Skip to main content

Full text of "Encyclopedia of Massachusetts, biographical--genealogical;"

See other formats

Digitized by the Internet Archive 
in 2002 

(£v\cijo(o pe 1 1 



ASTOp, I p 


izttcjjclopeitta of Massachusetts 

Biographical — Genealogical 

Compiled with Assistance of the Following 



Former Librarian of Woburn Public Library; 
Historian of New England Historic-Genea- 
logical Society; Author of “History of Arling- 
ton,” “Bibliography of Woburn,” “History of 
the Cutter Family,” etc. 


Member of American Institute of Architecture, 
etc.; Author of “Homes and How to Make 
Them,” and other popular works; Lecturer, 
and frequent contributor to leading magazines 
and newspapers. 


Librarian of Berkshire Athenaeum and Mu- 
seum; Secretary of Berkshire Historical Soci- 
ety; Author of "Three Kingdoms;” “World of 
Matter;” “Translation into English, Hexameters 
of Virgil’s Aeneid;” Joint Author “American 
Plant Book;” “Barnes’ Readers;” “One Thou- 
sand Blunders in English.” 


Member of Connecticut Valley Historical Soci- 
ety, and Western Hampden Historical Society; 
Author of “History of the Town of Westfield, 



Charter Member, ex-President and for fifteen 
years Librarian of Worcester Society of Antiq- 
uity, and Editor of its Proceedings; Author of 
"Rawson Family Memorial,” “The Crane Fam- 
ily,” in two volumes, “History of 15th Regi- 
ment in the Revolution,” and Compiler of a 
Number of Genealogies of the Prominent Fam- 
ilies of Massachusetts. Member of the New 
England Historic-Genealogical and other His- 
torical Societies. 


Clerk and Treasurer of Bostonian Society; 
Director of Brookline Historical Society; Sec- 
ond Vice-President of Mass. Soc. S. A. R. ; 
Chairman Membership Com. Mass. Soc. Colo- 
nial Wars; Member Board of Managers, Mass. 
Soc., War of 1812; Treasurer of Read Soc. for 
Genealogical Research. 


Ex-President of Essex Institute; Member of 
Massachusetts Historical Society; ex-Repre- 
sentative and ex-Mayor of Salem. 


President of Old Bridgewater Historical Soci- 
ety; President of Dyer Family Association. 









364887 A 

H 1928 L 

Both justice and decency require that we should bestow on our forefathers 
an honorable remembrance — Thucydides 


THS . 

' - 

I, STOP,, L?!S 0 - ■ w . 



GUILD, Curtis, Jr., 

Journalist, Governor, Soldier. 

Curtis Guild, Jr., forty-third Governor 
of Massachusetts (1906-1908), was born 
in Boston, Massachusetts, February 2, 
i860, son of Curtis and Sarah Crocker 
(Cobb) Guild. His father was the foun- 
der of the Boston “Commercial Bulletin." 

He was educated at Miss Lewis' pri- 
vate school, Roxbury, at Chauncy Hall 
School, Boston, and at Harvard College, 
where he obtained his first journalistic 
experience as editor of the “Crimson" and 
“Lampoon,” showing marked literary 
ability. He was graduated with highest 
honors in 1881, receiving special mention 
in English literature and composition, 
French literature and history. After a 
protracted tour in Europe he entered upon 
an engagement with the “Commercial 
Bulletin” as collector and traveling agent, 
subsequently served in every department 
and rose to the position of editor, and in 1884 
he was admitted to partnership with his 
father and uncle. It was he who made 
the statistics on wool in "The Bulletin” 
so accurate as to be considered authorita- 
tive by the government of the United 
States and by the trade throughout Amer- 
ica, England, Europe and Australia. 
Upon the death of his uncle and the re- 
tirement of his father in 1902, he became 
sole owner of “The Bulletin,” and has 
since conducted its policy. He engaged 
in politics at the age of twenty-one, tak- 
ing the stump as a speaker, and serving 
as treasurer and chairman of his ward 
committee. In 1895 he was elected chair- 
man of the Republican State Convention, 
and in 1896 was a delegate-at-large to the 

Republican National Convention and was 
one of its vice-presidents. He was active 
as a campaign speaker in ten of the cen- 
tral western states in 1896, and in 1900 he 
accompanied Theodore Roosevelt from 
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, to New York 
City, besides covering Vermont, Maine 
and Massachusetts. 

In 1902 he was the Republican candi- 
date for Lieutenant-Governor of Massa- 
chusetts, and was elected in November 
of that year. Within thirty-six hours of 
his inauguration he was called to the 
chair of Acting Governor in the absence 
of Governor Bates from the State. After 
serving as Lieutenant-Governor until 
1905, he was in that year nominated for 
Governor, and was elected by a plurality 
of 22,558 and in the following year he was 
reelected by the increased plurality of 
30,233. His third election followed in 
1907 with a plurality of 104,000, his vote 
being more than double that of the next 
highest candidate. Governor Guild’s ad- 
minstration was marked by the passage 
of more new legislation than that re- 
corded under any previous Governor, his 
reforms being largely of a humanitarian 

He was interested in military matters 
from the time he entered a military school 
in his youth, and was major of the acade- 
my battalion. He later became an officer 
in the Harvard Rifle Corps, and a mem- 
ber of Troop A, First Massachusetts 
Cavalry, advancing to a commission. 
Governor Greenhalge offered him a staff 
appointment, and Governor Wolcott ap- 
pointed him inspector-general of rifle 
practice with the rank of brigadier-gen- 
eral. The day after the sinking of the 



“Maine,” he asked the Governor to file 
his name as a volunteer for service in the 
expected war ; and the Governor sent him 
on a special mission to Washington to 
learn what would be expected of Massachu- 
setts in the event of hostilities breaking 
out. As a result of his information Mas- 
sachusetts placed her troops in readiness, 
and her regiments and naval brigade 
were, under call of the President, the first 
to report at a national rendezvous, fully 
armed and equipped, even to medical 
stores, ammunition, and other sup- 
plies. Colonel Guild at once enlisted as 
first lieutenant and adjutant of the Sixth 
Massachusetts Regiment, and was soon 
appointed inspector-general, with the 
rank of lieutenant-colonel. In addition to 
all the regular duties of an inspector-gen- 
eral he acted as a drillmaster, and also 
served a part of the time as chief ord- 
nance officer. He inaugurated a new 
method of weekly inspection reports, by 
which on a tabular view, the corps com- 
mander was informed every Monday 
morning of the exact condition of every 
command in his corps, both as to health, 
drill, sanitation, food, and equipment, and 
this action received the official endorse- 
ment and approval of the inspector-gen- 
eral of the army in his annual report for 
that year. Colonel Guild broke up the 
fever camp at Miami, arranged the camp 
sites at Savannah, framed the Savannah port 
regulations and attended to the disciplin- 
ing of pilots ; quelled a mutiny in one of 
the western regiments ; and accompanied 
the army as inspector-general. He acted 
as chief of secret service when the Span- 
ish inhabitants were living in daily fear 
of massacre at the hands of Cuban guer- 
rillas ; investigated all claims for land 
damages, and reformed the slaughter 
house system of Havana province. He 
was offered a colonial commission by the 
President but declined, as he did also the 

proffer of the First Assistant Postmaster- 
Generalship. He was also offered the 
chairmanship of the National Civil Serv- 
ice Commission, which he likewise de- 
clined. He received seventy-five votes 
for the vice-presidential nomination in 
the Republican National Convention of 
1908. He was Special Ambassador to 
Mexico in 1910, and was appointed Am- 
bassador to Russia, July 21, 1911, serving 
until 1913 

Besides his regular newspaper work, he 
has occasionally contributed to such maga- 
zines as “Life,” the “Atlantic Monthly,” 
the “North American Review,” “Scrib- 
ner’s” and “Harper’s.” He received the 
honorary degree of LL. D. from Holy 
Cross College and from Williams Col- 
lege. At its 350th jubilee in 1909, the 
University of Geneva, Switzerland, be- 
stowed its historic honorary degree of 
S. T. D. upon him for services in the pro- 
motion of public morality ; and the king 
of Italy conferred the decoration of grand 
officer of the Crown of Italy in 1908. in 
recognition of Massachusetts legislation 
procured by him for the protection of 
emigrants from fraudulent bankers and of 
legislation for the protection of children 
from the padrones. He has also been the 
recipient of the Grand Cordon Order of 
St. Alexander Nevski (Russian). In 1912 
he was the orator at the Memorial Day 
Services at the tomb of General Ldysses 
S. Grant, at Riverside Drive, New York. 

He is a member of the Boston Chamber 
of Commerce, the Masonic fraternity 
(thirty-third degree), the Press, Algon- 
quin, Nahant, Country, Tavern, Boston, 
and Middlesex clubs, and the Massachu- 
setts Republican Club, of which he was a 
founder, and the president in 1901 ; also 
the Civil Service Reform Association, 
American Forestry Association, Society 
of Colonial Wars, Society of Foreign 
Wars, Sons of the American Revolution. 



and Military and Naval Order Spanish- 
American War. 

He was married, at Boston, Massachu- 
setts, June I, 1892, to Charlotte H., 
daughter of E. C. Johnson. 

MOODY, William Henry, 

Statesman, Government Official. 

Hon. William Henry Moody was born 
on a farm at Newbury, Essex county, 
Massachusetts, December 23, 1853, son of 
Henry L. and Melissa Augusta (Emer- 
son) Moody, of a family old and substan- 
tial in New England, many of whose 
members made honored names in litera- 
ture, domestic economics, evangelism and 
the ministry. The founder in the colonies 
was William Moody, a native of Wales, 
an iron worker, who with his wife and 
one son settled at Newbury, Massachu- 
setts, in 1635. The line of descent to Wil- 
liam H. Moody is traced through Wil- 
liam’s son Samuel and his wife, Mary 
Cutting; their son, William, and his 
wife, Mehitabel Sewall ; their son, Dea- 
con Samuel, and his wife, Judith Hale; 
their son, Captain Paul, and his wife ; 
their son, William, and his wife, Abigail 
Titcomb, who were the grandparents of 
William H. Moody. 

William Henry Moody graduated from 
Phillips (Andover) Academy in 1872, and 
from Harvard in 1876, receiving the de- 
gree of A. B. He was a brilliant but not 
persistent student, and had a great fond- 
ness for outdoor sports, especially base- 
ball. After graduation from college he 
took up the study of law in the offices of 
Richard H. Dana, of Boston. In 1878 he 
applied for examination for admission to 
the bar, but the committee learned that 
he had spent only eighteen months in law 
study and declined to examine him. the 
customary course of training being three 
years. He insisted however, upon being 

heard, and after the test the committee 
conceded that young Moody was the best 
prepared student they ever had examined. 
He entered upon the practice of his profes- 
sion in Haverhill, and his business soon 
became large and reasonably profitable. 
His first political office was that of city 
solicitor, 1888-90, and the duties of which 
he discharged most creditably. He was 
then made United States District At- 
torney for the Eastern District of Mas- 
sachusetts, serving until the death of 
General William Cogswell, member of 
Congress from the Sixth Massachusetts 
District, in 1895, and whose successor he 
became in the latter part of the session 
of the Fifty-fourth Congress, and was re- 
elected in 1896, 1898 and 1902. In Con- 
gress he served upon the committees on 
appropriations, expenditures in the De- 
partment of Justice, insular affairs, trans- 
portation of mails, and upon various 
special committees. His service on the 
committee on appropriations was especi- 
ally valued because of the thoroughness 
with which he mastered the details of its 
very great number of items and his pre- 
paredness to answer inquiries concerning 
them, made on the floor of the House. 
He very ably opposed making the Coast 
and Geodetic Survey an appendage of the 
military establishment, giving most con- 
vincing reasons for his position. He drew 
the provision which became a law that 
prevents the federal departments from 
establishing pension lists for incompetent 
clerks, and he favored the bill which pro- 
vides for our eight-hour day on govern- 
ment work. All of his debates were clear 
and decisive in form and full of facts. 

On May 1, 1902, when John D. Long 
resigned as Secretary of the Navy, Mr. 
Moody was appointed by President 
Roosevelt to be his successor, and resigned 
his seat in Congress to accept the ap- 
pointment. In the Navy Department his 


first move was one which transferred 
mere routine duties to subordinates. He 
advised the establishment of an ample 
naval base at Guantonamo, Porto Rico, 
in order to give to the United States more 
easy mastery of the Caribbean Sea, and 
the Panama Canal when completed ; and 
he also established a naval base at Subig 
Bay, in the Philippines. He induced 
Congress to double the number of cadet 
appointments to the United States Naval 
Academy at Annapolis, in order to pro- 
vide competent officers for the increasing 
number of new ships then being added 
to the navy; and secured the establish- 
ment of the first joint army and navy 
board for the purpose of simplifying and 
harmonizing the work and operations of 
these two branches of national defense. 
He also conceived and put into practice 
the plan of a squadron formation to take 
the place of individual cruises by the vari- 
ous warships. On July I, 1904, when 
Philander C. Knox succeeded Mr. Quay 
in the United States Senate, Mr. Moody 
succeeded him as Attorney-General. In 
this office he found a number of ex- 
tremely important cases pending. Like 
his predecessor, he personally appeared 
before the courts in most of them and 
was very successful ; and he inaugurated 
the practice of having a representative 
of the department participate in every 
case that involved the general welfare. 
While prosecuting the beef trust cases at 
Chicago, he coined the now popular ex- 
pression of “immunity bath,” which was 
intended to ridicule the theory of the de- 
fendants that a corporation could avoid 
punishment for wrongdoing, if one of its 
officers should visit Washington on occa- 
sion and make confession. He said to the 
court : “W ashington will become the Al- 
satia to which they can resort for immu- 
nity for their offenses. Instead of run- 
ning away from a subpoena, they will run 

toward the government agent and serve a 
confession on him. Washington will be- 
come a great resort not only in winter but 
in summer. All the people who are violat- 
ing the laws may go there at intervals 
and obtain immunity. Thus the law 
under which we are acting becomes a li- 
cense to commit crime.” Attorney-Gen- 
eral Moody secured a decision from the 
United States Supreme Court to the 
effect that officers of a corporation cannot 
refuse to testify on the plea that they may 
incriminate the corporation ; and that 
they cannot withhold books and papers 
from investigation in proper legal pro- 
ceedings. He secured a decision which 
broke up what was known as “peonage 
in the south, and also one requiring all 
railroads to equip their rolling stock with 
safety couplers. At this same time he 
carried on preliminary investigations into 
various trusts, — tobacco, salt, fertilizer, 
drug, and numerous other combinations 
in restraint of trade that were held to be 
in violation of the Sherman anti-trust law, 
or the Elkins rate law. He also instituted 
in 1906 the famous suit of the govern- 
ment against the Standard Oil Company. 
Upon the retirement of Justice Henry B. 
Brown, on December 17, 1906, Mr. Moody 
was selected by President Roosevelt to be 
an Associate Justice of the L T nited States 
Supreme Court, which office he held until 
his retirement on account of ill health on 
November 20, 1910. In 1904 he received 
the degree of LL, D. from Amherst and 
Tufts colleges. Mr. Moody’s political 
affiliations are with the Republican party. 
He is unmarried. 

SPRAGUE, Gen. Augustus B. R., 

Distinguished Soldier, Public Official. 

Edward Sprague, the English progeni- 
tor of this family, was a resident of Up- 
way, County of Dorset, and a fuller by 



trade. He married Christiana . 

Their children were: Ralph, Alice, Ed- 
ward, Richard, Christopher, William (2). 
Three of these children, Ralph, Richard 
and William, in company with John En- 
dicott came to Salem in 1628 in the inter- 
ests of the Massachusetts Bay Company, 
and were the founders of Charlestown. 
He died in 1614. 

William Sprague (1), son of Edward, 
was born in England, married Millesaint, 
daughter of Anthony Eames, in 1635. He 
lived in Charlestown until 1636 and then 
became one of the first settlers of Hing- 
ham, where he was active in public 
affairs. Their children were : Anthony, 
born September 2, 1635; John, baptized 
April, 1638; Samuel, baptized May 24, 
1640; Elizabeth, baptized May 2, 1641; 
Jonathan, baptized March 20, 1642; Per- 
ses, baptized November 12, 1643; Joanna, 
baptized December, 1644; Jonathan (2), 
born May 28, 1648; William, born May 7, 
1650; Mary, baptized May 25, 1652; Han- 
nah, baptized February 26, 1655. Wil- 
liam Sprague died October 26, 1625; his 
wife February 8, 1696. 

Jonathan (2), son of William (1), was 
born at Hingham, May 28, 1648 ; married 
Mehitable, daughter of William and 
Elizabeth Holbrook. In 1672 they re- 
moved to Mendon and before 1680 they 
located in Providence, Rhode Island, hav- 
ing received from his father, at his death, 
sixty acres of land in that place. For six- 
teen years he was a member of the House 
of Deputies, 1695-1714; speaker of the 
House in 1703; member of the town 
council, 1705-1712; clerk of the Assembly 
in 1707. In 1703 he with two others was 
appointed to draw up the methods and 
procedure of the court of common pleas. 
Their children were: Jonathan, William 
(3), born April 2, 1688; Patience; Joan- 
na ; Mary ; daughter, married Ebenezer 

He, Jonathan (2), died probably in 

Smithfield, Rhode Island, September, 

William Sprague (3), son of Jonathan 

(2) , was born at Providence, April 2, 
1688; married, November 16, 1714, Ales 
or Alice Brown who was born July 31, 
1691. He was captain in the Second 
Regiment Providence County Militia in 
1732. He gave the land for the Baptist 
church at Smithfield August, 1738. Their 
children were : Nehemiah (4), born October 
5, 1717; Alice, born October 28, 1721; 
Sarah, born February 10, 1722-23; Sam- 
uel, born September 12, 1724; Peter, born 
September 12, 1726; Joshua, born July 3, 

He married (second) Mrs. Mary Wall- 
ing, August 26, 1744. He died in Smith- 
field, December 20, 1778. 

The dates in this branch that differ 
from those in General Sprague’s pam- 
phlet are from corrections made by him 
after the work was published. 

Nehemiah Sprague (4), son of William 

(3) , was born in Smithfield, formerly part 
of Providence, October 5, 1717; married 
April 16, 1738, Mary Brown. Their chil- 
dren were: Elias (5), born June 16, 1744; 
Nehemiah, born January 20, 1750. 

Elias Sprague (5), son of Nehemiah 

(4) , was born in Smithfield, June 16, 1744. 
Fie was a Quaker. He married August 5, 
1764, Mercy, daughter of Joseph Bassett 
and Ales Sprague Bassett. She was born 
October 25, 1744. They removed to 
Douglass, Massachusetts, about 1788. 
Their children were: Jonathan (6), born 
December 9, 1765; Theodate, born Janu- 
ary 4, 1768; Amy, born October 6, 1769; 
Benjamin, born April 10, 1771 ; Lavina, 
born August 12, 1773; Stephen, born No- 
vember 18, 1775; Preserved, born Octo- 
ber 17, 1777; Thankful, born October 19, 
1779 ; William, born June 3, 1782; Alice, 
born August 29, 1784; Elias; Lucina; 
child, unnamed. 

Elias died in Douglass, February 15. 



1799; his wife November 5, 1835, in 
ninety-second year. 

Jonathan Sprague (6), son of Elias (5), 
was born in Smithfield, December 9, 1765 ; 
married (first) August 12, 1785, Patience, 
daughter of Robert Pixley or Pidgeley, of 
New Grafton, Massachusetts. She was 
born November 7, 1765, and died Decem- 
ber 14, 1801. Their children were : Sarah, 
born December 3, 1785; Nehemiah, born 
June 1 7, 1787; Mercy, born January 7, 
1789; Federal Constitution, born Octo- 
ber 16, 1790; Amy, born October 14, 1792 ; 
Daniel, born August 4, 1794; Preserved, 
born April 4, 1795; Lee (7), born Febru- 
ary 7, 1798; Patience, born March 1, 1800; 
Jonathan, Jr., born October 6, 1801. 

Second marriage of Jonathan (6) was 
to Keziah, daughter of Daniel and Keziah 
Torrey, of Sutton, Massachusetts. She 
was born there April 19, 1770, and died in 
Douglass, May 10, 1844. Their children 
were : Almira, born May 4, 1803 ; Philin- 
da, born June 30, 1805 ; Elias, bom March 
21, 1807; Emeline. 

Jonathan (6) died in Thompson, Con- 
necticut, October 29, 1815, leaving ninety- 
seven grandchildren. Both he and his 
wife, Patience, were buried in the Friends’ 
burying ground in South Douglass, Mas- 

Lee Sprague (7), son of Jonathan (6), 
was born at Douglass, February 7, 1798; 
married (first) Olive How Williams, May 
21, 1831. She was born in Pomfret, Con- 
necticut, November 27, 1803, and died 
in Ware, Massachusetts, November 11, 
1822; married (second) in Ware, Sep- 
tember 8, 1824, Lucia, daughter of Dea- 
con Eli Snow and Alice Alden. She was 
born .in Ware, April 28, 1805, and died in 
Worcester, December 4, 1864. Her father 
was in the fifth generation from Nicholas 
Snow, who came to Plymouth in the ship 
“Ann” in 1621, and married Constance 
Hopkins, a “Mayflower” pilgrim. Lucia’s 

mother, Alice, was in the fifth generation 
from John Alden and Priscilla Mullins, 
who came over in the “Mayflower.” 
Their children of whom three only lived 
to maturity were : Olive Williams, born 
June 12, 1825; Augustus Brown Reed, 
born March 7, 1827 ; Caroline Florella, 
born July 1, 1829. 

Married (third) May 8, 1866, Mary A. 
Bradley, born July 20, 1808. 

Lee (7) was for many years a merchant 
in Worcester and died there September 9, 

Augustus Brown Reed Sprague (8), 
son of Lee (7), was born in Ware, March 
7, 1827; married (first) December 23, 
1846, Elizabeth Janes, daughter of Sam- 
uel Rice and Eliza Shepard. She was 
born January 25, 1826, and died in Wor- 
cester, February 20, 1889. Their children 
of whom three only lived to maturity 
were : Josephine Elizabeth, born Decem- 
ber 19, 1851 ; married Edward H. Knowl- 
ton, of Worcester, October 16, 1872, and 
died there December 7, 1879, leaving one 
child, Howard Sprague Knowlton, born 
March 4, 1878. He was graduated from 
Worcester Polytechnic Institute, class of 
1898, and married, October 17, 1901, Alice 
Frances Conant. Carrie Lee, born April 
17, 1858, was graduated from Worcester 
High School, class of 1877, and died Au- 
gust 28, 1877. Fred Foster, born October 
24, 1864; married, April 12, 1892, Adaline 
Estelle Sprague, born in Worcester, July 
15, 1858. He died July 16, 1906. She died 
November 10, 1914. 

Second marriage of Augustus Brown 
Reed was October 23, 1890, to Mary Jen- 
nie, daughter of William Cawthorne Bar- 
bour and Martha Ann Kimball. (See 
Kimball genealogy.) She was born Sep- 
tember 24, 1857, and was graduated from 
Worcester High School, class of 1877. 
At the time of her marriage she held the 
position of assistant librarian of the Free 


Public Library of Worcester. Since then 
she has been active in social, church and 
charitable life. She was president of the 
League of Unitarian Women in 1908 and 
1909, and president of the Worcester 
Woman’s Club in 1909 and 1910. She is 
a member of these clubs, of the Worces- 
ter Art Society and the Alliance Fran- 
caise. Only child of second marriage : 
Alice Alden, born in Worcester, Septem- 
ber 11, 1893. 

General Augustus Brown Reed Sprague 
died at Worcester, May 17, 1910. 

General Sprague was educated in the 
public and private schools of Ware and 
East Douglass. Circumstances compelled 
him to abandon his preparations for col- 
lege, and in 1842 he came to Worcester, 
entering the employ of H. B. Claflin who 
afterward became the great New York 
merchant. Not long after he became as- 
sociated with his father in the grain busi- 
ness under the name of Lee Sprague & 
Company, where he remained until the 
outbreak of the Civil War. Joining the 
City Guards at the age of seventeen, he 
began a military career that made him of 
service to his country in her greatest 
need ; rising rapidly from the ranks to 
the position of adjutant of the Eighth 
Regiment, later becoming major and in- 
spector on the staff of the Commander of 
the Fifth Brigade, Third Division, Mas- 
sachusetts Volunteer Militia, which posi- 
tion he held at the time of the attack on 
Fort Sumter. 

At the first call of President Lincoln 
for troops, he was unanimously elected to 
the captaincy of the Worcester City 
Guards, known thereafter as Company A, 
Third Battalion of Rifles, Major Charles 
Devens, commander, and left for the seat 
of war April 20, 1861, reaching Annapolis 
by transport from New York, and was 
sent to reinforce Fort McHenry. As senior 
officer he commanded the battalion and 

brought it back to Worcester in August, 
as Major Devens had been called to the 
command of the Fifteenth Regiment. 
Identifying himself at once with the or- 
ganization of the Twenty-fifth Regiment, 
he was commissioned its lieutenant-colo- 
nel on the 9th of September. Before leav- 
ing for the front Lieutenant-Colonel 
Sprague was presented with a magnificent 
sword and belt by his own command, and 
later with a valuable horse and equip- 
ments, Hon. Alexander H. Bullock mak- 
ing the presentation for the donors. The' 
Twenty-fifth Regiment was part of the 
famous Burnside expedition, and with it 
he served until November 11, 1862, par- 
ticipating in its battles and skirmishes, 
and was officially reported for “bravery 
and efficiency” in the engagements at 
at Roanoke Island and Newbern. At this 
time, November 11, he was promoted to 
be colonel of the Fifty-first Massachu- 
setts, and by special request of General 
Foster, commanding the department, 
Colonel Sprague, with his new regiment, 
returned to North Carolina and partici- 
pated in the engagements of Kinston, 
Whitehall and Goldsboro. At the time of 
Lee’s advance resulting in Gettysburg, 
this regiment with others left Newbern 
to reinforce General Dix at White House 
on the Pamunkey, and then returned to 
Fortress Monroe for transportation to 
Massachusetts, its term of service having 
expired. But learning here that Lee’s 
army was north of the Potomac, Colonel 
Sprague telegraphed the Secretary of 
War, offering his regiment for further 
service. It was accepted and ordered to 
Baltimore, thence to Maryland Heights, 
joining the Army of the Potomac near 
Williamsport, Maryland, Lee occupying 
the hills opposite; and only returned to 
Massachusetts when Lee was rapidly re- 
treating into Virginia. The return of the 
Fifty-first was an event in the history of 



Worcester. The muster out came July 
27, 1863. 

He was commissioned again, February 
1, 1864, as lieutenant-colonel of the Sec- 
ond Massachusetts Heavy Artillery. He 
served with it in Southern Virginia and 
North Carolina, commanding the regi- 
ment in its field service, moving with Gen- 
eral Schofield’s command to open com- 
munications with General Sherman at 
Goldsboro, North Carolina. He was dis- 
charged September 20, 1865, at Galloupe 
Island, previous to which he was com- 
missioned colonel of the regiment. He 
served nearly four years, and Congress 
gave him the brevet rank of brigadier- 
general of volunteers to date from March 
13, 1865, for “gallant and meritorious 
service during the war.” 

During this long service of three years 
and nine months he gained the approba- 
tion of his superior officers and earned the 
lifelong regard of his comrades. In later 
years his association with his former com- 
rades brought him true pleasure. In 1868 
he was commander of the Department of 
Massachusetts, Grand Army of the Re- 
public, and in 1873-74 he was quarter- 
master-general of the national encamp- 
ment of the Grand Army of the Republic. 
Post No. 24, of Grafton, Massachusetts, 
was named in his honor. He was a char- 
ter member of the commandery of the 
State of Massachusetts, Military Order of 
the Loyal Legion of the United States, of 
which he was junior vice-commander in 
1868 and commander in 1908-09. He was 
president of the Fifty-first Regiment As- 
sociation from its organization, and in 
1889 this body presented to him a magnifi- 
cent gold, diamond studded Grand Army 
of the Republic badge, and in 1903 pre- 
sented an oil painting of his wartime por- 
trait to the Worcester County Mechanics’ 
Association, who hung the painting in 
Mechanics’ Hall. 

After the war was over General Sprague 
returned to civil life and served the pub- 
lic in offices of trust for nearly half a cen- 
tury. In 1859 and i860 he was a member 
of the common council and of the board 
of aldermen in 1871, city marshal in 1867, 
and resigned to accept the office of col- 
lector of internal revenue for the eighth 
Massachusetts district, which office he 
held from March 4, 1867, to July 1, 1872. 
During this time his collections amounted 
to about four million dollars. On the 
death of Hon. J. S. C. Knowlton, sheriff, 
he was appointed his successor, July 5, 
1871, and afterwards was elected for six 
successive terms of three years each. 
Soon after taking the office the Worces- 
ter prison was rebuilt and greatly en- 
larged to accommodate the increasing de- 
mands. After its completion, the sheriff 
took personal supervision and began that 
work which he and his friends justly re- 
gard as a public benefit and a distin- 
guished advance in the improvement of 
modern prisons. The whole system of 
accounts was revised as well as the diet 
table in both this institution and in Fitch- 
burg over which the sheriff has entire 
control. He did away with the shaving 
of heads and the wearing of parti-colored 
garments, believing them unnecessary in- 
dignities imposed upon short-term pris- 
oners. Food of better quality, in greater 
variety and at a less cost was furnished 
and prepared by the best hygienic prin- 
cipals of cooking. Better clothing and 
bedding were added, and later the library 
greatly increased by many new and care- 
fully selected books. This work is due 
to the untiring efforts of General Sprague, 
who for years devoted himself to search- 
ing out the latest and best improvements 
in the prisons of this and other States. 
That this work was appreciated by the 
commissioners of prisons may be seen in 
their yearly reports, where they call the 



Worcester county prisons the model pris- 
ons of the Commonwealth. While hold- 
ing this office he was offered by Governor 
Long the wardenship of the State prison 
and urged to accept it, but declined in 
order to carry out his plans in his own 

In December, 1895, he was elected 
mayor of Worcester, and reelected the 
following year. During his administra- 
tion the new City Hall was built, and he 
laid the cornerstone with Masonic cere- 
monies and served on the building com- 
mittee until it was virtually completed. 
For many years he was treasurer of the 
Putnam & Sprague Furniture Company 
at the corner of Maine and Central streets. 
He took an active part in the develop- 
ment of several of the larger corporations 
of the city, and at the time of his death 
was president of the Worcester Electric 
Light Company, of which he had been a 
director from the start. He was also 
president of the Mechanics’ Savings Bank. 
His administrative ability and business 
acumen always made him valuable to 
Worcester’s business life. 

Although he laid no claim to literary 
ability, he was a lifelong student of his- 
tory, and he left a notable collection of 
historical papers, letters and other ma- 
terial. which will be eventually preserved 
in the American Antiquarian Library. He 
published an account of the Burnside ex- 
pedition to North Carolina, and a gene- 
alogy of his branch of the Sprague family, 
and took much pleasure in tracing family 
history. His library is a storehouse of 
interesting books, portraits and memen- 

The finest thing about General Sprague 
was not, however, his war record— -not his 
work as sheriff, not his service as mayor, 
not his success in the business world. It 
was his character that made him agree- 
able, useful, effective and beloved. He 

had a nameless charm that drew men to 
him and held them as friends. A man of 
striking personality, his military carriage 
attracted instant attention. Fearlessness 
was his characteristic. Every friend knew 
of some incident of his courage in time of 
danger. But his warlike qualities lay 
deep, for his voice was low, his ways 
gentle, his courtesy — often spoken of as 
belonging to the old school — unfailing. 
His life was long and full of varied ex- 
periences. At heart he was an optimist- 
and a philosopher. He bore suffering, 
death, bereavements and other great sor- 
rows without asking others to share his 
grief. His heart aches and he had more 
than his share were borne with a smiling 
face. He rarely spoke ill of anyone, and 
his voice and purse were ever ready to 
help those in need. Hundreds of his old 
comrades in arms who held him in deep 
affection and many men in many walks 
of life could testify to his unfailing gen- 
erosity and kindness. 

He was a welcome guest at the social 
gatherings of young men or old, for he 
loved the social atmosphere, and he was 
not afraid to indulge temperately and in 
reason in all the good things of life. Some- 
how he seemed never to have lost his 
youth, and even after his eightieth birth- 
day was younger in act and thought than 
many men a third his age. He made an 
admirable presiding officer, and had al- 
ways a fund of stories which provoked a 
laugh but never carried a sting. So, too, 
in his business ability he retained to the 
last his youth and progressiveness. En- 
dowed with foresight in business matters, 
able to grasp the details of every business 
with which he was connected, his remarks 
at board meetings were always listened to 
with respect and his opinions carried 
weight. No man loved Worcester more 
and none gave himself more freely to its 
service. He never lost his place in the 


hearts of her people and he will be re- 
membered with love and affection until 
the last of those who knew him have also 
passed away. 

(The Kimball Line). 

Richard Kimball (x), of the parish of 
Rattlesden, County Suffolk, England, 
came to America in the ship “Elizabeth” 
of Ipswich, sailing with his wife and chil- 
dren April 30, 1634. He settled in Water- 
town and his home was near the corner 
of Huron avenue and Appleton street, in 
what is now Cambridge. Removing to 
Ipswich he was granted a house lot and 
forty acres beyond North River. He 
owned a share in Plum Island, as well as 
other land, and became influential in town 
affairs. He married (first) Urusula Scott, 
daughter of Henry Scott, of Rattlesden, 
England. Their children : Abigail ; Henry, 
born 1615 ; Elizabeth, born 1621 ; Richard, 
born 1623; Mary, born 1625; Martha, born 
1629; John, born 1631; Thomas, born 
1633; Sarah, born 1635; Benjamin (2), 
born 1637; Caleb, born 1639. 

Second marriage of Richard (1) was to 
Margaret Dow, widow of Henry Dow, of 
Hampton, New Hampshire, October 23, 

Pie, Richard (1), died June 22, 1675, 
aged eighty years. His will was dated 
March 5, 1674, and proved September 28, 
1675 - 

Benjamin Kimball (2), son of Richard 
(1), was born in W atertown, 1637. He was 
at Salisbury, Massachusetts, 1662, and at 
Rowley, 1663. He was a farmer and 
wheelwright and was on the first board 
of overseers of Bradford. He married, 
April, 1661, Mercy, daughter of Robert 
and Ann Hazeltine. Their children : 
Anna, born December 23, 1661 ; Mercy, 
born December 27, 1663 ; Richard, born 
December 3, 1664; Elizabeth, born July 
24, 1669; David (3), born July 26, 1671; 

Jonathan, born November 26, 1673; Rob- 
ert, born March 5, 1675-76; Abraham, 
born March 24, 1677-78 ; Samuel, born 
March 28, 1680; Ebenezer, born June 20, 
1684; Abigail, born June 20, 1684. 

He died June 11, 1695, and the grave- 
stones of himself and wife are in the old 
Bradford cemetery. 

David Kimball (3), son of Benjamin 
(2), born in Bradford, July 26, 1671, mar- 
ried (first) Elizabeth Gage, daughter of 
John Gage, of Ipswich. She was born 
March 12, 1674. Their children: Han- 
nah, born September 15, 1695; Samuel, 
born January 14, 1697; Hannah, born 
March 10, 1698; David, born 1700; Rebec- 
kah, born August 16, 1703; son, born No- 
vember 7, 1705; Jeremiah (4), born Octo- 
ber 15, 1707; Aaron, born June 7, 1710; 
Elizabeth, born January 14, 1712-13; 

Abraham, born February 18, 1715. 

Second marriage of David (3) to Ruth 

, born 1682, was about 1717. She 

died March 14, 1770. Their children: 
Ruth, born September, 17x7; Abigail, born 
April 28, 1719. 

He died at Bradford, June 14, 1743. 

Jeremiah Kimball (4), son of David (3), 
was born in Bradford, October 15, 1707, and 
lived there and in Warner and Hopkinton, 
New Hampshire. He married, January 
20, 1732, Elizabeth Head. Their children, 
all born in Bradford : Elizabeth, born 

April 2, 1733; Sarah, born July 28, 1734; 
Jeremiah, born July 25, 1735 ; James, born 
November 8,1736: Reuben, born April 17, 
1738; David (5), born December 10,1739; 
John, born January 22, 1741 ; Betty, born 
January, 1743; Mary, born April 18, 1744; 
Moses, born September 6, 1746; Sarah, 
baptized March 11, 1749; Abraham, born 
April 17, 1748; Phebe, born July 3, 1751; 
Richard, born January 1, 1753. 

He died May, 1764, and was buried at 
the old fort in Warner, New Hampshire. 

David Kimball (5), son of Jeremiah (4), 



was born at Bradford, December io, 1739. 
He lived there and in Boxford. He was a 
soldier from Bradford, in the Revolution 
and served in Sergeant Abel Kimball’s 
company on the Lexington Alarm, and in 
1775 was * n Captain Nathaniel Gage’s 
company ; James Frye, colonel. He mar- 
ried Abigail Buswell. Their children : 
Hannah; David, born April 12, 1760; 
James, born November n, 1761 ; Nicholas, 
born September 28, 1763 ; Benjamin (6), 
born August 28, 1765; Micajah, born No- 
vember 24, 1767; Sarah, born November 
1 7, 1769; Jane, born June 21, 1772; Han- 
nah, born May 10, 1775 ; Daniel, born Sep- 
tember 3, 1777 ; Amos ; Persis ; Iddo, born 
July 14, 1782. 

He died shortly before September 4, 

Benjamin Kimball (6), son of David 

(5) , was born* at Bradford, August 28, 
1765. He married Sarah Carleton. Their 
children: Fred, died at age of six; Rich- 
ard (7), born January 30, 1793. 

He died in 1825. In his will he gave half 
his real estate to his son Richard and the 
other half to Richard’s four children. 

Richard Kimball (7), son of Benjamin 

( 6) , was born in Bradford, January 30. 1793. 
He lived there and in Millbury and later 
in Worcester, where he and his cousin, 
Osgood Bradley, were engaged in the 
manufacture of cars. Later he went to 
Philadelphia, where he became one of the 
leading car manufacturers of the country. 
While in Worcester the family lived in 
the colonial house on Front street, built 
by William Hovey about 1818, and which 
was then considered one of the most ele- 
gant and costly dwellings in the town, 
and which later became the home of the 
Bradley family, and was torn down when 
the present Chase building was erected. 
In Philadelphia Mr. Kimball built the 
first white marble faced house, erected on 
Logan Square, where he lived until he 

returned to New England a few years be- 
fore his death. 

He married Almira, daughter of Isaac 
Parker and Mary Loud, of Andover. She 
was born November 26, 1793 or 1794, and 
died at Marlboro, Massachusetts, May 16, 
1886, and is buried at Millbury, Massa- 
chusetts. He died at Lancaster, Massa- 
chusetts, December 30, 1868, and is also 
buried at Millbury. Their children: 1. 
Almira Maria, born April 12, 1819; mar- 
ried, April 17, 1845, Sumner Goss. He 
died at Millbury, August 11, 1887; she 
died there, December 10, 1889. 2. Mary ' 

Jane, twin, born July 15, 1821 ; married 
Sylvester Howe, of Philadelphia. She 
died April 30, 1844. 3. Martha Ann (8), 
twin, born July 15, 1821, at Bradford. 4. 
Charlotte, born March 18, 1823, at Brad- 
ford ; married William, H. Merrill. He 
was born at Newburyport, May 27, 1817, 
and died at Wilmington, Delaware, De- 
cember, 1888. 5. Sarah Elizabeth, born 

at Millbury, Massachusetts, October 15. 
1825; married George Emery Hunter, of 
Oakham, November 24, 1847, at Worces- 
ter. He was born October 15, 1823. She 
died at Kansas City, Kansas, January 16, 
1881. 6. Margaret, born January 26, 1828, 
died at Southboro, November 29, 1901. 

Martha Ann (8), daughter of Richard 
Kimball (7), was born at Bradford, July 15, 
1821. She married, September 10, 1845, 
William Cawthorne Barbour, at Worces- 
ter. He was born in New York City, June 
29, 1812. Mr. Barbour was one of the 
prominent real estate men in Worcester 
and developed large sections of land along 
Southbridge and Shrewsbury streets and 
other outlying parts of the city. He was 
a liberal contributor and a loyal supporter 
of Plymouth Congregational Church, and 
one of its founders. He died February 
18, 1895. She died August 4, 1909. Their 
children: 1. William Francis, born Febru- 
ary 22, 1849; married, December 23, 1869, 



Anna M. Furneaux, of Lincoln, Nebraska. 
She was born July 13, 1851, and died at 
Kansas City, Kansas, February 7, 1898. 
He died at Avinger, Texas, April 24, 1911. 

2. Charles A., born June 10, 1855 ; married 
Flora L. Grimes, of Pinckney, Michigan. 

3. Mary Jennie (9), born at Worcester, 
September 24, 1857; married, October 23. 
1890, General Augustus Brown Reed 
Sprague, of Worcester (see Sprague 

LOWELL, Abbott L., 

President of Harvard University. 

Abbott Lawrence Lowell was born in 
Boston, Massachusetts, December 13, 
1856, son of Augustus and Katharine 
Bigelow (Lawrence) Lowell, and brother 
of Percival Lowell, the astronomer. His 
first American ancestor was Percival 
Lowell, who sailed in the “Jonathan” 
from Worcestershire, England, in 1639, 
and settled at Newbury, Massachusetts. 
The line of descent is traced through his 
son John ; his son John, who married Han- 
nah Proctor; their son Ebenezer, who 
married Elizabeth Shailer ; their son, Rev. 
John, who married Sarah Champney, and 
was the first Lowell to graduate at Har- 
vard College (1721) ; their son John, who 
married Sarah Higginson ; their son John, 
who married Rebecca Amory ; their son, 
John Amory, who married Susan C. 
Lowell, and their son Augustus, who was 
the father of him of whom this narrative 

Hon. John Amory Lowell was the first 
trustee of the Lowell Institute, and Judge 
John Lowell was a direct ancestor of 
Francis Cabot Lowell, one of the chief 
founders of the cotton manufacturing in- 
dustry in Massachusetts ; of John Lowell, 
Jr., the founder of Lowell Institute, and 
of James Russell Lowell, the poet. Presi- 
dent Lowell’s mother was a daughter of 

Abbott Lawrence, a former United States 
Minister to England. 

x\bbott Lawrence Lowell graduated 
from Harvard University in 1877, with 
the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He was 
especially proficient in mathematics, and 
also distinguished himself in athletics, 
having won on one occasion both the mile 
and three-mile race in the same afternoon. 
After two years at Harvard Law School 
and one year in the law offices of Messrs. 
Russell & Putnam, of Boston, he received 
the degree of Bachelor of Laws in 1880. 
Admitted to the bar, for seventeen years 
he practiced law in partnership with his 
kinsman, Francis Cabot Lowell, Fred- 
erick Jesup Stimson being a member of 
the firm the last six years. Retiring from 
the bar in 1897 he became a lecturer at 
Harvard University, and in 1900 was, 
made Professor of the Science of Govern- 
ment ; in 1903 being made Eaton Pro- 
fessor, which chair he filled until 1909. 
He displayed such qualities of business 
ability, tact and executive force in the 
conduct of his various duties that in 1909, 
when President Eliot resigned, Mr. 
Lowell was chosen by the University cor- 
poration as his successor. In his in- 
augural address on October 6, 1909, Presi- 
dent Lowell said : “A discussion of the 
ideal college training would appear to 
lead to the conclusion that the best type 
of liberal education in our complex 
modern world aims at producing men 
who know a little of everything, and 
something well.” Soon after entering 
upon the presidency, he introduced a radi- 
cal change in the college elective system 
by abandoning the plan of unlimited elec- 
tives, and providing for a considerable 
amount of work by the student in some 
one field and the general distribution of 
other subjects under the direction of the 
faculty. From the moment President 
Lowell began his teaching at Harvard he 


impressed both students and colleagues 
with his forceful personality. His ele- 
mentary course in government was con- 
sidered the most stimulating line of in- 
struction, as well as the most popular, 
given to under-graduates. Professor 
Lowell’s writings have won him inter- 
national recognition as one of the few 
high authorities on the history and science 
of government in the English-speaking 
world. They include “Transfer of Stock in 
Corporations,” in collaboration with Judge 
Francis C. Lowell (1884); “Essays on 
Government” (1889); “Governments and 
Parties in Continental Europe” (1896); 
“Colonial Civil Service” in collaboration 
with Prof. H. Morse Stevens (1900) ; “The 
Influence of Party Upon Legislation in 
England and America” (1902), and “The 
Government of England” (1908). He was 
a member of the Boston school committee 
and the executive committee of the Mas- 
sachusetts Institute of Technology, and 
is now a member of the Massachusetts 
Historical Society, American Academy of 
Arts and Letters, a fellow of the Amer- 
ican Academy of Arts and Sciences ; cor- 
responding member of the British Acad- 
emy; honorary member of the Royal Irish 
Academy ; and a member of the Phi Beta 
Kappa fraternity. He has been a trustee 
of the Lowell Institute of Boston since 
1900, and of the Carnegie Foundation for 
the Advancement of Teaching since 1910. 
In connection with the Lowell Institute 
he has full financial management of the 
trust, selects the lecturers, and in all ways 
carries on the affairs of the institute in 
the service of public education. He re- 
ceived the honorary degree of Doctor of 
Laws from Williams College in 1908; 
from Columbia, Princeton, Yale, Louvain 
and Dartmouth in 1909; and that of Doc- 
tor of Philosophy from Frederich Wil- 
helm University, Berlin, 1910. 

He was married, June 19, 1879, to Anna 

Parker, daughter of George G. Lowell, of 
Boston, also a descendant of the above- 
mentioned Judge John Lowell. 

ANGELL, George T., 


George Thorndike Angell was born at 
Southbridge, Massachusetts, June 5, 1823, 
son of George and Rebekah (Thorndike) 
Angell. His father was for many years a 
clergyman at Southbridge, where he died 
in 1827; his mother, a woman of saintly 
character, was a daughter of Lieutenant 
Paul Thorndike, of Tewksbury, Massa- 

In 1842 he entered Brown University, 
and in the following year Dartmouth Col- 
lege, where, partly through his own 
efforts and in part aided by his mother, 
he went through the course to gradua- 
tion in 1846. He began the study of law 
in Boston, with Justice Richard Fletcher, 
of the Supreme Court of Massachusetts, 
and at the same time teaching in a Bos- 
ton school. In 1849 he entered the office 
of Charles G. Loring, a distinguished 
counsellor of the Massachusetts bar, and 
also studied at the Harvard University 
Law School. Being admitted to the bar 
in 1851, he formed a copartnership with 
Judge Samuel E. Sewall, of Boston, and 
was soon engaged in a large and lucrative 
practice. In 1864 several cases of ex- 
treme cruelty to animals appealed to his 
sensibilities, and led him to provide by 
will that a portion of his property, after 
his decease, should be devoted to circu- 
lating in schools and elsewhere informa- 
tion tending to secure for them a higher 
protection. In 1868 Mr. Angell entered 
upon the real work of protecting animals 
in Massachusetts, and, with Mrs. William 
Appleton and others, founded the Massa- 
chusetts Society for the Prevention of 
Cruelty to Animals, of which he was 



elected president. Realizing the neces- 
sity for education along humane lines, he 
established “Our Dumb Animals,” the 
first periodical of its kind in the world, 
and his society printed and circulated two 
hundred thousand copies of its first num- 
ber. In 1869 he visited Europe, partly 
for the restoration of his health, but 
largely in the interests of the humane 
cause which he held so important. He 
was received most cordially by the Brit- 
ish Royal Society for Prevention of 
Cruelty to Animals, before which he laid 
his plans, and before which he related a 
history of the work already accomplished 
in the United States. In England he 
urged the Royal Society to establish “The 
Animal World,” and the Baroness Bur- 
dette-Coutts to form the Ladies’ Humane 
Educational Committee of England, an or- 
ganization which soon came to give a wide 
circulation to humane literature and edu- 
cation in Great Britain. In 1869 Mr. 
Angell attended and took an active part 
in the Congress of the Societies of the 
World at Zurich, Switzerland, and in his 
reports to that body declared that the 
purpose of the Massachusetts Society was 
to unite all religious and political bodies 
on one platform, not only to insure the 
protection of animals, but also to prevent 
crimes, unnecessary wars, and all forms 
of violence. In 1870 he organized the 
Illinois Humane Society in Chicago. 
Subsequently he visited the western and 
southern States and aided in organizing 
many similar societies. In 1882 he organ- 
ized in his Boston offices the American 
Band of Mercy, which in a few years 
numbered over 27,000 branches. Since 
1869 Mr. Angell wrote numerous pam- 
phlets, magazine and newspaper articles 
on the protection of animals and other 
humane subjects ; and addressed many 
audiences as far south as New Orleans 
and as far west as North Dakota, among 
which were the legislatures of several 

States, conventions of clergymen, teach- 
ers and others, large union meetings of 
churches, scientific meetings, and univer- 
sities, colleges and schools. In 1889 he 
obtained from the Massachusetts Legis- 
lature the incorporation of the American 
Humane Education Society, the first or- 
ganization of its kind in the world, which 
has employed missionaries, given numer- 
ous large prizes for humane essays, stor- 
ies, etc., and printed more than 117,000,- 
000 pages of humane literature in a single 

Mr. Angell was an honorary member of 
numerous European and American soci- 
eties, humanitarian and scientific. As a 
member of the American Social Science 
Association he gave much time to the in- 
vestigation of the increase of crime in 
the United States and to the means of 
preventing it, delivering many lectures be- 
fore conventions and associations in large 
cities, besides writing for the newspapers 
on the same subject. He also gave much 
time and money to investigating and pub- 
lishing information in regard to the sale 
of poisonous and adulterated foods and 
other articles, and in advocating the or- 
ganization of public health associations. 
Mr. Angell was president of the American 
Humane Education Society, the Massa- 
chusetts Society for the Prevention of 
Cruelty to Animals, and the American 
Band of Mercy, since their formation, and 
gave to them, thousands of dollars to aid 
in carrying on their work. As editor o r 
“Our Dumb Animals” he sent that paper 
each month to every newspaper office in 
North America, north of Mexico, also to 
nearly all the professional or educated 
men of his own State, to members of Con- 
gress and officials in the various States, 
and to humane societies throughout the 
civilized world. Many of his publications 
have been translated into foreign lan- 
guages, both European and Asiatic. 

In 1872 Mr. Angell was married to Mrs. 



Eliza A. (Mattoon) Martin, of North- 
field, Massachusetts, who was of great 
assistance to him in his humane work. 
He died in 1909, and his demise was 
noted with regret throughout the civilized 

JOHNSON, John Lovell, 

Manufacturer, Financier. 

For many centuries the family of John- 
son had resided on the same farm in 
Nordfjord, Norway, the property descend- 
ing from father to son, where they lived 
and died. Iver Johnson, son of John John- 
son, was born February 14, 1841, on this 
homestead, where he spent his early 
years. He was accustomed from child- 
hood to hard labor and long hours, but 
was an ambitious boy and sought to per- 
fect himself in a trade where even longer 
hours were required. At the age of six- 
teen he began an apprenticeship at gun- 
making in Bergen, Norway, where he was 
compelled to be in the shop from five 
a. m. to nine p. m. in summer, and from 
six a. m. to eight p. m. in winter. His 
educational opportunities were closely 
limited, amounting to about three months 
of the year while in his native town, and 
supplemented by instruction in the Sun- 
day school which combined secular with 
religious instruction in Norway. Having 
finished his apprenticeship in 1862, young 
Johnson became a journeyman, and was 
thus employed in Christiana, Norway, for 
one year. He then determined to seek his 
fortune across the Atlantic, where oppor- 
tunities were much greater, and in 1863 
he came to America and settled in Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts, where so many of 
his countrymen have since located. He 
was in the vanguard of the Scandinavian 
emigration to the United States which 
owes many of her best citizens to this 
class of people. When Mr. Johnson ar- 
rived in America the Civil War was in 

progress, and he at once found demands 
for his services in gunmaking. For eight 
years he was employed in the gunshops 
of Worcester, during which time he 
saved his wages, and became familiar 
with the language and the ways of the 
country. In 1871 he started in business 
for himself in partnership with Martin 
Bye, under the name of Johnson, Bye & 
Company. With their savings and good 
credit as capital, they started in a small 
way in a single room in a Church street 
building. From this beginning developed 
one of the greatest establishments in the 
line of gunmaking and the manufacture 
of sporting goods in the country. After 
two years the firm was compelled to move 
its quarters, and occupied a building on 
Central street, known formerly as the 
Armsby Building, where they had two 
rooms and employed fifty hands. After 
another two years the firm purchased the 
building, and as business grew gradually 
extended its occupation until, in 1881, 
they used the whole building. In 1883 
Mr. Johnson bought the interest of his 
partner, and the business was thereafter 
conducted under the firm name of Iver 
Johnson & Company. Mr. Johnson was an 
inventive genius, and devised patterns for 
bicycles and small firearms, which he had 
covered by patents. He did all kinds of 
drop forging, polishing and nickleplating, 
and was constantly devising new ma- 
chines and implements for the market, 
employing the best improved machinery 
in use in the factory. This concern has 
always had a reputation for keeping up 
with the times in both machinery and 
methods. His goods were already well- 
known throughout this country, and 
agencies were soon found necessary in 
Canada and Mexico. In 1885 the manu- 
facture of bicycles was begun from the 
designs of Mr. Johnson. A year later the 
product amounted to a thousand bicycles 
a year, and within five years had in- 

Mass — 5 — 2 

1 7 


creased to fifteen thousand a year. The 
Iver Johnson Bicycles still command a 
large scale and form an important feature 
of the business of the establishment. As 
the business continued to grow, the de- 
mand for space was such that Mr. John- 
son went to Fitchburg, where he selected 
a most desirable location. He purchased 
the plant of the Walter Heywood Chair 
Manufacturing Company, and on this, 
with additions, has constructed one of the 
largest industrial institutions of the city 
of Fitchburg. The Iver Johnson’s Arms 
and Cycle Works now comprise five brick 
buildings and several wooden ones, with 
a floor space of some two hundred thou- 
sand feet, equipped with all modern appli- 
ances and machinery. With large whole- 
sale depots in New York, San Francisco 
and St. Paul, and branches in England, 
Germany and Australia, they cover about 
all the world. Expert and skilled me- 
chanics and metallurgists are employed, 
and laboratories maintained for testing 
chemically and mechanically. Iver John- 
son arms and bicycles are known through- 
out the civilized world, and everywhere 
it is known that the company lives up to 
the motto of the founder “honest goods at 
honest prices.” It is claimed that the 
output of small firearms and shotguns of 
this concern is greater than that of all 
other small firearms manufactured in the 
country. Mr. Johnson’s sons became as- 
sociated with him in the business, and 
since his death have continued and ex- 
panded the same, which has enjoyed un- 
interrupted prosperity and growth. The 
ideas of the founder have been extended 
and developed and the business has 
grown in every direction. Mr. Johnson 
passed away at his home in Fitchburg, 
August 3, 1895, and was buried in Wor- 

For some time after removing his fac- 
tory to Fitchburg, he continued to make 
his home in Worcester, but his later years 

were spent in the neighborhood of the 
plant. While a resident of Worcester, he 
was a member and director of the Sover- 
eign’s Cooperative Store and of three co- 
operative banks. He was president for 
many years of the Equity Cooperative 
Bank Company, and vice-president of the 
Home Cooperative Bank. He was a trus- 
tee of the Fitchburg Savings Bank, and 
director of the Fitchburg National Bank, 
also of the Fidelity Cooperative Bank of 
Fitchburg. He was a close student of 
economic questions, and served on a com- 
mittee of manufacturers who testified be- 
fore the finance committee of the Senate 
concerning the tariff when legislation 
was under consideration. His confidence 
ir> American institutions was greatly 
strengthened by his observation abroad, 
in 1884, when he made an extended trip 
to his native country and many of the 
manufacturing centres of England and 
the Continent. He was a Republican, but 
never had time to accept public office. 
He was a prominent Free Mason and 
Knight Templar, having advanced to the 
thirty-second degree, and was a noble of 
the order of the Mystic Shrine. A gener- 
ous and philanthropic citizen, Mr. John- 
son was ever ready to contribute of his 
means in promoting the various charities 
in Worcester and Fitchburg, and other 
influences calculated to promote the wel- 
fare of his fellow men. He married, April 
9, 1868, Mary Elizabeth Speirs, daughter 
of John and Janet (Adams) Speirs, of 
Norwich, Connecticut. Children: Janet 
Bright, died young; Frederic Iver, edu- 
cated at the Worcester Academy; John 
Lovell, mentioned below; Walter Olaf, 
graduate of the Drexel Institute of Phil- 
adelphia ; Mary L. Otto. 

John Lovell Johnson, second son of the 
late Iver Johnson and Mary Elizabeth 
(Speirs) Johnson, was born June 26, 1876, 
in Worcester, Massachusetts. His edu- 
cational training was acquired in the 


grammar schools of Worcester, the Fitch- 
burg High School, the Worcester Poly- 
technic Institute and the Bryant & Strat- 
ton Commercial College of Boston. After 
leaving school he entered the business of 
his father, with which he has since been 
actively identified. He is president of 
Iver Johnson’s Arms & Cycle Works, The 
Johnsonia, Inc., of Fitchburg, Massachu- 
setts, and of the Iver Johnson Sporting 
Goods Company, of Boston, Worcester 
and Fitchburg. He is also prominently 
identified with various other financial con- 
cerns, being first vice-president of the 
Fitchburg Bank & Trust Company, and 
a member of its executive committee ; 
vice-president of the Fitchburg Mutual 
Fire Insurance Company, and a member 
of its executive committee ; trustee of the 
Fitchburg Savings Bank, and a member 
of its board of investment ; director of 
the Fitchburg Cooperative Bank, of which 
he is a member of the finance committee ; 
director of the Merchants’ National Bank 
of Worcester; director of the Boston 
Casualty Company, and on its finance 
committee, and director of the Merchants’ 
National Bank of Boston. In political 
faith Mr. Johnson is a stalwart Republi- 
can, and has been active in the councils 
of that party. He served as a member of 
the Board of Aldermen of Fitchburg from 
1901 to 1903, and was president of the 
board in 1902-03 ; State Senator from the 
Third Worcester Senatorial District in 
1907-08, and a member of the Governor’s 
Council from the Seventh District in 
1909-10. In religious belief Mr. Johnson 
is an Episcopalian. He is an active and 
influential member of the Masonic organi- 
zation, holding membership in Charles 
W. Moore Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Fitchburg, of which he is past 
master ; Thomas Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons, and Jerusalem Commandery, No. 
19, Knights Templar, of Fitchburg, and 
has attained the thirty-second degree in 

Scottish Rite Masonry, being a member 
of the Massachusetts Consistory. He is 
also a member of AleppoTemple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, 
of Boston, and of Fitchburg Lodge, No. 
847, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, past exalted ruler. Mr. Johnson is 
a member of the Worcester County Me- 
chanics’ Association, the Fitchburg Board 
of Trade and Merchants’ Association. So- 
cially he is a member of various clubs, 
holding membership in the Home Market, 
Algonquin, Boston City clubs, and the 
Boston Athletic Association, all of Bos- 
ton ; the Worcester and Tatassit clubs, of 
Worcester; the Fay, the Alpine, and the 
Sportsman’s clubs, of Fitchburg; the 
Country Club of Leominster; the Watatic 
Club of Ashburnham ; the Republican 
Club of Massachusetts, and the Worces- 
ter County Republican Club. He was 
treasurer of the Republican State Com- 
mittee. He has just been elected delegate 
to the National Republican Convention 
for the Third District. He attends divine 
worship at Christ (Protestant Episcopal) 
Church of Fitchburg. Mr. Johnson is un- 
married and lives at the Johnsonia, Fitch- 
burg, and “Flo Fields.” Lancaster, Mas- 

HAVEN, Gilbert, 

Distinguished Divine, Philanthropist. 

Rev. Gilbert Haven, D. D., bishop of 
the Methodist Episcopal church, was born 
at Malden, Massachusetts, September 19, 
1821, son of Gilbert and Hannah (Burrill) 
Haven, grandson of Jotham and Martha 
(Belknap) Haven, and descended from 
Richard and Susanna Haven. 

He attended the public schools in Mal- 
den, Massachusetts, and at the age of 
fourteen became a clerk in a dry goods 
house in that town. His desire for a bet- 
ter education moved him to give his spare 
time to study, and in 1839 he entered the 


Wesleyan Academy, at Wilbrahanq Mas- 
sachusetts. In 1840 he entered upon a 
clerkship in a store in Boston, and later 
took employment in the house of Tenney 
& Company. Business pursuits and social 
life had little charm for him ; his disposi- 
tion led him to further study, and in 1842 
he reentered Wesleyan Academy to com- 
plete his preparation for college, passing 
thence to Wesleyan University, Middle- 
town, Connecticut, at the fall term of the 
first year. During his college course he 
taught school during the long vacations, 
and after his graduation in 1846 he con- 
tinued to teach until 1851. He was admit- 
ted to the New England Conference of 
the Methodist Episcopal church on trial 
in April, 1851, and wds at once appointed 
to a charge at Northampton, Massachu- 
setts. In 1853 he was admitted into full 
connection with the conference, and re- 
ceived deacon’s orders. He held a pas- 
torate at Wilbraham, Massachusetts, 
t 853-55 ; at Westfield, Massachusetts, 
1855-57, and at Roxbury and Cambridge- 
port, 1857-60. In 1861 he entered the 
Union army as chaplain of the Eighth 
Massachusetts Regiment for a period of 
three months, and passed the remainder 
of the year in charge of a church in New- 
ark, New Jersey. In 1862 he traveled in 
Europe, and on his return home in the fol- 
lowing year was settled as pastor of the 
North Russell Street Church, in Boston. 
Mr. Haven’s sympathies were with the 
colored people; he declined to recognize 
the color line in any way, and expressed 
his views freely in the religious press as 
concerning the proper attitude of the 
Methodist Episcopal church in the South ; 
and being appointed missionary at Vicks- 
burg, Mississippi, he refused to minister 
to the colored people separately. 

Mr. Haven contributed freely to the 
religious and occasionally to the secular 
press, and in 1867 he was elected editor of 

“Zion’s Herald,’’ the organ of New Eng- 
land Methodism. His editorial conduct, 
which continued to 1872, was judicious 
and capable, and brought “The Herald” 
to a leading place in religious journalism. 
In 1868 he became a member of the Gen- 
eral Conference, and in 1872 was elected 
bishop. As a presiding bishop he was 
eminently successful, having a strong per- 
ception of the equities of debate, and 
evincing much tact and courtesy, yet firm- 
ness ; and in the general business of his 
office he was also unusually successful. 
Notwithstanding all this multiplicity of 
affairs, he did not permit his pen to be 
idle. His contributions to the press were 
filled not only with glowing descriptions 
of scenery, but with skillfully painted pic- 
tures of men and manners, as were also 
his hundreds of private letters. Out of 
his episcopal visit to Mexico grew his 
book, “Our Next Door Neighbor; or, a 
Winter in Mexico” (1875). He also wrote 
two journals relating to his experiences 
as bishop. He advocated the admission 
of the Indians to the rights of citizenship, 
and was stern in his denunciation of the 
anti-Chinese sentiment. He was deeply 
interested in the cause of education in the 
South, and indefatigable in his efforts to 
advance the interests of its schools. He 
raised in various ways $7,000 for the pur- 
chase of the site of Clark University at 
Atlanta, Georgia, and $10,000 more for 
the university building. He himself gave 
largely to Wesleyan University, to Bos- 
ton University, to the People’s Church, 
Boston, and to the church at Malden, 
Massachusetts; but to the schools and 
churches of the south he gave with an 
unmatched liberality. He founded the 
Mexican mission of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church, formally visiting President 
Lerdo to inform him as to the aims and 
scope of the proposed work and to obtain 
from him the promise to welcome the 



new mission and to protect the mission- 
aries in the enjoyment of their civil rights. 
He published: “Lay Representation in 
the Methodist Episcopal Church; Its Jus- 
tice and Expediency” (1864) ; “The Pil- 
grim’s Wallet; or, Scraps of Travel in 
England, France and Germany” (1865); 
“National Sermons; Sermons, Speeches 
and Letters on Slavery and Its War” 
(1869) ; “Our Next Door Neighbor; or, a 
Winter in Mexico” (1875) ! “Father Tay- 
lor, the Sailor Preacher” (with Thomas 
Russell, 1872). “Christus Consolator,” 
with notes was published by his son, Wil- 
liam Ingraham Haven (1873). He was 
married, in 1851, to Mary, daughter of 
George Ingraham, of Amenia, New York. 
He died at Malden, Massachusetts, Janu- 
ary 3, 1880. 

PIERCE, Otis N„ 

Manufacturer, Financier. 

The origin of this name and nineteen 
English generations are described else- 
where in this work, together with Cap- 
tain Michael Pierce, American immi- 

(II) Ephraim, apparently third son of 
Captain Michael Pierce, resided for a time 
at Weymouth, Massachusetts, whence he 
removed to Warwick, Rhode Island, 
where his first child was born. He was 
made freeman of the colony at Provi- 
dence, May 3, 1681, and died September 
14, 1719. His will, made July 18, 1718, 
was proved September 23, 1719, in War- 
wick. He married Hannah, daughter of 
John Holbrook, and had children: Azri- 
kim, born January 4, 1671 ; Ephraim., men- 
tioned below; Michael, 1676; Rachel, 
1678; Hannah, 1680; Experience, 1682; 
John, 1684; Benjamin, 1686. 

(III) Ephraim (2), second son of Eph- 
raim (1) and Hannah (Holbrook) Pierce, 
was born in 1674, and resided in Swansea 

and Rehoboth, Massachusetts. He mar- 
ried Mary Low, and their children were: 
Mial, mentioned below ; Mary, born No- 
vember 16, 1697; David, July 26, 1701; 
Elizabeth, May 30, 1703; Clothier, May 
24, 1728; Ephraim. 

(IV) Mial, eldest child of Ephraim (2) 
and Mary (Low) Pierce, born April 24, 
1693, lived in Warwick, Rhode Island, 
and in Swansea and Rehoboth, Massa- 
chusetts, and lived to be ninety-four years 
of age, dying October 18, 1786. He mar- 
ried Judith Ellis, born 1686, daughter of 
Judge Ellis, died October 6, 1744. Chil- 
dren: Ephraim, born November 9, 1712; 
Wheeler, July 11, 1714; Nathan, Febru- 
ary 21, 1716; Mary, October 18, 1718; Ju- 
dith, October 21, 1720; Mial, March 24, 
1722; Job, April 25, 1723; Caleb, June 8, 
1726; Joshua, mentioned below. 

(V) Joshua, youngest child of Mial and 
Judith (Ellis) Pierce, lived in Rehoboth 
and Swansea, and married March 24, 1748, 
Mary Horton. Children: Shubael ; Israel ; 
Henry, born 1750; Barnard, mentioned 
below; William; Joshua; Sarah; Silence; 
Hannah ; Mary. 

(VI) Barnard, fourth son of Joshua 
and Mary (Horton) Pierce, born Febru- 
ary 4, 1764, lived in Rehoboth, where he 
died May 5, 1842. He married, January 
14, 1786, Mary Rounds, born November 
12, 1767, daughter of Chace Rounds, died 
November 16, 1849. Children: Jeremiah, 
born August 29, 1786; Mary, December 15, 
1788; Nathaniel R., January 1, 1792; Han- 
nah M., November 19, 1794; Barnard, 
March 15, 1797; Charles M., August 9, 
1799; Otis N., mentioned below; Chase 
(or Chace) R., May 12, 1805 ; Bradford S., 
June 14, 1808; Mary A., May 7, 1811. 

(VII) Otis Norton, fifth son of Bar- 
nard and Mary (Rounds) Pierce, born 
February 3, 1803, lived in New Bedford, 
Massachusetts, where he died June 23, 
1856. He married, November 4, 1828, 



Susan Grinnell Cross, born May 25, 1805, 
died May 24, 1865. Children : Andrew 
G., born August 9, 1829; Sarah, August 
14, 1831 ; Benjamin F., September 30, 
1833; Elizabeth H., April 22, 1837; Otis 
N., mentioned below; Ellen N., February 
26, 1842. 

(VIII) Otis Norton (2), third son of 
Otis Norton (1) and Susan Grinnell 
(Cross) Pierce, was born October 28, 
1839, at New Bedford, and was educated 
in the public schools of his native place. 
After leaving the high school he entered 
the employ of the Wamsutta Mills. For 
a number of years he held the position of 
chief clerk there, and with the New Bed- 
ford & Taunton Railway Company, hold- 
ing his position with the latter until the 
railroad was sold. In 1880 he went to 
Fall River as treasurer of the Border City 
Manufacturing Company. He was there 
two years, during which time he built a 
new mill of 40,000 spindles, doubling its 
capacity. In 1882 he was the leading 
spirit in the organization of the Grinnell 
Manufacturing Corporation, and he was 
elected treasurer and returned to New 
Bedford. He was treasurer of the Grin- 
nell Manufacturing Corporation from that 
date until a few years ago, when he was 
elected president, succeeding the late Ed- 
ward Kilburn. This mill has a capacity 
of 128,000 spindles and manufactures cot- 
ton fabrics of very fine texture, of both 
plain and fancy weaves. It has been one 
of the most successful corporations of 
New Bedford, always paying good divi- 
dends, and its stock sells at a large 
premium. In 1890 Mr. Pierce was one of 
the corporators of the City Manufactur- 
ing Company, and became its first presi- 
dent, serving a short time, when he re- 
signed. He is a director of the Mer- 
chants’ National Bank, and vice-presi- 
dent, a trustee and one of the board of 
investment of the Five Cents Savings 

Bank. He is a member of the Wamsutta 
and New Bedford Country clubs, of the 
Arkwright Club of Boston, and of the 
Home Market Club of Boston. Mr. Pierce 
married (first) in 1870, Anna, daughter of 
Elisha (3) Thornton, died February 7. 
1907. He married (second) April 27, 
1909, her sister, Mary A. Thornton (see 
Thornton VI). 

(The Thornton Line). 

Among the early families of Rhode 
Island is that of Thornton, which con- 
tinued to be identified with the State for 
many generations, and which has sent out 
representatives to other States through- 
out the Union, who have brought credit 
to the name, and worthily served their 
fellows in many capacities. 

(I) John Thornton was an early settler 
in Newport, Rhode Island, and in 1639 
was in the employ of John Coggeshall, of 
that town. He was one of the twelve 
members of the First Baptist Church who 
founded the organization October 12, 
1648, but removed to Providence, where 
he was living in 1679 and died 1695. In 
1680 he served as deputy to the General 
Assembly, and between 1683 and 1692 
deeded his lands to his sons. Children : 
John, mentioned below ; Thomas, Solo- 
mon, Elizabeth, Sarah, James, Benjamin, 

(II) John (2), son of John (1) Thorn- 

ton, was born in Rhode Island, and died 
in Providence, that State, January 9, 1 716 . 
He was a taxpayer there as early as 1687. 
and his will, dated December 29, 1715, 
was proved January 18, 1716. The in- 
ventory of his estate, including seven 
neat cattle, and various utensils, amount- 
ed to thirty-seven pounds and two shill- 
ings. He married Dinah, daughter of 
John and Hannah (Wickenden) Steere. 
born about 1665, died before 1716, and 
they had children : John, born about 


1690; Josiah, Dinah, Stephen, Ruth, Dan- 
iel, Elihu, Ebenezer, mentioned below, all 
born at Providence. 

(Ill) Ebenezer Thornton, son of John 
and Dinah (Steere) Thornton, lived in 
Smithfield, Rhode Island. He was mar- 
ried by William Arnold, justice of the 
peace, of Smithfield, to Ruth Smith, born 
April 9, 1709, in Providence, daughter of 
Benjamin and Mercy (Angell) Smith. 
Children : Rachel, born April 8, 1733 ; Ste- 
phen, July 7, 1735; Ruth, March 9, 1737; 
Daniel, June 8, 1739, died September 5, 
1748; Ebenezer, March 31, 1742; Phebe, 
September 23, 1744; Elisha, mentioned 
below; Mary, September 23, 1750. 

(INC ) Elisha, fourth son of Ebenezer 
and Ruth (Smith) Thornton, was born 
June 30, 1748, in Smithfield, and died De- 
cember 31, 1816. He was a member of 
the Friends’ Society of Smithfield. He 
married, 1st of 4th month, 1773, Anne 
Read, born 4th of 3rd month, 1756, daugh- 
ter of John and Hannah (Farnum) Read 
(see Read V). She died 5th of 5th month, 
1866, and was buried in the Friends’ yard, 
Upper Smithfield, Rhode Island. Chil- 
dren: Rachel, born 17th, 7th month, 1774; 
Stephen, 6th of 4th month, 1776, died 19th 
of 5th month, 1790; Moses, 22nd of 2nd 
month, 1778; Elisha, mentioned below; 
Daniel, 2nd of 2nd month, 1782; John, 
28th of 3rd month. 1784; Anne, 23rd of 
4th month, 1786; Mary, 3rd of 7th month, 
1788; Hannah, 26th of nth month, 1790, 
died 19th of 3rd month, 1853; Phebe, 25th 
of 12th month, 1792; George, 10th of 10th 
month, 1795, died 4th of 1st month, 1797; 
James, 2nd of 7th month, 1797; Lydia, 
24th of 4th month. 1799. 

(V) Elisha (2), third son of Elisha (1) 
and Anne (Read) Thornton, was born 
nth of 4th month, 1780, in Smithfield, 
Rhode Island, resided in New Bedford, 
Massachusetts, and died August 3, 1854, 
in Brooklyn, New York. He married, Oc- 

tober 31, 1804, Rebecca Russell, daughter 
of Humphrey and Bethia (Eldredge) Rus- 
sell, of Dartmouth, Massachusetts (see 
Russell V). Children: Joseph Ricket- 
son, born August 8, 1805 ; Sarah Ann, No- 
vember 15, 1806; John Russell, October 
8, 1808; Gilbert Russell, December 31, 
1810; Mary B., January 15, 1814; Elisha, 
mentioned below ; Rebecca, March 16, 
1817; Daniel, April 28, 1819; Virginia 
Russell, July n, 1821. 

(VI) Elisha (3), fourth son of Elisha 
(2) and Rebecca (Russell) Thornton, >vas 
born August 1, 1815, in New Bedford, 
Massachusetts, and in the schools of the 
place acquired his education. His father 
and older brother, John R. Thornton, 
being druggists, Elisha followed in their 
footsteps, becoming skilled in business 
under their direction. In time Elisha be- 
came established in business for himself 
on North Water street. Later on he be- 
came successor to his father and brother 
at the old stand and conducted the bus 
ness for many years. He became one of 
the owners of the Thornton block, which 
was erected on the site of his former place 
of business and later became known as 
the Standard building. Subsequently he 
carried on his business on the northwest 
corner of Union and Second streets, and 
he opened a second store on the corner of 
Union and Purchase streets. For a period 
Mr. Thornton had associated with him in 
business the late William L. Gerrish, the 
style of firm being Thornton & Gerrish. 
On January 1, 1873. both stores were dis- 
posed of to Messrs. C. H. and PL A. Law- 
ton, he himself retiring from business. 
First a Whig, then a Republican in his 
political affiliations, Mr. Thornton was 
active and zealous in politics. He was for 
years chairman of the Republican city 
committee. In the year 1857 he repre- 
sented his ward on the board of aldermen. 
He was six times elected a county com- 



missioner, holding such office at the time 
of his demise ; and for several years he 
was chairman of the board. His first elec- 
tion to the office of county commissioner 
was as the successor of John Baylies, who 
died in 1863. One has only to read be- 
tween the lines of this outline of the life 
of Mr. Thornton to judge of his standing 
with the people of not only New Bedford, 
but Bristol county, for through his long 
official relation he had become well known 
all over the county. He was universally 
esteemed and respected. Mr. Thornton 
died July 24, 1879, at his home on Cottage 
street. New Bedford. Mr. Thornton mar- 
ried Mary Howland Allen, of New Bed- 
ford, daughter of Thomas and Phebe 
(Howland) Allen, and she survived him 
many years, dying in June, 1900. Chil- 
dren : Anna, born September 30, 1839, 
died in infancy; Edward B., March 1 
1841, resides in Pawtucket, Rhode Island; 
Thomas A., October 4, 1843, resides in 
New Bedford; Anna, mentioned below; 
William, March 9, 1849, resides in Brook- 
lyn, New York; Charles, August 13, 1851, 
died December 25, 1856; Mary A., men- 
tioned below. 

(VII) Anna, daughter of Elisha (3) 
and Mary H. (Allen) Thornton, was born 
January 30, 1846, and became the wife of 
Otis Norton (2) Pierce, of New Bedford 
(see Pierce VIII). 

(VII) Mary Allen, daughter of Elisha 
(3) and Mary H. (Allen) Thornton, was 
born August 29, 1858, and became the sec- 
ond wife of Otis Norton (2) Pierce (q. v.), 
of New Bedford. 

(The Read Line). 

The name of Read is found not only in 
England, where it has been common from 
the time surnames came into use and as a 
clan name before that time, but in Ire- 
land, Scotland, and various countries on 
the continent of Europe. The name at 

present is spelled generally in three ways 
— Reed, Reid and Read. The genealogy 
of the Read family of Kent, England, 
dates back to 1139 to Brianus de Rede, of 
Morpeth, on the Wensback river, in the 
north of England. 

(I) Colonel Thomas Read, of distin- 
guished ancestry in England, came to 
New England with Governor Winthrop 
and others in the great fleet of 1630, and 
settled at Salem, Massachusetts, where he 
was made a freeman in that year. It is 
supposed by those who have written of 
him and his family that he was a son of 
Sir Thomas Read and Mary Cornwall, of 
Brocket Hall, in Hertfordshire. His pa- 
ternal grandfather had been clerk of the 
Green Cloth, and his maternal grand- 
father was Lord of Shropshire. His elder 
brother was a baronet. Colonel Read had 
a grant of three hundred acres of land in 
Salem in 1637, there being but four in the 
town having as large a grant. He was a 
prominent man in the colony, was a colo- 
nel in the militia as early as 1643, prob- 
ably of that rank previous to coming to 
New England, and in 1660 was a colonel 
in the British army at the Restoration of 
Charles II. He died in England in the 
year 1663, and his son Abraham settled 
his estate. The Christian name of his 
wife was Alsea, and their children were: 
Thomas, Jacob and Abraham, all of whom 
were probably born in England. 

(II) Captain Thomas (2) Read, son of 
Colonel Thomas (1) and Alsea Read, born 
in England, came to New England likely 
with his father and family. It is thought 
he lived at one time in Lynn. He was 
appointed ensign in 1647, was made cap- 
tain, and had several ten-acre lots granted 
him in Salem. His children were: Sus- 
anna, baptized September 23, 1649; John, 
May 13, 1655, died young; Remember, 
April 26, 1657; Jacob, December 22, 1658, 
died young; Sarah, born March 15, 1660, 



died young ; John, August 21, 1662 ; Jacob, 
mentioned below; Sarah, October 14, 
1665. The father probably died shortly 
after the birth of the youngest child, as 
his wife was soon after known as Widow 

(III) Jacob, son of Thomas (2) and 
Mary Read, born June 7, 1663; married, 
in December, 1693, Elizabeth Greene, and 
their children were: Aaron, born 1694, in 
Salem, Massachusetts; John, December 
26, 1695; Mary, 1697; Jacob, February 4, 
1699; Jonathan, mentioned below; Sarah, 
May 15, 1703; Elizabeth, March 13, 1704. 

(IV) Jonathan, fourth son of Jacob and 
Elizabeth (Greene) Read, born January 
12, 1701, in Salem; married (first) Mary 
Hanson, (second) January 1, 1744, Sarah 
Kemper. Children of first wife: Benja- 
min, Hanson, Daniel, John, Jacob and 
William (born in 1729). Of second wife: 
Oliver and Aaron. Several of the sons of 
the first marriage appear to have settled 
in the State of Rhode Island, or nearby. 
One of the sons, Jacob, died in October. 
1749, in Smithfield, Rhode Island. 

(V) John, son of Jonathan and Mary 
(Hanson) Read, died in Mendon, Massa- 
chusetts, 20th of the nth month, 1823, 
and was buried in the Friends’ yard. He 
married, 24th of the 4th month, 1755, Han- 
nah Farnum, daughter of Moses Farnum, 
of Uxbridge, Massachusetts. Children : 
Anne, mentioned below ; Abigail, born 
12th of 3rd month, 1758; Rhoda, 24th of 
5th month, 1760; Ruth, 9th of 7th month, 
1762; Rachel, 19th of 9th month, 1764; 
Hannah, 30th of 10th month, 1766; David, 
15th of 1st month, 1769; George, 30th of 
6th month, 1771 ; Lydia, 18th of 7th 
month, 1773. 

(VI) Anne, eldest child of John (4) 
and Hannah (Farnum) Read, was born 
4th of 3rd month, 1756, and became the 
wife of Elisha Thornton, of Smithfield, 
Rhode Island (see Thornton IV). 

(The Smith Line). 

(I) John Smith, called John Smith, Jr., 
to distinguish him from another of the 
same name, was born in 1619, in England, 
and was in Plymouth as early as 1643, 
when his name appears on the list of 
those able to bear arms. He took the oath 
of fidelity in 1684, and was a resident of 
Dartmouth in 1686. He died March 15, 
1692. He married (first) March 4, 1649, 
Deborah Howland, daughter of Arthur 
Howland, of Marshfield, Massachusetts, 
a brother of Henry and John Howland, 
all of whom were ancestors of a large 
progeny in America. He married (sec- 
ond) Ruhamah, daughter of Richard 
Kirby. Children of first marriage : Haza- 
diah, born January 11, 1650; John, Octo- 
ber 1, 1651 ; Josiah, April 16, 1652; Elea- 
zur, April 20, 1634; Hezekiah, February 
8,1656. Of second marriage : Mehitable ; 
Hannah ; Sarah ; Deborah ; Deliverance, 
mentioned below; Judah; Gershom ; Elia- 

(II) Deliverance, son of John and Ru- 
hamah (Kirby) Smith, born probably i' 
Dartmouth, died there June 30, 1729. His 
wife’s name was Mary, and they had chil- 
dren : John, born July 11, 1693; Deborah, 
July 13, 1695; Anna, December 16, 1696; 
Alice, October 29, 1698; Peleg, May 22, 
1700; George, mentioned below; Hope, 
January 28, 1703; Humphrey, April 13, 
1705; Mary, January 14, 1707; Abigail, 
April 10, 1709. 

(III) George, third son of Deliverance 
and Mary Smith, was born August 27, 
1701, in Dartmouth, and died there July 
17, 1796. He married, January 31, 1726, 
Elizabeth Allen, daughter of Increase 
Allen, of Dartmouth, son of Ralph Allen, 
elsewhere described. Children : Abigail, 
married Abraham Slocum ; Elizabeth, 
born May 22, 1729, married William 
Ricketson ; Deliverance, mentioned be- 
low ; George, January 1, 1736, married 



Phebe Thornton; Increase, married Eliza- 
beth Barker. 

(IV) Deliverance (2), eldest son of 
George and Elizabeth (Allen) Smith, 
born in Dartmouth, Massachusetts, lived 
in that town, and married, May 26, 1756, 
Hannah Smith, daughter of Jonathan and 
Phebe (Smith) Smith, granddaughter of 
Gershom and Rebecca (Ripley) Smith, 
and great-granddaughter of John Smith, 
above mentioned. Children : Phebe, born 
September 13, 1757, died November, 1776; 
George, June 20, 1760; Abigail, Septem- 
ber 30, 1764; Elizabeth, mentioned below. 

(V) Elizabeth, youngest child of De- 
liverance (2) and Hannah (Smith) Smith, 
was born January 1, 1767, became the 
wife of Captain Nathaniel (2) Howland, 
of Dartmouth, and died March 31, 1856 
(see Howland VII). 

(The Howland Line). 

Many branches of the Howland fam- 
ily are covered in this work. Elsewhere 
appears a history of Humphrey Howland, 
his son Henry, the pioneer immigrant and 
the latter’s son, Zoeth Howland. 

(IV) Nathaniel, eldest child of Zoeth 
and Abigail Howland, was born October 
5, 1657, in Duxbury, and settled in Dart- 
mouth, Massachusetts, where he was 
often selectman, beginning in 1699, and 
was among the foremost in social, relig- 
ious and political matters. He was a 
grand juror in 1702, moderator, 1721, and 
tythingman in 1726, often on important 
committees ; was a minister of the 
Friends’ society and of the town. With 
his uncle, Samuel Howland, he was the 
owner of lot six in Freetown, which they 
divided April 16, 1678. His residence 
was on the north side of the road from 
New Bedford to Russell’s Mill, in Dart- 
mouth, on the west side of the brook 
which crosses this road. The inventory 
of his estate included the homestead, 

valued at .£530, and other property at 
£1,790. He died May 3, 1723. He mar- 
ried, in 1684, Rose, daughter of Joseph 
and Sarah Allen, of Dartmouth. Joseph 
Allen was a son of Ralph Allen, who is 
described at length on another page. 
Children : Rebecca, born October 25, 

1685; John, June 14, 1687; James, April 
18, 1689; Sarah, January 15, 1691 ; George, 
mentioned below ; Mary, June 23, 1697 ; 
Content, October 20, 1702. 

(V) George, third son of Nathaniel and 
Rose (Allen) Howland, was born Febru- 
ary 4, 1694, in Dartmouth, where he was 
a farmer and prominent in politics and 
the Friends’ Society. He married, in 
1724, Hannah Aiken, of Westport, Mas- 
sachusetts. Children : Joseph, mentioned 
below ; Sarah, married Henry Howland. 

(VI) Captain Joseph Howland, only 

son of George and Hannah (Aiken) How- 
land, was born May 16, 1732, in Dart- 
mouth, and married there, July 9, 1764, 
Bathsheba, daughter of Seth and Ruth 
(Lapham) Sherman, born May 22, 1741, 
in Dartmouth. Children : Nathaniel, 

mentioned below, and Sarah, born June 
5 - 1769- 

(VII) Captain Nathaniel (2) Howland, 

only son of Joseph and Bathsheba (Sher- 
man) Howland, was born June 13, 1768, 
and was a mariner in command of vessels 
sailing from New York to foreign ports. 
He retired to a farm in Dartmouth, was 
an active member of the Friends’ Society, 
and was representative of the town of 
Dartmouth in the general court when he 
died at Boston, March 30, 1830. He mar- 
ried, December 26, 1790, Elizabeth, 

daughter of Deliverance (2) and Hannah 
(Smith) Smith, of Dartmouth (see Smith 
IV), born January 1, 1767, died March 31, 
1850. Children : Captain Joseph, died 
March 14, 1815; Hannah A., born Janu- 
ary 19, 1793; Phebe Smith, mentioned be- 
low; George S., October 20, 1796; Sarah, 


April 2i, 1799; Bathsheba, July 7, 1S00; 
Thomas I., March 7, 1802; William S., 
May 12, 1804; Humphrey H., May 12, 
1805; Elizabeth A., August 12, 1806; 
Caroline, November 15, 1808. 

(VIII) Phebe Smith, second daughter 
of Captain Nathaniel (2) and Hannah 
(Smith) Howland, was born November 
13, 1794, became the wife of Thomas 
Allen, and died June 7, 1881 (see Allen 

(The Russell Line). 

The first of the line in New England 
was John Russell. He and his wife Doro- 
thy were residents of Marshfield as early 
as 1642 or 1643, where according to the 
town records Mr. Russell was elected 
constable. In February, 1644, he was 
granted land, was made a freeman by the 
General Court at Plymouth in June, 1644, 
and in the fall of that year was granted 
thirty acres of land. He is mentioned in 
the summer of 1645 as among those who 
were willing to support a school, and in 
1646 he was chosen one of the committee 
to the next court. He was chosen in 
1648 one of the raters, and in that same 
year he was surveyor of highways of 
Marshfield. Seven years later he was 
chosen grand juryman. In March, 1661, 
he bought from the attorney of Miles 
Standish his share of the town of Dart- 
mouth, for the sum of forty-two pounds ; 
and in the deed is called “John Russell 
of Marshfield.” It has been thought by 
some and so stated that Mr. Russell was 
a son of Ralph Russell, of Pontypool, 
Monmouthshire, Wales, who came to 
Braintree, Massachusetts, and from there 
went to Taunton, Massachusetts, in 1652, 
to build iron works in company with the 
brothers, James and Henry Leonard. It 
has been stated that Ralph later went to 
Dartmouth and started a forge at Rus- 
sell’s Mills, and was the ancestor of the 
Russells of that town. “On this point,” 

says Barrett Beard Russell, in his article 
on the descendants of John Russell, of 
Dartmouth, in the “New England His- 
toric and Genealogical Register” of Octo- 
ber, 1904, “I have been unable to find 
any proof that he was the father of John, 
or that he built the aforesaid forge.” John 
Russell is thought to have been born in 
1608. He died 13th of 2nd month, 1695. 
His wife, Dorothy, died 13th of 12th 
month, 1687. Children: John; Martha; 
Dorothy, died or was buried in Marsh- 
field, January 13, 1658; Joseph, men- 
tioned below. 

(II) Joseph, son of John and Dorothy 
Russell, was born May 6, 1650, probably 
in Marshfield, died December 11, 1739. 
His wife Elizabeth, born March 6, 1657, 
died September 25, 1737. Children: Jo- 
seph and John (twins), born November 
29, 1679; William, May 6, 1681; Mary, 
July 10, 1683; Joshua, January 26, 1686; 
Rebecca, January 3, 1688; Benjamin, May 
1 7, 1691; Seth, April 7, 1696; Sarah. 

(III) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1) 
and Elizabeth Russell, was born Novem- 
ber 29, 1679, in the fort house at Russell’s 
Orchard, Dartmouth, where the citizens 
had assembled for protection from the 
Indians. The name of his first wife was 
Sarah, and he married (second) (permis- 
sion of the Friends’ meeting, 19th of 5th 
month, 1703), Mary, daughter of Abra- 
ham Tucker, and granddaughter of 
Henry Tucker. There was one child of 
the first marriage, Sarah, born May 24, 
1702. Children of second marriage: 
Mary, born June 1, 1704; Abraham, 
March 19, 1706; William, December 20, 
170S; Abigail, March 19, 1711 ; Caleb, Au- 
gust 9, 1713; Martha, June 24, 1716; Jo- 
seph. mentioned below ; Mary, December 
20, 1723; Patience, October 8, 1727. 

(IV) Joseph (3), son of Joseph (2) 
and Mary (Tucker) Russell, was born 
October 8, 1719, and married, July 5, 



1744, Judith Howland, born 1st month, 
14th day, 1725, daughter of Barnabas 
Howland, of Dartmouth (see Howland 
IV). Children: Barnabas, born 26th of 
3rd month, 1745; Rebecca, 30th of 2nd 
month, 1747; Patience, 10th of 1st month, 
1749; Martha, 14th of 2nd month, 1751; 
Elizabeth, 1st of 8th month, 1753; Abra- 
ham, 26th of 2nd month, 1756; Humphrey, 
mentioned below ; Gilbert, 2nd of 8th 
month, 1760; Mary, 9th of nth month, 
1762 ; Judith, 26th of 1st month, 1764. 

(V) Humphrey, third son of Joseph 
(3) and Judith (Howland) Russell, was 
born 17th of 5th month, 1758, and died 
December 9, 1836. He married, 29th of 
3rd month, 1780, Bethia Eldredge, daugh- 
ter of Isaiah and Sarah Eldredge. Chil- 
dren : John Wady, born July 22, 1781: 
Sarah, August 28, 1785; Rebecca, men- 
tioned below; Gilbert, February 14, 1789. 

(VI) Rebecca, second daughter of 
Humphrey and Bethia (Eldredge) Rus- 
sell, was born May 22, 1787, and married, 
October 31, 1804, Elisha (2) Thornton 
(see Thornton V). 

(The Allen Line). 

Elsewhere in this work appears an ex- 
tended history of George Allen, immi- 
grant ancestor of a large family and his 
son, Ralph Allen. Both resided in Sand- 
wich, Massachusetts. 

(III) Ebenezer Allen, son of Ralph, 
married Abigail, and had children : Mary, 
born October 27, 1682; Philip, February 
28, 1684; Zebulon, May 26, 1687; Eben- 
ezer, January 16, 1690; Sarah, June 9, 
1692; James, mentioned below; Hannah, 
August 10, 1697; Seth, July 28, 1703; and 
Abigail, December 16, 1705. 

(IV) James, fourth son of Ebenezer 
and Abigail Allen, was born November 
30, 1695, ar *d died sometime between 
April 4, 1767, when his will was made, 
and April 29, 1771, when it was probated. 

He married Mary Akin, daughter of John 
Akin, of Portsmouth, Rhode Island. 
Their children were : Zebulon, married 
(intentions published October 25, 1738) 
Hannah Allen; Prince, mentioned below; 
Deborah Butler; John, married (inten- 
tions published November 19, 1757) 

Rhoda Allen ; Ebenezer, born December 
16, 1727, married, October 28, 1749, Sus- 
annah Gatchell ; Mary, married (inten- 
tions December 21, 1739) Benjamin 

Briggs; Elizabeth, married, May 10, 1744, 
Daniel Cornell ; and Thomas, married (in- 
tions published June 21, 1741) Mary 

(V) Prince, second son of James and 
Mary Allen, born March 6, 1718, died Oc- 
tober 9, 1778. He married, June 18, 1742, 
at Falmouth, Deborah Butler, born May 
1, I7 2 4- They became the parents of 
children as follows: Thomas, born Janu- 
ary 5, 1743, married Judith Kirby; Oba- 
diah, June 26, 1745, married (first) in 
1766, Phebe Hussey, and (second) in 
1772, Ruth Almy; Lucy, September 23, 
1748, married Timothy Howland; Eliza- 
beth, November 28, 1751, married (first) 
Barnabas Kirby, and (second) Joseph 
Rogers, of Marshfield ; Hannah, April 2, 
1754; James, mentioned below; Mary, 
January 21, 1759, married Jonathan How- 
land; and Edy (Edith), July 7, 1761, mar- 
ried Joseph Russell. 

(VI) James (2), son of Prince and 
Deborah (Butler) Allen, was born Octo- 
ber 20, 1757, died November 30, 1820. He 
married, June 1, 1783, Sarah Howland, 
daughter of Gideon and Sarah (Hicks) 
Howland. Children: William H., born 
February 8, 1786, married, January 1, 
1807, Ruth Parker; Susan, February 22, 

1788, married, February 5, 1809, Samuel 
Hussey; Joseph Howland, September 22, 

1789, died March 4, 1852, married, June 
25, 1812, Sarah Howland, daughter of 
John and Reliance; Gideon, May 29, 1791, 


married (first) Hannah Howland and 
(second) Betsey H. Nye; Gilbert, June 
22, 1793, died March 20, 1861, married 
February 15, 1817, Eliza W. Barney, 
daughter of Griffin and Bathsheba Bar- 
ney; Thomas, mentioned below; Judith, 
September 1, 1797, married George S. 
Howland, son of Nathaniel and Elizabeth 
(Smith) Howland; Sally, September 4, 
1799, died October 4, 1806; Sylvia, born 
April 11, 1802, died August 29, 1803; 
Lucy, born February 12, 1804; James, 
July 13, 1805, married Martha Russell, 
daughter of Charles and Martha (Tilling- 
hast) Russell; Sylvia and Lucy (twins), 
June 19, 1808, the former married George 
Howland, Jr., and the latter died young; 
Frederick Slocum, August 16, 1812. 

(VII) Thomas, fifth son of James (2) 
and Sarah (Howland) Allen, was born 
September 8, 1795, and married Phebe 
Smith Howland, daughter of Captain Na- 
thaniel (2) and Hannah (Smith) How- 
land (see Howland VII). 

(VIII) Mary Howland, daughter of 
Thomas and Phebe S. (Howland) Allen, 
became the wife of Elisha (3) Thornton, 
of New Bedford (see Thornton V). 

NEWCOMB, Nathaniel, 

Manufacturer, Philanthropist. 

The name of Newcomb is said to be of 
Saxon origin, “Combe” signifying a low 
situation, a vale, between two hills. New- 
comb is defined by Hallowed as “stran- 
gers newly arrived,” but the family of 
this name, who trace back to Hugh New- 
come, of Saltfleetby, County Lincoln, in 
the reign of Richard Coeur de Lion (1189- 
92), are not parvenues in this or any 
other sense. The name is doubtless the 
same as Newcombe, though the locality 
from which it is derived is unknown. In 
early records in this country the name is 
found written Newcom, Newcome, New- 
comb, Newcombe, Newcum, Newkum, 

Newkom, Newckum, Nucom, Neccome, 
Nucomb, Nuccombe, Nucum, etc., in 
some instances in two or more ways in 
the same document. Now it is usually 
spelled Newcomb. The records of bap- 
tisms, marriages, etc., at Saltfleetby, 
where the family has been seated seven 
hundred years, begin in 1558, and are 
written in Latin. In these records the 
name is written Newcomen. 

(I) Francis Newcomb, the ancestor 
of a numerous family in America, came 
to New England in April, 1635, in the 
ship “Planter,” probably from St. Albans, 
in Hertfordshire, a few miles north of 
London, England. He was thirty years 
old, and with him came his wife, Rachel, 
aged twenty; daughter, Rachel, aged two 
and a half; and son, John, aged nine 
months. They lived in Boston about 
three years, and then settled at Mount 
Wollaston, afterwards called Braintree, 
and in that part now Quincy, Massa- 
chusetts, where he died May 27, 1692. 
His gravestone in Braintree says, “aged 
one hundred years,” the town records, 
“accounted one hundred years old ;” his 
age was doubtless about eighty-seven 
years. He owned several tracts of land 
in Braintree. His wife, Rachel, was ad- 
mitted to the First Church at Boston, De- 
cember 28, 1635, and transferred to the 
Braintree church, March 5, 1684-85. Chil- 
dren : Rachel, born in England, 1633; 
John, 1634; Hannah, born in Boston; 
Mary, April 1, 1640, in Braintree; Sarah, 
June 30, 1643, i n Braintree; Judith, Janu- 
ary 16, 1645, in Braintree; Peter, men- 
tioned below; Abigail, July 16, 1651; 
Leah, July 30, 1654; Elizabeth, August 
26, 1658. 

(II) Peter, second son of Francis and 
Rachel Newcomb, was born May 16, 1648, 
in Braintree, and died there May 20, 
1725. He was a farmer in his native 
town, fence viewer in 1693, field driver in 
1694, highway surveyor in 1698-99, 1702- 


03 and 1706; tythingman in 1710-11, and 
was admitted to the Braintree church, 
March 4, 1723. He married (first) in 
Braintree, June 26, 1672, Susannah, 

daughter of Richard and Sarah Cutting, 
of Watertown, Massachusetts. She was 
dismissed from the Watertown church to 
the Braintree church, June 11, 1674. He 
married (second) Mary Humphrey, a 
widow, who died in 1738, leaving a 
will. She was appointed administratrix 
under his will, and afterward his son 
Peter. Children, born in Braintree : Su- 
sannah, June 22, 1674; Rachel, baptized 
October 31, 1675; Peter, born May 5, 
1678, died young; Rachel, baptized Au- 
gust 15, 1680; Sarah, March 4, 1683; 
Jonathan, mentioned below; Peter, July 
29, 1689; Richard, May 14, 1694; Richard, 
born March 17, 1704 

(III) Jonathan, second son of Peter 
Newcomb, was born March 1, 1686, in 
Braintree, was a yeoman, owning several 
tracts of land in that town. He removed 
in March, 1728, to Norton, Massachu- 
setts, where he bought land January 22, 
1727, and more in 1728 and 1742. In 
1721 he was a field driver in Braintree; 
constable in 1724; fence viewer in 1728. 
He was a soldier in the French War, and 
died in the service in the expedition 
against Louisburg, Canada, before No- 
vember, 1745. His wife, Deborah, died in 
November, 1780, aged ninety-five years. 
Children: Jonathan, born May 13, 1711 ; 
Deborah, May 16, 1713; Joseph, men- 
tioned below; William, July 21, 1721; 
Judith, February 23, 1724; Samuel, Sep- 
tember 1, 1726; Sarah, never married. 

(IV) Joseph, second son of Jonathan 
and Deborah Newcomb, was born July 
2. 1716, in Braintree, but removed to Nor- 
ton with his parents when twelve years 
old. He served in the old French War, 
first, in 1749, in Z. Leonard’s company, 
Raynham, and in 1757 in S. Witherell’s 
company of Norton. His will disposed 

of about six hundred and fifty acres of 
land, and his personal estate inventoried 
at £1,286 6s 8d. He married (intentions 
published), October 3, 1745, Judith Pratt, 
daughter of Josiah Pratt and Tabitha 
Smith, the latter the daughter of Nicholas 
Smith. Children: Joseph, born June 28, 
1746; Sarah, October 14, 1748; Samuel, 
December 1, 1752; Anna, April 15, 1756; 
Asa, December 15, 1759; Annas, March 
25, 1762; Josiah, mentioned below. 

(V) Josiah, youngest child of Joseph 
and Judith (Pratt) Newcomb, born April 
14, 1764, was a farmer during his lifetime 
in Norton. He was a soldier in the Con- 
tinental army in the Revolution, enlisting 
July 27, 1780, in Captain John Allen’s 
company of Colonel Carpenter’s regi- 
ment. He married (first) (intentions pub- 
lished October 17, 1782), Rebecca God- 
frey, of Easton, born there September 27, 
1765, died September 25, 1831, daughter 
of Joseph and Rebecca (Tisdale) Godfrey 
(see Tisdale VI). He married (second) 
in 1834, Charlotte Forrest. Children, all 
by first marriage: Becca, born February 
29, 1784; Josiah, December 22, 1785; Na- 
thaniel, April 12, 1797; Anna, March 17, 

(VI) Nathaniel, second son of Josiah 
and Rebecca (Godfrey) Newcomb, was 
born April 12, 1797, in Norton, and died 
there November 11, 1876. In the public 
schools of his native town he laid the 
foundation to which subsequent study 
and observation added in making a well- 
informed man of affairs. At the age of 
seventeen years he engaged with his 
brother-in-law, Simeon Presbrey, in a 
cotton mill in Stoughton, where he mas- 
tered the details of cotton manufacture 
and the rudiments of business. His in- 
dustry was unusual and he early de- 
veloped a conservative and prudent char- 
acter. He early established himself in 
business in his native town, in the manu- 
facture of cotton thread, which was in- 



terrupted by the burning of his mill De- 
cember 31, 1831. He then purchased the 
right of manufacture of wadding, under 
the patent of James Beaumont, and until 
his retirement in 1861, continued in the 
production of wadding and batting, with 
unvarying success. Mr. Newcomb was 
the foe of waste and of idleness, and him- 
self set the example of continued effort, 
which resulted in the accumulation of a 
very comfortable fortune. Because he 
was known as a man of caution, his ad- 
vice was often sought by business men. 
The profits of his business were used in 
its development and growth. He often ex- 
pressed a wish to bestow upon his native 
town, the scene of his successful career, 
some memento, and this wish was carried 
out by his surviving daughter in 1882, 
bv the gift of the present town hall, as a 
memorial of her father. A man of strong 
and positive character, Air. Newcomb en- 
tertained settled convictions, but never 
expressed an opinion without previous 
and mature reflection. Politically, he sus- 
tained the Democratic principles and poli- 
cies, but shunned any sort of public pre- 
ferment. His success was the natural de- 
velopment of his business force and cour- 
age, and he enjoyed the respect of esteem 
of those who came within the circle of 
his influence. Of genial and social na- 
ture, his friendships were spontaneous 
and continuous. 

He married, April 7, 1823, Betsey, 
daughter of General Thomas and Esther 
(Newland) Lincoln, of Taunton, Massa- 
chusetts (see Lincoln V). She was born 
February 10, 1795, and died August 16, 
1878. In 1873, Mr. and Mrs. Newcomb 
celebrated their golden wedding anniver- 
sary, in the midst of a large gathering of 
friends, assembled from many and re- 
mote localities. They were the parents 
of two children : Betsey Thomas, the 
senior, born April 5, 1825, became the 
wife of William A. Hayward, of Milford, 

Massachusetts, and died in New York, 
June 2, 1884. They were the parents of 
one daughter, Harriot B. Hayward, who 
married Charles Minchew, of Taunton, 
and she is now a widow, residing in Nor- 
ton, Massachusetts. The junior, Harriot 
Augusta, born January 3, 1833, resides 
in Norton. 

(The Lincoln Line). 

Hingham, Massachusetts, is distin- 
guished as the home of all the first set- 
tlers of the surname Lincoln. From these 
pioneers are descended all the colonial 
families of the name, including President 
Lincoln and more than one governor and 
man of note in all walks of life. The sur- 
name was variously spelled Linkhorn, 
Linkoln, Lincon, and was common in old 
Hingham, in England, for more than a 
century before immigrant ancestors made 
their home in Massachusetts. The origin 
or meaning of the name has been a theme 
of discussion. Some have maintained 
that it is a relic of the Anglo-Saxon-Nor- 
man Conquest period, when, near some 
waterfall (Anglo-Saxon “lin”) a colony 
(Roman “colonia”) was founded, thus 
giving Lincolonia or finally Lincolnshire. 
Eight of the name were among the first 
settlers of Hingham, coming thither from 
Wymondham, County Norfolk, England. 
Three brothers, Daniel, Samuel and 
Thomas, came with their mother, Joan. 
There were no less than four named 
Thomas Lincoln, adults and heads of 
families, all doubtless related. They were 
distinguished on the records and in local 
speech by their trades. They were known 
as Thomas, the miller ; Thomas, the 
cooper; Thomas, the husbandman, and 
Thomas, the weaver. There was also 
Stephen Lincoln who came with his wife 
and son, Stephen, from Wvmond, Eng- 
land, in 1638. This name is spelled also 
Windham and Wymondham. 

(I) Thomas Lincoln, the miller, was 



born 1603, in Norfolk county, England. 
He came to Hingham, Massachusetts, in 
1635, was one of the proprietors the same 
year, drew a house lot of five acres at 
Hingham, July 3, 1636, on what is now 
South street, near Main, and later drew 
lots for planting. Before 1650, he had re- 
moved to Taunton, Massachusetts, and 
had built a grist mill there on Mill River 
at a point in the very heart of the present 
city, near the street leading from the rail- 
road station to City Square. It is said 
that King Philip and his chiefs once met 
the colonists in conference in this mill. 
He served in Taunton on the jury in 
1650; was highway surveyor there in 
1650 and the largest land owner. He be- 
came one of the stockholders in the fa- 
mous Tauntou iron works, established 
October, 1652, as a stock company. 
Among other stockholders were Richard 
Williams, Richard Stacy and George 
Watson. These works were operated 
until 1883, and the dam and foundation 
still mark one of the most interesting 
sites in the history of American industry. 
Thomas Lincoln gave land in Hingham 
to his son, Thomas, who sold it October 
11, 1662, specifying the history of the 
transactions. His will was dated August 
23, 1683, when he stated his age as about 
eighty years. The will was proved March 
5, 1684. He married (first) in England, 
and (second) December 10, 1665, Eliza- 
beth (Harvey) Street, widow of Francis 
Street. Children: John, baptized Febru- 
ary, 1639, married Edith Macomber; 
Samuel, mentioned below; Thomas, Feb- 
ruary, 1638, at Hingham ; Mary, at Hing- 
ham, October 6, 1642, married William 
Hack and Richard Stevens ; Sarah, De- 
cember, 1645, married Joseph Wills, of 
Taunton, and settled in Scituate. 

(II) Samuel, second son of Thomas 
Lincoln, the miller, was born at Hing- 
ham, England, or vicinity, and baptized 
in Hingham, Massachusetts, in 1637. He 

settled in Taunton, Massachusetts, had a 
wife, Jane, and the following children: 
Samuel, Hannah, Tamson, Elizabeth, 
Ebenezer, Rachel, John, Thomas and 

(III) Samuel (2), eldest child of Sam- 
uel (1) and Catherine Lincoln, was born 
June 1, 1664, in Taunton, and resided in 
that town, reaching the age of seventy- 
five years. He married Experience, 
daughter of Jonathan and Experience 
Briggs, of Taunton, and had children : 
Ambrose, Samuel, Ebenezer, Experience, 
Elizabeth, Nathaniel and Benjamin. 

(IV) Ambrose, son of Samuel (2) and 
Experience (Briggs) Lincoln, resided in 
Taunton, Massachusetts, and married, 
January 7, 1744, Hannah Clapp, born 
March 4, 1719, in Dedham, daughter of 
Thomas (4) and Hannah (Felch) Clapp, 
of Walpole, Massachusetts (see Clapp 
V). Children: Hepsibah, married Solo- 
mon Witherell; Rachel; Ezekiel; Am- 
brose; Thomas, mentioned below; and, 
perhaps, Hannah and Mary. 

(V) General Thomas Lincoln, third 
son of Ambrose and Hannah (Clapp) 
Lincoln, was born September 4, 1759, in 
Taunton, and died August 10, 1836, in 
Norton. He was much occupied in civil 
affairs and won his military title by serv- 
ice in the War of 1812, in which he was 
very active and efficient. Most of his life 
was spent on the farm in Taunton on 
which he was born, and he was long a 
justice of the peace. From 1812 to 1821, 
inclusive, he was a member of the board 
of selectmen, was representative to the 
General Court in 1815 and 1816 and often 
a delegate to State conventions. At the 
age of eighteen years he was a private 
soldier in Captain Snow’s company of the 
Revolutionary army. In 1791 he was 
captain of a militia company, and was 
commissioned major of the State militia 
September 3, 1795. From 1805 to May 
18, 1809, he was successively lieutenant- 



public lib: 



v *;£.*►*'• ••.» JHtorws; 


colonel and colonel, and on the latter date 
was commissioned brigadier-general of 
the Bristol county brigade. During the 
embargo in 1807 he was in command of 
the Third Regiment of the Bristol county 
brigade, with rank of lieutenant-colonel. 
Having passed through every grade from 
captain to commander of a brigade, he 
resigned in 1814, receiving his discharge 
May 19th of that year. A capable and 
efficient officer, he retired with honor, and 
in the enjoyment of the esteem and re- 
gard of officers and men. He married 
October 24', 1784, Esther Newland, born 
May 23, 1766, in Norton, daughter of 
Amos and Esther (Briggs) Newland, of 
that town (see Newland IV). Children: 
Thomas, born July 10, 1785, died at Sac- 
hets Harbor, September 16, 1813; Esther, 
April 9, 17S7; Amos, May 3, 1789; Hepzi- 
bah, April 5, 1791 ; Rachel, February 20, 
1 793 ; Betsey, mentioned below; Char- 
lotte, March 13, 1797; Timothy, March 7, 
1799; Theodore Leonard, March 13, 1801 ; 
George Morey, September 8, 1803; Han- 
nah Clapp, March 1, 1807; Mary, March 
14, 1812. 

(VI) Betsey, fourth daughter of Thom- 
as and Esther (Newland) Lincoln, was 
born February 10, 1795, in Taunton, and 
became the wife of Nathaniel Newcomb, 
of that town (see Newcomb VI). 

(The Tisdale Line). 

This name is not as numerously repre- 
sented in America as many others, but it 
is among the earliest and has contributed 
many useful citizens. Its connection with 
the settlement and development of Cen- 
tral New York has been an honorable 
one, and it is still associated with the 
annals of the region. It appears in the 
early New England records with various 
spellings, such as Tisdall, Tisdel, Tisdell 
and numerous other forms. The English 
arms of the family represent an arm pass- 
ing through a crown holding a javelin. 

Among the earlier generations were El- 
kanah Tisdale, a noted lawyer, and Na- 
than Tisdale, an eminent classical scholar 
and teacher of Lebanon, Connecticut. 
The family has its part in the various 
wars, incident to the building and preserva- 
tion of the Union, and in civil affairs has 
taken no mean part. 

(I) John Tisdale, ancestor of nearly all 
now bearing the name in this country, 
was born in England, 1615-20, and settled 
in Duxbury, Massachusetts, 1636. He 
was styled “yeoman,” and his name 
appears on the list of planters and pro- 
prietors. He brought suit in court, June 
7, 1636, against Stephen Hopkins for an 
assault and battery by which Tisdale was 
dangerously wounded, and Hopkins was 
fined five pounds and costs. He was ad- 
mitted an inhabitant of Duxbury, 1638; 
w r as among those able to bear arms ac- 
cording to the list of 1643; constable, 
1645 I removed to Taunton, where he was 
living December 26, 1651, when he bought 
lands of William Brett, at Duxbury. In 
Taunton, he was constable in 1659; was 
among purchasers of Taunton North Pur- 
chase, 1668; selectman, 1674; deputy to 
Plymouth General Court, same year. He 
was murdered by Indians in King Philip’s 
War, June 27, 1675. His wife, Sarah, 
died December, 1676. His will, proved 
November 2, 1676, bequeathed to sons, 
John, James, Joshua and Joseph; to 
daughters, Elizabeth, Sarah, Mary and 
Abigail. The court made note in its rec- 
ord that the two younger sons had en- 
dangered their lives in protecting the 
property. The estate was divided by 
agreement between these sons and the 
three sons-in-law, John Smith, James 
Dean and Nathaniel French. His inven- 
tory amounted to one hundred and fifty 
pounds. He owned land at Taunton and 
near Assonet. He married Sarah Walker, 
born 1618, died December, 1678, daughter 
of Widow Walker, of Rehoboth. Chil- 

Mass — 5 — 3 



dren : John, born in Duxbury, died 1677 ; 
James, born 1644, resided in Berkeley; 
Joshua, 1646, lived in Taunton; Joseph, 
mentioned below; Elizabeth, married 
John Smith; Sarah, married James Dean ; 
Mary, born Taunton, died there May 18, 
1731 ; Abigail, married Edward Bobbett. 
Each of the four sons named his eldest 
son for himself. 

(II) Joseph, fourth son of John and 
Sarah (Walker) Tisdale, was born 1656 
in Duxbury, and inherited a large estate 
from his father, located in that part of 
Taunton which became Norton, on which 
he settled. There he died 1721-22. He 
married in August, 1681, Mary Leonard, 
born August 2, 1663, daughter of Major 
Thomas and Mary (Watson) Leonard, of 
Taunton. Children: Joseph, mentioned 
below; Elkanah, born 1684; Mary, 1686, 
married Joseph Winslow, of Swansea; 
Hannah, 1688, married William Hodges, 
of Norton ; Sarah, 1690, married Thomas 
Reed, of Dighton ; Abigail and Elizabeth 
(twins), the first married Ephraim Hay- 
ward, of Bridgewater, and the second, 
Elkanah Leonard, of Middleboro. 

(III) Joseph (2), eldest child of Joseph 
(1) and Mary (Leonard) Tisdale, was 
born 1682 in Taunton, where he lived, 
and died in 1739. He married there, 
March 13, 1707, Ruth, daughter of John 
and Bethiah (Frye) Reed, born 1685-86, 
died in August, 1748. Children, men- 
tioned in will: Job, Joseph, Loved, Seth, 
Ebenezer, Simeon, Bathsheba, Mary and 

(IV) Seth, son of Joseph (2) and Ruth 
(Reed) Tisdale, was born about 1715, in 
Taunton, and married Rebecca, daughter 
of Nathaniel and Hannah (Deane) 
Hodges. Children, recorded in Norton : 
Rebecca, mentioned below ; Seth, born 
March 5, 1749; Phebe, November 14, 
1753 ; Reuben, April 29, 1757; John and 
Molle (twins), March 25, 1759; Sarah. 
November 27, 1762. 

(V) Rebecca, eldest child of Seth and 
Rebecca (Hodges) Tisdale, was born 
March 21, 1746, in Norton, and was mar- 
ried, September 30, 1762, to Joseph God- 
frey, of Easton, Massachusetts. 

(VI) Rebecca, daughter of Joseph and 
Rebecca (Tisdale) Godfrey, born Sep- 
tember 27, 1765, in Easton; was married 
(intentions published October 27, 1782, 
in Norton) to Josiah Newcomb, of Nor- 
ton (see Newcomb V). 

(The Newland Line). 

The early records of New England are 
very meagre regarding this name, and the 
burning of the Taunton records over fifty 
years ago makes it impossible to learn 
definitely of many things concerning the 
family. There was an Anthony Newland 
in Salisbury, Massachusetts, in 1650, but 
he disappeared from the records there 
and is supposed to have removed to 
Taunton. William Newland went from 
Lynn, where he must have stayed a very 
short time, to Sandwich, Massachusetts, 
in 1637, and was made a freeman of the 
colony there in 1641. He was representa- 
tive to the General Court in 1642-43-44, 
but was disfranchised October 3, 1655, 
for kindness to Quakers. He married, 
May 19, 1648, Rose Hathaway, whose 
children of record were : Mary, John and 
Mercy. This was, probably, a second 
marriage, as he must have been an adult in 
1637, when he was of record as a citizen. 
It is quite possible that the next men- 
tioned was his son. 

(I) Jeremiah Newland was a resident 
of Taunton as early as 1657, had a wife, 
Katherine, and sons, Anthony, mentioned 
below, and Benjamin, born about 1675. 
Undoubtedly there were others, of whom 
no record can now be found. 

(II) Anthony, son of Jeremiah and 
Katherine Newland, was born August 1, 
1657, in Taunton, and lived in Norton, 
formerly a part of Taunton. He married, 


C I <■ rr /rf j/ f/j J/ lief /n 


December it>, 1682, in Taunton, Esther, 
daughter of Jonah (or Jonas) and Con- 
stance (Lincoln) Austin, of that town. 

(III) Josiah, son of Anthony and 
Esther (Austin) Newland, resided in 
Norton, where he married, February 12, 
1730, Abigail Grover, baptized December 

12, 1714, daughter of Ephraim and Mary 
Grover, of that town. Children, of Nor- 
ton record: Abigail, born November 12, 
1730; Josiah, 1732, died young; Jonathan, 
January 30, 1734; Amos, mentioned be- 
low; Josiah, December 27, 1740; Sarah, 
April 8, 1742; David, May 27, 1752. 

(IV) Amos, third son of Josiah and 
Abigail (Grover) Newland, was born 
June 9, 1738, in Norton, and married 
there, May 2, 1765, Esther Briggs, born 
September 5, 1740, in Norton, daughter 
of Phineas and Esther (Finney) Briggs, 
of that town. Only one child of this mar- 
riage is recorded in Norton. 

(V) Esther, daughter of Amos and 
Esther (Briggs) Newland, was born May 

13, 1766, in Norton, and was married, 
October 24, 1784, to General Thomas Lin- 
coln, of Taunton (see Lincoln V). 

(The Clapp Line). 

(I) Nicholas Clapp, progenitor of the 
family, lived at Venn Ottery, Devon- 
shire, England Three of his sons and 
one daughter, wife of his nephew, Ed- 
ward Clapp, came to America. His 
brother, William Clapp, lived at Sal- 
combe Regis, England, and besides his 
son, Edward ; another son, Roger Clapp, 
immigrated to America, and settled in 
Dorchester. The family genealogy gives 
the name of Richard instead of Nicholas. 
Children : Thomas, mentioned below ; 

Ambrose, lived and died in England ; 
Richard, remained in England; Pru- 
dence, came to New England, married 
her cousin, Edward Clapp; Nicholas, 
born in Dorchester, England, 1612; mar- 
ried Sarah, daughter of William Clapp ; 

John, came to Dorchester, as well as 

(II) Thomas, son of Nicholas Clapp, 
was born in England in 1597. He arrived 
from Weymouth, England, July 24, 1633, 
and in 1634 was at Dorchester, where 
Nicholas and John had settled. He was 
admitted a freeman at Dorchester in 1636, 
moved to Weymouth, Massachusetts, as 
early as 1639, and lived on the farm later 
owned by Hon. Christopher Webb. In 
1640 he removed to Scituate, Massachu- 
setts, was deacon of the church there in 
1647, an d was admitted a freeman of 
Plymouth Colony, June 5, 1644. He \vas 
deputy to the General Court in 1649; 
overseer of the poor in 1667 ; a useful and 
eminent citizen. His farm was in the 
southwest part of the town near Stock- 
bridge’s mill pond, later owned by Calvin 
Jenkins. He died April 20, 1684, aged 
eighty-seven years. His will was dated 
April 19, 1684, stating that he was in his 
eighty-seventh year, bequeathing to wife, 
Abigail, children: Thomas, of Dedham; 
Samuel, Increase, and four daughters. 
Children : Thomas, mentioned below ; In- 
crease, born May, 1640, probably; Sam- 
uel ; Eleazer, moved to Barnstable, killed 
March 15, 1676, by Indians; Elizabeth 
maried Captain Michael P. Pierce; Pru- 
dence, unmarried; John, born October 
18, 1658, died 1671 ; Abigail, January 29, 

(III) Thomas (2), eldest child of 
Thomas (1) and Abigail Clapp, was born 
March 15, 1639, in Weymouth, Massa- 
chusetts, settled at Dedham, Massachu- 
setts, living in that part incorporated in 
1724, as Walpole, and was a house wright. 
His will was dated December 14, 1688, 
and proved January 29, 1691. He mar- 
ried, September 10, 1662, Mary Fisher, of 
Dedham, born January 23, 1644, daugh- 
ter of Joshua and Mary Fisher. Chil- 
dren, born in Dedham: Thomas, men- 
tioned below; John, February 29, 1666; 



Joshua, 1667; Mary, December 13, 1669; 
Eleazer, November 4, 1671 ; Abigail ; 

Hannah; Samuel, August 21, 1682. 

(IV) Thomas (3), eldest son of Thom- 
as (2) and Mary (Fisher) Clapp, was 
born September 26, 1663, in Dedham, and 
was a farmer in his native town, residing 
in the house purchased by his father, 
which stood on his share of the paternal 
estate as divided by will. He was also 
the owner of several other parcels in the 
town. He died January 28, 1704, and was 
survived by his wife, Mary, who married 
(second) Mr. Jennery. Children: Thom- 
as, mentioned below; Mary, born about 
1689; Deborah, 1691; Mehitable, 1694; 
Stephen, 1700; Hannah and Elizabeth. 

(V) Thomas (4), eldest son of Thomas 
(3) and Mary Clapp, was born about 
1686, in Dedham, and was only seventeen 
years old when his father died. I he re- 
sponsibility of the family devolved large- 
ly upon him, and he was made guardian 
of his brother and five sisters on com- 
ing of age. He was an industrious and 
enterprising man and left at his death, 
February 18, 1741, an estate inventoried 
at £1,505 17s. 9d. He married, January 
4, 1715, in Weston, Massachusetts, Han- 
nah Felch, daughter of John and Eliza- 
beth Felch, of that town. Two children 
are recorded in Dedham, but none in 
Walpole, where he lived; Thomas, born 
November 5, 1715, and Hannah, men- 
tioned below. 

(VI) Hannah, eldest daughter of Thom- 
as (4) and Hannah (Felch) Clapp, was 
born March 4, 1719, in Dedham, and be- 
came the wife of Ambrose Lincoln, of 
Taunton (see Lincoln IV). 

WOOD, Oliver B., 

Printer and Publisher. 

William Wood was the immigrant an- 
cestor of Oliver B. Wood, the printer and 
publisher of Worcester, and of Ernest 

Freeman W ood and George Farrar Wood, 
of Winchendon, Massachusetts. 

William Wood was born, according to 
Shattuck, the Concord historian, in Derby- 
shire, England, 1582. He is believed to 
have come to New England early to col- 
lect material for the book, “'New Eng- 
land's Prospects,” an enthusiastic de- 
scription of the new country, responsible 
perhaps for much of the emigration from 
England after its publication in London 
in 1636. William Wood again came to 
America in 1638 with his nephew, Hon. 
Thomas B'lint, and settled in Concord. 
The first mention of the Indian name of 
Concord in print was found in this book 
of Wood’s. He died May 14, 1671, and 
was buried at Concord. His age was 
given at the time of death as eighty-one 
years. His will, dated September 15, 
1670, named the three children given 
below. They were born in England, viz. : 
Michael, see forward ; Ruth, married Cap- 
tain Thomas Wheeler, the valiant Indian 
fighter; Abigail, married at Concord, 
March 24, 1667, Stephen Hosmer. 

(II) Michael Wood, the only son of 
William Wood, was born in England and 
came probably in 1628 with his father to 
Concord. He made his home there on 
what is now Main street, beyond the 
south branch of the river. His near 
neighbors were Obadiah Wheeler, Ed- 
mund Wigley and Goodman Dakin. Pie 
was admitted a freeman, May 13, 1674. 

He married Mary , who survived 

him. Children of Michael Wood and his 
wife, Mary, were: Abraham, settled in 
Sudbury, was father of Deacon Nathan 
Wood, born March 24, 1723, who re- 
moved in 1756 to Westminster, and who 
had fifteen children and many descend- 
ants there ; Abigail, born at Concord, 
April 10, 1642; Thomas or Thompson; 
John ; Nathaniel, died March 7, 1661-62 ; 
Mary, died April 4, 1773; Jacob, born 


public library; I 

J p*:sg rWwDA-nows 


March 3, 1661-62, married Mary Wheeler, 
1697; Isaac, see forward. 

(III) Isaac Wood, son of Michael 
Wood, was born in Concord, Massachu- 
setts, about 1670. He married (first) 

Mary , (second) Elizabeth , 

who died May 12, 1717, and (third) Su- 
sannah Bisco, both of Concord, April 26, 
1722. She survived him. He died Janu- 
ary 11, 1740-41. The only child on record 
of Isaac and Mary was : Mary, born at 
Concord, March 17, 1689-90. The only 
child on record of Isaac and Elizabeth 
was: Elizabeth, born April 8, 1693. "The 
children of Isaac and Susannah Wood 
were: Michael, see forward; Samuel, 

born April 22, 1728; Susannah, born Au- 
gust 19, 1732. 

(IV) Michael (2) Wood, son of Isaac 
Wood, was born in Concord, Massachu- 
setts, July 1, 1724. He settled in Lunen- 
burg where he married (first) Martha 
Platts, daughter of Abel Platts, who was 
the first settler of Rindge, New Hamp- 
shire. He married (second) August 21, 
1764, Lois Wilson, of Lunenburg. Chil- 
dren of Michael and Martha Wood were: 
Isaac, see forward; Mary, born Novem- 
ber 1, 1749; Elizabeth, born April 20, 
1751, married Daniel Graegg, of Rindge, 
New Hampshire; Hannah, born January 
18, 1754. 

(V) Isaac (2) Wood, eldest child of 
Michael (2) Wood, was born in Lunen- 
burg, Massachusetts, September 7, 1746. 
Pie was a Revolutionary soldier. He and 
his cousin, Abel Platts, Jr., were in the 
company of Captain Nathan Hale at the 
Lexington Alarm. April 19, 1775. He 
probably was in the service again. He 
was a mason by trade and also conducted 
his farm. He settled at Rindge, New 
Hampshire, 1772, on the farm now or 
lately owned by his descendants, Jonas 
and John E. Wood. He held positions 
of public honor and trust. He was select- 
man of Rindge in 1785-86. He married, 

January xi, 1770, Elizabeth Hartwell, 
born April 14, 1751, daughter of Jonathan 
and Elizabeth (Tarbell) Hartwell. She 
died November 20, 1819, and he died Jan- 
uary 5, 1836, aged eighty-eight years. All 
their children except the eldest were born 
in Rindge, viz. : Amasa, born in Lunen- 
burg, September 2, 1771 ; Jonathan, see 
forward; Jonas, born December 30, 1774, 
resided at Lenox, New York; Isaac, born 
November 30, 1776; Betty, born October 
11, 1778, died young: Ruth, born Novem- 
ber 7, 1780, married Benjamin Lovejoy; 
David, July 19, 1783; Betty, born Sep- 
tember 10, 1785, married Stephen Emory, 
of Rindge; Caleb, born July 1, 1789, 'died 
1807; Susan, married, March 9, 1826, 
Deacon John W. Bemis ; Eunice, married. 
May 3, 1830, Captain Joseph Hartwell, of 

(VI) Jonathan Wood, son of Isaac (2) 
Wood, was born in Rindge, New Hamp- 
shire, April 17, 1773. He married (first) 
April 10, 1797, Dolly Jones, born May 28, 
1777, daughter of Enos Jones, born in 
Lunenburg, July 4. 1742. Enos Jones 
was the son of William and Sarah 
(Locke) Jones. William Jones at the 
time of his death owned one-half of the 
Bluefield or Bellows grant in Ashburn- 
ham, Massachusetts, and in 1761 Enos 
Jones removed to that town and settled 
on this tract. He was a descendant of 
Lewis Jones, through Captain Josiah 
(II) ; Josiah (III) ; William (IV), who 
settled in Lunenburg; Enos (V). Jona- 
than Wood settled in the north part of 
the town of Ashburnham. His wife died 
there January 18. 1818. He married (sec- 
ond) December 21, 1820, Sarah (Lake! 
Robinson, daughter of Henry and Pru- 
dence Lake, of Rindge, and widow of 
Ezra Robinson. She married (third) 
Amos Stearns; (fourth) May 19, 1842, 
Josiah Hartwell, of Fitchburg. Jonathan 
Wood died September 1, 1825. Children 
of Jonathan and Dolly Wood were: 1. 


Zulima, born November 30, 1799; mar- 
ried, 1823, Asa Dunn, of Fitchburg. 2. 
Laura, born June 20, 1801 ; married, April 
22, 1823, John Vose, of Leominster. 3. 
Dolly, born February 2, 1803 ; married, 
April 8, 1823, Zacheriah Parker, Jr., of 
New Ipswich. 4. Elnathan, born Sep- 
tember 20, 1804, died July 29, 1829. 5. 

George, born September 29, 1805 ; mar- 
ried, September 16, 1827, Luana Law- 
rence. 6. Betsey, born June 25, 1808; 
married, February 6, 1827, Luther Per- 
kins, of Wethersfield. 7. Zoa, born Janu- 
ary 24, 1810, died September 7, 1822. 8. 
Lurena, born December 12, 1812; mar- 
ried, January 16, 1831, Freeman Walcott. 
9. Hartwell, born October 27, 1815; mar- 
ried, 1841, James Snell; she died January 
1, 1843, an d he died July 26, 1846. 10. 

Jonas J., born January 1, 1818; married 
(first) 1852, Lucy Wood, of Mason, New 
Hampshire; she died November 4, 1853; 
married (second) Lydia Parker, of Law- 
rence ; she died August 12, 1859; he re- 
moved in i860 to Winchendon, where he 
died October 13, 1863. Children of Jona- 
than and Sarah Wood were : Eunice K., 
born March 22, 1824, married George P. 
Ward, son of Alvan Ward, of Winchen- 
don ; Eliphalet S., see forward. 

(VII) Eliphalet S. Wood, son of Jona- 
than Wood, was born in Ashburnham, 
Massachusetts, February 2, 1825. He re- 
sided in his native town until 1866, when 
he removed to Winchendon. Lie was ex- 
press agent there from 1866 to 1886. He 
was deputy sheriff from 1870 for many 
years. He was prominent in town affairs 
and filled the offices of constable and 
overseer of the poor. He married, Sep- 
tember 20, 1846, Susan H. Farrar, born 
June 24, 1826, daughter of John Farrar, 
who was born April 15, 1784, and was 
the son of Jacob Farrar, of Concord, 
who married, December 20, 1810, Calle 
Stearns, daughter of William Stearns. 
Calle (Stearns) Farrar died March 26, 

1843, leaving eight children. Mr. Farrar 
married (second) March 13, 1844, Lucy 
Houghton, daughter of Robert and Sarah 
(Jones) Houghton, of Leominster and 
Winchendon. Children of Eliphalet S. 
and Susan H. Wood were: 1. Ella Medi- 
na, born September 23, 1847; married, 
May 25, 1876, John E. Wakefield ; resides 
at 474 Grove street, Worcester; he was 
a wrench manufacturer at 89 Exchange 
street; died April 20, 1910. 2. Frank A., 
born May 9, 1850, died March 2, 1851. 3. 
George Farrar, see forward. 4. Calle A., 
born July 30, 1855; married, January 20, 
1876, John W. Beaman, of Winchen- 
don, son of William Beaman. 5. Oliver 
Brooks, see forward. 6. Walter L., born 
October 17, 1859, died June 25, 1864. 7. 
Ernest Freeman, see forward. 8. Cora 
Etta, born April 4, 1867. 

(VIII) George Farrar Wood, son of 
Eliphalet S. Wood, was born at Winchen- 
don, Massachusetts, August 21, 1851. He 
removed with his parents to Ashburnham 
at an early age, and was educated in the 
common schools of that town. He re- 
moved to Winchendon with his parents 
in 1866. He attended public schools there 
and was two years in the high school. 
He also took a course in the business 
college of Bryant & Stratton, of Boston. 
He began his business life in the employ 
of C. C. Parker, of Winchendon, proprie- 
tor of a general store. At the end of 
three years he bought the business of Mr. 
Parker. The store was located in the 
Tucker Rice Block, just above the rail- 
road station. Two or three years later 
the store was removed to its present loca- 
tion in the block built by himself and 
father. After his father’s death he bought 
the interests of the other heirs in the 
building and is now the sole owner. Mr. 
Wood attends the North Congregational 
Church at Winchendon. He is a member 
of Manamonack Lodge, No. 121, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows; Watatic 


Tribe, Improved Order of Red Men; 
Avon Club, and Winchendon Country 
Club. In politics he is a Republican. He 
married, August 25, 1874, Alice Harriet 
Merrill, born February 2, 1849, daughter 
of Edwin S. and Harriet (Hand) Merrill. 
Mrs. Wood died January 18, 1905. Her 
father was postmaster of Winchendon for 
forty years. The children of George 
Farrar and Alice Harriet Wood were: 
Marguerite and Ethel Harriet ; Mar- 
guerite is now deceased. 

(VIII) Oliver Brooks Wood, son of 
Eliphalet S. Wood, was born in Ashburn- 
ham, Massachusetts, February 7, 1857. 
He attended the public schools in Win- 
chendon, and at the age of twelve began 
to work in a printing office there. With 
the exception of five years spent in at- 
tending school, he has been actively en- 
gaged since then in the printing business. 
When a young man he became foreman 
of the newspaper and job office of the 
“Franklin County Times” at Greenfield, 
Massachusetts. He worked later in offices 
in Fitchburg and Chicago. In 1878 he 
returned east and took charge of the job 
printing establishment of Edward R. 
Fiske, in Worcester, one of the largest 
printing establishments in the city. In 
1880 he engaged with Sanford & Com- 
pany, stationers and printers, Worcester, 
as foreman of their printing department. 
In 1882 he purchased a half interest in the 
business which was conducted thereafter 
under the firm name of Sanford & Wood. 
A few months later he became the sole 
owner and has carried on the printing 
business with marked success to the 
present time. In 1894, having outgrown 
the old quarters on Maple street, he re- 
moved to the commodious Graphic Arts 
Building, No. 25 Foster street, where his 
establishment occupies the entire fifth 
and sixth floors. Branch offices are main- 
tained in Boston and New York. In 1912 
the business was incorporated under Mas- 

sachusetts laws under the name of the 
Commonwealth Press, Oliver B. Wood, 
president and treasurer, E. H. Marsh, 
vice-president, and Hamilton B. Wood, 
secretary and assistant treasurer. They 
make law and mercantile printing a 
specialty, and the work of the office has 
always maintained a high reputation for 
excellence and accuracy. Mr. Wood is 
connected with several Masonic, military, 
social and other organizations in Wor- 
cester, and has been president of the 
Worcester Typotheta. In politics he is 
a Republican. Mr. Wood married, Octo- 
ber 19, 1882, Jennie Chase Flagg, of Graf- 
ton, Massachusetts (see Flagg VII). 
Their children are : Olive Marguerite, 
Roger Hamilton, deceased, Hamilton 
Brooks, and Gladys Jeanette. 

(VIII) Ernest Freeman Wood, son of 
Eliphalet S. Wood, was born at North 
Ashburnham, Massachusetts, June 18, 
1863. When he was three years old he 
removed with his parents to Winchen- 
don. Massachusetts, where he was edu- 
cated in the public schools. After three 
years’ course in the high school he en- 
tered the employ of the American Ex- 
press Company. A few years later he re- 
ceived an appointment to the position of 
Winchendon agent of the American 
National Express Companies, but at the 
present time is retired from business pur- 
suits. Mr. Wood held the appointment 
of deputy sheriff for Winchendon after 
his father, but resigned at the end of a 
year. He attends the North Congrega- 
tional Church at Winchendon. In poli- 
tics he is a Republican. He is a mem- 
ber of Artisan Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of Winchendon; North 
Star Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; of 
Naumkeag Council, Royal Arcanum; of 
Watatic Tribe, Improved Order of Red 
Men ; of the Avon Club and Winchendon 
Country Club. He married, October 10, 
1888, Elizabeth Clara Bennett, daughter 


of Charles N. and Elizabeth (Tryon) 
Bennett. Her father was a carpenter 
and contractor at Manchester, Vermont. 
She is a well-known soprano soloist. She 
has been the leading soprano for twelve 
years at the North Congregational 
Church, and she was for two years in a 
similar position in the Leominster Con- 
gregational Church. The children of 
Ernest Freeman and Elizabeth Clara 
Wood: Madeline Bennett, born Febru- 
ary 6, 1890; Elizabeth Nelson, born June 
12, 1892. 

(IX) Hamilton Brooks Wood, son of 
Oliver Brooks Wood, was born in Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts, May 28, 1889. He 
was educated in the public and high 
schools, of his native city, graduating in 
the class of 1906, having taken a promi- 
nent part in athletics and music, and then 
entered Williams College, from which in- 
stitution of learning he graduated in the 
class of 1910. He was a member of the 
college football team (playing centre) 
and college track team, leader of the 
College Glee Club in 1909-10, member of 
the Mandolin Club, Banjo Club, orches- 
tra, choir, author of several of the college 
songs, was class marshal, an honor elec- 
tive for the senior year, one of the 
editors of the “Williams College Song 
Book,” and is permanent life secretary of 
his class. He is a member of the Zeta 
Psi fraternity and Gargoyle Society of 
Williams College. In the summer of 
1906 he entered upon his active business 
career in the composing room of the 
printing establishment of the Common- 
wealth Press, remaining for a period of 
two years, and at the present time (1916) 
is serving in the capacity of secretary and 
assistant treasurer of the Commonwealth 
Press, incorporated in 1912 under Massa- 
chusetts laws, with Oliver B. Wood, 
president and treasurer, E. H. Marsh, 
vice-president, and Hamilton B. Wood, 
secretary and assistant treasurer. He 

was a member of the mixed quartette at 
the Westboro Congregational Church 
from the fall of 1914 to the spring of 1916, 
and is a member of the Worcester County 
Musical Association, Worcester Publicity 
Association, of which he is a director 
(1916), Ouinsigamond Club, Worcester 
Country Club, Worcester Fish and Game 
Club, Worcester Commercial Travelers, 
and Worcester County Mechanics’ Asso- 

Mr. Wood married, November 26, 1912, 
Helen Osgood Bradley, born in Worces- 
cester, Massachusetts, June 16, 1888, 
daughter of John Erving and Emma 
M. (Dingley) Bradley (see Bradley), 
and they are the parents of one child, 
Elizabeth, born January 18, 1915. Mrs. 
Wood attended the public and high 
schools of Worcester, graduated in class 
of 1906 as a Grade A pupil (first class), 
then entered Smith College, and gradu- 
ated with the degree of A. B. in class of 
1910; was a member of the Phi Kappa 
Psi, and president of the “College Settle- 
ment” for one year, this being a junior 
honor. She is a member of the Congre- 
gational church. 

(The Flagg Line). 

The family name is found in the Eng- 
lish records spelled (as it was by the 
earlier members in America) Flegg. An- 
other form is Flegge, used often in Eng- 
lish records, and we also find Flag, Flege, 
Flegh, Fleght, Fleggh and Flight. And 
it is not until about 1700 that we find it 
spelled Flagg. At that time the family in 
New England seems to have generally 
adopted this form. Tradition says that 
the family had its origin in one Rowl 
Flegg, a Norman viking, who ravished 
the eastern coast of England and made a 
settlement in Norfolk about 868. The 
family has been traced many generations 
in England before its arrival in this coun- 
try. Tt is of undoubted Norman origin, 



as in the early generations it is used with 
the French prefix de. In the latter part 
of the twelfth century, the family of De 
Flegg was seated in the County of Nor- 
folk on the east coast, where are found 
the hundreds of East and West Flegg, 
and where they held grants of land in the 
reign of Henry II. In the southeast 
corner of Norfolk there is a dense Dan- 
ish settlement, occupying the hundreds 
of East and West Flegg. The Norse 
word Flegg (Danish, Vlak) means flat, 
and this territory occupies a space some 
eight miles by seven, well protected on 
every side byr the sea. That the family 
was not of Saxon origin is indicated by 
its residence in this Danish settlement 
and its affiliation with Norman families 
so soon after the reign of William the 
Conqueror. It is probable that it was 
of either Danish or Norman origin and 
took its name from the Danish hundreds 
when it held grants of land, De Flegg 
meaning of Flegg. In the reign of King 
Stephen, East and West Flegg were 
granted by him to his nephew, Henry, 
then abbot, and the monks of St. Ben- 
nett. Flegg Hall, the seat of the family in 
Norfolk in feudal times, was occupied by 
Sir John De Flegg, lord in the right of 
Margaret, his wife. In the reign of 
Henry II. the family had an interest in 
the town of Winteron. At this time there 
were living in the County of Norfolk two 
brothers, Alger and Henry De Flegg. 
The latter was prior of Norwich in 1168, 
and the former was living in 1160. Henry, 
son of Alger De Flegg, of Flegg Hall and 
Hickling in the hundreds of West Flegg 
in 1204, is mentioned in records in the 
first year of King John, 1199, as holding 
patents to three divisions of land. Sir 
John, son of Henry De Flegg, had wife 
Beatrix, and three sons: Sir John, Thom- 
as and William. Sir John Flagg sold the 
family estate and went on crusades. His 
son. Thomas Flagg, of Swafield, County 

Norfolk, England, 1241, had by wife 
Dionisia sons Roger, Arthur and Wil- 
liam. The latter was the father of Henry, 
1320. The last named may have been the 
father of the next mentioned. 

(I) William Flegg died in 1426, leav- 
ing sons, William and Thomas. 

(II) Thomas Flegg, second son of Wil- 
liam Flegg, resided in County Norfolk, 
where he died in 1471. 

(III) William (2) Flegg, son of Thom- 
as Flegg, resided in Swafield, County 
Norfolk, in 1521, in the reign of Henry 
VIII., and had five sons: William, Rich- 
ard, Thomas, John and James. 

(IV) Richard Flegg, surviving son of 
William (2) Flegg, resided in Shipdham, 
County Norfolk, and left a will which 
was proved May 28, 1587, in which he 
mentioned his wife Margaret. They had 
children: William, Richard, John, Alice 
and Ralph. 

(V) John Flegg, third son of Richard 

and Margaret Flegg. resided in Foxham, 
County Norfolk, and made a will dated 
September 3, 1613, proved in Norwich, 
February 15, 1617. He married Aveline, 
widow of J. Robinson, deputy of Ben- 
nington, and had children : Allan, Bar- 

tholomew and Rebecca. 

(VI) Bartholomew Flagg, second son 
of John and Aveline Flegg, of Whin- 
bergh, had a wife Alice, and sons: Sam- 
uel, Thomas, Francis and John. 

(I) Thomas (2) Flagg, second son of 
Bartholomew and Alice Flagg, was bap- 
tized in 1615, at Whinbergh, and sailed 
for America in 1637, being then twenty- 
one years of age, and settled in Water- 
town, in the province of Massachusetts 
Bay. He came as a servant of Richard 
Carver from Scratby in the hundred of 
East Flegg, a few miles north of Yar- 
mouth. Tradition says that a love affair 
brought him from England, and he may 
have registered as a servant of Richard 
Carver in order to avoid the difficulties 



which were thrown in the way of immi- 
gration to the non-conformist colonies of 
New England. He settled at Watertown 
as early as 1641, and was selectman there 
in 1671-74-75-76-78-81-85-87. He was pro- 
prietor of two lots in 1644, one of which 
covered twenty acres previously granted 
to John Rose, and the other a home-stall 
of six acres. He was not the original 
grantee of either. His home-stall was in 
the extreme southwest part of Water- 
town, one-half mile north of the Charles 
river and not far from the present town 
of Waltham, being on the Sudbury road, 
now' Main street. He was never admitted 
freeman, but was released from training 
before 1660 by paying the company five 
shillings per annum, and was fully re- 
leased by the court, April 5, 1681, when 
his eldest son was forty years old. He 
lost an eye by the accidental discharge of 
a gun previous to 1659, and died Febru- 
ary 6, 1698. He w'as probably buried in 
the old graveyard of Watertown, the 
only cemetery previous to 1704. He mar- 
ried soon after his arrival, but nothing 
can be learned of this event, save that 
his wife’s baptismal name was Mary. 
Children: John, born June 14, 1643; Bar- 
tholomew, February 23, 1645; Thomas, 
April 28, 1646; Gershom ; Michael, March 
23, 1651; Eleazer, May 14, 1653; Eliza- 
beth, March 22, 1655; Mary, June 14, 
1657; Rebecca, September 5, 1660; Ben- 
jamin, mentioned below; Allen, May 16, 

(II) Benjamin Flagg, seventh son of 
Thomas and Mary Flagg, was born June 

25, 1662, in Watertown, was an early pro- 
prietor of Worcester, where he died May 
3, 1741. He was admitted a freeman, 
April 19, 1690. He married, September 

26, 1690, Experience Child, born Febru- 
ary 26, 1676, daughter of Richard and 
Mehitable (Dimmick) Child, of Water- 
town, died 1747. Children: Benjamin, 
mentioned below ; Experience, born May 

5, 1693; Abigail, April 16, 1695; Bar- 
tholomew, November 16, 1698; Elizabeth, 
December 28, 1699; Gershom, July 11, 
1702; Ebenezer, January 21, 1706; Rich- 
ard, May 30, 1708. 

(III) Benjamin (2) Flagg, eldest child 
of Benjamin (1) and Experience (Child) 
Flagg, was born August 25, 1691, in 
Watertown, w r as captain of militia, select- 
man and second sheriff of the county, 
dying while the incumbent of that office 
at Worcester, June 12, 1751. He married, 
January 25, 1716, Elizabeth Fiske, born 
June 24, 1692, in Watertown, daughter of 
Nathaniel and Mary (Warren) Fiske, 
granddaughter of Nathan Fiske, who 
settled at Watertown in 1642 with his 
wife Susanna. Elizabeth (Fiske) Flagg 
died at Worcester, November 30, 1760. 
Children: Elizabeth, born May 24, 1717; 
Abigail, married Samuel Hubbard ; Ben- 

(IV) Colonel Benjamin (3) Flagg, son 
of Benjamin (2) and Elizabeth (Fiske) 
Flagg, was born August 23, 1723, in Wor- 
cester, where he filled many town offices, 
and died October 8, 1818. He was cap- 
tain of a company of minute-men which 
marched on the Lexington Alarm, serv- 
ing seven days. His son, Benjamin, born 
1746, was a sergeant of the same com- 
pany. Benjamin (3) Flagg was an officer 
of the Worcester county militia, proposed 
by the Legislature. January 12, 1776, and 
was commissioned February 2, of the 
same year. He was lieutenant-colonel of 
Colonel Samuel Denny’s (First Worces- 
ter County) regiment in this service, and 
subsequently under the same commander, 
regiment marched August 19, 1777, to re- 
inforce the northern army. He died 
October 8, 1818. From the epitaph on his 
tombstone we learn that he was select- 
man from 1766 to 1777, inclusive, and an 
original member of the American Politi- 
cal Society. The Worcester “Spy” of 
October 14, 1818, contained the following 


obituary : “A distinguished Revolution- 
ary Patriot deceased in this town on the 
8th inst., Col. Benj. Flagg aged 95, the 
oldest man in this town. His remaining 
posterity are four children, forty-one 
grand children and eighty-three great- 
grand-children. At this advanced age he had 
outlived many more of each generation. 
Few have lived so long and descended to 
the grave more respected.” He married 
Abigail Chadwick, born November 24, 
1725, in Watertown, daughter of John 
and Plannah Chadwick, and they had 
sons: Benjamin, Aaron and Phineas. 

(V) Aaron Flagg, son of Colonel Ben- 
jamin (3) and Abigail (Chadwick) Flagg, 
was born in 1769, died in 1836. 

(VI) Samuel Curtis Flagg, son of 

Aaron Flagg, was born in 1813, and lived 
in Grafton, Massachusetts, where he died 
October 22, 1886. He married, Novem- 
ber 23, 1836, in Grafton, Elizabeth Wood 
Meriam, born January 9, 1816, in that 
town, daughter of Tarrant and Anna 
(Kimball) Meriam. Children: Anna 

Elizabeth, born January 17, 1839; Caro- 
line Augusta, March 5, 1843, died 1846; 
Caroline L., January 11, 1847; Ida 

Frances, December 17, 1850; and Jennie 
Chase, mentioned below. 

(VII) Jennie Chase Flagg, youngest 
child of Samuel Curtis and Elizabeth 
Wood (Meriam) Flagg, was born March 
23, 1857, in Grafton, and became the wife 
of Oliver Brooks Wood, of Worcester 
(see Wood VIII). 

LINCOLN, Theodore G., 

Esteemed Citizen. 

The family of Lincoln is among the 
oldest in this country, early established 
in Hingham, Massachusetts, where sev- 
eral brothers were among the pioneer im- 
migrants, and where there were several 
bearing the name of Thomas. The early 
generations of this family, the ancestry 

of Theodore Gary Lincoln, of Taunton, 
are described at length elsewhere in this 
work. The immigrant ancestor was 
Thomas Lincoln, the miller, whose sec- 
ond son, Samuel, born at Hingham, Eng- 
land, or in that vicinity, settled in Taun- 
ton, Massachusetts. His eldest child was 
Samuel (2) Lincoln, born in Taunton, 
and lived in that town, where he reached 
the age of seventy-five years. He mar- 
ried Experience Briggs, of Taunton, and 
their eldest son was Ambrose Lincoln, 
who resided in Norton, Massachusetts, 
formerly a part of Taunton. He married 
Hannah Clapp, and they were the parents 
of General Thomas Lincoln, a conspicu- 
ous officer in the War of 1812, whose 
service is detailed at length on another 

(V) Theodore Leonard Lincoln, fourth 
son of General Thomas and Esther (New- 
land) Lincoln, was born March 13, 1801, 
in Taunton, and his long life was passed 
amidst congenial surroundings, until his 
death July 14, 1887. In boyhood he was 
wont to assist in the labors of the pater- 
nal farm, giving a few months of each 
year to study at the neighboring district 
school. He prepared for college at Phil- 
lips Andover Academy, and at the Uni- 
versity Grammar School in Providence. 
At the latter institution he was under the 
instruction of Jesse Hartwell, afterwards 
president of Mt. Lebanon University. 
His college course at Brown University 
was completed in 1825, after which he 
read law in the office of the late Theophi- 
lus Parsons, of Taunton, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1828. In college he 
was a classmate of the late Barnas Sears, 
president of Brown University from 1855 
to 1867. After a few years in the practice 
of law, in Taunton, Mr. Lincoln suc- 
ceeded to the estate of his father in North 
Taunton, where he engaged in agricul- 
tural pursuits during the remainder of his 
life. For more than half a century he 



lived upon the paternal homestead, en- 
joying the respect and esteem of his con- 
temporaries. He is described as a gentle- 
man of the old school, who found de- 
light in domestic, life, and cared not for 
public honors. For several years he 
served as justice of the peace, but could 
not be prevailed upon to accept any other 
public office. He sustained in every way 
the dignity and character of the family, 
for which his ancestors were noted. He 
married, October 16, 1831, Belinda Gary, 
and they were the parents of the follow- 
ing children, all born in Taunton : Belin- 
da L., born December 14 (town record 
December 12), 1832, died January 5, 1907. 
married Rev. Charles A. Snow ; Caroline. 
June 4, 1834, married Henry P. Crocker, 
and lives at North Raynham ; Fanny, 
September 26, 1836, died January 30, 
1864; Theodore Gary, mentioned below; 
Jane, January 23, 1842, married Gustavus 
L. Wilbur; Henry F., August 14, 1844, 
married Edna A. Lothrop ; Daniel, De- 
cember 3, 1848, living in North Taunton, 

(VI) Theodore Gary, eldest son of 
Theodore L. and Belinda (Gary) Lin- 
coln, was born June 11, 1839, in Taunton, 
and was educated in the local school of 
North Taunton and fitted for college at 
Bristol Academy. Following in the foot- 
steps of his father, he entered Brown 
University, but was prevented by ill 
health from completing the course. He 
began his business career in a store con- 
ducted by Mr. Farnham, at Whittenton. 
Massachusetts, and later engaged in 
farming in North Taunton. Returning 
to business he entered the shipping de- 
partment of the Taunton Tack Company, 
of whose plant he became in time super- 
intendent, and continued with this estab- 
lishment for a period of eleven years, 
ending in 1889. In 1884 he moved his 
residence from North Taunton to Ingalls 

street in the city of Taunton, where he 
continued until 1889, when he bought a 
tract of sixty-five acres, with residence at 
No. 215 County street, in which he spent 
the balance of his days. Lie was a man 
of domestic taste, and took much pleasure 
in constructing the excellent set of build- 
ings upon his homestead. A man of 
sound character and clear mind, he was 
respected and esteemed by all who came 
under his influence. In political principle 
a stanch Republican, but he never aspired 
to public station. His death occurred at 
his home on County street, April 28, 1907. 
A man of outspoken opinions and the 
most unimpeachable integrity. Mr. Lin- 
coln exercised great influence in the com- 
munity where he lived. He was a lover 
of justice, and all his actions and words 
were guided by the highest principles. 
He was much devoted to his family, and 
endeavored to start his children in life 
with the most advantageous surround- 
ings and the best instruction in sound 
principles. Mr. Lincoln married, March 
18, 1862, Sarah Ellen Lothrop, born 

March 24, 1840, daughter of Cornelius W. 
and Eleanor (Smith) Lothrop. Mrs. Lin- 
coln was educated in Taunton, at Whea- 
ton Seminary of Norton, Massachusetts, 
and Pierce Academy, of Middleboro, 
Massachusetts. For three years she was 
a teacher in the Taunton schools. She 
is a descendant of one of the oldest fami- 
lies of Plymouth and Bristol counties 
(see Lothrop VII). Children; 

1. Frederick Theodore, born April 26, 1863, 
His education was supplied by the schools of 
Taunton, including the high school, followed by 
a four years’ course at Harvard University, from 
which he was graduated in 1886. After leaving 
college he engaged in teaching at Bristol Acad- 
emy, Taunton, Massachusetts, where he died 
May 18, 1889. He married, April 13, 1888, 
Helena E. Wilbur, daughter of Silas and Emily 
(Leach) Wilbur, of North Raynham, and they 
were the parents of a daughter, Emily Ellen, 



born April 19, 1889, died May 12, 1889. Mrs. 
Lincoln married (second) William B. Dean, of 

2. Louis Lothrop, born November 1, 1870, was 
educated in the public schools of Taunton, and 
at the School of Mechanic Arts in Boston. He 
is now president of the Leonard & Baker Stove 
Company, of Taunton. He married, June 27, 
1901, Flora Frances Hall, born December 13, 
1877, daughter of Anthony and Frances (Sta- 
ples) Hall. 

3. Alfred Newland, born December 15, 1871, 
passed through the high school at Taunton, and 
is now manager of the homestead farm on 
County street, one of the largest dairy farmers 
in Taunton, keeping about twenty-five head of 
cattle. His mother and sister share the home- 
stead with him as a residence. 

4. Frank Oscar, born January 21, 1874, was 
educated in the high school of Taunton, and is 
now western agent for the Morse Twist Drill 
Company, of New Bedford, with headquarters 
at Chicago. He married, September 21, 1897, 
Cora A. Padelford, born January 18, 1876. 
They have a daughter, Dorothy Eleanor, born 
December 9, 1902. 

5. Helen Beatrice, born July 18, 1876, resides 
on the homestead, is deeply interested in genea- 
logical studies, a member of Lydia Cobb Chap- 
ter, Daughters of the American Revolution, of 
Taunton, and also of the Taunton Woman’s 

(The Lothrop Line). 

The Lothrop family is an old one of 
Massachusetts. The name Lowthrop, 
Lothrop or Lathrop is derived from Low- 
thorp, a small parish in the wapentake of 
Dickering, East Riding of Yorkshire, 
England, four and a half miles northeast 
from Great Driffield, and a perpetual 
curacy in the archdeaconry of York. The 
church there was an ancient institution, 
said to have been built about the time of 
Edward III. 

(I) Mark Lothrop was born in Eng- 
land, and was a kinsman of Thomas 
Lothrop, who settled in Beverly, Massa- 
chusetts, was a prominent officer there, 
and left no issue. Mark Lothrop was in 
Salem before 1642, in which year his 
name appears on the list of proprietors. 

He was formally accepted as an inhabi- 
tant of Salem, December 11, 1643, by the 
vote of the selectmen. At that time he 
made request for some ground near to his 
kinsman, Thomas Lothrop. One week 
later he was granted a “spot of medow” 
near Wenham. He had a grant of land 
May 17, 1652 ; in 1657 was one of the pro- 
prietors of the town of Bridgewater, Mas- 
sachusetts, and had been living there a 
year or more. He took the oath of fidel- 
ity in 1657, was a constable in 1658, and 
for twenty-five years thereafter was a 
prominent citizen, acting on the jury, the 
grand jury, as surveyor of highways and 
on committees to lay out new roads. He 
died at Bridgewater, October 25, 1685, 
and his son Samuel was administrator. 
His three sons were all admitted freemen 
in 1682. Children : Elizabeth, married 
Samuel Packard ; Samuel, mentioned be- 
low; Mark, born 1660, died in the Phipps 
expedition to Quebec in 1690; Edward, 
died unmarried 1682. 

(II) Samuel, son of Mark Lothrop, 
born about 1660. in Bridgewater, Massa- 
chusetts, was reported of age and pro- 
prietor of Bridgewater in 1682. He was 
impressed for service in 1675, but was 
not called upon to fight in the war, the 
constables who impressed him being fined 
instead because he was unfit for duty — 
probably under age. His will was dated 
April 11, 1724, and he calls himself “old.” 
He bequeathed to Mary Keith, Josiah’s 
wife; to his sons, Samuel, John, Mark 
and Joseph, also Edward, executor. Sam- 
uel Lothrop married Sarah Downe, and 
their children were: Mary, born October 
28, 1683, at West Bridgewater; Samuel, 
May 17, 1685; John, October 15, 1687; 
Mark, mentioned below ; Sarah and Jo- 
seph (twins), June 5, 1693; Edward, July 
7, 1697. 

(III) Mark (2), third son of Samuel 
and Sarah (Downe) Lothrop, was born 



September 9, 1689, in Bridgewater, and 
settled in Easton, Massachusetts, on land 
conveyed to him by his father. He was 
one of the proprietors of that town when 
incorporated, was active in founding the 
first church of Easton, was selectman 
four years, and declined to serve after a 
fifth election, in 1643. He married, March 
29, 1722, Hannah Alden, born February 
1, 1696, daughter of Deacon Joseph (2) 
and Hannah (Dunham) Alden, grand- 
daughter of Joseph (1) and Mary (Sim- 
ons) Alden, great-granddaughter of John 
Alden and Priscilla (Mullins) Alden, of 
the Mayflower Colony. He had three 
sons: Jonathan, mentioned below; Jo- 
seph, born March 23, 1725; Seth, July 7, 

(IV) Jonathan, son of Mark (2) and 
Hannah (Alden) Lothrop, was born 
March 11, 1723, in Easton, was a deacon 
of the church, prominent in town affairs, 
and died in 1771. He married, April 13, 
1746, Susannah Johnson, born 1723, 
daughter of Solomon and Susannah (Ed- 
son) Johnson. Children: Susannah, born 
October 3, 1748, died December 17, 1748; 
Susannah, died young; Mary, May 8, 
i/53 ; Jonathan, July 13, 1755 ; Sarah, Jan- 
uary 29, 1758; Solomon, mentioned be- 
low; Susannah, November 2, 1766. 

(V) Solomon, youngest son of Jona- 
than and Susannah (Johnson) Lothrop, 
was born February 9, 1761, in Easton, 
where he resided until after 1801, when 
he removed to Norton, Massachusetts, 
and died there October 19, 1843. He mar- 
ried Mehitable, daughter of Cornelius 
White, of Taunton, born 1759, died Sep- 
tember 14, 1832. Children: Celia, born 
August 30, 1784; Howell, mentioned be- 
low; James, June 29, 1789; Solomon, June 
17, 1791 ; Mehitable, June 23, 1793 ; Susan, 
May 22, 1795; Darius, April 4, 1797; Dan- 
iel, January 9, 1801. 

(VI) Howell, eldest son of Solomon 
and Mehitable (White) Lothrop, was 

born April 16, 1787, in Easton, where he 
was a farmer, and engaged for some time 
in the manufacture of straw braid. He 
died in Taunton, Massachusetts, June 9, 
1857. He married (first) Sally, daughter 
of Captain Timothy and Sarah (Smith) 
White, of Taunton, born September 2, 
1784, died September 2, 1822 (see White 
V). He married (second) Nancy C. 
Phillips, a widow, daughter of Ambrose 
Lincoln, of Raynham, born June 9, 1790, 
died November 10, 1842. He married 
(third) November 25, 1845, Mary Wil- 
bur, a widow. Children : Sally Maria 
White, born January 9, 1810, died in 
twentieth year; Cornelius White, men- 
tioned below ; Melinda M., August 5, 
1814, died at the age of six months; 
Laura Elizabeth, June 17, 1816, married 
Joseph S. Pauli ; Susan, December 5, 1818, 
married William Eddy ; Lucy, twin of 
Susan, married Alden Woodward, of 
Taunton, and they removed to New 
Castle, Pennsylvania ; Mary, died at the 
age of three months; Mary L., June 18, 
1826, married Lloyd Wilbur; Warren 
Howell, December 10, 1829; Sarah C., 
August 9, 1834, married John Bassett. 

(VII) Cornelius White, eldest son of 
Howell and Sally (White) Lothrop, was 
born March 28, 1812, in Easton, and early 
in life engaged in the manufacture of 
straw braid. He invested in lands, be- 
came a large farmer, and died December 
8, 1847, as the result of the bursting of a 
circular saw in a sawmill which he was 
operating in Raynham, in association 
with his brother-in-law, Lloyd Wilbur. 
He married a widow, Eleanor Lincoln, 
daughter of James Smith, of Taunton. 
She died in Taunton, November 25, 1872. 
Children: 1. Charles Henry, born Sep- 
tember 3, 1831, was a physician practic- 
ing at Lyons, Iowa. 2. Thomas Jackson, 
born March 2, 1834, graduated at Har- 
vard College, was admitted to the bar at 
Taunton in 1858, was quartermaster of 


the Fourth Massachusetts Regiment, 
which participated in Banks disastrous 
expedition up the Red River during the 
Civil War. While in Louisiana he was 
appointed port commissary at Brashear 
City, in that State. In 1863 he was elect- 
ed representative from Taunton, and the 
following year was elected treasurer of 
Bristol county, filling that position nine 
years. He was for several years treas- 
urer of the Old Colony Historical Society, 
eighteen years on school committee of 
Taunton, and was one of the organizers 
of the Prohibition part}' as a political 
movement in Massachusetts. He married 
Caroline Prescott. 3. Sarah Ellen, men- 
tioned below. 

(VIII) Sarah Ellen, only daughter of 
Cornelius White and Eleanor (Smith) 
Lothrop, was born March 24, 1840, in 
Taunton, and was married, March 18, 
1862, to Theodore G. Lincoln, of Taun- 
ton (see Lincoln VI). 

(The White Line). 

(I) Nicholas White, undoubtedly a na- 
tive of England, was a freeman of Dor- 
chester, Massachusetts, in 1643, and pur- 
chased land there in 1647. He married 
Susanna, daughter of Jonas and Frances 
Humphrey, of Dorchester. 

(II) Nicholas (2), eldest son of Nich- 
olas (1 ) and Susanna (Humphrey) White, 
lived in Taunton, probably on Dean 
street, was a large landowner, and died 
in Norton, January 18, 1728. He married, 
December 9, 1673, Ursula, daughter of 
William and Ursula Macomber, of Marsh- 
field, Massachusetts. 

(III) Thomas, son of Nicholas (2) and 
Ursula (Macomber) White, lived on the 
northerly side of Prospect Hill, in Taun- 
ton, where he died late in the year 1730. 
He married Abigail, daughter of John and 
Joanna (Thayer) Crossman, born Octo- 
ber 7, 1690, died January 22, 1767. 

(IV) John, second son of Thomas and 
Abigail (Crossman) White, resided on 
the east side of Scadding’s Pond, was a 
large farmer, and died January 26, 1806. 
He married, May 30, 1746, Mary, daugh- 
ter of Nicholas and Jerusha (Leonard) 
Smith, of Taunton, born February 21, 
1728, died after December 6, 1806. 

(V) Captain Timothy White, fourth son 
of Thomas and Mary (Smith) White, was 
born in 1761, was a farmer on the easterly 
side of Scadding’s Pond, and was a sol- 
dier of the Revolution. He was a pri- 
vate in Captain Isaac Thayer’s (Inde- 
pendent) company, Colonel Thomas Mar- 
shall’s regiment, from July 10, 1776,. to 
January 1, 1777. He was in Captain 
Isaac Leonard’s company, Colonel John 
Hathaway’s regiment, marched April, 
1777, to Tiverton, serving twenty-two 
days. Later he became a member of 
Captain Matthew Kendall’s company, 
Colonel John Daggett’s regiment, from 
January 9 to April 1, 1778, serving two 
months and twenty-four days at Rhode 
Island, regiment raised for three months’ 
service. He was in Captain Jacob Haw- 
kins’ company, Colonel John Jacobs’ 
regiment, eleven days from June 1, 1778. 
He was a member of Captain Peletiah 
Eddy’s company under Colonel Hatha- 
way, from March 23 to April 15, 1779, at 
Rhode Island. He was a corporal in Cap- 
tain Jacob Haskins’ company, Colonel 
Abial Mitchell’s regiment, from July 27 
to October 31, 1780, three months and 
six days, regiment raised to reinforce the 
Continental army for three months. He 
died February 24, 1842, in Taunton. He 
married (first) November 7, 1782, Sarah, 
daughter of Seth and Sarah (Cobb) 
Smith, of Norton, born November 8, 1758, 
died January 14, 1832, in Taunton. 

(VI) Sally, eldest daughter of Timo- 
thy and Sarah (Smith) White, was born 
September 2, 1790, in Taunton, and was 



married, April 3, 1809, to Howell Loth- 
rop, of Easton, Massachusetts (see Loth- 
rop VI). 

(The Wilbur Line). 

(I) Samuel Wildbore was born in Eng- 
land, and is believed to have come to this 
country before 1633, with his wife and 
several children. The Christian name of 
his first wife was Ann, and reliable ac- 
counts mention her as a daughter of 
Thomas Bradford, of Lancaster, York- 
shire, England, from which part of the 
dominion Samuel himself is said to have 
come. His second wife was Elizabeth, 
widow of Thomas Lechford. The year 
of Samuel’s birth is not known, but he 
died September 29, 1656. He was made 
freeman in Boston in 1633, and with his 
wife Ann was admitted to the church in 
December of the same year. In 1634 he 
was assessor of taxes, and on November 
20, 1637, was one of the several disarmed 
“in consequence of having been seduced 
and led into dangerous error by the opin- 
ions and revelations of Mr. Wheelwright 
and Mrs. Hutchinson,” and therefore 
being given license to depart the colony 
he took up his place of abode in the 
colony of Rhode Island. He is next re- 
corded in Portsmouth, Rhode Island, 
where on March 7, 1638, he was one of 
eighteen who entered into the following 
compact: “We, whose names are under- 
written do here solemnly in the presence 
of Jehovah incorporate ourselves into a 
Bodie Politick, and as he shall help, will 
submit our persons, lives and estates, 
unto our Lord Jesus Christ, the King of 
Kings, and Lord of Lords, and to all 
those perfect and most absolute laws of 
his given us in his holy word of truth, 
to be guided and judged thereby.” It is 
evident that Samuel Wildbore was a per- 
son of some consequence in the planta- 
tion at Portsmouth, for in 1638 he was 
president at a public meeting, upon 

notice, and in the same year was chosen 
clerk of the train band. In 1639 he was 
made constable and given an allotment of 
a neck of land lying in the great cove, 
containing about two acres. In 1640 he 
and Ralph Earle, who seems to have been 
in some way associated with him, were 
ordered to furnish the town of Newport 
with new and sawed boards at eight 
shillings per hundred feet, and half-inch 
boards at seven shillings, to be delivered 
at the “pit,” by the water-side. On 
March 16, 1641, he was made a freeman 
in Portsmouth, became sergeant of militia 
in 1644, and in 1645 returned with his wife 
to Boston. On November 29, 1645, Sam- 
uel Wildbore and his wife were received 
unto the church in Boston, and in a depo- 
sition made May 2, 1648, he made oath 
that when he married the widow of 
Thomas Lechford he received no part of 
her former husband’s estate. In 1655 he 
was again in Portsmouth, but at the 
time of making his will he lived in Taun- 
ton and at the same time had a house in 
Boston. His will was recorded in both 
Massachusetts and the Plymouth colony. 
That instrument bore date April 30, 1656, 
and was admitted to probate November 
1 following, which fact determines the 
year in which he died. His property was 
inventoried at 282 pounds, 19 shillings, 
6 pence. His children, all by his first 
marriage, were: Samuel, Joseph, Wil- 
liam and Shadrach. 

(II) Shadrach, youngest son of Sam- 
uel and Ann (Bradford) Wilbur, was 
born in 1632, and inherited from his father 
real estate and other property, settling in 
that part of Taunton which afterward be- 
came Raynham, Massachusetts. He was 
a man of wealth and influence for his 
time, held several important trusts, rep- 
resented his town in the provincial gov- 
ernment, and served as town clerk for 
thirty-five years in succession. He died 


in February, 1698. He married (first) 
Mary Dean, who died March 27, 1691, 
and (second) September 16, 1692, Han- 
nah (Bass), widow of Stephen Paine. 
She died in 1696. Children : Mary, born 
March 18, 1662, died in thirteenth year; 
Samuel, April 1, 1663; Rebecca, January 
18, 1665; Hannah, February 24, 1668, died 
at the age of seven years ; Joseph, men- 
tioned below ; Shadrach, December 5, 
1672; John, March 7, 1675; Eleazer, July 
1, 1677; Benjamin, July 23, 1683. 

(III) Joseph, second son of Shadrach 
and Mary (Dean) Wilbur, was born July 
27, 1670, in Taunton, now Raynham, and 
died in 1720. He married Mehitable 
Dean, born October 9, 1671, daughter of 
John and Sarah (Edson) Dean, died 1757. 
Children : Joseph ; Jedediah ; Josiah ; Me- 
hitable, died 1796. 

(IV) Joseph (2), eldest child of Joseph 
(1) and Mehitable (Dean) Wilbur, born 
in Raynham, married, in 1698, Mary Hall, 
daughter of Joseph and Mary (Bell) Hall, 
and granddaughter of George Hall. She 
was born 1696. Two children are known : 
Joseph, mentioned below, and Mary, wife 
of Ebenezer Leach, of Bridgewater, Mas- 

(V) Joseph (3), son of Joseph (2) and 
Mary (Hall) Wilbur, born in Taunton, 
married, January 19, 1754, Mary Stearns, 
daughter of Jonathan and Experience 
(Lincoln) Stearns, descended from Isaac 
and Mary (Barker) Stearns, of Water- 
town, Massachusetts. Isaac Stearns came 
from the parish of Nayland, Suffolk, Eng- 
land, embarking April 8, 1630, in the ship 
“Arabella,” which arrived at Salem, Mas- 
sachusetts, June 12, 1630. He was among 
the founders of Watertown, admitted 
freeman May 18, 1631, and several years 
served as selectman. He became a large 
landholder, and died June 28, 1671. He 
married Mary Barker, daughter of John 
and Margaret Barker, of Stoke Nayland, 

Suffolk, England. Their second son, 
Isaac (2) Stearns, was born January 6, 
1633, in Watertown, where he was made 
freeman in 1665. He settled in Cambridge 
Farms, now Lexington, where he died 
August 29, 1676. He married, June 24, 
1660, Sarah, daughter of Captain Richard 
and Elizabeth Beers. Captain Beers was 
one of the original proprietors of Water- 
town, commanded a company in King 
Philip’s war, and was killed in battle with 
the Indians at Northfield, Massachusetts, 
September 4, 1675. Isaac (3) Stearns, 
son of Isaac (2) and Sarah (Beers) 
Stearns, resided in Stoughton, Massachu- 
setts, married Elizabeth Stone, and was 
the father of Jonathan Stearns, who was 
the father of Mary Stearns, wife of Joseph 
(3) Wilbur. Children: Joseph; Abisha ; 
Isaiah ; Mary, married David Paine; Han- 
nah, mentioned below ; Michal, married 
Benjamin Wilier; Abigail, married Eph- 
raim Knapp ; Zeruiah, married Levi 
Woodworth; Narvine, married Uriah 

(VI) Hannah, daughter of Joseph (3) 
and Mary (Stearns) Wilbur, was born in 
Taunton, Massachusetts, where she was 
married by Rev. William Nelson, July 28, 
1774, to James Smith, who was born 1750, 
died April 5, 1825, son of George and 
Lydia (Reed) Smith (see Reed IV). 

(The Reed Line). 

(I) William Reade, supposed to be the 
son of William Reade and Lucy Henage, 
born in 1605, probably at Maidstone, near 
London, sailed from Gravesend, in the 
county of Kent, England, in the “Assur- 
ance de Lo,” in July, 1635, for America. 
He settled in Weymouth, Massachusetts, 
and was made a freeman September 2, 
1633. His residence was on the west side 
of the present Middle street, near the 
junction of Charles street, which he pur- 
chased in 1636. In the first division of 

Mass— 5 — 4 



lands at Weymouth he received eighteen 
acres, and he purchased ten and one-half 
acres March 25, 1644. He was representa- 
tive to the general court, December 7, 
1636, and September 6, 1638, and served 
as “townsman” or selectman, November 
26, 1651. He was dead in 1658. In the 
same year that he sailed from England 
there came on the ship “Alice” Avis Dea- 
con, then nineteen years old, and soon 
after her arrival she was married to Wil- 
liam Reade, whom she survived. Chil- 
dren : Margaret, born 1636; Hannah, 

1637; William, October 11, 1639; Esther, 
May 8, 1641 ; Ruth, 1642; Thomas, 1645; 
Mary, 1647; John, 1649; James, men- 
tioned below. 

(II) James, youngest child of William 

and Avis (Deacon) Reed (Reade), born in 
Weymouth, Massachusetts, where he 
made his home, and died July 21, 1726. 
He married, April 18, 1683, Susanna 

Richmond, daughter of John Richmond, 
born November, 1661, in Bridgewater, 
Massachusetts, died August 18, 1723. He 
served in Captain Johnson’s company, in 
King Philip’s war, and later, while resid- 
ing in Taunton, Massachusetts, was a 
member of the military company. He 
was the father of nine children. 

(III) Thomas, son of James and Sus- 
anna (Richmond) Reed, born about 1684, 
married (first) March 1, 1707, Mary Fi- 
field, in Boston, and (second) September 
14, 1709, Sarah Niles. Child of first 
marriage: James, born September 6, 1707. 
Children of second marriage : Sarah, born 
May 12, 1 7 1 1 ; Mary, May 2, 1714; Lydia, 
mentioned below. 

(IV) Lydia, daughter of Thomas Reed, 
and child of his second wife, Sarah Niles, 
was born June 28, 1720, in Braintree, 
Massachusetts, and died April 16, 1767. 
She was married, December 6, 1739, by 
Rev. Thomas Clapp, in Taunton, to 
George Smith, born about 1715, died in 
Taunton about 1790. Children : George, 

who died 1769: Keziah, married, January 
24, 1765, Josiah White, Jr.; Lydia, mar- 
ried Abraham Nash ; James, mentioned 
below ; Elizabeth, married, September 6, 
1744, Joseph Hayward; Israel, settled in 
Petersham, Massachusetts ; Thomas, mar- 
ried, November 22, 1795, Rachel White, 
and settled in Chester, Windsor county 

(The Smith Lines). 

The destruction of the vital records of 
Taunton has made extremely difficult and 
in most cases impossible the discovery of 
the history of early generations in that 

(I) Nicholas Smith is described in the 
“History of Norton” as “a step-child of 
Farmer Smith of Taunton.” He was born 
February 21, 1672, and lived in Norton, 
where he married (first) before 1713, 
Mercy Howland. He married (second) 
January 21, 1725, Jerusha Leonard, of 
Taunton. He is said to have had twelve 
children. The following are recorded in 
Norton: Hannah, born April 25, 1713; 
Mary, September 25, 1714; Solomon, Sep- 
tember 15, 1717; Benjamin, October 14, 
1725; Mary, Israel and Marcy (triplets), 
February 21, 1728; Nicholas, March 28, 
1731. Seth Smith, who was probably a 
brother of Nicholas Smith, possibly a son, 
resided in Norton, and was married, Sep- 
tember 20, 1725, in Weston, Massachu- 
setts, to Elizabeth Allen, of that town, 
born March 1, 1701, eldest child of Eben- 
ezer and Elizabeth (Eddy) Allen, a de- 
scendant of Walter Allen, who was born 
in England about 1615, was a hatter by 
trade, and came to Massachusetts as early 
as 1640, settling in Newbury, whence he 
removed, in 1652, to Charlestown. He 
was a proprietor of Watertown, and left 
an estate worth 312 pounds, including 
farms in Sudbury, Charlestown and 
Haverhill. His second son, Daniel Allen, 
born about 1649, died at Sudbury in 1706. 
He resided successively in Charlestown, 


Watertown, Lancaster and Sudbury. He 
married, about 1658, Mary Sherman, of 
Watertown, daughter of Rev. John Sher- 
man, the third minister of that town. He 
was born in Durham, England, December 
26, 1613, graduated at Trinity College, 
Cambridge, in 1629, receiving the degree 
of Master of Arts, 1633, and after resid- 
ing a time in Watertown removed to New 
Haven, Connecticut, where he was a mag- 
istrate. He again returned to Watertown, 
where he became a minister, and died Au- 
gust 8, 1685. Ebenezer Allen, fifth son 
of Daniel and Mary (Sherman) Allen, was 
born December 26, 1674, in Watertown, 
and married, April 2, 1700, Elizabeth 
Eddy. They were the parents of Eliza- 
beth Allen, wife of Seth Smith, of Norton. 
Children: David, born August 22, 1726; 
Timothy, January 24, 1728; Josiah, No- 
vember 26, 1732; Seth, mentioned below; 
Jonathan, July 23, 1736. 

(II) Seth (2), fourth son of Seth (1) 
and Elizabeth (Allen) Smith, was born 
September 13, 1734, in Norton, and died 
in that town, September 9, 1813. He was 
a soldier of the Revolution, serving as a 
private in Captain Seth Gilbert’s (Sec- 
ond Norton) company, of Colonel John 
Daggett’s regiment of Massachusetts 
militia, marched April 19, 1775, on the 
Lexington alarm, serving ten days. He 
was subsequently a member of Captain 
Silas Cobb’s company, Colonel Timothy 
Walker’s regiment, appearing on a mus- 
ter roll dated August 1, 1775, enlisted 
April 29 of that year, served three months 
and ten days, return dated October 6, 
177 5. He subsequently gave a receipt 
for a bounty coat dated Braintree, De- 
cember 21, 1775. He is probably the Seth 
Smith called Seth (2) in Captain Seth 
Smith’s detachment of matrosses, enlisted 
June 3, discharged June 9, 1778, service 
nine days including travel (forty-eight 
miles) home, detachment marched June 
3 from Norton to Freetown, Massachu- 

setts, under order of Brigadier-General 
Godfrey. In a list of men gathered by 
James Leonard, mustermaster for Bris- 
tol county, Seth Smith appears as hav- 
ing served at Rhode Island, under Colo- 
nel Daggett, date June 29, 1778. He 
was also a sergeant in Captain Joseph 
Cole’s company, of Colonel John Jacobs’ 
regiment, from July 4, 1778, serving five 
months and twenty-nine days at Rhode 
Island, term ending January 1, 1779. He 
married (first) October 10, 1754, Sarah 
Cobb, born March 21, 1738, in Norton, 
daughter of William and Ann Cobb, died 
May 13, 1768. He married (second) Sep- 
tember 19, 1769, Esther Dean, born Sep- 
tember 19, 1738, in Norton, daughter of 
William and Esther Dean, died Decem- 
ber 8, 1787. He married (third) Lois 
Fisher (intentions published May 28, 
1788). She died August 18, 1794, and he 
married (fourth) February 18, 1795, Mrs. 
Anna Hodges. Children of first marriage : 
Daniel, born March 6, 1755 ; Seth, Octo- 
ber 1, 1756, was a soldier of the Revolu- 
tion ; Sarah, mentioned below; Abishar, 
May 8, 1761; Lois, September 17, 1763; 
Anne, January 12, 1766. Of second mar- 
riage : Esther, July 31, 1770; Lucy, Sep- 
tember 4, 1774. 

(Ill) Sarah, eldest daughter of Seth 
(2) and Sarah (Cobb) Smith, was born 
November 18, 1758, in Norton, and mar- 
ried, November 7, 1782, Captain Timothy 
White, of Taunton (see White V). 

There were many bearing the name of 
Smith in Taunton, and it is much to be 
regretted that no record can be discovered 
showing their line of descent. Among 
these was George Smith, who married 
Lydia Reed, and lived in Taunton (see 

James, son of George and Lydia (Reed) 
Smith, born 1750, in Taunton, died there 
April 5, 1825. He was a soldier in the 
war of the Revolution, according to tradi- 
tion. There was a multitude of James 


Smiths in the Revolutionary army. 
James Smith married, July 28, 1774, Han- 
nah Wilbur, daughter of Joseph and Mary 
(Stearns) Wilbur, of Taunton (see Wil- 
bur V). Children: James, born January 
28, 1775, married Phebe Shelly, of Rayn- 
ham, Massachusetts ; Uriah, October 20, 
1776, married Mareda Field; George, Oc- 
tober 2, 1778, married Pamelia Field ; 
Simeon, October 25, 1780, died February 
7, 1801 ; Hannah, April 23, 1783, died Sep- 
tember 4, 1861, married (first) Salmon 
Lincoln, (second) Jacob White; Eleazer, 
November 10, 1786, married Margaret 
Willis, and settled in Onondaga county, 
New York; Polly, November 27, 1788, 
married, March 31, 1816, Eleazer Phillips; 
Lydia Reed, September 30, 1790, died 
June 16, 1874, married, January 22, 1809, 
Daniel Leonard ; Wilbur, April 28, I 793 > 
married Abigail Phillips, and settled in 
Michigan; Keziah, March 6 , 1796* died 
1833, married (first) January 13, 1813, 
Rufus Eddy, (second) December 18, 1826, 
Nathaniel Presho ; Eleanor, mentioned 
below ; Sally, April 7, 1800, married, May 
15, 1817, Dennis Field. 

Eleanor, fifth daughter of James and 
Hannah (Wilbur) Smith, was born 
March 10, 1798, in Taunton, and died 
there November 25, 1872. She married 
(first) March 16, 1816, Timothy Lincoln, 
of that town. She married (second) Cor- 
nelius W. Lothrop, of North Taunton 
(see Lothrop VII). Child of first mar- 
riage: Timothy Morton, born July 11, 
1817, married, May 31, 1837, Lucinda 
Lincoln. Children of second marriage : 
Charles Henry, born September 3, 1831, 
died February 8, 1890, married (first) 
September, 1856, Sarah E. Loring, (sec- 
ond) May 6, 1872, Sarah V. Naille; 
Thomas Jackson, March 2, 1834, married, 
August 24, 1856, Catharine Prescott Web- 
ster; Sarah Ellen, mentioned below. 

Sarah Ellen, youngest child of Cor- 

nelius W. and Eleanor (Smith) Lothrop, 
was born March 24, 1840, and married, 
March 18, 1862, Theodore G. Lincoln, of 
Taunton (see Lincoln VI). 

WILCOX, Thomas, 

Man of Affairs, Public Official. 

The Wilcox family, which was repre- 
sented in the present generation by the 
late Thomas Wilcox, for many years a 
prominent resident of New Bedford, dates 
back to an early period in English his- 
tory. One “Wilcox or Wilcott” is re- 
corded as furnishing three men at arms 
at the battle of Agincourt, and another 
of the name is of record as court physi- 
cian to King Charles. In the eighteenth 
century a member of the family served as 
a bishop of the Church of England and 
dean of Westminster Abbey, and several 
branches of the family are known to her- 
aldry. In this country the name is found 
on some early records, namely — James- 
town, Virginia, 1610; Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, 1636; and Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island, 1656. 

(I) Daniel Wilcox, the earliest known 
ancestor of the line herein followed, had 
a grant of fifteen acres of land at Ports- 
mouth, Rhode Island, December 10, 1656, 
where he resided until 1664, when he pur- 
chased a house in Dartmouth, in which 
place he was constable in 1665, and sub- 
sequently changed his place of residence 
to Tiverton, residing there at the organi- 
zation of the town, March 2, 1692. He 
married, November 28, 1661, Elizabeth 
Cook, daughter of John and Sarah (War- 
ren) Cook, the former a “Mayflower” 
passenger, and their children were : Dan- 
iel, Mary, Sarah, Stephen, John, Edward, 
Thomas, Lydia and Susanna. Daniel 
Wilcox, father of these children, died July 
2, 1702, survived by his widow who' 
passed away December 6, 1715. 



asto*. wnc^^nb 




(II) Edward Wilcox, fourth son of 
Daniel and Elizabeth (Cook) Wilcox, 
was a resident of Tiverton, Rhode Island, 
and there spent his active and useful 
career, his death occurring in the year 
1718. He married Sarah Manchester, 
daughter of William and Mary (Cook) 
Manchester, who bore him four children : 
Josiah, of whom further; Ephraim, born 
August 9, 1704; William, December 26, 
1706; and Freelove, December 18, 1709. 

(III) Josiah Wilcox, son of Edward 

and Sarah (Manchester) Wilcox, born 
September 22, 1701, was a lifelong resi- 
dent of Tiverton, and a man of influence 
in community affairs. He married Pa- 
tience , and their children, natives 

of Tiverton were: Edward, born October 
29, 1719; Thomas, December 19, 1720; 
Gideon, December 17, 1722; Benjamin, 
January 3, 1726; Daniel, January 6, 1727; 
Jeremiah, June 1, 1729; William, of whom 
further; Sarah, September 8, 1734; and 
Barden, April 10, 1739. 

(IV) William Wilcox, son of Josiah 
and Patience Wilcox, was born February 
12, 1731, and resided in the family home- 
stead at Tiverton, in the affairs of which 
town he took a keen interest, performing 
to the best of his ability the duties de- 
volving upon him. His wife, Elizabeth 
Wilcox, bore him three children, whose 
births occurred in Tiverton, namely: 
Thomas, of whom further; Abner, born 
about 1760; Pardon, born January 12, 
1764. William Wilcox, father of these 
children, died January 20, 1816. 

(V) Thomas Wilcox, son of William 
and Elizabeth Wilcox, was born August 
28, 1757, died May 26, 1843. He was an 
active participant in the Revolutionary 
War, and was perhaps the Thomas Wil- 
cox who was a member of Captain Carr’s 
company, Colonel Lippitt’s regiment, in 
the fall of 1776, and in that same year 
served in Colonel Elliott’s regiment. One 
Thomas Wilcox, of Tiverton, was sta- 

tioned at different times during the war 
near Howland’s Ferry, in Tiverton. He 
was an active factor in the expedition of 
1777 to capture General Prescott, and at 
his death it was thought that he was the 
last of that adventurous band of forty 
who under Colonel Barton captured the 
British officer named and conveyed him 
safely to Warwick, Rhode Island, on July 
9, 1777. Thomas Wilcox married Keziah 
Bennett, who bore him eleven children : 
1. Joseph, of whom further. 2. Philip. 3. 
David Bennett, who was a resident of 
New Bedford, married Hannah Smith. 
4. Thomas, who was a resident of Fall 
River. 5. John. 6. Daniel, who was a 
resident of Tiverton, married Elizabeth 
Seabury. 7. Robert, resided in Pawtucket, 
Rhode Island. 8. Maria, died young. 9. 
Anne, married John Wilcox. 10. Mary, 
or Polly, married Eleazer Almy. n. 
Sarah, died unmarried. 

(VI) Captain Joseph Wilcox, son of 
Thomas and Keziah (Bennett) Wilcox, 
was born December 18, 1782, in Tiver- 
ton, Rhode Island, died in New Bedford, 
Massachusetts, October 13, 1868. He 
was reared and educated in his native 
place, residing there until shortly after 
the year 1800, when he removed to New 
Bedford, his place of residence for the 
remainder of his days. He was a whaling 
master, from which occupation he derived 
a comfortable livelihood. In 1834 he 
erected the house in Middle street, New 
Bedford, which continued to be the resi- 
dence of his son, Thomas Wilcox, during 
his life. He married (first) Rebecca Per- 
kins, daughter of Henry Perkins, who 
actively participated in the Revolution- 
ary War, enlisting from Boston, from 
which city he subsequently removed to 
Dartmouth, Massachusetts. He married 
(second) Elizabeth Perkins, a sister of 
his first wife, and she lived to within five 
months of her one hundredth birthday, 
her death occurring November 3, 1881. 


Children of Captain Joseph Wilcox, first 
two by first marriage, the remainder by 
second marriage : Joseph ; Henry, died in- 
fancy ; Henry Perkins, died in infancy ; 
Thomas, of whom further ; Rebecca, died 
aged about twenty-two years. 

(VII) Thomas (2) Wilcox, son of Cap- 
tain Joseph and plizabeth (Perkins) Wil- 
cox, was born in New Bedford, Massachu- 
setts, July 10, 1822, died at his home in 
that city, February 8, 1913. His early 
education was obtained by attendance at 
the public and private schools of his 
native city, and this knowledge was sup- 
plemented by attendance at the Friends’ 
Academy, in New Bedford. He began 
his active business career by accepting a 
clerkship in the store of J. B. Wood & 
Company, New Bedford, who were en- 
gaged in the whaling and ship chandlery 
business, and so continued until 1844, in 
which year he engaged in the whaling 
business, devoting his entire time and at- 
tention to that pursuit for a period of six- 
teen years, until i860, achieving a large 
degree of success by his industry and 
skill. Subsequent to the last year men- 
tioned he was occupied in various busi- 
ness enterprises, all of which yielded a 
lucrative means of livelihood. In addi- 
tion to his every-day labor, which he per- 
formed in an efficient manner, he served 
on the board of directorates of the Me- 
chanics’ National Bank, at New Bedford, 
and of the Liberty Hall Association, of 
which he was a member for many years. 
He was also a member of the board of 
investment of the New Bedford Five 
Cents Savings Bank, these connections 
testifying to his popularity and fitness for 
such office. _ Pie was a member of the 
common council of New Bedford for two 
years, one year president of that body, 
and for a similar period of time was a 
member of the board of aldermen, the 
duties of these various positions being 
performed by him in a highly commenda- 

tory manner. His death was a distinct 
loss to the community, depriving it of a 
man of energy, character and worth, 
whose prosperity came to him as the re- 
ward of earnest, persistent, resolute effort, 
guided by sound judgment and supple- 
mented by keen discrimination. 

Mr. Wilcox married, December 12, 
1866, Emily K. Wilcox, daughter of Dan- 
iel and Elizabeth (Seabury) Wilcox, of 
Tiverton, Rhode Island, granddaughter 
of Thomas and Keziah (Bennett) Wil- 
cox, above-mentioned. She is still living 
at her home in New Bedford, active in 
mind and body, a lady of the old school, 
cultured and refined, having for nearly 
half a century lived a happy wedded life, 
greatly devoted to her husband and home. 

(The Seabury Line). 

The Seabury family, of which Mrs. 
Emily K. Wilcox is a lineal descendant, 
traces back to the seventeenth cen- 
tury, the name having undergone many 
changes in spelling, namely : Sebury, Sa- 
berry, Saberrey, Sabury and Seabury. 

(I) John Seabury, the first of the name 
of whom we have definite information, 
was a resident of Boston, Massachusetts, 
in which city his death occurred prior to 
the year 1662. His wife, Grace Seabury, 
bore him two sons, John, who went to 
the Barbadoes, and Samuel, of whom fur- 
ther, and several daughters, of whom 
there is no record. 

(II) Samuel Seabury, son of John and 
Grace Seabury, was born December 10, 
1640, died August 5, 1681, in the prime of 
life. He was a physician by profession, 
an expert in his chosen line, and in early 
manhood removed to Duxbury, Massa- 
chusetts, where he was engaged in active 
practice. His will gave to his son Sam- 
uel his landed property in Duxbury ; to 
son Joseph “those great silver buttons 
which I usually wear;” to son John “my 
birding piece and musket. I will that 


my negro servant Nimrod (valued at 
twenty-seven pounds) be disposed of 
either by hire or sale in order to bring 
up my children, especially the three 
youngest now born.” He married (first) 
at Weymouth, November 9, 1660, Pa- 
tience Kemp, who died October 29, 1676. 
Children : Elizabeth, born September 16, 
1661, who probably removed from the 
town, as in her mother’s will she was 
given a negro girl Jane and a cow “if she 
returns;” Sarah, born August 18, 1663; 
Samuel, born April 20, 1666; Hannah, 
born July 7, 166S; John, born November 
7, 1670; Grace and Patience, twins, born 
March 1, 1673. He married (second) 
April 4, 1677, Martha Pabodie (or Pea- 
body), daughter of William and Eliza- 
beth (Alden) Pabodie, and granddaugh- 
ter of John and Priscilla (Mullins) Al- 
den. Children : Joseph, of whom fur- 
ther ; Martha, born September 23, 1679; 
and John, who married, December 9, 1697, 
Elizabeth Alden. 

(III) Joseph Seabury, son of Samuel 
and Martha (Pabodie, or Peabody) Sea- 
bury, was born June 8, 1678. He re- 
moved to what is now Little Compton, 
Rhode Island, and there spent the re- 
mainder of his days, his death occurring 
there on August 22, 1755. Pie married 
there, September 25, 1701, Phebe Smith, 
who died April 21, 1715, many years be- 
fore his demise. Their children were: 
Samuel, born June 5, 1702; Martha, Feb- 
ruary 7, 1704; Joseph, December 2, 1705; 
Benjamin, of whom further ; Sion, March 
17, 1713; Mary, April 17, 1715. 

(IV) Benjamin Seabury, son of Joseph 

and Phebe (Smith) Seabury, was born 
January 20, 1708, died in 1773. He mar- 
ried, in 1733, Rebecca Southworth, born 
December 22, 1708, daughter of Edward 
and Miry Southworth. Their children 
were: Mercy, born August 13, 1734; 

Mary, January 25, 1736; Rebecca, twin 
of Mary; Ruth, November 26, 1739; Ben- 

jamin, January 24, 1743; Fobes, March 
29, 1745, died June 4, 1746; Gideon, March 
1, 1747, died October 29, 1827; Constant, 
of whom further; and Isaac, November 3, 

(V) Constant Seabury, son of Benja- 
min and Rebecca (Southworth) Seabury, 
was born June 19, 1749, died in January, 
1807. He married, in 1775, Susanna 
Gray, who bore him eight children, as 
follows: Isaac, born March 19, 1776, died 
October 20, 1850; Phebe, born May 13 or 
2 3 > 1 77H ; William, born May 23, 1780; 
Hannah, born July 29 or 24, 1782 ; Bridget, 
born September 14, 1784; Ichabod, born 
November 18, 1786; Robert, born 'July 
10, 1789; and Elizabeth, of whom further. 

(VI) Elizabeth Seabury, daughter of 
Constant and Susanna (Gray) Seabury, 
was born November 16, 1792, in Little 
Compton, Rhode Island, and married 
Daniel Wilcox, son of Thomas and 
Keziah (Bennett) Wilcox (see Wilcox 
V). They were the parents of eight chil- 
dren. Their daughter, Emily K., became 
the wife of Thomas (2) Wilcox (see Wil- 
cox VII). 

SMITH, William T., 

Business Man. 

In the early days, most of the inhabi- 
tants of Martha’s Vineyard obtained a 
livelihood from the sea, engaged in fish- 
ing or in commerce. The Smith family 
was no exception to the rule, and a large 
number “went down to the sea in ships.” 
Thomas Smith, born 1697-98, died April 
13, 1 7 ^> 5 ’ was probably the father of Cap- 
tain Nathan Smith, who was born 1731, 
and died in Tisbury, November 15, 1805. 
His wife, P’arnell, was born in February, 
1736, and died January 21, 1812. 

(I) Captain David Smith, born 1756- 
57, died October 1, 1818, in Tisbury, is 
supposed to have been a son of Nathan 
and Parnell. He married (first) January 


22, 1778, Sarah Skiff, born 1758, was 
buried July 13, 1787, in Edgartown. Their 
sons, George and Jeremiah, died in in- 
fancy. He married (second) November 
13, 1788, Mariah Allen, of Tisbury, born 
1758-59, died March 1, 1820, in that town. 

(II) Captain David (2) Smith, son of 
David (1), was born in April, 1781, in 
Tisbury, and died August 2, 1819, on 
board his vessel in Vineyard Sound, 
while returning from a voyage to the 
south. He married in Tisbury, Decem- 
ber 25, 1806, Charlotte Dunham, born 
1785, died February 20, 1820, daughter of 
Shubael and Charlotte Dunham. 

(III) Shubael Dunham Smith, son of 
David (2) and Charlotte (Dunham) 
Smith, was born in September, 1811, in 
Tisbury, as shown by his gravestone 
there. He married Jane C. Beecher, a 
native of Edgartown, Massachusetts, as 
shown by Tisbury records, and their first 
two children were born in New Bedford, 
the others at Holmes Hole, now Vineyard 
Haven, Massachusetts, namely: Sarah S., 
September 29, 1835, now deceased; Fran- 
ces H., November 12, 1836, now deceased; 
Helen, September 27, 1838, now deceased ; 
William C. and a twin, whose name is 
not preserved, May 26, 1841, the former 
now living in New York; Shubael D., 
mentioned below; Naomi B., January 9, 
1847, now deceased; Anna, July 18, 1849, 
died in infancy ; and Laura and Law- 
rence, twins, both now deceased, the lat- 
ter a physician in Haverhill, Massachu- 
setts, where he died. 

(IV) Shubael Dunham (2), second son of 
Shubael Dunham ( 1 ) and Jane C. (Beecher, 
Smith, was born December 20, 1844, at 
Vineyard Haven, town of Tisbury, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he lived until the age 
of sixteen years, attending the public 
schools of that village. In i860 he re- 
moved to New Bedford, Massachusetts, 
where he was employed as a clerk by the 

firm of Allen & Bliss, continuing only a 
short time. After a considerable period 
of employment with a Mr. Packard in the 
grocery business, he became a clerk in 
the Central Union Association Store, con- 
tinuing in that employ for a period of 
forty years. Through long application 
and the passage of time his health became 
impaired, and in 1905 he retired from 
active business, passing the remainder of 
his life in retirement at his home on Mill 
street, New Bedford. There he died April 
4, 1915, and was buried in Oak Grove 
Cemetery. In early life he was a member 
of Acushnet Lodge, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, and became a charter 
member of Pacific Lodge of that order of 
New Bedford, in which he continued in 
good membership until his death. He 
married, December 27, 1869, Lydia A. 
Tucker, born in South Dartmouth, Mas- 
sachusetts, daughter of Abner R. and 
Lydia A. (Chase) Tucker, of that town 
(see Tucker IX). She was educated 
in the public schools and a private acad- 

(V) William Tucker Smith, only child 
of Shubael D. (2) and Lydia A. (Tucker) 
Smith, was born August 10, 1873, in New 
Bedford, and was educated in the public 
schools of that city. After attending the 
high school for nearly four years, he 
left his studies to embark on a busi- 
ness career, becoming a clerk in the 
waterworks department of New Bed- 
ford, at the age of seventeen years, re- 
maining in that capacity for about one 
year. In 1898 he went on the road as a 
traveling salesman for the S. Cottle Com- 
pany, manufacturers of gold and silver 
novelties, and later with the Wilcox Sil- 
ver Plate Company of Meriden, Connec- 
ticut, now merged in the International 
Silver Company. For eighteen years he 
has continued this engagement, with busi- 
ness headquarters in Memphis, Tennes- 


see. He married Linnie O. Smith, of Col- 
lierville, Tennessee, and they have two 
children: Margaret Tucker and Drayton 

(The Tucker Line). 

There were several of this name among 
the pioneers of New England, and the 
progeny of two have been extensively 
traced. Willielmus Tucker, of Thornley, 
County Devon, England, had arms grant- 
ed in 1079. He married Josea, daughter 
of William Ashe, of County Devon, and 
they had children : George, Thomas, John 
and Josea. The eldest son, George 
Tucker, resided in Milton, near Grave- 
send, and married Maria, eldest daughter 
and coheir of John Hunter, of Gaunte. 
Children: George, Nicholas, Tobias, Dan- 
iel, Mansfield, Martha, Elizabeth and 
Hester. George (2), the eldest son, mar- 
ried Elizabeth, daughter of Francis 
Stoughton, of Cragford. Children : George, 
John, Robert, Henry, Hester, Elizabeth, 
Maria, Anna, Sara and Martha. 

(I) Robert Tucker, third son of George 
(2) and Elizabeth (Stoughton) Tucker, 
born 1602, is supposed to have come to 
this country with a company from Wey- 
mouth, England, with Rev. Dr. Hull, to 
Weymouth, Massachusetts, where he was 
in 1675. He later removed to Gloucester, 
where he was recorder, and where it is 
probable that some of his children were 
born. He returned to Weymouth and 
held several important offices there. 
About the time the town of Milton was 
incorporated (1662) he removed thither 
and purchased several adjoining lots on 
Brush Hill, embracing in all about one 
hundred and seventeen acres, and border- 
ing on lands that his son James had pur- 
chased some time previously. He was 
active in the church, and was town clerk 
for several years and deputy to the gen- 
eral court. He married Elizabeth Allen, 
and died March 11, 1683. 

(II) Henry Tucker, of Sandwich, was 
born about 1627, probably in Kent, Eng- 
land, and is supposed to have been a son 
of Robert Tucker, died in Dartmouth, 
April 22, 1694. In 1669 he purchased from 
William Allen, of Sandwich, for fifteen 
pounds, a one-third share of Dartmouth. 
At this time he was living in Milton, 
which increases the probability that he 
was a son of Robert Tucker, who also 
lived in Milton at that time. He was a 
member of the Society of Friends, and 
the record of his marriage and the births 
of his children appear in the Newport 
Friends’ records. He married, in Janu- 
ary, 1654, Martha, whose family name'was 
not recorded. She died November 9, 
1697. Children: Abraham, mentioned be- 
low; John, born August 28, 1656, died 
July 2, 1751 ; Martha, July 14, 1659, died 
September 9, 1697; Hannah, July 25, 
1662; James, March 16, 1666, died March 
28, 1689; Mary, August 16, 1668, married, 
May 6, 1690, Samuel Perry, born 1664, in 
Sandwich, died July 16, 1716; Sarah, Sep- 
tember 20, 1674. 

(III) Abraham, eldest child of Henry 

and Martha Tucker, was born October 30, 
1653, and died March 16, 1725. He mar- 
ried (first) October 26, 1679, Mary Slo- 
cum, died September 21, 1689. He mar- 
ried (second) November 26, 1690, Han- 
nah Mott, died December 15, 1731. Chil- 
dren: Henry, mentioned below; Mary, 

born February 1, 1683, married, 1703, Jo- 
seph Russell; Martha and Patience 
(twins), November 28, 1686, former mar- 
ried George Thomas; Abigail, December 
21, 1688, married, August 10, 1710, Joseph 
Chace ; Elizabeth, August 24, 1691, mar- 
ried, March 1, 1715, James Barker; Sarah, 
April 23, 1693, married, August 1, 1717, 
Edward Wing; Content, March 12, 1695, 
married, October 18, 1722, Benjamin 

Wing; Abraham, March 5, 1697; Joanna, 
October 14, 1699, married (first) John 



Russell, Jr., (second) Robert Barker; 
Ruth, December 16, 1701, married, July 
10, 1729, Nicholas Davis; Hannah, April 
22, 1704, married, August 22, 1734, James 

(IV) Henry (2), eldest child of Abra- 
ham and Mary (Slocum) Tucker, was 
born October 30, 1680, and married Phebe 
Barton. Children : Susanna, born April 
8, 1706, died October 29, 1716; Mary, May 
12, 1708, married John Wing; Patience, 
August 31, 1710, married John Russell; 
Henry, February 8, 1713; Benjamn, Au- 
gust 24, 1716; Abraham, mentioned be- 

(V) Abraham (2), youngest child of 

Henry (2) and Phebe (Barton) Tucker, 
was born December 16, 1718, and married 
(published October 21, 1738) "Rebecca 
Russell. Children : Patience, born Octo- 
ber 19, 1739, married John Ricketson ; 
Benjamin, mentioned below ; Rebecca, 
November 11, 1743, married Samuel 

Shove; Phebe, December 1, 1745, died 
September 12, 1747; Henry, March 2, 
1754 - 

(VI) Benjamin, eldest son of Abraham 

(2) and Rebecca (Russell) Tucker, was 
born September 19, 1741, and married 
(first) October 27, 1763, Sylvia Ricket- 
son. He married (second) March 19, 
1778, Sarah Barney. Children of first mar- 
riage : Abraham, born June 17, 1764; 
Hannah, November 24, 1766, married 
Collins Smith ; Patience, March 5, 1769, 
married Stephen Sisson; Phebe, May 17, 
1772, married James Tucker. Of second 
marriage : Henry, mentioned below ; 

Sylvia, June 19, 1780, married Abraham 
R. Maxfield ; Griffin, July 31, 1786; Sarah, 
June 8, 1793; Benjamin, September 19, 

(VII) Henry (3), son of Benjamin 
Tucker, and child of his second wife, 
Sarah Barney, was born November 22, 
1778, in Dartmouth. He married Edith, 

daughter of Daniel and Edith (Potter) 
Howland, of Dartmouth (see Howland 
IV). Children: Sylvia, Phebe, Hum- 

phrey G., Abner R., Daniel, Henry, Jo- 
seph, Joshua, John. 

(VIII) Abner Ricketson, son of Henry 
(3) and Edith (Howland) Tucker, was 
born in North Dartmouth, and went to 
sea very early in life, becoming a master 
mariner. He was lost at sea in the fifty- 
second year of his age, while rounding 
Cape Horn in a typhoon. He married in 
Dartmouth, Lydia A. Chase, a native of 
that town, daughter of Elihu and Joanna 
(Sherman) Chase. She died at the home 
of her daughter, Mrs. Shubael D. (2) 
Smith, in New Bedford, and was buried 
in Oak Grove Cemetery. Children : Ab- 
ner H., deceased ; Lydia Ann, mentioned 
below; Edith H., resides in New Bedford, 
Massachusetts, unmarried. 

(IX) Lydia Ann, daughter of Abner R. 
and Lydia A. (Chase) Tucker, was born 
February 2, 1844, and married, in 1869, 
Shubael D. (2) Smith (see Smith IV). 

(The Howland Line). 

Many branches of the Howland family 
are described in this work. Elsewhere 
will be found the history of Humphrey 
Howland, whose three sons were pioneer 
settlers of Plymouth county, Massachu- 
setts, of the son Henry Howland, and 
his son, Zoeth Howland. 

(IV) Nicholas, youngest child of Zoeth 
and Abigail Howland, was the owner of 
much real estate in Dartmouth, includ- 
ing Gooseberry Neck, at the north of Buz- 
zard’s Bay, and operated a tannery. His 
homestead was west of the Apponeagan- 
sett meeting house, on the opposite side 
of the road. He held various town 
offices in Dartmouth, and died there be- 
fore July 7, 1722, when his will was ad- 
mitted to probate in the Bristol county 
probate office. The inventory of his 


estate valued the real property at 3,427 
pounds, besides a house, bark mill and 
tan vats valued at 1,550 pounds. He mar- 
ried, December 26, 1697, Hannah, born 
June 27, 1679, daughter of Lieutenant 
John and Hannah (Timberlake) Wood- 
man, of Little Compton. Children : Abi- 
gail, born November 3, 1698; Mary, Sep- 
tember 21, 1700; Rebecca, April 9, 1702; 
Samuel, February 20, 1704; Nicholas, 
July 13, 1706; Hannah, September 10, 
1708; Joseph, October 24, 1710; Daniel, 
mentioned below; Benjamin, November 
30, 1716; Job, September 26, 1719; Edith, 
married Daniel Russell, of Dartmouth. 

(V) Daniel, fourth son of Nicholas and 
Hannah (Woodman) Howland, was born 
September 28, 1712, in Dartmouth, where 
he made his home, and married (first) 
June 2, 1741, Mary, daughter of Eleazer 
and Deborah (Smith) Slocum. She died 
August 14, 1742, and he married (second) 
September 13, 1745, Edith Potter, who 
died May 13, 1815. There was one child 
of the first wife, Mary, born May 28, 
1742. Children of second wife: Luthan, 
born November 15, 1746; Phebe, Febru- 
ary 6, 1749; Mary, May 18, 1750; Caleb, 
April 19, 1752; Joshua, October 27, 1754; 
Daniel, September 3, 1759; Edith, men- 
tioned below. 

(VI) Edith, youngest child of Daniel 
and Edith (Potter) Howland, was born 
September 30, 1762, in Dartmouth, and 
married Henry (3) Tucker, of Dartmouth 
(see Tucker VII). 

STONE, Reuben S., 

Successful Manufacturer. 

The surname Stone may have been de- 
rived through the probable fact that the 
original ancestor of the family lived near 
a large stone. The court roll of the 
manors of Bovills and Piggotts, in Ard- 
leigh, England, contains an entry in the 

Latin language dated in the reign of 
Henry V., 1416. On the day of Mars 
next after the festival of the Holy Trinity, 
in which the names of various persons 
then living in the vicinity are mentioned, 
among them occurred one designated Wil- 
lelmiatte Stone (William at the stone). 
This person is referred to as not being 
present at a Court Baron, for which de- 
linquency he, among the others named, 
is fined. 

(I) Symond Stone, the earliest known 
ancestor of this branch of the Stone 
family, made a will on May 12, 1506, the 
record of which is on the parish records 
of Much Bromley, England. The Will 
was proved February 10, 1510; he be- 
queathed to his son Walter his tenement 
in Ardleigh, and as Ardleigh is in the 
immediate vicinity of Much Bromley, it 
would appear that this first Symond was 
a descendant of the William at the stone, 
mentioned above. In a court roll of 1465, 
in the reign of Edward IV., reference is 
made to three fields called Stoneland. 

(II) David Stone, son of Symond 
Stone, lived also at Much Bromley, 
County Essex, England, early in the 
sixteenth century. 

(III) Symond (2) Stone, son of David 

Stone, also lived at Much Bromley. He 
married Agnes . 

(IV) David (2) Stone, son of Symond 
(2) or Simon and Agnes Stone, was born, 
lived, and died at Much Bromley. He 
had a wife Ursula. It has been positively 
proved that he, and not Rev. Timothy 
Stone, as formerly supposed, was the 
father of the two American immigrants, 
Gregory and Simon, mentioned below. 

(V) Simon Stone, son of David (2) 
and Ursula Stone, was the immigrant an- 
cestor of this branch of the family in 
America. He was born in Much Brom- 
ley, County Essex, England, where he 
was baptized February 9, 1585-86. Be- 



fore 1624 he and his wife moved to 
Boxted, a few miles from Much Bromley, 
and from Boxted, he and his family are 
believed to have come to this country. 
On April 15, 1636, the father, aged fifty, 
mother, aged thirty-eight, and five chil- 
dren, embarked from London on the ship 
“Increase,” Robert Lee, master, for New 
England, after receiving permission from 
the government to leave England for 
America. They settled first in Water- 
town, Massachusetts, having forty acres 
of land along the banks of the Charles 
river, south of the present Mount Auburn 
Cemetery; it is believed that a part of 
his farm is now covered by the cemetery. 
Simon Stone was admitted a freeman, 
May 25, 1636, with his brother Gregory, 
who emigrated at the same time ; was 
selectman from 1637 to 1656, and a dea- 
con of the church for many years One 
of the pear trees planted by him is said 
to have borne fruit for two hundred and 
fifty years, and was still vigorous in 1899. 
Mr. Stone became a prominent real estate 
owner, and according to tradition built 
a large house, colonial in style, which 
served as a home for his descendants for 
six generations, but was finally destroyed 
by fire. He married (first) August 5, 1616, 
Joan or Joana Clark, daughter of William 
Clark, and their two eldest children were 
baptized in Bromley, England, the others 
being born in Boxted. He married (sec- 
ond) about 1654, Sarah, wfidow of Rich- 
ard Lumpkin, of Ipswich, Massachusetts. 
She also came from Boxted, County 
Essex, England, and left a will dated 
March 25, 1663. Simon Stone died in 
Watertown, September 22, 1665. Chil- 
dren by first wife: Frances, baptized Jan- 
uary 20, 1618-19; Mary, October 1, 1621, 
died young; Ann, born 1624; Simon, 
mentioned below; Mary, 1632; John, Au- 
gust 6, 1635 5 Elizabeth, April 5, 1639, 
died young. 

(VI) Simon (2) Stone, son of Simon 

(1) and Joan (Clark) Stone, was born in 
1631, in Boxted, England, and died Feb- 
ruary 27, 1708. He and his brother John 
divided the real estate left by their father, 
Simon keeping the homestead for his 
home. He was deacon of the church and 
held various public offices. For several 
years he served as selectman, and was 
town clerk for ten years. From 1678 to 
1684, inclusive, he was representative to 
the General Court, and in 1686-89-90 one 
of the original proprietors of Groton, 
Massachusetts. In 1662 he owned an 
eighteen-acre right in Groton, increasing 
his holdings there in 1670 to more than 
eighty-seven acres, although he may not 
have lived there. He married Mary 
Whipple, daughter of Elder John Whip- 
ple, an early settler of Ipswich, Massa- 
chusetts. She was born in 1634, died 
June 2, 1720. Children: Simon, born 
September 8, 1656; John, mentioned be- 
low; Matthew, February 16, 1659-60; 
Nathaniel, February 22, 1661-62, died 
same year ; Ebenezer, February 27, 1662- 
63; Mary, 1665; Nathaniel, 1667; Eliza- 
beth, October 9, 1670; David, October 19, 
1672; Susanna, November 4, 1675; Jona- 
than, December 26, 1677. 

(VII) John Stone, second son of Simon 

(2) and Mary (Whipple) Stone, was born 
July 23, 1658, in Watertown, and settled 
in Groton, Massachusetts, with his 
brother, Deacon Simon Stone. No record 
of his death appears. He married Sarah 
(Nutting) Farnsworth. Two of their 
children are recorded in Watertown, 
namely: John, born March 23, 1699; 
James, January 23, 1701. His family also 
included Joseph, and probably several 
others, who do not appear on the Groton 

(VIII) Joseph Stone, son of John and 
Sarah (Nutting-Farnsworth) Stone, was 
born about 1705-07, in Groton, where he 
died. The year in the record of his death 
has been worn or torn away from the 


records, but his age is stated at seventy- 
five years. He married, May 9, 1728, 
Mary Prescott, born April 29, 1711, died 
April 5, 1793, daughter of Jonas and 
Thankful (Wheeler) Prescott, of Con- 
cord, Massachusetts, later of Groton. 
Children : Joseph, born December 30, 
1729; Mary, August 28, 1731 ; Sybil, 
October 16, 1733; Isaac, December 25, 
1735 ; Jonas, November 11, 1737; Sarah, 
February 4, 1740; Silas, February 11, 
1742; Lydia, April 1, 1744; Simon, No- 
vember 1, 1746; Amos, July 24, 1749; 
Samuel, mentioned below; Thankful, No- 
vember 10, 1754. 

(IX) Samuel Stone, seventh son of 
Joseph and Mary (Prescott) Stone, was 
born November 7, 1751, in Groton, and 
resided in Gardner, Massachusetts, where 
he died November 19, 1831. A large por- 
tion of the lands in Gardner were at one 
time owned by members of the Stone 
family, including Samuel. He married 
Martha Wilder, who was born April 21, 
1756, in Sterling, Massachusetts, and died 
in Gardner, September 30, 1846, in her 
ninety-first year. Children : Eunice, born 
March 17, 1778; Samuel, June 30, 1779; 
Joseph, June 8, 1781 ; Jacob, April 22, 
1783; unnamed daughter, December 15, 
1785; Martha, December 26, 1786; Ben- 
jamin and Olive (twins), January 20, 
1789; Mary, February 28, 1790; Abra- 
ham, December 29,1792; Dulcinia, March 
17 , 1795; unnamed son, April, 1797; 
Marion, July 13, 1799. 

(X) Benjamin Stone, fourth son of 
Samuel and Martha (Wilder) Stone, was 
born January 20, 1789, in Gardner, lived 
in that town, and died at South Gardner, 
October 20, 1849. He lived for many 
years on the paternal homestead, which 
he sold to his son Ai, and removed to 
South Gardner. He married (first) Lucy 
Wheeler, born July 27, 1789, in Gardner, 
died there, September 19, 1836. He mar- 
ried (second) Susan Rolf. Children, all 

born of the first marriage : Leonard, Au- 
gust 31, 1815, died three years old; Ai, 
mentioned below; Calvin, November 28, 
1819, died in sixteenth year; Albert, June 
30, 1822, died twenty-two years old ; 
Leonard, March 3, 1825, died in Califor- 
nia ; Sampson, May 18, 1827, died at 
Chelsea, Massachusetts, November 31, 
1871 ; Lucy, January 28, 1831, died in 
Gardner, June 25, 1887; Judson, July 26, 
1834, died twenty-two years old, at New- 
bury Ohio. 

(XI) Ai Stone, second son of Benja- 
min and Lucy (Wheeler) Stone, was 
born August 25, 1817, in Gardner, and 
died there, October 21, 1877. He was 
educated in the public schools of his 
home town, and early in life engaged in 
the manufacture of chairs. His factory 
was burned in 1839, and he subsequently 
engaged in the lumber business. Fol- 
lowing i860 he lived on the farm which 
had so long remained in the family. A 
supporter of the Congregational church, 
a Republican in politics, he led a quiet, 
industrious life, and did not mingle in pub- 
lic affairs. He married, December 15, 1845, 
Harriet Hadley, born September 25, 1828, 
in Ashburnham, Massachusetts. Chil- 
dren: 1. John, born in 1847, ' n Gardner; 
married Ella Bernis, and resides in Athol, 
Massachusetts ; they have sons Harry 
and Milo. 2. Reuben Sylvester, men- 
tioned below. 3. Lucy, married Arthur 
Reed, resided in Manchester, New Hamp- 
shire ; and has a son and daughter, Ellery 
E., born in Winchendon, Massachusetts, 
and Bertha, born in Gardner, Massachu- 

(XII) Reuben Sylvester Stone, second 
son of Ai and Harriet (Hadley) Stone, 
was born April 12, 1849, * n Gardner, 
where he grew up and received his pri- 
mary education in the public schools. He 
attended the high school at Leominster, 
and began business life as a manufacturer 
of chairs at Ashburnham, where he con- 


tinued three years. Removing to Win- 
chendon, Massachusetts, he was engaged 
as a carpenter and builder for eight years. 
Having a desire to learn something of 
western life, he removed to Dubuque, 
Iowa, where he was engaged for a year 
in prospecting for lead ore. Following 
this he spent two years in the gold mines 
of California and then returned to his na- 
tive town. For a period of eight years 
he was in the employ of the Dunn Manu- 
facturing Company, makers of chairs, and 
in 1887 engaged in the same business on 
his own account, in partnership with Al- 
fred Wyman, under the title of Stone, 
Wyman & Company. This continued 
five years, and in 1892 he was engaged 
by the Heywood Brothers & Wakefield 
Company, one of the largest chair manu- 
facturers of the world, about one year, 
being superintendent of one of their fac- 
tory buildings. In 1893 he formed a 
partnership with Charles Nichols, under 
the style of Nichols & Stone, and four- 
teen years later this was incorporated as 
Nichols, Stone & Company. The con- 
cern employs about one hundred and fifty 
people in the manufacture of chairs, and 
under ordinary business conditions ex- 
ports a large part of its product. Mr. 
Stone is president of the corporation, and 
devotes his entire time to the welfare of 
the business. He is a Congregationalist 
in religion, and a member of Hope Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Gardner; 
of Gardner Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, 
and of Ivanhoe Commandery, Knights 
Templar, of Gardner. He is a member of 
Aleppo Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine of Boston, 
and of the Gardner Boat Club. Both Mr. 
and Mrs. Stone are members of Jessa- 
mine Chapter, No. 75, Order of the East- 
ern Star, of Gardner, of which Mrs. Stone 
is past worthy matron. Of enterprising 
and progressive character Mr. Stone has 
taken an active interest in the welfare of 

the community, and in political faith is a 

Mr. Stone married, April 17, 1872, 
Mary A. Raymond, born October 7, 1849, 
in Gardner, daughter of Asa W. and Su- 
san (Thurston) Raymond. They have 
one son, Albert Henry Stone, born Octo- 
ber 8, 1882, in Gardner. He graduated 
from Gardner High School, from Dean 
Academy, and later attended Dartmouth 
College. He is a director in the corpora- 
tion of Nichols, Stone & Company, and 
general manager of the business. He mar- 
ried Mattie Jones, born October 13, 1884, 
in Charlestown, Massachusetts, daughter 
of George S. and Caroline Warren (Proc- 
tor) Jones. They were the parents of 
two children, both of whom died in in- 

BUTLER, Charles E., 


The Butler family is said to be Irish 
or Norman-Irish in origin, although there 
are in Cheshire and Yorkshire several old 
established families of this name. They 
may, however, have been branches of the 
great Irish family. The surname is said 
to be derived from the French form with 
the same meaning, “Botiler,” a wine mer- 
chant or Butler. The king’s butler, or 
pincerna regis, was an officer of consider- 
able importance, answering to the post of 
collector of customs in modern ports. 
The origin of the great Irish family of 
Butler is a vexed question. They have 
been variously deduced from Herveius, a 
companion of William the Conqueror — 
from the illustrious De Clares — and from 
a brother of Thomas a Becket, archbishop 
of Canterbury. The name, however, is 
a corruption of the Norman-French term 
applied to the office of the king’s butler, 
which was conferred upon Theobald, sur- 
named “le botiler,” by Henry II., and re- 
mained hereditary in his descendants for 


many generations. In those centuries the 
upper classes in England were French 
speaking, and were largely Norman in 
blood, and the surnames dating from that 
time are either purely French in origin 
or are Anglo-Saxon terms that have been 
given a slightly French turn. 

The ancestors of the Butlers, on the 
paternal side, crossed to Ireland in the 
twelfth century, and sought alliances 
with the Milesian houses of their own 
station, transmitting the family name to 
their descendants in both a Norman and 
a Gaelic form. In the thirteenth century 
what is now called Tipperary was formed 
into the “county palatine of Ormond 
under the Butlers, who thus became so 
powerful that different branches of them,” 
says “O’Hart’s Pedigrees,” “furnished 
many of the most distinguished families 
in Ireland. ” The Butlers were earls, mar- 
quises and dukes of Ormonde. Their war 
cry, which also became their motto, as in 
many Gaelic families, was “Butler Abu,” 
“abu” or “aboo” being the Irish or Gaelic 
word for “victory.” Their arms, accord- 
ing to the description given in “O’Hart’s 
Pedigrees” were: Or, a chief indented 
azure. Crest: In a ducal coronet, or, a 
plume of five ostrich feathers ; or, a fal- 
con arising out of the last. In the case 
of the English families bearing the name 
the patronymic has probably been de- 
rived in a similar way from the Norman- 
French word denoting occupation. Pos- 
sibly, also, in America there are families 
of French origin among the Butlers, 
whose names was originally Botiler, 
which became anglicized into Butler. 

Justice Butler, ancestor of the Butler 
family, lived in New Haven, Connecticut, 
where he was born 1760. He was a de- 
scendant of Deacon Richard Butler, who 
came to this country in 1633 from Brain- 
tree, County Essex, England. Richard 
Butler became a freeman at Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, May 14, 1634, and a mem- 

ber of the Rev. Thomas Hooker’s church 
at Hartford, Connecticut, in 1642. With 
his brother William, he was among the 
first settlers at Hartford, receiving six- 
teen acres of land there in the first di- 
vision. He was a deacon in the first 
church there, and occupied successively 
the positions of juror, selectman, deputy 
to the General Court, and clerk of the 
General Court. He lived in Hartford on 
the south side of the Little river, and 
owned a house, lot and other lands in 
Wethersfield. lie was twice married, the 
name of his first wife remaining un- 
known, and he married (second) Eliza- 
beth Bigelow, prior to coming to Hart- 
ford. She died February 26, 1656, while 
his death occurred August 6, 1684. They 
had eight children, five of them sons, all 
born at Hartford. Justice Butler was de- 
scended from one of these sons of Rich- 
ard Butler. Justice Butler married Lucy 

Henry Butler, son of Justice and 
Lucy (Davis) Butler, was born at 
New Haven, Connecticut, 1785, and con- 
tinued to live in New Haven, where he 
was a prominent figure in mercantile cir- 
cles. Later he moved to Richmond, Vir- 
ginia. He married, in 1S07, at New 
Haven, Rebecca Green, born in New 
Haven in 1788, a daughter of Samuel 
Green, born in 1744, died in 1799, and 
Abigail (Buell) Green, born at Killing- 
worth, Connecticut, in 1749, died in Rich- 
mond, Virginia, in 1819. Abigail (Buell) 
Green was descended in the fourth gen- 
eration from William Buell, the Ameri- 
can pioneer, and patriarch of the family. 
William Buell, Bewelle or Beville, was 
born in Chesterton, Huntingdonshire, 
England, about 1610. Emigrating to 
America as early as 1630, he settled first 
at Dorchester, Massachusetts, and in 
1 635 joined the first company that went 
westward to found the town of Windsor, 
in 1641, and after 1664 lived in Killing- 


worth, where he died in 1720. In the old 
records he is especially set down as “gen- 
tleman,” was an extensive land owner, 
and was honored by his fellow citizens 
by election to many positions of trust and 
responsibility. By his marriage, in 1662, 
to Deborah Griswold, who was born in 
1646, died in 1719, Samuel Buell allied 
himself to another of the great Colonial 
families of Connecticut. His wife was a 
daughter of Edward Griswold, of Wind- 
sor, brother of Governor Matthew Gris- 
wold. The Griswold family is descended 
from Humphrey Griswold, of Greet, Lord 
of the Manor. Their ancestors came 
originally from Cambridgeshire, where 
they were established as early as 1135. 
The grandparents of Abigail (Buell) 
Green were Benjamin Buell, of Killing- 
worth, who was born in 1686, died in 
1725, and Hannah (Hutchinson) Buell, 
of Hebron, whom he married in 1710. 
The parents of Abigail (Buell) Green 
were John Buell, born in Killingworth in 
1717, died in 1752, and Abigail (Chat- 
field) Buell, daughter of John Chatfield. 
Several of the sons of Henry and Rebecca 
(Green) Butler have occupied command- 
ing positions in the commercial and pro- 
fessional life of New York City. The 
eldest son, George B., who was born in 
New Haven, Connecticut, in 1809, died in 
New York in 1886, is well remembered as 
one of the proprietors of the “New York 
Journal of Commerce,” and secretary and 
attorney of the Hudson River Railroad 
Company. His son, George Butler, was 
the distinguished artist, one of the fore- 
most American painters of his generation. 

Charles E. Butler, son of Henry and 
Rebecca (Green) Butler, was born at 
Richmond, Virginia, in 1818, died at his 
residence on East Sixty-ninth street, New 
York City, May 1, 1897. After complet- 
ing his classical education he began the 
study of law under the preceptorship of 
Jonathan Prescott Hall, an eminent mem- 

ber of the New York City bar, and under 
his able guidance he completed his studies 
and laid the foundation for his future 
successful career as a lawyer. He was 
admitted to the bar and in association 
with his former preceptor, Jonathan P. 
Hall, practiced in New York until 1842. 
He was then twenty-four years old and 
so rapidly had he advanced in his profes- 
sion that in 1842 he became an associate 
of William M. Evarts, who was also a 
young man, just beginning a career that 
terminated so brilliantly. The young 
men practiced very successfully from the 
very beginning and as Butler and Evarts, 
the firm became well-known among the 
brightest of the younger lights of the 
New York bar. The years brought them 
further honors as lawyers of great ability, 
and in 1852 Charles F. Southmayd was 
admitted, the firm becoming Butler, 
Evarts & Southmayd. Mr. Butler retired 
from the firm in 1859 and the firm which 
he founded eventually became Evarts, 
Choate & Sherman, now composed of 
sons of the earlier members. 

Mr. Butler specialized in admiralty 
law, becoming an authority in that branch 
of legal practice. His written opinions 
and arguments made in some of the most 
noted cases are regarded as standards 
founded on the most vital principles of 
admiralty law. While he nominally con- 
tinued in practice until his death, he did 
not continue closely in practice after 1879 
but spent much of his time at his beauti- 
ful country estate at Stockbridge, Massa- 
chusetts. He was president of the New 
York Bar Association, one of the foun- 
ders of the Union League in New York, 
and an early member of the Century 
Club, a membership he never relin- 
quished. His life was a long, honorable 
and useful one, and when it terminated at 
the age of seventy-nine years he was the 
last survivor of the early firm, Butler, 
Evarts & Southmayd. During the Civil 


War he was active on the “Sanitary Com- 
mission,'’ the forerunner of the “Red 
Cross” movement of to-day. 

Charles E. Butler married Louisa 
Clinch, who died in 1852. He married 
(second) Susan R. Sedgewick. Children 
by first marriage : Prescott Hall, an emi- 
nent lawyer and later member of the firm 
founded by his father, married Cornelia 
Stewart Smith ; Maxwell Evarts ; Rosa- 
lie, who died in 1907, a well-known char- 
itable worker; Helen C. ; Virginia; Lil- 
lian, who married John Swann, of Eng- 

MORTIMER, Edmund, 

Man of Enterprise. 

The name of Mortimer is one of the 
most ancient names known among the 
peerage of England, and is traced to 
Roger de Mortimer, said to have been a 
relative of William the Conqueror. He 
had a son Ralph, who participated in the 
battle of Hastings in 1066 under that 
monarch, and became Baron of Wigmore 
Castle, Herefordshire. His wife was Mil- 
licent, and they had a son Hugh, who held 
Wigmore, Cleobury and Bridgenorth. He 
rebelled against Henry II. He married 
Maud, daughter of William Longespee, 
born in Normandy, died at Cleobury, 1185. 
his son Roger resided in Wales, and 
died in 1215. He married (first) Milli- 
cent, daughter of Robert Ferrers, Earl of 
Derby ; (second) her niece, Isabel. Sir 
Ralph Mortimer, son of the latter, mar- 
ried Gladys Ddu, and was the father of 
Roger Mortimer, born 1225-26, died Octo- 
ber 28, 1282, in Kingston. He fought in 
Gascony and Wales with Edward III. in 
the baron’s war. He planned the escape 
of Prince Edward, and commanded a divi- 
sion of his army in the battle of Evesham ; 
was sheriff of Hertfordshire. He married 
Maud, daughter and co-heir of William 

de Braos, Lord of Brecknock. Their son, 
Edmund Mortimer, born 1255, married 
Margaret, daughter of William de Fen- 
deles, and died 1303. Their son, Roger 
Mortimer, born April 29, 1286, was a 
favorite of Queen Isabella ; was Earl of 
Mard and Baron Mortimer of Wigmore. 
He married, before 1308, Joan, daughter 
of Peter de Genevil, Lord of Trim, Ire- 
land. His great-grandson, Edmund Mor- 
timer, married Philippa, heiress of Lionel, 
Duke of Cleveland, third son of King Ed- 
ward III. The last of the title was Lord 
Edmund Mortimer, who died in 1434. A 
descendant of this family, Richard Morti- 
mer, born in Cleckheaton, England, De- 
cember 25, 1791, came to New York in 
1816, and his descendants have been re- 
siding in that vicinity. The name is found 
for several centuries in the vicinity of 
Trowbridge, Wiltshire, England, where 
John Mortimer, Esq., married Catherine, 
daughter of Joseph and Ann (Yorke) 
Houlton, was living in 1623. John Mor- 
timer, Esq., born about 1760, married 
Frances, daughter of John and Margaret 
(Galbraith) St. Barbe. Edward Horlock 
Mortimer, of Bellefield House, near Trow- 
bridge, England, was a magistrate for 
Wilts, and married, January 26, 1783, 
Eliza, daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth 
(Lewis) Bythesea, of Week House. 

The family of Mortimer herein de- 
scribed was founded in America by Ed- 
mund Mortimer, who came from Trow- 
bridge, England, and lived in Rochester, 
New York. He was twice married. The 
children of his first marriage were Carrie 
and Alfred ; those of the second, Mary 
and Helen. Alfred Mortimer, son of Ed- 
mund Mortimer, married Eudora Craig, 
and they had children: Frederick Craig; 
Bessie ; Edmund and Ambrosia. 

Edmund Mortimer, son of Alfred and 
Eudora (Craig) Mortimer, was born Jan- 
uary 17, 1876, in Chicago, Illinois, and re- 

Mass — 5 — 5 



moved with his parents to Waterville, 
Maine, at the age of three months. He 
attended the public schools and Coburn 
Classical Institute, and on leaving school 
went to sea before the mast on the bark 
“St. James,” which sailed from New York 
to Hakodate, Japan. After a voyage of 
eighteen months he returned to New 
York as first mate, and then engaged in 
business in New York City in association 
with W. R. Grace & Company, a very 
large foreign commission house. In 1901 
he established himself in business at 
Worcester, Massachusetts, founding the 
Edmund Mortimer Fertilizer Company, 
which later became the Coe-Mortimer 
Company, and is now in the American 
Fertilizer Trust. In 1908 Mr. Mortimer 
disposed of his interest in this business, 
and removed to Grafton, Massachusetts, 
where he has since been engaged in farm- 
ing and fruit culture, on a very large 
scale. He also grows considerable quan- 
tities of hay, and throughout the year 
maintains from ten to twelve men upon 
his estate. During the peach growing 
season he employs one hundred and forty 
men, and during the past year produced 
thirty thousand baskets, or about twenty 
thousand bushels of peaches. He is also 
a large producer of small fruit. Mr. Mor- 
timer is a man of great energy and enter- 
prise, and is ever active in promoting the 
interests of the community where he may 
be located. He is politically a Democrat, 
but is ever the friend and admired repre- 
sentative of all in his constituency. He 
is at present assessor of the town of Graf- 
ton, and was a member of the council of 
Governor Walsh, elected by a combina- 
ton of Democrat and Progressive votes in 
1914. For three years, 1911-12-13, he was 
a member of the board of selectmen of 
Grafton, and was chairman of the board 
in the latter year. He is a trustee of Am- 
herst Agricultural College, appointed in 

1915 for a period of ten years. He is very 
active in the Masonic fraternity, and has 
attained the Knight Templar degree. Be- 
fore his removal to Massachusetts he 
served as a private in the Seventh Regi- 
ment, National Guard of the State of 
New York. 

He married, October 22, 1900, Migno- 
nette Smith, born February 8, 1876, in 
Kansas City, Missouri, daughter of Wil- 
liam A. and Nellie (Shouse) Smith, of 
Kansas City (see Smith IX). Children 
of Edmund Mortimer and wife : Migno- 
nette, born October 3, 1901 ; Eudora, Feb- 
ruary 23, 1903; Edmund, January 4, 1906; 
Myrtle, October 5, 1913; Rose, August 
29, 1915. 

(The Smith Line). 

(I) Henry Smith came from County 
Norfolk, England, to New England, in 
1638, in the ship “Diligent,” with his wife, 
three sons, two daughters, and three male 
and two maid servants. He lived some 
time at Weymouth, Massachusetts, was 
made freeman March 13, 1639, was repre- 
sentative in the General Court two years, 
and in 1643 settled at Rehoboth, Massa- 
chusetts, where he died in 1649. His 
wife Judith survived him and made her 
will October 24, 1650, in which are named 
son Henry and daughter Judith, and 
another daughter whose married name 
was Hunt, three children of her son John, 
and her son Daniel. 

(II) Ensign Henry (2) Smith, son of 
Henry (1) and Judith Smith, born in 
England about 1635, was buried in Reho- 
both, Massachusetts, November 24, 1676. 
There he married, November 29, 1637, 
Elizabeth Cooper, who was buried De- 
cember 3, 1690. Children: Joshua, men- 
tioned below ; John, born August 6, 1661 ; 
Elizabeth, December 7, 1663 ; Judith, Feb- 
ruary 17, 1665; Thomas, June 15, 1667; 
Mary, November 22, 1670; Henry, De- 
cember 4, 1673 ; Abigail, November, 1676. 



(III) Ensign and Deacon Joshua Smith, 

eldest child of Ensign Henry (2) and 
Elizabeth (Cooper) Smith, was born Octo- 
ber 2, 1658, in Rehoboth, where he made 
his home, and died December 10, 1745. He 
married there, February 9, 1688, Mary 
Peck, born September 15, 1664, in See- 
konk, died February 7, 1755, daughter of 
Nicholas and Mary (Winchester) Peck. 
Children : Rebecca, born February 3, 

1690; Elizabeth, December 8, 1691; 

Henry, mentioned below; John, October 
10, 1695; Sarah. 

(IV) Deacon Henry Smith, eldest son 

of Joshua and Mary (Peck) Smith, was 
born October 14, 1693, in Rehoboth, 

where he passed his life, and died Febru- 
ary 2, 1754. He married, December 5, 
1716, Ruth Burr, who died November 30, 
1747. Children: Simon, mentioned be- 
low; Ruth, born April 2, 1720, died June 
4, 1720; Mary, July 4, 1721; Henry and 
Ruth (twins), April 12, 1725; Betsey, 
May 24, 1729; Benjamin, March 4, 1731 ; 
Ebenezer, June 26, 1735 ; Eleazer, March 

24. 1737- 

(V) Simon, eldest child of Henry and 
Ruth (Burr) Smith, was born November 

25, 1717, in Rehoboth, where he died De- 
cember 23, 1745. He married, March 27, 
1740, Sibbell Ormsbee, born July 1, 1718, 
in Rehoboth, daughter of Daniel and 
Ruth Ormsbee. Children; Simon, men- 
tioned below; Amos, born January 12, 
1743; Henry, October 26, 1744. 

(VI) Simon (2), eldest child of Simon 
(1) and Sibbell (Ormsbee) Smith, was 
born April 2, 1741, in Rehoboth, and set- 
tled in Barrington, Rhode Island, where he 
made his home until he died at sea in 1780. 
He served the colonies in the Revolu- 
tionary War, being a member of Captain 
Thomas Allen’s company in a battalion 
enlisted May 19, 1777. He married in Bar- 
rington, May 3, 1779, Rachel Tiffany, 
born September 22, 1748, in Warren, 
Rhode Island, daughter of Ephraim and 

Esther Tiffany, granddaughter of Eben- 
ezer Tiffany and great-granddaughter of 
Humphrey and Elizabeth Tiffany, who 
resided in Rehoboth as early as 1664. 
There was only one child of this mar- 

(VII) Samuel, only child of Simon (2) 
and Rachel (Tiffany) Smith, was born 
November 23, 1779, in Barrington, Rhode 
Island, and there married, August 18, 
1805, Lucy Armington. Children, of Bar- 
rington record : Elizabeth, born Novem- 
ber 23, 1805; Lucy, April 4, 1808; Sus- 
anna Kent, January 18, 1811; Charlotte 
Townsend, October 3, 1813 ; Samuel Wat- 
son, mentioned below ; Rachel Tiffany, 
January 6, 1819. 

(VIII) Samuel Watson, only son of 
Samuel and Lucy (Armington) Smith, 
was born January 23, 1816, in Barrington, 
Rhode Island, and lived in Cincinnati, 
Ohio. There he married Mary Wooley. 
Children: William Armington, Edward, 
Lucy A., Lydia D. and Samuel W. 

(IX) William Armington, eldest child 

of Samuel Watson and Mary (Wooley) 
Smith, was born December 29, 1849, in 
Cincinnati, and lived in Kansas City, Mis- 
souri. He married Nellie Shouse, born 
April 5, 1855, in Fisherville, Kentucky. 
Children: 1. Mignonette, wife of Ed- 

mund Mortimer, of Worcester. 2. Myrtle, 
resides on Stoneland Road, Worcester. 
She was educated in the high school, 
graduating in the class of 1898, and at 
Wellesley College, from which she was 
graduated in 1902. After pursuing the 
medical course of Tufts College, she was 
graduated Doctor of Medicine in 1905, 
and is now engaged in practice in Worces- 
ter. 3. William Armington, resides in 
Seattle, Washington. He married Beulah 
Rich, who died in May, 1913, as the result 
of an automobile accident. They had two 
children : Dorothy and Robert. 4. Drake 
Louis, died in infancy. 

(X) Mignonette, eldest child of Wil- 


liam A. and Nellie (Shouse) Smith, was 
born February 8, 1876, in Kansas City, 
Missouri, and graduated from the high 
school in 1894, and from Wellesley Col- 
lege, Bachelor of Arts, in 1898. She was 
married, October 22, 1900, to Edmund 
Mortimer, of Worcester (see Mortimer). 

ALLEN, Thomas, 

Journalist, Philanthropist. 

This is an old family name that as Al- 
leyne, Allyn, Allan and Allen existed in 
England as far back as the thirteenth 
century. The earliest known ancestor is 
Alanus De Buchenal, 1272-1307, who held 
the Lordship of Buchenal in Stafford- 
shire. The Allen or Allyn families were 
very numerous in New England, even in 
the first years of the settlement of the 
colonies. They were of English blood for 
the most part. There were three Allen 
families in ancient Windsor, Connecticut, 
one of Scotch ancestry and two of Eng- 
lish, both spellings Allen and Allyn being 
in use. Thomas, Samuel and Matthew 
Allyn, all brothers, came to this country 
at the same time. They were sons of 
Samuel Allyn, of Branton, Devonshire, 
and of Chelmsford, Essex county, Eng- 
land. Their parents seem to have come 
over also, but little is known of them. 
“Ould Mr. Allyn” died at Windsor, Sep- 
tember 12, 1675. ‘‘Old Mrs. Allyn” died 
there, August 5, 1649. One or both of 
these records doubtless pertain to the 
parents of the Allyns. The descendants 
of Deacon Thomas and Matthew spelled 
the name Allyn, while those of Samuel 
herein traced use the form Allen. 

(II) Samuel (2) Allen, son of Samuel 
(1) Allyn, was baptized in Chelmsford, 
County of Essex, England, in 1586. He 
came to America with the original Brain- 
tree Company in 1632, as did doubtless 
the other brothers, and perhaps the par- 
ents. Prior t0' 1644 Samuel Allen re- 

moved to Windsor, Connecticut, where 
he was buried April 28, 1648, aged sixty 
years. He lived for a time in Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, and after his removal to 
Windsor held many public positions of 
trust. His widow removed to Northamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, where she married 
(second) William Hurlburt. and died No- 
vember 13, 1687. Samuel (2) Allen left 
a small estate consisting of house and 
home lot in East Windsor, meadow and 
farm land, personal property, including a 
musket and sword, which would indicate 
military service. Children: Samuel, men- 
tioned below; Nehemiah, married, 1664, 
Sarah Woodford, sister of Hannah, wife 
of his brother Samuel, and was the great- 
grandfather of General Ethan Allen, of 
Revolutionary fame, through his son 
Samuel; John, married Mary Hannum; 
Rebecca; Mary; Obadiah. 

(Ill) Samuel (3) Allen, eldest child of 
Samuel (2) Allen, was born 1634, prob- 
ably in Braintree, and in 1657 settled at 
Northampton, Massachusetts, where he 
was assigned a home lot on King street, 
at the corner of Back lane, now Edwards 
street. This continued in the possession 
of his descendants to 1805. He was made 
a freeman in 1683, and died in Northamp- 
ton, October 18, 1719. He married, No- 
vember 29, 1659, Hannah, daughter of 
Thomas and Mary (Blott) Woodford, of 
Northampton. Children: Plannah, born 
February 12, 1661, married Nathan Alex- 
ander; Thankful, March 3, 1664, died un- 
married ; child, died March 22, 1665 ; 
Sarah, born July 28, 1668; son, February, 
1671 ; Joseph, September 11, 1672, died in 
Northampton, December 27, 1703; Chloe, 
1674; Samuel, mentioned below; Eben- 
ezer, July 31, 1678; Thomas, February, 
1681; Mindwell, February 11, 1683, mar- 
ried (first) Thomas Holton, of North- 
ampton, (second) Daniel Chapin, and 
died October 21, 1758. 

(IV) Deacon Samuel (4) Allen, son of 




THE NEW vork ~ 




Samuel (3) and Hannah (Woodford) 
Allen, was born July 6, 1675, in Northamp- 
ton, resided next door to Jonathan Ed- 
wards, the noted divine, was long a dea- 
con in the church, and died March 29, 
1739. He married, February 20, 1699, 
Sarah, daughter of Isaac and Rebecca 
(Clark) Rust, born May 29, 1675, died 
Septembers, 1746. Children: Jonathan, 
born 1700, died 1780 in Middletown; 
Sarah, December 5, 1701, married, Janu- 
ary 2, 1727, Jonathan Miller; Samuel, 
died young; Samuel, August 4, 1706, set- 
tled in Marlboro, died 1755; Joseph, men- 
tioned below; Hannah, December 1,1714, 
married Elias Lymon, a Revolutionary 
soldier ; Experience, married Daniel 
Clark, died before 1754. 

(V) Joseph Allen, third son of Deacon 
Samuel (4) and Sarah (Rust) Allen, was 
born April 5, 1712, was a friend of Jona- 
than Edwards, and one of the nineteen 
who stood by him in the contest with his 
parishioners. He settled on King street 
in the homestead of his grandfather, and 
died there, December 30, 1779. This was 
long occupied by his widow, and became 
known as the Betty Allen House. It was 
several times enlarged and torn down 
about 1900. He married, November 22, 
1733, Elizabeth Parsons, born March 25, 
1716, daughter of Noah and Mindwell 
(Edwards) Parsons. She survived him 
more than twenty years, and died June 
10, 1800. Children: Joseph, born October 
12, 1735, settled in Pittsfield and was a 
soldier of the Revolution; Jonathan, De- 
cember 15, 1737, a major in the Revolu- 
tion; Sarah, baptized May 11, 1740; 
Elizabeth, September 7, 1741, died 1742; 
Thomas, mentioned below; unnamed, 
born 1745 ; Phineas, February 23, 1746, 
died July 30, 1763 ; Moses, September 14, 
1748; Solomon, February 16, 1751. major 
in the Revolution; Elisha, November 12, 
1 752 ; Elijah, December 1, 1754; Eliza- 
beth, March 6, 1757, married May 17, 

1779, Thomas Craig; Eunice, November 
5, 1758, married, October 23, 1777, Sam- 
uel Breck, a merchant of Northampton. 

(VI) Rev. Thomas Allen, third son of 
Joseph and Elizabeth (Parsons) Alien, 
was born January 18, 1743, in Northamp- 
ton, and became noted as "the fighting 
parson” of the Revolution. He received 
a legacy from his great-uncle, Thomas 
Allen, which enabled him to pursue a 
college course, and graduated from Har- 
vard College in 1762. He studied the- 
ology with Rev. Dr. Hooker, of North- 
ampton, and was ordained pastor of the 
Congregational church in Pittsfield, April 
18, 1764. He was the first clergyman'sta- 
tioned there, was pastor forty-six years, 
during which time three hundred and 
forty-one persons were admitted to the 
church. He was chaplain of the Revolu- 
tionary forces at Ticonderoga in 1776, 
and in Westchester county, New York, in 
1777. After a prayer at the battle of Ben- 
nington he fired the first shot in that 
memorable battle. Preceding the engage- 
ment he advanced in front of. the Ameri- 
can forces and exhorted the Tories, who 
were opposed to them, to lay down their 
arms, and was fired upon. Returning to 
the ranks he opened the battle and did 
valiant service, his brother, Joseph, load- 
ing the gun so that there would be no 
delay in his firing. He believed the cause 
of the Continentals to be just, and en- 
tered into the struggle for independence 
with all the ardor and energy which char- 
acterized the leaders in that conflict. He 
is described as a man of “middle height, 
slender and energetic, and elastic move- 
ments.” He was simple and courteous, 
zealous, warm in his attachments, and 
frank in reproof. In 1774 he was chair- 
man of the committee of correspondence 
of Pittsfield, and his example and inspira- 
tion were of great influence among his 
fellow citizens. He was opposed to aris- 
tocracy and monarchy, and thus readily 


joined in the cause of the patriots. A 
true Congregationalism he was an earnest 
and powerful preacher, and enjoyed the 
love and esteem of the parish and town, 
and his memory is still venerated by the 
citizens of Berkshire. He died Febru- 
ary ii, 1810, in Pittsfield. He married, 
February 18, 1768, Elizabeth, daughter of 
Rev. Jonathan and Elizabeth (Metcalf) 
Lee, of Salisbury, Connecticut, a descend- 
ant of Governor Bradford, of the Plym- 
outh Colony, born September 4, 1747, 
died March 31, 1830. Children: 1. Thom- 
as, born March 16, 1769; graduated at 
Harvard, 1789; was admitted to the bar, 
1792 ; a prominent lawyer ; representa- 
tive in 1805, and died during his second 
term in that office, May 22, 1806. 2. Jona- 
than, born January 29, 1771, died in sec- 
ond year. 3. Jonathan, mentioned be- 
low. 4. Elizabeth, born February 8, 1775, 
married William P. White, a merchant of 
Boston, and died in 1798, in London, 
England. 5. George Washington, born 
April 22, 1777, died 1781. 6. Clarissa, 

born July 12, 1779, married, March 4, 
1805, as his second wife, John Breck, 
and died December 6, 1831. 7. George 

Washington, born August 9, 1781, died 
November 5, 1820, in Georgia. 8. Cap- 
tain Samuel, born January 2, 1784; par- 
ticipated in many battles, and died Au- 
gust 10, 1811, at Ogeechee, Georgia. 9. 
Rev. William Allen, D. D., born January 
2, 1784; graduated from Harvard, 1802; 
was ordained to succeed his father as pas- 
tor of the church in Pittsfield, October 
10, 1810; was dismissed at his own re- 
quest, February 25, 1817; was a profes- 
sor in Dartmouth College from 1820 to 
1839; he was one of the compilers of the 
“American Biographical Dictionary”; re- 
moved to Northampton, Massachusetts, 
in 1839, and engaged in literary work un- 
til his death, July 16, 1868. 10. Love, 

born July 8, 1786, married, in 1811, Gen- 
eral Eleazer W. Ripley, speaker of the 

Massachusetts House of Representatives, 
brigadier-general of the United States 
army, 1814; representative in Congress, 
1836, died 1839; she died September 11, 
1820, at St. Louis, Missouri. 11. Solo- 
mon Metcalf, born February 18, 1789; 
graduated at Middlebury College, 1813, 
Andover Theological Seminary, 1814, was 
professor of ancient languages there, and 
died September 23, 1817, unmarried. 12. 
Dr. Elisha Lee, born December 8, 1792; 
was associate surgeon of the United 
States army, and died September 5, 1817, 
at Pass Christian, Louisiana, unmarried. 

(VII) Jonathan Allen, third son of 
Rev. Thomas and Elizabeth (Lee) Allen, 
was born March 23, 1773, and died in 
May, 1845. He was educated in the pub- 
lic schools under the tutorship of his 
father, and engaged in mercantile busi- 
ness in 1795. He served in both houses 
of the State Legislature, was one of the 
founders of the Berkshire Agricultural 
Society, and one of its early presidents. 
He married (first) (published August 4, 
1800) Elizabeth Marsh, born September 
9. 1776, in Dalton, Massachusetts, daugh- 
ter of Perez and Sarah (Williams) Marsh, 
died 1805. He married (second) Novem- 
ber 26, 1807, Eunice Williams Earned, 
born August 9, 1791, died March 17, 1868, 
daughter of Darius and Eunice (Marsh) 
Larned. Children: 1. George Washing- 
ton, born about 1801 ; was a colonel in 
the United States army, and died at Vera 
Cruz, Mexico, in 1848. 2. Charles James 
Fox, born about 1803, baptized Septem- 
ber 23, 1826, died in 1861, while United 
States appraiser at the port of Boston. 3. 
Eliza, died two years old. 4. Frank Wil- 
liams, died twenty-nine years old. 5. 
Thomas, mentioned below. 6. Francis 
Sedgwick, born July 15, 1815, died No- 
vember 17, 1842, in Pittsfield. 7. Robert, 
died one year old. 8. Catherine, died six 
days old. 9. Mary Larned, born July 3, 
1822, married Thomas S. O. Sullivan. 10 



William, born August 24, 1824, was chief 
paymaster of volunteers in the United 
States army, in the Civil War, with the 
rank of colonel. 11. Elizabeth Love, 
born October 9, 1826, married, in 1851, 
Henry Gurdon Marquand, a wealthy mer- 
chant of New York City. 12. Maria Mel- 
ville, born March 16, 1831, married, in 
1863, Benjamin R. Curtis, of Boston, 
judge of the Superior Court of the United 
States, author of law reports. 13. Robert, 
born February 8, 1834, unmarried. 

(VIII) Thomas (2) Allen, fourth son 
of Jonathan Allen, and child of his second 
wife, Eunice (Williams) Allen, was born 
August 29, 1813, in Pittsfield, and died 
April 8, 1882, at the national capital. He 
graduated at Union College in 1832, and 
located in New York City, where, in 1833, 
he became editor of the ‘‘Family Maga- 
zine/’ He aided in the compilation of a 
digest of New York court decisions, and 
in 1837 established at Washington a peri- 
odical known as the “Madisonian." In 
1842 he removed to St. Louis, Missouri, 
and in 1858 founded the banking firm of 
Allen, Copp & Nesbit. He was the leader 
in the construction of the St. Louis & 
Iron Mountain Railroad, which was sold 
in 1881 to Jay Gould for two million 
dollars. For four years Mr. Allen served 
as a member of the Missouri State Sen- 
ate, and was representative in Congress 
in 1880. Mr. Allen remembered his na- 
tive place in a gift of the Athemeum 
Building, the construction of which cost 
fifty thousand dollars. He was one of the 
original trustees of this institution under 
its charter of incorporation, March 24, 
1871, and was elected president on the 
formal organization. May 13, 1872. On 
that day he joined with Mr. Plunkett in 
deeding to the institution the Agricul- 
tural Bank Building of Pittsfield. In De- 
cember, 1873. Mr. Allen addressed a letter 
to his associates offering to erect a suit- 
able building at his own personal cost. 

not exceeding $50,000, and make a free 
gift of it, if satisfactory assurance was 
given within a reasonable time that a 
sufficient sum would be raised to free the 
site from encumbrance and maintain the 
Athenaeum in perpetuity. At the town 
meeting of 1874 a vote was passed to pay 
off the mortgage upon the Athenaeum 
ground and to provide for the mainte- 
nance of a free library and the care of the 
building. Thereupon the trustees en- 
larged the grounds to a frontage of 144 
feet and a depth of over 99 feet, and the 
Athenaeum remains to-day a lasting 
monument to the generosity and public 
spirit of Mr. Allen. He married, July 12, 
1842, Ann Clementine Russell, of St. 
Louis, who survived him, and died Janu- 
ary 27, 1897, i n Pittsfield. Children: 1. 
Elizabeth Larned, born August 12, 1843, 
married, about 1869, William Rhind Don- 
aldson. 2. Frances Mary, died in first 
year. 3. William Russell, born January 
19, 1849, resides in Pittsfield. 4. Thom- 
as, born October 19, 1849, > n St. Louis; 
graduated at the Royal Academy of Dus- 
seldorf, Germany, in 1877, established a 
studio in Boston in 1880, and has pro- 
duced many valuable paintings. 5. 
George Washington, born March 31, 
1852; is vice-president and treasurer of 
the East St. Louis Locomotive & Ma- 
chine Shops. 6. Bradford, born August 
27, 1854, died thirty years old in St. Louis. 

7. Annie Lee, born October 6, 1857, mar- 
ried, August 29, 1893, Louis Chauvenet. 

8. Grace, born June 27, i860, died in 
fourth year. 9. Alice Maud, born June 
2, 1864, married (first) Charles Atwater, 
(second) Louis Lombard. 

BOWKER, Charles Watson, 

Successful Business Man. 

In the early records in this country the 
surname Bowker is also spelled Boucker, 
Boucher, Buker, Booker and Bouker. 



Deane’s “History of Scituate, Massachu- 
setts,” states that James Bowker-, the first 
of the family in that town, was of Swedish 
ancestry. But other facts tend to show 
that the Bowker family came from Eng- 
land. The family historian is convinced 
that James Bowker, of Scituate, was a 
son of Edmund Bowker, of Dorchester. 
The remote ancestry may have been 
Swedish, however. 

Another Bowker family settled early in 
New Jersey and a Buker and Booker fam- 
ily, probably of the same stock as the Mas- 
sachusetts family, settled early in Maine. 
John Bowker, said to have been from 
England, was in York, Maine, about 1707, 
and tradition says that he had a brother 
who settled further east. He married 
Hester Adams, daughter of Thomas 
Adams, of York, and had eight children, 
1713-28. Edward Booker settled about 
1638 in York county, Virginia, and there 
is a record of a power of attorney that 
he gave to his brother-in-law, Richard 
Glover, in Holland. From him the Vir- 
ginia Bookers are descended. 

(I) Edmund Bowker, the pioneer of 
the Massachusetts Bay family, settled in 
Dorchester, Massachusetts, and in 1646 
was a member of the Artillery Company 
of Boston. He was born as early as 1630 
and presumably lived during his youth 
with relatives in Dorchester. Fie wii 
nessed a contract between Nathaniel 
Wales and Thomas Tolman, of Dorches- 
ter, February 1, 1657. He married Ellen 
Smith, who died in Dorchester, March 
21, 1659-60. In Savage’s “Genealogical 
Dictionary” it is stated that he married 
Mary Potter. His widow Margaret mar- 
ried at Medfield, January 26, 1668-69, 
Thomas Holbrook, of Sherborn. These 
records indicate that he married three 
times. He went to Sudbury in 1658 or 
soon afterward, as shown by the attempts 
of Dorchester to make him pay minis- 
terial rates there, after he had left the 

town. He died at Sudbury in March, 
1666-67. Children: 1. James, who is 

said to have come from Sweden, in the 
“History of Scituate,” and settled in 
Scituate about the time of King Philip’s 
War, is believed by other authorities to 
be a son of Edmund; children: James, 
Mary, Lazarus, Elizabeth and Edmund. 
2. John, mentioned below. 3. Elizabeth, 
born July 3, 1659. 4. Edmund, born De- 
cember 13, 1661; lived at Sudbury; 

drowned March, 1706; married, March 
29, 1688, Sarah Parmenter; their son 
John was appointed guardian of his 
brother Daniel in 1717; they had also a 
son Edmund ; this family settled among 
the first at Hopkinton. 5. Mary, born at 
Sudbury, April 15, 1665. 

(II) John Bowker, son of Edmund 
Bowker, was born about 1652, in Dor- 
chester, and died at Sudbury, August 27, 
1721, aged seventy years. He lived in 
Sudbury ; was admitted a freeman in 
1685, and his later years were spent in 
Marlborough. He married, February 8, 
1678, Mary Howe, who was born June 30, 
1659, at Watertown, died September 29, 
1723, daughter of Abraham and Hannah 
(Ward) Howe. In his will John Bowker 
bequeaths to wife Mary, daughter Rachel, 
grandson Josiah, sons Asa and Ezekiel, 
daughters Hannah Bowker. Mary Gates 
and Martha Fairbanks; also three grand- 
children “now living with me, notwith- 
standing their father hath had his full 
portion already in his lifetime.” Chil- 
dren, born at Marlborough: John, men- 
tioned below ; Martha, born March 6, 
1685 ; Mary, twin of Martha ; Ezra, died 
Tune 25, 1690; Asa, bom November 22, 
1691, married Martha Eager; Ezekiel, 
born November 5, 1693, married Abigail 
Rice; child, born December 19, 1695; 
child, born March 25, 1698; Hannah, 
born September 21, 1699, married Ger- 
shom Howe ; Rachel, born September 9, 
1702, died April 12, 1754, unmarried. 


(III) John (2) Bowker, son of John 

(1) Bowker, was born at Marlborough, 
September, 1679, and died about 1710. 
His children, after his death, went to live 
with their grandfather. Records show 
that he lived in Marlborough, Southbor- 
ough, Westborough and Stow. He died 
in Stow. He married Ruth Howe, who 

married (second) Cloyes. He left 

no will and in the settlement of his estate 
only the names of his father and wife, 
Ruth, are mentioned. Children: John 
mentioned below; Josiah ; child, probably 
a daughter. 

(IV) John (3) Bowker, son of John 

(2) Bowker, was born in Marlborough or 
vicinity about 1705. He married, at 
Westborough, June 7, 1731, Freedom 
Bigelow, born February 14, 1710, daugh- 
ter of John and Jerusha (Garfield) Bige- 
low, granddaughter of Joseph and Sarah 
(Gale) Garfield. Her father, John Bige- 
low, was born May 9, 1675, son of Samuel 
and Mary (Flagg) Bigelow. He was 
captured by Indians, October 5, 1705, and 
with Thomas Sawyer taken to Canada, 
where they built for the French the first 
saw mill. Freedom was named to cele- 
brate his release from captivity. Samuel 
Bigelow, his father, was born October 29, 
1653, married, June 3, 1674, Mary Flagg, 
daughter of Thomas and Mary Flagg; 
was a leading citizen of Watertown, 
deputy to the General Court in 1708-10. 
John Bigelow, mentioned elsewhere in 
this work, was the father of Samuel Bige- 
low, and pioneer ancestor of all the Bige- 
lows in this country. John Bowker lived 
in Westborough and Shrewsbury. The 
births of his children, Silas, John and 
Betty, are recorded in both towns. The 
“Plistory of Shrewsbury” states that he 
moved there in 1741. He finally located 
in Petersham. His will was dated at 
Petersham, August 3, 1796, bequeathing 
to children, Betsey Briant, Persis Fair- 
banks, Silas, Solomon ; children of son 

John and sons Ezekiel and Jotham. He 
died in 1797. Children, born at Westbor- 
ough and Shrewsbury : Silas, mentioned 
below; Betty, born February 9, 1734-35; 
John, born October 26, 1736 (his brother 
Jotham was appointed administrator, Au- 
gust 20, 1781, wife Elizabeth) ; Sarah, 
born August 5, 1738; Benjamin, born De- 
cember 26, 1740, died at Shrewsbury, Au- 
gust 9, 1742; Solomon, born March 25, 
1743; Persis, born October 13, 1744, mar- 
ried. February 29,1792, Jabez Fairbanks; 
Ezekiel, born December 23, 1746; Jotham, 
deputy sheriff of Worcester county, mar- 
ried Patty Whitney. 

(V) Silas Bowker. son of John '(3) 
Bowker, was born at Westborough, May 
29, 1733. He removed to Petersham when 
a young man and after 1775 located in 
Royalston near Priest Brook in the 
easterly part of the town. He was a 
soldier in the Revolution in Captain John 
Oliver’s company, Colonel Nathan Spar- 
hawk’s regiment. September 28 to Octo- 
ber 18, 1777, twenty-eight days, reinforc- 
ing the northern army at the taking of 
General Burgoyne. He married, Janu- 
ary 17, 1760, Bethia Ward. Children, 
born at Petersham: Samuel Ward, born 
December 16, 1760, lived on the farm 
known as the Hadley place, Royalston, 
between the farms of Lyman Stone and 
Clarence Stone; Sarah, born February 28, 
1763, died August 16, 1776; Abigail, born 
Tune 21, 1765; Francis Bernard, born 
July 30, 1770, moved to Paris, New York, 
in 1798; Stephen Bigelow, mentioned be- 
low; Nancy, born July 7, 1775, married 

Stanley, died at Henderson, New 

York, in 1840. 

(VI) Stephen Bigelow Bowker, son of 
Silas Bowker. was born at Petersham, 
December 25, 1772, and died in Royals- 
ton, October 30, 1833. He married, Sep- 
tember 12, 1789. Submit Grover, of Graf- 
ton, who died February 17, 1857, aged 
seventy-nine years. Children: Silas, born 



January 17, 1800, died May 30, 1820; Na- 
thaniel, mentioned below. 

(VII) Nathaniel Bowker, son of Ste- 
phen Bigelow Bowker, was born at 
Royalston, July 26, 1808, died July 22, 

1861, aged fifty-three years. He was a 

farmer on the homestead and also en- 
gaged in lumbering and in the meat busi- 
ness. He was a member of the famous 
militia company of Royalston, each of 
whom was six feet or more in height and 
two hundred pounds or more in weight. 
He married, at Royalston, November 9, 
1830, Philenia Wheeler, who was born at 
Chesterfield, New Hampshire, September 
30, 1804, died August 14, 1885, daughter 
of Peter and Sarah (Hubbard) Wheeler, 
grandaughter of Peter and Olive (Davis) 
Wheeler. Olive Davis was a daughter of 
Captain Simon Davis. Peter Wheeler, 
Sr., was born at Concord, February 4, 
I 73 2_ 33 > son °f Hezekiah and Sarah 
(Fletcher) Wheeler, grandson of Wil- 
liam and Hannah (Buss) Wheeler, and 
great-grandson of George Wheeler, of 
Concord, the immigrant. Children of 
Nathaniel Bowker: Stephen B., born 

March 8, 1833, died May 23, 1878; Silas 
W., born June 1, 1835, died June 17, 1835 ; 
Lucia Amelia, born May 1, 1838, died 
July 28, 1890, married Edwin W. Hadley, 
son, Charles W. Hadley, born July 10, 

1862, married Allie E. Bishop; Charles 
Watson, mentioned below. Interments 
are all in the old cemetery in the middle 
town of Royalston, Massachusetts. 

(VIII) Charles Watson Bowker, son 
of Nathaniel Bowker, was born at Royals- 
ton, June 15, 1841, on the Bowker farm a 
mile and a half east of Royalston Center 
on the Winchendon road. His only 
schooling was obtained at the old North- 
east district school. When he was but 
twelve years old, his father put him in 
charge of a meat market at Winchendon 
in the Amasa Whitney Block and he 
boarded at the American House. When 

he was fifteen, he used to help his brother 
Stephen B. get the cattle home from pas- 
ture and then help him butcher until ten 
o’clock at night. To avoid the flies and 
heat, the butchering was done at night in 
the summer season. No ice was used. 
After two hours of sleep he was called at 
midnight for breakfast. His horses were 
ready and his cart loaded with fresh 
meat. He drove to South Orange through 
Athol, a distance of fifteen miles, arriving 
about five in the morning. He then sold 
his stock of meat from a cart in South 
Orange, North New Salem, New Salem, 
West Orange, Wendall and Irving. The 
cattle were bought of farmers in Royals- 
ton and vicinity. In one of his trips 
he remembers vividly having his horse 
stopped by a rattlesnake while climbing 
Salem Hill. On alternate days he went 
home having two hours of sleep one night 
and six the next. Owing to the illness of 
his father he returned to work on the 
farm. He was but twenty years old when 
his father died. For a few years he was 
in the pail and lumber business with his 
brothers-in-law, William and Joel Sibley, at 
New Boston, Massachusetts. In April, 1867, 
he bought the grain business of J. A. Rob- 
bins, of Winchendon, afterwards selling 
a half-interest to Woodcock & Sawyer 
who later sold their share to C. L. Beals, 
the firm name then becoming Beals & 
Bowker. Mr. Bowker made his home in 
Winchendon until 1873, when he sold out 
his interests in the business and engaged 
in the produce business in Worcester. 
His business prospered and was ex- 
tended. He became one of the leading 
commission merchants and best known 
business men of the city. For many 
years his business was located at 24 
Washington square. His son, George A. 
Bowker, became a partner and subse- 
quently Charles Watson Bowker, Jr., an- 
other son. was admitted to the firm, which 
for many years was C. W. Bowker & 



Company. In 1911 the business was in- 
corporated under the name of C. W. 
Bowker & Company, and since that time 
the store has been at 122-124 Central 
street. Mr. Bowker is president of the 
corporation, George A. Bowker, treas- 
urer, and C. W. Bowker, Jr., assistant 
treasurer and clerk. The company does 
an extensive wholesale and retail busi- 
ness in hay, grain, feed and straw. Mr. 
Bowker invested his surplus shrewdly in 
Worcester real estate and at the present 
time is one of the large real estate owners 
of the city, having sixty-nine apartments 
besides a business block in Washington 
square and another on Central street in 
which his business is located. From 1885 
to 1895 Mr. Bowker owned the Beryl Hill 
farm in Rovalston and his family spent 
the summers there. He raised thorough- 
bred Guernsey cattle and when he sold 
the farm his entire herd was bought by 
ex-Vice-President Morton for his stock 
farm at Rhinecliff, New York. 

Mr. Bowker is a member of no organi- 
zations nor clubs. In politics he is a Re- 
publican and he has always taken a keen 
interest in party and municipal affairs, 
though he has never accepted public 
office. Though not a member, he has 
been one of the largest contributors to 
the building fund and support of the Park 
Congregational Church. He gave also of 
his time and experience on the building 
committee; contributed half the cost of 
the organ ; presented three memorial 
windows and the weather vane and pul- 
pit furniture. When the church debt was 
paid he subscribed $900 on condition that 
the balance be raised, and his gift virtu- 
ally saved the church from foreclosure 

He married (first) January x, 1863, 
Nancy A. Sibley, who was born at Win- 
chendon, daughter of Joel and Rhoda 
(Alger) Sibley, of New Boston, Massa- 
chusetts (see Sibley VI). She died in 

August, 1870. He married (second) Sep- 
tember 12, 1871, Susan Baker Upham, 
who was born in Royalston, September 
30, 1844, daughter of Daniel Winthrop 
Upham (see Upham VIII). Children by 
first wife: 1. John Bradley, mentioned 
below. 2. Charles Alfred, born Febru- 
ary 24, 1867, died April 24, 1873. Chil- 
dren by second wife: 3. Harrison Win- 
throp, born June 10, 1877, graduate of 
Worcester Classical High School, 1897, 
and of Harvard College, 1901. and of 
Harvard Law School, 1904; admitted to 
the Massachusetts bar in 1904: since then 
has been practicing law in Worcester, 
having offices in the Slater Building: 
member of the Harvard and Economic 
clubs, the Credit Men’s Association, the 
Worcester and Massachusetts Bar asso- 
ciations. 4. George Arthur, mentioned 
below. 3. Lena May, born at Royalston, 
July 24, 1885, graduated from Mt. Hol- 
yoke College in 1908, member of the Phi 
Beta Kappa, the honorary society ; mar- 
ried, July 15, 1915, Charles Goodwin Hill, 
treasurer of the Phenix Plate Company, 
of Worcester (see Hill VIII). 6. Charles 
Watson, mentioned below. 

(IX) John Bradley Bowker, son of 
Charles Watson Bowker, was born at 
Royalston, March 12, 1865. His early 
years were spent on the homestead in his 
native town. In 1873 he came with his 
parents to Worcester where he was edu- 
cated in the public schools, graduating 
from the Worcester High School in 1884. 
He was for several years associated in 
business with his father in the wholesale 
provision and produce store. He was 
elected auditor of the city of Worcester, 
June 6, 1898. to serve the unexpired term 
of John F. Howell, deceased, and was 
regularly reelected to this office by the 
City Council until he resigned in 1905. 
He became business manager of the 
“Worcester Telegram,” April 1, 1905, and 
has held that position to the present time. 



Mr. Bowker was secretary and treasurer 
of the Central Massachusetts Poultry As- 
sociation in 1891-92; secretary and treas- 
urer of the Worcester Milk Association, 
1:893-94; secretary of the Massachusetts 
Farmers’ and Cattle Owners’ Associa- 
tion in 1895 > secretary and treasurer of 
the Worcester County Agricultural So- 
ciety, 1893-98; secretary of the New Eng- 
land Milk Producers’ Association, 1898. 
He is a member of the Worcester Horti- 
cultural Society, of the Worcester County 
Mechanics’ Association and of Worcester 
Grange, Patrons of Husbandry, in which 
he has held the various offices excepting 
that of Master. In politics he is a Repub- 

He married, October 12, 1886, at Wor- 
cester, Martha Ann Thayer, born No- 
vember 14, 1867, daughter of Enoch and 
Martha Ann Thayer, of Hopkinton, Mas- 
sachusetts. Children: 1. Marion Thayer, 
born July 26, 1887; married, October 12, 
1911, Frank Roys, graduate of the Wor- 
cester Polytechnic Institute, in which he 
is now an instructor. 2. Harold Sawyer, 
born December 7, 1888 ; is now teller 
in the savings department of the Mer- 
chant’s National Bank ; married, June 2, 
1913, Susan Upham ; child; Bradley 
Thayer, born July 25, 1914. 

(IX) George Arthur Bowker, son of 
Charles Watson Bowker, was born in 
Worcester, June 4, 1881. He was edu- 
cated in the Worcester public schools and 
in the Worcester Polytechnic Institute. 
In 1903 he became a partner of his father 
and since the business was incorporated 
he has been treasurer of C. W. Bowker 
& Sons. He is a member of the Eco- 
monic Club, the Worcester Driving Club 
and of Phi Gamma Delta fraternity of 
Worcester Polytechnic Institute. In poli- 
tics he is a Republican. He married, 
July 31, 1913, Grace M. Oakes, daughter 
of John W. Oakes, of Worcester. 

(IX) Charles Watson Bowker, Jr., son 

of Charles Watson Bowker, Sr., was born 
at Royalston, September 11, 1888. He 
attended the public schools in Worcester, 
graduating from the Classical High 
School in 1906. After taking a post- 
graduate course in the high school, he 
entered Dartmouth College, from which 
he was graduated in 1911 with the degree 
of Bachelor of Arts. He is a member of 
the Kappa Sigma fraternity and treas- 
urer of its house corporation. He was 
circulation manager of the college pub- 
lication “The Jack-o-Lantern.” Since 
graduation he has been with his father 
and brother in C. W. Bowker & Sons, 
Incorporated, of which he is clerk and as- 
sistant treasurer. He is a member of the 
Worcester Chamber of Commerce, the 
Worcester Horticultural Society, the 
Dartmouth Lunch Club and is a director 
of the Worcester Poultry Association. 
He married. September 12, 1914, Dorothy 
White, of Yonkers, New York. 

(The Sibley Line). 

(I) John Sibley came from England in 
1629 in the Higginson fleet in the ship 
“Fleet,” and settled in Salem. In 1637 he 
lived at Jeffrey’s Creek, now Manchester. 
He died in 1661. He married Rachel 
Pickworth, daughter of John Pickworth. 
Children : Sarah, born in Salem, baptized 
September 18, 1642; Mary, baptized Sep- 
tember 8, 1644; Rachel, baptized May 3, 
1646; John, baptized May 4, 1648; Han- 
nah, baptized June 22, 1651; William, 
baptized September 8, 1653; Samuel, 
baptized April 12,1657; Abigail, baptized 
July 3, 1659; Joseph, mentioned below. 

(II) Joseph Sibley, son of John Sibley, 
was born about 1655, at Salem. He was 
a fisherman and was once' impressed in 
the British navy. All his five sons settled 
in Sutton. He married Susanna Follett, 
daughter of William Follett. Children : 
Joseph, born November 9, 1684; John, 
September 18, 1687; Hannah, baptized 


May 9, 1695; Samuel, 1697; William, 
mentioned below ; Benjamin, born Sep- 
tember 19, 1703. 

(III) William Sibley, son of Joseph 
Sibley, was born in Salem, September 7, 
1700; settled in Sutton as early as 1 73 1 ; 
died there, October 18, 1763. He was a 
soldier in the Indian wars. He married, 
July 4, 1726, Sarah Dike. Children: Wil- 
liam, mentioned below ; Elijah, born 
October 30, 1728; Sarah, August 23, 1730; 
Daniel, January 31, 1733; David, Octo- 
ber 3, 1736. 

(IV) William (2) Sibley, son of Wil- 
liam (1) Sibley, was born at Sutton, May 
4, 1727. He served in the Indian wars. 
He married (first) December 26, 1751, 
Rebeckah Southworth, of Waltham ; (sec- 
ond) May 1, 1755, Huldah Kenney; 
(third) January 24, 1765, Hannah Stock- 
well. Child by first wife: William, men- 
tioned below. Children by second wife : 
Huldah; David, died young; Mehitable. 
Children by third wife: Noah, born May 
4, 1766; Hannah, May 4, 1767; Joel, May 
31, 1774; Rebecca, April 29, 1776, died 

(V) William (3) Sibley, son of Wil- 
liam (2) Sibley, was born in Sutton, in 
1753, and died at Royalston, June 22, 
1808. He settled first in Grafton. He 
was a soldier in the Revolution in Cap- 
tain John Putnam’s company, Colonel 
Ebenezer Learned's regiment in 1775. 
Pie married, February 14, 1782, Abigail 
Fay, born 1759, died July 20, 1838. Chil- 
dren : Southworth, born June 25, 1788: 
Chloe, May 26, 1791 ; Simeon, September 
21, 1793; Joel, mentioned below; Wil- 
liam, December 19, 1800. 

(VI) Joel Sibley, son of William (3) 
Sibley, was born at Grafton, December 
28, 1796. He removed to Royalston with 
his father and manufactured shingles and 
pails. J. B. Sawyer was his partner for 
a time. He died in 1863. In politics he 
was a Democrat ; in religion a Unitarian. 

He served the town as assessor, member 
of the school committee and trustee of 
the cemetery. He married (first) Demis 

Walker, of Winchendon ; (second) 

Walker; (third) Rhoda Alger, of Win- 
chendon. Children by first wife: Elvira, 
married J. B. Sawyer ; Plorace ; George ; 
Maria, married F. S. Hale. Children by 
third wife: William; Joel, merchant in 
Winchendon ; Charles ; Lovina, married 
Benjamin P. Peabody, of Worcester; 
Nancy A., married Charles W. Bowker 
(see Bowker VIII). 

(The Upham Line). 

(I) John Upham, the immigrant, came 

from England with his wife and children 
and sister in 1635 and settled at Wey- 
mouth. Pie was magistrate; selectman, 
1645-47, and deputy to the General Court. 
Pie removed to Malden where he was 
also commissioner ; moderator, 1678-80, at 
eighty-three years of age, and for twenty- 
four years served as deacon. He died 
February 25, 1681, aged eighty-four 


(II) Lieutenant Phineas Upham, son 
of John Upham, was born in 1635, at 
Weymouth. He located at Malden and 
in 1672 was one of the Malden men hav- 
ing land granted in Worcester. He was 
a lieutenant in King Philip’s War and 
was mortally wounded in the Swamp 
Fight. He married Ruth, widow of Ed- 
ward Wood. She died January 18, 1696- 
97. He died in October, 1676. 

(III) Nathaniel Upham, son of Lieu- 
tenant Phineas Upham, was born in 1661, 
at Malden, and died November 11, 1717. 
He was a sergeant. He married Sarah 
Floyd, who died October 14, 1715. Roger 
F. Upham, of Worcester, is descended 
from his son Noah. 

(IV) Nathaniel (2) Upham, son of Na- 
thaniel (1) Upham, was born in 1685; 
married, February 6, 1706, Mary Tuthill, 
of Boston. He lived at Malden. 



(V) Nathaniel (3) Upham, son of Na- 
thaniel (2) Upham, was born in 1715; 
married, November 4, 1736, Rebecca Dill; 
lived at Leicester, Massachusetts. Chil- 
dren: Daniel, Nathaniel, Thomas, Me- 
hitable and Rebecca. 

(VI) Daniel Upham, son of Nathaniel 

(3) Upham, was born December 1, 1743, 
died October 3, 1812 ; married, in 1765, 
Sarah Sprague, born November 3, 1749, 
died September 26, 1812. Children: 

Mollie, born October 11, 1766, died Sep- 
tember 9, 1812; Sarah, born August 28, 
1767, died June 19, 1850; Phebe H., born 
April 7, 1772, died September 29, 1812; 
Barnard, born June 16, 1774, died No- 
vember 28, 1824; John, mentioned below; 
Rebecca D., born December 1, 1778, died 
March 29, 1840; Daniel, born March 21, 
1781, died January 31, 1868, married Mary 
Savage; Joseph, born June 23, 1783, died 
June 15, 1866; Joshua, born April 7, 1786, 
died October 23, 1812; Samuel, born July 
2, 1788, died September 27, 1866; Roxa, 
born August 12, 1791. 

(VII) John (2) Upham, son of Daniel 
Upham, was born August 3, 1776, and 
died May 1, 1827. He married (first) 
April 10, 1800, Patty Holbrook, who died 
October 15, 1812, aged thirty-four years. 
He married (second) October 12, 1814, 
Susanna Baker, daughter of Samuel 
Baker (see Baker V). She married (sec- 
ond) Captain Asa Turner. Children by 
first wife : Horace Sprague, born April 
25, 1801; John Milton, October 9, 1803; 
Martha Holbrook, February 26, 1808; 
Mary Hutchinson, February 21, 1810; 
Elizabeth Fairbanks. Children by second 
wife : Joseph Emerson, December 9, 1815 ; 
Daniel Winthrop, mentioned below ; Sam- 
uel Baker, September 28, 1819, died May 
10, 1892; Joshua Nelson, August 5, 1822; 
Charles Wellington, September 19, 1824, 
died July 31, 1907. 

(VIII) Daniel Winthrop Upham, son 
of John (2) Upham, was born December 

22, 1817, died in 1851. He married, Au- 
gust 19, 1840, Mehitable Edson Clark, 
born April 17, 1819, died March 4, 1901. 
She married (second) November, 1854, 
William A. Willoughby and had one 
child, Charles Clark Willoughby, born 
July 5, 1857. Children of Daniel and 
Mehitable Edson (Clark) Upham : Susan 
Baker, born September 30, 1844, married 
Charles Watson Bowker (see Bowker 
VIII) ; Elmira Jane, born March 2, 1849, 
died January 2, 1892. Mehitable Edson 
Clark was a daughter of Eber and Sarah 
(Chase) Clark. Sarah Chase, born March 
1, 1792, was a daughter of David and 
Sarah (Raymond) Chase, granddaughter 
of Edward Raymond, son of Paul Ray- 
mond. David Chase was born in Sutton, 
March 10, 1761, died March 27, 18x6; 
married, October 17, 1786, Sarah Ray- 
mond, born September 26, 1765, died in 
Royalston, November 3, 1848. Francis 
Chase, father of David Chase, married 
Mary Perkins, June 12, 1760; was a 
soldier in the Revolution, died January 
16, 1791, aged fifty-five years. Philip 
Chase, father of Francis Chase, was born 
September 23, 1688; married, April 17, 
1712, Mary Follansbee. John Chase, 
father of Philip Chase, was born Novem- 
ber 2, 1655, married Elizabeth Bingley. 
May 23, 1677. Aquila Chase, father of 
John Chase, was the immigrant, born 
1618, at Chesham, England, died at New- 
buryport, Massachusetts, December 20, 
1670; settled in Hampton, New Hamp- 
shire, 1639, removed to Newbury, Massa- 
chusetts, 1646; married Anna Wheeler, 
daughter of John Wheeler, of Hampton. 
His English ancestry for many genera- 
tions has been traced. 

(The Baker Line). 

(I) Edward Baker, the immigrant, was 
born in England and sailed with Gov- 
ernor Winthrop in April, 1630, and be- 
came one of the first settlers of Lynn, 


Massachusetts. He was admitted a free- 
man, March i6, 1638. In 1657 he moved 
to Northampton, where he had grants of 
land and lived there for many years "a 
respected and influential man.” Return- 
ing to Lynn, after settling his sons Joseph 
and Timothy in Northampton, he died at 
Lynn, March 16, 1687. His will is dated 
October 16, 1685. He married Joan 

— , who died April 9, 1693. Chil- 

dren: Joseph; Mary, born April 1, 1642; 
John, 1645; Timothy, 1647; Thomas, 
1653 ; Edward, mentioned below. 

(II) Edward (2) Baker, son of Ed- 
ward (I) Baker, was born at Lynn, about 
1 655-58. He married there, April 7, 1685, 
Mary Marshall. Children, born at Lynn : 
Edward, born April 19, 1688, died young; 
Sarah, born January 18, 1689; Sarah, Jan- 
uary 13, 1690; Rebecca, October 1, 1092; 
Edward, January 4, 1694, died young; 
Edward, mentioned below ; Ruth, August 

15, 1696; Ruth, July 7, 1699; Elizabeth, 
March 29, 1702; Joseph, November 9, 
1704; Marshall, March 5, 1707-08. 

(III) Edward (3) Baker, son of Ed- 
ward (2) Baker, was born at Lynn, July 

16, 1695. He was one of the first settlers 

in Westborough. He married, at Marl- 
borough, November 22, 1721, Persis 

Brigham, daughter of Samuel and Eliza- 
beth (Howe) Brigham. Children, born 
at Westborough: Samuel, mentioned 

below; Solomon, born January 3, 1723- 
24 or 1724-25 ; Persis, November 8, 1726; 
Abigail, November 4, 1728; Hepzibah, 
March 22, 1729-30; Elizabeth, March 28, 
1 734 ; Joseph, May 19, 1736; Levenia, 
May 23, 1738; Ezra, May 21, 1740; Mary, 
July 19, 1746. 

(IV) Hon. Samuel Baker, son of Ed- 
ward (3) Baker, was born at Westbor- 
ough, August 27, 1722, died May 4, 1795. 
He settled in Bolton in the part now Ber- 
lin, buying in 1765 a tract of two hundred 
acres on Baker’s Hill. He built the two- 

story house lately owned by J. Henry 
Sawyer on the south slope of Wataquo- 
dock Hill. He hurried with the troops to 
Lexington, April 19, 1775. He opposed 
Shays Rebellion and was assaulted on his 
way from the court house. He was one 
of the seven delegates to the Worcester 
convention in 1789 and voted for the 
State constitution ; senator 1780-93 except 
two years; judge of the Court of Com- 
mon Pleas, 1775-95 ; councillor at the 
time of his death. The town history says 
that he reflected ‘‘more honor on the town 
than any other man in its history.” He 
married (first) November 24, 1747, Su- 
sanna Taintor, born December 18, 1720, 
daughter of Simeon Taintor. She died 
April 14, 1781, and he married (second) 
April 20, 1786, Mary Bigelow, a widow, 
who died at Worcester in 1825. Children 
by first wife born at Bolton : Susanna, 
1748; Persis, born February 24, 1750-51; 
Samuel, mentioned below; Edward, June 
! 5 > 1755 i Abel, August 8, 1757; Mary, 
May 5, 1760; Betty, March 1, 1763. 

(V) Lieutenant Samuel (2) Baker, son 
of Hon. Samuel (1) Baker, was born at 
Bolton, July 3, 1753, and died June 22, 
1825 (gravestone in Center graveyard). 
He was a soldier in the Revolution in 
Captain Artemas How’s company, on the 
Lexington Alarm; sergeant in 1775-76; 
corporal in Captain Joseph Sargent's 
company, 1777, and in Captain Jonathan 
Houghton’s company, Colonel Smith’s 
regiment. He removed to Templeton in 
1807. He married, at Bolton, May 25, 
1780, Hannah Bush, of Marlborough. 
She was born June 14, 1760, died August 
11, 1831. Children: Samuel, born April 
11, 1781, died May 31, 1839; Susanna, 
September 19, 1782, married John Up- 
ham (see Upham VII) ; Artemas, April 
4, 1784, died April, 1840; Eli, March 19, 
1786, died February 1, 1804; Joseph, Jan- 
uary 28, 1788; Levi, February 15, 1790, 



died December 3, 1874; Jonas, December 
21, 1791; Calvin, November 22, 179- ; 
Luther, January 12, 179- ; infant, Decem- 
ber 11, 179- ; Hannah, January 31, 1799; 
infant, May 24, 1800; Oliver, July 17, 
1801 ; Otis, July 27, 1803, at Templeton. 

HILL, Charles Goodwin, 


Abraham Hill, the immigrant ancestor, 
was born in England in 1615, and died 
in Malden, Massachusetts, February 13, 
1670. He settled in Charlestown as early 
as 1636, was admitted to the church 
there, June 3, 1639, and made a freeman, 
May 30, 1640. He kept mill for one John 
Coitmore, and held various town offices. 
In 1646 he sold his house in Charlestown 
and moved to Malden, where he was 
licensed by the General Court to keep an 
ordinary from time to time afterward. 
His tavern was on the east side of the 
Great road near the junction of the Med- 
ford road. The bridge known as Hill’s 
bridge was named after him. (Governor 
Isaac Hill of New Hampshire was a de- 
scendant). After his death the tavern 
was kept by his widow, Sarah Hill, until 
1679, when her son Jacob succeeded her. 
Sarah, the wife, the daughter of Robert 
Long, was admitted to the church, Sep- 
tember 10, 1644, and died February 13, 
1670. Children, born at Charlestown and 
Malden: Ruth, January 2, 1640: Isaac, 
mentioned below ; Abraham, born Octo- 
ber 1, 1643; Sarah, August 19, 1647, died 
in infancy; Sarah, October 12, 1649; 
Mary, May 9, 1652 ; Jacob, March, 1657. 

(II) Isaac Hill, son of Abraham Hill, 
was born at Malden, October 21, 1641, 
and died there, February 23, 1721. In 
1681 he succeeded his brother Jacob as 
tavern keeper at Malden, and continued 
in the business until 1698, possibly later, 
for in 1708 he entertained ministers at his 
house. He was admitted a freeman in 

1690 and served the town as selectman 
in 1689, 1692, 1693, 1694, 1702 and 1706. 
In 1698 he represented the town at Gen- 
eral Court. He married (first) in June, 
1666, Hannah Hayward, daughter of 
Samuel Hayward, who died April 25, 
1679. die married (second) Sarah Bick- 
ell, January 12, 1680. Children, all born 
in Malden : By first wife : Isaac, born 
June 16, 1670. By second wife: Moses, 
mentioned below; Tamazin, born Decem- 
ber 11, 1685, united in marriage by Rev. 
Mr. Wigglesworth, November 23, 1703, 
with Phineas Upham, son of Deacon 
Phineas Upham ; Abraham, born March 
22, 1688; Isaac, December 1, 1693. 

(III) Moses Hill, son of Isaac Hill, was 
born in Malden, August 1, 1682, and died 
there, July 21, 1743. On May 11, 1710, 
he was elected schoolmaster, but appears 
to have served only a month or so. In 
1727 he was on the town committee, and 
in 1 733 was sealer of weights and meas- 
ures. He also was a tavern keeper, leav- 
ing his tavern to his son Isaac, who kept 
it for many years. He married, Decem- 
ber 1, 1708, Sarah Parker. Children, all 
born at Malden: Jacob, August 9, 1710; 
Tabitha, July 13, 1712; Sarah, September 
4, 1714; John, June 10, 1718; Isaac, men- 
tioned below. 

(IV) Isaac (2) Hill, son of Moses Hill, 
was born in Malden, March 30, 1723, and 
died there, June 22, 1764. From 1747 
until his death he kept the principal 
tavern of the town, and the town records 
show that all town meetings and other 
public functions were held at his tavern. 
At his death his widow continued the 
business until her son Charles became of 
age, with her second husband, James 
Kettell, deputy sheriff and keeper of the 
jail, whom she married in June, 1766, as 
landlord. At this time John Adams put 
up at the “Sign of the Rising Eagle,” as 
the Hill tavern was known. Children, 
all born at Malden : Charles, April 5, 



1746; Lydia, February 26, 1749; Eliza- 
beth, March 11, 1753; Sarah, September 
29, 1754; Charles, mentioned below. 

(V) Charles Hill, son of Isaac (2) Hill, 
was born at Malden, February 21, 1756, 
and died there. April 29, 1804. A soldier of 
the Revolution from Malden in Captain 
Benjamin Blaney’s company at the Lex- 
ington Alarm, he served later in Captain 
Nailer Hatch’s company of Colonel Wil- 
liam Bond’s regiment, ranking as cor- 
poral. Later he served in Captain Ste- 
phen Dana’s company, Colonel Macin- 
tosh’s regiment, March 20 to April 5, 
1776, and again later at Point Shirley in 
Captain Blaney’s company (page 870, 
volume vii, “Massachusetts Soldiers and 
Sailors in the Revolution”). Hill’s Tav- 
ern was the principal one of the town and 
the town history makes frequent mention 
of Charles Hill as one of its most impor- 
tant citizens and landlord from 1777 until 
his death in 1804. In 1857 a portion of 
the land occupied by Hill’s Tavern was 
purchased by the town for a Town Hall 
site, and the old tavern building, which 
it is thought was built in 1657, although 
it is likely that many of the timbers used 
at this time were from an earlier struc- 
ture, was moved to Irving street. Many 
interesting stories of his sheltering slaves 
are told, especially one slave, Peter Nas- 
sau, from Martinique. He married, De- 
cember 18, 1777, Mary Wait. Children, 
all born in Malden: Charles, October 11, 
1778; Isaac, May 16, 1780; John Dexter, 
December 21, 1781; Polly, January 28, 
1784; Sally, November 3, 1785; Lydia, 
January 7, 1790; Rebecca Wait, Decem- 
ber 7, 1791; Patty, November 28, 1793; 
Benjamin Goodwin, mentioned below. 

(VI) Benjamin Goodwin Hill, son of 
Charles Hill, was born at Malden, De- 
cember 1, 1795, and died there, Septem- 
ber 2, 1868. He always resided in Malden 
and was active in public affairs, serving 

as representative to the General Court in 
1842 and on the committee to sell the 
meeting house in 1845. In 1850 he was 
on the finance committee of the Bi-Cen- 
tennial celebration of the town, and was 
the first master of Mount Vernon Lodge, 
Free Masons, 1857-58. He married at 
Charlestown, September 2, 1828, Martha 
Myrick Teel, born March 27, 1802, at 
Charlestow'n, died May 30, 1851, at Mal- 
den, daughter of Gershom and Mary 
(Myrick) Teel. Children, all born at 
Malden: George Goodwin, June 14, 1829; 
William Henry, December 28, 1830; 

Charles Augustus, mentioned below ; 
Isaac Adelbert, September 27, 1836; 

James White, August 25, 1838; Martha 
Elizabeth, September 14, 1840; Mary Car- 
oline, November 5, 1850. 

(VII) Charles Augustus Hill, son of 
Benjamin Goodwin Hill, was born at 
Malden, June 17, 1834, and died at 
Worcester, Massachusetts, January 20, 
1909. He received his early education in 
the public schools of Malden, and at the 
age of eighteen entered the employ of 
Fuller, Devroe & Company, wholesale 
dealers in dairy products, Boston, as 
bookkeeper. In i860 he came to Worces- 
ter and was employed in the office of 
Jerome Marble & Company, dealers in 
paints, oils and chemicals, becoming four 
years later a partner in the firm. In 1870 
he engaged in business for himself, form- 
ing a partnership with H. M. Hedden and 
founding the Phenix Plate Company, for 
the manufacture of ferrotype plates and 
other photographic products. The part- 
nership was dissolved a few years later, 
and Mr. Hill continued the business 
until his death as sole owner. For 
many years he was a director of the 
Mechanics’ National Bank and trustee of 
the Mechanics’ Savings Bank. He was 
a thirty-second degree Mason, member of 
Boston Commandery, Knights Templar, 

Mass — 5—6 


and other Masonic bodies of Boston. He 
married, November 17, 1868, Emily J. 
Aldrich, born at Willington, Connecticut, 
daughter of Hosea and Mary (Chard) 
Aldrich, of Charlton. Their only child 
was Charles Goodwin Hill, mentioned be- 

(VIII) Charles Goodwin Hill, son of 
Charles Augustus Hill, was born in 
Worcester, Massachusetts, August 1, 
1881. He graduated from the Worcester 
Classical High School in 1901 and re- 
ceived the degree of Bachelor of Arts 
from Harvard College in 1905. He be- 
came associated in business with his 
father and since the death of his father 
has continued the business as treasurer 
and general manager of the Phenix Plate 
Company, manufacturers of ferrotype 
plates and similar goods in large quan- 
tities and variety. On July 15, 1915, he 
married Lena May Bowker (see Bowker 
VIII). He is a member of Worcester 
Country Club and Harvard Club of 

LOCKWOOD, Rev. John Hoyt, 

Clergyman, Antiquarian. 

It is as an earnest, devoted and efficient 
minister of the gospel that Mr. Lockwood 
has attempted to achieve a worthy career 
during thirty-five years of active service. 
His deep interest in civil, political, educa- 
tional and philanthropic affairs has al- 
ways been proven by word and deed. He 
has ever sought the welfare of humanity 
in each of those fields rather than self- 
aggrandizement. However, it is not alone 
by what he has done that results must be 
measured ; but by the influence his ad- 
mirable life has had upon others. His 
counsel has never failed those who sought 
it, and their number is legion, and his 
sympathetic and fatherly advice has 
helped to spread the noble doctrine which 

his entire life exemplifies. Tender and 
loving in the home circle, his heart is no 
less filled with love toward all humanity. 

His family is an honorable one, and a 
few words concerning it are in place 
here. The name of Lockwood is of very 
ancient origin, and is found in Domesday 
Book, compiled at the order of William 
the Conqueror. Burke’s “General Armory” 
gives the Lockwood arms, as derived 
from the Rev. Richard Lockwood, rector 
of Dinglev, Northampton, England, in 
1530, thus: “Argent a fesse between three 
martlets sable.” Crest: “On the stump 
of an oak tree, erased proper a martlet 
sable.” Motto: Tutus in undis (“Secure 
against the waves”) ; Ne cede (“Break 
rather than bend”). In the historical rec- 
ords of Connecticut it appears that many 
Lockwoods were in the Colonial and Rev- 
olutionary wars. Forty-two officers of 
this name were in the Revolutionary 
War, besides many privates in the army 
and navy. The Tories in and about Nor- 
walk, Greenwich and Fairfield said : 
“They could not endure the notoriously 
rebellious Lockwood tribe,” but after 
years a grandson and a granddaughter 
healed the breach. These same Lock- 
woods had been burned out, plundered, 
and had their harvests destroyed by the 
British, and distressed in many ways. 
The record adds that the General Assem- 
bly reported their taxes abated. They 
were called the “Fighting Lockwoods.” 

Robert Lockwood came from England 
in 1630 in Governor Winthrop’s fleet, and 
settled at Watertown, Massachusetts, 
where his first six children were born and 
their births recorded. He was made a 
freeman, March 9, 1636. He removed to 
Fairfield, Connecticut, about 1646, and 
died there in 1658. He was made a free- 
man of Connecticut, March 20, 1652, and 
was appointed sergeant at Fairfield, in 
May, 1657. He sold to Bryan Pendleton 


all the land granted him by the town, also 
four acres of remote meadow and one 
acre of patch meadow, September 29, 
1645, to Edward Garfield, ancestor of the 
late President James A. Garfield. He left 
no will and his estate was administered 
upon by his widow Susanna. The court 
decided that the widow should have one- 
third of the estate, the ten children the 
remainder. Susanna Lockwood gave evi- 
dence in a witch case, May 13, 1654, at a 
court held in New Haven, and stated she 
was present when Goodwife Knapp was 
hanged for a witch. She subsequently 
married Jeffrey Ferris; she was the 
daughter and heir of Richard Cutts, Esq., 
and died at Greenwich, Connecticut, De- 
cember 23, 1660. Children: Jonathan, 
married Mary, a daughter of his step- 
father, Jeffrey Ferris ; Deborah; Joseph; 
Daniel; Ephraim, see forward; Gersham, 
who was the principal carpenter and 
builder in Greenwich, held many impor- 
tant public offices, and married Lady 
Ann Millington, of England, daughter of 
Lord Millington ; John ; Abigail, married 
John Barlow ; Sarah ; Mary, married Jon- 
athan Huested. 

Ephraim Lockwood, son of Robert and 
Susanna (Cutts) Lockwood, was born in 
Watertown, Massachusetts, December 6, 
1641. He was a young lad when he re- 
moved to Connecticut with his father, 
and settled in Norwalk, where he was ad- 
mitted a freeman, October 13, 1669. He 
married, June 8, 1665, Mercy Sention 
(now written St. John), daughter of Mat- 
thias Sention, of Norwalk. Children : 
John B. ; Daniel, married Charity Clem- 
ents ; Sarah, married John Platt ; Eph- 
raim ; Deacon Eliphalet, married Mary, 
daughter of John Gold , of Stamford ; 
Deacon Joseph, married Mary Wood, 
daughter of John Wood, of Stamford; 
Lieutenant James, married Lidia Smith ; 
Edmund ; Mary, married Joseph Gain- 

sey ; Abigail, married Cook. Both 

Eliphalet and James were members of 
the General Assembly of Connecticut. 

Isaac Lockwood, a grandson of Eph- 
raim and Mercy (Sention) Lockwood, 
was a soldier in the War of the Revolu- 
tion during its entire period. 

Hanford N. Lockwood, son of Isaac 
Lockwood, went from Danbury, Connec- 
ticut, to Troy, New York, with his fam- 
ily, in 1810, was a leading merchant there 
during sixty years, and for a time mayor 
of the city. He married Rachel Wild- 
man, of Danbury. Their goods for the 
new home were carried in an ox-cart to 
Fishkill, and thence by sloop up the Hud- 
son river. 

Charles N. Lockwood, son of Hanford 
N. and Rachel (Wildman) Lockwood, 
married Mary Elizabeth Fry, daughter of 
Deacon John and Eliza (Wildman) Fry, 
of Danbury, Connecticut. 

Rev. John Hoyt Lockwood, in the ninth 
generation from Robert, son of Charles 
N. and Mary Elizabeth (Fry) Lockwood, 
was born at Troy, New r York, January 17, 
1848. Until i860 he attended the public 
schools of his native city, and he was 
then prepared for entrance to college at 
the Troy Academy, at which he was a 
student for a period of four years. Ma- 
triculating at Williams College at the age 
of sixteen years, he was graduated in the 
class of 1868 with the degree of Bachelor 
of Arts ; the degree of Master of Arts was 
conferred upon him three years later by 
the same institution. In the meantime 
he had also been pursuing a course of 
study at the Princeton Theological Semi- 
nary, from which he was graduated in 
the class of 1871. Early in 1870 he had 
been licensed to preach by the Presbytery 
of New York in New York City, and a 
few months later we find him doing home 
missionary work in Southern Minnesota 
through his summer vacation, during 


which time he organized a Presbyterian 
church at Wells, in that State. He was 
ordained to the ministry, November 15, 
1915, by the Classis of Cayuga and in- 
stalled as pastor of the Reformed Church 
of Canastota, New York. April 28, 1873, 
terminated this charge, and shortly after- 
ward he became pastor of the New Eng- 
land Congregational Church of Brooklyn, 
New York, from which he resigned De- 
cember 31, 1878. He assumed the duties 
of the pastorate of the First Congrega- 
tional Church of Westfield, Massachu- 
setts, April 1, 1879, being formally in- 
stalled the following May 14. The bi- 
centennial of the church was celebrated 
in that year, and the historical sermon 
which Rev. Mr. Lockwood preached on 
that occasion was later published in book 
form. After Mr. Lockwood assumed 
charge, the church maintained a steady 
growth in attendance and membership. 
He always laid special emphasis on pas- 
toral work while making earnest prepara- 
tion for his service in the pulpit. As a 
preacher he was interesting and effective, 
increasing in power with advancing years. 
To the Sunday school Mr. Lockwood de- 
voted especial time and care, discharging 
the duties of superintendent during ten 
years, and so attractive did he make its 
classes and every phase of its work, that 
the number of its members was greater 
than ever before in its history. The 
church needed better equipment for its 
varied enterprises, and in 1894 a $20,000 
chapel was erected as an addition to it, 
the money for this purpose being mostly 
raised through the personal efforts of 
Mr. Lockwood. 

He enters into the sorrows of other 
men with keen and sympathetic apprecia- 
tion, his words of cheer often healing the 
wounds by their very gentleness and 
grace. Educational, missionary and be- 
nevolent matters also have occupied a 
goodly share of the time of Mr. Lock- 

wood, and he is ever foremost in the 
ranks of those who have the improve- 
ment and development of the town at 
heart. In connection with these ideas he 
has held a number of public and semi- 
public offices. For a number of years he 
was a member of the Westfield school 
committee, during a part of the time serv- 
ing as chairman of this body. Since soon 
after his arrival in town he has been a 
member of the board of directors of the 
Westfield Athenaeum, and a member of 
the board of trustees of the Westfield 
Academy Fund, of which he is now vice- 
president. He served a term of three years 
as a member of the board of visitors of 
Williams College, and has hardly missed 
attendance at the annual commencement 
since his graduation nearly fifty years 
ago. For many years he has been a mem- 
ber of the Connecticut Valley Historical 
Society, an active organization in this 
region. He is a trustee of the Young 
Men’s Christian Association College of 
Springfield ; and is an associate editor of 
the “Encyclopedia of Massachusetts Bi- 
ography.” In his political opinion he is 
an Independent Republican. 

At the conclusion of twenty-seven years 
of service, Mr. Lockwood resigned the 
active duties of the pastorate in West- 
field, and was by vote of the church 
made pastor emeritus, May 14, 1906. 
Soon afterward he removed to the neigh- 
boring city of Springfield, where he has 
continued to make his home, though re- 
turning often to Westfield. 

The research in local history demanded 
in preparing his bi-centennial sermon 
soon after entering upon his work in 
Westfield inspired an interest in town 
affairs which has deepened with the pas- 
sage of time. No adequate history of the 
town having been produced, Mr. Lock- 
wood long ago registered a purpose to 
supply the deficiency should it ever be- 
come possible for him to do so. For ten 



years past he has been finding great sat- 
isfaction in prosecuting that task, delving 
far and wide into Colonial and Revolu- 
tionary archives for facts related to the 
town’s birth and progress during nearly 
two hundred and fifty years. He hopes 
to have the history ready for publication 
ere long. 

Mr. Lockwood has been from the time 
of his entrance to college a devoted mem- 
ber of the Kappa Alpha Society, the old- 
est of the Greek letter organizations of 
our American colleges. He is a charter 
member of the Connecticut Valley Con- 
gregational Club, having served as its 
president in 1888, soon after its organiza- 
tion. He has been since 1882 a member 
of the Connecticut River Valley Theo- 
logical Club, composed of ministers of 
various denominations living within fifty 
miles of Springfield, its active member- 
ship being limited to twenty at any one 
time. He has been for many years an 
enthusiastic golfer, was a charter member 
of the Tekoa Golf Club of Westfield, and 
for ten years past has been a member of 
the Springfield Country Club. Of other 
clubs in Springfield, he is a member of 
the Winthrop Club, president of the 
Reality Club, secretary of The Club. He 
is also a member of the University Club 
of New York, and the Western Hampden 
Historical Society. 

Mr. Lockwood, on July 19, 1871, mar- 
ried Sarah L., daughter of Dr. Ezra P. 
and Sarah M. (Comstock) Bennett, of 
Danbury, Connecticut, who made her 
radiant and gracious personality a benefi- 
cent force in each of his three parishes. 
She died on January 9, 1908. Three chil- 
dren are living: William Andrew, Wil- 
liams, ’96, a lawyer in New York City; 
Annie Elizabeth, wife of Ralph H. Davi- 
son, of Ballston Spa, New York, and 
Lucy Bennett, Vassar, 1907, living in 

BICKFORD, Ernest Armand, 


John Bickford, the immigrant ancestor, 
was born in England about 1612. He set- 
tled in Dover, New Hampshire, and from 
him are descended all of the early families 
of this name in New Hampshire. His 
descendants have been numerous in 
Dover, Newington, Durham, Rochester 
and other towns in that section. He 
bought land, July 17, 1645, °f Darby 
Field, of Oyster River (Dover), then in 
the tenure of said Bickford with a lot of 
five or six acres adjoining on the land 
towards the creek on the side towards 
Little Bay, except the strip on said creek 
in possession of Thomas Willey. He was 
a taxpayer in Dover from 1645 to 1672. 
No record of his marriage or death has 
been found. Most writers have confused 
the record of John, Sr., and John, Jr. He 
was admitted a freeman in 1655. Chil- 
dren: John, born as early as 1640; Jo- 
seph, was taxed at Oyster River in 1675; 
George, of Marblehead, was possibly a 
son (see Driver genealogy, page 245). 
George was the ancestor of the Bickfords 
and Beckfords of Essex county, Massa- 

(II) John (2) Bickford, son of John 
(1 ) Bickford, was born 1635-40. He lived 
at Bloody Point, near Dover, from 1662 
to 1672; was taxed at Oyster River in 
1675; died before 1697. His inventory 
was dated November 8, 1697. His wife 
Temperance died before 1697. He and 
wife Temperance deeded to their son 
Thomas “all my house lands lying at ye 
poynt of Oyster River.” He afterward 
moved to the Newington shore, where he 
owned several tracts of land, one at 
Bloody Point, one at Fox Point and an- 
other along the point where he estab- 
lished himself. His children and grand- 
children intermarried with the principal 



families of Newington, the Harrisons, 
Dowings, Knights, Pickerings, Coes, Fur- 
bers and others. His wife’s name Tem- 
perance often reappears in the records of 
his descendants. Children: i. Thomas, 
born in 1656; captain, constable at Oyster 
River in 1692 ; had a garrison in his house 
in July, 1694, at Durham Point and alone 
defended it against an Indian attack by 
shouting orders to the imaginary de- 
fenders to deceive the enemy and firing 
as fast as possible ; was paid for board of 
soldiers in 1695-96 ; his will is dated Octo- 
ber 31, 1706; he married, at Dover, 

Bridget Furber, daughter of John Fur- 
ber; children mentioned in his will: Jo- 
anna, John, Joseph and Eleanor; also 
wife Bridget. 2. Joanna, married John 
Redman, Jr., who brought an action, Sep- 
tember 28, 1697, to compel his brother, 
Thomas Bickford, to present the will 
of his father for probate (the will, ac- 
cording to the deposition of Joanna, 
“was left with her mother Temperance 
to keep and when God was pleased to 
take away her speech she gave it to her 
brother Thomas Bickford 11 or 12 months 
ago.” Administration of the will was 
granted to the son Thomas). 3. Hannah, 
born November 5, 1665. 4. Benjamin, 

mentioned below. 5. John, married Eliz- 
abeth, daughter of Jeremy Tibbetts; chil- 
dren recorded at Dover: Martha, born 
July 23, 1692; Thomas, May 18, 1694; 
John, March 10, 1698 ; Thomas, January 
1, 1702; Joseph, March 8, 1705-06. 

(Ill) Benjamin Bickford, son of John 
(2) Bickford, was born October 20, 1672, 
and died at Newington, New Hampshire, 
in 1725. He was a planter at Newington. 
His will was dated April 4, 1724, and 
proved June 2, 1725. The witnesses were 
Robert Pike, Peter Greeley and James 
Jeffry. Children, mentioned in the will: 
Benjamin, Thomas, mentioned below ; 
John, Joseph, Mary, Abigail, Elizabeth 
and Deborah. 

(IV) Thomas Bickford, son of Benja- 
min Bickford, was born at Newington 

about 1700. He married Sarah . 

He could hardly have been old enough to 
be the Thomas Bickford who was mar- 
ried by Rev. William Allen, of Greenland, 
to Sarah Simeson (Simpson), July 26, 
1711. Children of Thomas and Sarah 
Bickford were baptized in the Newing- 
ton Church, December 17, 1736, as fol- 
lows : Thomas, Benjamin, Joseph, Sam- 
uel, Ichabod, Sarah and Eleanor. Three 
more, Ebenezer, Jonathan and Joanna, 
were baptized there October 18, 1741. Of 
these sons, Jonathan, Joseph and Eben- 
ezer, settled at New Durham, New 
Hampshire. The town of Alton was 
formed in part from New Durham and 
among the signers of the petition for in- 
corporation in 1788 we find the names of 
Benjamin, Abraham, Andrew and Eleazer 
Bickford. John, Eleazer and Joseph, sons 
of Thomas Bickford (III), grandsons of 
John (II), were among the proprietors of 
New Durham (see New England regis- 
ter, 1907). In 1790 Jonathan, Joseph and 
Ebenezer were heads of families in New 
Durham, which was settled in 1770 and 
incorporated in 1794. Ebenezer married, 
April 21, 1776, Susanna Cook, of Med- 

(V) Jonathan Bickford, son of Thomas 
Bickford, lived at Alton. In 1790 he had 
one son over sixteen in his family, while 
Joseph had no sons and Ebenezer had one 
under sixteen. 

(VI) Joseph Bickford, son or nephew 
of Jonathan Bickford, grandson of 
Thomas Bickford (IV), was born in New 
Durham or Alton. 

(VII) Richard Bickford, son of Joseph 
Bickford, was born in Alton and married 
Elmira Young. He was a merchant at 
Alton. Children: John Charles, men- 
tioned below; Joseph; E. J., born 1832, 

married Roberts, and is living at 

Alfred, Maine. 


(VIII) John Charles Bickford, son of 
Richard Bickford, was born at Alton, 
New Hampshire, August 17, 1836, and 
died in October, 1908, at Worcester, Mas- 
sachusetts. He was educated in the com- 
mon schools, and in his youth worked on 
the farm and in the mills. About 1854 
he came to Boston, where he worked at 
the trade of shoemaker. He was in the 
employ of B. F. Sturtevant & Company, 
operating and installing pegging ma- 
chines in shoe factories. Afterward he 
worked in various boot and shoe factories 
in Stoughton, Natick, Brookfield and 
North Brookfield, Massachusetts. In the 
sixties he engaged in manufacturing shoes 
in Marlborough, in partnership with John 
Clenant, under the firm name of Bick- 
ford, Clenant & Company. Thence he 
went to Berlin, Massachusetts, where he 
manufactured shoes for a Boston concern 
until the factory was burned about 1881. 
Coming to Worcester he started in busi- 
ness again in the firm of Bickford, Stet- 
son & Company, afterward Bickford & 
Bliss. His partner was Edward M. Bliss, 
who afterward established a slipper busi- 
ness in Worcester. The factory of Bick- 
ford & Bliss was on Mechanic street in 
the building now occupied by the Plaza 
Theatre. The firm was dissolved in 1894. 
Mr. Bickford started in business again in 
partnership with Walter A. Sweet under 
the name of Bickford & Sweet in a build- 
ing at Washington square on the site of 
the new Union Station. In 1901 the 
plant was moved to the top floor of the 
American Card Clothing Company’s 
building, on Grafton street, formerly 
occupied by the Hill Envelope Company. 
Since 1912 the firm has owned and occu- 
pied the spacious factory built by David 
Cummings for a shoe factory, at 60 King 
street John C. Bickford retired from 
business in January, 1900, when his son 
succeeded him, the firm name remaining 
unchanged. The firm has made a spe- 

cialty of the manufacture of slippers in 
great variety and has maintained a high 
reputation in the trade for the excellence 
of its products. In April, 1916, the firm 
of Bickford & Sweet consolidated with 
the William H. Wiley & Son Company 
of Hartford, Connecticut, under the name 
of the Wiley-Bickford-Sweet Company, a 
Massachusetts corporation. 

Mr. Bickford married, in 1865, Sarah 
Metcalf Hebard, born May 30, 1840, 
daughter of Adrian A. and Abigail F. 
(Bates) Hebard (see Hebard VII). She 
was born in Sturbridge, but the family 
removed to Brookfield when she was 
quite young. Their only child was Ernest 
Armand, mentioned below. 

(IX) Ernest Armand Bickford, son of 
John Charles Bickford, was born at Ber- 
lin, Massachusetts, November 23, 1872. 
He attended the public schools in his 
native town, the Clinton High School and 
the Worcester Classical High School and 
was graduated from the Worcester Poly 
technic Institute in 1894 with the degree 
of Bachelor of Science. He became asso- 
ciated with his father in the slipper busi- 
ness in September, 1894, and succeeded 
him as partner in the firm of Bickford & 
Sweet in January, 1900. He is first vice- 
president and works manager of the cor- 
poration he is connected with. Mr. Bick- 
ford is a member of the Worcester Cham- 
ber of Commerce. He is a member of the 
Adams Square Congregational Church, of 
which he has been deacon and member of 
the standing committee and for many 
years the treasurer. In politics he is a 

He married, June 5, 1895, Alice Bertha 
Crossman, who was born at Fitchburg, 
July 29, 1872, daughter of Frank Harri- 
son and Lelia Ward (Farwell) Crossman. 
Her father and mother are living at Fitch- 
burg. Children : Dorothy, born March 2, 
1896, student in Mt. Holyoke, class of 
1919 ] John Crossman, born May 5, 1898, 


student in Phillips Andover Academy; 
Franklin Armand, born September 3, 
1899; Miriam, born September 30, 1900 ; 
Sarah Marjorie, born March 19, 1902; 
Richard Herbert, born August 20, 1907 ; 
Roger Murray, born February 23, 1910; 
Harrison Howe, born August 28, 1914. 

(The Hebard Line). 

(I) Robert Hebard, the immigrant an- 
cestor, was born in England in 1612, and 
died in Beverly, Massachusetts, May 7, 
1684. He was at Salem, Massachusetts, 
as early as 1646. His trade is given as 
salt-maker, also as brick-layer. He owned 
thirteen acres of land at Salem in 1659, 
afterward removing to Beverly. He and 
his wife Joan joined the church, May 3, 
1646. She died in 1696. Children; Marie, 
born November 27, 1641 ; John, January 
24, 1643; Sarah, September 26, 1644; Jo- 
seph, baptized May 7, 1648; Robert, men- 
tioned below; Joanna, baptized February 
23, 1651; Elizabeth, born May 6, 1653; 
Abigail, May 6, 1655; Samuel, June 20, 

(II) Robert (2) Hebard, son of Robert 
(1) Hebard, was baptized May 7, 1648. 
He lived at Beverly and Wenham and in 
1700 settled at Windham, Connecticut, 
where his sons, Robert and Joseph, 
located in 1698. He was a man of great 
activity and energy. His estate was ad- 
ministered in the court at Hartford, Oc- 
tober 2, 1710. He died at Windham, April 
29, 1710. He married Mary Walden, 
daughter of Edward Walden, of Wen- 
ham. She died March 7, 1736, aged 
eighty-one years. Children : Mary, born 
August 18, 1674; Robert, mentioned be- 
low ; Joseph, mentioned below ; Nathaniel, 
mentioned below ; Ebenezer, born May, 
1682; Martha, February, 1684; Josiah, 
1686; Hannah, 1691 ; Sarah, 1694; Abigail, 
1694; Lydia, 1699. 

(III) Robert (3) Hebard, son of Rob- 

ert (2) Hebard, w r as born June, 1676, and 
died at Windham, June 26, 1742. He 
married Mary Reed, who died March 7, 
1763, aged seventy-six years. Children: 
1. John, born October 30, 1704; married 
Martha Durkee, September 22, 1725; 
lived at Canterbury, Connecticut. 2. Rob- 
ert, born April 30, 1706; married (first) 
Ruth Wheelock, sister of President Elea- 
zer Wheelock, November 6, 1730; (sec- 
ond) Joanna Cleveland, May 12, 1760; 
lived at Windham and died there April 
12, 1771. 3. Josiah, born September 30, 

1708, died December 19, 1733. 4. Samuel, 
born May 2, 1710, died November 29, 
1792; lived at Windham; married (first) 
January, 1738, Lydia Kingsley, who died 
April 16, 1747; (second) September 27, 
1748, Mary Burnett, who died April 8, 
1809. 5. Mary, born December 14, 1711; 

married Samuel Lawrence. 6. Joshua, 
born October 1, 1713 ; married Ruth Boss ; 
lived at Windham and Hampton, Ver- 
mont, and died December 19, 1788. 7. 

David, born March 19, 1716; married 
(first) Elizabeth Swain; (second) Dor- 
cas Thorpe ; farmer in Killingly. 8. Mar- 
tha, born September 9, 1718, died Septem- 
ber, 1723. 10. Seth, born April 19, 1724. 

(Ill) Joseph Hebard, son of Robert 
(2) Hebard, was born May 15, 1677. He 
married Abigail Kendall. Children, re- 
corded at Windham: Abigail, born March 
15, 1699; Josiah, February 9, 1701; Jo- 
seph, January 15, 1703; Mary, 1705; Jo- 
anna, June 25, 1707; Jemima, August 16, 
1711; Mehitable, September 29, 1713; 
Ruth, September 30, 1717; Moses, April 
10, 1719, lived at Windham and Stur- 
bridge, Massachusetts, died March, 1813, 
married, March 3, 1744, Hannah Mur- 

(Ill) Nathaniel Hebard, son of Robert 
(2) Hebard, was born in 1680, died at 
Windham, April 26, 1725. He married 
Sarah Crane. Children, born at Wind- 



ham: Nathaniel, born January 30, 1703; 
Samuel, born and died July 21, 1704; 
Anna, born May 30, 1705; Deborah, May 
28, 1707: Nathaniel, October 23, 1709; 
Jonathan, twin of Nathaniel ; Paul, March 
4, 1712; Zebulon, February 20, 1714; 
Sarah, June 27, 1717; Elisha, December 
11, 1719; Gideon, May 2, 1721, died May 
2, 1804. 

(IV) Sergeant Eliezer Hebard be- 
longed to this family and served in the 
French War from Windham. He was a 
grandson of Robert Hebard (II), but no 
record of his birth has been found. He 
was a soldier in Captain Ezekiel Pierce’s 
company in 1755 and in Captain Robert 
Durkee’s company of Windham, a ser- 
geant in 1761. A Widow Elizabeth died 
of old age at Sturbridge, January 10, 1813, 
aged eighty-six years, and it is believed 
that she was the mother of Eliezer, men- 
tioned below, and widow of Sergeant 

(V) Deacon Eliezer (2) Hebard, son 

of Sergeant Eliezer (1) Hebard, was born 
in Windham in 1748 or 1749. and died at 
Sturbridge, February 22, 1831, aged 

eighty-three years, according to one rec- 
ord, eighty-four according to another. He 
was of Lebanon, Connecticut, January 12, 
1785, when he bought land of Thomas 
Gould at Sturbridge. In 1790 there were 
but two of this family reported in the 
census from Sturbridge, Moses, and Elie- 
zer, who had seven in his family, includ- 
ing three males over sixteen. His wife 
Elizabeth died May 4, 1825, aged seventy- 
nine years. 

(VI) Eleazer Hebard, son of Eleazer 
or Eliezer (2) Hebard, was born at Wind- 
ham, Connecticut, April 23, 1774, and 
died at Sturbridge, April 1, 1842. He 
married at Sturbridge, March 3, 1803, 
Violet Walker, who died September 3 or 4, 
1830, aged forty-four years. Children, born 
at Sturbridge : Emily, born December 5, 

1803, died September 27, 1866; Anson W., 
born January 15, 1805, died January 19, 
1805 ; Cylinda, born February 7, 1806, 
died December 9, 1847; Lucinda, born 
June 13, 1808; Violet, born June 30, 1810, 
married Thomas Rice, Jr. ; Elizabeth, 
born April 19, 1812, died September 20, 
1861; Adrian A., mentioned below; 
Jerusha, born October 16, 1816, married 
Thomas Rice, Jr., of Newton Lower 
Falls; Lucius, born August 7, 1818, died 
in Worcester, December 2, 1853, married 
Eunice Fiske ; Merriel Lucy, born August 
26, 1820, died December 23 or 24, 1833; 
Josiah Franklin, born April 12, 1833, lived 
in North Brookfield. 

(VII) Adrian A. Hebard, son of Elea- 
zer Hebard, was born at Sturbridge, 
March 27, 1814; married, November 1, 
1838, Abigail F. Bates. Children, born 
at Brookfield: Sarah Metcalf, born May 
30, 1840, married John Charles Bickford 
(see Bickford VIII); Everett A., born 
March 29, 1845 ; Dwight F., born January 
16, 1848. 

(The Fairbanks Line). 

(I) Jonathan Fairbanks, born in Eng- 
land, died at Dedham, Massachusetts, De- 
cember 5, 1668. His wife Grace died Oc- 
tober 28, 1673. 

(II) John Fairbanks, son of Jonathan 
Fairbanks, married, January 16, 1641, 
Sarah Fiske, who died September 26, 
1683. He died November 13, 1684. 

(III) John (2) Fairbanks, son of John 

(1) Fairbanks, was born December 7, 
1643, married, January 1, 1672, Hannah 
Whiting, born December 17, 1651, died 
June 14, 1706. He died September 14, 

(IV) John (3) Fairbanks, son of John 

(2) Fairbanks, was born in 1677, and died 
June 11, 1709; his wife Elizabeth died 
August 11, 1709. 

(V) John (4) Fairbanks, son of John 

(3) Fairbanks, was born February 28, 


1706, and died May 19, 1 754 - He married, 
July 20, 1729, Jane Ware, who died June 
17, 1758. 

(VI) Asa Fairbanks, son of John (4) 
Fairbanks, was born May 30, 1731, and 
died October 3, 1809. He married Sarah 
Pond, who died July 2, 1801. He was 
a captain in the Continental army, 
marched his command to Concord on the 
Lexington Alarm, April 19, 1775, and was 
afterward in Colonel Daggett’s regiment. 

(VII) Asa (2) Fairbanks, son of Asa 
(1) Fairbanks, was born June 3, 1758, 
died August 29, 1803. He married, No- 
vember 13, 1784, Julietta Metcalf, daugh- 
ter of James and Abial (Haven) Metcalf, 
and a descendant of Michael Metcalf and 
George Barber, pioneers in this country. 

(VIII) Jersha Fairbanks, daughter of 
Asa (2) Fairbanks, was born January 6, 
1786, and died May 10, 1863. She mar- 
ried, April 7, 1805, Lyman Bates, born 
January 6, 1782, died October 7, 1857, son 
of Ezekiel and Abigail (Legg) Bates. 
Ezekiel Bates, born 1738, died Septem- 
ber 5, 1816; married, April 9, 1767, Abi- 
gail Legg, born 1744, died December 18, 
1797. The daughter of Lyman and 
Jerusha (Fairbanks) Bates, Abigail F. 
Bates, born March 20, 1818, died Janu- 
ary 12, 1890, married, November 1, 1838, 
Adrian A. Hebard (see Hebard VII). 

SHERER, Charles T„ 

Man of Enterprise. 

The Sherer family was originally from 
England, but for several centuries 
branches have been located also in Scot- 
land and Ireland. The name belongs to 
a large class of British surnames, derived 
from the trade of an ancestor at the time 
of adopting family names ; doubtless as 
early as the year 1200. The name is also 
spelled Sharer, Shearers, Shearer and 
Sherar. There is reason to believe that 

the American branch of the family be- 
longs to' the family that located very early 
at Campsie in Stirlingshire, Scotland. The 
parish register shows that William Sherer 
had a son William baptized there in 1651. 
Robert and Janet Sherer had the follow- 
ing children baptized at Campsie : Rob- 
ert, May, 1655; James and Janet, Febru- 
ary 6, 1657; John, February, 1660. James 
and Janet Sherer had Janet baptized No- 
vember 2, 1657. Robert and Janet Sherer 
had: John, February 19, 1690; Margaret, 
August 19, 1696. We know that the first 
settler in America was born in Antrim, 
from the record of his gravestone. The 
name does not appear in the early records 
of the Scotch settlement in Ulster, Ire- 
land, and it is likely that they located 
there but a few years before coming to 
New England. In 1890 there were a few 
of the family still residing in Ulster. 
Four children of this name were born 
there in that year. 

(I) James Sherer, the American pio- 
neer, came to this country about 1720 
with the Scotch Presbyterians from 
Ulster, Ireland, and in 1720 he located at 
Union, Connecticut. He doubtless came 
with the colonists who founded London- 
derry, New Hampshire, and may have 
been there for a time. In 1726, however, 
he came with the Nevins family to The 
Elbows (now Palmer), Massachusetts, 
which was largely settled by the Scotch 
or Scotch-Irish, as they are commonly 
called, moving westward from Worces- 
ter, Massachusetts, where a colony set- 
tled. James Sherer was born in 1678 and 
his gravestone declares that he was born 
in County Antrim, Ireland, and that he 
died January 21, 1745, in his sixty-seventh 
year. The gravestone of his wife states 
that she died July 7, 1750, in her seventy- 
fifth year and that she was born in Derby 
county, Ireland. (Derbyshire is in Eng- 
land and she was doubtless a native of 



England, but married in Ireland). James 
Sherer had a farm in the central part of 
Palmer. He was one of the petitioners 
from The Elbows to the Governor and 
General Court in 1732 to have the titles 
of land confirmed. It seems the settlers 
had bought lands of which the titles 
proved defective, lacking the authority 
of the General Court. Among other 
farms granted and confirmed in answer 
to the petition was a hundred acres to 
James Sherer. His farm was east of the 
Cedar Swamp brook and south of Deacon 
Sedgwick’s farm. The proprietors of the 
town held their meetings at his house for 
many years. He was on the committee 
to collect money and pay the minister, 
Rev. Mr. Harvey, who was ordained Au- 
gust 23, 1731, in Sherer’s house. Chil- 
dren, said to have been born in Ireland : 
John, died in 1802, settled in Brimfield, 
near Palmer, a soldier in the Revolution ; 
James; William, mentioned below. 

It is likely that William Sherer, for- 
merly president of the New York Clear- 
ing House, was of the same branch. In a 
letter written May 13, 1895, he stated that 
his grandfather, David Sherer, when aged 
eight years, came in company with his 
parents and four brothers to Boston about 
1760. David Sherer enlisted in the Revo- 
lution and served three years. He settled 
at Derry, New Hampshire, and before his 
children were of age moved to Montrose, 
Pennsylvania. Dr. William Sherer was 
father of the writer. Another letter states 
that the family came in the ship “Admiral 
Hawk” in 1769; that crippled by storms 
the vessel put in at Halifax ; that David 
enlisted in the Revolution at the age of 
eighteen ; married Thompson ; re- 

moved in March, 1816, to Montrose, 
Pennsylvania, with six children and died 
there in 1850-51. It is probable that they 
found relatives in Pennsylvania also. The 
Sherer family was among the early set- 
tlers of Centre county, Pennsylvania. 

There is a Sherer coat-of-arms. The 
motto is : Hostis Honorare Invidia. 

(II) William Sherer, son of James 

Sherer, was born 1725-30, probably in 
this country, but possibly before 1720. 
He married, at Palmer, June 30, 1754, 
Jerusha . He located in Green- 

wich, then Quabbin, about 1763. His 
original homestead in what is now the 
town of Enfield has remained in the pos- 
session of his descendants to the present 
time and is now owned by Charles T. 
Sherer, of Worcester. The deeds dated 
1766 are still in the possession of the 
family. An old engraving of the farm 
showing it as it appeared fifty years ago 
was published in the "Connecticut Valley 
History” illustrating the history of the 
town of Enfield. It was then owned by 
Lyman J. Sherer. Children born at Pal- 
mer: 1. William, born June 18, 1755, was 
a soldier in the Revolution from Green- 
wich in Captain Joseph Hooker’s com- 
pany. 2. Reuben, mentioned below. 3. 
James, born September 8, 1761. Born at 
Greenwich, probably: Charles, married 

Ann and had a son Reuben, born 

August 19, 1795. William may have had 
other children, probably several daugh- 
ters. William, Sr., or Jr., married, Au- 
gust 18, 1781, Eleanor Kent, of Green- 
wich; and June 30, 1792, Jerusha Pierce, 
of that town. 

(III) Reuben Sherer, son of William 
Sherer, was born at Palmer, May 25, 
1759, and died at Greenwich, August 2, 
1821, aged sixty-two years. He married, 
at Greenwich, November 17, 1781, Anna 
Field, sister of “Squire” Robert Field, 
a prominent citizen. She died July 31, 
1813, aged fifty-one years. An old lilac 
bush on the Sherer farm she brought 
from her home in Warren. Massachu- 
setts, and planted when a bride. Reuben 
and his brother William served in the 
same company in the Revolution, in Cap- 
tain Elijah Dwight’s company, Colonel 


Ruggles Woodbridge’s regiment in 1 777. 
Their cousins, John and William Sherer, 
of Palmer, also served in the war. Chil- 
dren of Reuben and Anna (Field) Sherer: 
1. Reuben, born July 9, 1783, settled at 
Rockland, Maine, and died there, Janu- 
ary 27, 1863; married Sabra Parsons (see 
“History of Rockland”). 2. Abigail, born 
February 23, 1785; married Charles Dan- 
forth and settled in Ohio. 3. Robert 
Field, born September 30, 1786. 4. Sam- 
uel, born August 23, 1788; settled in 
Thompson, Ohio, married and had- a 
large family. 5. James, mentioned be- 
low. 6. Parks, born October 7, 1792. 7. 
Charles, married Ruth Gleason and lived in 
West Brookfield. 

(IV) James Sherer, son of Reuben 
Sherer, was born at Greenwich, Massa- 
chusetts, November 24, 1790, and died at 
Prescott, November 1, 1843. He married 
Betsey Wood, who died February 20, 
1844, at Prescott, aged fifty years, daugh- 
ter of Captain Solomon and Huldah 
(Simmons) Wood. Her father was a 
native of Middleborough, Massachusetts. 
Children of Solomon Wood: Betsey, born 
September 9, 1791, mentioned above; 
Mary, September 18, 1797; Huldah, De- 
cember 3, 1799; Silvia, August 9, 1802; 

Ransom, October 20, ; Sylvanus, 

June 24, 1809; Perez, married Harriet 
Shaw. The only child of James and Bet- 
sey Sherer was Joseph, mentioned below. 

(V) Joseph Sherer, son of James Sherer, 
was born at Enfield, October 28, 1817, 
and died October 17, 1830, at Enfield. 
He was educated in the district schools. 
He followed farming in Prescott and En- 
field. He married Roxanna Marble, born 
in 1820, died May 1, 1913, daughter of 
Rufus and Sarah (Putnam) Marble (see 
Putnam and Marble lines). She was a 
second cousin of General Israel and Gen- 
eral Rufus Putnam, of the Revolutionary 
War. Children: 1. Charlotte Putnam, 
born June 27, 1841, a teacher in the 

public schools of Springfield, Southbridge 
and Natick, Massachusetts; now living 
on Gates lane, Worcester. 2. Charles 
Thaddeus, mentioned below. 3. Orinda 
(Orie), born July 9, 1845; married 

Charles French, of Billerica, Massachu- 
setts, a clothing dealer in Providence ; 
daughter married Charles Barrett. 4. 
George Lyman, born December 31, 1847, 
died August 4, 1867, buried at Lawrence, 
Massachusetts. 5. Sarah Louise, born 
March 13, 1851; married Frank Henry 
Stiles, of Feeding Hills, Massachusetts, 
who was for many years with the firm of 
Lord & Taylor, New York City; he died 
February 14, 1907, at South Framing- 
ham; she is living at No. 104 Brookline 
street, Worcester. 

(VI) Charles Thaddeus Sherer, son of 
Joseph Sherer, was born at Prescott, 
Massachusetts, June 30, 1843. He at- 
tended the public schools in Enfield. 
When he was seven years old, after the 
death of his father, he went to live with 
an uncle. A year later he went to live 
with his mother at Charlton and there 
began an apprenticeship at pegging shoes 
in the shop of Julius Monroe. After a 
year and a half he went to work for his 
cousin, William Goodell, where he was 
employed at the regular boy’s stint in 
shoemaking, pegging twenty pairs a day. 
Thence he went to Indian Orchard where 
he worked for two years in a mill. For a 
time afterward he was with his mother in 
Springfield. In his seventeenth year he 
went to work on a farm at Wallingford, 
Connecticut. Before he was of age, how- 
ever, he returned to Springfield and be- 
came a clerk in the dry goods store of 
Samuel Bigelow. Here he found his 
vocation in life and demonstrated his 
great natural ability as a salesman. 
He was afterward employed in the 
Tinkham store and in Norton Mc- 
Knight’s. He left the dry goods busi- 
ness to become one of the proprietors of 


the old Hampden House in Springfield 
under the firm name of Gillett & Sherer. 
From the beginning the business proved 
highly successful. The hotel attracted 
the best people of the city and for the 
first and only time in its history the old 
hotel was profitably conducted. After a 
few years, however, on account of dis- 
agreement over the rental of the build- 
ing, the firm was dissolved, and Mr. 
Sherer became a salesman for the firm of 
Atkins & Remick, of Boston. A year and 
a half later the firm failed and Mr. Sherer 
was employed to wind up the affairs of 
the concern. 

When he was twenty-four years old he 
started in business in Fall River under 
the firm name of Sherer & Rice, but a 
year later he sold out to good advantage 
to his partner. For another year he was 
engaged in buying flour, apples and other 
produce of the West. For twenty years 
he was a jewelry buyer in Providence. 
He bought a farm at Fayville, but after 
a few years it was taken for one of the 
Boston water supply basins. Under the 
name of C. T. Sherer & Company, he be- 
gan business as a dealer in dry goods at 
Fall River. His store was at the corner 
of Fourth and Pleasant streets. From 
time to time he leased adjoining property 
and enlarged his place of business. He 
continued in business until 1901 when he 
sold out and devoted his attention entire- 
ly to the Worcester interests. He made 
a specialty of buying the entire stock of 
merchants that were embarrassed or go- 
ing out of business and during his time 
bought more than one hundred and sixty 
such stocks. As his children grew to ma- 
turity each of them was given a position 
of responsibility in the management. In 
April, 1900, he purchased the business of 
the Hamilton Dry Goods Company of 
Worcester. His energy and striking 
appeals to the public soon made his store 
in Worcester one of the largest and most 

successful department stores of the city. 
In 1904 a corporation was formed under 
the title of C. T. Sherer Company, of which 
Mr. Sherer was president; his son-in-law, 
Flerbert W. Estabrook, secretary, and his 
son, Joseph F. Sherer, treasurer and man- 
ager. Mr. Sherer was afflicted with 
blindness a few years later, and though 
his general health has remained excellent 
he has been obliged to retire from an 
active part in the management of the 
store. He continued, however, to manage 
the old homestead farm at Enfield and 
large real estate interests in Worcester. 
He is now dividing his time between En- 
field and Worcester where he has an- at- 
tractive home at Cherry Valley. Mr. 
Sherer is a Republican in politics. 
Though not active in the church he has 
been exceedingly generous when fortune 
has permitted it. During the great strike 
at Fall River he furnished six hundred 
thousand meals to the unfortunate of the 
city, and during a previous strike he fed 
more than a thousand daily for a time. 

Mr. Sherer married Charlotte Miriam 
Wesson, born April 18, 1845, at Shrews- 
bury. Children: 1. Alice Miriam, born 
January 30, 1870; married Herbert W. 
Estabrook (see Estabrook). 2. George 
Edwin, born October 4, 1871, died young. 
3. Edith May, born August 24, 1874. 4. 
Joseph Forest, born at Newtonville, 
March 5, 1879, treasurer and manager 
of C. T. Sherer Company. 5. Orie Wes- 
son, born at Southboro, October 9, 1884; 
teacher in the Art Museum School, Al- 
bany, New York. 

ESTABROOK, Herbert W., 

Business Man. 

Richard Prouty was born in England, 
and settled about 1667 in Scituate, Mas- 
sachusetts. He fought in King Philip’s 
War and was granted land for services 
by the General Court, July 21, 1676, and 



name placed on “records of valient men.” 
He married, in 1676, Damaris, daughter 
of Lieutenant James and Ann (Hatch) 
Torry, born in Scituate, October 26, 1651. 

(II) Isaac Prouty, son of Richard 

Prouty, was born at Scituate, Massachu- 
setts, November 18, 1689. He married, 
October 11, 1711, Elizabeth Merritt. 

Their six sons and a daughter settled in 
Leicester (now Spencer). 

(III) James Prouty, son of Isaac 
Prouty, born in Scituate and baptized 
September 6, 1730, married Mary Dins- 
more, June 25, 1765. Served in expe- 
dition to Fort William Henry in 1757. 
Records also show he was one of the 
minute-men who marched at the Lexing- 
ton Alarm, April 19, 1775, and served 
fifteen days; also enlisted May 3, 1775, 
in Captain Nathaniel Winslow’s com- 
pany, General John Thomas’s regiment, 
and served until December, 1775. Died 
May 3, 1813. 

(IV) Reuben Prouty, son of James 
Prouty, born at Spencer, December 18, 
1771 ; married Sarah Bartlett, of Marl- 
boro, Vermont, in 1793. 

(V) Dwight Dinsmore Prouty, son of 
Reuben Prouty, was born at Spencer. 
June 11, 1804, died at Spencer, November 
27, 1879. He was a manufacturer of 
boxes in Spencer and a contractor in the 
shoe factory of Isaac Prouty. He mar- 
ried Harriet Blanchard. 

(VI) William Brainerd Prouty, son of 
Dwight Dinsmore Prouty, was born in 
Spencer, April 29, 1833, died April 3, 
1908. He was a miller and shoemaker 
and for many years a cutter in the Isaac 
Prouty shoe factory. He married Sarah 
Allen, daughter of Pliny Allen. Chil- 
dren : Sarah Elnora, born July 28. 1861, 
married Rev. Austin H. Herrick; Walter 
A., born July 5, 1866; Herbert William 
(adopted name Estabrook), mentioned 

(VII) Herbert William, Estabrook 

(Prouty), son of William Brainerd 
Prouty, was born at Spencer, May 9, 1874. 
He was adopted in infancy, after the death 
of his mother, by George Drury Esta- 
brook, a friend of the family, of Natick 
and Paxton. He attended the public 
schools of Natick, graduating from the 
high school in 1892. After a post-gradu- 
ate course in the high school, he entered 
the Massachusetts Institute of Technolo- 
gy, leaving at the end of the second year 
to engage in the dry goods business in 
the store of Charles T. Sherer at Fall 
River, Massachusetts, and has been as- 
sociated with Mr. Sherer in business to 
the present time. He came to Worcester 
in 1901 and after the business was incor- 
porated, he and his brother-in-law, Joseph 
F. Sherer, became the principal owners. 
Mr. Estabrook is vice-president of the 
company. He is a thirty-second degree 
Mason. In politics he is a Republican ; 
in religion an Episcopalian. He married, 
January 17, 1900, at Fall River, Alice 
Miriam Sherer, born January 30, 1870, 
daughter of Charles T. Sherer (see 
Sherer). Children: Miriam Wesson, born 
April 8, 1907; and Allen Laidlaw, born 
August 28, 1909. 

(The Marble Line). 

(I) Samuel Marble, the immigrant an- 
cestor, came to New England, before 
1660, probably from Scotland, if tradition 
is to be believed. He was a brick mason 
by trade. He took the freeman’s oath, 
February 11, 1678. He lived at Andover. 
He married, November 26, 1675, Rebecca 
Andrews, of Andover. Children : Samuel, 
born 1660; Enoch; Freegrace, mentioned 
below; Noah; Daniel; Job, 1695; Re- 
becca, twin of Job. 

(II) Freegrace Marble, son of Samuel 
Marble, was born in Andover in 1680, 
and died at Sutton, September 30, 1775, 
aged ninety-five years (gravestone). He 
was among the first settlers of Sutton, 


Massachusetts. He was also a mason 
and is said to have worked on the old 
State House, Boston. He was on the 
committee in charge of the school lot, 
1725; on a committee to enlarge the 
meeting house in 1741 and had been on 
the committee to build the first meeting 
house; and on a committee to treat with 
Rev. David Hall to supply the pulpit. He 
married Mary Sibley, of Sutton. Chil- 
dren : Mary, born April 4, 1721; Samuel, 
April 27, 1723; Enoch, mentioned below; 
Rebecca, March 10, 1729; Malachi, Sep- 
tember 25, 1736. 

(III) Enoch Marble, son of Freegrace 
Marble, was born at Sutton, November 
25. 1726, died January 12, 1815. He mar- 
ried, January 9, 1750, Abigail Holland. 
She died January 15, 1815. Children, 
born at Sutton: John, May 10, 1751; 
Alpheus, August 7, 1753; Daniel, Decem- 
ber 17, 1755; Thaddeus; Aaron; An- 
tipas ; Enoch ; Rufus, mentioned below ; 
Sally, married Peter Putnam ; Persis ; 

(IV) Rufus Marble, son of Enoch 
Marble, was born at Sutton, 1773-80. He 
married, April 14, 1798, Sarah Putnam, 
baptized May 17. 1778, daughter of Colo- 
nel John and Mary (Hall) Putnam, the 
former named born at Middleton, August 
2 5 < 1 735 - died June 13, 1809; married. 
April 13, 1758, Mary, daughter of the 
Rev. David Hall, D. D. Colonel Putnam 
was a captain in the Revolution and 
afterward a colonel of militia. Children 
of Colonel and Mrs. Putnam: Joseph, 
born December 25, 1758; Stephen, April 
5, 1761; Elizabeth, July 31, 1763; John, 
June 27, 1766, physician; Charles, No- 
vember 10, 1768; Deborah, May 3, 1773; 
Rebecca Hall, baptized July 4, 1776; 
Sarah, above mentioned; Joseph Hall, 
April 5, 1780; Rebekah Prescott, April 
16, 1783. The daughter of Rufus and 
Sarah (Putnam) Marble. Roxanna, mar- 
ried Joseph Sherer (see Sherer). 

(The Harrington Line). 

(I) Robert Harrington, the founder of 

this family, was an early settler of Water- 
town and one of the first proprietors. 
Deacon Thomas Hastings gave him a 
homestall and it is thought was related 
to him. He was admitted a freeman, 
May 27, 1663. He held various town 
offices and was a prominent citizen. His 
homestead was bought December 24, 
1684, of Jeremiah Dummex, of Boston, 
and comprised two hundred and fifty 
acres on the Charles river. He died May 
11, 1707, aged ninety-one years. His will 
was dated January 1, 1704-05. He mar- 
ried, October 1, 1649, Susanna George, 
born in 1632, died July 6, 1694, daughter 
of John George. Children : Susanna, 

born August 18, 1650; John, August 24. 
1651; Robert, August 31, 1653; George. 
November 24, 1655, killed by the Indians 
at Lancaster, 1675-76; Daniel; Joseph; 
December 28, 1659; Benjamin, January 
26, 1661-62; Mary, January 12, 1663-64; 
Thomas, mentioned below ; Samuel, De- 
cember 18, 1666; Edward, March 2, 1668- 
69; Sarah, March 10, 1670-71 ; David. 
June 1, 1673. 

(II) Thomas Harrington, son of Robert 

Harrington, was born at Watertown, 
April 20, 1665, died March 29, 1712. He 
was admitted a freeman, April 18, 1690. 
His will was dated March 27, 1712, 
proved April 6. He married Rebecca 
(Bemis) White, widow of John White 
and daughter of John Bemis. Children : 
Ebenezer, born June 27, 1687; Susanna, 
November 17, 1688; Rebecca, 1690; 

Thomas, mentioned below ; George, Au- 
gust 31, 1695. 

(III) Thomas (2) Harrington, son of 
Thomas (1) Harrington, was born at 
Watertown, January 14, 1691-92. He 

married (first) Abigail , and settled 

in Cambridge, Massachusetts, where she 
died March 4, 1717. He returned to 
Waltham (part of Watertown) and mar- 



ried (second) Mary . His will was 

dated at Waltham, January 31, 1739, 
proved October 15, 1750. From 1719 to 
1737 he kept an inn at Waltham. Chil- 
dren : Thomas, mentioned below ; Timo- 
thy, January 30, 1715-16, graduated at 
Harvard College, 1737, settled as minister 
at Swanzey, New Hampshire, and later 
at Lancaster, Massachusetts ; Daniel, 
January 15, 1720-21 ; Abigail, January 12, 

(IV) Thomas (3) Harrington, son of 
Thomas (2) Harrington, was born at 
Cambridge, September 29, 1713, and set- 
tled in Shrewsbury, where he died April 
15, 1791. He married, at Watertown, Au- 
gust 27, 1737, Grace Warren. Children: 
Thomas, born December 23, 1738, died 
young; Jonathan, January 16, 1741, died 
young; Jonathan, February 11, 1742, died 
young; Elijah, January 27, 1745, father 
of Captain Thomas; Jonathan, mentioned 
below; Daniel, September 3, 1761. 

(V) Jonathan Harrington, son of Thom- 
as (3) Harrington, was born at Shrews- 
bury, May 18, 1759, and died there, April 
6, 1842. He was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion and late in life a pensioner. He mar- 
ried (first) 1783, Sarah Pratt, daughter of 
Elnathan Pratt. She died February 16, 
1813, aged forty-nine years, and he mar- 
ried (second) 1814, Susanna Penniman, 
of Charlton, Massachusetts, who died 
November 17, 1825. Children born in 
Shrewsbury by his first wife: Martin, 
January 3, 1784; Daniel, mentioned be- 
low; Luke, February 17, 1788; Abigail, 
December 7, 1789; Emery, October 18, 
1791 ; Adam, October 20, 1793; Schuyler, 
April 17, 1796; Calvin, October 24, 1808. 
by second wife: Salem, August 19, 1815; 
Jackson, December 10, 1816. 

(VI) Colonel Daniel Harrington, son 
of Jonathan Harrington, was born at 
Shrewsbury, November 2, 1785. He was 
colonel of a Massachusetts regiment and 
a citizen of distinction. He went West 

and died in 1844 in Illinois. He married, 
in 1808, Zillah Harrington, born August 
23, 1784, daughter of Adam Harrington. 
Children: Adam, born January 1, 1809; 
Henry Henderson, mentioned below ; 
Hannah Rozan, May 9, 1822. 

(VII) Henry Henderson Harrington, 
son of Colonel Daniel Harrington, was 
born at Shrewsbury, October 24, 1811. 
He married Cornelia Bush Wesson, 
daughter of Rufus Wesson (see Wesson 
VI) (intentions filed January 8, 1833). 
He lived at Shrewsbury, where he was a 
prosperous farmer. He died September 
3. 1879, and his widow died May 20, 1903. 
She resided for many years with her son 
Gilbert H. Children, born at Shrews- 
bury: Francis Henry, born August 8, 
1833; Emma J., March 18, 1844; Gilbert 

(The Wesson Line). 

The Wesson or Weston family origi- 
nated in England, the founder coming 
from Normandy at the time of the Con- 
quest and receiving at that time valuable 
estates in Staffordshire and other coun- 

(I) John Wesson or Weston, founder 
of the family in this country, was born 
in 1630 or 1631 in Buckinghamshire, Eng- 
land, and died in Reading, Massachu- 
setts, about 1723. About 1644, when he 
was only thirteen years old, his father 
being dead, he sailed as a stowaway in 
a ship bound for New England, and in 
1648, at the age of eighteen, he was a 
member of the church at Salem. He re- 
moved to Reading, now Wakefield, about 
1653, and became a leading citizen. He 
accumulated one of the largest estates in 
the town. His farm adjoined Meeting 
House square extending southerly. He 
was a pious Puritan and his gravestone 
states that he was one of the founders of 
the church at Reading. He served in 
King Philip’s War. He married, in 1653, 
Sarah Fitch, daughter of Zachariah Fitch, 


of Reading, and their marriage was the 
first recorded in Reading. Children : 
Sarah, born July 15, 1656; Mary, May 25, 
1659; John, March 8, 1661; Elizabeth, 
February 7, 1662; Samuel, mentioned be- 
low ; Stephen, December 8, 1667 ; Thom- 
as, November 20, 1670. Most of the facts 
about the family are taken from a manu- 
script left by John Wesson, Jr. 

(II) Samuel Wesson, son of John 
Wesson, was born at Reading, April 16, 
1665. He married, about 1688, Abigail 
. Children, born at Reading: Abi- 
gail, born June 7, 1690; Samuel, men- 
tioned below. 

(III) Samuel (2) Wesson, son of Sam- 
uel (1) Wesson, was born at Reading, 
August 21, 1691. He went to Framing- 
ham, and there married, May 7, 1711, 
Martha Haven, daughter of Nathaniel 
Haven. He died in 1713 and his widow 
married (second) January 12, 1716, Isaac 
Cousins, and died the following year. 
Samuel Wesson had one child, John, men- 
tioned below. 

(IV) John (2) Wesson, only son of 
Samuel (2) Wesson, was born at Fram- 
ingham, December 1, 1712. He moved as 
early as 1749 to Grafton, near the Sutton 
and Worcester lines, and in that year 
bought nine acres in Sutton and other 
tracts in the vicinity, in Grafton, Worces- 
ter and Sutton, part of which was set off 
as Millbury and part called the Gore was 
annexed to Worcester in 1785. He was 
a soldier in the Revolution in Captain 
Joseph Winch’s company. Colonel Sam- 
uel Bullard’s regiment in 1777. He mar- 
ried (first) January 22, 1740. Ruth Death, 
born April 20, 1711, daughter of Henry 
Death. He married (second) August 24, 
1757, Rebecca Daniel; (third) December 
17, 1764, Mary Davis. Children by first 
wife: Samuel, born at Sherborn, July 14, 
1741; Abel, mentioned below; Levi; 
Joel, mentioned below; John; Silas, 

soldier in the Revolution, killed at Que- 
bec, December 31, 1775. 

(V) Abel Wesson, son of John (2) 
Wesson, was baptized June 9, 1745, and 
died at Grafton, November 11, 1825. He 
married, May 27, 1767, Sarah Drury, who 
died July 31, 1835, aged eighty-six years. 
Children: Abner, died May 1, 1800, aged 
twenty-three years; Cene, born 1787, 
died April 22, 1803; Nancy, married 
Daniel Harrington. 

(V) Joel Wesson, son of John (2) 
Wesson, was born about 1746, at Fram- 
ingham. Fie lived for a few years during 
the Revolution at Brookfield, but during 
most of his life in Worcester. He owndd 
much real estate and was one of the 
largest tax payers. He was a juror in 
1785, member of the school committee 
in 1787. He was a plow maker b’y trade. 
Joel and Levi Wesson deeded to their 
brothers, John and Samuel, certain lands 
in the Gore and the deed gives the names 
of the children of John Wesson. Joel 
Wesson sold his farm in North Brook- 
field, June 25, 1789, to his brother John. 
Joel Wesson married Hannah Bigelow, 
born July 3, 1748, died December 19, 
1829, daughter of Joshua Bigelow. Chil- 
dren : Huldah, Hannah, Mary, Sewell, 
Joel, born April 7, 1775; Rufus, men- 
tioned below. 

(VI) Rufus Wesson, son of Joel Wes- 
son, was born in 1786, in Worcester, on 
the old homestead at the Gore. He was 
a farmer and owned much real estate. 
He bought what is still known as the 
Wesson place near Lake Quinsigamond, 
of Lewis Baird, March 7, 1814. He was 
also a plow maker. He was fence viewer 
in 1816, highway surveyor and collector 
of taxes in 1825, and served in the Graf- 
ton militia company. He married, at 
Worcester, September 18, 1808, Betsey 
Baird, daughter of Daniel Baird. Chil- 
dren. recorded at Worcester: Cornelia 

Mass— 5— 7 

9 7 


Bush, born January 28, 1810; married 
Henry Henderson Harrington (see Har- 
rington VII); Martin, shoe manufac- 
turer, Springfield ; Edwin, rifle manufac- 
turer at Northboro and Hartford, Con- 
necticut; Betsey, born January 26, 1814; 
Rufus, mentioned below ; Charlotte, Sep- 
tember 3, 1819; Jane, May 8, 1823; Daniel 
Baird, May 8, 1825, manufacturer of fire- 
arms, Springfield, partner in the famous 
firm of Smith & Wesson, now controlled 
by his sons; Franklin, November 8, 1828, 
rifle maker, California ; Frances, August 
8, 1830. 

(VII) Rufus (2) Wesson, son of Rufus 

(1) Wesson, was born at Worcester, May 
17, 1815. He began to work on the farm 
and also learned the trade of plow mak- 
ing. In 1844 he began to manufacture 
shoes in South Shrewsbury and built up 
a large business. In 1848 he established 
a factory on Front street, Worcester, and 
prospered. In 1851 he removed to Peoria, 
Illinois, where he continued in the shoe 
business. In 1854, after a financial re- 
verse, he returned to Worcester and 
started again on Waldo street opposite 
the police station, where he carried on a 
successful business until 1870, when he 
retired. He married, July 23, 1840, Miri- 
am, daughter of Colonel Daniel Harring- 
ton. She died in Chicago in 1851. He 
married (second) in 1851, Mrs. Jennie 
(Burtnett) Kendrick, of Kenosha, Wis- 
consin, and she died in 1856 without 
issue. He married (third) in 1858, Sophia 
Goddard, daughter of Deacon Nathaniel 
Goddard, of Millbury. Children by first 
wife: 1. James Edwin, born at Grafton, 
June 14, 1841, shoe manufacturer, Wor- 
cester; married, January 1, 1865, Anna 
Eudora Stoneberger. 2. Charlotte Miriam, 
April 18, 1845, at Shrewsbury, married 
Charles T. Sherer (see Sherer). Children 
by third wife: 3. Alfred. July 18. 1863, of 
the Howard-Wesson Engraving Com- 

pany, Worcester. 4. Walter Gale, October 
14, 1865, partner of James Edwin Wes- 
son since 1905. 


Since the early settlement of Newport 
and Portsmouth, Rhode Island, shortly 
after 1638, the Grinnells have been identi- 
fied with Rhode Island and Massachu- 
setts history, the earlier generations liv- 
ing largely in the towns of Newport 
county, Rhode Island, and for the past 
hundred and more years branches of this 
southern Rhode Island family have been 
representative of the best citizenship in 
the old Massachusetts town of New Bed- 

(I) Matthew Grinnell, of Huguenot 
ancestry, the name in France being known 
as Crenelle, came to America, and his 
name is in a long list of inhabitants of 
Newport admitted after May 20, 1638. 
He died before 1643, in which year his 
widow, Rose, married Anthony Paine. 
She married (third) James Weeden. 
Children of Matthew Grinnell : Matthew. 
Thomas, Daniel and a daughter. 

(II) Daniel Grinnell, son of Matthew and 
Rose Grinnell, born about 1636, resided in 
Portsmouth and Little Compton, Rhode 
Island, in which latter town he was liv- 
ing as early as 1687. He bought land in 
1656 and was made a freeman in 1657 ; 
was for several years juryman and served 
as constable. He married Mary Wodell, 
born in November, 1640, daughter of 
William and Mary Wodell, and had chil- 
dren: Daniel: Jonathan, born 1670 ; Rich- 
ard, mentioned below. 

(III) Richard Grinnell, youngest child 
of Daniel and Mary (Wodell) Grinnell. 
born 1675, resided in Little Compton, and 
bought several tracts of land, over two 
hundred and sixty acres, between 1701 
and 1721. He died July 1, 1725. He mar- 
ried, May 25, 1704, Patience, born 1681, 


daughter of James Emery, died March 
io, 1749. Children: George, born Janu- 
ary 25, 1705; William, March 19, 1707; 
Rebecca, December 16, 1710; Elizabeth, 
May 21, 1713 ; Patience, August 24, 1715 ; 
Richard, March 8, 1717; Ruth, April 3, 
1719; Daniel, mentioned below; Sarah, 
May 6, 1723. 

(IV) Daniel (2) Grinnell, fourth son of 
Richard and Patience (Emery) Grinnell, 
was born April 20, 1721, and married, 
May 31, 1741, Grace Palmer, born Janu- 
ary 18, 1720. Children, of Little Comp- 
ton town record, according to Arnold, 
were: Ruth, born February 14, 1744; 
Alice, January 14, 1746; Aaron, October 
22, 1747; Moses, December 3, 1751; Bet- 
sey, March, 1754; Cornelius, mentioned 
below; Susanna, June 24, 1761. 

(V) Captain Cornelius Grinnell, son of 
Daniel (2) and Grace (Palmer) Grinnell, 
was born February 11, 1758, and located 
at New Bedford about 1780. In 1810 he 
established the house of Fish & Grinnell, 
New York, which was the first American 
firm to start a regular line of packets to 
Liverpool and London ; and the house, 
under the name of Grinnell, Minturn & 
Company exists to the present day. Cap- 
tain Grinnell served his country both on 
land and sea in the war of the Revolu- 
tion. He was a vessel owner and com- 
mander and built a number of ships, one 
of which, the “Euphrates,” built in 1803, 
was famous in her day. She had a long 
history and was destroyed by the “Shen- 
andoah” in the Pacific in 1864. For the 
entire sixty years of her use she was in 
the hands of the Grinnell family. Cap- 
tain Grinnell had good business talents, 
and his capacity for devotion to mer- 
cantile pursuits was transmitted to his 
sons. Fie died April 19, 1850, at New 
Bedford, in his ninety-third years. He 
married, in 1785, Sylvia Howland, a 
woman of lovely character, daughter of 
Gideon and Sarah (Hicks) Howland (see 

Howland VI). She died August 1, 1837. 
Children: Cornelius, mentioned below; 
Joseph, born November 17, 1788, was a 
member of Congress from 1843 to 1851 ; 
Sylvia, August 11, 1791, married William 
T. Russell; William P., September 1, 
1797; Henry, February 18, 1799, resided 
in New York, and became a very distin- 
guished man, in 1850 equipping at his 
own cost an Arctic expedition in search 
of Sir John Franklin, and in 1853, associ- 
ated with George Peabody, sending out a 
second expedition, while he was a gener- 
ous contributor to the Flayes and Polaris 
enterprises, and a lasting memorial to 
him is Grinnell Land, named in his 
honor; Abraham B., June 14, 1801, died 
in young manhood; Moses H., March 23, 
1803, was a resident of New York, identi- 
fied with the Grinnell, Minturn & Com- 
pany line of packets, and like his brothers, 
Joseph and Henry, became very promi- 
nent, numbering among his warmest 
friends Daniel Webster, U. S. Grant and 
Washington Irving, and he himself being 
a member of Congress from 1835 to 1841, 
president of the New York Chamber of 
Commerce in 1843, president of the 
Phenix Bank and of the Union Club, and 
commodore of the New York Yacht Club ; 
Francis H., August 11, 1805; James M., 
October 30, 1807. 

(VI) Cornelius (2) Grinnell, eldest 
child of Captain Cornelius (1) and Sylvia 
(Plowland) Grinnell, was born February 
8, 1786, at New Bedford, and when a 
young man went to New York, where he 
became a partner in the commission busi- 
ness. Later he returned to New Bedford, 
and purchasing a farm known as Potom- 
ska, about ten miles from that place, for 
a few years was engaged in the raising of 
fine merino sheep. In about 1828 he re- 
moved to New Bedford and erected the 
house adjoining the residence of the late 
Frederick Grinnell, and there died in 
1830. He married (first) June 26, 1808, 



Eliza Tallman Russell, daughter of Gil- 
bert and Lydia (Tallman) Russell. She 
died in 1827, and he married (second) 
Mary Russell, sister of his first wife. She 
survived him a number of years, dying 
at White Sulphur Springs, Virginia, 
while there on a visit. Children all born 
of first marriage: Eliza R., July 3, 1809, 
died unmarried ; Lawrence, mentioned 
below; Mary R., January 28, 1813, mar- 
ried, October 30, 1844, Henry Holdredge, 
a commission merchant in New York; 
Joseph G., October 3, 1815; Edmund, 
March 6, 1817, married, March 3, 1842, 
Mary Wood, was a plantation owner, 
and died in Tennessee; William R., 
March 10, 1819, married, June 8, 1847, 
Charlotte Irving, followed agricultural 
pursuits and died in Aurora, New York; 
Frank, died in infancy; Frank, born 1821, 
now a farmer near Yellow Springs, Ohio, 
married, December 8, 1846, Marion John- 
son ; Susan R., March 23, 1823, unmar- 
ried, and resided at New Bedford until 
her death in July, 1908; Cornelia, March 
19, 1825, married, October 1, 1846, Na- 
thaniel P. Willis, and lived in Washing- 
ton, D. C., where she died, the mother of 
Grinnell (in business in New York), 
Bailey (in Washington), Lillian (mar- 
ried Robert Boit, of Brookline, Massa- 
chusetts) ; and Edith (widow of Law- 
rence Grinnell and living in Brookline, 

(VII) Lawrence Grinnell, eldest son 
of Cornelius (2) and Eliza T. (Russell) 
Grinnell, was born April 17, 1811, in 
New Bedford, and received his educa- 
tion in private schools and at the Friends’ 
Academy under John H. W. Page. In 
1829 he went to New York to enter the 
counting room of Fish, Grinnell & Com- 
pany, and remained there three years. 
Upon reaching his majority he returned 
to New Bedford and went into busi- 
ness at the corner of First and Grinnell 
streets, in the manufacture of sperm oil 

and candles. At the same time he en- 
gaged in the commission business and 
was ship agent of several vessels, among 
them the famous "Euphrates,” the barks 
"Persia,” "Joshua Bragdon” and “Wave- 
let.” He was alone in business until his 
brother Joseph became a member of the 
firm a few years later. In 1843 he be- 
came agent for the Mutual Life Insur- 
ance Company of New York, a position 
he held for nearly fifty years. After the 
large fire in 1859, the largest in the his- 
tory of New Bedford, he was appointed 
agent of the Liverpool & London & 
Globe Insurance Company, but not until 
1870 did he make the insurance business 
his occupation. In 1876 he took his son. 
Richard W., as a partner, under the name 
of Lawrence Grinnell & Son. After the 
latter’s retirement in 1883 he formed 
partnerships with (at different periods) 
Joshua C. Hitch and John H. Pedro. In 
1846 Mr. Grinnell became treasurer of 
the New Bedford & Taunton Railroad 
Company, and held that position until 
April 1, 1873. He then successively be- 
came treasurer of the New Bedford rail- 
road until 1876, and of the Boston, Clin- 
ton & Fitchburg railroad until 1878. In 
his political faith he was a staunch Re- 
publican, and had been so from the for- 
mation of the party, previous to that be- 
ing a Whig. He was deeply interested 
in municipal politics, and served as a 
member of the common council two 
years. In April, 1861, he was appointed 
by President Lincoln customs collector 
at New Bedford, and held that office from 
May 1, 1861, to March 1, 1870. Mr. Grin- 
nell was one of the best known citizens 
of New Bedford, and was a worthy rep- 
resentative of the old and honored family 
to which he belonged. He died Decem- 
ber 14, 1893, after a decline in health 
covering two years. He married, Octo- 
ber 8, 1835, Rebecca Smith, daughter of 
Richard Williams. She died October 8. 






Mr4. ^£cuiw&>ijce ^'v-wvtvell 


1893, an active member of the Unitarian 
church. Children : P'rederick, born Au- 
gust 14, 1836, now deceased; Laura W., 
February 7, 1840, died November 12, 
1842; Mary Russell, September 22, 1843, 
died October 11, 1874, unmarried; Rich- 
ard Williams, mentioned below; Nina, 
November 12, 1851, died the same day. 

(VIII) Richard Williams Grinnell, 
junior son of Lawrence and Rebecca 
Smith (Williams) Grinnell, was born Jan- 
uary 10, 1846, and died December 23, 
1900. He attended the Friends’ school 
and Brown University, and was for a 
time associated with his father in the in- 
surance business, later being a partner 
with his brother Frederick, in Provi- 
dence, in the manufacture of fire extin- 
guishers, being vice-president of the 
Providence Steam & Gas Pipe Company 
He also was connected with the inven- 
tions perfecting the sprinkler, and col- 
laborated with his brother in producing 
many patents which made the Grinnell 
name so well known in this field of manu- 
facture. Ill health caused Mr. Grinnell 
to give up active business, and for some 
years he resided in California, but in 1896 
he returned to New Bedford, where he 
resided until his death. He married 
Leonora S. Gardner, born November 29, 
1843, daughter of Dr. Johnson and Phebe 
L. (Sisson) Gardner, of what is now East 
Providence, and she died November 20, 
1904 (see Gardner VI). Children: 1. 

Rebecca Williams, born October 6, 1875. 

2. Mary Russell, November 17, 1877. 3. 

Harold Duncan, January 24, 1880, a 
graduate of Harvard, class of 1903, and 
now an architect, residing at Pittsfield, 

(The Gardner Line). 

The surnames Gardner and Gardiner 
have the same origin, and the spelling 
Gardener is also found. This family in 
the State of Rhode Island, members of 


which have been most prominent and in- 
fluential there from the beginning, is as 
ancient as are the settlements there. 

(I) George Gardner, believed to have 
been the son of Sir Thomas Gardiner, 
knight, was born in England, in 1601, and 
died in Kings Town, Rhode Island, in 
1679. He was admitted an inhabitant of 
Aquidneck (Rhode Island) September 1, 
1638, and in 1640 was present at a Gen- 
eral Court of election. His name is found 
on the records often from that time until 
his death, and it was spelled Gardner, 
Gardiner and Gardener. He married 
(first) about 1640, Herodias (Lonjj) 
Wickes, and (second) Lydia Bolton, 
daughter of Robert and Susannah Bol- 
ton. The children by the first wife were: 
Benoni, born about 1645 J Henry, about 
1647; George, about 1649; William, in 
1651 ; Nicholas, in 1654; Dorcas, in 1656; 
and Rebecca, in 1658; and the children 
by the second marriage were: Samuel, 
mentioned below; Joseph, Lydia, Mary, 
Peregrine, Robert, and Jeremiah. 

(II) Samuel Gardner, son of George ^ 
Gardner and his second wife, Lydia Bol- 
ton, lived in Newport, Rhode Island. In 
1687 he removed to Freetown, Massachu- 
setts, and in 1693 he purchased with 
Ralph Chapman a farm at Mattapoisett, 
now South Swansea, Massachusetts, of 
Ebenezer Brenton. He moved to the 
latter place, lived there the remainder of 
his life, and died December 8, 1696, leav- 
ing a widow. He married Elizabeth, 
widow of James Brown, and daughter of 
Robert Carr, of Newport, who survived 
him. His children were: Elizabeth, born 

in 1684, died September 24, 1754, married 
Edward Thurston, of Newport; Samuel, 
mentioned below ; Martha, born Novem- 
ber 16, 1686, died October 27, 1763, mar- 
ried Hezekiah Luther; Patience, bom 
October 31, 1687, married Thomas Crans- 
ton ; and Sarah, born November 1, 1692, 
married Samuel Lee. 


(III) Samuel (2) Gardner, eldest son 
of Samuel (1) and Elizabeth (Carr) 
Gardner, was born October 28, 1685, and 
died February 10, 1773. He was married, 
December 6, 170 7, by Governor Samuel 
Cranston, to Hannah Smith, who was 
born December 20, 1688, and died No- 
vember 16, 1768, daughter of Philip and 
Mary Smith. Their children were: Eliza- 
beth, born November II, 1708, married 
Ambrose Barnaby ; Mary, born October 
26, 1710, married Barnard Hill; Samuel, 
born October 30, 1712, died young; Sam- 
uel (2), born February 17, 1717, married 
Content Brayton ; Peleg, mentioned be- 
low ; Patience, born February 17, 1721, 
married Dr. John Turner; Hannah, born 
in 1724, died December 24, 1811, married 
Caleb Turner; Sarah, born in 1726, died 
February 29, 1808, married John Mason; 
Edward, born April 22, 1731, died in 
1795, married Esther Mason ; and Martha, 
who married Job Mason. 

(IV) Peleg Gardner, son of Samuel 
(2) and Hannah (Smith) Gardner, was 
born February 22, 1719, and died August 
10, 1789. He married, December 20, 
1739, Hannah Sw r eet, daughter of James 
and Sarah (Stephenson) Sweet, of Pru- 
dence Island, who died October 7, 1792. 
Their children were: Sarah, born March 
7, 1741; Mary, October 11, 1742; Ed- 
ward, February 19, 1747; James, men- 
tioned below; Alexander, March 10,1750; 
Joseph, August 1, 1752, died in infancy; 
Joseph (2), January 7, 1754; John, April 
24, 1755; Phebe, May 18, 1756; Hannah, 
January 11, 1759; Samuel, June 15, 1760; 
Caleb, September 27, 1762; Job, July 8, 
1764; and Parthenia, March 16, 1767. 

(V) James Gardner, son of Peleg and 
Hannah (Sweet) Gardner, was born Au- 
gust 27, 1748, and married (first) January 
24, 1771, Prudence Chase, he then being 
of Swansea, and she of Rehoboth, Mas- 
sachusetts. He married (second) Susan- 
nah (Tripp) Johnson. The children of 

the first marriage were: Martha, born 
January 19, 1 772; Sarah, June 15, 1773; 
Mary, June 5, 1776; Marcy, February 28, 
1778; Prudence, February 17, 1780; 

James Sweet, March 8, 1782 ; and of the 
second marriage : Ambrose, January 25, 
1795; Susannah, October 16, 179 7; and 
Johnson, mentioned below. 

(VI) Dr. Johnson Gardner, youngest 
child of James Gardner, and child of his 
second wife, Susannah Tripp, was born 
November 22, 1799, in Rehoboth, Massa- 
chusetts, and reared in his native town, 
where he was in early life engaged in 
teaching school. He commenced the 
study of medicine with Dr. Usher Par- 
sons, of Providence. At twenty-one years 
of age he entered the Medical Depart- 
ment of Brown University, and was 
graduated therefrom in 1824. After 
graduation he furthered his medical 
studies with Dr. Levi Wheaton, at Provi- 
dence, with whom he remained for two 
years, where in 1826 he commenced the 
practice of his profession, and from that 
time on until the early forties he was one 
of the most successful and prominent 
physicians in that city. In about 1842 
he removed to Seekonk (now East Provi- 
dence), w r here he devoted considerable 
time to agricultural pursuits, and became 
a prominent member and for a time presi- 
dent of the Bristol County Agricultural 
Society, and as well became active and 
prominent in political affairs. He was 
a lifelong Democrat, and was several 
times chosen a member of the Massachu- 
setts House of Representatives and also 
of the State Senate. He was chosen a 
member of the Governor’s Council in 
1852, serving during the administration 
of Governor Boutwell. Subsequently he 
was appointed by Governor Briggs, of 
Massachusetts, as one of the three com- 
missioners to settle the local boundary 
line between that State and Rhode Island, 
and his report was given the preference. 


In the winter of 1853-54 Dr. Gardner re- 
turned to Pawtucket. At the breaking 
out of the Civil War in 1861, he was ap- 
pointed examining surgeon of recruits by 
President Lincoln and Governor James 
Y. Smith, of Rhode Island, and opened 
an office on Benefit street, Providence. 
He continued to discharge the duties of 
this position until recruiting closed, and 
also through these years enjoyed consid- 
erable practice. Some two or three years 
after the war closed, owing to failing 
health, he relinquished his practice in 
Providence and returned to Paw'tucket, 
where he passed away December 12, 
1869. He w r as one of the oldest members 
of the medical fraternity in Rhode Island, 
rounded out his three-score and ten years, 
and was widely and favorably known in 
that State as well as in Massachusetts, 
and he w'as always noted for his polite- 
ness, geniality and courtesy. He mar- 
ried, June 8, 1829, Phebe Lawton Sisson, 
of Portsmouth, Rhode Island, only child 
of Aaron Sisson, and to this union were 
born the following children: John Aaron, 
born April 10, 1830, who was a prominent 
member of the bar of Rhode Island, and 
died in Providence. March 26, 1879. Elea- 
nor Phebe. born February 4, 1832, who 
married Joseph H. Bourne, and died 
in Providence. Josephine Amelia, born 
October 7, 1833, married Lyman B. 

Frieze, and died in Providence. Ruth 
Almy, born February 19, 1836, died April 
20, 1845. Adalaide Victoria, born Janu- 
ary 1, 1838, died April 27, 1845. Walter 
Scott, born September 9, 1839, who was 
a manufacturer of Pawtucket, Rhode 
Island. Leonora Susan, mentioned be- 
low. Clarence Tripp, born October 24, 
1844, who w’as one of the leading physi- 
cians of Providence, and passed away at 
his summer home at Seaconnet, Rhode 
Island. May 23. 1907. 

(VII) Leonora Susan Gardner, daugh- 

ter of Dr. Johnson and Phebe Lawton 
(Sisson) Gardner, was born November 
29, 1842, and became the wife of Richard 
Williams Grinnell, of Providence. (See 
Grinnell VIII ). 

(The Howland Line). 

A history of Humphrey Howland, of 
his son, Henry Howland, progenitor of 
a large progeny in this country, and his 
son, Zoeth Howland, appears elsewhere 
in this work. 

(IV) Benjamin Howland, second son 

of Zoeth and Abigail Howland, was born 
May 8, 1657, in Duxbury, and died in Dart- 
mouth, Massachusetts, November , 12, 
1727. He was a prominent member of 
the Apponegansett Friends’ Meeting, was 
a farmer, and owned what is known as 
Round Hills farm in Dartmouth, still in 
possession of a descendant. In 1697 he 
was selectman and assessor, in 1698 sur- 
veyor of highways, and in 1709 was con- 
stable. He was appointed treasurer of 
the Friends' Monthly Meeting Fund, No- 
vember 19, 1705. He married, June 23, 
1684, Judith Sampson. Children: Abi- 
gail, born January 30, 1687; Benjamin. 
January 30, 1689; Isaac, March 30, 1694- 
Desire, October 20, 1696; Barnabas 

mentioned below ; Lydia, December K 

(V) Barnabas Howland, third son of 
Benjamin and Judith (Sampson) How- 
land, was born November 16, 1699, at 
Round Hills farm, and died February 19. 
1773, ’ n Dartmouth. He was imprisoned 
in 1759 for “refusing to go to war,’’ as 
dictated by his Quaker tenets. He mar- 
ried (first) June 30, 1724, Rebecca, daugh- 
ter of John Lapham, of Dartmouth, born 
October 5, 1707, died November 7, 1736. 
He married (second) June 16, 1750, Pene- 
lope, widow of Jedediah Allen, of Dart- 
mouth. Children: Judith, born March 
14, 1725; Benjamin, June 25, 1727 ; Eliza- 
beth, March 20, 1730; Sylvia. April 28, 


1732; Gideon, mentioned below; Lydia, 
September 9, 1735. 

(VI) Gideon Howland, second son of 
Barnabas and Rebecca (Lapham) How- 
land, was born May 29, 1734, at Round 
Hills farm, where he lived. He married, 
May 25, 1753, Sarah, daughter of Captain 
Thomas and Judith Hicks. Children: 
Rebecca, born December 21, 1754; Wil- 
liam, May 13, 1756; Cornelius, May 13, 
1758; Judith, April 9, 1760; Joseph, June 
8, 1762 ; Lydia, December 14. 1763 ; Sylvia, 
mentioned below; Sarah, May 2, 1767; 
Desire, November 19, 1768; Gideon, Au- 
gust 4, 1770; Gilbert, June 13, 1772; John 

H. , February 8, 1774; Pardon, January 1, 

1777 - 

(VII) Sylvia Howland, fourth daugh- 
ter of Gideon and Sarah (Hicks) How- 
land, was born August 4, 1765, was mar- 
ried, 6th of the 5th month, 1785, to Cor- 
nelius Grinnell, and died August 1. 1837 
(see Grinnell V). 

(VII) Captain Gideon (2) Howland, 
fourth son of Gideon (1) and Sarah 
(Hicks) Howland, was born August 4, 
1770, in Dartmouth, commanded whaling 
ships, and was also a shipping agent, 
spent his last years at New Bedford, 
where he was a member of the firm of 

I. Howland Jr. & Company, and died 
there, September 2, 1847. He married, 
November 29, 1798, Mehitable, daughter 
of Isaac (3) and Abigail (Russell) How- 
land, born about 1779, descended from 
Zoeth Howland, through his son Benja- 
min, grandson Isaac, great-grandson, 
Isaac (2) Howland, father of Isaac (3), 
who was the father of Mehitable. They 
were the parents of two daughters, Sylvia 
Ann and Abby Slocum. The latter mar- 
ried Edward Mott Robinson, and was 
the mother of Hetty Howland Robinson, 
who became the wife of Edward H. 
Green. Hetty Green, the wealthiest 
woman in New York, lately deceased, 

enjoyed the income from a large property 
bequeathed to her by her aunt, Sylvia 
Ann Howland, who controlled an estate 
of over two million dollars, and died un- 

MIX, Clifton Henry, D. D., 


The Mix family is of old English an- 
cestry. The surname is variously spelled 
Meek, Meeks and Mix and there are half 
a dozen coats-of-arms, indicating that 
the family was of some importance in 
various branches at an early date. Tra- 
dition says that the pioneer in America 
came from London. 

(I) Thomas Mix, the immigrant, set- 

tled as early as 1643 in New Haven, Con- 
necticut. In 1649 he married Rebecca 
Turner, daughter of Nathaniel Turner, 
who came to Massachusetts in 1630, set- 
tled in New Haven and was a captain 
and magistrate. The Mix family has 
been prominent in New Haven from the 
first. Thomas Mix died in 1691, leaving 
a substantial estate. Children: John, 

born 1649; Nathaniel, September 14. 
1651 ; Daniel, mentioned below; Thomas, 
August 30, 1655 ; Rebecca, January 4, 
1658; Abigail, 1659; Caleb. 1661; Sam- 
uel, January 11, 1663; Hannah, June 30, 
1666; Esther, November 30, 1668; Ste- 
phen, November 1, 1672. 

(II) Daniel Mix, son of Thomas Mix, 
was born at New Haven. September 8, 
1653. When a young man he moved with 
his brother John to Wallingford, Connec- 
ticut. The name of Daniel Mix appears 
on the tax list of Wallingford in 1701. 
He married (first) May 2, 1678, Ruth 
Rockwell, daughter of John and Sarah 
(Ensign) Rockwell. She was born March 
5. baptized March 11, 1654. John Rock- 
well, her father, was born in England, 
July 18, 1627, and died at Windsor, Con- 


necticut, September 13, 1673; married, 
May 6, 1651, Sarah Ensign, daughter of 
the pioneers, James and Sarah Ensign. 
Deacon William Rockwell, father of John 
Rockwell, married, April 14, 1624, in 
England, Susan Capen, daughter of Ber- 
nard Capen, deacon of the church at Dor- 
chester, Massachusetts. He married (sec- 
ond) Deborah . His first wife died 

before 1741. Children by first wife: 
Thomas, born March 25, 1679; Lydia, 
July 22, 1682; Daniel, mentioned below. 

(III) Daniel (2) Mix, son of Daniel 
(1) Mix, was born at Wallingford, July 
1, 1685, and married there, May 28, 1712, 
Lydia Irwin or Ervin (also given Avery 
in family records). Children (from two 
lists in Wallingford history) : Benjamin, 
born August 13, 1713; Deborah, March 
17, 1715; Lydia, September 21, 1716; 
Hannah, January 20, 1718: Ruth, Octo- 
ber 5, 1719; Benjamin, December 11, 
1720; Enos, March 29, 1722; Sarah, April 
21, 1723 ; Isaac, mentioned below ; Martha, 
July 18, 1725; Joanna, March 13, 1726; 
Timothy, December 28, 1727; Daniel, 
March 31, 1730; Jeremiah, November 12, 
1737 - 

(IV) Isaac Mix, son of Daniel (2) 
Mix, was born at Wallingford, November 
5. 1724 (also given June 7, 1723, and No- 
vember 5, 1 727), and died at Sangerfield. 
New York, September 28, 1803. He re- 
moved to West Hartford, Connecticut, 
thence, after 1774, to New Hartford, 
Litchfield county, Connecticut, where he 
was living in 1790, according to the first 
census. Later in life he removed to New 
York State. He was a soldier in the 
Revolution in Captain Ebenezer Bis- 
sell's company. Seventeenth Regiment, 
under Colonel Huntington, in 1776. He 
married Damaris Olmstead, baptized at 
West Hartford, October 4, 1730, daugh- 
ter of Stephen Olmstead. She died at 
Sangerfield, June 11, 1795. Stephen 
Olmstead, her father, was born at Hart- 

ford, January 1, 1694, died October 14, 
1776; married, June 29, 1723, Sarah Mer- 
rill, who was baptized January 17, 1696- 
97, daughter of John and Sarah (Marsh) 
Merrill, a descendant of Governor John 
Marsh, Governor John Webster and Rich- 
ard Lyman, another prominent pioneer. 
Thomas Olmstead, father of Stephen 
Olmstead, was born at Hartford, was one 
of the founders of the Second Church ; 
married Hannah Mix, who was born June 

30, 1666, daughter of Thomas Mix, men- 
tioned above. Captain Nicholas Olm- 
stead, father of Thomas Olmstead, was 
baptized at Great Leighs, Fairsted, Eng- 
land, February 15, 1612, and died August 

31, 1684; served in the Pequot War and 
commanded a company in King Philip’s 
War; a leading citizen of Hartford; mar- 
ried, September 28, 1640, Sarah Loomis, 
daughter of Joseph and Mary (White) 
Loomis. James Olmstead, father of Cap- 
tain Nicholas Olmstead, was baptized at 
Great Leighs, settled at Cambridge, Mas- 
sachusetts, and was one of the founders 
of Hartford ; his father was James Olm- 
stead and his grandfather James Olm- 
stead. Children of Isaac Mix: Sarah, 
born November 4, 1750, died September 
23, 1762; Isaac, September 6, 1752; Ben- 
jamin, December 22, 1755; Nabby, June 
8, 1761; Damaris, February 5, 1764; 
Sarah, November 16, 1766; Chauncey, 
November 18, 1768; Giles, mentioned be- 
low; infant, died March 11, 1774. 

(V) Giles Mix, son of Isaac Mix, was 
born at West Hartford, August 24, 1771, 
removed to New Hartford, and when a 
young man went to Oneida county, New 
York. He married, October 4, 1792, Mary 
Stancliffe, who died in Pennsylvania, Sep- 
tember 25, 1856, aged eighty-five years, 
four days. Children : Ira, mentioned be- 
low ; Damaris, born August 1, 1795, died 
young; Polly, July 31, 1797, died January 
27, 1867; Sophia, March 6, 1799: Hiram, 
April 22, 1801, died in Michigan, Septem- 


ber 9, 1878; Sophia, June 13, 1805; Giles, 
January 19, 1807; Benjamin, July 6, 1808; 
Harriet, twin of Benjamin; Damaris, 
February 13, 1811 ; Louisa, April 20, 1813, 
died July 18, 1848. 

(VI) Ira Mix, son of Giles Mix, was 
born August 4, 1793, at Sangerfield, New 
York, and died November 12, 1870, at 
Auburn, Fayette county, Iowa. He mar- 
ried, March 4, 1818, Anna Kelsey, born 
February 8, 1799, died at Auburn, Iowa, 
July 12, 1870. Children: Mary Ann, born 
April 5, 1820; Sarah Ann, March 28, 
1823; Hiram Andrew, mentioned below; 
Clarissa B., February 22, 182S ; Lucy M., 
July 5, 1829, died May 8, 1882; Harriet, 
August 22, 1831, married Lee Gates; 
Henry E., July 22, 1840. 

(VII) Hiram Andrew Mix, son of Ira 
Mix. was born at Oriskany, New York, 
August 28, 1825, and died October 9, 
1901, at Gouverneur, New York. For 
many years he was in business as a car- 
penter and builder at Richville, New 
York. Fie married, at Richville, New 
York, May 11, 1858, Betsey Bigelow 
Phelps, who was born May 20, 1831, 
daughter of Alfred S. and Jerusha (Bos- 
worth) Phelps. She is now living with 
her son, Rev. Dr. Clifton H. Mix, of 
Worcester. Her father was born No- 
vember 18, 1806, died May 13, 1882. 
Captain Samuel Wright Phelps, father 
of Alfred S. Phelps, was born at Lancas- 
ter, Massachusetts, February 18, 1785 ; 
married, July 6, 1806, at Sterling, Betsey 
Bigelow ; was a soldier in the War of 
1812, commanding a company at the 
battle of Sacketts harbor. Abishai Phelps, 
father of Captain Samuel Wright Phelps, 
was born at Lancaster, August 12, 1746, 
died there. February 20, 1817; married, 
April 22, 1770, Catherine Richardson, 
born September 22, 1752, died February 
8, 1826. Robert Phelps, father of Abishai 
Phelps, was born in Andover, Massachu- 
setts, May 8, 1699, died March 10, 1749, 

at Lancaster. He was a son of Edward 
and Ruth (Andrews) Phelps and grand- 
son of Edward Phelps, the immigrant. 

Jerusha Bosworth, bom May 12. 1801, 
died 1885, at Morristown, New York, 
is buried at Richville, New York, was a 
daughter of Osman Bosworth. He was 
born at Sandisfield, Massachusetts, April 
21, 1770, and died there. He married, 
November 17, 1796, Jerusha Walker, and 
she died June 12, 1832, aged sixty years, 
lacking a month. Jabez Bosworth, father 
of Osman Bosworth, was born at Middle- 
town, Connecticut, March 12, 1742, died 
August 2, 1827; he was a soldier in the 
Revolution,; settled at Sandisfield; mar- 
ried Rebecca Moody, who was born De- 
cember 12, 1742, and died December 9, 
1827. Nathaniel Bosworth, father of 
Jabez Bosworth, was born at Swansea, 
Massachusetts, 1709, died at Sandisfield, 
October 25, 1807 ; lived also at Middle- 
town and Lebanon, Connecticut, and was 
one of the founders of the town of Sandis- 
field ; married, November 22, 1733, Bethia 
Hinckley, who died January 21, 1749. 
John Bosworth, father of Nathaniel Bos- 
worth, was born in Swansea, in 1672, died 
September 20, 1719. at Swansea. Jona- 
than Bosworth, father of John Bosworth, 
was born at Hingham, in 1639, and mar- 
ried Hannah Howland, daughter of John 
Howland, who came in the “Mayflower” 
and his wife, Elizabeth, daughter of John 
Tilley, both of whom also came in the 
“Mayflower.” He was a son of Jonathan 
Bosworth and grandson of Edward Bos- 
w r orth, the immigrant, and his wife Mary. 
Betsey Bigelow, who married Samuel 
W. Phelps, was a daughter of Elias and 
Abigail (Myrick) Bigelow, granddaugh- 
ter of Joseph and Mercy (Pratt) Bige- 
low. great-granddaughter of Joseph and 
Thankful (Robinson) Bigelow; great- 
great-granddaughter of Joshua and Eliza- 
beth (Flagg) Robinson. The father of 
Joshua Bigelow was the immigrant, John 


Bigelow. Children of Hiram Andrew 
Mix: Abigail, died young; Samuel 

Wright, farmer at Heuvelton, New York ; 
Luella Maud, married William J. Rogers, 
of Antwerp, New York, where they are 
now (1916) residing; Webster Lynde ; 
Clifton Henry, mentioned below; Fred. 

(VIII) Rev. Dr. Clifton Henry Mix, 
son of Hiram Andrew and Betsey Bige- 
low (Phelps) Mix, was born at Richville, 
St. Lawrence county, New York, July 6, 
1866. He attended the public schools in 
his native town, and after being em- 
ployed for two years in a drug store he 
entered Ives Seminary, Antwerp, New 
York, where he prepared for college. In- 
stead, however, of pursuing his education 
at this time, he entered the work of the 
Young Men’s Christian Association, be- 
coming general secretary of the associa- 
tion at Clifton Springs, New York, serv- 
ing in that capacity for two years. In 
1888, when he left Clifton Springs, the 
association voted : 

That the faithful and efficient discharge of 
his duties and the kind, gentle and Christian 
spirit manifested by Mr. Mix in his general 
intercourse, have endeared him, not only to 
members of the association, but also to the com- 
munity, and especially the Christian commu- 
nity, at large. 

He then engaged in similar work at 
Auburn, New York, for a period of two 
years, and the following resolutions were 
passed when he resigned from this posi- 
tion : 

That we would hereby record our grateful 
appreciation of the efficient and self-sacrificing 
work he has accomplished for our young men. 
In fact we can scarcely see what could have 
been done which he has not done. By his ener- 
getic and unpretentious work he has won not 
only the respect but the warm personal regard 
of this entire board of managers as well as of 
the association and the community generally, 
and we would unite in wishing him the full 
measure of prosperity which we know he richly 

merits in any field of labor to which he may 
in future be called. 

His next charge along the same line 
was at Yonkers, New York, where he 
also remained for two years, and when he 
resigned on account of ill health the asso- 
ciation made the following minute : 

It is with profound regret that the resigna- 
tion of Clifton H. Mix as general secretary of 
this association is accepted. His term of serv- 
ice here has been short, extending only over 
six months, but in that time he has made a 
deep impression on the spiritual life of the asso- 
ciation and won all its directors and members 
as his warm friends. His exceptional abilities 
for the work made it all the more a source of 
regret to us that, under the advice of physi- 
cians, he is compelled to seek rest for a season. 

His natural aptitude for this work, his 
ability as a public speaker, his enthusi- 
asm and personality brought him a career 
of great usefulness and success in this 

After a period of rest, Mr. Mix entered 
Syracuse University in 1893. h' s ^* rst 
year there he became the leader of a 
remarkable religious awakening among 
both students and faculty. The move- 
ment is perhaps best described in the 
language of one of the professors in the 
“Northern Christian Advocate,” Febru- 
ary 20, 1895: 

A Great Awakening. A condition of relig- 
ious activity is in progress in Syracuse L T ni- 
versity which can hardly be characterized by 
other than the above caption. Indeed it may 
be doubted whether ever before in the history 
of the university anything comparable with it 
has been known. A spiritual revival prevails 
of a most unique and profound character. It is 
unique in its nature and methods. With little 
of excitement or demonstration it has spread, 
like the hidden leaven, until almost the entire 
body of students has been strangely moved. 
With the least possible of the hortatory ele- 
ment, almost the only factors of human power 
obvious have been the simple exposition of the 
word of God, prayer and testimony. It is pro- 


found in that the depths of personal conscience 
have been moved by a power other than human. 

* * There has been no mincing of matters, 

there has been none of the clap-trap of sensa- 
tionalism. The entire movement has been 
characterized by a deliberation, an unfaltering 
fidelity to plain straightforwardness and an in- 
vincibleness of faith worthy of the most heroic 
annals of the church. The work began as a 
union meeting of the \. M. and Y. \Y . C. A. 
for prayer and consecration preparatory to the 
“Day of Prayer for Colleges.” After several 
such preliminary meetings had been held the 
feeling grew that it should ultimate in results 
other than nominal, and steps were taken to 
definitely organize for the work of revival. 
Prayers have been gloriously answered; faith 
has realized its victory, but the end is not yet. 
Every service seems to deepen in fervor and to 
widen in influence. 

At these meetings Mr. Mix conducted 
all the services and spoke daily most 
effectively. While a student he continued 
religious work by supplying as pastor of 
the State Street Methodist Church in 
Fulton. The “Fulton Times’’ says of his 
work in this new church : 

He entered upon the pastorate with great 
energy. The congregations soon began to tax 
the capacity of the church, attracted by his 
earnest preaching and fearless presentation of 
the truth. He organized all the departments 
of the church. Special evangelistic services 
were held during the winter (1895) resulting in 
over thirty conversions. As a fruit largely of 
his zealous labors, the membership doubled. 

But at the end of the year the church 
had grown so large that Mr. Mix relin- 
quished the work and another pastor was 
called. On account of ill health, Mr. Mix 
left college in his senior year. In 1911 
he received the degree of Doctor of Di- 
vinity from Syracuse University. He ac- 
cepted a call to the First Congregational 
Church at Cliftondale, Massachusetts, in 
1901, and was formally ordained and in- 
stalled, May 28, 1902. At the end of a 
pastorate of four years, he came to Wor- 
cester in March, 1905, as pastor of the 

Pilgrim Congregational Church. He re- 
signed, in March, 1914, after an exceed- 
ingly pleasant and successful pastorate of 
nine years. Not only the leaders of his 
congregation but many prominent clergy- 
men and business men of other parishes 
wrote letters expressing their apprecia- 
tion of his service and regret at the ter- 
mination of his pastorate. An editorial 
from the “Worcester Gazette” comment- 
ing on his resignation expresses the pub- 
lic sentiment : 

The unexpected resignation of the pastor of 
Pilgrim Church will occasion regret in other 
hearts than those of his own parish. He has 
ever been so devoted to everything which 
makes for the good of the public, his absence 
will be sensibly felt. While instant in season 
and out for the welfare of his immediate charge, 
he has never failed in proving himself a power 
for uplifting when the demand has come for 
men who are fearless in the cause of right, re- 
gardless of sect or race. Worcester has need 
of just such men and parts from them unwill- 
ingly when they deem it desirable to leave. 
Notwithstanding the wording of his letter of 
resignation, there are not a few, beyond the 
confines of his south-end church, who hope that 
some plan may be evolved whereby he may ob- 
tain his needed rest and yet remain among us. 
While some may scoff at the idea of a minis- 
ter’s wearing out, others are well aware of the 
terrible draft on the vital functions that the 
preparation of sermons for an exacting and 
critical audience and the unceasing rounds of 
pastoral duties make. * * After two such 

predecessors, the young man who came to the 
pulpit and ministrations of the church might 
have been thought to face unusual burdens, but 
there was no faltering, no hesitation for a day 
even; the progress was onward and upward 
from the start and whatever the outcome of the 
letter of resignation, there can be only one 
voice as to the continued success of Dr. Mix’s 

Dr. Mix preached the third Baccalaure- 
ate sermon at Clark College. He has 
written extensively for various publica- 
tions. For many years he was a member 
and vice-president of the Congregational 



Club and director of the City Missionary 
Society. He is fond of historical research 
and has collected a library of rare and 
valuable books. Most interesting is his 
collection of works relating to Abraham 

He married, July 9, 1896, at Canton, 
Pennsylvania, Miriam Adelia Guernsey, 
daughter of George A. and Miriam J. 
(Wright) Guernsey. Hiram Guernsey, 
her grandfather, married Maria Watrous. 
Joseph Guernsey, father of Hiram Guern- 
sey, was born in 1772, married Sarah 
Rexford. John Guernsey, father of Joseph 
Guernsey, was born at Waterbury, Con- 
necticut, October 28, 1734, lived at Ame- 
nia and Saratoga, New York; married, 
March 24, 1757, Azubah Buell. John 
Guernsey, father of John Guernsey, was 
born at Stamford, Connecticut, April 6, 
1709, and settled in Amenia; married, 
November 28, 1733, Anne Peck, daughter 
of Deacon Jeremiah Peck. Joseph Guern- 
sey, father of John Guernsey, was born at 
Milford. Connecticut, January 13, 1674; 
married Elizabeth Disbrow ; his father, 
Joseph Guernsey, born about 1650, mar- 
ried Hannah Cooley, daughter of Samuel 
Cooley, the immigrant, and Joseph Guern- 
sey was a son of John Guernsey, the im- 
migrant, who came to Milford as early as 
1639. Mrs. Mix is also a descendant of 
the Wright family, pioneers of North- 
ampton, Massachusetts ; the Rockwells, 
Gilletts, Griswolds, Loomis, Lyman. 
Phelps, Porter, Hawkes, Peck and other 
well-known and distinguished colonial 

Mrs. Mix prepared for college in the 
Canton High School and at Dickinson 
Seminary, Williamsport, Pennsylvania, 
and graduated with the degree of Ph. B. 
at Syracuse University in 1893. She is 
a member of the Alpha Phi fraternity and 
of the Phi Beta Kappa. After graduating 
and until she married she was an instruc- 
tor of music at Syracuse University. 

Children: 1. Donald Guernsey, born at 
Canton, Pennsylvania, May 15, 1897, stu- 
dent of Worcester North High School, 
class of 1916. 2. Margaret Miriam, born 
August 22, 1899, at Canton, Pennsylva- 
nia, student at Northfield Seminary, class 
of 1918. 3. Katharine, born at Clifton- 

dale, Massachusetts, March 16, 1902. 4. 
Robert Clifton, born August 11, 1903, at 
Lynn, Massachusetts. 

SWEET, Walter Ansley, 


The Sweet family history in England 
and Wales dates back many centuries. 
The seat of the armorial branch of the 
family was at Trayne in the time of Ed- 
ward VI. and subsequently at Oxton, 
Devonshire. The coat-of-arms is de- 
scribed : Gules two chevrons between as 
many mullets in chief and a rose in base 
argent, seeded or. Crests : A mullet or 
pierced azure between two gilly flowers 
proper. On the top of a tower issuing 
proper an eagle with wings endorsed or 
in the beak an oak branch vert. The 
surname of Sweet is identical with Swete, 
Swett, Sweat and Sweete and is variously 
spelled in the early records. 

(I) Isaac Sweet, according to family 
tradition, lived in Wales, but the Sweet 
family is found at an early date in vari- 
ous sections of England. Isaac Sweet 
did not emigrate, but his widow and three 
sons came to this country. Children : 
Thomas, died without issue; John, men- 
tioned below; James. 

(II) John Sweet, son of Isaac Sweet, 
was born in Wales, as early as 1600, and 
came to Salem, Massachusetts, in 1630. 
In 1632 his land at Salem is described in 
the records and the name Sweet’s Cove 
was given to an inlet near his residence. 
In 1637 he received a grant of land in 
Providence, Rhode Island, moved thither, 
and died there. Children: John, born 


1620, died 1677, lived at Warwick; James, 
mentioned below ; Renewed, married John 

(III) James Sweet, son of John Sweet, 
was born in Wales, in 1622; came with 
his father to Salem and removed to 
Rhode Island. He lived in Warwick, but 
settled later in North Kingston near 
Ridge Hill. He was a commissioner in 
1653-55-59 ; freeman in 1655; juror in 
1656. He sold land at Warwick to Thom- 
as Green in 1660 and 1682. In 1686 he 
deeded his rights to land in Providence, 
“as my father John Sweet was one of the 
first purchasers thereof.” He married 
Mary Green, daughter of Dr. John Green, 
surgeon, who came to New England in 
1635. Children: Philip, born July 15, 
1 655 ; James, May 28, 1657; Mary, Feb- 
ruary 2, 1660; Benoni, mentioned below; 
Valentine, November 1, 1667; Jeremiah, 
January 6, 1669; Renewed, July 16. 1671 ; 
Sylvester, March 1, 1674. 

(IV) Dr. Benoni Sweet, son of James 
Sweet, was born March 28, 1663, at North 
Kingston. He is described as a man of 
polished manners and great influence in 
the community. He was commissioned 
captain in the Colonial service. He was 
a natural bone-setter and was called 
“Dr.” Sweet, practicing extensively the 
reduction of dislocations, and he appears 
to be the first of a family famous for the 
art and practice of bone-setting. He was 
baptized at St. Paul’s Church, Novem- 
ber 8, 1724, and the succeeding Easter 
was elected vestryman, an office he filled 
until his death. He died July 19, 1751, at 
North Kingston, in his ninetieth year. 
Dr. McSparren preached the funeral ser- 
mon “and buried him in the cemetery of 
his ancestors.” He married Elizabeth 
Sweet, daughter of Samuel Sweet. Chil- 
dren, born at North Kingston: James, 
mentioned below; Margaret, born 1690; 
Benoni, 1692; Mary, 1696; Elizabeth, 
1700; Thomas, 1703. 

(V) James (2) Sweet, son of Dr. Be- 
noni Sweet, was born at North Kingston, 
in 1688. He married Mary Sweet, daugh- 
ter of Benoni Sweet, Jr. Children: Be- 
noni, born 1715 ; Eber, 1716; James, 1719; 
Elisha, 1721; Freelove, 1723; Job, men- 
tioned below; Elizabeth, 1729. 

(VI) Job Sweet, son of James (2) 
Sweet, was born at North Kingston, in 
1724, and became very prominent and 
distinguished as a bone-setter. During 
the Revolution he was called to Newport 
to reduce dislocated bones of some of the 
French officers, an operation beyond the 
skill of the army surgeons. He was on 
one occasion called to New York City to 
set the dislocated hip of Theodocia Burr, 
daughter of Colonel Aaron Burr. He 
made the journey in a sailing vessel, and 
his success in the case rather discomfited 
the New York surgeons who had failed 
to reduce the dislocation. In early life 
he settled near Sugar Loaf Hill, South 
Kingston. He married (first) Jemima 
Sherman, who died shortly afterward. 
He married (second) Sarah Kingsland. 
Child by first wife: Abigail, born 1751. 
Children by second wife, born at South 
Kingston: Rufus, born 1753; Jeremiah, 
mentioned below; Gideon, 1758; James, 
1760; Benoni, 1762; Jonathan, 1765; 
Margaret and Lydia, twins, 1767; Han- 
nah, 1770; Sarah, 1774. 

(VII) Jeremiah Sweet, son of Job 
Sweet, was born in South Kingston, Feb- 
ruary 4, 1757, and died aged eighty-seven 
years. He was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion and was granted a pension, Decem- 
ber 14, 1832. In 1840 the census shows 
that he was living at Glocester, aged 
eightv-three years. His great-grandson 
says of him : “He was a strong-built man, 
six feet tall with broad shoulders some- 
what rounded and he used to wear a 
homespun coat with a cape. The coat 
reached to his knees. His wife never 
weighed more than 96 pounds, and in 



later years they were called Uncle 
Jerry and Aunt Dorcas. In her old age 
Dorcas was blind, but she could recog- 
nize her great-grandchildren when they 
clasped her hands. They lived with my 
grandfather during their last years and 
occupied a large room in which there was 
a fireplace and a large old-fashioned clock 
that I well remember/’ Jeremiah Sweet 
was a leading citizen of the town, kept 
the general store and mill. He was a 
powerful man physically. He married 
Dorcas Darling, who was born December 
7 . 1758 , died January 6, 1845. Children: 
Timothy, mentioned below; Mary, mar- 
lied Darius Durfee ; Anna, married (first) 
Mowry Peckham, and (second) Duleus 
Blois ; Dorcas, died young; Elizabeth, 
married David Page. 

(VIII) Timothy Sweet, son of Jeremi- 
ah Sweet, was born at Glocester, Rhode 
Island, January 10, 1781. He resided in 
the western part of the town. He was 
a farmer and large land owner and to 
each of his six sons he gave a farm when 
they married. On his homestead he had 
a blacksmith shop and a cider mill. He 
built a saw mill on his wood lot at the 
source of the Pawtucket river, the first 
mill privilege on the stream, and gave his 
sons the privilege of cutting and market- 
ing lumber to get their family supplies. 
He built a large house having a kitchen 
twenty feet long. The white maple table 
was twelve feet long and in haying time 
accommodated twenty men at meals. He 
was for many years deputy sheriff. He 
was five feet seven inches in height, of 
a sturdy frame and broad shoulders. He 
and his wife were widely known as 
“Uncle Tim” and “Aunt Nabby.” He 
died November 17, 1845. He married, 
May 29. 1803, Abigail Page, born August 
7, 1782, died January 23, 1845. Children: 
1. Solomon, mentioned below. 2. Jere- 
miah, born December 19, 1805; farmer; 
married Arvilla Irons. 3. Joseph R.,born 

September 30, 1808; farmer at Gloces- 
ter; married Paulina Saunders. 4. Free- 
love, born April 3, 1811 ; married Robert 
Saunders, and lived in Glocester. 5. Ste- 
phen S., born October 14, 1812 ; had a 
farm and mill in Glocester; married Fan- 
ny Farrow. 6. Dorcas, born February 9, 
1815, died August 20, 1834. 7. Thomas, 

born January 6, 1817; farmer of Gloces- 
ter; married Amy Wade. 8. Timothy, 
born January 25, 1820, died October 25, 
1822. 9. Darling Eddy, born April 4, 

1822; was a farmer; married (first) De- 
borah Hannah Wade, (second) Mary J. 
Wellman ; died suddenly at Providence. 

(IX) Solomon Sweet, son of Timothy 
Sweet, was born at Glocester, February 
15, 1804, died January 27, 1876. He was 
a blacksmith and farmer at Glocester and 
North Foster. In 1842 he took part in 
the Dorr Rebellion. From the beginning 
of the Republican party he was an active 
supporter of the same. For years he was 
a justice of the peace and was entrusted 
with the settlement of many estates. He 
was a deacon of Morning Star (Free 
Will) Baptist Church and one of its most 
liberal supporters. The church edifice 
was erected on his farm. He was a man 
of great piety and exemplary character. 
He married (first) December 30, 1827, at 
Foster, Harriet Hopkins, born December 
21. 1805, at Foster, died in 1836, daughter 
of Jeremiah Hopkins; married (second) 
Eliza Thurber ; married (third) February 
21. 1841, Sally Steere, daughter of Asahel 
and Olive Steere. Children by first wife: 
1. Henry Wilkinson, born June 30, 1828, 
died aged thirteen years. 2. Timothy, 
born September 13, 1829. died August 16, 
1831. 3. Samuel Edwin, born February 

10, 1831, died August 26, 1881 ; learned 
the trade of mason in Providence, went 
to Illinois, later to Minnesota and thence 
to Topeka, Kansas, where he was the first 
mason and where he afterward estab- 
lished an ice business and prospered. 4. 


George Hopkins, born September 19, 
1832; mason by trade, worked in Illinois 
and later in Providence ; grocer in Pas- 
coag and Providence ; engaged in the ice 
business in Topeka ; removed to Wichita, 
Kansas, where he plastered the first house 
built there; removed to Los Vegas, New 
Mexico, thence to Los Angeles, Califor- 
nia ; San Marcial, New Mexico; and fi- 
nally to Topeka, Kansas; his eldest son, 
Arthur, is vice-president of the Denver 
& Rio Grande Railroad ; Howard is a 
ranchman; and Fred, a grocer. 5. Esek 
Johnson, mentioned below. 6. Mowry 
Peckham, born July 24, 1835; went to 
California in 1858; died in San Francisco, 
aged sixty years ; was a carpenter and 
milk dealer. 7. Child, died in infancy. 
Children by second wife: 8. and 9. Chil- 
dren, died in infancy. 10. and 11. Chil- 
dren, died in infancy. 12. Ellen Eliza- 
beth, died, unmarried, aged fifty years. 
13. Solomon Steere, resides in Foster, 
Rhode Island, on the homestead, is a 
lumber dealer and farmer ; married Alma 

(X) Esek Johnson Sweet, son of Solo- 
mon Sweet, was born at Glocester, Rhode 
Island, November 29, 1833. He attended 
the public schools and the North Scitu- 
ate Seminary. At the age of twenty he 
began to teach school. During the sum- 
mer he worked in the saw mill and on the 
farm. After two years he entered the 
Porter, Hammond & Alvord Commercial 
College at Providence and graduated in 
November, 1857. In 1858 he became a 
partner of I. A. Randall in the firm of 
Randall & Sweet at Dayville, Connecti- 
cut, dealers in dry goods and crockery, 
but after six months sold out to his part- 
ner and started a general store at Gloces- 
ter on the Providence and Hartford turn- 
pike. Two years later he removed his 
stock to East Putnam, Connecticut, where 
he kept a general store during the Civil 
War. In 1865 he located in Pascoag, 

Rhode Island, where he kept a store for 
four years. He then sold out and became 
a partner of William S. Johnson in the 
wholesale fancy goods and notions trade, 
continuing for one year. Afterward he 
was in the sewing machine business for a 
time. In 1870-71 he had a dry goods 
store in South Providence and later a 
provision store there. In 1876 he came 
to Stafford, Connecticut, and for a year 
was clerk in the store of L. W. Crane ; 
afterward clerk in the store of Wing 
&' Hendrick, dry goods dealers, West 
Windsor, and for Briggs & Bennet at 
Sterling, Connecticut. In June, 1878, he 
entered the employ of John Brown as 
clerk. Since 1879 he has been a mason 
and builder in Stafford and has done a 
vast amount of reliable and satisfactory 
work. Among other contracts he built 
the library building, Johnson’s block and 
Baker’s block. For forty years has been 
a singer in church choirs and for fourteen 
years was tenor of the Congregational 
church at Stafford. He taught singing 
schools at Glocester, Foster and Scituate 
and at Putnam and Thompson, and at 
the present time, although at an ad- 
vanced age, he still retains his beautiful, 
clear voice in all its sweetness. He 
taught public schools at Glocester, Foster 
and Scituate, Rhode Island : Killingly. 
Sterling, Putnam and Stafford, Connecti- 
cut, and in Teskilwa, while in the West, 
for a year. Mr. Sweet has been assessor 
and burgess of the borough of Stafford 
Springs. He was formerly for many 
years a Republican, but is now a Pro- 
hibitionist in politics. He is a member of 
the Baptist church and was formerly ac- 
tive in Sunday school work; he now at- 
tends the Congregational church. He is 
a member of Granite Lodge, No. 11, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Harrisville, 
Rhode Island : of the Temple of Honor. 
Good Templars, and Sons of Temper- 
ance. Mr. Sweet, although eighty-three 

1 12 


years of age, drives a Ford automobile 
and was for a time the oldest person in 
Connecticut to hold a license to drive a 

Mr. Sweet married (first) May 6, 1857, 
Eunice Caroline Page, born September 
23, 1833, died July 15, 1865, daughter of 
Stephen and Mary Page, of Stafford, 
Connecticut. He married (second) Jan- 
uary 18, 1868, at Pascoag, Rhode Island, 
Mary Frances (Warner) Hopkins, widow 
of Stephen Flopkins and daughter of John 
Warner. He married (third) October 26, 
1876, Sarah Ann Kenyon, born August 2, 
1839, at Sterling, daughter of Hanson 
and Eliza (Cahoone) Kenyon. She had 
a brother, George P. Kenyon ; half- 
brothers, Gorton, Stephen, William and 
Charles Kenyon ; and half-sisters, Abbie, 
Mary Eliza, and Nancy Maria Kenyon. 
Children by first wife: 1. Clifford Allen, 
born September 15, 1858, at Scituate ; 
mason; residing at Monson; married, 
March 24, 1881, at East Providence, Jes- 
sica F. Bucklin, born July 11, 1859, 
daughter of James P. and Annie E. 
(French) Bucklin, of East Providence; 
children: Maud Caroline, born 1882, at 
Stafford Springs, valedictorian of her 
class at Monson Academy, now librarian 
of Monson Public Library ; Annie Buck- 
lin, born 1884, at Stafford Springs, mar- 
ried Herbert Bryce and has three chil- 
dren: Sara Louise, born 1886, at Brim- 
field, graduate of Mt. Holyoke College, 
school teacher in New Jersey; Alice 
King, born 1888, graduate of Monson 
Academy, teacher and dietitian ; Carl 
Louis, born 1890, graduate of .Monson 
Academy, manager of the Wool worth 
Store, Lebanon, New Hampshire; Mari- 
on Ethel, born 1898, graduate of Monson 
Academy, class of 1916. 2. Walter An- 

sley, mentioned below. Child by third 
wife: 3. Frederick A., born March 12, 
1879; painter by trade, now representing 

the Chautauqua Desk Company with 
headquarters at Springfield. 

(XI) Walter Ansley Sweet, son of 
Esek Johnson Sweet, was born at East 
Putnam, Connecticut, October 30, 1862. 
He received his early education in the 
public schools of Pascoag, North Foster 
and East Providence and in the private 
school of Miss Sally E. Ellery at Staf- 
ford Springs, Connecticut. He also at- 
tended the public schools at Stafford 
Springs. After the death of his mother, 
he lived for a number of years with his 
grandfather, and while at school he lived 
with an aunt. He began his career a£ 
clerk in a dry goods store in Stafford 
Springs. In his sixteenth and seven- 
teenth years he worked in a flock mill 
and in the satinet mill of the Mineral 
Springs Manufacturing Company. After- 
ward he was employed in the Warren 
Woolen Company mill at Stafford 
Springs, and later as clerk in a grocery 
store. When he was nineteen his aunt 
died and he went to Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, remaining for a short time. Since 
January, 1883, he has made his home in 
Worcester, Massachusetts. He was clerk 
for Charles F. Sampson, a boot and shoe 
dealer, located in the Clark Building, 
now occupied by the Boston Store. Mr. 
Sampson’s store was afterward on the 
site of the present Knowles Building. 
Subsequently Mr. Sweet held a similar 
position in the employ of Charles E. 
Davis & Company, whose store was in 
the Burnside Building, and of his part- 
ner, Ezra A. Day, who succeeded the 
firm of Charles E. Davis & Company. He 
continued in this business until February 
16, 1894, when he became a partner in 
the firm of Bickford & Sweet, slipper 
manufacturers. The business of the firm 
was located first in Washington square, 
then on Grafton street. Since 1912 the 
business has been located in the spacious 

Mass— 5 — 8 


factory built by David Cummings for a 
shoe factory at No. 60 King street. His 
partner, John Charles Bickford, retired in 
January, 1900, and his son, Ernest Ar- 
mand Bickford, took his place, the firm 
name remaining unchanged. The busi- 
ness has been highly prosperous and for 
a number of years the firm has been 
among the foremost manufacturers in its 
line of business, the largest producers of 
slipper soles of the kind they make in the 
country. In 1916 a large brick addition 
to the factory was erected. In April, 
1916, the firms of Bickford & Sweet and 
William H. Wiley & Sons Company, an- 
other large slipper sole and overgaiter 
concern of Hartford, joined forces, in- 
corporating under the name of The Wiley- 
Bickford-Sweet Company, having a capi- 
talization of $300,000, common, and $50.- 
000 preferred stock. Of this new com- 
pany, J. Allen Wiley, of Hartford, is 
president ; Ernest A. Bickford, vice-presi- 
dent; William H. Corbin, of Hartford, 
treasurer ; Mr. Sweet, assistant treasurer 
and clerk; these four being the directors. 
This combination is the largest in the 
country making this class of goods. Mr. 
Sweet is a member of the Worcester 
Chamber of Commerce, the Economic 
Club, the Credit Men’s Association, the 
Publicity Association, and is treasurer of 
the National Felt Shoe Manufacturers 
Association. He is also a member of 
Worcester Council, Royal Arcanum. He 
has recently built a new residence at No 
23 South Lenox street. 

Mr. Sweet married (first) May 22, 1884, 
Annie E. Sprout, daughter of Bradford 
E. and Lucia (Train) Sprout. She died 
December 22, 1886. He married (second) 
April 27, 1892, Lizzie Elnora Batchellor, 
daughter of Silas H. and Sarah Field 
(Holman) Batchellor. Her father has 
been a building contractor in Worcester 
for more than fifty years, and her mother 
is one of the most wonderful planners 

and workers. Child of first marriage: 
Robert Bradford, born March 13, 1885, 
died May 10, 1885. Children of second 
marriage : Ruth Page, born April 20, 

1894, graduate of the South High School 
and student for two years at Mt. Holyoke 
College, from which she graduated A. B., 
1916; Clifford Batchellor, born June 27, 
1898, student in Mercersburg Academy, 
Pennsylvania, class of 1919. 



On the roll of eminent women physi- 
cians in Massachusetts appears the name 
of Dr. A. A. Starbuck, of Springfield, 
who holds a leading place in the ranks 
of the fraternity. She is scrupulously 
correct and conscientious in the discharge 
of all obligations, her excellent qualities 
being appreciated by those who come in 
close association with her. She is a 
woman of great kindness of heart, using 
her profession to alleviate the sufferings 
of mankind, giving her services cheer- 
fully in the interest of the poor and af- 
flicted, and being possessed of great 
strength of character and a strong per- 
sonality, has a wide circle of friends. 

Dr. Starbuck was born in Riverside, 
Massachusetts, November 3, 1878, daugh- 
ter of George and Elizabeth J. (Holmes) 
Starbuck. On the paternal side she is a 
direct descendant of Christian Coffin and 
Edward Starbuck, who purchased and 
settled Nantucket. Massachusetts. On 
the maternal side she numbers among her 
ancestors Richard Mower, a native of 
England, who came to New England in 
the ship “Blessing” in 1635 and settled in 
Lynn, Massachusetts ; Thomas Jewell, 
born in England in 1600, who was 
granted, in 1639, one hundred and twenty 
acres at Mount Miller, now Braintree, 
Massachusetts; and Nathaniel Holmes, 
who settled in Londonderry, New Hamp- 



shire. From this ancestry Dr. Starbuck 
has inherited many noble traits of char- 
acter which have eminently qualified her 
for her chosen life work, and which have 
also gained for her a reputation of which 
any woman might well be proud. 

Dr. Starbuck acquired her preliminary 
education by attendance at the public 
school of Turner’s Falls, Massachusetts, 
later was a special student at Tufts Col- 
lege, Medford, Massachusetts, during the 
years 1897-98, then matriculated at Bos- 
ton University, from which institution of 
learning she received the degree of Bache- 
lor of Arts in 1902, and that of Doctor of 
Medicine in 1906, and during her colle- 
giate course held membership in Phi 
Kappa and Kappa Gamma fraternities, 
and was senior librarian proctor. During 
the years 1906-07 she served an intern- 
ship at the Massachusetts Homeopathic 
Hospital, thus supplementing the knowl- 
edge heretofore gained by practical ex- 
perience, and this thoroughly prepared 
her for an active and successful career. 
She located for practice in the city of 
Springfield, her patronage increasing 
steadily year by year, the result of her 
thorough, exhaustive and accurate knowl- 
edge of her profession. She is familiar 
not only with the principles of medical 
science but she is also most accurate in 
her diagnosis of diseases, and in the ap- 
plication for her scientific knowledge of 
the needs of the physical system. She 
has also served in the capacity of super- 
intendent of Wesson Memorial Hospital, 
her tenure of office extending over the 
years 1908-09, the duties of the institution 
being performed in a highly commend- 
able manner, meriting the approbation of 
all concerned. Dr. Starbuck has always 
been an earnest student, and despite the 
demands made upon her time by her 
various responsibilities has found time 
to read and study sufficiently to keep 
abreast of the times in the theories and 

practice of medicine and surgery. She 
holds membership in the Massachusetts 
Homeopathic Medical Society, Western 
Massachusetts Homeopathic Medical So- 
ciety, Massachusetts Surgical and Gyne- 
cological Society, Springfield Academy of 
Medicine, Tuberculosis Society of Spring- 
field, and Springfield College Club, in all 
of which she takes a keen and active in- 
terest, and is also a member of the Daugh- 
ters of the American Revolution and 
Adelphi Chapter, Order of the Eastern 
Star. She is a Unitarian in religion. 

Aside from the high reputation which 
Dr. Starbuck enjoys as the result of her 
efficiency in her particular line of work, 
she is one of the most prominent, re- 
spected and useful members of the com- 
munity in which she resides. She has 
long been actively identified with religi- 
ous and charitable work, and is known 
as a woman of warm sympathies and as 
an earnest supporter of every enterprise 
that tends to promote the general wel- 

HILDRETH, Charles Elbridge, 


Sergeant Richard Hildreth, the immi- 
grant ancestor, was born in the north 
part of England in 1615, died in 1688. 
He settled first in Cambridge, Massachu- 
setts, and was admitted a freeman, May 
10, 1643. He removed to Woburn, an 
adjacent town, and was later one of the 
grantees of Chelmsford, Massachusetts. 
By 1663 he had had no less than eight 
grants of land, amounting altogether to 
one hundred and five acres. The “His- 
tory of Westford” says: 

The Hildreth homestead was about midway 
between the centre and south villages of 
Chelmsford. This family also spread into West- 
ford. A tract of land containing about 500 
acres on the east side of the town came into 
their possession. It is not easy to give the 


exact boundaries. It included the houses with 
land attached of Augustus Bunce, George Por- 
ter Wright, the Drew Brothers (Thomas and 
George), Isaac G. Minot and Julian Hildreth. 
Providence Meadow was its northwest limit 
and the house of Edward Symmes stands not 
far from the east border. The Hildreths also 
took up two or three farms south and east of 
Tadmuck Hill or that spur of it known as 
Prospect Hill. Four or five houses there were 
at one time known as “Hildreth Row.” Rich- 
ard Hildreth had a special grant of 150 acres of 
land from the General Court in 1663 on account 
of having lost the use of his right hand, pre- 
sumably in the service. He was accused in 
1670 by Rev. John Fiske, of Chelmsford, of 
having used “reproachful speech concerning the 
church” and was disciplined by the church. 
Previously he had been charged by Deacon 
Esdras Reade in 1656 and 1661 with the use of 
similar “seditious language” and was ordered 
to appear before the church authorities, but he 
refused to obey the order. His will was dated 
February 9, 1686, and proved some time after 
his death in 1688. He left land in Chelmsford 
to his son Ephraim, who was then living in 
Stow, including the homestead and seven acres 
north of Great Pond, eighteen acres south and 
seventeen acres east of it. 

He married (first) Sarah , who 

died in 1644; (second) Elizabeth , 

who died at Malden, August 3, 1693, aged 
sixty-eight years. Children by first wife : 
James, born at Woburn, 1631 ; Ephraim. 
Children by second wife, born at Wo- 
burn: Elizabeth, September 21, 1646; 

Sarah, August 8, 1648. Born at Chelms- 
ford: Joseph, April 16, 1658; Persis, Feb- 
ruary 8, 1660; Thomas, February 1, 1662; 
Isaac, mentioned below; Abigail, married 
Moses Parker. 

(II) Isaac Hildreth, son of Richard 
and Elizabeth Hildreth, was born in July, 
1663, at Chelmsford. He was living in 
Woburn in 1695 and it is believed that he 
removed to Stow. He married Elizabeth 
. Children born at Woburn: Per- 
sis, November 25, 1691 ; Joanna, Novem- 
ber 16, 1695 ; also Isaac, mentioned be- 
low, and probably other children. 

(III) Isaac (2) Hildreth, son of Isaac 

(1) and Elizabeth Hildreth, was born in 
1700 or there abouts, in Stow or vicinity, 
and was among the early settlers of the 
town of Petersham, Worcester county, 
Massachusetts. His son Isaac succeeded 
to his homestead. The earliest authentic 
list of the proprietors of Petersham contains 
the name of Isaac Hildreth (spelled Hill- 
drake). Isaac Plildreth deeded to his son 
Isaac, Jr., land-in Petersham, November 28, 
1753. Children: Isaac, born about 1725, 
lived and died in Petersham ; Samuel, 
mentioned below ; John, lived at Peter- 
sham, married Elizabeth Farr, of Ches- 
terfield, New Hampshire; Elizabeth, mar- 
ried, November 4, 1762, Jonas Davis, of 
Chesterfield; Jonathan, settled in West- 
moreland, New Hampshire, as early as 
1751, coming from Petersham, moved to 
Chesterfield about 1763; Edward, settled 
in Chesterfield, married Sarah Whitney ; 
William, settled in Chesterfield. 

(IV) Samuel Hildreth, son of Isaac 

(2) Hildreth, was born in 1735, in Stow 
or vicinity. He settled in Chesterfield 
before 1767 on the farm now or lately 
owned by Hermon C. Harvey, formerly 
by Marshall H. Day. Samuel Hildreth, 
was selectman of Chesterfield in 1776-78. 
He served in the Revolution in Captain 
Isaac Baldwin’s company, Colonel John 
Stark's regiment as shown by a pay roll 
dated August 1, 1775. (New Hampshire 
State Papers, Revolutionary Rolls, I, p. 
51.) He signed the Association Test and 
certified to the list as selectman, June 12, 
1776. (New Hampshire State Papers 
XXX, pp. 31-33.) He died in 1812 in his 
seventy-seventh year. He married (first) 
in 1759, Hannah Farr, who died at Ches- 
terfield, in December, 1785, aged forty- 
five years. The Farr or Farrar family 
came from Stow to Petersham with the 
early settlers. Hannah (Farr) Hildreth 
died before 1787, as shown by the fact 
that she did not sign the following de- 
scribed deed, but her interests were rep- 



resented by her husband. Samuel Hil- 
dreth, Daniel Farr, Edward Hildreth, 2d, 
and Sarah his wife, Mary Farr, all of 
Chesterfield, New Hampshire, and Pa- 
tience Farr, of Boylston, Massachusetts, 
quitclaimed to Samuel Farr, of Boylston, 
all their rights as heirs-at-law of their 
father “Daniel Farr.” whose homestead is 
described as in the "north part of Shrews- 
bury, now Boylston,” the deed being 
dated April 26, 1787, and witnessed by 
Jonathan Hildreth and Samuel Hildreth, 
Jr., at Chesterfield and recorded at Wor- 
cester. Children: Leah, born October 4, 
1760; Samuel, October 25, 1762; Daniel, 
May 18, 1765, died 1871 ; Isaac, men- 
tioned below; Hannah, October 29, 1769; 
Susanna, October 2, 1771, died 1774; Joel, 
December 28, 1772, married Anna Bow- 
ker; Susanna, July 8, 1776; Elijah, July 
7, 1779; Daniel, September 30, 1781, mar- 
ried Susanna Fairbanks; Persis, July 8, 
1782, married John Rugg. 

(V) Isaac (3) Hildreth, son of Samuel 
and Hannah (Farr) Hildreth, was born 
at Chesterfield, New Hampshire, Septem- 
ber 19, 1767, and died there. May 14, 1812. 
He married, in 1790, Hannah Farr, daugh- 
ter of Abraham Farr. Children: Elsie; 
Samuel; Royal, mentioned below; Phi- 
linda ; Hannah, married Alpheus Stew- 
art, of Brattleboro, Vermont. 

(VI) Royal Hildreth, son of Isaac (3) 
and Hannah (Farr) Hildreth, was born 
at Chesterfield, in 1801, and died in 1834, 
aged thirty-three years. He removed to 
Brattleboro, Vermont, but returned in 
1831 to Chesterfield. He married Adaline 
Gerry, who was of the same family as 
Elbridge Gerry, signer of the Declaration 
of Independence, Governor of Massachu- 
setts, and Vice-President of the United 
States. She married (second) Jonathan 
Sawyer, and moved with her husband 
and children to Worcester. Children of 
Royal Hildreth: George G., an under- 
taker in Worcester; Samuel Elbridge, 

mentioned below; Bradley G., deceased, 
resided in Philadelphia; Isaac, lived in 

(VII) Hon. Samuel Elbridge Hildreth, 
son of Royal and Adaline (Gerry) Hil- 
dreth, was born at Brattleboro, Vermont, 
December 8, 1829. After the death of his 
father when he was but five years old, he 
went to live with an aunt in Connecticut, 
remaining there until he was sixteen and 
attending the public schools. He then 
came to Worcester and went to work in 
a printing office. After six months, how- 
ever, he entered the employ of Alexander 
and Sewall Thayer in the old Court Mills 
and learned the trade of machinist. After- 
ward he worked for Samuel Flagg until 
1854, when the Merrifield building in 
which the shop was located was de- 
stroyed by fire. Then came a period of 
nearly twenty years in the employ of the 
late L. W. Pond. In this business, which 
grew to be one of the largest in the coun- 
try in its own field, Mr. Hildreth was an 
important factor. His mechanical ability 
was constantly in evidence in improve- 
ments in the machinery manufactured. 
He secured various patents on drills and 
planers. He rose to positions of greater 
responsibility from time to time, becom- 
ing a foreman and eventually superin- 
tendent. In May, 1873, he engaged in 
business on his own account, buying a 
third interest in the business of P. Blais- 
dell & Company, and in this firm he con- 
tinued active to the end of his life. The 
company manufactured machine tools in 
large variety and took rank among the 
foremost in that line of business. At the 
time of his death his partners were John 
P. Jones and Enoch Earle. 

Mr. Hildreth was not only a leader in 
the industrial life of the city, but one of 
the most prominent men in public life. 
In 1866 he began his service in the city 
government as common councilman from 
Ward Three. During the following years 

11 7 


he was a member of the Board of Aider- 
men. In 1872 he represented the city in 
the General Court. He was an active and 
consistent Republican in politics and as 
candidate of his party was elected in 1882 
mayor of the city. In his administration 
he manifested the same practical sense 
which had characterized the conduct of 
his own business and retired from the 
office with an enviable record. During 
his administration the Millbury street 
school house was built at a cost of $31,- 
503, and the Winslow street school en- 
larged at a cost of $16,413. Tatnuck 
brook was taken for an additional water 
supply and the work completed at a cost 
of $223,574, making the total cost of the 
water system to that date, $1,603,988. 
The Pine Meadow sewer was completed 
at a cost of $15,000. The city purchased 
the first steam roller for use in the high- 
way department. Electric lights were 
first used in the streets. Police station 
No. 2 was established in the “Island” dis- 

Mr. Hildreth was elected to the school 
committee from Ward Seven in 1887 and 
continued to hold this office until he died. 
His devotion and efficient service in this 
office were exemplary. To the subject of 
manual training he devoted himself with 
characteristic energy and marked suc- 
cess. He was a member of the Worces- 
ter County Mechanics’ Association and 
in 1885-86 its president; of the Worcester 
Society of Antiquity; the Brigade Club 
and of the Order of United American 
Workmen. He was a member of the 
local lodge, Knights of Pythias, and had 
taken thirty-two degrees in the Scottish 
Rite Masonry, being a member of the 
blue lodge, chapter, council and com- 
mandery in Worcester and various other 
Masonic bodies in Boston. He was a 
member of Piedmont Congregational 
Church. He died, after a short illness, 
June 25, 1893. 

The following paragraph is from the 
tribute to his memory by his former pas- 

He had an instinct for work. He had untir- 
ing patience. His broad shoulders in his days 
of health invited responsibility. He loved his 
city; he loved his country; he loved his fellow- 
men, and as opportunity offered, private or pub- 
lic, his highest ambition was to serve them in 
all that was noblest and best. He made for 
himself a clean record. 

He married, in 1852, Matilda Coleman 
Howe, daughter of William B. Howe. Of 
three children, but one, Charles Elbridge, 
mentioned below, survived infancy. 

(VIII) Charles Elbridge Hildreth, son 
of Samuel Elbridge and Matilda Coleman 
(Howe) Hildreth, was born at Worces- 
ter, Massachusetts, October 19, 1866. He 
attended the Woodland street public 
school and graduated from the Classical 
High School in 1888, president of his 
class. He was president of the Sumner 
Club, the high school debating society, 
for two years. He entered Amherst Col- 
lege, from which he was graduated in the 
class of 1892. While in college he sang 
in the Glee Club and in the quartette 
in the college choir. He was a member 
of the Alpha Delta Phi fraternity. In his 
senior year he was manager of the “Am- 
herst Student.” He won the Kellogg 
prize in the declamation contest in his 
sophomore year and the second prize in 
the Hyde contest in oratory in his senior 
year. At commencement he was chair- 
man of the committee on committees 
After graduation he learned the trade of 
machinist in the shops of his father’s 
firm. P. Blaisdell & Company. He studied 
drafting for six months under the in- 
struction of A. M. Powell of the Wood- 
ward-Powell Planer Company. He suc- 
ceeded to the interests of his father in the 
firm. In 1905 he bought the shares of 
his partners and consolidated the busi- 


ness with that of the Whitcomb Manu- 
facturing Company and the Whitcomb 
Foundry Company. In October of the 
same year the Draper Machine Tool 
Company was also absorbed. The new 
corporation was called the Whitcomb- 
Blaisdell Machine Tool Company. A. 
W. Whitcomb is president; Mr. Hil- 
dreth is vice-president and treasurer. In 
October, 1913, he purchased the interest 
of Mr. Whitcomb and became president 
and general manager. The capitalization 
is $350,000. Ernest T. Clary, secretary 
of the Worcester Trust Company, is clerk 
of the company, and a director. The 
company employs five hundred hands and 
and rank among the leading manufac- 
turers of lathes and planers in this coun- 

Air. Hildreth was president of the 
Worcester High School Alumni Associa- 
tion after leaving college. He was secre- 
tary and later president of the Worcester 
Metal Trades Association. He was for- 
merly a member of the National Council 
of the National Metal Trades Associa- 
tion. He is the general manager of the 
National Machine Tool Builders’ Asso- 
ciation, a director of the Worcester Elec- 
tric Light Company, a member of the 
Worcester Mechanics’ Association, and 
of the Chamber of Commerce, serving on 
the board of directors, and was formerly 
a director of the Board of Trade and of 
the Y^oung Men’s Christian Association. 
He is a member of the Worcester Coun- 
try Club; the Worcester Automobile 
Club, of which he was the president ; the 
Worcester Golf Club, of which he was 
the president for five years ; Quinsiga- 
mond Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; 
Eureka Chapter. Royal Arch Masons ; 
and Worcester County Commandery. 
Knights Templar. He served three years, 
1892-96, in the State militia, the Worces- 
ter Light Infantry. He was formerly a 
member of the quartettes of the choirs 

of Grace Methodist Church and Pilgrim 
Congregational Church. He was for a 
number of years superintendent of the 
Sunday school of Piedmont Congrega- 
tional Church and is now an assistant 
superintendent. For two years, 1913-15, 
he was president of the Men’s Club of 
Piedmont Church. In politics he is a 
Republican and has served his party in 
the city committee and as delegate to 
many State and other nominating con- 

He married, September 19, 1894, Sarah 
Eugenia Hill, born December 23, 1868, 
daughter of William Benjamin and Sarah 
Elizabeth (Carlisle) Hill, of Boston. Her 
father was treasurer of the National 
Manufacturing Company of Worcester. 
Children: Dorothy, born October 3, 1895, 
student in Bradford Academy, class of 
1917; Carlisle Elbridge, born December 
12, 1896, student in South High School, 
class of 1915 ; Helen Hill, born Febru- 
ary 28, 1903; Samuel Gurdon, born July 
30, 1907. 

NEWTON, Albert Emerson, 

Leading Manufacturer. 

Richard Newton, the pioneer ancestor 
of the Newton family of Massachusetts, 
was born in England about 1601. He was 
one of the first settlers of the town of 
Sudbury and one of its proprietors in 
1639. He was admitted a freeman in 
May, 1645. He was also one of the found- 
ers of Marlborough, which was granted 
to Sudbury proprietors, and he moved 
thither in 1656, locating in the southern 
part of the town, afterward set off as the 
town of Southborough. The Newton 
family from the first has been perhaps 
the most prominent and certainly one of 
the most numerous in the town of South- 
borough. He married Anne (sometimes 
called Hannah) Loker, daughter of Rob- 
ert and Elizabeth Loker, pioneers in Sud- 


bury. She died at Marlborough, Decem- 
ber 5, 1697. He died August 24, 1701, 
said to have been about one hundred 
years old. His will is published in full 
in a genealogy of one line of his descend- 
ants by Rev. William M. Newton (1912, 
50 pages). He was an active and useful 
citizen in town and church. One of the 
petitioners for the church at Marlborough 
and a charter member. Children, born at 
Sudbury: John, born October 20, 1641; 
Mary, June 22, 1644; Moses, mentioned 
below; Ezekiel; Joseph, 1650; Hannah, 
April 13, 1654, died March 13, 1697; Dan- 
iel, December 21, 1656. At Marlborough: 
Elizabeth, 1658, married Jacob Dingley; 

Sarah, married Taylor ; Isaac, died 

June 12, 1685. 

(II) Moses Newton, son of Richard 
Newton, was born May 26, 1646, at Sud- 
bury, and died at Marlborough, May 23, 
1736. During an Indian attack one Sun- 
day, it is related in Hudson’s “History 
of Marlborough,” at the time of King 
Philip’s war, while the people were in 
church, he was wounded by a shot in the 
elbow while rescuing an aged and infirm 
woman who would otherwise have been a 
victim of the savages. He never wholly 
recovered the use of his arm. He mar- 
ried (first) October 27, 1667, Joanna La- 
kin (sometimes spelled Larkin), daugh- 
ter of Edward and Joanna Lakin, pioneers 
of Charlestown, Massachusetts. He mar- 
ried (second) April 14, 1714, Sarah Jos- 
lin. She died November 4, 1723, aged 
sixty-three years. Children, born at Marl- 
borough by first wife : Moses, mentioned 
below; David, born 1672, died April 4, 
1702; Hannah, born December 20, 1673; 
Edward, March 23, 1676; Jonathan, Sep- 
tember 30, 1679; Jacob, January 24, 1681 ; 
James, January 15, 1683; Mercy, Febru- 
ary 16, 1685; Josiah, November 19, 1688; 
Andrew, died 1691 ; Ebenezer, July 26, 

(III) Moses (2) Newton, son of Moses 
(1) Newton, was born at Marlborough, 
February 28, 1669. He lived in Marl- 
borough and married there, December 11, 
1695, Sarah Howe, born January 28, 1675, 
daughter of Isaac Howe and granddaugh- 
ter of John Howe, one of the prominent 
pioneers of Marlborough. Children, born 
at Marlborough : Isaac, born August 24, 
169 — ; Beulah, February 22, 1697; Moses, 
January 8, 1700; Elisha, mentioned be- 
low; Sarah, October 27, 1703, died June 
14, 1713; Margaret, October 29, 1705; 
Aaron, September 7, 1707; Thankful, Oc- 
tober 31, 1709; Tabitha, August 9, 1711 ; 

Amos, April 16, 1714; Comfort, 12, 

1717; Ezekiel, May 13, 1719. 

(IV) Elisha Newton, son of Moses (2) 
Newton, was born at Marlborough, Oc- 
tober 28, 1701, and died intestate at 
Shrewsbury. He married, December 26, 
1728, Sarah Tomlin, of Westborough. 
She was then of Shrewsbury and he lived 
there the remainder of his life. Both he 
and his wife lived to the age of ninety 
years. Children, born at Shrewsbury : 
Elisha, born February 7, 1730; Ezekiel, 
May 9, 1733; Sarah, August 25, 1734; 
Mercy, November 6, 1735 ; Timothy, May 
17, 1737; Ithamar, April 14, 1739, died in 
Cape Breton expedition, August 22, 1758; 
Solomon, mentioned below ; Charles, Au- 
gust 28, 1742; Sarah, May 7, 1744; Persis, 
July 5, 1746, died 1 75 1 ; Mary, September 

24, 1747; Moses, March 8, 1751. 

(V) Solomon Newton, son of Elisha 
Newton, was born at Shrewsbury, June 

25, 1741, and died there May 28, 1822. He 

was a soldier in the Revolution in Cap- 
tain John Maynard’s company, Colonel 
Jacob Cushing’s regiment on the Ben- 
nington Alarm in 1777. (Roll dated at 
Shrewsbury; see page 406, volume xi, 
Massachusetts Soldiers and Sailors in 
the Revolution). He married (first) at 
Shrewsbury, May 18, 1 762, Hannah, 



daughter of Daniel Hastings. She was 
admitted to the church in Shrewsbury in 
1780, and died there November 9, 1781. 
He married (second) at Worcester, Lydia 
Heminway, widow of Adam Heminway, 
of Shrewsbury and Worcester. She died 
at Shrewsbury, March 3, 1826, aged 

seventy-nine years. Children, born at 
Shrewsbury by, first wife: Lydia, born 
August 5, 1765 ; Solomon, March 12, 1768, 
died young; Daniel, April 13, 1776; Sarah, 
twin of Daniel, married Luther Gould- 
ing, of Worcester ; Abigail, October 5, 
1779, married Rufus Newell. By second 
wife: Solomon, August 2, 1783; Calvin, 
mentioned below; Damaris, twin of Cal- 
vin, August 14, 1792. 

(VI) Calvin Newton, son of Solomon 
Newton, was born at Shrewsbury, Au- 
gust 14, 1792. He married there, March 
24, 1812, Martha Rice, daughter of Cap- 
tain John and Elizabeth (Wheelock) Rice. 
Her father was born October 9, 1771, 
at Shrewsbury, married, November 16, 
1790, Elizabeth, daughter of Gershom 
Wheelock, granddaughter of Captain 
Gershom Wheelock, and great-grand- 
daughter of Samuel Wheelock, of an old 
Shrewsbury family. John Rice, father of 
Captain John Rice, was born September 
22, 1736, married Rebecca, daughter of 
Timothy Fay, of another old family of 
Southborough and Marlborough. John 
Rice was a soldier in the Revolution on 
the Lexington Alarm (page 161, volume 
xiii, Massachusetts Soldiers and Sailors 
in the Revolution). He was son of Jacob 
Rice, born 1707, in Marlborough, grand- 
son of Jacob Rice, who was a son of 
Deacon Edward Rice, son of the immi- 
grant, Edmund Rice. Children of Calvin 
and Martha (Rice) Newton, born at 
Shrewsbury: William Bucklin, born De- 
cember 26. 1812; Joseph, December 2, 
1816; Martha, November 27, 1818; Abi- 
gail, February 8, 1820; John Calvin, Jan- 

uary 13, 1823; Susan, January 31, 1825; 
Charles Henry, September 13, 1827; 

George Albert, mentioned below. 

(VII) George Albert Newton, son of 
Calvin Newton, was born at Shrewsbury, 
January 8, 1833, and died in Shrewsbury. 
He was a farmer in his native town. He 
married Sarah Jane Mahan, who was 
born at Shrewsbury, September 10, 1836, 
daughter of Solomon and Mary (Brig- 
ham) Mahan. Her father was born at 
Northborough, July 16, 1792, died at 
Shrewsbury, December 28, 1873, son of 
David Mahan. Children of Solomon and 
Mary ( Brigham )Mahan : Mary Ann Ma- 
han, born and died in 1823 ; George Henry 
Mahan, born December 19, 1824, died at 
Shrewsbury, March 14, 1903; Mary Ann 
Mahan, July 22, 1826, married, May 1, 
1841, William H. Perry; Harriet Eliza- 
beth Mahan, May 1, 1830, married Jonas 
Cummings; John Davis Mahan, Febru- 
ary 8, 1835, married Elizabeth J. Orne ; 
Sarah Jane Mahan, September 10, 1836, 
married George Albert Newton, men- 
tioned above ; Caroline Sophia Mahan, 
July 18. 1844, died at Worcester in 1908, 
married Abel O. Perry. David Mahan 
was born at Worcester, April 2, 1769. died 
May 19, 1837; married (first) March 15, 
1788, Mary Bigsby, who died March 21, 
1818; (second) December 30, 1818, Sally 
Babcock. Children of David Mahan by 
first wife: James Mahan, born May 25, 
1789; Solomon Mahan, July 16, 1792, 
mentioned above ; John Adams Mahan, 
December 2, 1797; David Mahan, April 2, 
1S00; Isaac Mahan, March 5, 1802; Abra- 
ham Mahan, July 15, 1804; Stephen Ball 
Mahan, February 24, 1807; Mary Mahan, 
January 22, 1813; Benjamin Franklin 

Mahan. By second wife: Thomas Dana 
Mahan, May 10, 1820. John Mahan, 
father of David Mahan, came to Worces- 
ter with William Mahan before 1757. Wil- 
liam Mahan died in 1763, John Mahan in 



1774. Children of John and Mary Ma- 
han : Mary Mahan, born November 3, 
1757; John Mahan, July 16, 1759; Samuel, 
June 23, 1761; William, April 10, 1766; 
David, April 2, 1769, mentioned above. 
Mary (Brigham) Mahan was a daughter 
of Dr. Sam.uel Brigham, who was a de- 
scendant of the immigrant, Thomas Brig- 
ham. (Dr. Samuel, Dr. Samuel and Ann 
(Gott) Brigham, Captain Samuel and 
Abigail (Moore) Brigham, Captain Sam- 
uel and Elizabeth (Howe) Brigham, 
Thomas Brigham). Her father was a 
paymaster in the Revolution. Child of 
George Albert Newton: George Emer- 
son, mentioned below. 

(VIII) George Emerson Newton, son 
of George Albert Newton, was born at 
Shrewsbury, September 23, 1857. He re- 
ceived his education in the public schools 
of his native town and graduated from 
the high school there. During his youth 
he assisted his father on the farm. At the 
age of twenty he engaged in business on 
his own account as a baker in Worcester. 
After a year or more he removed his 
bakery to Cambridgeport, Massachusetts, 
and there he continued in business until 
his untimely death at the age of twenty- 
three years, January 23, 1881. He mar- 
ried, July 23, 1877, Emma J. Cole, who 
was born at Lowell, January 10, 1855, 
daughter of Samuel G. Cole. Their only 
child was Albert Emerson, mentioned be- 

(IX) Albert Emerson Newton, son of 
George Emerson Newton, was born at 
Worcester, May 14, 1878. After the death 
of his father, when he was an infant, his 
mother removed to Lynn, Massachusetts, 
where he attended the public schools. 
After two years in the Lynn High School, 
he entered the employ of the General 
Electric Company at Lynn. During his 
seventeenth and eighteenth years he fol- 
lowed farming at Shrewsbury and Green- 

field, New Hampshire. In November, 
1897, he came to Worcester and for six 
months was an apprentice in the shops 
of Prentice Brothers Company, Cam- 
bridge street. He left to go to the front 
in the Spanish War, as a private in the 
Wellington Rifles, Company H, Second 
Massachusetts Regiment. With that com- 
mand he went to Cuba and took part in 
the battles at Santiago, El Caney and San 
Juan, and during this time was promoted 
to corporal. In November, 1898, he was 
mustered out and returned to his former 
employers. In the draughting room, 
where he was given employment at that 
time, he made rapid progress and in 1900 
became head draughtsman. In this im- 
portant department of the industry, where 
the designs for the machinery are per- 
fected, he developed inventive ability of 
great value to the company and within 
five years had some twenty-five patents 
granted, all designs and devices to im- 
prove lathes and drilling machines that 
were the main product of the concern. 
In 1905 he was promoted to the position 
of assistant manager, and had general 
charge not only of the manufacturing, but 
of the sales and operation of the business. 

In April, 1912, Mr. Newton became 
general manager and a director of the 
Reed-Prentice Company, a new corpora- 
tion in which was consolidated various 
important concerns in the machine tool 
business in Worcester, including the 
Prentice Brothers Company, the F. E. 
Reed Company, the Reed Foundry Com- 
pany and the Reed & Curtis Machine 
Screw Company. Six months later he 
was elected vice-president of the Reed- 
Prentice Company. The capitalization of 
the corporation is $2,000,000. In the vari- 
ous plants and departments of the busi- 
ness one thousand five hundred men are 
regularly employed. The lathes, metal 
turning and drilling machinery manu- 




factured by the Reed-Prentice Company 
are in universal use and stand second to 
none in quality. Under the management 
of Mr. Newton since the consolidation 
the business has prospered and the out- 
put during much of the time has been 
limited only by the capacity of the plant. 
The Reed-Prentice Company takes rank 
among the largest industrial enterprises 
of a city that has developed many of the 
greatest in various lines, and its owners 
and managers have contributed materi- 
ally to the development and grow'th of 
the city. To the upbuilding and success- 
ful conduct of the business of Prentice 
Brothers Company and subsequently that 
of the Reed-Prentice Company, Mr. New- 
ton has devoted himself with singleness 
of purpose that has prevented outside ac- 
tivities. His career affords another il- 
lustration of the wonderful opportunities 
of the present for the youth of ability. 
In his case even his technical education 
was self-acquired. 

In January, 1916, the Reed-Prentice 
Company acquired the Brown Cotton Gin 
Company of New London, Connecticut, 
manufacturers of cotton gins and print- 
ing presses. Mr. Newton is also vice- 
president of the Brownell Machine Com- 
pany of Providence, Rhode Island, a sell- 
ing corporation. In addition to the above 
he has since October. 1910, been treas- 
urer of the National Machine Tool 
Builders’ Association. He is a member 
of the Worcester Chamber of Commerce, 
the Metal Trades Association and the 
Worcester County Mechanics’ Associa- 
tion, also of Monticute Lodge of Free 
Masons, and a life member of the Wor- 
cester Country Club, also the Worcester 
Automobile Club. In politics he is a Re- 
publican. He attends the First Univer- 
salist Church. 

Mr. Newton married (first) November 
21, 1902, Alice Maude Muzzey, who died 
July 25, 1906, daughter of Eugene and 

Eva L. Muzzey, of Greenfield, New 
Hampshire. He married (second) Sep- 
tember 15, 1907, Minnie Ethel Bradley, 
daughter of Martin and Annie L. Brad- 
ley, of Worcester. By his first wife he 
has one daughter, Dorothea Alice, born 
January 5, 1904. 

RICHARDSON, Albert Frederick, 

Prison Reformer. 

The pioneer ancestors of the Richard- 
son families of New England were three 
brothers, Ezekiel, Samuel and Thomas 
Richardson, who were born in England, 
and with Edward Converse, Edward 
Johnson, John Mousall, William Learned 
and a few others were the founders and 
original settlers of the town of Woburn, 
Massachusetts. They were also the orig- 
inal members of the Woburn church, 
established there in 1641. The men men- 
tioned above were the commissioners 
chosen by the church of Charlestown, 
November 5, 1640, to commence the set- 
tlement at Woburn. Ezekiel Richardson 
came from England in the Winthrop fleet 
in 1630 and was at Charlestown about 
July 6 of that year. His home in England 
was in County Norfolk, where the Rich- 
ardsons had been prominent and numer- 
ous for more than a century. The family 
was also seated in Sussex, Surrey and 
several other English counties. Thomas 
and Samuel Richardson, the younger 
brothers of Ezekiel Richardson, came to- 
gether about 1635. Thomas Richardson 
joined the church in 1635, and was ad- 
mitted a freeman, May 2, 1638. The 
homes of the Richardson brothers in Wo- 
burn were in what is now Malden on the 
“Mystic Side.” 

(I) Samuel Richardson was born about 
1610 in England. He was in Charles- 
town, July 1, 1636, joined the church 
there February 18, 1638, and was admit- 
ted a freeman at the same time as his 

I2 3 


brother, May 2, 1638. He was highway 
surveyor of Charlestown in 1636-37. The 
three brothers drew lots on the Mystic 
side of the river, April 20, 1638, and their 
houses were built in what is now Malden 
on a street laid out in 1647 an d still 
known as Richardson’s Row, now in the 
southwest part of the present town of 
Winchester. Samuel Richardson was 
selectman of Woburn in 1644, 1645, 1646, 
1650, 1651, and in 1645 he was the largest 
taxpayer. His wife Joanna joined the 
Charlestown church in 1639. He died 
intestate, March 23, 1658. The will of his 
widow, Joanna, was dated June 20, 1666, 
and proved in 1677. Children, the first 
two born in Charlestown, the others in 
Woburn: Mary, baptized February 25, 
1^637-38 ; John, baptized November 12, 
1639; Hannah, March 8, 1641-42, died 
young; Joseph, July 27, 1643; Samuel, 
May 22, 1646; Stephen, mentioned be- 
low; Thomas, December 31, 1651; Eliza- 

(II) Stephen Richardson, son of Sam- 
uel Richardson, was born in Woburn, Au- 
gust 15, 1649. He resided in Woburn, 
owning land also in what is now Billerica. 
He was admitted a freeman in 1690. He 
died March 22, 1717-18, and his will was 
dated August 15, 1713, proved April 22, 
1718. His widow Abigail died September 
17, 1720. He married, January 2, 1674-75, 
in Billerica, Abigail Wyman, born 1659, 
daughter of Francis and Abigail (Read) 
Wyman, of Woburn. Her father, and his 
brother, Lieutenant John Wyman, were 
among the first settlers of Woburn, tan- 
ners by trade and leading citizens for 
many years. Francis Wyman was select- 
man of Woburn in 1674-75 ; he died No- 
vember 30, 1699, aged eighty-two years. 
Children of Stephen Richardson : Ste- 

phen, born February 20, 1675-76; Fran- 
cis, January 19, 1677-78; William, De- 
cember 14, 1678; Francis, January 15, 

1680-81 ; Timothy, December 6, 1682 ; 
Abigail, November 14, 1683; Prudence, 
January 17, 1685-86; Timothy, January 
24, 1687-88; Seth, mentioned below; Dan- 
iel, October 16, 1691 ; Mary, May 3, 1696; 
Rebecca, June 10, 1698; Solomon, March 
27, 1702. 

(III) Seth Richardson, son of Stephen 
Richardson, was born in Woburn, Janu- 
ary 16, 1689-90. He was taxed in Med- 
ford in 1 7 1 1 , but in the same year had 
settled in Attleborough, Massachusetts, 
with his brother Francis and others of his 
kind. He married Mary Brown. Chil- 
dren, all born at Attleborough except the 
eldest: Stephen, born at Woburn, died 
December 29, 1714; Seth, born March 13, 
1711; Mary, October 6, 1715; Abigail, 
March 24, 1717-18; Sarah, September 10, 
1720; Seth, mentioned below; Phebe, Oc- 
tober 17, 1725. 

(IV) Seth (2) Richardson, son of Seth 
(1) Richardson, was born at Attlebor- 
ough, May 26, 1723. He lived in his 
native town. He married Sarah French. 
Children: George, married Mary Fuller; 
Lydia, married Emerson Briggs ; Roxana, 
married Joseph Parmenter ; Sarah, mar- 
ried Thomas Braman ; Silas, mentioned 
below; Nancy, Phebe, French, Rhoda, 
Ira, Seth, born August 27, 1778. 

(V) Silas Richardson, son of Seth (2) 
Richardson, was born at Attleborough in 
1762, died at Hardwick, Massachusetts, 
February 1, 1829, aged sixty-seven years. 
He came to Hardwick with friends and 
relatives after the Revolution and settled 
in the northwest part of the town near 
the farm of David Richards, who also 
came from Attleborough. He married, 
November 26, 1789, Abigail Thayer, born 
at Mansfield, Massachusetts, August 9, 
1767, daughter of John and Rachel (Skin- 
ner) Thayer, granddaughter of John and 
Lydia (Wales) Thayer, great-grand- 
daughter of John and Mary (Barr) 



Thayer, great-great-granddaughter of 
Thomas Thayer by his wife Hannah. 
This Thomas Thayer was son of the 
American immigrant, Thomas Thayer, 
who was born at Thornbury, England, 
and settled at Braintree, Massachusetts ; 
married at Thornbury, April 13, 1618, 
Margerie Wheeler; died June 2, 1665. 
Children of Silas Richardson : Fanny, 

born May 19, 1791 ; Nabby, December 22, 
1792; Seth, mentioned below; Eunice, 
January 10, 1801 ; Sarah F., June 20, 1802, 
or 1805; Silas Peck, January 2, 1807; 
Anna F., December 13, 1813. 

(VI) Seth (3) Richardson, son of Silas 

Richardson, was born at Hardwick, April 
17, ! 799 - died there June 14 or 16, 1881. 
He was a farmer in his native town. He 
married (intentions dated April 3, 1820) 
Alice Johnson. She died February 16, 
1861, aged sixty years. Children, born at 
Hardwick: William, born 1820, drowned 
September 28, 1852, married Louisa 

Lamb ; Mary J., born 1822, died at Green- 
wich, May 11, 1878, married John King; 
Civilla Y., born 1826, died September 2, 
1849; Alonzo Frederick, mentioned be- 
low; Asa F., born 1832; Rhoda, born No- 
vember, 1834, died August 14, 1835 ; Eliz- 
abeth, married (first) Joseph Stevens, 
(second) Philip Johnson; Esther, mar- 
ried Stephen King; Mary, married Na- 
than Stone, of Dana ; Silas, died in Libby 
Prison in the Civil War. 

(VII) Alonzo Frederick Richardson, 
son of Seth (3) Richardson, was born in 
Hardwick, 1828, and died there. He was 
a farmer in his native town. He married 
there, Martha Marsh, daughter of Mar- 
cus Jefferson Marsh. Children: 1. Wil- 
liam Dexter, born July 21, 1863; married 
Amelia Barry ; children : Ella M., born 
June 24, 1885, and Oscar S., July 5, 1891 ; 
resides at Ware. 2. Mary C., born No- 
vember 19, 1866; resides at Hardwick; 
married George D. Warner ; child: George 

D., Jr. 3. Albert Frederick, mentioned 

(VIII) Albert Frederick Richardson, 
son of Alonzo Frederick Richardson, was 
born at Hardwick, March 26, 1868. He 
received his education in the public 
schools of his native town. In his youth 
he led the typical life of hard work and 
simple living on his father’s farm. In his 
eighteenth year he was apprenticed to a 
carpenter, learned his trade and followed 
it for seven years. Through the friend- 
ship of Frederick W. Blackmer, then one 
of the leading attorneys of Worcester, 
himself a native of Hardwick, Mr. Rich- 
ardson was given the job of building his 
house in Worcester, and afterward he 
found employment more congenial than 
carpentering in the law office of Blackmer 
& Vaughan, of Worcester, and he ac- 
quired considerable knowledge of law 
while acting in the collection department 
of this law firm. In 1894 he was ap- 
pointed constable of Worcester by Mayor 
Henry A. Marsh and opened an office in 
the State Mutual Building. He rapidly 
won the confidence and goodwill of 
Worcester lawyers with whom much of 
his business was transacted, and. when 
there was a vacancy on his staff in 1905, 
Sheriff Robert H. Chamberlain appointed 
him a deputy. “His entrance on prison 
work,” says a recent publication, “came 
about in 1910-n, when the Worcester jail 
was made the subject of a special legisla- 
tive investigation. * * The jailor was 

ousted and Sheriff Benjamin D. Dwinnell 
selected Mr. Richardson, who had been a 
deputy sheriff for eight years under the 
late Robert H. Chamberlain, to fill his 
place. He was at that time doing a fine 
business as a deputy sheriff and as a con- 
stable for civil business and was not keen 
for the change, but when he was assured 
that if he made good in the Worcester 
jail, the job would be a stepping stone 



for him and he would be the man in line 
to follow Mr. Dwinnell as sheriff he ac- 
cepted. He accepted this position with 
the understanding that he should have 
free rein and the privilege of acting upon 
his own judgment in the conduct of his 
office, and the success of his work has 
amply demonstrated the value of his ideas 
in this direction. He lopped off a few 
official heads of jailors and assistants, 
gave the jail a thorough inspection, put 
it in sanitary condition, changed the feed- 
ing plan, made the men employed under 
him understand that the prisoners were 
human beings and must be treated prop- 
erly. He then began to study the prison- 
ers and their needs. Tobacco had been 
prohibited in the jail, but he knew that it 
was smuggled in to favorites that had 
money, so he let the bars down and se- 
cured a supply of tobacco and clay pipes 
and permitted every prisoner to enjoy a 
smoke while in the cells after dinner and 
after supper. This practice has been con- 
tinued and has never been abused. He 
put the large chapel in use evenings, 
where in the past it was only used for 
Sunday morning services. He had the 
prisoners together there and talked to 
them a few times, then had some of the 
professional men of the city give talks. 
Then he organized the “Shut-in” Club, 
composed of the prisoners. Those among 
them who were musical were permitted 
to use instruments furnished by the 
sheriff ; those who could sing were allowed 
to do so; those that could dance did so, 
and the rest enjoyed it. From vaudeville 
he advanced to light comedy and drama 
and occasionally had some professional 
entertainers appear. On holidays he per- 
mitted the prisoners to have boxing and 
wrestling bouts and furnished them with 
special dinners and Christmas gifts from 
funds he collected for the purpose from 
citizens who gladly gave to help him to 

make life worth while to those under his 

“During the summer, on clear Sundays, 
he has had the Sunday services in the 
jail yard under the blue sky and in the 
sunshine and every prisoner who has a 
good record for conduct for the week is 
given Saturday afternoon and holiday 
outings in the yard, weather permitting. 
Shower baths were installed, every cell 
is lighted by an electric light. He has 
collected an excellent library of good 
books which are given out to the men 
after supper. He has established a school 
for illiterates and insists on their having 
one hour a day in the school, with the 
result that many have left the jail able to 
read and write at the end of a term. 

“The feeding of meal mush and mo- 
lasses twice a day has been abolished and 
wholesome vegetables cultivated by the 
prisoners on the four acres about the jail 
and on the ten acres under cultivation in 
the Mt. Wachusett reservation are given 
instead with a plentiful supply of good 
bread, beans, cooked with pork, and a 
hearty meat or fish dinner every day, with 
turkey and all the trimmings on Thanks- 
giving and Christmas. He was instru- 
mental in the passing of a bill giving to 
prisoners the privilege to work outside on 
town highways. Also, in 1916, he intro- 
duced and had passed a bill for the dis- 
charge of prisoners for the non-payment 
of fines or allowing a prisoner who had 
been fined a specified amount, and sent to 
jail in default of payment, fifty cents per 
day each day of confinement, with the 
option at any time of paying the amount 
not yet worked out, thereby giving him 
his liberty. 

“Medical inspection has been increased 
and if a prisoner is in bad health he is 
given attention and hospital treatment. 
If the health of a prisoner is poor and 
symptoms of tuberculosis are seen he is 


given outside work to do or transferred 
to the Wachusett prison camp, where he 
has the benefit of living in the open air 
while serving his term. During the three 
years that the Princeton camp has been 
established with an average of forty-two 
men maintained there for six months of 
the year, they have constructed eight 
miles of fine macadam road in the State 
reservation which is cared for by the 
county. The prisoners have also hewn 
out short-cut paths for pedestrians on all 
sides of the mountain and have cut away 
much of the underbrush besides tilling, 
planting and harvesting the crops from 
the ten-acre farm. * * He accom- 

plished much in the way of prison re- 
forms before Mr. Osborne, of Sing Sing 
Prison in New York, had started. He has 
made the Worcester jail the model for such 
institutions and as high sheriff will have 
the opportunity to extend his efforts for 
the permanent good of the unfortunates.” 
While keeper of the jail and master of 
the House of Correction, Mr. Richardson 
continued in office, as is customary, as 
one of the deputy sheriffs of the county. 
From time to time he has been invited to 
make addresses on the subject of prison 
reform and his work at the jail, and he 
has taken advantage of these opportun- 
ities to present his ideas and secure the 
support of public sentiment. He believes 
that the prisoners may wisely be em- 
ployed in the reforestation of waste lands, 
not only for the timber that may be 
grown, but to conserve the water supply 
of the country. He has the support of 
organizations that are interested in up- 
lifting and saving human beings and of 
the men and women who have been pris- 
oners. Not only for a humanitarian, but 
from a financial standpoint that appeals 
to every taxpayer Mr. Richardson’s ad- 
ministration has made a wonderful show- 
ing. At the end of the year, September 

30, 1914, the prison camp showed a profit 
of $2,700, allowing interest on the invest- 
ment in a building, etc., on the mountain. 
The cost per prisoner has been reduced 
by good management until it is but half 
the cost at many other penal institutions 
and less than any other in the State. 
From a total of $500 earned by the pris- 
oners before his time, in the year ending 
September 30, 1914, the aggregate was 
$10,742, showing that the prisoners and 
their families derive some benefit from 
industry and outdoor work, as well as the 
taxpayers. In an editorial the “Worces- 
ter Gazette” said recently : “The effi- 
ciency of prison labor on the highways of 
the county is testified to by both Commis- 
sioner Cook and other authorities who 
have come in close contact with the work 
done and they go on record to this effect 
in the report filed with the State High- 
way Commission. Whereas prisoners 
working in the jail earn the county only 
ten or twenty cents a day, Commissioner 
Cook estimates that they earn the county 
at least a dollar a day when put at the 
work of road building.” 

Keeper Richardson of the Worcester 
House of Correction also makes a favor- 
able report with respect to the effect 
which such work has on the men who 
are engaged in it: “The out-of-door labor 
keeps the men in better health, in a more 
contented state of mind and reduces the 
cost of their keep to the county. In the 
presence of this testimony the plan of 
the county commissioners to make prison 
labor still more extensive in road build- 
ing appears a wise one.” 

A record like this is not probably to be 
found in connection with any other deputy 
sheriff or keeper of a jail perhaps in the 
United States and thus it is that we find 
at the Republican primaries in 1915, he 
was unanimously nominated and the 
Democratic party declined to place in the 


field an opposing candidate, thereby mak- 
ing him the unanimous choice of both 
parties. He received a flattering vote at 
the election in November, when he was 
elected for a term of five years. In this 
office he has since served with satisfac- 
tion to the people of Worcester county, 
who are justly proud of the man at the 
head of their penal institution. 

Sheriff Richardson is a prominent Free 
Mason, having taken the thirty-second 
degree in the Scottish Rite, in addition 
to all the York Rite degrees. He is a 
member of Monticute Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; of Eureka Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons ; of Hiram Council, 
Royal and Select Masters; Worcester 
County Commandery, Knights Templar; 
Worcester Lodge of Perfection; God- 
dard Council, Princes of Jerusalem; Law- 
rence Chapter of Rose Croix; Aleppo 
Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and 
the Massachusetts Consistory ; Aletheia 
Grotto of Worcester; and of Cherokee 
Tribe, Improved Order of Red Men. He 
was formerly a member and sergeant of 
Company A, Sixth Regiment, of which he 
was a member three years, and is now a 
member of the Worcester Continentals, 
in which he holds the rank of sergeant. 

He married, October 22, 1902, Grace 
Maude Edith Allison, who was born in 
Worcester, September 17, 1869, daughter 
of George and Hannah (Hussey) Allison. 
Her father was a native of England; her 
mother came of old Colonial stock. Chil- 
dren, born in Worcester: Madeline Lu- 
cile, born October 20, 1904; Albert Fred- 
erick, November 14, 1910. 

COUCH, Franklin M„ M. D., 


Dr. Franklin M. Couch, of Dalton, died 
January 11, 1915, in Dalton. He was 
born in Lee, May 16, 1858, a son of Brad- 

ford and Lucy Couch. His early life was 
spent in his native town and in North- 
ampton. He attended and graduated 
from Amherst College and was later 
graduated from the Hahnemann Medical 
College in New York City in the class of 
1880. He came to Dalton the following 
year and at once began practice, having 
offices in the Centre Block, and here he 
continued in successful practice up to 
1898, when he retired. 

During the time Dr. Couch was in prac- 
tice in Dalton he rose to a high place in 
the rank of the medical profession, and 
his keen discernment and careful diag- 
nosis of the cases that came under his ob- 
servation, coupled with his natural abil- 
ity, easily placed him in the front ranks 
of his profession. This together with his 
genial disposition and solicitude for the 
welfare of those who were fortunate 
enough to employ him,, his unbounded 
sympathy, and his knowledge of human 
ills and the many propensities of the 
human family, made him very popular 
and drew about him a wide circle of 
friends. And it was a source of deep re- 
gret to a large number of those to whom 
he had successfully ministered for many 
years when he decided to retire. His vast 
numbers of friends, made while in this 
profession, still retained with pride the 
attachment they had for him while he 
lived, and his death came not only as a 
sad loss to his immediate family, but to 
all who knew him, for in him they had 
found a true friend and his many acts of 
kindness will ever be remembered. Dr. 
Couch was a member of the Park Club in 
Pittsfield, the Pittsfield Country Club and 
the Dalton Club. In politics he was a 
Republican, and had served on the Repub- 
lican town committee and had also acted 
as a delegate to a number of conventions. 

Dr. Couch married, June 3, 1891, Jean- 
nie Laflin Crane, daughter of the late 


James Brewer Crane, a pioneer paper 
manufacturer of Dalton (see Crane fam- 
ily). Dr. and Mrs. Couch were the par- 
ents of one son, Franklin Lindley Couch, 
who is now in Yale University, class of 
1917. Dr. Couch had four brothers: Dr. 
L. B. Couch, of New York ; Elbert Couch, 
of Hartford, Connecticut ; Leroy Couch, 
of St. Louis, Missouri ; and Mark Couch, 
of North Adams, Massachusetts, an at- 

MACKINTIRE, George Winthrop, 

Insurance and Banking Official. 

This family was located in Salem and 
Reading, Massachusetts, and in the rec- 
ords of those towns the name appears 
with a great multitude of spellings. The 
forms most generally used by descend- 
ants to-day are that at the head of this 
article and McIntyre. The descendants 
are now found in nearly every State in 
the Union, and are distinguished for those 
New England qualities of energy and 
enterprise which make for success in life. 

(I) Philip Mackintire settled in Read- 

ing, Massachusetts, about 1651, upon a 
farm in the north precinct. Tradition 
states that he was a son of Ebenezer 
Mackintire, of Argyle, in the Highlands 
of Scotland, and was one of many pris- 
oners sent to this country, captured in 
the battles of Dunbarton, September 3, 
1650, and Worcester, 1651. He married, 
September 6, 1666, in Reading, Mary, 
whose surname is not preserved, and the 
following children are recorded in Read- 
ing: Philip, born March 15, 1667; 

Thomas, October 15, 1668, died the same 
month; Hannah, September 20, 1669; 
Mary, July 3, 1672: John, March 20, 1679; 
David, June 12, 1688. There is reason to 
believe that all his children are not re- 
corded, and that he was father of the fol- 

(II) Jonathan Mackintire, born about 

1683, lived in Reading, and married, De- 
cember 6, 1705, in Ipswich, Massachu- 
setts, Martha Graves, a widow. 

(III) Jonathan (2) Mackintire, son of 
Jonathan (1) and Martha (Graves) Mack- 
intire, was born in Reading, and died 
there August 18, 1810. 

(IV) Jonathan (3) Mackintire, son of 
Jonathan (2) Mackintire, born about 
I 73°-35, resided in Reading, and married 
(intentions entered October 17, 1757, in 
Andover) Abigail Foster. His children, 
recorded in Reading, were : Deborah and 
Hitty, baptized February 14, 1762; Jo- 
seph, mentioned below; Ada, born 1766. 

(V) Joseph Mackintire, son of Jona- 
than (3) and Abigail (Foster) Mackin- 
tire, was born in 1763, in Reading, and 
settled in Burlington, Massachusetts. He 
married Sarah Whittredge, undoubtedly 
of the Reading family of that name, birth 
not recorded there. Children : Daniel, 
born 1790, died 1852; George, 1792, died 
1851; Sarah, 1793, died same year; Jo- 
seph, 1794, died 1821 ; Eliab Parker, men- 
tioned below; Charles, 1799; Jesse, 1801, 
died same year. 

(VI) Eliab Parker Mackintire, fourth 
son of Joseph and Sarah (Whittredge) 
Mackintire, was born August 31, 1797, in 
Burlington, and lived in Charlestown, 
Massachusetts, where he died February 
3, 1864. He was a deacon of the Win- 
throp Church of Charlestown, and found- 
ed the Boston commission firm of Mack- 
intire, Lawrie & Company, dealers in 
linens and damasks, with connections in 
Dundee, Scotland. He adopted the pres- 
ent spelling of the name, and secured a 
legislative act to establish its permanency. 
He married, February 20, 1822, Mary 
Tufts, born May 4, 1797, died December 
20, i860. They were the parents of two 
children : Mary Ann, born December 25, 
1824, died 1893, and George Eliab, men- 
tioned below. 

(VII) George Eliab Mackintire, son of 

Mass — 5—9 



Eliab Parker Mackintire, was born De- 
cember 2, 1833, resided at Charlestown, 
Newton and Cambridge, but always 
actively identified with Boston business 
interests and at the time of his death asso- 
ciated with a State street banking house 
in the management of trust estates. He 
married, December 3, 1854, Arabella W. 
Barker, born November 15, 1833. Chil- 
dren: George Winthrop, mentioned be- 
low ; Margarett Lawrie, born March 13, 
1857, at Charlestown, married, February 
4, 1886, John G. Taylor; Arabella Barker, 
born November 26, 1858, at Charlestown. 

(VIII) George Winthrop Mackintire, 
only son of George Eliab and Arabella 
W. (Barker) Mackintire, was born De- 
cember 15, 1855, in Charlestown. As a 
youth he attended the public schools of 
Newton, and after leaving the high 
school of that city he entered the class of 
1875 at the Worcester Polytechnic Insti- 
tute, but ill health prevented his comple- 
tion of the course. In 1874 he went to 
India, and for a period of eleven years 
was connected with a banking and ship- 
ping house, with branches in Calcutta, 
Madras, and Batavia, in all of which cities 
he lived at different times. Upon his re- 
turn to America he became assistant 
cashier of the Worcester National Bank, 
from which he was called to the position 
of treasurer of the State Mutual Life As- 
surance Company of Worcester. This 
position he has continued to fill, and is a 
director and a member of the board of 
investment of the company, and a trus- 
tee of the Five Cents Savings Bank of 
Worcester. Mr. Mackintire is a member 
of the Commonwealth Club and the Tat- 
nuck Country Club. He is a steadfast 
Republican in political principle, but has 
never cared for the emoluments or honors 
of public office, excepting only his service 
to the city as one of the commissioners 
of sinking funds. He married, October 

29, 1884, Mary Louise Miles, born August 
20, 1858, in Worcester, daughter of 

Charles Moore and Mary Elizabeth 
(Holden) Miles, formerly of Rutland, 
Massachusetts (see Miles VII and Holden 
VII). Mr. and Mrs. Mackintire are the 
parents of a daughter, Persis Louise, born 
June 18, 1886, in Worcester. 

(The Miles Line). 

(I) John Miles was born in England 
about 1617, came to New England about 
1635, and was admitted a freeman at Bos- 
ton, December 14, 1638. He was among 
the first settlers and largest land owners 
of Concord, Massachusetts, where he had 
acquired four hundred and fifty-nine acres 
or more, as early as March 14, 1639, a 
blacksmith by trade and a farmer by occu- 
pation. His residence was about three- 
fourths of a mile from the Concord meet- 
ing house on the road to Groton. His 
first wife, Sarah, died July 18, 1678, and 
late in life he married Susanna Rediat, 
widow of John Rediat, of Marlboro. He 
died August 26, 1693, and his widow mar- 
ried (third) November 10, 1698, Wil- 
liam Wilson, of Billerica, Massachusetts. 
There was one child of the first marriage : 
Mary, born February n, 1640, left no 
issue. Children of second marriage : John, 
mentioned below ; Deacon Samuel, born 
February 19, 1682, married Sarah Foster, 
of Littleton, Massachusetts ; Sarah, born 
May 25, 1686, married Edward Putnam, 
of Salem. 

(II) John (2) Miles, son of John (1) 
and Susanna (Rediat) Miles, was born 
May 20, 1680, and lived on the paternal 
homestead in Concord, where he died Au- 
gust 23, 1725, in his forty-sixth year. He 
was a wealthy man for his day, and left a 
large estate, valued in the inventory at 
over seventeen hundred pounds. He mar- 
ried, April 16, 1702, Mary Prescott, born 
August 4, 1685, daughter of Jonathan 



Prescott, and his second wife, Elizabeth 
(Hoar) Prescott, and granddaughter of 
John Prescott, a pioneer of Lancaster, 
Massachusetts, of a family which has fur- 
nished many distinguished citizens in 
both the civil and military life of this 
country. She married (second) John 
Dodd, and died in 1777. Children: John, 
born December 24, 1704, died February 
4, 1781, married Elizabeth Brooks; Jon- 
athan, February 13, 1706, graduate of 
Harvard College in 1727, minister, mar- 
ried Mrs. Catherine Barron; Mary, Octo- 
ber 18, 1709, married Thomas Jones; Eliz- 
abeth, November 16, 1714, died January 
2, 1716; James, August 1, 1719, married 
Hannah Ball; Benjamin, mentioned be- 

(III) Captain Benjamin Miles, young- 
est child of John (2) and Mary (Prescott) 
Miles, was born November 26, 1724, in 
Concord, and was among the first settlers 
of Rutland, Massachusetts, where he died 
January 8, 1776. He settled on a farm on 
Joyner’s Hill, and was a leading figure in 
the early history of the town, holding 
various civil offices, and was captain of 
the militia during the Indian wars. He 
married, May 16, 1751, Mary Hubbard, 
born October 19, 1729, in Concord, daugh- 
ter of Ebenezer and Mary Hubbard. Chil- 
dren, recorded in Rutland : Mary, born 
May 29, 1752; Benjamin, March n, 1754; 
Elizabeth, February 26, 1756; Ebenezer, 
mentioned below; Sarah, August 10, 
1760; Barzilla, May 24, 1763; John, Au- 
gust 14, 1765. died June 29, 1766; John, 
July 8, 1767; Hannah, baptized March 25, 

(IV) Ebenezer Miles, second son of 
Captain Benjamin and Mary (Hubbard) 
Miles, was born May 20, 1758, in Rut- 
land, and made his home in that town. 
He married, November 10, 1785, Molly 
Hudson, of Oakham. Massachusetts, born 
January 9, 1764, daughter of Joseph and 

Hephzibah Hudson. Children : Hephzi- 
bah Hudson, born May 24, 1787, died 
September 27, 1825, unmarried ; Willard 
M., mentioned below; Joseph, November 
21, 1790; Sally Hosmer, April 10, 1793; 
Ebenezer Hubbard, December 29, 1795, 
lived in Rutland, and died there April 8, 
1827; Charles, baptized April 22, 1798, 
died July 21, 1798; Polly, born July 29, 
1799, died March 10, 1809; Adelaide, bap- 
tized July 27, 1803; Adin H., born and 
died February 10, 1809. 

(V) Willard M. Miles, eldest son of 
Ebenezer and Molly (Hudson) Miles, was 
born February 20, 1788, in Rutland, where 
he lived and married, November 28, l8i6, 
Alice Browning, born there January 15, 
1791, daughter of St. James and Elizabeth 
(Estabrook) Browning. Children: Mary 
Elizabeth, baptized September 3, 1819; 
Charles Moore, mentioned below; James 
Browning, born November 3, 1822; Ed- 
ward Willard, baptized November 12, 
1826; Alice Juliet, December 2, 1830; 
Daniel Augustus, September 27, 1835. 

(VI) Charles Moore Miles, eldest son 
of Willard M. and Alice (Browning) Miles, 
was baptized November 5, 1820, in Rut- 
land, and married there, June 12, 1855, 
Mary Elizabeth Holden, born November 
6, 1832, in Rutland, died December 31, 
1907, daughter of Joel (2) and Persis 
Louisa (Estabrook) Holden, of that town 
(see Holden VII). 

(VII) Mary Louise Miles, daughter of 
Charles Moore and Mary Elizabeth 
(Holden) Miles, was born August 20, 
1858, in Worcester, and became the wife 
of George W. Mackintire, of that city 
(see Mackintire VIII). 

(The Holden Line). 

The surname Holden, Holdin, Holding 
or Houlding, is an ancient and distin- 
guished patronymic in England. The der- 
ivation was doubtless from a place name. 


Various branches of the family bear titles 
and coats-of-arms. 

(I) Richard Holden was born in Eng- 
land in 1609, and came to this country 
in the ship “Francis,” sailing from Ips- 
wich, England, April 30, 1634, and set- 
tling first at Ipswich, Massachusetts, 
where he was for a time a land owner. 
His brother, Justinian, born in 1611, came 
over a year later, and settled in Water- 
town, whither Richard removed soon 
afterward. A manuscript family record, 
written about 1800, states that the immi- 
grants had brothers, Adam and William, 
and an uncle, James Holden, “one of the 
Lords of England,” who secured their re- 
lease by the sheriff who had arrested 
them for attending a “dissenting meet- 
ing,” on condition that they would do so 
no more “in that country.” Richard 
Holden resided in Cambridge, adjoining 
Watertown, for a time, and Justinian also 
settled there. Richard Holden sold his 
place at Watertown in 1655 to J. Sher- 
man, and was a proprietor of the adjacent 
town of Woburn as early as 1658. He 
was admitted a freeman, May 6, 1657. In 
the same year he removed to Groton, 
where he had nine hundred and seventy- 
five acres of land in the northeasterly part 
of the town, now in Shirley, part of which 
was later occupied by Porter Kittredge. 
His land extended on the west bank of 
the Nashua river from a point near Beaver 
pond to the northward. He spent his last 
years with his son Stephen, to whom he 
gave his real estate, March 23, 1691, call- 
ing himself at that time “aged, infirm and 
a widower.” He died at Groton, March 
1, 1696. He married, in 1640, Martha, 
who died at Watertown, December 6, 
1681, daughter of Stephen Fosdick, of 
Charlestown. The latter bequeathed to 
Richard Holden a forty-acre lot of land 
in Woburn. Children: Justinian, born 
1644, resided in Billerica ; Martha, Janu- 

ary 15, 1645-46, married Thomas Boyden ; 
Stephen, July 19, 1648, killed by a fall 
from a tree at Groton in 1658; Samuel, 
settled in Groton and Stoneham ; Mar 
married Thomas Williams; Sarah, mar- 
ried, December 20, 1677, Gershom, Swan ; 
Elizabeth; Thomas; John, died young; 
Stephen, mentioned below. 

(II) Stephen Holden, youngest child 
of Richard and Martha (Fosdick) Holden, 
was born about 1658, in Watertown, and 
went to Groton with his father. During 
the interruption caused in the colony by 
King Philip’s war, he went to Charles- 
town or W oburn, and several of his chil- 
dren settled in Charlestown. He returned 
to Groton and died there November 18, 
1715. He married Hannah, daughter of 
Ensign Nathaniel Lawrence, who was 
deacon and deputy to the General Court 
in 1693. Stephen Holden’s estate was 
divided among his heirs, March 19, 1719, 
and the widow’s estate was divided 
among the same heirs, January 30, 1737. 
Children: John, had children born in 
Charlestown ; Stephen, married Sarah 
Cresy ; Nathaniel; William; Simon, who 
was a blacksmith; Jonathan; Benjamin, 
mentioned below ; Rachel ; Hannah ; 
Sarah; Nehemiah. 

(III) Benjamin Holden, seventh son of 
Stephen and Hannah (Lawrence) Hol- 
den, was born about 1690, in Groton, and 
lived at Needham at the time of his mar- 
riage, and afterwards in Dedham,. He 
married, May 8, 1728, Hannah, daughter 
of Thomas and Rebecca (Mason) Ock- 
ington. He joined the First Church, 
April 13, 1729, and his wife, April 2, 1738. 
She married (second) June 5, 1746, Sam- 
uel Bullard, of Dedham, and died in 
Princeton, January 4, 1776, from the 
effects of a fall, aged eighty years. Chil- 
dren, born in Dedham : Benjamin, men- 
tioned below; John, December 31, 1731, 
died February 19, 1732; Mindwell, Feb- 



ruary 16, 1732-33, married, September 12, 
1751, Samuel Farrington; Sarah, July 13, 
1735; Jerusha, baptized April 2, 1738. 

(IV) Colonel Benjamin (2) Holden, 
eldest child of Benjamin (1) and Han- 
nah (Ockington) Holden, was born 
March 10, 1729, in Dedham, baptized in 
the Dedham Church, April 13, same year. 
He was prominent in the town of Prince- 
ton, where he settled and served as ser- 
geant and lieutenant in the French and 
Indian war. He was a member of the 
Provincial Congress, was in the Revolu- 
tion, and commissioned lieutenant-colonel 
in Colonel Ephraim Dolittle’s regiment, 
May 19, 1775, his commission signed by 
General Joseph Warren. He commanded 
his regiment at the battle of Bunker Hill, 
and was lieutenant-colonel of the Twenty- 
seventh Foot Company under Colonel 
Israel Hutchinson, his commission signed 
by General Hancock, January 1, 1776. He 
commanded the detachment furnished 
from Fort Lee by General Washington’s 
orders, November 14, 1776, to reinforce 
Fort Washington, was wounded and 
taken prisoner at that battle, and held 
from November, 1776, to May, 1778. He 
was a member of the Church of England. 
He died at Princeton, November 24, 1820, 
aged ninety-two. He married Catherine 
Richards, who died July 28, 1817, aged 
eighty-four years, daughter of Dr. and 
Alary (Belcher) Richards. Children, born 
in Princeton: Lucy, November 29, 1762, 
married, December 11, 1808, Captain Ad- 
dison Richardson, of Salem; Joseph, Sep- 
tember 28, 1764; Catherine, April 23, 1767, 
married, January 30, 1797, Ephraim Mi- 
rick (2) ; Benjamin, November 19, 1769, 
married, December 2, 1793, Hannah Gill; 
Joel, mentioned below; John Hancock, 
February 23, 1775, died March 15, 1778. 

(V) Joel Holden, third son of Colonel 
Benjamin (2) and Catherine (Richards) 
Holden, was born in Princeton, Novem- 

ber 30, 1772, died March 17, 1856, at Rut- 
land. He married, February 8, 1801, Fi- 
delia (Alirick) Holden, born Alay 25, 1770, 
daughter of Caleb and Eunice Mirick, and 
widow of Joseph Holden, who died Sep- 
tember 23, 1798. She had three children 
by her first husband. Children of Joel 
and Fidelia Holden: Eliza, baptized July 
14, 1802, married, December 20, 1824, 
Rufus Gleason; Joel, mentioned below; 
Lucy Richardson, baptized October 28, 
1810, died September 25, 1814; Lucy Rich- 
ardson, October 6, 1817. 

(VI) Joel (2) Holden, eldest son of 
Joel (1) and Fidelia (Mirick-Holden) 
Holden, was born August 21, baptized Oc- 
tober 20, 1804, and died in Dayton, Ohio, 
August 26, 1899. He was selectman and 
captain of militia in Rutland, left Rut- 
land, May 4, 1841, and located in Salem, 
Montgomery county, Ohio, whence he re- 
moved, August 10, 1843, to Dayton, Ohio, 
where he died. Fie married, December 
10, 1829, Persis Louisa Estabrook, born 
in Rutland, May 4, 1810, died in Dayton, 
May 30, 1845. Children: Eleanor Dana, 
born September 15, 1830, married Samuel 
N. Brown ; Alary Elizabeth, mentioned 
below ; Harriet Augusta, January 24, 1835, 
married David A. Houk ; Susan Maria, 
Alarch 26, 1838; George Warren, Septem- 
ber 14, 1840. 

(VII) Alary Elizabeth Holden, second 
daughter of Joel (2) and Persis Louisa 
(Estabrook) Holden, was born Novem- 
ber 6, 1832, and became the wife of 
Charles Aloore Miles, of Rutland (see 
A-Iiles VI). 

IVES, Dwight H„ 

Man of Affairs. 

Among the few families of Holyoke 
who trace their ancestry back to early 
Colonial times should be mentioned the 
Ives family, represented by Dwight H. 



Ives, who has been connected with that 
city in some business capacity for over 
half a century. The name runs back to 
the days of the Normans and to the 
North of France where it is spelled 
“Yves” and where a number of families 
are still to be found. The English 
branches of the family trace their descent 
from Guilbert Yves, who crossed the 
channel from Normandy among the fol- 
lowers of the Conqueror. 

The first of the name to reach these 
shores, so far as known, was Captain 
William Ives, who came to Boston in 
1635, aged twenty-eight, in the “True- 
love” from London. In 1638 he was in 
New Haven, and on June 4, 1639, was one 
of the subscribers to the Fundamental 
Agreement, Ouinnipiack, which place a 
few years later became known as the 
Colony of New Haven. He died early 
in 1648. His two sons, John and Joseph, 
pushed on northward into the wilderness 
in 1670 and w r ere among the first signers 
of the Wallingford Plantation. The chil- 
dren of WilliaSh I ves: Phebe ; John, mar- 
ried Sarah Ball ; Joseph, of whom fur- 
ther; and Hannah, who became the wife 
of Samuel Cook, of Wallingford. The 
widow of William Ives was married 
again, not long after his death, to Wil- 
liam Bassett. 

(II) Joseph Ives, second son of Cap- 
tain William Ives, married, January 2, 
1672-73 (old style), Mary Yale, born 
April 16, 1650, daughter of Thomas Yale, 
a merchant in New Haven, and Mary 
(Turner) Yale, daughter of Captain Na- 
thaniel Turner, who was lost in the 
“Phantom Ship” which sailed from the 
port of New Haven early in January, 
1647, and never returned. For a descrip- 
tion of the “Phantom Ship” read the Rev. 
John Davenport’s letter to Rev. Cotton 
Mather in “Mather’s Magnalia.” Mary 
Yale was a first cousin of Governor Elihu 

Yale who gave to Yale College its name, 
in consequence of munificent donations 
presented by him, he being at the time a 
resident of London and ex-governor of 
Madras of the- East Indies. It w r as long 
supposed that Elihu and Mary Yale were 
brother and sister and President Stiles 
so gives it, but recent careful researches 
by Professor Dexter, of Yale, have proven 
that the fathers of Elihu and Mary were 
brothers. Joseph Ives died November 17, 

(Ill) Ensign and Deacon Samuel Ives, 
son of Joseph and Mary (Yale) Ives, 
was born in New Haven, November 6, 
1667, and died there, November 24, 1726. 
He was one of the first “two deacons” 
chosen in the First Society Church of 
New Haven. In Rev. Trumbull’s Cen- 
tury Sermon it is shown that in 1718 
Deacon Samuel Ives was commissioned 
“ensign” and at the same time his brother 
Joseph received the appointment of cap- 
tain. He married, January 3, 1706, Ruth 
Atwater, born December 31, 1688, daugh- 
ter of Johnathan and Ruth (Peck) 
Atwater. Johnathan Atwater was a son 
of David Atwater, one of the original 
signers of the Plantation Covenant of 
Quinnipiack. Ruth Peck was a daughter 
of the Rev. Jeremiah Peck, son of Deacon 
William Peck, who was also an original 
subscriber to the Plantation Covenant of 
New Haven. William Peck, one of the 
founders of the New Haven Colony, came 
with his wife, Elizabeth, and his son, 
Jeremiah, from England, probably in the 
company of Governor Eaton, Rev. John 
Davenport and others in the ship, “Hec- 
tor,” which arrived at Boston. June 26, 
1637. Rev. Jeremiah Peck, son of Wil- 
liam Peck, was born in the city of Lon- 
don, England, or its vicinity, in 1623. He 
came to America with his father in 1637. 
He is said by Cotton Mather to have been 
bred at Harvard College. In 1659 he was 



appointed by the General Court of the 
Colony of New Haven to take charge of 
the Collegiate School (later the Hopkins 
Grammar School) and "there teach the 
languages and the sciences.” There he 
remained until 1661, having removed 
from Guilford where he had been teach- 
ing school, and where he also married 
Johannah Ivitchell, daughter of Robert 
Kitchell, of Guilford. In 1668 Mr. Peck 
received a call from the Presbyterian 
church in Elizabethtown, New Jersey. 
He accepted and was the first permanent 
minister of that church. He remained 
until 1678 and then returned to New 
England. Elizabethtown is now Eliza- 
beth. The old church was destroyed by 
fire, it is believed, and a second structure 
was erected upon its site, which in the 
Revolution was used as a stone house 
and was burned by the British. A new 
house of worship, very large and impos- 
ing, was erected upon the site of the old 
church, which is still standing, an admir- 
able relic of Revolutionary days and 
architecture. It is of brick and has a 
pointed spire ; the grounds embrace a 
church yard for burial ; there is a spaci- 
ous session room which stands upon one 
corner and occupies the site of the origi- 
nal school, which has grown into Prince- 
ton College, whither it was removed. 
The Rev. Jeremiah Peck was one of the 
founders of Elizabeth and an original 
signer of its Fundamental Covenant. He 
owned two hundred and twenty acres of 
land. His residence or house lot, con- 
taining five acres, was situated in what is 
now the block adjoining the church on 
the north ; it was located at the corner 
of Broad and West Jersey streets, and in 
1678, when he left Elizabeth, he sold his 
home lot. He died at Waterbury, Con- 
necticut, June 7, 1699, aged seventy-eight 
years. He was eminent in his profession, 
and prominent in all affairs for the pro- 

motion of good in the Colony. His widow 
also died in Waterbury, in 1711. 

(IV) Captain Jonathan Ives, fourth 
son of Ensign and Deacon Samuel and 
Ruth (Atwater) Ives, was born March 
14, 1716-17. He was a great musician, 
and he possessed a voice of so much com- 
pass that it could be heard a half mile 
distant. He was a farmer and inn keeper. 
He removed from New Haven to Ham- 
den, in 1735, then also a part of the New 
Haven Colony, where he settled on the 
banks of the Mill river being one of its 
pioneer settlers. This was near the 
present village of Ivesville ; at that time 
there were no roads in the territory and 
his nearest neighbor was one mile -dis- 
tant. In that town he was a large land- 
holder, and a representative of the dis- 
trict in the Legislature, by which posi- 
tion he was entitled to the affix to his 
name of Hon. and Captain. The annals 
of the period show that good men, strong 
in character, morals and religion were 
chosen as representatives in State as well 
as in national affairs. Captain Jonathan 
Ives married, February 19, 1737-38, 

Thankful Cooper, born April n, 1721, 
daughter of Joseph Cooper, who was a 
son of John (2) and Mary (Thompson) 
Cooper, son of John (1) Cooper, an origi- 
nal signer of the New Haven Plantation 
Covenant. Captain Jonathan and Thank- 
ful (Cooper) Ives were the parents of 
four sons and four daughters. The sons, 
Jeremiah, Joel, Jonathan and Ailing, all 
served in the Revolution. Captain Ailing 
Ives, named for the Ailing family, who 
largely married wfith the Ives family, was 
captured by the British and sent to Ire- 
land, whence he had a very remarkable 
escape. He returned to America to the 
astonishment of his family and friends 
who mourned for him as dead. He mar- 
ried Rebekah Dickerman, of Hamden, 
and their daughter, Julia Ives, re- 



ceived her name in honor of the name of 
the ship “Julia" which bore her father 
from the capitivity of the British to the 
liberty of America, the land of the free. 
Julia Ives married Rev. Ezra Bradley, an 
Episcopal minister, who moved to West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, and had for 
his home the place near the Ashley 
Ponds, known as the Bradley House, 
where the Rev. Dwight Ives was born. 
The name of Julia together with that of 
the freedom ship, as it were, is perpetu- 
ated in the name of Julia Bradley Ives, of 

(V) Jeremiah Ives, eldest child of Cap- 
tain Jonathan and Thankful (Cooper) 
Ives, was born in New Haven, Novem- 
ber 19, 1738, died in 1825, aged eighty- 
seven years. He married, in what is now 
North Haven, then a part of New Haven, 
June 7, 1768, Hannah Bassett, born De- 
cember 26, 1739, died in West Springs, 
September 14, 1803, aged sixty-four years, 
the seventh and youngest child of Abram 
and Mehitable (Street) Bassett, of New 
Haven. The ceremony was performed 
by the Rev. Dr. Benjamin Trumbull, 
the historian of Connecticut during the 
eighteenth century. Abram Bassett was 
a son of Samuel and Mary (Dickerman) 
Bassett, and grandson of William Bas- 
sett, the settler, who married the widow 
of William Ives, the settler, and she was 
the mother of Lieutenant Samuel Bas- 
sett. Abram Bassett was born Novem- 
ber 9, 1692; he married, February 2, 
1721, Mehitable Street, and one of their 
daughters, Mehitable Bassett, sister of 
Hannah (Bassett) Ives, became the wife 
of Judge Samuel Bishop, of New Haven. 
Jeremiah Ives engaged in farming on a 
tract of land in West Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, which was in the possession of 
his descendant, Dwight H. Ives, up to 
1906. This tract embraced three hundred 

(VI) Abraham Ives, son of Jeremiah 
and Hannah (Bassett) Ives, was born in 
New Haven, 1768, died in 1855. He in- 
herited the tract of land above mentioned 
and engaged in agricultural pursuits 
throughout the active years of his life. 
He married, in Ireland Parish, West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, January 22, 
1795, Eunice Day, who died December 
12, 1844, aged seventy-four years. She 
was a daughter of Joel Day, of Ireland 
Parish, and his wife, his first cousin, Eu- 
nice Day, daughter of Joseph and Eliza- 
beth (Mattoon) Day, of Northfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, and among the children of the 
latter named were three who intermar- 
ried with their kindred by the name of 
Day. Nevertheless they produced good 
stock, that even to the present time has 
not degenerated. By observing the above 
statement concerning William Ives and 
his descendants it is shown that very 
nearly all trace back by intermarriage to 
the first and most prominent settlers and 
founders of one of the grand colonies 
sent out by England in those stirring, 
startling days of the English Reforma- 
tion. No band of these early immigrants 
seemed so strongly combined with the 
energy, spirit and power of the Puritani- 
cal element as did that “Godly Company” 
who settled upon the shores of the Quin- 
nipiack. Among those who perished with 
Captain Nathaniel Turner on the “Phan- 
tom Ship” was another ancestor of this 
family, Thomas Greyson, one of the chief 
and principal planters of the colony. 
Eaton was governor, John Daven- 
port, minister, and Thomas Greyson, the 
financier of the colonies. He embarked 
on the “Phantom Ship” for the purpose 
of going to England in the interest of the 
Colony, whose funds were low, thus 
causing a depressed condition of affairs. 
Mr. Thomas Greyson was an ancestor 
through the line of Hannah (Glover) 



Street, wife of Lieutenant Samuel Street. 
She was a daughter of John and Joanna 
(Daniel) Glover, the latter named a 
daughter of Stephen Daniel, of Saybrook, 
who removed to New Haven and married 
Anna or Hannah Greyson, daughter of 
Thomas Greyson. Although Mr. Grey- 
son was an active merchant and an assi- 
stant of the Puritan Colony, he gave land 
for an Episcopal church which they 
named Trinity and which stands at the 
present time (1916) on the original site. 
Lieutenant Samuel Street was a son of 
Rev. Samuel and Ann (Mills) Street, the 
latter named a daughter of Mr. Richard 
Mills, one of the most prominent foun- 
ders and signers of the New Haven Cove- 
nant. The prefix “Mr.” was a title of dis- 
tinction in Colonial days and only a few 
civilians possessed it. Rev. Samuel Street 
was a son of Rev. Nicholas Street, who 
came from Taunton, Massachusetts, to 
New Haven, Connecticut, and succeeded 
Rev. John Davenport. 

(VII) Abraham (2) Ives, son of Abra- 
ham (1) and Eunice (Day) Ives, was 
born in West Springfield, Massachusetts. 
August 15, 1803, died October 19, 1866. 
He succeeded to the homestead whereon 
his father and grandfather resided and 
brought it to a high state of cultivation. 
He was a prominent man in the commu- 
nity, inheriting in large measure the ex- 
cellent characteristics of his forbears. He 
was a member of the First Baptist 
Church of West Springfield, as was also 
his wife. He married Harriet Knowles, 
born in East Hampton, near Mt. Tom, 
June 16, 1807, but resided in West 
Springfield from early childhood, died 
June 7, 1889, a daughter of Joshua 
Knowles. They were the parents of four 
children : Ann E., now deceased, was the 
wife of Alvin C. Pratt; Dwight H., of 
whom further ; Ellen H., resides with 
Dwight H. ; Julia B., now deceased. 

(VIII) Dwight H. Ives, son of Abra- 
ham (2) and Harriet (Knowles) Ives, 
was born on the paternal homestead in 
West Springfield, Massachusetts, Janu- 
ary 28, 1836. He attended the public 
schools of his native town, and was later 
a student at the Suffield Literary Insti- 
tute and Holyoke Academy. For the six 
years following the completion of his 
studies he assisted his father in the man- 
agement of the large farm which had de- 
scended from his ancestor, and subse- 
quently he assumed the entire manage- 
ment of the same, adding adjoining land 
by purchase from time to time until the 
farm embraced two hundred and thirty 
acres, one of the largest in that section, 
and devoted principally to dairying. The 
milk product was disposed of at retail in 
the city of Holyoke for twenty-one years, 
during which time Mr. Ives delivered 
milk to his customers. He then disposed 
of the retail part of the business and en- 
gaged in the wholesale milk business and 
in this he continued in connection with 
his agricultural pursuits, doing a very 
successful, profitable business, up to 1905 
when he disposed of the farm. In 1897 
he removed from the farm to No. 1966 
Northampton street, Holyoke, which has 
since been his place of residence. For 
two years Mr. Ives was interested in con- 
ducting a retail meat business in Hol- 
yoke, but after retiring from this he be- 
came associated with Edward Nether- 
wood, under the firm name of Nether- 
wood & Ives, and they purchased a large 
tract of land at Elmwood, a suburb of 
Holyoke, which was laid out in village 
lots. On this tract Mr. Ives erected some 
thirty houses, which he sold to good ad- 
vantage, and continued in real estate 
operations until 1900, when he disposed 
of his interests. At the present time he 
is living retired from active pursuits. 

For the past fifteen years Mr. Ives has 



been a director and vice-president of the 
Holyoke National Bank, and for a period 
of ten years has been one of the trustees 
and a member of the board of investment 
of the Holyoke Savings Bank. He is a 
director of the Holyoke Valve & Hydrant 
Company, the Irving Paper Company, 
and was formerly a director of the Bul- 
lard Thread Company. From 1900 to 
1914 he was a member of the board of 
license commissioners. He has always 
been identified with the Republican party, 
of which he is a staunch supporter, and 
served in various capacities in city offices, 
being a member of the Common Council, 
and was elected in 1894 as representative 
in the State Legislature, being reelected 
in 1895. While serving in the latter 
named capacity he was a member of the 
committee on roads and bridges. In 1897 
he was elected a member of the State 
Senate, and served on the committee on 
prisons and agriculture and was chair- 
man of the committee on engrossed bills. 
Mr. Ives and his sister attend the First 
Baptist Church of Holyoke, and he is 
connected with the Masonic fraternity, 
being a member of Mt. Tom Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; Mt. Holyoke 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; and Hol- 
yoke Council, Royal and Select Masters. 
Mr. Ives is an energetic and capable busi- 
ness man, and through his own effort 
has risen to a position of importance in 
the city of Holyoke. He is ever ready to 
sustain any movement calculated to ad- 
vance the interests of the city and benefit 
his fellow men. 

WARD, Edward Dickinson, 

Contractor and Builder. 

The Ward family has an ancient and 
distinguished English history. The rec- 
ords extend back to the days of Ward, a 
captain, who came over from Normandy 
with William the Conqueror in 1066. The 

first of the family to assume an additional 
name, so far as we know, was William 
de la Ward, who resided in Chester, Eng- 
land, in 1175. The Wards of Yorkshire 
spread gradually over the adjoining coun- 
ties and the similarity of their arms indi- 
cates a common origin, probably in York- 
shire. The arms are : Azure, a cross 
baton, or. Crest : A wolf’s head, erased. 

(I) William Ward was born in Eng- 
land, in 1603, probably in Yorkshire, and 
deposed October 4, 1664, that he was 
sixty-one years old. He came to New 
England before 1639, when he was living 
in Sudbury, Massachusetts ; was admitted 
a freeman, May 10, 1643 ! was a deputy 
to the General Court in 1644, and was for 
a number of years chairman of the board 
of selectmen in Sudbury and commis- 
sioner to end small causes, appointed by 
the General Court ; and was elected dea- 
con of the church. He and eight others 
were the original petitioners for the grant 
of land on which Marlboro was founded. 
As originally laid out the town included 
not only the present city of Marlboro, 
butWestboro, Southboro and Northboro. 
William Ward moved to Marlboro in 
1660, the year that the town was incorpo- 
rated, and had a fifty-acre house lot on 
the south side of the road nearly opposite 
the meeting house. His lands finally ex- 
tended westward to what is called Bel- 
cher’s pond, near which was built the 
tavern of his son-in-law, Abraham Wil- 
liams, who married his eldest daughter. 
He suffered with the other settlers great 
privations and loss during King Philip’s 
War. One son was slain and his build- 
ings burned and cattle killed. He died 
August 10, 1687, and bequeathed to his 
wife, Elizabeth; to children, John and 
Increase; to the children of his sons. 
Richard and Eleazer, deceased ; to his 
son-in-law, Abraham Williams; to all his 
children by his two wives. His widow 
died December 9, 1700, in her eighty- 



seventh year. Children: John, born about 
1626; Joanna, 1628; Obadiah, mentioned 
below; Richard, 1635; Deborah, 1637; 
Hannah, 1639; William, January 22, 1640, 
died young; Samuel, September 24, 1641 ; 
Elizabeth, April 14, 1643; Increase, Feb- 
ruary 22, 1644; Hopestill, February 24, 
1646; William, February 12, 1649; Ele- 
azer, 1657; Bethia, 1658. 

(II) Obadiah Ward, second son of 
William Ward, was born in 1632, and 
died in Marlboro, Massachusetts, Janu- 
ary 5, 1718, aged eighty-six years. He 
had lands assigned him in Sudbury in 
1653 and a house lot of twenty-one acres 
with the after divisions in Marlboro in 
1660, and he moved there soon after. He 
was a deputy to the General Court in 1689 
from Marlboro. His first wife, whom he 
married November 13, 1667, bore the 
name of Mary. She died August 22, 1706, 
at Marlboro, and he married (second) 
Joanna Mixer, born December 14, 1666, 
daughter of Isaac Mixer, of Watertown. 
Children of Obadiah and Mary Ward: 
Alice, born November 14, 1668; William, 
mentioned below ; Obadiah, September 
18, 1672; Bethia, 1674, died same year; 
Mary, May 4, 1676; Jane, 1677 ; Edmund, 
January 21, 1679; Sarah, January 29, 
1681, married Samuel Bartlett; Richard, 
April 26, 1683; Elizabeth, December 4, 
1685, died unmarried, January 21, 1730; 
Hannah, January 3, 1688; Eleazer, No- 
vember 2, 1689; Prudence, 1691. 

(III) William (2) Ward, eldest son of 
Obadiah and Mary Ward, was born Jan- 
uary 7, 1670, in Marlboro, Massachusetts, 
where he resided, and where all his chil- 
dren were born. In 1711 he sold out to 
Samuel Morris and removed to Ashford, 
Connecticut, where he purchased land in 
1715 and where his son William bought 
land in 1720. Jacob Ward, another son, 
received a gift of lands there in 1726. 
William Ward removed to Union, Con- 
necticut, where he died January 8, 1731, 

aged sixty-one years. His death was the 
first in the town of Union. His wife, 
Judith, died in Union, January 21, 1746. 
Children: William, mentioned below; 

Jemima, born July 5, 1693; Gamaliel, 
October 2, 1694; Jacob, March 9, 1697; 
Judith, March 6, 1700; Keziah, June 4, 
1703; Dinah, October 2, 1704. 

(IV) William (3) Ward, eldest child 

of William (2) and Judith Ward, was 
born June 9, 1691, at Marlboro, Massa- 
chusetts, and resided in Union, Connec- 
ticut, where he became a very prominent 
citizen, as appears from the town records. 
He was a large land owner and con- 
ducted several farms. There is a large 
rock on the old place with the letters 
“W. W.” roughly hewed on the surface, 
and it is said that they were cut by Wil- 
liam Ward. His will was dated August 
12, 1772, and was proved October 2, 1780. 
The Christian name of his wife was 
Rachel. Children: Uriah, born February 
24, 1715, married Elizabeth Ingraham; 
John, mentioned below; Ebenezer, April 
9, 1719, married Anna Peache ; Moses, 
September 16, 1722, married Eunice 

Rood; Obadiah, February 9, 1725, mar- 
ried Esther Ruggles ; Rachel, April 23, 
1727, married Joseph Enos; Jesse, Au- 
gust 6, 1729, married Elizabeth Abbe; 
Benjamin, February, 1731, died October 
19, 1741; Sarah, died January 13, 1740; 
William, died April 23, 1735. 

(V) John Ward, second son of Wil- 
liam (3) and Rachel Ward, was born No- 
vember 9, 1716, at Union, where he re- 
sided for a short time, and removed with 
liis family in 1749 to Belchertown, Mas- 
sachusetts, in which town he died in 1800, 
aged eighty-four years. He married in 
Union (first) October 10, 1739, Abigail 
Walker; (second) March 27, 1748, Abi- 
gail Heath, of Tolland, Connecticut, died 
at Belchertown. February 21, 1813, aged 
eighty-two years. Five children were 
born in Union, the remainder in Belcher- 



town. Those of the first marriage were : 
Sarah, born about 1740, married Jona- 
than Drade ; Dorcas, June 24, 1742, died 
December 4, 1748; Eunice, December 15, 
1744, married Captain Shearman, of 
Brimfield, where he died without issue ; 
John, January 1, 1747, died June 20, 1747. 
Those of the second marriage were : 
Aaron, born October 11, 1748, died No- 
vember 1, 1748; John, about 1749, mar- 
ried Bethia Fuller; Benjamin, 1751, mar- 
ried Mary Clough; Tirzah, 1753, married 
Richard Lull; Zerviah, November 27, 
1754, married Samuel Ward; Sybil, De- 
cember 7, 1756, married Benjamin 

Clough; Mehitable, February 6, 1759, 
married John Pease; Ruth, April 21, 
1761, married, June, 1780, Guild Wilson, 
of Belchertown, and resided at Hebron, 
New York; Hepzibah, June 1, 1765; 
Beulah, August 20, 1767, married, Feb- 
ruary 20, 1787, at Madison, New York, 
Samuel White, of Pelham ; Moses, Octo- 
ber 29, 1769, married Rachel Convers ; 
Ebenezer, mentioned below. 

(VI) Ebenezer Ward, youngest child 

of John and Abigail (Heath) Ward, was 
born July 19, 1773, in Belchertown, where 
he settled, probably in that part of the 
town set off as Enfield. He married, July 
7, 1796, Rebecca Randall, of Belchertown. 
Children, all born at Belchertown : Israel, 
February 8. 1797. married Rachel Thayer ; 
Alvah, September 17, 1798, married 

Louisa Shaw; John, mentioned below; 
Mercy, September 10, 1801, married Sam- 
uel Tinkham ; Abigail, May 8, 1803, mar- 
ried Alvah Thayer; Zerviah, July 23, 
1804; Elizabeth, February 25, 1807; Ben- 
jamin, April 24, 1809, married Elizabeth 
W. Hawks; Mary and Sarah (twins), 
April 23, 1811, former married Oromel 
Walker; Estes, May 3, 1815. 

(VII) John (2) Ward, third son of 
Ebenezer and Rebecca (Randall) Ward, 
was born May 19, 1800, at Belchertown, 
and lived in Enfield, Massachusetts, for- 

merly part of Belchertown, and other 
towns of the vicinity. He married Sylvia 

H. Shaw, daughter of Asa Shaw, of En- 
field, and his wife, Abigail (Hanks) Shaw, 
who died November 15, 1839, in her fifty- 
third year, the mother of ten children. 
Sylvia H. Shaw was born March 6, 1807. 
The father of Abigail (Hanks) Shaw was 
Ebenezer Hanks, of Belchertown, who 
married Hepsibah Ward, April 12, 1785. 
He was a soldier in the Revolution ; they 
had eight children. Hepsibah Ward was 
the daughter of John Ward (V), the thir- 
teenth child. Children of John and Syl- 
via H. (Shaw) Ward, all born in Enfield: 
Charles Rockwood, mentioned below ; 
Verona A. and Caroline F. (twins), April 

I, 1839; Proctor L., May 23, 1841 ; Henry 
W., August 19, 1847. 

(VIII) Charles Rockwood Ward, eldest 
son of John (2) and Sylvia H. (Shaw) 
Ward, was born April 27, 1834, at En- 
field, and died October 26, 1901. He was 
educated in the public schools of his na- 
tive town, and was a carpenter by trade. 
He married Julia Ann Reed (see Reed 
VIII). Children: Abbie J., born March 
19, 1861, married Simon A. Norcross, of 
Worcester, and has an adopted daughter; 
Cora L., November 27, 1862, died at the 
age of five years ; Edward Dickinson, 
mentioned below; Nellie A., December 
16, 1866, married F. A. Abbott, of Wor- 
cester, and has an adopted child; John 
Waldo, March 11, 1868, a carpenter, mar- 
ried Ida Hacker, no issue, died in Wor- 
cester; Delbert E., April 5, 1870, a car- 
penter, married Grace Bemis, and resides 
in Worcester; Carrie B., November 3, 
1873, married George Salee, of Cannon 
City, Colorado, and has a son and a 
daughter, Stanley and Irene ; Albert E., 
February 13, 1875, a boat builder, resides 
in New York City; Frederick, November 
3, 1878, died young. 

(IX) Edward Dickinson Ward, eldest 
son of Charles Rockwood and Julia Ann 



(Reed) Ward, was born March 6, 1864, 
in West Warren, Massachusetts, and was 
educated in the public schools of Enfield, 
finishing in the high school. After leav- 
ing school he began working in the War- 
ren Cotton Mills, where he worked in the 
glazing room for a time, after which he 
was transferred to the carpenter shop, 
where he remained three years. He also 
worked under the direction of his father, 
finally becoming an expert carpenter and 
builder. He w'orked as a journeyman 
under Charles Knapp in Worcester for 
two years, at which time he started in 
business for himself, in partnership with 
W. F. Blanding. After five years this 
partnership was dissolved, Mr. Ward 
continuing in business alone until the 
present time. His force at the start num- 
bered six or eight men, which he man- 
aged from an office at Lake View. In the 
spring of 1902 he moved his offices to the 
Baker Building on Foster street, Wor- 
cester, now managing from that head- 
quarters a force of from three to four 
hundred men. He executes contracts all 
over adjacent New England, and has won 
a most enviable reputation as a reliable, 
honorable builder. Among the noted 
buildings erected by Mr. Ward in recent 
years may be noted The Church of Christ 
(Scientist) in Worcester, the buildings of 
the Hamilton Woolen Company at South- 
bridge, the Crompton, Knowles; Wright 
Wine Works, and the buildings of the 
Central Supply Company. He is an ener- 
getic and capable business man, and 
handles his large and still growing forces 
with consummate skill. He is held in 
high esteem in the city of his adoption, 
with whose expansive growth he has 
been so intimately connected. In politi- 
cal preference he is a Republican, and in 
religious faith a Congregationalist. Mr. 
Ward married, December 9, 1891, Mabel 
E., daughter of Eugene Hudson and Mary 
(Hickey) Kibbe, of Worcester. Children: 

Mildred May, married, September 8, 1915, 
Frank Hickey; Ethel Mabel, married, 
November 10, 1915, Russell Webb; Irene 

(The Reed Line). 

(I) Thomas Reed, a carpenter, resided 
in Colchester, Essex, England. His will, 
made in July, 1665, mentions his son 
Thomas, in America. 

(II) Thomas (2) Reed, son of Thomas 
(1) Reed, was in Sudbury, Massachu- 
setts, as early as 1654, settled in the dis- 
trict known as Lanham ; was made a 
freeman in 1656, and died September 13, 

1701. His first wife, Catherine, died Sep- 
tember 26, 1677, and he had a second 
wife, Arabella. 

(III) Thomas (3) Reed, son of Thom- 
as (2) and Catherine Reed, was born 
about 1655, in Sudbury, and died there, 
July 1, 1708. He married (first) May 30, 
1677, Mary Goodrich, a native of Laven- 
ham, near Sudbury, England. He had a 
second wife, Mary. Children : Thomas, 
born March 22, 1678; Mary, January 5, 
1679; Rachel, June 9. 1682; Nathaniel, 
died young; Elizabeth, November 16, 
1687; Hannah, October 17, 1689; Na- 
thaniel, mentioned below; Isaac, Febru- 
ary 23, 1704; Katherine, January 31, 1707. 

(IV) Nathaniel Reed, son of Thomas 
(3) and Mary Reed, was born October 6, 

1702, in Sudbury, and settled in that part 
of Brookfield now in the town of Warren 
(formerly called Western), Worcester 
county, Massachusetts. He married 
Phebe Lamb, and they had children : 
Reuben, mentioned below; John, born 
December 14, 1732; Phebe, January 28, 
1734; Lydia, March 13, 1736; Mary, Jan- 
uary 30, 1738; Nathan, March 8, 1740, 
died young; Persis ; Martha, September 
26, 1743; Abigail, March 17, 1746; Ruth, 
January 31, 1748; Nathaniel, March 16. 
1749; Eunice. August 4, 1751; Nathan, 
October 1, 1758. 

(V) Major Reuben Reed, eldest child 


of Nathaniel and Phebe (Lamb) Reed, 
was born November 2, 1730, in Warren, 
and died there, May 26, 1803, on the 
paternal homestead, where he lived. He 
was commissioned February 7, 1776, first 
major of Colonel James Converse’s 
(Fourth Worcester County) regiment of 
militia, and was also prominent in civil 
affairs of the town. He married (inten- 
tions published November 3, 1754) Tarn- 
sin Meacham, of Enfield, Connecticut, 
born February 2, 1732, daughter of Icha- 
bod and Elizabeth Meacham, of that 
town. Children : Reuben, mentioned be- 
low ; Elizabeth, born October 26, 1757; 
Nathan, July 2, 1759; Nathaniel, April 4, 
1762; Joshua, January 20, 1764; Sarah, 
April 29, 1768; Tamerson, July 25, 1769; 
Levi. July 17, 1773. 

(VI) Reuben (2) Reed, eldest child 
of Major Reuben (1) and Tamsin 
(Meacham) Reed, was born January 20, 
1756, in Warren, and died there, October 
24, 1817. He married (intentions pub- 
lished April 18, 1779) Hannah Cheney. 
Children: Daniel, born December 9, 1781 ; 
Persis, Hannah, Reuben, Nathan, Waldo, 
mentioned below. 

(VII) Waldo Reed, youngest child of 
Reuben (2) and Hannah (Cheney) Reed, 
was born January 3, 1798, in Warren, and 
lived in that town and Brookfield. He 
married (intentions published November 
23, 1822) Calista (Celestia, Selestia, Celes- 
tina) Hamilton, born April 19, 1802, in 
Brookfield, daughter of Seth and Mary 
(Morgan) Hamilton. Children: Persis 
Jane, died unmarried; Henry Dwight, 
born December 3, 1824, in Brookfield, 
married Mary Nightingale Dunnakin ; 
Louisa Jane, January 26, 1827, married 
Norman Powers; Mary Ann, April 11, 
1835, ' n Brookfield; Julia Ann, mentioned 
below; Waldo Eaton, May 6, 1839, in 
Warren ; Loren G., April 4, 1843. 

(VIII) Julia Ann Reed, daughter of 
Waldo and Calista (Hamilton) Reed, 

was born March n, 1837, in Warren, and 
became the wife of Charles Rockwood 
Ward (see Ward VIII). 


Business Man. 

Among the representative men of Pitts- 
field, who by close application and busi- 
ness ability of a superior order have at- 
tained a place of commanding influence, 
should be mentioned Irving J. Barnfather, 
treasurer of the Newton and Barnfather 
Company, Inc., leading undertakers of 
Western Massachusetts. He was born in 
Pittsfield, Massachusetts, November 15, 
1874, son of Andrew F. and Anna (Cot- 
ton) Barnfather, grandson of William 
and Ann (Frankland) Barnfather, and a 
descendant of English ancestry.. 

(I) William Barnfather, grandfather of 
Irving J. Barnfather, was a native of 
Yorkshire, England, born 1797, was there 
educated, married and spent his early 
years and subsequently emigrated to the 
United States and settled at Nassau, New 
York, where he spent the remainder of 
his days, devoting his attention to the 
occupation of farming, which proved a 
lucrative means of livelihood. He died 
there, in 1869. His wife, Ann (Frank- 
land) Barnfather, who was born in Eng- 
land, and died in Nassau at the age of 
eighty years, bore him ten children, four 
of whom are living at the present time 
(1916) namely: Andrew F., of whom 
further; Frank B., a resident of Water- 
ford, New York; Mrs. William Lowrie, 
a resident of Waterford, New York; and 
Levi, who resides on the old farm in 
Nassau, New York. 

(II) Andrew F. Barnfather, father of 
Irving J. Barnfather, was born in Nassau, 
New York, September 24, 1844. He was 
reared and educated there, and followed 
the occupation of farming up to the age 
of eighteen years. He then moved to 



Lebanon Centre, where he was employed 
by Deacon Everest in the general store 
conducted by him, and later moved to 
Pittsfield, Massachusetts, where he se- 
cured a position as clerk in the grocery 
store conducted by L. A. Stevens, after 
which he filled a similar position in the 
stores of J. M. and W. P. Lee, and W. H. 
Cooley, a leading grocer of this section, 
entering his service in 1877 and remain- 
ing until 1892. He then formed a part- 
nership with William E. Reid and en- 
gaged in the grocery business under the 
firm name of Reid & Barnfather, and this 
connection was continued until July, 1911, 
when he sold out his interest and retired 
from active pursuits. He is a Republican 
in politics, a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church, in which his wife also 
held membership, Mystic Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, Berkshire Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons, Berkshire Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
the Knights of Pythias. He married 
Anna Cotton, born October, 1869, daugh- 
ter of Timothy Cotton, who was a woolen 
manufacturer, and for many years em- 
ployed by the Pontosiac Woolen Com- 
pany, of Pittsfield, where he had charge 
of the fulling department. Mrs. Barn- 
father was the youngest of three sisters, 
the only one alive at the present time be- 
ing Martha C. Leonard, eighty-six years 
of age. Mr. Cotton died at the age of 
eighty-four years, and his wife at the 
age of seventy-four years. Mr. and Mrs. 
Barnfather were the parents of three chil- 
dren : Walter, died aged eleven months; 
Jessie, died aged seven years; Irving J., 
of whom further. The death of Mrs. 
Barnfather occurred June 3, 1890. 

(Ill) Irving J. Barnfather was reared 
in Pittsfield, educated in the public 
schools, including the high school, from 
which he was graduated. His first em- 
ployment was as clerk with the Agricul- 
tural National Bank, in which capacity 

he served until 1891, then accepted a 
similar position with the Wilson & Read 
Insurance Company and retained the 
same for six years. The following three 
years he was an employee of the J. H. 
Butler Lumber Company then entered 
the service of the Stanley Electric Com- 
pany in the estimating department, con- 
tinuing for three years, after which he 
accepted the position of clerk of the 
Board of Public Works and the Water 
Department of Pittsfield, his service ex- 
tending over a period of four years. In 
1910 he became one of the organizers of 
the Newton and Barnfather Company, 
Inc., of which at the present time he is 
treasurer. This company maintains one 
of the finest undertaking and embalming 
establishments in Western Massachu- 
setts, both of its active partners, Mr. 
William H. Newton, a sketch of whom 
appears elsewhere in this work, and Mr. 
Irving J. Barnfather, being men particu- 
larly well qualified by virtue of a long 
and varied business experience to con- 
duct an undertaking of this nature. They 
both enjoy the highest respect and 
esteem not only of the business men of 
Pittsfield, but of all with whom they are 
brought in contact. Mr. Barnfather is a 
Republican in politics, takes an active in- 
terest in public affairs, and has served as 
clerk of the Common Council for five 
years, and as clerk of committees under 
Mayor Bagg for two years. In fraternal 
circles Mr. Barnfather has taken a very 
active part. He is a member of Mystic 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and 
has held all the offices, including that of 
worshipful master, which office he held in 
1903, the youngest presiding officer to fill 
that position, having joined the lodge, 
June 23, 1897. He also fills the office of 
secretary, elected in July, 1909. He is a 
member of Berkshire Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons, and in this has filled all the 
chairs ; a member of Berkshire Council 



Royal and Select Masters; Berkshire 
Commandery, Knights Templar, of which 
he was elected recorder in 1914, which 
position he still holds; Melha Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine ; the Royal Arcanum, in 
which he has held membership for many 
years, and the Park Club. He is a mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal church, 
and has served on its board of stewards 
since 1897. For many years he was a 
member of the Volunteer Firemen of 
Pittsfield, and is now a member of the 
Veteran Firemen’s Association. 

Mr. Barnfather married, April 12, 1900, 
Plelen S. Holderness, born in Somerville. 
Massachusetts, daughter of George S. 
and Mary Elizabeth (Clifford) Holder- 
ness, of Somerville, who are the parents 
of seven other children, namely : Mrs. 
George K. Kittle, of Glenbrook, Connec- 
ticut ; Mrs. George A. Whiting, of Cleve- 
land, Ohio; Clifford, a resident of Pitts- 
field ; George R., resident of Boston ; Mrs. 
Clarence E. G. Kelley, of Chicopee Falls. 
Massachusetts; Mrs. Joan Merifield, of 
Boston, Massachusetts ; Mrs. Carl Coz- 
zio, of Pittsfield, Massachusetts. Mr. and 
Mrs. Barnfather are the parents of two 
children: Roland C., born June 12, 1902; 
Robert Irving, born June 6, 1915. 

BAGG, Allen Henry, 

Ex-Mayor, Prominent Business Man. 

Whether the elements of success in life 
are innate attributes of the individual, or 
whether they are quickened by a process 
of circumstantial development, it is im- 
possible clearly to determine. Yet the 
study of a successful life is none the less 
profitable by reason of the existence of 
this uncertainty, and in the majority of 
cases it is found that exceptional ability was 
the real secret of the preeminence which 
many envied. So it appears to the stu- 
dent of human nature who seeks to trace 

the history of the rise of Allen Henry 
Bagg, of Pittsfield, Massachusetts. 

The pioneer ancestor of the Bagg 
family of which Allen H. Bagg is a 
worthy descendant was John Bagg, who 
came to this country from Plymouth, 
England, in the vessel “Safety.” He 
married, in 1656, Hannah Burt, and they 
were the parents of five sons, among 
whom was Daniel, born in Westfield, 
Massachusetts, father of David Bagg, 
also born in Westfield, who was the 
father of Martin Bagg, born in Westfield, 
and he was the father of Martin Bagg, 
Jr., born in Pittsfield, Massachusetts, 
where he spent his entire life, devoting 
his attention to farming operations. He 
was the father of Jedediah Bagg, a native 
of Pittsfield, Massachusetts, and he in 
turn was the father of Edwin Bagg, also 
a native of Pittsfield, Massachusetts, 
where he spent his entire life on a farm, 
which he cultivated and improved, for a 
number of years being in charge of his 
father-in-law’s estate, and his death oc- 
curred there in December, 1894, aged 
sixty-seven years. He served as a private 
in Company A, Sixty-first Massachusetts 
Volunteers, for nine months, deriving his 
patriotic spirit from his ancestors, a num- 
ber of whom served in the Revolutionary 
War. He was a member of the Grand 
Army of the Republic. He married 
Catherine Hull, born in Pittsfield, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Oliver S. Hull, the 
family tracing back to the Quakers who 
settled at Hull, Rhode Island. Mrs. Bagg 
is living at the present time (1916), very 
active and bright for her years, the 
mother of six children, three living: Al- 
len Henry, of whom further; Mrs. F. H. 
Knight, of Bellingham : William E., of 
Pittsfield. She is a member of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church. 

Allen Henry Bagg was born in Pitts- 
field, Berkshire county, Massachusetts, 
April 4, 1867. He acquired a practical 



education in the public schools of Pitts- 
field, making the best use of his opportu- 
nities while in attendance there, complet- 
ing his studies at the early age of thirteen 
years, when he entered upon his active 
career, which was to prove of such signal 
usefulness. His entrance into business 
life was as errand boy with the Pierson 
Hardware Company, of Pittsfield, but he 
performed these duties in such a manner 
as to win the approbation and approval 
of his employers, and this characteristic 
of faithful performance of duty has 
marked his every action from that time 
to the present. He also possessed a large 
amount of energy and ambition, char- 
acteristics which make for success in the 
business world and which advance a man 
more readily than any others, and by 
demonstrating his ability in every ca- 
pacity in which he was employed, he ad- 
vanced up the ladder, step by step, in due 
course of time being appointed to the 
high position of head clerk of the Pierson 
Hardware Company, the onerous duties 
of which office he filled efficiently and 
satisfactorily, and his term of service 
with that company extended over the 
long period of twenty-two years, for sev- 
eral of which he filled the latter position 
in the business, which prospered exceed- 
ingly under his competent management. 
In 1902, having decided to enter upon 
a different field of business activity, he 
turned his attention to the real estate 
business and since that time has been ac- 
tively engaged in developing tracts of un- 
improved land, erecting a number of 
houses which he has sold or rented, and 
thus has been an important factor in the 
development and building up of the city 
of Pittsfield. In this line of business, as 
in his previous one, he brought to bear 
great activity and energy of both mind 
and body, and failure in any enterprise 
was with him an almost impossibility, he 
adding to his other qualifications quick- 

ness of apprehension and correctness of 
judgment, both essential in the latter 
named undertaking. His success in his 
own affairs led to his appointment as a 
member of the board of trustees of the 
Berkshire Savings Bank, and was chosen 
to serve in the capacity of chairman of 
the auditing committee, also a director of 
the Third National Bank, both institu- 
tions of prominence and importance in 
Berkshire county. 

Even as a young lad Mr. Bagg evinced 
a keen interest in all public matters, and 
this interest was not diminished in the 
course of years, when his matured in- 
tellect was better able to judge of the far- 
reaching effects of wise legislation and 
government. His political affiliations 
have always been with the Republican 
party, and has always been a close one. 
As a member of the Pittsfield City Coun- 
cil for two years, he amply proved his fit- 
ness for public office by a conscientious 
discharge of his duties, ever mindful of 
the interests of his fellow townsmen, who 
in turn showed their appreciation of his 
services by further appointments to 
higher offices in their gift. Mr. Bagg is 
a man of initiative, broad and compre- 
hensive in his views on all subjects sub- 
mitted to him, tenacious in his opinion, 
decided and firm in his judgment of men 
and measures, yet nevertheless tolerant 
of the opinions of others. In 1903 he in- 
augurated a movement designed to nomi- 
nate business men of unquestioned stand- 
ing and character for the offices in the 
gift of the city. In conformity with this 
idea, a committee was appointed to inter- 
view the desired candidates, and the 
larger number of those. interviewed con- 
sented to accept nomination and were in 
due time elected to office. Mr. Bagg was 
elected a member of the board of aider- 
men of Pittsfield, in the work of which he 
took a keen interest, and was elected to 
the presidency of that body in 1904. In 

Mass — 5 — 10 


1905 he was chosen for the high office of 
mayor of Pittsfield, his previous public 
service demonstrating clearly to his fel- 
low citizens his capability and efficiency, 
and so faithfully did he perform his every 
duty that he was chosen to succeed him- 
self twice, consecutively, serving through 
the terms of 1906 and 1907, the first man 
in Pittsfield to receive that honor, receiv- 
ing the largest majority ever given a can- 
didate up to the present time, which fact 
eloquently testified to his great popular- 
ity. While the incumbent of that office 
he w r as a faithful guardian of the in- 
terests and rights of the people in his 
charge, and introduced many beneficial 
measures, all of which contributed large- 
ly toward the improvement and develop- 
ment of his native city, of which he was 
a representative citizen. 

Mr. Bagg has always taken a deep and 
sincere interest in aiding struggling 
young men to make their way in the 
world, and in connection with this idea 
has been an active worker in the interests 
of the Young Men’s Christian Associ- 
ation. He was instrumental in establish- 
ing a Pittsfield branch of the association, 
and served as a director and as recording 
secretary for a period of thirteen years, 
his connection with this worthy under- 
taking being the means of interesting 
many other citizens in the welfare of the 
young men of the city. He was also a 
member of the board of directors and 
vice-president of the Pittsfield Cemetery 
Company, and the chapel donated by the 
late Mrs. Edwin Clapp was erected under 
his direct supervision. His religious 
membership is in the First Congrega- 
tional Church of Pittsfield, to the varied 
work of which he contributes both of 
time and money, and he serves as chair- 
man of the board in charge of the church 
property. He is an active and prominent 
member of the Berkshire Historical So- 
ciety, being deeply interested in every- 

thing pertaining to historical subjects, 
and he has prepared and has at present 
(1916) ready to publish a complete gene- 
alogy of his family. He is equally promi- 
nent and active in fraternal circles, hold- 
ing membership in Mystic Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; the Chapter, Coun- 
cil, Commandery and Eastern Star. In the 
Chapter he has filled all the chairs, being 
past master of this body, in the Council 
he has likewise filled all the chairs and 
has been thrice illustrious master of this 
body. He is a member of the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows, in which he 
has held all the offices, being past noble 
grand and past district deputy ; the Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks ; 
Berkshire Chapter, Sons of the American 
Revolution, of which he was president 
and is now vice-president. He is also a 
valued member of the Country Club and 
Park Club. Mr. Bagg is an extensive 
traveler, thus greatly augmenting the 
knowledge gained during his many years 
of active public life, and from which he 
derives a wonderful amount of pleasure 
and recreation. In addition to traveling 
over the entire length and breadth of the 
United States. Mr. and Mrs. Baggvisited 
the Holy Land, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, 
France, Germany, England and Egypt, 
viewing with interest all the wonders and 
beauties of the Old and New Worlds. 
This brief resume of Mr. Bagg’s life 
proves that he is an important and in- 
fluential member of society and wields a 
forceful mastery by the sheer force of his 
firm and decided character. 

Mr. Bagg married, February 24, 1903, 
Mary Campbell Clapp, born in Pittsfield, 
in March, i860. The ceremony was per- 
formed in the beautiful Wendell avenue 
house, purchased by Mrs. Edwin Clapp in 
June, 1901. This house was built during 
Civil War times by Mrs. Clapp’s cousin, 
Thomas G. Colt. The late Rev. W. V. W. 
Davis, of the First Church, and Rev. J. E. 


C. Sawyer, a former pastor of the Metho- 
dist church, officiated. Mrs. Bagg was a 
daughter of the late Edwin Clapp and his 
wife, Mary (Martin) Clapp, daughter of 
Calvin and Mary (Campbell) Martin. 
Mrs. Clapp died at the age of eighty- 
three; Mrs. Bagg died July 27, 1916. 

Mrs. Bagg descended from four of the 
oldest families of Pittsfield — Clapp, Mar- 
tin, Campbell and Stockbridge — whose 
members had much to do with the early 
history and development of that town. 
The founder of the Clapp family came 
from England as early as 1630 and set- 
tled in the eastern part of the State near 
Boston and many of his descendants still 
live there. Jason Clapp, grandfather of 
Mrs. Bagg, was born in Northampton, in 
1783, and came to Pittsfield in 1802 and 
became foreman in the carriage factory 
of Lemuel Pomeroy with whom he re- 
mained until 1809. In that year he pur- 
chased all the land extending from West 
street north to what is now the property 
of the Boston & Albany Railroad and 
now included in the present location of 
Clapp avenue, the West block, the Bland 
building, the Jones foundry and other ad- 
joining buildings and here established the 
Jason Clapp carriage works which was 
one of the early important industries of 
Pittsfield. He also built and occupied 
the large Clapp homestead on the south 
side of West street until the time of his 
death in 1868, when for a few years it 
was occupied by Phinihas Allen, Jr., who 
was a son of the founder of the “Pitts- 
field Sun." This property, purchased by 
Jason Clapp in the early years of the 
nineteenth century, was owned by Mrs. 
Bagg, and by the purchase of additional 
land, the building of tenement houses, 
and the opening of Edwin street, named 
for her father, Mr. and Mrs. Bagg did 
much toward the development of this 
central piece of property. Calvin Martin, 
Mrs. Bagg’s maternal grandfather, was a 

lawyer and long one of the most promi- 
nent and honored members of the Berk- 
shire bar. His home was on South street 
in a house that stood on the present site 
of the Berkshire Museum. He, too, had 
much to do with the early life of Pitts- 
field and was instrumental in the organi- 
zation of the Berkshire Athenaeum and 
its first president, as he was also the first 
president of the Pittsfield Cemetery cor- 
poration. In 1900 Mrs. Clapp and her 
daughter erected and presented to the 
Pittsfield Cemetery corporation the mor- 
tuary chapel in memory of Calvin Mar- 
tin, its first president, and Edwin Clapp, 
for many years a director and vice-presi- 
dent. Edwin Clapp, father of Mrs. Bagg, 
was associated with his father in the 
carriage business. He will be remem- 
bered by many of the older residents as a 
man of sterling character who held many 
positions of trust and responsibility in 
his native town and was officially con- 
nected with many of its financial and 
business enterprises. He was particular- 
ly interested in the old Housatonic Vol- 
unteer Fire Company and one of the 
small steamers now owned by the city 
was for years known as the Edwin Clapp 
Steamer, No. 1. He was an upright citi- 
zen, a good neighbor, a wise counselor 
and a true friend. He married (first) 
Emily Peck, who bore him three chil- 
dren, all of whom died in infancy. He 
married (second) Mary Martin, who bore 
him two children: Maria, who died at an 
early age, and Mary Campbell, who be- 
came the wife of Mr. Bagg. 

Mrs. Bagg’s early school days were 
spent at Miss Clara Hall’s school for 
girls, and later she attended Miss Salis- 
bury’s school. Amid the surroundings 
and influence of her early home life she 
developed a strong character, and aided 
by the able counsel of her father and 
mother she formed in early life a keen in- 
terest in business affairs, in which she 


was most successful. She was always in- 
terested in anything that made for the 
good and welfare of her native place, 
Pittsfield, and was in many ways the 
benefactress of those who were in need. 
She loved Pittsfield and the Berkshires 
and spent much time during the summer 
months with her husband driving about 
the county. Mrs. Bagg loved her home 
and to it her friends were always wel- 
come, for she loved to entertain and share 
with others the pleasures of her happy 
life. Blessed with a cheerful and hopeful 
disposition, she could always see the 
bright side of life. She was a member of 
the First Church and its Ladies’ Benevo- 
lent Society. She was also a member of 
the board of control and one of the 
finance committee of the Berkshire Coun- 
ty Home for Aged Women. She was 
also a member of the McAll Auxiliary, 
the Country Club, the Berkshire Congre- 
gational Club, the Wednesday Morning 
Club and the Berkshire Animal Rescue 
League. Mrs. Bagg was very fond of 
horses, and while almost everybody gave 
up the horses for the automobile, she 
never would ; she erected a watering tub 
in front of her farm on West Housatonic 
street in memory of Frank, the faithful 
old family horse who had lived to be thir- 
ty-seven years old. 

BAKER, Charles Howard, 

Manufacturer, Public Official. 

Since 1898 a retired shoe manufacturer 
of Lynn, Massachusetts, but still inter- 
ested officially in Lynn business concerns, 
Mr. Baker is rounding out a life of useful- 
ness and honor. His business career illus- 
trates most forcibly that small beginnings 
are not to be despised and that perse- 
verance, carefulness and thoroughness 
make always for success. These traits of 
his character stand out most prominently 
and their value is attested by the success 

with which he has conducted every enter- 
prise of his life. No detail was so small 
as to be overlooked and when later he 
was called to positions of financial trust 
and to positions of honor in City and 
State these traits, so well known, caused 
him to be much sought for in counsel 
when plans were being worked out affect- 
ing public and private interests. 

Mr. Baker is one of the rapidly passing 
away veterans of the Civil War, he en- 
listing when a lad of seventeen years and 
serving until the last shot was fired. His 
service to his adopted city has been valu- 
able as councilman, alderman and board 
of public works official, and to his State 
he has given of his strength in legislative 
bodies. In every position to which he has 
been called by the votes of his fellow men 
he has displayed the same qualities of 
carefulness, thoroughness and devotion to 
duty that were so noticeable in conducting 
his private business, and now that the 
evening of life is approaching and the 
shadows are lengthening, he carries the 
esteem and respect of the city to which 
he came on his return from the army in 
1865, a veteran at the age of eighteen 

Charles Howard Baker was born in 
Solon, Maine, February 2, 1847, son °f 
Howard and Maria A. (Boise) Baker, 
his mother a daughter of Bartholomew 
Broadhurst Boise, of Skowhegan, Maine, 
his father a descendant in lineal line from 
Francis Baker, who came from Stratford- 
on-Avon, England, to Yarmouth, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1631. Charles H. Baker was 
educated in the public schools of South 
Weymouth, Massachusetts, which he at- 
tended until a youth of seventeen, then in 
June, 1864, enlisted as a drummer boy in 
Company G, Fourth Regiment Massachu- 
setts Heavy Artillery. He continued in 
the service until the close of the war, then 
with an honorable discharge returned to 
private life, locating in Lynn. 


He was then eighteen years of age, and 
with nothing but character as an asset he 
took up the actual business of life. He 
entered that avenue of employment that 
has been trodden by so many Lynn young 
men and as a shoemaker worked for sev- 
eral years. The quality of his character 
was soon observed by his employers and 
in much less time than is usually required 
he was promoted to be foreman of a de- 
partment. He mastered the detail of shoe 
manufacture, and having been economical 
he was in a position to become a con- 
tractor, at that time the manufacturers 
having stitching done by contract. He 
made both reputation and money as a 
stitching contractor and the next step 
logically followed. In 1878 he became a 
shoe manufacturer as head of the firm of 
Baker & Creighton, their daily output at 
the beginning being but twelve cases. But 
from this small beginning grew a large 
and prosperous business that had been so 
well and so carefully conducted that 
twenty years after their start (1898) Mr. 
Baker retired. He was charter member 
and for several years he was a director of 
the Lynn Safe Deposit and Trust Com- 
pany, that institution availing itself freely 
of his business sagacity. He still con- 
tinues a director of the Lynn Gas Com- 
pany and has had an active part in the 
up building of that most progressive com- 

Mr. Baker served the city of Lynn as 
member of Common Council in 1880, as 
alderman in 1881 and 1882, as a member 
of the State Legislature, 1883. in 1890 and 
1891 as a member of the Massachusetts 
Legislature ; in 1892 and 1893 as State 
Senator, later on he was for three years 
member of the Lynn Board of Public 
Works, and in each position added to the 
already proud record made as a business 
man. This is Mr. Baker’s record of half 
a century spent in Lynn. In business life. 

in city service or in State legislative halls 
he has stood for all that was just, never 
sacrificing principle for popularity or per- 
sonal benefit of any kind. He has fairly 
won the high regard of his fellow men, 
and from whatever angle viewed his life 
must be deemed one of most successful 
effort. In political faith he is a Repub- 
lican, in religious preference a Baptist. 
He is a member of General Lauder Post, 
No. 5, Grand Army of the Republic; his 
clubs the Oxford, Park and Republican. 

Mr. Baker married, in 1872, H. Eliza- 
beth, daughter of John Hoyt, of Ames- 
bury, Massachusetts. Children : Perley 
H., married Bessie P. Graham and has a 
daughter Virginia; C. Albert; Fred arid 
Frank, twins, died in infancy ; Walter and 
Willie, twins, died in infancy; Bessie 
May, married Albert Whipple and has a 
son, Howard Baker Whipple. 

CHASE, Simeon B., 

Man of Affairs. 

The surname Chase is derived from the 
French “chasser,” to hunt, and the fam- 
ily has been prominent in England since 
the first use of surnames. The seat of the 
family in England was at Chesham, in 
Buckinghamshire, through which runs a 
rapidly flowing river called the Chess, 
whence the name of the town and perhaps 
also of the family. Thomas and Aquila 
Chase, brothers, whose English ancestry 
is traced to remote antiquity, are believed 
to have been cousins of William Chase, 
the immigrant ancestor, mentioned below. 
Some branches of this family in America 
have used the spelling Chace, but the 
form in most general use is that at the 
head of this article. 

(I) William Chase, a native of Eng- 
land, born in 1595, came to America in 
Governor Winthrop’s fleet in 1630, ac- 
companied by his wife Mary and son Wil- 



liam. He settled first in Roxbury, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he became a member 
of the First Church, presided over by 
Rev. John Eliot, the Indian Apostle. In 
the autumn following his arrival he was 
propounded for freeman, and was admit- 
ted May 14, 1634. About 1637 he joined 
the company which established a new 
plantation at Yarmouth in what is now 
Barnstable county, Massachusetts. There 
he served as constable in 1639, and con- 
tinued to reside there until his death, in 
May, 1659. In October following his 
widow passed away. William Chase was 
a soldier against the Narragansett In- 
dians in 1645. He had two children born 
after his arrival in America, namely: 
Mary, May, 1637, in Roxbury, and Ben- 
jamin, 1639, in Yarmouth. 

(II) William (2), eldest son of Wil- 
liam (1) and Mary Chase, was born about 
1622, in England, and accompanied his 
father to Yarmouth, where he lived, and 
died February 27, 1685. There is no rec- 
ord of his wife. His children were: Wil- 
liam, Jacob, John, Elizabeth, Abraham, 
Joseph, Benjamin and Samuel. 

(III) Benjamin, son of William (2) 
Chase, lived in Portsmouth, Rhode Island, 
and married Amey Borden, born May 30, 
1678, daughter of John and Mary (Earle) 
Borden. She died before 1716. Children: 
Patience, born April 16, 1699; Elizabeth, 
June 16, 1701; Amey, July 21, 1702; Na- 
than, mentioned below; Benjamin and 

(IV) Nathan, eldest son of Benjamin 
and Amey (Borden) Chase, was born Jan- 
uary 13, 1704, and lived in Portsmouth, 
where he married, April 29, 1731, Eliza- 
beth Shaw. Children : Borden, born Feb- 
ruary 28, 1732; Holder, mentioned below; 
Amey, December 6, 1734; Clark, May 2, 
1736; Anna, April 12, 1738; Content, July 
5, 1741; Benjamin, December 25, 1747; 
Hannah, March 15, I 75 °- 

(V) Holder, second son of Nathan and 
Elizabeth (Shaw) Chase, was born Au- 
gust 24, 1733, in Portsmouth, and lived in 
that town, where he died in February, 
1820. He married there, February 21, 
1760, Freeborn, daughter of Joseph and 
Sarah (Durfee) Dennis, born August 18, 
1739, in Portsmouth. Children: Nathan, 
died in childhood; Sarah, born 1765, mar- 
ried Benjamin Mott, of Portsmouth; Na- 
than, 1766, married Anne Sherman, of 
Portsmouth, daughter of Sampson and 
Ruth (Fish) Sherman; Anna, 1768, mar- 
ried in Portsmouth, John Weeden, of 
Jamestown, Rhode Island; Eliza; Bor- 
den, married (first) September 12, 1802, 
Sarah Folger, (second) Ruth Bunker, 
both of Nantucket, Massachusetts ; Amey, 
died in childhood ; Abner, born in Ports- 
mouth, married there, October 5, 1803, 
Deborah Chace, daughter of Benjamin 
and Mary (Almy) Chace ; Clark, men- 
tioned below ; Freeborn, died unmarried, 
November 23, 1819. 

(VI) Clark, fifth son of Holder and 

Freeborn (Dennis) Chase, married in 
Tiverton, Rhode Island, December 26, 
1811, Anne Borden, daughter of Simeon 
and Amey (Briggs) Borden. Children: 
Simeon B., born October 5, 1812, died No- 
vember 8, 1832; Amey A., July 9, 1814, 
married, January 5, 1838, Humphrey 

Almy ; Borden, mentioned below ; Philip 
Briggs, February 3, 1818, married Sarah, 
daughter of William Earle and Eunice 
(Sherman) Cook; Sarah Freeborn, Feb- 
ruary 17, 1820, married Stephen Davol, of 
Fall River (see Davol VII); Eliza, May 
3, 1822, married Charles Fowler, of Brook- 
lyn, New York ; Charles, February 2, 1824, 
married Frances C. Pearce, of Bristol, 
Rhode Island, and had children, Charles 
and George; Nathaniel B., November 1, 
1825, married Louise M. Pierson, and had 
children, Howard and Ethel ; Alfred 
Clark, March 21, 1833, married (first) 


Mrs. Clapp and (second) Ruth Anthony, 
and had children, Ruth (Mrs. Hedley) 
and Edmund. 

(VII) Borden, second son of Clark and 
Anne (Borden) Chase, was born April 5, 
1816, and resided in Portsmouth, engaged 
in agriculture until 1875, when he re- 
moved to Fall River, Massachusetts. His 
farm was one of the handsomest of the 
section, and his home was noted for its 
bountiful hospitality. In 1871 he engaged 
in the coal business at Fall River, estab- 
lishing the Fall River Coal Company, and 
was subsequently for some time inter- 
ested in the Globe Coal Company of that 
city. For many years he was a warden 
of the Church of the Ascension of Fall 
River, where he died February 20, 1897. 
He married in Portsmouth, December 24, 
1838, Elizabeth Anthony Thomas, of that 
city, daughter of Joseph and Hannah S. 
(Anthony) Thomas (see Thomas IV and 
Anthony IX). Children: Annie Borden, 
mentioned below. 2. Frederick, born Sep- 
tember 13, 1842, married (first) Louise 
Tallman, of Portsmouth, (second) Edith 
Snell. 3. Clark, January 10, 1846, married 
Emma F. Boyd, and had children, Eliza- 
beth C. ; Clark and Charles Borden. 4. 
Simeon Borden, January 10, 1849, men- 
tioned below. 

(VIII) Annie Borden, eldest child of 
Borden and Elizabeth A. (Thomas) 
Chase, was born January 10, 1840, in 
Portsmouth, and became the wife of Wil- 
liam, H. Jennings, of Fall River (see Jen- 
nings VII). 

(VIII) Simeon Borden Chase, young- 
est son of Borden and Elizabeth A. 
(Thomas) Chase, was born January 10, 
1849, in Portsmouth. Rhode Island, where 
he spent his early years, and attended the 
public schools until about eighteen years 
of age. He then pursued a course in a 
business college at Providence, and grad- 
uating from that institution, became a 

clerk in the office of the Merchants’ 
Manufacturing Company in Fall River, 
Massachusetts. Having an enterprising 
nature, and possessed of a desire to see 
something of the country, he made a trip 
to the west in 1870, and spent about a 
year and one-half in the State of Ne- 
braska. On his return to Fall River, he 
resumed his employment in the office of 
the Merchants’ Manufacturing Company, 
and again took up his duties there as 
bookkeeper. In the year 1875 he accepted 
a more responsible position at the Tecum- 
seh Mills, of which he became treasurer, 
and continued in that position until about 
1882, when he resigned and returned to 
the Merchants’ Manufacturing Company 
as treasurer of that corporation. Since 
February, 1885, he has been treasurer of 
the King Philip Mills, in Fall River, one 
of the largest in that city, and a very old 
and prosperous establishment. Mr. Chase 
is a very capable and enterprising busi- 
ness man, and has invested of his means 
in various industries in Fall River, includ- 
ing the Barnaby Manufacturing Com- 
pany, of which he was president ; the 
Crystal Spring Bleaching and Dyeing 
Company; the Wampanoag Mills, and the 
Globe Yarn Mills. In 1898 he became 
president of the Stevens Manufacturing 
Company. He is treasurer and director 
of the Tecumseh Mills; president and 
director of the Metacomet National Bank ; 
director of the Osborn Mills, the Davol 
Mills, the Merchants’ Manufacturing 
Company, Stevens Manufacturing Com- 
pany, Boston Manufacturers’ Mutual In- 
surance Company, the Fall River Manu- 
facturers’ Mutual Insurance Company, 
the North American Hat Company, and 
the Samoset Company, of Valley Falls, 
Rhode Island. It is thus apparent that he 
has little time for matters not connected 
with the business affairs of his home city. 
He has never sought to mingle in public 


matters, and accepted no official position 
except that of a member of the common 
council, which was his duty as a citizen. 
He is now a member of the Massachu- 
setts State Board of Education, by ap- 
pointment of Governor Draper. For 
many years he has been an earnest stu- 
dent of economic questions, especially of 
the tariff, and is a firm believer in the pro- 
tective policy as applied to American in- 
dustry. It is needless to say that he is a 
Republican, and he has sought to further 
the interests of his party by making 
speeches in its behalf, and in other ways 
furthering its interests, believing them to 
be the interests of the country. He is 
recognized as an able public speaker, and 
has been often invited to deliver lectures 
and read essays before various literary 
societies of Fall River. His writings are 
notable for practical insight and original 
presentation of his views. Among pro- 
gressive men he is known widely as a 
vigorous thinker and a vigorous writer, 
he naturally takes a high position in the 
business circles and social life of his home 
city, where he is esteemed for his high 
principles, upright character and endear- 
ing personal qualities. He married, March 
19, 1874, Louise Whitman Hills, born No- 
vember 2, 1848, daughter of John E. and 
Mary (Whitman) Hills, of Fall River 
(see Hills VII). Children: 1. Mary Whit- 
man, Mrs. William Wilson Heaton, resid- 
ing at Greenwich, Connecticut ; has three 
children : Mary, Chase and Sarah. 2. 

Anne Borden, wife of Philip E. Tripp, of 
Fall River, and they have two children, 
Borden and Judith. 3. Louise S., Mrs. 
George Hewitt Myers, of Washington, 
D. C. ; has three children, Persis Chase, 
Mary Hewitt and Louise Chase. 4. Gene- 
vieve, who married Richard K. Hawes, 
of Fall River, and they have one son, 
Richard K., Jr. 5. Florence, married Paul 
Gifford, of Fall River, and they are now 
living in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. 

(The Hills Line). 

(I) William Hills, son of Thomas and 
Jane (Scarborrow) Hills, of Upminster, 
Essex, England, born December 27, 1608, 
came in the ship “Lyon,” sailing from 
Bristol, June 24, 1632, and entered the 
harbor of Boston, September 16, 1632. He 
became a resident of Roxbury, where he 
was admitted a freeman May 14, 1634, and 
removed to Hartford, Connecticut, where 
he was one of the original and early mem- 
bers of the First Church, bought a large 
tract of land at Hoccanum (East Hart- 
ford), and resided there for many years. 
He probably died at Hartford in 1683. He 
married (first) Phillis, daughter of Rich- 
ard Lyman ; (second) the widow of Rich- 
ard Risley, who died prior to October 17, 
1648; (third) Mary, widow of John Steele, 
Jr., of Farmington, who died there in 
1654, daughter of Andrew Warner, of 
Hadley, Massachusetts. His children, so 
far as a record has been found, all born at 
Hartford, were : William, mentioned be- 
low ; John; Joseph, baptized March 17, 
1650; Benjamin; Susannah, born 1651; 
Mary, 1654; Jonathan; Hannah; Sarah. 

(II) William (2), son of William (1) 

Hills, born about 1646, in Hartford, mar- 
ried Sarah, and their children, the first 
three born in Hartford, and the others 
in East Hartford, were : Mary, 1667 ; 

Phillis, 1669, married John Parsons; Han- 
nah, 1672, married William Butler ; Eben- 
ezer, 1676; John, 1679, married Margaret 
Dix; Esther, 1681 ; Joseph, mentioned be- 
low ; William, about 1690. The father 
w'as buried at Hartford, August 15, 1693. 

(III) Joseph, second son of William 

(2) and Sarah Hills, was born 1683, in 
East Hartford, died April 29, 1751, at 
Farmington. He married Abigail Noyes, 
who died September 23, 1751, at Farm- 
ington. Children, all born at Farming- 
ton: Joseph, born January 16, 1709; 

Abraham, March 28, 1711, married Eliza- 
beth Hodgkins; James, January 2, 1713; 


Sarah; Gideon, June 4, 1714; F.henezer ; 
David, mentioned below ; Esther ; Jona- 
than, February ig, 1721 ; Moses, June 20, 
1723; Abigail, July 19, 1725; Hannah; 
William, January 20, 1727. 

(IV) David, sixth son of Joseph and 

Abigail (Noyes) Hills, born September 
15, 1716, in Farmington, died after June, 
1790. He lived for a time in Hartford or 
Fast Hartford, and in 1751 bought a 
house and forty acres of land in Farming- 
ton. As of that town, in 1757 he sold his 
estate of one hundred and thirty-eight 
acres of land, and a mansion house, in 
East Hartford, to Stephen Cone, of Bos- 
ton. He married Anna, daughter of Zebu- 
Ion Deming, died October 30, 1804. She 
had married (first) John Plart, of New 
Britain. Children of which record has 
been found : Amos, mentioned below ; 

Agift, born about 1747 (both in East 
Hartford) ; Susannah, baptized June 22, 
1748; George, June 28, 1760 (both in 

(V) Amos, eldest child of David and 
Anna (Deming) Hills, born about 1745, 
in East Hartford, died in Farmington, 
April 9, 1813, aged sixty-eight years. He 
married, in 1773, Rachel Lewis, born in 
Middletown, Connecticut, in August, 
1750, died October 4, 1818. Children, the 
first four born probably in East Hartford, 
and the others in Farmington, were: 
Rachel, March 30, 1774, died October 17, 
1774; Rachel, March 19, 1775; Amos, 
March 6, 1777; Mary A., November 3, 
1780; James H., March 8, 1782; Sylvia, 
September 20, 1783; Chauncy, mentioned 
below; Katherine, March 3, 1788; a son, 
born and died in May, 1790. 

(VI) Chauncy, third son of Amos and 
Rachel (Lewis) Hills, born December 2, 
1784, in Farmington, lived in that town, 
and died June 20, 1857. He married, 
April 6, 1806, Susan Craig, born January 
17. 1788, died August 24, 1839. Children, 

all born in Farmington: Emily, Novem- 
ber 30, 1806; Rachel, January 17, 1808, 
married Hopkins Stevens ; Frances, May 
10, 1810; Mary A., died young; Mary A., 
born January 26, 1814; Reuben, Febru- 
ary, 1816; Reuben L., February 21, 1818, 
married Sarah A. Burrows; Andrew, Oc- 
tober 14, 1820; John E., mentioned be- 
low; Amos, 1824; Chauncy, July, 1826; 
Margaret Emily, February 9, 1830; 

Chauncy H., July 1, 1832. 

(VII) John E., fourth son of Chauncy 
and Susan (Craig) Hills, was born June 
7, 1823, in Farmington, and died Decem- 
ber 29, 1900, at Newton, Massachusetts. 
He married (first) in Farmington, Mary 
Ann, born in Farmington, daughter of 
Judge Lemuel and Emily (Case) Whit- 
man, of that town (see Whitman VI). 
She died at Delaware, Ohio, April 25, 
1854, and he married (second), August 
18, i860, at Fall River, Massachusetts, 
Almirah Brigham Chace, a native of that 
town, died March 11, 1897, in Newton, 
Massachusetts. Children by first wife, 
born at Delaware, Ohio: William T., 

April 25, 1847, died at Fall River, unmar- 
ried ; Louise W., mentioned below; 
George H., May 24, 1851, living in Fall 
River. Children by second wife, born at 
Cincinnati: Minerva B., May 19, 1862, 
living in Boston ; Mary Augusta, Septem- 
ber, 1863, living in Boston. 

(VIII) Louise W., only daughter of 
John E. and Mary Ann (Whitman) Hills, 
was born November 2, 1848, in Delaware, 
Ohio, and became the wife of Simeon 
Borden Chase, of Fall River (see Chase 

(The Whitman Line). 

(I) John Whitman, of Weymouth, was 
of English birth, and is believed to have 
come from, Holt, Norfolkshire, which ap- 
pears to have been a seat of the Whit- 
mans for many years anterior. Winthrop 
and his colonists came from the vicinity 



of Holt and settled in Weymouth. John 
Whitman came to Weymouth probably 
about 1635, was made freeman March 13, 
1639, town officer 1643, appointed by the 
governor ensign of the train band in 1645 
(probably the first military officer ap- 
pointed in the town), and served as such 
until March 16, 1680. May 14, 1645, he 
was appointed magistrate, commissioner 
to end small causes, and also was deacon 
of the church, probably from the time of 
its foundation, and sustained that office 
until his death, November 13, 1692. May 
15, 1664, he was appointed commissioner 
to visit the Indians, and at various other 
times filled offices of trust in the town. 
He owned and lived on a farm adjoining 
the north side of the highway leading by 
the north side of the meeting house of 
the north parish of Weymouth, and 
directly against it, and extending to Wey- 
mouth river. His house was near the 
middle of the farm, and it is said that a 
part of the building now on the place was 
erected about 1680; if this date is accu- 
rate, the building was occupied by the 
ancestor. A portion of it was purchased 
for the purpose of a memorial by Mr. 
William Whitman, of Brookline, a direct 
descendant in the eighth generation of 
John Whitman, of Weymouth. John 
Whitman had several grants of land, and 
by purchase and otherwise evidently be- 
came one of the most extensive land 
owners in the town. It is supposed that 
he married in England, and that his fam- 
ily did not come to Weymouth until 1641. 
He had a brother, Zachariah, who settled 
in Milford, Connecticut, as early as 1639, 
and by his will devised his estate at Mil- 
ford to Rev. Zechariah Whitman, son of 
his brother, John. Pope’s “Pioneers of 
Massachusetts” shows that Zachariah 
Whitman, age forty, came with his wife, 
Sarah, age thirty-five, and child, Zach- 
ariah, in the “Elizabeth,” from Wey- 

mouth, England, April 11, 1635. Deacon 
John Whitman had children: Thomas, 
born about 1629, died 1712; John, died 
February 1, 1713; Zechariah, mentioned 
below; Abiah (or Abijah), born 1646, died 
January 28, 1728, inherited the home- 
stead; Sarah, married Abraham Jones; 
Mary, born 1634, died July 10, 1716; Eliz- 
abeth, died February 2, 1720; Hannah, 
August 24, 1641 ; Judith. 

(II) Rev. Zechariah, third son of John 
Whitman, was born 1644, in Weymouth, 
graduated from Harvard College in 1668, 
was ordained September 13, 1670, and be- 
came the first minister at Point Alderton, 
Nantasket or Hull, with an annual salary 
of forty pounds. Marmaduke Matthews 
had been preaching at Hull, but on ac- 
count of “several erroneous expressions” 
was admonished by the court, “which 
would not grant the desire of his people 
to have him return.” Mr. Whitman re- 
mained minister at Hull until his death, 
although he had a colleague, Rev. Ezra 
Carpenter, ordained November 24, 1725. 
Mr. Whitman died November 5, 1726. He 
attained a ripe old age in the work of the 
ministry, and even when full of years his 
people would not part with him entirely, 
hence in August previous to his death the 
town voted to pay his children twenty- 
five pounds yearly for his maintenance 
while he lived and did not preach. He 
was a good and learned man, and it is 
said that during his active life he wrote 
most of the wills and legal papers for his 
people in Hull. A notice of him in the 
“Boston News Letter,” December 15, 
1726, states that “he was well esteemed 
for his natural and acquired accomplish- 
ments ; but especially for steady piety, 
diligent zeal and faithfulness in the dis- 
charge of his pastoral office ; the exem- 
plariness of his conversation ; and his 
patience and submission to the will of 
God under his afflictions.” On the death 

LS 4 


of his uncle, Zachariah Whitman, of Mil- 
ford, Mr. Whitman inherited his estate in 
that town, besides the remainder of a 
considerable property in lands at Stow. 
October 26, 1670. Rev. Zechariah Whit- 
man married Sarah, twin daughter of Dr. 
John Alcock (Harvard, 1646), of Rox- 
bury ; died April 3, 1715. Children, all 
born in Hull: Zechariah, 1672, died 1752; 
John, 1674, died February 22, 1684; 

Joanna, married and lived in Boston; 
Rev. Samuel, mentioned below ; Sarah, 
had a second husband, Lieutenant Robert 
Gould, cared for her father during his de- 
clining years, and he deeded her his 
homestead; Elizabeth, died in Hull, No- 
vember 19, 1708; John, born 1688; Mary, 
married Nathaniel Jacobs, of Hull; 
Eunice, born April 10, 1696, died October 
4. i/34- 

(III) Samuel, third son of Rev. Zech- 
ariah and Sarah (Alcock) Whitman, born 
at Hull, 1676, graduated at Harvard in 
1696, and is said to have been a tutor 
there for a short period. In 1699 he was 
employed as teacher of the grammar 
school at Salem, where he doubtless re- 
mained till he was called to preach at 
Farmington, Connecticut, at that time 
one of the largest and wealthiest towns in 
the State. He is mentioned as having 
occasionally preached at Lancaster, Mas- 
sachusetts, between 1697-1701. He was 
ordained at Farmington, December 10, 
1706, and remained there until his death. 
He had a high repute as a clergyman, and 
was much beloved by the people under 
his charge. He ranked among the first 
literary men of New England and was 
interested in all matters of education and 
culture. In 1726 he was appointed one 
of the fellows of Yale College, a position 
which he retained for more than twenty 
years. During Mr. Whitman’s ministry 
the second meeting house was begun in 
1709 and finished in 1714. He had by be- 


quest one-half his father’s lands in Stow, 
Massachusetts, and was appointed execu- 
tor of the will. His home stood on the 
main street, just in rear of the present 
savings bank and the property remained 
in the family until after 1863. He mar- 
ried, March 19, 1707, Sarah, daughter of 
Rev. Solomon and Esther (Warham) 
Stoddard, of Northampton, born April 1, 
1680, died September 10, 1755. She joined 
the church at Farmington by letter, Feb- 
ruary 11, 1711. Children: Rev. Elnathan, 
born January 12, 1709; Solomon, men- 
tioned below; Eunice, February 24, 1712; 
John, December 23, 1713; Dr. Samuel, 
January 13, 1716; Sarah, March 12, 1718; 
Elizabeth, January 17, 1721. 

(IV) Solomon, second son of Samuel 
and Sarah (Stoddard) Whitman, was 
born April 20, 1710, at Farmington. He 
settled on a portion of the homestead, and 
learned the trade of shoemaker, but ap- 
parently never followed it. He was well 
educated and deeply interested in all lit- 
erary matters. Early in life he was ap- 
pointed a magistrate by the colonial gov- 
ernment, and was honored by the citizens 
of his native town with offices of every 
grade. In 1751 he was appointed by the 
assembly as justice of the peace, an office 
which he held until 1767. In 1751 he was 
chosen deputy to the general assembly, 
and reelected for sixteen years. In 1769 
the probate court of the Farmington dis- 
trict was established, and he was the first 
judge appointed. He held the office of 
town clerk at the age of ninety-two, and 
inherited from his father large landed pos- 
sessions, which he improved by careful 
management, so that at his death he left 
a handsome property. He married (first), 
December 17, 1736, Susanna Cole, of 
Farmington, born 1715, died March 19, 
1772; (second) November 19, 1772, Ruth, 
daughter of John and Abigail (Stanley) 
Hooker, and widow of Asahel Strong, 


born April 16, 1708, died September 18, 
1777. He married (third) July 30, 1778, 
Ruth, daughter of Thomas and Mary 
(Thomson) Hart, and widow of William 
Wadsworth, born April 16, 1708, died 
February 20, 1779. Children: Chloe, born 
1737 ', Lemuel, August 1, 1739; Solomon, 
mentioned below; Elnathan, March 21, 
1746; Mar}*, May 8, 1751, died August 10, 
1751 ; Samuel, September 29, 1752. 

(V) Solomon (2), second son of Solo- 
mon (1) and Susanna (Cole) Whitman, 
was born February, 1743, in Farmington, 
and died there December 23, 1801. He 
was a civil engineer or surveyor, and in- 
herited a large amount of property from 
his father, which he managed with good 
judgment; was a leading man in his na- 
tive town. He married, February 17, 
1772, Mary, daughter of Abel and Ruth 
(Gridley) Thompson, born May 8, 1751, 
died March 30, 1817, surviving her hus- 
band over seventeen years. Children : 
Almira, born May 26, 1773; Susanna, No- 
vember 20, 1775 ; Polly, November 18, 
1777; Lemuel, mentioned below; Samuel, 
January 24, 1784 ; Nancy, October 8, 1787 ; 
Solomon, September 10, 1789; Edward, 
March 4, 1792; Fanny, June 20, 1794. 

(VI) Lemuel, eldest son of Solomon 
(2) and Mary (Thompson) Whitman, 
was born June 8, 1780, in Farmington, 
and entered Yale College at the age of 
sixteen years, graduating in 1800. For 
two years he taught in a young ladies’ 
seminary in Bermuda, and was called 
home by the death of his father. He then 
engaged in the study of law, with Judge 
Tappan Reeves, of Litchfield, where he 
had as a fellow student, John C. Calhoun, 
the noted Southern statesman, and they 
became warm friends, continuing thus 
through life. He began the practice of 
law in his native village and was active 
in politics. In 1818 he was appointed 
assistant judge of the superior court, and 

from 1819 to 1821 was associate judge of 
Hartford county court, and from 1821 to 
1823 was chief judge. He was one of 
three appointed to revise the statutes of 
the State. In 1823 he was elected by the 
Democrats to Congress, and his action in 
that body was guided by the highest prin- 
ciples. Without any consideration of its 
effect upon his personal or political popu- 
larity, he followed his judgment in every 
action. After the expiration of his term 
he resumed practice at home, and died 
November 13, 1841. He married, July 5, 
1820, Emily Case, daughter of Elisha and 
Delight (Griswold) Case, born Septem- 
ber 14, 1799, in West Simsbury, Connec- 
ticut, died in Hartford. Children: John 
C., born July 20, 1823; Mary Ann, men- 
tioned below; Louise Sarah, January 2, 
1827; Jane Susan, December 28, 1829; 
Henry Augustus, March 31, 1832; George 
Frederick, September 15, 1834. 

(VII) Mary Ann, eldest daughter of 
Lemuel and Emily (Case) Whitman, was 
born March 28, 1825, and was married, 
August 5, 1846, to John E. Hills, of Farm- 
ington (see Hills VII). 

EARLE, Lloyd S., 

Contracting Builder, Man of Affairs. 

An extended history of the early gener- 
ations of the Earle family appears else- 
where in this work, beginning with Ralph 
Earle, born in England, and doubtless 
married there Joan Savage. He was in 
Newport, Rhode Island, as early as 1638. 
His second son, William Earle, resided in 
Portsmouth until about 1670, when he 
removed to Dartmouth, where he had a 
large landed interest. He was the father 
of Thomas Earle, who died at his home- 
stead in Warwick, Rhode Island. His 
third son, Oliver Earle, lived for a time 
in New York City, where he was engaged 
in the East India trade. He married Re- 


i?Uh : ,"C ■ : ■ Ry! 


becca Sherman, and their second son, 
Caleb Earle, was born in Swansea, Mas- 
sachusetts, and lived there. He married 
(first) Sarah Buffington, and (second) 
Hannah Chase, of Swansea. 

(VI) Weston, eldest son of Caleb and 
Sarah (Buffington) Earle, was born April 
18, 1750, in Swansea, where he resided 
until his death, which occurred Septem- 
ber 5, 1838. He was buried in the Friends’ 
cemetery in Somerset, Massachusetts. 
He married (first) Hepzibeth Terry, (sec- 
ond) Sarah Slade, (third) Martha S. 
Smith. Children by first marriage : Caleb, 
born February 27, 1771 ; Sarah, 1777; 
Hepzibeth, 1778. By second marriage: 
John, May 24, 1790; Slade, mentioned be- 
low; Edward S., October 17, 1795. By 
third marriage: Thomas G., October 19, 

(VII) Slade, third son of Weston 
Earle, and child of his second wife, Sarah 
Slade, was born October 16, 1791, in 
Swansea, lived in Somerset, and died Sep- 
tember 21, 1872, in Fall River, Massachu- 
setts. He married, in 1812, Hannah, 
daughter of Robert and Martha Gibbs, of 
Somerset, and granddaughter of John 
Gibbs, of Swansea, Massachusetts. John 
Gibbs, of Swansea, was a private in Cap- 
tain Peleg Shearman’s company, Colonel 
Thomas Carpenter’s (Bristol county) 
regiment, from October 13 to 18, 1775, 
five days, including travel from Swansea 
to Howland’s Ferry, on a secret expedi- 
tion to Rhode Island, at the request of 
General Spencer. He was in Captain 
Ward Swift’s company, Colonel Free- 
man’s regiment, four days, on an alarm at 
Dartmouth and Falmouth, September 6, 
1778. He was in Captain Peleg Peck’s 
company under the same colonel from 
August 3 to August 9, 1780, seven days, 
company marched to Tiverton on an 
alarm. All Swansea men were consoli- 
dated in one company under Captain Peck 

by order of Colonel Slade. Children: 
Lloyd S., mentioned below ; Gibbs, born 
July 20, 1814, married Laura Carpen- 
ter; George W., April 25, 1818, mar- 
ried (first) Julia A. Vickery, (second) 
Mary E. Case; Slade W., January 24, 
1820, married (first) Elizabeth W. Wins- 
low, (second) Mary Becknell ; Hannah 
J., February 19, 1824, married William 
Maxim; John M., July 3, 1830, married 
Lucretia A. Sinsabaugh. 

(VIII) Lloyd Slade, eldest child of 
Slade and Plannah (Gibbs) Earle, was 
born December 11, 1812, in Somerset, and 
spent his youth in the town of Swansea, 
whither the family had removed. Until 
seventeen years of age he was occupied 
in season at work on his father’s farm or 
that of one in the neighborhood, in the 
meantime attending the schools of his 
vicinity. In 1829 he went to New Bed- 
ford for the purpose of learning the 
mason’s trade, and there served an ap- 
prenticeship at it with Messrs. Pierce & 
Wheaton, contractors and builders. Four 
years later, in the summer of 1834, after 
completing his apprenticeship, he went to 
Fall River, Massachusetts, and worked 
that season for Ephraim G. Woodman. 
In the fall he entered into a partnership 
with his brother-in-law, Danforth Horton, 
for the purpose of carrying on business 
as contractors and builders. For four 
years following, during the winter season, 
he taught school, first in his own district 
in Somerset, and later in Dighton. Messrs. 
Horton and Earle did an extensive and 
successful business in their line, and in 
i860, after the dissolution of the firm, Mr. 
Earle continued the same line of business 
alone, doing a large business through the 
remaining years of his active life. He 
erected some of the finest mills and houses 
in and about Fall River. Some of the 
mills which he built, which numbered al- 
most a score, were the Granite, the Amer- 



ican Print Works (which were destroyed 
by fire and rebuilt), Flint mills, Ameri- 
can Linen mills, Shove mills, the first 
Union mills, Bourne mill, Wampanoag 
mill No. 2, and the Pocasset mills. He 
gained a reputation as a successful con- 
tractor, especially for superior work in 
brick and stone and for finishing, plaster- 
ing interior work. Starting in life a poor 
boy Mr. Earle through his own efforts, 
through his energy and industry, through 
the force of his make-up, rose to position 
and wealth, to occupy a most honorable 
place in society and substantial and use- 
ful citizenship. In politics he was a Dem- 
ocrat at first, and acted with the Free- 
soil party, becoming a Republican on the 
formation of that party in 1856 and acting 
with it thereafter. He served one term in 
the common council of Fall River, and 
was a representative from that city in the 
General Court of Massachusetts in 1860- 
61. For many years he was actively con- 
nected with some of the leading enter- 
prises of Fall River, and ever took a deep 
interest in the public improvements of the 
city. He was especially interested and 
active in the moral and religious life of 
the place, and was a strong advocate of 
temperance, he himself never using strong 
liquors of any kind or tobacco. He was 
identified with the First Baptist Church 
in Fall River, and was active in Sunday 
school work, serving off and on through 
forty or more years as a teacher in the 
school. Pie was president of the Robeson 
Mill, a director in the Shove, Wampanoag, 
Robeson and Bourne Mills, for a number 
of years a director of the Pocasset Na- 
tional Bank, a trustee of the Citizens’ Sav- 
ings Bank and a member of the board of 
investment of the latter institution. Mr. 
Earle died August 11, 1895. He married, 
in 1836, Persis P. Sherman, born Janu- 
ary 23, 1808, daughter of Carlton and 
Sarah (Brayton) Sherman, died April 

16, 1884 (see Sherman VI). Their only 
child was Andrew Brayton Earle, men- 
tioned below. 

(IX) Andrew Brayton, only child of 
Lloyd Slade and Persis P. (Sherman) 
Earle, born February 27, 1837, received 
his education in the public schools of Fall 
River, graduating from the high school 
when eighteen years of age, and from, the 
time he commenced work was identified 
with the grocery business. After leaving 
school he clerked for several small deal- 
ers until ready to engage in business on 
his own account, forming a partnership 
with Stephen Taber, located on South 
Main street. Mr. Earle had just with- 
drawn from this association to go into 
business with his father when his un- 
timely death occurred, January 12, 1867, 
before he had completed his thirtieth year. 
He was a man of high aims and character, 
and though not a church member, he held 
to the tenets of Christianity and rever- 
enced its doctrines. He married, August 
26, 1858, Hannah E. Borden, born in Fall 
River, January 5, 1839, daughter of Dur- 
fee and Grace (Read) Borden, and grand- 
daughter of Lemuel and Ruth (Borden) 
Borden, the latter a daughter of Parker 
Borden and he a son of William Borden. 
Mrs. Earle died March 17, 1915, at her 
home in Fall River, and was buried in 
Oak Grove Cemetery. They had chil- 
dren: Lloyd Brayton, born May 2, i860, 
died February 14, 1862; Emma Persis, 
March 26, 1862, and died April 13, I9 I 5> 
married, June 15, 1893, Dr. Charles W. 
Connell, of Fall River, and has had two 
children — Clarissa Earle, born May 26, 
1894, and Grace, April 29, 1896, died Jan- 
uary 28, 1899; Mary A., mentioned below. 

(X) Mary A., younger daughter of An- 
drew Brayton and Hannah E. (Borden) 
Earle, was born April 21, 1864, and mar- 
ried, April 29, 1886, Edwin Howard Davis, 
of Somerset, born February 2, i860, son of 



Baylies and Abbie (Gibbs) Davis, and he 
died February 23, 1894. They had one 
daughter, Persis Earle, born April 27, 
1888, married, March 10, 1909, Orator 
Francis Woodward, of Le Roy, New 
York, and they have one daughter, Ruth 
Woodward, born February 27, 1916, in 
Rochester, New York, where they reside. 

(The Sherman Line). 

The surname of Sherman in England is 
of German origin, and at the present time 
in Germany and adjacent countries the 
name is found spelled Schurman, Schear- 
man, Scherman. It is derived from the 
occupation of some progenitor, that of 
cloth dresser or shearer of cloth. The 
family bore the Suffolk coat-of-arms, and 
probably lived in the county of Suffolk, 
whence they removed to Essex in the fif- 
teenth century. The name in early Rhode 
Island records and in Swansea, Massa- 
chusetts, is spelled Shearman. It is found 
in England as early as 1420, and through 
wills and other documents is traced as 
follows : 

(I) Thomas Sherman, Gentleman, born 
about 1420, resided at Diss and Yaxley, 
England, died 1493. He had a wife Agnes 
and a son, 

(II) John Sherman, a gentleman of 
Yaxley, born about 1450, died November, 
1504. He married Agnes, daughter of 
Thomas Fullen. They had a son, 

(III) Thomas (2) Sherman, born about 
1480, died in November, 1551. He re- 
sided at Diss, on the river Waveney, be- 
tween the counties of Norfolk and Suf- 
folk. His will mentions property includ- 
ing the manors of Royden and Royden 
Tuft, with appurtenances, at Royden and 
Bessingham, and other properties in Nor- 
folk and Suffolk. His wife, Jane, who 
was probably not his first, was a daugh- 
ter of John Waller, of Wortham, Suffolk. 
Children: Thomas, Richard, John, Henry, 

William, Anthony, Francis, Bartholomew 
and James. 

(IV) Henry, son of Thomas (2) Sher- 
man, was born about 1530, in Yaxley, and 
is mentioned in his father’s will. His 
will, made January 20, 1589, proved July 
25, 1590, was made at Colchester, where 
he lived. His first wife, Agnes Butler, 
was buried October 14, 1580. He married 
(second) Margery Wilson, a widow. 
Children : Henry, mentioned below ; Ed- 
mund, married Ann Clere, died 1601, his 
son, Edmund, was father of Rev. John 
Sherman, of New Haven, Connecticut, 
where Edmund died in 1641 ; Dr. Robert, 
of London; Judith, a daughter, married 
Nicholas Fynce, and John, died witho'ut 

(V) Henry (2), son of Henry (1) Sher- 
man, was born about 1555, in Colchester, 
and resided in Dedham, County Essex, 
where he made his will August 21, proved 
September 8, 1610. He married Susan 
Hills, whose will was made ten days after 
his, and proved in the following month. 
Six of the sons mentioned below were 
living when the father died. Henry, born 
1571, died 1642; Samuel, mentioned be- 
low; Susan, 1575; Edmond or Edward, 
about 1577; Nathaniel, 1580, died young; 
Nathaniel, 1582; John, August 17, 1585; 
Elizabeth, about 1587; Ezekiel, July 25, 
1589; Mary, July 27, 1592; Daniel, 1594; 
Anne, married Thomas Wilson ; Phebe, 
married Simeon Fenn. 

(VI) Samuel, son of Henry (2) and 
Susan (Hills) Sherman, was born 1573, 
and died in Dedham, in 1615. He mar- 
ried Philippa Ward. 

(I) Philip Sherman, seventh child of 
Samuel and Philippa (Ward) Sherman, 
was born February 5, 1610, in Dedham, 
and died in 1687, in Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island. He came to America when 
twenty-three years old, and settled at 
Roxbury, Massachusetts, where he was 


made freeman May 14, 1634, standing 
next on the list after Governor Haynes. 
In 1635 he returned to England for a 
short time, but was again in Roxbury, 
November 20, 1637, when he and others 
were warned to give up all arms because 
“the opinions and revelations of Mr. 
Wheelwright and Mrs. Hutchinson have 
seduced and led into dangerous errors 
many of the people here in New Eng- 
land.” The church record says he was 
brought over to “Familism” by Porter, 
his wife’s stepfather. In 1636 he was one 
of the purchasers of the island of Aquid- 
neck, now Rhode Island, and on the for- 
mation of a government in 1639 became 
secretary under Governor William Cod- 
dington. The Massachusetts authorities 
evidently believed he was still under their 
jurisdiction, for, on March 12, 1638, 

though he had summons to appear at the 
next court, “if they had not yet gone to 
answer such things as shall be objected.” 
He did not answer this summons, but 
continued to be a prominent figure in 
Rhode Island affairs. He continued to 
serve the public, was made freeman 
March 16, 1641, was general recorder 
1648 to 1652, and deputy from 1665 to 
1667. He was among the sixteen persons 
who were requested, on April 4, 1676, to 
be present at the next meeting of the 
deputies to give advice and help in regard 
to the Narragansett campaign. He was 
public-spirited and enterprising. After 
his removal to Rhode Island he left the 
Congregational church and united with 
the Society of Friends. Tradition affirms 
that he was “a devout but determined 
man.” The early records prepared by 
him still remain in Portsmouth, and show 
him to have been a very neat and expert 
penman, as well as an educated man. His 
will showed that he was wealthy for the 
times. In 1634 he married Sarah Odding, 
stepdaughter of John Porter, of Roxbury, 

and his wife, Margaret, who was a widow 
Odding at the time of her marriage to 
Porter. Philip Sherman’s children : Eber, 
born 1634, lived in Kingstown, Rhode 
Island, died in 1706; Sarah, 1636, married 
Thomas Munford ; Peleg, mentioned be- 
low; Mary, 1639, died young; Edmond. 
1641, lived in Portsmouth and Dartmouth, 
died in 1719; Samson, 1642; William, 
1643, died young; John, 1644, a farmer 
and blacksmith in what is now South 
Dartmouth, died April 16, 1734; Mary, 
1645, married Samuel Wilbur; Hannah, 

1647, married William Chase ; Samuel, 

1648, lived in Portsmouth, died October 
9, 1717; Benjamin, 1650, lived in Ports- 
mouth; Philippa, October 1, 1652, mar- 
ried Benjamin Chase. 

(II) Peleg, second son of Philip and 
Sarah (Odding) Sherman, was born 1638, 
in Portsmouth, Rhode Island, and died 
1719. He lived first in Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island, then in Dartmouth, Massachu- 
setts, and finally at Kingston, Rhode 
Island; was a farmer. He married, July 
25, 1657, Elizabeth Lawton, daughter of 
Thomas Lawton; she died 17x1. Chil- 
dren : Thomas, born August 8, 1658 ; Wil- 
liam, October 3, 1659; Daniel, June 15, 
1662; Mary, December 11, 1664; Peleg, 
October 8, 1666; Ann, April 30, 1668; 
Elizabeth, November 25, 1670; Samuel, 
mentioned below; Eber, October 20, 1674; 
John, October 28, 1676; Benjamin, July 
15, 1678; Sarah, January 25, 1680; Isa- 
belle, June 3, 1683; George, December 18, 

(III) Samuel, son of Peleg and Eliza- 
beth (Lawton) Sherman, was born July 
15, 1672, in Portsmouth, and had a wife 

(IV) Peleg (2), son of Samuel and 
Martha Sherman, was born October 27, 
1700, at Tiverton, Rhode Island, died Oc- 
tober 27, 1750, and married, September 3, 
1730, Innocent Wodell, who died June 13, 


1758. Children, born in Tiverton: Silas, 
mentioned below ; Sarah, July 28, 1749. 

(V) Silas, son of Peleg (2) and Inno- 
cent (Wodell) Sherman, was born Octo- 
ber 15, 1737, at Tiverton, and married, 
April 28, 1768, at Freetown, Penelope 

(VI) Carlton, son of Silas and Penelope 
(Baggs) Sherman, was born about 1775, 
and died July 10, 1849, in the seventy- 
fourth year of his age. He was a cabinet- 
maker by trade, and this, in connection 
with farming, was his occupation. He 
married in Fall River, March 29, 1804, 
Sarah, daughter of James Brayton, died 
January 15, 1845, aged seventy years. 
Children : Benjamin B., born February 3, 
1805; Zeriah A., June 15, 1806, married 
Benjamin Hambly ; Persis P., mentioned 
below ; Sarah Brayton, mentioned below. 

(VII) Persis P., second daughter of 
Carlton and Sarah (Brayton) Sherman, 
was born January 23, 1808, and became 
the wife of Lloyd Slade Earle, of Fall 
River (see Earle VIII). 

(VII) Sarah Brayton, youngest daugh- 
ter of Carlton and Sarah (Brayton) Sher- 
man, was born February 18, 1810, and be- 
came the wife of Danforth Horton, of 
Fall River (see Horton IV). 

(The Davis Line). 

Aaron Davis, founder of the family in 
this country lived at Newport, Rhode 
Island, and Dartmouth, Massachusetts, 
and died after 1713. He was a mason by 
trade. In 1694 he was one of the pro- 
prietors of Dartmouth, and in 1698 was 
ordained pastor of the First Baptist 
Church at Dartmouth. His wife’s name 
was Mary, and they had children: Wil- 
liam, mentioned below; Joshua, of New- 
port ; Aaron, of Little Compton ; Samuel, 
married Sarah Albro ; John. 

(II) William, eldest child of Aaron and 
Mary Davis, resided in Freetown, Massa- 

chusetts, where he served as a member of 
the grand jury in 1697. He married, 
March 1, 1686, Mary, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Ann (Johnson) Makepeace, of 
Freetown, Massachusetts, and grand- 
daughter of Thomas Makepeace, of Dart- 
mouth, and his wife, Mrs. Elizabeth Mel- 
lows. Children: William, born June 11, 
1688; Thomas, married Lydia, surname 
unknown ; John ; Jonathan, mentioned be- 
low ; Remembrance, married (first) Sarah 
Soul, of Tiverton, (second) Sarah Fox, 
of Freetown; Joseph; Rebecca, married 
William Cole; Elizabeth; Abigail, mar- 
ried Ephraim Hathaway, of Freetown, 
December 19, 1717; Anne, married, Jan- 
uary 29, 1723; Robert Evans; Hannah, 
married William Gage, of Freetown; 

(III) Jonathan, fourth son of William 
and Mary (Makepeace) Davis, was a resi- 
dent of Freetown, where he married, De- 
cember 24, 1730, Sarah Terry, of that 
town. Children: Silas, born January 1, 
17 32 ; Jonathan, mentioned below ; Joseph, 
mentioned below; Richard, February 1, 
1741 ; Cornelius, January 24, 1744. 

(IV) Jonathan (2), second son of Jon- 
athan (1) and Sarah (Terry) Davis, was 
born May 26, 1736, in Freetown, where he 
died January 1, 1808. Jonathan Davis was 
a private in Captain Daniel Gilbert’s com- 
pany, Colonel Jonathan Whitney’s regi- 
ment, from August 2 to September 13, 
1778, one month and sixteen days, includ- 
ing travel, at Rhode Island. He was a 
private in Captain George Lewis’ com- 
pany, Colonel Freeman’s regiment, five 
days, on an alarm at Bedford, Dartmouth 
and Falmouth, December 6, 1778. He 
married (first) March 20, 1757, Martha 
Baggs, of Freetown, and (second) Janu- 
ary 16, 1772, Sarah Treadwell. Children 
of first marriage: Margaret, died young; 
Jonathan, born January 7, 1770; probably 
others. Children of second marriage : 




Mercy, born January 27, 1773; Eleazer, 
May 11, 1735; and James, mentioned be- 

(V) James, youngest known child of 
Jonathan (2) and Sarah (Treadwell) 
Davis, was born June 10, 1777, in Free- 
town, and married, in 1797, Diana Sim- 
mons, of Somerset, Massachusetts. Chil- 
dren: Baylis, mentioned below; Nancy, 
married Barney Blossom ; Abby, wife of 
John Hall, and Nathan. 

(VI) Baylis, son of James and Diana 
(Simmons) Davis, resided in Somerset, 
and was a member of the Baptist church 
of that town. He married Nancy Sim- 

(VII) Captain Baylis Davis, son of 
Baylis (1) and Nancy (Simmons) Davis, 
was born June 18, 1826, in Somerset, fol- 
lowed the sea, becoming a master mari- 
ner, and died September 22, 1900, in Som- 
erset, in his seventy-fifth year. He mar- 
ried, June 26, 1848, Abby B. Gibbs, a 
native of Somerset, daughter of John and 
Plepsibeth (Gibbs) Gibbs, and grand- 
daughter of John and Jael (Chase) Gibbs. 
Hepsibeth Gibbs was born March 25, 
1787, died September 2, 1878. Mrs. Davis 
was born August 27, 1828, died January 
22, 1895. 

(VIII) Edwin Howard, son of Captain 
Baylis (2) and Abby B. (Gibbs) Davis, 
was born February 26, i860, in Somerset, 
and died February 23, 1894, in Fall River, 
Massachusetts, in his thirty-fourth year. 
He married, April 29, 1886, Mary A. 
Earle, born April 21, 1864, daughter of 
Andrew Brayton and Hannah E. (Bor- 
den) Earle, of Fall River (see Earle IX). 

(The Simmons Line). 

This name is of Dutch origin and is a 
contraction of the name as it first appeared 
in this country. At the time of the early 
Dutch immigration surnames were not 
common in Holland, and every man took 

his father’s baptismal name, with the 
syllable son added for a patronymic. Thus 
it occurs that this name is derived from 
Symonson. The original immigrant came 
from Leyden, Holland, and thus fell 
among the Pilgrims of New England. 
The first settlers of New York were his 
compatriots, and in the Empire State are 
many ancient families still preserving 
some form of the old Dutch names. 

(I) Moses Simonson, or Symonson, a 
native of Leyden, Holland, came to Plym- 
outh, Massachusetts, in the ship “For- 
tune,” in 1621, and settled in Duxbury, 
near Plymouth. His father was a com- 
municant of the Dutch church at Leyden, 
and Moses was one of the “purchasers” 
which entitled him to admission to the 
Plymouth church in this country, where 
his children were baptized. He was made 
a freeman in 1634, and served three years 
later as a juryman. In 1638 he received a 
grant of land in addition to one previ- 
ously made. He had sons Moses and 

(II) Moses (2), son of Moses (1) 
Simonson, or Simmons as the name very 
quickly was rendered by the English- 
speaking people, resided in Duxbury, 
where he died in 1689. He had a wife 
Sarah and children : John, Aaron, Mary, 
Elizabeth and Sarah, all of whom married 
and reared families. 

(III) Aaron, second son of Moses (2) 
and Sarah Simmons, married, in 1677, 
Mary Woodworth, and had children : Re- 
becca, born 1679; Moses, mentioned be- 
low; Mary, 1683; Elizabeth, 1686; Eben- 
ezer, 1689; Lydia, 1693. 

(IV) Moses (3), eldest son of Aaron 
and Mary (Woodworth) Simmons, was 
born in 1680, and resided in Bridgewater, 
Massachusetts. He married, in 1711, 
Rachel Cudworth. 

(V) Constant Simmons, born about 

1715-18, resided in Dighton, Massachu- 


setts, where he married, April 12, 1739, 
Lydia Phillips. Children: John, men- 
tioned below; Hannah, born December 1, 
1740; Constant, February 5, 1742; Joshua, 
October 22, 1743; Lydia, September 11, 
1746; David, June 28, 1748; Jean, March 
18, 1750; Rebecca, June 15, 1753. 

(VI) John, eldest child of Constant 
and Lydia (Phillips) Simmons, was born 
July 16, 1739, in Dighton, and was 
married in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, by 
Elder John Hicks, January 5, 1766, to 
Plannah Bullock, born May 6, 1745, in 
Rehoboth, daughter of Elkanah and Sarah 
Bullock. John Simmons was a private in 
Captain Elijah Walker’s company, Colo- 
nel Pope’s (Bristol county) regiment, 
marched December 8, 1776, on an alarm 
of that date at Rhode Island, service nine 
days. He was a private in Captain Mat- 
thew Randall’s company, Colonel John 
Daggett’s regiment, January 7 to April 1, 
1778, two months and twenty-six days, 
at Rhode Island, regiment raised for three 
months’ service, from January 1, 1778. He 
was a private in Captain Josiah King’s 
company under the same colonel, from 
August 28 to September 1, 1778, five days, 
at Rhode Island, company detached from 
the militia ; roll sworn at Taunton. He 
was also under the same captain in Colo- 
nel John Hathaway’s regiment. Brigadier- 
General George Godfrey’s (Bristol coun- 
ty) brigade, seven days, marched to 
Tiverton on the alarm of August 2, 1780. 
Children: Infant, died unnamed; John, 
born September 7, 1768: Elkanah, No- 
vember 9, 1770: Constant, May 7, 1773; 
Philip, March 29, 1775; Caleb, May 19, 
1777; Gameliel, December 24, 1779; Han- 
nah, May 18, 1782; Nathan, mentioned 
below; Lydia, April 25, 1787. 

(VII) Nathan, youngest son of John 
and Hannah (Bullock) Simmons, was 
born November 7, 1784, in Dighton, and 
died in Somerset, Massachusetts, March 

I 5 > 1857. He married in Rehoboth, No- 
vember 27, 1806, Nancy Pierce, who died 
in Somerset, Massachusetts, June 23, 
1870, said to have been ninety years of 
age, daughter of Noah and Salome Pierce. 

(VIII) Nancy, daughter of Nathan and 
Nancy (Pierce) Simmons, was born 1808, 
in Dighton, Massachusetts, and died in 
Somerset, March 13, 1866. She became 
the wife of Baylis Davis, of Somerset (see 
Davis VI). 

(The Read Line). 

(I) John Reade was a cordwainer by 
trade, according to tradition, as is his 
coming from Plymouth, England. He 
came to this country, was an inhabitant 
of Newport, Rhode Island, and had chil- 
dren : John, Ebenezer and Oliver. 

(II) John (2), son of John (1) Read, 
born in Newport, Rhode Island, settled in 
Freetown, Massachusetts, where he mar- 
ried Hannah, who died April 12, 1727. He 
was a cordwainer by trade, operated a 
tannery, reared his sons to the same occu- 
pation, which continued through four 
generations, and late in the eighteenth 
century the business was bought out by 
Sarah Read’s husband, Enoch French. It 
had become a large establishment at Troy, 
now called Fall River. John Read had 
children : Hannah, Joseph and John. 

(III) John (3), son of John (2) and 

Hannah Read, lived in Freetown, where 
for some thirty years he was town clerk. 
He married Mary, daughter of John and 
Mary (Tallman) Pearce. She died May 
6, 1726, and he married (second) Susan- 
nah Brownell. Children : Mary, born 

November 19, 1690, married Samuel For- 
man ; John, June 12, 1694, married Mrs. 
Sarah Borden; Thomas, May 9, 1696; 
Hannah, October 12, 1697; William, Sep- 
tember 9, 1699; Oliver, mentioned below; 
Penelope, October 12, 1703, married Ste- 
phen Borden; Jonathan, January 23, 1705, 



married Hope Durfee; Joseph, March 5, 
1708, married Grace Pray; Sarah, Febru- 
ary 1, 1709; Nathan, February 23, 1711; 
Susannah, February 27, 1715, married Jo- 
seph Borden. 

(IV) Oliver, fourth son of John (3) 
and Mary (Pearce) Read, was born Octo- 
ber 14, 1701, in Freetown, where he lived, 
and married in Portsmouth, Rhode Island, 
December 27, 1730, Martha Durfee, born 
February 20, 1702, in that town, daughter 
of Thomas and Anna (Freeborn) Durfee. 
Children: John, born December 11, 1732; 
Oliver, August 21, 1734; Mary, March 31, 
1736 ! Jonathan, November 13, 1737 ; Wait, 
December 6, 1739 ; Nathan, June 16, 1742 ; 
Benjamin, March 28, 1744; Gideon, men- 
tioned below. 

(V) Gideon, youngest son of Oliver 
and Martha (Durfee) Read, was born 
February 5, 1746, and was dead in 1791. 
when his father made his will. The lat- 
ter mentioned an infant daughter of his 
son Gideon, then deceased. The latter 
w'as undoubtedly the father of the next 

(VI) Gideon Read, born 1767-68, died 
April 10, 1832. He married, April 1, 1789, 
Margaret Houghton, of Freetown. Chil- 
dren: Patience, born July 19, 1789, died 
October 1, 1790; Henry, January 1, 1794; 
Betty, April 14, 1795; Hannah, May 29, 
1798 ; Catherine, June 7, 1800 ; Grace, men- 
tioned below; John, July 10, 1804, died 
September 1, 1807; Hilton, May 4, 1806, 
died January, 1834. 

(VII) Grace, fifth daughter of Gideon 
and Margaret (Houghton) Read, was 
born July 9, 1802, in Freetown, and be- 
came the wife of Durfee Borden, of Fall 

(VIII) Hannah, daughter of Durfee 
and Grace (Read) Borden, was born Jan- 
uary 5, 1839, and became the wife of An- 
drew Brayton Earle, of Fall River (see 
Earle IX). She passed away March 17, 
1915, in the seventy-fifth year of her age. 

MASON, Frederick, 

Manufacturer, Financier. 

There were several pioneer settlers 
of New England bearing this name, and 
the family has been conspicuous down 
through the generations in various parts 
of the United States for constructive 
power and high moral character. Robert 
Mason, born in England about 1590, set- 
tled in Roxbury, Massachusetts, in 1630. 
John and Sampson Mason, both formerly 
soldiers of the English army, settled in 
Dorchester, Massachusetts, and all three 
were probably related. 

(I) John Mason, born in the year 1600, 
served as a lieutenant in the English army 
in Netherlands, under Sir Thomas Fair- 
fax. In 1632 he came to America, settling 
first at Dorchester, Massachusetts, which 
town he represented in the General Court, 
and in 1635 removed to Windsor, Con- 
necticut, with the large company that 
made the pilgrimage through the wildei- 
ness. He was elected a magistrate of the 
Connecticut Colony in May, 1637, com- 
manded an expedition against the Pequot 
Indians, in which he and his famous nine- 
ty men immortalized themselves by over- 
throwing and destroying the power of 
the Pequots. This event is commemorated 
by a monument on Mystic Hill in Groton, 
Connecticut, crowned by a life-sized 
statue of Major Mason drawing his 
sword. In 1647 he removed with his 
family to Saybrook, Connecticut, and in 
1660 united with a number of distin- 
guished families in the settlement of 
Norwich, Connecticut, where he was 
deputy governor and major-general of 
the Connecticut forces. In civil life he 
was also distinguished, filling various 
official positions, and after a life of great 
usefulness died January 30, 1672. The 
name of his first wife is unknown. She 
was the mother of his daughter Judith. 
After her death he married (second) in 


July, 1640, Anna Peck. Children: Pris- 
cilla, bom 1641, in Windsor; Samuel, 
1644, in Windsor; John, August, 1646, in 
Windsor; Rachel, 1648, in Saybrook ; 
Anne, June, 1650, in Saybrook; Daniel, 
mentioned below; Elizabeth, August, 
1654, in Stonington. 

(II) Daniel, son of Major John Mason, 
born in April, 1652, at Saybrook, died 
January 28, 1737, in Stonington, Connec- 
ticut. He married (first) Margaret Deni- 
son, born December 15, 1650, daughter of 
Edward and Elizabeth (Weld) Denison, 
of Roxbury, Massachusetts. She died 
May 13, 1678, and he married (second) 
October 10, 1679, Rebecca, daughter of 
Rev. Peter and Rebecca (Ibrook) Hobart, 
of Hingham, Massachusetts, born April 
9, 1654, died April 8, 1727, granddaughter 
of Edmund and Margaret ( Dewey ) Ho- 
bart, who came to Charlestown, in 1633. 
Children of first marriage : Daniel, born 
November 26, 1674. in Stonington, Con- 
necticut ; Hezekiah, May 3, 1677, in Rox- 
bury, Massachusetts ; of second marriage, 
all born in Stonington : Peter, mentioned 
below; Rebecca, February 10, 1682; Mar- 
garet, December 21, 1683; Samuel, Feb- 
ruary 11, 1686; Abigail, February 3, 1689; 
Priscilla, September 17, 1691 ; Nehemiah, 
November 24, 1693. 

(III) Peter, son of Daniel Mason, and 
child of his second wife, Rebecca Hobart, 
was born November 9, 1680, in Stoning- 
ton, where he resided for a time, and later 
removed to New London. He married, 
July 8, 1703, Mary Hobart. Children, all 
except first three born in New London: 
Peter, born August 25, 1704: a daughter, 
September 13, 1705 ; Daniel, March 25, 
1707; Japhet, December 28, 1709, died 
young; Mary, May 31, 1 71 1 : Japhet, men- 
tioned below ; Abigail, September 3, 1715 ; 
Peter, December 28, 1717; Alithea, De- 
cember 9, 1720. 

(IV) Japhet, fourth son of Peter and 
Mary (Hobart) Mason, was born Sep- 

tember 30, 1713, in New London. The 
family name of his wife was Chappel. 
Children: Japhet, mentioned below; 

Amos; Samuel; Naomi ; Wealthy. 

(V) Japhet (2), eldest son of Japhet 
Mason, was born August 19, 1742, and 
married, in 1767, Patience Hempstead, 
born May 31, 1744. Children: Mary, 
born February 20, 1768, died unmarried; 
Daniel, June 28, 1771, died August 11, 
1827, unmarried; John, April 2, 1774; 
Amos, mentioned below; Sarah, May 30, 
1778; Guy, July 25, 1782, died in 1783; 
Elizabeth, July 29, 1784; William, Au- 
gust 30, 1786. 

(VI) Amos, third son of Japhet .(2) 

and Patience (Hempstead) Mason, was 
born May 5, 1776, and after his marriage 
removed with his family to a small island 
at the mouth of the Mystic river. Here 
he remained for three years, and then re- 
moved to the town of Stonington, where 
he cultivated a small farm and worked at 
his trade of blacksmith. He married, 
February 6, 1803, Mary Holdredge, born 
January 31, 1779, in Groton, died Septem- 
ber 21, 1865, in Taunton. Children: 
Amos Holdredge, born November 27, 
1803, in Groton, Connecticut, died in 
Taunton, Massachusetts, July 9, 1880; 
Phineas, August 24. 1805, in Groton, died 
in Taunton, April 2, 1880; William, men- 
tioned below; Edwin, June 4, 1811, in 
Groton, died in Taunton, October 17, 
1853; Calvin, May 1, 1814, on Ram 
Island, died at Hartford, Connecticut, 
May 29, 1855; Alexander Thompson, 
April 11, 1816, at North Stonington, Con- 
necticut, died in Taunton, November 17, 
1866: Japhet, December 13, 1818, at 

North Stonington, died in Taunton, De- 
cember 29, 1880; Mary, September 7, 
1821, at North Stonington, died in Taun- 
ton, January 30, 1896. 

(VII) William, third son of Amos and 
Mary (Holdredge) Mason, was born Sep- 
tember 2, 1808, in Mystic, and was reared 



in the town of Stonington, Connecticut, 
assisting in his father’s shop and on the 
farm receiving the benefits of the dis- 
trict school for a short period in each 
year. He early developed a strong me- 
chanical genius, and was accustomed to 
fashion toys with the aid of his father’s 
jack-knife, and when only eight years old 
constructed skates, sleds and a jewsharp. 
He also succeeded in making musical in- 
struments of various kinds, and when 
thirteen years of age became an operative 
in the spinning room of a small cotton 
factory in the town of Canterbury, Con- 
necticut. After four years of this occupa- 
tion, including one year in a thread fac- 
tory at Lisbon, same State, he removed 
to East Haddam, Connecticut. When 
the complicated machines in the factories 
where he had been employed needed re- 
pairing, it was found that he alone could 
accomplish the necessary work, and when 
mills were established at East Haddam 
for manufacturing thread, he was sent for 
to start the machinery. At this time he 
was only fifteen years of age. While 
working in the mills at Canterbury he 
amused himself by constructing a hurdy- 
gurdy. At seventeen he entered the ma- 
chine shops attached to a cotton mill in 
Canterbury, and devoted three years to 
learning the details of machine work. 
Having completed his apprenticeship he 
went to New Hartford, New York, where 
he was employed in a machine shop 
about six months. Returning to Canter- 
bury he soon finished and set up the first 
power looms in this country for the 
manufacture of linen. He also con- 
structed an ingenious loom for weaving 
damask table cloth. With a taste and in- 
clination for art, Mr. Mason now under- 
took portrait painting, but his forte was 
in mechanics and he soon abandoned 
painting. In the year 1832 he received 
an order for some diaper looms but he 
had neither shop nor means to fill the 

contract. However, he obtained an ad- 
vance on the undertaking, and contracted 
for the necessary frames at a shop in 
Willimantic, Connecticut, where, with an 
assistant, he aided in forwarding the 
work. In the completion of this contract 
he realized about ten dollars per day, and 
this was the foundation of his subsequent 
career in the manufacturing of machinery 
on a large scale. As a result of his suc- 
cess in filling the contract in 1832, his 
services were sought by machinists, and 
he was engaged to assist in a shop at 
Killingly, Connecticut, where the con- 
struction of a new device for spinning, 
now well known as the “ring and trav- 
eler,” was under way. The proprietors 
of the shop shortly failed in business, and 
Mr. Mason took charge of the establish- 
ment in the interest of the creditors, re- 
ceiving a percentage on the work per- 
formed. In the crude and undeveloped 
form of the ring traveler he saw the germ 
of a most important improvement, and at 
once constructed a machine for turning 
it out in an improved form. He re- 
modeled and perfected the “ring” and 
designed a new frame in the place of the 
clumsy affair previously made. The de- 
mand for this machine was limited at 
first, owing to the failure of the original, 
but Mr. Mason’s device soon acquired a 
reputation which it has retained to the 
present time. After two years in Killing- 
ly he engaged with a firm at Taunton, 
Massachusetts, which produced cotton 
machinery. In the crisis of 1837 his em- 
ployers failed, owing a considerable sum 
to Mr. Mason. About this time he de- 
vised a “speeder” or “roving machine,” 
and when the Taunton Machine Shops 
came into operation by new owners, Mr. 
Mason was engaged as foreman of the 
establishment, with his patented speeder 
as a specialty of product. The great in- 
vention of his life, “the self-acting mule,” 
was shortly after perfected. After two 


years of experimentation he received a 
patent, October 8, 1840. About this time 
a rival machine known as the “Scotch 
mule” was introduced into the country, 
and in the following year the “Sharp & 
Roberts Mule,” imported by Major Brad- 
ford Durfee, made its appearance, and 
was patented in this country. The latter 
machine was superior to Mr. Mason’s, 
and he at once set himself to perfect an 
entirely new machine. In this he suc- 
ceeded, and received a patent October 3, 
1846, for what is known among manu- 
facturers as “Mason’s self-acting mule.” 
About this time he again suffered a re- 
verse through the failure of his em- 
ployers, who were largely indebted to 
him, and was also prostrated by illness. 
On recovering his health Mr. Mason 
went into business on his own account, 
and became the principal owner and man- 
ager of the works of James K. Mills & 
Company of Boston. Prosperous times 
through change in the tariff laws and the 
confidence of manufacturers in his me- 
chanical ability now set him on the rapid 
road to success. He erected, after his 
own design, the buildings in Taunton 
known as the Mason Machine Works, the 
largest that had been erected up to that 
time for the manufacture of machinery. 
The main shop was three hundred and 
fifteen feet long, three stories in height, 
and the rapidly increasing business re- 
quired several additions within a short 
time. At the present time the mills cover 
nearlv ten acres. For many years Mr. 
Mason produced cotton and woolen ma- 
chinery, machinist’s tools, blowers, cupo- 
la furnaces, gearing and shafting. The 
branch to which most attention was given 
was the manufacture of cotton machinery. 
From time to time he introduced im- 
provements which increased the produc- 
tion and diminished the cost of cotton 
fabrics. In 1832 Mr. Mason turned his 
attention to the production of locomotive 

engines. In 1830 the first machine of this 
kind was brought from England, and 
soon after Mathias W. Baldwin, of Phil- 
adelphia, built the first engine made in 
this country. Soon after Thomas Rogers, 
of Paterson, New Jersey, constructed an 
engine. Mr. Mason determined to con- 
trive a new model, and in 1853 brought 
out his first locomotive which attracted 
attention for its workmanship and its 
tasteful form, and many improvements in 
detail which have ever since character- 
ized locomotives constructed in this coun- 
try. In 1852 Mr. Mason erected ad- 
ditional buildings for the construction of 
locomotives. Among his improvements 
were the casting of truck wheels with 
tubular spokes and rims. In 1857 he met 
another reverse through the failure of 
the Boston firm with which he was con- 
nected, but he soon resumed business in- 
dependently, continuing until 1873, when 
an incorporated company was formed for 
the purpose of perpetuating the business, 
which has ever since been known as the 
Mason Machine Works. In 1879 the 
manufacture of the Campbell Printing 
Press was undertaken, and again the ca- 
pacity of the shop was enlarged. In 1893 
the establishment employed nearly one 
thousand people. Mr. Mason died at 
Taunton, May 21. 1883, and was suc- 
ceeded by his son as president of the Ma- 
son Machine Works. He married, June 
10, 1844, Harriet Augusta Metcalf, of 
Cambridge, Massachusetts, baptized Sep- 
tember 17, 1826, at First Congregational 
Church, daughter of Eliab Wright and 
Lydia (Stedman) Metcalf. Of the five 
children of this marriage three reached 
adult age. Only two are now living .• 
Frederick Mason, mentioned below; and 
Mrs. Walter J. Clemson. residing in 

(VIII) Frederick, only surviving son 
of William and Harriet A. (Metcalf) Ma- 
son. was born August 25, 1845, in Taun- 


ton, and received his elementary educa- 
tion in the public schools of that city. He 
was subsequently a student at the High- 
land Military Academy of Worcester, 
Massachusetts, the Rensselaer Polytech- 
nic Institute of Troy, New York, and the 
Lawrence Scientific School. In 1864, in 
his nineteenth year, he entered the ma- 
chine shop of the Mason Machine Works, 
and has continued his connection with 
that establishment to the present time, 
a period of forty-nine years. By industry 
and faithful attention to his duties, he 
secured rapid promotion, and on the 
death of his father, in 1883, was made 
president of the establishment. He is 
also a director of the Taunton National 
Bank, succeeding his father in that ca- 
pacity. In 1865, in association with sev- 
eral friends, Mr. Mason recruited a com- 
pany of which he was commissioned lieu- 
tenant, and was later made captain of 
Company G, Third Massachusetts Regi- 
ment of Militia, of which he was subse- 
quently lieutenant-colonel. He was ap- 
pointed assistant inspector-general with 
the rank of lieutenant-colonel, on the staff 
of Governor Rice, and was subsequently 
on the staff of Governor Talbot, with the 
rank of colonel. Colonel Mason has 
steadfastly and consistently supported 
Republican principles and has been ac- 
tive in promoting good government at 
home and abroad. For five years he was 
a member of the city council, during two 
years of which time he was its president. 
He is a member of various social organi- 
zations of his home city, and is a friend 
of every movement calculated to advance 
its interest. He married Harriet Leonard 
Rounds, of Taunton, and they are the 
parents of two children: 1. Maurice Ma- 
son, who married Sarah Crossman Sproat, 
and died October 29, 1913, leaving two 
children: Marguerite and William. 2. 
Madeleine, now the widow of Carleton 
Brabrook, and the mother of two chil- 

dren : Bettina and Leonard (see Rounds 

(The Ingalls Line). 

(I) Edmund Ingalls, son of Robert and 
grandson of Henry Ingalls, was born 
about 1598, at Skirbeck, Lincolnshire, 
England, and came to Salem, Massachu- 
setts, in Governor Endicott’s company in 
1628. With his brother Francis and four 
others he commenced the settlement of 
Lynn in 1629. He was a man of good 
character, although the following court 
record is found “20/4/1646, Edmund In- 
galls was fined for bringing home sticks 
in both his arms on the Sabbath day from 
Mr. Holyokes rails, witnesses Joseph 
fflood, Obadya fffood, Jane filood.” These 
were probably jealous neighbors and it 
goes to show the strict observance of the 
Sabbath in those days. His name is often 
found on the town records showing him 
to be one of the prominent citizens. In 
March, 1648, while traveling to Boston 
on horseback, he was drowned in the 
Saugus river, owing to a defective bridge. 
His heirs recovered damages from the town. 
His will was probated September 16, 
1648, and his estate appraised at £135, his 
widow, Ann, being sole executor. His 
children were: Robert, Elizabeth, Faith, 
John, Henry, Samuel, Mary and Joseph. 

(II) John, son of Edmund and Ann 
Ingalls, was born 1625, in Skirbeck, Eng- 
land. He lived in Lynn, Massachusetts, 
but removed from there previous to 1687, 
as would appear from the following rec- 
ord: “John Ingalls of the Church of Bris- 
tol, Rhode Island, 1687, late of Tiverton.” 
He settled next at Rehoboth, Massachu- 
setts, where his death is thus recorded : 
“Old John Ingalls died Dec. 31, 1721.” 
His will was dated April 16, 1718. and 
mentioned his sons, John and Edmund, 
and two daughters, Elizabeth Crabtree 
and Sarah Hayward. He married. May 
26, 1667, Elizabeth Barrett, of Salem, 
Massachusetts, born in England. Chil- 


dren : John, mentioned below; Elizabeth, 
married Benjamin Crabtree ; Sarah, mar- 
ried (first) William Howard, (second) 
William Hayward; Edmund. 

(III) John (2), eldest child of John 

(1) and Elizabeth (Barrett) Ingalls, was 
born February 6, 1668, in Lynn, and was 
in Mendon, Massachusetts, as early as 
1700. He was residing there June 8, 1714, 
when he sold land to John Lewis of Ded- 
ham, probably located in the latter town. 
In 1715 he sold land on the Pawtucket 
river, in Rehoboth, to his brother, Ed- 
mund Ingalls. There were many of this 
name in Rehoboth, Wrentham and Cum- 
berland, Rhode Island. No record of 
John (2) Ingall’s wife appears in any of 
these towns. He is supposed to have 
been the father of Captain Jonathan In- 

(IV) Captain Jonathan Ingalls, born 

about 1698, resided in Taunton, Massa- 
chusetts, where all his children were 
born, and died about 1776. He married 
(first) Martha Reed, daughter of James 
and Susannah (Richmond) Reed, and in 
1735 received a legacy from her bachelor 
brother, James Reed. He married (sec- 
ond) Bethia, daughter of William Rich- 
mond, whose wife was a daughter of 
John Macomber, of Middleboro. He mar- 
ried (third) October 3, 1788, Mary, 

widow of Ebenezer Spooner and daugh- 
ter of Captain Ebenezer and Mercy (Fos- 
ter) Morton, born April 29, 1723. Chil- 
dren: Bethia, born March xo, 1750; Han- 
nah, June 12, 1753; Jonathan, mentioned 
below; Sybil, October 15, 1759; Abiatha, 
January 28, 1763; Abigail, May, 1766. 

(V) Jonathan (2), son of Jonathan (1) 

and Bethia (Richmond) Ingalls, was born 
December 7, 1754, in Taunton, and mar- 
ried, July 2, 1776, Freelove Andrews, 
born 1754, died October 19, 1843. Chil- 
dren: Nancy, born January 26, 1 777 ^ 

Betsey, August 12, 1778; Jonathan and 
Sally (twins), April 22, 1781; Rebecca, 

February 8, 1783; Benjamin, February 
19, 1785; Jonathan, April 10, 1787; Har- 
riet, 1789, died young ; Plarriet, mentioned 

(VI) Harriet, youngest child of Jona- 
than (2) and Freelove (Andrews) In- 
galls, was born February 3, 1791, and be- 
came the wife of Ezekiel B. Leonard, of 
Taunton (see Leonard VII). 

(The Leonard Line). 

(I) John Leonard was of Knole, Coun- 
ty Kent, England. He was born in 1479, 
and died in 1556. 

(II) John (2) Leonard, son of John 

(1) Leonard, was also of Knole, County 
Kent. He was born in 1508 and died in 

(III) Samson Leonard, son of John 

(2) Leonard, was the eleventh Baron of 
Dacre. He was born in 1545, and died 
in 1615. He married Lady Margaret 

(IV) Sir Henry Leonard, son of Sam- 
son Leonard, was the twelfth Baron of 
Dacre. He was born 1569. He married 
Lady Chrisogona, daughter of Sir Rich- 
ard Baker, of Sissinghurst, County Kent, 

(V) Richard Leonard, son of Sir 
Henry Leonard, was the thirteenth Baron 
of Dacre, seated at Chevening. He died 
in 1630. He married (first) Lady Anne, 
daughter of Sir Arthur Throckmorton. 
He married (second) Dorothy, daughter 
of Dudley, Lord North. 

(VI) Thomas Leonard, son of Richard 
Leonard, was of Pontypool, Wales. He 
had sons: Henry; James, mentioned be- 
low ; and Philip. 

(I) James Leonard, son of Thomas 
Leonard, of Pontypool, Wales, was born 
in Great Britain, and came to America 
about 1645. He settled first in Lynn and 
later in Taunton, Massachusetts. He 
was the founder of the iron works in 
Saugus, near Lynn, and these were the 


first iron works in America. He was not 
living in 1691. In 1653 he and his brother 
Henry were engaged in the manufacture 
of iron in Taunton. He was a great friend 
of King Philip, the famous Indian, who 
used to shoot wild birds at Fowling 
Pond, which was on James’ property. 
Leonard often entertained him at his 
house, and when the town was burned, 
his house was spared by the Indians. 
Children: Thomas, born August 3, 1641, 
at Pontypool, Wales; James, mentioned 
below; Abigail, married John Kingsley, 
of Milton ; Rebecca, married, September 
2, 1678, Isaac Chapman, of Barnstable; 
Joseph, born about 1655 ; Benjamin, mar- 
ried, January 15, 1678-79, Sarah Thresher ; 
Hannah, married, January 24, 1677-78, 
Isaac Deane; Uriah, born July 10, 1662. 

(II) James (2), son of James (1) 
Leonard, was born about 1643, ' n Great 
Britain, and died at Taunton, Massachu- 
setts, November 1, 1726. He was in- 
terested in iron works, and resided early 
in life at Braintree, later at Taunton, 
where the iron works have continued 
down to the present time, and were in 
his day the greatest industry in New 
England, in which many people held 
shares. There was a saying current in 
those times : “Wherever you can find an 
iron works you will find a Leonard.” His 
first wife, Hannah, died February 25, 
1674, and he married (second) Lydia, 
daughter of Anthony Gulliver, of Milton, 
Massachusetts, born 1652-53, died July 
24, 1705. His third wife, Rebecca, born 
about 1662, died April 3, 1738, in her 
seventy-sixth year. Children : Eunice, 

born November 25, 1668, in Braintree; 
Prudence, January 24, 1670; Hannah, 
October 2, 1671 ; James, February i, 1673, 
died 1674; David, May 11, 1677: Lydia, 
May 10, 1679; Stephen, mentioned below ; 
Abigail, January 30, 1683; Nathaniel, Oc- 
tober 18, 1675; Seth, April 3, 1686; Sarah, 

September 6, 1688; Mehitable, October 

24, 1691 ; Elizabeth, April 19, 1694. 

(IV) Stephen, third son of James (2) 
Leonard, and third child of his second 
wife, Lydia Gulliver, was born December 
14, 1680, and was a justice of the peace, 
and judge of the court of common pleas 
at Taunton, where he died March 4, 1741. 

(V) Major Zephaniah Leonard, son of 
Stephen Leonard, was born March 18, 
1704, and died April 23, 1776, in his sev- 
enty-third year. He resided at Raynham, 
Massachusetts, was a man of enterprise 
and energy, and served as judge of the 
court of common pleas from 1761 until his 
death. He married, April 24, 1724, Han- 
nah, daughter of John and Alice (Deane) 
King, of Raynham, and had children : 
Joshua, born January 5, 1725; Mary, 
September 22, 1726; Prudence, March 23, 
1729, died 1731 ; Silence, April 27, 1731 ; 
Anna, March 1, 1733; Abigail, January 
31, 1735, died 1739; Zephaniah, January 
18, 1737; Phebe, November 10, 1738, died 
17393 Prudence, August 14, 1740; Abi- 
gail, May 19, 1742; Apollos, August 3, 
1744; Phebe, July 16, 1746, died 1752; 
Silas, April 8, 1748; Samuel, mentioned 

(VI) Samuel, youngest child of Major 
Zephaniah and Hannah (King) Leonard, 
was born December 6, 1750, in Middle- 
boro, and was a merchant in Taunton, 
Massachusetts, where he died, August 

25, 1807. He married (first) Mercy Bor- 
roughs, who died December 27, 1789; 
(second) Desire, daughter of Ambrose 
Hopkins, born May 17, 1764, died 1843. 

(VII) Ezekiel Borroughs, son of Sam- 
uel and Mercy (Borroughs) Leonard, 
was born about 1775, in Taunton, and 
was a well known citizen of that town, 
where he made his home on Summer 
street, in the residence now occupied by 
his daughter and granddaughter. He 
married Harriet Ingalls, born February 



3, 1791, died May 30, 1862, daughter of 
Jonathan (2) and Freelove (Andrews) 
Ingalls (see Ingalls VI). 

(VIII) Almira B., daughter of Ezekiel 
B. and Harriet (Ingalls) Leonard, was 
born January 23, 1821, and was married, 
May 26, 1845, by Rev. C. H. Brigham, to 
Jabez Sisson Rounds, of Taunton (see 
Rounds IV). 

(The Rounds Line). 

This name appears at an early period 
in various sections of Massachusetts, but 
not among the pioneers. It was very 
strongly represented in and about Reho- 
both, Massachusetts, and descendants 
have resided in the vicinity until the 
present time. 

(I) Jabez Rounds, the first of this 
family who can be definitely located, was 
residing in Swansea April 26, 1733, at 
which date he was married in Rehoboth 
by Rev. John Coomer to Renew Carpen- 
ter, of Rehoboth, born January 6, 1714. 
daughter of Jonathan and Desire (Mar- 
tin) Carpenter. Children, recorded in 
Rehoboth: Isaac, born January 23, 1734; 
Jabez, January 8, 1736; Isabell, October 
23, 1737; Abigail, January, 1740; Isaiah, 
January 30, 1741; Rebeckah, March 21, 
1742; Sibbel, September 10, 1744; Oliver, 
mentioned below; Rhoda, January 26, 
1750; Esther, October 8. 1752; Simeon, 
February 4, 1755. 

(II) Oliver, fourth son of Jabez and 
Renew (Carpenter) Rounds, was born 
April 1, 1747, in Rehoboth, and was mar- 
ried, April 12, 1770, in Warren, Rhode 
Island, by Rev. Jonathan Manning, to 
Anna Salisbury, probably a native of that 
town, not recorded there. Children : 
Daniel, born June 5, 1771 ; Sybel, May 1. 
1773; Abigail, March 1, 1775; Calvin, 
October 3, 1776; Patience, March 1, 1778; 
Spencer and Oliver (twins), February 26, 
1780; Tabez. mentioned below; Spencer, 
October 24, 1785. 

(III) Jabez (2), fourth son of Oliver 
and Anna (Salisbury) Rounds, was born 
November 20, 1782, in Warren, and lived 
in Providence, Rhode Island, where he 
died April 30, 1844, aged sixty-two years. 
He married, April 20, 1806, Eliza Plud- 
son, who died January 3, 1849, aged sixty- 
eight years, daughter of Reuben and Abi- 
gail (Sisson) Hudson, of Swansea, and 
granddaughter of George and Drusilla 
Sisson. Children : Jabez Sisson, men- 
tioned below ; Abby, died young ; Har- 
riet, married John Drown, and died in 
California ; Anna Eliza, married Albert 

(IV) Jabez Sisson, son of Jabez (2) 
and Eliza (Hudson) Rounds, was born 
April 14, 1816, in Providence, and died in 
Taunton, Massachusetts, August 7, i860. 
He was a well known merchant of Taun- 
ton, where he established the dry goods 
house now known as The N. B. Skinner 
Company. He was also active in other 
enterprises, and was among the corpora- 
tors of the Taunton Steamboat Com- 
pany, which began with a capital of 
$25,000, and was also identified with the 
banking interests of Taunton and other 
lines of commercial pursuit. He was 
among the most public-spirited citizens 
of his day, and died while still in the 
prime of manhood, at the age of forty-four 
years. He was a man of both physical 
and intellectual force and a power in the 
development of his home city. He was 
married in Taunton by Rev. C. H. Brig- 
ham, May 26, 1845, to Almira B. Leon- 
ard, daughter of Ezekiel B. and Harriet 
(Ingalls) Leonard, of that town (see 
Leonard VII). She is still living, at the 
age of ninety-five years, and is quite 
active, taking an interest in current 
events, the oldest person in Taunton. 
Her declining years are made happy by 
the filial attention of her daughter, Mrs. 
Frederick Mason. She was the mother 


of two children : Frederick, who died at 
the age of eighteen years, and Harriet 
Leonard, mentioned below. 

(V) Harriet Leonard, only daughter of 
Jabez Sisson and Almira B. (Leonard! 
Rounds, became the wife of Colonel 
Frederick Mason, of Taunton, son of 
William and Harriet Augusta (Metcalf) 
Mason, and resides in her native city. 
She is the mother of two children: i. 
Maurice Mason, who married Sarah 
Crossman Sproat, and died October 29. 
1913, leaving two children: Marguerite 
and William. 2. Madeleine, now the 
widow of Carleton Brabrook, and the 
mother of two children : Bettina and 



The European origin of the Healey 
family is unknown. It appears very early 
in New England, and has been identified 
with the moral, social and material prog- 
ress of that section, down to the present 

(I) William Healey, born 1613, was 
very early at Lynn, and a short time at 
Roxbury, Massachusetts, finally settling 
in Cambridge, where he died November 
28, 1683. He was prison keeper there 
from 1674 to December 29, 1682. He 
appears to have had five wives, four of 
whom bore him children. In Roxbury 
the following children of the first wife 
are recorded: Anna, baptized July 7, 
1644; Samuel, born February 14, 1645, 
died young: Elizabeth, November 14, 

1647. The mother of these died Novem- 
ber 8. 1649, ar >d by the second wife he 
had: Sarah, baptized February 2, 1651; 
William, July n, 1652. The mother died 
and he married (third) in Cambridge, Oc- 
tober 14, 1653, Grace Butterice (But- 
trick). Children: Grace, born after 1654: 
Mary, died young; Nathaniel, baptized 
February 6, 1659; Martha, September 9. 

1660. He married (fourth) August 15, 

1661, Phebe, daughter of Benjamin and 
Elizabeth Green. Children : Samuel, born 
September 14, 1662; Paul, mentioned be- 
low; Mary, baptized October 28, 1665. 
He married (fifth) November 29, 1677, 
Widow Sarah Brown. 

(II) Paul, son of William Healey, and 
child of his fourth wife, Phebe Green, 
was baptized April 3, 1664, in Cambridge, 
and died March 12, 1718, in Rehoboth, 
Massachusetts. He settled early in Reho- 
both, and was a member of the church 
founded by Rev. Samuel Newman, where 
his name first appears on the records in 

1703. The baptism of his wife, Elizabeth, 
and son, Ebenezer, is recorded there with- 
out dates. He had baptized there: Janu- 
ary 27, 1704, Henry, Paul, Phebe, Sam- 
uel, Thomas and William ; August 28, 

1704, Eliza; March 24, 1705, John. 

(III) Henry, son of Paul and Eliza- 
beth Healey, born about 1695, was bap- 
tized January 22, 1704, at the Newman 
Congregational Church, and resided in 
Rehoboth, where he maried, January 11, 
1722, Hannah Hunt, born there June 19, 
1697, daughter of John and Martha Hunt. 
Children, of Rehoboth record: Eleazer, 
born January 7, 1723; Martha, March 6, 
1724; Deborah, March 8, 1726, died 
young; Ithamar, mentioned below; John, 
June 25, 1729; Deborah, May 3, 1730; 
Hannah, October 29, 1734. 

(IV) Ithamar, second son of Henry 
and Hannah (Hunt) Healey, was born 
May 18, 1727, in Rehoboth, and probably 
spent his last years in Scituate, Rhode 
Island. He married in Rehoboth, March 
5, 1758, Mary Thrasher, evidently a scion 
of the early Thrasher family of Rehoboth. 
Her birth is not recorded in that town. 
Children, recorded there: John, born Oc- 
tober 8, 1760; Comfort, April 15, 1762. 

(V) John, son of Ithamar and Mary 
(Thrasher) Healey, was born October 8, 
1760, in Rehoboth, and resided in Scitu- 



ate, Rhode Island, after the Revolution- 
ary War. He was a soldier from Reho- 
both, serving first as a private in Captain 
Joseph Wilmarth’s company, Colonel 
John Hathaway’s regiment, enlisting 
March 14, 1779, discharged April 12, 
same year, serving thirty days at How- 
land Ferry. He was also a member of a 
party gathered by James Leonard, muster 
master, for nine months’ service in the 
Continental army, the list dated at Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, October 29, 1729. 
John Healey was a member of the Fourth 
company, Colonel Carpenter’s regiment. 
He is described as eighteen years of age, 
five feet, three inches in stature, com- 
plexion light, hair brown, eyes blue. He 
again engaged in the service on account 
of Rehoboth, entering July 26, 1779, dis- 
charged April 26, 1780, on the payroll of 
men raised by Rehoboth for six months. 
Continental army, in 1780; marched to 
Westport July 7, 1780, discharged De- 
cember 27, of that year, service six 
months, including ten days’ (200 miles) 
travel home. He married Martha Powers. 

(VI) James, son of John and Martha 
(Powers) Healey, lived in North Scitu- 
ate, Rhode Island, and there married 
(first) December 31, 1809, Anstis Angell, 
born April 13, 1786, died August 14, 1827. 
daughter of Jesse and Amey (Hammond) 
Angell, of Smithfield, Rhode Island (see 
Angell V). Children: Angell Powers, 
died in Providence; Jesse Angell, died in 
Providence ; John, mentioned below ; 
Lucy and James (twins), former married 
William Sherman and died 1915, aged 
ninety-three years, latter was lost at sea 
when a young man. He married (sec- 
ond) Marcy Angell, born November 22, 
1794, sister of his first wife. Children: 
Albert, died at Providence ; Martha and 
Marcy (twins), former died unmarried, 
latter married Henry Gilman, of Dixon, 

(VII) John (2), son of James and 

Anstis (Angell) Healey, was born in 
Gloucester, Rhode Island, and was edu- 
cated in the public schools of Scituate. 
where he took up farming in early life. 
Later he learned the mason’s trade, which 
was his chief occupation throughout the 
remainder of his days. He worked in 
Providence and nearby sections, and sub- 
sequently located in Greenwich, Rhode 
Island, where he was engaged in building 
the culverts of the Rhode Island & Ston- 
ington Railroad Company, in 1845 ar *d 
1846. He made his home in East Green- 
wich, and there continued at his trade 
until the outbreak of the Civil War. He 
enlisted as a member of Company E, 
Twelfth Rhode Island Volunteer In- 
fantry, and served nine months as a pri- 
vate. He died in East Greenwich, P'eb- 
ruary 7, 1873, and was buried there. He 
married, June 14, 1846, Sarah Burdick, of 
South Kingston, daughter of Jcrard and 
Lucy (Sheldon) Burdick, of that town 
(see Burdick V). Children: John Angell, 
died young; Lucy Anstis, mentioned be- 
low; Welcome Burdick, living in Chi- 
cago; Adah Jencks, married George Kim- 
ball, and resides at Warwick, Rhode 
Island; Recompense, died young; John 
Tames, of Norwich, Connecticut. 

(VIII) Lucy Anstis, senior daughter 
of John (2) and Sarah (Burdick) Healey, 
was born in East Greenwich, and there 
educated, finishing at East Greenwich 
Academy. She married, February 7, 1869, 
John R. Allen, of East Greenwich, son of 
William and Elizabeth (Crandall) Allen. 
Mrs. Allen resides on Broadway in Fall 
River, in which city Mr. Allen was en- 
gaged as a mill operator, and where he 
died February 5, 1916. Children: Wil- 
liam, died young; Welcome Lewis died 
1900; John Harold, died 1888. Mrs. Allen 
is actively interested in the promotion of 
the social and moral progress of her home 
city. She is a member of the Daughters 
of the American Revolution, has been 



vice-regent and is now (1915-1916) re- 
gent of Quequechan Chapter of that or- 
ganization, and a delegate representing it 
in the national gathering at Washington. 
She is also a member of the Fall River 
Woman’s Club, of the Church of the As- 
cension (Protestant Episcopal), and a 
member of the Hospital Board of Fall 
River and the Auxiliary Committee of 
the Young Men’s Christian Association. 

(The Burdick Line). 

(I) Robert Burdick was in Newport, 
Rhode Island, as early as November 19, 
1652, on which date he was baptized by 
Joseph Torrey. He was a freeman of 
the colony in 1656, and settled in Wester- 
ly in 1661. As this settlement was pre- 
mature he was disciplined, but appears on 
the list of inhabitants of that town, May 
18, 1669, and took the oath of allegiance 
May 17, 1671. In 1675 he returned to 
Newport, on account of the Indian wars, 
and again settled in Westerly, and there 
subscribed to the oath of allegiance Sep- 
tember 17, 1779. He represented the 
town as deputy to the General Court in 
1680, 1683 and 1685. On May 17, 1691, 
he sold one hundred acres of land for £10, 
and on March 8, 1692, he made an agree- 
ment with his son-in-law, Joseph Cran- 
dall, by which the latter was to support 
Mr. Burdick during the remainder of his 
life. The latter died in 1692. He mar- 
ried, November 2, 1655, Ruth Hubbard, 
born January 11, 1640, died after 1691, 
daughter of Samuel and Tacy (Cooper) 
Hubbard. Children: Robert, died 1683; 
Hubbard, mentioned below ; Thomas, 
died 1752; Naomi; Ruth; Benjamin, died 
1741; Samuel, died 1756; Tacy, and De- 

(II) Hubbard, second son of Robert 
and Ruth (Hubbard) Burdick, resided in 
Westerly and Hopkinton, Rhode Island, 
where he died in 1758. He was one of 
thirty-four persons who purchased five 

thousand, three hundred acres of vacant 
land, October 2, 1711. In 1727 he was a 
member of the town council. His will, 
made March 19, 1752, probated April 19, 
1758, disposed of property whose inven- 
tory amounted to 1,486 pounds. He mar- 
ried Hannah Maxson, who died about 
1752, daughter of John and Mary (Mo- 
shier) Maxson. Children : Hubbard, 

mentioned below; Nathaniel, born Feb- 
ruary 19, 1719; John, May 19, 1721 ; Eze- 

(III) Hubbard (2), eldest child of 
Hubbard (1) and Hannah (Maxson! 
Burdick, was born November 24, 1716, 
and lived in Westerly, where he married, 
November 1, 1743, Avis Lewis, born Au- 
gust 8, 1725, daughter of John and Anna 
(Clarke) Lewis. 

(IV) Abel, son of Hubbard (2) and 
Avis (Lewis) Burdick, was born about 
1750, and resided in Westerly, and mar- 
ried, December 21, 1775, in Hopkinton, 
Comfort Palmer, of that town. His home 
was in Westerly. 

(V) Jared, son of Abel and Comfort 
(Palmer) Burdick, married, 1804, Lucy 
Sheldon, born 1781, died 1870. 

(VI) Sarah, daughter of Jared and 
Lucy (Sheldon) Burdick, was married, 
June 14, 1846, to John (2) Healey, of East 
Greenwich, Rhode Island (see Healey 

(The Angell Line). 

The origin of Angell as a surname is 
uncertain. Some authorities claim that 
it is derived from Angel, a town in 
France, and some claim it is from the 
Greek word meaning “messenger.” In 
very ancient times it was used in connec- 
tion with the Christian name, as a de- 
scriptive term applied to character, and 
later to show that the family was of ex- 
traordinary beauty. In the Bysantine 
Empire in 1185, Konstantinos Angelos 
was a young man of noble family who re- 
ceived his name for that reason. 



(I) Thomas Angell was born in Eng- 

land about 1618. There is a tradition 
that he was the son of Henry Angell, of 
Liverpool, England, and that at the age 
of twelve he went to London to seek his 
fortune. In 1631 he came with Roger 
Williams in the ship ‘'Lion” from Lon- 
don to Boston, and he was then regarded 
as a servant or apprentice of Williams. 
He went with Williams to Salem, re- 
maining until 1636. He removed with 
him to Providence, Rhode Island, and 
had granted him the lot fronting on 
North Main street where now the First 
Baptist Church, the High School house 
and Angell street are situated. In 1652 
and 1653 he was elected a commissioner, 
and 1655 constable, which office he held 
for many years. He was, as were all the 
inhabitants of Providence of that day, a 
farmer. He was about seventy-six years 
old at the time of his death, and his will, 
dated May 3, 1685, was proved Septem- 
ber 18, 1685. The will of his wife Alice 
was dated October 2, 1694, proved the 
January following. Children: John, men- 
tioned below: Janies, married Abigail 

Dexter; Amphillis, married Edward 
Smith; Mary, married Richard Arnold; 
Deborah, married Richard Seabury ; 
Alice, married Eleazer Whipple ; Mar- 
garet, married Jonathan Whipple. 

(II) John, eldest child of Thomas and 
Alice Angell, was born in Providence, 
Rhode Island, and died there July 27, 
1720. For a few years he lived on the 
Daniel Jenckes farm five miles from 
Providence, towards Lime Rock, on the 
Lewisquisit road. He removed to Provi- 
dence, where he continued farming, and 
was a freeman October 16, 1670. He mar- 
ried, 1669, Ruth Field, daughter of John 
Field. Children : Thomas, born March 
25, 1672; John; Daniel, mentioned below ; 
Hope, 1682; James. 

(III) Daniel, third son of John and 
Ruth (Field) Angell, was born May 2, 

1680, in Providence, in which town he 
made his home, and died June 16, I 75 °- 
He is described as a man of large frame 
and possessed of great physical strength. 
He was prosperous and was often in the 
public service. Being naturally left- 
handed, by constant practice he became 
ambidextrous, and was noted as a hunter. 
He made frequent trips to Boston with 
team to market. On one of these trips he 
was challenged by a British officer, and 
finally, losing patience, agreed to fight a 
duel with him with fencing clubs. How- 
ever, when the time came to begin he 
laid out the offender with one blow of 
his fist, and was thereafter suffered to go 
his way in peace. He left farms and othef 
property to each of his sons, and made 
liberal gifts to his daughters. He mar- 
ried, May 2, 1702, in Providence, Hannah 
Winsor. Children : Samuel, born Decem- 
ber 12, 1707; John, October 18, 1709; 
Nedabiah, mentioned below; Joshua, 
February 26, 1714; Mary. January 4, 
1716; Job, January 1, 1718; Daniel, Oc- 
tober 27, 1720; Ezekiel, 1722; Waite, and 

(IV) Nedabiah, third son of Daniel 
and Hannah (Winsor) Angell, was born 
April 29, 1712, and died April 19, 1786. 
He resided in North Providence, in what 
is now Smithfield, where he owned and 
tilled a farm, and also followed his trade 
of blacksmith. He was an industrious 
and intelligent citizen, his wife a very 
capable woman, and they reared a good 
family. Many of their descendants are 
now located in the West. He married 
(first) June 22, 1740, Mary, daughter of 
Joshua and Mary (Barber) Winsor, born 
September 2, 1718, died June 9, 1758. He 
married (second) November 25, 1759, 
Bethiah (Luther) Hammond, widow of 
Nathan Hammond, born 1727, died May 
6, 1820, probably a descendant of the 
Rehoboth family of Luther. Children - 
Zilpha, born December 25, 1742; Jesse, 


mentioned below ; Jabez, October 19, 
1746; Hannah, December 14. 1750; Eseck, 
September 12, 1752; Mercy, January 9, 

(V) Jesse, eldest son of Nedabiah and 
Mary (Winsor) Angell, was born Janu- 
ary 6, 1745, and resided in Smithfield, 
where he married Amey, daughter of Na- 
than Hammond, of that town. He went 
to sea in early life, and became a master 
mariner, and after several voyages he set- 
tled on a farm in the southwestern part 
of the town of Scituate, Rhode Island. 
He had been successful as a mariner, was 
a prudent and prosperous farmer and 
good citizen, a soldier of the Revolution. 
Children: George, born January 16, 1774; 
Sarah, September 15, 1775; Jesse, Sep- 
tember 16, 1780, died at sea; Amey, Au- 
gust 2, 1782 ; Anstross, mentioned be- 
low ; Samuel, December 31, 1787; Neda- 
biah, February 11, 1791 ; Nathan, Novem- 
ber 2, 1792; Marcy, mentioned below. 

(VI) Anstross (Anstis), third daugh- 
ter of Jesse and Amey (Hammond) An- 
gell, was born April 13, 1786, in Smith- 
field, and was married, December 31, 
1809, to James Healey, of North Scituate, 
Rhode Island (see Healey VI). 

(VI) Marcy, youngest child of Jesse 
and Amey (Hammond) Angell, was born 
November 22, 1794, and became the sec- 
ond wife of James Healey, above men- 

BRIGGS, Artemas, 

Man of Enterprise, Public Official. 

The surname Briggs is from the old 
Saxon word Brigg, meaning bridge, and 
has been in use from the earliest times in 
England. “William atte Brigge of Salle” 
was mentioned in the records of Edward 
I. and Edward II., about 1272, and the 
Norfolk family of this name traces their 
descent from him. Various branches of 
the family in England have coats-of-arms 

and include many distinguished men. 

(I) Clement Briggs came from South- 
warke, England. At any rate he made an 
affidavit August 29, 1638, to the effect 
that in the year 1616 he was living with 
Samuel Latham on Bermundsey street. 
Southwarke, England. He came to the 
Plymouth Colony in New England in 
1621 in the ship “Fortune,” and was a 
felsmonger by trade. Latham was also 
a felsmonger, and doubtless taught him 
his trade. In this affidavit Briggs states 
that Thomas Harlow was then dwelling 
with Robert Weeks at that place. Briggs 
is mentioned in a letter from Governor 
Bradford to Governor John Winthrop in 
1631. He was in Weymouth in 1633; 
acknowledged the sale of a piece of land 
at Plymouth to Robert Weeks, August 
29, 1638; shared in the division of the 
common cattle, May 22, 1627; owned 
land at Jones Swamp, June 3, 1639; was 
an innholder at Weymouth, June 5. 1650, 
and earlier. His will was proved Octo- 
ber 24. 1650, bequeathing to wife and to 
sons, Thomas, Jonathan, Clement, David. 
Remember. The widow made her will 
November 13, 1683, bequeathing to grand- 
child, Clement, and to son, Remember 
Briggs. He married (first) Joane Allen. 
Mr. Thomas Stoughton performed the 
ceremony, and was fined for the action 
March 1, 1631. Apparently the marriage 
was properly legalized, but the magis- 
trate exceeded his authority in some man- 
ner. Briggs was a resident of Wey- 
mouth from about 1630, though this mar- 
riage was before a Dorchester magis- 
trate. Clergymen were not allowed to 
officiate at marriages in the early colonial 
days. He had a second wife, Elizabeth. 
Children of first marriage: Thomas, born 
June 14, 1633; Jonathan, mentioned be- 
low; David, August 23, 1640; Clement, 
January 2, 1643 ; of second marriage : 
John, died young; Remember. 

(II) Jonathan, second son of Clement 


'YU'/ lift/' 

^ Y 

-c tJf- 


and Joane (Allen) Briggs, was born June 
14, 1635, in Weymouth, and lived in 
Taunton with his wife, Experience. Two 
children are recorded there, namely: 
Jonathan, born March 15, 1668; David, 
December 6, 1669. There were several 
others, including the next mentioned. 

(III) Thomas, son of Jonathan and 
Experience Briggs, was born in 1680, and 
settled in Taunton, where he made his 
home. He married (first) in Scituate, in 
October, 1702, Katurah Hatch, baptized 
June 24, 1683, in that town, daughter of 
Thomas and Sarah (Elms) Hatch. He 
married (second) Sarah Reed. 

(IV) Seth, son of Thomas and Katurah 
(Hatch) Briggs, was born in Taunton, 
and settled in that part of the town which 
is now Dighton, Massachusetts. There 
he married, September 22, 1726, Ann 
Whitmarsh, of Dighton. Children : Silas, 
Zepheniah, Jedediah, Nathaniel, Ann, 
Welthea, Hezekiah, Olive, Bethia. 

(V) Jedediah, son of Seth and Ann 
(Whitmarsh) Briggs, lived in the town 
of Berkley, Massachusetts, and was a 
soldier of the Revolution. He was the 
first lieutenant in Captain James Nicolls 
(Eighth) company, Second Bristol Coun- 
ty Regiment, commissioned April 26, 1776, 
and was subsequently in Captain James 
Durfee’s company, of Colonel Thomas 
Carpenter’s regiment, raised from the 
brigade of Brigadier-General Godfrey, 
for service in the Continental army. He 
was with Captain Nicolls, Colonel Ed- 
ward Pope’s (Bristol county) regiment, 
which marched to Rhode Island on the 
alarm of December 16, 1776, serving 
twenty-two days, including travel to 
camp at Warren and home. He again 
enlisted August 1, 1780, was discharged 
August 7, of the same year, serving in an 
alarm at Rhode Island, in the company of 
Captain Abel Babbit, Colonel John Hath- 
away’s regiment. He married Bathsheba 

Pauli, who survived him, and died Au- 
gust 25, 1842, about ninety-four years of 
age. Children: Enoch, born June 30, 

1770; Experience, January 8, 1772; Bath- 
sheba, October 1, 1773; Olive, August 
23, 1775 ; Ruth, August 12, 1777; Jede- 
diah, March 3, 1779; Nathaniel, men- 
tioned below; Sylvia, January 4, 1783; 
Nancy, January 13, 1785, died December 
18, 1808; Artemas, August 29, 1786; 
Cyrus, September 10, 1788, died October 
7, 1815; Betsey, October 2, 1792, died De- 
cember 21, 1802; Bethiah, September 21, 

(VI) Nathaniel, third son of Jedediah 

and Bathsheba (Pauli) Briggs, was born 
March 22, 1781, in Berkley, Massachu- 
chusetts, and married, in Freetown, Mary 
Winslow, daughter of Joseph Winslow. 
After their marriage they settled in the 
town of Dighton, Massachusetts. Chil- 
dren : Mary Ann, married Jonathan 

Briggs; Joseph; Caroline, married John 
Deane Babbett ; Artemas, mentioned be- 
low ; Bethsheba ; Charles Albert ; James. 

(VII) Artemas, son of Nathaniel and 
Mary (Winslow) Briggs, was born May 
4, 1810, in Dighton, where he grew to 
manhood, where he was associated for a 
time with his brother Joseph in the man- 
agement and cultivation of the home- 
stead farm. Later he removed to Taun- 
ton, Massachusetts, and took up the 
blacksmith trade for a short time. In 
association with his brother, Charles Al- 
bert Briggs, he engaged in the grain deal- 
ing business, and added flour, hay and 
feed, conducting a very large business. 
They had a branch establishment at 
Newport, Rhode Island, and their ware- 
houses were at one time among the 
largest in New England. They owned 
vessels and chartered others to bring 
their goods from New York and else- 
where, and gave occupation to the greater 
part of the Taunton river fleet. After his 

1 77 

Mass — 5— 12 


son, Lyman E. Briggs, became a partner 
in the business, Artemas Briggs retired, 
and his sons continued the business with 
marked success. He was a man of great 
activity, and could not remain idle. Soon 
after his retirement he again embarked in 
business and built a large grain elevator, 
where he continued to conduct business, 
finally turning over the same to his sons. 
Pie erected the family home on Somerset 
avenue, in Taunton, opening up Briggs 
street. There he died May 23, 1876, and 
was buried in Mt. Pleasant Cemetery. It 
was natural that a man of his ability and 
well known integrity should be desired 
for the public service, but he steadfastly 
refused to accept office other than that 
of a member of the city council. He mar- 
ried, November 27, 1834, Susan Shaw 
Williams, born August 21, 1812, in Taun- 
ton, daughter of Joshua and Frances 
(Williams) Williams, of that town (see 
Williams XIII). She died at Taunton, 
1895, and was buried in Mt. Pleasant 
Cemetery. She was a member of the 
First Unitarian Church of Taunton. Chil- 
dren: 1. Mary Frances, married Dr. 

Joseph Murphy, and both died in Taun- 
ton. 2. Lyman Eustis, was a member of 
the firm of Briggs & Company, and died 
in Taunton, July 17, 1891. 3. Sarah, mar- 
ried Dr. Silas D. Presbrey, of Taunton; 
and she is now deceased. 4. Susan Shaw, 
mentioned below. 5. Nathaniel W., de- 
ceased. 6. Ella Augusta, married Alvin 
Goodwin, and died in Taunton. 7. Hora- 
tio Wallace, resided in Newport, Rhode 
Island, now deceased. 

(VIII) Susan Shaw, third daughter of 
Artemas and Susan S. (Williams) Briggs, 
was born August 23, 1841, and married 
Albert H., son of Frederick and Abby Ann 
(Pike) Hathaway. He was a member of 
the firm of Briggs & Company, and died 
in Taunton, December 4, 1890, leaving no 
issue. An adopted daughter, Eldora Al- 
den, married Alton Le R. Hambly, son 

of the late Squire H. Hambly, and resides 
in Providence. Mrs. Hathaway resides 
on Somerset avenue, is one of the charter 
members of Lydia Cobb Chapter, Daugh- 
ters of the American Revolution, of Taun- 
ton, and was its first treasurer. 

(The Williams Line). 

This is a very ancient Welsh family, 
and the origin and history of the family 
is given at great length elsewhere in this 
work, including the history of Richard 
Williams, the founder of the line in 

(IX) Samuel, second son of Richard 
(q. v.) and Frances (Dighton) Williams, 
resided first in Taunton, and married Jane 
Gilbert. Children : Seth, mentioned be- 
low ; Samuel, Daniel, Mary, Sarah and 

(X) Seth, eldest child of Samuel and 
Jane (Gilbert) Williams, born 1675, was 
chief justice of the County Court of Com- 
mon Pleas from 1754 till 1761, the time 
of his death. He married Mary Deane, 
and their children were: James, men- 
tioned below; David; Abiel ; Benjamin, 
born February 25, 1721, died March 18, 
1784; Mary, Elizabeth, Susanna, Rachel 
and Jemima 

(XI) James, son of Seth and Mary 
(Deane) Williams, was born June 1, 
1703, and died July 10, 1779. He was 
a judge of the Court of Common Pleas 
after the death of his father; and was 
also appointed register of deeds in 1746 
(when the records were removed from 
Bristol, then set off from Massachusetts 
to Rhode Island), serving until his death. 
He married Sarah Barney. 

(XII) Brigadier-General James Wil- 
liams, son of James (1) and Sarah (Bar- 
ney) Williams, was born July, 1741, in 
Taunton, and died February 5, 1826. He 
rendered distinguished service as a 
soldier of the Revolution. He commanded 
a companv of minute-men which marched 



April 20, 1775, to Roxbury, on the Lex- 
ington Alarm, discharged on the 29th of 
the same month after twelve days’ serv- 
ice. By ballot of the House of Represen- 
tatives taken February 2, 1776, he was 
chosen second major of Colonel George 
Williams’s (Third Bristol county) regi- 
ment of Massachusetts militia, and was 
commissioned by concurrence of the 
council February 7. He was appointed 
by Brigadier-General Godfrey to muster 
a body of men drafted from Godfrey's 
brigade to form a regiment for the Con- 
tinental army, commanded by Colonel 
Thomas Carpenter. He was also a major 
of Colonel Williams’s regiment, dis- 
charged December 31, 1776, after twenty- 
five days and thirty miles’ travel to War- 
ren and Howland’s Ferry, twenty-eight 
miles. The regiment marched to Warren 
by way of Rehoboth, December 8, 1776. 
Colonel Williams raised a force of Bristol 
county men for nine months’ service in 
reinforcing the Continental army be- 
tween June 3 and August 31, 1778. He 
was a major of Colonel Carpenter’s regi- 
ment, July 24 to September 10, of that 
year, in an expedition to Rhode Island. 
He was chosen in the House of Repre- 
sentatives June 17, 1779, lieutenant-colo- 
nel of Abial Mitchell’s (Third Bristol 
county) regiment, and commissioned on 
that date. With this command he served 
in Godfrey’s brigade from August 1 to 
August 7, 1780, and marched to Tiverton. 
He was superintendent for Bristol county 
of men raised for the Continental army. 
He married (intentions published in 
Raynham), May 10, 1752, Susanna Shaw, 
daughter of James and Susanna Shaw. 

(XIII) Frances, daughter of General 
James (2) and Susanna (Shaw) Wil- 
liams, was born September 27, 1767, and 
died in 1841. She was married, April 5, 
1791, to Joshua Williams, born March 11, 
1759, died March 5, 1828, son of Benja- 
min and Ann (Pope) Williams, who were 

married September 20, 1745. Ann Pope 
was a daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth 
(Hunt) Pope, of Duxbury, Massachu- 
setts, and died January 12, 1793. Ben- 
jamin Williams, above named, was born 
February 25, 1721, and died March 18, 
1784, son of Seth and Mary (Deane) 
Williams, previously mentioned in this 
article. Children of Joshua and Frances 
(Williams) Williams: Joshua P., born 
March 5, 1792; Frances Dighton, Sep- 
tember 16, 1793, married, December 12, 
1812, Nathaniel L. Hood; Deborah, Sep- 
tember 4, 1795, married Daniel Wash- 
born; David, January 11, 1797; Floratio, 
November 20, 1798; Francis Dighton, 
August 11, 1800, married, December 22, 
1824, Salome P. Stevens; James M., No- 
vember 15, 1802; Elizabeth A., February 
5, 1805, married, September, 1824, Wil- 
liam H. Bretton ; Virgil, October 30, 1807, 
died young; Sarah Barney, July 4, 1810, 
married, May, 1829, Charles L. Eustis ; 
Susan Shaw, mentioned below. 

(XIV) Susan Shaw, youngest child of 
Joshua and Frances (Williams) Wil- 
liams, was born August 21, 1812, and 
married, November 27, 1834, Artemas 
Briggs, of Taunton (see Briggs VII). 

(The Richmond Line). 

The surname Richmond had its origin 
in Brittany, France, and is derived from 
the French words “riche” and “monte” 
or “monde.” In English history it first 
appears as Rychemond, afterwards as 
Richemounte and Richemonte, and ulti- 
mately as Richmond. Among the various 
lines of ancestors in England are found 
those of the Ashton-Keynes and other 
Wiltshire Richmonds; the former for five 
generations bore the alias of Webb, first 
assumed by William Richmond about 
1430, when he married Alice, daughter 
and heiress of Thomas Webb, of Dray- 
cott, Wiltshire, England. It is claimed 
by some genealogists that the Richmonds 


of New England (though perhaps not in 
all of the branches in that region, or else- 
where in America) descended through 
one Roald, son of Roaldus “le Ennase,” 
while others of equal celebrity state that 
they descend from Alan, another son of 
Roaldus “le Ennase,” asserting that son 
Roald had no children. The Richmond 
genealogy informs us that Roaldus d-e 
Richmond was granted lands by the 
crown in Yorkshire, and tradition has it 
that this Richmond was a relative of Alan 
Rufus. Alan Rufus was a kinsman of the 
Conqueror, and was granted lands in 
Yorkshire, where he built his castle and 
was the first duke of Richmond. Tra- 
dition also says that John Richmond was 
born in Ashton-Keynes, and one reputa- 
ble writer states that in examination of 
the old church records at Ashton-Keynes 
he found the date of baptism of John 
Richmond, in 1597. 

(I) This John Richmond was the Amer- 
ican ancestor of the particular branch of 
the family to be treated of in these an- 
nals, and it is believed that he came to 
this country with a colony of cadets of 
noble English families on the western 
coast of Ireland, who had chosen this re- 
mote region that they might be able to 
“engage in commercial and other pur- 
suits without shocking their aristocratic 
relatives.” It is believed that John Rich- 
mond came to America in a trading 
vessel, and it is known that he was en- 
gaged in carrying on an extensive and 
flourishing trade with Saco, Maine, in 
1635, f° r the records show that in 1636 
he was in court with a suit brought by 
him, “to collect from Thomas Lewis six 
pounds and ten shillings for two barrells 
of beife.” In 1637 he was one of the pur- 
chasers and proprietors of Taunton, Mas- 
sachusetts, and there his daughter Sarah 
was probably born in 1638, and his daugh- 
ter Mary in 1639. From the fact that 
nothing is known of him between the 

years 1643 an d 1655, it is thought that 
he returned to England and took part in 
the wars, for family tradition runs to that 
effect, and also says that he was referred 
to as Colonel John Richmond. He prob- 
ably married before coming to New Eng- 
land. He was away from Taunton much 
of the time, and is known to have been 
in Newport and other places, but eventu- 
ally returned to Taunton and died there, 
March 20, 1664, aged seventy years. His 
children were: John, mentioned below; 
Captain Edward, born about 1632, in 
England, died in November, 1696; Sarah, 
about 1638, in Taunton, Massachusetts, 
died 1691 ; Mary, about 1639, in Taun- 
ton, died October 3, 1715. 

(II) John (2), eldest child of John (1) 
Richmond, was bom about the year 1627, 
before his father came to America, and 
died in Taunton, Massachusetts, October 
7, 1715, aged eighty-eight years. He ap- 
pears to have been a man of importance 
and was chosen to serve in various ca- 
pacities. In 1672 he was appointed, with 
James Walker, to purchase lands of the 
Indians ; was a member of the town coun- 
cil in 1675-76 and 1690, and also served as 
constable, commissioner and surveyor in 
March, 1677 ; he was distributor of ten 
pounds “Irish charity,” sent from Dublin, 
Ireland, in 1676, to be divided among the 
sufferers during King Philip’s War. “He 
was a member of every important com- 
mittee in Taunton for the purchase, di- 
vision and settlement of land and other 
matters of public interest. He was in- 
terested in several extensive purchases of 
land from the Indians in both Massachu- 
setts and Rhode Island.” He married 
Abigail Rogers, daughter of John Rogers, 
of Duxbury, Massachusetts, born about 
1641, died August 1, 1727; both she and 
her husband are buried in Taunton. Chil- 
dren : Mary, born June 2, 1654, in Bridge- 
water; John, June 6, 1656, in Bridge- 
water, was killed by the upsetting of a 


cart September 20, 1672; Thomas, Feb- 
ruary 2, 1659, in Newport, Rhode Island, 
died unmarried in Middleboro, December 
14, 1705; Susanna, November 4, 1661, in 
Bridgewater; Joseph, December 8, 1663, 
in Taunton; Edward, mentioned below; 
Samuel, September 23, 1668, in Taunton; 
Sarah, February 26, 1671, in Taunton; 
John, December 5, 1673, ’ n Taunton ; 
Ebenezer, May 12, 1676, in Newport; 
Abigail, February 26, 1679, in Newport. 

(III) Edward, son of John (2) and Abi- 
gail (Rogers) Richmond, was born Febru- 
ary 8, 1665, in Taunton, and died in 1741. 
In 1687 he and Joseph Richmond bought 
of John Rogers, of Duxbury, one hundred 
and fifty acres of land in Middleboro. 
The Christian name of his first wife was 
Marcy, and he married (second) May 6, 
1711, Rebecca Thurston, born November 
28, 1689, daughter of Jonathan and Sarah 
Thurston. He had a third wife, Mary. 
His will was dated June 3, 1738, and 
proved December 9, 1741. Children by 
first wife : Marcy, born 1693 ; Edward, 
1695; Richard; Josiah, 1697; Nathaniel, 
about 1700; Seth, mentioned below; 
Elizabeth; Phebe, 1706; of second wife: 
Sarah, December 20, 1712; Mary, 1714; 
Priscilla, February 27, 1718; Eunice, 
September 23, 1722, died young. 

(IV) Seth, fifth son of Edward and 
Marcy Richmond, was born in Taunton, 
where he passed his life, and was deacon 
of the church. He married Lydia, daugh- 
ter of William Haskins, born 1714, died 
September 29, 1782. Children: Edmund, 
born May 7, 1738; Phebe, August 1, 1739; 
Seth, mentioned below; Jonathan, Au- 
gust 7, 1749; Lydia, August 2, 1751; 
Mary, April 20, 1754; William, August 
11, 1756; Edward, December 9, 1758; 
Abigail, April 28, 1762. 

(V) Seth (2), second son of Seth (1) 
and Lydia (Haskins) Richmond, was 
born March 18, 1746, in Taunton, and 
was a soldier of the Revolution, first as 

private in Captain Oliver Soper’s com- 
pany, Colonel Timothy Walker’s regi- 
ment, muster roll dated August 1, 1775 ; 
enlisted May 2, 1775, service three 

months and six days ; also company re- 
turns dated October 5, 1775; also order 
for bounty coat, or its equivalent in money, 
dated Roxbury, November 1, 1775; also 
private in Captain Joshua Wilbore’s com- 
pany, Colonel Ebenezer Francis’ regiment, 
pay abstract for travel allowance from 
camp, home, etc. ; said Richmond credited 
with allowance for two days’ (thirty-six 
miles) travel, company drafted from Taun- 
ton, Raynham, Easton, Dartmouth, Free- 
town, Berkley and Dighton ; warrant al- 
lowed in council November 29, 1776; also 
Third Company, commanded by Lieuten- 
ant Noah Dean, Colonel George Williams’ 
regiment, service ten days, company 
marched from Taunton to Warren, Rhode 
Island, via Rehoboth, on the alarm at 
Rhode Island of December 8, 1776; also 
private Fourth Company, Colonel Gama- 
liel Bradford’s regiment, Continental 
army, pay accounts for service from 
March 6, 1777, to December 31, 1779, 
residence Taunton, credited to the town 
of Taunton; also Captain James Cooper's 
company. Twelfth Regiment, subsistence 
allowed from date of enlistment, March 
7, 1777, to June 1, 1777, credited with 
eighty-five days’ allowance, reported 
joined June 4, 1777, also same company 
and regiment return dated February 1, 
1778, mustered by county and Continen- 
tal muster masters ; also same company 
and regiment, Continental army pay ac- 
counts for service from January 1, 1780, 
to March 6, 1780. In his later years he 
received a pension of fifty dollars per 
year for his Revolutionary service. He 
died October 16, 1826. He married, De- 
cember 6, 1770, Hannah, daughter of 
Deacon Joseph and Elizabeth (Hackett) 
Richmond, of Middleboro, born February 
17, 1750, died July 5, 1809. She was a 


granddaughter of Joseph Richmond, 
great-granddaughter of Joseph Rich- 
mond, who was a son of John (2) Rich- 
mond, above mentioned. Children : Sime- 
on, born 1771 ; Seth, mentioned below; 
Abraham, February 22, 1 777; Abigail, 
December, 1787. 

(VI) Seth (3), second son of Seth (2) 
and Hannah (Richmond) Richmond, was 
born April 28, 1773, in Taunton, and lived 
in Middleboro, where he died March 23, 
i860. He married (first) October 8, 1795, 
Sally, daughter of Eleazer and Deborah 
(Barrows) Richmond, of Middleboro, born 
May 16, 1769, died 1822. Eleazer Rich- 
mond was a son of Josiah Richmond, who 
was a son of Edward Richmond, above 
mentioned. Seth (3) Richmond mar- 
ried (second) (published February 6, 
1823) Keziah Edson, born 1788-89, died 
June 4, 1866. Children of first wife: 
Simeon, born July 4, 1796; Sally Bar- 
rows, mentioned below; Salome, Novem- 
ber 12, 1801, died 1805; William Rufus, 
January 30, 1804; Eliza Rowe, Febru- 
ary 5, 1808; of second wife: Julia, 1824, 
died 1843; Salome, 1826; James Edson, 

(VII) Sally Barrows, eldest daughter 
of Seth (3) and Sally (Richmond) Rich- 
mond, was born May 16, 1799, in Middle- 
boro, and married (published August 27, 
1820) Lieutenant Joshua Shaw of Mid- 
dleboro, who died about 1845. Children : 
Sarah Richmond, mentioned below ; 
Fanny Woodbury, born October 13, 1823, 
married Henry Phillips, resided in Taun- 
ton ; Elvira Williams, May 25, 1825; El- 
bridge Gerry, June 25, 1826. 

(VIII) Sarah Richmond Shaw, eldest 
child of Lieutenant Joshua and Sally B. 
(Richmond) Shaw, was born December 
10, 1821, in Middleboro, married Horatio 
Alden Hackett, born April 15, 1832, and 
lived in Taunton. 

(IX) Myron Horatio Hackett, born 
February 23, 1845, ' n Taunton, married 

Lydia Adelaide Evans, and they were the 
parents of two children Charles and El- 
dora Alden mentioned below. 

(X) Eldora Alden Hackett, daughter 
of Myron H. and Lydia A. (Evans) Hac- 
kett, was born March 24, 1873, in Taun- 
ton, and was adopted by her aunt, Mrs. 
Albert H. Hathaway, of that city. She 
was married, November 7, 1906, to Alton 
LeRoy Hambly, and resides in Provi- 
dence. Children : Stafford Hathaway, 

born November 2, 1907; Dorothea Alden, 
December 28, 1908; Alton LeRoy, Jr., 
March 9, 1915. Mrs. Hambly is a mem- 
ber of Gaspee Chapter, Daughters of the 
American Revolution, of Providence. 

CHENEY, Ray Mungar, 

Representative Citizen. 

In nearly every part of England this 
name is found, and it has been identified 
with the history of the United States 
from their earliest settlement. It has 
been connected, especialy in New Eng- 
land, with the development of great busi- 
ness enterprises, is widely and favorably 
known in religious circles, in law, in 
medicine, and many worthy lines of en- 
deavor. Many of its representatives are 
to-day filling useful places in the life of 
the nation. The name of Cheney is de- 
rived from the French word “Chene,” 
meaning oak, and came into use origin- 
ally in England or Normandy to signify 
the residence probably of the progenitor. 
It belongs to the same class of surnames 
as Wood, Tree, Lake, Pond, Way, etc., 
and it is certain that Cheney, Chine, 
Cheyney, or Cheyne, as it was variously 
spelled, was one of the earliest surnames 
in use in England, and was borne by men 
of note. Sir Nicholas Chenney acquired 
the Manor of Up-Ottery, in Devonshire, 
in the reign of Henry III. (1207-72). 
Thomas Cheyner, mercer, died in Lon- 
don, in 1361, a man of wealth and varied 


interests. Henry Cheyney, of London, 
made his will, August 18, 1361. John 
Cheyney was archdeacon of Exeter, July 
10, r 379 I one °f the clergy of the Litch- 
field Cathedral in June, 1382; and pre- 
bend of Huntingdon, March 3, 1387-88. 
In the sixteenth and seventeeth centuries, 
records of the Cheney family are found in 
Northampton, Wiltshire, Sussex, Oxford- 
shire, Buckinghamshire, Bedfordshire, 
Berkshire, Suffolk, Norfolk, Yorkshire, 
Lincolnshire, Hertfordshire, Essex and 
Devonshire — pretty generally diffused 
throughout the country. The original 
coat-of-arms, according to Burke, was: 
Ermine on a bend sable three martlets or. 
Crest : A bull's scalp argent. There are 
other coats-of-arms of greater or less an- 
tiquity, borne by the various branches. 
A patient and costly search of the Eng- 
lish records has not conclusively proved 
the ancestry of two American immi- 
grants from whom the American Cheneys 
are decended. Both William and John 
Cheney came to Roxbury, Massachu- 
setts, and we find Cheney a rather nu- 
merous name in County Essex, England, 
whence many of the Roxbury settlers 
came. We find the will of Robert 
Cheney, of Waltham Abbey, dated Octo- 
ber 1, 1667, mentioning wife, Johan, ana 
sons, John, Raufe, William and Robert, 
and daughter, Agnes. His son John had 
a son William, born in 1584 and baptized 
February 21, 1584. Boston, Massachu- 
setts, of which Roxbury is now a part, 
was settled in part by immigrants from 
Boston, Lincolnshire, England. It is 
reasonable to suppose that the Essex and 
Lincolnshire Cheneys were closely re- 
lated. Their homes were not far apart 
and their children bore almost identical 
names. John Cheney, of Bennington in 
Lincolnshire, made his will. May 24, 1621, 
bequeathing to the poor of the parish, to 
wife, Alice, to children and others. He 
names two sons John, one distinguished 

from the other by the terms “John the 
elder”and“John the younger.” John Cheney 
was buried March 21, 1633. Children, 
mentioned in the will and recorded in the 
baptismal register of the parish : Frances, 
baptized December 20, 1596; William, 
baptized February 5, 1597; Jane, baptized 
February 28, 1600; John, baptized June 
30, 1605 ; Edward, baptized July 20, 1606; 
Thomas, born July 25, 1607: Agnes, bap- 
tized October 16, 1608 ; John, baptized 
November 9, 1609; Richard, baptized 
September 29, 1611; Elizabeth, baptized 
June 2, 1614. Edward was buried De- 
cember 8, 1613; the wife, Elizabeth, was 
buried June 12, 1614. A Thomas Cheney 
was an alderman of Boston, England, in 
1585, and the family has been prominent 
there for several centuries. William 
Cheney, the immigrant, owned land ad- 
joining Rev. John Wilson’s land in Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts. We know no reason 
for thinking that John and William 
Cheney, the immigrants, were not the 
sons of John Cheney, of Bennington, a 
list of whose children has just been given. 
But if it were proved that the Cheneys 
were of this old Lincolnshire family, the 
English pedigree appears to be impos- 
sible to trace. But few English pedigrees 
have been conclusively proved and estab- 

(I) William Cheney, the immigrant an- 
cestor, probably born in England in 1604, 
was a very early resident of Roxbury, 
Massachusetts Bay Colony (now in- 
cluded in the city of Boston). One rec- 
ord fixes the date of his death as June 30, 
1667, and the church record gives it : 
Died, “1667, month 5 day 2, William 
Cheany Sen.” The records show that he 
was a landholder and resident at Rox- 
bury before 1640. In that year or the 
year before he owned twenty-four and a 
half acres of land there, and there are 
land deeds which show that he possessed 
other tracts. His homestead lay in a 



bend of the old highway, now Dudley 
street, near its junction with Warren 
street. In 1645 the Roxbury Free School 
was founded, and the name of William 
Cheney is found on the list of subscribers 
to the school fund, also among the few 
who specially guaranteed the town the 
payment of their yearly contributions. 
Late in 1664, he was chosen a member of 
the board of directors, or “feofees,” of 
this school. In 1648 he was elected a 
member of the board of assessors, and 
February 23, 1653, as one of a committee 
to raise a certain sum for the maintenance 
of the minister. In 1654-55 he was one 
of the two constables, and January 19, 
1:656-57, was a member of the board of 
selectmen. May 23, 1666, he was made a 
freeman of the colony. He was admitted 
to full communion of the church, March 
5, 1664-65, and his wife, Margaret, April 
22, 1644. After his death she married 
(second) a Mr. Burge or Burges, and 
was again a widow before 1679. She 
spent her last years in Boston, and was 
buried in Roxbury, July 3, 1686. Chil- 
dren: Ellen, born in England about 1626; 
Margaret, married, April, 1650, in Rox- 
bury, Deacon Thomas Hastings ; Thom- 
as ; William, mentioned below; John, 
born September 29, 1639, in Roxbury ; 
Mehitabel, June 1, 1643, > n Roxbury; 
Joseph, June 6, 1647, ' n Roxbury. 

(II) William (2) Cheney, second son 
of William (1) and Margaret Cheney, 
was probably born in England, reared in 
Roxbury, Massachusetts, and died Sep- 
tember, 1681, in Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts. He settled, about 1662, on lands 
granted to his father by the colony in 
what was then Dedham. In 1671 he re- 
moved to Dorchester. He purchased a 
homestead in Medfield. and his second 
house in that town was on the north side 
of Main street, near the present Bridge 
street, which he sold in 1680. He mar- 
ried Deborah, daughter of Deacon John 

Wiswell, of Boston, who survived him 
and married (second) Ebenezer Williams, 
of Dorchester. His will devised property 
to his widow and sons, only two of whom 
survived the period of infancy. Chil- 
dren : Deborah, born 1662, died 1663 ; 

William, 1664, died the same year; De- 
borah, November 1, 1666; William, men- 
tioned below; John, January 5, 1674, in 
Dorchester; Benjamin, May 1, 1677 ; 

Abiel, November 26, 1681. 

(III) William (3) Cheney, second son 
of William (2) and Deborah (Wiswell) 
Cheney, was born July 27, 1670, in Med- 
field, and died July 1, 1753, in that part 
of Mendon which is now Milford, Massa- 
chusetts. He appears on the list made 
in October, 1695, of those pledged to sup- 
port the ministry, and he and his wife 
were members of the Mendon church. 
He received grants of land in 1705 and 
1706, making eighty acres in all. About 
1706 he removed to that portion of Med- 
ford which is now Milford, and was 
among the signers, with his son William, 
of a petition for the establishment of Mil- 
ford precinct in 1741. This did not be- 
come a separate town until 1780. He 
sold twenty-six acres of his land in 1725, 
and subsequently deeded the remainder 
to his sons. He is described as a man of 
high character and highly esteemed in 
Mendon and Milford. No record of his 
marriage has been discovered. His wife’s 
baptismal name was Margaret, and they 
had children, born in Mendon : Margaret, 
August 30, 1695; Sarah, July 15, 1699; 
Hester, June 17. 1701 ; William, men- 
tioned below; Ebenezer, November 20, 
1706: Abigail. September 21, 1709. 

(IV) William (4) Cheney, eldest son 
of William (3) and Margaret Cheney, 
was born February 7, 1704, in Mendon, 
and was a member of the church there 
until dismissed to the Milford church in 
1741. From that year until 1747. he was 
clerk of the Milford precinct, and died 


there, July 18, 1756. lie was a joiner 
by trade, and also engaged in farming, 
and was a capable and thrifty man. He 
married, in Dorchester, May 13, 1726, 
Joanna Thayer, born August 18, 1706, in 
Braintree, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Nathaniel and Sarah (Wales) Thayer. 
She married (second) May 28, 1760, Dea- 
con Nathan Peniman. Children: Susan- 
na, born July 23, 1730; Wales, August 
31, 1732; Nathaniel, February 24, 1734; 
Mary, July 27, 1736; Caleb, January 12, 
1739; Ebenezer, mentioned below; Abi- 
gail, November 20, 1743; William, May 
18, 1746; Levi, November 23, 1756. 

(V) Ebenezer Cheney, fourth son of 
William (4) and Joanna (Thayer) Cheney, 
was born July 10, 1741, baptized July 19, 
same year, in what is now Milford, and 
early in life removed to Warwick, Frank- 
lin county, Massachusetts, where he 
served on the board of selectmen. In 
1783 the town was divided, and the 
section in which Ebenezer Cheney lived 
became the precinct of Orange, incorpo- 
rated as a town in 1810. He was a lead- 
ing citizen of that town, and filled vari- 
ous offices. He was admitted to full 
communion in the Milford church, Au- 
gust 30, 1767, and not long after removed 
from the town. He died in Orange, No- 
vember 14, 1828. He served as a soldier 
in the French and Indian War under 
Captain William Jones, with the rank of 
sergeant, from April 27 to November 26, 
1760, and was encamped at Ticonderoga, 
where his son later served as a Revolu- 
tionary soldier. He married (first) March 
18. 1760, Abigail Thompson, born May 
31, 1736, in Bellingham, Massachusetts, 
and died January 16, 1776, in Warwick. 
He married (second) (intention published 
October 18, 1776) Hannah Gould, born 
1758, died October 10, 1828, in Orange, 
aged seventy years. Children of the first 
marriage: Elijah, born 1760, died young; 
Ebenezer, September 3, 1761 ; Elijah, 

mentioned below ; Abner, November 10, 
1765; Simeon, 1767, died young ; Joanna, 
April 16, 1768; Sarah, 1770, died young; 
Abigail, married Sylvester Holbrook ; 
Daniel, January 7, 1774; children of sec- 
ond marriage: Hannah, born August 8, 
1 777 1 Sarah, 1780; John, December 29, 
1781 ; Beulah, January 26, 1785 ; Susanna, 
May 10, 1786; Mark, September 29, 1788; 
Luke, December 27, 1790; Lydia, July 
13, 1 793 > Matthew, February 13, 1795; 
Silence, December 5, 1800; Mary, Au- 
gust 7, 1803. 

(VI) Elijah Cheney, third son of Eben- 

ezer and Abigail (Thompson) Cheney, 
was born April 9, 1764, in Mendon, and 
resided in Hinsdale, Massachusetts, 
whence he removed to Franklin, Ver- 
mont, early in the nineteenth century, 
settling in the western part of that town, 
and was killed by a fall from a wagon, 
June 7, 1847. He married, January 6, 
1800, Dorcas Robins. Children: Jerusha, 
born October 9, 1803 ; Clarissa, Septem- 
ber ii, 1805; Alvin, January 10, 1808; 
Sylvester Holbrook, March 26, 1810; 

Lucinda, July 10, 1812; Benjamin Frank- 
lin, mentioned below; Ebenezer, July 29, 
1817; Erastus, October 30, 1819; Lydia 
M„ August 25, 1822. 

(VII) Benjamin Franklin Cheney, third 
son of Elijah and Dorcas (Robins) Cheney, 
was born March 28, 1814, in Franklin, 
and died there, April 14, 1875. He was 
an industrious blacksmith and esteemed 
citizen ; a Whig in politics, and a Metho- 
dist in religion. He married (first) March 
31, 1841, Jane Bascom, who died April 15, 
1845. He married (second) May 6, 1845, 
Martha Davis, who died in April, 1866. 
He married (third) in November, 1866, 
Jane Davis, who survived him, and died 
in July, 1883. Children of the first mar- 
riage : Hannah, born April 3, 1842, in 
Franklin, married, March 17, 1885, Henry 
C. Pomeroy, born there, July 27, 1843; 
Nelson, born July 21, 1844, died four 



months old ; of second marriage : Virtue 
Imogene, born March 28, 1847, died 1852; 
Judson Marvin, mentioned below; Ben- 
jamin Franklin, January 11, 1854, died 
October 25, 1856. 

(VIII) Judson Marvin Cheney, only 
surviving son of Benjamin Franklin 
Cheney and his second wife, Martha 
(Davis) Cheney, was born April 6, 1848, 
in Franklin, where he grew up, graduat- 
ing from the high school and Franklin 
Academy. He early embarked in busi- 
ness as a clerk in a dry goods store of his 
native town, and later became a traveling 
salesman, for many years covering New 
England and the Middle West. For some 
time his residence was in Minnesota. For 
five years he was in the United States cus- 
toms’ service at Island Pond, Vermont, 
and he served a similar period in the Cus- 
tom House at Richford, Vermont. With 
these exceptions, his entire business ca- 
reer has dealt with the dry goods busi- 
ness, and his home is now in Syracuse, 
New York. He represents a wholesale 
dry goods house of that city on the road. 
He is a member of the Congregational 
church ; of the Masonic lodge at Frank- 
lin, V ermont ; also affiliating with the 
commanderv, Knights Templar, at Mid- 
dlebury, Vermont. He is a member of 
the Commercial Travelers’ Association, 
and acts politically with the Republican 
party. He married, March 29, 1871, Sarah 
Lucinda Green, born February 2, 1847, in 
Franklin, Vermont, daughter of Alonzo 
A. Green, died July 26, 1890, at Richford, 
Vermont. Children: Ray Mungar, men- 
tioned below; Benjamin Hyatt, born July 
26, 1880; Bessie, born 1882, at Franklin, 
married Lyman F. Bailey, of Richford, 
and now resides in Bakersfield, Califor- 
nia ; Ruth, born May 14, 1891, in Frank- 
lin, died aged seven years, in Richford. 

(IX) Ray Mungar Cheney, son of Jud- 
son Marvin and Sarah Lucinda (Green) 
Cheney, was born January 27, 1877, in 

Mankato, Minnesota, and grew up at 
Franklin, Vermont, attending the public 
schools and academy, graduating from 
the Richford High School. On leaving 
school he served an apprenticeship of 
four years in a foundry at Richford, and 
was subsequently working as a journey- 
man in the Lincoln Iron Works at Rut- 
land, Vermont, nearly two years, after 
which he spent two years in the Fair- 
banks Scale Company at St. Johnsbury, 
Vermont. For two years he was em- 
ployed by the Builders’ Iron Foundry 
Company at Providence, Rhode Island, 
and was five years with James A. Colvin 
& Company, of Worcester, Massachu- 
setts. He was four years in the service 
of the General Electric Company at Sche- 
nectady, New York, following which for 
two years he was in charge of the Henry 
Parsons Machine Company foundry at 
Marlboro, Massachusetts. For a like 
period he occupied a similar position at 
the L. G. McKnight Machine Company’s 
plant in Gardner. Massachusetts, remov- 
ing to Fitchburg, Massachusetts, in April, 
1912, to take the position of superintend- 
ent of the Union Foundry Company, of 
that city. In July, 1914, he was made 
manager of the entire business, which 
employs nearly one hundred men. Mr. 
Cheney has taken an intelligent interest 
in the progress of his native land, and has 
mingled in the social life of the various 
communities in which he has resided. He 
is a member of the local lodge of United 
Workmen of America, at Gardner, Mas- 
sachusetts ; Marlboro Lodge, No. 85, In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows, of 
Marlboro, Massachusetts ; King David 
Encampment and Canton Fitchburg, of 
Fitchburg, Massachusetts. He is a Uni- 
versalist in religion. He married. April 
29, 1901, Isabel A. Mulhern, born May 
31, 1873, in Machias, Maine, daughter of 
Austin and Elsie (Randall) Mulhern. 


WILLIAMS, Joseph S., 


This is a very ancient Welsh family, 
and the origin and history of the family 
is given at great length elsewhere in this 
work, including the history of Richard 
Williams, the founder of the line in Amer- 

(IX) Joseph, son of Richard and Fran- 
ces (Dighton) Williams, married (first) 
Elizabeth Watson, (second) Abigail New- 
land. He had children : Elizabeth, Rich- 
ard, Mehitable, Joseph, Benjamin, Eben- 
ezer, Phebe and Richard. 

(X) Richard, son of Joseph and Eliza- 

beth (Watson) Williams, born March 26, 
1689, died in 1727. He married (first) 
Anna Wilbore, (second) January 1, 1740, 
Elizabeth Merick. Children : George, 

Richard and Ebenezer. 

(XI) Colonel George Williams, son of 
Richard and Anna (Wilbore) Williams, 
was born 1717, in Taunton, died 1803, and 
lived in that town, on the east side of the 
Taunton River, on what is now Williams 
street. He was a man of property, own- 
ing a large landed estate. From the sol- 
dierly qualities which he evidently pos- 
sessed it seems that he served in the war 
with the French in 1744-45; and perhaps 
in the first year of the French and Indian 
war. But the record thus far found of his 
military service begins in 1757; he was 
then ensign of a company stationed at 
Fort William Henry when the French 
and Indians under Montcalm invested the 
place, August 3, 1757. He was sent out at 
the beginning of the siege under Captain 
Saltonstall, but his party was driven back, 
and he himself taken prisoner. He was 
released not long after, and returned to 
Taunton. He rose to the rank of cap- 
tain of the Third Taunton company, and 
in 1772 was major of the Third Bristol 
county regiment. On February 2, 1776, 
he was elected colonel of this regiment by 

the Legislature and commissioned Febru- 
ary 7, and did good service during the 
Revolution. His principal military opera- 
tions were in Rhode Island, which State 
was constantly harried and threatened by 
the British navy. He was a prominent 
member of the Taunton Committee of 
Correspondence, Inspection and Safety 
for several years, beginning in 1775, an< 3 
was selectman of Taunton in 1780. His 
son, Richard Williams, was one of the 
minute-men of the company of Captain 
James Williams, Jr., who marched to 
Roxbury at the news of the battle of Lex- 
ington. During the last six months of 
1776 he was serving at the defense of Bos- 
ton, being sergeant under Captain Joshua 
Wilbore. He very likely served at other 
times, but the Revolutionary rolls are not 
sufficiently explicit for his identification 
among the many soldiers of this name. 
He married (first) January 6, 1737, Sarah 
Hodges, born 1715, in Taunton, daughter 
of Henry and Sarah (Leonard) Hodges, 
of Taunton. He married (second) Mrs. 
Nancy Dean, who died in 1797. Children, 
all born in Taunton; 1. Phebe, 1737, died 
1813. in Taunton; married (first) John 
Hart, of Taunton, son of Lawrence and 
Elizabeth Hart, (second) February 15, 
1759, Simeon Tisdale, of Taunton, son of 
Joseph and Ruth (Reed) Tisdale, (third) 
April 27, 1763, Eliphaz Harlow, of Taun- 
ton, son of Eleazer and Hannah (Delano) 
Harlow. 2. Sarah, 1739, died 1820; mar- 
ried, April 14, 1757, Richard Godfrey, of 
Taunton, son of Richard and Theodora 
(Dean) Godfrey. 3. A child, 1741, died 
May 5, 1750, in Taunton. 4. George, men- 
tioned below. 5. Anna, 1747, died Novem- 
ber 2, 1833, at Taunton; married (first) 
September 16, 1763, Elisha Godding, (sec- 
ond) July 19, 1788, Jonathan French, of 
Berkley, Massachusetts, son of Ebenezer 
and Keziah French, of Berkley. 6. Eben- 
ezer, 1751, died April 30, 1814; married, 


March 7, 1769, at Raynham, Sarah Ellis, 
of that town, daughter of Philip Ellis. 7. 
Lydia, 1753, died March 5, 1773; married, 
August 6, 1772, Isaac Tobey, of Berkley, 
son of Rev. Samuel and Bathsheba 
(Crocker) Tobey, of that town. 8. Rich- 
ard, 1755 or 1757, died in Taunton, 1814; 
married Hannah Padelford, of that town, 
daughter of Edward and Sarah (Briggs) 
Padelford. 9. Abiather, June 4, 1759, died 
October 4, 1760, at Taunton. 

(XII) George (2), son of Colonel 
George (1) Williams and Sarah (Hodges) 
Williams, was born August 18, 1745, in 
Taunton, and died February 23, 1814, in 
Raynham. He was a man of fine personal 
appearance, according to the accounts 
handed down in the family, was a farmer 
and owned a fine property. While it is 
certain he served in the Revolution, it is 
difficult to pick out his record from the 
many of the same name. Possibly he 
served in New York State from about the 
beginning of 1776 until December, being 
or becoming a sergeant in Captain James 
Allen’s company, Colonel Simeon Carey’s 
regiment. He certainly was quartermas- 
ter of his father’s regiment in Rhode 
Island, December, 1776, and January, 
1777. He married, October 2, 1766, Bath- 
sheba King, born March 31, 1744, in 
Raynham, daughter of Philip and Abigail 
King, died May 26, 1839, in Taunton. 
Children, all born in Raynham: Sarah, 
July 27, 1767; George, February 26, 1769; 
a son, May 6, 1771 ; Abiathar, January 8, 
1773; Bathsheba, January 25, 1775 ; Me- 
lancy, February 28, 1777; Francis, men- 
tioned below; Narcissus, September 13, 
1781 ; Enoch, December 29, 1783; Samuel 
K., November 17, 1785. 

(XIII) Francis, fourth son of George 
(2) and Bathsheba (King) Williams, was 
born October 13, 1779, in Raynham, and 
died July n, 1868, in Newport, Rhode 
Island. He inherited one of his father’s 

several farms, was largely engaged in 
agriculture, and was a manufacturer of 
bricks in Taunton for more than half a 
century. He is described as a man of 
large frame, well proportioned, of strong 
vitality and great powers of endurance. 
He possessed a strong intellect, was of 
social and genial nature, and never idle. 
A leader in every public enterprise of de- 
velopment, he was a large employer of 
labor, was interested in the establishment 
of the Taunton copper works, and various 
manufacturing enterprises in Wareham, 
Dighton and Providence. He was among 
the founders of every bank established in 
Taunton during his business life, and was 
also largely interested in whaling. He 
did an extensive business in the prepara- 
tion of oak and pine timber for ship build- 
ing, and was one of the most active and 
useful citizens of his time. In early life 
he was a Whig in political principle, but 
gave little attention to politics, as his time 
was fully occupied in caring for his pri- 
vate interests. He represented Taunton 
in the State Legislature, and also settled 
many estates. He was remarkable as a 
lover of even-handed justice, was broad 
and liberal in sentiment, a Unitarian in 
religion. His most distinguished char- 
acteristics were his energy, sound judg- 
ment and keen foresight. He married, 
May 6, 1804, Louisa, daughter of John 
and Elizabeth (Dean) Gilmore, of Rayn- 
ham, born September 30, 1782, in that 
town (see Gilmore IV). Children: Fran- 
cis K., William H., Martin G., George A., 
Louisa, Elizabeth D., John R., Edwin 
Catherine, Alexander H. and Ruth C. 

(XIV) John Reed, son of Francis and 
Louisa (Gilmore) Williams, was born 
June 28, 1817, in the old homestead in 
Taunton, and, like all his father’s children 
was reared to habits of industry and 
thrift. His education was supplied by the 
common schools and academy, and at the 


age of twenty years he taught one term. 
On attaining his majority he went to Sa- 
vannah, Georgia, where he was employed 
in making the bricks subsequently used 
in the erection of the famous Fort Pu- 
laski. After two winters there he re- 
turned to his native home, and was em- 
ployed by his father until 1842. In that 
year he purchased land in Taunton, on 
which he resided after 1843. Pie manu- 
factured red brick, and later fire brick and 
stove linings. Beginning with his own 
labor, his establishment grew until he em- 
ployed some twenty men and turned out 
large quantities of brick. He improved 
his farm, which consisted of one hundred 
acres, and in 1857 built thereon a very 
handsome, commodious residence. He 
was a director and president of the Taun- 
ton Iron Works, a stockholder in two 
banks, in cooper works and other manu- 
facturing industries. Of keen mind and 
progressive nature, he was generous and 
filled an important place in the commu- 
nity. He was first a Whig, he was later 
a Republican, and was a member of the 
Congregational Unitarian Church of 
Taunton. He was also affiliated with 
King David Lodge, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; St. Marks Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; and King Philip Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He 
married Sarah, daughter of Abner and 
Eleanor (Sanford) Pitts, of Taunton, 
born in Taunton, where she died Febru- 
ary 11, 1911 (see Sanford VI). Both she 
and her husband were buried in Mt. 
Pleasant Cemetery, Taunton. Children: 
1. John Francis, died in infancy. 2. Joseph 
Sanford, mentioned below. 3. Sarah Eliz- 
abeth, resides at 214 West Water street. 
4. Ellen Louise, married Edward L. Bass, 
and has children: Royce Edward, John 
Williams, Fannie Louise. 5. Sophia Pitts, 
resides with her sister. 6. John Gilmore, 
who is connected with his brother in 

the conduct of the stove lining manu- 
facture at Taunton. He married Bertha 
Frances Walker, daughter of Samuel 
Walker. Children: Marguerite, died in 
infancy; Gladys Gilmore. The Misses 
Williams are members of Lydia Cobb 
Chapter, Daughters of the American Rev- 
olution of Taunton, and of the Unitarian 
church. John Reed Williams died at Bos- 
ton, January 12, 1890. 

(XV) Joseph Sanford, eldest son of 
John Reed and Sarah (Pitts) Williams, 
was born in Taunton, where he resides. 
He is interested in the Williams Stove 
Lining Company, an extensive manufac- 
turing industry of that city, and is com- 
modore of the Taunton Yacht Club. He 
is also a member of the Masonic frater- 
nity, holding membership in Charles H. 
Titus Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, and St. Mark’s Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons, both of Taunton ; St. John’s 
Commandery, Knights Templar, of Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island ; the Massachusetts 
Consistory, at Boston ; and Aleppo 
Temple, Order of the Mystic Shrine, Bos- 

(The Sanford Line). 

(I) John Sanford, the first settler by 
that name in New England, was the son 
of Samuel and Ellenor, of Alford, Lin- 
colnshire, England. He came to Boston 
in the “Lyon” in 1631, with Rev. John 
Eliot, John Winthrop, Jr., and others, and 
his name stands one hundred and eighth 
on the list of church membership. He 
was sworn a freeman April 3, 1632, and 
the same year made cannoneer of the fort. 
Governor Thomas Hutchinson mentioned 
him among the distinguished citizens. In 
1637 he was disarmed, that is, deprived 
of his civil privileges because of his 
support of John Wheelwright and Mrs. 
Anne Hutchinson in their controversy 
with the Colonial authorities. In March, 
1638, he left Boston for Aquidneck, now 


the island of Rhode Island, with Wil- 
liam Coddington, Edward Hutchinson 
and sixteen others, having made, as 
the records show, “an honest purchase of 
the island.” He held many important 
offices in the Rhode Island Colony, was 
chosen constable for the year 1640 and 
lieutenant January 13, 1644. The three 
settlements were united by a common 
charter in 1647, and on May 21 he was 
chosen assistant governor, and acted as 
coroner. He was reelected general as- 
sistant May 23, 1649; chosen general 
treasurer of the colony May 22, 1655 ; gen- 
eral recorder and treasurer on May 20, 
1656; and “clarke” of the General Assem- 
bly, Roger Williams having at the same 
time been chosen moderator. He was re- 
elected “clarke” in 1657-58 ; was later 
deputy for Portsmouth to the General 
Assembly at Newport; and October 31, 
1677, one of the committee to lay out East 
Greenwich. At the time of his death he 
was president of the colony. He was 
married (first) about the time he went 
to Boston, to Elizabeth Webb, sister of 
Henry Webb. Their children were ; John, 
mentioned below; Samuel, baptized June 
22, 1634; and Eliphalet, December, 1637. 
He married (second) Bridget, daughter 
of the celebrated Anne Hutchinson, and 
by her had ten children. 

(II) John (2), son of John (1) and 
Elizabeth (Webb) Sanford, baptized June 
24, 1632, was admitted a freeman at the 
General Assembly held at Newport, May 
17, 1653, was a man of learning and filled 
high offices in the colony. He married 
(first) August 8, 1654, Elizabeth, eldest 
daughter of Henry Sparhurst, of Ber- 
muda, died December 6, 1660. He mar- 
ried (second) April 11, 1663, Mary, 
daughter of Rev. Samuel Gorton, of War- 
wick, and widow of Peter Green. Chil- 
dren of first marriage : Elizabeth, born 
July 11, 1655; Mary, August 18, 1656; 

Susanna, July 31, 1658, and Rebecca, June 
23, 1660. Children of second marriage; 
Mary, born March 3, 1664; Eliphalet, 
February 20, 1666; John, mentioned be- 
low; and Samuel, October 5, 1677. 

(III) John (3), son of John (2) San- 
ford, and child of his second wife, Mary 
Gorton, born June 18, 1672, located in 
Taunton, that is, Berkley, about 1713, 
was a large land owner, and is described 
in one of the records as a mason by trade. 
He married, July 1, 1713, Abigail Pitts, 
born 1689, daughter of Samuel Pitts, of 
Taunton, and granddaughter of Peter 
Pitts. She received from her father a 
tract of land. To John (3) Sanford and 
wife were born, among other children, a 

(IV) George Sanford, born 1725, lived 
to the advanced age of ninety-four years, 
dying February 19, 1820. His wife, Mary 
(or Mercy) Phillips, born 1727, died 1793. 

(V) Joseph, son of George and Mary 
(Phillips) Sanford, was born June 24, 
1761, at Berkley, and died April 12, 1835. 
According to his son John he was a man 
who “possessed a strong mind in a strong 
body.” He taught school in his native 
town for forty winters, had a reputation 
for skill in navigation, algebra and other 
branches of mathematics, and used to 
amuse himself in winter, after he had be- 
come too old to teach, by calculating 
eclipses. He was a soldier in the war of 
the Revolution, serving through many 
campaigns. He was a private in Captain 
Zebediah Reading’s company, Colonel 
Josiah Whitney’s regiment, serving two 
months and twenty-three days, ending 
August 1, 1776, at Hull. He was a pri- 
vate in Captain Elijah Walker’s company, 
Colonel John Hathaway’s regiment, twen- 
ty-one days, marched from Dighton to 
Tiverton, April 23, 1777. In the same 
year he was a private in Captain Philip 
Hathaway’s company, Colonel Josiah 


Whitney's regiment, one month and twen- 
ty-seven days at Rhode Island, roll sworn 
November 28, 1777, in Suffolk county. 
His name appears in the list of men mus- 
tered by James Leonard, mustermaster, 
to serve nine months in the Continental 
army from arrival at Fishkill, dated Taun- 
ton, May 19, 1778. He is described as five 
feet, ten inches in height, complexion 
dark, hair and eyes black, residence Berk- 
ley, credited to Berkley. He was a ser- 
geant in Captain Nathan Packard’s com- 
pany, Colonel Jacobs’ Light Infantry, 
from September 23 to November 25, 1779, 
two months and two days, at Rhode 
Island. He was a private in Captain Mat- 
thew Randall’s company, Colonel Abial 
Mitchell’s regiment, from July 29 to Oc- 
tober 31, 1780, three months and four 
days, regiment raised to reinforce the 
Continental army for three months. He 
probably served subsequently in the State 
militia, as he bore the title of captain. He 
married, September 27, 1785, Eleanor 
Macomber, born August 3, 1763, died Au- 
gust 11, 1845, daughter of James and 
Rachel (Darke) Macomber, of Berkley, 
Massachusetts. Children: James, John, 
Eleanor (mentioned below), Alpheus, 
Enoch, Joseph, Baalis and Mary. Four 
of these six sons were graduates of Brown 
University, James and John in the class 
of 1812, Enoch in 1820 and Baalis in 1823. 
They all afterward entered the ministry. 
James, born May 7, 1786, was for some 
years pastor of churches of the Congre- 
gational denomination in the States of 
New York and Massachusetts ; John, Sep- 
tember 12, 1788, was pastor of the church 
at South Dennis, Massachusetts, from 
1818 to 1829; Enoch, November 30, 1795, 
was for two years a tutor at Brown and 
then pastor of the First Congregational 
Church at Raynham, Massachusetts, for 
twenty-five years; Baalis, July 16, 1801, 
after his graduation from the Andover 

Theological Seminary, in 1826, was pas- 
tor of the Congregational churches at 
East and West Bridgewater, 1850-61. 

(VI) Eleanor, elder daughter of Joseph 
and Eleanor (Macomber) Sanford, was 
born April 29, 1791, in Berkley, and mar- 
ried Abner Pitts. 

(VII) Sarah, daughter of Abner and 
Eleanor (Sanford) Pitts, became the wife 
of John Reed Williams, of Taunton (see 
Williams XIV). 

(The Gilmore Line). 

The early ancestry of the Gilmore fam- 
ily of Southeastern Massachusetts is de- 
scribed at length elsewhere in this work. 
The pioneer was John Gilmore, who came 
from sturdy Scotch ancestry, was born in 
Glasgow about 1660. He was the father 
of James Gilmore, born about 1697, in 
Ulster county, Ireland, and lived in Rayn- 
ham, Massachusetts. His third son, John 
(2) Gilmore, was born 1730, in Raynham, 
where he was a farmer, and died in 1820. 
He was buried in the Gilmore family lot 
in North Raynham, where a stone marks 
his last resting place. He was a soldier 
of the Revolution, serving as a private in 
Captain Jonathan Shaw’s (Raynham) 
company, Colonel George Williams’ 
(Third Bristol county) regiment, serving 
eleven days on a march to Warren by 
way of Rehoboth, December 8, 1776, on 
an alarm. His will made December 19, 
1804, probated January 2, 1821, mentions 
his wife Sarah, sons John, Joshua, 
Othniel, Jonathan, David, and daughters 
Sarah Villar, Mary Dean, Hannah Gushee, 
Isabel Jones, Asenath Dean, Achsah Reed, 
Rhoda Gilmore. His son John was made 
executor of the will. 

(IV) John (3), eldest child of John (2) 
and Sarah Gilmore, was born about 1770, 
in Raynham, where he made his home. 
His intention of marriage to Elizabeth 
Dean, of Raynham, was published Au- 


gust 3, 1780. She died December 12, 1820, 
at the age of fifty-one years, in Raynham, 
and he married (second) Ruth Wilbur, a 
widow, of that town, daughter of Fred- 
erick Briggs. Children : John D., born 
January 17, 1781 ; Louisa, mentioned be- 
low ; Melvin, April 11, 1785; Laura, May 
6, 1793; Narcissus, August 14, 1797, mar- 
ried Hasadiah Haskell, of Raynham ; Al- 
bert, May 15, 1800. 

(V) Louisa, eldest daughter of John 
(3) and Elizabeth (Dean) Gilmore, was 
born September 30, 1782, and married 
Francis Williams (see Williams XIII). 


The Tinkham family is of ancient Eng- 
lish origin. As far as known all the Amer- 
ican families are descended from the first 
settler, mentioned in this sketch. 

(I) Sergeant Ephraim Tinkham, born 
about 1606, and died June 5, 1686, came 
from Ashburnham, near Plymouth, Eng- 
land, in April, 1630. He probably came 
in the service of Thomas Hatherly, under 
indenture or contract, as many young 
men did, to pay their passage. Later, he 
was transferred to the service of John 
Winslow, in 1634. He received a grant 
of land from the town of Duxbury, thirty- 
five acres, was one of the proprietors, Au- 
gust 2, 1642, and became a very promi- 
nent citizen both in civil and military life ; 
was selectman and sergeant and held 
other offices of trust and honor. He and 
his wife sold a third part of a lot of land 
with dwelling and other buildings which 
belonged to Peter Brown, by deed of Oc- 
tober 27, 1647, to Henry Thompson, of 
Duxbury. He was admitted a freeman in 
1670. In 1674 he was juror in a murder 
case ; in 1675 member of the grand in- 
quest. He and William Crowell and Ed- 
ward Gray were a commission in 1668 to 
settle the bounds of the governor’s lands 
at Plaindealing. His will was dated Jan- 

uary 1 7, 1683, and proved June 5, 1685, 
bequeathing to wife Mary, children Eph- 
raim, Ebenezer, Peter, Hezekiah, John, 
Isaac, Mary Tomson. He was one of the 
twenty-six men who in 1662 bought of the 
Indians the territory comprising the town 
of Middleborough, and settled there. He 
married Mary Brown, daughter of Peter 
Brown, who came to Plymouth in the 
“Mayflower.” Children, born at Plym- 
outh or Duxbury : Ephraim, mentioned 
below ; Ebenezer, born September 30, 
1651; Peter, December 25, 1653; Heze- 
kiah, February 8, 1656; John, June 7, 
1658; Mary, August 5, 1661; John, No- 
vember 15, 1663; Isaac, April 11, 1666. 

(II) Ephraim (2), eldest child of Eph- 
raim (1) and Mary (Brown) Tinkham, 
was born August 1, 1649, at Duxbury, and 
died October 13, 1714, at Middleborough. 
He settled in the latter town, where he 
was propounded for freeman in 1682 ; was 
constable in 1681. He married Esther 
Wright, who was born in 1649 and died 
March 28, 1717, granddaughter of Fran- 
cis Cook, who came to Plymouth in 1620 
in the “Mayflower.” He inherited his 
father’s house in Middleborough. Chil- 
dren, born at Middleborough : John, born 
August 23, 1680; Jeremiah, mentioned be- 
low; Ephraim, October 7, 1682, died July 
11, 1713 ; Isaac, June, 1685 ; Samuel, March 
19, 1688. 

(III) Jeremiah, second son of Ephraim 
(2) and Esther (Wright) Tinkham, was 
born February 13, 1681, and died April 5, 
1715. He married Joanna Powell, and 
lived in Middleborough. 

(IV) Ebenezer, son of Jeremiah and 
Joanna (Powell) Tinkham, was born De- 
cember 16, 1714, died November 17, 1801 ; 
he married Hannah Shaw. 

(V) Isaac, son of Ebenezer and Han- 
nah (Shaw) Tinkham, was born Novem- 
ber 26, 1741, died April 18, 1818; he mar- 
ried Lucretia Hammond, of Dartmouth, 



(VI) Ebenezer (2), son of Isaac and 
Sarah (Howard) Tinkham, was born De- 
cember 13, 1777, died March 11, 1836; he 
married Harriet Morrison. 

(VII) Ebenezer (3), son of Ebenezer 
(2) and Harriet (Morrison) Tinkham, 
was born February 11, 1813, in Middle- 
boro, and died September 25, 1892, in 
Attleboro, Massachusetts. He married, 
April 10, 1843, in Norton, Adeline Arnold, 
born 1811, daughter of Lemuel and Ann 
(Hodges) Arnold, of that town (see Ar- 
nold V). Children: 1. Abbie Morrison, 
born March 8, 1844; married (first) Ed- 
ward G. Anthony, and (second) William 
Sawyer, and by the first marriage there 
were born two children — Mabel A., now 
deceased, and George Rutherford, now 
living in Detroit, Michigan. 2. Frederick 
Wallace, born December 24, 1845; mar- 
ried Nellie Plympton, and they had one 
son, Frederick, living in Seattle, Wash- 
ington. 3. Howard Arnold, mentioned 
below. 4. Annie Carpenter, born June 20, 
1857, married Charles R. Bates, of Attle- 
boro (see Bates). Mr. Tinkham married 
(second) Alice Gruninger. 

(VIII) Howard Arnold Tinkham, son 
of Ebenezer (3) and Adeline (Arnold) 
Tinkham, was born September 12, 1847, 
in Norton, and married, June 17, 1879, 
Elizabeth A. Arnold, daughter of David 
Augustus Arnold. Children : Ruth Brow- 
nell, married Frank L. Patten, of Norton ; 
Howard Arnold, resides at Newton Cen- 
ter, Massachusetts ; he married Lucille 
Hastings, and they have one daughter, 
Elizabeth Hastings Tinkham. 

(The Arnold Line). 

The family of Arnold, according to 
Somerby, is of great antiquity, having its 
origin among the ancient princes of 
Wales. According to a pedigree in the 
College of Arms they trace from Ynir, a 
paternal descendant of Cadwalader, King 

of the Britons, which Cadwalader built 
Abergavenny, in the county of Mon- 
mouth, and its castle (which was after- 
ward rebuilt by Hamlet, ap Sir Douce of 
Balladon, in France), and portions of the 
walls still remain. From this source 
came Roger Arnold, Llanthony in Mon- 
mouthshire, Esquire, the first of the fam- 
ily who adopted a surname. He married 
Joan, daughter of Sir Thomas Gamage, 
Knight, Lord of Coytey. Mr. Arnold was 
in the twelfth generation in direct line 
from Ynir (above), King of Gwentland. 

(I) Joseph Arnold, the immigrant an- 

cestor of this branch of the Arnold fam- 
ily here considered, was born in England 
about 1625, and was an early settler in 
Braintree, Massachusetts. He married at 
Braintree, June 8, 1648, Rebecca Curtis, 
who died August 14, 1693. There were 
eight other Arnold pioneers in Massachu- 
setts before 1650, and they were doubt- 
less related to Joseph, but the relation- 
ship has never been established. He re- 
sided in the eastern part of Braintree, now 
the city of Quincy, on what is now Quincy 
avenue. He deeded his homestead to his 
youngest son, Ephraim, November 25, 
1696. It adjoined land of Thomas Hol- 
brook, William Cope and the ocean. His 
children were: 1. William, born March 
16, 1649, died young. 2. John, born April 
3, 1650, died young. 3. Joseph, born Oc- 
tober 8, 1652, died young. 4. John, born 
April 29, 1655. 5. Samuel, born August 

7. 1638, died August 7, 1658. 6. Ephraim 
mentioned below. 

(II) Ephraim Arnold, son of Joseph, 
was born in Braintree, Massachusetts, 
June 11, 1664; lived in that town and also 

in Boston. He married Mary , and 

their children were: 1. Samuel, mentioned 
below. 2. Mary, born October 1, 1690, 
married Benjamin Hammond. 3. Eph- 
raim, born July 21, 1695. 4 - Rebecca, 


Mass— 5— 13 


married December u, 1722, Jonathan 

(III) Samuel Arnold, son of Ephraim, 

was born in Braintree, January 7, 1689, 
and was drowned in the Neponset river, 
February 9, 1743. His body was found 
the following March and buried March 
2 3, 1743. He married September 13, 1711, 
Sarah Webb, daughter of Christopher 
and Mary (Bass) Webb. She was born 
December 18, 1688. Their children, born 
in Braintree, were: 1. Samuel, born May 
16, 1713. 2. Joseph, died young. 3. Mary, 
born December 22, 1714, married John 
Spear. 4. Sarah, born September 14, 1716, 
married Benjamin Hunt. 5. Joseph, born 
October 11, 1718, married Mary Butts. 6. 
John, born October 4, 1720, died Febru- 
ary 11, 1738. 7. Moses, born June 11, 

1722. 8. Abigail, born February 12, 1725, 
married Samuel Savel. 9. Nathaniel, born 
October 18, 1726. 10. Deborah, born No- 
vember 14, 1729, died December 14, 1792. 
11. David, born July 25, 1732, mentioned 

(IV) David, youngest son of Samuel 
and Sarah (Webb) Arnold, was born July 
25, 1732, in Braintree, and settled in the 
town of Norton, Massachusetts, near the 
Taunton line. He was a shoemaker and 
manufacturer of leather, and owned a 
place near Burts Brook, Norton. A sol- 
dier of the Revolution, he served under 
various enlistments ; was a lieutenant in 
Captain Benjamin Morey’s company, 
Colonel John Daggett’s regiment, for ten 
days following the Lexington Alarm, of 
April 19, 1775. He was subsequently a 
private in Captain George Makepeace’s 
company, Colonel Daggett’s regiment, 
serving twenty-five days on a Rhode 
Island alarm, December 8, 1776. He was 
also in Captain Seth Smith’s company, 
Colonel Isaac Dean’s (Fourth Bristol 
county) regiment, from August 1 to Au- 
gust 7, 1780, in an alarm at Rhode Island. 

He died in Norton in 1810, in his seventy- 
ninth year. He married Phebe Pratt, of 
Taunton, intentions entered in Norton, 
December 9, 1756. Children, recorded in 
Norton: David, born December 23, 1757; 
Phebe, April 1, 1760; John, May 23, 1763 ; 
Samuel, January 13, 1766; Asa, February 
3, 1768; Salmon, 1771 ; William, March 
28, 1774 ; Lemuel, mentioned below ; Sally, 

(V) Lemuel, seventh son of Lieutenant 
David and Phebe (Pratt) Arnold, was 
born September 15, 1776, baptized Octo- 
ber 10, 1779, and died February 13, 
1861. He married, May 18, 1801, in Nor- 
ton, Ann Hodges, of that town, born April 
22, 1777, daughter of Captain James and 
Mary (Briggs) Hodges, died February 7, 
1854. Captain James Hodges was born 
April 22, 1737, in Norton, son of Nathan 
and Experience (Williams) Hodges, of 
Taunton, who were married, December 
12, 1728, in Norton. Captain Hodges first 
enlisted as a private in Captain Robert 
Crossman’s minute-men, Colonel Na- 
thaniel Leonard’s regiment, of Taunton, 
which marched April 20, 1775 - to Rox- 
bury, Massachusetts, serving twelve days. 
He was subsequently in Captain Oliver 
Soper’s company, Colonel Timothy Walk- 
er’s regiment, enlisting May 2, mustered 
August 1, 1775, serving three months and 
six days, company return dated October 
6, 1775. He was a sergeant in Captain 
Matthew Randall’s company, as shown 
by receipt dated at Hull, June 20, 1776, f° r 
advance payment of one month. He en- 
gaged June 1, 1776, with Captain Randall 
in Colonel Thomas Marshall’s regiment, 
and served until November 1, 1776, five 
months. Payroll for November shows 
one month and two days travel home. He 
was in Captain Elisha Barney’s (Tenth) 
company, Colonel George Williams’ 
(Third Bristol county) regiment, twenty- 
five days, marched to Warren, Rhode 


Island, by way of Rehoboth, on an alarm 
of December 8, 1776, roll dated at Taun- 
ton. He was also in Captain Isaac 
Hodges’ company, Colonel John Dag- 
gett’s regiment, ten days, in December, 
1776, and January, 1777, marched from 
Norton to Tiverton, and return, including 
travel, thirty-four miles each way. Lem- 
uel and Ann (Hodges) Arnold had chil- 
dren : Nancy, born July 23, 1802 ; Lemuel, 
December 27, 1803; Mary P., September 
25, 1805; Laban, November 7, 1807; Ade- 
line, July 6, 1811; William Earle, April 
19, 1813; Samuel, September 17, 1815; 
Charles G., September 19, 1817; Edwin 
Howard, January 1 1 , 1819; David Au- 
gustus, mentioned below. 

(VI) David Augustus, seventh son of 
Lemuel and Ann (Hodges) Arnold, was 
born May 11, 1823, in Norton, where he 
grew to manhood, and where he attended 
the public schools. During the gold fever 
of 1849 he went to California, and spent 
years, returning again to his native place. 
Here he engaged in the foundry business 
at Meadow Brook, in the town of Norton, 
and later continued in the same line of 
endeavor at Pawtucket, Rhode Island, for 
many years. There he continued until 
his death. His body was interred in the 
Arnold lot in the town of Norton. He 
married in Rhode Island, Ruth Ann 
Lewis, born in Middletown, Rhode Island, 
daughter of Enoch and Ruth (Brownell) 
Lewis, a descendant of one of the oldest 
and best known families of that State. 
She died in June, 1913, at the age of sev- 
enty-nine years, and was buried beside 
her husband in Norton. She was a mem- 
ber of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, and 
a woman of fine character, widely known 
and esteemed. Children : Elizabeth A. 
and Lewis R. ; the latter died at the age 
of thirty years. Elizabeth A. Arnold, 
only surviving child of David A. and Ruth 
A. (Lewis) Arnold, was educated in the 

public schools of Norton and at Wheaton 
Seminary, graduating from the latter in 
1874. For some years she taught school 
at Hope, Rhode Island. She married 
Howard Arnold Tinkham, of Norton, 
Massachusetts (see Tinkham VIII). She 
is a member of the Attleboro Woman’s 
Club and the Wheaton Alumni Associa- 

BROWN, Arthur W. F., 

City Official. 

There were numerous immigrants bear- 
ing this name very early in New England, 
scattered all along the coast, and there are 
many traditions as well as much of. rec- 
ord concerning them. It is the tradition 
of the family below described that the 
original immigrant settled in Hebron, 
Connecticut, but this is extremely im- 
probable. It would be an extraordinary 
thing to find any English immigrant 
locating in an inland town of Connecticut 
in the middle of the eighteenth century. 
This family is probably descended from 
the Plymouth family of Brown, which 
was founded by John Brown, an elder 
brother of Peter Brown, who came in the 
“Mayflower.” John Brown arrived in 
Plymouth about 1630, was a resident of 
Duxbury, Massachusetts, in 1636, in 
which year he was made a freeman and 
held various offices of responsibility. He 
was among the Taunton purchasers and 
also the purchasers of Rehoboth, in which 
he had an interest of six hundred pounds 
sterling. He owned extensive tracts along 
the eastern border of Narragansett Bay. 

(I) Samuel Brown, born about 1690, 
was an early resident of Colchester, Con- 
necticut, where he owned land in 1717, 
was elected constable of the town Decem- 
ber 30, of that year; way warden, De- 
cember 22, 1718, and December 11, 1721. 
and fence viewer, December 14, 1724. He 


married (first) August 13, 1724, Mercy 
Brown, and (second) August 6, 1728, 
Mary Dunham. Children, recorded in 
Colchester: Samuel, mentioned below; 

Abner, born March 25, 1731 ; Mary, Feb- 
ruary 13, 1732. He probably removed 
from Colchester to the adjoining town of 
Hebron, as no further record appears of 
him in the former town. 

(II) Samuel (2) Brown, son of Samuel 
(1) and Mary (Dunham) Brown, was 
born August 17, 1729, in Colchester, and 
resided in Hebron, Connecticut, where 
the records show his marriage, March 28, 
1768, to Prudence Sawyer. The family 
tradition says he had a second wife, a 
Miss Brown. It is more probable that 
she was the first wife. He was always a 
farmer, and late in life removed to Nor- 
wich, Vermont, where he died. 

(III) Isaac Brown, son of Samuel (2) 
and Prudence (Sawyer) Brown, was born 
about 1775, in Hebron, and accompanied 
his father to Norwich, whence he went to 
Bolton, Province of Quebec, Canada. He 
was among the pioneer settlers of that 
town, where he cleared up land and en- 
gaged in its cultivation through his active 
years. He married and had several sons, 
among whom were Washington and 

(IV) Isaac (2), son of Isaac (1) 
Brown, was born January 22, 1799, in 
Norwich, Vermont, and died in Bolton, 
Canada, August 13, 1877. Throughout 
his life he was engaged in agriculture, 
was a man of unusual business ability, 
active and public-spirited, and engaged in 
stock raising in addition to the growing 
of agricultural crops. He was an active 
member of the Methodist church. He 
married, March 18, 1823, Clasical Bryant, 
born March 18, 1806, in Enfield, New 
Hampshire. Children : Sylvester G., born 
January 9, 1826; Lewis G., June 8, 1828; 
Franklin, mentioned below; Isaac, Feb- 

ruary 15, 1834; Osgood P., November x, 
1836; Clasical Ann, September 17, 1839; 
Cynthia Jane, January 21, 1845; William 
R., June 8, 1848. Three of these are still 
living: Clasical Ann, Cynthia Jane and 
William R. 

(V) Franklin Brown, third son of Isaac 
(2) and Clasical (Bryant) Brown, was 
born November 7, 1831, in Bolton, where 
he remained with his parents until twenty- 
one years of age, receiving his education 
in the public schools of the town. On at- 
taining his majority he went to Boston, 
Massachusetts, where he remained about 
three years, and returned to Bolton, where 
he engaged in farming until after the 
death of his wife, when he sold out and 
removed to Boston. There he entered 
the employ of Jordan, Marsh & Company, 
extensive retail merchants, becoming head 
of their silk department. He continued 
there until 1865, when he went to Green- 
field, Massachusetts, and conducted a dry 
goods business on his own account for a 
period of seven years. He then sold out 
and removed to Fitchburg, Massachu- 
setts, where he continued in the same line 
of business until 1883. He was obliged to 
retire from active business at this time 
on account of failing health, and died 
April 26, 1884. He was a Calvinistic Con- 
gregationalist, and a member of the Ma- 
sonic lodge at Greenfield, Massachusetts. 
He married Helen West, born May 18, 
1840, daughter of Joseph Warren West, 
and a descendant of the clan McGregor of 
Scotland. Two of their four children sur- 
vived the period of infancy: Arthur W. 
F., mentioned below, and Frank A., born 
Tune 1, 1867, in Greenfield, and married 
Helen Snow, of Fitchburg, daughter of 
Rev. C. H. B. Snow, an Episcopal clergy- 
man, now located in New York City. 
They had two children, both now de- 

(VI) Arthur Warren Franklin Brown, 

encyclopedia of biography 

second son of Franklin and Helen (West) 
Brown, was born April 4, 1864, in Chel- 
sea, Massachusetts, and was educated in 
the public schools of Fitchburg, graduat- 
ing from the Fitchburg High School. He 
then entered the employ of the city of 
Fitchburg in the water works depart- 
ment. gaining a thorough knowledge of 
its practical operation, and for many years 
had charge of the inside work. In 1910 
he was made superintendent of the Fitch- 
burg Water Works, to which he has since 
devoted his entire time, to the satisfac- 
tion of officials and citizens. He is a 
member of the Methodist church, and in 
politics a steadfast Republican. He is 
also a member of Fitchburg Lodge, No. 
847, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. He married (first) Mary Susan 
Martin, born in Warden, Province of 
Quebec, died November 7, 1895, in Fitch- 
burg. He married (second) in Novem- 
ber, 1913, Catherine Davis, born January 
3. 1864, in Portsmouth, New Plampshire, 
daughter of Lewis Gilman and Cyrena 
Frances (Pierce) Davis. There were two 
children of the first marriage: 1. Frank- 
lin Martin, born January 3, 1888, in Fitch- 
burg, educated in the schools of that town 
and Mount Herman School at Northfield, 
Massachusetts; since 1907 he has been 
engaged in canal work on the Isthmus of 
Panama. 2. Bertram Arthur, born No- 
vember 11, 1891, in Fitchburg; was edu- 
cated in the schools of that city and the 
Worcester Institute of Technology, from 
which he graduated; he married Lillian 
Levallee, and resides in Worcester, Mas- 

KNOWLES, Francis Bangs, 

Manufacturer, Philanthropist. 

This old English and New England 
name seems to have been represented by 
three early immigrants in America. One 

family was located in Rhode Island, one 
in Southeastern New Hampshire, and the 
other on Cape Cod. Descendants of all 
have proven themselves worthy represen- 
tatives of an honored name. 

(I) Richard Knowles was in Eastham, 
Barnstable county, Massachusetts, as 
early as 1653, according to Freeman, the 
historian. Previous to his moving there, 
he was at Plymouth, Massachusetts, 
where he married, August 15, 1639, Ruth 
Bower, and at least three of his chil- 
dren were born in Plymouth. Children : 
Mercy, married Ephraim Doane, Febru- 
ary 5, 1668 ; John, mentioned below ; Sam- 
uel, born September 17, 1651 ; born in 
Eastham: Mehitable, 1655; Barbara, .Sep- 
tember 28, 1656. 

(II) John Knowles, son of Richard and 
Ruth (Bower) Knowles, was one of the 
nineteen men from Eastham who served 
in King Philip’s War, during which he 
was killed, probably at Taunton, June 3, 
1675 > “aud provision was especially made 
for Apphia, widow of John Knowles, of 
Eastham, lately slain in the service.” He 
married, December 28, 1670, Apphia. 
daughter of Edward Bangs, who was an 
early settler and a prominent man. 
Apphia and her twin sister, Mercy, were 
married the same day, Mercy marrying 
Stephen Herrick ; they were born Octo- 
ber 15, 1651. Apphia Knowles married 
(second) Joseph Atwood, by whom she 
doubtless had children, as there is a 
Bangs Atwood in the next generation. 
Children of John and Apphia (Bangs) 
Knowles : Edward, born November 7, 
1671; John, mentioned below; Deborah. 
March 2, 1675. 

(III) Colonel John (2) Knowles, sec- 
ond son of John (1) and Apphia (Bangs) 
Knowles, was born July 10, 1673, and had 
wife Mary. He and his wife were buried 
in an old burial ground of Eastham near 
the shores of the town cove. The in- 



scription on the stone of his wife is as 
follows: "Here Lyes Buried the Body of 
Mrs. Mary Knowles, wife of Colnl John 
Knowles. Died Nov. ye 7th, I745> in the 
73d Year of Her age.” His gravestone is 
inscribed : “Here lies buried the body of 
Colnl John Knowles who departed this 
life Nov. 3d, 1757, in the 85th Year of His 
Age.” He served as a member of the 
General Court, and doubtless was a mem- 
ber of the militia. Children: Joshua, 
mentioned below; John, born 1698; Seth, 
1700; Paul, 1702; James, 1704; Jesse, 
1707; Mary, 1709. 

(IV) Joshua Knowles, eldest child of 
Colonel John (2) and Mary Knowles, 
born 1696, was evidently a farmer, as was 
his father, and also engaged in fishing, 
perhaps. The family seems to have lived 
near the center of the town of Eastham. 
He died May 27, 1786. He was married, 
March 13, 1718, by Nathaniel Freeman, 
Esq., to Sarah Paine, born April 14, 1699, 
died July 12, 1772, daughter of John and 
Bennet Paine. The Paine family is one 
of the oldest families in the township, and 
one of this line was a signer of the Decla- 
ration of Independence. Children: Jesse, 
born April 13, 1723; Rebecca, May 23, 
1726; Sarah, March 10, 1728; Joshua, 
April 27, 1730; Josiah, May 24, 1735; 
Simeon, mentioned below; Susannah, 
March 9 1740. 

(V) Simeon Knowles, fourth son of 
Joshua and Sarah (Paine) Knowles, was 
born August 11, 1737, and may have died 
in Eastham before the family moved to 
Hardwick. He served in the Revolution 
as a private in Captain Israel Higgin’s 
company, Major Zenas Winslow’s regi- 
ment. Fie married Eunice Mayo, inten- 
tions dated August 12, 1758, of “Simeon 
Knowles and Eunis Mayo, boath of East- 
ham to proseed in marriage.” She was 
descended from John Mayo, the first min- 
ister of Eastham, and diVd in Hardwick, 

Massachusetts, April 5, 1819, aged seven- 
ty-nine years. Children, probably all born 
in Eastham : Simeon, mentioned below ; 
Elisha, about 1769; Phebe, died unmar- 
ried, April 7, 1824; there were other chil- 
dren also. 

(VI) Simeon (2) Knowles, eldest child 
of Simeon (1) and Eunice (Mayo) 
Knowles, born August 17, 1766, died Au- 
gust 22, 1823, seems to have been the 
leader of the family in moving to Hard- 
wick, and his mother and relatives evi- 
dently accompanied him. He married 
(intentions published November 10, 1787, 
in Eastham) Priscilla Doane, who died 
February 5, 1839, aged seventy-five years 
(see Doane V). The Doane family also 
were early settlers in the town. Children : 
Bangs, born March 9, 1789, in Eastham, 
died September 17, 1806; Simeon, men- 
tioned below ; Leonard ; Edward ; Har- 
riet ; perhaps other children. 

(VII) Simeon (3) Knowles, second son 
of Simeon (2) and Priscilla (Doane) 
Knowles, was born June 22, 1791, in 
Eastham, and died in Warren, Massachu- 
setts, April 9, i860. He was the first of 
the family to marry outside of the old 
colony in Eastham in nearly two centu- 
ries, and lived about three miles northerly 
from the common in Hardwick. He mar- 
ried, March 14, 1814, Lucetia Newton, of 
Hardwick, born January 2, 1792, died in 
Warren, August 23, 1868, aged seventy- 
six years, daughter of Silas and Naomi 
(Washburn) Newton. Silas Newton was 
born February 11, 1766, and was a farmer 
in Hardwick ; he was a son of Timothy 
Newton, born February 28, 1728, soldier 
in the French and Indian War, married 
Sarah Merrick, and died July 10, 1811; 
Timothy Newton was son of Josiah New- 
ton. son of Moses Newton, of Marlbor- 
ough, son of Richard Newton, of Sud- 
bury. Children of Simeon and Lucetia 
(Newton) Knowles : Laura Loraine, born 


October io, 1816, married, February 21. 
1837, Rufus Washburn, Jr., of Johns- 
town, New York; Lucius James, July 2, 
1819; Harriet Evaline, July 24, 1821, mar- 
ried, October 1, 1844, Loring Brown, of 
Fitchburg; Francis Bangs, mentioned be- 

(VIII) Francis Bangs Knowles, the 
youngest child of Simeon (3) and Lu- 
cetia (Newton) Knowles, born Novem- 
ber 29, 1823, received a common school 
education in Hardwick, and then attended 
Leicester Academy. After this he taught 
school at Dana, Massachusetts, for one 
term, and later for a short time at Glo- 
versville, New York, when he was nine- 
teen years of age. He then became a 
traveling salesman for a large glove mak- 
ing concern, and soon became well ac- 
quainted with New England and built up 
a large trade for the company in that sec- 
tion of the United States. When he was 
twenty-two years of age, on April 1, 1845. 
he entered the glove making business for 
himself, later engaging in the clothing 
business, until 1863, when his brother, 
Lucius J., persuaded him to join him at 
Warren, Massachusetts. There Lucius J. 
had started loom works for the produc- 
tion of narrow fabrics, though he had 
been manufacturing steam pumps in War- 
ren. In 1866 the firm of L. J. Knowles 
& Brother moved to Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, establishing the works in Allen 
Court at first. The older brother con- 
tinued to live in Warren. In 1890 the 
firm moved to the building now occupied 
by their successors, the Crompton & 
Knowles Company, having been situated 
between the years 1879 and 1890 at the 
so-called Junction shops. While the older 
brother interested himself in the improve- 
ment of the looms, Francis B. Knowles 
managed the business end of the firm, 
and the increase in size and prosperity of 
the establishment was very rapid under 

his management. The Knowles Loom 
Works at his death were the largest in 
the world, and covered some five acres of 
floor space. A short time before he died 
the business was placed in the hands of a 
corporation under the name, the Knowles 
Loom Works, and later, after his death, 
it was consolidated with the Crompton 
Company. Mr. Knowles had a wide 
reputation as a keen and active business 
man and as a philanthropist. He gave 
generously to religious and charitable 
causes, encouraged the building of Plym- 
outh and Piedmont churches and gave 
generous aid towards their erection. He 
also helped in forming the Piedmont 
Church, of which he was an original 
member, a deacon, and superintendent of 
the Sunday school. He also gave the site 
for the Pilgrim Church, along with his 
sister-in-law, Mrs. Helen C. Knowles, as 
well as giving generously towards that 
enterprise. Knowles Hall of Rollins Col- 
lege at Winter Park, Florida, shows his 
interest in the advancement of educa- 
tional institutions, and to this college he 
gave money for the endowment of scholar- 
ships. He was the third largest giver to- 
ward the building of the Young Men’s 
Christian Association, and was a life 
member of the association. The last 
check drawn by him was five thousand 
dollars for the Young Women’s Chris- 
tian Association of Worcester. In poli- 
tics Mr. Knowles was a Republican and 
was always a liberal supporter of cam- 
paign expenses, but his business took so 
much of his time that he was unable to 
serve in any public office. In religion he 
was a Congregationalist, and for years he 
conducted the Sunday school institutes 
through Worcester county. His home 
life was ideal. The house was a delight 
to those interested in art and literature. 
Mrs. L. J. Knowles, who has traveled ex- 
tensively at home and abroad, has made 



a fine collection of paintings larger than 
that owned by some public galleries. Mr. 
Knowles died May 15, 1890, in Washing- 
ton, D. C., while on his way home from 
his winter home at Winter Park, Florida, 
where he had been trying to gain health. 
It is a coincidence that both he and his 
brother, Lucius J. Knowles, died at 
Washington from the same cause, neu- 
ralgia of the heart. The news of his 
death came from Postmaster-General 
John Wanamaker, a close personal friend. 
Impressive funeral ceremonies were held 
at Piedmont Church, Worcester, and he 
was buried in Rural Cemetery. Shortly 
after this, a memorial volume was issued, 
containing resolutions issued by various 
organizations including Piedmont Church 
and Pilgrim Church ; the directors of the 
Knowles Loom Works; the Central Na- 
tional Bank ; and the faculty of Rollins 
College, Florida ; it also contains the 
funeral addresses of the Rev. Mr. D. O. 
Mears and Rev. Mr. George H. Gould. 

Francis B. Knowles married (first) 
December 23, 1845, Ann Eliza Poole, of 
Gloversville, New York, who died Feb- 
ruary 24, 1865, soon after they moved to 
Warren. He married (second) April 
23, 1867, Hester A. Greene, daughter of 
John Reynolds and Fanny (Wightman) 
Greene, of Worcester. Children of first 
marriage: 1. Eliza Eveline, born Janu- 
ary 5, 1848, in Gloversville; married, Sep- 
tember 2, 1873, C. Henry Hutchins, of 
Worcester, long identified with the 
Knowles Loom Works, now president of 
the corporation ; their children are : Ar- 
thur Knowles and Helen Mabel; Mrs. 
Hutchins died February 13, 1898. 2. 

Frank Poole, born February 1, 1853, in 
Gloversville ; married, October 2, 1879, 
Alice J., daughter of George Converse 
and Eleanor J. (Doane) Bigelow, of Wor- 
cester; children: George Francis; Alice 
Marion, married, October 15, 1914, Dr. 

James Carruthers Masson, of Rochester, 
Minnesota; and Lillian. Children of sec- 
ond marriage: 3. Mabel, married, June 
15, 1893, Dr. Homer Gage, of Worcester; 
child, Homer Gage, Jr. 4. Frances W., 
married, April 23, 1900, George Eddy 
Warren, of Boston. 5. Lucius James, mar- 
ried, April 6, 1904, Laura, daughter of 
John R. McGinley, of Pittsburgh, Penn- 
sylvania; children: Lucius James, Jr., 
born in London, England ; and Sally Mc- 

(The Doane Line). 

The surname of Doane is identical with 
the English surname Done, which is be- 
lieved to be derived from the word Dun or 
Dune, meaning a stronghold or fortress. 
In ancient manuscripts the name is 
spelled Donne, Dourn, Downe, etc. The 
English home of the family is the old 
Flail of Utkinton in the hamlet of Utkin- 
ton, a mile north of Tarporley, where the 
family settled, it is believed in the reign 
of King John, 1199-1216, soon after the 
use of surnames became common in Eng- 
land. The coat-of-arms is described : 
Azure two bars argent over all on a bend 
gules three arrows argent. Crest: First 
on a wreath eight arrows in saltire, four 
and four, points downward or feathered 
sable bended gules. Another crest: On 
a wreath a buck’s head erased proper at- 
tired or. The family also had seats at 
Dudden and Flaxyards in the vicinity. 
The Done monuments in the Tarporley 
church are very striking examples of the 
fine arts. The pedigree of the family is 
traced to Richard Done in 1199 and with- 
out doubt the American progenitor was a 

(I) John Doane, immigrant ancestor, 
was born in England and came to Ameri- 
ca in 1629, becoming a prominent citizen 
in the Plymouth Colony, where he was 
given the title “Mr.” indicating gentle 
birth or a college education. In 1633 he 



was a member of the Council and in the 
same year was elected deacon. His origi- 
nal grant of land at Eastham, where he 
located, was because he was one of the 
purchasers, but for public services he re- 
ceived lands at Kingston, Rehoboth, north 
of the Taunton river and elsewhere. He 
was continually rendering service as 
deputy to the General Court from Plym- 
outh and Eastham and served on impor- 
tant committees. According to his state- 
ment in his will, dated May 18, 1678, he 
was about eighty-eight years old. He 
died February 21, 1685, aged about ninety- 
five, though the inventory of his estate 
states that his age was about one hun- 
dred. His wife’s name appears to be 
Abigail. A granite marker was placed on 
the site of his home at Eastham in 1869. 
Children: Lydia; Abigail, born January 
13, 1632 ; John, mentioned below ; Daniel ; 

(II) John (2) Doane, son of John (1) 
Doane, was born probably at Plymouth, 
about 1635, and died at Eastham, March 
15, 1708. He went with his ' father to 
Eastham in 1645 and became a prominent 
citizen there. He was selectman nearly 
every year from 1678 to 1700; often on 
the jury and was constable from 1661 to 
1693 > receiver of excise of Eastham in 
1664; justice of the Select Court in 1669; 
deputy to the General Court, 1684-85, and 
again in 1693-94-1702. He was a farmer, 
owning much land. He belonged to the 
First Church of Eastham. His will was 
dated June 4, 1706. He married (first) 
April 30, 1662, Hannah Bangs, born about 
1644, daughter of Edward Bangs, who 
came in the ship “Ann” in 1623. He mar- 
ried (second) January 14, 1694, Rebecca 
Pettee, whom he survived. Children, 
born at Eastham : John, born March 20, 
1663, died soon ; John, May 29, 1664; Ann, 
July 25, 1666; Rebecca, May 12, 1668; 
Hannah, May 12, 1669; Isaac, June 2, 

1670; Samuel, mentioned below; David 
Knowles, mentioned below. 

(III) Samuel Doane, son of John (2) 
Doane, was born at Eastham, March 2, 
1673, died there, August 15, 1756, accord- 
ing to his gravestone in the Herring Pond 
burying ground. He lived in Eastham 
and was admitted a townsman, March 11, 
1701-02. He was constable in 1712-13, 
1713-14; tythingman in 1723; fence view- 
er, 1731-32; selectman, 1731-33, and often 
a juror. His will was dated April 9, 1756. 
He married, December 3, 1696, Martha 
Hamblen, who was born at Barnstable, 
February 16, 1672-73, daughter of John 
and Sarah (Bearse) Hamblen. Children: 
Samuel, born October 30, 1697; Sjirah, 
May 15, 1699; Dinah, December 30, 1700; 
Dorcas, June 15, 1703; Solomon, men- 
tioned below; Simeon, December 1, 1708; 
Martha; Keturah, married Jonathan 

(IV) Solomon Doane, son of Samuel 

Doane, was born at Eastham, November 
8, 1705, and died there in December, 1789. 
He owned a large tract of land on the 
north side of the harbor in that part of 
Eastham known as Nauset and part of 
this estate is still in possession of the 
family. He held various town offices. 
His will was dated March 5, 1786. He 
married, August 3, 1727, Alice Higgins. 
Children, born in Eastham : Solomon, 

born January 5, 1730; Noah, mentioned 
below; Sarah, January 23, 1734; Dorcas, 
September 16, 1735; Nehemiah, March 
17, ' 737 ! Joseph, April 21, 1739; Isaac, 
March 27, 1741 ; Betty, February 7, 1742; 
Joshua, January 6, 1744-45. 

(V) Noah Doane, son of Solomon 
Doane, was born at Eastham, July 4, 
1732, and died at Petersham, Massachu- 
setts, April 1, 1820. He succeeded to his 
father’s farm and lived on it until March 
22, 1797, when he sold it to his son Zenas 
and removed to that part of Petersham, 

20 T 


now Dana. Here he bought a farm of 
one hundred acres of Silas Johnson and 
lived there with his son Edward. The 
son was a mariner, sailing each year to 
the West Indies or Africa. In March, 
1808, Noah Doane deeded the farm to 
Edward. Noah Doane was a man of 
large physique, six feet in height and of 
remarkable vigor. When eighty-seven 
years old, he was accustomed to spring 
to the saddle of his horse from the ground 
and often rode to Hardwick to visit his 
daughter Priscilla. He married Bethia 
Knowles, who died at Dana, April 16, 
1812, aged about eighty-six years. Both 
are buried in the old burying ground at 
Dana. Children: Noah, born January 1, 
1757; Zenas, January 19, 1761; Priscilla, 
December 7, 1762, married, January 1, 
1788, Simeon Knowles, Jr. (see Knowles 
VI); Lot, May 22, 1765; Thankful; 
Bangs, about 1769; Edward, December 
25 , 1770; Bethia, married Thomas Hop- 

(III) David Knowles Doane, son of 
John (2) Doane, was born at Eastham 
about 1674, died November 18, 1748. He 
married (first) September 30, 1701, Doro- 
thy Horton. He married (second) Sarah 

, who is mentioned in his will in 

1738. He was a juror in 1708-09-13-14- 
15-19-20-28-30 and constable in 1711-12. 
He was a farmer and physician. Chil- 
dren : Jonathan, John, Nathan, Eleazer, 
Joshua, David, Enoch, Hannah, Keziah, 
Abigail, Rachel. 

(IV) Jonathan Doane, son of David 
Knowles Doane, was born at Eastham, 
July 7, 1703, and died January 24, 1780. 
He married, August 8, 1723, Martha Hig- 
gins, and settled at Eastham. He was a 
deputy to the General Court, justice of 
the peace, assessor and held other offices. 

(V) Elisha Doane, eldest son of Jona- 
than Doane, was born at Eastham, No- 
vember 24, 1724, and died about 1810 in 

Spencer, Massachusetts. He was com- 
missioned captain of the Sixth (Second 
Eastham) Company, Second Barnstable 
county regiment, April 20, 1776, and 
served in the Revolution. His widow 
Martha drew a pension during her later 
years. She died in Spencer, November 
10, 1837, aged eighty-eight. Children: 
Oliver, born about 1754; Amos, 1758; 
Nathan, mentioned below; Elisha, Janu- 
ary 7, 1770; Martha; Lucy. 

(VI) Nathan Doane, son of Elisha 
Doane, was born at Eastham, and died 
about 1840 in Brookfield. He married, 
May 21, 1785, Betsey Smalley, who died 
August 7, 1834. He was a soldier in the 
War of 1812. Children: Eight sons and 
three daughters. 

(VII) Cheney Doane, son of Nathan 

Doane, was born at Brookfield, April 15, 
1802, and died April 2, 1866. He mar- 
ried Lorinda Green, of Spencer, daughter 
of Ezra and Martha (Adams) Green, of 
Spencer, she was born May 7, 1812, died 
June 9, 1890. Children: 1. Eleanor J., 
born at Spencer, June 8, 1834, married 
George Converse Bigelow (see Bigelow 
VII). 2. Elbridge, February 2, 1840, 
soldier in the Civil War, Company F, 
Fifteenth Massachusetts Regiment, 1861- 
64; wounded in the battle of Gettysburg: 
married Julia Barber, of Esmond, South 
Dakota, and had one daughter, Alma, 
born February 28, 1892, died July 17, 
1916. 3. Lorenzo F., born August 13, 

1842, died at St. Louis, Missouri ; served 
in the Civil War in Company I, Twenty- 
fourth Massachusetts Regiment ; mar- 
ried Mary R. Jones, born at Falmouth, 
Massachusetts, March 10, 1856, daughter 
of Captain Silas and Harriet B. (Robin- 
son) Jones; children: Bertha Leigh 

(single), born at Pawtucket, Rhode 
Island, July 29, 1878; Joseph Robinson, 
at Kansas City, October 2, 1882 ; Mary 
Dorothy, at Clear Lakp. Iowa, July 22, 



1886; Paul, at Denver, Colorado, Octo- 
ber 1 2, 1887. 4. Anna Izette, born Octo- 
ber 2, 1847; married Rimmon Colton 
Fay, of Brookfield, February 22, 1870; 
died July, 1916; children: Walter Chap- 
man Fay, born at Hartford, April 28, 

1872, died April 29, 1872; Ralph Warren 
Fay, at Lincoln, Rhode Island, July 28, 

1873, died September 7, 1874; Elsie Flor- 
ence (single), at Brookfield, March 21, 
1875 ; Arthur Colton Fay, at Pawtucket, 
April 18, 1877, married recently, Alice 

; George Lucius Fay, at Lincoln, 

Rhode Island, August 15, 1S79, married 
and has two children; Rimmon Wesley 
Fay, at Milford, Massachusetts, Novem- 
ber 22, 1881, married and has one child; 
Frank Homer Fay (single), at Milford, 
February 14, 1883; Alice Eleanor Fay, at 
Milford, September 1, 1884, died January 
10, 1885 ; Pauline Ruby Fay, at Milford, 
September 7, 18S7, married Howard 

Wright, no issue; Dorothy Izette Fay, 
at Ilion, New York, January 12, 1892 

(The Bigelow Line). 

The surname Bigelow is a variation in 
spelling of some English surname. H. G. 
Somerby, a prominent genealogist, be- 
lieved that the American immigrant was 
of the Bagley family, but the line of de- 
scent that he published was afterward 
proved erroneous. Francis Baguley, of 
Wrentham, bequeathed to his brother, 
John Baguley, in New England, in his 
will dated October 20, 1656. The name 
of John Bigelow was spelled Bigulah, 
Biglo, and Pope gives also Bagley. There 
was a Thomas Bagnally, Baguley or 
Baynley, of Concord, before 1640. It is 
very probable that Somerby was correct 
in believing the Bigelows were descend- 
ants of the Baguley family. Richard de 
Baguley, Lord of Baguley, in Chester, 
England, was the first known ancestor 
of the line. His descendants lived in 

Baguley and Ollerton, Parish Knutsford, 
County Chester. Jane, widow of Ran- 
dall Baguley, was buried at Wrentham, 
County Suffolk, May 17, 1626, and in this 
same place Francis, brother of John, died 
about 1656. 

(I) John Bigelow, the immigrant, was 
born in England in 1617, and came to 
America before 1642. The first mention 
of him in the records is found at Water- 
town, where, September 30, 1642, he mar- 
ried Mary, daughter of John and Mar- 
garet Warren. She was born in Eng- 
land and died October 19, 1691. He took 
the oath of fidelity at Watertown in 1652, 
and was admitted a freeman, April 18, 
1690. He was a blacksmith by trade .and 
was allowed timber by the town for the 
building of his forge. He was highway 
surveyor in 1652 and 1660; constable in 
1663 and selectman in 1665, 1670 and 
1671. He married (second) October 2, 
1694, Sarah, daughter of Joseph Bemis, 
of Watertown. He died July 14, 1703. 
His will was dated January 4, 1703, and 
proved July 23, 1703. Children: John, 
born October 27, 1643; Mary, March 14, 
1648; Daniel, December 1, 1650; Samuel, 
mentioned below; Joshua, November 5, 
1655; Elizabeth, June 15, 1657; Sarah, 
September 29, 1659 ; James ; Martha, April 
1, 1662; Abigail, February 4, 1664; Han- 
nah, March 4, 1666; son, born and died 
December 18, 1667. 

(II) Samuel Bigelow, son of John Bige- 
low, was born at Watertown, October 28, 
1653. He was a prominent citizen of 
Watertown; innholder, 1702-16; deputy 
to the General Court, 1708, 1709 and 1710. 
His will was dated September 30, 1720, 
and proved February 21, 1731. He mar- 
ried, June 3, 1674, Mary Flagg, daughter 
of Thomas and Mary Flagg. She was 
born January 14, 1658, and died Septerm 
ber 7, 1720. Children: John, born May 
9, 1675; Mary, September 12, 1677: Sam- 


uel, September 18, 1679; Sarah, October 1, 
1681 ; Thomas, October 24, 1683 ; Mercy, 
April 4, 1686; Abigail, May 7, 1687; Isaac, 
May 19, 1691 ; Deliverance, September 22, 
1695 ; Hannah, May 24, 1701. 

(III) Thomas Bigelow, son of Samuel 
Bigelow, was born in Watertown, Octo- 
ber 24, 1683. He married, July 12, 1705, 
Mary Livermore, of Watertown. They 
settled at Marlborough, where they lived 
until about 1720, removing to Waltham, 
where he died October 6, 1756, and she 
died August 14, 1753. Children: Thomas, 
born April 26, 1706; Mary, September 2, 
1707; Grace, February 7, 1709; Uriah, 
July 15, 1 71 1 ; Abraham, March 5, 1713; 
Isaac, September 1, 1716; Jacob, Septem- 
ber 1, 1717; Sarah, May 15, 1720; Josiah, 
mentioned below. 

(IV) Lieutenant Josiah Bigelow, son 
of Thomas Bigelow, was born in Wal- 
tham, July 30, 1730. Like his brothers, 
Abraham and Jacob, he was prominent in 
town affairs and in the militia. He was 
lieutenant of the artillery company of 
Weston on the Lexington Alarm, April 
19, I 775 - He died at Waltham, July 15, 
1810. He married, July 27, 1748, Mary 
Harrington, daughter of Jonas and Abi- 
gail (Stearns) Harrington. She was born 
March 8, 1730. Children, born at Wal- 
tham: William, born October n, 1749; 
Anna, August 23, 1751 ; Uriah, Novem- 
ber 30, 1753, died young; Converse, men- 
tioned below; Mary, March 3, 1756; Al- 
pheus, November 4, 1757; Eunice, mar- 
ried Joseph Morse; Uriah, March 15, 
1766; Thomas, August 11, 1768; Sarah. 
July 31, 1773. 

(V) Converse Bigelow, son of Lieu- 
tenant Josiah Bigelow, was born in Wal- 
tham, January 20, 1755. He moved early 
to Templeton and after the Revolution to 
Sherborn, where he died April 23, 1829. 
He was a soldier in the Revolution from 
Weston in Captain Samuel Lawson’s 

company, April 19, 1775; also in Captain 
Asahel Wheeler’s company, Colonel John 
Robinson’s regiment, in 1776; corporal 
of Captain Charles Miles’ company, Colo- 
nel Jonathan Reed’s regiment at Ticon- 
deroga in 1777. He married, October 
8, 1778, Anna Parks, who was born 
in Brighton, Massachusetts, February 5, 
1756, died in Sherborn, September 9, 1843. 
Children: Betsey, born July 31, 1779; 
Anne, March 21, 1781 ; John, January 26, 
1783; Converse, November 20, 1784; Eli- 
jah, August 31, 1786; Calvin, July 27, 
1788; Calvin, June 30, 1790; Sukey, April 
17, 1792; Sally, February 4, 1794; Josiah, 
March 22, 1796; Amos, March 17, 1798, 
died July, 1798; Amos, mentioned below. 

(VI) Amos Bigelow, son of Converse 
Bigelow, was born in Sherborn, June 29, 
1801. He was a farmer and succeeded to 
his father’s homestead at Sherborn. Late 
in life he retired and bought a small 
place in Sherborn, where he spent his last 
years. He contributed much of the infor- 
mation concerning his branch of the fam- 
ily in the Bigelow genealogy. He mar- 
ried, May 27, 1827, Lucy Stowe, born 
July 27, 1809, died at Sherborn, August 
29, 1885. Children: 1. George Converse, 
mentioned below. 2. Amos Elbridge, 
born May 10, 1830; was associated in 
business with his brother, George C., in 
Worcester; married Mary Pratt and had 
children: Irving Elbridge (single), born 
May 16, 1861 ; Grace Hawley (single), 
January 12, 1864; Mary Eleanor, April 22, 
1871, deceased. 3. Henry, born Novem- 
ber 25, 1833 ; married (first) October 28, 
1863, Catharine Pierce, no issue; married 
(second) Mary Cokell, no issue. 4. Ed- 
mund Dowse, born December 5, 1838; re- 
sides in Kansas City; married Alzina E. 
Jenkins; children: Edmund S., Lucy S., 
Florence. 5. Lucy Ann, born May 7, 1840, 
died June 29, 1874, unmarried. 6. Wes- 
ley, born November 16, 1847; manufac- 



turer of furniture, Boston; died unmar- 

(VII) George Converse Bigelow, son 
of Amos Bigelow, was born at Sherborn, 
March n, 1828. He was educated in the 
public schools of his native town and 
learned the trade of carpenter in Dover, 
Massachusetts. He built the residence 
of Henry Wilson (Senator and Vice- 
President of the United States) at Natick, 
and the Congregational church in Sher- 
born. In 1851 he came to Worcester and 
engaged in business as a builder and con- 
tractor. In i860 he formed a partnership 
with his brother, Amos E., under the firm 
name of G. C. & A. E. Bigelow, and the 
firm continued with conspicuous success 
until it was dissolved in 1886. In asso- 
ciation with Silas E. Batchelder the firm 
built Piedmont Congregational Church. 
Among other buildings constructed by 
G. C. & A. E. Bigelow were: St. John’s 
Protestant Episcopal Church ; the Arme- 
nian church, Laurel street ; the Lutheran 
church, Mulberry street; the F. E. Reed 
shops; various additions to the Taylor & 
Farley organ works ; most of the dwell- 
ings on Mt. Pleasant street; a block on 
Oread street ; three residences on Benefit 
street, and one on Benefit terrace ; two 
blocks on Austin street; a business build- 
ing on Front street, and others on Main 
street. After the firm had been dissolved 
Mr. Bigelow took the contract for build- 
ing the Knowles building, corner of Main 
and Chatham streets, one of the largest 
and finest office buildings in the city at 
the time of its erection. For about 
eighteen years he was an active member 
of Piedmont Church. He married in 
Worcester, November 29, 1855, Eleanor 
J. Doane (see Doane VII). The only 
child of George Converse and Eleanor 
J. (Doane) Bigelow, Alice J., born Au- 
gust 8, 1856, married, October 2, 1879, 
Frank Poole Knowles, of Worcester (see 
Knowles VIII). 

ALLEN, Charles Lucius, 

Successful Business Man. 

Israel Allen, of the fourth American 
generation of this branch of the Allen 
family, descendants of Walter Allen, of 
Newburyport, Massachusetts, purchased 
a farm in Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, 
upon which the father, grandfather and 
great-grandfather of Charles L. Allen, of 
Worcester, were born and where until 
the removal of Lucius S. Allen, the father, 
to Worcester in 1869 each lived his entire 
life. The family has ever been prominent 
as agriculturists, professional and busi- 
ness men, taking an active part in public 
affairs and holding responsible office. The 
ancestor, Walter Allen, came to Massa- 
chusetts from England. 

(I) Walter Allen is first of record in 
Newbury, Massachusetts, in 1640, and 
may have been there earlier. About 1652 
he moved to Watertown, but in 1665 sold 
his lands there and bought sixty acres 
near the Concord boundary, then known 
as Watertown Farms, but later incor- 
porated as Weston. In 1669 he bought 
two hundred acres more at Watertown 
Farms, but in 1673 moved to Charles- 
town, where he died July 8, 1681, being at 
that time possessed of lands in Water- 
town, Charlestown, Sudbury arid Haver- 
hill. In the old records he is variously 
described as “shop keeper,” “Farmour,” 
“planter,” and once in 1673 as a “Haber- 
dasher in Hatts.” His estate inventoried 
three thousand and fifteen pounds, an 
amount of wealth that in that day marks 
him as a “capitalist.” He took oath in 
1677 that he was seventy-six years of age, 
which would place his birth date in the 
year 1601 and his age at eighty years at 
death. His first wife, Rebecca, came with 
him to Watertown, but her first three chil- 
dren are believed to have been born in 
England. He married (second) November 
29, 1678, in Charlestown, Abigail Rogers. 



Children of first wife: i. John, a tailor, 
resided in Newbury and Sudbury, and in 
1676, when Sudbury was attacked by In- 
dians, he was living in that town ; he was 
interested in military defense, being one 
of those who in 1688 took the public stock 
of powder under their charge ; his first 
wife, Sarah, died January 12, 1702, his 
second wife, Mary, died August 30, 1728; 
he died December 1, 1711, aged about 
eighty years, and left issue. 2. Daniel, 
of whom further. 3. Joseph, a cooper, 
lived in Watertown Farms and there died 
September 9, 1721 ; he married, October 
1:, 1667, Anne Brazier, who died in De- 
cember, 1720, leaving issue. 4. Abigail, 
born October 1, 1641. 5. Benjamin, set- 
tled in Lancaster, the oldest town in 
Worcester county, Massachusetts, but 
during the years 1675 and 1676 that town 
was twice attacked by Indians and prac- 
tically destroyed and he was obliged to 
seek a home elsewhere; he joined his 
father in Charlestown, where he died Sep- 
tember 20, 1678 ; his wife’s name was 
Hannah, who bore him three children. 

(II) Daniel Allen, son of Walter and 
Rebecca Allen, lived in Charlestown, 
Watertown, Lancaster and Sudbury, his 
last years being spent and his death 
occurring in Sudbury. His son Elnathan 
settled his estate in April, 1705, that may 
be considered about the date of his death. 
He married, about 1658, Mary, daughter 
of Rev. John Sherman, who was the third 
minister settled at Watertown. Children : 
x. Daniel, born July 1, 1659, died aged 
three years. 2. Rebecca, born January 
15, 1661, died three days later. 3. Mary, 
born 1662. 4. Samuel, born April 17, 

1664. 5. Elnathan, of whom further. 6. 

Thomas, born February 20, 1670, died in 
infancy. 7. Abigail, married, April 1, 
1703, Moses Palmer, of Stonington, Con- 
necticut. 8. Ebenezer, born December 
26, 1674, married Anna Palmer. 9. Re- 

becca, born June 2, 1677, died one year 
later. 10. Elizabeth, married Joseph 
Fletcher. 11. Lydia, of whom, there is no 
further record. 

(III) Elnathan Allen, third son of Dan- 
iel and Mary (Sherman) Allen, was born 
in Lancaster, Massachusetts, January 1, 
1667, and “on October 1, 1735, while 
standing on the hinder end of a cart load 
of stalks, his oxen started whereby he 
fell off and was killed in his 69th year.” 
After receiving land from his father in 
Watertown in 1694 he cultivated his own 
acres until about 1702, then moved to 
Sudbury, where he lived and engaged in 
farming until 1722. He then moved to 
Hopkinton, where in 1724 he was elected 
the first treasurer of that town. In 1725 
he moved to Shrewsbury, Worcester 
county, where he was selectman in 1730 
and in 1733, and there met his accidental 
death in 1735. He married, about 1694, 
Mercy Rice, born January 1, 1670, died 
in 1727, daughter of Henry Rice. Chil- 
dren : 1. Obadiah, born January 19, 1695, 
died in Shrewsbury, about 1781 ; he 
was one of the first four sergeants of 
the militia company or “train band” in 
Shrewsbury and commonly known as 
“Sergeant Allen.” 2. Elizabeth, married, 
in 1723, Edward Newlin. 3. Anna, born 
November 25, 1702, married, December 
12, 1722, Amos Pratt, who was captured 
by Indians at Fort Massachusetts, Au- 
gust 20, 1746, died a prisoner at Quebec, 
Canada, in 1747. 4. Israel, of whom fur- 
ther. 5. Mary, born February 28, 1708, 
died young. 6. Mary, born July 14, 1711, 
died unmarried. 7. Thankful, born De- 
cember 9, 1713, married, in March, 1739, 
Daniel Whitney. 

(IV) Israel Allen, second son of Elna- 
than and Mercy (Rice) Allen, was born 
in Sudbury, Massachusetts, December 20, 
1705, died in Shrewsbury, where his will 
was probated, April 1, 1783. In his will 


he bequeathed to his grandson Israel “my 
gun and sword,” which would indicate 
official military service. He is believed to 
have accompanied his father to Hopkin- 
ton about 1722, going thence to Shrews- 
bury in 1725. He married (first) Febru- 
ary 14, 1728, Elizabeth, daughter of Dea- 
con Samuel Wheelock. He married (sec- 
ond) Catherine Joslin, of Westboro. Chil- 
dren: 1. Elnathan, of whom further. 2. 
Lois, born November 21, 1732; married, 
June 7, 1757, Isaac Tomlin, of Westboro. 

(V) Elnathan Allen, only son of Israel 
and Elizabeth (Wheelock) Allen, was 
born in Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, No- 
vember 18, 1728, his birth place the farm 
upon which descendants yet reside and 
where all his life was spent and where 
he died October 2, 1805. He married. 
May 31, 1753, Thankful Hastings, born 
October 12, 1736, died March 19, 1807, 
daughter of Joseph Hastings and a great- 
granddaughter of Thomas Hastings, who 
settled in Watertown in 1634. Children, 
all born in Shrewsbury: 1. Elnathan, born 
May 17, 1754, died in Brattleboro, Ver- 
mont, in June, 1830, a soldier of the Revo- 
lution ; he married (first) Lydia Pratt, 
(second) Lydia Roberts, (third) Lois 
Martin, of Brattleboro ; he had two 
daughters by his first wife and a son 
Henry by his second wife. 2. Israel, born 
August 6, 1756, died in Sterling, Massa- 
chusetts, April 8, 1817, unmarried ; he was 
a well-known physician and prominent in 
public life, serving for nine years in the 
State Legislature. 3. Rhoda, born Febru- 
ary 22, 1759, married Jonathan Parks, 
and died in 1789. 4. Silas, born January 
22, 1762, died at Leominster, Massachu- 
setts, August 13, 1848; also a successful 
and well-known physician ; he married 
(first) Susan Thurston, of Lancaster, 
(second) Mrs. Mary (Ball) Pollard, of 
Sterling, and left issue by first wife. 5. 
Elizabeth, born March 13, 1765, married 

Russell Underwood. 6. Arbunah, born 
August 18, 1767, died in Stockbridge, 
Vermont, December 14, 1856; he was a 
school teacher and a preacher regularly 
ordained an elder of the Baptist church ; 
he married Molly Richardson, of Leices- 
ter, a descendant of Thomas Richardson, 
who settled in Woburn in 1640; Rev. 
Arbunah Allen left sons and daughters. 
7. Luther, born September 18, 1770, died 
in 1771. 8. Luther, born September, 1 772, 
died in Sterling in 1837, a well-known 
physician practicing in Sterling from 1804 
until his death ; for twenty-eight years he 
was town clerk and for thirteen years 
served on the school board ; he married 
Sally Brown and left issue. 9. Wilkes, 
born July 10, 1775, died in Andover, Mas- 
sachusetts, December 2, 1845 ; he was a 
graduate of Harvard, class of 1801, a fine 
classical scholar, a poet, musician, teacher 
and a minister of the Unitarian church ; 
he was a Free Mason of high degree and 
author of a history of Chelmsford ; he 
married Mary, daughter of Deacon James 
Morrell, and left issue. 10. Liberty, of 
whom further. 

(VI) Liberty Allen, youngest son of 
Elnathan and Thankful (Hastings) Allen, 
was born in Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, 
November 30, 1776, died on the farm both 
he and his father cultivated throughout 
their long lives, April 12, 1865. In early 
life he taught school, succeeding to the 
ownership of the farm at his father’s 
death, his brothers, with the exception of 
Elnathan who went to Vermont, all being 
professional men, three of them physi- 
cians, two ministers. In 1814 he was 
assessor, but farming was his great inter- 
est throughout his adult life. He mar- 
ried, April 5, 1800, Polly (Mary) Amadon, 
born in 1777, died March 5, 1852, daugh- 
ter of Philip Amadon, of Fitzwilliam, 
New Hampshire. Children, all born in 
Shrewsbury: 1. Owen Warland, born 


August 2, 1801, died in Fredonia, New 
York, a manufacturer of boots and shoes, 
later a dealer in the same line of goods ; 
he married (first) Susan W. Bigelow, 
(second) Flora Scott, and left issue by- 
first wife. 2. Lucius Shumway, of whom 
further. 3. Augustus Amadon, born about 
August 15, 1804, died in Shrewsbury, his 
lifelong home, December 12, 1882 ; was a 
painter by trade ; he married Pauline 
Dean, of Sutton, who bore him four chil- 
dren. 4. Thankful Hortense, born De- 
cember 6, 1805, married, September 5, 
1831, Artemas Perrin, and moved to 
Stockton, New York, thence to Fredonia, 
New York, where she died August 22, 
1876, the mother of three children. 5. 
Eunice Sophronia, born March 21, 1807, 
married, April 15, 1834, Leander Sawyer, 
of Shrewsbury, and died January 11, 1850, 
leaving five children, one child preceding 
her to the grave. 6. Mary Eliza, born 
August 8, 1809; married, January 1, 1835, 
John W. Barton, of Shrewsbury, and died 
in that town, August 9, 1864, leaving two 
daughters who accompanied their father 
South after the death of their mother. 7. 
Keziah Cleora, born January 9, 1811, mar- 
ried Timothy Ellis, of Fitzwilliam, New 
Hampshire, and died in Nashua, that 
State, April 23, 1843. 8. Flora Rosaline, 
born January 22, 1813, married, Novem- 
ber 8, 1838, Augustus F. Maynard, and 
died in Shrewsbury, June 1, 1881, leaving 
issue. 9. Caroline Cynthia, born July 31, 
1815; married, July 17, 1835, Thomas 
Rice, a leather manufacturer of Shrews- 
bury, and died June 10, 1861. 10. Liberty 
Gilman, born November 24, 1817, died in 
his native town, February 5, 1892, a vet- 
eran of the Civil War; he married Sarah 
Amelia Livingston, who bore him five 
children. 11. James Appleton, born June 
12, 1819, died July 21, 1852; he married 
Sarah Dunn, who died without issue. 12. 
Harry Edwards Whipple, born Septem- 

ber 12, 1822, inherited the old Allen 
homestead farm in Shrewsbury and there 
spent his life ; he married, September 29, 
1844, Cynthia B. Whitney, who bore him 
two children ; his son Romeo inherited 
the old farm that has been in the Allen 
name since 1725. 

(VII) Lucius Shumway Allen, second 
son of Liberty and Polly (Amadon) 
Allen, was born at the Allen homestead 
in Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, August 
29, 1802, died in Worcester, Massachu- 
setts, April 21, 1880. He was engaged 
in the tanning business in Shrewsbury 
until 1869, when he moved to Worcester, 
where he was a boot and shoe merchant 
until his death. He was prominent in 
public life while residing in Shrewsbury, 
representing his district in the State Leg- 
islature both as Assemblyman and as Sen- 
ator. He married, in 1828, Persis Harlow, 
who died September 24, 1886, daughter 
of Abner Harlow. She bore him a son, 
George Lucius, of whom further. 

(VIII) George Lucius Allen, only child 
of Lucius Shumway and Persis (Harlow) 
Allen, was born in Shrewsbury, Massa- 
chusetts, March 28, 1830. He attended 
the public school at Shrewsbury, Massa- 
chusetts, and graduated from the Leices- 
ter Academy. After leaving school he 
became senior partner of the retail shoe 
firm of Allen & Reed, at Worcester, then 
located in the old Brinley block, which 
building was replaced by the present 
State Mutual Life Insurance Company’s 
handsome marble building. After re- 
maining here for a number of years the 
firm moved to 387 Main street, directly 
opposite to their former location, when 
the firm of Allen & Reed changed hands, 
Mr. Allen becoming sole proprietor, hav- 
ing bought out Mr. Reed’s interests and 
conducting it under the name of George 
L. Allen. In 1876 Mr. Allen sold out to 
J. K. Brown, who for many years con- 



tinued successfully in the shoe business 
of Worcester, founded by Allen & Reed. 
Mr. Allen was a member of Quinsiga- 
mond Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, and the old Washington Club, 
located on the corner of Main and Me- 
chanic streets, and one of the most promi- 
nent clubs of Worcester in its day. He 
married, June I, 1857, at Holden, Massa- 
chusetts, Eliza Jane Black, of Worcester, 
who died June 11, 1883. Children, all 
born in Worcester: 1. Charles Lucius, of 
whom further. 2. Mamie Harlow, born 
June 28, i860, died July 17, 1877. 3. Henry 
Lyon, born June 19, 1863. 4. Grace Good- 
hue, born August 4, 1866. 5. Rufus Oak- 
man, born March 26, 1869. 

(IX) Charles Lucius Allen, eldest son 
of George Lucius and Eliza Jane (Black) 
Allen, was born in Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, March 6, 1858, and there his 
life has been passed usefully and honor- 
ably. After completing grammar and 
high school courses and receiving his 
diploma he entered business life as clerk 
in a retail shoe store, so continuing dur- 
ing the years 1877 and 1878. He spent 
the years 1879 and 1880 in the employ of 
the Boston & Maine Railroad Company, 
serving as clerk in the freight depart- 
ment. In 1881 he became associated in 
business with F. B. Norton, manufacturer 
of grinding wheels and pottery, was secre- 
tary of the Norton Emery Wheel Com- 
pany until 1885, and since that year has 
been general manager of The Norton 
Company, active in the company’s man- 
agement. He was elected treasurer on 
July 2, 1912, to fill out the balance of the 
year, and was reelected by the stock- 
holders on January 23, 1913, which posi- 
tion he still retains. The Norton Com- 
pany is one of New England’s successful 
enterprises and now is sharing in the 
prosperity of the country to such an ex- 
tent that their plant is running the entire 

twenty-four hours of each day. Mr. Allen 
has other important business interests. 
He is president of the Bancroft Realty 
Company, director of the Massachusetts 
Employees’ Liability Insurance Company, 
director of the Massachusetts National 
Bank, trustee of the Worcester Five Cents 
Savings Bank, director of the Worcester 
Morris Bank, director of the Fireman’s 
Mutual Insurance Company and in all 
these institutions is forceful and influen- 
tial in the management. 

He is a thirty-second degree Mason, be- 
longing to Athelstan Lodge, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons; Worcester Lodge 
of Perfection ; Goddard Council, Princes 
of Jerusalem; Lawrence Chapter of Rose 
Croix ; and Massachusetts Sovereign Con- 
sistory, Ancient and Accepted Scottish 
Rite. For four years he served in Com- 
pany C, Worcester Light Infantry, Sec- 
ond Regiment Massachusetts Volunteer 
Militia and is a member of the Veteran 
Association of that command. 

By nature friendly and social, he is 
fond of the sports of the open, is asso- 
ciated with his friends in many organiza- 
tions devoted to sport, social pleasures 
and uplift, that best illustrate the versa- 
tility of his mind and the variety of his 
interest in all things manly and elevating. 
His clubs are the Worcester, Common- 
wealth, Commercial Travelers, County, 
Economic, County Fish and Game, Tatas- 
sit Canoe, all of Worcester; the Engi- 
neers of Boston, and the Atlantic Tuna 

Mr. Allen married at Bennington, Ver- 
mont, December 23, 1886, Helen Louise 
Norton, born in that city, September 20, 
1863. They have a daughter, Mary 
Norton, born January 10, 1888, of the 
tenth American generation of the family 
founded by Walter Allen, of Newbury- 
port, that also in its many collateral 
branches touches the oldest and best of 
New England families. 

Mass — 5—14 


BALL, James Rowe, 


James Rowe Ball, the well-known agri- 
culturist of Holyoke, Massachusetts, was 
born on the homestead, where he still 
lives, being in the eighth generation of 
an old New England family. Seven gen- 
erations of the Ball family, descendants 
of Francis Ball, have lived in the Connec- 
ticut River Valley and contributed to the 
upbuilding of the Colony and Common- 
wealth of Massachusetts. Grover Cleve- 
land, twice President of the United States, 
was a descendant of Francis and Abigail 
(Burt) Ball, and the first President of 
the United States, George Washington, 
through his mother was also a Ball de- 
scendant. Colonel Edwin Heman Ball 
was one of the men of the sixth Ameri- 
can generation who reflected great honor 
upon the family name and left to poster- 
ity a record of usefulness. His home was 
the old homestead upon which his great- 
grandfather, Benjamin Ball, settled in 
1745, and where stands the “great elm 
tree,” an estate now owned by his son, 
James Rowe Ball. 

(I) Francis Ball, the founder of the 
family, came to Massachusetts from Eng- 
land, and in 1639 settled in Dorchester, 
Massachusetts, near Boston. In 1640 he 
moved to the Connecticut River Valley at 
West Springfield. In 1644 he married Abi- 
gail, daughter of Henry Burt, an English- 
man, and an early settler of Roxbury, Mas- 
sachusetts. Francis Ball was drowned 
near where the North End bridge spans the 
Connecticut river at what was then West 
Springfield, now Holyoke, in October, 
1648, at forty years of age. He left two 
sons, Jonathan and Samuel, the latter 
born in 1647. 

(II) Jonathan Ball, eldest son of Fran- 
cis Ball, was born in 1645. His father 
and mother both died before he was three 

years of age, and he grew up in West 
Springfield. He was a man of importance, 
captain of militia and active in town 
affairs. He was twice married and was 
the father of twelve children, six, how- 
ever, dying in early life. 

(III) The history of the family in Hol- 
yoke begins with the settlement there of 
Benjamin Ball, son of Jonathan Ball and 
grandson of Francis Ball. Benjamin Ball 
was born in West Springfield in 1689, and 
settled in the north parish, now Holyoke, 
where now is the corner of Northamp- 
ton and Westfield streets, in 1745, there 
securing land which is yet owned by his 
descendants. At the time of his settle- 
ment there were but few families in the 
parish and they “forted together at night 
for fear of the Indians.” In the spring 
of 1751 he planted the “great elm tree.” 
He had four sons, Benjamin, Charles, 
Noah and Moses. 

(IV) Lieutenant Charles Ball, the sec- 
ond son of Benjamin Ball, was born in 
1725, and in 1757 married Ruth Miller. 
In 1777 he was one of the selectmen of 
the town and took an active part in its 

(V) Charles (2) Ball, son of Charles 
(1) and Ruth (Miller) Ball, was born in 
1760 at what is now Holyoke, nine years 
after the planting of the “great tree” by 
his grandfather. He was a soldier of the 
Revolution, ranking as sergeant, but was 
known as Lieutenant Ball. He enlisted 
April 26, 1780, was discharged December 
27, 1780, after eight months on guard 
duty at Springfield. He inherited the old 
homestead and after his return from the 
war became prominent in town affairs, 
serving as moderator in 1814, also was a 
representative to the State Legislature 
for nine terms. He died July 3, 1838, his 
wife on May 4, 1838. 

(VI) Edwin Heman Ball, known as 
Colonel Ball, youngest child of Lieuten- 



ant Charles Ball, was born at the home- 
stead in Holyoke, August 19, 1809, and 
died there January 9, 1899. He spent his 
entire life at the homestead which he in- 
herited on the death of his father in 1838. 
The upbuilding of Holyoke and his con- 
nection therewith brought him wealth 
and he became prominent in public life. 
He served as selectman and representa- 
tive from Holyoke to the State Legisla- 
ture two terms and was known as “Colo- 
nel Ball of Holyoke.” He was a farmer, 
and in politics a Democrat until the birth 
of the Republican party, thereafter affili- 
ating with that party. He took a great 
interest in military affairs and was espe- 
cially interested in the cavalry. He was a 
member of the Baptist church, very hos- 
pitable and generous, widely known and 
highly respected. Colonel Ball married 
(first) January 1, 1830, Phoebe Fink, born 
April 13, 1808, died March 30, 1842, the 
mother of five children: 1. Helen Sophia, 
married, January 1, 1852, James F. Allyn. 
2. A son, born and died in 1833. 3. Ed- 
win Heman (2), born December 9, 1833; 
graduated in medicine and was a young 
man of great promise, but his health failed 
and he sought to regain it in another 
climate, but died in Texas, March 30, 
1856. 4. James Rowe, of further men- 

tion. 5. Alice Evaline, born June 17, 
1840; married Dr. Charles Carpenter, son 
of Rev. Mark Carpenter, born in August, 
1838, died March 7, 1902. Dr. Carpenter 
stood at the head of his profession and 
was well known. All of these children 
are now deceased except James Rowe. 
Colonel Ball, left a widower with young 
children, married (second) Eurydice Ely, 
a woman of great worth. They were the 
parents of five children: 1. Jube Henry, 
born March 22, 1843, married Missouri 
Beck and resides at Vinton, Iowa. 2. 
Francis Wayland, a sketch of whom fol- 
lows in this work. 3. Lucy M., died aged 

ten years. 4. Charles Ely, born Febru- 
ary 21, 1852; married Elvira F. Whiting, 
and is now deceased. 5. Gillman Kim- 
ball, born April 29, 1854; married Emma 
M. Kennedy, and is also deceased. 

(VII) James Rowe Ball, son of Colo- 
nel Edwin Heman Ball and his first wife 
Phoebe (Fink) Ball, was born at the old 
Ball homestead in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, January 28, 1836. The old home- 
stead is now his property, as it was of his 
father, his grandfather, Charles Ball, his 
great-grandfather, Charles Ball, and his 
great-great-grandfather, Benjamin Ball, 
its first owner. Three of these genera- 
tions were born at the old home and it is 
alive with memories of those who once 
made it a centre of gayety. After his 
school years in Holyoke, Worcester, Suf- 
field and Vermont institutions were com- 
pleted, he returned to the farm and has 
devoted his life to its management. The 
estate now comprises about one hundred 
and seventy-five acres, is one of the most 
attractive city farms that can anywhere 
be found, and one to which its owner is 
deeply attached. Mr. Ball, now an octo- 
genarian, has never known another home 
nor did his father nor his grandfather. 
There the “Old Elm Tree” has spread its 
sheltering branches for nearly a century 
and there his heart has ever been. He is 
a Republican in politics, but beyond tak- 
ing part in school affairs he has accepted 
no public office. He has never married. 

BALL, Francis Wayland, 

Successful Business Man. 

(VII) Francis Wayland Ball, son of 
Colonel Edwin Heman Ball and his sec- 
ond wife, Eurydice (Ely) Ball, was born 
at the Ball homestead in Holyoke (then 
West Springfield), April 29, 1847. He 
attended the schools of the town and re- 
mained at the home farm until twenty 

21 r 


years of age, then became a carpenter 
apprentice. He had a love for mechanical 
work and became an expert worker in 
wood. He worked for a time as a journey- 
man carpenter, later became a contractor 
and conducted a large business in con- 
nection with extensive real estate deal- 
ings. His maternal grandfather, Jube 
Ely, owned a tract of land now included 
within Holyoke’s limits, which later came 
under the ownership of Mr. Ball. He 
laid it out in streets and residence lots, 
erected appropriate residences which were 
sold as fast as built and now the section 
is one of homes ; two streets, Clark and 
Gillman, being lined on both sides by 
houses built by Mr. Ball. In 1907 he met 
with a serious accident, which so im- 
paired his physical activity that he retired 
from contracting and building, since de- 
voting himself to the care of his real 
estate and other property interests. He 
is a man of sterling character and public 
spirit, worthily bearing a name long and 
honored in his city. 

Mr. Ball married, February 24, 1867, 
Georgiana Wilbur, of Hadley, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of James and Susan 
(White) Wilbur. Mr. and Mrs. Ball have 
three children: 1. Francis Wayland, Jr., 
born January 1, 1868, now a real estate 
dealer in San Francisco, California; mar- 
ried Gertrude Kent. 2. Frederick Taylor, 
born June 5, 1870, now foreman for J. & 
W. Jolly Company, at Holyoke; married 
Effie M. Fowler, and has a daughter, 
Marian F. 3. Eurydice Ely, born No- 
vember 27, 1871 ; married Frederick Lein- 
ing, chief clerk of the Judd Paper Com- 
pany, and has a daughter, Eloise Eury- 

FOWLER, Edgar Crayton, 

Pnblic Spirited Citizen. 

The known history of this family in 
America extends backward nearly three 

hundred years from the present time. It 
was founded very early in the new colony 
of Connecticut, and has many worthy de- 
scendants scattered over the United States 
at the present time. The Fowler coat-of- 
arms is described : Azure on a chevron 
between three lions passant guardant or, 
as many crosses forme sable. Crest: An 
owl argent ducally gorged or. 

(I) Sir Richard Fowler, Knight, of 
Lancaster, England, had a seal taken 
from the Rycote arms. His mother was 
heiress of Rycote, and through her the 
estate passed to the Fowler family. The 
arms are : Argent, three wolves’ heads 
erased gules. 

(II) William Fowler, son of Sir Rich- 
ard Fowler, was born about 1445 at Fox- 
ley, County Bucks, England, and was 
joint tenant and owner of the manor of 
Cloware, formerly the home of his ances- 
tor, Sir John Foxley. 

(III) Roger Fowler, eldest son of Wil- 
liam Fowler, born before 1500, moved to 
Bisley, County Gloucester, where he died 
in 1540. Llis will mentioned lands in 
Salop, Derby, Bucks, Berks and Glouces- 
ter. He married Johanna Harman. 

(IV) Thomas Fowler, eldest son of 
Roger and Johanna (Harman) Fowler, 
was born before 1520, at Bisley, and the 
names of three of his sons are known. 

(V) William (2) Fowler, third son of 
Thomas Fowler, was born about 1550-51, 
at Bisley, and moved to an estate at Dal- 
bury Lees, Derbyshire, which he prob- 
ably inherited from his grandfather. He 
died in 1626. 

(VI) John Fowler, eldest son of Wil- 
liam (2) Fowler, resided at Dalbury Lees, 
where he died in 1645. He married 
Frances, daughter of William Webb, of 
Burntwood, Staffordshire. 

(I) William (3) Fowler, son of John 
and Frances (Webb) Fowler, came to 
America with Rev. John Davenport, arriv- 
ing at Boston, June 26, 1637. With Daven- 



port he removed to Quinnipiack, now New 
Haven. Subsequently he settled in Mil- 
ford, Connecticut, where he died in 1660. 

(II) John (2) Fowler, son of William 
(3) Fowler, died at Milford, September 
14, 1676. He married there, in 1645, Mary, 
daughter of George Hubbard, who sur- 
vived him nearly twenty-seven years, 
dying at Guilford, Connecticut, April 13, 

(III) Hon. Abraham Fowler, son of 
John (2) and Mary (Hubbard) Fowler, 
was born August 25, 1652, in Guilford, 
and died there, September 30, 1719. He 
married, August 20, 1677, Elizabeth Bart- 
lett, born March, 1653, died October 4, 
1742, daughter of George and Mary (Crut- 
tenden) Bartlett. George Bartlett, a na- 
tive of England, died at Guilford, August 
3. 1689. He married, September 14, 1650, 
Mary, daughter of Abraham and Mary 
Cruttenden, immigrants. Abraham Crut- 
tenden died at Guilford, 1683. Children 
of Abraham Fowler: Abigail, born 1679; 
Alary, 1681 ; Abraham, 1683, Ebenezer, 
mentioned below; Daniel, 1686; Josiah, 
1688; Caleb, 1690, died January, 1724; 
Elizabeth, 1694. 

(IV) Ebenezer Fowler, second son of 
Hon. Abraham and Elizabeth (Bartlett) 
Fowler, was born 1684, in Guilford, where 
he resided, and died November 28, 1768. 
He married, May 1, 17x7, Elizabeth Starr, 
born November 25, 1695, died March 26, 
1765. Children: Ebenezer, mentioned be- 
low ; Nathaniel, born Alarch 21, 1721; 
Huldah. March 6, 1723; Caleb, January 
21, 1726, died March 17, 1726; Caleb, 
January 21, 1727; Elizabeth, Alay 26, 
1732; Lucy, February 19, 1735; William, 
August 6, 1738, died December, 1739. 

(V) Ebenezer (2) Fowler, eldest child 
of Ebenezer (1) and Elizabeth (Starr) 
Fowler, was born January 11, 1719, in 
Guilford, where he died February 9, 1800. 
He married Desire Bristol. 

(VI) Nathan Fowler, son of Ebenezer 
(2) and Desire (Bristol) Fowler, was 
born November 13, 1750, in Guilford, and 
there married Sarah Kimberly, who died 
January 8, 1830. She was descended from 
Thomas Kimberly, who was in New 
Haven in 1638, and in Stratford in 1659. 
He died there, 1672, having long survived 
his wife Alice, who died 1659. Their son, 
Nathaniel Kimberly, of Stratford and 
New Haven, born 1636, died October 27, 
1705. He had a wife Mary, and they 
were the parents of Nathaniel (2) Kim- 
berly, of West Haven, born January 4, 
1667, married, September 12, 1692, Han- 
nah Downs, and died November 26, 1719. 
l'heir son, Abraham Kimberly, born 
Alarch 21, 1709, was a resident of Guil- 
ford, where he died February 19, 1797. 
His first wife, Alary (Sherman) Kim- 
berly, died November 18, 1766. Their 
daughter Sarah was the wife of Nathan 
Fowler, as above mentioned. Children: 
James, born March 18, 1774, married 
Tempe Post, and died Alay 26, 1854; 
Sally, October 24, 1775, married Abel 
Snow; Eunice, January 17, 1778, married 
Timothy Stone, and died April 1, 1790; 
Nathan, June 1, 1780, died December 31, 
1834, married Chloe Davis; Polly, Au- 
gust 4, 1782 died January 22, 1867, mar- 
ried William Walkley; Augustus, April 
4, 1785, married Jerusha Blatchley; Asa, 
April 28, 1787, married Polly Wilcox; 
Robert, mentioned below; Roswell, No- 
vember, 1794, died February 5, 1795. 

(VII) Robert Fowler, fifth son of Na- 
than and Sarah (Kimberly) Fowler, was 
born April 7, 1793, in Guilford, and died 
in 1840. He married Charlotte Weld, born 
1793, in Guilford, died 1885, in Clinton, 
Connecticut, a descendant of Rev. Thom- 
as Weld. 

(VIII) Creighton Weld Fowler, son 
of Robert and Charlotte (Weld) Fowler, 
was born September 18, 1815, in Guilford, 


and was drowned, May 8, 1864, in the 
Connecticut river. He married Nancy 
Steele Cook, born March 13, 1825, daugh- 
ter of John and Nancy (Steele) Cook, 
died August 11, 1891, in Hartford, Con- 
necticut. John Cook was born 1774, and 
died 1824, in Hartford. His wife, born 
1782, died in Hartford. Creighton Weld 
Fowler had children : Marie Antoinette, 
Jeremiah Cook, and Edgar Creighton. 

(IX) Jeremiah Cook Fowler, senior son 

of Creighton Weld and Nancy Steele 
(Cook) Fowler, was born June 3, 1830. 
He married, April 20, 1870, Sophie C. 
Dentlinger, a native of Esslingen, Wur- 
temberg, Germany. Children: 1. Julia 

Emily, born February 21, 1871, in Hart- 
ford, became the wife of Charles E. Whit- 
ing, and has two daughters: Gladys 

Fowler and Mildred Ruth. 2. Edgar 
Crayton, of further mention. 3. Richard 
William, born March 11, 1875, in Hart- 
ford, resides in Kinston, North Carolina, 
where he married Minnie Lee Ashford, 
and has a son, Richard William, Jr. 4. 
Arthur Clifford, born March 9, 1877, in 
Hartford, and resides in Toronto, Canada ; 
he married Garnett Bick, and has three 
children: Helen, Ford and Alan. 5. 

Marion Sophie, born March 25, 1881, in 
Hartford, married Frank A. Montei, and 
has three children: Crayton Fowler, 

Eunice and Frank A., Jr. 

(X) Edgar Crayton Fowler, eldest son 
of Jeremiah Cook and Sophie C. (Dent- 
linger) Fowler, was born April 16, 1873, 
in Flartford. He received his education 
in the public and high schools of that 
city. At the age of sixteen years he en- 
tered the office of the Hartford Life In- 
surance Company in a minor capacity, 
and after six years of service became 
special agent of the company in Western 
New York. In January, 1899, he became 
associated with the Connecticut General 
Life Insurance Company as supervising 

agent for New York State. In the fall of 
1900 he was appointed general agent of 
the same company at Bridgeport, Con- 
necticut, and in August, 1902, general 
agent at Buffalo. In 1908 he was elected 
superintendent of agencies of the State 
Mutual Life Assurance Company, at Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts. On June 1, 1916, 
he was appointed general agent for the 
State of Illinois with headquarters at 
Chicago of the New England Mutual Life 
Insurance Company of Boston. He is a 
member of the Masonic fraternity, affiliat- 
ing with Lafayette Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of Hartford ; Dunkirk 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, of Dun- 
kirk, New York; Hugh de Payens Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar, of Buffalo; 
and Aleppo Temple, Ancient Arabic Or- 
der Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Bos- 

He married, January 31, 1900, at Dun- 
kirk, New York, Fanna R. Martin, born 
October 1, 1873, ' n Truckee, California, 
daughter of Seth and Ellen M. (Hall) 
Martin, of that town, the former a native 
of Vermont, and the latter of Dunkirk. 
Children: Janet, born March 19, 1901, in 
Bridgeport, Connecticut; Nancy Steele, 
August 23, 1903, in Buffalo, New York; 
Edgar Crayton, 3d, June 13, 1907, in 
Buffalo, New York, died October 14, 
1908; Harriet Stanley, April 30, 1911, in 
Worcester, Massachusetts, died January 
30, 1912. 

GARST, Julius, M. D„ 

Physician, Legislator. 

The Garst family settled in Virginia in 
colonial times. Dr. Michael Garst was 
born in 1815 in Virginia, and received his 
medical education in the Jefferson Medi- 
cal School, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 
He located in Dayton, Ohio, where he 
practiced for many years. He died in 



Coon Rapids, Iowa, at the age of eighty- 
five years and was buried at Boone, Iowa. 
He married Maria Louise Morrison, 
daughter of Thomas Morrison, of Scotch- 
Irish ancestry. She died at the age of 
fifty-three years at Boone, Iowa. 

Dr. Julius Garst, sixth son of Dr. 
Michael Garst, was born at Dayton, Ohio, 
December 12, 1855. He attended the pub- 
lic schools at Boone, Iowa, whither the 
family removed. For two years he was a 
student in the University of Illinois, for 
three years in the University of Michi- 
gan, one year in the College of Pharmacy, 
and two years in the Medical School, from 
which he was graduated in 1878 with the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine. He prac- 
ticed medicine at Coon Rapids, Iowa, and 
North Brookfield, Massachusetts, for 
twelve years. In 1889-90 he was agency 
physician on the Indian reservation ad- 
joining Tacoma, Washington. In 1888 
he began the manufacture of Phenyo-Caf- 
fein, and as the business prospered he re- 
tired from practice and gave all his atten- 
tion to the business, which is conducted 
under the trade name of Phenyo-Cafifein 
Company. He removed to Worcester in 
1890, and has long been located at 29 
Oread street, where he carries on his pro- 
prietary medicine business. Dr. Garst has 
also had real estate interests at Roswell, 
New Mexico and in Oklahoma. 

In politics Dr. Garst is a Republican of 
the progressive school. He was elected 
to the General Court of Massachusetts of 
1903-04. He served on the committee on 
taxation, and wrote a leaflet advocating 
the inheritance tax law which was subse- 
quently enacted in this State. He began 
to agitate the limitation of the term for 
public service franchises, and wrote a leaf- 
let in support of his views, which have 
since been widely sought by writers on 
political economy. He was elected to the 
State Senate of 1913, was defeated on ac- 

count of the Progressive party movement 
in the following year, but elected again to 
the Senate of 1915. Two of the three 
measures he was instrumental in formu- 
lating while in the Senate were enacted — 
one, applying a penalty to unlawful 
charges for using a gas meter ; the other, 
requiring that notice of conditions of de- 
posit and reissue of season railroad tickets 
shall be printed on the cover of tickets. 
He proposed and ably advocated a bill 
relating to extension telephones, forbid- 
ding excessive charges. He advocated 
the Workingman’s Compensation Act, an 
equitable factory inspection law, and laws 
to protect the health of women and chil- 
dren. He has supported the movement 
in legislation regulating special privileges 
to prevent encroachment on public and 
private rights. Dr. Garst is a member of 
the American Academy of Political and 
Social Science ; the American Political 
Science Association; the American Eco- 
nomic Association ; the American Socio- 
logical Society; the National Municipal 
League; the Worcester Economic Club 
and the Chamber of Commerce. He is a 
member of the Old South Congregational 

He married, May 6, 1885, Mary Emma 
King, who was born at North Brookfield, 
July 31, 1861, daughter of William Claf- 
lin and Emeline (Batcheller) King (see 
King and Batcheller). Children: 1. Amy 
Batcheller, born March 19, 1886; graduate 
of the South High School and attendant 
at Simmons College ; married Floy Grant 
Keyes, a fruit grower, Dexter, New Mex- 
ico; children: Margery and Barbara 

Keyes. 2. Tyler Batcheller, died aged 
eleven days. 3. Emma, born March 3, 
1893; graduate of South High School and 
Bradford Academy. 4. Marguerite, died 
in infancy. 5. Julius Conrad, born Janu- 
ary 9, 1898; died December 10, 1910. 6. 
Webster, born July 5, 1900. 7. Claflin, 

twin, July 5, 1900. 


(The Batcheller Line). 

Joseph Batcheller, founder of this fam- 
ily, was born in Canterbury, England, 
and came to America in 1636 with wife 
Elizabeth, one child, three servants, and 
his brothers, Henry, Joshua and John. 
He located in Salem, later in Wenham, 
Massachusetts. In 1637 he was admitted 
a freeman and was the first deputy to the 
General Court from Wenham. He was 
one of the founders of the church at Wen- 
ham in 1644. He died in 1647, intestate, 
and his estate was administered by his 
son Mark. Children : Mark, killed at 
Wenham, December 19, 1675, in King 
Philip's War; John, mentioned below; 
Elizabeth; Hannah, baptized June 23, 

(II) John Batcheller, son of Joseph, 
was baptized at the First Church of 
Salem, January 20, 1638; married, July 
12, 1661, Mary Dennis, who died June 26, 
1663 ; (second) May 4, 1666, Sarah Good- 
ale, daughter of Robert. He died March 
22, 1729. He was one of the jury in the 
witchcraft cases, and in 1692 one of the 
jurors who signed a statement asking for- 
giveness for their errors in judgment. 
His will was dated December 16, 1698. 
Children, born at Wenham : Joseph, born 
1662; John, January 13, 1666; Mark, May 
1668, died young; Elizabeth, 1675; Eben- 
ezer, 1670 ; Hannah ; Mary ; Sarah ; David, 
1673, mentioned below. 

(III) David Batcheller, son of John, 
was born at Wenham, in 1673; married, 
May 7, 1709, Susanna Whipple, of Ips- 
wich. She died June 13, 1764. He was 
prominent in the town and church of 
Wenham ; town clerk, 1744-48. His will 
was dated August 25, 1759. He died Jan- 
uary 29, 1766. Children, born at Wen- 
ham: David, April 5, 1710; Susannah, 
July, 1712; Joseph, September 17, 1713; 
Amos, April 6, 1727; Nehemiah, May 20, 
1716; Abraham, mentioned below; Mary, 
1718; Susanna, September 1, 1731. 

(IV) Captain Abraham Batcheller, son 
of David, was born at Wenham, June 5, 
1722; married, May 15, 1751, Sarah New- 
ton, who was born in Westborough. He 
removed from his native town to West- 
borough, and after his marriage to Sut- 
ton, where he bought one thousand acres 
of land. He was a cooper; ensign, lieu- 
tenant and captain. In 1763 he was select- 
man and again in 1764-65-66-73-82. He 
died January 31, 1813. Children, born at 
Sutton: Abraham, March 26, 1752; Ab- 
ner, September 1, 1755; Vashti, January 
3 1 , 1757; Joseph, November 1, 1759; Ben- 
jamin, November 7, 1762; Ezra, men- 
tioned below; Sarah, November 16, 1766; 
Amos, October 12, 1768. 

(V) Ezra Batcheller, son of Abraham, 
was born at Sutton, July 20, 1764; mar- 
ried, January 15, 1789, in Westborough, 
Mary Day, daughter of Daniel and Sus- 
anna. She was born February 14, 1761, 
died December 19, 1812. He married 
(second) February 17, 1814, Mrs. Ann 
Mayo, who was born March 22, 1768, died 
September 8, 1859. He was one of the 
petitioners to the General Court for the 
incorporation of North Brookfield in 1811. 
He was elected the first representative, 
but was unseated. He died August 31, 
1827. He resided at Sutton and Brook- 
field. Children: Willard, July 13, 1789; 
Daniel, June 19, 1791 ; Tyler, mentioned 
below; Alden, June 4, 1796; Orra, Sep- 
tember 24, 1799; Ezra, July 21, 1801. 

(VI) Deacon Tyler Batcheller, son of 
Ezra, was born at Sutton, December 20, 
1793; married, April 6, 181 — , Nancy 
Jenks, born August, 1796, died October 5, 
1828; married (second) October 8, 1829, 
Abigail Jones Lane, of North Brookfield, 
born August 1, 1811, died March 10, 1877, 
daughter of Captain Samuel Lane. Tyler 
learned the trade of shoemaker, and for 
eight years worked for Oliver Ward, of 
Brookfield. The history of North Brook- 
field says of him : 



Of all men who have been citizens of North 
Brookfield, none has done so much to promote 
the material growth and prosperity as Deacon 
Tyler Batcheller, and a history of the town 
without a sketch of his life would lack an essen- 
tial element. He may truly be called the 
founder of North Brookfield. He lived with his 
father in Sutton until April, 1802, when the fam- 
ily moved to Brookfield, the second parish. His 
father purchased the property which has since 
been known as the “Batcheller Place.” In his 
fifteenth year he went to Grafton and learned 
the trade of shoemaker of Nathan Johnson. At 
the close of his apprenticeship there he returned 
to North Brookfield, and was employed in the 
establishment of Oliver Ward, who in 1810 
began the manufacture of “sale shoes,” the first 
of the kind in the State west of Grafton. He 
resided in Mr. Ward’s family for eight years. 
In 1819 he began business on his own account 
at the Wetherbee house, so-called, which stood 
on the spot now occupied by the house of Mr. 
Erastus Hill. Having married the same year, 
he resided there with his family, the back part of 
the house serving as his manufactory. At first 
his business consisted of only such shoes as he 
could make with his own hands, soon, however, 
taking into his service one or two apprentices 
and his brother Ezra. The first shoes he made 
were of a low priced quality, especially adapted 
to the southern trade. These he packed in 
empty flour barrels and consigned to Mr. Enoch 
Train, who in those days ran a line of packet 
vessels between Boston and Havana. In these 
small consignments he realized a large profit. 
In 1821 he purchased the Skerry house and farm 
in the center of the town on the main street, 
expecting to enter into possession the first of 
April, but in February, 1822, his dwelling and 
shop at the Wetherbee place was totally de- 
stroyed by fire, and he at once removed to his 
new purchase, where he resumed and continued 
business in an outbuilding on the premises until 
1824; that year having taken into his employ 
several additional employes, he erected a small 
two-story shop, which is now a part of the 
immense structure known far and wide as the 
“Big Shop,” into which in January 1825, he re- 
moved his business, and at the same date taking 
into partnership his brother Ezra, enlarging the 
business, which was afterwards conducted under 
the firm name of T. & E. Batcheller. From 
this time forward to the end of his life, the two 
brothers were associated as partners through all 
the changes in their business. Tyler attended 

to the purchase of stock and the business 
abroad, while Ezra was the efficient and popu- 
lar superintendent, always at home and at his 
post, giving all directions pertaining to the fac- 
tory. Harmonious in all their business relations 
and interests as well as in all measures devised 
for the public weal, the act of one was the act 
of both. They were familiarly referred to as 
the Deacon and Ezra. They now added to their 
business the manufacture of Batchellers’ retail 
brogan, an article adapted to the New England 
trade; their main business was the manufacture 
of goods for the southern and western trade. 
Their business increased and the factory was 
increased to three times its original size. Free- 
man Walker was admitted to the firm and the 
name changed to T. & E. Batcheller & Walker. 
* * * Mr. Walker retired in 1834 and the firm 
name was again T. & E. Batcheller. The busi- 
ness increased, and in 1852 others were admitted 
to the firm and the name changed to T. & E. 
Batcheller & Co. A store having been estab- 
lished in Boston, Tyler Batcheller moved his 
residence to that city in 1848. The business 
now amounted to $1,500,000 per annum. At the 
breaking out of the Civil War a number of 
southern houses were indebted to them for large 
amounts, and for a time it was thought the firm 
would be obliged to suspend business, but by an 
amicable arrangement the business was con- 
tinued, the firm paying every dollar of their 
indebtedness. The consequent worry, anxiety 
and disappointment at the sudden reverse of his 
fortunes caused a serious illness from which 
Tyler did not recover. He passed away in his 
sixty-ninth year. Thus ended a life distinguished 
for industry, energy, perseverance, integrity and 
usefulness. Had his life been spared a few 
months longer he would have seen the cloud 
dispelled. He joined the First Congregational 
Church in 1817 and in 1820 was elected deacon, 
which office he held for twenty-eight years, until 
he moved to Boston. While residing in that 
city he was a member of the board of trade. He 
died October 8, 1862. 

Children: 1. Mary Day, born Septem- 
ber 12, 1821 ; married Abel Harwood. 2. 
Martha Ann, December 7, 1823; married 
Aaron D. Weld. 3. Emeline, December 
22, 1826; married William C. King (see 
King). 4. Harvey Jenks, August 12, 1828, 
died at sea ; married. 



(The Claflin Line). 

(I) Robert Claflin, the progenitor in 

this country, was of Scotch ancestry. His 
name was spelled Macklothlan, originally 
Maclachlan, but soon after coming to this 
country the prefix “Mac” was dropped 
and the name modified to its present spell- 
ing, Claflin. According to tradition he 
was a Scotch soldier. He was admitted a 
freeman at Wenham, November 4, 1661. 
The house he built in Wenham is still 
standing. He married, October 14, 1664, 
Joanna Warner, daughter of John. He 
died prior to September 19, 1690, when 
an inventory of the estate was filed. The 
receipts signed by his children for their 
portions of his estate show that they then 
spelled their names without the prefix, 
Claflin or Clafflin. Children: Joanna, 

born at Wenham, August 12, 1665; Rob- 
ert; Elizabeth, May 13, 1670; Priscilla, 
August 22, 1672 ; Daniel, mentioned be- 
low ; Abigail, March 19, 1676; Mary, Feb- 
ruary 22, 1678; Antipas, 1680. 

(II) Daniel Claflin, son of Robert, was 
born at Wenham, January 25, 1674; mar- 
ried, March 11, 1701, Sarah Edwards. He 
was a tanner in his native town, remov- 
ing about 1722 to Hopkinton, Massachu- 
setts, where he was selectman in 1727; 
treasurer in 1729 and later. His wife 
Sarah died at Hopkinton, January 8, 1743 ; 
he died in Framingham in 1775. Chil- 
dren: Daniel, born February 19, 1702; 
Sarah, April 27, 1703; Mesheck, Novem- 
ber 4, 1705 ; Joshua, June 8, 1707; Caleb, 
December n, 1708; Cornelius, February 
2, 1711; Robert, August 16, 1714; Eben- 
ezer, mentioned below. 

(III) Ebenezer Claflin, son of Daniel, 
was born at Wenham, July 2, 1716; mar- 
ried, May 22, 1739, Hannah, daughter of 
Nathaniel and Elizabeth Smith, who came 
to Hopkinton from Ipswich. He was a 
soldier in the French and Indian War, in 
Captain John Jones’ company. His wife 

died at Hopkinton, September 13, 1785, 
and he died there in 1793. Children: 
Hannah, born April 26, 1741 ; Ebenezer, 
September 14, 1742; Dolly, 1744; Isaac, 
1748; John, mentioned below; Aaron, 
i/ 53 - 

(IV) John Claflin, son of Ebenezer, 
was born at Hopkinton, July 5, 1750. He 
married, April 5, 1770, Mary Sheffield, of 
Holliston (Mary (4), Isaac (3), William 
(2), William Sheffield (1)). John was 
a soldier in the Revolution, April 19, 1775, 
in the Hopkinton company. He died Jan- 
uary 28, 1838 ; his wife Mary died in 1821. 
Children, born at Holliston: William, 
mentioned below; Amaziah, born July 5, 
177 3; John, June 24, 1775; Polly, August 
13, 1 779 > Luther, October 30, 1781 ; Mar- 
tin, March 24, 1784; Calvin, November 
1 7, 1786; Moses, February 27, 1789; Han- 
nah, 1791. 

(V) William Claflin, son of John, was 

born at Holliston, in 1772. He married, 
May 18, 1793, Anna Underwood, who 
died at Holliston, October 18, 1794. He 
married (second) March 31, 1796, Sabra 
Wiswell, who died October 30, 1815. He 
married (third) November 13, 1817, Lois 
Ripley. He died at Holliston, December 
10, 1854. Child by first wife: Anna Un- 
derwood, born October 7, 1794. By sec- 
ond wife: William, August 3, 1797; 

Erepta, September 3, 1799, married, 

March 28, 1820, at Holliston, John King, 
of Franklin (see King), she died at Frank- 
lin, June 4, 1871, and he died there Febru- 
ary 12, 1882; Mary, September 12, 1801; 
Oliver Wiswell, September 8, 1803 ; Sabra 
Wiswell, July 16, 1807; John, April 5, 
1810; Horatio Seymour, April 23, 1814. 

(The Jenks Line). 

Rev. Dr. William Jenks, during the first 
half of the nineteenth century, established 
by research in the archives of Welsh and 
English heraldry the following pedigree 


to the date of B. C. 150. It begins with 
the traditional ancestry of one of the royal 
houses of Wales. The surname, of course, 
did not come into use until after 1200, but 
for purposes of inheritance of lands and 
titles many ancient pedigrees of impor- 
tant families were preserved in the ar- 
chives. After Wales was subjugated, the 
family removed to England, and in 1582 
the ancient coat-of-arms was confirmed 
to one of the family. The armorials are 
described : Argent, three boars’ heads 

couped sable, a chief sable indented. 
Crest : A lion rampant, regardant or, hold- 
ing defiantly a boar’s head in his paws, 
sable. Motto of the shield: Modo Domi- 
nus adsit. Motto of the crest (1582) : 
Audax et cautus. 

Ancestry: (I) Edyrn M’d Gwrawl. (II) 
Cunodda Wledig. (Ill) Eineon Yrth. 
(IV) Cawallon (Lawhir). (V) Maelgwn 
Gwynedd. (VI)Rhun. (VII)Beli. (VIII) 
Iago. (IX) Cadfan. (X) Cadwalon. (XI) 
Cadwaladr. (XII) Edwal Lwrch. (XIII) 
Rodri Molwynog. (XIV) Cyvan Tyn- 
daethwy. (XV) Essylht. (XVI) Rodri 
Mawr, died A. D. 877. (XVII) Cadell. 

(XVIII) . (XIX) Hael Dha. (XX) 

Augharad, married Tudor Trevor. (XXI) 
Groun. (XXII) Cyheln, married Rhien- 
gar. (XXIII) Elydau Glodrydd, born 
927, killed 983, Prince of Fourth Royal 
Tribe of Wales. (XXIV) Cadwgan. 
(XXV) Llywelyn. (XXVI) Sitsylit. 
(XXVII) Philip. (XXVIII) David. 
(XXIX) Rhys. (XXX) John. (XXXI) 
Jenkyn Cambray. (XXXII) John Jenkes 
(about A. D. 1350). (XXXIII) Thomas 
Jenckes. (XXXIV) John Jenkes. 
(XXXV) Roland Jenkes. (XXXVI) John 
Jenkes. (XXXVII) William Jenkes, mar- 
ried Elizabeth, daughter of William 
Adams. (XXXVIII) Francis Jenckes. 
(XXXIX) Arthur Jenckes, born in Eng- 
land. (XL) Joseph Jenks, the American 
immigrant, mentioned below. 

(I) Joseph Jenks (fortieth in the an- 

cient English and Welsh pedigree given 
above), son of Arthur Jenckes, was born 
in 1602, and immigrated from, Colebrook, 
in Buckinghamshire, England, in 1643, 
leaving two sons to follow him when they 
came of age. He settled in Lynn, Massa- 
chusetts, where he had charge of the iron 
foundry. He was the first to whom a 
patent was issued in the colony. He took 
out patents for mill improvements in 
1646, and in 1647 began to manufacture 
an improved scythe and snath, giving the 
latter the double curve still used, and 
patented his devices. He made the dies 
for the first coins — the Pine Tree shilling. 
In 1654 he built a fire engine for Boston, 
the first built in this country. In 1667 he 
sought to establish a wire factory, and in 
his foundry was cast the first hollow ware. 
Children: Joseph, mentioned below; 

George, went to Virginia; Sarah; John, 
born July, 1660 ; Daniel, April, 1663 ; Sam- 

(II) Joseph Jenks, son of Joseph Jenks, 

was born in 1632, and died January 4, 
1717. He followed his father to Lynn, 
thence to Warwick, Rhode Island, and 
Pawtucket, where he built an iron forge 
and became wealthy. He was assistant 
in the General Assembly and counsellor 
of the governor. He died January 4, 1717, 
and was probably the first white man 
buried in Pawtucket. He married Esther 
Ballard. Children: Joseph, Elizabeth, 

Sarah, Major Nathaniel, Esther, Joanna, 
Rev. Ebenezer, Mary; William, men- 
tioned below ; Abigail. 

(III) Hon. William Jenks, son of Jo- 
seph. was born in 1674, died October 2, 
1765 ; married Patience Sprague. He was 
one of the committee to settle the line be- 
tween the colony of Rhode Island and 
Connecticut. He was president of the 
county court. Children : Mercy, Esther, 
Susanna, William, Patience; Jonathan, 



mentioned below; Dr. John, and Mehit- 

(IV) Jonathan Jenks, son of William, 
was born at Pawtucket, July 4, 1 707, died 
April 1, 1782. He moved late in life to 
North Brookfield, where he died. He 
married (first) Lydia Jenks; (second) 
Freelove Windsor, born October 15, 1721, 
died July 26, 1803, a great-granddaughter 
of Roger Williams. Children by first 
wife: Hannah, born September 1, 1 73 1 ; 
Nehemiah, November, 1732; Sarah, Janu- 
ary, 1734; Susan, January, 1736; infant, 
March, 1739, died young; Gideon, Febru- 
ary, 1740; Esther, August, 1742; infant, 
May, 1744; Jonathan, August, 1746, chief 
justice. By second wife : Nicholas, men- 
tioned below; Lydia, December, 1755; 
Freelove, May, 1759; Mercy, January, 
1762; Freelove, October, 1765. 

(V) Nicholas Jenks, son of Jonathan 
Jenks, born June 13, 1752, moved with his 
parents to North Brookfield during the 
Revolution, and lived to the end of his 
life on the same farm. He died in July, 
1836. He married, December 16, I 773 > 
Adah Angell, born June 15, I 75 2 > died 
September 3, 1842. Children: Ruth, born 
December 13, 1776, died June 15, 1820, 
married Amos Harrington ; William, 
March 30, 1779, died young; Rhoda, Feb- 
ruary 8, 1780, died young; Charles, No- 
vember 2, 1782, married Deborah Adams; 
Dr. Nicholas, February 4, 1785, married 
Betsey Potter; Rev. Hervey, June 16, 
1787, married Hannah Slaughter; Oliver 
A., May 1, 1790, married Eliza Brown; 
Adah, August 18, 1792, died young; 
Nancy, August 26, 1796, married Tyler 
Batcheller (see Batcheller), and died Oc- 
tober 5, 1828. 

(The Angell Line). 

(I) Thomas Angell, founder of the 
family, son of Henry, of Liverpool, Eng- 
land, according to tradition went to Lon- 

don to seek his fortune at the age of 
twelve; in 1631 came with Roger Wil- 
liams in the ship “Lion” to Boston, went 
with him to Salem, and finally to Provi- 
dence. His home lot in Providence is 
now the site of the First Baptist Church. 
He was commissioner in 1652-53 ; consta- 
ble 1655, and for many years afterward. 
He died in 1685 ; his wife Alice in 
1694. Children: John, mentioned below ; 
James, Dexter, Amphillis, Mary, Debo- 
rah, Alice Margaret. 

(II) John Angell, son of Thomas, was 
born in Providence, and died there July 
27, 1700. He was admitted a freeman 
October 16, 1670. He was a farmer in 
Providence. He married, 1669, Ruth 
Field, daughter of John. Children: 
Thomas, born March 25, 1672; John; 
Daniel, born May 2, 1680; Hope, men- 
tioned below; James. 

(III) Flope Angell, son of John, was 
born in 1682, died at Providence, Febru- 
ary 11, 1759. He held many town offices. 
He lived on what is now the Asylum 
farm, North Providence. He married 
Lydia Olney, who died aged sixty years. 
Children, recorded in Providence: Abia, 
born July 1, 1715; Oliver, mentioned be- 
low; Lydia, May 8, 1718; Elisha, Octo- 
ber 13, 1719; Mary, August 4, 1722; 
Thomas, June 13, 1724; James, January 
3 L 1731 - 

(IV) Oliver Angell, son of Hope, was 
born at Providence, March 3, 1717, died 
April 13, 1799. He had the asylum farm. 
He was a blacksmith. He married Naomi 
Smith, born October 2, 1721, died Decem- 
ber 3, 1799. Children, born at Providence: 
Israel, April 13, 1740; Hope, mentioned 
below; Ruth, 1746; Jason, October 7, 
1748 ; Naomi, December 27, 1755; Elisha, 
February 22, 1757. 

(V) Hope Angell, son of Oliver, was 
born at Providence, March 28, 1742. He 
also inherited the homestead at North 



Providence. He married Avis Olney, 
born June io, 1748, daughter of Charles. 
Children, born at North Providence: 
Cynthia, October 5, 1772; Charles and 
Charlotte, July 28, 1774; Deborah, May 
15, 1776; John, June 25, 1778; Charles, 
March 22, 1780; Adah, January 25, 1782; 
Charlotte, May 31, 1784; Oliver, Novem- 
ber 4, 1787; Samuel, August 25, 1789; 
Smith, March 1, 1791 ; Samuel, mentioned 

(VI) Samuel Angell, son of Hope, was 
born at North Providence, March 28, 
1793 He lived in his youth in the family 
of President Messer, of Brown, who mar- 
ried his aunt Deborah ; he graduated from 
Brown University in 1814. He taught 
school at Pawtucket five years and in the 
Warren Female Seminary for ten years. 
Children : Francis H., born March 2, 

1818, died June 18, 1818; Manning, Au- 
gust 12, 1820; child, died in infancy; Ma- 
ria, September 2, 1822; James M., May 
18, 1824; Sophia B., November 16, 1833; 
Ruth; Jason; Adah, married Nicholas 
Jenks (see Jenks Line); Elisha; Naomi. 

(The King Line). 

(I) William King, immigrant, sailed 
from Weymouth, Dorsetshire, England, 
March 20, 1635, and settled at Salem. He 
was admitted a freeman May 23, 1636. 
He had grants of land at what is now 
Beverly and Manchester. He was a mem- 
ber of the First Church of Salem, but in 
1637 joined the Antinomians and came 
under the ban of the Puritan authorities. 
His gun was taken away from him, and 
later he was fined for sheltering Quakers. 
He died in 1650. He married Dorothy 
Hayne, born in England, about 1601, died 
at Southold, New York, where her daugh- 
ters were living. She sold her house and 
went to Long Island in 1653. The rec- 
ords at Sherburne, Dorsetshire, England, 
show that William King and Dorothy 

Hayne were married February 17, 1616- 
17. Children : William, born about 1627, 
a Quaker; Samuel, of Southold, Long 
Island; John, of Salem, mentioned below; 
Mary, about 1623 ; Katherine, 1625 ; Han- 
nah, 1629; Mehitable, 1635; Deliverance, 
baptized at Salem, October 31, 1636. 

(II) John King, son of William, was 

baptized November 11, 1638, at Salem. 
He died before 1719. He married, Sep- 
tember, 1660, Elizabeth Goldthwait, 
daughter of Thomas and Rachel Gold- 
thwait; she was baptized November 20, 
1647. Children: John, October, 1662; 

Samuel, May, 1664; Captain William, 
mentioned below; Elizabeth, February 
16, 1671; Jonathan, February 16, 1674; 
Thomas, February, 1677; Hannah, April, 
1681 ; Mary, May, 1687. 

(III) Captain William King, son of 

John, was born at Salem in 1669. He 
shared in the division of land of his 
grandfather Goldthwait. He and his 
brother Jonathan were among the first 
settlers of Sutton, Massachusetts, and he 
was one of the most wealthy and influen- 
tial men of his day in that town. He also 
owned land at Charlton. He died in No- 
vember, 1748. He married Hannah 
Cooke, daughter of Isaac and Elizabeth 
(Buxton) Cooke, June 4, 1695. He mar- 
ried (second) Rebecca Littlefield, of 
Wells, Maine, daughter of Edmund and 
Agnes Littlefield, who came from Eng- 
land. Children: William; Isaac and 

Henry, mentioned below. 

(IV) Captain Henry King, son of Wil- 
liam, was born about 1710. He married 
Abigail Green, sister of Dr. Thomas 
Green, of Leicester. He was much in 
public life ; representative to the General 
Court and delegate to the Provincial 
Congress. Children : William, born Oc- 
tober 27, 1734; Samuel, February 28, 
1 736 ; John, mentioned below; Lydia, 
June 1 7, 1739; Abigail, February 7, 1741 ; 



Hannah, February 22, 1743; Tamar, Sep- 
tember 16, 1744; Mehitable, October 19, 
1746; Henry, May 9, 1748; Elizabeth, 
April 26, 1750. 

(V) Dr. John King, son of Henry, was 

born at Sutton, November 1, 1737, and 
died March 20, 1807. He was a self- 
taught physician. He succeeded to the 
practice of Dr. John Cotton (son of Rev. 
John), and bought his house at Newton, 
Massachusetts. He was a very useful 
man, moderator many years ; selectman ; 
member of the committee on correspond- 
ence in 1774, and on the committee to 
prepare instructions to the representative 
to the General Court ; delegate to the 
State Convention in 1779. He was a sol- 
dier in the Revolution at the battle of 
Lexington, in Captain Jeremiah Wis- 
well’s company, and one of the Newton 
soldiers guarding Burgoyne’s troops in 
1778. He was deputy to the General 
Court in 1792 and later. He married, 
April 30, 1761, Sarah Wiswell, daughter 
of Captain Noah Wiswell, of Newton. 
She died in 1798, aged sixty-four years. 
He married (second) April, 1799, Eliza- 
beth Cookson. He lived on the east side 
of the Dedham road. Children, born at 
Newton : John, mentioned below ; Cap- 

tain Henry, born October 28, 1763; Noah, 
February 11, 1766; Elijah, December 3, 
1768; Ebenezer, November 10, 1 772. 

(VI) John King, son of Dr. John, was 

born at Newton, April 8, 1762, and died 
August 17, 1824. He married, in 1784, 
Lois Jackson, daughter of Samuel Jack- 
son. Children: Elijah, born July 17, 

1784; Sophia, October 10, 1788; Mehit- 
able, May 31, 1790; Lois, April 29, 1792; 
John, December 12, 1794, mentioned be- 
low; Samuel, October 22, 1796; Jackson, 
November 1, 1798; Frederick, July 8, 
1800; Lois, March 31, 1803. 

(VII) John King, son of John King, 
was born at Newton, December 12, 1794. 

He was a wheelwright, and lived at 

Franklin, Massachusetts. He married, 

March 20, 1820, at Holliston, Erepta Claf- 
lin, born September 3, 1799, died at 

Franklin, June ( 4, 1871. He died at 

Franklin, February 12, 1882. Children: 
William Claflin, mentioned below ; John 
Adams and George Washington, twins, 
August 8, 1823; Albert Newell, April 6, 
1826; Charles Jackson, May 25, 1829; Ed- 
win Henry, November 24, 1832; Harriet 
Elizabeth, December 21, 1834; Mary Ann, 
June 1 7, 1839. 

(VIII) William Claflin King, son of 
John, was born at Franklin, December 31, 

1820, and died . He married Erne- 

line Jenks (see Jenks). Children: Tyler 
Batcheller, born September 20, 1859; 

married, February 27, 1873, Anne Eich- 
berg, born at Geneva, Switzerland, a law- 
yer, of Boston. 2. Mary E., born July 31, 
1861, married Dr. Julius Garst (see 

OWEN, Harvey M., 

Agriculturist, Stock Breeder. 

The Owen family has been identified 
with New England agriculture from an 
early period in the settlement of that 
region. John Owen, born December 25, 
1624, in Wales, came to Connecticut 
when a young man and settled in Wind- 
sor. For some time his home was at 
what was known as “Hosford’s Lane,” 
after which he moved up the Farmington 
river, to a locality then and still known 
as “Polly’s Orchard,” opposite the village 
of Poquonock, where he died February 1, 
1699. He married, October 3, 1650, Re- 
becca Wade, who survived him nearly 
thirteen years, dying December 3, 1711. 

Their youngest child, Isaac Owen, was 
born May 27, 1670, in Windsor, and was 
one of the first settlers at “Turkey Hills,” 
in that part of Simsbury now Granby, 



Connecticut. He married, December 20, 
1694, Sarah Holcomb, who was born Feb- 
ruary 1, 1673, in Windsor, and died Jan- 
uary 22, 1763, almost ninety years old. 
The youngest child of this marriage, Eli- 
jah Owen, was born October 7, 1706, in 
Simsbury, where he lived, and died Sep- 
tember 22, 1741. His grave is in East 
Granby burying ground, which he 
donated to the church there. He mar- 
ried Hannah, daughter of Brewster and 
Hester (Holcomb) Higley, born Decem- 
ber 17, 1717, died 1812. She married 
(second) Peletiah Mills. Her eldest son, 
Elijah Owen, born about 1738-39, lived 
at Turkey Hills and East Otis, Massa- 
chusetts. He married, March 8, 1762, 
Lydia, daughter of Joel and Lydia 
(Forbes) Clarke, and their eldest child 
was Elijah Owen, born April 17, 1763, in 
Simsbury. He was a soldier of the Rev- 
olution, serving under Captain John Bar- 
nard, of Hartford, in Colonel Samuel 
Wyllys’s regiment, from May 6, 1778, to 
January 1, 1779. He was residing in 
Hartford county in 1832, when he drew a 
pension for Revolutionary service. He 
married Hannah, daughter of Nathaniel 
and Hannah (Filley) Mather, born No- 
vember 12, 1765, and they were the par- 
ents of Elijah Owen, born at East Otis, 
Massachusetts. He was a soldier of the 
war of 1812, and engaged in farming at 
East Otis and Hartland, Connecticut. He 
died in Lee, Massachusetts, at the home 
of his son Harvey. At one time he rep- 
resented the town of Otis in the Legisla- 
ture. His son, Harvey Owen, was born 
in 1791 in Hartland, and was reared on 
his father’s farm in Otis, Massachusetts, 
whither his parents removed when he 
was a small child. He was a farmer suc- 
cessively in Otis, Lee and Lanesboro, all 
in Berkshire county, Massachusetts, and 
died in the latter town October 20, 1873. 
He married Mary Melinda McCullough, 

daughter of David McCullough, of Becket, 
Berkshire county. She died January 16, 
1882, leaving three children, namely: 
Mary Jane, wife of Fordyce W. Briggs, 
of Pittsfield; Harvey M., of further men- 
tion; and William Henry, a resident of 
Pittsfield. This family was represented 
in the Civil War by Captain Leander C. 
Owen, and a nephew of Harvey M. Owen, 
named Frank B. Owen, served in the 
Spanish-American War. 

Harvey M. Owen was born September 
12, 1833, ' n Otis, and died January, 1907, 
in Lanesboro. He was educated in the 
public schools of Lee and Lanesboro, 
meantime sharing in labors and pastimes 
of rural youth. He was early accustomed 
to farm labor, and was called upon as the 
eldest son to take charge of the paternal 
homestead farm when the failing health 
of the father made it necessary. After the 
death of the latter the sons continued to 
manage the property in partnership until 
it was disposed of in 1884. Mr. Harvey 
M. Owen was one of the most thorough 
agriculturists in the country, and was the 
first to introduce blooded stock in Lanes- 
boro. He gave considerable attention to 
dairying and the manufacture of butter, 
and was recognized as thorough and up- 
to-date in his methods. In 1886 he be- 
came manager of “Maplehurst Farm,” in 
Pittsfield, the property of Mrs. Thomas 
Allen, widow of Thomas Allen, the Con- 
gressman of this district many years, 
and conducted that up to 1901, then Mr. 
Owen purchased a home in Lanesboro 
and resided there up to his death, 1907, 
and in 1911 Mrs. Owen came to her 
present home, where her father formerly 
lived and where she was born. 

Mr. Owen was a staunch Republican, 
and served as delegate to important 
county and State conventions of his party. 
For thirteen years he was selectman of 
Lanesboro, and in 1876 represented the 



Assembly district composed of the towns 
of Hancock, Lanesboro, Williamstown 
and New Ashford in the General Court 
at Boston. At the election he received 
the largest majority ever given a candi- 
date in the district. Mr. Owen was an 
active member of the Berkshire County 
Agricultural Society, and represented it 
on the State Board of Agriculture. He 
married (first) Sarah C. Harrison, who 
died soon after, leaving a daughter, Julia 
A., who died at the age of fourteen years. 
He married (second) in 1884, Grace, 
daughter of Augustus Somers, of Lanes- 
boro. He was a carpenter and builder, 
son of Rev. Daniel Somers, born in South 
Norwalk, Connecticut, whence he came 
to Lanesboro when a young man. Mr. 
Augustus Somers married Harriet E. 
Brodie, daughter of Franklin Brodie, a 
descendant of an early Scotch family of 
Berkshire county. There are two chil- 
dren of Mr. Owen’s second marriage, 
namely: Harvey A., an electrician, and 
Anna S. The latter is now the wife of 
Fred Frederick, of Montreal, Canada. 

UNDERWOOD, William A., 

Representative Citizen. 

The surname Underwood is of ancient 
English origin, derived from a descriptive 
name of a locality and therefore probably 
not confined to one family. The coats-of- 
arms of the Underwoods are similar and 
the armigerous Underwoods are probably 
related. The armorials of the Under- 
wood family of Bixley is described : Sable 
on a fess ermine between three annulets 
or, a lion passant gardant sable. Crest : 
A hind’s head or, encircled by wreath 
vert. The Underwoods of Bixley are 
traced as far as 1177 in the Harleian 
Manuscript. Bixley is in County Nor- 
folk and 1177 was about the period when 
surnames were coming into use in Eng- 

land. A branch of the family located in 
Weston, Hertfordshire, about 1350 and 
bore a similar coat-of-arms. Branches of 
the family located early in London, in 
Ireland and elsewhere in England. There 
were no less than six pioneer families of 
Underwood in New England, namely: 1. 
The Watertown family, descended from 
Joseph Underwood, the immigrant, set- 
tled in Hingham, 1637, admitted freeman 
at Watertown in 1645. 2. The Lincoln 

family, mentioned below. 3. The Chelms- 
ford family, descendants of William of 
Concord, 1652. 4. The Boston family, 

descendants of John Underwood, who 
first appears on the records of Boston in 
1680; had descendants in Rhode Island 
and Connecticut. 5. The Newcastle, New 
Hampshire, family, descended from John 
Underwood and wife Temperance. They 
probably came from England. He was in 
Newcastle in 1714. 6. The Rhode Island 
family, descended from Henry Under- 
wood, of Newport, in 1665. 

Thomas Underwood, of Watertown, 
brother of Joseph Underwood, born in 
England, came to this country in 1635, 
settled first at Hingham, later at Dor- 
chester and finally at Watertown in 1651. 

He married Magdaline but had no 

children. He was admitted a freeman in 
1637 and was deputy to the General 
Court in 1636 and 1638 from Hingham 
and in 1656 was selectman from Water- 
town. His will was dated February 15, 
1668, and proved April 7, 1668. He be- 
queathed to his wife, to brother, Joseph 
Underwood, and children of Joseph. 

(I) Thomas Underwood, progenitor of 
the Lincoln family, was doubtless related 
in some degree to Thomas Underwood, 
mentioned above. At any rate he came to 
the same town about 1660 and in 1669 
married Magdalen Underwood, widow of 
Thomas Underwood, mentioned above. 
Various accounts of the Underwood family 



have confused the Thomas Underwoods one 
with another and the genealogical puzzle 
that they left to the family historian is 
almost unique. Magdalen had two hus- 
bands of the same name, but had children 
by neither. Thomas (i) Underwood by 
a former marriage had a son Thomas, 
who was in England when his will was 
made, July 19, 1679 (proved October 5, 
1680). (The maiden name of his first 
wife was Tilson.) In this will Thomas 
Underwood returned to Magdalen prop- 
erty he received from her at the time of 
their marriage. She died April 10, 1687, 
aged about eighty years, and her will is 
on record in Suffolk. In his will Thomas 
(1) Underwood is designated as gentle- 
man, a word that at that time indicated 
high social position of some sort. 

(II) Thomas Underwood, only son of 
Thomas Underwood by his first wife, was 

born in England ; married Mary . 

Almost the entire information that we 
have of this man is contained in his 
father’s will and in a deed of his farm in 
Lexington, March 10, 17x8, to his son 
Joseph, mentioned below. Thomas Under- 
wood died at Lexington, February 16, 
1742-43, and his wife Alary, January 15, 

(III) Joseph Underwood, son of Thom- 
as Underwood, was born about 1695-98, 
and died intestate, April 27, 1760. The 
probate papers relating to his estate men- 
tioned Peter, Joseph, Joshua, Elijah, Is- 
rael, Aloses and Ruth, children of Joseph. 
His widow Ruth died June 23, 1775, at 
Lincoln, Massachusetts. Children, born 
at Lexington: Joseph, mentioned below; 
Joshua, baptized June 6, 1725 ; Elijah, 
baptized May 5, 1728; Peter, baptized 
May 25, 1729; Ruth, baptized April 4, 
1731; Israel, baptized June 23, 1734; 
Moses, baptized August 17, 1735 ; Susan- 
na, baptized September 2, 1739, died in 
Lincoln, February 23, 1762. 

(IV) Joseph (2) Underwood, son of 
Joseph (1) Underwood, was baptized at 
Lexington, March 3, 1723, and died April 
25, 1760, in Lexington. He married (first) 
February 26, 1747, Anna Baker, of Walt- 
ham, Massachusetts, who died May 30, 
1749. He married (second) June 4, 1750, 
Eunice Smith, born June 4, 1730, who 
was admitted to the church at Lexington, 
July 6, 1760, daughter of Daniel and Mary 
Smith ; she married (second) January 6, 
1784, Major Samuel Stone, of Ashby, 
Massachusetts, and died June 18, 1805, 
aged seventy-five years. Children of first 
wife, born at Waltham: Samuel, men- 
tioned below; Joseph, born April 30, 1749. 
Children by second wife: Eunice, bom 
December 10, 1751; Nathan, August 3, 
1753; Elizabeth, August 16, 1755; Anna, 
May 22, 1757; Sarah, March 25, 1759. 

(V) Samuel Underwood, son of Joseph 
(2) Underwood, was born at Waltham, 
Massachusetts, November 21, 1747, bap- 
tized at Lexington, November 29, 1747. 
He removed to Halifax, Vermont, and 
followed farming there until he died, May 

23, 1819. He married Maria , who 

died April 12, 1832, aged eighty-two. His 
home was near Coleraine, Massachusetts. 
Children : Submitty, born October 13, 
1770; Joseph, March 9, 1772, died May 
11, 1790; Hannah, November 16, 1773; 
Eunice, January 8, 1775 ; Betsey, Septem- 
ber 8, 1777, died September 23, 1785 ; 
Sally, September 23, 1779; Polly; Na- 
than ; Moses, mentioned below ; Abi ; 
Amos, October 4, 1791. 

(VI) Moses Underwood, son of Sam- 
uel Underwood, was born 1785-95, and 
settled in North Heath, Massachusetts, 
about the time of his first marriage. He 
was a farmer. He died there February 
10, 1871. He married (first) December 
31, 1816, Sarah Winn, who died April 6, 
1837. He married (second) Diana Har- 
ris. Children by first wife: Rhoda, born 


Mass— 5 — 15 


June 8, 1818, died July io, 1855; Samuel, 
March 2, 1819, died May 22, 1844; Eunice, 
May 5, 1821, died January 5, 1865, mar- 
ried Bates and lived in Davenport, 

Iowa; William Winn, October 2, 1823; 
Annie M., November 10, 1825, married 
John Shimmons and had five children; 
she died at Lawrence, Kansas, September 
21, 1874; Levi, mentioned below. Chil- 
dren by second wife : John H., born 
March 2, 1844; Henry Martin, February 
10, 1850; Mary Maria, January 1, 1857; 
Jennie Elizabeth, i860; Charles Edwin, 
May 15, 1862; Rose Minerva, 1864. 

(VII) Levi Underwood, son of Moses 
Underwood, was born March 10, 1829, at 
North Heath, Massachusetts, and died at 
Readsboro, Vermont, October 13, 1871. 
He was a farmer at Readsboro. He mar- 
ried Mary E. Davis, who was born at 
Whitingham, Vermont, daughter of 
Moses and Betsey (Doane) Davis, who 
came from Cape Cod. Children : Wil- 
liam Lewis, born in 1853; Martha Louisa, 
born 1856, died in 1914; Flora; John 
Amos, mentioned below ; Anna, died 
aged five years. 

(VIII) John Amos Underwood, son of 
Levi Underwood, was born at Whiting- 
ham, Vermont, January 30, 1864. Part of 
his boyhood was spent in the town of 
Readsboro, Vermont. He attended the 
public schools of Coleraine. At the age 
of eighteen years he came to Worcester, 
Massachusetts, where he has since re- 
sided. He has charge of the saw mill of 
the W. H. Sawyer Lumber Company and 
has been in the employ of Mr. Sawyer for 
thirty years. In politics he is a Republi- 
can. He married, August 25, 1887, Ellen 
Josephine Ryan. Children, born in Wor- 
cester: 1. William A., mentioned below. 
2. Andrew Ambrose, born November 8, 
1889, salesman with Frank Mossburg 
Company, pressed steel manufacturers, 
Attleborough. 3. Mary Flora, born March 

18, 1891, graduate nurse in the Massachu- 
setts General Hospital. 4. Ruth Anna, 
born October 25, 1893, school teacher, 
Coleraine, supervisor of drawing in fifteen 
district schools in the vicinity. 5. Flor- 
ence Catherine, born February, 1902. 6. 

Grace Ellen, May 13, 1908. 

(IX) William A. Underwood, son of 
John Amos Underwood, was born in 
Worcester, August 29, 1888. He attended 
the public schools and was graduated 
from the English High School in the class 
of 1906. He then took a course in the 
Worcester Business Institute. He began 
his business career in the cost department 
of the F. E. Reed Company, where he 
continued for six months. During the 
next half-year he was a stenographer, em- 
ployed in the office of the Coes Wrench 
Works in Worcester. In Alarch, 1908, he 
entered the employ of B. S. Roy & Son, 
manufacturers of card grinding ma- 
chinery at 775 Southbridge street, Wor- 
cester. Since 1912 Mr. Underwood has 
been general manager of the business and 
of the Riverside Mills which are owned 
by the same firm. The partners in this 
firm are Bozil S. Roy and his son, Syl- 
vanus B. Roy. In politics Mr. Under- 
wood is a Republican. 

BROWN, Captain John C., 

Soldier of Civil War. 

In the United States there are several 
ancient families bearing this name, and 
from among them many men of promi- 
nence have arisen. The surname is of the 
class called complexion names, and was 
assumed by its first bearer from his com- 
plexion or the color of his hair. The 
large number among the pioneer settlers 
of New England have left a very numer- 
ous progeny. The frequent recurrence of 
the same Christian names has rendered it 
extremely difficult to trace the descent of 

' VA- . • , . 




many. Happily, the line herein covered is 
fairly complete and includes some promi- 
nent citizens of New England, who have 
earned distinction by their own merit and 

(I) Nicholas Brown appears early at 
Portsmouth, Rhode Island, was one o' 
those admitted an inhabitant of the Island 
of Aquidneck in 1638, and was one of 
the twenty-nine who signed the compact 
binding them into a civil body “politicke,” 
April 30, 1639. On February 4, 1646, he 
had twenty acres added to his other 
twenty and adjoining it, and was made a 
freeman in 1655. By his will, which was 
proved December 27, 1694, and of which 
his grandson Tobias was executor, he 
gave to his eldest son Nicholas, to son 
Abraham, to daughter Jane Babcock, to 
granddaughters, daughters of son Wil- 
liam (deceased) and to grandson Tobias, 
son of William. 

(II) William Brown, of Portsmouth, 
was taxed in 1680. He had children: 
Martha, Jane (born 1677) and Tobias. 

(III) Tobias Brown, of Portsmouth 
and Little Compton, died 1734, in the lat- 
ter town. He married, about 1704, Alice 
Burrington, their marriage being of Little 
Compton record, as are their children, 
who were: John, born 1703; Abraham, 
mentioned below; William, 1709; Nich- 
olas, 1710; Alice, 1711; Sarah, 1713; Rob- 
ert, 1717. 

(IV) Abraham, second son of Tobias 
and Alice (Burrington) Brown, was born 
1707, in Little Compton, Rhode Island, 
and lived in Tiverton, where he married, 
December 17, 1731, Sarah Corey, daughter 
of Thomas Corey, of that town. She re- 
ceived six hundred pounds by her father’s 
will. Children: Abigail, born February 
21, 1732; Abraham, mentioned below; 
Sarah, July 17, 1736; Rebecca, March 23, 

(V) Abraham (2), only son of Abra- 

ham (1) and Sarah (Corey) Brown, was 
born January 1, 1735, in Tiverton, and 
married in Little Compton, March 10 
1756, Abigail Wilbur, born September 7, 
1734, daughter of William and Jane 
(Crandall) Wilbur. Children: Isaac, men- 
tioned below; Benjamin, twin of Isaac, 
born October 17, 1756; Abraham, De- 
cember 8, 1757; Abigail, December 15, 
1 759, was mother of Adoniram Judson, 
the noted Baptist missionary; Mary, July 
13, 1761 ; Sarah, December 25, 1765; Wil- 
liam, April 30, 1770; Pardon, January 25, 

(VI) Isaac, eldest child of Abraham 
(2) and Abigail (Wilbur) Brown, was 
born October 17, 1756, twin of Benjamin, 
and was a Revolutionary soldier, a mem- 
ber of the company commanded by Briga- 
dier-General William Barton, which cap- 
tured General Prescott. He married, De- 
cember 27, 1787, in Tiverton, Hannah 
Cook, born March 13, 1764, in that town, 
daughter of Jeremiah and Constant (Rus- 
sell) Cook, of Tiverton (see Cook V). 
Children: Abigail, born April 2, 1789; 
Polly, April 1, 1790; Adoniram, Septem- 
ber 13, 1791; Betsey, December 7, 1796; 
Abraham, mentioned below. 

(VII) Abraham (3), youngest child of 

Isaac and Hannah (Cook) Brown, was 
born December 3, 1798, in Tiverton, and 
died at Malden, Massachusetts, Novem- 
ber 14, 1888, was buried in Rural Ceme- 
tery of New Bedford, Massachusetts. He 
married, December 29, 1822, in Tiverton, 
Almira Manchester, born January 13, 
1804, died in New Bedford, Massachu- 
setts, November 3, 1851, and was buried 
in Rural Cemetery of that city. She was 
a daughter of Captain James and Plan- 
nah (Almy) Manchester, of Tiverton (see 
Manchester VI). Children: 1. Hannah 
Maria, born July 27, 1823. 2. William 

Frederick, December 26, 1824. 3. Almira 
Lavinia, November 11, 1826. 4. John 



Cheney, mentioned below. 5. James 
Horace, July 13 or 18, 1830. 6. Abraham 
Augustus, August 21, 1832. 7. Isaac Ed- 
win, June 26, 1834. 8. Thomas Wren, 

April 30, 1836. 9. Clarence Ferdinand, 

who died aged sixteen years. 10. Joseph 
Warren Mansur, July 23, 1840. 11. Mary 

Elizabeth, who died young. 12. Alexan- 
der Wall, November 13, 1847. 

(VIII) John Cheney Brown, son of 
Abraham (3) and Almira (Manchester) 
Brown, was born July 22, 1828, in Tiver- 
ton, removed in boyhood with his parents 
to New Bedford, and was educated in the 
public schools there. When civil strife 
arose in the country, he went to the de- 
fence of his native land, enlisting as a 
member of Company K, Seventy-third 
United States Infantry, Corps d’Afrique, 
afterwards United States Colored Troops, 
and became captain of this company, and 
later of Company G, of the same regi- 
ment. He received a mortal wound in 
the assault on Fort Blakely, near Mobile 
Alabama, April 10, 1865, and passed away 
on the following day. He was brevetted 
a major of United States volunteers 0“ 
the day of his death. The following lc^ 
ter was addressed to his widow by hi 
lieutenant-colonel, Henry C. Merriam : 

Headquarters 73rd. U. S. C. Infantry. 

Blakely, Ala. April 10, 1865. 

My Dear Madam: — It has become my painful 
duty to announce to you and your children the 
death of your husband and their father. Yes- 
terday, after a siege of seven days, we were 
ordered to make an assault. Foremost and 
bravest among us, Capt. John C. Brown, fell 
mortally wounded, when he had passed over 
about half the ground. He died this evening, 
after considerable suffering. He was shot 
through the bowels, the shot coming out two 
inches to the right of the spine. He also re- 
ceived a slight wound on the scalp. He was 
rational to the last, and talked much of you and 
of his children. He did not murmur, but 
seemed to feel great joy when I took his hand 
on my return from the bloody field and assured 
him of our victory and thanked him for the 

cool and heroic manner in which he led his noble 
company on to the fray. 

Capt. Brown has always been a reliable and 
faithful officer, but never has his character been 
so conspicuous as in the presence of danger. 
Then his whole soul seemed to beam with 
patriotism, and every energy of his being was 
given to the full discharge of his duties. Upon 
the tedious march, the siege, the bivouac and 
in the stern hour of battle, his manly courage 
and uniform courtesy have won for him an 
affection among us, the officers of his regi- 
ment, which will remain while memory lives. 

Thus is added one more to that historic band, 
whose deeds will live in the hearts of a grate- 
ful people, and whose generous and free dis- 
position, whose Christian charity and virtue as 
well as cool bravery and unwavering patriotism 
will live in their influence forever. We have 
buried the remains of Captain Brown with mili- 
tary honors, by a large oak tree, on the banks 
of the Alabama, upon which is carved his name 
and regiment. The oak stands close by the 
right flank of our extreme right battery — a bat- 
tery constructed in part under the supervision 
of the deceased. 

Very truly yours, 

Henry C. Merriam, 

Lt. Col. 83d. Reg. U. S. C. Infantry. 

From the New Bedford “Standard:” 

Recognition of Patriotic Service. — We under- 
stand that the family of the late Captain John C. 
Brown have received from the War Department 
a commission as Brevet-Major of U. S. volun- 
teers, for meritorious services at the assault 
upon and capture of Fort Blakely, Alabama, 
dating from the gth of April, 1865, on which day 
he fell, mortally wounded, while gallantly lead- 
ing his command. 

He married, in New Bedford, Massa- 
chusetts, December 16, 1851, Jane Eliza- 
beth Taylor, born April 5, 1833, daughter 
of William Howland and Elizabeth Ann 
(Pitman) Taylor, of New Bedford (see 
Taylor, VI). She died October 19, 1865, 
in New Bedford, and was buried in Rural 
Cemetery of that city. Children : Caro- 

line Elizabeth, mentioned below; Edward 
Sisson, a well known banker of New Bed- 
ford, where he is president of the Mechan- 


ics’ National Bank, married Mary Eliza- 
beth Gardner ; Horace Manchester, a 
prominent physician and surgeon in Mil- 
waukee, Wisconsin, married Fanny 
Louise Eldred ; Etta, died young. 

(IX) Caroline Elizabeth, eldest child 
of John C. and Jane Elizabeth (Taylor) 
Brown, was born in New Bedford, and 
was married, in 1881, to Judson Cary 
Mackenzie, of Fall River, president of 
the Mackenzie & Winslow Corporation, 
of that city. Children: Joseph William, 
born November 30, 1882, in Fall River, 
Massachusetts, graduated from Brown 
University, Providence, in 1904, with the 
degree of Master of Arts, is in business 
with his father, and resides in Fall River; 
on August 23, 1916, he married Ethel 
Nason Brewster, of Auburndale, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Charles Edward 
and Marion (Wiggin) Brewster. John 
Brown, born January 19, 1886, in Fall 
River, graduated from Brown University 
in 1908, resides in Buffalo, New York, be- 
ing a member of the firm of Root, Neal & 
Company, machinery dealers ; he married, 
in Buffalo, June 22, 1916, Florence S. Ralph, 
daughter of Ben Cutler and Jean (McMil- 
lan) Ralph, of that city. Mrs. Macken- 
zie is a member of Quequechan Chapter, 
Daughters of the American Revolution, 
of Fall River, in which she served as 
treasurer from 1896 to 1899, was record- 
ing secretary from 1901 to 1903, vice- 
president 1908 to 1909, and regent Octo- 
ber, 1899, to April, 1901. She is a mem- 
ber of the Fall River Woman’s Club and 
of the Woman’s Auxiliary of the Young 
Men’s Christian Association ; a member 
of the Woman’s Board of the Union Hos- 
pital, of the Woman’s Union, and a lady 
active in civic and charitable works. 

(The Cook Line). 

(I) Thomas Cook, a butcher of Ports- 
mouth, was received inhabitant there in 

1643, was rnade freeman in 1655 and died 
February 6, 1674. He purchased land Oc- 
tober 25, 1649, and built a house, subse- 
quently received a grant of eight acres, 
was deputy to the General Court in 1664. 
He had a second wife, Mary. There is 
no record of his first wife, and only one 
child is recorded. 

(II) John, son of Thomas Cook, born 
1631, probably in England, died in 1691, 
in Portsmouth, where he resided, and 
was a butcher. He received a deed from 
his father of eighty acres, April 14, 1660, 
was a freeman in 1655, and with Daniel 
Wilcox, was given leave to operate a ferry 
at Pocasset, June 3, 1668. In 1670 he 
represented the town in the General 
Court. Elis will gave one hundred and 
fifty acres at Punketest to his son John, 
with other land in Little Compton and 
other property. To his son Joseph he 
gave the homestead in Portsmouth, with 
other land, a negro man Jack, and Indian 
woman and boy, the latter to be set free 
and given a start in life. He also gave 
land to his son Samuel. He married 
Mary Borden, who died before 1691, 
daughter of Richard and Joan Borden. 
Children: Mary, married William Man- 
chester; Elizabeth, married William 
Briggs ; Sarah, married Thomas Wait; 
John, married Ruth Shaw; Hannah, mar- 
ried (first) Daniel Wilcox, (second) 
Enoch Briggs ; Joseph, married Sus- 
anna Briggs; Martha, married William 
Cory; Deborah, married William Almy ; 
Thomas, mentioned below. 

(III) Thomas (2), youngest child of 
John and Mary (Borden) Cook, was born 
about 1666, in Portsmouth, and lived in 
Tiverton, where he died 1736. His will 
was proved June 11 of that year, dispos- 
ing of a large amount of land and other 
property, including money. The inven- 
tory amounted to three hundred and one 
pounds, fifteen shillings, five pence, in- 


eluding much live stock, woolen and linen 
wheels, and other personal property. He 
married Mary, daughter of William and 
Mary (Earle) Cory, and had children : 
Stephen, Joseph, Chaplin, Deborah, Mary 
and Amey. 

(IV) Joseph, second son of Thomas 
(2) and Mary (Cory) Cook, resided at 
Punketest, and received lands by his 
father’s will. His first wife bore the name 
of Lydia. He married (second) October 
16, 1733, Mary Bennett, and they had one 
child, Lydia, born February 19, 1735. 
Children of first marriage: Joseph, born 
September 12, 1712; Sarah, June 18, 1714; 
Job, December 11, 1716; Elizabeth, July 
22, 1719; Anne, April 4, 1721; Mary, 
March 20, 1724; Abigail, March 21, 1726; 
Jeremiah, mentioned below; Phebe, Feb- 
ruary 14, 1729; Hannah, December 14, 
1732 . 

(V) Jeremiah, third son of Joseph and 
Lydia Cook, was born May 9, 1727, in 
Tiverton, and resided in that town, where 
he married, December 13, 1750, Constant 
Russell. Children: Russell, born June 
28, 1752 ; Ruth, July 21, 1753 ; Peace, June 
2I > r 755 ; Lydia, April 17, 1761; Hannah, 
mentioned below. 

(VI) Hannah, fourth daughter of Jere- 
miah and Constant (Russell) Cook, was 
born March 13, 1764, and was married, 
December 27, 1787, in Tiverton, to Isaac 
Brown, of that town (see Brown VI). 

(The Manchester Line). 

(I) Thomas Manchester was in Ports- 
mouth, Rhode Island, as early as 1655, 
and owned land in the town of Tiverton, 
where one or more of his sons settled. 
He married Margaret Wood, and they 
had children : Thomas, who settled in 
Portsmouth; William; John; Stephen; 
Job, settled in Dartmouth, Massachu- 
setts; Mary; Elizabeth. 

(II) William, son of Thomas and Mar- 

garet (Wood) Manchester, was born in 
1654, in Portsmouth, was made freeman 
in 1675, and was one of the first settlers 
in Tiverton, in 1692, when the town was 
organized. There he died in 1718. He 
married Mary, daughter of John and 
Mary (Borden) Cook, and they had chil- 
dren : John, William, Mary, Sarah, De- 
borah, Elizabeth, Margaret, Amey, Su- 
sannah, Rebecca and Thomas. 

(III) John, eldest child of William and 
Mary (Cook) Manchester, lived in Tiver- 
ton, where he married, July 22, 1719, 
Phebe Gray, born September 6, 1699, in 
Tiverton, daughter of Edward (2) and 
Mary (Smith) Gray, granddaughter of 
Edward (1) and Dorothy (Lettice) Gray, 
pioneers of Rhode Island. Children: 
William, mentioned below; Philip, born 
February 11, 1722; John, February 12, 
1724; Mary, January 23, 1726; John, April 
17, 1728; Isaac, June 27, 1731, and proba- 
bly several others, including Peleg. 

(IV) William, eldest child of John and 
Phebe (Gray) Manchester, was born Sep- 
tember 9, 1720, in Tiverton, and married 
there, October 7, 1742, Rebecca Cook, 
born March 21, 1722, in Newport, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Hannah (Peabody) 
Cook. Children: Phebe, born July 21, 
1743 ; Gilbert, mentioned below ; God- 
frey, September 19, 1746; Rhody, May 
11, 1748; John, November 7, 1749; Alice, 
May 21, 1753 ; Thaddeus, January 1, 1756; 
Priscilla, November 28, 1761. 

(V) Gilbert, eldest son of William and 
Rebecca (Cook) Manchester, was born 
April 9, 1745, in Tiverton, and made his 
home in that town. He was a lieutenant 
in a regiment from Newport and Bristol 
counties in 1775. He married in Tiver- 
ton, about 1767, Mercy Durfee, born 
March 11, 1745, in Tiverton, daughter of 
Samuel and Mercy (Durfee) Durfee, of 
that town (see Durfee III). Children: 


Eliphal, born December 13, 1768; James, 
mentioned below. 

(VI) Captain James Manchester, sec- 

ond son of Gilbert and Mercy (Durfee) 
Manchester, was born June 6, 1781, in 
Tiverton, and married there, July 20, 
1803, Hannah Almy, of Little Compton, 
born March 20, 1785, in that town, daugh- 
ter of Lieutenant Sanford Almy and his 
\Vife, Lydia Gray, the latter the daughter 
of Colonel Pardon Gray and Mary Brown, 
who was the daughter of John and Sarah 
(White) Brown (see Almy V). Children: 
1. Almira, mentioned below. 2. Diana, 
born June 19, 1806. 3. Lavinia, January 
29, 1808. 4. Emeline, June 26, 1809. 5. 

Horace, who was a lawyer in Providence. 
6. Harriet. 

(VII) Almira, eldest child of Captain 
James and Hannah (Almy) Manchester, 
was born January 13, 1804, and was mar- 
ried, December 29, 1822, to Abraham (3) 
Brown, of Tiverton, Rhode Island (see 
Brown VII). 

(The Almy Line). 

(I) William Almy, born in 1601, came 
from. England and was an inhabitant of 
Lynn, Massachusetts, as early as 1631. 
He went home to England, but came 
back in the year 1635, in the ship “Abi- 
gail,” with his wife Audry and children, 
Annis and Christopher. In 1637 he was 
at Sandwich, Massachusetts, where he 
sold land in 1642. He had land granted 
him in 1644, at Wading River, Ports- 
mouth, Rhode Island, and was a free- 
man in 1655. His other children were 
John and Job. 

(II) Job, son of William and Audry 

Almy, lived in the towns of Portsmouth, 
Warwick and Providence, Rhode Island, 
and died in 1684. He was deputy from 
Warwick in 1670 and 1672, and assistant 
in 1673, 1674 and 1675. He married Mary 
Unthank, and had children : William 

(died young), Christopher, William, Sus- 
anna, Audry, Deborah, Catherine, John, 
Mary and Job. 

(III) Job (2), son of Job and Mary 
(Unthank) Almy, born March 3, 1681, in 
Portsmouth, resided in Tiverton, and died 
January 25, 1767. He married, December 

6, 1705, Bridget, daughter of Peleg and 
Mary (Coddington) Sanford. Children: 
Job, born March 4, 1707; Peleg, October 

25, 1709; Mary, June 20, 1711 ; Eliphal, 
August 3, 1713: Bridget, May 16, 1716; 
Ann, January 28, 1718; John, mentioned 
below; Job, May 15, 1722; Deborah, 
March 21, 1724. 

(IV) John, fourth son of Job (2) and 

Bridget (Sanford) Almy, born April 18, 
1720, married Hannah, who died 1765, 
and their children of Tiverton town rec- 
ord were : Sanford, mentioned below ; 

Peleg, born January 8, 1761 ; Bridget, 
September 21, 1762: John, April 16, 1764; 
Cook, September 24, 1765. 

(V) Sanford, eldest child of John and 

Hannah Almy, was born August 28, 1759, 
in Tiverton, was a sergeant from New- 
port county, and received two hundred 
and forty-four dollars and ninety-eight 
cents for service in Rhode Island militia. 
He appears on the pension roll of 1840, at 
the age of eighty years, living then in 
Little Compton with his son, Sanford 
Almy, Jr. He married, September 2 7, 
1781, Lydia, daughter of Pardon and 
Mary (Brown) Gray (see Gray IV). 
Children: George, born July 7, 1782; 

John, July 17, 1783; Hannah, mentioned 
below; Frederick, November 20, 1786; 
Sanford, September 20, 1788; Humphrey, 
August 27, 1790; Pardon, June 18, 1792; 
Mary, June 16, 1794; Angelina, October 

26, 1796; Clarissa, August 24, 1799; 
Louisa, September 12, 1801 ; Lydia, March 

7, 1804; John C., November 19, 1807; 
Fanny F., March 14, 1810. 

(VI) Hannah, eldest daughter of San- 



ford and Lydia (Gray) Almy, was born 
March 20, 1785, and married, July 28, 
1803, Captain James Manchester, of Tiver- 
ton (see Manchester VI). 

(The Gray Line). 

The Gray family of Rhode Island was 
founded in America by Edward Gray, a 
native of England, who came to America 
among the early settlers, locating at 
Plymouth. He married Mary Winslow, 
daughter of John Winslow and niece of 
Governor Winslow. His second wife was 
Dorothy Lettice. 

(II) Edward (2), son of Edward (1) 
Gray, was born January 31, 1667, and re- 
sided in the town of Tiverton. He mar- 
ried (first) Mary Smith, and had chil- 
dren: Mary, born May 16, 1691 ; Edward, 
January 10, 1693; Elizabeth, January 3, 
1695; Sarah, April 25, 1697; Phebe, Sep- 
tember 6, 1699; Philip, mentioned below; 
Thomas, February 4, 1704; Harriet, No- 
vember 3, 1707. He had a second wife, 
Mary, and children : John, born August 3, 
1712; Lydia, May 13, 1714; William, July 
17, 1716; Samuel, August 31, 1718. 

(III) Philip, second son of Edward (2) 
and Mary (Smith) Gray, born February 
11, 1702, in Tiverton, made his home in 
that town south of the Nanaquacket Cove, 
and there died. He married Sarah Corey, 
and had children: Philip, born April 6, 
1728, died young; Pardon, mentioned be- 
low; Philip, April 6, 1738, died June 2, 
1750 - 

(IV) Colonel Pardon Gray, second son 
of Philip and Sarah (Corey) Gray, was 
born April 20, 1737, resided in Tiverton 
during the great struggle for independ- 
ence, in which he took an active part. He 
was major in the Second Regiment of the 
State Brigade in 1775-1779; commissary 
for the troops stationed at Tiverton and 
Little Compton ; was Governor’s assist- 
ant in 1777; major in Second Regiment 

in the county of Newport; lieutenant- 
colonel in the Second Regiment of New- 
port troops, and served as judge of the 
Superior Court. In May, 1776, the Gen- 
eral Assembly voted to divide the New- 
port county regiment into two regiments, 
and put the Tiverton and Little Compton 
companies into the Second Regiment, ap- 
pointing Pardon Gray major. Major 
Gray, afterward known as Colonel Gray, 
had charge of the commissary headquar- 
ters. Six companies of troops were raised 
to recruit the regiments before Boston 
and Major Gray was one of a committee 
to equip the said soldiers according to 
law, and to draw the money out of the 
town treasury. This wa§ on June 28, 
1776, at an extra session of the assembly. 
Pardon Gray was an intense and devoted 
patriot, and spent a large part of his 
wealth in the service of his country. He 
converted his own private residence at 
Tiverton into commissary headquarters, 
and the great brick ovens in the cellar, 
where the bread was baked for the troops, 
were still intact when the house was de- 
stroyed a few years ago. He was a warm 
personal friend of Lafayette, who visited 
him while in this country, and was a cor- 
respondent on his return to France. Par- 
don Gray’s name appears in the list of 
those who voted “Yes” on the question 
of adopting the federal constitution. He 
was a large landowner in Tiverton, where 
he had his home, and in 1760 also pur- 
chased land in Little Compton, upon 
which his son settled, and which is still 
in the possession of the family. The 
house still located on this land, and occu- 
pied by Mrs. George A. Gray, and her 
daughter, is known as the “Betty Alden 
Homestead,” being the house in which 
Betty Alden lived after her marriage. She 
was the daughter of John Alden and Pris- 
cilla Mullins, and was the first white child 
born in the New England States. She 



married William Pabodie, who was the 
first town clerk of Little Compton. Par- 
don Gray spent his life in Tiverton, where 
he died. He was married there by Sam- 
uel Hicks, justice of the peace, January 
16, 1755, to Mary Brown, daughter of 
John and Sarah (White) Brown, and had 
children: Job, born May 14, 1756; Sarah, 
May 3, 1758; Edward, July 8, 1759; Mary, 
August 30, 1761 ; Lydia, mentioned be- 
low ; Abigail, August 2, 1764; Philip, Feb- 
ruary 2, 1766; Pardon, October 11, 1767; 
Hannah, May 2, 1769; John, May 20, 
1772; Thomas, November 28, 1774; Mary, 
November 18, 1776. 

(V) Lydia, third daughter of Pardon 
and Mary (Brown) Gray, was born March 
15, 1763, and married, September 27, 1781, 
Sanford Almy (see Alm.y V). 

(The Taylor Line). 

(I) Robert Taylor, the emigrant from 
England, appeared in Newport in 1655, 
giving his occupation as ropemaker, in 
which year he was made freeman. In 
1673 he was appointed prisonkeeper. He 
married, November, 1646, Mary Hodges, 
of Scituate, Massachusetts. Children : 
Mary, born August 12, 1647; Ann, Feb- 
ruary 10, 1650; Margaret, June 30, 1651 ; 
Robert, mentioned below; John, June, 
1657; Peter, July, 1661; and James, who 
died October 7, 1690. 

(II) Robert (2), eldest son of Robert 
(1) and Mary (Hodges) Taylor, was born 
October 16, 1653, > n Newport, died June 
12, 1707, and was buried in his orchard 
in Middletown. He married Deborah 
Peckham, of Middletown, who like him- 
self was a Quaker, and died September 8, 
1742. Children: John, born September 
26, 1687; Margaret, July 7, 1689; Eliza- 
beth, July 26, 1691 ; Robert, November 
22, 1694; Robert October 13, 1695; Deb- 
orah, January 12, 1697; Thomas, Novem- 
ber 2, 1699; Peter, mentioned below; 
Mary, November 23, 1703. 

(III) Peter, fifth son of Robert (2) and 

Deborah (Peckham) Taylor, was born 
March 8, 1701, in Newport, and died there 
October 1, 1766. He was a Quaker and a 
prominent member of the Society of 
Friends, doing preaching at various times. 
He married, October 16, 1728, Thankful 
Tripp, of Portsmouth, Rhode Island, died 
October 5, 1775. Children: Deborah, 

born July 28, 1729; Elizabeth, August 3, 
1731 ; Ann, March 30, 1733: Robert, men- 
tioned below; James, April 21, 1738; 
Mary, March 27, 1740; Catherine and 
Sarah (twins), February 14, 1742; Abi- 
gail, August 12, 1744, died young; Abi- 
gail, September 3, 1746; Martha, Septem- 
ber 2, 1749. 

(IV) Robert (3), eldest son of Peter 
and Thankful (Tripp) Taylor, was born 
December 9, 1735, in Newport, and died 
there October 9, 1810. He was a tanner 
by occupation and owned a large tannery 
on Walnut street, west of the railroad 
bridge. He was at first a Quaker in re- 
ligion, but was disowned on account of 
his activity in support of the Revolution- 
ary War, and affiliated with the Second 
Congregational Church of Newport. He 
was a “Son of Liberty.” He was promi- 
nent in the affairs of his town, and served 
as justice of the peace and in other offices, 
including that of tax collector. He mar- 
ried (first) December 6, 1759, Mary Pit- 
man, of Newport, who died May 3, 1789, 
and he married (second) her sister, Abi- 
gail Pitman, born 1732, died January 1. 
1808. Children, all by first wife : Robert, 
born February 14, 1763; Rebecca, August 
20, 1765; John, April 15, 1770; James, 
mentioned below; Mary, April 15, 1773; 
Peter, January 20, 1775; Horatio Gates, 
September 21, 1778; Deborah, August 7, 

(V) James, third son of Robert (3) and 
Mary (Pitman) Taylor, was born Novem- 
ber 14, 1771, in Newport, and died there 
May 3, 1835. When about eighteen years 



of age he taught school in Portsmouth, 
and “boarded round” as was the custom. 
After a winter or two there, he entered 
the academy of Robert Rogers, of New- 
port, as usher or assistant. Here he aided 
in the instruction of William Ellery Chan- 
ning, William Hunter, Philip Allen, 
Washington Allston, General Wain- 
wright, and others, who became distin- 
guished in after life. He also acquired a 
good classical education, and on leaving 
the academy studied medicine with Dr. 
Isaac Senter, of Newport. After about 
two years he went into the business of 
druggist and apothecary, in partnership 
with Hon. William Hunter, in the shop 
established by the latter’s father, Dr. Wil- 
liam Hunter, in 1745. He continued in 
business in the same shop until his death, 
when he was succeeded by his son and, 
after the latter’s death, a grandson. James 
Taylor was for several successive years 
president of the town council. He fur- 
nished the “Meteorological Diary,” which 
was published weekly in the “Newport 
Mercury” for many years, and his son, 
Robert James, continued it until his death. 
In politics he was first a Whig, later 
joined the ranks of the Republican party, 
and was called upon to fill many offices 
of trust and honor. Mr. Taylor married, 
April 7, 1799, Ann Howland, daughter of 
Captain William and Ann (Sayer) How- 
land, of Conanicut, born February 18, 
1772, died September 8, 1858. Children: 
1. William H., mentioned below r . 2. Mary 
Ann, born February 18, 1801, died March 
5, 1835, * n Newport, unmarried. 3. George 
Washington, June 7, 1803, was judge of 
probate in Newport, and died there July 
28, 1880. 4. Harriet, August 7, 1805, died 
in infancy. 5. John Howland, September 
17, 1808, died May 20, 1874, in Providence, 
where he had been a druggist for many 
years. 6. Robert James, May 29, 1811, in 

Newport. 7. Harriet Frances, May 25, 
1818, died November 10, 1859, unmarried. 

(VI) William Howland, eldest child of 
James and Ann (Howland) Taylor, was 
born January 6, 1800, in Newport, and 
died in New Bedford, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 13, 1880. He was associated with 
his father as druggist until sixteen years 
of age, in the meantime preparing him- 
self to be a surgeon in the navy. When 
sixteen years old he went to Providence, 
and was employed in a drug store there, 
but shortly returned to Newport, and was 
appointed clerk in the custom house under 
William Ellery, one of the signers of the 
Declaration of Independence, then col- 
lector of the port. In 1821 he was ap- 
pointed deputy collector of customs at 
Bristol, Rhode Island, and held this posi- 
tion three years. He was in the drug 
business in Providence following this 
until 1829, when he was appointed deputy 
collector at New Bedford, Massachusetts, 
which office he filled until 1843. At this 
time he accepted the secretaryship of the 
Mutual Marine Insurance Company, and 
filled that office twenty years, until the 
expiration of the company’s charter. Fol- 
lowing this he became president of the 
Ocean Insurance Company, which office 
he held till it closed business in 1878. In 
the early days of city government of New 
Bedford, he served on the board of aider- 
men, was for some years chairman of the 
school committee, and engineer of the fire 
department. From 1832 to 1856 he was 
on the school committee, and the William 
H. Taylor School in New Bedford is 
named in his honor. He was a charter 
member of the New Bedford Port Soci- 
ety, and on its board of management from 
its inception to his death. He was presi- 
dent of the Bristol County Insurance 
Company, and a charter member of 
Acushnet Lodge, Independent Order of 



Odd Fellows, and of Annawan Encamp- 
ment of the same order. Mr. Taylor was 
an authority on revenue law. No one 
ever questioned his probity, and he be- 
queathed to his family and the commu- 
nity the example of a good life. He mar- 
ried, June 18, 1821, Elizabeth Ann Pit- 
man, born January 6, 1798, died in New 
Bedford, Massachusetts, April 11, 1878. 
Children : Mary Ann, born in Bristol, 

March 16, 1822, married John Hobart; 
Emily Antoinette, born in Bristol, Febru- 
ary 4, 1824, married Job A. T. Eddy; 
James, born in Providence, October 20, 
1825, married Elizabeth J. Stoddard ; Wil- 
liam, Henry, July 19, 1827, married Meri- 
bah Randall; John Pitman, born in New 
Bedford, January 4, 1830, married Mary 
Howland Gifford; Jane Elizabeth, men- 
tioned below ; George Alfred, born in 
New Bedford, April 10, 1834, married 
Mary M. Eldridge ; Harriet Cushing, Au- 
gust 25, 1836, married Charles H. San- 
ford; Amelia Frances, February 10, 1841, 
married Samuel S. White. 

(VII) Jane Elizabeth, third daughter 
of William H. and Elizabeth A. (Pitman) 
Taylor, was born April 3, 1833, and be- 
came the wife of John Cheney Brown, of 
New Bedford (see Brown VIII). 

CLAFLEN, Daniel B„ 

Esteemed Citizen. 

The name of Claflen is found in New 
England records with a multitude of spell- 
ings, arising no doubt from the inability 
of English-speaking people to compre- 
hend the broad Scotch pronunciation of 
those bearing it. Its original was Mac- 
Lachlan, and sometimes appears in Mas- 
sachusetts records as Mackclothlan, but 
it was rapidly toned down to the present 
form, in which it appears now in many 
states and communities. 

(I) The first representative of the fam- 

ily in America was Robert MacLachlin, 
who was probably among the prisoners 
captured by Cromwell’s army at the bat- 
tle of Dunbar, many of whom were sent 
to this country. He appears in Wenham, 
Massachusetts, November 4, 1661, at 

which date he was accepted as an inhab- 
itant of the town. He was a soldier in 
defense of the colonies against the French 
and Indians, under Sir Edmund Andros, 
received a grant of land in 1669, and was 
a town officer. Plis house was desired by 
the town for a parsonage, and he ex- 
changed it for fifteen acres of land in 
1673. Part of a house which he built is 
still standing, and the well he dug is still 
in use. The inventory of his estate, made 
September 19, 1690, amounted to fioi 9s 
6d, and the estate was increased later by 
three pounds due him for military service. 
He married, October 14, 1664, Joanna 
Warner, supposed to have been a daugh- 
ter of John Warner, an early resident of 
Ipswich and one of the founders of Brook- 
field, Massachusetts. Children: Joanna, 

born August 12, 1665 ; Robert (probably 
born in Brookfield, no record found) ; 
Elizabeth, May 18, 1670 ; Priscilla, August 
22, 1672; Daniel, January 25, 1674; Abi- 
gail, March 19, 1676; Mary, February 22, 
1678; Antipas, mentioned below. 

(II) Antipas, youngest child of Robert 
and Joanna (Warner) Claflin (MacLach- 
lin), was born 1680, in Wenham, and 
lived a few years in Lexington, Mas- 
sachusetts, where four of his children 
are recorded. He received a deed of 
land in Attleboro, same colony, March 
1. 1715, and settled there about that 
time. This tract embraced thirty-two 
acres, and his holdings were increased 
January 16, 1733, by purchase of all the 
lands of John Sweet, of Attleboro. This 
he sold back to Sweet inside of six 



months. He died in Attleboro, January 
21, 1756. His wife Sarah died in Sep- 
tember, 1777, supposed to have been one 
hundred years old in the preceding March. 
Children: Sarah, born November 1, 1706; 
Robert, mentioned below; Noah, April 

12, 1710; Nehemiah, September 28, 1713; 
Hepzibeth, November 17, 1717; Antipas 
and Ebenezer (twins), December 8, 1721. 

(III) Robert (2) Claflen, eldest son of 
Antipas and Sarah Claflin, was born March 

13, 1708, in Lexington, and died in 1797, 

in Attleboro. He was a member of the 
second company of militia of the town, 
but was too old for service in the Revolu- 
tion. He married (first) January 28, 1737, 
Ann Tolman, who died about 1742. He 
married (second) published October 25, 
1745, Abiah (Hodges) Follett, born 1714- 
15, daughter of Nathaniel Hodges, died 
June 23, 1774. Children of first marriage : 
Nehemiah, born March 2, 1739; Robert, 
July 3, 1741, died September 8, 1746. 
Children of second marriage : Robert, 

July 2, 1746; Anne, July 22, 1750; Na- 
thaniel, October 26, 1751 ; Daniel, men- 
tioned below. 

(IV) Daniel, youngest child of Robert 
(2) and Abiah (Hodges) Claflen, was 
born October 15, 1755, in Attleboro, and 
died there, December 10, 1822. He was 
a soldier of the Revolution, serving first 
in Captain Moses Wilmarth’s company, 
Colonel John Daggett’s regiment, nine 
days on the Lexington Alarm. He was a 
private in Captain Stephen Richardson’s 
company, Colonel George Williams’ regi- 
ment, on a secret expedition from Sep- 
tember 25 to October 29, 1777. He was 
corporal in Captain Samuel Robinson’s 
company, Colonel Ward’s regiment, on a 
Rhode Island alarm, from June 21 to 
July 13, 1778- He was a private in Cap- 
tain Wilmarth’s company, Colonel Thom- 
as Carpenter’s regiment, in Rhode Island, 
from August 17 to September 9, 1778. 

He married in Attleboro, Phebe Brown, 
daughter of Noah and Deborah (Wil- 
marth) Brown, born September 5, 1760, 
died July 25, 1826. Children: Sally, born 
February 13, 1783; Deborah, February 
20, 1785; Phebe, December 22, 1786; 
Daniel, September 27, 1788, died July 21, 
1792; Daniel, mentioned below; Leices- 
ter, December 24, 1793; Robert, May 17, 
1796; Oren, July 21, 1799; Paschal 
Chandler, April 24, 1803. 

(V) Daniel (2), second son of Daniel 
(1) and Phebe (Brown) Claflen, was born 
June 23, 1792, in Attleboro, and there 
spent his life, engaged in agriculture. 
His home was on what is now South 
Main street, where he died, July 10, 1850. 
He married, September 16, 1822, Lita 
Bliss, born March 8, 1797, in Rehoboth, 
daughter of Abial and Rebecca Bliss of 
that town, died April 6, 1883, in Attle- 
boro. Children: Mary Bliss, born June 
26, 1823; Daniel Brown, July 22, 1825; 
Caroline Elizabeth, October 1, 1828, died 
June 21, 1829; Caroline Elizabeth, Octo- 
ber 23, 1830; Rebecca Kent, April 25, 
1833; Augustus, August 2, 1835; Phebe 
Harriet, December 21, 1837, married No- 
vember 29, i860, Roswell Blackinton ; 
Ellen Amanda, August 29, 1843. 

(VI) Daniel Brown, eldest son of 
Daniel (2) and Lita (Bliss) Claflen, was 
born July 22, 1825, in Attleboro, on the 
paternal farm, which he inherited and 
occupied through life. He attended the 
local schools, and settled down to agri- 
culture upon the death of his father, 
which occurred when he was twenty 
years of age. Stock raising received con- 
siderable attention, and he made valuable 
improvements in the homestead farm, being 
recognized as a progressive and success- 
ful farmer and a trustworthy and useful 
citizen. His death occurred July 4, 1903, 
at the age of seventy-eight years, and his 
body was laid to rest in Woodlawn ceme- 


tery. A Christian in principle and prac- 
tice, he was esteemed and respected, acted 
politically with the Republican party, 
and was much devoted to his home and 
family. He married, June 2, 1857, Julia 
M. Clark, born August 28, 1833, in Paw- 
tucket, Rhode Island, daughter of Daniel 
Russell and Maria (Eddy) Clark. She 
survives him, and now resides in the fam- 
ily homestead on South Main street, is a 
member of the Congregational church, 
and esteemed as a lady of fine mind and 
devotion to all that is uplifting. Her 
children : Mary, died unmarried, in her 
forty-second year ; and Chester, died at 
the age of twenty-four years. 

(The Clark Line). 

(I) Edmund Clark came from England 
and located in Lynn, Massachusetts, 
about 1636. He soon removed to Sand- 
wich, in the Plymouth Colony, and, later, 
about 1651, to Gloucester, Massachusetts. 
From 1656 to 1665 he was town clerk, 
and died February 26, 1667. His widow, 
Agnes, married (second) Thomas Tenny, 
and died February 23, 1682. Children of 
known record : Abigail, born about 1633 : 
John, died 1680; Joseph, mentioned be- 

(II) Joseph, son of Edmund and Agnes 
Clark, was born November 16, 1650, in 
Gloucester, and died there, November 29, 
1696, at the age of forty-six years. He 
married, March 27, 1682, Hannah Davis, 
of Haverhill, born June 19, 1650, daugh- 
ter of James and Elizabeth (Eaton) Davis. 
Children: Joseph, born September 10, 
1684; Edmund, died young; Abigail, De- 
cember 24, 1688; Mary, March 9, 1690; 
John, mentioned below; Edmund, De- 
cember 3, 1695. 

(III) Deacon John, third son of Joseph 
and Hannah (Davis) Clark, was born 
March 6, 1692, in Gloucester, and settled 
in that part of Windham, Connecticut, 

now Hampton in the spring of 1719, his 
being the fourth family in what is now 
Hampton. His deed of land there was 
dated August 29, 1718, and he occupied 
the same site, engaged in agriculture, un- 
til his death, which took place November 
9, 1782. He first attended church at 
Windham Center, traveling nine miles on 
foot through the unbroken forest. One 
of the incorporators of the second society 
in Windham, at Windham village, June 
5, 1723, he was made a deacon of that 
society, August 17, 1737, and continued in 
that office until his death. He was an in- 
dustrious and thrifty farmer, and tenderly 
cared for his parents in their old age. He 
married, in Gloucester, November 17, 
1718, Ruth Haskell, born December 29, 
1693, in that town, daughter of John 
Haskell, and granddaughter of William 
Haskell, immigrant ancestor of a numer- 
ous family. She died in July, 1776, in 
Hampton. Children: John, mentioned 
below; Stephen, born May 16, 1721; 
Daniel, November 27, 1722; David, July 
14, 1724; Jeremiah, March 26, 1726; 
Hannah, December 14, 1727; Amos, Sep- 
tember 19, 1729; Mary, August 18, 1731 ; 
Jonathan, September 12, 1734; Isaac, 
June 18, 1736. 

(IV) John (2), eldest child of John (1) 
and Ruth (Haskell) Clark, was born Au- 
gust 14, 1719, in Windham, where he 
made his home, and died June 19, 1771. 
He married, November 12, 1747, Eliza- 
beth Parker, probably a daughter of John 
Parker, of Windham. She died July 14, 
1801, at the home of her eldest son, in 
what is now Chaplin. Children : Daniel, 
born October 17, 1750; Sarah, April 1, 
1752; Ebenezer, June 7, 1754; John, men- 
tioned below; Titus, January 25, 1758. 

(V) John (3), eldest child of John (2) 
and Elizabeth (Parker) Clark, was born 
March 16, 1756, in Hampton, and was 
killed by lightning July 9, 1818. He mar- 


ried, March 7, 1793, Phebe, widow of 
Jared Curtis, of Dudley, Massachusetts, 
born August 12, 1766, daughter of Ele- 
azer and Abigail (Mixer) Putney. About 
this time they were admitted to the 
church in Ashford, Connecticut. Chil- 
dren: Phebe, born May 2, 1794; Daniel 
Russell; Betsey and Polly (twins), De- 
cember 16, 1796; Anna, February 26, 
1798; Eleanor, July 8, 1803. 

(VI) Daniel Russell, son of John (3) 
and Phebe (Putney) Clark, was born 
about 1795, in Ashford, and when a young 
man went to Providence, Rhode Island, 
where he learned the trade of cabinet 
making, and followed it several years in 
that town. Removing to Pawtucket, he 
engaged in the furniture trade, with 
which he associated the business of 
undertaking, and was successful. He was 
a member and deacon of the Congrega- 
tional church in Pawtucket, was highly 
respected, a useful citizen, and died at the 
age of sixty-four years. He was married 
in Providence, by Rev. Mr. Wilson, Feb- 
ruary 11, 1821, to Maria Eddy, born Sep- 
tember 10, 1797, in Providence, daughter 
of Barnard (2) and Betsey (Walker) 
Eddy, of that town (see Eddy VII). She 
died in Pawtucket. Children : Edwin R., 
married Deborah Brown, and died in Paw- 
tucket; Daniel A., married (first) Mary 
Bliss, (second) Sarah Bellows, and died 
in 1913, in California; Julia M., mentioned 
below; two died in infancy. 

(VII) Julia Maria, daughter of Daniel 
R. and Maria (Eddy) Clark, was born 
August 28, 1833, in Pawtucket, and be- 
came the wife of Daniel Brown Claflen, 
of Attleboro (see Claflen VI). 

(The Eddy Line). 

(I) William Eddye, A. M., vicar of the 
Church of St. Dunstan, of the town of 
Cranbrook, County Kent, England, from 
1589 to 1616, was a native of Bristol, and 

received his education at Trinity Col- 
lege, Cambridge, England. He died No- 
vember 23, 1616, and was buried in the 
Cranbrook churchyard. He left the finan- 
cial affairs of his parish in better order 
than before, and collected and arranged 
the loose registers dating back from 1588 
in a new parchment book, beautifully en- 
grossed about eighty of the pages and 
illuminated three title pages, one for 
births, one for marriages, and the third 
for deaths. The book is still in existence 
at the vicarage. He married (first) No- 
vember 20, 1587, Mary Foston, daughter 
of John Foston, who died September, 
1 573. She died July, 1611, leaving an in- 
fant, Nathaniel, who died nine days after 
she did. He married (second) in 1614, 
Elizabeth Taylor, widow. Children by 
first wife: Mary, born September, 1591; 
Phineas, September, 1593; John, March, 
1597; Ellen, August, 1599; Abigail, Oc- 
tober, 1601; Anna, May, 1603; Elizabeth, 
December, 1606; Samuel, mentioned be- 
low; Zachariah, March, 1610 ; Nathaniel, 
July, 1611. Child by second wife: Pris- 
cilla, born 1614. 

(II) Samuel, son of William and Mary 
(Foston) Eddye, was born in May, 1608, 
died 1685. He was the immigrant ances- 
tor. On August 10, 1630, with his brother 
John, he left London, England, in the 
ship “Handmaid,” Captain John Grant, 
arriving at Plymouth, Massachusetts, Oc- 
tober 29, 1630, settled in Plymouth, and 
on January 1, 1632, was made freeman. 
On November 7, 1637, three acres of land 
in Plymouth were set off for him, and in 
1641 six acres of land and thirty acres of 
meadow were set off to him. On April 
3, 1645, he sent his son John to live with 
Francis Gould until he should come of 
age. His wife was fined, October 7, 1651, 
for wringing out clothes on Sunday, but 
later the fine was remitted. She was 
summoned before court May 1, 1660, to 


answer for traveling on Sunday from 
Plymouth to Boston, and she declared 
that she went there on that day because 
of the illness of Mistress Saffin. She was 
excused, but admonished. On May 9, 
1631, Samuel Eddy purchased a house at 
Spring Hill, at the end of Main street, 
in Plymouth, of Experience Mitchell, and 
sold it in 1645. He was one of the origi- 
nal purchasers of Middleborough, Mas- 
sachusetts, and owned much land in other 
places. In 1631 his assessment was half 
that of Captain Standish, and in 1633 it 
was the same. His wife, Elizabeth, died 
in 1689. Children: John, mentioned be- 
low; Zachariah, born 1639; Caleb, 1643; 
Obadiah, 1645; Hanna, June 23, 1647, 
died young. 

(Ill) John, eldest child of Samuel 
and Elizabeth Eddy, born December 25, 
1637, in Taunton, was a blacksmith in 
Plymouth in 1660, resided in Taunton in 
1669, and was one of the one hundred and 
five proprietors of that town in 1689. He 
was a resident of Tisbury. on Martha’s 
Vineyard, in 1687, when he was elected 
to office there, and died there, May 27, 
1715. After the outbreak of King Philip’s 
War in 1676, he had a narrow escape from 
death at the hands of the Indians. A 
party of redskins observed him at work 
in the field, but all had such respect for 
him that none desired to fire upon him. 
They finally drew lots to determine who 
should kill him. While the one thus 
designated was crawling along a bank to 
get within firing distance, he was ob- 
served by Eddy, who prepared to shoot 
as soon as the Indian rose to a shooting 
position. Both fired simultaneously, and 
the redskin fell, mortally wounded, while 
the hammer was broken from Eddy’s gun 
by the bullet of the former. John Eddy 
married (first) November, 1665, Susan- 
nah Padduck, of Dartmouth, who died 
March 14, 1670. He married (second) 

May 1, 1672, Deliverance Owen. His 
third wife, Hephsibah, died May 3, 1726, 
in Tisbury. Children: Mary, born March 
14, 1667, in Taunton; John, January 19, 
1670; Mercy, July 1, 1673; Hannah, De- 
cember 6, 1676; Ebenezer, mentioned be- 
low; Eleazer, October 16, 1681; Joseph, 
January 4, 1683; Benjamin, 1685; Abi- 
gail, 1687; Jonathan, December 15, 1689; 
Susannah, September 18, 1692; Patience, 
June 27, 1696. 

(IV) Ebenezer, second son of John 
Eddy, and child of his second wife, De- 
liverance Owen, was born May 16, 1679, 
in Taunton, and died in that part of the 
town now Norton, in 1756. He married, 
in 1702, Mary Fisher, and they had chil- 
dren: Eleazer, born February 2, 1763: 
Mary, November 22, 1704; Sarah, May 
9, 1706; Ebenezer, April 16, 1707; Jere- 
miah, mentioned below ; Obadiah, March 
16, 1711 ; Samuel, August 24, 1712; Wait- 
still, April 4, 1715. 

(V) Jeremiah, third son of Ebenezer 
and Mary (Fisher) Eddy, born February 
28, 1709, lived in Norton. He married, 
July 30, 1724, Elizabeth Pierce, and they 
had children: Mercy, born April 1, 1725; 
Peleg, December 7, 1726; Barnard, men- 
tioned below; Esek, December 14, 1731; 
Rhoda, June 3, 1734; Ruth, April 3, 1737; 
Elizabeth ; Phebe. 

(VI) Barnard, second son of Jeremiah 

and Elizabeth (Pierce) Eddy, was born 
October 11, 1729, in Norton, and married. 
February 23, 1752, Lydia Eddy. Chil- 
dren: Jeremiah, born 1759; Barnard, 

mentioned below; Betsey; Rhoda; Ruth; 
Patience; Nabby; Eunice. 

(VII) Barnard (2), second son of Bar- 
nard (1) and Lydia (Eddy) Eddy, born 
1762, lived in Providence, Rhode Island, 
where he was a carpenter, and died July 
3, 1847. He married (first) October 7, 
1785, Betsey Walker, born April 28, 1768, 
daughter of Ephraim and Priscilla Walker. 



He married (second) October 14, 1817, 
Julia G., daughter of John Westcott. She 
married (second) in 1852, John S. Eddy,, 
and died in 1865. Children of first mar- 
riage: Ruth, born October 1, 1786; Ste- 
phen Walker, July 8, 1789; Patience, De- 
cember 19, 1792; Betsey, February 13, 
1795; Maria, mentioned below; child 
of second marriage: James A., born De- 
cember 15, 1819. 

(VIII) Maria, fourth daughter of Bar- 
nard (2) and Betsey (Walker) Eddy, 
born September 10, 1797, was married, 
February 11, 1821, to Daniel R. Clark, of 
Providence (see Clark VI). 

FULLER, Cyrus, 

Exemplary Citizen. 

This is one of the class known as occu- 
pative surnames, dates from the twelfth 
century, or later, and has the same signi- 
fication as Tucker and Walker, “one who 
thickens and whitens cloth.” Various 
persons named Fuller have won distinc- 
tion in both England and America. 
Nicholas Fuller, born 1557, was a dis- 
tinguished Oriental scholar; another 
Nicholas Fuller, died 1620, was a promi- 
nent lawyer and member of parliament ; 
Isaac Fuller, died 1672, was a noted 
painter; Andrew Fuller, born 1754, was 
an eminent Baptist minister and writer; 
Thomas Fuller, English divine and au- 
thor, born 1608, was chaplain extraordi- 
nary to Charles II., and a prolific writer. 
A high authority said of him: “Fuller 
was incomparably the most sensible, the 
least prejudiced great man of an age that 
boasted of a galaxy of great men.” Sarah 
Margaret Fuller, Marchioness of Ossobi, 
born 1810, was a promient teacher, editor 
and author. Melville W. Fuller, born 
1833, distinguished as a jurist, served as 
chief justice of the United States. 

(I) Dr. Samuel Fuller came in the 

“Mayflower” in 1620. He married (first) 
in England, Elsie Gleslock ; (second) 
Agnes Carpenter; (third) Bridget Lee. 

(II) Samuel (2), son of Samuel (1) 
Fuller, resided in Middleboro, and mar- 
ried Elizabeth Brewster. Children : 
Mercy, married Daniel Cole; Samuel; 
Experience, married James Wood; John, 
mentioned below ; Elizabeth, married 
Samuel Eaton; Hannah, married Isaac 
Lewis ; Lewis. 

(III) John, second son of Samuel (2) 
and Elizabeth (Brewster) Fuller, was 
born in 1663, in Plymouth, and died about 
1710, in Middleboro, Massachusetts. He 
married, about 1686, Mercy Nelson. Chil- 
dren: John, mentioned below; Mercy, 
born 1693; Elizabeth; Ebenezer, Novem- 
1, 1697; Jabez, 1699; Lydia, 1701; Sam- 
uel, 1704; Joanna. 

(IV) John (2), eldest child of John (1) 
and Mercy (Nelson) Fuller, was born 
March 20, 1692, in Middleboro, and died 
there, April 24, 1766. He married (first) 
March 26, 1719, Hannah Thompson, who 
died September 20, 1760. He married 
(second) Lydia (Alden) Eddy, born 1711, 
died March 1, 1803. Children: Hannah, 
born February 7, 1720; Abigail, July 1, 
1721 ; John, mentioned below ; Bathsheba, 
January 19, 1726. 

(V) John (3), only son of John (2) 

and Hannah (Thompson) Fuller, was 
born September 5, 1723, in Middleboro, 
lived in Halifax, Massachusetts, and mar- 
ried there, December 27, 1743, Joanna 
Tilson. Children : Ephraim, born No- 

vember 1, 1744; Thomas, mentioned be- 
low; Abigail, November 26, 1747. 

(VI) Thomas, second son of John (3) 
and Joanna (Tilson) Fuller, was born 
March 3, 1746, in Halifax, where he 
passed his life, and died November 4, 
1810. He married, May 25, 1769, Hannah 
Ripley, born April 16, 1746, in Halifax, 
daughter of Jonathan and Hannah Rip- 



ley. Children : Thomas, born August 6, 
1778; Cyrus, mentioned below ; Hannah; 
Sylvester, February 20, 1783; Wheelock, 
1787; Joanna. 

(VII) Cyrus, second son of Thomas 
and Hannah (Ripley) Fuller, was born 
August 22, 1780, in Halifax, where he 
spent his life in general farming, and died 
February 23, 1816, at the age of thirty- 
five years. He married, May 24, 1807, 
in Middleboro, Massachusetts, Hannah 
Leonard, who died March 26, 1862. Chil- 
dren : 1. Abigail, died young. 2. Recti- 
na, married Micah Faxon, of Brockton. 
3. Cyrus, mentioned below. 4. Lois, died 
unmarried February 16, 1880. 5. Josiah 

Kingman, born October 7, 1815, died in 
Rockland, Massachusetts ; he married 
Sarah Kingman Blanchard and had a son, 
Henry, who resides in Rockland. 

(VIII) Cyrus (2), eldest son of Cyrus 

(1) and Hannah (Leonard) Fuller, was 
born August 2, 1812, in Flalifax, where he 
grew to manhood and was educated in 
the public schools. For some years he 
continued farming on the paternal home- 
stead, after which he retired from active 
business and made his home in Middle- 
boro, where he died February 22, 1892, 
and was buried in the Thompson family 
lot. A man of quiet tastes, much devoted 
to his home and family, he was esteemed 
and respected as a model citizen. He 
married, November 28, 1841, in Middle- 
boro, Mary Frances Thompson, born 
April 26, 1817, in that town, daughter of 
Reuel and Thankful (Wood) Thompson, 
elsewhere mentioned (see Thompson V). 
She was a devoted wife and mother, a 
good, Christian woman, a descendant of 
one of the pioneer families of Middleboro. 
She was the mother of two daughters. 
Mary Ann, the eldest, born September 1, 
1842, became the wife of Obed Ripley 
of Kingston, Massachusetts, where both 

(IX) Laura Fuller, junior daughter of 
Cyrus (2) and Mary F. (Thompson) 
Fuller, was born February 24, 1845, ’ n 
Halifax, and removed with her parents to 
Middleboro in the fall of 1874. In the 
schools of her native town she received 
instruction and also in attendance at the 
North Bridgewater Academy, making 
proper use of her opportunities. For 
several years she was active in church 
and Sunday school work, and is much 
esteemed in the community. The memory 
of her worthy parents and earlier for- 
bears is highly cherished by her as among 
her dearest possessions. 

(The Thompson Line). 

(I) John Thomson was born in the 
northern part of Wales, in the year 1616, 
and died June 16, 1696, aged nearly eighty 
years. He came to this country in the 
third embarkation from England, at the 
age of six years, and settled in Plymouth, 
where he became prominent in the affairs 
of that colony. He married, December 
26, 1645, Mary Cooke, born 1626, daugh- 
ter of Francis Cooke, of the “Mayflower.” 
Children: Adam, John, Mary, Esther, 
Elizabeth, Sarah, Lydia, Jacob, Thomas, 
Peter, Mercy. 

(II) John (2) Thompson, second son of 
John (1) and Mary (Cooke) Thomson, 
born 1648, was a carpenter, and died No- 
vember 25, 1725, in his seventy-seventh 
year. He married Mary, daughter of 
Ephraim Tinkham (see Tinkham I). 
Children: John, Ephraim, Thomas, Shu- 
bael, Mary, Martha, Francis, Sarah, Peter, 
Jacob, Ebenezer. 

(III) Thomas, third son of John (2) 
and Mary (Tinkham) Thompson, was 
born July 29, 1688 (Middleboro records) 
in Middleboro, and died in November, 
1781. He was married in Middleboro, 
April 25, 1732, by Rev. Peter Thacher, 
to Martha Soule, born April 11, 1702, in 

Mass — 5 — 16 



Middleboro, died there, March 18, 1772, 
daughter of John and Martha Soule, of 
that town, descendant of George Soule, 
who came in the “Mayflower” to Plym- 
outh. He was the thirty-fifth signer of 
the famous compact, and was entered on 
the passenger list as an apprentice of 
Governor Edward Winslow. As early as 
1623 he was granted in his own right 
land at Plymouth, and in 1633 was ad- 
mitted a freeman and was a taxpayer. 
He was a volunteer for the Pequot War 
in 1637, and had various grants of land at 
Powder Point. In 1638 he sold his Plym- 
outh property and moved to Duxbury in 
Myles Standish’s company, being a foun- 
der there, was one of the earliest select- 
men, and often served in that and other 
offices. He was a commissioner of court 
in 1640, and was one of the important 
committee for the revision of the colony 
laws, with Governors Prince, Winslow 
and Constant Southworth, showing that 
he must have been a man of superior in 
telligence and education. Winslow men- 
tions him among the ablest men of the 
colony. John, son of George Soule, set- 
tled in Duxbury. He served as surveyor 
of highways, grand juryman, and arbi- 
trator between Marshfield and Duxbury, 
and Plymouth and Duxbury, involving 
land disputes. He was also a witness to 
the Indian deed of Bridgewater, Decem- 
ber 23, 1686. His second wife, Esther, 
administered his estate. John (2), son of 
John (1) Soule, was born in 1674, in Dux- 
bury, and died in Middleboro, May 19, 
1743, in his sixty-ninth year. He received 
one hundred acres in Middleboro from his 
father, deed dated July 24, 1697, the land 
described as lot twenty-two in the last 
division of the “Twenty-six Men Pur- 
chase.” His wife, Martha, born 1678, died 
February 16, 1758, in Middleboro, in her 
eightieth year. Their daughter, Martha, 
became the wife of Thomas Thompson, 

as above noted. Children: Peter, Francis, 
Nathaniel, James and Thomas. 

(IV) Francis, son of Thomas and 

Martha (Soule) Thompson, was born 
March 15, 1735, in Middleboro, where he 
was a landowner and farmer in the sec- 
tion known as Thompsontown, and died 
December 17, 1798. He married (first) 
Rebecca Snow, who died August 27, 1766, 
at the age of thirty-two years. He mar- 
ried (second) December 17, 1769, Mary 
Bumpas, who died December 17, 1829, 
aged eighty-five years. Children of first 
marriage : Martha, born November 5, 

1761, died February 26, 1771 ; Zilpah, 
March 3, 1763; Elias, June 18, 1766; of 
second marriage : Thomas, Cynthia, 

Reuel, Mary and Francis. 

(V) Reuel, son of Francis and Mary 
(Bumpas) Thompson, was born January 
4 . 1777, Middleboro, where he was en- 
gaged in agriculture through life, and 
died October 3, 1851. He married, No- 
vember 25, 1802, in Middleboro, Thankful 
Wood, born August 23, 1777, died March 
27, 1843, daughter of Israel and Pris- 
cilla (Vaughan) Wood, granddaughter 
of Ichabod and Thankful (Cobb) Wood. 
Children: Israel Wood, born October 8, 
1803; Anna T., born August 14, 1804, 
married Isaac Thompson; Reuel, Sep- 
tember 21, 1806; Ivory Hovey, April 1, 
1808; Priscilla Wood, married Henry C. 
Lyon, and Benjamin Franklin (twins), 
July 24, 1809; Marston, born September 
23, 1812 ; Mary Frances, mentioned be- 

(VI) Mary Frances, youngest child of 
Reuel and Thankful (Wood) Thompson, 
was born April 26, 1817, in Middleboro, 
and became the wife of Cyrus (2) Fuller, 
of Halifax and Middleboro (see Fuller 

(The Wood Line). 

(I) Henry Wood, the founder of the 
Wood family in New England, was a 


native of England. He settled in Plym- 
outh in 1641, in which year he bought a 
house and lot there, later removed to 
Barnstable county, locating at Yarmouth, 
where he remained but two years, re- 
turning at the end of that time to Plym- 
outh, where he remained until 1665. 
About this time he became a resident of 
what is now the town of Middleboro. He 
was quite prominent in the affairs of the 
colony, and died in 1670 in Middleboro, 
a year after its incorporation as a town. 
He married in the latter town, April 28, 
1644, Abigail, daughter of John Jenney, 
of Plymouth. Children : Samuel, men- 
tioned below; Jonathan, born January 1, 
1649; David, October 17, 1651; Sarah; 
John; Isaac; Abiel, married Abiah 

(II) Samuel, eldest child of Henry and 
Abigail (Jenney) Wood, was born May 
25, 1647, in Yarmouth, and lived in Mid- 
dleboro, Massachusetts, where he was one 
of the founders of the church, in 1694, died 
February 3, 1718, and was buried in Ne- 
masket cemetery in that town. His wife 
bore the baptismal name of Rebeckah, 
and they had children : Henry, Ephraim, 
Samuel, Mercy, Joanna, Rebeckah, Ann 
and Susanna. 

(III) Samuel (2), third son of Samuel 
(1) and Rebeckah Wood, was born about 
1684, in Middleboro, and lived in that 
town, with his wife, Elizabeth, who was 
the mother of his children. He appears 
to have married (second) August 7, 
1730, widow Sarah Howland, of Middle- 
boro. Children found on record : Samuel, 
born 1712; Ichabod, mentioned below; 
Joshua, March 12, 1721 ; Nathaniel, April 
18, 1725. 

(IV) Ichabod, son of Samuel (2) and 
Elizabeth Wood, was born July 13, 1719. 
in Middleboro, died there, August 8, 1787, 
and was buried in Nemasket cemetery. 
Pie married in Middleboro, February 16, 

1743, Thankful Cobb, born June 4, 1722, 
in that town, daughter of James and 
Thankful (Thomas) Cobb, died January 
4, 1776, in Middleboro. James Cobb and 
Thankful Thomas were married March 
6, 1718, in Middleboro, and Thankful was 
probably their second child, presumably 
the eldest daughter. Ichabod Wood and 
wife were buried in Nemasket cemetery. 

(V) Israel, son of Ichabod and Thank- 
ful (Cobb) Wood, was born in 1744, in 
Middleboro, and died there, May 12, 
1829. His wife, Priscilla Vaughan, was 
born 1749, and died April 12, 1808, in 
Middleboro. Both are buried in Nemas- 
ket cemetery. 

(VI) Thankful, daughter of Israel and 
Priscilla (Vaughan) Wood, was born Au- 
gust 23, 1777, in Middleboro, and was 
married, November 25, 1802, to Reuel 
Thompson, of that town (see Thompson 


BORDEN, Philip H., 

Public-spirited Citizen. 

The name of Borden came into Eng- 
land from Normandy with William the 
Conqueror, and appears on the roll of 
Battle Abbey as Bordoun. In the early 
records it appears variously as Bourdon, 
Burdon, Burden, Bourden, Berden, Bir- 
din and Barden. There is now a village 
called Bourdonnay in Normandy, in the 
Department of Muerthe, twelve miles 
northeast of Luneville. Among the dis- 
tinguished representatives of this name 
were Amomet Bourdon, a physician of 
Paris, who published a work on anatomy 
in 1678. Sebastian Bourdon, born in 1616, 
at Montpelier, France, was a noted 
painter, who was driven out of France 
by religious persecution, and found ref- 
uge in Sweden. There was one of the 
name who was a commander at the Battle 
of Hastings in 1066, and the name has 


been widely spread through England and 
Scotland. “The Great Roll of Battle 
Abbey,” which contains the names of the 
principal commanders and companions in 
arms of William the Conqueror, who 
fought with him at Hastings 1066, bears 
the name of Blundel et Burdoun, and 
from him came the name Burdon, which 
early was disseminated in England and 
Scotland. It is found under various forms 
of spelling, this branch of the American 
Borden family using the form Borden. 
The founder in America, Richard Borden, 
was of the Kent family, which is definite- 
ly traced to Henry Borden of the Parish 
of Hedcorn, in the County of Kent, Eng- 
land, born about the years 1370-80, and 
was doubtless a descendant of the Bor- 
dens of Borden. In the eighth generation 
in direct line from Henry Borden and his 
descendants came Matthew Borden, born 
in Hedcorn, Kent, who was a church war- 
den in 1598, died in the month of Octo- 
ber, 1620. His wife, Joan, bore him sons 
and daughters, two of the former coming 
to America, Richard and John. John Bor- 
den, baptized February 22, 1606-07, came 
to New England in the “Elizabeth and 
Ann,” 1635, with wife Joan, son Matthew, 
and daughter Elizabeth. 

(I) Richard Borden, of the ninth re- 
corded English generation, and the foun- 
der of this American line, was born in 
the Parish of Hedcorn, Kent, England, 
and there baptized February 22, 1595-96, 
died at Portsmouth, Rhode Island, May 
25, 1671, son of Matthew and Joan Bor- 
den. He married in Hedcorn church, 
September 28, 1625, Joan Fowle, and 
moved to the neighboring parish of Cran- 
brook, in 1628. In 1637-38 they came to 
America, settling at Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island, where he died in 1671, his wife on 
July 15, 1688. Richard Borden was a 
surveyor and acquired large tracts of 
land in Rhode Island and New Jersey. 

Pie was freeman of Portsmouth, March 
16, 1641 ; member of a committee to 
treat with the Dutch, May 18, 1653 ; as- 
sistant, town of Portsmouth, 1653, 1654; 
commissioner, 1654-56-57; treasurer, 1654- 
55; freeman, 1655; and deputy from 
Portsmouth to the General Assembly, 
1667, 1670. His nuncupative will was ad- 
mitted to probate May 31, 1671, by the 
town council of Portsmouth. Children : 
1. Richard, baptized July 9, 1626. 2. 

Thomas, born October 3, 1627 ; married 
Mary Harris. 3. Francis, baptized De- 
cember 23, 1628, died in Monmouth coun- 
ty, New Jersey, January 19, 1705-06; he 
inherited from his father considerable 
tracts of land near Shrewsbury, where he 
settled about 1677 ; he married, 4th mo., 
12th day, 1677, Jane Vickers; children: 
Richard, Francis, Joyce and Thomas. 4. 
Mary, married John Cooke. 5. Elizabeth. 
6. Matthew, born May, 1638, died July 5, 
1708; married Sarah Clayton. 7. John, 
mentioned below. 8. Joseph, July 3, 1643. 
9. Sarah, married Jonathan Holmes. 10. 
Samuel, May, 1649, died in Monmouth 
county, New Jersey, in 1716; married 
Elizabeth Crosse; children: Dinah, Fran- 
cis, James, John, Joseph, Benjamin. 11. 
Benjamin, May, 1649, died 1718, in Bur- 
lington county, New Jersey. He settled 
in Middletown, New Jersey, in 1672, and 
there married Abigail, daughter of James 
Grover, surveyor and secretary of the 
Gravesend Land Company ; children : 
Richard, James, Rebecca, Safety, Amey, 
Joseph (a citizen of Bordentown, New 
Jersey), Jonathan, David, Samuel. 12. 
Amey, married William Richardson. 

(II) John, fourth son of Richard and 
Joan (Fowle) Borden, was born in Ports- 
mouth, Rhode Island, September, 1640, 
died there, June 4, 1716. He married, De- 
cember 25, 1670, Mary Earl, born in 
Portsmouth, 1655, died there, in 1734. 
Children : Richard, mentioned below ; 



John, born 1675, married Sarah Earl, of 
Portsmouth; Annie, May 30, 1678, mar- 
ried Benjamin Chase, of Tiverton, Rhode 
Island ; Joseph, December 3, 1680, mar- 
ried Sarah Brownell, of Portsmouth ; 
Thomas, December 13, 1682; Hope, 

March 3, 1684, married William Olney, 
Jr., of Tiverton; William, August 15, 
1689, married Alice Hall, of Jamestown, 
Rhode Island; Benjamin, settled in Vir- 
ginia; Mary. 

(III) Richard (2), eldest child of John 
and Mary (Earl) Borden, born October 
25, 1671, lived on the main road, about a 
mile from the east shore of Mount Hope 
Bay, and two and one-half miles south of 
the city hall in Fall River, his homestead 
comprising about two hundred acres of 
land. At the time of his death, at the age 
of sixty years, he was the largest land- 
holder in the town, and one of the 
wealthiest. He married, about 1692, In- 
nocent Warded, and they had children: 
Sarah, John, Thomas, Mary, Joseph, Sam- 
uel and Rebecca. 

(IV) Thomas, second son of Richard 

(2) and Innocent (Warded) Borden, born 
December 8, 1697, lived in Tiverton, 

Rhode Island, where he died in April, 
1740. He owned that part of the south 
side of the Fad River stream which lay 
below the Great Fads, and adjoining land, 
down to the salt water, besides other 
landed estates and outside lands. He 
married, August 14, 1721, Mary, daughter 
of Christopher and Meribah Gifford, born 
October 6, 1695. Children : Richard, 

mentioned below; Christopher, born Oc- 
tober 10, 1726; Deborah; Mary and Re- 

(V) Richard (3), eldest child of Thom- 
as and Meribah (Gifford) Borden, was 
born in 1722, received an estate from his 
father, which had been the property of 
his grandfather. Though not a man of 
high abilities, he foresaw the develop- 

ment in prospect along the water powers 
of Fall River. During the Revolution a 
British force burned his sawmill and a 
large quantity of lumber owned by his 
sons who were operating the mill. Mr. 
Borden was carried away a prisoner, with 
others, and his dwelling house was 
burned. He died July 4, 1795. He mar- 
ried, March 12, 1747, Hope Cook. Chil- 
dren: Patience, born August 9, 1747; 
Thomas, 1750; Richard, mentioned be- 
low ; Hope ; Betsey and Mary. 

(VI) Richard (4), second son of Rich- 
ard (3) and Hope (Cook) Borden, was 
born in 1752, and operated, in association 
with his elder brother, Thomas, the saw 
mill owned by his father. He married 
Patty Bowen, and they had children : 
Abraham B., born July 8, 1798; Amy, 
February 11, 1802, who married (first) 
William Grinnell and (second) Jeremiah 
Wilcox; Hannah, December 5, 1803, mar- 
ried, November 24, 1824, William Cook, 
died September 28, 1891 ; Richard, De- 
cember 22, 1805; Rowena, February 8, 
1808, died March 14, 1835 ; Cook, men- 
tioned below; Lodowick, March 14, 1812; 
Zephaniah, July 18, 1814; Andrew, De- 
cember 28, 1816, died young. 

(VII) Cook, third son of Richard (4) 
and Patty (Bowen) Borden, was born 
January 18, 1810, in that part of Tiverton, 
which became Fall River, Massachusetts. 
He was but eighteen years of age when 
his father died, and early began to sustain 
himself. For some years he was em- 
ployed by a lumber firm of Fall River, 
and upon deciding to engage in business 
on his own account, sold out his portion 
of the paternal estate. He engaged in the 
lumber trade and did a very extensive and 
profitable business. About 1832 he built 
a residence in Tiverton, which is now in 
the city of Fall River. Here he died Sep- 
tember 20, 1880. He served as assessor 
of Tiverton, and represented the town in 


the Legislature. He married, January i, 

1832, Mary A. Bessey, born August 19, 
1810, in Fall River, daughter of Silas and 
Avis (Borden) Bessey, died October 6, 
1894. Children : Mary J., born May 10, 

1833, died October 10, 1833; Mary J., 
September 1, 1834, married, May 1, 1853, 
Dr. James W. Hartley, and lives in Fall 
River ; Theodore W., August 25, 1836, 
married, June 10, 1859, Mary L. Davol ; 
Avis A., September 14, 1838, died Sep- 
tember 19, 1839; Philip H., mentioned 
below; Jerome C., October 5, 1843, died 
May 1, 1844; Jerome C., September 30, 
1845, married, June 28, 1870, Emma E. 
Tetlow, daughter of John and Mary Tet- 

(VIII) Philip H., second son of Cook 
and Mary A. (Bessey) Borden, was born 
June 8, 1841, upon his father’s Tiverton 
estate, and was educated in Fall River 
and Andover, Massachusetts, attending 
Philips’ Academy in the latter place. His 
vacation time was employed in assist- 
ing his father in business, and in time he 
became a partner with his father and 
brothers, and after the death of the father 
succeeded to the control of the business, 
which was conducted by himself and 
brothers under the name of Cook Borden 
& Company, from which the other 
brothers withdrew, leaving Philip H. Bor- 
den to conduct the business alone. Ulti- 
mately he sold out the business to his 
junior brother, and spent some time in 
travel in his own and European countries. 
He subsequently engaged independently 
in the lumber trade, with yards on Rod- 
man street, in Fall River, and thus con- 
tinued until his retirement a short time 
before his death, which occurred Febru- 
ary 2, 1902, in his sixty-first year. Mr. 
Borden was among the most public- 
spirited citizens of his city, and filled a 
large place in business affairs, as well as 
those of a social and political nature. 

For some time he was a director of the 
Fall River National Bank. He was a 
member of the First Congregational 
Church, and a supporter of every under- 
taking calculated to promote the moral 
interests of the community and the gen- 
eral welfare of the race. In 1875, 1878 
and 1879 he was a member of the board 
of aldermen of Fall River, and in 1892 
was the Republican nominee for mayor. 
In the election of that year his party was 
defeated, and he thus failed of election. 
He was a very active member of the 
great brotherhood of Free Masons, affili- 
ating with King Philip Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons; Fall River Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons; Godfrey de Bouil- 
lon Commandery, Knights Templar; and 
Aleppo Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Boston. 
He inherited from- his father the generous 
nature and broad sympathies which 
brought to him the esteem and high re- 
gard of his fellows. Many of his kind 
acts were wholly unknown to the general 
public. With an artistic temperament 
and a keen appreciation of the beauties of 
nature and art, a keen interest in historic 
topics, he was an honor and ornament to 
his city. He derived great pleasure from 
travel and intercourse with the world at 
large, and was a most delightful com- 
panion and conversationalist. He mar- 
ried (first) October 8, 1861, Ruth A. Den- 
nis, of Fall River, who died within a few 
years. He married (second) June 12, 
1883, Mrs. Bethena B. Brown, daughter 
of Nathaniel and Bethena (Brightman) 
Pearce, of Fall River (see Pearce VII). 

(The Pearce Line). 

The Pearce family is both ancient and 
historic in the annals of England, the 
lineage of Richard Pearce, the immigrant 
to New England and founder of the fam- 
ily in America, being traced to the time 


of Galfred. In more recent English gen- 
erations were Peter Percy, standard 
bearer of Richard III. at the battle of 
Bosworth Field (1485), and Richard 
Percy, the founder of Pearce Hall. For 
nearly two and a half centuries the Pearce 
family has been identified with the politi- 
cal, judicial and legislative history of 
Southeastern Massachusetts. During both 
the Colonial and Revolutionary periods 
the name constantly recurs either in leg- 
islative or military affairs. 

(I) Richard Pearce (name changed 
from Percy in this generation), born in 
England, in 1590, married in England, his 
wife’s name being Martha, and was a 
resident of Bristol, England. He was a 
son of Richard, who resided on the home- 
stead of his father, grandson of Richard 
Percy, the founder of Pearce Hall, in 
York, England, where he lived and died, 
and great-grandson of Peter Percy, who 
was standard bearer to Richard III. at 
the battle of Bosworth Field in 1485. 
Richard Pearce came to America in the 
ship “Lyon,” from Bristol, England, his 
brother, Captain William Pearce, being 
master of the ship. His children were: 
Richard, John, Samuel, Hannah, Martha, 
Sarah, William and Mary. (Captain Wil- 
liam Pearce, of the ship “Lyon,” was a 
distinguished shipmaster. He was killed 
by the Spaniards at Providence, in the 
Bahamas, 1641. He is credited with being 
the author of the first almanac, for 1639, 
published in North America). 

(II) Richard Pearce (2), son of Rich- 
ard the settler, born in 1615, in England, 
married in 1642, in Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island, Susannah Wright, born in 1620. 
Mr. Pearce died in 1678, in Portsmouth, 
and Mrs. Pearce was dead at that time. 
He was at Portsmouth as early as 1654, 
and was admitted a freeman of the colony 
from Portsmouth. His children were: 
Richard, born October 3, 1643 ; Martha, 

September 13, 1645 ! John, September 8, 
1647; Giles, July 22, 1651 ; Susannah, No- 
vember 22, 1652 ; Mary, May 6, 1654 ; 
Jeremiah, November 17, 1656; Isaac, De- 
cember, 1658 ; George, mentioned below ; 
Samuel, December 22, 1664. 

(III) George Pearce, born 1662, in 
Little Compton, died September, 1752. 
He married, April 7, 1687, Alice Hart, 
born 1669, died March 11, 1718, daughter 
of Richard and Hannah Hart. Children: 
Susannah, born August 21, 1688; James, 
September 4, 1691 ; Samuel, February 3, 
1695; George, mentioned below; Mary, 
May 16, 1700. 

(IV) George (2), third son of George 
(1) and Alice (Hart) Pearce, was born 
March 2, 1697, in Little Compton,' and 
died there February 22, 1674. He mar- 
ried, February 20, 1717, Deborah Searl, 
born November 17, 1695, died May 17, 
1776, daughter of Nathaniel and Sarah 
Searl. Children: Alice, born November 
4, 1718, died March 28, 1796; Sarah, No- 
vember 11, 1720, died July 20, 1721; Jep- 
thiah, February 20, 1722, died October 22, 
1770; Temperance, January 20, 1724; 
Jeremiah, December 22, 1725, died Octo- 
ber 17, 1750; Nathaniel, mentioned be- 
low; Sarah, January 14, 1729, died Au- 
gust 28, 1780; Ruth, October 20, 1731; 
Antrace, November 12, 1733; Deborah, 
February 23, 1735, died April 25, 1795; 
Rachel, April 19, 1736, died March 15, 

(V) Nathaniel, third son of George (2) 
and Deborah (Searl) Pearce, was born 
October 13, 1727, and died February 19, 
1801. He married, December 1, 1751, 
Sarah Rouse, born January 14, 1728, in 
Little Compton, died November 23, 1812, 
daughter of George and Hannah (Hors- 
well) Rouse. Children: Mary, born April 
20, 1754; Betsey, November 14, 1756, died 
April 25, 1839; John, April 26, 1758, died 
November 13, 1827; George, April 26, 



1758 (twin of John) ; Nathaniel, Decem- 
ber 17, 1761 ; Joseph, mentioned below. 

(VI) Colonel Joseph, youngest child of 
Nathaniel and Sarah (Rouse) Pearce, was 
born January 26, 1764, in Little Compton, 
and died August 6, 1836. He was an offi- 
cer in the Rhode Island militia, serving 
as lieutenant, 1792-93; captain, 1794 * 95 - 
96-97-98, in the Newport company; was 
major from 1799 to 1801 ; lieutenant-colo- 
nel of the Tenth Regiment Militia, 1801 
to 1802, and colonel in 1803-04-05-06 and 
1807. He married (first) 1789, Ann Hil- 
liard, born August 18, 1769, daughter of 
David and Ann Mercy (Irish) Hilliard. 
He married (second) November 16, 1817, 
Priscilla Palmer, daughter of Joseph and 
Hannah (Briggs) Palmer, born Novem- 
ber 6, 1781. David Hilliard was a son of 
David and Susannah (Luther) Hilliard, 
and grandson of William and Deborah 
Hilliard, early settlers of Little Compton. 
Children of Joseph Pearce: Phebe, born 
June 14, 1792; Benjamin, December 3, 
1796; Valentine, October 14, 1799; Nancy, 
May 19, 1802; Joseph, November 4, 1804; 
Ann Mercy, April 23, 1707; Nathaniel, 
mentioned below. 

(VII) Nathaniel, youngest child of 
Colonel Joseph and Ann (Hilliard) 
Pearce, was born December, 1810, in Lit- 
tle Compton, and there grew to manhood, 
following the trade of blacksmith. For 
some time he was employed in New 
Bedford, Massachusetts, and afterward 
located in Fall River, where he engaged 
in business on his own account, having a 
shop at Globe Village, later on Bedford 
street, near the post office, where he did 
all kinds of iron work, and where he con- 
tinued up to the time of his death, in 1887, 
at his home on Third street His body 
was interred in Oak Grove Cemetery, 
Fall River. In politics he was a Repub- 
lican, and he was an active and influen- 
tial citizen of the community, taking a 

keen interest in its progress, its people and 
institutions. He married, in Little Comp- 
ton, Bethena Brightman, born there, 
daughter of Cornelius and Rachel (Allen) 
Brightman, and granddaughter of Israel 
and Bethena (Palmer) Brightman, of 
Westport, Massachusetts. Israel Bright- 
man was a son of Henry and Hannah 
Brightman, was a soldier of the Revolu- 
tion, serving as a private in Captain Wil- 
liam Hicks’ company, Colonel John Hath- 
away’s (Second Bristol) regiment, en- 
listed August 1, 1780, discharged August 
9, same year, on an alarm in Rhode 
Island. Rachel Allen, mother of Bethena 
Brightman, was a daughter of Humphrey 
Allen, who was also a Revolutionary sol- 
dier, a private in Captain Benjamin Wil- 
cox’s company, Colonel Nathainel Free- 
man’s regiment. He enlisted September 
29, and was discharged October 29, I 777 > 
having served thirty days on a secret ex- 
pedition through Rhode Island. Mrs. 
Bethena (Brightman) Pearce died Au- 
gust 19, 1909, in Fall River, at the ripe 
age of ninety-seven years, and was buried 
in Oak Grove Cemetery. She was a mem- 
ber of the Congregational church. Chil- 
dren : 1. Anna H., who resides with her 
sister, Mrs. Borden. 2. Rachel Allen, 
widow of Gardner T. Dean, resides with 
Mrs. Borden, and has one son, Robert A., 
a lawyer in Fall River. He married 
Marion Eddy, of West Newton, Massa- 
chusetts, and has one daughter, Georgi- 
anna Winslow Dean. 3. Nathaniel A., 
mentioned below. 4. Bethena Brightman, 
mentioned below. 5. Catharine, died at 
the age of five years. 6. Orin Fowler, of 
Providence, Rhode Island, married Mary 
Elizabeth Blair. 7. Charles H., resides in 
Fall River, married Elizabeth Tyler. 

(VIII) Nathaniel A. Pearce, eldest son 
of Nathaniel and Bethena (Brightman) 
Pearce, resides in Swansea, Massachu- 
setts. He married Mary Davis, of Fall 


River. Children: i. Catharine B., mar- 
ried A. Homer Skinner, resides in Swan- 
sea ; has one child : Bertha Louise. 2. 
Orin A., resides in New Bedford; married 
Elizabeth Buffington ; has one child : Lil- 
lian. 3. Elizabeth, married William H. 
B. Kendall, of Fall River ; has two chil- 
dren: Nathaniel P. and Anna B. 4. Lil- 
lian, married Jonathan Davis, of South 
Swansea. 5. Nathaniel, died in young 
manhood. 6. Harry, resides in northwest 
Canada; married Annie White; has one 
child : Mildred. 7. Frank, resides in Po- 
mona, Los Angeles county, California. 

(VIII) Bethena Brightman, third 
daughter of Nathaniel and Bethena 
(Brightman) Pearce, became the wife of 
Philip H. Borden, whom she survives, 
and now resides on June street, Fall 
River (see Borden VIII). 

CRAPO, Phineas W., 

Respected Citizen. 

The surname of Crapo is of peculiar 
origin in this country. The founder of 
the family was a French lad, cast ashore 
from a wreck upon the coast of Cape Cod 
about 1680. Either he was too young to 
preserve his family name, or the inhabi- 
tants among whom he found himself were 
unable to pronounce it, and they nick- 
named him Crapaud (Crapo), which is a 
nickname applied often to French peo- 
ple. The lad seems to have preserved his 
baptismal name, Pierre, which was ren- 
dered in various ways by the people 
among whom he lived. It appears often 
in the records of Rochester, Massachu- 
setts, as Perro, and had various other 
forms, but the English translation Peter 
very soon came into use, so he appeared 
as Peter Crapo, founder of a very worthy 
and useful family in New England. He 
was brought up in the family of Francis 
Combes, an innholder, of North Roches- 
ter, Massachusetts, and there married, 

May 31, 1704, Penelope White, born 
March 12, 1687, in Rochester, daughter 
of Samuel, Sr., and his wife Rebecca. 
The White family is descended from Wil- 
liam White, a son of Bishop John White, 
who came to Massachusetts on the “May- 
flower,” and died March 14, 1621, at 
Plymouth. His son Peregrine White, 
born in Provincetown Harbor, was the 
first white child born in Massachusetts. 
His wife, Susanna Fuller, was a sister of 
Edward and Samuel Fuller, of the “May- 
flower.” Resolved White, eldest son of 
William and Susanna (Fuller) White, 
was born 1614, in Leyden, and came in 
the “Mayflower” with his parents, set- 
tling in Plymouth, where he died after 
1680. He married, April 8, 1640, Judith, 
daughter of William Vassal, of Scituate, 
who died in 1670. Their third son, Sam- 
uel White, was born March 13, 1646, in 
Plymouth, settled in Rochester, Massa- 
chusetts, where he died in 1694. His 
wife’s name was Rebecca, and their sev- 
enth child, Penelope, was born March 12, 
1687, in Rochester, became the wife of 
Peter Crapo, as above noted. Children : 
Francis, born October 14, 1705, married 
Pashent Spooner; Susanna, November 5, 
1707, married Louis Demoranville ; Perez 
(Peter), November 20, 1709, married Ann 
Luce; John, mentioned below; Mary, 
September 27, 1713, married Jonathan 
Spooner; Rebecca, March 22, 1718, mar- 
ried John Mathews; Hezekiah, March 12, 
1720, died unmarried; Nicholas, Decem- 
ber 15, 1721, married Alice Blackwell; 
Seth, May 4, 1724. 

(II) John, third son of Peter and Pen- 
elope (White) Crapo, was born Febru- 
ary 22, 1712, in Rochester, where he lived, 
and was an extensive landholder, inter- 
ested with his sons in land in Freetown, 
where they conducted a large lumbering 
business for the time. He married, No- 
vember 7, 1734, in Rochester, Sarah Clark, 


born 1714, daughter of John and Mary 
(Tobey) Clark, who were married No- 
vember 2, 1709, in Sandwich. Mary 

Tobey was a daughter of John and Jane 
Tobey, the last named a daughter of 
Thomas and Martha (Knott) Tobey, of 
Sandwich. Thomas Tobey was a son of 
John and Sarah Tobey, and grandson of 
Thomas Tobey, born 1605, died at Plym- 
outh, March 24, 1697. He was probably 
from Saltash, in the Plymouth district of 
England, and came in the “Ann” in 1623 
with his wife Susanna. He was deacon 
of the first church at Plymouth from 1654 
until his death. Children of John and 
Sarah Crapo: Consider, born August 26, 
I 735 ; Elnathan, October 10, 1737; John, 
February 26, 1739; Sarah, February 1, 
1740; Peter, mentioned below; Joshua, 
June 28, 1746; Ariste (given in Roches- 
ter records as Rest), December 7, 1748, 
died same year; Jean, May 14, 1750; 
Ariste, January 11, 1753; Mary, May 17, 
i/ 55 - 

(III) Peter (2), fourth son of John and 
Sarah (Clark) Crapo, was born Decem- 
ber 4, 1743, in Rochester, and died in 
1822. At the early age of fifteen years he 
served in the French and Indian war, and 
w r as a soldier of the Revolution, begin- 
ning as a private in Captain Levi Rounse- 
ville’s company of Freetown, which 
marched at the Lexington Alarm. He 
was also a private in Lieutenant Nathan- 
iel Martin’s militia company, Colonel Ed- 
ward Pope, which marched December 8, 
1776, and received pay for twenty days’ 
service of two pounds, ten shillings and 
eight pence. In partnership with his 
brother Elnathan, he engaged extensively 
in lumbering, and they had a saw mill at 
the head of Qwampanoug river, lying 
partly in the town of Dartmouth and 
partly in Freetown. They owned lands 
in Dartmouth and in Troy, now Fall 
River. The estate of Peter (2) Crapo 

was valued at $10,000, which was a large 
sum in those days. He gave $350 in cash 
to each of his seven daughters, and to his 
sons gave land. He married (first) No- 
vember 13, 1766, Sarah West, born 1747- 
48, died May 6, 1789, in Rochester. He 
married (second) October 13, 1789, Con- 
tent Hathaway, born 1758-59, in Free- 
town, died October 27, 1826, in Roches- 
ter. Children of first marriage : Azubah, 
born June 8, 1768; Richard, mentioned 
below; Peter, 1777; Charles, between 
1770 and 1780; Reuben, mentioned be- 
low; Jesse, May 22, 1781 ; Deborah, April 
4, 1786. Of second marriage: Content, 
Susanna, Orinda, Betsey, Sarah, Joseph 
and Abiel. 

(IV) Richard, eldest son of Peter (2) 
and Sarah (West) Crapo, was born in 
1770, in Rochester, and lived in Freetown, 
Massachusetts. He married Mercy Sher- 
man, born February 19, 1765, in Roches- 
ter, daughter of John and Marcy (Bum- 
pas) Sherman, a descendant of William 
Sherman, born April 5, 1710, in Roches- 
ter. He married, February 4, 1734 . Mary 
Dexter, born April 3, 1719, daughter of 
John and Sarah Dexter, of Rochester. 
Their son, John Sherman, was born Janu- 
ary 21, 1736, in that town, and married 
there, October 31, 1755, Marcy Bumpas, 
of Sandwich, Massachusetts. They were 
the parents of Mercy Sherman, wife of 
Richard Crapo. 

(V) John (2), son of Richard and 

Mercy (Sherman) Crapo, was born Oc- 
tober 5, 1789, in Freetown, lived for a 
time in Tiverton, and died in Fall River, 
Massachusetts, May 3, 1859. He married 
(first) Mary Warded, (second) February 
28, 1817, Ruth Warded, and (third) Lydia 
C. Howard. Children : Squire, born 

February 27, 1815, died in New Bedford; 
Phineas W., mentioned below ; Mary, 
September 7, 1825, married William Col- 
lins; Mercy Ann, October 15, 1828. 


(VI) Phineas Wardell, second son of 

John (2) and Ruth (Wardell) Crapo, was 
born October 11, 1822, in Tiverton, Rhode 
Island, died in Westport, Massachusetts, 
on January 1, 1904, and was buried in 
Westport cemetery. He grew to man- 
hood on the paternal farm in Tiverton, 
where he attended the public schools. On 
leaving home he went to Fall River and 
engaged in the meat business, which he 
continued several years, at both whole- 
sale and retail. He purchased cattle in 
the Brighton Market at Boston, which he 
slaughtered for his trade. His home was 
for many years in Fall River, where he 
died and is buried at Westport, Massa- 
chusetts. He was a reputable citizen, 
popular in the community, and his suc- 
cess in business was the result of his up- 
right methods, industrious attention to 
business, and his kindly nature, which 
brought to him many friends. He mar- 
ried Sarah Poole, daughter of Sirbinas 
and Mary (Weaver) Poole, of Dartmouth 
(see Poole). Children: Susan A., men- 
tioned below; Ruth W., married Jesse I. 
Davis, and died in 1893, in Fall River; 
Phineas E., a farmer in Bristol, Rhode 
Island; married Sylvia M. Cottle, and has 
three children: John Archer Weaver, 

Florence L. and Lloyd C. 

(VII) Susan A., eldest child of Phineas 
W. and Sarah (Poole) Crapo, was born 
in Fall River, and educated in the public 
schools of that city, Lapham Institute, 
Scituate, Rhode Island, and State Normal 
School at Bridgewater, Massachusetts. 
At the age of seventeen years she took up 
the profession of teaching, beginning in 
the Davis School at Fall River, and con- 
tinued teaching in the schools of that city 
until June, 1914, when she retired. She is 
among the oldest teachers in point of 
service in the city, and probably the State. 
Miss Crapo has always been a student 
and deeply devoted to her profession, in 

which she achieved a well-deserved suc- 
cess, and is much interested in historical 

(IV) Reuben Crapo, fourth son of 
Peter (2) and Sarah (West) Crapo, was 
born April 18, 1780, and married, Novem- 
ber 1, 1812, Cynthia M. Davol, daughter 
of Abner Davol, of Westport, a well- 
known Friends’ preacher, who died at a 
ripe old age. 

(V) George Davol, son of Reuben and 
Cynthia M. (Davol) Crapo, married Lo- 
rena Dennis. 

(VI) Mary E. Crapo, daughter of 
George D. and Lorena (Dennis) Crapo, 
became the wife of George A. Hicks, of 
Westport (see Hicks IX). 

(The Poole Line). 

(I) Captain Edward Poole, born about 
1609, came from Weymouth, England, in 
1635, and settled in Weymouth, Massa- 
chusetts, where he became a large land- 
holder, and resided until his death in 
1664. His wife Sarah was probably a 
sister of Edmund Pinney, of Broadway, 
Somerset, England, as Edward Poole 
gave letters of attorney to William Par- 
don to collect legacies due his wife Sarah 
from Edmund Pinney and Elizabeth 
Standerwick of that address, May 10, 
1645. His will, probated September 26, 
1664, bequeathed to wife, sons Samuel, 
Isaac, Joseph, Benjamin, John, Jacob and 
daughter Sarah. 

(II) Captain Joseph Poole, son of Ed- 
ward and Sarah, resided in Weymouth, 
and, like his father, was a large landed 
proprietor. He was the original owner of 
the second saw mill in the town, built in 
1700, died in Weymouth in 1706, and his 
will, which was made April 1 1 of that year, 
was proved May 16 following. The Chris- 
tian name of his first wife was Elizabeth, 
and that of his second, Mary. Children: 
Elizabeth, born December 6, 1674; Sus- 



anna, December 17, 1679; Mary, January 
26, 1681; Benjamin, February 9, 1682; 
Margaret, April 22, 1688; Samuel, men- 
tioned below; Joseph; Abigail and Isaac. 

(III) Samuel, son of Joseph Poole, was 
born in 1690, in Weymouth, and died in 
1785, in South Abington. He was one 
of the original settlers of Abington ; was 
selectman of the town for six years, 1718- 
24, and the first representative sent by 
Abington to the General Court in 1735, 
and for several years thereafter. He was 
highly esteemed ; was moderator of the 
church meeting, August 22, 1749. His 
recorded children were : Elizabeth, born 
August 31, 1 71 1 ; Samuel, September 18, 
1713; Joseph, February 11, 1716 or 1717; 
Sarah, February n, 1718. He doubtless 
had other children, including the next 

(IV) Jacob Poole probably resided in 
Dartmouth. Little is known concerning 
him except that he was the father of the 
next mentioned. 

(V) Sirbinas Poole, son of Jacob 
Poole, was born February 5, 1755, and 
appears as a resident of Dartmouth. He 
married Lurana Lee, of Dighton, born 
June 17, 1755, and their children were: 
Benjamin, born June 29, 1783; Sarah, 
July 28, 1785; Marcy, February 8, 1788; 
Jacob, March 19, 1790; Major, July 5, 
1793; Abiatha, November 20, 1795; Lu- 
rana, January 3, 1799; George, November 
12, 1800; Olive, April 24, 1806; Sirbinas, 
mentioned below; Hannah, May 10, 1818. 

(VI) Sirbinas (2), youngest son of 
Sirbinas (1) and Lurana (Lee) Poole, 
was born December 8, 1808, in Dart- 
mouth, where he made his home. He 
married Mary Weaver, daughter of Cap- 
tain John and Ruth (Wilbur) Weaver, of 
North Scituate, Rhode Island, and both 
died in Scituate and were buried there. 
Children: Sarah, mentioned below; John 
W., deceased ; Elizabeth, married Ste- 

phen P. Bowen, of North Scituate, Rhode 
Island; William H., died in North Scitu- 
ate ; Deborah, married (first) Albert Col- 
vin, (second) Benjamin Gardner, (third) 
Frank Parker; Mercy, married Joseph 
Davis, and is now a widow, residing at 
North Scituate; Hannah, married George 
Jordan, of Providence ; Stephen W., mar- 
ried Amelia Frances Tucker, of North 
Scituate, and resides in Swansea, Massa- 
chusetts; Charles H., died in Providence; 
Ruth, married George Slade, of North 
Attleboro, Massachusetts. 

(VII) Sarah, eldest child of Sirbinas 
(2) and Mary (Weaver) Poole, became 
the wife of Phineas W. Crapo, of Fall 
River (see Crapo VI). 


The Crossman family of New England, 
represented in the present generation by 
Mrs. Alice Bertha (Crossman) Bickford 
(the sketch of the Bickford family on pages 
83 to 90), is descended from John Cross- 
man, who came from Somersetshire, Eng- 
land, before 1639. The family coat-of- 
arms is described : Argent a cross ermine 
between four escallops sable. Crest: A 
demi-lion ermine holding an escallop 
sable. Robert Crossman, son of John 
Crossman, also lived in Taunton, where 
the pioneer located ; married Sarah Kings- 
bury, of Dedham, and had eleven chil- 

(I) Rev. Abishai Crossman, a descend- 
ant of John Crossman, was a soldier in 
the Revolution. He was a resident of 
Northbridge, Massachusetts, in 1776, 
when he served as surgeon’s mate in 
Colonel Nicholas Dike’s regiment in the 
defence of Boston. He also served as 
surgeon’s mate in Colonel Nathan Tyler’s 
regiment from July 28 to August 8, 1780, 
in the Rhode Island campaign. He be- 
came a Baptist minister and was the sec- 


ond pastor of the church at Chelmsford. 
He was afterward, from 1789 to 1793, 
pastor of the Baptist church in Rowley, 
now Georgetown. He married, March 
31, 1772, Experience Richardson, of Sud- 
bury. Among their children were : Abi- 
shai, mentioned below; Betsey, born at 
Chelmsford, May 9, 1783; Silas Cutler, 
November 13, 1785. 

(II) Abishai (2) Crossman, son of Rev. 
Abishai (1) Crossman, settled in Boyls- 
ton. He was a shoemaker by trade. A 
deed of land that he bought in 1819 shows 
that his father was then living. He mar- 
ried (first) at Shrewsbury, January 28, 
1794, Ruth Wheeler, and (second) at 
Sherborn, August 3, 1823, Keziah John- 
son. Children, born in Boylston : Polly, 
born June 27, 1795; Abishai, August 2, 
1796; Henry Wheeler, October 6, 1798; 
Sally, February 25, 1801 ; Ruth, Septem- 
ber 17, 1803; John Wheeler, mentioned 
below; William H., August 16, 1808; 
Nancy Parkman, May 6, 1811; Caleb 
Strong, April 14, 1814; Lucy Pierce, June 
1, 1817. 

(III) John Wheeler Crossman, son of 
Abishai (2) Crossman, was born at Boyls- 
ton, January 9, 1806. He married Eveli- 
na Phelps, of Lancaster, a daughter of 
Gardner and Molly (Baldwin) Phelps, 
and a descendant of Edward Phelps, the 
pioneer, who settled in Andover. Chil- 
dren of Gardner and Molly Phelps: Gard- 
ner, born November 8, 1784; Thomas, 
April 22, 1786; Mary, June 29, 1788; Asa- 
hel, March 7, 1790; Lucy, December 8, 
1794; David; Darius; Evelina, who mar- 
ried John W. Crossman. 

(IV) Frank Harrison Crossman, son 
of John Wheeler Crossman, was born at 
Bolton, January 12, 1846. He is a farmer 
and machinist, and for many years has 
been town clerk of Berlin. He married, 
at Fitchburg, January 12, 1870, Lelia 
Ward Farwell, daughter of Abel and 

Myra (Ward) Farwell (see Farwell XII). 
Children: 1. Alice Bertha, born July 29, 
1872; married Ernest A. Bickford, a 
sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this 
work. 2. Walter Ivers, born November 
5, 1874; engaged in mining in Alaska. 3. 
Harrison Austin, born September 21, 
1876; farmer in Berlin; married Mabel 
Ware; children: Walter Stanley, Evelyn, 
Lyman Ware, Lelia, John, Almon and 
Alberta. 4. Agnes Blanche, born July 11, 
1882 ; married Carlton Willard Howe, of 
Northampton, manager of a Woolworth 
store ; child, Brenda Alice, born August 
20, 1915. 5. Kenneth Ward, born July 

14, 1896; student in the Worcester Poly- 
technic Institute, class of 1919. 

(The Farwell Family). 

The ancestry of the Farwell family 
has been traced to Richard Farwell, who 
married, about A. D. 1280, the daughter 
and heiress of Elias de Rillestone, whose 
estates remained in the Farwell family 
until about 1500 when they passed 
through an heiress to the family of Rad- 
cliff. About the same time, Simon Far- 
well migrated from Yorkshire to Somer- 
setshire and built Bishop Hall near 
Taunton, the manor house on which is 
carved the Farwell arms quartered with 
de Rillestone and others. 

(I) Simon Farwell, descendant of Rich- 
ard Farwell, died in 1545; married Julia 

(II) Simon (2) Farwell, son of Simon 

(1) Farwell, of Hill-Bishop, married 
Dorothy Dyer, heiress of Sir James Dyer, 
judge and speaker of the House of Com- 
mons. She died in 1580. 

(III) George Farwell, son of Simon 

(2) Farwell, was born in 1533, and died 
in 1609; married Philippa Parker, daugh- 
ter of John Parker. She died in 1620. 
They lived at Hill-Bishop. 

(IV) Sir George (2) Farwell, son of 



George (i) Farwell, died in 1647. He 
married Lady Mary Seymour, daughter 
of Sir Edward Seymour, Duke of Somer- 
set, and brought into the family royal 
Plantagenet blood. They lived at Hill- 

(V) John Farwell, son of Sir George 
(2) Farwell, married Dorothy Routh, 
daughter of Sir John Routh. 

(VI) Henry Farwell, son of John Far- 
well, according to the Farwell Genealogy, 
was one of the first settlers of Concord, 
Massachusetts, and was admitted a free- 
man, May 14, 1638-39. He served on 
important committees of the proprietors 
and town. He removed to Chelmsford. 
His will was dated July 12, 1670, and his 
death followed soon. By his wife, Olive, 
he had children: John, born 1639; Mary, 
December 26, 1640; Joseph, mentioned 
below; Olive; Elizabeth. 

(VII) Joseph Farwell, son of Henry 
Farwell, was born at Concord, February 
20, 1642. Fie removed with his father to 
Chelmsford and about 1699 to Dunstable, 
where he was a selectman in 1701-02-05- 
10, deacon of the church and highway 
surveyor in 1706. He died December 31, 
1722. He married, December 25, 1666, 
Hannah Learned, who was born at Wo- 
burn, August 24, 1649, daughter of Isaac 
and Mary (Stearns) Learned. Her father 
was born in England, son of William and 
Judith Learned, who came to Charles- 
town in 1632 ; her mother was a daughter 
of Isaac and Mary Stearns, who settled 
in Watertown in 1630. Children of 
Joseph and Hannah Farwell : Hannah, 
born January 20, 1668; Joseph, mention- 
ed below; Elizabeth, June 9, 1672 ; Henry, 
December 18, 1674; Isaac; Sarah, Sep- 
tember 2, 1683; John, June 15, 1686; Wil- 
liam, January 21, 1688; Oliver, 1689; 
Olive, November, 1692. 

(VIII) Joseph (2) Farwell, son of 
Joseph (1) Farwell, was born at Chelms- 

ford, July 24, 1670. He removed to Gro- 
ton, where he died August 21, 1740. He 
married, at Chelmsford, Hannah Coburn. 
Children: Joseph, born August 5, 1696; 
Thomas, October 11, 1698. Born at Gro- 
ton : Hannah, May 6, 1701 ; Elizabeth, 
December 31, 1703; Edward, July 12, 
1706; Mary, February 5, 1709; John, June 
23, 1711; Samuel, mentioned below; 
Daniel, May 20, 1717; Sarah, February 
26, 1721. 

(IX) Samuel Farwell, son of Joseph (2) 
Farwell, was born at Groton, January 14, 
1714; married, June 23, 1735, Elizabeth 
Moors, born February 5, 1719, daughter 
of Abraham and Elizabeth (Gilson) 
Moors, of Groton. Children, born at 
Groton: Samuel, born April 10, 1736; 
Elizabeth, January 19, 1739; Eunice, 
October 12, 1741 ; Abraham, mentioned 
below; John, January 27, 1745; Sarah, 
December 26, 1747; Lydia, August 4, 
1749; Susanna, July 20, 1751; Joseph, 
March 27, 1754; Isaac Moors, April 12, 

(X) Abraham Farwell, son of Samuel 
Farwell, was born at Groton, August 18, 
1743, and died August 29, 1829. He was 
on the school committee in 1790-91-92 
and held other town offices. He married 
(intention dated July 14, 1770) Priscilla 
Thurston, daughter of Deacon John and 
Lydia Thurston. Her father, Deacon 
John Thurston, was born August 19, 
1723; married (first) Hepsibah Burpee, 
born October 3, 1722, daughter of Eben- 
ezer and Miriam (Parsons) Burpee; mar- 
ried (second) April 28, 1768, Lydia Kim- 
ball ; served in the French and Indian 
War; resided in Lunenburg, now Fitch- 
burg. Jonathan Thurston, father of Dea- 
con John Thurston, was born March 16, 
1701, at Newbury; married, December 
10, 1722, Lydia Spofford, born 1700; he 
died September 28, 1738; lived at Row- 
ley. Daniel Thurston, father of Jonathan 


Thurston, was born December 18, 1661 ; 
married Mary Dresser, who was born 
December 24, 1667, daughter of Lieuten- 
ant John Dresser, of Rowley; she died 
December 7, 1735; he died February 18, 
1738. Daniel Thurston, father of Daniel 
Thurston, was the immigrant ancestor; 
married Ann Pell, daughter of Joseph 
Pell; served in King Philip’s War; died 
February 19, 1693. Children of Abraham 
Farwell, born at Fitchburg: Samuel, born 
November 10, 1772; Abraham, August 
16, 1774; Josiah, February 9, 1 777; Abel, 
mentioned below; Miriam, May 9, 1782; 
Levi, October 19, 1784; Joseph, January 
22, 1787. Abraham Farwell was a soldier 
in the Revolution, a corporal in Captain 
Ebenezer Bridge’s company, Colonel John 
Whitcomb’s regiment of minute-men on 
the Lexington Alarm. 

(XI) Deacon Abel Farwell, son of 

Abraham Farwell, was born at Fitch- 
burg, February 11, 1780. He married 
(first) January 8, 1807, Sally Babcock; 
(second) January 8, 1839, Mrs. Nancy 
Brown. Children by first wife, born at 
Fitchburg: Samuel, born October 24, 

1807; Levi, April 11, 1811; Abel, men- 
tioned below; Warren Fay, October 8, 
1815; Levi, May 19, 1822; Austin Put- 
nam, September 18, 1825. 

(XII) Abel (2) Farwell, son of Dea- 
con Abel (1) Farwell, was born at Fitch- 
burg, July 12, 1812. He resided in Ash- 
burnham for twenty years, removing later 
to Fitchburg. He married Myra Ward, 
daughter of Caleb and Mary (Rice) 
Ward, granddaughter of Caleb and Re- 
becca (Foster) Ward, and great-grand- 
daughter of Thaddeus and Lydia Ward. 
Myra Ward was born September 5, 1811. 
Caleb Ward was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion in Captain Deliverance Davis’s com- 
pany, Colonel Asa Whitcomb’s regiment. 
Children of Abel Farwell : Abel Stephen, 
born January 8, 1836, married Elsie A. 

Howe; Elizabeth Davis, May 26, 1837; 
Ivers Warren, January 26, 1839; George 
Goodyear, November 7, 1840, died in the 
service in the Civil War; Levi Caleb, 
April 11, 1843; Samuel Ward, May 31, 
1845 ! Austin ; Lelia Ward, married Frank 
Harrison Crossman (see Crossman IV). 

WARNER, Milton Burrage, 

Attorney, Public Official. 

The family represented in the present 
generation by Milton Burrage Warner, 
of Pittsfield, has had many honored and 
honorable representatives in England for 
many centuries, and more than twenty 
families of this name have coats-of-arms 
of different design. It is also well repre- 
sented in the United States, its members 
being equally prominent and honorable. 

William Warner, the immigrant ances- 
tor of this branch of the Warner family, 
is believed to be a son of Samuel Warner, 
of Boxted, Essex county, England, and 
he was doubtless born in England about 
1590. He was one of the pioneers at Ips- 
wich, Massachusetts, one of the proprie- 
tors as early as 1635, and his name 
appears on a list of the proprietors in 

1637. He was admitted freeman, May 2, 

1638. The date of his death is unknown, 
but he was living October 29, 1634. 

Joseph Warner, a lineal descendant of 
William Warner, the ancestor, was a 
resident of Acton, Massachusetts, from 
whence he removed to Fair Haven, Ver- 
mont, in March, 1827. He was possessed 
of some capital, and bought and sold 
several farms during his six years’ resi- 
dence in that town, and in 1828 he pur- 
chased a farm on which he resided until 
the year 1833, when he removed to New 
Bedford, Massachusetts. He married 
Nabby (Abigail) Buttrick, and their only 
children were two sons: Joseph B. and 
Burrage Y. Warner. Joseph B. Warner 


was one of the founders of the flouring 
and feed mills of the Dennison-Plummer 
Company, of New Bedford, and his 
brother, Burrage Y. Warner, became as- 
sociated with him in this business, which 
was quite prosperous. In its earlier days 
the firm was known as Warner, Denni- 
son & Company. Joseph B. Warner mar- 
ried, and was the father of Richard War- 
ner, whose son, Joseph E. Warner, is a 
member of the Massachusetts Legisla- 
ture, and chairman of the ways and means 

Burrage Y. Warner, youngest son of 
Joseph and Nabby (Buttrick) Warner, 
was born in Fair Haven, Vermont, July 
24, 1828, and died at Acushnet, Massa- 
chusetts, February 9, 1888. He was very 
active in promoting the interests of his 
town and county, and served for many 
years on the board of school commis- 
sioners of Acushnet. He was associated 
in business with his brother, as aforemen- 
tioned. Politically he was affiliated with 
the Democratic party. He married Sarah 
A. Peirce, born in Assonet, Massachu- 
setts, in 1833, died in 1901, daughter of 
Simeon and Marcia (Ashley) Peirce. 

Milton Burrage Warner, son of Bur- 
rage Y. and Sarah A. (Peirce) Warner, 
was born in New Bedford, Massachu- 
setts, August 27, 1861. He was six years 
of age when his parents removed to 
Acushnet, and there he received his early 
education in the public schools. Later 
he was a student at the Bridgewater Nor- 
mal School, from which he graduated in 
1884, and then entered Harvard Law 
School, from which he was graduated in 
1891 with the degree of LL. B. In that 
year he was admitted to the bar of Mas- 
sachusetts, and commenced the active 
practice of his profession in New Bed- 
ford. He subsequently located in Dalton, 
Massachusetts, and in 1895 removed to 

Pittsfield, Massachusetts, where he has 
since been continuously and successfully 
engaged in the practice of law. He was 
associated for a short time with Robert 
F. Raymond, later Justice of the Superior 
Court of Massachusetts, then with Byron 
Weston, and in 1910 he became associ- 
ated with John Barker, under the firm name 
of Warner & Barker, which partnership 
has extended to the present time (1916). 
In 1899 and 1900, Mr. Warner was a 
member of the common council of Pitts- 
field ; a member of the board of aider- 
men in 1901, and from 1904 to 1912, inclu- 
sive, was city solicitor of Pittsfield. He 
is treasurer of the Berkshire Law Libra- 
ry, and trustee of Balance Rock Park. 
He is a regular attendant of divine wor- 
ship at the Congregational church in 
Pittsfield; is a Republican in politics; a 
member of the Masonic fraternity, attain- 
ing the sixteenth degree in the Scottish 
Rite ; a member of the Independent Or- 
der of Odd Fellows, the American Bar 
Association, the Massachusetts Bar As- 
sociation, Thayer Law Club Association, 
Harvard Law School Alumni Association, 
the Park and Country clubs of Pittsfield, 
the Harvard clubs of New York City and 
Boston, and the Pi Eta college fraternity 
of Harvard College. His chief recreations 
are cross country riding, golf and tennis. 
Mr. Warner is unmarried. 

DAMON, Alonzo Willard, 

Insurance President, Financier, 

From a worthy line of New England 
ancestry, Alonzo Willard Damon inherits 
the temperament, intellectual force and 
fidelity which have made him a leader 
among the business men of the Old Bay 
State. The name is of French origin, 
and is found at Blois and Cherbourg, 
France, in very early records. It appears 
as d'Amon and Damen, and in the early 



records of Scituate, Massachusetts, it is 
spelled Daman and in several other forms. 

John Damon, the immigrant, came from 
County Kent, England, whence many of 
the settlers of Scituate came, while a 
youth, with his uncle and guardian, Wil- 
liam Gilson, accompanied by his sister 
Hannah. Their mother was a sister of 
William Gilson. By will of William Gil- 
son, John Damon inherited Gilson’s resi- 
dence on Kent street, Scituate, and his 
lot on the “third cliff.” Later he and his 
sister were declared sole heirs of Wil- 
liam Gilson, who died childless. William 
Gilson was an educated man, and filled 
important stations in the Plymouth Colo- 
ny, serving in the governor’s council, 
1631 to 1636, with the exception of 1635. 
In the Indian wars John Damon com- 
manded the Scituate troops under Miles 
Standish, who commanded all Plymouth 
Colony soldiery. He married (first) 
Katharine, daughter of Henry Merritt; 
(second) Martha Howland, of Plymouth, 
who survived him, and married (second) 
Peter Bacon, of Taunton. Children of 
first marriage: Deborah; John, baptized 
in Scituate, where he made his home, 
and married Lucy Bowker, a daughter 
of John and Ann (Wright) Bowker, and 
their children were : Simeon, born August 
25, 1781 ; Elijah, mentioned below; Lucy, 
November 19, 1784; Delight Bowker, Oc- 
tober 25, 1786; Daniel, November 25, 
1788; Ruth, October 4, 1790; Lydia, 
baptized May 22, 1791 ; Jude Litchfield, 
born August 19, 1792; Samuel Litchfield, 
August 9, 1794; Anna, August 12, 1796. 

Elijah Damon, second son of John and 
Lucy (Bowker) Damon, was born Janu- 
ary 1, 1783, in Scituate, where he mar- 
ried, November 24, 1810, Sally Sears, 
born August 21, 1784, in Scituate, daugh- 
ter of Peter and Susan (Collamore) Sears, 
of that town. Five children are recorded 
in Scituate: Davis, mentioned below; 

Sarah, born October 15, 1814; Lucy, May 
23, 1817; Hosea, April 29, 1819; Susan- 
nah Collamore, May 30, 1824. Davis Da- 
mon, eldest child of Elijah and Sarah 
(Sears) Damon, was born July 5, 1812, in 
Scituate, and lived in that part of the 
town now set off as the town of Norwell. 
He married, in his native town, Lucy 
Damon, born June 9, 1816, daughter of 
Luther and Alice (Nash) Damon, cf 
Scituate. Three children are recorded in 
Scituate: Albert Davis, born January 29, 
1840; Lucy Ann, born July 22, 1845, 
Alonzo Willard, of further mention. 

Alonzo Willard Damon was born Feb- 
ruary 11, 1847, in South Scituate, now 
Norwell, Massachusetts. He received.his 
educational training in the public schools 
of Boston, where he made the best use of 
his opportunities in preparing for an ac- 
tive life, toward which his ambition beck- 
oned. At the age of fifteen years he be- 
gan his insurance career by entering the 
office of the Washington Fire and Marine 
Insurance Company, as a clerk. Here his 
industrious application and ready grasp 
of details gained the favorable notice of 
his superiors and he was rapidly pro- 
moted until, in 1880, he was made secre- 
tary of the company. This position he 
filled with notable efficiency for a period 
of seven years, when he resigned to be- 
come special agent of the Franklin Insur- 
ance Company of Philadelphia, Pennsyl- 
vania. After one year of this service he 
transferred his activities to the service of 
the Springfield Fire and Marine Insur- 
ance Company, of Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, with which he has been identified 
up to the present time. As a practical in- 
surance man he has few equals in the 
field, and he readily advanced in position 
with the company from his first connec- 
tion with it. From 1891 to 1895 he filled 
the office of assistant secretary, and was 
elevated to the presidency in 1895. Dur- 

Mass — 5 — 17 


ing his connection with it, the Springfield 
Fire and Marine Insurance Company has 
made rapid growth, and has come to be 
the largest fire insurance organization in 
the Commonwealth. To Mr. Damon is 
due the credit for much of this prosper- 
ity, and he is recognized among insur- 
ance men of the United States as a leader 
in his especial line. That this estimation 
of the ability of Mr. Damon is a wide- 
spread one, the following extract from an 
article on the Springfield Fire and Marine 
Insurance Company, which appeared in 
“The Insurance Journal and New Eng- 
land Underwriter,” the oldest insurance 
journal established and continuously 
published in New England, in the issue of 
March 19, 1915, will amply testify: 

The results above outlined could have been 
obtained only by both underwriting and execu- 
tive management of the highest order. The 
banner period of the company — the past twenty 
years — has had the directing hand of President 
A. W. Damon. In fact, it is not too much to 
say that the remarkable success achieved has 
been due directly to his masterful management, 
aided, as he has always been, by a corps of able 
efficient, and devoted assistants — a condition 
precedent to notable accomplishment. Mr. 
Damon is recognized everywhere as the peer 
of the ablest underwriters and company man- 
agers that this country has ever produced. He 
has had more than fifty years’ continuous ex- 
perience in insurance work, having begun as a 
clerk in the office of a Boston company in 1862. 
After twenty-five years’ service there, during 
which time he rose to the official position of 
secretary of the company, he had several years’ 
experience in the New England field as special 
agent, from which he was called to the home office 
of the Springfield Fire and Marine Insurance 
Company to fill the position of assistant secre- 
tary, and from which he was advanced to the 
presidency, as already stated, in 1895. Mr. 
Damon’s qualifications for the position he has 
filled for twenty years with so much credit to 
himself and his company are not confined, how- 
ever, to his underwriting and executive ability. 
He had admittedly but few if any superiors as 
a financier, his notable success in handling the 
company’s large assets in a manner to produce 

the best possible results, having won unstinted 
praise from representative financiers and insur- 
ance company officials in all parts of the country. 
The company’s annual statements of income bear 
further incontrovertible witness to his exceptional 
acumen in handling investments. By the work 
one knows the workman. 

In 191011 Mr. Damon served as presi- 
dent of the National Board of Fire Under- 
writers. His company occupies a splen- 
did building in Springfield, one of the 
finest in the world, devoted exclusively to 
the care and prosecution of it own busi- 
ness. Mr. Damon is interested in several 
business enterprises of Springfield, to 
whose prosperity his fine executive abil- 
ity has contributed in no small degree. 
He is a director of the Third National 
Bank of Springfield, and a trustee of the 
Springfield Institution for Saving, and 
the New England Investment and Se- 
curity Company. He is also a director 
of the Springfield Street Railway Com- 
pany, the Holyoke Water Power Com- 
pany and the Cheney-Bigelow Wire 
Works. Mr. Damon appreciates the duty 
of every American citizen to participate 
in the control of public affairs through 
the ballot, but does not desire political 
station. He acts with the Republican 
party, and has consented to serve his 
city as a member of its Sinking Fund 

Mr. Damon married, in Boston, in 1869, 
Marie Snow Higgins, who died in 1871 
after the birth of a son, William Sweetser, 
who died in Springfield, May 24, 1892. 

CASWELL, Franklin A„ 

Business Man. 

The Caswell family is of considerable 
antiquity in Wales and the neighboring 
county of Hereford, England. Sir Thomas 
Caswell, a knight of the holy wars, was 
buried at Leominster. Long afterward, 
Sir George Caswell or Caswall had ex- 


tensive estates in that section and repre- 
sented Leominster in several parliaments. 
He left two sons, John and Timothy. The 
latter was father of George Caswell, of 
Secombe Park, Hertfordshire. From this 
family were descended the Caswells in 
Herefordshire, Hertfordshire, Middlesex, 
and elsewhere in England. The ancient 
coat-of-arms of the family is described : 
Argent three bars gemelles and a mullet 
for difference, sable. Crest: A dexter 
arm embowed in mail proper, holding a 
cross crosslet fitchee or. 

Richard Caswell, Esq., of London, mar- 
ried Mary, daughter of Richard Slany. 
Esq., of County Salop, and among their 
children were Thomas and George. 

(I) Thomas Caswell, immigrant ances- 
tor in this country, believed to be a son of 
Richard mentioned above, was one of the 
first settlers of Taunton, about 1639. Ac- 
cording to family tradition he came from 
Somersetshire, England. All the early 
Caswells of New England were descended 
from him. His name is on the list of those 
able to bear arms in Taunton in 1643. His 
will was dated September 28, 1691, proved 
September 14, 1697. Children, born at 
Taunton: Stephen, born February 15, 
1648; Thomas, February 22, 1650; Peter, 
October, 1652; Mara, August, 1654; John, 
July, 1656; Sarah, November, 1658; Wil- 
liam, July 15, 1660; Hannah, July 14, 
1661; Samuel, mentioned below; Eliza- 
beth, January 10, 1664; Abigail, October 
27, 1666; Esther, June 1, 1669. 

(II) Samuel Caswell, son of Thomas 
Caswell, was born at Taunton, January 
26, 1663. Children, born at Taunton: 
Samuel; Henry; Ebenezer; Nathan, men- 
tioned below ; Damaris ; Mehitable ; Ruth ; 
Anne ; Joanna ; Rebecca. 

(III) Nathan Caswell, son of Samuel 
Caswell, settled in Norwich, Connecticut. 
He married, May 4, 1737, at Middlebor- 
ough, Massachusetts, Hannah Shaw. He 

was a soldier from Connecticut in Captain 
Joshua Abel’s company of Norwich, Sep- 
tember 14 to December 13, 1755, and in 
Captain John Perkins’ company that went 
to the relief of Fort Henry. 

(IV) Nathan (2) Caswell, son of Na- 
than (1) Caswell, was born about 1740; 
settled in Norwich, where he was appren- 
ticed as a tailor and served seven years. 
He married, at Norwich, April 30, 1761, 
Hannah Bingham. He lived for a time 
at Hebron, Connecticut, and in 1765 
with Israel Morey came to Orford, New 
Hampshire. In 1770 they located at 
Littleton, New Hampshire, formerly 
called Apthorp, whence the name of Cas- 
well’s son, born the night that the family 
arrived in the town. During the Revo- 
lution he served in Captain Jeremiah 
Eames’s Rangers in 1776. He was elected 
captain July 10, 1779. He was a farmer in 
Littleton, after the war, and was elected 
to various town offices. In 1803 he went 
to Canada, where many of his children 
had settled, and he died there at Comp- 
ton, in 1824, aged eighty-four years. His 
wife died at the home of her youngest 
child, Alice (Caswell) Pierce, at Bromp- 
ton, P. Q. Children: Nathan, born at 
Hebron, Connecticut, May 1, 1762; Ozias, 
January 17, 1764; Ezra, mentioned below ; 
Andrew, July 20, 1768; Apthorp, April 
12, 1770; John, June 20, 1772; Hannah, 
June 10, 1774; Jedediah, July 24, 1776; 
Charlotte, April 20, 1778; Anna, June 8, 
1779; Daniel, January 30, 1781; Lydia, 
August 31, 1783; Elizabeth, April 27, 
1786; Alice, January 2, 1790. 

(V) Ezra Caswell, son of Nathan (2) 
Caswell, was born at Orford, September 
23, 1766. He removed to Stanstead coun- 
ty, Province of Quebec. 

(VI) Hiram Caswell, son (possibly a 
nephew) of Ezra Caswell, was born about 
1785. He resided during most of his life 
in Farnham, P. Q. He married Lucinda 



Williams, of Essex, Vermont. The Wil- 
liams family came from the vicinity of 
Taunton also. Children : Merritt, died at 
West Shelford, Canada, June, 1893; Lor- 
ing ; Ira, mentioned below ; Julius ; Ovette 
and Adelaide. 

(VII) Ira Caswell, son of Hiram Cas- 
well, was born in the Province of Quebec, 
Canada. He was a woodworker when a 
young man, a wheelwright and mill- 
wright in Riceburg, Canada. For a num- 
ber of years he was a carriage builder. In 
1872 he left Riceburg and came to Fitch- 
burg, Massachusetts, where he engaged 
in business as a carpenter and builder. He 
erected the Stiles block, the C. H. Brown 
machine shop, the residence of R. L. God- 
dard at Palmer, Massachusetts, and a 
large number of buildings in Fitchburg 
and vicinity. He married, January 17, 
1854, Jane Lambkin, who was born July 
22, 1833, died February 26, 1867, daugh- 
ter of Howard and Betsey (Orcutt) 
Lambkin. Howard Lambkin was born 
at Swan ton, Vermont, August 18, 1806, 
died February 5, 1892; Betsey Orcutt was 
born April 27, 1809, and died before 1844. 
Howard Lambkin married (second) April 
4, 1844, Catharine M. Sornberger, born in 
Canada, May 17, 1813, died August 17, 
1867. Children of Howard Lambkin by 
first wife : Philo Lambkin, born Decem- 
ber 14, 1828; Lyman Lambkin, June 16, 
1831 ; Jane Lambkin, July 22, 1833, died 
February 26, 1867 ; Susan Lambkin, March 
28, 1836; Caroline Lambkin, September 4, 
1838, died January 7, 1913, at Fairbury, 
Illinois. Children of Howard Lambkin by 
second wife : Betsey Maria Lambkin, 

born April 17, 1846; Charles Howard 
Lambkin, November 21, 1848; Julia Zil- 
pha Lambkin, November 25, 1851 ; Willis 
C. Lambkin, February 22, 1857, died Sep- 
tember, 1878. 

Children of Ira and Jane (Lambkin) 
Caswell: 1. Nettie Frances, born Decem- 

ber 24, 1855 ; married Henry Clark, of 
Worcester. 2. Franklin Allen, mentioned 
below. 3. Mary L., died in infancy. 4. 
Linfield A., married, March 9, 1881, Ida 
Rosella Howe, born in Westminster, De- 
cember 2, 1861 ; children : Burton Lyman, 
born September 1, 1881, married, May 25, 
1909, Lena Evangeline Rosen, born in 
Boston, July 4, 1888, and has a daughter, 
Caroline Ida, born February 9, 1913; 
Archie Ira, born January 22, 1884, mar- 
ried Elina Perkins Gay, born in Boston, 
July 25, 1882, and has sons : Robert Fran- 
cis, born December 20, 1911, and Russell 
Gay, February 13, 1914; Edith Mary, 
born August 15, 1886; Harry Linfield, 
January 26, 1890, married Edith E. 
Newell, born at Ashby, Massachusetts, 
February 5, 1889, and has one daughter, 
Florence Esther, born November 23, 1915 ; 
William Avon, born August 5, 1892 ; 
Howard Earl, born July 13, 1894, married 
Annie Ethel Deary, born at Fitchburg, 
July 29, 1893; Grace Ellen, born July 7, 
died July 8, 1896; Ruth Jane, born July 
8, 1897; Esther, born April 22, 1900; Ida, 
born November 9, 1904, died May 1, 1905. 
5. Ella, married A. S. B. Lothrop, of Mon- 
tello, Massachusetts ; daughter, Maud S. 
Lothrop married Leslie Powers and re- 
sides at Belmont, Massachusetts. 

(VIII) Franklin Allen Caswell, son of 
Ira Caswell, was born at Riceburg, P. 
Q., May 6, 1857. He attended the pub- 
lic schools in his native town and the 
Eastwood private school at Stanbridge, 
Canada. With his father’s family he 
came to Fitchburg in 1872 and attended 
the public school there. For a few years 
he worked at the trade of carpenter in 
the employ of his father, and afterward 
learned the trade of pattern maker in 
the Putnam shop. Subsequently he en- 
tered the employ of M. W. Cummings 
and acquired a thorough knowledge of 
the undertaking business. In 1890 he 



started in business on his own account as early as 1570-71, when he was on the as- 
an undertaker and embalmer, at 34 Pearl sessment list. In 1576 he was appointed 
street. During the first ten months he by Archbishop Sandys receiver of Scroo- 
was in partnership with John Masterson, by and bailiff of the manor house. In 
of Anthony, Rhode Island. At the end I5 gg he was appointed postmaster under 
of that time he became the sole proprietor the crown . He died in the summer of 
of the business, which he has continued By bis wife, Prudence, he had a 

very successfully to the present time. In sorl) William, mentioned below. 

1898 he moved his place of business to /jj^ Elder William (2) Brewster, son 
the old post office building opposite his ^ William (1) Brewster, was born in the 
original location on Pearl street. i ast h a jf Q f t ^ e y ear ^66 or early in 1567, 

Mr. Caswell is well-known in social accorc ji n g to a deposition that he made at 
and fraternal circles. He is a member of Leyden, June 25, 1699, declaring his age 
Morning Star Lodge, Free Masons; Eu- ^ f ort y_ two He matriculated at 

reka Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Hi- p eter bouse, the oldest of the fourteen col- 
ram Council, Royal and Select Masters; i e ges of the University of Cambridge, De- 
Worcester County Commandery, Knights cem b e r 3, 1580, but does not appear to 

Templar ; Worcester Lodge of Perfection ; paye ta j. en a degree. He became the 

Goddard Council, Princes of Jerusalem ; “discreete and faithfull” assistant of Wil- 
Lawrence Chapter, Rose Croix; the Mas- Pam £> av j sorii Secretary of State to Queen 
sachusetts Consistory and Alethia Grot- Eb za beth, and accompanied his employer 
to. Pie is past noble grand of Quinsiga- tQ the Netherlands in August, 1585, and 
mond Lodge of Odd Fellows, member of serve( j bim at the court until his down- 
Wachusett Encampment and trustee of ^ - n j^gy Returning to Scrooby, he is 
the Odd Fellows Charitable Association, repor t; e d to have done much good “in 
which owns the new Odd Fellows' Build- promot j ng an d furthering religion.” In 
ing, Main street, Worcester. He is presi- he wag ap p 0 i n ted administrator of 

dent of the Shaffner Society, and a mem- f at b er ’ s estate, and succeeded him as 

ber of Worcester Conclave, No. 332, Hep- postmaster) an office he held until Sep- 

tasophs. Mr. Caswell is also active in tem g er ^o, 1607. While in Scrooby he 
the church and is a member of the pru- lived in the house where the members of 
dential committee of the Pleasant Street ^ Pilgrim church were accustomed to 
Baptist Church. He is a member of the meet ^y hen the y attempted to move to 
Massachusetts Undertakers’ Association Holland in 1607 they were imprisoned at 
and of the Massachusetts Social Club. Boston, and Brewster suffered heavily, 
He married, December 15, 1SS1, Louise and a f terwar d when the Pilgrims went 
Freeland Brewster (see Brewster line). tQ Hol j an d he endured many unaccus- 
Children : 1. Frank Robert, born No- tomec j hardships, not being so well fitted 

vember 7, 1882. 2. Gertrude Brewster, ^ ^ h arc j labor that was their common 

March 20, 1893. 3. Marion Howard, No- )ot ag most of hj s assoc i ate s. During the 
vember 7, 1894. 4. Chester Freeland, Au- j atter part Q { t h e twelve years he spent in 
gust 20, 1897, student in Dartmouth Col- Holland he taught school and operated 
lege. 5. Harold Allen, May 20, 1900. a pr inting plant that he set up in Leyden. 

(The Brewster Line). He came with the Pilgrims to Plymouth 

(I) William Brewster, Sr., lived at in the “Mayflower” with his wife and two 
Scrooby, Nottinghamshire, England, as sons. He had been elected elder of the 



church, and during its trying years in the 
wilderness was chief civil adviser and 
guide of the colony. His wife, Mary, died 
April 17, 1627, and he died April 10, 1644. 
children: Jonathan, mentioned below; 

Patience; Fear; child died at Leyden, 
buried June 20, 1609; Love; Wrestling, 
came with his parents. 

(Ill) Jonathan Brewster, son of Elder 
William (2) Brewster, was born August 
12, 1593, in Scrooby, and came to Plym- 
outh in the ship “Fortune” in 1621 ; re- 
moved to Duxbury about 1630, and was 
deputy to the General Court in 1639-41- 
43-44. About 1649 he moved to New 
London, Connecticut, and settled in what 
was afterward Norwich, where he was 
admitted an inhabitant February 25, 
1649-50. He was deputy to the General 
Court in 1650-55-56-57-58. He engaged 
in the coasting trade and was master of 
a small vessel plying between Plymouth 
and Virginia and to the northward. He 
was clerk of the town of Pequot, Septem- 
ber, 1649, an d received his first grant of 
land there from Uncas, sachem of the 
Mohegans, with whom he traded. At 
what is m iWl Brewster’s Neck he 

built a house, and the Indian deed to his 
farm was confirmed by the town Novem- 
ber 30, 1652. In 1637 he was military 
commissioner in the Pequot War, in 1642 
a member of the Duxbury committee to 
raise forces in the Narragansett alarm, 
a member of Captain Myles Standish’s 
company in 1643. He acted from time to 
time as an attorney. He died August 7, 
1659, and was buried at Brewster’s Neck, 
Preston, Connecticut. He married, April 
10, 1624, Lucretia Oldham, of Darby. 
She died March 4, 1678-79. Children, of 
whom the first three were born at Plym- 
outh, the fourth in Jones River and the 
others in Duxbury: William, born March 
9, 1625; Mary, April 16, 1627; Jonathan, 
July 17, 1629; Ruth, October 3, 1631; 

Benjamin, mentioned below ; Elizabeth, 
May 1, 1637; Grace, November 1, 1639; 
Hannah, November 3, 1641. 

(IV) Captain Benjamin Brewster, son 
of Jonathan Brewster, was born Novem- 
ber 1 7, 1633, in Jones River, Massachu- 
setts, and died, at Norwich, Connecticut, 
September 14, 1710. His father’s home- 
stead, which he inherited, was successive- 
ly in New London, Norwich, Preston, 
Groton and Ledyard. He was deputy to 
the General Court in 1668-89-90-92-93-94- 
95-96-97; lieutenant in 1673, an d captain 
in 1693. He married, February 29, 1659- 
60, Anna (Addis) Darte, widow of Am- 
brose. She died May 9, 1709. Children : 
Mary, born December 10, 1660; Anna, 
September 2, 1662; Jonathan, March 1, 
1666-67; Daniel, mentioned below; Wil- 
liam, March 22, 1669; Ruth, September 
16, 1671 ; Benjamin, December 25, 1673 ; 
Elizabeth, June 23, 1676. 

(V) Captain Daniel Brewster, son of 
Captain Benjamin Brewster, was born at 
Preston, March 1, 1666-67, an< i died there, 
May 7, 1735. He was justice of the peace 
in 1717, 1720-23, 1725-28; deputy to the 
General Court, 1704-19, 1721-23, 1725 and 
1731 ; lieutenant in 1704 and captain in 
1716; deacon from 1702 to 1710. He mar- 
ried (first) December 23, 1686, Hannah, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth Gager, 
of Norwich, born February, 1666, died 
September 25, 1727. He married (sec- 
ond) December 19, 1727, Dorothy Witter, 
widow of Ebenezer, daughter of Lieuten- 
ant Joseph and Dorothy (Parke) Morgan. 
She was born at Norwich, February 29, 
1675. Children by first wife: Daniel, 
born October 11, 1686; Hannah, Decem- 
ber 2, 1690; Mary, January 2, 1692; John, 
July 18, 1695 1 Jerusha, November 18, 
1697; Ruth, June 20, 1700; Jonathan, 
mentioned below; Jerusha, October 15, 
1710; Ebenezer, September 19, 1713. 

(VI) Jonathan (2) Brewster, son of Cap- 



tain Daniel Brewster, was born at Pres- 
ton June 6, 1705; married, November 17, 
1725-26, Mary Parish. Children, born at 
Preston: Lucretia, born August 14, 1727; 
Ruth, April 6, 1730; Ephraim, August 30, 
1 73 1 ; Jonathan, mentioned below ; Mary, 
December 2, 1735 ; Lydia, March 13, 1738; 
Hannah, March 5, 1739-40 ; Jonah, baptized 
March 30, 1746. 

(VII) Deacon Jonathan (3) Brewster, 
son of Jonathan (2) Brewster, was born 
at Preston, June 8, 1734, and died, at 
Worthington, April 13, 1800. He re- 
moved to Worthington in 1777, and was 
selectman, 1778-81, 1784-92, 1794-97; rep- 
resentative in the General Court, 1788-89, 
1784-87, 1793 - 95 ; deacon of the Congre- 
gational church. He married, at Preston, 
August 26, 1754, Zipporah Smith, born at 
Preston, July 10, 1735, died at Worthing- 
ton, January 19, 1794, daughter of Ephra- 
im and Hannah (Witter) Smith, of Ston- 
ington. Children: Elisha, born February 
2 5 - 1755 ; Esther, June 8, 1757; Jonathan, 
mentioned below; Zipporah, November 
15, 1761; Sarah, March 20, 1764; Jonah. 
March 9, 1766; Moses, September 8, 1769; 
Lydia, August 24, 1772; Hannah, Septem- 
ber 14, 1777. 

(VIII) Jonathan (4) Brewster, son of 
Deacon Jonathan (3) Brewster, was born 
at Preston, November 14, 1759, and died, 
at Worthington, February 16, 1841. He 
was selectman of Worthington several 
years ; often moderator ; served seven 
years in the General Court ; was promi- 
nent as a public speaker. Children born 
at Worthington: Chester,' born June 17, 
1785; Esther, December 19, 1786; Lu- 
cinda, October 27, 1790; Jonathan, June 
14, 1793; Colonel Milton, July 8, 1795; 
Rev. Joseph Marsh, November 15, 1797; 
Lydia, June 7, 1801 ; Sidney, mentioned 

(IX) Sidney Brewster, son of Jonathan 
(4) Brewster, was born at Worthington, 

May 13, 1803; died, at Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, February 2, 1892. He married 
Mary Dixon. Their only child was Sid- 
ney Dixon, mentioned below. 

(X) Sidney Dixon Brewster, son of 
Sidney Brewster, married Marie Free- 
land, daughter of Dr. Chester and Maria 
(Austin) Freeland. Children: 1. Carrie 
Gertrude, married Thomas D. Jenkins, 
and had two children : Helen Whittemore 
Jenkins, teacher of kindergarten in the 
public schools of New Haven, graduate 
of Miss Wheelock’s School, Boston, and 
Louise Freeland Jenkins, teacher of as- 
tronomy in Mt. Holyoke College. 2. 
Mary Maria, died young. 3. Emma Belle, 
died young. 4. Louise Freeland, married 
Franklin Allen Caswell (see Caswell). 5. 
Kate Howard, married Stephen B. Knowl- 
ton, of Worcester, and had two chil- 
dren : Sidney Knowlton and Margaret 

SMITH, C. Fayette, 


Dean of the banking fraternity of Hol- 
yoke, C. Fayette Smith reviews a life of 
fifty years spent in the banking business. 
The institution of which is the honored 
head and in which he began as cashier 
holds a commanding position among 
Western Massachusetts financial con- 
cerns and is regarded as Holyoke’s lead- 
ing bank. Its phenomenal growth since 
his connection began may be justly at- 
tributed in a large degree to his clear 
vision, modern progressive management 
and to his personal reputation as one of 
the foremost financiers of his State. With 
the exception of three years passed in the 
employ of the George W. Prentiss Com- 
pany, wire manufacturers, he has been 
engaged in the banking business from the 
time he was sixteen until the present, be- 
ginning as clerk in the Hadley Falls 


Bank. In 1897 he had reached his present 
position, chief executive of the City Na- 
tional Bank of Holyoke, and for twenty 
years has ably guided the destinies of 
that institution. He is a descendant of 
William Smith, born in England, who 
with four brothers and a sister settled in 
Connecticut, William settling later in 
Wethersfield in that State, where he died 
in January, 1670, leaving nine children by 
his wife, Elizabeth (Starling) Smith, 
whom he married in 1644. 

The line of descent from William Smith, 
the founder, is through his son, Benjamin 
Smith, born in Farmington, Connecticut, in 
1658, a farmer and saw mill owner of 
West Springfield, Massachusetts. He 
died in 1738, at the good old age of eighty, 
leaving sons and daughters by his wife, 
Ruth (Loomis) Smith. The line con- 
tinued through Jonathan Smith, son of 
Benjamin and Ruth (Loomis) Smith, who 
was born at West Springfield, and there 
lived a strict and pious life until his 
death, February 9, 1772. He married 
Margaret, a daughter of Samuel Ball, who 
bore him sons and daughters, including a 
son, Jonathan (2) Smith, born about 1725. 
He inherited the Ball homestead at West 
Springfield, through his mother, and there 
resided until death, leaving among his 
seven children a son, Jonathan (3) Smith, 
who also resided at West Springfield, 
married and left a son, Jonathan (4) 
Smith, grandfather of C. Fayette Smith, 
of Holyoke. 

This Jonathan (4) Smith was born at 
West Springfield, August 27, 1790, and 
resided in that part of the town now Hol- 
yoke. There he followed his trade of 
cooper until his death, February 27, 1845. 
He married, February 27, 1816, Martha, 
daughter of Joseph Ely, of West Spring- 
field, a descendant of Nathaniel Ely, 
through his son, Samuel Ely; his son, 
Deacon Joseph Ely; his son, Joseph (2) 

Ely; his son, Captain Joseph (3) Ely, an 
officer of the French and Indian War; his 
son, Joseph (4) Ely, a soldier of the 
Revolution, who married Martha Smith, 
and they were the parents of Martha, born 
May 29, 1793, died March 24, 1867, mar- 
ried, February 27, 1815, Jonathan (4) 

Jonathan Moseley Smith, eldest son of 
Jonathan (4) and Martha (Ely) Smith, was 
born at South Hadley, Massachusetts, 
March 20, 1817, died March 13, 1867. In 
early life he was a farmer, but later and for 
manyyears he operated the swing ferry. He 
married, March 30, 1843, > n West Spring- 
field, Lucinda Warren, born November 3, 
1823, died in Holyoke, November 13, 1908, 
daughter of Oliver and Esther (Dickin- 
son) Warren, of Amherst, Massachu- 
setts. They were the parents of four chil- 
dren : Emily M., deceased, was the wife 
of F. L. Seaver; Ellen S. ; Charles 
Fayette, of further mention ; Herbert M. 

Charles Fayette Smith, eldest son of 
Jonathan Moseleyand Lucinda (Warren) 
Smith, was born at Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, August 24, 1851. Until sixteen 
years of age he attended the public 
schools, and at that age he became a 
clerk in the Hadley Falls Bank, a con- 
nection which existed for fourteen years, 
the boy becoming a man of banking ex- 
perience and teller of the bank for a 
number of years. At the age of thirty he 
resigned his banking position to enter the 
employ of the George W. Prentiss Com- 
pany, but three years later returned to 
his first love, the banking business, as 
cashier of the City National Bank of 
Holyoke, serving in that position from his 
election in 1884 until 1897, when he was 
elected president of the bank, a position 
he now holds. In 1900 he was appointed 
receiver for the Glasgow Manufacturing 
Company, and after closing up all the 
affairs of the old company he organized a 


new corporation, the Hadley Mills, of 
which he was chosen treasurer, serving 
ten years. The mills of the old company 
after being closed four years were re- 
opened by the new company and have 
since been in successful operation. He 
was also president of the Holyoke Ice 
Company, and deeply interested in all 
that tends to promote the welfare of his 
city. In political faith he is a Republi- 
can, his clubs the Bay State, Holyoke 
Canoe, Holyoke and Mt. Tom Golf. 

TOWNE, Frank Beckwith, 


Of the ninth American generation of 
his family, Mr. Towne, although born in 
California, has spent the years of his life 
since 1S81 in Massachusetts, the State in 
which his American ancestor lived from 
the date of his coming from England, 
about 1635, until his death. The surname 
Towne is an ancient English surname, 
but not of frequent occurrence. It is 
found as early as 1227, and again in the 
reign of Henry IV.; the coat-of-arms of 
the Towne family and the family name 
are found on a memorial window in a 
church at Kensington, County Kent. The 
arms are thus described : “Argent on a 
chevron sable, three crosses crosslet, 

(I) William Towne, the founder of the 
family in America, was born in England 
in 1600, and baptized May 21, 1603. He 
married, at Yarmouth, Norfolkshire, Eng- 
land, March 25, 1620, in the Church of 
St. Nicholas, Joanna Blessing, and there 
six of his children were baptized. He 
came to New England about 1630, set- 
tled first at Salem, Massachusetts, where 
he had a grant of land in 1640, residing 
in that part of the town called Northfields 
until 1651. In 1652 he sold his Salem 
property and bought land in Topsfield 

where he died about 1672. His widow 
died in 1682. They were the parents of 
ten children, two of whom were put to 
death during the infernal “witchcraft de- 
lusion,” which left so black a spot on the 
history of Massachusetts. Children : Re- 
becca, baptized February 21, 1621, ex- 
ecuted for witchcraft in Salem, July 19, 
1692, wife of Francis Nourse; John, bap- 
tized February 16, 1624; Susannah, bap- 
tized October 20, 1625; Edmund, baptized 
June 28, 1628; Jacob, baptized March 11, 
1632; Mary, baptized August 24, 1634, 
executed for witchcraft at Salem, Sep- 
tember 22, 1692, wife of Isaac Estey; 
Sarah, baptized September 3, 1648; 

Joseph, of further mention. 

(II) Joseph Towne, son of William and 
Joanna (Blessing) Towne, was born 
about 1639, baptized September 3, 1649, 
resided in Salem until March 22, 1690, 
then moved to Topsfield, where he was a 
member of the church, and died in 1713. 
He married Phebe Perkins, daughter of 
Thomas Perkins, of Topsfield. Children: 
Phebe, born May 4, 1666, died young; 
Joanna, born January 22, 1668, married 
Thomas Nichols, December 15, 1694, 
lived in Sutton ; Mary, born March 27, 
1670; Susannah, born December 24, 1671, 
married John Cummings, January 23, 
1688, died September 13, 1776; Joseph, of 
further mention ; Sarah, born December 
30, 1675, died November 1, 1760; John, 
born February 20, 1678; Martha, born 
May 19, 1680, married Isaac Leach; 
Phebe, born July 23, 1685, married Mr. 
Newhall; he died June 10, 1736. 

(III) Joseph (2) Towne, son of Joseph 
(1) and Phebe (Perkins) Towne, was 
born at Topsfield, Massachusetts, March 
22, 1673, died May 28, 1757. He mar- 
ried (first) Margaret Case, of Salem, No- 
vember 9, 1699: married (second) Abigail 
Curtis, November 5, 1707; married (third) 
Mary Mower, February 21, 1730. Chil- 


dren of first wife : Margaret, born Au- 
gust 6, l/OO, died January 5, 1757, mar- 
ried Samuel Perkins, August 22, 1723; 
Joseph, born December 26, 1701 ; Arche- 
laus, August 31, 1703; Israel, of further 
mention. By his second wife Joseph 
Towne had ten children and by his third 
wife one child. 

(IV) Israel Towne, son of Joseph (2) 

Towne and his first wife, Margaret (Case) 
Towne, was born at Topsfield, Massa- 
chusetts, March 24, 1705, died at Amherst, 
New Hampshire, in 1791. He was one of 
the early settlers of Narragansett, after- 
ward named Souhegan, and incorporated 
as Amherst in 1760. The first settlement 
was made there in 1734, and September 
22, 1741, when the church was organized, 
the name of Captain Israel Towne ap- 
peared. He married, May 23, 1729, Grace 
Gardner, of Middletown, who died in 
1803. Children: Thomas, born 1732; 

Archelaus, 1734; Israel, of further men- 
tion; Moses, born May 6, 1739; Gardner, 
born June 6, 1741, married Abigail Hop- 
kins, no issue ; Elizabeth, born May 28, 
1745, died July 16, 1794; Susannah, born 
May 28, 1748, married Timothy Nichols 
October 2, 1779; Mary, born April 20, 
1751, died August 29, 1781. 

(V) Israel (2) Towne, son of Israel 

(1) and Grace (Gardner) Towne, was 
born at Topsfield, Massachusetts, No- 
vember 16, 1736, died at Stoddard, New 
Hampshire, April 28, 1813. He went with 
his parents to Amherst, New Hampshire, 
and there married, July 31, 1760, Lydia, 
daughter of Benjamin Hopkins. Chil- 
dren : Israel, of further mention ; Wil- 
liam, born July 21, 1763; Gardner, May 
1, 1765; Benjamin, March 23, 1767; An- 
drew, July 11, 1769; Lydia, April 11, 
1772, died August 28, 1777; Daniel, born 
August 20, 1774; Hannah, August 28, 
1776, died October, 1872, aged ninety-six; 
married Ebenezer Bancroft, of Dunstable. 

(VI) Israel (3) Towne, son of Israel 

(2) and Lydia (Hopkins) Towne, was 
born at Stoddard, New Hampshire, June 
14, 1761, and died May 2, 1848. He mar- 
ried Hannah Abbott, of Stoddard, who 
died March 9, 1847. Children : Lydia, 
born September 11, 1781, died June 28. 
1878, married Oliver Hodgman ; Arche- 
laus, born November 29, 1782; Israel, 
of further mention ; Hannah, born Octo- 
ber 9, 1786, died July 28, 1864, married 
Asa Copeland, April 2, 1809; Esther, born 
June 24, 1788, died August 23, 1871, mar- 
ried Isaac Howe, of Milford, New Hamp- 
shire, October 15, 1809; Grace, born 
March 24, 1790, killed by a falling tree; 
Gardner, born February 16, 1792; Eben- 
ezer, August 3, 1795 ; Lucy, born August 
16, 1797, died February 11, 1888. 

(VII) Israel (4) Towne, son of Israel 

(3) and Hannah (Abbott) Towne, was 
born at Stoddard, New Hampshire, No- 
vember 22, 1784 or 85, died at Amherst, 
New r Hampshire, October 25, 1858. He 
married (first) June 14, 1812, Clarissa 
Weld, of Boston, born December 3, 1 795 • 
died January 13, 1815; married (second) 
July 23, 1815, Sarah L. Brazier, born June 
11, 1796, died May 22, 1874. Children by 
first wife: Sarah, born February 8, 1813, 
died April 15, 1813; Clarissa Weld, born 
October 9, 1814, married Elijah Bagnall, 
of Chelsea. Children by second wife : 
Maria B„ born August 7, 1817; Pamelia 
C, born May 1, 1822, died 1887, married 
Zephaniah Bassett; Hannah C., born 
April 5, 1825, died 1887, married W. Wes- 
ton Wilson, July 2, 1856; Betsey Eliza- 
beth B., born March 29, 1827, married 
William J. Weston, February 14, 1850; 
James Weld, of further mention; Emily 
R., born June 14, 1832; William Henry, 
May 27, 1835; Charles G., July 12, 1838. 

(VIII) James Weld Towne, son of Is- 
rael (4) Towne and his second wife, Sarah 
L. (Brazier) Towne, was born at Am- 


herst, New Hampshire, May 29, 1829. His 
boyhood was spent in Amherst and Mil- 
ford, New Hampshire, and he learned 
the printer’s trade in the office of the 
“Farmers Cabinet,” of Amherst. For a 
short time he was a journeyman printer 
in Boston, but in 1852 he journeyed to 
San Francisco and engaged in the print- 
ing business very successfully, being a 
member of the pioneer printing firm, 
Whiton, Towne & Company, later a mem- 
ber of the firm, Towne & Bacon. In 1868 
his health failed and he returned East, 
locating at East Orange, New Jersey, act- 
ing as New York resident partner of the 
San Francisco paper house of Blake, Mof- 
fitt & Towne. 

He married (first) May 29, 1855, Cyn- 
thia Cowing, who died July 8, 1875, 
daughter of Joseph Gowing, of Amherst, 
Mr. Towne coming from California to 
claim his bride and taking her back with 
him. He married (second) October 3, 
1877, Rebecca Eames, of Wilmington, 
Massachusetts. Children, all by first wife: 
1. Arthur G., born May 12, 1856; mar- 
ried, May 14, 1885, Alice Wolcott Nichols 
and has James Wolcott and Arthur Wol- 
cott Towne; resides in San Francisco. 2. 
Emma, born August 18, 1858; married 
Hugo Richards and moved to Prescott, 
Arizona. 3. Carrie, born December 18, 
1861 ; married Frank W. Wilson, of East 
Orange, New Jersey. 4. Frank Beckwith, 
born January 7, 1865 ; married, at Lock 
Haven, Pennsylvania, June 21, 1894. Har- 
riet A. Peale, daughter of S. Richard and 
Harriet (Alter) Peale; child, Richard 
Peale, born in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
October 5, 1899; an adopted daughter, 
Barbara Boynton, born August 5, 1904. 
5. Edward S., born April 18, 1866; mar- 
ried at Richmond, Indiana, September 14, 
1893, Joanna Maude Hogan, daughter of 
John D. and Mary E. (Sands) Hogan; 
they reside in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 

and have a son, Herbert Sands Towne, 
born October 9, 1899, at Holyoke. 6. 
Charles, born in 1868, died in infancy. 7. 
William, born in 1870, died in infancy. 8. 
Bessie, born December 8, 1871, died 1886. 
9. Joseph M., born July 7, 1875. 

LAWRENCE, Hiram Bartlett, 


Among the educators of Massachusetts 
who have left a name indelibly stamped 
upon the community should be placed 
first Hiram Bartlett Lawrence, late of 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, who served the 
public schools of that city for the greater 
part of his useful life of seventy years, the 
last thirty-eight of which were as prin- 
cipal of Appleton street school, this period 
covering the years from 1872 until his 
death in 1910. He was the dean of the 
Holyoke corps of educators and in but 
few instances has his term, of active teach- 
ing service been exceeded in the entire 
State. Thoroughly consecrated to his 
work, he was more to his pupils than a 
teacher, he was their friend, their guide 
and their inspiration. The good influence 
he exerted over them in the school con- 
tinued after they passed from under his 
teachings and his memory is warmly 
cherished by men and women now in the 
sere and yellow leaf, who recall his deep 
interest in their welfare and his many acts 
of kindness. Thousands of boys and girls 
passed through the Appleton street school 
during those thirty-eight years and in 
each he felt a personal interest, and his 
ambition was that the Appleton street 
school should be to them a true Alma 
Mater in shaping the course of their lives. 
Many of those scholars were men and 
women of Holyoke when Mr. Lawrence 
ended his earthly career, and it was in 
response to a strong public sentiment 
created by them that the board of educa- 


tion renamed the Appleton street school 
and honored the man who had so long 
been its head by calling it the Lawrence 
School, thus officially designating it by 
the name the public had long before given 
it. And truly in the Lawrence School his 
influence permeated every department 
and inspired every teacher and every 
pupil to their best endeavor. 

The years spent in Holyoke schools did 
not cover Mr. Lawrence’s entire career as 
an educator, for both in Maine, his native 
State, and in New Hampshire he had been 
principal of high school and academy. He 
educated himself for the profession of law 
and was regularly admitted to the Maine 
bar, but being compelled to teach in order 
to finance his college education, he de- 
veloped a deep love for that profession 
and after a short period of law practice 
he followed the leadings of his heart and 
gave himself to the cause of education. 

On the paternal side Mr. Lawrence 
traced his ancestry to Robert Lawrence, 
who, about 1664, left England, going to 
Holland, coming thence to Massachusetts 
and settling at Sandwich, Barnstable 
county. In this branch he traced his de- 
scent to Sir Robert Lawrence, who at- 
tended his sovereign, Richard Coeur de 
Lion, to the Holy Land and as a Crusader 
won high honors. He particularly dis- 
tinguished himself at the siege of Acre 
and was knighted Sir Robert of Ashton 
Hall. Fifteen generations of the family 
flourished in England ere the transplant- 
ing to America where the name is an 
equally honored one. On his mother’s 
side Mr. Lawrence traced to Robert Bart- 
lett, who came to America on the ship 
“Ann” in July, 1623, settled at Plymouth, 
Massachusetts, where he was prominent 
in early Colonial affairs and founded one 
of the strong New England families. 

Hiram Bartlett Lawrence, son of Oliver 
A. and Lemira (Bartlett) Lawrence, was 

born in Wayne, Kennebec county, Maine, 
March 8, 1840, and died at his home in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, December 20, 
1910. His boyhood was passed on the 
home farm, the winter months being de- 
voted to school work, the summer months 
to farm labor. After exhausting the ad- 
vantages offered by the Wayne schools he 
attended Towle Academy at Winthrop, 
then taught for two winter terms in Ken- 
nebec county schools. He spent one year 
as a student at Maine State Seminary at 
Lewiston, entering Bowdoin College at 
Brunswick, Maine, in 1862. He spent four 
years at that institution, paying his own 
way with money earned during vacation 
periods. He won high honors at college 
and was class orator of the graduating 
class of 1866. He had decided upon the 
profession of law and registered as a law 
student in a lawyer’s office at Gardiner, 
Maine, pursuing his law studies in con- 
nection with his duties as principal of the 
Gardiner High School. On August 11, 
1866, he was admitted to the Maine bar 
and he formed a partnership and began 
his legal practice. Shortly afterward his 
partner died, and after due consideration 
and no suitable partner being available, 
he decided to abandon the law and dedi- 
cate his life to the profession of teaching, 
in which he had already proved a success 
and to which he felt strongly drawn. His 
first position after arriving at that de- 
cision was as principal of the Gardiner 
High School, of Gardiner, Maine. After 
completing his work there he next went 
to Penacook Academy, New Hampshire, 
where he remained until 1872, when he 
was elected principal of the Appleton 
street school, Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
and in that position the remaining thirty- 
eight years of his life were passed. Apple- 
ton street school was organized in 1864 
and had three principals prior to Mr. 
Lawrence, he taking charge in 1872. His 


term of service exceeded that of any 
teacher ever connected with the Holyoke 
schools, and in recognition of his long 
and valuable service, his usefulness and 
his devotion, the school is now officially 
known as the Lawrence School, a fitting 
tribute to his long and faithful service. 
But his monument is in the hearts of all 
who personally came within the circle of 
his influence, and their “name is legion,” 
including the youth of two generations, 
there being scarcely a family of standing 
in Holyoke in which one or more mem- 
bers do not lovingly recall their school 
years at the Appleton street school under 
his instruction, training and example. 

A lover of nature himself, he introduced 
the nature study, Appleton street school 
being the first school to form classes for 
indoor and outdoor nature study. The 
decoration and beautifying of school 
rooms and grounds was also due to his 
initiative, in fact, his progressive mind 
led in all modern forms of educating the 
young. He kept ever abreast of his times 
and in no particular did he lag behind. 
Llimself a man of education and culture, 
he craved the same advantages for the 
youth of Holyoke, and by earnest, efficient 
work he brought boards of education, par- 
ents and pupils to a higher plane of 
thought and accomplished much of the 
desire of his heart. He was well-known 
in educational circles beyond his own city 
and often employed his talents as a writer 
and platform speaker. He was made a 
Mason in 1868, belonged to Ionic Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons; Psi Upsilon 
fraternity, Western Massachusetts Gram- 
mar Masters’ Club, “The Club,” of Hol- 
yoke, a literary organization ; and the 
Second Congregational Church. In poli- 
tics he was a Republican. He was very 
popular in these organizations, in fact, his 
genial manner, unfailing courtesy and in- 
tellectual gifts were an “open sesame” to 
any circle. 

Mr. Lawrence married, December 29, 
1875, Mary J. Day, daughter of Horace 
R. and Mary J. (Wiggins) Day. (See Day 
family elsewhere in this work.) She is 
a graduate of Holyoke High School, and 
prior to her marriage taught in the Wil- 
liam Whiting and Appleton street schools 
of Holyoke. She survives her husband 
and continues her residence in Holyoke. 
Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence were the parents 
of three children: Ray, died in infancy; 
Genevieve, died at two and one-half years 
of age; Vera, wife of Raymond E. Snow, 
who is connected with the office of the 
chief engineer of the water department of 
the city of Springfield, Massachusetts, son 
of W. H. Snow, a former manager of the 
Holyoke Gas and Electric Company, now 
filling a similar position at New Bedford, 
Massachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. Raymond 
E. Snow have two children : Raymond 
Lawrence and Norma. 

WRIGHT, Burton Henry, 

Prominent Insurance Actuary. 

The Wright family was established in 
Connecticut in its earliest colonial his- 
tory, the immigrant ancestor having been 
Benjamin Wright, who came from Bol- 
ton, or Swale, in the north of England, 
and settled at Guilford, Connecticut, early 
in the history of that plantation. His 
name does not appear in the first list of 
planters who went there in 1639, but as 
only the names of heads of families are 
given, he may have been of the number. 
He took the oath of fidelity, as shown by 
the town record, May 9, 1645. In Sep- 
tember of that year permission was 
granted him by the authorities to put up 
a tan mill and to take water “yt issueth 
from ye waste gate provided it hurt not 
ye town mill,” In 1650 a list of planters 
was made out, also a list of freemen, and 
his name appears in the former but not 
in the latter, probably because he was not 


a church member. Guilford allowed only 
members of its church to be freemen, 
while other colonies allowed members of 
any approved New England church. In 
1659, four years before the survey and 
allotment of land on what is now Main 
street, Clinton, he was a freeman living 
at Kenilworth, which later became Kill- 
ing-worth, and is now Clinton ; his home 
here is supposed to have been nearly op- 
posite the Pierce Jones place, on the old 
Clinton and Westbrook road. 

He was apparently a very large land- 
holder, and was said to have been a 
squatter on the land on the west side of 
the Menunkelesue river near its mouth. 
His farm included the land given to Rev. 
James Fitch, then of Saybrook, by the 
General Court, and this land he after- 
ward bought of Fitch. For some years 
he lived a solitary life on his beautiful 
promontory, four miles from the nearest 
white settlement, having an abundance of 
oysters, fish, and clams in front, and in 
the thick forests north and west of his 
residence a plenty of game. In Guilford 
he owned land where the Guilford Insti- 
tute now stands, as well as the home on 
the present corner of Main and State 
streets. In 1701 he gave his land in East 
Guilford to his son-in-law, Joseph Hand, 
and his wife ; there is frequent mention 
made of his property in Saybrook. He 
was of an aggressive disposition, stoutly 
defending what he thought to be right, 
and frequently coming into conflict with 
the authorities upon questions of opinion. 
He was a Catholic, and fought under 
King Charles I., coming to New England 
when the latter was deposed by Crom- 
well. Benjamin Wright died March 29, 
1677. Children : Benjamin, lived to be a 
freeman but died without heirs; Joseph 
and James, acquired considerable prop- 
erty in addition to their inheritance ; 
John; Jonathan, married Asena Hand 
and removed to Wethersfield; Jane, mar- 

ried Joseph Hand, of Long Island ; Eliza- 
beth, married Edward Lee, or Lay, of 
Guilford; Anna, married John Walstone, 
and at his death, Dr. Peter Dallman. 

(II) James Wright, son of Benjamin 
Wright, was born in 1643, died in 1727. 
He and his brother Joseph had difficulty 
in the division of their father’s estate. In 
1791 a committee appointed by the Colo- 
nial General Assembly brought in their 
report concerning the boundary which 
was accepted by the General Assembly 
and confirmed to be a final issue of all 
controversy. In general terms, the land 
between Killingworth and Saybrook was 
made the boundary of their farms, James 
holding on the Saybrook side and Joseph 
on the Killingworth side. James is sup- 
posed to have resided at what has been 
known more recently as the Abner Kirt- 
land place. The records of Oyster River 
Quarter show that he was a large land- 
owner, deeds of land aggregating several 
hundred acres located in what is now the 
town of Westbrook having been given by 
him to various persons between 1720 and 
1727. His wife, Hannah (Walstone) 
Wright, who came from England to 
marry him upon the advice of a mutual 
friend, died in 1719. A memorial tablet 
reciting some of these facts regarding 
Tames and Hannah Wright is still to be 
found in the Clinton Cemetery. Children: 
1. James, married (first) Sarah Wise, by 
whom he had a son, James; married (sec- 
ond) Judith Bushnell, by whom he had a 
son, Samuel, from whom are descended 
the Wrights- of Pond Meadow. Two 
brothers of a later generation of this 
branch, Joab and John, went to New 
Durham, New York; and from one of 
them descended Silas Wright, Governor 
of New York and United States Senator 
from that State. 2. Benjamin, mentioned 
further. 3. Mercy, married William Stan- 
nard ; one of their descendants, Daniel 
Stannard, was a resident of Westbrook. 



(III) Benjamin (2) Wright, son of 
James and Hannah (Walstone) Wright, 
was married in 1705 to Elizabeth Hand, 
of Southampton, Long Island, who, it is 
asserted by some authorities, was a 
daughter of Joseph and Jane (Wright) 
Hand, and thus a cousin to her husband. 
It is elsewhere stated that she was a 
daughter of Benjamin and Elizabeth 
(Whittier) Hand. The date of her death 
is given in the Westbrook church records 
as 1767, when she was ninety years of 
age. Benjamin Wright died in 1751. 
Children: Benjamin; Jeremiah; Josiah, 
mentioned further; David; Prudence; 
Lydia and Elizabeth. There is record of 
but two, Josiah, who had an estate on 
Horse Hill, and David, who had a large 
estate by the sea, extending to the main 
road between Saybrook and Killing- 
worth ; and tradition says they quarreled 
over the fisheries. David, who was born 
in 1716, died in 1760 of smallpox in a pest 
house on Duck Island, and was buried on 
his own land. Llis memorial is on a large 
rock in the Grove at Grove Beach, Clin- 
ton. Among his descendants were Jede- 
diah and Oramel Wright, of Westbrook, 
Edward and Doty Wright, of Clinton, and 
Martha Wright, who became Mrs. Steu- 
ben Lay, of Horse Hill. William Wright, 
who served as Governor of New Jersey 
and as United States Senator from that 
State, was also one of David’s descend- 
ants. He had a son connected with a for- 
eign legation, whose daughter was the 
wife of Baron Gerold, who was at one 
time ambassador from Holland to this 
country, and subsequently ambassador 
from Holland to Russia. She lived in 
Europe; her son, also Baron Gerold, was 
minister from Holland at Washington, 
and very proud of his American ancestry. 

(IV) Josiah Wright, son of Benjamin 
(2) and Elizabeth (Hand) Wright, was 
born in 1708, and died in 1783. He lived 

on what is now known as the Josiah 
Wright farm, a short distance west of the 
Horse Hill school house, which is a struc- 
ture standing back in the fields a little 
way from the present highway. It is 
evident that he was a large landowner, 
having in his possession nearly all of 
what is now the Horse Hill district. In 
1745 a petition was presented to the Gen- 
eral Assembly signed by Thomas Spencer, 
Michael Hill, Thomas Spencer, Jr., Josiah 
Wright, Josiah Wilcox, Job Bulkley, 
Daniel Edwards, and Ebenezer Platts, of 
the towns of Saybrook and Killingworth, 
declaring that they are sober dissenters 
from the worship and ministry estab- 
lished by the laws of this government; 
that they are of the persuasion of th*e 
people called Baptists, and are true Prot- 
estants, and pray for the indulgence of 
this Assembly. Their petition was granted 
on the condition that they take the oath 
prescribed by Parliament in such cases. 
These eight were doubtless among the 
founders of the Baptist church at Win- 
throp, which was organized in 1744, with 
seventeen members. In 1735 Josiah 
Wright married Rhoda Dowd, born in 
1714, died in 1790, daughter of Cornelius 
Dowd, of Madison ; the marriage is found 
in the Westbrook church record. Chil- 
dren: 1. Jeremiah, born in 1738; lived on 
Horse Hill just north of what is now 
known as the William Burghardt house; 
married Hannah Brown and had two chil- 
dren : Jeremiah, and Lucretia, who be- 
came Mrs. Nathan Stannard. 2. Josiah, 
mentioned further. 3. Ezekiel, occupied 
part of the farm near his father’s house, 
living in the house afterwards belonging 
to his grandson Josiah, and had children: 
David, Jonathan, Josiah, Ezekiel, Mrs. 
Justus Clark, Mrs. Barber Grinnell, Mrs. 
William Johnson, and Mrs. Burghardt. 4. 
Mary. 5. Rhoda. 6. Prudence. 7. Jane, 
married David Thompson. 8. Elizabeth. 



It is thought that one of these daughters 
married a Mr. Burghardt. 

(V) Josiah (2) Wright, son of Josiah 
(1) and Rhoda (Dowd) Wright, was born 
in 1739, and according to the Westbrook 
church records, was baptized in 1740. He 
died in 1832, at the great age of ninety- 
three years. In 1761 he married Lydia, 
daughter of Joseph Whittlesey, and they 
lived in the southern part of the Horse 
Hill district, at what in recent years was 
known as “Uncle Ben’s place.” Children : 
1. Martin, mentioned further. 2. and 3. 
Paul and Cornelius, removed in early 
manhood, the one to western Vermont, 
the other to Albany, New Y r ork, both 
rearing large families and having de- 
scendants scattered throughout the Mid- 
dle and Western States. 4. Benjamin, 
passed his early life at the John Kelsey 
place, in Kelseytown, and having received 
as a gift all his father’s property, both 
real and personal, removed later to the 
old home on Horse Hill. 5. Lois, had a 
daughter, Lois, who married Israel Pel- 
tier, having a daughter, Eliza, married 
Asa Penfield, who had a daughter that 
became Mrs. Bela Post, and resided in 
Centrebrook, Middlesex county. 6. Hul- 
dah, married Daniel de Wolfe, of the Pond 
Meadow district, Westbrook, and had 
three sons, Harvey, John, and Daniel; 
Harvey and Daniel became Methodist 

(VI) Martin Wright, son of Josiah (2) 
and Lydia (Whittlesey) Wright, was 
born in 1767, and died in 1826. He occu- 
pied a house just south of the site of the 
present Martin Wright house. In 1792, 
he married Dolly Benjamin, who was 
born about 1765, died in 1848. She came 
with her father’s family from Long Island 
to the Connecticut shore, when the British 
army took possession of New York and 
the western end of Long Island, in Au- 
gust, 1776. It is said that her father and 

brothers were in the Revolutionary War. 
Children: Richard, born 1793, died 1872; 
Daniel, born 1795, died 1872; Martin, 
mentioned further; Russell, born 1799, 
died 1885; Josiah, born 1803, died 1893. 
Richard, Martin, and Russell passed all 
their lives in the towns of Westbrook and 
Clinton ; Daniel resided in Westbrook ; 
Josiah removed, 1850-51, to Council 
Bluffs, Iowa, thence in a few years to 
Utah where his descendants now reside. 

(VII) Martin (2) Wright, son of Mar- 
tin (1) and Dolly (Benjamin) Wright, 
was born in June, 1797, and died in 1883. 
He was a farmer on Horse Hill and was 
considered a prominent man in his day, 
serving for many years as justice of the 
peace. In 1820 he married Betsey Wright, 
born in 1799, died in 1876, daughter of 
Jeremiah and Rachel Wright. Children: 
1. Charles Benjamin, born March 31, 1821, 
residing in California since 1872. 2. John 
Burghardt, mentioned further. 3. Amelia 
Matilda, born April 26, 1825 ; married 
David L. Wright and resides in Middle- 
town. 4. Rachel Adelia, born August 28, 
1827; married (first) Alpheus Wright, of 
Westbrook, (second) a Mr. Martin, of 
Boston, residing at Marshfield Hills, 
Massachusetts. 5. Martin Jeremiah, born 
October 26, 1829; resided in California 
since i860, where he became a prominent 
citizen. 6. Cornelia Elizabeth, born Feb- 
ruary 19, 1832; married Joel Northam, of 
Westbrook, and after his death Eliphalet 
Killam, of New Haven, residing at the 
latter place. 7. Henry William, born 
February 5, 1836; became a Methodist 
minister, and since 1875 has been con- 
nected with the Detroit Conference. 8. 
Alfred Mortimer, married and left de- 
scendants. 9. Edgar Lester, born De- 
cember 23, 1840, died January 14, 1843. 

(VIII) John Burghardt Wright, son 
of Martin (2) and Betsey (Wright) 
Wright, was born January 28, 1823, and 



died April 25, 1892, at Clinton, Connecti- 
cut. He married Rachel Florida Stan- 
nard, of Winthrop, Saybrook town, Con- 
necticut. Children: 1. Edgar F., de- 

ceased. 2. Elmer F., deceased. 3. O. 
Scott, resides in New Haven; married 
Louise Morgan Willcox, January 6, 1870, 
who bore him four children, two of whom 
are living. 4. John B., married (first) 
Alice Goodrich, who bore him three chil- 
dren, married (second) Minnie Russell, 
no issue, resides in Greene, Maine. 5. 
Burton Henry, mentioned further. 6. 
Jennie Estelle, married John G. Johnson, 
and they have two children; resides at 
No. 1347 Oak street, Washington, D. C. 
7. Nellie Blanche, unmarried, resides in 
Clinton, Connecticut. 8. Josephine Mary, 
died unmarried. 

(IX) Burton Henry Wright, son of 
John Burghardt and Rachel Florida 
(Stannard) Wright, was born January 12, 
1859, at Killingworth, Connecticut. His 
education was acquired at the Morgan 
School, Clinton, Connecticut. He began 
his business career in that town, in 1878, 
being employed for a year in the National 
Bank. In 1879 he removed to Worcester, 
Massachusetts, where he entered the em- 
ploy of the State Mutual Life Insurance 
Company as a junior clerk He evinced 
great natural ability, and by his industry 
and application rose to a more important 
position in the company, receiving pro- 
motion after promotion until he was ap- 
pointed cashier, which position he held 
for many years. Later he was appointed 
superintendent of agencies for the United 
States, which responsible post he con- 
tinued to fill with great satisfaction until 
January, 1908, when he became secretary 
of the company. He continued thus until 
the year 1910, and at the January meet- 
ing of the board of directors he was 
elected president to succeed Mr. A. G. 
Bullock. Mr. Wright is a man of pleas- 

ing personality and has many friends 
both in business and social circles. He 
belongs to a number of clubs among 
which are the Worcester, Tatnuck Coun- 
try, Quinsigamond and Boat clubs. 

Mr. Wright married, October 18, 1892, 
Margaret McLeod Shepard, daughter of 
the Rev. Peter Lake and Mary Anna 
(Burr) Shepard, of Saybrook, Connecti- 
cut (see Shepard IX). Mrs. Wright re- 
ceived her education at her father’s pri- 
vate school in Saybrook, where he taught 
some years prior to his entering the min- 
istry. Mr. and Mrs. Wright are the par- 
ents of two sons: Shepard, born July 30, 
1893, and John Burghardt, born Decem- 
ber 12, 1897, at Worcester, Massachu- 

(The Shepard Line). 

(I) It is supposed that Edward Shep- 
ard, ancestor of this family in America, 
came from England, but no mention of 
him is found prior to his appearance in 
New England; nor has any connection 
been discovered between him and some 
half dozen other Shepards who came to 
this country about the same time. There 
is no record of his marriage, but Violet 
Shepard died January 9, 1648-49. The 
daughter of Mary Pond married John 
Blackman, and their first child was born 
August 10, 1656. It is very likely, there- 
fore, that Mrs. Mary Pond lived at Cam- 
bridge before her marriage with Edward 
Shepard, as her first husband, Robert 
Pond, died in 1637. Daniel Pond, who 
married Abigail Shepard, was probably 
her son ; and she must have brought other 
children with her to Cambridge. Edward 
Shepard’s name, and that of his son, John 
Shepard, appear in the town and county 
records in various places until 1680-81, 
when his will was proved, August 20, 
1680, and John sold the homestead, Sep- 
tember 18, 1681, to Owen Warland. That 
Edward Shepard was a mariner appears 


Mass — 5 — 18 


upon his own assertion in deeds and in 
his will. The exact date of his death is 
not known. Children : John, mentioned 
further; Elizabeth, born 1629; Abigail, 
1631 ; Deborah, 1633; Sarah, 1636. There 
is no record of any children by Mary 

(II) John Shepard, son of Edward 
Shepard, was born in England, in 1627, 
died June 12, 1707. He was made a freeman 
at Cambridge, May 22, 1650; and it is 
supposed that he moved to Hartford after 
the birth of his son Thomas, in 1666, as 
this is the last birth recorded at Cam- 
bridge. The first mention of him in Hart- 
ford is found in 1654. Hinman says that 
he was “a man of consequence in the 
colony,” and he was known as Sergeant 
John Shepard. He lived in Hartford on 
what is now known as Lafayette street, 
just south of the new State house, and 
owned lands to the Wethersfield bounds. 
He married (first) October 1, 1649, Re- 
becca, daughter of Samuel Greenhill ; she 
died December 22, 1689. He married 
(second) Susannah, widow of William 
Goodwin, Sr., of Hartford ; married 
(third) September8, 1698, Martha, widow 
of John Henbury, who survived him. 
Children, all by first wife: Rebecca, born 
1650; John, mentioned further; Sarah, 
born 1656, married Benajah Stone, of 
Guilford, Connecticut; Violet; Elizabeth, 
born 1660; Edward, 1662, married and 
left children; Samuel, 1664; Thomas, 
1666; Deborah, Abigail, and Hannah. 

(III) John (2) Shepard, son of John 
(1) and Rebecca (Greenhill) Shepard, 
was born January 22, 1653 ; his will dated 
August 1, 1728, was proven April 6, 1736. 
He was deacon in the South Church at 
Hartford. He married (first) Hannah, 
daughter of Deacon Paul Peck, (sec- 
ond) Mary Benton, widow of Jonathan 
Bigelow. Children: John, mentioned fur- 
ther; Samuel, born 1684; Hannah, 1688; 

Joseph, 1689; Rebecca, 1696; Timothy, 
1697; Rebecca, 1698. 

(IV) John (3) Shepard, son of John 
(2) and Hannah (Peck) Shepard, was 
born November 1, 1681. He purchased a 
house in Milford from Sylvanus Baldwin, 
in 1708. He married, October 9, 1707, 
Abigail, daughter of Gideon and Sarah 
Allen, from the Third Church at Boston. 
He probably died in 1719, and his widow 
married Daniel Foote, of Stratford and 
Newtown, dying in 1755. Children: John, 
mentioned further; Rebecca, born 1710, 
married Joseph Peck; Abigail, 1713, mar- 
ried Peter Perritt ; Flannah, 1715; Timo- 
thy, March 22, 1718. From these two 
sons, John and Timothy, are descended 
the numerous Shepards emanating from 
Newtown, Connecticut. 

(V) John (4) Shepard, son of John (3) 

and A