there in 1808. He enlisted 
in the Revolutionary War, September 7, 
1777, and was a private in Captain John 
Bannister's company. Colonel Job Cush- 
ing's regiment, and performed valiant 
service. He married, 1765, Betty Bartlett, 
born 1747, died September 20, 1779, 
daughter of Sylvanus Bartlett, who was 
a soldier during the Revolutionary War, 
was with Captain Sprague's company, list 
of October, 1777, and in Captain Thomas 
Sampson's company, 1776. Children of 
Thomas and Betty Bartlett: Betsey, 
Jerusha, Daniel, Thomas, of further men- 
tion ; and Deborah. 

(VI) Thomas (2) Bartlett, second son 
of Thomas (i) and Betty (Bartlett) Bart- 
lett, was born in Plymouth, Massachu- 
setts, May 19, 1771, and died in Burke, 
Vermont, June 19, 1857. He moved to 
Vermont at the age of sixteen, and fitted 
for college with Judge Miles, of Fairlee, 
Vermont. He entered Dartmouth Col- 
lege, 1794, but ill health compelled him to 
leave after studying there for two years. 
He moved to Burke, same State, 1802, and 



taug-ht school there during- that year. He 
was offered and accepted the position of 
town clerk, the first to fill that office, and 
also served as representative of the town 
to the General Assembly, being also the 
first to fill that office. He married Ann 
Little, and among their children was Al- 
fred, of further mention. 

(VII) Alfred Bartlett, son of Thomas 
(2) and Ann (Little) Bartlett, was born 
in Burke, Vermont, in 1816, died at age of 
thirty-five, in Danville, Vermont, tie at- 
tended the common schools in the neigh- 
borhood of his home, spent his youth in the 
usual way of boys of that period, and 
when a young man was elected high sher- 
iff of Caladonia county, and held this 
until his death in 1851. He married Anna 
H. Joy, and among their children was 
Clara Ann, who became the wife of Rufus 
Hathaway Winsor. (See Winsor VI.). 

BARRI, John Atherton, 

Active Business Man. 

A native son of the State of Massachu- 
setts, a resident of Springfield for the 
past sixteen years, and a descendant of a 
French Huguenot ancestry, John Ather- 
ton Barri stands out prominently among 
the men who have made a success in their 
business careers. His standing in the 
community is due not alone to his busi- 
ness prominence, but for the public- 
spirited interest shown in regard to any 
matter concerning the public welfare. 

(I) Bartholomew Barri, immigrant an- 
cestor of the branch of the family repre- 
sented by John Atherton Barri, was born 
in the south of France, where many of 
the name reside. He was reared and 
educated in his native land, and upon ar- 
riving at the suitable age served in the 
French navy in the Royal Marine Corps 
under the famous Count De Grasse in 
the year 1777. When seventeen years 

of age, having decided to come to the 
New World, he set sail from Marseilles, 
France, and upon arriving in this country 
located in Portsmouth or Newcastle, New 
Hampshire, and there spent the remainder 

of his days. He married Mary , 

and among their children was Philip 
Bartholomew, of whom further. 

(II) Philip Bartholomew Barri, son of 
Bartholomew and Mary Barri, was born 
in 1803. He was a resident of Ports- 
mouth and Newcastle, New Hampshire, 
prominent in business and community af- 
fairs, and highly regarded by all who 
knew him. He married three times, and 
was the father of six sons and four daugh- 
ters. His death occurred in Portsmouth, 
New Hampshire, in 1867, aged sixty-four 

(III) Thomas Oliver Barri, son of 
Philip Bartholomew Barri, was born in 
Norwich, Connecticut, November 16, 
182 1. The greater part of his life was 
spent in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and 
he was associated with his brother-in-law, 
Hiram Tucker, in the field of inven- 
tion, achieving success therein. He was 
a West Point graduate, and at the out- 
break of the War of the Rebellion volun- 
teered his services, enlisting from New 
York City in 1861, and was made captain 
of a company in the Eleventh Regiment 
of Regulars. His regiment suffered heav- 
ily in the various engagements in which 
it participated, his company losing most 
of its officers, and he was wounded three 
times at the battle of Gettysburg, in 
which struggle he also lost his life, July 
3, 1863. His remains were interred in the 
cemetery at Gettysburg, and his name ap- 
pears on the monument erected at West 
Point, New York. Captain Barri married 
Fannie Howe, of Spencer, Massachusetts, 
born November 26, 183 1, daughter of 
Elias Howe, Sr., and sister of Elias Howe, 
Jr., the inventor of the Howe sewing 



machine. Captain and Mrs. Barri were 
the parents of three children : John 
Atherton, of whom further; Fannie Cur- 
tis, who became the wife of James W. 
Kirkham of Springfield, who died leaving 
a son William ; Thomas, died young. 
Mrs. Barri married (second) John W. 
Barri, brother of her first husband. They 
were the parents of a daughter, Alice 
Hamilton, who became the wife of Frank 
Tuffts, of Springfield ; he is now deceased. 

(IV) John Atherton Barri, eldest son 
of Captain Thomas Oliver and Fannie 
(Howe) Barri, was born in Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, February 27, 1855. He at- 
tended the schools in the vicinity of his 
home, the Reading, Massachusetts, High 
School, and the Massachusetts Agricul- 
tural College, from which he graduated in 
1875. In that year he entered the employ 
of the Metropolitan Bank, Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, where he remained three years, 
and the following year was engaged in 
the lumber business. He then came to 
New York City and engaged in the fer- 
tilizer business, so continuing until the 
year 1882, when he removed to Bridge- 
port, Connecticut, and engaged in the 
same business until 1894. In the follow- 
ing year, 1895, he purchased the Berk- 
shire Mill property located in Bridgeport, 
one of the oldest mills along the Long 
Island Sound, and since then has con- 
ducted a wholesale and retail grain and 
coal business, which has increased in vol- 
ume and importance during the interven- 
ing years, more than a quarter of a cen- 
tury. In 1905, Mr. Barri took up his resi- 
dence in Springfield, where he has con- 
tinued to reside up to the present (1921). 
He is a member of the Loyal Legion of 
the State of Massachusetts, the University 
Club, and the Sea Side Club of Bridge- 
port. He is a member of the Christian 
Science church. 

Mr. Barri married, October i, 1883, 

Mrs. Jennie (Howe) Howe, born in 
Springfield, July 16, 1849, daughter of 
William and Azubah (Stone) Howe, and 
widow of Benjamin Porter Howe, who 
died in 1879. She was a member of the 
First Church of Christ (Scientist), and 
greatly interested in the work of the 
church, and was active in war work as a 
member of the Colonial Dames. She died 
April 14, 1921. She is survived by her 
husband, a daughter, Mrs. William E. 
Shoemaker, of Bridgeton, New Jersey, 
six grandchildren, and a sister, Mrs. 
Hiram Garretson, of Cleveland, Ohio. 
William Howe, father of Mrs. Barri, was 
the inventor of the Howe truss bridge ; he 
was a resident of Springfield up to the 
time of his death, 1852. He built all the 
railroad bridges in the United States, 
North, South, East and West. As the 
railroads extended West, he continued 
to keep in touch with them, building all 
bridges. He also built railroad bridges 
in Russia, building one from Moscow to 
St. Petersburg; also built bridges in 

HAYNES, Stanford Lyman, 

licader in Civic Affairs. 

In presenting to the readers of this vol- 
ume the history of Stanford Lyman 
Haynes, late of Springfield, we record the 
account of a life that was both honorable 
and useful. He was one of Springfield's 
native sons, educated in her schools, 
trained in business methods in his 
father's establishment in that city, and 
engaged there in business until his 
death, a true representative of that city, 
her institutions and her citizenship. 

(I) Walter Haynes, the earliest known 
ancestor of the line herein followed, was 
born in the town of Sutton, Mandeville, 
County Wilts, England, in 1583. He was 
educated and grew to manhood in his 


'^^^^^^r/^c^^ry/ ^ . 



native land, there married and reared his 
children, and was the owner of property 
in the village of Shaston, Island of Pur- 
beck, Dorsetshire. In 1638, he left South- 
ampton, England, for this country, sail- 
ing on the "Confidence," accompanied by 
his wife, three- sons, two daughters, and 
three servants. He landed at Water- 
town, Massachusetts and there resided 
until December 22, 1639, when he removed 
to Sudbury where he, with others, ob- 
tained a grant. He was a linen weaver 
by trade. He was made a freeman in 
1640, was representative in the years 
1641 -44-48-5 1, and was one of the select- 
men of Sudbury for ten years. His wife, 
Elizabeth Haynes, bore him six children, 
as follows : Thomas, John, Josiah, Suf- 
france. Alary, and another, name un- 
known, who remained in England. 

(II) Josiah Haynes, third son of Wal- 
ter and Elizabeth Haynes, was a native of 
England, was there educated, and ac- 
companied his parents upon their removal 
to this country, making his home there- 
after in the State of Massachusetts. He 
married, November 13, 1646, Elizabeth 
(Noyes) Freeman, daughter of Peter 
Noyes, and widow of John Freeman. 
Peter Noyes came from England in the 
same ship with Walter Haynes and fam- 
ily, accompanied by his three sons and 
three daughters, including Elizabeth, 
aforementioned. Five children were born 
to Josiah and Elizabeth Haynes, as fol- 
lows: Josiah, Caleb, Joshua, Deborah, 

(HI) Josiah (2) Haynes, eldest son of 
Josiah (i) and Elizabeth (Noyes-Free- 
man) Haynes, was born in Sudbury, 
Massachusetts, April 27, 1655, died there 
in 1743. He married, about 1685, Abigail 
Stark, and they were the parents of four 
children, among them were Josiah and 

(IV) Josiah (3) Haynes, eldest son of 

Mass — 10 — 7 

Josiah (2) and Abigail (Stark) Haynes, 
was born in Sudbury, Massachusetts, in 

1685. He married , and was the 

father of two children, namely : Joshua 
and Jason. 

(V) Joshua Haynes, eldest son of 
Josiah (3) Haynes, was born in Sudbury, 
Massachusetts, in 1707. He married 

, and was the father of six children, 

as follows : Joshua, Rachel, Dorothy, 
John, Susannah and Silas. 

(VI) John Haynes, second son of 
Joshua Haynes, was born in Sudbury, 
Massachusetts, in 1762. He married 

; and he was the father of seven 

children, as follows : Sally, Tilly, Reu- 
ben, Stephen, John, David, Lyman. 

(VII) Lyman Haynes, sixth son of 
John Haynes, was born in Sudbury, 
Massachusetts, October 13, 1803, died in 
Billerica, Massachusetts, December 21, 
1869. His early years were spent on his 
father's farm, where his birth occurred, 
and he there gained a thorough knowl- 
edge of everything pertaining to farm 
work, following that line of work, in addi- 
tion to the making of brick, until the year 
1832, when Mr. Haynes, in company with 
a friend, went to Billerica with the possi- 
bility of securing the contract for con- 
structing the road bed for the railroad 
that was being built between Boston and 
Lowell. His mind was diverted from this 
idea and changed into an entirely differ- 
ent channel, he leasing the hotel in Bil- 
lerica known as the "Corner." Later he 
purchased a hotel located on Andover 
street, and there remained until 1842, in 
which year he exchanged the hotel for a 
farm in Billerica. He resided in the vil- 
lage for the greater part of ten years, con- 
ducting a real estate business in partner- 
ship with two other men, they being the 
owners of various farms in that vicinity. 
He then took up his residence on his farm, 
the greater portion of the land being de- 



voted to orchard purposes, making a spe- 
cialty of peaches, from the sale of which 
he derived a goodly income. In politics 
he was a Whig until the formation of the 
Republican party, to which he thereafter 
gave his allegiance. Mr. Haynes mar- 
ried, May 28, 1826, at Sudbury, Massa- 
chusetts, Caroline Hunt, a native of Sud- 
bury, born June 9, 1808, a daughter of 
William and Thankful (Wheeler) Hunt. 
She survived her husband twenty-three 
years, and was the owner of property in 
Springfield, No. 59 St. James avenue, 
where she resided ; her death occurred 
at the United States Hotel, Boston, June 
8, 1882. Eight children were born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Haynes, as follows: i. Tilly, of 
further mention. 2. Theodore L., of 
further mention. 3. Cyrus H., born July 
8, 1833; married Harriet Brown. 4. 
Charles Robbins, born April 17, 1836. 5. 
William H., born April 21, 1838. 6. Car- 
oline, born January 26, 1841 ; married 
(first) Henry M. Jenkins, (second) Dan- 
iel Webb ; was the proprietor of the 
Broadway Central Hotel, New York City, 
which was given her by her brother, Tilly 
Haynes. 7. John, born September 18, 
1846; married (first) Elizabeth Wiggin, 
(second) Abbie Herrick, (third) Margaret 
(Conner) Haynes. 8. Adeline, born May 
28, 1849; married James G. Hickey; be- 
came manager of the United States Hotel, 
Boston, through the will of her brother, 
Tilly Haynes. 

(VIII) Tilly Haynes, eldest son of 
Lyman and Caroline (Hunt) Haynes, was 
born in Sudbury, Massachusetts, Febru- 
ary 13, 1828, died in Boston, Massachu- 
setts, August 10, 1901. At the age of 
fourteen, after a common school educa- 
tion, he secured employment as a clerk in 
a general store in North Reading, where 
he remained one year, then worked for a 
short time in Methuen, now a part of Law- 
rence, after which he accepted employ- 

ment in a dry goods store in Waltham. 
Later he entered the employ of George 
W. Simmons in the well known Oak Hall 
establishment in Boston, having charge of 
the oil skins and other goods of that char 
acter sold to sailors. In 1849 he was sent 
by his employer to take charge of his 
branch store in Springfield, and later in 
the same year he purchased the same from 
Mr. Simmons, borrowing the money from 
his father, returning it at the expiration 
of three months from the proceeds of his 
sales. The store was located on the cor- 
ner of Main and State streets, twenty by 
thirty feet, and three years later he rented 
the adjoining store, this being made 
necessary by the increase in business. In 
1855 he sold his clothing business to his 
brother, Theodore L. Haynes, and de- 
voted himself to his outside interests, he 
having in the previous year built the large 
double brick house on State street, op- 
posite Merrick Park, where he resided for 
a few years. In 1856 he purchased the 
property on the corner of Main and 
Pynchon streets, and at once began the 
erection of a block that was to contain 
several stores and a music hall, complet- 
ing it in the following year. He increased 
his real estate interests in 1862 by buying 
lots on Main and Pynchon streets, where 
he erected a building that now forms a 
part of the Haynes block. On the night of 
July 24, 1864, a fire destroyed some of his 
property, but with money loaned to him 
by Mr. Day, president of the Springfield 
Institution for Savings, he began the 
erection of a theatre and hotel on the op- 
posite corner, and both were success- 
fully opened by him within a year. He 
then began his active hotel life, conduct- 
ing the Haynes Hotel until 1876, a period 
of eleven years, then leased it. He did not 
again enter hotel life until 1880, when he 
was induced to remove to Boston to take 
charge of the United States Hotel, which 


Arr-.n-^n "isVr!!- 

^y^/ieO'c/<: rt ^. •7UiUvi^e4 


was not a profitable investment at the 
time, but under his aggressive and pro- 
gressive methods the hotel again resumed 
its former prosperity. Some years later 
Mr. Haynes took charge of the Broadv^^ay 
Central Hotel, New York City, and built 
up a reputation there that was envied 
throughout the country. In addition to 
his active business career, Mr. Haynes 
held important public offices, the duties 
of which he performed in a like creditable 
manner. He was a member of the Com- 
mon Council in 1864 and 1871 ; a member 
of the House of Representatives in 1868- 
70, the Senate in 1875-77, the Executive 
Council in 1878-79. During his first term 
in the Legislature he was chairman of 
the committee in charge of the rebuilding 
of the State House; in 1876 he was chair- 
man of the railroad committee ; in 1892 he 
was appointed a member of the Metro- 
politan sewerage commission. He was a 
Whig and later a Republican in politics. 
Mr. Haynes has been spoken of as "blufiF, 
genial, kindly Tilly Haynes," and the ex- 
pression described the man. He followed 
to the best of his ability the "Golden 
Rule," and he left to the city of Spring- 
field $10,000 for the improvement of the 
river front and extension of Court Square. 

Mr. Haynes married, in Billerica, 
Massachusetts, July 16, 1852, Martha C. 
Eaton, born in Salisbury, Massachusetts, 
died in Springfield, March 6, 1876. They 
had no children. 

(VIII) Theodore L. Haynes^ second 
son of Lyman and Caroline (Hunt) 
Haynes, was born in Sudbury, Massachu- 
setts, April 2, 1830, and died in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, December 29, 1906. 
He attended the public schools of Bil- 
lerica, and in 1851, when in his twenty- 
first year, accepted a position in the 
clothing store conducted by his brother, 
Tilly Haynes, in Springfield, his remun- 
eration at first being his board and clothes. 

Later, in partnership with Messrs. Alle> 
and Miller, he purchased the business 
from his brother, it being then known 
under the style of Alley, Haynes & Miller, 
and a few years later Mr. Haynes pur- 
chased the interests of his partners and 
assumed the management of the business 
with his brother as a silent partner. The 
business soon outgrew its quarters, and a 
new and larger building was erected by 
the Haynes Brothers, but in 1864 this 
building, together with a large part of the 
stock, was destroyed by fire. In the follow- 
ing year, 1865, the store again opened for 
business in the new block erected by Tilly 
Haynes, and at this time Theodore L. 
Haynes became the sole owner. Later he 
admitted his brother, John Haynes, who 
added new life to the business, and it grew 
in volume and importance, it being neces- 
sary to add more space from time to time. 
In 1875 the business was moved to the 
Massachusetts Mutual building, and two 
years later to a building on Main street, 
the first floor only being occupied in the 
beginning. In the early eighties it was 
considerably extended, and in 1901 the 
entire block was taken over and a new 
front built. They then gave employment 
to one hundred hands, this being one of 
the largest firms carrying nothing but 
men's furnishings in the New England 
States. Every project which had for its 
object the betterment of Springfield re- 
ceived his cordial support, and for many 
years he was an active factor in the work 
of the Board of Trade, he at first supply- 
ing the office for their use in his building. 
He was probably the originator of the 
plan which led to the development of 
what is known as the McKnight district, 
and he was one of the instigators of the 
movement which led to the establishment 
of the Home for Friendless Women and 
Children, and he donated two lots which 
comprised the site of the Buckingham 



street home. He was a member of Hope 
Church, active and prominent in the work 
thereof, and was an earnest supporter of 
the Republican party. He was inter- 
ested in all improvements in the city and, 
like his brother, contributed generously 
to the Court Square extension and to the 
improvement of the river front. 

Mr. Haynes married (first) in Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts, February 28, 1865, 
Jennie Lewis, of Utica, New York, who 
died in Billerica, Massachusetts, June 3, 
1867. He married (second) Laura A. 
(Shaw) Blanchard, daughter of John K. 
and Mary Shaw, and widow of Thomas 
Blanchard, of Boston, the distinguished 
inventor. Mrs. Haynes died in 1905. Mr. 
and Mrs. Haynes were the parents of one 
child, Stanford Lyman, of further men- 

(IX) Stanford Lyman Haynes, only 
child of Theodore L. and Laura A. (Shaw- 
Blanchard) Haynes, was born in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, October 3, 1869, 
died May 22, 1920. He attended the pub- 
lic schools of Springfield, Mitchell's 
Academy in Billerica, and Wilbraham 
Academy, completing his studies in the 
year 1886. Instead of pursuing a college 
career he chose travel as a means of sup- 
plementing his education and experience, 
and during his extensive trips in Europe, 
South America and Mexico considerably 
broadened his knowledge of men and af- 
fairs. He was intensely interested in the 
system of extending and beautifying 
European cities, and during his trips 
abroad in later years collected much data, 
which he hoped later to incorporate in 
plans to improve and beautify Spring- 
field while a member of the City Planning 
Commission. His first employment was 
as errand boy in the firm of Haynes & 
Company, then owned by his father, his 
purpose being to gain a thorough knowl- 
edge of the clothing business in all its 

details, and he rose in quick succession to 
stock clerk, salesman, manager, being ap- 
pointed to that position in 1898, and from 
the death of his father, in 1906, until 
within a year of his own death, was the 
head of the well known clothing house of 
Haynes & Company. As a business man 
he was considered of excellent judgment, 
and as an employer he was generally re- 
spected for the considerate manner he 
showed towards all in his employ. 

From early manhood Mr. Haynes was 
keenly interested in the welfare and 
growth of his native city. He was a man 
of broad vision, who saw a future for the 
city of which he and his fellow-citizens 
could be justly proud, and it was toward 
that ideal that he always worked during 
his years of service to the city as an of- 
ficial and a citizen. He was anxious to 
do his share and assist in elevating it to 
the position he believed it to be entitled 
to. In 1897 he was elected to the Com- 
mon Council, in which he served two 
years, declining reelection in the latter 
year because of increasing business re- 
sponsibilities. From 1899 to 1904 he 
served on the board of directors of the 
Board of Trade, now the Chamber of 
Commerce, and in 1908 was appointed to 
the Board of Water Commissioners, and 
was one of the most interested members 
of the board in the work of installing the 
Borden Brook and Little River water 
system. He was a trustee of the Spring- 
field Hospital Corporation ; a director of 
the American International College ; and 
a member of the following: Finance 
committee of the Springfield Safe De- 
posit and Trust Company ; the corpora- 
tion of the Springfield Home for the 
Aged ; the executive committee of the 
Connecticut River Navigation Associa- 
tion, and a director and life member of 
the City Library Association. He was a 
member of several local Masonic bodies ; 


member of George Washington Chapter, 
Sons of the American Revolution; the 
Connecticut Valley Historical Society ; 
the Country Club of Springfield ; the Union 
League Club ; and Colony Club, of which 
he was a charter member; and was vice- 
president of the Nayasset Club, serving 
as a member of its board of managers. 
His philanthropies, which were extensive, 
were carried out privately, and in every 
movement for the civic welfare his name 
was one of those prominently concerned. 
Mr. Haynes' one hobby was golf, which 
he played at every spare moment he had, 
and during the winter months he often 
went South to pursue his favorite pastime. 
He was one of the automobile pioneers, 
and at an early time was a member of the 
Massachusetts Auto Racing Association. 

Mr. Haynes married (first), in 1891, 
Emily R. Leonard, daughter of Gran- 
ville H. Leonard, of Easthampton, 
Massachusetts, manager of the Nosha- 
wonnuck Mills. She died October 13, 
1901. Mr. Haynes married (second), 
1912, Annie O. Coolidge, of Springfield. 
Mr. Haynes passed away at his home in 
Springfield, May 2, 1920. He was sur- 
vived by his wife, one son, Laurence 
Stanford, of further mention, and two 
daughters, Emily and Theodosia, all of 
Longmeadow. In the death of Mr. 
Haynes the city of Springfield loses one 
of its foremost exponents of a greater and 
better Springfield. The spirit of friendly 
cooperation which he showed in his activ- 
ities caused his death to be mourned by 
all with whom he was brought in contact. 
He was gifted with a personality that won 
him a host of friends, who found him the 
same, under all conditions, kind, consid- 
erate, loyal. 

(X) Laurence Stanford Haynes, only 
son of Stanford Lyman and Emily R. 
(Leonard) Haynes, was born in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, June 17, 1893. His 

advantages were gained by attendance at 
the public schools of Springfield, also those 
of Billerica, entering them at the same 
age as his father, ten years ; he attended 
high school of Springfield, from which he 
was graduated, and Williams College, 
from which he was graduated in 1915. 
He gained his business knowledge in the 
employ of Haynes & Company, of which 
his father was the head, entering as an 
errand boy, and in due course of time was 
elected to the office of vice-president, de- 
voting all his time and energy to the busi- 
ness and ably assisting his father in the 
management of affairs. Upon the death 
of his father, in 1920, he succeeded him in 
the office of president. 

Upon the entrance of the United States 
into the great World War, Mr. Haynes 
offered his services to his country, which 
were accepted. He went to the Officers' 
Training Camp at Plattsburg, New York, 
where he was made second lieutenant of 
the Motor Transport Corps ; later he was 
promoted to the rank of first lieutenant 
and was sent to Camp Devens, located 
near Ayer, Massachusetts, and later to 
Buffalo, New York, having charge of the 
motor truck divisions at both places. He 
remained in Buffalo until his honorable 
discharge from the government, Febru- 
ary I, 1919. He at once returned to his 
former duties, in which he has since been 
engaged. In politics Mr. Haynes is a 
Republican. He is a member of the 
Colony Club, Nayasset Club, Springfield 
Country Club, Norfolk Hunt Club, and 
of the college fraternities. He is highly 
esteemed for his many excellent character- 
istics, and is a worthy descendant of this 
old and honorable family, 

Mr. Haynes married, August 18, 1917, 
G. Helen Robson, of New York City, 
daughter of Edward Arthur and Grace 
Wilkins (Selkirk) Robson, and grand- 
daughter of Peter R. Robson, both men 



being noted in the insurance business. 
Edward A. Robson came to this country 
from England. Two children have been 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Haynes: Grace 
Wilkins, born February ii, 1919; and 
Laurence S., Jr., born April 4, 1921. 

BALL, Freelon Quincy, 

Lawyer, Active in Pnblic Affairs. 

Freelon Quincy Ball, who for twenty 
years has practiced his profession at 
the Hampden county bar, maintaining 
offices in Springfield and Monson, is a 
descendant of Amos Ball, who came from 
England, settling at Ipswich, Massachu- 
setts. Descent follows through his son, 
Thomas Ball, of Ipswich ; his son, Thomas 
(2) Ball, of Charlestown, New Hamp- 
shire, who was killed by the Indians in 
the old fort at Charlestown ; his son, Saul 
Ball, a lieutenant in the Revolutionary 
army, born in Alstead, New Hampshire; 
his son, Joseph Ball ; his son, Freelon 
Quincy Ball ; his son, Freelon Quincy (2) 

Joseph Ball was born in Alstead, New 
Hampshire, but spent his life in Acworth, 
New Hampshire, whence he became very 
influential, and at different times held all 
the town offices. He was a justice of the 
peace, and a deacon of the Congregational 
church and took an active part in all af- 
fairs of the community until his death at 
the age of seventy-two years. He mar- 
ried a Miss Hayward, of Acworth, and 
they were the parents of five children : 
Hiram H., a chair factory foreman of 
Gardner, Massachusetts ; married, and 
died, leaving two children, one of whom, 
Edward C. Ball, is treasurer of the 
Conant-Ball Manufacturing Company ; 
Carlos, a chair manufacturer of Gardner, 
Massachusetts ; Laura, one of the pioneer 
school teachers of New York State, died 
unmarried: Hannah, married Levi Stev- 

ens, a prosperous truckman, conducting 
his business in Boston until his death; 
Freelon Quincy, of further mention. 

Freelon Quincy Ball, son of Joseph 
Ball, was born in Acworth, New Hamp- 
shire, May 5, 1826. He was educated in 
Acworth school, and there resided until 
1857, when he went West to Charlotte, 
Clinton county, Iowa, where he became 
a prosperous farmer, remaining until 
1896, when he returned to Massachusetts, 
making his home with his son in Mon- 
son until his death, eight years later, 
March, 1904. He was prominent in public 
and church work, a school in Davenport 
being named "The Ball School," in his 
honor. He held the office of town clerk. 
He married Christine Petersen, born in 
Sweden, her sister Rose also coming to 
the United States, becoming the wife of 
a prominent jeweler of Moline, Illinois. 
Mrs. Ball died in Charlotte, Iowa, in 1872. 
She was a member of the Baptist church, 
her husband a Methodist. They were the 
parents of the following: Harvey H., 
Quincy, Rose, Austin C, Herbert C, 
Freelon Quincy (2), see forward; Rose 
C, Quincy H., Gordon F. 

Freelon Quincy (2) Ball, son of Free- 
lon Quincy (i) and Christine (Petersen) 
Ball, was born in Charlotte, Iowa, Jan- 
uary 27, 1869, and there spent his youth. 
He was educated in Charlotte public 
schools, and in Windsor, Connecticut, 
there being under the tutoring of an 
Episcopal clergyman. He next came to 
Hampden, Massachusetts, where he was 
employed for two years, then located in 
Monson, Massachusetts, where he began 
the study of law under George H. New- 
ton, and three years later, in 1900, he was 
admitted to the bar. He began practice 
at once, and has since been continuously 
engaged in professional work in Spring- 
field and Monson. He is the senior mem- 
ber of the law firm. Ball & Lavigne, of 


Springfield, but also maintains private 
offices and practice in Monson. He is a 
member of the City and State Bar asso- 

A Republican in politics, Mr. Ball has 
for many years been very active in public 
affairs. He was a member of the Mon- 
son Board of Assessors for seventeen 
years, and chairman of the board for all 
but three years of that time. For tw^elve 
years he was a member and treasurer of 
the Board of Water Commissioners ; and 
was town clerk for five years. He was 
elected a member of the Massachusetts 
State Legislature in 1913 and in 1916, and 
in 1920 was a delegate from the First 
Congressional District to the Republican 
National Convention held in Chicago. He 
was chairman of the Election Commission 
sent to the Mexican border in 1916 to 
represent the soldiers voting, and as such 
cast the first ballot by a voter of Massa- 
chusetts when absent from the State 
since the Civil War. He was a member 
of the Trial Justice Commission, 1916- 
1917, with Judge Hilliard, of Pittsfield, 
and Judge Milliken, of New Bedford, as 
associates, and is a member of the Re- 
publican State Central Committee from 
the Worcester-Hampden district. He 
was a member of the War Industries 
Board of Western Massachusetts, and 
sat as a delegate in the Massachusetts 
Third Congressional District Convention 
in 1917; and was a member of the com- 
mittee on resolutions. He was Q,ne of the 
incorporators and is a trustee of Monson 
Home for Aged People. He served on the 
Monson Exemption Board ; is president 
of the Board of Trade ; president of the 
Social and Literary Club ; member of the 
Universalist church ; and takes a deep 
interest in the social life of his town. 

Mr. Ball married (first). May 11, 1892, 
Jennie S. Whitaker, of Monson. They 
were the parents of two children : Car- 

olyn R., born November 4, 1906; and 
Carlos Herrick, born May 7, 1909. Mrs. 
Ball, the mother of these children, died 
October 22, 1917. Mr. Ball married (sec- 
ond), March 15, 1919, Lucy Palmer John- 
son, of Monson, daughter of Charles and 
Martha P. (Palmer) Johnson. Mr. and 
Mrs. Ball are attendants of the Univer- 
salist church. Mrs. Ball is a graduate of 
Springfield high and Westfield normal 
schools, took a special course in Simmons 
College. Boston, and formerly taught in 
Monson and elsewhere. 

SMITH, Walter Anson, M. D., 

Specialist, Hospital Official. 

Dr. Walter Anson Smith, of Shelburne 
Falls, formerly of Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, comes of an old New England 

( I ) Joseph Smith, the earliest ancestor of 
this branch of the Smith family of whom 
there is definite information, was a resi- 
dent of Hartford, Connecticut, as early as 
1655. Twelve years later he was admitted 
a freeman of that town, where he resided 
until his death, which occurred in 1689- 
90; his will was dated June 13, 1689. He 
married, April 20, 1656, Lydia Huit, 
daughter of Ephraim Huit, of Windsor. 
She died in 1677. Children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Smith : Joseph, of further mention ; 
Samuel, born May 16, 1658, died young; 
Ephraim, born September 8, 1659; Lydia, 
born April 16, 1661, died young; Simon, 
born August 2, 1662 ; Nathaniel, born 
October, 1664; Lydia, born February 14, 
1666; Susanna, born June, 1667; Mary, 
born November, 1668; Martha, born 1670; 
Benjamin, born July 21, 1671 ; Elizabeth, 
born November, 1672; Sarah, born April 
I, 1674; Edward, born June 19, 1677; 
Mercy, born November, 1679. 

(II) Sergeant Joseph (2) Smith, eld- 
est son of Joseph (i) and Lydia (Huit) 



Smith, was born in Hartford, Connecticut, 
March i6, 1657. He resided in his native 
town until 1680, then removed to Hadley, 
Massachusetts, where he was admitted a 
freeman ten years later. He was the first 
permanent settler in Hadley, continuing 
his residence there until his death. In 
1687 he assumed charge of a grist mill at 
Mill river, and he or his sons tended the 
mill for the greater part of the time during 
the Indian wars. The house over the mill 
had a room with a chimney, and this was 
apparently the only house for a long per- 
iod, but the supposition is that neither 
he nor any member of his family spent the 
nights there until 1726, in which year 
permanent peace was made with the 
Indians. About that time Sergeant Smith 
and his son, Benjamin Smith, erected 
small houses in that vicinity. Sergeant 
Smith was a cooper by trade. In 1696 he 
was appointed sealer of weights and 
measures, serving in that capacity until 
his death ; in the same year he was ap- 
pointed meat packer and ganger of casks, 
in addition to conducting an inn in Had- 
ley. He was also prominent in public 
affairs, serving as selectman in 1696, 1707 
and 1 7 10, and was a member of the school 
committee in 1720. Sergeant Smith mar- 
ried, February 11, 1681, Rebecca Dickin- 
son, daughter of John Dickinson. Ser- 
geant and Mrs. Smith were the parents of 
eight children, as follows : Joseph, born 
November 8, 1681 ; John, born October 
24, 1684, died August 27, 1686; John, of 
further mention; Rebecca, born June 11, 
1689; Jonathan, born October 28, 1691 ; 
Lydia, born September 15, 1693; Ben- 
jamin, born January 22, 1696; Elizabeth, 
born December 22, 1701, died February 
15, 1728. Sergeant Smith died October i, 
1733, and the death of his wife occurred 
February 16, 1731. 

(Ill) Deacon John Smith, third son of 
Sergeant Joseph (2) and Rebecca (Dick- 

inson) Smith, was born January 5, 1687, 
in Hadley, Massachusetts. He was a 
resident of that town until 171 1, when he 
removed to Hatfield, Massachusetts, 
which was his place of residence until 
1736, when he removed to Belchertown, 
Massachusetts, where he spent the re- 
mainder of his days and where his death 
occurred in 1777. He married, in 1709, 
Elizabeth Hovey, whose death occurred 
in 1758. They were the parents of eleven 
children, as follows : John, born Decem- 
ber 21, 1710; Abner, born September 10, 
1712, died November 19, 1766; Elizabeth, 
born September 19, 1714; Daniel, born 
1716, died at Belchertown, May 31, 1800; 
Miriam, born October 30, 1718; Samuel, 
born 1721 ; Joseph, died in 1803 ; Elijah, of 
further mention ; Rachel, born January 4, 
1727, died 181 1 ; Sarah, born September 
2."], 1729; Rebecca, born May 4, 1732. 

(IV) Captain Elijah Smith, sixth son 
of Deacon John and Elizabeth (Hovey) 
Smith, was born in 1723 in Hatfield, 
Massachusetts. He accompanied his par- 
ents upon their removal to Belchertown, 
Massachusetts, and in that town spent the 
remainder of his days, his death occurring 
April 21, 1770. He was an active partici- 
pant in the French War, attaining the 
rank of captain in 1756. He was a mem- 
ber of the Belchertown church, which he 
served as a member of the board of dea- 
cons. He married, in 1751, Sibyl Worth- 
ington, daughter of Daniel Worthington, 
of Colchester, Connecticut. She survived 
him and married (second) Reuben Smith. 
She died May 26, 1828, aged one hundred 
and one years. Children of Mr. and Mrs. 
Smith: Asa, born 1752, died 1835; Sibyl, 
married, January, 1774, Deacon Joseph 
Bardwell ; Sarah W., married, in 1777, 
Elijah Bardwell ; Elijah, of further men- 
tion ; Elizabeth, married, April, 1778, John 
Cowles, Jr. ; Etham, born December 19, 
1762, graduated at Dartmouth College in 



1790; Jacob, born 1764, died April 5, 1852; 
William, born 1765, removed to Scipio, 
New York; Josiah H., removed to Scipio. 

(V) Elijah (2) Smith, second son of 
Captain Elijah (i) and Sibyl (Worthing- 
ton) Smith, was born in Belchertown, 
Massachusetts, in 1758. He removed 
from his native town to Ashfield, Massa- 
chusetts, and there successfully pursued 
his trades of carpenter and builder, 
achieving- a high degree of success. He 
married a Miss Sedam, of Albany, New 
York, and among their children were 
Elijah, of further mention, and Elisha. 

(VI) Elijah (3) Smith, son of Elijah 

(2) and (Sedam) Smith, was born 

in Ashfield, Massachusetts, March 20, 
1779. He married Mercy Wright, and 
they were the parents of ten children, as 
follows: Infant son, died January 17, 
1804; Lucretia, born December 10, 1804, 
died May 22, 1878; Henry Sedam, of 
further mention ; Infant son, died Febru- 
ary 14, 1809 ; Infant daughter, died July 7, 
1810; Emily, born October 3, 181 1, died 
December 18, 1890 ; Appollos, born June 
27, 1814, died June 8, 1886; Chloe, born 
August 21, 1815, died August 23, 1832; 
Elijah, born February 23, 1819, died 1894; 
Jerusha, born October 4, 1823, died Sep- 
tember 10, 1895. 

(VII) Henry Sedam Smith, second 
son of Elijah (3) and Mercy (Wright) 
Smith, was born in Ashfield, Massachu- 
setts, October 7, 1807. He attended the 
public schools of his native town^ served 
an apprenticeship to the trades of carpen- 
ter and builder, and became an expert in 
these lines. He later developed what was 
known as the Day splints used in the hold- 
ing in place of broken bones and sold 
them, being well known in this connec- 
tion. He married Rhoda Rogers, daugh- 
ter of Joseph Rogers. Seven children 
were born to Mr. and Mrs. Smith, as fol- 
lows : Arnold, of further mention ; Henry, 

born August 15, 1835, died January 9, 
1846; a son, born and died in 1837; Hor- 
ace, born November 23, 1839, died No- 
vember 23, 1845 y Eliza M., born Septem- 
ber 7, 1844, died September 26, 1846; 
William H., born March 19, 1847; John 
H., born December 18, 1848, died July 13, 
185 1. The father of these children died 
December 22, 1881. 

(VIII) Arnold Smith, eldest son of 
Henry Sedam and Rhoda (Rogers) Smith, 
was born in Ashfield, Massachusetts, De- 
cember 27, 1833. He was a pupil in the 
public schools of Ashfield, learned the 
trade of carpenter under the tuition of his 
father, and his active years were spent in 
the occupations of builder and contractor, 
many monuments to his skill and ability 
still standing in his native town and 
vicinity. He married Melinda Brunson, 
born March 25, 1835, daughter of Almon 
and Laura (Ames) Brunson. Two chil- 
dren were born to Mr. and Mrs. Smith, as 
follows: I. Walter Anson, of further 
mention. 2. Flora A. H., born November 
9, 1857, became the wife of Clarence S. 
Ward, deceased ; widow resides in Shel- 
burne Falls ; they were the parents of two 
children : Robert A. and Inez M. Ward. 
The death of Mr. Smith occurred July 29, 

(IX) Dr. Walter Anson Smith, only 
son of Arnold and Melinda (Brunson) 
Smith, was born in Ashfield, Massachu- 
setts, June 25, 1856. The public schools 
and Sanderson Academy of Ashfield af- 
forded him the means of acquiring an ex- 
cellent education. Having decided upon 
the profession of medicine for his life 
work, he matriculated at the University 
of Vermont, which institution conferred 
upon him the degree of Doctor of Medi- 
cine in 1882. For the following six and 
a half years he was engaged in active 
practice in Cummington, Massachusetts, 
then took a trip abroad, remaining one 



year, during which time he continued his 
medical studies as a private student under 
the famous Lawson Tait, of Birmingham, 
England, and during this period was 
elected to membership in the British Med- 
ical Association. The three years follow- 
ing his return to the United States, Dr. 
Smith spent in Hinsdale, Massachusetts, 
then made another trip abroad, this time 
being a private pupil of Dr. August Mar- 
tin at Berlin, Germany, for six months, 
and of Dr. S. Pozzi, at Paris, France, for 
three months. Dr. Smith returned to his 
native land in the fall of 1894, locating in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, where he 
made a specialty of surgery, and was well 
known. In 1895 he assisted in organizing 
Mercy Hospital, and for several years 
served on the surgical stafY. He also 
served as consulting surgeon of Spring- 
field Hospital, and established a very high 
reputation among the members of the 
medical fraternity. In 1914 Dr. Smith 
went to Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts, 
where he is now practically retired. He 
spends his summers in the State of Maine, 
and the greater part of his winters in the 
State of Florida. He was the founder of 
the Springfield Academy of Medicine, and 
has served as its president for some years. 
Dr. Smith is a prominent member of 
the Masonic order, striving to exemplify 
in his daily life the teachings and precepts 
of that old organization, holding member- 
ship in Hampshire Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of Haydenville, Massa- 
chusetts ; Springfield Council, Royal and 
Select Masters ; Springfield Commandery, 
Knights Templar ; and in the Scottish Rite 
has attained the thirty-second degree; and 
is a member of Melha Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine. He was a member of the Nayas- 
set Club, Schuetzen Turnverin, and other 
social organizations. From 1877 to 1880, 
he served as a member of Company E, 

Second Regiment, Massachusetts State 
Militia, and on January 24, 1905, was ap- 
pointed surgeon with the rank of lieuten- 
ant-colonel in the First Brigade, Massa- 
chusetts Volunteer Militia. In October, 
1907, when the militia came under national 
supervision, he was appointed major in 
the medical department, and was assigned 
to duty in the First Brigade, but is now 
retired. Dr. Smith is a Republican in 
politics, but has never sought political 
preferment, his professional duties oc- 
cupying the greater part of his time. 

Dr. Smith married, March 2, 1881, Mary 
P. Abbe, born December 31, 185 1, daugh- 
ter of Erastus B. and Anne (Burbank) 
Abbe. Dr. and Mrs. Smith are the parents 
of one son, Walter Abbe, born March 3, 
1882 ; attended Springfield High School, 
from which he graduated, then pursued 
a course in the Massachusetts Institute 
of Technology, Boston ; his first employ- 
ment was with the Stevens-Duryea Manu- 
facturing Company, and at the present 
time (1920) is serving as employment 
manager at the Greenfield Tap and Die 
Works in Greenfield, Massachusetts. He 
was appointed lieutenant in Company K, 
Second Regiment, Massachusetts Volun- 
teer Militia, also served one year on the 
staflF of the Second Regiment as battalion 
quartermaster and commissary, and when 
he retired from the militia was filling the 
rank of captain in Company G. Walter 
Abbe Smith married, August 17, 1907, 
Clara Grover. They are the parents of 
four children : Maud Louise, born Jan- 
uary 15, 1909; died February 12, 1917; 
Walter Arthur, born September 25, 1914; 
Marion Grover, born February 25, 1916; 
Richard Arnold, born June 13, 1920. Mrs. 
Dr. Smith is a member of the Daughters 
of the American Revolution through the 
patriotic services of Kli ancestor. General 
Seth Pomeron, but has five other Revolu- 
tionary ancestors. She has been very 



active and done much work along Daugh- 
ters of the American Revolution lines, and 
she is also a lineal descendant of William 
Bradford, one of the passengers of the 
historic "Mayflower." 

ADAMS, Charles, 

Head of World-Famous Nnrseries. 

After three generations in Massachu- 
setts, the ancestors of Charles Adams, of 
Springfield, -Massachusetts, located in 
New Hampshire, where eminent men of 
the name served church and State. John 
W. Adams, of the seventh generation, set- 
tled in Portland, Maine, and became well 
known there, but later he settled in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, returning to 
the State in which Adams is one of the 
most honored of names. The J. W. Adams 
Nursery Company is the outgrowth of the 
life of John W. Adams, and to his sons, 
Walter and Charles, president and treas- 
urer of the corporation, its present devel- 
opment is due. 

(I) Robert Adams, born in England, in 
1602, first came to Ipswich, Massachu- 
setts, in 1635, bringing with him his wife 
Eleanor and their two children. He lived 
in Salem the first five years of his New 
England residence, and followed his trade 
of tailor. He moved to Newbury in 1640, 
there acquiring a large farm and other 
property. His wife, Eleanor, died June 
12, 1677, and he married (second), Febru- 
ary 6, 1678, Sarah (Glover) Short, widow 
of Henry Short. He died in Newbury, 
October 12, 1682. Descent in this line is 
traced through Sergeant Abraham, third 
of his nine children. 

(II) Sergeant Abraham Adams was 
born in Salem, Massachusetts, in 1639, and 
died in Newbury, in August, 1714. He 
served in the Newbury train band as cor- 
poral in 1685-93, and in 1703 was made 
sergeant. He married, November 10, 1670, 

Mary Pettengill, born July 6, 1652, died 
September 19, 1705, daughter of Richard 
and Joanna (Ingersoll) Pettengill. They 
were the parents of ten children. Captain 
Abraham, the third child and second son, 
next in line. 

(HI) Captain Abraham Adams was 
born in Newbury, Massachusetts, May 2, 
1676, and died in Byfield, Massachusetts, 
April 8, 1763. He was a mariner in early 
life, making numerous voyages to the 
West Indies and England as captain. 
Later, his father gave him a farm above 
the falls in Byfield, now Highfields, and 
there he built the house long known as 
the "Adams Homestead." In the house, 
yet owned by descendants, are the origi- 
nal deeds of the estate, two chairs brough't 
there by Captain Adams' bride, a sword 
used at Bunker Hill, and many Colonial 
and Revolutionary treasures. Captain 
Abraham Adams became a successful 
farmer and in time, no doubt, became 
reconciled to his exchange of occupations. 
He married, in December, 1703, Anne 
Longfellow, daughter of William and 
Anne (Sewall) Longfellow, her father 
born in England, and the ancestor of 
Henry W. Longfellow, the poet. They 
were the parents of eleven children, and 
many of his descendants served in the 
Revolutionary War. Descent follows in 
this line through Rev. Joseph, the eighth 
child and fifth son. 

(IV) Rev. Joseph Adams was born in 
Newbury, Massachusetts, May 8, 1719, 
and died in Stratham, New Hampshire, 
February 24, 1785. He was a graduate of 
Harvard College in 1742, and became "a 
Zealous New Light Preacher." His con- 
verts organized a church in Newburyport, 
but in June, 1756, he located in Stratham, 
New Hampshire, where he died. He mar- 
ried Widow Mary Greenleaf, of Newbury, 
their intentions published November 29, 
1746. They were the parents of six chil- 



dren, his second son, Dr. Caleb G. Adams, 
a surgeon in the Revolutionary army, his 
third son, John, a lieutenant. 

(V) Lieutenant John Adams was born 
in Exeter, New Hampshire, in 1758, and 
died August 28, 1847. He was a first lieu- 
tenant in the First Regiment, Continental 
line, and until his death was in receipt of 
a Revolutionary pension. He was an 
original member of the Order of the Cin- 
cinnati. Lieutenant Adams married, Jan- 
uary II, 1788, Anne Folsom, born June 6, 
1762, died about 1835, daughter of Col- 
onel John Folsom and his second wife, 
Martha (Higgins) Folsom. They were 
the parents of eleven children, two of the 
sons ministers of the gospel. Rev. John 
Folsom Adams, the eldest son, is head of 
the next generation. 

(VI) Rev. John Folsom Adams was 
born in Stratham, New Hampshire, May 
23, 1790* and died in Greenland, New 
Hampshire, June ii, 1881, He was an 
ordained minister of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church, and became a member of 
the New England Conference in 1812, He 
filled many pulpits, became known as an 
earnest, eloquent divine, and in 1840 was 
made presiding elder. He continued in 
the ministry until quite old, and was also 
of note in political life, serving in the New 
Hampshire Legislature from Stratham in 
1849-50, and later represented the town of 
Greenland. He lived to be ninety-one 
years of age. His later years were spent 
in fruit growing. When a boy he sowed 
the seeds and planted an orchard, which 
in 1840 produced more than 400 barrels of 
Baldwin apples, and he lived to see the 
trees, from which they grew, all dead and 
gone. Rev. John F. Adams married 
(first), February. 24, 1818, Mary Lane, 
born in Stratham, April 10, 1789, died 
March i, 1866, daughter of Jabez Lane. 
Children: Sally, Rev. Joseph A., a minis- 
ter of the Methodist Episcopal church, 

and first principal of the New Hampshire 
Conference Seminary at Tilton ; Laura 
L., Amy Mary, Lucy Hedding, and John 
William, of further mention. Rev. John 
F. Adams married (second), July 25, 1867, 
Sarah W. <Treadwell) Lock. 

(VII) John William Adams was born 
in Stratham, New Hampshire, June 20, 
1828, and died in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, March 4, 1911. He was educated in 
the public schools and Exeter Academy, 
and for a number of years taught school 
in Stratham, becoming superintendent of 
schools there in 1849. He also taught in 
Amesbury, Watertown and Greenland, 
and gave private lessons in penmanship 
two evenings a week. The next year he 
moved to Portland, Maine, and there con- 
tinued his interest in educational affairs, 
being elected a member of the school 
committee in what is now a part of Port- 
land, and held the office for five years. 
He planned a grammar school in Port- 
land that was so advanced that later the 
State adopted it as a model. Thomas B. 
Reed, Maine's great statesman, at one 
time taught in that school. Mr. Adams 
bought thirty acres of land at Portland, 
intending to start a nursery, and while 
there aided in organizing the Portland 
Horticultural Society, of which he was 
secretary. He was also one of the pro- 
moters of the street railways of Portland, 
and there remained until 1865. He then 
spent two and one-half years in Canada as 
superintendent of the Crown Copper 
Mine, at Lennoxville, Quebec. This mine 
was officered by prominent men, includ- 
ing J. H. Drummond, then speaker of the 
Maine House of Representatives, and a 
judge of the Supreme Court. Mr. Adams 
made a success of the mine, but he per- 
suaded the officers not to buy two other 
mines, which they had planned to take 
over, thereby saving the company $110,- 
000, as the mines afterwards proved 



worthless. The father of Marshall P. 
Wilder, the American humorist, also be- 
came interested in the same mines. On 
July 5, 1867, Mr. Adams located in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, purchasing seven 
and one-half acres in the now Brightwood 
section, there engaging in the nursery 
business on an extensive scale. He con- 
tinued interested in the North Main street 
nursery with his son and son-in-law until 
his death in 191 1. A considerable part of 
the nursery business was in providing the 
materials for making attractive grounds. 
Upon request, plans were drawn for land- 
scape work, trees and hedges, many of 
these being imported, including rhodo- 
dendrons, peonies, blue spruce and tulips. 
He was also a director and secretary of 
the Hampden County Agricultural So- 
ciety, and in 1892-93 represented Spring- 
field in the Massachusetts General Court. 
He was a member of Trinity Methodist 
Episcopal Church ; Greenleaf Chapter, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Portland, 
Maine ; the Society of the Cincinnati ; the 
Hampden Harvest Club, and of several 
local and national horticultural societies, 
and a man everywhere highly esteemed. 

Things changed considerably during 
the life of Mr. Adams, many improve- 
ments were made, notably, the arrival of 
the bicycle, electric cars, electric lights, 
telephones, automobiles, and the X-ray. 
Mr. Adams planned all the construction 
of the Portland horse railroad, long since 
displaced by the electric system. He was 
always interested in the development of 
that system, which is now the most ex- 
tensive in New England. 

Mr. Adams married (first), in March, 
1856, Charlotte Ann Wiggins, who died 
in 1864. He married (second), September 
5, 1865, at Portland, Maine, Sarah F. Wa- 
terhouse, born at Cape Elizabeth, Maine, 
March 28, 1832 (yet living, 1920), daugh- 
ter of Benjamin F. and Elizabeth (Col- 

lins) Waterhouse, and granddaughter of 
Samuel and Ruth (Maxwell) Waterhouse, 
of Maine. Children of John W. Adams 
and his second wife, Sarah F. (Water- 
house) Adams : i. Mary, born in Lennox- 
ville, Canada, June 19, 1866; married 
Edgar Jay Oatman, and they have one 
son, Floyd Adams Oatman, born Novem- 
ber 9, 1899. 2. Walter, born in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, September 25, 1867 ; 
now president of the J. W. Adams Nurs- 
ery Company, of Springfield ; he married, 
November 23, 1891, Mabel Cynthia Chap- 
man, and has two daughters : Ethel L., 
born June 27, 1894; and Ruth Marion, 
born April 10, 1897. 3. John Collins, born 
in Springfield, December 8, 1868, died 
July 17, 1870. 4. William, born in Spring- 
field, December 15, 1869, died February 
17, 1877. 5. Charles, of further mention. 

6. Nellie, born in Springfield, October 10, 
1873 ; married William C. Metcalf. 

(VIII) Charles Adams, youngest son 
of John William Adams and his second 
wife, Sarah F. (Waterhouse) Adams, was 
born in Springfield, Massachusetts, March 

7, 1871. He was educated in the public 
schools, and while a student in high 
school was also employed on the "Spring- 
field Union." Soon after completing his 
school years, he became associated with 
his father in tree, flower and plant cul- 
ture, the business having grown to such 
proportions that the founder, J. W. 
Adams, found the services of both his 
sons, Walter and Charles, necessary to 
its proper management. With the en- 
trance of the sons the partnership became 
J. W. Adams & Company, and so con- 
tinued until further expansion was neces- 
sary. The business was then incorporated 
as the J. W. Adams Company, and under 
that name was conducted until the present 
corporate title was adopted, the J. W. 
Adams Nursery Company, Walter Adams, 
President ; Charles Adams, treasurer. The 



business is a large and prosperous one, 
the original area of the home plant in 
Brightwood being supplemented by a 
farm of forty acres in Westfield, used for 
the propagation of forest trees, plants and 
flowers. The products of the Adams 
nursery are shipped to all parts of the 
United States, to Mexico, Canada, Nova 
Scotia, many orders going forward in car- 
load lots. 

Charles Adams served the city of 
Springfield four years as a member of 
Council, and at the present time (1920) is 
a member of the City Board of Park 
Commissioners. His clubs are the Spring- 
field, Rotary, and Automobile. 

Mr. Adams married, November 12, 
1895, Ella Belle Bostwick, of Chicopee, 
Massachusetts, daughter of William Tru- 
man and Olive Ella (Duley) Bostwick, 
and a descendant of Arthur Bostwick 
(Bostock), one of the first settlers of 
Hartford, Connecticut, 1639. 

William Truman Bostwick was born in 
New Haven, Connecticut, February 8, 
1832, and died in Chicopee, Massachu- 
setts, December 24, 1915. He learned the 
harness maker's trade in New Haven ; 
was employed in different places until 
1870, when he settled permanently in 
Chicopee, where he was in charge of the 
leather department of the Ames Sword 
Company. He resided in Chicopee for 
forty-five years, and was one of the best 
known men of his community. He retired 
from the employ of the Ames Sword Com- 
pany after twenty-five years' continuous 
service, then for twenty years, until his 
death, lived a quiet, retired life. He was 
a man of honorable, upright life, a mem- 
ber of the Unitarian church, and of the 
Masonic order. He married, in Chicopee, 
May II, 1871, Olive Ella Duley, born 
there December 23, 1847. They were the 
parents of two children : Ella Belle, born 

May 28, 1872, now the wife of Charles 
Adams ; and William Ferry Bostwick, of 

CALKINS, Marshall, M. D., 

Of Great Professional Attainments. 

Dr. Marshall Calkins, who from ivS6o 
until 1910 was in active practice in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, was during 
those years one of the most eminent phy- 
sicians of his day. The American ances- 
tor in this branch is Deacon Hugh Cal- 
kins, born in Wales, who was a descend- 
ant of William Calkins, who flourished in 
the time of King John and the Magna 
Charta, 1215, he a man of wealth who 
must have been one of the nobles who 
extorted that immortal document from 
the unwilling King. 

(I) Deacon Hugh Calkins was born in 
Chepston, Monmouthshire, Wales, in the 
year 1600. He was a radical in religion, 
a non-conformist, and living in the trou- 
blous times of Charles I. he was denied 
that freedom of conscience and action in 
religious matters which he craved for him- 
self and was willing to allow others. Fi- 
nally, with his wife Ann and son, John, a 
child of four years, he sailed with the 
Welsh Company and their pastor. Rev. 
Richard Blinmair, and reached New Eng- 
land, about 1639. They settled first at 
Greens Harbor, now Marshfield, Massa- 
chusetts, but Hugh Calkins moved to 
Gloucester, where he was a member of the 
first Board of Selectmen, and in 1650 
deputy to the General Court. In 1651 he 
moved to Connecticut, and on May 20, 
1652, the records show that he was deputy 
to the General Court from New London. 
He became very influential, served twelve 
terms as deputy, and was a deputy magis- 
trate. In 1660 he moved to Norwich, 
then a wilderness, owned by the Mohegan 



Indians, and with his son, Hugh, appears 
in a list of the thirty-five proprietors of 
the nine miles square ceded by the In- 
dians for the sum of seventy pounds ster- 
ling. He was a deputy from Norwich for 
ten terms, an active worker for all meas- 
ures tending to promote the public good, 
and a deacon of the first church in Nor- 
wich. He died in Norwich, in 1690, aged 
ninety years. He left sons, John and Da- 
vid, and five daughters. This branch 
descends through the second son, David. 

(II) David Calkins, son of Hugh Cal- 
kins, was born in Gloucester, Massa- 
chusetts, but went with the family to Con- 
necticut, settling there and there died 
November 25, 1717. He married Mary 
Bliss, daughter of Thomas Bliss, of Nor- 
wich, and they were the parents of nine 
children, descent following through Jo- 
seph, the seventh son. 

(III) Joseph Calkins, son of David and 
Mary (Bliss) Calkins, resided in Lyme, 
Connecticut, where he executed a will 
which was probated May 8, 1764. In this 
will he names his wife Lucretia, sons Jo- 
seph, David, Jedediah, Ezekiel, James, 
and the heirs of his deceased son, Wil- 

(IV) James Calkins, son of Joseph and 
Lucretia Calkins, named in his father's 
will, removed from Lyme, Connecticut, to 
Wilbraham, Massachusetts, where in 
1726 he deeded land to Stephen Strick- 
land. He seems to have been a man of 
substance, the records showing that he 
bought and sold land quite freely. His 
first wife, Lucretia, bore him four sons, 
David, Oliver, William, James ; and a 
daughter, Mary. He married (second), 
Esther Caldwell, and they were the par- 
ents of seven children. 

(V) David (2) Calkins, eldest of the 
children of James and Lucretia Calkins, 
was born in Wilbraham, Massachusetts, 

and died in Springfield, Massachusetts. 
He married Chloe Colton, born January 
I, 1766, died May i, 1847. They were the 
parents of eleven children, descent in the 
line of Dr. Calkins being through Luke, 
the second son. 

(VI) Luke Calkins, son of David (2) 
and Chloe (Colton) Calkins, was born 
February 27, 1792, and died December 6, 
1866. He was a carpenter, living in Wil- 
braham, where he owned and cultivated a 
small farm. He was a Democrat in poli- 
tics, but an anti-slavery man, a drummer 
in the local militia company, and a mem- 
ber of the Universalist church. A man of 
quiet, domestic tastes, he reared a family 
of able sons, two of them physicians, one, 
David, practicing in Monson, dying in St. 
Louis, while on a travel tour in 1855, the 
other. Dr. Marshall Calkins, the father of 
Dr. Cheney Hosmer Calkins, of Spring- 
field (q. v.). Luke Calkins married, July 
26, 1812, Polly Hancock, daughter of Moses 
and Wealthy (Bishop) Hancock, her 
father a soldier of the Revolution, draw- 
ing a pension in his last years for his 
services. Polly Hancock was a descend- 
ant of Nathaniel Hancock, who was also 
the ancestor of John Hancock, the distin- 
guished patriot of Revolutionary days. 
Nathaniel Hancock, who arrived as early 
as 1634, settled in Cambridge. The line 
of descent from Nathaniel and Joanna 
Hancock is through their son, Thomas, 
and his wife, Rachel (Leonard) Hancock, 
of Spring^eld; their son, John, and his 
first wife, Anna (Webb) Hancock, of 
Springfield; their son, John (2), and his 
second wife, Abigail (Terry) Hancock; 
their son, Moses, the Revolutionary sol- 
dier, and his wife. Wealthy (Bishop) 
Hancock ; their daughter, Polly, wife of 
Luke Calkins. Mr. and Mrs. Calkins were 
the parents of eleven children, nine of 
whom grew to adult years. One of their 


children married Ambrose Colton, and 
in 1909 was living- in Springfield, aged 
ninety-two years. The line continues 
through Marshall, the youngest son. 

(VII) Dr. Marshall Calkins, son of 
Luke and Polly (Hancock) Calkins, was 
born in Wilbraham, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 2, 1828. While he grew up on a 
farm its work was not congenial, his great 
desire being for an education. He ex- 
celled in mathematics, mastering all text 
books used in the district school at the 
age of thirteen years, then, without a 
teacher and studying alone, he finished 
Day's Algebra in one winter. He bor- 
rowed books wherever he could, paying 
for their loan in service. He always car- 
ried a book in his pocket, and often was 
found in the shade of a tree reading when 
supposed to be at work in the fields. A 
young lady, knowing* his passion for 
books, loaned him her botany text book, 
and a new world was opened to him. He 
learned the medicinal plants, and when 
permitted to do so tested their value on 
his brothers and sisters. At the age of 
fourteen years, he had firmly resolved to 
become a physician. He financed his own 
way through Wilbraham Academy, three 
miles away from his home, and in 1846 
began the study of medicine under a re- 
putable physician, who also maintained 
an infirmary. He was then eighteen 
years of age, and to become independent 
"bought his time" of his father, agreeing 
to pay him $268, the estimated value of 
the young man's time until reaching the 
age of twenty-one years. After several 
months' study and real experience in the 
"infirmary," he became a private student 
and a member of the family of Dr. Calvin 
Newton, president of Worcester Medical 
College, and soon afterward he regularly 
entered that institution as a student. He 
completed the courses of study at the age 

of twenty years, and instead of a degree 
and diploma, which could not be lawfully 
issued until he was twenty-one years of 
age, he received a certificate stating that 
he had passed the examinations and would 
receive his diploma and degree a year 
later. During that year of waiting he 
practiced in Monson, and carefully con- 
served his income in order to pursue a 
college course of classical study. He then 
entered and spent one year at Wesleyan 
University (1850-51), but in the latter 
year transferred to Union College (now 
University) at Schenectady, New York, 
there receiving his A. B. in 1853, and in 
1856 his A. M. degree. He received his 
M. D. from Dartmouth Medical College 
in 1867, and then attended lectures at 
Pennsylvania Hospital, Philadelphia, for 
one year. He at once opened an office 
here and continued in active practice until 
i860, when he located in Springfield. Be- 
ing then thirty-two years of age, well edu- 
cated and experienced in his profession, 
he soon attracted a clientele, and from 
that time until his retirement in 191 1 his 
practice was large and important. The 
honors of his profession fell plentifully 
upon him, and the literature of the medi- 
cal profession was enriched by his pen. 

In 1862 Dr. Calkins became a member 
of the Massachusetts Medical Society, and 
in 1869 a corresponding member of the 
Boston Gynaecological Society, in that 
year pursuing further studies in that city; 
in 1872 he was appointed United States 
pension examiner, and served until 1874; 
in 1873 was appointed to the chair of 
Physiology and Microscopic Anatomy in 
the University of Vermont, a chair which 
he retained without changmg his resi- 
dence until his resignation after five years. 
He was at that time a member of the State 
Medical Society, and later became a mem- 
ber of the American Medical Association, 

OxUl:^.,^^ d. <^<£W^?'W>V 


and the American Association for the Ad- 
vancement of Sciences. He was for years 
connected as consulting physician and 
surgeon with the Springfield Hospital ; 
was censor of Hampden District Medical 
Society; chairman, secretary and senior 
physician of the Provident Dispensary ; 
member of the Medical Board of the 
Union Relief Association for Friendless 
Women and Children, and was made phy- 
sician emeritus to that institution. In 
1875, Dr. Calkins attended the Interna- 
tional Medical Congress, held in Brussels, 
Belgium, and while on that tour in- 
spected hospitals in England, Scotland, 
France. In 1883-84 he made a protracted 
tour of Europe, accompanied by his wife 
and son, and in the hospitals of London 
and Vienna he improved opportunities 
for close observation and personal work, 
attending lectures in Vienna and King's 
College, London. With an exacting prac- 
tice, Dr. Calkins was able to give but a 
small part of his time to literary work, 
yet many articles appeared from his pen. 
In 1854, he completed and published the 
posthumous treatise of his preceptor, Dr. 
Calvin Newton, entitled "Thoroac Dis- 
eases." Among his published articles are : 
"Origin, Prevention and Treatment of 
Asiatic Cholera," "Report of Cases of 
Trichinae Spirales in Springfield." pub- 
lished by the Massachusetts Medical So- 
cieties in 1867; "Alkaline Sulphites and 
Bisulphites," published by the Vermont 
Medical Society, 1872; "Physiological 
Basis of Objective Teaching," 1889. He 
is a member of Hampden Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and the Masonic Club, 
but he is not socially inclined, and his 
real relaxation from professional duties 
was the study of modern languages. He 
has ever been an honor to his profession 
in the fullest sense of the word. 

Dr. Marshall Calkins married, in 1855, 

Mass — 10 — 8 T 

Adelaide Augusta Hosmer, born in West 
Boyleston, Worcester county, Massachu- 
setts, May 22, 1831, daughter of General 
E. M. Hosmer, of West Boylston, Massa- 
chusetts, and died in Springfield, January 
2, 1909. She was a descendant of Joseph 
Cheney, born in 1647, through his son, 
Josiah, 1685; his son, Timothy, 1726, a 
soldier of the Revolution; his son, Ebene- 
zer, 1780, and his wife, Hannah (Plymp- 
ton) Cheney; their daughter, Mary, and 
her husband, Ebenezer M. Hosmer, they 
the parents of Adelaide Augusta (Hos- 
mer) Calkins. Mrs. Calkins became a 
manager of the Home for Friendless 
Women and Children in 1867, serving ten 
years in that office ; was a member of the 
advisory board of three women appointed 
by Governor Rice, in 1877, on the State 
Poard of Charities; and when that board 
was abolished and its members made 
trustees with direct instead of advisory 
power, Mrs. Calkins served on the Board 
of the State Primary and Reform Schools. 
Her work was singularly useful, and while 
declining reappointment in 1880, she ac- 
cepted appointment on the board of auxil- 
iary visitors to the State Board of Char- 
ities, consisting of five women. She also 
at this time accepted the responsibility of 
beginning the work of placing young chil- 
dren in homes in Western Massachusetts, 
and visiting them quarterly. That work 
she continued until 1883, when a salaried 
officer was appointed, Mrs. Calkins retir- 
ing. She was also identified with the 
work of the Union Relief Association, out 
of which grew the Hampden County Chil- 
dren's Aid Society. She was one of the 
organizers of a Day Nursery in 1885, to 
which was added a labor bureau and an 
industrial laundry, these being merged 
later under one roof in a building of their 
own under the name. Industrial House 
Charities. In 1897 she was appointed by 



Mayor Powers a member of the first 
board of trustees of The City Hospital, 
later known as the Springfield Hospital, 
and until her death Mrs. Calkins was a 
member of this corporation. In 1886 she 
was elected a member of Springfield 
School Committee, holding this ofifice 
twelve years, with great benefit to the 
school children of the city. She was re- 
gent of Mercy Warren Chapter, Daugh- 
ters of the American Revolution, which 
she organized, and was deeply interested 
in the special work of that order. She was 
invited to sit for a portrait of herself, and 
this is now hung in Mercy Warren Chap- 
ter room of the Massachusetts Society in 
Washington in the Daughters of the 
American Revolutionary building. She 
was very active in war work during the 
Spanish-American War period, was a 
member of the Women's Club of Spring- 
field, and of the Massachusetts State Fed- 
eration of Women's Clubs, which she 
served for three years as a vice-president. 
She was an honorary member of the 
Teachers' Club, member of the Rama- 
pogue Historical Society, and of the First 
Congregational Church. Dr. and Mrs. 
Calkins were the parents of a son, Cheney 
Hosmer, whose career follows. 

CALKINS, Cheney Hosmer, M. D., 

Skilled Oculist and Anrist. 

Dr. Cheney Hosmer Calkins, son of Dr. 
Marshall and Adelaide A. (Hosmer) Cal- 
kins (q. v.), was born in Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, November 11, i860. After 
completing his preparatory education, he 
began the study of medicine under his 
honored father, then entered the medical 
department of the University of Pennsyl- 
vania School of Medicine, whence he was 
graduated M. D., class of 1882. Imme- 
diately afterward he accepted the post of 

resident physician and surgeon to Hart- 
ford Hospital, Hartford, Connecticut, a 
position he held one year before going 
abroad to continue medical study in 
Vienna and London. In Vienna he pur- 
sued special study on the ear under 
Professor Politzer, and with Professor 
Jaeger on the eye, receiving special com- 
mendation from the professors for skillful 
delicacy of manipulation. In London he 
studied at the Royal Opththalmic Hospi- 
tal, his professors being the eminent doc- 
tors Natteship, Lawson, Tweedy, Gunn 
and Couper. After his special preparation 
abroad he returned to Springfield and re- 
sumed practice, but continued special 
studies in Boston and New York. He has 
made eye and ear treatment his special 
line of practice, and has been eminently 
successful, and is held in equally high re- 
gard by his brethren of the profession. He 
was appointed oculist and aurist to the 
Home of Friendless Women and Children 
soon after beginning practice, and later 
in Provident Dispensary, and for several 
years he bore the same relation to Mercy 
Hospital. Dr. Calkins is a member of 
many professional societies, including the 
Hampden County District Medical So- 
ciety, which he served as secretary, the 
New England Opththalmological Society, 
Massachusetts Medical Society, Spring- 
field Academy of Medicine. He is a mem- 
ber of the Massachusetts Society, Sons of 
the American Revolution, member of the 
Springfield Country Club, Springfield Au- 
tomobile Club, Republican Club. His 
recreation is motoring. 

Dr. Calkins married, October 30, 1893, 
Alice Haile, only daughter of William H. 
Haile, of Springfield, a former lieutenant- 
governor of the State of Massachusetts. 
Dr. and Mrs. Calkins are the parents of a 
son, William Haile, born in Springfield, 
January 4, 1898. 



BECKWITH, Charles L., 

Official in Paper Industry. 

The Enghsh ancestry of the Beckwith 
family, of which Charles L. Beckwith, 
vice-president of the H. W. Carter Paper 
Company, of Springfield, is a worthy rep- 
resentative, is traced to Sir Hugh de 
Malebisse, of the time of William the 
Conqueror. In 1226 the name was 
changed to Beckwith, where Sir Hercules 
de Malebisse married Lady Dame Beck- 
with Bruce. The coat-of-arms of the fam- 
ily is as follows : 

Arms — Argent a chevron gules, fretty or, be- 
tween three hinds, heads erased, of the second. 
On a chief engrailed gules a saltire engrailed be- 
tween two roses or, in pale, and on a chief joined 
to the dexter and sinister sides a demi fleur-de- 
lis paleways or. 

(I) Matthew Beckwith, born in Ponte- 
fract, Yorkshire, England, about 1610, 
emigrated to New England in 1635. He 
located in the State of Connecticut, his 
first residence being at Saybrook Point, 
1635, from whence he removed to Bran- 
ford, 1638, Hartford, 1642, Lyme, 165 1. He 
purchased large tracts on the Niantic 
river, and owned the barque "Endeavor," 
the first vessel launched from New Lon- 
don. He was of that class known as 
planters, many of whom were men of 
means. He "came to his death by mis- 
taking his way of a dark night and falling 
from a cliflf of rocks," according to town 
records, December 13, 1681. He left a 
wife, Elizabeth Beckwith, and seven chil- 

(II) Matthew (2) Beckwith, son of 
Matthew (i) and Elizabeth Beckwith, 
was born in 1637, in Saybrook Point, 
Connecticut, and died in New London, 
Connecticut, June 4, 1727. He was a 
freeman of Waterford in 1658. He mar- 
ried (first) Elizabeth , and (second) 

Elizabeth Griswold, daughter of Matthew 

Griswold. He and his first wife were the 
parents of eight children, among whom 
was Jonah, of further mention. 

(III) Jonah Beckwith, son of Matthew 
(2) and Elizabeth Beckwith, was born in 
New London, Connecticut, December 27, 
1673, ^"^ died in Lyme, Connecticut, 
1744, whither he removed in early man- 
hood, and served as deacon of the Congre- 
gational church there. He married, July 

12, 1 701, Rebecca , who bore him 

three children : George, of further men- 
tion ; Benjamin, and Jonah, Jr. 

(IV) George Beckwith, eldest son of 
Jonah and Rebecca Beckwith, was born in 
Lyme, Connecticut, September 17, 1702, 
and there died in the year 1794. He was 
a graduate of Yale College, studied for the 
ministry, and was ordained first pastor of 
the Congregational church, Lyme, in Jan- 
uary, 1730. In 1761 he was appointed 
chaplain of the First Regiment, Connec- 
ticut Volunteers, participating in the 
French and Indian wars. He served as 
moderator of the General Association of 
Connecticut, 1762, at Marshfield, and at 
Bristol, both in Connecticut, 1773. He 

married, December, 1734, Sarah , 

born in 1705, died in 1797. They were the 
parents of three children : George, Bar- 
zillai, of further mention ; and Nathaniel. 

(V) Barzillai Beckwith, second son of 
George and Sarah Beckwith, was born in 
Lyme, Connecticut, 1736, and died in East 
Haddam, same State, 1818, aged eighty- 
two years. He removed to Ellington, 
Connecticut, where he pursued the occu- 
pation of farming, and was also a deacon 
of the Congregational church there. 
Later he removed to East Haddam, same 
State, where he spent the remainder of 
his years. He served as a sergeant in the 
Lexington Alarm from East Haddam. 
He married Mary Butler, whose death 
also occurred in East Haddam, and they 
were the parents of eleven children, 



among whom was George, of further men- 

(VI) George (2) Beckwith, son of 
Barzillai and Mary (Butler) Beckwith, 
was born in East Haddam, Connecticut, 
February 6, 1764, and died in Great Bar- 
rington, Massachusetts, September 25, 
1842. He settled in Great Barrington, 
Massachusetts, about 1807, on the Stock- 
bridge road. He was for many years one 
of the leading men in the Congregational 
church, and was familiarly called "Deacon 
George." He was a valuable citizen, a 
well educated man, being able to read and 
write seven languages, a man of excellent 
judgment, conscientious and public-spir- 
ited, and exerted a salutary influence in 
all the moral, religious and secular affairs 

of the town. He married , and 

among their children was Mark, of further 

(VII) Mark Beckwith, son of George 
(2) Beckwith, was born in Great Bar- 
rington, Massachusetts, and died there, 
in 1870, During his active career he 
devoted his attention to various pursuits, 
achieving success as a result of industry, 
perseverance and skill. He married, in 
Stockbridge, Massachusetts, April 28, 
1842, Modena Spellman, a native of Hart- 
land, Connecticut, and was killed in a 
cyclone in the year 1870. Four children 
were born to Mr. and Mrs. Beckwith, as 
follows : Charles B., born 1844, married, 
1869, Abbie Sullivan, and resided in 
Gardner, Massachusetts ; Orson Edgar, of 
further mention ; a son, died in infancy ; 
Cornelia, born 1851, died 1854. 

(VIII) Orson Edgar Beckwith, son 
of Mark and Modena (Spellman) Beck- 
with, was born in Great Barrington, 
Massachusetts, June 7, 1847, and died 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, Septem- 
ber 22, 1912. After completing his 
school studies, he served an apprentice- 

ship to the trade of carpenter, and 
worked as a journeyman in Curtioville, 
town of Stockbridge. Later he went 
to Florida, where he spent a number of 
years in the raising of oranges, peaches 
and strawberries, and about 1903 returned 
North, locating in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, where he followed the making of 
automobile bodies, continuing along this 
line up to within three months of his 
death. He was actively identified with 
the Memorial Church, serving as a mem- 
ber of its board of deacons for a number 
of years. He was also a member of the 
New England Order of Protection. 

Mr. Beckwith married, November 28, 
1871, Elizabeth Adelaide Lombard, born 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, September 
14, 1842, daughter of Timothy Hall and 
Elizabeth (Robinson) Lombard (see 
Lombard, VII). Children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Beckwith : Lottie Louise, married 
Howard Allen Hastings, of Orange, 
Massachusetts ; children : Arthur Gor- 
don, Allen Beckwith, Paul Starret, and 
Mildred Ethel ; Charles Lombard, of 
further mention ; child, died at birth. 

(IX) Charles Lombard Beckwith, son 
of Orson Edgar and Elizabeth Adelaide 
(Lombard) Beckwith, was born in Cur- 
tisville, town of Stockbridge, Massachu- 
setts, February 15, 1879. He attended the 
schools of his native town until the re- 
moval of his parents to the State of Flor- 
ida, then continued his studies in the 
schools of Belleview, and after the return 
of his parents to the State of Massachu- 
setts completed his studies in the schools 
of Pittsfield. His first employment was 
in the store of Prince & Walker, dealers 
in carpets and wall paper, in Pittsfield, 
where he remained for a year. He then 
entered the employ of Cullen Brothers, 
dry goods merchants, with whom he re- 
mained for a year and a half, then entered 


the employ of William B. Foote & Com- 
pany, engaged in the business of mill sup- 
plies, where he remained for two and a 
half years. In 1898 he changed his place 
of residence to Springfield, Massachusetts, 
and there secured employment in the of- 
fice and store of Carter & Bartlett, and 
for a period of six months served them as 
traveling salesman. His next employ- 
ment was with H. W. Carter & Com- 
pany, who succeeded Carter & Bartlett, 
as assistant in the purchasing division, 
and later was made purchasing agent, this 
promotion the result of his efforts in their 
behalf. In 1906 the H. W. Carter Paper 
Company was incorporated, and Mr. 
Beckwith was elected to the office of sec- 
retary at that time. In 1912 he was 
chosen vice-president of the company, in 
which capacity he has since served. In 
addition to these duties, Mr. Beckwith 
is a member of the board of directors of 
the Hampden Cooperative Bank of 
Springfield. Mr. Beckwith has taken an 
active interest in the First Congregational 
Church, of which he is a member; has 
served as a member of the music commit- 
tee, as treasurer of the Sunday school, as 
president of the Young People's Society 
of Christian Endeavor, as superintendent 
of the Junior Young People's Society 
of Christian Endeavor, and was president 
of the Monday Lunch Club. He is a 
member of the United Christian Temper- 
ance Association, and a member of the 
Kiwanis Club since its organization. 

Mr. Beckwith married, June 27, 1905, 
Martha Louise Shaw, of Springfield, born 
in Palmer, Massachusetts, daughter of 
George Franklin and Elizabeth (Brown) 
Shaw. Children of Mr. and Mrs. Beck- 
with : Phillis Fay, born August 8, 1906; 
Sylvia Louise, born January 26, 1908; 
Niel Spellman, born April 6, 1909; Eliza- 
beth Joyce, born March 8, 191 1 ; and Bar- 
bara Fairbanks, born January 25, 1913. 

(The Lombard Line) 

(I) John Lombard, the immigrant an- 
cestor of the branch of the family of 
which Mrs. Elizabeth A. (Lombard) 
Beckwith is a representative, came from 
England about the year 1640, and settled 
at Cape Cod, Massachusetts, from whence 
he went to Springfield, same State, being 
among the first settlers, and between the 
years 1657 and 1667 received five grants 
of land. He was a weaver by trade, and 
served as fence viewer in 1655 and 1657. 
He married, in New Haven, Connecticut, 
Joanna Pritchard, daughter of Roger and 
Frances Pritchard ; the date of the cere- 
mony was September i, 1647. Three chil- 
dren were born of this marriage : John, 
born July 20, 1648, died aged twenty-four 
years ; David, of further mention ; Nathan- 
iel, born September 6, 1654, died Septem- 
ber 20, 1654. John Lombard died May 15, 
1672, survived by his wife, whose death 
occurred May 19, 1692. 

(II) David Lombard, son of John and 
Joanna (Pritchard) Lombard, was born 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, October 16 
(or August 8,), 1650, and died there Au- 
gust 17, 1716. He probably settled upon 
land allotted his father at Long Hill, and 
for more than a century and a half after- 
ward this property was known as the 
Lombard estate. He served in the capac- 
ities of surveyor, tithingman, and con- 
stable. He married Margaret Filley, who 
bore him seven children, as follows: 
Mary, born in 1677; Margaret, born in 
1679; Abigail, born in 1682; John, born 
in 1685; David, born in 1690; Ebenezer, 
of further mention ; Joseph, born in 1696. 

(III) Ebenezer Lombard, son of David 
and Margaret (Filley) Lombard, was 
born in Springfield, Massachusetts, in 
1692. He resided on the old homestead 
on Long Hill. He married, March 18, 
1717, Rachel Loomis, born January 12, 
1692, daughter of Joseph Loomis, and six 



children were born of this marriage: 
Rachel, Ebenezer, Joseph, Lydia, Jona- 
than, and Daniel, of further mention. 

(IV) Daniel Lombard, son of Eben- 
ezer and Rachel (Loomis) Lombard, was 
born in Springfield, Massachusetts, ucro- 
ber 14, 1732, and died there m 1795. He 
was the proprietor of a country store in 
Springfield and also conducted a saddler's 
shop there, from which he derived a com- 
fortable livelihood. He purchased the 
Justin Lombard property in 1784. He 
married and was the father of two chil- 
dren, as follows: Daniel, Jr., born 1764, 
died 1856; and Roswell, of further men- 

(V) Roswell Lombard, son of Daniel 
Lombard, was born in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts. He married, October 4, 1789, 
Anna Jones, born in 1772, died Septem- 
ber 21, 1803, daughter of Captain Josiah 
and Elizabeth (Woodbridge) Jones. 
Among the children of Mr. and Mrs. Lom- 
bard was Timothy Hall, of further men- 

(VI) Timothy Hall Lombard, son of 
Roswell and Anna (Jones) Lombard, was 
born in Springfield, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 15, 1806, and died June 2, 1889. 
He married Elizabeth Robinson, born No- 
vember 17, 1813, died in October, 1842, 
when her daughter, Elizabeth Adelaide, 
was three weeks old. 

(VII) Elizabeth Adelaide Lombard, 
daughter of Timothy Hall and Elizabeth 
(Robinson) Lombard, became the wife of 
Orson Edgar Beckwith (see Beckwith, 

DICKINSON, Oliver Hyde, 

Active in Commnnity Affairs. 

Honored and respected by all, there are 
few men in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
who occupy a more enviable position in 
commercial or agricultural circles than 

Oliver H. Dickinson, not alone on ac- 
count of the success he has achieved, but 
also on account of the honorable, straight- 
forward business policy he has ever fol- 
lowed, and he has demonstrated the truth 
of the saying that success is not the result 
of genius, but the outcome of a clear judg- 
ment, experience and sagacity. 

(I) The Dickinson family is an old one 
in the New England States, and the 
branch herein represented traces to Gid- 
eon Dickinson, who was among the early 
settlers of Stonington, Connecticut, where 
he was actively interested in community 
affairs. His wife, Sarah (Campbell) 
Dickinson, bore him six sons, as follows : 
Samuel, Daniel, John Lodewick, of 
further mention, Jeremiah, Gideon, Jr. and 

(II) John Lodewick Dickinson, third 
son of Gideon and Sarah (Campbell) 
Dickinson, was born in Stonington, 
Connecticut, February 3, 1776. He was 
a man of energy and enterprise, and his 
life was spent in the performance of the 
duties which fell to his lot. He married, 
January 19, 1795, Naomi Graham, born 
August I, 1775, and they were the parents 
of five children, as follows : Ira, Anna, 
Sarah, Asa Callender, of further mention, 
and John Lodewick, Jr. 

(III) Asa Callender Dickinson, second 
son of John Lodewick and Naomi 
(Graham) Dickinson, was born in Ston- 
ington, Connecticut, June i, 1802, and 
died in Detroit, Michigan, May 23, 1885. 
In early life he removed from his native 
city to Pulaski, New York, and in the 
thirties went West, locating in Detroit, 
Michigan, being among the pioneers in 
that section of the United States. He was 
a prospector, prospecting for marble quar- 
ries in the vicinity of Lake Superior, mak- 
ing his travels on foot. He succeeded in 
his enterprise, and was rated among the 
progressive men of his adopted city. He 



married, December 22, 1827, Minerva 
Holmes, who bore him eight children, as 
follows : Maria Jane, Asa De Zeng, of 
further mention, Jerome Goodell, Julia 
Janet, Sarah Armenia, De Witt Holmes, 
George Duane, and Donald McDonald, a 
former postmaster general. They also 
had an adopted son, George D. 

(IV) Asa De Zeng Dickinson, eldest 
son of Asa Callender and Minerva 
(Holmes) Dickinson, was born in Pulaski, 
New York, October 4, 1830, and died in 
New York City, November i, 1903. He 
accompanied his parents to Detroit, Mich- 
igan, but his education was obtained in 
the schools of Pulaski. He was for some 
time employed on the express boats and 
freighters on the Great Lakes, advancing 
to the responsible position of captain, in 
which capacity he served for a number of 
years. He later became owner of a 
freight boat, and with others operated a 
number of freight boats on the lakes. He 
was appointed as the first agent on the 
lakes for the Wells Fargo Express Com- 
pany. He moved to New York City in 
1881, and entered the wholesale saddlery 
and harness business and continued in 
this for some years. Later he became the 
credit man for one of the largest dry goods 
houses in New York City. He died in this 
city November i, 1903. 

He married, October 24, i860, Harriet 
Sprague Hyde, born in Detroit, Michi- 
gan, October 31, 1842, died in Springfield, 

Massachusetts, , 1917, she having 

removed to that city after the death of 
her husband. Her remains were interred 
in Elmwood Cemetery, Detroit. Children 
of Mr. and Mrs. Dickinson : Oliver Hyde, 
of further mention ; Jesse Holmes, died 
in infancy ; Florence Minerva, married 
Frank C. Johnson, and their children 
are : Stuart, Florence, Donald ; and Asa 
Don, serving as librarian in the Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania, married Helen Dick- 

inson, and they have two children, Asa 
and Elizabeth. 

(V) Oliver Hyde Dickinson, oldest son 
of Asa De Zeng and Harriet Sprague 
(Hyde) Dickinson, was born in Detroit, 
Michigan, March 10, 1863. He attended 
the public schools of his native city, then 
matriculated in the University of Michi- 
gan, Ann Arbor, where he pursued a 
course in chemistry, graduating in 1881. 
He then went to New York City, and for 
the following four years was employed in 
a wholesale dry goods establishment, 
gaining a thorough knowledge of that line 
of work. At the expiration of that period 
of time, in 1885, he changed his place of 
residence to Springfield, Massachusetts, 
and accepted a position as clerk in the 
Stebbins Brass Company, in which 
capacity he served for three and a half 
years. He then engaged in business on 
his own account, in the selling of seed and 
the raising of plants and bulbs for nurser- 
ies, all high grade fancy stock, and later, 
1917, in addition, had extensive farming 
interests. He began raising blooded 
stock, having a farm at Hinsdale, New 
Hampshire. In addition to his other busi- 
ness interests, Mr. Dickinson is treasurer 
of the Fisk Paper Company, located in 
Hinsdale, New Hampshire. Mr. Dickin- 
son is an active factor in all projects that 
have for their object the betterment of 
community affairs. 

Mr. Dickinson married, June 20, 1888, 
Isabelle Ripley Fisk, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, daughter of George C. and 
Maria Emerson (Ripley) Fisk. Children 
of Mr. and Mrs. Dickinson : George Fisk, 
married Lena Lawrence, and they have a 
son, George Fisk, Jr., and a daughter, 
Barbara ; Julia, married William A. Ram- 
berg, and they had one child, Emily 
Louise, deceased, and an adopted child, 
Catherine Isabelle ; Minerva. 



FOSS, George Herbert, M. D., 

Leader in Educational Work. 

Along both paternal and maternal lines 
of descent, Dr. George H. Foss of Spring- 
field, traces to John Foss, the founder of 
the family in New England, who came to 
America in an English war vessel, and 
while she lay in Boston Harbor managed 
to get overboard unseen and swam ashore. 
He later settled at Portsmouth, New 
Hampshire, where he was granted land, 
February 24, 1657. He was admitted an 
inhabitant of Dover, New Hampshire, 
January i, 1665, and on June 21, 1669, he 
took the oath of allegiance. He resided 
for a time at Kittery, Maine, and later 
owned a house and one hundred acres in 
Exeter, New Hampshire, which he sold 
in April, 1671. In 1677 he was taxed for 
the minister's support in Great Island 
(Rye). He and his family were members 
of the Society of Friends. John Foss 
made his will in Dover, December 7, 1679. 
He married (first) Mary Chadbourne, 
born in Boston, in 1644, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Mary Chadbourne, and grand- 
daughter of William Chadbourne. The lat- 
ter came over with Captain John Mason to 
build a mill at now South Berwick, Maine. 
He married (second), January 25, 1686, 
Sarah Ross, widow of James Ross. He 
married (third) Elizabeth Locke, daughter 
of William and Jane Berry, and widow of. 
John Locke, who was killed by the Indians 
on Dover Plains, June 26, 1696. Children, 
all by first and second marriages : John ; 
Samuel, died young; Joshua, of whom 
further; Elizabeth, born in Dover, 
1666; Mary; William; Walter; Hannah; 
Thomas; Hinkson, killed by Indians on 
Dover Plains, June 26, 1696, aged seven- 
teen years ; Humphrey ; Jemima ; Samuel. 

(II) Joshua Foss, third son of John 
Foss, died in Barrington, New Hamp- 
shire, aged ninety-nine years and six 

months. He lived previously in Rye, New 
Hampshire, and was one of the first se- 
lectmen, serving 1726-30. He married 
Sarah Wallis, daughter of Ralph and Ann 
(Shortlidge) Wallis. They were the par- 
ents of Thomas, Nathaniel, John, Job, 
Wallis, Jane, Hannah, Mark, George, of 
whom further. 

(III) George Foss, son of Joshua and 
Sarah (Wallis) Foss, was born in Rye, 
New Hampshire, in 1721, died May 19, 
1807, in Stratford, New Hampshire. He 
was a soldier of the Revolution, a private 
in Captain Hill's company, on Seavey's 
Island, November 5, 1775; also in Cap- 
tain Josiah Parsons' company from No- 
vember 6 to December 6, 1775; and in 
Captain Emerson's company in 1776, his 
son George serving in the same company. 
George Foss married, April 3, 1746, Mary 
Marden, "born September 30, 1726, died 
September 13, 1806, daughter of James 
and Abigail (Webster) Marden. Their 
home was in Barrington, one mile from 
the present Stratford line. Children : 
Rachel, Judith, John, Abigail, George (2), 
of whom further; William, Richard, 
James, Mary, Samuel, Nathan. 

(IV) George (2) Foss, son of George 
(i) and Mary (Marden) Foss, was born in 
Barrington, New Hampshire, October 9, 
1757. He served in the Revolutionary 
War in 1776 in Captain Emerson's com- 
pany, his father also being in that com- 
pany. He married (first) Elizabeth Per- 
kins, born in 1756; (second) Jane Hill. 
The family home was in Stratford, New 
Hampshire. Children by first wife : Sam- 
uel Perkins, of whom further; John, 
George, Betsey. Children of second 
wife : Mark and Colton Hill. 

(V) Samuel Perkins Foss, eldest son of 
George (2) Foss and his first wife, Eliza- 
beth (Perkins) Foss, settled in Gilman- 
ton, New Hampshire. He married Judith 
Hill, and they were the parents of a son. 


Benjamin Hill, of whom further, and a 
daughter, Nancy. 

(VI) Benjamin Hill Foss, only son of 
Samuel Perkins and Judith (Hill) Foss, 
was born in Stratford, New Hampshire, 
in 1811, and died in Pittsfield, New 
Hampshire, April 15, 1888. He engaged 
in farming all his active life. He married 
Hepsibeth Whitten. Children : George 
Washington, of whom further; Lucinda, 
married Daniel Green ; Mary, deceased, 
married Samuel Potter; Horace; Melvin, 
deceased ; Betsy, married Isaac Carr ; 
Nancy, deceased, was for many years 
housekeeper of Concord Insane Asylum ; 
Myra, deceased, a school teacher, who 
later invented a schiving machine for 
schiving leather for shoes, went into the 
shoe business in Lynn, Massachusetts, 
got royalty on her machines for many 
years ; this machine consisted of a knife 
so placed in a machine that it would 
schive or pare down the edges of leather 
where two pieces were to be sewed to- 
gether ; Benjamin, died in infancy ; Al- 
vena, married Albert Jenkins, a carpenter. 

(VII) George Washington Foss, eldest 
son of Benjamin Hill and Hepsibeth 
(Whitten) Foss, was born in Gilmanton, 
New Hampshire, in 1838, and died in 
Pittsfield, New Hampshire, January 18, 
1899. His youth was spent in his native 
place, but the greater part of his life was 
spent in Pittsfield, where he was promi- 
nent in business and a substantial farmer. 
He was a man of ability and sound judg- 
ment, president of a local insurance com- 
pany, and as notary public for many years 
did a great deal of conveyancing for the 
neighborhood, drawing deeds, making 
wills, etc. He was a member of the Free 
Will Baptist church, and a man highly 
respected and esteemed. He married, 
October 8, 1875, Nellie Sarah Foss, born 
in Alton, New Hampshire, January 26, 
1856, died February 7, 1906, daughter of 

Simon and Dorothy (Hayes) Foss, and 
a descendant of John Foss, the American 
ancestor, through his son Joshua. From 
Joshua the line follows through his son 
Mark, his son Timothy, his son Simon, 
his son Simon (2), his daughter, Nellie 
Sarah Foss, wife of George W. Foss. 
George W. and Nellie S. (Foss) Foss 
were the parents of three children : George 
Herbert, of whom further ; Ella, died in 
infancy ; Benjamin Harry, a locomotive 
engineer, of Greenfield, Massachusettts, 

married Lyda , and has children, 

James Rufus and Ellen Foss. 

(VIII) George Herbert Foss, eldest 
son of George Washington and Nellie 
Sarah (Foss) Foss, was born in Pitts- 
field, New Hampshire, February 21, 1879, 
and there obtained his preparatory edu- 
cation. He served five years on a United 
States training ship, and in her sailed to 
many of the ports of the world. Deciding 
upon medicine as his profession, he en- 
tered Dartmouth Medical College, there 
receiving the M. D. degree with the class 
of 1906. After graduation, he formed a 
connection with the J. G. White Con- 
struction Company, by which he became 
their health director, his first assignment 
being at Havana, Cuba, where that com- 
pany was employing a large number of 
men in the construction of docks. He was 
in full charge of the health of the men, 
and after the completion of the Havana 
works he continued in the same relation 
with the company during the construc- 
tion of the great power dam at South 
Vernon and Hinsdale, New Hampshire. 
After the completion of that work, he 
began the private practice of his profes- 
sion at Alstead, New Hampshire, and 
there remained three years. He then dis- 
posed of his practice there, and in 1912 
located at Springfield, Massachusetts, 
where he has been in active successful 
practice during the nine years which have 



since intervened. He is a member of 
the Hampden County Medical Society, 
Massachusetts State Medical Society, and 
the American Medical Association, keep- 
ing in touch with all that is going on in 
the medical world through the medium of 
these societies and their literature. 

Dr. Foss was a member of the Consti- 
tutional Convention that revised the con- 
stitution of the State of Massachusetts, 
finishing that labor in 1919. He is a mem- 
ber of the Springfield Board of Education, 
and deeply interested in school work. He 
is affiliated with Rosewell Lee Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Springfield 
Lodge of Perfection of the Ancient and 
Accepted Scottish Rite; the Masonic 
Club; and Amity Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. 

Dr. Foss married, June 12, 1906, Ella N. 
Todd, of Boston, daughter of Charles S. 
and Eliza H. (Neat) Todd. They are 
the parents of two sons, who are of the 
ninth generation of the Foss family in 
New England : George Herbert, Jr., born 
in Hinsdale, New Hampshire, September 
30, 1908; and Robert Todd, born in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, April 21, 

PISK, Charles Everett, 

Man of Enterprise. 

Charles Everett Fisk, a well-known real 
estate dealer of Springfield, is of English 
ancestry, the family being traced to Lord 
Symond Fiske, a grandson of Daniel 
Fisc, who was lord of the manor of 
Standhaugh, Suffolk, England, and flour- 
ished between the reigns of Kings Henry 
IV. and VI. He was the ancestor of Na- 
than Fiske, who settled in Watertown, 
Massachusetts, as early as 1642. Mem- 
bers of the family founded by Nathan 
Fiske have been prominent in private and 
public life as clergymen, lawyers, phy- 

sicians, financiers, soldiers, merchants, 
teachers, professors, farmers, philanthro- 
pists, and patriots. Rev. Perrin B. Fiske, 
of Lyndon, Vermont, has written of 
them : 

Ffische, Fisc, Fiske, Fisk (spell it either way) 

Meant true knighthood, freedom, faith, good qual- 
ities that stay; 

Brethren let the ancient name mean just the same 
for aye; 

Forward every youth to seek the higher good 

Among the twentieth century represen- 
tative men of the family is Charles Ever- 
ett Fisk, the subject of this sketch, who is 
the son of Daniel Fisk, and grandson of 
Simeon Fisk and his second wife, Orminda 
(Barnes) Fisk. Simeon Fisk died about 
185 1, aged fifty years, a farmer of Deer- 
field and Belchertown, Massachusetts. 
He and his first wife were the parents of 
a son, James B., and a daughter, Clarisa 
K. Daniel Fisk, son of Simeon and Or- 
minda (Barnes) Fisk, was born in Belch- 
ertown, Massachusetts, in 1831, and died 
December, 1901. He was educated in the 
public schools, was a farmer for twenty- 
five years of his active life, also a lumber- 
man, purchasing timber lots, erecting saw 
mills, and converting the trees into lum- 
ber. He was a man of great energy and 
sound judgment, his opinion of the value 
of standing timber being considered final. 
Consequently he was much sought for as 
an appraiser and timber expert. In 1867 
he moved to Barre, Massachusetts, and 
there resided until his death. He was a 
town surveyor of highways, member of 
the school committee, an attendant of the 
Congregational church. He took an ac- 
tive part in town affairs all his life, and 
was always ready to aid in any move- 
ment for the betterment of his town. Dan- 
iel Fisk married Mary Smith Blackmer, of 
Belchertown, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Sears Blackmer, born in Warren, Massa- 


chusetts, in 1783. and his wife, Sally 
(Smith) Blackmer, born the same year. 
They were the parents of four daughters 
and six sons : Ella, deceased ; Francis, 
deceased ; Charles Everett, of further 
mention; Ella (2), deceased; Lida ; 
James, of Springfield ; Arthur, of Spring- 
field ; Daniel, deceased ; Fred, resides on 
old homestead at Barre ; and Harry, of 

Charles Everett Fisk, eldest living son 
of Daniel and Mary Smith (Blackmer) 
Fisk, was born in Belchertown, Massa- 
chusetts, May 13, 1858, but when he was 
very young his parents moved to Barre, 
same state, and there the years of his 
youth and early manhood were spent. He 
was educated at Barre Academy, and at a 
commercial college in Newark, New Jer- 
sey, there completing his education, and 
then for a term of four years engaged as 
a teacher. He was then supervisor of in- 
struction at Barre Institute for another 
term of four years. In 1888 he located in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, became iden- 
tified with the Springfield Water Depart- 
ment in 1891, and for twenty-seven years 
has held this position, although upon dif- 
ferent occasions he has attempted to re- 
sign, but the water board has declined to 
consider it. 

As a dealer in real estate, Mr. Fisk has 
bought, built, and sold extensively, hold- 
ing at times one hundred parcels of rent- 
ing property. He has long been engaged 
in this line of activity, and is one of the 
prominent men of the real estate business. 
He is a Republican in politics, has been 
chairman of the City Central Committee 
of his party, attends the North Congre- 
gational Church, is afifiliated with Bay 
State Lodge, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and has held all ofifices up to and 
including that of noble grand. He is 
highly esteemed by his brethren, friends 

and business associates as a man whose 
influence is always for good. 

Mr. Fisk married, September 22, 1892, 
Margaret L. Buel, daughter of Jared and 
Lois M. Buel. Mrs. Fisk's mother was 
born in Waterbury, Connecticut, and Mrs. 
Fisk was born in Derby, Connecticut. 
Mrs. Fisk takes an active part in many 
organizations and clubs, being a member 
of Mercy Warren Chapter, Daughters 
of the American Revolution, Hampden 
County Association, Hampden Indian As- 
sociation, Young Women's Christian As- 
sociation, and a member of other benevo- 
lent associations. 

BACON, Clarence Nerval, 

Business Man, Art Lover. 

Clarence Norval Bacon, of the firm of 
Bacon-Taplin Company, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, is a member of the tenth 
generation of his family in New England, 
and has been a resident of Springfield 
since 1895. His American ancestor, 
Michael Bacon, was born about 1575, in 
England, and in 1633 went from England 
to the North of Ireland. In 1640, he came 
to New England, and on May 23, 1640, 
was proposed as a proprietor of Dedham. 
Here he resided until his death April 18, 
1648. He signed the famous Dedham 
Church Covenant and both he and his 
wife joined the church September 17, 
1641. She died in Dedham, April 12, 1648. 
They were the parents of sons : Michael 
(2), of whom further, Daniel, and John; 
and daughters : Alice, who married 
Thomas Bancroft; and Sarah, who mar- 
ried Anthony Hubbard. 

(II) Michael (2) Bacon was born in 
England, in 1608, and in 1633, accom- 
panied his father to Ireland, and with his 
father came to the United States in 1640, 
becoming an original proprietor of Ded- 



ham, Massachusetts, in that year. In 
1644 he was surveyor of highways in 
Woburn, and in 1648 he bought a farm in 
Cambridge, near the east corner of the 
town of Concord, on which, before 1675, 
he built a mill. In a mortgage recorded 
June 8, 1675, he was called a citizen of 
Billerica, and in August, 1675, the town 
of Billerica, in providing defense against 
the Indians in King Philip's War, as- 
signed Michael Bacon to Garrison No. 10, 
under Timothy Brooks. He and his first 
wife, Mary, were the parents of three 
children, the eldest, and only son, 
Michael (3). The mother of these chil- 
dren died August 26, 1855. He married 
(second) Mary Richardson ; (third) Mary 

(III) Michael (3) Bacon, son of 
Michael (2) and Mary Bacon, was born 
in 1640, died at Bedford, Massachusetts, 
August 13, 1707. He was a shoemaker by 
trade, but also a farmer, purchasing of 
Rev. Mr. Mitchell, in July, 1682, a tract 
of 500 acres originally granted by the 
town of Cambridge to its pastor in 1652. 
This property, afterwards known as the 
Bacon homestead, included a mill and 
was located on the Shawshine river. The 
house built, it is said, before 1700 was 
standing at a quite recent day, six later 
generations of Bacons having been born 
or lived on the homestead. Of the twenty- 
six "minute men" from Bedford in the 
Concord fight, six were Bacons. All of 
this family and two others were with the 
militia company in the same engagement. 
The "History of Bedford" mentions the 
musical ability that seems characteristic 
of the family. Michael (3) Bacon mar- 
ried, March 22, 1660, Sarah Richardson, 
who died August 15, 1694, daughter of 
Thomas Richardson. Their fourth child 
and eldest son, Jonathan, is next in de- 
scent in this branch of the family. 

(IV) Jonathan Bacon, son of Michael 

(3) and Sarah (Richardson) Bacon, was 
born at Billerica, July 14, 1672, and died 
January 12, 1754. He was approved to 
keep an "ordinary" in 1669. He also saw 
service, and with two of his brothers was 
in the Indian wars with "Major Land," 
in 1706. He was a deputy from Billerica 
to the General Court in 1726, and select- 
man in 1719 and 1727. He was one of the 
petitioners for the formation of the town 
of Bedford, and as a principal inhabitant, 
was appointed to assemble the first town 
meeting, October 6, 1729, when he was 
chosen a member of the first Board of 
Selectmen. He married (first) January 
3, 1694, Elizabeth Giles, who died in 1738, 
and they were the parents of seven chil- 
dren, all born in Billerica. His second 
wife was Elizabeth (Hancock) Wyman, 
widow of Benjamin Wyman, of Woburn. 
Descent in this branch is traced through 
his eldest son and fourth child, Jon- 
athan (2). 

(V) Jonathan (2) Bacon, son of Jon- 
athan (i) and Elizabeth (Giles) Bacon, 
was born December 18, 1700, and died 
prior to February, 1764. He lived in Bed- 
ford, Massachusetts, where he married his 
wife Ruth. They came to Uxbridge, 
Massachusetts, in 1733, where they pur- 
chased the water power at what is now 
Whitinsville ; and the record of him is in 
Sutton from 1741 to 1746. He sold to his 
son Jonathan 600 acres of land with mills 
in Mumford, also a farm of 200 acres ad- 
joining or near the larger tract, then in 
Sutton. The Sutton history says "his 
homestead was in that part of Sutton now 
Upton." Jonathan (2) and Ruth Bacon 
were the parents of nine children, includ- 
ing a son James, of further mention. 

(VI) James Bacon, son of Jonathan 
(2) and Ruth Bacon, was born about 1735, 
in Uxbridge, and later settled in Dudley, 
Massachusetts, and there married, March 
30, 1760, Martha Jewell, of Connecticut 


family. About 1763 he removed from 
Dudley to Charlton, and in 1768 to Brim- 
field, Massachusetts. He was a singer of 
note, and in his youthful manhood, a 
teacher, and also a Revolutionary soldier. 
James and Martha (Jewell) Bacon were 
the parents of eleven children, the first 
two born in Dudley, the next two in 
Charlton, and the others in Brimfield. In 
this branch, Amasa, the ninth child, is the 
next in line of descent. 

(VII) Amasa Bacon, son of James and 
Martha (Jewell) Bacon, was born in 
Brimfield, Massachusetts, June 19, 1776, 
and died there, June 10, 1855. He built 
the first grist mill of Brimfield and vicin- 
ity, and resided in that part of the town 
known as Parksville. He married Hannah 
Dodge, born April 9, 1776, died August 2, 
1854. They were the parents of eleven 
children : George, the fifth child, being 
head of the next generation. 

(VIII) George Bacon, son of Amasa 
and Hannah (Dodge) Bacon, was born 
at Brimfield, May 23, 1807, died June 8, 
1891. He was a farmer of Brimfield all 
his active years, a Unitarian in religion, a 
Republican in politics. He married 
(first), December 25, 1831, Eunice Lom- 
bard, who died childless, August 2, 1832. 
He married (second), September 24, 1834, 
Mary Eliza Ferry, born in 181 5, died 
October 25, 1862, daughter of Hezekiah 
and Hannah (Fisher) Ferry, her father 
a substantial business man of Palmer, who 
gave to each of his eight sons a good 
farm. Hannah (Fisher) Ferry was born 
in Boston, a daughter of a Revolutionary 
soldier ; three of her brothers were sea 
captains, by name Cooley. George and 
Mary E. (Ferry) Bacon were the parents 
of three sons : George Norval ; John 
Flavel ; and Albert Sherman, of whom 
further ; and two daughters : Mary, who 
married Seth W. Smith, and Alice Maude, 
of Springfield. 

(IX) Albert Sherman Bacon, son of 
George and Mary E. (Ferry) Bacon, was 
born in Brimfield, January 17, 1844; died 
in Cambridge, Massachusetts, April 9, 
191 7. He was educated in the public 
schools and Hitchcock Academy. He 
then, for some years, conducted a general 
country store at Wales, Massachusetts, 
later going to Northampton, Massachu- 
setts, in the same line, then to Hinsdale, 
New Hampshire, where he carried on bus- 
iness for some fifteen years, after which 
he disposed of his business and removed 
to Springfield, Massachusetts, where 
he took a position with a wholesale 
paper house, finally resigning and going 
to Boston, where he took a position with 
Carter, Rice & Company, in the same line. 
He was active in that firm for twenty 
years, and was an able business man. For 
several years, he spent his winters in 
Florida, making this his home, and from 
there travelled through the southern 
states and then South America. He mar- 
ried, October 6, 1867, Cynthia Leonard, 
of Northampton, Massachusetts, born No- 
vember 13, 1842, died February 28, 1899, 
daughter of William and Mary S. C. 
(Everett) Leonard. Children born at 
Brimfield : Fanny Gertrude, married 
Edwin Packenham Ruggles, of Milton, 
Massachusetts ; George Albert, a lawyer 
of Springfield ; Clarence Norval, of 
further mention ; Ruth Gray ; Grace 
Mabel ; Jane May. 

(X) Clarence Norval Bacon, of the 
tenth American generation of the family 
founded in New England by Michael 
Bacon, and son of Albert S. and Cynthia 
(Leonard) Bacon, was born at Wales, 
Massachusetts, December 4, 1871. He 
was educated in the schools of Hinsdale, 
New Hampshire, and Northampton, Mas- 
sachusetts, and during the year 1888 he 
taught school in Wyndham county, Ver- 
mont. In 1889 he located in Springfield, 



Massachusetts, engaging for a time as 
bookkeeper. In 1895 he became identified 
with the B. L. Bragg Company, beginning 
as clerk and later becoming treasurer and 
manager. His next connection was with 
the Bacon & Donovan Engine Company, 
of which he was treasurer, that company 
becoming later the Bacon, Farnum Com- 
pany — C. N. Bacon, treasurer. In Au- 
gust, 1915, the present Bacon-Taplin Com- 
pany was incorporated, Mr. Bacon serving 
as treasurer. They are selling agents for 
all kinds of farm machinery, electric light- 
ing systems, dairy supplies, gasoline en- 
gines, and control the sale of Edison bat- 
teries in the New England States. Their 
plant is well equipped for the purpose it 
is intended ; no better is to be found in 
Western Massachusetts. 

Mr. Bacon has studied music for thirty 
years, and has been connected with, at dif- 
ferent times, and assisted in organizing 
nearly every amateur musical organization 
in this city. Since its founding he has been 
connected with the Springfield Symphony 
Orchestra, which he was instrumental in 
organizing, serving three years as its 
president. He is affiliated with Spring- 
field Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; 
Morning Star Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons ; and Springfield Council, Royal 
and Select Masters. He is a member of 
the Rotary Club, and of the Church of 
Christ, Scientist. Mr. Bacon was presi- 
dent for two years of the Western New 
England Hardware Dealers' Association, 
president of the Western New England 
Implement Dealers' Association, and di- 
rector of the New England Implement 
Dealers' Association. 

Mr. Bacon married, September 5, 1895, 
Martha Rose Mayforth, and they are the 
parents of three children : Doris New- 
berth, born August 7, 1900; Rosalind Al- 
berta, born March i, 1902; Norval Albert, 
born October 2, 1903. Mrs. Martha Rose 

(Mayforth) Bacon was born in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, daughter of Conrad 
and Martha Rosina (Newberth) May- 
forth. Conrad Mayforth was born in Sax- 
ony, Germany, in 1821, died in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, in 1877. He 
learned the blacksmith's trade in Saxony, 
and there remained until 1850, when he 
came to the United States and located 
in Hartford, Connecticut, spending the 
decade, 1850-1860, in that locality. He 
moved his residence to Springfield, where 
he was employed in the United States 
Armory and in the Wason Car shops. 
His wife, Martha Rosina (Newberth) 
Mayforth, was born in Saxony, in 1826, 
died in Springfield in 1896, daughter of 
Adam Newberth. They were the parents 
of eight children : Martha Mayforth ; 
Bertha Anne, married Louis Stuckert; 
Matilda, deceased, married Stephen Cald- 
well ; George, deceased ; Edward, de- 
ceased ; Sophia, deceased, who married 
Alexander Withrin ; William ; Martha 
Rose, who married Clarence N. Bacon ; 
and Albert. 

TAPLIN, Frank Coe, 

Head of Important Business. 

As president of the Bacon-Taplin 
Company of Springfield, Massachusetts, 
incorporated in 1915, Mr. Taplin is head 
of a prosperous company handling gas en- 
gines and all kinds of farm machinery. 
This business was founded by Frank C. 
Taplin and Clarence N. Bacon (see pre- 
ceding sketch), and is now in the fifth 
year of operation, the stocks carried being 
large and modern. 

(I) Mr. Taplin is a grandson of Rev. 
Horatio N. Taplin, born in Corinth, Ver- 
mont, August II, 1817, died in Plymouth, 
New Hampshire, January 19, 1855. Hor- 
atio N. Taplin was a minister of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal church, but died a com- 



paratively young man. He married, in 
Barre, Vermont, Susan Ketchum, born 
July 26, 1818, died at Bradford, Vermont, 
May 20, 1887. Her maternal grandfather 
was Bradford Newcomb, born in Leb- 
anon, Connecticut, November 9, 1747. 
His father's mother was Jerusha Bradford 
prior to her marriage, and she was a 
great-granddaughter of Governor William 
Bradford, who came over in the "May- 
flower." Rev. Horatio N. and Susan 
(Ketchum) Taplin were the parents of 
five children : Susan Almira ; Henry 
Gouldsburn ; Henry Thing, of further 
mention ; Almira Elizabeth ; and Eva 

(H) Henry Thing Taplin, son of Rev. 
Horatio N. and Susan (Ketchum) Tap- 
lin, was born in Plymouth, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1847, and is, at the age of seventy- 
two, living in Newfields, New Hampshire. 
The father died when his son was seven 
years of age, and shortly afterwards the 
lad was adopted by Henry Thing and 
wife, and spent the years since 1855 
largely in Newfields and vicinity. He has 
engaged in farming, was in mercantile life 
for a time, and was a farm machinery 
salesman, but is now living a retired life. 
He has held town office in Newfields, has 
served as steward and trustee of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal church, is a member of 
the Masonic order of Exeter, New Hamp- 
shire, and in politics is a Republican. 
Henry Thing Taplin married. May 26, 
1871, Annie M. Coe, born September 26, 
1845, daughter of Benjamin and Louisa 
(Frost) Coe. 

Mrs. Annie M. (Coe) Taplin is a de- 
scendant of Robert Coe, who came in the 
ship "Francis" from Ipswich, England, in 
1634, with wife Ann and children, John, 
Robert (2), and Benjamin. According to 
the receipts at the Custom House, Robert 
was aged thirty-eight, his wife forty-three, 
and the sons eight, seven and five respec- 

tively. He settled in Watertown, where 
he was made a freeman, September 3, 
1638, but in 1635 or 1636 he removed to 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, going from 
Connecticut to Long Island, and was 
sheriff in 1669-1672. The line of descent 
is through Robert (2) Coe, born in Eng- 
land, in 1627, who came with his parents 
in 1634, settled in Stratford, Connecticut, 
and died in 1659, his widow, Hannah, sur- 
viving him. Robert (2) and Hannah Coe 
were the parents of a daughter, Susanna, 
who married John Ailing, Jr., of New 
Haven, Connecticut, and of a son, John, 
born May 10, 1658, who married Mary 
Hawley. Their son, Joseph Coe, head of 
the fourth American generation, married 
a Miss Robinson, and their son, Joseph 
(2) Coe, born in 1713, was the great- 
grandfather of Annie M. (Coe) Taplin. 
Joseph (2) Coe married Abigail Curtiss, 
the line of descent continuing through 
their son. Rev. Curtis Coe, born in 1750, 
and his wife, Anna Thompson ; their son, 
Deacon Benjamin Coe, born in 1781, and 
his wife, Louisa Frost; their daughter 
Annie M., who married Henry Thing Tap- 
lin. Mr. and Mrs. Henry T. Taplin were 
the parents of an only son, Frank Coe, of 
further mention, a descendant of the 
eighth American Coe generation and 
tracing through his grandmother, Susan 
(Ketchum) Taplin, to Governor William 
Bradford of the "Mayflower." 

(Ill) Frank Coe Taplin was born in 
Newfields, New Hampshire, April 5, 1872, 
and was educated in Newfields public 
schools. As a lad he was employed on his 
father's farm, but upon arriving at suit- 
able age learned the machinist's trade in 
Newfields. Later, on account of his 
father's illness, he returned to the home 
farm, remaining as long as he was needed. 
Henry T. Taplin later purchased a laun- 
dry in Exeter, New Hampshire, and for 
a time Frank C. helped him in its opera- 



tion. From Exeter, Frank Coe Taplin 
went to Manchester, New Hampshire, 
where he was employed in Leighton's 
machine shops for about three years, 
going thence to Boston with Lunt, Moss 
& Company, manufacturers of gas en- 
gines, remaining with that company five 
years. From Lunt, Moss & Company he 
went with the Olds Engine Company, of 
Boston, as superintendent of the mechan- 
ical department, remaining eight years. 
He then was employed in the same line 
of work at Poughkeepsie, New York, but 
he soon returned to Boston, reentered the 
employ of Lunt, Moss & Company, and 
eighteen months later resigned and lo- 
cated in Springfield, Massachusetts. 

For six months after coming to Spring- 
field, Mr. Taplin was employed with the 
firm of Bacon & Farnum, but six months 
later, in 1915, he formed a partnership 
with Clarence N. Bacon, and incorporated 
as the Bacon-Taplin Company, further 
particulars of which are to be found in 
the preceding sketch. Mr. Taplin is pres- 
ident of the company, which now has five 
successful years to its credit and is a 
growing corporation. Mr. Taplin is a 
member of several business organizations, 
is a Republican in politics, and a steward 
of the Wesleyan Methodist Episcopal 

Francis Coe Taplin married. May 11, 
1898, Marion Elizabeth Sanborn, of New- 
fields, New Hampshire, daughter of John 
Wentworth and Julia A. (Sandborn) San- 
born. Mrs. Taplin is a descendant of 
William Sanborn, born in England, in 
1600, and there married Anna, a daughter 
of Rev. Stephen Bachiler. Three sons of 
William and Anna Sanborn, John, Wil- 
liam and Stephen, came to New England 
with their Grandfather Bachiler, a promi- 
nent clergyman of New England. De- 
scent is traced in this branch through 

William Sanborn, who spelled his name 
with a final "e." 

(The Sanborne (Sanborn) Line). 

(I) William Sanborne was born in 
Brimpton, England, about 1622. He is 
found in the records of Hampton, Novem- 
ber 27, 1639. "Here Willi Sanborne (with 
his consent) is appointed to ring the bell 
before meetings on the Lord's day and 
other days, for which he is to have 6d 
per lotte of every one having a lotte with 
in the town." He was selectman six 
terms, served on many committees, was 
a soldier of King Philip's War, and owned 
considerable land. He married Mary, 
daughter of John Moulton, of Ornsby, 
Norfolkshire, England, and they were the 
parents of: Mary, Mehitable, William, 
Josiah, of further mention ; Mercy, Mephi- 
bosheth, Sarah, and Stephen. William, 
the father, died November 18, 1692. 

(II) Josiah Sanborne was born about 
1654 and lived at Hampton, New Hamp- 
shire, and in 1728 his will, dated Novem- 
ber 28, 1727, was admitted to probate. 
Josiah was a well-to-do farmer, described 
also as a "planter" and was part owner 
of a saw mill in 1693. He was representa- 
tive from Hampton in 1695, and a man of 
considerable importance. He married 
(first) Hannah Moulton, daughter of Wil- 
liam Moulton, of Hampton. Their chil- 
dren were: William (2), of further men- 
tion ; Hannah, and Sarah. He married 
(second) Sarah Perkins. 

(III) William (2) Sanborne, oldest 
child of Josiah and his first wife, Hannah 
(Moulton) Sanborne, was born in Hamp- 
ton, New Hampshire, March 26, 1682, 
lived at Hampton Falls in 1709, and died 
April 3, 1718, supposedly killed by 
Indians, for in the records this entry ap- 
pears : "Eliza Sanborn baptized, daugh- 
ter of William Sanborn, just after his 
awful death." In deeds William (3) San- 




borne is described in the records as "yeo- 
man," and he served in the Franch War 
of 1712, in Captain Green's company. He 
married Elizabeth Dearborn, daughter of 
Henry Dearborn, of Hampton, and great- 
great-aunt of Major Henry Dearborn of 
the Continental army. Their children 
were : Ezekiel, of further mention ; 
Rachel, Jonathan, Reuben, Abner, and 

(IV) Sergeant Ezekiel Sanborn, (the e 
now being dropped) was born at Hamp- 
ton Falls, New Hampshire, in 1704, died 
in 1757. He served in the French and 
Indian War. He married Elizabeth 
Melcher. The line descends through their 
son, Edward Sanborn, born in 1731, and 
his wife, Elizabeth Runlet; their son, 
Moses Dalton Sanborn, born 1789, and his 
wife, Abigail Prescott; their son, Jere- 
miah Sanborn, born in 1812, and his wife, 
Olive C. Wentworth ; their son Rev. John 
Wentworth Sanborn, born in 1848, and his 
first wife, Julia A. Sanborn, daughter of 
J. Munson Sanborn; their daughter, 
Marion Elizabeth Sanborn, who married 
Frank Coe Taplin (see Taplin line), and 
they are the parents of a daughter Olive, 
born June 13, 1900, eleventh in descent 
from William Sanborne. 

ABBE, James T., 
Active Business Factor, Art Connoissenr. 

The later James T. Abbe, for many 
years, an active factor in the business, 
financial, political and social circles of 
Springfield, his adopted city, was a 
worthy representative of a family long 
seated in New England, its members in 
the various generations down to the pres- 
ent time (1920) numbering seven, all 
noted for their excellent characteristics, 
participating in every worth-while event, 
even to giving up their lives if need be for 
the honor and integrity of their country. 

Mass — 10 — 9 I 

(I) Thomas Abbe, the pioneer ancestor 
of the branch of the family herein traced, 
became a resident of Enfield, Connecticut, 
as early as the year 1683, his lot being No. 
II, east side, north of the south corner, 
he being among the original proprietors. 
He also participated in the second division 
of land, his grants consisting of twelve 
acres near the old saw mill and twenty 
acres in the East Precinct, and subse- 
quently he was granted several smaller 
pieces of land, his home lot consisting of 
eleven acres. He took an active interest 
in community affairs, and was chosen by 
his fellow-townsmen to serve in various 
public offices, among these being select- 
man for the years 1686-89- 1706-07-09- 10; 
assessor, 1705; road surveyor; fence 
viewer; petit juror, and member of var- 
ious committees. Thomas Abbe died in 
Enfield, in 1728, and left a will dated 
October 12, 1720, in which he mentions 
two sons, Thomas and John, and two 
daughters, Sarah Geer and Tabitha 

(II) John Abbe, youngest son of 
Thomas Abbe, was born in Enfield, Con- 
necticut, in 1692. He was a lifelong resi- 
dent of his native town, was one of the 
first settlers of the upper part of King's 
street, was the incumbent of several minor 
offices, and was active and prominent in 
all matters pertaining to the welfare of 
the community, being mentioned in the 
records of 1786 and 1791. He was the 
father of four sons, namely : John, 
Thomas, Daniel and Richard. 

(HI) Richard Abbe, youngest son of 
John Abbe, was born in Enfield, Connec- 
ticut, in 1735, and resided there all his life, 
his death occurring September 20, 1807, in 
his seventy-third year. He followed 
agricultural pursuits as a means of liveli- 
hood and, like his ancestors, filled various 
public offices, discharging his duties in 
a creditable manner. He was an active 



participant in the Revolutionary War, his 
name appearing on the Connecticut 
records. He was commissioned ensign, 
January i, 1777, resigned February 6, 
1778; was an ensign in Captain Abner 
Robinson's company. Colonel McLellan's 
regiment, which was raised for one year's 
service, from March, 1778, and which ap- 
pears to have served in Tyler's brigade 
under Sullivan in Rhode Island, August 
and September, 1778; and on May 29, 
1781, he joined Captain James Dana's 
company, which served at Horseneck and 
places adjacent, and later it joined Gen- 
eral Washington while he was encamped 
at Phillipsburg. Captain Richard Abbe 
married, January 9, 1755, Mary Bement, 
daughter of Captain Dennis and Mary 
(Abbe) Bement. Her death occurred 
August 14, 1821, aged eighty-three years. 

(IV) Captain Richard (2) Abbe, son 
of Captain Richard (i) and Mary (Be- 
ment) Abbe, was born in Enfield, Connec- 
ticut, March 2, 1760, and died there, August 
9, 1831, aged seventy-one years. He mar- 
ried, January 16, 1782, Lydia Stevenson, 
born October 20, 1764, died June i, 1844, 
aged eighty years. Their children were : 
I. Charles, born December i, 1785; mar- 
ried, March 2, 1809, Harriet Strong. 2. 
Richard, born December 30, 1787; mar- 
ried, November 29, 1810, Charlotte 
Bement. 3. Roswell, twin with Richard, 
born December 30, 1787; married, Novem- 
ber 30, 1809, Sally Olmsted. 4. Betsey, 
born February 15, 1790. 5. Joshua, born 
August 17, 1791 ; married Phila Pease. 6. 
George, mentioned below. 7. Harriet, 
born February 10, 1798, died August 19, 
1825. 8. Lucinda, born February 2, 1805, 
died September 25, 1827; married, Septem- 
ber 17, 1821, Charles Chase, who died 
March 16, 1833. 9- Lorinda, twin with 
Lucinda, born February 2, 1805, died Sep- 
tember 24, 1825. 

(V) George Abbe, fifth son of Captain 

Richard (2) and Lydia (Stevenson) Abbe, 
was born in Enfield, Connecticut, Decem- 
ber 24, 1794, and died in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, May 22, 1858, aged sixty- 
four years. He spent the greater part of 
his lifetime in the town of his birth, and 
in those early days boating was the prin- 
cipal mode of transportation, and he en- 
gaged successfully in that line of business 
for many years. Later he made a decided 
change in his plans, accepting the posi- 
tion of agent for the New York, New 
Haven & Hartford railroad at Thompson- 
ville, serving in this capacity with ef- 
ficiency for a number of years. Late in 
life he changed his place of residence to 
Springfield, Massachusetts, and there 
spent the remainder of his days. He was 
a man of energy, force of character and 
judgment, and was esteemed by his fel- 
low-citizens. Mr. Abbe married (first), 
September 30, 1819, Sally Chapman, of 
Tolland, Connecticut, who bore him four 
children, namely: George Chapman, 
James, mentioned below, Maria S., and 
Warren Clifford. 

(VI) James Abbe, second son of George 
and Sally (Chapman) Abbe, was born in 
Enfield, Connecticut, June i, 1822, died 
at Springfield, Massachusetts, May 7, 
1889, aged sixty-seven years. The public 
schools of Thompsonville, Connecticut, 
afforded him the means of obtaining a 
practical education, and his first employ- 
ment was in the boating business as as- 
sistant to his father. This not proving 
congenial to his tastes and inclinations, 
and railroads beginning to supersede 
boats as a means of travel, he turned his 
attention to acquiring a trade, choosing 
that of tinner, the details of which he 
mastered by serving an apprenticeship 
with a tinner in Thompsonville, after 
which he established a business along that 
line in the same village and also one in 
Haydenvillc, conducting these with a cer- 



tain degree of success until the year 1843, 
when he removed to Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, and entered the employ of 
Joshua Abbe, a cousin, who was also en- 
gaged in the tinning business. Later he 
again engaged in business on his own ac- 
count, having a store for the sale of tin- 
ware and stoves on the present site of the 
Phoenix building. This proving a suc- 
cessful enterprise, he opened stores for the 
sale of the same lines of merchandise in 
Chicopee, Massachusetts, and East Green- 
wich, Rhode Island, about the year 1854, 
but discontinued these the following year, 
they not proving as lucrative as he an- 
ticipated. He once more took up his resi- 
dence in Springfield, then purchased the 
business of his cousin, aforementioned, and 
during the fifteen years that followed he 
was awarded the contracts for all the tin 
work of the Wason Car Company and the 
Boston & Albany Railroad Company, 
which was considerable, and which aug- 
mented largely the profits derived from 
other sources. In 1869 he erected Abbe's 
block at No. 309 Main street, then ad- 
mitted to partnership his only son, James 
T. Abbe, and for the following eleven 
years conducted business under the style 
of James Abbe & Son. At the expiration 
of that period of time the business was 
sold to Shepard & Wilson, and the son, 
James T. Abbe, went to Holyoke and en- 
gaged in the envelope business. In the 
following year, 1881, Mr. Shepard died, 
and Mr. Abbe again secured possession 
of the business and shortly afterward 
closed it up. He then engaged in an en- 
tirely different line of work, that of real 
estate, his office being located in the block 
erected by him as aforementioned. Al- 
though his own business was extensive 
and required considerable of his time and 
attention, he was enabled to devote some 
thought to outside interests, serving as 
president of the Hampden Watch Com- 

pany, in which he was a heavy stock- 
holder; as director of the Pynchon Na- 
tional Bank ; as trustee of the Springfield 
Cemetery Association, and as one of the 
original corporators of the Holyoke En- 
velope Company. He also took an active 
and helpful interest in political affairs, 
was a member of the Legislature in 1876- 
1877, and had he so desired could have 
become a candidate for the office of mayor 
of Springfield, an office which he would 
have filled satisfactorily to all concerned. 
He was an attendant and liberal supporter 
of Trinity Church, Springfield, and no 
worthy charity or call for aid appealed 
to him in vain. 

Mr. Abbe married in April, 1848, Car- 
oline E. Terry, of Thompsonville, Con- 
necticut, born December 6, 1826, died 
March 21, 1916, daughter of Harmon and 
Emeline (Ellis) Terry, granddaughter of 
Salmon Terry, and a descendant of one 
of the old families of Enfield, Connecti- 
cut. Children: i. James T., mentioned 
below. 2. Caroline L., born December 3, 
1851 ; married, October 20, 1880, Charles 
D. Rood, president of the Lancaster 
Watch Company, of Lancaster, Pennsyl- 
vania ; children : Madeline A., born Sep- 
tember 27, 1881 ; Gladys, born February 
25, 1884; and Charles Dexter, born Octo- 
ber 6, 1889. 

(VII) James T. Abbe, only son of 
James and Caroline E. (Terry) Abbe, was 
born in East Windsor, Connecticut, March 
16, 1849, died in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, December 15, 1907. His education 
was received by attendance at the schools 
of Springfield, including the high school, 
Wilbraham Academy, which he attended 
for one year, and Amherst College, a stu- 
dent in the class of 1870, remaining until 
the close of his sophomore year. From 
the expiration of his college course until 
18S1 he was in business with his father 
in Springfield, as partner, under the name 



of James Abbe & Son, then became one 
of the members of the Holyoke Envelope 
Company, of which he was also one of the 
organizers, the others interested being his 
father and George U. Tyner, and later he 
was appointed to the office of president of 
same. James Abbe sold his interest in the 
company to James D. Whitmore, of New 
York City, who subsequently sold his 
interest to George U. Tyner and James T. 
Abbe, the former-named being the prac- 
tical man and the latter-named having 
charge of its business aflfairs. The build- 
ing in which the company began business 
was destroyed by fire in January, 1888, 
after which they erected a factory on the 
corner of Jackson and Main streets, the 
machinery being built by the company on 
its own patents, giving employment to 
three hundred hands, the output being 
three and a half million envelopes daily, a 
larger amount than any other single fac- 
tory in the United States. In August, 
1898, the United States Envelope Com- 
pany purchased the plant, Mr. Abbe then 
discontinuing his interest therein. The 
Phoenix building, in which were stores 
and offices, also two apartments, was 
owned by Mr. Abbe, who gave his per- 
sonal supervision to its management, it 
being one of the finest office structures 
in Western Massachusetts, perfectly 
equipped with up-to-date appliances, 
every detail being carefully looked after 
by its owner, who took a justifiable pride 
in it. 

The business judgment, acumen and 
progressiveness displayed by Mr. Abbe 
in the management of his extensive inter- 
ests caused him to be chosen as a member 
of the boards of directors of the Home 
National and Park National banks, of 
Holyoke, he having been one of the orig- 
inal subscribers of the stock of the latter, 
and of the Pynchon National Bank and 
the Hampden Trust Company of Spring- 

field. In conjunction with Oscar Green- 
leaf, H. K. Baker and W. E. Whipple, Mr. 
Abbe organized the Springfield "Daily 
Union," and in 1895, when the Union 
Publishing Company was formed, he was 
chosen to act as the executive head, serv- 
ing in the capacity of president until his 
death. He was an early member of the 
Springfield Board of Trade, and in 1894 
was chosen as its fourth president, and he 
also acted as president of the Springfield 
Cemetery Association, in the reorganiza- 
tion of which he was instrumental. The 
McKinley monument fund received his 
hearty support, he being a member of the 
committee to choose a suitable memorial, 
and he also took an active interest in the 
Springfield Public Library for many 

Mr. Abbe advocated the principles and 
policies of the Republican party, in the 
councils of which he took an active part, 
but he would never allow his name to be 
used as a candidate, although his qualifi- 
cations would have fitted him eminently 
for public office. He was widely known 
as an art connoisseur and critic, was the 
owner of a fine collection of paintings, in- 
cluding numerous productions of the best 
native and European artists, many of 
which adorned his home, which also con- 
tained a number of other art treasures 
which were admired by all who were 
fortunate to see them. He was a great 
lover of animals, especially of dogs and 
horses, owning some very fine specimens, 
for which he paid the highest prices. He 
held membership in the Nyasset Club, but 
he preferred to spend his leisure time in 
his home rather than in the society of even 
his most intimate comrades. 

Mr. Abbe married, at Springfield, 
Massachusetts, March 17, 1892, Mrs. Mary 
H. (Mulligan) Fuller, widow of Milton 
Fuller, and daughter of John and Lydia 
A. (Bridges) Mulligan (see Mulligan II, 



in following sketch), John Mulligan being 
at one time president of the Connecticut 
River Railroad Company. Milton Fuller 
accumulated a large fortune in the Penn- 
sylvania oil regions. Mrs. Abbe, who 
survives her husband, and who is the cen- 
ter of a select circle of friends, is a native 
of Springfield. 

Leadership in more than one line is 
seldom vouchsafed to an individual, but 
the late James T. Abbe aided largely in 
molding public thought and opinion in 
business, political and social circles. En- 
dowed by nature with strong mentality, 
he carefully prepared for every duty de- 
volving upon him, and with a sense of 
conscientious obligation he met every re- 
quirement and responsibility. An upright 
manhood, a patriotic devotion to country, 
and fearless loyalty to the true and the 
right, these were the elements which made 
Mr. Abbe prominent in the business and 
political life of his adopted city, Spring- 

MULLIGAN, Walter Lyon, 
Expert Electrician. 

Among the representative business men 
of Springfield, Massachusetts, should be 
numbered Walter L. Mulligan, treasurer 
of the United Electric Light Company of 
Springfield, a representative in the fourth 
generation of a family founded in Ireland, 
but who have been located in this coun- 
try for more than a century. 

(I) John Mulligan, great-grandfather 
of Walter L. Mulligan, and the pioneer 
ancestor of this branch of the family, was 
a native of the North of Ireland, was there 
reared and educated, and in 1819 emi- 
grated to the New World, making the 
voyage in a sailing vessel, and upon his 
arrival proceeded at once to Hartford, 
Connecticut, where he spent the re- 
mainder of his days. He was a machinist 

by trade, an expert workman, and fol- 
lowed this line successfully for many 
years. He and his wife were the parents 
of seven children, the line being traced 
through their son, John (2), of whom 

(II) John (2) Mulligan, grandfather 
of Walter L. Mulligan, was a native of 
Hartford, Connecticut, born January 12, 
1820, died in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
February 22, 1898. He attended the com- 
mon schools of his native city, and at an 
early age, being forced by circumstances 
to contribute toward his own support, se- 
cured employment with Philemon Can- 
field, publisher of the "Christian Secre- 
tary." His work was on the old-fashioned 
press, and he also distributed the paper 
among the city subscribers. Realizing 
that a trade would be beneficial to him in 
his subsequent career, he chose that of 
machinist, and became thoroughly famil- 
iar with the mechanism of locomotives at 
the works of William Norris in Philadel- 
phia, Pennsylvania. In the summer of 
1841 he accepted the position of engineer 
of the steamer, "William Hall," which 
was used for towing freight between Hart- 
ford and Willimansett, and the following 
year, 1842, served in a simihar capacity 
on the "Phoenix," a passenger boat, ply- 
ing between Springfield and Hartford. 
He only held this position for a few 
months, as in the same year he was trans- 
ferred to the Boston & Albany railroad, 
then called the Western railroad, and was 
in their employ, as engineer, for ten years. 
He had a number of exciting experiences 
during his term as engineer, some pleas- 
ant and some otherwise, and in 1852 was 
the engineer of the special train which 
carried Kossuth, the Hungarian patriot, 
from Springfield to Northampton. In 
1852 he was appointed to the position of 
master mechanic of the Connecticut 
River railroad, and sixteen years later, in 



1868, was appointed superintendent of the 
road, the duties of which responsible of- 
fice he performed for twenty-two years, 
when he succeeded Mr. Leonard as presi- 
dent of the company. Mr. Mulligan was 
always considerate and thoughtful of the 
men under his supervision, and while ex- 
acting from every one their full quota of 
work, he was always ready and willing 
to listen to any suggestion which would 
prove to their benefit and never asking or 
demanding of them what he would not be 
willing to do himself, and in this way won 
and retained the confidence and respect 
of his subordinates. In addition to his 
responsibility as head of a large railroad, 
which he managed in a skillful manner, 
this fact clearly proving his unusual capa- 
bilities, he served the city of Springfield 
in public capacity, serving during the 
years 1864-65 as a member of the Com- 
mon Council from Ward One, a member 
of the Board of Aldermen in 1866-67-68, 
from 1875 to 1877 again a representative 
from his ward to the Common Council, 
and had he so desired could have become 
a candidate for the office of mayor. At 
the time of his death he was serving as 
president of the Hampden Savings Bank, 
of which he was a trustee, and was also 
a director in the Chapin National Bank. 

M". Mulligan married, in 1845, Lydia 
Ann Bridges, daughter of Hastings 
Bridges, and they were the parents of 
two children : Charles Henry, of whom 
further; and Mary Henrietta, who became 
the wife of James T. Abbe, of Springfield 
(see Abbe VII, preceding sketch). 

(HI) Charles Henry Mulligan, father 
of Walter L. Mulligan, was born in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, January 26, 
1849. ^^ was a student in the public 
schools of his native city, graduating from 
the high school in the class of 1886. In 
the following year he began his business 
career by entering the employ of the Haw- 

kins Iron Company in the capacity of 
clerk, and as a reward for his faithful and 
conscientious service in their behalf was 
promoted to the position of general man- 
ager, performing the duties pertaining 
thereto in the same efficient manner, win- 
ning for himself the approbation of his 
employers and the esteem and good will 
of those under his supervision. His polit- 
ical allegiance has always been given to 
the Republican party, in the interests of 
which he has taken an active part, and he 
served the city of Springfield in the ca- 
pacity of councilman and as a member 
of the Board of Aldermen during the 
years 1897-98-99. He holds membership 
in the Nayasset, Winthrop and Spring- 
field Country clubs, and in all matters 
pertaining to the welfare of Springfield 
has taken an active part. 

Mr. Mulligan married, June 12, 1872, 
Louise Jane Lyon, daughter of Jason 
Lyon, of Thetford, Vermont, who was 
the driver of a stage for Chester W. 
Chapin prior to the building of the Bos- 
ton & Albany railroad, later was an active 
factor on this road, operated by Mr. 
Chapin, and subsequently filled the posi- 
tion of chief baggage master. Mr. and 
Mrs. Mulligan became the parents of two 
sons: I. Walter Lyon, of whom further. 
2. Ralph Fuller, born February 23, 1887 ; 
was a student in the Springfield schools 
and the Students' League, New York 

(IV) Walter Lyon Mulligan was born 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, July 6, 
1875. He received his preparatory edu- 
cation in the public schools of Spring- 
field, including the high school, from 
which he was graduated in the class of 
1893, and supplemented this by a course 
in Cornell University, from which insti- 
tution he was graduated in the class of 
1897, fully prepared for the activities of 
life. He then entered the employ of the 



company with which he is connected at 
the present time, the United Electric 
Light Company of Springfield, the date 
of his entrance being December, 1897, his 
position that of electrician, which he oc- 
cupied for several years, giving general 
satisfaction, then was promoted to the 
position of assistant manager, which he 
also filled satisfactorily, later received the 
promotion to manager, and in (1920) 
again received promotion, this time to 
treasurer of the company, his present posi- 
tion. His relation with the company in 
various capacities now extends over a per- 
iod of twenty-three years, and this fact elo- 
quently testifies to his excellent business 
qualifications. He is also a member of 
the board of directors of the United Elec- 
tric Light Company, the Bircham Bend 
Power Company, and the Springfield Safe 
Deposit Company. He holds membership 
in Springfield Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; the American Institute of Elec- 
trical Engineers, the Colony Club, the 
Nayasset Club, the Winthrop Club, the 
Springfield Country Club, and the Rotary 
Club, of which he was the first president. 
Mr. Mulligan married, June 18, 1903, 
Maria Foster Snow, born in Providence, 
Rhode Island, daughter of J, Lippitt and 
Sophronia (Earl) Snow. 

BOWLES, Charles Allen, 

Manufacturer, Member of Important 

Charles Allen Bowles occupies a strong 
position in the business and social life of 
Springfield, his native city. For twenty- 
two years he has been a member of Dexter 
81 Bowles, dealers in paper pulp and mill 
supplies. He is a grandson of Samuel (2) 
Bowles, founder of the Springfield "Re- 
publican ;" son of Samuel (3) Bowles, who 
succeeded his father ; and brother of Sam- 
uel (4) Bowles, the third of the name to 

be concerned in the founding and upbuild- 
ing of a great newspaper, which vies with 
the best metropolitan journals in its news 
and editorial departments. 

(I) Charles A. Bowles is a descend- 
ant of John Bowles, who was of Roxbury, 
Massachusetts, in 1639, freeman, May 13, 
1640, and a ruling elder of the church. 
He was accidentally killed by a cart wheel 
running over him, and was buried Septem- 
ber 24, 1680. By his second wife, Eliza 
Heath, daughter of Isaac Heath, who was 
the mother of his children, descent in this 
line is traced through John (2) Bowles. 

(II) John (2) Bowles, son of John (i) 
and Eliza (Heath) Bowles, was baptized 
July 17, 1653, died in 1691. He was a 
graduate of Harvard College, class of 
1 67 1, and was made a freeman in 1680. 
He married, November 16, 1681, Sarah 
Eliot, daughter of Rev. John (2) Eliot. 
She died May 23, 1687, leaving a son, 
John (3) Bowles. John (2) Bowles was 
representative to the General Court in 
1689 and 1690 and Speaker of the House. 
When chosen ruling elder in 1688, it was 
hoped he would preach and work with 
John Eliot, the Apostle to the Indians, 
but his health failed and he died March 
30, 1 691. 

(III) John (3) Bowles, son of John 
(2) and Sarah (Eliot) Bowles, was born 
March 15, 1685. He was a college gradu- 
ate, and a man of prominence; he died in 
1737. From John (3) Bowles, descent is 
traced through his son, Joshua Bowles. 

(IV) Joshua Bowles, son of John (3) 
Bowles, was born in 1722, and died in 
1794. Descent is traced through his son, 

(V) Samuel Bowles, son of Joshua 
Bowles, was born in 1762, and died in 
1813. His son, Samuel (2) Bowles, is 
next in line. 

(VI) Samuel (2) Bowles, son of Sam- 
uel (i) Bowles, was born in Hartford, 



Connecticut, September 8, 1797, and died 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, September 
8, 185 1, he, the founder of the Spring-field 
"Republican," which was established in 
1824, which under his son, Samuel (3), 
and grandson, Samuel (4) Bowles, became 
one of the greatest of American news- 
papers. He learned the printer's trade in 
Hartford, Connecticut, and when he came 
to Springfield in 1824, he brought with 
him a small hand press with sufficient type 
for a village paper. The first issue of the 
"Republican" was dated September 8, 
1824, the sheet a folio, with six columns 
on each page, 13x17 inches square. Its 
subscription list contained three hundred 
and fifty names and the advertisements 
filled but one and one-half columns of the 
little paper. The newspaper was a 
weekly, designed for the family with a 
distinct literary flavor. Samuel (2) 
Bowles ran the "Republican" as a weekly 
until December 4, 1844, when it became 
the "Daily Evening Republican," the edi- 
tor's son, Samuel (3) Bowles, having per- 
suaded his somewhat reluctant father to 
make the experiment. The "Daily Even- 
ing Republican" was a success, and on 
December 4, 1846, appeared as a morning 
paper. Samuel (2) Bowles died in 1851, 
but the "Republican" lives, and under 
Bowles' editorial and business manage- 
ment stands as a wonderful monument to 
the genius of Samuel (2) Bowles, founder 
and upbuilders of the paper which in 1856, 
Horace Greeley, editor of the then power- 
ful New York "Tribune," named as "the 
best and ablest country journal on this 

Samuel (2) Bowles married Huldah 
Deming, of Wethersfield, Connecticut, 
who came to Springfield in 1824. They 
v/ere the parents of five children : Albert ; 
Julia; Samuel (3), of further mention; 
Amelia ; and Benjamin F. 

(VII) Samuel (3) Bowles, son of Sam- 

uel (2) and Huldah (Deming) Bowles, 
was born in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
February 9, 1826, died in the city of his 
birth, January 16, 1878. He was educated 
in private school, but absorbed more in- 
formation in the office of the "Republi- 
can," his father's paper, with which he 
was early connected. He was eighteen 
years of age when he prevailed upon his 
father to make the "Republican" a daily, 
a risky venture, for there was not then 
(1844) a daily paper in Massachusetts 
outside of Boston. But the lad's judg- 
ment was good and the "Republican" 
prospered as an evening, then as a morn- 
ing daily. In 1851, on the death of the 
founder, the son Samuel (3) Bowles, be- 
came editor and publisher of the Spring- 
field "Republican," which was growing 
rapidly in public favor. 

In the columns of his paper, Samuel 
(3) Bowles advocated impartial suffrage, 
regardless of race, color or sex, and was 
a supporter of the Republican party until 
the after-war reconstruction period, when 
he seriously dissented the breach widen- 
ing, until 1872, when the Republican party 
declared itself independent of party lines 
and supported Horace Greeley, the lib- 
eral and Democratic candidate. In 1876 
he supported Rutherford B. Hayes, en- 
dorsing his liberal Southern policy and his 
advocacy of civil service reform, but Mr. 
Bowles always opposed the high protec- 
tive tariff principles of his party, believ- 
ing that the nearer we approached free 
trade the sounder would be our financial 

Mr. Bowles was a born newspaper man, 
with a keen instinct for news and genius 
for management. He started many young 
men in their journalistic career and in no 
other newspaper office could a beginner 
so quickly gain his start. The columns 
of the "Republican" were open to young 
writers, and young men there first ob- 


Ifnhu 1. Warren 


tained an audience who afterward were 
honored men of letters. Dr. John G. Hol- 
land wrote during- the sixteen years which 
he was editorially associated with Mr. 
Bowles, the popular "Timothy Titcomb 
Papers," the poem, "Bitter Sweet," and 
various stories for the "Republican." 
Other popular contributors were : Mary 
Clemmer Ames, and "Warrington," whose 
Boston letters stirred the thoughts of the 

Although not a writer of books, the 
newspaper sketches written by Mr. 
Bowles were gathered into volumes. A 
particularly popular one was his descrip- 
tion of an overland journey to California 
in 1865, in company with Schuyler Col- 
fax and Lieutenant-Governor Bross, of 
Illinois ; another, "The Switzerland of 
America," a picturesque description of his 
journeyings amid the mountains and parks 
of Colorado in the summer of 1868. He 
published a book of travel entitled "Our 
New West," in 1869, and his last purely 
literary work was done for the "Atlantic 
Monthly," a brochure on the wonders of 
the Pacific railway. He visited Europe 
four times, in 1862, again in 1870, in 1871 
and still later in 1874, and had a wide ac- 
quaintance among prominent men on 
both sides of the Atlantic. He never held 
public office, but in 1855 he signed a cir- 
cular, calling a conference of leaders to 
meet in Boston to aid in breaking the 
power of the "Know-Nothing Party," and 
when that convention met, he was chosen 
its chairman. He was also for years a 
trustee of Amherst College, and always 
ready to aid every worthy object. He 
died at the age of fifty-two. 

Samuel (3) Bowles married, in 1848, 
Mary Sanford Schemerhorn, of Geneva, 
New York, and they were the parents of 
seven children: i. Sarah B., deceased, 
married Thomas Hooker of New Haven, 
Connecticut. 2. Samuel (4), born Octo- 

ber 15, 1851, died in 1913, who succeeded 
his father as editor of the "Republican," 
founded the "Sunday Republican" in 1878, 
the year he assumed the duties of editor- 
in-chief, having for three years been busi- 
ness manager. He continued the respon- 
sible editorial head of the "Republican" 
until his death, the third Samuel Bowles 
to hold that responsible post. 3. Mary, 
who married William H. King, of Chi- 
cago, Illinois. 4. Charles Allen, of further 
mention. 5. Dwight Whitney. 6. Ruth 
Standish, who married W. H. Baldwin, 
deceased. 7. Bessie, deceased, married 
F. Donald Monroe. 

(VIII) Charles Allen Bowles, of the 
eighth American generation, second son 
of Samuel (3) and Mary S. (Schemer- 
horn) Bowles, was born in New York 
City, December 19, 1861. He prepared in 
Springfield public schools, and then en- 
tered Sheffield Scientific School, Yale 
University, and after completing his 
studies there, engaged in business, becom- 
ing a partner in the firm of Dexter & 
Bowles, dealers in paper pulp and mill 
supplies, and has since been a member of 
this firm. 

Mr. Bowles married, October 7, 1885, 
Nellie Harris, of Rutland, Vermont, 
daughter of Joel B. and Mary (Gardner) 
Harris, and they are the parents of three 
children: Dorothy; Charles Allen (2), 
who attended the Artillery School at 
Camp Zachary Taylor, preparatory to en- 
tering the United States army during the 
World War, and now associated with the 
American Writing Paper Company, of 
Holyoke, Massachusetts; and Chester 

WARREN, John Bliss, 
Manufacturer, Man of Artistic Tastes. 

The name Warren has existed in New 
England from the time of the landing of 



the "Mayflower" at Plymouth Rock in 
1620, and has been worthily borne by men 
of eminence in public, military, and pri- 
vate, life. The late John Bliss Warren, a 
manufacturer of paper, who died in Mit- 
tineague, Massachusetts, was a man 
greatly esteemed as a citizen. He was a 
descendant of Richard Warren, who came 
in the "Mayflower." Following is the 
Warren coat-of-arms : 

Arms — Chequy or and azure, on a canton gules 
a lion rampant argent. 

Crest — ^On a chapeau gules, turned up ermine, a 
wyvern argent, tail nowed, wings expanded chequy, 
or and azure. 

Richard Warren was a descendant of 
William de Warrenne, who came to Eng- 
land with William the Conqueror, to 
whom he was related. The surname War- 
ren is derived from Garrenne or Varenne, 
a small river in the old county of Calais 
or Caux in Normandy, which gave the 
name to the neighboring community. 
There is at present a village called Gar- 
enne in the same district, and it is here 
that the family had its origin, and on the 
west side of the River Garenne was the 
ancient baronial seat of the de War- 
rennes, where ruins of the castle were 
standing as late as 1832. William de 
Warrenne, who came to England with 
William the Conqueror, was in command 
of a part of the Norman army at the bat- 
tle of Hastings (1066), and as a reward 
for his valor and fidelity was granted im- 
mense tracts of the conquered territory. 
He became the first Earl of Warren and 
Surrey. His wife, Gundreda, was the 
daughter of King William, and a descend- 
ant of the great Charlemagne, and in one 
of the ancient churchyards her tomb- 
stone is yet to be seen. The Earl died 
June 24, 1088, and although his gravestone 
has been lost, the epitaph has been pre- 
served. In 1845 the coffers containing 
the remains of the Earl and his wife were 

transferred to their present resting place 
in the church of St. John the Baptist, at 
Southover, England. From Richard 
Warren of the "Mayflower" the line is 
traced to John Bliss Warren through 
Revolutionary ancestors, both paternal 
and maternal. On the paternal side his 
great-grandfather was Moses Warren, a 
soldier of the Revolution, and his son. 
Rev. Moses Warren, grandfather of John 
Bliss Warren, was a graduate of Harvard 
University, and of a Congregational 
Theological Seminary, giving his after- 
life to the ministry. He was the first 
minister to deliver a sermon in the town 
now called Hampden, Massachusetts, 
then called South Wilbraham, and was 
pastor of the Congregational church there 
for forty years. He died in the town in 
which so great a portion of his life was 
spent. Mr. Warren's great-grandfather 
on the maternal side was Colonel Bliss, 
and as colonel of the Continental army, 
was a man of strong influence ; he was a 
member of the Provincial Congress eight 
years ; also a member of the State Legis- 
lature, and a Senator. 

Rev. John Warren, son of Rev. Moses 
Warren, also became an eminent clergy- 
man of the Congregational church. His 
daughter, Lydia, married Rev. M. Smith, 
a Congregational minister of Hartford, 
Connecticut. A son. Captain Aaron War- 
ren, was the father of John Bliss Warren. 

Captain Aaron Warren was born in 
Hampden, Massachusetts, was a graduate 
of Harvard University, and became a man 
of large means. He married Betsey 
Stacy, a daughter of "Squire" Stacy, of 
Hampden. Mr. and Mrs. Warren were 
the parents of three children: i. Lydia, 
who married Orrie Selden, of New Haven, 
Connecticut. 2. Moses H., born in Wil- 
braham, January 20, 1835, now deceased ; 
he was a man of much public spirit, and 
took a very active part in town affairs. 





being assessor for twelve years, school 
commissioner for several years, deputy 
sheriff sixteen years, and selectman three 
terms ; he married, in 1857, Elizabeth 
Sheldon, v^^ho died in 1870. 3. John Bliss, 
of further mention. 

John Bliss Warren, youngest son of 
Captain Aaron and Betsey (Stacy) War- 
ren, was born in South Wilbraham, 
Massachusetts, in that part of the town 
now called Hampden, Massachusetts, 
October 13, 1840, died July 6, 1901. He 
was educated in the public and private 
schools, and later in life became interested 
in the manufacture of paper. In connec- 
tion with Royal Dickinson he purchased 
the Excelsior Paper Mill at Holyoke, 
which became well known as the Warren 
and Dickinson Mill. After conducting 
this successfully for several years, Mr. 
Warren sold his interest to G. R. Dickin- 
son, and in 1882, he built the Springfield 
mill at West Ware, Massachusetts, and 
there, up to the time of his death, carried 
on the manufacture of book, news, manila, 
and colored paper, becoming one of the 
best known and most successful paper 
manufacturers of this section. 

Mr. Warren married, at Chicopee, 
Massachusetts, September 22, 1889, Emily 
A. Bell, born in Chicopee, Massachusetts, 
daughter of Thomas Jefferson and Emily 
(Deane) Bell, her father a grandson of 
President Thomas Jefferson. Thomas 
Jefferson Bell was a college graduate and 
a man of wealth, residing in Hillsboro, 
New Hampshire, later moving to Chic- 
opee, Massachusetts, where he died. 
Emily (Deane) Bell was a daughter of 
Silas Deane and his wife, Elizabeth, who 
was the daughter of Rev. Gurdon Salton- 
stall, of New London, Connecticut. Silas 
Deane was a member of the first and sec- 
ond Continental Congresses. He also 
drew the rules for a navy, selected and 
purchased the first vessel commissioned 

for service, and was appointed by Con- 
gress as secret agent to France to pur- 
chase supplies and munitions of war. He 
was a great diplomat, and was unweary- 
ing in his efforts to convince Vergennes, 
the French minister of foreign affairs, of 
the advantages to France of the proposed 
alliance with the United States, and even- 
tually induced him to send a fleet to 
America. On February 6, 1778, Silas 
Deane, Benjamin Franklin, and Arthur 
Lee signed a treaty of commerce and 
friendship with France. 

Mrs. Warren, who survives her hus- 
band, and who has had placed in this vol- 
ume a beautiful engraving of him in com- 
memoration of his many beautiful traits of 
character, makes her home in Mittineague 
in summer in a beautiful mansion, in 
which furniture of great age and other 
heirlooms of the illustrious families from 
which she and her husband descend are 
found. She is a member of the Congre- 
gational church. 

BELL, Robert, 
Representative of Important Interests. 

In New Hampshire, from whence came 
the forbears of Robert Bell, of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, the name of Bell is 
one highly honored, for it was borne by 
the ninth, thirteenth and forty-first gov- 
ernors of that State, and Bells have been 
conspicuous in the public, professional 
and business life of the State since the 
coming of John Bell, the founder of the 
family in New Hampshire. John Bell 
was born in the vicinity of Coleraine, 
County of Londonderry, Ireland, in 1678, 
died in Londonderry, New Hampshire, 
July 8, 1743. He must have settled in 
Londonderry in 1720, as in that year he 
was granted a homestead of sixty acres 
in Aukens range, upon which he spent the 
remainder of his life; other lands were al- 



lotted him in 1722 and later, until they 
aggregated three hundred acres. In 1722, 
after clearing a part of his homestead and 
erecting a cabin thereon, he returned to 
Ireland for his wife and two daughters. 
His wife, Elizabeth Todd, daughter of 
John and Rachel (Nelson) Todd, and sis- 
ter of Colonel Andrew Todd, was a 
woman of decision and character who 
survived until aged eighty-two, dying 
August 30, 1771. Their youngest son, 
John (2) Bell, was one of the great men 
of his day, appointed a colonel in 1780; 
was State Senator and general magistrate, 
but a farmer all his life, never seeking 
fortune but content with the good living 
he earned. He was a large, powerful man, 
six feet one inch in height, strong and ac- 
tive, holding the wrestling championship 
of his town for twenty years. He died 
November 30, 1825, aged ninety-five years, 
three months and fifteen days. He mar- 
ried Mary Ann Gilmore, a daughter of 
James and Jean (Baptiste) Gilmore. Mrs. 
Bell is said to have been a great beauty in 
her youth and was a woman of great pru- 
dence and good sense. Their son, John 
(3) Bell, was the thirteenth governor of 
New Hampshire, elected in 1828, and their 
son Samuel, younger brother of John (3), 
was elected ninth governor in 1819, was 
three times reelected, resigning to enter 
the United States Senate, where he served 
twelve years. Governor Samuel Bell was, 
moreover, a lawyer and jurist, of whom it 
was written : "His published judicial 
opinions in the early volumes of the State 
Reports bear testimony to his habits of 
thorough and careful research, his com- 
plete understanding of the rules and rea- 
sons of the law, and his clear logical 
habits of investigation and statement." 
His son, James Bell, was twice a candi- 
date for governor of New Hampshire, and 
in 1857 was elected United States Sena- 
tor. He also was a lawyer of high attain- 

ment, of whom it was said : "No lawyer 
in the State was capable of rendering a 
wiser or more weighty opinion on a naked 
question of law than he." This is the 
family from which sprang James Bell, 
the great-grandfather of Robert Bell, of 
Springfield, who was born about the year 
1783, a descendant of John Bell, the 
founder of his family in New Hampshire. 
James Bell married Mary Parmenter, and 
they were the parents of a son, Thomas 
Jefferson Bell, of whom further. 

Thomas Jefferson Bell was born in 
Washington, New Hampshire, December 
23, 1808, died June 26, 1880. He was edu- 
cated in the schools of Antrim, New 
Hampshire, and at an early day came to 
Chicopee, Massachusetts. He was an 
overseer in the Cabot Mills, of Chicopee, 
for many years, and also acquired farming 
interests as well as cultivating his own 
acres. He married Emily Deane, born at 
Bellows Falls, Vermont, October 4, 
1 81 5, died March 3, 1887, granddaughter 
of Silas Deane, diplomat, member of the 
first and second Continental Congresses, 
who drew up rules for a navy and selected 
and purchased the first vessel commis- 
sioned for service by Congress. He was 
appointed by Congress secret agent to 
France to purchase supplies and muni- 
tions of war and to secure a political and 
commercial alliance with that country. 
He was unwearying in his efforts to con- 
vince the French minister of foreign af- 
fairs, Vergennes, of the advantages to 
France of the proposed alliance with the 
American colonies, and eventually in- 
duced him to send a fleet to their assist- 
ance. On February 6, 1778, Silas Deane, 
Benjamin Franklin and Arthur Lee 
signed a treaty of commerce and friend- 
ship with France. Thomas Jefferson and 
Emily (Deane) Bell were the parents of 
three daughters and a son : Emily A., 
married John B. Warren, now deceased, 


and resides in Agawam, Massachusetts ; 
Jennie, deceased; Hiram W., of further 
mention ; and Clara B., who married Israel 

Hiram W. Bell, only son of Thomas J. 
and Emily (Deane) Bell, was born in Chic- 
opee, Massachusetts, August 28, 1843. 
After finishing grade and high school 
study, he entered Williston Academy, and 
was a student there during the years 1860- 
1861. In 1863 he was appointed clerk at 
the Springfield United States Armory, a 
position he held for forty-four consecutive 
years, advancing to the position of chief 
clerk and retiring in 1907. He is a mem- 
ber of Chicopee Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; the South Congregational Church ; 
and in politics he is a Republican. He 
married, August 21, 1879, Cara E. Lam- 
son, born in Newburyport, Massachusetts, 
December 9, 1853, daughter of Stephen 
and Frances (Pearson) Lamson. Mr. and 
Mrs. Bell are the parents of an only child, 
Robert, of whom further. 

Robert Bell, son of Hiram W. and Cara 
E. (Lamson) Bell, was born in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, February 12, 1882, He 
was educated in the public schools of 
Springfield, finishing with high school 
graduation, class of 1898. His first posi- 
tion in the business life of his city was as 
office boy with the Massachusetts Mutual 
Life Insurance Company. His service 
with that company was continuous until 
1920, and he rose through many promo- 
tions to the position of department man- 
ager. On October i, 1920, Mr. Bell be- 
came associated with the Fiberloid Cor- 
poration, of New York, as a representative 
in the West, with headquarters in New 
York City. 

Mr. Bell is a member of Springfield 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and of 
all the higher Masonic bodies, including 
Connecticut Valley Consistory, Ancient 
Accepted Scottish Rite, in which he holds 

the thirty-second degree. He is also a 
noble of Melha Temple, Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, and through his patriotic 
ancestry holds membership in the Sons 
of the American Revolution. His club is 
the Nayasset. 

Mr. Bell married, November 29, 1906, 
Cora B. Bean, of Martinville, Quebec, 
Canada, daughter of Silas B. and Sarah 
Fidelia (Cass) Bean. Mr. and Mrs. Bell 
are the parents of a son, Edwin Mont- 
gomery Bell, born November 18, 1908. 
The family since 1908 has resided at 
Tatham Hill, in West Springfield. 

FLAGG, Raymond Horatio, 

Active in Community Affairs. 

The progenitor of the Flagg family, of 
which Raymond H. Flagg, treasurer and 
director of the Commercial Trust Com- 
pany, of Springfield, is a worthy repre- 
sentative, was Sir Alger de Flegge, of De 
Flegge Hall, Norwich, England, who was 
living in 1160, A. D. His forbears were 
Normans, who came to England in 1066 
with William the Conqueror and were 
given a portion of Norfolk county as their 
fee. From Sir Alger de Flegge the de- 
scent is traced through several genera- 
tions to William Flegg, an earlier form 
of the spelling of the name Flagg. 

(I) William Flegg resided in Norfolk 
county, England, and died in 1426. He 
was survived by his two sons, William, 
and Thomas, of further mention. 

(II) Thomas Flegg, second son of 
William Flegg, resided in Norfolk county, 
England, where he died in 1471. His son 
William is of further mention. 

(HI) William (2) Flegg, son of 
Thomas Flegg, resided in Swafield, 
County Norfolk, England, in 1521, in the 
reign of Henry VIII. His family con- 
sisted of five sons: William, Richard, of 
further mention ; Thomas, John, James. 



(IV) Richard Flegg, second son of 
William (2) Flegg, resided in Shipdham, 
County Norfolk, England, and left a will 
which was proved May 28, 1587, in which 
he mentioned his wife Margaret. They 
had children: William, Richard, John, 
of further mention ; Alice, Ralph. 

(V) John Flegg, third son of Richard 
and Margaret Flegg, resided in Foxham, 
County Norfolk, England, and made a 
will dated September 3, 1613, proved in 
Norwich, February 16, 1617. He married 
Aveline Robinson, widow of J. Robinson, 
deputy of Bennington, and they had three 
children : Allan, Bartholomew, of further 
mention ; and Rebecca. 

(VI) Bartholomew Flegg, second son 
of John and Aveline (Robinson) Flegg, of 
Whinebergh, England, married Alice 

, who bore him four sons : Samuel, 

Thomas, of further mention ; Francis, 

(VII) Thomas (2) Flegg, second son 
of Bartholomew and Alice Flegg, was 
baptized in Whinebergh, near Norwich, 
England, in 1615, but being a second son 
he did not inherit the property. He came 
to this country with Sir Richard Carver 
in the ship, "John and Dorothy," in the 
year 1637, and in 1642, in the company 
of Sir Richard Saltonstall, was one of the 
settlers of Watertown, Massachusetts. 
He served as selectman there in 1671-74- 
75-76-78-81-85-87. He lost an eye by the 
accidental discharge of a gun previous to 

1659. He married Mary , born in 

England, 1619, who bore him the follow- 
ing named children : Gershdm, born 
April 16, 1641 ; John, born June 15, 1643; 
Bartholomew, born February 23, 1645 1 
Thomas, born April 28, 1646; Michael, 
born March 22, 1651 ; Eleazer, of further 
mention ; Elizabeth, born March 20, 1655 ; 
Mary, born June 14, 1657; Rebecca, born 
September 5, 1660; Benjamin, born June 

25, 1662; Allen, born May 16, 1665. 
Thomas (2) Flegg died February 6, 1698. 

(VIII) Eleazer Flegg, sixth son of 
Thomas (2) and Mary Flegg, was born 
May 14, 1653, died May i, 1722. He mar- 
ried, October 10, 1676, Deborah Barnes, 
and among their children were : Deborah, 
born 1677; Abigail, 1679; Eleazer, of 
further mention. 

(IX) Eleazer (2) Flegg, son of Eleazer 
(i) and Deborah (Barnes) Flegg, was 
born in 1687, and died in 1745. He mar- 
ried Deborah , and among their 

children was James, of further mention. 

(X) James Flagg (as the name is now 
spelled) son of Eleazer (2) and Deborah 
Flegg, was born in Concord, Massachu- 
setts, May 3, 1723, and died in Wilming- 
ton, Vermont, in 1807. He was a minute- 
man at the time of the Revolutionary 
War. He resided in Concord until 1750, 
then moved to Upton, and later to Wil- 
mington, where he spent the remainder of 
his days. He married, March 6, 1746, 
Anna Moore, of Cambridge, Massachu- 
setts, and their sixth child was John, of 
further mention. 

(XI) John (2) Flagg, sixth son of 
James and Anna (Moore) Flagg, was 
born in Upton, Massachusetts, October 
6, 1758. He served in the militia in his 
father's place, who was a minuteman and 
needed at home, volunteering at the age 
of sixteen, on the Lexington Alarm. He 
actively participated in the battle of 
Bunker Hill and Dorchester Heights, 
served in Providence, Rhode Island, and 
in Connecticut, and was with General 
Washington and his troops during that 
memorable winter at Valley Forge. In 
1779 he was transferred to the Continental 
army. He married (first), in 1785, 
Thankful Hawkes, who died about eight 
years later. He married (second), Janu- 
ary 31, 1796, Lucy Stebbins, of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, who died in Wil- 



mington, November ii, 1808. Children of 
second wife : John Sidney, born Decem- 
ber 16, I7S)6, died November 20, 1799; 
Horatio, of further mention. 

(XII) Rev. Horatio Flagg, second son 
of John (2) and Lucy (Stebbins) Flagg, 
v^^as born in Wilmington, Vermont, Janu- 
ary 24, 1798, and died May 19, 1861. He 
graduated from Amherst College in the 
year 1825, studied theology, was ordained 
to the ministry, and served in extended 
pastorates in Colerain, Massachusetts. In 
185 1 he served Colerain in the Massachu- 
setts Legislature, he having previously 
been compelled to relinquish ministerial 
work on account of impaired health. Rev. 
Horatio Flagg married (first) Mary 
Pratt, born 1796. He married (second) 
Mary Coombs, of Colerain, born April i, 
1813, died in October, 1893, in Florence, 
Massachusetts. Children of Rev. Horatio 
Flagg: Lucy C, married William A. 
Dickinson ; Herbert Horatio ; Urbane 
Horatio, of further mention ; Payson Jon- 
athon. A peculiarity about the sons of 
Rev. Horatio Flagg is the fact that all 
were physicians and surgeons, all mar- 
ried and all had families consisting of four 
children each. 

(XIII) Dr. Urbane Horatio Flagg, 
second son of Rev. Horatio Flagg, was 
born in Colerain, Massachusetts, August 
19, 1851, and died in West Springfield, 
Massachusetts, November 28, 1894. His 
elementary education was received in the 
Colerain public and Springfield public 
schools, and Arms Academy at Shelburne 
Falls, and upon the completion of these 
studies he matriculated in Jefiferson Med- 
ical College, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 
from which he was graduated in June, 
1878. He engaged in the active practice 
of his profession in West Springfield, in 
October, 1878, and so continued until six 
years prior to his death, when he estab- 
lished an office in Springfield, and his 

practice in both places increased in vol- 
ume and importance with the passing 
years. He was a conscientious, Christian 
gentleman, in addition to a skillful and 
painstaking physician, and he was highly 
regarded and greatly beloved by his 
patients and numerous friends. He was 
a member of the various medical socie- 
ties, and a member of Springfield Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons. 

Dr. Urbane H. Flagg married, June 23, 
1880, Emily M. Cunlilfe, of Bolton, Lan- 
cashire, England, daughter of William 
and Anna (Mason) Cunliflfe. Children 
of Dr. and Mrs. Flagg: William Hal- 
lock, died aged five years ; Emily Mabel, 
married Henry L. Birge, of West Haven, 
Connecticut, and their children were : 
Henry L., Jr., Emily Jane, Elizabeth, and 
Sidney Flagg Birge ; Raymond Horatio, of 
further mention ; and Ruth Elizabeth. 

William Cunliffe, father of Mrs. Emily M. 
(Cunlifife) Flagg, a native of England, was 
connected with the manufacture of cotton 
mill machinery and the introducing of it 
into this country. He crossed the Atlan- 
tic ocean several times, and was here prior 
to the outbreak of the War of the Rebel- 
lion; he enlisted with the Union forces 
from New York City, was made quarter- 
master, and was injured while attempting 
to save the books of the regiment from 
the attacking forces. 

(XIV) Raymond Horatio Flagg, sec- 
ond son of Dr. Urbane Horatio and Emily 
M. (Cunliffe) Flagg, was born in West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, April 21, 1888. 
He was a student in the town school and 
the West Springfield High School, and 
after completing his studies he was em- 
ployed in a wholesale plumbing house, in 
the capacity of bookkeeper, serving as 
such for eighteen months. He then en- 
tered the employ of the Safe Deposit and 
Trust Company of Springfield, serving in 
a similar capacity, and later as teller, his 



connection with this institution covering 
the period of time between 1909 and 1915, 
in which latter year he became connected 
with the organization of the Commercial 
Trust Company of Springfield, in the 
capacity of assistant treasurer, and in 1919 
was advanced to the office of treasurer, 
which he acceptably fills, in addition to 
that of director of the company. He is a 
man of force and energy, is public-spirited 
and progressive, alert to every opportun- 
ity which promises advancement of com- 
munity interests, and for three years filled 
the office of auditor of the town of West 
Springfield, giving entire satisfaction to 
all concerned. He is high in Masonic 
circles in Springfield, having attained the 
thirty-second degree in the Scottish Rite 
in that order, affiliating with Mt. Ortho- 
dox Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of West Springfield, and Melha Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mys- 
tic Shrine. His religious affiliation is 
with the Congregational church. 

Mr. Flagg married, October 18, 1913, 
Edith Applin, of Brattleboro, Vermont, 
daughter of Edgar M. and Ella C. 
(Tucker) Applin. Children: Ramona 
Jean, born August 18, 1916; Winifred 
Applin, born July 17, 1918. 

HUGHES, Frank Norton, 

Corporation Official. 

Frank N. Hughes, assistant treasurer of 
the Commercial Trust Company of 
Springfield, has been connected with 
banking interests in that city since leav- 
ing school at nineteen years of age. 

John Hughes, grandfather of Frank 
Norton Hughes, was born, lived and died 
in Ireland. He acquired a practical edu- 
cation in the common schools adjacent to 
his home, and thereafter devoted his at- 
tention to agricultural pursuits up to the 
time of his death. He married Ellen Nor- 

ton, also a native of Ireland, and they 
were the parents of Thomas, of further 

Thomas Hughes, son of John Hughes 
and his wife, Ellen (Norton) Hughes, was 
born in the town of Doone, County Ros- 
common, Ireland, in the year 1848. He 
received a common school education, and 
assisted with the work on his father's 
farm until the year 1869, when he attained 
his majority, he then coming to the 
United States in the hope of bettering his 
prospects. He arrived in New York City, 
April 27, 1869, and for the following year 
worked in the vicinity of Newark and in 
Hudson City, New Jersey. In April, 
1870, he moved to Longmeadow, Massa- 
chusetts, and for the following six years 
devoted his attention to the tilling of the 
soil. At the expiration of that period of 
time, in 1876, following out a long-cher- 
ished wish, he went West, not being sat- 
isfied until he reached the Pacific coast, 
and for two years he followed agricul- 
tural pursuits in San Joaquin county, Cal- 
ifornia. He then went to Washington 
Territory, where he worked at gold min- 
ing for about two years. He then deter- 
mined to return East, that portion of the 
country better suiting his tastes and in- 
clinations, and accordingly again located 
in Longmeadow, Massachusetts, where 
he made his home for the long period of 
forty years. He was esteemed for his 
many excellent qualities of mind and 
heart, and was a potent factor for good in 
the community. He married Sarah Ward, 
a native of Boston, Massachusetts, born 
July 16, 1853, died August 31, 1909, a 
daughter of Peter and Sarah (O'Connor) 
Ward. Children : John, deceased ; Ellen, 
deceased ; Charles ; Thomas ; Anna, a sis- 
ter of St. Joseph's in North Adams, Mas- 
sachusetts ; Frank Norton, of further 
mention ; Sarah ; Henry, deceased ; Mary ; 



Frank Norton Hughes, fourth son of 
Thomas and Sarah (Ward) Hughes, was 
born in Longmeadow, Massachusetts, 
November 14, 1885. The education he re- 
ceived in the schools of Longmeadow was 
supplemented by attendance at the 
Springfield High School. In 1904, at the 
age of nineteen, he began his active busi- 
ness career, his first position being clerk 
in the Agawam National Bank, which he 
filled for one year. The following year 
he was an employee of the Hampden 
Trust Company, and then entered the em- 
ploy of the Union Trust Company, con- 
tinuing this connection for ten years, dur- 
ing which time he served as clerk, book- 
keeper, teller, and general utility man, 
serving creditably in each. In 1916 he 
severed his connection with that institu- 
tion and entered the employ of the Com- 
mercial Trust Company, in the capacity of 
secretary, and at the present time (1921) 
is filling the position of assistant treas- 
urer, his advance in rank being the result 
of conscientious effort and efficiency in 
the performance of the duties devolving 
upon him. Up to June, 191 5, Mr. Hughes 
retained his residence in Longmeadow, 
where he held a number of minor town 
offices, then moved to West Springfield, 
where he now resides. He is a member 
of the Chamber of Commerce, the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, Knights 
of Columbus, Order of the Alhambra, and 
Springfield Fish and Gam? Club. 

Mr. Hughes married, June i, 1915, Lil- 
lian F. Norris, of West Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, daughter of Patrick and Lear 
(Cabanna) Norris. They are the parents 
of one child, Dorothy A., born October 
22, 1916. 

WHITE, Harold, 

Bank Official. 

Harold White, of West Springfield, 
Massachusetts, is a descendant in the 

Mass— 10 — 10 145 

ninth generation of the family founded 
in New England by Elder John White, 
who arrived at Boston in the ship "Lion," 
September 16, 1632, accompanied by 
wife, Mary, and two children. He settled 
at Cambridge, Massachusetts, Harvard 
Library now being located on part of the 
land granted him. When a company of 
about one hundred left Cambridge in 
1636 to form a settlement at Hartford, he 
was one of the number, and there, as in 
Cambridge, became prominent. In 1659 
dissension arose in the Hartford Church, 
and on April 18, of that year, he, as one 
of a party of sixty, withdrew and formed 
a new settlement at Hadley, Massachu- 
setts. About 1670 he returned to Hart- 
ford and became a member of South 
Church, formed by seceding members 
from the First Church. He was elected 
a member of South Church and resided at 
Hartford until his death. Elder John and 
Mary White were the parents of six chil- 
dren, the line of descent to Harold White, 
of West Springfield, being through their 
eldest son, Nathaniel, known to his towns- 
men as Captain Nathaniel. 

(II) Captain Nathaniel White was 
born in England, was about three years of 
age when brought to New England by his 
parents, in June, 1632, and became one 
of the original proprietors and settlers of 
Middletown, Connecticut. Eighty-five 
times he was elected to the legislative 
body governing the colony (two elections 
being held each year), and when last 
chosen was eighty-one years of age. He 
was otherwise prominent in his commun- 
ity and ranked among the leading men of 
his day. His first wife, Elizabeth, who 
died in 1690, was the mother of his eight 
children: Deacon Nathaniel (2), who is 
next in line ; Elizabeth, who married Ser- 
geant John Clark ; John ; Mary ; Ensign 
Daniel ; Sarah ; Jacob ; and Joseph. 

(Ill) Deacon Nathaniel (2) White was 


born in Middletown, Connecticut, July 7, 
1652, died in Hadley, Massachusetts, Feb- 
ruary 15, 1742. He settled in Hadley, 
about the time of his marriage, on the 
homestead of his grandfather. Elder John 
White, and there took the oath of alle- 
giance in February, 1679. He became a 
large land owner, was one of the commit- 
tee to arrange the seating of the meeting 
house, and was prominent in church and 
town affairs. He married, March 28, 1678, 
Elizabeth Savage, born June 3, 1655, died 
January 30, 1742, daughter of John Sav- 
age. They were the parents of eleven 
children, descent being traced through 
Daniel, the sixth child and fourth son. 

(IV) Daniel White was born at Had- 
ley, Massachusetts, March i, 1690, set- 
tled in West Springfield, Massachusetts, 
and there died, October 19, 1721. He mar- 
ried, in 1715, Hannah Bagg, who sur- 
vived him forty-three years, dying De- 
cember II, 1764, aged seventy-two years. 
They were the parents of four children, 
the second son. Sergeant Daniel, the an- 
cestor of Harold White. 

(V) Sergeant Daniel White was born 
in West Springfield, Massachusetts, June 
22, 1719, died at the home of his son, 
Pliny, January 7, 1805. He was a house 
carpenter, but lived for nearly half a cen- 
tury in a log cabin which was still stand- 
ing in 1845. He was a man of stalwart 
frame, but rather eccentric in character. 
He married, July 29, 1747, Priscilla Leon- 
ard, born June 21, 1725, died July 20, 
1800, daughter of John and Sarah Leon- 
ard, of West Springfield. His eldest son, 
Horace, a blacksmith, bore the rank of 
lieutenant ; his second son, Daniel, was a 
Revolutionary soldier in the Canadian 
Expedition with Montgomery in 1777; the 
third son, Pliny, is of further mention. 

(VI) Pliny White, son of Sergeant 
Daniel and Priscilla (Leonard) White, 
was born in West Springfield, Massachu- 

setts, October 12, 1761, there lived the life 
of an agriculturist, and died October 8, 
1808. He married, July 14, 1793, Lydia 
Granger, born March 22, 1770, died Au- 
gust 27, 1843, daughter of Daniel and 
Lydia Granger. They were the parents of 
an only child, Daniel Granger. 

(VII) Daniel Granger White, son of 
Pliny and Lydia (Granger) White, was 
born in West Springfield, Massachusetts, 
May 28, 5796, where he resided all his life, 
a farmer, and there died, August 4, 1859. 
He married, March 22, 1830, Harriet Day, 
born October 30, 1795, daughter of Her- 
man and Lois (Ely) Day, of West Spring- 
field. They were the parents of daugh- 
ters : Fanny, born December 5, 1832, mar- 
ried William M. Pomeroy, both deceased ; 
Harriet, born August 12, 1834, still living 
in West Springfield ; and of an only son, 
Daniel Granger (2). 

(VIII) Daniel Granger (2) White, son 
of Daniel Granger (i) and Harriet (Day) 
White, was born in West Springfield, 
Massachusetts, June 12, 1838, died there, 
December 26, 1913. He was a substantial 
farmer, his farm the land settled upon by 
his ancestors in 1719. He was a man of 
unusual intelligence, and a great lover 
of nature in all her forms, flowers, per- 
haps, most deeply appealing to him. His 
connection with the free public library 
was one of the pleasures of his life, and 
he was its librarian until his death. Now 
that a new and appropriate library build- 
ing has been dedicated in West Spring- 
field, the following item is of deep in- 
terest : 

The first library in West Springfield was started 
in 1775 by John Ashley and Rev. Dr. Joseph 
Lathrop, and comprised fifty-six volumes, most of 
vv^hich were given by these two public-spirited cit- 
izens. From this small beginning to various ex- 
periences it has grown to its present usefulness. 
Formerly the librarian's duties were combined 
with those of town clerk and treasurer, and for 
twenty-six years, from 1864 to iSqo, John Harmon 



faithfully performed the work. In 1891 Elisha P. 
Bartholomew succeeded to the office, and he was 
followed in 1892 by Fred H. Sibley, who did the 
work of both offices until 1893. At that time it 
was decided to relieve the clerk of some of his 
duties, and Daniel G. White was chosen librarian. 
Mr. White was in charge for twenty-six years 
and did much for the library. A memorial, known 
as the Daniel Granger White Nature Memorial 
Library, has been established from the income of 
a gift of five hundred dollars presented by his 
family. Nathan D, Bill, of Springfield, contrib- 
uted valuable service by calling the attention of 
Mr. Carnegie to the situation in the town. 

Mr. White married, March 22, 1865, 
Fannie Eliza Crossett, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, born August 15, 1840, 
daughter of Charles Robbins and Mary- 
Esther (Colson) Crossett. Mr. and 
Mrs. White were the parents of the fol- 
lowing children : Robert Day, married 
Bertha Dickinson ; Harriet, married, Octo- 
ber 12, 1908, Lieutenant John Leon Sid- 
dell, who died in the service of his coun- 
try, October 22, 1918; Daniel, deceased; 
Harold, of further mention ; Frances, 
married (second) William Thornton 

(IX) Harold White, son of Daniel 
Granger (2) and Fannie Eliza (Crossett) 
White, was born in the old homestead in 
West Springfield, Massachusetts, July 18, 
1879, and was educated in the public 
schools. In 1899 he entered the employ 
of the Pynchon National Bank of Spring- 
field, remaining two years. In June, 1901, 
he became bookkeeper for the Springfield 
Safe Deposit Company, and in, 191 1 was 
promoted to his present position, that of 
teller. He was president of the American 
Institute of Banking, Springfield ; mem- 
ber of the executive and grounds commit- 
tees of the Springfield Country Club ; 
member of the First Congregational 
Church of West Springfield, and for six 
years collector of the parish. 

Mr. White married, October 7, 1903, 
Katharine Louise Pratt, daughter of 

Charles Adams and Clara Cordelia (Cros- 
sett) Pratt. They are the parents of two 
children: Elizabeth, born December 11, 
1904; and Katharine, born November 21, 
1909. Mrs. White is a descendant of an 
ancient Colonial family, and a great- 
granddaughter of Josiah and Myrah 
(Griswold) Pratt. Her grandfather, 
Orrin Pratt, was born in Athol, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1820, died October 4, 1884. 
He married Irene Fannie Richmond, born 
in Buckland, Massachusetts, June 3, 
1826, died 1888. Among their children 
was a son, Charles Adams Pratt, born in 
Buckland, Massachusetts, in 1848, died 
January 2, 1889. He married, in 1868, 
Clara Cordelia Crossett, born in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, in 1852, died Octo- 
ber 24, 1902, daughter of George Abbott- 
ford and Elizabeth (Perkins) Crossett. 
Mr. and Mrs. Crossett were the parents 
of five children : Clara Irene, who mar- 
ried Charles C. Lewis ; Alice Richmond, 
who married Henry T. Morgan ; George 
W. ; Katharine Louise, wife of Harold 
White ; Florence Griswold, who married 
Donald B. Rice. 

GILMORE, Dwight, 

Active in Amnsements and Art. 

As manager of the Court Square The- 
atre of Springfield, Massachusetts, Mr. 
Gilmore is continuing a family associa- 
tion with that well known play house 
which was built by Dwight O. Gilmore, 
his uncle, and which was thrown open to 
the public September 5, 1892. This 
branch of the family produced another 
caterer to public amusement in the per- 
son of E. G. Gilmore, founder of Gilmore's 
Garden, of New York City, and one-time 
owner and manager of the Academy of 
Music on Fourteenth street in that city. 
This branch of the family is traced to 
Captain Nathaniel Gilmore, of Staflford, 



Connecticut, whose grandson, Charles N. 
Gilmore, following his railroad calling, 
found his way to the State of Iowa, and 
in the city of Des Moines, his son, Dwight 
Gilmore, now of Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, was born. 

(I) Captain Nathaniel Gillmore (as he 
spelled the name), was born in Stafford, 
Connecticut, and there became well 
known, particularly as a military man. 
He held a commission in the State Militia 
as captain of a troop of cavalry, the com- 
mission, which is preserved by descend- 
ants, being signed by Governor Jonathan 
Trumbull and Samuel Wyllis, secretary. 
He married and had sons : Dr. Harry 
Gilmore, a physician of Brookfield, Massa- 
chusetts, William, an iron master of Staf- 
ford Furnace, and colonel of militia ; and 
Nathaniel (2), of further mention. 

(II) Nathaniel (2) Gilmore was born 
in Stafford, Connecticut, and died in 1843. 
He was for many years proprietor of the 
hotel at Stafford Springs, that hostelry 
being on the old New York and Boston 
stage route and a regular stop for meals, 
the only one between Sturbridge, Massa- 
chusetts, and Vernon, Connecticut. By 
his first wife, Elmira, he had children : 
John P.; William M., and Sarah Elmira 
Gilmore. He married (second), May 25, 

1834, Charlotte Olmsted, and they were 
the parents of Charles N., of further men- 
tion ; Dwight O., who died in 1918, a large 
real estate owner of Springfield (see fol- 
lowing sketch) ; Edwin G., and Esther 

(III) Charles N. Gilmore, eldest son of 
Nathaniel (2) Gilmore and his second 
wife Charlotte (Olmsted) Gilmore, was 
born at Stafford Springs, Connecticut, in 

1835, died in Des Moines, Iowa, in 1912, 
He was eight years of age when his father 
died, his mother with her children then 
going to Monson, Massachusetts, her 
birthplace, and home of the Olmsteds. 

He attended school at Monson and was 
variously employed, but when little more 
than a boy, he went West, found a home 
in Ohio at Bellefontaine, and when 
twenty-one years of age was so well ad- 
vanced as a railroad man that he was 
rated an engineer and given an engine. 
From youth until old age he was engaged 
in railroad work, thus spending more than 
half a century of his life. 

He was for many years connected with 
the Illinois Central railroad, but in 1874 
he went to Des Moines, Iowa, where he 
built more than half of the Des Moines 
& Fort Dodge railroad. He was holding 
the position of superintendent with the 
Rock Island railroad at the time of his 
retirement, his death occurring seven 
years later. He held high reputation in the 
railroad world, but was well liked in social 
circles, much sought for to complete a 
hunting or a fishing party, two forms of 
sport of which he was very fond. He was 
a member of the Masonic order, affiliated 
with Chicago bodies. 

Mr. Gilmore married Nellie A. Green, 
daughter of Albert Green, of Danbury, 
Connecticut, and they were the parents 
of two children : Dwight, of further men- 
tion ; and Louise G., who married Harry 
D. Rawson, an architect of Des Moines, 
Iowa, and they are the parents of Charles 
Gilmore, and Mary Scott Rawson. 

(IV) Dwight Gilmore, only son of 
Charles N. and Nellie A. (Green) Gil- 
more, was born in Des Moines, Iowa, Jan- 
uary 16, 1880, and there was educated in 
the public schools. For ten years of his 
life following school days, he was in the 
employ of the Rock Island Railroad Com- 
pany, but at the age of twenty-six he came 
East and in 1906 located in Springfield, 
remaining two years as treasurer of the 
Court Square Theatre, built and owned 
by his uncle, Dwight O. Gilmore. He 
then returned to Des Moines and was with 


Engbi, S G,mihams i,BroflY 


the Rock Island railroad for five years, 
returned to Springfield, which has since 
been his home. He is manager of the 
Court Square Theatre, treasurer of the 
Taber-Prang Art Company, trustee of the 
Five Cents Savings Bank, and a director 
of the Union Trust Company ; and he also 
has large real estate interests, to which 
his time is largely devoted. 

Mr. Gilmore is affiliated with Spring- 
field Lodge, and the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, and his clubs are 
the Winthrop, Nayasset, Golf and Spring- 
field Country, 

GILMORE, Dvnght Olmsted, 

Public Official, Community Benefactor. 

Throughout the active period of his 
long life, Dwiglit Olmsted Gilmore was 
identified with the city of Springfield, 
Massachusetts. Coming to that city 
when he was twenty-five years old, he 
built up business connections and prop- 
erty holdings that made him one of 
Springfield's largest real estate owners 
and leading citizens. 

Dwight Olmsted Gilmore, son of 
Nathaniel and Charlotte (Olmsted) Gil- 
more, was born in Stafford, Connecticut, 
November 2, 1837, and died in Spring- 
field, June 10, 1918, He was six years 
of age when his father died. The family 
then moved to Monson, Massachusetts, 
where his mother had lived before her 
marriage. He attended the public schools 
at Monson, working for neighboring farm- 
ers between terms and in his spare time 
until he was seventeen years of age. At 
this time he apprenticed himself to Dan- 
iel D. Moody, of Palmer, Massachusetts, 
to learn the jeweler's and spectacle- 
maker's trade. He remained with Mr. 
Moody for six years, during the last three 
as a journeyman jeweler and spectacle 
maker. Scarcity of materials caused Mr. 

Moody to suspend business during the 
period of the Civil War, and Mr. Gilmore 
came to Springfield and purchased an in- 
terest in the Music Hall Restaurant, then 
conducted in the basement of Tilly 
Haynes' Music Hall building, on the site 
of the present Capitol Theatre. Later, he 
acquired this building, which he com- 
pletely renovated, changing the name of 
the theatre from Haynes' Music Hall to 
the Gilmore Opera House. He early be- 
came interested in centrally located busi- 
ness property, and at the time of his 
death was the owner of the entire block 
fronting on the west side of Main street, 
between Pynchon and Court streets. 

Mr. Gilmore was a man of far-seeing 
vision and sound judgment, with an al- 
most prophetic faith in the future of 
Springfield. In 1891 he built the Court 
Square Theatre. While he had success- 
fully conducted the Gilmore Opera House, 
the scale of his plans and the amount of 
his investment in this new enterprise 
caused many dismal predictions of failure, 
but from the day of its opening, Septem- 
ber 5, 1892, when Governor Russell and 
his staff were among the guests of honor, 
the new theatre proved a complete suc- 
cess and is to-day Springfield's leading 

Mr. Gilmore was for many years presi- 
dent of the Hampden Savings Bank and 
a member of its Board of Investment. He 
was also a director of the Second Na- 
tional Bank until its acquisition by the 
Union Trust Company, when he became 
a member of its board and so continued to 
the time of his death. He was president 
of the Taber-Prang Art Company, and a 
director of the Chapman Valve Company. 

Mr. Gilmore was always a Republican 
and for many years prominent in the af- 
fairs of that party. In 1891 he was elected 
to the Common Council. For three terms 
he was a member of the Board of Alder- 



men, and in 1897 and 1898 was president 
of the board. In 1899 he was elected 
mayor, serving one term. He was always 
a close student of municipal affairs, and 
his administration was business-like and 
efficient. While he was progressive and 
a firm believer in Springfield's growth, he 
was strongly opposed to any burden of 
public debt which might be an obstacle 
to the later development and prosperity 
of the city. He was a strong advocate of 
parks and playgrounds. He gave to For- 
est Park a large greenhouse, from which 
shrubbery and flowering plants are sup- 
plied to the city's parks. 

Mr. Gilmore never married. He was a 
man of energy and industry and devoted 
himself whole-heartedly to whatever en- 
listed his interest. He was greatly de- 
pressed by the World War and what he 
feared would be its effect upon the future 
of the country. These apprehensions, be- 
yond question, hastened his death. 

GARDNER, Charles L., 

I<awyer, Legislator. 

With the coming from England of John 
Gardner, known in the records as John 
of Hingham, this branch of the Gardner 
family of New England was founded. 
Ten generations, including the founder, 
have made New England their home, this 
review dealing with Charles L. Gardner, 
of Springfield, Massachusetts, and his an- 

John Gardner of Hingham, born in Eng- 
land, died in Hingham, Massachusetts, 
November 24, 1668. He and his wife, 
Mary, were the parents of John (2), bap- 
tized July 18, 1652 ; Francis, April 3, 
1653; Mary, November 19, 1654; Samuel, 
March 23, 1656; Deborah, July 5, 1657; 
James, February 5, 1660; Steven, Septem- 
ber 14, 1662; Thomas, June 5, 1664; Ben- 

jamin, of further mention ; and Christian, 
June 14, 1668. 

Benjamin Gardner, son of John and 
Mary Gardner, was born in Hingham, 
April 8, 1666, and died June 30, 1736. He 
married, June 13, 1696, Sarah Dunbar, and 
had children: Sarah, born June 19, 1698; 
Benjamin (2), of further mention; and 
Hannah, bom November 2, 1703. 

Benjamin (2) Gardner, son of Benjamin 
(i) and Sarah (Dunbar) Gardner, was 
born May 15, 1700. He married, June 24, 
1725, Joanna Jones. Their son, Ben- 
jamin (3), was born in Hingham, April 
5, 1729, died at Abington, Massachusetts, 
in 1821. He married, November 24, 1748, 
Rachel Smith. Their son, Jacob, was 
born in Hingham, November 3, 1761, died 
in Plainfield, Massachusetts, in 1816; 
he married Deborah House. Their son, 
Jacob (2), was born in Pembroke, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1780. He married, Feb- 
ruary 20, 1806, Hannah Cook. Their 
son, Elisha Gardner, was born in 1809, 
died in Palmer, Massachusetts, in 1886. 
He married Elvira Sprague ; they had 
a son, Charles L., the subject of this 
sketch ; and two daughters : Mary E., who 
married Chauncey Hastings ; and Nellie 
L., who married Jacob Reid. 

Charles L. Gardner was born in Cum- 
mington, Massachusetts, May 27, 1839, 
and after a half-century's leadership at 
the Hampden county bar, died in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, March 20, 1913. He 
attended the Cummington schools and 
later was graduated from Sanderson 
Academy, Ashfield, Massachusetts, begin- 
ning the study of law soon afterward. 
His preceptor was Judge S. T. Spaulding 
of Northampton, under whom he studied 
until admitted to the bar. In 1867 he com- 
menced the practice of law at Palmer, 
where he quickly won public favor, and 
became the partner of Judge James G. 
Allen. This partnership was dissolved in 

"-y^^fc^^ c7^^^. 


1870, Mr. Gardner continuing the practice 
alone until 1894, when his son, Charles G., 
became associated with him. In 1897 he 
moved to Springfield, and in 1901 his sec- 
ond son, Edwin S., entered the partner- 
ship. The firm of Gardner & Gardner was 
for many years one of the well-known and 
successful law firms of the city. The 
senior partner continued the active head 
of the firm until within a month of his 

Mr. Gardner was a man of high ideals 
and integrity, possessing personal quali- 
ties which won him many close friends ; 
these, with his standing at the bar and his 
prominence in the affairs of the Republi- 
can party, which he served in various of- 
ficial capacities, made him a leading cit- 
izen of Western Massachusetts. Soon 
after he commenced his practice at 
Palmer, he was appointed a trial justice 
of Hampden county, holding this ofifice 
until the establishment of the district 
court at Palmer in 1872. In 1875 and 1876 
he was a member of the lower branch of 
the Legislature, serving from the second 
district. During both years he was a 
member of the Judiciary Committee, and 
the second year of the Joint Special Com- 
mittee on Constitutional Amendments. 

In 1878 and 1879 Mr. Gardner was a 
State Senator, serving both years on the 
Judiciary Committee, where his legal 
training was of great value. On retiring 
from the Senate, he was elected a member 
of the Republican State Committee, and 
continued in that office two yea;rs, acting 
on the Executive Committee. He also 
held the office of Assistant Internal 
Revenue Assessor until it was abolished 
in 1886. The same year he was appointed 
to the Board of Trustees of the State 
Primary and Reform schools. Declining 
re-appointment upon the expiration of his 
term, he was, in 1892, elected District At- 
torney for the Western District, com- 

prising the counties of Hampden and 
Berkshire, and received two reelections, 
closing his term of office in January, 1902. 
His administration of that office was, to 
the last degree, painstaking and efficient 
and won him universal commendation. 
While he was a stern lover of the law, the 
gentler side of his character was mani- 
fested in his attitude toward youthful of- 
fenders. Intolerant of obstinate wicked- 
ness, he was always ready to give young 
offenders a chance to redeem themselves, 
and many of them were put on probation 
by his recommendation. His cases were 
carefully prepared and ably presented. 
He prosecuted the case against Dominick 
Krathofski, whose hanging marked the 
passing of this form of capital punishment 
in Massachusetts. 

Mr. Gardner took great interest in the 
affairs of the town of Palmer, where, as 
has been said, he commenced his profes- 
sional life. For many years he was presi- 
dent of the Palmer Savings Bank, whose 
growth he did much to promote. Shortly 
after removing to Springfield, he was 
made president of the Hampden Savings 
Bank and held that office for several years. 
For three years he was president of the 
Hampden County Bar Association. 

On May 19, 1869, Mr. Gardner married 
Esther Ely Gilmore, of Monson ; she died 
July 24, 1919. Mrs. Gardner was a sis- 
ter of the late Dwight O. Gilmore, of 
Springfield (see preceding sketch). Two 
sons were born of this marriage : Charles 
Gilmore, born March 30, 1870, and Edwin 
Sprague, born May i, 1876 Both were 
associated with their father in the prac- 
tice of law at the time of his death. 


And Allied Families. 

The Sedgwicks settled from the very 
early times among the mountains, from 



the borders of Lancashire, Yorkshire and 
Westmoreland. The name is found in 
the old English records as far back as the 
reign of King Henry VIIL The name is 
almost exclusively Saxon or Danish. The 
branch of Sedgwicks who settled in the 
lower regions of Lincolnshire adopted the 
modern spelling of the name, and at the 
same time began to use a bundle of sedge 
as a family crest (sedge is a plant growing 
in tufts). A still older crest, and one 
suited to the history of the race is an eagle 
with outspread wings, which is borne by 
some branches of the family, and is a 
recognized Sedgwick crest in the Heralds 
Colleges in London, but the crest borne 
by this branch of the family is a lion pas- 
sant through sedge on a cap of mainte- 
nance. The coat-of-arms : Field, or, on a 
cross, gules, with five bells of the field, or. 
Motto: Confido in Domino. — A cap of 
maintenance was an early symbol of high 
dignity and rank. 

(I) Major-General Robert Sedgwick, 
founder of the Sedgwick family in Amer- 
ica, was the son of William Sedgwick and 
Elizabeth Howe, who were married, ac- 
cording to the registers of St. Mary's 
Church, at Woburn, Bedfordshire, Eng- 
land, on April lo, 1604. William Sedgwick 
was a warden of that church, and was 
buried there on July 25, 1632. General 
Sedgwick was baptized May 6, 1613. The 
Sedgwick family in England was one of 
distinction, as it also has been in America. 
General Sedgwick was a member of the 
Artillery Company in London. He came 
to America in 1635, and was one of the 
most distinguished men of his time. He 
was one of the earliest settlers of Charles- 
town, Massachusetts, and resided in the 
Market Place, now the square, near the site 
of the Bunker Hill Bank. The first record 
of the First Church in Charlestown has 
(dated February 27, 1637) the account 
that Robert Sedgwick and his wife, Joanna, 

were admitted to membership in the 
church. He was a representative of the 
liberal Puritans of early New England. 
Religion was in all his thoughts, yet he 
openly opposed the prevailing intolerance. 
He was for many years a deputy to the 
General Court from Charlestown. In 
1641 he was a commander of the castle. 
In 1641, 1645, ^^^ 1648, he commanded 
the Ancient and Honorable Artillery 
Company, of which he was the founder. 
He commanded an expedition designed 
against the Dutch at New York, but as 
peace was declared, he sailed from Bos- 
ton against the French and captured St. 
Johns and Port Royal. He was an of- 
ficer under and a friend of Cromwell, with 
whom he corresponded, and by whom he 
was sent in July, 1654, from Boston to 
Jamaica (after the capture of that island 
by the British) with a fleet under his 
orders, with reinforcements for the army. 
He was one of the commissioners for the 
government of Jamaica, and died there 
May 24, 1656. He always regarded edu- 
cation as most important, as his gifts to 
Harvard College indicate. He was a very 
brave, zealous, and pious man, beloved 
and esteemed by all. General Sedgwick 
was associated with John Winthrop, Jr., 
in the establishment of the first iron works 
in this country. 

Sarah Sedgwick, eldest child of Major- 
General Robert Sedgwick, married Sir 
John Leverett, governor of Massachu- 
setts, 1673-9. She was noted for her hos- 
pitality in entertaining the most promi- 
nent men of the government. Sir John 
Leverett was captain in the Parlimentary 
army, 1644-5 ; agent of the colony to the 
English court ; major-general of the Mas- 
sachusetts forces, 1671-3; deputy-gov- 
ernor and governor of Massachusetts, 
1673-9; knighted by King Charles II ; and 
died in 1679. The Sedgwick coat-of-arms 
is impaled with Leverett. Rev. Cotton 


Mather, who preached Sarah (Sedgwick) 
Leverett's funeral sermon, said : "Fitly 
enough might she have been styled, as di- 
verse holy and famous women were, 'a 
daughter of Asher.' The Sedgwick was 
an Asher, that is to say a happy man that 
was the father of such a daughter." Until 
the seventy-fifth year of her age did she 
continue serving her Lord and waiting for 

(II) William Sedgwick, son of Major 
General Robert Sedgwick, was a member 
of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery in 
Boston in 1666. He spent much of his 
time in passing to and from the West 
Indies. William Sedgwick married Eliza- 
beth Stone (see Stone line), daughter of 
Rev. Samuel Stone, the second minister 
of Hartford, Connecticut. William Sedg- 
wick was for many years in the English 
army. He died in the West Indies when 
quite young. 

(III) Samuel Sedgwick, son of Wil- 
liam and Elizabeth (Stone) Sedgwick, 
married, in 1689, Mary Hopkins (see Hop- 
kins line), daughter of Stephen Hopkins, 
of Hartford, Connecticut ; granddaughter 
of John Hopkins, of Hartford, one of the 
first settlers ; great-granddaughter of 
Stephen Hopkins, fourteenth signer ot 
the Mayflower Compact. Samuel Sedg- 
wick was left a fortune by his Grand- 
mother Stone, which was so well man- 
aged that on his arrival at manhood he 
purchased a valuable estate in West 
Hartford. He lived where Benjamin 
Colton now resides, on the middle road 
from Hartford to Farmington. He was 
captain in the State Militia; he died 
March 24, 1735. His widow died Septem- 
ber 4, 1743. Their graves are in West 
Hartford Burying-ground. 

(IV) Joseph Sedgwick, son of Samuel 
and Mary (Hopkins) Sedgwick, of 
Hartford, Connecticut, moved to Tyring- 
ham, Massachusetts, thus transferring to 

the old Bay State the branch of the family 
which has since lived there. He was born 
May 16, 1697, and married Ruth Smith, 
daughter of Joseph Smith, of Farming- 
ton, Connecticut, January 24, 1722. Jo- 
seph Sedgwick's brother, Benjamin, was 
the lineal ancestor of the Sedgwicks 
of Stockbridge, Massachusetts. Joseph 
Sedgwick was one of the proprietors of 
Winchester (Wlnsted), Connecticut, go- 
ing to Tyringham through the efforts of 
his brother-in-law, Thomas Orton, who 
had settled in Cornwall, but had sold his 
property to Benjamin Sedgwick, his 
brother removing to Tyringham. This 
sale gave to Cornwall General John 
Sedgwick, of the War of the Revolution, 
the great-grandson of Benjamin Sedg- 

(V) Samuel Sedgwick, son of Joseph 
and Ruth (Smith) Sedgwick, was a lover 
of the sea. On one of his early voyages 
to Boston he met Deborah Higgins, whom 
he married. They settled at Branford, 
Connecticut. They lived in Becket and 
Westfield, Massachusetts, and Branford, 
Connecticut. Samuel was born April 11, 
1725, in Hartford, Connecticut. He was 
drowned at sea in 1794. 

(VI) Gordon Sedgwick, son of Samuel 
and Deborah (Higgins) Sedgwick, was 
born July 27, 1748. He resided in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. He married Hannah 
Sackett, and died in Palmer, Massachu- 
setts, in 1838. 

(VII) Martin Sedgwick, son of Gordon 
and Hannah (Sackett) Sedgwick, was 
born March 10, 1774, at Becket, Massa- 
chusetts. He married Sally King, Feb- 
ruary 26, 1 801, daughter of William King, 
one of the most prominent of the early 
settlers of Monson, Massachusetts. His 
father fought against Burgoyne. He died 
January 9, 1853. 

(VIII) Martin Sedgwick, Jr., son of 
Martin and Sally (King) Sedgwick, was 



born in Belchertown, Massachusetts, Au- 
gust 6, 1818. He married Mary G. Boy- 
den, March 20, 1839. 

(IX) Florence A. Sedgwick, daughter 
of Martin, Jr., and Mary G. (Boyden) 
Sedgwick, is a lineal descendant in the 
ninth generation of the most distinguished 
families in New England, and has inher- 
ited many of the qualities which have 
made the Sedgwick family noted for gen- 
erations. She is richly endowed by 
nature with extraordinary mental power 
and individuality. She has a strong nat- 
ural love of literature, and music is always 
to her a source of joy. She belongs to the 
world that includes many communities, 
for she has travelled extensively, which 
has identified her with wide knowledge 
and interests. 

Florence A. Sedgwick married Edward 
Dickinson Cushman (see Cushman IX), 
September 20, 1876. Children: i. Grace 
Sedgwick Cushman, was born in Monson, 
August 19, 1877, died July 17, 1897. 2. 
Edward Francis Cushman, born in Mon- 
son, April 30, 1879, married, December 15, 
1915, Louise Marcley ; they have two 
children: Mary Sedgwick, born March 11, 
1918; and Francis Dickinson, born Janu- 
ary I, 1920. 3. Blanche Packard Cush- 
man, born December 27, 1881, married 
Louis John Brainerd, cashier of the Pal- 
mer National Bank ; they have one son : 
Robert Cushman Brainerd, born August 
31, 1912. Mrs. Cushman has the rare 
combination of a keen sense of humor, 
with superior judgment and executive 
ability. Happy, strong and brave, and 
able to endure all things and to do all 
things, her life is inwardly renewed and 
growing in glory even in the midst of 
affliction, and her exquisite beauty is the 
spiritual repose which she expresses and 
which is reflected in every line of her 
face. The record of a faith sublime, she 
is one of the few who, born with rich en- 

dowments, develop their talents, whose 
work, were it not for them, could not be 
done at all. 

The Monson House, for aged people, 
which is an expression of the spirit of 
ministry taught by the blessed Master, 
stands as a memorial which represents 
the gift of Mrs. Florence A. (Sedgwick) 
Cushman and her children, Mrs. Louis 
John Brainerd (Blanche P. Cushman), 
and Edward Francis Cushman. It was 
their home for many years, and was given 
in memory of Edward Dickinson Cush- 
man and his parents, Solomon Francis and 
Candace (Packard) Cushman, who owned 
and occupied it before them. Mrs. Cush- 
man endowed and furnished a room in the 
house in memory of her daughter, Grace 
Sedgwick Cushman. 

(The Stone Line) 

Elizabeth Stone, daughter of Rev. Sam- 
uel Stone, the second minister of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, married William Sedg- 
wick (see Sedgwick II). Rev. Samuel 
Stone was born in Hartford, England, and 
graduated at Emanuel College, Cam- 
bridge, England, 1623-27. He came to 
America with Mr. Cotton and Mr. Hooker 
in 1633. He was an assistant to Mr. 
Hooker, 1633-47, removed with him to 
Hartford in 1636, and was the successor 
of Rev. Thomas Hooker for sixteen years 
in the First Congregational Church. His 
tombstone still stands, a slag of red free- 
stone, supported by pillars in the old Cen- 
ter Church Burying-ground in Hartford, 
Connecticut. It is placed beside the Rev. 
Thomas Hooker's stone, which is of the 
same stone and design. The personality 
of Rev. Samuel Stone left a strong im- 
pression upon all historians, as his happy 
disposition, wit and brilliancy are often 
spoken of. He was perpetual sunshine, 
amiable, frank, of winning manners, and 
noted particularly for his pleasantry and 



wit. Upright, public-spirited, so full of 
heart and mind, his very countenance had 
an influence for daily happiness. Eminent 
as a controversialist, and celebrated for 
wit and good humor, the latter part of his 
life was imbittered by theological dis- 
putes, which led to a divided church. He 
left in manuscript "A Body of Divinity," 
much esteemed by theological students, 
and a confutation of the Antinomians. He 
was regarded as one of the most accur- 
at*e and acute disputants of his day. Being 
eminently pious, he was a most strict ob- 
server of the Christian Sabbath. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Allen. Rev. Mr. Stone's 
estate was £563; his books were esti- 
mated at £127. He published "A Con- 
gregational Church," in London, in 1652. 
In this work, which is a curious specimen 
of logic, he endeavors to demolish the 
system of a national political church. In 
the Church of St. Mary-de-Holm, by-the- 
sea, against the east pillar of the Nave, a 
mural monument stands bearing the ef- 
figies of a man and his wife ; behind him 
are seven sons, and behind her six daugh- 
ters, all kneeling, with the Stone arms : 
Argent. There are three cinquefoils 
sable, a chief azure impaling barry of six, 
argent and sable, a band over all azure. 
Motto : Humani nihil alienum. 

(The Hopkins Line) 

Mary Hopkins, who married Samuel 
Sedgwick (see Sedgwick III), was the 
daughter of Stephen Hopkins, of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut ; granddaughter of John 
Hopkins, of Hartford ; and great-grand- 
daughter of Stephen Hopkins, fourteenth 
signer of the Mayflower Compact. 
Paige's Early History of Cambridge, 
Massachusetts says: "John Hopkins' 
house, situated on Spring or Mount 
Auburn street." He went to Hartford, 
Connecticut, with Rev. Thomas Hooker's 
company, was an original proprietor. 

townsman 1640, juror 1643, and there, sur- 
rounded by all that proves life attractive, 
died in 1654, at the age of forty-one years. 
His wife, who was Jane Strong, of Cam- 
bridge, survived him. Their son, Ste- 
phen Hopkins, married Dorcas Bronson, 
daughter of John Bronson, the first Amer- 
ican ancestor of that family who lived at 
Farmington, Connecticut. The Hopkins' 
coat-of-arms may still be seen carved in 
oak in what is now a machine shop, but 
that, some centuries ago, was known as 
the Palace yard, because there the Hop- 
kinses entertained so often the nobil- 
ity and royalty of England. 

Mr. Mortimer Delano, the heraldist, 
gives the arms of the Coventry House of 
Hopkins as follows : Sable, on a chevron 
between three pistols or, three roses 
gules. The roses are on the gold chevron. 
The crest: A castle or fortress in flames, 
was granted during the time of Louis 
Fifteenth of France. The Motto : "Piety 
is Peace." Rev. Mark Hopkins, LL. D., 
and Hon. Levi P. Morton, were in this 

(The Cushman Line) 

(I) Robert Cushman, born in England 
in 1580, joined the non-conformists at 
Leyden, and in 1617 was sent by them to 
London with John Carver to negotiate 
with the Virginia Company for leave to 
settle within their domain in America, 
and to petition King James for "liberty 
of conscience." He was sent again in 1619 
with William Brewster ; a patent was fin- 
ally obtained. He made the fourth jour- 
ney to London in 1620 with Carver and 
Martin, procured the "Mayflower," and a 
pilot, and sailed in her as associate-gov- 
ernor from Southampton, August 5, 1620, 
in company with the "Speedwell." The 
latter, not proving seaworthy, returned, 
and Mr. Cushman took charge of those 
who remained, and followed in the next 



vessel, the "Fortune," reaching New Ply- 
mouth, November 9, 1621, and on Decem- 
ber I2th he preached the first sermon in 
America that was printed, on "the Sin and 
Danger of Self-Love." He sailed for Eng- 
land the next day, but was captured by 
the French, plundered and detained two 
weeks on the coast. After his arrival, he 
wrote and published an eloquent vindica- 
tion of the Colonial enterprise, and an ap- 
peal for Christian mission to the American 
Indians. He continued in England, at 
London, as agent for the Colonists. In 
1623, he, with Edward Winslow, procured 
from Lord Sheffield a charter for the ter- 
ritory of Cape Ann. The exact date of 
Mr. Cushman's death is not known, but 
it is reasonably concluded that he died in 
January or February, 1625, and that he 
was between forty and fifty years old. 

(II) Thomas Cushman, son of Robert 
Cushman, familiarly known by the name 
of Elder Thomas Cushman, was born in 
England, in February, 1608. He was 
probably in the "Mayflower" when his 
father sailed for America, August, 1620, 
and with his father went back to London 
in the "Speedwell." In July, 1621, the 
ship "Fortune" sailed for New England. 
Among the passengers were Robert Cush- 
man and his family, consisting of an only 
son, Thomas, then fourteen years old. In 
a few days his father returned to Eng- 
land, leaving his only son in the family of 
his particular friend. Governor Bradford. 
About 1636, Thomas Cushman married 
Mary Allerton, daughter of Mary and 
Isaac Allerton, who came over in the 
"Mayflower" in 1620. He was a leading 
and enterprising man, and ruling elder 
after Brewster for nearly forty-three 
years. He was a capable teacher and pos- 
sessed all the virtues required for his of- 
fice. He died December 10, 1691. His 
gravestone, erected by the Plymouth 
Church twenty-four years after his death, 

is on the southerly brow of Burying Hill, 
in a very beautiful locality, commanding 
a full view of Plymouth harbor, of the 
town of the green hills in the distance, and 
of the "Meeting House," in which for 
more than seventy years he had prayed 
and worshiped. Elder Cushman's wife, 
Mary Allerton, was about eleven years 
old when she came over in the "May- 
flower." Mary (Allerton) Cushman was 
a worthy companion of her husband and 
survived him several years. She was the 
last survivor of the one hundred persons 
who came over in the "Mayflower." 

(III) Thomas Cushman, born Septem- 
ber 16, 1637, married (first) Ruth How- 
land, daughter of John Howland, Novem- 
ber 17, 1664. He married (second) Abi- 
gail Fuller, of Rehoboth, October 16, 1679, 
and lived on the west side of the highway 
that leads from Plympton Meeting 
House to the Northern part of the town, 
and "Colchester Brook" ran through his 
farm. He died August 23, 1726, and was 
interred in the Centre Burying-ground at 

(IV) Benjamin Cushman, born in 1691, 
married (first) Sarah Eaton, January 8, 
1712. She died at Plympton, and he mar- 
ried (second) Widow Sarah Bell, March 
14, 1738. He died at Plympton, October 
17, 1770. He and both his wives were 
members of the church at Plympton. He 
lived on a part of his father's farm, in a 
house on the south side of and near "Col- 
chester Brook." 

(V) Caleb Cushman, born May 15, 
1 71 5, married, November 11, 1742, Sarah 
Barrons. He removed from Plymouth 
and settled in Carvers. 

(VI) Gideon Cushman, born November 
21, 1750, at Plymouth, moved to Middle- 
boro; married Ruth Shaw, February 25, 
1773, removed in 1781 to Hebron, Maine, 
where he died. May 7, 1845. He spent a 
portion of his early life on the ocean, 



whaling. He was a patriot and soldier in 
the Revolutionary War, and was among 
the early settlers of Hebron, where he 
was always respected for his integrity 
and moral worth. 

(VII) Solomon Cushman, born June 
22, 1796, married Harriet Adams, at Rum- 
ford, Maine, July 4, 1821. She was born 
in Bethel, Maine, August 30, 1800. They 
resided in Monson, Maine, and had four 

(VIII) Hon. Solomon F. Cushman was 
born in Monson, Maine, November 18, 
1826. His early years were spent in his 
native town, where he was educated. In 
1854 he removed to Palmer, Massachu- 
setts, and two years later he went to Mon- 
son, Massachusetts, as bookkeeper of the 
Monson Woolen Manufacturing Com- 
pany. In 1866 he obtained an interest in 
the business, and in 1878 bought the in- 
terest of Horatio Lyon. In 1883 he 
bought the C. W. Holmes, Jr., "Branch 
Mill," and since 1891 the business was 
conducted under the firm name of S. F. 
Cushman & Sons, until selling in 1910. 

Mr. Cushman married, November 16, 
1852, Candace B. Packard, who died Sep- 
tember 10, 1890. Mr. Cushman was a Re- 
publican. He was representative to the 
State Legislature in 1881 and 1883, and 
was a member of the State Senate in 1893. 
At the time of his death, he was president 
of the Monson National Bank, and had 
been connected with the savings bank, 
serving as president and vice-president at 
different times. He was for many years 
a trustee of Monson Academy, and a 
member of the Library Association, serv- 
ing as its treasurer for more than twenty 

A man of marked ability in manufactur- 
ing and business circles, a citizen of judg- 
ment and integrity, he was a liberal and 
generous giver to the Congregational 
church, at the services of which he was 

a constant attendant. He was succeeded 
in his business and positions of trust by 
his son, Edward Dickinson Cushman, and 
his brothers. 

(IX) Edward Dickinson Cushman was 
born in Monson, Maine, September 15, 
1853, the eldest son of Hon. Solomon F. 
and Candace B. (Packard) Cushman, and 
went to Monson, Massachusetts, with his 
parents in 1856. He was educated in the 
public schools and Monson Academy. In 
1871 he began his business career in the 
office of the late Horatio Lyon, assistant 
to his father, Solomon F. Cushman, who 
succeeded Mr. Lyon as owner of the busi- 
ness in 1877. From that time until he re- 
tired from business in 1900, Mr. Cushman 
was associated with his father and later 
with his brothers in the woolen business. 
Mr. Cushman began his career as a public 
servant, when he was elected town treas- 
urer in 1879, being then the youngest of- 
ficer in office, a position which he held 
nineteen consecutive years until obliged to 
relinquish it in 1898 on account of failing 
health. He was chairman of the Republi- 
can town committee for many years, and 
was always influential and active in pro- 
moting the best interests of the commu- 
nity. He was elected to the House of 
Representatives in the fall of 1909 from 
the first Hampden district, and served as 
a member of the Committee of Street 
Railways and Labor. He had served as 
president of the Monson Savings Bank 
since 1903, succeeding his father, and was 
a director of the Monson National Bank 
since 1900, and a member of its board of 
investment. He was a loyal supporter of 
the Congregational church and deeply in- 
terested in the affairs of Monson Acad- 
emy, giving to that institution the Cush- 
man Athletic Field. He was of genial 
characteristics, and always ready to give 
advice and assistance to all classes of 
people. His never failing courtesy and 



deference, his sound and reliable judg- 
ment, his honor and integrity, won the 
confidence and esteem of all with whom 
he came in contact. 

He married, September 20, 1876, Flor- 
ence A. Sedgwick, of Belchertown. Mrs. 
Cushman was descended from the most 
distinguished families of Colonial times 
(see Sedgwick). Children: i. Grace 
Sedgwick Cushman, who was born in 
Monson, August 19, 1877, died July 17, 
1897. 2. Edward Francis Cushman, born 
in Monson, April 30, 1879, married, De- 
cember 15, 1915, Louise Marcley. They 
have two children : Mary Sedgwick, born 
March 11, 1918; Francis Dickinson, born 
January i, 1920. 3. Blanche Packard 
Cushman, born December 27, 1881, mar- 
ried Louis John Brainerd. They have one 
son, Robert Cushman Brainerd, born Au- 
gust 31, 1912. 

POWERS, Lewis J., 

Man of Unusual Enterprise. 

Lewis J. Powers, now deceased, was a 
well-known manufacturer of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, and came of an old Eng- 
lish family. The name Poer, Power, and 
Powers, is found in English history from 
the date of the Norman Conquest, an of- 
ficer of the Conqueror's army appearing 
on the Battle Abbey Roll. In 1187 a 
Richard Poer was high sheriff of Glou- 
cestershire and "was killed while defend- 
ing the Lord's day." A Sir Roger le Poer, 
an "English Knight," held a chief com- 
mand in the army of King Henry II, when 
he invaded Ireland in 1171, and in the 
Domesday Book of St. Paul's, the name 
of Walter Poer (Power) appears as pos- 
sessing various landed rights in Ireland, 
a gift of the crown for services rendered 
in 1222. In New England, there is a 
record of several of the name who early 
came to America, but the ancestor of this 

family in New England was Walter 
Power, who arrived in Salem, Massachu- 
setts, in 1639. He married Trial Shep- 
pard, daughter of Deacon Ralph and 
Thanks (or as sometimes written Thankes- 
lord) Sheppard, her parents coming to 
New England from Stepney Parish, Lon- 
don (in Essex), in July, 1635. They set- 
tled in Weymouth, later going to Maiden, 
where Ralph was deacon in the First 
Church, and died, September 11, 1693, his 
gravestone, still standing, recording his 
age as ninety years. Walter and Trial 
(Sheppard) Power settled immediately 
after their marriage in Concord, Middle- 
sex county, Massachusetts, the site of 
their home included in what is now called 
Littleton, adjoining the Indian settlement 
of Nashobe, which property Deacon 
Ralph Sheppard bought of Lieutenant 
Joseph Wheeler. In 1694 Walter Power 
bought of the Indians one-fourth of the 
township of Nashobe. He died February 
2,2, 1708, his widow, born February 10, 
1641, surviving him many years. They 
were the parents of nine children : Wil- 
liam ; Mary, who married Lieutenant Jo- 
seph Wheeler ; Isaac, Thomas, Daniel, In- 
crease, Walter, Jacob, and Sarah. De- 
scent in this branch is traced from the 
third son, Thomas. The founder used the 
name Power, and until the third genera- 
tion that form was generally used, but 
since then. Powers has been the accepted 
form. The line from Walter Power, the 
founder, to Frank Bangs Powers, of the 
eighth generation, is thus traced : Thomas 
Power, son of Walter and Trial Power; 
his son Phineas; his son Isaac; his son 
Eli ; his son, George W. Powers, who died 
April II, 1880, and his wife, Miriam 
Pierce ; their son, Lewis J., of further 
mention; his son, Frank Bangs Powers, 
of further mention. 

Lewis J. Powers was born in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, January 15, 1837, 



died there September 15, 1915. His 
father, George W. Powers, was engaged 
in the trucking business in Springfield, 
and when but eight years of age, Lewis 
J. became a wage earner by distributing 
papers for a newsdealer in the Hill district. 
His next business move was with L. B. 
Brockett, a newsdealer of Sanford street, 
his duty to sell papers at the old railroad 
station. His twin brother, Lucius H. 
Powers, later the well-known and capable 
chief of the Springfield Fire Department, 
then joined Lewis J., and the two boys 
became monopolists, contracting the sale 
of all papers around the railroad station. 
Later, Lewis J., who had become widely 
known for so young a lad, entered the em- 
ploy of Marshall Bessey, proprietor of a 
newsroom under the old Massasoit House, 
a famous news-stand for many years. 
Lewis J. was given the Worcester-Pitts- 
field train route, but later Mr. Bessey 
brought him into his office and placed him 
in charge over other newsboys. In 1857, 
being then twenty years of age, he was 
admitted to a third interest in the Bessey 
news business, the purchase price being 
paid with borrowed money. This was not 
looked upon as a wise business move, yet 
it proved a very successful one, Lewis J. 
Powers becoming sole owner in 1861 
through the purchase of Mr. Bessey's 
two-thirds' interest. He then enlarged 
the business by becoming selling agent for 
the Glasgow Paper Company of South 
Hadley Falls, this being the point of con- 
tact between Mr. Powers and the busi- 
ness which was to bring him reputation 
and fortune. 

With the development of his paper job- 
bing trade, the quarters under the Massa- 
soit House were too restricted, and in 
1863, better facilities were furnished his 
growing business, the Goodrich Block 
housing it until 1872, when in company 
with the Agawam National Bank, he built 

the granite Agawam Block, half of which 
he occupied until 1875. He then moved 
to the Lyman Block, his business having 
become of such importance that the 
Wason Manufacturing Company had 
erected that building for the Powers Paper 
Company, his firm style and title. 

With the development of the Powers 
Paper Company as outlined, Mr. Powers 
had grown into prominence in another 
branch of the paper business. In 1866, in 
connection with Charles O. Brown, he or- 
ganized the Powers & Brown Paper Com- 
pany and bought the old Berkshire Mill 
at Dalton. The following year he sold 
his interest and with J. H. Appleton, 
bought the plant of the Riverside Paper 
Company, located at Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts. He sold his interest to his partner 
four years later and then became inter- 
ested in the Union Paper Company of 
Holyoke. This company had manufac- 
tured paper used in making paper collars, 
but with the passing of that article of 
men's wear, the company discontinued 
this line. Mr. Powers organized the Con- 
necticut River Paper Company, which in 
1888 bought the plant of the Union Paper 
Company, and equipped it for the manu- 
facture of fine grade paper, such as the 
Powers Paper Company had made a wide 
market for and were handling. 

That year (1890) the Powers Paper 
Company moved their headquarters from 
Springfield to Holyoke, quarters having 
been prepared for its reception in the Con- 
necticut River Paper Company's plant. 
The latter company continued a successful 
manufacturing career until its separate 
existence was terminated by its absorp- 
tion by the American Writing Paper 
Company, to whom it was sold by Mr. 
Powers. The Powers Paper Company 
was not included in the merger which re- 
sulted in the formation of the American 
Writing Paper Company, but continued 



its prosperous career under the manage- 
ment of Lewis J. Powers and his capable 
sons. The company, in addition to being 
large distributors, manufactured tablets, 
envelopes and papeteries, the large plant 
of the company located at Brightwood 
giving employment to between three and 
four hundred people. 

The foregoing but gives an idea of Mr. 
Powers' activity in the business life of 
his city. He was the oldest director of 
the Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance 
Company, director of the Union Trust 
Company, and vice-president of the 
Hampden Savings Bank. While still a 
young man, overwork impaired his health 
and he wisely restrained his enthusiasm, 
purchased a farm in Northfield, and there 
spent a part of his time until his health 
was regained. His first appearance in 
political life was in 1871, as a member of 
Common Council. He continued in coun- 
cil until 1874, was elected alderman in 
1874 and 1875, and mayor of Springfield 
in 1879 and 1880. In 1886 he was elected 
a member of the Governor's Council, serv- 
ing under Governors Robinson and 
Ames. During his service on the Gov- 
ernor's Council, the sale of the Hoosac 
tunnel by the State to the Fitchburg rail- 
road was considered, Mr. Powers taking 
the conservative position on the question, 
and as mayor, sound business principle 
was the governing note in all matters of 
city government. He was a Mason of 
high degree ; was the only Springfield 
member of the American Bibliophile 
Society ; was president of the old Spring- 
field Club, when its home was at the cor- 
ner of Chestnut and Worthington streets ; 
member of the Nayasset and Colony 
clubs ; and from its organization, identi- 
fied with the Church of the Unity. 

Mr. Powers married, December 25, 
1855, Martha Bangs, daughter of Free- 
man Bangs. Mrs. Powers died in 191 1, 

leaving four sons : Frank Bangs, of 
further mention; Lewis J. (2); Philip C, 
and Walter C. 

Frank Bangs Powers, eldest son of 
Lewis J. and Martha (Bangs) Powers, 
was born June 11, 1858. He was edu- 
cated in private schools in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, and Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, and spent one year in the Springfield 
High School. Developing unusual musi- 
cal talent, he was instructed by capable 
teachers, then went abroad and for three 
years studied under music masters in 
Leipsic. The ill health of his father re- 
called him to the United States, after three 
years abroad, and affairs so developed 
that as the eldest son, Mr. Powers be- 
came associated with the Powers Paper 
Company, giving up the career for which 
he had prepared himself. 

Although not following the career in- 
tended, he has ably fulfilled the obliga- 
tions which he assumed, and as vice-pres- 
ident and consulting engineer of the 
Powers Paper Company, he has won fav- 
orable standing as a business man. He 
has displayed not only a business talent, 
but an inventive genius, and he has in- 
vented many of the mechanical devices 
used in the making of envelopes, and also 
perfected other machines which had been 
in use. In fact, the machinery used in 
the plant of the company at Brightwood 
may be said to bear the imprint of his 
genius. He is constantly seeking to in- 
vent new machinery and bring about a 
revolution in manufacturing certain lines 
in which the Powers Paper Company is 
interested. He is a trustee of the Hamp- 
den Savings Bank, and takes an interest 
in all affairs of the city. In church pref- 
erence he is Unitarian. 

Mr. Powers married, May 6, 1880, Ida 
Clark, of Springfield, daughter of Julius 
and Marietta Clark. Mr. and Mrs. Powers 
are the parents of a daughter, Freda, wife 


of Lieutenant Colonel Austin M. Pardee, 
of the United States army. Lieutenant 
Pardee served in the Spanish-American 
War in both Cuba and the Philippines as 
a general staff officer, and was in service 
during the World War, 1917-18. They 
are the parents of two sons : Clark Dow- 
ley Pardee, born October 24, 1918; and 
David Powers Pardee, born August 14, 

CLARK, Lemuel Baldwin, 

Founder of Successful Business. 

Prominent among the business men of 
Springfield is Lemuel Baldwin Clark, 
who for a number of years has been 
closely identified with the history of the 
city as a representative of one of its most 
important business interests. He is a 
man of keen discrimination and sound 
judgment, and his executive ability and 
excellent management have brought to 
the concern which he controls a large 
degree of success. The safe conservative 
policy which he inaugurated commends 
itself to the judgment of all and has 
secured to the company a large and in- 
creasing patronage. 

Lemuel Clark, the ancestor from which 
Lemuel B. Clark traces his descent, en- 
joyed the distinction of having served as 
the first mayor of Buffalo, New York, 
which fact proves conclusively that he 
was a man of influence and power in local 
affairs. The line is carried down through 
his son, Horace Clark, who in turn had a 
son, Lemuel Clark, who was a lawyer of 
note in New York City, practicing his 
profession there for many years. He 
married a Miss Woodruff, who came from 
East Aurora, New York. Lemuel Clark, 
who died in 1886, aged fifty-seven years, 
was the father of Horace Clark, of fur- 
ther mention. 

Dr. Horace Clark, father of Lemuel 
Mass — 10 — 11 

Baldwin Clark, of this review, was born 
at Buffalo, New York, November 4, 1862. 
After completing his studies in the 
schools of his native city, he became a 
student in Harvard College, graduating 
from that institution with the class of 
1885, after which, desiring to follow the 
profession of medicine for his life work, 
he matriculated in Harvard Medical 
School, receiving his degree of Doctor of 
Medicine with the class of 1888. He was 
a specialist on diseases of the ear, nose 
and throat. 

Dr. Horace Clark married, November 
10, 1882, at Carthage, New York, Sarah 
Cushman Mcintosh, born in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, June 9, 1862, daughter of 
Andrew Jackson and Mary A. (Soggs) 
Mcintosh, and they were the parents of 
the following named children: i. Lucia, 
born in Somerville, Massachusetts, Octo- 
ber 25, 1883. 2. Elizabeth Woodruff, 
born in Newton, Massachusetts, May 14, 
1885 ; graduate of Vassar College, class 
of 1908, now in the foreign born depart- 
ment of the Young Women's Christian 
Association, of New York City, a national 
institute headquarters. 3. Lemuel Bald- 
win, of further mention. 4. Andrew Mcin- 
tosh, born January 28, 1880, died Febru- 
ary 4, 1920; he was a thirty-second degree 
Mason, a Knight Templar, a senior war- 
den of Hampden Lodge, and a member of 
the York Rite bodies, holding offices in 
several ; he was one of the finest types of 
men, beloved by all who knew him, and 
although not of robust health took an 
active part in Masonry, as aforemen- 
tioned, and his passing was deeply re- 
gretted by a wide circle of friends. Mrs. 
Clark married for her second husband, 
November 5, 1896, Dr. William Wallace 
Broga, born in Otis, Massachusetts, April 
5, 1853. He is a graduate of the Albany 
Medical School, and has practiced his 
profession in Longmeadow and Spring- 


field, Massachusetts. He is a member of 
the Spring-field Medical Society and Nay- 
asset Club. He is a Congregationalist in 
religion, and a Republican in politics. 

Lemuel Baldwin Clark was born at 
Sacket Harbor, Jefferson county. New 
York, August 30, 1887. His parents re- 
moved to Springfield, Massachusetts, 
when he was six years of age, and the 
excellent public schools of that city af- 
forded him the means of obtaining a prac- 
tical education. His first employment 
was as stock clerk for M. T. Bird, a dealer 
in fine stationery, with whom he re- 
mained for only a short time. His next 
employment was with the Parker Trans- 
mission Company, where he remained for 
about three and a half years, and then left 
the ranks of the employed to enter that 
of employer, engaging in the tailoring 
business in partnership with C. H. Camp, 
this connection continuing for a year and 
a half. In 1913 he made a radical chang^e 
in his line of work, establishing an auto- 
mobile business under the name of the 
Moon Motor Sales Company, a corpora- 
tion, of which Mr. Clark is serving in the 
dual capacity of president and treasurer. 
They conduct a general garage business, 
which has increased in volume and im- 
portance considerably in the seven years 
that have intervened since their estab- 
lishment, and the prompt and efficient 
service maintained by them is directly 
responsible for the success which is 
crowning their efforts. Mr. Clark is a 
member of Hampden Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and all of the Scottish 
Rite bodies up to and including the thirty- 
second degree, and a member of Melha 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine. 

Mr. Clark married, March 31, 1913, 
Maude Rich, of Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, daughter of Edwin Clark and Han- 
nah Frances Rich, granddaughter of 

Jacob and Harriet (Clark) Rich, and 

great-g-randdaughter of Rich, who, 

accompanied by five brothers, came to 
this country from their native land, Ger- 
many, and settled in Guilford, Vermont. 
Edwin Clark Rich, father of Mrs. Clark, 
was superintendent for George R. Ester- 
brooks, of Springfield, in the installing of 
steam heating plants, filling that office in 
a satisfactory manner for many years 
He was a man of the highest character, 
esteemed and respected by all with whom 
he was brought in contact, either in busi- 
ness, political or social life. Two chil- 
dren have been born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Clark, namely : Andrew Mcintosh, born 
February 21, 1914, died April 18, 1921 ; 
and Lemuel Baldwin. Jr., born June 27, 

(The Mcintosh Line). 

Lemuel Baldwin Clark traces descent 
through his mother, Sarah Cushman (Mc- 
intosh) Clark, to the noted Mcintosh 
Clan, one of the oldest and most numer- 
ous of the Highlands of Scotland. There 
were five other clans in Scotland, 

Robert Mcintosh, the first member of 
this branch of the family of whom we 
have definite information, was a native 
of Scotland, born about 1670, and there 
spent his early life, removing to Ulster 
Province, North of Ireland, immediately 

after his marriage to Gordon, also 

a native of Scotland, also accompanied 
by his sister and brother-in-law. Mr. 
and Mrs. Mcintosh were the parents of 
five children, as follows: i. Robert, born 
about 1685 ; emigrated to this country in 
1705, and settled in Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania. 2. Andrew, of further mention. 
3. Matthew. 4. Hannah. 5. Catherine. 

Andrew Mcintosh, second son of Rob- 
ert and (Gordon) Mcintosh, was 

born in County Antrim, Ireland, in 1690, 
died in Willington, Connecticut, March 
26, 1793, at the extreme age of one hun- 



dred and three years. He attended the 
schools in the vicinity of his home, and 
thereafter, until the year 1715, was vari- 
ously employed, at that time emigrating 
to the New World, joining his brother, 
Robert Clark, in Philadelphia, Pennsyl- 
vania, from whence he removed to Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, and later to Dedham, 
same State. A year later he took up his 
residence in the State of Connecticut, lo- 
cating in Voluntown, later in Stoning- 
ton, subsequently in Willington, Tolland 
county, same State, where he spent the 
remainder of his days. He was a farmer 
by occupation, a man of high character, 
integrity and piety, who earned and en- 
joyed the respect of his fellow-citizens. 
At Stonington, Connecticut, in 1754, he 
married Naomi Delthic, and among their 
children was Andrew, of further mention. 
Andrew (2) Mcintosh, eldest son of 
Andrew (i) and Naomi (Delthic) Mc- 
intosh, was born in Stonington, Con- 
necticut, April 30, 1761, died in Steuben, 
Oneida county. New York, October 19, 
1856, in his ninety-sixth year. He at- 
tended the schools adjacent to his home, 
and at the age of sixteen accompanied his 
parents upon their removal to Willington, 
there remaining until 181 1, conducting 
the farm which he inherited from his 
father. In that year he removed to Steu- 
ben, New York, making the long journey 
in a farm wagon, drawn by a span of 
horses, and there, with alternate visits 
to his sons in other sections, resided until 
his death. He married, November 25, 
1780, Hannah Lillibridge, born in Exeter, 
Rhode Island, December 12, 1765, died 
March 19, 1821, daughter of Elder David 
and Miriam (Moore) Lillibridge, her 
father a prominent Baptist minister of 
W^illington. Children of Mr. and Mrs. 
Mcintosh, all born in Willington, Con- 
necticut: I. Hannah, born March 24, 
1782, died May 7, 1806, unmarried. 2. 

Robert, born November 9, 1783, died Feb- 
ruary 9, 1879; married Philena Blodgett. 
3. Clark, born December 22, 1785, died 
December 24, 1848; married Lura Blod- 
gett. 4. Naomi, born May 6, 1790, died 
June 12, 1868; became the wife of Wil- 
lard Merrick, March, 1809. 5. Andrew, 
of further mention. 6. Hezekiah, born 
September 4, 1797, died March 22, 1886; 
married, February 22, 1824, Maria Moul- 
ton. 7. Ethan, born January 26, 1800, 
died young. 8. Ethan, born January 13, 
1803, died May 6, 1873; married, October 
II, 1827, Olive Green. 9. Austin, born 
July 21, 1806; married, September 23, 
1846, Lucy Crowell. 10. Maria Ida, born 
August 10, 1808; became the wife of 
James Mitchell, March 15, 1832. 

Andrew (3) Mcintosh, third son of 
Andrew (2) and Hannah (Lillibridge) 
Mcintosh, was born in Willington, Con- 
necticut, March 26, 1793, died in East 
Longmeadow, Massachusetts, September 
17, 1863. He received a practical educa- 
tion in the common schools of that day, 
and when sixteen years of age changed 
his place of residence to East Windsor, 
Massachusetts, from whence he removed 
to the adjoining towns of Ellington and 
Somers, and subsequently located in 
East Longmeadow, where he thereafter 
resided and where his death occurred. He 
devoted his attention to merchandising, 
carpentering, farming and teaching, be- 
ing successful in each of these different 
vocations. The following was said of 
him by one who knew him well : "He was 
an industrious reader, had a fairly good 
memory, and was a man of wonderful 
observation. Nothing escaped his notice 
in the heavens above or the earth be- 
neath. He was an easy, fluent talker and 
a capital story teller. His stories were 
elaborated and wrought out to a finish, 
and he took great pleasure in telling 
them. His supply seemed inexhaustible. 



He always had one more to tell and he 
would take time to tell it. He loved 
music and was a good sing-er." He was 
at one time a captain of militia. Mr. Mc- 
intosh married (first), in 182 1, Elizabeth 
Indicott, born in Hartford, Connecticut, 
December 3, 1785, died November 25, 
1833, daughter of Dr. John Indicott. He 
married (second). May 15, 1853, Dorcas 
Salisbury, who died August 11, 1873. 
Children of first wife: i. Andrew Jack- 
son, of further mention. 2. John Church, 
born June 18, 1824. 

Andrew Jackson Mcintosh, eldest son 
of Andrew (3) and Elizabeth (Indicott) 
Mcintosh, was born in East Longmeadow, 
Massachusetts, October 3, 1822, died May 
10, 1896. He was only eleven years of 
age when deprived by death of a mother's 
care, and after this calamity he resided 
with his uncle in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, and his first occupation was as 
driver for a stage line from Springfield 
to Norwich. Later he was an employee 
for the firm of Simons & Kibbe, confec- 
tioners, driving one of their four-horse 
teams for a period of eight years, selling 
their goods throughout a large section of 
the State of Massachusetts. The follow- 
ing year and a half he served in the capac- 
ity of conductor on a branch of the Rome 
& Watertown railroad, and then re- 
turned to Springfield and joined his 
brother in the auction and commission 
business, the firm name being A. J. & 
J. C. Mcintosh. This relationship was 
dissolved some years later, owing to the 
impaired health of Andrew J. Mcintosh, 
who then spent some time in the West 
in order to recuperate. Upon his return 
to Springfield, in his usual health, he 
established a jobbing house for the sale 
of boots and shoes with two Cutlei 
brothers, under the style of Cutler, Mc- 
intosh & Company. In 1878 the Cutler 
brothers retired, and Mr. Mcintosh took 

into partnership with him four clerks, and 
the firm became Mcintosh & Company, 
conducting a business that grew to enor- 
mous proportions, employing a dozen 
traveling salesman who disposed of their 
goods throughout the length and breadth 
of the United States. This success was 
due primarily to the sound judgment and 
keen foresight of the head of the concern, 
who was a man of ability and acumen, 
progressive in his ideas and honorable in 
his transactions. 

Mr. Mcintosh married, April 11, 1855, 
at Sacket Harbor, New York, Mary A. 
Soggs, born February 8, 1835, at Buflfalo, 
New York, daughter of Thomas and Sel- 
ina (Clark) Soggs. Children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Mcintosh: i. Daughter, born Jan- 
uary 26, 1856, at Springfield, died three 
days later. 2. Mary Clark, bom at 
Springfield, March 10, 1857 ; became the 
wife of Arthur H. Glennan, of Washing- 
ton, D. C. 3. Selina Elizabeth, born at 
Springfield, December 30, 1858; became 
the wife of the Rev. Henn>^ Nason Kin- 
ney, of Boston, June 22, 1882 ; they were 
the parents of two children : Marion and 
Selina Kinney. 4. Sarah Cushman, born 
June 9, 1862, became the wife of Dr. Horace 
Clark and the mother of Lemuel Baldwin 
Clark, aforementioned. 5. Annie, born at 
Springfield, June 14, 1870, died in infancy. 

METCALF, Joseph, 

Man of Great Public Spirit. 

Among those citizens of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, whose influence is still 
aiding in the development of the city 
although they themselves have completed 
their life work, is Joseph Metcalf, organ- 
izer of the Farr Alpaca Company, who for 
nearly a half century was the guiding 
genius. of that concern, and who devised 
and developed the profit sharing plan 
which has not only brought prosperity 



and content to thousands of employees, 
but has been a potent factor in the finan- 
cial success of the business. 

Mr. Metcalf was of English ancestry, 
tracing- his descent from Adam de Mefi- 
kalf, who resided in Yorkshire, England, 
in 1278, that ancient worthy claiming 
descent from Arkefrith, the Dane, who 
came to England in 1016, with King 
Canute. Whittaker, in his "History of 
Craven," says the name is from the old 
Saxon "Mechalgh," signifying "Men of 
Mec's Land," and tradition relates that 
the early men of the family were noted 
for their great size and strength. 

Joseph Metcalf was born in Hunslet, 
Yorkshire, England, March 24, 1841, and 
died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, Novem- 
ber 16. 1916. While he was a very young 
child his father lost his eyesight in an 
accident, and the lad Joseph, with an 
aunt and an older brother, came to Amer- 
ica, locating in Hamilton, Ontario, Can- 
ada, where he attended school until he 
was fifteen years of age. When his stud- 
ies were completed, he entered the office 
service of the Great Western Railway 
Company, where his faithfulness and his 
ability won him rapid advancement. In 
1867, when he was twenty-six years of 
age. and had been in the employ of the 
company eleven years, he was chosen 
treasurer of the company, an honor never 
before tendered to any person living out- 
side of England, where the stock was 
entirely held. For seven years he dis- 
charged the duties of that office with effi- 
ciency and faithfulness and then resigned 
in order that he might engage in business 
for himself. He formed a partnership 
with his brother-in-law, Herbert M. Farr, 
who owned a small woolen mill in Hest- 
ter, Ontario, and removed to Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, where the Farr Alpaca 
Company was organized. This was in 
1874, and from that year to the time of 

his death in 1916, he was the guiding 
spirit of the enterprise. A prosperous 
and increasingly successful business was 
built up, and Mr. Metcalf did not hesitate 
to adopt methods which were considered 
by many other manufacturers as being 
quixotic and ruinous. He devised a profit 
sharing plan, which permitted employees 
as well as stockholders to share in the 
profits of the business, and as has been 
true in practically all well devised 
schemes of this kind, the result was an 
enormous increase in the output of the 
plant, with a corresponding increase in 
profits. Operatives received a liberal 
share of the increased profits, and the 
spirit of cooperation and enthusiasm 
which developed as a result soon made 
itself felt and expressed itself in larger 
power of production, which meant greatly 
increased profits for stockholders. To 
the ability and the far-sighted construc- 
tive work of Mr. Metcalf, Holyoke owes 
the wonderful institution which has been 
a potent factor in her life and develop- 

In addition to the exacting responsi- 
bilities of his position as head of the Farr 
Alpaca Company, Mr. Metcalf was asso- 
ciated with several other business and 
philanthropic institutions. He was a 
director of the Springfield Safe Deposit 
and Trust Company, of the National 
Woolen Manufacturers' Association, of 
the Holyoke City Hospital, and of the 
public library, and vice-president of the 
Home Market Club. He took a deep in- 
terest in the welfare of the city, aiding in 
every possible way all projects for its 
betterment. The Joseph Metcalf Public 
School was named in appreciation of his 
liberal giving, and the splendid collection 
of pictures in the school, valued at over 
$3,000, was presented by him. He found 
great pleasure in social intercourse, and 
was a member of the Holyoke Canoe 



Club. His religious affiliation was with 
St. Paul's Protestant Episcopal Church. 
In January, 1868, at Hamilton, Canada, 
Joseph Metcalf married Clara Wheeler 
Farr, daughter of Marshall H. Farr, a 
prominent railroad contractor, who built 
much of the Grand Trunk railroad. Mr. 
and Mrs. Metcalf were the parents of 
three children: i. Frank H., a sketch of 
whom follows. 2. Howard Farr, born at 
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, June 18, 
1873 ; he is a graduate of Yale University, 
having received a degree from the Shef- 
field Scientific School, of Yale University, 
and after specializing in chemistry, re- 
turned for a year of post-graduate work, 
receiving the degree Ph. B., class of 
1896; he married Rose B. Heywood, 
daughter of Charles Harvey Heywood, 
and a descendant of John Heywood, of 
London, England, and has one son, 
Joseph (2) Metcalf, born August 3, 1903. 
3. Gertrude, born January 20, 1876, mar- 
ried Addison L. Green, and has children : 
Clarissa, Gertrude, and Marshall Green. 

METCALF, Frank H., 

Man of Enterprise. 

Frank H. Metcalf, eldest son of Joseph 
and Clara Wheeler (Farr) Metcalf (see 
preceding sketch), was born October 9, 
1868. He received his education in the 
public schools of Holyoke, and after leav- 
ing high school, entered Worcester Poly- 
technic Institute. A severe illness inter- 
rupted his studies there, however, and 
after his recovery he entered the employ 
of the Farr Alpaca Company, founded by 
his father and uncle, beginning as a wool 
sorter. Later he entered the machine 
shop as repair man, and after becoming 
thoroughly familiar with these depart- 
ments, was promoted to the ofifice. 
Through various promotions he rose to 
the position of assistant agent, and then 

as assistant treasurer became his father's 
close and trusted business associate. In 
this latter office he continued until the 
death of his father in 1916, when he suc- 
ceeded him as treasurer of the Farr Al- 
paca Company. A man of ability and 
thoroughly familiar with all the depart- 
ments of the wonderfully prosperous and 
well-managed establishment, he is a 
worthy successor of his father and an im- 
portant factor in the continued success 
of the business. Mr. Metcalf has other 
business connections. He is president of 
the Holyoke Valve and Hydrant Com- 
pany; director of the Hadley Falls Na- 
tional Bank, of the Holyoke Savings 
Bank, of the Springfield Safe Deposit and 
Trust Company, of Springfield, the Mor- 
ris Plan Bank of Holyoke, National Asso- 
ciation of Wool Manufacturers, Public 
Library, Holyoke City Hospital, and the 
Clarke School, of Northampton. Mr. 
Metcalf occupies a prominent place in 
the business world, and the honors which 
have come to him have been those which 
come as the reward of ability and of faith- 

W^ith all his many and exacting busi- 
ness interests Mr. Metcalf finds time for 
needed recreation, and one of his most 
enjoyed relaxations from the usual busi- 
ness cares is his splendid stock farm at 
South Hadley. He is especially inter- 
ested in Holstein cattle, and man^ costly 
specimens of this noted breed are to be 
found on his farm, over which he exer- 
cises a large degree of personal supervi- 
sion. He is also deeply interested in the 
history of the Connecticut Valley, and so 
effectively has he made himself familiar 
with its Indian lore, tradition, and early 
history, that he is locally recognized as 
an authority on the subject. He is a 
member of the American Society of Me- 
chanical Engineers, Society for the Ad- 
vancement of Science, and of the Home 


<::y^A-cAy\yyyU^ /kf . 


Market Club of Boston. He is a member 
of the various bodies of Masonry, includ- 
ing membership in the Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; he 
also af^liates with the Knights of Pyth- 
ias, and the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. He is a member of the 
American Protective Tariff League ; the 
Children's Aid Association, of which he 
is president, director, and chairman ; and 
of the Holyoke District Nurses' Associa- 
tion. Besides all these interests he gives 
generous and active support to all phil- 
anthropic and civic enterprises which 
seem to him to be well planned for the 
advancement of the best interests of the 

On May 23, 1894, Frank H. Metcalf 
married Mabel A. Warner, born in North- 
ampton, Massachusetts, April 2^, 1869, 
daughter of Lewis and Lusanna (Pratt) 
Warner. Mrs. Mabel A. (Warner) Met- 
calf is a descendant of Ebenezer and 
Mary (Gerrald) Warner, the line of 
descent being through their son, John 
Warner, and his wife, Margaret (Sykes) 
Warner; their son, John (2) Warner, 
born in Springfield, Massachusetts, about 
1756, died December 24, 1807, was a 
"minute man" in the Revolutionary War, 
registered in the Springfield Company, 
under Major Andrew Colton, and mar- 
ried Mary Ward. The line continues 
through their son, Thomas Warner, and 
his wife, Sarah (Hartong) Warner; their 
son, Lewis Warner, and his wife, Lu- 
sanna (Pratt) Warner; their daughter 
Mabel A., who became the wife of Frank 
H. Metcalf. Mrs. Metcalf is prominent in 
club circles and in all kinds of woman's 
work in her city. She has served as 
regent of Mercy Warren Chapter, Daugh- 
ters of the American Revolution, of 
Springfield ; is a member of the Woman's 
City Club of Boston ; of Robert Morris 
Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star ; the 

National Society of Daughters of Found- 
ers and Patriots ; Humboldt Lodge, Pyth- 
ian Sisters ; and vice-chairman of the 
Holyoke Red Cross. Frank H. and Mabel 
A. (Warner) Metcalf are the parents of 
a daughter, Catherine Lewis, born Feb- 
ruary 10, 1895, married, April 23, 1916, 
Edward Lyman Allen, of Burlington, 
Vermont, and they are the parents of a 
daughter, Juliette, born June 20, 191 7. 

DEXTER, Fred Fay, M. D., 

Of Great Professional Usefulness. 

Dr. Fred Fay Dexter, whose home is 
in Longmeadow, but whose office is in 
Springfield, is one of the well-known phy- 
sicians of that city. He is also a repre- 
sentative of a family of English origin, 
various members of which have achieved 
prominence in their chosen lines of work. 
(I) Rev. Gregory Dexter, the American 
ancestor of the branch of the family herein 
followed, was born in Olney, Northamp- 
ton county, England, in 1610. In early 
life he took up his residence in London, 
England, and there learned the trade of 
printer, which he followed, and in addi- 
tion conducted a stationery store. He was 
also connected with the Baptist ministry in 
that city, and was the friend and transat- 
lantic correspondent of Roger Williams, 
who was the founder of the Providence 
(Rhode Island) Colony. In 1643, when 
Roger Williams went to England to pro- 
cure the first charter for the infant colony, 
he took with him the manuscript of his 
dictionary of the Indian language, and 
on the voyage arranged it for being 
printed, and Mr. Dexter printed the first 
edition of it in London, a reprint of which 
now constitutes the first volume of the 
publications of the Rhode Island Histori- 
cal Society. On the return of Roger Wil- 
liams with the charter, in 1644, Mr. Dex- 
ter accompanied him, having disposed of 


his printing establishment. Mr. Dexter 
was received into the First Baptist 
Church in Providence, of which he sub- 
sequently became pastor. A few years 
later he was chosen to fill the office of 
town clerk, was chosen a commissioner 
to represent the town in the General As- 
sembly in 1648 and again in 1650. He 
was president of the towns of Providence 
and Warwick one year, 1653-54, and in 
the subsequent history of the State the 
name of Mr. Dexter frequently appears 
as taking part in the civil affairs of the 
colony. On the death of Rev. William 
Wickenden, February 13, 1669, Mr. Dex- 
ter succeeded him to the pastorate of the 
Providence church. He was the first ac- 
complished printer that came to the 
colony, and although he did not pursue 
the occupation in Rhode Island, he occa- 
sionally went to Boston, Massachusetts, 
and rendered assistance in that line. He 
printed with his own hands the first al- 
manac for the meridian of Rhode Island. 
Among his later civil duties, he went to 
London and secured the charter of Rhode 
Island. Mr. Dexter is referred to by Dr. 
Stiles as "a man who had been well edu- 
cated, possessed of much talent, and was 
a distinguished character in the colony." 
Morgan Edwards had the following to 
say of him : "Mr. Dexter, by all accounts, 
was not only a well-bred man but re- 
markably pious. He was never observed 
to laugh, seldom to smile, yet he was al- 
ways a very pleasant, friendly and agree- 
able man. So earnest was he in his min- 
istry that he could hardly forbear preach- 
ing when he came into a house or met 
with a concourse of people out of doors." 
Rev. Gregory Dexter married Abigail 
Fuller, and their children, all born in 
Providence, were: Stephen, of further 
mention; James, born May 6, 1650; John, 
born November 6, 1652; Abigail, born 
September 24, 1655 ; Peleg, born in 1658. 

(II) Stephen Dexter, eldest son of 
Rev. Gregory Dexter and his wife, Abi- 
gail (Fuller) Dexter, was born in Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, November i, 1647. 
He settled on land provided by his father, 
at what is now Lime Rocks, in Smithfield, 
where he erected a house. When the 
Indian War broke out, in 1675, ^^ took 
his wife and only son John to the "garri- 
son house" in Providence for public 
safety. During their stay there, Stephen 
Dexter died in 1676, and his wife also 
passed away some time after, but the 
exact year of death is unknown. 

(III) John Dexter, only son of Stephen 
Dexter, was born in Providence, Rhode 
Island, in 1670. He became an orphan at 
an early age, and thus was thrown upon 
his own resources, in this manner becom- 
ing self-reliant and self-supporting. At 
the termination of King Philip's War, he 
returned to the property of his father at 
Lime Rocks, but the house had been de- 
stroyed by the Indians and all improve- 
ments made by his father had vanished 
except the orchard. He made a sort of 
cave in the ground that answered the 
purpose of a house, and commenced to 
labor on his land, which he continued 
until he had the land under good cultiva- 
tion, and also erected a house thereon. 
He then married (first) Mary Field, who 
bore him ten children. After the death of 
his wife, he sold his farm to his son John 
and removed to Providence. There he 
married (second) Mary Mason. He 
erected a house at what is now No. 87 
North Main street, and there his death 

(IV) John (2) Dexter, son of John (i) 
and Mary (Field) Dexter, was born in 
Smithfield, Rhode Island, in 1701. He 
was known through a considerable por- 
tion of his life as "Socknoset John." On 
the map of Cranston, Rhode Island, there 
is a spot marked by this name ; the place 



was once an Indian town, and later, in 
Colonial records, it is alluded to as the 
"Socknoset Farm." He lived to the age 
of seventy-nine years, and his death oc- 
curred in the house in which he was born, 
located at the Lime Rocks. He married 
Mary Browne, born in Providence, Rhode 
Island, in 1702, who bore him ten chil- 

(V) Jonathan Dexter, son of John (2) 
and Mary (Browne) Dexter, was born 
in Smithfield, Rhode Island, in 1739. He 
followed the occupation of farming, his 
property yielding goodly returns for labor 
expended, being located at Lime Rocks, 
where he was residing in 1819. He was a 
man of enterprise and good judgment, re- 
spected and esteemed for his many ex- 
cellent qualities. He married Alice Lowe, 
born in Warwick, Rhode Island, in 1741, 
daughter of Stephen Lowe. Eleven chil- 
dren were born to Mr. and Mrs. Dexter. 

(VI) Philip Dexter, son of Jonathan 
and Alice (Lowe) Dexter, was born in 
Smithfield, Rhode Island, in 1766. In 
early life, he removed to Killingly, Con- 
necticut, accompanied by his brother, Jo- 
seph Dexter, and they, being industrious 
and capable men, soon made a name and 
place for themselves, success crowning 
their efiForts. He spent the remainder of 
his days in Killingly, honored by all with 
whom he had business or social relations. 
He married (first) Catharine Greene, born 
in Warwick, Rhode Island, in 1768, and 
she bore him six children. He married 
(second) Judith Wins, born in Pomfret, 
Connecticut, in 1767, and she bore him one 

(VII) William Dexter, son of Philip 
Dexter, was born in Killingly, Connecti- 
cut, in 1806. After completing his studies 
in the common schools, he turned his at- 
tention to the tilling of the soil, from 
which he derived a lucrative livelihood, 
and he spent his entire life in the State 

of his birth, and at his death left behind 
him the heritage of a good name. He 
married Eunice Park, born in Thompson, 
Connecticut, in 1809, daughter of Perez 
Park. Children of Mr. and Mrs. Dexter: 
Charles, born in 1834; and John P., of 
further mention. 

(VIII) John P. Dexter, son of William 
and Eunice (Park) Dexter, was born in 
Pomfret Landing, Connecticut, in 1837. 
He attended the schools in the vicinity of 
his home, from which he obtained a prac- 
tical education. He chose for his occupa- 
tion the meat business, in which he en- 
gaged on his own account in Danielson- 
ville, Connecticut, his patronage increas- 
ing steadily year by year, the result of 
straightforward business transactions and 
courteous treatment of his patrons. He 
so continued up to the time of his decease, 
which occurred in the year 1881, at the 
early age of forty-four years. On Octo- 
ber 19, 1861, during the progress of the 
Civil War, he enlisted in Captain Clapp's 
company, Eleventh Regiment, Connecti- 
cut Volunteers, his duty being a wagoner, 
and continued this until honorably dis- 
charged on account of disability, February 
5, 1863. Mr. Dexter was a member of 
the Congregational church. He married 
(first) a Mrs. Clapp, who bore him a son, 
William Clapp. He married (second) 
Myra Fay, of Chester, Massachusetts, 
born 1849, died 1912, daughter of William 
Fay. One son was born of this marriage, 
Fred Fay, of further mention. 

(IX) Dr. Fred Fay Dexter, only son 
of John P. and Myra (Fay) Dexter, was 
born in Danielsonville, Connecticut, Feb- 
ruary 20, 1879. He received exceptional 
educational advantages, attending the 
schools of his native town, of Hazard- 
ville, Connecticut, of Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, the high school in Boston, and 
the Lawrence Scientific School at Har- 
vard College. He received his medical 



education in the Harvard Medical School, 
from which he graduated with his degree 
of M. D. in 1904. He began the practice 
of his chosen profession in Granby, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he continued for six 
years. In 1910 he located in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, where he has continued to 
the present time (1921). Here he has 
built up a fine practice, and ranks as one 
of the leading physicians of the city. He 
keeps in touch with his professional 
brethren by membership in the American 
Medical Association, the Massachusetts 
Medical Association, the Hampden Dis- 
trict Medical Association, the Eastern 
Hampden Medical Association, and the 
Springfield Medical Association. He is a 
member of all the Masonic fraternities, 
and has passed through all the Scottish 
Rite bodies up to and including the thir- 
ty-second, also Morning Star Chapter 
Royal Arch Masons, all of Springfield. 
He was made a Mason in Washington 
Lodge of Boston. Upon removing to 
Belchertown, he took a demit to the lodge 
there and passed through all the chairs, 
rising to be master. Having completed 
his term of office there, he was appointed 
district deputy grand master of the seven- 
teenth district and filled this one term. 
He then removed to Springfield, taking 
a demit to Hampden Lodge, to which he 
now (1921) belongs. He is a member of 
the First Church of Christ, of Long- 

Dr. Dexter married, June 30, 1904, 
Christine Nelsson Wheeler, born in West 
Haven, Connecticut, but for many years 
a resident of Springfield, daughter of 
Thomas Henry and Editha (Dickinson) 

TAPLEY, William W., 

Man of Varied Activities. 

The name Tapley is found in and about 
London, England, and in the southern 

counties, as early as the seventeenth cen- 
tury. There are many variations of the 
name, but Tapleigh, Tapley or Topley 
were probably the original forms. Wil- 
liam W. Tapley, of Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, is of the eighth American generation 
of the family founded in New England by 
Gilbert Tapley. 

(I) Gilbert Tapley was born in 1634, 
and is first mentioned as a resident of 
Beverly, Massachusetts, in 1676, and is 
then called "Seaman." In 1686 he was 
one of the few freeholders of Salem, Mas- 
sachusetts. In 1680 his name appears as 
a petitioner for a new church at Salem ; 
in 1690 he was granted an innholder's li- 
cense, and is called "innholder" in the 
records from that time forward. He died 
April 17, 1 7 14, and the tavern became the 
property of John Abbott. His wife, 
Thomasine, born in 1632, died in Salem, 
November i, 1715. They were the par- 
ents of three children: Gilbert (2), 
through whom descent is traced in this 
branch ; Joseph, born March 10, 1668 ; 
Mary, born April 4, 1671. 

(II) Gilbert (2) Tapley, son of Gilbert 
(i) and Thomasine Tapley, was born in 
Salem, Massachusetts, August 26, 1665, 
and died in 1710. He married (first), 
April 10, 1686, Lydia Small, daughter of 
Thomas and Ruth Small, of Salem. He 
married (second), August 21, 1707, Sarah 
Archer. Children: Mary, born Novem- 
ber 4, 1689; Joseph, see next paragraph; 
Lydia, baptized in the First Church at 
Salem, August 8, 1697; Gilbert, baptized 
in the same church, November 19, 1699. 

(HI) Joseph Tapley, son of Gilbert (2) 
and Lydia (Small) Tapley, was born in 
Salem, Massachusetts, July 30, 1691. He 
was a licensed innholder in 1714, prob- 
ably kept his grandfather's old inn. He 
was engaged in the fishing trade for some 
time after his connection with the inn, and 
seems to have been an invalid for many 


^4^S^^-<^,^^ Vt^ 


years. He married, November 27, 1712, 
Margaret Masury, of Salem. They were 
the parents of two sons: Gilbert (3), of 
whom further; and John, who settled in 
that part of Peabody, Massachusetts, 
known as "Tapley's Brook." He was a 
captain in the expedition against Louis- 
burg in 1758, and was at the surrender of 
Fort William Henry. 

(IV) Gilbert (3) Tapley, son of Joseph 
and Margaret (Masury) Tapley, was born 
in Salem, Massachusetts, May 6, 1722, 
died in Danvers, Massachusetts, May 6, 
1806, and was buried in the old burial 
ground. Two months after his marriage, 
June 6, 1747, he moved to Danvers, where 
he bought sixty-seven acres of meadow 
land, with dwelling house and barn stand- 
ing thereon. He was a house carpenter; 
served as constable, tax collector, sur- 
veyor of highways, and was active in the 
affairs of the First Church of Danvers all 
his life. He married (first), June 6, 1747, 
at Salem, Phebe Putnam, born in 1728, 
died May 6, 1770, daughter of John and 
Lydia (Porter) Putnam. He married 
(second), March 11, 1771, Mrs. Mary 
(Flint) Smith, who died July i, 1798, 
widow of Nathaniel Smith. He married 
(third), June 6, 1799, Mrs. Sarah (Ab- 
bott) Farrington, who survived him, 
dying in Andover, January 19, 1723. 
Children by first marriage, all born in 
Danvers, and baptized in the First Church 
(Baptist) : Amos, a soldier of the Rev- 
olution, married Mary Tarbell ; Phebe, 
married Captain William Goodale ; Jo- 
seph, of whom further; Aaron, marched 
on the "Lexington Alarm," died Decem- 
ber 18, 1776; Asa, a soldier of the Revolu- 
tion, married Elizabeth Smith, his step- 
mother's daughter; Elijah, married Re- 
becca Putnam ; Sally, the only child of the 
second marriage, married Porter Putnam. 

(V) Joseph (2) Tapley, son of Gilbert 
(3) and Phebe (Putnam) Tapley, was 

born in Danvers, Massachusetts, April 10, 
1756, died in Lynnfield, Massachusetts, 
March 11, 1820, his death accidental. His 
name appears as private in the "Lexing- 
ton Alarm" list, Captain Samuel Flint's 
company. Colonel Timothy Pickering's 
regiment, and was also a private in a 
militia company of Danvers, mentioned 
November 26, 1776. He married, and 
lived in Danvers until 1781, then settled 
in the northern part of Lynnfield. The 
house in which he lived, built in 1740, is 
now the oldest Tapley house known. In 
close proximity to the house is the Tap- 
ley tomb, built in 1820, by Joseph Tapley, 
who strangely enough was the first to be 
laid therein, although the tomb was un- 
finished, his son, Joseph, completing the 
work. The tomb, built of brick, was grad- 
ually going to ruin, when, in 1892, a few 
members of the family had it rebuilt, a 
granite front added, and the twelve bodies 
in the tomb replaced. The front bears, in 
raised letters, the words : 

Built in 1820. 

Joseph Tapley married (first), August 
19, 1774, Mary Smith, daughter of his 
father's second wife by her first husband, 
Nathaniel Smith. She died in Lynnfield, 
March 13, 1814, and he married (second), 
December "23, 1818, Rowena Page, who 
survived him forty years, dying October 
27, i860. Children by his first marriage: 
Polly, married Daniel Hart ; Betsey, mar- 
ried Joseph Hart; Aaron, died young; 
Sally, married Ephraim Averill ; Phebe 
Putnam, married (first) Benjamin Bux- 
ton, (second) a Mr. Barker; Ruth, mar- 
ried (first) Colonel Joel Hewes, (second) 
Alvin Swain ; Jesse, head of the next gen- 
eration ; Joseph, married (first) Mary 
Hunt, (second) Ann M. Fogg; Clarissa, 
married Edmund Flint ; Lucy, married 
(first) Samuel Wiley, (second) Eli Wiley. 



By his second marriage Joseph Tapley 
had two daughters: Miranda, married 
Elias Crafts ; Sarah, died young. 

(VI) Captain Jesse Tapley, son of Jo- 
seph (2) and Mary (Smith) Tapley, was 
born in Lynnfield, Massachusetts, June 
30, 1788, and died in Lowell, Massachu- 
setts, June 2, 1877. He remained at the 
homestead farm until reaching his major- 
ity, then began farming on his own ac- 
count. Upon his marriage, at the age of 
thirty years, he settled on the "Orne 
place," in Lynnfield, there prospered and 
became one of the influential men of his 
town, serving several years as selectman. 
Two sons and two daughters were born to 
him there, and in 1832, with his family, 
he moved to Lowell, Massachusetts, where 
with his brother Joseph he did a large 
drayage business, transporting the prod- 
ucts of the Lowell Mills to Boston and 
bringing back cotton and other supplies. 
When the railroads relegated this busi- 
ness to the things of the past, the brothers 
used their teams in excavating and haul- 
ing building supplies, but with advancing 
years Captain Jesse Tapley sold his teams 
and engaged in supplying spars and pump 
logs to Boston shipbuilders and others ; 
that business he continued until over 
seventy-five years of age, then retired. 
In May, 1814, he was appointed sergeant 
of militia, and was successively commis- 
sioned ensign, lieutenant and captain, 
holding the rank of captain until May, 
1820, when he resigned, but the title al- 
ways clung to him. In politics he was a 
Whig, and was a member of the Lowell 
Baptist Church. 

Captain Tapley married, in 1818, Eliza 
W. Davis, born June 11, 1798, died in 
Lowell, February 10, 1874, sister of Rev. 
Gustavus S. Davis, a famous evangelist, 
and clergyman of the Baptist church. 
Children, all born in Lynnfield, except 
George Wendell and Mary Abbie, who 

were born in Lowell: i. Gustavus Davis, 
of Springfield, married Anna Snow Sturte- 
vant, 2. Jesse Fellowes, a member of the 
job printing firm of Springfield, Tapley, 
Bowles & Company, and later of the firm, 
Samuel Bowles & Company, and still later 
of the Clark W. Bryan Company, publish- 
ers of the Springfield "Union ;" he mar- 
ried Elizabeth Henrietta Strong. 3. Sarah 
Elizabeth, married Amos Rugg, of Lowell. 
4. Eliza Ann Davis, married Samuel B. 
Chamberlain. 5. Mary Abigail, died in 
childhood. 6. George Wendall, of whom 
further. 7. Mary Abbie, married Thomas 

(VII) George Wendall Tapley, son of 
Captain Jesse and Eliza W. (Davis) Tap- 
ley, was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, 
September i, 1835, and died December 21, 
1912. He was educated in Lowell public 
schools, then for three years was a clerk in 
Lowell stores. At the age of eighteen he 
began learning the bookbinder's trade with 
his brother's firm in Springfield, finishing 
his trade, August 22, 1856, and during the 
next few years he worked as a journey- 
man in Salem, Massachusetts, Columbus, 
Ohio, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Galesburg, 
Illinois, and Providence, Rhode Island, 
returning to Springfield in i860. He then 
became foreman in the bindery of Samuel 
Bowles & Company, remaining until 
April, 1866, when he became a member 
of the firm, Brigham & Tapley, manu- 
facturers of cardboard and linen finish 
collar papers. That firm dissolved in one 
year, Mr. Tapley continuing the business 
alone until the spring of 1882, when he 
was joined by V. M. Taylor, they trading 
as the Taylor & Tapley Manufacturing 
Company. In 1885 the company was 
merged with the United Manufacturing 
Company, of which Mr. Tapley was pres- 
ident. In 1878 he bought, at assignee's 
sale, the Milton Bradley Company, of 
which he also was president. Other busi- 



ness interests were with the Baptist 
Mutual Relief Association, as president; 
Springfield National Bank, as director; 
and the Fiberloid Company of Indian Or- 
chard, Massachusetts. Mr. Tapley was a 
Republican in politics, and served as coun- 
cilman in 1870; alderman, 1879-80-84-86; 
and representative in 1902-03. He was a 
member of the State Street Baptist 

Mr. Tapley married (first), November 

19, i860, Mary Elizabeth Wells, born in 
Providence, Rhode Island, February 2, 

1838, who traced her descent to ancient 
Colonial families, and to Stephen Hop- 
kins, a signer of the Declaration of Inde- 
pendence. She died in Springfield, March 

20, 1869, leaving an only son, William W., 
see next paragraph. He married (sec- 
ond), in June, 1872, Hannah Sheffield, 
born in Pawcatuck, Connecticut, June 24, 

1839, daughter of Francis Sheffield. 
(VIII) William W. Tapley, son of 

George Wendall and Mary Elizabeth 
(Wells) Tapley, was born in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, August 8, 1867, and there 
was educated in the public schools. His 
first employment was as office boy with 
the Milton Bradley Company, manufac- 
turers of toys, kindergarten goods and 
other articles, he beginning September 14, 
1885. Mr. Bradley, noting that he took a 
greater interest in the school appliances 
than anything else, developed the lad 
along that line. Later he sent him out 
to nearby towns where educational meet- 
ings and teachers institutes were being 
held, and had him exhibit and demon- 
strate the school specialties the Brad- 
ley Company were offering. From the 
experience and information gained at 
these gatherings, the young man became 
convinced that a profitable business could 
be built up exclusively with teachers and 
school officials, and he advanced his ideas 
to Mr. Bradley and suggested that a sales- 
man be put on to build up the proposed 

department. This was such a radical de- 
parture from the company's plan of doing 
business that it found little favor with 
Mr. Bradley, but finally he agreed to let 
Mr. Tapley make the experiment with 
the understanding that if a profit did not 
result within a specified time it should 
be abandoned. 

Mr. Tapley, representing the educa- 
tional department of the Milton Bradley 
Company, soon started on his first trip for 
the new department, and visited the 
school boards of the principal cities of 
Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Connec- 
ticut. The results of his trip were so sat- 
isfactory that the position of traveling 
salesman for that department became per- 
manent, and other salesmen were sent out 
and the sales of the Bradley school sup- 
plies were wonderfully increased. Agen- 
cies were established in New York, Bos- 
ton, Philadelphia, Atlanta and San Fran- 
cisco. In 1893 Mr. Tapley was made man- 
ager of the educational department, and in 
1896 was elected a director of the com- 
pany. He was appointed assistant treas- 
urer in 1896, and in 1904 general man- 
ager of the Milton Bradley Company. He 
was elected treasurer in 1907, and in 1913 
succeeded to the presidency of the com- 
pany. He has now been associated with 
the company thirty-four years, 1885-1920, 
and has risen from office boy to president. 
In addition to his responsibilities as presi- 
dent, treasurer and director of the Mil- 
ton Bradley Company, he is president of 
the Cape Fish Products Company, of 
Provincetown, Massachusetts ; vice-pres- 
ident of the United Manufacturing Com- 
pany ; director of the Fiberloid Company, 
of Indian Orchard, the Union Trust Com- 
pany, and the Thomas Charles Company 
of Chicago, and the Springfield Hospital. 

A Republican in politics, Mr. Tapley 
served his city as councilman, 1899-1900, 
and as alderman, 1901-1902. He is a mem- 
ber of Roswell Lee Lodge, Free and Ac- 



cepted Masons ; Springfield Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Springfield Council, Royal 
and Select Masters ; Springfield Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar; Melha Tem- 
ple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine; Hampden Lodge, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows; Spring- 
field Lodge, Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks; the Royal Arcanum. Mr. 
Tapley is a member of the Colony Club, 
the Nayasset Club, the Country Club, En- 
gineers Club of New York, member and 
ex-president of Winthrop Club and the 
Misquonicutt Club, He is also a mem- 
ber of the State Street Baptist Church, 
and the Sons of the American Revolution. 
Mr. Tapley married. May 20, 1891, Mary 
Evangeline Russell, born in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, February 14, 1868. Mr. 
and Mrs. Tapley are the parents of three 
daughters and a son: i. Miriam, born 
March 10, 1892; married, May 20, 1916, 
Donald M. Munroe, and has a daughter, 
Mary Munroe, born January 22, 1918, also 
a son, Kirk. 2. Beatrice, born September 
21, 1894; married. May 19, 1917, John S. 
Norton, and has a daughter, Jean Nor- 
ton, born November 29, 1918. 3. Mary 
Wells, born January 31, 1896; married, 
June 29, 1918, Harold P. Hubbard, and 
has one son, William Tapley. 4. Russell 
William, born July 23, 1899; enlisted in 
the ambulance service early in the World 
War, went overseas, served on the Ver- 
dun sector, and during one period of five 
weeks was so continuously in service that 
he never completely undressed for sleep, 
hardly seeing a bed ; he was discharged in 
November, 1917, receiving the French 
War Cross ; he is now residing at home. 

DENOON, Edward Marsden, 

Contracting Builder. 

This name is of Scotch origin, said to 
have been derived from that famous 

stream of Scotland, the river Doon. Ed- 
ward M. Denoon, of Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, is a grandson of James Denoon, 
whose father was born in Ayr, Scotland. 
James Denoon was born in Elgin, Scot- 
land, in 1805, and died in Three Rivers, 
Canada, in 1894. He served in the Brit- 
ish army in the famous "Black Watch" 
regiment which won fresh laurels in the 
recent World War. He attained rank in 
the army, and came to Canada, where he 
was in charge of the army barracks near 
Three Rivers. After a few years in Can- 
ada, he returned to Scotland, spending 
three years, but came again to Canada and 
resided at Three Rivers until his death. 
As a reward for his service he drew a 
pension from the English Government. 
He married (first) Margaret Ellen Scott, 
and they were the parents of three chil- 
dren : William A. ; Jessie, married John 
Greeg ; and George Edward, of further 
mention. He married (second) Katherine 
Campbell, and they were the parents of 
five children : Colin, Ellen, Katherine, 
Kenneth and James. 

George Edward Denoon, son of James 
and Margaret Ellen (Scott) Denoon, was 
born in Kingston, Upper Canada, August 
21, 1831, and died in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, January 28, 1916. He acquired 
a good education in Kingston school and 
at a boy's preparatory school in Quebec. 
He became a noted translator and teacher 
of French, being considered the best ex- 
ponent of pure Parisian French in his 
part of Canada. While in Scotland, where 
he spent three years, he became identi- 
fied with the silk industry, and on his re- 
turn to Canada he became silk buyer for 
the firm of Glover & Frye, of Montreal. 
He continued with that firm four years, 
then went to Hamilton, Ontario, there 
establishing in the dry goods business 
under his own name. He also operated 
a similar store at Petersboro, Ontario, 



continuing both stores from 1858 until 
1865. In 1865 he sold his mercantile in- 
terests in Canada and came to Boston, 
Massachusetts, where for three years he 
was silk buyer for the firm of Churchhill 
& Watson. In 1868 he located in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, entering the employ 
of Forbes & Smith, dry goods merchants. 
That firm later became Forbes & Wal- 
lace, and Mr. Denoon's services were re- 
tained as a silk buyer, holding that posi- 
tion for a period of forty years. His judg- 
ment on silks and his decisions were con- 
sidered authority. He retired about 1906 
from business cares, living retired during 
the last ten years of his life. From 1871 
until his death he was a member of Desoto 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, of Springfield. He was a man of 
strong character, highly respected by all 
who knew him. 

He married, August 10, 1857, Margaret 
Drysdale, born in Quebec, Canada, June 
10, 1836, died in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, January 26, 191 7, daughter of 
Thomas and Christian (Smiley) Drysdale. 
They were the parents of the following 
children : Margaret Katherine, who mar- 
ried William Alfred Babcock, of Boston, 
Mrs. Babcock a well-known lecturer on 
musical subjects, famous religious hymns, 
and illustrated lectures on Scotland ; 
Thomas; Christian, deceased; Rebecca; 
Edward Marsden, of further mention ; 
Josephine; James, married Marguerite 
McKay, of Portland, Oregon, and has two 
children, George and Edward M. Denoon. 

Edward Marsden Denoon, son of 
George Edward and Margaret (Drysdale) 
Denoon, was born in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, November 26, 1868. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools of Springfield, 
and began his business life as a messenger 
with the Western Union Telegraph Com- 
pany. Soon afterwards he left the West- 
ern Union for a position as cash boy with 

the firm of Forbes & Wallace, dry goods 
merchants. A little later he entered the 
employ of Barney & Berry's plant, and 
still later was a grocer's clerk. This 
brought him to the year 1883. His next 
move was to Butte, Montana, where he 
was in the employ of his elder brother, 
Thomas Denoon, who was proprietor of 
a wholesale and retail confectionery, fruit 
and tobacco business. He remained with 
his brother eighteen months, then went 
prospecting for a year. Finally, in 1887, 
he became a guide and messenger at Yel- 
lowstone Park. His business was the 
meeting of trains and the directing of tour- 
ists to the hotels and stage coaches. 

From the Yellowstone he drifted into 
railroad construction work as timekeeper, 
later as foreman of a construction gang 
on the Northern Pacific railroad, and was 
similarly employed on the Union Pacific 
and the Butte & Anaconda railroads. He 
continued in that line of work for about 
seven years. He again became a pros- 
pector in the Butte section and so con- 
tinued until 1896, when he returned to 
Springfield for a visit to his people, after 
which his plans were laid for a journey 
to Dawson in the Klondike. But instead 
of this, he remained in Springfield and be- 
came superintendent of construction for 
Robert D. Maynard, a contractor for the 
building of water works and sewers. He 
superintended the building of the Haver- 
hill, Westfield and Ware water works, 
and was similarly engaged in other 
towns, both with Robert D. Maynard, the 
Fred T. Ley Company, and the John S. 
Lane Construction Company, the last 
named of Meriden, Connecticut. He was 
later superintendent of work the govern- 
ment was carrying on at Watch Hill, 
Long Island. 

About the year 1903 he formed a part- 
nership with George W. Butler, and under 
the firm name of Denoon & Butler con- 



tracted road building, macadamizing and 
curbing. In 1906 he bought his partner's 
interest, and until 1910 was alone in the 
business. He then admitted John M. 
Dineen as a partner, and for two years 
they operated as E. M. Denoon & Com- 
pany. In 1912 that partnership was dis- 
solved, Mr. Denoon continuing the busi- 
ness alone. He manufactures artificial 
stone for sidewalks, garages, floors, etc., 
and built up a good contracting business 
along the lines named. 

Mr. Denoon married, June 10, 1903, 
Ruth Maynard, of Springfield, daughter 
of Judge Elisha Burr and Kate (Doty) 
Maynard, Mrs. Maynard being a descend- 
ant of Edward Doty, of the "Mayflower," 
whose line of ancestry appears in the fol- 
lowing sketch. 

Elisha Burr Maynard, third child and 
second son of Walter and Hannah (Burr) 
Maynard, (q. v.), and father of Mrs. Ed- 
ward M. Denoon, was born in Wilbra- 
ham, Hampden county, Massachusetts, 
November 21, 1842, died after a life of 
honor and usefulness, May 28, 1906. He 
attended Wilbraham schools until the re- 
moval of the parents to Springfield, in 
1855, and there he completed high school 
courses of study. Later, in speaking of 
this period of his life, he said : 

The steady work and my reliance upon myself 
to a great extent in obtaining my education in my 
judgment added much to my success in later 
years. When it was decided that I was to attend 
college, that being the special desire of my mother, 
it was arranged that I should work one-half of a 
day on the farm, the remainder of the day to be 
devoted to study preparatory to my entering col- 
lege. My instructor was Marcus P. Knowlton, 
later chief justice of the Supreme Court of Mas- 
sachusetts. I also taught country schools five 
winters during this period, and I taught night 
school three winters during my college course. 

The early friendship between Judge 
Knowlton and the young student was al- 
ways maintained. He finally entered 

Dartmouth College and was there gradu- 
ated A. B., class of 1867. He says "In my 
college education I helped so far as I 
could and beyond that my parents did all 
that they could to help me." After grad- 
uation from Dartmouth the young man 
began the study of law under the precep- 
torship of Stearns & Knowlton, of Spring- 
field, and in 1868 was admitted to prac- 
tice at the Hampden county bar. He then 
spent a year in American travel, part of 
that time being spent with a surveying 
party sent out by the Atchison, Topeka & 
Santa Fe Railroad Company. 

In 1869 Mr. Maynard began profes- 
sional practice in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, and in 1870 entered into a partner- 
ship with William L. Smith, then mayor 
of Springfield. That partnership was dis- 
solved in 1873, Mr. Maynard practicing 
alone until taking as a partner Hon. Fred- 
erick H. Gillett, who later was a member 
of Congress, now (1920) speaker of the 
House. That association continued until 
1879, when Mr. Gillett went to Boston as 
assistant attorney-general. In February, 
1884, Mr. Maynard formed a partnership 
with Charles E. Spellman, which con- 
tinued until June, 1891, when Mr. May- 
nard was appointed a justice of the Massa- 
chusetts Superior Court by Governor 
Russell. During the period from 1869 to 
1891, Judge Maynard had done a vast 
amount of study and reading along legal 
lines. He is on record as saying that aside 
from the books pertaining to his profes- 
sion those he found most helpful were in 
the order named, biography, history and 
classical English. He also took a deep 
interest in public affairs, and gave much 
time to the public service. In 1871, 1872, 
1875, a"d 1882 he was city solicitor, serv- 
ing under Mayors Stebbins and Ladd. 
He was a member of Common Council 
in 1872, 1873, and mayor of Springfield in 
1887 and 1888. In 1878 he served a term 



in the Massachusetts House of Repre- 
sentatives, and although against his 
wishes, was in 1890 a candidate for Con- 
gress. He thus came to the bench of the 
Superior Court, not only as a man of 
learning and experience in the law, but 
well informed on all questions of public 
policy and expediency. 

After taking his seat upon the bench, 
he did not withdraw from public service, 
but with admirable public spirit served in 
1892, 1893 and 1894 on the school com- 
mittee. He was ranked as a profound 
lawyer, was sound and well grounded in 
the law, and was a capable, excellent 
judge. His highest ambition was the met- 
ing out of exact justice. The jurors liked 
him, as did the lawyers who appeared be- 
fore him. He knew men and he knew 
human nature, and he came to fill a large 
place in community life and on the bench, 
and in all parts of the Commonwealth 
there was genuine regret when Judge 
Maynard's death was announced. His 
career was a most creditable and honor- 
able one. He was of an active and force- 
ful nature, and in the community ever had 
their best interest at heart, and his loss 
was genuinely mourned by all who knew 
him. In speaking to young men he said: 

I have tried in my social and professional life 
to be courteous to every one ; to do well whatever 
has been entrusted to my care ; to be honest and 
fair with whomever I have had to deal, my opponent 
as well as my clients. In my judgment a young 
man who starts out in life with a purpose to make 
the most of himself, to lead an upright life, to 
respect the rights and feelings of his fellowmen, 
and to be industrious along the line he has adopted 
for his work, will be sure of the confidence and 
support of his fellows and will round out a life 
of more than fair success. 

Judge Maynard was in 1867 and 1868 
a member of the City Guards, Company 
B, Second Regiment, Volunteer Militia of 
Massachusetts. He was a member of the 
lodge, chapter, and commandery of the 

Mass — 10 — 12 ] 

Masonic order, and his clubs the Win- 
throp, of Springfield, the University and 
Dartmouth, of Boston. He was a cor- 
porate member of Springfield Hospital, a 
trustee of The Old Men's Home, and a 
member of the Union Relief Association. 
Both he and his wife were members of 
Hope Church. In political faith, Judge 
Maynard was a Democrat and his elec- 
tion to the office of mayor of Springfield 
was an expression of public confidence. 
He made an excellent mayor, maintained 
cordial working relations with the Repub- 
lican city government, and during his ad- 
ministration the abolition of the Main 
street crossing at grade of the Boston & 
Albany railroad was decided upon. He 
was at one time nominated for Congress 
in the Democratic convention, and was 
defeated by only four votes. In 1889 and 
1890 he was the Democratic nominee for 
attorney-general of Massachusetts. 

Judge Maynard married (first) Kate 
Doty, born in Springfield, who died April 
4, 1889. He married (second), July 19, 
1893, Luella E. Fay, of Springfield, a for- 
mer teacher in the public schools, who 
died March 3, 191 7. Eight children, four 
died young, and the others were : Robert 
D., deceased ; Isabel ; Ruth, married Ed- 
ward Marsden Denoon (q. v.); William 

MAYNARD, Moses Andrew, 

Founder of Important Business. 

Moses Andrew Maynard, of Springfield, 
may review with satisfaction a long and 
uniformly successful business career, be- 
gun on his father's farm in Wilbraha:m, 
Massachusetts, in youth, and ending in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1914, in 
which year he retired from the manage- 
ment of the largest coal and wood busi- 
ness in the city, which he had established 
in 1880 with a single carload of coal. He 



was a natural trader and business man, 
and during his half century of active deal- 
ing was engaged in various lines of trade 
in different localities. Ambitious to have 
a business of his own, he became a land- 
owner while yet a minor, and from the 
proceeds of his first crop, grown on his 
own small tract, he bought a horse and 
began farming on a larger scale. From 
that time he steadily progressed, later 
abandoning the farm for commercial life. 
To business activities he added a deep 
interest in church affairs. Now approach- 
ing the year which makes his entrance 
into the rank of octogenarians, he is well 
preserved and active, rich in the regard 
of his many friends, and taking a keen 
interest in current affairs and in neighbor- 
hood life. 

(I) Mr. Maynard is of the seventh gen- 
eration of the family founded in New 
England by John Maynard, who was born 
in England, about 1610. He was a pro- 
prietor of Cambridge, Massachusetts, as 
early as 1634, and admitted, May 29, 1644, 
a freeman of Sudbury, Massachusetts, to 
which town he had moved in 1639. He 
was one of the forty-seven petitioners 
who divided the Sudbury meadows in 
1638. He was a malster by trade, but 
most of his life was engaged as a farmer, 
tilling his own acres. He died December 
10, 1672. His second wife was Mary (Ax- 
tell) Maynard, widow of Thomas Axtell, 
of Sudbury. In his will, he bequeathed to 
his wife Mary, sons John and Zachary, 
daughters, Elizabeth, wife of Joseph 
Graves, Lydia, wife of Joseph Moores, 
and Mary. He also had a daughter Han- 
nah, not mentioned in her father's will. 
Descent in this line is traced through the 
second son, Zachary. 

(II) Zachary Maynard, son of John 
and Mary Maynard, was born in Sudbury, 
Massachusetts, June 7, 1647, ^^^ there 

died in 1724. He married, in 1678, Han- 
nah Goodrich, who died in 1719, daugh- 
ter of^ John Goodrich, of Wethersfield, 
Connecticut. Their ten children were all 
born in Sudbury: Zachariah, John, Han- 
nah, Jonathan, David, Mary, Elizabeth, 
Joseph, Moses, through whom descent is 
traced in this line ; and Abigail. 

(III) Moses Maynard, son of Zachary 
and Hannah (Goodrich) Maynard, was 
born in Sudbury, Massachusetts, in 1697, 
and died in his native town, March 26, 
1782. He married, March 18, 1723, Lois 
Stone, of Framingham, Massachusetts. 
They were the parents of nine children, 
all born in Sudbury: Hepsibah, Samuel, 
Moses (2), who settled in Rutland, where 
he gained the distinction of Rutland's 
"fattest man," weighing 451 pounds; Abi- 
gail, Lois, Captain Micah, Josiah, head 
of the next generation in this line ; Daniel, 
and Nathaniel. 

(IV) Josiah Maynard, son of Moses 
and Lois (Stone) Maynard, was born in 
Sudbury, Massachusetts, October 31, 1737. 
He married, December 17, 1758, Mary 
Noyes, and they were the parents of 
daughters, Lois and Mary, and of a son, 
Moses, who was always known as Moses, 
Jr., there being an older Moses Maynard 
in Sudbury. 

(V) Moses (2) Maynard, Jr., son of 
Josiah and Mary (Noyes) Maynard, was 
born in Sudbury, Massachusetts, April 4, 
1766, and there married, June 19, 1787, 
Elizabeth Haynes. They were the par- 
ents of ten children, all born in Sudbury: 
Mary, Noyes, Abigail, Betsey, Nancy, 
Susanna, Charlotte, Harriet, Julia Ann, 
and Walter. 

(VI) Walter Maynard, son of Moses 
(2), Jr., and Elizabeth (Haynes) May- 
nard, was born in Sudbury, Massachu- 
setts, January 23, 1813, and died in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, in July, 1886. He 



was educated in the public schools of Sud- 
bury, and there spent his youth, but in 
choosing a location for his own home, 
selected Wilbraham, where he lived until 
1855, a farmer and milk dealer. In that 
year he abandoned farming, moved to the 
city of Springfield, and there engaged in 
business as a milk dealer. He married 
Hannah Burr, born May 12, 1815, died in 
April, 1877, daughter of Elisha and Han- 
nah (Earned) Burr. They were the par- 
ents of eight children, all born in Wilbra- 
ham, Massachusetts: Julia, born Decem- 
ber 9, 1836, died in April, 1880; Moses 
Andrew, whose career is the inspiration 
of this review; Elisha Burr, an account 
of whom appears in the preceding sketch ; 
Mary, died young ; Adeline, born March 
6, 1846, died in 1892, unmarried ; Sarah, 
born in July, 1849, <ii^d aged sixteen 
years; Nellie, born May i, 1853, married, 
in 1882, William Henry Doty, son of Cal- 
vin P. and Sarah (Townsend) Doty; 
Kate, born February 26, 1856, married 
Rev. Andrew M. Wight, son of Aaron 
Wight, and who resided in Ogdensburg, 
but now (1920) in Syracuse, New York. 
They are the parents of four sons, Walter, 
David E., Sprague L. and Ralph M. 

(VII) Moses Andrew Maynard, eldest 
son of Walter and Hannah (Burr) May- 
nard, was born in Wilbraham, Massachu- 
setts, October 11, 1840, and there spent 
his youth. He obtained his education in 
the district school, later moved to Spring- 
field, where among his teachers was the 
well remembered Charles Barrows, After 
leaving school he was his father's assist- 
ant for five years in the dairy and milk 
business, which the former was conduct- 
ing in Springfield, where he had located 
in 1855. Having a strong liking for busi- 
ness, he left home and became a salesman 
for the remedies prepared and sold by Dr, 
Hooker, of Springfield. He was next a 

clerk in Boston for six months, then re- 
turned to Springfield, bought a small tract 
of land and upon this raised a crop of 
potatoes. The proceeds of this crop en- 
abled him to buy a horse and he was now 
able to raise a larger crop, the money 
from which was paid as the purchase 
price on twenty acres, and he later pur- 
chased eighty acres, making in all one 
hundred acres in the Hill district of 
Springfield, There he built a residence on 
the corner of Sherman and State streets, 
and continued his operations until 1866, 
when he opened a meat and provision 
market on State street. He conducted 
that market three years, his next business 
being the establishing of a lumber and 
coal business at Brighton Corners in 1870, 
his partner in this activity being W, W. 
Potter. In 1873, Mr. Maynard purchased 
his partner's interest in the business, and 
in 1874 admitted Frank Rice, and as May- 
nard & Rice they extended their business, 
building more coal pockets in Cambridge. 
In 1876, ill health compelled Mr. May- 
nard to retire from the firm, and for a 
time he gave himself up to the sole busi- 
ness of regaining his health. This object 
accomplished, he engaged in business in 
Meriden, Connecticut, dealing in hides 
and tallow until 1880, when he sold out 
and returned to Springfield. In the same 
year he established a coal and wood yard 
in Springfield in a very modest way, his 
coal stock consisting of one carload of 
one sized coal, his stock of wood corre- 
spondingly small. But he had an abund- 
ance of courage, energy, and ambition, 
and ere long the smallest business of its 
kind in Springfield became the largest. 
He himself was the main impelling force, 
neither influence or favoritism contribut- 
ing to Mr. Maynard's success in the busi- 
ness he founded, developed and operated 
for thirty-four years, 1880-1914. 

When a young man of eighteen years. 



Mr. Maynard was baptized into the com- 
munion of the Baptist church, and for 
sixty-one years he has continued an 
active, faithful, useful member of that 
church. In Springfield he was first a 
member of the First Baptist Church, but 
withdrew upon the organization of the 
Highland Baptist Church, of which he 
was a charter or original member, and 
long has been senior of the board of 
deacons. He served as chairman of the 
building committee of the first edifice 
erected by the congregation, and when 
that structure was destroyed by fire he 
was elected chairman of the building com- 
mittee which erected the present High- 
land Baptist Church. On March lo, 1885, 
he was elected a life member of the Amer- 
ican Baptist Home Mission Society, and 
in 1909 represented Highland Baptist 
Church at the anniversary of the North- 
ern Baptist Missionary Societies, held in 
Portland, Oregon. In politics he is a 
Democrat, deeply interested in public 
affairs, but as a citizen only, his tastes not 
being in sympathy with political office or 

Mr. Maynard married, April 8, 1863, 
Abigail B, Potter, born October 30, 1844, 
daughter of Philip P. and Bethiah 
(Walker) Potter. Two children were 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Maynard: Walter 
Preston, who died at the age of eleven 
months ; and Florence A., a graduate of 
Vassar College, married, January 26, 
1918, William O. Ashcroft. 

COURIER, George Alexis, 

Highly Useful Citizen. 

Joseph Currier, grandfather of George 
A. Courier, now living retired in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, was born September 
4, 1787, in Newburyport, Massachusetts. 
He was a descendant of Samuel Currier, 

who settled in Haverhill, Massachusetts, 
in 1665. Samuel Currier was a son of 
Richard Currier, who was born in Eng- 
land about 1616, came to New England, 
and was a planter and millwright of Salis- 
bury, Massachusetts. 

Joseph Currier, of the sixth American 
generation, changed his name to Courier. 
A few members of the family prefer to 
retain the original spelling of the name, 
but the majority of the descendants of 
Richard Currier have adopted the form 
Courier, Joseph Courier was a hatter by 
trade and had a small business of his own 
at Warehouse Point, Connecticut. He 
died January i, 1843, in Richland county, 
Illinois. He married, in Manchester, 
Connecticut, in September, 1810, Naomi 
Webster, of East Windsor, Connecticut, 
born December 6, 1781, died in Richland 
county, Illinois, October 7, 1845. They 
were the parents of seven children : Wil- 
liam, born August 4, 181 1; George, May 
4, 1813; Sophiah, January 21, 1815; John, 
May 20, 1816; Joseph, August 20, 1819; 
Alexis, of further mention ; Loretta A., 
May 4, 1824. 

Alexis Courier, youngest son of Joseph 
and Naomi (Webster) Courier, was born 
in East Windsor, Connecticut, May 4, 
1820, and died in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, June 13, 1899. After attending the 
district school, he was employed on a 
farm at Warehouse Point, Connecticut, 
by a Mr. Barnes for a time, but later he 
located in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
where he entered mercantile life as one of 
the firm of Hamilton, Lincoln & Com- 
pany, dealers in crockery, glassware, etc. 
Some years later he and a Mr. Alfred H. 
White continued the business under the 
firm name. White & Courier. Justus W. 
Grant, of Pittsfield, then purchased the 
business, and Mr. Courier remained with 
him for a time. Afterwards he was with 


..^C^-^ yC. ^U-y-ziJic 


Xewis MstoncaU'iilj. Co 


the firm of Livermore, Ball & Company, 
located at the corner of Main and Bridge 
streets, remaining there several years. 
His next employment was with Charles 
Hall, a dealer in crockery, with whom he 
remained twenty-seven years, retiring 
about eighteen months prior to his death. 
He had acquired some real estate hold- 
ings during his more than sixty years 
spent in Springfield. Quiet and retiring 
in nature, he was highly respected, and 
held the confidence of all who knew him. 
He was for many years a member of 
Trinity Methodist Episcopal Church, and 
for a time one of the board of trustees. 

Mr. Courier married, September 5, 1854, 
Julia C. Bancroft, of Harwinton, Connec- 
ticut, born October 2, 1829, died August 
22, 1916, daughter of Luman and Clarissa 
(Catlin) Bancroft. They were the par- 
ents of three sons : George Alexis, of fur- 
ther mention ; Robert Starr, born June 8, 
1863, died July 4, 1864; Everett M. C, 
born August 14, 1865, died April 16, 1875. 

George Alexis Courier, eldest son of 
Alexis and Julia C. (Bancroft) Courier, 
was born in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
March 3, 1856, and was there educated in 
the public schools, finishing in high 
school. After completing his studies, he 
became an assistant cashier of the dry 
goods house of McKnight, Norton & 
Howley, his next position being with the 
Bay State Paper Company as an assistant 
bookkeeper. After several years with the 
Bay State Paper Company he became 
paymaster for the Palmer Mills, at Three 
Rivers, in the town of Palmer ; then was 
bookkeeper for J. P. Franklin, in the Ful- 
ler building, Springfield. He also served 
Franklin & Taylor, and the Holyoke 
Card and Paper Company in the same 
capacity, remaining with the last-named 
company for two years. For a time he 
was connected with the school depart- 

ment of Springfield. He finally retired 
from active business in 1908. 

Mr. Courier is a member of Trinity 
Methodist Episcopal Church, is a mem- 
ber of the board of stewards and the 
church auditor. For a number of years 
he has been secretary of the Men's Bible 
Class. He is a member of the Travel Club 
of America, the headquarters of that 
organization being in New York City. In 
political faith he is a Republican. 

KIRKHAM, Albert Harleigh, 

Man of Varied Activities. 

The members of the Kirkham family 
can lay claim to a remote ancestry, trac- 
ing back to the year 1260 A. D., when 
Walter Kirkham, bishop of Durham, 
England, died. A member of this family 
built Kirkham Abbey in Yorkshire, Eng- 
land, the ruins of which still exist ; an- 
other member was master of ceremonies 
to the Queen ; another superintended the 
Queen's actors ; another wrote hymns for 
the Methodist hymn books ; and another, 
a resident of Connecticut, was the author 
of a grammar once very popular. The 
name, which signifies "church home" or 
"home by the church," has been spelled 
in early records: Kirkhame, Kirkam, 
Kirkum, Kircom, Kircum, and Kincornn. 

(I) Thomas Kirkham, immigrant an- 
cestor, a native of England, left his native 
land for the New World, being a resident 
of Wethersfield, Connecticut, in 1648, or 
earlier. He was given a house and lot. 
the latter containing three acres, for serv- 
ices rendered the town, and during the 
years 1648-49 filled the office of tax gath- 
erer, this statement testifying to his 
standing in the community. He died in 
1677 or earlier, as in December of that 
year the town gave to his widow "and 
her children, a small piece of land at the 



water side." In March, 1684, the town 
voted that the widow had not performed 
the condition of the grant, and declared 
that the title to the land stated to be "at 
the common" was forfeit to the town. 

(II) Thomas (2) Kirkham, son of Tho- 
mas (I) Kirkham, took an active interest 
in community affairs, filling various of- 
fices, among which were town shepherd 
and constable. In March, 1701-02, the 
town granted him four acres of land, his 
name at that time being spelled "Cark- 
ham." He married, March 24, 1684, Jane 

, who bore him three children : 

Ruth, born January 28, 1685; Samuel, 
died January 11, 1744; and Henry, of 
whom further. 

(III) Henry Kirkham, son of Thomas 
(2) and Jane Kirkham, was a resident of 
Wethersfield, Connecticut. Tradition 
states that he was an active participant 
in the French and Indian wars, also in 
the Revolutionary War, although at an 
advanced age, being present at the sur- 
render of General Burgoyne, and that his 
death at Saratoga, New York, was the 
result of camp fever. He and his wife 
were doubtless among the original mem- 
bers of the New Church, organized in 
1722. Mr. Kirkham married, December 
21, 1719, Martha Burr, daughter of Sam- 
uel Burr, of Hartford, Connecticut. Her 
death occurred June 2, 1759. Their chil- 
dren were : Samuel, born January i, 1721 ; 
Elijah, born November 24, 1722; Sarah, 
born February 15, 1726, died in Pittsfield, 
Massachusetts, March, 1818; Henry, of 
whom further; Nathaniel, born December 
II, 1730. 

(IV) Henry (2) Kirkham, third son of 
Henry (i) and Martha (Burr) Kirkham, 
was born in Wethersfield, Connecticut, 
August 30, 1728. He married (first), Oc- 
tober 31, 1757, Eunice Butler, who bore 
him two children : Samuel, baptized 
March 18, 1759; and John, of whom fur- 

ther. Henry Kirkham married (second), 
June 15, 1763, Mary Hurlbut, who bore 
him three children : Eunice, baptized 
May 20, 1764, became the wife of Simon 
Kilborn ; Abigail, baptized March 2, 1766; 
Sarah, baptized April 15, 1770, became 
the wife of Stephen Kellogg. 

(V) John Kirkham, youngest son of 
Henry (2) and Eunice (Butler) Kirkham, 
was born November 5, 1760, in Wethers- 
field, Connecticut, and died at his home 
in Newington, originally a part of Weth- 
ersfield, June 8, 181 5. At the age of six- 
teen years he enlisted, as a musician, in 
the Revolutionary War and served 
throughout the entire period, being known 
as Fifer John Kirkham. He was wounded 
at the battle of Monmouth, New Jersey, 
and upon his discharge from the service 
walked from Newburgh, New York, to his 
home, although lame from the effects of 
his wound. The following is his record 
in "The Record of Connecticut Men in 
the Military and Naval Service During 
the War of the Revolution :" "John Kir- 
cum residence Wethersfield, Captain 
Walker's company, enlisted July 21, 1778, 
for a term of three years ; and was dis- 
charged as fife major November 14, 1781." 
"John Kircum, fife major, Captain Bulke- 
ley's company, was paid from January i, 
1781, to November 14, 1781 ; November 
14, 1781, to December 31, 1781." "John 
Kircum, fife, Captain Elijah Wright's 
company ; (company arrived in camp June 
29, 1778)." He married, June 28, 1785, 
Jeannette Stoddard, born August 29, 1767, 
died June 8, 1818, daughter of Captain 
Jonathan Stoddard, a Revolutionary ofifi- 
cer. Their children were : Henry, born 
March 28, 1786; William, born March 29, 
1788; John Butler, of whom further; 
Jeanette, born December 16, 1795 ; Lucy, 
born November 24, 1800. 

(VI) John Butler Kirkham, third son 
of John and Jeannette (Stoddard) Kirk- 



ham, was born November 20, 1791, in 
Wethersfield, Connecticut. He obtained 
a practical education in the schools ad- 
jacent to his home. During the War of 
1812, for a portion of the time, he was an 
employee in the United States Armory in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, and later 
went to Vergennes, Vermont, to take 
charge of the small arms belonging to 
the government. He then entered the 
service of the Terre Haute & Alton Rail- 
road Company, in the capacity of pay- 
master, serving during the period of the 
road's construction, his duties being faith- 
fully and conscientiously performed. He 
was actively interested in public affairs, 
and was chosen by his fellow-citizens to 
fill the offices of selectman, assessor, col- 
lector, and school committeeman. He 
was affiliated with Hampden Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of which he was 
master; Morning Star Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons, of which he was high 
priest; Springfield Council, Royal and 
Select Masters, of which he was thrice 
illustrious master ; Springfield Command- 
ery, Knights Templar, of which he was 
eminent Commander. Mr. Kirkham mar- 
ried, December 13, 1818, Betsey Wilson, 
a native of West Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, born January 30, 1791, died April 
12, 1881, daughter of Martin Wilson, of 
Agawam, Massachusetts. Children of 
Mr. and Mrs. Kirkham: Jeannette Stod- 
dard, born July 18, 1819, died in Novem- 
ber, 1855 ; Ralph Wilson, born, February 
20, 182 1, graduate of West Point, colonel 
in the Mexican War, general in the reg- 
ular army, died in Oakland, California ; 
Frances, born May 8, 1823, died in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, December 26, 1892; 
Albert Harleigh, of whom further; Jane 
Grey, born September 22, 1828, died June 
22, 1869. The father of these children 
died in Springfield, Massachusetts, Au- 
gust II, 1857. 

(VII) Albert Harleigh Kirkham, sec- 
ond son of John Butler and Betsey (Wil- 
son) Kirkham, was born in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, November 11, 1825. The 
public schools of Springfield, including 
the high school, afforded him the means 
of obtaining an excellent education, and 
this he intended at first to supplement 
with a college career, but later changed 
his mind and turned his attention to 
learning a trade, choosing that of jewelry, 
and for this purpose entered the employ 
of Horace Goodwin, Jr., a jeweler of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. Later he entered into 
partnership with James Kirkham, his 
brother-in-law, in the jewelry business, 
but his health becoming impaired, he was 
compelled to dissolve this connection at 
the expiration of a year. His next busi- 
ness enterprise was in an entirely differ- 
ent line, that of furniture, in which he 
entered into partnership with Robert 
Crossett, their store, which was one of 
the most extensive in the city, being lo- 
cated on the corner of Bliss and Main 
streets. In 185 1 he purchased the inter- 
est of his partner and conducted the busi- 
ness alone for three years, then sold out. 
In 1855 he entered the employ of the 
government, securing a position in the 
United States Armory at Springfield, then 
under the direction of Lieutenant, after- 
ward Colonel James C. Benton. In the 
following year, 1856, shortly after the in- 
corporation of Davenport, Iowa, Mr. 
Kirkham went there and engaged in the 
lumber business. During his stay there 
the bridge across the Mississippi river 
was built, causing great excitement, three 
attempts being made to burn this sup- 
posed obstruction to navigation. At the 
expiration of three years, Mr. Kirkham 
returned to Springfield and again entered 
the Armory, continuing his services there 
until the outbreak of the Civil War, when 
he was appointed government inspector 



of small arms that were being made for 
the government under contract at Chico- 
pee Falls, Hartford, and New York. He 
retained that position until February, 
1863, when he was appointed assistant 
foreman in the Armory. The demand for 
arms was so great that it became neces- 
sary to keep the shops in operation day 
and night, and the work was so heavy a 
burden for Mr. Kirkham that he was 
obliged to resign his position in Decem- 
ber, 1867. In 1880, having recuperated 
from the strain, he accepted a position in 
the Census Bureau, and the following 
year was appointed a member of the 
Board of Assessors, which position he 
held for eight years, during five of these 
serving as chairman. During the years 
1890-91, he was collector of statistics of 
Springfield manufacturers for the Census 
Bureau. In all these varied occupations, 
he displayed good business judgment and 
ability, and was faithful and conscientious 
in the performance of his tasks. He was 
a member of Hampden Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, of Springfield ; of 
Morning Star Chapter, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons, of which he was first high priest; 
Springfield Council, Royal and Select 
Masters, of which he was thrice illus- 
trious master; Springfield Commandery, 
Knights Templar, of which he was emi- 
nent commander; and at the time of his 
death was the oldest past commander. 
He was also deputy grand high priest of 
the Grand Chapter of Massachusetts. He 
was an active member of the South Con- 
gregational Church, serving in the capac- 
ity of deacon for many years, being dea- 
con emeritus at the time of his death. He 
served as superintendent of the Sunday 
school connected therewith, and for sev- 
eral years superintended the Hope Chapel 
Sunday school before that mission was 
organized into a church. He was a char- 
ter member of the George Washington 

Chapter, Sons of the American Revolu- 
tion, of which he was president at one 
time. For many years he was a member 
of the Connecticut Valley Congregational 
Club, a member of the Connecticut Val- 
ley Historical Society, of which he was 
corresponding secretary for five years, 
and a member of the Winthrop Club, 
formerly known as the Rod and Gun Club. 
Mr. Kirkham married, June 3, 1850, in 
Springfield, Elizabeth Ann Trask, born in 
Stafford, Connecticut, September 18, 1830, 
died in Springfield, April i, 1892. She 
was a daughter of Lauren and Hannah 
(Moulton) Trask (the former one of the 
earliest iron founders of Springfield), and 
niece of former Lieutenant-Governor Eli- 
phalet Trask. Mr. and Mrs. Kirkham 
were the parents of the following chil- 
dren : Mary Jane, born June 23, 1851, 
died September 19, 185 1 ; John Stuart, of 
whom further ; Ralph Wilson, born June 
10, 1854, who served as assistant secre- 
tary of the Consolidated Car-heating 
Company of Albany, and now resides in 
Washington, D. C. ; Jane Grey, born June 
10, 1871, died February 4, 1879. Albert 
H. Kirkham died in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, December 12, 1908. 

KIRKHAM, John Stuart, 

Public-Spirited Citizen. 

John Stuart Kirkham, eldest son of 
Albert Harleigh and Elizabeth Ann 
(Trask) Kirkham (q. v.), was born in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, August 24, 
1852. The public schools of Springfield 
afforded him the means of obtaining a 
practical education, he being a regular 
attendant until he reached the age of 
sixteen, when he began his active busi- 
ness career. His first position was with 
the firm of Lee & Baker, carriage and 
saddlery hardware merchants, he filling 
the position of clerk and bookkeeper at 




the solicitation of Mr. Henry K. Baker, 
who made a verbal contract with him for 
three years, agreeing to pay him $150 for 
the first year, 300 for the second year, and 
$500 for the third year. The fact that 
this contract "by word of mouth" was 
kept by both parties for the entire three 
years is an indication of the sterling busi- 
ness integrity of both parties. For seven 
years he retained that position, and then 
became bookkeeper for the Hampden 
Paint and Chemical Company, this con- 
nection continuing for nearly five years. 
His next employers were W. L. Wilcox 
& Company, a large stove concern in 
Springfield, he acting in the capacity of 
clerk until the retirement of the firm from 
business, owing to the failing health of 
Mr. Wilcox. Mr. Kirkham then decided 
to leave the ranks of the employed and to 
become an employer, and accordingly en- 
tered into business relations with George 
R. Estabrook, under the firm name of 
Kirkham & Estabrook. They purchased 
the business of W. L. Wilcox & Com- 
pany, which they conducted successfully 
for about three years, at the end of which 
time they dissolved partnership by mu- 
tual consent, Mr. Kirkham disposing of 
his interest to Mr. Estabrook. 

He then entered into business relations 
with E. C. Hazen, purchasing the busi- 
ness of Wilson & Patterson, who were 
engaged in the same line of trade, their 
store located on State street, Springfield. 
Under the firm name of Kirkham & 
Hazen they continued in business until 
1893, success attending their efforts. In 
1893 they consolidated with C. S. Whit- 
comb, under the name Whitcomb, Kirk- 
ham & Hazen, and conducted an exten- 
sive business at No. 140 State street. The 
business subsequently changed hands, 
and Mr. Kirkham retired from active 
business pursuits in the year 1910. Since 
then he has given considerable time and 

attention to public matters, his counsel 
and advice being valued as prudent and 
progressive. For the past two years and 
at the present time (1921) he is serving 
in the capacity of overseer of the poor of 
Springfield. He has always taken an 
active interest in the work of the South 
Congregational Church, holding various 
official positions, and discharging his 
duties with ability and faithfulness. He 
is a member of Union Relief of Spring- 
field ; of the Board of Rescue Mission ; 
Connecticut Valley Congregational Club ; 
Connecticut Valley Historical Society ; 
George Washington Chapter, Sons of the 
American Revolution ; the Winthrop 
Club ; and the Colony Club, of which he 
is a charter member. He has attained 
prominence in the Masonic order, in 
which he has always been very active, 
and is affiliated with all the Scottish Rite 
bodies up to and including the thirty- 
second degree ; Hampden Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; Morning Star 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Springfield 
Council, Royal and Select Masters ; 
Springfield Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar ; Connecticut Valley Consistory, Sub- 
lime Princes of the Royal Secret ; and 
Melha Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is serv- 
ing as treasurer of the Masonic Hall As- 
sociation, and in 1921 he became a charter 
member of Samuel Osgood Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, formed that year. 
Mr. Kirkham married, in Springfield, 
June 15, 1880, Emma Lillian Wilcox, 
born in Springfield, October 12, 1857, 
daughter of William Linus and Emily 
Hatch (Collins) Wilcox, and a descend- 
ant of a family that can trace its ancestry 
in this country back to the seventeenth 
century (see following sketch). Mrs. 
Kirkham died in Springfield, October 2, 
1920. She was a woman of culture and 
refinement, and endeared herself to a wide 



circle of friends and acquaintances. She 
was actively engaged in the work of the 
Hampden County Children's Aid Associa- 
tion ; was made a member of the board of 
managers in 1880; became treasurer in 
1889; and served continuously until her 
death, a period of thirty-one years. She 
devoted considerable time, thought and 
attention to the work of the South Con- 
gregational Church, in which she held 
membership, and she was a charter mem- 
ber of Mercy Warren Chapter, Daugh- 
ters of the American Revolution. Her 
life was one of usefulness and activity, 
and her demise was sincerely regretted. 

WILCOX, William Linus, 
Business Man. 

The family of Wilcox is of very early 
Saxon origin, tracing its ancestry back 
to the period before the Norman Con- 
quest. When William the Conqueror 
brought his Norman hosts across the 
Channel in 1066, the Wilcox family had 
long been seated at Bury St. Edmunds, 
in the County of Suffolk, England, and 
Sir John Dugdale, in his visitation of the 
County of Suffolk, mentions fifteen gen- 
erations of this family previous to 1600. 
In the reign of King Edward III, Sir John 
Wilcox led important commands against 
the French, and had command of the 
crossbowmen from Norfolk, Suffolk, and 
Essex. John William Wilcox, of Bury 
Priory in Suffolk, an eminent Queen's 
counsel some fifty years ago, was of this 
family. William Wilcox, chosen lieuten- 
ant-governor in the early days of the 
Massachusetts Colony, was the first of the 
name who is recorded on the list of early 
Colonial officers. 

(I) John Wilcox was an original pro- 
prietor of Hartford, Connecticut, in 1639. 
He was surveyor of highways in 1642 and 
1644; juror in 1645; called senior in 1648; 

and selectman in 1649. He died before 
October, 1666, when his wife made her 
will. He had three children : John, of 
whom further ; Ann ; and another. 

(II) John (2) Wilcox, son of John (i) 
Wilcox, was born in England, and prob- 
ably came to America with his father. 
He was four times married, and after his 
second marriage removed to Middletown. 
He died May 24, 1676, and the court 
ordered distribution of his estate, March 
I, 1677. He married (first), September 
17, 1646, Sarah Wadsworth, daughter of 
William Wadsworth. To this marriage 
was born one child, Sarah. He married 
(second), January 18, 1650, Catherine 
Stoughton. To this marriage were born : 
John, Thomas, Mary, Israel, of further 
mention ; and Samuel. He married 
(third) Mary Farnsworth, widow of John 
Farnsworth, of Dorchester, and before 
that, widow of a Mr. Long who died in 
1671. No children were born to this 
marriage. He married (fourth) Esther 
Cornwell, daughter of William Cornwell, 
and to this marriage were born : Ephraim, 
Esther, and Mary. 

(HI) Israel Wilcox, third son of John 
(2) and Catherine (Stoughton) Wilcox, 
was born in Middletown, Massachusetts, 
June 19, 1656, died December 20. 1689. 
He married, March 28, 1678, Sarah Sav- 
age, daughter of John Savage, of Crom- 
well, Connecticut, born July 30, 1657, died 
February 8, 1724. Children: Israel, John, 
Samuel, of further mention ; Thomas, and 

(IV) Samuel Wilcox, third son of Is- 
rael and Sarah (Savage) Wilcox, was 
born in Middletown, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 26, 1685, died January 19, 1728. 
He married, March 3, 171 5, Hannah Sage, 
of Cromwell, born December 21, 1694. 
They had five children, among whom was 
Daniel, of further mention. 

(V) Daniel Wilcox, eldest child of 



Z&uis.Mistorica'l Jhib^ Co. 


Samuel and Hannah (Sage) Wilcox, was 
born December 31, 1715, died July 29, 
1789. He married, March 16, 1738, Sarah 
White, born April 22, 1716, died June 28, 
1807, daughter of Daniel and Alice 
(Cook) White. They had thirteen chil- 
dren. The sons were: Daniel, David, 
Stephen, of further mention ; Josiah, Sam- 
uel, Isaac, and Jacob. 

(VI) Stephen Wilcox, third son of 
Daniel and Sarah (White) Wilcox, was 
born October 29, 1746, died December 21, 
1843. He served in the Revolutionary 
War, and the records of Connecticut con- 
tain three entries of service of Stephen 
Wilcox. A company of detached militia 
to serve under command of Lieutenant- 
Colonel Nathan Gallup stationed at Fort 
Griswold, Groton, July 11, 1779, John 
Williams, captain, was made up of men 
from New Haven, Middlesex, and Hart- 
ford counties, and the name of Stephen 
Wilcox appears on this list. He mar- 
ried, January 30, 1771, Mary Kelsey, born 
in 1749, died in 1856, and they were the 
parents of five children, among whom was 
Stephen, of further mention. 

(VII) Stephen (2) Wilcox, son of 
Stephen (i) and Mary (Kelsey) Wilcox, 
was born July 30, 1775, died July 4, 1845. 
He married, October i, 1795, Lucy 
Plumb born May 28, 1777, died August 
26, 1856. Children : Sophronia, Philip, 
of further mention; Philo Franklin (Bible 
record says Philemon), and Henrietta. 

(VIII) Philip Wilcox, eldest son of 
Stephen (2) and Lucy (Plumb) Wilcox, 
was born in Berlin, Connecticut, Septem- 
ber 2, 1800, died in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, November 19, 1842. He was a 
stove machinist, and lived on Bliss street. 
He married, June 26, 1823, Eliza Parma- 
lee, who died January 12, 1847. Their 
children were : William Linus, of further 
mention ; Eliza Plumb, John Philip, and 
Henrietta Bailey. 

(IX) William Linus Wilcox, eldest 
child of Philip and Eliza (Parmalee) 
Wilcox, was born in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, January i, 1826, died in Spring- 
field, December 24, 1890. He resided in 
Springfield, where he was engaged in the 
stove business. He married, September 
8, 1852, Emily Hatch Collins, born De- 
cember 7, 1831, at Huntington, Massa- 
chusetts, died December 4, 1900, at 
Springfield. She was the daughter of 
Daniel and Emily (Hatch) Collins, of 
Huntington, Massachusetts. William 
Linus and Emily H. (Collins) Wilcox 
were the parents of one child, Emma Lil- 
lian, born October 12, 1857 ; married, June 
15, 1880, John Stuart Kirkham (see pre- 
ceding sketch). 

DOGGETT, Laurence Locke, Ph. D., 

Leader in Y. M. C. A. IVork. 

Dr. Laurence Locke Doggett, president 
of the Young Men's Christian Association 
College, Springfield, Massachusetts, is a 
descendant of an old and honored New 
England family, tracing in direct line to 
Thomas Doggett (the name spelled also 
with one "t" and at times with one "g"), 
born in England, 1607, came to New Eng- 
land in the "Mary Anne," of Yarmouth, 
England, and died in Marshfield, Massa- 
chusetts, 1692. He married (first) , 

who died in 1642. He married (second), 
in Weymouth, Massachusetts, 1643, Eliz- 
abeth (Humphrey) Fry, daughter of 
Jonas and Frances Humphrey, of Dorches- 
ter; she died in 1652. He married (third), 
1654, Joane Chillingsworth, widow of 
Thomas Chillingsworth ; she died in 1684. 
Children : John, of further mention ; Han- 
nah, born 1646; Sarah, born 1650; Samuel, 
born 1652 ; Rebecca, born 1655. 

(II) John Doggett, eldest son of 
Thomas Doggett, and only child of his 
first wife, was born in 1642, and died in 



1718. He spent the greater part of his 
life in Marshfield, Massachusetts, and 
town records show that he was interested 
in town affairs ; in 1684 he was surveyor 
of highways ; in the same year constable ; 
in 1701 grand juryman ; in 1708 again 
surveyor of highways. His will in Plym- 
outh Probate-4-120 was proved in 1718. 
He married (first) Persis Sprague, daugh- 
ter of William Sprague ; she died in 1684. 
He married (second) Mehetable Truant, 
daughter of Maurice Truant. He mar- 
ried (third), 1697, Rebecca Brown, widow 

of Isaac Brown, and daughter of 

Bailey; she died in 1731. Children: John, 
born 1674, died young; Thomas, of fur- 
ther mention; John, born 1678; Isaac, 
born 1692 ; Hannah, born 1693. 

(III) Thomas (2) Doggett, second son 
of John and Persis (Sprague) Doggett, 
was born in Marshfield, Massachusetts, 
1676, and died in same place, January 5, 
1736-37. He served as surveyor, consta- 
ble, and member of jury in Marshfield. 
He married (first) Experience Ford; she 
died 1728. He married (second), between 
the years 1728 and 1732, Sarah Phillips. 
The gravestones of Thomas and Experi- 
ence Doggett are in Cedar Grove Ceme- 
tery, Marshfield. Children: William, 
born 1699; John, born 1702; Persis, born 
1704; Thomas, of further mention; Sarah, 
born 1709; Experience, born 1714. 

(IV) Thomas (3) Doggett, third son 
of Thomas (2) and Experience (Ford) 
Doggett, was born in 1706, in Marshfield, 
Massachusetts, and died in Middleboro, 
same State, August 11, 1788. He married, 
1728, Joanna Fuller, a descendant of Sam- 
uel Fuller, of "Mayflower" fame. Chil- 
dren: John, born 1729; Thomas, born 
1731 ; Mark, born 1733; Jabez, born 1734; 
Seth, born 1736; Simeon, of further men- 
tion ; Experience, born 1740; Joanna, born 

(V) Simeon Doggett, sixth son of 
Thomas (3) and Joanna (Fuller) Dog- 
gett, was born in Marshfield, Massachu- 
setts, January 4, 1738, and died in Mid- 
dleboro, same State, in 1823. He served 
in the French and Indian War, as did also 
his brother, Jabez, and was a Loyalist 
during the Revolutionary War. He mar- 
ried, February 28, 1760, Abigail Pratt, 
daughter of David Pratt, born in North 
Carolina. Children: Thomas, born 1761 ; 
Elkanah, born 1762; Simeon, of further 
mention; Abigail, born 1775. 

(VI) Rev. Simeon (2) Doggett, third 
son of Simeon (i) and Abigail (Pratt) 
Doggett, was born March 6, 1765, and 
died in Raynham, Massachusetts, March 
20, 1852. He was graduated from Brown 
University, 1788, and then began the 
study of theology. In 1791 he served as 
tutor in Brown University, was licensed 
to preach in the Congregational church, 
1793; in 1796 became the first preceptor 
of Bristol Academy of Taunton, Massa- 
chusetts, and acted in the capacity of 
minister at Mendon, Massachusetts, from 
1815 to 1831. He married, October 29, 
1797, Nancy Fobes, daughter of Rev. 
Perez Fobes and his wife. Prudence 
(Wales) Fobes. Mr. Fobes was at one 
time president of Brown University. Chil- 
dren : John Locke, born 1798; Samuel 
Wales, of further mention ; Simeon, born 
1802; Prudence Wales, born 1804; Perez 
Fobes, born 1806; Theophilus Pipon, born 
1810; Abigail, born 1812; William Paley, 
born 1814. 

(VII) Samuel Wales Doggett, second 
son of Rev. Simeon (2) and Nancy 
(Fobes) Doggett, was born in Taunton, 
Massachusetts, July 9, 1800, and died in 
Mendon, Massachusetts, August 27, 1872. 
After completing his studies in the schools 
of the neighborhood, he took up the study 
of law, and began the practice of that pro- 


fession in Abbeville, South Carolina, in 
1822. Later he removed to Charlestown, 
same State, and there founded a seminary 
which he conducted for a number of years, 
and in 1838 returned to his native State, 
making- his home in Mendon, v^here he 
spent the remainder of his days. He mar- 
ried, in Charlestown, South Carolina, Har- 
riet Wotton, daughter of Captain James 
and Chloe (Campbell) Wotton. Children: 
Samuel Wales, born 1824; Julia Harriet, 
born 1827; Simeon Locke, of further men- 
tion; Malvina Campbell, born 1831 ; 
Theophilus Melancthon, born 1833; Nar- 
cissa Newton, born 1836; William Alfred, 
born 1839; Gertrude Glorvina, born 1841 ; 
Lawrence Bryant, born 1845. 

(VIII) Simeon Locke Doggett, second 
son of Samuel Wales and Harriet (Wot- 
ton) Doggett, was a lawyer, educator, and 
man of literary tastes, and lived for over 
fifty 3^ears in "Rose Cottage," a little 
house on the corner of Union and New 
streets in the town of Manchester, Iowa. 
For most of his life he was a justice of 
the peace, the official presiding over the 
lower court in Iowa. He was also town- 
ship clerk for many years. Nine times he 
was chosen mayor of the town, and for a 
longer time he served as president of the 
School Board. During his early years at 
Manchester, "Squire" Doggett and his 
wife conducted a select school which, be- 
fore the days of modern public education, 
trained many of the leaders of public life 
of that region. They contributed without 
stint to the cultural, religious and civic 
life of the growing community. Mrs. Dog- 
gett was a woman of social instincts, fond 
of being with people. Her executive abil- 
ity often put her in positions of leader- 
ship in church and social affairs. No one 
in the community could rally a larger fol- 
lowing for any good cause. In the East 
she had been a teacher and together for 

ten years they jointly followed this call- 

Simeon L. Doggett was born in Charles- 
ton, South Carolina, March 29, 1829. His 
father was at that time the head master 
of a private fitting school for young ladies 
of wealth and refinement drawn from the 
Southern States. Samuel Wales Doggett 
returned to Mendon, Massachusetts, his 
New England home, when Simeon L. was 
under eight years of age, but the boy all 
his life remembered much of his early sur- 
roundings and these recollections were 
engraved on his memory by oft recounted 
reminiscences in his new home. His 
mother, a sweet, talented. Southern lady 
with social gifts, was met with a cold 
reception from many neighbors of abol- 
itionist sentiments who looked with sus- 
picion on anyone from a slave State and 
in some cases with abhorrence on a wo- 
man, however gentle and refined, who 
had once owned negro servants. 

Samuel W. Doggett was a Democrat, 
a staunch Unionist and an anti-abolition- 
ist. His son, Simeon L., grew up imbued 
with the New England spirit, and was an 
ardent Republican, a strong Unionist and 
abolitionist. At twenty-three years of 
age, Simeon L. Doggett began the study 
of law in Judge Slocum's office in Worces- 
ter, and was later admitted to the bar. 
He was a thoughtful, studious young man 
with literary instincts, shy, with exalted 
ideals, an unusual intellect of great en- 
durance and reserve. He had a quiet, sly 
humor, and the secret love of appreciation 
often characteristic of sensitive natures. 
He was slender, of good height, dignified, 
and straight of figure, but never robust. 
He always wore a Prince Albert coat, a 
silk hat and kid gloves. This was a social 
crime on the frontier. The hoi polloi 
laughed at him, but feared him. He once 
fined a man ten dollars for contempt of 



court for the use of an insulting word. 
The court room was his own office. On 
one occasion a man turned the key, which 
had been accidentally left in the lock, 
much to the amusement of everybody. 
The "Squire," as he was always called, 
promptly turned the tables by having the 
man haled into court by the constable and 
fined for his audacity. He was a fine 
orator, of the classic, rhetorical style, and 
often spoke in the pulpit and on various 
public occasions. He never appeared 
without punctilious preparation. 

Simeon L. Doggett married, in Du- 
buque, Iowa, Mary Ann White. The first 
child, a boy, died at the age of two and a 
half years. He was named Henry Wot- 
ton Doggett after Sir Henry Wotton, the 
most distinguished member of his grand- 
mother's family. The next children were 
twins, Laurence Locke Doggett, Ph. D., 
educator and officer of the Young Men's 
Christian Association, and Mary Lizzee, 
who later became a talented pianist. 

(IX) Laurence Locke Doggett, son of 
Simeon Locke and Mary Ann (White) 
Doggett, was named for his father's 
brother, who though but a youth of 
eighteen had just laid down his life in An- 
dersonville prison. The Doggetts fought 
on both sides during the Civil War. Lieu- 
tenant Malanthon Doggett, an uncle of 
Laurence L. Doggett, was fatally shot 
through the neck at Shiloh. Aristedes 
and Simeon Fobes Doggett, both of Jack- 
sonville, Florida, and cousins of Simeon 
L. Doggett, of Manchester, fought through 
the entire Civil War on the Confederate 

Laurence L. Doggett was educated at 
home and in the public schools of Man- 
chester. He was the first boy under Prin- 
cipal Calvin Clark, later United States 
Senator from Wyoming, to complete the 
high school course. He graduated in 

1880, when he was fifteen years of age. 
There were four in the class. The follow- 
ing year was spent at the Manchester 
Academy, an educational institution which 
had a short-lived existence. It was now 
determined that Laurence L. should go 
to college, and that Mary Lizzee should 
have a musical education. The straight- 
ened family resources made this difficult, 
but the father and mother were willing 
to make any sacrifice. In the summer of 

1881, Laurence L. became a salesman in a 
dry goods store at three dollars per week, 
and later he found a position in another 
store at four dollars per week. The hours 
were 7 a. m. to 9 p. m., except on Satur- 
days, when they continued until ten or 
eleven, according to the season. By the 
summer of 1882 he had saved $150. One 
of his "bosses" ofifered to let him have a 
stock of goods if he would go to a West- 
ern town and open a store. A friend 
secured an opportunity for him to earn 
his board by waiting on table at Oberlin, 
and Laurence L. became a freshman at 
Oberlin College in the fall of 1882, when 
he was seventeen years old. He had 
eighty-seven dollars after paying for 
clothes and traveling expenses. College 
made a profound impression on a boy of 
seventeen who had never been away from 
home alone before in his life. Only two 
students were younger in the class of 
1886. In the 8o's Oberlin was dominantly 
religious. Modern education was begin- 
ning to assert itself, but the transition was 
not greatly in evidence. Greek, Latin and 
mathematics were the chief subjects. Only 
in the upper classes did the students get 
a moderate amount of science, psychology 
and history. There was one term in eco- 
nomics, which, though not rigorously 
taught, made a deep impression on Mr. 

Laurence L. Doggett united with the 



Second Congregational Church at the end 
of the freshman year, and became active 
in the Student Young Men's Christian As- 
sociation, becoming president of that 
organization. At the end of the senior 
year he decided to enter the theological 
seminary with a view to work in the 
foreign field. One year was spent at 
Oberlin Theological Seminary. After a 
summer in home missionary work at 
Wakefield, Michigan, Laurence L. became 
ill with typhoid fever. This illness con- 
tinued until after the middle of his second 
year in the seminary, and as funds were 
needed on his recovery, he accepted a 
position as assistant State Secretary of the 
Ohio Young Men's Christian Association. 
The headquarters were at Cleveland, and 
S. D. Gordon was State Secretary. Lau- 
rence L. received $800 per year and travel- 
ing expenses. The nine months spent in 
this service had a great influence over 
him, and under Mr. Gordon he received 
a careful training as an executive. His 
chief duties were raising money and re- 
organizing failing associations. 

In January, 1889, Laurence L. Doggett 
became a student at Union Theological 
Seminary, New York, and an assistant 
missionary in a city mission on Third 
avenue, near the Bowery. The nine 
months spent in New York were momen- 
tous in broadening his ideas of life and 
the needs of mankind. The books which 
had influenced him most were Henry 
Drummond's "Natural Law in the Spirit- 
ual World," Richard T. Ely's "Social 
Aspects of Christianity," and Strong's 
"Our Country." Several personalities 
were very important at this time. Lyman 
Abbot and Graham Taylor were among 
these — also a visit to the Student Young 
Men's Christian Association conference at 
Northfield in the summer of 1889. Lau- 
rence L. Doggett returned to Oberlin 

Seminary to enter the senior year in the 
fall of 1889, and graduated in May, 1890, 
with the degrees of B. D. and M. A. 

Home responsibilities made it neces- 
sary to abandon the idea of going to 
Shansi with the Oberlin group, most of 
whom were massacred later in the Boxer 
uprising. Mr. Doggett had come to be- 
lieve that the industrial revolution had 
made the city the dominant factor in 
American life, and that the most impor- 
tant element in the city population was 
its young men. He accordingly decided 
to accept a position with the Ohio State 
committee for field work under Mr. Gor- 
don. Two years were spent in this 

It had long been his desire to study 
abroad, and -in the summer of 1893 he was 
given a leave of absence to study in Ger- 
many. He became a student at the Uni- 
versity of Berlin in October, 1893. After 
a semester in Berlin and a brief visit to 
London, he matriculated in the spring at 
Leipzig University in the department of 
economics and sociology. 

During the summer of 1894 he returned 
to America and was married to Carolyn 
G. Durgin, daughter of Dr. DeWitt C. 
Durgin, president of Hillsdale College. 
Mr. and Mrs. Doggett arrived in Leipzig 
for the opening of the fall semester and 
both took courses in the university. Mrs. 
Doggett was a graduate of Oberlin and 
had received an M. A. degree from Wel- 
lesley. Mr. Doggett presented for his 
thesis at Leipzig, "A History of the 
Young Men's Christian Association," Vol. 
I, covering the years 1844-55. He came 
up for examination in August and re- 
ceived the degree of Ph. D. The second 
volume covering the years 1855-1861 has 
recently appeared. 

Upon returning to America. Dr. Dog- 
gett became state secretary of the Ohio 



Young Men's Christian Association, suc- 
ceeding Mr. Gordon, and in the summer 
of 1896 he accepted a call to become presi- 
dent of the International Young Men's 
Christian Association College at Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. This institution had 
forty-eight students, a net property of 
$100,000, a faculty of seven members, a 
two years' course of study, and no endow- 
ment. During the twenty-five years since, 
he has continued in this position. The 
course of study has been extended to four 
years, the institution put on a college 
basis, the resources increased to $1,000,- 
000, the student body to three hundred 
and fifteen, and the faculty to twenty- 
three members. 

The institution at Springfield has some 
unique features. It aims to preserve the 
highest ideals of the American college, 
giving four years to liberal study, and at 
the same time the preparation for a life 
of service either as a secretary or physical 
director. The college is devoted to the 
study of man — in body, mind and spirit, 
through the subjects of biology, psychol- 
ogy, sociology and religious education. 
In 1914 Dr. Doggett was given the deco- 
ration of the order of Orange-Nassau by 
the Netherlands Government. This was 
in recognition of the service of the col- 
lege in training Captain W, P. H. Van 
Blijenburgh for service as director of 
physical education in the Dutch army and 

Dr. Doggett has also written a "His- 
tory of the Boston Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association," and a "Life of Robert 
R. McBurney."' For a number of years 
he served as editor of the "Association 
Seminar," and for nine years principal 
of the Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion summer school at Silver Bay, Lake 
George, the school increasing from 
eighteen to over four hundred students. 

In 191 1, on the twenty-fifth anniversary 
of his graduation, he was granted the 
honorary degree of D. D. by Oberlin Col- 

Dr. and Mrs. Doggett have two chil- 
dren: I. Ruth Wedgewood, born 1896, 
was a graduate of Radcliffe, taught at 
Smith College, was a student at Oxford ; 
married. May 6, 1921, Clarence Kennedy, 
assistant professor of art and archeology 
in Smith College ; Mrs. Kennedy is a 
member of the economics department of 
the same college. 2. Clinton, a student at 
Boston University in the department of 
business administration. 

NASON, Albert Davis, 

Civil "War Veteran, Manufacturer. 

Faithfulness to duty and strict adher- 
ence to a fixed purpose in life will do more 
to advance a man's interests than wealth 
or advantageous circumstances. Success- 
ful men are they who plan their own 
advancement and accomplish it in spite 
of many obstacles which they over- 
come through their own efforts. Of this 
class was Albert Davis Nason, deceased, 
whose labors during his lifetime resulted 
not alone in his individual prosperity, but 
were far-reaching in their valuable influ- 
ence and public aid. 

(I) Richard Nason, pioneer ancestor of 
this branch of the Nason family, came to 
this country from Rainsford Island, Eng- 
land, in the year 1649, ^^^ located in Kit- 
tery, Maine, of which he was one of the 
founders, that town then embracing what 
is now South Berwick. His brothers, Jo- 
seph, John and Benjamin, also settled in 
Kittery, and from these four brothers de- 
scend many of the name who have made 
their homes in the various states of the 
New England States, and to some extent 
over the length and breadth of the United 



States. His wife bore him several chil- 
dren, one of whom was Benjamin, of 
whom further. Richard Nason was killed 
by the Indians about the year 1675. 

(II) Benjamin Nason, son of Richard 
Nason, was born in Kittery, Maine, was 
an active man of affairs, and was esteemed 
in the community. He married Martha 
Kinny, who bore him several children, one 
of whom was Willoughby, of whom 

(III) Willoughby Nason, son of Ben- 
jamin and Martha (Kinny) Nason, was 
born in Kittery, Maine, from whence he 
removed to Ipswich, Essex county, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1712, and there spent the 
remainder of his days, his death occurring 
there, November 17, 1724. He married 

Ruth , of Ipswich, who bore him 

several children, one of whom was 
Thomas, of whom further. 

(IV) Thomas Nason, son of Wil- 
loughby and Ruth Nason, was born 

in Ipswich, Massachusetts, there resided 
until the year 1740, when he removed to 
Walpole, Norfolk county, Massachusetts, 
and resided there until his death. He 
married (first) Sarah Perkins, of Ipswich, 

and (second) Campernell. The 

line is continued through his son Wil- 
loughby, of whom further. 

(V) Willoughby (2) Nason, son of 
Thomas Nason, was born in Walpole, 
Massachusetts, February i, 1750, and died 
in Walpole, Massachusetts, April 9, 1838, 
to which place he removed subsequent to 
his marriage. He was an active partici- 
pant in the Revolutionary War, and was 
also actively interested in all that per- 
tained to the communities in which he 
resided. He married Mary Bardin, of 
Walpole, and the next in line was their 
son, Jesse, of whom further. 

(VI) Jesse Nason, son of Willoughby 
(2) and Mary (Bardin) Nason, was born 
in Walpole, Massachusetts, February 27, 

Mass — 10 — 13 193 

1776. He served an apprenticeship at the 
trades of carpenter and builder, which 
lines he followed successfully in the town 
of Franklin, to which town he moved after 
his marriage, and there ranked among the 
progressive business men. He died there. 
May 24, 1845. He married, at Franklin, 
Massachusetts, Hannah Clark, born in 
1776, died December 2"], 1856, in Franklin. 
The next in line of descent is George 
Warren, of whom further. 

(VII) George Warren Nason, son of 
Jesse and Hannah (Clark) Nason, was 
born in Franklin, Massachusetts, January 
II, 1806, the year when the British em- 
bargo began the restriction of American 
commerce, and died there, November 9, 
1868. After completing his studies in the 
common schools, he engaged in an active 
business career, conducting a general 
country store in his native town for more 
than four decades, and in addition was 
active in public affairs, being twice 
elected member of the State Legislature, 
and for over thirty years filled important 
town and county offices. He was an early 
member of the Congregational church, 
was noted for his public spirit and phil- 
anthropies, was largely instrumental in 
securing the location of the first railroad 
through Franklin, and his death was sin- 
cerely regretted by all who knew him, the 
county newspapers having the following 
to say about him : "No man in Norfolk 
county will be missed more than Mr. 
Nason." He married Peacey Borden 
Cook, of Fall River, Massachusetts, born 
February 17, 1803, died November 5, 1886, 
having survived her husband eighteen 
years. She was a descendant of the Cook, 
Borden and Durfee families of that sec- 
tion of Massachusetts, the members being 
engaged in the whaling and merchant 
marine service, which was so large a fac- 
tor in the building of the present cities 
of New Bedford and Fall River. Mr. and 


Mrs. Nason were the parents of six sons, 
namely : William Emerson, George War- 
ren, Jr., James Henry, Jesse Leonard, Al- 
bert Davis, of whom further; and Pres- 
ton Clark, four of whom were volunteers 
in the Civil War, a creditable record. 

(VIII) Albert Davis Nason, fifth son 
of George Warren and Peacey Borden 
(Cook) Nason, was born in Franklin, 
Massachusetts, July 13, 1841, and died in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, November 12, 
1903. He was a student in the schools of 
his native town, after which he assisted 
his father in the conduct of his business 
until the year 1862, the second year of the 
Civil War, when he enlisted in Company 
C, Forty-fifth Regiment, Massachusetts 
Volunteers (Independent Cadet Corps). 
His company was stationed for garrison 
duty at Morehead City, North Carolina, 
where he served as commissary of the 
post, and he also served on detached com- 
missary duty under his brother, Colonel 
George Warren Nason, Jr., at Newberne, 
North Carolina. Upon the expiration of 
his term of service, he returned to his na- 
tive city, Franklin, there remaining until 
January, 1864, when he returned to New- 
bern, North Carolina, intending to enter 
the civil service of the United States Gov- 
ernment, but failing in this plan, engaged 
in the wholesale business there, continu- 
ing in that line of work from February, 
1864, to June, 1866, in the summer of the 
latter named year returning to his native 
State, engaging in a manufacturing busi- 
ness in Walpole and Boston in 1867, and 
continued until his place of business was 
destroyed in the fire that devastated a 
large section of Boston on November 9, 
1872. He then located in New York City, 
where he engaged in the manufacture of 
corsets, organizing with a partner, the Bay 
State Corset Company, November i, 1885, 
their factory being at West Brookfield, 
Massachusetts, and their headquarters 

and sales office in New York City. Their 
business increased to such an extent that 
they were obliged to increase their facili- 
ties to correspond with it, and accordingly 
established another factory in Springfield, 
in February, 1886, and in the fall of that 
year they removed thither from New York 
City. In July, 1890, the Bay State Cor- 
set Company was incorporated with a cap- 
ital of $100,000, and Mr. Nason was 
elected its first treasurer. Four years 
later, 1894, he was made president and 
general manager of the company, giving 
his personal supervision to the details of 
the trade, which was the largest of its 
kind in the State, the wonderful success 
achieved by the company being largely 
due to the wisdom and sagacity displayed 
by Mr. Nason in its management. He 
also served in the capacity of director of 
the Springfield Safe Deposit and Trust 
Company, and the Springfield Board of 
Trade, of which he was one of the found- 
ers, and also president. He joined Revere 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Boston, in 1872, and later was a charter 
member of Springfield Lodge, same order; 
was a member and first vice-president of 
the Nayasset Club, which he was instru- 
mental in founding; member of the Win- 
throp Club, and in 1878 became a member 
of the Union League Club in New York 

Mr. Nason married, in Newberne, North 
Carolina, in January, 1865, Anna Frances 
Gay, a native of Franklin, Massachusetts, 
daughter of Wilkes Gay, of New York 
City, and great-granddaughter, on the 
maternal side, of the late Hon. Major 
Davis Thayer, of Franklin. Mr. and Mrs. 
Nason had two children born to them, as 
follows: I. Mabel Frances, born Decem- 
ber 9, 1866; married (first) George Nye, 
Jr., of Springfield, who died in April, 
1907, and they were the parents of one 
child, Robert Nason Nye, born June 3, 



1892, married, September, 1917, Katharine 
Lincoln, and they are the parents of one 
child, Nancy Nye, born June 6, 1919. 
Mrs. Nye married (second), 1914, Charles 
C. Wilder, of Springfield. 2. Albert War- 
ren, see next paragraph. 

(IX) Albert Warren Nason, only son 
of Albert Davis and Anna Frances (Gay) 
Nason, was born in Franklin, Massachu- 
setts, January 30, 1876. He attended a 
private school in his native town, where 
he acquired a practical education, and the 
knowledge thus gained was supplemented 
by attendance at the public schools of 
Springfield for two years, at St. Mark's 
School, which he attended for a short 
time, and at Williams College, where he 
was a student for two years, and from 
which he graduated. For a short time 
after his graduation, he was employed in 
his father's office in Springfield, then went 
to Bordentown, New Jersey, where he was 
connected with the Springfield Worsted 
Mills. From there he removed to Cam- 
den. New Jersey, where he resided until 
the death of his father in 1903, when he 
returned to Springfield and in that city 
has since made his home. For a number 
of years he conducted a brokerage busi- 
ness in Springfield, but since 1915 he has 
been retired. He is a Republican in pol- 
itics, a Protestant in religion, and a mem- 
ber of the Colony Club, the Springfield 
Country Club, and the Alpha Delta Phi 
fraternity of Williams College. 

Mr. Nason married, October 27, 1909, 
Florence Toole, of Holyoke^, Massachu- 
setts, daughter of James W. and Hannah 
(Vining) Toole. They are the parents of 
one child. Anne Frances, born March 10, 

FULLER, Frank Dwight, 

Manager of Important Industry. 

Frank Dwight Fuller, who has been as- 
sociated with the Moore Drop Forging 

Compan}^ of Springfield, Massachusetts, 
since 1907, now (1921) vice-president and 
general manager, traces his descent back 
to the "Mayflower." 

(I) Edward Austin Fuller came on the 
"Mayflower" in 1620. About 1608, a band 
of Puritans who had escaped from Eng- 
land to Leyden, Holland, their desire to 
purify the church by dispensing with cere- 
monies having brought them in conflict 
with high authority, on August i, 1620, 
sailed from Delfthaven, Holland, for 
Southampton, England, on the vessel 
"Speedwell," and there .were joined by 
another part}^ of Puritans on the "May- 
flower." Both vessels then started out 
across the Atlantic, but the "Speedwell," 
proving to be unseaworthy, turned back, 
the "Mayflower" proceeding alone. There 
seems no evidence that Edward A. Ful- 
ler ever lived in Leyden, and the reason- 
able conclusion is that he was among 
those who joined the Pilgrims at South- 
ampton. His name appears on the Com- 
pact, drawn up and signed in the cabin 
of the "Mayflower" as she lay in Cape 
Cod Bay in November, 1620. Governor 
Bradford says in his history : "Edward 
Fuller and his wife died soon after they 
came to shore." The name of his wife is 
not known, though sometimes given as 

Edward A. Fuller, a son of Robert 
Fuller, was baptized September 4, 1575, 
in the parish of Reden Hall, Norforkshire, 
England, and died during the "first sick- 
ness" at Plymouth, Massachusetts, be- 
tween January 11, and April 10, 1621. 
His wife died after January 11, but early 
in 1 62 1. Their only child was Sam- 
uel, of whom further. 

(II) Samuel Fuller, son of Edward A. 
Fuller, was born in England, about 1612, 
and died at Barnstable, Massachusetts, 
November 10, 1683. He grew up under 
the care of his uncle. Dr. Samuel Fuller. 



He was married in Scituate by Captain 
Miles Standish "on ye fourthe daye of ye 
weeke" April 8, 1635, to Jane Lathrop, 
daughter of Rev. John Lathrop, of Scit- 
uate and Barnstable. In the summer of 
1639, Rev. John Lathrop and many mem- 
bers of his church founded the town of 
Barnstable, and it is certain that if Sam- 
uel Fuller and his young family did not 
follow him at that time they did later, 
although it may not have been until 1650. 
They were the parents of nine children, 
descent being through Samuel, of whom 

(III) Samuel (2) Fuller, second child 
and eldest son of Samuel (i) and Jane 
(Lathrop) Fuller, was born in Scituate, 
Massachusetts, and there baptized, Feb- 
ruary II, 1637. He married Anna Fuller, 
daughter of his cousin, Matthew Fuller. 
There is no record of his family on the 
Barnstable records, and but little is known 
of him. He probably lived on a part of 
his father's estate, and the names of his 
children were obtained from an agreement 
made December 30, 1691, their parents 
being then deceased. This branch de- 
scends through Matthew, of whom 
further, there being four sons and two 
daughters in the family. 

(IV) Matthew Fuller, third son of 
Samuel (2) and Anna (Fuller) Fuller, 
was born after 1664 at Barnstable, Massa- 
chusetts, and died at Colchester before 
1744. He settled in Colchester about 
1712, and was baptized in the first church 
there. December 12, 1734, ten years prior 
to his death. He married, February 25, 
1692, Patience Young, born about 1670, 
died June 25, 1746, at Colchester, leaving 
a will which has proven very useful in 
establishing relationship in the branch. 
This will, in which she calls herself a 
widow, was dated February 3, 1743-44, 
and was probated August 6, 1746. She 
was the daughter of George and Hannah 

(Pinson) Young, of Scituate. Matthew 
and Patience (Young) Fuller were the 
parents of eight children, descent in this 
branch following through Young, of 
whom further. 

(V) Young Fuller, sixth child and 
third son of Matthew and Patience 
(Young) Fuller, was born in Barnstable, 
Massachusetts, in 1708, and died at Lud- 
low, Massachusetts, June 17, 1796. He 
married, April 23, 1730, Jerusha Beebe, 
daughter of Jonathan and Briget (Brock- 
way) Beebe, of East Haddam, Connecti- 
cut. Both Young Fuller and his wife were 
baptized and admitted to full communion 
in a Colchester, Connecticut, church, De- 
cember 24, 1732. About 1747 they moved 
to that part of Windsor, Connecticut, now 
called Ellington. Young Fuller owned 
land there, also in Boston, East Haddam, 
and elsewhere. He moved with his eldest 
son to Ludlow, Massachusetts, in 1767, 
and there died. Jerusha (Beebe) Fuller 
was a descendant of Alexander Beebe 
through his son Samuel, his son Jonathan, 
his daughter Jerusha, who married Young 
Fuller. They were the parents of six 
children, descent through their eldest son 
Joshua, of whom further. 

(VI) Joshua Fuller, eldest son of 
Young and Jerusha (Beebe) Fuller, was 
born in Colchester, Connecticut, Septem- 
ber 9, 1731, and died in Monson, Massa- 
chusetts, October 6, 1810. When sixteen 
years of age he moved with his father to 
Ellington, Connecticut, and on March 11, 
1754, his father deeded him the farm 
there. In 1767 he moved to Ludlow, Mas- 
sachusetts, then a part of Springfield, 
where he was a pioneer and man of force 
in both church and town affairs. His last 
years were spent in Monson with his son 
Benjamin. Jonathan Fuller married, in 
January, 1753, Mercy Lathrop, born Octo- 
ber I, 1736, died January 15, 1827, daugh- 
ter of Solomon and Susannah Lathrop, 



of Tolland, Connecticut. They were the 
parents of nine children, all born in Elling- 
ton except the three youngest. In this 
branch descent is traced through Elisha, 
of whom further. 

(VII) Elisha Fuller, eldest son of 
Joshua and Mercy (Lathrop) Fuller, was 
born in Ellington, Connecticut, April 8, 
1754, and died in Ludlow, Massachusetts, 
May 15, 1850. Elisha Fuller kept a store 
in Ludlow Center for more than fifty 
years. He served in Captain Nathan 
Rowley's company of Colonel Robinson's 
Hampshire County Regiment at Ticon- 
deroga in 1776, and represented Ludlow 
in the General Court in 1808. He was a 
man of deep religious convictions, gener- 
ous, hospitable and full of humor. Elisha 
Fuller married (first), December 2, 1774, 
in Chatham, Rebecca Waterman, born 
July 21, 1754, a daughter of Isaac and 
Mercy (Hall) Waterman, of East Middle- 
town, now Portland, Connecticut. He 
married (second) Sarah Cleveland, who 
died July 18, 1862, aged eighty-seven 
years. Elisha and Rebecca (Waterman) 
Fuller were the parents of eleven chil- 
dren, the mother dying twelve days after 
the birth of her son Waterman. By his 
second marriage there were three chil- 
dren. The descent is through John, of 
whom further. 

(VIII) John Fuller, eldest child of 
Elisha and Rebecca (Waterman) Fuller, 
was born in Ludlow, Massachusetts, as 
were all the children of Elisha Fuller, 
April 30, 1775, and there died June 19, 
1840. He married (first). May 16, 1805, 
Bathshelda Cotton, born November 11, 

, 1783, died May 14, 1814. He married 
(second) June 10, 1815, Theodosia Capen, 
born in Belchertown, Massachusetts, April 
12, 1786, died February 2, 1845. By his 
first marriage five children were born ; by 
his second marriage a son. Purchase 

Dwight, of whom further, and two 

(IX) Purchase Dwight Fuller, only son 
of John and Theodosia (Capen) Fuller, 
was born in Ludlow, Massachusetts, No- 
vember 3, 1817, and died July 30, 1872. 
He married, September 6, 1842, Caroline 
Olds, born May 28, 1822, died April 27, 
1 881, daughter of Reuben and Polly (Hay- 
den) Olds, of Ludlow. They were the 
parents of seven children, all born in 
Ludlow. The descent is through Austin 
Dwight, of whom further. 

(X) Austin Dwight Fuller, fourth child 
of Purchase Dwight and Caroline (Olds) 
Fuller, was born in Ludlow, Massachu- 
setts, March 28, 1852, and died in Bel- 
chertown, Massachusetts, July 20, 1884. 
He was educated in Ludlow public schools 
and at Wilbraham Academy, his life in 
Belchertown beginning in his early man- 
hood. He there engaged in the lumber 
business, buying timber tracts and con- 
verting the timber into manufactured 
lumber. He was an active member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, and during 
his short life won an excellent reputation 
as a citizen and a business man. Mr. 
Fuller married (first), February 11, 1875, 
Emma Caroline Keith, born February 11, 
1856, died January 29, 1879, daughter of 
George and Caroline Keith, of Belcher- 
town. They were the parents of two chil- 
dren : Ida Caroline, married Cecil Inger- 
soll Whitcomb ; George Dwight, born and 
died in 1879. ^^- Fuller married (sec- 
ond). May 26, 1880, Delia Dodge, born 
in Pelham, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Lewis and Almira (Dwight) Dodge. 
They were the parents of two sons : Ed- 
ward Austin ; and Frank Dwight, of whom 
further. Delia (Dodge) Fuller survived 
her husband and married (second) in 
1889, Alfred Squires, of Belchertown. 
They were the parents of four children : 
Alfred Lewis Squires, of Belchertown, 



Massachusetts; Lieutenant Paul R. 
Squires, who was with the American Ex- 
peditionary Forces in France ; and two 
daughters, Beatrice Lucinda and Susie 
Eloise Squires. 

(XI) Frank Dwight Fuller, son of Aus- 
tin Dwight and Delia (Dodge) Fuller, 
was born in Belchertown, Massachusetts, 
February 6, 1885, ^^id there attended the 
public schools. He completed his studies 
with a course in a business college in 
Springfield. He was then for a time with 
the Springfield "Daily News" as circula- 
tion manager, going thence to the North- 
field Hotel, Northfield, Massachusetts, as 
cashier. He remained in this position 
three years, then returned to Springfield 
entering the employ of the Moore Drop 
Forging Company as bookkeeper. In 
course of time he was elected a director, 
and is now vice-president and general 
manager of the company. Mr. Fuller is a 
member of the Colony, the Nayasset, 
Winthrop, Springfield Country, Detroit 
Athletic and Misquamicut Golf Clubs. He 
is a member of the Congregational church 
of Belchertown. 

Mr. Fuller married, September 2, 1908, 
Jessie Abrams, of Walden, New York, 
daughter of Sanford and Christina (Sny- 
der) Abrams. Mr. and Mrs. Fuller are 
the parents of three children : Charlotte, 
Christine and Richard Dwight Fuller. 

COLLINS, John Mathewson, 

Business Man. 

John M. Collins, who since a young 
man has been connected with business 
life in Springfield, has won sterling repu- 
tation in manufacturing circles through 
his official connection with the Moore 
Drop Forging Company and other busi- 
ness enterprises of the city. 

(I) Deacon Edward Collins, the first 
known ancestor of the family, first ap- 

peared in Cambridge in 1638, where he 
was a deacon of the First Church, and 
was admitted a freeman, May 13, 1640. 
He brought with him his wife, Martha, 
and several children, and for many years 
lived on the farm of Governor Craddock 
in Medford, finally purchasing it. From 
1654 until 1670, with the exception of 
1661, he was a deputy to the General 
Court, and in "Magnalia," Cotton Mather 
speaks of him as "the good old man, the 
deacon of the church at Cambridge who 
has now gone to heaven." He died in 
Charlestown, Massachusetts, April 9, 
1689, aged eighty-six years. He had five 
sons, this branch tracing descent through 
Rev. Nathaniel, of further mention. 

(II) Rev. Nathaniel Collins, the sixth 
child and fourth son of Deacon Edward 
and Martha Collins, was born in Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts, March 7, 1642, 
died in Middletown, Connecticut, Decem- 
ber 28, 1684. He was a graduate of Har- 
vard, class of 1660, chose the holy pro- 
fession, and was ordained pastor of the 
church in Middletown, Connecticut, No- 
vember 4, 1668. Of him Cotton Mather 
wrote in "Magnalia" : "There were more 
wounds given (by his death) to the whole 
colony of Connecticut in our New Eng- 
land, than the body of Caesar did receive 
when he fell wounded in the Senate 
house." His wife, Mary (Whiting) Col- 
lins, was a daughter of William Whiting, 
and they were the parents of eight chil- 
dren, descent being again traced through a 
Rev. Nathaniel Collins, of further mention. 

(III) Rev. Nathaniel (2) Collins, sixth 
child of Rev. Nathaniel (i) and Mary 
(Whiting) Collins, was a graduate of 
Harvard, class of 1697, and served the 
church in Enfield, Connecticut, as pastor, 
with great acceptability. He married 
Alice Adams, daughter of Rev. William 
Adams, of Dedham, Massachusetts, and 
a descendant of Governor William Brad- 



ford, of the "Mayflower." They were the 
parents of seven children, the line of 
descent continuing in this line through 
William, of further mention, 

(IV) Deacon William Collins, f^fth 
child of Rev. Nathaniel (2) and Alice 
(Adams) Collins, was born in Enfield, 
Connecticut, June 20, 171 1, died there in 
1804. He married Anne Jones, and they 
were the parents of six children, a son 
Jabez, of further mention. 

(V) Jabez Collins, son of Deacon Wil- 
liam and Anne (Jones) Collins, was born 
December 3, 1744. He married Mary 
Gleason. Among their children born in 
Somers was a son Oliver, of further men- 

(VI) Oliver Collins, son of Jabez and 
Mary (Gleason) Collins, was born in 
Somers, Connecticut, March 26, 1781, died 
July 4, 1869. He married Mary Chapin, 
and they were the parents of four sons : 
Edwin W., William Oliver, Noah C. of 
further mention ; and Jabez. 

(VII) Noah C. Collins, third son of 
Oliver and Mary (Chapin) Collins, was 
born in Somers, Connecticut, and there 
was a farmer and sawmill owner. He 
married Alvira Billings, and they were 
the parents of three children : Mary ; Wil- 
liam Oliver, of further mention ; Martha, 
married Albert Thompson. 

(VIII) William Oliver Collins, only 
son of Noah C. and Alvira (Billings) Col- 
lins, was born in Somers, Connecticut, in 
1842, and died in Springfield^ Massachu- 
setts, December 3, 1901. He was edu- 
cated in Somers public schools and Wil- 
braham Academy, his early manhood 
years being spent at the home farm in 
association with his father. At the age 
of thirty-six years, in 1878, he located in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, there estab- 
lishing a retail coal business, which he 
conducted with success until his death, 
twenty-three years later. He had strong 

religious ideas and was a liberal supporter 
of Hope Church. William O. Collins 
married Anne Mathewson, of Hazard- 
ville, Connecticut, daughter of John and 
Ann Mathewson. They were the parents 
of two daughters and two sons : Mary, 
married W. B. Sleigh; Edith; John Ma- 
thewson, of further mention ; William 
Oliver (2), married Edna Lindsey, and 
has a son, William Oliver (3). 

(IX) John Mathewson Collins, eldest 
son of William Oliver and Anne (Mat- 
hewson) Collins, was born in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, April 22, 1880, and is still 
a resident. He was educated in the pub- 
lic schools, finishing in high school, then 
entered business life as an employee of 
the Morgan Envelope Company, going 
thence to the Knox Automobile Company. 
In 1918 he bought an interest in the 
Moore Drop Forging Company, and is 
now a director and vice-president of that 
successful corporation, and a director of 
the Westfield Plate Company. Mr. Col- 
lins is a member of Springfield Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, and has taken 
all the degrees of the Ancient Accepted 
Scottish Rite bodies, including the thirty- 
second degree. He is also a member of 
Melha Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; the Nayas- 
set Club, Colony Club, Winthrop Club, 
Springfield Country Club, and West 
Springfield Congregational Church. 

Mr. Collins married, September 12, 
1906, Olive B. Butler, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, a daughter of Charles B. 
and Helen (Chapman) Butler. Mr. and 
Mrs. Collins are the parents of two chil- 
dren, comprising a part of the tenth Col- 
lins' generation in New England, 1638- 
1921. The children are: Morton Butler, 
born January 27, 1908 ; and Edith Louise, 
born December 3, 191 1, The family home 
is at No. 339 Elm street, West Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. 


FLYNT, Lyman Coleman, 

Financier, Public-Spirited Citizen. 

Lyman C. Flynt, president of the 
Monson National Bank, comes of an early 
New England family of Monson. 

(I) Thomas Flint, the first ancestor of 
whom we have record, sold the estate in 
England which had long been in the fam- 
ily, and came to New England in 1636. 
He was one of the first settlers of Salem 
Village, later South Dana, where he spent 
his life and there died April 15, 1663. In 
1654 he bought land on the Salem and 
North Reading road, about six miles from 
the present Court House in Salem, that 
property remaining in the family as late 
as i860, being then occupied by Flynt 
descendants. His wife's given name was 
Ann. Descent in this line is through 
John, of further mention. 

(II) John Flint, fourth child and sec- 
ond son of Thomas and Ann Flint, was 
born October 3, 1655, and lived in Salem 
Village, where he was admitted a freeman 
in April, 1690, and there died in April, 
1730. His wife's given name was Eliza- 
beth, and they were the parents of nine 
children : Samuel, born October 12, 1679 ! 
John, of further mention; Hannah, mar- 
ried John Tarbell ; Stephen, born Decem- 
ber 29, 1687; Joshua, born October 28, 
1689; Joseph, born February 25, 1693; 
Lydia, married a Mr. Phillips ; Sarah, mar- 
ried a Mr. Bryant; Elizabeth, married 
Benjamin Gillingham. 

(III) John (2) Flint, son of John (i) 
and Elizabeth Flint, was born February 
8, 1681. He settled in Windham, Con- 
necticut, and there spent his life, a farmer. 
He married (first). May 5, 1709, Chris- 
tina Reed, who died September 27, 1721. 
He married (second), March 14, 1722, 
Lydia Gennings, born April 30, 1695, 
daughter of Jonathan and Susannah Gen- 
nings. Children of first wife: Mary, died 

young; Samuel, born April 9, 1712 ; John, 
born January 23, 1714; Rufus, of further 
mention. Children of second marriage : 
Joseph, born September 13, 1723; Jona- 
than, born July 10, 1725; Nathan, twin 
with Jonathan ; Sibyl, born August 25, 
1727; Gideon, born July 25, 1729; Mary, 
born February 25, 1731, died aged fifteen 
years; Abial, born April 14, 1733; Lydia, 
born June 4, 1735. 

(IV) Rufus Flynt, youngest child of 
John (2) and Christina (Reed) Flint, was 
born October 29, 1716. He changed the 
spelling of his name to Flynt, a form 
which has since prevailed. He married, 
March 13, 1738, Mary Janes. Children: 
Christian, born January 19, 1739; Abel, 
born February 24, 1743; Naomi, born 
March 24, 1745 ; Jonathan, of further men- 
tion ; Elijah, born January 16, 1749. 

(V) Jonathan Flynt, son of Rufus and 
Mary (Janes) Flynt, was born in Wind- 
ham, Connecticut, November 13, 1747, but 
in manhood removed to Western, now 
Warren, Massachusetts. He was a cloth- 
ier and a soldier of the Revolution, march- 
ing as a private from Western in Captain 
Josiah Putnam's company, Colonel Jede- 
diah Foster's regiment, on the alarm at 
Lexington. He was also in Captain Jo- 
seph Cutler's company of volunteers in 
the Northern department of the Continen- 
tal army, marching September 24, 1777, 
to join the army under General Gates. 
Jonathan Flynt married (first) a daugh- 
ter of Ezra Leonard, of Hardwick, Mas- 
sachusetts, her father born 171 1, an en- 
sign in Captain Warner's company that 
marched to the relief of Fort William 
Henry in 1757. Descent is traced in this 
branch through Rufus, of further mention. 

(VI) Captain Rufus (2) Flynt, son of 

Jonathan and (Leonard) Flynt, 

was born in Western, or Hardwick, Mas- 
sachusetts, June 22, 1775, and died in 
Monson, Massachusetts, January 15, 1836. 



He moved to Monson in 1792, and became 
a clerk in the store of William Norcross. 
Upon coming of age he was admitted a 
partner, and for more than forty years 
was a leading merchant and citizen of 
Monson. He was appointed by President 
Madison the first postmaster of Monson 
in 1826, and until his death, ten years 
later, he held that office. He was a suc- 
cessful merchant, captain of the Monson 
military company, an incorporator, trus- 
tee, and for twenty-three years treasurer 
of Monson Academy, a gentleman of the 
old school, of sterling character, of quiet 
and dignified manner. He took a deep 
interest in the public schools and in all 
public matters, and was always on the 
side of progress. In connection with his 
mercantile business he also did a bank- 
ing business. The Flynt connection with 
the Monson Stone quarry, so long con- 
tinued and so important an item in the 
business career of four generations of the 
family, including the present, began with 
Rufus Flynt. The first building stone 
was taken from the quarry in 1804 by 
agents of the United States Government 
to obtain material for the foundations of 
the armory and arsenal at Springfield. 
No more stone was taken from the quarry 
until 1824, when Rufus Flynt, with a 
force of four or five men, opened it to 
obtain stone for the trimmings of the 
Chicopee Bank, in Springfield. Mr. 
Flynt saw the possibilities of the quarry 
when transportation facilities should be 
available, and purchased 150 acres, his 
tract embracing the quarries. He devel- 
oped them in a small way until 1834, when 
he retired, and was succeeded by his son, 
William Norcross Flynt. Rufus Flynt 
was a member of the Masonic Lodge, in 
which he took a very active part, and was 
treasurer for many years. He built op- 
posite to where the homes of Lyman C. 
Flynt now stands in 1806, and in 1825 he 

built the present residence of Mr. Flynt. 
Captain Flynt married, November 30, 

1800, Sarah Norcross, born in 1780, died 
in 1863, daughter of William Norcross. 
Children: Maria, born December 28, 

1801, married Rev. Lyman Coleman, a 
professor of Lafayette College, and author 
of theological books ; Rufus, entered Yale 
College in 1803, died aged eighteen years ; 
Olivia, born March 29, 1809, died in 1837; 
William Norcross, of further mention. 

(VII) William Norcross Flynt, son of 
Captain Rufus (2) and Sarah (Norcross) 
Flynt, was born in Monson, Massachu- 
setts, March 14, 1818, and there died Sep- 
tember 28, 1895. He attended Monson 
public schools and Monson Academy, be- 
ginning his business life at the age of 
seventeen as a clerk in his father's store. 
He later became associated with his father 
in the management of the general store in 
Monson, and upon the death of Rufus 
Flynt succeeded to its ownership. Wil- 
liam Norcross Flynt, even before his 
father's death, had been giving attention 
and thought to the quarry of fine stone 
which they owned and had taken out some 
stone. In 1840 specimens were placed on 
exhibition at Springfield, and a demand 
for the stone followed. The quarry is lo- 
cated one mile from Monson, and covers 
500 acres. The stone, which is dark blue 
and white granite, in apparently inex- 
haustible quantities, is used for dams, 
buildings and monuments. It is said the 
largest stone ever taken from the quarry 
was 354 feet long, 11 feet wide and 4 feet 
thick, taking 1104 wedges to split it. 
Many public buildings have been erected 
of this stone including the church of St. 
Francis Xavier, in New York City. In 
1875 William N. Flynt built at an expense 
of $30,000, a private railroad two miles 
in length, which connects his quarry with 
the New London & Northern railroad. 
He conducted the business under the 


name of W. N. Flynt & Company until 

1885 ; his son, William King Flynt, be- 
came his partner. William Norcross 
Flynt finally withdrew from all active 
connection with the management. In 

1886 the Flynt Building & Construction 
Company was incorporated with main of- 
fices at Palmer, Massachusetts, William 
Norcross Flynt, president, William K. 
Flynt, treasurer and general manager. 
This company operated in all parts of the 
country, and is yet continued most suc- 
cessfully by the Flynts. William N. Flynt, 
the founder and long time head of the 
business, kept pace with modern needs 
and methods and transacted a very large 
business. For several years he and his 
father drove to Boston in the one horse 
chaise, the son long preserving a tax bill 
showing that a tax of four dollars was 
paid on that vehicle in 1812. But with 
the coming of the railroad, his judgment 
and foresight quickly discerned the ad- 
vantage this means of transportation 
would be to his stone business. 

Mr. Flynt preserved the "Tippecanoe 
and Tyler Too" badge which he wore in 
the campaign of 1840, when he cast his 
vote for William Henry Harrison, and 
in 1888 he wore it at the inauguration of 
Benjamin Harrison, grandson of the first 
President Harrison. Mr. Flynt always took 
an active part in public affairs. He was 
elected town treasurer of Monson in 1848, 
holding that office thirty-one years ; was 
representative to the General Court in 
1848, 1849, i860, and again in 1861. In 
1865 he was elected a member of Gov- 
ernor Andrew's Council, and in 1866 also 
served in the same capacity under Gov- 
ernor Bullock. In 1884 he was alternate 
to the Republican National Convention 
which convened in Chicago and nom- 
inated James G. Blaine for the presidency. 
He served Monson Academy as trustee 
from 1850 until his death in 1895, and for 
years was the oldest member of the board 

in point of service. He was one of the 
incorporators of the Monson State Bank 
in 1852, and was its first president, serv- 
ing until its incorporation as a National 
Bank under the new banking act, and 
then continued as president of the Mon- 
son National Bank. He was also presi- 
dent of the Palmer Savings Bank, director 
and vice-president of the New England 
Granite Manufacturers' Association, and 
held office in various other corporations. 
He was a zealous worker in the Monson 
Congregational Church, and gave freely 
to all charitable or philanthropic causes. 
He gave for the use of the town of Mon- 
son a park of 200 acres. Mr. Flynt was 
not only one of the leading men of Mon- 
son, but one of the foremost men of af- 
fairs in Western Massachusetts. He was 
a man of the highest character, and he 
possessed the respect and confidence of 
all who knew him. 

Mr. Flynt married (first), June 4, 1846, 
Joanna King, born in 1820, died Septem- 
ber 21, 1850, daughter of Colonel Isaac 
King, of Palmer, Massachusetts. They 
were the parents of a son, William King, 
who died February 22, 1886, aged thirty- 
six years. He married Emma King, of 
Monson. Mr. Flynt married (second), 
November 23, 1852, Eudocia Carter Con- 
verse, born January 21, 1822, died No- 
vember 8, 1906, daughter of Marquis and 
Sophia (Lyon) Converse. Marquis Con- 
verse was a farmer of Brimfield, where he 
died. Sophia (Lyon) Converse, his wife, 
died in Monson, aged eighty-two years, 
daughter of Colonel Alfred and Lydia 
(Ballard) Lyon. Children of William N. 
and Eudocia C. (Converse) Flynt: i. 
Maria L., married Henry A. King, judge 
of the Massachusetts Superior Court. 2. 
Rufus, a sketch of whom follows. 3. Ly- 
man Coleman, of further mention. 4. 
Sarah Converse, married William \. Lin- 
coln, president of the Springfield Safe De- 
posit and Trust Company. 5, Ella Eudocia, 


married William C. Dewey, of New York 
City. 6. George Converse, treasurer of the 
W. N. Flynt Granite Company, secretary 
and director of the Flynt Building & Con- 
struction Company, and largely interested 
in other corporations of Monson ; he mar- 
ried Helen Pratt Needham. 

(VIII) Lyman Coleman Flynt, son of 
William Norcross and Eudocia Carter 
(Converse) Flynt, was born in Monson, 
Massachusetts, October 20, 1856. He was 
educated in the public schools and Mon- 
son Academy, and in 1875 became asso- 
ciated in business with his father and 
brothers in the quarry and general store, 
both owned by the W. N. Flynt Granite 
Company. The father retired from the 
management of the business in 1875, the 
sons continuing the business founded by 
their great-grandfather, Jonathan Flynt, 
continued by their grandfather, Rufus 
Flynt, and extensively developed by their 
father, William N, Flynt, who transmitted 
it with confidence to his able sons, two of 
whom yet survive and continue the man- 
agement of the Flynt corporations, The 
W. N. Flynt Granite Company, operating 
quarries and a large general store, and 
The Fh-nt Building & Construction Com- 
pany, contractors of national fame. 
Lyman Coleman Flynt has devoted his 
best energies to this business, and is the 
able president of both. The Monson store 
occupies several thousand square feet of 
space in its various departments, and is 
thoroughly modern in its appointments 
and methods. Mr. Flynt is also president 
of the Monson National Bank ; trustee of 
Monson Savings Bank; and vice-president 
of Monson Library, an institution which 
his grandfather aided in founding, and 
which his father served as trustee for 
forty-five years, 1850-1895. He is a Re- 
publican in politics, an attendant of the 
Congregational church, and a member of 
the Royal Arcanum. 

Mr. Flynt married, June 24, 1886, Har- 
riet Coe Hussey, of New Bedford, Mas- 
sachusetts, daughter of William Allen 
and Harriet R. (Coe) Hussey. Mrs. 
Flynt is a descendant of John and Pris- 
cilla Alden, of the "Mayflower." She was 
born in Cornwall, New York, her father, 
now deceased, was captain of a whaling 
vessel sailing from New Bedford. Her 
mother, Harriet R. (Coe) Hussey, was 
born in Little Compton, Rhode Island, 
died in Monson, Massachusetts, aged 
seventy-five years. Mrs. Harriet C. Flynt 
has a sister, Helen, wife of S. F. Cush- 
man, a retired woolen manufacturer. Mr. 
and Mrs. Lyman C. Flynt are the parents 
of four children: i. Robert Hussey, born 
April 2, 1887 ; he was with the Union Cen- 
tral Insurance Company, of Cincinnati, 
Ohio ; he married Emily Woodworth, who 
died in 1918. 2. Ruth, married John E. 
Marshall, who was of Cincinnati, Ohio, 
now of Barrington, Rhode Island ; has two 
children, John and Priscilla Alden Mar- 
shall. 3. Olivia Coleman, residing at 
home, now librarian at Monson Library. 
4. Esther Holmes, secretary of the Ely 
School at Greenwich, Connecticut. 

The family home is in Monson, built 
in 1825 by the grandfather of Mr. Flynt, 
and there the famous Flynt collection of 
over 500 English, Irish, Scotch, Dutch, 
French, German, Japanese and Swiss 
clocks can be seen, some of them having 
been made before 1650. This collection 
of clocks of all nations is Mr. Flynt's spe- 
cial delight, and in his travels and other- 
wise he has gathered rare and valuable 
specimens from all parts of the world. 

FLYNT, Rufus, 

Representative of Important Family. 

Rufus (3) Flynt, son of William Nor- 
cross and Eudocia Carter (Converse) 
Flynt (q. v.), was born in Monson, Mas- 



sachusetts, June 14, 1855, and died April 
3, 1899. He was graduated from Monson 
Academy in 1873, and soon afterward be- 
came associated with his father and elder 
brother, William King, in the firm of Wil- 
liam N. Flynt & Company, quarrymen 
and contractors. For several years he 
was bookkeeper and paymaster, but later 
was in charge of the granite quarry, re- 
maining until 1883. At that time he began 
his connection with the building branch 
of the company's business which was 
managed by William K. Flynt. When 
the Flynt Building and Construction Com- 
pany was organized, Rufus Flynt was 
elected a director, and for a time was in 
charge of the company's business at the 
various places in which they were con- 
ducting building operations. William K. 
Flynt died in 1886, Rufus Flynt then be- 
coming treasurer of the company, and 
from that year until his death he resided 
in Palmer. On the death of his father, 
William N. Flynt, in 1895, Rufus Flynt 
succeeded him as president of the Flynt 
Construction Company, and director of 
the Flynt Granite Company, offices he 
was holding at the time of his death. 

While living in Monson, Rufus Flynt 
served two terms as selectman ; was treas- 
urer of the Palmer Business and Social 
Club from its organization ; president of 
the Palmer & Monson Street Railway 
Company ; member of Thomas Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, and all bodies 
up to and including the shrine, and Ivan- 
hoe Council, Royal Arcanum. He was an 
ardent fisherman, and while indulging his 
hobby for trout fishing, in June, 1898, he 
slipped on an insecure stone in the brook 
and the resulting strain proved so obscure 
and baffling an injury that it resulted in 
his death the following April. Few men 
have ever lived in Palmer who died more 
generally respected and deeply mourned 
than Mr. Flynt. While he was a success- 

ful business man, with heavy responsi- 
bilities, he was never too busy to lend a 
helping hand, and was always far more 
thoughtful of others than of himself. He 
rarely turned any applicant for favors 
away empty-handed, and he was so thor- 
oughly alive that every recreation of the 
open-air appealed to him, although hunt- 
ing and fishing were his favorite recrea- 
tions. He possessed at all times a cheer- 
fulness which told of a thorough enjoy- 
ment of life, and his influence was helpful 
to all with whom he came in contact. His 
family was always his first consideration, 
and home was the dearest place of all to 
him. He was always interested in any 
movement for the good of his community, 
and gave liberally of his time and means 
to aid such movements. 

Rufus Flynt married (first) Hattie 
Green, (second) Lucy Atwood, daughter 
of James B. Atwood, of the Marvin Safe 
Company, New York City, who died in 
Boston, Massachusetts. Her mother, 
Frances (Kendall) Atwood, was born in 
Illinois, and they were the parents of two 
daughters, Lucy and Lottie, the latter 
wife of Joseph J. Rafter. Mrs. Lucy (At- 
wood) Flynt survives her husband, resid- 
ing in Palmer, Massachusetts, a member 
of the Congregational church. Child by 
first wife : Hattie Green Flynt. Children 
by second wife : Eudocia, married R. H. 
Card, of Buffalo, New York; Rufus, of 
further mention ; Lyon K., a soldier of 
the United States army in the ambulance 
service in the World War, stationed in 
Paris for two years, and since his being 
mustered out has been a clerk in the office 
of the corporation. 

Rufus (4) Flynt, eldest son of Rufus (3) 
and Lucy (Atwood) Flynt, was born in 
Monson, Massachusetts, March 25, 1886, 
but when two years of age was brought 
by his parents to Palmer, which has ever 
since been his home. He was educated in 



Palmer private school, Palmer High 
School, Monson Academy, Springfield 
High School (1904), and Sheffield Scien- 
tific School, of Yale University, class of 
1907. He began business life with the 
Flynt Building and Construction Com- 
pany immediately after graduation from 
Yale, and since 1914 has been treasurer 
and general manager of the company, the 
fourth in direct line to be officially con- 
nected with this particular company, 
Rufus (2), William N., Rufus (3) and 
Rufus (4) Flynt, the present representa- 
tive. He is a Republican in politics, mem- 
ber of the Colony Club, of Springfield ; 
Palmer Business Club, president of the 
latter for two years ; Engineers' Society 
of Western Massachusetts ; was a trustee 
of the Wing Memorial Hospital ; was a 
member and director of Palmer Young 
Men's Library Association. 

Mr. Flynt married, October 12, 1908, at 
Bingham, Maine, Rebecca Robeson, born 
at Manchester Green, Connecticut, daugh- 
ter of Cooper S. and Josephine (Clark) 
Robeson. Cooper S. Robeson, born in 
the State of New Jersey, is a manufac- 
turer of woolens, now living in Brookline, 
Massachusetts. Josephine (Clark) Robe- 
son, born in Manchester, Connecticut, 
died in Brookline, Massachusetts, in 1918. 
Mr. and Mrs. Robeson were the parents 
of three children : Rebecca, wife of Rufus 
Flynt; Dorothy, married J. S. Lander, of 
Boston ; James, who resides with Mr. 
Flynt. Mr. and Mrs. Flynt are the par- 
ents of two daughters and a son : Con- 
stance, born in 1909; Virginia, born in 
1913; Rufus Robeson, born in 1918. 

REYNOLDS, Howard Stephen, 

Devoted to Commnnity Interests. 

There are more than forty different 
spellings of the name Reynolds or Run- 

nells, and many theories prevail as to the 
origin of the name. Stephen Reynolds, 
the great-grandfather of Howard Stephen 
Reynolds, of Springfield, Massachusetts, 
was a descendant of Robert Reynolds, 
who was made a freeman at Watertown, 
Massachusetts, September 3, 1634. He 
was a brother of John Reynolds, who was 
admitted. May 6, 1635, and removed from 
Watertown prior to July 25, 1636, going 
to Wethersfield, Connecticut. Robert 
Reynolds returned later to Boston, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he died April 27, 1659. 
His will, probated in Boston, July 2"], 
1659, names his wife Mary, son Nathaniel, 
and four daughters, Ruth Whitney, 
Tabitha Abby, Sarah Mason, and Mary 
Sanger. He was born about 1590, His 
son. Captain Nathaniel Reynolds, re- 
moved to Rhode Island, where he was one 
of the founders of Bristol, and was ad- 
mitted as a citizen at the first meeting 
held in the town in 1681, at which meet- 
ing the town was given the name Bristol. 
Captain Nathaniel Reynolds was a mem- 
ber of the Ancient and Honorable Artil- 
lery Company of Boston, and was in com- 
mand of a company under Colonel Benja- 
min Church in the Indian wars. He died 
July 10, 1708, his widow, Priscilla, Janu- 
ary 24, 1744. On the tombstone of Cap- 
tain Nathaniel Reynolds' son Joseph, 
which is still standing in Bristol, the Rey- 
nolds coat-of-arms is shown: 

Arms — Three foxes statant in pale proper. 
Crest — On an esquire's helmet a fox statant 

Stephen Reynolds, son of Captain Na- 
thaniel Reynolds, resided in Rhode Island, 
where he married Bethany Allen, who 
lived to an extreme old age, spending her 
last years at Charlton, Massachusetts, 
where she was living at the age of ninety- 
four years. They were the parents of Ste- 
phen, of further mention. 



Stephen (2) Reynolds, son of Stephen 

(1) Reynolds, was born at Dudley, Mas- 
sachusetts, March 25, 1798, died at Wil- 
braham, Massachusetts, March 26, 1871. 
He learned the blacksmith's trade in 
Southbridge and later in Wilbraham, 
moving there in 1831. He married Sybil 
Vinton, born January 4, 1799, died March 
27, 1871, the day following her husband's 
death. No better eulogy of these excel- 
lent people can be given than was written 
at the time of the golden anniversary of 
their wedding day : 

Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Reynolds celebrated their 
golden wedding anniversary in Wilbraham, at the 
residence of their son-in-law, Mr. George Edson, 
with whom, in life's decline, they have a pleasant 
home. Thirty-one persons were present whose 
united ages amounted to one thousand three hun- 
dred and seventy-two years — relatives representing 
five generations were there from Massachusetts, 
Connecticut, and Rhode Island. Many valuable 
and delicate souvenirs of kindred and affectionate 
regard were presented to them. The venerable 
pair replighted their early troth, the bride of 
seventy-one years perhaps never happier than 
now, receiving again the wedding ring. A few 
remarks were made by the officiating clergyman, 
the benediction was invoked, congratulations were 
offered, tears from loving eyes shed, and the wish 
expressed by the daughters that their father and 
mother might live to enjoy their gifts, was sec- 
onded by all. It was a deeply interesting occa- 
sion, and to Mr. and Mrs. Reynolds it was one of 
life's Indian summer days, full of unutterable con- 
tent. Thirty-six years of wedded life have been 
spent in Wilbraham. It was a, matter of great 
regret that Mr. Reynolds' aged mother, now in 
her ninety-fourth year, was not able to be present. 
She resides in Charlton, Massachusetts, and her 
sight is good, her faculties all preserved. 

Stephen Reynolds was one of eleven 
children, and the father of three, as fol- 
lows : George, of further mention ; Henry, 
of New Haven, Connecticut ; and Louise, 
who married (first) George Edson, and 
(second) Otis Chapman. 

George Reynolds, eldest son of Stephen 

(2) and Sybil (Vinton) Reynolds, was 

born at Southbridge, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 15, 1822, died in Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, May 16, 1902, after more than 
half a century of activity and prominence 
in the business life of that city. He was 
nineteen when he first located in Spring- 
field, and for six years he was employed at 
the United States Armory. Six more 
years were spent in varied activities, then 
for more than half a century he was asso- 
ciated with Justin Sackett, they being 
highway, street and general contractors, 
and for forty years these two men were 
partners. They did a very extensive busi- 
ness in their line, and attained fair finan- 
cial results. Among other large contracts 
they were awarded the contract for the 
grading of Forest Park, which is con- 
sidered the finest park in New England. 
They were large employers of labor, and 
at times 150 men were on their payroll. 
George Reynolds, in addition to his inter- 
est in the above firm, was a large investor 
in real estate, built many residences, and 
aided in the upbuilding of his city. He 
was a Republican in politics, but not an 
active partisan nor a seeker of office, con- 
tent to express his loyalty and public 
spirit through the private exercise of his 
responsibilities as a citizen. 

Mr, Reynolds married, April 13, 1845, 
Harriett Angeline Colton, born in Long- 
meadow, Massachusetts, in 1822, died in 
Springfield, July, 1902, only surviving her 
husband a few weeks. Mrs. Reynolds was 
a daughter of Haman and Esther (Roach) 
Colton, her father a son of Revolutionary 
fame. Mr. and Mrs. Reynolds were at- 
tendants of Ashby Methodist Episcopal 
Church. Children : Louisa, married Her- 
bert A. Hastings, of Amherst, Massachu- 
setts ; Howard Stephen, of further men- 
tion. The family home in Springfield was 
at No. 355 Maple street until Mr. Rey- 



nolds built his present home at No. 357 
Maple street. 

Howard Stephen Reynolds, only son of 
George and Harriett Angelina (Colton) 
Reynolds, was born in Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, September 5, 1855, and is yet 
an honored resident of his native city 
(1920). He was educated in the city pub- 
lic schools, and the Bissell School, Broad 
Brook, Connecticut. At the age of seven- 
teen he entered business life as a clerk for 
Henry K. Baker, the well-known dealer 
in saddlery goods, and remained with him 
about nine years. He then became asso- 
ciated with his father and Justin Sackett 
in their contracting business, and later 
was admitted a member of the firm. When 
the founders of the business retired, How- 
ard S. Reynolds succeeded to its manage- 
ment, admitting Herbert A. Hastings, his 
brother-in-law, and they continued the 
business under the firm name, Reynolds 
& Hastings. The laying out of estates 
and beautifying them, or what is known 
as landscape gardening, is now a specialty 
of the firm, and some of the finest grounds 
and estates in Springfield and vicinity 
display their ability and taste. Mr. Rey- 
nolds is a Republican in politics, an at- 
tendant of the Florence Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, and is affiliated with the 
Ancient Order of United Workmen. 

Mr. Reynolds married, August 21, 1876, 
Martha Josephine Davis, of Springfield, 
daughter of Horace G. and Clarissa 
(Cook) Davis, and granddaughter of 
Horace and Abigail (Yeomans) Davis. 
Clarissa Cook was the daughter of Sid- 
ney and Permelia (Porter) Cook. Mr, 
and Mrs. Reynolds are the parents of an 
only son, George Harold Reynolds, born 
August 31, 1879, ^ow associated with his 
father in business. He is a member of 
the Springfield Board of Trade, the Auto- 
mobile Club, and the Sportsman's Club. 

He married, in June, 1906, Edna Bartlett, 
of Glastonbury, Connecticut, daughter of 
George D. and Jane Louise (Matson) 
Bartlett. They are the parents of a 
daughter, Madeline, born March 17, 1917. 

BREWSTER, Elisha Hume, 
li&wyer. Legislator. 

Admitted to the bar at Northampton, 
Massachusetts, in 1896, Elisha H. Brew- 
ster at once began the practice of his pro- 
fession in the city of Springfield, and has 
since continued in active practice. He is 
now (1921) the head of the firm of Brew- 
ster, Ellis & Mitchell. He is a son of 
Charles Kingman Brewster, who was a 
prominent business man of Worthington, 
Massachusetts, until his death ; grandson 
of Elisha Huntington Brewster, merchant 
and public official, and great-grandson of 
Captain Elisha Brewster, seventh in de- 
scent in the line of Elder William Brew- 
ster, of the "Mayflower," and an officer of 
the Revolution, described as "a handsome 
officer with great skill and daring in 
horsemanship." Captain Elisha Brewster 
was a son of Jonathan Brewster ; son of 
Jonathan ; son of Captain Daniel ; son of 
Benjamin; son of Jonathan; son of Elder 
William Brewster. 

(I) Elder William Brewster, born about 
1560, was a well educated man, who be- 
came a "non-conformist" in religion, and 
came under the displeasure of ecclesiasti- 
cal authority. After he was liberated he 
went to Leyden, Holland, there support- 
ing himself by teaching English. He be- 
came associated with the Pilgrims in Ley- 
den, and when that band of heroic spirits 
sailed in the "Mayflower," in 1620, he was 
one of them. He was chosen their elder, 
and continued as such, preaching fre- 
quently but not administering the sacra- 
ments. He was loyal to the home govern- 



ment, and reluctantly accepted the fact 
that his conscientious scruples required 
his separation from the established 
church. He was the acknowledged and 
deeply venerated leader of the Plymouth 
church until his death, April i6, 1644. 
By wife Mary he had sons: Jonathan, 
of further mention; Love; Wrestling; 
and daughters : Patience, who married 
Thomas Prince, afterward governor of 
the Colony ; and Fear, who married Isaac 
Allerton, first assistant to the governor. 

(II) Jonathan Brewster, eldest son of 
Elder William Brewster, spent twelve 
years in Holland prior to 1621, when he 
came to Plymouth Colony. He lived in 
Duxbury, Massachusetts, and in New 
London, Connecticut, where he died be- 
fore September, 1659. He was a man of 
influence, both in Massachusetts and Con- 
necticut, holding the office of deputy and 
selectman. By wife, Lucretia (Oldhan) 
Brewster, he had several children, includ- 
ing a son, Benjamin, of further mention. 

(HI) Benjamin Brewster, son of Jona- 
than and Lucretia (Oldhan) Brewster, 
settled upon the homestead farm on Brew- 
ster's Neck, which he had acquired by 
purchase from his father and brother-in- 
law. This farm, by the change of town 
boundaries, has been successively in the 
town of New London, Norwich, Preston, 
Groton, and Ledyard. He was a deputy 
to Connecticut General Court five terms, 
a lieutenant of the New London troop in 
1673, and captain of the military company 
of Norwich in 1693. He married Ann 
Dart, and they were the parents of eight 
children, including Daniel, of further men- 

(IV) Captain Daniel Brewster, son of 
Benjamin and Ann (Dart) Brewster, set- 
tled in Preston, Connecticut. He was a 
justice of the peace for New London 
county ; representative several terms ; 

lieutenant of militia in 1704; captain in 
1716, and a deacon of the First Church of 
Preston. He died in Preston, May 7, 
1735. aged sixty-eight years. His chil- 
dren were by his first wife, Hannah 
(Gager) Brewster, who died September 
20, 1721. Among their children was Jona- 
than, of further mention. 

(V) Jonathan (2) Brewster, son of 
Captain Daniel and Hannah (Gager) 
Brewster, was born in Preston, Connec- 
ticut, January 6, 1705. He married, No- 
vember 9, 1725, Mary Parish, and they 
were the parents of eight children, the 
fourth of whom was Jonathan, of further 

(VI) Jonathan (3) Brewster, son of 
Jonathan (2) and Mary (Parish) Brew- 
ster, was born in Preston, Connecticut, 
June 8, 1734, and died in Worthington, 
Massachusetts, April 13, 1800. He settled 
in Worthington in 1777, and was select- 
man there nine terms, between 1778 and 
1789, and then 1790-96 continuously. He 
was town clerk two years ; representative 
to the General Court ten terms, 1778- 
1795, and a deacon of the Worthington 
church. He married, August 28, 1754, 
Zipporah Smith, and they were the par- 
ents of nine children, among whom was 
Elisha, of further mention. 

(VII) Captain Elisha Brewster, son of 
Jonathan (3) and Zipporah (Smith) 
Brewster, was born in Preston, Connecti- 
cut, February 25, 1755, died in Worthing- 
ton, Massachusetts, September 25, 1833. 
He was an officer of the Revolution, serv- 
ing seven years and six months in Cap- 
tain Abijah Powell's Regiment of Light 
Dragoons. He participated in many of 
the battles of the Revolution, and led his 
men with an impetuosity and courage 
which always brought victory. As a 
civilian he retained that dignity and cour- 
tesy which so often marked the officer of 



the army of those days, and always bore 
with him in intercourse with his fellow- 
men that affability and gentlemanly feel- 
ing which also characterized in so marked 
a degree his brother, Jonah Brewster. He 
married Sarah Huntington, daughter of 
Rev. Jonathan Huntington, of Windham, 
Connecticut. They were the parents of 
eight daughters, and an only son, Elisha 
Huntington, of further mention. 

(VIII) Elisha Huntington Brewster, 
only son of Captain Elisha and Sarah 
(Huntington) Brewster, was born in 
Worthington, Massachusetts, and died 
in that town, November 27, 1878. He 
attended public school and Hopkins Acad- 
emy, and until the age of thirty-three re- 
mained at the home farm. He then moved 
to the center village of the town, and 
there conducted a successful mercantile 
business for many years under the name 
of E. H. Brewster & Son, that business 
yet being in the family. In 1848 and in 
1853 he represented his town in the State 
Legislature, elected as a Whig; was elect- 
ed county commissioner in 1852, and was 
continuously in that office for sixteen 
years, most of that time being chairman 
of the board. In 1868 he declined a re- 
nomination, although an election was 
sure. Only once in that time did he fail 
to secure his party nomination, and that 
so incensed his friends that they induced 
him to run on an independent ticket and 
saw to it that he was handsomely elected. 
A gold headed cane presented to him at a 
banquet given in his honor upon his re- 
tirement from office is now the property 
of his grandson, Elisha Hume Brewster, 
of Springfield. In 1871 he was elected 
State Senator, and in 1873 "^^s chosen a 
member of Governor Washburn's Coun- 
cil, and also served in Governor Talbot's 
Council. Upon the organization of the 
Republican party, he cast his fortunes 

Mass — 10—14 

with that party, and although strongly 
partisan he never permitted party loyalty 
to warp his judgment concerning men and 
measures He was a justice of the peace 
many years, and after retiring as county 
commissioner was often chosen referee 
in matters of controversy. It is said that 
he settled more estates than any other 
man in Hampshire county in his day. 

He was a founder and the first presi- 
dent of the Northampton Agricultural So- 
ciety, for years was a trustee of the 
Northampton Institution for Savings, and 
a director of the Hampshire Mutual Fire 
Insurance Company. From an early 
period of his life he was in some line of 
public service, and although he was so 
prominently in the public eye his 
acquaintances were all his friends and he 
had no enemies. One who knew him well 
said : "He could not recall the time when 
he was otherwise than the courteous gen- 
tleman." Of fine physical appearance, 
and fine personality, he could easily be 
distinguished in any gathering of men as 
a leader, and in him appeared in strong 
degree those qualities which character- 
ized his ancestor. Elder William Brew- 

Mr. Brewster married, August i, 183 1, 
Sophronia Martha Kingman, who died in 
Worthington, March 14, 1879, surviving 
her husband less than four months. She 
was a daughter of Isaiah and Lucy (Dan- 
iels) Kingman, of Worthington. Chil- 
dren : Sarah Huntington, Elisha King- 
man, Lucy Jane, Sophronia Kingman, 
Charles Kingman, of further mention ; 
Helen Eugenia ; and Isabel Warner, who 
married George M. Green and resides in 
New York, the only one now living. 

(IX) Charles Kingman Brewster, the 

youngest son of Elisha Huntington and 

Sophronia Martha (Kingman) Brewster, 

was born in Worthington, Massachusetts, 



June II, 1843, there resided all his life, 
and died September 30, 1908. He was edu- 
cated in Worthington and Westfield 
schools, and began his business career in 
his father's store. Mercantile life was 
congenial to him and he devoted his busi- 
ness life to the development and manage- 
ment of E. H. Brewster & Son. From 
clerk he advanced to manager, from man- 
ager to partner, and in 1878, when his 
father died, he succeeded him as head of 
the firm. He was a director of the Hamp- 
shire Mutual Fire Insurance Company, 
and a trustee of the Northampton Insti- 
tution for Savings, and was a man very 
highly regarded in business circles. His 
life closely paralleled that of his honored 
father in many particulars, and he held 
some of the same public honors. He was 
for many years a commissioner of Hamp- 
shire county, and in 1889 represented his 
district in the Massachusetts Legislature. 
He was also town clerk for many years, 
did a great deal of conveyancing, and set- 
tled many estates. He was the author of 
a revised edition of "Rice's History of 
Worthington." Kindly-hearted, cour- 
teous and gentlemanly, he had many 
friends, and he left to posterity a life 
record of usefulness and honor. 

Charles K. Brewster married, at Worth- 
ington, February 22, 1866, Selina Sophia 
Baldwin, who died September 27, 1917, 
aged seventy-seven years, daughter of 
Chauncey and Harriett Adaline (Hume) 
Baldwin; the latter named died November 
21, 1872. They were the parents of seven 
children: i. Sophronia Ernestine, born 
in 1866, died in 1870. 2. Grace Baldwin, 
born in 1869, died in 1873. 3. Elisha 
Hume, of further mention. 4. Sarah Har- 
riet, born March 6, 1874; married Leon 
Martin Conwell, of Somerville, Massachu- 
setts, and had two children, Agnes and 
Charles Russell Conwell. 5. Charles 

Huntington, born February 14, 1877; a 
business man of Middletown, Connecti- 
cut ; married Jennie Johnson, and has chil- 
dren, Charles Dart and Janet Brewster. 
6. Howard Chauncey, born December 24, 
1879 ; now residing in Holyoke. 7. King- 
man, born December 24, 1882; a gradu- 
ate of Amherst College, class of 1906, and 
Harvard Law School; he, however, took 
prominent rank in manufacturing and was 
president of the Millers Falls Company ; 
he married Florence Besse, and has a 
daughter, Mary Kingman, and a son, 
Kingman, Jr. ; they reside in Springfield. 
(X) Elisha Hume Brewster, eldest son 
of Charles Kingman and Selina Sophia 
(Baldwin) Brewster, was born in Worth- 
ington, Massachusetts, September 10, 
1871, and there attended the public 
schools. He completed college prepara- 
tory study at Williston Seminary, East- 
hampton, Massachusetts, and later pre- 
pared for the profession of law at Boston 
University, receiving his LL. B., class of 
1896. He began practice in Springfield 
the same year, and in 1899 formed a part- 
nership with Robert A. Knight. The firm 
then became Ellis, Brewster & Ellis. This 
continued until February i, 1920, when 
Mr. Ralph Ellis retired from the firm and 
it became Brewster & Ellis. On March 
I, 1921, Mr. John H. Mitchell was admit- 
ted and the firm became Brewster, Ellis & 
Mitchell, its present title, the firm con- 
ducting a large practice in the State and 
Federal courts. Mr. Brewster is a learned 
and careful lawyer, prepares his cases 
with the greatest care, presents them 
strongly to the court, and is rated a wise, 
conscientious adviser. He is a member 
of the local and State bar associations, and 
ranks high in the esteem of his brethren 
of the profession. In politics a Republi- 
can, Mr. Brewster has served the party as 
chairman of the City Republican Commit- 


tee, and as representative to the Legisla- 
ture of 1902-03-04. He is a Master Mason 
of Springfield Lodge ; and in the Ancient 
Accepted Scottish Rite has attained the 
thirty-second degree. He is also a noble 
of Melha Temple, Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine. His clubs are the Nayasset, Win- 
throp, Springfield Country, and Spring- 
field Realty. 

Mr. Brewster married (first), June 20, 
1900, Alice Thompson, of Springfield, 
daughter of Albert K. and Martha C. 
Thompson. Mrs. Brewster died June 6, 
1904, leaving three daughters : Alice, born 
May 12, 1902; Harriet, and Elizabeth, 
born June 5, 1904. Mr. Brewster mar- 
ried (second), June 28, 1906, Jessie Wal- 
den Cook, daughter of Charles L. Cook, 
of Greenfield. 

SOUTHMAYD, Frederick Giles, 

Veteran of Spanisli-Aiuerican War. 

The family of this name, who was rep- 
resented in the present generation by 
Major Frederick Giles Southmayd, of 
Springfield, Massachusetts, now deceased, 
stands among the oldest and most promi- 
nent in New England. The name "South- 
meade" was recorded in Kent, England, 
prior to 1620. That the family ranks 
among the highly respected and influen- 
tial famines of New England is evident 
from the many alliances by marriage with 
various highly honored families of that 
section of the United States. 

(I) William Southmayd, or South- 
meade, was born in England in 1615. 
Tradition says that he was the son of Sir 
William Southmayd, of Devonshire. All 
of the Southmayds in this country, so far 
as known, are the lineal descendants of 
this William Southmayd, who came to 
America and settled in Gloucester, Mas- 
sachusetts (Cape Ann). He was a sea 

captain by occupation, his vessels plying 
between Portland, Maine, Salem and Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, and New London, 
Connecticut. He removed from Glouces- 
ter to Salem, and from there to Boston, 
where he spent the remainder of his days, 
his death occurring there in 1646. He 
married, November 28, 1642, Milicent 
Addis, eldest daughter of William Addis, 
of Gloucester. Two children were born 
to William Southmayd and wife, namely: 
John, born in Salem, October 26, 1643, ^ 
sea captain, died at sea, unmarried ; and 
William (2), of further mention. Mili- 
cent (Addis) Southmayd married (sec- 
ond), in 1651, Deacon Thomas Beebe, to 
whom she bore four children. They re- 
moved to New London, Connecticut, 
where her death occurred in 1699. 

(II) William (2) Southmayd, second 
son of William (i) and Milicent (Addis) 
Southmayd, was bnrn in Salem, Massa- 
chusetts, September 17, 1645. Like his 
father, he was a sea captain, serving 1"^ 
the West Indian trade. He removed to 
Middletown, Connecticut, his name ap- 
pearing on the records in 1667, and be- 
came the owner of several pieces of prop- 
erty. His death occurred there in 1702. 
He married (first), October 16, 1673, 
Esther Hamlin, born December 15, 1655, 
in Middletown, daughter of Captain Giles 
and Esther (Crow) Hamlin. She died 
November 11, 1682, leaving five children: 
William, born July 24, 1674, died in in- 
fancy ; John, born August 23, 1676, gradu- 
ated from Harvard College, minister of 
the Congregational church of Waterbury, 
died there, November 14, 1755; William, 
born March 6, 1679, died in young man- 
hood ; Giles, born January 17, 1680, died 
May 27, 1728; Esther, born October 28, 
1682, died December 29, 1682. William 
Southmayd married (second) about 1684, 
Margaret Allyn, born in 1660, died in 


1733, daughter of Hon. John and Hannah 
(Smith) Allyn, of Hartford. Hon. John 
Allyn was secretary of the Hartford Col- 
ony for thirty-four years, and also served 
two years as acting governor during the ab- 
sence of Governor Winthrop in England. 
Hannah (Smith) Allyn was the daugh- 
ter of Henry and Ann (Pynchon) Smith, 
the latter-named a sister of Major John 
Pynchon. Seven children were born to 
William (2) and Margaret (Allyn) South- 
mayd : Allyn, born February 7, 1685, died 
in St. Johns, Newfoundland, unmarried ; 
Daniel, born in September, 1687, died No- 
vember 22), 1705; Margaret, born August 
II, 1691, died June 11, 1773, widow of 
Seth Wetmore, Sr. ; Ann, born 1693 ; Jo- 
seph, born March 15, 1695, died June 8, 
1772; William (3), of further mention; 
Milicent, born January 3, 1700, died De- 
cember 12, 1717. 

(III) William (3) Southmayd, fourth 
son of William (2) and Margaret (Allyn) 
Southmayd, was born in Middletown, 
Connecticut, January 9, 1699, died Octo- 
ber 15, 1747. He was a farmer in Middle- 
town, later purchased a lot on the east 
side of Main street, erected a house, but 
died before it was completed. He mar- 
ried, March 26, 1729, Mehitable Dwight, 
born in 1705, died in 1755, daughter of 
Rev. Josiah and Mary (Partridge) 
Dwight, of Woodstock. Six children were 
born to them, as follows : Ann, born in 
1730; Allyn, born in 1732; William, born 
in 1735 ; Giles, of further mention ; Par- 
tridge Samuel, born in 1739; Timothy, 
born in 1742. 

(IV) Giles Southmayd, third son of 
William (3) and Mehitable (Dwight) 
Southmayd, was born June 2y, 1738, in 
IMiddletown, Connecticut, died there, De- 
cember 24, 183 1. He followed in the foot- 
steps of his father, and was an agricul- 
turist in Middletown during the active 

years of his life. He married (first), No- 
vember 12, 1765, Elizabeth Rockwell, 
born in 1740, died in 1777, daughter of 
William and Hannah Rockwell. They 
were the parents of one child, Giles, born 
January 17, 1777, died the same year. Mr. 
Southmayd married (second), January 29, 
1778, Lois Rockwell, born in 1748, died in 
1829, daughter of Ebenezer Rockwell. 
Two children were born to them, as fol- 
lows: Elizabeth, born in 1779; and Giles, 
of further mention. 

(V) Giles (2) Southmayd, only son of 
Giles (i) and Lois (Rockwell) South- 
mayd, was born in Middletown, Connecti- 
cut, July 12, 1782, and died there, March 
15, 1841. He also devoted his attention 
to agriculture, conducting his operations 
in Middletown. He married, February 
21, 1814, Sophia Whetmore (also spelled 
Wetmore), born May 25, 1788, died March 
8, 1844, daughter of Oliver and Sarah 
(Brewster) Wetmore. Nine children were 
born to them, namely: John Dobson, of 
further mention; Thomas, born in 1817; 
Elizabeth, born in 1819; Charles, born in 
1821 ; Timothy W., born in 1823; Lucy, 
born in 1825; Sarah W., born in 1829; 
William W., born in 1830; Lucy, born in 

(VI) John Dobson Southmayd, eldest 
son of Giles (2) and Sophia (Whetmore) 
Southmayd, was born in Middletown, 
Connecticut, May 15, 1815, and died there. 
October 11, 1847, at the early age of 
thirty-two years. He was also the owner 
and operator of an extensive farm in Mid- 
dletown, from which he derived a com- 
fortable livelihood, being a man of enter- 
prise, energy and judgment, three essen- 
tials in the successful management of any 
line of business. He married, August 14, 
1844, Harriet Hurlbut North, born in Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, November 21, 1819, 
died in 1899, aged eighty years, daughter 


of James and Mary (Dowd) North. They 
were the parents of one child, Frederick 
Giles, of further mention. 

(VII) Frederick Giles Southmayd, son 
of John Dobson and Harriet Hurlbut 
(North) Southmayd, was born in Middle- 
town, Connecticut, December 3, 1845, and 
died December 28, 1921. He was only two 
years of age when his father died, so he 
lived on the farm with his grandfather, 
assisting with the work, and attending 
the public schools of Middletown until 
the age of fourteen years. Upon the open- 
ing of hostilities between the North and 
South, he became an employee in the plant 
of the Savage Arms Company, owned by 
Messrs. North and Savage, the first-named 
being his maternal grandfather, James 
North. In 1863 he came to Springfield, 
Massachusetts, and secured employment 
in the United States Armory, remaining 
thus employed until 1889, a period of more 
than a quarter of a century, and in the 
latter-named year was appointed city 
marshal of Springfield, which office he 
held for three years. Later, he was ap- 
pointed agent of the State Board of Chari- 
ties, with ofifices in Boston, in which 
capacity he served until December, 1915, 
when he retired from active business. 
During the Spanish-American War, Mr. 
Southmayd received a commission and 
went to Cuba as major, being connected 
with the Second Regiment, Massachu- 
setts Infantry, a battalion of four com- 
panies, and served throughout, the period 
of the war. He kept in touch with his 
former comrades by membership in the 
Veterans of Foreign Wars. He was also 
a member and filled all the chairs of Ros- 
well Lee Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Springfield ; also was a member 
of the Winthrop Club. 

Mr. Southmayd married, in 1880, Jennie 
W. Nutting, of Amherst, Massachusetts, 

daughter of John H. and Harriet (Moore) 
Nutting. Three children were born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Southmayd, as follows: Pearl 
Agnes ; Leon Nutting, of further mention ; 
and Philip, deceased. 

(VIII) Leon Nutting Southmayd, eld- 
est son of Frederick Giles and Jennie 
W. (Nutting) Southmayd, was born in 
Springfield, Massachusetts. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools of his native 
city. His first employment was with 
Forbes & Wallace, of Springfield, and his 
next with the Fisk Rubber Company, also 
of Springfield, being employed in the 
office and on the road, his connection with 
them dating from 1906 to the present time 
(1921). He married Irene Kline, and 
they are the parents of one child, Ger- 
aldine Kline, born in March, 1913. 

WHITNEY, Charles Brown, 

Man of Great Enterprise. 

Charles Brown Whitney, treasurer of 
the Wright & Ditson Victor Company, of 
Springfield, comes of an old English fam- 
ily, the surname Whitney being origi- 
nally a place name derived from the name 
of the family seat in County Hereford, 
upon the extreme west border of England, 
adjoining Wales. The name of the place 
doubtless came from the appearance of 
the river, which means in Saxon "white 
water." The arms of the Whitney family 
are thus described: 

Arms — Azure, a cross chequy and gules. 
Crest — A bull's head couped, sable, armed ar- 
gent, the points gules. 

The English ancestry of Charles Brown 
Whitney, of Springfield, Massachusetts, 
has been traced as far back as Turstin 
"the Fleming," otherwise Turs tin de 
Wigmore, who was a follower of William 
the Conqueror, and was granted exten- 



sive tracts of land in Herefordshire and in 
the Marches of Wales. Eustace, son of 
Turstin, or one of his descendants, took 
the surname De Whitney from Whitney, 
where his principal castle was located. 
The estate comprised over 2,000 acres and 
remained in the family until 1893, when it 
was sold, there being no member of the 
family to hold it. The castle has entirely 
disappeared, but its ruins are believed to 
be under the river Wye, which has, during 
centuries, changed its course. In the 
thirteenth recorded generation Sir Rob- 
ert Whitney, who was a member of 
Parliament from Herefordshire, married, 
October, 1555, Sibyl Baskerville, daugh- 
ter of Sir James Baskerville, a descendant 
in the eighteenth generation from Wil- 
liam the Conqueror and his wife Matilda, 
daughter of Baldwin of Flanders, grand- 
son of Sir Robert, King of France. John 
Whitney, a great-great-grandson of Rob- 
ert and Sibyl (Baskerville) Whitney, was 
a grandson of Robert (2) Whitney, son 
of Sir Robert (i) Whitney, and was a son 
of Thomas Whitney, a gentleman of 
Westminster, and his wife Mary, daugh- 
ter of John Bray, of Westminster. 

(I) John Whitney was born in Eng- 
land, 1659, ^^^ ^^^^ ^^ Watertown, Mas- 
sachusetts, June I, 1673. He attended 
Westminster school until fourteen years 
of age, then was apprenticed to William 
Pring, of the Marches Tailor Company, 
one of the famous trade guilds of that day. 
He served seven years, until twenty-one 
years of age, then married, and after this 
made his home at Isleworth on the 
Thames and in London until September, 
1635, when with his wife, Elinor, and his 
sons, John, Richard, Nathaniel, Thomas, 
and Jonathan, he sailed in the ship "Eliza- 
beth and Ann," landing a few weeks later 
in New England. He settled in Watertown, 
in June, 1635, bought land, was made a 

freeman March 3, 1636, appointed consta- 
ble 1641, selectman, continuously, 1638- 
55, and was for many years one of the 
foremost men of the town. His wife 
Elinor died in Watertown, May 11, 1659, 
and he married (second) Judith Clements, 
whom he also survived. His nine chil- 
dren were all by his first wife. His five 
eldest sons and a daughter Mary, who 
died young, were all born in England. 
His other sons, Joshua, Caleb, and Benja- 
min, were born in Watertown. In the 
line of Charles Brown Whitney descent 
is traced through Richard, the second son. 

(II) Richard Whitney, son of John and 
Elinor Whitney, was baptized at Isle- 
worth, January 6, 1623-24, and was 
brought to Watertown, Massachusetts, 
by his parents in 1635, was admitted a 
freeman, May 7, 165 1, and he was a pro- 
prietor of the town of Stow, June 3, 1680, 
probably having moved there when Stow 
was a part of Concord. On April 7, 1697, 
he was released from military training, 
being over seventy years of age. He 
married, March 19, 1650, Martha Cold- 
man, and they were the parents of eight 
children, descent in the branch being 
traced through their eldest son, Moses. 

(III) Moses Whitney, son of Richard 
and Martha (Coldman) Whitney, was 
born in Watertown, Massachusetts, Au- 
gust I, 1655, and resided in Stow and Sud- 
bury. He was a soldier in King Philip's 
War in 1676, and the following year was 
"released" from duty. He had land 
granted him at Stow, which he sold in 
1681, and he owned land in Sudbury, 
which he sold in 1692. He married, Sep- 
tember 30, 1696, Sarah Knight, of Stow. 
They were the parents of eight children, 
descent in this line being through Jonas, 
the third son. 

(IV) Jonas Whitney, son of Moses and 
Sarah (Knight) Whitney, was born in 



Stow, Massachusetts, February i, 1699, 
and died September 18, 1770, a resident 
of Stow and of Harvard, Massachusetts. 
He married (first), January 19, 1723, 
Dorcas Wood, who died January 22, 1725. 
He married (second), March 12, 1726, 
Margaret Stratton. The two children of 
his first wife died young. By the second 
wife there were seven children, this 
branch being traced through Timothy, 
the third son. 

(V) Squire Timothy Whitney, son of 
Jonas and Margaret (Stratton) Whitney, 
was born in Harvard, Massachusetts, Feb- 
ruary I, 1729, died June 3, 1803, a resi- 
dent of Harvard and of Petersham, Mas- 
sachusetts. He married, in Harvard, May 
20, 1752, Alice Whitney, born April 13, 
1733, <ii6d June, 1803. They were the 
parents of fourteen children, the next in 
line in this branch being Simon, the third 

(VI) Simon Whitney, son of Squire 
Timothy and Alice (Whitney) Whitney, 
was born in Harvard, Massachusetts, June 
28, 1756, and died in Petersham, Massa- 
chusetts, March 12, 1826. He married, 
in Petersham, December 25, 1783, Lucy 
Hammond, of Newton, Massachusetts, 
born in Petersham, December 24, 1766, 
died in J846, daughter of Enoch Ham- 
mand. Descent is traced through their 
son Simon (2), the sixth child and third 

(VII) Simon (2) Whitney, son of 
Simon (i) and Lucy (Hammond) Whit- 
ney, was born in Petersham, Massachu- 
setts, November 25, 1795, died January 24, 
1846, a resident of Scituate, Massachu- 
setts. He was a sign painter, and of some 
local reputation as an artist. He married 
Sarah Holmes, and they were the parents 
of four children, George Reddington, the 
eldest, being head of the eighth genera- 
tion in this branch. 

(VIII) George Reddington Whitney, 
son of Simon (2) and Sarah (Holmes) 
Whitney, was born in Duxbury, Massa- 
chusetts, May 27, 1829, and died at Chico- 
pee Falls, Massachusetts, in 1907. He 
was a man of more than ordinary educa- 
tion, and was a graduate of Boston Den- 
tal College. He was later a member of 
the college faculty, and is said to have 
made the first set of artificial teeth on 
rubber made in this country. He prac- 
ticed dentistry in Brockton, Massachu- 
setts, for many years. He was also a well- 
known musician, organist of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church in Brockton, and 
for years leader of the Brockton Brass 
Band. He was an official member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, and a char- 
ter member of Brockton Lodge, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, of which 
he was at the time of his death the oldest 
member. His last years were spent with 
his son, Charles B. George R. Whitney 
married, in Provincetown, Massachusetts, 
June 27, 1852, Pauline Brown Hilliard, 
born February 28, 1833, died in 1890, 
daughter of Thomas Hilliard. Children: 
I. George Hilliard, born July 4, 1854, now 
residing in Chicago, assistant manager of 
the Wright & Ditson Victor Company ; 
married Addie May Ellis, and they are the 
parents of seven children. 2. Frank 
Thomas, born February 18, 1856; married 
Marianne McCauley. 3. Arthur Wilson, 
born January 18, 1858; married Rowena 
Locke, and moved to Lowell, Massachu- 
setts. 4. Charles Brown, of further men- 
tion. 5. Fred Holmes, born October 12, 
1862, died 1912. 6. Lena Leonard, mar- 
ried (first) William A. Welcome, (sec- 
ond) George A. Winn. 7. Adeline May, 
died 1914, wife of John Fielding. 

(IX) Charles Brown Whitney, fourth 
son of George Reddington and Pauline 
Brown (Hilliard) Whitney, was born in 



Brockton, Massachusetts, October 4, i860. 
He was educated in the public schools, 
finishing with high school in 1878. He 
became identified with the Winslow 
Roller Skate, and becoming an expert 
skater, travelled, giving exhibitions of 
fancy skating. Later he was connected 
with A. G. Spalding & Brothers, of 
Chicago, and there was in charge of their 
skating rink and gymnasium, designed 
and operated to encourage athletic sports. 
He remained with the Spalding Company 
fourteen years, becoming manager of their 
retail department in Chicago. Sickness 
in his family demanded a climatic change, 
and for about three and a half years Den- 
ver, Colorado, was the family home, he 
there establishing the sporting goods firm 
of C. B. Whitney & Company. 

In 1893, during the World Fair, Mr. 
Whitney returned to Chicago and during 
that summer was again in the employ of 
A. G. Spalding & Brothers. After his 
return to Denver, he closed out his inter- 
est in C. B. Whitney & Company by 
merger with A. G. Spalding & Brothers. 
For several years thereafter he remained 
with that company, but finally formed a 
connection with the Overman Wheel 
Company and for a time was in charge 
of their Denver athletic interests. Later 
he came to the company's plant at Chico- 
pee Falls, Massachusetts, and was in 
charge of the manufacture of athletic 
goods, holding this position until 1898. 
Mr. Whitney then bought the athletic 
goods department and formed the Victor 
Sporting Goods Company, continuing 
business in that line and using the old 
Overman plant at Chicopee Falls as head- 
quarters until 1900, when he removed the 
business to Springfield. He again organ- 
ized a company, this time in Denver, for 
the sale of athletic goods, trading under 
the name of the Whitney Sporting Goods 

Company, of which he is vice-president 
and director. He later returned to Spring- 
field, and on January i, 1918, the Victor 
Sporting Goods Company consolidated 
with the Wright & Ditson Company, the 
business continuing as the Wright & Dit- 
son Victor Company. During the life of 
the Victor Company, Mr. Whitney was 
its treasurer, and at the present time he 
is still treasurer of the company and man- 
ager of the Springfield factory. 

The company are very large manufac- 
turers of athletic and sporting goods, and 
make and sell a majority of the tennis 
balls used in the United States. The head- 
quarters of the Wright & Ditson Victor 
Company are in New York, but branches 
are maintained all over the United States. 
Mr. Whitney is one of the most capable 
athletic goods manufacturers in the coun- 
try, his entire life having been devoted to 
that line of business. He stands high in 
the business world, and in his own sphere 
has no superiors. He is a member of the 
corporation of the Springfield Institution 
for Savings, and a director of the Morris 
Plan Bank. 

Mr. Whitney was one of the organizers 
of the Eastern States Agricultural and In- 
dustrial Exposition of Springfield, of 
which he is a member of the executive 
committee, director, and assistant treas- 
urer, and he had charge of the laying out 
of the grounds and of the erection of the 
buildings. This exposition has, since its 
organization in 1916, made most mar- 
velous progress. He is also assistant 
treasurer of the Eastern States Agricul- 
tural and Industrial League, affiliated 
with the Eastern States Exposition. In 
all of its affairs Mr. Whitney has taken 
a very active part. 

He is interested in all outdoor sports, 
golf now being his favorite game and 
recreation. He is a member of the 



grounds committee of the Springfield 
Country Club. He is chairman of the 
physical training department of the Young 
Men's Christian Association ; a member 
of the Chamber of Commerce, of which 
he was a director for three years ; a mem- 
ber of the Oxford Golf Club, of Chicopee 
Falls ; of the Denver Athletic Club and 
Denver Country Club, both of Denver, 
Colorado ; of the Nayasset Club ; the Ro- 
tary Club, of Springfield, and the Hamp- 
den County League. He has also been 
interested in light harness horses. 

Mr. Whitney married (first), Decem- 
ber 22, 1882, Clara Bird Clark, born Au- 
gust 29, 1861, died November 2, 1891, 
leaving a daughter, Edith Marian, born 
September 11, 1883, who married Junius 
B. Chase, now deceased. They were the 
parents of three children : Marjory, 
Catherine J., and June B. Mr. Whitney 
married (second), January 11, 1893, Kate 
Portis, of Pine Bluff, Arkansas. They are 
the parents of a daughter, Merle Portis, 
v/ife of Luther E. Coleman. Mr. and Mrs. 
Coleman are the parents of two children : 
Elizabeth Lee and Charles Whitney Cole- 

ROGERS, Edward Covell, 

Civil War Veteran, Manufacturer. 

Now the retired veteran paper manu- 
facturer and a veteran of the Civil War, 
the memory of Edward Covell Rogers, of 
Springfield, carries back far into the first 
half of the nineteenth century and to early 
days in the paper manufacturing business 
in Massachusetts. He rose from a book- 
keeper's position to the presidency of the 
Massasoit and Chester Paper Manufac- 
turing Company, and in 1899, when those 
mills passed under the control of the Amer- 
ican Writing Paper Company, he contin- 
ued as manager of the Chester mills until 
1917, when he retired. The home of the 

Rogers family was in Vermont, going 
thence to Western New York, where 
Edward Covell Rogers was born. From 
Western New York the family moved to 
Kent county, Michigan, but in 1856, at 
the age of eighteen years, Edward C. 
Rogers left the West for New England, 
locating in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
where he rose to eminence as a paper 
manufacturer, and now resides (1919). 
His paternal grandmother Hannah (Web- 
ster) Rogers, was a first cousin of Daniel 
Webster, the statesman. 

Along paternal lines he traces to Rob- 
ert Rogers, born in England, in 1625, died 
in Newbury, Massachusetts, December 
23, 1662. He located first in Boston, but 
in 1651 removed to Newbury. By his 
wife Susanna he had sons, Robert, 
Thomas and John. 

Descent from Robert and Susanna 
Rogers in this branch is through their 
youngest son, John Rogers, born March 
13, 1653-54, and his wife, Dina (Christie) 
Rogers ; their son, Robert Rogers, born 
in 1682, died in 1723, and his first wife, 
Dorothy (Smith) Rogers; their son, Dan- 
iel Rogers, born in 1709, died in 1780, and 
his wife, Sarah Rogers ; their son, Robert 
Rogers, born in 1747, died 1820, and his 
wife, Rose (Hanson) Rogers ; their son, 
Hanson, born in Walden, Vermont, March 
4, 1776, died October 23, i860, and his 
wife, Hannah (Webster) Rogers, born 
May 14, 1777, died September 29, 1867; 
their son, John Rogers, and his wife, Bet- 
sey Nye (Covell) Rogers; their son, Ed- 
ward Covell Rogers, of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, of the eighth generation of the 
family founded in New England by Rob- 
ert Rogers. 

John Rogers, youngest of the four sons 
of Hanson and Hannah (Webster) 
Rogers, was born in Walden, Caledonia 
county, Vermont, died in Alpine, Kent 
county, Michigan, December 23, 1864. ^^ 


1837 he journeyed to Monroe county, New 
York, and there engaged in farming for 
eight years, removing to Walden, and in 
1845 to Alpine, Kent county, Michigan, 
where he resided until his death. He was 
a prosperous farmer of Kent county, a 
member of the School Board, and a man 
ot advanced educational views, which he 
carried into effect in the schools of Alpine 
so far as possible. He was a Whig in pol- 
itics, genial in temperament, a good story 
teller and most hospitable. He married, 
April 10, 1828, Betsey Nye Covell, born 
April 20, 1808, died September 19, 1880, 
daughter of Philip and Lois (Nye) Covell, 
her father a pioneer settler in Walden, 
Vermont. She was a member of the Bap- 
tist church, and the mother of eight chil- 
dren ; three daughters, two died in child- 
hood, and the other daughter was in 
Grand Rapids, Michigan, in 1889; and 
sons : James A., Chauncey L., Edward 
Covell, Hanson H., and Martin. 

Edward Covell Rogers was born in 
Ogden, Monroe county, New York, May 
6, 1838, became a resident of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, in 1856, and during the 
sixty-three years which have since inter- 
vened that city has been his home. He 
was seven years of age when taken by his 
parents to Alpine, Michigan, and there he 
attended the district schools, later attend- 
ing grammar school in Grand Rapids, 
seven miles distant from his home. His 
maternal uncle, C. L. Covell, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, visited the Rogers family 
in Alpine, and offered his nephew a home 
if he would return with him and finish his 
studies in the better schools of Spring- 
field. It was not until 1856 that the lad 
was able to avail himself of the offer, and 
there for two years he attended high 
school, working for his uncle Covell, a 
lumber dealer, during vacation periods 
and making his home with them. After 
finishing his studies, his uncle secured him 

a bookkeeper's position with Greenleaf & 
Taylor Manufacturing Company, a paper 
manufacturing company of which Mr. 
Covell was a director. He also continued 
to assist his uncle. At this plant which 
stood on Main street, opposite the old 
Massasoit House and had once been used 
by the Abolitionist, John Brown, as head- 
quarters for his wool business, Mr. Rogers 
gained his first insight into paper manu- 
facturing methods, and continued until 
1862, when he enlisted in Company A, 
46th Regiment, Volunteer Infantry, going 
to the front as sergeant. The regiment 
was sent to Newbern, North Carolina, by 
steamer, and was engaged in the fighting 
in and around Newbern, and saw service 
under various commanders, returning to 
his home with honorable discharge at the 
end of his term of enlistment, holding the 
rank of orderly sergeant, and in fairly 
good health, having safely escaped the 
perils of war. 

Upon his return from the army, Mr. 
Rogers returned to his position with 
Greenleaf & Taylor Manufacturing Com- 
pany, continuing as bookkeeper until 
1866, in which year, while retaining his 
Springfield residence, he accepted the of- 
fice of treasurer of the Holyoke Paper 
Company, which office he retained until 
1868, when he resigned and returned to 
fill the position of treasurer and manager 
of the old firm of Greenleaf & Taylor 
Manufacturing Company, with whom he 
first began business life. That firm hav- 
ing a capital of $100,000 in 1871, was able 
to increase its capital to $300,000, and by 
special act of the Massachusetts Legisla- 
ture changed its name to the Massasoit 
Paper Manufacturing Company. They also 
built another mill at Holyoke in 1872, 
where they located their various offices 
and established their headquarters, and 
Mr. Rogers finally beCame president of 
the company. The Massasoit Company 


was one of the largest in the country, hav- 
ing an output of six tons of finished writ- 
ing paper per day, and giving employment 
to about one hundred and fifty people. 

During all the time this business was 
progressing at Holyoke, the company was 
carrying on another mill at Huntington, 
Massachusetts, with seventy-five em- 
ployees, making two and one-half tons of 
finished paper daily. Of that company 
Mr. Rogers was also president, succeed- 
ing his uncle, C. L. Covell, the former 
president of both the Massasoit and the 
Chester Paper Company. In 1899 the 
Massasoit and Chester Paper companies 
were merged with the American Writing 
Paper Company, Mr. Rogers retiring from 
the presidency of both to accept the man- 
agement of the Chester Mill at Hunting- 
ton. He continued the active, capable 
manager of that plant until 1917, when he 
resigned and retired after more than half 
a century's connection with the manu- 
facture of paper as an official, 1866-1917. 
He was at that time one of the oldest men 
in the business in point of years of ser- 
vice. Although now retired from the 
many positions he held, he was for a time 
prior to this, president of the Springfield 
Printing & Binding Company. 

Mr. Rogers was a member of the Na- 
tional Paper Makers' Association, a body 
composed of all the paper manufacturers 
in the United States, and was for two 
years its president, and previously was 
for two years its secretary and treasurer. 
He was one of the directors of the Paper 
Mill Fire Insurance Company of Boston, 
of which he was one of the originators ; 
for many years was director of the John 
Hancock National Bank, also of the 
United Electric Light Company, being 
one of the active promoters of the lat- 
ter organization. He was one of the 
originators and early directors of the 
Association for Improved Tenement 

Dwellings, and also of the Home Na- 
tional Bank of Holyoke, withdrawing 
from both for want of time. He was a 
stockholder of the Hodges Fibre Com- 
pany of Indian Orchard, and treasurer of 
the Union Relief Association. He is vice- 
president and a director of the Saugerties 
Manufacturing Company, Saugerties, New 
York. In 1888 he was an elector on the 
Republican National ticket, was a mem- 
ber of the Common Council from Ward 
Four, for two years, and the year follow- 
ing he was elected president of Common 
Council on the Republican ticket. Mr. 
Rogers was a member of a prominent lit- 
erary club, is a member of Wilcox Post, 
Grand Army of the Republic, of Spring- 
field ; belongs to the First Congregational 
Church, with which he has been connected 
since 1858, filling at different times the 
office of treasurer of the parish. He was 
one of the twelve founders of the School 
for Christian Workers, and from its be- 
ginning served on its executive board. 

Edward C. Rogers married, June 25, 
1868, Eliza B. Reynolds, of Springfield, 
daughter of Daniel Reynolds, who was 
born in East Hartford, Connecticut, and 
left an orphan at an early age. He came to 
Springfield when a boy, learned the trade 
of blacksmith, and served in the Civil War 
as inspector of guns of the United States 
army. He was also an alderman, serving on 
the first board after Springfield was made 
a city. Mr. Reynolds was a prominent 
Mason, belonging to the Knights Tem- 
plar, and for many years was a deacon of 
the First Church. He married Emily 
Bliss, of Springfield, who died January 7, 
1861. Mrs. Rogers was a member of the 
Congregational church, and was very ac- 
tive in philanthropic and society work. 
She was one of the thirteen originators of 
the Women's Club, director and secretary 
for many years ; was also one of the orig- 
inators of the Home for Aged Women, 



and was for a long time secretary of the 
board of managers. Mrs. Rogers passed 
away May 4, 1917. Mr. and Mrs. Rogers 
were the parents of five children : Ed- 
ward M., died when nine years old; Julia 
Covell ; Walter, died in infancy ; Mabel, 
died when two years old ; Clifford R., now 
residing in Akron, Ohio; he started with 
the Goodyear Tire Company, of Akron, 
Ohio, remaining there about two years ; 
he was then called to Atlanta, then back 
to Akron, into the efficiency department, 
where he remained for some time, when 
he took a position with the Faultless Rub- 
ber Company of Ashland, Ohio, under Mr. 
Thomas Miller, which position he still 
holds ; he married Rea S. Shinn. 

ROYCE, Charles Andrew, 

Estimable Citizen. 

For thirty-six years, 1879-1915, Charles 
Andrew Royce was head of the Royce 
Laundry Company, of Springfield, being 
its founder, owner, and manager, and only 
retiring about two years prior to his death, 
which occurred in 191 5. The Royce Laun- 
dry, which he founded, was not only the 
oldest modern laundry in Springfield, 
but the largest and best known. Mr. 
Royce was a man of sterling worth, a 
valuable citizen, and, as a neighbor and 
friend, was most highly esteemed. He 
was deeply interested in family history, 
and for the benefit of those who survive 
him, left a history of the Royce family 
compiled by himself, which is the basis of 
this review of an old and reputable New 
England family. 

(I) The founder of the family, Robert 
Royce, is first of record in Boston, in 1631. 
He was made a freeman April i, 1634. 
In 1644, he returned to England, but in 
1657 returned again to New England. 
After his second coming he was a member 
of the Connecticut General Court, repre- 

senting the town of New London, holding 
that office in 1676. He died in New Lon- 
don, in 1676. He and his wife Eliza had 
children: Joshua, baptized April 16, 1637; 
Nathaniel, March 24, 1639; Patience, 
April I, 1642. His second wife, Mary, 
survived him until after 1688, when she 
was still living on the estate he left. His 
sons, Nehemiah, Samuel Nathaniel, Isaac, 
and Jonathan, removed to Wallingford, 
Connecticut, after marriage in New Lon- 
don, and another son, Lothrop, removed 
there later. In this branch descent is 
traced through Jonathan. 

(II) Jonathan Royce, son of Robert and 
Mary Royce, married, in June, 1660, Deb- 
orah Caulkins, of New London, daughter 
of Hugh Caulkins, a Welshman of promi- 
nence, a member of the Connecticut Leg- 
islature. Hugh Caulkins and his son-in- 
law moved from New London to Nor- 
wich, Connecticut, being among the early 
landowners of that town. Jonathan and 
Deborah (Caulkins) Royce were the par- 
ents of: Eliza, born in January, 1662; 
John, born November 9, 1663 ; Sarah, born 
October, 1665 ; Abigail, born September, 
1667, died 1668; Ruth, born April, 1669; 
Hannah, born April, 1671 ; Abigail (2), 
born April, 1673; Jonathan (2), born Au- 
gust, 1678; Deborah, born August 10, 
1680; Daniel, born August 19, 1682. De- 
scent is traced through Jonathan (2). 

(III) Jonathan (2) Royce, son of Jona- 
than (i) and Deborah (Caulkins) Royce, 
was born in August, 1678. He married 
Ruth Beckwith, and they had a son, Nehe- 

(IV) Nehemiah Royce, son of Jona- 
than (2) and Ruth (Beckwith) Royce, 
removed from Connecticut to Marlow, 
New Hampshire, being one of the first 
settlers of that town. He married Abi- 
gail Gustin, a descendant of Jean Augus- 
tine, a Huguenot, who first settled in 


Portland, Maine, the name becoming 
"Gustin." Nehemiah and Abigail (Gus- 
tin) Royce were the parents of four sons, 
Samuel, Ruel, Elisha, and Jonathan. This 
line traces through Samuel. 

(V) Samuel Royce, son of Nehemiah 
and Abigail (Gustin) Royce, lived in 
Marlow, New Hampshire; was a soldier 
of the Revolution. He was a very reli- 
gious man, and frequently exhorted in 
public, being well known in his neighbor- 
hood for the fervor of his exhortations. 
He married Rebecca Beckwith, and they 
were the parents of a large family, includ- 
ing three sons, Andrew, Eildad, and Sam- 
uel (2). Samuel (i) Royce died in 1802. 
This branch traces through the eldest son, 

(VI) Andrew Royce, son of Samuel 
and Rebecca (Beckwith) Royce, was born 
in 1765, at Marlow, New Hampshire; 
died at Royalton, Vermont, in 1832. He 
removed from Marlow to Sharon, Ver- 
mont, thence to Royalton, where he died. 
For many years he was a deacon of the 
Baptist church, a man remarked for his 
piety. He married (first) Lurena Beck- 
with, daughter of Rev. Eleazer Beckwith, 
a minister of the Baptist church. They 
v^ere the parents of: Daniel; Rebecca, 
married Daniel Miller; Clarice, married 
Samuel Tenney ; Hannah, married Simon 
Johnson ; Delia, married Joseph Ball ; 
Rhoda, married Amos Gale ; Lucinda, 
married Barruch Burpee; Andrew (2), of 
further mention ; Eleazer ; Eunice, mar- 
ried Constant Shepard. The mother of 
these children died in 1810, and Mr. Royce 
married (second) Deborah Dow, and they 
were the parents of three children, Newd, 
Lorenzo and Harriet. 

(VII) Rev. Andrew (2) Royce, son of 
Andrew (i) and Lurena (Beckwith) 
Royce, was born in Marlow, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1805, died in Waterbury, Ver- 


mont, in 1864. He prepared for the prac- 
tice of law, but later entered the ministry 
of the Congregational church. He was 
first settled over the church at Williams- 
town, Vermont, being called from there to 
the church at Barre, Vermont, where he 
remained pastor for seventeen years, his, 
being the longest pastorate in the history 
of that church. While at Barre he found- 
ed Barre Academy, an institution of note 
which furnished fine educational advan- 
tages to the youth of that section for more 
than thirty years. As a pastor he was 
greatly beloved, and as a preacher, elo- 
quent and effective. He was a clear, deep 
thinker, strong in argument and forceful 
as a public speaker. Rev. Andrew Royce 
married Lucina Cooley, a woman of 
blessed memory, richly endowed with 
those attributes of mind and character 
which mark the highest type of woman- 
hood. She survived her husband thirty- 
three years, dying in 1897, aged eighty- 
five. Rev. Andrew and Lucina (Cooley) 
Royce were the parents of nine chil- 
dren : Catherine, deceased, married Lu- 
ther Henry; Alice, died in infancy; Julia, 
deceased, married Sherman Page ; Delia, 
married Edwin Armstrong ; Mary, mar- 
ried George Herenden ; Gertrude, mar- 
ried Wilbur Coe ; Amanda, married Wil- 
liam Ely; Charles Andrew, of further 
mention ; and Helen, who died aged eleven 

(VIII) Charles Andrew Royce, only 
son of Rev. Andrew and Lucina (Cooley) 
Royce, was born in 1852, at Barre, Ver- 
mont, and there attended school until the 
family removed to Waterbury, Vermont. 
His father died when Charles A. was but 
twelve years of age, pnd this caused him 
to leave school when but sixteen. He be- 
came a mercantile clerk, and was em- 
ployed in that capacity in different places 
until 1876, when at North Adams, Mas- 


sachusetts, he became interested in the 
then new and modern system of laundry- 
ing. From North Adams he moved to 
Danbury, Connecticut, and there was en- 
gaged in the same business until 1879, 
when he located in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, there founding the Royce Laundry 
with which he was connected as its active 
manager until ill health compelled him to 
desist, and was owner until his death in 
1913. He was a successful business man 
and served well the city to which he came 
a young man of twenty-seven. He died in 
Springfield, after an illness of four 
months, October 31, 1915. 

Mr. Royce was a member of the city 
commission under Mayor Ellis ; a char- 
ter member of the Board of Trade; and 
member of many of its committees. He 
was for a long time member of North 
Congregational Church ; belonged to the 
Winthrop Club ; and in Free Masonry, 
affiliated with lodge, chapter, command- 
ery. and shrine. He married, December 
31, 1877, Elizabeth Branning, of Lee, 
Massachusetts, daughter of Judge John 
Branning, and his wife, Mary (Gibbs) 
Branning. Children: i. Helen Elizabeth, 
married Dr. Parker Martin Cort. He was 
overseas with the American Expedition- 
ary Forces. He attained the rank of 
major and served in that branch of the 
American army known as the Medical 
Corps. Dr. and Mrs. Cort are the parents 
of a son, Royce Cort. 2. Mary Edith, 
who married Milton B. Reach, and they 
have two children, Milton (2), and Mary 
Lenore Reach. 3. John Branning. 4. 
Robert Andrew, a soldier of the United 
States army, during the World War. 5. 
Catherine, married Major A. D. Minick, of 
Washington, an officer in the regular 
army, who died June, 1919, and they were 
the parents of one child, Branning Minick. 
Mrs. Royce, the mother of these children, 
survives her husband. 

TUCKER, James Francis, (J. Frank), 
Manager of Important Industry. 

As vice-president and general manager 
of the Cave Welding and Manufacturing 
Company, with headquarters at Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, Mr. Tucker has gen- 
eral charge of the plants owned and oper- 
ated by the company in the cities of 
Springfield, Bridgeport, Norwich and 
Holyoke. His connection with the com- 
pany began in 1909, and has since been 
continuous. The company was founded 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, by Henry 
Cave, the peculiar processes employed by 
the company being of well demonstrated 
value. Mr. Tucker is a grandson of Fran- 
cis Tucker, and a son of David C. Tucker, 
the latter born at Elizabeth, New Jersey, 
in 1864, and there died at the early age 
of twenty-eight, in 1892. He was an em- 
ployee of the Adams Express Company in 
New York City for a time, but later 
entered the service of the Pennsylvania 
railroad, and at the time of his death was 
a locomotive fireman. He married (first) 
Jeannette Darling Houston, born at Eliz- 
abeth, New Jersey, daughter of James A. 
Houston, who came from Edinburgh, 
Scotland. Mr. and Mrs. Tucker were the 
parents of an only son, James Francis 
Tucker, of further mention. Mrs. Tucker 
married (second) Henry Cave, founder 
of the Cave Welding Company, of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. They are the par- 
ents of Victor Howitt and Phyllis Jean- 
nette Cave. 

James Francis (J. Frank) Tucker was 
born at Elizabeth, New Jersey, November 
6, 1890. Here he attended the public 
schools, and later completed his studies 
in the high schools of Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, and Providence, Rhode Island. For 
two years he was in the employ of the 
Remington Printing Company, of Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, his connection with 



the Cave Welding- Company beginning at 
Springfield, Massachusetts, in January, 
1909. For two years, after becoming asso- 
ciated with the Cave Welding Company, 
Mr. Tucker traveled in the interests of the 
company, introducing their processes by 
demonstration and sample. He covered 
the New England States in so thorough 
and capable a manner that he was later 
promoted manager of the Holyoke plant. 
The plants of the Cave Welding Company 
now include branch shops in the New 
England cities of Bridgeport, Norwich, 
Holyoke and Springfield, the shops hav- 
ing been established and placed in com- 
mission by Mr. Tucker. The Hartford 
branch was discontinued, February 7, 
1918. Mr. Tucker was first appointed 
manager of the Springfield and Holyoke 
shops, so continuing until January, 1918, 
when he was elected vice-president and 
general manager, having charge of all the 
shops operated by the company He is 
also a director of the company, and finan- 
cially interested in its welfare and con- 
tinued success. 

Mr. Tucker possesses rare musical tal- 
ent, and has been a member of various 
church choirs in different cities, his pres- 
ent engagement being with the High- 
land Baptist Church of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. He is a member of Roswell 
Lee Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Springfield, and in the Scottish Rite 
has attained the thirty-second degree, 
Melha Temple and the Grotto. He is also 
a member of the Chamber of Commerce ; 
Fish and Game Club ; Automobile Club, 
and Masonic Club. He is also a director 
of the McDowell, formerly the Schubert 
Male Choir, and a member of the Masonic 

He married, May 23, 1912, Nellie Le 
Barron Wightman, of Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of William J. and Ella 

(Le Barron) Wightman, her mother a 
descendant of Francis Le Barron, the 
famous surgeon of Plymouth, Massachu- 
setts. Mr, and Mrs. Tucker are the par- 
ents of a daughter, Kathleen Jeannette. 
born June 5, 1916. 

KAYNOR, William Kirk, 

Man of Varied Activities. 

William K. Kaynor, a well known citi- 
zen of Springfield for almost a decade, 
actively identified with its political 
and financial affairs, and a member of the 
board of directors, and manager of the 
Winchester Square Realty Company, is 
a representative of a family of German 
origin, his great-grandfather, a native of 
Germany, being the pioneer ancestor of 
the family in this country, who upon 
coming here located in the State of Penn- 
sylvania, where he followed agricultural 

(II) Peter Kaynor, son of the pioneer 
ancestor, and grandfather of William K. 
Kaynor, was born in Warren, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1823, Upon attaining the age 
when he earned his own livelihood, he 
moved to the State of New York, and 
after a residence of some years there went 
West, locating in Ames, Iowa, where his 
death occurred in the year 1918, at the 
advanced age of ninety-five years. At his 
death he was the oldest member of the 
Masonic fraternity in the State of Iowa. 
He married Mary Aiken, born in 1827; 
died in 191 8, aged ninety-one years. 
Seven children were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Kaynor, namely: Edward, Charles, Wil- 
liam Aiken, of further mention ; Henry, 
Lloyd, Mary, Susannah. 

(III) William Aiken Kaynor, son of 
Peter and Mary (Aiken) Kaynor, and 
father of William K. Kaynor, was born 
in Newfane, Niagara county. New York. 



in 1848. He acquired a practical educa- 
tion in the schools of his native town, and 
throughout his active business career 
gave his attention to the management of a 
hotel, catering to a select patronage, he 
being an ideal host. He married (first) 
Annie Winter, born in Lansing, Michi- 
gan, daughter of William Winter, and six 
children were born of this marriage : 
Catherine, Beatrice, Frank, Warren Fox, 
William Kirk, of further mention ; and 
William Aiken. The father of these chil- 
dren died in 1886, at the early age of 
thirty-eight years. Mrs. Kaynor married 
(second) Joseph B. Stamp, and she bore 
him three children : Joseph B,, Jr., Doro- 
thy, and Donald. 

(IV) William Kirk Kaynor, son of Wil- 
liam Aiken and Annie (Winter) Kay- 
nor, was born in Sanborn, Iowa, Novem- 
ber 29, 1884. He attended school in Spen- 
cer, Iowa, and after completing his studies 
spent the following five years on a ranch 
in South Dakota. In 1903, when nineteen 
years old, he came East and attended the 
Hotchkiss School at Lakeville, Connecti- 
cut, where he prepared for college. He 
then matriculated at Yale College, from 
which institution he was graduated in 
1912, having worked his way through both 
schools. While at Yale, Mr. Kaynor was 
manager of the football team. He took 
an active part in athletics. He also took 
third tennis prize. While in Hotch- 
kiss, through which he worked his way, 
he took an active part in all its athletics, 
and was president of the Literary Society 
and editor-in-chief of school publication. 
He was also class orator, and president of 
senior class, and winner of the Tuttle 

Mr. Kaynor came to Springfield, Alas- 
sachusetts, in 1912, and became identi- 
fied with John Chapin Reed in the Reed 
Realty Trust Company, assuming the 

duties of manager, which he fulfilled up 
to 1917. In 1917 the name was changed 
to the "Winchester Square Realty Com- 
pany," and of this Mr, Kaynor is still 
serving as manager, also a member of its 
board of directors. His long continuance 
in the office, proves his fitness for the 
same, and the increase in business is 
ample evidence of the interest he displays 
in every detail, however trivial it may ap- 
pear. In addition to his main business, he 
is also serving as a member of the board 
of directors, and vice-president of the 
Highland Cooperative Bank. During the 
World War, Mr. Kaynor enlisted in the 
infantry, and was located at Camp Lee 
from August to November, 1918, and 
although he was not required to go over- 
seas he displayed his patriotism and loy- 
alty to his native land by offering his 
services in its behalf. He was at an offi- 
cers' training school when he was dis- 
charged. Mr. Kaynor is a Republican 
and has always taken an active part and 
interest in political aflFairs, and in 1921 
was elected to the City Council from 
Ward Eight ; chairman of Republican 
City Committee. He is a member and 
deacon in Hope Congregational Church, 
Springfield, and holds membership in the 
Winthrop Club, and the E. K. E., a col- 
lege society, and Wolf's Head Senior 

Mr. Kaynor married, June 25, 1912, 
Alice Chapin Reed, of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, daughter of Dr. David Allen 
Reed and his wife, Gratia (Chapin) Reed, 
the latter the daughter of Marvin Chapin, 
of Massout Hotel fame. Four children 
were born to Mr. and Mrs. Kaynor: Wil- 
liam Kirk, Jr., born January 8, 191 5; 
Allen Reed, born January 25, 1917; John 
Chapin, born October 26, 1918; and Ken- 
neth Winter, born January 25, 1920. 


Sttrfee Z. ^eartien 


DEARDEN, Kirke Arthur, 

Man of Fine Character. 

A native son of Massachusetts, K. 
Arthur Dearden from the age of fourteen 
years made his own way in the world, 
beginning- under his father's watchful 
care in the crockery store, operated by 
the latter, and continuing in this for thirty 
years. After retiring from the field of 
merchandise, he became a farmer and cul- 
tivated for a time his own acres in the 
town of Westfield. He was also known in 
court circles from his long service as 
deputy sheriflF, court officer and court crier. 
The Dearden family is of record in Eng- 
lish history as early as the Cromwell 
period, a Major William Dearden serving 
in Cromwell's army. The ancient coat- 
of-arms borne by the family is thus de- 
scribed : 

Arms — A stag standing on a crag. 
Motto — While I live, I serve. 

Allerton Hall, an English estate now in 
Chancery, was once a part of the Dear- 
den domain. 

William Dearden, father of Kirke 
Arthur Dearden, was born in Bury, Eng- 
land, in 1819. He resided in England until 
1842, in which year he came to the United 
States, accompanied by his bride, forty 
days being consumed on the voyage. He 
located in Lowell, Massachusetts, where 
he entered into a contract at his trade in 
one of the mills, he being an expert color 
mixer and manufacturer. For several 
years he remained in the mills of Lowell. 
In 1850 he opened a crockery store in that 
city, and until 1859 was engaged in that 
business there. In that year he disposed of 
his store and came to Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, engaging in the same line of 
business, and opening a store at the corner 
of Main and Fort streets. He continued 
in the crockery business in Springfield for 
twenty years, until 1879, then sold out his 

business and reestablished himself in the 
same line in Northampton, Massachusetts. 
There he continued in active business for 
fifteen years, up to his death, which oc- 
curred in Northampton in May, 1895. 
His death was very sudden, he having 
walked five miles on that day. Mr. Dear- 
den was a man of high character and strict 
integrity, holding his word sacred, and 
never deviating from the strict observance 
of every obligation. He landed in the 
United States with $260 in his pocket and 
a bride on his arm; but with true Eng- 
lish spirit he made up his mind to suc- 
ceed, and concentrated all his energies 
to do so. The result was that he attained 
success in his different ventures, and 
gained an enviable reputation as an able 
business man. 

William Dearden married (first) Sarah 
Fernday, a relative of the present Lord 
Fernday. She was born in England, in 
1819, and died in May, 1855. He married 
(second) Elizabeth Buncher. Children 
of William and Sarah (Fernday) Dear- 
den : Robert Rowland, born March 25, 
1845, editor and owner of the United 
States Review Publishing Company, of 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania ; William Sid- 
ney, born March 19, 1847; John Alfred, 
born January, 1849; Kirke Arthur, of 
further mention ; Ann Amelia, born Feb- 
ruary 23, 1853 ; married C. Eugene Sey- 
mour. William and Elizabeth (Buncher) 
Dearden were the parents of a daughter, 
Margaret M. 

Kirke Arthur Dearden, son of William 
and Sarah (Fernday) Dearden, was born 
in Lowell, Massachusetts, July 2, 1851. 
He was educated in the old Hooker school 
of Springfield, which he attended until 
fourteen years of age ; then attended Bur- 
nett's English and Classical Institute for 
some time. In 1873 he was taken into his 
father's crockery store in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, and taught the business 



in its every detail. He remained in his 
father's employ for fourteen years, then in 
company with a Mr. Harmon, purchased 
the business from his father, and as "Har- 
mon & Dearden" they conducted the busi- 
ness for six years, 1879-1885. In the latter 
named year, Mr. Harmon sold his inter- 
est to a Mr. Quimby, and for three years 
the firm of Quimby & Dearden continued 
the business. In 1888 Mr. Quimby's in- 
terests were purchased by a Mr. Noble, 
and for six years Dearden & Noble were 
the proprietors. In 1890 Mr. Dearden 
purchased his partner's interest, and be- 
came sole owner, conducting the business 
alone in the old Rude block on Main 
street until 1893, when he sold out. Thus 
from his start in this business, Mr, Dear- 
den was for thirty years continuously en- 
gaged in this line, being among the oldest 
merchants in the city at the time of his 
retirement from that line of business. 

From 1893 until 1899, Mr. Dearden was 
a traveling salesman, representing an 
English house in territory extending west 
from Buflfalo, New York, to the Missis- 
sippi river. In the latter named year his 
health failed and he took an enforced va- 
cation for two years. He then purchased 
a farm in the town of Westfield, Massa- 
chusetts, and for the following ten years 
lived the full and free life of an agricul- 
turist, cultivating tobacco and special 
crops. In 1910 he was appointed deputy 
sheriff of Hampden county, and during his 
residence in Westfield he held that office 
there. In 191 5 he moved to Springfield, 
and from then until his death served in 
the capacities of deputy sheriff, court of- 
ficer and court crier. In these positions he 
was held in great esteem by not only the 
high sheriff, but by all the members of the 
bar. Judge Henry A. King, for whom 
Mr. Dearden was serving as crier at the 
time of his death delivered a feeling 

eulogy, the contents of which was as fol- 

He always performed a day's work, whatever 
tasks were assigned to him. Faithfulness to trust, 
courtesy and efficient appreciation of his duty 
formed conspicuous parts in the character of Mr. 
Dearden, whose personal and official conduct was 
always exemplary. 

Similiar expressions were expressed by 
all of Mr. Dearden's associates. 

Mr. Dearden took an active part in the 
social and musical circles of Springfield. 
He was a singer of note in Springfield 
churches for almost a quarter of a cen- 
tury, a member of church quartettes and 
was often heard as a soloist. He was es- 
pecially well known, not only in West- 
field, but in surrounding towns, as an or- 
ganizer of old folks' concerts. In his 
early life he sang first tenor in Trinity, 
Hope, Faith and Memorial churches. 
During the World War period he was se- 
lected by the mayor of Springfield to lead 
the community singing in Springfield. 
For eighteen years his home was in West 
Springfield, and while a resident there 
he served on the school committee. He 
was a member of the First Congregational 
Church ; Hampden Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Orpheus Club, Winthrop 
Club, and the Deputy Sheriff's Associa- 
tion. He had a genial disposition, and 
was well liked by his many friends. 

Mr. Dearden married (first), January 
II, 1877, Mattie E. Burnett, of Spring- 
field, daughter of Charles C. and Elvira 
(Cooley) Burnett, of Springfield, her 
father a noted educator, whose sketch 
follows. Mrs. Dearden died October 22, 
1889. Mr. Dearden married (second), 
August 24, 1897, Clara A. Noble, daugh- 
ter of George and Frances (Taylor) 
Noble. Children of Mr. Dearden by his 
first wife: i. William Arthur, born in 
November, 1877; now residing in West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, whose sketch 



follows. 2. Charles Walter, born August 
17, 1S79; advertising and publicity man 
for the Strathmore Paper Company. He 
resides in West Springfield ; married Lucy 
Spencer. 3. James Rowland, whose 
sketch follows. 4. Edwin Burnett, born 
July 16, 1886; was advertising and print- 
ing manager for the Strathmore Paper 
Company, but went West on account of 
his health, and is now (1921), in Wyom- 
ing, identified with the Leiter interests. 
Kirke Arthur Dearden died at his home. 
No. 24 Winthrop street, Springfield, 
March 11. 192 1, after an illness of about 
eight hours. He is survived by his 
widow ; four sons, above mentioned ; two 
brothers, Rowland Dearden, of Philadel- 
phia, and John Alfred, of West Spring- 
field; and two sisters, Mrs. Eugene Sey- 
mour, of Wilbraham, Massachusetts, and 
Miss Marjorie Dearden, of Winstead, 

DEARDEN, William Arthur, 

Veteran of Spanish-American War. 

The crockery business, established in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1859, by 
William Dearden, was continued by his 
son, Kirke Arthur Dearden, who, after 
his father's retirement, became its head, 
continuing until 1893, when he sold out. 
When William Arthur, eldest son of 
Kirke Arthur Dearden had finished his 
school years, he too for a time was con- 
nected with the same business, receiving 
his first instruction in business from his 
father. But during the years which have 
followed, he has sought other fields of 
activity, and is now engaged in automobile 
repair work in West Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts. He also served in the United 
States navy during the Spanish-American 
War. . 

William Arthur Dearden, eldest son of 
Kirke Arthur (q. v.) and Mattie E. (Bur- 
nett) Dearden, was born in Springfield, 

Massachusetts, November i, 1877. After 
completing public school courses of study 
in .Springfield and West Springfield, he was 
for a time employed in his father's crock- 
ery store in Springfield ; then was a clerk 
with Forbes & Wallace, going thence to 
the Smith & Wesson plant, there remain- 
ing several years. From Smith & Wesson 
he transferred to an automobile factory 
at Chicopee Falls, going thence to Bridge- 
port, Connecticut, there remaining two 
years. He then located in Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he was for a number 
of years in the employ of Joseph Met- 
calf. He was then with H. G. Sears & 
Company, in charge of auto trucks and 
machines. He then engaged in his pres- 
ent business, automobile repairing in 
West Springfield. 

Mr. Dearden during the Spanish- 
American War, enlisted in the United 
States Navy ; was assigned to the cruiser 
"Prairie," rating as boatswain, and was in 
the service from April to September, 1898. 
He was made a Mason in William 
Whiting Lodge of Holyoke, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; also, a member of Tekoe 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, of Menick, a part of West Spring- 
field. In religious choice he is a Congre- 
gationalist. He married, January 23, 1904, 
Maud May Thomas, daughter of Wil- 
liam F. Thomas, of Pittsfield, Massachu- 
setts. They are the parents of two chil- 
dren : Marion Martha, born June 24, 
1905; William Arthur (2), born Novem- 
ber 24, 1909. 

DEARDEN, James Rowland, 

Officer in World War Aerial Service. 

James Rowland Dearden, third son of 
Kirke Arthur (q. v.) and Mattie E. (Bur- 
nett) Dearden, was born in West Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, September 15, 1884. 
He was educated in the public schools of 
West Springfield and Westfield, finishing 



in high school at Westfield. He began 
his business career as an office boy with 
the Strathmore Paper Company of West 
Springfield, and has ever since continued 
with that corporation. He has risen to 
his present position of purchasing agent 
through his close attention to all details 
entrusted to him. For a time he was as- 
sistant to Mr. Sanborn, who was in charge 
of the purchases of the company, and is 
now its purchasing agent. 

On August 22, 1917, during the World 
War, Mr. Dearden enlisted for service in 
the Aviation Corps, and was in training 
at the Plattsburg Officers' Camp. He was 
later transferred to the Kelly Field, at 
San Antonio, Texas. Later he was trans- 
ferred to Atlanta. Georgia, there receiving 
a commission in the aviation section as 
second lieutenant. From the school of 
Military Aeronautics, at Atlanta, he was 
transferred to the United States Balloon 
School at Omaha, Nebraska, going thence 
to Lee Hall, Virginia, where, in addition 
to his other duties, he was made purchas- 
ing agent for the army supply office, and 
was promoted to be first lieutenant. His 
other duty was the preparing of the men 
for balloon service overseas. He was hon- 
orably discharged and mustered out April 
30, 1919, and at once returned to his posi- 
tion with the Strathmore Paper Company, 
of West Springfield. 

Lieutenant Dearden is a member of Mt. 
Orthodox Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons, and of Springfield Consistory, 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, in which 
he holds the thirty-second degree. He is 
a Noble of Melha Temple, Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine ; and of the Young Men's 
Christian Association. 

BURNETT, Charles C, 

Head of Edncatioual Institntions. 

Charles C. Burnett was born in Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts, October 18, 1813, 

died in West Springfield, Massachusetts 
April 8, 1903, approaching his ninetieth 
birthday. He completed a full course of 
preparatory study, and entered Brown 
University, whence he was graduated in 
1839. Soon after the completion of his 
college course he embraced the profession 
of pedagogy, and until his retirement 
under the weight of years, he adorned that 
profession. Prior to his connection with 
the Institute in Springfield, to which he 
gave his name, he was in charge of the 
Connecticut Literary Institute at Suf- 
field, Connecticut, that being his first im- 
portant engagement as an educator. 
While there their beautiful new building 
was built. For many years he retained 
his connection with that famous educa- 
tional institution, and he was also for a 
time a member of the faculty of Worces- 
ter Academy, Worcester, Massachusetts. 

But it is perhaps permissable to say, 
that his real career as an educator began 
in the "Sixties," when he came to Spring- 
field, purchased, and became head of Bur- 
nett's English and Classical Institute, 
bringing to that school the experience 
gained in practical work in his other posi- 
tions, and giving to it the judgment of 
prime and ripened years. This institute 
became famous among New England's 
preparatory schools, and its head, famous 
among educators. Professor Burnett was 
mainly instrumental in securing for 
Rochester Theological Institute, its dis- 
tinguished professor, Henry S. Robbins, 
and his influence was exerted in many 
ways to the benefit of the cause of educa- 
tion, and to the advancement of the in- 

For over forty years this earnest, 
faithful, and far-famed educator, of 
Springfield, Massachusetts, imparted to 
hundreds of students in the most compre- 
hensive manner, the facts laid down in 
the text books then in use. No student 
who sat under his instruction could ever 



forget the teacher, his teachings, or his 
methods. To him the text book was only 
a guide. His duty as he saw it was to 
show the student just what that particular 
study meant, and to make the meaning so 
clear that it could not be forgotten. To 
impress the truths of the lesson more 
forcibly, he would lay the text book aside, 
and enter upon an explanation of the 
principles, set forth in the lesson, and so 
illuminate the subject with his clear, lucid 
thoughts, that the student was brought 
into the full light of understanding. He 
could discard the text book without fear, 
for his masterful mind was a store-house 
of knowledge, and from its rich treasures 
he could draw abundantly, and at will. 
The particular aim in his teaching, was 
to prepare young men and women for 
college, and so well was this duty per- 
formed, that it was a rare occurrence for 
one of his scholars who desired to succeed 
to fail to pass college entrance examina- 

Professor Burnett was a scholar in the 
fullest sense of the word, but, in Greek and 
Latin, particularly excelled. While he 
knew his "Cicero" so perfectly that he 
could teach without the book, and could 
instantly detect the slightest error in 
translation, he was not lacking in his 
ability to teach all other studies, his 
knowledge being marvelous in its com- 
pleteness and comprehensiveness. He 
was a mathematician of the highest de- 
gree. Astronomy was also a favorite 
study, and in the arts and sciences, in lit- 
erature, modern and classic, he was 
equally at home. His students were 
drawn from the best families, and in his 
long career he became widely known. He 
spent the best years of his life as head of 
Burnett's English and Classical Institute, 
of Springfield, and many of the well- 
known business men in different com- 
munities and also eminent professional 

men, remember with pride and pleasure, 
the time they spent under the instruction 
and influence of the great teacher, whom 
they respected and loved, Charles C. 

He was a unique and familiar figure in 
local life, and well known beyond his par- 
ticular sphere of influence. He resided in 
West Springfield for about forty years, 
and during that period it was his daily 
habit to walk from his home to the Spring- 
field post-office while on his way to his 
duties, and obtain his mail, box No. 159 
being his during the entire time he 
patronized the Springfield post-office. 
After his retirement he transferred his 
mail address to the West Springfield 
office, but he still made it a rule every 
day to walk to the post-office for his mail. 
All men respected, and thousands loved 
him, particularly the many business and 
professional men of Springfield, who had 
attended the Institute and sat under his 

NYE, George, 

Head of Important Business, Public Official. 

The name '"Nye" was first found in the 
middle of the thirteenth century in the 
Sjelland section of Denmark. In Danish 
the name signifies new, or newcomer, used 
as a prefix. The name was not adopted as 
a surname until after the family settled 
in England, on the adoption of surnames. 
The coat-of-arms is as follows : 

Arms — Azure, a crescent increscent, argent. 
Crest — Two horns couped, counterchanged, azure 
and argent. 

(I) Lave was a son of a descendant 
of Harold Blautand, who died in 985, 
through his daughter, who married one 
of the most famous of the Swedish heroes, 
Styribiorn, son of Olaf, King of Sweden. 
He became a man of prominence, and in 
13 16 was Bishop of Roskilde. 



(II) Sven was heir of Lave in 1346. 

(III) Marten was declared heir of Sven 
in 1363. 

(IV) Nils was mentioned in 1418 as 
owning land in Tudse. 

(V) Bertolf, mentioned in 1466 as son 
of Nils, had sons, James and Randolf. 
James had a duel and was obliged to flee 
to England, accompanied by his younger 
brother, Randolf, mentioned below. 

(VI) Randolf Nye, son of Bertolf Nye, 
settled in Sussex, England, in 1527, and 
held land in Uckfield. His heir was Wil- 
liam, mentioned below. 

(VII) William Nye, son of Randolf 
Nye, married Agnes Tregian, daughter of 
Ralph Tregian, of County Hertford, Eng- 
land. He studied for the ministry, and 
became rector of the parish church of 
Ballance-Horned before his father's death. 
He had a son Ralph, mentioned below. 

(VIII) Ralph Nye, son of William and 
Agnes (Tregian) Nye, became heir to his 
father in Uckfield and Balance in 1556. 
He married, June 18, 1555, Margaret 
Merynge, of St. Mary, Woolchurch. Chil- 
dren : Thomas, mentioned below ; Ed- 
mundus, lived in Somersetshire, and was 
buried there March 9, 1594; Ralph, mar- 
ried, August 30, 1584, Joan Wilkshire ; 
Anne, married, August 6, 1616, Nicholas 
Stuart; Mary, married, April 24, 1621, 
John Bannister. 

(IX) Thomas Nye, son of Ralph and 
Margaret (Merynge) Nye, married, Sep- 
tember 9, 1583, at St. Andrew, Hubbard, 
Katherine Poulsden, of London, daugh- 
ter of Mr. Poulsden, of Horley, County 
Surrey, England. Children : Henry, a 
graduate of Oxford, 161 1, and in 1615 was 
vicar of Cobham, Surrey ; rector of Clap- 
ham, Sussex, in 1630; Philip, a graduate 
of Oxford, 1619, rector of St. Michael's, 
Cornhill, and Acton, Middlesex, a cele- 

brated preacher in Cromwell's time ; John ; 
Thomas, mentioned below. 

(X) Thomas (2) Nye, son of Thomas 

(1) and Katherine (Poulsden) Nye, was 
a haberdasher of Bidlenden, County Kent, 
England. He married as his second wife, 
June 10, 1619, Agnes Nye, widow of 
Henry Nye. On July 4, 1637, he granted 
to his youngest son, Thomas, land in Bid- 
lenden, and stated in the deed "My oldest 
son Benjamin having gone to New Eng- 
land." Children: Benjamin, mentioned 
below ; Thomas, born September 16, 1623. 

(XI) Benjamin Nye, son of Thomas 

(2) and Agnes Nye, was born May 4, 
1620. in Bidlenden, County Kent, Eng- 
land. He came in the ship, "Abigail," to 
Lynn, Massachusetts, and settled in 1637 
in Sandwich, Massachusetts. He was on 
the list of those able to bear arms in 1643. 
In 1655 he contributed for the building of 
a meeting house, and was one of a number 
to contribute towards building a mill. He 
took the oath of fidelity in 1657, and held 
many important positions in public affairs. 
He was supervisor of highways in 1655, 
on the grand jury in 1658, and at other 
times, constable in 1661-73, collector of 
taxes, 1674. He received in 1669 twelve 
acres of land from the town, because he 
built a mill at the little pond, and was 
granted other land afterward. The town 
voted, August 8, 1675, to give permission 
to Benjamin Nye to build a fulling mill 
on Spring Hill river. It is said that the 
ruins of the old saw mill are still extant 
at Spring Hill, just west of East Sand- 
wich. He married, in Sandwich, October 
19, 1640, Katherine Tupper, daughter of 
the Rev. Thomas Tupper, who came over 
on the same ship. Children : Mary, mar- 
ried, June I, 1670, Jacob Burgess; John, 
married Esther Shedd ; Ebenezer; Jona- 
than, born November 29, 1649; Mercy, 
born April 4, 1652 ; Caleb ; Nathan, men- 



tioned below; Benjamin, killed by Indians 
at the battle of Rehoboth, in King Philip's 
War, March 26, 1676. 

(XII) Nathan Nye, son of Benjamin 
and Katherine (Tupper) Nye, took the 
oath of fidelity in Sandwich, Massachu- 
setts. He married Mary, and they were 
the parents of ten children, all born in 
Sandwich, namely: Remember, born 
1686; Temperance, born 1689; Thank- 
ful, born 1691 ; Content, born, 1693 ; 
Jemima, born 1695 ; Lemuel, born 1698- 
99; Deborah, born 1700; Mariah, born 
1702; Caleb, mentioned below; Nathan 
(2), born 1708. The will of Nathan (i) 
Nye was made September 18, 1741, and 
proved May 13, 1747. 

(XIII) Caleb Nye, a son of Nathan 
and Mary Nye, was born in Sandwich, 
Massachusetts, June 28, 1704. He resided 
in Barnstable and Harwich, Massachu- 
setts. He married, October 28, 1731, Han- 
nah Bodfish, born February 12, 1712; died 
March 7, 1779, daughter of Benjamin and 
Lydia (Crocker) Bodfish. They were the 
parents of eleven children, namely : Silas, 
born 1732, died young; Joseph and Ben- 
jamin, twins, born 1735; Simeon, born 
1737; Ebenezer, born 1739; Caleb, born 
1742; Joshua, born 1743; Silas, born 1744; 
Hannah, born 1750; Prince, mentioned be- 
low; Azubah, born 1756. The will of 
Caleb Nye was proved June 5, 1787. 

(XIV) Prince Nye, son of Caleb and 
Hannah (Bodfish) Nye, was born March 
!/» 1753- He served in tKe Revolution- 
ary army. Captain Hazeltine's company, 
1775, and Captain Timothy Page's com- 
pany, 1777, and was honorably .discharged, 
August 31, 1777. He was active in public 
affairs, serving as selectman in 1793, 1799, 
1806, 1810. He married, 1774, Dinah Jos- 
lyn, and they were the parents of ten chil- 
dren : Percis, born 1775; Rufus, men- 
tioned below; Anna, born 1779; Joseph, 


born 1782; Martin, born 1784; Marshall, 
born 1787; Frances, born 1790; Sewell, 
born 1793; Harriet, born 1795; Francis, 
born 1798. 

(XV) Rufus Nye, son of Prince and 
Dinah (Joslyn) Nye, was born August 
i9» ^777'> and died in 1806. In 1803 he 
removed to Thetford, Vermont, but soon 
returned to Harwich, Massachusetts. 
He married, in 1801, Betsey Edson, of 
Oakham, Massachusetts. Children : Cal- 
vin Edson, mentioned below ; Hosea Wil- 
lis, born 1803 ; and Lydia. 

(XVI) Calvin Edson Nye, son of Rufus 
and Betsey (Edson) Nye, was born No- 
vember 30, 1801, and died in 1883. He 
was a resident of Conway, Massachusetts, 
and was active in all affairs pertaining to 
the welfare and improvement of that sec- 
tion of his native State. He married Eliza 
Pease, daughter of Asher and Elizabeth 
(Chafee) Pease. Children: Caroline, 
born November 26, 1828, living at the age 
of ninety-three ; Elizabeth, aged ninety- 
one years; Frances Ann, born 1832, de- 
ceased ; Dwight, born August 25, 1834, 
deceased ; Henry, born July 23, 1836, de- 
ceased ; Theresa, born 1838, died 1851 ; 
George, mentioned below; Emma, born 
1842, died 1851; Homer, born 1845, died 

(XVII) George Nye, son of Calvin Ed- 
son and Eliza (Pease) Nye, was born in 
Conway, Massachusetts, May 28, 1840. 
He attended the schools of Conway, and 
at the age of eleven left home and went 
to live with his brother, Dwight Nye, in 
Northampton, Massachusetts, where he 
attended school for a few years. In 1855, 
when fifteen years old, he took up his resi- 
dence in Springfield, Massachusetts, and 
secured employment in the grocery store 
and market, owned by Levi Hitchcock, in 
whose employ he remained for a period of 
two years. He then went West, locating 


in Urbana, Illinois, where he entered the Jane (Bryant) Stone (see Stone VIII). 

employ of his brother, Dwight Nye, who 
was engaged in business there. In 1859 
he returned to Springfield, and entered 
the employ of David A. Adams, his next 
employers being Perkins & Purple, with 
whom he remained until attaining his ma- 
jority. He was then able to realize his 
ambition to engage in business on his 
own account, and in partnership with 
Thomas S. Chaffee opened a retail provi- 
sion store in what was at that time known 
as Burt's block. Main street, Spring- 
field. They conducted business under the 
firm name of Chaffee & Nye, this relation 
continuing until 1871, a period of ten 
years, when Mr. Nye withdrew his inter- 
est, and entered into partnership with Vir- 
gil Perkins, under the name, Perkins 
& Nye. This partnership continued until 
August I, 1889, when he entered into busi- 
ness relations with G. F. Swift, of Chicago, 
and E. C. Swift, of Boston, under the firm 
name, George Nye & Company, their 
place of business on the corner of Lyman 
and Chestnut streets. This business pros- 
pered from the beginning and became the 
most extensive of its kind in that section 
of Massachusetts, under the able manage- 
ment of those in charge, who were prac- 
tical men in the line of provisions. Mr. 
Nye was connected with this firm until 
his death, which occurred in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, January, 1905. He was a 
Republican in politics ; served as a mem- 
ber of the board of aldermen for five 
years, and on the board of public works 
for eight years. He held membership 
in Roswell Lee Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Springfield Commandery, 
Knights Templar ; Hampden Lodge, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows ; Winthrop 
Club, and Nayasset Club. 

Mr. Nye married, October 25, 1864, 
Martha E. Stone, of Worthington, Mas- 
sachusetts, daughter of Colonel Oren and 

Children: i. George, Jr., born March 25, 
1866, deceased ; he married Mabel Mason, 
and had a son, Robert Nye, who married 
Catherine Lincoln and they have a daugh- 
ter, Nancy Nye, and a son, George Nye. 
2. Jane Eliza, born April 9, 1868, died 
July 26, 1872. 3. Florence Josephine, born 
July 26, 1873, died April 28, 1874. 4. 
Theodore Herbert, born May 12, 1875; 
married Mary Blodgett and they have two 
daughters, Gertrude and Harriet. 

(The Stone Line) 

(I) Gregory Stone, ancestor of Martha 
E. (Stone) Nye, was baptized in Great 
Bromley, County Essex, England, April 
19, 1592, and died in Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, November 30, 1672. He came 
to New England in 1635, resided for two 
years in Watertown, Massachusetts, then 
removed to Cambridge, in the same State. 
He married (first) Margaret Garrad, (sec- 
ond) Lydia Cooper. Children by first 
wife: John, mentioned below; Daniel, 
David, Elizabeth. Children by second 
wife: Elizabeth, Samuel, Sarah. 

(II) John Stone, son of Gregory and 
Margaret (Garrad) Stone, was baptized 
in Nayland, England, July 31, 1618, and 
died in Cambridge, Massachusetts, May 
5, 1683. He married Anne Howe, and 
they were the parents of the following 
children : Hannah, Mary, Daniel, David, 
Elizabeth, Margaret, Tabitha, Sarah, Na- 
thaniel, mentioned below; John. 

(III) Nathaniel Stone, son of John and 
Anne (Howe) Stone, was born in Sud- 
bury, Massachusetts. May 11, 1660, and 
died in Framingham, Massachusetts, Oc- 
tober 17, 1732. He married Sarah Wayt, 
and they were the parents of the follow- 
ing children: Nathaniel (2), Ebenezer, 
Jonathan, Isaac, John, Mary, Sarah, Heze- 
kiah, mentioned below. 

(IV) Captain Hezekiah Stone, son of 



Nathaniel and Sarah (Wayt) Stone, 
was born in Framingham, Massachusetts, 
March 5, 1710, and died in Oxford, Mas- 
sachusetts, July 18, 1771. He married 
Ruth Howe, and they were the parents of 
the following children : Eliphalet, who 
served as lieutenant in the Revolutionary 
War ; Jesse, mentioned below ; Hepsibah, 
Ruth, Sarah, Lois, Israel, Hezekiah. 

(V) Captain Jesse Stone, son of Cap- 
tain Hezekiah and Ruth (Howe) Stone, 
was born in Framingham, Massachusetts, 
September 28, 1737, and died July 26, 
1803. He gained his title by service in 
the Revolutionary War. He married 
Elizabeth Livermore, and they were the 
parents of the following children : Wil- 
liam ; John, mentioned below ; Jesse, who 
served as colonel ; Elizabeth, Isaac, Eliz- 
abeth, Jeremy. 

(VI) Captain John (2) Stone, son of 
Captain Jesse and Elizabeth (Livermore) 
Stone, was born in Oxford, Massachu- 
setts, May 15, 1763, and died in Worthing- 
ton, Massachusetts, February 20, 1849. 
He was an active participant in the Revo- 
lutionary War, enlisting for six weeks in 
May, 1779, under Colonel Butcher; for 
two months in September, 1779, under 
Colonel Jackson ; and for three months in 
July, 1780, under Colonel Rand. He mar- 
ried Nancy Rice, and they were the par- 
ents of the following children : Polly ; 
John, who served as captain ; Jesse, 
Nancy, Sumner, Darius Rice ; and Oren, 
mentioned below. 

(VII) Colonel Oren Stone, son of Cap- 
tain John (2) and Nancy (Rice) Stone, 
was born in Auburn, Massachusetts, Feb- 
ruary 24, 1802, and died in Worthington, 
Massachusetts, July 14, 1886. He mar- 
ried, January i, 1825, Jane Bryant, of 
Chesterfield, Massachusetts, who died De- 
cember 19, 1881. They were the parents 
of the following children : Oren B., 

Jeremy B., Sumner, Jane E., Helen M., 
Ann M., Dwight B., Oscar F., Susan W., 
and Martha E., mentioned below. 

(VIII) Martha E. Stone, daughter of 
Colonel Oren and Jane (Bryant) Stone, 
married, October 25, 1864, George Nye 
(see Nye XVII). 

PAGE, Irving Howard, 
Head of Various Important Industries. 

The eighth generation of this branch of 
the Page family in New England is repre- 
sented by Irving Howard Page, of Chico- 
pee Falls. The first American ancestor, 
John Page, came from England and set- 
tled in Hingham, Massachusetts, where he 
was one of the signers of a petition to the 
General Court, November 4, 1646. He 
moved from Hingham to Haverhill, Mas- 
sachusetts, about 1652, and there died No- 
vember 23, 1687. He married Mary 
Marsh, daughter of George Marsh, and 
they were the parents of eleven children, 
descent in this line being traced through 
their second child, Onesiphorus, who was 
baptized at Hingham, Massachusetts, No- 
vember 20, 1642. 

(II) Sergeant Onesiphorus Page was 
a weaver by trade, and in 1677 took the 
oath of allegiance at Salisbury, there be- 
coming a householder in that year. On 
July 3, 1687, he was admitted to member- 
ship in Salisbury church, and died there 
December 28, 1706. He married (first), 
November 22, 1664, Mary Hauxworth, 
who died May 8, 1695, the mother of nine 
children, descent following through the 
third child and eldest son, Joseph. Ser- 
geant Page married (second) July 31, 
1695, Sarah (Morrill) Rowell, widow of 
Philip Rowell, who bore him a son. 

(III) Joseph Page, son of Sergeant 
Onesiphorus and Mary (Hauxworth) 
Page, was born in Salisbury, Massachu- 



setts, April 6, 1670. He married, March 
12, 1690, Sarah Smith, who died October 
21, 1691, nine days after the birth of her 
daughter, Sarah. His second wife, Eliza- 
beth, bore him seven children, the line 
continuing through their eldest son, John. 

(IV) John Page, son of Joseph and 
Elizabeth Page, was born in Salisbury, 
Massachusetts, June 17, 1696, died March 
II, 1767. He married, May 16, 1720, Mary 
Winslow, who died August 21, 1774, in 
her seventy-seventh year. They were the 
parents of ten children, all born in Salis- 
bury, this line continuing through Moses. 

(V) Moses Page, son of John and Mary 
(Winslow) Page, and of the fifth Ameri- 
can generation, was born September 3, 
1726; later settled in Epping, New Hamp- 
shire, going thence to Filmanton, where 
he died, September 27, 1805. He married 
Judith, daughter of Benjamin French, Sr. 
Their nine children were all born in Ep- 
ping, descent in this branch being traced 
through Benjamin, twin with John. 

(VI) Benjamin Page, son of Moses and 
Judith (French) Page, was born in Epp- 
ing, New Hampshire, February 2, 1763. 
He married, April 26, 1787, Ruth Brent- 
wood, of New Hampshire, and lived in 
Belmont, New Hampshire, and Water- 
borough, Maine. They were the parents 
of two sons, James and Benjamin, and of 
other children, descent following through 
James, great-grandfather of Irving How- 
ard Page, of Springfield. 

(VII) James Page, son of Benjamin 
and Ruth (Brentwood) Page, and of the 
seventh American generation, was born 
in Waterborough, Maine, February 23, 
1798, died February 5, 1840. He learned 
the millwright trade, which he followed 
in different Maine towns. He married 
Eliza Woodman, of Buxton, Maine, born 
October 27, 1799, daughter of John Wood- 
man, a millwright of Buxton, Maine. Mrs. 

Page was the mother of seven children, 
and died in Biddeford, Maine, December, 
1890, in her ninety-second year. In this 
branch descent is traced through Amos 
Woodman Page, eldest of the seven chil- 

(VIII) Amos Woodman Page, son of 
James and Eliza (Woodman) Page, was 
born at Hollis, Maine, August 8, 1823, 
died at Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts, 
August 31, 1891. When but a boy he be- 
came a mill worker, and passed through 
various grades of promotion until finally 
he became superintendent of the weaving 
department. He served nine months in 
the Union army during the Civil War, in 
the Twenty-seventh Regiment, Maine In- 
fantry, attaining the rank of first lieu- 
tenant. After the war Lieutenant Page 
engaged in the lumber business in Beau- 
fort, North Carolina, and in 1866, joined 
his brother, Thomas Clarke Page, in 
Rochester, New York, who was there en- 
gaged in manufacturing the Lamb knit- 
ting machine, the invention of I. W. 
Lamb. In 1867, the Lamb Knitting Ma- 
chine Manufacturing Company was in- 
corporated, and in the old Massachusetts 
Arms Company's plant at Chicopee Falls, 
Massachusetts, manufactured the Lamb 
& Tuttle knitting machine. That same 
year Amos W. Page established a needle 
manufacturing business, which was also 
carried on in the Lamb Knitting Machine 
Manufacturing Company's plant, and 
until his death conducted a very success- 
ful manufacturing enterprise. He was a 
Republican in politics, member of the 
board of selectmen of Chicopee Falls, and 
chairman of the board, and also a mem- 
ber of Belcher Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons. He married, October 15, 1847, 
Caroline Warren Shute, born October 
31, 1825, died at Chicopee Falls, in 1888, 
daughter of Michael and Olive (Leavitt) 



Shute, of Effingham Falls, now Centre- 
ville, New Hampshire. Her father, born 
in Newmarket, New Hampshire, died 
in Biddeford, Maine. Her mother was 
born in Buxton, Maine. Mr. and Mrs. 
Amos W. Page were the parents of five 
children : Francis Moore, born Novem- 
ber 28, 1848, died October 5, 1861 ; Laura 
Eva, born January 8, 1853; Ernest Law- 
rence, born September 6, 1855, died Feb- 
ruary 27, 1857; Irving Howard, of fur- 
ther mention ; Woodman Shute, born May 
8, 1862, died August 4, 1920; married, Oc- 
tober II, 1893. Mary Engle Hamilton, 
who died October 12, 1919; they were 
the parents of: Dorothy Woodman Page, 
born December 16, 1895, died December 
28, following, and Karl Woodman Page, 
born August 5, 1900, now in Williston 

(IX) Irving Howard Page, son of 
Amos W. and Caroline Warren (Shute) 
Page, was born in Biddeford, Maine, No- 
vember 15, 1858, and there spent his early 
manhood. In 1866 he was taken by his 
parents to Rochester, New York, but the 
following year the family returned to New 
England, settling at Chicopee Falls, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he obtained his educa- 
tion in the public schools, supplementing 
that by a year at Williston Seminary. As 
a newsboy in Chicopee, he began his busi- 
ness career, but it was as clerk in the 
George Bray store that his mercantile ex- 
perience began. From this store at Chico- 
pee he went to the Collis Pease grocery 
store in Springfield, there meeting with a 
severe accident which compelled his re- 
maining in idleness for a year. He re- 
sumed work November 20, 1879, as clerk 
in the employ of James E. Taylor, of the 
Stevens Company, remaining until 1852, 
when he became bookkeeper for the J. 
Stevens Company. Eleven years later, 
in 1893, ^^ entered the service of the L. S. 

Starrett Company, in their general offices 
at Athol, continuing until 1895, when he 
bought the interests of James E. Taylor, 
Joshua Stevens, and George S. Taylor, 
in the J. Stevens Arms and Tool Com- 
pany, his partner, C. P. Fay, buying his 
father's share in the company. 

Under its new ownership and manage- 
ment the company grew rapidly, taking 
rank with the foremost companies of its 
kind. A side line of manufacture, The 
Stevens-Duryea Automobile Company, 
was established, the company producing 
a high-class car which met with such a 
ready sale that The Stevens-Duryea Auto- 
mobile Company was incorporated as a 
separate manufacturing enterprise, July 
I, 1900. 

Irving H. Page was president and treas- 
urer of the J. Stevens Arms and Tool 
Company ; president and treasurer of The 
Stevens-Duryea Automobile Company ; 
president and director of the Hampden 
Knitting Company ; president of the Page 
Chocolate Company ; director of the 
Chicopee National Bank ; the Confection- 
ers' Machinery Manufacturing Company ; 
Consolidated Wrapping Machine Com- 
pany ; treasurer of the Page-Storms Drop 
Forge Company; and vice-president and 
director of the Springfield Board of 
Trade. He is a member of the Licensed 
Association of American Automobile 
Manufacturers ; of the .Megantic Fish and 
Game Club, with preserves at Megantic, 
Quebec, Canada ; member of the Engi- 
neers' and Hardware clubs of New York 
City; and of the Nayasset Club, of 
Springfield. In politics he is a Republi- 
can ; in religion a Congregationalist. He 
is a member of the Masonic order, affili- 
ated with Belcher Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons; Unity Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Springfield Commandery, 
Knights Templar ; Melha Temple, Ancient 



Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine ; and holds the thirty-second de- 
gree of the Ancient Accepted Scottish 
Rite. He is a trustee of the Chicopee 
Public Library. 

Mr. Pag-e married, November 3, 1886, 
Alice Jane Whittemore, daughter of John 
R. and Olive (Muzzy) Whittemore. 

ANDREWS, Alfred Augustus, 

Master Paper Manufacturer. 

Without exaggeration this might be 
said to be the name of a man who, in the 
years of his business activity, enjoyed an 
international reputation. As president of 
the Holyoke Glazed Paper Company, Mr. 
Andrew^s was known throughout the 
United States and also in Europe. De- 
spite the fact that he has now been many 
years deceased, Springfield remembers 
him as one of her leading citizens who had 
ever at heart the advancement of her most 
essential interests. 

Dr. William A. Andrews, father of Al- 
fred Augustus Andrews, was a physician, 
who practiced his profession mainly in 
England. In the course of time he emi- 
grated to Canada, settling in Montreal, 
where he passed the latter years of his 
life. Dr. Andrews married Elizabeth 
Marsden, and of the children born to them 
the following reached maturity: i. Al- 
fred Augustus, of further mention. 2. 
Harry C, who married Mary Hutchinson ; 
after spending all his active life in the 
insurance business, he retired, which was 
ten years ago, and now resides in West- 
mont, Canada. 3. Julia, now living in 
Toronto, Canada. Dr. Andrews died in 
Montreal, at the age of eighty-five, sur- 
viving his wife, who passed away at the 
same place at sixty-six years of age. 

Alfred Augustus Andrews, son of Dr. 
William A. and Elizabeth (Marsden) An- 

drews, was born August 24, 1834, in Lon- 
don, Ontario, Canada, and received his 
education in private schools of the Do- 
minion. At the age of twenty he left 
home with the purpose of seeking his for- 
tune in the United States. Settling in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, he took the posi- 
tion of travelling salesman for the Green- 
leaf Paper Company. The extraordinary 
aptitude which he rapidly developed 
caused his steady promotion and he was 
sent not only to every part of the United 
States, but across the ocean, to solicit 
trade and advance the interests of the 
company and its product among the coun- 
tries of Europe. 

After remaining with this concern until 
1870, Mr. Andrews went into business for 
himself, under the firm name of the Bay 
State Paper Company, of which he was 
sole owner. In 1878 he organized a stock 
company, with the title of the Holyoke 
Glazed Paper Company, he being its pres- 
ident and director. In 1888 he retired 
from business, after a long, successful and 
honorable career. At this time he was re- 
garded as the greatest authority on the 
paper business to be found in the United 

Later, Mr. Andrews went to Florida, 
where he purchased property and resided 
two years, returning at the end of that 
time to Springfield, which always re- 
mained his home, although he spent much 
time in New York City. In politics he 
was a Republican. He affiliated with the 
Masonic fraternity, but never held any 
ofiice. His religious membership was in 
the Unitarian church of Springfield, and 
for some years he served as superintend- 
ent of the Sunday school. In addition to 
his remarkable business qualifications, Mr. 
Andrews was endowed with a singularly 
pleasing personality, and to this may be 


Ccj2X2/t3, u^^^^^^^^u^i/. 


attributed in no small measure his very- 
exceptional success. 

Mr. Andrews married (first) Louisa 
Jones, and to them one son was born, 
Launcelot W., in Chicago, Illinois. He 
married (second), June 29, 1886, Frances 
Augusta (Dickinson) Smith, whose fam- 
ily record is appended to this biography. 
She was the mother of one daughter by 
her former husband, Ina Smith, born in 
Springfield ; she received her preparatory 
education in a convent, afterward study- 
ing at Stansted College, Canada, and later 
at Cooper Institute, New York City ; she 
married Hiram Lovell, of Worcester, Mas- 
sachusetts, and they have two daughters : 
Clara Frances, now studying art in New 
York; and Rosamunda, studying physi- 
cal culture at Sargent College, Cambridge. 
Mr. Andrews was peculiarly happy in his 
domestic relations, finding in his wife an 
ideal helpmate, and in the home she pre- 
sided over the tranquility so necessary to 
a man of his strenuous nature and ener- 
getic temperament. 

It was in New York City that Mr. An- 
drews passed away on April 22, 1904, 
being then in the seventieth year of his 
life. When his death was announced in 
Springfield, the city mourned for one who, 
in all the relations of life, had set an ex- 
ample worthy of imitation. There is no 
record more honorable than that of the 
successful business man, and that is the 
record left by Alfred Augustus Andrews. 

(The Dickinson Line) 

Freeman Warner Dickinson, father of 
Mrs. Frances Augusta (Dickinson-Smith) 
Andrews, was of Ware Village, Massa- 
chusetts, being one of the owners of the 
Union Store at that place. He married 
Hannah Marsh, of Westfield, Massachu- 
setts, and their children were : Ellen, who 
married Andrew Ellis, of Worcester, 
Massachusetts, who died in August, 1915; 

Georgeanna, wife of Charles Sisson, of 
Springfield ; Frances Augustus, of fur- 
ther mention ; Henry Eugene, married 
Mary Lemon, of Monson, Massachusetts, 
and resides in Jackson, Mississippi; Han- 
nah Cordelia, married Albert Andrews, of 
Marlboro, Massachusetts, and they re- 
side in Worcester, Massachusetts ; and 
Clara Lillian, who married Christopher 
Clark, of Hampden, Massachusetts, re- 
siding in Springfield, Massachusetts. Mrs. 
Dickinson passed away in February, 1854, 
and Mr. Dickinson survived to the age of 
eighty-five, his death occurring October 

3. 1903- 

Frances Augusta Dickinson, daughter 
of Freeman Warner and Hannah (Marsh) 
Dickinson, was born February 14, 1850. 
She married (first), April 16, 1872, Benja- 
min Franklin Smith ; (second) Alfred Au- 
gustus Andrews, as stated above. 

BLAGUE, Giles, 

Insurance Actuary, Legislator. 

One of the veterans in the service of 
the Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance 
Company at the present time (1920) is 
Giles Blague, manager of the policy de- 
partment. He also takes an active in- 
terest in the public affairs of Springfield, 
and has held a number of offices of im- 

Mr. Blague is a descendant of Henry 
Blague, who settled in Braintree, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1642. He married and had a 
son, Newcombe Blague, who married and 
was the father of Joseph Blague, who mar- 
ried Martha Kirtland, daughter of 
Nathaniel Kirtland, of Lynn, Massachu- 
setts. Joseph and Martha (Kirtland) 
Blague were the parents of Deacon Jo- 
seph Blague, who was born in Saybrook, 
Connecticut, October 7, 1694, and died 
there, September 29, 1742. Deacon Jo- 
seph Blague was a graduate of Yale Uni- 



versity, and a merchant of Saybrook, to 
which line of business he devoted his en- 
tire active career, and he was a member 
of the First Congregational Church of 
Saybrook, in which he held the office of 
deacon. He married, April i8, 1718, Mary 
Hamlin, daughter of John Hamlin, born 
in Middletown, Connecticut, April 18, 
1697, died in her native town, July 21, 
1762, surviving her husband twenty years. 
Seven children were born to Deacon Jo- 
seph and Mary (Hamlin) Blague, as fol- 
lows : Mary, who became the wife of the 
Rev. William Hart; Joseph, born in 1722, 
commanded a company at the battle of 
Saratoga, and was afterward made a col- 
onel ; Hamlin, of further mention ; Giles, 
Eliah, Joseph ; and Martha, who became 
the wife of Timothy Tiffany. 

Judge John Hamlin, father of Mary 
(Hamlin) Blague, is best described in the 
following inscription from his monument 
in Riverside Cemetery, Middletown, Con- 
necticut : 

Here Lies the Body of 
, John Hamlin, Esq., Eldest Son 

of Giles Hamlin, Esq., of Middletown; 
A Faithful Man, Who Feared God 
Above Many. 
36 Years Successively He Was Assist- 
ant of This Colony and in That and 
Divers Other Important Public Trusts 
He Served His Generation With Great 
Integrity, Not Seeking His Own But 
the Wealth of His People, and Having 
Done Good in Israel, Finished His 
Course and Kept the Faith, He Fell 
Asleep January 2, 1732-3 in the 75th 
Year of His Age. 

Hinman said of him: "He possessed 
all the abilities and virtues of his father, 
and had a larger share of public favors." 
He held the ofifices of commissioner, town 
clerk, deputy, assistant, member of Gov- 
ernor's Council, judge of the Hartford 
County Court, and judge of the Superior 
Court of Connecticut. He married (first) 

in January, 1684, Mary Collins, born May 
II, 1666, died May 5, 1722, daughter of 
Rev. Nathaniel and Mary (Whiting) Col- 
lins, her father the first pastor of the Mid- 
dletown church, a graduate of Harvard, 
1660, and son of Deacon Edward Collins, 
of Cambridge, Massachusetts. They were 
the parents of nine children, Mary, the 
wife of Deacon Joseph Blague, being the 

Captain Giles Hamlin, father of Judge 
John Hamlin, and grandfather of Mary 
(Hamlin) Blague, was born in England, 
about 1622, died in Middletown, Connec- 
ticut, September i, 1689. He settled in 
Middletown, as early as 1654, and there 
resided until his death. He was a Puri- 
tan, a man of sound judgment, standing 
high in his community for probity and 
ability, and was justly styled "one of the 
pillars of the early colony." He was long 
engaged in foreign trade, and honored 
with many public offices. His estate in- 
ventoried £3,247. He married, in 1655, 
Hester Crow, born in England, in 1628, 
daughter of John Crow of Hartford, an 
early settler of Hartford and a man of 
wealth. Children : John, afore men- 
tioned ; May Mehitable, Giles, William, 
and Richard. 

Hamlin Blague, second son of Deacon 
Joseph and Mary (Hamlin) Blague, was 
born in Saybrook, Connecticut, December 
15, 1725, and was admitted to member- 
ship in the First Church at Middletown, 
April 15, 1742. He married, and had a 
son, Giles, whose son, Giles (2) Blague, 
was born in Saybrook, Connecticut, in 
1789. Giles (2) Blague was a merchant 
of Saybrook, and represented that town 
in the State Legislature, also was county 
commissioner, selectman, and justice of 
the peace. In his later years he resided 
upon a farm, and at the time of his death, 
in 1869, was collector of customs for the 
port of Saybrook, having been appointed 



to this office by President Lincoln. In 
religious faith he was a Congregationalist. 
He married Rebecca Lynde, who died in 
1839. They were the parents of eight 
sons and two daughters, of whom the fol- 
lowing grew to mature years : Theodore, 
Giles, Mary, Henry, Frederick, Charles, 
Edward Payson, of further mention ; and 

Edward Payson Blague, son of Giles 
(2) and Rebecca (Lynde) Blague, was 
born in Saybrook, Connecticut, Decem- 
ber 26, 1835, died in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, in June, 1906. He was edu- 
cated in the Saybrook schools, and re- 
mained at home as his father's assistant 
until 1857, when he became associated 
with John R. Hixon in the wholesale boot 
and shoe business, with headquarters at 
Springfield, Massachusetts. He remained 
with Mr. Hixon until 1862, then enlisted 
in the United States navy, and was as- 
signed to duty at the Brooklyn navy yard. 
He received early appointment as acting 
master's mate, and for twenty months was 
on blockade duty ofif the coasts of North 
and South Carolina. His ship was then 
ordered North for overhauling, but found- 
ered in a storm, all hands on board being 
saved by a convoying steamer and taken 
to Hampton Roads, Virginia. After a 
two weeks' furlough, spent at the old 
home in Saybrook, Mr, Blague returned 
to duty, going on board the "Connecti- 
cut," one of the swiftest vessels of the 
navy, and until February, 1864, he was on 
blockade duty between Wilmington, 
North Carolina, and the Bahamas. Many 
valuable prizes were captured, cotton then 
being $1.75 per pound, and most of the 
ships taken being loaded wholly or in 
part with that valuable commodity. One 
prize taken was an English steamer, hav- 
ing on board the famous Confederate spy, 
Belle Boyd. Mr. Blague was second in 
command of the prize crew which took 

this steamer to Boston, where vessel and 
cargo were sold for $700,000. In Febru- 
ary, 1864, the "Connecticut" was ordered 
out of commission, Mr. Blague then being 
assigned to the frigate "Colorado," and 
two weeks later to the frigate "Wabash," 
one of the fleet which attempted to cap- 
ture the forts at the mouth of Cape Fear 
river. After three days' fighting the fleet 
withdrew, but later returned, and with 
the cooperation of the land forces. Fort 
Fisher was forced to surrender, January 
15, 1865. Mr. Blague was again assigned 
to the "Connecticut," and that vessel, 
under Captain Boggs, spent three months 
in cruising in tropical waters, visiting the 
islands of the West Indies, touching at 
Panama, this affording Mr. Blague an op- 
portunity to cross the Isthmus of Panama. 
In June, 1865, the "Connecticut" was or- 
dered to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 
where Mr. Blague was honorably dis- 
charged and mustered out of the govern- 
ment service. 

For three years after leaving the navy he 
was in the merchant marine service, act- 
ing for pne year as purser on a steamship 
plying between New York and Havana, 
and on a steamer of the North American 
Steamship Company for two years, sailing 
to Aspinwall. He then retired from the 
sea and returned to Saybrook, where he 
entered the employ of the Connecticut 
Valley railroad, and for eight years he was 
station agent at Saybrook Point, the ter- 
minus of the road. During that period 
he also served as postmaster. About 
1876 he resigned his position and entered 
the service of the New York & New Eng- 
land railroad at Springfield, first as cash- 
ier, later as agent, remaining with that 
company about twelve years. Eventually 
he retired from all participation in busi- 
ness affairs, residing for a time at No. 134 
Carew street, Springfield, in a house 
which he built, and later residing at No. 



20 Lafayette street, where his death oc- 
curred in 1869. He was a member of 
Roswell Lee Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons; Morning Star Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons; Springfield Council, Royal 

lie office, nevertheless, when it was of- 
fered him as an expression of faith and 
trust by his fellow-citizens, he accepted 
and gave to the performance of his duties 
the best of his ability. He represented 

and Select Masters ; the Grand Army of his ward in Common Council in 1912-13 ; 

the Republic ; Connecticut Valley His- 
torical Society ; and of the Memorial 

Mr. Blague married, October 20, 1875, 
Alice Maria Thayer, of Williamsburg, 
Massachusetts, born in 1847, died in July, 
191 5, daughter of William E. Thayer, her 
father a manufacturer of hardware and 
cutlery. Mr. and Mrs. Blague were the 
parents of three children : Giles, of 
further mention ; Mabel Thayer, married 
Ernest Graboski, of Detroit, Michigan ; 
Mary Lynde, married Paul Hollis Weiss, 
of Cambridge, Massachusetts. 

Giles Blague, of the ninth American 
Blague generation, and fourth to bear the 
name Giles, inherited from his Hamlin an- 
cestor, Giles Hamlin, of Middletown, and 
only son of Edward Payson and Alice 
Maria (Thayer) Blague, was born in 
Saybrook, Connecticut, November 2, 1876. 
His early education was obtained in the 
Springfield public schools, and later he 
entered high school. He then entered the 
employ of the Chapin National Bank in 
Springfield, but a little later he went West 
to Denver, Colorado, returning to Spring- 
field in 1897, and for a time was with the 
Lane Quarry Company. In 1899 he en- 
tered the office of the Massachusetts 
Mutual Life Insurance Company, and 
through merit received frequent promo- 
tion, finally becoming head of the policy 
department, a position he held up to 1918, 
when he resigned to go into business for 
himself, which he has since conducted 
very successfully. 

Politically Mr. Blague is a staunch Re- 
publican, and though he never sought pub- 

from 1913 to 1917 was a member of the 
Board of Aldermen, serving as president 
of the board in the latter-named year ; 
was elected a member of the State Legis- 
lature in 1917 and 1919, serving on the 
committee on mercantile affairs in 1918, 
and on taxation in 1919. He is president 
of the Independence Day Association of 
Springfield, and for three years was sec- 
retary and treasurer of the Springfield 
Boys' Club. He is a member of the fol- 
lowing organizations : Springfield Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Sons of the 
American Revolution, gaining his mem- 
bership therein through the patriotic ser- 
vices of his ancestors ; member and direc- 
tor of the Connecticut Valley Historical 
Association ; also the Sons of Veterans ; 
Winthrop Club, and the South Congrega- 
tional Church. 

Mr. Blague married, September 18, 
1915, Helen Hulbert, born in Korea, 
daughter of Homer B. and Mary B. (Han- 
nah) Hulbert. They are the parents of 
two daughters : Madeline, born Decem- 
ber 8, 1917; and Mary, born August 7, 

The life of Mr. Blague is an illustra- 
tion of the honor and rewards of busi- 
ness fidelity and industry, when com- 
bined with high principles and unswerv- 
ing honesty. As a business man his char- 
acter is beyond reproach, and he adheres 
with staunch consistency to sound, con- 
servative and unquestionable methods. 
His life teaches the old and ever valuable 
lesson that success comes only through 
tireless industry, guided by a singleness 
of purpose. 



LEVISON, Sigmund, 

Head of Large Business. 

Mr. Levison is a well-known dealer in 
millinery goods, and carries the largest 
line in that business in Western Massa- 
chusetts. He is one of the successful busi- 
ness men of Springfield. 

Abraham Levison, father of Sigmund 
Levison, was born in Germany, and fol- 
lowed the calling of a farmer. He mar- 
ried Nanette Thalheimer, also a native of 
Germany, and they were the parents of 
six children, two of whom died in Ger- 
many ; two are now living in that coun- 
try, and the other remaining two are : 
Max, who came to the United States and 
was for many years a successful merchant 
in New York City, later was in Hartford, 
Connecticut, but returned to New York, 
where he died in 1916 ; and Sigmund, men- 
tioned below. Abraham and Nanette 
(Thalheimer) Levison died in Germany. 

Sigmund Levison, son of Abraham and 
Nanette (Thalheimer) Levison, was born 
January 7, 185 1, in Hochberg, Germany, 
and was educated in his native town. At 
the age of fifteen he was apprenticed at 
Speyer-on-the-Rhine to a firm of cloth 
merchants, who later established a bank- 
ing business. Sigmund learned the cloth 
business very thoroughly, early showing 
great ability in the mastery of detail. As 
the banking business developed, he was 
transferred to that department and was 
for two years bookkeeper of the institu- 
tion. He spent about three years with 
this firm, and the training he there re- 
ceived, both in business and banking, has 
since proved of great value to him. 

When about eighteen years of age, Mr. 
Levison came to the United States, 
whither his brother, Max, had preceded 
him, settling in Hartford, Connecticut. 
In that city Max had been associated with 
his uncle in a large millinery business, 


and when he left, the uncle sent for Sig- 
mund to take his place. Accordingly, the 
young man, on arriving in the United 
States, proceeded immediately to Hart- 
ford and associated himself with his 
uncle's business. There was also a branch 
store in Springfield which was not pros- 
pering and Mr. Levison was sent in the 
capacity of expert accountant to investi- 
gate the trouble. This was done so well 
and so quickly that he was urged to stay 
and act as manager, and after making 
some changes and improvements in the 
store, he consented to do so, retaining the 
position for three and a half years. 

At the end of that time, 1879, ^^s uncle 
sold out the business and retired, but Mr. 
Levison purchased the Springfield store, 
and has ever since been its owner and 
manager, now over forty years, he being 
to-day (1920) the longest in business of 
any merchant on Main street. He has 
continually improved and enlarged the 
business, using now three entire floors, 
and his stock includes all kinds of millin- 
ery, he carrying a very large assortment 
of styles and prices, including the high- 
est grades. His is the only house in 
Western Massachusetts dealing with both 
wholesale and retail customers. For 
many years Mr. Levison made regular 
trips to Europe for the purpose of select- 
ing his stock. His patronage is extensive, 
and he possesses the implicit confidence 
of the public, both as regards quality of 
goods and integrity of dealing. 

In politics, Mr. Levison has never been 
actively interested, though ever ready to 
do his part in promoting betterment of 
conditions and furthering worthy causes. 
He is and always has been a great lover 
of home, the only social organizations 
with which he is connected being the 
Nayasset Club and the Scheutzen Verein. 
Mr. Levison married (first) Eleanore 
Wells, born at Easthampton, Massachu- 


setts, daughter of Henry Wells, a manu- 
facturer of carpenters' tools at Williams- 
burg, Massachusetts. Mr. Wells died at 
Northampton, Massachusetts. A happy 
union of more than thirty years was dis- 
solved by the death of Mrs. Levison, who 
passed away at Springfield, on April 20, 
1916. On January 9, 1918, Mr. Levison 
married (second) Edith Wilson, daugh- 
ter of Peter Wilson, of Belchertown, 
where Mrs. Levison was born. 

FRANKLIN, Benjamin Alvey, 

££S.ciency Expert, Author. 

Colonel Benjamin A. Franklin, the 
third member of the family, as far as we 
have knowledge, to bear the given name 
of Benjamin A., his grandfather and 
father being the other two, is a man of 
wide experience, and during the recent 
World War, actuated by a sense of duty 
to country and devotion to the cause of 
justice and right, gave willingly of his 
service, receiving in return a distinguished 
service medal, and since the cessation of 
hostilities, has taken an active interest in 
and given his hearty support to all under- 
takings which have for their objects the 
welfare of the community ; he is a promi- 
nent factor in the councils of public affairs, 
and his honorable methods and keen busi- 
ness foresight have secured to him an en- 
viable position in the world of trade. 

Benjamin A. Franklin, father of Colonel 
Benjamin A. Franklin, is a son of Ben- 
jamin A. Franklin, and a representative 
of a family that made its home in the 
State of Missouri, from whence they re- 
moved to the State of Maryland, locating 
near Washington. Benjamin A. Frank- 
lin, Jr., in early life ran away from home 
and joined the Southern army in the War 
of the Rebellion, participating in many of 
the battles ; later, he served as captain in 
tb«^. Regular army, and subsequently 

joined Colonel Mosby, of Mosby's Par- 
tisan Rangers, an independent cavalry 
command in which he served until his 
discharge. Mr. Franklin was wounded 
during his period of service. He was a 
violinist, having as an instructor the re- 
nowned Ole Bull, his talent in music being 
fully developed under his capable direc- 
tion. Mr. Franklin married Pleceda H. 
Cralle, born in Virginia, in 1842, a de- 
scendant of an old Huguenot family. She 
bore her husband two children, namely: 
Flora, who married Walter Lane, and 
they are the parents of a daughter, Flor- 
imonde ; and Benjamin Alvey, of further 
mention. Mr. Franklin died in 1870, aged 
thirty years, and his widow died May 30, 

Benjamin Alvey Franklin was born on 
the Cobbs Hall Estate, in Northumber- 
land county, Virginia, October 15, 1869. 
He was early deprived by death of his 
father's care, but was reared and educated 
by his mother, attending a school in Balti- 
more, Maryland, and later pursued a 
course in mathematics and physics in 
Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore. 
His first employment was as clerk with 
the Midvale Steel Company of Pennsyl- 
vania, in their steel casting department, 
and in due course of time he became as- 
sistant superintendent of the department, 
and for thirteen years he continued his 
connection with this company. He then 
went to Boston, Massachusetts, as gen- 
eral manager of the United States Steel 
Company. This was a new company and 
they had a hard struggle to gain a firm 
foothold. During this period Mr. Frank- 
lin conceived the idea of organization and 
greater efficiency, and established a com- 
pany with these ideas in view. The com- 
pany was known as the Miller, Franklin 
Company, which in 1902 became the Mil- 
ler, Franklin, Bassett Company, with 
headquarters in New York City, where 


/(Iom. J-l^^cuJoU^ 


they are conducting business at the pres- 
ent time (1921). Nineteen years ago it 
was a new idea, and the company had con- 
siderable uphill work in consequence, but 
now the firm have a wonderful reputation 
in the developing of men and of business, 
insuring greater efficiency along all lines. 

In 1908, Mr. Moses, of the Strathmore 
Paper Company, of Springfield, engaged 
Colonel Franklin's services as an efficiency 
expert, and the result of his efforts being 
so satisfactory, it was decided to retain 
him in the company, and subsequently he 
was appointed to the office of vice-presi- 
dent, performing these duties in an ef- 
ficient manner up to the present, 1921. 
The benefit derived from Mr. Franklin's 
connection with the company is demon- 
strated by the fact that the business of 
the company is seven times as large as 
when he entered it. and at present is the 
largest plant in the world, manufacturing 
high grade writing paper. Colonel 
Franklin is the author of two books, one, 
"Cost Reports for Executives," which is 
used as a text book in half a dozen uni- 
versities, and the other, "Experiences in 

Upon the breaking out of the World 
War, Colonel Franklin was called into 
the service as an efficiency engineer. He 
entered the Ordnance Department, at 
Washington, D. C, and developed a 
capacity in corporations for the produc- 
tion of fifty million shells in three months. 
He was made major in the Ordnance De- 
partment in Washington, in September, 
1918, and was later sent to Bridgeport, 
Connecticut, as production manager of the 
Bridgeport district. This district was one 
of the smallest in area, but one of the 
largest in munition production. Upon the 
signing of the armistice, Colonel Frank- 
lin was made district chief of the Bridge- 
port Division for closing down business 
and settling claims, and was made chair- 

man of the Claims Board. He settled 
$50,000,000 worth of claims for $30,- 
000,000. He was made lieutenant-colonel, 
and at the Aberdeen Proving Grounds, in 
October, 1919, was decorated with a Dis- 
tinguished Service Medal for his valuable 
work during the war. Colonel Franklin 
is a member of the American Society of 
Mechanical Engineers, of the American 
Society of Social and Political Science; 
president of the Young Men's Christian 
Association ; vice-president of the North 
Eastern College of Affiliated Schools ; a 
member of the board of directors of the 
United Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion Schools; a member of the Rotary, 
NayaSset and Realty clubs, and a member 
and vestryman of All Saints Episcopal 

Colonel Franklin married, April 27, 
1896, Jeannette Elizabeth Hazlett, born 
in Brighton, England, daughter of John 
and Janette B. Hazlett. Children of 
Colonel and Mrs. Franklin: i. Benjamin 
Allan, born May 18, 1897, in Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania ; educated in schools of 
Springfield, and later pursued a journal- 
istic course in Columbia College ; on the 
outbreak of the World War, he joined the 
old Seventh (New York Regiment), 
which later became the 107th Regiment, 
and a part of the Twenty-seventh Divi- 
sion ; while this division, with many 
others, was engaged in taking the Hin- 
denburg Line, he was badly wounded, and 
was obliged to remain in the hospital for 
some time. Upon his recovery he was 
cited for bravery and was appointed to 
the rank of corporal. He served until the 
armistice was signed, then returned to 
America and was discharged. 2. Paul 
Lawrence, born in Boston, Massachusetts ; 
at the present time (1921) a student in 
Williston Seminary in Easthampton, Mas- 



MAYNARD, Everett Clark, 

Managerial Expert. 

John Maynard, first of the name in New 
England, was born in England, and was a 
proprietor of Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
as early as 1634. In 1639 he became a 
proprietor of the town of Sudbury, and 
there died, December 10, 1672. The name 
is spelled in early records Maynard, 
Mynard and Minor. Everett Clark May- 
nard, of Springfield, sales agent for the 
Fleischman Yeast Company, is a descend- 
ant of the Connecticut branch of John 
Maynard, who settled in Tolland county, 
in that State, and there Christopher May- 
nard, grandfather, and James Anderson 
Maynard, father of Everett C. Maynard, 
were born. The John Maynard men- 
tioned above, was later an iron master 
of Boston, Massachusetts. Christopher 
Maynard, the grandfather of Everett C. 
Maynard, mentioned above, and his wife, 
Elizabeth Maynard, resided near Tolland, 
Connecticut, at what is now known as 
Chrystal Lake. They had seven chil- 
dren : Daniel ; James Anderson, of 
further mention ; Eli, Elias, Betsey, Amy, 
Christopher, Jr. This review follows the 
career of James Anderson, the second 

James Anderson Maynard was born in 
Tolland county, Connecticut, in 1822, and 
died in Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 
1894. He was educated in the district 
school, and spent his boyhood at the 
farm, but his mechanical genius early as- 
serted itself and he learned the machinist 
trade, and with mechanical skill came in- 
ventive ability and many patents bore his 
name in their day. He located in East 
Boston, Massachusetts, where he was for 
a time employed at the old Atlantic Iron 
Works as a machinist. But he aspired to 
a business of his own and for many years 
was proprietor of the Maynard Iron 

Works, of East Boston, and built steam 
boilers, engines and machines of many 
kinds. In company with George W. Law- 
rence, of Damariscotta, Mr. Maynard 
built the iron monitor, "Warsaw," which 
served on the Mississippi with the force 
under General Grant. He continued in 
business until near the close of his life, 
and was one of the best known men of his 
business in the Boston district. He was 
a member of lodge and chapter of the 
Masonic order, a Knight Templar, and 
held the thirty-second degree of the 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite. In relig- 
ious faith he was a Methodist. 

James A. Maynard married Margaret 
Catherine Dakin, of Nova Scotia, who 
died October 24, 1897, surviving her hus- 
band three years. They were the parents 
cf four children: i. Child, died in in- 
fancy. 2. Florence Almira, married John 
Sidney Thompson, now deceased ; Mrs. 
Thompson resides in Roxbury, Massachu- 
setts. 3. Alice Eugenia, married Luther 
Franklin Fleming, now deceased ; she re- 
sides with her sister, Mrs. Thompson ; one 
son, Harry Anderson Luther, connected 
with a concern in Boston. 4. Everett 
Clark, of further mention. 

Everett Clark Maynard, only son of 
James Anderson and Margaret Catherine 
(Dakin) Maynard, was born in Boston, 
Massachusetts, May 6, 1863, now and for 
seventeen years past a resident of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. He was educated 
in Newton public schools, and at Allen 
Classical school. West Newton, Massa- 
chusetts, his business career beginning 
with C. E. Frost, shoe findings, Boston. 
His next employer was Lemuel Baxter, 
who was engaged in the same line of busi- 
ness as C. E. Frost. His next position 
was as clerk with a Cambridge grocer, 
and from there he went with Hubbard & 
Blake, tanners, of Charleston, Massachu- 
setts. That was his last position in Bos- 



ton or vicinity for several years. On 
leaving Boston, Mr. Maynard was em- 
ployed in the Carlton meat market at Nor- 
wood, Connecticut, for a time, going 
thence to Chicago, Illinois, where he be- 
came identified with the joint rate inspec- 
tion bureau. He was assigned to duty in 
Bloomington, Illinois, and later in Cham- 
paign, Illinois. He remained in the West 
until October, 1894, then returned to 
Boston, and soon afterward he became 
associated with the Fleischman Yeast 
Company, this connection continuing until 
the present (1921), over a quarter of a 
century. The first ten years were spent 
in Boston, but in 1904 he was assigned to 
Springfield. Massachusetts, as a sales 
agent for the Western Massachusetts dis- 
trict of which Springfield is the central 
headquarters. Eighteen men are attached 
to the Springfield office, they covering the 
entire western part of the State for the 
Fleischman products. Mr. Maynard is a 
hard worker and has built up a large busi- 
ness for his company. He is of a most 
genial nature and in all the societies of 
which he is a member he is very popular. 

Mr. Maynard is a member of Roswell 
Lee Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; 
Springfield Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; 
Springfield Council, Royal and Select 
Masters ; also all the Scottish Rite bodies, 
including the Massachusetts Consistory, 
and Melha Temple, Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine, Bela Grotto, Mystic Order of 
Veiled Prophets of the Enchanted Realm, 
of which he has for several years been 
treasurer ; Springfield Automobile Club, 
and Springfield Fish and Game Club. 

Mr. Maynard married, April 20, 1883, 
Catherine Burnham Robinson, of Boston, 
daughter of John and Marie Antoinette 
(Burnham) Robinson. Mr. and Mrs. 
Maynard are the parents of a son, Guy 
Burnham, born in Maiden, Massachusetts, 
February 9, 1885 ; was sales manager for 

the Fleischman Yeast Company in Scran- 
ton, Pennsylvania, but now in Hartford, 
Connecticut, as district manager of the 
Western Massachusetts Division ; he mar- 
ried Ruby Couch, and they have two chil- 
dren, Phyllis and Guy Burnham Maynard. 

BIDWELL, Raymond Austin, 

Lawyer, Public-Spirited Citizen. 

Bidwell as a surname is one of the many 
derived from Biddulph, meaning War 
Wolf, Bidwell, Bedwell and Biddle, the 
most common forms now in use. Bid- 
dulph Castle, in County Norfolk, Eng- 
land, was built about 1066, and tradition 
says that one of the "Conqueror's" gen- 
erals married the Biddulph heiress and 
took her name. The Bidwell arms of the 
Devonshire and Thetford branches are so 
similar as to show them descended from 
a common ancestor. The arms of the 
Devonshire family are thus described by 
Burke : 

Arms — Per saltire or and gules four roundles, 
each charged with a martlet, all countercharged. 

Crest — ^A hand in fesse couped at the wrist, 
holding a curling stone. 

(I) The founder of this branch of the 
family in New England, Richard Bidwell, 
was one of the pioneer settlers of Con- 
necticut, and in Windsor, which was his 
home, was named in the records as "Good- 
man" Bidwell. He married and was the 
father of a son, John. 

(II) John Bidwell, eldest son of Rich- 
ard Bidwell, and an "early settler at Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, died in 1687. He was 
an early settler of Hartford, Connecticut, 
and had four acres of land allotted him in 
the division of 1639. He owned a tan 
yard, on an island in Little river, in what 
is now Bushnell's Park, and with Joseph 
Bull owned a sawmill and two hundred 
acres of timber land. He married Sarah 



Wilcox, daughter of John and Mary Wil- 

(III) John (2) Bidwell, eldest son of 
John (i) and Sarah (Wilcox) Bidwell, 
was born in Hartford, Connecticut, about 
1641, died July 3, 1692. He was a man 
of wealth, owning six saw or grist mills, 
three at Hartford, one each at East Hart- 
ford, Wethersfield and Middletown. He 
married, November 7, 1678, Sarah Welles, 
born in 1659, died in 1708, daughter of 
Thomas, and granddaughter of Governor 
Welles, of Connecticut. He and his wife 
were admitted to full communion in the 
Centre Street (Second) Church, Hartford, 
Connecticut, February 21, 1681. He left 
an estate valued at £1,081. 

(IV) John (3) Bidwell, eldest son of 
John (2) and Sarah (Welles) Bidwell, 
was born September i, 1679, ^'^^^ Septem- 
ber 3, 1751. He built a saw and grist 
mill in East Hartford, on Hockanum 
river, which was twice burned by the 
Indians. It is told of him that he was 
once so fatigued from overwork that he 
fell asleep in his mill and slept for twenty- 
four hours ; awakening at sunset, he shut 
down the mill, went home, and found to 
his horror that the mill had been running 
all day Sunday. He kept the next twenty- 
four hours as piously as though it were 
the Sabbath, reading the Bible and ab- 
staining from work. He married Han- 
nah Pitkin, who died January 14, 175 1, 
daughter of Captain Roger Pitkin. 

(V) John (4) Bidwell, eldest son of 
John (3) and Hannah (Pitkin) Bidwell, 
was born in 1707, died June 14, 1765. He 
inherited his father's mill property at East 
Hartford, Connecticut, and there passed 
his life, his headstone standing there as 
late as 1871. He married Mabel Gilman, 
born in 171 1, died October i, 1776, daugh- 
ter of Solomon Gilman. Hartford town 
records state that "he cleared up a swamp 

on the south side of his house and set fire 
to the brush with the wind north. After 
the fire was well started the wind shifted 
into the south and to save it he ran to his 
house and closed all doors and windows. 
Among the brush that burned was what is 
known as dog wood, which is very poison- 
ous, and the smoke from this poisoned 
him and he died twenty-four hours later. 
His wife was so badly poisoned that she 
was a cripple the rest of her life." 

(VI) Captain Zebulon Bidwell, son of 
John (4) and Mabel (Gilman) Bidwell, 
was born in 1743, died September 20, 
1777. He was a captain in the Revolu- 
tionary army, and was killed at the battle 
of Stillwater, New York, September 20, 
1777. He is mentioned in Hartford (Con- 
necticut) town records 1762 to 1770, and 
in Revolutionary War rolls. He moved 
to Middlebury, Vermont. He married, 
December 18, 1766, Mary Burnham, 
daughter of Thomas and Mary (Barber) 
Burnham ; granddaughter of Thomas (3) ; 
son of Thomas (2) ; son of Thomas (i) 
and Anna Burnham. They resided in 
East Hartford, Connecticut. 

(VII) Zebulon (2) Bidwell, youngest son 
of Captain Zebulon and Mary (Burnham) 
Bidwell, was born in Middlebury, Ver- 
mont, in 1777, shortly after his father's 
death. He married a Miss Simonds, re- 
turned to Connecticut, and lived in South 
Manchester, where a son, Austin Bidwell, 
was born. 

(VIII) Austin Bidwell, of the eighth 

generation, son of Zebulon (2) and 

(Simonds) Bidwell, was born in South 
Manchester, Connecticut, in 1810, died in 
the village of Feeding Hills, town of 
Agawam, Hampden county, Massachu- 
setts, September 15, 1893. He settled in 
Feeding Hills about 1850, and there was 
engaged in farming until his death. He 
married Cornelia Judson, and they were 


/7^^^ yS 


the parents of four children : Jane ; Caro- 
line and Cornelia, twins (Caroline, the 
wife of Willard Upham ; Cornelia, the 
wife of Albert Williams) ; and James 
Franklin, of further mention. 

(IX) James Franklin Bidwell, only son 
of Austin and Cornelia (Judson) Bidwell, 
was born in Manchester, Connecticut, 
July 9, 1844, died at his home. No. 127 
Maple street, Springfield, Massachusetts, 
August 28, 1917, having long been one of 
Springfield's active influential business 
men. He was about six years of age 
when his parents moved to the farm in 
Feeding Hills, and there he attended the 
sessions held in the old red school house 
near by. He helped on the farm and 
clerked in the Feeding Hills store until 
nineteen, then, on June 21, 1864, enlisted 
in Company G, Fifth Regiment, Massa- 
chusetts Volunteer Infantry, serving until 
honorably discharged, November 16, 1864. 
He again took a position in the Feeding 
Hills store after returning from the army 
and later became its owner, operating it 
for two years. He then, for about eight 
years, was a member of the firm, Hins- 
dale, Smith & Company, dealers in leaf 
tobacco, doing a large business from their 
headquarters on Hampden street. After 
this firm dissolved, Mr. Bidwell continued 
in the same business for a short time, then 
formed a partnership with Dwight 
Loomis, they operating as Bidwell & 
Loomis until Mr. Bidwell retired, and in 
a quiet way passed the remainder of his 
seventy-three years. 

During his active years, Mr. Bidwell 
gave himself freely to the service of his 
city, serving as councilman' in 1885; as 
alderman from Ward One in 1886 and 
1887; and was water commissioner for 
several years. He was fond of out-of- 
doors sports, encouraged baseball, and 
was a member of the famous South 

Branch Club, trout fishing and shooting 
being his favored recreations. But he was 
preeminently a lover of home and there 
he found his great happiness. He was a 
devoted member of the North Congrega- 
tional Church, of which his long-time 
friend. Rev. Newton M. Hall, D. D., was 
pastor at the time of Mr. Bidwell's death. 

Mr. Bidwell married, October 5, 1869, 
at Southampton, Massachusetts, Frostine 
V. Brown, of Westfield, who survives him, 
daughter of David Lyman and Louisa 
Jeannette (Skidmore) Brown. Children: 
Maud Louise, born March 10, 1872, mar- 
ried Ralph P. Alden, and has two daugh- 
ters, Priscilla and Beatrice ; and Ray- 
mond Austin, of further mention. 

(X) Raymond Austin Bidwell, of the 
tenth American generation, only son of 
James Franklin and Frostine V. (Brown) 
Bidwell, was born in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, March ii, 1876, and there yet 
resides (1921), a leading member of the 
Springfield bar. He prepared in Spring- 
field High School, then entered Harvard 
University, whence he was graduated A. 
B., class of 1899. Breaking away from 
family precedent and tradition, he chose 
a professional career, and in 1903 was 
graduated LL. B. from Harvard Law 
School. He began practice in Springfield, 
in that year, and until 1906 was associated 
with John A. Dennison, when the partner- 
ship was dissolved, and he has continued 
alone until the present. He was city 
prosecutor for two years, and assistant 
city solicitor four years. He is a member 
of the bar association of the city and 
State, also the American Bar Association, 
and practices in all State and Federal 
courts of the district. In connection with 
his law work, he has been president of 
the corporation of the Streeter Aqueduct 
Company of Streeter, Illinois ; president 
of the H. R. Hunting Company, of Spring- 



field, jobbers and booksellers ; and presi- 
dent of the Boston "Arena." He is a 
member of the Fraternal Order of Eagles. 
His clubs are the Colony, Nayasset, 
Springfield Country, Connecticut Valley, 
and Harvard ; his college fraternities, 
Sigma Alpha Upsilon and Alpha Delta 
Psi. In politics he is a Republican. 

Mr. Bidwell married, April 19, 1905, 
Bertha Dawes Upham, of Quincy, Illi- 
nois, daughter of Willard Putnam and 
Caroline R. (Bidwell) Upham. 

Mrs. Raymond Austin Bidwell is of the 
tenth generation of the family founded in 
New England by John Upham. The line 
of descent from John Upham is through 
his son Phineas ; his son Phineas (2), 
1659-1720; his son Phineas (3), 1682-1766; 
his son Timothy, 1710-1781 ; his son Jesse, 
1745-1825; his son Jesse (2), 1775-1860; 
his son Joshua, 1806-1871 ; his son, Wil- 
lard Putnam Upham, born 1841, died Feb- 
ruary I, 1 91 2, and his wife, Caroline Rosell 
Bidwell, whO' died in December, 191 1. 
They were the parents of four children : 
I. Charles C, of Cleveland. 2. Bertha 
Dawes, the wife of Raymond A. Bidwell 
(see Bidwell X). 3. Harry Judson. 4. 
Nellice Mav. 

MOORE, Prentice Boardman, 
Real £state Expert. 

As general manager of the Home Build- 
ers' Company, of East Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, Mr. Moore has taken an active 
part in developing and building up that 
part of the city. 

(I) Orlando Moore, the first of this 
branch of the family of whom we have 
definite information, was a resident of 
Ludlow, Hampden county, Massachusetts, 
where he devoted his attention to agricul- 
tural pursuits, and from which he derived 
a comfortable livelihood. He was a man 

of energy and enterprise, public-spirited 
and active in community affairs, respected 
and esteemed by his neighbors and 
friends. He was the father of two chil- 
dren : Carlos O., of further mention ; and 
George, who went to California in 1848. 
Orlando Moore died in Ludlow, Massa- 

(II) Carlos O. Moore, son of Orlando 
Moore, was born in Ludlow, Massachu- 
setts, in 1 83 1. He attended the schools 
of the neighborhood, assisted with the 
work of his father's farm, and later con- 
ducted operations along this line on his 
own property, and was also largely inter- 
ested in the lumbering business. He took 
an active interest in town affairs, con- 
tributing of his time and means to the 
furtherance of every project that had for 
its object the welfare and progress of the 
section of the State in which he resided. 
He married Nancy Orcutt, of Colerain, 
Franklin county, Massachusetts, and they 
were the parents of two children : George, 
died young ; and Prentice Boardman, of 
further mention. Carlos O. Moore died 
in Ludlow, Massachusetts, in 1898, aged 
sixty-seven years, having survived his 
wife ten years, her death occurring in the 
year 1888, aged fifty years. 

(III) Col. Prentice Boardman Moore, 
son of Carlos O. and Nancy (Orcutt) 
Moore, was born in Ludlow, Massachu- 
setts, June 7, 1859. He obtained his pre- 
liminary education in the town schools, 
and this was supplemented by a short 
course of study in Wilbraham Academy. 
During his boyhood he had, in common 
with so many boys, a strong inclination 
to see the wonders of the West, and in 
1873 he put his plan into execution, going 
in that year to Montana, where he re- 
mained for five years, during this time 
engaged in mining. He then decided to 
go further West, making his way to Cali- 


■ JiisloT-ica't 5oczf^ 


fornia, where he remained for several 
years, and during this period he purchased 
land in Southern California, laid out many- 
town sites, and played an important part 
in the upbuilding of that section of the 
country. He also took up land in Cuba, 
some ninety-two miles west of Havana, 
and he has handled land projects in the 
United States from Maine to California. 
For a number of years he served in the 
capacity of auctioneer, selling millions of 
dollars worth of property. 

In 191 1, Colonel Moore, having previ- 
ously returned to the East, purchased a 
thousand acres of land in East Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, and founded the East 
Springfield Realty Syndicate, of which he 
was general manager. Later he founded 
the East Springfield Home Builders' Com- 
pany, of which Henry Bowles is presi- 
dent, and Colonel Moore is general mana- 
ger, and this company took over the inter- 
ests of the former-named organization. 
In 191 1 the assessed valuation was 
$53,000, and nine years later the assessed 
valuation was between $3,000,000 and 
$4,000,000. This statement is an eloquent 
testimony of the growth of the company, 
this being mainly due to the indefatigable 
efforts of Colonel Moore, who is a man of 
resourceful business ability and good 
judgment, and his efforts have been an 
important factor in interesting other con- 
cerns to locate in East Springfield, namely, 
the Westinghouse plant, the Rolls-Royce 
plant, and many others. He erected his 
own beautiful residence in East Spring- 
field in 1913, and all the building that has 
been done in the vicinity has been under 
the personal supervision of Colonel Moore. 
His time has been so taken up with the 
activities enumerated as to preclude politi- 
cal activities other than the casting of his 
vote for the candidates who in his opinion 
are best qualified for office. He is staunch 

in his allegiance to Republican principles. 
He is a member of the Masonic order in 
New York, has attained the thirty-second 
degree in the Scottish Rite, and is also 
affiliated with Mecca Temple, in New 
York City. 

Colonel Moore married, April 16, 1879, 
Martha P. Leslie, of Canada, daughter of 
John Leslie. Children: i. Edward P., 
a contractor and builder; married Adeline 
Eaton, and they are the parents of one 
child, Martha. 2. Gertrude B., who is em- 
ployed in her father's office. 

BOWLES, Henry Leland, 

Founder of Important Business. 

Henry Leland Bowles, president of the 
Bowles Lunch Company, Ltd., of Canada, 
which operates lunch rooms in Ottawa, 
Toronto, and Hamilton, Ontario; the 
Bowles Lunch Company, Inc., operating 
lunch rooms in Massachusetts, Rhode 
Island, and New York State, west to Buf- 
falo ; and H. L. Bowles & Company, with 
a chain of lunch rooms from Buffalo, New 
York, west to Duluth, Minnesota, and 
who makes his residence and has his office 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, where he 
also has large real estate interests, was 
born at Athens, Vermont, a son of Lyman 
E. and Julia L. (Leland) Bowles. He 
comes from an ancient English family. 
Joseph Bolles, his ancestor, is first of rec- 
ord in New England in 1640, where he 
engaged in trade at Winter Harbor, near 
the mouth of the Saco river, then the 
province of Maine. Mention of one 
"Bolls" is made in the Roll of Battle 
Abbey, and the names Boll, Bol, Bole and 
Bolle occur frequently in Domesday Book. 
The name is of frequent occurrence in 
English records, the American "Bowles" 
being a form of the English "Bolles." 

(I) Joseph Bolles, aforementioned, left 



Winter Harbor and located at Wells, 
Maine, where he was town clerk for ten 
years, 1654- 1664. During his term the 
town was raided by the Indians, his house 
was burned, and the first volume of the 
town records destroyed by fire. He was 
both grantor and grantee in numerous 
real estate transactions, was honored with 
important positions in the government, 
and was rated a man of high character. 
In all cases where the name is found 
written in his own hand it is spelled 
Bolles, but it has been written in every 
conceivable way until in the fifth genera- 
tion Bowles became the accepted form in 
this branch. 

Joseph Bolles, born in England, in Feb- 
ruary, 1608, died in Wells, Maine, prior to 
November 29, 1678, his will being pro- 
bated on the latter date. His wife, Mary 
Bolles, who with all her children survived 
him, is believed to have been a daughter 
of Morgan Howell, who owned land at 
Cape Porpoise. She was born in March, 
1624. Their children were: Mary, born 
August 7, 1641 ; Thomas, born December 
I, 1644; Samuel, born March 12, 1646; 
Hannah, born November 25, 1649; Eliza, 
born January 15, 1652; Joseph, born 
March 15, 1654; Sarah, born January 20, 
1657; Mercy, born August 11, 1661. From 
Joseph Bolles, the pioneer line is traced in 
this branch through Samuel, the second 

(II) Samuel Bolles was born in Wells, 
Maine, March 12, 1646, and was living in 
the town of Rochester, Massachusetts, in 
1713. The town of Wells, in 1668, granted 
him three hundred acres of land pro- 
vided he "improve the same within a 
year." He was burned out three times 
by Indians, then moved to Clark's Island, 
in Boston Harbor, finally going to Roches- 
ter, Massachusetts. He married Mary, 
daughter of William Dyer, of Sheepscott, 

Maine, and they were the parents of three 
sons: Joseph; Samuel (2), the ancestor 
in this branch ; and Jonathan. 

(III) Samuel (2) Bolles, who was born 
in the town of Wells, Maine, where he 
was a farmer most of his life, died October 
3, 1764. He married Lydia Balch, and 
they were the parents of eight children : 
Lydia, Samuel, Benjamin, David, Ruth, 
Deliverance, Deborah, and Joanna. De- 
scent follows through David, the third 

(IV) David Bolles spent his years until 
1782 in Rochester, Massachusetts, then 
moved to Richmond, New Hampshire, 
where the remainder of his life was spent. 
He married Lydia Kirby, and they were 
the parents of ten children : David, Obed, 
Elijah, Jonathan, Abigail, John, Cath- 
erine, Mary, Jesse, and Hannah. Jesse, 
the youngest son, is head of the fifth 

(V) Jesse Bolles was born in 1779, and 
died May 10, 1855. He was a farmer of 
the town of Bethlehem, New Hampshire, 
his farm now the site of Maplewood 
Casino. He married Polly Gale, and they 
were the parents of a son, Caleb W., of 
whom further; and of a daughter, Mary, 
who died young. 

(VI) Caleb W. Bowles (as he spelled 
his name) was born in 1809, and died at 
Littleton, New Hampshire, February 8, 
1882. He inherited the home farm at 
Bethlehem, New Hampshire, and there 
resided many years, finally moving to 
Sugar Hill, where he spent his last years, 
died, and is buried. He married (first), 
September 28, 1831, Martha Goodnow, of 
Lisbon, born in 1806, died in 1858. Chil- 
dren : Henry, Mary, Lyman Eliot, of fur- 
ther mention ; and Augusta. Mr. Bowles 
married (second) Sally Barrett. 

(VII) Lyman Eliot Bowles, son of 
Caleb W. and Martha (Goodnow) Bowles, 



was born in Franconia, New Hampshire, 
October 8, 1838, and died at Newtown, 
Pennsylvania, September 14, 1871. He 
early developed studious qualities, and 
after completing his studies in the Bethle- 
hem public schools he entered an acad- 
emy, taking advanced courses. He pre- 
pared thoroughly and became a teacher 
in the district schools of Lyman and Lis- 
bon, New Hampshire, and later in Rock- 
ingham and Athens, Vermont. He was 
careful and painstaking with his scholars 
and held by them in high esteem. He 
was then employed by an ice company in 
New York City for about three years. 
Later he went South, but on the way to 
New Orleans was attacked by rheumatic 
fever, and although his life was despaired 
of, he finally recovered. He spent a year 
in New Orleans, then returned North, and 
for three years was employed on the farm 
of his father-in-law, Otis Leland, at 
Athens, Vermont. He then went to New- 
town, Pennsylvania, where he engaged in 
the life insurance business, which he fol- 
lowed until his death. He was a member 
of the Masonic fraternity, and his burial 
services, conducted by his brethren of that 
order, was in accordance with their beau- 
tiful ritual, and he is buried in Sunset Hill 
Cemetery in Lisbon, New Hampshire. 
Mr. Bowles was an ardent advocate of 
temperance, and universally esteemed. 

Mr. Bowles married, March 8, 1865, at 
Athens, Vermont, Julia Louise Leland, 
born in Lowell, Massachusetts, Septem- 
ber 14, 1840, daughter of Otis and Nancy 
(Spalding) Leland, and a descendant of 
Henry Leland, born in England, and a 
resident of the town of Sherbourne, Mas- 
sachusetts, at the time of his death, April 
4, 1680. Henry Leland married Margaret 
Babcock, and they were the parents of 
five children. From Henry and Margaret 
(Babcock) Leland descent is traced to 

Julia Louise (Leland) Bowles through 
their son, Ebenezer Leland, and his wife 
Deborah ; their son, Captain James Leland, 
and his wife, Hannah ; their son, Phineas 
Leland, who had two wives, Lydia 
(Fletcher) Leland and Sarah (Warren) 
Leland ; his son, Willard Leland ; his son, 
Otis Leland, born in Grafton, Massachu- 
setts, in 1791, died in Weathersfield, Ver- 
mont, in 1871, and his wife, Nancy 
(Spalding) Leland, born November 30, 
1800, Otis Leland was a well educated 
man, a teacher for several years prior to 
becoming a farmer. Nancy (Spalding) 
Leland was a descendant of Edward 
Spalding, who settled at Jamestown, Vir- 
ginia, in 1619, with the Sir George Yeard- 
ley Company, but later settled in Brain- 
tree, Massachusetts, where he was made 
a freeman in 1640. The descent is traced 
through his son, Andrew Spalding; his 
son, Andrew (2) Spalding; his son, James 
Spalding; his son, Benjamin Spalding; 
his son, Jesse Spalding, and his wife, 
Winifred (Swift) Spalding, of Boston, 
who were married. May 31, 1798, Nancy 
being the second child of that marriage. 
She married, January 4, 1820, Otis Le- 
land, of Baltimore. Lyman Eliot and 
Julia Louise (Leland) Bowles were the 
parents of four children : Henry Leland, 
of further mention ; Angeline S., who re- 
sides with her mother at Long Meadow, 
Massachusetts ; Caleb W. (see following 
sketch) ; and Martha, who lives in Gleas- 
ondale, Massachusetts. 

(VHI) Henry Leland Bowles, eldest 
child of Lyman Eliot and Julia Louise 
(Leland) Bowles, was born at Athens, 
Vermont, January 6, 1866, and there spent 
bis youth. He attended the Athens pub- 
lic schools and Vermont Academy at Sax- 
ton's River. He left school at the age of 
eighteen, then journeyed westward, locat- 
ing on a farm near Osage, Mitchell coun- 



ty, Iowa. There he remained two years, 
g^oing thence to California, finally return- 
ing to New England, where he found em- 
ployment with the United States Watch 
Company at Waltham, Massachusetts. 
Six months later he became night clerk 
at the Essex House in Salem, Massachu- 
setts, a position he filled for three years. 
He then spent some time with the Metro- 
politan Life Insurance Company in their 
South Boston office. After severing his 
connection with the insurance company, 
he engaged in the business in which he 
has made a most pronounced success, be- 
ginning as a clerk in the service of J. A. 
Whitcomb, then proprietor of the Balti- 
more Dairy Lunch rooms, located in dif- 
ferent cities in Massachusetts, being em- 
ployed at dififerent times in Boston and 
Lawrence. He remained in Mr. Whit- 
comb's employ for three years, gaining an 
intimate knowledge of the business, and 
realizing its possibilities, in 1898 he 
opened a dairy lunch room under his own 
management in Springfield, and demon- 
strated his ability to conduct a success- 
ful business and to gain public favor. 
He later decided to add a second lunch 
room, and after this was in successful 
operation he added a third, then a fourth, 
until his chain of lunch rooms at the pres- 
ent time (1920) extends as far West as 
Duluth, Minnesota, and as far East as 
Providence, Rhode Island, and North to 
Toronto, Ottawa and Hamilton, Canada. 
Charles Gilbert is his partner in H. L. 
Bowles & Company. In all the enter- 
prises Mr. Bowles controls, a form of 
profit-sharing with employees is in force ; 
and to this important detail of his busi- 
ness Mr. Bowles attributes a large part 
of his success. The interests of employer 
and employee being mutual, selfish con- 
siderations are obliterated and all work is 
for the common good of the business. In 


addition to his extensive lunch room 
activities, Mr. Bowles has interests in 
other enterprises. He is president of a 
hotel company which operates a small 
hotel at Saxton's River, Vermont ; presi- 
dent of the Springfield Home Builders ; 
and also owns a farm consisting of sixty- 
five acres in Longmeadow, Massachusetts, 
and has invested largely in real estate in 
Springfield and other cities. He is a 
director of the Union Trust Company of 
Springfield, and a trustee of the City 
Library Association. 

In politics Mr. Bowles is a Republican, 
high in party circles. In 1912 he became 
a Roosevelt Republican, and later fol- 
lowed the lead of President Roosevelt in 
the Progressive party. In 1913 he was 
the candidate of this party, was endorsed 
by the Democratic party, and was elected 
a member of the Governor's Council. In 
1914 he was nominated by the same party, 
but was defeated. In 191 5 he was the 
candidate for State treasurer; in 1916 sup- 
ported Theodore Roosevelt in the Repub- 
lican party, and later supported Charles 
E. Hughes, Republican candidate. In 
1918-19 he was a member of the Gov- 
ernor's Council, and during the time the 
United States was at war with Germany, 
1917-18, served on a local selective draft 
board. In 1920 he was a delegate to the 
National convention that nominated War- 
ren G. Harding and Calvin Coolidge. Mr. 
Bowles is a member of lodge, chapter, 
council, commandery, and all the Scottish 
Rite bodies up to and including the thirty- 
second degree of the Masonic order ; a life 
member of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks ; a member of the Nayasset 
Club, the Springfield Country Club, and 
of several hunting and fishing clubs. 

In 1909, Mr. Bowles married Edna 
Howard, daughter of William Howard, 
of Leeds, Massachusetts. 



BOWLES, Caleb Wells, 

Business Manager. 

As assistant treasurer and general man- 
ager of the Bowles Lunch Company, 
Caleb W. Bowles has general oversight 
of the various restaurants of the company 
in New England, and as far west as Buf- 
falo, New York, and also of the Canadian 
plants operated by the same company. 
He is a brother of Henry L. Bowles (q. 
v.), the founder of the Bowles Lunch busi- 
ness, and a descendant of Joseph Bolles 
(q. v.). 

Caleb Wells Bowles, of the eighth 
American generation, youngest son of 
Lyman Eliot and Julia L. (Leland) 
Bowles (q. v.). was born in Newtown, 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania, December 
]8, 1869, and upon the death of his father, 
in 1871, was brought by his mother to 
Perkinsville, Vermont, and later to North 
Springfield, Massachusetts. He was edu- 
cated in the schools of Springfield, and 
also of Saxton's River, Vermont. He then 
found a position in Waltham, Massachu- 
setts, in the Waltham Watch Factory, re- 
maining four years, then was engaged in 
the jewelry business in Winchester, New 
Hampshire, four years, and for a short 
time was in the grocery business in Read- 
ing, Massachusetts. In February, 1898, he 
came to Springfield, Massachusetts, and 
became identified with his brother in his 
business of catering to the public appetite. 
He is now a director of the Bowles Lunch 
Company, also assistant treasurer and 
general manager, having charge of the 
restaurants of the company in New Eng- 
land, New York and Canada, in all eleven 
lunch rooms. The business has expanded 
to large proportions, and is constantly 

Mr. Bowles is president of the Sunapee 
Lake (New Hampshire) Aglers' Camp; 

member of Hampden Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, and holds the thirty- 
second degree in the Ancient Accepted 
Scottish Rite ; is a noble of Melha Temple, 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; Bela Grotto ; 
and Springfield Lodge, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. 

Mr. Bowles married (first) in 1893, 
Mabel Mills, of Nova Scotia, daughter of 
William Mills, a brother of Sir John Mills, 
a member of the English Parliament. 
Mrs. Bowles died in 1907, leaving two 
sons: I. Lyman Eliot (2), born July 21, 
1895 ; he served eighteen months in 
France during the World War, at Fron- 
tenac, and on the Baltic, ranking as mess 
sergeant; he is now with the Bowles 
Company in Hamilton, Ontario. 2. Ray- 
mond Leland, born July 10, 1899; he vol- 
unteered for service during the World 
War, trained at Camp Bartlett, and served 
with the Coast Artillery during the period 
the United States was engaged in the 
war, being discharged at the signing of 
the armistice. Mr. Bowles married (sec- 
ond), in 1909, Lillian Leavett, of Chico- 
pee, Massachusetts. 

BEALS, James Samuel, 

Enterprising Citizen. 

The Beals family, of which James S. 
Beals, of Springfield, Massachusetts, was 
a representative in the eighth American 
generation, was founded in New England 
by John Beal, who came from Hingham, 
in Norfolkshire, England, to Hingham, 
Massachusetts, with his wife, five sons, 
three daughters, and two servants, about 
1638. Beal and Beals, meaning literally 
a narrow pass, is an ancient English sur- 
name, and the French form of the name, 
de la Beale, is found in the Hundred Rolls 
in the thirteenth century. John Beal, the 
American ancestor, was granted land at 



Hingham, Massachusetts, September i8, 
1638, and there resided until his death, a 
shoemaker by trade. He was admitted a 
freeman in 1639, was deputy to the Gen- 
eral Court in 1640, and in 1659. His first 
wife, Nazareth Hobart, born in England 
about 1600, died in Hingham, Massachu- 
setts, September 23, 1658, the mother of 
ten children. He died April i, 1688, the 
record stating "Father Beal died, aged one 
hundred years." Descent in this branch 
is traced from John, the fourth child, who 
wrote his name Beals. 

(H) John (2) Beals was born in Eng- 
land about 1627, was brought to Hing- 
ham, Massachusetts, by his parents, and 
there died September 12, 1694. He in- 
herited the homestead from his father, 
and there lived until his death. By trade 
he was a carpenter. By his first wife, 
Elizabeth, he had a daughter Elizabeth; 
by second wife, Mary Gill, daughter of 
Thomas and Hannah (Otis) Gill, seven 
children, including a son, Thomas, head 
of the third generation. 

(HI) Thomas Beals was born in Hing- 
ham, Massachusetts, March 15, 1671, died 
in Newton, Massachusetts, September 14, 
1 75 1. He moved from Hingham to New- 
ton in 1726, and there the three young- 
est of his twelve children were born. He 
married, June 13, 1710, Jane Remington, 
born in Hingham, April 22, 1688, daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Remember (Stowell) 
Remington. Descent is traced in this line 
from Israel, the ninth child and the last 
of his children born in Hingham. 

(IV) Israel Beals was born in Hing- 
ham, Massachusetts, April 25, 1726, but 
a few months later was taken by his par- 
ents to Newton, which was ever afterward 
his home. He married, in Newton, Sep- 
tember 8, 1748, Eunice Flagg, and among 
their children was a son, Joshua, head of 
the fifth generation. 

(V) Joshua Beals was born in Newton, 
Massachusetts, December 27, 1753, learned 
the tailor's trade, moved to Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, and there died in 1813. 
He was a soldier of the Revolution, serv- 
ing in Captain Loring's company. Colo- 
nel Edward Proctor's regiment, four 
months and twenty-six days, in 1780. He 
married, in Boston, December 16, 1778, 
Elizabeth Lane, born August 27, 1755, 
died May 7, 1839. Their eight children 
were born in Boston, the first, Joshua, 
born October 22, 1779, the youngest, Caro- 
line A., born April 12, 1803. The second 
son of this marriage was John (3) Beals, 
grandfather of James Samuel Beals, of 

(VI) John (3) Beals was born in Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, September 23, 1781, 
and during his lifetime lived in Dexter, 
Massachusetts, and Searsport, Maine, the 
proprietor of a hotel in the last-named 
town. He married Judith Jones, of Dex- 
ter, Maine, and they were the parents of 
five children, including a son, John Col- 
cord, of further mention. 

(VII) John Colcord Beals was born in 
Dexter, Maine, in 183 1, died in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, February 28, 1897. 
He attended the public schools until thir- 
teen years of age, then went to sea as 
cook on a coasting vessel. He continued 
a sailor and in five years had risen from 
cook to master, being but eighteen when 
he reached this position. He sailed the 
seas for forty years, commanding vessels, 
both coasting and deep water, crossing 
the ocean in the East Indies trade and 
sailing to West Indies and southern ports. 
In 1881 he came to Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, which was his home ever after. 
After locating here he engaged in manu- 
facturing bricks in South Windsor, Con- 
necticut, being the pioneer in this line of 
business there. Several years prior to his 



death he retired from all business. He 
was a member of Searsport Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Searsport, 
Maine, but later demitted to Hampden 
Lodge, Springfield, Massachusetts. Cap- 
tain Beals married Elizabeth Clifford Gil- 
more, of Prospect, Maine, a village which 
later was renamed Searsport. She died 
in 1906, aged seventy-five years, daugh- 
ter of John and Susan Gilmore. They 
were the parents of a child who died in 
infancy ; and James Samuel Beals, of fur- 
ther mention. 

(VIII) James Samuel Beals was born 
in Searsport, Maine, September i, 1870, 
and there began his education in the pub- 
lic schools, but when a lad of eleven 
years, Springfield became the family 
home. He completed his education in 
Springfield schools and then entered his 
father's employ, the latter there being 
engaged in the manufacture of brick. He 
continued with his father about eight 
years, then entered the office employ of 
the H. C. Pufifer Company, wholesale and 
retail hay and grain dealers and millers, 
beginning as a clerk of that corporation, 
later was made general superintendent of 
the Springfield plant, and still later was 
made a member of the firm, and for about 
twenty years so continued, to the time of 
l.-is death, March 18, 1920. He was a 
member of Hampden Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and Bay Path Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Mr. Beals married, June 19, 1900, Sophie 
Stoughton, of South Windsor, Connecti- 
cut, daughter of Samuel O. and Fannie 
(Moore) Stoughton. Mr. Beals was a 
man well known and highly respected, 
and his passing was not only a loss to his 
immediate family, but to his large circle 
of friends. 

CAMPBELL, Charles Burton, 

Founder of Important Business. 

Since 1901 a resident of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, Charles Burton Campbell, 
a native son of New York, traces his fam- 
ily history to an ancient New England 
family, although his ancestor first settled 
in Virginia before appearing in Walling- 
ford, Connecticut, in which latter State 
the greater part of a long life was spent. 
His son settled in Mount Washington, 
Massachusetts, where he died a nonage- 
narian, leaving a son, Robert Campbell, 
father of Peter Noble Campbell, father of 
Charles Burton Campbell. The clan 
Campbell was led by the Duke of Argyle, 
who was a Campbell, and who had in his 
service a body guard of eighty men all 
over six feet in height, splendidly propor- 
tioned, brave and experienced in war. In 
this guard was Robert Campbell, who was 
born in Argyle, Scotland, and who came 
to America prior to 1775, and founded this 
branch of the Campbells. 

Robert Campbell, above mentioned, was 
one of a family of twelve children. He 
was born in 1806, lived at Mount Wash- 
ington, Massachusetts, where he was a 
farmer, and there died in 1884. He mar- 
ried (first) Dorcas Meade, who died in 
1833. Four sons were born to them: 
Darius, Robert ; Peter Noble, of whom fur- 
ther ; and Stephen, the last named dying 
in infancy. He married (second) Clarissa 
Mclntyre, who died in 1894, the mother 
of seven sons: John, Levi, Stanton, War- 
ren, Edgar, George, James T., and two 
daughters, Clarissa and Helen. 

Peter Noble Campbell, son of Robert 
and Dorcas (Meade) Campbell, was born 
at Mount Washington, Massachusetts, 
December 25, 1831, and died in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, December 10, 1913. 
He attended the public schools, and for a 



time was a student at the academy at 
South Egremont, Massachusetts. In early 
manhood he taught school, then became 
interested in iron manufacture at the 
Copake Iron Works at Copake, New York, 
a few miles from Mount Washington, but 
across the line in New York State. He 
began business there about 1853, the 
Copake Iron Works becoming well known 
in the iron trade, and during the Civil 
War a very large and prosperous business 
was transacted. The iron ore was mined 
nearby, and charcoal in abundance was 
burned on the slopes of Mount Washing- 
ton. There Mr. Campbell continued in 
business for twenty-nine years. He then 
spent fifteen years in Hillsdale, New 
York, finally locating in Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1901, and there living in re- 
tirement until his death in 1913. He was 
an able business man, and for a quarter of 
a century an important factor in the iron 
trade. He was a stalwart Republican of 
the old school. He had two brothers killed 
in the Civil War and ever regarded them 
as martyrs to a cause he must support 
with all his power, through allegiance to 
the party whose principles they died to 
uphold, and in which he devoutly be- 
lieved. Both he and his wife were attend- 
ants of the Methodist Episcopal church. 

Mr. Campbell married, May 8, 1861, 
Ann Vosburgh, born at Copake Iron 
Works, New York, July 24, 1841, and 
died February 4, 1918. She was a daugh- 
ter of Adam Vosburgh, born August i, 
1805, at Copake Iron Works, died there 
March 26, 1881. He spent his life in agri- 
cultural pursuits. He married, May 4, 
1828, Betsey Groat, born June 28, 1808, 
died February 23, 1878. The Vosburghs 
were an ancient Dutch family, early set- 
tlers in the Hudson River Valley, and 
prominent Columbia county people. Peter 
Noble and Ann (Vosburgh) Campbell 

were the parents of two sons and a daugh- 
ter: I. A son, died in infancy. 2. Bertha 
Ann, born March 23, 1877; married J. 
Burt Gildersleeve, from whom she was 
divorced ; they had a daughter, Beatrice 
Gildersleeve ; she married a second hus- 
band, Samuel R. Caldwell, and resides at 
Wellsburg, West Virginia ; they are the 
parents of a son, Roderick Campbell Cald- 
well. 3. Charles Burton, of whom further. 
Charles Burton Campbell, son of Peter 
Noble and Ann (Vosburgh) Campbell, 
was born at Copake Iron Works, Colum- 
bia county, New York, February 10, 1879, 
and there spent the first seven years of 
his life. The family moved to Hillsdale, 
New York, in 1886, and there resided until 
1901, when with his parents he located in 
Springfield, Massachusetts. He attended 
the public school in Hillsdale, and was a 
student in the high school at Chatham, 
New York, prior to coming to Springfield, 
when he entered Wesleyan Academy, Wil- 
braham, Massachusetts, whence he was 
graduated, class of 1899. He then com- 
pleted a course at Eastman's Business 
College, Poughkeepsie, New York, grad- 
uating in 1900. Soon afterward he entered 
business life in Amherst, Massachusetts, 
and for three years was an office assist- 
ant employed by a hat manufacturing con- 
cern there. In 1904 he returned to the 
family home in Springfield, and estab- 
lished business, manufacturing special 
appliances and fixtures pertaining to 
steam boilers. Later he withdrew his 
capital and established his present busi- 
ness. The Empire Mailing Company, of 
which he is president and has brought to 
a prosperous condition. The business of 
the company is multigraphing of all kinds, 
typewriting, compiling mailing lists for 
firms and individuals and mailing to the 
same such matter as is indicated by the 
customer. The company is located in well 




appointed offices in Springfield, and is a 
thoroughly modern establishment, g^iving 
valuable service to their patrons. Mr. 
Campbell is an Independent in politics, 
a member of the Publicity, Nayasset, 
Winthrop, Rotary and Automobile clubs, 
of Springfield, a young man highly re- 
garded in business circles and in social 

Mr. Campbell married, September i6, 
1910, Beatrice Millicent Houston, born in 
Ottawa, Canada, November 26, 1888, 
daughter of Henry Hamilton Houston, an 
accountant. Mr. and Mrs. Campbell are 
the parents of four daughters : Beatrice 
Ann Vosburgh, born June 13, 191 1 ; Eliz- 
abeth Gillespie, born September 24, 1912 ; 
Dorcas Houston, born June 10, 1914; 
Janet Meade, born June 15, 1916. 

ELMER, Willard Nelson, 

Naval Veteran in Civil "War. 

Willard Nelson Elmer, late of West 
Springfield, was a son of Nelson Lewis 
Elmer, who was born in Vernon, Vermont, 
and died in Springfield, Massachusetts, in 
1884. He was a boot and shoe manufac- 
turer and dealer, but when first coming co 
Springfield was a manufacturer of steel 
files. During later years he was manager 
of the shoe factory at the Hampden 
county jail. He married Betsey Parsons, 
of Vernon, Vermont, born May 20, 1806, 
died May 7, 1873, daughter of Andrew 
and Rebekah Parsons, who were married 
August 20, 1787. Andrew Parsons was 
born December 25, 1761, was a soldier of 
the Revolution from Vermont (see State 
records for his service), and died Septem- 
ber 20, 1849. His wife was born February 
12, 1768, and died April 25, 181 1. Mr. and 
Mrs. Elmer were devoted Methodists, 
active in church work, and kept "open 
Mass— 10— 17 257 

house" for the itinerant ministers who 
came to the city. 

Willard Nelson Elmer, son of Nelson 
Lewis and Betsey (Parsons) Elmer, was 
born in Woodstock, Connecticut, October 
27, 1844, and died October 20, 1917. He 
was a resident of West Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. When a child he was brought 
by his parents to Springfield and there 
obtained a public school education. At 
the age of nineteen, he enlisted in the 
United States navy, spent some time on 
the training ship, "North Carolina," in 
New York, and on another in Pensacola 
harbor, Florida, then was ordered to the 
gunboat, "Genesee," forming a part of Ad- 
miral Farragut's fleet. After three months 
on the "Genesee," he was transferred to 
the third class frigate, "Matacomet," on 
guard and patrol duty in Mobile bay and 
on the Mississippi river. At the expira- 
tion of his term of service, he was honor- 
ably discharged, and soon afterward re- 
turned to his home. He then became 
associated with the business life of Spring- 
field, as a shoe dealer, a business he con- 
ducted very successfully until his retire- 
ment in 1890. During his business life he 
invested and dealt in real estate, that 
branch of his business activity continu- 
ing after his retirement. He married 
Clara B. Holton, born in Northfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, died in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, November 21, 1914, daughter of 
Deacon Charles L. Holton, and a first 
cousin of the great evangelist. Rev. 
Dwight L. Moody. Deacon Holton, a 
farmer of Northfield, was a man of ster- 
ling character and fine manly attributes, 
one of the strong men of his community. 
He married a Miss Barton, and died in 
Northfield, in 1882. Mr. and Mrs. Elmer 
were members of the First Congrega- 
tional Church, of Springfield. 


ELMER, Nelson Lewis, 

Man of Varied Activities. 

Nelson Lewis Elmer, only child of Wil- 
lard Nelson and Clara B. (Holton) Elmer, 
was born at the old Elmer homestead on 
Pynchon street, Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, July 28, 1869. He was educated in 
the grade and high schools of the city, 
finishing with graduation from high 
school. He began business life as clerk 
in the First National Bank, continuing in 
advancing rank with the merging of the 
bank with the Union Trust Company in 
1907. He remained with the new com- 
pany for two years, then, 1909, resigned, 
in order to conduct the large real estate 
business which had accumulated from the 
estate of his father and grandfather. He 
began business under his own name, a 
business in which he has been very suc- 
cessful. He opened an office in Spring- 
field, and in addition to his real estate 
business offered his services as an auc- 
tioneer, appraiser of property, manage- 
ment of properties and estates, and doing 
a general real estate business. As he be- 
came established in these lines he added 
real estate investment on his own account, 
and has improved a great deal of property 
in different sections of Springfield. He 
has built many one, two and three family 
houses, and has the care of many renting 
properties in addition to those he owns. 
He was the pioneer mover in having Cross 
street greatly improved in 191 1. Among 
his holdings are a number of the finest 
blocks in the city, among them the Win- 
throp block and the Marbleton, the latter 
taking numbers 785 to 795 South Main 
street. He has a system by which he re- 
tains a complete knowledge of a large 
amount of the real estate in Springfield, 
and is often called as an expert to de- 
termine values. He saw the coming need 

for garages in different parts of the city 
and has built a number of the finest in 
Springfield, among them the largest one 
in the city, two hundred and ten feet long, 
seventy-two feet wide, three stories high, 
and costing nearly $2,000,000. His varied 
activities bear heavily on his time, but he 
lueets all demands made upon him as 
his energy keeps pace with his ambition 
to render a good account of his steward- 
ship. In addition to the lines named, he 
was treasurer of the R. H. Smith Manu- 
facturing Company up to 1920, when he 
was elected president and trustee of the 
C H. Annable Lumber Company. 

A Republican in politics, Mr. Elmer 
served his city as member of the Board 
of Aldermen in 1907-08-09, his term dis- 
tinguished by a genuine effort to worthily 
represent his ward and bring benefit to 
the city-at-large. He is a Mason of high 
degree, belonging to Hampden Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons; past high 
priest of Morning Star Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; member of Springfield 
Council, Royal and Select Masters ; 
Springfield Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar; and to that social branch, Melha 
Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He 
is a member of the First Congregational 
Church, was for many years treasurer of 
the society and formerly very active in 
church work. He is interested in all that 
tends to progress and improvement, and 
has contributed his part to the upbuild- 
ing of a bigger, better Springfield, a city 
with which he has his whole life been 

Mr. Elmer married (first), April 19, 
1891, Alice M. Lyman, who died in her 
native Springfield, in 1901, daughter of 
Edward M. Lyman, the veteran seeds- 
man. She left a daughter and a son : 
Ruth, born in Springfield, May 31, 1895, 
a graduate of Springfield public schools 



and Wheaton Seminary, Norton, Massa- 
chusetts ; during the World War period 
engaged in war risk insurance work in 
Washington ; Nelson Lyman, born in 
Springfield, October i6, 1896, a grad- 
uate of Springfield High School and Mas- 
sachusetts Nautical Training Ship ; en- 
listed in field artillery. Fourteenth Regi- 
ment, stationed at Camp Jackson, South 
Carolina; mustered out January 10, 1919, 
at Camp Devens, Massachusetts. 

Mr. Elmer married (second), June 7, 
1905, Ida M. Sherwood. She is active in 
church life and a very capable business 
woman. This is the record of three Elmer 
men, heads of families, who have made 
Springfield their home, grandfather, father 
and son, men of strong, well defined pur- 
pose, with the energy and character to 
carry out that purpose. Each served well 
his day and generation, bore well his 
share in its activities, the last Nelson 
Lewis Elmer yet living and seems to have 
years of usefulness ahead to follow those 
which have passed. 

DAY, Austin Spencer, 

Public-Spirited Citizen. 

For many years a farmer, Mr. Day 
spent the last years of his life at South 
Hadley Falls, Massachusetts, where for 
twenty years he was superintendent of 
streets, and for five years superintendent 
of the water works installed for supplying 
the town. He was a descendant of Rob- 
ert Day, the founder of the family in 
America. He was born in England about 
1604, came in the "Hopewell" in April, 
1635, settled in Cambridge, Massachu- 
setts, went with his brother-in-law, Ed- 
ward Stebbins, in the company of Rev. 
Mr. Hooker which founded Hartford, 
Connecticut, where Robert Day is first 
mentioned in 1636. The line of descent 

from Robert Day to Austin Spencer Day 
was through the founder's youngest son, 
John Day, and his wife, Sarah (Maynard) 
Day ; their son, John (2) Day, and his 
first wife, Grace (Spencer) Day; their 
son, Abraham Day, and his wife, Irene 
(Foote) Day; their son, Ezra Day, born 
April 22, 1743, died in South Hadley, Mas- 
sachusetts, November 21, 1823, and his 
wife, Hannah Day, who died October 23, 
1827, aged eighty; their son, Justin Day; 
his son, Austin Spencer Day. 

Justin Day was born March 30, 1772, 
and died in South Hadley, Massachusetts, 
June 9, 1857. He was a resident of South 
Hadley all his life, his home in the Fall 
Woods section now Alvord, Connecticut. 
Both he and his son were farmers, the 
Day farm being one of the best in the 
town. The sons also engaged in other 
occupations as they offered, Justin Day, 
Jr., conducting the "Boatman's Hotel," 
just opposite the family farm at the head 
of the canal, the then popular mode of 
transportation. Justin Day, Sr., married, 
February 12, 1800, Polly Bracket, born 
December 6, 1820, died August 21, 1842. 
Her name was probably Martha, but on 
the marriage register her name is given 
as Polly and she was always called by 
that name. Justin and Polly (Bracket) 
Day were the parents of nine children : i. 
Justin, born October 26, 1803, died Feb- 
ruary 19, 1837. 2. Pliny, born June i, 1806, 
deceased. 3. Permelia, born October 22, 
1808, died July 14, 1890; married John 
Madison Chapin, and had two children, 
Justin and Theresa Chapin. 4. Dr. Alfred 
Day, born February 28, 181 1, died August 
10, 1844. 5. Fidelia, born July 2, 1813, 
died June 16, 1894; married Phineas 
White, and she had a son, Austin White. 
6. Sophia, born January i, 1816, deceased; 
married Charles Horton Smith, of Smith's 
Ferry (a brother of Eunice Smith, who 



married Hiram Bagg) and was grand- 
mother of E. H. A. Bagg; two of the 
daughters of Charles H. and Sophia (Day) 
Smith grew to mature years : Christine 
Sophia, deceased, married Dr. Silas P. 
Wright ; and Martha Day, married David 
P. Ludington, and resides in West 
Springfield. 7. Carrissa, born April 25, 
1818, died December 13, 1819. 8. Horace 
R., born December 17, 1820, died Decem- 
ber 3, 1880; married and left two chil- 
dren. 9. Austin Spencer, of further men- 

Austin Spencer Day, youngest of the 
children of Justin and Polly (Bracket) 
Day, was born at South Hadley, Massa- 
chusetts, October i, 1822, and died there 
May 27, 1900. He attended public schools 
and was his father's farm assistant until 
the latter's death in 1857. He then 
arranged with the heirs to keep the farm 
by purchasing their interests and there 
continued until 1865, when he sold all but 
seven of the choicest acres. He then took 
up his residence in South Hadley Falls 
and for many years cultivated the seven 
acres alluded to as having been retained 
when the farm was sold. Later the tract 
was transferred to E. H. A. Bagg and is 
now part of his estate. Shortly after set- 
tling in South Hadley Falls Mr. Day was 
made superintendent of streets, a position 
he held for fifteen years. He also aided 
in the installation of the town water sys- 
tem and for five years was superintend- 
ent of the water works. In politics he 
was a Republican, and attended the Con- 
gregational church, but was not a mem- 
ber. He was a man of quiet tastes, modest 
and unassuming, but a man of sterling 
worth and manly quality. He was de- 
voted to his home and family, and to the 
maintenance of that home his best and 
constant efforts were directed. 

Mr. Day married, September 27, 1858, 

Aurelia A. Cleveland, born in Dalton, 
Massachusetts, July 31, 1831, daughter of 
Jonathan and Abigail (Blackman) Cleve- 
land, and granddaughter of Aaron Cleve- 
land, of Dalton, where the old homestead 
yet stands. William Cleveland, father of 
Aaron Cleveland, was the grandfather of 
Grover Cleveland, twice president of the 
United States, and of the sixth American 
generation founded by Moses Cleveland 
(also Moyses Cleaveland), who came 
from England to New England about 
1635, a lad of twelve years. He married 
Ann Winn, and died in Woburn, Massa- 
chusetts, January 9, 1701. The line of 
descent from Moses and Ann (Winn) 
Cleveland to Harriet P. (Cleveland) Bagg 
is through the founder's son, Aaron (i) 
Cleveland, a soldier of King Philip's War, 
and his wife, Dorcas (Wilson) Cleveland; 
their son. Captain Aaron Cleveland, and 
his wife, Abigail (Waters) Cleveland; 
their son. Rev. Aaron Cleveland, an emi- 
nent divine, and his wife, Susannah (Por- 
ter) Cleveland; their son, also Rev. Aaron 
Cleveland, a clergyman, ready writer and 
strong controversialist, and his wife, 
Abiah (Hyde) Cleveland; their son, Wil- 
liam Cleveland, a master silversmith in 
Worthington, Massachusetts, Salem and 
New York State, and his wife, Margaret 
(Falley) Cleveland; their son, Aaron 
Cleveland, a farmer of Dalton, Massachu- 
setts ; his son, Jonathan Cleveland, a 
farmer, and his wife, Abigail (Blackman) 
Cleveland ; their daughter, Harriet Cleve- 
land, married Hiram Abiff Bagg. 

Jonathan Cleveland was born in Dal- 
ton, Massachusetts, June 3, 1798, married 
at the age of twenty-one, and moved to 
East Pembroke, New York, April 14, 1878. 
He married, in 1820, Abigail Blackman, 
born in Peru, Massachusetts, in October, 
1796, died December 25, 1877. In 1870 
Mr. and Mrs. Cleveland celebrated the 



golden anniversary of their wedding day 
and for seven years thereafter walked 
life's pathway. They were the parents of 
ten sons and daughters: i. Nelson, born 
in 1820, married Emily Smith, and died in 
the West. 2. Eleazer, born in 1822, mar- 
ried Jane Smith, and died in Michigan. 
3. Cutter, born in 1823, was a soldier of 
the Civil War, fought in many battles, 
was held captive in Libby Prison, married 
Laura Bingham, and died in Michigan, 
January i, 191 5, at the great age of ninety- 
two. 4. Abigail, born in 1825, married 
Edward Cobb Porter, and died in Novem- 
ber, 1878. 5. Harriet, married Hiram 
Bagg. 6. Stephen, born in 1828, died Au- 
gust 19, 1858. 7. Aurelia A., born July 
31, 1831, married, September 27, 1858, 
Austin S. Day. 8. Jonathan W., born in 
June, 1834, died in Ohio, 1913. 9. William 
Henry, born October, 1836, married Eliz- 
abeth Peck, and died March 17, 1915. 10. 
Mary, born April 14, 1839, married Ed- 
ward Graves, and died in 1870. 

Mrs. Aurelia A. (Cleveland) Day sur- 
vives her husband, residing at No. 68 
North Main street. South Hadley Falls. 

BAGG, Earle Hiram AbifT, 

Active in Dairy Interests. 

The Bagg family from which Earle 
Hiram Abiif Bagg, of South Hadley, is 
descended is traced to John Bagg, Ameri- 
can ancestor, who came to New England 
in 1650, and often appears, after that date. 
The origin is English, and in this country 
has been borne by many men of eminence 
in all walks of life. John Bagg was a 
resident of Plymouth, England, at the 
time of his emigration to America, and he 
died in Springfield, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 5, 1683. His name is of frequent 
appearance on the records, one being the 
fact of his taking the oath of allegiance 

before Major Pynchon, January i, 1678. 
He married, October 24, 1657, Hannah 
Burt, born April 28, 1641, died August i, 
1680, daughter of Deacon Henry and 
Ulalia Burt. They were the parents of 
ten children : Hannah, Mercy, Darriel, 
John, of further mention ; Daniel, Jona- 
than, Abigail, James, Sarah, Abilene. 

(H) John (2) Bagg, second son of John 
(i) and Hannah (Burt) Bagg, was born 
March 26, 1665, died in November, 1740. 
He married, March 30, 1689, Mercy 
Thomas, born May 15, 1671. They were 
the parents of eleven children : Mercy, 
Hannah, Sarah, John, Abigail, James, 
Thankful, Rachel, died young; Rachel 
(2), Thomas, an account of whom appears 
in the following sketch ; Ebenezer, of fur- 
ther mention. 

(HI) Ebenezer Bagg, youngest child 
of John (2) and Mercy (Thomas) Bagg, 
was born May 14, 1713. He married, 
July 21, 1748, Lois Lamb, and among 
their children was a son, Ebenezer, of fur- 
ther mention. 

(IV) Ebenezer (2) Bagg, son of Eben- 
ezer (i) and Lois (Lamb) Bagg, was born 
about the year 1750, settled in Northamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, and was a worthy 
resident of the community in which he 

made his home. He married , and 

among their children was a son, Hiram, 
of further mention. 

(V) Hiram Bagg, son of Ebenezer (2) 
Bagg, was born in Worthington, Massa- 
chusetts, about the year 1794, and died in 
South Hadley, Massachusetts, in the year 
1856. He spent his early years in his 
native town, following the occupation of 
farming, and about 1852 he removed to 
South Hadley, there purchased a farm, 
which he cultivated to a high degree, and 
resided thereon until his death. He mar- 
ried Eunice Smith, born June 14, 1803, of 
Smith's Ferry, of the original Northamp- 



ton family, the pioneer ancestor of which 
was Hugh Smith, a native of England, 
who emigrated to this country, settling in 
Rowley, Massachusetts, and died there in 
1655 or 1656. Edward Smith, seventh 
child of Hugh Smith, was born June i, 
1654, and lived at Sufifield, Connecticut. 
David Smith, sixth child of Edward 
Smith, was born in Sufifield, Connecticut, 
October 18, 1699, and there resided 
throughout his lifetime. David Smith, Jr., 
son of David Smith, was born about 1730, 
resided in West Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, and served in the Revolutionary 
War. Lewis Smith, second child of David 
Smith, Jr., was born February 17, 1763, 
died March 15, 1838; he resided in West 
Springfield ; served in the Revolutionary 
War, and after his return settled at 
Smith's Ferry, Northampton, Massachu- 
setts, the first of the name to settle there. 
He married, November 3, 1785, Eunice 
Judd, the ceremony performed at Smith's 
Ferry, and they were the parents of the 
following named children : Polly, born 
December i, 1786, died April i, 1813, 
married a Mr. Daniels ; David, born 
March 29, 1789, died September 2, 1848; 
Chester, born January 5, 1791, died July 
28, 1861 ; Lewis, born February 13, 1793, 
died December 24, 1830; Asenath, born 
June 9, 1795, died February 2, 1878; Har- 
vey, born November 30, 1797, died Janu- 
ary 20, 1871 ; Hiram, born July 17, 1800, 
died June i, 1839; Eunice, born June 14, 
1803, died January 2, 1899, aforemen- 
tioned as the wife of Hiram Bagg ; Sophia, 
born July 23, 1805, died January 2, 1854; 
Milo, born July 27, 1808, died August 16, 
1884; Charles Horton, born October 29, 
1810, died March 7, 1892. Eunice (Judd) 
Bagg was the direct descendant in the 
fourth generation from Deacon Thomas 
Judd, who came from England, 1633; his 
son, Samuel Judd, born about 1653 ; his 

son, Thomas Judd, born 1691 ; his son, 
Samuel Judd, born 1721 ; his daughter, 
Eunice Judd, born November, 1767, bap- 
tized 1768, married Lewis Smith, afore- 
mentioned, and died August 19, 1849. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bagg were the parents of four 
children : i. Hiram Abiil, of further men- 
tion. 2. Henrietta, became the wife of 
J. F. Downing, a graduate of Amherst 
College, a newspaper publisher of Hol- 
yoke, later a lawyer of Erie, Pennsylvania, 
possessing great wealth. 3. Cornelia, mar- 
ried Charles Carter. 4. Frederick, died 
aged nineteen years. Mrs. Eunice (Smith) 
Bagg, as aforementioned, died January 2, 
1899, at the home of her daughter, Hen- 
rietta, in Erie, Pennsylvania, aged ninety- 
five and a half years, and her remains are 
interred in the family cemetery at Smith's 
Ferry, Massachusetts. 

(VI) Hiram AbifT Bagg, son of Hiram 
and Eunice (Smith) Bagg, was born in 
Worthington, Massachusetts, February 
28, 1828, and died at South Hadley, Mas- 
sachusetts, January 10, 1880. His early 
life was spent on the home farm in Worth- 
ington, but in 1852 he accompanied his 
parents to the new home in South Hadley, 
there following the same occupation on 
the farm now the property of his son, 
Earle H, A. Mr. Bagg pursued a special 
course at Amherst College, and during 
the winter terms taught school in South 
Hadley. He was a Democrat in politics, 
but took no active part in public affairs, 
although deeply interested in all that con- 
cerned the public. He married (first) 
Lucy Haskell, who died without issue. 
He married (second) Harriet Payne 
Cleveland, born in Dalton, Massachusetts, 
November 27, 1826, died at South Hadley, 
June 9, 1909, daughter of Jonathan and 
Abigail (Blackman) Cleveland (see Cleve- 
land). Mr. and Mrs. Bagg were the par- 
ents of four children: i. Frederick Aus- 



tin, born February i, 1858; resides at 
Mooreton, South Dakota; married, Janu- 
ary I, 1890, Sophia Larson; children: 
Edna, born January 29, 1891, died Febru- 
ary 3, 1892; Urban Sylvester, born No- 
vember 19, 1892, died January 5, 1894; 
Harriet, born October 3, 1894; Florence, 
born September i, 1896; Hiram Abiff, 
born May i, 1898, died July i, 1916; 
Laura, born May 17, 1900; Vida, born 
September 14, 1902, died 1904; Ray, born 
September 12, 1904; Frederick, born 
March 19, 1906, died September 30, 1907 ; 
Ella, born July 17, 1908. 2. Lucy Has- 
kell, born October 2, 1859; married, De- 
cember 16, 1885, George C. Smith, born 
in Cornish, Nev^ Hampshire, October 20, 
1857, died September 5, 1910; no children; 
resided at Westfield, Massachusetts. 3. 
Harriet Cleveland, born April 17, 1867; 
married, November 10, 1897, Charles 
Allen Dewey, born in Westfield, Massa- 
chusetts, June II, 1866, son of Thomas 
James and Tirzah (Bliss) Dewey; Charles 
A. Dewey is a farmer and specializes in 
fine tobacco; he has resided in Westfield 
all his life; Mr. and Mrs. Dewey have 
two children. 4. Earle Hiram Abifif, of 
further mention. 

(VII) Earle Hiram Abiflf Bagg, young- 
est son and child of Hiram Abiff and Har- 
riet Payne (Cleveland) Bagg, was born 
on the farm at South Hadley, Massachu- 
setts, August 26, 1870, and there his life 
has been passed. He was educated in the 
public schools, and after the death of his 
father began assuming responsibilities. 
At the age of sixteen, his brother having 
gone West, he became manager of the 
farm, successfully operating its one hun- 
dred and fifty acres of farm pasture and 
woodland. In his earlier years he raised 
general crops, with some tobacco, but 
later he began specializing in dairy farm- 
ing, and for the past two years has con- 

fined his attention to that specialty, hav- 
ing a fine herd of Holstein cattle, and he 
bends all his energies and subordinates 
all the resources of the farm to the pro- 
duction of milk. He follows the most 
modern methods, is thorough and pains- 
taking in all his transactions, hence is 
attaining a large degree of success, and 
ranks among the successful, substantial 
men of his community. He is independ- 
ent in political action and takes no active 
part in public affairs. He is a member 
of the Patrons of Husbandry, and an 
attendant of the Congregational church. 
Mr. Bagg married Ida Barstow, born in 
Hadley, Massachusetts, April 13, 1876, 
daughter of Asaph and Ella (Taylor) 
Barstow, her father a successful farmer, 
her mother deceased. Children of Mr. 
and Mrs. Bagg: i. Quincy Austin, born 
November 2, 1898, now a student at Mas- 
sachusetts Agricultural College, Amherst, 
class of 1919. 2. Vernon Smith, born 
September 15, 1900. 3. Willard Taylor, 
born November 27, 1902. 4. Ethel Irene, 
born 1904, died June 20, 1910. 5. Hazel 
Aurelia, bom March, 1912. 6. Earle Fred- 
erick, born July 5, 1914- 

(The Cleveland Line) 

Moses Cleveland (also Moyses Cleave- 
land), the pioneer ancestor of Harriet 
Payne (Cleveland) Bagg, also the ances- 
tor of Grover Cleveland, twice President 
of the United States, came from England 
to New England about the year 1635, a 
lad of twelve years. He married Ann 
Winn. He died in Woburn, Massachu- 
setts, January 9, 1701. The line of de- 
scent to Harriet P. Bagg is through Josiah 
Cleveland, eighth child of Moses and Ann 
(Winn) Cleveland; to Henry Cleveland; 
to William Cleveland; to Henry Cleve- 
land ; to Aaron Cleveland, a resident of 
Dalton, Massachusetts, where the old 



Cleveland homestead is still standing; to 
Jonathan Cleveland, who was born in Dal- 
ton, Massachusetts, June 3, 1798, died in 
East Pembroke, New York, April 14, 
1878. He removed to East Pembroke, 
about 1833, and there engaged in farming 
the remainder of his days. He married, 
January 26, 1820, Abigail Blackman, born 
in Peru, Massachusetts, October i, 1797, 
died December 25, 1877, daughter of Elea- 
zer and Anna (Payne) Blackman. In 
1870 Mr. and Mrs. Cleveland celebrated 
the golden anniversary of their wedding 
day, and for seven years thereafter walked 
life's pathway. They were the parents of 
eleven children, namely: i. Nelson 
Wright, born October 22, 1820, died in 
the West ; married Emily Smith. 2. Elea- 
zer Blackman, born January 12, 1822, died 
in Michigan ; married Jane Smith. 3. Levi 
Cutler, born August 22, 1823, died in 
Michigan, January i, 1915, at the great 
age of ninety-two years ; was a soldier of 
the Civil War, fought in many battles, 
and was held captive in Libby Prison; 
married Laura Bingham. 4. Abigail, born 
March 17, 1825, died in November, 1878; 
married, March 17, 1847, Edward Cobb 
Porter, a descendant of the old Porter 
family, the pioneer ancestor of the family 
having settled in Boston, Massachusetts, 
in 1635 ; children : Mary, born August, 
1851, died aged three years; Harriet Au- 
relia, born December 29, 1856, living at 
the present time (1917) at Springfield, 
Massachusetts ; married, June 10, 1875, 
Finley L. Smith, descendant of Lieuten- 
ant Samuel Smith; Mr. Smith died No- 
vember 26, 191 5, at Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts ; James Albert, born January 30, 
1859 ; Edward Cleveland, born July 14, 
1861. 5. Harriet Payne, born November 
2y, 1826; married Hiram Abiff Bagg (see 
Bagg VI). 6. Mary Aurelia, died aged 
one month. 7. Stephen Warren, born 

March 30, 1830, died August i, 1858. 
8. Aurelia Ann, born July 31, 1831 ; 
married, September 27, 1858, Austin S. 
Day, nephew of the builder of the famous 
old Day House of West Springfield ; 
moved to South Hadley Falls, Massachu- 
setts, and resides there at the present time 
(1917). 9, Jonathan Allen, born June 6, 
1833, died in Iowa, 1913; married Martha 
Mosher. The above named nine children 
were all born in Dalton, Massachusetts. 
ID. William Henry, born in East Pem- 
broke, New York, October 28, 1835, died 
March 17, 1915 ; married Lydia Peck. 11. 
Mary Elizabeth, born in East Pembroke, 
April 14, 1839, died November 23, 1870; 
married Edward Graves. 

The branch of the Cleveland family 
from which is descended the late Presi- 
dent Grover Cleveland is traced through 
the following: Aaron Cleveland, third 
child of Moses and Ann (Winn) Cleve- 
land, the pioneer ancestors. He was a 
soldier of King Philip's War; married 
Dorcas Wilson. Their son. Captain Aaron 
Cleveland, married Abigail Waters. Their 
son, Rev. Aaron Cleveland, an eminent 
divine, married Susannah Porter. Their 
son, Rev. Aaron Cleveland, a noted cler- 
gyman, fluent writer and entertaining con- 
versationalist, who married Abiah Hyde. 
Their son, William Cleveland, who 
was a prominent man in Dalton, Mas- 
sachusetts, built the first mill in that 
town in 1760, which he conducted 
successfully ; the property is now owned 
by the Crane family of that town who 
have preserved the remains of the mill as 
a memorial. The following inscription 
has been cut in the stones : "William 
Cleveland built this mill in 1760." He 
married Margaret Falley. Their son, Rev. 
Richard Falley Cleveland, married Ann 
Neal. Their son, Grover Cleveland, twice 
President of the United States. 



LUDINGTON, David Palmer, 

Man of Lofty Character. 

The family of which the late David 
Palmer Ludington, for many years a rep- 
resentative citizen of West Springfield, 
was a worthy member, was of English 
origin, and the name was derived from a 
parish at one time called Lydington, in 
Northamptonshire, as first mentioned in 
Domesday Book, when it was a part of 
the bishopric of Lincoln, but it has since 
been set off to the county of Rutland. The 
chief seat of the family seems to have been 
in the Eastern Midlands, though families 
of the same name appear in the counties 
of Lincoln, Rutland, Leicester, Hunting- 
don, Northampton, Warwick and Worces- 

(I) William Ludington, pioneer ances- 
tor of the branch of the family herein fol- 
lowed, was a native of England, born 
1608. He was reared, educated and mar- 
ried in his native land, and accompanied 
by his wife, Ellen Ludington, to whom he 
was married in 1636, he emigrated to this 
country. His name appears on the court 
records of that part of Charlestown, Mas- 
sachusetts, which was set ofif as Maiden, 
as early as 1640, and he was fined heavily 
for building his house outside the town 
limits, but the fine was later remitted. 
After a residence of twenty years in 
Charlestown, where he was the owner of 
considerable land, and one of its impor- 
tant citizens, he removed to New Haven, 
Connecticut, and settled at East Haven, 
adjoining Branford, and although he was 
a weaver by trade, he became interested 
in the iron works in the latter named 
town. Between the dates, March 27, 1660, 
and October i, 1661, his death occurred, 
and his widow married (second) prior to 
May 5, 1663, John Rose. Children of Mr. 
and Mrs. Ludington: i. Thomas, born 
1637, settled in Newark, New Jersey. 2. 

John, born 1640, removed from East 
Haven, Connecticut, to Vermont. 3. 
Mary, born February 6, 1642-43. 4. Henry, 
killed in King Philip's War. 5. Hannah. 

6. William, of whom further. 7. Mathew, 
born December 16, 1657, died January 12, 

(II) William (2) Ludington, fourth son 
of William (i) and Ellen Ludington, was 
born about 1655, ^^id died in February, 
1737. He was a man of means, intelligence 
and ability, and was highly respected in 
the community. He married (first) Mar- 
tha Rose, daughter of John Rose, and 
granddaughter of Robert Rose. Children : 
I. Henry, born 1679, died 1727; married 
Sarah Collins. 2. Eleanor, became the wife 
of Nathaniel Bailey, of Guilford. 3. Wil- 
liam, born September 25, 1686; married 
Anna Hodge. Mr. Ludington married 
(second), in June, 1690, Mercy Whitehead, 
daughter of John and Martha (Bradfield) 
Whitehead. She died November 23, 1743. 
Children: 4. Mercy, born May 31, 1691 ; 
became the wife of Ebenezer Deans, of 
Norwich. 5. Mary, twin of Mercy, be- 
came the wife of John Dawson. 6. Han- 
nah, born March 13, 1683, died June 4, 
1791 ; became the wife of Isaac Penfield. 

7. John, of whom further. 8. Eliphalet, 
born April 28, 1697, died January 26, 1761 ; 
married Abigail Collins. 9. Elizabeth, 
born 1699, died July 28, 1707. 10. Doro- 
thy, born July 16, 1702, died September 
19, 1742; became the wife of Benjamin 
Mallory. 11. Dorcas, born July 16, 1704; 
became the wife of James Way. 

(III) John Ludington, eldest son of 
William (2) and Mercy (Whitehead) 
Ludington, was born January 31, 1694, 
and died October 30, 1726. Administra- 
tion was granted on his estate, January 2, 
1727. He married, before April 10, 1722, 
Elizabeth Potter, born September 24, 
1697, daughter of John and Elizabeth 



(Holt) Potter, of East Haven. Children: 

1. Elizabeth, became the wife of John 
Rose. 2. John, born June 26, 1723, died 
May 30, 1743. 3- Jude, of whom further. 
His widow married (second), October 2, 
1734, Thomas Wheadon, of Branford, and 
died September 3, 1746. 

(IV) Jude Ludington, youngest son of 
John and Elizabeth (Potter) Ludington, 
was born July 23, 1725. He was a resi- 
dent of Southington, Connecticut, in 
1748, and in deeds he was called of Bran- 
ford in 1757 and 1761. He served in the 
French and Indian War in 1757. He mar- 
ried (first) Martha Page, who bore him 
three children : i. John, of whom further. 

2. Daniel, married Naomi Searl, of South- 
ampton, Massachusetts. 3. Martha, be- 
came the wife of Noah Stone. Mr. Lud- 
ington married (second) Mary (Wade) 
Frisbie, a widow. Children: 4. Jude, 
married Huldah Carrier, of Colchester. 
5. Elizabeth, born March, 1763; became 
the wife of Elijah Williams. 6. Asenath, 
born 1765 ; became the wife of Asa Miller, 
of West Springfield ; died November 6, 
1845. 7- Lucinda, born 1770, died Decem- 
ber 31, 1840; became the wife of. Nathan 
Stevens, of Wilbraham. 

(V) John (2) Ludington, eldest son of 
Jude and Martha (Page) Ludington, was 
born in 1749, and died September 10, 
1841. He resided in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, where he devoted his attention to 
agricultural pursuits, from which he de- 
rived a comfortable livelihood for his fam- 
ily. He married (first) Sarah Palmer, 
and (second) May 7, 1795, Jane Ely. 
Among his children was Isaac, of whom 

(VI) Isaac Ludington, son of John (2) 
Ludington, was born in Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts. He attended the public schools 
of his native city, and upon attaining 
young manhood years removed to Frank- 

lin county, New York, where he followed 
the occupation of farming, deriving there- 
from a certain degree of success. He 
married Eunice Jones, born in what is 
now Holyoke, Massachusetts. Children : 
I. Lydia, became the wife of George B. 
Treadwell. 2. David Palmer, of whom 

(VII) David Palmer Ludington, only 
son of Isaac and Eunice (Jones) Luding- 
ton, was born in Franklin, New York, Au- 
gust 20, 183 1, and died in West Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, February 16, 1908. 
He obtained a practical education in the 
schools of Franklin, and continued his 
residence there until he attained the age 
of twenty years, when he changed his 
place of residence to Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, from whence he later removed to 
West Springfield, where he spent the re- 
mainder of his days. His first employ- 
ment in Holyoke was as clerk in a drug 
store, and after mastering the details of 
that line of business he purchased a drug 
store in that city, which he conducted suc- 
cessfully for a number of years and finally 
disposed of it at an advantageous price. 
He was later one of the promoters of the 
Mittineague Mills, and for a number of 
years served as a member of its board of 
directors, his services in that capacity 
being of inestimable value to all con- 
cerned. He was a member of Trinity 
Methodist Episcopal Church, actively in- 
terested in the work connected therewith, 
serving in the capacities of steward and 
trustee. He was a man of ability, judg- 
ment and discrimination, public-spirited 
and charitable, distributing his gifts in a 
quiet, unostentatious manner, in many 
cases only known to those benefited. He 
married, December 14, 1870, Martha Day 
Smith, born at Smith's Ferry, October 28, 
1837, daughter of Charles Horton and 
Sophia (Day) Smith. 




Men of Enterprise. 

The Sweet family history in England 
and Wales dates back many centuries. 
The seat of the armorial branch of the 
family was at Trayne in the time of Ed- 
ward VI., and subsequently at Oxton, 
Devonshire, England. The coat-of-arms 
is described : 

Arms — Gules two chevrons between as many 
mullets in chief and a rose in base argent, seeded 

Crest — A mullet or pierced azure between two 
gilly flowers proper. On the top of a tower issu- 
ing proper an eagle with wings endorsed or in the 
beak an oak branch vert. 

The surname Sweet is identical with 
Swete, Swett, Sweat and Sweete, and is 
variously spelled in the early records. 

(I) Isaac Sweet lived in Wales, but the 
Sweet family is found at an early date in 
various sections of England. Isaac Sweet 
did not emigrate, but his widow and three 
sons came to this country. Children : 
Thomas, died without issue ; John, men- 
tioned below ; James. 

(II) John Sweet, son of Isaac Sweet, 
was born in Wales as early as 1600, and 
came to Salem, Massachusetts, in 1630. 
In 1632 his land at Salem is described in 
the records, and the name Sweet's Cove 
was given to an inlet near his residence. 
In 1637 he received a grant of land in 
P'rovidence, Rhode Island, moved thither, 
and died there. Children : John, born 
1620, died 1677, lived at Warwick; James, 
mentioned below ; Renewed, married John 

(III) James Sweet, son of John Sweet, 
was born in Wales in 1622, came with his 
father to Salem, and removed to Rhode 
Island. He lived in Warwick, but settled 
later in North Kingston, near Ridge Hill. 
He was a commissioner in 1653-55-59; 
freeman in 1655 ; juror in 1656. He sold 

land at Warwick to Thomas Green in 
1660 and 1682. In 1686 he deeded his 
rights to land in Providence, "as my 
father John Sweet was one of the first 
purchasers thereof." He married Mary 
Green, daughter of Dr. John Green, sur- 
geon, who came to New England in 1635. 
Children: Philip, born July 15, 1655; 
James, May 28, 1657; Mary, February 2, 
1660; Benoni, mentioned below; Valen- 
tine, November i, 1667; Jeremiah, Janu- 
ary 6, 1669; Renewed, July 16, 1671 ; Syl- 
vester, March i, 1674. 

(IV) Dr. Benoni Sweet, son of James 
Sweet, was born March 28, 1663, at North 
Kingston, Rhode Island. He is described 
as a man of polished manners and great 
influence in the community, and held a 
captain's commission in the Colonial 
service. He was a natural bone-setter, 
was called "Dr. Sweet," practiced exten- 
sively the reduction of dislocations, and 
the first of a family famous for the art and 
practice of bone-setting. He was baptized 
at St. Paul's Church, November 8, 1724, 
and the succeeding Easter was elected 
vestryman, an office he filled until his 
death. He died July 19, 175 1, at North 
Kingston, in his ninetieth year. Dr. Mc- 
Sparren preached the funeral sermon "and 
buried him in the cemetery of his ances- 
tors." He married Elizabeth Sweet, his 
niece, daughter of Samuel Sweet. Chil- 
dren, born at North Kingston : James, 
mentioned below; Margaret, born 1690; 
Benoni, 1692; Mary, 1696; Elizabeth, 
1700; Thomas, 1703. 

(V) James (2) Sweet, son of Dr. 
Benoni Sweet, was born at North Kings- 
ton in 1688. He married Mary Sweet, 
daughter of Benoni Sweet, Jr. Children : 
Benoni, born 1715; Eber, 1716; James, 
1719; Elisha, 1721 ; Freelove, 1723; Job, 
mentioned below; Elizabeth, 1729. 

(VI) Job Sweet, son of James (2) 



Sweet, was born at North Kingston in 
1724, and became very prominent and dis- 
tinguished as a bone-setter. During the 
Revokition he was called to Newport to 
reduce dislocated bones of some of the 
French officers, an operation beyond the 
skill of the army surgeons. He was on 
one occasion called to New York City to 
set the dislocated hip of Theodocia Burr, 
daughter of Colonel Aaron Burr. He 
made the journey in a sailing vessel, and 
his success in the case rather discomfited 
the New York surgeons who had failed to 
reduce the dislocation. In early life he 
settled near Sugar Loaf Hill, South 
Kingston, Rhode Island. He married 
(first) Jemima Sherman, who died shortly 
afterward. He married (second) Sarah 
Kingsland. Child by first wife : Abigail, 
born 175 1. Children by second wife, born 
at South Kingston: Rufus, born 1753; 
Jeremiah, mentioned below ; Gideon, 1758 ; 
James, 1760; Benoni, 1762; Jonathan, 
1765; Margaret and Lydia, twins, 1767; 
Hannah, 1770; Sarah, 1774. 

(VII) Jeremiah Sweet, son of Job 
Sweet, was born in South Kingston, Feb- 
ruary 4, 1757, and died aged eighty-seven 
years. He was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion, and was granted a pension, Decem- 
ber 14, 1832. In 1840 the census shows 
that he was living at Gloucester, aged 
eighty-three years. His great-grandson 
says of him : "He was a strong-built man, 
six feet tall with broad shoulders some- 
what rounded and he used to wear a home- 
spun coat with a cape. The coat reached 
to his knees. His wife never weighed 
more than ninety-six pounds and in latter 
years they were called Uncle Jerry and 
Aunt Dorcas. In her old age Dorcas was 
blind, but she could recognize her great- 
grandchildren when they clasped her 
hands. They lived with my grandfather 
during their last years and occupied a 

large room in which there was a fireplace 
and a large old-fashioned clock that I well 
remember." Jeremiah Sweet was a lead- 
ing citizen of the town, kept the general 
store and mill. He was a powerful man 
physically. He married Dorcas Darling- 
ton, who was born December 7, 1758, died 
January 6, 1845. Children : Jeremiah, 
mentioned below ; Mary, married Darius 
Durfee ; Anna, married (first) Mowry 
Peckham, and (second) Duleus Blois; 
Dorcas, died young; Elizabeth, married 
David Page. 

(VIII) Jeremiah (2) Sweet, son of Jere- 
miah (i) Sweet, was born at Gloucester, 
Rhode Island, January 10, 1781, and died 
November 17, 1845. ^^ resided in the 
Western part of the town. He was a 
farmer and large landowner and to each 
of his six sons he gave a farm when they 
married. On his homestead he had a 
blacksmith shop and a cider mill. He 
built a saw mill on his wood lot at the 
source of the Pawtucket river, the first 
mill erected on the stream, and gave his 
sons the privilege of cutting and market- 
ing lumber to secure their family supplies. 
He built a large house having a kitchen 
twenty feet long, the white maple table 
twelve feet long, often in haying time 
accommodating twenty men at meals. He 
was for many years deputy sheriff, was 
five feet seven inches in height, sturdy 
frame and broad shoulders. He and his 
wife were widely known as "Uncle Tim" 
and "Aunt Nabby." He married. May 29, 
1803, Abigail Page, born August 7, 1782, 
died January 23, 1845. Children : Solo- 
mon, mentioned below ; Jeremiah, born 
December 19, 1805, farmer, married Ar- 
villa Irons; Joseph R., born September 
30, 1808, farmer at Glocester, married 
Paulina Saunders ; Freelove, born April 3, 
181 1, married Robert Saunders, and lived 
in Gloucester; Stephen S., born October 



14, 1812, had a farm and mill in Gloces- 
ter, married Fanny Farrows ; Dorcas, born 
February 9, 181 5, died August 20, 1834; 
Thomas, born January 6, 1817, farmer of 
Gloucester, married Amy Wade ; Timothy, 
born January 25, 1820, died October 25, 
1822; Darling Eddy, born April 4, 1822, 
was a farmer, married (first) Deborah 
Hannah Wade, (second) Mary J. Well- 
man, died suddenly at Providence. 

(IX) Solomon Sweet, son of Jeremiah 
(2) Sweet, was born at Gloucester, Febru- 
ary 15, 1804, died January 27, 1876. He 
was a blacksmith and farmer at Gloucester 
and North Foster. In 1842 he took part 
in the Dorr Rebellion. From the forma- 
tion of the Republican party he was its 
active champion for years, was a justice of 
the peace, and was entrusted with the 
settlement of many estates. He was a 
man of great piety and exemplary char- 
acter. Was a deacon of the Morning Star 
(^Free Will) Baptist Church and one of 
its most liberal supporters, the church 
edifice standing on his farm. He married 
(first), at Foster, Harriet Hopkins, born 
December 21, 1805, at Foster, died in 
1836, daughter of Jeremiah Hopkins ; rnar- 
ried (second) Eliza Thurber; married 
(third) February 21, 1841, Sally Steere, 
daughter of Asahel and Olive Steere. 
Children by first wife : Henry Wilkinson, 
born June 30, 1828, died aged thirteen 
years; Timothy, born September 13, 1829, 
died August 16, 1831 ; Samuel Edwin, 
mentioned below. 

(X) Samuel Edwin Sweet, son of Solo- 
mon Sweet, was born in Gloucester, 
Rhode Island, February 10, 1831. He was 
a bricklayer by trade, and after leaving 
Gloucester resided for a time in Illinois, 
later returning East, in 1857 going to 
Putnam, Connecticut, where for a short 
time he resided and then went back to 
Illinois, after which he went to Topeka, 

Kansas, and was the first bricklayer to 
settle there. He and his brother erected 
the first brick building in that now popu- 
lous city. He was also the pioneer ice 
dealer in Topeka, conducting that busi- 
ness very profitably for several years. He 
was a man of strong, upright character, a 
member of the Masonic order, and of the 
Baptist church. He married (first), Janu- 
ary I, 1855, Almira Lucina Williams, born 
in Gloucester, Rhode Island, September 
5. 1831, died September 30, 1893, ^ 
daughter of Leonard Reed and Almira 
(Wheaton-Underwood) Williams. He 
married (second) Melissa Munger. Chil- 
dren of Samuel Edwin Sweet: Harriet 
Edna, mentioned below; Charles Edwin, 
of Denver, Colorado, born September 5, 
1862, married Florence Barnard, and has 
sons, Charles and Edwin ; Maude Marian, 
born July 15, 1867. 

(XI) Harriet (Hattie) Edna Sweet, of 
the eleventh recorded generation of her 
family, daughter of Samuel Edwin and 
Almira Lucina (Williams) Sweet, was 
born in Putnam, Connecticut, June 8, 1857. 
She married, May 23, 1883, Russell Arthur 
Bailey, born in Biddeford, Maine, son of 
Benjamin Andrews and Emily (Wiley) 
Bailey. Mr. Bailey is now superintend- 
ent and treasurer of the Springfield Brick 
Company of Springfield, Massachusetts. 
Mr. and Mrs. Bailey are the parents of 
four daughters; Helen Carlotta, born in 
East Brooklyn, Connecticut, May 13, 1885 ; 
Ruth Jeanette, born in East Brooklyn, 
Connecticut, October 23, 1886; Bernice 
Lucina, born December 10, 1889, married, 
December 28, 1916, Ralph Roscoe Day, 
now residing in Fairmount, West Vir- 
ginia ; Lelia Sweet, born March 28, 1892. 
The latter two were born in Killingly, 
Connecticut. The family home is at No. 
134 Forest Park avenue, Springfield, Mas- 



McELWAIN, Charles Church, 

Man of Varied Activities. 

Charles C. McElwain, treasurer of 
Kibbe Brothers & Company, of Spring- 
field, is a son of Edwin McElwain, and a 
descendant of James McElwain, the 
founder of the McElwain family in New 

(I) James McElwain, immigrant an- 
cestor, with his two sons, James and Tim- 
othy, came to America previous to 1727. 
In 1728 he bought of Lamb & Company 
one hundred acres of land at the junction 
of Ware and Swift rivers, in what was 
known as the "Elbow Tract." This he 
sold in 1729 to Green & Walker, mer- 
chants of Boston. At this time he called 
himself of New Marlborough, and in 1733, 
his widow. Lienor, quitclaimed her right 
of dower in the same land, dating it "New 
Marlborough or Kingsfield." In 1729 he 
received pay from the town for a journey 
to Boston, to present a petition to the 
General Court in regard to the titles to 
the land bought of this company. He was 
collector of rates for the town, clerk of 
the church, and on a committee to pro- 
vide a site for the meeting house. His 
farm was in that part of the "Elbow 
Tract" which was set off as the town of 
Western (now Warren), Massachusetts. 
He died in 1730. Children: James, sold 
his land and returned to Ireland; never 
married ; Timothy, mentioned below. 

(II) Timothy McElwain, son of James 
McElwain, was born in 1709, and died 
September 7, 1790. He came to New 
England with his father, and was granted 
a hundred acre lot near his father's. In 
1733 he served on a committee to lay out 
highways, also on a committee to select 
a site for the meetinghouse. He was con- 
stable in 1744, and was a taxpayer of Pal- 
mer in 1786. He married (first), August 
24, 1738, Anna Spear, who died April 28, 

1746. He married (second), August 10, 
1750, Susannah Thomson, Children: 
Sarah, born August 24, 1739, married, 
December i, 1761, Timothy Ferrell; 
Betty, born March 24, 1741, married, May 
19, 1764, John King; John Allen, born 
March 12, 1743; Timothy, mentioned be- 
low; Samuel, born June 18, 1751, married, 
June 2, 1776, Sarah Ferrell ; Anna, born 
February 27, 1753, married, July 9, 1778, 
Adonijah Jones ; Elizabeth, born Janu- 
ary 31, 1755, married Israel Jones; Li- 
enor, born June 29, 1757; Roger, born 
August 2^, 1759, married Delina Hill. 

(III) Captain Timothy (2) McElwain, 
son of Timothy (i) McElwain, was born 
April 17, 1746, and died November 6, 
1830, aged eighty-four years. He lived in 
Middlefield, Massachusetts. The house 
which he built in 1797, on his farm on the 
hill-top, still stands, a fine example of 
simple old Colonial architecture, and of a 
size to meet the needs of his good old 
fashioned family of twelve children. The 
place has come down in regular succes- 
sion in the family, being now occupied 
by his great grandson, Edwin McElwain. 
He served in the Revolutionary War, and 
was a prominent military figure in his 
day. He married, in Somers, Connecti- 
cut, January 8, 1772, Jane Brown, who 
died January 2, 1832, aged eighty-one 
years. Children : Timothy, born Octo- 
ber 21, 1772; Anne, born June 12, 1774; 
Jane, born September 24, 1776, died Jan- 
uary 7, 1787; Alexander, born November, 
9, 1778; James, born February 22, 1781 ; 
George Washington, born May 4, 1783; 
Betsey, born August 18, 1785 ; Sarah, 
born March 30, 1787; David, born April 
19, 1789; Jennet, born March 31, 1791 ; 
Jonathan, mentioned below; Laney, born 
June 21, 1795. 

(IV) Jonathan McElwain, son of Cap- 
tain Timothy (2) McElwain, was born at 
Middlefield, June 11, 1793, and died Feb- 



ruary 23, 1866. He lived all his life on 
the McEKvain place. A broad-minded 
man, he was thoroughly devoted to the 
town and its interests, at one time repre- 
senting his district in the Legislature. 
His breadth of view is well illustrated by 
the fact that when Mary Lyon went 
through that section soliciting money for 
the founding of Mt. Holyoke, an insti- 
tution for the education of women, he 
contributed one hundred dollars, no small 
sum for the New England farmer of that 
day, and this in spite of the fact that he 
himself had five sons and no daughters to 
educate. Only two men in the town sub- 
scribed to the fund. He married, October 
15, 1818, Lucy Smith, of Middlefield. 
Children: i. Jonathan, born July 14, 1819, 
died January 23, 1899, succeeded his 
father on the farm, and was also promi- 
nent in town affairs, holding the office of 
town clerk for nearly thirty years, and 
that of secretary of the Highland Agri- 
cultural Society for many years ; he mar- 
ried (first), May 20, 1847, Clarissa Ly- 
man, of Chester, (second), December, 
1852, Mary Smith, of Salisbury, Connec- 
ticut ; children : i. Albert, born Novem- 
ber, 1853, died in 1855. ii. Edwin Smith, 
born April 20, 1855, succeeded his father 
on the old place; married, February 13, 
1876, Lucy Maris Graves, of Middlefield ; 
children : a. Bessie Lillian, born April 18, 
1879, married, July 18, 1898, Walter S. 
Newell ; b. Jessie Bell, born July 10, 1880, 
died April 15, 1917; married, October 18, 
1904, Reuben Franklin McElwain, of 
West Springfield ; c. George Edwin, born 
December 16, 1885, engaged in the paper 
manufacturing business at Holyoke. iii. 
Mary Jane, born June 5, 1858, married 
(first), June 12, 1885, Fitzhugh Babson, 
of Gloucester, (second) Clark B. Wright, 
of Middlefield, Massachusetts, iv. Laura 
Verona, born April 20, 1862, married, No- 
vember 19, 1891, Arthur D. Pease, of Mid- 

dlefield. 2. Oliver, born August 24, 1821, 
died in West Springfield, Massachusetts, 
December 17, 1907 ; he married, February 
10, 1853, Paulina Doane Witherell; chil- 
dren, all born in Becket, Massachusetts : 
i. Lucy Hannah, born December 6, 1854, 
married, June 16, 1881, Clifton A. Crocker, 
of Springfield, ii. Laney Smith, born 
April 14, 1857, married, January 4, 1888, 
Arthur E. Ford, formerly of Chicago, now 
of Springfield, iii. Harriet Aurelia, born 
February 12, 1859, unmarried, was grad- 
uated at Mt. Holyoke College, and be- 
came a teacher; she was for nineteen 
years head of the Department for Wo- 
men at the Pennsylvania State College; 
now living at West Springfield, iv. Oliver 
Dwight. V. Reuben Franklin, vi. Carrie 
Mabel, born February 20, 1870, married, 
February 20, 1896, Edward Pontany 
Butts, of Springfield. The parents of 
these children were members of the Sec- 
ond Congregational Church. 3. Timothy 
Dwight, born August 10, 1825, died Sep- 
tember 3, 1841. 4. John Smith, born 
March 17, 1828, became one of the 
leading citizens of Holyoke, being closely 
identified with all civic interests ; promi- 
nent in the paper manufacturing busi- 
ness ; he married (first) in West Spring- 
field, in 1858, Esther M. Ely. daughter of 
Homer Ely ; he had one son by this mar- 
riage, Henry Ely, who engaged in mining 
interests in Colorado subsequent to the 
forming of the American Writing Paper 
Combination, and who married Isabel 
Hazen, of Hartford, Vermont ; John S. 
McElwain married (second), in 1863, 
Celia S. Ely, a sister of his first wife. 5. 
Edwin, of further mention. 

(V) Edwin McElwain, youngest son 
and child of Jonathan and Lucy (Smith) 
McElwain, was born in Middlefield, 
Massachusetts, November 5, 1833, and 
died in Springfield, Massachusetts, Octo- 
ber 19, 191 1. He grew up at the paternal 



farm, knew the detail work of that farm dealt in general agricultural supplies and 

by actual experience, and attended the 
district school. He also attended Willis- 
ton Seminary at Easthampton, Massachu- 
setts, and during the school term of 1856 
and 1857 taught the Middlefield district 
school. One of the oldest farmer's soci- 
eties in the State of Massachusetts is the 
Highland Agricultural Society of Middle- 
field, founded about 1855, Edwin McEl- 
wain and Matthew Smith being the chief 
promoters. Mr. McElwain was the first 
secretary and held the office until moving 
to Springfield, and as long as he lived he 
retained a deep interest in the society. 
The Middlefield annual fair is one of the 
activities of the society, and whenever 
possible he and Mr, Smith, known as the 
fathers of the society, attended this an- 
nual fair and kept in touch with the other 

On April i, 1858, he moved to Spring- 
field and entered the employ of Kibbe, 
Crane & Company, confectionery manu- 
facturers, their business dating from 
1843. The factory was then located at the 
corner of Sanford and Market streets, 
and from there Mr. McElwain, who was 
both clerk and distributer, drove one of 
the firm's big four horse wagons, which 
in that early day were famous in Western 
Massachusetts. A representation of one 
of these olden time delivery wagons with 
four horses attached is carried on the 
company's stationery, and is a recognized 
emblem, meaning Kibbe, wherever seen. 
In 1882 the factory was moved to the 
Union block, corner of Main street and 
Harrison avenue. In i860 Mr. McEl- 
wain withdrew from the company's serv- 
ice and formed a partnership with his 
brother, John S. McElwain, and trading 
as McElwain Brothers, opened a store at 
the corner of Main and Court streets, 
Springfield, the Five Cents Savings Bank 
now occupying the site. The brothers 

seeds and conducted a very successful 
business for several years, the store then 
passing into the hands of B. L. Bragg. 
In August, 1864, Mr. Elwain purchased a 
quarter interest in the confectionery busi- 
ness of Kibbe, Crane & Company, Mr. H. 
B. Crane, of the original company, hav- 
ing retired, and the firm re-organized as 
Kibbe Brothers & Company. For several 
years Mr. McElwain acted as bookkeeper 
and buyer. The death of George Kibbe 
made a serious break in the firm, and in 
1887, the remaining brother, Horace 
Kibbe, died. The business was then 
bought by Edwin McElwain and Sher- 
man D. Porter, who conducted it as a 
firm until July, 1892, when they incor- 
porated as a stock company, Sherman D. 
Porter, president, Edwin McElwain, 
treasurer. The factory was moved from 
the corner of Main street and Harrison 
avenue, November i, 1890, to the building 
erected by Edwin McElwain and Mr. 
Porter, at No. -^y Harrison avenue, and in 
1891, the block next to No. 37 was also 
taken for the company's use. The busi- 
ness grew to large proportions, and as 
treasurer Mr. McElwain bore an import- 
ant part in its growth and management. 
He was one of the incorporators of the 
Springfield Safe Deposit & Trust Com- 
pany and a director until his death. He 
was a director of the Springfield Mutual 
Fire Assurance Company, and of the 
Chapman Valve Manufacturing Company, 
at Indian Orchard. He was a member 
of the North Congregational Church, was 
a pillar of strength to the society, and a 
member of the board of trustees. During 
the years, 1876-77, he represented Ward 
No. 5 in Common Council, elected as a 

Edwin McElwain married, December 
30, 1863, Caroline Church, daughter of 
Sumner U. Church, a woolen manufac- 




turer of Middlefield. The house in which 
Mr. McElwain died was built by him and 
it was long- the family home. Mr, and 
Mrs. McElwain were the parents of two 
sons : Charles Church, of further men- 
tion ; and Arthur Edwin, born February 
8, 1879, died July 14, 1880. 

(VI) Charles Church McElwain, son of 
Edwin and Caroline (Church) McElwain, 
was born in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
May 14, 1870-72. He was educated in the 
graded and high schools of the city. He 
began business life in 1890 as office clerk 
with Kibbe Brothers Company, manufac- 
turers and wholesale dealers of confec- 
tionery in all its branches, the company 
incorporating that year with Edwin Mc- 
Elwain, treasurer. During the ensuing 
fourteen years the young man passed 
through several promotions, and being 
made assistant treasurer in 1903, he so 
continued until the death of Edwin Mc- 
Elwain in 191 1, which created a vacancy, 
filled by the election of Charles C. McEl- 
wain as his successor. The company 
has grown to large proportions and oc- 
cupies a five-story factory, offices and 
salesrooms, at No. 33-51 Harrison avenue. 
The president is Robert R. Cleeland, Rob- 
ert J. Cleeland, vice-president, Charles C. 
McElwain, treasurer, there having been 
but two treasurers since the incorpora- 
tion in 1892, Edwin McElwain and his 
son, Charles C. He is also a director of 
the Springfield Safe Deposit & Trust 
Company, the Springfield Mutual Fire 
Assurance Company, the Chapman Valve 
Manufacturing Company, and has other 
important business interests. For two 
years he was president of that wonderful 
organization. The Boys' Club, and yet 
serves as a director. His clubs are the 
Winthrop, Nayasset. Colony, Country, 
and Automobile. He is a member of the 
Sons of the American Revolution, the 
Young Men's Christian Association ; trus- 
Mass— 10— 18 273 

tee of the Springfield Hospital Corpora- 
tion ; member of Springfield Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; Morning Star 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Springfield 
Council, Royal and Select Masters; 
Springfield Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar; and of the North Congregational 
Church, serving on its society committee 
for several years. 

Mr. McElwain married, November 8, 
1899, Greta Parks, daughter of Justin D. 
and Harriette (Parsons) Parks, of Spring- 
field. They are the parents of Edwin 
(2), born December 17, 1908. 

ELY, Henry Wilson, 

Lawyer, Man of Enterprise. 

Three generations of Elys have been 
connected with the business and profes- 
sional life of Westfield, Massachusetts, 
Joseph Minor Ely, a pioneer manufacturer 
of whips, his son, Henry Wilson Ely, an 
eminent lawyer, and the latter's son, Jo- 
seph Buell Ely, also an eminent exponent 
of the law, associated with his father, 
practicing as Ely & Ely, they maintaining 
offices in both Westfield and Springfield, 
Massachusetts. These men are of the sev- 
enth, eighth and ninth generations of the 
family founded in New England by Na- 
thaniel Ely in 1634, he a scion of an 
ancient and honorable English family. 

(I) Nathaniel Ely, the American an- 
cestor of this line, was born in the year 
1605, supposedly in Tenterden, County 
Kent, England. He attended the common 
schools near his home, later engaged in 
business, and came to New England in 
the ship "Elizabeth" from Ipswich, Eng- 
land, in 1634. He settled in Newton, Mas- 
sachusetts, now Cambridge, May 8, 1635, 
and the next year was one of the first set- 
tlers of Hartford, Connecticut, serving as 
constable in 1639, ^" 1640 owning a home- 
stead, and in 1643 and 1649 serving as 


selectman. His name is on the monu- 
ment erected to the memory of the first 
settlers of Hartford; he afterwards re- 
moved to Norwalk, Connecticut, where 
he was one of the first settlers, was a resi- 
dent there until 1659, when he sold his 
property and removed to Springfield, 
Massachusetts, where he spent his re- 
maining years. He filled the office of 
selectman in 1661, 1663, 1668, 1671 and 
1673. I" 1665 he became an innkeeper, 
and so continued until his death, Decem- 
ber 25, 1675. His wife, Martha Ely, whom 
he married in England, bore him two chil- 
dren : Samuel, of further mention ; and 
Ruth, who died October 12, 1662. Mrs. 
Ely died in Springfield, October 23, 1683. 

(II) Samuel Ely, only son of Nathaniel 
and Martha Ely, was born in England, 
and accompanied his parents in their sev- 
eral removals. He invested his savings 
in real estate, and at his death, which 
occurred in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
March 19, 1692, left a large estate. He 
married, in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
October 28, 1659, Mary Day, born in 
Hartford, Connecticut, 1641, daughter of 
Robert and Editha (Stebbins) Day. They 
were the parents of sixteen children, ten 
of whom died in infancy or early youth, 
and among those who attained years of 
maturity was Samuel, of further mention. 

(III) Samuel (2) Ely, son of Samuel 
(i) and Mary (Day) Ely, was born in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, May 9, 1668, 
and died in West Springfield, August 23, 
1732. He was prominent in town affairs, 
selectman in 1702, 1716, 1719, and clerk of 
the Second Parish (West Springfield) 
from 1702 until 1721, with the exception 
of the years 1714 and 171 5. He married 
(first), November 10, 1697, Martha Bliss, 
born in Longmeadow, June 1, 1674, died 
July 6, 1702, daughter of Samuel and 
Mary (Leonard) Bliss. He married (sec- 

ond) Sarah Burdurtha, born October 18, 
1681, died May 8, 1766, daughter of Jo- 
seph and Lydia Burdurtha. Among the 
children of the first marriage was Samuel, 
of further mention. 

(IV) Samuel (3) Ely, only son of Sam- 
uel (2) and Martha (Bliss) Ely, was born 
in West Springfield, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 21, 1701, and died there, Decem- 
ber 8, 1758. He married, May 3, 1722, 
Abigail Warriner, born December 8, 1703, 
died September 27, 1762, daughter of 
Samuel and Abigail (Day) Warriner. 
Among their children was Levi, of fur- 
ther mention. 

(V) Captain Levi Ely, son of Samuel 
(3) and Abigail (Warriner) Ely, was 
born in West Springfield, Massachusetts, 
November 26, 1732, and was killed by 
Indians in a battle on the Mohawk river, 
a little east of Utica, New York, October 
19, 1780. He was in charge of an expedi- 
tion against the Indians, his company 
being townsmen and neighbors, and 
nearly all were killed a few days before 
their terms of service had expired. He 
married, October 12, 1758, Abigail Ser- 
geant, born in Northfield, January 26, 
1729, died October 3, 1812, daughter of 
Lieutenant Jonathan and Abigail (Jones) 
Sergeant. Among their children was 
Elihu, of further mention. 

(VI) Rev. Elihu Ely, youngest son of 
Captain Levi and Abigail (Sergeant) Ely, 
was born in West Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, and baptized July 6, 1777. He was 
educated in his native town, and later be- 
came a resident of Westfield, where he 
died February 23, 1839. He married, in 
1797, Grace Rose, born in Providence, 
Rhode Island, November 2, 1777, died 
September 28, 1840, daughter of Colonel 
Samuel Rose. Among his children was 
Joseph Minor, of further mention. 

(VII) Joseph Minor Ely, fourth son of 



the Rev. EHhu and Grace (Rose) Ely, 
was born in Westfield, Massachusetts, 
November 26, 1807, and there died June 
14, 1885. He grew up at the home farm, 
acquired a practical education in the com- 
mon schools of the district, and upon 
arriving at a suitable age entered busi- 
ness life, became a manufacturer of whips 
and lashes, and one of the pioneers in that 
line of business in Westfield. He took an 
active interest in public affairs, was a 
member of the State Constitutional Con- 
vention in 1853, served the town of West- 
field as selectman and assessor, was a 
member of the school committee, served 
as a delegate to State, county and district 
conventions that nominated Stephen A. 
Douglas, Samuel J. Tilden, and Winfield 
Scott Hancock for the presidency. He 
cast his first presidential vote for Andrew 
Jackson, supported Stephen A. Douglas 
in i860, and was always an ardent adher- 
ent of the Democratic party. He was an 
anti-slavery man, read and thought deeply 
on many subjects, had decided opinions 
on all questions of the day, and was an 
eloquent and forceful advocate for any 
cause which he espoused. He was an 
active, consistent member of the First 
Methodist Episcopal Church of Westfield, 
filled various offices therein, and was trus- 
tee for three years. 

Mr. Ely married, June 9, 1831, in South- 
wick, Massachusetts, Elizabeth Treat 
Gross, born in Granville, Massachusetts, 
May 17, 1814, died February 27, 1885, 
daughter of Jonah Ladd and Roxanna 
(Olds) Gross, of French Huguenot an- 
cestry. Children: Elizabeth Ann, born 
January 9, 1833, married Rev. S. O. Dyer ; 
Mary Augusta, born April 21, 1838, died 
March 8, 1839; Joseph Minor, born Au- 
gust 15, 1840, died March 4, 1846; James 
Polk, born July 5, 1845, died October 24, 
1845 ' Janies Addington, born September 

5, 1847, died in 1884; Charles Franklin, 
born July 3, 1850, died June 14, 1908, mar- 
ried Ora H. Jones ; Henry Wilson, of fur- 
ther mention. 

(VIII) Henry Wilson Ely, youngest 
son of Joseph Minor and Elizabeth Treat 
(Gross) Ely, was born in Westfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, November 10, 1853. He spent 
his youth in attendance at the public 
schools, was graduated from the high 
school in 1870, and from normal school 
two years later. He taught school for a 
short time, then resigned to take up the 
study of law, becoming a student in the 
office of Jewell, Gaston & Field, Boston, 
completing his studies in the law depart- 
ment of Boston University. After his ad- 
mission to the bar at the age of twenty- 
cne, he located in his native city of West- 
field, and later opened an office with his 
brother, Charles F., the firm being known 
as Ely Brothers, and here they continued 
in practice for thirty years, up to the 
death of Charles F. Ely, making a spe- 
cialty of corporation law, being attorneys 
for many of the railways in and about 
Western New England. Henry Wilson 
Ely's career as a lawyer has been distin- 
guished throughout by sterling character, 
comprehensive knowledge of the law, 
ability as a cross examiner and advocate, 
and a steady devotion to the best inter- 
ests of his clients. With others he has 
been interested in the building of electric 
railways and in several successful manu- 
facturing enterprises. He is a member 
of the First Methodist Church, in which 
he has been a trustee for twenty-five 
years, and in other ways strives to ad- 
vance the cause of Christianity. He is a 
Democrat in politics, but has never sought 
nor accepted public office. He is highly 
regarded in the community in which he 
has won and retained the confidence of 
his fellowmen. 



Mr. Ely married, June 12, 1880, Sarah 
Naomi Buell, in Westfield, born May 27, 
1852, daughter of Phineas and Phebe (Gil- 
man) Buell. Children: Joseph Buell, 
whose sketch follows ; Florence E., born 
April 16, 1886, married Edwin W. Smith, 
of Westfield, and has two children, Ed- 
win Ely and Constance ; Charles F., born 
November 17, 1892, a graduate of Williams 
College, Harvard Law School, and now a 
first lieutenant in the United States army. 

ELY, Joseph Buell, 

Lawyer, Public Official. 

Joseph Buell Ely, eldest son of 
Henry Wilson and Sarah Naomi (Buell) 
Ely (q. v.), was born in Westfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, February 22, 1881. He pre- 
pared in Westfield school, entered Wil- 
liams College, whence he was graduated 
A. B., 1902, then entered Harvard Law 
School, there receiving his degree, LL. 
B., class of 1905. He was admitted to the 
Massachusetts bar the same year, and at 
once began practice with his honored 
father in Springfield and Westfield. The 
association between father and son as law 
partners has continued until the present 
(1919), and they occupy a commanding 
position at the Massachusetts bar. In 
191 5 Joseph B. Ely was appointed district 
attorney by Governor Walsh, and in 1916 
was elected for a full term of three years. 
He is now district attorney for the coun- 
ties of Hampden and Berkshire, an office 
he fills with entire credit to himself, hav- 
ing proved an able, upright prosecutor. 
He is a member of the local and State bar 
associations, the Nayasset Club of Spring- 
field, and the Park Club of Pittsfield. 

Mr. Ely married. May i, 1906, Harriet 
Zelda Dyson, daughter of Thomas and 
Emily Jane (Bush) Dyson, of Westfield. 
Mr. and Mrs. Ely are the parents of a 

son, Richard, born July 15, 1907, of the 
tenth American generation. 

Thomas Dyson, father of Mrs. Harriet 
Z. (Dyson) Ely, was born in Windsor, 
England, December 14, 1844, son of James 
and Ann (Milne) Dyson, and grandson of 
James Dyson, born in Manchester, Eng- 
land, died in Millbury, Massachusetts. 
Thomas Dyson came to the United States 
with his parents in 1849, ^"d during the 
war between the States, 1861-65, served 
in the Union army from Millbury. After 
the war he was employed as a machinist 
in Millbury, later locating in Westfield, 
where he has since made his home. He 
is an organist of merit, and for twenty- 
nine consecutive years was chorister for 
the Methodist Episcopal church of West- 

DOHERTY, James Louis, 

La-nryer of Fine Attainments. 

The ancient O'Dachartaigh family, 
anglicized Docharty, Dogherty, Doherty, 
Dougherty and O'Dogherty, spring from 
Fiarmhan, a brother of Muiriartach, who 
was one of the eleventh generation from 
Conall Gulbban, who was a son of Niall 
Mor, the one hundred and twenty-sixth 
monarch of Ireland. The Dohertys were 
Lords of Inishower and bore arms : 

Arms — Argent, a stag springing, gfules, on a 
chief, vert, three mullets of the first. 

Crest — A greyhound courant, argent, holding in 
the mouth a hare, proper. 

Motto — Argent M. Dutches (for my hereditary 

The family were long seated in County 
Donegal, Ulster, John Doherty being born 
in the extreme north of the county, and 
there passed his youth. When he came to 
America, he located in St. John, New 
Brunswick, Canada, and is of record there 
in 1825. He was a farmer. He married, in 
St. John, Elizabeth Griffith, and they were 




the parents of three children : James E., 
of whom further: Dominick, Ellen. John 
Doherty met his death accidentally in 

James E. Doherty, son of John and 
Elizabeth (Griffith) Doherty, was born 
in Canterbury, New Brunswick, Canada, 
February 29, 1832, and died in Houlton, 
Maine, in March, 1918. He spent his early 
life at the home farm on the banks of the 
St. John river at the outlet of Eel river, 
York county, New Brunswick, and when 
a young man came across the boundary 
and settled in Aroostook county, Maine, 
in the town of Houlton, and there contin- 
ued a farmer for more than half a century. 
He prospered and added to his land hold- 
ings until possessed of about two hundred 
acres, which year after year yielded him 
profitable crops of potatoes. He con- 
tinued in this occupation even when an 
octogenarian, and went to his grave one 
of the substantial, highly respected citi- 
zens of Houlton. He was of quiet, retir- 
ing nature, industrious and very fond of 
his home and family. He married (first) 
Eliza Smith, of Houlton, Maine, daughter 
of Thomas Smith, an early settler in 
Aroostook county, Maine. Mr. and Mrs. 
Doherty were the parents of three chil- 
dren : Jennie, a resident of Houlton ; 
James Louis, of whom further ; Thomas 
v., a graduate of Bowdoin College, now a 
practicing lawyer of Houlton. Mr. 
Doherty married (second) Margaret 
Burke, and they were the parents of two 
sons, and one daughter: John, who lives 
on and farms the homestead in Houlton ; 
Frederick, who resides in Houlton : and 
Alice, now married to Wilbur Bither, and 
living in Linneus, Maine. 

James Louis Doherty, eldest son of 
James E. and Eliza (Smith) Doherty, was 
born in St. John, New Brunswick, Can- 
ada, March 24, 1865. He was but a child 
when his parents moved to Houlton, 

Maine, where he attended the public 
schools. Later he attended the Ricker 
Classical Institute, from which he was 
graduated, and then became a student in 
Bowdoin College, Brunswick, Maine, from 
which he was graduated with the class 
of 1889. Following his graduation, he en- 
tered the law offices of Madigan & Mad- 
igan in Houlton, the two partners being 
his brothers-in-law. The senior partner, 
the late Justice John Madigan, was later 
justice of the Supreme Court of the State 
of Maine and gained wide prominence as 
a jurist. Under the guidance of two such 
eminent attorneys, Mr. Doherty received 
a splendid legal education, and in 1891 
was admitted to the practice of law in 
Maine, opening offices in Oldtown, that 
State. During the four years he spent 
there he established a splendid reputation 
as a lawyer which has characterized him 
throughout his legal career. While in 
Oldtown he took an active interest in 
local affairs and was honored with elec- 
tion to the school committee, which he 
resigned when he came to Springfield, 
Massachusetts, in 1895. For a time after 
his removal he practiced his profession 
alone, but later became associated with 
Thomas FitzGibbons, this partnership 
being dissolved a few years later. In 1903 
he became associated with Wendell G. 
Brownson under the firm name of 
Doherty and Brownson, the partnership 
continuing until January i, 1914, when 
it was dissolved. The following year 
he became associated with J. Howard 
Jones, and about two years later Walter 
H. McCarthy was added to the partner- 
ship, which then became known as 
Doherty, Jones & McCarthy, of wh'ch 
firm he was the head until his death. 

Mr. Doherty gained well deserved dis- 
tinction as a leading authority on the law 
of equity, and until the rapid growth of 
his practice prevented it, was in constant 



demand to preside as auditor or master 
in equity cases. He served in this capac- 
ity in several of the most prominent cases 
to come before the courts of the county, 
and his opinions invariably met with the 
approval of the courts to which they were 

A number of years ago Mr. Doherty 
published a legal work, "Auditors and 
Masters," which was given acknowledged 
standing in virtually all of the law libra- 
ries of the State and this section of the 
country as an exceptionally sound and 
authoritative treatise on the administra- 
tion of the law of equity. His services 
were in great demand for corporation 
work, and for a number of years he was 
counsel for the Hendee Manufacturing 
Company, which post he held at the time 
of his death. He was also a member of 
the board of directors of the Chicopee Na- 
tional Bank and the Springfield Institu- 
tion for Savings,