(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Encyclopedia of Massachusetts, biographical--genealogical"

974.4 
Enlm 
v.7 
1233375 



GENEALOGY COL-LECTION 






ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY 



3 1833 00083 6046 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center 



http://www.archive.org/details/encyclopediaofma07cutt 



jEtttiiclopeftta cf jlassachusetts 



Biographical — Genealogical 



Compiled with the Assistance of a 

Capable Corps of Advisers and Contributors 



ILLUSTRATED 



THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY (Inc.) 

NEW YORK PUBLISHERS CHICAGO 



Both justice and decency require that we should bestow on our forefathers 
an honorable remembrance — Thucydides 






BIOGRAPHICAL 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



.V 



RHODES, Marcus Arnold 

Manufacturer. 

The Rhodes family has been a con- 
tinuous one in Massachusetts for more 
than two hundred and seventy-five years, 
members of which in succeeding gen- 
erations have given a good account of 
themselves in the business and social life 
of the communities in which they have 
abided, rising to useful and substantial 
citizenship, and as well to responsible 
public trust. This article is to particu- 
larly treat of the branch of this family to 
which belonged the late Marcus Morton 
Rhodes, of Taunton, Massachusetts, one 
of the highly honored and respected 
citizens of that community, and who was 
the head of a family which has figured so 
conspicuously in the business history of 
that city, the father of sons whose careers 
have been marked in industrial, moral 
and social circles, and whose generous 
deeds and good citizenship are univer- 
sally conceded and commended. The an- 
cestral line of this branch of this family, 
from the first American ancestor, which 
follows, is given in chronological order, 
the Roman numerals indicating the 
generations. 

(I) Henry Rhodes, born in 1608, in 
England, is of record at Lynn, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1640, where he was an iron- 
monger, residing on the east side of the 
Saugus river, and some of his descend- 
ants still reside in that section. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth , and his family 

comprised children, as follows : Eleazer, 
born in February, 1641 ; Samuel, Febru- 
ary, 1643, married, in 1684, Abigail 
Coates; Joseph, January, 1645, married, 



in 1674, Jane Coates ; Joshua, April, 1648, 
married, in 1678, Ann Graves; Josiah, 
mentioned below; Jonathan, May, 1654; 
and Elizabeth, 1657. 

(II) Josiah Rhodes, son of Henry and 
Elizabeth Rhodes, was born in April, 
1651, and married, in 1673, Elizabeth 
Coates, and to this union were born chil- 
dren as follows: Henry, 1674; Eliza- 
beth, 1676; Mary, 1677, died in infancy; 
John, 1679, died in infancy; Josiah, Jr., 
1681; Eleazer, July 8, 1683; J°hn (2), 
March 22, 1685; Mary (2), March 26, 
1687; and Jonathan, September 18, 1692. 

(III) Eleazer Rhodes, son of Josiah 
and Elizabeth (Coates) Rhodes, was 
born July 8, 1683, and married, November 
21, 1710, Jemima Preble, and to this 
union were born children : John, Sep- 
tember 9, 171 1 ; Jemima, December 19, 
1712; Eleazer, Jr., January 16, 1714-15; 
Stephen, mentioned below; Josiah, 1718; 
Mary (Lynn vital records say Sarah), 
August 24, 1719; Joseph, September 8, 
1721 ; Benjamin, 1723; Elizabeth, May 
26, 1726; Samuel, April 24, 1728; Joshua, 
August 19, 1730; and Mary, April 14, 
1733. Eleazer Rhodes removed with his 
family to Stoughtonham, about 1720, and 
was constable in that town in 1725-26, 
and there died in 1742, his widow being 
administratrix of his estate. 

(IV) Stephen Rhodes, son of Eleazer 
and Jemima (Preble) Rhodes, was born 
February 1, 1716-17, in Lynn, Massachu- 
setts, and married (intentions published 
October 25, 1740) Deliverance Walcot, 
who was born November 15, 1724, 
daughter of William Walcot, of Attle- 
boro, Massachusetts. Their children 
were : Stephen, Jr., mentioned below ; 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Daniel, Simeon, and Deliverance. The 
father died January 23, 1792, and the 
mother September 4, 1804. 

(V) Stephen (2) Rhodes, son of Ste- 
phen (1) and Deliverance (Walcot) 
Rhodes, married, January 18, 1764, Mary 
Boyden, who was born May II, 1744, of 
Walpole, Massachusetts, and their chil- 
dren were : Millie, who married a Mr. 
Plimpton ; Mary, born August 24, 1767, 
married Jesse Pratt ; Aaron, who married 
Mary Wilkinson ; and Stephen, men- 
tioned below. Stephen Rhodes, Jr., died 
in 1770, inventory of his estate being 
taken by John Boyden. He is of record 
as having enlisted in February, 1760, for 
service in the French and Indian War. 
His widow married for her second hus- 
band, on November 24, 1775, Asa Morse. 

(VI) Stephen (3) Rhodes, son of Ste- 
phen (2) and Mary (Boyden) Rhodes, 
was born October 17, 1769, and married 
(first) Anna (Daniels) Carpenter, who 
was born March 27, 1763, daughter of 
Francis Daniels, and widow of Nehemiah 
Carpenter, of Foxboro, Massachusetts. 
The children born of this union were: 
Achsah, April 14, 1793, died October 30, 
1795; Stephen, mentioned below; Susan, 
born May 10, 1797, married Ira Fair- 
banks, and died in 1864; Anna, July 5, 
1799, married John Corey; Mary, March 
20, 1804, married Ira French. Stephen 
(3) Rhodes married (second) March 20, 
181 5, Polly Carpenter, and she died April 
9, 1839, the mother of the following chil- 
dren : Catherine, born March 12, 1816, 
who married William Payson ; Maria, 
November 1, 1817, who married Stephen 
Coleman ; Martha, December 4, 1819, 
who married William Hitchcock; Eliza- 
beth C, May 20, 1824, who married a Mr. 
Greene; and Sarah, January 9, 1828, who 
died January 3, 1839. 

(VII) Stephen (4) Rhodes, son of Ste- 
phen (3) and Anna (Daniels-Carpenter) 



Rhodes, was born March 15, 1795. He 
was for many years connected with the 
straw hat industry, prominently identi- 
fied with Foxboro's industrial history. 
In 1835, with his family, he removed to 
Taunton, Massachusetts, and there went 
into the tack manufacturing business, 
under the firm name of S. Rhodes & Son, 
his son, Marcus M. Rhodes, being con- 
nected with him in this enterprise. They 
were among the first promoters of the 
industry that subsequently caused Taun- 
ton to be widely noted as the home of 
tack making. The business was estab- 
lished at Brittanniaville, the original site 
being that of the present plant of the 
Reed & Barton Company, occupying a 
part of the same building with the 
original silverware concern. Both con- 
cerns grew and prospered, and as a con- 
sequence the Rhodes works had to seek 
new quarters, establishing itself on Union 
street. Mr. Rhodes died in Taunton, 
October 24, 1874. On January 1, 1817, 
he married Betsey Bird, who was born 
July 10, 1795, daughter of Elijah and 
Sarah (Pratt) Bird, of Foxboro, Massa- 
chusetts (see Bird VI and Pratt VI). To 
this union were born the following chil- 
dren : 1. Lavinia, born October 17, 1817. 
2. Lucretia M., born September 2, 1819, 
died November 21, 1878. 3. Marcus Mor- 
ton, mentioned below. 4. Stephen Hol- 
brook, born November 7, 1825 ; married 
Elizabeth M. Godfrey; he was for many 
years prominent in the affairs of Taun- 
ton, where he was a member of the Board 
of Aldermen, and mayor of the city, later 
becoming president of the John Hancock 
Insurance Company, of Boston. 5. Mary 
Bird, born April 30, 1829. 6. John Corey, 
born October 10, 183 1 ; married (first) 
Sarah B. Perrigo, and (second) Caroline 
M. Jewett ; he was for many years a 
prominent manufacturer in New Bed- 
ford, Massachusetts, where he passed 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



away, July 15, 1916. 7. Almira Eliza- 
beth, born February 3, 1835. 8. Ellen 
Frances, born December 30, 1839. 

(VIII) Marcus Morton Rhodes, son of 
Stephen (4) and Betsey (Bird) Rhodes, 
was born January 22, 1822, in Foxboro, 
Massachusetts, and acquired his educa- 
tion in the common schools of Franklin, 
Foxboro and Taunton, and at the high 
school and Bristol Academy, of Taunton. 
After leaving school, he entered the tack 
factory of his father, where he familiar- 
ized himself with the details of the trade 
of making tacks and nails. At the age 
of twenty-one years he was taken into 
partnership with his father, becoming a 
member of the firm of S. Rhodes & Son. 
In the middle fifties the business was 
transferred to the Taunton Tack Com- 
pany, and Marcus M. Rhodes then 
started a new enterprise, the Dighton 
Manufacturing Company, engaged in the 
manufacture of tacks, of which he was 
agent and treasurer. A foible of feminine 
fashion which prevailed at that time gave 
a field for the making of hoop skirt trim- 
mings, which were a side line with the 
manufacture of tacks. This plant was in 
lower Dighton, opposite Berkley, on the 
Taunton river. In 1872, Mr. Rhodes 
established himself in the button manu- 
facturing industry, with which he was 
prominently identified throughout the re- 
mainder of his long and active life. Up 
to that time the shoe industry flourished 
in this part of Massachusetts, it being the 
day of the small shoe shops, which were 
scattered through the country in this 
section, but there had been a handicap as 
a result of the necessity of importing all 
the shoe buttons from the foreign coun- 
tries, France supplying most of them. 
Realizing the commercial value of a ma- 
chine that would turn out this line of 
buttons, Mr. Rhodes, who had an in- 
genious inventive faculty, set to work in 



this direction. A button works had been 
started in Connecticut, with an American 
designed machine, but the device had 
many imperfections, which rendered the 
enterprise a failure, and it had been aban- 
doned. Mr. Rhodes was more fortunate; 
the machine he invented for the purpose 
of making shoe buttons from papier- 
mache proved a success, and thereby the 
first successful shoe button manufactory 
in this country was established by him, 
under the firm name of M. M. Rhodes & 
Sons. Shoe hooks and other accessories 
were also manufactured for the trade by 
this new concern, which grew and pros- 
pered from the beginning, under the 
direction of Mr. Rhodes. His sons were 
associated with him in the business, which 
was incorporated under the laws of Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1888, as the M. M. Rhodes 
& Sons Company, of which he became 
president, continuing in that capacity un- 
til his death. 

Aside from his manufacturing enter- 
prises, Mr. Rhodes always displayed an 
active interest in civic affairs. He was 
one of the leading townsmen at the time 
the town government of Taunton was 
abandoned, and he had no opposition for 
a place on the original City Council, 
when the city form of government was 
created, in 1865. At this time Taunton 
was also considering the establishing of 
a water works system, and the following 
year Mr. Rhodes was elected a member 
of the board of water commissioners, by 
which board the present water system 
was established. He served for three 
years in this capacity, declining a re- 
election. In his younger days he was 
connected with the old Taunton Volun- 
teer Fire Department, of which he was a 
member, and for several years was cap- 
tain of the old "Union Company, No. 1 ," 
a hand-tub, with a history earned under 
Mr. Rhodes' captaincy that was credit- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



able for efficiency, and which was situ- 
ated at a station at the foot of Union 
street, in the vicinity of the home he 
occupied for many years on Cedar street. 
Besides these offices, he was for many 
years a member of the board of directors 
of the Taunton National Bank, and of 
the Taunton-New Bedford Copper Com- 
pany. 

Mr. Rhodes was always held in high 
esteem in the community. He was of a 
kind-hearted, benevolent disposition, his 
benefactors being many and of the sort 
that carried no ostentation in the giving. 
"He was," as a close friend said, in 
speaking of his death, "a man who was 
always looking for an opportunity to do 
a kind act for somebody." He found 
these even to the last months of his life, 
and there are many who have special 
occasion to mourn him personally, by the 
loss of a benefactor. Mr. Rhodes had 
lived during the administration of all but 
the first four United States presidents. 
He had watched the growth of this coun- 
try from the days when the Ohio Valley 
was the frontier in the West, as the popu- 
lation spread by degrees to the Pacific, 
and increased from less than ten million 
people to over one hundred million. To 
the very last day of his life he was 
blessed with an intellect that was un- 
clouded by any infirmities that often 
follow advanced age, and his memory of 
the improvements and advancements 
made in various lines during his recol- 
lections made him a particularly inter- 
esting conversationalist, especially when 
he talked of his impressions of the 
advance that man had made in procur- 
ing conveniences and methods for im- 
proved living conditions during the 
marvelously developing nine decades of 
history over which his life had extended. 
Mr. Rhodes devoted his personal atten- 
tion to his business affairs until within 



a few months of his death, visiting the 
factory every day until the infirmities of 
age became more marked. 

On November n, 1845, Mr. Rhodes 
was united in marriage to Rowena A. 
Williams, who was born November 16, 
1825. She was the daughter of George 
W. and Rowena C. (Wilbur) Williams, 
the former of whom died in Taunton, Au- 
gust 19, 1858, aged sixty-nine years, and 
the latter July 23, 1892, in the eighty- 
eighth year of her age. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Rhodes were born three sons, namely : 
1. Charles Marcus, born October 6, 1846, 
married Annie B. Haskins, and they re- 
side in Taunton. 2. George Holbrook, 
mentioned below. 3. Albert Clinton, born 
April 9, 1857, married Cora E. Dyer, and 
they reside at Clifton Springs, New 
York. 

Mr. Rhodes passed away at his home 
on Cedar street, Taunton, Massachusetts, 
March 23, 1916, in the ninety-fifth year 
of his age. He was a member of no fra- 
ternal organizations, but for many years 
and until its dissolution was connected 
with the Trinitarian Society. He was an 
active member of the Old Colony His- 
torical Society. In political faith he was 
first an old line Whig, and upon the 
formation of the Republican party, in 
1856, he became identified with the latter 
political party. He was the last survivor 
of Taunton's original City Council, of 
which body he was a member in 1865, in 
which year the city government was 
established. The Taunton "Gazette," of 
March 23, 1916, in speaking of the death 
of Mr. Rhodes, editorially, said : 

Taunton loses one of its grand old men in the 
passing of Mr. Marcus M. Rhodes. A leading 
manufacturer, a useful and honorable citizen, 
his many years of active life placed him in close 
touch with all the elements working to build up 
the city, and his influence and his moral and 
financial support were always found quietly con- 



I 




■ 




Vy m 


I 

K 

H 






1 









^^.J^.f^Crr^o 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cerned in every worth-while movement. His 
later years, going far beyond the span of life 
usually allotted to man, were spent in enjoying 
that quiet repose which is all the more enjoy- 
able when it is compassed by the wholesome 
and united respect of one's fellow citizens, as in 
the case of Mr. Rhodes. 

(IX) George Holbrook Rhodes, sec- 
ond son of Marcus Morton and Rowena 
A. (Williams) Rhodes, was born August 
ii, 1848, in Taunton, Massachusetts. 
His educational training was acquired in 
the public schools of his native town, 
graduating from the high school, in 1866, 
the year following the incorporation of 
Taunton as a city. After leaving school 
he entered the factory of his father, and 
in 1872, when his father organized the 
firm of M. M. Rhodes & Sons, he was 
admitted to partnership. In 1888, when 
the concern was incorporated as the M. 
M. Rhodes & Sons Company, Mr. Rhodes 
was elected treasurer of the corporation, 
which official position he continued to 
hold until his death. In political faith 
Mr. Rhodes was a staunch Republican, 
and served his native city as a member 
of the Common Council from 1877 to 
1886, inclusive, during which service he 
was for the last four years president of 
that body. He was president of the City 
Council at the time the high school 
building was erected, and by virtue of his 
office as president of the Council was also 
a trustee of the public library, and a 
member of the school committee. Mr. 
Rhodes never sought any other public 
office, although he was on various 
occasions solicited to become a candidate 
for various public positions, but always 
declined, preferring to give his undivided 
attention to his business interests. He 
was a director of the Taunton National 
Bank, a trustee of the Taunton Savings 
Bank, and a trustee of Morton Hospital 
for a number of years, in all of which 



capacities he gave valued and efficient 
service. 

Mr. Rhodes was an active and promi- 
nent member of the Masonic fraternity, 
having attained the highest degree in 
that organization, having been elevated 
to the thirty-third degree, September 21, 
1897. He was a member and past wor- 
shipful master of Charles H. Titus Lodge, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Taunton ; a member of Keystone Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons, of Foxboro, 
Massachusetts ; a member and past emi- 
nent commander of St. John's Command- 
ery, Knights Templar, of Providence, 
Rhode Island ; and a member of the Mas- 
sachusetts Consistory, thirty-second de- 
gree, of Boston. He was one of the 
trustees of the Masonic Education and 
Charity Trust of the Grand Lodge of 
Massachusetts, elected in December, 
1895, to serve eight years, and reelected 
in 1902 for another term of eight years. 
He was also treasurer of the Taunton 
Masonic Corporation. While not hold- 
ing office in the institution, Mr. Rhodes 
was for many years very actively inter- 
ested in Wheaton Seminary, and the 
present Wheaton College, at Norton, 
Massachusetts. For a period of twelve 
years he officiated as marshal of the 
commencement exercises, officiating at 
these exercises in that capacity in June 
preceding his demise, and during all 
these years was a steadfast worker in its 
interests. When the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association was organized in Taun- 
ton, Mr. Rhodes was made treasurer of 
the association, and was actively inter- 
ested in the work of this organization. 

On September 10, 1874, Mr. Rhodes 
married (first) Louisa L. Bassett, who 
was born October 10, 1846, daughter of 
Charles J. H. and Nancy L. (Gibbs) Bas- 
sett, of Taunton, Massachusetts (see 
Bassett VIII). To Mr. and Mrs. Rhodes 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



were born children as follows: I. Helen 
Holbrook, born August 13, 1877; mar- 
ried, June 4, 1901, Ralph E. Barker, of 
Taunton; she passed away June 5, 1915, 
the mother of the following children : 
Anson, born March 21, 1902; Humphrey, 
June 20, 1905 ; and George Holbrook, 
June 5, 1915. 2. Nancy Bassett, born 
January 20, 1880, who became the second 
wife of Ralph E. Barker, on February 10, 
1917. 3. Marcus Arnold, mentioned be- 
low. The mother of these children 
passed away March 30, 1902, and Mr. 
Rhodes married (second) October 15, 
1913, Mary E. Van Patten, of Auburn, 
New York, who survives him. 

Mr. Rhodes passed away October 19, 
1916, at Poland Springs, Maine, whence 
he had gone in hopes of regaining his 
broken health, his death being a severe 
shock to his wide circle of friends and 
acquaintances. As a man and citizen, 
Mr. Rhodes was noted for his uniform 
courtesy, democratic manners and per- 
sonal integrity. Few men could be less 
pretentious and yet dignified, and none 
commanded greater respect. He was a 
forcible, energetic and progressive man 
in his ideas and purposes, and succeeded 
to the prestige of his family which has 
conducted one of Taunton's leading in- 
dustries for many years. His usefulness 
as a citizen extended far outside his busi- 
ness career into spheres of active benefi- 
cence. His many and substantial acts 
of real charity were seldom known ex- 
cept to the recipients. There was neither 
ostentation nor show in his make-up, but 
rather a marked antipathy for pretense 
and deceit. Nowhere in New England 
can there be found a family that for more 
than half a century has occupied a 
higher position in the industrial, finan- 
cial and social life of their community 
than this Rhodes family in Taunton. Mr. 
Rhodes' greatest pleasure may be said to 



have been found in his home and family, 
where were displayed a devotion and an 
indulgence rarely witnessed. 

(X) Marcus Arnold Rhodes, only son 
of George Holbrook and Louisa L. (Bas- 
sett) Rhodes, was born in Taunton, Mas- 
sachusetts, July 17, 1881. His educa- 
tional training was obtained in the public 
and high schools of his native city, and 
after graduating from the high school, he 
entered Amherst College, from which he 
was graduated in 1903 with the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts. He then took a special 
course at Harvard University, graduat- 
ing therefrom with the degree of Master 
of Arts in 1905. During the following 
three years he was engaged in teaching 
at Deerfield Academy. In 1908, Mr. 
Rhodes became associated with the M. 
M. Rhodes & Sons Company, and upon 
the death of his father, in 1916, succeeded 
him as treasurer of the corporation. In 
political faith Mr. Rhodes is an independ- 
ent Republican, and is now (1917) serv- 
ing on his second three year term as a 
member of the school committee. Fra- 
ternally, he is a member of the Masonic 
organization, holding membership in 
Ionic Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, and St. Mark's Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons, of Taunton ; and is also a 
member of Alpha Delta Phi college fra- 
ternity. Socially, he is a member of the 
Winthrop Club, of Taunton. Like his 
father, Mr. Rhodes is an active and 
valued member of the Broadway Trini- 
tarian Congregational Church, of which 
he has served as deacon for several years, 
and as superintendent of the Sunday- 
school for a number of years. 

On September 1, 1908, Mr. Rhodes was 
united in marriage to Ruth L. Bangs, 
daughter of Frank W. and Elmina (Tis- 
dale) Bangs, of Greenfield, Massachu- 
setts, and this union has been blessed 
with four children, namely : Louisa Bas- 



8 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



set!, born February 12, 1910; Stephen 
Holbrook, February 25, 191 1; Rowena 
Lincoln, July 6, 1914; and Marcus Arnold, 
Jr., March 20, 1917. 

(The Bird Line). 

The Bird family is of long and honor- 
able standing in Massachusetts, having 
been settled there early in the settling of 
this country, being referred to by histor- 
ians as an industrious people, modest and 
retiring in disposition. 

(I) Thomas Bird, the founder of this 
family in America, was born in England, 
in 1613. He came to New England at an 
early period, locating at Dorchester, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he joined the church, 
in 1642, on its reorganization under the 
distinguished Rev. Richard Mather. He 
was a tanner by trade, which occupation 
he followed in Dorchester, and lived on 
what was called Humphrey street. He 
was bailiff in 1654. He died June 8, 1667, 
aged fifty-four years. His widow, Ann, 
died August 21, 1673. They were the 
parents of six children. 

(II) John Bird, the second son of 
Thomas and Ann Bird, was born at Dor- 
chester, March II, 1641, and died i\ugust 
2, 1732. He married Elizabeth Williams, 
who was born in Taunton, in 1644, and 
died at Dorchester, October 20, 1724, aged 
seventy-seven years. She was the daugh- 
ter of Richard and Frances (Dighton) 
Williams, her father being one of the first 
settlers of Taunton, Massachusetts. John 
Bird and his wife were the parents of 
eleven children. 

(III) Samuel Bird, sixth child of John 
and Elizabeth (Williams) Bird, was born 
in Dorchester, April 14, 1680, and mar- 
ried, May 16, 1704, Sarah Clapp, who was 
born March 24, 1686. He died March 20, 
1740, in Stoughton, Massachusetts, where 
his estate inventoried 1,731 pounds, 5 
shillings and 10 pence. They were the 
parents of nine children. 



(IV) Samuel (2) Bird, youngest child 
of Samuel (1) and Sarah (Clapp) Bird, 
was born July 27, 1726. He lived in 
Stoughton, Massachusetts, where he was 
married April 13, 1748, by Rev. Jona- 
than Bowman, to Anna Atherton, who 
was born at Dorchester, Massachusetts, 
daughter of Humphrey Atherton. 

(V) Elijah Bird, son of Samuel (2) 
and Anna (Atherton) Bird, was born at 
Sharon, Massachusetts, June 9, 1753, and 
married, December 12, 1777, Sarah Pratt, 
of Stoughton, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Captain Josiah and Abigail (Williams) 
Pratt (see Pratt VI). Elijah Bird, of 
Stoughtonham, was a soldier in the Revo- 
lutionary War, serving as a private in 
Captain Robert Swan's company, Colonel 
Benjamin Gill's regiment ; marched De- 
cember 19, 1776, service six days, at Castle 
Island; company raised from Milton, 
Stoughton and Stoughtonham ; he was 
also corporal in Captain Theophilus Wil- 
der's company. Colonel Dike's regiment, 
return of men in service from 1 December 
30, 1776, to March 1, 1777 He died at 
Foxboro, Massachusetts, November 20, 
1821, and his wife died October 12, 1821, 
aged sixty-nine years. 

(VI) Betsey Bird, daughter of Elijah 
and Sarah (Pratt) Bird, was born in Fox- 
boro, Massachusetts, July 10, 1795, and 
married there, January 1, 1817, Stephen 
Rhodes, of that town (see Rhodes VII). 

(The Pratt Line). 

The Pratt family has been noted for 
integrity and capacity, and members of it 
have played important parts in the early 
history of New England, as well as in 
more recent generations. 

( I ) Matthew Pratt, of Weymouth, Mas- 
sachusetts, a freeman of May, 1640, and 
who died there, August 29, 1672, was 
among the earliest settlers of that town, 
where he was frequently selectman, and 
appears to have been one of the most 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



prominent men in the Colony. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Bates, and their children 
were : Thomas, Matthew, Jr., John, Sam- 
uel, Joseph, Elizabeth, and Mary. 

(II) Samuel Pratt, son of Matthew and 
Elizabeth (Bates) Pratt, was born in 
Weymouth, and married there, in 1660, 
Hannah Rogers, who died in 1715. He 
died in 1678. Their children were: Judith, 
John, Hannah, Mary, Samuel, Jr., Experi- 
ence, and Ebenezer. 

(III) Samuel (2) Pratt, i-on of Samuel 
(1) and Hannah (Rogers) Pratt, was 
born at Weymouth, November 15, 1670. 
He married Patience Church, and their 
children were : Judith, Samuel, Josiah, 
Jonathan, Benjamin, Peter, Paul, Hannah, 
and Patience. Samuel Pratt removed to 
Taunton, Massachusetts, shortly after the 
birth of his daughter, Judith, in 1695, 
where he became a man of considerable 
prominence, owning a large estate in the 
latter town, where he died August 11, 
1728. 

(IV) Josiah Pratt, son of Samuel (2) 
and Patience (Church) Pratt, was born 
in Taunton, Massachusetts, about 1797, 
and married, November 22, 1716, in Nor- 
ton, Massachusetts, Sarah Jones, of Taun- 
ton, who died March 2, 1723. He married 
(second) May 20, 1725, Tabitha Smith, 
who died January 16, 1772. He died 
about 1745. 

(V) Captain Josiah (2) Pratt, son of 
Josiah (1) and Sarah (Jones) Pratt, was 
born in Norton, Massachusetts, Febru- 
ary 14, 1719-20. The intentions of his 
marriage to Abigail Williams was pub- 
lished in Norton, September 17, 1743. She 
was born in Norton, May 2, 1723, daugh- 
ter of Benjamin and Elizabeth (Dean) 
Williams, of Norton. Captain Josiah 
Pratt was a soldier in the Revolution, 
serving as captain of a Stoughtonham 
company. Colonel Gill's regiment, which 
marched to Roxbury on an alarm, March 



4, 1776. He died at Foxboro, Massachu- 
setts, February 8, 1800, aged eighty years. 
His wife, Abigail, died June 2, 1814, aged 
ninety-one years. 

(VI) Sarah Pratt, daughter of Captain 
Josiah (2) and Abigail (Williams) Pratt, 
was born at Foxboro, Massachusetts, in 
1753. She married, December 12, 1777, 
Elijah Bird, of Foxboro (see Bird V). 



TOLMAN, Fred Sawin, 

Founder of the Tolman Print. 

The Tolman coat-of-arms is described 
as follows : Sable a martlet argent between 
three ducal crowns or. The crest : Two 
arms in armour embowed wielding a 
battle ax, all proper. This is the only 
Tolman armorial, and according to the 
rule followed by American families of 
English descent belongs to the Tolman 
family in this country. The Tolman fam- 
ily in England dates back to ancient times. 

(I) Thomas Tolman, the immigrant an- 
cestor, was born in England, about 1608, 
and according to family tradition came to 
Dorchester, Massachusetts, with the first 
colonists there, in the ship "Mary and 
John" in 1630, and that he owned land 
extending from the salt water to the Ded- 
ham line. He certainly settled very early 
in Dorchester, and not only had land there 
but in the present towns of Stoughton, 
Canton and Sharon. His name is men- 
tioned first in the Dorchester records of 
October 31, 1639, as follows: "It is or- 
dered that Goodman Tolman's house be 
appointed for the receiving of any goods 
that shall be brought in whereof the 
owner is not known." He signed the 
church covenant of 1636; was admitted 
a freeman of the colony. May 13, 1640. 
He located near Pine Neck, now called 
Port Norfolk, his house being within one 
hundred feet of Pine Neck creek on the 
west side and within two hundred feet on 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the north side, the creek being shaped 
like an elbow at this point. Some of his 
homestead was at last accounts still in the 
possession of his lineal descendants. The 
house in which his son Thomas afterward 
lived, between what is now Ashmont 
street and Washington street, was prob- 
ably built by him and has remained in 
the family. He was a wheelwright, and 
a man of substance and prominence. He 
held various town offices in Dorchester. 
His first wife was Sarah ; his second Kath- 
erine, who died November 7, 1677. He 
died June 8, 1690, in his eighty-second 
year. His will was dated October 29, 
1688, proved February 5, 1691-92, be- 
queathing to his eldest son Thomas, 
daughters Sarah Leadbetter, Rebecca 
Tucker, Ruth Royall, Hannah Lyon and 
Mary Collins ; son, John Tolman ; James 
Tucker, husband of Rebecca, to pay a 
certain sum to Isaac Royall's (Ryall) two 
eldest daughters, Ruth and Mary Royall. 
Children of Thomas Tolman: 1. Thomas, 
born 1633 ; John, mentioned below ; Sarah, 
married Henry Leadbetter ; Rebecca, mar- 
ried James Tucker ; Ruth, married Isaac 
Royall ; Hannah, born August 2j, 1642, 
married (first) George Lyon, and (second) 

William Baker ; Mary, married 

Collins, of Lynn. 

(II) John Tolman, son of Thomas Tol- 
man, was born about 1635. He was ad- 
mitted a freeman in 1678. He married 
(first) Elizabeth Collins, daughter of John 
Collins, of Lynn. She died October 7, 
1690, and he married (second) June 15, 
1692, Mary Paul, widow, who died August 
25, 1720. He was a selectman of Dorches- 
ter, in 1693-94-95. He died January 1, 
1724-25. Children: Elizabeth, born De- 
cember 14, 1667; John, April 8, 1671 ; 
Joseph, September 6, 1674 ; Benjamin, 
mentioned below; Henry, March 13, 1678- 
79; Ann, April 1, 1681 ; Ebenezer, March 
27, 1683; Ruth, July 1, 1685; William, 
September 2, 1687. 



(III) Benjamin Tolman, son of John 
Tolman, was born at Dorchester, Decem- 
ber 6, 1676. In 1709 he removed from his 
native town and settled in Scituate, Mas- 
sachusetts. He married, August 4, 1709, 
Elizabeth Palmer, daughter of Bezaleel 
Palmer. They lived a quarter of a mile 
southeast of Church Hill. Children, born 
at Scituate: Benjamin, March 28, 1710; 
Samuel, October 22, 171 1 ; Elizabeth, No- 
vember 5, 1713; Joseph, mentioned be- 
low; William, January 12, 1716; Elisha, 
November 20, 1718. 

(IV) Captain Joseph Tolman, son of 
Benjamin Tolman, was born in Scituate. 
September 6, 1715. He married there, 
May 22, 1738, Mary Turner, daughter of 
Squire Turner, the lawyer. Children, 
born in Scituate : Hannah, baptized Sep- 
tember 29, 1740; Samuel, baptized Janu- 
ary 29, 1743-44, died young; Mary, bap- 
tized November 3, 1745; Elizabeth, bap- 
tized November 8, 1747; Joseph, baptized 
October 28, 1750; John, mentioned below. 

(V) John (2) Tolman, son of Captain 
Joseph Tolman, was born in 1750, and 
died in Scituate, June 3, 1831, aged eighty- 
one years. He married (second) April 8, 
1784, at Scituate, Dorothy Hall, daughter 
of Dr. Hall. His sons removed to Boston. 
Children : John, mentioned below ; Molly, 
lived at Marshfield ; Benjamin; Hewett. 

(VI) John (3) Tolman, son of John (2) 
Tolman, was born in Marshfield or Scitu- 
ate, September 3, 1777. He married, Oc- 
tober 13, 1802 or 1803, Averick Everson 
(see Everson IV). She was born October 
13, 1782, daughter of Levi and Eunice 
(Briggs) Everson. They lived at Pem- 
broke and Abington. Children, born at 
Pembroke : William Cushing, born July 
2, 1804; Moses, September 26, 1805, died 
September 28, 1805 ; John, mentioned be- 
low ; Aaron, June 26, 1808, died June 26, 
1808; Eliza West, June 24, 1809; Eunice 
Briggs, July 28, 1815, married, May 7, 
1835, Turner Sampson; Sardis, June 14, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1819; Byron, August 23, 1824; Averick, 
September 16, 1828. 

(VII) John (4) Tolman, son of John 
(3) Tolman, was born at Pembroke, 
March 27, 1807. He married, November 
28, 1833, Eliza Russell Sawin, born at 
Bridge water, November 18, 181 1, daugh- 
ter of Dr. Daniel and Hannah (Barrell) 
Sawin (see Sawin VII). Children, born 
at Hanson: Daniel Sawin, mentioned be- 
low; Eliza, born 1839, died September 3, 
1841 ; Charles, December 11, 1846; and 
George. 

(VIII) Daniel Sawin Tolman, son of 
John (4) Tolman, was born in Hanson, 
August 21, 1834, and died at Brockton. 
He settled on a farm in Stoughton, remov- 
ing later to North Bridgewater, where he 
engaged in the men's furnishing business 
in partnership with his brother, Charles. 
Their store was at the corner of Main and 
Green streets, and for many years the 
firm of Tolman Brothers enjoyed an ex- 
tensive business and a high reputation for 
square dealing and reliable goods. He 
married, at Stoughton, Eliza F. Monk (see 
Monk V). Children: Fred Sawin, men- 
tioned below ; Harry C, who has been for 
many years manager of the business office 
of the Tolman Print in Boston; Carrie, 
died at the age of eighteen years. 

(IX) Fred Sawin Tolman, son of Daniel 
Sawin Tolman, was born December 9, 
1856, in Stoughton, on the homestead, 
which was located near the famous old 
Swann tavern. In his boyhood he came 
with his parents to Brockton, then to 
North Bridgewater. He attended the 
public schools of Stoughton and Brockton 
nnd was graduated from the Brockton 
High School. He started in his business 
career as clerk in the store of Tolman 
Brothers, but in 1875 left the employ of 
his father to engage in the printing busi- 
ness on his own account. In a little shop, 
at the rear of his father's store, he started 



with a capital of $35, with a plant costing 
$30.84, the bill for these goods, which he 
bought of Joseph Watson, of Boston, Mr. 
Tolman preserved and treasured all his 
life. At that time card printing was popu- 
lar and it was adapted to his meagre type 
fonts and hand press. An advertisement 
in the "Youth's Companion," costing him 
$10, brought in the first week $60 worth 
of work and put his business on a sound 
basis. He soon added to his plant and 
before long had to secure larger quarters. 
To move and enlarge his plant was an- 
other strain on his resources, but a loan 
from W. W. Cross tided him over and he 
never forgot the kindness of Mr. Cross, 
though the amount was only $125, but 
Mr. Tolman in speaking of the transaction 
always explained that Mr. Cross had to 
his credit many other similar transactions, 
giving timely aid to young men needing 
capital to get on their feet. He remained 
in his second office in the old Gazette 
Building at the corner of Main and Ward 
streets about a year, removing in 1876 
to the Holbrook Building on the present 
site of Hotel Keswick, where he remained 
until 1887, when he moved his plant to 
the old fire engine house on East Elm 
street. When he went there he occupied 
about 3,800 square feet of space, but from 
time to time he rented more room until 
he had doubled the area. 

From July 25, 1876, to September 19, 
1877, Frederick B. Howard, who was later 
associated with Mr. Tolman in real estate 
deals of large magnitude, was his partner 
in the printing business. In 1876 the firm 
employed one printer, doing the rest of 
the work with their own hands. In 1899 
Mr. Tolman had a force of thirteen 
printers, in 1892, twenty-seven ; in 1895, 
thirty-eight, and at the time of his death 
more than one hundred and twenty-five. 
Considering the size of the city and that 
his business was confined to job printing. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his business record was phenomenal. He 
made a specialty of town orders and 
secured business in all parts of the coun- 
try. 

In 1899 he moved to the present loca- 
tion of the Tolman Print, in the Howard- 
Tolman Building, occupying at first 15,000 
feet of space. Though the plant has 
doubled in size since that time, Mr. Tol- 
man had good reason to be proud of this 
modern office in a new building of which 
he was half-owner. He then had two 
cylinder presses and sixteen job presses. 
He manufactured his own electricity for 
his printing office and the rest of the 
building, and made use of a building on 
Church street for a stockroom and power 
plant. At the time it was built the How- 
ard-Tolman Building was one of the finest 
in the city. 

The Tolman Print takes rank with the 
best equipped, most efficient and success- 
ful job printing plants in the country. Mr. 
Tolman was the originator of the shoe 
carton label. In the old days shoes were 
shipped in sacks and boxes. When the 
shoe carton or paper box for each pair 
of shoes came into use, he designed the 
labels and developed an enormous busi- 
ness, finding customers in every country 
where shoes are manufactured. His 
Brockton fair posters have been marvels 
of the printer's art and he secured the 
poster work for innumerable fairs and 
'horse shows throughout the country. 

During the last fifteen years of his 
life he occupied a beautiful residence on 
Arlington street, Brockton. It was one 
of the garden spots of the section. The 
grounds were arranged according to Mr. 
Tolman's own artistic taste and were ex- 
tremely attractive. His flowers and shrubs 
were second to none. The interior of his 
home also gave evidence of his excep- 
tional taste and love of the beautiful. 

He was an important factor in the de- 



velopment of the great institution, known 
as the Brockton Fair. When an art ex- 
hibit was an annual feature in the big ex- 
hibition hall, he had charge of it. He was 
active in promoting the horse show fea- 
ture that attracted exhibitors from every 
part of the country. He was a member 
of the Commercial Club of Brockton ; 
vice-president and director of the Brock- 
ton Agricultural Society ; member of the 
Merchants' and Manufacturers' Club ; the 
Algonquin Club of Boston ; director of 
the Home National Bank of Brockton. He 
was made a Mason in Paul Revere Lodge, 
in 1886, and was later a member of Sa- 
tucket Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Bay 
State Commandery, Knights Templar; 
and the Massachusetts Consistory. He 
was also a member of the Odd Fellows, 
and the New England Order of Protec- 
tion ; of the Thorny Lea Golf Club and 
the Brockton Country Club. He was 
fond of all out-door life. He occupied a 
summer home at Monument Beach on 
Buzzard's Bay and loved yachting. He 
was often on the golf links. His flowers 
and horses were his most cherished pos- 
sessions. 

He was a man of sterling integrity, ex- 
ceptional ability, generous impulses and 
cultivated mind. One of the most promi- 
nent shoe manufacturers of Brockton 
said of him : "Although not engaged in 
the manufacture of shoes, Mr. Tolman 
was closely identified with the industry 
and some of the credit for the growth of 
Brockton's leading industry properly be- 
longs to him. In the publicity work no 
man took a more conspicuous or more 
honorable part. It was Mr. Tolman who 
led in the preparation of shoe catalogues, 
original labels, striking designs and in de- 
veloping this side of the business to the 
high plane on which it now rests. Person- 
ally a man of parts, a magnetic and most 
agreeable personality, he was a good 



13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



friend and an agreeable companion. We 
shall miss him and his death will be felt." 
He died July i, 1914. 

He married, December 25, 1877, Isabelle 

A. Brett, daughter of Henry A. Brett 
(see Brett VII). Children: I. Mabelle 
Foster, born July 17, 1879, married George 

B. Holland, of Taunton, Massachusetts. 
2. Blanche, born February 2, 1882, un- 
married. 3. Fred Harold, born February 
7, 1886, married Rosamond Smith, of 
Brockton, and they have one daughter, 
Virginia Pauline, born November 21, 
1915, in Brockton. 4. Daniel Sawin, born 
December 23, 1892. 

(The Everson Line). 

(I) Richard Everson, the first of the 
family in this country as far as known, 
was born as early as 1675, and with John 
Eversor, presumably a brother of about 
the same age, settled in Plymouth, Mas- 
sachusetts, before 1700. They were in 
what is now Plympton, formerly part of 
Plymouth, and entitled to vote in 1708. 
Richard was one of the petitioners living 
in the north part of Plymouth, who pe- 
titioned in 1717 for the incorporation of 
the town of Kingston. His wife Elizabeth 
died February 16, 1716. Children by wife 
Elizabeth, born at Plymouth : Richard, 
mentioned below; Ephraim, born Septem- 
ber 1, 1702; Ebenezer, April 14, 1705; 
Benjamin, January 26, 1716. 

(II) Richard (2) Everson, son of Rich- 
ard (1) Everson, was born in Plymouth 
colony and town, November 10, 1700. He 
married, March 31, 1718, Penelope Bum- 
pus, of Middleborough. Among their 
children was Richard, mentioned below. 

(III) Richard (3) Everson, son of Rich- 
ard (2) Everson, was born about 1725, 
and settled in Kingston, also formerly 
part of Plymouth. He married, October 
30, 1750, Averick (Churchill) Standish, 
widow of Ebenezer Standish, and daugh- 



ter of Isaac and Susanna (Leach) 
Churchill. Children, born in Kingston : 
Samuel, September 22, 1751; Levi, men- 
tioned below; Martha, March 1, 1757; 
Susannah, July 22, 1759, died May, 1761. 
(IV) Levi Everson, son of Richard (3) 
Everson, was born March 26, 1754. He 
married, July 17, 1777, at Halifax, Eunice 
Briggs, of that town. He was then of 
Kingston. He was drowned from the 
North river bridge, April 5, 1800, aged 
forty-six years. He was a soldier in the 
Revolution, enlisting as a private in Cap- 
tain Jesse Barlow's company, stationed at 
Plymouth to defend the sea coast. He 
was also in Captain Seth Stower's com- 
pany, Colonel Robinson's regiment. Chil- 
dren, born at Kingston : Levi Eunice, No- 
vember 25, 1780; Averick, October 13, 
1782, married John Tolman (see Tolman 
VI) ; Abigail, August 14, 1784; Sylvanus, 
June 2J, 1786, died August 15, 1872; 
Charlotte, January, 1788; Samuel, Feb- 
ruary 1, 1790; Richard, November 2^, 
1791 ; Martha, October 8, 1793; Clarissa, 
October 18, 1795; Dulcina, May 12, 1797; 
Barnabas, December 14, 1798. 

(The Monk Line). 

The original settlers of the Monk fam- 
ily in this country were Christopher, 
George and Elias Monk, presumably 
brothers, who came to Boston about 
1675. Christopher Monk had children 
born from 1686 to 1700 in Boston — Susan, 
Mary, Christopher, Thomas and Eben- 
ezer. George Monk was a vintner in Bos- 
ton at the Blue Anchor, married Lucy 
(Gardner) Turner, widow of John Turner, 
and had sons: George, born 1683; Wil- 
liam, 1686, his will gives a clue to the 
English home of the family and the name 
of his father, the estate being formerly 
owned by his father, William Monk, and 
located at Navestock, four miles from 
Rumford, England, in County Essex. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(I) Elias Monk, the third of the pio- 
neers, doubtless a son of William Monk, 
of Navestock, England, was born before 
1670. He served in Captain Withington's 
company in the expedition against Canada 
in 1690. He was surveyor of highways in 
Dorchester in 1703. Monk's meadow in 
what is now Canton was mentioned in 
records as early as 1704. He leased two 
hundred acres there, March 4, 1703-04, 
for £6 for 219 years. After the death of 
his wife Hope, he married Abigail Puffer, 
widow of James Puffer. In 1726 he deeded 
land to Elias Monk, Jr., his son, and in 
1727 to sons, Elias and George. He died 
May 29, 1743. The names of his sons 
George and Christopher furnish evidence 
that the other two immigrants were his 
brothers. Children : Mary, born 1691 ; 
George, born at Dorchester, May 1, 1696; 
Elias, mentioned below ; Christopher, 
May 10, 1702; Freelove, May 2, 1704; 
Abigail, May 5. 1708; Elizabeth, June 

IS, i?n- 

(II) Elias (2) Monk, son of Elias (1) 
Monk, was born before 1700. He mar- 
ried, May 5, 1725, Susanna Blackman. He 
settled in the southeast part of Stoughton 
in 1720; died there in 1750. Children: 
Eliphalet, born March 18, 1725-26, at 
Dorchester ; born at Stoughton : Abigail ; 
Elias, married (first) May 5, 1744, Eliza- 
beth Buck, of Bridgewater, (second) May 
5, 1752, Elizabeth Wright, of Bridge- 
water; Christopher, born January 14, 
1732-33; George, mentioned below; Wil- 
liam, born November 2, 1739, soldier in 
the French and Indian War, fought in the 
battle of the Plains of Abraham in the 
taking of Quebec. 

(III) George Monk, Jr. (so-called prob- 
ably to distinguish him from his Uncle 
George), son of Elias (2) Monk, was born 
at Stoughton, February 10, 1734. He was 
a soldier in the Revolution from Stough- 
ton, a corporal in Captain William Brigg's 



company of minute-men on the Lexington 
Alarm, April 19, 1775; sergeant in the 
same company, Colonel Joseph Read's 
regiment, from May to September, 1775 ; 
also sergeant in Captain Simeon Leach's 
company, Colonel Benjamin Gill's regi- 
ment, in 1776. He married, February 10, 
1762, Sarah Hixon. Children, born at 
Stoughton: Jeremiah, January 11, 1763, 
soldier in the Revolution ; George, Jr., 
January 15, 1764, soldier in the Revolu- 
tion: Freelove, August 1, 1766; Nathan, 
March 12, 1769; Jacob, mentioned below. 

(IV) Jacob Monk, son of George Monk, 
was born at Stoughton, March 9, 1773, 
and died at the age of sixty-seven. He 
was a man of large physique and presence, 
quiet, capable and of sterling qualities. 
He married, May 29, 1796, Milly Randall, 
of Easton. Their home was near the Old 
Colony railroad. Children, born in 
Stoughton: Nathan, born April 9, 1797; 
George Randall, mentioned below ; Still- 
man ; Jacob ; Almira, married Isaac 
Blanchard; Eliza, died unmarried ; Caro- 
line, married Charles Stone. 

(V) George Randall Monk, son of 
Jacob Monk, was born March 23, 1799, 
at Stoughton. He was educated in the 
public schools of his native town. In 1825 
he became a manufacturer of boots and 
shoes in Stoughton and continued for a 
period of ten years. He then engaged in 
business in West Troy, New York, but 
was injured by a fall that caused para- 
lysis of both legs and he was obliged to 
retire from active life permanently. He 
died at Stoughton, October 9, 1843. He 
married Sarah Capen, daughter of Dea- 
con Elisha and Milly (Gay) Capen. It 
is related that from flax raised on her 
father's farm, Milly Gay made the yarn, 
wove the cloth and sold enough homespun 
to buy her wedding dress. Her father, 
Timothy Gay, was a minute-man in the 
Revolution, serving in the defenses at 



15 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Roxbury. Children of George R. Monk: 
i. George E. 2. Elisha Capen, born April 
25, 1828, manufacturer of shoes in Stough- 
ton ; one of the founders of Greeley, 
Colorado, where he was part owner of a 
store; went to the Massachusetts Legis- 
lature in 1856 and to the State Senate in 
1866-67; married, January 13, 1851, Sally 
B. French, and had children : Bertha, 
George and Eunice C. 3. Harriet, mar- 
ried Ephraim W. Littlefield. 4. Adelia 
A., married (first) W. H. Curtis, and (sec- 
ond) A. A. Lane. 5. Eliza F., married 
Daniel Sawin Tolman (see Tolman VIII). 

(The Sawin Line). 

(I) Robert Sawin, the progenitor of the 
Sawin family of America, lived in Box- 
ford, County Suffolk, England, and died 
there in 1651. In December following 
John Sawin, then in New England, sold 
the homestead in Boxford to Samuel 
Groome, shipwright, of Langham, Eng- 
land, reserving the rights of his brother's 
wife and agreeing also to give a deed from 
his own wife, if necessary, to complete 
the title. 

(II) John Sawin, the immigrant ances- 
tor, son of Robert Sawin, settled in Water- 
town, Massachusetts, where he was living, 
May 26, 1652, when he was admitted free- 
man, but he was in this country as early 
as April, 1650, when he was a witness, 
and he was mentioned in the will of Ed- 
ward Skinner, of Cambridge, in 1641. 
John Sawin was a cordwainer by trade 
and occupied a house owned by his 
father-in-law on the west side of School 
street, Watertown, about halfway be- 
tween the present Belmont and Auburn 
streets. By the help of his father-in-law 
he became the owner in 1653 of the home- 
stall on which he lived and of a farm at 
Watertown Farms, now Weston, near 
the Sudbury line (now Wayland) on the 
south side of the Sudbury road, having 



the Cowpen farm to the eastward. In 
1664 and 1672 he was a selectman of 
Watertown. He married, about April, 
1652, Abigail Manning, daughter of 
George (commonly written Munning or 
Munnings at that time, whence the name 
of his son Munnings Sawin). She em- 
barked with her parents and elder sister 
Elizabeth at Ipswich, England, in April, 
1634, then seventeen years old ; after her 
husband died she seems to have lived 
with her son John. She died after 1667. 
Children : John, born April 16, 1653 ; 
Munning, mentioned below ; Thomas, 
September 2"j, 1657, ancestor of the 
Natick Sawins. 

(III) Munning Sawin, son of John 
Sawin, was born at Watertown, April 4, 
1655, and died November 8, 1722. He 
was a prominent citizen of Watertown. 
His homestead was between the old 
graveyard and Mount Auburn on the 
south side of the Cambridge road as far 
southeast as the swamp, being lots one to 
four with part of Lot 5. He was clerk 
of the writs in 1691, selectman, 1691-94; 
treasurer, 1703-04; town clerk, 1705-07. 
He was the best penman in town and did 
a large share of the town business for 
thirty years. He married, December, 
1681, Sarah Stone. Children, born at 
Watertown: Sarah, 1684; Abigail, 1686; 
John, 1689; Joseph, mentioned below; 
Mary, 1694-95 ; George, 1697, settled at 
Willington, Connecticut ; Deborah, 1702, 
married George Fairbanks; Elizabeth, 
l 7°5> Judith, 1707; Mercy, 1710, died 
1711. 

(IV) Joseph Sawin, son of Munning 
Sawin, was born in Watertown, in 1691- 
92. He married, in 1714, Lydia Paine, 
born 1681. He settled in Braintree. Chil- 
dren, born at Braintree : Joseph, 1715 ; 
Lydia, 1717; Munning, 1717 ; Eliphalet, 
mentioned below. 

(V) Captain Eliphalet Sawin, son of 



16 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Joseph Sawin, was born in Braintree, in 
1722, and died in 1801, leaving a large 
estate. He removed to what is now the 
town of Randolph. He served in the 
Revolutionary War as captain of minute- 
men in Colonel Benjamin Lincoln's regi- 
ment on the Lexington Alarm ; and again 
for four days in June, 1776. He was 
captain of the third company in Colonel 
Ebenezer Thayer's regiment, Fifth Suf- 
folk County, commissioned July 17, 1777; 
also captain in Colonel William Mcin- 
tosh's regiment from March 25 to April 
7, 1778, serving at Roxbury. (See p. 848, 
vol. xiii, Massachusetts Soldiers and 
Sailors of the Revolutionary War). 

Eliphalet Sawin married (first) Rachel 
Thayer, a descendant of John Alden, who 
came in the "Mayflower," through Ruth 
Alden, Sarah Bass, and Shadrach Thayer, 
her father. Eliphalet Sawin married 

(second) Sarah . He and his sons 

were remarkable for their great physical 
strength. He owned and operated a saw 
mill. Children, born at Braintree : Rachel, 
married Isaac Thayer; Sarah, baptized 
in 1754, lived at Randolph ; Shadrach, 
married Dorothy Thayer; Susan, born 
1755; Naomi, baptized 1759; Amasa; Eli- 
phalet, mentioned below. 

(VI) Eliphalet (2) Sawin, son of Eli- 
phalet (1) Sawin, was born about 1750. 
He married Eunice Wild. Among their 
children was Daniel, mentioned below. 

(VII) Dr. Daniel Sawin, son of Eli- 
phalet (2) Sawin, was born in Randolph, 
April 30, 1786. He married (first) Han- 
nah Barrell, November 18, 1810, in 
Bridgewater. She died November 2, 1816, 
aged twenty-six years. He married (sec- 
ond) April 1, 1820, Deborah Cushman, of 
Hanson. They lived in East Bridge- 
water, where Dr. Daniel Sawin died 
April 29, 1822. Children, born at Bridge- 
water: Eliza Russell, November 18, 
181 1, married, November 28, 1833, John 

N E-7-2 17 



Tolman (see Tolman VII) ; Hannah, 
January 1, 1814; Daniel C, 1821. 

(The Brett Line). 

(I) William Brett, immigrant ancestor, 
was born in England and came from 
County Kent in 1640. He was one of the 
founders and original proprietors of 
Bridgewater, Massachusetts, and deputy 
from the date of incorporation in 1656 to 
1661. His son William and many of his 
descendants in later generations have also 
served in the Legislature. He was elder 
of the church and often preached when 
the pastor was absent. He died Decem- 
ber 17, 1681, aged sixty-three years. By 
wife Margaret he had children : William, 
Elihu, Nathaniel, Hannah. 

(II) Nathaniel Brett, son of William 
Brett, married, in 1683, Sarah Hayward, 
daughter of John Hayward. He was 
deacon of the church and for several 
years town clerk. He died November 19, 
1740. Children, born at Bridgewater: 
Alice, January 29, 1686; Seth, mentioned 
below; Mehitable, August 12, 1692; 
Sarah, January 28, 1695 ; Hannah, Octo- 
ber 18, 1699; William, April 26, 1702; 
Nathaniel, November 3, 1704. 

(III) Seth Brett, son of Nathaniel 
Brett, was born February 24, 1688. He 
married, in 171 2, Sarah Alden, daughter 
of Isaac and Mehitable (Allen) Alden, 
granddaughter of Joseph and Mary (Sim- 
mons) Alden, and great-granddaughter of 
John and Priscilla (Mullins) Alden, who 
came in the "Mayflower." Mr. Brett died 
of smallpox, January 11, 1722. Children, 
born at Bridgewater : Samuel, mentioned 
below; Silas, February 28, 1716, minister 
of Berkley; Sarah, March 3, 1718; 
Simeon ; Seth, April 13, 1722. 

(IV) Samuel Brett, son of Seth Brett, 
was born at Bridgewater, August 22, 
1714. He married, in 1737, Hannah 
Packard, daughter of David and Hannah 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(Ames) Packard, and a direct descend- 
ant in the fourth generation of Samuel 
Packard, who came from Windham, 
England, and settled in Hingham, Massa- 
chusetts, later in Bridgewater. Mr. Brett 
was an early settler in the north parish 
of Bridgewater, where he died in 1807. 

(V) William (2) Brett, son of Samuel 
Brett, was born at Bridgewater, April 7, 
1758. He married (first) in 1782, Molly 
Allen, daughter of Ezra Allen. She died 
and he married (second) August 27, 1801, 
Betty Phillips. Children, born at Bridge- 
water: Susanna, May 1, 1784; Zenas, 
mentioned below ; William, January 7, 
1787; Cyrus, October 18, 1789; Sally, 
April 19, 1792; Polly, August 30, 1794; 
Phebe. Children by second wife : Asa, 
born 1802; Mary, September 24, 1803; 
Betsey, September, 1805 ; Almira, Feb- 
ruary, 1807. 

(VI) Zenas Brett, son of William (2) 
Brett, was born July 31, 1785, and died 
October 6, 1868. He was a general mer- 
chant in North Bridgewater, and a promi- 
nent citizen. He married (first) June 27, 
1813, Sibbil French, daughter of Captain 
William French, of Stoughton. She died 
September 22, 1834. He married (second) 
November 28, 1836, Almira Packard, 
daughter of John and Martha (French) 
Packard, and a direct descendant in the 
seventh generation of Samuel Packard. 
Children, by first wife, born at North 
Bridgewater: William French, July 13, 
1816; Mary Allen, August 13, 1818, died 
young ; Zenas Franklin, October 20, 1822 ; 
Sibbil Alma, October 23, 1824; Henry 
Allen, mentioned below. Children by 
second wife: Mary Ellen, born June 18, 
1838; Charles Edward, July 29, 1839; 
Cordelia Almira, May 25, 1841 ; Sarah 
Adelaide, November 22, 1843 ! George 
Elmer, May 24, 1849, died in infancy. 

(VII) Henry Allen Brett, son of Zenas 
Brett, was born at North Bridgewater, 



April 4, 1830. He married, November 9, 
185 1, Hannah Foster Gibbs, daughter of 
Thomas Foster Gibbs, of Bridgewater. 
He was educated in the public schools of 
North Bridgewater, the Loomis Academy, 
the Adelphian Academy, and the Blan- 
chard Academy at Pembroke, New 
Hampshire, from which he graduated at 
the age of fourteen years. He entered 
the employ of his elder brother's firm, 
Brett & Kingman, in North Bridgewater, 
as a clerk and remained for some years. 
In 1850, when he was twenty years of 
age, he engaged in business in Lewiston, 
Maine, where he opened a retail clothing 
store and conducted it for a period of 
eight years. Then he established a gen- 
eral store at Wareham, Massachusetts, 
and for another period of eight years con- 
tinued in business there with substantial 
success, making a host of friends, who 
presented him with a unique testimonial 
of their regard at the time he sold his 
store. A hammered silver pitcher made 
of silver coins contributed for the pur- 
pose by a large number of persons made 
a souvenir that he cherished greatly. He 
returned to his native town, where he 
engaged in business as a general mer- 
chant. To the ordinary departments of 
dry goods and hardware, he added a de- 
partment of tailoring and dressmaking, 
and from February 15, i860, until he re- 
tired in 1880, his store was one of the 
most profitable and popular in that town. 
Afterward he spent a year in Chicago in 
the employ of the Witherbee Hill Cloth- 
ing Company on Clark street, and a year 
in the employ of the Sydney Packard 
Clothing house at Springfield, Massachu- 
setts. He lived for a year or two in 
Brockton, Middleborough and Sandwich, 
then returned to business in the employ 
of the Howard & Caldwell Clothing 
Company of Brockton, and continued 
with that concern to the end of his life. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



At the time he had completed fifty years 
in business, his associates honored him 
with a banquet and gave him as a sou- 
venir an elegant easy-chair. He died at 
Brockton, and was buried in Union 
Cemetery. He was a member of Social 
Harmony Lodge, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of Wareham ; Scituate 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Brockton 
Council, Royal and Select Masters; Bay 
State Commandery, Knights Templar, of 
Brockton. 

He married, November 9, 1851, Hannah 
Foster Gibbs, born at Sandwich in 1834, 
daughter of Thomas Foster and Patience 
(Coan) Gibbs (see Gibbs VI). She died 
July 5, 1889, aged fifty-five years, and 
was buried in Union Cemetery, Brock- 
ton. Children : William Frank, born 
September 13, 1852, resides in Dorches- 
ter, Massachusetts ; Isabelle Alma, born 
December 30, 1854, married Fred Sawin 
Tolman (see Tolman IX) ; Allen Foster, 
resides in Brockton, Massachusetts ; 
Harry Meade, born January 20, 1862, died 
May 21, 1865 ; Edith, died in infancy. 

(The Gibbs Line). 

(I) Thomas Gibbs, the immigrant an- 
cestor of the Cape Cod family of this sur- 
name, was an early settler in the town of 
Sandwich. His name was on the list of 
men able to bear arms in 1643. He had a 
brother, Samuel Gibbs, who also settled 
in Sandwich, and had a son Samuel born 
there June 22, 1649, an d a daughter Sarah, 
born April 18, 1652. Thomas Gibbs was 
one of the proprietors of Sandwich and 
died there before April 14, 1693, when his 
estate was divided among his sons John, 
Thomas and Samuel, making provision 
also for his widow. Children, born at 
Sandwich : Thomas, March 23 or 25, 
1636; Samuel, June 22, 1639 or 1649; 
John, mentioned below; Sarah, April 11, 
1652; Job and Bethia, twins, April 15, 



1655 ; Mary, August 12, 1657. The dates 
in Savage's dictionary differ somewhat 
from those in "Pope's Pioneers of Massa- 
chusetts." 

(II) John Gibbs, son of Thomas Gibbs, 
was born at Sandwich, September 12, 

1644 ( or io 34?). He married . 

Children, born at Sandwich : John, 
April 27, 1676; Barnabas, June 24, 1684; 
and others. 

(III) Sylvanus Gibbs, of the Sandwich 
family, was born as early as 1700, and is 
believed to be son of John Gibbs, but his 
birth is not recorded. His name appears 
on the list of heads of families in Sand- 
wich in 1730, as prepared by Rev. Benja- 
min Fessenden. (See Vol. 13, New Eng- 
land General Register, p. 13.) 

(V) Sylvanus (2) Gibbs, grandson of 
Sylvanus (1) Gibbs, was born as early as 
1750. He was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion, in Captain Joseph Palmer's com- 
pany, from Sandwich, Colonel John 
Cushing's regiment, in a Rhode Island 
campaign in 1776. Roll dated at Fal- 
mouth. He was sergeant in Captain 
Ward Swift's company, Colonel Free- 
man's regiment, in the fall of 1778; second 
lieutenant in the Eighth Company, Colo- 
nel Freeman's regiment (first Barnstable 
county regiment) in 1779, commissioned 
April 21. (See p. 389, Vol. VI, Massa- 
chusetts Soldiers and Sailors in the Revo- 
lution). 

He married (first) August 25, 1774, 
Katy Toby. He married (second) Han- 
nah . Children of first wife, born 

in Sandwich: Hannah, June 20, 1777; 
Joanna, October 12, 1779; Sylvanus and 
Benjamin, twins, January 27, 1782. Chil- 
dren by second wife Hannah : Nathan 
B., September 27, 1783, died March 10, 
1849; Katy Toby, March 3, 1785, married 
William Swift ; Alfred, November 3, 
1786; Ebenezer, August 11, 1788; Clar- 
issa, March 19. 1790; Thomas Foster, 



iQ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mentioned below; Caroline, October I, 
1793; Joseph, December 21, 1795; Ex- 
perience, January 18, 1797; Alexander, 
May 12, 1799; Joanna, August 12, 1803. 

(VI) Thomas Foster Gibbs, son of 
Sylvanus (2) Gibbs, was born May 28, 
1792, and died February 4, i860. He 
married Patience Coan. Children, born 
at Sandwich: Joanna J., born 1821, mar- 
ried, October 28, 1845, Charles Dilling- 
ham; Nancy I., born 1823, married at 
Bridgewater, August 14, 1845, Charles J. 
H. Bassett, cashier of the Taunton Bank, 
of Taunton; Hannah Foster, born 1834, 
married Henry Allen Brett (see Brett 
VII). 



BASSETT, Thomas Borden, 
Business Man. 

The family bearing the name of Bassett 
is one among the oldest in America, hav- 
ing had a continuous existence in the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts since 
the earliest settlement of this country, 
and where it has had a record of promi- 
nence and eminent respectability. 

(I) William Bassett, the emigrant 
ancestor and founder of this family in 
this country, was born about 1590. Ac- 
cording to the records he married (first) 
Cecil Licht, and (second) in 161 1, in Ley- 
den, Holland, Margaret Oldham. As 
there is no further record of the second 
wife the supposition is that she died soon 
after. William Bassett left Delft Haven 
in the ship "Speedwell," July 22, 1620, and 
went to Southampton, England, with 
other Pilgrims. There the "Mayflower" 
was waiting for them, and after the com- 
pany was divided between the two vessels 
they set sail for America, August 5, 1620. 
The "Speedwell" was found to be leaking, 
and both vessels put into Dartmouth for 
repairs. Both vessels set sail again on 
August 21st, and the "Speedwell" again 



began leaking. Those passengers on the 
"Speedwell" that could be accommodated 
on the "Mayflower" were taken aboard 
the latter, and Robert Cushman and fam- 
ily, William Bassett and others, about 
twenty in all, returned to London. Early 
in November, 1621, the ship "Fortune," a 
vessel of about fifty-five tons burden, and 
a new ship, arrived at Plymouth, Massa- 
chusetts, from England, with thirty-five 
passengers, among whom were William 
Bassett and Robert Cushman. Whether 
William Bassett's third wife, Elizabeth 
Tilden, came with him or not, has never > 
been established, as she is not mentioned 
until 1627, when William and wife Eliza- 
beth, and children, William, Jr., and 
Elizabeth, were included in the record of 
the division of cattle at Plymouth, Massa- 
chusetts. William Bassett was elected 
deputy assistant to the governor in 1640, 
1643, ID 44, 1645 an d 1648, from Duxbury, 
Massachusetts, where he had gone in 
1637 and made a settlement with others. 
He became one of the original proprietors 
of Bridgewater, Massachusetts, where he 
settled in about 1650, this town being in- 
corporated in 1656. He was a large land- 
holder, and one of the wealthiest of the 
colony, only four in Plymouth paying a 
larger tax than he, in 1633. He must 
have been an educated man, as he pos- 
sessed a large library. He had become 
a freeman of the colony in 1633, and in 
1637 he was a volunteer in the company 
raised to assist Massachusetts and Con- 
necticut in the Pequot War. He was also 
a member of the committee of the town 
of Duxbury to lay out the bounds and to 
decide on the fitness of persons applying 
to become residents. He was representa- 
tive to the Old Colony Court for a period 
of six years. He died in Bridgewater, 
Massachusetts, in May, 1667. His chil- 
dren were: William, mentioned below; 
Elizabeth, who married Thomas Burgess ; 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Nathaniel, who settled first in Marsh- 
field, and in 1684 in Yarmouth ; Joseph, 
who remained on the paternal homestead 
at Bridgewater ; Sarah, who married Pere- 
grine White, of Marshfield, the first white 
child born of English parents at Cape Cod 
Harbor, in November, 1620 ; Jane ; Ruth, 
born in 1632, who married John Sprague ; 
and perhaps others. 

(II) William (2) Bassett, son of Wil- 
liam (1) and Elizabeth (Tilden) Bassett, 
was born in 1624, and died in 1670. He 
married Mary Burt. 

(III) William (3) Bassett, son of Wil- 
liam (2) and Mary (Burt) Bassett, was 
born in 1656, and died in 1721. He mar- 
ried, in 1675, Rachel Willison. 

(IV) William (4) Bassett, son of Wil- 
liam (3) and Rachel (Willison) Bassett, 
married, in 1709, Abigail Bourne. 

(V) John Bassett, son of William (4) 
and Abigail (Bourne) Bassett, lived in 
Rochester, Massachusetts, where the 
births of his twelve children are of rec- 
ord. His wife's Christian name was Mary. 
He died May 17, 1781. His children were : 
Aurelia, born in 1743; Bethsheba, 1744; 
Benjamin, 1746; Mary, 1747; Emma, 
1749; Peter, 1752; Desire, 1754; Sarah, 
1756; Newcomb, 1757; Thomas, men- 
tioned below; Meltiah, 1761 ; and Abigail, 
1763. 

(VI) Thomas Bassett, son of John and 
Mary Bassett, was born in Rochester, 
Massachusetts, June 19, 1759, where he 
died February 24, 1833. O n January 7, 
1 781, he married Lydia Mendall, of that 
town, who was born March 19, 1760. To 
them were born children as follows: 
Newcomb, born in 1781 ; Anselm, men- 
tioned below; Samuel, 1786; Abner, 1788, 
who married Harriet B. Spaulding, of 
Norwich, Connecticut ; Thomas, Jr., and 
Lydia, twins, 1790; John, 1793, who mar- 
ried Laura Wing, of Marion, Massachu- 
setts; Stephen, 1798, who married Abigail 



Mendall ; and Ezra, 1800, who married 
Keziah Russell. 

(VII) Anselm Bassett, son of Thomas 
and Lydia (Mendall) Bassett, was born 
in the town of Rochester, Massachusetts, 
April 29, 1784. He was prepared for col- 
lege under the tuition of Hon. Tristam 
Burgess, who was then preceptor of the 
Rochester Academy, and entered Brown 
University in 1799, being the youngest 
member of his class, graduating there- 
from in 1803. Upon leaving college he 
was engaged in teaching school in his 
native town, and also took up the study 
of law in the office of Abraham Holmes. 
He was admitted to the bar in January, 
1808, and immediately engaged in the 
practice of his profession, locating at Nar- 
raguagus, in what was then called the 
district of Maine. In 1809, he removed to 
Columbus, Maine, where he practiced 
successfully for a period of about three 
years, when, on account of business being 
prostrated as a result of the war with 
Great Britain, he returned to Rochester, 
his native town. Here he married Rosa- 
linda Holmes, daughter of Abraham 
Holmes, with whom he had studied law, 
and soon thereafter settled at Head of 
Westport, Massachusetts, where for 
about twenty years he continued the prac- 
tice of his chosen profession with a 
marked degree of success. In 1849 was 
formed what was long the well-known 
and successful law firm of Bassett & 
Reed. After a long and most successful 
practice at the bar covering a period of 
over fifty-five years, on June 1, 1863, Mr. 
Bassett withdrew from this partnership 
and determined to relinquish the duties of 
his profession. At the time of his retire- 
ment he was the oldest practitioner in 
Bristol county, and one of the oldest in 
the State. Although he closed his office 
and withdrew from the bar, he was con- 
stantly sought by his former clients, who 
21 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



were unwilling to rely on other advice 
until his could no longer be obtained. 

Mr. Bassett always took a deep interest 
in public affairs, and was called upon to 
perform public duties. In 183 1 he repre- 
sented his town in the State Legislature, 
and in 1832 was appointed registrar of 
probate for the county of Bristol, at which 
time he was required to take up his resi- 
dence at Taunton, Massachusetts. He 
continued to fill this office for a period of 
nineteen years, and discharged the duties 
thereof with distinguished promptness 
and faithfulness. He also kept up his 
practice during this official period, being 
counselor to a large number of clients. 
As a public official and as a lawyer, Mr. 
Bassett enjoyed the greatest respect and 
esteem for his uprightness and for his 
pronounced kindness of heart. Mr. Bas- 
sett passed away September 9, 1863, in 
the eightieth year of his age, as a result 
of the natural decay of old age and with- 
out disease. 

After the death of his first wife, Rosa- 
linda (Holmes) Bassett, Mr. Bassett mar- 
ried (second) Mrs. Lucy Smith, of Troy, 
New York. The children of Anselm Bas- 
sett, all born to the first marriage, were : 
Thomas, born in 181 1, died in 1835; 
Charles J. H., mentioned below ; George 
F. H., born in 1817, died in 1820; Cynthia 
C. H., 1821, and Elizabeth M., 1824. 

Mrs. Rosalinda (Holmes) Bassett was 
a direct descendant in the sixth gener- 
ation from William Holmes, who was an 
inhabitant of Scituate, Massachusetts, as 
early as 1646, and a freeman of the colony 
in 1658, later removing to Marshfield, 
where he died in 1678. William Holmes 
was descended from a long and distin- 
guished line of ancestry in England, trac- 
ing back in direct line to John Holmes, 
who was a captain in the army of William 
the Conqueror, in 1066. Mrs. Bassett's 
line of descent from William Holmes, the 



founder of the family in this country, is 
through Abraham and his wife, Eliza- 
beth (Arnold) Holmes, of Rochester, he 
dying there in 1722; Experience Holmes, 
who died in 1715, aged thirty-three years, 
and his wife, Patience (Nichols) Holmes; 
Experience (2) Holmes and his wife, 
Hannah (Sampson) Holmes ; and Hon. 
Abraham Holmes and Bethiah (Nye) 
Holmes, of Rochester, the former of 
whom was a distinguished lawyer of the 
State of Massachusetts. 

(VIII) Charles Jarvis Holmes Bassett, 
son of Anselm and Rosalinda (Holmes) 
Bassett, was born July 10, 1814, in the 
town of Westport, Massachusetts, where 
his educational training was begun. For 
a time he lived with his uncle, Hon. 
Charles Jarvis Holmes, in Rochester, 
Massachusetts, where he also attended 
school. Taking up the study of law, he 
was admitted to the bar of Bristol county, 
but did not engage in practice. He be- 
came cashier of the Taunton National 
Bank, and later filled the same position 
in the Hanover National Bank, of New 
York City, but was recalled to the Taun- 
ton Bank, of which he became president, 
a position he held for some years. Mr. 
Bassett was interested in religious affairs, 
and was a member of the Congregational 
church. 

He married (first) January 20, 1840, 
Emeline Deane Seabury, who was born 
in Taunton, Massachusetts, October 2, 
1817, daughter of John Westgate Sea- 
bury. She passed away April 1, 1842, the 
mother of three children, as follows : 
Sarah S., born in 1840, who died in Taun- 
ton, married Erastus Morse, of Taunton ; 
John S. and Charles A. (twins), born 
April 1, 1842, the former of whom mar- 
ried Marianna C. Perry, of Taunton ; and 
the latter is mentioned below. Mr. Bas- 
sett married (second) August 14, 1845, 
Nancy L. Gibbs, who was born in Sand- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



wich, Massachusetts, February 28, 1823, 
and who at the time of her marriage was 
living in Bridgewater, Massachusetts. 
She died May 12, 1848, the mother of the 
following children : Louisa L., born in 
1846, who married George H. Rhodes, of 
Taunton; Isabel, born in 1848, died in 
infancy. On December 25, 1850, Mr. Bas- 
sett married (third) Martha B. French, 
of Pawtucket, Rhode Island, who was 
born June 2, 1825, daughter of Squire and 
Betsey (Bucklin) French (see French 
VI). To this union were born children 
as follows : Henry F., born September 
23, 1851, who married Emma C. Jackson, 
of Taunton ; Rufus W., mentioned below ; 
Martha E., born in 1855, who died in 
1881 ; Mary R., born in 1858, who married 
Colonel Henry Pierce, of Pawtucket, 
Rhode Island, she a widow, residing in 
Taunton ; George F. H., born in 1862, 
died at the age of thirty years ; and Susie 
A., born in 1864. 

(IX) Charles A. Bassett, son of 
Charles J. H. and Emeline Deane (Sea- 
bury) Bassett, was born April 1, 1842, 
in Taunton, Massachusetts, in which city 
he acquired his educational training by 
attendance at the public and high schools. 
At the age of seventeen years he entered 
a dry goods store, where he remained a 
clerk for about one year, when he 
accepted a position as clerk in the Taun- 
ton National Bank, of which is father 
was an official, and here he remained for 
a period of four years, being the youngest 
employee of that institution. Through 
the influence of the late Hon. John S. 
Brayton, at the age of twenty-one years 
he went to Fall River, Massachusetts, 
where he was connected with the First 
National Bank of that city for a period of 
thirteen years, soon rising to the position 
of cashier. In February, 1877, he was 
elected to the position of treasurer of the 
Fall River Savings Bank, and continued 



to fill that position up to the time of his 
death, covering a period of nearly forty 
years. Mr. Bassett had the reputation 
of being one of the ablest savings bank 
officials in Massachusetts, and his counsel 
was widely sought by banking men. Up 
to the time of his death he was one of the 
two surviving charter members of King 
Philip Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Fall River, which celebrated 
the fiftieth anniversary of its founding in 
January, 1916. He was also a member of 
Fall River Chapter, Royal Arch Masons. 
Mr. Bassett was connected with the First 
Congregational Church of Fall River. Of 
a quiet and retiring disposition he had 
little inclination for political or social 
affairs, being strictly interested and en- 
tirely occupied in his attention to the 
duties of the bank, which under his con- 
trol has become one of the largest and 
strongest savings institutions in New 
England. Mr. Bassett saw the Fall River 
Savings Bank deposits increase from $4,- 
000,000 to $10,000,000, during his official 
connections therewith. He was for a 
number of years a member of the Board 
of Sinking Fund Commissioners of Fall 
River, giving the city valuable services in 
this connection. 

On June 15, 1870, Mr. Bassett was 
united in marriage to Mary L. Hooper, 
daughter of the late Dr. Foster Hooper, 
one of the leading physicians of Fall 
River, who died October 18. 1870. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Bassett was born one daughter, 
Mary Hooper, who married George H. 
Waring, a cloth broker, of Fall River, and 
they are the parents of four children, 
namely : Seabury Bassett, born March 
26, 1900 ; Margaret, April 27, 1902 ; Janice, 
July 25, 1903 ; and Mary Hooper, July 7, 
1910. 

Mr. Bassett passed away at his home 
on Rock street, Fall River, Massachu- 
setts, on January 23, 1916, in the seventy- 



23 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fourth year of his age, honored and re- 
spected in the community with the finan- 
cial institutions of which he had so long 
and honorably been connected. 

(IX) Rufus W. Bassett, son of Charles 
J. H. and Martha B. (French) Bassett, 
was born July 22, 1853, in Taunton, Mas- 
sachusetts. His educational training was 
acquired in the schools of his native city, 
including the high school. After leaving 
school he entered the office of the Eagle 
Cotton Company, of Taunton, where he 
was employed for several years, which 
position he resigned to accept the position 
of bookkeeper of the Troy Cotton and 
Woolen Manufactory, of Fall River, Mas- 
sachusetts, to which city he then removed. 
After serving some years in this capacity, 
during which time he had acquired a 
thorough and comprehensive knowledge 
of the cotton manufacturing industry, he 
opened an office in Fall River as a cotton 
and cloth broker, later associating him- 
self with Nathan Durfee, under the firm 
name of Bassett & Durfee, in a partner- 
ship, which was continued with marked 
success up to the time of the death of 
Mr. Bassett. This well-known firm did a 
large and extensive business, being the 
representatives of the American Printing 
Company in the purchase of goods in this 
market, and in this capacity frequently 
took over very large consignments of 
cloth for this well-known concern. Mr. 
Bassett's recognized business ability and 
insight in financial affairs brought him 
into close touch with the industrial and 
financial institutions of Fall River, and he 
served for a number of years as a director 
in the Metacomet National Bank, the Fall 
River Electric Light Company, and the 
Richard Borden Manufacturing Company. 

Of robust stature, in early manhood 
Mr. Bassett was fond of athletics, and as 
an amateur played right field and first 
base with the Fall River baseball team, a 



semi-professional organization. When he 
first located in Fall River he served for a 
time in Company M, Massachusetts Vol- 
unteer Militia, of which he was a charter 
member. He was also a consistent mem- 
ber of the First Congregational Church of 
Fall River. In political faith Mr. Bassett 
was a stalwart adherent of the principles 
of the Republican party, in the councils 
of which party he was a prominent and 
influential factor, being called upon to fill 
various offices of honor and responsibility, 
the duties of which he administered with 
ability and faithfulness. He was a mem- 
ber of the Common Council of the city of 
Fall River in 1887 and 1889, and of the 
Board of Aldermen from Ward Eight, in 
1890-91. On June 4, 1902, Governor W. 
Murray Crane appointed him to the Board 
of Police Commissioners of the city for 
a three years' term,, and on June 19, 1903, 
he was appointed chairman of the board 
by Governor John L. Bates. At the ex- 
piration of his term, Governor William 
L. Douglas, a Democrat, was in office, and 
James Tansey was appointed to succeed 
him. On May 22, 1907, Mr. Bassett was 
again appointed to the board by Governor 
Curtis Guild, Jr., and in June, 1908, was 
again appointed chairman of the board, 
his term to expire the first Monday in 
June, 1910. Mr. Bassett also served as a 
trustee of the Public Library from 1891 to 
February 4, 1901, when he resigned to 
accept the police commissionership. He 
was again appointed a trustee, March 31, 
1906, resigning June 19, 1908. He was 
also a member of the Old Colony His- 
torical Society. 

Mr. Bassett passed away at his home 
on High street, Fall River, July 26, 1909, 
at the age of fifty-six years, his death 
being an irreparable loss to the commun- 
ity where he was so well and favorably 
known, as well as to a large circle of 
friends. Possessed of a most genial 



24 




OF **•■ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



nature, even temperament and obliging 
disposition, he was deservingly popular in 
the highest sense, having hosts of friends 
who regarded him as a gentleman of 
ability, strictest integrity and incorrupt- 
ible character, and was recognized by all 
classes as a useful and valuable citizen. 

On September 13, 1882, Mr. Bassett 
was united in marriage to Harriet Min- 
erva Borden, who was born June 15, 1856, 
daughter of the late Colonel Thomas J. 
and Mary E. (Hill) Borden, of Fall River, 
Massachusetts. Mrs. Bassett passed 
away October 16, 1904, the mother of the 
following children : Thomas Borden, 
mentioned below; Frederick Waterman, 
born April 23, 1885, who died September 
26, 1904; Margaret, born January 26, 1888, 
who married, September 7, 1912, Samuel 
T. Hubbard, Jr., of Yonkers, New York, 
and they have two children, namely: 
Harriet Borden and Mary Hustis ; Charles 
French, born April 5, 1891, who died De- 
cember 26, 1891 ; and Constance, born 
January 19, 1896. 

(X) Thomas Borden Bassett, eldest 
son of the late Rufus W. and Harriet 
Minerva (Borden) Bassett, was born Au- 
gust 24, 1883, in Fall River, Massachu- 
setts. After acquiring his early educa- 
tional training in the public schools of 
his native city, including the B. M. C. 
Durfee High School, he was prepared for 
college at Browne & Nichols Preparatory 
School, Boston, from which he entered 
Harvard University, graduating there- 
from in the class of 1905, with the degree 
of Bachelor of Arts. After spending a 
short time in a stock brokerage office in 
Boston, he returned to Fall River, where 
he entered the office of Nathan Durfee, 
cotton and cloth broker of that city, and 
former partner of his father, with whom 
he continued until 1912, when Mr. Durfee 
retired from business, and Mr. Bassett, 
in company with Frank T. Albro, under 



the firm name of Bassett & Albro, took 
up the business. Mr. Bassett is unmar- 
ried. 

(The French Line). 

For two hundred and seventy-five years 
the French family has been prominently 
identified with the history of the Com- 
monwealth of Massachusetts. And across 
the water the French family is one ancient 
and historic, claiming its origin from 
Rollo, Duke of Normandy, who, himself, 
was a Norseman viking, but who settled 
in France, and in A. D. 910, formally 
adopted the Christian religion and was 
baptized, taking the name of Robert, 
Count of Paris, who was his godfather. 
In direct line from Rollo descended Sir 
Theoples French (or Freyn), who went 
with William the Conqueror, to England, 
and fought at the battle of Hastings. 
Thus was the first branch of the French 
family planted in England. 

(I) John French, the first of the name 
in this country, in the branch of the fam- 
ily here considered, was a native of Eng- 
land, where he was born in 1612. He is 
first of record at Braintree, Massachu- 
setts, where he had lands granted to him 
February 24, 1639-40. He was admitted 
to the church in the adjoining town of 
Dorchester, January 27, 1642. He became 
a freeman, May 29, 1639, and was active 
and prominent among the early settlers. 

(II) John (2) French, son of John (1) 
French, was born February 28, 1641. 
About 1676 he removed to Rehoboth, 
Massachusetts, from Northampton, being 
accompanied by his wife, who was a 
daughter of John Kingsley, and children : 
John, Thomas, Samuel, and Jonathan, the 
first three of whom took the oath of 
allegiance, February 8, 1679, besides three 
daughters : Mary, wife of Samuel Steb- 
bins; Hannah, wife of Francis Keet; and 
Elizabeth, wife of Samuel Pomeroy. The 
father died February 1, 1697. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(III) John (3) French, son of John (2) 
French, married, November 22, 1678, 
Hannah (Savage says Mary) Palmer. 
Mr. French lived with his grandfather 
Kingsley. His children, of Rehoboth 
town record, were : Hannah, born Octo- 
ber 19, 1679; John, April 13, 1681 ; Mary, 
March 15, 1683-84; Elizabeth, January 
19, 1684-85; Martha, March 28, 1688; 
Samuel, March 30, .1690; Jonathan, No- 
vember 17, 1693; Thomas, September 6, 
1696; and Ephraim, mentioned below. 

(IV) Deacon Ephraim French, son of 
John (3) French, was born January 22, 
1698-99, and died April 24, 1796. He mar- 
ried, August 13, 1726, Bethiah Dean, of 
Taunton, Massachusetts, and their chil- 
dren, of Rehoboth town record, were : 
Elkanah, born November 9, 1727; Be- 
thiah, April 7, 1 73 1 ; Ephraim, April 25, 
1734; James, March 25, 1737; Luce, Janu- 
ary 19, 1741-42; and John, mentioned be- 
low. 

(V) John (4) French, son of Deacon 
Ephraim French, was born February 25, 
1746-47, and married in Rehoboth, Massa- 
chusetts, the Rev. Ephraim Hyde officiat- 
ing, June 4, 1770, Lydia Allen, who was 
born October 24, 1750, in Rehoboth, 
daughter of Stephen and Amie (Wheat- 
on) Allen, and to this union were born the 
following children : Lydia, born October 
27, 1771 ; Otis, April 23, 1773 ; Belle, Janu- 
ary 14, 1775 ; Olive, March 30, 1777 ; John, 
January 20, 1779, died young; Squire, 
mentioned below; Bethiah, November 11, 
1782; Benjamin, September 15, 1784; 
Cyrell, March 24, 1786, died in infancy; 
Amie, October 13, 1787; and Cyrell (2), 
born March 30, 1790. John French, of 
Rehoboth, was a private in Colonel Na- 
thaniel Carpenter's regiment, Captain 
Isaac Burr's company, which marched on 
an alarm, April 19, 1775, service eight 
days. 

(VI) Squire French, son of John (4) 



and Lydia (Allen) French, was born in 
Rehoboth, Massachusetts, January 26, 
1781, and married Betsey Bucklin (inten- 
tions published in the town of Seekonk, 
September 30, 1821). She was the daugh- 
ter of David and Dorcas (Waterman) 
Bucklin, and granddaughter of David and 
Elizabeth (Arnold) Bucklin. Their chil- 
dren were: George Arnold, born in 1822, 
married, November 26, 1844, Betsey 
O'Brien ; Martha B., born June 2, 1825, 
married, December 25, 1850, Charles J. 
H. Bassett (see Bassett VIII) ; Ellen, 
born in 1835, married, December 20, 1854, 
Henry L. Dana. 



HARTSHORN, George Trumbull, 

Chemist, Musician. 

The Hartshorn family is of ancient 
English lineage. The surname was taken 
from a parish of this name in Litchfield 
diocese, Derbyshire, and the parish, it is 
believed, was so named, from its geo- 
graphical resemblance to a hart's horn. 
The family was well established, as the 
records show, as early as the thirteenth 
century. Henry de Hertishorn and others 
of the family are mentioned in Derby- 
shire. The Hartshorn coat-of-arms is de- 
scribed : Three bucks' heads, and the 
crest is a buck's head. The design ob- 
viously refers to the significance of the 
name. The family is one of long stand- 
ing in this country and one of achieve- 
ment. The name has been a continuous 
one in the old home town of Reading, 
Massachusetts, and in that region of 
country since early in the seventeenth 
century, and some years ago some of the 
land of the original settlers was still in 
the family name ; and in different fields of 
effort not a few of the name have been 
men of achievement and of large means. 
During the struggle of the Colonies for 
independence the family was well repre- 



26 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sented in the field, the names of Benja- 
min, James, Jeremiah, John, Jonathan, 
Thomas and William appearing on the 
rolls as from Reading. 

(I) Thomas Hartshorn, founder of the 
family in this country, and ancestor of all 
of the name, was born in England, in 
1614, according to his deposition, April 3, 
1654, that he was aged about forty years. 
He settled in Reading, Massachusetts, 
took the freeman's oath, May 10, 1648, 
and was a prominent and influential citi- 
zen, serving as selectman and in other 
offices of trust. He died about May, 1683, 
and his inventory was dated May 18 that 
year. His will was dated October 26, 
1681, and proved June 16, 1683, bequeath- 
ing . to sons Benjamin and Thomas, 
daughter Susannah and wife Sarah. His 
other children must have received their 
shares previously. His first wife Sus- 
annah died March 18, 1660. His second 
wife Hannah was received from the 
church in Ipswich, April 6, 1663. She died 
July 20, 1673, and he married (third) 
Sarah Lamson, widow of William Lam- 
son, of Ipswich. Children : Thomas, 
born October 30, 1646, died young; 
Thomas, September 30, 1648; John, May 
6, 1650; Joseph, July 2, 1652; Benjamin, 
mentioned below; Jonathan, August 20, 
1656; David, 1657; Susannah, March 2, 
1659; Timothy, February 3, 1661 ; Mary, 
August 19, 1672. 

(II) Benjamin Hartshorn, fifth son of 
Thomas and Susannah Hartshorn, was 
born April 18, 1654, in Reading, and made 
his home in that town, where he died May 
3, 1694. He married (first) February 28, 

1681, Mary, daughter of George Thomp- 
son, born April 19, 1664, died October 26, 

1682. He married (second) November 6, 
1684, Elizabeth, daughter of John and 
Elizabeth (Osgood) Brown. Children : 
Mary, born and died 1682 ; Benjamin, 
mentioned below ; Elizabeth, December 



20, 1686; Hannah, February 10, 1689; 
Jonathan, November 10, 1690; Susannah, 
March 21, 1692. 

(III) Benjamin (2) Hartshorn, eldest 
child of Benjamin (1) and Elizabeth 
(Brown) Hartshorn, was born September 
16, 1685, in Reading, and lived in that 
town. He married there, April 2, 1716, 
Elizabeth, daughter of Sergeant James 
and Rebecca Boutwell, born October 9, 
1687. Children: Benjamin, mentioned 
below; Jonathan, 1721 ; Elizabeth, Janu- 
ary 18, 1724; James, May 17, 1727. 

(IV) Benjamin (3) Hartshorn, eldest 
child of Benjamin (2) and Elizabeth 
(Boutwell) Hartshorn, was born March 4, 
1720, in Reading, and was a resident of 
that town. He married, February 24, 
1742, Mary, daughter of Jonathan and 
Sarah (Burnap) Swain, born October 23; 
1724, in Reading. Children: Benjamin, 
born July 4, 1744; Mary, October 15, 1746, 
died young; James, May 19, 1750; Wil- 
liam,, November 26, 1753; Jonathan, Au- 
gust 30, 1756; Jeremiah, mentioned be- 
low; Mary, October 5, 1765 ; Samuel, July 
25, 1768. 

(V) Jeremiah Hartshorn, fifth son of 
Benjamin (3) and Mary (Swain) Harts- 
horn, was born November 15, 1760, in 
Reading, and lived in Foxboro, Massa- 
chusetts. He married, about 1781, Re- 
becca Richardson, and the records of Fox- 
boro show the following children : Sally, 
born November 15, 1782; Jeremiah, Au- 
gust 28, 1784; Eunice, September 5, 1786; 
Jesse, mentioned below; Harvey, May 25, 
1795. The following were baptized Au- 
gust 16. 1801 : Jeremiah, Harvey, Re- 
becca, Sally and Eunice. 

(VI) Jesse Hartshorn, second son of 
Jeremiah and Rebecca (Richardson) 
Hartshorn, was born May 17, 1789, in 
Foxboro, Massachusetts. In 1807 he went 
to Taunton, Massachusetts, where he se- 
cured employment with the Green Mill 



27 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Company, owned by the Shepard family, 
who were pioneers in the cotton manu- 
facturing business in that place. In 1813, 
in association with Robert Dean and some 
others, Mr. Hartshorn formed a company 
and built a mill in the east part of Taun- 
ton, of which he became superintendent 
and agent. In 1819 he built and equipped 
a mill at Falls of Tarboro, North Caro- 
lina, and later built and organized other 
mills at various places, including Paw- 
tucket and Blackstone, Rhode Island, and 
Humphreysville and New London, Con- 
necticut. About 1813 he returned to 
Taunton, and was employed by Crocker, 
Richardson & Company until their failure 
in 1837. Three years later he took a 
lease of the cotton and paper mills at 
Westville, where he continued five years. 
In 1846 he entered the service of William 
Mason & Company, as superintendent of 
their machine works, remaining until 
185 1, when he retired from that position. 
In the early years of the nineteenth cen- 
tury, before his removal to Taunton, Mr. 
Hartshorn served as selectman of the 
town of Foxboro. He died at Taunton, 
April 2, 1868. He married Priscilla, 
daughter of Abizer Dean, born April 5, 
1791, died January 14, 1885. Children: 
Charles Warren, born October 8, 1814, 
died March 31, 1893 ; Mary Leonard, April 
25, 1818, died April, 1885 ; George Frank- 
lin, mentioned below ; Martha E., Decem- 
ber 31, 1830, died June 8, 1900. 

(VII) George Franklin Hartshorn, sec- 
ond son of Jesse and Priscilla (Dean) Hart- 
shorn, was born September 27, 1826, in 
Taunton. He was educated at the Bristol 
Academy, which he attended from 1836 
to 1843. I n the latter year he entered the 
employ of Bates, Turner & Company, im- 
porters and jobbers in Boston, Massachu- 
setts, but remained with them only a year, 
in 1846 going to New York City as a clerk 
in the commission house of William F. 



Mott, Jr. He went to Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1848, where he was engaged 
as cashier of the Central Bank until 1856. 
Mr. Hartshorn was one of the first manu- 
facturers of machine-made envelopes in 
the country, buying the patent of the 
inventor. He resigned his cashiership to 
engage in this business, but was reap- 
pointed to it in 1859 an d served until 
1862, retaining his interest in the envelope 
business, which grew to large proportions 
until 1865. In 1867 he left Worcester, and 
resided in Taunton until 1873, then in 
Quincy until 1878, in Cambridge until 
1885, an d from that date up to the time 
of his death in 1901, in Taunton. He mar- 
ried, July 18, 1855, Isabella Frink, daugh- 
ter of George Augustus Trumbull, of 
Worcester, Massachusetts (see Trumbull, 
VII). 

(VIII) George Trumbull Hartshorn, 
only son of George Franklin and Isabella 
Frink (Trumbull) Hartshorn, was born 
October 20, i860, in Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts. He was educated at Adams 
Academy, Quincy, Massachusetts, and at 
Harvard University, always taking a high 
rank as a scholar, particularly in chemis- 
try, in which he was deeply interested. 
After graduating he was for some time an 
instructor in the chemistry department of 
the university. At the close of his term 
as a college instructor, Mr. Hartshorn 
went to Taunton, making his home with 
his parents, and followed the profession 
of an analytical chemist, his work being 
as much a pleasure as a profitable under- 
taking. He was also deeply interested in 
music, was a splendid performer on the 
violin-cello, and his home was always re- 
garded as one of the central points in 
musical and social life in Taunton. Some 
years later, owing to the illness of his 
father, the consequent cares of the man- 
agement of a large estate engrossed the 
larger portion of his time, and this he 
28 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



continued to look after until within a few 
years of his death. He purchased the 
ancestral acres on Dean street and there 
fitted up for himself and family a beautiful 
country place, amply adequate for all the 
enjoyments of life, but which he himself 
was destined only to enjoy for a short 
time. Mr. Hartshorn was actively inter- 
ested in social life in Taunton and promi- 
nent in it. Up to 1895 ne na d been secre- 
tary of the Segregansett Country Club 
from its formation, and had a lively part 
in making it the success that it proved to 
be. A gentleman, a scholar, a hearty, 
whole-souled friend, a good husband and 
father, who found his greatest pleasures 
in a quiet studious home life, and in the 
entertainment of his friends with un- 
stinted hospitality, his death was sincerely 
mourned by a large circle. This event 
occurred August 22, 1905, at his home on 
Dean street. He married Alice Roberts, 
of Cambridge, who survives him with her 
son, George Deane, born April 3, 1894. 

(The Trumbull Line). 

(I) John Trumbull, a cooper, came 
from Newcastle-on-Tyne to New Eng- 
land, and settled in Rowley, Massachu- 
setts, in 1640. He was in Roxbury as 
early as 1639, and was a member of the 
Apostle John Eliot's church. He shortly 
removed, however, to Rowley, and his 
homestead was in the heart of that village, 
fronting on the common. He taught the 
first school in the town, was a freeman, 
May 13, 1640, selectman in 1650 and 1652, 
town clerk 1654 to 1656, and died in 1657. 
He was buried May 18 of that year. He 
married in England, in 1635, Eleanor 
Chandler, and brought his wife and a son 
John with him. Her name appears in the 
New England records as Ellen. She died 
about 1648-49, and he married (second) 
in August, 1650, Ann, widow of Michael 
Hopkinson, of Rowley. She survived 



him and married (third) March 1, 1658, 
Richard Swan, as his second wife. She 
died in Rowley, and was buried April 5, 
1678. Children of first wife : John ; Han- 
nah, born December 14, 1640; Judah, 
April 3, 1643; Ruth, February 23, 1645; 
Joseph, mentioned below. Children of 
second marriage : Abigail, born October 
13, 1651 ; Mary, April 7, 1654. 

(II) Joseph Trumbull, son of John and 
Eleanor or Ellen (Chandler) Trumbull, 
was born March 19, 1647, m Rowley, and 
removed to Suffield, Connecticut, in 1670. 
During King Philip's War he was forced 
to leave the settlement, but returned in 
1676; was a freeman in 1681, and one of 
the few qualified voters at the first town 
meeting of Suffield. His homestead was 
on the Connecticut river, near those of 
his brother Judah, and brother-in-law, 
Edward Smith. He died August 15, 1684. 
He married, before May 10, 1669, Hannah, 
daughter of Hugh Smith, of Rowley, who 
died in East Windsor, Connecticut, Octo- 
ber 5, 1689. Children: John, mentioned 
below ; Hannah, born June 8, 1673 > Mary, 
March 28, 1675 ; Joseph, January 16, 1678; 
Ammi, August 1, 1681 ; Benoni, August 
20, 1684. 

(III) John (2) Trumbull, eldest child 
of Joseph and Hannah (Smith) Trumbull, 
was born November 27, 1670, in Rowley, 
and was a small child when his parents 
settled permanently in Suffield. In 1694 
he settled in Enfield, Connecticut, but 
four years later was again in Suffield. He 
married in the latter town, September 3, 
1696, Elizabeth, daughter of David and 
Elizabeth (Filley) Winchell, of Suffield, 
born December 9, 1675, in Windsor, Con- 
necticut, died January 3, 1751, in Suffield. 
Children: Hannah, born October 2, 1697; 
Elizabeth, April 30, 1699; Mary, Decem- 
ber 2, 1701 ; Joseph, March 14, 1704, died 
1706; Abigail, May 27, 1706; Joseph, men- 
tioned below; Mercy, November 2, 1710; 



29 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



John, 1715, was the first member of the 
Congregational church at Watertown, 
Connecticut. 

(IV) Joseph (2) Trumbull, eldest sur- 
viving son of John (2) and Elizabeth 
(Winchell) Trumbull, was born May 13, 
1708, in Suffield, and died in June, 1761, 
on the paternal homestead, which he re- 
ceived from his father by deed in 1743. 
This deed also included other lands, for 
all of which the son paid five hundred 
pounds, the father reserving twenty-two 
acres of the homestead for his own use. 
He married Obedience Belden, who sur- 
vived him, and married (second) in 1764, 
James Sheppard, of Hartford. She died 
in 1804. Children : Elizabeth, born May 
3> I 739'> J ose P n » mentioned below. 

(V) Joseph (3) Trumbull, only son of 
Joseph (2) and Obedience (Belden) 
Trumbull, was born October 12, 1756, in 
Suffield, and settled in Petersham, Massa- 
chusetts, whence he removed about 1803 
to Worcester, same State. He was a 
physician and apothecary, but paid little 
attention to the practice of his profession. 
He often went to Europe, and spent much 
time in London. A very talented man, 
with high artistic and literary genius, a 
keen wit, his society was much prized by 
those who knew him. He was a member 
of the Cordon Bleu, a social club of Wor- 
cester. For seventeen years he was con- 
fined to a chair with gout, but retained 
his serenity and cheerfulness of manner 
throughout. He died at his residence on 
Trumbull Square, Worcester, March 2, 
1824. During his long confinement he 
painted a portrait of himself, represent- 
ing the Devil holding a hot coal on his 
toe. He also wrote a poetical will, in 
which he remembered all of his friends 
and associates. He married, February 14, 
1786, at Worcester (the first marriage at 
the Second Church of that city), Eliza- 



beth, youngest daughter of Timothy and 
Sarah (Chandler) Paine, of Worcester. 

(VI) George Augustus Trumbull, only 
son of Joseph (3) and Elizabeth (Paine) 
Trumbull, was born January 23, 1792, at 
Worcester, and was engaged there in 
business as a book publisher, from 1819 
to 1823. He was associated with William 
Manning, in the publication of the "Mas- 
sachusetts Spy," one of the oldest news- 
papers in the State. On the incorpor- 
ation of the Central Bank in 1829, he be- 
came its cashier, and thus continued until 
1836, when he resigned to accept a similar 
position with the Citizen's Bank of Wor- 
cester, where he continued to 1858, when 
failing health compelled him to resign. 
In 1865 his golden wedding was cele- 
brated at the mansion on Trumbull 
Square, Worcester, which he inherited 
from his father. There he died August 17, 
1868. 

He married, September 20, 1815, at 
Greenfield, Massachusetts, Louisa Clapp, 
born September 24, 1798, in that town, 
daughter of Caleb and Elizabeth (Stone) 
Clapp, of Greenfield (see Clapp VIII). 
Children: Elizabeth, born August 31, 
1816, married William S. Lincoln ; George 
Clapp, March 1, 1818, engaged in busi- 
ness in Worcester and Boston ; Caroline 
Burling, June 24, 1820, married Francis 
Blake ; Louisa Jane, October 12, 1822, 
married Henry Lea ; Sarah Paine, August 
26, 1824, married John C. Ripley; Joseph, 
September 22, 1826; John, July 31, 1828, 
died young; Charles Perkins, September 
12, 1830; Susan, March 20, 1832; Isabella 
Frink, mentioned below ; Mary Abbot, 
February 2, 1837. 

(VII) Isabella Frink Trumbull, sixth 
daughter of George Augustus and Louisa 
(Clapp) Trumbull, was born May 20, 
1834, in Worcester, and was married July 
18, 1855, to George Franklin Hartshorn, 
of Taunton (see Hartshorn VII). 



30 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(The Clapp Line). 

The surname Clapp had its origin in the 
proper or personal name of Osgod Clapa, 
a Danish noble in the court of King 
Canute (1017-36). The site of his country 
place was known afterward as Clapham, 
County Surrey. The spelling in the early 
records varies from Clapa to the present 
form, Clapp. The ancient seat of the 
family in England is at Salcombe in 
Devonshire, where important estates were 
held for centuries by this family. Their 
coat-of-arms : First and fourth three 
battleaxes, second sable a griffin passant 
argent; third sable an eagle with two 
heads displayed with a border engrailed 
argent. A common coat-of-arms in gen- 
eral use by the family in America as well 
as in England : Vaire gules and argent a 
quarter azure charged with the sun or. 
Crest: A pike naiant proper. Motto — 
Fats ce que Dois advienne- que pourra. The 
American branches of this family are de- 
scended from six immigrants, brothers 
and cousins, who settled in Dorchester, 
Massachusetts, whence they and their 
descendants have scattered to all parts of 
the country. 

(I) Nicholas Clapp, progenitor of the 
family, lived at Venn Ottery, Devonshire, 
England. Three of his sons and one 
daughter (wife of his nephew, Edward 
Clapp), came to America. His brother, 
William Clapp, lived at Salcombe Regis. 
England, and besides his son Edward, an- 
other son, Roger Clapp, immigrated to 
America and settled at Dorchester. The 
printed family genealogy gives the name 
of Richard instead of Nicholas. Children : 
Thomas, born 1597; Ambrose, lived and 
died in England ; Richard, remained in 
England ; Prudence, came to New Eng- 
land, married her cousin, Edward Clapp ; 
Nicholas, mentioned below ; John, came to 
Dorchester. 

(II) Nicholas (2) Clapp, ancestor of 



this branch of the family, and the fourth 
son of Nicholas (1) Clapp, of England, 
was born in Dorchester, England, in 1612, 
and came to America with his brother 
Thomas, probably arriving at Dorchester, 
Massachusetts, in 1633. His name is on 
the records of the town in 1634; he held 
many town offices of responsibility, was 
much respected by those who knew him, 
and was a deacon of the church. In Sep- 
tember, 1653, he served as a juror at a 
special court held relative to disputed 
matters connected with the Lynn Iron 
Works. His home was in the north part 
of Dorchester, on the west side of what 
is now Boston street a little south of Five 
Corners, and he owned land in various 
places. He died suddenly, while working 
in his barn, November 24, 1679. In 1849 
several of his descendants erected a 
marble gravestone over his grave in the 
old cemetery near Stoughton street. His 
sons, Nathaniel and Ebenezer, were ad- 
ministrators of his estate, but both died 
before the final settlement, and in 1716 
Noah was appointed to complete it. 
Nicholas Clapp married (first) his cousin, 
Sarah Clapp, sister of Captain Roger 
Clapp, daughter of William, Clapp, of 
Salcombe Regis. He married (second) 
Abigail, widow of Robert Sharp, of Brook- 
line, Massachusetts. Children by first 
wife, born in Dorchester : Sarah, Decem- 
ber 31, 1637 ; Nathaniel, mentioned below ; 
Ebenezer, 1643; Hannah, 1646. By sec- 
ond wife: Noah, July 15, 1667; Sarah, De- 
cember, 1670. 

(Ill) Nathaniel Clapp, son of Nicho- 
las (2) and Sarah (Clapp) Clapp, was 
born September 15, 1640, in Dorchester, 
Massachusetts, and was a well-to-do man, 
much respected in the town. In 1671 he 
served as one of the town constables. 
The following is found in the Dorchester 
church records: "May 16th, 1707, Mr. 
Nathaniel Clap, a choice man, rested in 



31 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Lord and was interred May 17th." 
His house was very likely on the land 
which makes the western angle of the 
place known as Five Corners in Dorches- 
ter, now junction of Boston, Cottage and 
Pond streets. His autograph is in a 
book printed in London in 1623, contain- 
ing two sermons by "William Whately, 
Preacher of the Word of God in Ban- 
burie ;" his brother Ebenezer, his sister 
Sarah, and son Nathaniel all signed their 
names in this book at different dates. His 
will was dated April 22, 1707, and in it 
he mentioned his wife and children. He 
married, March 31, 1668, Elizabeth, 
daughter of Lawrence Smith. She died 
September 19, 1722 (September 12, ac- 
cording to the gravestone). Children, 
born in Dorchester : Nathaniel, born 
January 20, 1669; J onn > mentioned be- 
low; Jonathan, August 31, 1673; Eliza- 
beth, May 22, 1676; Ebenezer, October 
25, 1678; Mehetable, August 30, 1684, 
died February 20, 1685. 

(IV) John Clapp, second son of Na- 
thaniel and Elizabeth (Smith) Clapp, was 
born April 7, 1671, in Dorchester, and re- 
moved after 1693 to Sudbury, Massachu- 
setts, where he was a deacon of the 
church and an influential citizen, and died 
November 26, 1735. He married in Dor- 
chester, November 26, 1698, Silence Fos- 
ter, born there April 4, 1677, daughter of 
James and Mary (Capen) Foster. Chil- 
dren : John, mentioned below ; Thankful, 
born October 6, 1706 ; Nathaniel, Septem- 
ber 10, 1709; Elizabeth, married Peter 
Noyes, a deacon of Sudbury. 

(V) John (2) Clapp, eldest child of 
John (1) and Silence (Foster) Clapp, was 
born March 21, 1700, in Sudbury, where 
he lived, and was a man of much ability, 
a student of philosophy, astronomy, 
mathematics and divinity. He died April 
12, 1788, in Sudbury. He married, March 
17, 1724, Abigail, daughter of Daniel and 



Abigail (Flint) Estabrook, of Lexington, 
baptized there Septemoer 2J, 1702. Chil- 
dren : Beulah, born January 1, 1724; Joel, 
mentioned below; Jerusha, May 14, 1728; 
Asahel, March 12, 1730; Ann, February 
9, 1732; Mary, November 18, 1733; John, 
December 24, 1735; Silas, September 17, 
1737; Daniel, Octobe- 10, 1739; Samuel, 
died December 11, 1755. 

(VI) Joel Clapp, eldest son of John 
(2) and Abigail (Estabrook) Clapp, was 
born July 2, 1726, in Sudbury, Massachu- 
setts, and lived in Hardwick, that State, 
and subsequently in Ashburnham. He 
was a soldier of the French war, and at 
the time of his death in 1770 owned 
eighty acres of land in Ashburnham, 
Massachusetts, which came to him as the 
heir of a soldier who served against the 
French in 1690. The identity of this an- 
cestor has not been established. He mar- 
ried, October 17, 1749, Elizabeth, fourth 
daughter of Jonas and Harriet (Johnson) 
Burke, of Sudbury. Children : John, born 
January 29, 1751, died 1752; Caleb, men- 
tioned below, and Jonathan (twins), Feb- 
ruary 9, 1752; Catherine, September 6, 
1753; John, November 9, 1755; Abigail, 
December 6, 1757. 

(VII) Caleb Clapp, second son of Joel 
and Elizabeth (Burke) Clapp, was born 
February 9, 1752, in Hardwick, and was 
one of the patriots of the Revolution, par- 
ticipating in the battle of Bunker Hill. 
In August, 1775, he was sergeant-major 
of Colonel Doolittle's regiment, and in 
1776 was ensign in the Twenty-fifth Mas- 
sachusetts Regiment, in which he was 
successively promoted lieutenant and 
captain. He served until the close of the 
struggle, and was one of the founders of 
the Order of the Cincinnati. In want of 
male line his membership descended to 
his nephew, George Clapp Trumbull, of 
Cambridge, Massachusetts. His diary of 
the military operations in New York dur- 



32 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing the years 1776-77 was published in 
the "New York Historical Magazine," 
volume 2$. He represented Greenfield in 
the Massachusetts Legislature, 1797, and 
in subsequent years, and died there June 
5, 1812. He married in Rutland, Massa- 
chusetts, March 17, 1782, Elizabeth, eld- 
est daughter of Captain John and Lucy 
(Fletcher) Stone, born July 8, 1758, died 
September 14, 1843. Children: Joel 
John, born November 15, 1783, in Rut- 
land; Harriet, June 5, 1785 ; Daniel, April 
1, 1787; Lucy Stone, March 9, 1789, in 
Hardwick; Isabel Frink, June 22, 1791 ; 
Eliza, July 1, 1793, in Greenfield; Sus- 
anna, August 29, 1795 ; Louisa, mentioned 
below; Elizabeth, October 19, 1801. 

(VIII) Louisa Clapp, sixth daughter 
of Caleb and Elizabeth (Stone) Clapp, 
was born September 24, 1798, in Green- 
field, and became the wife of George Au- 
gustus Trumbull, of Worcester (see 
Trumbull VI). 

(The Cogswell Line). 

(I) John Cogswell was born in West- 
bury, Leigh, Wiltshire, England, in 1592, 
son of Edward and Alice Cogswell, of 
ancient and honorable lineage. He and 
his wife resided in Westbury until 1635, 
when they sailed for New England in the 
ill-fated ship "Angel Gabriel," which was 
wrecked off the Maine coast, August 15, 
1635, the passengers of which were 
washed ashore at Pemaquid, Maine. He 
was the third settler in that part of Ips- 
wich, now the town of Essex, and was 
admitted a freeman, March 3, 1636. He 
was a farmer in America, but in England 
was a woolen manufacturer, and the Eng- 
lish Cogswells at Westbury still own and 
operate woolen mills there, or did until 
recently. He married, in England, Sep- 
tember 10, 161 5, Elizabeth, daughter of 
Rev. William and Phillip Thompson. 
Her father was vicar of the parish. Chil- 
n E-7-3 33 



dren : A daughter, resided in London ; 
Mary, married, 1649, Godfrey Armitage ; 
William, mentioned below; John, bap- 
tized July 25, 1622; Hannah, married, 
1652; Deacon Cornelius Waldo; Abigail, 
married Thomas Clark ; Edward, born 
1629; Sarah, married, 1663, Simon Tuttle ; 
Elizabeth, married, July 31, 1657; Na- 
thaniel Masterson. 

(II) William Cogswell, eldest son of 
John and Elizabeth (Thompson) Cogs- 
well, was born in England, baptized at 
Westbury, Wiltshire, in March, 1619, and 
died December 15, 1700. He settled in 
Chebacco (Essex), was a leading citizen, 
often moderator and selectman, and gave 
the land for the first meeting house site. 
His will is dated August 5, 1696. He 
married, in 1649, Susanna Hawkes, born 
1633, in Charlestown, Massachusetts, 
daughter of Adam and Anne (Hutchin- 
son) Hawkes. Children : Elizabeth, born 
1650; Hester, August 24, 1655, married 
Samuel Bishop; Susanna and Ann 
(twins), January 5, 1657; William, De- 
cember 4, 1659; Jonathan, April 26, 1661 ; 
Edmund, died May 15, 1680; John, men- 
tioned below; Adam, born January 12, 
1667; Sarah, February 3, 1668. 

(III) Lieutenant John (2) Cogswell, 
fourth son of William and Susanna 
(Hawkes) Cogswell, was born May 12, 
1665, in Chebacco, and died 1710. He 
married Hannah Goodhue, born July 4, 
1673, died December 25, 1742, daughter 
of Deacon William and Hannah (Dane) 
Goodhue. She married (second) in 1713, 
Lieutenant Thomas Perley. Children : 
Hannah, born March 27, 1693 ; William, 
mentioned below; Susanna, March 10, 
1696; John, December 2, 1699; Francis, 
March 26, 1701 ; Elizabeth, married, Oc- 
tober 20, 1717, Colonel Joseph Blaney; 
Margaret ; Nathaniel, born January 19 
1707; Bethia; Joseph, died 1728. 

(IV) William (2) Cogswell, eldest son 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Lieutenant John (2) and Hannah 
(Goodhue) Cogswell, was born Septem- 
ber 24, 1694, at Chebacco, and died Feb- 
ruary 19, 1762. He built the old Cogs- 
well mansion, which has remained to the 
present day in the possession of the fam- 
ily. He married (first) September 24, 
1719, Mary Cogswell, born 1699, died 
June 16, 1734; (second) March 13, 1735, 
Elizabeth (Wade) Appleton, who died 
December 13, 1783, daughter of Captain 
Thomas Wade, and widow of Benjamin 
Appleton. Children of first marriage : 
Ebenezer, born June 13, 1720; John, Feb- 
ruary 23, 1722; Mary, September 15, 
1723 ; Jonathan, May 9, 1725 ; Jacob, men- 
tioned below ; Lucy, June 28, 1728; Sarah, 
February 5, 1729; William, May, 1731. 
By second marriage : Hannah, baptized 
June 7, 1737; William, born March 5, 

1740, died young; Susanna, April 19, 

1741, died young; Samuel, March 15, 
1742; Susanna, July 9, 1743; William, 
May 31, 1745. 

(V) Jacob Cogswell, fourth son of 
William (2) and Mary (Cogswell) Cogs- 
well, was born May 18, 1727, in Chebacco 
Parish, and lived there, where he died 
December 1, 1805. He married (inten- 
tions published February 2, 1748) Eliza- 
beth Eveleth, baptized November 10, 
1728, in Ipswich, daughter of James and 
Elizabeth (Cogswell) Eveleth. Children : 
William, mentioned below ; Francis, born 
August 8, 1768; Jacob, May 21, 1770. 
There were probably others ; the last two 
only are on the vital records of Ipswich. 

(VI) William (3) Cogswell, son of 
Jacob and Elizabeth (Eveleth) Cogswell, 
was born about 1766, in Chebacco, lived 
there, and was lost in a hurricane in 1792 
at St. Martins, West Indies. He married, 
February 12, 1791, Mary Smith, probably 
the Mary Smith baptized October 18, 
1767, in Ipswich, daughter of John and 
Mary (Work) Smith. 



(VII) Daniel Cogswell, only child of 
William (3) and Mary (Smith) Cogs- 
well, was born August 31, 1792, in Che- 
bacco, where he made his home, and died 
March 31, 1863. He married (first) Feb- 
ruary 14, 1822, Sarah Cogswell, born Sep- 
tember 22, 1793, in Chebacco, daughter of 
Benjamin and Abigail (Choate) Cogs- 
well, died May 8, 1825. He married (sec- 
ond) in November, 1828, Eunice Smith, 
born August 10, 1803, in Ipswich, died 
September 7, 1829, daughter of Samuel 
and Hannah (Choate) Smith. He mar- 
ried (third) May 21, 1833, Mercy Davis 
Randall, born 1807, baptized at the sec- 
ond church of Ipswich, September 1, 
1816, died August 14, 1849. She was a 
daughter of Caleb and Lucy (Caldwell) 
Randall. The only child of the first mar- 
riage died in infancy. There was a daugh- 
ter of the second marriage, Eunice Smith 
Cogswell, born 1829, died 1845. Chil- 
dren of the third marriage : Mercy, bap- 
tized August 24, 1834; William, August 
22, 1836; Daniel Albert, July 11, 1838; 
George, baptized March 15, 1841, died one 
week later; Lucy, mentioned below; 
Alice, January 5, 1845 '■> Charles Howard, 
February 6, 1848. 

(VIII) Lucy Cogswell, third daughter 
of Daniel Cogswell, and child of his third 
wife, Mercy Davis (Randall) Cogswell, 
was born January 3, 1842, in Ipswich, and 
was married, June 15, 1864, to George B. 
Roberts, of Cambridge. George B. Rob- 
erts was a son of Thomas J. Roberts, who 
is said to have been a native of New 
Hampshire, and settled in Boston when 
a young man. There he was engaged in 
contracting and building, and after some 
years moved to Ipswich, Massachusetts, 
where his home continued until his death 
in 1876. He was the builder of the Bos- 
ton City Hall and many other public 
structures. He married, in Boston, Mas- 
sachusetts, Rachel Sargeant, a native of 



34 



1233P* 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



that town, who died in Ipswich in 1883. 
They had children: George B., mentioned 
below ; Edwin, now deceased ; Sarah Eliz- 
abeth, wife of Walter Purlett, of Ipswich. 

George B. Roberts, eldest child of 
Thomas J. and Rachel (Sargeant) Rob- 
berts, was born December 12, 1833, in 
Boston, and died August 3, 1916, at 
Marblehead Neck, Massachusetts. He 
was educated in the schools of Boston. 
Early in life he was connected with the 
dry goods business in Boston, and in New 
York. About the time of the Civil War, 
in which he served, enlisting from Salem, 
Massachusetts, he located in Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, where he was one of the 
pioneer steam boiler manufacturers and 
an original member of the old Cambridge 
firm of Kendall & Roberts Iron Company, 
and when he left this company he organ- 
ized the Roberts Iron Works Company 
of Cambridgeport, of which he was presi- 
dent. He retired from active business 
about five years prior to his death, when 
he was succeeded by his eldest son, Dan- 
iel C. Roberts. He was a resident of 
Cambridge for fifty years. George B. 
Roberts served in the Union army dur- 
ing the Civil War, enlisting May 23, 1861, 
in Company G, First Regiment Massa- 
chusetts Infantry, and was honorably 
discharged for disability, December 20, 
1862, with the rank of corporal. Chil- 
dren of Mr. and Mrs. Roberts : Daniel 
Cogswell, born December 25, 1865 ; Alice, 
mentioned below ; Frances Willett, Janu- 
ary 14, 1871 ; George Newman, Decem- 
ber 17, 1874; Edith, June 13, 1878; Ernest 
Bemis, December 9, 1879. 

(IX) Alice Roberts, eldest daughter of 
George B. and Lucy (Cogswell) Roberts, 
was born June 19, 1868, in Ipswich, and 
became the wife of George Trumbull 
Hartshorn, of Taunton, Massachusetts 
(see Hartshorn VIII). 



COPELAND, Horatio Franklin, M. D., 

Physician, Surgeon. 

Lawrence Copeland, the immigrant an- 
cestor, was born in Scotland, according 
to family tradition, in 1599. Copeland is 
an ancient Scotch surname and the seat 
of the family has been in Dumfriesshire 
since 1400 or earlier. It is believed that 
he had served in the Scotch army against 
Cromwell and that he was with the 
Scotch prisoners that Cromwell sent to 
New England after the battle of Worces- 
ter. At any rate he was living in Brain- 
tree late in 165 1, and died there December 
30, 1699, aged one hundred years, accord- 
ing to various testimony, including the 
town records, Marshall's diary and others. 
He married, December 12, 165 1, Lydia 
Townsend. But if he were born in 1599 
he was over fifty at the time of this mar- 
riage, and seventy-five years old when his 
youngest child was born. Hence it is be- 
lieved that Lydia was not his first wife 
and that the family tradition that he 
brought his wife with him receives sup- 
port, but there is no record of her. If his 
wife came with him, he doubtless came 
not from Scotland, not a prisoner of war, 
but an English settler from England. 
Little is known about him, and his name 
but seldom appears in the records. He 
was doubtless a quiet kind of a farmer. 
His wife died January 8, 1688. Children 
by wife Lydia : Thomas, born December 
3, 1652; Thomas, 2d, February 8, 1655; 
William, mentioned below ; John, Febru- 
ary 10, 1659; Lydia, May 31, 1661 ; Eph- 
raim, January 17, 1665 ; Hannah, Febru- 
ary 25, 1668; Richard, July 11, 1672; Abi- 
gail, 1674. 

(II) William Copeland, son of Law- 
rence Copeland, was born at Braintree, 
November 15, 1656, and died there in 1716. 
He married, April 13, 1694, Mary (Bass) 
Webb, widow of Christopher Webb, Jr., 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and daughter of John and Ruth (Alden) 
Webb, granddaughter of John and Pris- 
cilla (Mullins) Alden, who came in the 
"Mayflower," and are celebrated in the 
poem of Longfellow, entitled the "Court- 
ship of Miles Standish." All the Cope- 
lands descended from William and Mary 
are therefore eligible to the Society of 
Mayflower Descendants. Mary Bass was 
also descended from Samuel Bass, of 
Braintree and Boston, a deacon of the 
church and a deputy to the General Court, 
who died December 30, 1694, aged ninety- 
four years, then the progenitors of one 
hundred and sixty-two persons, we are 
told. Copeland remained in his native 
town; he was one of the dissenters 
from the vote of the town to pay the min- 
ister his full salary of eighty pounds, half 
in money, half in farm produce, March 2, 
1690-91. He was elected fence viewer in 
1696; signed the agreement to pay the ex- 
penses of defending the title of the pro- 
prietors of Braintree to their lands, Janu- 
ary 10, 1697-98. Children, born at Brain- 
tree : William, March 7, 1695; Ephraim, 
February 1, 1697; Ebenezer, February 16, 
1698; Jonathan, mentioned below; David, 
April 18, 1704; Joseph, May 18, 1706; 
Benjamin, October 5, 1708; Moses, May 
28, 1710; Mary, May 28, 1713. 

(III) Jonathan Copeland, son of Wil- 
liam Copeland, was born at Braintree, 
August 31, 1701 ; married, in 1723, Betty 
Snell, born 1705, daughter of Thomas 
Snell, and granddaughter of Thomas 
Snell, who came from England and set- 
tled in Bridgewater about 1665. Jona- 
than Copeland settled in West Bridge- 
water, and died there in his ninetieth year, 
1790. Children: Abigail, born in 1724; 
Betty, 1726; Jonathan, 1728; Mary, 1731 ; 
Joseph, 1734; Hannah, 1737; Elijah, men- 
tioned below; Daniel, 1741 ; Sarah, 1745; 
Ebenezer, 1746; Betty, 2d, 1750. 

(IV) Elijah Copeland, son of Jonathan 



Copeland, was born in 1739; married, in 
1765, Rhoda Snell, born 1743, daughter of 
Josiah Snell, granddaughter of Josiah 
Snell, and great-granddaughter of Thomas 
Snell, the immigrant, mentioned above. 
Elijah Copeland located in what is now 
the town of Easton, and died there at the 
age of seventy-eight years. He was a 
soldier in the Revolution in Captain 
Keith's company from Easton on a Rhode 
Island alarm and again for three months, 
beginning December 30, 1777, with his 
company in Rhode Island. He also turned 
out with the militia on Rhode Island 
alarms in 1780 and 1781, and in that year 
probably witnessed the reception to 
Washington and Rochambeau. He and 
his wife were buried in what is known as 
the Elijah Copeland graveyard, south of 
the old Copeland homestead on Bay Road, 
opposite Beaver street, Easton. He died 
September 8, 1817; his wife Rhoda died 
October 5, 1825, aged eighty-two years. 
Children: Elijah, born in 1766, moved to 
Weston, Massachusetts; Josiah, men- 
tioned below; Luther, born 1770, moved 
to Vermont; a daughter, born January 12, 
1775, died January 25, 1775; Calvin, born 
March 17, 1776, died September 14, 1778; 
Rhoda, born March 18, 1778, married 
(first) February 20, 1837, Aaron Gay, and 
(second) June 14, 1848, Eleazer Keith; 
Abigail, born June 10, 1781, married, June 
16, 1803, James Guild; Martin, born Janu- 
ary 16, 1784, died June 2, 1814; Molly, 
born September 5, 1786, married Leonard 
Dunbar. 

(V) Josiah Copeland, son of Elijah 
Copeland, was born in Easton, in 1768, 
and resided in that town and Bridgewater. 
He was active and enterprising. For 
many years he was a manufacturer in 
South Easton, sometimes with and some- 
times without partners, operating a saw 
mill, an oil mill, a forge and yarn mill. 
From 181 1 to 1816 he was a selectman of 
36 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Easton. He died there December 14, 
1852, at the age of eighty-four years. He 
married, September 11, 1794, Susanna 
Hayward, who died at Easton, May 5, 
1859, aged eighty-five years. Children : 
Horatio, mentioned below; Hiram, born 
September 9, 1798, married a Miss Cope- 
land ; Susannah H., born July 21, 1800, a 
school teacher, never married. 

(VI) Horatio Copeland, son of Josiah 
Copeland, was born at Easton, March 5, 
1796. He was also a leading citizen of 
his native town, a manufacturer having 
mills there and also put into operation 
cotton gins in the south. In 1836 he 
bought the general store of the Reed 
estate, Easton, and kept it until a few 
years before he died. He was a sol- 
dier in the War of 1812, in Captain 
Isaac Lothrop's company, Lieutenant- 
Colonel Towne's regiment of light infan- 
try, and was on duty in September and 
October at Boston harbor in 1814. From 
1839 to 1843 ne was a selectman of 
Easton; in March, 1859, ^ e was appointed 
postmaster at South Easton, the third 
postmaster of that village and held the 
office until 1861, when he was succeeded 
by his son George, who continued in the 
office for fifty years. He died at South 
Easton, December 2, 1865, and was 
buried in Easton. He married, May 16, 
1834, Delia Maria (Nye) Howard, who 
was born April 14, 1804, daughter of 
Samuel and Mary (Polly) Nye (see Nye 
XV), widow of Thomas Howard. She 
died at Easton, January 26, 1878, and 
was also buried in Easton. Children, 
born at South Easton : Sarah Frances, 
born June 5, 1835, died August 27, 1845; 
George, mentioned below ; Josiah, born 
September 5, 1838, died in Colorado in 
1859; Horatio Franklin, mentioned be- 
low. 

(VII) George Copeland, son of Hora- 
tio Copeland, was born in Easton, Janu- 



ary 5, 1837. He was a moulder by trade. 
From 1859 to 1882 he was a grocer at 
South Easton, and from 1861 to 1910 
the postmaster. In 1873 he was repre- 
sentative to the General Court, and from 
1882 to 1905 a selectman. He is a mem- 
ber of Paul Revere Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; of Brockton Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons, and of Old Colony 
Commandery, Knights Templar, of Ab- 
ington. He married, June 30, 1868, Har- 
riet Augusta Kimball, of Easton. Chil- 
dren: Marion Augusta, born March 1, 
1871, who married Clifton G. Brown, D. 
M. D., of Cambridge ; George Hubert, 
born June 15, 1875, OI South Easton; 
Ethel Helene, born February 7, 1877, 
married George H. Briggs, of Dorchester. 
(VII) Dr. Horatio Franklin Copeland, 
son of Horatio Copeland, was born No- 
vember 15, 1842, in Easton. He attended 
the district schools of his native town, 
and prepared for college in the old Thet- 
ford Academy in Vermont. Omitting a 
college course, as was customary for 
medical students in his day, he began to 
study medicine under the instruction of 
Dr. Caleb Swan, of Easton, afterward 
entering the Harvard Medical School, 
from which he was graduated in 1865, 
with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. 
He was immediately appointed acting 
assistant surgeon in the army and 
assigned in charge of the post hospital 
at Bermuda Hundred, Virginia, and of 
an isolation hospital for the smallpox 
cases, and went on duty there in January, 
1865. His experience in the army was 
not only of great value to the men who 
came under his care and treatment, but 
proved extremely important and useful 
to him after he began his private practice 
in Abington, in what is now Whitman, 
where he has continued to the present 
time. Throughout his long career as a 
physician and surgeon, Dr. Copeland has 



37 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



been a student and investigator, keeping 
pace with the progress in medical re- 
search. The esteem in which he is held 
by his fellow-practitioners was shown at 
the annual meeting, June 15, 191 5, of the 
Hatherly Medical Club, of which he is a 
member, when to mark the fiftieth anni- 
versary of the beginning of his practice 
in Abington, he was given a silver loving 
cup. In the same year, the Plymouth 
District Medical Society, of which he has 
been a prominent member for many 
years, tendered a reception and banquet 
at the rooms of the Commercial Club, in 
Brockton, to him and other veterans of 
the society — Dr. Copeland ; Dr. Edward 
Cowles, of Plymouth ; Dr. Calvin Pratt, 
of Bridgewater; Dr. A. Elliott Paine, of 
Brockton ; and Dr. Durgin, of Boston, all 
of whom had rounded out a half century 
of active practice in their profession. The 
occasion was unique and extremely 
pleasant in every detail. 

His extensive practice is perhaps th< 
best testimonial of his skill and qualify 
cations as a physician ; it hardly needs 
the commendation of his associates in the 
medical profession to afford support to 
the statement that he ranks among the 
best in the county. But on both these 
occasions the testimony of other physi- 
cians was most kind and complimentary 
to Dr. Copeland. 

Not alone as a successful physician, 
eminent in his chosen profession and dis- 
tinguished by the unusual length of his 
service to mankind, but as a highly useful 
citizen in other relations of life, has the 
career of Dr. Copeland been exceptional. 
He has been for many years a trustee of 
the Whitman Savings Bank, and a direc- 
tor of the Whitman National Bank, in 
both of which his judgment is highly 
respected by his associates. In town 
affairs he possesses and has often felt 
called upon to exert a determining in- 



fluence. He is a Republican, but has 
never accepted public office. In religion 
he is a liberal Congregationalist. It is 
superfluous to say that he is interested 
in the veterans of the Civil War, for 
every veteran in this section is his per- 
sonal friend. He is a member of David 
A. Russell Post, No. 78, Grand Army of 
the Republic, of Whitman. 

His circle of friends throughout the 
county is particularly large in Masonic 
circles. He was made a Mason in Rising 
Star Lodge, of Stoughton, many years 
ago, and is now a member of Puritan 
Lodge, of Whitman, also of Pilgrim 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, of Abing- 
ton ; of Abington Council, Royal and 
Select Masters, of which he was one of 
the charter members and of which he 
was the presiding officer for four years. 
He is also a past eminent commander of 
Old Colony Commandery, Knights 
Templar, of Abington. 

Dr. Copeland is one of two surviving 
members of a remarkable social organiza- 
tion formed in Boston in 1870 by twelve 
well known citizens of Plymouth county, 
known as the United Twelve. It was 
then decided that no other members 
should be added. Annually since then 
the club has held a dinner with places 
set for twelve, but year by year the num- 
ber of vacant chairs has increased, and 
at the end of forty-seven years Dr. Cope- 
land and Mr. B. S. Bryant, of Marsh- 
field, are the only survivors, but they 
continue as before to dine once a year at 
a table set for a dozen. The other 
members were : William L. Read, first 
president ; Daniel Lovering, vice-presi- 
dent ; Samuel N. Dyer, secretary ; New- 
ton M. Reed, of Abington ; Edward P. 
Reed, of Abington ; Frank A. Hobart, of 
South Braintree ; Henry Hobart, of East 
Bridgewater; Charles C. Bryant, of 
Brockton ; Bradley S. Bryant ; Amos S. 



38 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Stetson, of Whitman ; and Hosea F. 
Whidden, of Whitman. 

Dr. Copeland has made fishing and 
hunting his principal recreations. He is 
a member of the Massachusetts Medical 
Society and the American Medical Asso- 
ciation, of which he is a member of the 
auxiliary legislative committee. Dr. 
Copeland is unmarried. 

(The Nye Line). 

The surname Nye, according to the 
genealogy, appears first in the middle of 
the thirteenth century in the Sjelland 
section of Denmark, and in Danish the 
word signifies new or newcomer, when 
used as a preface. It was not adopted as 
a surname until after the family settled 
in England. The Nye coat-of-arms is 
described : Azure a crescent argent. 
Crest : Two horns couped counter- 
charged, azure and argent. 

(I) Lave, a Dane to whom the line is 
traced in the genealogy, was son of a 
descendant of Harold Blautand, who 
died in 985, through a daughter who 
married one of the most famous of the 
Swedish medieval heroes, Styribiorn, son 
of Olaf, King of Sweden. He became 
prominent, and in 1316 was Bishop of 
Roskilde. 

(II) Sven was heir of Svencin in 1346. 

(III) Marten was declared heir of 
Sven in 1363 in Tudse. 

(IV) Nils was mentioned, in 1418, as 
owning land in Tudse. 

(V) Sertolf was mentioned, in 1466, 
as son of Nils, and he had sons, James 
and Randolf. The son James fought a 
duel and was obliged to flee to England 
and was accompanied by his brother. 

(VI) Randolf Nye, son of Sertolf, 
settled in Sussex, England, in 1527, and 
held land in Uckfield. 

(VII) William Nye. son of Randolf 
Nye, married Agnes, daughter of Ralph 



Tregian, of County Hereford ; he studied 
for the ministry and became rector of 
Ballance-Horned before his father died. 

(VIII) Ralph Nye, son of William 
Nye, inherited his father's estate in Uck- 
field and Ballance, in 1556; married, June 
18, 1556, Margaret Merynge, of St. 
Mary, Woolchurch. Children: Thomas, 
mentioned below ; Edmundus, buried in 
Somersetshire, March 9, 1594; Ralph, 
married, August 30. 1584, Joan Wilk- 
shire ; Anne, married, August 6, 1616, 
Nicholas Stuart ; Mary, married, April 24, 
1621, John Banister. 

(IX) Thomas Nye, son of Ralph Nye, 
married, September 6, 1583, at St. An- 
drew, Hubbard, Katherine Poulsden, of 
Horley, County Surrey. , He sold to his 
wife's brother, William Poulsden, a tene- 
ment builded with a croft adjoining, con- 
taining sixteen acres and a half in Bid- 
lenden, County Kent, for which he 
received an annuity of four shillings. 
Children : Henry, graduate of Oxford, 
161 1, vicar of Cobham, County Surrey, 
and rector of Clapham, County Sussex ; 
Philip, graduate of Oxford, 1619, rector 
of St. Michael's, Cornhill and Acton, 
Middlesex, a celebrated preacher of 
Cromwell's day ; John ; and Thomas, 
mentioned below. 

(X) Thomas (2) Nye, son of Thomas 

(1) Nye, was a haberdasher of Bidlenden, 
County Kent; married, June 10, 1619, 
Agnes Nye, aged thirty-nine years, 
widow of Henry Nye. He granted land 
to his youngest son Thomas, in Bid- 
lenden. July 4, 1637, and in the deed 
stated : "My eldest son Benjamin, hav- 
ing gone to New England." Children : 
Benjamin, mentioned below; Thomas, 
born September 16, 1623, married Mar- 
garet Webster, and left descendants at 
Bidlenden. 

(XI) Benjamin Nye, son of Thomas 

(2) Nye, was born May 4, 1620, at Bid- 



39 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lenden, England, and came in the ship 
"Abigail," to Lynn, Massachusetts, in 
1635, locating in Sandwich two years 
later. His name is on the list of men in 
Sandwich able to bear arms in 1643; he 
contributed to the cost of building a mill 
there in 1654 and a meeting house in 

1656. He took the oath of fidelity in 

1657. He was supervisor of highways 
there in 1655 ; grand juror in 1658 and 
later; constable in 1661 and 1673; collec- 
tor of taxes in 1674. He received, in 
1669, twelve acres of land from the town 
for building his mill at the little pond and 
had other similar grants later. He was 
given permission by vote of the town to 
build a fulling mill on Spring Hill river, 
August 8, 1675, an d it is said that the 
ruins of his old mill may still be seen 
there. He married, in Sandwich, Octo- 
ber 19, 1640, Katherine Tupper, daughter 
of Rev. Thomas Tupper. Children : 
Mary, married Jacob Burgess ; John ; 
Ebenezer; Jonathan, born November 29, 
1649; Mercy, April 4, 1652; Caleb; 
Nathan, mentioned below ; Benjamin, 
killed March 26, 1676, by Indians. 

(XII) Nathan Nye, son of Benjamin 
Nye, lived at Sandwich, and took the 
oath of fidelity there in 1678. His will 
was dated September 18, 1741, and 
proved May 13, 1747. Children, born at 
Sandwich : Reuben, February 28, 1686- 
87; Temperance, August 7, 1689; Thank- 
ful, August 11, 1691 ; Content, September 
2 5> io 93; Jemima, February 20, 1695; 
Lemuel, mentioned below ; Deborah, 
April 28, 1700; Maria, April 2, 1702; 
Caleb, June 28. 1704; Nathan, September 
28, 1708. 

(XIII) Lemuel Nye, son of Nathan 
Nye, was born at Sandwich, March 21, 
1698-99, lived and died there. His will is 
dated July 22, 1762, and proved March 
18, 1763. Children, mentioned in will: 
Samuel, mentioned below ; Lot ; Lemuel, 



born 1733; Mercy, Mary, Sarah, Thank- 
ful. 

(XIV) Samuel Nye, son of Lemuel 
Nye, was born in Sandwich ; married 
there, February 25, 1767, Mercy Bourne, 
born June 24, 1727, daughter of Jonathan 
and Hannah Bourne. Children, born at 
Sandwich: Anna, born August 16, 1768, 
lived to the age of ninety-one years ; 
Nathan, August 8, 1770; Isaac, Septem- 
ber 11, 1772; Andrew; Mercy, September 
8, 1778; Samuel, mentioned below; 
Braddock, August 25, 1784; Maria, Au- 
gust 25, 1787; Sarah, November 18, 1789; 
John. 

(XV) Samuel (2) Nye, son of Samuel 
(1) Nye, was born at Sandwich, Novem- 
ber 18, 1780. He lived at Nantucket, and 
later at Wareham, dying at the latter 
place, November 3, 1858. He married, 
in 1801, Mary Snow, who was born Janu- 
ary 24, 1778, and died at Easton, April 
25, 1869. Children: 1. Thomas S., born 
March 30, 1802, married four times. 2. 
Delia Maria, born April 14, 1804, married 
(first) Thomas Howard, and (second) 
Horatio Copeland (see Copeland VI). 3. 
Andrew S., born at Nantucket, March 18. 
1806, married Lucinda H. Leonard. 4. 
Mary, born June 19, 1809, married Na- 
thaniel Jones. 5. Susan, born May 19, 
1812, married (first) George Patterson, 
and (second) George W. Esten. 6. Mar- 
garet H., born November 25, 181 5, mar- 
ried James Holmes. 7. Harriet Newell, 
born December 10, 1819, died January 
29, 1844, at Wareham, unmarried. 8. 
Almira (or Myra) Snow, born February 
22, 1823, married Thomas Mitchell. 



CRANE, Joshua Eddy, 

Educator, Librarian. 

From the best information at hand it 
appears that between the years 1635 an ^ 
1640, John, Samuel and Jaspar Crane 



40 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



came to Massachusetts, John making a 
home in that part of Boston now Brook- 
line, Samuel in Dorchester, and Jaspar 
removing about 1639 to New Haven, 
Connecticut; whether they were brothers 
or not is yet an open question. John 
Crane was in Boston as early as January 
8, 1637. 

(II) John Crane was succeeded by 
Henry Crane, born about 1621, probably 
in England. He married (first) Tabitha, 
daughter of Stephen Kinsley ; settled in 
Braintree, and left a large line of de- 
scendants. Without evidence to the con- 
trary it may be reasonably supposed that 
Samuel was the father of this Henry. 
Samuel Crane is mentioned in the Brain- 
tree records, 1640, as one of several 
elected to administer town affairs, among 
them Stephen Kinsley, this the first asso- 
ciation in these records of the names 
Kinsley and Crane. In 1654 Stephen 
Kinsley (who was at Mount Wollaston, 
Massachusetts, in 1639) and his sons-in- 
law, Anthony Gulliver and Henry Crane, 
were settled on adjacent farms in that 
part of Dorchester which was later incor- 
porated as Milton. Henry Crane was in 
main a husbandman. He was one of the 
selectmen of Milton in 1679, 1680 and 
1681, and was one of the trustees of the 
first meeting house built in the town. 
His wife Tabitha died shortly after 1681, 
and he married (second) about 1683, 
Elizabeth, surname unknown, who sur- 
vived him. His children were: Benja- 
min, mentioned below ; John, mentioned 
below ; Stephen, married (first) Mary 
Denison, (second) Comfort, widow of 
Samuel Belcher, of Braintree ; Henry ; 
Elizabeth, born 1663, married (first) 
Eleazer Gilbert, of Taunton, (second) 
George Townsend, of that same town ; 
Ebenezer, born 1665, married Mary Tol- 
man ; Mary, born 1666, married Samuel 
Hackett, of Taunton ; Mercy, 1668 ; 
Samuel, 1669; Anna C, 1687, who re- 



moved to Taunton. Henry Crane died 
in Milton, March 21, 1709. 

It should have been stated ere this 
that according to Mr. Ellery Bicknell 
Crane, the Cranes of England are classed 
among the families belonging to the 
county of Suffolk. Though numerous 
families bearing the name have been 
found residents of other counties in 
Great Britain, it is among the records of 
Suffolk county that we find delineated the 
long roll of aristocratic landholders in a 
line of succession from father to son 
covering a period of time marked by hun- 
dreds of years. Here their estates are to 
be found recorded for nearly three hun- 
dred years. It will be observed that 
some of the immediate posterity of Henry 
Crane located in Taunton, and the towns 
of Dighton, Berkley and Norton also be- 
came the places of residence of their 
descendants. 

(Ill) Benjamin Crane, son of Henry 
Crane, born about 1656, was a member of 
Captain Johnson's company in King 
Philip's War and was severely wounded 
in the battle of Narragansett Swamp, De- 
cember 19, 1675. His death occurred 
October 13, 1721. Many of the Crane 
family of Berkley were his descendants. 

(III) John (2) Crane, son of Henry 
Crane, born November 30, 1658, in Dor- 
chester, married, December 13, 1686, 
Hannah, daughter of James and Hannah 
Leonard, of Taunton, and there became 
a settler, but in 1698 had sold his place 
in Taunton and with his brother Ben- 
jamin in that year bought of the heirs of 
Jonathan Briggs a farm of three hundred 
acres in the South Purchase of Taunton, 
now Berkley, which in a few years was 
divided in two portions by the two 
brothers. John Crane died August 5, 
1716, and his wife died October 24, 1760. 
Children: Henry, Gershom, Zipporah, 
Tabitha, John. 

(IV) Gershom Crane, son of John (2) 



4i 



:ncyclopedia of biography 



and Hannah (Leonard) Crane, born Sep- 
tember 3, 1692, married, February 27, 
1716, Susanna Whitmarsh, daughter of 
Samuel Whitmarsh, then of Dighton. It 
was at his house that the first meeting 
of the town of Berkley was held and of 
which he was the moderator in 1735. He 
died June 23, 1787. His wife, Susanna, 
died September 11, 1770. Their children 
were: Abiah, born 1716; Abel, 1718; 
Ebenezer, 1720; Hannah, 1722; Elisha, 
mentioned below; Gershom, 1728, died 
1732; John, 1731, married Rachel Terry 
and was a resident of Norton, and his 
son, Rev. John Crane, D. D., born 1756, 
was the minister of Northbridge and died 
in 1836; Gershom, 1735; Jonathan, 1737, 
was graduated at Harvard College in 
1762, married Mary, daughter of Colonel 
Josiah Edson, 1770, and practiced his 
profession of medicine in Bridgewater ; 
his son, Daniel Crane, was graduated at 
Brown University in 1796. 

(V) Elisha Crane, son of Gershom and 
Susanna (Whitmarsh) Crane, born De- 
cember 25, 1724, married Thankful Axtell, 
daughter of Daniel Axtell, of Berkley, 
January 15, 1774, and lived at the home 
of Daniel Axtell, which was established 
in 1 710 in the town of Dighton, now 
Berkley. Their children were : Betsey, 
born 1775, married Benjamin Hathaway, 
1801 ; Susannah, 1776, married, 1802, 
Christopher Paull ; Daniel, 1777, died 
1805 ; Polly, 1779, married, in 1806, Dean 
Burt ; Barzillai, mentioned below. Elisha 
Crane died November 20, 1807. Thankful 
(Axtell) Crane died January 22, 1832. 

(VI) Barzillai Crane, son of Elisha 
and Thankful (Axtell) Crane, born Feb- 
ruary 24, 1783, married (first) January 22, 
1810, Lydia Eddy, daughter of Captain 
Joshua Eddy and his wife, Lydia (Pad- 
dock) Eddy, of Middleboro, and lived in 
Berkley. Children: Charlotte Maria, 
born 181 1, died 1818; Susanna W., 1815, 



married Samuel Breck; Elisha, 1817, died 
1843, a physician, unmarried ; Charlotte 
M., 1820, died 1841 ; Joshua Eddy, men- 
tioned below; Irene Lazell, 1826, married 
Dr. Thomas Nichols ; Lydia, 1829, died 
1833; Morton Eddy, 1831, died 1857, un- 
married. Lydia (Eddy) Crane died Feb- 
ruary 10, 1842. Barzillai Crane married 
(second) in 1844, Eliza Tobey, daughter 
of Apollos and Hannah (Crane) Tobey, 
of Berkley. He died June 15, 1851. Eliza 
(Tobey) Crane, born October 29, 1801, 
died December 9, 1882. 

Mrs. Lydia (Eddy) Crane, wife of Bar- 
zillai Crane, was born December 23, 1787, 
daughter of Captain Joshua and Lydia 
(Paddock) Eddy, Joshua Eddy being a 
direct descendant of Samuel Eddy, who 
was the son of William Eddy, A. M., 
vicar of St. Dunstan's Church, Cran- 
brook, County Kent, England, and his 
wife, Mary (Fosten) Eddy. Samuel 
Eddy came from Boxted, County Suffolk, 
England, to America in the ship "Hand- 
maid," in 1630, settling in Plymouth, 
where he purchased property in 1631. 
From this Samuel Eddy and his wife 
Elizabeth the descent of Lydia Eddy is 
through Obadiah and his wife Bennet, 
Samuel (2) and his wife Melatiah 
(Pratt), Zechariah and his wife Mercy 
(Morton), and Captain Joshua Eddy and 
his wife Lydia (Paddock). 

Captain Joshua Eddy saw much hard 
service in the Revolution. He entered 
the service, enlisting in 1775, in Captain 
Benson's company, Colonel Cotton's regi- 
ment ; was at Roxbury, Massachusetts, 
during the siege of Boston, and at the 
battle of Breed's (Bunker) Hill. In 1776 
he was lieutenant in Colonel Marshall's 
regiment and went to Castle Island. He 
was in the retreat from Ticonderoga and 
was at Saratoga at the surrender of Gen- 
eral Burgoyne. He then went to New 
Jersey, was in winter quarters with Gen- 



42 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



eral Washington, and was at the battle 
of Monmouth. After the close of the war 
he was extensively engaged in various 
kinds of business. He was a man of 
unusual energy. For many years he was 
a deacon in the church of his community. 
He died in 1833. 

(VII) Joshua Eddy Crane, son of Bar- 
zillai and Lydia (Eddy) Crane, was born 
July 9, 1823, in the town of Berkley, 
Massachusetts, and acquired his educa- 
tion in both the public and private 
schools of his native town. Desiring to 
enter business he, at sixteen years of age, 
began preparation for it in the office of a 
commission merchant in New York City. 
Later, in 1844, he was at Bridgewater 
with his uncle, Morton Eddy, who retired 
from the firm in 1848. Thereafter while 
in active business the concern was con- 
ducted by Mr. Crane. A man of ability, 
good judgment, one successful in the 
management of his own business affairs, 
Mr. Crane was soon found by his fellow 
citizens to possess the qualities required 
in the same, and as a conservative public 
man was often sought and long continued 
in public official service. He cast his first 
vote in 1844 for the candidates of the 
Liberty party, having been present at the 
organization of that party at Boston. He 
soon became active politically in local 
affairs. He was a delegate to the Wor- 
cester convention, at which Judge Charles 
Allen presided, and at which was organ- 
ized the Republican party in Massachu- 
setts. For many years he was chairman 
of the Republican town committee of 
Bridgewater, and also a member of the 
State Republican Committee. In 1857 he- 
was a representative for the town ih the 
General Court. On the breaking out of 
the Civil War, in 1861, when party lines 
were almost obliterated, he was chosen 
senator from the South Plymouth district, 
and in the following year was almost 



unanimously again elected to that body, 
the Democrats making no nomination 
against him. While in the Senate he nad 
the honor of taking part in the election 
of Hon. Charles Sumner to the United 
States Senate from Massachusetts. In 
the Senate he served on the committees 
on claims and on mercantile affairs and 
insurance. He was town clerk of Bridge- 
water for several years, from 1855 to 1858 
inclusive, and in 1873 an d 1874. For 
more than thirty years he was in various 
capacities connected with the Plymouth 
County Agricultural Society, and for a 
number of years was treasurer and mem- 
ber of the board of trustees of that so- 
ciety. On the occasion of the celebration 
of the fiftieth anniversary, September 30, 
1869, he delivered the historical address. 
For a dozen and more years he served as 
chairman of the board of trustees of the 
State Workhouse at Bridgewater, and for 
twenty and more years was a trustee of 
the Bridgewater Academy, and was 
active in the erection of the present 
school building. For upward of twenty- 
five years Mr. Crane was a correspondent 
for the newspapers of the vicinity, writ- 
ing many sketches of interest to those of 
antiquarian tastes. He prepared the 
sketch of the town of Bridgewater con- 
tained in the "History of Plymouth 
County," published in 1884. His religious 
faith was that of the Central Square Con- 
gregational Church in Bridgewater, of 
which he was a member, and he was 
chairman of the building committee at 
the time of the erection of the present 
church edifice. 

On January 9, 1849, Mr. Crane married 
Lucy Ann Reed, born September 25, 1825, 
daughter of the late Ouincy and Lucy 
(Loud) Reed, of Weymouth, Massachu- 
setts, and their children were : Joshua 
Eddy, mentioned below ; Charles Reed, 
born 1852; Lucy Reed, 1854, died 1856; 



43 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Morton Eddy, 1857, of Washington, D. 
C. ; Henry Lovell, January 31, i860, died 
March 16, 1905 ; Anna Howe, 1862, mar- 
ried Charles A. Drew, M. D. ; Edward 
Appleton, 1865, died 1887. Joshua E. 
Crane died in Bridgewater, August 5, 
1888; Lucy Ann (Reed) Crane died Sep- 
tember 24, 1898. 

Quincy Reed, the father of Mrs. Crane, 
descended from William Reade, who 
settled in Weymouth in 1635, from whom 
his descent is through Thomas Reed and 
his wife Sarah (Bicknell) ; John Reed 
and his wife Sarah (Whitmarsh) ; John 
Reed (2) and his wife Mary (Bate) and 
Ezra Reed and his wife Mary (Lovell). 

(VIII) Joshua Eddy (2) Crane, son of 
Joshua Eddy (1) and Lucy Ann (Reed) 
Crane, was born October 1, 1850, in 
Bridgewater, Massachusetts, and there 
educated in the public schools of the place 
and at the Bridgewater Academy, then 
under the instruction of Mr. Horace M. 
Willard. He furthered his studies at 
Brown University, from which he was 
graduated in 1872. Mr. Crane was pre- 
ceptor of Bridgewater Academy, 1873-75 ; 
principal of the English preparatory de- 
partment of the Syrian Protestant Col- 
lege, Beirut, Syria, 1876-79; subsequently 
was employed as private tutor ; and was 
in charge of the Latin classes of Albany 
Academy, Albany, New York, until 1884, 
when he became librarian of the Young 
Men's Association of Albany. In 1887 he 
accepted the position of associate prin- 
cipal of the Portland Latin School at 
Portland, Maine, and in 1890 resumed his 
former position at the library, from which 
he withdrew in 1892. He became libra- 
rian of the Public Library of Taunton in 
1895. He is an officer of the Old Colony 
Historical Society, and of the Old Bridge- 
water Historical Society. 

Mr. Crane married, January I, 1884, 
Katharine Perkins, daughter of Henry 



and Amelia Bartlett (Sherman) Perkins, 
of Bridgewater (see Perkins VIII). 
Their daughter is Clara Whitney Crane 
(Radcliffe, 1914). 

(The Perkins Line). 

(I) Abraham Perkins, one of the first 
settlers of Hampton, New Hampshire, 
was made a freeman, May 13, 1640. He 
was a man of good education, was much 
employed in the service of the town, and 
died August 31, 1683, at the age of sev- 
enty-two. His widow Mary died May 
29, 1706, at the age of eighty-eight. The 
will of Abraham Perkins, dated August 
22, 1683, and probated September 18, 
1683, contains the names of his wife and 
sons Jonathan, Humphrey, James, Luke 
and David. To the last two were given 
five shillings each, as they had already 
received their share. The names of the 
children of Abraham Perkins were : 
Mary, Abraham, Luke, Humphrey, died 
young, James, died young, Timothy, died 
young, James, Jonathan, David, Abigail, 
Timothy, Sarah and Humphrey. 

(II) David Perkins, son of Abraham 
and Mary Perkins, born February 28, 
1653, settled in Beverly about 1675, and 
in 1688 became a resident of Bridgewater, 
in that part of the town which became 
the South Precinct. In 1694 he built the 
first mill at the site of the iron works of 
Messrs. Lazell, Perkins & Company, 
known afterwards as the Bridgewater 
Iron Company, and was engaged in the 
occupation of blacksmith. He was the 
first representative of the town in the 
General Court at Boston after the union 
of the colonies of Plymouth and Massa- 
chusetts, in 1692, and also served in this 
capacity in 1694, and from 1704 to 1707. 
inclusive. His death occurred October 1, 
1736. He married, in 1676, Elizabeth 
Brown, born October 17, 1654, died July 
14, 1735, daughter of Francis Brown, of 



44 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Beverly. In his will of June 17, 1736, he 
names his sons : David, Abraham, 
Thomas, sole executor, and Nathan, de- 
ceased, and grandchildren : David and 
Jonathan, children of his son David, and 
Nathan, Timothy, James, Solomon, 
Martha and Silence, children of Nathan. 
His children were: Mary, David, Na- 
than and Thomas, who resided in Bridge- 
water; and Abraham, who became a 
settler in Kingston, Rhode Island, and 
died in 1746. 

(III) Thomas Perkins, son of David 
and Elizabeth (Brown) Perkins, born 
May 8, 1688, in Bridgewater, lived near 
the site of the present iron works, and 
died June 5, 1761. He married, February 
20, 1717, Mary Washburn, supposed to be 
the daughter of James and Mary (Bow- 
den) Washburn, of Bridgewater, died 
April 23, 1750. Children: Mary, born 
1718, married, 1742, Josiah Hayward ; 
Hepzibah, 1720, married, 1746, Elezer 
Carver; Thomas, 1722, married, 1748, 
Mary Pratt; Charles, 1724, died 1726; 
Ebenezer, mentioned below ; Francis, 
1729, married, 1762, Susanna Waterman. 

(IV) Ebenezer Perkins, son of Thomas 
and Mary (Washburn) Perkins, born 
April 20, 1727, died May 31, 1770. He 
married, February 28, 1751, Experience 
Holmes. Children: Ebenezer, mentioned 
below; Mary, born 1753; Holmes, 1757; 
Hepzibah, 1759; Susanna, 1764; Nancy, 
1769, married Rufus Leach. 

(V) Ebenezer (2) Perkins, eldest child 
of Ebenezer (1) and Experience 
(Holmes) Perkins, born 1752, died 1823, 
was a patriot in the war of the Revolu- 
tion. The records of Massachusetts give 
the following: 

Ebenezer Perkins, of Bridgewater, private, 
Capt. James Allen's company, Col. Simeon Cary's 
regiment, pay abstract for mileage dated, "Camp 
near New York, Aug. 9, 1776," mileage for 251 
miles allowed the said Perkins, private; also 



Capt. Nathaniel Packard's company, Col. Thomas 
Carpenter's regiment, entered service July 25, 
1778, discharged Sept. 9, 1778 — service one month 
and sixteen days, at Rhode Island. Roll sworn 
to at Plymouth. Was also among the descriptive 
list of men raised in Plymouth county in 1779 
to serve in the Continental army, aged twenty- 
seven years, stature six feet, complexion dark. 
Engaged for town of Bridgewater; reported de- 
livered to Capt. L. Bailey. Was also private, 
Capt. L- Bailey's company, Colonel Bailey's (2) 
regiment; entered service July 25, 1779, dis- 
charged April 25, 1780, term nine months. Was 
also among a descriptive list of men raised to 
reinforce the Continental army for the term of 
six months, agreeable to resolve of June 5, 1780; 
returned as received of Justin Ely, commissioner, 
by Brig. Gen. John Glover, at Springfield, Aug. 
2, 1780, aged twenty-eight years, stature six feet, 
complexion dark, engaged for town of Bridge- 
water, arrived at Springfield July 31, 1780, 
marched to camp August 2, 1780, under com- 
mand of Lieut. Benjamin Pike. Was also among 
the list of men raised for the six months' service 
and returned by Brigadier General Paterson as 
having passed muster in a return dated October 
25, 1780; was commissioned corporal. Pay roll 
for six months' men raised by the town of Bridge- 
water for service in the Continental army at 
West Point during 1780, marched July 12, 1780, 
discharged January 13, 1781, service six months 
and thirteen days, including travel (240 miles) 
home. 

Ebenezer Perkins married, in 1782, 
Mary Pratt, daughter of Solomon and 
Mary (Keith) Pratt, died in 1849. Cnn_ 
dren: Ebenezer, born 1783, died 1784; 
Mary K, 1784, died 1786; Daniel, 1786 ; 
Thomas, 1788; Solomon, mentioned be- 
low; Aaron, 1792; Oman, 1794; Minerva, 
1796; Ebenezer, 1798; Simeon, 1801 ; 
Mary K, 1802 ; Ozias, 1804. 

(VI) Solomon Perkins, son of Eben- 
ezer and Mary (Pratt) Perkins, born May 
16, 1790, lived in Bridgewater, and died 
there February 26, 1880. He was long 
engaged as a foundryman in the works 
of Messrs. Lazell, Perkins & Company. 
He married, in Bridgewater, February 14, 
1813, Clarissa Robinson, daughter of 
Dyer and Abigail (Stetson) Robinson, 



45 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



-died October 12, 1859. Children: Henry, 
mentioned below ; Charles Robinson, 
born 1816; William Franklin, 1818; 
George Sproat, 1820; Ebenezer, 1826; 
Mary K. and Martha H. (twins), 1828; 
Alfred Holmes, 1830. 

(VII) Henry Perkins, eldest child of 
Solomon and Clarissa (Robinson) Per- 
kins, was born April 25, 1814, in Bridge- 
water, and died March 24, 1901. In the 
maternal line of descent he was a grand- 
son of Dyer Robinson, of Bridgewater, a 
forgeman in the iron works of Messrs. 
Lazell, Perkins & Company, and was a 
nephew of Increase, Dyer, Gad and Jacob 
Robinson, long associated with the iron 
works in Bridgewater, and of Charles 
and Enoch Robinson, of the Old Colony 
Iron Works of Taunton. Mr. Perkins 
received his early training in the public 
schools of his native place and at Bridge- 
water Academy, and at an early age 
entered upon the occupation of an iron 
worker and foundryman with employ- 
ment at Bridgewater, Swanzey and in the 
Hudson Valley. In 1847, about the time 
of his marriage, Mr. Perkins established 
an iron foundry in Bridgewater near the 
site of the cotton gin factory of Messrs. 
Bates, Hyde & Company, now the Con- 
tinental Gin Company factory, and soon 
c'fter the period of the Civil War erected 
a spacious foundry and machine shop on 
the line of the Old Colony railroad, now 
the New York, New Haven & Hartford 
railroad, which has ever held an impor- 
tant place in the manufacturing estab- 
lishments of the town. Mr. Perkins 
possessed a profound knowledge of the 
history and development of the iron in- 
dustry and with the eye of an expert gave 
attention to every requirement of his 
office and to the operations and products 
of his foundry. For many years the large 
annual production of pianoforte frames, 
the inventions of the Chickerings and 



other manufacturers, included much of 
the workmanship of this foundry and 
established its reputation for the produc- 
tion of work of the best quality of Amer- 
ican iron and illustrative of the perfection 
of the art of casting. For many years 
also Mr. Perkins was interested in the 
prosperity of the Eagle Cotton Gin Com- 
pany of Bridgewater, which gave em- 
ployment to a large number of men, and 
for a long period held the position of 
president of the company. Interested in 
public affairs, he did not seek nor hold 
political office, but devoted himself to the 
demands of his occupation, and remained 
in active business life for more than sixty 
years. As a man of untiring energy and 
honorable business methods, he was en- 
abled to achieve success in his under- 
takings and was respected and esteemed 
by those who were in his employ, and by 
the members of the community of which 
he was a benefactor. He will long be 
remembered for his spirit of benevolence 
and for the qualities of heart which en- 
deared him to his family and associates. 

Mr. Perkins married, July 16, 1848, 
Amelia Bartlett Sherman, daughter of 
Aaron Simmons and Lydia (Whitney) 
Sherman, of Bridgewater. Children: 
Ralph, born March 26, 1849; Katharine, 
mentioned below ; Henry, November 24, 
1853, died December 12, 1854; Annie, 
January 24, 1855, died July 2, 1858; Clara, 
May 11, 1856, died May 24, 1888; Eben- 
ezer, March 27, 1859; Charles, March 24, 
1862; Amelia, June 16, 1864; Enoch, Oc- 
tober 24, 1866; Harry K., August 11, 
1868; Saba, September 7, 1869. 

(VIII) Katharine Perkins, daughter of 
Henry and Amelia Bartlett (Sherman) 
Perkins, born October 6, 185 1, married, 
January 1, 1884, Joshua Eddy (2) Crane, 
of Bridgewater and Taunton (see Crane, 
VIII). They have a daughter, Clara 
Whitney Crane (Radclifre, 1914). 



4'> 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



RICHARDSON 

And Allied Families. 

The origin of the name Richardson 
dates back centuries, and came from the 
name Richard, Richardson meaning son 
of Richard. This tradition was a matter 
of course, and the name has been widely 
spread in England, Scotland, Wales and 
Ireland. Among the name are found men 
of letters, barristers, clergymen, baronets, 
bishops, painters, authors, statesmen, 
professors, merchants and manufacturers. 
The different family seats bore arms, and 
it would be impossible to correctly give a 
coat-of-arms that would apply to all the 
different families, as few if any of the 
immigrants had the same. 

(I) Samuel Richardson, one of the 
three noted Richardson brothers, who 
were among the earliest settlers of Wo- 
burn, Massachusetts, was baptized at 
West Mill, County Herts, England, De- 
cember 22, 1602 or 1604, and died in Wo- 
burn, Massachusetts, March 23, 1658. 
He was son of Thomas and Katherine 
(Durford) Richardson, of West Mill, who 
were married August 24, 1590. He was 
second in age of the three brothers, 
Ezekiel, Samuel and Thomas, the last of 
the three to come to New England. His 
wife Joanna, surname unknown, probably 
died in 1678. She was living as late as 
December 10, 1677, when she is men- 
tioned as receiving fifty-five acres of land 
at a meeting of the proprietors held that 
date. Her will dated 20th, 4th, 1666, men- 
tions sons John, Joseph, Samuel and 
Stephen ; and daughters Elizabeth and 
Mary Mousall. Elizabeth and Mary 
married brothers, sons of Ralph Mousall, 
of Charlestown, Elizabeth marrying John, 
and Mary marrying Thomas. Samuel 
Richardson was executor of his father's 
will in England, dated March 4, 1630, and 
inherited his mother's part of his father's 



estate. The will was presented at court 
in 1634 by Samuel Richardson. Samuel 
Richardson was married before he left 
West Mill, and two of his children were 
baptized there — Samuel, 1633, and Eliza- 
beth, 1635. It was after 1635 that he and 
his brother Thomas sailed for New Eng- 
land. In 1636 he located in Charlestown. 
In 1640 he was one of the signers of Wo- 
burn town records. He was a selectman 
of Woburn, 1644-46-49-51, and his name 
appears on the first tax list of Woburn 
in 1645. He released certain lands, with 
his brothers, to the inhabitants of Wo- 
burn in 1644, and helped found the first 
church of Woburn in 1642. His estate 
was located on the "Richardson Row 
Road" of early times, and an estate 
known a century ago as the Job Miller 
estate, on present Washington street, in 
the present limits of the town of Win- 
chester, was the more modern equivalent. 
This estate descended in a direct line 
from Samuel (1), to Samuel (2), thence 
to Jonathan (3), and thence to Jonathan 
(4) Richardson. The last Jonathan be- 
queathed it to his niece, Sarah Miller, 
wife of Job Miller. Jonathan Richardson 
(4), who was born in Woburn, had lived 
elsewhere during a part of his life, and 
returning in his latter days to Woburn, 
died in his native town, October 31, 1798. 
Job Miller that year occupied the house, 
which was a very old one at that time, 
thirty-six by eighteen feet in lateral 
dimensions, and two stories high. The 
adjoining farm contained fifty acres. The 
family of Samuel Richardson (2) was at- 
tacked by Indians on this place, April 10, 
1676, and three of the family were killed. 
The father was at work on the afternoon 
of that day, with a young son for com- 
pany, in his field. He noticed a com- 
motion at the house, and hastening there 
found his wife Hannah and his son 
Thomas had been slain by a band of 



47 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



skulking Indians, so called, who after 
robbing some gardens of linen articles, at 
Cambridge, had on their retreat per- 
formed this mischief and slaughter. A 
further search revealed the fact that his 
infant daughter Hannah had also been 
killed. Her nurse had fled with her in her 
arms in the direction of a neighboring 
garrison house, and being closely pur- 
sued by the Indians, in order to save her- 
self, she dropped the child, which the 
Indians dispatched. The father pursued 
the Indians with a rallying party, and 
coming upon them seated beside a swamp 
in the woods, the party shot at them and 
hit one of them fatally, as the body was 
found afterwards in the woods, buried 
under leaves where his associates had 
laid him. The fact of his being wounded 
was proved by traces of blood which were 
found in the woods from the point where 
he was first after he was shot ; at this 
place the Indians left behind a bundle of 
linen in which was found wrapped up the 
scalps of one or more of their victims. 
The Smith place represents the original 
estate of Job Miller. Prince avenue 
traverses the original Samuel Richardson 
estate. The estate of the first Samuel 
extended from the present tracks of the 
Boston & Maine railroad, near Nathaniel 
A. Richardson's house, to the Stoneham 
and Winchester town line, the homestead 
being on the estate known to many of the 
present generation as the Josiah F. Stone 
place. A part of the lands now owned by 
Nathaniel A. Richardson were included 
in the original estate. The Miller house 
was built by the second Samuel, but the 
first Samuel is supposed to have lived on 
the other side of the present Washington 
street, and opposite the Miller place. His 
house stood in a little valley, and disap- 
peared before the year 1800. Children : 
Samuel, baptized July 3, 1633, at West 
Mill, Herts, England ; Elizabeth, May 22, 



1635, at West Mill ; Mary, February 25, 
1638, at Charlestown; John, November 
12, 1639, at Charlestown; Hannah, March 
8, 1642, at Woburn, died April 8, 1642; 
Joseph, July 27, 1643; Samuel, May 
22, 1646; Stephen mentioned below; 
Thomas, December 31, 165 1, died Sep- 
tember 27, 1657. 

(II) Stephen Richardson, fifth son of 
Samuel and Joanna Richardson, was born 
August 15, 1649, m Woburn, Massachu- 
setts, and died there March 22, 1717. He 
resided in Woburn, which then included 
Burlington, a part of Wilmington, and 
his land extended into Billerica which 
then joined Woburn. In 1690 he was a 
freeman. His will was dated August 15, 
1713, and proved April 22, 1718 (see 
Middlesex probate records, vol. 15, pp. 
157-163). In it he mentions as living wife 
Abigail, daughters Abigail Vinton and 
Prudence Kendall, sons Stephen, Wil- 
liam, Francis, Timothy, Seth, Daniel and 
Solomon. He married, January 2, 1675, 
at Billerica, Abigail Wyman, born 1659, 
died September 7, 1720, daughter of 
Francis and Abigail (Read) Wyman, the 
former of whom was one of the first 
settlers of Woburn and one of the largest 
landholders of Woburn. Children : 
Stephen, born February 20, 1676 ; Francis, 
January 19, 1678, died January 27, same 
year; William, mentioned below; Francis, 
January 15, 1681 ; Timothy, December 6, 
1682, died January 18, 1683 ; Abigail, No- 
vember 14, 1683, died June 21, 1720; 
Prudence, January 17, 1686; Timothy, 
January 24, 1688; Seth, January 16, 1690; 
Daniel, October 16, 1691 ; Mary, May 3, 
1696; Rebecca, June 10, 1698; Solomon, 
March 27, 1702. 

(III) William Richardson, third son of 
Stephen and Abigail (Wyman) Richard- 
son, was born December 14, 1678, at Wo- 
burn, but the time of his death is not 
recorded. He was a husbandman, and 



48 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



resided in Woburn until 1709 or 1710, 
when he removed to Charlestown End, or 
the present town of Stoneham, incor- 
porated as such December 17, 1725. His 
land bordered on that of his brother-in- 
law, John Vinton, and he owned several 
lots in common with him. On March 22, 
1710, land in Charlestown was conveyed 
to John Vinton and William Richardson. 
There are three other deeds dated 1700, 
1709, 1712, by which land in Charlestown 
(east side of Spot Pond in Stoneham) 
was conveyed to them also. On March 

26, 171 5, William Richardson sold land to 
John Vinton. About 1718 he removed to 
Attleboro, Massachusetts. On Decem- 
ber 25, 1710, he bought land there of the 
proprietors. His wife Rebecca is men- 
tioned in her mother's will dated April 
21, 1729. He married, September 15, 
1703, at Woburn, Rebecca Vinton, born 
March 26, 1683, died after 1729, daughter 
of John and Hannah (Green) Vinton, of 
Woburn. Children : Rebecca, born Au- 
gust 4, 1704, died April 11, 1788; Hannah, 
October 28, 1706; Abigail, April 18, 1709, 
died November 23, 1730; William, April 
17, 1712; Stephen, mentioned below; 
Mary, April 18, 1717; John, November 

27, 1719; Joanna, September 17, 1722. 
(IV) Stephen (2) Richardson, second 

son of William and Rebecca (Vinton) 
Richardson, was born September 18, 1714, 
in the northern part of Charlestown, now 
Stoneham, Massachusetts, and was a 
child when the family removed to Attle- 
boro. There he made his home, and 
married, November 11, 1736, Hannah 
Coy, born October 2, 1718, in Beverly, 
Massachusetts, baptized there June 4, 
1723, eldest daughter of Caleb and Mary 
(Wellman) Coy, of that town. Children, 
born in Attleboro: Stephen, August 6, 
1737; Caleb, July 7, 1739; Daniel, men- 
tioned below; Hannah, October 22, 1744; 
Elizabeth, October 16, 1747; Rebecca, 
April 18, 1750; Henry, 1752. 



(V) Daniel Richardson, third son of 
Stephen (2) and Hannah (Coy) Richard- 
son, was born March 26, 1742, in Attle- 
boro, and there made his home. He mar- 
ried Sarah Read, born May 30, 1743, in 
Rehoboth, daughter of Thomas (2) ar.J 
Bathsheba Read. Children : Sarah, born 
November 28, 1762; Rebecca, February 
17, 1764; Daniel, mentioned below; 
Abigail, August 9, 1767; Alice, August 
20, 1769; Selma, August 24, 1771 ; Alfred, 
June 27, 1780; Roxse, January 8, 1783, 
died October 31, 1798; Philene, Septem- 
ber 29, 1785; lucinda, July 12, 1788. 

(VI) Daniel (2) Richardson, eldest 
son of Daniel (1) and Sarah (Read) 
Richardson, was born April 6, 1765, in 
Attleboro, and married there, January 18, 
1787, Chloe Wilmarth, born August 14, 
1763, in Rehoboth, daughter of Ezra and 
Prudence (Morse) Wilmarth. Children : 
Daniel, mentioned below ; Chloe, Octo- 
ber 7, 1790; Stephen, September 2, 1793; 
Varnum, August 1, 1795; Enos, March 9, 
1797. 

(VII) Daniel (3) Richardson, eldest 
child of Daniel (2) and Chloe (Wilmarth) 
Richardson, was born August 16, 1787, in 
Attleboro, and there married, May 9, 
1813, Nancy Eaton, born June 3, 1791, in 
Middleboro, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Nathan and Margaret Eaton, of that 
town (see Eaton, VI). Children: Roxey, 
born January 3, 1814; Nancy Eaton, July 
16, 1817; Daniel Augustus, mentioned be- 
low. 

(VIII) Daniel Augustus Richardson, 
only son of Daniel (3) and Nancy 
(Eaton) Richardson, was born February 
11, 1822, in Attleboro, and lived at Attle- 
boro Falls, where he was engaged in the 
manufacture of buttons, in association 
with Daniel Evans. He also engaged in 
agriculture, and owned land at Attleboro 
Falls, where he continued to reside until 
his death in 1903, and was buried in 
Mount Hope Cemetery. He was married 



49 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Attleboro, October 9, 1842, by Benja- 
min H. Davis, justice of the peace, to 
Ann Russell Bowen, born 1820, daughter 
of David and Amy (Rounds) Bowen, of 
that town (see Bowen, VIII). She died 
at Attleboro Falls, April 22, 191 1, and 
was buried beside her husband. Chil- 
dren : Anna Emilia, mentioned below ; 
Henry Augustus, died in Taunton ; Eu- 
gene Russell, resides in Providence ; 
Mary Bowen, married Edgar Nicholson, 
and she died at Attleboro Falls. 

(IX) Anna Emilia Richardson, eldest 
child of Daniel Augustus and Ann Rus- 
sell (Bowen) Richardson, born at Attle- 
boro Falls, became the wife of William 
Price, of North Attleboro. She now re- 
sides at Attleboro Falls, where she is a 
valuable member of society, and is de- 
voted to the culture of uplifting in- 
fluences. She has a daughter, Gertrude, 
wife of James Dow, residing at Attleboro 
Falls, the mother of three children : Rus- 
sell Augustus, Marion Amelia and 
Margery Richardson Dow. 

(The Eaton Line). 

(I) Francis Eaton came from England 
to Plymouth, Massachusetts, in 1620, in 
the "Mayflower," and signed the famous 
compact on board that historic vessel. 
He was a carpenter by trade, was ad- 
mitted a freeman in 1633, and March 25, 
!633, was rated at nine shillings. His 
wife Sarah, son Samuel, and infant, came 
with him,. His wife died before 1627; 
Bradford says she died "in the generall 
sickness which was in the winter of 1620- 
21." He married a second wife, who died 
soon, and he married (third) Christian 
Penn, who came over in the "Ann" in 
1623. He removed from Plymouth to 
Duxbury, where he died in the latter part 
of 1633. Administration on his estate 
was granted to Thomas Prence and John 
Doane, November 25, same year. In July, 



1634, his widow married Francis Billing- 
ton, by whom she had eight children. 
Child of Francis Eaton by first wife : 
Samuel, mentioned below. Child of sec- 
ond wife: Rachel, born 1625, in Ply- 
mouth. Child of third wife : Benjamin, 
born about 1627, in Duxbury. There 
were two other children, one an "ideote," 
and another who probably died without 
issue. 

(II) Samuel Eaton, son of Francis 
Eaton, was born about 1618, in England, 
and died at Middleborough, Massachu- 
setts, in 1684. His father died when he 
was a child, and he was apprenticed, Au- 
gust 13, 1636, for seven years, to John 
Cooke, Jr. He lived in Duxbury and 
Middleborough, and was one of the two 
Mayflower Pilgrims who settled in the 
latter place, where he was living before 
1675. He was one of the purchasers of 
Dartmouth in 1652 and of Bridgewater. 
In 1670 he was admitted a freeman. The 
Eatons were not very rigid Puritans 
evidently, for Samuel Eaton was once 
admonished by the court for "mixed 
dancing" with Goodwife Hall. He 
bought land at Duxbury of Love Brew- 
ster, and sold it in 1663 to Josiah Stand- 
ish. He married, January 10, 1666, 
Martha Billington, daughter of Francis 
Billington. Children : Mercy, married 
Samuel Fuller ; and Samuel, mentioned 
below. 

(III) Samuel (2) Eaton, son of Samuel 
(1) and Martha (Billington) Eaton, was 
born about 1662, and was one of the 
original members of the First Church of 
Middleborough. He married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Rev. Samuel Fuller, first 
pastor of Middleborough, also of May- 
flower ancestry. Children, born at 
Middleborough : Mercy, born 1695 ; 
Keziah, 1700; Elizabeth, 1701 ; Barnabas, 
mentioned below. 

(IV) Barnabas Eaton, son of Samuel 



So 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(2) and Elizabeth (Fuller) Eaton, was 
born 1703, and settled in Middleborough. 
He married (first) Mehitable, surname 
unknown; (second) Mehitable Clements. 
Children of first wife, born in Middle- 
borough : Hannah, 1732; Samuel, 1733; 
Mary, 1735; Sarah, 1737; Seth, 1739. 
Children of second wife : Lot, born 1744; 
Mehitable, 1747; Elizabeth, 1749; Ziba, 
1750 ; Nathan, mentioned below ; Wealthy, 
1755; Keziah, 1757; Meribah, 1760. 

(V) Nathan Eaton, son of Barnabas 
and Mehitable (Clements) Eaton, was 
born August 11, 1753, in Middleborough. 
He served in the Revolutionary War as a 
private in Captain Seth Turner's conv 
pany, Colonel Thomas Marshall's regi- 
ment, enlisted June 15, 1776, service to 
November 1, 1776, four months and six- 
teen days ; also same company and regi- 
ment, service between October 31, 1776, 
and July 1, 1777; one month company 
stationed at Hull, roll sworn to in Suffolk 
county ; also Captain Job Pierce's com- 
pany, Colonel Theophilus Cotton's (Ply- 
mouth County) regiment, pay roll for 
October, 1777, dated Middleborough; 
service of thirty days at Rhode Island, 
Captain Joshua White's company, Colo- 
nel Ebenezer Sprout's regiment ; enlisted, 
September 6, 1778, discharged September 
12, 1778, service six days on an alarm at 
Dartmouth ; under same commanders 
marched August 1, 1780, discharged Au- 
gust 3, 1780, service two days, company 
marched to Tiverton, Rhode Island, on 
an alarm. His entire lifetime was spent 
in his native town. His wife bore the 
name of Margaret. Children : Hannah, 
born July 3, 1775; Martha, June 8, 1777; 
Polly, 1781 ; Barnabas, July 22, 1782; 
Ziba, March 18, 1784; Sarah, March, 
1786; Mehitable, February 23, 1789; 
Nancy, mentioned below ; Luther, Octo- 
ber 6, 1793; Elizabeth, December 7, 1796. 

(VI) Nancy Eaton, seventh daughter 



of Nathan and Margaret Eaton, was born 
June 3, 1791, in Middleborough, and be- 
came the wife of Daniel (3) Richardson, 
of Attleboro (see Richardson, VII). 

(The Bowen Line). 

(I) Richard Bowen came from Kittle 
Hill, Glamorganshire, Wales, to this 
country about 1638, and settled at Reho- 
both, Massachusetts. He was a son of 
James and Eleanor Bowen, of Ilewyn- 
dwar, Pembrokeshire, Wales, and grand- 
son of Mathias Bowen or Bowin. He 
was a large land proprietor along the 
river "running under the bridge," called 
Bowen's Bridge, the fresh-water tribu- 
tary of the Barrington river south from 
Seekonk. He was a town officer and was 
admitted a freeman, June 4, 1645. He 
married, March 4, 1648, Esther Sutton. 
He was buried February 4, 1674, and in 
his will, dated June 4, 1675, he be- 
queathed to his wife Elizabeth (or 
Esther), and children Thomas, Obediah, 
Richard, William, Alice Wheaton, Sarah 
Fuller and Ruth Leverich. 

(II) Thomas Bowen, son of Richard 
and Esther (Sutton) Bowen, was of 
Salem, Massachusetts, in 1648, and of 
New London, Connecticut, in 1657-60. 
He removed to Rehoboth, Massachusetts, 
where he died in 1663. His will, dated 
April 11, 1663, named his wife Elizabeth 
as executrix of his estate. In 1669 she 
was the wife of Samuel Fuller, perhaps of 
Plymouth, Massachusetts, buried August 
15, 1676, in Rehoboth. In the will of 
Thomas Bowen he also mentioned his 
child Richard and his brother Obediah. 

(III) Dr. Richard (2) Bowen, son of 
Thomas and Elizabeth Bowen, was born 
January 17, 1662, in Rehoboth, and died 
in 1736. As early as 1680 he was engaged 
in the practice of medicine in Seekonk, 
Massachusetts, within two miles of 
Providence, and for more than twenty 



5i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



years he attended the sick there before it 
had any settled physician within its 
limits. He also educated his sons, 
Thomas and Jabez, to be physicians. He 
married, January 9, 1683, Mercye Titus, 
born March 17, 1665, in Rehoboth, 
daughter of John and Abigail (Car- 
penter) Titus, granddaughter of Robert 
and Hannah Titus, of England, where 
John was born. Children : Elizabeth, 
born November, 1684; Abiah, April 10, 
1687; Thomas, mentioned below; Da- 
maris, April 26, 1692; Jabez, October 19, 
1696; Ebenezer, August 23, 1699; 
Urania, September 23, 1707. 

(IV) Thomas (2) Bowen, eldest son 
of Dr. Richard (2) and Mercye (Titus) 
Bowen, was born August 20, 1689, in Re- 
hoboth, and died there July 17, 1774. He 
married, August 10, 1710, in Rehoboth, 
Sarah Hunt, born October 16, 1690, in 
that town, daughter of Ephraim and 
Rebecca Hunt. Children : Sarah, born 
June 26, 171 1 ; Huldah, February 16, 
1713; Thomas, mentioned below; Eph- 
raim, October 3, 1716; Oliver, February 
3, 1719; Hannah, April 30, 1721 ; Lucy, 
July 3, 1723; Benjamin, March 8, 1724; 
Lydia, June 18, 1727; Bettey, April 1, 
1729; Molly, November 8, 1731. 

(V) Thomas (3) Bowen, eldest son of 
Thomas (2) and Sarah (Hunt) Bowen, 
called Thomas, Jr. in the records, was 
born October 3, 1714, in Rehoboth, lived 
in what is now Cumberland, Rhode 
Island, and died August 8, 1782. He 
married, June 18, 1735, Hepsibeth (Eliza- 
beth) Carpenter, born March 28, 171 5, in 
Rehoboth, daughter of Jonathan and 
Hannah (French) Carpenter. Children: 
Billee, born May 9, 1739 ; Bersham, March 
31, 1742; Molly, November 12, 1744; 
Benjamin, January 27, 1747; Bettee, May 
2, 1749; Thomas and Cyrell, June 23, 
1752; Luce, April 23, 1755; Syrell, July 
28, 1757. 



(VI) Thomas (4) Bowen, fourth son 
of Thomas (3) and Hepsibeth (Eliza- 
beth) (Carpenter) Bowen, was born 
June 23, 1752, probably in Cumberland, 
and was married there, February 7, 1771, 
to Anna (sometimes called Hannah) 
Rhodes, of Stonington, Connecticut, born 
October 20, 1755, in South Kingstown, 
Rhode Island, daughter of James and 
Anna (Crandall) Rhodes, later of Wes- 
terly, Rhode Island, and Stonington. 
Children, recorded in Cumberland : 
David, mentioned below ; Rachel, born 
September 14, 1774; Huldah, September 
2 5> l 775 ; Zebedon, December 13, 1777; 
John, April 26, 1780; Polly, April 26, 
1782; Asa, March 23, 1785; James, July 
20, 1787; Thomas, November 5, 1791. 

(VII) David Bowen, eldest child of 
Thomas (4) and Anna (Rhodes) Bowen, 
was born December 24, 1771, in Cumber- 
land, and lived in Attleboro. He mar- 
ried Amy Rounds, daughter of Hezekiah 
and Mary (Wheeler) Rounds, of Attle- 
boro (see Rounds, V). 

(VIII) Ann Russell Bowen, daughter 
of David and Amy (Rounds) Bowen, be- 
came the wife of Daniel Augustus Rich- 
ardson, of Attleboro (see Richardson, 
VIII). 

(The Rounds Line). 

This surname is found among the de- 
scriptive ones, Bigge, Small, Little, 
Heigh, Haupt, Strong, Low, and in Eng- 
land it is usually spelled without the 
final s. A Robert Rounds is recorded in 
the calendar proceedings in chancery 
(time of Elizabeth), and the Round 
family were located in Kent and Oxford 
counties, England. The name appears at 
an early period in various sections of 
Massachusetts, but not among the pio- 
neers. It was very strongly represented 
in and about Rehoboth, Massachusetts, 
and descendants have resided in the 
vicinity until the present time. 



52 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(I) The first of this name mentioned in 
New England archives was Philip 
Rounds, of Salem, Massachusetts, who 
died there in 1678. The inventory of his 
estate made June 24 of that year, placed 
its value at seven pounds, ten shillings 
and six pence. He married, in November, 
1671, Ann Bush. 

(II) John Rounds was a resident of 
Swansea, Massachusetts, and married 
Abigail Bowen, perhaps a daughter of 
Obadiah (2) and Abigail (Bullock) 
Bowen, of Swansea, born about 1678. 
Four children are recorded in Swansea: 
John, born November 15, 1699; Mary, 
March 19, 1703, married, September 26, 
1721, Ephraim Chase; David, January 
28, 1706; Jabez, mentioned below. There 
were undoubtedly several others, includ- 
ing Nathaniel, mentioned below. 

(III) Jabez Rounds, son of John and 
Abigail (Bowen) Rounds, born Septem- 
ber 28, 1708, was residing in Swansea, 
April 26, 1733, at which date he was mar- 
ried in Rehoboth by Rev. John Coomer 
to Renew Carpenter, of Rehoboth, born 
January 6, 1714, daughter of Jonathan 
and Desire (Martin) Carpenter. Chil- 
dren, recorded in Rehoboth : Isaac, born 
January 23, 1734; Jabez, January 8, 1736; 
Isabell, October 23, 1737; Abigail, Janu- 
ary, 1740; Isaiah, January 30, 1741 ; Re- 
beckah, March 21, 1742; Sibbel, Septem- 
ber 10, 1744; Oliver, mentioned below; 
Rhoda, January 26, 1750; Esther, Octo- 
ber 8, 1752; Simeon, February 4, 1755. 

(IV) Oliver Rounds, fourth son of 
Jabez and Renew (Carpenter) Rounds, 
was born April 1, 1747, in Rehoboth, and 
was married, April 12, 1770, in Warren, 
Rhode Island, by Rev. Jonathan Man- 
ning, to Anna Salisbury, probably a na- 
tive of that town, not recorded there. 
Children: Daniel, born June 5, 1771 ; 
Sybel, May 1, 1773; Abigail, March 1, 
1775; Calvin, October 3, 1776; Patience, 



March 1, 1778; Spencer and Oliver 
(twins), February 26, 1780; Jabez, men- 
tioned below; Spencer, October 24, 1785. 

(V) Jabez (2) Rounds, fourth son of 
Oliver and Anna (Salisbury) Rounds, 
was born November 20, 1782, in Warren, 
and lived in Providence, Rhode Island. 
He married, April 20, 1806, Eliza Hud- 
son, daughter of Reuben and Abigail 
(Sisson) Hudson, of Swansea, and grand- 
daughter of George and Drusilla Sisson. 
Children : Jabez Sisson, mentioned be- 
low; Abby, died young; Harriet, mar- 
ried John Drown, and died in California; 
Anna Eliza, married Albert Hunter. 

(VI) Jabez Sisson Rounds, son of Jabez 
(2) and Eliza (Hudson) Rounds, was born 
April 14, 1816, in Providence, and died in 
Taunton, Massachusetts, August 7, i860. 
He was a well known merchant of Taun- 
ton, where he established the dry goods 
house now known as The N. B. Skinner 
Company. He was also active in other en- 
terprises, and was among the corporators 
of the Taunton Steamboat Company, 
which began with a capital of $25,000, 
and was also identified with the banking 
interests of Taunton and other lines of 
commercial pursuit. He was among the 
most public-spirited citizens of his day, 
and died while still in the prime of man- 
hood, at the age of forty-four years. He 
was a man of both physical and intellec- 
tual force and a power in the development 
of his home city. He was married in 
Taunton by Rev. C. H. Brigham, May 26, 
1845, to Almira B. Leonard, daughter of 
Ezekiel B. and Harriet (Ingalls) Leon- 
ard, of that town (see Leonard VII). 
She is still living, at the age of ninety- 
five years, and is quite active, taking an 
interest in current events, the oldest per- 
son in Taunton. Her declining years are 
made happy by the filial attention of her 
daughter, Mrs. Frederick Mason. She 
was the mother of two children: Fred- 



53 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



erick, who died at the age of eighteen 
years, and Harriet Leonard, mentioned 
below. 

(VII) Harriet Leonard Rounds, only 
daughter of Jabez Sisson and Almira B. 
(Leonard) Rounds, became the wife of 
Colonel Frederick Mason, of Taunton, 
son of William and Harriet Augusta 
(Metcalf) Mason, and resides in her na- 
tive city. She is the mother of two chil- 
dren : i. Maurice Mason, who married 
Sarah Crossman Sprout, and died Octo- 
ber 29, 1913, leaving two children: Mar- 
guerite and William. 2. Madeline, now 
the widow of Carlton Braybrook, and the 
mother of two children : Bethena and 
Leonard. 

(III) Nathaniel Rounds, born about 
1716-18, in Swansea, undoubtedly son of 
John and Abigail (Bowen) Rounds, was 
married, April 9, 1741, to Elizabeth 
Bowen, probably a daughter of Thomas 
and Thankful (Mason) Bowen, of Swan- 
sea. The following children are recorded 
in Rehoboth ; there were doubtless 
others : Nathaniel, born November 26, 
1749; Hezekiah, mentioned below; Anna, 
July 27, 1764, died 1768. 

(IV) Hezekiah Rounds, son of Na- 
thaniel and Elizabeth (Bowen) Rounds, 
was born December 20, 1752, and lived 
in Attleboro. He was a soldier of the 
Revolution, serving first as a private in 
Captain Elisha May's company, Colonel 
John Daggett's regiment, entered August 
23, discharged September 2, 1778, eleven 
days at Rhode Island, roll sworn to at 
Attleboro. He was also in Captain Alex- 
ander Foster's company, Colonel Isaac 
Dean's regiment, marched July 31, 1780, 
on an alarm at Tiverton, Rhode Island, 
discharged August 8, following, service 
ten days, roll sworn in Attleboro. He 
married in Rehoboth, January 12, 1775, 
Mary Wheeler, born August 5, 1752, in 
Rehoboth, daughter of Valentine and 



Sarah (Gofr) Wheeler. Children: Rachel, 
born May 9, 1776, in Rehoboth ; Mary, 
June 9, 1777; Lucinda, April 15, 1779; 
Mercy, February 1, 1781, died April 1, 
1782; Elizabeth, February 18, 1783; 
Hezekiah Bowen, April 17, 1785 ; Rhoda, 
January 9, 1787; Amy, mentioned below; 
Nancy, March 23, 1791 ; Benjamin Wheel- 
er, July 18, 1794; Enos Hiram, April 11, 
1797; Marcus, March 30, 1802. 

(V) Amy Rounds, seventh daughter 
of Hezekiah and Mary (Wheeler) 
Rounds, was born March 9, 1789, in 
Attleboro, and became the wife of David 
Bowen, of that town (see Bowen VII). 



BATES, Joseph M., 

Business Man, Financier. 

Environment is said to be the making 
of a man's character for good or evil. So 
is reflected upon a community, be it large 
or small, the life of an individual. If the 
man is broad-minded, progressive and 
ambitious, there must follow an upbuild- 
ing that will outlast the mortal career. 
Such a memorial has Joseph M. Bates, of 
Attleboro, Massachusetts, who passed 
away September 7, 1905, at the ripe age 
of seventy-two years, after a lifetime of 
unusual activity and usefulness, and after 
having achieved material success. 

Joseph M. Bates was born at Wickford, 
in the town of North Kingston, Rhode 
Island, August 2, 1833, the son of Benoni 
Potter and Abigail Mahalia (Congdon) 
Bates. His father was a contractor and 
builder, and was a native of Wisconsin. 
After spending his childhood and early 
youth in his native town, receiving his 
educational training in the schools of 
North Kingston, Mr. Bates started to 
learn the jeweler's trade in Providence, 
Rhode Island. It was not long after that 
he made his first business venture in 
Attleboro, Massachusetts, being associ- 



54 





^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ated with the jewelry firm of Skinner, 
Viall & Company, which was located in 
a room over Willard Blackinton's shuttle 
shop on North Main street, he and his 
partners constituting the working force 
within the limits of one small room. His 
first venture was in that well remembered 
year of "great and general depression," 
1857, and the first year of the firm's his- 
tory was not an eventful one, and busi- 
ness came slowly. Mr. Bates therefore 
sold out his interest and formed a new 
firm, that of Bates, Capron & Williams. 
This concern was located in a factory at 
Attleboro Falls, later occupied by the 
Gold Metal Braid Company. About i860, 
after two years of prosperity had fol- 
lowed this organization, Messrs. Capron 
and Williams desired a change of loca- 
tion, and Mr. Bates sold out his share in 
the concern to William Sherman. Re- 
suming his old place in the shuttle shop 
at Attleboro, Mr. Bates engaged in busi- 
ness on his own account and enjoyed a 
moderately good business for three years, 
until 1863, when he removed to the lower 
story of the Steam Power Company's 
building. During this time there were 
many difficulties and discouragements to 
be overcome, but Mr. Bates bravely over- 
came them, climbing slowly but surely, 
until success finally crowned his labors. 
During the Civil War his business in- 
creased, and in 1867 he deemed it wise 
to take a partner, associating himself with 
George M. Bacon, under the firm name 
of Bates & Bacon, their specialty being 
the manufacture of rolled gold-plated 
bracelets. In 1882 this firm introduced 
an innovation in Attleboro by beginning 
the manufacture of watch cases. This 
venture proved a good one, and became 
one of the most important departments 
of the firm's business. Additional space 
was soon required by the growing trade, 
and in 1884 Mr. Bates built a shop two 



hundred feet long, thirty-five feet wide, 
and four stories high. Later Mr. Bacon 
retired from the firm, and Mr. Bates con- 
tinued the business alone, under the same 
firm name. Success was thus signally 
gained after a persistent following of the 
road to fortune, which was not an easy or 
phenomenally rapid one, but that he did 
succeed was but the more credit to him. 
Perhaps the most striking example of 
Mr. Bates' fine public spirit and faith in 
Attleboro's future was his action follow- 
ing the memorable fire of May 18, 1898, 
when sixteen jewelry firms of that town 
lost everything they owned, and prop- 
erty to the value of nearly a million dol- 
lars was totally destroyed. Even men 
of experienced judgment, not naturally 
pessimistic, believed that the town's great 
industry had received a death-blow from 
which it could never recover. This belief 
was strengthened by the removal to 
Providence and elsewhere, soon after the 
fire, of a number of jewelry concerns, in- 
cluding some of the largest in the town. 
Mr. Bates, however, was not dismayed, 
although he was by far the greatest in- 
dividual sufferer. With the least possi- 
ble delay, and in his usual unostentatious 
manner, he caused to be erected near the 
site of the ruined shops a new factory 
building, larger and better than any of 
those that had been destroyed, and later 
other large buildings for the accommoda- 
tions of many concerns desiring loca- 
tions. Another evidence of Mr. Bates' 
public spirit was the erection of the build- 
ing known as "Bates' Opera House." It 
was the first large hall in Attleboro, hav- 
ing a frontage of one hundred and sixty 
feet, about one hundred and fifty feet 
deep, and three stories high, built of 
brick. The theatre proper occupied the 
rear of the structure, and the full height 
of the building. Mr. Bates received 
unanimous commendation for providing 



55 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the town with a structure so adequate in 
size and so convenient in arrangement. 
A paragraph in the "History of Attle- 
boro" states : 

The opening night, September 30, 1886, marked 
an era in entertainment in the town. The audi- 
ence was a large one, and made brilliant by the 
bright costumes and beautiful flowers worn by 
the ladies. The play was of the best, "Richelieu" ; 
the company excellent, with one of our most 
talented and renowned actors, Lawrence Barrett, 
in the title role. Throughout the entire season, 
which numbered some thirty-five performances, 
the position taken at the start was maintained and 
only plays of a good class were presented. To 
preserve the rule thus established seems to be the 
owner's intention. This theatre was an innova- 
tion in Attleboro, Massachusetts, and plentiful 
criticism was offered Mr. Bates. The need of a 
large audience room had long been felt. This 
need was met and filled by this building. The 
first floor is occupied by various stores. A seri- 
ous fire and a change of ownership has caused 
quite a radical change in the building and its man- 
agement. 

Mr. Bates was united in marriage, June 
26, 1853, with Sarah Louise Gardner, who 
was born at Centreville, in the town of 
Warwick, Rhode Island, daughter of 
Nicholas E. and Hannah (Carr) Gard- 
ner, and to this union were born three 
children, as follows: Charles Rudolphus, 
mentioned below ; Mary Louise, who died 
unmarried, April 18, 1905 ; and Frank 
Morton, who died in Attleboro, May 19, 
1916. 

Mr. Bates was quiet and unassuming 
in manner, approachable, notwithstand- 
ing his great wealth, and possessed of 
rare good judgment, which caused his ad- 
vice and counsel to be sought in many 
matters of large importance. He was 
deeply attached to his home and to the 
town, which he rarely left for more than 
a day or two at a time. Upon the death 
of Willard Blackinton, in 1877, tne fi rst 
president of the First National Bank of 
Attleboro, Mr. Bates became its presi- 



dent, which position he ably filled until 
his death, covering a period of over thirty 
years. Fraternally, he was a valued mem- 
ber of the Masonic organization, holding 
membership in Ezekiel Bates Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Attleboro. 

Mr. Bates passed away at Cottage City, 
where he had gone on a short vacation, 
in hopes that the change would improve 
his failing health. Although not a native 
of Attleboro, Mr. Bates was unusually 
public spirited and always upheld the in- 
terests of his adopted town. His life 
story indicates that he was a man of en- 
deavor, advancing himself by his activ- 
ity to a place of prominence and trust in 
the community where his active business 
career was spent, and playing an impor- 
tant part in the business growth and de- 
velopment of that community. 

Charles Rudolphus Bates, eldest son of 
Joseph M. and Sarah Louise (Gardner) 
Bates, was born at Wickford, in the town 
of North Kingston, Rhode Island, Janu- 
ary 10, 1856. He attended the public 
schools of his native town, and then after 
the removal of his father's family to 
Attleboro, the public schools of the lat- 
ter town, finishing his educational train- 
ing by a course at Schofield's Business 
College, at Providence. After leaving 
school he was connected with his father 
in the firm of Bates & Bacon, manufac- 
turing jewelers, continuing with this firm 
until the death of his father. Later he 
engaged in the real estate business, hav- 
ing an office in the Bates Opera House 
building, where he continued until 1912, 
when he retired from active business. 
Mr. Bates died February 15, 1916, and 
was buried in Woodlawn Cemetery, 
Attleboro, Massachusetts. 

He married, October 19, 1877, Annie 
Carpenter Tinkham, daughter of Eben- 
ezer and Adeline (Arnold) Tinkham, of 
Norton, Massachusetts. They were the 



56 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



parents of two sons, Howard Tinkham, 
born February 26, 1878; and Joseph Mor- 
ton, born February 23, 1880, who mar- 
ried Kate Eliza Shaw, daughter of F. H. 

Shaw, of Attleboro. 



ALLEN, Rodolphus N., 

Bank Official. 

This is one of the names most frequent- 
ly met in the United States, and is repre- 
sented by many distinct families. Its use 
arises from the Christian name, which is 
very ancient. In the roll of Battle Abbey, 
Fitz-Aleyne (son of Allen) appears, and 
the name comes down through the ages 
to the present. Alan, constable of Scot- 
land and Lord of Galloway and Cunning- 
ham, died in 1234. One of the first using 
Allen as a surname was Thomas Allen, 
sheriff of London in 1414. Sir John Allen 
was mayor of London in 1524, Sir Wil- 
liam Allen in 1571, and Sir Thomas Al- 
leyn in 1659. Edward Allen (1566-1626), 
a distinguished actor and friend of 
Shakespeare, and Ben Johnson, founded, 
in 1618, Dulwich College, with the stipu- 
lation that the master and secretary must 
always bear the name of Allen, and this 
curious condition has been easily fulfilled 
through the plenitude of scholars of the 
name. There are no less than fifty-five 
coats-of-arms of separate and distinct 
families of Allen in the United Kingdom, 
besides twenty others of different spell- 
ings. There were more than a score of 
emigrants of this surname, from almost 
as many different families, who left Eng- 
land before 1650 to settle in New Eng- 
land. The name in early times was 
spelled Allin, Alline, Ailing, Allyn, Allein 
and Allen, but the last is the orthography 
almost universally used at the present 
day. It is found not only in the indus- 
trial but in the professional life of people 
who have stood for all that is noblest 



and best. It has been identified with the 
formative period of New England his- 
tory, and from that region has sent out 
worthy representatives. 

(I) William Allen, by tradition a na- 
tive of Wales, came to this country in 
1660, and is of record at Portsmouth 
(Prudence Island), Rhode Island, in 
1638. He purchased a large tract of land, 
which included the subsequent village of 
Drownville (now West Barrington), 
built a house, and was resident of that 
place prior to 1670. Both he and his 
wife Elizabeth died in the year 1685. 
Children: Mary; William, of Ports- 
mouth, who was deputy to the General 
Court in 1705 ; Thomas, of Swansea, Mas- 
sachusetts ; John, mentioned below ; Mat- 
thew, of Portsmouth, Warwick and 
North Kingstown ; Mercy ; Sarah ; and 
Benjamin. 

(II) John Allen, son of William and 
Elizabeth Allen, born October 26, 1670, 
moved from Prudence Island into Aquid- 
nesett, and purchased one hundred and 
eighty-eight acres of land, paying for it 
$933 I_ 3' tne deed being dated February, 
1702. This was later the residence of 
Deacon George and Rev. J. W. Allen. 
He built his house in what has since been 
called the tobacco yard, a few rods be- 
low the south end of the Great Rocks. 
He was a member of the Baptist church 
at Newport under Elder Wightman. 
John Allen married Margaret Havens, 
and had children : Thomas, mentioned 
below; William, born May 15, 1710; 
John, May 15, 1710; Mary, married a 
Gardiner ; Phebe, married a Slocum ; 
Elizabeth, married a Fairbanks ; Jona- 
than, born August 6, 1717 ; Bathsheba, 
April 10, 1719, married a Johnston; 
Mercy, September 14, 1724, married a 
Card. 

(III) Thomas Allen, eldest child of 
John and Margaret (Havens) Allen, was 



57 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born about 1690, and lived in North 
Kingstown, Rhode Island, with his wife, 
Ann. The birth records of North Kings- 
town have been mutilated by the action 
of time, and the dates of birth of their 
first three children appear in North 
Kingstown without the name having 
occurred: August 3, 1714, October 10, 
1716, October 21, 1718. Others were: 
Samuel, mentioned below ; a child, born 
August 23, 1724; .another, August 30, 
1729; Christopher, October 26, 1731 ; 
Martha, January 28, 1735 ; Bathsheba, 
August 1, 1738. 

(IV) Samuel Allen, eldest known son 
of Thomas and Ann Allen, was born Oc- 
tober 21, 1718, in North Kingstown, and 
lived in Middletown, Rhode Island. 
There he married, January 16, 1745, Mary 
Coggeshall, born March 27, 1720, in Mid- 
dletown, died March 17, 1768, daughter 
of Thomas and Mary (Freeborn) Cogges- 
hall. Children, recorded in Middletown: 
Rowland, born October 15, 1746; Noel, 
March 25, 1749; Joseph, mentioned be- 
low; John, December 2, 1753; Thomas, 
September 9, 1759. 

(V) Joseph Allen, third son of Samuel 
and Mary (Coggeshall) Allen, was born 
February 4, 1752, in Middletown, and 
lived in that town. He married, in New- 
port, January 21, 1779, Mary Taggart, 
and had the following children recorded 
in Middletown : Noel, mentioned below ; 
Samuel, born November 4, 1781 ; Thomas, 
July 25, 1783; Mary, June 6, 1785. He 
may have removed to Westport, Massa- 
chusetts, and had other children later. 

(VI) Noel Allen, eldest child of Jo- 
seph and Mary (Taggart) Allen, was 
born May 12, 1780, in Middletown, and 
lived in Westport, Massachusetts. His 
intention of marriage to Hannah Dun- 
ham is recorded there. She was then a 
resident of Dartmouth, and their 'mar- 
riage intention is also recorded in that 



town, as well as the marriage, January 
24, 1801. Children: Christine, Eliza, 
Susan, George, Margaret, Rhodolphus 
Howard, mentioned below. 

(VII) Rhodolphus Howard Allen, son 
of Noel and Hannah (Dunham) Allen, 
was born January 1, 1808, in Westport, 
and died in Fall River, Massachusetts, in 
1 891. He married, October 8, 1832, Mary 
Turner Dean, born April 11, 181 1, daugh- 
ter of Joseph (3) and Elizabeth (Tew) 
Dean, of that town (see Dean V). Chil- 
dren : Rhodolphus W., mentioned below ; 
Mary Jane, born November 30, 1834, died 
young; Mary Elizabeth, February 16, 
1837; Henry, October 9, 1839; Joseph 
Dean, April 24, 1842 ; Albert Howard, 
died young ; Adelbert Howard, February 
19, 1848; Louis Valentine, November 23, 
1850; Ella Viola, July 1, 1853. 

(VIII) Rhodolphus W. Allen, eldest 
child of Rhodolphus Howard and Mary 
Turner (Dean) Allen, was born July 21, 
1833, and married, November 19, 1856, 
Amanda M. Davis, daughter of Noah 
Davis. Children : Iantha Amanda, born 
September 10, 1857 I Rodolphus N., men- 
tioned below ; Alton Alfred, March 10, 
1861, resides in Fall River; Edith Earle, 
November 13, 1871. 

(IX) Rodolphus N. Allen, eldest son 
of Rhodolphus W. and Amanda M. 
(Davis) Allen, was born August 29, 1859, 
in that part of Freetown, Massachusetts, 
which is now in Fall River, and was edu- 
cated in the schools of the last named 
town. He began his association with 
business affairs as a clerk in a cotton 
mill, and subsequently entered the Massa- 
soit-Pocasset National Bank, in which he 
has risen by promotion until he now 
holds the position of paying teller. Mr. 
Allen is also treasurer of the Fall River 
Cooperative Bank. 

He married, October 14, 1885, Annie 
Brownell Smith, born May 9, 1861. 



58 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



daughter of Charles Church and Sarah D. 
(Shaw) Smith, of Fall River (see Smith 
IV). Children: i. Helen, born December 
16, 1886; educated in the public and high 
schools of Fall River, and graduated 
from Wellesley College. She also took 
a special course at Brown University, and 
was a teacher for two years at Norfolk 
High School, and one year a teacher at 
the B. M. C. Durfee High School. She 
married William J. Simmons, of Wood- 
ard, North Carolina, and has one child : 
Annie Catherine, born October 10, 1914. 
2. Marian, born March 2, 1888, died 
March 9, 1888. 3. Rodolphus Harold, 
born April 11, 1889; graduated from the 
Massachusetts Agricultural College, and 
is now inspector for the Agricultural De- 
partment of the State of Massachusetts. 

4. Annie, born July 12, 1894; graduated 
from the B. M. C. Durfee High School, 
and attended school in Washington, D. C. 

5. Sarah Davenport, born May 31, 1898; 
a student at high school. 

(The Dean Line). 

This is a name which has been identi- 
fied with American history from a very 
early period, coming here from England, 
where the descendants have continued to 
reside and whence came recently to this 
country the family herein described. It 
is the opinion of some writers that the 
name was originally derived from the 
Latin word, Decanus, a term applied to 
a Roman military officer of minor rank, 
commanding a force of ten men, and it q 
English equivalent, Dean, was long ago 
adopted as an ecclesiastical title. It is 
also time-honored as the title of a col- 
legiate official. It has probably existed 
as a patronymic in England from the 
time of King Alfred the Great, tenth cen- 
tury, who was the first British sovereign 
to encourage the adoption of surnames. 
The first of the name in America were 



Rachel Dean, probably a widow, and Ste- 
phen Dean, both of whom arrived at 
Plymouth in the "Fortune," November, 
1621. Stephen Dean erected and oper- 
ated the first grist mill in the Plymouth 
Colony. In 1637 two immigrants of this 
name, John and Walter Dean, brothers, 
came from Chard, a place of some impor- 
tance, located about twelve miles from 
Taunton, county of Somerset. Informa- 
tion at hand states that they were the 
sons of William Dean. They landed at 
Boston, and after spending a year in 
Dorchester proceeded to Taunton, Mas- 
sachusetts, where they were admitted 
freemen, December 4, 1638. John Dean, 
who was born about 1600, died in 1660, 
directed in his will that "in case there be 
no settled ministry in Taunton, my ad- 
ministrators shall have full power to sell 
either the whole or a part of these my 
housings and lands, so as my children 
and posterity may remove elsewhere, 
where they may employ God and His 
Ordnances." 

(I) Walter Deane and his brother, 
John Deane, emigrated to America, and 
were among the earliest English settlers 
at Cohanet, soon afterwards called Taun- 
ton, both their names appearing in the 
list of first or original purchasers. They 
"took up their farms on the West bank 
of the river, about one mile from the 
center of the present village" of Taun- 
ton. Houses occupying the same lots as 
those erected by them, and nearly the 
exact sites, are to this day owned and 
occupied by descendants of each. The 
road which passed their dwellings has 
been called Dean street to the present 
time. Walter Dean was born between 
1615 and 1620, in Chard, England, a mar- 
ket town, situated about ten miles from 
Taunton, both towns being located in an 
extensive and fertile valley called Taun- 
ton Deane, on the river Tone. That Wal- 



59 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ter Deane was a man of influence and 
highly esteemed among his English 
neighbors at Cohanet or Taunton, in the 
American wilderness, is inferred from the 
iact that he was selectman for twenty- 
years, representative to the General Court 
one year, and also a deacon of the church. 
He was a tanner by trade. He married 
Eleanor, daughter of Richard Strong, of 
Taunton, England, and sister of Elder 
John Strong, who. came with her to 
America in the ship "Mary and John" in 
1630. Children: Joseph, mentioned be- 
low ; Ezra, married Bethiah, daughter of 
Deacon Samuel Edson, of Bridgewater, 
Massachusetts ; Benjamin, married Sarah, 
daughter of Samuel Williams, of Taun- 
ton ; Abigail, married Joseph Wood ; and 
maybe others, one writer naming James, 
who, for a time, was at Scituate, Massa- 
chusetts, then removed to Stonington, 
Connecticut. 

(II) Deacon Joseph Dean, eldest child 
of Walter and Eleanor (Strong) Deane. 
was a cordwainer by trade, and became 
the first town clerk of Dighton, Massa- 
chusetts. He lived at Assonet Neck and 
bore the title of deacon. The Christian 
name of his wife was Mary. He died 
January 10, 1729, his wife surviving him. 
Children : Joseph, mentioned below ; 
Samuel ; James, married Mary Williams ; 
Sarah, married Joseph Read, of Free- 
town ; Esther. 

(III) Joseph (2) Dean, son of Deacon 
Joseph (1) and Mary Dean, was born 
1688, and died August 11, 1773, in his 
eighty-fifth year. His wife Sarah sur- 
vived him, dying March 26, 1775, in her 
seventy-third year. Children : Sarah, 
born October 14, 1724, married Captain 
Samuel Gilbert, of Berkley, Massachu- 
setts; Joseph, August 7, 1726, married 
Priscilla Dillingham ; Ebenezer, July 4, 
1728, married Mary Read, of Dighton; 
John, June 29, 1730, died May 7, 1755; 
Elizabeth, May 26, 1736, married John 



Babbitt, of Berkley ; Benjamin, mentioned 
below. 

(IV) Benjamin Dean, youngest child 
of Joseph (2) and Sarah Dean, born May 
26, 1736, married, December 22, 1757, 
Mary Turner, of that part of Freetown, 
Massachusetts, now Bowenville, Fall 
River. Children : John, died unmarried, 
lost at sea; Gamaliel, born 1762, died May 
23, 1800; Sally, 1763, married Philip 
Hathaway, of Freetown ; Benjamin, April 
1, 1765; Aaron, 1766, married Elizabeth 
Weaver, of Freetown ; Moses, 1769, died 
November 5, 1819 ; Patience, 1773, died 
June 20, 1824, unmarried; Susan, 1774, 
married John Phillips, of Berkley ; Sam- 
uel, married Hannah Hinds, of that part 
of Middleboro, now Lakeville, Massachu- 
setts ; Joseph, mentioned below ; Eben- 
ezer, married Elizabeth Chase, of Free- 
town. 

(V) Joseph (3) Dean, seventh son of 
Benjamin and Mary (Turner) Dean, 
born 1780, married Elizabeth Tew, of 
Berkley, daughter of Henry (3) and Abi- 
gail (Hathaway) Tew (see Tew VI). 
Among their children was Mary Turner, 
wife of Rhodolphus Howard Allen (see 
Allen VII). 

(The Smith Line). 

Among the early settlers of the town 
of Dartmouth, Massachusetts, were more 
than half a dozen bearing the surname 
Smith, and some of their descendants 
have continued to reside in that section 
of the State. It is presumable that this 
family is included in that list. As the 
State of New York made no pretense of 
keeping family records, it is difficult to 
establish the identity of the first named 
below. 

(I) Perry Smith came from Troy, New 
York, and located at Smith's Neck, Mas- 
sachusetts, where some of his children 
had preceded him. It is probable that 
this was merely a return to the ancient 
home of the family, and that his father 



6b 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



or grandfather had removed from Dart- 
mouth to Troy. Children: Levi, men- 
tioned below; Leonard, married Eliza- 
beth Howland; Sylvia, married Joshua 
Howland ; Royal, married Eunice How- 
land ; Sarah, married Philip Allen. 

(II) Levi Smith, eldest son of Perry 
Smith, born April 30, 1791, lived in the 
town of Dartmouth. He married Lydia 
Slocum, born August II, 1797, daughter 
of William Slocum, and granddaughter 
of John Slocum. Children : Charles 
Church, mentioned below; Nancy, born 
May 12, 1817, died March 10, 1820; 
Amanda Malvine, June 12, 1819; William 
Slocum, July 20, 1822; Levi Woodbury, 
May 2, 1830; Lydia Ann, December 29, 
1831, died March 27, 1834. 

(III) Charles Church Smith, eldest 
child of Levi and Lydia (Slocum) Smith, 
was born January 6, 1815, in Dartmouth. 
He married, December 3, 1845, Sarah 
Davenport Shaw, born November 19, 
1826, in Tiverton, Rhode Island, daugh- 
ter of Benjamin (2) and Mary Ann 
(Davenport) Shaw, of that town (see 
Shaw VII). Children: Unnamed son, 
born and died 1854; Marian, born May, 
1856, died 1861 ; Annie Brownell, men- 
tioned below ; Marian, April 4, 1866, mar- 
ried Captain Horace P. Smith. 

(IV) Annie Brownell Smith, second 
daughter of Charles Church and Sarah 
Davenport (Shaw) Smith, was born May 
9, 1861, in Little Compton, was married 
in Fall River, October 14, 1885, to Ro- 
dolphus N. Allen, of that town (see Allen 
IX). She is a member of Quequechan 
Chapter, Daughters of the American 
Revolution, of Fall River, in which she 
has filled most of the offices, including 
that of regent. 

(The Tew Line). 

(I) The Tew family of southeastern 
Massachusetts is descended from Rich- 



ard Tew, who was a native of Maidford, 
Northamptonshire, England, and was a 
son of Henry Tew, of Maidford. In 1640 
Richard Tew came to New England, 
locating first in Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island, and in 1654 in Newport, where he 
spent the remainder of his life. He died 
in Newport in 1673. He was a member 
of the Society of Friends, and had re- 
corded upon the Friends' records his chil- 
dren's births. He married, in England, 
Mary Clarke, daughter of William Clarke, 
of Priors Hardwick, Northamptonshire, 
and she died in 1687. Children: Seaborn, 
born June 4, 1640, at sea (hence her 
name), married (first) January 5, 1658, 
Samuel Billings, and (second) Owen 
Higgins; Elnathan, October 15, 1644, 
died in 171 1, married, November 3, 1664, 
Thomas Harris; Mary, August 12, 1647,. 
died 1688, married, December 8, 1670, 
Andrew Harris ; Henry, mentioned be- 
low. 

(II) Henry Tew, youngest child of 
Richard and Mary (Clarke) Tew, born 
1654, in Newport, died April 28, 1718. 
He was a prominent man in the affairs 
of Rhode Island, and succeeded William 
Clarke as deputy governor of the colony. 
He was a man of wealth and influence and 
owned a large tract of real estate, cattle, 
sheep, and was also a slave owner. His 
first wife bore the name of Dorcas. She 
died in 1694, and he married (second) 
Sarah, surname unknown, who died in 1718. 
Children: Mary, born October 12, 1680, 
died May 2, 1752, married, June 10, 1703, 
William Peckham ; Henry, 1681, died 
1731, married Ann Richmond; William, 
1683, died April 5, 1718; Richard, 1684; 
John, mentioned below; Elizabeth, mar- 
ried, September 17, 1712, Edward Smith, 
and died 1769; Sarah, married Sylvester 
Sweet ; Elisha, born 1691 ; Edward, died 
January 16, 1702; Dorcas, born Septem- 
ber 26, 1696, died February 5, 1715 ; Paul, 



61 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



September, 1699, died May 24, 1711; Ed- 
ward, November 1, 1703, died November 

4, 1723- 

(III) John Tew, fourth son of Henry 
and Dorcas Tew, was born in Newport, 
and settled in the town of Dighton, Mas- 
sachusetts, on property which was willed 
him by his father. He married Sarah 
Briggs, and their children, according to 
Dighton town records, were : William, 
born February 13, 1724, died young; 
Elisha, October 15, 1725; Henry, men- 
tioned below; William, September 12, 
1 73 1 ; Dorcas, March 26, 1734. 

(IV) Henry (2) Tew, third son of 
John and Sarah (Briggs) Tew, was born 
October 29, 1729, and married, December 

5, 1753, Elizabeth Hathaway, born Octo- 
ber 18, 1737. 

(V) Benjamin Tew, son of Henry (2) 
and Elizabeth (Hathaway) Tew, made 
his home in Berkley and there engaged 
in farming. He was quite active in the 
war of the Revolution and participated 
in that memorable conflict. He married 
Abigail Hathaway, born October 1, 1767, 
daughter of Philip and Lucy (Valentine) 
Hathaway. Philip Hathaway was lieu- 
tenant of the first foot company of local 
militia in Freetown. Benjamin Tew had 
children: Benjamin, died in infancy; 
Philip, married Silence Mason; Elizabeth, 
mentioned below; Mary, married, No- 
vember 16, 1803, James Mason ; Abigail, 
married, September 14, 1813, Isaac San- 
ford. 

(VI) Elizabeth, eldest daughter of 
Benjamin and Abigail (Hathaway) Tew, 
married, October 21, 1804, Joseph Dean 
(see Dean V). 

(The Shaw Line). 

(I) Anthony Shaw was early in Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, whence he removed 
to Portsmouth, Rhode Island, and later 
to Little Compton, same colony, where 



he died August 21, 1705. The inventory 
of his estate footed £213, 12s., 2d., in- 
cluding a negro man valued at £30 and 
silver money amounting to £9. On April 

20, 1665, he bought ten acres of land in 
Portsmouth, for £40, including a house 
and three hundred good boards. He mar- 
ried Alice, daughter of John Stonard, of 
Boston, where their first three children 
were born, namely : William, January 

21, 1654, died March 10 following; Wil- 
liam, February 24, 1655 ; Elizabeth, May 
21, 1656. The others, born in Rhode 
Island, were : Israel, mentioned below ; 
Ruth, married John Cook ; Grace, wife of 
Joseph Church. 

(II) Israel Shaw, third son of Anthony 
and Alice (Stonard) Shaw, lived in Little 
Compton, and married, in 1689, a daugh- 
ter of Peter Tallman, of Portsmouth. 
Her baptismal name is not preserved. 
He sold two parcels of land in Ports- 
mouth, February 11, 1707, to his brother- 
in-law, John Cook, of Tiverton, and in the 
bargain were included buildings and 
orchards, and a share in Hog Island. 
The consideration was £210, 10s. Chil- 
dren: William, born November 7, 1690; 
Mary, February 17, 1692; Anthony, men- 
tioned below ; Alice, November 17, 1695 ; 
Israel, August 28, 1697; Hannah, March 
7, 1699; Jeremiah, June 6, 1700; Ruth, 
February 10, 1702; Peter, October 6, 
1704; Elizabeth, February 7, 1706; Grace, 
October 20, 1707; Comfort, August 9, 
1709; Deborah, July 15, 171 1. 

(III) Anthony (2) Shaw, second son 
of Israel Shaw, was born January 29, 
1694, in Little Compton, and died there 
in March, 1759. He was married, August 
14, 1718, in Little Compton, by Justice 
Thomas Church, to Rebecca Wood, born 
April 17, 1696, died January, 1766, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Wood. Children : Benja- 
min, mentioned below ; Mary, born Feb- 
ruary 24, 1722; Ruth, September 29, 1723; 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Anthony, November 30, 1725; Elizabeth, 
January 10, 1728, died January, 1804; Re- 
becca, January 27, 1730; Arnold, Novem- 
ber 13, 1732; Thomas, January 26, 1735; 
John, May 5, 1737. 

(IV) Benjamin Shaw, eldest child of 
Anthony (2) and Rebecca (Wood) Shaw, 
was born October 5, 1720, in Little Comp- 
ton, and died there in September, 1794. 
He married, 1749, Elizabeth Potter. Chil- 
dren : Sylvanus, born May 4, 1750, died 
October 22, 1777; Nathaniel, February 
24, 1752; Rhoda, October 2, 1753, died 
young; Rhoda, January 1, 1756; Noah, 
mentioned below; Susanna, March 25, 
1760; Barnabus, October 24, 1761 ; Benja- 
min, July 24, 1763; Elizabeth, October 5, 
1764; Asa, March 1, 1766; Renanuel, July 
21, 1768. 

(V) Noah Shaw, third son of Benja- 
min and Elizabeth (Potter) Shaw, was 
born February 2, 1758, in Little Comp- 
ton, and died there February 8, 1844. He 
was a landowner, engaged in agriculture, 
and was a soldier of the Revolution, serv- 
ing as a private, for which he was in re- 
ceipt of a pension, commencing March 4, 
1831. He was married (first) February 11, 
1787, by Elder Peleg Burroughs, to Rhoda 
Palmer, born September 8, 1762, in Taun- 
ton, Massachusetts, daughter of Benja- 
min Palmer. He married (second) 
Esther Potter. Children: Benjamin, 
mentioned below ; Elizabeth, born Octo- 
ber 16, 1789; Sarah, December 17, 1791 ; 
Hannah, October 30, 1793; Elizabeth, 
February 4, 1796; Rhoda, May 14, 1799; 
Anna, 1801, died in infancy; Noah and 
John (twins), March 25, 1804, latter died 
March 26, 1804. Child by second wife : 
John, born July 21, 1806. 

(VI) Benjamin (2) Shaw, eldest child of 
Noah and Rhoda (Palmer) Shaw, was born 
January 18, 1788, in Little Compton, and 
was married, September 28, 1823, by Rev. 
Benjamin Peckham, to Mary Ann Daven- 



port, born September 6, 1800, in Tiver- 
ton, died June 26, 1882, daughter of Jere- 
miah and Anna (Burroughs) Davenport, 
of that town (see Davenport VI). Chil- 
dren: Rhoda A., born November 8, 1824; 
Sarah D., mentioned below; Esther B., 
November 20, 1828; Benjamin A., Sep- 
tember 20, 1830; Mary A., January 12, 
1833; James H., March 26, 1835; George 
W., November 6, 1840. 

(VII) Sarah Davenport Shaw, daugh- 
ter of Benjamin (2) and Mary Ann 
(Davenport) Shaw, was born November 
19, 1826, in Little Compton, and married, 
December 3, 1845, Charles Church Smith 
(see Smith III). 

(The Davenport Line). 

There were several immigrants in 
America in the days of its early settle- 
ment bearing this name, and the ancestry 
of the Connecticut branch has been traced 
in England for many generations. 

(I) Thomas Davenport was a member 
of the Dorchester church, November 20, 
1640, was a freeman, May 18, 1642, and 
served the town as constable in 1670. 
He purchased a house and lands, Novem- 
ber 25, 1653, and his residence was on the 
east slope of Mount Bowdoin, near the 
corner of the present Union avenue and 
Bowdoin street, in Dorchester. He pur- 
chased additional lands, February 5, 1665. 
After his death, which occurred Novem- 
ber 9, 1685, an inventory of his estate 
was made, amounting to ^332, 16s., 8d. 
His wife Mary joined the Dorchester 
church, March 8, 1644. She survived him 
nearly six years, dying October 4, 1691. 
Children : Sarah, born December 28, 1643 '> 
Thomas, baptized March 2, 1645 ; Mary, 
January 21, 1649; Charles, September 7, 
1652; Abigail, July 8, 1655; Mehitable, 
born February 14, 1657 ; Jonathan, men- 
tioned below ; Ebenezer, April 26, 1661 ; 
John, October 20, 1664. 



63 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(II) Jonathan Davenport, third son of 
Thomas and Mary Davenport, was born 
in 1659, an d died January 11, 1729. He 
married, December 1, 1680, Hannah War- 
ren, born 1660, died January 14, 1729, in 
Little Compton. Children : Thomas, born 
December 10, 1681 ; Jonathan, November 
3, 1684, died October 14, 1751 ; Hannah, 
December 23, 1686; Simeon, December 
27, 1688, died December 8, 1763; Eben- 
ezer, September 2, 1691, died August 4, 
1776; John, mentioned below; Joseph, 
March 25, 1696, died September 2, 1760; 
Benjamin, October 6, 1698; Sarah, De- 
cember 10, 1700. 

(III) John Davenport, fifth son of Jon- 
athan and Hannah (Warren) Davenport, 
was born January 12, 1694, in Little 
Compton, and died April 20, 1741. He 
married, in Little Compton, June 15, 

1726, Elizabeth Taylor, born January 4, 
1 701, daughter of Peter and Elizabeth 
Taylor. Children : Noah, born May 7, 

1727, died March 5, 1818; Sarah, October 
2y, 1729; Jonathan, January 22, 1733; 
John, mentioned below ; Ephraim, July 2, 
1736; Phebe, May 19, 1739; Mary, May 
I, 1741. 

(IV) John (2) Davenport, third son of 
John (1) and Elizabeth (Taylor) Daven- 
port, was born January 18, 1735, in Little 
Compton, and lived in Tiverton. He mar- 
ried, in 1 761, Sarah, surname unknown. 
Children : Elizabeth, born November 16, 
1761, died young; John, September 21, 
1763; Taylor, August 29, 1766; Elizabeth, 
December 20, 1768; Jeremiah, mentioned 
below. 

(V) Jeremiah Davenport, youngest 
child of John (2) and Sarah Davenport, 
was born August 19, 1771, in Tiverton, 
where he married (first) November 6, 
1796, Anna Burroughs, born April 21, 
1776, in Little Compton, died January 29, 
1804, in Tiverton, daughter of Rev. Peleg 
and Kezia (West) Burroughs. He mar- 



ried (second) December 29, 1806, Esther 
Burroughs, sister of his first wife, born 
June 26, 1786, in Tiverton. Children: 
Sarah, born January 7, 1798; Mary Ann, 
mentioned below. 

(VI) Mary Ann Davenport, youngest 
daughter of Jeremiah and Anna (Bur- 
roughs) Davenport, was born September 
6, 1800, in Tiverton, and married, Septem- 
ber 23, 1823, Benjamin (2) Shaw, of Lit- 
tle Compton (see Shaw VI). 



OSBORN, James Edward, 

Manufacturer, Man of Affairs. 

The Osborn family is of English an- 
cestry. There were several pioneers early 
in New England. Richard Osborne sailed 
from London in 1634, in the ship "Hope- 
well," and located in 1635, in Hingham, 
Massachusetts, removing to New Haven, 
Connecticut, in 1639; received for his 
service in King Philip's War a land war- 
rant for land near Fairfield, Connecticut, 
where he settled about 1650 and lived 
until 1682, moving finally to Westches- 
ter county, New York. William Osborne, 
presumably a brother of Richard Os- 
borne, located at Hingham, Massachu- 
setts, of which he was a proprietor in 
1635 ; moved to Braintree to become clerk 
of the iron works, and to Boston in 1652. 
James Osborne settled in Springfield, and 
Thomas Osborne in Charlestown before 
1650. 

(I) Jeremiah Osborn, the immigrant 
ancestor of the Osborns of Rhode Island 
and Fall River, settled in Newport, Rhode 
Island, where he died in 1673. He was 
the schoolmaster. No record has been 
found to show any relationship with the 
other pioneers, who were older. In fact 
Jeremiah left so little about himself in 
the public records that it must be pre- 
sumed that he was not long in Newport 
before he died. Even the record of his 



64 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



death was preserved only by Samuel 
Hubbard, who wrote, November 8, 1673: 
"This week two of Christ Church (called 
Mr. Vahan's) departed, to wit, John 
Turner and Jeremy Osborne, schoolmas- 
ter." The name was often spelled Os- 
band in the early records. Austin found 
but one son, but Nathaniel Osband, who 
petitioned the General Court held at 
Newport in 1682, was doubtless another 
son. 

(II) Jeremiah (2) Osborn, son of Jere- 
miah (1) Osborn, was born about 1660, 
and died in 1709. He was an innholder 
in Bristol. He married Mercy Davis, 
who died February 16, 1733, daughter of 
Nicholas and Sarah Davis. His name ap- 
pears in the records from time to time. 
He and his wife sold to Nathaniel By- 
field, of Boston, twenty-two acres at Pap- 
pasquash Neck for £25, October 9, 1696, 
and two days later he bought ten acres 
for £40 of Richard Pearce. His will was 
dated at Bristol, July, 1708, proved April 
6, 1709, making his wife Mercy executrix, 
and leaving her all his real and personal 
estate during life for the upbringing of 
his young children and providing that 
when his real estate was divided after her 
death his eldest son John should have a 
double share. The inventory shows an 
estate of £412 3s., including a silver tank- 
ard, cup and porringer. The possession 
of silver at this time indicated that the 
family had had wealth and standing. The 
following children are recorded in the 
birth records of Bristol: 1. Robert, born 
August 11, 1684, drowned at Bristol, Sep- 
tember 2, 1685, aged one year. 2. Kath- 
arine, born November 12, 1686, married 
at Bristol, May 24, 1708, Jonathan Wood- 
bury. 3. John, born October 12, 1689. 
4. Jeremiah, born July 25, 1693, died Jan- 
uary 24, 1694, at Bristol. 5. Margaret, 
born May 27, 1695. 6. Sarah, May 11, 
1701. 7. Jeremiah, June 21, 1706. We 
n E-7-5 65 



find no record of birth' of the following, 
but other records show that they were 
about the same age as Jeremiah's chil- 
dren, yet not more than two of them could 
have been his and it is presumed that 
they were children of Nathaniel or an- 
other brother. 1. Hannah, married, May 
24, 1725, John Homans, at Bristol. 2. 
Samuel, then of Newport, married (inten- 
tions dated November 27, 1736) Mary 
Gorham, married at Bristol, May 30, 
1738 (St. Michael's Church records, page 
214, Arnold VIII). 3. Henry, mentioned 
below. 4. James, married at Newport, 
April 17, 1728, Mary Jatinton. 5. Wil- 
liam, mentioned below. 6. Esther, mar- 
ried at Newport, December 25, 1734, 
William Trott. (See Trinity Church rec- 
ords, page 463, Arnold X). Evidently 
most of these moved away soon after 
marriage. 

(III) William Osborn, son of Jeremiah 
(2) or Nathaniel Osborn, married, June 
2, 1728, Mary Cherry, and the supposition 
is that they are the parents of William, 
mentioned below. 

(IV) William, Osborn, of the Newport 
and Bristol family described above, was 
born, according to family records, Au- 
gust 16, 1729. It is likely that he was 
son of William and Mary (Cherry) Os- 
born, grandson of Jeremiah or Nathaniel 
Osborn, and great-grandson of Jeremiah 
Osborn. There is no doubt that he was 
descended from the first Jeremiah Os- 
born, mentioned above. He came from 
Newport to Tiverton, Rhode Island, and 
lived during his minority in the family 
of Samuel Hicks. He married in Tiver- 
ton, May 28, 1752, Elizabeth Shrieve, 
daughter of William Shrieve. He died 
according to family records, October 29, 
1810; his wife died about 1814. 

Another William Osborn died at New- 
port at an advanced age, January 18, 
1808, according to the Trinity Church 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



records and the newspapers. This Wil- 
liam Osborn married at Newport, Janu- 
ary 26, 1772, Lydia Prior, and was doubt- 
less the same William that married, Sep- 
tember 21, 1783, Hannah Read (Rev. 
Gardner Thurston's records, Arnold V., 
P- 358). 

Children of William and Elizabeth 
(Shrieve) Osborn : Wilson, born at Tiv- 
erton, June 3, 1753, died about 1757; 
Weaver, born April 17, 1756; Elizabeth, 
June 8, 1758; Patience, July 17, 1761, died 
young ; Thomas, mentioned below ; Wil- 
liam, July 18, 1769. 

(V) Thomas Osborn, son of William 
Osborn, was born at Tiverton, March 31, 
1766. He was a ship cooper and farmer 
in Tiverton. He died there October 7, 
1833. He married, in 1797, Anna Durfee, 
born March 6, 1775, died May 23, 1845, 
daughter of Joseph and Abigail (Borden) 
Durfee, of Tiverton. Children, born at 
Tiverton: 1. William, born November 
26, 1798, died at Tiverton, January 28, 
1829; married Ruth Hambly. 2. Thomas, 
born December 30, 1800, died at Tiver- 
ton, March 1, 1884; married Elizabeth S. 
Hambly. 3. Joseph, mentioned below. 
4. Ann, born December 4, 1805. died in 
181 2. 5. Wilson, born April 15, 1808, 
died August 29, 1873, married Mary Wil- 
son. 6. Eliza Ann, born May 25, 1810, 
died in Fall River, August 18, 1887 ; mar- 
ried Rev. Alexander Milne. 7. Patience, 
born August 29, 1812, died in 1817. 8. 
Weaver, mentioned below. 9. James 
Monroe, mentioned below. 

(VI) Judge Joseph Osborn, son of 
Thomas Osborn, was born in Tiverton, 
August 20, 1803. In early life he was a 
dealer in livestock. He was elected judge 
of the Court of Common Pleas ; was a 
delegate to the Constitutional Convention 
of Rhode Island in 1841 ; represented Tiv 
erton in both branches of the State Legis- 
lature ; was treasurer of the town for 



forty-five years, and at one time served 
on the Board of State Charities and Cor- 
rection. In his later years he was promi- 
nent in the cotton industries of Fall River, 
a director of the Osborn Mills, one of the 
founders and director of the Pocasset Na- 
tional Bank, and president of the Fall 
River Savings Bank from the time of its 
organization in 185 1 until he died. He 
accumulated a fortune through his own 
industry and shrewd investments. He 
married Eliza Gardner. Children : Ann 
Catherine, William Joseph, mentioned 
below; Jason Woodward, Eliza Gardner, 
Henry Clay. 

(VII) William Joseph Osborn, son of 
Judge Joseph Osborn, was born at Tiver- 
ton, December 3, 1836, and was educated 
in the public schools there, at Pierce's 
Academy, Middleborough, and in the 
Bryant & Stratton Business College, 
Providence. He began his business 
career as clerk in the freight office of the 
Old Colony Railroad Company in Bos- 
ton. Three years later he accepted a po- 
sition as clerk in the Fall River Savings 
Bank, resigning shortly afterward to en- 
gage in business on his own account in 
partnership with Frank A. Brackett, 
under the firm name of Brackett & Os- 
born, dealers in tea and tobacco, with 
headquarters in Boston. After the Civil 
War he was in the railroad and banking 
business in New York City and later a 
stock broker, member of the Consolidated 
Stock Exchange. In politics he was a 
Republican. He was a member of the 
First Baptist Church, Pierrepont street, 
Brooklyn, New York. He died suddenly 
in New York, November 3, 1888. He was 
a member of various Masonic organiza- 
tions. 

He married, June 19, 1873, Hannah 
Humphrey French, daughter of Stephen 
L. and Phebe Ann (Dwelly) French. 
Since the death of her husband, Mrs. Os- 



66 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born has resided in Fall River. She was 
a member of the school board of that 
city in 1898, 1899 and 1900, 1902 to 1908, 
finally declining reelection. She is a 
member of the Baptist church. Mr. and 
Mrs. Osborn had one son, Charles 
French, born May 2, 1878, graduate of 
the Fall River High School and of Wil- 
liams College, class of 1901 ; now in the 
government service in the Bureau of 
Commerce and Labor. 

(VI) Weaver Osborn, son of Thomas 
Osborn, was born in Tiverton, May 23, 
1815. He attended the public schools of 
his native town and the seminary at Little 
West Hill, South Kingstown, Rhode 
Island. During his boyhood he worked 
on his father's farm. At the age of 
eighteen he was apprenticed to a black- 
smith at Fairhaven. From 1835 to 1843 
he had a blacksmith shop in Tiverton, 
then went to work in Providence. From 
1844 to 1848 he was employed in the shop 
of Andrew Robeson, and from 1848 to 
January, 1855, he was in business for 
himself as a blacksmith in Tiverton. His 
shop was destroyed by fire in 1855, and 
he removed to Fall River, where he and 
his brother, James M. Osborn, formed a 
partnership under the firm name of W. 
& J. M. Osborn, blacksmiths, their shop 
being located on land now occupied by 
the Fall River post office, and continued 
there until 1871. Their other interests in 
various industries had become extensive. 
Weaver Osborn was a leader in the in- 
dustrial development of the city. He was 
the prime mover and most active in pro- 
curing the capital for the mills built in 
1872, and named for him. He was a direc- 
tor of the Montaup Mills corporation, 
now Osborn mill, No. 2. He was elected 
president of the Pocasset National Bank 
in 1873 an d held that office for many 
years. He was a director of the original 
Pocasset Bank, and was an officer of this 



institution under its State and national 
charters as long as he lived. At the be- 
ginning he was on the board of invest- 
ment and he was the last survivor of the 
original board, serving from 1873 until 
he died as chairman. For many years 
he was also a trustee of the Citizens' Sav- 
ings Bank, of Fall River. He was a trus- 
tee of the State work houses at Bridge- 
water and Tewksbury, Massachusetts. 
He was also called upon to administer 
many large estates. 

In early life he was a Whig in poli- 
tics, casting his first presidential vote for 
Henry Clay, but after the Republican 
party was formed, he gave it his unfalter- 
ing support to the end of his life. He 
represented Fall River and his district in 
the State Senate in 1857-58-59 and again 
in 1879, serving on the military commit- 
tee and other important assignments. He 
was a representative to the General Court 
in the House in 1868, 1869, 1871, 1873, 
1876 and 1877. When a young man he 
took an active part in military affairs and 
rose to the rank of captain, serving dur- 
ing the Dorr Rebellion. Mr. Osborn's 
career affords a most interesting exam- 
ple of the self-made man of the nineteenth 
century. He fought his own way in life, 
saving while working at the forge, in- 
vesting in textile industries, achieving 
distinction in business, in banking, in 
public life. Resourceful, determined, 
faithful to every trust, of sound common 
sense and excellent judgment, year by 
year his strength of character came more 
and more into evidence and brought him 
positions of trust and honor. Of his 
means he gave freely. He was kindly, 
sympathetic and generous in helping the 
poor and suffering. He was second to no 
man in the confidence and love of the peo- 
ple of the community in which he lived. 

Mr. Osborn married, January 7, 1837, 
Patience B. D welly, born at Tiverton, 



67 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



May 27, 1817, died June 2, 1901, daugh- 
ter of Daniel and Mary (Slade) Dwelly. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Osborn were members 
of the Baptist church. Their children : 

I. Mary Slade, born February 23, 1838, 
was a teacher in the Morgan street school 
three years and in the Osborn street 
school twelve years, now residing in Fall 
River. 2. Daniel Weaver, born June 7, 
1840, died February 5, 1863. 3. Thomas 
Frederick, born March 28, 1847, died May 

II, 1857. 4. Anna Jane, born March 3, 
1853, died July 11, 1861. 

(VI) James Monroe Osborn, son of 
Thomas Osborn, was born at Tiverton, 
August 27, 1822. He remained with his 
widowed mother on the homestead for 
six years after his father died. He re- 
ceived his education in the common 
schools of his native town. In the shop 
of his brother, Weaver, he learned the 
trade of blacksmith. At the age of 
twenty he returned to the farm, and after 
trying seine-fishing for an occupation, he 
resumed his trade in Providence, work- 
ing there and in other places until 1845, 
when he located in Fall River. For a 
year or more he was in the employ of 
John Kilburn and afterward with Kil- 
burn & Lincoln until 1855, when he be- 
came a partner of his brother. They 
bought the blacksmith shop of Gideon 
Packard, located on the site now occu- 
pied by the Fall River post office. In 
1859 tne partners helped to build the 
Union Mill, the construction of which 
was soon followed by the erection of 
other cotton mills. They became large 
owners in the granite mill, and in 1867 
invested in the Merchants' Manufactur- 
ing Company. They were associated with 
others in building the Stafford Mill. By 
this time their textile interests had be- 
come so large that the blacksmith busi- 
ness was discontinued. In 1871 James 
M. Osborn was elected a director and the 



first treasurer of the Slade Mill and su- 
perintended the building of the mill. He 
and his brother were next interested in 
establishing the Osborn Mill. Their in- 
terests extended constantly. The part- 
nership was finally dissolved in 1880, but 
their interests were almost identical. 
James M. Osborn was for many years a 
director of the Globe Yarn Mills, and of 
the Merchants', Osborn and Stafford 
companies, being president of the two 
former. He was also a member of the 
board of investment of the Five Cents 
Savings Bank. 

Throughout his active life he gave his 
time and thought as well as his financial 
help to the church. He became a mem- 
ber of the First Baptist Church of Fall 
River, April 2, 1843, an d was dismissed 
in 1846 to the Second Baptist Church, of 
which he was a deacon from, 1884 to 1896, 
and for many years chairman of its stand- 
ing committee. He served the society 
well in caring for its property and super- 
intended the moving of its chapels from 
time to time. He gave his hearty support 
to the temperance movement and joined 
in every project designed to promote bet- 
ter citizenship and public morals. In early 
life he was a Whig, later a Republican, 
and he performed his part in public life. 
He served as alderman of the city in 1856 
and 1858, and in 1866 and 1871 in the 
Common Council, where his work and his 
influence were of substantial value to the 
municipality. 

Mr. Osborn married, August 9, 1847, 
Mary B. Chace, who was born June n f 
1826, daughter of Nathan and Elizabeth 
(Buffinton) Chace, of Somerset. Chil- 
dren: 1. Anna Elizabeth, born April 5, 
1850, died July 1, 1850. 2. Nathan Chace, 
born August 9, 1852, died January 28. 
1855. 3. James Edward, mentioned be- 
low. Mr. Osborn died May 13, 1898, at 
his home, No. 540 Cherry street, where 
68 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



he had lived since building the house in 
1859, and where his family lived after his 
death. Interment was in Oak Grove 
Cemetery. 

(VII) James Edward Osborn, son of 
James Monroe Osborn, was born in Fall 
River, January 24, 1856. He attended 
the public schools there, graduating from 
the high school in 1872. He began his 
career as clerk in the office of the Mer- 
chants' Manufacturing Company, under 
William H. Jennings, treasurer. A few 
years later he left the Merchants' Manu- 
facturing Company and associated him- 
self with B. F. Randall in the cotton busi- 
ness. In 1884 he purchased the interest 
of A. B. Sanford in the firm of Sanford 
& Covel, dealers in hardware and mill 
supplies, the firm name becoming Covel 
& Osborn. The business was afterward 
incorporated as the Covel & Osborn Com- 
pany, of which Mr. Osborn was presi- 
dent for several years. In July, 1896, Mr. 
Osborn was elected treasurer of the 
American Linen Company, succeeding 
the late Philip D. Borden, and in April, 
1898, he was made treasurer of the Mer- 
chants' Manufacturing Company, suc- 
ceeding Andrew Borden. He is also vice- 
president and member of the executive 
committee of the Cotton Manufacturers' 
Association ; a director of the Fall River 
Electric Light Company ; the Merchants' 
Manufacturing Company; the American 
Linen Company ; the Osborn Mills ; the 
Ancona Company ; the Granite Mills, and 
the Parker Mills, all of Fall River; the 
Warren Manufacturing Company of War- 
ren, Rhode Island ; the Newmarket Mills, 
of Newmarket, New Hampshire ; and the 
Apponaug Company of Boston. He is a 
trustee of the Citizens' Savings Bank, and 
of the Home for Aged People, both of 
Fall River. In politics he is a Repub- 
lican. In religion he is a Congregational- 
ism attending the Central Church. He is 



a member of King Philip Lodge, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Fall River 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; and God- 
frey de Bouillon Commandery, Knights 
Templar. He belongs to various clubs 
and other social organizations. 

Mr. Osborn married, October 12, 1880, 
Delia S. Carr, who was born December 4, 
1856, daughter of William and Elizabeth 
V. (Durfee) Carr, of Fall River, Massa- 
chusetts. Children: 1. Marion, born 
July 21, 1881, married Joseph F. Sherer, 
president of the C. T. Sherer Company, 
and manager of its department store, 
Worcester, Massachusetts, and they have 
three children, Osborne, Jeanette and 
Helene Sherer. 2. Helen, born Septem- 
ber 22, 1882, died October 7, 1882. 3. 
Elizabeth Carr, born January 28, 1889, 
married, November 8, 191 1, Leeds Bur- 
chard, of New York, son of Dr. Thomas 
Burchard, and they have one daughter, 
Hope, born April 28, 1914. Mr. Bur- 
chard is now officially connected with the 
Covel & Osborn Company, of Fall River. 
4. Richard, born July 22, 1891, was gradu- 
ated from Yale College, in the class of 
1914, with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. 
For a time he was associated with Dr. 
Grenfeld in Newfoundland. Upon the 
breaking out of the European war, he 
joined the hospital unit and served in 
France as one of the first automobile 
drivers in the ambulance corps. Upon 
returning home he formed a copartner- 
ship with Frank H. Towne and Edward 
Brayton, under the firm name of Towne, 
Brayton & Osborn, cotton dealers, of Fall 
River. 



BURTON, Albert W., 

Civil War Soldier, Manufacturer. 

Among the oldest families of Rhode 
Island is that of Burton, and descendants 
are still found in that State and adjoining 



6Q 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sections of others. It has been identified 
with progress along social, moral and 
material lines, and has conferred lasting 
benefits on the communities with which 
associated. 

(I) William Burton was an inhabitant 
of Providence, in the section known as 
Mashantatack, north of the Pawtuxet 
river, where he died February 20, 1714. 
He sold a house and orchard in Warwick 
for thirty-five pounds, deed dated Febru- 
ary 1, 1668; and his brother-in-law, John 
Wickes, gave lands for life to Burton 
and wife May 17, 1680, the property to 
go to their son after their death. Burton 
was taxed four shillings in 1687, was a 
grand juror in 1688, and died in 1714. His 
will, made March 20, 1703, with codicil 
dated July 8, 1713, was proved June 25, 
1714, and the inventory of his property 
amounted to £111, 8s. He married (first) 
Hannah Wickes, daughter of John and 
Mary Wickes, born 1634, died before 
1701, in which year he married (second) 
Isabel Moss, a widow. The estate of the 
latter, was valued September 15, 1724, at 
£243, is. Besides a daughter, baptismal 
name unknown, who married a Curbit, 
he had the following children : Elizabeth, 
married, October 30, 1674, Thomas Had- 
ger; Hannah, married Timothy Carpen- 
ter and died before 1726; Rose, married a 
Fowler ; Ethelanna, married a Clarke ; 
Susannah, born 1665, married (first) Sam- 
uel Gorton, and (second) Richard Har- 
ris, and died June 25, 1737; John, men- 
tioned below. 

(II) John, youngest child of William 
and Hannah (Wickes) Burton, was born 
May 2, 1667, and lived at Chestnut Hill, 
was executor of his father's estate, in- 
herited all his housings and lands and re- 
sidue of the estate, one-half the stock, 
and the remainder after death of his step- 
mother. In 1702 he gave three shillings 
to aid in building a Quaker meeting house 



at Mashapaug, in 1716 was deputy to the 
General Court. During his lifetime, the 
section of Providence in which he lived 
was set off to the town of Cranston. He 
died July 15, 1749, and left an estate 
valued at £2,512, 9s., id. His will, made 
January 23, was proved September 2, 
1749, giving homestead to the elder son, 
William. Among items listed in the in- 
ventory were a negro man, books, silver 
money and plate, and bonds valued at 
£735, 14s., iod. His wife Mary married 
(second) Benjamin Searle, and died De- 
cember 29, 1768. 

(III) John (2), junior son of John (1) 
and Mary Burton, was born about 1754, 
in what is now Cranston, is described as 
of Providence and Cranston (probably 
upon the same farm), and died in 1799. 
He was deputy from the former town in 
1744, from the latter in 1762, and was as- 
sistant in 1766. His will disposed of 
£1,700 in cash legacies, besides a large 
amount of lands. His wife, Mary, died 
September 9, 1768. Children, the first 
eight recorded in Providence : John, born 
September 8, 1733; Joseph, September 19, 
1735; Dinah, September 30, 1737; Mary, 
January 12, 1740; Hannah, died young; 
David, August 30, 1744; Caleb, October 
15, 1746; Elizabeth, January 24, 1749; 
George, mentioned below; Rufus, No- 
vember 19, 1753; Hannah. 

(IV) George, fifth son of John (2) and 
Mary Burton, was born September 11, 
1 75 1, in Cranston, and was not living 
February 20, 1799, when his father's will 
was made. He inherited land by will of 
his grandmother. He married, December 
27, 1770, Hannah or Rosanna Potter, born 
about 1752-53, daughter of Thomas and 
Esther Potter. Children : Hannah, born 
July 23, 1771 ; Mary, June 19, 1774; 
George, mentioned below. 

(V) George (2), son of George (1) and 
Hannah (Potter) Burton, was born No- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



vember 30, 1776, in Cranston, and inher- 
ited the homestead of his grandfather, 
John (2) Burton, in that town, with part 
of the live stock, tools and books. Late 
in life he removed to Hopkinton, Rhode 
Island, where he died November 5, 1846, 
aged eighty years. That he was a man 
of influence is evidenced by the fact that 
he held town office. In religion he was 
a Baptist, and in politics a Whig. He 
married Tryphena Place, who died at 
Hopkinton, February 10, 1849. Children: 
Ira, Elliott Lee, Potter C, George, 
Thomas, Nancy, Celinda. 

(VI) Elliott Lee, son of George and 
Tryphena (Place) Burton, was born Oc- 
tober 20, 1803, at "Hopkinton City," Hop- 
kinton, Rhode Island, and died at East 
Killingly, Connecticut, July 7, 1887. He 
received a common school education, and 
helped his father in the cultivation of the 
farm. In early manhood he commenced 
to sell laces and notions, for a few years, 
and later removed to Foster, Rhode 
Island, where he kept a general store, 
selling West Indian and dry goods. Here 
he was a road surveyor, a member of the 
militia, and with his wife joined the Free 
Will Baptist church, November 6, 1852. 
After his marriage he removed with his 
family to Killingly, Connecticut, where 
he found employment in the cotton fac- 
tories of that town. He also engaged in 
farming for a time, and later began the 
manufacturing and finishing of boots and 
shoes for various firms. After ten years 
he again farmed in a small way, adding 
to his homestead land purchased from 
James Simmons, and which was sold to 
his son, Stephen, after his death. In poli- 
tics he was a Whig, being opposed to 
slavery, later becoming a strong sup- 
porter of Lincoln and his policies. He 
married at Foster, June 11, 1828, Bernice, 
born November 8, 1806, died October 14, 
1889, daughter of Sheldon and Naomi 



(Randall) Williams, and a direct de- 
scendant in the sixth generation of Roger 
Williams. Children : Albert Williams, 
mentioned below ; Louisa, died young ; 
Laura Ann, born December 24, 1833, died 
September 20, 1883 ; Harris Olney, March 
19, 1836, married, April 19, 1856, Olive 
S. Oatley, and died October 12, 1897; 
Stephen Randall, July 17, 1839, married, 
November 26, 1884, Mary (Crowell) Wil- 
liams, and died August 13, 1907; James 
Elliott, May 6, 1841 ; Elliott Franklin, 
December, 1842, married, January 3. 
1655, J uua A. Hopkins. 

(VII) Albert Williams, eldest child of 
Elliott Lee and Bernice (Williams) Bur- 
ton, was born December 19, 1831, at Hop- 
kins Mills, North Foster, Rhode Island, 
and died at Buttonwood, same State, 
July 24, 1909. Up to the age of twelve 
years he attended the district school, 
three months in summer and three in 
winter, and from this time until the age 
of sixteen attended only during the win- 
ter months. He then removed with his 
parents to East Killingly, where he was 
employed in the cotton mills for six 
months, after which he worked on the 
farm of William Cook, of Gloucester, 
Connecticut. At the age of eighteen 
years he shipped on board the whaler 
"Ocean," Captain Swift, bound for the 
Arctic seas. They made a roundabout 
voyage, touching at the Azores, Sand- 
wich Islands, Hongkong and Japan. 
Later he made numerous trips along the 
Atlantic coast, spending altogether thir- 
teen years at sea. During the Civil War 
he enlisted at Wrentham, February 20, 
1864, in the Fourteenth Massachusetts 
Battery, and saw much hard and honor- 
able service. He participated in the fol- 
lowing battles that year: Wilderness, 
May 5 to 7; Ny River, May 10; Spottsyl- 
vania, May 12 and 21 ; North Anna River, 
May 23 to 27 ; Bethesda Church, June 2 ; 



/i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Cold Harbor, June 4 to 12; Petersburg, 
June 16 to 25 ; Deep Bottom, July 9 to 17 ; 
Crater, July 30 ; Petersburg trenches, Au- 
gust 5 to 21 ; Fort Steadman, March 25 
to 29, 1865 ; fall of Petersburg, 1865. On 
June 15, 1865, he was honorably dis- 
charged, and mustered out at Readville, 
Massachusetts. During part of this time 
he was mate of the ship "Mary J. Mif- 
flin," carrying supplies for McClellan's 
army. 

At the close of hostilities he returned 
home and engaged with the jewelry man- 
ufacturing concern of H. F. Barrows, at 
North Attleboro, Massachusetts. After 
five years spent in obtaining a thorough 
mastery of this trade he went to Plain- 
ville, Massachusetts, and for two years 
was in the employ of J. D. Lincoln, Tif- 
fany & Bacon. The Plainville Stock Com- 
pany was organized in the spring of 1872 
for the manufacture of specialties in jew- 
elry, a number of the most prominent 
manufacturers in the jewelry line, among 
them being Albert Williams Burton, 
forming this corporation. There were 
various changes in the membership from 
time to time, older members retiring and 
making way for new, but it was from the 
start a pronounced success, at no time 
more so than when Mr. Burton retired, 
March 26, 1909, to enjoy a long merited 
rest from his arduous labors. Mr. Bur- 
ton was an attendant of the Methodist 
church of Plainville, and gave liberally 
toward its support, especially to the build- 
ing of the church, and donated the organ. 
He was a member of George H. Main- 
tein Post, No. 133, Grand Army of the 
Republic, and served as senior and junior 
vice-commander and as quartermaster 
many years. 

He married, at Wrentham, June 22, 
1857, Mary Ellis, born October 5, 1836, 
daughter of Edward Renouf and Susannah 
(Dale) Bennett, of that town (see Ben- 



nett VII). Children: 1. Edward Ran- 
dall, born January 31, 1858, died Febru- 
ary 6, 1858. 2. Alice Williams, August 
24, 1859, died April 6, 1885. 3- Albert 
Edward, April 6, 1861, married, March 15, 
1893, Nettie May Hopkins ; children : 
Wesley Hopkins, born December 29, 
1893; Alice May, November 19, 1894; 
Lee Williams, November 12, 1895 ; Rubie 
Ellis, May 30, 1896; Ivy Dale, May 1, 
1897; Helene Elliott, September 9, 1902; 
Beatrice Virginia, April 28, 1905. 4. 
Maria Lincoln, May 13, 1866, married, 
September 1, 1894, Dr. Clarence Moore 
Noble, who died July 5, 1897, son of 
George and Sarah Noble, of Cooticook, 
Canada. 5. Bernice Elliott, October 7, 
1878, married, December 3, 1903, Clar- 
ence Mason Hatch ; children : Dorothy 
Williams, born August 15, 1905; Hazel 
Mason, December 26, 1907. 

(The Bennett Line). 

The Bennett family is of English origin, 
and its members were among the earliest 
emigrants to the shores of New England. 

(I) William Bennett, founder of the 
Wrentham, Massachusetts, branch of the 
family, was born in England in 1603, and 
died in Manchester, Massachusetts, No- 
vember 20, 1683. He was a carpenter by 
trade, and an early settler in Plymouth, 
Massachusetts, where he was taxed in 
1632. He removed from Plymouth to 
Salem, where we find him recorded prior 
to 1636; he was admitted to the Salem 
church, June 18, 1643. In 1637 he re- 
moved to Manchester ; was granted land 
in the four-hundred-acre grant after com- 
ing from Salem, and his name appears 
with sixteen others in a petition asking 
the "Honorable Court to give us power 
to erect a village at Jeffreys Creek," which 
later was named "Manchester." He was 
a freeman, and as such had a right to 
common lands, and became a proprieto* 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and one of the factors in the affairs of the 
settlement; was a selectman of the town 
in 1660-65-72-76, and owned a house near 
the foot of Bennett's Hill, also a grist 
mill on the site of the old Forster Mill. 
His wife Jane came from England at the 
age of sixteen years, in 1635, in the ship 
"Elizabeth and Ann," and died April 27, 
1693. Children: Moses, baptized July 2, 
1643, was living in 1693; Aaron, men- 
tioned below ; Mary, baptized September 
3. 1654; Ann, July 2, 1643; Deliverance, 
July 2, 1643. 

(II) Aaron, second son of William and 
Jane Bennett, was baptized July 2, 1643, 
and died in 1709. He was a yeoman, liv- 
ing in Manchester, Massachusetts, and 
also followed fishing. His will, dated De- 
cember 3, 1708, was proved March 21, 
1709. He married (first) prior to 1665, 
Hannah, surname unknown. His second 
wife, Elizabeth, whom he married prior 
to 1708, was born 1644, being the first 
child born in Manchester, Massachusetts. 
Children : Hannah, born March 25, 1665, 
was living in 1708; Jane, January 15, 
1675, was living in 1708; Aaron, mention- 
ed below; Alice, April 5, 1679, married, 
November 15, 1705, John Allin, of Bever- 
ly ; Elizabeth, June 13, 1680, was living 
in 1708, married, December 11, 1700, Rob- 
ert Warren, a fisherman of Manchester ; 
Mary, January 31, 1685, was living in 
!7o8. 

(III ) Captain Aaron (2) Bennett, eldest 
son of Aaron (1) and Hannah Bennett, was 
born March 25, 1677, in Manchester, and 
died suddenly in the same town, Febru- 
ary 13, 1753. He was a husbandman, and 
owned much property in Manchester. In 
1696 he was captain of fishing vessels of 
nine tons, and for a time followed this 
calling, making trips to the banks and 
getting profitable catches; in 1712 he 
was an innholder. He married (first) 
November 20, 1700, Ann Pick worth ; (sec- 
ond) March 11, 1736, Mrs. Abigail Geard- 



ner, a widow of Gloucester. Children, all 
of first marriage : Elizabeth, born Au- 
gust 8, 1701, married, November 28, 1721, 
Nathaniel Lee; William, May 1, 1703; 
Aaron, July 6, 1705, died October 20, 
1780; Luccee, June 2, 1709, married, June 
4, 1733, Benjamin Searles, of Marblehead ; 
Abigail, June 15, 1713, died June 25, 1714; 
Moses, mentioned below ; Benjamin, bap- 
tized March 22, 1719. 

(IV) Moses, third son of Aaron (2) 
and Ann (Pickworth) Bennett, was born 
February 25, 1715, in Manchester, re- 
sided in that town, and in 1754 followed 
the calling of fisherman. The records 
state that he died in the service of the 
province near the Isle of Orleans in 1759. 
He married, at Essex, Massachusetts, 
February 15, 1739, Rachel Rust, of Ips- 
wich, Massachusetts, born 171 1, died in 
Manchester, November 8, 1787. Chil- 
dren : Moses, mentioned below ; Lucy, 
born April 11, 1741, died about 1765; 
Ruth, November 28, 1742; Rachel, No- 
vember 28, 1747, married, May 7, 1772, 
Edward Renouf, of Marblehead ; Amos, 
February 25, 1750, married, December 29, 
1776, Elizabeth Oakes, of Danvers; Mary, 
May 26, 1752, married, September 17, 1772, 
Jacob Symmons ; Joanna, March 16, 1757. 

(V) Moses (2). eldest child of Moses 
(1) and Rachel (Rust) Bennett, was born 
December 26, 1739, in Manchester. In 
early life he followed fishing as an occu- 
pation, and later became a cabinet maker, 
in which trade he continued for many 
years, in Manchester, this being at that 
time the principal industry there. His 
sons learned the same trade. He was a 
devout man and died "in the faith," as 
did also his wife. He married, December 
7, 1762, Anna Allen. Children: Anna, 
married, September 5, 1789, Isaac Miller; 
Patty, born November 8, 1766, married, 
August 29, 1794, Edward Morgan ; Moses, 
October 23, 1770; Isaac, mentioned below. 

(VI) Isaac, youngest child of Moses 



73 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(2) and Anna (Allen) Bennett, was born 
January 13, 1773, in Manchester, and died 
November 25, 185 1, at Wrentham, Massa- 
chusetts. His education was the cus- 
tomary one for a farmer's son of that 
period, and at an early age he was taught 
the trade of cabinet making. As a young 
man he went to Sharon, where he fol- 
lowed his trade, shortly after his mar- 
riage removing to Wrentham, where he 
settled in the "Wampum" district. He 
leased his property and set up a shop as 
cabinet maker, and as his sons became old 
enough he admitted them into the busi- 
ness. His shop was run by water power, 
and he manufactured bureaus, bedsteads, 
tables, cradles, finding a ready market for 
his products in Boston, and this industry 
became an important factor in the prog- 
ress of the town. The greater part of this 
output was sold to Edward Renouf, a 
leading furniture dealer of Boston, and 
for whom his son, Edward Renouf Ben- 
nett, was named. Edward Renouf was a 
descendant of a noted and honored Nor- 
man family which had settled at New- 
buryport, Massachusetts. Mr. Bennett 
was of very quiet habits and disposition, 
and he and his wife were faithful mem- 
bers of the Orthodox church. He was a 
pronounced Democrat, and belonged to 
the militia. He married, December 31, 
1797, Elizabeth, born at Sharon, Massa- 
chusetts, January 22, 1774, died at Wrent- 
ham, February 20, 1859, daughter of Jo- 
seph and Esther (Fisher) Randall (see 
Randall II). Children: Prudence An- 
driette, born September 26, 1798, mar- 
ried Joseph Green Weeks ; Eliza, De- 
cember 19, 1799, died November, 1827; 
George Hawes, July 9, 1801, died Septem- 
ber 4, 1871, married Margaret Dale ; Mary 
Ann, April 17, 1803, died July 26, 1857, 
married, August 10, 1823, Carl Moran 
Fisher; Esther Randall, February 6, 1805, 
married Jeremiah Cobb ; Edward Renouf, 



mentioned below ; Charlotte, December 
26, 1808, married Francis Fisher; Wil- 
liam Steadman, June 23, 1812, died Sep- 
tember 26, 1881, married, June 1, 1836, 
Matilda Barnes ; Henry Albert, Novem- 
ber 2, 1814, died December 11, 1873, mar- 
ried, January 8, 1838, Charlotte Potter; 
Eleanor Jane, November 2, 1814 (twin of 
Henry Albert), married Aaron G. Hoyes ; 
Laura, August 28, 1816, died June 23, 
1907, married, June 17, 1841, Ebenezer 
Hawes ; Isaac Francis (called Frank Ben- 
nett), died July 13, 1897. 

(VII) Edward Renouf, second son of 
Isaac and Elizabeth (Randall) Bennett, 
was born October 22, 1806, in Wrentham, 
and died there, April 9, 1896. His school 
education was limited to attendance at 
the district school during the winter ses- 
sions, at the same time he was assisting 
his father in his business, and was later 
admitted to partnership. After a time 
the firm was dissolved, and Edward R. 
went to Norwood, where he was em- 
ployed by George W. Everett & Com- 
pany, and ran a circular saw. During the 
panic of 1857 this latter firm became in- 
solvent, and Mr. Bennett returned to 
Wrentham, after a short residence in 
Roxbury, and commenced farming in a 
small way. His farm consisted of thirty 
acres and he raised general crops. In 
1870 his son, Edward P., purchased his 
father's property, and the elder Bennett 
and his wife made their home with their 
son. In connection with his farming Mr. 
Bennett owned a saw mill at Wrentham, 
which he operated during the winter 
months until within ten years of his 
death. He was interested in military 
affairs, and was captain of the Wrentham 
company of militia. He was of a quiet, 
unassuming nature, earnest religious 
views, a strong temperance advocate and 
he and his wife were members of the 
Orthodox church of Wrentham. Politi- 



74 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cally he gave his support to the Republi- 
can party. He was married at Wrent- 
ham, by Rev. Elijah Fiske, September 21, 
1830, to Susannah, born in Weymouth, 
February 7, 1805, died in Wrentham, No- 
vember 14, 1885, daughter of John and 
Catherine (Childs) Dale, of Weymouth 
(see Dale IV). Children: Esther Dale, 
born June 24, 1834, died April 23, 1883, 
married, February 25, 1854, James Eras- 
tus Hawes ; Mary Ellis, mentioned be- 
low ; Martha Randall, July 27, 1838, died 
August 17, 1882, married, February 18, 
1855, George Albert Jenks ; Charles Ed- 
ward, April 2, 1841, died November 2, 
1844; Herbert Franklin, January 5, 1845, 
married, January 10, 1866, Mary D. At- 
wood ; Edward Pay son, June 30, 1848, 
living in Wrentham. 

(VIII) Mary Ellis, second daughter of 
Edward Renouf and Susannah (Dale) 
Bennett, was born October 5, 1836, and 
became the wife of Albert Williams Bur- 
ton, of Plainville, Massachusetts (see 
Burton III). 

(The Childs Line). 

The name Child is derived from Hildr 
of the Norse mythology. Its descent 
from mythic to historical times can be 
traced in the Nebelungen Lied. In this 
saga childe is first used as a title for king. 
From the fifth to the tenth centuries, 
many of the kings of France prefixed the 
word Childe to their names, and during 
this time a large number of the rulers of 
Europe derived their appellations from 
the root Hildr. As the title Childe be- 
came obsolete, it was generally adopted 
as a surname by descendants or depend- 
ents. The original spelling was with the 
final "e," and many families in England 
still retain the old form. For the first 
two generations in this country it was 
written Child, but of late years, Childs is 
more frequently employed. 



(I) Benjamin Child, or Childs, came 
from England in 1630, and settled in Rox- 
bury, Massachusetts. In the records of 
that town he is stated to have been one 
of thirty who contributed towards the 
erection of the first church there. He died 
October 14, 1678, leaving an estate valued 
at £506 19s. His wife Mary was admitted 
to the church of Roxbury in 1658, and sur- 
vived her husband. Children, born in 
Robury : Ephraim, 1654 ; Benjamin, men- 
tioned below ; Joshua, 1658 ; Mary, Au- 
gust 8, 1660; infant, 1662; Elizabeth, De- 
cember 2, 1663; Margaret, December 21, 
1665; John, January 8, 1667, died young; 
Mehitable, June 29, 1669; John, August 
1, 1671 ; Joseph, December 10, 1674, died 
young; Joseph, June 1, 1678, died young. 

(II) Benjamin (2), second son of Ben- 
jamin (1) and Mary Childs, born 1656, 
in Roxbury, was the inheritor of a large 
share of his father's property there, and 
died January 24, 1724. He spent his life 
in his native town, and lived on the home- 
stead. He married, March 7, 1683, Grace, 
daughter of Deacon Edward and Grace 
(Bett) Morris. She was admitted to the 
church, June 21, 1681, and died Decem- 
ber 10, 1723. Her father was an early 
settler of Woodstock, Connecticut ; from 
1677 to 1684 one of the selectmen of Rox- 
bury, and during the same time a deputy 
to the General Court, and part of the time 
colonial auditor. Children, born in Rox- 
bury: Ephraim, December 18, 1683 ; Ben- 
jamin, July 19, 1685 ; Edward, mentioned 
below ; Grace, October 2j, 1689 ; Mary, 
October 25, 1691 ; Ebenezer, September 
7, 1693 ; Mehitable, January 5, 1695 '■> Wil- 
liam, October 14, 1697; Penuel, Septem- 
ber 3, 1699; Richard, October 22, 1701 ; 
Thomas, November 10, 1703; Margaret, 
May 26, 1706. 

(III) Edward, third son of Benjamin 
(2) and Grace (Morris) Childs, was born 
November 1, 1687, in Roxbury, and re- 



75 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sided on the paternal homestead there. 
He was a glazier and farmer, large land- 
holder and well known. He married, in 
1712, Margaret Weld. Children: Han- 
nah, born December 7, 1712; John, men- 
tioned below; Eleazer, March 11. 1717 ; 
Stephen, August 19, 1719; Edward, Sep- 
tember 13, 1821. 

(IV) John, eldest son of Edward and 
Margaret (Weld) Child's, was born Janu- 
ary 20, 1714, in Roxbury, and married, 
January 26, 1742, Esther Child, born Sep- 
tember 6, 1722, in Woodstock, Connecti- 
cut, daughter of Ephraim and Priscilla 
(Harris) Child. Children: Hannah, died 
young; Margaret, born April 8, 1745; 
Priscilla, December 20, 1748; Hannah, 
January 30, 1750; Esther, March 2, 1753; 
John, June 16, 1756; Stephen, August 10, 
1758 ; Joanna, October 10, 1760; Ann, 
January 22, 1762; Catherine, mentioned 
below. 

(V) Catherine, youngest child of John 
and Esther (Child) Childs, born Septem- 
ber 13, 1764, in Roxbury, became the wife 
■of John Dale, of Roxbury (see Dale IV). 

(The Dale Line). 

(I) John Dale was in Salem, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1682. He probably lived in 
that part of the town now Danvers, was 
far from the centre and did not participate 
in public affairs. The records are silent 
regarding his wife. 

(II) John (2), son of John (1) Dale, 
was born November 2, 1685, in Salem Vil- 
lage, now Danvers, where he made his 
home, with wife, Abigail. Children, re- 
corded in Danvers : John, born Septem- 
ber 13, 1718; Archelaus, September 17, 
1720; Elizabeth, July 18, 1723; Anne, 
April 19, 1725; Betty, October 11, 1727; 
Ebenezer, mentioned below ; Timothy, 
May 9, 1733; Abigail, January 17, 1736. 

(III) Ebenezer, third son of John (2) 
and Abigail Dale, was born March 7, 



1731, in Danvers, where he lived and mar- 
ried, April 1, 1755, Rebecca Preston, sup- 
posedly of the old Preston family of 
Salem, which figures so little in the rec- 
ords as to be untraceable. Children, on 
Danvers records : Ebenezer, born Decem- 
ber 5, 1755; Anna, September 27, 1757; 
Thomas, August 19, 1759; Samuel, July 
23, 1761 ; Rebecca, April 27, 1764; John, 
mentioned below. 

(IV) John (3), youngest child of Eben- 
eezer and Rebecca (Preston) Dale, was 
born 1764-65, in Danvers, baptized there 
August 31, 1766, lived in Roxbury, Wey- 
mouth and Wrentham, Massachusetts, 
and died in the later town February 15, 
1843. He was a housewright by trade. 
He married Catherine Childs, born Sep- 
tember 13, 1764, in Roxbury, daughter of 
John and Esther (Child) Childs, of that 
town (see Childs IV), died in Wrentham 
May 10, 1825. Children: Catherine, born 
March 25, 1796, in Roxbury: Esther 
Childs, April 19, 1798, in Roxbury, died 
April, 1848, in Dorchester; Ann, October 
30, 1800, in Roxbury, died in Wrentham 
October 14, 1889; Margaret, December 
3, 1802, in Weymouth, married George 
Hawes Bennet, and died in Wrentham 
June 22, 1889; Susannah, mentioned be- 
low; John Childs, February 16, 1812, in 
Roxbury, married Caroline Tucker. 

(V) Susannah, youngest daughter of 
John (3) and Catherine (Childs) Dale, 
was born February 7, 1805, baptized in 
July of that year in Weymouth, became 
the wife of Edward R. Bennett, of Wrent- 
ham, died November 14, 1885, there (see 
Bennett VII). 

(The Randall Line). 

There are several old New England 
families of this name, and the name is 
scattered all over the United States, 
whither it has carried enterprise, thrift 
and morality. Philip Randall was made 



76 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a freeman in Dorchester, Massachusetts, 
May 14, 1634, and mention of his sons, 
Abraham and Phillip, is found. All re- 
moved to Windsor, Connecticut, where 
the name soon became extinct. Possibly, 
some of the descendants returned to 
Dorchester. They do not figure, how- 
ever, on the records of that town. The 
Boston vital records show the birth of 
several children of William and Eliza- 
beth Randall in the latter part of the sev- 
enteenth century and early years of the 
eighteenth. 

(I) Thomas Randall, presumably of 
the Dorchester or Boston family of the 
name, was born in 1700, as indicated by 
the record of his death in Sharon, Massa- 
chusetts. He married, in Roxbury, De- 
cember 30, 1730, Katharine Tucker, born 
May 12, 1711, died November 24, 1802, 
in Sharon, daughter of Benjamin and 
Elizabeth (Williams) Tucker, of Rox- 
bury, granddaughter of Benjamin and 
Ann (Payson) Tucker and great-grand- 
daughter of Robert Tucker, of Weymouth 
and Milton, Massachusetts, pioneer an- 
cestor of a large American family. The 
Sharon records show only one child, men- 
tioned below. 

(II) Joseph, son of Thomas Randall, 
was baptized in June, 1743, in Sharon 
(at least, recorded there), and died in 
that town, March 18, 1816. He married, 
January 27, 1766, in Wrentham, Massa- 
chusetts, Esther Fisher, born March 18, 
1745, in that town, daughter of Daniel 
and Mercy Fisher, died December 5, 1799, 
in Sharon. Their children, on Sharon 
records, were as follows : John, born No- 
vember 2, 1767; Molley, January 24, 1770; 
Elizabeth, mentioned below; Frances, 
December 30, 1775; Samuel, February 
10, 1778; Esther, February 20, 1780; 
Thomas, March, 1782. 

(III) Elizabeth, second daughter of 
Joseph and Esther (Fisher) Randall, was 



born January 22, 1774, in Sharon, and 
was married, December 31, 1797, to Isaac 
Bennett, of Wrentham (see Bennett VI). 



HICKS, George Henry, 

Physician. 

The family of Hicks, to which Dr. 
George Plenry Hicks, of Fall River, be- 
longs, is one of the oldest and most dis- 
tinguished in Southeastern Massachu- 
setts. In the early records the spelling 
Hix was also used. For centuries the 
name has been an honored one in Eng- 
land also. The ancestry has been traced 
in England to the year 1500. 

(I) John Hicks, we are told, was the 
father of Robert and Thomas Hicks, the 
latter mentioned below. 

(II) Thomas Hicks, son of John Hicks, 
died in Trotworth, England, in 1565. He 
married Margaret Atwood. Among their 
children were John, and Baptist, men- 
tioned below. 

(III) Baptist Hicks, son of Thomas 
Hicks, was born in England in 1520. He 
married Mary Eberard, daughter of 
James Eberard. Of their children, Bap- 
tist, Jr., died unmarried, and James is 
mentioned below. 

(IV) James Hicks, son of Baptist 
Hicks, married Phebe Allyn, daughter of 
Rev. Ephraim Allyn. Children, born in 
England : John, Ephraim, Robert, men- 
tioned below; Samuel, Thomas, James, 
and three daughters. 

(V) Robert Hicks, son of James Hicks, 
was born in England, in 1580, and came 
from his home in Southwark, County 
Surrey, in the ship "Fortune" to Ply- 
mouth, in 1621. One account says he 
was descended from Sir Ellis Hicks, who 
was knighted in 1356, by Edward, the 
Black Prince. His wife Margaret, with 
her children, joined him two years later, 
coming in the ship "Ann." He drew lots- 



77 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



at Plymouth, in 1623, for himself, wife 
and two children. He was admitted a 
freeman in 1633. He died March 24, 1647. 
He married (first) in England, Elizabeth 
Morgan ; (second) Margaret Winslow. 
Children : Samuel, mentioned below ; 
Ephraim ; Lydia, married Edward Bans ; 
Phebe, married George Watson. 

(VI) Samuel Hicks, son of Robert 
Hicks, was born in England, and came 
with his mother to Plymouth, in 1623. 
His name appears on the list of those 
able to bear arms in Plymouth, in 1643. 
Soon afterward he moved to the new 
town of Eastham, then called Nauset. 
Afterward he was at Barnstable for a 
time. He was formally admitted an in- 
habitant of Barnstable, October 3, 1662. 
He was one of 'he thirty-six purchasers 
of the territory that was later incor- 
porated as the town of Dartmouth, March 
7, 1652, and he made his home there in 
1670. While in Eastham he was a deputy 
to the General Court in 1649. He owned 
one thirty-fourth part of the town of 
Dartmouth. He married, in 1645, Lydia 
Doane, daughter of Deacon John Doane, 
one of the prominent pioneers of this sec- 
tion. Children : Dorcas, born February 
14, 1651-52; Margaret, March 9, 1654; 
Thomas, mentioned below ; Jacob, mar- 
ried Mary Earle. 

(VII) Thomas (2) Hicks, son of 
Samuel Hicks, married Mary Albro, 
daughter of John and Dorothy Albro. 
He settled in Dartmouth, but moved to 
Portsmouth, Rhode Island. He was a 
carpenter by trade. He was admitted a 
freeman in 1673. He owned a share in 
Seaconnet and sold a quarter-share there 
in 1679. He died in 1698. His widow 
died after 1710. Children: Sarah, 
Thomas, Samuel, mentioned below ; 
Ephraim, Susanna, Abigail and Elizabeth. 
In 1707, when the estate of Thomas 
Hicks, the father, was administered, 



Thomas and Ephraim were of Rhode 
Island and Samuel was of Tiverton, then 
part of Massachusetts. 

(VIII) Samuel (2) Hicks, son of 
Thomas (2) Hicks, married, January 1, 
1701-02, Susanna Anthony, daughter of 
Abraham and Alice (Wodell) Anthony. 
They lived at Tiverton, where he died in 
1742. His wife died before 1736. Chil- 
dren : Samuel, mentioned below ; Sarah, 
Alice, Leah, Susanna, Abigail, Mary. 

(IX) Samuel (3) Hicks, son of Samuel 
(2) Hicks, was born August 15, 1704. He 
lived first in Tiverton on land west of 
the highway leading from, the Stone 
bridge to Fall River nearly opposite the 
stone house of the late Charles R. Hicks. 
The farm extended from the road to the 
shore of Mount Hope Bay. They were 
Friends. Samuel Hicks died at Tiverton, 
August 11, 1790. His will was dated De- 
cember 17, 1788. (Book IV, p. 469). He 
married (first) Mary Mumford, who died 
March 4, 1737, in her twenty-second year. 
He married (second) Susanna Akin, who 
died three days before her husband. It 
is related that the mourners returning 
from her burial found that Mr. Hicks had 
died during their absence. Children, born 
at Tiverton: Thomas, August 2, 1735; 
Stephen, July 21, 1741 ; Samuel, January 
10, 1742, married Patience Burrington 
(Dr. Hicks has the original will of her 
father, Abraham Burrington, dated Janu- 
ary 1, 1816, bequeathing to wife Eliza- 
beth, brother Thomas and four sisters, 
Patience Hicks, Mary Durfee, Sarah and 
Alice Burrington ; Samuel, Jr., died in 
1825; Mary, born July 28, 1744; Eliza- 
beth, March 23, 1745-46; John, mentioned 
below; Joseph, died January 20, 1806; 
Ann, born February 5, 1752; George, May 
7, 1755; Peace, 1757; Elihu, April 22, 
1759; Susanna, May 2, 1761 ; Weston, 
June 30, 1764. 

(X) John (2) Hicks, son of Samuel (3) 



78 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hicks, was born March 26, 1747-48. He 
was for a time a trader in Newport, Rhode 
Island, but returned to Tiverton, where 
he followed farming during the remainder 
of his active life. He bought of Abraham 
Brown and wife Abigail land in Tiverton 
bounded by land of Stephen Hicks and 
grantor, March 28, 1796. He bought a 
salt marsh on Hog Island, Portsmouth, 
adjoining land of William Borden, De- 
cember 21, 1781. This deed was wit- 
nessed by Thomas Howland and Stephen 
Hicks. Both these original deeds are now 
in the possession of Dr. George H. Hicks. 
Another deed shows that John Hicks and 
his brother, Samuel, Jr., and Abraham 
Burrington bought of Abraham Brown 
and wife Abigail seventy-five acres in the 
Eighteenth Great Lot, first division in 
Tiverton, the homestead farm of Robert 
Burrington, late of Tiverton, deceased, 
being land set off to Abigail and Abraham 
Brown under the will of William Bur- 
rington, of Tiverton, son of Robert Bur- 
rington. Witnesses : Walter and Eliza- 
beth Cook. Deed dated September 23, 
1776, acknowledged 1779. 

Both John Hicks and his wife were 
members of the Society of Friends, Mr. 
Hicks being the last survivor of the Old 
Society. In his sketch of the town of 
Tiverton, H. W. Blake says : "Among 
the early supporters of the Tiverton meet- 
ing were Edward Wing and Elizabeth, 
his wife, Nathan Chase, Abraham Barker, 
Borden Durfee, Abigail Durfee, John 
Hicks, Elisha Estes, and Ann Hopkins, 
who was a maiden sister of Elizabeth 
Wing. Mrs. Wing was the minister for 
several years. Mr. Barker and Mr. Hicks 
were the last of the old society. These 
two, faithful to their earnest belief, sat 
alone in their house of worship many a 
First Day and silently worshipped God." 

John Hicks married, December 7, 1803, 
Lydia Wing, daughter of Edward and 
Edith Wing, of Sandwich, Massachusetts. 



She died November 8, 1828. He died 
August 11, 1828, aged eighty-one years, 
nine months. Children, born at Tiverton : 
Lydia Wing, born March 2j, 1805, mar- 
ried John B. Howland, in 1828, died Au- 
gust 25, 1842 ; John Russell, mentioned 
below ; Susanna, born August 8, 1809, 
died June 9, 1821 ; Elizabeth, born Janu- 
ary 2, 1812, died December 27, 1828; Me- 
hitable, born December 26, 1813, married 
Charles W. Howland, died January 18, 
1875, aged sixty-one years, twenty-two 
days. 

(XI) John Russell Hicks, son of John 
(2) Hicks, was born in Tiverton, Decem- 
ber 16, 1807. He owned and conducted 
a farm of forty-eight acres near the home- 
stead, formerly known as the Cook farm. 
He had a fine dairy and found his market 
in Fall River. He was industrious, pru- 
dent and prosperous. In religion he was 
a Friend, and his home was often visited 
by prominent Quakers on the way to and 
from meetings in this section. In early 
life he was a Whig in politics, but after- 
ward a Republican. He died Septembei 
4, 1883. He married, May 6, 1832, Emma 
Gardner, who was born at Tiverton, Jan- 
uary 25, 1809, died May 14, 1887, a 
daughter of Captain Samuel and Cather- 
ine (Borden) Gardner. Catherine Gard- 
ner was a daughter of Benjamin Borden, 
granddaughter of Samuel Borden, and 
great-granddaughter of Richard Borden 
(see Borden). Captain Samuel Gardner 
was of a prominent Tiverton family, com- 
ing from Swansea, Massachusetts, and 
locating at Tiverton about the time of 
his marriage, January 1, 1795. Children 
of John Russell Hicks : Charles Russell, 
born February 18, 1834, died January 22, 
1901 ; twin of Charles Russell, born and 
died February 18, 1834; George Henry, 
mentioned below; Edward Wing, born 
October 20, 1838, lived at Tiverton; Al- 
bert Gardner, born October 7, 1844, died 
the same month ; John Russell, mentioned 






79 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



below ; Joseph L., born March 29, 1847, °f 
Fall River ; Samuel Gardner, born July 
3, 1849, li ves at Westport, Massachusetts. 

(XII) George Henry Hicks, son of 
John Russell Hicks, was born at Tiver- 
ton, December 12, 1836, died there Janu- 
ary 8, 1901. He was a farmer in Tiver- 
ton. In religion he was a Friend. In 
politics he was a Republican. He mar- 
ried, January 1, 1862, Alice A. Borden, 
born November 16, 1842 (see Borden 
VIII). Children: 1. Christopher B., 
born June 20, 1863, farmer in Fall River ; 
married Emily T. Luther and has two 
daughters, Lucy Davis and Lydia How- 
land. 2. Lester H., born June 10, 1869; 
married Alma Paquette, of Fall River; 
resides in Fall River; children: Milli- 
cent, Milton, Alma. 3. Edgar A., born 
January 2, 1871 ; married Henrietta R. 
O. Kendrick. 4. Alice Borden, born Sep- 
tember 21, 1879, lives with her mother. 
5. George Henry, mentioned below. 

(XII) John Russell (2) Hicks, son of 
John Russell (1) Hicks, was born in 
Tiverton, February 25, 1846, and died at 
Tiverton. He followed farming very 
successfully on the homestead. He was 
prominent in public affairs for many 
years. He was a member of the town 
committee and served the town in the 
town council, as assessor, justice of the 
peace, notary public and moderator. He 
represented the district in the Rhode 
Island General Assembly from 1885 to 
1887, 1888-89, and was State senator from 
May, 1896, to January, 1900. While in 
the house he was on the committee on 
accounts and claims, on the committee on 
special legislation, and while in the Sen- 
ate was chairman of the committees on 
education and on fisheries. He was 
elected alternate to the Republican Na- 
tional Convention at Minneapolis, Minne- 
sota, in 1892, when Harrison was nomi- 
nated for President. Mr. Hicks never 
married. 



(XIII) Dr. George Henry (2) Hicks, 
son of George Henry (1) Hicks, was born 
in Fall River, June 30, 1882. He at- 
tended the public schools of his native 
city, and graduated from the B. M. C. 
Durfee High School in the class of 1901. 
He began his medical studies in the Long 
Island College Hospital, from which he 
was graduated in 1905 with the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine. He was an interne 
for a year in the Fall River Hospital, 
serving part of the time as assistant 
house surgeon. For six months he was 
an interne in the Lying-in-Hospital at 
Sixteenth street and Second avenue, New 
York, and for another half-year in the 
Children's Hospital of New York City. 
Since 1907 he has been in general prac- 
tice in Fall River, having his office and 
residence at 1973 South Main street. In 
politics he is a Progressive Republican. 
He is a past master of Narragansett 
Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Fall River, and a member of Fall 
River Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; of 
Fall River Council, Royal and Select 
Masters ; of Godfrey de Bouillon Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar ; and of Azab 
Grotto, of Fall River. He is also a mem- 
ber of the Alumni Association of the 
Lying-in-Hospital, of the Fall River 
Medical Society, the Bristol County Med- 
ical Society, and the Massachusetts 
Medical Society. In Brayton Methodist 
Church, of which he has been a member 
for many years, he has been superin- 
tendent of the Sunday school and is one 
of the trustees. He has also served as 
district delegate from Fall River to the 
State Sunday School Convention. 

He married, May 10, 1913, in Everett, 
Massachusetts, Alice Hall Burton, who 
was born at Chelsea, Massachusetts, 
March 15, 1882, a daughter of Mark F. 
and Eliza Josephine (Durfee) Burton. 
She is descended from the Durfee family 
mentioned elsewhere in this work. Mark 



80 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



F. Burton married at Lynn, November 
27, 1872 ; their children : Harry Elton, 
born June 10, 1876, and Alice Hall, men- 
tioned above. 

Daniel Burton, grandfather of Mrs. 
Hicks, had by wife Sarah : Daniel Bur- 
ton, born June 22, 1818, died July 17, 
1872; Sarah Burton, born October 22, 
1826, died January 20, 1906; Mark F., 
born January 18, 1830, died at Montreal, 
Canada, February 8, 191 1, buried at 
Woodlawn (see above). 

Stephen Durfee, father of Eliza Joseph- 
ine Durfee, mentioned above, was born 
December 26, 1812, died January 16, 
1886; his wife Sarah was born March 18, 
1816, died September 20, 1906; their chil- 
dren: Orange N. Durfee, born May 14, 
1838; Andrew B. Durfee, born May 1, 
1840, soldier in the Civil War, captured 
by Confederates at Sulphur Springs, died 
in Andersonville prison ; Sarah Maria 
Durfee, born February 12, 1846; Eliza 
Josephine Durfee, born December 21, 
1849, married Mark F. Burton, men- 
tioned above ; Mary Elizabeth Durfee, 
born July 4, 1853. 

Benjamin Durfee, father of Stephen 
Durfee, had by wife Phebe (Borden) 
Durfee, the following children (family 
records) : Stephen Durfee, born Decem- 
ber 26, 1812; Eliza Ann Durfee, January 
27, 1815; William, B. Durfee, January 29, 
1817; Alanson Durfee, February 6, 1819; 
Jonathan B. Durfee, May 25, 1821 (see 
Borden and sketch of Hon. James H. 
Kay) ; Richard Durfee, October 12, 1823; 
Benjamin Durfee, August 20, 1828; 
Adrienne Durfee, June 19, 1829, mother 
of Eric W. Borden ; Isaac B. Durfee, July 
16, 1832, died April 28, 1848; Ephraim 
Wanton Durfee, October 3, 1835, died 
April 5, 1861. 

(The Borden Line). 

(I) Richard Borden, of County Kent, 
England, came to Boston in the ship, 
N E-7-6 81 



"Elizabeth and Ann," in 1635, accom- 
panied by his wife, Joan, and two chil- 
dren ; in 1638 he settled at Portsmouth, 
Rhode Island. He held town offices, and 
was a Quaker in religion. His wife died 
July 18, 1688; he died June 25, 1671. 
Children : Thomas, Francis Matthew, 
John, mentioned below ; Joseph, Sarah, 
Samuel, Benjamin, Amy. 

(II) John Borden, son of Richard 
Borden, was born in Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island, September, 1648, and died June 4, 
1716. He owned large tracts of land in 
New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Delaware 
as well as in Rhode Island. He was 
often deputy to the General Court. He 
married, December 25, 1670, Mary Earl. 

(III) Richard (2) Borden, son of John 
Borden, was born October 25, 1671, and 
died aged sixty years. He bought two 
hundred acres in what is now Fall River, 
and became one of the wealthiest men in 
that section. He married, in 1692, Inno- 
cent Wardell. 

(IV) Thomas Borden, son of Richard 
(2) Borden, was born December 8, 1697, 
and died at Tiverton, in April, 1740. He 
married, August 14, 1721, Mary Gifford, 
born October 6, 1695, daughter of Chris- 
topher and Meribah Gifford. Children: 
Richard, born in 1722; Christopher, men- 
tioned below; Deborah, Mary and Re- 
becca. 

(V) Christopher Borden, son of 
Thomas Borden, was born in Tiverton, 
October 10, 1726. He married, December 
24, 1748, Hannah Borden, daughter of 
Stephen Borden, who was also a descend- 
ant of Richard Borden (1). Children, 
born at Tiverton: Jonathan, mentioned 
below; Abraham, born May 1, 1770. 

(VI) Jonathan Borden, son of Chris- 
topher Borden, was born May 3, 1761, at 
Tiverton. He married, February 21, 
1790, Elizabeth Bowen, who was born 
September 27, 1763, died July 2, 1840. 
Children, born at Tiverton: Hannah, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born September i, 1790; Abraham, men- 
tioned below; Phebe, September, 1794, 
died September 3, 1862, married Benja- 
min Durfee (see Hicks and Durfee fami- 
lies) ; Thomas, September 19, 1796; 
Rhoda, March 21, 1798; Isaac, January 
8, 1800, married Abby, daughter of Wil- 
liam Borden ; Elizabeth, November 8, 
1803, married Thomas Tasker. 

(VII) Abraham Borden, son of Jona- 
than Borden, was born at Tiverton, July 
20, 1792, and died at Westport, October 

28, 1864. He lived in Fall River. He 
married, January 17, 1815, Phebe Barker. 
Children, born in Fall River: Chris- 
topher, mentioned below ; Rhoda, born 
October 12, 1820, married, December 25, 
1839, Abiel Davis ; Marion B., December 
4, 1826, married Weston Jenney, Novem- 
ber 28, 1861, at New Bedford. 

(VIII) Christopher (2) Borden, son 
of Abraham Borden, was born October 

29, 1815, at Fall River. He married there, 
February 1 1, 1840, Lucy H. Davis, born 
February n, 1818. Children, born at 
Fall River: I. Jonathan, born May 15, 
1841, died May 16, 1916, at Westport; 
married Mary M. Estes ; his daughter, 
Mary Robertson, married James H. Kay, 
mayor of Fall River (see Kay). 2. Alice 
A., born November 16, 1842; married, 
January 1, 1862, George Henry Hicks, Sr. 
(see Hicks). 3. Mary E., born December 
7, 1844; married Isaac W. Howland, of 
Little Compton, Rhode Island. 4. Oth- 
niel, born August 24, 1846. 5. Edwin, 
born June 26, 1850, married Marietta 
Young, of Westport, Massachusetts. 6. 
Phebe Sarah, born April 14, 1858, married 
Arthur Cornell, of Fall River, Massa- 
chusetts. 



PERKINS 

And Allied Families. 

Abraham Perkins appears in 1638 as 
one of the first settlers of Hampton, then 



in Massachusetts, now New Hampshire, 
in which town he was made a freeman, 
May 13, 1640. He was a man of good 
education, an excellent penman, and was 
much employed in town business. An old 
family Bible still preserved among his 
descendants gives the births of eleven of 
his thirteen children. He died August 31, 
1683, aged about seventy-two. His 
widow Mary died May 29, 1706, aged 
eighty-eight. Children: Mary, born 
September 2, 1639; Abraham, September 
2, 1639; Luke, mentioned below; Hum- 
phrey, January 22, 1642, died young; 
James, April 11, 1644, died young; Timo- 
thy, October 5, 1646; James, October 5, 
1647; Jonathan, May 30, 1650; David, 
February 28, 1653 ; Abigail, April 2, 1655 ; 
Timothy, June 26, 1657; Sarah, July 26, 
1659; Humphrey, May 17, 1661. 

(II) Luke Perkins, second son of Abra- 
ham and Mary Perkins, was born 1641, 
and died March 20, 1710. As a boy of 
about fourteen, in 1654, he apprenticed 
himself with the consent of his parents 
to Samuel Carter, a shoemaker of 
Charlestown, Massachusetts. He mar- 
ried, March 9, 1663, Hannah, widow of 
Henry Cookery, and daughter of Robert 
Long, Sr. She was admitted to the First 
Church in 1668, and died November 16, 
1715. Children: John, born May 10, 
1664; Luke, March 14, 1665, died young; 
Luke, mentioned below; Henry; Eliza- 
beth, April 15, 1670; John, April 15, 1670; 
Abraham, baptized 28th of 5th month, 
1672; Hannah, born December 9, 1673; 
Mary, April 5, 1676. 

(III) Luke (2) Perkins, son of Luke 
(1) and Hannah (Long-Cookery) Per- 
kins, was born March 18, 1667, and died 
in Plympton, December 27, 1748, nearly 
eighty-two years of age. He lived in 
Marblehead, Beverly, Wenham, Ipswich 
and Plympton, and about 1714 the family 
moved from Ipswich to Plympton, Mas- 
sachusetts. Mr. Perkins was a black- 



82 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



smith, the first of that trade to settle in 
Plympton, and it is said that a lot of 
eighteen acres of land was deeded him at 
Rocky Run in Plympton, as an induce- 
ment to settle there as a blacksmith. It 
is worthy of note that many of his de- 
scendants have been iron workers of one 
kind or another down to the present time. 
He received from his uncle, David Per- 
kins, of Bridgewater, the latter's land in 
Abington, one-third of the Solomon Leon- 
ard purchase and two-thirds of the John 
Robbins purchase. Mr. Perkins married, 
May 31, 1688, Martha, born August 16, 
1664, daughter of Lot and Elizabeth 
(Walton) Conant, died January 2, 1754, 
in her ninetieth year. Children : John, 
born April 5, 1689, at Marblehead ; 
Martha, September 19, 1691 ; Hannah, 
March 12, 1693; Luke, September 17, 
1695 ; Mark, baptized April 30, 1699, in 
Beverly, Massachusetts ; Josiah, men- 
tioned below. 

(IV) Deacon Josiah Perkins, son of 
Luke (2) and Martha (Conant) Perkins, 
born in 1700, died October 15, 1789, was 
town clerk for forty years. He married 
(first) Deborah, daughter of Nehemiah 
Bennett, of Middleboro, Massachusetts. 
He married (second) Rebecca Parker. 
Children, all of first marriage: Nathan, 
born 1723; William, 1724; John, 1726; 
Martha, 1727; Joshua, 1729; Abner, 1731, 
died young; Josiah, 1732; Luke, 1733; 
Abner, 1735; Deborah, 1737; Hannah, 
1740; Zephaniah, 1742; Isaac, mentioned 
below. 

(V) Isaac Perkins, youngest child of 
Deacon Josiah and Deborah (Bennett) 
Perkins, was born 1744, in Middleboro, 
Massachusetts, and was a soldier of the 
Revolution from that town. He was a 
sergeant in Captain Amos Wade's (Third 
Middleboro) Company, of minute-men, 
which marched on the Lexington Alarm, 
and served three days. He also served 



under the same captain in Colonel Cot- 
ton's regiment, return dated October 7, 
1775. He was a sergeant in Captain 
Joshua White's company, Colonel Ebe- 
nezer Sprout's regiment, which marched 
May 8, 1776, and was out twelve days at 
Howland Ferry, on an alarm. Under the 
same commanders he served from May 
6 to May 9 and from September 6 to Sep- 
tember 12, nine days, in 1778, at Dart- 
mouth. Under the same commanders he 
marched August 1 and was discharged 
August 9, 1780, nine days at Tiverton. 
He married Molly Shurtleff, born 1747, 
daughter of Barnabas and Jemima 
(Adams) Shurtleff, of Middleboro (see 
Shurtleff IV). Children: Barnabas, born 
January 20, 1772; Temperance, July 13, 
1773; Molly, March 17, 1775; Isaac, No- 
vember 2."], 1776; Lothrop, March 17, 
1779; Josiah, mentioned below; John, 
November 17, 1783 ; Jemima, March 13, 
1787. 

(VI) Josiah (2) Perkins, fourth son 
of Isaac and Molly (Shurtleff) Perkins, 
was born April 15, 1781, in Middleboro, 
Massachusetts, and lived in that town. 
He married, February 4, 1808, Asenath 
Clark, of Rochester, born June 5, 1783, 
daughter of Nathaniel and Bethiah (Cros- 
by) Clark, of Middleboro (see Clark VI). 
Children : Bethiah Crosby, born Decem- 
ber 4, 1808; Eldridge Gerry, December 
21, 1810; Molly Shurtleff, August 15, 
1813; Nathaniel Clark, November 12, 
1815; Isaac, September 4, 1817; Thomas 
Peleg Whitridge, mentioned below; Jo- 
siah, September 15, 1823; Asenath Sarah, 
December 4, 1826. 

(VII) Thomas Peleg Whitridge Per- 
kins, fourth son of Josiah (2) and Asenath 
(Clark) Perkins, was born December 11, 
1820, in Middleboro, Massachusetts, 
where he grew to manhood, and learned 
the trade of blacksmith. Soon after at- 
taining his majority he located in Wor- 



83 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cester, Massachusetts, where he con- 
tinued at his trade until 1869, when he 
went to Fairhaven, Massachusetts, and 
there continued to make his home, spend- 
ing his summers at Rock, in the town of 
Middleboro. He died March 27, 1903, and 
was buried in the cemetery at North 
Rochester, Massachusetts. He married 
(first) (intentions published May 20, 1843, 
in Rochester) Laura A. Bennett, born 
October 19, 1822, daughter of John and 
Sarah Bennett, died April 5, 1848, at 
Wareham, Massachusetts, leaving no 
issue. He married (second) December 
18, 185 1, Betsey W. Canedy, born 1828, 
in Lakeville, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Zebulon Leonard and Olive (Bisbee) 
Canedy, of Middleboro (see Canedy VI). 
She died October 4, 1912. Children: 
Oscar T., married Annie Lane Pratt, and 
resides in Fairhaven; Olive Bessie, men- 
tioned below. 

(VIII) Olive Bessie Perkins, only 
daughter of Thomas Peleg Whitridge 
and Betsey W. (Canedy) Perkins, born 
October 21, 1855, in Rochester, Massa- 
chusetts, became the wife of Henry A. 
Sherman, a well-known ironworker of 
New Bedford, in which city they reside. 
Mr. Sherman is a son of the late Captain 
Charles and Lucy (Coleman) Sherman, 
and grandson of James and Abigail 
(Parker) Sherman. James Sherman died 
December 12, 1850, in New Bedford, at 
the age of eighty-nine years and six 
months. His wife died at Fairhaven, 
February 5, 1836, aged seventy-five years. 
Mrs. Sherman is active in the social life 
of New Bedford, and is the organizer and 
first regent of Fort Phoenix Chapter, 
Daughters of the American Revolution. 
She has represented this chapter as a 
delegate to the national congress in 
Washington. She is also a member of 
the Founders and Patriots Society, of the 
Women's Club of New Bedford, and of 



the Young Women's Christian Associ- 
ation, in which she is especially active. 
She conducts a circulating library in New 
Bedford, and is much interested in liter- 
ary and historical pursuits. 

(The Shurtleff Line). 

This name is found in Plymouth, Mas- 
sachusetts, fourteen years after the land- 
ing of the Pilgrims, and is prominently 
identified with the management of affairs 
there for a long period. In the records of 
Plymouth the name has various spellings, 
such as Shirtleff, Shirtley, Shurtlif. It 
first appears in England as Chiercliffe, 
then Chyrecliffe, Shiercliffe, and finally 
Shirtleff. A grandson of the American 
progenitor adopted the present form, 
which is generally in use by the family. 

(I) William Shurtleff, in his youth, 
came to Plymouth before 1635, from 
Ecclesfield, a village of Yorkshire, about 
five miles from Scrooby, the early gather- 
ing place of the Pilgrims before they 
went to Holland. In this village, at a seat 
called Whitley Hall, resided the only 
family of the name that can be found be- 
fore its appearance in America. By occu- 
pation William Shurtleff was a carpenter, 
and he appears in the Plymouth records 
as "surveyor of highwaies" and constable. 
In 1643 ne was enrolled among those re- 
quired to give military service to the 
colony. He was killed by a stroke of 
lightning at Marshfield, June 23, 1666. 
He married, October 18, 1655, Elizabeth 
Lettice, born about 1636, in England, 
daughter of Thomas and Ann Lettice. 
She survived her husband over twenty- 
seven years, and died October 31, 1693, in 
Swansea, Massachusetts. They had three 
sons : William, Thomas and Abiel, the 
last born within a few days after the 
death of his father. 

(II) William (2) Shurtleff, son of 
William (1) and Elizabeth (Lettice) 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Shurtleff, was born 1657, in Plymouth, 
and was a prominent citizen of the town, 
where he died February 4, 1730. He was 
enrolled as a freeman, May 27, 1681, and 
was surveyor of highways in 1684. On 
August 30, 1686, he was chosen to serve 
at the court of assistants, and was con- 
stable in 1689. He was selectman in 
1692-93-94-95, 1698-99 and 1700-01 ; repre- 
sentative at the General Court in 1694; 
assessor in the same year, and town 
treasurer in 1695-96-97 and 1700. At 
various town meetings in 1695 he was 
appointed on important committees, 
among them one for making the province 
rate and one of six men to draw agree- 
ments "as may be of use to defend the 
Town Right on the North sid of the 
Towne." On December 1 of that year 
he was granted, with Ephraim Coole, "30 
foott of land square" by the waterside, on 
which to build a "wharfe." In March, 
1697, he was one of a committee to settle 
the ranges, and in September following 
he was chosen as one of a committee "to 
treat with Middlebery agents Respecting 
the Rainge between the towne" and cer- 
tain purchasers of land. In 1698 he was 
on a committee to call a minister, and in 
1699 to care for and defend the commons. 
In 1700 he was made a surveyor of 
bounds, and from that time on the land 
records bear his name on every page, in 
establishing the location of real estate. 
In 1701 he was called "leftenant," and in 
October of that year received a grant of 
"Meadow or Meadoish Ground." The 
Shurtleff House, built by him in Ply- 
mouth before 1698 at the corner of Ley- 
den and Market streets, was removed in 
1883 to the lot adjoining the Drew Block 
on Market street. His headstone in the 
first burying ground of the Pilgrims on 
Cole's Hill bears this inscription : "Here 
lyes ye body of Captn William Shurtleff 
who Deed Febry the 4th, 1729-30 in the 



72d year of his age." His wife, Susanna, 
was a daughter of Barnabas Lothrop, son 
of Rev. John Lothrop, of Barnstable, and 
Susanna (Clark) Lothrop, granddaughter 
of Thomas Clark, of Plymouth (see Loth- 
rop, III). She was born February 28, 
1664, in Barnstable, and died August 9, 
1726, in Plympton. Children : Jabez, 
Thomas, William, John, Susannah, Bar- 
nabas, Ichabod, Elizabeth, Mary, Sarah, 
Samuel, Abigail, born in Plymouth ; and 
Nathaniel, born 1707 in Plympton. 

(III) Barnabas Shurtleff, fifth son of 
William (2) and Susanna (Lothrop) 
Shurtleff, married Jemima Adams. 

(IV) Molly Shurtleff, daughter of 
Barnabas and Jemima (Adams) Shurt- 
leff, became the wife of Isaac Perkins, of 
Middleboro (see Perkins, V). 

(The Clark Line). 

(I) William Clark kept an ordinary in 
Salem, Massachusetts, whither he came 
about 1634 from England. He was dead 
in 1647, when his wife Catherine renewed 
the license to conduct the tavern. His 
inventory made in July, 1647, amounted 
to £587, 3s. and 2d. He had a son and 
daughter by a first wife, whose name is 
unknown, and four children by the 
second. 

(II) William (2) Clark, probably a son 
of William Clark, above named, is de- 
scribed as a vintner in Salem in 1660. 
There is no record of his wife. There is 
little doubt that he was the father of the 
next mentioned. 

(III) John Clark, born about 1658-60, 
settled in Beverly, Massachusetts. He 
married Sarah, daughter of John and 
Elizabeth Smith, of Salem, born October 
20, 1660, settled in Rochester, Massachu- 
setts, about 1705. There his will was 
made March 7, 1727. Children: Sarah, 
born August 21, 1683, in Beverly; John, 
October 7, 1687; Joseph, mentioned be- 



85 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



low; Catherine, baptized July 3, 1690, in 
Beverly ; Mary, July 2, 1693 ; Cornelius, 
August 28, 1698; Elizabeth, November I, 
1702. 

(IV) Joseph Clark, according to the 
will of his father the second son of John 
and Sarah (Smith) Clark, born about 
1688-89, nve d in Rochester, Massachu- 
setts. He married, December 29, 1720, 
Thankful, daughter of Andrew Stevens. 
Children : Isaac, born September 6, 1721 ; 
Katherine, October 17, 1723; Joseph, No- 
vember 30, 1724; Thankful, August, 1727; 
Nathaniel, mentioned below ; Willard, 
March 21, 1732; Sarah; Elizabeth, bap- 
tized September 12, 1736; Robert, June 8. 

J 739- 

(V) Nathaniel Clark, third son of Jo- 
seph and Thankful (Stevens) Clark, was 
born February 17, 1730, in Rochester, in 
which town he lived. He was a private 
in Captain Jabez Cottle's company, Colo- 
nel Ebenezer Sprout's regiment. May 6 
and 7, 1778, two days, on a Dartmouth 
alarm. His name appears in a list of 
men in charge of James Hatch, muster- 
master, to serve to January 1, 1779. He 
fulfilled this service six months, from 
July 1, 1778, to January 1, 1779, as a 
private in Sergeant Elisha Ruggles' de- 
tachment, stationed at Rochester and 
Wareham, Massachusetts. He served 
with Captain Edward Hammond -from 
August 13 to September 13, 1779, de- 
tached to serve one month in Rhode 
Island in command of Samuel Fisher. He 
was also in Captain Barnabas Doty's 
company, Fourth Plymouth County Regi- 
ment, commanded by Lieutenant-Colonel 
White, from July 30 to August 8, 1780, 
nine days' service on a Rhode Island 
alarm. He married (intentions published 
in Rochester, March 12, 1758) Bethiah 
Crosby, of Yarmouth, Massachusetts, 
born July 26, 1738, daughter of Theo- 
philus and Thankful ( Winslow) Crosby, 



of that town (see Crosby, X). Children: 
Mary, born July 2, 1759; Sarah, March 
21, 1762; Nathaniel, May 19, 1764; Theo- 
philus, June 18, 1766; Bethiah, September 
5, 1768; Sarah, January 27, 1770; Kather- 
ine, October 28, 1774; Joseph, February 
2 7» l 777\ Thomas, March 10, 1780; 
Asenath, mentioned below. 

(VI) Asenath Clark, youngest child of 
Nathaniel and Bethiah (Crosby) Clark, 
was born June 5, 1783, in Rochester, and 
was married, February 4, 1808, to Josiah 
(2) Perkins, of Middleboro, Massachu- 
setts (see Perkins, VI). 

(The Canedy Line). 

(I) Alexander Canedy was perhaps a 
resident of Plymouth. Of the Canedy 
family and others of their time says 
Weston, in his "History of Middleboro:" 
"Among the prominent families (of Lake- 
ville) in the last century were: The 
Canedys, the Montgomerys, the Mc- 
Cullys, the Pickenses, the Strobridges, 
and the McCumbers. There is a tradi- 
tion, which has always been regarded as 
true, that these families were of Scotch- 
Irish descent, and that, as Protestants in 
the North of Ireland, they joined with 
William in the heroic resistance at the 
siege of Londonderry and the battle of 
the Boyne in 1690. For their services 
they were rewarded by the British Crown 
with various tracts of land in the New 
England Colonies, and nearly a gener- 
ation after those residing in and about 
Londonderry determined to leave the 
land for which they had fought and seek 
a home where they would be free from 
the persecutions to which they had been 
so long subjected. These families were 
probably among those who, in 1718, 
dispatched Rev. William Boyde with an 
address to Governor Shute, of Massachu- 
setts, signed by two hundred and seven- 
teen of their number. Such was their in- 



86 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



telligence that of these all but seven 
wrote their names very plainly and ap- 
plied to be allowed to emigrate to Massa- 
chusetts ; the governor's reply was such 
that they concluded to embark for Bos- 
ton. It is said that some of these emi 
grants, after wandering about seeking in 
vain for a suitable home, finally came and 
settled in Lakeville, taking tracts of land, 
portions of which are still held by their 
descendants. They brought with tin . 
their sterling integrity and love for the 
English Crown and for the Protestant 
faith." The children of Alexander Canedy 
and Elizabeth, his wife, were : Hannah, 
born in 1678, married, in 1697, Eleazer 
Pratt; Elizabeth, 1682; Jean, 1685; Wil- 
liam, mentioned below ; Sarah, 1693 ; 
Annable, 1698, married Thomas Paine, of 
Freetown; John, 1703. 

(II) Captain William Canedy, son of 
Alexander and Elizabeth Canedy, was 
born in 1689, and died June 23, 1774, in 
the eighty-sixth year of his age. He 
acquired land first in Middleboro, Decem- 
ber 2, 1717, from Nathan Rowland. He 
was commissioned ensign of forces to 
fight the French and Indians, and in 1723 
in that service as a lieutenant he was in- 
trusted with the command of a fort that, 
on December 25, 1723, was furiously at- 
tacked by the Indians, the siege lasting 
thirty days, when reinforcements arrived 
in sufficient numbers to raise the siege 
and relieve the garrison. The conduct of 
Lieutenant Canedy on that occasion was 
deemed so meritorious that as a conse- 
quence he was promoted to captain in the 
service, and several years afterward he 
was commissioned captain of one of the 
companies in the local militia of Taunton. 
He was commissioned a justice of the 
peace for the county of Bristol and prob- 
ably continued in that relation through 
the remainder of his life. His former 
residence in the eastern part of Taunton, 



near the Berkley line, stood until a gener- 
ation ago. He married Elizabeth Eaton, 
born July 26, 1701, daughter of Samuel 
Eaton. 

(III) Captain William (2) Canedy, son 
of W T illiam (1) and Elizabeth (Eaton) 
Canedy, was born about 1729, in Middle- 
boro, and was an influential man in that 
part of the town now Lakeville. He had 
served with distinction in the French and 
Indian War, and, having held a commis- 
sion as captain under the Imperial gov- 
ernment, declared that he could not be a 
traitor in his old age. He died March 26, 
1804, as the result of an accident; as he 
was returning home one evening on 
horseback, in a blinding snow-storm, the 
horse he was riding went under a shed 
and threw the rider to the ground, where- 
by he sustained injuries that proved fatal. 
He married, December 6, 1753, Charity 
Leonard, born February 27, 1732, died 
October 13, 1805, daughter of Hon. Elk- 
anah Leonard, a distinguished lawyer, 
granddaughter of Ensign Elkanah Leon- 
ard, and great-granddaughter of Major 
Thomas Leonard. 

(IV) William (3) Canedy, son of Cap- 
tain William (2) and Charity (Leonard) 
Canedy, was born December 15, 1757. He 
was a soldier in the Colonial forces dur- 
ing the Revolution, and served as a 
private in Captain Job Pearce's (Middle- 
boro) company, Colonel Ebenezer Sprout, 
which marched December 9. 1776, to 
Tiverton on an alarm at Howland's 
Ferry, serving five days. He married 
Mary Gooch Brown, born October 29, 
1764, daughter of Josiah and Mary 
(Gooch) Brown. Josiah Brown was a 
Revolutionary soldier, serving as a 
private in Captain Nathaniel Healy's 
company, Colonel Jonathan Holmes' 
regiment, which marched on a Rhode 
Island alarm in December, 1776. He was 
subsequently stationed in camp at Provi- 



87 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



dence, twenty-one days, from January 21, 
1777. Among their children was a son, 
Zebulon Leonard. 

(V) Zebulon Leonard Canedy, son of 
William (3) and Mary Gooch (Brown) 
Canedy, was born August 11, 1793, and 
married Olive Bisbee, of Middleboro (see 
Bisbee, VII). Children: William ; Elk- 
anah W., married Nancy Shaw, of 
Middleboro ; Salmon Snow ; Betsey W., 
mentioned below ; Mary B., married Wil- 
liam T. Jenny, of Middleboro. 

(VI) Betsey W. Canedy, daughter of 
Zebulon Leonard and Olive (Bisbee) 
Canedy, became the wife of Thomas 
Peleg Whitridge Perkins, of Rochester 
(see Perkins, VII). 

(The Lothrop Line). 

The Lothrop family is among the old- 
est of the Colonial families who settled in 
New England. Members of this family 
Juffered persecution and arrest for ex- 
pressing and living according to their 
honest religious convictions and secured 
immunity from further molestation on 
their promise to leave the country. Rev. 
John Lothrop, the American ancestor of 
this family, was one of those who suffered 
in the above mentioned manner, and his 
first wife died while he was in prison. He 
was a minister in Egerton, Kent, Eng- 
land, and removed to London in 16; 
where he became pastor of a Congrega- 
tional church. He and forty-three mem- 
bers of his church were imprisoned by 
order of the archbishop, April 29, 1632, 
because they practiced the teachings of 
the New Testament. Upon promise to 
leave the country they were released, and 
Rev. John Lothrop came to New England 
with his family in 1634, and shortly after- 
ward organized a church at Scituate, 
Massachusetts. He was admitted free- 
man of Plymouth Colony, 1636-37, and 
two years later removed with the larger 



part of the membership of his church to 
Barnstable. In Pope's "Pioneers of Mas- 
sachusetts," we find : "He married a sec- 
ond wife whose name is not on our 
records, who came here with him, joined 
the church, June 14, 1635, and survived 
him." He was a man of great piety and 
energy, and did much to further the 
secular as well as the spiritual welfare of 
the colony. 

(II) Barnabas Lothrop, son of Rev. 
John Lothrop, baptized June 3, 1636, in 
Scituate, married, December 1, 1658, Sus- 
anna Clark, born 1642, daughter of 
Thomas (2) and Susanna (Ring) Clark, 
and granddaughter of Thomas Clark, 
mate of the "Mayflower." She died Sep- 
tember 28, 1697. Thomas (2) Clark was 
a carpenter, and came in the ship "Ann" 
to Plymouth in 1623. He married, before 
1631, Susanna Ring, daughter of Andrew 
and Mary Ring, of Plymouth. Susanna, 
daughter of Thomas (2) and Susanna 
(Ring) Clark, became the wife of Barna- 
bas Lathrop, as above noted. 

(III) Susanna Lothrop, daughter of 
Barnabas and Susanna (Clark) Lothrop, 
married William (2) Shurtleff, of Ply- 
mouth (see Shurtleff, II). 

(The Crosby Line). 

(I) John Crosby, born about 1440, died 
in 1502, in Stillingfleet, England, where 
he was a substantial citizen, living in the 
reign of Henry VI., Edward IV., Edward 
V., Richard III. and Henry VII. The 
name of his wife is unknown. He had 
seven children. 

(II) Miles Crosby, youngest child of 
John Crosby, born about 1483, was ex- 
ecutor of his father's will in 1502. In 1538 
he lived in Shipton Parish, north of 
Holme-on-Spalding-Moor. He had sons, 
Thomas and William. 

(III) Thomas Crosby, son of Miles 
Crosby, born about 1510, died in 1558-59. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was an archer on the muster roll of 1538. 
He married, about 1542, Janet, widow of 
John Bell, who died in 1568-69. They 
had four sons. 

(IV) Anthony Crosby, second son of 
Thomas and Janet Crosby, was born 
about 1545, and removed with his mother, 
after the death of his father, to Bubwith 
Parish, where, in 1592, he purchased one 
hundred acres of land at Holme-on-Spald- 
ing-Moor, in Yorkshire. Subsequently he 
purchased a close in Wheldrake, where 
he died in 1599. His wife, Alice, was 
probably a Blanchard, as she appears 
among other relatives to whom John 
Blanchard bequeathed property. 

(V) Thomas (2) Crosby, son of An- 
thony and Alice Crosby, born about 1575, 
in Bubwith, County York, came to New 
England in 1641, following sons who had 
preceded him, and died at Rowley, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he was buried May 6, 
1661. He married, in Holme-on-Spalding- 
Moor, October 19, 1600, Jane Sotheron, 
baptized there March 4, 1582, daughter 
of William and Constance (Lambert) 
Sotheron. She was buried in Rowley, 
May 2, 1662. Children : Anthony, born 
about 1602; Thomas, 1604; William, 
1606; Simon, mentioned below. 

(VI) Simon Crosby, son of Thomas 
(2) and Jane (Sotheron) Crosby, was 
born 1608, in England, and embarked for 
New England in the ship, "Susan and 
Ellen," April 18, 1634, with his wife Ann, 
aged twenty-five years, and son Thomas, 
aged eight weeks. He was a prominent 
citizen of Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
where he was selectman in 1636 and 1638, 
resided at what is now Brattle Square, 
near the site of the old Brattle House. 
He died in September, 1639. His widow 
Ann married (second) Rev. William 
Thompson, of Braintree, before 1648, sur- 
viving her second husband, who died De- 
cember 10, 1668. Children of Simon and 



Ann Crosby : Thomas, mentioned be- 
low; Simon, born August, 1637, in Cam- 
bridge ; Joseph, February, 1639, settled 
in Braintree, Massachusetts, married 
Sarah Brackett. 

(VII) Thomas (3) Crosby, eldest child 
of Simon and Ann Crosby, was baptized 
February 26, 1635, at Holme-on-Spalding- 
Moor, and graduated at Harvard College 
in 1653. From 1655 to 1670 he was min- 
ister at Eastham, Massachusetts, at an 
annual salary of fifty pounds. Though 
never formally ordained, he was very 
acceptable as a pastor to his people. Sub- 
sequently he was a merchant in Harwich, 
Massachusetts, and died in Boston, June 
12, 1702, while on a visit there. The in- 
ventory of his estate amounted to £1091 
and 6s. At one time he lived in Yar- 
mouth, Massachusetts. His widow Sarah 
survived him and married (second) April 
8, 1703, John Miller, of Yarmouth. Chil- 
dren: Thomas, born April 7, 1663; 
Simon, July 5, 1665 ; Sarah, March 24, 
1667 ; Joseph, mentioned below ; John, 
December, 1670; a twin of John, died at 
birth; William, March; 1673; Ebenezer, 
March 28, 1675 ; Increase, Ann and Mary 
(triplets), April 14 and 15, 1678; Eleazer, 
March 30, 1680. 

(VIII) Joseph Crosby, third son of 
Thomas (3) and Sarah Crosby, was born 
January 27, 1669, in Yarmouth. Massa- 
chusetts, and died May 30, 1725, in that 
town. He married there, February 11. 
1693, Mehitable Miller, who died Febru- 
ary 17, 1734. Children: Theophilus, 
mentioned below ; Joseph, born June 20, 
1695; Mehitable, March 20, 1697; Ann, 
June 6, 1699; Sarah and Margaret (twins) 
February 4, 1702; Lydia, July 14, 1704; 
Josiah, July 15, 1706; William, March 12, 
1710; Hannah, March 13, 1712; Barnabas, 
May 9, 1715. 

(IX) Theophilus Crosby, eldest child 
of Joseph and Mehitable (Miller) Crosby, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was born December 31, 1693, in Yar- 
mouth, where he lived, and married, Feb- 
ruary 14, 1723, Thankful Winslow, born 
about 1697, in Harwich, daughter of 
Kenelm (4) and Bethiah (Hall) Win- 
slow. The early history of the Winslow 
family is elsewhere given in this work, 
including six English generations. The 
American immigrant in this line, Kenelm 
(2) Winslow, son of Edward Winslow, 
was born April 29, 1599, at Droitwich, 
County Worcester, England, and was a 
brother of Governor Edward Winslow, of 
the Plymouth Colony. Kenelm (3) Win- 
slow was born about 1636, at Plymouth, 
and died November 11, 1715, at Harwich, 
Massachusetts. He lived in Yarmouth, 
and afterward in that part of Harwich 
which is now Brewster, Massachusetts, 
his homestead on the west border at a 
place now called West Brewster. In the 
records he is called colonel, planter or 
yeoman. He bought large tracts of wild 
land in what is now Rochester, Massa- 
chusetts, on which several of his children 
settled, and the water privilege which it 
included is still in possession of the fam- 
ily. On three occasions he rode sixty 
miles to Scituate to have a child baptized 
in the Second Church there, and was on 
a committee to seat the meetinghouse in 
Harwich, October 4, 1714. His first wife, 
Mercy (Worden) Winslow, daughter of 
Peter, Jr. and Mercy Worden, was born 
about 1641, and died September 22, 1688. 
She was buried in the Winslow grave- 
yard at Dennis. Her headstone is of hard 
slate, brought from England, and the 
oldest in the yard. The history of Kenelm 
(2) Winslow, son of Edward Winslow, 
is given at length elsewhere in this work. 
Kenelm (4), son of Kenelm (3) and 
Mercy (Worden) Winslow, was baptized 
August 9, 1668, in Scituate. His wife, 
Bethiah (Hall) Winslow, was a daughter 
of Rev. Gershom and Bethiah (Bangs) 



Hall, of Yarmouth, granddaughter of 
Edward Bangs, who came to Plymouth in 
1623 in the ship "Ann." The history of 
Gershom Hall and his father, John Hall, 
is given elsewhere in this work. Chil- 
dren of Theophilus Crosby : Josiah, born 
September 22, 1724; Edmund, September 
24, 1726; Thankful, May 22, 1729; Theo- 
philus, January 31, 1733; Ann, October 
4, 1735 ; Bethiah, mentioned below ; Mary, 
August 2, 1742. 

(X) Bethiah Crosby, third daughter of 
Theophilus and Thankful (Winslow) 
Crosby, was born July 26, 1738, in Yar- 
mouth, and became the wife of Nathaniel 
Clark, of Rochester, Massachusetts (see 
Clark, V). 

(The Bisbee Line). 

This surname is spelled in the records 
Besbedge, Besbidge, Besbeech, Besbitch, 
Besberch, Bisbe, Bisbey, Bisby, but at the 
present time, Bisbee is the standard form. 

(I) Deacon Thomas Bisbee, or Bes- 
bidge, was born in England. He was a 
man of wealth and position in Sandwich, 
England ; settled in Scituate, Massachu- 
setts, in 1635. He became prominent also 
at Plymouth. In the spring of 1634 he 
came in the ship "Hercules," John With- 
erly, master, sailing from Sandwich, with 
his wife, six children and three servants. 
He had certificates from Rev. Thomas 
Warren, rector of St. Peter's, Sandwich, 
and Rev. Thomas Harmon, vicar of Hed- 
corn, of conversion and conformity to 
orders and discipline of the church and 
had taken oaths of allegiance and suprem- 
acy. He became a member of Rev. Mr. 
Lothrop's church, first at Scituate, and 
was one of the first deacons. In 1638 he 
bought a house of William Palmer in 
Duxbury, and moved thither in 1643 I was 
deputy to the General Court from Dux- 
bury ; grantee of Seipicon (Rochester), 
Massachusetts, but the grant was not 
accepted and Bisbee moved to Marsh- 



al 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



field. Afterward he was in Sudbury, 
where he settled in 1647, and died March 
9, 1674. He was admitted a freeman, Feb- 
ruary 7, 1637, lived for a time at Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts (1636), and sold 
land in Sudbury, October 13, 1664. His 
will was dated November 25, 1672, and 
proved April 7, 1674. Children: Elisha, 
mentioned below ; Alice, married John 
Bourne ; Mary, married William Browne ; 
three others came over with him, accord- 
ing to the ship's records. 

(II) Elisha Bisbee, son of Deacon 
Thomas Bisbee, was born probably on the 
estates at Hedcorn, England, and came 
with his father to America in 1634. In 
1644 he was keeper of the ferry at Scitu- 
ate, where Union Bridge was subse- 
quently built. He was a cooper by trade, 
and his house at the ferry was used by his 
son Elisha. A tavern stood on the west 
side of the highway. The Christian name 
of his wife was Joanna, and they had chil- 
dren : Hopestill, born 1645; J onn » men- 
tioned below; Mary, 1649; Elisha, 1654; 
Hannah, 1656. 

(III) John Bisbee, son of Elisha and 
Joanna Bisbee, was born 1647, in Scitu- 
ate, moved to Pembroke, Massachuset* 
where he died September 24, 1726. He 
married, in Marshfield, September 13, 
1687, Joanna Brooks, died August 17, 
1726. Children: Martha, born October 
13, 1688; John, September 15, 1690; 
Elijah, January 29, 1692; Mary, March 
28, 1693 ; Moses, October 20, 1695 ; 
Elisha, May 3, 1698; Aaron; Hopestill, 
mentioned below. 

(IV) Hopestill Bisbee, youngest child 
of John and Joanna (Brooks) Bisbee, 
was born April 16, 1702, and lived in 
Plympton, Massachusetts. He married, 
November 21, 1731, Hannah Churchill, 
born October 23, 1707, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Ruth (Bryant) Churchill, of 
Plympton (see Churchill, IV). Ruth 



(Bryant) Churchill, daughter of John 
and Sarah Bryant, was born 1685, in Ply- 
mouth. Children : Abner, born June 16, 
1739; Hopestill, mentioned below; Issa- 
char, April 3, 1744; Sarah, March 7, 1747; 
Hannah, February 20, 1752. 

(V) Hopestill (2) Bisbee, second son 
of Hopestill (1) and Hannah (Churchill) 
Bisbee, was born May 28, 1741, in Plymp- 
ton, where he made his home until 1769, 
when he removed to Rochester, Massa- 
chusetts. He was a private in Captain 
Jabez Cottle's company, Colonel Ebenezer 
Sprout's regiment, May 6 and 7, 1778, two 
days, on a Dartmouth alarm. He served 
in Captain Barnabas Doty's company, 
Colonel Sprout's regiment, September 5 
to September 9, 1778, four days, on an 
alarm at Dartmouth. He also served in 
Captain Doty's company, Lieutenant- 
Colonel White, July 31 to August 8, 1780, 
nine days, on an alarm at Rhode Island. 
He married, September 4, 1766, Abigail 
Churchill, born May 10, 1744, daughter of 
Nathaniel and Mary (Curtis) Churchill, 
of Plympton (see Churchill, V). Chil- 
dren: Abigail, born October 21, 1768; 
Hopestill, mentioned below ; Josiah, Sep- 
tember 27, 1 771 ; Ansel, February 10, 
1774; Levi, March 22, 1776; Sylvester, 
August 14, 1778; Susannah, January 25, 
1782; Hannah, November 27, 1786. 

(VI) Hopestill (3) Bisbee, eldest son 
of Hopestill (2) and Abigail (Churchill) 
Bisbee, was born October 11, 1769, in 
Plympton, and left that town before 1800. 
He married (intentions published in 
Rochester, April 10, 1796) Betsey Clark 
Purington. One child is recorded in 
Rochester : Betsey, born January 16, 1797. 

(VII) Olive, daughter of Hopestill (3) 
and Betsey Clark (Purington) Bisbee, 
was born November 11, 1799, and died 
March 3, 1886. She was married, Novem- 
ber 7, 1816, to Zebulon Leonard Canedy, 
of Middleboro (see Canedy, V). 



9i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(The Churchill Line). 

Elsewhere in this work is given an ex- 
tended account of John Churchill, the 
immigrant ancestor, who came to Ply- 
mouth, Massachusetts, before 1643, an ^ 
died there in 1662. Extended mention of 
his son William, and grandson William 
appears elsewhere. 

(IV) Hannah Churchill, daughter of 
William (2) and Ruth (Bryant) Church- 
ill, born October 23, 1707, became the 
wife of Hopestill (1) Bisbee, of Plymp- 
ton (see Bisbee, IV). 

(II) Eliezer Churchill, second son of 
John and Hannah (Palmer) Churchill, 
was born April 20, 1652, in Plymouth, and 
was admitted a freeman in 1683. He re- 
sided on part of his father's estate at 
"Hobshole," in the first house built there, 
which he inherited. He was granted 
thirty foot strip of land in 1709 for a ware- 
house. His first wife's name was Mary. 
He married (second) February 8, 1688, 
Mary Doty, daughter of Edward and 
Faith (Clark) Doty, born 1655, died De- 
cember 11, 1 71 5. Children of first mar- 
riage: Hannah, born August 23, 1676; 
Joanna, November 25, 1678; Abigail, 
1680 ; Eliezer, February 23, 1682 ; Stephen, 
mentioned below ; Jedidiah, February 27, 
1687. Children of second marriage : 
Mary, born 1688; Elkanah, March 1, 
1691 ; Nathan, February 16, 1693; Josiah, 
1694; John, September 12, 1698. 

(III) Stephen Churchill, second son of 
Eliezer and Mary Churchill, was born 
February 16, 1685, in Plymouth, and died 
in 1750. He married, in 1708, Experience, 
daughter of Mathias Ellis, of Sandwich, 
born 1687. Children: Ephraim, born 
October 15, 1709; Nathaniel, mentioned 
below; Mary, April 29, 1716; Stephen, Au- 
gust 24, 1717; Zachariah, October 30, 
1718; Benjamin, August 19, 1725. 

(IV) Nathaniel Churchill, second son 
of Stephen and Experience (Ellis) 



Churchill, was born December 19, 1712, 
in Plymouth, and married, January 2, 
1734, Mary Curtis, born 1714. The chil- 
dren of this marriage, found of record, 
are : Experience, born August 27, 1735 ; 
Eliezer, July 31, 1737; Mary, July 17, 
1740; Nathaniel, December 13, 1742. 

(V) Abigail Churchill, daughter of 
Nathaniel and Mary (Curtis) Churchill, 
was born May 10, 1744, and became the 
wife of Hopestill (2) Bisbee, of Plymp- 
ton and Rochester (see Bisbee, V). 



PERRY, Charles H., 

Veterinary Surgeon. 

There were several families of this 
name early in New England, and there 
seems to have been several in Sandwich, 
Massachustts, at the same time. In the 
early records of that town appears men- 
tion of a widow, Sarah Perry, supposed 
to have been the widow of Edmund 
Perry, of Devonshire, England, and four 
persons, supposed to be her children, 
namely: Ezra, Edward, Margaret and 
Deborah. 

(I) Ezra Perry, born about 1630, was 
an early settler at Sandwich, Massachu- 
setts, and "Freeman's History of Cape 
Cod" states that he was ancestor of all the 
Perrys of that town. His son Ezra's 
name appears on the list of freemen, June 
25, 1702, with his other sons, Edward, 
John and Samuel. The name of Ezra 
Perry, Sr., is on the list of those contribut- 
ing to support the minister, July 17, 1657. 
He married, February 12, 165 1, at Sand- 
wich, Elizabeth Burge. Children ; Ed- 
ward, owned a town right in Sandwich, 
1676, was a Quaker, and was fined with 
other Quakers ; Ezra, mentioned below : 
Deborah, born November 28, 1654; John, 
January 1, 1656; Samuel, March 15, i6f; 
Benjamin, January 15, 1670; Remem- 
brance, January 1, 1676. The will of Ezra 



92 




^^Z^^.^e^^y^^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Perry was dated October, 1689, proved 
April 18, 1690, bequeathing to wife Eliza- 
beth and son Ezra. 

(II) Ezra (2) Perry, son of Ezra (1) 
Perry, was born February 11, 1652, at 
Sandwich, and died there, January 31, 
1729. He owned land in Rochester, Mas- 
sachusetts, devised to son Ebenezer. He 

married Rebecca . Children, born 

at Sandwich : Ebenezer, born November 
18, 1673, married Judith Savory, and 
their son, Ebenezer, removed late in life 
to Hardwick, Massachusetts, and by his 
first wife was grandfather of Dr. Mar- 
shall S. Perry, of Barre (see Barre "Cen- 
tennial History") ; Mary, December 21, 
1675; Hannah; Ezra; Samuel; Rebecca, 
married Jonathan Washburn ; Patience ; 
Freelove. His will was dated October 21, 
1728, and proved February 10, 1729, be- 
queathing to wife Rebecca and children. 

(III) One of the sons of Ezra (2) 
Perry was father of Elijah, mentioned 
below. A search of the available public 
records has failed to find the birth record 
of Elijah. In a census of the families of 
Sandwich in March, 1730, the following 
are reported as heads of families : Ebe- 
nezer, Timothy and Desire, Wido^ 
Perry, Abner, Benjamin, Benjamin, Jr., 
Samuel, Samuel, Jr., Ezra, Jr., Elisha and 
John Perry, all descendants of Ezra (1) 
Perry. (See N. E. Register, 1859, p. 30). 

(IV) Elijah Perry, third in descent 
from Ezra (1) Perry, was born about 
1700, in Sandwich, and appears to have 
lived there all his life. We find the record 
of marriage of an Elijah Perry to Hannah 
Damon in the First Church at Scituate, 
March 7, 1723 (town records, 1722). 
Elijah Perry, of Sandwich, bought 
twenty-two acres of land in Barre, Massa- 
chusetts, of Lewis and Sarah Turner, of 
Boston, December 1, 1757. It was part 
of Great Farm No. 29 on the Hardwick 
line. He was called deacon in the deed. 



(Book 39, p. 463). He appears to have 
sent his son Phineas to clear the land and 
make a home there. Another deed dated 
July 1, 1773, over fifteen years later^ 
shows that Elijah Perry, then of Sand- 
wich, for one hundred pounds and other 
valuable considerations conveyed to "my 
son Phinehas Perry," of Rutland District 
(Barre) land and buildings, being the 
place he now lives on, bought of Lewis 
Turner and wife. He refers to deeds of 
part of this land to Chipman and Den- 
nison Robinson. Elijah Perry's wife did 
not sign the deed. 

(V) Phineas Perry, son of Elijah 
Perry, was the pioneer in Worcester 
county. He was born at Sandwich, about 
1735, and came when a young man to the 
place his father bought in Barre. Near 
by in Hardwick, as we have shown above, 
relatives settled and others of the family 
appear to have been in Barre for a time. 
One branch has been mentioned. A 
sketch of the Perry family in the Barre 
"Centennial History" is very obscure and 
misleading. It states that one branch 
under consideration came from Martha's 
Vineyard, but the absence of the name in 
the vital record shows that the family was 
not there long and probably not at all. 
All of them were from Sandwich. 
Phineas Perry, yeoman, bought of James 
Black, of Mansfield, Hampshire county, 
Massachusetts (so described in the deed) 
land in Rutland District adjoining John 
Wallace's place. This deed was dated 
March 12, 1773. In the same year he 
received from his father, as already 
stated, a deed of another farm there on 
which he was living. (Book 70, p. 29 ; 
Book 71, p. 127). These deeds unlocked 
a genealogical puzzle of some difficulty. 
Phineas Perry married at Barre, May 15, 
1760, Esther Gates. Children, born at 
Barre : Justus, born July 30, 1761 ; Daniel, 
March 17, 1763; Thomas, October 2,. 



93 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1764; Hannah, March 25, 1766; William, 
February 12, 1768; Luther, mentioned be- 
low ; Lucretia and Luke, twins, February 
9, 1772; Calvin, April 21, 1774; Hemon, 
May 24, 1776; Martha, April 17, 1778; 
Hemon, December 31, 1780; Phineas, May 
2.^, 1783. The will of Phineas Perry was 
dated July 11, 1796, bequeathing to chil- 
dren: Calvin, Luke, Luther, Justus, 
Daniel, Thomas, Phineas, William, He- 
mon, Hannah, Lucretia Nye and Martha. 

(VI) Luther Perry, son of Phineas 
Perry, was born at Barre, February 14, 
1770, and died there, July 2, 1845, aged 
seventy-six years. He was a delegate to 
the Rutland Convention, January 6, 1801. 
He married, at Barre, March 15, 1801, 
Harriet Howes, who died there in March, 
1810, aged twenty-six years, of spotted 
fever (church records). Children, born 
at Barre : Harriet Howes, born April 5, 
1802, died young; Charles Howes, men- 
tioned below ; Mary Bourne, March 18, 
1806. 

(VII) Charles Howes Perry, son of 
Luther Perry, was born at Barre, January 
18, 1804. His sister, Mary B. Perry, 
deeded to him her share in the estate of 
Edmund Howes, their grandfather, April 
5, 1828. Other deeds show that he was 
living in Phillipston in 1834, and that he 
was a tanner and currier by trade. He 
and his wife Mary deeded the homestead 
on the north side of the turnpike in Phil- 
lipston, June 28, 1837, to Jonathan Bow- 
ker, Jr. Mr. Perry married (first) (inten- 
tion dated November 6, 1830, at Phillip- 
ston) Comfort H. Bates, born September 
11, 181 1, died at Phillipston, March, 1834, 
aged twenty-four years. He married (sec- 
ond) (intention dated April 4, 1835, at 
Phillipston) Mary B. Peckham, of Peters- 
ham, born 181 5, died 1896. Children by 
first wife: Susan, born July 16, 1832; 
Comfort H., born March 10, 1834. Chil- 
dren by second wife : Charles M., men- 



tioned below ; Caroline, born January 4 
1839, married Mason Whitney; Matilda, 
born April 30, 1841, married J. Monroe 
Rich, member of Company D, Thirty- 
sixth Regiment, Massachusetts Volun- 
teers ; Luther, born October 30, 1843, re ~ 
sides in Athol, Massachusetts ; Mary, 
born March 30, 1846, married Henry H. 
Coolidge, of Athol, Massachusetts ; An- 
son, born June 8, 1848, resides in Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island; Henrietta, born 
April 5, 1850, died September 29, 1851 ; 
Henry H., born February 20, 1852, died 
August 15, 1859. 

(VIII) Charles M. Perry, son of 
Charles Howes Perry, was born at Phil- 
lipston, November 9, 1837, and died at 
Worcester, May 22, 1897. He received 
his education in the public schools of his 
native town, and during his youth fol- 
lowed the trade of shoemaking there. He 
removed to Worcester and entered the 
employ of N. W. Holden Company, gro- 
cers, as a clerk, a position he filled for a 
number of years. Subsequently he en- 
gaged in the street sprinkling business 
and was among the first in this line of 
industry in the city of Worcester. At 
the present time the streets are sprinkled 
or oiled by the municipality and the cost 
assessed on the abutting property. At 
that time the sprinkling was a private 
enterprise and the property owners along 
the route paid for the service voluntarily. 
Mr. Perry and C. W. Clapp entered into 
partnership, their place of business being 
at the City Stock Yard, No. 216 Summer 
street, Worcester, where they conducted 
a sales stable, dealing in horses and cattle. 
A few years later Mr. Clapp sold his 
share of the business to B. W. Abbott 
and the name of the firm was changed to 
B. W. Abbott & Company. During the 
last twenty years of his life Mr. Perry 
was the owner of the High Street Board- 
ing Stables at No. 59 High street, Worces- 



94 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ter. He leased the building there and 
conducted the business in a highly suc- 
cessful manner. As the city population 
grew, his business extended and he be- 
came widely known in the community. 
He was accounted an excellent judge of 
horses and was skillful in their care and 
training. During the Civil War he served 
in Company H, Thirty-sixth Regiment, 
Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry. He 
was a member of George H. Ward Post, 
No. 10, of Worcester. In religion he was 
a Methodist and for many years an at- 
tendant of Grace Methodist Episcopal 
Church. He married (first) at Phillips- 
ton, Hannah E. Gilbert, born January 29, 
1841, died at Hubbardston, February 1, 
1866. He married (second) November 
27, 1867, Ellen M. Garfield, born June 4, 
1839. Children by first wife: Flora A., 
born in Phillipston, November 5, 1859; 
Warren, born February 18, 1862, died Au- 
gust 18, 1864. Children by second wife: 
Charles H., mentioned below; Lillian M., 
born September 30, 1874, married George 
H. Howland ; Alice, born November 26, 
1877, died October 28, 1884. Mr. Perry 
was generous, kind, painstaking and hon- 
est, and while he was a man of many 
cares, he was possessed of one dominant 
ambition and that was to see his son, 
Charles H., graduate from Harvard Col- 
lege, but the fates decreed differently, for 
he died May 22, 1897, while his son was 
taking his examinations preparatory to 
receiving his degree. 

(IX) Dr. Charles H. Perry, son of 
Charles M. Perry, was born in Worces- 
ter, May 10, 1869. He received his early 
education in the public schools of his na- 
tive city, beginning in the old "Summer 
Street" school, which he attended for four 
years, then spent a similar period of time 
in study at the "Thomas Street" school. 
Brought up under the watchful guidance 
of a painstaking father, who knew the full 



value of early training, Dr. Perry knew 
the meaning of hard work long before 
his schoolboy friends, for, during many 
years of his grammar school training, he 
delivered milk to customers in the early 
mornings, and performed many chores 
after school hours, selling newspapers 
during the early evenings and later as- 
sisting his father in and around the 
stable, each successive day seeing the 
same routine. Early in life Dr. Perry's 
fondness for animals, and horses espe- 
cially, was very marked, and at the age 
of twelve years he was a jockey, and dur- 
ing the following four years he success- 
fully rode the celebrated "Peacock" for 
a private Worcester family, winning 
many races and taking many coveted 
purses of a substantial size. Dr. Perry's 
successes stimulated him, as the years 
went on, and from private riding he en- 
gaged in driving professional race horses, 
continuing until he was twenty-five years 
of age. Then came the turning point in 
Dr. Perry's life, through an accident to 
one of his fancy horses. It was at a meet 
at the old Agricultural Fair Grounds that 
"Koon Kan," the pride of the lot, was 
overcome by sunstroke and removed from 
the track. While watching the veterinary 
surgeons work, he stoutly declared that 
he could save the horse if allowed to, but 
because of his youth and non-professional 
knowledge of horses, at that time, he was 
not allowed to do so, and he then vowed 
to "take up medicine," the success of 
which is here given, and attested to, not 
only in Worcester, but all over the State 
of Massachusetts. Dr. Perry trained a 
string of fifteen or sixteen professional 
race horses. 

Dr. Perry entered the Veterinary 
School of Harvard University, in 1894, 
and graduated in the class of 1897. Im- 
mediately afterward he began to practice, 
opening an office at No. 59 High street, 



95 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and resided at No. 22 Wellington street. 
His wide acquaintance among the owners 
of horses and stock in this section paved 
the way for an excellent business, and 
from the beginning he enjoyed a substan- 
tial patronage. Two years later he moved 
to his present location; No. 82 Park ave- 
nue. In 1904 Dr. Perry took a post-grad- 
uate course in the Chicago Veterinary 
College. 

Since 1894 he has been the local officer 
of the Massachusetts Cattle Commission- 
ers, afterward known as the Massachu- 
setts Cattle Bureau, and now the Depart- 
ment of Animal Industry. The duties of 
this office have grown from year to year 
and its responsibilities have increased as 
the laws have been made more stringent 
regarding the inspection of cattle in 
dairies and all kinds of meat offered for 
sale. For fourteen years Dr. Perry held 
the office of inspector of animals in the 
city of Worcester. At times, when epi- 
demics attacked the animals of the city, 
Dr. Perry's duties became extremely im- 
portant to the public health and to the 
farmers whose stock was threatened. 
During the recent epidemic of the foot 
and mouth disease, he handled a trying 
and difficult situation with tact, energy 
and efficiency, and received the commen- 
dation not only of his superior officers but 
of the owners of infected stock and of 
others whose property was saved by the 
prompt suppression of the disease in this 
section. While the disease threatened, 
Dr. Perry worked day and night to stay 
its progress. At other times, when epi- 
demics of lesser magnitude have ap- 
peared, his efforts have been equally 
prompt and thorough. His work in in- 
specting the meat supply of the city has 
been an important factor in guarding the 
public health. His office represents more 
than is realized by the public, for it is 
charged with the application of scientific 



knowledge to the problems of providing 
a healthful food supply, and to detect and 
stamp out diseases of all kinds among the 
animals. 

In his private practice, Dr. Perry has 
been highly successful. He has a modern 
hospital for the care of sick animals of 
all kinds, and it is equipped with the 
latest apparatus and appliances for sur- 
gical and medical treatment, and with a 
pharmacy in which the drugs and medi- 
cines are kept. An inspection of his hos- 
pital shows that better provision is now 
made for animals than were available for 
human beings fifty years ago. The own- 
ers of horses, cows, dogs and other domes- 
tic animals have found by experience that 
it is not only proper and humane to give 
treatment to animals in times of sickness 
but that it is wisdom from an economical 
standpoint. It saves money to fight dis- 
ease with modern scientific knowledge 
and equipment. Dr. Perry ranks among 
the foremost of his profession in this 
country and is widely known through the 
State. Owing to illness diagnosed as 
partial paralysis (1908) Dr. Perry was 
forced to give up night work, and is now 
(1917) improving nicely. He is a mem- 
ber of the Massachusetts Veterinary As- 
sociation, the American Veterinary Medi- 
cal Association, the Harvard Club and 
other social organizations of Worcester. 
He served as house surgeon at Harvard 
College during his last year, 1896-97. 

Dr. Perry married, June 27, 1892, Mary 
J. Newton, daughter of Seth S. and Henri- 
etta (Frary) Newton, of Greenfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. She was a native of Green- 
field, and attended the public schools 
there, graduating from the Greenfield 
High School in the class of 1884. She 
entered the State Normal School in 
Worcester, in February, 1885, from which 
she was graduated in due course in 1887. 
She followed the profession of teaching 



06 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



for a number of years, having schools at 
Shelburne, Massachusetts, one term, at 
Sunderland High School, Sunderland, 
Massachusetts, one term, and then came 
to Worcester where she held a position in 
the Quinsigamond School for four years. 
Her last position as teacher was in the 
Salisbury Street School. She resigned 
shortly before the expiration of a year in 
order to prepare for her approaching mar- 
riage. Mrs. Perry is prominent in social 
life. Dr. and Mrs. Perry are members of 
Plymouth Congregational Church. They 
are the parents of one child, Roger New- 
ton, mentioned below. 

(X) Roger Newton Perry, son of Dr. 
Charles H. Perry, was born March 12, 
1894, in Worcester. He is widely known 
as the "Boy Florist." He attended the 
public schools quite irregularly, owing to 
sickness, but graduated from Becker's 
Business College in 1909. His further 
study was cut short and his professional 
career that had been planned abandoned 
on account of the loss of his eyesight as 
the result of illness. He began his flower 
gardens as a means of occupying his time, 
and as his health and sight improved he 
extended his gardens and operated on a 
commercial scale with marked success. 
At the present time (1917) with his eye- 
sight fully restored and in the enjoyment 
of excellent health, he finds himself the 
owner of a substantial business and a 
large plant. He has also what counts 
most, a thorough knowledge of plants and 
flowers and skill in their cultivation. In 
a recent book Dr. Woods Hutchinson 
cited the Worcester "Boy Florist" as an 
example of what courage, persistence and 
hope will do for the afflicted. In 1913 
he took the extension course of Amherst 
Agricultural College. His greenhouses 
extend from Park avenue to Montvale 
road and cover an area of one acre. Half 
the space is devoted to the cultivation of 

N E-7-7 



bulbs for which he has built substantial 
concrete beds. The flowers from his green- 
houses stand comparison with those from 
the most noted conservatories of the 
State. He has proved a valuable assist- 
ant to his father in the management of 
the animal hospital and the care of its 
patients. 



SARGENT, James Sanborn, 

Business Man. 

James Sanborn Sargent, son of Jere- 
miah S. Sargent, was born at Sydney, 
Maine, August 13, 1835, and was edu- 
cated there in the public schools. In 
1865 he removed to Newport, Maine, 
where he engaged in the hardware busi- 
ness and continued for a period of twenty- 
five years. In 1886 he bought a hardware 
store in Brockton, Massachusetts, and in 
partnership with his son, Charles L. Sar- 
gent, conducted the business for five 
years. At the end of this time he retired 
on account of ill health. In 1891, accom- 
panied by his wife, he went to California, 
in the hope of restoring his health, but 
the journey proved too much of an effort, 
and he died the day after arriving, in 
Pasadena, California, December 20, 1891. 
Mrs. Sargent returned with the body, and 
the interment took place in Union Ceme- 
tery, Brockton. 

Mr. Sargent was well known and highly 
respected in the community. He was a 
charter member of Electric Lodge, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, of Brock- 
ton, and for, many years he was its treas- 
urer. He was also a member of the Ma- 
sonic organization. In religion he was a 
Universalist. Mr. Sargent was a quiet, 
reserved and modest man, gifted with 
much business ability and beloved by 
those who came to know him well. In 
his home he was a most devoted husband 
and father. He married Caroline Wil- 



97 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hams Ring, who survives him, and re- 
sides in Brockton. 

Charles L. Sargent, only child of James 
Sanborn and Caroline Williams (Ring) 
Sargent, was born at Newport, Maine, 
January 3, 1867. He was educated in the 
public schools of his native town and in 
the Bryant & Stratton Commercial Col- 
lege in Boston. In 1884 he established 
himself in the hardware business in Na- 
tick, Massachusetts, but two years later 
joined his father in Brockton. Together 
they made a very prosperous business in 
the store at No. 83 Main street, and when 
his father retired in 1891, he continued 
with substantial success until the end of 
his life. He died June 20, 1914, at his 
summer home, Sebasticook Cottage, at 
Point Independence, Onset, Massachu- 
setts. The interment was in Union Ceme- 
tery, Brockton. 

For a period of nearly thirty years, 
during which time he was a merchant in 
Brockton, he took a leading place among 
the business men of that city, extending 
his business as the city grew, keeping pace 
with the progress and always maintain- 
ing a high standard of honor in all his 
dealings. His integrity was proverbial. 
He commanded the respect of every cus- 
tomer, every house with which he had 
business relations and his business ex- 
tended to all parts of the county. He 
never married, but always shared his 
home with his mother, to whom he was 
greatly attached. Like his father, he was 
cut down in the prime of life at the time 
of his greatest usefulness, when his future 
seemed most promising. His loss to the 
community was severely felt. After his 
death, the store was sold by his mother. 
She resides at her old home on Warren 
street in Brockton. 

Charles L. Sargent was a member of 
the Commercial Club of Brockton, and 
was distinguished for his public spirit. 



His chief recreation was yachting, and 
during the summer for many years he 
spent much of his time on the water in 
Buzzard's Bay. 

(The Ring Line). 

(I) Robert Ring or Ringe, the immi- 
grant ancestor, was born in England, in 
1614, and came to this country in the 
ship "Bevis," in 1638. He settled soon 
afterward in Salisbury, Massachusetts, 
and was living in that town in 1640, when 
admitted a freeman of the colony. In the 
same year he shared in a division of com- 
mon lands and had previously shared in 
an earlier division. He was engaged in 
fishing and planting at Ring's Island in 
1642, though by trade he was a cooper. 
He was a taxpayer and householder in 
1677; signed a petition of the inhabitants 
of Salisbury in 1680, and died there in 
1690. His will was dated January 23, 
1688, and proved March 31, 1691. By 
wife Elizabeth, he had children: Hannah, 
Elizabeth, Martha, Jarvis, John, Joseph 
and Robert. 

In later generations his descendants 
settled in various parts of New Hamp- 
shire and Maine, as well as Massachu- 
setts. His son Joseph, born August 4, 
1664, was a soldier participating in the 
capture of Casco Bay fort; was witness 
in court in 1692, but died before May, 
1705, when his brother Jarvis was ap- 
pointed to administer his estate. 

Deacon Seth Ring, of the third genera- 
tion, lived in Newington, New Hamp- 
shire, and had children : Joseph, Benja- 
min, Jane, Mary, Seth and Eliphalet ; was 
deacon of the Newington church. His de- 
scendants lived in this section and at 
Chichester, New Hampshire. Seth owned 
land in Barnstead and Portsmouth. 

Iphidiah Ring, a descendant of Robert 
Ring or Ringe, was born in New Hamp- 
shire, probably in one of the towns near 



98 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Portsmouth, during the Revolutionary 
War. His birth was not recorded, and 
the name of his father has not been found 
by the writer. He made his home in 
Newport, Maine, and followed farming 
for a vocation. Children : Almon B., men- 
tioned below; Joseph, Orin, Elbridge 
Gerry, Lucinda, Pamelia. 

Almon B. Ring, son of Iphidiah Ring, 
was born in Newport, Maine, in 1810. 
By trade he was a stone mason and in 
later years a mason and contractor. In 
politics he was a Republican ; in religion 
a Baptist. He married at Newport, 
Maine, Mary Tuttle, who was born in 
1802, in Durham, Maine. Children: 
Mary A., born 1833 ; Frank W., 1835 ; 
Alfred W., 1837; Elbridge Gerry, men- 
tioned below; Pamelia L., 1841 ; Charles 
H., 1843. The four eldest were born at 
Palmyra and the two youngest at New- 
port. He died at North Newport. 

Elbridge Gerry Ring, son of Almon B. 
Ring, was born February 23, 1839, in 
Palmyra, and educated in the public 
schools. He has been for many years 
engaged in carriage building at Bath, 
Maine, and Amesbury, Massachusetts. 
His present home is at Newport, Maine. 
He served four years in the Civil War in 
Company C, First Massachusetts Heavy 
Artillery, and was wounded in the battle 
of Spottsylvania. He is at the present 
time commander of the Grand Army Post 
of Newport. He married, November 3, 
1868, at Newport, Mary A. Shaw, who 
was born at Augusta, Maine, September 
28, 1845, daughter of John and Madama 
(Rowell) Shaw. Children: Sydney B., 
born December 1, 1872, a travelling sales- 
man, married Leona H. Weymouth; Jes- 
sie M., born February 13, 1876, now as- 
sistant cashier of the Newport Trust Com- 
pany. 

Elbridge Gerry Ring, uncle of El- 
bridge Gerry Ring, mentioned above, and 



son of Iphidiah Ring, was born at New- 
port, Maine, about 1803, and died in 
1867. He was a shoe dealer and manu- 
facturer of boots and shoes at Newport, 
where he spent all his active years and 
where he died. He married Deborah 
Nye (see Nye XVI). She died at New- 
port. Children: Augusta, died in 1868; 
Caroline Williams, married James San- 
born Sargent (see Sargent) ; Josephine, 
who married Seldon Foss, and removed 
to Portland, Oregon, where she died. 

(The Nye Line). 

The surname Nye, according to the 
genealogy, appears first in the middle of 
the thirteenth century in the Sjelland sec- 
tion of Denmark, and in Danish the word 
signifies new or newcomer, when used as 
a preface. It was not adopted as a sur- 
name until after the family settled in 
England. The Nye coat-of-arms is de- 
scribed : Azure a crescent argent. Crest : 
Two horns couped counterchanged, azure 
and argent. 

(I) Lave, a Dane to whom the line is 
traced in the Nye genealogy, was a son of 
a descendant of Harold Blautand, who 
died in 985, through a daughter who mar- 
ried one of the most famous of the Swed- 
ish medieval heroes, Stryibiorn, son of 
Olaf, King of Sweden. He became prom- 
inent, and in 1316 was bishop of Boskilde. 

(II) Sven was heir of Svencin, de- 
scendant of Lave, in 1346. 

(III) Marten was declared heir of 
Sven in 1363. 

(IV) Nils was mentioned in 1418 as 
owning land in Tudse. 

(V) Bertolf, mentioned in 1466, as son 
of Nils, had sons, James and Randolf. 
James fought a duel and was obliged to 
flee to England, whither he was accom- 
panied by his younger brother, mentioned 
below. 

(VI) Randolph Nye settled in Sussex, 



99 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



England, in 1527, and held land in Uck- 
field. 

(VII) William Nye, son of Randolph 
Nye, married Agnes, daughter of Ralph 
Tregian, of Hertfordshire ; studied for 
the ministry and became rector of the 
parish church of Ballance-Horned, before 
his father died. 

(VIII) Ralph Nye, son of William 
Nye, inherited his father's estate in Uck- 
field and Ballance ; married, June 18, 
1556, Margaret Merynge, of St. Mary's, 
Wollchurch. Children : Thomas, men- 
tioned below ; Edmundus, buried in Som- 
ersetshire, March 9, 1594; Ralph, mar- 
ried, August 30, 1584, Joan *Wilkshire ; 
Anne, married, August 6, 1616, Nicholas 
Stuart; Mary, married, April 24, 1621, 
John Banister. 

(IX) Thomas Nye, son of Ralph Nye, 
married, September 6, 1583, at St. An- 
drew, Hubbard, Katherine Poulsden, of 

London, daughter of Poulsden, of 

Horley, County Surrey. He sold to his 
wife's brother, William Poulsden, a tene- 
ment builded with a croft adjoining, con- 
taining sixteen acres and a half in Bid- 
lenden, County Kent, for which he re- 
ceived an annuity of four shillings. Chil- 
dren : Henry, graduate of Oxford, 1611, 
vicar of Cobham, County Surrey, and 
rector of Clapham, County Sussex ; 
Philip, graduate of Oxford, 1619, rector 
of St. Michael's, Cornhill and Acton, Mid- 
dlesex, a celebrated preacher in Crom- 
well's time ; John ; Thomas, mentioned 
below. 

(X) Thomas (2) Nye, son of Thomas 
(1) Nye, was a haberdasher of Bidlen- 
den, County Kent; married, June 10, 
1619, Agnes Nye, aged thirty-nine years, 
widow of Henry Nye. He deeded land to 
his youngest son Thomas in Bidlenden, 
July 4, 1637, stating in the conveyance, 
"ye eldest son Benjamin having gone to 
New England." Children : Benjamin, 



mentioned below ; Thomas, born Septem- 
ber 16, 1623, married Margaret Webster 
and left descendants at Bidlenden. 

(XI) Benjamin Nye, son of Thomas 
(2) Nye, was born May 4, 1620, at Bid- 
lenden, England, and came in the ship 
'Abigail" to Lynn, Massachusetts, in 
1635, locating in Sandwich two years 
later. His name is on the list of men in 
Sandwich able to bear arms in 1643. He 
contributed to the cost of building a mill 
there in 1654, and for the fund to build 
the meeting house in 1656. He was sur- 
veyor of highways in 1655 ; took the oath 
of fidelity in 1657; grand juror, 1658 and 
later; constable in 1661 and 1675; col- 
lector of taxes in 1674 and later. He re- 
ceived twelve acres of land from the town 
for building his mill at the little pond and 
had other grants of land later. He was 
given permission by vote of the town to 
build a fulling mill on Spring Hill river, 
August 8, 1675, and it is said that the 
ruins of his old mill may still be seen 
there. He married in Sandwich, Octo- 
ber 19, 1640, Katherine Tupper, daughter 
of Rev. Thomas Tupper. Children : 
Mary, married Jacob Burgess ; John ; 
Ebenezer; Jonathan, born November 29, 
1649; Mercy, April 4, 1652; Caleb; Na- 
than; Benjamin, killed by Indians, 
March 26, 1676. 

(XII) John Nye, son of Benjamin Nye, 
was born at Sandwich about 1645. His 
will was dated July 19, 1720, and proved 
November 27, 1722. He and his brother 
bought one hundred acres in Falmouth, 
and in 1689 were granted two hundred 
acres more. He held various town offices 
in Sandwich. He married Esther Shedd. 
His wife's will was dated September 18, 
1724, proved September 29, 1726. Chil- 
dren, born in Sandwich : Benjamin, born 
November 24, 1673; John, November 22, 
1675; Abigail, April 18, 1678; Experience, 
December 16, 1682; Hannah, January 19, 

00 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1685; Ebenezer, September 23, 1687; 
Peleg, mentioned below ; Nathan ; Jo- 
seph, 1694; Cornelius, 1697. 

(XIII) Peleg Nye, son of John Nye, 
was born at Sandwich, November 12, 
1689, and died 1761. His will was dated 
November 4, and proved December 7, 
1761. He married, June 26, 1717, Eliza- 
beth Bryant. Children, born in Sand- 
wich: Nathaniel, June 17, 1719; Eliza- 
beth, May 22, 1721 ; Joseph, mentioned 
below; Abigail, March 5, 1725-26. 

(XIV) Joseph Nye, son of Peleg Nye, 
was born at Sandwich, October 21, 1723, 
and died there in 1790. His will was 
dated January 23, and proved February 
9, 1790. He married, December 23, 1756, 
Elizabeth Holman, of Sandwich. Chil- 
dren, born in Sandwich : Elisha, Novem- 
ber 2, 1757; Bartlett, mentioned below; 
Temperance, May 3, 1762; Lemuel, Oc- 
tober 14, 1764; Jane, 1766; Bryant, Sep- 
tember 13, 1767; Joseph, October 30, 
1771 ; Heman, November 23, 1773 ; Peleg, 
July 9, 1778. 

(XV) Bartlett Nye, son of Joseph Nye, 
was born at Sandwich, August 18, 1759. 
He was a soldier in the Revolution in 
Captain Job Crocker's company, of East- 
ham, in Colonel Nathan's regiment, July 
2 to December 12, 1777, in Rhode Island; 
a corporal in Captain Simeon Fish's com- 
pany, Colonel Freeman's regiment, Sep- 
tember, 1779. In 1812 he was a deputy 
to the General Court from Fairfield, 
Maine, whither he moved in 1788. He 
died there in 1822. He married Deborah 
Ellis, of Sandwich. She died in 1840. 
Children: Thomas, Ellis, Bartlett, Jane, 
Joshua, Franklin, Sturgis, Stephen, Patty, 
Heman, born June 17, 1803 ; Dolly, mar- 
ried William Norvell ; Sally Franklin, and 
Deborah. 

(XVI) Deborah Nye, daughter of 
Bartlett Nye, born at Fairfield about 
1805, married Elbridge Gerry Ring (see 
Ring). 



WHITE, 



And Allied Families. 



On either side of the line separating 
the States of Massachusetts and Rhode 
Island, in the ancient town of Rehoboth, 
Massachusetts, lived the Round (often 
spelled Rounds) family, which was of 
some two hundred years record. As 
early as 171 1 the name is recorded in 
Rehoboth. At that date, John Round, 
of Swansea, Massachusetts, was married 
to Hannah Carde, of Rehoboth, and a 
little later, in 1715, the marriage of 
Thomas Round and Sarah Thurston was 
recorded. Still earlier the vital records 
of births are given in that town with the 
children of the family of Richard and 
Ann Round, namely: Amy, born June 10, 
1702; Anne, February 6, 1704-05; Rich- 
ard, March 2, 1706-07; Hannah, Janu- 
ary 29, 1710-11; Joanna, April 23, 1713. 
This family was then referred to as of 
Barrington and Rehoboth. Thomas 
Round, probably in January or Febru- 
ary, 1744-45, married Elizabeth West. 

(I) John Rounds (or more probably 
Round), the first of the branch of the 
family herein followed of whom we have 
any information, was a resident of Swan- 
sea, Massachusetts. He married there, 
Abigail Bowen, daughter of Obediah 
Bowen, and among their children was 
Jabez, of whom further. 

(II) Jabez Round, son of John and 
Abigail (Bowen) Rounds or Round, was 
born in Swansea, Massachusetts, 1708, 
and died March 14, 1790. He was mar- 
ried in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, April 
26, 1733, by the Rev. John Coomer, to 
Renew Carpenter, of Rehoboth, born 
June 6, 1714, died February 9, 1787, 
daughter of Jotham. and Desire (Martin) 
Carpenter (see Carpenter). They were 
the parents of eleven children, all born 
in Rehoboth, among whom was Jabez, 
of whom further. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(III) Jabez (2) Round, son of Jabez 
(1) and Renew (Carpenter) Round, was 
born in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, Janu- 
ary 8, 1735-36, and died May 29, 1808. 
He was a Revolutionary soldier, served 
as private in Captain Simeon Cole's com- 
pany, Colonel Thomas Carpenter's regi- 
ment ; entered service on an alarm at 
Tiverton, Rhode Island, August 1, 1780, 
discharged August 8, 1780. He was mar- 
ried in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, March 
6, 1760, by Elder Nathan Pearce, to Pru- 
dence Crossman, of Taunton, Massachu- 
setts, born 1740, and died October 27, 
1825. Children: Sylvester, of whom 
further; Betsey, born March 27, 1772; 
Jabez, Abner, Enos, Zena, Polly, Benja- 
min, Joseph, Prudence. 

(IV) Rev. Sylvester Round, son of 
Jabez (2) and Prudence (Crossman) 
Round, was born in Rehoboth, Massa- 
chusetts, April 10, 1762, and died Octo- 
ber 26, 1824. In 1782-83 he became the 
pastor of the Six Principled Baptist 
church, known as the Rounds Church, 
in Rehoboth, of which the Rev. David 
Round was the founder and pastor in 
July, 1743, and he continued as its pastor 
until his death. He was also a Revolu- 
tionary soldier and served as a private in 
Captain Nathaniel Carpenter's company, 
Colonel Thomas Carpenter's regiment, 
service from July 20, 1777, one month and 
five days at Rhode Island, including 
travel to camp at Bristol, Rhode Island, 
and from, Providence back to Rehoboth ; 
also private in Captain Nathaniel Ide's 
company. Colonel Thomas Carpenter's 
regiment; enlisted August 13, 1779, dis- 
charged September 12, 1779, service one 
month, travel allowed to and from camp 
at Providence ; company detached from 
militia for service at Rhode Island for 
four weeks under Captain Samuel Fish- 
er; also private in Captain Joseph Wil- 
marth's company, Colonel Thomas Car- 



penter's regiment, marched July 28, 1780, 
discharged July 31, 1780, on an alarm 
at Rhode Island; company detached for 
six days' service and marched from Re- 
hoboth to Tiverton, Rhode Island, and 
there served under General Heath. He 
was married by Elder Nathan Pearce, 
October 11, 1781, to Mehitable Perry, 
born in Rehoboth, September 7, 1760. 
daughter of David and Margaret (Dyer) 
Perry. Children : Rufus, born April 8, 
1783; Roxa, March 6, 1784; Mehitable, 
December 29, 1785 ; Sylvester, January 
9, 1788; Betsey, of whom further; David 
Perry, April 14, 1792; Keziah, February 
22, 1794; Deney, March 7, 1797; Lydia, 
June 11, 1799; Emerancy, August 28, 
1803. 

(V) Betsey Round, daughter of the 
Rev. Sylvester and Mehitable (Perry) 
Round, was born in Rehoboth, Massa- 
chusetts, April 14, 1790. She was mar- 
ried by her father to Samuel Woodward, 
of Taunton, Massachusetts, December 13, 
1810. He was a descendant of John 
Woodward, who married, November 11, 
1675, Sarah Crossman. Israel Wood- 
ward, who may have been a brother of 
John Woodward, married, August 4, 
1670, in Taunton, Jane Godfrey. Sam- 
uel Woodward, a descendant of one of 
the above mentioned Woodwards, re- 
sided in Norton, Massachusetts, and 
there married Rebecca , and sev- 
eral of their children were born in Nor- 
ton. Ambrose Woodward, son of Sam- 
uel Woodward, was born in Norton, Mas- 
sachusetts, September 9, 1743, and died 
in Taunton, Massachusetts, March 28, 
1828. He was a Revolutionary soldier, 
served as private in Captain Ichabod 
Leonard's Sixth Taunton Company, 
Colonel George Williams' regiment, serv- 
ice nine days, company marched to War- 
ren, viz., Rehoboth on the alarm at 
Rhode Island, December 8, 1776. He 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was married in Taunton, Massachusetts, 
by George Godfrey, Esq., December 24, 
1772, to Rachel Lincoln ; she died Janu- 
ary 5, 1815, in Taunton. He must have 

married (second) Abigail , as she 

died a widow of Ambrose Woodward, 
April 17, 184 1, aged eighty-two years. 
Samuel Woodward, son of Samuel and 
Rachel (Lincoln) Woodward, was born 
in Taunton, Massachusetts, September 
17, 1785, and died December 31, 1838. 
He married, in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, 
Betsey Round, as aforementioned, and 
their children, all born in Taunton, were 
as follows : Samuel E., born July 16, 
1811; Rinaldo B., April 10, 1813; Syl- 
vester, March, 1818; Williard Francis, of 
whom further ; Elizabeth Abby, October 
17, 1828; Albert Augustus, April 16, 1833; 
Julia Ann, December 19, 1836. Mrs. Sam- 
uel Woodward, the mother of these chil- 
dren, died July 4, 1876, aged eighty-six 
years, two months, twenty-one days. 

(VI) Williard Francis Woodward, son 
of Samuel and Betsey (Round) Wood- 
ward, was born in Taunton, Massachu- 
setts, June 27, 1826. He learned the trade 
of moulder, which he followed for a num- 
ber of years, and later was engaged in 
agricultural pursuits near the Norton 
line, being particularly interested in stock 
raising and in trading cattle. He was a 
man of robust constitution, which was 
his great asset, and he was widely known 
for his enterprising and progressive ideas, 
and honored and respected for his many 
excellencies of character, especially for 
his devotion to his home and family. His 
marriage intentions were published in 
Rehoboth, Massachusetts, December 29, 
1847, an d he married, in 1848, Julia Ann 
Smith, born in Rehoboth, March 16, 1826, 
daughter of John, Jr., and Hannah 
(Lewis) Smith, and their children were 
as follows: Henry, deceased; Estelle, 
died in early life ; Eugene, living in Attle- 



boro ; Emily, living in Attleboro ; Julia 
Isabel, of whom further ; Lottie Maria, 
now deceased ; Edgar Elmer, resides at 
the homestead in Taunton. Mr. Wood- 
ward died at his home on Worcester 
street, Taunton, after a short illness in 
1870. His remains were interred in Oak- 
land Cemetery. His widow died at the 
home of her daughter, Mrs. Williard H. 
White, in Attleboro, March 15, 1912, and 
her remains were interred beside those 
of her husband. 

(VII) Julia Isabel Woodward, daugh- 
ter of Williard Francis and Julia Ann 
(Smith) Woodward, was born in Taun- 
ton, Massachusetts, August 19, 1857. She 
married, October 16, 1877, Williard H. 
White, born in Taunton, Massachusetts, 
December 23, 1855, and died September 
28, 1884, while in his young manhood. 
He learned the trade of machinist and 
served in that capacity in the Masons 
Machine Shop in Taunton. Mrs. White, 
who is living at the present time (1917) 
is a resident of Attleboro, Massachusetts, 
where she is quite active in the social and 
civic life, holding membership in the 
Attleboro Woman's Club, and the Equal 
Suffrage League. She is devoted to her 
home and family, which consists of two 
children: 1. Gertrude Elma, wife of Rob- 
ert Murray Bates, son of the Rev. John 
Bates, and they have one daughter, 
Glenna Isabel ; they reside in Attleboro. 
2. Ernest E., resides in Attleboro ; is a 
jeweler; married Zulmar Dorrance 
Briggs. Mrs. Julia Isabel White is a 
member of Margaret Corbin Chapter, 
Daughters of the American Revolution, 
of Boston ; a member of the Women's 
Auxiliary of the Chamber of Commerce, 
of Attleboro ; and a member of the Ladies' 
Aid of the Sturdy Memorial Hospital As- 
sociation, of Attleboro. 

Williard H. White was a descendant 
of Nicholas White, who was a native of 



103 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



England, and settled in Dorchester, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he was made a freeman 
in 1643. He married there Susanna Hum- 
phrey, and they were the parents of four 
children. Between the years 1652 and 
1655 the family moved to Taunton, where 
he spent the remainder of his life. Their 
eldest son, Nicholas White, Jr., was born 
in Dorchester, and later accompanied his 
parents to Taunton. He married, De- 
cember 9, 1673, Ursula Macomber, 
daughter of William and Ursula Ma- 
comber, and they were the parents of 
seven children. Mrs. White died in Nor- 
ton, Massachusetts, January 18, 1727-28. 
Their youngest child, Thomas White, 
was born in Taunton, Massachusetts, 
where he spent his entire lifetime, and 
died in 1730. He married Abigail Cross- 
man, born October 7, 1690, died January 
22, 1767, daughter of John and Joanna 
(Thayer) Crossman, and they were the 
parents of eight children, among whom 
was John White, born in Taunton, who 
spent his entire life there, passing away 
January 26, 1806, aged ninety-four years, 
and was buried in the cemetery at the 
corner of Prospect Hill and Lothrop 
street, Taunton. He was one of the larg- 
est land owners in that town. He mar- 
ried, May 30, 1748, Mary Smith, born 
February 21, 1728, and lived to a ripe old 
age, daughter of Nicholas and Jerusha 
(Leonard) Smith. One of their ten chil- 
dren was John White, born in Taunton, 
Massachusetts, in 1749, and died there, 
February 14, 1828. He made his home 
near Scadding's Pond, where he owned 
a farm which he later sold and moved to 
the town of Norton, Massachusetts, but 
subsequently returned to Taunton. He 
served as a soldier in the Revolutionary 
War, member of Captain Oliver Soper's 
company, Continental Line, in 1776, and 
the tradition is that he was also a priva- 
teer in the Revolution. His marriage in- 



tentions were published April 26, 1777. 
He married Susanna (White) Pierce, 
daughter of George and Hannah (Bryant) 
White, and widow of Elisha Pierce. One 
of their eight children was Isaac White, 
born in Taunton, Massachusetts, Janu- 
ary 30, 1785, and died there, February 5, 
1863. He was a member of the Raynham 
company in the War of 1812. He mar- 
ried, August 2, 1806, Matilda Frasier, 
born in Raynham, September 6, 1788, and 
died in Taunton, November 9, 1869. One 
of their twelve children was Kingman 
White, born in Taunton, Massachusetts, 
May 8, 1809, spent his life there, and died 
January 11, 1863. He married, April 8, 
1 841, Polly Elma Leonard, who died No- 
vember 16, 1876. They were the parents 
of seven children : Emeline, born August 
10, 1842, died September 7, 1842; Oliver 
Allen, February 7, 1844, now deceased; 
Ira Alden, December 8, 1845, died Febru- 
ary 18, 1866 ; Etson Holbrook, twin of 
Ira Alden, both Civil War soldiers and 
now deceased ; Matilda Jane, born Au- 
gust 22, 1850, married Warner Alden, of 
Middleboro, he now deceased ; Warren 
Clifford, born March 21, 1853, died June 
6, 1854; and Williard Horace, born De- 
cember 23, 1855, aforementioned as the 
husband of Julia Isabel Woodward. 

(The Carpenter Line). 

(I) William Carpenter, pioneer ances- 
tor of the line herein followed, was born 
in England in 1605. He came to America 
in the ship "Bevis" in 1638. He was ad- 
mitted freeman of Weymouth, May 13, 
1640; was representative of Weymouth 
in 1641, 1643, an d from the town of Reho- 
both in 1645; constable in 1641. He was 
admitted as an inhabitant of Rehoboth, 
March 28, 1645. Governor Bradford, who 
married his cousin, Alice, manifested 
great friendship for William Carpenter 
and favored him in all his measures in 



104 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Plymouth Court. The town records 
of Rehoboth commenced in 1643. The 
territory of the town included what is 
now called Attleboro, Seekonk, a part of 
Cumberland, Swansea and East Provi- 
dence. Many of the Carpenter residents 
of these towns are treated as being resi- 
dents of the old town of Rehoboth, 
though they may have resided in some 
one of the other towns. He served as 
one of the proprietors and town clerk 
from 1643 until 1649. I n ID 45 William 
Carpenter, with others, was chosen to 
look after the interests of the town, and 
again in the same year William Carpen- 
ter was chosen, with others, to hear and 
decide on grievances in regard to the 
division of land by lots. In 1647 ne was 
chosen as one of the directors of the 
town, also again in 1655. ^ n l &53 ms 
name was written William Carpenter, 
Sr., for the first time. The first settle- 
ment of the colony of Rehoboth consist- 
ed of fifty-eight members from Wey- 
mouth, who drew lots in the division of 
lands, June 31, 1644, and William Car- 
penter's name in that division stands num- 
ber ten. The houses of the colony were 
built in a semi-circle around Seekonk 
Common, and opened toward Seekonk 
river. This semi-circle was called "The 
Ring of the Town." At a meeting of the 
proprietors in 1644 it was voted that nine 
men should be chosen to order the pru- 
dential affairs of the plantation and that 
they should have the power to dispose of 
the lands in lots of twelve, eight or six 
acres, "as in their discretion they think 
the quality of the estate of the person do 
require." This applies to house lots. The 
residence of William Carpenter appears 
by the description given in his will and 
by tradition to have been located in the 
"Ring" directly east of the meetinghouse. 
At a meeting the same year (1644) it was 
ordered "for the time past, and time to 



come, that all workmen that have worked 
or shall work in any common work or 
for any particular person shall have for 
their wages for each day's work as fol- 
lows : For each laborer from the first day 
of November until the first day of Febru- 
ary, eighteen pence per day, and for the 
rest of the year twenty pence per day, 
except in harvest ; for six oxen and one 
man seven shillings and six pence per 
day, and for eight oxen eight shillings." 
The price fixed for wheat was four shil- 
lings and six pence per bushel. Wam- 
pum was fixed at eight for a penny. 
About 1642 William Carpenter was ap- 
pointed captain for one or more years by 
the General Court of Massachusetts at 
Boston. This appointment was made 
necessary by the attempt of Samuel Gor- 
ton and his followers to seize portions of 
the lands included in the Providence 
Plantations, claiming them as their own 
by right of purchase from the Indians. 
In 1643-44 troops were sent from Mas- 
sachusetts to arrest Gorton and his fol- 
lowers, but being resisted by them the 
troops were ordered to open fire which 
brought them to submission, and they 
were taken to Boston and imprisoned. 
William Carpenter married Abigail 

, and they had seven children: 

John, William, Joseph, Hannah, Abiah, 
Abigail and Samuel. 

(II) Joseph Carpenter, son of William 
and Abigail Carpenter, was born in Eng- 
land, probably about 1633. He accom- 
panied his parents to America, he being 
then five years of age. He was one of 
the founders of the first Baptist church 
in Massachusetts, in 1663. The Rev. Mr. 
Miles formed the fourth Baptist church 
in America at Swansea, Massachusetts, 
consisting of seven members, among 
whom was Joseph Carpenter, who con- 
tributed to the building of the house, in 
consequence of which he was fined five 



105 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



pounds and prohibited from worship for 
the space of one month. The variance 
that appeared in their religious belief did 
not disturb his business relations with 
the family or settlers of Rehoboth as he 
was one of the company of the North 
Purchase and drew one share. He moved 
from Rehoboth to Swansea in 1661-62, 
soon after his father died. The Plym- 
outh Colony Records say that on "May 
2 5> l 6$7> Joseph Carpenter had eight 
acres of land granted him, adjoining the 
lot he now liveth on, which was given to 
John Titus." His will was dated May 3, 
1676; he gave land to his three sons, Jo- 
seph, Benjamin and John ; he also gave 
to them his rights in the common of Re- 
hoboth, likewise his rights in Swansea. 
He married, May 25, 1655, Margaret Sut- 
ton, daughter of John Sutton. Children : 
1. Joseph, born August 15, 1656, died Feb- 
ruary 26, 1718; he was a wheelwright; re- 
sided in Rehoboth and Swansea ; he mar- 
ried, February 23, 1681, Mary , 

who died in 171 7. 2. Benjamin, of whom 
further. 3. Abigail, born March 15, 1659. 
4. Esther, born March 10, 1661. 5. Mar- 
tha, born 1662, died March 22, 1735, at 
Swansea, Massachusetts. 6 and 7. John 
and Hannah, twins, born January 21, 
1671-72, in Swansea. 8. Solomon, born 
April 2J, 1673, died October 25, 1674, 
at Swansea. 9. Margaret, born May 4, 
1675, married, January 4, 1695, Thomas 
Chaffee. Joseph Carpenter was buried 
May 6, 1675, two days after the birth of 
his youngest child, and his remains were 
interred near the one hundred acre cove 
in Barrington. His wife was buried in 
the East Providence burial ground. The 
stone is marked: "M. C. D. V., 1700, A. 
G. 65." The letters on this stone are very 
plain. 

(Ill) Benjamin Carpenter, son of Jo- 
seph and Margaret (Sutton) Carpenter, 
was born January 19, 1658, and died May 
22, 1727. He married (first) 1678-79, Re- 



new Weeks, born in 1660, died July 29, 
1703, daughter of William and Elizabeth 
Weeks, of Dorchester, Massachusetts. 
He married (second) November 27, 1706, 
Martha Toogood. She was living in 
1727. Children of first wife: I. Benja- 
min, born January 27, 1680; moved to 
Ashford, Connecticut, about the year 
1733-34; a farmer; married, January 23, 
1706, Mary Barney. 2. Jotham, of whom 
further. 3. Renew, born April 14, 1684; 
married, at Swansea, December 4, 1703, 
John West. 4. Elizabeth, born February 

28, 1685-86; married Winslow, of 

Swansea. 5. Hannah, born May 3, 1688, 
died October 2, 1768; married, October 
23, 1725, David Thurston. 6. Jane, born 
March 31, 1690, died June 15, 1690. 7. 
John, born March 25, 1691-92, died in 
1766; resided in Mansfield and Stafford, 
Connecticut; married (first) September 
12, 1717, Sarah Thurston, who died Oc- 
tober 24, 1744, aged fifty-three years ; 

married (second) Martha H. , of 

Windham ; married (third) March 19, 
1748, Hannah Martin, of Warwick, Rhode 
Island. 8. Submit, born June 22, 1693, 
died February 9, 1741, at Swansea. 9. 
Job, born March 16, 1695 ; married (first) 
Anne ; married (second) Decem- 
ber 17, 1764, Barbara Miller; resided in 
Rehoboth and Swansea. 10. Kesiah, born 
March 26, 1697, married Thomas Horton, 
published April 29, 1721, at Swansea. 11. 
Hezekiah, born March 27, 1699, died 
March 19, 1750; he gave a lot of land to 
the First Baptist Church of Newport, 
Rhode Island, in 1738; the lot was sev- 
enty-three by sixty-four and was situate 
on what is now West Broadway. The 
house was sold in 1738 and a new house 
erected on the same site ; this was taken 
down and a new house erected in 1741. 
He was known as "Colonel Hezekiah." 
12. Edward, born December 8, 1700, died 
December 12, 1778, at Swansea; married, 
August 12, 1724, Elizabeth Wilson, born 



iof> 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



July 8, 1706, died April 24, 1791, daugh- 
ter of Benjamin and Elizabeth Wilson, 
of Rehoboth. 

(IV) Jotham Carpenter, son of Ben- 
jamin and Renew (Weeks) Carpenter, 
was born in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, 
June 1, 1682, and died in 1760. Accord- 
ing to "Savage" he was baptized at Dor- 
chester, Massachusetts, June 1, 1683. Ad- 
ministration papers were taken out on 
Jotham Carpenter's estate as residing in 
Rehoboth by his son, Jotham Carpenter, 
of Rehoboth, at the probate office at Nor- 
ton, Massachusetts, dated August 14, 
1760, by George Leonard, Jr., register. 
He married (first) July 10, 1707, Desire 
Martin, who died September 12, 1727. He 
married (second) June 6, 1728, Isabel 
Sherman. Children of first wife: 1. 
Jotham, born August 1, 1708, died May 
10, 1777; resided in Cumberland, Rhode 
Island ; was constable of Rehoboth in 
1735 ; served as deacon in the Baptist 
church in Rehoboth for a number of years, 
and from his removal to Cumberland until 
his death was deacon of the Baptist 
church there; he married (first) May 11, 
1728, Mehitable Thompson; she died Feb- 
ruary 10, 1747; married (second) March 
17, 1748, Freelove Kingsley ; her will was 
dated October 12, 1801. 2. Amos, born 
September 1, 1710. 3. Hannah, born June 
6, 1712; published to David Round, Au- 
gust 29, 1730. 4. Renew, born June 6, 
1 714, married, April 26, 1733, Jabez 
Round (see Round II). 5. Desire, born 
June 3, 1716; married, April 15, 1738, 
Hezekiah Hix. 6. Hezekiah, born Janu- 
ary 6, 1725; married (first) August 16, 
1745, at Johnson, Rhode Island, Phoebe 
Bowen ; married (second) Prudence John- 
son, of Hopkinton ; married (third) July 
2, 1769, Joanna Aldrich, of Mendon ; he 
moved to Hopkinton from Johnson after 
his third marriage ; he was a soldier of 
the Revolution. 



TINKHAM, Ebenezer, 

Representative Citizen. 

The American families thus far traced 
descend from the first settler of the name 
in this country. 

(I) Sergeant Ephraim Tinkham came 
from Ashburham, near Plymouth, Eng- 
land. He came no doubt under contract, 
in the service of Thomas Hatherly to pay 
his passage. In 1634 a transfer placed 
him in the service of John Winslow, the 
town of Duxbury granting him land, 
namely thirty-five acres. He became a 
proprietor, August 2, 1646; held offices of 
trust and honor, was prominent in public 
life both in civil and military service, was 
also selectman and sergeant, and in 1670 
was admitted a freeman. In 1668, Eph- 
raim Tinkham, Edward Gray and Wil- 
liam Crowell comprised a commission to 
settle the bounds of the governor's lands 
at Plainsdealing. By deed of October 27, 
1647, ne an d his wife sold to Henry 
Thompson a third part of a lot of land 
with dwelling and other buildings which 
belonged to Peter Brown. In 1662 he 
and twenty-five other men purchased of 
the Indians the land territory which com- 
prises the town of Middleborough, and 
here he made and built his home. He 
married, in 1647 or 1648, Mary, daughter 
of Peter Brown. Her father was a "May- 
flower" passenger. His will of date Janu- 
ary 17, 1683, was proven June 5, 1685, 
and bequeaths to wife Mary, and to chil- 
dren: Ephraim, Ebenezer, Peter, Heze- 
kiah, John, Isaac, Mary Tomson. Chil- 
dren, born at Plymouth or Duxbury, Mas- 
sachusetts : Ephraim, mentioned below ; 
Ebenezer, September 30, 165 1 ; Peter, De- 
cember 25, 1653 ; Hezekiah, February 8, 
1656; John, June 7, 1658; Mary, August 
5, 1661 ; John, November 15, 1663; Isaac, 
April 11, 1666. 

(II) Ephraim (2) Tinkham, eldest 



107 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



child of Sergeant Ephraim (i) and Mary 
(Brown) Tinkham, was born August I, 
1649, m Duxbury, and died October 13, 
1 714, in Middleborough. He was con- 
stable in 1681, was propounded for a free- 
man in 1682, and settled in Middlebor- 
ough, Massachusetts. By inheritance his 
father's house in Middleborough became 
his home. He married, in 1678, Esther 
Wright, born in 1649, an d died March 28, 
1717. She was a granddaughter of Fran- 
cis Cook, "Mayflower" passenger in 1620, 
and a great-granddaughter of Alexander 
Carpenter. Children, born in Middlebor- 
ough, Massachusetts : John, August 23, 
1680; Jeremiah, mentioned below; Eph- 
raim, born October 7, 1682, and died July 
11, 1 713; Isaac, June, 1685; Samuel, 
March 19, 1688. 

(III) Jeremiah Tinkham, son of Eph- 
raim (2) and Esther (Wright) Tinkham, 
was born February 13, 1681, and died 
April 5, 1715. He married Joanna Powell, 
and resided in Middleborough, Massachu- 
setts. Among their children was Eben- 
ezer, mentioned below. 

(IV) Ebenezer Tinkham, son of Jere- 
miah and Joanna (Powell) Tinkham, was 
born December 16, 1714, and died Novem- 
ber 17, 1 801. He married Hannah Shaw, 
and among their children was Isaac, men- 
tioned below. 

(V) Isaac Tinkham, son of Ebenezer 
and Hannah (Shaw) Tinkham, was born 
November 26, 1741, and died April 18, 
1818. He married Lucretia Hammond, of 
Dartmouth, Massachusetts. Children, 
born in Middleborough, Massachusetts: 
1. Elias, September 1, 1767. 2. Betsey, 
born July 7, 1769, married Jeptha Whit- 
man, April 14, 1790. 3. Isaac, born April 
2 9< 1 773> died April 5, 1821 ; he served 
as a private in Captain Abishai Tink- 
ham's company, Colonel Ebenezer 
Sproutts' regiment ; entered service. May 
6, discharged May 9; entered service Sep- 



tember 6, discharged September 12, serv- 
ice nine days; company marched from 
Middleborough to Dartmouth on two 
alarms in 1778; muster rolls, "Massachu- 
setts Soldiers and Sailors," volume xv, 
page 768. 4. Ebenezer, mentioned below. 
5. Ruth, born October 5, 1779, married 
Josiah Barrows, April 5, 1801. 6. Na- 
thaniel, born July 21, 1783, died April 14, 
1856. 7. Hannah, born December 4, 1789, 
died December 2J, 1864. 

(VI) Ebenezer (2) Tinkham, son of 
Isaac and Lucretia (Hammond) Tink- 
ham, was born December 13, 1777, in 
Middleboro, Massachusetts, and died 
March 11, 1856. He married, June 3, 
1800, Hannah Morrison, daughter of Wil- 
liam Morrison, of Middleboro. Children : 
Calvin, born March 16, 1801, married Har- 
riet Harlow ; Betsey, June 8, 1803, mar- 
ried Jacob Thomas ; Sally, March 13, 
1805, married Levi Morse; Hannah, Au- 
gust 30, 1808, married Jacob Bennett ; 
Ebenezer, mentioned below ; Elias, April 
9, 1816, died April 30, 1817; William, 
April 13, 1818, died November 10, 1887; 
Abisha, April 23, 1820, married Hannah 
Harvey. 

(VII) Ebenezer (3) Tinkham, son of 
Ebenezer (2) and Hannah (Morrison) 
Tinkham, was born February 11, 1813, in 
Middleboro, Massachusetts, and died 
September 25, 1892, in Attleboro, Massa- 
chusetts. He was located in Norton, his 
business for the most of his active life 
being the machinist's trade. For a period 
of his life he lived in Attleboro and later 
in Pawtucket, Rhode Island. Ebenezer 
Tinkham married (first) April 10, 1843, 
Adeline Arnold, born July 6, 181 1, daugh- 
ter of Lemuel and Ann (Hodges) Arnold, 
of Norton, Massachusetts. Children : 
Abbie Morrison, born March 8, 1844, mar- 
ried (first) Edward G. Anthony, (second) 
William Sawyer ; Frederick Wallace, De- 
cember 24, 1845, married Ellen Plymp- 



108 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ton; Howard Arnold, September 21, 1847, 
married Elizabeth A. Arnold ; Annie Car- 
penter, June 20, 1857, married Charles R. 
Bates. Ebenezer Tinkham, the father, 
married (second) Alice Gruninger. 

(The Morrison Line). 

(I) The founder of this family was 
William Morrison, of Plymouth county, 
Massachusetts. He was a son of Robert 
Morrison. He settled in the town of 
Bridgewater, Massachusetts, in 1740. He 
died in prison during the French war, 
June 12, 1758. On November 10, 1748, 
he married Sarah Montgomery. She mar- 
ried (second) William Strowbridge, Jr., 
of Middleboro. Children : William, men- 
tioned below ; Robert, born January 26, 
1751, married Dorcas Staples; Alexander, 
baptized August 25, 1752; John, baptized 
December 22, 1754; James, born Febru- 
ary 28, 1757. 

(II) William (2) Morrison, son of Wil- 
liam (1) and Sarah (Montgomery) Mor- 
rison, was born August 16, 1749. He 
married, about 1773, Hannah Benton, 
born January 7, 1752, died March 13, 
1825. Until 1805 they lived in Middle- 
boro, when they removed to Farmington, 
Maine, where he died August 29, 1826. 
Children: William, born May 26, 1774, 
died January, 1788; Sally, February 11, 
1776, married Adam Keith; Robert, Feb- 
ruary 19, 1778 ; Hannah, mentioned be- 
low ; Betsey, April 28, 1782; John, March 
3, 1784; Jane, January 31, 1786. 

(III) Hannah Morrison, daughter of 
William (2) and Hannah (Benton) Mor- 
rison, was born December 11, 1779. She 
married in Middleboro, Massachusetts, 
June 3, 1800, Ebenezer Tinkham (see 
Tinkham VI). 

(The Arnold Line). 

The origin of the Arnold family is 
among the ancient princes of Wales. 



They trace from Gnir, a paternal descend- 
ant of Cadwalader, King of the Britons. 
From this ancestry came Roger Arnold, 
of Llanthony, in Monmouthshire. He 
was the first of the family to adopt a sur- 
name. Roger Arnold, Esq., married Joan, 
daughter of Sir Thomas Gamage, Knight 
Lord of Coytey. Mr. Arnold's descent 
was twelfth generation in direct line from 
Gnir, King of Gwentland. 

(I) Joseph Arnold, the American an- 
cestor, was born in England about 1625, 
and settled early in Braintree, Massachu- 
setts. He resided in the eastern part of 
Braintree, now the city of Quincy, on 
Quincy avenue. To his youngest son, 
Ephraim, he deeded the homestead, No- 
vember 25, 1696. He married at Brain- 
tree, June 8, 1648, Rebecca Curtis, who 
died August 14, 1693. Children: Wil- 
liam, born March 16, 1649, died young; 
John. April 3, 1650, died young; Joseph, 
October 8, 1652, died young ; John, April 
2 9. 1655 ; Samuel, August 7, 1658, died 
same day; Ephraim, mentioned below. 

(II) Ephraim Arnold, son of Joseph 
and Rebecca (Curtis) Arnold, was born 
in Braintree, Massachusetts, June 11, 
1664; lived also in Boston. He married 

Mary , and their children were : 

Samuel, mentioned below ; Mary, born 
October 1, 1690, married Benjamin Ham- 
mond ; Ephraim, July 21, 1695; Rebecca, 
married, December 11, 1722, Jonathan 
French. 

(III) Samuel Arnold, son of Ephraim 
and Mary Arnold, was born January 7, 
1689, in Braintree. He was drowned in 
the Neponset river, February 9, 1743. He 
married Sarah Webb, daughter of Chris- 
topher and Mary (Bass) Webb. She was 
born December 18, 1688. Children, born 
in Braintree: Samuel, May 16, 1713, died 
young; Mary, December 22, 1714, mar- 
ried John Spear; Sarah, September 14, 
1716, married Benjamin Hunt; Joseph, 

09 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



October n, 1718, married Mary Butts; 
John, October 4, 1720, died February 11, 
1738; Moses, June 11, 1722; Abigail, Feb- 
ruary 12, 1725, married Samuel Savel ; Na- 
thaniel, October 18, 1726; Deborah, No- 
vember 14, 1729, died December 14, 1792; 
David, mentioned below. 

(IV) David Arnold, son of Samuel and 
Sarah (Webb) Arnold, was born July 25, 
1732, in Braintree, Massachusetts, and 
settled near the Taunton line of the town 
of Norton, Massachusetts. He owned a 
place near Burts brook, Norton. He was 
a Revolutionary soldier, lieutenant in 
Captain Benjamin Morey's company, 
Colonel John Daggett's regiment, and 
served under various enlistments. He 
died in Norton in 1810. He married 
Phebe Pratt, of Taunton, Massachusetts, 
intentions entered in Norton, December 
9, 1756. Children, born in Norton: David, 
December 2t>, 1757 ; Phebe, April 1, 1760; 
John, May 23, 1763; Samuel, January 13, 
1766; Asa, February 3, 1768; Salmon, 
1771 ; William, March 28, 1774; Lemuel, 
mentioned below; Sally, 1778. 

(V) Lemuel Arnold, son of Lieutenant 
David and Phebe (Pratt) Arnold, was 
born September 15, 1776, and died Feb- 
ruary 13, 1861. He married Ann Hodges, 
of Norton, May 18, 1801. She was the 
daughter of Captain James and Mary 
(Briggs) Hodges, born April 22, 1777, 
and died February 7, 1854. Captain James 
Hodges, son of Nathan and Experience 
(Williams) Hodges, of Taunton, was 
born April 22, 1737, in Norton, Massachu- 
setts. His parents were married Decem- 
ber 12, 1728, in Norton. Captain Hodges 
first enlisted as a private in Captain Rob- 
ert Crossman's Minute-Men Company. 
He served under various enlistments. 
Children of Lemuel and Ann (Hodges) 
Arnold : Nancy, born July 23, 1802 ; Lem- 
uel, December 27, 1803 ; Mary P., Septem- 
ber 25, 1805 ; Laban, November 7, 1807 ; 



Adeline, mentioned below ; William, Earle, 
April 19, 1813; Samuel, September 17, 
1815 ; Charles G., September 19, 1817; 
Edwin Howard, January 11, 1819; David 
Augustus, May 11, 1823. 

(VI) Adeline Arnold, daughter of Lem- 
uel and Ann (Hodges) Arnold, married 
in Norton, Massachusetts, April 10, 1843, 
Ebenezer Tinkham (see Tinkham VII). 



GOOCH, 



And Allied Families. 



John Keene, the immigrant ancestor, 
was born in England, in 1578. In the 
early records his name is spelled Keen, 
Kean, Kein, and in all other ways that 
the name might be spelled. He came in 
the ship "Confidence," from Southamp- 
ton, England, sailing April 11, 1638, with 
his wife Martha, and children, John, Eliza, 
Martha, Josiah and Sarah. He settled at 
Hingham, Massachusetts, where he after- 
ward kept a tavern. Children : John, 
Eliza, Martha, Josiah, mentioned below; 
Sarah. 

(II) Josiah Keene, son of John Keene, 
was born in London, England, about 
1620, and came to America with his par- 
ents. From Boston he went with his par- 
ents to Hingham and later he settled in 
Marshfield, Massachusetts, near Duxbury. 
He married (first) at Marshfield, Abigail 
Little or Littell ; (second) in 1665, Han- 
nah Dingley, daughter of John Dingley. 
He served on the grand jury from Dux- 
bury, in 1689. The town confirmed to 
him a tract of thirty acres, February 24, 
1696-97, some land that his son Josiah, 
Jr., had bought of Francis West on Pud- 
ding Brook, adjoining land of Josiah 
Keene, Sr. He died soon after this date. 
Children of first wife : Josiah, mentioned 
below ; a daughter, died young. Children 
of second wife : John, born 1667, ancestor 
of the famous shipbuilders ; Mathew ; 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Ephraim; Hannah, married Isaac Old- 
ham ; Elizabeth ; Abigail ; Sarah. 

(III) Josiah (2) Keene, son of Josiah 

(1) Keene, was born in Marshfield, about 
1660. He had land laid out to him, Feb- 
ruary 21, 1690, in Duxbury, and was then 
doubtless of age. Soon afterward he 
bought nine acres on Pudding Brook, 
Duxbury. Thirty acres were laid out to 
him by the town of Duxbury, February 
24, 1696-97, as mentioned above. He was 
a grand juror in 1703, when he was still 
called "Jr." He married, about 1681, 
Lydia Baker. Children, born in Duxbury : 
Benjamin, born July 26, 1682 ; Josiah, Jr., 
September 27, 1683, died young; Abigail, 
April 7, 1686; Eleanor; Lydia; Josiah, 
soldier, went to the West Indies ; Na- 
thaniel, born November 11, 1692; Bethia; 
Samuel ; Isaac ; Hezekiah, mentioned be- 
low. 

(IV) Hezekiah Keene, son of Josiah 

(2) Keene, was born in Duxbury, August 
8, 1702, and died December 27, 1770. He 
married Alice Howland, daughter of 
Prince Howland, granddaughter of 
Arthur Howland, and great-granddaugh- 
ter of Arthur Howland, immigrant, whose 
brother John came in the "Mayflower." 
She was born October 30, 1709, died Oc- 
tober 13, 1785. Children, born in Dux- 
bury : Prince, mentioned below ; Charles, 
Mark, Robert, Alice, Diana, Bethia, Heze- 
kiah, Jr. ; Daniel, born December 30, 1748, 
settled in Bristol, Maine; Mary; William. 

(V) Prince Keene, son of Hezekiah 
Keene, was born in Duxbury or vicinity. 
He was of Duxbury, March 7, 1758, when 
he married at Pembroke, Elizabeth Ford. 
Children: Benjamin Prince, mentioned 
below ; Deborah, baptized December 27, 
1 761. 

(VI) Benjamin Prince Keene, son of 
Prince Keene, was born in Pembroke, 
September 5, 1759. He married Mary 
Gardner. They settled in Kinderhook, 



New York, but later removed to Apple- 
ton, Maine. Children : Caleb G., born at 
Kinderhook, September 1, 1787; Elizabeth 
Ford, June 12, 1789; Robert Stien, men- 
tioned below ; Maria Antoinette, born 
February 9, 1794; Benjamin, born Octo- 
ber 9, 1796, died March 4, 1876; Charles 
Augustus, born March 1, 1801. 

(VII) Robert Stien Keene, son of Ben- 
jamin Prince Keene, was born at Kinder- 
hook, New York, March 12, 1792. He 
came to Appleton, Maine, with his par- 
ents, and lived there the remainder of his 
life, dying there August 21, 1870. He was 
a farmer and owned extensive tracts of 
land. He married, December 12, 1822, at 
Appleton, Isabel Davis, born April 5, 
1804, died April 30, 1896, daughter of 
John and Mary (Martin) Davis, grand- 
daughter of John and Sarah (Bradford) 
Davis (see Bradford VI), of Friendship, 
Maine. Children: 1. Caleb Gardner, born 
October 12, 1823, died September 23, 
1824. 2. William G., born December 28, 
1824, died January 17, 1866; married, 
March 6, 1853, Mercy Jameson. 3. Eliza 
Ford, mentioned below. 4. Albert Gard- 
ner, born September 18, 1828, died in 
Worcester, Massachusetts, September 6, 
1851. 5. Theresa Antoinette, born Octo- 
ber 10, 1830; married Benjamin Jacobs, 
December 25, 1853, and died at Milwau- 
kee, Wisconsin, February 13, 1904. 6. 
Sarah Bradford, born August 25, 1832, 
died August 8, 1916; married, October 9, 
1853, Thomas H. Hunt, of Camden, 
Maine. 7. Isabel Davis, born June 21, 
1834; married, September 7, 1864, Daniel 
B. Ball, and died in Wilcox, Nebraska, 
September 11, 1901. 8. Edwin S., born 
October 31, 1836, died at Appleton, June 
25, 1883; married (first) June 2, 1861, 
Marietta Johnson, (second) September 6, 
1868, Martha Wentworth. 9. Robert 
Stien, born April 1, 1839, died March 12, 
1908, in Appleton ; married (first) Sep- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tember 10, 1876, Mary B. Wentworth, and 
(second) June 4, 1892, Cora E. Thomp- 
son. 10. Edward, born July 29, 1841, died 
March 14, 1842. 11. Ormond, born March 
21, 1843, died at Boston, September 29, 
1866. 

(VIII) Eliza Ford Keene, daughter 
of Robert Stien and Isabel (Davis) 
Keene, was born January 22, 1827. She 
married, October 19, 1851, James Mur- 
ray Smith, who was born at Aberdeen, 
Scotland, son of John and Anne (Denny) 
Smith. His father was a soldier in the 
British army and came with his command 
to Halifax, Nova Scotia, remaining there 
after his discharge and locating finally in 
Cape Breton, where he spent the remain- 
der of his life. James Murray Smith 
learned the printer's trade at Halifax and 
worked as a journeyman printer in Hali- 
fax, and in the offices of various news- 
papers in Boston and New York City. 
For many years he was employed in the 
composing room of the Boston "Herald." 
He died in 1876, and was buried at Apple- 
ton, Maine, by the side of his wife, who 
died October 24, 1866. Children of James 
M. and Eliza Ford (Keene) Smith : Annie 
Isabel Smith, died at the age of twenty- 
seven years ; Mary Theresa Smith, died 
at the age of twenty-two years ; Wallace 
B. Smith, resides at Minneapolis, Minne- 
sota ; Sarah Eliza Smith, married Wilzue 
Whitson, and resides in Neola, Iowa ; and 
Carrie Hunt Smith, mentioned below. 

(IX) Carrie Hunt Smith, daughter of 
James M. and Eliza Ford (Keene) Smith, 
was born in Boston, October 12, 1861. 
She received her education in the public 
schools in Nova Scotia. After the death 
of her parents she went to live with an 
uncle and aunt, Philip and Agnes Smith, 
in Nova Scotia. She returned to Boston, 
after a few years, and married, August 
14, 1895, John Brackett Gooch, who was 
born in Lyman, Maine, April 1, 1854, son 



of Charles and Asenath (Perkins) Gooch. 
He died December 24, 1898. Their only 
child, Helen Agnes Gooch, born May 25, 
1897, is now a student in the Massachu- 
setts State Normal School at Bridgewater. 
Mrs. Gooch resides in Whitman, and is a 
member of Deborah Sampson Chapter, 
Daughters of the American Revolution, of 
Brockton. 

Colonel Caleb Gardner, Revolutionary 
ancestor of Mrs. Carrie H. Gooch, of 
Whitman, lived in Newport, Rhode 
Island, and was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tionary War. He married, in August, 
1752, Eleanor Phillips, at Trinity Church, 
Newport. He died October 23, 1801, and 
she died November 26, 1803. Both died 
in Providence and are buried in Swan 
Point Cemetery, of that city. Children, 
born at Newport: John, born September 
8, 1753, died May 27, 1754; Elizabeth, 
March 29, 1755 ; John, September 10, 1756, 
died July 11, 1757; Eleanor, April 7, 1759; 
Mary, September 1, 1761, married Benja- 
min Prince Keene (see Keene VI). 

(The Bradford Line). 

The Bradford family history dates back 
in England to the beginning of surnames. 
One of the first martyrs burned at the 
stake during the reign of Bloody Mary 
was John Bradford, prebend of St. Paul's, 
and a celebrated preacher, born in Man- 
chester, in 1510, executed July 1, 1555; a 
friend of Rogers, Hooper, Latimer, Cran- 
mer and Ridley, who also perished in the 
same manner. The coat-of-arms is de- 
scribed : Argent on a fesse, three stags' 
heads erased or. 

The ancestry of Governor Bradford has 
not been traced further than his grand- 
father, though the evidence shows that 
he belonged to the ancient Bradford fam- 
ily in England. 

(I) William Bradford, grandfather of 
Governor William Bradford, lived at Aus- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



terfield, County Nottingham, England, and 
in 1575, he and John Hanson were the 
only subsidiaries located there. William 
Bradford was taxed twenty shillings on 
land ; John Hanson the same on goods. 
His grandson, William Bradford, lived 
with him after the death of his son, Wil- 
liam Bradford. The date of his burial at 
Austerfield was January 10, 1595-96. 
Children: William, mentioned below; 
Thomas; Robert, baptized June 25, 1561 
(with him Governor Bradford lived after 
his grandfather died) ; Elizabeth, bap- 
tized July 16, 1570. 

(II) William (2) Bradford, son of Wil- 
liam (1) Bradford, was born at Auster- 
field, about 1560, and died July 15, 1591 ; 
married Alice Hanson. Children, born at 
Austerfield: Margaret, baptized March 8, 
1585, died young; Alice, baptized Octo- 
ber 30, 1587; William, mentioned below. 

(III) Governor William (3) Bradford. 
son of William (2) Bradford, was born at 
Austerfield and baptized March 19, 1590. 
After his father and grandfather died, he 
went to live with his uncle, Robert Brad- 
ford, at Scrooby, and he joined the church 
where John Robinson preached. Though 
he had little schooling he became pro- 
ficient in Dutch, Latin, French and Greek, 
and even studied Hebrew so that he could 
read the Bible in the original form. He 
went to Holland with the Pilgrims. He 
learned the trade of fustian or friece 
weaving. He married, at Amsterdam, 
Holland, December 9, 1613, Dorothea 
May, who was then sixteen. They came 
in the "Mayflower," but before landing 
finally, his wife fell overboard and was 
drowned, December 9, 1620. Soon after 
the death of Carver, William Bradford 
succeeded him as governor of Plymouth 
and continued by annual reelection as 
governor, except in 1633, 1634, 1635, 1638 
and 1644, until he died. He wrote a his- 
tory of the colony and the orignal raanu- 

N E-7-8 I 



script may be seen in the State Library, 
Boston. A complete history of Bradford's 
life would require a volume by itself and 
include the history of the Colony of 
Plymouth. He married (second) Alice 
(Carpenter) Southworth, widow of Ed- 
ward Southworth, and daughter of Alex- 
ander Carpenter. She died March 26, 
1670, and he died May 9, 1657. Child by 
first wife : John, of Duxbury. Children 
by second wife : William, mentioned be- 
low ; Mercy, Joseph, mentioned below. 

(IV) Major William (4) Bradford, son 
of Governor William (3) Bradford, was 
born June 16, 1624, at Plymouth, and died 
February 20, 1703. He removed to Kings- 
ton, Massachusetts. He was assistant 
deputy governor and in 1687 one of Gov- 
ernor Andros's council. He became the 
chief military officer of the colony. His 
will is dated January 29, 1703. He mar- 
ried (first) Alice Richards, who died at 
Plymouth, December 12, 1671, a daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Wealthy Richards, of 
Weymouth. He married (second) Widow 
Wiswell ; (third) Mary Holmes, widow, 
who died June 6, 1714-15, widow of Rev. 
John Holmes, of Duxbury, and daugh- 
ter of John Atwood. Children by first 
wife: John, born February 20, 1653; Wil- 
liam, March 11, 1655; Thomas, of Nor- 
wich; Alice; Hannah; Mercy; Melatiah ; 
Mary ; Sarah ; Samuel, 1668. By second 
wife : Joseph, of Norwich. By third 
wife: Israel, mentioned below; David, 
Ephraim, Hezekiah. 

(V) Israel Bradford, son of Major Wil- 
liam (4) Bradford, was born at Kingston, 
about 1680. He married Sarah Bartlett, 
of Duxbury. Children, born at Kingston : 
Ruth, December 11, 1703, died young; 
Bathsheba, November 8, 1704; Benjamin, 
October 17, 1705; Abner, December 25, 
1707; Joshua, mentioned below; Ichabod, 
September 22, 1713 ; Elisha, March 26, 
1718. 



13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(VI) Joshua Bradford, son of Israel 
Bradford, was born at Kingston, June 23, 
1710. He married Hannah Bradford, 
daughter of Elisha Bradford, mentioned 
below. They moved to Medumcook, later 
called Friendship, Maine, where he was 
killed by Indians, May 2.7, 1756, and his 
children carried to Canada, where they 
remained until Quebec was taken. They 
then returned to their old home. Chil- 
dren: Cornelius, born December 10, 1737; 
Sarah, born October 16, 1739, married 
John Davis, and their son, John Davis, 
Jr., married Mary Martin and had Isabel 
Davis, who married Robert Stien Keene 
(see Keene VII) ; Rachel, born January 
28, 1 741 ; Mary and Melatiah, March 16, 
1744; Joshua, April 2, 1746; Hannah, 
March 9, 1748; Joseph, March 19, 1751 ; 
Benjamin, May 28, 1753; Elisha, October 
15- 1755; Winslow, 1757. 

(IV) Joseph Bradford, son of Gov- 
ernor William (3) Bradford, was born in 
1630. He married Jael, daughter of Rev. 
Peter Hobart, of Hingham, May 25, 1664. 
She died in 1730, aged eighty-eight years. 
They lived at Kingston on the Jones river, 
half a mile from its mouth. Children : 
Elisha, mentioned below ; Joseph, born 
April 18, 1665. 

(V) Elisha Bradford, son of Joseph 
Bradford, was born in 1664. He married 
(first) Hannah Cole ; (second) Bathsheba 
Le Brocke, September 7, 1718. His widow 
married (second) Joshua Oldham, of 
Pembroke. Children by second wife : 
Hannah, born April 10, 1720, married 
Joshua Bradford (VI), mentioned above; 
Joseph, December 17, 1721 ; Nehemiah, 
July 27, 1724; Laurana, March 26, 1726; 
Mary, August 1, 1727; Elisha, October 6, 
1729; Lois, January 30, 1731 ; Deborah, 
November 18, 1732, married Jonathan 
Sampson, Jr., and became mother of Deb- 
orah Sampson, who was famous because, 
disguised as a man, she served as a soldier 



in the Revolution ; Allis, November 3, 
1734; Asenath, September 15, 1736; Car- 
penter, February 7, 1739; Abigail, June 
20, 1741 ; Chloe, April 6, 1743. 



JACKSON, Willard Everett, 

Business Man. 

Abraham Jackson, the immigrant an- 
cestor, came to Plymouth in the third 
ship "Ann" in 1623, at the age of thirteen 
years, with Secretary Morton, to whom 
he was apprenticed, and whose daughter 
Remember he married, November 18, 
1657. Her father was a historical charac- 
ter, financial agent of the Pilgrims in Hol- 
land, and is said by one writer to have 
purchased the "Mayflower" for them. 
Remember was born to his second wife, 
Hannah, former widow of Richard Tem- 
plar, of Charlestown, and daughter of 
Richard Pritchard, at Plymouth in 1637, 
and she died July 24, 1707. She was 
granddaughter of George and Ann (Car- 
penter) Morton and of Alexander Car- 
penter. George Morton or Mount wrote 
a history of Plymouth colony, called 
"Mount's Relation." Abraham Jackson 
died October 4, 1714. Children: Lydia, 
born November 19, 1658; Abraham; 
Nathaniel ; Eleazer, mentioned below ; 
John. 

(II) Eleazer Jackson, son of Abraham 
Jackson, was born in October, 1669. He 
married, in 1690, Hannah Ransom, daugh- 
ter of Robert and Anna Ransom, of 
Plymouth and Sandwich, Massachusetts. 
Children, born at Plymouth : John, born 
1692; Eleazer, 1694; Joanna, 1696; Mercy, 
1697; Hannah, 1698; Mary, 1701 ; Abigail, 
1702; Deborah, 1704; Content, 1705; Sus- 
anna, 1706; Ransom, 1708; Benjamin, 
1710; Experience, 1713 ; Ephraim, men- 
tioned below. 

(III) Ephraim Jackson, son of Eleazer 
Jackson, was born in Plymouth, Septem- 



114 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ber 10, 1714; resided in Wrentham and 
Bridge water ; married, in 1736, Lydia 
Leach, granddaughter of Giles and Anna 
(Nokes) Leach, of Bridgewater. Among 
his children was Ephraim, mentioned be- 
low. 

(IV) Lieutenant Ephraim (2) Jackson, 
son of Ephraim (1) Jackson, was born in 
1739. He married (first) in 1765, Bath- 
sheba Trask, daughter of John and Pen- 
elope (White) Trask, granddaughter of 
William and Ann (White) Trask, great- 
granddaughter of William and Ann (Put- 
nam) Trask, the first settlers. Captain 
William Trask commanded a company in 
the Pequot war; he was a settler in Salem 
in 1628. Ann (White) Trask was a 
daughter of Joseph and Lydia (Rogers) 
White, of Mendon, granddaughter of 
Thomas White, pioneer, of Weymouth. 
Ann (Putnam) Trask was a daughter of 
Thomas and Ann (Holyoke) Putnam, 
granddaughter of John and Priscilla Put- 
nam, the pioneers, whose ancestry in 
England has been traced for many gen- 
erations. Lydia (Rogers) White was a 
daughter of Deacon John and Judith 
Rogers, who came from England. Eph- 
raim Jackson married (second) in 1784, 
Hannah Delano. His first wife died De- 
cember 24, 1782. He died at North 
Bridgewater, May 29, 1814. His grave, 
near the Brockton fair grounds in the old 
cemetery, is marked by the Sons of the 
Revolution. He served in the French and 
Indian war in Captain Simeon Cary's 
company, Colonel Thomas Doty's regi- 
ment, March 13 to December 11, 1758, 
and in the Revolutionary War in Cap- 
tain Daniel Lothrop's company, Colonel 
John Bailey's regiment, in 1775. Chil- 
dren by first wife, born at North Bridge- 
water: Asa, born December 5, 1765 ; Oli- 
ver, mentioned below; Caleb, September 
3, 1769; Lydia, February 26, 1771 ; Bath- 
sheba, July 28, 1772; George Washing- 



ton, October 19, 1776; Rhoda, January 
16, 1778; Calvin, June 17, 1779; Clarissa, 
December 20, 1780. By second wife: 
Barnard, Lucy and Polly. 

(V) Captain Oliver Jackson, son of 
Ephraim Jackson, was born at North 
Bridgewater, March 18, 1767, died March 
19, 1845. He married, May 6, 1807, Olive 
Gurney, born December 1, 1786, daughter 
of Captain Zachariah and Matilda (Pack- 
ard) Gurney, granddaughter of Lieuten- 
ant Zachariah and Mary Gurney, great- 
granddaughter of Zachariah and Sarah 
(Jackson) Gurney, of Weymouth and Ab- 
ington. Zachariah Gurney, father of the 
last mentioned Zachariah, married Mary 
Benson, daughter of Joseph Benson, 
granddaughter of John Benson, who came 
from Gonsham, Oxfordshire, England, in 
1638, and lived at Hingham and Hull, had 
wife Mary. Matilda (Packard) Gurney 
was a daughter of William and Sarah 
(Richards) Packard, of Bridgewater, 
granddaughter of David and Hannah 
(Ames) Packard, great-granddaughter of 
Zaccheus and Sarah (Howard) Packard, 
and great-great-granddaughter of Sam- 
uel Packard, who came from Windham, 
near Hingham, England, in 1638, moving 
afterward to Bridgewater. Sarah (Rich- 
ards) Packard, born 1730, died January 
4, 1806, was a daughter of Benjamin and 
Mehitable (Alden) Richards, of Plym- 
outh and Bridgewater, granddaughter of 
Joseph and Sarah Richards, and great- 
granddaughter of William and Grace 
Richards, who came from England to 
Plymouth, later to Scituate. Joseph 
Richards was in King Philip's war; set- 
tled in Weymouth. Mehitable (Alden) 
Richards was a daughter of Isaac and 
Mehitable (Allen) Alden, granddaughter 
of Joseph and Mary (Simmons) Alden, 
great-granddaughter of John and Pris- 
cilla (Molines) Alden, who came in the 
"Mayflower." Mehitable (Allen) Alden 



15 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was a daughter of Samuel and Sarah 
(Partridge) Allen, granddaughter of Sam- 
uel and Ann Allen, pioneers. Sarah (Par- 
tridge) Allen was a daughter of George 
and Sarah (Tracy) Partridge, grand- 
daughter of Stephen and Tryphosa Tracy, 
who came in the ship "Ann" in 1623. 
Hannah (Ames) Packard was a daughter 
of John and Sarah (Willis) Ames, grand- 
daughter of William and Hannah Ames, 
of Duxbury, and great-granddaughter of 
Richard Ames, of Bruton, Somersetshire, 
England. Sarah (Howard) Packard was 
a daughter of John and Martha (Hay- 
ward) Howard, mentioned elsewhere in 
this work. Sarah (Jackson) Gurney was 
a daughter of Edmund and Mary Jack- 
son, granddaughter of Edmund and Eliza- 
beth (Pilkinton) Jackson, of Boston. 
Children of Oliver Jackson, born at North 
Bridgewater: Benjamin Franklin, men- 
tioned below; Henry, born July 26, 181 1 ; 
Alpheus Gurney, June II, 1813; Eliza, 
August 21, 1817; Oliver, October 16, 1819; 
Thomas, September 21, 1822; Olive, No- 
vember 14, 1825. 

(V) Benjamin Franklin Jackson, son 
of Captain Oliver Jackson, was born at 
North Bridgewater, October 1, 1808. He 
married there, September 26, 1834, Re- 
becca Snell, daughter of Alvin Snell. Chil- 
dren, born at North Bridgewater: An- 
drew, born November 30, 1838; Laban, 
October 23, 1840; Oliver, November 15, 
1843; Alvin, January 8, 1847; Willard 
Everett, mentioned below. 

(VI) Willard Everett Jackson, son of 
Benjamin Franklin Jackson, was born in 
North Bridgewater, May 4, 1851. He re- 
sides on Summer street, Brockton, and is 
one of the leading contractors of the city, 
a progressive and enterprising citizen. 
He married, July 21, 1875, at West 
Bridgewater, Mary Jane Copeland, born 
there April 29, 1856, a daughter of Law- 
rence and Mary Lucella (Snell) Copeland 



(see Copeland VI). Mrs. Jackson is 
quite an active member of the Old 
Bridgewater Historical Society and of 
Deborah Sampson Chapter, Daughters of 
the American Revolution, of Brockton ; 
and she is also a member of the Alden 
Kindred of America and of the Congrega- 
tional Church. They had one son, Wil- 
lard Franklin, born May 2, 1876, in Brock- 
ton, and educated there in the public 
schools and in the Massachusetts Insti- 
tute of Technology, Boston ; now an arch- 
itect in Brockton ; married Lillian Buck, 
who was born in Easton, a daughter of 
Franklin and Ellen (Stearns) Buck. Chil- 
dren : Robert Copeland, Helen Stearns 
and Virginia. 

(The Copeland Line). 

(I) Lawrence Copeland, the immigrant 
ancestor, was born in Scotland, it is said, 
in 1599. The Scotch family of Copeland 
has been located in Durfriesshire since be- 
fore the year 1400. He came to this coun- 
try about the time that Cromwell sent 
over his Scotch prisoners of war and may 
have been one of them. He settled in 
Braintree, where he married, soon after- 
ward, December 12, 1651, Lydia Town- 
send, who died January 8, 1688. He died 
December 30, 1699, aged one hundred 
years, according to Marshall's diary and 
other testimony, as well as the town rec- 
ord. One statement of a contemporary 
makes him even older, but even if born 
in 1599, he was over fifty when he mar- 
ried his wife Lydia and seventy-five years 
old when his youngest child was born, a 
fact that supports the tradition that a 
first wife came with him. He was a 
farmer and a quiet citizen. Children by 
wife Lydia at Braintree: Thomas, born 
December 3, 1652, died young; Thomas, 
February 8, 1655 ; William, mentioned be- 
low ; John, February 10, 1659; Lydia, 
May 31, 1661 ; Ephraim, January 17, 



16 



i£*zjwwe#ice wv/ieuv?bd 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1665; Hannah, February 25, 1668; Rich- 
ard, July 11, 1672; Abigail, 1674. 

(II) William Copeland, son of Law- 
rence Copeland, was born at Braintree, 
November 15, 1656, and died there Octo- 
ber 30, 1716. He was a farmer. William 
Copeland is on record as dissenting from 
the vote of the town to pay the minister's 
salary in full, 1690-91 ; was fence viewer 
in 1696, and signed the agreement of the 
proprietors of Braintree, January 10, 
1697-98, to defend the title of the pro- 
prietors of Braintree to their land. He 
married, April 13, 1694, Mary (Bass) 
Webb, widow of Christopher Webb, Jr., 
and daughter of John and Ruth (Alden) 
Bass. Her mother Ruth was a daugh- 
ter of John and Priscilla (Molines) Al- 
den, the Mayflower Pilgrims, and all her 
descendants are eligible to the May- 
flower Society (see Alden in this work). 
Mary Bass descended from Samuel Bass, 
of Boston and Braintree, deacon, made 
freeman. May 10, 1634, deputy to the 
General Court in 1643, deacon, died 
December 30, 1694, aged ninety-four 
years, when his descendants numbered 
one hundred and sixty-two persons. Chil- 
dren of William Copeland, born at Brain- 
tree: William, born March 7, 1695; Eph- 
raim, February 1, 1697; Ebenezer, Feb- 
ruary 16, 1698; Jonathan, mentioned be- 
low; David, April 15, 1704; Joseph, May 
18, 1706; Benjamin, October 5, 1708; 
Moses, May 28, 1710; Mary, May 28, 
I7I3- 

(III) Jonathan Copeland, son of Wil- 
liam Copeland, was born August 31, 1701, 
in Braintree ; settled in Bridgewater, 
where he died September 11, 1790. He 
was a farmer, currier and tanner and tra- 
dition says his tannery was in West 
Bridgewater. He married, January 14, 
1723, Betty Snell, daughter of Thomas 
Snell, born 1671, and granddaughter of 
Thomas Snell, the immigrant (see Snell 



I). Children of Jonathan Copeland, all 
born at Bridgewater: Abigail, born De- 
cember 9, 1724; Betty, April 17, 1726; 
Jonathan, August 9, 1728; Mary, March 

26, 1 731 ; Joseph, April 28, 1734; Han- 
nah, May 13, 1737; Elijah, June 3, 1739; 
Daniel, September 13, 1741 ; Sarah, Feb- 
ruary 13, 1744-45; Ebenezer, mentioned 
below; Betty, September 23, 1750. 

(IV) Ebenezer Copeland, son of Jona- 
than Copeland, was born at Bridgewater, 
July 27, 1746, died at Foxborough, May 

27, 1830. He married (first) in Norton, 
Massachusetts, March 18, 1771, Abbie 
Godfrey, who was born there May 10, 
1752, died in 1800, daughter of Lieutenant 
James and Mary Godfrey (see Godfrey). 
Children of Ebenezer Copeland: Betty; 
Ebenezer, mentioned below ; James, Jan- 
uary 28, 1775 ; Lydia ; Molly, died in in- 
fancy ; Molly, Rachel, Oakes, September 
22, 1794; Ruth, James. He married (sec- 
ond) at Foxborough, Massachusetts, 
Bridget (Greatrocks) Wood, of Stough- 
tonham, widow of Dr. Joshua Wood. She 
died December 24, 1831. 

(V) Ebenezer (2) Copeland, son of 
Ebenezer (1) Copeland, was born in 
Bridgewater, June 21, 1773, lived and died 
there. He married (first) July 1, 1798, 
Mehitable Snell, who died March 11, 1800, 
aged twenty-five years. He married (sec- 
ond) at Norton, May 17, 1801, Hannah 
Godfrey, born May 9, 1778, daughter of 
Samuel and Mary (Hodges) Godfrey (see 
Godfrey V). Child by first wife : Mehit- 
able S., born January 2, 1799. Children by 
second wife: James, February 5, 1802; 
Rachel, September 1, 1803 ; Mary Hodges, 
November 19, 1804; Abby G., October 9, 
1806; Ruth, July 27, 1808, married Eph- 
raim Brett; Hannah G., June 13, 1810; 
child, November 2, 1812, died in infancy; 
Lawrence, mentioned below ; Betsey, 
May 17, 1819. 

(VI) Lawrence (2) Copeland, son ot 



117 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Ebenezer (2) Copeland, was born at 
Bridgewater, March 27, 1815. He attend- 
ed school in what is now West Bridge- 
water, and lived there until 1855, when 
he moved to Brockton, where he was suc- 
cessfully engaged in agricultural pursuits, 
and where he resided to the end of his 
life. He died May 19, 1892, and was bur- 
ied in Pine Hill Cemetery, West Bridge- 
water, in the family lot. He was a Re- 
publican in politics, and a member of the 
Congregational church of West Bridge- 
water. He married Mary Lucella Snell, 
daughter of John Eliot Snell (see Snell 
VI). Children: Grace Greenwood, born 
November 10, 1852, married Dennis Tri- 
bou ; Arthur Grenville, June 12, 1854, died 
February 20, 1865 ; Mary Jane, April 29, 
1856, married Willard E. Jackson (see 
Jackson VI); Anna Snell, September 23, 
1858, married Fred H. Rhue, of Vermont, 
and they reside in Brockton, on the Cope- 
land homestead. 

(The Snell Line). 

(I) Thomas Snell came from England 
and about 1665 settled in what was after- 
ward known as West Bridgewater, Mas- 
sachusetts. He was a nephew of Samuel 
Edson, one of the first settlers of Bridge- 
water. He prospered and became one of 
the largest landowners in the town. From 
him Snell's Plain, Snell's Meadow and 
other localities take their names. He 
married Martha Harris, daughter of 
Arthur Harris. Their children : Thomas, 
born 1671 ; Josiah, mentioned below ; 
Samuel, 1676; Amos, 1678; John, 1680; 
Joseph, 1683; Ann, 1685; Mary, 1689; 
Martha, 1692. 

(II) Josiah Snell, son of Thomas Snell, 
was born in Bridgewater in 1674, and 
died there in 1753. He married, in 1699, 
Anna, daughter of Zechariah Alden, of 
Duxbury. She died in 1705. She was a 
granddaughter of John and Elizabeth 
(Averill) Alden, and great-granddaugh- 



ter of John and Priscilla (Molines) Al- 
den, who came in the "Mayflower." Chil- 
dren of Josiah Snell, born at Bridge- 
water: Josiah, mentioned below; Abigail, 
1702; Zechariah, 1704. 

(III) Josiah (2) Snell, son of Josiah 
(1) Snell, was born in Bridgewater in 
1 701. He married, in 1728, Abigail Fobes, 
daughter of John Fobes. Children, born 
at Bridgewater: Josiah, born 1730; Anna, 
1732; Elijah, mentioned below; Mary, 
1736; Abigail, 1739; Rhoda, 1743; Na- 
than, 1748. 

(IV) Deacon Elijah Snell, son of 
Josiah (2) Snell, was born in Bridgewater 
in 1734. He was deacon of the church, 
and soldier in the Revolution. He was 
first lieutenant of Captain Eliakim How- 
ard's company, Third Plymouth County 
regiment, commissioned March 2, 1776; 
and was also in Colonel Edward Mitch- 
ell's company in 1776 and in 1780 in the 
Rhode Island campaigns (page 591, vol- 
ume xiv, "Massachusetts Soldiers and 
Sailors of the Revolutionary War"). He 
married (first) in 1760, Susanna, daugh- 
ter of Seth Howard; (second) Ann Rey- 
nolds, widow of Jonas Reynolds and 
daughter of Luke Perkins, of Bridge- 
water. Children, born at Bridgewater: 
Huldah, born 1762; Bezer, 1764; Calvin, 
1766; Susanna, 1770; Elijah, 1772; Mehit- 
able and Parnell, twins, 1774; Abigail, 
1776; Ann, 1778; Polly, 1780; John Eliot, 
mentioned below; Lucinda, 1789. 

(V) John Eliot Snell, son of Deacon 
Elijah Snell, was born in 1783, in Bridge- 
water, and married Annie LaFollet, of 
Maine. Their children were : Ann ; Sa- 
mantha; Susan; Josiah, who died young; 
Lloyd ; Mary Lucella, mentioned below ; 
Abbie ; Josiah; Seneca, who died young; 
Henry ; Eunice, and Jerusha. 

(VI) Mary Lucella Snell, daughter of 
John Eliot Snell, married Lawrence Cope- 
land (see Copeland VI). 



118 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(The Godfrey Line). 

(I) Richard Godfrey, American immi- 
grant, located in Taunton, now Raynham, 
as early as 1652, and was a landowner 
there; died in Taunton, 1691. He lived 
near the iron works. His will mentions 
his children. His wife was a daughter of 
John Turner. Children : Richard, men- 
tioned below ; John ; Robert ; Jane, mar- 
ried John Cobb ; Alice, married Peter 
Holbrook ; Susanna, married Edward 
Kettle. 

(II) Richard (2) Godfrey, son of Rich- 
ard (1) Godfrey, married Mary Rich- 
mond, daughter of John Richmond, of 
Taunton. Children : Alice, born August 
20, 1679 ! Richard, mentioned below ; 
Mary, May, 1682; Abigail, November 5, 
1684; Joanna, July 30, 1686; Sarah, May 
15, 1689; John, October 31, 1691, captain, 
father of the distinguished Brigadier- 
General George Godfrey, of Revolution- 
ary War fame; Joseph, March 1, 1695. 

(III) Richard (3) Godfrey, son of 
Richard (2) Godfrey, was born at Taun- 
ton, March 1, 1681 ; married, December 
15, 1709, Bathsheba Walker. Children, 
born at Raynham : Richard, born March 
23, 171 1 ; Bathsheba, May 24, 1713 ; James, 
mentioned below ; Mary, married Colonel 
Thomas Gilbert. 

(IV) Lieutenant James Godfrey, son 
of Richard (3) Godfrey, was born in 
Raynham or vicinity about 1715. He mar- 
ried Mary . Children, born in Nor- 
ton : Bathsheba, born May 9, 1738 ; Mary, 
May 4, 1740; James, March 19, 1742; 
Gershom, February 29, 1744; Samuel, 
mentioned below ; Rachel, September 2, 
1748; Abbie, May 10, 1752, married 
Ebenezer Copeland (see Copeland IV). 

(V) Samuel Godfrey, son of Lieuten- 
ant James Godfrey, was born at Norton, 
July 7, 1746. He married there, Decem- 
ber 29, 1774, Mary Hodges, daughter of 
Isaac Hodges (see Hodges IV). He lived 



in West Bridgewater. His daughter Han- 
nah, born May 9, 1778 (gravestone), mar- 
ried Ebenezer Copeland, Jr. (see Cope- 
land V). 

(The Hodges Line). 

(I) William Hodges, the pioneer, was 
born in England and came to Salem, 
Massachusetts, where he was a juror as 
early as March 27, 1638; thence he went 
to Taunton and his name appears there 
on the second list of proprietors of the 
town. He was reported among the men 
able to bear arms in 1643, and was ad- 
mitted a freeman of the colony, June 5, 
165 1, and on the same day elected con- 
stable of Taunton. He served on the 
grand jury, June 2, 1652, and on a coro- 
ner's jury, August 2, 1653, at Plymouth. 
He was one of the original owners of the 
Taunton Iron Works, subscribing twenty 
pounds for a whole share. He was well- 
to-do for his day. He married Mary An- 
drews, daughter of Henry Andrews, one 
of the original purchasers of the town of 
Taunton and one of the first seven free- 
men there, one of the first two deputies 
to the General Court in 1639 an d deputy 
also in 1643, 1644, 1647 and 1649; dying 
in 1653. Mary (Andrews) Hodges was 
born about 1628; she married (second) 
April 2, 1654, Peter Pitts, of Taunton. 
Children, born in Taunton : John, born 
1650; Henry, mentioned below. 

(II) Henry Hodges, son of William 
Hodges, was born in 1652 at Taunton, 
and died there September 30, 1717, aged 
sixty-five years. He married, December 
17, 1674, at Taunton, Esther Gallop, 
daughter of John and Sarah (Lake) Gal- 
lop. She was born July 31, 1653. He 
was a leading man of the town, holding 
town offices for a long period ; captain of 
the military company ; deacon and presid- 
ing elder of the church and at times oc- 
cupying the pulpit with Rev. Samuel 
Danforth, the pastor. He owned much 



119 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



real estate and settled many estates. 
From his prominence as a lot-layer in 
allotting the common lands it is presumed 
that he was a surveyor. He was on a 
coroner's jury at Plymouth, October 30, 
1678; on a grand jury, June 6, 1683 ; con- 
stable ; selectman for twenty-eight years, 
1687 to 1701, 1703 to 1709, 171 1 to 1716; 
member of the town council in 1689-90, 
and deputy to the General Court five 
years, 1704, 1713, 1715, 1716 and 1717. 
His name appears in the roster of the 
Third Squadron, April 8, 1682, ordered 
to bring arms to church on Sundays ; he 
was ensign of the first military company 
in March, 1690, when the town was 
greatly excited over the question of cap- 
taincy of the company. Before 1703 the 
second military company was organized 
and he became its first captain, retaining 
his commission until 1714. He was a 
subscriber to the fund for the Canada Ex- 
pedition in 1690. When the North Pre- 
cinct of Taunton was established he do- 
nated land as an inducement for a minis- 
ter to settle in the new parish. He was 
a shareholder in the Taunton Iron Works. 
He died September 30, 1717, and his 
gravestone is standing. Children, born in 
Taunton: Mary, born February 3. 1676; 
Esther, February 17, 1677-78; William, 
March 18, 1679-80; Charity, April 2, 1682 ; 
John, 1684; Henry, 1685-86; Joseph, men- 
tioned below ; Benjamin, about 1691 ; 
Ephraim, about 1693 ; Elizabeth ; Abigail. 
(Ill) Major Joseph Hodges, son of 
Captain Henry Hodges, was born in 
Taunton, about 1688, and died in 1745, 
soon after his return from the capture of 
Louisburg, Cape Breton. He was very 
prominent in the civil and ecclesiastical 
councils of Bristol county. Soon after 
his first marriage he settled in the south- 
erly part of Norton, near the Taunton 
line at Crooked Meadow, where his grand- 
son, Seth Hodges, lived as late as 1844. 



There he built a saw mill on Cedar Swamp 
Brook. He was assessor of Norton, 1723, 
1724, 1725 and 1727; selectman, 1729, 
1730, 1733. 1734, I74i an d 1742; deputy 
to the General Court in 1737; deacon of 
the church from 1736 until he died; en- 
sign as early as 1729, captain, 1737, and 
he commanded a company in the old 
French and Indian war, was major of the 
Bristol county regiment which took part 
in the siege of Louisburg in 1745, dying 
on the journey home or soon afterward. 
His will was dated February 26, 1744-45, 
mentioning among other personal effects 
a silver-hilted sword. He married (first) 
March 11, 1712-13, in Taunton, Bethiah, 
born 1692, died between 1731 and 1738, 
daughter of Thomas and Mary (Macy) 
Williams. He married (second) Octo- 
ber 26, 1738, in Barrington, Rhode Island. 
Mary (Toogood) Barney, daughter of 
Nathaniel and Elizabeth Toogood. She 
was born in 1696, at Swansea ; married 
(first) December 10, 1710, Joshua Kent; 
(second) January 22, 1729-30, Joseph 
Barney, of Rehoboth. She died May 20, 
1782, at Rehoboth, and was buried at 
Barrington. Children, all by his first 
wife, born in Norton : Joseph, born April 
25, 1714; Charity, March 30, 1716; Tim- 
othy, October II, 1718; Jonathan, Feb- 
ruary 26, 1721-22; Bethia, November 30, 
1723; Mary, July 2, 1726; Isaac, men- 
tioned below ; Mehitable, October 24, 

I73i- 

(IV) Isaac Hodges, son of Major Jo- 
seph Hodges, was born at Norton, Feb- 
ruary 4, 1728-29. He married, January 
31, 1 75 1, Mary Pratt. Children, born at 
Norton: Isaac, born March 27, 1752, died 
young; Jesse, October 3, 1755 ; Isaac, Au- 
gust 25, 1757; Lucelde, May 27, 1760; 
Mary, married, December 29, 1774, Sam- 
uel Godfrey (see Godfrey V) ; Anne, No- 
vember 21, 1763 ; Darius, October 2, 1765 ; 
Rachel, March 11,1768; Seth. July 1, 1770. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



COLE, James, 

Public Official. 

The surname Cole is derived from an 
ancient personal name of unknown an- 
tiquity. Coel, as the name was formerly 
spelled, was the founder of Colchester, 
England, and was one of the early kings 
of Britain. Justice Cole lived in the days 
of King Arthur. Another Cole defeated 
Swayne, the Danish chieftain, at Pinhoe, 
in the year iooi. William Cole and wife 
Isabella are mentioned in the Assize Roll 
of County Cornwell in the year 1201, 
showing that Cole was at that time in 
use as a surname. 

Various branches of the English Cole 
family bear coats-of-arms, all indicating 
relationship by the similarity of the de- 
vice. The Hertfordshire branch, to which 
the American family is believed to be- 
long, bears : Party per pale or and argent, 
a bull passant within a bordure sable, on 
a chief of the third three bezants. Crest : 
A demi-dragon vert bearing in his dex- 
ter paw a javelin armed or, feathered 
argent. 

(I) James Cole was living in Highgate, 
a suburb of London, England, in 1616. 
According to tradition he was very fond of 
flowers. He married, in 1624, Mary Lobel, 
daughter of the noted botanist and physi- 
cian, Mathieu Lobel, who was born in 1538, 
at Lille, France, son of Jean de Lonel, 
a distinguished lawyer. Dr. Mathieu 
Lobel was a physician at Montpelier, 
Germany, Italy and Switzerland. He 
practiced medicine at Antwerp and was 
physician to William of Orange, at Lon- 
don, where he was physician to James I. ; 
he was author of books on medicinal 
plants. The plant lobelia is named for 
him. He died at Highgate, March 2, 
1616. In 1632 James Cole, wife and two 
children, came to Saco, Maine, and in the 
following year located at Plymouth, Mas- 



sachusetts, where he was admitted a free- 
man in the same year. He was a mariner. 
In 1634 his name appears on the tax list 
and he received a grant of land. His house 
was on the site of the present Baptist 
church. He was the first settler on what 
is still known as Cole's Hill, where the 
first burying ground of the Pilgrims is 
located. He had various other grants of 
land; was surveyor of highways in 1641- 
42, 1651-52; constable in 1641-44; and 
served in the Pequot war. Soon after his 
arrival at Plymouth he opened the first 
inn, which was kept by himself and son 
James until 1698. This was probably the 
first public house in New England. Chil- 
dren : James, born 1626, in England ; 
Hugh, mentioned below ; John, November 
21, 1636; Mary, 1639, married (first) John 
Almy, (second) John Pococke. 

(II) Hugh Cole, second son of James 
and Mary (Lobel) Cole, born 1627, prob- 
ably in London, England, came to Amer- 
ica with his parents in 1632, and with 
them probably went to Plymouth, of 
which he was made a freeman in 1657. 
At the opening of King Philip's war in 
1675 two of the sons of Mr. Cole were 
made prisoners by the Indians. Philip 
ordered them to be set at liberty, because 
their father had been his friend. He sent 
word to Hugh Cole that for safety he 
should remove his family to Rhode Island, 
which he did. Perhaps in an hour after 
he left his house was in flames. He 
lived for a time at Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island. According to Savage, Mr. Cole 
was a sergeant in the war. He removed 
to Swansea in 1677, and built a house 
within a few rods of the present home of 
Miss Abby Cole, and this land on the 
Kickemuit river has never passed out of 
the possession of the Cole family, being 
now owned by the lady named. He was 
selectman of Swansea, and for a number 
of years deputy to the General Court. He 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



died in Swansea, January 22, 1699. He 
married (first) January 8, 1654, Mary, 
born August 17, 1635, in Scituate, daugh- 
ter of Richard and Ann (Shelly) Foxwell, 
of Barnstable, Massachusetts, her father 
having come from England with Gov- 
ernor Winthrop in 1631, and settled in 
Scituate. He married (second) January 
1, 1689, Elizabeth, widow of Jacob Cook, 
former widow of William Shurtliffe, and 
daughter of Thomas and Ann Lettuce, of 
Plymouth. She died in Swansea, Massa- 
chusetts, October 31, 1693, and he mar- 
ried (third) January 30, 1694, Mary, 
widow of Deacon Ephraim Morton, for- 
mer widow of William Harlow, and 
daughter of Robert and Judith Shelly. Of 
his ten children the first three were born 
in Plymouth and the others in Swansea. 
They were : James, born November 3, 
1655; Hugh, March 6, 1658; John, May 
15, 1660; Martha, April 16, 1662; Anna, 
December 14, 1664; Ruth, January 8, 
1666; Joseph, May 18, 1668; Ebenezer, 
1671 ; Mary, 1676; Benjamin, mentioned 
below. 

(III) Benjamin Cole, youngest child of 
Hugh and Mary (Foxwell) Cole, was 
born 1678, in Swansea, where he lived, 
and was a husbandman. He was a dea- 
con in the church from 1718 until the time 
of his death, September 29, 1748. The 
house he built in 1701 is still standing. 
He married, June 27, 1701, Hannah, 
daughter of Caleb and Elizabeth (Bul- 
lock) Eddy. She died May 15, 1768, and 
both were interred in the Kickemuit bury- 
ing ground. Children : Hopestill, born 
October 9, 1703; Jonathan, October 4, 
1704; Benjamin, mentioned below; Fox- 
til, September, 1708; Isaiah, March 4, 
1710; Ebenezer, March 29, 1712; Andrew, 
May 28, 1714; Hannah, January 14, 1716. 

(IV) Benjamin (2) Cole, son of Ben- 
jamin (1) and Hannah (Eddy) Cole, was 
born October 31, 1706, in Swansea, and 



died December 20, 1776. He married 
(first) November 19, 1730, Elizabeth, 
daughter of Thomas and Hope (Huckins) 
Nelson, of Middleboro, Massachusetts. 
She died March 25, 1748, and he married 
(second) September 22, 1749, Hannah, 
widow of Job Luther, and daughter of 
Richard and Mary Harding. Children : 
Isaiah, mentioned below; Hope, born 
1733 ; Lois, 1735 ; Hannah, 1736; Andrew ; 
Lillis, 1745; Elizabeth; Benjamin, July 7, 
I 75°! J°b» March 28, 1753; Parker, Janu- 
ary 13, 1756; Richard, 1758; Ebenezer, 
1760. 

(V) Isaiah Cole, eldest child of Benja- 
min (2) and Elizabeth (Nelson) Cole, 
born 1731, in Swansea, was a shipwright 
and lived in Warren, Rhode Island, until 
after the Revolution, when he removed to 
Middleboro, Massachusetts. He was a 
soldier in the Revolution, but of the sev- 
eral Isaiahs' and Josiahs' services, there 
being some confliction between the two 
names, there is too much uncertainty 
to attempt to assign to each his share. 
He died November 9, 181 1, at Middleboro. 
His widow died February 8, 1827, at the 
home of her daughter Abigail, in Warren, 
Rhode Island. Children : Thomas, born 
November 29, 175 1 ; Elizabeth, April 25, 
1753; Andrew, January 10, 1755; James, 
June 1, 1757; Nathaniel, mentioned be- 
low; Abigail, May 26, 1763; Mary, Octo- 
ber 27, 1765; Samuel, March 3, 1769. 

(VI) Captain Nathaniel Cole, fourth 
son of Isaiah Cole, was born November 
20, 1759, in Warren, Rhode Island, and 
was a ship carpenter by trade. He was 
a patriot of the Revolution ; served in Cap- 
tain Amos Washburn's company, Colonel 
Ebenezer Sprout's regiment, May 6, 1778; 
also Captain Elisha Haskell's company, 
Colonel Benjamin Hawe's (Howe's) regi- 
ment, July 29, 1778, to September 11, 
1778. After the close of the war, Mr. 
Cole removed to Middleboro, Massachu- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



setts, having purchased a farm upon 
which he lived. He was captain of the 
Second Company of Middleboro militia 
from May 7, 1805, to 1809. Subsequently 
he purchased a farm between Windsor 
and Hartland, Vermont. He died Janu- 
ary 12, 1846, at the home of his daughter, 
Abigail, in Hartland. He married, Octo- 
ber 17, 1784, Nancy Anthony, born Janu- 
ary 24, 1762, in Swansea, Massachusetts, 
died December 8, 1828. Children: James, 
mentioned below ; Judith, born July 24, 
1788; William, April 6, 1790; Samuel, 
April 10, 1792; Thomas, January 10, 1794; 
Abigail, September 4, 1796. 

(VII) James (2) Cole, eldest child of 
Captain Nathaniel and Nancy (Anthony) 
Cole, born November 20, 1785, in Warren, 
was a master millwright, and died at Mid- 
dleboro, Massachusetts, October 16, 1871. 
He owned and lived upon a farm at Assa- 
wampsett, some four miles from the farm 
of his father. His children, all born in 
Middleboro, were : Abigail, born Septem- 
ber 4, 1814; Andrew, September 1, 1816; 
Mary Ann, November 23, 1817; James, 
mentioned below ; Harrison G. D., No- 
vember 4, 1820; Luther, May 20, 1822; 
Nathaniel, May 3, 1824; Robert Vaughn, 
July 14, 1826; Judith Jacobs, August 10, 
1828; Ellersener Thayer, March 26, 1832. 

(VIII) James (3) Cole, second son of 
James (2) Cole, was born April 7, 1819, 
in Middleboro, and died there December 
8. 1910. The paternal residence in which 
he was born stood on the site of the pres- 
ent railroad station at Lakeville. Mr. 
Cole received only an ordinary education, 
but he was a man of versatile genius, and 
was justly popular and widely known in 
Plymouth county, where he served as 
deputy sheriff from 1869 until his death. 
There was never a more popular officer, 
and he found it easy to conduct the duties 
of his office, because of his innate kind- 
ness and sympathy with the misfortunes 



of others. It was rarely necessary for 
him to use handcuffs in handling those in 
his custody, owing to his well-known 
good nature, as well as great strength. 
For more than half a century he was a 
dealer in horses, was a lover of and ex- 
pert judge of horses, known among breed- 
ers of all parts of the United States. 
Among the first to import blooded horses 
from Vermont and the West, he realized 
handsome returns from his enterprise. 
His rigid honesty, kindly nature and ener- 
getic character gained him a multitude of 
friends and admirers, and he prospered 
in life. From its organization until his 
death he was director of the Middle- 
boro Savings Bank, and he was a keen 
judge of real estate values, and settled 
many estates. His judgment was often 
sought as an appraiser and his decisions 
were fair, wise and always accepted. For 
fifty years he was an auctioneer, and the 
scene of his activities was extensive, as 
were those activities. In 1869 he became 
affiliated with the Masonic fraternity, con- 
tinuing to the end of his life a faithful 
and useful member. His chief diversion 
was playing checkers, in which he became 
highly skilled, winning many victories 
over professional players. In early life 
Mr. Cole acted in politics as a Democrat, 
and about the beginning of the Civil War 
he espoused the cause of Republican prin- 
ciples, to which he thenceforward adhered. 
It was said of him : "He was a good neigh- 
bor, a generous friend of the needy, an 
indulgent husband and loving father, and 
a valued and esteemed citizen." 

He married Beulah Ann Macomber, 
born September 16, 1824, died June 20, 
1885, in Middleboro, buried in Central 
Cemetery of that town. She was a daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Beulah (Thomas) Ma- 
comber, of Middleboro (see Macomber 
VII). Children: Charlotte Elizabeth and 
Emily Frances, mentioned below. 



123 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(IX) Charlotte Elizabeth Cole, mar- 
ried, December 8, 1864, Rufus Henry 
Ellis, son of Rufus and Lydia (Sears) 
Ellis, who was born 1840, in Sandwich, 
Massachusetts, and received his educa- 
tional training in Paul Wing's School for 
Boys at Sandwich, and at the Pierce 
Academy, Middleboro, Massachusetts. 
Early in life he went to sea and made 
several voyages in coasting vessels. He 
soon abandoned this life and became an 
apprentice to a tinner in New Bedford, 
where he continued until the completion 
of his trade. Going to Middleboro, he 
was long employed by George H. Doane, 
continuing in the same shop fifty-five 
years. While in New Bedford he was a 
member of the volunteer fire department, 
and when the city of New Bedford re- 
placed its hand implements for steam, Mr. 
Ellis was instrumental in bringing "Old 
Six" to Middleboro, where he was also a 
member of the fire department. He was 
a member of the Veteran Firemen's Asso- 
ciation. His record of employment in one 
place is probably without parallel. He 
died March 22, 1916, in Middleboro. He 
was a trustee of the Middleboro Savings 
Bank, and was highly estemed as a citi- 
zen. Mrs. Ellis is a charter member of 
the Middleboro Woman's Club and of 
Nemasket Chapter, Daughters of the 
American Revolution. 

(IX) Emily Frances Cole married 
Lance de Jongh, a well known writer and 
public speaker, who died at Wickford, 
Rhode Island, April 10, 1908. His death 
was superinduced by his efforts to ex- 
tinguish a fire in his room. Mr. de Jongh 
was a native of Newport, son of William 
and Amelia (Tower) de Jongh, of South 
Carolina. In the early seventies he went to 
Middleboro, where he resided for a time, 
prominent in local political circles, and an 
old school Democrat. He was one of the 
oldest newspaper men in Rhode Island, 



and for years had been the south county 
correspondent of the Associated Press. 
He was a Civil War veteran, serving as a 
captain's clerk on the United States 
Steamer "Brandywine," and was a mem- 
ber of the Grand Army of the Republic 
post at Wickford. His remains were 
buried in the Cole family lot at Central 
Cemetery. Besides his wife, his only 
known living relative is Charlemagne 
Tower, former United States ambassador 
to Germany. 

(The Macomber Line). 

"The evidence is convincing," says 
Everett S. Stackpole, in his "Macomber 
Genealogy," that "William and John Ma- 
comber came from Devonshire, England, 
or vicinity, along with the other settlers 
of Plymouth and Bristol Counties, Mass." 
The tradition is current in almost all the 
branches of the Macomber family that 
their first American ancestors were of 
Scotch origin. In 1904 Dove, Lockhart 
& Smart, lawyers of Edinburgh, wrote to 
Charles Sumner Macomber, lawyer of Ida 
Grove, Iowa : "Judging from your name 
we should say you were undoubtedly a 
* Scot by origin. The name 'Macomber,' in 
its various forms, 'McCoombe,' 'McCum- 
ber,' 'Macomber,' 'McComish,' 'McCom- 
bie,' is well known here. As you are no 
doubt aware it is claimed (and the claim 
we believe is generally well admitted) 
that the Macombers are a branch of the 
clan Mcintosh — also sometimes called the 
Shaws. The branch was founded by 
Shaw McDuff, second son of the fifth 
Earl of Fife." 

(I) John Macomber was admitted a 
freeman and enrolled in the militia of 
Taunton in 1643. ^ n ^59 he was granted 
permission to build a mill in Taunton. 
There were then four persons in his fam- 
ily, and there is no record of more. In 
1680 he was in a military company. A 
24 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



deed shows that he was living in 1687, 
and another deed shows that he died be- 
fore 1690. He was a carpenter by trade ; 
was twice married, the name of his first 
wife not ascertained. He married (sec- 
ond) January 7, 1686, Mary Babcock. His 
property was equally divided between a 
daughter, Mary Staples, and a son, John 
Macomber. 

(II) John (2) Macomber, son of John 

(1) Macomber, signed a deed with his 
father in 1672, showing that he was then 
of age. He served in military companies 
in 1680 and 1700 and also in Queen Anne's 
War in 1691. His will is dated January 
22, 1722, and was probated October 21, 
1725. In it he named his wife, four sons, 
and grandchildren Abiel, William, Anna 
and Sarah. He married, July 16, 1678, 
Ann, daughter of William and Ann (Hail- 
stone) Evans, of Taunton. His four sons, 
who lived in Taunton, were : Thomas, 
born July 30, 1679; John, mentioned be- 
low; William, January 31, 1684; Samuel, 
married Sarah Pierce. 

(III) John (3) Macomber, son of John 

(2) and Ann (Evans) Macomber, born 
March 8, 1681, died December 14, 1747, in 
Taunton. He was a soldier of Queen 
Anne's War in 1701 and 171 1. On Janu- 
ary 5i I 73 2 > ne deeded one-third of his 
farm to his sons, Nathaniel and Josiah. 
His son, Elijah, inherited the homestead 
in East Taunton. He married (first) 
March 17, 1707, Elizabeth Williams, born 
April 18, 1686, in Taunton, daughter of 
Nathaniel and Elizabeth (Rogers) Wil- 
liams, granddaughter of Richard Williams 
' v q v.). She was also a granddaughter of 
John and Ann (Churchman) Rogers, and 
great-granddaughter of Thomas Rogers, 
of the "Mayflower" colony. She died 
May 2, 1732, and he married (second) in 
Raynham, July 12, 1733, Lydia (born 
King), widow of Nathaniel Williams. 
She survived him and died March 31, 



1748. Children : Nathaniel, born Febru- 
ary 9, 1709; Josiah, February 19, 1711; 
John, February 10, 1713: Elizabeth, 
March 15, 1715 ; James, September 12, 
1717; Elijah, October 25, 1718; Mary, 
July 30, 1721 ; Abiah, June 8, 1724; An- 
nah, January 2, 1726; Joseph, mentioned 
below. 

(IV) Joseph Macomber, youngest child 
of John (3) Macomber, born March 28, 
1732, in Taunton, resided in what is now 
Lakeville, on a neck of land between two 
lakes, known as Assawampsett Neck, then 
in Middleboro. His house is still stand- 
ing. He served as a soldier of both the 
French and Revolutionary wars ; was a 
corporal in Captain Thomas Cobb's com- 
pany. Colonel John Winslow's regiment, 
for the defense of the eastern frontiers, 
mustered at Castle Island, June 21, 1754. 
A muster roll dated January 31, 1759, 
shows him as first lieutenant, Captain 
Job Winslow's company, Colonel Jede- 
diah Preble's regiment, regiment raised 
by Massachusetts for the reduction of 
Canada ; served March 13 to November 
T 3> I 75&> an< 3 credited with fifteen days' 
travel home. He was lieutenant in Cap- 
tain John Taplin's company from March 
31, 1759, to December 31, 1760, at Fort 
Cumberland, roll dated Boston, December 
31, 1760. He was lieutenant in Captain 
Abiel Pierce's company of minute-men, 
serving two days at the Lexington Alarm, 
at the outbreak of the Revolution. He 
was sergeant in Captain Levi Rounse- 
ville's company, Colonel D. Brewer's regi- 
ment, from May 5, 1775, serving three 
months, four days. He was commis- 
sioned January 8, 1776, as lieutenant in 
Captain Edward Seagrovy's company of 
the Thirteenth Regiment, commanded by 
Colonel Joseph Reed. He married, March 
16, 1 761, Thankful Canedy, daughter of 
Captain William and Elizabeth (Eaton) 
Canedy, descended through Elizabeth 

125 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Eaton from Francis Eaton, Samuel Fuller 
and John Billington of the "Mayflower" 
immigrants. Dr. Samuel Fuller's third 
wife, Bridget Lee, was the mother of 
Samuel (2) Fuller, born 1625 in Ply- 
mouth. He was one of the twenty-six 
original proprietors of .Middleboro, was 
pastor of the church there, where he died 
August 17, 1695. He married Elizabeth 
Brewster, and their third daughter, Eliza- 
beth, born 1666, married Samuel (2) 
Eaton. The last named was born 1665, in 
Plymouth, son of Samuel Eaton, who came 
with his parents, Francis and Sarah Eaton, 
when an infant, on the ''Mayflower.'' 
Samuel (1) Eaton lived in Duxbury, Ply- 
mouth and Middleboro, dying 1684, in the 
latter town. His second wife, Martha 
(Billington) Eaton, was a daughter of 
Francis and Christian (Penn) Billington, 
and granddaughter of John and Helen 
Billington, who came on the "Mayflower" 
to Plymouth. Joseph Macomber's chil- 
dren : Joseph, mentioned below ; Thank- 
ful, born January 21, 1764; Betsey, March 
24, 1765; Nathan, February 2, 1767; 
Frederick, December 29, 1768; Elijah, 
October 14, 1770; Judith, August 24, 1772; 
Olive, March 20, 1774; Lurana, February 
19, 1778; Hannah, May 23, 1780. 

(V) Joseph (2) Macomber, eldest child 
of Joseph (1) and Thankful (Canedy) 
Macomber, was born September 8, 1762, 
in Middleboro, and lived on the paternal 
homestead, where he died July 3, 1800. 
Before he was eighteen years old he 
entered the Revolutionary army, first in 
Captain Amos Washburn's company, 
Colonel Ebenezer White's regiment, from 
August 1 to 9, 1780; company marched to 
Rhode Island on an alarm. He was also 
in Captain Henry Pierce's company, Colo- 
nel Theophilus Cotton's regiment, from 
March 8 to 31, 1781, serving twenty-six 
days at Rhode Island, company raised by 
order of Governor Hancock to serve forty 



days unless sooner discharged. He mar- 
ried (published October 23, 1792, in 
Middleboro) Alethea Robinson, daughter 
of Josiah and Theodora (Godfrey) Rob- 
inson, born about 1768, died 1836. Chil- 
dren : Joseph, mentioned below ; Josiah 
Robinson, born February 20, 1795 ; Eliza- 
beth, August 22, 1797. 

(VI) Joseph (3) Macomber, eldest 
child of Joseph (2) and Alethea (Robin- 
son) Macomber, born August 14, 1793, in 
Middleboro, died there April 22, 1862. He 
married (first) March 7, 1819, Lois, 
daughter of Edward and Lucy Sherman, 
born August 9, 1798, died October 25, 
1820. He married (second) October 5, 
1823, Beulah Thomas, daughter of 
Churchill and Hannah C. (Cushman) 
Thomas, born November 23, 1801, died 
July 18, 1892 (see Thomas VII). Child 
of first marriage : Lois Sherman, born 
August 12, 1820; children of second mar- 
riage : Beulah Ann, mentioned below ; 
Clarinda Adams, born October 3, 1826; 
Hannah Cushman, July 14, 1829; Eliza- 
beth Clark, April 2, 1832. 

(VII) Beulah Ann Macomber, daugh- 
ter of Joseph (3) Macomber, and his sec- 
ond wife, Beulah (Thomas) Macomber, 
born September 16, 1824, became the wife 
of James (3) Cole, of Middleboro (see 
Cole VIII). 

(The Thomas Line). 

(I) William Thomas, said to have 
been of Welsh descent, and one of the 
merchant adventurers of London, came 
from Yarmouth, England, in the "Marye 
and Ann" in 1637, and settled in Marsh- 
field, Massachusetts, with his son Na- 
thaniel. He was assistant deputy gov- 
ernor in 1642-50; member of the council 
of war in 1643, and died in August, 1651, 
aged seventy-eight years. 

(II) Nathaniel Thomas, son of Wil- 
liam Thomas, born in 1606, came over 

26 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



with his father, bringing with him his 
wife and son William,. He commanded 
one of the watches against the Indians in 
1643 > was one °f tne volunteers of the 
Pequot expedition in 1643; was commis- 
sioned ensign of the Marshfield company 
of the Colonial troops and later captain, 
and in 1654 succeeded Miles Standish in 
command. He had children besides Wil- 
liam : Nathaniel, born 1643; Mary, mar- 
ried Captain Symon Ray ; Elizabeth ; 
Dorothy, died young; Jeremiah, men- 
tioned below ; Dorothy. 

(III) Jeremiah Thomas, son of Na- 
thaniel Thomas, was born 1658-59, and 
died February 2, 1736. Fie married Mary, 
and had children : Nathaniel, born Janu- 
ary 2, 1686; Sarah, December 25, 1687; 
Jeremiah, February 14, 1689; Elizabeth, 
November 19, 1690 ; Mary, June 5, 1692 ; 
Lydia, March 26, 1694; Thankful, June 
30, 1695; Jedediah, mentioned below; 
Bethiah, March 27, 1701 ; Ebenezer, No- 
vember 1, 1703; Priscilla, October 13, 
1705; Sophia, 1707. 

(IV) Jedediah Thomas, third son of 
Jeremiah and Mary Thomas, born Au- 
gust 17, 1698, in Middleboro, married, 
March 12, 1723, Lois Nelson, born April 
19, 1704, daughter of Thomas and Hope 
(Huckins) Nelson, granddaughter of Wil- 
liam Nelson, founder of the family in the 
Plymouth colony ; also granddaughter of 
Joseph Huckins and great-grandaughter 
of Thomas Huckins, who was commander 
of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery 
Company of Boston. Children : Hope, 
born November 16, 1724; Jedediah, men- 
tioned below ; Elizabeth, February 10, 
1729; Lois, April 4, 1732; Abiah, August 
3» x 737; Joanna, April 6, 1739; Isaac, May 
28, 1742. 

(V) Jedediah (2) Thomas, son of Jede- 
diah (1) and Lois (Nelson) Thomas, 
born February 19, 1727, in Middleboro, 
served in the Revolution. He married in 



Middleboro, December 28, 1749, Keziah 
Churchill, born about 1730, probably 
daughter of Benjamin and Mary (Shaw) 
Churchill, or of John and Bethiah 
(Spooner) Churchill, of Plymouth. Only 
three children are recorded, family records 
supply others: Mary, born May 3, 1751 ; 
Martha, February 15, 1753; Nelson, 
January 25, 1759; Churchill, mentioned 
below; Keziah, February 11, 1765. Jede- 
diah Thomas, of Middleboro, was a 
private in Captain Nehemiah Allen's com- 
pany, Colonel Jeremiah Hall's regiment, 
marched December 8, 1776, service ninety- 
two days, company marched to Bristol, 
Rhode Island, December 8, 1776; also 
private in Captain Nathaniel Wood's 
company, Colonel Ebenezer Sprout's regi- 
ment, entered service May 6, 1778, dis- 
charged May 9, 1778, service three days, 
company marched on two alarms at Dart- 
mouth, one in May and one in September, 
1778. 

(VI) Churchill Thomas, son of Jede- 
diah (2) and Keziah (Churchill) Thomas, 
was born November 30, 1761, in Middle- 
boro, and died there December 31, 1809, 
aged forty-eight years. He was a private 
in Captain John Barrow's company, Colo- 
nel Abijah Stearns' regiment of guards, 
entered service April 14, 1778, discharged 
July 2, 1778, service two months and 
twenty-one days at and about Boston ; 
also private in Captain Nathaniel Wood's 
company, Colonel Ebenezer Sprout's regi- 
ment, entered service September 6, 1778, 
discharged September 12, 1778, service six 
days, company marched on two alarms at 
Dartmouth, one in May, one in Septem- 
ber, 1778, service six days, roll dated 
Middleboro; also private in Captain Wil- 
liam Tupper's company, Colonel Nathan 
Sparhawk's regiment, entered service 
September 28, 1778, discharged December 
14, 1778, service two months and sixteen 
days, at Boston, roll sworn to at Middle- 



127 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



boro; also a private in Captain Edward 
Hammond's company, Colonel Samuel 
Fisher's regiment, enlisted August 13, 

1779, discharged September 13, 1779, 
service one month, four days, at Rhode 
Island, travel eighty miles, including 
company detached from militia to serve 
for one month in a regiment under Samuel 
Fisher's command ; also a private in Cap- 
tain Jonah Washburn's company, Colonel 
Ebenezer White's regiment, marched Au- 
gust 1, 1780, discharged August 9, 1780, 
service nine days, company marched to 
Rhode Island on the alarm of August 1, 

1780, roll sworn to at Middleboro; also a 
private in Captain Henry Pierce's com- 
pany, Colonel Theophilus Cotton's regi- 
ment, enlisted March 8, 1781, discharged 
March 31, 1781, service twenty-six days to 
Rhode Island, including travel sixty-five 
miles, out and home, company raised by 
order of his excellency, John Hancock, to 
serve for forty days, unless sooner dis- 
charged. Churchill Thomas married 
Hannah C. Cushman, born November 8, 
1761, in Duxbury, daughter of Joseph and 
Elizabeth (Sampson) Cushman, born Au- 
gust 23, 1772. Children: Harvey Cush- 
man, born November 18, 1788; Elizabeth 
Sampson, July 4, 1794; Abigail Soule, 
September 14, 1796; Alfred, July 16, 1799; 
Beulah, mentioned below. 

(VII) Beulah Thomas, daughter of 
Churchill and Hannah C. (Cushman) 
Thomas, was born November 23, 1801, 
and became the wife of Joseph (3) Ma- 
comber, of Middleboro (see Macomber 
VI). 



HILL, Christopher, 

Carpenter, Builder. 

This name was often spelled Hilles, and 
that form is still used by a large number 
of the descendants bearing the name. It 
has been traced to a somewhat remote 



period in England, having been found 
nearly two hundred years before the Puri- 
tan emigration. It has been borne by 
numerous prominent citizens of the Amer- 
ican colonies and of the United States, 
and is still among the most widely dis- 
tributed names known in the history of 
the country. An examination of the 
records relative to the early history of 
the Hills in America discloses the fact 
that there were several immigrants of this 
name who arrived from England prior to 
1650, namely: William and John Hill, of 
Dorchester, Massachusetts ; John Hill, of 
Dover, New Hampshire, who was accom- 
panied by at least one brother and perhaps 
more ; Jonathan Hill, of Rhode Island, 
and Peter Hill, of Saco, Maine. It is 
probable that William and John Hill, of 
Dorchester, were brothers, although there 
does not seem to be any documentary 
proof of the fact. 

(I) Jonathan Hill was one of the 
numerous pioneers of this family in New 
England before 1660. But little is known 
of him. He lived at Warwick, Ports- 
mouth, and perhaps elsewhere in Rhode 
Island, and died in 1690. Children: Rob- 
ert, married Mary Pearce ; Jonathan, men- 
tioned below; Henry, born June 2, 1661, 
in Warwick, resided at East Greenwich. 
And others. 

(II) Jonathan (2) Hill, son of Jona- 
than (1) Hill, was born 1657, an( * lived 
on Prudence Island (Portsmouth), where 
he died February 5, 1731. He bought 
land at Cowesit for fifty pounds, on July 
6, 1703, became a large landholder, and 
the inventory of his estate made Septem- 
ber 15, 1731, amounted to £791, 3s. and 
6d. He had children : Jonathan, Caleb, 
Mary, Patience, Rebecca, Thomas, Ebe- 
nezer and Sarah. 

(III) Thomas Hill, son of Jonathan 
(2) Hill, was born in 1692, and lived in 
North Kingstown. In 1721 he was living 



128 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Swansea, Massachusetts, and received 
on January 16 of that year, from his 
father, a deed of one hundred and five 
acres in Warwick, to which town he re- 
moved. He married in North Kingstown, 
September 16, 1716, Elizabeth Allen, 
probably a daughter of John and Sarah 
Allen, of that town. 

(IV) Thomas (2) Hill, son of Thomas 
(1) and Elizabeth (Allen) Hill, was born 
about 1720, and lived in North Kings- 
town, where he married, in 1743, Mary 
Berry. On the Scituate records her name 
appears as Alice. He lived in North 
Kingstown until after 1749, and was liv- 
ing in Scituate in 1754. His children on 
North Kingstown town records were : 
Jonathan, born September 1, 1744; Ben- 
jamin, mentioned below ; Thomas, De- 
cember 29, 1747; John, March 2, 1749; in 
Scituate : Elizabeth, March 14, 175 1 ; Re- 
becca, June 11, 1754; Anne, July 27, 1756; 
Henry, February 1, 1759. 

(V) Benjamin Hill, second son of 
Thomas (2) and Mary (Berry) Hill, was 
born March 28, 1746, in North Kingstown, 
and lived in Foster, Rhode Island, where 
his children are recorded. He married, 
December 7, 1768. in Scituate, Hannah 
Potter, daughter of Christian and Eliza- 
beth Potter, and their children recorded 
in Foster were : Christopher, mentioned 
below; George, born December 5, 1771 ; 
Sarah, September 8, 1773; Elizabeth, 
March 9, 1775; Benjamin, January 7, 
1777; Alice, October 24, 1778; Miles, Au- 
gust 25, 1780; Richard, January 2, 1782; 
Anna, April 15, 1784; Thomas Tibbetts, 
December 30, 1786. 

(VI) Christopher Hill, eldest child of 
Benjamin and Hannah (Potter) Hill, was 
born February 14, 1770, in Foster, where 
he was a blacksmith and farmer. He 
reared a large family, all of whom were 
given good educational opportunities. 
He married, in Foster, April 2, 1795, Mary 

N E-7-9 I 



Elizabeth Whipple, of Warwick, and their 
children were: Holden, Benjamin, 
Thomas, Christopher, Amy, who married 
Stephen Browning, and Patience, who 
married Thomas Remington. 

(VII) Christopher (2) Hill, son of 
Christopher (1) and Mary E. (Whipple) 
Hill, was born July 2"j, 1800, in Foster, 
and died in Fall River, Massachusetts, in 
November, 1872. He was educated in 
Warwick, Rhode Island, attending school 
three months in the year, until he was 
eighteen years of age. He learned the 
carpenter's trade, and settled in Fall 
River, where he was engaged in building 
operations throughout his active life. He 
was an attendant of the Congregational 
church, an upright and respected citizen, 
a Republican in political principle, and 
ever ready to foster any plan designed to 
benefit the community in which he lived. 
He married in Warwick, Hannah Cook 
Durfee, born May 8, 1808, in Fall River, 
died there July 24, 1884, daughter of 
Stephen and Mehitable Durfee, of that 
city (see Durfee VI). Children: Mary 
Elizabeth, born August 8, 1829, died aged 
seventeen years ; Almy A., born February 

4, 1832, died aged seven years; Mehitable 
Durfee, born November 2, 1835, married 
in Fall River, December 16, 1869, Robert 

5. Dunning, the noted painter of fruits, 
who was born January 3, 1829, in Bruns- 
wick, Maine, son of Joseph and Rebecca 
(Spear) Dunning, resides in Fall River; 
Lucy Chaloner, born September 20, 1839, 
in Warwick, is a practicing physician in 
Fall River. 

(The Durfee Line). 

The family of Durfee has been a rather 
prolific one, and still has many representa- 
tives in Rhode Island and Southeastern 
Massachusetts, where it was very early 
located. Its representatives have been 
active in every walk of life, and have 



29 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



borne their share in the development of 
modern civilization. 

(I) Thomas Durfee, born in 1643 i n 
England, came thence to Rhode Island at 
an early day, settling there while the War- 
wick charter of 1643 was st ^ * n force. 
He was married (first), in Portsmouth, 
about 1664, and had the following chil- 
dren born in Portsmouth : Robert, March 
10, 1665 ; Richard, Thomas, William, Ann 
and Benjamin. He married (second) 
Deliverance (Hall) Trip, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Mary Hall, and widow of Abiel 
Trip. She died in 1721, the mother of 
two children by her marriage with Mr. 
Durfee. 

(II) Benjamin Durfee, son of Thomas 
Durfee, inherited from his father, in addi- 
tion to what he had previously given him, 
large tracts of land within the present 
limits of Fall River. He subsequently 
acquired more by purchase, and became 
one of the largest land owners in this sec- 
tion of the country. He was a man of 
great energy, of character, quick of com- 
prehension and intelligent, and held in 
high estimation in the community in 
which he lived. At his death, in 1754, he 
left a large estate, some of which long 
remained in the family, if it has not to 
the present time; but like most large 
properties much of it has changed hands, 
and is now owned by others not of the 
same name. He received by deed of gift 
from his father, Thomas Durfee, the land 
from Rodman street on the north to Os- 
born street on the south, and extending 
from the shore to East Rod Way. This 
land was purchased of William Manches- 
ter in 1680, and was given to Benjamin 
Durfee in 1709. The latter gave the same 
land to his son, Captain William Durfee, 
and, by will, William Durfee gave the 
south half to his nephew, Richard Dur- 
fee, the son of his brother Richard, and 
James Durfee, the son of his brother Ben- 



jamin ; the north half he gave to his rela- 
tive, William Borden. James Durfee sold 
his portion to David Durfee, the father of 
Hon. David Durfee, of Tiverton, who in 
time gave it to his son, Captain William 
Durfee, and he, dying in 1816, left it to 
his children. They sold it to Oliver 
Chace, and it has since been laid out and 
much of it sold for building lots, upon 
which may be found some of the finest 
residences in Fall River. Benjamin Dur- 
fee married, in 1699, Prudence Earle, 
daughter of William and Prudence Earle, 
granddaughter of Ralph and Joan (Saw- 
yer) Earle. Children : James, born Au- 
gust 28, 1701 ; Ann, January 17, 1703; 
Hope, January 7, 1705; William, Decem- 
ber 7, 1707; Benjamin, January 5, 1709; 
Mercy, January 30, 171 1 ; Lusannah, Janu- 
ary 28, 1713; Martha, July 13, 1719; 
Thomas, mentioned below ; Richard, men- 
tioned below. 

(Ill) Thomas (2) Durfee, fourth son 
of Benjamin and Prudence (Earle) Dur- 
fee, was born November 5, 1721, in Tiver- 
ton, and inherited a large estate from his 
father, residing on the present site of the 
County House in Fall River. Upon the 
division of her father's estate his wife 
inherited an interest in the Fall River 
water power. Mr. Durfee's farm extended 
from the Taunton river to North Wa- 
tuppa pond, and the southern boundary 
was near the present armory in Fall 
River. He long represented a constitu- 
ency in both the lower house and senate 
of the Massachusetts General Court ; was 
six years a member of the Governor's 
Council, and was active and influential 
throughout his life in the community. At 
the funeral of Governor John Hancock, in 
1793, he was one of the honorary pall- 
bearers. Because of a physical infirmity 
he was not fit for active military service, 
but commanded a militia company in 
Freetown in 1776. He married in Tiver- 



130 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ton, August 9, 1747, Patience Borden, of 
that town, born 1731, daughter of Joseph 
and Abigail (Russell) Borden, died in 
Freetown in July, 1802. Freetown then 
included the family residence. Mrs. Dur- 
fee was descended from one of the promi- 
nent and oldest families of Massachusetts, 
founded by Richard Borden, who was of 
the ninth recorded English generation, 
born in the parish of Hedcorn, Kent, Eng- 
land, where he was baptized February 22, 
1596, son of Matthew and Joan Borden, 
and died May 25, 1671, in Portsmouth, 
Rhode Island. He married in Hedcorn 
Church, September 28, 1625, Joan Fowle, 
who accompanied him to America in 1637- 
38, and died July 15, 1688, in Portsmouth. 
Children of Thomas (2) and Patience 
(Borden) Durfee : Hope, born Septem- 
ber 29, 1748; Joseph, mentioned below; 
Nathan, April 5, 1752; Benjamin, May, 
1754; Prudence, September 6, 1756; 
Abigail, August, 1759; Charles, November 
20, 1761 ; Susannah, November, 1764; Na- 
than, March 23, 1766; James, March 25, 
1768; Thomas, January 22, 1771 ; Samuel, 
August 25, 1773. 

(IV) Joseph Durfee, eldest son of 
Thomas (2) and Patience (Borden) Dur- 
fee, was born April 27, 1750, in Tiverton, 
lived many years in that town, and in his 
old age removed to Assonet Village, in 
the town of Freetown, where he died De- 
cember 10, 1841, in his ninety-second year. 
With his wife he helped organize the First 
Congregational Church in what is now 
Fall River, in 1816. In 1775 he was corn- 
missioned a captain, and raised a company 
of minute-men, which was stationed at 
Fall River about fifteen months. Sub- 
sequently, with sixty men, he marched to 
New York and joined the regiment of 
Colonel Thomas Carpenter, participating 
in the battle of White Plains. In Novem- 
ber, 1776, he marched his company back 
to Tiverton and joined Colonel John 



Cook's regiment, which covered the re- 
treat of the Continentals from Rhode 
Island. Before January, 1777, he was 
commissioned major in Colonel John 
Hathaway's regiment, and was stationed 
some six months at Little Compton. 
Early in 1778, with twenty men, he was 
stationed at Fall River, and in May of that 
year, when the British forces landed at 
Fall River, and began burning mills and 
other buildings, he rallied the citizens 
with his men and drove the British off, 
with considerable loss in killed and 
wounded. In August, 1778, he joined 
General Sullivan's expedition to Rhode 
Island, as major of Colonel Whitney's 
regiment. In the autumn of that year he 
was stationed three months at Pawtucket, 
and early in 1779 he was commissioned 
lieutenant-colonel in Cornell's brigade, 
and remained at Tiverton until the British 
evacuated Rhode Island. In October fol- 
lowing he was stationed at Newport, 
where he remained until December. In 
1782 he was promoted colonel. He rep- 
resented Tiverton in the General Assem- 
bly, the town being then a part of Massa- 
chusetts, and was ever an influential citi- 
zen. He married (first) September 24, 
1772, Elizabeth Turner, of Tiverton, born 
1754, daughter of Dr. John and Patience 
(Gardner) Turner, died May 19, 1817. 
He married (second) January 29, 1819, 
Mrs. Elizabeth Nicholls. Children : 
Charlotte, born July 15, 1773; Gardner, 
April 2, 1775; George Washington, April 
2 7> I 777'< Rhobe (Phebe), September 23, 
1779; Susannah, March 9, 1783; Mehit- 
able, mentioned below; Amelia, July 30, 
1787; Aaron, December 17, 1789; Eliza- 
beth, January 19, 1792; Patience, Sep- 
tember 5, 1794; Abigail, February 24, 
1799. 

(V) Mehitable Durfee, fourth daughter 
of Joseph and Elizabeth (Turner) Durfee, 
was born June 15, 1785, in Tiverton, died 



131 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Fall River, September 4, 1857, became 
the wife of Stephen Durfee, of that city 
(see Durfee V). 

(III) Richard Durfee, youngest child 
of Benjamin and Prudence (Earle) Dur- 
fee, was born November 9, 1723, and mar- 
ried in Plymouth, Massachusetts (As- 
sonet record), August 30, 1749, Rebecca 
Cole, of Plymouth, born there 1727, 
daughter of Ephraim (2) and Sarah Cole, 
granddaughter of Ephraim (1) and Re- 
becca (Gray) Cole. She owned the house 
built by her father on Leyden street, 
Plymouth, which she sold to John 
Churchill. Children : Ephraim, died in 
infancy ; Sarah, died in infancy ; Richard, 
mentioned below ; Rebecca, born August 

25, I765- 

(IV) Richard (2) Durfee, only surviv- 
ing son of Richard (1) and Rebecca 
(Cole) Durfee, was born Sepetmber 8, 
1758, in what is now Fall River, than a 
part of Tiverton, and resided in Tiverton, 
near the south line of Freetown. He was 
a deacon of the church, and very active 
in the Revolutionary War. He enlisted 
first in Captain Loring Peck's company, 
of Colonel Lippitt's (Rhode Island) regi- 
ment, in 1776, and was on the payroll, 
showing a service of two months and four- 
teen days, for which he received £4, 18s. 
and 8d., at the rate of two pounds per 
month. He was again in the service in 
1777, and received for travel from Charles- 
town to Smithfield and to Cumberland 
from Peekskill, two pounds, one shilling 
and six pence, roll dated Cranston, Janu- 
ary 18, 1777. He was appointed a lieu- 
tenant and later captain of the Third 
Company of Militia of the town of Tiver- 
ton, which company was attached to a 
regiment commanded by Colonel John 
Cook, and in August, 1778, was paid for 
five days, at the rate of three pounds per 
day. This regiment formed a part of the 
army of General Sullivan. The records 



of the United States Pension Office show 
that he made application for a pension, 
September 8, 1832, at which time he was 
seventy-four years old, and was residing 
in Tiverton. The pension was allowed 
for fourteen months and fifteen days' 
active service as a private, and eleven 
months and fifteen days as captain of 
Rhode Island troops in the Revolutionary 
War. The First Congregational Church 
of Fall River was organized at the house 
of Captain Durfee, January 9, 1816. 
Among the five persons who established 
this organization were Colonel Joseph 
Durfee and wife Elizabeth ; Richard Dur- 
fee ; and Esther, wife of Charles Durfee, 
Esq. Thomas R. Durfee, son of Charles 
and Wealthy Durfee, subsequently be- 
came a member. In 1823 Captain Richard 
Durfee was elected deacon of the church. 
He married in Freetown, June 20, 1779, 
Patience Borden, born August 4, 1762, 
died November 2, 1836, in Tiverton, 
daughter of Stephen and Mary (Gray) 
Borden, of Fall River. The Borden fam- 
ily, like that of Durfee, was very early 
established in this country, and was of 
very ancient lineage in England, having 
been established at the time of the Con- 
quest, coming from Normandy, where the 
family had previously existed. Richard 
Borden was born in the parish of Hed- 
corn, Kent, England, baptized there Feb- 
ruary 22, 1596, son of Matthew and Joan 
Borden, and died at Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island, May 25, 1671. He married in 
Hedcorn Church, September 28, 1625, 
Joan Fowle, moved in 1628 to the neigh- 
boring parish of Cranbrook, and came to 
America in 1638, settling at Portsmouth. 
He was a surveyor and acquired large 
tracts of land in Rhode Island and New 
Jersey ; was a freeman of Portsmouth, 
March 16, 1641, and filled many official 
positions there, including that of deputy 
from Portsmouth to the General Assem- 



132 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



bly in 1667 and 1670. His fourth son, 
John Borden, born September, 1640, in 
Portsmouth, died there June 4, 1716. He 
married, December 25, 1670, Mary Earle, 
born in Portsmouth, 1655, died there in 
1734, daughter of William and Mary 
(Walker) Earle. Their third son was Jo- 
seph Borden, born December 3, 1680, 
married Sarah Brownell, of Portsmouth. 
Their eldest son was Stephen Borden, 
born August 10, 1705, in what is now Fall 
River, died August 30, 1738. He married, 
February 3, 1726, Penelope Read, born 
October 12, 1703, in Dartmouth, daughter 
of John (3) and Mary (Pierce) Read. 
John (3) Read was for some thirty years 
town clerk of Freetown. He was a son of 
John (2) Read and his wife Anna, and 
grandson of John (1) Read, of Newport, 
Rhode Island. John (2) Read was a cord- 
wainer by trade and operated a tannery, 
which was continued by his descendants 
through four generations, and became a 
large establishment at Troy, now Fall 
River. Stephen (2) Borden, eldest son of 
Stephen (1) and Penelope (Read) Borden, 
was born October 28, 1728, and died Au- 
gust 15, 1802. He married, October 8, 
1748, Mary Gray, born October 14, 1733, 
in Tiverton, daughter of Timothy and 
Sarah (Bennett) Gray. They were the 
parents of Patience Borden, who became 
the wife of Captain Richard Durfee, of 
Fall River. Children: William, born 
December 8, 1780; Stephen, mentioned 
below; Sarah, April 11, 1785; Philip, June 
14, 1787; Benjamin, January 28, 1792; 
Lydia, February 16, 1794; Susannah, 
March 1, 1796; John, May 6, 1798; Pa- 
tience, August 28, 1801, died December 
23, 1824; Richard, July 15, 1803; Thomas, 
April 24, 1805, died September 7, 1805. 

(V) Stephen Durfee, second son of 
Richard (2) and Patience (Borden) Dur- 
fee, was born April 11, 1782, in Tiverton, 
and died at sea, April 25, 1812. He mar- 



ried in Tiverton, in April, 1802, Mehitable 
Durfee, born June 15, 1785, in Tiverton, 
died in Fall River, September 4, 1857, 
daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth 
(Turner) Durfee. She married (second) 
Elisha C. Fuller, of Fall River. Children : 
William Henry, born November 3, 1804; 
Leonard B., September 8, 1806; Hannah 
Cook, mentioned below ; Philip, July 9, 
1810. 

(VI) Hannah Cook Durfee, only 
daughter of Stephen and Mehitable (Dur- 
fee) Durfee, was born May 8, 1808, in 
Fall River, and became the wife of Chris- 
topher (2) Hill, of Warwick, Rhode 
Island. (See Hill VII.) 



ALVORD, Clinton, 

Manufacturer. 

Among the founders of industries of 
importance in Worcester, Massachusetts, 
is Clinton Alvord, manufacturer of carpet 
looms. From a small beginning he has 
built up an extensive and profitable busi- 
ness. Mr. Alvord comes of old Puritan 
stock, and his ancestry has been traced 
for many generations in England. The 
surname Alvord is identical with Alford 
and there are many other variations such 
as Alfred, Alvard, Alvart, Allard, Alved, 
Alvord, Allvard, Alluard, Olford, Olverd, 
Olvord, etc. The principal seat of the 
family in England was in County Somer- 
set, where Alvords were located about the 
time the surname came into use in Eng- 
land. It was originally a place name, 
meaning a ford across a river. Robertus 
Dominus de Aldford was governor of a 
military station, Aldford Castle, com- 
manding an old ford across the River Dee 
above Chester. The Alvord family had 
something to do with this fort in ancient 
times. They were owners of land in 
Somersetshire as early as 1550. The coat- 
of-arms is described : On a wreath of the 



133 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



colors a boar's head couped or, in the 
mouth a broken spear argent. 

An excellent genealogy of the family 
has been published and its author gives 
special credit to Mr. Clinton Alvord for 
assistance rendered in compiling the 
work. 

(I) John Alvord, the English progen- 
itor, was born about 1475, and died at 
Whitestaunton, Somersetshire. He was a 
witness to the will of John Batley or 
Bailey, July 4, 1530. He had a son Alex- 
ander, mentioned below. 

(II) Rev. Alexander Alvord, son of 
John Alvord, was born about 1500. He 
was living at Whitestaunton in 1550 and 
1558. His will is dated there, December 
22, 1576. The will of his widow, Agnes 
Alvord, in 1577 mentions children: Mary, 
Alice, Elinor, Salaman, William, John, 
Bartholomew and Bridget. She was 
buried at West Moncton, Somersetshire, 
1578. Descendants are numerous in 
Whitestaunton. 

(III) This generation is in doubt. One 
of the sons of the Rev. Alexander Alvord 
was father of Thomas, mentioned below, 
however. He was also the father of Rich- 
ard and John Alvord, of Whitestaunton. 

(IV) Thomas Alvord, grandson of the 
Rev. Alexander Alvord, married, May II, 
1618, Joanna Hawkins at Ashill, Somer- 
setshire. She died a widow at White- 
staunton, May 27, 1636. Children: 1. 
Benedict, one of the brothers who came 
to Windsor, Connecticut ; was witness to 
a deed from Richard Sanderwick, of 
Broadway, Somersetshire, to Nicholas 
Nurton, of Weymouth, Massachusetts, 
February 20, 1639 ; married Jane Nurton 
at Windsor, November 26, 1640; he died 
at Windsor, Connecticut, April 23, 1683. 
2. Alexander, mentioned below. 3. Jo- 
anna, baptized at Whitestaunton, Decem- 
ber 8, 1622; married at Windsor, Connec- 
ticut, May 6, 1646, Ambrose Fowler, who 



removed to Westfield, Massachusetts, 
about 1671, and she died there, May 22, 
1684, leaving seven children. 

(V) Alexander (2) Alvord, son of 
Thomas Alvord, was baptized probably 
at Bridport, County Dorset, England, 
October 15, 1627. He went to Windsor, 
Connecticut, as early as 1645, when is 
mentioned his purchase of a house lot 
there. In 1660 he had a pew in Windsor 
church among the short seats, for which 
he paid seven shillings. Various grants 
of land were made to him and he has been 
described by an early writer as "an early 
settler and possessed of large means for 
the times." He moved to Northampton, 
Massachusetts, in 1661. He subscribed to 
the fund for Harvard College in 1672. In 
King Philip's War, in 1676, in Northamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, his buildings were 
burned by the Indians, and in the same 
year he received a war grant of land in 
compensation. In 1668 he was among the 
signers of a petition against imposts, and 
in 1671 of another to the Massachusetts 
General Court for the formation of a so- 
ciety at Northfield, Massachusetts. He 
was admitted to the Northampton church 
soon after 1672, and his wife, Mary Al- 
vord, joined the same church in 1661, be- 
ing one of the original members of the 
society. He took the oath of allegiance at 
Northampton, February 8, 1678. He mar- 
ried, at Windsor, Connecticut, October 
29, 1646, Mary Vore, daughter of Richard 
and Ann Vore. She died at Northampton, 
Massachusetts, prior to 1686. He died 
there, October 3, 1687. Children: Abi- 
gail, born October 6, 1647 ; John, August 
12, 1649; Mary, July 6, 165 1 ; Thomas, 
mentioned below; Elizabeth, November 
12, 1655; Benjamin, February n, 1658; 
Sarah, June 24, 1660; Jeremiah, May 9, 
1663 ; Ebenezer, December 25, 1665 ; Jona- 
than, April 6, 1669; Child, born and died 
in 1671. 



134 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(VI) Thomas (2) Alvord, son of Alex- 
ander (2) Alvord, was born at Windsor, 
Connecticut, October 27, 1653. He re- 
moved to Northampton with his father in 
1661. He also took the prescribed oath 
of allegiance, February 8, 1678, and he 
received one of the early grants of land 
there. His house lot butted on the north 
of Round Hill, Northampton, and was of 
about four acres. At one time he owned 
the land which is now the site of the 
Court House in Northampton. He was a 
tailor by trade. He served under Captain 
William Turner in King Philip's War and 
took part at Turner's Falls in the fight 
known as the Falls Fight. For his service 
his son received from the General Court 
of Massachusetts a grant of land in Falls- 
town in 1734 (Bernardston). Northamp- 
ton was an Alvord town and the tablets 
in the Memorial Hall show the name in 
all but one of the Indian wars, while there 
are more soldiers by the name of Alvord 
upon the rolls than of any other name. 
Thomas Alvord married, March 23, 1681, 
at Northampton, Joanna Taylor, born in 
Northampton, September 27, 1655, died 
there, February 28, 1727-28, daughter of 
John and Thankful (Woodward) Taylor. 
Children, born in Northampton : John, 
August 10, 1682; Thomas, February 28, 
1684; John, mentioned below; Josiah, 
February 7, 1688, died December 13, 1691. 
John Taylor was killed by the Indians in 
Easthampton while he was going with 
other settlers to rescue those who had 
been captured at the massacre of Pas- 
commuck. 

(VII) John (2) Alvord, son of Thomas 
(2) Alvord, was born at Northampton. 
Massachusetts, October 19, 1685, and 
died at South Hadley, Massachusetts, No- 
vember 21, 1757. His gravestone was still 
standing, in 1908, in South Hadley, being 
the oldest Alvord gravestone in the Con- 
necticut Valley. He was a saddler by 



trade. He was elected constable of 
Northampton in 1729; was one of the 
first assessors of South Precinct, Hadley, 
March 12, 1733; was on the committee to 
arrange for visiting ministers and dele- 
gates, August 10, 1733, for the ordination 
of the Rev. Grindell Rawson ; in 1741 
he was one of a committee that sought 
the resignation of this minister. His 
house was west of the road north of Brew- 
ster's, on the Connecticut river. He mar- 
ried, at Northampton, December 29, 1708, 
Dorcas Lyman, born in Northampton, 
August 11, 1690, died at South Hadley, 
November 15, 1770, daughter of John and 
Mindwell Sheldon (Pomeroy) Lyman. 
Children, the first nine born at Northamp- 
ton, the others at South Hadley: John, 
born October 29, 171 1 ; Mindwell, August 
4, 1713; Esther; Saul, April 23, 1717; 
Elijah, mentioned below; Dorcas, March 
28, 1720; Gad, died 1723; Gad, born 1726; 
Job, 1729; Nathan; Gideon, June 12, 1734. 
(VIII) Elijah Alvord, son of John (2) 
Alvord, was born at Northampton, Massa- 
chusetts, January 17, 1718-19, and died at 
Greenfield, Massachusetts, about 1788. 
He conducted a warehouse near the 
mouth of Stony Brook ; kept the first inn 
in 1755, and in 1770 Noah Goodman suc- 
ceeded him as tavern keeper; in 1755 it 
was voted by the town that he might 
agree with several persons to cross their 
lands with lumber in the Falls Field and 
Taylor's Field, South Hadley, to carry 
lumber around that had been loaded down 
the river ; he was also a trader, licensed 
in 1761 to sell tea, coffee and china-ware 
at South Hadley ; he was selectman in 
1761. In 1771 he moved to Wilmington, 
Vermont; in 1775 he was appointed on a 
standing committee that the people might 
be informed of the doings of the Friends 
of Liberty ; he represented the town in the 
first State Legislature in 1778, and the 
first town meeting of Wilmington was 



135 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



held in his house, January 19, 1778. Later 
he returned to Massachusetts, residing at 
Greenfield, but his death occurred shortly 
afterward. Caleb Alvord, his son, was 
appointed to administer his estate, May 
15, 1788. Elijah Alvord was a soldier in 
the Revolution in Captain Caleb Chapin's 
company. He married Hannah Judd, born 
at Northampton, 1720, died at Greenfield, 
November 28, 1798, daughter of Thomas 
and Hannah (Bascom) Judd. Children, 
born at South Hadley : Caleb, mentioned 
below; Hannah, born 1754. 

(IX) Caleb Alvord, son of Elijah Al- 
vord, was born at South Hadley, Massa- 
chusetts, October 5, 1751, and died at 
Greenfield, Massachusetts, December 22, 
1819. He resided in the towns of Wil- 
mington, Vermont, and Greenfield and 
Bernardston, Massachusetts. In 1778 he 
was elected the first town clerk of Wil- 
mington ; from 1785 to 1792 he kept the 
tavern at Greenfield ; he was selectman of 
Bernardston, 1793-99, and was represen- 
tative from that town to the General 
Court ; he was selectman of Greenfield, 
in 1797. He married, at Wilmington, 
Vermont, December 26, 1776, Mary Mur- 
dock, born in Wilmington, January 15, 
1751, died at Greenfield, March 26, 1836, 
daughter of Samuel and Mary (Hunting- 
ton) Murdock. Children, the two eldest 
born at Wilmington, the youngest at Ber- 
nardston and the others in Greenfield : 
Elijah, mentioned below ; Caleb, born 
May 3, 1779; Pliny, March 13, 1781 ; Me- 
linda, June 12, 1783; Lucinda, twin of 
Melinda ; Melinda, May 13, 1785 ; Alpheus, 
January 17, 1787; Alfred, February 15, 
1789; Mary, April 17, 1791 ; Fanny, Sep- 
tember 12, 1793. 

(X) Elijah (2) Alvord, son of Caleb 
Alvord, was born at Wilmington, Ver- 
mont, November 18, 1777, and died at 
Greenfield, Massachusetts, September 8, 
1840. He read law in Greenfield, was 



admitted to the bar in 1802 and became a 
lawyer of note. During the last twenty 
years of his life he was clerk of courts 
and register of probate for Franklin 
county and held both offices at the time 
of his death. He represented the town in 
the General Courts many terms, and was 
delegate to the Constitutional Convention 
in 1820. He was influential in securing 
the division of the county and in having 
Greenfield designated as the Shire town. 
A portrait of him by Harding is in the 
possession of his grandson, Clinton Al- 
vord. of Worcester. He married, Novem- 
ber 12, 1805, at Greenfield, Sabra Wells, 
born at Greenfield, February 3, 1785, died 
there, March 21, 1867, daughter of Colo- 
nel Daniel and Rhoda (Newton) Wells. 
Colonel Daniel Wells enlisted in the Rev- 
olutionary War at the age of fourteen, 
and was afterward an officer in the State 
militia, advancing to the rank of lieuten- 
ant-colonel. He was town clerk and 
treasurer of Greenfield, Massachusetts, 
from 1793 to 1809. He was the head of 
the first water company in Greenfield, and 
in 1798 paid the second largest United 
States direct tax in that place. Rhoda 
(Newton) Wells was a descendant of the 
Rev. Roger Newton, of Farmington, Con- 
necticut, and his wife, Mary, daughter of 
Rev. Thomas Hooker, who left Cambridge 
with his congregation and was the 
founder of Hartford, Connecticut. Sabra 
Wells' great-grandmother was Mary 
Waite, daughter of the noted Indian 
fighter, Benjamin Waite, who was killed 
at Deerfield by the Indians, February 29, 
1704. Mary was captured by the Indians 
when six years of age, September 19, 1677, 
and taken to Canada with her mother and 
two younger sisters and rescued the next 
winter by her father. Children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Alvord, born at Greenfield : Sarah 
Wells, August 23, 1806; James Church, 
April 14, 1808; Mary Upham, August 10, 



136 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1810; Martha, September 18, 1815, died in 
infancy; Daniel Wells, mentioned below. 
(XI) Daniel Wells Alvord, son of 
Elijah (2) Alvord, was born at Green- 
field, Massachusetts, October 21, 1816, 
and died at Spring Hill, Virginia, August 
3, 1871. He prepared for college at Phil- 
lips Academy, Exeter, New Hampshire, 
and graduated from Union College in 
1838. He read law in the office of Chief 
Justice Daniel Wells, of Greenfield, and 
at the Dane Law School of Harvard Uni- 
versity. He was admitted to the bar in 
1841 and practiced in Greenfield for many 
years. He was offered a seat on the Su- 
perior Court bench of Massachusetts, but 
declined the honor. From 1848 to 1853 
he was commissioner of insolvency for 
Franklin county ; represented the town of 
Montague (in which he did not reside) 
in the Constitutional Convention of 1853 ; 
was senator from Franklin county in 
1854 ; was elected district attorney for the 
Northwest Judicial District in 1856 and 
held that office until January, 1863 ; in 
August, 1862, was appointed by Presi- 
dent Lincoln collector of internal revenue 
for the Ninth District of Massachusetts 
and held the office until 1869, when he 
removed to Spring Hill, Fairfax county, 
Virginia, where his death occurred. He 
was prominent in the anti-slavery move- 
ment, in which he was influenced and in- 
troduced by his elder brother, James 
Church Alvord, who was elected to Con- 
gress from Greenfield in 1838, when only 
thirty-one years of age, the youngest man 
in that house, and the first man elected to 
Congress on a distinctly anti-slavery plat- 
form. A fine portrait is in the possession 
of his nephew, Clinton Alvord, of Wor- 
cester. Wendell Phillips, while in Lon- 
don, England, hearing of the death of 
James C. Alvord wrote : "His services to 
the cause of Anti-Slavery in the Massa- 
chusetts Legislature cannot be too highly 



estimated. The right to trial by jury to 
persons claimed as slaves was gained 
almost without opposition, not only be- 
cause his arguments were unanswerable, 
but because it was he who argued them." 

Daniel Wells Alvord married (first) at 
Greenfield, May 10, 1843, Caroline Matilda 
Clapp, born in New York City, February 
1, 1824, died at Greenfield, Massachusetts, 
September 17, 1846, daughter of Henry 
Wells and Eliza (Baldwin) Clapp. He 
married (second) at Northampton, June 
7, 1859, Caroline Betts Dewey, born at 
Northampton, March 26, 1827, died at 
Hamilton, Massachusetts, April 4, 1893, 
daughter of Judge Charles Augustus and 
Caroline (Clinton) Dewey (see Dewey) 
and granddaughter of General James 
Clinton and a niece of DeWitt Clinton. 
A portrait of her Grandmother Clinton is 
in the possession of Clinton Alvord, of 
Worcester. She was a niece of Judge 
Samuel R. Betts, of New York. Children 
of first wife : Henry Elijah, mentioned 
below; Wells, born October 9, 1845, died 
October 12, 1845 ; Caroline Matilda Clapp, 
mentioned below. Children of second 
wife: Charles Dewey, born March 26, 
i860, died at Atlanta, Georgia, November 
2j, 1888 ; James Church, mentioned be- 
low ; Mary, born October 9, 1863, died at 
Spring Hill, Virginia, March 5, 1870; 
Clinton, mentioned below ; Clarence Wal- 
worth, mentioned below. 

(XII) Henry Elijah Alvord, eldest son 
of Daniel Wells and Caroline Matilda 
(Clapp) Alvord, was born in Greenfield, 
Massachusetts, March 11, 1844. He mar- 
ried, September 6, 1866, Martha Swink, 
daughter of William and Margaret Lind- 
say Swink, of Spring Hill, Virginia. He 
served in the Seventh Rhode Island Cav- 
alry and in the Second Massachusetts 
Cavalry through the Civil War, rising 
from private to major ; was afterward 
commissioned captain in the Tenth Regi- 



137 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ment, United States Cavalry. For a num- 
ber of years Major Alvord was connected 
with the work of agricultural colleges. 
He was for a time president of the Asso- 
ciation of American Agricultural Colleges 
and Experiment Stations. In 1895 he 
organized and became chief of the dairy 
division of the United States Department 
of Agriculture, in which post he served 
until his death on October 1, 1904. 

(XII) Caroline Matilda Clapp Alvord, 
daughter of Daniel Wells and Caroline 
Matilda (Clapp) Alvord, was born in 
Greenfield, Massachusetts, September 17, 
1846. She was one of the early mission- 
ary teachers to the Freedmen representing 
Greenfield in 1866. in the first Freedman 
school established in Fairfax county, Vir- 
ginia. She was married, September 13, 
1867, to Franklin Sherman, of Ash Grove, 
Virginia. The latter served in the Union 
army during the Civil War, being lieu- 
tenant, captain and adjutant in the Tenth 
Michigan Cavalry. She is the mother of 
twelve children, ten of whom are living. 

(XII) James Church Alvord, son of 
Daniel Wells and Caroline Betts (Dewey) 
Alvord, was born in Greenfield, Massa- 
chusetts, January 24, 1862. He married 
Lucy Fairbanks, daughter of Henry and 
Annie (Hayes) Fairbanks, of St. Johns- 
bury, Vermont, June 8, 1898. He is a 
minister of the Congregational church, 
and is an author and playwright of note. 

(XII) Clinton Alvord, son of Daniel 
Wells and Caroline Betts (Dewey) Al- 
vord, was born at Greenfield, Massachu- 
setts, November 9, 1865. He attended the 
public schools of Northampton and pre- 
pared for college in Williston Seminary 
at Easthampton, entering the Worcester 
Polytechnic Institute, from which he was 
graduated with the degree of Bachelor of 
Science in the class of 1886. For a num- 
ber of years he was employed as draughts- 
man for Crompton & Knowles, manufac- 



turers of looms, Worcester. Here he be- 
came interested in textile machinery and 
devoted his attention to designing looms 
and devising improvements. From time 
to time he has had patents issued and 
many of them have proved valuable in the 
business in which he has been engaged. 
He has been especially successful in de- 
signing looms for the manufacture of pile 
carpets, and since 1902 has been engaged 
in the manufacture of tapestry and velvet 
carpet machinery, improved printing 
drums, setting frames and other apparatus 
used in carpet mills. His business is 
located in the same building in which he 
started in 1902 — Nos. 5-9 Summer street, 
Worcester. Beginning on a small scale 
he has extended his business year by year 
until he has fifty or more skilled me- 
chanics employed, utilizing ten thousand 
feet of floor space. For some years the 
business was conducted under his own 
name. In 1904 it was incorporated under 
the name of the Worcester Loom Works, 
of which he is president, manager and 
principal owner. The product of his shop 
goes to all parts of the country, especially 
to New England and the Middle States. 
In politics Mr. Alvord is a staunch Re- 
publican, a firm believer in the American 
system of protection to industry through 
tariff laws. He is a vigorous writer and 
speaker, and in various campaigns he 
has taken an active part in the discussion 
of issues in the press. He is a member 
of the Worcester Economic Club, the 
Worcester Congregational Club, and is 
especially interested in social and eco- 
nomic problems. He is an active member 
of the Central Congregational Church, and 
he is the founder and leader of the Go-to- 
Church Band, which was started in Feb- 
ruary, 1910, in Central Congregational 
Church, the object being to gain the per- 
sistent and willing attendance of young 
people and children at the preaching 

38 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



service, they trying to make perfect 
records in attendance. The movement has 
spread to over four hundred churches in 
thirty-four states, also into Canada, in 
fourteen denominations, and with over 
twenty-seven thousand members. The 
Band makes church going a contest 
against failure for four months, and the 
members try to be present at preaching 
service at least once each Sunday for the 
term. The junior department is composed 
of those thirteen years of age and 
younger, and the senior department, the 
especial Alvord feature, is the unique and 
most valuable part of the movement be- 
cause by means of it the children graduate 
naturally into the adult portion of the 
audience. 

Mr. Alvord married, at Worcester, 
April 20, 1893, Mary Sanford Newton, 
born at Stafford Springs, Connecticut, 
October 16, 1865, daughter of Simeon and 
Clarissa Sanford (Packard) Newton. Mr. 
Newton was cashier of the Stafford 
Springs Bank for many years, and Mrs. 
Newton was the daughter of "Priest" 
Levi Packard, pastor of the Congrega- 
tional church of Spencer, Massachusetts, 
for twenty-seven years. She is a gradu- 
ate of the Worcester High School. Chil- 
dren, born at Worcester: Charles Clin- 
ton, mentioned below ; Newton, born Au- 
gust 18, 1902, died August 24, 1903 ; 
Eleanor, born March 18, 1905. 

(XII) Clarence Walworth Alvord, 
youngest son of Daniel Wells and Caro- 
line Betts (Dewey) Alvord, was born at 
Greenfield, Massachusetts, May 21, 1868. 
He married (first) Mrs. Jane Parrott 
Blanchard, September, 1893. He married 
(second) Idress Head, of St. Louis, Mis- 
souri. He is a professor of history in the 
University of Illinois, is an authority on 
the French occupation of the Middle 
West prior to the Revolutionary War, and 
has been vice-president of the Historical 
Society of the Mississippi Valley. 



(XIII) Charles Clinton Alvord, son of 
Clinton Alvord, was born in Worcester, 
Massachusetts, December 19, 1896. He 
attended the public schools of Worcester, 
and is now (191 7) a student in the Wor- 
cester Polytechnic Institute, of the class 
of 1918. He is a member of the Wor- 
cester Stamp Club, and the Wireless Club 
of the institute. His principal pleasures 
are tennis playing and operating his 
amateur wireless plant. In 1909, when 
twelve years of age, he talked to and 
shook hands with a man whose grand- 
mother was killed by the Indians in Deer- 
field, Massachusetts. This fact shows the 
comparative youthfulness of this country. 



BULLOCK, Augustus George, 

Man of Affairs. 

This name was originally Balloch, 
which is from a Gaelic word "bealach" 
meaning an outlet of a lake or glen. So 
when surnames were first chosen, he who 
lived near such an outlet became Balloch ; 
in time Bulloch and Bullock. The Scotch 
family are descendants of Donald Balloch 
MacDonald, chief of Clan Ronald, brother 
to Donald, Lord of the Isles, a descend- 
ant of Prince Somerled, of Argyle. The 
prominent South Carolina family founded 
by Rev. James, spell the name Bulloch. 
The New England family use both Bul- 
lock and Bulloch, the branch herein re- 
corded using the former. Some of the 
prominent men of the family are : Alex- 
ander H. Bullock, one time governor of 
Massachusetts ; Stephen Bullock, a mem- 
ber of Congress during Jefferson's admin- 
istration ; his son, Dr. Samuel Bullock, a 
member of the Massachusetts Legisla- 
ture ; Richard Bullock, a merchant of 
wealth and high standing in Providence, 
Rhode Island ; Nathaniel Bullock, lieuten- 
ant-governor of Rhode Island in 1842 ; 
Jonathan R. Bullock, lieutenant-governor 
of Rhode Island in i860. 



139 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(I) The American ancestor was Rich- 
ard Bullock, born in the county of Essex, 
England, 1622, died in Rehoboth, Massa- 
chusetts, November 22, 1667. Two 
brothers came to America with him, one 
of them settling in Virginia. Richard 
Bullock was in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, 
as early as 1643, remained one year only, 
but not long afterward returned. He was 
made a freeman, May, 1646, but the colo- 
nial records do not show his residence at 
that time. In 1656 he removed to New- 
town, Long Island, but soon returned to 
Rehoboth, where he resided until his 
death. He was one of the fifty-eight 
landed proprietors of Rehoboth. On June 
22, 1658, at a "Town meeting lawfully 
warned" he drew lot No. 19 and also 
bought the governor's lot valued at two 
hundred pounds. His name appears on 
the records of the town as early as 1643 
and he came there it is said with Roger 
Williams. The town record recites : "30th 
of ye 11 month, 1650, quoted to agree with' 
Richard Bullock to perform the office of 
town clerk, to give him 16s. a year and to 
be paid for births, burials and marriages 
besides." He married (first) August 4, 
1647, Elizabeth, daughter of Richard In- 
graham, of Rehoboth. She died January 
7, 1659, an d he married (second) Eliza- 
beth Billington. Children of first mar- 
riage : Samuel, mentioned below ; Eliza- 
beth, born October 9, 1650; Mary, Febru- 
ary 16, 1652; Mehitable, April 4, 1655; 
Abigail, August 29, 1657; Hopestill, De- 
cember 26, 1658; children of second mar- 
riage: Israel, born July 15, 1661 ; Mary, 
March 13, 1663; John, May 19, 1664; 
Richard, March 15, 1667. 

(II) Samuel Bullock, eldest son of 
Richard and Elizabeth (Ingraham) Bul- 
lock, was born August 19, 1648, in Reho- 
both, and died there March 10, 1718. He 
was among the proprietors of the town 
in 1689, was an extensive farmer, and a 



contributor to the fund raised for the de- 
fence during King Philip's War, in 1675. 
He married (first) November 12, 1673, 
Mary Thurber, who died in October, 
1674. He married (second) May 26, 1675, 
Thankful Rouse. There was one child of 
the first marriage : Mary, born October 
5, 1674. Children of the second marriage: 
Ebenezer, mentioned below ; Thankful, 
born June 26, 1681 ; Samuel, November 7, 
1683; Israel, April 9, 1687; Daniel, 1689; 
Richard, July 1, 1692; Seth, September 
26, 1693. 

(III) Ebenezer Bullock, son of Samuel 
and Thankful (Rouse) Bullock, was born 
February 22, 1676, at Rehoboth, Massa • 
chusetts. He married, March 29, 1698, 
Sarah Moulton, and they resided at Reho- 
both. Children : Mary, born June 6, 
1699; Mehitable, April 1, 1701 ; Samuel, 
November 17, 1703 ; Hugh, mentioned be- 
low ; Aaron, 1707; Squier, March 4, 1709; 
Miriam, September 30, 171 1 ; Thankful, 
May 23, 1714; Katherine, died in Decem- 
ber, 1717 ; James, born August 21, 1716. 

(IV) Hugh Bullock, second son of 
Ebenezer and Sarah (Moulton) Bullock, 
was born April 1, 1706, at Rehoboth, died 
February 3, 1771. He resided in his 
native place. He married (first) 1733, 
Anna Cole, of Swansey, now Warren, 
Rhode Island, and (second) Mehitable, 
surname unknown. Children : James, 
born December 17, 1734; Alethea, March 
12, 1736; Ebenezer, June 30, 1739; Sarah, 
August 17, 1 741 ; Moulton, November 5, 
1743; Prudence, May 6, 1746; Hugh, of 
further mention ; Barnet, June 20, 1753. 

(V) Hugh (2) Bullock, son of Hugh 
(1) and Anna (Cole) Bullock, was born 
in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, August 12, 
175 1, died March 2, 1837. His brother 
Moulton removed to Royalston, Massa- 
chusetts, before the Revolution and 
settled there. Moulton's farm was owned 
in 1865 by Jason Fisher. Hugh Bullock 



140 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



went to Royalston during the Revolution. 
His farm was north of his brother's. After 
his sons were grown up and engaged in 
other business he built a house on the 
common, west of his son Barnet's house, 
and he died there in 1837. This house 
was occupied in 1865 by C. H. Newton. 
Hugh Bullock was one of the company 
that started for Saratoga to repel the in- 
vasion of Burgoyne. He was in Captain 
Peter Woodbury's company, Colonel Job 
Cushing's regiment, which reinforced 
General Stark at Bennington, Vermont. 
Mr. Bullock married Rebecca Davis, born 
in 1759, died in 1809. Children : Rufus, 
of further mention ; Calvin ; Moulton, born 
1787, died 1865 ; Barnet, born 1798, died 
1884; Candace, was living in Royalston 
in 1865. 

Christopher, Ebenezer, Nathan and 
David Bullock also settled in Royalston 
about this time. The history of Royals- 
ton states that they were cousins of Hugh 
and Deacon Moulton Bullock. They were 
all stalwart men, David being the tallest 
in the town. Their stay in town was 
short. When they had their places well 
cleared and were in the full vigor of 
manhood they went westward, following 
the tide of settlers from the Atlantic 
States inland after the Revolution. 

(VI) Rufus Bullock, son of Hugh (2) 
and Rebecca (Davis) Bullock, was born 
at Royalston, Massachusetts, September 
2 3> l 779- He was perhaps the most dis- 
tinguished man who spent his life in the 
town of Royalston, and he died there, 
January 10, 1858. With small means he 
laid the foundation of a good education 
and became an acceptable school teacher 
before he was of age. He taught school 
several winters and worked out at farm- 
ing during the summers. He was clerk in 
the country store and finally opened a 
store on his own account on the common. 
The business prospered and he led the 



life of a country merchant the remainder 
of his days, accumulating a fortune for 
his day and enjoying to a remarkable de- 
gree the respect and confidence of the 
people of the vicinity. Mr. Bullock made 
it a rule to expand his business as his 
means increased, never going beyond, but 
always using fully what he had. He 
always gave every detail of his varied 
business interests his personal super- 
vision. He began to manufacture at his 
mill in South Royalston, which was very 
successful. He always conducted a farm 
and took time to work in the fields him- 
self, notwithstanding the demands of his 
store and factory. He seemed to find 
recreation in the variety of his interests. 

Mr. Bullock often served the town in 
public office. He was town clerk in 1812- 
13, and selectman in 1811-12-13. He rep- 
resented Royalston and his district for 
five years in the General Court. He was 
in the Senate, 1831-32. He was delegate 
to the constitutional conventions in 1820 
and 1852, and was once chosen a presi- 
dential elector. He left $5,000 in his will 
to the Congregational church, in which 
he always took a profound interest ; he 
gave $2,500 to the Baptist Society; a 
similar amount to the Second Congrega- 
tional Church at South Royalston ; and 
$5,000 to the town of Royalston for 
schools. A significant proviso of the last 
named bequest was that the town keep 
the cemetery in repair or forfeit the 
money. The condition of the old grave- 
yards of Massachusetts at times has been 
a reproach to civilization in this State. 
Mr. Bullock's bequest will doubtless save 
the graves of Royalston from desecration 
and neglect. Mr. Bullock was a trustee 
of Amherst College and presented the 
telescope for the observatory. 

He married. May 4, 1808, Sarah Davis, 
of Rindge, New Hampshire. The history 
of Royalston says of her: "She still sur- 

4i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



vives (1865) and lives among us, the same 
industrious and cheerful matron of the 
olden type, whose wisdom and energy- 
helped to build the house ; and who is 
still spared to enjoy it, when builded, and 
still to attract the children and the chil- 
dren's children to the ancient home- 
stead." Of Mr. Bullock it says: "He was 
a patriot of the early type — a gentleman 
of the olden school — a friend to be trust- 
ed, a man whose principles bore the test 
of intimate acquaintance and inspection, 
and whose influence, unobtrusive yet po- 
tent, has been eminently useful." Chil- 
dren : Maria Louisa, born October 14, 
1S09; Emily, September 10, 181 1, married 
W. D. Ripley, died May 1, 1904; Rebecca, 
born April 28, 1814, married Nelson 
Wheeler ; Alexander Hamilton, of further 
mention ; Charles Augustus, born in 1818, 
died August 25, 1850; Rufus Henry, born 
January 9, 1821, died in 1855. 

(VII) Governor Alexander Hamilton 
Bullock, son of Rufus and Sarah (Davis) 
Bullock, was born at Royalston, Massa- 
chusetts, March 2, 1816, and died January 
17, 1882. He entered Amherst College in 
1832, was a diligent student, and at his 
graduation in 1836 delivered the saluta- 
tory oration. In the catalogue of his con- 
temporaries at college are found the 
names of Rev. Richard S. Storrs, Rev. 
Henry Ward Beecher, Bishop Hunting- 
ton, and other famous men. After being 
graduated he taught school for a short 
time at Princeton, New Jersey, and then, 
partly at the wish of his father and partly 
on account of his own inclination, entered 
the Harvard Law School. After leaving 
the law school he spent one year in the 
office of the well known lawyer, Emory 
Washburn, of Worcester, where he 
gained a good knowledge of the details 
of legal practice, and in 1841 was admit- 
ted to the bar. Senator Hoar said of Mr. 
Bullock : "He disliked personal contro- 



versy. While he possessed talents which 
would have rendered him a brilliant and 
persuasive advocate, the rough contests 
of the court house could never have been 
congenial to him. He was associated with 
Judge Thomas as junior counsel in one 
important capital trial, in which he is said 
to have made an eloquent opening argu- 
ment. He had a considerable clientage 
for a young man, to whom he was a safe 
and trustworthy adviser. But he soon 
established a large business as agent of 
important insurance companies and with- 
drew himself altogether from the practice 
of law." 

From early manhood Mr. Bullock took 
a decided interest in politics. The promi- 
nence of his father in political circles may 
have increased a natural taste for public 
life. He was particularly well versed in 
constitutional law and that fact, together 
with the well defined convictions he held, 
gave him in debate and administration 
great advantages. He was originally a 
Whig. Step by step he advanced to the 
highest position in the commonwealth. 
He was a member of the House of Repre- 
sentatives for eight years, first in 1845, 
last in 1865. In 1862-63-64-65, during the 
Civil War, all legislative positions were 
of extraordinary importance and involved 
great responsibility, and during these four 
vears he was Speaker of the House of 
Representatives. He was exceedingly 
popular among his colleagues. He was 
a State Senator in 1849; judge of the 
Worcester County Court of Insolvency 
for two years, 1856-58, having served as 
commissioner of insolvency since 1853 ; 
mayor of Worcester in 1859. The great- 
est event of his public career was his 
service as Governor of the Common- 
wealth, 1866-67-68. At his first election 
he received nearly fifty thousand votes 
more than his opponent. Governor Bul- 
lock had many opportunities to serve in 



142 




/£^ , & <7Vul££+~^4l 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



high positions in the national govern- 
ment. Among other places that he de- 
clined was the mission to England offered 
him by President Hayes. 

In financial, humane and all reforma- 
tory movements. Governor Bullock was 
active and efficient. He was president 
of the State Mutual Life Assurance Com- 
pany and the Worcester County Institu- 
tion of Savings ; director of the Worcester 
National Bank ; chairman of the finance 
committee of the trustees of Amherst Col- 
lege, a life member of the New England 
Historic-Genealogical Society, and a 
member of the Massachusetts Historical 
Society and of the American Antiquarian 
Society. While editor and publisher of 
"The Daily Aegis," now "The Gazette," 
he displayed marked ability as a writer 
and newspaper man. He received the 
honorary degree of Doctor of Laws from 
Amherst and Harvard colleges. He was 
a great friend of learning, interested in 
all educational institutions. 

In 1869 he visited Europe with his fam- 
ily. Upon his return the following year 
he was received with a public demonstra- 
tion to welcome him home and give evi- 
dence of the respect and love of his towns- 
men. Governor Bullock was an orator of 
great power. A volume of his addresses 
was published. Senator Hoar, who made 
a special study of orators, said of Gov- 
ernor Bullock's speeches: "Above all, he 
possessed, beyond any of his living con- 
temporaries, that rare gift of eloquence 
which always has been and always will 
be a passport to the favor of the people 
where speech is free." His eulogy of 
President Lincoln in Worcester in 1865 
was one of many notable public addresses 
that he delivered. He delivered the com- 
memorative oration at the centennial of 
the incorporation of his native town of 
Royal st on. 

Governor Bullock married, in 1844, El- 



vira Hazard, daughter of Colonel A. G. 
Hazard, of Enfield, Connecticut, founder 
of the Hazard Gunpowder Manufacturing 
Company : Children : Augustus George, 
mentioned below ; Isabel, married Helson 
S. Bartlett, of Boston ; Fanny, married 
Dr. William H. Workman, of Worcester. 
(VIII) Augustus George Bullock, son 
of Governor Alexander Hamilton and El- 
vira (Hazard) Bullock, was born June 2, 
1847, at Enfield, Connecticut. His life 
has been spent from infancy, however, in 
the city of Worcester. He attended the 
Highland Military Academy and was 
graduated from there in 1862. After two 
years of preparation under Professor E. 
G. Cutler he entered college in 1864. Pro- 
fessor Cutler, his tutor, was afterward 
professor of English literature at Har- 
vard. In 1868 Mr. Bullock was graduated 
from Harvard College. Soon afterward 
he commenced the study of law in the 
offices of the late Judge Thomas L. Nel- 
son and the late Senator George F. Hoar. 
He was admitted to the bar and entered 
upon the practice of his profession. His 
career as a lawyer closed with his election 
to the presidency of the State Mutual Life 
Assurance Company, from which office he 
retired January 18, 1910, and is now chair- 
man of the board and senior vice-presi- 
dent. His predecessor in the presidency 
was Philip L. Moen, who completed the 
year to which Mr. Bullock's father had 
been elected in January, 1882, his death 
two weeks later making a vacancy. In 
the following year A. G. Bullock was 
elected. This company began its busi- 
ness in Worcester in 1845. I ts ^ rst presi- 
dent, John Davis, its third president, 
Alexander H. Bullock, and its vice-presi- 
dent, Emory Washburn, were at various 
times elected Governor of the Common- 
wealth. The second president of the com- 
pany, Isaac Davis, was almost as promi- 
nent in public affairs as his uncle who 



[43 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



preceded him. He was president twenty- 
nine years. A vice-president and one of 
the organizers was John Milton Earle, 
who was editor of "The Spy" for so many 
years. The company has among its assets 
one of the attractive office buildings of 
Boston and the most valuable office build- 
ing by far in Worcester. Mr. Bullock's 
other interests are extensive. He is presi- 
dent of the Norwich & Worcester Rail- 
road Company ; director of the Worcester 
Consolidated Street Railroad Company ; 
president of the Worcester Railways and 
Investment Company; trustee and mem- 
ber of the board of investment of the 
Worcester County Institution for Sav- 
ings ; director of the Providence & 
Worcester Railroad Company ; director of 
the Boston & Albany Railroad Company ; 
director of the Worcester Gaslight Com- 
pany ; director of the Worcester Trust 
Company; director of the State Street 
Trust Company of Boston ; director of 
the American Trust Company of Boston, 
and trustee of the New England Invest- 
ment and Security Company. He was a 
commissioner-at-large to the Columbian 
Exposition at Chicago in 1893, appointed 
by the President of the United States. 
He has been chairman of the directors of 
the Public Library, and was formerly a 
trustee of the State Lunatic Hospital at 
Worcester ; is a member of the American 
Antiquarian Society and of the Worcester 
Society of Antiquity. He is a member of 
the Tatnuck Country Club, Worcester 
Club, University Club of New York, Som- 
erset Club of Boston, Union Club of Bos- 
ton, the Colonial Society of Massachu- 
setts, and a life member of the Royal 
Society of Arts, England. He attends the 
First Unitarian Church, and is a Repub- 
lican. He resides at No. 48 Elm street, 
the house built by Governor Bullock. By 
a singular coincidence the former resi- 
dence of Governor Lincoln is directly 



across Elm street. Mr. Bullock has a 
country home near Mount Wachusett, in 
the town of Princeton. He married, Oc- 
tober 4, 1871, Mary Chandler, daughter of 
Dr. George and Josephine (Rose) Chand- 
ler, of Worcester. Children : 

1. Chandler Bullock, born August 24, 
1872, in Worcester. He attended the pub- 
lic schools of his native city until 1886, 
spent three years at the high school, then 
one year in the private school of Charles 
E. Fish, where he was prepared for en- 
trance to college, and from which he was 
graduated in 1890. He matriculated at 
Harvard University, was graduated in the 
class of 1894 with the degree of Bachelor 
of Arts, then became a student in the law 
school of the same university, and was 
graduated from this department in the 
class of 1897 with the degree of Bachelor 
of Laws. He at once became identified 
with the legal profession, was admitted 
to the Worcester county bar, and prac- 
ticed in the office of the Hon. Herbert 
Parker, at Worcester, for a period of sev- 
eral years. In 1910 he was elected general 
counsel for the State Mutual Life Assur- 
ance Company. He is a trustee of the 
Worcester Public Library, and vice-presi- 
dent and director of the Worcester Cham- 
ber of Commerce. He is a director of the 
Merchants' National Bank, a trustee of 
the Worcester Five Cents Savings Bank, 
and a director of the Bancroft Realty 
Company, which owns the Bancroft Hotel 
in Worcester. While at Harvard he was 
a member of the "Institute of 1770," and 
the Hasty Pudding Club, and his present 
social affiliation is with : University Club 
of New York City ; National Association 
of Life Insurance Underwriters, and 
member of the Council ; Worcester Club ; 
Tatnuck Country Club ; Bohemian Club ; 
Worcester Shakespeare Club ; Massachu- 
setts Republican Club, in which he is a 
member of the election committee : and 
a number of others. His religious affili- 
ation is with All Saints Episcopal Church. 
He married, October 17, 1900, Mabel 
Richardson, daughter of George and Anna 
Ruth (Woodcock) Richardson, of Worces- 
ter (see Richardson VIII). Children: 
Margaret, born December 21, 1901 ; Jo- 



144 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sephine Rose, June 21, 1904; Noeline, De- 
cember 25, 1910. 

2. Alexander Hamilton Bullock, born 
November 7, 1874, in Worcester. He was 
educated in the public schools and at the 
Dalzell Private School at Worcester, 
graduating in the class of 1892. Having 
matriculated at Harvard College, he was 
graduated from that institution in the 
class of 1896, with the degree of Bachelor 
of Arts. He then read law in the office 
of Kent & Dewey, in Worcester. At 
the present time he is a director of the 
Worcester National Bank, a trustee of 
the People's Savings Bank, and a mem- 
ber of the law firm of Thayer, Bullock & 
Thayer. He married, June 4, 1902, Mrs. 
Florence (Armsby) McClellan, a daugh- 
ter of George and Emma (Banister) 
Armsby, of Worcester. She has one 
daughter, Beulah, by her first marriage. 

3. Augustus George Bullock, born April 
20, 1880, died April 29, 1880. 

4. Rockwood Hoar Bullock, born Au- 
gust 21, 1881, at Worcester. He was edu- 
cated at the Dalzell Private School, and 
after his graduation from this institution 
became a student at St. Mark's Private 
School at Southboro, Massachusetts, and 
was graduated in the class of 1899. En- 
tering Harvard University, he was gradu- 
ated in 1903, the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts being conferred upon him. After 
his graduation he associated with the 
Worcester Consolidated Street Railway 
Company as clerk and shophand for two 
years, later becoming roadmaster, posi- 
tions he filled from 1903 to 1908. In 
February, 1908, he opened a general in- 
surance office in the Exchange Building, 
where he represents The Massachusetts 
Bonding Insurance Company, Hartford 
Fire Insurance Company, Hartford Steam 
Boiler Inspection & Insurance Company, 
Fidelity & Casualty Company of New 
York, State Mutual Life Insurance Com- 
pany, as well as other insurance com- 
panies. He is a director of the Mechanics' 
National Bank of Worcester, director of 
the Worcester Electric Light Company of 
Worcester, and a member of the Worces- 
ter Club, Quinsigamond Boat Club, Tat- 
nuck Country Club, Worcester Tennis 
Club. While at Harvard he was a mem- 
ber of the Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity, 



Hasty Pudding Club, "Institute of 1770," 
and the Owl Club. He married, June 8, 
1905, Elizabeth Bliss Dewey, daughter 
of Francis Henshaw and Lizzie Davis 
(Bliss) Dewey, of Worcester. Children: 
A. George (2nd), born February 10, 1909; 
Francis D., February 21, 191 1 ; Elizabeth 
Chandler, March 7, 1914. 

(The Richardson Line). 

The great part of the members of this 
family in New England are descended 
from three Richardson brothers, who 
were among the original settlers of Wo- 
burn, Massachusetts. They were men of 
substance and influence, and their de- 
scendants are very numerous, many of 
whom have taken leading places in the 
direction of business and public events in 
their different days and generations. 

(I) Thomas Richardson was born in 
England, and had brothers Samuel and 
Ezekiel, who also came to New England. 
He was probably the youngest of the 
brothers, and probably came over in 1635. 
He was admitted a freeman at Charles- 
town, Massachusetts, May 2, 1638; was 
one of seven chosen by the town of 
Charlestown to commence the settlement 
of Woburn. His wife was admitted to 
the church at Charlestown, February 21, 
1636, and that is the earliest record of the 
family. He had land assigned him at Mai- 
den, and died August 28, 165 1. He joined 
the church in February, 1638, and held 
various town offices. The Christian name 
of his wife was Mary, and she married 
(second) Michael Bacon, said to have 
come from Ireland, and one of the original 
inhabitants of Woburn in 1641. She died 
May 19, 1670. Children: Mary, baptized 
November 17, 1638, married, May 15, 
1655, John Baldwin, of Billerica; Sarah, 
November 22, 1640, married, March 22, 
1660, Michael Bacon ; Isaac, born May 14, 
1643, married Deborah Fuller ; Thomas, 
October 4, 1645; Ruth, April 14, 1647; 

45 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Phebe, January 24, 1649; Nathaniel, men- 
tioned below. 

(II) Nathaniel Richardson, youngest 
son of Thomas and Mary Richardson, was 
born January 2, 1651, in Woburn, where 
he lived, and was made freeman, 1690. 
He was a soldier in King Philip's War, 
in Captain Prentiss' troop of horse, and 
was wounded in the Swamp Fight, De- 
cember 19, 1675. He died in Woburn, 
December 4, 1710, and was survived by 
his wife Mary, who died December 22, 
1719. Children: Nathaniel, born August 
27, 1673 5 James, mentioned below ; Mary, 
March 10, 1680; Joshua, June 3, 1681 ; 
Martha, 1683 ; John, January 25, 1685 ; 
Thomas, April 15, 1687; Hannah, May 6, 
1689; Samuel, September 24, 1691 ; Phine- 
has, February, 1694; Phebe, March 4, 
1696; Amos, August 10, 1698; Benjamin, 
August 27, 1700. 

(III) James Richardson, second son of 
Nathaniel and Mary Richardson, was 
born February 26, 1676, in Woburn, was 
captain of the militia, a soldier in the ex- 
pedition against the Indians in Maine, and 
resided in that part of Woburn which is 
now Winchester, where he died March 23, 
1722. The inventory of his real estate 
amounted to £1,214, 6s., and personal 
property £366, 9s. and 7d. Against this 
were debts of £930. His land was willed 
to his two sons, William and James. He 
married (first) in 1698, Rebecca Eaton, 
of Reading, born April 13, 1679, daughter 
of Joshua and Rebecca (Kendall) Eaton, 
died in Winchester, 1699. He married 
(second) in Woburn, December 22, 1699, 
Elizabeth Arnold, born June 17, 1679, in 
Reading, daughter of William Arnold, of 
that town, died November 3, 1744, in Wo- 
burn. There was one child of the first 
marriage: William, born 1699. Children 
of second marriage: James, died young; 
James, mentioned below ; Josiah, born 
May 16, 1705; Elizabeth, 1708; Rebecca, 



July 14, 1710; Catherine, died young; 
Catherine, February 6, 1715. 

(IV) James (2) Richardson, third son 
of James (1) Richardson, and second child 
of his second wife, Elizabeth (Arnold) 
Richardson, was born March 14, 1704, in 
Woburn, and lived in that town until 
about 1735, when he removed to Leomins- 
ter, Massachusetts, then a part of Lancas- 
ter. His home was in the northern part 
of Leominster, at the corner of Harvard 
and Lunenburg roads. Here he cleared 
up new land, and developed a farm, was 
surveyor of highways in 1745, and died 
in 1748. He married, September 24, 1728, 
Sarah Fowle, born July 29, 1703, in Wo- 
burn, daughter of Captain James and 
Mary (Richardson) Fowle, the last named 
a daughter of Joseph Richardson, and 
granddaughter of Samuel Richardson, a 
brother of Thomas Richardson, immi- 
grant ancestor of this line. Children : 
James, born December 25, 1729; William, 
mentioned below ; Sarah, December 12, 
1732; Luke, August 15, 1734; Esther, 
1736; John, July 18, 1741 ; Josiah, 1742- 
43; Joseph, 1744. 

(V) Colonel William Richardson, sec- 
ond son of James (2) and Sarah (Fowle) 
Richardson, was born May 6, 1731, and 
resided in that part of Lancaster which is 
now a part of Princeton, Massachusetts. 
He was active in procuring the charter 
of the town of Princeton, and was in- 
structed by the General Court to call its 
first town meeting. The town was in- 
corporated, April 24, 1 77 1. Colonel Wil- 
liam Richardson was a commander of the 
militia, was representative from Lancas- 
ter ten years, in the period from 1741 to 
1 75 1, town clerk of Princeton in 1768 and 
1774. In the latter year he was also se- 
lectman and assessor. He was long a 
magistrate, was a farmer, a tailor, and 
merchant, died December 30, 1814. He 
married, about 1754, Esther Joslin, born 



146 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in March, 1729, in Lancaster, daughter of 
John Joslin, granddaughter of Peter Jos- 
lin, an early settler of that town. Chil- 
dren : Esther, born March 12, 1755; Wil- 
liam, January 28, 1757; Abigail, Decem- 
ber 28, 1758; Samuel, June 27, 1760; 
Peter, July 2, 1762; John, mentioned be- 
low; Elizabeth, August 31, 1766; Josiah, 
April 23, 1770. 

(VI) John Richardson, fourth son of 
Colonel William and Esther (Joslin) Rich- 
ardson, was born April 14, 1764, in Lan- 
caster. He entered Harvard College in 
1792. Ill health prevented his gradua- 
tion, but he was for many years a teacher 
in Ohio, New Jersey and Massachusetts. 
He opened the first grammar school on 
Cape Cod, at Centerville, in the town of 
Barnstable, Massachusetts, where he died 
in January, 1842. He married, April 4, 
1799, Hannah Lewis, of Barnstable, a de- 
scendant of George Lewis, who was early 
at Plymouth, later in Scituate, and set- 
tled in Barnstable in 1639. He was from 
East Greenwich, County Kent, England. 
Hannah (Lewis) Richardson died in June, 
1861. Children: Edward Lewis, born 
June 20, 1800; John, July 22, 1801 ; Eph- 
raim, March 31, 1803; Asenath Lewis, 
February 12, 1806; Josiah, mentioned be- 
low; Catherine, June 18, 181 1; William, 
July 24, 1814; Hannah Lewis, August 24, 
1816. 

(VII) Captain Josiah Richardson, 
fourth son of John and Hannah (Lewis) 
Richardson, was born September 2, 1808, 
in Centerville, and was a shipmaster and 
merchant. He was lost with his ship 
"Staffordshire" off Cape Sable, Nova 
Scotia, December 30, 1853. He married 
(first) in 1831, Abigail Scudder, who died 
February 15, 1834. He married (second) 
November 7, 1837, his cousin, Sophia 
Howe, born October 20, 1816, in Prince- 
ton, Massachusetts, daughter of Israel 
and Sally (Richardson) Howe, died Octo- 



ber 16, 1842. He married (third) Octo- 
ber 25, 1843, Harriet Elvira Goodnow, 
born July 23, 1817, in Princeton, daugh- 
ter of Edward and Rebecca (Beaman) 
Goodnow. There was one child of the 
first marriage : William Richardson, died 
two days old, and three days before his 
mother. Children of second marriage: 
Abigail Scudder, born 1838, married Lloyd 
Bion Kimball, whom she survived ; Sophia 
Howe, died one month old. Children of 
third marriage : Josiah and Edward 
(twins), died in early childhood; Au- 
gusta E., died seven months old ; George, 
mentioned below; Josiah, born April 9, 
1854, died 1 861. 

(VIII) George Richardson, fourth son 
of Captain Josiah Richardson, and fourth 
child of his third wife, Harriet E. (Good- 
now) Richardson, was born January 17, 
1850, in Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, 
where he spent his early childhood. After 
an attendance on the public schools of 
that town, he was a student at Leicester 
Academy and Phillips Andover Academy, 
class of 1868, scientific department. He 
began his business life as an errand boy 
in the hardware store of C. Foster, in 
Worcester. In 1876 he acquired partner- 
ship interests in association with T. A. 
Clark, Eben Sawyer and Edward W. Ball. 
He married, April 28, 1875, Anna Ruth 
Woodcock, daughter of Theodore Earle 
and Ellen Orne (Caldwell) Woodcock. 
Children: 1. Mabel, married Chandler 
Bullock (see Bullock IX). 2. Harriet E., 
wife of Arthur E. Nye; has a daughter, 
Anne Elizabeth Nye (see Nye VIII). 



NYE, Arthur Eggleston, 

Business Man. 

The name Nye was first found in the 
middle of the thirteenth century in the 
Sjelland section of Denmark. In Danish 
the name signifies new, or newcomer, 



147 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



used as a prefix. The name was not 
adopted as a surname until after the fam- 
ily settled in England, on the adoption 
of surnames. The coat-of-arms is as fol- 
lows : Azure a crescent increscent argent. 
Crest : Two horns couped counterchanged 
azure and argent. 

(I) Lave was a son of a descendant of 
Harold Blautand, who died in 985, 
through his daughter, who married one 
of the most famous of the Swedish heroes, 
Styribiorn, son of Olaf, King of Sweden. 
He became a man of prominence, and in 
1316 was bishop of Roskilde. 

(II) Sven was heir of Lave in 1346. 

(III) Marten was declared heir of Sven 
in 1363. 

(IV) Nils was mentioned in 1418 as 
owning land in Tudse. 

(V) Bertolf, mentioned in 1466 as son 
of Nils, had sons James and Randolf. 
James had a duel and was obliged to flee 
to England, accompanied by his youngest 
brother, mentioned below. 

(VI) Randolf Nye settled in Sussex, 
England, in 1527, and held land in Uck- 
field. His heir was William, mentioned 
below. 

(VII) William Nye married Agnes, 
daughter of Ralph Tregian, of County 
Hertford. He studied for the ministry 
and became rector of the parish church 
of Ballance-Horned, before his father's 
death. He had a son Ralph. 

(VIII) Ralph Nye became heir to his 
father in Uckfield and Ballance in 1556. 
He married, June 18, 1555, Margaret 
Merynge, of St. Mary, Woolchurch. Chil- 
dren : Thomas, mentioned below ; Ed- 
mundus, lived in Somersetshire, and was 
buried there March 9, 1594; Ralph, mar- 
ried, August 30, 1584, Joan Wilkshire ; 
Anne, married, August 6, 1616, Nicholas 
Stuart; Mary, married, April 24, 1621, 
John Bannister. 

(IX) Thomas Nye, son of Ralph Nye, 



married, September 9, 1583, at St. An- 
drew, Hubbard, Katherine Poulsden, of 
London, daughter of the late Mr. Pouls- 
den, of Horley, County Surrey, England. 
He sold to his wife's brother, William 
Poulsden, a tenement built with a croft 
adjoining, containing sixteen and a half 
acres, in Bidlenden, County Kent, Eng- 
land. For this he received an annuity of 
four shillings arising from said lands. 
Children : Henry, graduate at Oxford, 
161 1, and in 161 5 was vicar of Cobham, 
Surrey, rector of Clapham, Sussex, in 
1630; Philip, a graduate of Oxford, 1619, 
rector of St. Michael's, Cornhill, and 
Acton. Middlesex, a celebrated preacher 
in Cromwell's time ; John ; Thomas, men- 
tioned below. 

(X) Thomas (2) Nye, son of Thomas 
(1) Nye, was a haberdasher of Bidlenden, 
County Kent, England. On July 4, 1637, 
he granted to his youngest son Thomas 
land in Bidlenden, and stated in the deed 
"my oldest son Benjamin having gone to 
New England." He married, June 10, 
1619, Agnes Nye, aged thirty-nine, widow 
of Henry Nye. Children: Benjamin, 
mentioned below ; Thomas, born Septem- 
ber 16, 1623. 

(I) Benjamin Nye, son of Thomas (2) 
Nye, was born May 4, 1620, at Bidlenden, 
County Kent, England. He came in the 
ship "Abigail" to Lynn, Massachusetts* 
and settled in 1637, in Sandwich, Massa- 
chusetts. He was on the list of those able 
to bear arms in 1643. In 1654 he was one 
of a number to contribute towards build- 
ing a mill, and in 1655 he contributed for 
building a meeting house. He took the 
oath of fidelity in 1657, and held many im- 
portant positions in public affairs. He 
was supervisor of highways in 1655 ; on 
the grand jury in 1658, and at other times ; 
constable in 1661-73 > collector of taxes, 
1674. He received in 1669 twelve acres 
of land from, the town, because he built a 



148 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mill at the little pond, and was granted 
other land afterward. The town voted, 
August 8, 1675, to give permission to 
Benjamin Nye to build a fulling mill on 
Spring Hill river. It is said that the 
ruins of the old saw mill are still extant 
at Spring Hill, just west of East Sand- 
wich. He married, in Sandwich, October 
19, 1640, Katherine, daughter of Rev. 
Thomas Tupper, who came over on the 
same ship. Children: Mary, married, 
June 1, 1670, Jacob Burgess ; John ; Eben- 
ezer; Jonathan, born November 29, 1649; 
Mercy, April 4, 1652; Caleb; Nathan, 
mentioned below; Benjamin, killed by In- 
dians at the battle of Rehoboth, in King 
Philip's war, March 26, 1676. 

(II) Nathan Nye, fifth son of Benja- 
min and Katherine (Tupper) Nye, resided 
in Sandwich, where he subscribed to the 
oath of fidelity in 1678, and shared in the 
common land in 1702. He made his will, 
September 18, 1741, added a codicil, No- 
vember 28, 1744, was signed with his 
mark, and proved May 13, 1747. He had 
wife Mary, and children : Remember, 
born February 28, 1687 ; Temperance, 
April 7. 1689; Thankful, August 11, 1691 ; 
Content, September 25, 1693; Jemima, 
February 20, 1695; Lemuel, March 21, 
1699; Deborah, April 8, 1700; Maria, 
April 2, 1702; Caleb, mentioned below; 
Nathan, September 28, 1708. 

(III) Caleb Nye, second son of Na- 
than and Mary Nye, was born June 28, 
1704, in Sandwich, and lived in that town 
until 1736, when he removed to Barn- 
stable, Massachusetts. He probably died 
there in 1787, as his will was proved June 
5, of that year. He married, October 28, 
1731, Hannah, daughter of Benjamin and 
Lydia (Crocker) Bodfish, born February 
12, 1712, in Barnstable, died March 7, 
1779. Children: Silas, died young; Jo- 
seph, born April 18, 1735 ; Benjamin, men- 
tioned below ; Simon, July 18, 1737 ; Eben- 



ezer, February 2, 1739; Caleb and Joshua 
(twins), April, 1742; Silas, 1744; Hannah, 
1750; Prince, 1752; Azubah, about 1756. 
(IV) Captain Benjamin (2) Nye, third 
son of Caleb and Hannah (Bodfish) Nye, 
was born April 18, 1735, in Sandwich, 
and settled in the town of Barre, Massa- 
chusetts. During the Revolution he 
served through many enlistments, cred- 
ited to the Rutland district. He was a sec- 
ond lieutenant in Captain John Oliver's 
company, Colonel Nathan Sparhawk's 
regiment, and also in Captain John Blacn's 
company, under the same colonel, Sev- 
enth Worcester County Regiment, list 
dated Petersham, March 24, 1776, and he 
was commissioned April 5, of that year. 
He was captain of the First Company of 
Worcester County Militia, commissioned 
May 14, 1777, and from August 21 to 25 
of that year he was captain of a company 
in Colonel Sparhawk's regiment, raised to 
reinforce General Stark at Bennington, 
service ten days, including travel home, 
ninety-six miles. From September 26 to 
October 18, 1777, he commanded a com- 
pany under Major Jonas Wilder, raised 
to serve thirty days in reinforcement of 
the northern army. His service, includ- 
ing travel home, was twenty-nine days. 
He was captain of a company under Colo- 
nel Sparhawk from, September 17 to De- 
cember 12, 1778, at Dorchester, and was 
chosen by ballot in the House of Repre- 
sentatives, January 30, 1779, as second 
major of Colonel Jonathan Grout's (Sev- 
enth Worcester County) Regiment, com- 
missioned on the same day. He died in 
Barre, May 27, 1816. His wife, Susan 
(Phinney) Nye, born 1735, survived him 
more than six years, and died September 
16, 1822. Children : Lydia, married Jona- 
than Lilly, of Barre ; Benjamin, mentioned 
below ; Nathan ; Rebecca, married, Janu- 
ary 13, 1791, Joseph Barnaby, of New 
Braintree ; John. 

49 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(V) Benjamin (3) Nye, eldest son of 
Captain Benjamin (2) and Susan (Phin- 
ney) Nye, was born 1769, in Barre, where 
he passed his life, and died February 28, 
1847. He married Bathsheba, daughter 
of Nehemiah Allen, born 1768-69, died 
July 26, 1865, in Hardwick, Massachu- 
setts. Children: Allen, born March 10, 
1796; Nancy, September 21, 1798, died 
young; Ansel, February 16, 1800; Fran- 
cis, May 12, 1802; John, July 12, 1804; 
Willard, September 30, 1806; Lyman, 
mentioned below; Nancy A., May 25, 
1814. 

(VI) Lyman Nye, sixth son of Benja- 
min (3) and Bathsheba (Allen) Nye, was 
born August 7, 1809, in Barre, where he 
lived, and married (intentions published 
May 1, 1832) Ursula C. Daniels, who died 
February 24, 1833, in Barre, perhaps a 
daughter of Captain Joseph and Eliza 
(Daniels) Hubbardston. 

(VII) Samuel Daniels Nye, only known 
son of Lyman and Ursula C. (Daniels) 
Nye, was born February 17, 1833, in 
Barre, and lived in Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, until 1897, when he removed to 
Chestnut Hill, same State. He married, 
March 12, 1857, Susan W., daughter of 
Elijah P. and Mary Ann (Williams) 
Brigham, born June 29, 1836, in Charles- 
town, Massachusetts, died October 20, 
1899. Children : Walter Brigham, born 
February 11, 1862; Mary Eggleston, died 
two years old ; Henry Pearson, May 26, 
1870, resides in Worcester; Susie Chollar, 
died eight months old ; Arthur Eggleston, 
mentioned below. 

(VIII) Arthur Eggleston Nye, young- 
est child of Samuel Daniels and Susan W. 
(Brigham) Nye, was born November 7, 
1878, in Worcester, Massachusetts, where 
his life has been chiefly spent. His edu- 
cation was obtained by attendance at the 
public schools of his home city, including 
the high school. In 1908 he became junior 



partner of the J. Russell Marble Com- 
pany, dealers in paints and oils, and has 
had a successful business experience. 

He married, October 17, 1908, Harriet 
E., daughter of George and Anna R. 
(Woodcock) Richardson, of Worcester 
(see Richardson VIII). They have one 
daughter, Anne Elizabeth Nye. 



DEWEY Family. 

This name is borne by a large number 
of the American people, and includes 
many noted in military, naval, religious 
and civil affairs, from the Atlantic to the 
Pacific. Its representatives were numer- 
ous among the pioneers of many towns 
in the United States, and they and their 
progeny have maintained the good stand- 
ing of the name. The name is said to be 
of French origin, and has been traced to 
the advent of William the Conqueror in 
England, in 1066. 

(I) Thomas Dewey came from Sand- 
wich. County Kent, England, and was 
one of the original grantees of Dorchester, 
Massachusetts. He was here as early as 
1633, however, was a witness in that year 
to the non-cupative will of John Russell, 
of Dorchester, and was admitted a free- 
man of the colony, May 14, 1634. He sold 
his lands at Dorchester, August 12, 1635, 
and removed with other Dorchester men 
to Windsor, Connecticut, where he was 
one of the earliest settlers. In 1640 he 
was granted land at Windsor ; his home 
lot in Windsor was the first north of the 
Palisade, and extended from the main 
street eastward to the Connecticut river. 
He was juryman in 1642-43-44-45. He 
died intestate, and the inventory of his 
estate was filed May 19, 1648, amounting 
to two hundred and thirteen pounds. His 
estate was divided by the court, June 6, 
1650. He married, March 22, 1639, at 
Windsor, Frances Clark, widow of Joseph 
So 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Clark. She married (third) as his second 
wife, George Phelps, and died September 
27, 1690. Children of Thomas and Fran- 
ces Dewey : Thomas, born February 16, 
1640; Josiah, baptized October 10, 1641 ; 
Anna, October 15, 1643; Israel, born Sep- 
tember 23, 1645 '■> Jedediah, mentioned be- 
low. 

(II) Ensign Jedediah Dewey, youngest 
child of Thomas and Frances (Clark) 
Dewey, was born December 15, 1647, in 
Windsor, and died May, 1718, in West- 
field, Massachusetts. The lands in Wind- 
sor belonging to him were sold in his 
twenty-first year, and that same year he 
is mentioned at Westfield, which was then 
being settled under the direction of a com- 
mittee appointed by the town of Spring- 
field for the purpose. On August 27, 
1668, he was granted fifteen or sixteen 
acres of land, and about two years later, 
in 1670, he received another grant of six 
acres. At this time he probably moved. 
In 1672, he with his two brothers, Thomas 
and Josiah, with Joseph Whiting, erected 
a "saw and corn-mill" on a brook then 
called Two Mile Brook. They were 
granted forty acres of land for the use of 
the mills, and were to give to the town 
one-twelfth of the corn which they 
ground. During King Philip's war the 
settlers of Westfield remained most of the 
time inside the "Compact Dwelling," 
which they had been ordered to form for 
protection against the Indians, and it was 
not until 1687 that they began to receive 
grants of land and to build houses outside 
the two-mile limit thus enclosed. In Feb- 
ruary of the latter year, Jedediah Dewey, 
with other proprietors, received a grant of 
twenty acres without the meeting house. 
He served in the various town offices of 
the period; selectman in 1678-86-95-97- 
99; mentioned as ensign in 1686; was 
made a freeman, January 1, 1680; joined 
the church September 28, 1680. By trade 



he was a wheelwright. He was the only 
one of the sons of Thomas Dewey to 
make a will, which was proved May 25, 
1718. He married, about 1670, Sarah Or- 
ton, daughter of Thomas and Margaret 
(Pell) Orton. Thomas Orton was prob- 
ably the son of Thomas Orton, of Charles- 
town, Massachusetts. Sarah Orton was 
baptized August 22, 1652, at Windsor, 
and joined the Westfield church, March 
24, 1680. She died in Westfield, Novem- 
ber 20, 171 1. Children, born in Westfield : 
Sarah, March 28, 1672 ; Margaret, January 
10, 1674; Jedediah, June 14, 1676; Daniel, 
March 9, 1680; Thomas, June 29, 1682; 
Joseph, May 10, 1684; Hannah, March 14, 
1686; Mary, March 1, 1690; James, men- 
tioned below; Abigail, November 17, 1694. 
(Ill) James Dewey, fifth son of Ensign 
Jedediah and Sarah (Orton) Dewey, was 
born April 3, 1692, in Westfield, and died 
June 24, 1756, at Sheffield, Massachusetts. 
He was by trade a wheelwright, and lived 
near the east end of Silver street, in West- 
field, where he served in various town 
offices, such as selectman and town treas- 
urer. He joined the church at Westfield, 
April 30, 1727, and in 1741 was chosen 
deacon. On November 9, 1746, he re- 
signed and was dismissed to the Sheffield 
church. Here also he held town offices, 
as selectman and moderator at town meet- 
ings. On November 22, 1745, he, then 
of Westfield, deeded to Joseph Clark, of 
that place, for £320, a hundred and twenty 
rods in the town plot, and on February 
12, 1748, then being of Sheffield, he 
bought thirty acres there of Phineas 
Smith. On February 16, 1753, he bought 
fifty-five acres of Samuel Churchill, and 
on October 31, 1754, deeded all his claims 
to land in Westfield to Samuel Fowler, 
of that place. He married (first) May 15, 
1718, at Westfield, Elizabeth Ashley, 
daughter of David and Mary (Dewey) 
Ashley. Mary Dewey was a daughter of 



151 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Thomas Dewey, who was a son of 
Thomas Dewey, the immigrant, men- 
tioned above. Elizabeth Ashley was born 
at Westfield, March 3, 1698, and died 
there September 25, 1727, aged thirty-nine 
years. She joined the church, April 30, 
1727. He married (second) December 30, 
1738, Joanna (Kellogg) Taylor, daugh- 
ter of John and Ruth Kellogg, and widow 
of Samuel Taylor, whom she married, De- 
cember 17, 1719, at Hadley, Massachu- 
setts. Samuel Taylor was son of John 
and Mary (Sheldon) Taylor, born Decem- 
ber 3, 1688, died 1735. Joanna (Kellogg) 
Taylor was born June 12, 1694, at Hadley, 
and died at Sheffield, December 1, 1762, 
aged sixty-nine years. Her children by 
Samuel Taylor were : Samuel, born Octo- 
ber 30, 1721 ; Joanna, October 9, 1723, 
married Stephen Dewey; Jonathan, No- 
vember 21, 1726; Ruth, 1728, married 
Daniel Dewey, mentioned below ; Paul, 
died July 29, 1747, at Westfield; Silas. 
Children of James and Elizabeth Dewey : 
Stephen, born March 13, 1719; Elizabeth, 
September 29, 1722; Anna, August 30, 
1724; Keziah, October 20, 1726; Daniel, 
mentioned below ; James, August 14, 1731 ; 
Josiah, January 29, died March 17, 1733; 
Mary, April 6, 1735 ; Josiah, September 8, 

1737- 

(IV) Captain Daniel Dewey, second 
son of James and Elizabeth (Ashley) 
Dewey, was born March 10, 1729, in West- 
field, and died April 1, 1776, at Sheffield, 
where he was a farmer. He served in 
the war of the Revolution. In July, 1771, 
he was commissioned lieutenant in the 
South Company in Sheffield ; was chosen 
captain of the first company, first regi- 
ment, of Berkshire county, being chosen 
by the company, and accepted by the 
council of Massachusetts. He married 
(first) May 25, 1751, Ruth Taylor, daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Joanna (Kellogg) Tay- 
lor, born 1728, at Hadley, Massachusetts, 



died March 4, 1760, aged thirty-one years. 
He married (second) May 26, 1761, Abi- 
gail (Saxton) Huggins, widow of John 
Huggins, and daughter of James and Ada- 
lene (Gilbert) Saxton. Children of first 
marriage: Paul, born March 13, 1752; 
Eleanor, October 6, 1754; Ruth, Febru- 
ary 26, 1760. Of second marriage : Phebe, 
September 6, 1763; Daniel, mentioned be- 
low; James, died in infancy; Abigail, died 
in infancy. 

(V) Daniel (2) Dewey, son of Captain 
Daniel (1) Dewey, and child of his second 
wife, Abigail (Saxton-Huggins) Dewey, 
was born January 29, 1766, at Sheffield, 
and died at Williamstown, Massachusetts, 
May 26, 181 5, aged forty-nine years. He 
attended Yale College for two years, and 
in 1792 received the degree of Master of 
Arts. He lived in Williamstown, where 
he built a house about eighty rods east of 
the old College Chapel, owned in 1876 by 
Hon. Joseph White. He was a trustee of 
Williams College almost from its found- 
ing until his death. In 1809-12 he was a 
member of the Governor's Council, and in 
1813 elected a member of Congress. He 
resigned to become judge of the Supreme 
Judicial Court of Massachusetts in Feb- 
ruary, 1814, and held this office until his 
death. Although he lived at a time when 
party prejudices were very deep and bit- 
ter, no one ever said anything against his 
name. He was happy in all social and 
domestic life. Chief Justice Parker said 
of him : "He is almost the only man in 
an elevated rank and of unalterable politi- 
cal opinions, that has been at no time cal- 
uminated." On his monument is this in- 
scription : "In memory of the Hon. Dan- 
iel Dewey, departed this life on the 26th 
of May, A. D. 181 5, in the 50th year of 
his age. He had held several important 
offices, and at the time of his death was 
one of the justices of the supreme judicial 
court of this commonwealth." He mar- 



15; 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ried, May 6, 1792, Maria Noble, daughter 
of Hon. David and Abigail (Bennett) 
Noble, born October 7, 1770, in Milford, 
Connecticut, died at Williamstown, March 
13, 1813, aged forty-two years. Children: 
Charles Augustus, mentioned below ; Dan- 
iel, born June 20, 1795, died November 5, 
1797 ; Caroline Abigail, mentioned below ; 
Daniel Noble, mentioned below ; Edward, 
born October 3. 1805, died May 7, 1828. 

(VI) Hon. Charles Augustus Dewey, LL. 
D., son of Daniel (2) and Maria (Noble) 
Dewey, was born March 13, 1793, at Wil- 
liamstown, and died at Northampton, 
Massachusetts, August 22, 1866. He was 
graduated from Williams College in 181 1, 
and studied law in his father's office. 
From 1814 to 1826 he practiced law in his 
native town, and from 1826 to 1837 at 
Northampton. From 1830 to 1837 he was 
district attorney for the western district 
of Massachusetts, and from 1837 until his 
death he was one of the justices of the 
Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts. 
He served in the House and Senate of 
Massachusetts. In 1840 he received the 
degre~ of Doctor of Laws from Harvard 
University. He was very prominent both 
as a lawyer and magistrate. Over four- 
teen hundred of his written opinions are 
to be found in the Massachusetts reports 
and are authority in the courts through- 
out the United States. For forty-two 
years he was a trustee of Williams Col- 
lege. His homestead is now owned by 
Smith College. He married (first) May 
16, 1820, Frances Aurelia Henshaw, 
daughter of Hon. Samuel and Martha 
(Hunt) Henshaw, of Northampton, where 
she was born. She died at Williamstown, 
July 20, 1821. He married (second) July 
28, 1824, Caroline Hannah Clinton, daugh- 
ter of General James and Mary (Little) 
Clinton, of Newburgh, New York, and 
sister of Governor DeWitt Clinton. She 
was born January 31, 1800, and died May 



28, 1864. Child by first wife: 1. Francis 
Henshaw, mentioned below. Children by 
second wife : 2. James Clinton, born No- 
vember 25, 1825, at Willimstown, died 
December 3, 1832. 3. Caroline Betts, 
born March 26, 1827, at Northampton, 
died April 4, 1893, at Hamilton, Massa- 
chusetts ; married, June 7, 1857, Hon. 
Daniel Wells Alvord, of Greenfield, Mas- 
sachusetts ; children : Charles Dewey, 
born March 26, i860 ; James Church, Jan- 
uary 24, 1862; Mary Wells, March 9, 
1863, died March 5, 1890; Clinton, No- 
vember 9, 1865 ; Clarence Walworth, May 
21, 1868. 4. Charles Augustus, born De- 
cember 29, 1830, died March 22, 1908 ; 
graduate of Williams College, 1850, was 
a member of Kappa Alpha Society ; a law- 
yer in New York City, Davenport, Iowa, 
and Milford, Massachusetts ; judge of the 
southern Worcester district court; mar- 
ried, March 12, 1867, Marietta Thayer; 
child : Maria Thayer, born August 8, 
1872, married Charles Cole, and has one 
child, Charles Dewey Cole, born July I, 
1901. 5. Edward James, born November 
5, 1832, died May 4, 1836. 6. Mary Clin- 
ton, born November 5, 1832, twin of Ed- 
ward James; married Hon. Hamilton B. 
Staples, of Worcester, district attorney 
and justice of the Superior Court of Mas- 
sachusetts ; she died March 14, 1902 ; chil- 
dren : Charles D. Staples, born Septem- 
ber 2, died October 2, 1869 ; Francis Ham- 
ilton Staples, born April 22, 1871. 7. 
Henry Clinton, born December 8, 1834, 
died April 18, 1836. 8. Maria Noble, born 
September 15, 1837, died September 27, 
191 1. 9. Dr. George Clinton, born Decem- 
ber 6, 1840, died April 7, 1864. 

(VI) Caroline Abigail Dewey, sister of 
Hon. Charles Augustus Dewey, was born 
April 8, 1798, at Williamstown; married, 
November 4, 1816, Samuel Rosseter Betts, 
son of Uriah and Susan (Rosseter) Betts, 
born June 8, 1787, at Richmond, Massa- 



153 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chusetts, died November 2, 1868, at New 
Haven, Connecticut. Judge Betts gradu- 
ated at Williams College in 1816 and prac- 
ticed law at Monticello and Bloomington, 
New York. He was a member of Con- 
gress and prominent in public affairs ; ap- 
pointed judge of the New York State Cir- 
cuit Court in 1823, and judge of the Dis- 
trict Court of the United States in 1826, 
serving for forty-one years. Children: I. 
Maria Caroline, born August 15, 1818; 
married James Whiting Metcalf, and lived 
in New Haven. 2. Charles Dewey, born 
July 6, 1820; graduate of Williams Col- 
lege, clerk of the United States Court. 3. 
Frances Julia, born November 28, 1822 ; 
married William Hillhouse; lived at New 
Haven. 4. Colonel George Frederic, born 
July 11, 1827, died January 18, 1898; grad- 
uate of Williams College, 1844; lieuten- 
ant-colonel of the Ninth New York Regi- 
ment in the Civil War; married Ellen 
Porter. 5. Emily, born October 7, 1830; 
lived in New York City, died at New 
Haven, February, 1916, unmarried. 

(VI) Daniel Noble Dewey, son of Dan- 
iel (2) Dewey, and brother of Hon. 
Charles Augustus Dewey, was born April 
4, 1800, at Williamstown, and died there 
January 13, 1859. Graduating from Wil- 
liams College in 1820, of which he became 
treasurer, he read law in the office of Eli- 
jah H. Ellis, of Northampton, and prac- 
ticed law afterward in his native place. 
He represented his district in the General 
Court, served in the Executive Council, 
and from 1848 until he died was judge of 
probate of Berkshire county. He mar- 
ried, May 9, 1827, Eliza Hannah Hubbell, 
daughter of Lyman and Louisa (Rossi- 
ter) Hubbell. She was born May 28, 
1806, died November 22, 1887, at New- 
ton, Massachusetts. Children: 1. Maria 
Louisa, born October 4, 1829; married, 
March 10, 1853, Joseph Henry Gray, of 
Boston. 2. Eliza Hubbell, born July 22, 



1832, died April, 1833. 3. Daniel, men- 
tioned below. 4. Lyman H., born July 26, 
1836, died May, 1886; lawyer in New 
York City; married, September 4, 1865, 
Susan E. Sherman. 5. Frances Eliza, born 
June 26, 1839; married John L. Bailey, 
who resided in Newton and was in busi- 
ness in Boston ; children : Lucy Sawyer 
Bailey, Anna Gray Bailey, Isabel Dewey 
Bailey and Edward Sawyer Bailey. 6. 
Edward, born October 3, 1841 ; wholesale 
grocer in Milwaukee ; married Minette 
Crosby Sloan ; children : Francis Edward, 
born November 29, 1873; Eliza Angeline, 
born April 29, 1876; Minette Alice, Octo- 
ber 2, 1881 ; Sevan, October 18, 1889. 

(VII) Hon. Francis Henshaw Dewey, 
only child of Hon. Charles Augustus and 
Frances Aurelia (Henshaw) Dewey, was 
born July 12, 1821, in Williamstown, and 
died December 16, 1887, at Worcester. 
He was graduated from Williams Col- 
lege in 1840, and afterward studied at the 
Yale and Harvard law schools. He was 
a member of Kappa Alpha Society. In 
1842 he went to Worcester as a student, 
and in 1843 became a partner of Hon. 
Emory Washburn. Later he was in part- 
nership with Hon. Hartley Williams and 
others. In 1869 he was appointed judge 
of the Superior Court of Massachusetts, 
and he continued on the bench until his 
resignation. If he had been willing to 
accept the promotion he would have been 
appointed a judge of the Supreme Court 
of the State. From 1869 until his death 
he was a trustee of Williams College, and 
at the time of his death he was president 
of the board of trustees of the Free Pub- 
lic Library of Worcester; also president 
of the board of trustees of the Old Men's 
Home, president of the Norwich & 
Worcester Railroad, president of the Me- 
chanics' Savings Bank, president of the 
Rural Cemetery Corporation, president of 
the Worcester County Horticultural So- 



154 



<*y- 




<d7k<*^>tL</ ^.Jf&c^y^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ciety, a trustee of the Washburn Memo- 
rial Hospital, a trustee of the Young 
Men's Christian Association, director of 
the Mechanics' National Bank, and a di- 
rector and one of the heaviest stockhold- 
ers in the Washburn & Moen Manufac- 
turing Company. In addition to his large 
and varied business interests, he attend- 
ed to an extensive, important and lucra- 
tive practice, and stood among the fore- 
most in his profession. He served the city 
in both branches of the City Council, and 
was State Senator for two terms. While 
a member of the State Senate in 1869 he 
proposed and secured the passage of the 
law making Christmas a legal holiday in 
Massachusetts. In politics he was a Re- 
publican of great influence, but he de- 
clined to follow a public career. 

Judge Dewey married (first) Novem- 
ber 2, 1846, Frances Amelia Clarke, only 
daughter of John and Prudence (Graves) 
Clarke, of Northampton. She was born 
in 1826, and died March 13, 185 1. Her 
father, John Clarke, founded Clarke Insti- 
tute for Deaf Mutes. Judge Dewey mar- 
ried (second) April 26, 1853, Sarah Bark- 
er Tufts, of Dudley, Massachusetts, only 
daughter of Hon. George A. and Azuba 
Boyden (Fales) Tufts, born January 31, 
1825, at Dudley, died August 24, 1906. 
Child by first wife: 1. Fanny, born Sep- 
tember 17, died September 18, 1849. Chil- 
dren by second wife: 2. Fanny Clarke, 
born February 1, died July 28, 1854. 3. 
Caroline Clinton, born December 18. 1854, 
married, June 14, 1877, Dr. Charles L. 
Nichols, died December 23, 1878, leaving 
daughter, Caroline Dewey, born Decem- 
ber 22, 1878, who married, June 1, 1905, 
George A. Gaskill (see Gaskill). 4. Fran- 
cis Henshaw, mentioned below. 5. John 
Clarke, mentioned below. 6. George 
Tufts, mentioned below. 7. Sarah Fran- 
ces, born September 15, i860, married Dr. 
Oliver Hurd Everett, September 15, 1885 ; 



she died June 7, 1892. 8. Charles Augus- 
tus, born and died in April, 1863. 

(VII) Daniel Dewey, son of Daniel 
Noble and Eliza Hannah (Hubbell) 
Dewey, was born March 3, 1834. He was 
graduated from Williams College in 1855, 
and was treasurer of the college for some 
years. He studied law, and after prac- 
ticing for a time, he engaged in business 
in Boston. For many years he was a 
partner in the firm of Dewey, Gould & 
Dike, wood merchants, at 169 Congress 
street, established in 1867 by Joseph 
Henry Gray and Daniel Dewey. The 
business was removed to 600 Atlantic ave- 
nue, and in 1902 to Summer street. The 
building consists of seven floors, and has 
a capacity for storing three million pounds 
of wool. They employ twenty-five peo- 
ple. Mr. Dewey resided in Newton, where 
he died August 10, 1907. He married, 
April 29, 1864, Mary Adaline Adams, who 
died July 30, 1915. Children: 1. Sarah 
Bradstreet, born July 5, 1865 ; married 
John Clarke Dewey, mentioned below. 2. 
Daniel, 2nd., born September 29, 1868. 
3. Percy, born May 26, 1879; educated 
under governess and private tutors, after 
which he attended Newton High School ; 
matriculated at Harvard College, graduat- 
ing 1901 with the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts ; several times he visited Europe, 
both for pleasure and business ; in 1902 
he entered the employ of his father as 
office boy, and after one year was assigned 
to traveling salesman all over the West, 
as buyer ; 'upon the death of his father in 
1907 he became a junior partner of the 
firm,, the other two partners being Joseph 
Wing and Charles P. Nunn ; he is a mem- 
ber of the University Club, Harvard Club, 
Oakley Country Club ; he married Jane 
Swift, who was educated in the Belmont 
High School, graduating with the class of 
1899. 4. Marjorie, twin sister to Percy, 
born May 26, 1879; married William Gib- 



155 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



bons Morse, and has children: Lucy, 
Marjorie, William, Barbara. 

(VIII) Francis Henshaw (2) Dewey, 
son of Hon. Francis Henshaw (1) and 
Sarah Barker (Tufts) Dewey, was born 
March 23, 1856, in Worcester. His early 
education was received in private school 
and in the public schools of Worcester, 
and he fitted for college at Fay School and 
St. Mark's School, Southborough, Massa- 
chusetts. He was graduated from Wil- 
liams College in the class of 1876, ranking 
among the first six and winning member- 
ship in the Phi Beta Kappa. In 1879 he 
received the degree of Master of Arts 
from his alma mater. After reading law 
for a time in the office of Staples & Gould- 
ing in Worcester, he entered Harvard 
Law School, from which he was gradu- 
ated in 1878. He was admitted to the bar 
in 1879, an d since then has practiced in 
Worcester. His legal work has been 
largely in the service of important cor- 
porations with which he is connected. 
His career as a banker, trustee, manager 
and executive of railway and industrial 
corporations has demonstrated not only 
his natural aptitude for great and involved 
financial undertakings, but his high abil- 
ities and legal acumen. Year by year his 
activity and influence in steam and elec- 
tric railway circles have extended. In 
the beginning of his career many of the 
trusts and offices of his father were trans- 
ferred gradually to the young solicitor. 
In 1880 he took charge of the legal busi- 
ness, and was elected a trustee of the 
Worcester Mechanics Savings Bank and 
solicitor of the Mechanics National Bank, 
and has continued the principal figure in 
the management of these large banking 
institutions to the present time. Since 
April, 1888, he has been president of the 
Mechanics National Bank of Worcester. 
There is no more important figure in bank- 
ing circles in the city or county and not 



many perhaps in the State. Mr. Dewey was 
elected a director of the Worcester Con- 
solidated Street Railway Company in 
1893, and since 1898 he has been presi- 
dent. During his administration of this 
company and others in control of the 
street railways of Worcester and its 
suburbs, the system has been extended 
from a total of forty miles of track to 
nearly two hundred miles, connecting 
forty cities and town, provided with thor- 
oughly modern plants and equipment, giv- 
ing excellent service to nearly sixty mil- 
lion passengers annually and making a 
creditable financial showing. He is presi- 
dent also of the New England Investment 
and Security Company, a corporation 
owning various street railways and rail- 
way corporations. He is also president of 
the allied corporations under the same 
financial management — the Springfield 
Railways Company, the Springfield Street 
Railway Company, the Interstate Con- 
solidated Railway Company, the Milford, 
Attleborough & Woonsocket Street Rail- 
way Company, the Attleborough Branch 
Railroad Company, the Worcester & 
Webster Street Railway Company, the 
Webster & Dudley Street Railway Com- 
pany. He is vice-president of the 
Worcester Railways and Investment 
Company, a holding corporation. He rep- 
resents large interests in the New York, 
New Haven & Hartford Railroad Com- 
pany, and is a director of the Fitchburg 
Railroad Company, now operated under 
lease by the Boston & Maine system, the 
Norwich & Worcester Railroad operated 
by the New Haven road, and the New 
London Northern Railroad Company 
leased to the Central Vermont Railroad 
Company. Mr. Dewey is also a director 
of the New England Telephone and Tele- 
graph Company, of the Massachusetts 
Bonding and Insurance Company, and 
vice-president of the Morris Plan Com- 
56 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



pany, a banking institution, and of the 
Worcester Gaslight Company. Years ago 
he was active in providing for the city an 
adequate hotel and theatre, and for many 
years he was in control of the corpora- 
tions owning the Bay State House and 
the Worcester Theatre. He was an execu- 
tor of the great estate of the late Stephen 
Salisbury, and is a trustee and vice-presi- 
dent of the Worcester Art Museum, the 
principal legatee of the Salisbury estate. 

But banks, street railways and large 
estates have not commanded Mr. Dewey's 
services to the exclusion of public duties, 
charities and social organizations. He is 
a trustee, treasurer and vice-president of 
Clarke University and Clarke College. He 
is a director of the Associated Charities, 
and for many years has served the city as 
chairman of the commissioners of the 
City Hospital Funds. He is also a trus- 
tee of the Memorial Hospital, and has 
taken an active part in the upbuilding and 
extension of that institution. He is presi- 
dent of the Home for Aged Men, and 
trustee of the Massachusetts School for 
Feeble-Minded. In religion Mr. Dewey 
is a Unitarian, and since his marriage he 
has been an active member and generous 
supporter of the First Unitarian Church 
of Worcester. He has been superintend- 
ent of the Sunday school and chairman of 
the parish committee. 

For a number of years Mr. Dewey was 
a director of the Worcester Board of 
Trade, and he has given strong support 
and encouragement to many other kindred 
organizations. He is a member and on 
the council of the American Antiquarian 
Society, one of the oldest and most honor- 
able learned societies of the United States, 
having its library in Worcester, the home 
of its founder. He is .a member of the 
Society of Antiquity, of the Colonial Soci- 
ety of Massachusetts, St. Wulstan Soci- 
ety of Worcester, an organization in 



charge of funds for the promotion of art. 
In 1897 he was elected vice-president of 
the Worcester Bar Association, which 
office he held for many years. He is a 
member of the famous old Worcester Fire 
Society. In college he joined the Kappa 
Alpha fraternity. Among the clubs to 
which he belongs are the following: Uni- 
versity and Williams College clubs of 
New York City ; the Union of Boston ; the 
Point Judith Country Club (of which he 
is president) of Narragansett Pier, Rhode 
Island (where Mr. Dewey has a summer 
home); the Worcester Country; the 
Worcester ; the Tatnuck Country Club of 
Worcester; the Worcester Automobile 
Club, and the Quinsigamond Boat Club. 
Mr. Dewey's office is in the Central Ex- 
change Building, of which his wife is the 
owner. He has a beautiful city residence 
at 71 Elm street, Worcester. 

He married, December 12, 1878, Lizzie 
Davis Bliss, who was born March 12, 
1856, daughter of Harrison and Sarah H. 
(Howe) Bliss (see Bliss). Her father 
was associated in business enterprises for 
many years with Mr. Dewey's father. 
Children: 1. Elizabeth Bliss, born July 
19, 1883; married Rockwood Hoar Bul- 
lock (see Bullock). 2. Francis Henshaw, 
mentioned below. 

(VIII) John Clarke Dewey, son of 
Hon. Francis Henshaw (1) and Sarah 
Barker (Tufts) Dewey, was born May 
19, 1857, in Worcester, where he received 
his early education in private and public 
schools, graduating from the Classical 
High School in 1873. He prepared for col- 
lege, at St. Marks School, Southbor- 
ough, and entered Williams College, 
and joined Kappa Alpha Society. In 
1878 he was graduated with the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts, receiving the degree of 
Master of Arts in 1881. He studied law 
in the office of Thomas H. Dodge, a pat- 
ent lawyer, of Worcester, and was ad- 



157 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mitted to the bar in 1881. From the be- 
ginning of his practice he has specialized 
in patent law, a field of wide range in the 
industrial city of Worcester, and he has 
taken rank among the leaders of this 
branch of his profession. Early in his 
career he was admitted to practice in the 
United States courts. He is a member of 
the Worcester County Bar Association, 
and of the Massachusetts Bar Associa- 
tion. He is a communicant of All Saints 
(Protestant Episcopal) Church. In poli- 
tics he has always been a Republican. He 
resides in Worcester, and is a member of 
various clubs, including the Worcester 
Club, the Worcester Country Club, Tat- 
nuck Country Club, Quinsigamond Boat 
Club, University Club of New York, and 
the Union Club of Boston. Mr. Dewey 
married, June 12, 1888, Sarah Bradstreet 
Dewey, daughter of Daniel and Mary A. 
(Adams) Dewey, of Newton, mentioned 
above. Children : John Clarke, mentioned 
below; Daniel, born October 12, 1899, a 
student at St. Mark's School. 

(VIII) George Tufts Dewey, third son 
of Hon. Francis Henshaw (1) and Sarah 
Barker (Tufts) Dewey, was born Septem- 
ber 12, 1858, in Worcester, Massachusetts. 
After courses of study in Worcester pub- 
lic and private schools, and at Fay School, 
Southborough, Massachusetts, he entered 
Mt. Pleasant Institute, Amherst, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1870, continuing until gradu- 
ation in 1875, when he entered Williams 
College, and graduated with honors in 
1879, receivng the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts and in 1882 of Master of Arts. He 
was also a member of the Kappa Alpha 
Society. Choosing the profession of law, 
he began study in Worcester under the 
direction of Bacon & Hopkins, eminent 
lawyers of the Worcester bar, continuing 
his studies in the offices of that firm during 
the years 1879-81. In 1881 he entered Har- 
vard Law School and finished his law 



studies with the class of 1882. He was ad- 
mitted to the bar of Worcester county in 
the latter year, and has continued the 
practice of law in Worcester to the present 
time. He is learned in the law, skillful in its 
application, and gives to its problems the 
closest study. From 1883 until 1907 he was 
in partnership with Thomas G. Kent, under 
the firm name of Kent & Dewey, and dur- 
ing his legal career he has made a special 
study of the law of corporations. He has 
held the position of general counsel for 
the Washburn & Moen Manufacturing 
Company, the Wright Wire Company, 
the Worcester Electric Light Company, 
the Graton & Knight Manufacturing 
Company, and many other large Worces- 
ter corporations, and in addition to his 
corporation clientele has a large private 
practice. He is a member of the Ameri- 
can Bar, the Massachusetts State Bar and 
Worcester County Bar Associations, and 
is held in high esteem, by his contempo- 
raries of the profession. 

In the business world of his native city, 
Mr. Dewey also ranks high, and has been 
connected officially with corporations of 
Worcester whose fame is world-wide. He 
was for many years an active director of 
the Washburn & Moen Manufacturing 
Company, director and treasurer of the 
Wright Wire Company, director of the 
Worcester Electric Light Company, direc- 
tor and vice-president of the Graton & 
Knight Manufacturing Company, director 
and treasurer of the Worcester Cold Stor- 
age and Warehouse Company, director of 
the Columbian National Life Insurance 
Company, and many other important busi- 
ness corporations. The duties of his offi- 
cial positions with these corporations, his 
responsibility as general legal counsel to 
many of them, and the exactions of a 
large private clientele, would fill the life of 
most men to the exclusion of all else, but 
Mr. Dewey has neglected none of the 



=58 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



duties of citizenship and has gone far be- 
yond business and professional life in his 
activities. Broad in his sympathy and 
generous in his impulse, he has proven his 
interest in the moral and material wel- 
fare by giving largely of his time and 
ability to institutions, religious, philan- 
thropic and social. He is a member of 
the Protestant Episcopal church, and of 
the vestry of All Saints Parish ; and was 
president of the Boys' Club of Worcester 
for many years ; and a director of the 
Young Men's Christian Association ; 
member of the Worcester, Tatnuck Coun- 
try, Economic, Twentieth Century, 
Worcester Country, Quinsigamond Boat 
and Republican clubs of Worcester; the 
Williams College Club of New York; the 
Williams College Club of Massachusetts. 
His college fraternity is Kappa Alpha. 

Mr. Dewey married, June 28, 1898, 
Mary Linwood Nichols, daughter of Dr. 
Lemuel Bliss and Lydia Carter (An- 
thony) Nichols, of Worcester. Children: 
1. Mary Linwood, born in Florence, Italy ; 
educated in private schools, Worcester, 
Massachusetts, then attended for three 
years Miss Porter's Private School, Farm- 
ington, Connecticut. 2. George Tufts, Jr., 
born in Worcester, Massachusetts ; at- 
tended private schools in his native city, 
and in 1913 became a student in a private 
school in Pomfret, Connecticut, class of 
1919. 3. Charles Nichols, born in Worces- 
ter, Massachusetts ; attended private 
schools in his native city, then became a 
student in "The Fay School," Southboro, 
Massachusetts, and in February, 1917, 
was an honor student. The summer home 
of the family is at Lake Sunapee, New 
Hampshire. 

(IX) Francis Henshaw (3) Dewey, 
son of Francis Henshaw (2) and Lizzie 
Davis (Bliss) Dewey, was born May 19, 
1887, in Worcester. After a period in pri- 
vate schools, he attended the Worcester 



public schools and graduated in 1904 from 
the Classical High School, completing his 
preparation for college in the Hackley 
School at Tarrytown, New York. He en- 
tered Williams College, from which he 
was graduated in 1909 with the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts. He joined the Kappa 
Alpha fraternity. His professional train- 
ing was received in Harvard Law School, 
from which he was graduated in 1912. 
Since then he has been associated in busi- 
ness with his father in Worcester. He 
succeeded his father as solicitor of the 
Mechanics' National Bank. He is an 
active member and one of the assessors 
of the First Unitarian Church. He is a 
member of the Worcester Club, the Tat- 
nuck Country Club, the Quinsigamond 
Boat Club, the Worcester Tennis Club, 
the Economic Club of Worcester, the 
University Club and Williams College 
Club of New York, and the Point Judith 
Club of Narragansett Pier. He married, 
February I, 1913, Dorothy P. Bowen, 
daughter of Henry and Belle (Flagg) 
Bowen, of Providence, Rhode Island. 
Mrs. Dewey is a graduate of the Lincoln 
School of Providence. They have two 
children : Elizabeth Bowen, born Novem- 
ber 2, 1913, and Frances, born December 
n, 1916. 

(IX) John Clarke (2) Dewey, son of 
John Clarke (1) and Sarah Bradstreet 
(Dewey) Dewey, was born October 14, 
1890, in Worcester. He first attended a 
private school ; in 1913 he entered St. 
Mark's School, from, which he graduated, 
class of 1909, and during his course of 
study there he was prominent in athletics, 
playing end in baseball club, 1908, and 
outfield on hockey track, 1909; in the lat- 
ter named year he became a student at 
Williams College, from which institution 
he was graduated, class of 1913, and dur- 
ing this period he was captain of the 
track team and a member of the Gargoyle 



159 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Society, and of the Kappa Alpha Society. 
In the same year of his graduation he 
went to Europe, and traveled through 
England, France, Germany, Italy, Swit- 
zerland and Austria. Upon his return in 
the same year, 1913, he served as a clerk 
for six months in the Bank of Manhattan, 
New York City, resigning in order to ac- 
cept a position as clerk with Spencer, 
Trask Company, bankers and brokers, in 
which capacity he served until August, 
1914, and in September, 1914, he moved to 
Boston, Massachusetts, with the above 
named company, and was promoted to 
the position of bond salesman. He is a 
member of the Tatnuck Country Club of 
Worcester, the Oakley Country Club of 
Boston, and Williams Club of New York 
City. Mr. Dewey married, September 30, 
1916, Marjorie Dunster Talbot, daughter 
of Dr. George Henry and Jessie (Ran- 
dall) Talbot, of Newtonville. They re- 
side at No. 224 Rawson Road, Brookline, 
Massachusetts. 

(The Bliss Line). 

Thomas Bliss was the last English an- 
cestor of the Bliss family of Worcester, 
resided at Belstone, and was a man of 
property. He was a Puritan and his 
wealth and prominence perhaps invited 
the persecution he suffered and through 
which he lost both his wealth and his 
health. On account of his religious and 
political views he was imprisoned. His 
children, of whom Thomas and George 
emigrated to America to escape persecu- 
tion, were : Jonathan, mentioned below ; 
Thomas, died 1640; Elizabeth, married 
Sir John Calcliffe, of Belstone ; George, 
born 1591, died August 31, 1667; Mary 
(Polly). 

(II) Jonathan Bliss, son of Thomas 
Bliss, was born about 1580, at Belstone, 
and died in 1636. On account of his non- 
conformist views he was persecuted and 



virtually driven out of England, suffering 
heavy fines and eventually dying from a 
fever contracted in prison. Four children 
are said to have died in infancy, two 
grew up. They were : Thomas, men- 
tioned below, and Mary. 

(III) Thomas (2) Bliss, son of Jona- 
than Bliss, was born in Belstone, Eng- 
land. On the death of his father, in 1636, 
he removed to Boston, thence to Brain- 
tree, thence to Hartford, Connecticut, 
thence back to Weymouth, Massachu- 
setts, and in 1643, with others, he helped 
make the settlement at Rehoboth. He 
was a freeman at Cambridge, May 18, 
1642, and in Plymouth colony, January 4, 
1645 ; in June of the latter year he drew 
a lot of land at the Great Plain, Seekonk. 
In 1646 he was fence viewer; in 1647 sur- 
veyor of highways, two important offices 
in the Colonial days. He died at Reho- 
both, June, 1649, and is buried in the 
graveyard at Seekonk, Massachusetts, 
now Rumford, East Providence, Rhode 
Island. His will was proved June 8, 1649. 
He married a Miss Ide, and their children 
were : Jonathan, mentioned below ; a 
daughter, married Thomas Williams ; 
Mary, married Nathaniel Harmon, of 
Braintree ; Nathaniel, possibly of Spring- 
field, seems to have left no descendants in 
male line. 

(IV) Jonathan (2) Bliss, son of 
Thomas (2) Bliss, was born about 1625, 
in England, and died in 1687. He was a 
blacksmith by trade, and in 1655 was 
made a freeman of the Plymouth colony. 
He was "way warden" at the town meet- 
ing in Rehoboth, May 24, 1652, and May 
17, 1655, was on the grand jury. On Feb- 
ruary 22, 1658, he was made a freeman in 
Rehoboth, drew land, June 22, 1658, and 
was one of the eighty who made what is 
called the North Purchase. The inven- 
tory of his estate was sworn to May 23, 
1687, the magistrate being the famous 



160 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



governor, Sir Edmund Andros. The 
Christian name of his wife was Miriam, 
and their children were : Ephraim, men- 
tioned below; Rachel, born December i, 
Tr , married, October 28, 1674, Thomas 
->ing, of Swansea, Massachusetts; 
n, March 4, 1653, died same year; 
September 31 (sic), 1655; Eliza- 
january 29, 1657, married, June 25, 
.084, James Thurber; Samuel, June 24, 
1660, died August 28, 1720; Martha, 
April, 1663; Jonathan (sometimes record- 
ed Timothy), September i£, 1666, died 
October 16, 1719; Dorothy, January 2y, 
1668, married, June 26, 1690, James Car- 
penter; Bethia, August, 1671, married, 
April 15, 1695, Daniel Carpenter, born 
October 8, 1669, son of William and 
Miriam (Searles) Carpenter, of Reho- 
both ; she died February 27, 1703. 

(V) Ephraim Bliss, son of Jonathan 
(2) and Miriam Bliss, was born February 
5, 1649, i n Rehoboth, and resided at 
Braintree, Quincy, Scituate, Rehoboth, 
and Providence, Rhode Island. Children : 
Jonathan, mentioned below; Mary; 

Thomas ; Ephraim, married Mary , 

born 1702, died November 14, 1730, and 
resided in Rehoboth; Daniel. 

(VI) Jonathan (3) Bliss, son of Eph- 
raim Bliss, was born 1673, in Braintree. 
All his children died young without issue 
except John. They were: Hannah, 
Thomas, Mary, John (mentioned below), 
Nathaniel and Ephraim. 

(VII) John Bliss, son of Jonathan (3) 
Bliss, was born 171 1, in Rehoboth, and 
died 1752. He married on Thanksgiving 
Da y. I735> Rebecca Whitaker. She was 
a very capable and energetic manager, 
history tells us, who, with great prudence 
and thrift, cared for her property after the 
death of her husband. Their children 
were: Nathan, mentioned below; Eliza- 
beth, born April 5, 1738; Anne, April 1, 
1740; William, June 6, 1742, died 1822; 

n E-7-H 161 



Rebecca, December 20, 1744; John, Au- 
gust 21, 1747, died March 12, 1825; Abi- 
gail, April 28, 1750; Keziah, November 
26, 1752, died 1794. 

(VIII) Nathan Bliss, son of John and 
Rebecca (Whitaker) Bliss, was born De- 
cember 19, 1736; he was a farmer and 
died December 3, 1820. He married, 
December 26, 1760, Joanna Bowen, who 
died March 10, 1823. Children: 1. Na- 
than, mentioned below. 2. Abel, born De- 
cember 22, 1763, was a farmer at Reho- 
both, captain in the militia ; he married 
(first) Olive Briggs, of Dighton, who died 
May 17. 1823; (second) Hannah Horton, 
who died March 7, 1859, a ged sixty-six 
years; he died November 13, 1843, with- 
out issue. 3. Olive, born October 2, 1765, 
married, January 4, 1786, Samuel Goff. 
4. Joanna, born July 25, 1767, married, 
January 18, 1787, Shubael Horton. 5. Syl- 
vanus, born July 9, 1769, died June 23, 
1859. 6. Rebecca, born July 12, 1771, mar- 
ried, May 23, 1793, Sylvester Goff, of Re- 
hoboth. 7. John, born September 1, 1773, 
died August 29, 1859. 8. Thomas, born 
October 17, 1775, died 1855. 9. Anna, 
born September 17, 1777. 10. Cromwell, 
born March 17, 1779, died February 7, 
1848. 11. Ezra, born June 17, 1780, died 
May 11, 1857. 

(IX) Nathan (2) Bliss, son of Nathan 
(1) and Joanna (Bowen) Bliss, was born 
December 19, 1761, in Rehoboth, and died 
at Royalston, Massachusetts, January 31, 
1852. He was a farmer, and removed to 
Royalston between 1770 and 1775. He 
married, at Dighton. Ruth Briggs, born 
there December 22, 1765, died at Royals- 
ton, November 28, 1862. Children : Annie, 
living at Royalston, unmarried; Abel, 
mentioned below; Ruth, born 1795, died 
1856, married James Buffum, who lived 
in Keene, New Hampshire ; Sally, born 
1806, married Benjamin Buffum, of Roy- 
alston. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(X) Abel Bliss, son of Nathan (2) and 
Ruth (Briggs) Bliss, born August 23, 
1785, at Royalston, was a shoemaker, and 
died July 4, 1852. He married Nicena 
Ballou, born March 6, 1788, died April 

7, 1847. Children: Nathan, born Septem- 
ber, 1808, married, 1832, Emily Lovett; 
Abel Ballou, February 21, 181 1, died Au- 
gust 4, 1852 ; Harrison, mentioned below ; 
Russell, December 5, 1815, married, March 

8, 1835, Mary May, died June 15, 1852; 
James, July 16, 1818, married Julia Drury, 
died January 16, 1842 ; Nicena J., Decem- 
ber 12, 1823, died January 7, 1845, unmar- 
ried ; Olive Lucian, July 3, 1825, married, 
May 9, 1847, Charles C. Balch, carpenter, 
resided at Shirley, Massachusetts. 

(XI) Harrison Bliss, son of Abel and 
Nicena (Ballou) Bliss, was born October 

9, 1812, in Royalston, and died July 7, 
1882. What education he received was 
obtained in the school of his native place, 
and at the age of eighteen he started out 
to make his own living. He landed at 
Worcester, as he used to say, with just 
seventeen cents in his pockets. In 1830 
he secured his first position, under Dr. 
Oliver Fiske, at the very place where he 
afterward purchased one of the finest 
houses in the city. He worked for four 
years in the Worcester Post Office when 
Deacon James Wilson was postmaster, in 
the present Union Block, and under Jubal 
Harrington in the old Central Exchange 
Building. In association with Deacon 
Alexander Harris he opened a store in 
the Salisbury Block in Lincoln Square, 
dealing in groceries and in flour. Later 
he took Joseph E. Gregory as a partner. 
In 1850 he sold his interest in this store, 
and later opened a flour store in partner- 
ship with T. and J. Sutton, under the 
name of Bliss, Sutton & Company, on 
Mechanic street, and in 1857 sold out to 
his partners. From that time until his 
death he was occupied with his real estate 



and banking business. Mr. Bliss was 
president of the New Bedford & Taunton 
branch of the Boston, Clinton & Fitch- 
burg Railroad Company, and vice-presi- 
dent of the Framingham & Lowell branch, 
both of which are now operated by the 
New York, New Haven & Hartford Rail- 
road Company. He and the late Hon. 
Francis H. Dewey founded the Me- 
chanics' National Bank in 1848, and from 
i860 to his death, in 1882, Mr. Bliss was 
president. He was interested in the Me- 
chanics' Savings Bank from its organiza- 
tion in 185 1, was on the board of invest- 
ment, and was president from 1864 to his 
death. Mr. Bliss was also largely inter- 
ested in the old Music Hall Company, the 
successor of which owns the Worcester 
Theatre. He was interested largely in 
the Bay State House Corporation. In 1855, 
1865 and 1874 he was a representative to 
the General Court; was alderman in 1861, 
1863, 1864, 1865, 1875 and 1876. 

He married, April 5, 1836, Sarah H. 
Howe, daughter of William Howe, of 
Worcester. A brother of his wife, Rev. 
William Howe, of Cambridge, Massachu- 
setts, lived to be a centenarian. Her 
father was a contractor. He had the con- 
tract for the building of the Worcester 
turnpike over which for some distance the 
cars of the Boston & Worcester Electric 
Railroad run. He lost money and was 
ruined by the contract. Mrs. Bliss died 
July 24, 1882, a few weeks after her hus- 
band. She was a very capable woman and 
famous for her charities. Their children 
were: 1. Harrison, Jr., born July 30, 1843, 
married, November 6, 1864, Amy Brown, 
of Dighton, died May 12, 1868. 2. Sarah 
H., born September 22, 1845, died Novem- 
ber 18, 1849. 3. William Howe, born Sep- 
tember 23, 1850, died May 16, 191 1. 4. 
Pamelia Washburn, born May 21, 1854, 
died September 9, 1854. 5. Lizzie Davis, 
mentioned below. 



if>- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(XII) Lizzie Davis Bliss, youngest 
child of Harrison and Sarah H. (Howe) 
Bliss, was born March 12, 1856, and mar- 
ried, at Worcester, December 12, 1878, 
Francis Henshaw Dewey (see Dewey). 
They have one son and one daughter. 

(The Ballou Line). 

(I) Maturin Ballou was born in Devon- 
shire, England, between 1610 and 1620, 
and came to America previous to 1645, 
the exact date and place of landing being 
unknown. He is first mentioned as a 
co-proprietor of Providence Plantations, 
Rhode Island, January 19, 1646-47. He 
was admitted a freeman there, May 18, 
1658, together with Robert Pike, who be- 
came his father-in-law, and with whom 
he was intimately associated all his life. 
Their home lots stood adjacent, in the 
north part of Providence as originally 
settled. Various parcels of land are re- 
corded to have been subsequently as- 
signed to him, but nothing definite con- 
cerning his character and standing is 
known. He died between February 24, 
1661, when he had land assigned to him, 
and January 31, 1663. His wife was Han- 
nah, daughter of Robert and Catherine 
Pike, whom he married between 1646 and 
1649, probably in Providence, Rhode 
Island. She died at the age of eighty- 
eight years. Children, born in Provi- 
dence: John, 1650; James, mentioned be- 
low; Peter, 1654; Hannah, 1656; Na- 
thaniel, died in early manhood ; Samuel, 
1660, drowned June 10, 1669. 

(II) James Ballou, son of Maturin and 
Hannah (Pike) Ballou, was born in Provi- 
dence, in 1652. Soon after his marriage, 
in 1683, ne settled in Loquasquissuck, 
originally a part of Providence, now Lin- 
coln. It is supposed that he began prepa- 
rations to settle there some time before, 
and his original log house was erected be- 
fore 1685. His second home, a framed 



house, stood near the same site, and the 
well still remains. On October 22, 1707, 
his mother and sister Hannah deeded to 
him all the property which had come to 
them from his father, and this, with his 
own inheritance of lands from his father, 
made him owner of several hundred acres, 
together with his homestead. To this he 
added other tracts by purchase until he 
became owner of about a thousand acres. 
His most important acquisitions were in 
what was then Dedham and Wrentham, 
most of which became the north section 
of Cumberland, Rhode Island. His first 
purchase in this locality was made early 
in 1690, the grantor being William Avery, 
of Dedham. In 1706 he added to this 
enough to make several farms which he 
afterwards conveyed to his three sons — 
James, Nathaniel and Obadiah. This di- 
vision was made April 11, 1713. In July, 
1726, he made a gift deed to his youngest 
son, Nehemiah, of lands situated in 
Gloucester, Rhode Island, and the same 
time to Samuel his home farm. His will 
was made April 20, 1734, and in 1741 he 
appears to have made another arrange- 
ment of his affairs in relation to his per- 
sonal estate, which he distributed among 
his children. The exact date of his death 
is not known, but it is supposed to have 
been soon after the settlement of his 
affairs. He was a man of superior ability, 
enterprise and judgment. He married, 
July 23, 1683, Susanna, daughter of Val- 
entine and Mary Whitman, born Febru- 
ary 28, 1658, at Providence, died probably 
in 1725. Children: James, mentioned be- 
low ; Nathaniel, born April 9, 1687 ; Oba- 
diah, September 6, 1689 ; Samuel, Janu- 
ary 23, 1693 ; Susanna, January 3, 1696 ; 
Bathsheba, February 15, 1698; Nehemiah, 
January 20, 1702. 

(Ill) James (2) Ballou, eldest child 
of James (1) and Susanna (Whitman) 
Ballou, was born November 1, 1684, in 



'63 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



that part of Providence which was later 
Smithfield, and now Lincoln, and resided 
in Wrentham, Massachusetts, on land 
that is now a part of Cumberland, Rhode 
Island. He married, about 1712, Cather- 
ine, daughter of Elisha and Susanna (Car- 
penter) Arnold, born February 8, 1690. 
Children: Sarah, born November 15, 
1713; Ariel, November 18, 1715 ; Bath- 
sheba, November 26, 1717 ; Martha, Oc- 
tober 6, 1720; James, December 10, 1723; 
Elisha, November 15, 1726; Priscilla, No- 
vember 6, 1731. 

(IV) James (3) Ballou, second son of 
James (2) and Catherine (Arnold) Ballou, 
was born December 10, 1723, in Wrent- 
ham, near Cumberland, Rhode Island, and 
died January 21, 1812. He was made a 
freeman of Cumberland, April 19, 1749; 
in 1774 moved to Richmond. New Hamp- 
shire, with other Rhode Island associates, 
and with other Ballous settled on what 
has since been known as Ballou Hill. The 
town was divided in factions later owing 
to a schism in the Baptist church caused 
by "the New Lights," in which James 
Ballou was interested but later aban- 
doned. His wife, Tamasin (Cook) Ballou, 
died April 25, 1804, and he married (sec- 
ond) June 19, 1806, Huldah Carpenter, 
widow of Joseph Carpenter. Children : 
Seth, born February 20, 1748, married 
Margaret Hilton; Olive, May 13, 1751, 
married Preserved Whipple ; Silas, Feb- 
ruary 24, 1753, married, April 17, 1774, 
Hannah Hilton; Susanna, June 16, 1755, 
married, June 4, 1775, Nathan Harkness ; 
Oziel, July 11, 1757, married, December 

7, 1790, Hannah Robinson; Tamasin, 
June 29, 1759, married, February 15, 1778, 
Ebenezer Swan; James, April 25, 1761, 
married, November 5, 1786, Mehitable 
Ingalls ; Russell, mentioned below ; Aaron, 
September 25, 1766, married, September 

8, 1786, Catherine Bowen ; Daniel, May 
26, 1768, married, April 8, 1787, Mary 



Hix; Priscilla, January 3, 1772, married, 
February 28, 1790, Nathan Bullock. 

(V) Russell Ballou, fifth son of James 
(3) and Tamasin (Cook) Ballou, was 
born July 11, 1763, at Cumberland, and 
died at Swansea, New Hampshire, No- 
vember 10, 1847. I n 1804 he removed to 
Royalston, Massachusetts. He married 
(first) Henrietta Aldrich, of Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, who was born August 20, 
1764, certified (married) February 2^, 
1783. All their children were born in Rich- 
mond, New Hampshire. She died June 8, 
1827, aged sixty-seven, and he married 
(second) Mrs. Beebe Mellen, of Swansea, 
New Hampshire, widow of Joel Mellen ; 
she died 1854. His children were: Bet- 
sey, born October 6, 1783, married, No- 
vember 18, 1802, Royal Blanding; Amey, 
October 2J, 1785, married Stephen Parks; 
Nicena, mentioned below ; Asquire, May 
8, 1792, married, May 29, 1816, Arathusa 
Maynard ; Russell, September 9, 1794, 
married, January 29, 1816, Lucy D. Nor- 
ton ; Luther, September 7, 1797, married, 
December 3, 1818, Clarissa Davis; Pris- 
cilla, June 25, 1800, died May 8, 1814; 
Olive, August 29, 1803, married, 1829, 
Jacob Boyce ; Russell, died in infancy. 

(V) Nicena Ballou, daughter of Rus- 
sell and Henrietta (Aldrich) Ballou, was 
born March 6, 1788, and married, 1806, 
Abel Bliss (see Bliss X). 



BLISS, George Rolland, 

Merchant. 

The Bliss family, one of the oldest in 
this country, is described on preceding 
pages of this work. The first known Eng- 
lish ancestor was Thomas Bliss, who with 
his son, Jonathan Bliss, suffered great 
persecution in England because of their 
Puritan principles. Thomas (2) Bliss, son 
of Jonathan Bliss, born in England, set- 
tled in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, where 



[64 





^J^lyL^Ul 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



he died in 1649. His wife was a member 
of the Ide family, which was conspicuous 
in the early days of Rehoboth and Attle- 
boro. They were the parents of Jonathan 
(2) Bliss, who was an active citizen of 
Rehoboth, and one of the founders of 
Attleboro. He married Miriam Harmon, 
probably a daughter of Francis Harmon, 
who was born in 1592, and came to Bos- 
ton in the ship "Love," in 1637. The 
eldest child of this marriage, Ephraim 
Bliss, was a native of Rehoboth, and lived 
in various places, lastly at Providence, 
Rhode Island. Jonathan (3) Bliss, son of 
Ephraim Bliss, born at Rehoboth, 1672-73, 
had a large family, but only one son who 
left issue, namely, John Bliss, born at 
Rehoboth in 171 1, and died in 1752. He 
married (intentions published in Reho- 
both, December 6, 1735) Rebecca Whit- 
taker, born August 3, 1712, in Rohoboth, 
daughter of John and Mehitable Whit- 
taker. She survived him and is described 
as a very capable and energetic manager, 
who cared well for the estate of her de- 
ceased husband and her children. The 
eldest of these was Nathan Bliss, born at 
Rehoboth in 1736. He married, Decem- 
ber 26, 1760, Joanna Bowen, born October 
2 7> I 737^ i n Rehoboth, died March 10, 
1823, daughter of Jabez and Johannah 
(Salisbury) Bowen. Their eldest son, 
Nathan (2) Bliss, was born in Rehoboth, 
in 1761, settled in Royalston, Massachu- 
setts, where he died in 1852. He mar- 
ried Ruth Briggs, and their eldest son 
was Abel Bliss, born in Royalston, 1785, 
who married Nicena Ballou, daughter of 
Russell Ballou (see Ballou V). 

(XI) Abel Ballou Bliss, second son of 
Abel and Nicena (Ballou) Bliss, was born 
February 21, 181 1, in Royalston, Massa- 
chusetts. When a young man he went to 
Worcester, Massachusetts, where he was 
successfully engaged in business until 
1845, when he removed to the town of 



Gill, Franklin county, Massachusetts, and 
there engaged in farming until his death, 
August 4, 1852. He married (first) April 
6, 1835, Rebecca S. Flint, who died De- 
cember 29, 1835. He married (second) in 
September, 1837, Mary Ann Stillman, who 
died August 13, 1843. He married (third) 
May 28, 1845, Rhoda Allen Deane, born 
April 16, 1808, in Burlington, Otsego 
county, New York, daughter of Jeremiah 
and Rhoda Deane. There was one child 
of the first wife, Rebecca Flint, born De- 
cember 27, 1835, died in 1852. Children 
of second wife : Frances Eugenie, born 
June 17, 1838, married Norman Carl, and 
died in Chicago, Illinois, 1863; Abel Har- 
rison, born March 31, 1840; Mary Eliza- 
beth, born and died in 1843. Children of 
third wife : George Rolland, mentioned 
below ; Mary Ann, born November 6, 
1847, died 1851 ; Maria Rhcda, born No- 
vember 30, 1848, married Augustus W. 
Holton ; William Amburt, born July 4, 
185 1 ; James Oliver, born November 24, 
1852. 

(XII) George Rolland Bliss, second 
son of Abel Ballou Bliss, and eldest child 
of his third wife, Rhoda Allen (Deane) 
Bliss, was born July 17, 1846, in Gill, 
Massachusetts. Here his boyhood days 
were passed and advantage taken of the 
limited school privileges which the town 
afforded. These were supplemented later 
with a course at Williston Seminary, 
Easthampton, Massachusetts, from which 
institution he graduated in 1869. The 
early death of his father, at the age of 
forty-one, left the family with limited re- 
sources, and the education of George R. 
Bliss was acquired solely by his own 
efforts and its expenses met by his own 
earnings received from teaching district 
schools and conducting school boarding 
clubs. Following his graduation from 
Williston Seminary, he became a clerk 
for A. P. Ware & Company of Worcester, 



165 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



with whom he continued three and one- 
half years. The following year he became 
junior partner of Henry Valentine & 
Company, dealers in clothing and furnish- 
ings, with a store on Main street, Worces- 
ter. This association continued until 
1876, and in 1877 he established his pres- 
ent business, that of a dealer in hats, caps 
and gentlemen's furnishings, at No. 522 
Main street. The business has experi- 
enced a steady growth, requiring several 
removals and enlargements. In 1892 it 
was removed to larger quarters at the 
corner of Main and Austin streets, 
Worcester. In 1902 the adjoining store 
was leased, giving an additional space of 
25x90 feet in area. In 1899 Mr. Bliss 
admitted his son, Walter Stoughton 
Bliss, as a partner, and the business has 
since been conducted under the name of 
George R. Bliss & Son, carrying a stock 
of clothing, hats, caps, and all the acces- 
sory of furnishings which men wear. 
From the modest beginning of 1877, the 
house has by honorable dealing and never 
a compromise of a business obligation, 
steadily grown during this period of forty 
years and is to-day one of the prominent 
clothing houses of the city. While ad- 
vancing his business by energy and sound 
management, Mr. Bliss has always been 
active in furthering the public interests. 
He is a member of the Economic Club, of 
the Congregational Club, the Worcester 
County Musical Association, of which he 
has been treasurer since 1896, also mem- 
ber of the Old South Church since 1871. 
He married, February 28, 1871, Anna E. 
Stoughton, daughter of Samuel and Eliza 
(Spaulding) Stoughton, of Gill, Massa- 
chusetts (see Stoughton VII). Mr. and 
Mrs. Bliss have been extensive travelers 
both in their own country and in foreign 
lands. 

(XIII) Walter Stoughton Bliss, eldest 
child of George Rolland and Anna E. 



(Stoughton) Bliss, was born May 21, 
1872, in Worcester. He attended the pub- 
lic and high schools of his native city, 
graduating in 1890. After a course of one 
ane one-half years in Hinman's Business 
College, he became associated with his 
father's business, in which he became a 
partner in 1899. He is interested in and 
a lover of music and has been tenor and 
director of music in various Worcester 
churches for a period of fifteen years. He 
is an active member of the various Ma- 
sonic fraternities and past master of 
Morning Star Lodge. He is also a mem- 
ber of Kiwanis, an active business men's 
club. He married, May 21, 1901, Winnie 
Meyers, daughter of Deacon Albert F. 
and Charlotte Eugenie (Rawson) Meyers, 
of Worcester, and they are the parents 
of three daughters : Dorothy May, Vir- 
ginia and Louise Marietta. 

(XIII) George Rolland (2) Bliss, sec- 
ond son of George Rolland (1) and Anna 
E. (Stoughton) Bliss, was born August 
16, 1874, in Worcester, Massachusetts. 
He graduated from the Worcester Clas- 
sical High School in 1892. and entered 
Amherst College, from which he received 
the degree of A. B. in 1896. For seven 
years he was a traveling salesman, repre- 
senting the Royal Worcester Corset Com- 
pany, and was subsequently, for three 
years, sales manager of that company. In 
1907 he became treasurer of the O. C. 
White Company of Worcester, manufac- 
turers of adjustable electric lighting fix- 
tures and other metal specialties. Mr. 
Bliss is affiliated with the Masonic fra- 
ternity, and is a member of various or- 
ganizations and clubs. 

(XIII) Edith Georgianna Bliss, only 
daughter of George Rolland (1) and Anna 
E. (Stoughton) Bliss, was born Decem- 
ber 24, 1878, in Worcester, Massachusetts. 
After graduating at the high school of 
that city, she was a student for two years 



166 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



at Mt. Holyoke College. She was mar- 
ried, September 16, 1902, to William Dex- 
ter White, assistant manager of the Hol- 
yoke Machine Company, a son of William 
W. White. 

(The Stoughton Line). 

The name of Stoughton is very ancient 
in England. In the time of King Stephen 
(1135-54) Goodwin de Stocton resided at 
Stoughton in Surrey. In the eighth year 
of King Edward I., Henry de Stoughton 
received one hundred and sixty-eight 
acres there. The mansion known as 
"Stoughton Place" was located in the 
center of the manor. The site is now a 
plowed field, but is still called Stoughton 
Garden. 

(I) Thomas Stoughton resided at 
Stoughton in Surrey. 

(II) Gilbert Stoughton, son of Thomas 
Stoughton, married Mary, daughter of 
Edward Banbesey. 

(III) Lawrence Stoughton, son of Gil- 
bert Stoughton, married Ann, daughter 
of Comb, of Ford, in County Sus- 
sex. His will, made May 10, 1571, was 
proved April 28, 1572. 

(IV) Thomas (2) Stoughton, son of 
Lawrence Stoughton, born 1521, died 
1575. He married Elizabeth, daughter of 
Edmund Lewkenor. 

(V) Lawrence (2) Stoughton, son of 
Thomas (2) and Elizabeth Stoughton, 
born 1554, died at Stoughton in 1615. He 
married Rose, daughter of Richard Ive, 
citizen of London. 

(I) American Generations: William 
Stoughton, son of Israel Stoughton, of 
Dorchester, at one time a Massachusetts 
judge, who condemned many people of 
witchcraft, was a bachelor, and left no 
progeny. 

(II) Rev. Thomas Stoughton, born 
about 1575-78, was a clergyman, and was 
presented with the "living" of Coggeshall, 



December 12, 1600, but was deprived of it 
for non-conformity in 1606. He married 
(first) a Montpeson of County Wilts. He 
came to America in Winthrop's fleet in 
the ship "Mary and John," in 1630. On 
October 19 of that year he desired to be- 
come a freeman of the town of Dorches- 
ter, and was admitted May 18 following. 
He was appointed a constable by the 
court, September 3, 1630, and misunder- 
standing his powers under the Colonial 
jurisdiction , he performed a marriage 
service for Clement Briggs and Joan 
Allen. For this indiscretion he was fined 
five pounds, but the fine was later re- 
mitted. He was a member of the com- 
pany which settled Windsor, Connecti- 
cut, and had a grant of fifty-two acres, 
comprising a house lot and meadow in 
that town, January 11, 1640. He also 
had a grant over the Great river, fifty 
rods in breadth, and extending three miles 
eastward ; also a grant "toward Pine 
Meadow" of sixty-nine acres. He was 
ensign in 1636; was often representative 
between 1639 and 1648; lieutenant in 
1640, and died March 25, 1661. He mar- 
ried, as second wife, Margaret (Barrett) 
Huntington, widow of Simon Hunting- 
ton, who died on the voyage to America. 
Little is known concerning their children. 
(II) Thomas (2) Stoughton, son of 
Rev. Thomas (1) Stoughton, born in Eng- 
land, was one of the original proprietors 
of Hartford. Connecticut, and built the 
house known as "Stoughton" or the Stone 
Fort. He died September 15, 1684, and 
the inventory of his estate amounted to 
£909, 8s. He married, November 30, 
1655, Mary, daughter of William Wads- 
worth, and they had children : John, born 
June 20, 1657; Mary, January 1, 1659; 
Elizabeth, baptized November 18, 1660; 
Thomas, mentioned below ; Samuel, born 
September 8, 1665 ; Israel, February 8, 
1667; Rebecca, June 19, 1673. 



167 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(III) Thomas (3) Stoughton, second 
son of Thomas (2) and Mary (Wads- 
worth) Stoughton, born November 21, 
1663, in East Windsor, settled at Stough- 
ton Brook, now in South Windsor, where 
he died January 14, 1749. He was an 
active and useful citizen, was made en- 
sign of the North Company of the Wind- 
sor train band in September, 1689, was 
later lieutenant, and made captain in May, 
1698, of the train band on the east side of 
the Great river. He was deputy to the 
General Court in 1699, 1725-26, 1729 and 
1733. He married (first) December 31, 
169 1, Dorothy, daughter of Lieutenant 
John and Helena (Wakeman) Talcott, of 
Hartford, born February 26, 1666, died 
March 28, 1696. He married (second) 
May 19, 1697, Abigail, daughter of Rich- 
ard and Elizabeth (Tuthill) Edwards, and 
widow of Benjamin Lathrop, born 1671, 
died January 23, 1754. Child of first mar- 
riage : Mary, born January 4, 1693 > °f 
second marriage: Thomas, born April 9, 
1698; Daniel, August 13, 1699; Benjamin, 
April 28, 1701 ; Timothy, mentioned be- 
low ; Abigail, December 21, 1704; David, 
September 9, 1706; Mabel, August 19, 
1708; Jonathan, October 7, 1710; Eliza- 
beth, December 20, 1712 ; Isaac, November 
2. 1714. 

(IV) Timothy Stoughton, fourth son 
of Thomas (3) and Abigail (Edwards) 
Stoughton, was born June 27, 1703, in 
Windsor, and moved about the world to 
many places. From 1733 to 1745 he lived 
in Hartford, in 1751 was a resident of 
Somerset county, New Jersey, and in 
1763 of Frederick county, Maryland. He 
married, June 27, 1733, Hannah, daughter 
of Thomas and Sarah (Foote) Olcott, of 
Hartford, born August 4, 1707, died 1739- 
40. Children : Jonathan, born April 20, 
1735 ; John, 1738; Samuel, mentioned be- 
low. 

(V) Samuel Stoughton, son of Timothy 



and Hannah (Olcott) Stoughton, was born 
in December, 1739, in Windsor, and lived 
for some years in Greenfield, Massachu- 
setts, whence he removed, about 1774, to 
Northfield, same State, and later to Gill, 
Franklin county, Massachusetts, where 
he established a home, and died Decem- 
ber 25, 1814. His homestead continued 
in possession of his descendants for sev- 
eral generations. He was a soldier of the 
Revolution, serving first as a lieutenant in 
Captain Timothy Childs' (Third) com- 
pany, Colonel David Fields' (Third 
Hampshire County) regiment of Massa- 
chusetts militia, commissioned May 3, 
1776. He was second lieutenant in Cap- 
tain Abel Dinsmoor's company, Colonel 
Benjamin Ruggles Woodbridge's regi- 
ment, engaged August 17, discharged Oc- 
tober 20, 1777, after service of two months 
and eight days, including four days' (sev- 
enty miles) travel home. This company 
was raised for service in the Northern 
army till November 30, 1777, roll sworn 
to in Hampshire county. In the pay ab- 
stract of officers for rations dated in camp 
at Scarsdale (near W T hite Plains, New 
York), December 7, 1777, Samuel Stough- 
ton was allowed seventy-three rations 
from August 17 to October 28, 1777. He 
married (first) January 12, 1769, in Green- 
field, Mary, daughter of Ebenezer Sever- 
ance. She died December 31 of the same 
year, and he maried (second) December 
5, 1770, Sarah, daughter of Seth Munn, 
born December 5, 175 1, probably in 
Northfield. Child of the first marriage: 
Mary, born December 1, 1769. Children 
of second marriage : Sarah, born April 8, 
1772; Samuel, September 19, 1773; Tim- 
othy, died young; Timothy, baptized No- 
vember 12, 1780; Fanny, August 3, 1783; 
Asa, mentioned below ; Ira, March 7, 
1788; Nancy, February 9, 1791. The first 
three are recorded in Greenfield, and all 
are recorded in Northfield. 



168 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(VI) Asa Stoughton, fourth son of 
Samuel and Sarah (Munn) Stoughton, 
was born February 15, 1786, according to 
the "History of Northfield," August 29, 
1785, according to the records of the town 
of Gill, and lived in the latter town. He 
married (intentions entered August 28, 
181 1, in Gill) Anna Stevens, a native of 
Warwick, Massachusetts. Children : Mary 
Ann, born December 31, 1812; Samuel, 
mentioned below; Charles, October 17, 
1816; Asa Olcott, August 23, 1819; 
George Harvey, October 27, 1821 ; Nancy 
P., January 23, 1824. The last named 
graduated from Mt. Holyoke College in 
1842. 

(VII) Samuel (2) Stoughton, eldest 
son of Asa and Anna (Stevens) Stough- 
ton, was born February 10, 1815, in Gill, 
Massachusetts, and was a farmer and 
broom manufacturer in that town. He 
was a very active church worker, was 
blessed with great musical talent, both as 
a singer and instrumental performer, and 
was organist of the Gill Congregational 
Church many years. He married (in- 
tentions entered May 29, 1842, at Gill) 
Hannah Eliza Spaulding, born February 
1, 1823, in Jaffrey, New Hampshire, 
daughter of Deacon Abel and Lucy P. 
(Pierce) Spaulding, of that town, former- 
ly of Townsend, Massachusetts. Chil- 
dren: Anna Eliza, mentioned below; 
Sarah Josephine, born in Gill, June 10, 
1848. 

(VIII) Anna Eliza Stoughton, elder 
daughter of Samuel (2) and Hannah 
Eliza (Spaulding) Stoughton, born March 
26, 1844, in Gill, was a student under Pro- 
fessor Wright, and later at Powers' Insti- 
tute, Bernardston, Massachusetts, gradu- 
ating in the class of 1863. Entering Mt. 
Holyoke College at South Hadley, Massa- 
chusetts, she graduated in the class of 
1867, and for three years was teacher of 
mathematics in Westerly Institute at 



Westerly, Rhode Island. She married, 
February 28, 1871, at the parental home 
in Gill, George Rolland Bliss, of Worces- 
ter (see Bliss XII). 



NICHOLS, Charles Lemuel, 

Physician. 

This name has been traced in England 
to Nicholas de Albioni, alias Nigell or 
Nicholl, and came to England in the time 
of Edward the Confessor. 

(I) Thomas Nichols was a resident of 
Amesbury, Massachusetts, as early as 
1665. He had a seat in the meeting house 
there ; was made townsman in 1667 ; 
owned land there in 1670; subscribed to 
the oath of allegiance in 1677 ; was a 
member of the train band in 1680, and was 
probably living in 1708, but died before 
1720. Thomas Nichols married Mary 

, and had among their children 

John, mentioned below. 

(II) John Nichols, son of Thomas and 
Mary Nichols, was born about 1678, and 
lived in Amesbury, where he was a "snow 
shoe man" in 1708. He married, January 
I, 1702, in Salisbury, Massachusetts, Abi- 
gail Sargent, of Gloucester, probably 
daughter of William and Mary (Duncan) 
Sargent, born about 1683. Children: 
Mary, born October 19, 1702, married, 
May 24, 1721, James Dow; John, July 
12, 1704; William, January 21, 1706; 
Jacob, January 16, 1708; Joseph, Sep- 
tember 2, 1709 ; Daniel, mentioned below ; 
Moses, February 25, 1715 ; Anna, Janu- 
ary 30, 1718; Aaron, October 2, 1719; 
Humphrey, April 18, 1723; Thomas, Jan- 
uary 18, 1725; Abigail, March 18, 1727. 

(III) Daniel Nichols, fifth son of John 
and Abigail (Sargent) Nichols, was born 
in Amesbury, Massachusetts, September 
30, 1712. He continued to reside in his 
native town, and died there, March 29, 
1804. He married, August 31, 1737, in 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Amesbury, Elizabeth Sawyer, born about 
1718, died February 7, 1803, in Amesbury, 
daughter of Benjamin and Elizabeth 
(Jameson) Sawyer, formerly of New- 
bury, later of Amesbury. Children : 
Enoch, mentioned below ; Moses, born 
June 1, 1743; Elizabeth, November 5, 
1745; Eunice, July II, 1748; Daniel, Oc- 
tober 11, 1750; Sarah, July 12, 1753; Ste- 
phen, baptized November 23, 1755; Mary, 
born April 9, 1758, died young; Mary, 
November 1, 1761. 

(IV) Enoch Nichols, eldest child of 
Daniel and Elizabeth (Sawyer) Nichols 
was born June 22, 1740, in Amesbury 
Massachusetts, where he died October 11 
1830. He married there, August 18, 1762 
Anna Chase, born July 29, 1745, in Haver- 
hill, Massachusetts, died October 6, 1819 
in Amesbury, daughter of Ezra and Judith 
(Davis) Chase, of Haverhill. Children 
Ezra, mentioned below ; Moses, born 
March 4, 1766; Anna, died young; Eliza- 
beth, baptized August 13, 1773, died 
young; Enoch, April 5, 1775, died young; 
Anna, born July 22, 1779; Elizabeth, No- 
vember 21, 1781 ; Enoch, July 2, 1784; 
Mary Chase, June 27, 1793. 

(V) Ezra Nichols, eldest child of Enoch 
and Anna (Chase) Nichols, was born in 
Amesbury, Massachusetts, January 26, 
1764. He resided in Canaan, New Hamp- 
shire. He married (first) Elizabeth 
Hazeltine, born at Bradford, New Hamp- 
shire, June n, 1773, died March 6, 1793, 
at Canaan, New Hampshire, daughter of 
Timothy and Ruth (Stickney) Hazeltine. 
Had one son Ezra, mentioned below. 

(VI) Dr. Ezra (2) Nichols, son of 
Ezra (1) and Elizabeth (Hazeltine) 
Nichols, was born in Canaan, New Hamp- 
shire, October 16, 1790. He moved to 
Bradford, New Hampshire, where he prac- 
ticed his profession of medicine, and later 
removed to Newton Lower Falls, Massa- 
chusetts, where he died September 29, 



1848. He married, at Seabrook, New 
Hampshire, Waity Gray Smith, and they 
were the parents of six children : Eliza- 
beth Hazeltine; Lemuel Bliss, mentioned 
below ; Abby Smith, Ezra Addison, Jabez 
Smith, and John Smith. 

(VII) Dr. Lemuel Bliss Nichols, eldest 
son of Dr. Ezra (2) and Waity Gray 
(Smith) Nichols, was born at Bradford, 
New Hampshire, October 6, 1816. At the 
age of two years his parents moved to 
Newton Lower Falls, Massachusetts, in 
which town he obtained his education by 
attendance at the public and high schools, 
then entered Brown University, at Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, from which institu- 
tion he was graduated with the class of 
1842, receiving the degree of A. B. His 
father, though a physician of considerable 
skill and attainments, had destined him 
for a farmer's life, but literary tastes and 
hereditary instincts prevailed, and for 
four years following his graduation from 
Brown University he taught in the public 
schools of Providence, attaining the rank 
of principal of the Arnold Street Gram- 
mar School, and he was instrumental in 
raising the standard of the Providence 
schools in general. In consequence of 
sickness in his family, he became ac- 
quainted with the homeopathic practice 
of medicine and studied its principles with 
Drs. Okie and Preston, of Providence. 
After the required amount of study, one 
year being spent at the Harvard Medical 
School, he received his degree of a regu- 
lar physician at the Philadelphia College 
of Medicine, in 1848. In the following 
year he came to Worcester, Massachu- 
setts, where he practiced as homeopathic 
physician until the time of his death, Sep- 
tember 28, 1883. Although slight in form 
and delicate in appearance, in consequence 
of his sedentary life, he possessed a won- 
derful constitution and great powers of 
endurance. His quiet confidence and 



170 




^^R^hl^S 



-7^-> 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ready sympathy won him a large place in 
the public heart and gave him an exten- 
sive practice from the beginning, and his 
death left a wide circle of friends and 
patients to deplore their loss. It was his 
custom to avoid all public office and to 
confine himself strictly to the limits of 
his profession by steady, conscientious 
effort. He was one of the founders of 
the Worcester County Homeopathic 
Medical Society, and was its first presi- 
dent, serving from 1866 to 1868. Dr. 
Nichols was a devout and active member 
of All Saints Episcopal Church, and 
served as warden for more than sixteen 
years, during which time he acted as both 
junior and senior warden. He was liberal 
in his Christian ideas and generous to the 
call for any worthy charity, whether in 
the church or outside, and he was also a 
great lover of music. He was a member 
of the Order of Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, in which he attained the 
thirty-second degree, affiliated with Athel- 
stan Lodge, Ouinsigamond Chapter, and 
Knights Templar. Perhaps the most 
noticeable characteristic of Dr. Nichols, 
aside from his prominence as a physician, 
was his unusual linguistic attainments. 
His was indeed a rare knowledge of the 
many languages, speaking no less than 
six different languages fluently, and read- 
ing with ease the ancient Arabic, Syriac, 
Sanskrit, Hebrew, Greek, Latin, Italian, 
French, German, Spanish, and many 
others. His love for languages hardly 
outshone his desire for collecting an- 
tiques. China, books, art, and among his 
extensive collection, which was con- 
sidered unusual for this period, were to 
be found china that was once the property 
of Emperor Napoleon, as well as some of 
the treasures of Louis Philippe, all of 
which are still in the possession of sur- 
viving members of his family. His love 
for the humane treatment of horses and 



other beasts was secondary only to his 
desire to administer to his fellowman. 

The following was taken from the 
Worcester "Daily Spy" : 

One who was once a patient and friend of Dr. 
L. B. Nichols, and lived in your city, would like 
to add a few words of tribute to his memory, as 
the news comes of his death. The writer knew 
him in the earlier days of his practice in Worces- 
ter, while a homeopathic physician could not hope 
for the good opinion of so many as in these later 
days when homeopathy is a success. He was an 
earnest believer in its merits, an enthusiast in its 
practice, and to many a patient gave his service 
free. He was devoted to his family and for their 
comfort and health spared nothing. In their love 
and esteem he found ample reward. He was an 
earnest churchman, present whenever professional 
calls did not make it necessary to be absent. All 
Saints Church in those days was not in its present 
prosperous condition, worshipping in a beautiful 
structure, but few in numbers, with little enthu- 
siasm, but his influence was always felt. He did 
what he could. Though a man tenacious of ideas 
he considered right, he never obtruded them. 
With much illness in his family at times, he went 
abroad with a cheerful face, often studying some 
book as he took a long drive in order to keep up 
his knowledge of some scientific or classical sub- 
ject. He had a pride in all that advanced the 
interests of the city, and one of his hopes was 
that his son might succeed him. His wish has 
been gratified, and the boy, so dutiful and kind 
in early days, has become honored and success- 
ful. Thinking of his death we regret the loss to 
those who knew and loved him best, where, not 
only there, but in the church he loved so well, he 
will long be remembered and missed. — E. H. W., 
Ashburnham, Massachusetts. 

Dr. Nichols married, in North Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, December 5, 1843, 
Lydia Carter Anthony, born May 13, 
1824, died June 4, 1888, daughter of James 
and Sarah Porter (Williams) Anthony, 
of North Providence, Rhode Island, the 
former named having been a prominent 
manufacturer of Greystone Village, North 
Providence. Children : Sarah G., born 
March 14, 1845, died October 25, 1850; 
Corinne L., born November 7, 1846; 



171 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Annie L., born September 24, 1848; 
Charles Lemuel, mentioned below ; Wil- 
liam A., born July I, 1853, died August 
2 3> 1853 ; Abbie C, born November 28, 
1855, died September 15, 1856; Lydia An- 
thony, mentioned below ; Mary Linwood, 
Mrs. George Tufts Dewey (see Dewey). 
(VIII) Dr. Charles Lemuel Nichols, 
eldest son of Dr. Lemuel Bliss and Lydia 
Carter (Anthony) Nichols, was born in 
Worcester, Massachusetts, May 29, 185 1. 
He prepared for college at the Highland 
Military Academy, and then entered 
Brown University, Providence, from 
which he was graduated in 1872, with 
the degree of A. B., and received the de- 
gree of A. M., 1875. Immediately after 
graduation he became instructor in chem- 
istry at Brown University, and in 1873 
entered Harvard Medical School, from 
which he was graduated M. D. in 1875. 
In the following year he was an interne 
in the Homeopathic Hospital at Ward's 
Island, New York, as chief assistant under 
Dr. Talcott. He began the practice of his 
profession at Worcester in 1877, and has 
since continued with gratifying success. 
He was instructor in medical history at 
Boston University School of Medicine 
from 1885 to 1900. He has been a mem- 
ber of the consulting board of the State 
Insane Hospital at Westboro since 1894, 
and was one of the founders of the 
Worcester County Homeopathic Dispen- 
sary Association. He is a member of the 
American Institute of Homeopathy ; of 
the Massachusetts Homeopathic State 
Medical Society, of which he was presi- 
dent in 1884; of the Worcester County 
Homeopathic Society, of which he was 
president ; of the American Antiquarian 
Society, of which he is recording secre- 
tary; Massachusetts Historical Society; 
Worcester Club ; Tatnuck Country Club ; 
Worcester Fire Society; St. Wolston So- 
ciety ; Bohemian Club of Worcester ; 



Quinsigamond Boat Club of Worcester; 
University Club of Boston ; Colonial So- 
ciety of Boston ; Hughes Club of Boston ; 
and the Odd Volume Club of Boston, 
founded in 1887. He is a member of the 
management of the John Carter Brown 
Library at Brown University, Providence, 
Rhode Island. He is a trustee of the Me- 
chanics' Savings Bank of Worcester, and 
since 1903 he has been president of the 
Associated Charities of Worcester. Dr. 
Nichols is interested in literary work, and 
is the author of a "Bibliography of Worces- 
ter," published in 1899; "Library of Ra- 
meses, the Great" (1909), for which work 
Dr. Nichols took the portraits himself in 
Egypt ; "Life and Writings of Isaiah 
Thomas" (1912), and an "Almanac Re- 
production" (1916) for the American An- 
tiquity Society of Worcester, Massachu- 
setts. 

Dr. Nichols married (first) June 14, 
1877, Caroline Clinton Dewey (see 
Dewey), who died December 23, 1878, 
leaving a daughter, Caroline Dewey, 
born December 22, 1878. She attended 
Miss Lewisson's School at Worcester and 
Miss Porter's School at Farmington, Con- 
necticut. She married George Anthony 
Gaskill (see Gaskill), son of Judge Fran- 
cis A. and Katherine Mortimer (Whit- 
taker) Gaskill, of Worcester, Massachu- 
setts, and has children: Charles Francis, 
born November 15, 1906; George An- 
thony, February 9, 1909 ; Katherine Mor- 
timer, December 5, 1913; they reside in 
Worcester. Dr. Nichols married (second) 
November 26, 1884, Mary Jarette Bray- 
ton, of Fall River, Massachusetts, daugh- 
ter of John Summerfield and Sarah (Tink- 
ham) Brayton, formerly of Middleboro, 
Massachusetts. She died April 2, 1910. 
Children: 1. Charles Lemuel, born No- 
vember 29, 1886, graduated A. B. at Har- 
vard University in 1910, and has a fire in- 
surance office in Worcester. 2. Harriet 



172 




jfoie/i/i teoii/vMcLiid XoioMeb 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Brayton, born September 6, 1891, edu- 
cated in private schools at Worcester and 
Farmington, resides with her father. 3. 
Brayton, born December 28, 1892, at- 
tended Pomfret School at Pomfret, Con- 
necticut, and graduated in the class of 
1915 at Harvard University, receiving the 
degree of A. B. ; he then entered the 
Worcester office of Jackson & Curtis, 
brokers, and during his service there he 
enlisted in Battery A, of Boston, and 
with them saw border service on the 
American and Mexican frontier at El 
Paso during the disturbing period from 
June to November, 1916, and upon his 
return to Boston was mustered out of the 
service, and at once took up a course of 
medical studies in that city. During the 
years 1905-07 Dr. Nichols and his family 
resided in Germany and Switzerland. 

(VIII) Lydia Anthony Nichols, daugh- 
ter of Dr. Lemuel Bliss and Lydia Carter 
(Anthony) Nichols, was born May 5, 
1857, in Worcester, Massachusetts, and 
died April 6, 1903. She married, June 19, 
1883, Reuben Tyler Palmer, born Decem- 
ber 3, 1857, died December 13, 1913, son 
of Reuben T. and Lavinia (Hill) Palmer, 
who were the parents of five children : 

Ida, became the wife of Dr. Allen, 

of New London ; Emma, unmarried ; 
Reuben Tyler and Tyler Reuben, twins, 
and Lavinia, became the wife of Fred- 
erick Mercer, of New London, and they 
have one child, Eleanor Mercer. Children 
of Mr. and Mrs. Palmer : 1. Charles Tyler, 
born June 17, 1884, in Worcester; at- 
tended private and high schools at New 
London, St. Paul's School, Garden City ; 
and died at the age of eighteen years. 2. 
Marguerite Linwood, born February 9, 
1886 ; attended a private school in New 
London, then a school at Briarcliff-on- 
the-Hudson; she married, June 1, 1909, 
Nelson McStea Whitney, born February 
4, 1886, son of George Quintard and Sarah 



Elise (McStea) Whitney, of New Orleans, 
Louisianna, and their children are : Mor- 
gan Linwood, born April 5, 1910, and 
Elise, born March 23, 1914. 3. Harold 
Nichols, born September 2J, 1887; mar- 
ried, May, 1916, Mary C. Elliot, of New 
York. 4. Reuben Tyler (3rd), born Feb- 
ruary 26, 1899; attended private and pub- 
lic schols of New London, the Worcester 
Academy, from which he graduated with 
honor, one of the three speakers of his 
class, 1917, and then entered Brown Uni- 
versity, class of 1920. 



CLOYES, Joseph C, 

Civil War Soldier, Respected Citizen. 

John Cloyes, the pioneer ancestor of 
the Cloyes family, was a mariner ; his 
name is found upon the records of Water- 
town, Massachusetts, as early as 163 1. 
The early settlers of the Cloyes family 
spelled their name Clayes, sometimes 
Cloise. Whether it is written Clayes or 
Cloyes, it undoubtedly is the same fam- 
ily. After his house was burned in 
Watertown, he probably removed to 
Charlestown, where a deed was given by 
John Cloyes and wife Jane for a barn and 
land in Watertown, May 3, 1656. July 
25, 1660, he sold his Charlestown lands 
and removed to Falmouth, Maine, and 
was killed by the Indians, in 1676. He 

married (first) Abigail , (second) 

Jane , (third) widow of Julian 

Sparwell, born 1620; she did not die until 
after 1667, as her name is in a court rec- 
ord of that year. But little seems to be 
known of the immigrant ancestor. Chil- 
dren of John Cloyes: 1. John, born in 
Watertown, Massachusetts, August 26, 
1638; settled in Wells, Maine. 2. Peter, 
born in Watertown, May 27, 1640. 3. 
Nathaniel, born in Watertown, March 
6, 1642-43 ; married Sarah Mills ; settled 
in Wells, Maine ; was in Charlestown, 



173 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1698. 4. Abigail, married Jenkin Wil- 
liams. 5. Sarah, married Peter Housing. 
6. Thomas, married Susannah Lewis, and 
was in Saco, 1671 ; in Falmouth, 1674; in 
Wells, 1681 ; killed by the Indians, 1690. 
;. Mary, born July 1, 1657. 8. Martha, 
t orn in Charlestown, October 13, 1659. 

(II) Peter Cloyes, son of John Cloyes, 
born May 2.7, 1640, died July 18, 1708, 
also settled in Maine, and was in Wells 
as early as 1663. From there he moved 
1 3 Salem Village, now Danvers, Massa- 
chusetts; located permanently in Fram- 
ingham, Massachusetts, 1693, on what is 
now known as the Barton place. He was 
always interested in public affairs. When 
#he first town meeting of Framingham 
ivas held, in August, 1700, Peter Cloyes 
was elected town treasurer. The first 
meeting house was framed in 1698, but 
was not completed until 1701. Peter 
Cloyes was one of the number elected to 
'•gather ten pounds in money by way of 
rate" for finishing of the meeting house ; 
to employ a carpenter and see that the 
money was spent to the best advantage. 
When the first minister, Rev. John Swift, 
was called to the parish, Mr. Cloyes was 
one of the men selected to extend the call 
in behalf of the rest of the inhabitants. 
Rev. Mr. Swift left a record, dated Octo- 
ber 8, 1701, in which he gave the names 
of the first eighteen members of the 
church. Peter Cloyes's name was in- 
cluded in the list. 

Peter Cloyes married (first) Hannah 

, who died about 1680; (second) 

Sarah Towne Bridges, born in 1638, 
daughter of William and Joanna Bless- 
ing Towne, who came to New England 
from Yarmouth, Norfolk county, Eng- 
land, about 1639. She was the widow of 
Edmund Bridges, son of Captain Benja- 
min and his wife Alice. Sarah Towne 
Cloyes was the sister of Rebecca Towne 
Nourse. The story of the Salem Witch- 



craft and that of Rebecca Nourse are both 
familiar tragedies in colonial history. 
Possibly the story of her sister Sarah is 
less known. Rebecca Towne, wife of 
Francis Nourse, and Sarah Towne Cloyes 
were among the first victims in Salem to 
be accused of witchcraft. They were com- 
mitted to the Boston prison, March 1, 
1692. At the first trial of Mrs. Nourse, 
who was a member of the Salem church 
and seems to have been a woman of cul- 
ture, the evidence was so weak that she 
was not convicted ; at a second trial she 
was also acquited, but at a third trial she 
was convicted and sentenced to be hung 
as a witch, because she had not given the 
magistrate the proper answer to his ques- 
tions. It was afterwards learned that 
owing to deafness she had failed to com- 
prehend the questions. The sentence was 
carried out in spite of the forty neighbors 
who gave their signatures to a declara- 
tion that "they had known her for many 
years and had observed her life and con- 
versation to be according to new profes- 
sion." She was executed July 19, 1692. 
Sarah Cloyes was also convicted, received 
the death sentence, and was committed 
to the jail in Ipswich to await execution. 
Her husband, Peter Cloyes, was allowed 
to visit her, and in some unknown way 
she managed to make her escape and was 
concealed by her friends until she came 
to Framingham in 1693 and settled in the 
part of the town that has since been 
known in Framingham history as Salem 
End. Sarah Towne Cloyes died in 1703. 
The third wife of Peter Cloyes was 
Widow Susana Beers, daughter of Robert 
Harrington, of Watertown, and this mar- 
riage was also her third, she having mar- 
ried (first) February 9, 1671-72, John 
Cutting, of Watertown, (second) Eliezer 
Beers, of Watertown, (third) Peter 
Cloyes. There seems to have been no 
record made of the birth of the children 



174 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Peter Cloyes, but his will and deeds 
give the following list: i. Hannah, born 
about 1665 ; married, 1686, Daniel Ellist, 
and lived in Framingham and Oxford. 2. 
Sarah, born about 1667 ; married, in Salem 
Village, March 13, 1688, John Cunnabel ; 
lived in Boston; died before 1700; had 
children : Deborah, Hannah, and proba- 
bly John, Elizabeth, Susanna and Rob- 
ert. 3. Mary, married (second) Joseph 
Trumbull. 4. James. 5. Peter. 6. Abi- 
gail, married Waters, and died be- 

bore 1708, leaving daughter Abigail. 7. 
Hepzibah, married, February 3, 1708, E. 
Ienezer Harrington. 8. Alice, married, 

before July 15, 1708, Bridges. 

(Ill) James Cloyes, son of Peter 
Cloyes. As the birth of the children of 
Peter Cloyes was not recorded, there is 
of course no authority record of his birth ; 
neither is there any date of his marriage 
recorded, and only the Christian name of 
his wife (Mary) given in the town his- 
tory. In the Framingham tax list dated 
June 27, 1710, his name appears. At this 
time the town was divided into two con- 
stable wards. On the basis of each mans' 
proportion to a tax of £10 to procure a 
stock of ammunition, James Cloyes's tax 
amounted to two shillings and two pence. 
During Ralle's war, which lasted from 
1722 to 1726, Framingham furnished its 
quota, and we find in the list the name of 
James Cloyes as it appears on the muster 
roll of Captain Isaac Clark's company of 
troopers out from August 21 to Septem- 
ber 18, 1725. At this period the first 
meeting house built in 1701 was becom- 
ing almost too dilapidated for use, and 
when the second meeting house was 
under consideration, the town voted at 
a meeting held April 19, 1725, to raise 
£100 for that purpose; James Cloyes was 
one of the committee chosen to agree with 
a workman to build the house. The con- 
troversy over where this house should 



be built extended over a period of ten 
years. One of the sites selected did not 
meet the approval of one of the leading 
citizens of the town, so he confiscated 
the timbers and built a barn for himself. 
The General Court was called upon to 
settle the dispute, but it was not until 
March 25, 1734, that an amicable settle- 
ment was made. The house was built 
the following year. James Cloyes served 
as a member of the board of selectmen 
for five years, from 1730 to 1735. Chil- 
dren of James and Mary Cloyes: 1. 
Esther, born April 27, 1702 ; married, June 
17, 1725, Captain Daniel Howe, of 
Shrewsbury; she died July 27, 1759. 2. 
Keziah, born December 8, 1705 ; married, 
1727, William Goddard, of Shrewsbury. 
3. John, born September 25, 1707, died 
1794. 4. James, born June 10, 1710, died 
January, 1798. 5. Mary, born October 
12, 1712; married Deacon Jonathan 
Morse. 6. Hannah, born April 4, 1717; 
married, 1735, Josiah Wilson, of Hopkin- 
ton. 

(IV) James (2) Cloyes, son of James 
(1) and Mary Cloyes, was born in Fram- 
ingham, June 10, 1710; died in January, 
1798. James, like his father and grand- 
father before him, was a part of the 
church life in Framingham. When the 
second minister, Rev. Mathew Bridge, 
accepted the call to preside over the par- 
ish, James Cloyes, Jr., was appointed one 
of a committee to take care of the meet- 
ing house upon the ordination day, which 
occurred February 19, 1746. He was also 
prominent in the secular affairs of the 
town, having served five years upon the 
board of selectmen, and in 1770 was ap- 
pointed one of the overseers of the work 
house and the poor. 

In 1745 James Cloyes was a member 
of Ephraim Baker's company, Sir Wil- 
liam Pepperell's regiment, in the Louis- 
burg expedition. Again, in the last 



175 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



French and Indian war, we find his name 
enrolled upon the alarm list in Captain 
Jeremiah Belvernap's company, April 26, 
1757. Less than a month after the tea 
was thrown overboard in Boston Har- 
bor, the selectmen espousing the cause of 
Boston called a town meeting (January 
10, 1774) to see if the town would come 
into any determination relating to the 
matter whereby to contribute their mite 
with other towns in the province. James 
Cloyes's signature was attached to the 
warrant. 

It was a nephew of this James Cloyes 
who was killed by lightning out of a clear 
sky, June 3, 1773. A local school mistress 
has bequeathed to us a poem of forty- 
eight verses which gives a vivid descrip- 
tion of scene and which has become his- 
toric. "The Lord gave forth his thunder- 
ing voice which proved the death of Rice 
and Cloyes. Thus in the twinkling of an 
eye, they passed into eternity." Another 
verse of the poem is inscribed upon the 
gravestone of one of the men : "My 
trembling heart with grief o'erflows, 
While I record the death of those, Who 
died by thunder sent from heaven, In 
seventeen hundred and seventy-seven." 
At this date the family must have spelled 
their name Cloyes, as Miss Lydia Learned 
spelled it thus in her poem. 

He married (first) July 24, 1735, Lydia 
Eames, who died November 8, 1736; 
(second) May 28, 1740, Abigail Gleason, 
born November 13, 1717, daughter of 
Captain John and Abigail Learned Glea- 
son, a descendant of Thomas Gleason, the 
immigrant ancestor, who settled in 
Watertown in 1652. She died in April, 
1798. Children of James and Abigail 
Gleason Cloyes: 1. Peter, born October 
30, 1736 (son of Lydia), died young. 2. 
Josiah, born September 30, 1741, died 
May 13, 1858. 3. James, born February 
13, 1742-43, died December 9, 1809. 4. 



Elijah, born September 5, 1744; died at 
White Plains, 1776. 5. Lydia, born Au- 
gust 7, 1746; married Simon Tozer. 6. 
Abigail, born August 7, 1752; married 
John Mayhew. 7. Peter, born March 28, 

1754- 

(V) James (3) Cloyes, son of James 
(2) and Abigail Gleason Cloyes, born 
February 3, 1742-43, died December 9, 
1809. This James, like all his ancestors, 
was loyal not only to his native town, but 
also to his country, and was ever ready 
when the call came for military service. 
November 8, 1774, the town voted to ac- 
cept the resolve of the Provincial Con- 
gress, passed October 26, 1774, which 
provided for the enlistment and equip- 
ment of companies which should hold 
themselves in readiness to march at a 
minute's notice. Two companies of 
minute-men were formed in Framingham, 
Massachusetts, at this time, and James 
Cloyes was one of the first to enlist. The 
company was duly organized December 
2, 1774. On that memorable call, April 
19, 1775, the Framingham men followed 
the British as far as Cambridge and spent 
the night there. On the muster roll of a 
minute company belonging to Framing- 
ham, under the command of Captain 
Simon Edgell, who marched on the alarm 
on the 19th of April, 1775, to Concord 
and Cambridge, we find the name of 
James Cloyes, Jr., and in 1777 he was a 
member of the committee of correspond- 
ence. At a town meeting held May 22, 
1780, he was one of a committee of fif- 
teen to examine the new Constitution, or 
"Frame of Government." In 1807, when 
the American frigate, "Chesapeake," was 
attacked by the British frigate, "Leop- 
ard," because the commander, Commo- 
dore Barron, of the American ship, would 
not allow the British commander to search 
the "Chesapeake" for deserters, detach- 
ments from the militia companies were 



176 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



called at short notice; and, as in the Rev- 
olution, enrolled as minute-men. Ser- 
geant James Cloyes and seven men were 
detached from Captain Benjamin Wheel- 
er's company. Like all his forebears, he 
was also interested in the affairs of the 
town ; and served four years as a mem- 
ber of the board of selectmen, in 1772-73, 
and again in 1780-81. He married Me- 
hitable Gates, daughter of Oldham and 
Mehitable Trowbridge Gates, of Fram- 
ingham. They removed to Spencer, 
where she was born June 3, 1746, died 
November 2, 1822. She traced her an- 
cestry back to Stephen Gates, the immi- 
grant, who came to Hingham in 1638. 
Children of James and Mehitable (Gates) 
Cloyes: r. Ruth, born December 24, 
1767; married, December, 1790, died 
young. 2. James, born July 31, 1773, died 
September 18, 1777. 3-4. Ezra and Mica- 
jah, twins, born December 23, 1776; Ezra 
married Lydia Hill, of Buffalo, New York, 
died 1840; Micajah married, January 26, 
1800, Dolly Morse ; settled at Eaton, 
Madison county, New York, where he 
died, August, 1852. She died at Morris- 
ville, Madison county, New York, Sep- 
tember 3, 1863. 5. James, born July 30, 
1781. 6. Elijah, born December 15. 1783; 
married Asenath Morse, died February 
25, 1863. 7. Jonas, born April 14, 1788. 

(VI) Jonas Cloyes, son of James (3) 
and Mehitable (Gates) Cloyes, was born 
in Framingham, April 14, 1788, died Feb- 
ruary 26, 1856, and is buried in Edgell 
Grove cemetery. He was a granite work- 
er, and many of the old mill stones used 
in the water power mills were made by 
the Cloyes family. One of the natural as 
well as curious objects of the town was 
the old House Rock. It was composed of 
two granite slabs thirty feet in length, 
which in the subsidence after an up- 
heaval, met on the upper edge at an angle 
which formed a peaked roof, the edges 

N E-7-12 1 



resting on the ground. The walls were 
blackened with smoke, as it was probably 
often used as a temporary lodging place 
for strolling Indians. The slabs were 
flawless, and finally furnished the ma- 
terial for mill stones which were hewn 
into shape by Jonas Cloyes about 1822 or 
a little later. Mr. Cloyes was also a land 
surveyor ; and when the town in 1850 
granted the sum of $75 to pay for a new 
survey of the town and procuring a map 
of same, Colonel Jonas Cloyes and War- 
ren Nixon were employed to make the 
surveys. The map is said to be both 
accurate and complete. Mr. Cloyes was 
also interested in the uplift of the town, 
and realized the advantages to be derived 
from good and accessible literature. The 
first library of the town had its beginning 
about 1785. The book fund was the pro- 
ceeds of the sale of the last of the com- 
mon lands. But little is known of its his- 
tory. It was reorganized in 1815 under 
the name of the Social Library, by several 
of the leading citizens of the town ; 
among them was Jonas Cloyes. This 
library was in existence for several years, 
and might well be called the progenitor 
of the present beautiful public library of 
stone, which was built as a memorial to 
the soldiers who gave their lives in the 
Civil War. Efficiency seems to have been 
the slogan of the Cloyes family, and it 
was surely recognized by the Framing- 
ham citizens, as each generation served 
the term as one of its selectmen ; Jonas 
Cloyes served in that capacity from 1818 
to 1821. He was also, like his ancestors, 
ready and willing to serve his country. 
Was commissioned lieutenant-colonel of 
the Fourth Regiment, First Brigade, 
Third Division, Massachusetts Militia, 
June 29, 1816. The old brick house on 
the Worcester turnpike was built by him. 
He married, June 28, 1822, Susan Morse, 
who died April 18, 1870. She was the 



77 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



daughter of Asa and Susannah Eames 
Morse, and traced her ancestry back to 
Joseph Morse and his wife Dolly, who 
came from Ipswich, England, to America, 
and settled in Ipswich, Massachusetts, 
about 1636. Children of Jonas and Susan 
(Morse) Cloyes : 1. Addison D., born Oc- 
tober 8, 1823, died in Southboro, Massa- 
chusetts. 2. Frederick, born 1825, went 
to Grand Rapids, Michigan. 3. Franklin, 
born April 6, 1827, died February 6, 1854, 
in Framingham. 4. James G., born No- 
vember 30, 1829; went to Grand Rapids, 
Michigan. 5. Charles, born March 5, 
1831 ; went to Chicago, Illinois, and died 
in Washington, D. C. 6. George, born 
December 28, 1832; went to Albany, New 
York, and is now living in Somerville, 
Massachusetts. 7. Henry C, born Feb- 
ruary 21, 1834; died in Grand Rapids, 
Michigan. 8. Joseph C, born November 
12, 1835. 

(VII) Joseph C. Cloyes, son of Jonas 
and Susan (Morse) Cloyes, was born No- 
vember 12, 1835, in Framingham, Massa- 
chusetts. He died very suddenly, on Au- 
gust 7, 191 7, seated in his chair, on his 
porch. There was no premonition, and 
his devoted wife, on returning to his side 
after a moment's absence, found that he 
had passed away. 

His education was obtained in the 
public schools of the town. When he 
grew to manhood he became engaged 
in the same business that his father had 
followed, that of a granite worker. He 
opened up the granite quarries, which 
were operated by him for many years. 
Many hands were employed in preparing 
the stone for building purposes, street 
curbing and for various other uses. For 
several years he was engaged with David 
Fiske in the general mercantile business 
at Framingham Center, which was con- 
ducted under the name of Fiske & Cloyes, 
and later under the firm name of Cloyes 



& Bean. After Mr. Cloyes sold out his 
interests and gave his entire attention to 
his granite works. He continued in the 
business until failing eyesight compelled 
him to turn the business over to his fore- 
man. In 1900 he became totally blind, 
and for seventeen years had seen the 
world only through the eyes of a devoted 
wife, who always took good care that 
the lenses were rose colored. She 
brought so much sunshine into his life 
that from his appearance one would 
never notice his great affliction, as he 
simply radiated cheerfulness and content- 
ment. Mr. Cloyes was one of those cul- 
tured, courteous gentlemen of the old 
school, with the winning personality 
which makes and holds many friends. . 

Although of a quiet retiring nature and 
fond of the home life, he was always 
interested in town affairs, and served his 
native town in the same capacity as each 
of his ancestral line had served, since 
Peter Cloyes was elected as one of the 
selectmen at Framingham's first town 
meeting in 1700. His term of office was 
from 1874 to 1881. And, like all his fore- 
bears, he faithfully served his country. 
When Lincoln sent out his call for volun- 
teers in the great crisis of 1861, Joseph C. 
Cloyes enlisted for nine months' service. 
He was enrolled in Company F, Forty- 
fifth Regiment, Massachusetts Volunteer 
Infantry, under command of Captain Da- 
land and Colonel Charles R. Codman, and 
saw active service in several battles. Mr. 
Cloyes served the full term of enlistment. 
He was a member of General J. G. Foster 
Post, No. 163, Grand Army of the Re- 
public, of Framingham, in which he had 
held minor offices. He was also a member 
of Middlesex Lodge, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, and one of the old- 
est Masons in Middlesex county, having 
been a member of the fraternity for over 
sixty years. Middlesex Lodge is very 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



proud of its history. Its charter bears the 
signature of Paul Revere, who was grand 
master of the Grand Lodge of Massachu- 
setts at the time of its organization in 
1795 ; and had for its first worshipful mas- 
ter the gallant Captain Jonathan May- 
nard, of Revolutionary fame. Mr. Cloyes 
had always been intensely interested in 
the history of his town ; and a few years 
ago was made a life guest of Framing- 
ham Chapter, Daughters of the Ameri- 
can Revolution. Mr. Cloyes was the last 
of his line in the town of Framingham. 
He married, December 5, 1866, Belinda 
A. Nichols. They had no children. 

(The Nichols Line). 

Joseph Nichols's family was in Fram- 
ingham previous to 1730. He was a tav- 
ern keeper in 1752. He was active in 
military affairs, and served in the com- 
pany of militia under command of Cap- 
tain Henry Eames, April 26, 1757, in the 
last French and Indian war. His name 
again appears in 1758, in Captain Tap- 
lin's company, out from March 3 to De- 
cember 5. He married Martha How, 
daughter of Samuel and Abigail Mixter 
How, of Sudbury, and granddaughter of 
the Samuel How who gave the new grant 
of land to his son John, upon which he 
built the Red House Tavern, made famous 
by the poet Longfellow in his "Tales of 
the Wayside Inn." Children of Joseph 
and Martha (How) Nichols: John, born 
April 7, 1 73 1 ; Joseph, born October 8, 
1738; Alpheus, born November 5, 1742; 
Martha, born October 31, 1746, married 
Nathan Goddard ; Mitty, born 1752, died 
in Utica, New York. 

Joseph Nichols, son of Joseph and Mar- 
tha (How) Nichols, was born October 8, 
1738; went to Fitzwilliam, New Hamp- 
shire, about 1781, and probably died there. 
He was considered one of the prominent 
men of Framingham, serving on many of 



the special committees previous to the 
American Revolution. In 1771 he served 
the town as one of the wardens, and as 
selectman in 1778. He was also much 
interested in the betterment of the schools 
of Framingham. At the age of thirty- 
seven he was mentioned as the youngest 
of the political leaders, and was active in 
everything pertaining to the war of the 
Revolution. He was ready to serve his 
country when the first call came, and was 
one of the minute-men in Captain Simon 
Edgell's company, which marched on the 
alarm on the 19th of April, 1775. He was 
also one of the men who enlisted as ser- 
geant for eight months' service in Cap- 
tain Thomas Durry's company, Colonel 
John Nixon's regiment ; company return 
dated September 30, 1775. He must have 
continued in service, as there was an order 
for bounty coat or its equivalent in 
money, dated Camp Winterhill, Decem- 
ber 22, 1775. He married Sarah Hemen- 
way, daughter of Ralph and Sarah 
(Haven) Hemenway, and a direct de- 
scendant of Ralph Hemenway, the pio- 
neer. Children of Joseph and Sarah 
Nichols: Mary, born October 16, 1762, 
married, July, 1784, Nathan Newton; Jo- 
seph, born March 17, 1764; Benjamin 
Goddard, born August 18, 1765; How, 
born May 27, 1767; John, born July 17, 
1769; Mitty, born January 21, 1771 ; Dan- 
iel, born December 15, 1772; Sarah, born 
January 1, 1775; Laban Wheaton, born 
March 30, 1777; Nabby, baptized Octo- 
ber 17, 1779; Alph, born December 11, 
1780; Patty, born December 12, 1782. 

John Nichols, son of Sergeant Joseph 
and Sarah (Hemenway) Nichols, was 
born July 17, 1769. He was a farmer and 
settled in Southboro, Massachusetts, 
where he built a saw and grist mill. He 
spent the remainder of his life and died 
in Southboro. The mill property, which 
was formerly owned by his grandson, D. 



179 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Clinton Nichols, is now included in the 
Metropolitan water system of Boston. 
The marriage intentions of John Nichols 
and Hannah Nixon were published in 
Southboro, April n, 1790. Hannah 
Nixon, born September 21, 1772, was the 
daughter of Colonel Thomas and Bethiah 
(Stearns) Nixon. Colonel Thomas, 
brother of General John Nixon, died on 
a voyage from Boston to Portsmouth, 
August 12, 1800. Like his brother, he 
was imbued with the military spirit. He 
enlisted in Captain Nervel's company, 
and was at Crown Point, March, 1755, to 
January, 1756; lieutenant in same com- 
pany in General Amherst's campaign, 
1759. He was elected captain in the sec- 
ond company of minute-men of Framing- 
ham, 1774, resigned, and served as lieu- 
tenant in his brother's Sudbury company, 
April 19, 1775; lieutenant-colonel in 
brother's brigade. In 1780 was in com- 
mand of the Sixth Massachusetts Regi- 
ment. Obtained a furlough from Gen- 
eral Gates, December 20, 1780. He re- 
tained his commission until the close of 
the war, when he received an honorable 
discharge. Children of John and Han- 
nah (Nixon) Nichols: Betsey, born July 
30, 1791 ; Richard, born May 20, 1792; 
Laura, born January 15, 1794; Betsey 
(2nd), born October 4, 1795; Horace, 
born February 1, 1798; Oren, born May 
25, 1801 ; Hiram, born April 1, 1803; Har- 
riet, born November 9, 1804, Tryphena, 
born December 18, 1805; Sophia, born 
April 16, 1807, Otis, born December 29, 
1810. Hannah Nixon Nichols died in 
1810, and John married (second) Mrs. 
Polly Nichols, daughter of Jonathan Le- 
land, of Sherborn. 

Oren Nichols, son of John and Hannah 
Nixon Nichols, was born in Southboro, 
Massachusetts, May 25, 1801, and died 
there in 1876. He was by trade a cabinet 
maker, and while a young man went to 
Lowell, Massachusetts, where he followed 



his trade, and later engaged in business. 
After spending several years in Lowell, 
he returned to Southboro and continued 
the saw and grist mill business which 
was established by his father and known 
as the Nichols Mills ; he also managed the 
farm. Mr. Nichols was a well known and 
respected citizen, a man of temperate and 
quiet habits and very devoted to his home. 
He married Mary A. Woodbury, of Pel- 
ham, New Hampshire, daughter of John 
and Hannah (Gibson) Woodbury. She 
was a member of the Congregational 
church, and very devoted to both the 
home and church life. Children of Oren 
and Mary A. (Woodbury) Nichols were: 
Georgiana, who died young; George W., 
was a Civil War soldier, and died during 
the war ; D. Clinton, resides in South- 
boro ; Belinda A., born October 27, 1838. 
Belinda A. Nichols, born in Lowell, Mas- 
sachusetts, daughter of Oren and Mary A. 
(Woodbury) Nichols, married Joseph C. 
Cloyes, December 5, 1866. They cele- 
brated their silver wedding anniversary 
in 1891, and in 1916 they kept open house 
at their home on Salem End road, in com- 
memoration of the golden anniversary of 
their marriage. Mrs. Cloyes is a woman 
of culture and refinement ; and since her 
husband was stricken with blindness, 
was his constant and devoted com- 
panion, and has endeared herself to all by 
her noble Christian qualities. Previous 
to her husband's misfortune she was a 
member of the Framingham Woman's 
Club, and Orient Chapter, O. E. S., of 
which Mr. Cloyes was also formerly a 
member. She is a charter member of 
Framingham Chapter, Daughters of the 
American Revolution, being eligible to 
membership in the organization through 
the military record of her great-grand- 
father, Joseph Nichols, and obtaining 
membership through the service of the 
brave and efficient officer, Colonel 
Thomas Nixon. 



180 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OE BIOGRAPHY 



ANTHONY, Harold H., 

Business Man. 

Conspicuous in public affairs in the 
colonial period, the Anthonys have since 
sustained the family name and reputation 
in the annals of American history. They, 
too, have given to science and other fields 
in educational lines men of distinction, 
and as well to the business life of the 
country some of its leading and most suc- 
cessful business spirits. 

(I) William Anthony, the first known 
of the family, was born in Cologne, Ger- 
many, in 1495. He came to London, Eng- 
land, as chief engraver of the mint and 
seals to King Edward VI., and also served 
in that same capacity to Queen Mary and 
Queen Elizabeth. He was the father of 
three sons, namely : Thomas, Derick and 
Francis. 

(II) Francis Anthony, youngest son of 
William Anthony, married Judith Roby, 
daughter of William Roby, of London. He, 
like his father, was an eminent goldsmith 
in the city of London, and had employ- 
ment of considerable value in the jewel 
office under Queen Elizabeth. He was 
the father of one son, Francis, mentioned 
below. 

(III) Dr. Francis (2) Anthony, son of 
Francis (1) and Judith (Roby) Anthony, 
was born in London, April 16, 1551 . The 
"Biographa Britannica" says he was a very 
learned physician and chemist. Having 
been thoroughly trained in the first rudi- 
ments of learning at home, he was about 
the year 1569 sent to the University at 
Cambridge, where he studied with great 
diligence and success, and some time in 
the year 1574 took the degree of Master 
of Arts. It appears from his own writ- 
ings that he applied himself for the many 
years that he studied in the university, 
to the theory and practice of chemistry. 
He left Cambridge at the age of forty 



years, and began soon after to publish to 
the world the effects of his chemical stud- 
ies, and in the year 1598 sent abroad his 
first treatise concerning the excellency of 
a medicine drawn from gold. He com- 
menced medical practice in London with- 
out a license from the College of Physi- 
cians, and after six months was called be- 
fore the president and censors of the col- 
lege, A. D. 1600. He was interdicted 
from practice and for disregarding this in- 
junction was fined five pounds and com- 
mitted to prison, whence he was released 
by a warrant of the Lord Chief Justice. 
He continued to practice in defiance of 
tfle college, and performed numerous 
cures on distinguished persons, and fur- 
ther proceedings were threatened, but not 
carried out, probably because he had 
powerful friends at court. His practice 
consisted chiefly, if not entirely, in the 
prescription and sale of a secret remedy 
called Auntm Potabile, or potable gold. 
He was obnoxious to the college not only 
because he practiced without a license, 
but because he kept the composition of 
his remedy a secret, and put it forward 
as a panacea for all diseases. The career 
of Dr. Anthony and his conflict with the 
College of Physicians illustrates the con- 
dition of the medical profession in the 
seventeenth century. From the sale of 
his remedy he derived a considerable for- 
tune. Dr. Anthony was a man of high 
character and very liberal to the poor. 
He died in his seventy-fourth year, and 
was buried in the Church of St. Bartholo- 
mew the Great, where a handsome monu- 
ment is erected to his memory. Dr. An- 
thony was twice married ; by his first 
wife, Susan Howe, were born three chil- 
dren, two sons and one daughter, namely : 
John, Charles and Frances. John and 
Charles became physicians, and Frances 
married Abraham Vicars, of St. Olave, 
Old Jewry, London, in 1608. Dr. An- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



thony married (second) September 23, 
1609, Elizabeth Lante, of Trinity, Me- 
naries, London, widow of Thomas Lante. 

(IV) John Anthony, son of Dr. Francis 
(2) and Susan (Howe) Anthony, was 
born in 1585, and died in 1655. He was 
graduated at Pembroke College, M. B., 
in 1613; M. D., in 1619; was admitted 
licentiate of the College of Physicians of 
London in 1625 ; served in the civil war 
on the Parliamentary side as surgeon to 
Colonel Sandays ; was author of a devo- 
tional work, "The Comfort of the Soul," 
laid down by way of meditation, in 1654. 

(V) John (2) Anthony (or Anthonie, 
as he wrote it), son of Dr. John (1) An- 
thony, and the first American ancestor, 
was born in 1607. He was a resident of 
the village of Hampstead, near London, 
England, and came to New England in 
the barque "Hercules," April 16, 1634. 
He is of record in 1640 at Portsmouth, 
Rhode Island, and was made a freeman 
there the 14th of the 7th month, 1640. 
He became a corporal in a military com- 
pany, and had land assigned to him at 
the "Wadding River" in 1644. He had 
authority granted him May 25, 1655, to 
keep a house of entertainment in Ports- 
mouth. He was commissioner in 1661, 
and deputy from 1666 to 1672. He mar- 
ried Susanna Potter, and' both he and his 
wife died in 1675. Their children were: 
John, born in 1642; Susanna, born in 
1644; Elizabeth, born in 1646; Joseph, 
born in 1648; and Abraham, born in 1650. 

(VI) Abraham Anthony, son of John 
(2) and Susanna (Potter) Anthony, was 
born in 1650, in Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island, and married, December 26, 1671, 
Alice Wodell, daughter of William and 
Mary Wodell, of Portsmouth. He was 
made a freeman in 1672. He was deputy 
much of the time from 1703 to 171 1, and 
in 1709-10 was speaker of the House of 
Deputies. He died October 10, 1727, and 



his widow passed away in 1734. Their 
children were: John, born in 1672; Sus- 
anna and Mary, twins, born in 1674; Wil- 
liam, born in 1675; Susanna (2), born in 
1677; Mary (2), born in 1680; Abraham, 
born in 1682 ; Thomas, born in 1684; Alice 
and James, twins, born in 1686; Amy, 
born in 1688; Isaac, born in 1690; and 
Jacob, born in 1693. 

(VII) William (2) Anthony, son of 
Abraham and Alice (Wodell) Anthony, 
was born October 31, 1675, and married, 
March 14, 1694, Mary Coggeshall, who 
was born September 18, 1675, daughter 
of John and Elizabeth (Timberlake) 
Coggeshall, granddaughter of Major John 
Coggeshall, and great-granddaughter of 
John Coggeshall, who was the first pres- 
ident of the Colony of Rhode Island. Wil- 
liam Anthony was of Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island, and of Swansea, Massachusetts. 
He died December 28, 1744, his wife pass- 
ing away in 1739. Their children were: 
William, born in 1695, died in infancy; 
Abraham, born 1696; Elizabeth, born in 
1698; Mary, born in 1699, died in infancy ; 
John, born in 1700, died in infancy; Alice, 
born in 1705; Anne, born in 1707; John 
and Amey, twins, born in 1708; William, 
born in 1709; James, born in 1712; Job, 
born in 1714; Benjamin, born in 1716; 
and Daniel, born in 1720. 

(VIII) John (3) Anthony, son of Wil- 
liam and Mary (Coggeshall) Anthony, 
was born November 16, 1708, and mar- 
ried, December 16, 1733, Lydia Luther, 
who was born September 19, 1714, daugh- 
ter of Hezekiah and Martha Luther, of 
Swansea. Their children were : William, 
born in 1734; Job, born in 1736; Avis, 
born in 1739; Edward, born in 1741 ; 
Israel, born in 1743; Sarah, born in 1747; 
Elizabeth, born in 1748; Lydia, born in 
1750; John, born in 1752; Gardner, born 
in 1754; and Jonathan, born in 1757. 

(IX) John (4) Anthonv. son of John 



182 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(3) and Lydia (Luther) Anthony, was 
born July 1, 1752, and died July 11, 1793. 
He married Sarah Baker, who was born 
September 18, 1748, and their children 
were: Lydia, born September 19, 1772; 
Israel, born February 20, 1775, who died 
in infancy ; Israel (2), born April 28, 1777 ; 
Elizabeth, born November 13, 1779, who 
died in infancy ; Edward, born February 
26, 1781 ; Moses, born April 12, 1782; 
Sarah, born May 3, 1784; and Elizabeth 
(2), born January 28, 1796. 

(X) Edward Anthony, son of John (4) 
and Sarah (Baker) Anthony, was born 
February 26, 1781, and died December 5, 
1869. He married Persis Butterworth, 
who was born September 3, 1786, and 
died May 9, 1857. Their children were: 
John, born October 23, 1807, mentioned 
below ; and Moses, born December 22, 
1809, who married Elizabeth Welsh, and 
they had three children. 

(XI) Rev. John (5) Anthony, son of 
Edward and Persis (Butterworth) An- 
thony, was born October 23, 1807. He 
was a minister of the Gospel. He mar- 
ried, October 18, 1829, Maria Bloomfield 
Davis, who was born August 24, 1805, 
daughter of David and Sarah (Simmons) 
Davis, of Somerset, Massachusetts. To 
Rev. John and Maria B. (Davis) Anthony 
were born the following children : John 
Nelson, born October 18, 1831, died Sep- 
tember 28, 1832; John Nelson (2), born 
October 11, 1832, died August 9, 1861 ; 
Edward Francis, born December 30, 
1835, married Mary B. Kimball ; David 
Mason, born September 24, 1835, men- 
tioned below ; Charles Wesley, born No- 
vember 10, 1838, died March 3, 1898; 
George Moses, born July 21, 1839; Mary 
Elizabeth, born May 7, 1840, died Au- 
gust 31, 1841 ; and Enoch Bower, born 
March 24, 1843, died January 25, 1899. 

(XII) David Mason Anthony, son of 
Rev. John (5) and Maria B. (Davis) An- 



thony, was born September 24, 1835, on 
Pearl street, Fall River, Massachusetts, 
and at the age of four years, with his par- 
ents, removed to Somerset, Massachu- 
setts, which was his mother's native town. 
Under the private tutelage of his father 
and in the district schools he acquired his 
early educational training, which was 
rather meagre with the majority of the 
boys of that day. At the age of eight 
years he returned to Fall River, and 
worked in the Robeson Print Works as 
tier boy, working from five o'clock in the 
morning until seven-thirty at night, for 
which services he received five dollars 
per month. After working there for two 
years he returned to Somerset, where he 
spent about one year, again returning to 
Fall River, in which city he resided on 
Hartwell street until twelve years of age, 
when he removed to No. 368 North Main 
street, which location was thereafter his 
home, and where all his children were 
born, and upon which land he later built 
his handsome brick residence, in which he 
passed away November 6, 191 5. 

At the age of fourteen years he went 
to work for a Mr. Sweet on a milk farm, 
working thirteen hours per day, at the 
remunerative salary of seven dollars per 
month. During the two years spent on 
this farm he acquired a practical training 
in agricultural pursuits, and at the age of 
sixteen years he conducted his grand- 
father's farm on shares for one season. 
He then became apprenticed to the ma- 
son's trade, at which he served four years. 
In 1856 he shipped "before the mast" on 
a voyage to Cuba, the vessel going from 
there to Mobile and from there to New 
York, where he disembarked. This ended 
his seagoing career. In 1857 he bought 
out a meat market in City Hall, Fall 
River, which was his beginning in that 
line of business, in which he ever after 
continued and in which he met with such 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



marked success. In 1869 he formed a 
partnership with his brother, Charles W. 
Anthony, and Gustavus F. Swift, which 
was incorporated as Swift & Company in 
April, 1889, an d which has developed into 
the highly successful and world-renowned 
meat packing and provision corporation 
of to-day. In 1871, Mr. Anthony erected 
a large and commodious packing house 
on Davol street, Fall River, where he suc- 
cessfully conducted business for many 
years under the firm name of D. M. An- 
thony, this firm being widely known 
throughout Southern Massachusetts and 
Rhode Island. Mr. Anthony was of ma- 
terial assistance to the Swifts in the early 
days of their business, which has since 
grown to such wonderful proportions, and 
at the time of his death and for many 
years prior was a director of Swift & 
Company, the Chicago corporation, be- 
sides holding the same office in several of 
the less prominent of the Swift concerns. 
He was also widely known in Boston 
financial circles, as a result of his exten- 
sive business connections, and was for a 
number of years a director of the Federal 
Trust Company of that city. Fie was also 
at various times connected with other 
financial and business interests, in connec- 
tion with which his advice and counsel 
proved valuable. 

On June 3, 1863, Mr. Anthony was 
united in marriage to Ruth Ann Horton, 
who was born May 15, 1839, daughter of 
Mason and Sarah Ann (Baker) Horton, 
and to this union were born three chil- 
dren, namely : 1. Ella Martin, born Janu- 
ary 19, 1867 ; married, October 25, 1890, 
Frank Horton. 2. David Mason, Jr., born 
June 6, 1869. 3. Harold Horton, born No- 
vember 28, 1876. The mother of these 
children passed away April 18, 1879, an d 
Mr. Anthony married (second) in Janu- 
ary, 1882, Abbie Carll Webb, of Maine, 
who passed away May 30, 1898. 

Mr. Anthony was absolutely simple, 



modest, courteous, and without pretense. 
He was content to do his share in accom- 
plishing results, and leave to others what- 
ever of fame or glory might result from 
having accomplished them. ''To be, and 
not be seen, was this man's wisdom." He 
was a man of great energy, splendid ex- 
ecutive ability, indomitable perseverance, 
great business foresight, and had the rare 
faculty of "bringing things to pass" on a 
large scale and in accordance with well- 
thought-out plans. A man little given to 
display, he went along in the even tenor 
of his way unassumingly, quietly, but 
showing the force of his character in 
everything to which he gave his atten- 
tion. Through his keen foresight and 
business sagacity he accumulated a for- 
tune. He was a man of fixed ideas, con- 
servative, indepedent in action, doing 
what he thought was right and not afraid 
to speak his mind when he considered it 
necessary. In political sentiment he was 
a Republican, but took no active part in 
party affairs. Throughout his life, from 
early boyhood, Mr. Anthony was fond of 
out-door pursuits, living as much as pos- 
sible in the open. He took great pleasure 
in his farm at South Swansea, which he 
kept well stocked and in a high state of 
cultivation, and where he devoted much 
of his time, especially during his latter 
years, and on the day when his last ill- 
ness first required him to take to bed, he 
had been all day at the farm and about 
the beach, in very good spirits and appar- 
ent good health. He had been failing for 
several months, however, before his death, 
which occurred November 6, 1915, at the 
advanced age of eighty years. In his 
death Fall River sustained the loss of one 
of its most prominent as well as one of 
its most successful business men and use- 
ful citizens. 

(XIII) Harold Horton Anthony, young- 
est son of David Mason and Ruth Ann 
(Horton) Anthony, was born in Fall 



184 




s^^Z^^cL ^^c^Lc^r^Z^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



River, Massachusetts, November 28, 1876. 
His educational training was acquired in 
the schools of his native city, graduating 
from the B. M. C. Durfee High School of 
Fall River in 1895. After leaving school 
he immediately became connected with 
his father in the meat and provision busi- 
ness, with which business he has since 
been prominently identified, and since his 
father's death has acted as trustee of the 
latter's estate. 

On January 5, 1898, Mr. Anthony was 
united in marriage to Caroline Goodwin 
Cook, daughter of Edward C. and Susan 
(Goodwin) Cook, of Unionville, Connec- 
ticut, and they are the parents of one 
daughter, Ruth Goodwin Anthony, who 
was born May 17, 1902. 



BUFFINTON. Waldo A. and Frank, 

Men of High. Character. 

The Buffinton family is one of the lead- 
ing families of Fall River, Somerset, and 
the old town of Swansea, Massachusetts. 
For generations they were faithful mem- 
bers of the Society of Friends, and in the 
early days suffered the persecutions in- 
flicted upon all Quakers. Bovington and 
Buffington are variations in the spelling. 

(I) Thomas Buffinton, the American 
immigrant, is said to have come from 
Scotland. Soon after 1650 he was located 
at Salem, Massachusetts, where he mar- 
ried, December 30, 167 1, Sarah South- 
wick, a daughter of John and Sarah 
Southwick, and granddaughter of the pio- 
neer ancestors, Lawrence and Cassandra 
Southwick, who became Quakers and 
were fined, whipped and imprisoned for 
adhering to their religious faith, despoiled 
of their property, and finally banished. 
Thomas Buffinton was also a Friend, but 
seems to have escaped trouble with the 
Puritan authorities. The commoners rec- 
ords indicate that he was living as late as 
1723. Children: Thomas, born March 1, 



1673; James; Benjamin, mentioned be- 
low ; Joseph, of Swansea ; Abigail, July 
25, 1695; Hannah, May 11, 1701 ; and 
perhaps others. 

(II) Benjamin, son of Thomas Buffin- 
ton, was born at Salem, July 24, 1675. He 
and his wife Hannah were Quakers, and 
like many others in Salem felt constrained 
to depart. In 1698 he went South as a 
Quaker missionary. They located in 
Swansea about 1700. About fifty Quaker 
families went from Salem to this section 
and bought homesteads, paying the In- 
dians as well as the proprietors. De- 
scendants still have the deed showing the 
purchase of three hundred acres from one 
Marcy. His homestead has remained in 
the possession of the family to the present 
time. The records of the branch that has 
remained on the original homestead have 
been kept by the family, and from this 
record were obtained the dates in the 
early generations of the family as herein 
given. Children: Benjamin, born at 
Salem, May 9, 1699, died young; Benja- 
min, mentioned below ; William, born at 
Swansea, October 9, 1703; Esther, mar- 
ried Stephen Chase ; Hannah, married 
Silas Chase ; Jonathan, married Sarah 
Luther. 

(III) Benjamin (2), son of Benjamin 
(1) Buffinton, was born at Swansea, April 
9, 1701, and died April 9, 1760, and was 
buried in the Friends' graveyard at Swan- 
sea. He married Isabel, daughter of Jo- 
seph and Sarah Chase, who died April 6, 
1791, at Swansea. She was born July 6, 
1705, at Swansea. He was a member of 
the Swansea monthly meeting to the end 
of his life. Children born at Swansea : 
Benjamin, born November 7, 1737 ; Moses, 
mentioned below; Stephen, February 25, 
1743; Elizabeth, August 21, 1746; Han- 
nah, July 30, 1749. 

(IV) Moses, son of Benjamin (2) Buf- 
finton, was born at Swansea, May 8, 1741. 
He married (first) Isabel Baker, born July 



t*5 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



4, 1741, daughter of Daniel and Sarah 
(Chace) Baker; (second) Patience Chace. 
He also lived in Swansea. He died April 
7, 1817; his first wife, Isabel, died May 
4, 1781, and both are buried in the Friends' 
burying ground at Swansea. Excepting 
Daniel and Aaron, all his children were 
born in Swansea. Children by first wife : 
Benjamin, born November 1, 1762; Sarah, 
September 25, 1764; Rebecca, August 24, 
1768; Ama, July 25, 1770; Daniel, men- 
tioned below; Moses, married Sarah 
Chase; Aaron, July 21, 1776, died No- 
vember 15, 1777; Bethany, July 28, 1778, 
died August 31, 1779; Aaron, April 24, 
1780. Children by second wife: Eber. 
born December 6, 1783 ; Mary, September 
21, 1786; Elizabeth, June 8, 1788, married 
Nathan Chase. 

(V) Daniel, son of Moses Buffinton, 
was born at Dighton, January 7, 1773. He 
died January 17, 1844. He followed farm- 
ing in Somerset until 1803, when he re- 
moved to Fall River, locating on a place 
owned by Samuel Rodman, of New Bed- 
ford, comprising four hundred and fifty 
acres, extending from the Taunton river 
to the North Pond. He was a member of 
the Society of Friends. He married (first) 
Rebecca Earle, daughter of Caleb Earle, 
of Somerset, and (second) Ruth Hart. 
Children by first wife: 1. Daniel, married 
(first) Hannah Buffinton, (second) Eliza 
Gray. 2. Caleb, never married. 3. Oliver, 
mentioned below. Children by his second 
wife : 4. Benjamin, married Eliza Carr. 

5. Edward, married Sarah Ann Hathaway, 
of Northbridge, Massachusetts. 6. Ruth, 
married (first) Edward Holder, of Bol- 
ton, Massachusetts, and (second) James 
Brownell, having one daughter by her 
second husband, Mary Ella Brownell, 
who married James C. O. Davol, and had 
two children : Edward and Bradford Da- 
vol. 7. Henry Slade, married Amanda 
Palmer. 



(VI) Oliver, son of Daniel Buffinton, 
was born at Fall River, August 19, 1805, 
and was educated there in the public 
schools. He was the first birthright 
member of the Society of Friends, born 
in Fall River. During his youth he work- 
ed with his father on the farm. He be- 
came associated with Israel Buffington in 
the manufacture of cotton in Fall River, 
and was afterward on his own account a 
manufacturer of cotton yarn, cotton bat- 
ting and other specialties. From 1857 to 
1868, a period of eleven years, he was 
superintendent of the Oak Grove Ceme- 
tery in Fall River. Afterward he retired 
and spent his last years in his home on 
Hanover street, cultivating his garden and 
living to a good old age. He died there, 
January 20, 1885, in the eightieth year of 
his age. 

He married Elizabeth Mason Reynolds, 
who was born at Wickford, Rhode Island, 
April 23, 1805, died April 29, 1892, daugh- 
ter of Abel and Elizabeth (Mason) Reyn- 
olds. Children: 1. Mary Elizabeth, born 
April 4, 1830, mentioned below. 2. Wil- 
liam Henry, born February 14, 1832, died 
January 24, 1857 ; a farmer ; unmarried. 
3. Waldo Ames, mentioned below. 4. 
Lydia Ann, born February 24, 1840, died 
October 7, 1841. 5. Frank, mentioned be- 
low. 

(VII) Waldo Ames, son of Oliver Buf- 
finton, was born at Fall River, March 20, 
1838. He was educated in the public 
schools of his native town, and early in 
life entered the employ of the New York, 
New Haven & Hartford Railroad Com- 
pany, formerly the Old Colony, at Fall 
River, as clerk, and rose to positions of 
large responsibility and trust in the serv- 
ice of this corporation. For many years 
he had charge of the transportation of 
freight in Fall River by rail and steam- 
boat. In politics he was a sterling Repub- 
lican. He was a highly useful, upright 



186 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and honorable man. He died March 14, 
1916. He married, in 1868, Mary Eliza- 
beth Almy. Children, born in Fall River: 
I. William Henry, born April 29, 1869; 
married Sarah Sabrina Holway, of Chat- 
ham, Massachusetts. 2. Gertrude, died 
aged two years. 3. Annie Elizabeth, born 
June 28, 1879; married Fergus Ferguson, 
and has a son, William Buffinton Fer- 
guson. 

(VII) Frank Buffinton, brother of 
Waldo Ames Buffinton, was born in Fall 
River, July 8, 1846, and died in Fall River, 
March 18, 19 16. From i860 until his 
death he had been engaged in business 
as a florist in Fall River in partnership 
with his sister, Mary E. Buffinton, and 
their lives had much in common. To- 
gether they attended the public schools 
in youth, and established the business, 
which at length became the oldest estab- 
lishment in the city in this line, and one 
of the most extensive. This business re- 
quires a thorough knowledge of flowers, 
of the market and the public taste, a high 
degree of artistic instinct and great re- 
sourcefulness. The firm maintained the 
highest standards of honor in all their 
transactions ; their goods were always 
perfect and they attracted and held the 
best trade of this section. Mr. Buffinton 
was a Republican in politics, but not a 
seeker of office. In religion he was a 
member of the Church of the New Jeru- 
salem. 

Perhaps no better comment can be 
made, in concluding this account of the 
family, than the following editorial from 
the "Fall River News" of March 20, 1916: 

Seldom has an occurrence of local events so 
startled this community as that of the deaths 
of the brothers Waldo and Frank Buffington 
within four days of one another, and with scarce- 
ly the slightest forewarning in either case, indeed, 
none at all in the first. 

Both were taken from the midst of their active 



participation in life's duties. Since they ceased 
to be members of their father's family, they had 
lived along side of one another on the same parcel 
of ground, which was their ancestral inheritance. 
Few men were better known than they in the com- 
munity or more implicitly trusted or more highly 
respected. Their lives of activity were different, 
but both were brought into contact with many 
men by their business interests and responsibili- 
ties. Both were men of unbending integrity, of 
large intelligence, of wide sympathy with that 
which was good. Both were loyal to the churches 
of their parents, which was their church, that of 
the New Jerusalem, and both of them have been, 
almost together, translated to the City of Peace. 

They were members of one of the oldest of the 
Fall River families. When their father, Oliver 
Buffington, was born, there were very few houses 
on the whole tract north of the Quequechan river. 
When he located his home on Hanover street, 
there were almost no residences in all that sec- 
tion east of Rock street, even if on that street. 
All the immediate district in which they lived was 
a part of the Buffington homestead. 

The life work of the elder brother, to whom the 
call home came first, was that of handling the 
railroad freight entering and leaving Fall River. 
In this business he was both skillful and faithful 
in a high degree. 

The work of the younger, as everybody knows, 
was with flowers, his knowledge of which was 
extraordinary and his love of which was a passion 
of his life. Through them he has ministered to 
most of our oldest families, as well as to many 
of the more recent comers. In this way he came 
into close touch and into most friendly relations 
with a multitude of people. The story of the 
sudden ending of the life of the beloved florist 
and the expert decorator of churches, halls and 
homes, is told in another column. 

Either event would have touched the commu- 
nity widely. The concurrence of both within four 
days, and circumstances in some respects so simi- 
lar, is most unusual and startling. A great vol- 
ume of Fall River history was carried in the 
minds of these men and of their now doubly be- 
reaved sister, Miss Mary Elizabeth Buffington. 
Their sudden departure is a loss that can never 
be made up. 

To Miss Buffington, the sister, older than either, 
and to the other members of the family group, so 
suddenly stricken, the sympathy of their friends 
and neighbors, goes out, expressed or unexpressed, 
it is deeply felt. 



187 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ROUNSEVILLE, Cyrus C, 

Manufacturer, Financier. 

The Rounsville or Rounseville family is 
said to have been of French-Huguenot 
stock, driven by religious persecution to 
England, but the family was well estab- 
lished in England at the time the first im- 
migrant came to America. 

( 1 ) Philip Rounseville, the first of the 
family in this country, son of William, 
was born in Honiton, Devonshire, Eng- 
land, about 1680. He was a cloth dresser 
or fuller by trade, and came to New Eng- 
land when a young man, settling in Free- 
town, near Assonet village, following his 
trade there in the employ of Captain Jo- 
siah Winslow. From a letter that has 
been preserved, dated December 25, 1704, 
from his father to him, we have the ap- 
proximate date of his arrival in this coun- 
try. He afterward moved to the site of 
the Malachi Howland house, built a dam, 
and engaged in business in a mill of his 
own. About 1 72 1 he moved to another 
location near Hunting House Brook, in 
Middleborough, and afterward to that 
part of Tiverton which was later East 
Freetown. He there purchased a large 
tract of land and built the mill dam at 
Freetown village, where his sons after- 
ward erected a blast furnace, a saw mill, 
grist mill, and finally a sash, door and 
blind factory. He married, about 1705, 
Mary Howland, daughter of Samuel and 
Mary Howland, and granddaughter of 
Henry Flowland, who came to Plymouth 
as early as 1624, a brother of Arthur 
Howland and of John Howland, who 
came in the "Mayflower." Henry How- 
land and wife, Mary (Newland), came 
from England and settled in Plymouth, 
about 1624. He later went to Duxbury, 
where he died July 17, 1671, his wife, 
Mary, dying June 17, 1674. He joined the 
Society of Friends about 1657, and was 



not a little persecuted on this account. 
Perhaps none of the colonists have a 
better record for intelligence, thrift, up- 
rightness and faith in the Divine One 
than he. In 1652, with others, he pur- 
chased a large tract of land in Dartmouth, 
and in 1659 he was one of the twenty- 
seven purchasers of what is now Free- 
town, and in the division of 1660 received 
for his share the sixth lot, which was 
afterward inherited by his son, Samuel 
Howland, father of the wife of Philip 
Rounseville. Mr. Rounseville died No- 
vember 6, 1763; his wife, Mary, died May 
8, 1744. Their children were: William, 
born October 10, 1705, married Elizabeth 
Macomber, of Taunton ; John, born in 
1706, married (first) Sarah Holloway, and 
(second) Sarah Spooner ; Philip, men- 
tioned below ; and Mary, born March 3, 
171 1, married Henry Hoskins, Jr., of 
Taunton. 

(II) Philip (2) Rounseville, son of 
Philip (1) and Mary (Howland) Rounse- 
ville, was born about 1708. He married 
Hannah Jenney, and they resided in Free- 
town, where the following children were 
born to them : Hannah, born May 2, 1749; 
and Philip, mentioned below. 

(III) Philip (3) Rounseville, son of 
Philip (2) and Hannah (Jenney) Rounse- 
ville, was born July 2, 1750, in Freetown. 
He was a soldier in the Revolution from 
Freetown, in 1780, being a member of 
Captain Joseph Norton's company, Colonel 
John Hathaway's regiment, in the Rhode 
Island campaign. (See "Massachusetts 
Soldiers and Sailors in the Revolution," 
p. 611, vol. xiii.) He married, in 1775, 
Mercy Cole, daughter of Abial and Anna 
(Pierce) Cole; granddaughter of Eben- 
ezer Pierce and wife, Mary (Hoskins) ; 
great-granddaughter of Isaac Pierce, Jr., 
and wife, Judith (Booth) ; great-great- 
granddaughter of Isaac Pierce, who was 
a soldier in the Narragansett War, and 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



received a grant of land for his services, 
and died in Lakeville, Massachusetts, in 
1732; and great-great-great-granddaugh- 
ter of Abraham Pierce, who is of record 
at Plymouth in 1623. and who served as 
a soldier under Captain Miles Standish. 
To Philip and Mercy (Cole) Rounseville 
were born the following children : Gama- 
liel, born October 12, 1776; Philip, born 
February 7, 1779, who never married ; 
Abial, born September 6, 1780; Hannah, 
born April 12, 1783, who married Brad- 
ford Rounseville ; Ebenezer, born Sep- 
tember 21, 1785, who married Sally 
Rounseville ; Lydia, born December 3, 
1787, who never married; Phebe ; Benja- 
min, born November 28, 1789, who mar- 
ried Ann Gifford; Joseph, born March 
25, 1792, who married Delia Lawrence ; 
Phylena, born August 12, 1794, who mar- 
ried Jonathan Washburn, of Dartmouth ; 
Alden, born October 26, 1797, who mar- 
ried Cornelia Ashley, of Freetown ; and 
Robert G., who married, in 1827, Mrs. 
Delia, widow of Joseph Rounseville. 

(IV) Abial Rounseville, son of Philip 
(3) and Mercy (Cole) Rounseville, was 
born September 6, 1780, at Freetown. He 
was a farmer by occupation in his native 
town. He married, July 20, 1803, Betsey 
Ashley, of Freetown, where the following 
children were born to them : Amos ; Cla- 
rinda, who married Pardon Gifford, and 
died in Mattapoisett ; Macomber, died in 
1854; Mercy, who married Stephen Nye, 
of Fall River; Abial, who went West 
when a young man, and all trace of him 
has been lost; Sophronia, who married 
Hosea Presho, of Raynham ; Betsey, who 
married Elbridge Werden, and died in 
Providence ; Cyrus Cole, mentioned be- 
low ; and Ebenezer, a sea faring man, en- 
gaged in the whaling industry, who died 
in the Sandwich Islands. 

(V) Cyrus Cole Rounseville, son of 
Abial and Betsey (Ashley) Rounseville, 



was born in Freetown, March 6, 1820. 
Early in life he went to sea from New 
Bedford on a whaling vessel, and con- 
tinued in the whaling industry until his 
death. In the course of time he rose 
to the rank of first officer of his ves- 
sel, and on his last voyage was taken 
ill and placed in a hospital on the 
Island of Mauritius, in the Indian ocean, 
and died there October 18, 1853, in 
the thirty-fourth years of his age, where 
his remains are buried. He married, Sep- 
tember 1, 1844, Irene P. Ashley, who was 
born at Lakeville, Massachusetts, March 
18, 1828, daughter of James Emerson and 
Orinda (Haffards) Ashley. Her father 
was a farmer in Freetown, born January 
31, 1806, and died August 4, 1883; her 
mother was born July 14, 1802, and died 
October 22, 1868. After the death of her 
husband, Mrs. Rounseville continued to 
reside for a few years in Acushnet, then 
removed to East Freetown, where her 
parents were living. Subsequently she 
married (second) Aaron S. Drake, of 
Stoughton, Massachusetts, by whom she 
had one daughter, Carrie W., who became 
the wife of Josiah Brown, of Fall River. 
Mrs. Rounseville spent her last years in 
the family of her son, the only child by 
her first marriage, Cyrus Cole Rounse- 
ville, Jr., mentioned below, at whose home 
in Fall River she passed away April 24, 
1909, at the age of eighty-one years. 

(VI) Cyrus Cole Rounseville, only child 
of Cyrus Cole and Irene P. (Ashley) 
Rounseville, was born at Acushnet, Mas- 
sachusetts, December 8, 1852, and upon 
the death of his father, when he was but 
a mere child, he was taken by his widowed 
mother to live at East Freetown. His 
early educational training was obtained 
in the district schools, and when older he 
attended Bryant & Stratton's Commercial 
School at Boston, from which he was 
graduated. He started his business ca- 



189 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



reer when seventeen years of age, in Fall 
River, as clerk in the freight office of the 
Narragansett Steamship Company, then 
owned by James Fisk, of New York, and 
during the two years he was with this 
company acquired valuable training and 
experience. In January, 1872, he accepted 
a position as clerk in the office of the 
Granite Mills, and during the twelve 
years in this office he earned the respect 
and confidence of his employers, and was 
from time to time promoted and given 
additional responsibilities, finally being 
lecommended by them to the important 
and responsible position of treasurer of 
the Shove Mills, to succeed George Albert 
Chace, assuming that office August 10, 
1884, having been treasurer and business 
manager since that time, as well as being 
a director of the corporation. In the ad- 
ministration of the financial affairs of this 
corporation, which he has served for more 
than thirty years, Mr. Rounseville has dis- 
played the highest order of ability, and to 
his energy, industry and thoroughness 
must be ascribed in large measure the 
growth, prosperity and importance of the 
Shove Mills. Now one of the oldest treas- 
urers in the textile industry of the city 
and State, in point of service, Mr. Rounse- 
ville has good reason to take pride and 
satisfaction in his long and successful ca- 
reer. He is widely known, not only 
among his business associates in Fall 
River and elsewhere in textile circles, but 
among all classes of people in the city, 
and, wherever he is known, he is honored 
and respected for his high personal char- 
acter. 

Mr. Rounseville has not only been an 
important factor in the development and 
management of the Shove Mills, but has 
been interested in other Fall River enter- 
prises, being vice-president of the Union 
Savings Bank, and has taken an important 
part in the management of that highly 
successful financial institution ; he is also 



vice-president since 1887 of the Troy Co- 
operative Bank, which was organized in 
1880, and of which he was one of the in- 
corporators and the first secretary, serv- 
ing in that capacity from 1880 until his 
his promotion to the vice-presidency in 
1887. For a period of fifteen years he 
served as secretary of the Cotton Manu- 
facturers' Association, from 1885 to 1900, 
and was also a member of the executive 
committee of that organization. He was 
also an active member of the selling com- 
mittee of that association, which was 
formed in 1898 for the purpose of selling 
the product manufactured by the various 
mills of Fall River, and was one of its 
first trustees. 

In political faith, Mr. Rounseville has 
always been a stalwart adherent of the 
principles of the Republican party, and at 
times has been active in public affairs, 
always keenly interested in the city, State 
and national governments. For three 
years from 1883 to 1885 he represented 
his ward in the common council of the 
city of Fall River, early taking a position 
of leadership in that body, and during his 
last year served as president. He has 
also been active in religious circles, being 
a leading and zealous member of the Uni- 
tarian church, having served as chairman 
of the standing committee of the church, 
and as superintendent of the Sunday 
school. 

Mr. Rounseville married, November 8, 
1893, in Fall River, Mary O. Pitman, who 
was born in that city, daughter of John 
H. Pitman, and granddaughter of Charles 
Pitman, who was the first postmaster of 
Fall River. Mr. and Mrs. Rounseville 
have two children : Marion Pitman, who 
was born August 31, 1894; and Cyrus 
Cole, Jr., who was born January 28, 18 
a graduate of the Moses Brown Prepara- 
tory School, of Providence, in the class 
of 1916, and now a student of Dartmouth 
College, class of 1920. 



190 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



HEMENWAY-WEEKS. 

The Hemenways are of an old New 
England family. Upon the early records 
we find the signatures spelled in vari- 
ous ways — Henenway, Hemingway, Hem- 
mingway, Heneway, Hinningway. Ralph, 
the founder of one branch, was in Rox- 
bury, Massachusetts, as early as 1633 ; 
was a member of the church ; freeman in 
1634. He died in 1678. He married, July 
5, 1634, Elizabeth Hews, and their chil- 
dren were: Mary, born April 4, 1635, died 
young; Samuel, born June, 1636, settled 
in New Haven, Connecticut, married 
Sarah Cooper; Ruth, born September 21, 
1638, unmarried, died 1684; John, born 
April 27, 1641, settled in Roxbury, Massa- 
chusetts, married Mary Trescott ; Joshua, 
baptized April 9, 1643 ! Elizabeth, born 
May 31, 1645, married a Bolbrook ; Mary, 
born April 7, 1647, died young. 

(II) Joshua, son of Ralph and Eliza- 
beth (Hews) Hemenway, was baptized 
April 9, 1643, lived in Roxbury and prob- 
ably died there, October 29, 1716. He 
married (first) Joanna Evans, January 16, 

1667-68; (second) Mary , who died 

May 5, 1703; (third) April 5, 1704, Eliza- 
beth, daughter of William Weeks, born 
1655, died September 20, 1737. Children : 
Joshua, born September 15, 1668; Joanna, 
baptized October 2, 1670, married Edward 
Ainsworth ; Ralph, baptized May 18, 1673, 
died June 1, 1699; Ichabod ; Elizabeth, 
married Stanhope ; Samuel, bap- 
tized September 30, 1683 ; John ; Eben- 
ezer, baptized April 29, 1688. 

(III) Ebenezer, son of Joshua Hemen- 
way, baptized April 29, 1688, died 1755. 
He was a weaver by trade. There seems 
to be no record of his settlement in Fram- 
ingham, Massachusetts, but his brother 
Joshua settled there in 1692-93, and Eben- 
ezer was a citizen of the town prior to 
1710, as his name appears upon a tax list 
to procure a stock of ammunition dated 



June 27, 1710. He married (first) May 
17, 171 1, Hannah Winch, born June 16, 
1687-88, died April 27, 1737; she was the 
daughter of Samuel and Hannah (Gibbs) 
Winch. Samuel Winch was one of the 
petitioners for the incorporation of the 
town of Framingham ; and at the first 
town meeting in 1700 was elected one of 
the surveyors of the highways. He mar- 
ried (second) February 23, 1738, Thame- 
zin, daughter of Benjamin Nuise ; she 
died about 1767. Children of Ebenezer 
and Hannah (Winch) Hemenway were: 
Ebenezer, born October 24, 1712; Samuel 
Hemenway, lived in Attleboro ; Keziah, 
baptized August 4, 1717, married Jere- 
miah Pike; Daniel, born February 2, 1719, 
settled in Marlboro, in 1745 removed to 
Shrewsbury, where he died November 15, 
1794; Jacob, born March 20, 1721-22, set- 
tled in Worcester, where he died ; Sam- 
uel, born August 3, 1724, married Hannah 
Rice, daughter of Richard, died June 18, 
1806; Elizabeth, born June 19, 1727, mar- 
ried, 1747, Benjamin Robins, of Stur- 
bridge. 

(IV) Ebenezer (2), son of Ebenezer 
(1) and Hannah (Winch) Hemenway, was 
born in Framingham, Massachusetts, Oc- 
tober 24, 1712, and died in 1781. During 
the last French and Indian War his name 
appears on the list of Framingham men 
who served as soldiers in Colonel Joseph 
Buckminster's company of militia, April 
26, 1757, Hezekiah Stone, clerk. He mar- 
ried Mary Eve. There is a tradition in 
the Hemenway family that during infancy 
she was captured by Indians and re- 
deemed in girlhood. She died November 
29, 1805, aged ninety-three. Children of 
Ebenezer and Mary (Eve) Hemenway: 
1. Mary, born November 4, 1734, blind; 
died unmarried, February 18, 1821. 2. 
Hannah, born March 26, 1737, died young. 
3. Hannah, married Charles Dougherty, 
who was very active during the war of 



191 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the American Revolution ; was a minute- 
man in Captain Micajah Gleason's com- 
pany at Concord, April 19, 1775 ; quarter- 
master in Colonel Jonathan Brewer's com- 
pany at the battle of Bunker Hill, and 
with General John Nixon at the battles of 
Stillwater and Saratoga ; made lieutenant 
and served until the end of the war. 4. 
Ebenezer, born May 6, 1740. 5. Adam, 
may have settled in Shrewsbury or Boyls- 
ton. 6. Samuel. 7. Jacob, died Decem- 
ber 19, 1822; married (first) an Eaton, 
(second) Sybil Walker. 

(V) Ebenezer (3), son of Ebenezer (2) 
and Mary (Eve) Hemenway, was born 
May 6, 1740, and died December 11, 1831. 
He saw much service in several wars. In 
the last French and Indian War he was in 
the same company with his father, Colonel 
Joseph Buckminster's, April 26, 1757, and 
in 1761, after the capture of Montreal and 
the surrender of the Province of Canada 
to the British crown, he was enrolled as 
sergeant in Captain John Nixon's com- 
pany (Massachusetts) and was in service 
from April 18, 1761, to July 28, 1762. He 
was also prominent in the war of the 
American Revolution. In 1774 was clerk 
in the second company of minute-men, as 
clerk under Captain Thomas Nixon. The 
company went in for active drill at once. 
The name of Ebenezer Hemenway, clerk, 
also appears upon the muster roll of min- 
ute-men from Framingham under com- 
mand of Captain Micajah Gleason at Con- 
cord and Cambridge, April 19, 1775. He 
was in Captain Gleason's company when 
he shot a British soldier named Thomas 
Sowers, near Merriams Corner, and took 
his gun, which he brought home with 
him, August 22, 1776. Twelve men from 
Framingham enlisted for the defence of 
Boston, and were assigned to Captain 
Caleb Brook's company, in Colonel Dike's 
regiment. Ebenezer Hemenway was one 
of the twelve and served until December 
1, 1776. Again, when Framingham sent 



twelve men with Captain John Gleason to 
North Kingston, Rhode Island, April 12, 
1777, Ebenezer Hemenway was one of 
them, and served two months and eight 
days in Colonel Josiah Whitney's regi- 
ment. His name also appears upon the 
muster roll of Captain Joseph Winch's 
company, in Colonel Samuel Ballard's 
regiment of Massachusetts State Militia 
from August 16 to December 10, 1777. He 
was a member of the North Company, 
serving as ensign with Captain Lawson 
Buckminster in May, 1779, Colonel Abner 
Perry's regiment. From July 5 to No- 
vember 30, 1 781, he was in Captain John 
Hayward's company. He rose to the rank 
of lieutenant; his name was on the pen- 
sion list in 1801. Ebenezer Hemenway 
married Bathshebah Stone Hemenway, 
widow of John, born September 20, 1739, 
died July 19, 1828. She was the daughter 
of Samuel and Rebecca (Clark) Stone. 
The Stone family was among the early 
New England settlers, and like many 
others settled in Watertown, Massachu- 
setts, before coming to Framingham. She 
traced her ancestry back to the immi- 
grants, Gregory and wife Lydia, who came 
from England in 1635. Samuel Stone was 
a Revolutionary soldier, and marched to 
the alarm on the 19th of April, 1775, to 
Concord and Cambridge ; also served in 
the Northern Department from August 
14 to December 10, 1777; was a member 
of the company engaged in the battles 
under General Gates which led to the sur- 
render of Burgoyne, and was present at 
the surrender. Ebenezer Hemenway was 
also of this company. 

Children of Ebenezer and Bathshebah 
(Stone) Hemenway: 1. Fanny, born No- 
vember 2, 1764; married Josiah Warren. 
2. Levinah, born April 1, 1767, married 
Elijah Clayes. 3. Olive, born April 1, 
1769, died March 30, 1787. 4. Josiah, 
born June 26, 1771. 5. Sally, born March 
1, 1774; married Abel Eaton, sergeant in 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Framingham artillery company, 1814. 
6. Adam, born March 15, 1777; married 
Catherine Patterson, died December 31, 
1864. 7. Samuel, born August 8, 1779; 
physician ; removed to Dummerston, Ver- 
mont ; married Rebecca Stone ; died No- 
vember 20, 1834. 8. Bathshebah, died 
young. 9. Lucy, born January 24, 1784; 
married Thomas Larrabee. 

(VI) Josiah, son of Lieutenant Eben- 
ezer (3) and Bathshebah (Stone) Hemen^ 
way, born June 26, 1771, died January 28, 
1848. He married, February, 1793, Mary 
Parkhurst, born November 15, 1771, died 
December 31, 1858. She was the daugh- 
ter of Josiah and Elizabeth Parkhurst, 
who settled in Framingham, Massachu- 
setts, in 1762. She was a lineal descend- 
ant of George Parkhurst and wife Lu- 
sanna, who were in Watertown as early 
as 1643; removed to Boston, 1645. Chil- 
dren of Josiah and Mary (Parkhurst) 
Hemenway: 1. Dexter, born August 22, 
1794; married, November 23, 1820, Ann 
Manson, daughter of Loring Manson. 2. 
Windson, born September 13, 1796, died 
December 2, 1862 ; married, May 8, 1823, 
Sophronia, daughter of Deacon Enoch 
Belknap, a descendant of Abraham and 
wife Mary, of Lynn, 1637. 3. Adam, born 
March 12, 1800. 4. Willard, born Octo- 
ber 17, 1802; married, April 21, 1831, 
Jerusha H. Parmenter, of Sudbury. 5. 
Josiah, born June 2j, 1804. died young. 
6. Eliza, born February 24, 1806; mar- 
ried William Moulton, son of Lieutenant 
Winsor Moulton, of Sudbury. 7. Josiah, 
born May 1, 1808, died April 14, 1883; 
married, November 25, 1839, Ann Maria 
Eames, daughter of Lorell and Lucy 
Eames; both were direct descendants of 
Thomas Eames, the pioneer ancestor, 
who came to America as early as 1634. The 
Eames came from a little town near Strat- 
ford-on-Avon, England. The name is a 
prominent one in the annals of Framing- 
ham history, partly because of the Eames 

N E-7-13 



massacre which took place during King 
Philip's War; also because Lucy Eames 
and her sister Hitty were the pioneer 
straw bonnet workers, and were really 
the founders of what later developed into 
one of the largest straw goods industries 
in New England. (See history of Eames 
family.) 8. Fisher, born February 22, 
181 1 ; married, May 14, 1835, Elizabeth 
J. Fitch ; lived in Hopkinton, Massachu- 
setts. 9. John, born April 8, 1813 ; mar- 
ried, April 1, 1839, Susan Coolidge, daugh- 
ter of Peter and Mary Monroe Coolidge, 
and a descendant of John, the emigrant 
ancestor, who came from Cottenham, 
England, in 1630. 10. Ebenezer Thomas 
Sowers, born February 18, 1817; lived 
in Hopkinton and Worcester, Massachu- 
setts. 

(VII) Adam, son of Josiah and Mary 
(Parkhurst) Hemenway, was born in 
Framingham, March 12, 1800, died Octo- 
ber 27,, 1890, and is buried in Edgell 
Grove Cemetery. He lived in the north 
part of Framingham, and was by trade a 
carpenter. Many of the houses at the 
center were built by him. He was also 
a large landowner. Adam Hemenway 
was a man of quiet and domestic tastes, 
of temperate habits, and of liberal re- 
ligious views; voted the Democratic 
ticket. He was for many years a member 
of the Masonic fraternity. He was one 
of the grand old men of the town in which 
he lived for ninety years, respected for his 
upright character. He married, Novem- 
ber 29, 1830, Deborah Brown Sanger, born 
in Framingham, March 28, 1807, daughter 
of Daniel and Betsey Goodnow (Sud- 
bury) Sanger. Daniel Sanger kept a 
tavern opposite where St. Stephen's Cath- 
olic Church now stands, at South Fram- 
ingham. The nearby land was used as a 
muster field, 1820-30. Her grandfather, 
Daniel Sanger, was also proprietor of the 
noted Sanger Tavern. During the War 
of the American Revolution he was a 



193 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



member of the committee of correspond- 
ence, 1779; and was one of the original 
members of the Framingham Artillery 
Company, organized March, 1799 ; also 
served as a member of the board of select- 
men for several years. Mrs. Hemenway 
was a member of the Unitarian church ; 
died in Framingham, October 4, 1887, 
and is buried in Edgell Grove Cemetery. 
Children of Adam and Deborah Brown 
(Sanger) Hemenway: I. Maria Frances, 
born August 31, 1831, died November 23, 
1914; married Dr. George A. Hoyt, born 
September 13, 1825, son of Dr. Enos 
Hoyt, of Sanbornton, New Hampshire, 
and Grace R. Crosby. He was a graduate 
of Dartmouth College, 1847, an( i from 
Harvard Medical School, 185 1 ; died Oc- 
tober 15, 1857, in Framingham, where he 
was in practice. 2. Martha Olivia, born 
December 8, 1840; married, August 20, 
1863, George H. Weeks. 

Mrs. Weeks is a highly cultured woman, 
with deep sympathies ; is greatly inter- 
ested in the work and charities of the Uni- 
tarian church, of which she is a member. 
She is also interested in the work of the 
Framingham Hospital and the Edgell 
Grove Cemetery Association. She is at 
present (1917) the president of the latter 
organization, organized May 1, 1849, 
which for sixty-eight years has held an 
annual May festival. For many years 
Mrs. Weeks has been one of the leaders 
in this worthy organization, managed en- 
tirely by ladies, which has expended sev- 
eral thousand dollars in beautifying Ed- 
gell Grove and Church Hill cemeteries. 
She is also a charter member of Fram- 
ingham Chapter, Daughters of the Ameri- 
can Revolution, being eligible through the 
military service of several Revolutionary 
ancestors, but coming into membership 
through the service of her great-grand- 
father, Ebenezer Hemenway (see Eben- 
ezer V). 



George H. Weeks was born in Wayne, 
Maine, July 1, 1822, son of John and 
Sarah Weeks. The Weeks family is of 
ancient English origin ; and as early as 
1598 were settled in Gloucester and 
Devon. Leonard Weeks, son of John, 
baptized at Crompton Martin, England, 
August 7, 1593, came to America, and his 
name first appears as witness to a bond 
upon the public records in New York 
county, Maine. This Leonard Weeks, or 
Wyke, was probably the founder of the 
Maine branch of the Weeks family. 
George H. Weeks left his home in Maine 
when a young man and came to Boston, 
Massachusetts, and engaged in the whole- 
sale grocery business, in latter years con- 
ducted under the firm name of Weeks & 
Company, which he continued until his 
death, May 28, 1895. He made his home 
in Framingham Center, and is buried 
there in Edgell Grove Cemetery. Two 
children were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
(Martha Olivia Hemenway) Weeks: 1. 
Harry Winthrop, born May 30, 1864, in 
Framingham Center. His education was 
obtained in the public schools of his home 
town, and at a boys' school in Southboro, 
Massachusetts. After leaving school he 
was engaged for a time as salesman in 
the shoe trade ; later in the wholesale gro- 
cery business in Boston succeeding his 
father, which he still conducts (1917). 
He resides in Framingham Center, occu- 
pying the beautiful old colonial mansion 
which was the home of his father. He 
married Edith Sturtevant, of Framing- 
ham, Massachusetts ; no issue. 2. George 
H., Jr., died in infancy. 



ANGELL, Nedabiah, 

Exemplary Citizen. 

The origin of Angell as a surname is 
uncertain. Some authorities claim that 
it is derived from Angel, a town in 



194 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



France, and some claim it is from the 
Greek word meaning "messenger." In 
very ancient times it was used in connec- 
tion with the Christian name as a descrip- 
tive term applied to character, and later 
to show that the family was of extra- 
ordinary beauty. In the Bysantine Em- 
pire in 1 185, Konstantinos Angelos was a 
young man of noble family who received 
his name for that reason. 

(I) Thomas Angell was born in Eng- 
land about 1618. There is a tradition 
that he was the son of Henry Angell, of 
Liverpool, England, and that at the age 
of twelve he went to London to seek his 
fortune. In 1631 he came with Roger 
Williams in the ship "Lion" from London 
to Boston, and he was then regarded as 
a servant or apprentice of Williams. He 
went with Williams to Salem, remaining 
until 1636. He removed with him to 
Providence, Rhode Island. In the Rhode 
Island Historical Society's rooms is 
shown the plat of land grants to the early 
settlers of Rhode Island. Thomas An- 
gell's grant was the first one north of the 
one on which the First Baptist Church 
now stands ; it comprised a strip one hun- 
dred and seven feet wide, fronting on 
what was then Towne street, now North 
Main street, extending east to a point 
near Prospect street, containing five and 
one-half acres. This was in 1638. Later 
Thomas and Angell streets were named 
for him. On the reverse side is a rough 
drawing of the part of plat on which 
Thomas Angell's grant laid. In 1652 and 
1653 Thomas Angell was elected a com- 
missioner, and in 1655 constable, which 
office he held for many years. He was, as 
were all the inhabitants of Providence of 
that day, a farmer. He was about sev- 
enty-six years old at the time of his death, 
and his will, dated May 3, 1685, was 
proved September 18, 1685. The will of 
his wife Alice was dated October 2, 1694, 



proved the January following. Children : 
John, mentioned below; James, married 
Abigail Dexter ; Amphillis, married Ed- 
ward Smith ; Mary, married Richard 
Arnold ; Deborah, married Richard Sea- 
bury ; Alice, married Eleazer Whipple ; 
Margaret, married Jonathan Whipple. 

(II) John, eldest child of Thomas and 
Alice Angell, was born in Providence, 
Rhode Island, and died there July 27, 
1720. For a few years he lived on the 
Daniel Jenckes farm, five miles from 
Providence, towards Lime Rock, on the 
Lewisquisit road. He removed to Provi- 
dence, where he continued farming, and 
was a freeman, October 16, 1670. He 
married, 1669, Ruth Field, daughter of 
John Field. Children : Thomas, born 
March 25, 1672 ; John ; Daniel, mentioned 
below; Hope, 1682; James. 

(III) Daniel, third son of John and 
Ruth (Field) Angell, was born May 2, 
1680, in Providence, in which town he 
made his home, and died June 16, 1750. 
He is described as a man of large frame 
and possessed of great physical strength. 
He was prosperous and was often in the 
public service. Being naturally left- 
handed, by constant practice he became 
ambidextrous, and was noted as a hunter. 
He made frequent trips to Boston with 
team to market. On one of these trips 
he was challenged by a British officer, and 
finally, losing patience, agreed to fight a 
duel. However, when the time came to 
begin he laid out the offender with one 
blow of his left fist, and was thereafter 
suffered to go his way in peace. He left 
farms and other property to each of his 
sons, and made liberal gifts to his daugh- 
ters. He married, May 2, 1702, in Provi- 
dence, Hannah Winsor, granddaughter 
of Roger Williams. Children : Samuel, 
born December 12, 1707; John, October 
18, 1709; Nedabiah, mentioned below; 
Joshua, February 26, 1714; Mary, Janu- 



195 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ary 4, 1716; Job, January 1, 1718; Daniel, 
October 27, 1720; Ezekiel, 1722; Waite, 
and Mercy. 

(IV) Nedabiah, third son of Daniel 
and Hannah (Winsor) Angell, was born 
April 29, 1712, and died April 19, 1786. 
He resided in North Providence, in what 
is now Smithfield, where he owned and 
tilled a farm, and also followed his trade 
of blacksmith. He was an industrious 
and intelligent citizen, his wife a very 
capable woman, and they reared a good 
family. Many of their descendants are 
now located in the west. He married 
(first) June 22, 1740, Mary, daughter of 
Joshua and Mary (Barber) Winsor, born 
September 2, 1718, died June 9, 1758. He 
married (second) November 25, 1759, 
Bethiah (Luther) Hammond, widow of 
Nathan Hammond, born 1727, died May 
6, 1820, probably a descendant of the Re- 
hoboth family of Luther. Children : 
Zilpha, born December 25, 1742; Jesse, 
mentioned below ; Jabez, October 19, 
1746; Hannah, December 14, 1750; Eseck, 
September 12, 1752; Mercy, January 9, 
1761. 

(V) Jesse, eldest son of Nedabiah and 
Mary (Winsor) Angell, was born Janu- 
ary 6, 1745, died January 20, 1830, aged 
eighty-five. He resided in Smithfield, 
where he married Amey, daughter of 
Nathan Hammond, of that town, who 
died June 27, 1834, in her eightieth year. 
He went to sea in early life, and became 
a master mariner, and after several voy- 
ages he settled on a farm in the south- 
western part of the town of Scituate, 
Rhode Island. He had been successful as 
a mariner, was a prudent and prosperous 
farmer and good citizen, a soldier of the 
Revolution. Children : George, born 
January 16, 1774; Sarah, September 15, 
1775; Jesse, September 16, 1780, died at 
sea; Amey, August 2, 1782; Anstross, 
April 13, 1786; Samuel, December 31, 
1787; Nedabiah, February 11, 1791 ; Na- 



than, November 2, 1792; Mary, November 
22, 1794. 

(VI) Nedabiah (2), fourth son of Jesse 
and Amey (Hammond) Angell, born 
February 11, 1791, made his home for 
some years at Chepatchet, where he kept a 
hotel, was some time a resident of Provi- 
dence. In 1853 they removed to Cranston, 
into (what was then) the Jeremiah Fen- 
ner house, opposite Fenner's Ledge, and 
died April 7, 1855. He was a carpenter 
by trade. His body was laid to rest in 
Chepatchet. He married (first) Lucy 
Col well, born September 1, 1798, died 
July 15, 1844. He married (second) 
January 27, 1848, in Providence, Amanda 
M. Goff, born June 16, 1809, in Rehoboth, 
daughter of Joseph (2) and Bathsheba 
(Williams) Goff. She died May 3, 1894, 
in Rehoboth, and was buried in Swan 
Point Cemetery, Providence. Children of 
first marriage : George, born September 
5, 1820, died August 29, 1909; Joseph C, 
born August 14, 1823, died March 7, 1828; 
Charles F., born April 30, 1829, died June 
26, 1904; Edward H., born April 7, 1835, 
died November 11, 1836. Child of second 
marriage : Lucy Amanda, mentioned be- 
low. 

(VII) Lucy Amanda Angell, only child 
of the second marriage of Nedabiah An- 
gell, was born August 7, 1849, m Provi- 
dence, and received instruction in the 
schools of Johnston, Rhode Island, North 
Providence, Rhode Island, and Pierce 
Academy, Middleboro, Massachusetts. 
Since 1874 her home has been in Reho- 
both, where the last twenty years of her 
mother's long life was made happy and 
comfortable by her filial care and devo- 
tion. She is a member of Lydia Cobb 
Chapter, Daughters of the American 
Revolution, of Taunton ; the Roger Wil- 
liams Family Association of Providence ; 
and the Rehoboth Auxiliary of Taunton, 
Division of American Red Cross. 



196 




J3& tan da cto^ SY--/ 1 </ e/( 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(The Williams Line). 

Genealogists and historians have spent 
much time in the effort to learn the origin 
of Emanuel (Immanuel, Amanuel, etc.) 
Williams, of Taunton. It is possible that 
he was a son of John Williams, of Scitu- 
ate and Barnstable, Massachusetts, who 
was divorced from his wife Sarah in 1673 ; 
but it seems more probable that he was a 
grandson of Richard Williams, a pioneer 
of Taunton, whose history is told at some 
length elsewhere. No wills are on record 
now in Taunton to show anything con- 
cerning the parentage of Emanuel. Jo- 
seph Williams, son of Richard, died Au- 
gust 17, 1692, in Taunton. He married, 
November 28, 1667, Elizabeth, daughter 
of George Watson. Several children are 
found of record. It is quite possible that 
Emanuel, born about 1673-74, was a son 
of Joseph and Elizabeth. 

(I) It is certain that Emanuel Williams 
was born between 1670 and 1680, and died 
about 1719. His home was in Taunton, 
and there he married, about 1703, Abigail 
Makepeace, born November 25, 1686, di 
1724, daughter of William and Abigail 
(Tisdale) Makepeace. Thomas Make- 
peace, born about 1592, probably came 
from Bristol, England, and was in Dor- 
chester, Massachusetts, in 1635. Two 
years later he was in Boston, where a 
house lot was granted to him, in the 
present Hanover street, near Court. In 
1638 he was a member of the Ancient and 
Honorable Artillery Company. For £100 
he received a deed dated August 1, 1638, 
conveying a house in Boston, one hun- 
dred acres of upland in Muddy River 
(Brookline), ten acres of meadow, wood- 
lands, two gardens, and one-half acre on 
Fort Hill. In 1641 he owned lands in 
Dorchester, where he then resided, and 
was one of the original supporters of free 
schools. He sold seven acres to Roger 
Williams, of Dorchester, January 13, 1649, 



for £21. July ir, of the same year he sold 
nine acres in Dorchester. He was among 
the patentees of Dover, was in the Nar- 
ragansett expedition of 1654, and died 
early in 1667. His property was inven- 
toried at £297 7s. id., including a dwelling 
and ground valued at £180. His second 
wife, a widow, Elizabeth Mellowes, was 
dismissed from the First Church of Bos- 
ton to the Dorchester church July 25, 
1641. She survived him. Their second 
son, William (2) Makepeace, married, 
May 23, 1661, Ann Johnson. He was in- 
terested in Block Island, and may have 
lived there a short time. He settled on 
the Taunton river and bought land April 
8, 1661, for £30, at "Quequechan," now 
Freetown. This he sold in 1672, and pur- 
chased another tract nearby in February, 
1679. He was drowned August 9, 1681, 
in the Taunton river, and his estate was 
valued at £180 4s. 6d. His eldest child 
was William (3) Makepeace, born 1662- 
63, lived in Freetown ; was constable in 
1685, and member of town council in 1691. 
He moved to Taunton about 1703, and his 
will was made November 16, 1736. He 
married, December 2, 1685, Abigail Tis- 
dale. They were the parents of Abigail 
Makepeace, wife of Emanuel Williams, as 
above noted. She received fifty acres 
from her father, June 10, 1703. Abigail 
Tisdale was a daughter of John (2) Tis- 
dale, who was a son of John and Sarah 
Tisdale. John (2) Tisdale married, No- 
vember 23, 1664, Hannah Rogers, a grand- 
daughter of Thomas Rogers, who came 
in the "Mayflower" to Plymouth. His 
son, John Rogers, married, April 16, 1639, 
in Weymouth, Massachusetts, Ann 
Churchman, probably a daughter of Hugh 
Churchman, of Plymouth. They were 
the parents of Hannah Rogers, wife of 
John (2) Tisdale, and grandparents of 
Abigail Makepeace, wife of Emanuel 
Williams. Children of the latter couple : 



197 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



John, born 1704; Gershom, mentioned 
below; Anna, 1708; Lydia, 1710; Phebe, 
1712; Simeon, 1716. 

(II) Gershom, second son of Emanuel 
and Abigail (Makepeace) Williams, was 
born 1706, in Taunton, and died there 
October 8, 1775. He married in Dighton, 
August 2, 1729, Abigail, daughter of 
Samuel Waldron, of that town. She died 
April 6, 1789. His will, made September 
9, proved November 17, 1775, mentions all 
his children except the youngest. They 
were all born in Dighton, viz : Gershom, 
February 23, 1731, married Abigail Tal- 
but, of Dighton, no children ; Abigail, 
mentioned below; Simeon, March 21, 
1735; Hannah, June 16, 1737, married 
William Holloway, Jr. ; Ruth, March 14, 
1740, died June 25, 1751 ; Lemuel, August 
3, 1742, married (first) Molly Jones, of 
Dighton, (second) Abigail Briggs ; 
George, September 28, 1744, married 
Marcy Paull ; David, mentioned below ; 
John, July 16, 1749; Jonathan, August 21, 
1751 ; Ruth, October 10, 1753, married 
Daniel Hayford. 

(III) Abigail, eldest daughter of Ger- 
shom and Abigail (Waldron) Williams, 
born February 1, 1733, in Dighton, was 
married, December 20, 1753 (as his second 
wife) to John Briggs, of Berkeley, Massa- 
chusetts, born 1720, died March 11, 1790. 

(IV) Abigail, second daughter of John 
and Abigail (Williams) Briggs, was born 
January 4, 1761, in Dighton, and was mar- 
ried, January 15, 1793, to Simeon Web- 
ster, of Dighton. 

(Ill) David, fifth son of Gershom and 
Abigail (Waldron) Williams, was born 
October 24, 1746, in Dighton, and was a 
soldier of the Revolution. He served 
thirty-seven days in Captain Robert 
Davis' company, Colonel Freeman's regi- 
ment, company raised for a secret expedi- 
tion to Rhode Island ; roll sworn to in 
Suffolk, December 4, 1777. He was a 



member of the Bristol county brigade, 
commanded by Brigadier-General George 
Godfrey ; was a private in Captain Elijah 
Walker's company, Colonel John Hatch's 
regiment, marched to Tiverton on an 
alarm of August 2, 1780, served three 
days. He married, January 1, 1771, Lois 
Webster, born 1746, daughter of Stephen 
and Bathsheba (Bryant) Webster, of 
Dighton. Children : Nancy, born No- 
vember 12, 1771, died June 30, 1832; 
Lydia, August 18, 1773, died September 
29, 1850; David, June 14, 1775, died De- 
cember 22, 1830; Gershom, December 19, 
1776, died May 24, 185 1 ; Bathsheba, men- 
tioned below; Eleanor, December 14, 
1780, died March 6, 1862. 

(IV) Bathsheba, third daughter of 
David and Lois (Webster) Williams, was 
born November 30, 1778, in Dighton, and 
became the wife of Joseph (2) Goff, of 
Rehoboth (see Goff III). 

Stephen Webster, of Dighton, born 
about 1720, lived in Dighton and Berke- 
ley, Massachusetts, and was sergeant of 
militia. He married Bathsheba Bryant, 
daughter of Stephen (3) and Sarah (Ma- 
goon) Bryant, of Dighton (see Bryant 
III). He served twenty-nine days in the 
Revolutionary forces, a private in Captain 
James Briggs' company, which marched 
October 2, 1777, under Colonel Freeman, 
on a secret expedition to Rhode Island ; 
was discharged October 29, 1777. 

(The Bryant Line). 

(I) Stephen Bryant was a resident of 
Duxbury, Massachusetts, as early as 1643, 
and was in Plymouth in 1650. He mar- 
ried Abigail, daughter of John Shaw. 
Children: John, born April 7, 1650; 
Mary, May 29, 1654; Stephen, mentioned 
below; Sarah, November 28, 1659; Lydia, 
October 23, 1662; Elizabeth, October 17, 
1665. 

(II) Stephen (2), second son of Ste- 



198 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



phen (i) and Abigail (Shaw) Bryant, was 
born February 2, 1658, in Plymouth, and 
lived in Middleboro, Massachusetts, with 
his wife Elizabeth. She died and he mar- 
ried (second) September 9, 1702, in Ply- 
mouth, Bathsheba Briggs. Children : 
Stephen, mentioned below ; David, born 
1687 ; William, 1692 ; Hannah ; Ichabod, 
1699; Timothy, 1702. 

(III) Stephen (3), eldest child of Ste- 
phen (2) and Elizabeth Bryant, was born 
1684, in Middleboro, and married in Dux- 
bury, November 23, 1710, Sarah Magoon. 

(IV) Bathsheba, daughter of Stephen 
(3) and Sarah (Magoon) Bryant, married 
Stephen Webster, of Dighton (see Wil- 
liams III). 

(The Goff Line). 

The name Goff has an historic identity 
with the early settling of New England. 
One Thomas Goff, a wealthy merchant of 
London, England, Matthew Craddock, 
John Endicott, Sir Richard Saltonstall, 
and others, were among the principal 
actors in laying the foundation of the 
Massachusetts Bay Colony. "By mutual 
agreement among themselves they were 
formed into a body politic and confirmed 
or rather so constituted by the royal 
charter." The first governor chosen was 
Matthew Craddock, the first deputy gov- 
ernor Thomas Goff, both of whom were 
sworn, March 23, 1628. Edward or Ed- 
mund Goff, of Cambridge, and a pro- 
prietor of Watertown, and John Goff, of 
Newbury, a proprietor, were other pio- 
neers of the name in New England. The 
vital records of Rehoboth, the mother 
town of many in its region both in Massa- 
chusetts and Rhode Island, begin with the 
families of Richard, Samuel and Robert 
Goff, following later with that of William 
Goff, beginning with the early years of 
the eighteenth century. From this source 
spring many of the name both in Massa- 
chusetts and Rhode Island. 



(I) Richard Goff, of Barrington, and 
Martha Toogood, of the same town, 
daughter of Nathaniel and Martha Too- 
good, were married, July 19, 1722, and 
their children of Rehoboth town record 
were: Sarah, born October 19, 1723; Jo- 
seph, mentioned below; Squire, June 18, 
1727; Bethia, January 31, 1730; Rachel, 
July 28, 1731 ; Rebecca, May 11, 1733; 
Dorothy, August 4, 1735 ; Richard, July 
3i- 1741- 

(II) Joseph Goff, son of Richard and 
Martha (Toogood) Goff, was born De- 
cember 12, 1725. He utilized the water 
power of the village tributary to Palmer's 
river for sawing lumber and other mill 
purposes prior to the year 1764, and his 
son Richard, and the latter's sons, Nelson 
and Darius, used the same stream for 
power in their manufacturing projects. 
Joseph Goff married, October 1, 1748, Pa- 
tience Thurber, daughter of Jonathan and 
Mehitable (Bullock) Thurber. Children, 
of Rehoboth town record : Richard, born 
February 21, 1750; Sarah, June 19, 1751 ; 
Patience, June 20, 1753 ; Huldah, Febru- 
ary 19, 1755; Experience, April 2.J, 1759; 
Dorcas, March 17, 1763 ; Hannah, January 
20, 1765 ; Joseph, mentioned below ; Me- 
hitable, October 20, 1773 ; Rebecca, Janu- 
ary 29, 1776. 

(III) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (i)and 
Patience (Thurber) Goff, was born No- 
vember 8, 1771, and married (first) Bath- 
sheba Williams, born November 30, 1778, 
died March 7, 1814, daughter of David 
and Lois (Webster) Williams, of Digh- 
ton (see Williams III). He married 
(second) Abigail Webster. Children, of 
first marriage : Bathsheba Williams, 
born July 1, 1801 ; Joseph, February 21, 
1803; Rebeckah, May 17, 1805; William 
Leonard, August 16, 1807; Amanda M., 
mentioned below ; Ida Madison, January 
13, 181 1 ; of second marriage: Abby Lu- 
cena, born February 13, 1818; Simeon 



199 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Webster, March 22, 1820; Appollas Leon- 
ard, September 5, 1826; Mary Ann, De- 
cember 2, 1828. 

(IV) Amanda M., third daughter of 
Joseph (2) and Bathsheba (Williams) 
Goff, born June 16, 1809, became the wife 
of Nedabiah Angell, of Providence (see 
Angell VI). 



LINCOLN, Frederick W„ 

Business Man. 

Hingham, Massachusetts, is distin- 
guished as the home of all the first settlers 
of the surname Lincoln. From these pio- 
neers are descended all the Colonial fam- 
ilies of the name, including President 
Lincoln, more than one governor and men 
of note in all walks of life. The surname 
was variously spelled Linkhorn, Linkeln, 
Lincon, and was common in old Hing- 
ham, in England, for more than a century 
before immigrant ancestors made their 
home in Massachusetts. The origin or 
meaning of the name has been a theme 
of discussion. Some have maintained 
that it is a relic of the Anglo-Saxon-Nor- 
man Conquest period, when, near some 
waterfall (Anglo-Saxon "lin") (a colony 
Roman "colonia") was founded, thus 
giving Lincolonia or finally Lincolnshire. 
Eight of the name were among the first 
settlers of Hingham, coming thither from 
Wymondham, County Norfolk, England. 
Three brothers, Daniel, Samuel and 
Thomas, came with their mother Joan. 
There were no less than four named 
Thomas Lincoln, adults and heads of 
families, all doubtless related. They were 
distinguished on the records and in local 
speech by their trades. They were 
known as Thomas, the miller ; Thomas, 
the cooper ; Thomas, the husbandman ; 
and Thomas, the weaver. There were 
also Stephen Lincoln who came with his 
wife and son Stephen, from Wymond, 



England, in 1638. This name is spelled 
also Windham and Wymondham. 

(I) Thomas Lincoln, the miller, was 
born 1603, in Norfolk county, England, 
came to Hingham, Massachusetts, in 
1635, was one of the proprietors the same 
year, drew a house-lot of five acres at 
Hingham, July 3, 1636, on what is now 
South street, near Main, and later drew 
lots for planting. Before 1650, he had 
removed to Taunton, Massachusetts, and 
had built a grist mill there on Mill river 
at a point in the very heart of the present 
city, near the street leading from the rail- 
road station to City Square. It is said 
that King Philip and his chiefs once met 
the colonists in conference in this mill. 
He served in Taunton on the jury in 1650 ; 
was highway surveyor there in 1650 and 
the largest land owner. He became one 
of the stockholders in the famous Taun- 
ton iron works, established October, 1652, 
as a stock company. Among other stock- 
holders were Richard Williams, Richard 
Stacy and George Watson. These works 
were operated until 1883, and the dam and 
foundation still mark one of the most 
interesting sites in the history of Amer- 
ican industry. Thomas Lincoln gave land 
in Hingham to his son Thomas, who sold 
it October 11, 1662, specifying the history 
of the transactions. His will was dated 
August 23, 1683, when he stated his age 
as about eighty years. The will was 
proved March 5, 1684. He married (first) 
in England, wife's name unknown, and 
(second) December 10, 1665, Elizabeth 
(Harvey) Street, widow of Francis Street. 
Children: Samuel, baptized 1637, in 
Hingham, Massachusetts ; Thomas, men- 
tioned below; John, February, 1639, mar- 
ried Edith Macomber; Mary, October 6, 
1642, married (first) William Hack, (sec- 
ond) Richard Stevens; Sarah, December, 
1645, married Joseph Wills, of Taunton, 
and settled in Scituate. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(II) Thomas (2) Lincoln, son of 
Thomas (1) Lincoln, was baptized in 
February, 1638, in Hingham, and settled 
in Taunton, where he made a will, May 4, 
1694. He married, in 1651, Mary Austin, 
daughter of Jonah and Constance (Kent) 
Austin, died about 1694. Jonah Austin 
was mayor of the borough of Tenterden, 
England, sailed from Sandwich in the ship 
"Hercules," in 1633, with his wife Con- 
stance, and located first at Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, where he sold land in 
1638; was at Hingham, Massachusetts, 
as early as 1635. His land there was sold 
in 1650. About the same time he pur- 
chased fifty-one acres in Taunton, became 
interested as a shareholder in the famous 
iron works in that town, and died there 
July 30, 1683. His wife died April 22, 
1667. Children of Thomas (2) Lincoln: 
Mary, born May 12, 1652; Thomas, died 
young ; Sarah, died young ; Thomas, men- 
tioned below; Samuel, March 18, 1658; 
Jonah and Sarah (twins), July 7, 1660; 
Hannah, March 15, 1663; Constant, May 
16, 1665; Mercy, April 3, 1670; Ephraim, 
died April 9, 1673. 

(III) Thomas (3) Lincoln, second son 
of Thomas (2) and Mary (Austin) Lin- 
coln, was born April 21, 1656, and died in 
1720. He married (first) Mary Stacy, 
daughter of Richard Stacy, who appears 
in the list of those able to bear arms at 
Taunton in 1643. Richard Stacy was sur- 
veyor of highways and often a member 
of the jury ; was one of the original share- 
holders of the iron works, and died in 
1687. His wife's name was Abigail. 
Thomas Lincoln married (second) No- 
vember 14, 1689, Susanna, daughter of 
Samuel Smith. Children : Thomas, men- 
tioned below ; Benjamin, born 1681 ; Wil- 
liam, 1682; Jonathan, died January 5, 
1773; Silas; Nathan; Tabitha ; Hannah, 
born 1692; Constant, 1696; Lydia. 

(IV) Thomas (4) Lincoln, eldest son 



of Thomas (3) and Mary (Stacy) Lin- 
coln, was born about 1680, in Taunton, 
and married Rebecca Walker, born about 
1693, fifth daughter of James and Bath- 
sheba (Brooks) Walker, of Taunton. 

(V) Isaac Lincoln, son of Thomas (4) 
and Rebecca (Walker) Lincoln, was born 
1710-n, in Taunton, and married, July 6, 
1736, Mary Sanford, of Berkley, Massa- 
chusetts, probably the daughter of Eben 
and Mary (Woodward) Sanford, of New- 
port, Rhode Island, born about 1719. 

(VI) Isaac (2) Lincoln, son of Isaac 
(1) and Mary (Sanford) Lincoln, was 
born 1738, and married, in 1759, Lydia 
Drake, born 1739, died 1825, probably of 
the Weymouth family of Drake. No 
record of her birth or parentage has been 
discovered. Isaac (2) Lincoln died 1808. 
Children: Isaac, born 1760; Lott, 1762; 
Sanford, mentioned below; Mercy, 1768; 
Cecilia, 1771. 

(VII) Sanford Lincoln, third son of 
Isaac (2) and Lydia (Drake) Lincoln, 
was born 1765, in Taunton, died 1825, and 
was buried at Briggs Corner, in the town 
of Attleboro. He married, 1786, Sybil 
Williams, born February 19, 1768, died 
March, 1843, daughter of Rufus and 
Mercy (Shaw) Williams, of Attleboro 
(see Williams VI). 

(VIII) Williams Sanford Lincoln, son 
of Sanford and Sybil (Williams) Lincoln, 
was born 1793, and made his home in 
Attleboro, where he was engaged in agri- 
culture, and died July 31, 1844. He was 
married, June 20, 1819, in Attleboro, by 
Rev. Richard Cavigne, to Louisa Tifft, 
born November 14, 1799. in Attleboro, 
daughter of Stephen and Lois (Guild) 
Tifft, died February 9, 1877 (see Tifft 
VI). 

(IX) Williams Sanford (2) Lincoln, 
son of Williams Sanford (1) and Louisa 
(Tifft) Lincoln, was born in October, 
1827, in Mansfield, Massachusetts. He 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was a jeweler by trade, and a well known 
resident of Attleboro, where he was one 
of its leading and progressive citizens. 
He died from the effects of injuries re- 
ceived in a railroad accident, January 3, 
1884, and was buried in Attleboro. He 
married, June 13, 1852, Ann Sophia Bliss, 
born August 26, 1826, in Attleboro, 
daughter of Martin and Sophia (Wright- 
ington) Bliss, of that town, and she died 
in Attleboro, January 29, 1866 (see Bliss 
X). They were the parents of two chil- 
dren: Frederick William, and Annabell 
Sanford, born December 26, 1858, living 
in Attleboro, unmarried. 

(X) Frederick William Lincoln, only 
son of Williams Sanford (2) and Ann 
Sophia (Bliss) Lincoln, was born July 2, 
1853, in Attleboro, and has continued to 
make his home in that town to the pres- 
ent time. Its public schools supplied his 
education, and he early turned his atten- 
tion to the manufacture of jewelry, learn- 
ing the business with his father, and in 
1876 became interested in the electro plat- 
ing business, in the establishment con- 
ducted under the firm name of Nerney & 
Lincoln. This business was successfully 
conducted for a period of twelve years, at 
the end of which time the business was 
sold, he and Mr. Nerney going into the C. 
A. Wetherell & Company, jewelry manu- 
facturers, in which concern they had had 
an interest for some time. In 1890, Mr. 
Lincoln disposed of his interests in the 
C. A. Wetherell & Company, and took a 
special course in the School for Christian 
Workers, now known as the International 
Young Men's Christian Association Col- 
lege, at Springfield, Massachusetts, where 
he spent about a year in preparing him- 
self to take up that line of work. Upon 
returning to Attleboro, on account of the 
illness of his former partners, Mr. Lincoln 
took the management of the C. A. Weth- 
erell & Company concern, continuing in 



that capacity for about two years. In 
March, 1897, Mr. Lincoln bought an inter- 
est in the J. M. Fisher Company, jewelry 
manufacturers, and upon the incorpora- 
tion of this concern, in 191 1, he was made 
treasurer of the company, continuing in 
that capacity until 1914, when he retired 
from active business cares. He is one of 
the best known and most progressive 
citizens of Attleboro, and takes much in- 
terest in the growth and progress of its 
institutions. While a most public- 
spirited citizen, his chief interest is in his 
home and family. He is blessed with an 
artistic taste and temperament, as shown 
in his home and garden. Many of the sur- 
roundings were constructed from his own 
designs. Mr. Lincoln is one of the most 
active and useful members of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church, in which he has 
served as trustee and superintendent of 
the Sunday school, and is active in all the 
works of the organization. Most temper- 
ate in his life and habits — he is popular 
and appreciated as a good citizen. 

He married, in Attleboro, June 26, 1876, 
Ermina Chester Shaw, born January 27, 
1856, in Fair Haven, Massachusetts, 
daughter of William Penn and Susan E. 
(Blossom) Shaw (see Shaw VIII). Mrs. 
Lincoln is, like her husband, a valued 
member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and a useful member of society. 
She is descended from some of the oldest 
families in New England. Children : 1. Er- 
mina Chester, born in Attleboro, Decem- 
ber 6, 1881, was educated in the public 
and high schools ; became active in Sun- 
day school work, and was connected with 
the State Sunday School Association of 
Pennsylvania, as primary secretary. She 
married William T. Cooper, of Chatta- 
nooga, Tennessee, and they now reside in 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where he is 
engaged in the practice of law; they are 
the parents of one daughter: Helen 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Margaret Cooper, born August 3, 1913. 2. 
Helen Bliss, born August 7, 1885, resides 
with her parents ; was educated in the 
public and high schools of Attleboro. 

(The Williams Line). 

In the ancient town of Taunton there 
are still representatives of the famous 
Cromwell-Williams line of the family 
bearing the latter name. Reference is 
made to some of the posterity of Richard 
Williams, who, with Oliver Cromwell, 
the "Lord Protector," sprang from the 
same ancestor, William Cromwell, a son 
of Robert Cromwell, of Carleton-upon- 
Trent, a Lancastrian, who was killed at 
the battle of Towton, in 1461. Many 
years ago the statement was made, and 
afterward vehemently doubted, that the 
family of Richard Williams, of Taunton, 
was connected by ties of blood with that 
of Oliver Cromwell. This fact was estab- 
lished by the wonderful patience and per- 
severance, and at considerable expense, 
of the late Hon. Joseph Hartwell Wil- 
liams, of Augusta, Maine, a former gov- 
ernor of Maine, a direct descendant of 
Richard Williams, of Taunton. The fol- 
lowing is an account of this connection 
taken from the New England Historical 
and Genealogical Register of April, 1897, 
abridged by the late Josiah H. Drum- 
mond, LL. D., of Portland, Maine. 

The Cromwell line dates from Alden 
de Cromwell, who lived in the time of 
William the Conqueror. His son was 
Hugh de Cromwell, and from him de- 
scended ten Ralph de Cromwells in as 
many successive generations ; but the 
tenth Ralph died without issue. The 
seventh Ralph de Cromwell married, in 
1351, Amicia, daughter of Robert Berer, 
M. P. for Notts ; besides the eighth Ralph, 
they had several other sons, among whom 
was Ulker Cromwell, of Hucknall Tor- 
kard, Notts. Ulker had Richard ; and he, 



John of Cromwell House, Carleton-upon- 
Trent, Notts ; and he, Robert ; the names 
of the wives are not given. 

(I) Robert Cromwell, of Carleton- 
upon-Trent, was a Lancastrian. He was 
killed at the battle of Towton, in 1461. 
His lease of Cromwell House was seized 
by Sir Humphrey Bourchier, Yorkist, 
who was the husband of Joan Stanhope, 
the granddaughter of the ninth Ralph, 
through his daughter Matilda, wife of Sir 
Richard Stanhope. Ralph left a son Wil- 
liam, the ancestor of Robert Cromwell, 
and a daughter Margaret, the ancestor 
of both Oliver Cromwell and Richard 
Williams, of Taunton. 

(II) William Cromwell, of the prebend 
of Palace Hall, Norwalk, Notts, settled in 
Putney, Surrey, 1452. He married Mar- 
garet Smyth, daughter of John Smyth, of 
Norwalk, Notts, and had John. Margaret 
Cromwell married William Smyth (son 
of John). They had son, Richard Smyth, 
and daughter, Joan Smyth. 

(III) John Cromwell, son of William 
Cromwell, married his cousin, Joan 
Smyth. He was a Lancastrian, and his 
lands at Putney were seized by Arch- 
bishop Bourchier, Lord of the Manor of 
Wimbledon, and his lease of Palace Hall, 
Norwalk, Notts, remised by Lord Chan- 
cellor Bourchier. They had, among 
other children, Walter Cromwell. Rich- 
ard Smyth, of Rockhampton, Putney, by 
wife, Isabella, had daughter Margaret 
Smyth, who married John Williams, 
fourth in descent from Howell Williams, 
the head of the Williams line. 

(IV) Walter Cromwell married, in 
1474, the daughter of Glossop of Wirks- 
worth, Derbyshire; in 1472 he claimed 
and was admitted to two virgates (thirty 
acres) of land at Putney; in 1499 Arch- 
bishop Morton, Lord of Wimbledon 
Manor, gave him six virgates (ninety 
acres) of land in Putney as a solatium for 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the property taken from his father by the 
Bourchier Yorkists. He died in 1516, 
leaving among other children Katherine 
Cromwell. 

(V) Katherine Cromwell married Mor- 
gan Williams, fifth in descent from 
Howell Williams, and had a son Richard 
Williams, born about 1495. 

(VI) Sir Richard Williams, alias 
Cromwell, married, in 1518, Frances 
Murfyn. He died at Stepney in 1547 and 
was buried in Gt. St. Helen's Church, 
London. He left son, Henry Cromwell, 
alias Williams. 

(VII) Sir Henry Cromwell, alias Wil- 
liams (called "The Golden Knight"), of 
Hinchenbrook, married Joan, daughter of 
Sir Ralph Warren, Lord Mayor of Lon- 
don, and they had : Sir Oliver, Robert, 
Henry, Richard, Philip, Joan, Elizabeth 
and Frances. 

(VIII) Robert Cromwell, of Hunting- 
don, brewer, married Elizabeth Stewart, 
widow of William Lynn, of Bassing- 
bourn, and their fifth child was Oliver 
Cromwell, the "Lord Protector." Rob- 
ert's sister, Elizabeth Cromwell, married 
William Hampden, of Great Hampden, 
Bucks, and among their children were 
John Hampden, "The Patriot," and Rich- 
ard Hampden. 

Governor Williams, through his assist- 
ants, traced the Williams line back to 
Howell Williams, Lord of Ribour. 

(I) Howell Williams, Lord of Ribour, 
married Wenlion, daughter and heiress of 
Llyne ap Jevan, of Rady, and had son, 
Morgan Williams. 

(II) Morgan Williams, of Lanishen, 
Glamorgan, married Joan Batton, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Batton, of Glamorgan, and 
they had Thomas and Jevan. Jevan Wil- 
liams married Margaret, daughter of Jen- 
kin Kemeys, of Bagwye Man. They had 
son, William Williams, of Lanishen, 
bailiff for Henry VIII., who (wife not 



known) was the father of Morgan Wil- 
liams, of Lanishen, Glamorgan, and later 
of Putney, Wansworth and Greenwich, 
for Henry VII. and Henry VIII., and the 
husband in 1494 of Katherine Cromwell 
— see ante Cromwell, No. 5, et seq. 

(III) Thomas Williams, of Lanishen, 
Glamorgan, died at St. Helen's, Bishop- 
gate, London ; was buried in the church 
there, "with his brass on stone." 

(IV) John Williams, steward of 
Wimbledon Manor, Surrey, married Mar- 
garet Smyth, daughter of Richard Smyth, 
and granddaughter of Margaret Crom- 
well (see ante Cromwell, Nos. 1, 2). He 
died at Mortlake in 1502, and she in 1501. 
They had two sons, John and Richard. 
John Williams, born in 1485, married 
Joan Wykys, daughter of Henry Wykys, 
of Bolleys Park, Chertney, and sister of 
Elizabeth Wykys, who married Thomas 
Cromwell (brother of Katherine), secre- 
tary to Henry VIII., Lord Cromwell of 
Oakham, Earl of Essex. 

(V) Richard Williams was born in 
Rockhampton in 1487. He settled at 
Monmouth and Dixxon, Mon., where he 
died in 1559. He was twice married. The 
name of his first wife is not known. She 
is credited with one daughter, Joan. His 
second wife, Christian, had two daugh- 
ters, Reece and Ruth, and one son, John. 

(VI) John Williams, of Huntingdon, 
near Wotton under Edge, Gloucester, 
died in 1579, leaving son William. No 
other particulars of this family are given. 

(VII) William Williams, of Hunting- 
don, married (first) November 15, 1585, 
Jane Shepherd. She died about 1600, 
a child of hers having been baptized De- 
cember 2, 1599. He married (second) 
December 4, 1603, Jane Woodward. She 
died February 2, 1614, and he in 1618. 
The first child of his second marriage, 
born in January, 1606, was Richard Wil- 
liams, of Taunton. Of the change of his 



204 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



name by Sir Richard Williams, Governor 
Williams said : "Oliver Cromwell in the 
male line of Morgan Williams of Gla- 
morganshire. His great-grandfather, Sir 
Richard Williams, assumed the name of 
'Cromwell,' it is true, but not until in 
mature years he had distinguished him- 
self in the public service (temp. Henry 
VIII), under the patronage of his uncle, 
Thomas Cromwell (Vicar General, 1535), 
whom he proposed to honor by the adop- 
tion of his name. In fact, ever afterwards 
Sir Richard used to sign himself, 'Rich- 
ard Cromwell, alias Williams ;' and his 
sons and grandsons, and Oliver Cromwell 
himself, in his youth (1620), used to sign 
in the same manner. In important grants 
from the crown to Sir Richard (29 and 
31, Henry VIII), the grantee's name ap- 
pears in both forms, 'Cromwell, alias Wil- 
liams' and 'Williams, alias Cromwell.' " 
It is not believed that, in the light of Gov- 
ernor Williams' researches, the relation- 
ship of Richard Williams, of Taunton, 
and the Cromwell family will again be 
questioned. 

(I) Richard Williams, son of William 
Williams, of Huntingdon, and his wife, 
Jane (Woodward) Williams, born in 
January, 1606, married in Gloucester, 
England, February 11, 1632, Frances 
Dighton, daughter of Dr. John Dighton, 
and for whom the town of Dighton, Mas- 
sachusetts, was named. Richard Wil- 
liams came to America and was among 
the first purchasers of Taunton. He was 
a man of good abilities ; was deputy to 
the General Court of Plymouth Colony 
from 1645 to I( 565 ; selectman in 1666 and 
1667, and was one of the proprietors of 
the "New Purchase," now Dighton ; was 
a member and deacon of the First Church. 
He died in the year 1693, aged eighty- 
seven. The children born to Richard and 
his wife Frances (Dighton) Williams, the 
eldest two being born while the parents 



were living in Gloucester, in the parish of 
Whitcombe Magna, were : John, men- 
tioned below ; Elizabeth, baptized Febru- 
ary 7, 1636; Samuel; Joseph, married 
(first) November 28, 1667, Elizabeth Wat- 
son, (second) Abigail Newland ; Nathan- 
iel, married, in 1668, Elizabeth Rogers; 
Thomas ; Benjamin, married Rebecca 
Macy; Elizabeth, born about 1647; Han- 
nah, married John Parmenter. 

(II) John Williams, son of Richard 
Williams, born March 27, 1634, in Taun- 
ton, married Jane Bassett, of Dighton, 
Massachusetts, daughter of William Bas- 
sett, who came to Plymouth in 1621, and 
his wife, Elizabeth, said to have been a 
Tilden. 

(III) Benjamin Williams, son of John 
and Jane (Bassett) Williams, was born 
1654, and died November 1, 1726. He 
married, March 18, 1690, Rebecca Macy, 
born April 3, 1658, daughter of Captain 
George Macy, of Taunton. Children : 
Rebecca, born November 27, 1690; Josiah, 
November 7, 1692; Benjamin, mentioned 
below ; John, March 27, 1699. 

(IV) Benjamin (2) Williams, second 
son of Benjamin (1) and Rebecca (Macy) 
Williams, was born July 31, 1695, in 
Taunton, lived in that part of the town 
now Norton, where he died April 1, 1775. 
He married, December 22, 1720, Susan- 
nah Howard, born August 8, 1698, in 
Bridgewater, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Major Jonathan and Sarah (Dean) 
Howard. 

(V) Rufus Williams, son of Benjamin 
(2) and Susannah (Howard) Williams, 
was born 1723, and died January 25, 1769. 
He married Mercy Shaw. 

(VI) Sybil Williams, daughter of 
Rufus and Mercy (Shaw) Williams, was 
born February 19, 1768, and died March, 
1843. She married, in 1786, Sanford Lin- 
coln, of Attleboro (see Lincoln VII). 



205 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(The Tifft Line). 

This family was very early established 
in Rhode Island, where descendants are 
still numerous, and where the name, as 
originally spelled Tefft, is still used very 
largely. 

(I) John Tefft, a native of England, 
was for a short time a resident of Boston, 
Massachusetts, whence he removed to 
Portsmouth, later to Kingstown, Rhode 
Island, and died January 8, 1676. He was 
a freeman in 1655, and at the town meet- 
ing, November 30, 1657, was granted 
planting land on Hog Island. In May, 
1671, he was among the freemen of Kings- 
town, and was probably for some years 
before that, as he sold land in Ports- 
mouth, November 22, 1662. His will was 
made November 30, 1670. He married 
Mary Barbour, who died in 1679. Chil- 
dren : Samuel, mentioned below ; Joshua, 
of Kingstown ; Tabitha, born 1653, mar- 
ried George Gardiner. 

(II) Samuel Tifft, son of John and 
Mary (Barbour) Tefft, resided in Provi- 
dence and South Kingstown, was a free- 
man in 1667, taxed three shillings and one 
and one-half pence, July I, 1679, in Provi- 
dence. In Kingstown, September 6, 1687, 
he was taxed nine shillings and four and 
one-half pence. In association with 
twenty-six others, he purchased a tract of 
Narragansett lands, known as Swamp- 
town, June 28, 1709. His will, made 
March 16, was proved December 20, 1725, 
and the inventory of his estate, amount- 
ing to £1010 2s. and 8d., included large 
tracts of land, much live stock, tools and 
other personal property. He married 
Elizabeth Jencks, born 1658, died 1740, 
daughter of Joseph and Esther (Ballard) 
Jencks, and sister of Governor Joseph 
Jencks, one of the most distinguished 
citizens of Rhode Island. At her death 
she left an estate of £4.01 12s. Children : 
John, of South Kingstown ; Samuel, of 



the same town ; Peter, mentioned below ; 
Sarah, married Ebenezer Witten ; Eliza- 
beth, married Solomon Carpenter ; Esther, 
married Thomas Mumford ; Mary, mar- 
ried Newton ; Tabitha ; Mercy ; 

and Susanna, wife of Peter Crandon. 

(III) Peter Tifft, third son of Samuel 
and Elizabeth (Jencks) Tifft, resided in 
Westerly, Rhode Island, and Stonington, 
Connecticut, where his youngest child 
was born, and where he died about 1725. 
His wife's baptismal name was Mary, and 
they had children, all born in Westerly 
except the last : Peter, June 19, 1699 ; 
Samuel, mentioned below ; John, Decem- 
ber 27, 1706; Joseph, January 8, 1710; 
Daniel, April 10, 1712; Samuel, February 
14, 1715; Jonathan, October 18, 1718. 

(IV) Samuel (2) Tifft, second son of 
Peter and Mary Tifft, was born February 
24, 1705, in Westerly, and was deceased 
at the time of his son's marriage, in No- 
vember, 1773. He married, May 5, 1753, 
at Stonington, Mary Ellis, of Preston, 
Connecticut. 

(V) John Tifft, son of Samuel (2) and 
Mary (Ellis) Tifft, was born about 1754, 
and lived in Westerly, Rhode Island. He 
married, November 24, 1773, a widow, 
Mary Lewis. Children : Joseph, born 
October 17, 1774; Peleg, May 18, 1777; 
David, March 21, 1779; Stephen, men- 
tioned below; Lewis, November 11, 1783; 
Fannie, March 27, 1788; Annie, July 9, 
1790. 

(VI) Stephen Tifft, fourth son of John 
and Mary (Lewis) Tifft, was born April 
9, 1781, in Westerly, and lived in Smith- 
field, Rhode Island, and North Attleboro, 
Massachusetts. He married Lois Guild, 
daughter of Ebenezer and Mary (Lane) 
Guild, of Attleboro. 

(VII) Louisa Tifft, daughter of Ste- 
phen and Lois (Guild) Tifft, became the 
wife of Williams Sanford (1) Lincoln, of 
Attleboro (see Lincoln VIII). 



206 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(The Bliss Line). 

The Bliss family seems to be descended 
from the Norman family of Blois, gradu- 
ally modified to Bloys, Blyse, Blysse, 
Blisse, and in America finally to Bliss, 
dated back to the time of the Norman 
Conquest. The name is not common in 
England. The coat-of-arms borne by the 
Bliss and Bloys families is the same : 
Sable, a bend vaire, between two fleur-de- 
lis or. Crest : A hand holding a bundle 
of arrows. Motto : Semper sursum. The 
ancient traditions of the Bliss family rep- 
resent them as living in the south of 
England and belonging to the class 
known as English yeomanry or farmers, 
though at various times some of the fam- 
ily were knights or gentry. They owned 
the houses and lands they occupied, were 
freeholders and entitled to vote for mem- 
bers of Parliament. In the early days, of 
course, they were faithful Roman Cath- 
olics, but later after England had become 
Protestant they became Puritans and be- 
came involved in the contentions between 
Charles I. and Parliament. The Blisses 
who settled in New England in 1636 had 
dwelt in Daventry, Northamptonshire, 
England, for one hundred and fifty years 
before the emigration. Daventry is 
twelve miles from Ecton, from which 
came the ancestors of Benjamin Franklin, 
and twenty-five miles from Stratford-on- 
Avon, where Shakespeare was born, and 
close by the battlefield of Naseby, where 
the forces of Cromwell crushed the army 
of Charles I. The early Daventry ances- 
tors of the Bliss emigrants were mercers 
or linen drapers, and since 1475 they were 
blacksmiths. The religious controversies 
of the times leading up to the overthrow 
of King Charles were partly responsible 
for the departure of the Blisses, who were 
non-conformists, but the hunger for land 
had probably more to do with the emigra- 
tion. 



(I) Thomas Bliss, the progenitor, lived 
in Belstone Parish, Devonshire, England. 
Very little is known of him except that he 
was a wealthy landowner, that he belonged 
to the class stigmatized as Puritans on ac- 
count of the purity and simplicity of their 
forms of worship, that he was persecuted 
by the civil and religious authorities under 
the direction of Archbishop Laud, and 
that he was maltreated, impoverished and 
imprisoned and finally ruined in health, 
as well as financially, by the many indig- 
nities and hardships forced on him by the 
intolerant church party in power. He is 
supposed to have been born about 1550 
or 1560. The date of his death was 1635 
or about that year. When the Parliament 
of 1628 assembled, Puritans or Round- 
heads, as the Cavaliers called them, ac- 
companied the members to London. Two 
of the sons of Thomas Bliss, Jonathan 
and Thomas, rode from Devonshire on 
iron grey horses, and remained for some 
time in the city — long enough at least for 
the king's officers and spies to learn their 
names and condition, and whence they 
came ; and from that time forth with 
others who had gone to London on the 
same errand, they were marked for de- 
struction. They were soon fined a thou- 
sand pounds for non-conformity and 
thrown into prison, where they remained 
many weeks. Even old Mr. Thomas 
Bliss, their father, was dragged through 
the streets with the greatest indignity. 
On another occasion the officers of the 
high commission seized all their horses 
and sheep, except one poor ewe that in 
its fright ran into the house and took 
refuge under a bed. At another time the 
three brothers, with twelve other Puri- 
tans, were led through the market place 
in Okehampton with ropes around their 
necks, and fined heavily, and Jonathan 
and his father were thrown into prison, 
where the sufferings of the son eventually 



207 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



caused his death. The family was unable 
to secure the release of both Jonathan 
and his father, so the younger man had to 
remain in prison and at Exeter he suffered 
thirty-five lashes with a three-corded 
whip, which tore his back in a cruel man- 
ner. Before Jonathan was released the 
estate had to be sold. The father and 
mother went to live with their daughter 
who had married a man of the Estab- 
lished Church, Sir John Calclifre. The 
remnant of the estate was divided among 
the three sons who were advised to go to 
America where they might escape perse- 
cution. Thomas and George feared to 
wait for Jonathan, who was still very ill, 
and left England in the fall of 1635 with 
their families. Thomas Bliss, son of Jona- 
than Bliss, and grandson of Thomas (1) 
Bliss, remained with his father, who 
finally died, and the son then came to 
join his uncles and settled near Thomas. 
At various times their sister sent from 
England boxes of shoes, clothing and 
articles that could not be procured in the 
colonies, and it is through her letters, 
long preserved, but now lost, that knowl- 
edge of the Devonshire family was pre- 
served. Children : Jonathan, mentioned 
below ; Thomas, born in England, about 
1585, at Belstone; Elizabeth, married Sir 
John Calclifre, of Belstone ; George, born 
1591, settled at Lynn and Sandwich, Mas- 
sachusetts, and Newport, Rhode Island ; 
Mary or Polly. 

(II) Jonathan Bliss, son of Thomas 
Bliss, of Belstone, was born about 1580, 
at Belstone, died in England, 1635-36. 
On account of his non-conformity he was 
persecuted, and suffered heavy fines, 
eventually dying at an early age, from a 
fever contracted in prison. Four chil- 
dren are said to have died in infancy, and 
two grew up : Thomas, mentioned be- 
low ; Mary. 

(III) Thomas (2) Bliss, son of Jona- 



than Bliss, of Belstone, England, was 
born there, and on the death of his father, 
in 1636, he went to Boston, Massachu- 
setts, and from there to Braintree, same 
State. He next went to Hartford, Con- 
necticut, and finally to Weymouth, Mas- 
sachusetts, whence, in 1643, ne joined in 
making a settlement at Rehoboth. He 
was made freeman at Cambridge, May 
18, 1642, and in Plymouth Colony, Janu- 
ary 4, 1645. I n June, 1645, ne drew land 
at the Great Plain, Seekonk ; in 1646 he 
was fence viewer ; surveyor of highways 
in 1647. He died at Rehoboth, in June, 
1649, an d is buried in the graveyard at 
Seekonk, Massachusetts, now Rumford, 
East Providence, Rhode Island. His will 
was proved June 8, 1649. His wife's 
name was Ide. Children : Jonathan, men- 
tioned below ; daughter, married Thomas 
Williams ; Mary, married Nathaniel Har- 
mon, of Braintree ; Nathaniel, seems to 
have left no descendants of the Bliss 
name. 

(IV) Jonathan (2) Bliss, son of 
Thomas (2) and Ide Bliss, was born 
about 1625, in England, and in 1655 was 
made freeman of the Plymouth colony. 
He was "way wardon" at the town meet- 
ing in Rehoboth, May 24, 1652, and May 
17, 1655, was on the grand jury. He was 
a blacksmith, was made a freeman in 
Rehoboth, February 22, 1658, drew land, 
June 22, 1658, and was one of the eighty 
who made what is known as the North 
Purchase. He married, 1648-49, Miriam 
Harmon, probably a daughter of Francis 
Harmon, born 1592, and came to Boston 
in the ship "Love" in 1635. Jonathan 
Bliss died in 1687. The inventory of his 
estate was sworn to May 23, 1687; the 
magistrate was the famous governor, Sir 
Edmund Andros. Children : Ephraim. 
born 1649; Rachel, December 1, 1651 ; 
Jonathan, March 4, 1653, died same year ; 
Mary, September 31 (sic), 1655; Eliza- 



208 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



beth, January 20, 1657; Samuel, June 24, 
1660; Martha, April, 1663; Jonathan, 
mentioned below (sometimes recorded 
Timothy); Dorothy, January 17, 1668; 
Bethia, August, 1671. 

(V) Jonathan (3) Bliss, fourth son ot 
Jonathan (2) and Miriam (Harmon) 
Bliss, was born September 17, 1666, and 
died October 16, 1719. His name was 
sometimes recorded Timothy. He was 
a man of standing and influence in Re- 
hoboth and held various town offices. It 
is said that he gave the land for the old 
cemetery about two miles south of Re- 
hoboth Village, whereon a church was 
built. He married (first) June 23, 1691, 
Miriam Carpenter, born October 26, 1674, 
died May " T , 1706, daughter of William 
and Miriam (Searles) Carpenter. Her 
brother Daniel married Bethia Bliss, her 
husband's sister. Jonathan Bliss mar- 
ried (second) April 10, 171 1, Mary 
French, of Rehoboth, who married (sec- 
ond) as third wife, Peter Hunt, and died 
December 10, 1754, aged seventy years. 
Children of first wife: Jonathan, born 
June 5, 1692, died May 3, 1770; Jacob, 
March 21, 1694; Ephraim, December 28, 
1695, died young; Elisha, October 4, 1697; 
Ephraim, mentioned below ; Daniel, Janu- 
ary 21, 1702; Noah, May 18, 1704, died 
September 20, 1704; Miriam, August 9, 
1705. Children of second wife: Mary, 
born November 23, 1712; Hannah, Janu- 
ary 7, 1715; Bethiah, May 10, 1716; 
Rachel, August 10, 1719. 

(VI) Lieutenant Ephraim Bliss, fifth 
son of Jonathan (3) and Miriam (Carpen- 
ter) Bliss, born August 15, 1699, lived in 
Rehoboth, and married, December 5, 
1723, Rachel Carpenter, born May 19, 
1699, daughter of Abiah and Mehitable 
(Read) Carpenter. Children: Ephraim, 
born January 2, 1725, died young; Eph- 
raim and Noah (twins), June 3, 1726; 
Rachel, March 6, 1728; Abiah, January 



26, 1730; Jonathan, September 8, 1731, 
died young; Lydia, July 3, 1733; Keziah, 
February 7, 1735; Hannah, February 16, 
1737; Jonathan, mentioned below; Aba- 
dial, December 15, 1740; Benjamin, De- 
cember 24, 1743. 

(VII) Captain Jonathan (4) Bliss, 
sixth son of Lieutenant Ephraim and 
Rachel (Carpenter) Bliss, born January, 
1739, lived in Rehoboth, and died Janu- 
ary 24, 1800. He married, December 27, 
1759, Lydia Wheeler, born October 17, 
1737, died April 11, 1803, daughter of 
Squier and Lydia (Bowen) Wheeler. 
Children: Keziah, born October 10, 1760; 
James, January 18, 1762; Jonathan, De- 
cember 6, 1763, died young; Chloe, March 
4> l 7^5'< Jonathan, mentioned below; 
Lucy, June 23, 1769; Asahel, September 
6, 1771 ; Shubael, October 30, 1773 ; Lydia, 
December 29, 1776; Zenas, November 12, 
1779; Nancy, May 15, 1784. 

(VIII) Jonathan (5) Bliss, third son 
of Captain Jonathan (4) and Lydia 
(Wheeler) Bliss, born April 3, 1767, re- 
sided in Rehoboth, and died March 19, 
1799. He married, March 19, 1792, Han- 
nah Kent, born August 11, 1769, daughter 
of Elijah and Hannah (Perrin) Kent (see 
Kent V). She married (second) Otis 
Capron, of Attleboro, Massachusetts, and 
died May 27, 1836. Children of Jonathan 
(5) Bliss: Jonathan, born February 15, 
1793, died September 2, 1872; Martin, 
mentioned below; Zeba, August 20, 1796, 
died July 29, 1858; George, February 3, 
1799, died March 3, 1851. 

(IX) Martin Bliss, second son of Jona- 
than (5) and Hannah (Kent) Bliss, was 
born October 24, 1794, died March 29, 
1864, in Attleboro. He married, August 
26, 1819, Sophia Wrightington, daughter 
of Robert and Hannah Wrightington, 
born March 18, 1796, died June 4, 1880, 
•in Attleboro. Children : William M., born 

August 2, 1821 ; Sophia Capron, October 



209 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



26, 1822, died 1823 ; Rodolphus, May 26, 
1824; Ann Sophia, mentioned below; 
Francis LaFayette, September 6, 1829, 
died 1836. 

(X) Ann Sophia Bliss, second daughter 
of Martin and Sophia (Wrightington) 
Bliss, born August 26, 1826, became the 
wife of Williams S. Lincoln, of Attleboro 
(see Lincoln IX). 

(The Shaw Line). 

(I) Anthony Shaw was early in Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, whence he removed 
to Portsmouth, Rhode Island, and later to 
Little Compton, same colony, where he 
died August 21, 1705. The inventory of 
his estate footed two hundred and thir- 
teen pounds, twelve shilling, two pence, 
including a negro man valued at thirty 
pounds, and silver money amounting to 
nine pounds. On April 20, 1665, he 
bought ten acres of land in Portsmouth, 
for forty pounds, including a house and 
three hundred good boards. He married 
Alice, daughter of John Stonard, of Bos- 
ton, where their first three children were 
born, namely: William, January 21, 1654, 
died February 10 following; William, Feb- 
ruary 24, 1655; Elizabeth, May 21, 1656. 
The others, born in Rhode Island, were : 
Israel, mentioned below ; Ruth, wife of 
John Cook ; Grace, wife of Joseph Church. 

(II) Israel Shaw, third son of Anthony 
and Alice (Stonard) Shaw, lived in Little 
Compton, and married, in 1689, a daugh- 
ter of Peter Tallman, of Portsmouth. Her 
baptismal name is not preserved. He sold 
two parcels of land in Portsmouth, Feb- 
ruary 11, 1707, to his brother-in-law, John 
Cook, of Tiverton, and in the bargain were 
included buildings and orchards, and a 
share in Hog Island. The consideration 
was two hundred and ten pounds and ten 
shillings. Children : William, born No- 
vember 7, 1690; Mary, February 17, 1692; 
Anthony, January 29, 1694; Alice, No- 

210 



vember 17, 1695 ! Israel, mentioned below; 
Hannah, March 7, 1699; Jeremiah, June 
6, 1700; Ruth, February 10, 1702; Peter, 
October 6, 1704; Elizabeth, February 7, 
1706; Grace, October 20, 1707; Comfort, 
August 9, 1709; Deborah, July 15, 1711. 

(III) Israel (2) Shaw, third son of 
Israel (1) Shaw, was born August 28, 
1697, in Little Compton, and lived in that 
town. He married, August 10, 1721, Abi- 
gail Palmer, born April 5, 1702, in Little 
Compton, died 1790, daughter of William 
and Mary (Richmond) Palmer. Children: 
Lemuel, born September 6, 1722; Blake, 
February 21, 1724; Parthenia, March 19, 
1725; Eunice, October 7, 1728; Lois, died 
young; Lillis, March 26, 1733; Merebah, 
November 2, 1736; Israel, May 28, 1739; 
Lois, January 7, 1742; Seth, mentioned 
below. 

(IV) Seth Shaw, youngest child of Is- 
rael (2) and Abigail (Palmer) Shaw, was 
born November 6, 1745, in Little Comp- 
ton, and died there, January 17, 1835. He 
was a soldier of the Revolution in Colonel 
Crary's regiment, in 1776, as evidenced by 
a payroll showing him entitled to six 
pounds, five shillings and seven pence. 
He married (first) in 1768, Elizabeth, sur- 
name unknown. He married (second) 
November 5, 1772, Priscilla Church, 
daughter of William and Parnel Church. 
He married (third) November 2.4, 1776, 
Mary Davenport, of Tiverton, daughter 
of John and Elizabeth Davenport, of that 
town, born May 1, 1741 (see Davenport 
III). There was one child of the first 
marriage : Elizabeth, born November 9, 
1769; and one of the second: Lemuel, 
March 23, 1774. Children of third mar- 
riage: Seth, born July 2, 1778; Priscilla, 
September 22, 1780; Timothy, mentioned 
below. 

(V) Timothy Shaw, youngest child of 
Seth and Mary (Davenport) Shaw, was 
born April 4, 1782, in Little Compton, and 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



died there about November I, 1835. He 
married, March 4, 1804, Clarissa Allen, 
born June 6, 1784, in Middletown, Rhode 
Island, daughter of William and Lucy 
(Little) Allen (see Allen V), died about 
the same time as her husband, according 
to Little Compton Congregational church 
records. Children : Seth, mentioned be- 
low; Mary Taylor, born March 12, 1807; 
Allen, June 24, 1809; Major Willis, Sep- 
tember 16, 181 1 ; William Pitt, February 
15, 1814; Bradford Cornhill, July 15, 
1817; Abigail Palmer, July 4, 1822; Ann 
Elizabeth, March 28, 1826. 

(VI) Seth (2) Shaw, eldest child of 
Timothy and Clarissa (Allen) Shaw, was 
born May 18, 1805, in Little Compton, 
and married there, September 12, 1830, 
Clarissa Westgate, of Tiverton, perhaps a 
daughter of Jonathan and Dorcas (Aus- 
tin) Westgate, Friends of that town. 

(VII) William Penn Shaw, son of Seth 
(2) and Clarissa (Westgate) Shaw, was 
born in Little Compton, and was a butcher. 
He early lived in Fair Haven, Massachu- 
setts, and when about twenty-six years of 
age located at Attleboro, where he resided 
until his death, which occurred October 
14, 1879. He married Susan E. Blossom 
(see Blossom VII), and their children 
were: 1. Horace B., born August 8, 1854, 
lives in Attleboro, where he was formerly 
engaged in the livery business. He mar- 
ried (first) Carrie A. Everett, and (sec- 
ond) Cora B. Mathews, and has one 
daughter by his first marriage, Gertrude 
Everett Shaw. 2. Ermina Chester, men- 
tioned below. 3. Sarah Alice, who died 
at the age of seven years. 4. Joseph 
Blossom, born in June, 1859, died Febru- 
ary 8, 1913. He married (first) Emily 
Bicknell, and (second) Margaret Craw- 
ford, and his children by the first marriage 
are: Mabel B., who married Ernest J. 
Qvarnstrom, of Attleboro ; Emily B. and 
Jesse Allen Shaw. 



(VIII) Ermina Chester Shaw, daugh- 
ter of William Penn and Susan E. (Blos- 
som) Shaw, was born January 27, 1856, 
in Fair Haven, Massachusetts, became the 
wife of Frederick William Lincoln, of 
Attleboro (see Lincoln X). 

(The Kent Line). 

Between 1633 and 1644 there came from 
England to New England three families 
bearing the surname Kent, who became 
the progenitors of three distinct lines. The 
first account of the Kent family occurs in 
the account of settlement of Ipswich, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1635. Under date of May 2, 
1643, the town records of Dedham state 
that "Joshuah Kent is admitted Towns- 
man & hath libertie to purchase Edward 
Culvers Lott." The records of the First 
Church of Dedham say that "Joshua Kent 
went for England with our testimoniall 
but to returne again 11m, 1644, m d he- 
returned 1645." " m d ye said Joshuah 
Kent, having brought ov'r 2 of his 
brothers & placed them in ye country, yet 
with his wife returned to England 10m 
1647." "md ye said Joshuah Kent upon 
ye trobles arising againe in England & 
wares ther 1648 he returned with his wife 
againe about ye 8m yt year." His brothers 
were named John and Joseph, and the 
three brothers were the founders of the 
Dedham line. The Kent English ancestry 
has not been traced, and it is not known 
what relationship existed, if any, between 
the Kents of Newbury, Gloucester and 
Dedham, Massachusetts. One of the most 
ancient coat-of-arms of the Kent family 
is: Gules, a chief argent. 

(I) Joseph Kent, of Braintree, on 
March 19, 1653, testified in a law suit be- 
tween the Widow Wilson and Thomas 
Faxon, both of Braintree, and in his testi- 
mony gave his age as sixteen years. It 
is well known that in 1644 Joseph, with 
his brother John, was brought from Eng- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



land by their brother Joshua, of Dedham, 
but their parentage or English birthplace 
is as yet unascertained. The fact that 
Joseph was but seven years of age, and 
his brother John but a little older, when 
brought from England, would indicate 
that they were left at least motherless, 
and perhaps orphans when very young. 
Joshua and John Kent settled in Dedham, 
while Joseph Kent, the ancestor of the 
line of Kents here following, was placed, 
it would seem, in the custody of his aunt, 
Elizabeth Hardier, of Braintree, and here 
he continued to reside until arriving at 
man's estate, when he married Susannah 
George, daughter of Peter George. About 
1660 Joseph Kent became a resident of 
Block Island, Rhode Island, which at this 
time was settled almost wholly by Brain- 
tree people. In May, 1664, the first as- 
sembly of Rhode Island established by 
the charter convened at Newport. The 
affairs of Block Island were arranged and 
settled at this first session, and Joseph 
Kent with two others were the "mes- 
sengers" or deputies from the island. On 
December 15, 1673, he was admitted an 
inhabitant of Swansea, and his name fre- 
quently appears in the records of the town 
after that date. In the court orders of 
Swansea he was mentioned to be pro- 
pounded a freeman, June 7, 1681, and on 
June 6, 1682, he was made a freeman. On 
July 7, 1681, he with others was appointed 
on a committee by the town of Swansea 
in the town's behalf for the regulation of 
differences in the division of Swansea 
lands. Another court record of the town 
reads : "In reference unto sixteen or sev- 
enteen bushells of corne taken from Jo- 
seph Kent of Swansea and improved for 
the reliefe of some souldiers in the time 
of the late Indian wars the Courtt have 
ordered that it or the value thereof to be 
repayed by the Treasurer." Joseph Kent 
was doubtless a farmer, and like thou- 



sands of others of the Pilgrims and Puri- 
tans who settled New England, he seems 
to have been an honest, an industrious 
and a God-fearing man. Possessing 
neither much of wealth or of education, 
their strong right arms and their fear of 
God became their best and only assets, 
the former assuring them a living wrung 
from the woods and the soil and the latter 
an honest and a sufficient government in 
a New World. Children of Joseph and 
Susannah (George) Kent : Joseph, men- 
tioned below ; Samuel, born 1668, died 
1737; Joshua, 1672, died August 11, 1675; 
Susannah, September 25, 1687, died Au- 
gust 10, 1774. 

(II) Joseph (2) Kent, eldest child of 
Joseph (1) and Susannah (George) Kent, 
was born 1665, on Block Island, Rhode 
Island, and died in Rumford, March 30, 
1735. He seems to have been brought up 
in Swansea, where he lived many years, 
going from there to Rehoboth, where the 
last of his children were born. While a 
resident of Swansea he was ensign and 
representative to the General Court, and 
in July, 1696, was a grand juryman at 
Bristol, Rhode Island. He married, No- 
vember 11, 1690, Dorothy Brown, daugh- 
ter of James Brown, granddaughter of 
John Brown. She was born October 29, 
1666, in Swansea, and died in Rumford, 
June 2, 1710. Her mother was Lydia 
(Howland) Brown, daughter of John 
Howland and his wife, Elizabeth (Tilley) 
Howland, who came in the "Mayflower." 
Hon. John Brown from 1637 to 1653 was 
governor's assistant in Plymouth Colony, 
and long a leading man of affairs, while 
his son James carried the last message to 
King Philip before the outbreak of war. 
Children of Joseph (2) Kent : Lydia, born 
March 15, 1692; Joseph, August 19, 1693; 
Dorothy, August 13, 1695; John, men- 
tioned below; Susanna, 1698, died young; 
Hezekiah, February 6, 1699; Susannah, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



March I, 1701 ; Mary, March 3, 1703; 
James, August 20, 1707. 

(III) John Kent, second son of Joseph 
(2) and Dorothy (Brown) Kent, was born 
August 9, 1697, in Rehoboth, Massachu- 
setts, died November 1, 1780. All his life 
he seems to have been a husbandman, 
minding his own affairs and holding or 
seeking no public office. In the inventory 
of his estate, which totalled some two 
thousand pounds, he is styled "gentle- 
man." He married, November 20, 1725, 
Rachel Carpenter, daughter of Nathaniel 
Carpenter, son of William (2) Carpenter, 
son of William (1) Carpenter. The Car- 
penter line has been traced into England 
for nine generations preceding this Wil- 
liam (1). The mother of Rachel Car- 
penter was Mary Preston, daughter of 
Daniel Preston, son of Daniel Preston, 
son of William Preston. Rachel Carpen- 
ter was born March 29, 1705, in Attleboro, 
Massachusetts, and died in Rehoboth 
about 1770. Children: Elijah, mentioned 
below; Dorothy, born March 4, 1729; 
John, April 8, 1732, died May 26, 1736; 
Nathaniel, November 12, 1734, died May 
10, 1756; Joseph, February 3, 1736, died 
January 8, 1804 ; John, May 9, 1739 ; Mary, 
August 18, 1 741, died February 7, 1766; 
Ezekiel, June 22, 1744; Remember, July 
28, 1746, died December 17, 1773; Re- 
becca, August 18, 1750, died September 
19, 1750. 

(IV) Elijah Kent, eldest child of John 
and Rachel (Carpenter) Kent, born De- 
cember 30, 1727, in Rehoboth, was re- 
ceived into the church there with his wife, 
May 19, 1754, and died September 22, 
1815. He married (intentions published 
March 3, 1753) Hannah Perrin, born Feb- 
ruary 23, 1729, in Rehoboth, daughter of 
Daniel and Abigail (Carpenter) Perrin. 
Children : Remember, born January 7, 
1754; Lydia, March 16, 1756; Hannah, 
September 12, 1759, died young; Hannah, 
mentioned below. 



(V) Hannah Kent, youngest child of 
Elijah and Hannah (Perrin) Kent, was 
born August 11, 1769, and became the 
wife of Jonathan (5) Bliss, of Rehoboth 
(see Bliss VIII). 

(The Davenport Line). 

There were several immigrants in Amer- 
ica in the days of its early settlement bear- 
ing this name, and the ancestry of the 
Connecticut branch has been traced in 
England for many generations. 

(I) Thomas Davenport was a member 
of the Dorchester church, November 20, 
1640, was a freeman, May 18, 1642, and 
served the town as constable in 1670. He 
purchased a house and lands, November 
25, 1653, an d his residence was on the east 
slope of Mount Bowdoin, near the corner 
of the present Union avenue and Bowdoin 
street, Dorchester. He purchased ad- 
ditional lands, February 5, 1665. After 
his death, which occurred November 9, 
1685, an inventory of his estate was made, 
amounting to £332, 16s. and 8d. His wife 
Mary joined the Dorchester church, 
March 8, 1644. She survived him nearly 
six years, dying October 4, 1691. Chil- 
dren : Sarah, born December 28, 1643 \ 
Thomas, baptized March 2, 1645; Mary, 
January 21, 1649; Charles, September 7, 
1652; Abigail, July 8, 1655; Mehitable, 
born February 14, 1657; Jonathan, men- 
tioned below ; Ebenezer, April 26, 1661 ; 
John, October 20, 1664. 

(II) Jonathan Davenport, third son of 
Thomas and Mary Davenport, was born 
in 1659, and died January II, 1729. He 
married, December 1, 1680, Hannah War- 
ren, born 1660, died January 14, 1729, in 
Little Compton. Children : Thomas, born 
Decmber 10, 1681 ; Jonathan, November 
3, 1684, died October 14, 1751 ; Hannah, 
December 23, 1686; Simeon, December 
2J, 1688, died December 8, 1763; Eben- 
ezer, September 2, 1691, died August 4, 
1776; John, mentioned below; Joseph, 



213 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



March 25, 1696, died September 2, 1760; 
Benjamin, October 6, 1698; Sarah, De- 
cember 10, 1700. 

(III) John Davenport, fifth son of Jona- 
than and Hannah (Warren) Davenport, 
was born January 12, 1694, in Little 
Compton, and died April 20, 1741. He 
married in Little Compton, June 15, 1726, 
Elizabeth Taylor, born January 4, 1701, 
daughter of Peter and Elizabeth Taylor. 
Children: Noah, born May 7, 1727, died 
March 5, 1818; Sarah, October 27, 1729; 
Jonathan, January 22, 1733; John; Eph- 
raim, July 2, 1736; Phebe, May 19, 1739; 
Mary, mentioned below. 

(IV) Mary Davenport, youngest child 
of John and Elizabeth (Taylor) Daven- 
port, was born May i, 1741, in Tiverton, 
eleven days after the death of her father, 
and was married by Rev. Othniel Camp- 
bell, November 24, 1776, to Seth Shaw, of 
Little Compton (see Shaw IV). 

(The Allen Line). 

This is one of the names most frequent- 
ly met in the United States, and is repre- 
sented by many distinct families. Its use 
arises from the Christian name, which is 
very ancient. In the roll of Battle Abbey, 
Fitz-Aleyne (son of Allen) appears, and 
the name comes down through the ages 
to the present. Alan, constable of Scot- 
land and Lord of Galloway and Cunning- 
ham, died in 1234. One of the first using 
Allen as a surname was Thomas Allen, 
sheriff of London, in 1414. Sir John 
Allen was mayor of London in 1524, Sir 
William Allen in 1571, and Sir Thomas 
Alleyn in 1659. Edward Allen (1566- 
1626), distinguished actor and friend of 
Shakespeare and Ben Johnson, founded 
in 1619 Dulwich College, with the stipu- 
lation that the master and secretary must 
always bear the name of Allen, and this 
curious condition has been easily fulfilled 
through the plentitude of scholars of the 



name. There are no less than fifty-five 
coats-of-arms of separate and distinct 
families of Allen in the United Kingdom, 
besides twenty others of different spell- 
ings. There were more than a score of 
emigrants of this surname, from almost 
as many different families, who left Eng- 
land before 1650 to settle in New Eng- 
land. The name in early times was spell- 
ed Allin, Alline, Ailing, Allyn, Allein and 
Allen, but the last is the orthography al- 
most universally used at the present day. 
It is found not only in the industrial but 
in the professional life of people who have 
stood for all that is noblest and best. It 
has been identified with the formative 
period of New England history, and from 
that region has sent out worthy represen- 
tatives. 

(I) William Allen, by tradition a na- 
tive of Wales, came to this country in 
1660, and is of record at Portsmouth (Pru- 
dence Island), Rhode Island, in 1683. He 
purchased a large tract of land, which in- 
cluded the subsequent village of Drown- 
ville (now West Barrington), built a 
house, and was resident of that place 
prior to 1670. Both he and his wife Eliza- 
beth died in the year 1685. Children: 
Mary ; William, mentioned below ; Thom- 
as, of Swansea, Massachusetts ; John, of 
North Kingstown, Rhode Island; Mat- 
thew, of Portsmouth, Warwick and North 
Kingstown ; Mercy ; Sarah ; and Benja- 
min, of Rehoboth, Massachusetts. 

(II) William (2) Allen, eldest son of 
William, (1) and Elizabeth Allen, lived 
in Portsmouth, which town he repre- 
sented in the General Court in 1705. He 
was fined six shillings and eight pence, 
December 13, 1687, for refusing to take 
the oath as a grand juror. This indicates 
that he was a Quaker, as was presumably 
his father, and suggests that the family 
may be connected with the ancient Allen 
family of Sandwich and Dartmouth. Wil- 



214 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



liam Allen had three sons, of whom the 
name of only one is preserved. 

(III) John Allen, son of William (2) 
Allen, was born December 27, 1691, in 
Portsmouth, where he resided, and died 
November 6, 1783, in his ninety-second 
year. His wife's name was Elizabeth. He 
may have lived in other towns, and was in 
Middletown in 1734, when one child is 
recorded there. 

(IV) Peleg Allen, son of John and 
Elizabeth Allen, was born March 21, 1734, 
in Middletown, where he made his home, 
and married there, December 29, 1759, 
Elizabeth Cornell, born May 17, 1740, in 
Portsmouth, daughter of William Cornell. 
Two children are recorded in Portsmouth, 
and others in Middletown, namely: Wil- 
liam, mentioned below ; Thomas Cornell, 
born December 14, 1762; Hannah, Octo- 
ber 16, 1765 ; Elizabeth, February 27, 
1768; Susannah, March 11, 1770; Abigail, 
August 1, 1772; Martha, July 22, 1775; 
Rachel, March 20, 1778; Anne, March 4, 
1781 ; Phebe, April 3, 1783. 

(V) William (3) Allen, eldest child of 
Peleg and Elizabeth (Cornell) Allen, was 
born April 17, 1760, in Portsmouth, and 
lived in Middletown, where he was mar- 
ried, August 12, 1781, by Rev. Jonathan 
Ellis, to Lucy Little, born August 23, 
1 761, in Little Compton, Rhode Island, 
daughter of Fobes (2) and Sarah (Wil- 
cox) Little, of that town (see Little V). 
Children: Ruth, born November 2, 1782; 
Clarissa, mentioned below; Nancy, Au- 
gust 11, 1787; Selma, January 9, 1790; 
George, September 22, 1792; William, 
May 15, 1794; Mary, June 4, 1797; Han- 
nah, April 11, 1799; Peleg, April 6, 1803; 
Thomas Cornell, September 29, 1807. 

(VI) Clarissa Allen, second daughter 
of William (3) and Lucy (Little) Allen, 
was born June 6, 1784, in Middletown, 
and was married in Little Compton, 
March 4, 1804, to Timothy Shaw, of 
Tiverton (see Shaw V). 



(The Blossom Line). 

The Blossom family of Fair Haven and 
New Bedford is one of the oldest in New 
England, dating back to the days of the 
Pilgrim Fathers. 

(I) Thomas Blossom, born in 1580, in 
England, was one of the Pilgrims who 
came from Leyden, Holland, to Plymouth, 
Massachusetts, but being on board of the 
"Speedwell" was disappointed of passage 
with the "Mayflower," from England, 
and soon went back to encourage emigra- 
tion of the residue. A son who came and 
returned with him died before December, 
1625, and two other children had been 
born in the interval. In 1629 he came 
again, probably in the "Mayflower." He 
was a deacon of the church, and died in 
the summer of 1632. His widow Ann 
married (second) October 17, 1633, an d in 
1639 they removed to Barnstable. Chil- 
dren of Thomas and Ann Blossom : Eliz- 
abeth, born 1620; Thomas, 1622; Peter, 
mentioned below. 

(II) Peter Blossom, son of Thomas and 
Ann Blossom, born about 1632, was a 
landowner and farmer in Barnstable, and 
died in July, 1706. He married, at Barn- 
stable, January 21, 1663, Sarah Bodfish. 
Children : Mercy, born April 9, 1664, died 
in 1670; Thomas, December 20, 1667; 
Sarah, 1669, died in 1671 ; Joseph, men- 
tioned below; Thankful, 1675; Mercy, 
August, 1678; Jabez. February 16, 1680. 

(III) Joseph Blossom,, second son of 
Peter and Sarah (Bodfish) Blossom, was 
born December 10, 1673, and married 
(first) June 17, 1696, Mary Pinchon ; (sec- 
ond) in 1708, Mary ; and (third) 

in 1720, Mehetabel . Children: 

Joseph, born March 14, 1704; Mary, De- 
cember 11, 1709; Thankful, March 25, 
171 1 ; Benjamin, mentioned below. 

(IV) Benjamin Blossom, youngest child 
of Joseph and Mehetabel Blossom, born 
March, 1721, died October 25, 1797, and 
was buried in the cemetery at Acushnet. 



215 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He married, October 31, 1751, Bathsheba 
Percival, born December 21, 1725. Chil- 
dren: Benjamin, born August 18, 1753; 
Ansel, April 6, 1755 ; Mary, March 2, 1758; 
Samuel, May 26, 1760; Joseph, mentioned 
below; Elisha, August 23, 1767, was kill- 
ed in a naval engagement in the War of 
1812. 

(V) Joseph (2) Blossom, fourth son of 
Benjamin and Bathsheba (Percival) Blos- 
son, was born December 4, 1763, and mar- 
ried Elizabeth Hathaway. 

(VI) Joseph (3) Blossom, son of Jo- 
seph (2) and Elizabeth (Hathaway) Blos- 
som, was born in 1793, and married Bet- 
sey Copeland. 

(VII) Susan E. Blossom, daughter of 
Joseph (3) and Betsey (Copeland) Blos- 
som, became the wife of William Penn 
Shaw (see Shaw VII). 

(The Little Line). 

(I) Thomas Little, a native of England, 
the first of the name in New England, a 
lawyer by profession, located in Plym- 
outh, Massachusetts, in 1630, and died in 
Scituate, same colony, March 12, 1672. In 
1650 he settled in Marshfield, and owned 
one thousand acres of land in the section 
now called Sea View. In 1643 he was a 
member of the Plymouth Military Com- 
pany. He married, in Plymouth, April 19, 
1633, Anne Warren, born 161 1, in Eng- 
land, died 1675, a daughter of Richard 
Warren, one of the "Mayflower" passen- 
gers, and signer of the Compact made No- 
vember 11, 1620, in the cabin of that ves- 
sel, while lying in Provincetown Harbor. 
Children: Thomas, Samuel, Ephraim, 
Isaac, Hannah, Mary, Ruth and Patience. 

(II) Ephraim Little, son of Thomas 
and Anne (Warren) Little, was born May 
17, 1650, in Marshfield, represented that 
town in the General Court in 1697, 1699, 
and 1705, and died November 24, 1717, in 
Scituate. He married, November 22, 1672, 

216 



Mary Sturtevant, born December 7, 165 1, 
in Plymouth, died February 10, 1718, 
daughter of Samuel and Ann Sturtevant, 
of Plymouth. Children : Ann, born Au- 
gust 23, 1673; Ruth, died young; Eph- 
raim, September 27, 1676; David, March 
17, 1681 ; John, mentioned below ; Mary, 
July 7, 1685 ; Ruth, November 23, 1686. 

(III) John Little, third son of Eph- 
raim and Mary (Sturtevant) Little, was 
born March 17, 1683, in Marshfield, where 
he made his home, and died February 26, 
1767. The house which he built in 1720 
is still standing, and owned by one of his 
descendants. He was representative to 
the General Court in 1728, 1737, 1745, 
1750-51 and 1755. By his will he gave to 
each of his daughters a negro slave 
woman, and to each of his sons a farm. 
He married, April 8, 1708, Constance 
Fobes, born 1686, in Little Compton, 
Rhode Island, daughter of Lieutenant 
William and Martha (Peabody) Fobes, 
granddaughter of William and Elizabeth 
(Alden) Peabody, the last named a 
daughter of John and Priscilla (Mullins) 
Alden, of the "Mayflower." Two chil- 
dren are recorded in Little Compton : 
Fobes, mentioned below, and Joseph, born 
May 6, 1719. 

(IV) Fobes Little, son of John and 
Constance (Fobes) Little, was born 
March 9, 1712, graduated from Harvard 
College in 1734, and died in Little Comp- 
ton, 1795. He married, in 1738, in Little 
Compton, Sarah, whose surname is not 
preserved. 

(V) Fobes (2) Little, son of Fobes (1) 
and Sarah Little, was born about 1738, 
and married, in Little Compton, July 28, 
1758, Sarah Wilcox, born July 16, 1740, 
in that town, daughter of Ephraim and 
Mary (Pierce) Wilcox, granddaughter of 
Edward Wilcox. Children : Lucy, men- 
tioned below ; Nathaniel, born March 16, 
1764; William, January 3, 1768; Eph- 





£^%Z> 



'/6<sZs?^yZs*tZp^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



raim, 1770; Nancy, October 20, 1772; 
Mary, January 17, 1775; Sarah, July 4, 
1779; Fobes, October 11, 1781 ; Thomas, 
August 17, 1784. 

(VI) Lucy Little, eldest child of Fobes 
(2) and Sarah (Wilcox) Little, was born 
August 23, 1 761, in Little Compton, and 
married in Middletown, Rhode Island, 
August 12, 1781, to William Allen, of that 
town (see Allen V). 



SWEENEY, George A., 

Merchant, Public Official. 

Mary E. Bowman, daughter of David 
Sands .and Anna (Burdick) Bowman, 
was married, July 9, 1872, to George A. 
Sweeney, who was born in Searsport, 
Maine, son of John and Lady Katherine 
(Collins) Sweeney. Children: 1. Kath- 
erine C, married Walter F. King, of 
Attleboro, and they have two children : 
Walter F., Jr., and Elizabeth Brewster 
King. 2. Anna Gertrude, married Wil- 
liard M. Whitman, and they reside at 
Swampscot, Massachusetts, the parents 
of one child, Evlyn Whitman. 3. George 
A., Jr., married Grace Brett, who died 
February 9, 1916, leaving one child, Elsie 
Brett Sweeney. 4. Mary Elizabeth, mar- 
ried Edmund Reeves, Jr., and they reside 
in Attleboro, Massachusetts. 

George A. Sweeney was born of farm- 
ing parents, in the little seacoast town of 
Searsport, Maine. As the result of an 
early call to obtain his livelihood, he 
sailed away upon a sea voyage. Four of 
his brothers having been lost at sea while 
engaged in the merchant marine service, 
however, had a depressing effect upon 
him and he forsook the sea, and being a 
youth of studious habits, he turned his 
attention to work more congenial to his 
temperament, and for a time was engaged 
in teaching school. The opportunities in 
a small seacoast town were few, so he 



thought of the Old Bay State, conceiving 
the idea that here were greater chances 
of advancement. At an early age he 
reached the town of Attleboro, Massachu- 
setts, but as he did not immediately find 
employment as a teacher, he turned his 
attention to what first came to his mind, 
which proved to be the trade of tinsmith- 
ing. A strong characteristic of his was 
faithfulness and a dogged persistence to 
acquire a thorough knowledge of what- 
ever he undertook to do. He worked at 
this time at Leach's store on Park street ; 
later he purchased the store now occu- 
pied by the Nahum Perry Company, on 
Railroad avenue; after a few years he 
moved into the store since known as 
Sweeney's Emporium. The tinsmith 
trade was finally abandoned and he start- 
ed a housefurnishing business, which, 
with his energy, shrewdness and indus- 
try, he developed until it stands to-day a 
large and high-grade business. Since his 
death the affairs of the firm have been 
well conducted by his son, George A. 
Sweeney, Jr. 

At one time Mr. Sweeney's sole inter- 
est in local affairs was his service in the 
fire department, which he served faith- 
fully, becoming assistant engineer. His 
interest ever remained unabated, but the 
excitement at the time of a fire proved too 
much for his health, obliging him to re- 
sign, although he still delighted in the 
upbuilding of the town's fire department. 

His marriage with Mary Elizabeth 
Bowman occurred soon after his estab- 
lishment of the housefurnishing business. 
Mr. Sweeney strongly believed that a 
man's place was in the home circle, and 
in his later years he devotedly gave of 
himself to his family. They had a sum- 
mer home at West Falmouth, Massachu- 
setts, where he was a summer visitor for 
many years and became well known 
throughout the district. 



217 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



His tenacity of purpose and his suc- 
cessful business qualities were fully in 
play and benefited the town during the 
years he was a member of the Board of 
Selectmen. His applied work was seen 
in the abolition of grade crossings, policy 
in street improvements, and in the up- 
building of various town departments. In 
fact, in all the big local enterprises he ac- 
complished fine work, as the changes 
came to a village, conservative, provin- 
cial and more or less active, develop- 
ing to a city's population. After com- 
pleting a term as postmaster, he was 
elected in 1898 to the Board of Select- 
men. Many times he presided as chair- 
man during the fifteen years he was re- 
turned to the board. Mr. Sweeney was 
a member of Orient Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows ; Attleboro Lodge, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks ; 
Pythagoras Lodge, Knights of Pythias ; 
Pennington Lodge, Ancient Order of 
United Workmen ; and the Royal Ar- 
canum. 

Mr. Sweeney passed away at the age 
of sixty-one years, from an acute attack 
of heart trouble, his illness covering a 
period of several months. His passing 
took from the town one who for a long 
period of years held a unique place in the 
political and business life of the commu- 
nity. There was a prayer service at his 
late home, No. 52 Holman street, after 
which the body was escorted to the Sec- 
ond Congregational Church, where the 
services were public. The Odd Fellows 
were in charge. The honorary pall bear- 
ers were composed of the heads of all dif- 
ferent town departments, namely : Se- 
lectmen, Millard F. Ashley ; assessors, 
Walter J. Newman ; schools, Benjamin P. 
King; water department, Harry P. Kent; 
library trustees, Dr. Charles S. Holden ; 
sewer commissioners, Hugh A. Smith ; 
town clerk, Frank I. Babcock ; overseers 
of the poor, Joseph V. Curran ; board of 



health, Stephen J. Foley ; police, Charles 
E. Wilbur; fire department, Hiram R. 
Packard ; board of trade, Frank I. Moss- 
berg. There were bearers chosen from 
each lodge of which Mr. Sweeney was a 
member. The flag on the common was 
placed at half mast, and the selectmen 
issued a request that all stores should be 
closed between the hours of three and 
four on the afternoon of Mr. Sweeney's 
funeral. 

Mrs. Mary Elizabeth (Bowman) 
Sweeney was born in the town of Fal- 
mouth, county of Barnstable, State of 
Massachusetts, daughter of David Sands 
and Anna Goodson (Burdick) Bowman, 
granddaughter of David and Lois 
(Hatch) Bowman, and great-granddaugh- 
ter of Joseph and Rose Hatch. Joseph 
Hatch was a Revolutionary soldier, serv- 
ing his country in the capacity of pri- 
vate soldier, sergeant and secret service 
man. He enlisted from Falmouth in a 
company commanded by Captain Ward 
Swift, of Sandwich. He served in a sec- 
ret expedition to Rhode Island, October, 
1777; afterwards he was sergeant under 
Captain Joseph Palmer, Colonel Free- 
man's regiment, and served in that capac- 
ity at Falmouth and Dartmouth, Septem- 
ber, 1778; also at Dartmouth, February 
4, April 2 and May 16, 1779; roll sworn 
to in Barnstable county. She is also a 
direct descendant of Captain Ichabod 
Burdick, of the Rhode Island Artillery in 
the Revolutionary War. 

Mrs. Sweeney is a member of All 
Saints' Episcopal Church, and has ren- 
dered faithful service in the various 
church departments. During the years 
191 1 and 1912, Mrs. Sweeney was regent 
of Attleboro Chapter, Daughters of the 
American Revolution, of which she is a 
valued member. She has for many years 
been a member of the Eaterio, a literary 
club, and is also a member of Attleboro 
Woman's Club. 
18 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



CUSHMAN, Everett Morton, 

Representative Citizen. 

The Cushman family of Taunton, here 
briefly reviewed, is a branch of the fam- 
ily bearing the name of ancient Plymouth, 
which with its allied connections is one 
of the historic families of New England. 
Its progenitor, though of short life in 
New England, was one of the leading 
spirits in all the preliminary movements 
in both England and Holland incident to 
the coming of the "Mayflower" Pilgrims 
to New England, where his descendants 
soon allied themselves with those of the 
"Mayflower" passengers. 

(I) Robert Cushman, a wool carder of 
Canterbury, England, was associated 
with William Brewster as agent of the 
Leyden church in negotiations for re- 
moval, and came to New England in the 
"Fortune" in 1621, bringing with him his 
only son, Thomas. He returned to Eng- 
land on business of the colony, and died 
there in 1626, leaving his son Thomas in 
the care of Governor Bradford. It is well 
known that Robert Cushman was among 
the eighteen or twenty persons left at 
Plymouth when the "Mayflower" made 
her final departure from England. When 
the Pilgrims came to Southampton from 
Holland he was there, having gone ahead 
of them to England, and he was among 
them when they set sail from that port, 
only to put back into Dartmouth. They 
started again, and again returned, this 
time going into Plymouth, whence they 
made their final departure. Robert Cush- 
man was, therefore, a passenger on the 
"Mayflower" from the time she left 
Southampton until she left Plymouth. 
Governor Bradford says, "He" (meaning 
Christopher Martin) "was Governor in 
the bigger ship ; and Master Cushman, 
Assistant." At the bottom of one of the 
panels of the Forefathers' Monument at 



Plymouth is this statement : "Robert 
Cushman, who chartered the May Flower 
and was active and prominent in securing 
the success of the Pilgrim Enterprise, 
came in the Fortune, 1621." He married 
as his second wife, at Leyden, Holland, 
June 3, 1617, Mary, widow of Thomas 
Chingleton, of Sandwich, England. An 
extended account of the succeeding gen- 
erations of this family is given elsewhere 
in this work, including Thomas, who ac- 
companied his father to Plymouth in 1621 
in the ship "Fortune," and became an im- 
portant man here in church and colony. 
He was chosen and ordained elder of the 
Plymouth church in 1649, an( l was forty- 
three years in that office. He married 
Mary Allerton, of the "Mayflower," and 
their son, Thomas (2) Cushman, lived to 
be eighty-nine years of age. He was the 
father of Benjamin Cushman, who lived 
on a part of his father's farm, in a home 
on the south side of or near to Colchester 
brook. He married Sarah Eaton, and 
their eldest child, Jabez Cushman, was 
the father of Zebedee Cushman, who was 
a private in Captain William Crow Col- 
ton's company, Colonel Josiah Whitney's 
regiment, from July 29 to September 13, 
1778, serving one month and sixteen days 
in Rhode Island. He also served as a 
private in Captain William Tupper's com- 
pany, Colonel Ebenezer White's regi- 
ment, which marched to Rhode Island on 
the alarm of August 1, 1780, discharged 
August 8, roll sworn to at Middleboro. 
He married Sarah Padelford, of Taunton. 
(VII) Alvah Cushman, youngest child 
of Zebedee and Sarah (Padelford) Cush- 
man, was born October 10, 1797, in Taun- 
ton, where he made his home. He mar- 
ried, November 27, 1818, Sally Leonard, 
daughter of William Leonard. She was a 
strong and forceful character, and her in- 
fluence was a potent factor in the up- 
bringing of her children. These children 
:i 9 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



were: David, born July 15, 1820; Horatio 
Leonard, October 22, 1826; Sally M., July 
29, 1830; Christianna L., January 7, 1832; 
William, August 28, 1834; Harriet F., Oc- 
tober 14, 1837 ; William H., mentioned be- 
low. 

(VIII) William H. Cushman, young- 
est child of Alvah and Sally (Leonard) 
Cushman, was born November 2, 1839, * n 
Taunton, and spent his entire life in his 
native place. For many years he was a 
nail maker with his brother David, and 
was well known and beloved by all. He 
was a member of Alfred Baylies Lodge, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, and 
held office in it for many years. He died 
at Taunton, August 27, 1901. He mar- 
ried Joanna Harlow, born October 12, 
1840, daughter of John B. and Rebecca 
(Reed) Paine, the mother being a daugh- 
ter of Levi and Lucy (Doten) Reed, of 
Plymouth. Mrs. Cushman is now a resi- 
dent of New Bedford. Children : Henry 
Presbrey, born October 8, i860, died 
March 9, 1861 ; Herbert Elsworth, born 
January 1, 1862; Albert Francis, born 
March 21, 1864, died November 17, 1884; 
William Alvah, born March 30, 1871, re- 
sides in New Bedford, and is connected 
with the Southern Massachusetts Tele- 
phone Company ; Jennie Edith, born Jan- 
uary 12, 1874, married, September 8, 1897, 
Lewis Bright Barker, now of Central 
Falls, Rhode Island, and they have one 
son, Winston Cushman, born December 
25, 1899; Everett Morton, mentioned be- 
low; Grace Reed, born January 31, 1881, 
died August 29, 1882; Bessie May, born 
February 24, 1883, married, July 6, 1910, 
Francis N. Smith, and resides in New 
Bedford. 

(IX) Everett Morton Cushman, fifth 
son of William H. and Joanna Harlow 
(Paine) Cushman, was born February 16, 
1876, and resides in New Bedford, where 
he is superintendent of the Holmes Manu- 



facturing Company. He married, July 19, 
1905, Adelaide Louise Miner, daughter of 
Howard and Josephine (Hutchens) 
Miner (see Miner VIII). They have one 
son, Robert Miner, born October 16, 1906. 
Mrs. Cushman is a member of Fort 
Phenix Chapter, Daughters of the Amer- 
ican Revolution, of New Bedford, of 
which she is auditor, and is quite active 
in the Young Women's Christian Asso- 
ciation of that city. 

(The Miner Line). 

The origin and early ancestry of the 
Miner family in England is as follows : 
Edward III., of England, going to war 
against the French, marched through 
"Somersetshire, came to Mendippe hills, 
where lived Henry Miner, who with all 
carefulness and loyalty, having convened 
his domestic and menial servants armed 
with battle axes, proffered himself and 
them to his master's service, making up a 
complete hundred." For this service he 
was granted the coat-of-arms : Gules a 
fesse between three plates argent. 

(I) Henry Miner, mentioned above, 
died in 1359. Children : Henry, Edward, 
Thomas, George. 

(II) Henry (2) Miner, son of Henry 
(1) Miner, married Henriette Hicks, 
daughter of Edward Hicks, of Gloucester. 
Children : William ; Henry, who served 
in 1384 under Richard II. 

(III) William Miner, son of Henry (2) 
Miner, married Hobbs, of Wilt- 
shire. Children : Thomas ; George, lived 
in Shropshire. 

(IV) Thomas Miner, son of William 
Miner, lived in Herefordshire, in 1399; 
married a daughter of Cotton Gresslap, 
of Staffordshire. Children : Lodowick, 
George, Mary. 

(V) Lodowick Miner, son of Thomas 
Miner, married Anne Dyer, daughter of 
Thomas Dyer, of Staughton, Hunting- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



donshire. Children : Thomas, mentioned 
below; George and Arthur (twins), born 
1438, served in the house of Austria. 

(VI) Thomas (2) Miner, son of Lodo- 
wick Miner, was born in 1436. He mar- 
ried Bridget, daughter of Sir George 
Hervie, of St. Martin's, County Middle- 
sex. He died in 1480, leaving two chil- 
dren to the tutorage of the mother, but 
she resigned them to her father and 
turned to monastic life in Datford. 

(VII) William (2) Miner, son of 
Thomas (2) Miner, married Isabella Har- 
cope de Folibay, and lived to revenge the 
death of the two young princes slain in 
the Tower by their uncle, Richard III. 
Children : William, George, Thomas, 
Robert, Nathaniel, John, and four others. 

(VIII) William (3) Miner, son of Wil- 
liam (2) Miner, was buried at Chew 
Magna, February 23, 1585. Children : 
Clement, Elizabeth. 

(IX) Clement Miner, son of William 
(3) Miner, died March 31, 1640, at Chew 
Magna. Children: Clement, married 
Sarah Pope ; Thomas, mentioned below ; 
Elizabeth ; Mary. (This English line was 
prepared while the American ancestor 
was living). 

(I) Thomas (3) Miner, son of Clement 
Miner, was the American ancestor of the 
family. He was born in Chew Magna, 
County Somerset, England, April 23, 
1608, and died in Quiambaugh, a part of 
Stonington, Connecticut, October 23, 
1690. He came to this country in 1630, 
in the ship "Arabella," and settled in 
Charlestown, Massachusetts. He served 
in the colonial wars. In 1636 he removed 
to Hingham, Massachusetts, where he re- 
mained until 1646, when he settled in 
Pequot, now New London, Connecticut. 
In 1652 he settled in Stonington, where 
he resided the remainder of his life. He 
was one of the committee chosen to de- 
termine the boundary lines between Con- 



necticut and Rhode Island. He married,. 
April 23, 1634, in Charlestown, Grace, 
daughter of Walter Palmer. She sur- 
vived him only a few weeks, dying the 
same year, 1690. Children : John, born 
1636, in Charlestown. In Hingham : 
Clement, baptized March 4, 1638; 
Thomas, baptized May 10, 1640; Eph- 
raim, mentioned below ; Joseph, baptized 
August 25, 1644. In New London : Ma- 
nasseh, April 23, 1647; Ann, April 28, 
1649; Maria, 1650; Samuel, March 4, 
1652, served in King Philip's war. In 
Stonington: Hannah, September 15, 1655. 

(II) Ephraim Miner, son of Thomas 
(3) and Grace (Palmer) Miner, was born 
in Hingham, Massachusetts, where he 
was baptized May 1, 1642, and died May 
16, 1724, aged eighty-two years. He went 
with his parents to New London, and to 
Quiambaugh (Stonington), in 1653, and 
the place on which they settled in this 
town has remained in the family until the 
present time. He served in King Philip's 
war, 1675. He was buried in Taughwonk. 
He married, January 20, 1666, Hannah 
Avery, who died August 22, 1721. Chil- 
dren, born at Stonington : Ephraim, June 
22, 1668; Thomas, December 17, 1669; 
Hannah, April 21, 1671 ; Rebecca, Sep- 
tember, 1672; Elizabeth, April, 1674; 
Samuel, December, 1676; Deborah, April 
15, 1678; Samuel, August, 1681 ; James, 
mentioned below; Grace, September, 
1683 ; John, April 19, 1685 ; son and daugh- 
ter, born and died March 21, 1687. 

(III) James Miner, fifth son of Eph- 
raim and Hannah (Avery) Miner, was 
born in November, 1682, in Stonington, 
and married there, February 22, 1705, 
Abigail Eldredge. Children : James, born 
October 28, 1707; Charles, mentioned be- 
low; Jerviah, October 8, 171 1; Daniel, 
January 24, 1713; Abigail, August 18, 

I7I5- 

(IV) Charles Miner, second son of 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



James and Abigail (Eldredge) Miner, 
was born March 14, 1709, in Stonington, 
and married there, December 9, 1740, 
Mary, widow of Isaac Wheeler, and 
daughter of Thomas and Mary (Miner) 
Wheeler. Children : Charles, born Octo- 
ber 3, 1741 ; Thomas, mentioned below; 
Christopher, March 16, 1745; Mary, Au- 
gust 1, 1746; Daniel, June 21, 1749; Abi- 
gail, November 8, 1756. 

(V) Thomas (4) Miner, second son of 
Charles and Mary (Wheeler) Miner, was 
born March 11, 1743, in Stonington, and 
there married (first) September 8, 1765, 
Mary Page, born January 30, 1749, daugh- 
ter of Joseph (2) and Mary (Hewitt) 
Page, of Stonington. He married (sec- 
ond) Lydia York, born December 28, 
1760, daughter of John and Anna (Brown) 
York, of Stonington (see York V). There 
was a Thomas Miner, who served nine 
days in a New London company on the 
Lexington Alarm of April 19, 1775. He 
may have been the Thomas Miner who 
was killed in the engagement with the 
English at Groton, September 6, 1781. 
Children of first marriage : Persis, born 
December 20, 1766; Priscilla, April 26, 
1769; Asher, January 30, 1772; Adam, 
July 5, 1774; Roswell, August 29, 1776; 
Sally, May 6, 1779; Phebe, November 5, 
1781 ; Betsey, August 23, 1783. Of sec- 
ond marriage: Oliver, December 14, 
1791 ; Ralph R., August 16, 1793; Lydia, 
1797; Abby, 1800; Ezra D., mentioned be- 
low ; Lawrence, 1803. 

(VI) Deacon Ezra D. Miner, sixth son 
of Thomas (4) Miner, and third child of 
his second wife, Lydia (York) Miner, 
was born March 12, 1802, in Stonington, 
and lived in that town, where he died. 
He married Desire Hewitt, born Septem- 
ber 27, 1803, in Stonington, daughter of 
Benjamin and Desire (Babcock) Hewitt, 
of that town (see Hewitt VI). Children : 
Susan, Emily, Mary, Howard. 



(VII) Howard Miner, only son of Dea- 
con Ezra D. and Desire (Hewitt) Miner, 
was born June 5, 1833, in North Stoning- 
ton, where he grew to manhood, and soon 
after attaining his majority settled in 
Dane county, Wisconsin, where he fol- 
lowed farming for several years. Re- 
turning to New England he was for some 
years superintendent of the Robert 
Knight farm in the town of Warwick, 
Kent county, Rhode Island. After he re- 
tired he made his home in New Bedford, 
Massachusetts, where he died September 
22, 1914. He served as a soldier in the 
Civil War, being a member of Company 
E, Twenty-first Connecticut Regiment, in 
which he won promotion to the rank of 
sergeant. He married in Wisconsin, July 
19, 1865, Josephine Hutchens, born Feb- 
ruary 22, 1844, at Bath, New York, lived 
with George and Phebe Buten. Children : 
George, died in infancy ; Howard, died 
young; Ezra, resides in East Greenwich, 
Rhode Island, married Jennie Adams, of 
Natick, Rhode Island ; Emogene, married 
Frank Gray, of Koshkonong, Wisconsin ; 
Adelaide Louise, mentioned below. 

(VIII) Adelaide Louise Miner, young- 
est child of Howard and Josephine 
(Hutchens) Miner, became the wife of 
Everett Morton Cushman, of New Bed- 
ford (see Cushman IX). 

(The York Line). 

(I) James York was born in 1614, and 
died in 1683, aged sixty-nine years. He 
came to this country in 1635, when he 
was twenty-one years of age, in the ship 
"Philip," which sailed June 20, 1635, from 
Gravesend, England, for Virginia. If 
they landed in Virginia, James York did 
not remain there long. He doubtless came 
north soon after his arrival, and the first 
record found of him is in Braintree, Mas- 
sachusetts. In 1660 he settled in Ston- 
ington, Connecticut, when it was under 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the jurisdiction of Massachusetts and 
called Southerton. He settled on grants 
of land which included the present farm 
of Gideon P. Chesebrough, east of An- 
guilla or Wequetequock brook, also the 
farm of Erastus D. Miner and the Simon 
Rhodes place; he built a house on the 
north side of the Indian path, now known 
as the old Post road, and there he lived 
the remainder of his life. His wife Joan- 
nah, whom he married about 1637, died in 
1685. Children: Abigail, born about 
1638 or 1639; James, mentioned below. 

(II) James (2) York, son of James (1) 
and Joannah York, was born June 14, 
1648, and died October 26, 1676. He 
doubtless came to Stonington with his 
father when a boy, as his name is men- 
tioned in several records before 1672. In 
that year he sold his estate in Boston, 
where he had been engaged in business, 
and settled in Stonington. On January 
15, 1667, one hundred acres of land were 
laid out to him, and he also received land 
for services in the Indian wars. He was 
made freeman in Connecticut in 1673. He 
married, in Stonington, January 19, 1669, 
Deborah Bell, daughter of Thomas and 
Anne Bell. She married (second) March 
12, 1679, Henry Elliot, and had seven 
children. Children of James and Deborah 
(Bell) York: Deborah Bell, born Janu- 
ary 8, 1670, died February 21, 1672 ; James, 
born December 17, 1672; William, July 
26, 1674; Thomas, mentioned below. 

(III) Thomas York, youngest child of 
James (2) and Deborah (Bell) York, was 
born October 17, 1676, in Stonington, 
where he made his home, and married, 
January 3, 1704, Mary Brown, born there 
May 26, 1683, daughter of Thomas and 
Hannah (Collins) Brown. Children : Wil- 
liam, born October 3, 1705; Mary, Octo- 
ber 17, 1710; Thankful, April 23, 1712; 
Thomas, January 24, 1714; John, men- 
tioned below; Joseph, January 22, 1718; 



Deborah, January 13, 1720; Collins, 1722; 
Bell, 1725. 

(IV) John York, third son of Thomas 
and Mary (Brown) York, was born 
March 16, 1716, in Stonington, and mar- 
ried, July 30, 1743, Anna Brown, of that 
town. Children: John, born July 30, 
1744; Anna, died young; Anna, born July 
17, 1755; Lucy, August 31, 1758; Lydia, 
mentioned below; Martha, April 17, 1762. 

(V) Lydia York, third daughter of 
John and Anna (Brown) York, was born 
December 28, 1760, in Stonington, and 
became the wife of Thomas (2) Miner, of 
that town (see Miner V). 

(The Hewitt Line). 

(I) Thomas Hewitt was in Stonington, 
Connecticut, as early as 1651, and was in 
command of a vessel owned by Thomas 
Miner, in 1656. He purchased land on 
the east side of Mystic river, where the 
Elm Grove Cemetery of Stonington is 
now located. In 1662 he sailed for the 
West Indies with a cargo of live stock, 
and was never heard from again. He 
married, April 26, 1659, Hannah, daugh- 
ter of Walter Palmer, who came from 
Nottingham, England, resided for some 
time in Charlestown, Massachusetts, was 
later in Rehoboth, and finally purchased 
about twelve hundred acres in what is 
now Stonington, on which he resided 
until his death, November 19, 1661. His 
second wife, Rebecca (Short) Palmer, 
was the mother of Hannah, wife of 
Thomas Hewitt. She married (second) 
December 27, 1671, Roger Sterry, and 
(third) as his second wife, John Fish. 
Thomas Hewitt left two sons, Thomas, 
born May 20, 1660, and Benjamin, men- 
tioned below. 

(II) Benjamin Hewitt, second son of 
Thomas and Hannah (Palmer) Hewitt, 
was born in 1662, in Stonington, and mar- 
ried there, September 24, 1683, Marie 



223 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Fanning, daughter of Edmund and Ellen 
Fanning. Children : Benjamin, born 
1688; Israel, 1691 ; and Tabitha, all bap- 
tized July 24, 1692; Mary, baptized Au- 
gust 12, 1694; Joseph, December 13, 1696; 
Elkanah, mentioned below ; Hannah, 
June 29, 1701 ; Henry, July 30, 1704; Con- 
tent, April 3, 1708. 

(III) Elkanah Hewitt, third son of 
Benjamin and Marie (Fanning) Hewitt, 
was baptized May 7, 1699, in Stonington, 
where he lived, and married, in 1722, 
Temperance Keeney. Children : Elkanah, 
born May 10, 1723; Thankful, February 
23, 1726; Sarah, March 26, 1729; Henry, 
mentioned below; Arthur, August 8, 
1732; Tabitha, December 7, 1735; Jonas, 
November 2, 1737 ; Simeon, March 9, 1739. 

(IV) Henry Hewitt, second son of El- 
kanah and Temperance (Keeney) Hewitt, 
was born August 10, 1730, in Stonington, 
where he made his home. He married 
(first) Sarah Keeney. He married (sec- 
ond) January 2, 1772, Phebe Prentice, 
born February 22, 1738, in Stonington, 
daughter of Deacon Samuel and Abigail 
(Billings) Prentice. He married (third) 
Mrs. Content Wheeler Palmer. Chil- 
dren: Joseph and Benjamin (twins), born 
August 8, 1774; Amos, November 14, 
1776; Phebe, December 9, 1778; Prentice, 
married Peggy Brown. 

(V) Benjamin (2) Hewitt, son of 
Henry and Phebe (Prentice) Hewitt, was 
born August 8, 1774, in Stonington, and 
married Desire Babcock. Children : De- 
sire, died young; Sarah, born January 17, 
1802 ; Desire, mentioned below ; Phebe, 
August 24, 1806; Emmilla, June 19, 1808; 
Benjamin Babcock, October 11, 181 1 ; Jo- 
seph Denison, November 15, 1815; Mary 
Louise, April 13, 1818; Francis M., March 
25, 1820. 

(VI) Desire Hewitt, third daughter of 
Benjamin (2) and Desire (Babcock) 
Hewitt, was born September 27, 1803, in 



Stonington, and was married, October 9, 
1823, to Deacon Ezra D. Miner, of that 
town (see Miner VI). 



MUNRO, William R., 

Financier. 

There seems to have been several of 
this name in and about Bristol, Rhode 
Island, probably brothers, including John, 
Thomas, William and George. 

(I) George Monroe lived in Bristol, 
Rhode Island, where he died September 9, 
1744. The records are silent as to his 
birth, but he was probably born about 
1655-58. His wife Mary was born 1670, 
as shown by the Bristol records, and died 
November 8, 1760, in that town. Chil- 
dren : William, born December 24, 1701 ; 
Sarah, February 23, 1706; Benjamin, 
April 26, 171 1 ; Simeon, mentioned below; 
Thomas, October 21, 1715. 

(II) Simeon Munroe, third son of 
George and Mary Monroe, was born July 
30, 1713, in Bristol, in which town he 
made his home, and died May 23, 1789. 
He married (first) December 19, 1732, 
Rebecca Wardwell, born March 22, 1715, 
died September 28, 1761, daughter of 
James and Sarah Wardwell. He married 
(second) January 31, 1762, Mrs. Rachel 
Walker. Children of first marriage : 
Dorcas, born April 2, 1734; Rebecca, 
April 30, 1736; Mary, November 20, 1738; 
William, March 30, 1741 ; Simeon, March 
11, 1744; Achibald, mentioned below; 
Sarah, October 16, 1749. 

(III) Archibald Munroe, third son of 
Simeon and Rebecca (Wardwell) Mun- 
roe, was born November 11, 1746, in Bris- 
tol, where his home was, and where he 
died January 15, 1812. He married, No- 
vember 28, 1769, Rebecca, daughter of 
Richard and Lucretia (Diman) Smith, 
born July 1, 1750, died November 3, 1827. 
Children : Josiah, mentioned below ; 

24 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mary, September 24, 1779; George, Janu- 
ary 7, 1782; Rebecca, February 2, 1784; 
Jeremiah, March 3, 1791. 

(IV) Josiah Munroe, eldest child of 
Archibald and Rebecca (Smith) Munroe, 
was born April 5, 1771, in Bristol, and 
lived in that town and in Warren, Rhode 
Island. His wife's baptismal name was 
Sarah, and the following children are re- 
corded in Warren : Rebecca, born Sep- 
tember 28, 1794; Sarah, March 28, 1798; 
Mary Mason, June 11, 1799; Josiah Smith, 
September 24, 1805. It appears that 
Josiah Munroe had a second wife, Re- 
becca (Harding) Munroe, and John H. 
was probably their child. 

(V) John H. Munroe, son of Josiah 
Munroe, as shown by family records, was 
born November 22, 1810, in Bristol, Rhode 
Island, and lived in that town, in War- 
ren and in Fall River, Massachusetts. He 
was a tailor by trade, and conducted a 
mercantile business in Fall River, where 
he died March 24, 1876. He married 
Susan Ware. 

(VI) Josiah (2) Munroe, son of John 
H. and Susan (Ware) Munroe, was born 
August 11, 1842, in Warren, Rhode 
Island, came to Fall River, Massachu- 
setts, in his youth, and ever after made 
this city his home. Learning the tailor's 
trade with his father, he followed that as 
an occupation and business throughout 
life, and with that success that made him 
comfortable. He was for many years 
located in business on North Main street, 
nearly opposite the "Wilbur House," 
later removing to Bedford street, near 
Rock. He understood his trade thor- 
oughly, was a good workman, and as a 
man and citizen was respected and es- 
teemed. Mr. Munroe was a charter mem- 
ber of Fall River Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. He died of heart 
disease, July 6, 1904, at his home on Bel- 
mont street, Fall River, aged sixty-one 



years, eleven months. He married, 1862, 
Helen J. Robertson, of Fall River, who 
survives him. She is a daughter of Wil- 
liam S. and Harriet (Palmer) Robertson, 
the former from Renfrew, Scotland, the 
latter of Westport Harbor (see Palmer 
X). Children: William R., mentioned 
below ; Josiah Frank, of Fall River ; Har- 
riet C, wife of George R. Mason, of Fall 
River, and they have one child, William 
Mason ; Charlotte B., of Fall River; Mary 
A. T., who graduated from the Fall River 
High School in 1900, with high honors, 
winning the Davis medal for proficiency 
in study, and died October 27, 1902, at the 
age -of twenty years. 

(VII) William R. Munroe, eldest child 
of Josiah (2) and Helen J. (Robertson) 
Munroe, was born 1863, in Fall River, 
and in 1883 received the degree of B. M. 
from the B. M. C. Durfee High School. 
A short time after his graduation he trav- 
eled through various parts of the Middle 
West, locating in Florence, Kansas. Here 
he was first employed unloading brick 
near the railroad station, and by his in- 
dustry and thrift came to be agent for the 
Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe railroad, 
a position which he held for twenty-three 
years. During that time he had been 
transferred to the Carbondale agency for 
the same railroad, but returned to Flor- 
ence. Eight years ago Mr. Munroe re- 
tired from active participation in railroad 
affairs and devoted his energies to the 
organization of the Florence State Bank, 
and has been largely instrumental in mak- 
ing that institution one of the strong 
banks of Marion county, Kansas. In 
191 5 he was elected president of the Rail- 
road Building Loan and Savings Asso- 
ciation, of Newton, Kansas, one of the 
largest home building institutions in the 
West. Mr. Munroe married (first) Adina 
Belle Reid, (second) Elizabeth Playford. 



225 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(The Palmer Line). 

The name Palmer was originally a com- 
mon title of those who had returned from 
the Holy Land, and brought back, as a 
token and remembrance of their pilgrim- 
age, a palm branch. Thus in Marmion, 
Canto I, xxiii : 

From Salem first, and last from Rome 
Here is a holy Palmer come, 

Certain returned Crusaders, as a recog- 
nition of their merit, were knighted and 
allowed to assume this title as a surname. 
It is a common name in England, and 
there were several representatives of it in 
New England previous to 1635. 

(I) William Palmer, the first American 
immigrant of the name, came to this coun- 
try in the ship "Fortune" with his son 
William in 1621, and was followed two 
years later by his wife Frances in the 
ship "Anne." He settled in Plymouth. 
His land was in what was later set oft as 
Duxbury. There he lived and died. His 
will was dated December 4, 1636, and 
proved March 5 following; it mentions 
"young wife Rebecca." By his second 
wife he had a son Henry and a daughter 
Bridget. His land in Duxbury was sold 
in 1638 to John Bissell. 

(II) William (2) Palmer, son of Wil- 
liam (1) Palmer, was born in England, 
and died in Plymouth before his father. 
He married, in Scituate, March 27, 1633, 
Elizabeth Hodgkins. After his death his 
widow married (second) John Willis. She 
sued the executors of the will of William 
(1) Palmer, because she had been the 
wife of William (2) Palmer, for a share 
in the former's estate, but it was denied 
her. 

(III) William (3) Palmer, son of Wil- 
liam (2) and Elizabeth (Hodgkins) Pal- 
mer, was born June 27, 1634. He married 
a daughter of Robert Paddock, of Plym- 
outh, who died early. He settled in Dart- 
mouth, of which he was one of the first 



purchasers, and died in 1679, previous to 
June 3d. He left a widow, whose name 
was Susannah ; a tradition makes her a 
Hathaway ; at any rate, Arthur Hathaway 
was joined with her in the administration 
of her husband's estate. He left children, 
including William, mentioned below, and 
John. 

(IV) William (4) Palmer, son of Wil- 
liam (3) and Susannah Palmer, born 
1663, lived in Little Compton, Rhode 
Island, where he married, in 1685, Mary 
Richmond, born 1668, probably daughter 
of Edward and Amy (Bull) Richmond. 
Children: William, born January 17, 
1686; Elizabeth, November 12, 1687, mar- 
ried Henry (2) Head (see Head II); Jo- 
seph, June 19, 1689; Susanna, October 
24, 1692 ; John, mentioned below ; 
Thomas, January 7, 1697; Mary, Janu- 
ary 10, 1699; Benjamin, November 3, 
1700; Abigail, April 5, 1702; Patience, 
February 19, 1704; Sylvanus, May 2, 1706; 
Peleg, March 18, 1708. 

(V) John Palmer, third son of Wil- 
liam (4) and Mary (Richmond) Palmer, 
was born November 19, 1694, in Little 
Compton, and lived in that town and in 
Dartmouth, Massachusetts. He married, 
February 23, 1716, in Little Compton, 
Alice Shaw, born there November 17, 
1695, daughter of Israel Shaw. Children : 
Peleg, born November 21, 1716; Bath- 
sheba, June 4, 1718; Judith, March 28, 
1719; Dudley, September 13, 1720; Alice, 
January 15, 1722, died young; Elizabeth, 
October 1, 1723; Alice, October 15, 1725; 
Benjamin, February 4, 1728; John, men- 
tioned below; Perez, 1733. 

(VI) John (2) Palmer, fourth son of 
John (1) and Alice (Shaw) Palmer, was 
born September 22, 1731, in Little Comp- 
ton, and there married, November 7, 1767, 
Mary Stoddard, of that town, born Octo- 
ber 4, 1732, daughter of Jonathan and 
Mary (Dring) Stoddard. 

(VII) John (3) Palmer, son of John 



226 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(2) and Mary (Stoddard) Palmer, resided 
in Little Compton, and married Mar- 
garet, daughter of William and Sarah 
(Brownell) Macomber, of Westport, 
Massachusetts. In 1806 John Palmer, 
Jr., deeded to his sons, Gideon and Dud- 
ley, his farm, and they in the same year 
leased it to their father. 

(VIII) Gideon Palmer, son of John (3) 
and Margaret (Macomber) Palmer, was 
born in Westport, October 4, 1774, and 
married in Little Compton, in 1806, Lois 
Head, born there April 9, 1787, daughter 
of Daniel and Hannah (Davenport) Head 
(see Head VI). Children: Betsey, men- 
tioned below ; Deborah Ann, born Feb- 
ruary 13, 1810, married Philip Grinnell, 
of Westport; Gideon, February 3, 1812, 
died in Fall River; Cordelia, April 25, 
1814, married a Brightman ; Almira, April 
21, 1816; Thomas Davenport, October 10, 
1818, was lost at sea; Lorinda, January 
19, 1821 ; Harriet, mentioned below; 
George Seabury, born February 28, 1825, 
and Julia Ann, born August 4, 1826, who 
died aged ten years. Gideon Palmer, the 
father, died July 4, 1840, in Fall River, 
and his widow passed away June 13, i860, 
at Westport. 

(IX) Betsey Palmer, eldest child of 
Gideon and Lois (Head) Palmer, was 
born December 6, 1806, and married Ed- 
ward Jennings, of Fall River. 

(IX) Harriet Palmer, daughter of 
Gideon and Lois (Head) Palmer, born 
February 10, 1823, married William S. 
Robertson, who came from Renfrew, 
Scotland. 

(X) Helen J. Robertson, daughter of 
William S. and Harriet (Palmer) Robert- 
son, was married, in 1862, to Josiah (2) 
Munroe, of Fall River, Massachusetts 
(see Munroe VI). 

(The Head Line). 

(I) Henry Head, born 1647, as shown 
by the records of Little Compton, Rhode 



Island, died in that town, July 1, 1716. 
He was representative to the Plymouth 
Court in 1683, and for several years after- 
ward, and on the consolidation of the 
Massachusetts Bay and Plymouth colo- 
nies, he was representative to the General 
Court at Boston in 1692. He married, in 
1677, Elizabeth Pabodie, born 1654, died 
June, 1748, according to the records of 
Little Compton. She was a daughter of 
William Pabodie, and his wife Elizabeth, 
daughter of John Alden, of the Mayflower 
Colony. Children : Jonathan, born 1678 ; 
Henry, mentioned below ; Ebenezer, 1682 ; 
Mary, 1684; Innocent, 1686; Benjamin, 
1687, died August 6, 1717. 

(II) Henry (2) Head, second son of 
Henry (1) and Elizabeth (Pabodie) 
Head, was born 1680, and died March 4, 
1755. He married, June 29, 1708, Eliza- 
beth Palmer, born November 12, 1687, 
daughter of William (4) and Mary 
(Richmond) Palmer, of Little Compton 
(see Palmer IV). Children: Henry, 
mentioned below; Abigail, born Decem- 
ber 24, 1710; Mary, April 16, 1712; Inno- 
cent, March 13, 1713; Lovet, September 
2.y, 1714; Elizabeth, March 21, 1716; Ben- 
jamin, September 17, 1718, died March, 
1796; William, July 12, 1721 ; Deborah, 
January 16, 1725; Amey, May 15, 1727. 

(III) Henry (3) Head, eldest child of 
Henry (2) and Elizabeth (Palmer) Head, 
was born November 7, 1709, in Little 
Compton. He married, in June, 1730, 
Anna Paddock, born in Swansea, Massa- 
chusetts. Children : Jonathan, mentioned 
below; Joseph, born September 11, 1733; 
John, August 5, 1736; Deborah, April 13, 

1739- 

(IV) Jonathan Head, eldest son of 
Henry (3) and Anna (Paddock) Head, 
was born May 31, 1731, in Little Comp- 
ton, and settled in Dartmouth, Massa- 
chusetts, where he was probably a farmer. 
He was a soldier of the Revolution, served 
as a private in Captain William Hicks' 



227 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(Dartmouth) company, Colonel Pope's 
regiment, marched December 7, 1777, 
served sixteen days. He married in Little 
Compton, October 21, 1760, Ruth Little, 
born in that town, April 2, 1742, daugh- 
ter of Forbes and Sarah Little, grand- 
daughter of John and Constance (Fobes) 
Little, and great-granddaughter of Wil- 
liam and Martha (Pabodie) Fobes, 
daughter of William Pabodie. Children : 
Joseph, born February 14, 1762; Forbes, 
April 9, 1763; Daniel, mentioned below; 
Lydia, December 19, 1769; Jonathan, May 
1, 1774; Ruth, October 10, 1776. 

(V) Daniel Head, third son of Jona- 
than and Ruth (Little) Head, was born 
March 29, 1765, in Dartmouth, and lived 
in Little Compton, where he was married, 
January 1, 1787, by Adam Simmons, jus- 
tice, to Hannah Davenport, born April 
26, 1764, died March 17, 1844, daughter of 
Thomas and Deborah (Simmons) Daven- 
port, of that town (see Davenport VI). 
Deborah Simmons, wife of Thomas (3) 
Davenport, was the daughter of John and 
Comfort (Shaw) Simmons, the last named 
a daughter of Israel Shaw. John Sim- 
mons was a son of William and Abigail 
(Church) Simmons, the last named a 
daughter of Joseph and Mary (Butler) 
Church. Joseph Church was a son of 
Richard Church, whose wife, Mary (War- 
ren) Church, was a daughter of Richard 
Warren, of the "Mayflower." William 
Pabodie, who married Elizabeth Alden, 
had a daughter, Martha Pabodie, who be- 
came the wife of William Fobes (or 
Forbes), whose daughter, Constance 
Fobes or Forbes, married John Little, 
and was the mother of Forbes Little, who 
is supposed to have married Sarah Wil- 
cox, and was the father of Ruth Little, 
wife of Jonathan Head, of Dartmouth. 
Thus there are two lines of descent from 
John Alden and Priscilla Mullins. Daniel 
and Hannah (Davenport) Head had chil- 



dren : Lois, mentioned below ; Sarah, 
born November 30, 1789, married Hum- 
phrey Brownell ; Abel, November 30, 
1791 ; Deborah, October 28, 1794; Ruth, 
February 10, 1797; Lydia, November 10, 
1798; Betsey, October 17, 1800; Hannah 
Phillips, April 4, 1803. 

(VI) Lois Head, eldest child of Daniel 
and Hannah (Davenport) Head, was 
born April 9, 1787, in Little Compton, 
and married, 1806, Gideon Palmer, of 
Westport, Massachusetts (see Palmer 
VIII). 

(The Davenport Line). 

(I) Thomas Davenport was a member 
of the Dorchester church, November 20, 
1640, was a freeman, May 18, 1642, and 
served the town as constable in 1670. He 
purchased a house and lands, November 
2 5> x 653, and his residence was on the 
east slope of Mount Bowdoin, near the 
corner of the present Union avenue and 
Bowdoin street, Dorchester. He pur- 
chased additional lands, February 5, 1665. 
After his death, which occurred Novem- 
ber 9, 1685, an inventory of his estate was 
made, amounting to 332 pounds, 16 shil- 
lings and 8 pence. His wife Mary joined 
the Dorchester church, March 8, 1644. 
She survived him nearly six years, dying 
October 4, 1691. Children: Sarah, born 
December 28, 1643 ; Thomas, baptized 
March 2, 1645; Mary, January 21, 1649; 
Charles, September 7, 1652; Abigail, July 
8, 1655; Mehitable, born February 14, 
1657; Jonathan, mentioned below; Eben- 
zer, April 26, 1661 ; John, October 20, 
1664. 

(II) Jonathan Davenport, third son of 
Thomas and Mary Davenport, was born 
March 6, 1659, in Dorchester, and settled 
in Little Compton, Rhode Island. He 
married there, December 1, 1680, Han- 
nah Warren. Children : Thomas, men- 
tioned below ; Jonathan, born November 
3, 1684, died October 14, 1751 ; Hannah, 



228 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



December 23, 1686; Simeon, December 
27, 1688, died December 8, 1763; Eben- 
ezer, September 2, 1691, died August 4, 
1776; John, January 12, 1694, died April 
20, 1741 ; Joseph, March 25, 1696, died 
September 2, 1760; Benjamin, October 6, 
1698; Sarah, December 10, 1700. 

(III) Thomas (2) Davenport, eldest 
child of Jonathan and Hannah (Warren) 
Davenport, was born December 10, 1681, 
and married (first) June 20, 1704, Cath- 
arine Woodworth, born 1673, died June 
1, 1729, daughter of Walter Woodworth. 
He married (second) Mary Pittman. 
Children of first marriage : Eliphalet, 
mentioned below ; Mary, born February 
8, 1707; Ephraim, December 25, 1708; 
Deborah, December 12, 1710; Hannah, 
October 27, 1712; Oliver, February 5, 
1714. Of second marriage : Gideon, June 
7, 1738; Susannah, January 24, 1740. 

(IV) Eliphalet Davenport, eldest child 
of Thomas (2) and Catharine (Wood- 
worth) Davenport, was born May 7, 1705, 
and married (first) Hannah Phillips, born 
1707, died January 9, 1738. He married 
(second) Ann Devol. Children of first 
marriage: Catharine, born 1729, died 
1806; Deedy, 1727, died young; Deedy, 
1732; Thomas, mentioned below. Of sec- 
ond marriage: Hannah, born 1742 ; Phebe, 
1744; Eliphalet, 1748, died January 21, 
1812; Jonathan, 1750; Judith, 1753; Ruth, 
1755 ; Caleb, 1757. 

(V) Thomas (3) Davenport, son of 
Eliphalet and Hannah (Phillips) Daven- 
port, was born May 15, 1735, in Little 
Compton, and died October 28, 1820. He 
married, December 3, 1761, Deborah Sim- 
mons, born October 13, 1736, died Janu- 
ary 8, 1809, daughter of John and Com- 
fort (Shaw) Simmons, of Little Compton 
(see Simmons VI). Children: Hannah, 
mentioned below; Deborah, born Febru- 
ary, 1767; Lois, August, 1768. 

(VI) Hannah Davenport, eldest child 



of Thomas (3) and Deborah (Simmons) 
Davenport, was born April 26, 1764, in 
Little Compton, and married there, Janu- 
ary 1, 1787, Daniel Head (see Head V). 

(The Simmons Line). 

(I) Moses Simonson, or Symonson, a 
native of Leyden, Holland, came to Plym- 
outh, Massachusetts, in the ship "For- 
tune," in 1621, and settled at Duxbury, 
near Plymouth. His father was a com- 
municant of the Dutch church at Leyden, 
and Moses was one of the "purchasers," 
which entitled him to admission to the 
Plymouth church in this country, where 
his children were baptized. He was made 
a freeman in 1634, and served three years 
later as a juryman. In 1638 he received 
a grant of land in addition to one previ- 
ously made. He had sons, Moses and 
Thomas. 

(II) Moses (2) Simmons, son of Moses 
(1) Simonson, or Simmons, as the name 
very quickly was rendered by the Eng- 
lish-speaking people, resided in Duxbury, 
where he died in 1689. He had a wife 
Sarah and children : John, Aaron, Mary, 
Elizabeth and Sarah, all of whom married 
and reared families. 

(III) John Simmons, son of Moses (2) 
and Sarah Simmons, married, about 1670, 
Mercy Pabodie, born January 2, 1649, 
daughter of William and Elizabeth (Al- 
den) Pabodie. The last named was a 
daughter of John and Priscilla (Mullens) 
Alden, of the "Mayflower," and their de- 
scendants are all eligible to the Society 
of Mayflower Descendants. Children: 
John, born February 22, 1671 ; William, 
mentioned below ; Isaac, January 28, 
1674; Martha, November, 1677. 

(IV) William Simmons, second son of 
John and Mercy (Pabodie) Simmons, was 
born September 24, 1672, in Duxbury, and 
joined the movement from that town 
which was largely instrumental in the set- 



229 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tlement of Little Compton, then in Massa- 
chusetts, now a part of Rhode Island. He 
married, in 1696, Abigail, born 1680, 
daughter of Joseph and Mary (Tucker) 
Church. She died July 4, 1720, and was 
survived for about forty-five years by her 
husband, who died in 1765. Children: 
Mercy, born July 1, 1697; William, Sep- 
tember 30, 1699; Lydia, December 15, 
1700; Joseph, March 4, 1702; John, men- 
tioned below; Abigail, July 14, 1706; Re- 
becca, May 8, 1708; Mary, October 15, 
1709; Benjamin, February 21, 1713; Icha- 
bod, January 6, 1715 ; Peleg, December 
21, 1716; Sarah, August 26, 1718. 

(V) John Simmons, third son of Wil- 
liam and Abigail (Church) Simmons, was 
born August 14, 1704, and died in Little 
Compton, March 8, 1774. He married 
Comfort Shaw, born August 9, 1709, died 
May, 1785, daughter of Israel Shaw. 
Children : Phebe, born December 28, 1728, 
died April 24, 1730; Sarah, January 26, 
1730; Zarah, October 13, 1731 ; Ichabod, 
November 28, 1732, died February 8, 1756; 
Deborah, mentioned below; Ezekiel. July 
25, 1740; John, August 26, 1741 ; Com- 
fort, October 28, 1743 ; Elizabeth, Octo- 
ber 14, 1745, died 1747; Rachel, Novem- 
ber 30, 1751 ; Lydia, March 1, 1753. 

(VI) Deborah Simmons, fourth daugh- 
ter of John and Comfort (Shaw) Simmons, 
was born October 13, 1736, died January 
8, 1809, and married, December 3, 1761, 
Thomas (3) Davenport (see Davenport 
V). 



GUITERAS, 

And Allied Families. 

The first of the direct line of whom we 
have authentic information, Mateo Gui- 
teras, was a native of the town of Canet 
Le Mar, and a member of a family long 
established and prominent in the Prov- 
ince of Catalonia, in Spain. Canet Le 



Mar is to-day a town of note in Catalonia, 
which borders on the historic and famous 
province of Toledo, and in the time of 
Mateo Guiteras was a flourishing center 
of trade. 

Guiteras Arms, Spain — Vert, five greyhounds' 
heads, erased proper, vulned, and distilling drops 
of blood gules, posed two, one and two. 

Of the character of Mateo Guiteras and 
of his immediate family, we can only form 
a vague yet satisfying opinion, from the 
career and subsequent achievements of 
his son, Ramon Guiteras. From the posi- 
tion which the latter occupied in Cuba, it 
is entirely lawful to assume that he came 
of a strong, progressive, and intellectually 
as well as practically able stock. Mateo 
Guiteras passed his entire life in Spain, 
where he died. 

He married Maria de Molines, also a 
member of an honorable and historically 
noted family, and a native of Canet Le 
Mar. They were the parents of Ramon 
Guiteras, mentioned below. 

De Molines Arms — Azure a cross moline or, 
quarter pierced of the field. 

Crest — A Saracen's head affrontee couped below 
the shoulders proper, wreathed about the temples. 

Supporters — Two lions collared and ducally 
crowned. 

Motto — Vivcre sat vine ere. 

(II) Ramon Guiteras, son of Mateo 
and Maria (de Molines) Guiteras, was 
born in the town of Canet Le Mar, Prov- 
ince of Catalonia, Spain, where he spent 
the early portion of his life. In young 
manhood he left Spain, however, and 
went to Cuba, where he later became a 
noted merchant. He was representative 
of a type of dynamic, forceful, tirelessly 
energetic business man, characteristic 
more of the twentieth century than in- 
digenous to Spain and the Spanish prov- 
inces of his day. Ramon Guiteras was 



230 




St.- ~;--rs "-.".:•:. -»-..."-?■.• 



am tm s^fff /err/j 



- 




Juz>nw<n ^(((tc/r/:*. c // =J 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the founder of many notable enterprises, 
among them a flour mill, a bakery, and 
an extensive coffee estate. In the course 
of a long and successful business career 
he amassed a considerable fortune, and 
died possessed of much valuable property. 
He married Gertrudis Font, a native of 
Canet Le Mar, who accompanied him to 
Cuba. They resided at Matanzas, Cuba, 
where their son, Ramon (2), was born. 

Font Arms, Catalonia, Spain — Azure a fountain 
composed of a basin standing in another basin, 
spouting four jets of water, all argent. 

(III) Ramon (2) Guiteras, son of Ra- 
mon (1) and Gertrudis (Font) Guiteras, 
was born at Matanzas, Cuba, August 4, 
181 1. At the age of four years he was 
taken by his father to Spain, on account 
of political uprisings in Cuba. On his 
return to Cuba he received an excellent 
and comprehensive educational training, 
and became especially proficient in lan- 
guages, developing great linguistic abil- 
ity. Ramon Guiteras subsequently trav- 
eled extensively in Europe, spending four 
years at Barcelona, Spain, and in Amer- 
ica. 

He married, in Bristol, Rhode Island, 
September 27, 1853, Elizabeth Manches- 
ter Wardwell, daughter of Benjamin (3) 
and Elizabeth (Manchester) Wardwell. 
(See Wardwell VI). After his marriage, 
Ramon Guiteras made his home in Bris- 
tol, retaining, however, a few of his inter- 
ests in Cuba, a small portion of the origi- 
nal estate of his father. He died Febru- 
ary 13, 1873. The children of Ramon (2) 
and Elizabeth Manchester (Wardwell) 
Guiteras were: 1. Gertrude Elizabeth 
Guiteras, born March 2, 1855, who resides 
in Bristol, Rhode Island. 2. Ramon Gui- 
teras, M. D., of whom further. 

(IV) Ramon (3) Guiteras, M. D., was 
born in Bristol, Rhode Island, August 17, 
1858, the son of Ramon (2) and Elizabeth 



Manchester (Wardwell) Guiteras; he was 
a grandson of Benjamin (3) Wardwell, 
and in honor of his grandfather bore the 
name Ramon Benjamin Guiteras in early 
life. He received his elementary education 
in the schools of Bristol, and after attend- 
ing the Alexander Military Institute at 
White Plains, New York, for one year, 
became a student in Mowry & Goff's Eng- 
lish and Classical School in Providence, 
where he prepared for college in part. 
Completing his preparation at Joshua 
Kendall's school at Cambridge, he ma- 
triculated at Harvard. At the end of a 
two-year course he went to Europe, where 
he devoted a year and a half to acquiring 
a knowledge of Spanish and French. In 
1880 he returned to America and entered 
the Harvard Medical School, from which 
he was graduated in 1883 with the degree 
of Doctor of Medicine. He then went to 
Vienna, Austria, studying medicine there 
in the university, which at that time was 
the finest in the world. This was fol- 
lowed by a period of six months at the 
University of Berlin, at the end of which 
time he returned to New York, where he 
took the naval .medical examination for 
the post of assistant surgeon. He passed 
this severe test with the highest honors 
in the class, and immediately on receiv- 
ing his appointment resigned, having 
taken it merely to test his ability. Dr. 
Guiteras then entered Blackwell's Island 
Hospital, where he spent a year and a 
half. At the end of this time he estab- 
lished himself in general practice in New 
York City. At a later date, however, he 
confined his work solely to kidney and 
intestinal diseases, and is to-day one of 
the foremost and most notable surgeons 
in this branch of medical science in the 
United States. 

Dr. Guiteras is very prominent in the 
medical profession in New York. He is 
a member of the Columbus Hospital staff 



231 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and is secretary of the Pan-American 
Medical Association, and member of the 
New York Medical Association, and of 
the American Medical Association. He 
is well known in club life in New York 
City, and is a member of the Players' 
Club, the New York Athletic Club, the 
Harvard Club and the Union Club. 

Dr. Guiteras is a lover of outdoor sport, 
a hunter of great skill, and has twice been 
into the interior of Africa for big game. 
On his first trip, from which he returned 
about 1900, he was accompanied by Dr. 
Louis Livingston Semon, well known sur- 
geon of New York, and his wife. Two 
years later he made another trip, this 
time returning with handsome trophies. 

Dr. Guiteras is unmarried, and makes 
his home in New York. His office is 
located at No. 80 Madison avenue, New 
York City. 

(The Wardwell Line). 

Arms — Argent, on a bend between six martlets 
sable three bezants. 

Crest — A lion's gamb holding a spear, tasseled 
or. 

Motto — Avito viret honore. 

The surname Wardwell had its origin 
in the medieval institution of "watch and 
ward," which at one time flourished in 
England. Early ancestors of the family 
in England may actually have been those 
who kept the "watch and ward," or guar- 
dians of the peace and safety of the towns 
of the realm, or they may merely have 
been residents in the vicinity of the watch 
towers. The family in England attained 
high rank and great power and influence 
in the early part of the dominion of the 
Normans in England, and is traced in a 
direct line to a member of the train of 
William the Conqueror, who in return 
for his services was given extensive 
estates under the feudal system in West- 
moreland. When the adoption of sur- 



names spread among the upper classes, 
this noble, following an almost universal 
custom, assumed the name of Wardell, 
or Wardwell, from an old watch tower 
or watch hill which stood on his estate 
on the northern borders of Westmore- 
land. Here signals were given to Moothy 
Beacon on any inroad of the fierce Scotch 
tribes of the borderland. The Wardwell 
family maintained its prestige and promi- 
nence in England through intervening 
centuries down to the period of colonial 
immigration. 

In the early part of the colonial period 
the American branch of the family was 
planted in New England, by one William 
Wardwell, or Wardell. The family early 
assumed a place of distinction and promi- 
nence among our early colonial families, 
and to the present day has not relin- 
quished but has added to the prestige of 
a time-honored name. The Wardwells of 
New England have played a notable part 
in the development of its life. The name 
is found with frequency and in the high 
places in the annals of our military and 
naval achievements, and in the history of 
the professions, business, finance, and the 
industries. Bristol, Rhode Island, has 
been the home of the branch of the Ward- 
well family herein under consideration 
for two and a half centuries. From this 
branch sprang the following men whose 
names are notable in the history of Rhode 
Island affairs: Benjamin Wardwell, Colo- 
nel Samuel Wardwell, Colonel Hezekiah 
Church Wardwell, Hon. William T. C. 
Wardwell, and Hon. Samuel D. Ward- 
well. 

(I) William Wardwell, or Wardell, im- 
migrant ancestor and American progeni- 
tor, was a descendant of the ancient Nor- 
man family above mentioned. He emi- 
grated from England early in the third 
decade of the seventeenth century, and is 
first of record in the New England colo- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



nies in 1634, when his name appears on 
the records of the church at Boston ; on 
February 9 of that year he became a mem- 
ber of the church, about a year after his 
arrival in Boston. William Wardwell 
was later one of those who with their 
families were turned out of the old Bos- 
ton Second Church with Wheelwright, 
and accompanied him to Exeter, New 
Hampshire, before going to Ipswich, 
Massachusetts, where they finally settled. 
He returned to Boston, however, where 
his first wife was buried, and where he 
married his second wife, who assisted him 
in conducting the old Hollis Inn. 

He married (first) Alice ; (sec- 
ond) December 5, 1657, Elizabeth, widow 
of John Gillet or Jillett. Among his chil- 
dren was Uzal, mentioned below. 

(II) Uzal Wardwell, son of William 
and Alice Wardwell, was born April 7, 
1639, and died October 25, 1732. He mar- 
ried (first) in Ipswich, Massachusetts, 
May 3, 1664, Mary Ring, widow of Daniel 
Ring, and daughter of Robert and Mary 
(Bordman) Kinsman, of Ipswich, where 
she died. He married (second) Grace 
, who died May 9, 1741 ; it is possi- 
ble that this marriage was recorded some- 
where between Ipswich and Bristol, 
Rhode Island, and that the first three 
children were born there ; nothing has 
been found of the identity of Grace, sec- 
ond wife of Uzal Wardwell. His will, 
dated January 10, 1728, mentions wife 
Grace, daughters : Mary Barker, Grace 
Giddens, Sarah Bosworth, Alice Glad- 
ding, Abigail Greene, Hannah Crompton ; 
sons : Uzal, James, Joseph, William, Ben- 
jamin. The will of Mrs. Grace Wardwell, 
dated October 19, 1733, mentions her eld- 
est son Uzal, daughter Grace Giddens, 
sons James and Joseph, Benjamin, de- 
ceased. 

Children of the first marriage: 1. Abi- 
gail, born October 27, 1665 ; married John 



Green. 2. Hannah, born 1667; married 
Crompton. 3. Alice, born Decem- 
ber 2J, 1670; married, October 31, 1693, 
John Gladding, Jr. 

Children of the second marriage : 4. 
Mary. 5. Uzal. 6. Grace, married Joseph 
Giddens (Giddings), and died May 1, 
1768, aged ninety years. 7. Sarah, born in 
1682, in Bristol, Rhode Island; married 
Nathaniel Bosworth, Jr. 8. James, born 
June 30, 1684, in Bristol. 9. Joseph, born 
July 30, 1686, in Bristol. 10. Benjamin, of 
whom further. 11. William, born May 
3, 1693, in Bristol. 12. Rebecca, twin of 
William. 

(III) Benjamin Wardwell, son of Uzal 
and Grace Wardwell, was born April 19, 
1688, and died in June, 1739. He married 
(first) Mary , who died May 2, 

1733. He married (second) January 17, 

1734, Mrs. Elizabeth Holmes, of Norton, 
Massachusetts, who died June 6, 1737. 
Children of the first marriage: 1. Mary, 
married, in 1 73 1 , Nathaniel Turner. 2. 
Uzal, married in November, 1739, Sarah 
Lindsey, who died in 1745, at Cape 
Breton, and he died there September 17, 
I 745- 3- Jonathan, died in May, 1745, at 
Cape Breton. 4. Benjamin, died in June, 
1739, lost at sea. 5. William, of whom 
further. 6. Isaac, born in 1730; married 
in September, 1756, Sarah Waldron, and 
died May 7, 1810, at Bristol. 7. Olive, 
married, June 19, 1753, John Goddard, of 
Newport, Rhode Island. 

(IV) William (2) Wardwell, son of 
Benjamin and Mary Wardwell, was born 
in 1722, at Bristol, Rhode Island. He was 
a large landowner and prominent member 
of the community. William Wardwell 
married, September 26, 1742, Mary How- 
land, daughter of Samuel Howland, and 
granddaughter of Jabez Howland, son of 
John Howland, the Pilgrim. Their chil- 
dren, all born in Bristol, were: 1. Wil- 
liam, born January 8, 1743-44. 2. Abigail, 



'■33 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



baptized June 9, 1745. 3. Mary, born Oc- 
tober 25, 1747. 4. William, born January 
28, 1749-50. 5. Benjamin, of whom fur- 
ther. 6. Sarah, born March 3, 1754. 7. 
Martha, born June 29, 1755. 8. Samuel, 
born May 25, 1760. 

(V) Benjamin (2) Wardwell, son of 
William (2) and Mary (Howland) Ward- 
well, was born in Bristol, Rhode Island, 
and baptized there, February 9, 1753. He 
was a lifelong resident of the town, and 
a highly respected and prosperous citi- 
zen. 

He married (first) June 8, 1773, Sarah 
Smith, who died November 20, 1779. He 
married (second) November 19, 1780, 
Katherine Glover, daughter of Captain 
Joseph and Elizabeth (Bass) Glover, of 
Braintree, Massachusetts, who died Janu- 
ary 14, 1803. He married (third) January 
15, 1804, Mrs. Huldah (Goff) Wheeler, 
daughter of Joseph and Patience Goff. 

Children of the first marriage: 1. Wil- 
liam, born April 19, 1776; died April 21, 
of the same year. 2. Lucretia, born May 
30, 1777; married, June 17, 1798, John 
Sabin, and died September 11, 181 1. 3. 
Sarah, born November 1 1, 1779; married 
Nathaniel Church, and died February 21, 
1 861. 

Children of the second marriage: 4. 
Polly, born October 4, 1781 ; died Decem- 
ber 12, 1781. 5. Polly, born August 30, 
1783; died September 23, 17S3. 6. Benja- 
min, of whom further. 7. Polly, born Au- 
gust 13, 1785; died September 22, 1787. 
8. William, born October 4, 1786; died 
September 22, 1787. 9. Henry, born April 
7, 1789; died October 12, 1789. 10. Polly, 
born October 24, 1791. 11. Katherine 
Glover, born July 8, 1793; died April 1, 
1863. 12. Francis, born in September, 
1794 ; died July 25, 1796. 

(VI) Benjamin (3) Wardwell, son of 
Benjamin (2) and Katherine (Glover) 
Wardwell, was born August 24, 1784, in 



the town of Bristol, Rhode Island. He 
received his education in the public 
schools of his native town, and early in 
life entered the leather business. He sub- 
sequently engaged in the grocery busi- 
ness, and for more than fifty years con- 
ducted an establishment in a building 
which formerly stood on the east side of 
Thames street, south of State street, 
Bristol. He was a leader in business life 
in the town, and was highly successful in 
business affairs ; strictly upright and fair 
in all his dealings, he was recognized as 
a man of sterling worth, and was highly 
respected in Bristol, where he died Sep- 
tember 12, 1871, at the venerable age of 
eighty-seven years. Benjamin Wardwell 
was a member of the Congregational 
Church of Bristol, and a strict observer 
of the Sabbath, a man of deep religious 
convictions, bound up in his church. 

Benjamin (3) Wardwell married, Janu- 
ary 14, 1807, Elizabeth Manchester, of 
Little Compton, Rhode Island, where she 
was born, daughter of Zebedee and Deb- 
orah Manchester. She was baptized in 
the Congregational Church of Bristol, 
July 31, 1810. Children: 

1. Henry, of whom further. 

2. Benjamin, born August 9, 1809; died 
May 31, 1885; married, February 2, 1836, 
Eliza Cook, who was born February 18, 
1810, and died April 27, i860; they were 
the parents of one daughter: i. Eleanor, 
born in December, 1840; married, in 1869, 
Joseph Burr Bartram. 

3. George, born September 2, 1810; died 
October 11, 1810. 

4. A son, born September 12, 1812; died 
same day. 

5. A daughter, twin of the son, died 
same day. 

6. Jeremiah, born December 7, 1813; 
died in December, 1881 ; married (first) 
June 19, 1844, Mary Jane Sturgis, daugh- 
ter of Lathrop L. Sturgis, of New York ; 
she died October 3, i860; he married 
(second) November 18, 1865, Mrs. Eliza 
B. Ingraham, daughter of William Fel- 



234 




J 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lows, of Staten Island, New York; chil- 
dren of first marriage : i. William Henry, 
born March 29, 1846; married, in Decem- 
ber, 1881, Virginia Sniffin. ii. Theodore 
Sturgis, born June 13, 1848. iii. Richard 
Patrick, born April 17, 1852; married 
Anna Oaks Woodworth. iv. Mary, born 
April 16, 1855, died July 22, 1855. v - 
Helen, born September 6, 1857; married 
William Brown Glover, vi. Jane Eliza- 
beth, born August 17, 1859; married 
Charles Potter, who died in November, 
1904. 

7. Elizabeth Manchester, born March 
7, 1816; died January 18, 1826. 

8. A daughter, born September 2, 1817; 
died September 4, 1817. 

9. A daughter, twin, died September 
12, 1817. 

10. Adam Manchester, born November 
6, 1818; baptized March 29, 1819; died 
January 23, 1827. 

n. George William, born March 14. 
1821 ; died August 16, 1821. 

12. Catherine Glover, born May 28, 
1822; died October 31, 1894. 

13. Marianne, born October 6, 1825. 

14. Elizabeth Manchester, born No- 
vember 6, 1827; married, September 27, 
1853, Ramon Guiteras, of Matanzas, Cuba, 
who was born August 4, 181 1, and died 
February 13, 1873; at tne a S e °* f° ur 
years Ramon Guiteras was taken by his 
father to Spain on account of political 
troubles ; he later returned to Cuba, where 
he was given an excellent education at 
Matanzas, Cuba, and became an able lin- 
guist, speaking several languages ; he 
traveled extensively on the continent and 
in America, and spent four years at Bar- 
celona, Spain. Ramon Guiteras disposed 
of practically all his holdings in Cuba, 
although retaining a few interests there ; 
he resided in Bristol, Rhode Island, after 
his marriage ; children : i. Gertrude Eliza- 
beth Guiteras, born March 2, 1855. Miss 
Guiteras resides at the family home in 
Bristol, Rhode Island. She is prominent 
in the life of Bristol, and well known for 
her charitable activities. She is a woman 
of great culture and refinement, widely 
traveled, and possesses the broad toler- 
ance and sympathy of the true cosmopoli- 
tan, ii. Ramon Guiteras, M. D., born Au- 
gust 17, 1858; a specialist of note in New 
York City (q. v.). 



(VII) Henry Wardwell, son of Benja- 
min (3) Wardwell and Elizabeth (Man- 
chester) Wardwell, was born March 17, 
1808, in Bristol, Rhode Island, and died 
October 2, 1875. He was reared and edu- 
cated in his native city, attending the 
school of Mr. Alden, who was considered 
one of the best masters of that day. In 
his seventeenth year Mr. Wardwell se- 
cured employment as clerk with Benja- 
min Hall, of Bristol, his store being 
located on the corner of Thames and 
State streets, and when twenty-five years 
of age he bought the business from Mr. 
Hall, who retired at that time. He 
handled groceries and the produce of the 
farmer, which he sent to the West Indies. 
This business he conducted for twenty- 
eight years, or until he was fifty-three 
years of age. He made his start by buy- 
ing potatoes and onions, consigning this 
produce to steamers engaged in the coast- 
wise trade ; the cargoes were disposed of 
in Cuban ports, and the proceeds used to 
purchase molasses, which was brought to 
Bristol, to Mr. Wardwell, who disposed 
of it in Rhode Island markets. During 
this time Mr. Wardwell became inter- 
ested in from ten to fourteen vessels, and 
continued to engage in the West Indies 
trade and whaling business for many 
years. He was a man of great energy and 
fine business ability, self-made in the best 
sense of the word, and honorable and just 
in all his dealings. Shortly after the close 
of the Civil War he was compelled to re- 
tire from active business life, by failing 
health. He was at one time director in 
the old Pocanock Cotton Mill, and filled 
the same post in the Eagle, Freeman's 
and First National Banks for more than 
thirty years ; he was also a trustee of the 
Bristol Institution for Savings, from the 
time of its founding until his death. 

Although he eschewed public life en- 
tirely, Mr. Wardwell was deeply inter- 
ested in the welfare of Bristol, and was 



235 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



prominent in its life. He was highly re- 
spected in business and in social circles, 
and was an earnest worker in behalf of 
the Congregational church, of which he 
was treasurer for many years. He was a 
gifted singer, and for more than thirty 
years was director of the choir of the 
Congregational church. His political 
affiliation was with the Republican party. 
Henry Wardwell married, November 
ii, 1835, Sarah Luther Lindsay, who died 
November 8, 1890, daughter of Thomas 
and Rhoda Lindsay. They were the par- 
ents of eight children as follows: 1. Ben- 
jamin, born May 6, 1836; died the same 
day. 2. Sophia Lindsay, born May 3, 
1838; unmarried; resides in Bristol. 3. 
Annie Elizabeth, born August 9, 1840; 
died November 18, 1866. 4. Sarah Fran- 
ces, born January 25, 1843 ; married Wil- 
liam H. Bourne, now deceased ; she is re- 
siding in Bristol. 5. Harriet Parker, born 
July 4, 1845 ; unmarried; residing in Bris- 
tol. 6. Isabella Mein, born January 12, 
1848; unmarried; residing in Bristol. 7. 
Henry Adam, born August 26, 1850; died 
February 18, 1853. 8. Henry Irenius, 
born July 15, 1853; died June 29, 1854. 

(The Manchester Line). 

Manchester Arms— Quarterly, first and fourth 
argent, three lozenges conjoined in fess gules, 
within a bordure sable. Second and third, or, an 
eagle displayed vert, beaked and membered gules. 

Crest — -A griffin's head couped, wings expanded 
or, gorged with a collar argent, charged with three 
lozenges gules. 

Supporters — Dexter, a heraldic antelope or, 
armed, tufted and hoofed argent. Sinister, a 
griffin or, gorged with a collar, as the crest. 

Motto — Disponendo me, non mutando me. (By 
disposing of me, not changing me.) 

Thomas Manchester, the immigrant an- 
cestor of this notable Rhode Island fam- 
ily, was born in England and was a resi- 
dent of New Haven, Connecticut, in the 
year following the planting of the colony, 



1639. Afterward, however, he settled at 
Portsmouth, Rhode Island, where he is 
first mentioned in the land records Janu- 
ary 25, 1655, when he and his wife sold to 
Thomas Wood twelve acres of land. He 
married Margaret, daughter of John 
Wood, who under her father's will re- 
ceived eight pounds, which it was ordered, 
March 17, 1655, John Wood pay to his 
sister, Margaret Manchester. Eight acres 
of land were granted at Portsmouth, to 
Thomas Manchester, December 10, 1657, 
and July 6, 1658, he sold to Richard Sis- 
son one-three-hundredth right in Canoni- 
cut and Dutch Islands. He and his wife 
testified, June 7, 1686, that they heard and 
saw Ichabod Sheffield married by Wil- 
liam Baulstone many years before. He 
deeded to his son John, July 9, 1691, his 
mansion house and all lands at Ports- 
mouth, except the piece at the lower end 
of the ground, in possession of his son 
Thomas, one-half to be his at the death 
of the grantor and the other half after the 
death of the grantor's wife, mother of the 
grantee, provided he pay to the sons 
Thomas, William and Stephen ten shil- 
lings each, to Job twenty shillings, and 
daughters Mary and Elizabeth ten shil- 
lings each. He also deeded to his son 
John all his personal property, including 
cattle, chattels, implements, bonds, sums 
of money and whatever belonged to him 
at the time of his decease. Thomas Man- 
chester died in 1691, and his wife in 1693. 
Their children were: 1. Thomas, born 
about 1650, died after 1718; prominent 
citizen of Portsmouth, Rhode Island. 2. 
William, born in 1654; died in 1718; mar- 
ried Mary Cook, daughter of John and 
Mary (Borden) Cook; William Manches- 
ter, then of Puncatest and seven others, 
bought of Governor Josiah Winslow lands 
at Pocasset for iioo. There were thirty 
shares, of which he had five. March 2, 
1692, he was an inhabitant of Tiverton, 



236 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Rhode Island, when that town was organ- 
ized. 3. John, freeman in 1677, died in 
1708. 4. George, admitted a freeman in 
1684. 5. Stephen, freeman in 1684, died in 
1719; married (first) Elizabeth Wodell, 
daughter of Gershom and Mary (Tripp) 

Wodell; (second) Damaris , who 

died in 1719 ; he was a resident of Tiver- 
ton at the time of the founding of the 
town. 6. Job, died in 1713; married Han- 
nah . 7. Mary. 8. Elizabeth. 

For more than two hundred years the 
Manchester family has been identified 
with Tiverton and the surrounding towns 
of Newport county, Rhode Island. Eliza- 
beth Manchester, who became the wife of 
Benjamin (3) Wardwell, of Bristol, 
Rhode Island, was a member of this old 
family. She was the daughter of Zebe- 
dee and Deborah Manchester, and grand- 
daughter of Archer and Elizabeth Man- 
chester, of Little Compton. 

Elizabeth Manchester was born in the 
town of Little Compton, Rhode Island, 
and was baptized July 31, 1810, in the 
Congregational church of Bristol, daugh- 
ter of Zebedee and Deborah (Briggs) 
Manchester. She married January 14, 
1807, Benjamin (3) Wardwell. (See 
Wardwell VI). 

Briggs Arms — Argent three escutcheons gules, 
each charged with a bend of the field. 

Crest — An arm vambraced, and hand holding a 
bow and arrow proper. 

(The Howland Line). 

The original, highly ornamented, water 
color painting of the Howland escutcheon 
from which copies of the arms used in 
this country have been made, is said to 
have been brought to America shortly 
after the arrival of the "Mayflower." In 
1865 this painting was in the possession 
of Rev. T. Howland White, of Shel- 
bourne, Nova Scotia, a grandson of 
Gideon White, whose wife was Joanna, 



daughter of John Howland, son of the 
Pilgrim. The arms bear the following 
inscription: 

He beareth sable, two bars argent, on a chief of 
the second three lions rampant of the first, and 
for his crest on a wreath of his colors a lion 
passant sable, ducally gorged or. By the name of 
Howland. 

The original Howlands in America 
were Arthur, Henry and John. The last 
named was of the "Mayflower" number, 
and is the progenitor of the line herein 
under consideration. The progeny of 
these three Howlands is a large and 
prominent one in New England, and from 
the earliest years of the struggle of Plym- 
outh Colony for a foothold in the New 
World has played an important part in 
our life and affairs. 

(I) Humphrey Howland, the first of 
the line of whom we have definite infor- 
mation, was the father of the American 
immigrants, and was a citizen and draper 
of London. His will, proved July 10, 
1646, bequeathed to sons : George, of St. 
Dunstan's in the East, London ; Arthur, 
Henry and John. The last three were to 
receive under his will, dated May 28, 
1646, £8 4s. 4d. out of the debt "due the 
testator (Humphrey) by Mr. Buck, of 
Salem, Massachusetts." Annie Howland, 
widow of Humphrey Howland, was exec- 
utrix of the estate. She was buried at 
Barking, County Essex, England, Decem- 
ber 20, 1653. The sons Arthur, Henry 
and John, were in Scrooby, England, and 
were members of the band of Puritans 
who left England because of religious in- 
tolerance and sought freedom in Amster- 
dam, Holland, where they remained a 
year, subsequently removing to Leyden, 
whence they emigrated to the New World. 

(II) John Howland, son of Humphrey 
and Annie Howland, held to the original 
faith of the Puritans, and was an officer 



'-37 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Rev. John Cotton's church, and a 
staunch adherent of the orthodox faith 
until his death, while Arthur and Henry- 
were Quakers. John Howland's was the 
thirteenth name on the list of forty-one 
signers of the "Compact" in the cabin of 
the "Mayflower," in "Cape Cod Harbor," 
November 21, 1620. At this time he was 
twenty-eight years of age and according 
to Prince was a member of Governor 
Carver's family. How this came about is 
not known, but it is probable that Carver 
saw elements in his character which led 
him to supply young Howland's wants 
for the journey to America, and to cause 
him to be considered one of the family. 
That he possessed sound judgment and 
business capacity is shown by the active 
duties which he assumed, and the trust 
which was reposed in him in all the early 
labors of establishing a settlement. While 
the "Mayflower" was yet in Cape Cod 
Harbor, ten of "her principal" men were 
"sente out" in a boat manned by eight 
sailors, to select a place for landing; 
among them was John Howland. A 
storm drove them into Plymouth Harbor 
and Plymouth was selected as the place 
of settlement. 

The first mention of John Howland in 
the old Plymouth Colony records is on a 
list of freemen ; and in an enumeration of 
the members of the Governor's "councill" 
of seven, of which he is the third. In 
1633 or 1634 he was an assessor; was se- 
lectman of Plymouth in 1666, and was 
chosen deputy of the same town, in 1652- 
56-58-61-62-66-67-70. He was elected to 
public office for the last time on June 2, 
1670, at which time he was nearly eighty 
years of age. Besides these public posi- 
tions of honor and trust, he was very 
often selected to lay out and appraise 
land, to run highways, to settle disputes, 
and to serve on committees of every de- 
scription. He was not only full of zeal 



for the temporal welfare of the colony, 
but gave powerful encouragement to a 
high standard of morals and religion, so 
much so that he is recorded as "a godly 
man and an ancient professor in the ways 
of Christ." It is shown that he was active 
in Christian work, for Governor Bradford 
notes that he became "a profitable mem- 
ber both in Church and Commonwealth," 
and it appears that at the ordination of 
John Cotton, Jr., in 1667, John Howland 
"was appointed by the church to join in 
the imposition of hands." He lived at 
what was called Rocky Nook, where he 
died February 23, 1672-73. 

John Howland married Elizabeth Til- 
ley, daughter of John Tilley, and ward of 
Governor Carver, into whose family she 
was taken at the death of her father, when 
she was about fourteen years of age. She 
died December 21, 1687, aged eighty 
years, in Swanzey, Massachusetts, at the 
home of her daughter, Lydia Brown, and 
was the last but three of the "Mayflower" 
passengers to die. Their children were: 

1. Desire, born October 13, 1623, in Barn- 
stable ; married, in 1643, Captain John 
Gorham. 2. John, born in Plymouth, 
February 24, 1627. 3. Jabez, of whom 
further. 4. Hope, born August 30, 1629; 
died January 8, 1684; married, in 1646, 
John Chipman. 5. Elizabeth, married 
(first) September 13, 1649, Ephraim 
Hicks, of Plymouth, who died December 

2, 1649; married (second) July 10, 1651, 
John Dickarson, of Plymouth. 6. Lydia, 
married James Brown, and settled in 
Swanzey. 7. Ruth, married, November 
17, 1664, Thomas Cushman. 8. Hannah, 
married, July 6, 1661, Jonathan Bosworth. 
9. Joseph, died in January, 1704. 10. 
Isaac, born November 16, 1649; died 
March 9, 1724 ; married Elizabeth Vaughn, 
born in 1652; died October 29, 1727. 

(Ill) Jabez Howland, son of John and 
Elizabeth (Tilley) Howland, was born 



238 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Plymouth, Massachusetts, in 1628. He 
resided in Plymouth during the early part 
of his life, and took an active part in pub- 
lic life, holding various civil offices. He 
served as a lieutenant under Captain 
Benjamin Church in King Philip's War, 
and proved his bravery under a test made 
by Church for that purpose. He was a 
blacksmith and cooper, doing a very large 
business in both these trades, which were 
of large importance in early colonial days. 
He removed to Bristol, Rhode Island, 
where he settled, and conducted a black- 
smith establishment. His residence was 
on Hope street, where he kept a hotel. 
Jabez Howland was first town clerk of 
Bristol, and subsequently became promi- 
nent in the affairs of the town. He was 
selectman, assessor, and deputy to the 
General Court. He was active in the con- 
struction of the First Congregational 
Church of Bristol. His will, dated July 
14, 1708, was proved April 21, 1712, and 
disposed of an estate valued at £600. He 
was one of the most influential citizens of 
early Bristol, highly esteemed. 

He married Bethiah Thatcher, daugh- 
ter of Anthony Thatcher, and grand- 
daughter of Anthony Thatcher, who came 
from Sarum, England, with his second 
wife, Elizabeth Jones, in the ship "James," 
in April, 1635. The vessel was wrecked 
off Cape Ann, August 16 of that year, and 
he was made administrator of the estate 
of Joseph Avery, one of the victims of 
the disaster. The General Court gave to 
Anthony Thatcher the island on which 
the vessel was wrecked. He was a tailor 
by trade, and settled first in Marblehead, 
whence he removed to Yarmouth, on 
Cape Cod, and gave allegiance to the 
Plymouth Colony, January 7, 1639. He 
was deputy to the General Court, a magis- 
trate, and was licensed to marry persons. 

Thatcher Arms — Gules a cross moline argent; 
on a chief or three grasshoppers proper. 
Crest — A Saxon sword or seax proper. 



Children of Jabez and Bethiah (Thatch- 
er) Howland: 1. Jabez, born November 
15, 1670. 2. John, born March 15, 1673. 
3. Bethiah, born August 6, 1674. 4. 
Josiah, born October 6, 1676. 5. John, 
born September 26, 1679; recorded in 
Bristol, Rhode Island. 8. Judah, born 
May 7, 1683. 9. Seth, born January 5, 
1684-85. 10. Samuel, of whom further. 
11. Experience, born May 19, 1687. 12. 
Joseph, born October 14, 1692. 

(IV) Samuel Howland, son of Jabez 
and Bethiah (Thatcher) Howland, was 
born in Bristol, Rhode Island, May 16, 
1686. He married, May 6, 1708, Abigail 
Cary, born August 31, 1784, daughter of 
John and Abigail (Allen) Cary; she died 
August 16, 1737. Samuel Howland was a 
lifelong resident of Bristol, prominent in 
its affairs, and the owner of considerable 
property. Children: 1. Samuel, born 
April 3, 1709. 2. Abigail, born October 
18, 1710. 3. John, born September 27, 
1713. 4. Tabitha, born November 13, 
1715. 5. Seth, born July 9, 1719. 6. 
Phebe, born September 9, 1721 ; married 
John Wardwell. 7. Mary, of whom fur- 
ther. 

Abigail Allen, mother of Abigail (Cary) 
Howland, was the daughter of Samuel 
Allen, who came from Bridgewater, Eng- 
land, with his wife Anne, and settled in 
Braintree, Massachusetts. The wife died 
in 1641, and he married (second) Mar- 
garet Lamb, who was the mother of Abi- 
gail Allen, wife of John Cary. John Cary, 
ancestor of Abigail (Cary) Howland, was 
born about 1610, and resided near Bristol, 
Somersetshire, England, whence he came 
about 1634 to America, and settled in 
Duxbury, Massachusetts, where he had a 
farm. He was one of the proprietors of 
Bridgewater, Massachusetts, and one of 
its first settlers, locating in what is now 
West Bridgewater, one-quarter of a mile 
east of the present town house. Bridge- 
water was incorporated as a town in 1656, 

239 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and John Cary was its first town clerk, 
filling that office for several years. He 
married, in 1644, Elizabeth, daughter of 
Francis and Elizabeth Godfrey. His eld- 
est child, John (2) Cary, was born No- 
vember 4, 1645, in Duxbury, Massachu- 
setts, resided in Bridgewater until 16S0, 
when he removed to Bristol, Rhode 
Island, and died there July 14, 1721, his 
estate valued at £700. The deed of his 
first land in Bristol was dated September 
14, 1680, and he was present at the first 
town meeting of that town, prominent in 
town affairs, and deacon of the church 
from its organization until his death. He 
was one of the first "raters" or assessors, 
secretary of the county, clerk of the 
peace, and representative in the General 
Assembly in 1694. He married in Bridge- 
water, December 7, 1670, Abigail, daugh- 
ter of Samuel Allen and his second wife, 
Margaret Lamb, who at the time of her 
marriage to Samuel Allen was a widow, 
maiden name French. His second daugh- 
ter became the wife of Samuel Howland, 
as previously noted. 

(V) Mary Howland, daughter of Sam- 
uel and Abigail (Cary) Howland, was 
born in Bristol, Rhode Island, March 18, 
1720. She married, September 26, 1742, 
William (2) Wardwell, of Bristol, de- 
scendant in the fourth American genera- 
tion of William Wardwell, founder of the 
line in New England. (See Wardwell 
IV). 

(The Tilley Line). 

The surname Tilley is found in Eng- 
land as early as the Norman Conquest, 
and appears in the "Domesday Book." 
The name was common also in France 
and Plolland at an early date, and is 
doubtless of Norman-French origin, as 
Lower states that there is a village of 
Tilly in the Department of Calvados, in 
Normandy. The name is spelled in an- 
cient records Tillie, Tilly, Teley, Tiley, 
Tilee and Tely. We have at the present 



time the surname Tylee, probably of the 
same stock. 

Tilley Arms— Argent a wivern with wings en- 
dorsed sable charged on the breast with an an- 
nulet or. 

Crest— The head of a battle-ax issuing from 
the wreath. 

Edward and John Tilley were among 
the passengers of the "Mayflower." Ed- 
ward and his wife Ann both died in the 
spring of 1620-21. John brought his wife 
and daughter Elizabeth, and he and his 
wife also died early in 1621. The only 
descendants of these Pilgrim Tilleys are 
through Elizabeth Tilley, who became 
the wife of John Howland. No person 
can claim descent through these ances- 
tors in the male line. There was another 
John Tilley in Dorchester who came in 
1628; died without issue. William Til- 
ley, of Barnstable and Boston, came from 
Little Minories, England, in the ship 
"Abigail," in June, 1636, left a daughter 
Sarah, but no sons. Others of the name 
came later. 

(I) John Tilley, immigrant ancestor, 
came to the American colonies in Decem- 
ber, 1620, a passenger, with his wife and 
daughter Elizabeth, in the ship "May- 
flower." Both John Tilley and his wife 
died early in 1621. 

(II) Elizabeth Tilley, daughter of John 
Tilley, was born in England, accompanied 
her parents to New England. After the 
death of her parents she became the ward 
of Governor John Carver, when she was 
about fourteen years of age. She married 
John Howland, who was also a passenger 
on the "Mayflower." Elizabeth (Tilley) 
Howland died December 21, 1687, aged 
eighty years. (See Howland II). 

(The Glover Line). 

Glover Arms — Sable a fesse embattled ermine 
between three crescents argent. 

Crest — Out of a mural crown a demi-lion ram- 
pant holding between the paws a crescent. 



240 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The surname Glover, since the found- 
ing of the New England Colonies a nota- 
ble one in America, was anciently spelled 
Glofre, and Golofre. Glove as a surname 
appeared in the middle of the fourteenth 
century, and was shortly followed by 
Glover, under which form the name is 
found in all English-speaking countries 
to-day. It is of the occupative class. 
Through successive centuries, among the 
men who have brought honor to the name 
and made it historical, we find gentle- 
men, heralds, and heraldic writers, 
vicars, church wardens, heretics, authors, 
knights, attorneys-at-law, poets, mer- 
chants, members of parliament, philan- 
thropists and public benefactors. The 
American branch of the family has con- 
tributed many notable figures, and ranks 
to-day among the foremost of American 
colonial families. 

Several immigrants of the name settled 
in New England in the first half of the 
colonial period. Their progeny is large 
and widespread. In the records of the 
ancient town of Salem, New England, 
there appears the following: "John 
Glover married to Mary Guppy, by Major 
Hathorn, the 2d January, 1660." This 
appears to be the earliest mention of this 
founder. John Glover died in May, 1695, 
and his will was proved on May 13th of 
that year. He is believed to have been a 
son of Charles Glover, who came from 
England, in 1630, and united with the 
First Church in Salem, in full communion, 
June 10, 1649; there is, however, no satis- 
factory proof of the relationship beyond 
the supposition. This is in a large meas- 
ure due to the faulty records of New Eng- 
land in the early days. The Glover family 
has been especially prominent in Massa- 
chusetts. A member of the Braintree 
branch of the family was Captain Joseph 
Glover, who was prominent in the mili- 
tary affairs of the town, and one of its 



leading citizens. He married Elizabeth 
Bass, who was also a member of a long 
established Braintree family, and they 
were the parents of Katherine Glover. 
Katherine Glover married, November 19, 
1780, Benjamin (2) Wardwell, of Bristol, 
Rhode Island. (See Wardwell V). 

Bass Arms — Sable a bordure argent. 
Crest — Out of a ducal coronet two wings 
proper. 



PECK, Albert Henry, 

Highly Regarded Citizen. 

This name is of great antiquity, and is 
local in its derivation, signifying "at the 
peck," that is, "at the hill top." It is 
found in Belton, Yorkshire, England, at 
an early date, and from there scattered 
not only over England but into every 
civilized country. A branch settled in 
Hesden and Wakefield, Yorkshire, whose 
descendants removed to Beccles, County 
Suffolk, and were the ancestors of Joseph 
Peck, of Hingham, County Norfolk, the 
progenitor of the Peck family in America, 
of which the late Albert H. Peck, of 
Rhode Island, was a descendant in the 
seventh American generation. 

Arms — Argent on a chevron engrailed gules, 
three crosses formed of the first. 

Crest — A cubit arm erect, habited azure, cuff 
argent, hand proper, holding on one stalk enfiled 
with a scroll, three roses gules, leaved vert. 

The above arms of the Peck family are 
quartered with those of the Brunning and 
Hesselden families. 

The pedigree of the English family, ex- 
tending from the founder to the American 
progenitor covers a period of twenty gen- 
erations, and is as follows : 

I. John Peck, of Belton, Yorkshire, 

married a daughter of Melgrave. 

II. Thomas Peck married a daughter of 
Middleton, of Middleton. III. 



241 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Robert Peck, of Belton, married 

Tunstall. IV. Robert (2) Peck, of Bel- 
ton, married Musgrave. V. John 

(2) Peck, of Belton, married Wat- 
ford. VI. Thomas (2) Peck, of Belton, 
married Blaxton, of Blaxton. Chil- 
dren : Thomas, mentioned below ; Jo- 
seph, settled in Northamptonshire. VII. 
Thomas (3) Peck, of Belton, married 

Littleton. VIII. John (3) Peck, 

— Carre. IX. 



of Belton, married — 

John (4) Peck, of Belton, married 

Flemming. X. John (5) Peck, married 

Wembourne. Their children: I. 

John, whose daughter, his sole heir, mar- 
ried John Ratcliffe, thus taking the estate 
of Belton out of the direct line. 2. Rich- 
ard, mentioned below. XL Richard Peck 
married Brunnung. XII. Richard 

(2) Peck, of Hesden, married Sa- 

vill. XIII. Thomas (4) Peck, of Hesden, 
married Bradley. XIV. Richard 

(3) Peck, of Hesden and Wakefield, York- 
shire, married a Hesselden. Children: 
John, mentioned below ; Richard, died 
young; Thomas. XV. John (6) Peck 
married Isabel Lacie, of Brombleton, and 
and was a lawyer. Children : Richard, 
mentioned below; Thomas, Catherine, 
Robert, John, Margaret. XVI. Richard 

(4) Peck was of Wakefield, and married 
Joan, daughter of John Harrington, Esq. 
Children : Richard, mentioned below ; 
Margaret, Isabel, Joan, Judith, Elizabeth. 
XVII. Richard (5) Peck married Alice, 
daughter of Sir Peter Middleton. Chil- 
dren : John, mentioned below ; Margaret, 
Ann, Elizabeth, Isabel. XVIII. John 
(7) Peck, of Wakefield, married Joan, 
daughter of John Aune, of Trickley. Chil- 
dren : Richard, married Anne Holtham. 
John, Thomas, Ralph, Nicholas, Francis ; 
Robert, mentioned below. 

(XIX) Robert (3) Peck was of Beccles. 
County Suffolk, England. He married 
(first) Norton ; (second) 



Waters. Children: 1. John. 2. Robert, 
mentioned below. 3. Thomas. 4. Joan. 
5. Olivia. 6. Margaret. 7. Anne. 

(XX) Robert (4) Peck was born and 
resided all his life in Beccles, where he 
died in 1593, at the age of forty-seven 
years. He married Helen, daughter of 
Nicholas Babbs, of Guilford, England. 
Their children were: 1. Richard, died 
without issue, in 1615, aged forty-one. 2. 
Nicholas, born in 1576, married Rachel 
Yonge, 1610. 3. Robert, born in 1580; 
took degree at Magdalen College, Cam- 
bridge, A. B., 1599, A. M., 1603; inducted 
over parish of Hingham, England, Janu- 
ary 8, 1605. 4. Joseph, mentioned below. 
5. Margaret. 6. Martha. 7. Samuel, died 
1619. 

(The Peck Family in America.) 

(I) Joseph Peck, immigrant ancestor 
of the American family, was born in Bec- 
cles, County Suffolk, England, the son of 
Robert (4) and Helen (Babbs) Peck. He 
was of the twenty-first generation from 
the founder of the line, John Peck, of Bel- 
ton, Yorkshire. In 1638 he and other 
Puritans, with his brother, the Rev. Rob- 
ert Peck, their pastor, fled from the per- 
secutions of their church in England, and 
came to America. They set sail in the 
ship "Diligent," of Ipswich ; John Martin, 
master. The records of Hingham, Massa- 
chusetts, state : "Mr. Joseph Peck and his 
wife, with three sons and a daughter and 
two men servants and three maid servants 
came from Old Hingham and settled at 
New Hingham." From the number of his 
servants it is judged that Joseph Peck 
was a man of considerable wealth and 
position in England prior to his coming 
to the New World. He later became one 
of the leading citizens of the community. 
He was granted a house lot of seven acres 
adjoining that of his brother. He re- 
mained at Hingham seven years, and then 
removed to Seekonk, Rhode Island. At 



242 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hingham he was deputy to the General 
Court in 1639. He took an active and in- 
fluential part in the affairs of the town; 
was selectman, justice of the peace, as- 
sessor, etc. In 1641 he became one of the 
principal purchasers of the Indians of that 
tract of land called Seekonk, afterwards 
the town of Rehoboth, including the 
present towns of Rehoboth, Massachu- 
setts, and Seekonk, and Pawtucket, Rhode 
Island. Joseph Peck removed to his new 
home in 1645. An incident of the trip is 
found on the town records of Rehoboth : 
"Mr. Joseph Peck and three others at 
Hingham, being about to remove to Sea- 
conk, riding thither they sheltered them- 
selves and their horses in an Indian wig- 
wam, which by some occasion took fire, 
and, although there were four in it and 
labored to their utmost, burnt three of 
their horses to death, and all their goods, 
to the value of fifty pounds." He was 
appointed to assist in matters of contro- 
versy at court, and in 1650 was authorized 
to perform marriages. He was second 
on the tax list. In some instances land 
granted to him is still owned by his de- 
scendants. His house was upon the plain 
in the northerly part of the "Ring of the 
Town," near the junction of the present 
Pawtucket with the old Boston and Bris- 
tol road, not far from the Boston & Provi- 
dence railroad station. 

He died December 23, 1633. His will 
was proved March 3, 1663-64. His sons 
united in the amplification of the written 
will which was made on his death-bed, 
and the court accepted it as a part of the 
will. 

Joseph Peck married (first) in Hing- 
ham, England, May 21, 1617, Rebecca 
Clark ; she died and was buried there, 
October 24, 1637. The name of his sec- 
ond wife is unknown. His children were : 
1. Anna, baptized in Hingham, England, 
March 12, 1618; buried there July 27, 
1636. 2. Rebecca, baptized there, May 25, 



1620; married Hubbard. 3. Jo- 
seph, baptized August 23, 1623. 4. John, 
born about 1626. 5. Nicholas, baptized 
April 9, 1630. 6. Simon, baptized in Hing- 
ham, Massachusetts, on February 3, 1638- 
39. 7. Nathaniel, mentioned below. 8. 
Israel, baptized March 11, 1644, died 
young. 9-10. Samuel and Israel, baptized 
July 19, 1646. 

(II) Nathaniel Peck, son of Joseph 
Peck, was born in Hingham, Massachu- 
setts, and baptized there October 31, 1641. 
He died early in life, and was buried Au- 
gust 12, 1676. He removed to Seekonk 
with his father and family, and there set- 
tled upon the lands given him and his 
brother Israel, in what is now the town 
of Barrington, Rhode Island, near what 
was later the residence of Leander R. 
Peck. These lands were a part of those 
purchased by the proprietors of Osame- 
quin and his son Wamsetta. They had 
been known by the name of Poppanom- 
scut, alias Phebe's Neck, Sowames or 
Sowamsit, and are now partly in Bristol, 
Warren, Swansea, Rehoboth, and Bar- 
rington. The lands given to Nathaniel 
and Israel by their father remained un- 
divided, the most of them at least, until 
after the son of Nathaniel came of age. 
After the decease of Nathaniel they are 
referred to as the lands of Israel and the 
heirs of Nathaniel, and afterwards, as the 
lands of Nathaniel and his uncle Israel. 

Nathaniel Peck married Deliverance 

, who was buried May I, 1675. He 

had three children, and left at his decease, 
as appears by the Massachusetts Colonial 
records, two children, a son and a daugh- 
ter. Two of his children were: 1. Na- 
thaniel, mentioned below. 2. Elisha, born 
April 19, 1675 ; died April 30, 1675. 

(III) Lieutenant Nathaniel (2) Peck, 
son of Nathaniel (1) and Deliverance 
Peck, was born on July 26, 1670, and died 
August 5, 1751. He settled on the lands 
left him by his father, and became one of 

243 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the prominent men of the town, filling 
various public offices. For several years 
he is called Lieutenant Nathaniel on the 
records of the town, and then deacon. 

He married (first) March 8, 1695-96, 
Christian Allen, of Swansea, who died 
June 8, 1702; he married (second) Judith 
Smith, of Rehoboth, Massachusetts, who 
died November 10, 1743. Their children 
were: 1. Ebenezer, born April 24, 1697. 
2. Thomas, born October 4, 1700. 3. 
Daniel, born July 28, 1706. 4. David, 
born November, 1707, mentioned below. 
5. Abigail, born July 12, 1709. 6. Bath- 
sheba, born January 15, 1711. 7. Soloman, 
born November 11, 1712. 8. Child, born 
July 1, 1714, name unknown. 9. John, 
born February 29, 1716. 

(IV) David Peck, son of Lieutenant 
Nathaniel (2) and Judith (Smith) Peck, 
was born in November, 1707, and married, 
September 20, 1744, Sarah Humphrey. He 
settled upon a part of the homestead, 
which in 1863 was occupied by Sebea 
Peck, his grandson. David Peck died 
March 4, 1771. Children: 1. David, born 
August 18, 1746. 2. Ezra, born July 3, 
1748. 3. Sarah, born March 19, 1749-50. 
4. John, born March 8, 1751-52. 5. Ezra 
(2), born October 5, 1753. 6. Rachel, 
born October 20, 1754. 7. Lewis, born 
October 18, 1757. 8. Joel, mentioned be- 
low. 9. Lewis (2), born August 20, 1761. 
10. John, born May 12, 1763. n. Noah, 
born March 31, 1765; later in life settled 
in Vermont. 12. Sarah, born March 7, 
1767. 

Three of the sons of David Peck served 
in the American Revolution. David Peck 
was a member of Captain Thomas Allin's 
company. Lewis Peck enlisted in the 
militia guard of Barrington, serving from 
April 5 to May 20, 1778. Joel Peck also 
served in the conflict, and is mentioned 
at length below. 

(V) Joel Peck, son of David and Sarah 
(Humphrey) Peck, was born August 28, 



1759, and resided in Barrington during his 
entire life. He married Lucy Fish, daugh- 
ter of Daniel Fish, of Seekonk, Rhode 
Island. He inherited and resided upon 
the homestead, which had been in the 
family since the first American gener- 
ation. The house in which he lived is 
still standing, and is regarded as a land- 
mark of the early architecture of the town 
of Barrington, Rhode Island. Joel Peck 
served with valor in the American Revo- 
lution, enlisting with other soldiers from 
Barrington, in Captain Thomas Allin's 
company. He died on November 11, 1833, 
and his widow became a United States 
pensioner. Joel Peck was a highly re- 
spected citizen of Barrington, and was 
prominent in local affairs. His widow 
died on March 2, 1864, at the advanced 
age of ninety years. Their children were : 
1. Horatio, born December 3, 1793. 2. 
Elnathan, born January 27, 1796. 3. Bela, 
mentioned below. 4. Wealthy, born Sep- 
tember 22, 1800. 5. Sebea, born January 
25, 1803. 6. Fanny, born September 6, 
1805. 7. Bethia, born August 4, 1808; 
married Benjamin B. Medbury. 8. Cla- 
rissa, born December 13, 1812; married 
Robert T. Smith, son of Ebenezer Smith, 
of Barrington, Rhode Island : she was liv- 
ing in 1904 at the age of ninety-two years. 
She was presented with a souvenir spoon 
by the National Chapter of the Daughters 
of the American Revolution, as a true 
daughter of the Revolution. 

(VI) Bela Peck, son of Joel and Lucy 
(Fish) Peck, was born in Barrington, 
Rhode Island, January 29, 1798. He re- 
moved later in life to East Providence, 
Rhode Island, where he died. He mar- 
ried, March 18, 1821, Lemira A. Peck, 
daughter of Ambrose Peck, of Seekonk, 
Rhode Island. Their children were: 1. 
Alpheus M., born December 20, 1821. 2. 
Edwin F., born December 8, 1823. 3. Al- 
bert H., born January 10, 1827, mentioned 
below. 4. Susan A., born August 29, 1829 ; 



244 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



married George Bowen and lived in Edge- 
wood, Rhode Island. 5. Albert H. (2), 
born June 14, 1833. 6. Horace T., born 
March 28, 1836; died young. 7. Horace 
T. (2), born April 2, 1839. 8. Amy Ann, 
born March 19, 1842. 

(VII) Albert Henry Peck, son of Bela 
and Lemira A. (Peck) Peck, was born 
in the town of Seekonk, Massachusetts 
(now East Providence, Rhode Island). 
He received his early educational train- 
ing in the local schools of the town. Mr. 
Peck was of that sturdy, upright and able 
type of men who form the backbone of 
the nation, the able and rugged stock 
which formed and has continued to be the 
basis of America's greatness. He was a 
farmer, and extensive agriculturist, a 
prominent and influential citizen in the 
community, and a man highly respected 
and loved by a host of friends and ac- 
quaintances. 

In 1863 Mr. Peck purchased the farm 
of George K. Viall, which he made his 
home, and on which he continued to re- 
side for the remainder of his life. This 
land was formerly owned by Perez Rich- 
mond, and prior to his time by Thomas 
Medbury, who owned and occupied it as 
far back as the time of the American 
Revolution. At the time when he pur- 
chased it, the farm was in poor condition, 
and consisted largely of twenty acres, 
part of which was woodland, and a farm 
house. He immediately set to work to 
reclaim the land, succeeding gradually in 
bringing it up to a standard of modern 
efficiency and usefulness, which is not sur- 
passed by any farm of the kind in the 
neighboring countryside. He also added 
to the original purchase, until the farm 
to-day consists of sixty acres, a handsome 
residence and well kept lawns and or- 
chards, and may be justly termed a monu- 
ment to Mr. Peck's untiring work and 
genius as a farmer. 



Mr. Peck was prominently identified 
with the local interests of the community 
of Barrington, and held several important 
public offices. He was for a number of 
years a member of the town council of 
Barrington, and was also a surveyor of 
highways. He contributed to the support 
of the Congregational Church of Barring- 
ton, which he attended, and of which his 
family are members. 

Mr. Peck married, May 29, 1863, Mary 
Elizabeth Medbury, daughter of Benja- 
min B. and Bethia (Peck) Medbury, of 
Barrington, Rhode Island. Their chil- 
dren are : 

1. Mabel F., born March 20, 1867; mar- 
ried, June 14, 1894, Edward D. Anthony, 
son of Charles F. and Harriet A. (Davis) 
Anthony; Mr. Anthony is purchasing 
agent and chief clerk of the Providence 
Engineering Corporation, Providence, 
Rhode Island ; they are the parents of one 
daughter: i. Marian Elizabeth, born 
March 1, 1896, who is now attending 
Brown University, Providence, and re- 
sides at the dormitory on Cushing street. 

2. Clarence I., born April 9, 1872; mar- 
ried Bessie McLane, daughter of William 
and Mary (Lindley) McLane; children: 
i. Frances Elizabeth, born July 25, 1908; 
ii. Albert H., born February 14, 1913. 
Clarence I. Peck is a successful market 
gardener, and conducts his father's farm 
at Peck's Corner, Barrington, Rhode 
Island. 

3. Ethel G., born August 25, 1879 ; mar- 
ried Findlay B. Beard, son of William S. 
and Nina (Stout) Beard ; their children 
are : i. Virginia Burns, born July 20, 1910 ; 
ii. Madeline Peck, born January 14, 1917. 
Mr. Beard is a rigging and erecting engi- 
neer and is located at No. 530 South Main 
street, Providence, where he conducts an 
extensive business. 

Albert Henry Peck died in Barrington, 
Rhode Island, November 17, 1909. He 
is survived by Mrs. Peck, who resides at 
the homestead in Barrington, Rhode 
Island. 



245 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



LONG, John Davis, 

Governor, Cabinet Official. 

The youngest chief executive the State 
of Massachusetts ever had, and one of 
her "favorite sons," Mr. Long was best 
known to his countrymen as Secretary 
of the Navy under President McKinley 
and as the man who stood at the head of 
the Navy Department during the war 
with Spain. He was continued in Presi- 
dent McKinley 's second cabinet, and for 
a year under President Roosevelt, who, 
in accepting Secretary Long's resigna- 
tion in 1902, wrote: "It has never been 
my good fortune to be associated with 
any public man more single-minded in 
his devotion to the public interest." His 
service to his State was as one of her 
most eminent lawyers, as legislator and 
speaker of the House, as Lieutenant- 
Governor and Governor, and as Congress- 
man ; to the nation as Secretary of the 
Navy under two Presidents ; and to the 
navy as its persistent friend, champion 
and historian. To him is due the first 
real expansion in ships and men, the agi- 
tation which finally resulted in the privi- 
lege of promotion of enlisted men to com- 
missioned rank, and the placing of thou- 
sands of navy yard employes under the 
civil service rules, who had previously 
been subject to removal and appointment 
with every change of administration. 
During his five years as Secretary of the 
Navy, the department spent more money 
under Secretary Long's direction than 
had been appropriated for the navy in any 
ten years previous, the enlisted force also 
growing from 12,500 to 24,000, while the 
Marine Corps more than doubled. He 
was the original "apostle of prepared- 
ness," and had his ideas and plans re- 
ceived the proper support from Congress, 
and had the Secretaries of the Navy who 
have followed him been in like sympathy, 



the present agitation would have been 
unnecessary and impossible. A biog- 
rapher wrote of him during his lifetime : 

As a man of letters Governor Long has 
achieved a reputation. Some years ago he 
produced a scholarly translation in blank verse 
of Virgil's Aeneid, published in 1879, in Boston, 
which has found many admirers. Among his 
other literary productions may be mentioned 
his 'Afterdinner Speeches," "The Republican 
Party, Its History, Principles and Policies," and 
"The New American Navy." His inaugural 
addresses were masterpieces of art, and the 
same can be said of his speeches on the floor 
of Congress, all of them polished, forceful and 
to the point. Mr. Long is a very fluent speaker, 
and, without oratorical display, he always suc- 
ceeds in winning the attention of the auditors. 
It is what he says, more than how he says it, 
that has won him his great popularity on the 
platform. Amid professional and official duties 
he also has written several poems and essays 
which reflect credit upon his heart and brain. 

He was not a native son of Massachu- 
setts, but of Maine, his Massachusetts 
residence beginning in 1863 as a young 
lawyer in the city of Boston, but Massa- 
chusetts quickly adopted him and was 
proud to claim him as her own. He 
traced his ancestry to an early settler of 
North Carolina, James Long; to Thomas 
Clarke, one of the Pilgrims ; to Richard 
Warren, of the "Mayflower;" and to 
Dolor Davis, who came in 1634. 

(I) James Long, an early settler in 
North Carolina, was a resident of Per- 
quimans precinct, Albemarle county, at 
the time of his death in 1682, and his will 
mentions sons, James, Thomas and Giles. 

(II) James (2), son of James (1) Long, 
died in Tyrrell county, North Carolina, 
November 15, 171 1. From his will we 
learn that the Christian name of his wife 
was Elizabeth, and that he had sons 
James, Thomas and John, and daughters, 
Mary and Elizabeth. He was a man of 
prominence in the administrative affairs 



246 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the colony, and a member of the House 
of Burgesses. 

(III) James (3), son of James (2) and 
Elizabeth Long, was of Chowan, Tyrrell 
county, North Carolina, and died there, 
September 1, 1734. His will, which was 
probated at the April term of court in the 
following year, mentions eldest son 
James, second son Giles ; brothers, 
Thomas, John and Andrew ; son Joshua, 
and daughter Elizabeth. 

(IV) Giles, second son of James (3) 
Long, died in 1782, leaving a son Miles. 
The "North Carolina Historical and 
Genealogical Register" fails to mention 
any other child of Giles Long. 

(V) Miles, son of Giles Long, came 
from North Carolina, and lived in Plym- 
outh, Massachusetts. He married, in 
Plymouth, in 1770, Thankful Clark, born 
1750, and lived in Plymouth. She sur- 
vived him, and afterward married Ezra 
Holmes. Children of Miles and Thank- 
ful (Clark) Long: Thomas, born August, 
1 77 1 ; Betsey, married John Clark. 

Thankful Clark, wife of Miles Long, 
was a daughter of Israel Clark, born 1720, 
lived in Plymouth, who married Deborah 
Pope, of Sandwich. Israel Clark was son 
of Josiah Clark, born 1690, lived in Plym- 
outh, and married Thankful Tupper. 
Josiah Clark, son of Thomas Clark, was 
born and lived in Plymouth, and was 
called "Silver-headed Thomas," because, 
having been scalped by the Indians when 
a boy, he wore a silver plate ; married 
Elizabeth Crow. Thomas Clark was son 
of James Clark, born in Plymouth, in 
1636; married, 1657, Abigail Lothrop, 
who was born 1639, daughter of Rev. 
John Lothrop, who came over in the 
"Griffin" in 1635, and was the first minis- 
ter in Barnstable, where his house still 
stands, and is used as a public library. 
James was a son of Thomas Clark, the 
Pilgrim, who came to Plymouth in the 



"Ann," in 1623. He lived in Plymouth, 
where he married Susannah Ring, and his 
gravestone still stands on Burial Hill, 
Plymouth. 

(VI) Thomas, son of Miles and Thank- 
ful (Clark) Long, was born in Plymouth, 
Massachusetts, in 1771, and died in Buck- 
field, in 1806. He married, November 8, 
1795, Bathsheba Churchill, born May 26, 
1766, died in Buckfield, July 27, 1853. 
Children: 1. Betsey, born about 1796; 
married Isaac Ellis. 2. Thomas, born 
about 1798. 3. Zadoc, born July 28, 1800. 
4. Sally, born about 1802 ; married Lucius 
Loring. 5. George Washington, died in 
infancy. 6. Bathsheba, married Isaac 
Bearse. 7. Harriet, died in infancy. 8. 
Miles, married Ann Bridgham. 9. Thank- 
ful, died in infancy. 10. Washington, 
born about 181 1. 11. Harriet. 12. Thank- 
ful C, married William W. Bacon. 

Bathsheba Churchill, wife of Thomas 
Long, was a daughter of Zadoc Church- 
ill, born 1747; son of Stephen Churchill, 
born 1717; son of Stephen Churchill, born 
1685; son of Eleazer Churchill, born 1652; 
son of John Churchill, who came from 
England to Plymouth, Massachusetts, 
1643, and married, 1644, Hannah, daugh- 
ter of William Pontus. Zadoc Churchill 
married Bathsheba Rider, born 1750, con- 
cerning whose ancestry authorities are at 
variance. One writer says Richard War- 
ren, of the "Mayflower," 1620, son of 
Christopher, of Kent county, England, 
married Widow Elizabeth Marsh, who 
came over in the "Ann," 1623 ; Robert 
Bartlett, who came in the "Ann," had 
Sarah Bartlett, who married, 1656, Sam- 
uel Rider (second wife); had Samuel 
Rider, born 1657; married, 1680, Lydia 
Tilden ; had Joseph Rider, born 1691, 
married, 1740, Elizabeth Crossman, (sec- 
ond wife) ; had Bathsheba Rider, born 
1650, married Zadoc Churchill. 

On the other hand, Mr. Bowman, sec- 



24; 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



retary of the Society of Mayflower De- 
scendants, says that James Chilton, of 
the "Mayflower," 1620, had a daughter 
Mary, who married John Winslow 
(brother of Governor Winslow) ; and had 
Mary Winslow, who married, 1650, Ed- 
ward Gray, of Plymouth, and had De- 
sire Gray, born 165 1, married Nathaniel 
Southworth, son of Alice Southworth, 
second wife of Governor Bradford ; and 
had Mary Southworth, born 1676, mar- 
ried Joseph Rider, and had Joseph Rider, 
Jr., who married (second wife) Elizabeth 
Crossman ; and had Bathsheba Rider, 
born 1750, married Zadoc Churchill, and 
had Bathsheba Churchill, who married 
Thomas Long. 

(VII) Zadoc, son of Thomas and Bath- 
sheba (Churchill) Long, was born in 
Middleboro, Massachusetts, July 28, 1800, 
and died in Winchenden, Massachusetts, 
February 3, 1873. He was a man of con- 
siderable prominence in his native State, 
and in 1638 was the Whig candidate for 
Congress. He received a plurality, but 
not a majority of votes, hence failed of 
election. He was also presidential elector 
and justice of the peace. He married, 
August 31, 1824, at New Gloucester, 
Maine, Julia Temple Davis, born in Fal- 
mouth, Maine, February 17, 1807, died in 
Buckfield, Maine, September 19, 1869. 
Children: 1. Julia Davis, born August 
16, 1825, died October 31, 1882; married 
Nelson D. White. 2. Persis Seaver, born 
February 14, 1828, died April 27, 1893; 
married Percival W. Bartlett. 3. Zadoc, 
Jr., born April 26, 1834, died September 
14, 1866; married Ruth A. Strout. 4. 
John Davis, born October 27, 1838. 

Julia Temple Davis, wife of Zadoc 
Long, was a descendant in the seventh 
generation of Dolor Davis, born in Kent, 
England, about 1600, and came to Boston 
in May, 1634, with Simon Willard. He 
settled in Cambridge, then in Duxbury, 



about 1643, tnen at Barnstable, where he 
died in 1673. Meantime he lived in Con- 
cord from 1655 to 1666, where his sons 
settled and lived. Dolor married, about 
1624, Margery Willard, born in 1602, 
daughter of Richard Willard, of Horse- 
monden, Kent, England. She died in 
Concord, Massachusetts, after 1655 and 
before 1666. Their son Samuel married, 
January 11, 1665, at Lynn, Massachusetts, 
Mary Meads (or Meadows), who died in 
Concord, 1710. Their son Simon, known 
as Lieutenant Simon, born 1683, died in 

Holden ; married, 1713, Dorothy , 

who died at Holden, 1776. Their son 
Simon, born 1714, died 1754; he lived in 
Rutland, Massachusetts, and married 
Hannah Gates, of Stow, who died in 1761. 
She was a descendant of Stephen Gates, 
one of the early settlers of Hingham. 
Their son, Deacon David, born 1740, 
lived at Paxton, and married Abigail 
Brown, 1764. Their son Simon, born in 
Paxton, September 2, 1765, died in Fal- 
mouth, Maine, March 17, 1810. He mar- 
ried, 1802, at West Boylston, Widow 
Persis Seaver, maiden name Temple, 
born 1766, at Shrewsbury, a descendant 
of the Temple family. Their daughter, 
Julia Temple Davis, married Zadoc Long. 
August 31, 1824. 

(VIII) John Davis Long, son of Zadoc 
and Julia Temple (Davis) Long, was born 
in Buckfield, Oxford county, Maine, Octo- 
ber 27, 1838, died at Hingham, Massa- 
chusetts, August 28, 1915. He acquired 
his earlier literary education in public 
schools and the academy at Hebron, in 
the latter fitting for college under the 
principalship of Mark H. Dunnell, after- 
ward a member of Congress from Minne- 
sota. He entered Harvard, taking the 
academic course, graduated Bachelor of 
Arts 1857, second in his class, and wrote 
the class ode, which was sung on com- 
mencement dav- For two years after 



248 



. N CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



leaving college he was principal of the 
Westford Academy, and at the end of 
that time entered Harvard Law School. 
He also studied law in the office of Sid- 
ney Bartlett and Peleg W. Chandler, of 
the Boston bar. In 1861 he was admitted 
to practice, and the same year began his 
professional career in Buckfield. He re- 
mained there six months, then came to 
Boston, and became partner with Still- 
man B. Allen. Alfred Hemenway was 
afterward a partner, a relation which was 
maintained until November, 1879, when 
Mr. Long was elected Governor of Mas- 
sachusetts. 

Soon after he had become a member of 
the Boston bar, Governor Long took up 
his residence in Hingham. In 1875 he 
was elected representative from the Sec- 
ond Plymouth District to the General 
Court, was reelected at the end of his first 
term, and twice afterward ; during the 
legislative sessions of 1876-77-80 he was 
speaker of the house, and the unanimous 
choice of the house in 1877. At the Re- 
publican State Convention in Worcester 
in 1877 he was mentioned for the gov- 
ernorship, but his name was withdrawn. 
At the convention of the next year he re- 
ceived two hundred and sixty-six votes 
in his candidacy for the gubernatorial 
office, but when his name was presented 
for the lieutenant-governorship he was 
nominated by a large majority and elect- 
ed to that office. In 1879 he was nomi- 
nated and elected Governor, succeeding 
Governor Talbot. In the campaign of 
that year his Democratic opponent was 
General Benjamin F. Butler, with John 
Ouincy Adams and Rev. Dr. Eddy as 
nominees of minor political factions. In 
1880 he was the unanimous choice of the 
convention, and at the polls in November 
he received a vote as gratifying as it was 
unprecedented in a gubernatorial contest 
an this State in any other than a presi- 



dential year. In November, 1881, he was 
reelected for another term, and served in 
all three years. In 1884 he was elected 
representative in Congress, and twice 
reelected, serving during the Forty- 
eighth, Forty-ninth and Fiftieth sessions 
of that body. 

On March 6, 1897, he was appointed 
Secretary of the Navy in President Mc- 
Kinley's cabinet, and retired from that 
office May 1, 1902. At the close of the 
last session of his six years in Congress, 
Governor Long returned to Boston and 
resumed his law practice, and with the 
exception of the years in the President's 
cabinet was not particularly identified 
with the public service. In addition to 
an extensive law practice conducted with 
his partner of earlier years, Alfred Hem- 
enway, Mr. Long had large business 
interests and was one of Boston's lead- 
ing financiers. He was president of the 
Puritan Trust Company, director of the 
United States and Chelsea Trust Com- 
panies and trustee of the Five Cent Sav- 
ings Bank. For several years he was a 
member of the State House construction 
commission. He was president of the 
board of overseers of Harvard College, 
member of the Massachusetts Total Ab- 
stinence Society, president of Wentworth 
Institute, trustee of Thayer Academy, 
trustee of Howard Seminary, president 
Harvard College Alumni Association, 
president of the Massachusetts Club, 
president of the Unitarian Club, the Men's 
Union, Mayflower and Boston Author's 
Club. In religious faith he was a Uni- 
tarian. The Zadoc Long Free Library 
at Buckfield, Maine, was presented to the 
town by Governor Long in 1901 as a 
memorial of his father. 

In 1880 Governor Long was honored 
by his alma mater with the degree of Doc- 
tor of Laws, and later with the same de- 
gree by Tufts College. On September 13, 



249 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1870, he married (first) Mary Wood- 
ward Glover, born in Roxbury, June 29, 
1845, died in Boston, February 16, 1882; 
married (second) May 22, 1885, Agnes 
Peirce, born at North Attleboro, Massa- 
chusetts, January 3, i860. 

Mary Woodward Glover, first wife of 
Governor John Davis Long, was a daugh- 
ter of George Stephen Glover, born in 
Dorchester, Massachusetts, in 1816, and 
married, about 1841, Helen Paul, of Sher- 
born. George Stephen Glover was a son 
of Captain Stephen Glover, born in Dor- 
chester, January 9, 1729, died October 11, 
181 1, master mariner and deep sea navi- 
gator; married (first) Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Elizabeth (Clough) 
Glover; married (second) October 15, 
1759, Jerusha Billings, born in Dorches- 
ter, September 22, 1743, died in Quincy, 
April 2, 1807, daughter of John and 
Miriam (Davenport) Billings. Captain 
Elisha Glover was son of John Glover, 
born in Dorchester, September 18, 1687, 
died in Braintree (Quincy) July 6, 1768; 
was land holder; married (first) January 
1, 1714, Mary Horton, of Milton, died De- 
cember 19, 1776. John Glover was a son 
of Nathaniel Glover, born in Dorchester, 
January 30, 1653, died there January 6, 
1723-24; married, 1672-73, Hannah 
Hinckley, of Barnstable, born April 1, 
1650, died in Dorchester, April 30, 1730, 
fourth daughter of Governor Thomas 
Hinckley by his first wife, Mary Rich- 
ards. Nathaniel was son of Mr. Na- 
thaniel Glover, born 1630-31, died in Dor- 
chester, May 21, 1657; married, March 22, 
1652, Mary Smith, born at Toxeth Park. 
Mary (Smith) Glover married (second) 
March 2, 1659-60, Thomas Hinckley, of 
Barnstable, afterward governor of Plym- 
outh colony. Nathaniel Glover was 
fourth son of John Glover, Esq., of Pres- 
cott, England, and of Dorchester and 
Boston, New England, born in Rainhill 



parish, Prescott, Lancashire, England, 
August 12, 1600, died in Boston, Decem- 
ber 11, 1653. 

Agnes Peirce, second wife of Governor 
John Davis Long, was born January 1, 
i860, daughter of Rev. Joseph D. Peirce, 
born November 15, 1815, died in North 
Attleboro, Massachusetts, November 16, 
1880; married, November 30, 1858, Mar- 
tha S. Price, born 1830, died 1885, daugh- 
ter of George Price. Rev. Joseph D. 
Peirce was son of John Peirce, born Scitu- 
ate, Massachusetts, October 29, 1776, died 
at sea, May 16, 1816; married, November 
10, 1810, Mercy Merritt, born January 24, 
1784, died April 4, 1838. John Peirce 
was son of Seth B. Peirce, born Scituate, 
September 7, 1728, died December 9, 
1810; married, September 6, 1766, Jemina 
Turner, died April 19, 1814. Seth B. 
Peirce was son of Thomas Peirce, born 
November 14, 1692, died before March 
28, 1786. Thomas Peirce was son of Cap- 
tain Benjamin Peirce, born 1646, died 
1730; married (first) February 5, 1678, 
Martha, daughter of James Adams ; mar- 
ried (second) July 21, 1718, Mrs. Eliza- 
beth (Adams) Perry. Captain Benjamin 
Peirce was son of Captain Michael Peirce, 
born about 161 5, in England, came to 
America about 1645, an ^ was fi rst OI 
Hingham and afterward of Scituate. He 
was killed in battle while leading his com- 
pany against King Philip's savage war- 
riors, on Sunday, March 26, 1676. His 
first wife died in 1662, and he married 
(second) Widow Anna James. 

Jemina Turner, above named, was a 
descendant of Elder William Brewster, of 
the "Mayflower." She was a daughter 
of Richard Turner, son of John Turner, 
who was son of John Turner and Mary 
Brewster, who was daughter of Jonathan 
Brewster, son of William Brewster. 

John Davis Long and his first wife, 
Mary Woodward Glover, were the par- 



250 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ents of three children: I. Margaret, born 
in Hingham, January 26, 1872, died same 
day. 2. Margaret, born in Boston, Octo- 
ber 24, 1873. 3. Helen, born in Hing- 
ham, June 26, 1875, died October 4, 1901. 
By his second wife, Agnes (Peirce) Long, 
who survives him, he had an only son 
Peirce, born at North Attleboro, Decem- 
ber 29, 1887. 



DANIELSON, John W v 

Financier, Industrial Leader. 

To understand the meaning to a man of 
the honor of his family — to know the gen- 
eral status in a democracy of families of 
old and honorable lineage, is to know and 
understand the meaning and brightness 
of the national honor. For this can never 
be any brighter than the honor of the 
family. This statement is nowhere more 
clearly and conclusively proved than in 
the Roman civilization, in which the 
dominant unit was the family, and in 
which the parent was given the power to 
slay any of his sons who brought disgrace 
to the family name. To-day the weapon 
which the community uses to punish the 
crime of staining family honor is public 
opinion. Public opinion, the moral law, 
love of country, home and God, are what 
have made the aristocracy of America, 
not an aristocracy of wealth, nor noble 
blood in the ordinary interpretation of the 
word, but an aristocracy of right and of 
noble deeds. 

In the foremost ranks of this aristoc- 
racy in the State of Connecticut, is the 
Danielson family, which holds a place of 
honor and respect in the community 
eclipsed by none. The Danielson family 
is of Scotch origin, and was established 
in America in the middle part of the sev- 
enteenth century. Since the time of its 
founding the family has been prominent 
and active in the service of the country. 



and has furnished its sons liberally in 
times of peace and war. Its members 
have from time to time been distinguished 
in military service, and have rendered 
valuable services in official life. The bor- 
ough of Danielson, in the State of Con- 
necticut, the home of several generations 
of Danielsons, was named in their honor, 
and is to-day a silent monument to them, 
mute evidence of the high place which 
they have always held in the hearts and 
minds of the community. 

Danielson Arms — Argent, a bend sable. 

(I) Sergeant James Danielson, progeni- 
tor of the family in America, was a native 
of Scotland, whence he emigrated to the 
New World, settling on Block Island, now 
the town of New Shoreham, Rhode Island, 
among the earliest residents of that place. 
Early land records show him to have been 
a man of considerable fortune. He as- 
sumed a prominent place in the town. 
Between the years 1688 and 1705 he pur- 
chased several large tracts of land in 
Block Island, and was admitted a freeman 
of Rhode Island at the May session of the 
General Assembly in 1696. In 1700, he 
was elected sergeant of the town of New 
Shoreham. In September, 1696, he agreed 
to raise £100 to pay for making a suitable 
harbor. In the same year he served as a 
soldier in the expedition against Quebec, 
under General Wolfe, and participated in 
the engagement on the Heights of Abra- 
ham against the French under Montcalm. 
In early life he served almost continu- 
ously in the wars against the Indians, and 
in reward for heroic services received a 
grant of land in Voluntown, in the eastern 
part of Connecticut, from the General As- 
sembly. His purchases of land were very 
extensive. In 1706 he bought eight hun- 
dred acres of land on the Quinebaug river, 
in what is now the town of Pomfret. This 
included a mansion house and barn. The 



251 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



following year he bought a tract of two 
thousand acres of land lying between the 
(Juinebaug and Assawauga rivers. He is 
said to have been the first settler south 
of Lake Mashapaug, at the southern end 
of which he built a garrison house. This 
new settlement afterward became the 
present town of Killingly. James Daniel- 
son became one of the most prominent 
and influential citizens of the community. 
He presented the town with a burying 
ground, located between the two rivers 
above named, and was the first to be 
buried in it. He died on January 22, 1728, 
at the age of eighty years. He was twice 
married, the maiden names of his wives 
being unknown. His first wife was Abi- 
gail. His second wife, Mary Rose, died 
February 23, 1752, in her eighty-sixth 
year. 

(II) Samuel Danielson, son of Sergeant 
James and Mary Rose Danielson, was 
born in 1701. He inherited a large part 
of his father's extensive property hold- 
ings, including his homestead, in what is 
now the town of Killingly. He succeeded 
to his father's place in the community, 
which was much like that of the English 
country squire. He became a leader in 
the industrial affairs of the town. Part 
of the vast Danielson holdings on the 
Quinebaug river became the site of a 
manufacturing village named Danielson- 
ville, now known as Danielson. Samuel 
Danielson married Sarah Douglas, on 
March 26, 1725. She was born about 
1704, and died March 29, 1774, aged sev- 
enty. He died in 1780, at the age of 
eighty-five years. 

(III) Colonel William Danielson, son 
of Samuel and Sarah (Douglas) Daniel- 
son, was born August 11, 1729, in the 
town of Killingly, Connecticut, and re- 
sided there all his life, becoming very 
prominent in the town affairs. He was 
elected constable and collector of taxes 



in 1760. In the same year he was elected 
lieutenant In 1774 he became first major 
of the Eleventh Militia Regiment; and in 
the following year took one hundred and 
forty-six men from Killingly to Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts. He became colo- 
nel in 1776, and after the close of the 
Revolutionary War a general of militia. 
In 1788, Colonel William Danielson was 
a member of the State Convention called 
to ratify the National Constitution. He 
married, October 29, 1758. Sarah Wil- 
liams, born in 1737, died January 10, 1809. 
He died in Killingly, August 19, 1798. 

(IV) General James Danielson, son of 
Colonel William and Sarah (Williams) 
Danielson, was born in Killingly, Con- 
necticut, January 18, 1761, and died there 
October 25, 1827. He married, on De- 
cember 3, 1788, Sarah Lord, of Abington, 
Connecticut. She was born June 17, 1769, 
and died April 28, 1852. 

(V) Hezekiah Lord Danielson, son of 
General James and Sarah (Lord) Daniel- 
son, was born in Danielson, Connecticut, 
December 16, 1802, and resided there all 
his life. He was prominent in local affairs 
in the town, and was a deacon of the Con- 
gregational church. He died in 1881. He 
married Laura Weaver, of Brooklyn, Con- 
necticut. Their children were: I. Char- 
lotte Tiffany, born in 1827; married Or- 
ville M. Capron, and resides in Danielson. 

2. Lucy Storrs, born in 1829; married 
John Hutchins. and resides in Danielson. 

3. Elizabeth S., born in 1831 ; married 
Charles C. Cundall, and died in Seattle, 
Washington, July, 1916. 4. John Weaver, 
mentioned below. 5. Joseph, born in 
April, 1835, died in 1898. 6. Edward, 
born in 1837, died in 1882. 7. Daniel, 
born in 1842, now a resident of Danielson. 
8. Henry M., born in 1845, resides in Dan- 
ielson. 

(VI) John Weaver Danielson, son of 
Hezekiah and Laura (Weaver) Daniel- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



son, was born in Danielson, Connecticut, 
March 30, 1833, and received his early 
education in the public schools. He later 
attended the Woodstock Academy, after 
leaving which he entered the business 
world as a clerk in the establishment of 
Edwin Ely. Shortly afterward he was 
given the position of clerk in the mill 
office in his native town, of which Amos 
De Forest Lockwood was agent. 

In i860 he left Connecticut, and went 
to Lewiston, Maine, in company with Mr. 
Lockwood, who was superintending the 
construction and equipment of the An- 
droscoggin Mills there. Mr. Danielson 
remained in Maine for thirteen years. In 
1873 ne resigned as agent and went to 
Providence, Rhode Island, where in part- 
nership with Mr. Lockwood he engaged 
in business. Mr. Lockwood died in 1884, 
and in the same year Mr. Danielson was 
elected treasurer of the Quinebaug Com- 
pany of Danielson, and the Lockwood 
Company of Waterville, Maine. He 
rapidly became a power in the line of 
industry in which he was engaged, and 
a leader in several enterprises of consider- 
able magnitude. He was treasurer of the 
Wauregan Mills at Wauregan, Connecti- 
cut; the Lewiston Bleachery and Dye 
Works at Lewiston, Maine, and the Pone- 
mah Mills at Taftsville, Connecticut. In 
addition to his huge cotton interests in 
the New England States, he was also a 
stockholder in several cotton mills in the 
South. Mr. Danielson was a well-known 
figure in the financial world. In 1877 he 
became a member of the corporation of 
the Providence Institute for Savings and 
in 1884 was elected a director of the same 
institution. He was also a director of 
the Rhode Island Hospital Trust Com- 
pany, and a member of its finance com- 
mittee ; from 1887 to 1908 he served as 
treasurer of the Rhode Island Hospital. 
He was a deacon of the Central Congre- 



gational Church at Providence. From 
1886 until the time of his death, Mr. Dan- 
ielson was a member of the Rhode Island 
Historical Society. 

John Weaver Danielson married, on 
August 24, 1858, Sarah Deming Lock- 
wood, born May 30, 1836, at Slatersville, 
Rhode Island, the daughter of Amos De 
Forest and Sarah Fuller (Deming) Lock- 
wood. Mrs. Danielson survives her hus- 
band and resides at No. 160 Waterman 
street, Providence. Their children were: 
1. Edith Lockwood, married Elisha Har- 
ris Howard, of Providence ; children : i. 
John Danielson Howard, who married 
Mildred Grandstaff ; they have one daugh- 
ter, Catherine Howard ; ii. Elisha Harris 
Howard, Jr. ; iii. Alice Lockwood How- 
ard, married Raymond E. Ostby, of Provi- 
dence. 2. Alice Weaver, the wife of Theo- 
dore P. Bogert, of Providence, Rhode 
Island ; has adopted two children — Alice, 
who died at the age of one and one-half 
years, and Edith. 3. Amos Lockwood, 
married Charlotte Ives Goddard, and had 
one child : i. Henry L. Danielson, who 
died at the age of fourteen years. 4. John 
De Forest, died October 16, 1909; mar- 
ried Pauline Root, who now resides 
Boston. 

Mr. Danielson was a member of the 
Hope and Art clubs, of Providence ; of 
the Arkwright Club of Boston, and of 
the Oquossoc Angling Association of the 
Rangely Lakes, Maine. He was a man of 
sterling worth, and greatly respected and 
loved in Providence. The following is 
an excerpt from the resolution passed by 
the Rhode Island Historical Society at 
the time of his death : 



He was conspicuous for his wide activity and 
success in business and manufacturing interests, 
and his devotion to the mission of the Christian 
church. He was wise in counsel, upright in life, 
public spirited as a citizen, and greatly honored 
by all who knew him. 



in p 



253 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



LOCKWOOD, Amos De Forest, 

Leader in Industrial Development. 

Lockwood is an English surname of 
very ancient origin, and is found in the 
"Domesday Book," which dates back a 
period of eight hundred years. It is a 
place name, and the family has several 
branches in England, Staffordshire, York- 
shire, County Essex, and Northampton. 
The family is a very ancient and honor- 
able one, and entitled to bear arms by 
royal patent. The coat-of-arms of the 
Lockwoods is derived from the Rev. Rich- 
ard Lockwood, rector of Dingley, County 
Northampton, in the year 1530. 

Arms — Argent a fesse between three mart- 
lets sable. 

Crest — On the stump of an oak tree erased 
proper a martlet sable. 

Motto — Tutis in undis. 

(I) Robert Lockwood, the immigrant 
ancestor of the family in America, was a 
native of England, and emigrated to the 
colonies in the year 1630. He came first 
to Watertown, Massachusetts, where he 
was admitted a freeman on March 9, 1636- 
37. He was the executor of the estate of 
one Edmund Lockwood, supposed to have 
been his brother. About 1646 he removed 
from Watertown, Massachusetts, to Fair- 
field, Connecticut, where he died intestate, 
in 1658. Robert Lockwood was admitted 
a freeman at Fairfield, Connecticut, May 
20, 1652. He was appointed sergeant at 
Fairfield in May, 1657, and is said to have 
lived for a time in Norwalk, Connecticut. 
In 1660 he deeded to Rev. John Bishop 
the house and lot which he purchased of 
Elias Bayley, Rev. Mr. Denton's attorney. 

He married Susannah , who mar- 
ried (second) Jeffrey Ferris, and died at 
Greenwich, Connecticut, December 23, 
1660. Children: 1. Jonathan, born Sep- 
tember 10, 1634. 2. Deborah, born Octo- 
ber 12, 1636. 3. Joseph, born August 6, 



1638. 4. Daniel, born March 21, 1640. 5. 
Ephraim, born December 1, 1641. 6. Ger- 
shom, mentioned below. 7. John. 8. Abi- 
gail, married John Harlow, of Fairfield, 
Connecticut. 9. Sarah. 10. Mary, mar- 
ried Jonathan Heusted. 

The inventory of the estate of Robert 
Lockwood, dated September 11, 1658, 
amounted to £467 63s, taken by Anthony 
Wilson and John Lockwood. On May 13, 
1654, Susan Lockwood, wife of Robert 
Lockwood, gave evidence in a witch case 
at a court held at New Haven, Connecti- 
cut, and stated that she was present when 
goodwife Knapp was hanged for a witch. 
(New Haven Colonial Records.) 

(II) Lieutenant Gershom Lockwood, 
son of Robert and Susannah Lockwood, 
was born in Watertown, Massachusetts, 
September 6, 1643, and died in Greenwich, 
Fairfield county, Connecticut, March 12, 
1718-19. He removed to Greenwich with 
his father when he was nine years of age. 
He became one of the twenty-seven pro- 
prietors of the town of Greenwich, and 
held many positions of public trust and 
importance in the town. By trade he was 
a carpenter, and was the principal builder 
in the town. In 1694-95 Gershom Lock- 
wood and his son were taxed on £153 15s. 
He made his will November 22, 1692, and 
was called at that time, Gershom Lock- 
wood, Senior. 

Lieutenant Gershom Lockwood mar- 
ried Lady Ann Millington, a daughter of 
Lord Millington, of England. She came 
to New England in search of her lover, 
a British army officer. Failing to find 
him, she taught school, and subsequently 
married Gershom Lockwood, of Green- 
wich, Connecticut. In 1660 her parents 
sent her from England a large oak chest, 
ingeniously carved on the outside, and 
strongly built ; tradition says that the 
case contained half a bushel of guineas, 
and many fine silk dresses. The chest has 

254 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



been handed down through several gener- 
ations and at last accounts was in the 
home of Mr. Samuel Ferris, in Green- 
wich, Connecticut. Lieutenant Gershom 
Lockwood married (second) Elizabeth, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (Mont- 
gomery) Townsend, and the widow of 
Gideon Wright. The children of Lieu- 
tenant and Ann (Millington) Lockwood 
were: I. Gershom. 2. William, died 
young. 3. Joseph. 4. Elizabeth, mar- 
ried John Bates. 5. Hannah, born in 
1667; married (first) John Burwell; mar- 
ried (second) Thomas Hanford. 6. Sarah, 
received by her father's will "a certain 
negro girl being now in my possession." 
7. Abraham, twin of Sarah, mentioned 
below. 

(III) Abraham Lockwood, son of Lieu- 
tenant Gershom and Ann (Millington) 
Lockwood, was born about 1669, m 
Greenwich, Connecticut, and died in June, 
1747, at the age of seventy-seven years. 
He was the first of the line to remove to 
Rhode Island, and there established the 
family. He was a resident of Old War- 
wick, Rhode Island, and a prosperous 
farmer and landowner there. He mar- 
ried, about 1693, Sarah Westcott, born in 
1673, daughter of Amos and Deborah 
(Stafford) Westcott. Their children 
were: 1. Deborah, married, November 29, 
1725, Nathaniel Cole. 2. Amos, mentioned 
below. 3. Adam, married, December 24. 
1734, Sarah Straight. 4. Sarah Lockwood, 
married, June 6, 1728, Abel Potter. 5. 
Abraham, married Mary . 

(IV) Captain Amos Lockwood, son of 
Abraham and Sarah (Westcott) Lock- 
wood, was born in Warwick, Rhode 
Island, about 1695, an ^ died there on 
March 11, 1772. He was admitted a free- 
man of the Colony of Rhode Island, April 
30, 1723. (Rhode Island Colonial Rec- 
ords, vol. 4, p. 327.) Captain Amos Lock- 
wood was prominent in public life in the 



colony, and held the office of deputy from 
Warwick, May 1, 1749. 

He married Sarah Utter, December 23, 
1725. She was the daughter of William 
and Anne (Stone) Utter, of Warwick, 
Rhode Island, and was born August 1, 
1707, died January 4, 1780. Their chil- 
dren were: 1. Amos, Jr., born April 25, 
1727; married Mary Knight. 2. Sarah, 
born January 26, 1728-29; married Sion 
Arnold. 3. Ann, born December 28, 1730 ; 
married Joseph Arnold. 4. Benoni, men- 
tioned below. 5. Alice, born October 10, 
1735 ; married John Healy. 6. Marcy, 
born November 26, 1737; married Stephen 
Greene. 7. Waite, born September 2, 
1742; married William Greene. 8. Phebe. 
born June 20, 1744. 9. Barbary, born April 
24, 1747. 10. Abraham, born December 
26, 1748; married Patience Greene. 11. 
Millacent, born April 25, 1750. 

(V) Captain Benoni Lockwood, son of 
Captain Amos and Sarah (Utter) Lock- 
wood, was born November 26, 1733, in 
Warwick, Rhode Island. He removed 
from Warwick to Cranston, Rhode Island, 
where he became a leading citizen and 
active in military affairs. 

He married, April 5, 1772, Phebe Water- 
man, born April 11, 1748, died October 19, 
1808, daughter of Resolved and Sarah 
(Carr) Waterman. She married, after 
the death of Captain Lockwood, Moses 
Brown, who died in 1836. Captain Be- 
noni Lockwood died in Cranston, Rhode 
Island, February 19, 1781, aged forty- 
eight years. The children of Captain Be- 
noni and Phebe (Waterman) Lockwood 
were : I. Sarah, born April 24, 1773 ; mar- 
ried Bates Harris. 2. Avis, born Decem- 
ber 7, 1774. 3. Benoni, mentioned below. 
4. Phebe, born December 9, 1778. 

(VI) Benoni (2) Lockwood, son of 
Captain Benoni (1) and Phebe (Water- 
man) Lockwood, was born in Cranston, 
Rhode Island, April 2, 1777. During the 



255 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



early years of his life he followed the sea, 
ranking as captain. He later entered the 
profession of civil engineering, in which 
he engaged for the remaining years of his 
life. He died in Cranston, April 26, 1852. 
The following mention of him is found in 
the "History of Warwick, R. I." p. 311: 
"Dan'l Arnold left legacies to the Shawo- 
met Baptist Church, which has brought 
to light the existence of a few members 
who claimed to be the church ; their 
names are Benoni Lockwood, Amelia 
Weaver, Lucy A. Lockwood and Eliza 
T. Lockwood." 

Captain Benoni (2) Lockwood married, 
April 29, 1798, Phebe Greene, daughter of 
Rhodes and Phebe (Vaughan) Greene. 
Their children were: 1. Rhodes Greene, 
died young. 2. Phebe Greene, married 
Reuben Peckham. 3. Sarah. 4. Mary. 
5. Benoni, born April 26, 1805 ; married 
Amelia Cooley. 6. Avis Waterman, mar- 
ried Rhodes B. Chapman. 7. Amos De 
Forest, born October 30, 181 1 ; mentioned 
below. 8. Anna Tucker, born October 13, 
1813; married James Dennis. 9. Moses 
Brown, born August 25, 1815 ; died May 
13, 1872. 10. Dorcas Brown. 

(VII) Amos De Forest Lockwood, son 
of Captain Benoni and Phebe (Greene) 
Lockwood, was born at Pawtuxet, Rhode 
Island, October 30, 1811. His education 
was terminated in his sixteenth year, and 
at that age he entered the business world 
in the employ of the firm of Peck & Wil- 
kinson, merchants and manufacturers, of 
the town of Rehoboth, ten miles from his 
home, and his occasional visits to his 
home were made on foot. For two years 
he served as clerk in the store, and for 
two years was a mill hand, acquiring a 
knowledge of the manufacture of cotton 
fabrics. Thence he became an operative 
in the employ of Almy, Brown & Slater, 
at Slatersville, Rhode Island. He found 
this work congenial and put all his energy 



into an exhaustive study of its every 
phase, familiarizing himself with all the 
details of the work, and making himself 
in a short time one of the firm's most 
valued employes. He later became su- 
perintendent of the mill before he had 
attained his majority, and three years 
later was made resident agent. After 
eight years of faithful service in this 
capacity he became one of a company 
formed to rent and operate the property, 
which was successfully carried forward 
for a period of ten years. 

Mr. Lockwood remained a resident of 
Slatersville twenty-one years, and his in- 
fluence upon the community was most 
salutary. He had early formed religious 
connections under the care of Rev. Thom- 
as Vernon, at Rehoboth, and his life and 
conduct were calculated to inspire noble 
motives in others. When the lease of the 
Slatersville property expired, Mr. Lock- 
wood became interested in the Quinebaug 
Mills of Danielson, Connecticut, and was 
one of the original proprietors of the 
Wauregan Mills in Plainfield, same State, 
which were begun under his supervision 
and managed by him several years. After 
residing in Danielson five years he went 
to Lawrence, Massachusetts, in 1855, and 
rearranged the Pacific Mills of that State. 
Three years later, in 1858, as mechanical 
engineer, he took charge of extensive 
operations for Boston capitalists at 
Lewiston, Maine, and in other places in 
that State and Northeastern Massachu- 
setts. He still resided in Danielson until 
i860. Under his supervision the Andros- 
coggin Mills at Lewiston were built, 
equipped, and put in operation, and for 
several years he was resident agent. He 
resided twelve years in Lewiston, where 
the operations under his charge were very 
profitable, and he acquired a great variety 
of business interests. He was elected 
treasurer of Bowdoin College, and about 



256 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the same time became a corporate mem- 
ber of the American Board of Commis- 
sioners for Foreign Missions, both of 
which positions he filled during his life. 

In the spring of 1874 a corporation was 
formed to engage in manufacturing at 
Waterville, Maine, and Mr. Lockwood 
was chosen treasurer of the company, 
which took his name, and the Lockwood 
Mills, erected according to his plan, were 
operated with great success and profit. 
In 1873 he returned to Rhode Island, and 
continued thereafter to reside in Provi- 
dence. At the time of his decease he was 
president of the Saco water power ma- 
chine shop at Biddeford, Maine. The 
minutes of the directors relating to his 
death speak of him as one who had been 
associated with them from the beginning 
of the enterprise, and one who was in- 
terested and active in its success, and 
whose loss could not be measured, and 
"to the managers a personal loss which 
cannot be filled." The institutions, corpo- 
rations and associations of various kinds 
with which he was identified numbered 
nearly one hundred. His memorialist 
says : "It seems amazing that one man 
has done so much and done it so well, 
and, yet, as one has said, 'was never in 
a hurry'." Mr. Lockwood was one of the 
early presidents of the Congregation Club 
of Rhode Island, which passed appropri- 
ate resolutions following his death, of 
which the following is the closing para- 
graph : 

Resolved, That in the death of Amos D. Lock- 
wood we have suffered no common loss. He 
was identified with the industries of our State, 
with its soundest business enterprises, with its 
charitable institutions and with its religious life. 
In all these departments his influence was felt 
in a marked degree, and always on the side of 
right. By his death we have lost a leader of 
industry, who was an ornament to our commu- 
nity, a counselor whose advice was always wise, 
a man whose uprightness and integrity stood 



firm as the everlasting hills, a friend whose 
kindliness endeared him to all who knew him, 
a Christian whose daily life exemplified the faith 
which he professed. 

Mr. Lockwood lived in the times of the 
greatest development in the American 
industries, and he contributed no small 
share not only to the material develop- 
ment of the region in which he lived, but 
also to its moral and social uplifting. He 
assisted in planting the cotton industry 
in the South, where it has grown to large 
volume. The directors of the Pacelet 
Manufacturing Company at Spartanburg, 
South Carolina, passed proper resolutions 
upon his death, which follow : 

Resolved, That we have heard, with much 
regret, of the death of Amos D. Lockwood, for 
whom we had the highest respect and regard. 

Resolved, That in him was found a true friend 
not only of our company but also of the entire 
South. While his death will be a great loss to 
the many enterprises with which he was con- 
nected, the entire manufacturing interest of the 
South is no less a sufferer. By his works he 
showed great faith in the future of this coun- 
try. Full of energy and experience he com- 
manded our respect and confidence. Frank and 
candid, useful in every way, full of honors, a 
Christian gentleman, we saw in him a man as he 
should be. His life was worth living. 

A man of strong convictions, he was of 
most kindly nature, and to him the home 
circle was very dear. He was a child 
when among children ; was very fond of 
music and gifted with a sweet voice, 
which retained its strength and purity to 
the last. He was never too busy or too 
weary to listen to singing, or join in it. 
Particularly marked in his observance of 
the Sabbath, he could ill bear the presence 
in his family of any one who intruded 
themes of business on sacred time. He 
never would permit repairs on mills under 
his control on that day. Having been 
asked his opinion in regard to Sabbath 
work in manufacturing establishments, 



N E-7-17 



257 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Lockwood closed his letter in reply 
with the following words : "My habit 
from the commencement of my business 
life has been to work only six days in a 
week, and to have those under me do the 
same ; and never have I departed from 
this custom except when property has 
been in danger from fire or flood." Kind, 
charitable, as he was in respect to the 
opinions and practices of others, his con- 
victions were an abiding law to himself. 
This appears, also, in his staunch ad- 
herence to the cause of temperance. 

Mr. Lockwood was one of the early 
presidents of the Congregational Club of 
Rhode Island. As an expression of a 
sense of bereavement and an estimate of 
his character, at a meeting held February 
ii, 1884, the following resolutions, offer- 
ed by Hon. Rowland Hazard, were unani- 
mously adopted : 

Whereas, It has pleased Almighty God to 
remove from us, by sudden death, our well- 
beloved friend and associate, Amos D. Lock- 
wood, a former President of the Club, a valued 
member of the Congregational Church, and a 
citizen of this Commonwealth, known and re- 
spected of all men for his sagacity, for his pru- 
dence, for his kindly courtesy, for his sterling 
integrity, and for his Christian character; and, 

Whereas, We desire to give some expression, 
however inadequate, to the feelings which we 
share in common with this whole community, it 
is therefore, 

Resolved, That in the death of Amos D. Lock- 
wood we have suffered no common loss. He 
was identified with the industries of our State, 
with its soundest business institutions, and with 
its religious life. In all these departments his 
influence was felt in a marked degree, and 
always on the side of the right. By his death 
we have lost a leader of industry, who was an 
ornament to our community, a counselor whose 
advice was always wise, a man whose upright- 
ness and integrity stood firm as the everlasting 
hills, a friend whose kindliness endeared him to 
all who knew him, a Christian whose daily life 
exemplified the faith which he professed. 

Resolved, That when such a man dies, it is 
the duty of the living to bear testimony to the 



worth of the dead. We perform this duty with 
no empty form of words. With true and earn- 
est feeling we would say: Here was a man of 
whom we were justly proud; here was a life 
rounded and filled with duties faithfully per- 
formed; here was an example to put to shame 
our own shortcomings, and to lead us upward 
to loftier heights of Christian living. 

Resolved, That we tender our heartfelt sym- 
pathies to the afflicted family of our deceased 
friend. Within the sacred circle of private 
grief we cannot intrude, but the memory of his 
noble life, the recollection of his kindly deeds, 
and the record of his Christian example form 
an heirloom in which we also have a part. We 
ask that those who were near and dear to him 
will permit us to lay our tribute of respect upon 
his tomb. Careful of his own reputation as a 
business man he would not speak ill of others. 

He married, May 27, 1835, Sarah Fuller 
Deming, of Boston, born August 24, 1812, 
died May 23, 1889, daughter of Charles 
and Mehitable (Fuller) Deming, of Need- 
ham. Children: 1. Sarah Deming, men- 
tioned below. 2. De Forest, born 1838, 
died young. 3. Amelia De F., November 
29, 1840, died in 1910, unmarried. 4. Mary, 
August 8, 1847, died young. 

(VIII) Sarah Deming, eldest child of 
Amos De Forest and Sarah F. (Deming) 
Lockwood, was born May 30, 1836, in 
Slatersville, and became the wife of John 
W. Danielson (see Danielson VI). 



WATERMAN, John O., 

Man of Great Enterprise. 

(I) Richard Waterman, the American 
ancestor, was born in England about the 
year 1590. He came to New England in 
1629, not a decade later than the Pilgrims 
of the "Mayflower," and like them he 
settled in Massachusetts. But the good 
people of Salem banished him from their 
midst for religious heresy as they did 
Roger Williams ; he removed to Provi- 
dence in March, 1638, and became the 
founder of one of the oldest families of 



258 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Rhode Island, one allied with several 
other of the historic families of that State. 

Waterman Arms — Or a Buck's head cabossed 
gules. 

Richard Waterman, after coming to 
Rhode Island, first settled in Providence, 
there residing many years, and also made 
his residence in Newport. He was one of 
the seven to whom Roger Williams deed- 
ed land in Providence, and in 1639 was 
one of the twelve original members of 
the first Baptist church in America. In 
1640 he was one of the signers to an 
agreement for a form of government; 
was made a freeman in 1655 ; and was 
successively commissioner, juryman and 
warden, also holding a colonel's rank in 
the militia. Died 1673. Married Bethia 

, died 1680. Issue: 1. Nathaniel 

Waterman, married Susanna Carden. 2. 
Resolved Waterman, mentioned below. 3. 
Mehetable Waterman, married Captain 
Arthur Fenner. 4. Waite Waterman, 
married Henry Brown. 

(II) Resolved Waterman, son of Rich- 
ard and Bethia Waterman, was born in 
1638. He only lived to attain the age of 
thirty-two years, but he had risen to the 
distinction of deputy to the General Court 
in 1667, being then twenty-nine, and gave 
great promise of a life of usefulness and 
honor. Died 1670. 

Married, in 1659, Mercy Williams, born 
in Providence, Rhode Island, July 15, 
1640, died 1707, daughter of Roger Wil- 
liams, born 1599, died 1683, and his wife, 
Mary Barnard. Mrs. Waterman married 
(second) Samuel Winsor. Issue: 1. Rich- 
ard Waterman, born January, 1660, died 
September 28, 1848 ; married Anne Water- 
man, daughter of Nathaniel and Susanna 
Waterman. 2. Mercy Waterman, born in 
1663, died February 19, 1756; married 
Tristan Derby. 3. John Waterman, of 
Warwick, born 1664 or 1666, died August 



28, 1748; married Anne Olney, daughter 
of Thomas and Elizabeth (Marsh) Olney. 

4. Resolved Waterman, mention below. 

5. Waite Waterman, born about 1668; 
married John Rhodes, of Pawtucket, 
Rhode Island. 

(III) Ensign Resolved Waterman, was 
born in 1667, and in 1689 settled in the 
now town of Greenville, Rhode Island. 
He served as ensign of militia for many 
years, and in 1715 represented the town 
in the General Assembly. Died January 
13, 1719. Married (first) Anne Harris, 
born November 12, 1673, daughter of An- 
drew Harris and granddaughter of Wil- 
liam Harris. Married (second) Mercy 
, died 1759. Issue (by first wife) : 

1. Resolved Waterman, mentioned below. 

2. Mercy Waterman. 3. Joseph Water- 
man. Issue (by second wife) : 4. Waite 
Waterman. 5. John Waterman. 6. Han- 
nah Waterman. 

(IV) Colonel Resolved Waterman, son 
of Ensign Resolved Waterman and his 
first wife, Anne Harris, was born at 
Smithfield, Rhode Island, March 12, 1703. 
He built the Greenville Tavern in 1733, 
and was a man of importance, the records 
naming him as "Esq." He represented 
Smithfield in the General Assembly in 
May and July, 1739; in May and October, 
1740; in May and October, 1741. died 
July 15, 1746. Married, September 20, 
1722, Lydia Mathewson, born June 7, 
1701. Issue: 1. Captain Andrew Water- 
man, born 1724, died March 6, 1812, a 
very prominent man of his day. Married 
(first) Sarah Wilkinson, of Scituate. Mar- 
ried (second) Margaret Foster, daughter 
of John and Hannah Foster. 2. Resolved 
Waterman, died 1772, proprietor of the 
Greenville Tavern for many years ; ma- 
jor and colonel of militia. 3. Stephen 
Waterman, died young. 4. John Water- 
man, mentioned below. 5. Annie Water- 
man, born December 12, 1729. 6. Ste- 

59 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



phen Waterman, born May 12, 1737. 7. 
Lydia Waterman, born 1733. 8. William 
Waterman, born 1736. 9. Annie Water- 
man, born September 11, 1740. 

(V) Captain John Waterman, son of 
Colonel Resolved and Lydia (Mathew- 
son) Waterman, was born in 1728. He 
became a ship owner and sea captain, sail- 
ing his own ships to China and other 
foreign countries. He was known as 
"Paper Mill John," from the fact that he 
built one of the first paper mills in Amer- 
ica. He was an early and extensive manu- 
facturer not only of paper, but operated 
a fulling mill, a woolen cloth finishing 
mill, and a chocolate factory. In 1769 
he engaged in printing and publishing. 
His enterprises brought him great gain, 
and he was rated among the wealthiest 
men in the State, part of his wealth con- 
sisting of slaves. His wealth was in- 
herited by his only son, his daughters 
only being given their wedding outfits. 
Died February 7, 1777. 

Married, January 17, 1750, Mary Olney. 
born 1731, died September 5, 1763, daugh- 
ter of Captain Jonathan and Elizabeth 
(Smith) Olney, her father the founder of 
Olneyville, Rhode Island, her mother a 
daughter of Christopher Smith. Mrs. 
Waterman was a granddaughter of James 
and Hallelujah (Brown) Olney, and a 
great-granddaughter of Daniel Brown, 
son of Chad Brown. Issue: 1. Lydia 
Waterman, born March 12, 1751 ; mar- 
ried Daniel Waterman. 2. Betsey Water- 
man, born October 18, 1753; married 
White. 3. Nancy Waterman, born 



May 1, 1756; married (first) 

Nichols; (second) Winsor. 4. 

John Olney Waterman, mentioned be- 
low. 5. Mary Waterman, born 1760, died 
1762. 6. Mary Waterman, born Septem- 
ber 5, 1763; married Phillips. 

(VI) John Olney Waterman, son of 
Captain John and Mary (Olney) Water- 



man, was born May 28, 1758. He inherited 
and spent his father's large estate in his 
short life of thirty-eight years. He be- 
came a member of St. John's Lodge, No. 
1, Free and Accepted Masons, in 1779, 
as soon as he was eligible (twenty-one 
years), his name being the ninety-third 
to be enrolled a member of that, the oldest 
lodge in Rhode Island. Died February 
18, 1796. 

Married Sally Franklin, born February, 
1762, a woman of strong character, a great 
beauty and a belle, daughter of Captain 
Asa and Sarah (Paine) Franklin. Cap- 
tain Franklin, related to the Benjamin 
Franklin family, was a captain in the 
French and Indian War; ensign of the 
First Light Infantry in Providence coun- 
ty; ensign in June, 1769, of the Second 
Company, Providence Militia ; ensign 
May, 1770; ensign in August, 1774, of 
Providence County Light Infantry ; lieu- 
tenant in May, 1789; September, 1790; 
May, 1791 ; June, 1792; May, 1793, his 
military service long and honorable. Issue : 

1. Mary Waterman, born February 18, 
1784; married Nathan Searle, son of Ed- 
ward Searle, of Scituate, Rhode Island. 

2. John Waterman, mentioned below. 3. 
Sarah Waterman, born February 25, 1788, 
died unmarried, 1808. 4. Henry Water- 
man, born December 21, 1789; married 
Mary, daughter of Benoni Searle. 5. 
George Waterman, born August 19, 1793, 
died in California, where he is buried, 
April 26, 1850; married (first) Patience 
Brownell, (second) Brittannia Franklin 
Baxter. 6. James Franklin Waterman, 
born June 27, 1795, died in Kansas, where 
he is buried, February 12, 1892; married 
Polly Pickering. 

Mrs. Sally Franklin Waterman, widow- 
ed at the age of thirty-four years, married 
(second) Edward Searle, of Scituate, 
Rhode Island. Issue: 1. Richard Searle, 
married Sylvia Peck. Being again 



260 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



widowed, she spent the last twelve years 
of her life with her son, John Waterman. 
Died June 5, 1842, aged eighty years. 

(VII) John Waterman, son of John 
Olney and Sally (Franklin) Waterman, 
was born in Providence, Rhode Island, 
March 22, 1786, and lived to the great age 
of ninety-three years. He was educated 
in the public schools, and then began 
learning the carpenter's trade. After a 
few months he entered the employ of his 
uncle, Henry P. Franklin, a cotton manu- 
facturer, and liked the mills so well that 
he remained and became an expert not 
only in cotton mill management, but in 
building machinery for the mill. In 1808, 
in partnership with Daniel Wilde, he con- 
tracted with Richard Wheatley to run his 
cotton mill at Canton, Massachusetts. In 
connection with the mill was a machine 
shop equipped for repairing and building 
machinery, which was an important ad- 
junct to the business during the three 
years the partnership existed. For a time 
thereafter, Mr. Waterman continued alone 
in the manufacture of machinery, but in 
1812, in association with his uncle, Henry 
P. Franklin, he built and put in operation 
the "Merino Mill," in Johnston, Rhode 
Island. This mill, with a capacity of 
fifteen hundred spindles, was run for 
seven years with Mr. Franklin as financial 
head, Mr. Waterman acting as manufac- 
turing agent. In 1819 Mr. Waterman 
leased the Union Mills in which he had 
first learned the business. He suffered 
considerable loss in the operation of the 
"Merino Mill," and to finance the Union 
Mill purchase and outfitting he borrowed 
$20,000 of Pitcher & Gay, of Pawtucket. 
Four years later, so profitable had the 
venture been, that after paying Pitcher & 
Gay he had a handsome balance to his 
credit. For the next three years he was 
resident agent for the Blackstone Manu- 
facturing Company, but health failing, he 



resigned and went south, although there 
he acted as purchasing agent for the 
Blackstone Mills and also as salesman. 
For ten years he remained in the south, 
located at New Orleans, acting as cotton 
broker for northern mills, associated part 
of that ten years with Thomas M. Bur- 
gess, of Providence. In 1829 he returned 
to Providence and that year built the 
"Eagle Mills" at Olneyville. Mill No. 1 
began operations in the spring of 1830, 
and in 1836 Mill No. 2 was built, Mr. 
Waterman continuing their operation un- 
til his retirement in 1848. 

Mr. Waterman was initiated in St. 
John's Lodge, No. 1, Free and Accepted 
Masons, May I, 1822, and raised to the 
degree of Master Mason the following 
November. He became a companion of 
Providence Chapter, No. 1, Royal Arch 
Masons, February 27, 1823; a cryptic 
Mason of Providence Council, Royal and 
Select Masons, No. 1, January 29, 1824, 
and a Sir Knight of St. John's Command- 
ery, No. 1, Knights Templar, February 
7, 1825. He was in sympathy with the 
Baptist church, although not a member, 
and it was largely through his generosity 
that the Baptist church in Olneyville was 
built. Died at his farm in Johnston, 
Rhode Island, to which he had retired 
after leaving the business world, Octo- 
ber 26, 1879. 

Married, in Canton, Massachusetts, in 
1809, Sally Williams, born March 1, 1787, 
died suddenly April 10, 1862, daughter of 
Stephen Williams, and a descendant of 
Roger Williams, through his son Daniel, 
his son Joseph, his son Goliath, his son 
Stephen. Issue : 

1. John Olney Waterman, mentioned 
below. 

2. Albert Waterman ; married Mary J. 
Cook, of Tiverton, Rhode Island, who 
died March 26, 1906. Issue: i. Byron H. 
Waterman ; married Emilie L. W. Jew- 



261 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ett, July 17, 1865. ii. Ada A. Waterman; 
married D. Everett Rounds, of Provi- 
dence, February 21, 1871 ; they were the 
parents of Albert W. Rounds, born Sep- 
tember 13, 1873; he was educated at the 
University Grammar School, and later 
attended Brown University, from which 
he was graduated with the class of 1895 ; 
he then entered Harvard Medical School, 
taking the degree of Doctor of Medicine 
in 1898 ; he later specialized in orthopedic 
surgery ; is now practicing in Providence, 
Rhode Island, at No. 79 Broad street, iii. 
John Albert Waterman, married Mrs. 
Lissie (Gleason) Pitts, died June 22, 1898. 
iv. Mary Frances Waterman. 

3. Andrew Searles Waterman, born 
June 7, 1815, died in New Orleans, June 
10, 1852; a graduate of Brown Univer- 
sity. 

4. Sarah A. Waterman, born August 
31, 1822, died unmarried, June 1, 1886. 

5. Mary Frances Waterman, born Oc- 
tober 12, 1825, died September 1, 1829. 

6. Henry Francis, born July 31, 1830, 
died unmarried, September 15, 1859. 

All are buried in Swan Point Cemetery, 
Providence. 

(VIII) John Olney Waterman, son of 
John and Sally (Williams) Waterman, 
was born in Canton, Massachusetts, No- 
vember 4, 1810. In infancy he was brought 
to Johnston, Rhode Island, and all his life 
was a true and loyal son of Rhode Island 
in all but birth. He was educated in the 
public schools and Plainfield (Connecti- 
cut) Academy, early beginning work in 
the cotton mills. He was clerk in the 
store operated by the Merino Mills in 
1727-28-29, leaving in the last year to be- 
come agent for the Eagle Mills, owned by 
his father, at Olneyville. He continued 
in that capacity until 1847, then was en- 
gaged to build and operate the first cotton 
mill in the town of Warren, Rhode Island, 
for the Warren Manufacturing Company. 
From that time until the present the name 
of "Waterman has been connected with 
successful cotton manufacturing in War- 
ren. From the completion of the first 



mill, Mr. Waterman maintained official 
relation with the Warren Manufacturing 
Company as treasurer and agent, devot- 
ing thirty-three years of his life to its 
affairs, seeing the single mill of 1847 grow 
to three large mills equipped with 58,000 
spindles and 1,400 looms, weaving sheet- 
ings, print cloths and jaconets. The sec- 
ond mill was built in i860 from the profits 
of the first, and the third in 1870 from the 
profits of the first and second mills, the 
company later increasing its capital stock 
to $600,000. 

Mr. Waterman during his Providence 
residence served as a member of Common 
Council from the Sixth Ward, and for 
many years was a member of the Board 
of Independent Fire Wards. In 1845 ne 
was elected to the Rhode Island Legisla- 
ture from Providence, and reelected in 
1846, serving with honor. In 1848 he 
moved his residence to Warren, Rhode 
Island, and there his great business abil- 
ity, his conservative managerial talents 
and his sagacious financiering, made him 
a leader. In 1855 he was elected a direc- 
tor of the Fireman's Mutual Insurance 
Company of Providence ; in i860 a direc- 
tor of the newly organized Equitable Fire 
and Marine Insurance Company ; in 1868 
a director of the Blackstone Mutual Fire 
Insurance Company, organized that year ; 
and in 1874 of the newly formed Mer- 
chants' Mutual Fire Insurance Company, 
holding these directorships until his death. 
He was equally prominent in Warren's 
banking circles ; in July, 1855, he aided 
in organizing the Sowamset State Bank, 
and was chosen a director ; also was made 
a director of the First National Bank of 
Warren upon its organization in 1864, 
and was elected vice-president in 1866, 
serving until his death ; was one of the 
founders of the Warren Institution for 
Savings, and in 1870 was chosen a trus- 
tee ; in 1875 was elected a director of the 



262 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Old National Bank of Providence, and 
later and until his death its honored presi- 
dent. He was identified with other inter- 
ests and institutions, among them the 
Providence Board of Trade. He was the 
friend of every deserving person or enter- 
prise, and freely gave them his aid. In 
fact, "he represented that class of men 
whose untiring industry, superior natural 
gifts and strict integrity, place them at 
the head of the great manufacturing inter- 
ests for which Rhode Island is justly cele- 
brated." 

Died at his home in Warren, April 24, 
1881, all business in the town being sus- 
pended on the day of his funeral, out of 
respect to his memory. 

Married (first) in 1838, Caroline Fran- 
ces Sanford, died 1840, daughter of Joseph 
C. Sanford, of Wickford, Rhode Island. 
Married (second) June 26, 1849, Susan 
Johnson Bosworth, born March 22, 1828, 
died in Warren, March 16, 1897, daughter 
of Colonel Smith Bosworth, of Rehoboth 
and Providence, and his wife, Sarah Tripp. 
Mrs. Waterman is buried with her hus- 
band in Swan Point Cemetery, Provi- 
dence. 

Issue (a daughter and a son) : 

1. Caroline Frances Waterman, born in 
Warren, Rhode Island, July 9, 1850. Mar- 
ried, March 2, 1908, Arthur Henry Arnold, 
of Providence, who died April 24, 1913. 

. 2. John Waterman, born in Warren, 
January 11, 1852. He was educated in 
a private school in Warren until thirteen 
years of age, then spent six years in War- 
ren High School, leaving at the age of 
nineteen to enter the business world in 
which his forefathers had won such high 
reputation and such sterling success. He 
inherited their strong business traits, and 
although but forty-eight years were 
allotted him, he worthily bore the name 
and upheld the family reputation. Upon 
the death of his honored father in 1881, 
he succeeded him as treasurer of the War- 
ren Manufacturing Company, and at the 
time of his death was a director of three 
of Warren's four banks and connected 



with banks and insurance companies in 
Providence. In 1895 the three mills of 
the Warren Manufacturing Company 
were destroyed by fire, and from the ruins 
arose one magnificent mill with the capac- 
ity of the former three, a splendid monu- 
ment to the Watermans, father and son, 
to whom the wonderful success of the 
company was due. For many years John 
Waterman emulated the example of his 
sire in the interest he took in the George 
Hail Free Library, and all public affairs 
of Warren. He was a member of the 
building committee in charge of the erec- 
tion of the town hall, and at the time of 
his death chairman of a committee for 
increasing school facilities. He was for 
many years colonel of the Warren Artil- 
lery, and was past master of Washington 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. From 
boyhood he had been an attendant of St. 
Mark's Episcopal Church, of which he 
was a confirmed member, had been a 
member of the church choir, had served 
as an officer of the Sunday school for 
thirty-one years, for twenty-four years 
was a vestryman, and for eleven years 
junior warden. He personally superin- 
tended the improvement and enlargement 
of St. Mark's Chapel, a movement he in- 
augurated and generously supported. He 
possessed the Waterman energy ; vaca- 
tions were almost unknown to him ; and 
although the possessor of great wealth, 
he was one of the most democratic of 
men. Kindly and genial in nature, he 
mingled freely with all classes, preserv- 
ing the strictest integrity in his dealings 
with all, and in all his enterprises exhibit- 
ing remarkable persistency and tenacity 
of purpose, laboring faithfully and un- 
ceasingly. 

Died at his home in Warren, Rhode 
Island, December 21, 1900, his funeral 
being largely attended, business being 
largely suspended during the services, out 
of respect to his memory. 

Married, December 17, 1884, Sarah 
Franklin Adams, who survived him, and 
married (second) April 4, 1904, Rev. Jo- 
seph Hutchinson, of Columbus, Ohio. 
Issue (constituting the tenth generation) : 

i. John Olney Waterman, born September 

21, 1885. 

ii. Andrew Searles Waterman, born June 30, 



263 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1887; married, October 4, 1912, Ruth Townsend, 
of Providence, born May, 1895. 

iii. Susan Bosworth Waterman, born Febru- 
ary 9, 1890; married, June 24, 1914, Henry S. 
Newcombe, of Marlboro, Massachusetts, born 
October 11, 1890. 

iv. Albert Franklin Waterman, born Decem- 
ber 1, 1891; married Celeste Butts, of East 
Greenwich, Rhode Island, June 30, 1915. 

v. Henry Everett Waterman, born August 
7, 1893. 

vi. Carrie Louise Waterman, born March 5, 
1895, died September 21, 1895. 
vii. Byron Adams Waterman, born May 20, 

1897. 

(The Bosworth Line). 

Arms: — Gules a cross vair between four annu- 
lets argent. 

Crest — A lily proper, slipped and leaved. 

(I) Edward Bosworth, like Richard 
Waterman, first settled in Massachusetts, 
but this branch did not appear in Rhode 
Island until the seventh American gener- 
ation. Edward Bosworth never reached 
New England alive, but died at sea as the 
ship "Elizabeth and Dorcas," which sailed 
for New England in 1634, was approach- 
ing Boston harbor. He was buried in 
Boston, and his children founded the fam- 
ily prominent in New England history. 
The widow and children of Edward Bos- 
worth were of Hingham, Massachusetts, 
in 1635, the mother dying there. Died on 

shipboard, in 1634. Married Mary , 

died May 18, 1648. Issue: 1. Edward 
Bosworth. 2. Jonathan Bosworth, men- 
tioned below. 3. Benjamin Bosworth, 
born 1613. 4. Mary Bosworth, born 1614. 
5. Nathaniel Bosworth, born 1617. 

(II) Jonathan Bosworth, son of Ed- 
ward Bosworth, was born in 161 1, but 
beyond the fact that he was living in 
Hingham, Massachusetts, with his mother 
in 1635, nothing is recorded of him fur- 
ther, except that he married and had issue : 
1. Jonathan Bosworth, mentioned below. 

(III) Jonathan (2) Bosworth, son of 
Jonathan (1) Bosworth, married Hannah 



Howland, daughter of John and Elizabeth 
(Tilley) Howland, both her parents com- 
ing to New England in 1620 in the "May- 
flower." Issue: 1. Jonathan Bosworth, 
mentioned below. 

(IV) Jonathan (3) Bosworth, son of 
Jonathan (2) and Hannah (Howland) 
Bosworth, was born September 22, 1680. 
Married Sarah Rounds. Issue: 1. Icha- 
bod Bosworth, mentioned below. 2. Chris- 
tian Bosworth, born at Rehoboth, Massa- 
chusetts, May 16, 1708. 3. Jonathan Bos- 
worth, born at Rehoboth, February 10, 
171 1. 4. Elisha Bosworth, born July 8, 

I7I3- 

(V) Ichabod Bosworth, son of Jona- 
than (3) and Sarah (Rounds) Bosworth, 
was born at Swansea, Massachusetts, May 
31, 1706. Married (first) January 12, 1726- 
27, Mary Brown. Married (second) in 
Warren, Rhode Island, November 19, 1748, 
Bethia Wood, of Swansea, Massachusetts. 
Issue (by first wife) : 1. Bethia Bos- 
worth. 2. Mary Bosworth. 3. Ichabod 
Bosworth. 4. Elizabeth Bosworth. Issue 
(by second wife) : 5. Peleg Bosworth, 
mentioned below. 6. Joseph Bosworth, 
born April 10, 1756. 7. Charity Bos- 
worth, born April 21, 1758. 8. John Bos- 
worth, born June 14, 1706. 

(VI) Peleg Bosworth, son of Ichabod 
Bosworth and his second wife, Bethia 
Wood, was born May 6, 1754. He was a 
soldier of the Revolution, serving as a 
private in Captain Stephen Bullock's com- 
pany. Colonel Carpenter's regiment, 
marching to Bristol, Rhode Island, on the 
alarm of December 8, 1776, serving twelve 
days to December 20, 1776; also in Cap- 
tain Israel Hick's company, Colonel John 
Daggett's regiment, marched January 5, 
1778, discharged March 31, 1778, serving 
two months, twenty-seven days, in Rhode 
Island ; also in Lieutenant James Horton's 
company. Colonel Thomas Carpenter's 
regiment, enlisted August 2, 1780, dis- 



:f,\ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



charged August 7, 1780, serving six days 
on an alarm, marched to Tiverton, Rhode 
Island. All his service is credited to Mas- 
sachusetts. 

Married, September 1, 1774, Mary 
(Polly) Smith, born in Rehoboth, Massa- 
chusetts, August, 1749, died 1818. Issue: 
1. Smith Bosworth, mentioned below. 

(VII) Colonel Smith Bosworth, son of 
Peleg and Mary (Polly) (Smith) Bos- 
worth, was born at Rehoboth, Massachu- 
setts, October 28, 1781. After a limited 
period of school work, he began the active 
business of life by completing in Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, an apprenticeship at 
the mason's trade. From a journeyman 
mason he advanced to contracting, and in 
partnership with Asa Bosworth erected 
many of the beautiful homes on the east 
of the river in Providence, also a number 
of the city's churches and public build- 
ings. Bosworth & Bosworth were the 
contractors for St. John's Episcopal 
Church on North Main street, Provi- 
dence, and the Beneficent Congregational 
Church on Broad street, and in 1814 
built the mills of the Providence Dyeing, 
Bleaching and Calendering Company on 
Sabin street. Two years later, on March 
16, 1816. Colonel Bosworth accepted an ap- 
pointment as agent of the company, and 
for nineteen years filled that responsible 
post with efficiency and ability. In 1835 
he resigned, but until 1841 continued in 
the company's service as superintendent 
or general outside manager. His connec- 
tion with that company brought him wide 
acquaintance and reputation among busi- 
ness men and under his able management 
the company experienced great prosper- 
ity, becoming one of the largest establish- 
ments of its nature in the United States. 

Long before Providence became a city, 
Colonel Bosworth was active in public 
affairs and held many town offices. After 
incorporation as a city, he was a member 



of the Board of Fire Wards, chief engi- 
neer of the fire department and street 
commissioner. His military title came 
from his service in the Rhode Island State 
militia, in which he held the rank of colo- 
nel for many years. He directed the erec- 
tion of the earthworks on Fox Point in 
1812, and during the Dorr War was cap- 
tain of the City Guards of Providence. 
He was a member of St. John's Lodge, 
No. 1, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Providence, and late in life became a 
member of Beneficent Congregational 
Church, in which faith and connection he 
died. He was most generous in his bene- 
factions, kindliness and a keen sense of 
justice also being marked characteristics. 
He lived in the love and good will of his 
fellow citizens, and was highly esteemed 
as a man of uprightness and integrity. 
Died in Providence, March 9, 1857. 

Married, January 31, 1805, Sarah Tripp, 
born October 6, 1785, died November 13, 
i860, at Warren. Rhode Island, and is 
buried in North Graveyard, Providence, 
daughter of Othniel and Sarah Tripp, of 
Swansea, Massachusetts. Issue (all born 
in Providence) : 

I. Thomas Tripp Bosworth, born No- 
vember 6, 1805, died July 3, 1867; mar- 
ried, November 16, 1834, Mary Greene 
Case, born September 7, 1816, in Reho- 
both, Massachusetts, died February 21, 
1897. Issue: 

i. Sarah Smith Bosworth, born in Re- 
hoboth, Massachusetts, September 13, 1835; 
married William Abbott Cornell, March II, 
1855: died June 8, 1857. 

ii. Lydia Horton Bosworth, born in Re- 
hoboth, Massachusetts, October 2, 1837, died 
March 8, 1839. 

iii. Esther Bosworth, born in Rehoboth, 
Massachusetts, October 6. 1839. 

iv. Isabel Bosworth, born in Raynham, 
Massachusetts, July 30, 1842, died in Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, May II, 1844. 

v. Thomas Tripp Bosworth, Jr., born in 



265 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Warren, Rhode Island, February 10, 1845, 
died December 6, i860. 

vi. Frank Smith Bosworth, born in War- 
ren, Rhode Island, February 23, 1849, died 
March 7, 1854. 

vii. Mary Smith Bosworth, born in War- 
ren, Rhode Island, October 24, 1853; mar- 
ried Edward Foster Jarvis, in Quincy, Mas- 
sachusetts, September 3, 1872. 

viii. William Quincy Bosworth, born in 
North Quincy, Massachusetts, November 28, 
1859, died January 16, 1884, unmarried. 

2. Mary Smith Bosworth, born Febru- 
ary 2, 1808, died, unmarried, September 
30, 1849. 

3. Joseph Haile Bosworth, born Au- 
gust 31, 1810, died October 29, 1885 ; mar- 
ried, September 2, 1850, Mary Easton 
Rousmaniere, of Newport. Issue: 

i. Sarah Elizabeth Bosworth, married 
(first) George Blackmar. (second) Dr. Ben- 
jamin Burrell, who died in Denver; she died 
in Denver. 

ii. Mary Rousmaniere Bosworth, born 
January 13, 1855, married John O. Darling, 
of Providence, born December 24, 1852. 

4. Charles Henry Bosworth, died un- 
married. 

5. Smith Bosworth, Jr., died unmar- 
ried. 

6. Sarah Tripp Bosworth, born Janu- 
ary 26, 1821, died, unmarried, September 
1, 1849. 

7. Ann Sophia Bosworth, born Decem- 
ber 25, 1822, died October 10, 1856; mar- 
ried, November 28, 1849, Stephen A. Ar- 
nold, of Providence. Issue: 

i. Eliza Rhodes Arnold, born August 28, 
1850; married, July 12, 1868, Charles A. 
Pierce, of Providence, born December 17, 
1849. Issue: a. Ann Sophia Pierce, mar- 
ried, October 8, 1907, Arthur P. Billings, 
of Lunenburg, Massachusetts. b. Frank 
Wetherell Pierce. 

ii. Frances Bosworth Arnold, married, 
November 5, 1872, Cyrus Withington Eddy, 
of Providence, died March 28, 191 1. Issue: 
a. Sarah Frances Eddy, born July 8, 1873, 
married, August 8, 1895, John Henry Bart- 
lett. b. Stephen Tourtelott Eddy, born No- 
vember 28, 1874, died September 3, 1879. c. 



Thomas Arnold Eddy, born November 9, 
1876, died October 26, 1902. d. Albert 
Henry Eddy, born July 15, 1878, married 
Annabelle Maud Gillam. e. William An- 
thony Eddy, born June 13, 1880, died April 
23, 1894. f. Charles Andrew Eddy, born 
August 27, 1882, died May 10, 1894. g. Cyrus 
Tourtelott Eddy, born July, 1884, married 
Eliza Ruth Anderson, h. Walter Rhodes 
Eddy, born June 29, 1887, died April 17, 
1894. i. Mildred Eddy, born November 19, 
1891. j. Irvin Eddy, born May 4, 1893. 

8. Susan Johnson Bosworth, born 
March 22, 1828, died March 16, 1897; 
married John Olney Waterman (see 
Waterman IX). 

9. Frances Eleanor Bosworth, born 
September 12, 1829, died, unmarried, Feb- 
ruary 3, 1842. 



ARNOLD, Arthur H., 

Representative Citizen. 

Arms — Purple azure and sable three fleurs- 
de-lis or, for Ynir; gules a chevron ermine, be- 
tween three pheons or, for Arnold. 

Crest — A demi-lion rampant gules, holding be- 
tween its paws a lozenge or fire ball. 

Motto — Mihi gloria cession. 

The family of Arnold had its beginning 
among the ancient princes of Wales, trac- 
ing according to the records in the Col- 
lege of Arms to Ynir, King of Gwentland. 
1 100, a lineal descendant of Ynir, second 
son of Cadawalder, King of the Britons. 
In the twelfth generation a descendant of 
Ynir, Roger, adopted the surname Arnold. 
From Roger Arnold came William and 
Thomas Arnold, brothers, the American 
ancestors of the distinguished Arnold 
family of Rhode Island. The descent 
from Roger Arnold is through his son 
Thomas Arnold, his son Richard Arnold, 
his son, Richard Arnold, his son Thomas 
Arnold, his sons William and Thomas 
Arnold. 

Thomas Arnold lived for a time at Mel- 
combe Horsey, from whence he moved to' 
Cheselbourne, Dorsetshire, settling there 



166 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



on an estate previously owned by his 
father, Richard Arnold, who was lord of 
the manor of Bagbere. Thomas Arnold 
married (first) Alice Gulley, daughter of 
John Gulley, of Northover, Dorsetshire, 
who bore him a son, William Arnold ; by 
a second wife he had a son, Thomas 
Arnold, those two sons bringing the name 
to the New World. 

(I) William Arnold, eldest son of 
Thomas Arnold and his first wife, Alice 
Gulley, was born in Leamington, Eng- 
land, June 24, 1587, and in 1635 came to 
New England in the ship "Plain Joan," 
his younger half-brother accompanying 
him. After a short settlement at Hing- 
ham, Massachusetts, he moved to Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, in 1636, and became 
one of the twelve associates to whom 
Roger Williams conveyed the lands 
granted him by the Indians. William 
Arnold, in 1638, was one of the four first 
settlers of Pawtucket, and in 1639 was 
numbered among the twelve first mem- 
bers of the first Baptist church in Amer- 
ica. From William Arnold sprang a nu- 
merous and influential family distin- 
guished in public, private and business 
life. 

Married Christian Peake. Issue: 1. 
Stephen Arnold, mentioned below. 2. 
Benjamin Arnold, president of Providence 
Plantations, 1657, 1660 and 1662, 1663 ; 
Governor of the Colony 1663-1678; and 
others. 

(II) Stephen Arnold, son of William 
and Christian (Peake) Arnold, was born 
in Leamington, England, December 22, 
1622, and in 1635 was brought to New 
England by his parents. He was deputy 
to the Rhode Island General Court, 1664- 
1667 inclusive, 1670 to 1677 inclusive, 
1684, 1685 and 1690. He was assistant 
1667, 1678 to 1681 inclusive, 1680, 1681, 
1690, 1691, 1696, 1698. Died November 
15, 1699. 



Married, November 24, 1646, Sarah 
Smith, born 1629, died April 15, 1713, 
daughter of Edward Smith, of Rehoboth, 
Massachusetts. Issue: 1. Israel Arnold, 
mentioned below ; and others. 

(III) Israel Arnold, son of Stephen 
and Sarah (Smith) Arnold, was born at 
Pawtucket, Rhode Island, October 30, 
1649. Died at Warwick, Rhode Island, 
September 15, 1716. Married, April 16, 
1677, Mary (Barker) Smith, a widow. 
Issue: 1. William Arnold, mentioned be- 
low ; and others. 

(IV) William Arnold, son of Israel and 
Mary (Barker-Smith) Arnold, was born 
at Warwick, Rhode Island, about 1681. 
Died at Warwick, June, 1759. Married, 
about 1705, Deliverance Whipple, born 
February 1 1, 1679. Issue: 1. Caleb 
Arnold, mentioned below ; and others. 

(V) Caleb Arnold, son of William and 
Deliverance (Whipple) Arnold, was born 
at Warwick, Rhode Island, about 1725. 
Died at Pawtucket, Rhode Island, March 
T 3> T 799- Married Susannah Stafford, 
born March 10, 1722-23, daughter of Jo- 
seph and Susannah Stafford. Issue: 1. 
Joseph Arnold, mentioned below. 

(VI) Captain Joseph Arnold, son of 
Caleb and Susannah (Stafford) Arnold, 
was born at Warwick, Rhode Island, Au- 
gust 13, 1755. He was a soldier of the 
Revolution, serving with Captain Thomas 
Holden's company, Colonel James Var- 
num's regiment, at Bunker Hill, and later 
came under General Washington's com- 
mand. In June, 1777, he was appointed 
as first lieutenant of Captain Cole's com- 
pany. He was ensign in Colonel Chris- 
topher Greene's regiment, which marched 
to Morristown, New Jersey, serving under 
General Washington in April of that year ; 
marched to Fort Montgomery, joined the 
main army in Pennsylvania, marched to 
Whitestone, going later into winter quar- 
ters at Valley Forge with the army which 



267 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



suffered such hardships. On June I, 1788, 
he was appointed captain ; was in General 
Sullivan's expedition, recruited a com- 
pany of black troops which he com- 
manded and later mustered out of serv- 
ice. By virtue of his rank he was entitled 
to membership in the Society of the Cin- 
cinnati, joining the Rhode Island branch 
of the Society, December 17, 1783. Died 
at Warwick, July 20, 1840. Married, Sep- 
tember 6, 1788, Sarah Stafford, daughter 
of Stukley Stafford. Issue: I. Joseph 
Franklin Arnold, mentioned below ; and 
others. 

(VII) Joseph Franklin Arnold, son of 
Captain Joseph and Sarah (Stafford) 
Arnold, was born at Warwick, in 1785. 
Died in Warwick, August 15, 1855. Mar- 
ried, March 24, 1816, Sarah Rice, born 
April 2, 1795, daughter of William and 
Sarah Rice, of Cranston, Rhode Island. 
Issue: 1. Joseph Franklin Arnold, men- 
tioned below ; and others. 

(VIII) Joseph Franklin (2) Arnold, 
son of Joseph Franklin (1) and Sarah 
(Rice) Arnold, was born in Warwick, 
Rhode Island, June 23, 1821. Early in 
life, after western travel, he settled at 
New Orleans, Louisiana, then third in 
commercial importance among the cities 
of the Union. He there became identified 
with Mississippi river steamboat naviga- 
tion, and owned the "Eclipse" and the 
"Natchez," two boats well known on the 
river. The Civil War swept away the 
fortune he had been many years in amass- 
ing, and drove him a fugitive to the 
wilderness, but he finally succeeded in 
reaching his native State. 

He at once began rebuilding his for- 
tunes by establishing a sale and exchange 
mart in Providence, which he successfully 
conducted the remainder of his life. Died 
in Warwick, December 21,1881. Married, 
at New Orleans, June 14, 1849, Louisa 
Constance, born in Demeroringer, France, 



April 6, 1831, and died January 6, 1917. 
Issue: 1. Augustus Franklin Arnold, 
born August 24, 1850; married, October 
28, 1874, Ellen Ward Mills; died May, 
1904. Issue: i. Jeannette Arnold, born 
April 29, 1877; married, October 8, 1902, 
Dr. Bradlee Rich. Issue: a. Constance 
Rich, born July 20, 1906. b. Arnold Rich, 
born September 1, 1908. ii. Norman 
Arnold, born December 28, 1885 ! mar- 
ried, October 25, 1909, Mary Bullfinch. 
2. Sarah Williams Arnold, born in New 
Orleans, April 15, 1852, died in Lowell, 
December 4, 1876; married, December 
25, 1872, Hiram E. Green. 3. Arthur 
Henry Arnold, mentioned below. 4. 
Charles Williams Arnold, born Novem- 
ber 10, 1858, died December 4, 1867. 5. 
Louise Constance Arnold, born Decem- 
ber 20, i860, died August 3, 1862. 6. 
Annie Louise Arnold, born March 31, 
1865; married, August 12, 1885, William 
H. Gilbert ; resides in San Francisco, 
California. Issue : i. Louise Gilbert, mar- 
ried, July 7. 1915, Alvin Nathaniel Lof- 
gren, of San Francisco. 7. Caroline 
Arnold ; married, June, 1893, Joseph Gil- 
bert, born July 24, 1852, died March 20, 
1917; she resides at Apponaug, Rhode 
Island. Issue : i. Constance R. Gilbert, 
born April 20, 1904. 

Joseph Gilbert, connected with the 
Arnold family of Rhode Island through 
his marriage in June, 1893, to Miss Caro- 
line Arnold (see Arnold VIII), daughter 
of Joseph Franklin and Louisa (Con- 
stance) Arnold, was born in the town 
of Woonsocket, Rhode Island, July 24, 
1852. He received a liberal education at 
the public schools of his native place, and 
after graduating he immediately entered 
into business, spending the following forty 
years in the latter town, and in Black- 
stone, Rhode Island. After several ex- 
tensive business trips through the south- 
ern States, he returned north and settled 



268 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in 1893 m Apponaug, where he resided the 
remainder of his life. 

Although keenly interested in many 
branches of business, he followed the real 
estate trade for a great many years. He 
started in a small way in Woonsocket, 
but soon struck out for larger fields, and 
opened offices in the old Howard Build- 
ing, in Providence. He soon became 
known and popular among the business 
men of the latter city. He was naturally 
affable and friendly, and his ingrained 
integrity and honesty inspired a trust 
among his associates seldom encountered 
in the present day of business. He be- 
came identified with the many large move- 
ments that have played such a prominent 
part in the development of Providence 
and its outlying districts, and he also held 
extensive interests in land located in the 
surrounding towns and villages. Through 
his energy, perseverance and native abil- 
ity in his chosen work he rose gradually 
to an enviable position in the business 
world. 

He took a great interest in the town 
affairs and civic management of Appo- 
naug, though he had not the time at his 
disposal that he would have wished to 
devote to it. He was the Independent 
party candidate for the office of town 
treasurer in the fall of 1916, but was de- 
feated by the Republican candidate. 

Mr. Gilbert died at his home in Appo- 
naug, March 20, 191 7, at the age of sixty- 
four years. 

(IX) Arthur Henry Arnold, son of Jo- 
seph Franklin (2) and Louisa (Constance) 
Arnold, was born at New Orleans, Louisi- 
ana, September 8, 1855. In 1861 he was 
brought to Warwick by his parents, who 
were obliged to flee from the south with 
the outbreak of the Civil War, and there 
he attended the public schools. He made 
further preparation in the select school of 
Mrs. Graves, the Quakeress, then entered 



East Greenwich Seminary under the then 
principal Rev. James T. Edwards. At an 
early age he became associated with his 
father in business in Providence, but in 
1869, after a tour of western and south- 
ern cities, was prevailed upon to remain 
in New Orleans, the city of his birth. 
From 1869 until 1872 he was connected 
with the New Orleans and St. Louis 
Steamboat Company. In the same year 
he came north and entered the employ of 
the Boston & Providence Railroad Com- 
pany, advancing through all intermediate 
grades to that of passenger conductor. In 
1880 he was made conductor of the Ded- 
ham & Boston Express and when the new 
station at Dedham, Massachusetts, was 
completed, he had the distinction of run- 
ning the first train out of the new struc- 
ture. With the passing of the road to 
the Old Colony Railroad Company, Mr. 
Arnold was transferred to the main line, 
and was conductor of the Colonial Ex- 
press on its first trip under the new man- 
agement. Later he was conductor of a 
train running between Providence, Rhode 
Island, and Plymouth, Massachusetts. In 
1910 he retired from the railroad, and de- 
voted the remaining three years of his life 
to the real estate business. 

Mr. Arnold possessed musical talent 
of a high order, and while in the south 
placed himself under capable instructors 
and thoroughly trained his fine baritone 
voice in form, shade, expression and senti- 
ment. Under Signor Brignoli, the Italian 
composer and opera tenor, he perfected 
the cultivation of his voice after return- 
ing east, and often held positions in con- 
cert and choir work. He was strongly 
urged to go upon the operatic stage pro- 
fessionally, but he could not be induced 
to do so, although he often appeared as a 
baritone soloist in concerts, and added 
greatly to the success of such entertain- 
ments. 



260 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Genial, affable and social by nature, he 
was yet very strict in the performance of 
duty. He was thoroughly fitted for his 
work, found it congenial to his tastes and 
gave to his work his best abilities, becom- 
ing a favorite with the traveling public 
and was highly esteemed by the railroad 
management. He was a popular member 
of the Masonic order, belonging to Mt. 
Vernon Lodge, No. 4, Free and Accepted 
Masons; Providence Chapter, No. 1, 
Royal Arch Masons ; Providence Coun- 
cil, No. 1, Royal and Select Masters; St. 
John's Commandery, No. 1, Knights 
Templar ; Rhode Island Consistory, thir- 
ty-second degree, Ancient Accepted Scot- 
tish Rite ; Palestine Temple, Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine. He was a member of 
the Conductors' Relief of Boston ; vice- 
president of the Conductors' and Engi- 
neers' Investment Company ; member of 
Rhode Island Society, Sons of the Amer- 
ican Revolution, through the service 
of his great-grandfather, Captain Joseph 
Arnold ; member of the Rhode Island 
Chapter, Society of Colonial Wars, 
through the services of his ancestor, 
Stephen Arnold, of the second American 
generation. Died at his handsome resi- 
dence, 572 Elmwood avenue, Providence, 
April 24, 1913. 

Mr. Arnold was thrice married. Issue 
by first wife: 1. Louise, married James 
T. Kenyon, of Providence. Married (sec- 
ond) Cora Etta Barnes, born November 
2, 1869, died July 2, 1906. Married (third) 
March 2, 1908, Caroline Frances Water- 
man, daughter of John Olney and Susan 
Johnson (Bosworth) Waterman, of War- 
ren, Rhode Island (see Waterman VIII). 

Mrs. Arnold continues her residence in 
Providence, is active in all good works, 
noted for her charity and benevolence, her 
gracious hospitality and womanly graces. 
She is a member of the Rhode Island His- 
torical Society; Gasper Chapter, Daugh- 



ters of the American Revolution, through 
the service of her maternal great-grand- 
father, Peleg Bosworth ; Rhode Island 
Society of Colonial Dames of America; 
Rhode Island Society of Colonial Gov- 
ernors ; Rhode Island Society of May- 
flower Descendants ; eligible to all these 
societies through her distinguished ma- 
ternal and paternal ancestry. 



CHARNLEY, Joseph G., 

Highly Regarded Citizen. 

All human lives are like the waves of 
the sea. "They flash a few brief moments 
in the sunlight, marvels of power and 
beauty, and then are dashed upon the re- 
morseless shores of death and disappear 
forever. As the mighty deep has rolled 
for ages past and chanted its sublime 
requiem and will continue to roll during 
the coming ages until time shall be no 
more, so will the waves of human life fol- 
low each other in countless succession un- 
til they mingle at last with the billows of 
eternity's boundless sea." 

Arms — Azure, a bend between three hawks' 
lures or. 

Crest — A griffin passant argent holding in the 
dexter claw a buckle or. 

To acquire distinction or great pros- 
perity in the business pursuits which give 
to the country its financial strength and 
credit requires ability of as high an order 
as that which leads to victory on the field 
of battle. This fact is apparent to all who 
engage in the thoroughfares of trade, 
commerce and finance. Eminent business 
talent is composed of a combination of 
high mental and moral attributes. It is 
not simple energy and industry ; there 
must be sound judgment, breadth of ca- 
pacity, rapidity of thought, justice and 
firmness, the foresight to perceive the 
course of the drifting tides of business 

70 




Hfoi&vpif ($iJxx%&t (Tljnruirn 




i(i>nhdia l&xxx&sZk (UhxxvnUv 




IHUittUt llfmru Cilltnmtlru 




Atmt? Mxxui&$ (ilifctntXe^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and the will and ability to control them. 
The combination of these qualities in the 
late Joseph Gilchrist Charnley made him 
in his day one of the most prominent hotel 
proprietors of the city of Providence, 
Rhode Island, a man known throughout 
Central New England in the hotel busi- 
ness, and a figure of prominence in the 
affairs of the city, where for several dec- 
ades he carried on his affairs. 

Joseph Gilchrist Charnley was a son of 
William and Dorothy Charnley, and a 
descendant of an old and honorable Eng- 
lish family. William Charnley, the father 
of Joseph G. Charnley, was connected 
with the huge cotton industry in Eng- 
land, and was a superintendent in a large 
mill there. He lived and died in his na- 
tive land. After his death his widow, 
Dorothy Charnley, emigrated to Amer- 
ica with her three daughters, settling 
there. 

Joseph Gilchrist Charnley was born in 
Cheshire, England, where the family has 
been located for several generations, in 
the opening years of the nineteenth cen- 
tury. He received an excellent education 
in the public schools of Cheshire, and on 
reaching a suitable age was apprenticed 
to learn the trade of block printer. Think- 
ing America a better field for success in 
this line he left England and came to the 
United States in his early youth. Arriv- 
ing here he found employment in his 
trade difficult to secure and intermittent. 

After a short period spent at his trade 
in different cities in the East Mr. Charn- 
ley came to Providence, Rhode Island, the 
city with which he was conspicuously 
identified until the time of his death. His 
first venture, which proved highly suc- 
cessful, was the Manufacturers' Hotel, 
which was situated at what is now No. 
20 Market Square. The excellence of the 
accommodations, service and cuisine here 
brought to the hotel numerous patrons, 



and the fact that the stage coach line from 
Providence to Boston started at his hotel 
brought to Mr. Charnley a large and pros- 
perous clientele. The financial success of 
his first venture enabled him, shortly 
afterwards, to open the Union House on 
Weybosset street, Providence, and here 
he initiated a policy like that of the Manu- 
facturers Hotel. The Union House was 
equally successful and for several years 
Mr. Charnley conducted both houses. 
This continued up to the time of his re- 
tirement from active business life. 

Mr. Charnley was intimately connected 
with public and fraternal interests in 
Providence during the period of his active 
business life. He was a member of the 
First Light Infantry of Providence, under 
Colonel Brown. Though he maintained 
no connection with the organization here 
he was an officer in the Independent Or- 
der of Odd Fellows in England, prior to 
his immigration to this country. He was 
a man of magnetic personality, well 
known, loved and highly respected by a 
large circle of friends and acquaintances. 
He drew to his hotels patronage of a high 
class, and they were frequented by some 
of the most prominent men of the day, 
men who have since become famous in 
various walks of life. A genial host and 
fine conversationalist, diffusing hospital- 
ity broadcast, radiating good cheer, he be- 
came a figure of prominence in the social 
interests of the city. His retirement from 
business was accepted with genuine re- 
gret. 

Joseph Gilchrist Charnley married 
(first) Ann Pearce, of New Bedford, 
Massachusetts. They were the parents 
of three children: 1. William Henry, who 
was born in Taunton, Massachusetts, but 
in early life removed to Providence, Rhode 
Island, with which city he was afterward 
connected ; he was prominent in public 
life in Providence, and was responsible 



271 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



for the preservation to the city of Abbott 
Park in which he made many improve- 
ments, among them the placing of the 
fountain ; he was prominent in club and 
fraternal life in the city, a member of the 
old Union Club and several others of 
importance ; he was one of the Grace 
Church Corporation ; he died in Provi- 
dence, March 18, 1904. 2. Ellen S. 3. 
Amelia A. 

Joseph G. Charnley married (second) 
Isabella Bartlett, who died at the Charn- 
ley residence at No. 8 Abbott Park Place, 
Providence, March 21, 1907. After the 
death of her husband, Mrs. Charnley re- 
sided in the family home with her three 
daughters. The children of Joseph G. and 
Isabella (Bartlett) Charnley were: 1. 
Edward A., died in infancy. 2. Isabella 
J., residing at the family residence in 
Providence. 3. Mary C, residing with 
her sister. 4. Annie L., who died No- 
vember 4, 1915. 

Mrs. Charnley was the daughter of 
James and Sarah (Johnston) Bartlett. 
both of whom were natives of Scotland, 
later emigrating to America, and settling 
in Boston, Massachusetts, where Mrs. 
Charnley was born July 8, 1822. The 
death of Joseph Gilchrist Charnley oc- 
curred in his home at No. 8 Abbott street, 
Providence, in the year 1868, in his sixty- 
second year. 

(The Bartlett (Bartlet) Line). 

The surname Bartlett is of the baptiz- 
mal class, and is derived from the nick- 
name Bartle, and its diminutives Bartlot 
and Bartlet, signifying "the son of Bar- 
tholomew." The varients of the name are 
very numerous, and from ancient English 
records it is evident that Bartlet or Bart- 
lot was a very popular nickname. The 
English family of Bartlett dates back to 
the time of the Norman Conquest, and 
the name in England and Scotland is an 



ancient and honored one, recurring fre- 
quently in history and tradition. 

Arms — Sable three sinister falconers' gloves 
argent arranged triangularly two above and one 
below pendant, bands around the wrist and tas- 
sels or. 



WARDWELL, Samuel D., 

Enterprising Citizen, Legislator. 

Wardwell is an ancient English sur- 
name of local origin, derivative from the 
place name Wardle, a township in the 
parish of Bunbury, County Chester, Eng- 
land. There is another locality of the 
name in the parish of Rochdale, County 
Lancashire. The name was well estab- 
lished in the year 1273, and is found in the 
Hundred Rolls. The orthography of the 
name varies greatly, the forms most com- 
monly used being Wardwell, Wardell, 
Wardill. Wardwell is given in "Burke's 
Armory," also Wardle and Wortley. All 
carry the same arms: 

Arms — Argent, on a bend between six mart- 
lets sable three bezants. 

Crest — A lion's gamb holding a spear proper, 
tasseled or. 

Motto — Avito viret honore. 

The Wardwell family was of Norman- 
French origin, and was established by one 
of the followers of the Conqueror, Sir 
Gilbert Ward, and it is said that he saved 
the life of Queen Elinor of France and the 
king said that it was a deed "well done," 
hence the name being changed from Ward 
to Wardwell. On the northern borders 
of Westmoreland, England, there stands 
an ancient watch tower where "watch and 
ward" were kept to prevent sudden incur- 
sions of the fierce Scottish tribes of the 
Borderland. Here signals were given 
to Moothy Beacon on any suspicion of 
trouble with the enemy. 

The American branch of the English 



272 




-^^^^,^<^^<^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



family was established in New England 
in 1633, and has since the time of its 
establishment held rank among the first 
families of the states of Massachusetts 
and Rhode Island. The Rhode Island 
Wardwells have played a prominent part 
in the history of Rhode Island from the 
early days of the little colony's founding 
until the present time. The name has 
been prominently connected with the mili- 
tary history of the State, been ably and 
honorably represented in the early and 
latter wars. The principal branch of the 
Rhode Island Wardwells has been located 
in the town of Bristol for more than two 
hundred years. Since the year 1754, when 
Lieutenant John Wardwell served in one 
of the four companies which went from 
the town and county to serve in the expe- 
dition against Crown Point, the name 
has been officially connected with military 
matters in Bristol. Upon the organiza- 
tion of the Bristol Train of Artillery more 
than one hundred years ago, Colonel Sam- 
uel Wardwell became its commander, and 
in successive generations up to the pres- 
ent time the name has been officially con- 
nected with the body, offices not infre- 
quently descending from father to son. 
In the last century the family has played 
a prominent part in the business and in- 
dustrial life of the section. 

(I) William Wardwell, immigrant an- 
cestor and progenitor of the family in 
America, was born in Lincolnshire, Eng- 
land, in 1604. Whether religious intoler- 
ance and persecution in the Mother Coun- 
try drove him to the New World, or 
whether he came hither impelled merely 
by the spirit of adventure, is not known. 
He arrived in Boston, in the Massachu- 
setts Bay Colony, in 1633. On February 
9, of the following year he became a mem- 
ber of the church of Boston, but with his 
family was later one of those who were 
turned out of the Old Boston Second 



Church with Wheelwright. In company 
with Wheelwright he went first to Exeter, 
New Hampshire, where he remained for 
a period, but later removed to Ipswich, 
Massachusetts. William Wardwell later 
returned to Boston, and passed the re- 
mainder of his life there, and during his 
latter years conducted the old Hollis Inn. 

He married (first) Alice , who was 

buried in Boston. He married (second) 
in Boston, December 5, 1657, Elizabeth, 
widow of John Gillet or Jillett. The date 
of his death is not recorded. Among his 
children was Uzal, mentioned below. 

(II) Uzal Wardwell, son of William 
and Alice Wardwell, was born in America, 
probably in Boston, Massachusetts, April 
7, 1639, and died October 25, 1732, at the 
advanced age of ninety-three years. Uzal 
Wardwell removed to Bristol, Rhode 
Island, at a date unknown, and estab- 
lished there, in the second American gen- 
eration, the Rhode Island branch of the 
Wardwells. During the early portion of 
his life he was a resident of Ipswich, Mas- 
sachusetts, whither he accompanied his 
father. 

He married (first) in Ipswich, Massa- 
chusetts, May 3, 1664, Mary Ring, widow 
of Daniel Ring, and daughter of Robert 
and Mary (Borseman) Kinsman, of Ips- 
wich. She died in Ipswich, and he mar- 
ried (second) Grace , who died on 

May 9, 1 741, having survived her hus- 
band nine years. His will, dated Janu- 
ary 10, 1728, mentioned his wife Grace; 
daughters Mary Barker, Grace Giddens, 
Sarah Bosworth, Alice Gladding, Abigail 
Green, Hannah Crompton ; sons Uzal, 
James, Joseph, William, Benjamin. The 
will of Mrs. Grace Wardwell, dated Octo- 
ber 19, 1733, mentions her son Uzal, 
daughter Grace Giddens, sons James and 
Joseph, and Benjamin, deceased. Children 
of Uzal and Mary (Kinsman-Ring) Ward- 
well : 1. Abigail, born October 27, 1665; 



273 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



married John Green. 2. Hannah, born in 
1667 ; married a Mr. Crompton. 3. Alice, 
born December 27, 1670; married, Octo- 
ber 31, 1693, J°hn Gladding, Jr. All of 
these children were born in Ipswich. 
Children of Uzal Wardwell and Grace 
Wardwell: 1. Mary. 2. Uzal. 3. Grace, 
married Joseph Giddens (Giddings), and 
died May 1, 1768, aged ninety years. 4. 
Sarah, born in 1682, in Bristol, Rhode 
Island ; married Nathaniel Bosworth, Jr. 

5. James, born June 30, 1684, in Bristol. 

6. Joseph, born July 30, 1686, in Bristol. 

7. Benjamin, mentioned below. 8. Wil- 
liam, born May 3, 1693, m Bristol. 9. 
Rebecca, twin of William. 

(III) Benjamin Wardwell, son of Uzal 
and Grace Wardwell, was born April 19, 
1688, in Bristol, Rhode Island. He was 
a prosperous farmer. He married (first) 
Mary , who died May 2, 1733 ; mar- 
ried (second) January 17, 1734, Mrs. Eliza- 
beth Holmes, of Norton, Massachusetts, 
who died June 6, 1737. Children (by first 
wife) : 1. Mary, married, in 1731, Nathan- 
iel Turner. 2. Uzal, married, in Novem- 
ber, 1739, Sarah Lindsey, who died in 
1745, at Cape Breton; he died there also, 
on September 17, 1745. 3. David, died 
September 17, 1745. 4. Jonathan, died in 
May, 1745, at Cape Breton. 5. Benjamin, 
died in June, 1739, at sea. 6. William, 
mentioned below. 7. Isaac, born in 1730; 
married, in September, 1756, Sarah Wald- 
ron, and died May 7, 1810, at Bristol. 8. 
Olive, married, June 19, 1753, John God- 
dard, of Newport, Rhode Island. Benja- 
min Wardwell died in June, 1739. 

(IV) William (2) Wardwell, son of 
Benjamin and Mary Wardwell, was born 
in Bristol, Rhode Island, in 1722. He was 
a farmer and prominent citizen of Bristol. 
He married, September 26, 1742, Mary 
Howland, daughter of Samuel Howland, 
granddaughter of Jabez Howland, and 
great-granddaughter of John Howland, 
the Pilgrim. 



Howland Arms — Sable, two bars argent, on a 
chief of the second three lions rampant of the 
first. 

Crest — On a wreath of the colors a lion pas- 
sant sable, ducally gorged or. 

Children of William (2) and Mary 
(Howland) Wardwell: 1. William, born 
January 8, 1744. 2. Abigail, baptized June 
9, 1745. 3. Mary, born October 25, 1747. 
4. William, born January 28, 1749-50. 5. 
Benjamin, mentioned below. 6. Sarah, 
born March 3, 1754. 7. Samuel, born May 
25, 1760, a sketch of whom follows. 

(V) Benjamin (2) Wardwell, son of 
Benjamin (1) and Mary (Howland) 
Wardwell, was born in Bristol, Rhode 
Island, and baptized February 9, 1752. 
He was prominent in local affairs, and 
owned much property in the town. He 
married (first) June 8, 1773, Sarah Smith, 
who died November 20, 1779. He mar- 
ried (second) Katherine Glover, daugh- 
ter of Captain Joseph and Elizabeth 
(Bass) Glover, of Braintree, Massachu- 
setts. 

Glover Arms — Sable, a fesse embattled er- 
mine, between three crescents argent. 

Crest — Out of a mural crown a demi-lion 
rampant, holding between the paws a crescent. 

' Children of Benjamin (2) Wardwell 
by first wife: 1. William, born April 19, 
1776, died April 21, 1776. 2. Lucretia, 
born May 30, 1777; married, June 17, 
1798, John Sabin ; died September 11, 
181 1. 3. Sarah, born November 11, 1779; 
married Nathaniel Church ; and died Feb- 
ruary 21, 1861. Children by second wife: 
4. Polly, born October 4, 1781, died De- 
cember \2, 1781. 5. Polly, born August 
30, 1783, died September 23, 1783. 6. 
Benjamin, mentioned below. 7. Polly, 
born August 13, 1785, died October 7, 
1787. 8. William, born October 4, 1786, 
died September 22, 1787. 9. Henry, born 
April 7, 1789, died October 12, 1789. 10. 
Polly, born October 24, 1791. 11. Kath- 



274 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



erine Glover, born July 8, 1793, died April 
1, 1863. 12. Francis, born in September, 
1794, died July 25, 1796. 

Benjamin (2) Wardwell married (third) 
January 15, 1804, Mrs. Huldah (Goff) 
Wheeler, daughter of Joseph and Patience 
Goff. 

(VI) Benjamin (3) Wardwell, son of 
Benjamin (2) and Katherine (Glover) 
Wardwell, was born in Bristol, Rhode 
Island, August 24, 1784. He was engaged 
in the leather business in the early years 
of his life, and later conducted a grocery 
business in Bristol, in a building which 
stood on the east side of Thames street, 
south of State street. His business was 
a successful and prosperous one, and he 
continued in the same location for a pe- 
riod of fifty years, up to the time of his 
retirement from active business life. He 
was a Christian of the rugged and stern 
type which characterized the day, a Con- 
gregationalist in religious faith, and very 
devout in his observance of the tenets of 
that body. He was a man of the highest 
principles and applied the same standards 
to his business affairs and dealings as he 
did to the other relations of life. He was 
one of the most prominent men of the 
town, highly honored and respected, al- 
though he took no active or official part 
in public affairs. Benjamin Wardwell 
was a Whig. He was a fine singer, and 
sang for years in the choir of the Congre- 
gational church. 

He married, January 14, 1807, Elizabeth 
Manchester, of Little Compton. Rhode 
Island, baptized in the Congregational 
church of Bristol, July 31, 1810, daughter 
of Zebedee and Deborah (Briggs) Man- 
chester, who was descended from the old 
Rhode Island family of Sir Walter Gif- 
ford. 

Manchester Arms — Quarterly, 1st and 4th ar- 
gent, three lozenges conjoined in fess gules, 
within a bordure sable. 2nd and 3rd, or, an 



eagle displayed vert, beaked and membered 
gules. 

Crest — A griffin's head couped, wings ex- 
panded or, gorged with a collar argent, charged 
with three lozenges gules. 

Supporters — Dexter, a heraldic antelope or, 
armed tufted and hoofed argent. Sinister, a 
griffin or, gorged with a collar, as the crest. 

Motto — Disponendo me, non mutando me. (By 
disposing of me, not changing me). 

Children of Benjamin (3) and Eliza- 
beth (Manchester) Wardwell: 

1. Henry, mentioned below. 

2. Benjamin, born August 9, 1809, died 
May 31, 1885; married, February 2, 1836, 
Eliza Cook, born February 18, 1810; died 
April 27, i860; they were the parents of 
one daughter, born in December, 1840, 
who married, in 1869, Joseph Burr Bar- 
tram. 

3. George, born September 2, 1810, died 
October 11, 1810. 

4. A son, born and died September 12, 
1812. 

5. A daughter, twin of the son, died 
same day. 

6. Jeremiah, born December 7, 1813, 
died in December, 1881 ; married (first) 
June 19, 1844, Mary Jane Sturgis, daugh- 
ter of Lathrop L. Sturgis, of New York ; 
she died October 3, i860; he married 
(second) November 18, 1865, Mrs. Eliza 
B. Ingraham, daughter of William Fel- 
lows, of Staten Isuand, New York. Chil- 
dren of first marriage : i. William Henry, 
born March 29, 1846, married, in Decem- 
ber, 1881, Virginia Sniffin ; ii. Theodore 
Sturgis, born June 13, 1848; iii. Richard 
Patrick, born April 17, 1852, married 
Anna Oaks Woodworth ; iv. Mary, born 
April 16, 1855, died July 22, 1855; v. 
Helen, born September 6, 1857, married 
William Brown Glover ; vi. Jane Eliza- 
beth, born August 17, 1859, married 
Charles Potter, who died in November, 
1904. 

7. Elizabeth Manchester, born March 
7, 1816, died January 18, 1826. 

8. A daughter, born September 2, 1817, 
died September 4, 1817. 

9. A daughter, twin, died September 
12, 1817. 

10. Adam Manchester, born November 



275 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



6, 1818, baptized March 29, 1819, died 
January 23, 1827. 

11. George Williams, born March 14, 

1821, died August 16, 1821. 

12. Catherine Glover, born May 28, 

1822, died October 31, 1894. 

13. Marianne, born October 6, 1825, 
died January 26, 1915. 

14. Elizabeth Manchester, born No- 
vember 6, 1827, died December 12, 1905 ; 
married, September 27, 1853, Ramon 
Guiteras, of Matanzas, Cuba, born Au- 
gust 4, 181 1, died February 13, 1873; at 
the age of four years he was taken to 
Spain, whither his father went to avoid 
political troubles in Cuba ; returning to 
Cuba later the boy was educated in Ma- 
tanzas ; he travelled extensively and was 
a finished linguist ; he was the owner of 
much land in Cuba, but after his marriage 
spent all his time in Bristol, Rhode Island ; 
children : i. Gertrude Elizabeth, born 
March 2, 1855, unmarried, resides now in 
Bristol, Rhode Island ; ii. Ramon, born 
August 17, 1858, at Bristol, Rhode Island, 
where he attended private and public 
schools, after which he attended the Alex- 
ander Military Institute at White Plains, 
New York, the Mowry and Goff English 
and Classical High School at Providence, 
the Joshua Kendall School at Cambridge- 
port, Massachusetts, and Harvard Uni- 
versity, which he attended about two 
years. He then travelled in Europe for 
two years studying languages in France 
and Spain, and after thoroughly master- 
ing both of these languages he returned 
to America and entered Harvard Medical 
School, where he received his degree of 
Doctor of Medicine. After this he went 
to Vienna and studied medicine for about 
a year and a half, and from there entered 
a university at Berlin, remaining for 
about six months. Upon his return to 
the United States he entered an examina- 
tion for the navy and passed with the 
highest honors of the year, and upon re- 
ceiving his papers he immediately re- 
signed, his reason being that he did not 
wish to enter the navy, but passed the 
examination just for experience. He then 
entered the Charity Hospital at Black- 
well's Island and remained there for about 
one and a half years, after which he prac- 
ticed in New York as physician and sur- 



geon, and is to-day one of the foremost 
specialists for kidney troubles in the 
country. Dr. Ramon Guiteras is very 
prominent in social life in New York and 
belongs to many clubs, including the fol- 
lowing: Union Club, New York Athletic 
Club, Explorers Club, and the Harvard 
Club. He is also very fond of and de- 
votes a great deal of time to big game 
hunting, going to British South Africa 
every two years, and he finds this gives 
him the rest he requires from his large 
practice. Since the European war he has 
served for several months each year as 
surgeon in the French army. 

The Guiteras (Spain) Arms — Vert, five 
greyhounds' heads erased proper, vulned 
and distilling drops of blood gules, posed 
two, one and two. 

(VII) Henry Wardwell, son of Benja- 
man (3) and Elizabeth (Manchester) 
Wardwell, was born March 17, 1808, in 
Bristol, Rhode Island. He received his 
early education in the public schools of 
Bristol and later attended the school of 
Mr. Alden, reputed to have been one of 
the finest masters of the day. Entering 
the business world in his seventeenth 
year, Henry Wardwell became a clerk in 
the employ of Benjamin Hall, of Bristol, 
whose store was located on the corner of 
Thames and State streets. He found the 
business, that of handling of farm prod- 
ucts for home and West Indian trade, to 
his liking, and during the eight years he 
spent as an employee he learned thor- 
oughly all the details of the business, 
familiarizing himself with its every phase. 
At the age of twenty-five years he bought 
the business of Mr. Hall, and continued 
to conduct it successfully until he retired 
at the age of fifty-three years, a period of 
twenty-eight years. He purchased from 
farmers in the vicinity whole crops of 
potatoes and onions, which he consigned 
to vessels in the West Indian trade. The 
captains of the vessels he used disposed 
of their cargoes in West Indian ports, and 



276 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



with the proceeds bought molasses which 
they brought back for home consumption. 
Mr. Wardwell also became interested in 
whaling. In connection with his West 
Indian trade he came to have an interest 
in from ten to fourteen vessels. Mr. 
Wardwell was one of the most prominent 
merchants and business men in the town 
of Bristol in his time, and was connected 
in executive capacities with many of its 
large industrial and financial ventures. 
He was at one time a director in the 
Pocanock Cotton Mill, and for thirty 
years was a director in the Eagle National 
Bank, the Freeman's National Bank, and 
the First National Bank, of Bristol. He 
was also a trustee of the Bristol Institu- 
tion for Savings from the time of its or- 
ganization. He was prominent in local 
affairs though not officially connected 
with public life. He was a man of keen 
judgment and excellent business sense, a 
man whose opinion was respected and 
much sought. Of the highest moral prin- 
ciple, unimpeachable integrity, fair in all 
his dealings, he was honored and loved in 
Bristol. In his work and life he sustained 
and advanced the honorable traditions of 
his family, and brought honor on his 
name. He was a member of the Congre- 
gational church, and active in its work, 
serving as treasurer and leader of the 
choir for nearly thirty years. 

Henry Wardwell married. May 11,1835, 
Sarah Luther Lindsay, daughter of Thom- 
as and Rhoda Lindsay. Mrs. Wardwell 
died on November 8, 1890. 

Lindsay Arms — Gules, a fesse chequy argent 
and azure, in chief a mullet of the second. 
Crest — A castle proper. 
Motto — Firmus maneo. 

Children of Henry and Sarah Luther 
(Lindsay) Wardwell: 1. Benjamin, born 
May 6, 1836, died the same day. 2. Sophia 
Lindsay, born May 3, 1838, died April 15, 



1916, at Bristol, Rhode Island, unmarried. 
3. Annie Elizabeth, born August 9, 1840, 
died November 18, 1866. 4. Sarah Fran- 
ces, born January 25, 1843; married Wil- 
liam H. Bourne, now deceased ; she is a 
resident of Bristol. 5. Harriet Parker, 
born July 4, 1845, unmarried, resides in 
Bristol. 6. Isabella Mein, born January 
12, 1848, unmarried, resides in Bristol. 7. 
Henry Adam, born August 26, 1850, died 
February 18, 1853. 8. Henry Irenius, born 
July 15, 1853, died June 29, 1854. 

Henry Wardwell died in Bristol, Rhode 
Island, October 2, 1875. 

(V) Colonel Samuel Wardwell, son of 
William (2) and Mary (Howland) Ward- 
well, was born in Bristol, Rhode Island. 
May 25, 1760. He was one of the first 
men of Bristol, and played a prominent 
part in public affairs in the town. He 
was representative in the General Assem- 
bly of Rhode Island of the town of Bris- 
tol, and was also very active in military 
affairs in the town. 

He married Elizabeth Church, of Bris- 
tol, where she was born August 16, 1766, 
daughter of Samuel and Ann (Davis) 
Church. Their children were: 1. Maria, 
born in 1791, died early in life. 2. Heze- 
kiah Church, mentioned below. 3. Sam- 
uel Church, born in 1794, died early in 
life. 4. Mary Ann, born in 1796, married 
William Coggeshall, of Bristol and Fall 
River. 

(VI) Colonel Hezekiah Church Ward- 
well, son of Colonel Samuel and Elizabeth 
(Church) Wardwell, was born in Bristol, 
Rhode Island, in 1792. He learned the 
trade of carpenter and engaged success- 
fully in it for several years. He later be- 
came interested in lumbering and had 
very large interests in this industry. He 
was prominent publicly in Bristol, and 
frequently held important offices. Colo- 
nel Hezekiah Church Wardwell was the 
representative from Bristol in the Rhode 



277 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Island Assembly in 1849-50-51, and in 
1849 was inspector of ferries. In 1821 he 
was commissioned first lieutenant of the 
Bristol Train of Artillery, and in May of 
the following year received his commis- 
sion as colonel, which post he held for 
several years. He was marshal of Bristol 
during the Dorr War, with immediate 
jurisdiction over the Bristol custom house 
and post office. Though a Democrat in 
political affiliation the issue at stake and 
not party lines decided his vote. 

He married, December 24, 1820, Sally 
Gifford, daughter of Ephraim Gifford, and 
granddaughter of Captain David Gifford, 
of Dartmouth, Massachusetts, an officer 
in the American Revolution, and repre- 
sentative from Portsmouth in the Colo- 
nial Assembly. She died February 28, 
1870. Their children were: I. Elizabeth 
Church, born September 29, 1821 ; mar- 
ried Thomas J. Holmes ; children : Julia 
and Silas. 2. Samuel Drury, mentioned 
below. 3. Ruth Hall, born March 10, 
1826; married William Henry Teel ; child, 
Henry Russell. 4. Almira Gifford, born 
June 15, 1828; married Benjamin Thomas 
Church; no issue; both deceased. 5. Au- 
gusta, born October 3, 1832 ; married Wil- 
liam Trussell ; children: Evelyn, married 
Frank Morgan ; Edward, deceased ; Lena. 
6. William T.C., born September 20, 1835 ; 
married Lenora F. Gladding. 

(VII) Samuel Drury Wardwell, son of 
Colonel Hezekiah C. and Sally (Gifford) 
Wardwell, was born in Bristol, Rhode 
Island, October 5, 1823. He received an 
elementary education in the public schools 
of Bristol, and at the age of eleven years 
apprenticed himself to his father to learn 
the carpenter's trade. At the age of 
eighteen years he entered the lumber 
business of his father. This business, 
established in 1830 by Colonel Hezekiah 
Church Wardwell, proved from the first 
a succesful enterprise, and upon the en- 



trance into it of Samuel Drury Wardwell 
the firm name was changed to Hezekiah 
C. Wardwell & Son. Later William T. 
C. Wardwell, youngest son of Colonel 
Wardwell, was admitted to the business, 
and upon the retirement of the elder man 
the two sons succeeded to the business. 
The firm then became known as Ward- 
well Brothers, and conducted an exten- 
sive and prosperous business in lumber, 
and carpenters' and builders' supplies, 
such as doors, sashes and blinds, lime and 
cement, hair, etc. After a period of more 
than forty years in active business life, 
Samuel Drury Wardwell retired from 
business, and the firm name was then 
changed to the Wardwell Lumber Com- 
pany, the executive offices being held by 
W. T. C. Wardwell, president ; and Fred- 
erick F. Gladding, secretary and treasurer. 

After his retirement from business, 
Samuel Drury Wardwell purchased a 
small farm in the country, and turning 
to agricultural pursuits, devoted his time 
solely to the cultivation of his farm lands 
during the remainder of his life. He con- 
tinued to take an active interest in public 
affairs, however, and was prominently 
connected with political life in the town. 
In 1890 he was representative of the town 
of Bristol in the Rhode Island Legisla- 
ture. He was a member of the Town 
Council for six years, during half of that 
period serving as its president. For sev- 
eral years he served as chief of King 
Philip Engine Company, fire department 
of Bristol. He was a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. 

Samuel Drury Wardwell married, July 
29, 1880, Annie Elizabeth Blake, who was 
born April 3, 1854, daughter of Edward 
Allen and Mary (Young) Blake, of Bris- 
tol, Rhode Island. Mrs. Wardwell is a 
member of a family of ancient and honor- 
able lineage in New England. 

Jonathan Blake, progenitor of the Blake 



278 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



family, married Elizabeth Norris, daugh- 
ter of John Norris. Their son, Ebenezer 

Blake, married Cox. Their son, 

Ebenezer Blake, married Abigail Munroe 
and had sons: William, Richard, Eben- 
ezer, Allen, Samuel ; and daughters : Abi- 
gail and Nancy. Samuel Blake married 
Hannah Case, a French-Huguenot, daugh- 
ter of Gardner and Janet Belle Case, of 
Rehoboth. Children : Edward Allen ; Re- 
becca ; Martha Frances, married Colonel 
Samuel Lindsay. Edward Allen Blake 
married Mary Young, born in Manches- 
ter, England, and they had daughters, 
Eleanor, who married Mark A. DeWolf, 
son of William Bradford DeWolf, grand- 
son of Captain James DeWolf ; and Annie 
Elizabeth, married Samuel D. Wardwell, 
aforementioned. 

Children of Samuel Drury and Annie 
Elizabeth (Blake) Wardwell: I. Samuel 
Church, born October 6, 1884; graduate 
of Brown University in the class of 1908; 
senior member of the firm of Wardwell & 
Goddard, boat builders ; member of the 
Masonic order. Married, October 16, 191 5, 
Edith Burdick, daughter of Benjamin 
Franklin and Emlie Burdick ; resides in 
Bristol. 2. William Allen, born Novem- 
ber 17, 1887; graduated from Bristol High 
School in 1905, and from the Bryant & 
Stratton Business College in 1906; in 
charge of the eastern market of the Na- 
tional India Rubber Company, with offices 
in Boston, Massachusetts ; member of the 
Episcopal church, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons and the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. Married, October 15, 1914, Helen 
Luther Waldron, daughter of Colonel 
Charles and Carolyn (Luther) Waldron; 
child, Carolyn, born November 12, 1915; 
resides in Quincy, Massachusetts. 

Samuel Drury Wardwell died in Bris- 
tol, Rhode Island, May 15, 1906. He was 
a man highly respected and honored in 
the business world of Bristol, and was 



deeply mourned at his death. He was 
universally recognized as a man of the 
cleanest and most straightforward busi- 
ness principles, upright and honorable. 
He was a public-spirited citizen, and ren- 
dered service of much value to the town 
during his terms in office. He was a 
prominent layman in the Methodist Epis- 
copal church, and gave liberally to its 
charities and benevolences. Samuel 
Drury Wardwell was a representative of 
the fine old type of New England mer- 
chant which is fast dying out. 



ALDRICH, Edwin A., 

Lawyer, Enterprising Citizen. 

According to the authority, Bardsley, 
the name Aldrich is distinctly of baptiz- 
mal origin, though it is frequently stated 
to be of local derivation. The surname 
was originally derived from the personal 
name Alderich, and signifies in its present 
form "the son of Alderich." The name 
is a very ancient one, and is found in Eng- 
lish record and documents as early as the 
year 1273. 



Arms- 
Crest- 



-Or a fesse vert, a bull passant argent. 
-A griffin segreant. 



Several immigrants of the name came 
to the American colonies in the early part 
of the colonial period, and their progeny 
is now to be found in every State in the 
Union. The family of Aldrich herein 
under consideration is that branch of 
which the late Edwin Aldrich, of Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, one of the most 
prominent and distinguished members of 
the Rhode Island bar, financier and busi- 
ness man of note, was a member. The 
Aldrich family in Rhode Island has been 
prominently identified with Providence 
and the surrounding country for more 
than two and a half centuries. It is 
mainly descended from Joseph and Jacob 



279 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Aldrich, sons of the progenitor, George 
Aldrich, and in latter generations has fur- 
nished to the professions, business, indus- 
trial and public life, men who have left 
their mark on the times. 

(I) George Aldrich, immigrant ances- 
tor and founder of the family in America, 
was a native of Derbyshire, England, and 
emigrated to the New World in the year 
1631. He is first of record in the Massa- 
chusetts Bay Colony in that year, and in 
1636 he became a freeman at Dorchester. 
In 1640 he received a grant of land in 
Boston, and is of record in Braintree, 
Massachusetts, from 1644 to 1663. George 
Aldrich was among the pioneer settlers of 
the town of Mendon, Massachusetts, 
whither he went in the year 1663, an( i 
where he died in 1683. 

He married, in England, in 1629, Cath- 
erine Seald, who accompanied him to 
America. They were the parents of nine 
children, of whom Jacob, mentioned be- 
low, was the youngest. 

(II) Jacob Aldrich, son of George and 
Catherine (Seald) Aldrich. was born in 
Braintree, Massachusetts, February 28, 
1652. He accompanied his father to Men- 
don, Massachusetts, and is recorded as 
assessor there in 1694. During King 
Philip's War he went to Braintree, re- 
turning to Mendon, when hostilities 
ceased. 

He married, November 3, 1675, Huldah 
Thayer, born June 16, 1657, daughter of 
Ferdinando and Huldah (Hayward) 
Thayer. Jacob Aldrich, like the major- 
ity of the men of the period, was a farmer, 
inheriting land from his father, and ac- 
quiring considerable property of his own. 

(III) Moses Aldrich, son of Jacob and 
Huldah (Thayer) Aldrich, was born in 
Mendon, Massachusetts, April 1, 1690. 
He married, April 23, 171 1, Hannah 
White, born December 9, 16 — . Among 
their children was Robert, mentioned be- 
low. 



(IV) Robert Aldrich, son of Moses and 
Hannah (White) Aldrich, was born De- 
cember 1, 1719, in Mendon, Massachu- 
setts. He removed to Cumberland, 
Rhode Island, after his marriage, and 
there established the Rhode Island branch 
of the family. He married, September 7, 
1746, Patience Mann. 

(V) Amos Aldrich, son of Robert and 
Patience (Mann) Aldrich, was born in 
Cumberland, Rhode Island, June 11, 1756. 
He married, in Smithfield, Rhode Island, 
July 20, 1782, Sally Cook, daughter of 
Silas Cook, of Warwick, Rhode Island. 
Amos Aldrich resided in Cumberland all 
his life, and was a highly respected citi- 
zen. 

(VI) Joseph Cook Aldrich, son of 
Amos and Sally (Cook) Aldrich, was born 
in Cumberland. Rhode Island, April 13, 
1787. He married Asenath Gaskill, of 
Blackstone, Massachusetts. Their chil- 
dren were: 1. Henry, born October 15, 
1817. 2. Peter G., born August 15, 1819. 
3. Hannah, born June 20, 1821. 4. Elias, 
born February 14, 1823. 5. Joseph Bar- 
ton, born December 30, 1824. 6. Lucy 
Barton, born January 2, 1827. 7. Jane. 
born July 10, 1832. 8. John, born July 
10, 1832, twin of Jane. 9. Caroline, born 
July 25, 1834. 10. Edwin, mentioned be- 
low. 11. Moses, born December 11, 1839. 
12. Mary, born May 15, 1842. 

(VII) Edwin Aldrich, son of Joseph 
Cook and Asenath (Gaskill) Aldrich, was 
born in Woonsocket, Rhode Island, Octo- 
ber 14, 1836. He attended the elementary 
and high schools of his native town, and 
entered Tufts College, where he spent one 
year. He entered Brown University, in 
Providence, in his sophomore year, and 
remained until the end of his junior year, 
when he was compelled to discontinue his 
studies by failing health. 

After a period spent in regaining his 
health, Mr. Aldrich entered the office of 
Hon. Wingate Hayes, of Providence, hav- 



280 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing formed a decision to enter the legal 
profession. He next entered the Albany 
Law School, where he was graduated 
with the class of 1863 with the degree of 
Bachelor of Laws. He was admitted to 
the bar in the same year, and commenced 
the active practice of his profession in the 
town of Neenah, Wisconsin. He met with 
a high degree of success, and a few months 
later formed a partnership with Moses 
Hooper, at Oshkosh, in the same State. 
He rose rapidly in the legal circles of the 
State, and came to be known as a lawyer 
of ability. His practice was very large 
and lucrative, but in the comparatively 
undeveloped territory which Wisconsin 
then was, did not offer sufficient possi- 
bilities of advancement to a man of am- 
bition. Consequently, in 1864, Mr. Al- 
drich returned to the East, and entered 
upon the practice of law in Woonsocket, 
Rhode Island, where he met with ready 
success, and shortly became known as one 
of the ablest lawyers in the State. In 
1868 he became associated with Leland 
D. Jenckes, under the firm name of Al- 
drich Sc Jenckes, and the partnership con- 
tinued until the death of the junior part- 
ner in 1872, from which time forward Mr. 
Aldrich practiced alone. In the ensuing 
period he handled cases which have since 
occupied places of the utmost importance 
in Rhode Island legal history. He was 
acceded to be one of the most skilled at- 
torneys practicing before the bar of the 
State — of swift keen judgment, analytic 
and clear mind, broad education, and a 
forceful and convincing public speaker. 
Edwin Aldrich took a prominent part 
in the public life of the city of Woon- 
socket, and for a number of years filled 
various public offices. He was town solic- 
itor before the incorporation of Woon- 
socket as a city, and in 1867-68-69 repre- 
sented the city in the Rhode Island As- 
sembly, being elected to office on the Re- 



publican ticket. His work in the Legisla- 
ture was distinguished by the same qual- 
ities which marked his work as a lawyer, 
and brought eminent satisfaction to the 
city, in whose behalf he was influential in 
having many beneficial measures passed 
through the body of which he was a mem- 
ber. In latter years, however, the weight 
of his other affairs prevented his accept- 
ing further nomination for public office. 
Air. Aldrich was a well known and influ- 
ential figure in the financial world of 
Woonsocket, and also in its business in- 
terests. He was a director in the Woon- 
socket Gas Company for many years, and 
became its president on the death of 
George A. Buffum, of Providence, con- 
tinuing in that office until his demise. 
He was also trustee of the Woonsocket 
Institution. He was the owner of con- 
siderable real estate in the city and vicin- 
ity. 

Mr. Aldrich was active and prominent in 
club life in Woonsocket, and was also a 
member of the Masonic order, for two 
years filling the honored post of com- 
mander of the Woonsocket Commandery, 
Knights Templar. His death came as a 
grief to all Woonsocket. , 

He married, June 17, 1869, Augusta 
Gaylord, born at Naugatuck, Connecticut, 
daughter of Luther and Laura (Judd) 
Gaylord, and granddaughter of Allen 
Gaylord, founder of the family in Amer- 
ica. The Gaylord family is of French 
origin, and the name is found in French 
history of a very early date. The family 
in its principal branches is found in the 
French provinces of Flanders, Gascony, 
Guienne and Poitou, and is entitled to 
bear arms. The name in its original form 
was Gaillard, and the English branch of 
the Norman-French Gaillards was found- 
ed in England at the time of the Norman 
Conquest by a knight in the train of the 
Conqueror. 



281 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mrs. Aldrich survives her husband, and 
resides at the family home at No. 344 
Benefit street, Providence, Rhode Island. 
They were the parents of the following 
children : 1. Florence A., who resides with 
her mother in Providence. 2. Edwin, who 
died in infancy. 3. Alice, who married 
Lester B. Murdock. 4. Paul Edwin, mar- 
ried Emma Dexter Thayer. 5. Lotta, 
married John P. Sawyer, of Waterbury, 
Connecticut. 6. Katherine, who married 
Henry J. Hart, of New Haven, Connecti- 
cut, in 1910; died in April, 1915. 

Edwin Aldrich died suddenly of heart 
failure in the Banigan Building in Provi- 
dence, March 1, 1905. The following reso- 
lutions, passed by the members of the 
Woonsocket bar, will give as far as is 
possible a conception of the honor and re- 
spect which was accorded to him in the 
cities of Woonsocket and Providence : 

Whereas, The Almighty Judge of the uni- 
verse has seen fit to bring sorrow upon us by 
removing from this earthly tribunal to the Su- 
preme Court above our late respected and hon- 
ored brother, Edwin Aldrich; and, 

Whereas, His long and active career as coun- 
selor and advocate in this city is well known to 
us, and his successful and unremitting devotion 
to his professional duties and the interests of 
Woonsocket as town solicitor and member of 
the House of Representatives of the State, has 
signally distinguished him much beyond the 
limits of the immediate arena of his lifelong 
mission performed in this, the city of his birth 
and affection; and, 

Whereas, His brilliancy of mind, keenness of 
legal sense and genial comradeship have en- 
deared him most to those nearest to him, who 
have seen and bear witness to the success that 
has attended in a material way the judicious 
employment of that peculiar endowment of 
thrift and industry increasing to the end of his 
nearly "three-score years and ten ;" and, 

Whereas, His fatherly love and pure devotion 
to his family and all the bonds of home make 
it difficult for us to comfort those who are in a 
sorrow whose boundaries the nature of the 
mourner and the nearness of the lost one alone 
determine; 



Be It Resolved, That we, the members of the 
Bar, practicing in the City of Woonsocket, in 
special session assembled, do hereby extend our 
heartfelt sympathy, to the wife and family of 
our late brother in their great affliction and 
offer this tribute to his masterly ability as a 
lawyer; to his services as a citizen and his value 
as a friend and counsellor of many years; 

And Furthermore, Be It Resolved, That a copy 
of these resolutions be communicated to the fam- 
ily of our late brother and printed in the jour- 
nals of this city; and that the committee on 
resolutions be instructed to appear before the 
next session of the district court of the Twelfth 
Judicial District, to be held on Saturday, March 
4, 1905, and in open court move that these reso- 
lutions be inscribed on its records. 

John J. Heffernan, 
Erwin J. France, 
George W. Greene, 
Committee on Resolutions. 

The following resolutions were adopted 
by the board of trustees of the Woon- 
socket Institution for Savings : 

Edwin Aldrich, Esq., a member of this Board 
of Trustees, died in Providence, March first, 
1905, aged sixty-eight years, and it is hereby 

Resolved, That in the death of Mr. Aldrich, 
this Board has lost a cherished friend and asso- 
ciate, he having been a member of the Board 
for thirty-seven years, and its legal adviser. He 
had always a great interest in the growth and 
welfare of this Institution, and will be greatly 
missed as a pleasant associate and a faithful and 
efficient member of this Board. It is therefore, 

Resolved, That while deprived of his presence 
and wise counsels we shall ever hold his name 
in greatful remembrance as an upright and 
faithful official; 

Resolved, That a copy of these resolutions be 
sent the family of deceased and that they be 
spread upon the record of this Board. 



COMSTOCK, Andrew, 

Man of Affairs, Legislator. 

Arms — Or, a sword point downwards, issuing 
from a crescent, in base gules, between two 
bears rampant sable. 

Crest — An elephant rampant proper, issuing 
out of a baron's coronet. 

Motto — Nid cyfoeth ond boddlondeh. (Not 
wealth, but contentment). 



282 




c^Wi <&u^/D6?}*ZZ^i& 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



There is a difference of opinion among 
authorities as to the origin of the name 
Comstock. It is held by some to be of 
German origin, and by others to have 
been derived from an English source, and 
to this latter theory the majority incline. 
The source of the English surname was 
the place-name Culstock, or Colmstocke, 
an ancient town of England, which is 
found mentioned in the "Domesday Book" 
in the reign of William the Conqueror. 
The name is found later in the records of 
the town of Exeter, in the vicinity of Cul- 
stock, in the year 1241, when Petro de 
Columstock is entered as a witness. The 
office of prior at Taunton, England, was 
occupied in 1325 by Richard de Colstoke ; 
and in 1331 by Ralph de Colmstoke, who 
resigned in 1338. For several centuries 
the name was found prominently through- 
out all England, and the family was large 
in numbers, of high rank and reputation, 
and held much landed property. Its num- 
bers were much depleted by colonial emi- 
gration. The family in America came to 
occupy a similar position to that of the 
English family. 

The theory of the German origin of the 
name is based on the following state- 
ments ; there has been no proof found, 
however, and research has failed to dis- 
cover the records mentioned and said to 
exist in the Muniment Office at Frank- 
fort-on-Main, in Germany : The name in 
Germany is spelled with a "K," and there 
is said to exist in the Muniment Office a 
pedigree of the family of Komstock ex- 
tending for nine generations previous to 
the year 1547, when Charles Von Kom- 
stohk, a baron of the Roman Empire, was 
implicated in the Von Benedict treason 
and escaped into England with several 
nobles of Austria and Silesia, founding 
there a branch of the family. 

In the opening years of the colonial 
period there came to the New World one 



William Comstock, an Englishman, the 
first of the name to arrive in New Eng- 
land, and the progenitor of the large Com- 
stock race in this country. Since the time 
of its establishment the family has occu- 
pied in its various branches a position of 
prominence and influence in the affairs of 
New England, and has made the name 
known in all fields of endeavor in that 
section of the country. 

(I) William Comstock, immigrant an- 
cestor and founder of the family, was a 
native of England. He was twice mar- 
ried, and came to America with his sec- 
ond wife, Elizabeth. The date of his 
arrival in this country is not known, but 
he is known to have been in Wethersfield, 
Connecticut, early. According to the his- 
torian, Stiles, in his "History of Wethers- 
field," William Comstock was doubtless 
one of the fifty-six men who under the 
leadership of Captain John Mason cap- 
tured Pequot Fort, at Mystic, Connecti- 
cut, May 26, 1637, and killed about five 
hundred Indians. During the time of his 
residence in Wethersfield, Connecticut, he 
was the owner of land on the Connecti- 
cut river ; this fact is recorded under the 
date April 28, 1641. The land was not re- 
ceived by grant, but was purchased by 
him from Richard Milles. Richard Milles 
was the plaintiff in an action against Wil- 
liam Comstock and John Sadler, charging 
slander, argued before the court of elec- 
tion at Hartford, Connecticut, August 1, 
1644; the damages awarded were £200. 
William Comstock later removed to the 
town of Pequot, which is now New Lon- 
don, Connecticut. There, with several 
others, he agreed to accept the judgeship 
of the court of magistrates of the town 
in the matter of gifts and grants of rights 
of land there. He received a grant of land 
from the town on June 21, 1647, an d on 
December 2, 165 1, received a grant at 
Nahantic (Niantic). At a town meeting. 



283 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



November 10, 1650, he voted to cooperate 
with John Winthrop in erecting a corn 
mill, and in July of the following year he, 
with other townsmen, worked on a mill 
dam which is still in use. On February 
25, 1662, "Old goodman Comstock" was 
chosen sexton, to order the youth in the 
meeting. The children of William Com- 
stock were: 1. John, an influential and 
prominent member of the community at 
Saybrook, Connecticut. 2. Samuel, men- 
tioned below. 3. Daniel, died at New 
London, in 1683. 4. Christopher, died 
December 28, 1702. 5. Elizabeth, died in 
July, 1659. 

(II) Samuel Comstock, son of William 
Comstock, was probably born in England, 
and accompanied his father on the voyage 
to America. The first record of him in 
New England is found in the Colonial 
records of Connecticut, on March 1, 1648, 
on which date he gave recognizance at 
Hartford for ten days of good behaviour 
and for satisfying what damage Mr. Rob- 
bins should sustain for the want of his 
servant. This would seem to indicate 
that he was apprenticed to the said Mr. 
Robbins. Samuel Comstock left Connec- 
ticut and settled in Rhode Island in the 
year 1653, and was the first of the name 
to reside in the Colony. In the same year, 
when relations with the Dutch were 
strained and war was looming on the 
horizon, he went on the "Swallow" to 
Block Island, where the ship's company 
seized the goods and people under the 
Dutch Captain Kempo Sybando, bringing 
the entire outfit back to New London, in 
all probability to Governor John Win- 
throp. He purchased his house and lot in 
Providence on March 1, 1654, of John 
Smith. 

Samuel Comstock married Anne , 

who married (second) John Smith, a stone 
mason of Providence. His death occurred 
some time previous to March 9, 1660, on 



which date the town council of Provi- 
dence took action regarding the estates of 
Samuel Comstock and John Smith, de- 
ceased. On May 4, 1661, Anne Smith, of 
Providence, widow of John Smith, and 
formerly widow of Samuel Comstock, 
sold the house and home plot of Samuel 
Comstock, to Roger Mowry. This land 
was a tract of four acres situated in the 
northern part of Providence. Anne Smith 
died after February 10, 1667. Children: 
1. Samuel, mentioned below. 2. Daniel, 
born May 12, 1656. 

(Ill) Captain Samuel (2) Comstock, 
son of Samuel (1) and Anne Comstock, 
was born in Providence, Rhode Island, in 
1654. He later rose to prominence in 
public affairs, and held many of the im- 
portant offices in the gift of the Colony. 
He was taxed eight pence on July 1, 1679. 
He served as deputy to the General As- 
sembly of Rhode Island in the years 1669- 
1 702-07-08-1 1, and on May 6, 1702, was 
appointed a member of a committee by 
the Assembly to audit the general treas- 
urer's account and the colony debts. In 
April, 1708, he served on a committee to 
fix the rates of grain and other articles 
brought to the treasury. He was active 
in the military affairs of the colony, and 
held the rank of captain in the militia at 
the time of his decease. In August, 1710, 
he ordered Henry Mowry to impress men 
to go to Port Royal. Captain Samuel 
Comstock was the plaintiff in a long ac- 
tion against the town of Mendon, Massa- 
chusetts, regarding the ownership of a 
nine hundred acre tract located on the 
present boundary of the States of Massa- 
chusetts and Rhode Island. He received 
permission from the selectmen of Mendon 
to cut timber for a saw mill and dam at 
the falls on the Great river, on November 
21, 1698. Among others he received a 
grant of land on Woonsocket Hill, Rhode 
Island, on April 14, 1707, and he and Rich- 



284 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ard Arnold were the first settlers of the 
place. On May 6, 1707, Ensign Samuel 
Comstock was appointed to the office of 
deputy to the General Court from Provi- 
dence. He was a resident of that part of 
Providence known as Smithfield. Accord- 
ing to a deposition taken on March 22, 
1717, he was then sixty-three years of 
age. He died on May 27, 1727, and his 
will, dated April 10, 1745, was proved De- 
cember 8, 1747. 

He married, November 22, 1678, Eliza- 
beth Arnold, daughter of Thomas and 
Phebe (Parkhurst) Arnold. She was born 
in Watertown, Massachusetts, in 1645, 
and died October 20, 1747. Children: 1. 
Samuel, born April 16, 1679; died April 
1, 1727; married Anna Inman. 2. Haza- 
diah, born April 16, 1682; died February 
21, 1764; married (first) Catherine Pray; 
(second) August 10, 1730, Martha Bal- 
com. 3. Thomas, born November 7, 1684; 
died in 1761 ; married, July 9, 1713, Mercy 
Jenckes. 4. Daniel, born July 9, 1686; 
died December 22, 1768; married (first) 

; (second) August 2, 1750, 

Elizabeth Buffum. 5. Elizabeth, born 
December 18, 1690; married, December 
1, 1717, John Sayles. 6. John, mentioned 
below. 7. Ichabod, born June 9, 1696; 
died January 26, 1775 ; married (first) 
September 13, 1722, Zibiah Wilkinson; 
(second) March 26, 1747, Elizabeth Boyce. 
8. Job, born April 4, 1699; married (first) 
Phebe Jenckes ; (second) November 22, 
1735, Phebe Balcom. 

(IV) John Comstock, son of Samuel 
(2) and Elizabeth (Arnold) Comstock, 
was born in Providence, Rhode Island, 
March 26, 1693. He followed the occu- 
pation of blacksmith in his native town 
all his life. He inherited a large portion 
of the landed property of his father, and, 
adding to this through purchase, he in- 
creased his holdings greatly, becoming one 
of the largest real estate owners in Provi- 



dence and one of the wealthiest men of 
his time in the colony. He disposed of 
the greater part of his property in gifts 
to his sons before his death. His son 
Samuel received thirty acres, dwelling 
house and barn ; Joseph, seventeen acres 
and dwelling house ; John, a quarter of 
forge adjoining to corn mill, etc. ; Jere- 
miah, one hundred and fifty acres ; to 
sons John, Jonathan, Jame