(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Encyclopedia of Massachusetts, biographical--genealogical;"

qio 



.A.^ 






^4 
I:lllPaT^ Cliarlr^ Jinleg 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2007 with funding from 

IVIicrosoft Corporation 



http://www.archive.org/details/encyclopediaofma6_00amer 



v»c 






THE «EVV VORJT^ 
\PUBliC LIBRARY- 



» ASTOP. LENOX ..a';. 

i 



id 





/>^^^^^:^^:^ 



Encydntiebta of Massachusetts 



Biographical — Genealogical 



Compiled with Assistance of the Following 
ADVISORY COMMITTEE 



WILLIAM RICHARD CUTTER 

Former Librarian of Woburn Public Library; 
Historian of New England Historic-Genea- 
logical Society; Author of "History of Arling- 
ton," "Bibliography of Woburn," "History of 
the Cutter Family," etc. 

EUGENE C. GARDNER 

Member of American Institute of Architecture, 
etc.; Author of "Homes and How to Make 
Them," and other popular works; Lecturer, 
and frequent contributor to leading magazines 
and newspapers. 

HARLAN HOGE BALLARD, A. M. 

Librarian of Berkshire Athenaeum and Mu- 
seum; Secretary of Berkshire Historical Soci- 
ety; Author of "Three Kingdoms;" "World of 
Matter;" "Translation into Englisli, Hexameters 
of Virgil's Aeneid;" Joint Authoi- "American 
Plant Book;" "Barnes' Readers;" "One Thou- 
sand Blunders in English." 

REV. JOHN H. LOCKWOOD, A. M. 

Member of Connecticut "Valley Historical Soci- 
ety, and Western Hampden Historical Society; 
-Author of "History of the Town of Westfleld, 
Mass." 



HON. ELLERY BICKNELL CRANE 

Charter Member, ex-President and for fifteen 
years Librarian of Worcester Society of Antiq- 
uity, and Editor of its Proceedings; Author of 
"Rawson Family Memorial," "The Crane Fam- 
ily," in two volumes, "History of 15th Regi- 
ment in the Revolution," and Compiler of a 
Number of Genealogies of the Prominent Fam- 
ilies of Massachusetts. Member of the New 
England Historic-Genealogical and other His- 
torical Societies. 

CHARLES FRENCH READ 

Clerk and Treasurer of Bostonian Society; 
Director of Brookline Historical Society; Sec- 
ond Vice-President of Mass. See. S. A. R.; 
Chairman Membership Com. Mass. Soc. Colo- 
nial Wars; Member Board of Managers, Mass. 
Soc, War of 1812; Treasurer of Read Soc. for 
Genealogical Research. 

ROBERT SAMUEL RANTOUL 

Ex-President of Essex Institute; Member of 
Massachusetts Historical Society; ex-Repre- 
sentative and ex-Mayor of Salem. 

E. ALDEN DYER, M. D. 

President of Old Bridgewater Historical Soci- 
ety; President of Dyer Family Association. 



1. 



\J- ^J 



ILLUSTRATED 



NEW YORK 



19.16 

THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY (Inc.) 

BOSTON 



CHICAGO 



THE NEW YOl^.K 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 

3G4888A 

.\, . . : . ; I ■ NO 

TILDEN FOUNDATIONS 
R 1028 L 



Both justice and decency require that we should bestow on our forefathers 
an honorable remembrance — Thucydides 



BIOGRAPHICAL 






US^'^^s^^] 



*^^j>S^i^ 




^::::^fe^^^.^ ^^^^^-^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



NEWTON, James Hale, 

Retired Bank President. 

The Newton family, so ably represented 
in the present generation by James Hale 
Newton, who for the long period of thirty- 
two years served as president of the Home 
National Bank, he being one of the prin- 
cipal organizers in 1884, is of English 
origin, the pioneer ancestor arriving in 
America many centuries ago, and from 
then to the present time (1916) his de- 
scendants have been residents of the vari- 
ous States of the Union, contributing 
their full share to the progress and de- 
velopment of the communities wherein 
they resided. 

(I) Richard Newton, the pioneer an- 
cestor above referred to, settled in Mas- 
sachusetts prior to 1645, in which year 
he was admitted a freeman of the colony, 
and for a number of years he was a resi- 
dent of Sudbury, removing from there to 
Marlborough, his house being located in 
the portion later set off as Southborough. 
By his wife, Anna or Hannah Newton, he 
was the father of six children, among 
whom was Moses, of whom further. Rich- 
ard Newton died in the year 1701, aged 
nearly one hundred years, and his wife 
passed away December 5, 1697. 

(H) Moses Newton, son of Richard 
and Anna or Hannah Newton, was born 
in 1646. probably in Sudbury, Massachu- 
setts, and later removed to Marlborough, 
and was there active in defending the 
town against the Indians during King 
Philip's war. He married (first) October 
27, 1667, Joanna Larkin, who died De- 
cember 25, 1713. She bore him eleven 
children, among whom was James, of 



whom further. He married (second) 
April 14, 1714, Sarah, daughter of Na- 
thaniel and Sarah (King) Joslyn, of Marl- 
borough. She was born 1650, and died 
November 4, 1723. 

(III) James Newton, son of Moses and 
Joanna (Larkin) Newton, was born in 
Marlborough, Massachusetts, January 15, 
1683, died in Southborough, November 
29, 1762, removing to that town in 1727. 
He married (first) October 5, 1709, Mary 
Joslyn, born April 14, 1685, died May 27, 
1710, daughter of Nathaniel and Hester 
(Morse) Joslyn, of Marlborough. He 
married (second) September 8, 1712, 
Rachel Greeley, who bore him six chil- 
dren, among whom was Joseph, of whom 
further. 

(IV) Joseph Newton, son of James and 
Rachel (Greeley) Newton, was born in 
Southborough, Massachusetts, July 15, 
1728, died in Hubbardstown, Massachu- 
setts, in 1795, whither he removed in 1777 
from Templeton, in which town he resided 
for a short period of time. He married, 
December 29, 1756, in Southborough. Ex- 
perience Drury, who bore him six chil- 
dren, among whom, was Ebenezer, of 
whom further. 

(V) Ebenezer Newton, son of Joseph 
and Experience (Drury) Newton, was 
born in Southborough, Massachusetts, 
December 8, 1770. and died in Greenfield. 
Massachusetts, February 16, 1844, ^^' 
moving to that town from Hubbards- 
town, where he was an honored and es- 
teemed citizen. He married Mary Howe, 
born about 1775, died October 15. 1804, 
and they were the parents of four chil- 
dren, among whom was James, of whom 
further. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(VI) James (2) Newton, only son of 
Ebenezer and Mary (Howe) Newton, 
was born in Templeton, Massachusetts, 
July 21, 1801, and died in Greenfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, August 19, 1891, having long 
passed the allotted time of three-score 
years and ten. He removed from his 
native town to Hubbardstown, where for 
several years he conducted agricultural 
pursuits, and in 1835 removed to Green- 
field, where he spent the remainder of his 
days. He also successfully operated a 
farm there, which was formerly the prop- 
erty of Zebina Knight; in 1840 built the 
"Newton house," near Green river, and 
eight years later built the saw mill which 
was the foundation of the Newton for- 
tune. He married, February 10, 1824, 
Esther Hale, born in 1799, ^^^^ June 7, 
1885, and they were the parents of the 
following named children: i. Laura, born 
February 15. 1825, died November 26, 
1865 ; married, June 19, 1855, Israel B. 
Cross, of Milwaukee, Wisconsin. 2. 
Sarah, born April 2, 1826, died April 26, 
1826. 3. Daniel Howe, born June 22, 
1827; married, September 24, 1862, Mary 
A. Cogswell, of Essex, Massachusetts ; 
lived in Greenfield and Holyoke. 4. Jo- 
seph Drury, born December 9, 1828; mar- 
ried, November 23, 1853, Prudence H. 
Alvord, of Shelburne ; lived in Greenfield 
and later in Holyoke. 5. Susan, born May 
27, 1830, died July 4, 1863. 6. James Hale, 
of whom further. 7. Moses, born Octo- 
ber 27, 1833; married, November 3, 1859, 
Maria B. Arms, of South Deerfield. 8. 
Ebenezer, born April 6, 1835, died March 
4, 185 1. 9. Esther, born October 4, 1836; 
married, March 25, 1863, Elias B. Mc- 
Clellan, of Greenfield ; lived in Greenfield 
and Whately. now in Keene. New Hamp- 
shire. 10. John Carter, born April 21, 
1838; married, November 28, 1865, Lela 
F. Vulte, of New York ; resided in Hol- 
yoke. II. Solon, born March 9, 1841, de- 
ceased ; was a resident of Greenfield. 



(VII) James Hale Newton, son of 
James (2) and Esther (Hale) Newton, 
was born in Hubbardstown, Massachu- 
setts, January 13, 1832. In early boyhood 
he attended the district schools of Green- 
field, later Williston Seminary, in 1855 
became a student at Amherst College, and 
subsequently matriculated at Dartmouth 
College, from which he was graduated in 
1859. During the time he was in college, 
he taught two terms in Whately, Massa- 
chusetts, and one in Rockport, and in his 
senior year taught one term in Lebanon 
Center. He was also employed as a clerk 
in stores during the summer months, as- 
suming these duties early in life. Imme- 
diately after his graduation, June 15, 1859, 
he was elected principal of the Thomas 
Street Grammar School in Worcester, the 
largest school in the city, and during the 
entire five years of his incumbency of 
that office he had what is probably the 
unprecedented record of never inflicting 
corporal punishment upon any pupil under 
his control. He was a born disciplinarian 
and teacher, and his school was noted for 
the excellent order maintained therein. 
He impressed upon the scholars the fact 
that they were there for the purpose of 
being taught and he to teach them, and 
that they must work in perfect coopera- 
tion with each other in order that both 
might be highly successful. So impres- 
sive did this lesson become that after his 
first year it was hardly necessary to re- 
mind them of this fact, it being taken for 
granted and each scholar making up his 
mind, if possible, to outdo the other one 
and assist not only themselves but the 
teacher who furnished the incentive. 

In 1864 Mr. Newton removed to Hol- 
yoke and in company with his elder 
brother, Daniel Howe Newton, and his 
younger brother, John Carter Newton, 
and others, incorporated and organized 
the Hampden Paper Company, the third 
industry of its kind in the town at that 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



time, and James H. Newton served the 
concern in the capacities of business man- 
ager and treasurer for two years, at the 
expiration of which time he disposed of 
his interest in the business. In associa- 
tion with his father-in-law, Calvin Taft, 
he secured the incorporation of the Frank- 
lin Paper Company, erecting a mill hav- 
ing a daily capacity of three tons of en- 
velope and cardboard papers. He was 
the principal owner of the stock of this 
company and filled the offices of treasurer 
and manager. In 1867 he organized the 
Albion Paper Company, retaining his con- 
nection with it until 1869, when he sold 
his interest to his brother-in-law, Edward 
C. Taft, of Holyoke. In 1875 he joined 
Moses Newton, James Ramage and 
George A. Clark in organizing the New- 
ton Paper Company, and in 1879 he or- 
ganized the Wauregan Paper Company, 
and erected the Wauregan mill, having a 
daily capacity of six tons of writing and 
envelope papers ; this mill was owned and 
operated by members of the Newton fam- 
ily. The mills of the Franklin and Wau- 
regan Paper companies were sold to the 
American Writing Paper Company in 
July. 1899. In 1880 he joined with his 
brothers, Moses, Daniel H. and John C, 
in organizing the Chemical Paper Com- 
pany, and became president of the com- 
pany on the death of John C. Newton in 
1899. I" 1^91 ^^ erected the Norman 
Paper Mill, having previously established 
this company with a capital stock of 
$300,000, and was its president until 1892. 
This mill turned out twelve tons of writ- 
ing paper and envelopes per day, and was 
operated up to 1899, when it was sold to 
the American Writing Paper Company. 
A spirit along the same lines as mani- 
fested in his career as teacher and princi- 
pal later characterized Mr. Newton's 
business career, and at any time when it 
became necessary to fill a place higher up 



he always promoted the men who had 
shown the greatest interest in the work, 
and this method was carried out con- 
sistently, and every man in his employ 
strove to do the very best he could in 
order to be worthy of promotion when 
the opportunity presented itself. This, of 
course, brought the entire force up to a 
very high degree of efficiency with profit 
to themselves and satisfaction to their 
employers. 

In 1869 ^^^- Newton invented and pat- 
ented a process for making cloth paper 
for collars and confined the operations of 
his mill to its manufacture. This process 
consisted in running cotton cloth through 
the paper-making machine at the same 
time with the paper pulp, thereby form- 
ing a layer of paper of suitable texture 
and thickness on one side and firmly 
attached to the cloth. Paper collars were 
at first manufactured of paper alone, al- 
though some attempts in forming a com- 
pound fabric of paper and cloth by past- 
ing by hand sheets of paper on cloth had 
been made, and cloth-lined paper of this 
kind was to some extent in use. Mr. 
Newton's combined cloth and paper came 
into general use and its manufacture fur- 
nished full employment to the Franklin 
mill. In 1873 the method of preparing the 
combined cloth and paper now employed 
was introduced. This process was to run 
a web of cloth between rolls, and coat it 
on one side with a strongly adhesive solu- 
tion of starch ; then to pass it in contact 
with a web of paper of equal width, 
through a series of steam-heated rolls, 
until the dry, finished cloth-paper came 
out at the end of the machine. This pro- 
cess proved superior to that of Mr. New- 
ton, and superseded it, and he then turned 
his attention simply to the manufacture 
of the paper to be used by others in the 
new method. 

Although Mr. Newton was for almost 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



half a century actively identified with the 
industrial ^owth of Holyoke, enjoying 
the distinction of having been one of the 
pioneers in the work, he also devoted con- 
siderable time and attention to other 
channels, in which his eflforts were equally 
successful. In 1872 he aided in the organ- 
ization of the Mechanics' Savings Bank 
of Holyoke, serving as its president for 
twelve years ; was a member of the board 
of directors of the Third National Bank 
of Springfield from 1873 to 1882; with 
others he organized the City Bank of 
Holyoke, in which he was a director until 
1884, when he with others, namely, his 
brothers, and E. L. Munn, its first cashier, 
organized the Home National Bank of 
Holyoke, of which he was president for 
thirty-two years, until his resignation, at 
which time he received great commenda- 
tion for his faithful and efficient work 
from directors and associates; in 1885, he, 
with others, organized the People's Sav- 
ings Bank, of which he was a trustee for 
several years. Mr. Newton is now in his 
eighty-fifth year, and although still hale 
and hearty, he concluded that it was time 
he withdrew from official positions, which 
is a penalty one pays to age, but what is 
more delightful in financial or commercial 
circles, to say nothing of manufacturing 
circles, than to throw down the harness 
of business cares with the ringing ac- 
claim from associates "glory to your good 
works.'" 

Mr. Newton also was an active factor 
in other public affairs which had for their 
object the u])l)uilding of the community. 
He was chairman of the school commit- 
tee from 1865 to 1868; represented his 
district in the State Legislature for the 
year 1877; served on the Board of Public 
Works for the year 1897 ; has been a direc- 
tor in tlie Holyoke City Hospital since its 
organization, and has been connected 



with the Holyoke City Library as trustee 
since its incorporation, and now president 
of the association. He was chairman of 
the parish committee of the Second Con- 
gregational Church for six years, and su- 
perintendent of its Sunday school for one 
year. He has always taken a keen inter- 
est in college affairs, and was president 
of the Dartmouth Western Massachusetts 
Alumni Association for two years. He 
was a member of the Connecticut Valley 
Congregational Club from its organiza- 
tion and president for one year. He was 
also largely engaged in real estate opera- 
tions, and he erected a number of tene- 
ment houses and cottages for working 
men and people of humble means, allow- 
ing them ample time in which to make 
payments, thus performing a philan- 
thropic act for which many people were 
exceedingly grateful. 

Mr. Newton married (first) November 
23, 1863, Susan W^adsworth Taft, born 
1841, died 1900, daughter of Calvin Taft. 
of Worcester. Children: i. Edward Taft, 
born Decem.ber 15, 1864. 2. Frederick 
Hale, born February 23, 1866, died 191 1. 
3. Eliza. 4. James Bertram, born August 
II, 1876. Mr. Newton married (second) 
June 29, 1904, Emily Norcross, born in 
Winchester, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Warren Fisher and Emily (Colburn) Nor- 
cross. Mrs. Newton was reared in Welles- 
ley Hills, graduated at Wellesley College, 
Bachelor of Arts, 1880, Master of Arts, 
1884, and studied later at the Harvard 
Annex and the American Schools of Ar- 
chaeology at Athens and Rome. She 
taught Latin in Smith College from 1889 
to 1904, holding the position of associate 
professor when she resigned. Mrs. New- 
ton takes an active part in social, literary 
and charitable work in the city of Hol- 
yoke, and is a member of many clubs and 
organizations. 





/Too. 




^y-zrynayL^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



LOOMIS, William S., 

Journalist, Man of Enterprise. 

Of ancient English family and tracing 
in America to Joseph Loomis, who came 
in 1639, William S. Loomis, of honored 
memory, came into this world richly en- 
dowed with those qualities of heart, soul 
and body, which make for the strong in- 
tellectual and physical man. Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, was the scene of his life's 
activity and there, where best known, he 
was best loved and appreciated. A re- 
view of his life work is most interesting, 
and to the young man seeking an inspira- 
tion will be found most helpful, as the 
story of a man who met every responsi- 
bility as it presented itself with a brave 
heart, dif^culties but nerving him to 
greater elTort. 

The Loomis coat-of-arms is as follows : 
Arms : Argent, between two pallets gules 
three fleur-de-lis azure ; a chief of the last. 
Crest : On a chapeau a pelican vulning 
its breast, proper. Motto: Nc cede Jiialis 
(Yield not to misfortunes). 

William S. Loomis, son of Elijah W. 
Loomis, of Monson and Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, was born at Monson, October 
7, 1840, and died at his summer home. 
Southwest Harbor, Maine, July 10, 1914. 
During an early period of his boyhood his 
parents moved to Holyoke and there he 
obtained his education, finishing with 
graduation from the high school. His 
earliest business experiences were as 
bookkeeper for Deacon Edwin Chase, 
who was then conducting an extensive 
lumber business, and with E. J. Pomeroy, 
a grocer. He had just attained man's 
estate when the alarms of war awoke the 
nation, and with all the ardor of youth 
and newly acquired responsibilities as a 
citizen he embraced the Union cause. He 
enlisted in 1861 in the Forty-sixth Regi- 
ment, Massachusetts Volunteers, going 



to the front as sergeant of his company, 
serving the full jjeriod for which he had 
enlisted, nine months, returning with a 
second lieutenant's commission won bj 
gallantry in action and devotion to a 
soldier's duty. He saw actual warfare 
with his regiment at Newbern and Golds- 
boro, bore well his part, receiving at the 
end of his term an honorable discharge. 
He again enlisted not long after his first 
term expired, going to the front a second 
time as paymaster's clerk, serving under 
Colonel W. B. C. Pearsons, remaining 
wuth the army until the final surrender at 
Appomattox. 

After the war closed and until 1872 the 
young veteran was variously engaged, be- 
coming interested also in journalism, his 
connection with the Holyoke "Transcript'' 
beginning in 1872, when he became joint 
owner of that journal with E. L. Kirt- 
land. The "Transcript" was then a week- 
ly newspaper and under the partners' 
mangement vastly increased its reputa- 
tion and circulation. About 1875 Mr. 
Loomis purchased his partner's interest 
and until 1882 edited and published the 
paper alone. He gave it a more distinct 
and wider sphere of influence, changed it 
to a semi-weekly, and so impressed his 
individuality upon the times by his whole- 
some and forceful editorial writings that 
the "Transcript" became the leading 
newspaper of Holyoke. In 1882 he took 
the first step toward carrying out a long 
cherished ambition ; admitted William G. 
Dwight as a partner and in October, 1882, 
the first issue of "The Daily Transcript" 
appeared. As a daily the "Transcript" 
greatly widened its influence and use- 
fulness, the partners continuing its suc- 
cessful publication until 1887, when Mr. 
Loomis retired, Mr. Dwight becoming 
sole owner of the paper, which under his 
editorship still continues its useful career. 
Those fifteen years spent in journalism 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



were years of great development ami 
mental expansion for Mr. Loomis, his 
editorial position requiring that he hold 
broad and enlightened views, that he 
might clearly and sanely guide those who 
look to the "Transcript" as their source 
of enlightenment. He did not make the 
"Transcript'' a personal organ, but dis- 
cussed in its columns public questions, 
local. State and national, from a patriotic 
standpoint, and advanced only well con- 
sidered opinions. He was an exceedingly 
forceful editorial writer, presenting his 
views in a clear and interesting manner. 
With his withdrawal from the "Tran- 
script,'' his official connection with jour- 
nalism ceased. 

After leaving the "Transcript" in 1887. 
I\Ir. Loomis entered upon his career as a 
traction magnate, although that distinc- 
tion was not of his own seeking origi- 
nally. In pursuit of business plans he 
had purchased a tract of farm land adja- 
cent to Holyoke, which it was his inten- 
tion to improve and eventually add to the 
city's area. This land was located at 
Elmwood in a fine farming section, but 
not available for suburban residences un- 
less rapid transit between Elmwood and 
Holyoke could be secured. Mr. Loomis, 
after acquiring the property, approached 
the Holyoke Street Railway Company 
with the proposition that they extend 
their tracks to F.lmwood, a proposition 
which was ]jr(jm])tly and decisively nega- 
tived. 

As the success of his undertaking de- 
pended upon the establishing of a transit 
system, Mr. Loomis obtained through, 
purchase of stock in the company and 
through the cooperation of friends, a con- 
trolling interest in the company. The 
road was then operated by horse power 
and was limited in its extent in compari- 
son with the extensive electric system as 
in now exists. Immediately upon secur- 



ing control of the company, Mr. Loomis 
began the extension to Elmwood and at 
the same time laid out his tract of land as 
a residence section. The road was com- 
pleted, and with the running of the cars 
regularly residences began to be erected 
and the development of Elmwood was 
fairly inaugurated. When electricity 
made its appearance as a propelling 
power in street transportation, Mr. 
Loomis w^as one of the pioneers in its 
adoption and soon the city lines and the 
Elmwood extension were operating under 
electric power. With rapid transit as- 
sured the Elmwood section rapidly in- 
creased in popularity and has continued 
one of the choice residential locations of 
the city of Holyoke, a result wholly at- 
tributable to the energy and enterprise 
of William S. Loomis and the men who 
were influenced by his public spirit and 
initiative. 

E)ut the Elmwood extension was only 
one advantage of his connection with 
Holyoke's traction system. He built and 
operated the railway to Mount Tom, the 
result being to make that spot of such 
great natural beauty accessible to the 
thousands of visitors who annually seek 
that locality on health and pleasure bent, 
and to advance the permanent develop- 
ment of a large section. The city and 
suburban lines of the company were kept 
fully modernized as invention followed 
invention, Mr. Loomis continuing presi- 
dent and general manager until January, 
1912, when he resigned and was suc- 
ceeded by Louis D. PelHsser. He was 
also a director of the Northampton Street 
Railway Company, president of the Ess- 
leek Paper Company of Turner's Falls 
and vice-president of the Holyoke Sav- 
ings P)ank. 

The development of the "Transcript" 
from an obscure weekly to a daily, the 
development of a horse railway to a great 



8 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



electric traction system, would constitute 
an enduring claim to be gratefully re- 
membered as one of the greatest of Hol- 
yoke's benefactors, but Mr. Loomis has 
other claims to such remembrance. His 
was the principal aid given in establish- 
ing a library in the city in IMay, 1870, and 
later he inaugurated the movement for a 
new and appropriate library building, his 
tireless energy, determination and gener- 
osity resulting in the securing of the pres- 
ent fine building. He ever maintained 
official connection with the library, serv- 
ing as auditor, member of the executive 
committee and chairman of the board 
of trustees. He was mainly instrumental 
in the purchase and beautifying of For- 
estdale Cemetery, and for many years 
was president of the association in charge 
of its development. The H^ome for Aged 
People was an institution very near his 
heart and to its interests he was always 
devoted. As vice-president of the Ho- 
lyoke Savings Bank, he was a tower of 
strength to that institution and to his in- 
fluence many men can trace their first 
use of the bank for the accumulation of 
savings. 

In the fraternal and social organiza- 
tions of his city, Mr. Loomis took a deep 
interest. He held all degrees of York 
Rite Masonry, belonging to Blue Lodge, 
Capitular, Cryptic and Templar bodies, 
also holding all degrees of the Scottish 
Rite, in the Lodge of Perfection, Chapter 
of Rose Croix, Council of Princes of Jeru- 
salem, and Consistory of Princes of the 
Royal Secret, the thirty-third being the 
only degree of American Free Masonry 
he did not possess. He was a member of 
the Military Order of the Loyal Legion 
of the United States, an order composed 
originally of officers of the Union army, 
serving in the Civil \Ya.r. He took great 
pride in his membership in that order 



and was the only man in Holyoke to wear 
the Loyal Legion emblem. He was past 
commander of Kilpatrick Post, Grand 
Army of the Republic, and ever took a 
warm interest in the old veterans and 
their official organization. His clubs were 
the Pequot, Golf and Canoe, all of Hol- 
yoke ; the Color Club, composed of vet- 
eran soldiers, and the Franklin Harvest 
Club. 

Mr'. Loomis married (first) Augusta 
R. W^eston, who died February 4. 1908. 
Their only child, a daughter, born 1870, 
died 1877. Mr. Loomis married (second) 
March 7, 191 1, Harriet Clark, born at 
West Springfield, ^Massachusetts, daugh- 
ter of John F. Clark, a paper manufac- 
turer of Dalton, Massachusetts, the town 
of his birth and death. Mr. Clark 
married Anna Lansing, of the promi- 
nent Lansing family of Albany county, 
Xew York, born in Troy, New York, died 
in Holyoke, IMassachusetts. 'Sir. and Mrs. 
Clark were the parents of three children : 
Herbert S. Clark, of Holyoke, and Mrs. 
Harriet Loomis, widow of William S. 
Loomis ; the third deceased. 

Seventy-four years was the span of life 
allotted William S. Loomis, and during 
their continuance there were no wasted 
opportunities. Usefulness marked its 
every phase and everywhere in Holyoke 
are monuments to his memory. He loved 
his home city and he loved his native 
land. He traveled widely within her 
borders and was familiar with her scenic 
wonders. He loved her history and her 
traditions, fought as a young man to 
maintain them and in maturer years used 
his talents and his strength to add to 
their glory. His life is an inspiration, its 
lesson, the old old lesson of intelligent 
industry backed by worthy ambition and 
upright character. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



RAMAGE, James, 

Manufacturer. 

Scotland has furnished to the United 
States many of her valued citizens, men 
who have crossed the Atlantic to ally 
their interests with those of the "land of 
the free." Adapting themselves to en- 
tirely new surroundings, customs and 
manners, they have achieved success and 
won a place for themselves among the 
representative men of the communities 
in which their lots have been cast. Such 
is true of the late James Ramage, who 
was for many years prominently identi- 
fied with the interests of Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts. 

(I) John Ramage, the first member of 
the line herein followed of whom we have 
mention, was born in the year 1 731, and 
was a witness of the execution of Wilson, 
the smuggler, in Edinburgh, Scotland, 
which is mentioned in Sir Walter Scott's 
"The Heart of Midlothian." He married 
and of the children born to him was Wil- 
liam, of whom further. 

(II) William Ramage, son of John 
Ramage, was born in Scotland, in the 
year 1751, and his death occurred at Val- 
leyfield, Scotland, in the year 1832, he 
having survived his wife, Helen (Ber- 
tran) Ramage, twelve years, she passing 
away at Valleyfield in the year 1820. 

(III) William (2) Ramage, son of Wil- 
liam (i) and Helen (Bertran) Ramage, 
was born in Scotland, March 10, 1778, and 
died at Lowmill, Penicuick parish, Scot- 
land, January 23, 1864. He married, De- 
cember 26, 1800, Helen Hill, born No- 
vember 10, 1778, died at Lowmill, Octo- 
ber 4, 1856, the ceremony being per- 
formed by Mr. McEwan, of Howgate. 
Children: i. James, of whom further. 2. 
Janet, born January 26, 1803. 3. Helen, 
born October 18, 1806. 4. John, born 
February 9, 1809, died January 7, 181 1. 



5. Margaret, born December 28, 1810, 
married Andrew Warden. 6. A son, born 
and died same day, in July, 1812. 7. 
Robert, born July 13, 1814. 8. William, 
born October 11, 1816. 9. A son, born and 
died same day, June 2}^, 1820. 

(IV) James Ramage, eldest son of 
William (2) and Helen (Hill) Ramage, 
was born in Penicuick, Scotland, Decem- 
ber 4, 1801. In 1816, after completing his 
education in the schools of his district, 
he was apprenticed to a Mr. McGowan, 
to learn the trade of paper-making, his 
father having also served his apprentice- 
ship at the same trade under the same 
master. He followed this trade all his 
life, and died at an advanced age in his 
native town. He married, in 1825, Chris- 
tine Hunter, who bore him ten children : 
Margaret, Helen, Katherine, John, Adam. 
William, James, Robert, Joseph, and a 
child who died in infancy. 

(V) James (2) Ramage, fourth son of 
James (i) and Christine (Hunter) Ram- 
age, was born in Penicuick, Scotland, 
July 15, 1836. He attended the schools 
of his district, and after completing his 
course of study served an apprenticeship 
at the trade of paper-making, becoming 
thoroughly expert in that line, and later 
was appointed superintendent of a mill 
in Yorkshire, England. He emigrated to 
this country in the year 1863, at the age 
of twenty-seven years. He went first to 
Buckland, Connecticut, where he re- 
mained a year, and in 1865 went to Pater- 
son, New Jersey, with his brother, John 
Ramage, and assumed charge of the Ivan- 
hoe Mills in that city. He continued his 
residence there until January i, 1867, 
when he removed to Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, and later accepted the position of 
superintendent of the Franklin Paper 
Company of Holyoke, and in 1872, five 
years later, in company with Moses New- 
ton, he established the Newton Paper 



10 




yQi^6c^cx^^--'^ ^. 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Company, of which he was vice-president. 
In 1884 he was elected president of the 
Chemical Paper Company, of Holyoke, 
of which he was formerly the general 
manager, but resigned the office of presi- 
dent in 1887. He then went to Monroe 
Bridge and there erected the mills which 
bore his name, The Ramage Paper Com-- 
pany, which proved a successful under- 
taking and continued in operation until 
sold by Mrs. Ramage in 1914. In 1892 
Mr. Ramage purchased the stock of the 
Franklin Paper Company of Holyoke, 
and operated all these plants up to the 
time of his death. He was also interested 
in other channels of activity, having been 
one of the incorporators of the Home Na- 
tional Bank in 1884, the People's Savings 
Bank in 1885, and was a member of the 
board of directors of the former named, 
and a member of the board of trustees of 
the latter named, and he was also a mem- 
ber of the State Legislature in 1891, in 
which body he rendered valuable service. 
He was a member of the Unitarian 
church ; Mount Tom Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Holyoke Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Bay State Club, of which 
he was president, and the Pequot Club. 
He was a Democrat in politics. 

Mr. Ramage married, November 23, 
1864. Adelaide Emogene Risley, born in 
Manchester, Connecticut. January 4, 
1846, daughter of Martin and Eliza ]\Iay 
(Skinner) Risley, the former named born 
in Coventry, Connecticut, and the latter 
named born in East Windsor Hill. Con- 
necticut. Mrs. Ramage is a direct de- 
scendant of Elder Brewster of the "May- 
flower" and is eligible to the Society of 
Mayflower Descendants. Mr. Risley 
spent his early years in his native town, 
followed the occupation of farming, and 
later moved to Somers, Connecticut, 
where he died at the age of eighty-four 
years, the death of his wife occurring at 



the age of sixty-six years. Mr. and Mrs. 
Risley were the parents of five children, 
namely: Mary J., deceased; Eliza M. ; 
Winifred H. ; Adelaide Emogene, afore- 
mentioned ; Emeline G. Mrs. Ramage is 
a member of a family noted for longevity, 
her grandfather attaining the age of nine- 
ty-two years, and her grandmother ninety 
years. She herself has passed the allotted 
age of three score years and ten, but is as 
keenly alive to affairs of the day and as 
active, both mentally and physically, as the 
majority of people twenty years her junior. 
For many years it was the custom of Mr. 
and Mrs. Ramage to annually take an 
extensive trip either in the United States, 
Mexico, South America or Europe, visit- 
ing the principal places of interest, and 
Mrs. Ramage is well posted on the his- 
tory of all these various countries. Chil- 
dren of Mr. and Mrs. Ramage: i. Charles 
W., born December 11, 1865; married 
Edith Bartlett. 2. James M., born Feb- 
ruary 13. 1869: president and treasurer 
of the Franklin Paper Company : married 
Marguerite Belle Dorr, daughter of 
Charles W. Dorr, who died April 13. 1915. 
and they are the parents of three children : 
Marjorie Dorr, born October 20, 1900, 
died April 10, 1905 : Doris Marguerite, 
born May 20. 1905 ; May Risley. born 
April 17. 1909. 3. Adelaide C. born De- 
cember 18. 1872: became the wife of 
Archibald Ramage. 4. Edith M.. born 
November 2. 1878: became the wife of 
Lawson Ramage. 5. Robert A., born May 
5. 1879: secretary and treasurer of the 
Franklin Paper Company. 6. Theodore 
R., born March 15. 1884; bookkeeper for 
the Franklin Paper Company ; resides in 
Springfield. 7. Marian M., born Septem- 
ber 14. 1885 ; became the wife of George 
Watson. 8. Grace Brewster, born June 
4, 1887. married Edson R. Lyman. 

Mr. Ramage died at his late home in 
Holyoke, December 9, 1902, and by his 



II 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



death there passed from that city one of 
the sturdy Scots whose rugged individual- 
ity, sterling integrity, inflexible honesty, 
as well as more than ordinary ability, won 
distinction and prominence. Starting 
from the bottom of the ladder, with the 
assistance and encouragment of his wife, 
who ever studied his interest, encouraged 
his efforts and was his constant compan- 
ion for nearly forty years up to his death, 
he steadily climbed upward to a com- 
manding place in the world of business 
and finance, drawing about him a circle 
of friends which was ever widening and 
who admired him for his determination. 
His influence, not only in the business but 
in the social world, constantly grew 
stronger until at the time of his death no 
man in Holyoke, if indeed in the State of 
Massachusetts, had more thoroughly 
demonstrated that by strict application of 
one's best energies it is possible to accom- 
plish great things, than James Ramage. 
His one thought was to leave his family 
well provided for and he amassed a com- 
petence sufificient for this purpose. His 
loss, although most keenly felt by his 
widow and children, was a distinct one to 
the entire community in which he stood 
for so much. His career is indeed worthy 
of commendation and should serve as an 
example to young men who are ambitious 
and desire to succeed in the business 
world. 

The engraving which accompanies this 
article has been placed here by Mrs. Ade- 
laide E. Ramage, in loving memory of 
her husband's many beautiful qualities, 
and will, we feel, be a source of pleasure 
not only to all members of his family, but 
to his hosts of friends of this locality. 



MACKINTOSH, Col. John G., 

Financier. Enterprising Citizen. 

The family of which Colonel John 
George Mackintosh was an honored rep- 



resentative was of Scotch extraction, its 
members inheriting in marked degree the 
characteristics of that thrifty race, these 
attributes being clearly defined in the 
career of the late Colonel Mackintosh, 
who at all times was faithful to the trusts 
reposed in him. fully met every obliga- 
tion, conscientiously discharged the 
duties of director of a number of enter- 
prises, and retained the confidence and 
respect of his fellowmen by an upright 
life. 

Colonel John George Mackintosh was 
born in Tariffville, Connecticut, August 
I, 1845, son of Donald Mackintosh, a 
native of Paisley, near Edinburgh. Scot- 
land, from which country he removed to 
England, thence to the United States, in 
1843. locating first at Tariflfville. Connec- 
ticut, and in 1854, accompanied by his 
family, removed to Holyoke. Massachu- 
setts, where he rented a mill, which he 
operated until 1871, when he purchased 
the Hampden Mills and formed the part- 
nership of D. Mackintosh & Sons, the 
company comprising Donald. John 
George and Charles E. IMackintosh, being 
incorporated in 1888. The business was 
a successful undertaking, the partners all 
men of ability, enterprise and judgment, 
and they gave employment to a large 
number of persons. Donald Mackintosh 
and his wife were the parents of three 
children, the two sons above mentioned 
and a daughter, Henrietta P. Donald 
Mackintosh died September 30, 1902. 

Colonel John George Mackintosh was 
eleven years of age when he accompanied 
his father to Holyoke. and he continued 
his studies in the public schools of that 
city. His first position in business life 
was in the office of the Hampden Mills, 
conducted by his father, where he re- 
mained for some time. He then became 
clerk for Ezra Flagg, who was the pro- 
prietor of a drug store, and also acted as 



12 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



telegraph operator and received many of 
the important messages connected with 
the Civil War as well as numerous gov- 
ernment messages. Later he accepted a 
clerkship in the drug store conducted by 
R. P. Luddington, after which he accepted 
a position as bookkeeper for the Ames- 
bury Woolen Mills, which were suc- 
ceeded by the Germania Mills, for which 
concern he became salesman, then treas- 
urer, and later was made manager of the 
New York ofifice. For a number of years 
he was associated with his father and 
brother in the management of the Hamp- 
den Mills, of which he was later the 
president, his term of service being noted 
for efficiency and capability. He was also 
connected with the Woronoco Paper 
Company at one time and owned a con- 
trolling interest in that concern. In 1876, 
in company with his brother, Charles E. 
Mackintosh, and Thomas N. Shepard, of 
Northampton, he established the banking 
house of J. G. Mackintosh & Company, 
which later became the Manufacturers' 
Trust Company, one of the conservative 
and sound monied institutions of that sec- 
tion. A disastrous fire destroyed their 
offices which were located on Dwight 
street, Holyoke, and the business was 
liquidated. Mr. Mackintosh then organ- 
ized the Springfield Safe Deposit & Trust 
Company, to which he gave his undivided 
attention, and was made president of the 
concern at the time of its organization, 
serving in that capacity constantly until 
his resignation, January i, 1914, at which 
time the office of chairman of the board 
of directors was created and he was 
elected to fill that important position. 
This was, perhaps, the organization in 
which he took the greatest interest and 
to which he gave liberally of his time and 
energy. Starting from a small beginning, 
under his guiding hand and careful judg- 
ment it finally attained a place where it 



stood prominently forth as one of the 
leading banking institutions in Western 
Massachusetts. When it was finally de- 
cided, on account of more room being 
needed, to erect a building in order to 
accommodate its steadily increasing busi- 
ness, he devoted considerable thought to 
its construction and it stands to-day as a 
grand monument to his memory. His 
incumbency of the office of president ex- 
tended over the disastrous years of panics 
in which so many financial institutions 
were swept away, but his foresight, dis- 
cernment, and mature judgment enabled 
him to avoid the rocks which caused the 
wreck of other institutions, and continued 
to place it each year upon a firmer founda- 
tion and with a steadily increasing pa- 
tronage. 

Mr. Mackintosh was also a member of 
the first board of directors of the Holyoke 
National Bank, organized in 1872, and 
was actively identified with many other 
industries, serving as director of the Nor- 
thampton Street Railway, Holyoke Street 
Railway, Greenfield Electric Light & 
Power Company. In each and all of the 
above, together with many other similar 
companies, his was largely the directing 
hand. He was an authority in financial 
matters, his advice and counsel being 
sought and followed by many of his asso- 
ciates, and being of a bold and enterpris- 
ing nature he conceived and executed 
projects with the rapidity of lightning, 
and while other men were thinking over 
the means of carrying out certain enter- 
prises, he had the undertaking far ad- 
vanced toward completion. A glance at 
the above will show how thoroughly Mr. 
Mackintosh's time must have been em- 
ployed, yet he never for a moment lost 
his interest in Holyoke or its needs and 
was ever ready to contribute of his time 
or money to anything which w^ould be of 
benefit to its people. He was one of the 



13 



EXCVCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



directors of the Holyoke City Hospital 
and Holyoke Public Library, in both of 
which he took an active part and interest. 
He was also one of the members of the 
School Board for many years. In 1887 he 
accepted an appointment on the staff of 
Governor Oliver Ames as assistant quar- 
termaster general, with the rank of colo- 
nel. He was a member of the Episcopal 
church, but was a regular attendant of 
the Second Congregational Church of 
Holyoke. He was a member of Mt. Tom 
Golf Club and Holyoke Canoe Club, de- 
riving considerable pleasure from out- 
door sports, and was also a member of the 
Lawyers' Club of New York, the Algon- 
quin Club of Boston and the Nyasset 
Club of Springfield. 

Mr. Mackintosh married, June 15, 1869, 
Alice Emerson, born in Chicopee, Massa- 
chusetts, April 7, 1846, daughter of John 
D. and Harriett Newell (Edgerly) Emer- 
son. John D. Emerson held a responsible 
position with the Dwight Mills at Chico- 
pee at the time of her birth, but after a 
few years the family went to Gilmanton, 
the old home of Mrs. Emerson. In 1852 
the family moved to Holyoke where Mr. 
Emerson was appointed overseer for the 
Lyman Mills which had just been built, 
and of which he was later made superin- 
tendent. He spent his entire after life in 
this position, his death occurring in the 
year 1871. Mrs. Emerson died November 
16, 1915. Alice, who was their only child, 
received her education in the Holyoke 
public schools and was a member of the 
first class to graduate from the Holyoke 
High School, in the year 1865. She was 
a woman born and taught to the good 
old-fashioned standards of home-making 
and housekeeping. She was also a re- 
markably accomplished musician, played 
the piano in a wonderful manner, also the 
organ, and before her marriage she served 
in the capacity of organist in the old Sec- 



ond Congregational Church which stood 
where the Marble Hall Hotel is at pres- 
ent. When the Rev. Dr. Trask first came 
to Holyoke to preach before being ap- 
pointed to his pastorate the first person 
he saw at the morning service was Miss 
Alice Emerson at the organ. Rev. Dr, 
Trask often spoke of this after becoming 
pastor of the Second Church and there 
always existed a warm personal friend- 
ship between Mrs. Mackintosh and Dr. 
Trask. He was the clergyman who per- 
formed the marriage ceremony of Mr. 
Mackintosh and Miss Emerson, assisted 
by the Rev. Dr. Peet of the Episcopal 
church. Mrs. Mackintosh's great love for 
music was one of her chief characteristics 
and she never failed if possible to attend 
any musical event of note which was 
given in her vicinity. She preferred only 
the highest standard of classical music 
and was familiar with the works of the 
world's greatest composers. She was also 
a very well read woman and, as in her 
music, her tastes ran only to the best in 
literature. She was blessed with a beau- 
tiful disposition, was most unselfish, con- 
tinually doing some kindness for those 
about her and during her entire life inter- 
ested in many benevolences, having been 
an active factor in the welfare of the 
Holyoke City Hospital, and was a direc- 
tor in the Hospital Aid Association from 
the time the hospital was built. She was 
an active and devoted member of the Sec- 
ond Congregational Church, and a mem- 
ber of the Friday Club. In her younger 
days Mrs. Mackintosh entertained on a 
large scale and was one of the most active 
social leaders of the city of Holyoke. Her 
hospitality was delightful and was greatly 
enjoyed by their wide circle of friends. 
Her family life was an unusually happy 
one for above all Mrs. Mackintosh was 
devoted to her husband, daughter and 
mother. The death of Colonel Mackin- 



14 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tosh, which occurred at his late home in 
Holyoke, May 23, 1915, was a severe 
blow to her, and another sorrow came to 
her in the following November with the 
death of her mother. Mrs. Mackintosh 
bore both these bereavements in the brave 
way that only a strong and forceful char- 
acter like hers could. The death of Mrs. 
Mackintosh, which occurred April 26, 
1916, was a severe blow to her daughter, 
Alice Emerson (Mackintosh) Woods, 
wife of Dr. Frank A. Woods, the well 
known physician of Holyoke. 

To a natural dignity of manner. Colo- 
nel Mackintosh added a geniality that 
won him hosts of friends and made him 
welcome everywhere. He was hospitable, 
charitable, generous, with a ready sym- 
pathy for those in affliction or need. A 
keynote to his success in his many under- 
takings was his executive force and mast- 
ery of detail in whatever engaged his at- 
tention. Mrs. Mackintosh was one of 
those genial women who always see only 
the brightest and happiest side of life and 
this quality won for her the respect and 
admiration of her large circle of friends, 
and everyone realized that with her 
death a whole and worthy chapter in the 
life of Holyoke closed. 



WOODS, Frank A., M. D., 

Prominent Physician of Holyoke. 

Among the physicians of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, who, by careful study and 
observation coupled with long practical 
experience, have placed themselves at the 
head of the medical profession of that 
city, should be mentioned Dr. Frank A. 
Woods, who for nearly two decades has 
served upon the Board of Health of that 
city, and in 1916 was appointed by Gov- 
ernor McCall medical examiner for the 
Holyoke district. 

(I) He represents an old and honored 



famil}-, he being in the eighth American 
generation of the Woods family which 
was resident in Watertown, Massachu- 
setts, in 1653. Samuel Woods, the first 
ancestor of the family, was born in Eng- 
land, in 1636, later came to this country, 
locating at first in Watertown, Massa- 
chusetts, from whence he removed to 
Cambridge, same State, and there mar- 
ried, September 28, 1659, Alice Rushton. 
In 1662 he was one of the original pro- 
prietors of Groton, Massachusetts, and 
there lived until the town was destroyed 
during King Philip's War, after which 
he returned to Watertown. In 1677 he 
signed the agreement made at Concord 
to resettle Groton, and in 1678 returned 
to that town, where he died early in the 
year 1718. His wife, who was born in the 
same year as her husband, died April 17, 
1712. 

(II) Nathaniel Woods, third son of 
Sam.uel and Alice (Rushton) Woods, was 
born at Groton, Massachusetts, March 25. 
1667, and there died, June 20, 1738. He 
had four wives, the line of descent being 
through Isaac, a son of the first wife, 
Eleanor Woods. 

(III) Lieutenant Isaac Woods, son of 
Nathaniel and Eleanor Woods, was born 
at Groton. Massachusetts, February 20, 
1699, and died there, March 31, 1775. He 
married, September 21. 1725, Abigail 
Stevens, born at Chelmsford, Massachu- 
setts. August 13, 1702, died at Groton, 
Massachusetts, December 24, 1781, 
daughter of John and Sarah (Snow) 
Stevens. 

(IV) Nehemiah Woods, fourth son of 
Lieutenant Isaac and Abigail (Stevens) 
Woods, was born at Groton, Massachu- 
setts, December 6. 1731. and died in 1815. 
He was a soldier of the Revolution, 
fought at Bennington with General 
Starke, at Ticonderoga with Colonel 
Ethan Allen, was a member of the Com- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mittee of Safety at Hollis, New Hamp- 
shire, his place of residence, and is en- 
tered in the Hollis records as Lieutenant 
Woods. He married . 

(V) Uriah Woods, son of Nehemiah 
Woods, was born in Hollis, New Hamp- 
shire. He was a farmer by occupation. 
He removed to Maine, and later to New 
York State, and was honored and re- 
spected by all who knew him. He mar- 
ried . 

(VI) Dr. Jarvis U. Woods, son of 
Uriah Woods, was born in Augusta, 
Maine, October 23, 1842, and died in New 
Haven, Connecticut, April, 1906. His 
early life was spent in Augusta, where he 
prepared for college and graduated from 
the Augusta High School. He then com- 
pleted a course at Waterville College 
(now Colburn). After leaving college he 
was anxious to enlist in the Union army 
but his father's opposition prevented him 
from so doing. He then received an ap- 
pointment as clerk in the commissary de- 
partment at Washington, D. C, there 
continuing until the summer of 1865, be- 
ing in that city at the time President Lin- 
coln was shot. He then returned to 
Maine and began the study of medicine at 
Waterville under the preceptorship of the 
eminent physician and surgeon. Dr. Bell, 
who later located in Boston, Massachu- 
setts. After a period of study under Dr. 
Bell, Dr. Woods entered Hahnemann 
Medical Institute at Philadelphia, from 
which he graduated with the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine in the class of 1868, 
valedictorian of his class. The death of 
his father the day preceding commence- 
ment exercises prevented Dr. Woods 
from delivering the valedictory address, 
but the honor was his. After obtaining 
his degree. Dr. Woods located in Nashua, 
New Hampshire, practiced there a short 
time, then located in Medford, Massachu- 
setts, where he continued in active prac- 



tice until the year 1869 when he came to 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, and there prac- 
ticed his profession most successfully for 
over a quarter of a century. He then 
yielded to the urgent demands made that 
he come to New Haven, Connecticut, and 
in 1895 he located in that city, where he 
practiced until his death, eleven years 
later. Dr. Woods was a man highly re- 
garded in both cities as a learned and 
skillful physician, as a citizen and a 
friend. He was a member of the medical 
stafif of Grace Hospital, member of the 
New Haven County Medical Society, the 
Homeopathic Medical Society of Hamp- 
den County, the Massachusetts Homeo- 
pathic Medical Society, the American 
Medical Association, of Mt. Tom Lodge, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of 
which he was past master, the Royal Ar- 
canum, and Delta Kappa Epsilon frater- 
nity. 

Dr. Woods married, May 3, 1870, Mary 
A. Howes, the ceremony being performed 
in the house in which the bride's mother 
was born at Shelburne, Massachusetts. 
She was a daughter of Seth Clapp Howes, 
a hatter, who died at Watervliet, Maine, 
in 1861, aged forty-nine years. He was 
born in Derry, New Hampshire, where 
his ancestors had resided for many years. 
He married Lucy Kendall, daughter of 
Timothy Kendall, of a Shelburne pioneer 
family. She died at the home of her 
daughter, Mrs. Dr. Jarvis U. Woods, in 
New Haven, in 1908, at the advanced age 
of ninety-four years. But two of her chil- 
dren survive her: Mrs. Dr. Woods and 
'J'homas F. Howes, of Cambridge. Dr. 
Jarvis U. and Mary A. (Howes) Woods 
were the parents of three children, two of 
whom with their mother survived the 
father: Dr. Frank A. Woods, of whom 
further, and Alice May, who resides 
with her mother. Miss Woods has taken 
a vast amount of interest in genealogical 



16 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



matters and has traced several lines con- 
nected with her family back to the first 
ancestor in this country. 

(VII) Dr. Frank A. Woods, son of Dr. 
Jarvis U. and Mary A. (Howes) Woods, 
was born in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
July 12, 1871. He received his education 
in the graded schools of his native city 
and graduated from the high school. He 
then began the study of medicine with his 
honored father, and later entered Hahne- 
mann Medical College, Philadelphia, 
graduating from this institution in the 
class of 1893, receiving his degree of Doc- 
tor of Medicine. He spent the year 1893- 
94 in dispensary practice in Philadelphia^ 
and in special medical and surgical stuf' 
ies and practiced abroad, then returned to 
Holyoke and began practice in associ- 
ation with his father. In 1895 Dr. Woods, 
Sr., moved to New Haven, Connecticr 
Dr. Woods, Jr., succeeding him, and he 
has since been continuously in practice 
in his native city, the combined service 
of father and son now approaching the 
half century mark. To the experience of 
his private practice, always a large one, 
Dr. Woods has added frequent courses 
of study in the hospitals of Paris, Lon- 
don and Berlin and the University of 
Geneva, Switzerland, keeping abreast of 
all medical discovery and invention, 
either curative or preventive. 

Dr. Woods has served his native city 
with unusual devotion and ability as a 
member of the Board of Health for almost 
two decades, having been first appointed 
in 1897 by Dr. George H. Smith, the then 
mayor of Holyoke. He was reappointed 
by Mayors Chapin and Avery at the ex- 
piration of each term, and after one years' 
absence from the board was again ap- 
pointed in 1914 by Mayor Woods and is 
the present chairman of the board. For 
seventeen years he served as associate 
medical examiner, receiving his first ap- 
Mass— 6— 2 1 7 



pointment from Governor Wolcott and 
reappointments from Governors Douglas 
and Foss. On February i, 1916, Gov- 
ernor McCall announced to the executive 
council the appointment of Dr. Frank A. 
Woods as medical examiner for the Hol- 
yoke district, a recognition of long service 
and conscientious performance of duty 
that met with universal approval in 
Holyoke. Shortly after this appointment 
he was elected president of the State As- 
sociation of Health Boards at their meet- 
ing in Boston, succeeding Dr. Milton 
Roseneau, of Harvard University. This 
is an unusual honor for it is the first in- 
stance of the ofHce having been conferred 
on any physician outside of Boston. It 
is merited recognition of Dr. Woods' in- 
tense interest in the subject of public 
health and of his reputation as one of the 
best informed men in the State on health 
board work. But it is not only as a phy- 
sician but as a man that Dr. Woods has 
achieved his popularity in the city of 
Holyoke. His kindness and courtesy are 
two of his most prominent characteristics 
which have endeared him to his almost 
limitless circle of friends and acquaint- 
ances. 

Dr. Woods is a member of the Amer- 
ican Public Health Association, and ac- 
tive in its propaganda ; the Holyoke Med- 
ical Association, Springfield Academy of 
Medicine, Massachusetts State Homeo- 
pathic Society, Hahnemann Homeopathic 
Association, the American Medical Asso- 
ciation, and numerous other professional 
societies. He is a member of the Masonic 
order, belonging to the Blue Lodge, 
Royal Arch Chapter, Council, Command- 
ery of Knights Templar, also of the 
Shrine, and is a member of the Knights 
of Pythias. He is a devotee of out-of- 
door recreation, particularly golf, and 
holds membership in several social and 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



country clubs including- the Holyoke and 
Canoe. 

Dr. Woods married, June I, 191 1, Alice 
Emerson Mackintosh, born in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, August i, 1871, the only 
child of the late Colonel John G. and 
Alice (Emerson) Mackintosh, the former 
named of whom died May 23, 1915, and 
the latter named April 26, 1916. As a 
girl Mrs. Woods attended the public 
schools of Holyoke and was graduated 
from the high school in 1890. She then 
studied music under W. C. Hammond, 
and later spent considerable time travel- 
ing in this country and in Europe, usually 
with her father, the kinship between the 
two being sympathetic far beyond the 
average bond between parents and chil- 
dren. Mrs. Woods was devoted to her 
home circle, this devotion commanding 
the admiration of her wide circle of 
friends. During the illness of her father, 
mother, maternal grandmother, Mrs. Har- 
riet Emerson, she was devoted in her at- 
tentions to them, their deaths and hers 
occurring in the space of a year and a 
half. Thus, with intervals of six months, 
these sad chapters removed the several 
members that made the Mackintosh fam- 
ily one of the leading ones in Holyoke. 
Mrs. Woods was a member of the Second 
Congregational Church from her girlhood 
and had been a teacher in the Sunday 
school until the illness of her father. She 
had for years been a worker in the Young 
Women's Christian Association and was 
one of the directors of that organization. 
Her club was the Westminster, which 
was formed by the group of young women 
who grew up in Holyoke together. It 
followed that she was a prominent factor 
in the social life of Holyoke, and prior to 
her marriage to Dr. Woods she was the 
center of considerable entertaining in her 
Elm street home. Mrs. Woods brought 
to her friendships a large degree of the 



same quality that made her family life one 
of devotion, and there was deep sorrow 
among a wide circle over her untimely 
death which occurred October 27, 1916. 
During her illness Mrs. Woods had the 
devoted care of her husband who gave up 
his large and responsible practice and 
yielded his duties as a member of the 
State Board of Health and as chairman 
of the Holyoke Board of Health in order 
that his wife could have the devoted care 
that she herself had given so freely. 



CELCE, Frederick Ferdinand, 

Physician, Surgeon. 

The infusion of European blood into 
New England life has tended to increase 
both its physical and mental force. The 
career of Dr. Celce in Holyoke has been 
one calculated to confer credit upon him- 
self and benefit to the community at large. 
In the practice of his profession he has 
been ably seconded by his talented wife, 
who is fully as competent as himself in 
medical labors. His father, Frederick 
Celce, was born in the Rhine province of 
Germany, where he was reared and edu- 
cated, and came to the United States on 
attaining his majority. In his native land 
he had served an apprenticeship at the 
cutlery business, and after coming to 
New York took a position with the Sey- 
mour Cutlery Company, with which he 
continued, and later removed with this 
concern to Holyoke in 1877. Here he was 
made superintendent of the factory, and 
this position he continued to hold until 
his retirement in 1894. He has been ac- 
tive in the social life of the community, 
especially in Masonic affairs, having 
passed through all York Rite bodies, be- 
ing a member of the Blue Lodge ; Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons ; Council, Royal 
and Select Masters ; Commandery, 
Knights Templar; and Ancient Arabic 



18 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He 
married Rose Meyer, who like himself 
was a native of Germany, and the only 
child born to them is the subject of this 
sketch. 

Dr. Frederick Ferdinand Celce, only 
child of Frederick and Rose (Meyer) 
Celce, was born September 24, 1867, in the 
Rhine province of Germany, and was sev- 
enteen years of age when he came to 
America. He received an excellent educa- 
tion under the magnificent German sys- 
tem, attending the public and high schools. 
Shortly after coming to the United States, 
Dr. Celce entered the University of Penn- 
sylvania, from which he was graduated 
with the degree of Doctor of Medicine in 
1893. Desiring to make further prepara- 
tion for the practice of medicine, he went 
to Europe, where he took a post-graduate 
course in the hospitals and universities at 
Vienna, Heidelberg and Munich, spend- 
ing nearly two years in this special prepa- 
ration for his lifework. Returning to 
Holyoke, he settled there January i, 1895, 
and at once took up the general practice 
of medicine, in which he has continued to 
the present time with ever increasing 
popularity and success. At the present 
time there are but two physicians in the 
city who antedate him in service, and he 
is the only physician in the city of Ger- 
man birth. Dr. Celce is a man of broad 
sympathies and great kindness of heart, 
and his noble work has brought to many 
relief from suffering and sorrow. He is 
master of his profession, and takes high 
rank among his contemporaries. He is a 
member of the Holyoke Medical Society, 
Hampden County Medical Society, Acad- 
emy of Medicine, Eastern Hampden Med- 
ical Association, and American Medical 
Association. He has given generous 
service to the public, on both the medi- 
cinal and surgical staffs of the Holyoke 
City Hospital, and is still active on the 



medical stafif, this service now covering 
nearly a quarter of a century. Dr. Celce 
is a member of the Holyoke Club, Mount 
Tom Golf Club, Holyoke Canoe Club; 
was formerly a member of the Bay State 
Club, and is a member of the German 
Turn-Verein and Sons of Hammond, and 
also Holyoke Chamber of Commerce. 
Like his father, he has been active in pro- 
moting the fraternal and benevolent work 
of the Masonic order, affiliating with the 
Blue Lodge, Council, Chapter, Command- 
ery and Shrine. He is also a member of 
the D. Hayes Agnew Surgical Society 0/ 
Philadelphia, and in most of the associ' 
ations with which he is affiliated he has 
served in various official and committee 
capacities. 

Dr. Celce was married in 1892 to Jean 
Henrietta Hose, a native of Johns- 
town, New York, where she received her 
preliminary education. Entering the 
Women's Medical College at Philadel- 
phia, she was graduated with the degree 
of Doctor of Medicine in June, 1892. Fol- 
lowing this she became an interne and 
resident physician at the Pennsylvania 
Hospital, having charge of the lying-in 
department, and at the same time taking 
special courses in post-graduate work. 
After one year of this she went abroad, 
and studied in the universities of Vienna 
and Heidelberg, where she pursued post- 
graduate work in hospital practice. Re- 
turning to the United States she located 
in Holyoke, where, like her husband, she 
has been actively engaged to the present 
time in the practice of medicine. She has 
attained a high reputation and ranks as 
one of the leading women physicians of 
Western Massachusetts. She is one of 
the associates of the medical staff of the 
Holyoke City Hospital, is a member of 
the Holyoke City and Hampden County 
Medical associations, and the American 
Medical Association. Dr. and Mrs. Celce 



19 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



are the parents of a daughter and a son : 
Rosamond E., a student at Smith College, 
class of 1917, and Frederick William, now 
a student at Dartmouth College in the 
class of 1919. The entire family are at- 
tendants and contributors to the support 
of the Second Congregational Church of 
Holyoke, and bear their full share in pro- 
moting the social and moral interests of 
their home city. Dr. Celce is a man of 
impressive personality, strong mentality 
and settled purpose. He is in active sym- 
pathy with every movement in the com- 
munity which makes for progress. He is 
a wise counsellor, a man of commanding 
influence, not only within the circle of his 
profession, but also in the community-at- 
large. He is liberal in his judgment of 
men, but exacts the most open sincerity. 
His personal endowments command at- 
tention, and he enjoys wide-spread es- 
teem, attention and respect. Of similar 
character is his noble wife, and together 
they are carrying forward works of 
humanity entitling them to universal 
esteem. 



McCORKINDALE, William, 

Representative Citizen. 

McCorkindale is an ancient Scottish 
name mentioned by Scott in his "Heart 
of Midlothian." Edward McCorkindale, 
the founder of the family in the United 
States, father of William McCorkindale, 
of Holyoke, Massachusetts, was a son of 
Duncan McCorkindale, who lived and 
died in Scotland. Edward McCorkindale 
was born in Dalmuir, Dumbartonshire, 
Scotland, in 1825, and died in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, in 1890. He learned and 
followed the blacksmith's trade in Scot- 
land until 1870, then came to the United 
States, locating in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, where he was employed as a mill- 
wright until his death at the age of sixty- 



five. He married Margaret Lyon, born 
in Ederslie, Renfrewshire, Scotland, in 
1821, who lived to the great age of ninety- 
one years, dying in Holyoke in 1912. She 
was the daughter of Roger and Margaret 
Lyon. Edward and Margaret (Lyon) 
McCorkindale were the parents of four 
children: Edward, deceased; Elizabeth, 
became the wife of William King ; Wil- 
liam, of whom further ; and Duncan L., 
whose sketch appears elsewhere in this 
work. 

^^'iIliam McCorkindale was born in 
Greenock, Renfrewshire, Scotland. June 
5, 1851. He attended the middle parish 
school until ten years of age. He then 
began his business career in the paper in- 
dustry, becoming an employee of Brown, 
Stewart & Company, manufacturers of 
newspaper, there continuing until his 
departure for the United States in 1868. 
He first located in Pittstown, New York, 
where he was employed by Orrs & Com- 
pany as machine tender in their Pittstown 
mill. He only continued in their employ 
for a short time, being seized with the 
western fever, then epidemic, and went 
to Wabash, Indiana, where he entered the 
employ of Bremaker, Moore & Company, 
as machine tender, the product of the 
machine being straw print. After two 
years' service in the mill, Mr. McCorkin- 
dale removed to Dalton, Massachusetts, 
where he became a machine tender for 
Crane & Company, and remained with 
that house for nine years. At that time, 
1881, all of the No. i ledger papers used 
in this country were made in Berkshire 
county, Massachusetts, and the impres- 
sion was that they could not be made 
elsewhere. Mr. IMcCorkindale thought 
that they could be made in Holyoke, and 
in an interview with the late Joseph C. 
Parsons he asked that gentleman to make 
the experiment in that direction. Mr. 
Parsons consented and purchased the Mt. 




/ liJJiam ^/7l^^{riy'^^<'^<^^^~-^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Tom mill for that purpose. In June, 
i88i, Mr. McCorkindale removed to Hol- 
yoke, his parents also having made that 
city their home. The mill was remodeled 
and was started in October, i88i, and in 
a few months made as good ledgers as 
had been made up to that time, operating 
under the name of the Parsons Paper 
Company. In 1888 the demand for the 
goods exceeded the capacity of the mills, 
and the company planned a new mill, its 
No. 2, which was designed as a model 
plant, and which fully realized the de- 
signs of its creators. When the Ameri- 
can Writing Paper Company was formed 
the No. I and Mt. Tom mills were sold to 
that company, the Parsons Paper Com- 
pany retaining the Sergeant street mill 
and devoting all its energies to the pro- 
duction of ledgers and bonds, of which 
papers ]Mr. ]\IcCorkindale has made a spe- 
cial study and as to which he is an au- 
thority. Under Mr. McCorkindale's able 
superintendency every department of the 
plant is an efficient contributor to the ex- 
cellence of the product and to the general 
prosperity of the plant. While his life for 
the past thirty-six years has been devoted 
to the interests of the Parsons Paper 
Company, of which he is also a stock- 
holder, he has acquired other interests of 
importance, and is a member of the board 
of directors of the Millers Falls Paper 
Company and of the People's Savings 
Bank of Holyoke. Mr. McCorkindale is 
a Republican in politics, and has long 
been an active participant in public 
affairs. He served as alderman four 
years, and during the presidential cam- 
paign just closed was president of the 
Holyoke Republican Club. He is a dea- 
con of the First Congregational Church, 
a member of the Bay State and Holyoke 
clubs, and a highly regarded member of 
the community. 

Mr. McCorkindale married, in 1873, 



Lillian Forsythe, daughter of James For- 
sythe, of Bar Head, Scotland, who came 
to the United States when his daughter 
was a child. Mr. and Mrs. McCorkindale 
are the parents of two sons, Edward 
James and Roger William, and a daugh- 
ter, Ethel Lillian. Edward James was 
born in Dalton. Massachusetts, July 
30, 1876; a graduate of Holyoke High 
School, and at present (1917J is located 
in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, a paper 
salesman; he married Elizabeth Miller, 
and they arc the parents of three chil- 
dren : Elizabeth, Marion and Edward. 
Roger William was born in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, July 3, 1883 ; a graduate 
of the Holyoke High School, and is now 
a foreman in the Parsons Paper Com- 
pany mills ; he married Mabel Perkins, 
of Holyoke, and they are the parents of a 
daughter, Leslie Jean. 



BONVOULOIR, Pierre, 

Pnblic Official. 

There is probably no better known pub- 
lic official in the commonwealth of Mas- 
sachusetts than Pierre Bonvouloir, who 
for nearly three decades has held the 
office of treasurer of the city of Holyoke, 
and in this office has rendered to its citi- 
zens the most efficient service possible. 
His concise and advanced methods in 
handling its intricate details are most re- 
markable, and his unfailing courtesy to 
every person with whom he is brought in 
contact has placed him in the enviable 
position which he occupies, that of one of 
its most prominent and popular citizens. 

(I) His family was originally of French 
origin and was among the families of 
position and influence in that country. 
The ancestor of this particular branch of 
the family was Captain Pierre Bonvou- 
loir, a native of Iberville, Province of 
Quebec, who was a patriot and officer of 



21 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOCrLAPHY 



the Revolutionary forces. He followed 
the occupation of tilling the soil, tirst 
in his native town and afterward at St. 
Brigide, Province of Quebec. He mar- 
ried Clemence La Pointe, a descendant of 
French ancestors, and among their chil- 
dren was Pierre, of whom further. 

(H) Pierre {2) Bonvouloir, son of 
Captain Pierre (i) and Clemence (La 
Pointe) Bonvouloir, was born in St. 
Brigide, Province of Quebec, Canada, 
about the year 1832. He followed the 
same occupation as his father, farming, 
first in his native place, then in Saco, 
Maine, and later in Canada, whither he 
returned from the United States. He 
married (first) Marie Louise Benoit, who 
bore him three children, among whom 
was Pierre, of whom further ; married 
(second) Zoe Xadeau, who bore him five 
children. 

(HI) Pierre (3) Bonvouloir, son of 
Pierre (2) and Marie Louise (Benoit) 
Bonvouloir. was born in St. Brigide, 
county of Iberville, Province of Quebec, 
Canada, March 9, 1854. He attended the 
schools of his native town until he was 
fourteen years old, then secured employ- 
ment as a clerk in a store, and on Decem- 
ber 12, 1871, three years later, he removed 
to Holyoke. Massachusetts, where he 
secured a similar position, w^hich he re- 
tained for five or six years, and then in 
company with Mr. J. A. Proult estab- 
lished a grocery and provision store in 
Holyoke, which they conducted until 
1906, when Mr. Bonvouloir sold out his 
interest. On July i, 1889, Mr. Bonvouloir 
assisted in the organization of the City 
Cooperative Bank, serving in the capacity 
of secretary and treasurer for many years. 
He is also serving as director in the Home 
National Bank, the People's Savings 
Bank, the Holyoke Savings Bank, the 
Holyoke Library and the Holyoke City 
Hospital. He also took an active and 



prominent part in the political arena, 
being chosen to fill a number of public 
offices, in all of which he discharged his 
obligations in an efficient and capable 
manner, and to the entire satisfaction of 
all concerned. In 1880 he became a mem- 
ber of the City Council from Ward Four 
and served one year ; for five years, from 
1887 to 1892, he was a member of the 
school committee, where he accomplished 
much — probably more than will ever be 
known — for the permanent welfare of the 
children of the city ; in 1892 he served on 
the Democratic State Central Committee ; 
in 1893 he was first elected city treasurer 
and held that office by successive reelec- 
tion at the end of each term until 1916. 
At all times and in these various posi- 
tions his official conduct has been blame- 
less, and he has acquitted himself with 
the highest capability and conscientious 
devotion to his duties and the trust re- 
posed in him. In politics he is a staunch 
adherent of the principles of Democracy, 
and is a member of the Morris Plan Asso- 
ciation, of which he is also a director. He 
has made the country of his adoption the 
country of his afifection, has exerted a 
wnde-spread influence in Americanizing 
his co-patriots, giving friendly aid and 
advice to the many who come to him for 
assistance along various lines, and he is 
rightfully regarded as the leading citizen 
of Canadian birth in western Massachu- 
setts. As a man of business and a public 
official no man has a cleaner record or is 
more highly respected than he, a testi- 
monial of which any man might well be 
proud. He is a member of the Knights 
of Columbus ; of the Societe St. Jean Bap- 
tiste ; of L'Union St. Jean-Baptiste d'- 
Amerique, of Woonsocket, Rhode Island, 
of which he is tresorier general ; Cercle 
Rochambeau ; La Societee Historique 
Canadienne Francaise ; La Caisse Popu- 
laire Credit Union, of which he is treas- 



22 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



urer; of the Foresters, and the Holyoke 
Club. 

Mr. Bonvouloir married (first) Febru- 
ary 5, 1883, Lucinda, daughter of Joseph 
Dufresne, of Trois-Rivieres, Province of 
Quebec, Canada. Their children were : 
I. Cosette, born December 8, 1884, mar- 
ried A. W. Smith and they are the parents 
of three children : Marcelle, Roger, Ga- 
briel. 2. Lillian, born November 9, 1885. 
3. Annette, born 1886, married Alfred 
Lavoie and they are the parents of one 
child. Pierrette. 4. Lionel, born 1888, 
now a student at the Massachusetts In- 
stitute of Technology, Boston. Mr. Bon- 
vouloir married (second) May, 1891, 
Annie Dufresne. a sister of his first wife. 



CROCKER. Clifton Alvah, 

Paper Manufacturer. 

Three generations of this branch of the 
Crocker family of New England have 
made the name synonymous with paper 
manufacturers, and for many years Sam- 
uel Somerbie Crocker and his sons, 
Daniel and Clifton Alvah Crocker, were 
the principal owners and the executive 
managers of the Holyoke corporation, 
The Crocker Manufacturing Company, 
paper manufacturers. After that corpora- 
tion was sold to the American Writing 
Paper Company, Clifton Alvah Crocker 
organized the Crocker-McElwain Com- 
pany of Holyoke, and as president of that 
company preserves to the Crocker name 
supremacy in the paper manufacturing 
world in which his entire business life 
has been spent. Paper manufacture first 
became a family industry with Deacon 
Samuel Crocker, who became an expert 
paper maker in Newburyport mills, and 
in 1796 settled at Leominster and worked 
for Nichols & Kendall in the first paper 
mill built there. His sons, Alvah and 
Samuel Somerbie Crocker, learned the 



same trade, worked in the same mill at 
Leominster with their father, and later 
became noted paper manufacturers, trans- 
mitting the business to their sons. 

(I) The Crocker family in this branch 
was founded in New England by Captain 
John Crocker, born presumably in Eng- 
land in 1699, died in Newburyport, Mas- 
sachusetts, March 19, 1763. He was both 
a ship owner and master mariner, sailing 
and owning with his son, Benjamin, the 
brig "Ranger." In 1748 Captain Crocker 
received permission to erect a rope walk, 
the first ever built in Newbury, the old 
name of the town. He married. April 12, 
1727, Mary, daughter of Thomas Savage, 
and both are buried in St. Ann's Church- 
yard at Newburyport, their graves 
marked by headstones. 

(II) Benjamin Crocker, third child of 
Captain John Crocker, the founder, was 
born in Boston. Massachusetts. February 
6. 1732, died in Newburyport, October 5, 
1777. He was associated with his father 
in his enterprises, and was one of the 
substantial men of his town. He married, 
in Hampton, New Hampshire, September 
9, 1761, Sarah, daughter of Samuel Somer- 
bie, who bore him nine children, of whom 
lived to grow up. Samuel, of whom fur- 
ther. 

(ITT) Samuel Crocker (Deacon), son 
of Benjamin and Sarah (Somerbie) 
Crocker, was born at Newburyport. Mas- 
sachusetts, March 22, 1774, died at Fitch- 
burg. Massachusetts. August 26. 1856. 
When a young man, he learned the paper 
making business, a trade then requiring 
great manual skill, and became an expert 
workman. With him paper making was 
introduced into the family. In 1796 he 
located in Leominster. Massachusetts. 
Nichols & Kendall having just built the 
first paper mill there, and at the height 
of its importance the mill gave employ- 
ment to twenty-five hands. There Samuel 



23 



ENXTCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Crocker's sons worked and learned the 
business, going out from there to mills of 
their own. After Alvah, the eldest son, 
had built his mill at Fitchburg, Deacon 
Samuel Crocker, the father, moved there 
and in various ways was associated with 
his sons in business. Deacon Samuel 
Crocker was intensely religious in his 
nature, stern, uncompromising and con- 
scientious. He became a convert to the 
Baptist faith, was one of the founders of 
the Baptist church at Leominster, and 
when in its early days the church had no 
pastor, Deacon Crocker "demonstrated." 
He was the first Baptist in Leominster 
and the first Baptist deacon, and after his 
removal to Fitchburg, he with nine others 
organized the Fitchburg Village Baptist 
Society. "He was a man of m,uch prayer 
and much joy in his religion, an evangelist 
in disposition, holding prayer meeting 
and conference meetings in his own house 
and elsewhere preaching the gospel fre- 
quently." "He was a pillar of the church 
through all its early years, because every 
man who knew him respected his simpli- 
city of heart and purity of character." He 
married, at Lunenburg. Massachusetts, 
May 3, 1798, Comfort, daughter of Samuel 
and Hannah (Adams) Jones, of Medway, 
Massachusetts. "Mrs. Crocker was a de- 
scendant of the celebrated Adams family 
and inherited all its self reliance and inde- 
pendence of character. Nobly struggling 
under adverse circumstances and unwill- 
ing to receive assistance not absolutely 
necessary, she aimed to nurture the chil- 
dren in habits of honest industry and to 
accustom them to exertion, not only from 
necessity, but also from choice. From 
this sensible and energetic young mother 
the Crocker boys derived their prominent 
characteristics." 

(IV) Samuel Somerbie Crocker, sixth 
son of Deacon Samuel and Comfort 
(Jones) Crocker, was born at Leominster, 



Massachusetts, October 30, 1813, died in 
his native town, January 13. 1909. At the 
age of ten years he began working in the 
paper mill with his father and brothers, 
and at the age of sixteen years entered 
the employ of his elder brother, Alvah 
Crocker, who in 1826 had built a paper 
mill in that part of West Fitchburg, later 
known as Crockerville. After working 
two years for his brother, he began learn- 
ing the carpenter's trade and also became 
a millwright, following his trade for sev- 
eral years. In 1839 he bought the water 
power of what was later known as the 
"Snow" Mill, and is now one of the 
Crocker-Burbank mills, and there for a 
number of years successfully manufac- 
tured paper. In 1853 he sold the mill and 
moved to Lawrence, Massachusetts, there 
erecting and operating the first paper mill 
in the city. He manufactured paper in 
Law-rence for twelve years, then returned 
to Leominster, where in 1865 he built the 
Crocker Woolen Mill, thereby adding a 
flourishing business to the town indus- 
tries. A few years later he returned to 
his first business, and with his son, Daniel 
P.. began the manufacture of paper in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, under the cor- 
porate name of The Crocker Manufactur- 
ing Company, Samuel S. Crocker, presi- 
dent, Daniel P. Crocker, treasurer and 
clerk. At the death of Daniel P. Crocker 
in 1887, the youngest son of Samuel S. 
Crocker, Clifton Alvah Crocker, suc- 
ceeded his brother as treasurer. The com- 
pany continued a large and profitable 
business until 1899, when it was sold to 
the American Writing Paper Company. 
Samuel S. Crocker was interested in other 
business enterprises, and until his retire- 
ment, bowed with the weight of years, 
was active in their management. He 
lived to be ninety-six years of age. A 
Congregationalist in his youth, he later 
became a Baptist, and was a member of 



24 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Fitchburg Church founded by his 
father. Later he was a deacon of the 
Fir?t Baptist Church of Lawrence, and 
when the Second liaptist Church of Law- 
rence was formed, he became a deacon of 
that congregation, and in Leominster 
later still was deacon of the Central Bap- 
tist Church. For seventy years he was 
teacher, superintendent or scholar in the 
various Sunday schools of the churches 
to which he belonged. 

He married, August 7, 1837, at Leo- 
minster, Martha Elizabeth Putnam, born 
in Shirley, Massachusetts, November 30, 
1818, died in Leominster, April 26, 1907, 
daughter of Samuel and Hannah F. 
(Kimball) Putnam. Deacon Samuel S. 
and Martha E. (Putnam) Crocker were 
the parents of nine children: i. Daniel 
P., born April 16, 1840; married, April 17, 
1862, Caroline E. Litchfield; died at 
Springfield, February 10, 1887. 2. Adams 
Wheeler, born May 10, 1842. 3. Frank 
Thomas, born July 4, 1844 ; married Alice 
G. Allen; died at Leominster, July 31, 
1873. 4- Frederick William, born March 
27, 1846; a commander in the United 
States Navy, visited during his long and 
honorable career as a naval ofBcer nearly 
every country in the world ; he married 
Helen M. Blanchard ; died in Chelsea, 
Massachusetts, October 31. 1896. 5. John 
Henry, born May 11, 1848, died August 
24, 1849. 6. Samuel Somerbie (2), born 
January 15, 1850; died October 17, 1851. 
7. Martha Elizabeth, born January 28, 
1852. 8. Charles Fremont, born February 
7. 1856. 9. Clifton Alvah, of further men- 
tion. 

Martha Elizabeth (Putnam) Crocker 
was a descendant of John Putnam, who 
came from England to Salem Village, 
Massachusetts, in 1634, with wife Pris- 
cilla and sons: Thomas and Nathaniel. 
Nathaniel Putnam was born in England, 
October 11, 1619, and died in Salem, July 



23, 1700. Part of the property he owned 
has remained in the family. He left a 
large estate and was a man of great 
prominence in his community, serving in 
the General Court and as selectman. He 
married Elizabeth, daughter of Richard 
and Alice (Bosworth) Hutchinson, who 
bore him seven children. Their third son, 
John Putnam, was born at Salem, March 
26, 1657, and died there in September, 
1722. His farm was in that part of Dan- 
vers near the "log bridge" across the 
Ipswich river. He was an important man 
in his town, and during the witchcraft 
delusion was constable. He married 
Hannah Cutler, who bore him fifteen chil- 
dren. Their twelfth child, John (2) Put- 
nam, was born in Salem, August 16, 1691, 
and died February 10, 1764. He was a 
well-to-do farmer, and by will devised 
money, lands and buildings. He married 
(first) Rachel Buxton, (second) Lydia 
Porter, and had eight children. Their 
second child, John (3) Putnam, was borrt 
in Salem Village in 1720, died in Danvers. 
and his will was probated November 16, 
1786. He was captain of an Alarm Com- 
pany of Danvers, which marched on the 
Lexington Alarm, April 19, 1775. He 
married Ruth Swinnerton, and had six 
children. Their third son. Daniel Put- 
nam, was born in Salem, April 19, 1749, 
and died April 26, 1813, in Fitchburg. 
Massachusetts. He served as ensign in 
the Fitchburg Company under Captain 
Ebenezer Bridge, which marched on the 
Lexington Alarm, serving thirteen days. 
He was a deacon of the church, and an- 
nually his grave is decorated by the Grand 
Armv Veterans in recognition of his 
Revolutionary service. He married 
Rachel Small, who bore him several sons. 
They are both buried in Laurel Hill 
Cemetery, both graves marked with a tall 
slate stone. Their son, Samuel Putnam 
(Captain), was born in Fitchburg, Massa- 



-D 



EXCiXLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chusetts, September 5, 1785, died in July, 
i860, and is buried with his wife and one 
daughter in the cemetery of Lunenburg, 
Massachusetts. He was always known as 
"Captain*' Samuel Putnam, and was a 
man of importance, holding the of^ce of 
high sherifT. He married Hannah F. 
Kimball and among his children was a 
daughter. Martha Elizabeth, the wife of 
Samuel Somerbie Crocker and mother of 
Clifton Alvah Crocker. 

(V) Clifton Alvah Crocker, third son 
of Samuel Somerbie and Martha Eliza- 
beth (Putnam) Crocker, was born at 
Lawrence. Massachusetts. July 30, 1858. 
In 1865 his parents moved again to Leo- 
minster, where he was educated in the 
public schools, finishing his studies in 
Boston. When his school years w'ere 
completed he entered the oflfices of 
The Crocker Manufacturing Company, 
founded by his father and brother Daniel 
P.. and from that time has been intimately 
connected with paper manufacture. At 
the death of his brother, Daniel P., Feb- 
ruary 10, 1887, he succeeded him as treas- 
urer of the company, and held that office 
until the sale of The Crocker Manufac- 
turing Company, which was nearly all 
owned in the family, to the American 
Writing Paper Company in 1899. Mr. 
Crocker remained with the purchasing 
company for three years in official capac- 
ity. He then resigned, and in 1904 in 
company with his brother-in-law, R. F. 
McElwain. organized the Crocker-Mc- 
Elwain Company for the manufacture of 
paper in Holyoke. Clifton A. Crocker, 
president and treasurer, and R. F. Mc- 
Elwain, vice-president. The corporation 
operates a large plant in Holyoke. gives 
employment to several hundred hands and 
is an important factor in the paper trade. 

Mr. Crocker is a member of the execu- 
tive committee of the American Paper and 
Pulp Association ; is vice-president and 



director of the National Equipment Com- 
pany of Springfield, Massachusetts ; presi- 
dent and treasurer of the Chemical Paper 
^Linufacturing Company, Holyoke ; direc- 
tor of the Springfield National Bank ; 
was chairman of the board of water com- 
missioners of Springfield, Massachusetts, 
a city in which Mr. Crocker has resided 
for the past twenty years. He is presi- 
dent of the Hampden Hospital ; member 
of the First Highland Baptist Church of 
Springfield ; a Republican in politics, and 
interested in all good causes. He belongs 
to lodge, chapter and council of the Ma- 
sonic order, his clubs, the Holyoke of 
Holyoke, Nayasset and Colony of Spring- 
field, and the Springfield Country Club. 
He is a director and vice-president of the 
Springfield Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation, and is a trustee of the Inter- 
national Young Men's Christian Associ- 
ation College. 

Mr. Crocker married, June 16. 1881, 
Lucy Hannah, daughter of Oliver and 
Paulina Doane (Witherill) McElwain. of 
Becket, Massachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. 
Crocker are the parents of three children : 
I. Paulina, born November 4. 1882; mar- 
ried. October 30, 1915, Joseph E. Holmes, 
assistant treasurer of the Springfield In- 
stitution for Savings ; one daughter, Eliza- 
beth Crocker Holmes, born October 15. 
1916. 2. Ruth, born February 8, 1884; 
married, April 24. 1907, Franklin Law- 
rence, secretary and manager of the Port- 
land Stone Foundry Company of Port- 
land. Maine. 3. Elizabeth, born February 
13, 1891. 



HATCH, Raymond Stewart, 

Chemist. 

Raymond Stewart Hatch, general su- 
perintendent of the plant of the Crocker- 
McElwain Company, paper manufac- 
turers, of Holyoke, comes of an old New 
England family. 



26 



EXXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Joseph J. Hatch, great-grandfather of 
Raymond Stewart Hatch, was born De- 
cember i8, 1785, in Connecticut, from 
which locality he removed to New York 
State, settling in Hannibal, Oswego 
county, the journey being made by means 
of an ox team, somewhat different to the 
present methods of rapid transportation 
by means of steam and automobile. He 
was a Methodist clergyman and followed 
that vocation in Hannibal during the re- 
mainder of his active career, his death 
occurring in that town. He took an active 
interest in community afifairs, and was 
honored by all who knew him. He mar- 
ried (first) September 9, 1807, Content 
Marks, born May 24, 1787, died September 
25, 1830. Their children were as follows: 
Mary Ann, born August 21, 1808; Wil- 
liam P., born March 3, 1810, died March 
31, 1826; Sidney H., born December 23, 
1813; Alfred M.. born August 7, 1816; 
Lavinia, born February 28, 1819, died 
September 30, 1842; James F., born Oc- 
tober 4, 1821, died May 26, 1832; Eliza R., 
born March 20, 1823, died February 15, 
1903 ; Elizabeth, born September 25, 1826; 
George R., born September 4, 1829, died 
August 20, 1830. He married (second) 
January 18, 1831, Frances Raymond, born 
March i, 1804, and they were the parents 
of two children : Joseph Raymond, of 
whom further, and Laura F.. born xA.pril 
7, 1837, died March 24, 1838. 

Joseph Raymond Hatch, son of Joseph 
J. and Frances (Raymond) Hatch, was 
born in Hannibal, Oswego county, New 
York, October 26, 1833, died in Baldwins- 
ville, Onondaga county, New York, Sep- 
tember 3, 1905. He followed in his 
father's footsteps, being a clergyman of 
the Methodist denomination, devoted to 
the interests of his church, and active in 
all that concerned the welfare of the com- 
munities in which he resided. He was 
also patriotic and served his country dur- 



ing the War between the North and 
South, serving in many engagements. He 
married, April 23, 1854. Marilla Dunton, 
born April 13, 1833, died January 25, 1912, 
and they were the parents of five chil- 
dren : Edgar Raymond, of whom further; 
William Dunton, born April 14. 1863, died 
August 31, 1887; Edith Eliza, born May 
25, 1868; Earnest Chauncey, born Decem- 
ber 24, 1870; Irving Charles, born Febru- 
ary 25, 1875. 

Edgar Raymond Hatch, son of Joseph 
Raymond and Marilla ■= (Dunton) Hatch, 
was born July 4, 1856, in Hannibal, Os- 
wego county. New York, and at the pres- 
ent time is a resident of Syracuse, Onon- 
daga county. New York. He received a 
practical education in the schools adjacent 
to his home, later served an apprentice- 
ship at the trade of pattern maker, and 
subsequently became an instructor in the 
Syracuse University, Syracuse, New 
York, being thoroughly competent to fill 
all requirements, and performing his 
duties to the entire satisfaction of all con- 
cerned. He is an attendant of the Epis- 
copal church, a Republican in politics, and 
a member of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. He married, September 
27, 1882. Jennie Stewart, of Watertown. 
New York, daughter of Nathaniel Stew- 
art. Children : Raymond Stewart, of 
whom further, and Ruth Fredrika. born 
August 16. 1889. 

Raymond Stewart Hatch, son of Edgar 
Raymond and Jennie (Stewart) Hatch, 
was born in Watertown. New York, July 
18. 1883. He attended the schools of 
Watertown. and Syracuse University, 
graduating from the latter in the class of 
T904. and then the Massachusetts School 
of Technology, where he spent six months 
in special work. His first employment 
was as chemist with the Ozone Vanillin 
Company of Niagara Falls, with whom 
he remained for three years, from 1905 to 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1908, then entered the employ of Heller 
&• Merz, manufacturers of aniline dye 
stuffs, in Newark, New Jersey, serving in 
the same capacity, remainiui^ there four 
years, until 1912. He then took up his 
residence in Holyoke, Massachusetts, and 
secured employment as a chemist with 
the Crocker-McElwain Company, paper 
manufacturers, and in August, 1914, was 
appointed general superintendent of their 
entire plant, which position he has since 
held. He is a member of the American 
Chemical Society, and the Technical As- 
sociation of the Paper and Pulp Industry, 
Phi Beta Kappa, college fraternity, 
Niagara Frontier Lodge, No. 132, Free 
and Accepted Masons, and the Lodge of 
Perfection of the Scottish Rite bodies. 

Mr. Hatch married, September 25, 1908, 
Emily Male, born in Stoke. England, 
daughter of Samuel Male, who emigrated 
to the United States from England in 
1895. Mr. and Mrs. Hatch are the parents 
of one child, Frank Raymond, born in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, July 20, 1914. 



GRIDLEY, Philip Whitmore, 

Enterprising Citizen. 

This branch of the Gridley family in 
America traces descent from Thomas 
Gridley. of England, and during the 
nearly three centuries which have elapsed 
since his coming. Massachusetts, Connec- 
ticut and again Massachusetts have been 
the a])i(ling ])laces of the heads of the 
generations herein outlined. Philip Whit- 
more Gridley, assistant treasurer of the 
Crocker-McElwain Company, paper 
manufacturers of Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, is of the eighth American gener- 
ation, and is one of the honored sons of 
Holyoke who has achieved success with- 
in her borders. 

Thomas Gridley, of Essex, England, 
came to Newton (Cambridge) in 1623, 



and with Rev. Thomas Hooker's company 
went to Hartford in 1636. He married 
Mary Seymour, of Hartford, a member of 
the famous Seymour family of Connec- 
ticut. Among his children was Samuel 
Gridley, who was one of the original 
proprietors of Farmington, Connecticut. 
He married and among his children was a 
son, Joseph Gridley, who early settled at 
Southington, Connecticut. He married 
Hannah Lewis, and among their children 
was a son, Joseph (2) Gridley, who mar- 
ried Sarah Woodruff. Among their chil- 
dren was a son, Simon Gridley, who mar- 
ried Lois Andrus (Andrews) and came 
to Southampton, Massachusetts, in 1804. 
They were the parents of Henry, men- 
tioned below% and Dr. Josiah A. Gridley, 
a physician of Southampton. 

Henry Gridley, son of Simon and Mary 
(Andrus) Gridley, was born in Southamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, in 1805, and died in 
1850. He was a school teacher, and in 
association with his brother. Dr. J. A. 
Gridley, manufactured a line of proprie- 
tary goods including the well known 
Gridley's Pills. He married Dolly Ann 
Howland, born at Montgomery, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1821, and died in 1898, a 
daughter of Chester and Betsey Ann 
Howland, of distinguished Puritan family. 
Mr. and Mrs. Gridley were the parents 
of two daughters, Cebia Ann, married 
Chester W. M. Smith ; Sarah, died in 
childhood ; and a son, Henry Howland, 
mentioned below. Dolly Ann (Howland) 
Gridley survived her husband and married 
(second) D. D. Whitmore, and they were 
the parents of Jane, D. D., Jr., and 
Lucretia. 

Henry Howland Gridley, son of Henry 
and Dolly Ann (Howland) Gridley, was 
born in Southampton, Massachusetts, 
June 31, 1849. He was educated in the 
public schools of Southampton, Sunder- 
land, Montague, and Williston Academy 
28 




f 



Enqiiy CanpbaU ByaLhsrs 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



at Easthampton, ^Massachusetts. The 
earlier years of his business life were 
spent as a bookkeeper in Greenfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, New York City and Holyoke, 
Massachusetts. In the last named city 
the duties of paymaster were added to his 
bookkeeping and for several years he held 
these dual positions at the Massachusetts 
Screw Works owned by the Newtons. He 
was ambitious to escape the confining du- 
ties of desk work, and for a long time de- 
voted his evenings and spare hours to the 
study of architecture and building, finally 
becoming so well versed in theory that he 
became a contractor. He erected the first 
apartment house ever built in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, and after passing a com- 
petitive civil service examination was ap- 
pointed superintendent of construction at 
the United States Military Academy, 
West Point, New York. He filled that 
position most satisfactorily and later su- 
perintended the erection of the Hartford 
National Bank, the Merchants' National 
Bank of Boston, one of the large hotel 
buildings in Utica, New York, another at 
Schenectady, New York, several school 
buildings of importance, and upon the 
organization of the Eastern States Ex- 
position Company at Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, he superintended the construc- 
tion of the various large buildings com- 
prising the group intended for exposition 
purposes (1916). 

Mr. Gridley married, December 24, 
1876, Jessie Whitmore, a daughter of 
Jesse and Martha (Hosmer) Whitmore. 
They are the parents of Florence, Philip 
Whitmore, mentioned below, and Gladys 
Ruth Gridley. 

Philip Whitmore Gridley, only son of 
Henry Howland and Jessie (Whitmore) 
Gridley, was born in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, July 19, 1882. In 1890 his parents 
moved to Springfield, Massachusetts, and 
there he was educated in the graded and 



higli schools. He began business life with 
the Springfield National Bank, entering 
that employ, February 2^, 1900, remain- 
ing until October 8, 1904. He then se- 
cured a position as bookkeeper with the 
Crockcr-McElwain Company, paper 
manufacturers of Holyoke, and has ever 
since been associated with that company. 
From the office he was transferred to the 
manufacturing department under Mr. Mc- 
Elwain, next was employed in the cost 
and sales department, and in 1913 was 
promoted to his present position, assistant 
treasurer of the corporation, a post he 
most efficiently fills. He is a member of 
the Second Congregational Church, and 
of Mt. Tom Golf Club. 

Mr. Gridley married, March 26, 1907, 
Sadie Bugbee, daughter of Walter T. and 
Flora J. (Greenwood) Bugbee, of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. 



BUCHANAN, Andrew, 

Business Man. 

A man of splendid business ability and 
a citizen of highest standing, public- 
spirited to a high degree, Andrew Buch- 
anan left behind him not only an enduring 
monument in the important company 
with which he was so long connected, but 
in the hearts of all who came in direct 
contact with him. Always interested in 
public afifairs, he was ever ready to lend 
a hand in any movement for the public 
good. He was deeply devoted to his home 
and family, there finding his greatest joy 
in life, but warm hearted and generous, 
his great heart going out to all, and he was 
the centre of a very wide circle of true 
friends. He was a son of Robert Buch- 
anan, founder of the firm of Buchanan & 
Bolt, wire weavers of Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, a business continued by his son, 
Andrew Buchanan, and now most capably 
managed by Mrs. Andrew Buchanan, who 



29 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



succeeded her husband in the presidency 
of the company. 

Robert Buchanan was born in Glasgow, 
Scotland, in 1824. died in Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, October 27. 1S94. scion of one 
of Scotland's distinguished families. 
When a young man he came to the United 
States, locating at Belleville, New Jersey. 
In 1876 he located in Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, and in 1878 in Holyoke, where 
he founded the firm of Buchanan & Bolt, 
manufacturers of woven wire. The firm 
originally consisted of Robert Buchanan, 
his son, Andrew Buchanan, and John 
Bolt. In course of time Robert Buchanan 
retired, leaving his son and partner in 
charge of the business, which had been 
from its inception a most successful one. 
Robert Buchanan married Jean Mc\'icker 
and had sons, Andrew and James, also a 
daughter. Jessie. 

Andrew Buchanan was born in Belle- 
ville, New Jersey. October 5, 1850, died in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, July 9, 1896. He 
passed his early life in Belleville, there 
v.^as educated and began his business life. 
In 1877 he was engaged in Boston, com- 
ing to Holyoke in 1878 and associating 
with his honored father as partner in the 
firm of Buchanan & Bolt. The partners 
continued together until the retirement 
of Robert Buchanan, and built up a busi- 
ness, one of the most successful in the 
city. Andrew Buchanan succeeded his 
father as president of the company, which 
had become a corporation, and exerted 
his splendid executive and business 
talents to its management until his death, 
the business increasing with each succeed- 
ing year. He was a Republican in Na- 
tional politics, but in local affairs was 
thoroughly independent, supporting the 
candidates he judged best fitted for the 
ofifices they sought, regardless of party 
ties. He was a member of Common 
Council for two years, but never sought 



any public office. He was a member of 
the Masonic order, belonging to lodge, 
chapter and commandery ; also was a 
Knight of Pythias, an attendant and gen- 
erous supporter of the First Congrega- 
tional Church. 

Mr. Buchanan married, January 13, 
1874, Grace E. Troop, of Belleville, New 
Jersey, but born at Bridgewater, Massa- 
chusetts. Three of the children of An- 
drew and Grace E. Buchanan are living: 
Robert, treasurer of the Buchanan & Bolt 
Company ; Jessie ; Amy R., wife of Hom«r 
E. Rawson. of Kuna, Idaho. After the 
death of her husband, Mrs. Buchanan re- 
tained her interests in the Buchanan & 
Bolt Company, and is now its most effi- 
cient president, proving herself a woman 
of strons: executive abilitv. 



PRENTISS, George Whiting, 
Mannfactnrer, Financier, Philantliropist. 

Whether considered as manufacturer, 
financier or philanthropist, George Wil- 
liam Prentiss must be accorded high rank 
among the honored, progressive and 
valued business men of Holyoke, who in 
their day and generation laid broad and 
deep the foundations upon which a great 
manufacturing community has arisen. 
He was one of the first manufacturers of 
his class to realize that Holyoke possessed 
potential greatness, and with his capital 
and his own strong personality he began 
the work of proving his faith by his 
works. He was well advanced in octo- 
genarian dignity when called to his re- 
ward, and all but twenty-eight of his 
eighty-six years had been spent in Hol- 
yoke, the little wire mill of 1857 having 
grown during these years into the great 
corporation known as George W. Pren- 
tiss & Company, and of which he was the 
executive head. 

Prentice or Prentiss is an ancient sur- 



30 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



name, the spelling always having varied 
as it does to-day, branches of the same 
family using both "tice" and "tiss." The 
American ancestor of George W. Pren- 
tiss, of Holyoke, was Captain Thomas 
Prentice, born in England in 1621, and is 
first of mention in America in the records 
of the First Church of Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, he having joined that church 
about 1652. He was known as the 
"trooper" from the fact that from 1656 he 
was lieutenant and captain of horse at 
Newton, Massachusetts, and it is a matter 
of record that "he and his troop of horse, 
owing to their sudden attacks and im- 
petuous charges, were a terror to the 
Indians." He led his troop at the "Swamp 
Fight," and when his long and useful life 
of public service was over he was laid 
to rest in the old burying ground at New- 
ton with military honors, July 8, 1710. 

He was succeeded by his son, Thomas 
(2) Prentice, a famous Indian interpreter, 
from whom the line of descent follows 
through Rev. John Prentiss, a graduate 
of Harvard, and the fourth pastor of Lan- 
caster, Massachusetts, 1705-48; his son, 
John Prentiss ; his son, George Samuel 
Prentiss ; his son, Samuel Prentiss ; his 
son. Deacon Samuel Prentiss ; his son, 
George Whiting Prentiss, to whose 
memory this tribute is offered. Deacon 
Samuel Prentiss, of the seventh American 
generation, married Clarissa Whiting, and 
moved to Claremont, New Hampshire, 
w^here he conducted a tanning business 
until 1857, when he returned to Massa- 
chusetts, settling with his son, George W. 
Prentiss, in Holyoke, where he died in 

1877. 

George W. Prentiss was born in Clare- 
mont, New Hampshire, October 10, 1829, 
and died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
April 2, 1915. He completed a high school 
course in Claremont, and after graduation 
obtained a position as clerk in a store at 



Fairhaven, Massachusetts. After a short 
term as clerk in Bedford, Massachusetts, 
he entered the employ of the Henry S. 
Washburn Wire W'orks at Worcester, 
Massachusetts, remaining there three 
years. This was the beginning of his life- 
long connection with wire manufacturing, 
the business proving very much to his 
liking and he proving his aptitude for the 
business. He won the high regard of the 
management of the works, and during the 
three years in Worcester acquired so 
thorough a knowledge of the business 
that he was sent to South Boston as man- 
ager of the Norway Iron Works owned 
by the W'ashburns. He remained in that 
position about three years, then decided 
the time had come to begin an independ- 
ent career as a manufacturer. He chose 
Holyoke as a location, and in 1857 began 
wire manufacture in a small mill now 
ow-ned by the Parsons Paper Company. 
He began with a partner as Prentiss & 
Gray, but in about a year purchased his 
partner's interest and conducted the busi- 
ness under his own name until 1871. The 
product of the mill found instant favor, 
and from an annual output of one hundred 
tons made by a force of eight men the 
plant grew to a point where as high as 
ten tons of finished wire were turned out 
daily by a force of one hundred workmen. 
As the business grew, quarters more 
commodious and suitable were found in 
a building owned by the Holyoke Water 
Power Company. In 1871, the business 
becoming too important to be controlled 
by one man, Mr. Prentiss admitted his 
cousin, Marden W. Prentiss, to a partner- 
ship, he having been superintendent of 
the plant for ten years previous. The 
firm in 1871 planned and erected the plant 
substantially as it now stands, although 
other buildings have been bought and 
built. In 1877 the firm was further en- 
larged by the admission of William Albert 



31 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Prentiss, a son of the founder. Later the 
firm was incorporated as George \V. 
Prentiss & Company, the founder becom- 
ing the president of the company, a post 
he filled most efificiently until his death. 
As the years added their weight he grad- 
ually shifted the burdens of management 
to younger shoulders, but until stricken 
with a fatal illness regularly visited the 
company's offices. 

The development and management of 
his wire mills fully tested his physical and 
mental strength for many years, but as 
partners w^ere admitted and the burdens 
shifted to the corporation's officials, he 
was freer to take active part in other 
important institutions of his city. He 
was a director of the Deane Steam Pump 
Company of Holyoke, treasurer of the 
Holyoke & Westfield Railroad Company 
for several years, but his principal outside 
connection was with Holyoke's financial 
institutions. He was for many years 
president of the Holyoke Savings Bank, 
and when he finally surrendered the 
executive management he retained his 
membership on the board of directors, 
thus continuing a potent force in the 
bank's affairs until his death. He was 
for many years a director of the Holyoke 
National Bank and at one period its able 
president, and also served the Third Na- 
tional Bank of Springfield as a member of 
its board of directors. 

His was not a sordid nature, selfishly 
seeking his own aggrandizement, but 
with a broad public spirit he aided in all 
movements for civic betterment and moral 
uplift. He was very popular in his city, 
and had he chosen to enter the political 
field would have gone to higher position. 
But he steadfastly refused the importun- 
ities of his friends, and beyond service on 
the Board of Aldermen from Ward Six 
in 1874-75 and as a member of the Board 
of Sinking Fund Commissioners for a 



number of years, his deep interest in civic 
affairs was as a private citizen. He served 
as a director of Holyoke Public Library 
from its earliest days, and was ever a 
w^arm friend of that valuable institution, 
also of the Holyoke City Hospital. He 
was a member and a strong pillar of sup- 
port of the Second Congregational 
Church, and was affiliated with Mt. Tom 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. 

So the life of a good man and valuable 
citizen was passed, although the fore- 
going but dimly outlines his usefulness 
and value to his community. No words 
can express the beauty of his character 
nor the depth of his influence. \Vith a 
strongly developed character, upright, 
honorable and just, went a charming per- 
sonality. His open, frank face and kindly 
eyes were but the windows of his soul. 
Said one of his intimates : "It makes no 
difference on what errand you go to Mr. 
Prentiss he smiles." And he smiled from 
his heart, smiled on the world, smiled at 
his office and he smiled at home. His 
was a w^orld of sunshine, happiness and 
love, exemplifying Byron's line "Happi- 
ness was born a twin." 

Mr. Prentiss married, May 30, 1852, 
Jane D. Washburn, of Kingston, Massa- 
chusetts. They w-ere the parents of a son, 
William Albert Prentiss, mentioned be- 
low, and a daughter, Clara Jane, born 
February 18, 1862, married William B. 
Tubby, of Greenwich, Connecticut. 



PRENTISS, William Albert, 

Mannfactnrer, Financier. 

William Albert Prentiss, son of George 
Whiting and Jane D. (Washburn) Pren- 
tiss, was born in Elmwood now Bridge- 
water. Massachusetts, July 10, 1854. He 
was three years of age when his parents 
moved to Holyoke, and until the present 
(1917) he has continued his residence in 



32 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



that city. He attended public schools, 
passed to Williston Seminary, thence to 
the Massachusetts Institute of Tech- 
nology, whence he was graduated, class 
of '75 with the degree of Bachelor of 
Science. He began business life in asso- 
ciation with his honored father, became 
a partner in 1877, and upon the incorpora- 
tion of George W. Prentiss & Company, 
was elected its treasurer. He remained 
the capable financial head of the company 
until the death of George W. Prentiss, 
then succeeded him as executive head. 
His long years of association with this 
important and successful corporation has 
developed a strong and capable executive, 
whose soul is in the business he aided to 
create and to which he is bound by ties 
stronger than the hope of gain or fame. 
He is also vice-president of the Holyoke 
Savings Bank, and director of the City 
National Bank and of the City Hospital. 

Mr. Prentiss married, October 2, 1877, 
Helen Maria Hubbard, daughter of Moses 
Nash and Julia J. (Parsons) Hubbard, a 
descendant in the ninth generation from 
George Hubbard, the American ancestor, 
through his son, John Hubbard, his son, 
Isaac Hubbard, his son, John Hubbard, 
his son, Elisha Hubbard, his son, Elisha 
(2) Hubbard, his son, Jeremiah Hubbard, 
his son, Moses Nash Hubbard, his daugh- 
ter, Helen Maria (Hubbard) Prentiss. 
Mr. and Mrs. Prentiss are the parents of 
a son, George William Prentiss, men- 
tioned below, and a daughter. Bertha 
Helen Prentiss. 



PRENTISS, George William, 

Mannfacturer. 

George William Prentiss, of the tenth 
American generation of his family, son of 
William Albert and Helen Maria (Hub- 
bard) Prentiss, was born in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, November 2y, 1881. He 

Ma8s — 6—3 



was educated in Holyoke public schools, 
Worcester Academy and Massachusetts 
Institute of Technology, and is a graduate 
of the last named institution, class of 1905, 
degree of Bachelor of Science. He began 
business life immediately after gradu- 
ation, as secretary of George W. Prentiss 
& Company, a position he ably filled up 
to January i, 1917, when he became 
treasurer, which position he fills at the 
present time. He is a member of his 
college fraternities, and Mt. Tom Golf 
and Holyoke Canoe clubs, fond of out-of- 
door recreations, and worthily bears a 
name honored in Holyoke since the com- 
ing of his grandfather in 1857 and in Mas- 
sachusetts for over two and a half cen- 
turies. Mr. Prentiss married, June 8, 
1910, Isabelle Wheat, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Clara (Abercrombie) Wheat, 
of Springfield, Massachusetts. 



JUDD, Philip Munson, 

Business Man. 

xA.lthough one of the ancient and honor- 
able families of New England, Judds did 
not become affiliated with the business 
interests of Holyoke until 1878, when 
John Kellogg Judd there located. In 
1882 he organized the Judd Paper Com- 
pany, of which he is yet the honored 
president, his son, Philip Munson Judd, 
being the efficient treasurer of the same 
corporation. 

( I) The name is an ancient one in Eng- 
land, and was brought to America in 1632 
or 1634 by Deacon Thomas Judd, who 
came from England, settling at Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts, in that part of the 
town known as the West End on the 
W^atertown road. In 1636 he moved to 
Hartford, Connecticut, removing thence 
to Farmington in 1644, where he was one 
of the first proprietors, a man of sub- 
stance and influence. He was deputy to 



.33 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the General Court several times, a charter 
member and second deacon of the Farm- 
ington church, and died November 12, 
1688, at Northampton, Massachusetts, 
aged about eighty. 

(II) Samuel Judd, son of Deacon 
Thomas Judd, and his first w^ife, was born 
in Farmington about 1651, died January 
10, 1721, in Northampton. After the 
death of his father he took care of his 
stepmother, and in return she deeded him 
her property, inherited from her first hus- 
band, Thomas Mason, on Pleasant street. 
He also owned other property, inherited 
from his father. He married Mariah 
Strong, who died May 18, 1751, aged 
eighty-eight, daughter of Thomas and 
Mary (Hewet) Strong. They were the 
parents of ten sons and daughters. 

(III) Thomas Judd, son of Samuel 
Judd, was born in Northampton, Massa- 
chusetts, January 28, 1691, died Decem- 
oer 31, 1749. He removed to the east side 
of Mount Tom, in the town of Northamp- 
ton, to what is known as South Farms, 
opposite South Hadley. He married Han- 
nah Bascom, who died July 16, 1768, aged 
seventy-four, daughter of Thomas Bas- 
com. They were the parents of seven 
sons and three daughters. 

(IV) Reuben Judd, son of Thomas 
Judd, died March 7, 181 5, in his eighty- 
seventh year, a resident of South Hadley. 
He married (first) Elizabeth White, who 
died May 9, 1765, aged twenty-four, 
daughter of Moses White, of South Had- 
ley. He married (second) Elizabeth 
Smith, who died March 31, 1781, aged 
thirty-one, daughter of John Smith. He 
married (third) Submit Graves, who died 
in Hadley, December 24, 1830, daughter 
of Moses Graves, of Hatfield. He had by 
his three wives fourteen children. 

(V) Salathiel Judd, eldest son of 
Reuben Judd and his second wife, Eliza- 
beth (Smith) Judd, was born August 31, 



1769, settled in Chester, Massachusetts, 
where he died in 182 1. He married Irene 
Day, who died in South Hadley, daughter 
of Abraham Day. They were the parents 
of ten children, all born in Chester, except 
the eldest. 

(VI) Salathiel (2) Judd, son of Sala- 
thiel (i) and Irene (Day) Judd, was born 
in Chester, Massachusetts, May 3, 1795, 
died in South Hadley, March 28, 1842. 
He married Laura Taylor, and they were 
the parents of six children, all born in 
Chester but the youngest, who was born 
in South Hadley. 

(VII) Harvey Judd, son of Salathiel 
(2) and Laura (Taylor) Judd, was born 
in Chester, October 7, 1822, died June 14, 
1901. He was a carpenter by trade, but 
later founded the Judd Brothers Com- 
pany, and in connection with this he also 
operated a paper mill at South Hadley 
Falls. He resided on a farm in South Had- 
ley. He married Catherine B. Kellogg, 
born in 1826-27, died October 28, 1891, 
daughter of John and Laura (Chapin) 
Kellogg. They were the parents of John 
Kellogg Judd, mentioned below ; Mary 
Laura ; Eliza G., born May 22, 1863, mar- 
ried E. J. Church ; Alfred Taylor, of 
Greenfield, Massachusetts, a paper manu- 
facturer. 

(VIII) John Kellogg Judd, son of 
Harvey and Catherine B, (Kellogg) Judd, 
was born in South Hadley, Massachu- 
setts, January 27, 185 1, and since 1878 has 
been a resident of Holyoke. He was edu- 
cated in public schools and Hopkins 
Academy at Old Hadley, beginning his 
business career at the age of twenty as a 
traveling salesman. In 1878 he located 
in Holyoke, and in 1882 organized the 
Judd Paper Company, wholesale paper 
dealers. In 1890 the business was incor- 
porated under the same name, John Kel- 
logg Judd its first and as yet its only 
president. The company is a most pros- 



34 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



perous one, conducting a large business 
with the paper trade all over the United 
States. In addition to his duties as execu- 
tive head of the Judd Paper Company, he 
is vice-president of the Peoples Savings 
Bank ; he was a director of the City Bank, 
and of the Home Bank, all of Holyoke. 
He is a Republican in politics, and has 
taken part in the municipal government, 
both as citizen and official, serving as 
president of council two years and as 
alderman two years. He was a deacon 
of the First Congregational Church for 
thirty-two years, and is interested in all 
good causes. He is fond of out-of-doors 
and its pleasures, finding both relaxation 
and enjoyment in the advantages ]\Iount 
Tom Golf Club affords its members. 

Mr. Judd married, July 5, 1876, Cleora 
Fowler Munson, daughter of Garry and 
Harriet (Lyman) Munson, of Hunting- 
ton, Massachusetts, and granddaughter of 
Deacon Samuel Lyman. Mr. and Mrs. 
Judd are the parents of two sons : Philip 
Munson, mentioned below ; Clifi'ord Kel- 
logg; and a daughter, Cleora Marion, 
married Charles H. Graves. 

(IX) Philip Munson Judd, eldest son 
of John Kellogg and Cleora Fowler (Mun- 
son) Judd, was born in Huntington, 
Massachusetts, April 19. 1877. His 
parents moved to Holyoke the next year 
and he has known no other home. He 
was educated in Holyoke public schools 
and Worcester Academy, and began his 
business career in association with his 
father in the Judd Paper Company. With 
the exception of a year spent with the 
Esleeck Paper Company, in which he had 
an interest, his time and energy have been 
given to the Judd Paper Company, of 
which he is treasurer. He is a Republican 
in politics, and has given much of his 
time and business experience to civic 
affairs. He was a member of the Board 
of Aldermen, 1908-09 and 1910, serving as 



president of the board one and one-half 
years. During the years 1911-12-13 he 
was a member of the board of fire com- 
missioners and during the last two years 
of his term was chairman of the board. 
He is a member of the Mount Tom Golf 
and Holyoke Canoe clubs, his favorite 
recreations being the sports promoted by 
these clubs. He is a member of the First 
Congregational Church, and is interested 
in all worthy causes. 

Mr. Judd married, June 20, 1906, Fern 
C. Wheeler, daughter of Edgar S. and 
Emma (Deniston) Wheeler, born in Peru, 
Indiana, but resided in Detroit, Michigan. 
They are the parents of a daughter, Eliza- 
beth Wheeler Judd, born December 29, 
1908. 



JUDD, William Eliott, 

■Well "Knovim Educator. 

The name Judd is one of the oldest 
surnames in England and is identical with 
Jude, an old and now almost obsolete 
personal name. Judson and Judkins are 
formed from the same name. Henry 
Judde, of County Kent, England, and 
John Judde, of Oxfordshire, England, are 
named in "The Hundred Rolls of 1275" 
and the family has been seated in County 
Kent down to the present time. Sir An- 
drew Judd, a dealer in skins and furs, of 
London, son of John Judd, of Tunbridge, 
Kent, was mayor of London in 1650, a 
man of wealth and influence. The family 
bore arms : Gules a fesse between three 
boars" heads couped argent. It is believed 
that all the Judds descended from this 
Kent family. 

Deacon Thomas Judd, the founder of 
the American family, came from England 
in 1633 and settled in Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, where he was granted a home 
lot in August, 1634. The first grant was 
in that part of the town known as the 



35 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



West End on the road to Watertown. 
Other lands were later granted him, and 
on May 25, 1635, he was admitted a free- 
man. In 1636 he moved to Hartford, 
Connecticut, and was granted a home lot 
of two acres near the "Charter Oak." 
About 1644 he moved to Farmington, 
Connecticut, where he was one of the 
first proprietors and settlers, his home lot 
having been on the main street. He be- 
came one of the prominent men of the 
town ; was deputy to the General Court 
several terms ; a charter member of the 
Farmington church and its second deacon, 
and a substantial farmer. After his sec- 
ond marriage he moved to Northampton, 
where he was a selectman and a resident 
until his death, November 12, 1688, aged 
about eighty years. His first wife died in 
Farmington, and he married (second) 
December 2, 1679, Clemence, widow of 
Thomas Mason. He was the father of 
nine children, among whom was Sam.uel, 
of whom further. 

Samuel Judd, son of Deacon Thomas 
Judd and his first wife, was born about 
the year 1651. He married Mariah 
Strong, and the line of descent was 
through their son, Thomas Judd ; his son, 
Reuben Judd ; his son, Samuel Judd, of 
South Hadley, Massachusetts, who mar- 
ried Fidelia Wright. His son, Samuel 
Judd, was born in South Hadley, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1806, and died in Michigan, 
aged eighty-three years. After complet- 
ing his studies in the local schools, he 
engaged in paper manufacture, and later 
was the owner of a mill at South Hadley. 
He was a man of active, enterprising dis- 
position, and in 1853 "went West, became 
a dealer in grain and operated a meat 
market at what is now the city of Grand 
Rapids, Michigan. At one time he was 
the owner of about one hundred and four- 
teen acres, comprising practically all the 
land now in the city of Grand Rapids. He 



married Julia Swan, and among their 
children was Samuel Adolphus, of whom 
further. 

Samuel Adolphus Judd, son of Samuel 
and Julia (Swan) Judd, was born in 
South Hadley, Massachusetts, in 1834, 
and met his death at the battle of Fair 
Oaks, Virginia, May 31, 1862. He was 
educated in the schools of his native town, 
and in 1853 accompanied his father West, 
and assisted him in his various activities, 
being associated with him in the conduct 
of his meat lousiness at Grand Rapids, 
Michigan, at the outbreak of the Civil 
War. When Fort Sumter was fired upon 
he assisted in organizing Company A, and 
was chosen as its captain. This company 
became part of the Third Regiment, Mich- 
igan Volunteer Infantry, and as such 
went to the front. This regiment was one 
of the many composing the Army of the 
Potomac. He continued in the service 
and passed through all the battles up to 
that of Fair Oaks, where he was mortally 
wounded and died at the early age of 
twenty-eight years. No greater monu- 
ment can be erected to any man's memory 
than one bearing the inscription "He died 
for his country." Captain Judd married 
Clara Smith and they were the parents 
of two children : William Eliott of whom 
further ; Jennie E., who became the wife 
of C. P. Lyman, of Holyoke, ^^lassachu- 
setts. 

William Eliott Judd, of Holyoke, of 
the eighth American generation, son of 
Captain Samuel Adolphus and Clara 
(Smith) Judd, was born at Grand Rapids, 
Michigan, September 3, 1855. He was in 
his seventh year when his father was 
killed. The family remained in Grand 
Rapids, and he there attended primary, 
grammar and high school, and during his 
second year in high school he removed 
from Grand Rapids, Michigan, to Massa- 
chusetts, completing his preparatory 



36 












i.rPLDT^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



studies at Monson Academy. He then 
entered Amherst College, from which in- 
stitution he was graduated in the class of 
1874, in his nineteenth year. He was a 
Phi Beta Kappa man. He came at once 
to Holyoke, where he secured a position 
as a teacher in the high school and filled 
the position acceptably to all concerned 
for six years. He then was appointed 
principal of the grammar school, in which 
capacity he served for two years. He 
then removed to Hartford, Connecticut, 
and there taught history and Latin in the 
Hartford High School for three years, up 
to 1885, when he returned to Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, and became principal of 
the high school and thus served for twelve 
years, up to 1897, when he resigned, but 
was again appointed to the position of 
principal of the South Holyoke Grammar 
School, serving from that time to the 
present (1916). He has assisted in mak- 
ing many changes for the benefit of the 
school system and pupils. The present 
structure was erected in 1907 and is one 
of the most modernly equipped in the city, 
suited to the needs of the teachers and 
scholars. As originally planned the build- 
ing had no assembly hall, and Mr. Judd 
used his influence to have the plans 
changed and the result was a beautiful 
hall seating eight hundred persons, hav- 
ing the best of acoustic properties, being 
located on the upper floor, which adds 
greatly to the pleasure and convenience 
of all interested parties. Mr. Judd is the 
oldest educator now in service in Hol- 
yoke, serving in that profession for the 
long period of forty years, thirty-seven of 
which have been in Holyoke. When he 
began teaching in the high school there 
were only three teachers, and at the pres- 
ent time (1916) they have forty, and then 
Holyoke had only one grammar school 
and now it has five. Such is his record 
that he is known and beloved by thous- 



ands of scholars, who under his direction 
have so shaped their careers as to become 
successful men and women and who to- 
day regard him as their staunchest and 
truest friend. Mr. Judd has made a 
special study of history and is frequently 
called upon to make addresses on his- 
torical topics. Mr. Judd is a Republican 
in politics, and in 1899 represented Hol- 
yoke in the State Legislature, serving on 
the educational committee. He is a 
member and deacon of the First Congre- 
gational Church, and a member of George 
B. McClellan Camp, Sons of \"eterans. 
of which he was the first comanander, and 
a literary society known as "The Club." 
Mr. Judd married, July 16, 1878, 
Frances L Brown, of Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, daughter of James and Catherine 
(Squier) Brown. Children : Mabel, 
teacher of English in Holyoke High 
School ; Samuel E., teacher of Latin in 
Morris High School in New York City; 
he married Rose Althea Haigh and they 
have a daughter, Althea. 



PFAHLER, Martin Christian, 

Representative Citizen. 

The grandfather of Martin C. Pfahler, 
of Holyoke, Massachusetts, Christian G. 
Pfahler, born in Wurtemberg, Germany, 
came to the United States prior to 1800. 
and settled in York, Pennsylvania, where 
he died in January, 1868, aged eighty- 
four years. His wife, whom he married 
in Germany, died in York, January 10, 
1863. He was a wood turner, operating 
a foot lathe prior to the introduction of 
power lathes. His entire life in the 
United States was spent in York. He 
and his wife were the parents of five sons : 
Jacob; Charles and Christian, twins ; Wil- 
liam and Henry. 

Charles Pfahler, son of Christian G. 
Pfahler, and twin with Christian (2) 



Z7 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Pfahler. was born in York, Pennsylvania, 
in 1819. died there January 2, 1883. After 
completing his years of school life, he 
became a clerk and later a merchant, his 
entire life being spent in mercantile busi- 
ness in York. Here he was an enterpris- 
ing merchant and a leader. Among the 
incidents of importance in his life was the 
fact that when General Lee invaded Penn- 
sylvania in 1863, General Early being in 
command of the army holding York. 
General Lee demanded a cash tribute of 
$100,000. which Mr. Pfahler was instru- 
mental in raising to the satisfaction of the 
demands of the invaders. He took a 
prominent part in religious matters, and 
was a member of the Lutheran Church ; 
also of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, a man of strict integrity and up- 
right life. He married Catherine Weiser. 
born in York, in 1821. died December 27. 
1897, daughter of Martin J. and Cather- 
ine CHaller) Weiser. Children: Emma 
Catherine, married Dr. Charles A. Isen- 
hart : Martin Christian, of further men- 
tion : Clara Anna. 

Martin Christian Pfahler. only son of 
Charles and Catherine (Weiser) Pfahler, 
was born in York. Pennsylvania. Febru- 
ary 19. 1847, snd there educated in the 
public schools and York County Acad- 
emy. He remained at home until attain- 
ing his majority in 1868. then came to 
Massachusetts, locating in Holyoke. His 
first position was as clerk in the offices of 
the Germania Mills, where he continued 
seventeen months. In July. 1869. he 
entered the clerical employ of the Parsons 
Paper Company, was advanced in rank 
from time to time until 1875 when he was 
appointed superintendent. For about a 
quarter of a century he held that position. 
1875-1899. the Parsons Paper Company 
in the latter year becoming an integral 
part of the American Writing Paper 
Company. With the change in manage- 



ment there came a change in position for 
Mr. Pfahler. and from July, 1899. until his 
resignation. January i, 1917, he was pur- 
chasing agent for the American Writing 
Paper Company. His term of service as 
clerk, superintendent and purchasing 
agent with the same interests covers but 
little short of the half century. 1869-1917, 
ill health causing his retirement. His 
Holyoke residence covers the half century, 
however, and he is one of the men who 
have consistently and persistently aided 
in the upbuilding of a great manufactur- 
ing city. In 1892 Mr. Pfahler erected his 
present beautiful home on Linden street 
and there his hours "oflF duty" were spent, 
his nature a dom-estic. home loving one. 
His business and his home have ever been 
the two great attractions of his life, 
neither club, fraternity nor public life 
holding any attraction for him. 

Mr. Pfahler married, in 1872. ^^ary 
Tyler, of York. Pennsylvania, daughter of 
Matthew and Lydia Tyler. They are the 
parents of six children of whom four are 
deceased : A daughter Ella and a son 
Horace Weiser are living. Ella married 
Joseph B. Woodruff, of the American 
Writing Paper Company, and has a 
daughter Catherine : Horace Weiser. also 
connected with the American Writing 
Paper Company, married Pearl Chase, 
and they are the parents of Martin Chris- 
tian (2) and lane Chase Pfahler. 



CALLAHAN, John R.. 

Attomey-at-Law. 

Among the able and distinguished 
members of the bar of Hampden county, 
Massachusetts, is John R. Callahan, 
whose professional career covers a period 
of more than a quarter of a century, and 
who has won distinctive prominence 
through the possession of those qualities 
which always insure success, close appli- 



33 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cation, keen analytical power, logical 
reasoning and accurate deductions. He 
was born at Old Hadley, Hampden 
county, Massachusetts, April 28, 1868, son 
of John and Bridget (Stack) Callahan, 
who were the parents of eight children, 
namely: i. Ellen, now deceased, was the 
wife of James Halpin, a farmer in Old 
Hadley. 2. Cornelius, who has devoted 
his active career to farming pursuits ; has 
been prominent in town affairs in Old 
Hadley, serving as assessor for many 
years, and selectman for the past ten 
years. 3. Patrick. 4. Mary, makes her 
home with her brother Patrick on the old 
homestead. 5. Catherine, a graduate of 
normal school, and for many years a suc- 
cessful teacher in the Highland School in 
Holyoke. 6. John R., of whom further. 
7. and 8. Children who died in early life. 
John Callahan (father) was born in 
County Kerry, Ireland, in 1819, emigrated 
to the United States in 1850, located in 
Old Hadley, Massachusetts, where he fol- 
lowed farming as an occupation, w^on and 
retained the esteem and respect of all who 
knew him, and his death occurred in 1885, 
aged sixty-five years. His wife, Bridget 
Callahan, was also born in County Kerry, 
Ireland, and died in 1907 at the age of 
eighty-five years. 

John R. Callahan received his prepara- 
tory education in the public schools of 
Old Hadley, then became a student at 
Hopkins Academy, after which he ma- 
triculated at Amherst College, graduating 
in 1889 with the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts. Immediately after his graduation 
he began the study of law in the office of 
Captain David Hill, of Northampton, a 
prominent attorney there, under whose 
competent instruction he remained for 
two years, and then attended the Boston 
University Law School, where he supple- 
mented his previous knowledge by a full 
course of study. After passing a success- 



ful legal examination, he was admitted to 
the Hampshire county bar at Northamp- 
ton, October 16, 1891. For a short period 
of time he practiced his profession in the 
office of his former preceptor, Captain 
David Hill, at Northampton, and in 1892 
opened an office in Holyoke and has been 
engaged in general practice there since, 
his clientele increasing with each passing 
year, owing to the fact that he clearly 
demonstrated his ability to successfully 
handle the intricate problems of juris- 
prudence. He has also gained an enviable 
reputation for himself in the ranks of the 
legal profession in Hampshire county, re- 
taining an office in Northampton, where 
he is as well known as in Holyoke. Upon 
attaining his majority Mr. Callahan gave 
his allegiance to the Democratic party, 
but of late years has been independent in 
politics, preferring to cast his vote for the 
man best qualified for office. He is a 
member of the Chamber of Commerce of 
Holyoke, in which he takes an active 
interest ; the Knights of Columbus, and 
the Northampton Club. 

Mr. Callahan married, August 2^, 1896, 
Katherine A. Griffin, born in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, daughter of John Griffin, 
now deceased, who was a successful me- 
chanic, and his wife, Mary (Lawler) 
Griffin, who were the parents of four chil- 
dren, namely: Michael J., now deceased, 
who was a well known man in Holyoke, 
serving at different times in the capacity 
of city clerk, mayor, postmaster and city 
solicitor ; Anna, wife of John F. Shea ; 
Margaret, wife of Albert F. Sickman ; and 
Katherine A. Mr. and Mrs. Callahan are 
the parents of two children : Ellen, a 
graduate of Hopkins Academy, now a 
student of Smith College, class of 1920; 
John R., Jr., student at Hopkins Acad- 
emy, class of 1918. 

Mr. Callahan is a man of wide acquaint- 
ance, and his circle of friends is large. 



39 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In a profession where advancement de- 
pends upon individual merit he has 
steadily worked his way upward, un- 
flagging effort and strong mentality 
winning him prominence at the bar. His 
social qualities, too, have gained him a 
large following, and his eminent fitness 
for leadership has made him an important 
factor in communitv affairs. 



JENKS, Charles Calvin, 

Veteran of Paper Mannf actnre. 

At the age of twenty-one years, Charles 
Calvin Jenks, ex-president of the Whiting 
Paper Company of Holyoke, and presi- 
dent of the L. L. Brown Paper Company 
of Adams, first came to Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts. That was half a century ago 
and there he yet dwells, high in the 
esteem of his fellow-men, honored in the 
business world and interested in all that 
makes for better things. His rise was not 
meteoric, but from the bottom of the 
ladder he rose through many deserved 
promotions to the presidency of a great 
com.pany, his every promotion marked by 
untiring industry and the efficient fulfil- 
ment of its duties. He did not wait for 
opportunity to knock, but so well did he 
perform each duty that he was always a 
station ahead of the fickle goddess wait- 
ing for her to catch up. In other words, 
he created a demand for his services, and 
then met the demand with such efficient 
service that the demand increased with 
each upward step. 

Mr. Jenks descends from Joseph Jenks, 
that early inventive and mechanical 
genius to whom the General Court of 
Massachusetts in 1646 granted a patent 
for engines for water mills, and with 
whom the selectmen of Boston were 
authorized in 1658 to arrange with for the 
construction of fire engines. He also 
made the dye for making what was 



known as the Pine Tree Shilling which 
was much in use at that time and so high 
was his standard for his honesty that the 
bullion for making the shillings was de- 
livered to him without weighing. And 
the number of shillings which he turned 
out from the bullion thus received were 
accepted without question. Joseph Jenks 
transm.itted his genius and ability to his 
descendants, and a son, Joseph (2) Jenks, 
established a forge and saw mill in Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, in 1671. Joseph (i) 
Jenks was succeeded by a race of smitl 
and manufacturers in both Rhode Island 
and Massachusetts, his grandson, Ed- 
mund Jenks, returning from Rhode Island 
and settling in Adams, Massachusetts. 
Samuel Jenks, son of Joseph (2) Jenks, 
had a small cotton mill at Adams, but 
later abandoned it and operated a grist 
and flour mill. Daniel Jenks, son of 
Samuel and Maria Keziah Jenks, died in 
Adams, Massachusetts, aged eighty years, 
a manufacturer, cattle dealer and land 
owner. He married (first) Lucy Brown, 
and they were the parents of a son, Edwin 
Franklin Jenks. 

Edwin Franklin Jenks was born in 
xA-dams, Massachusetts, in August, 1821, 
died in January, 1868. His connection 
with paper manufacturing was lifelong. 
In 1865 he with L. L. Brown and William 
Whiting formed the W^hiting Paper Com- 
pany of Holyoke, Mr. Jenks being the 
first treasurer of the com.pany. He died 
at the early age of forty-seven, but each 
year was well accounted for. He was a 
director of the First National Bank of 
Adams, a trustee of Worcester State In- 
sane Asylum, member of the Massachr 
setts House of Assembly, several terms 
member of the Governor's Council, a Free 
Mason, an Odd Fellow and a Univer- 
salist. He married Nancy, daughter of 
Daniel Fisk, and they were the parents of 
Edmund ; Charles Calvin, of further men- 



40 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tion ; Lucy B., married Edward J. Noble, 
and resides in Adams ; and William Sam- 
uel, who resided in Adams, now deceased. 
Charles Calvin Jenks, of the seventh 
American generation, was born in Adams, 
Massachusetts, March 6, 1845. He was 
educated in the schools of Adams, and 
spent four years in a preparatory school 
in Lanesboro. He then entered Tuft's 
College, there completing a full classical 
course, receiving his Bachelor's degree 
with the class of 1866. Immediately after 
graduation, he entered the employ of the 
Whiting Paper Company at Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, beginning at the bottom, 
but finally reaching the presidency. In 
that responsible position, which was 
reached after a record of efficiency in 
subordinate positions of ever increasing 
importance, he was retained for several 
years, resigning finally to accept his pres- 
ent office, the presidency of the L. L. 
Brown Paper Company of Adams. Dur- 
ing this half century of activity, Mr. Jenks 
has made Holyoke his home, but his busi- 
ness interests have spread far beyond that 
city and he is equally well known in the 
business circles of Springfield and Adams. 
In addition to the presidency of the L. L. 
Brown Paper Company, he is a director 
of the Chapin Bank of Springfield, the 
Graylock National Bank of Adams and 
vice-president of the Holyoke Savings 
Bank. He is one of the honored veterans 
of the paper manufacturing business of 
Holyoke, his connection covering the 
period of fifty years, his service with the 
business world being from 1866 to 1917. 
While he has made paper manufacturing 
and corporate management the great 
work of his life, therein winning high 
reputation, he has taken a deep interest 
in civic affairs, but solely as a citizen, 
office holding having no place in his 
scheme of life. He is a member of Mt. 
Tom Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; 



Mt. Holyoke Chapter, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons ; Holyoke Council, Royal and Select 
Masters ; Connecticut Valley Lodge, 
Knights of Pythias. He is a Universalist 
in religious preference, and in political 
faith a Republican. His clubs are the Mt. 
Tom Golf, Holyoke Country, and Forest 
Park, the last named of Adams. 

Mr. Jenks married, November 18, 1868, 
Estelle R. Mosier, of New York, who died 
June, 1914, daughter of Ashley and Mary 
(Wilson) Mosier. Their only son, Daniel 
Ashley Jenks, born in 1877, is a graduate 
Bachelor of Arts of Tufts College, class 
of 1903. 



SMITH, Lawrence Frink, 

M anuf actnrer. 

Lawrence Frink Smith, of Holyoke, 
treasurer and manager of the Smith Tab- 
let Company, a corporation founded by 
his father, Frank Douglas Smith, de- 
scends from, Henry Smith, of Harpham 
Hall, England, who came to New Eng- 
land in the ship "Diligent," landing at 
Charlestown, 1638, with three sons, two 
daughters, three men servants and two 
maid servants. He settled first at Charles- 
town, where his children, Henry and 
Dorothy, were admitted to the church, 
July 10, 1639. He later removed to Hing- 
ham, where he was made a freeman, 
March 13, 1638-39. He served as deacon 
and deputy, was representative to the 
General Court in 1641, and December 9, 
1644, was one of nine chosen at a general 
meeting to consider the peace of the in- 
habitants. In 1643 he removed to Reho- 
both and was one of the early proprietors ; 
drew allotment of land. June 3, 1644; was 
made freeman of Plymouth colony, June 
4, 1645. His will is dated on the day of 
his death. November 3, 1647, probated 
June 4, 165 1, inventoried at one hundred 
and forty-nine pounds, sixteen shillings, 



41 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



October 24, 1650, and mentions wife, "his 
brother," Thomas Cooper, sons Henry 
and Daniel, and daughter Judith. His 
widow's will was probated December 14, 
1650, her death having occurred shortly 
after his. and was inventoried at one hun- 
dred and twenty pounds, six shillings. He 
married Judith Cooper and they had chil- 
dren : Judith ; Henry, mentioned below ; 
Hunt ; Dorothy and Daniel. 

(H) Ensign Henry (2) Smith, eldest 
son of Henry and Judith (Cooper) Smith, 
was born in England. He died. Novem- 
ber 24. 1676. and is buried with his wife 
in the old burial ground at Rehoboth, 
Massachusetts. He was a surveyor and 
yeoman, and prominent in the settlement 
of the town. He and his brother Daniel 
with Nathaniel Paine laid out fifty acres 
of land and five acres of meadow "unto 
John Stevenson, in consideration of John's 
help to his father-in-law. William Black- 
stone, by order of the Court for the juris- 
diction of New Plymouth." In 1641 he, 
with divers others, was granted eight 
miles square for the settlement of 
Secunke by Governor Bradford, to be a 
town bounded by Pultukett river. The 
value of his estate in 1643 was two hun- 
dred and sixty pounds. On May 24, 1652, 
he was chosen grand juryman ; February 
22, 1658, was accepted as a freeman ; May 
26, 1668, he drew a lot in the North Pur- 
chase (Attleboro) ; January 9, 1670-71, 
laid out bounds for Captain Hudson, of 
Boston, and John Fitch, of Rehoboth, for 
their warehouse and wharf. He was a 
representative to the General Court in 
1662 and for several years thereafter. He 
married Elizabeth Cooper. She died De- 
cember 3, 1690. Children: Jo.shua, men- 
tioned below; John. Elizabeth. Judith, 
Thomas, Mary, Henry, Abigail. 

(Ill) Ensign Joshua Smith, eldest child 
of Ensign Henry (2) and Elizabeth 
(Cooper) Smith, was born in Rehoboth, 



October 2, 1658, died there September 20, 
1719. He resided in the southeastern 
part of the town, and appears to have 
been a man of means as he and twenty 
others, all individuals of the "neighbor- 
hood of Palmer's river," entered into an 
agreement to free the town, on the receipt 
of fifty pounds, from all further expenses 
that might accrue to it from the building 
of the meeting house. This was about 
two years prior to his death. His name 
is found in the list of inhabitants and pro? 
prietors having rights and titles to the 
quit-claim deed of William Bradford of 
the town of New Plymouth (Rehoboth), 
February 7. 1689. He married, February 
9, 1687. Mary Peck, born in Rehoboth, 
November 17, 1662, daughter of Joseph 
and Hannah Peck. Children : Rebecca, 
Elizabeth, Henry, Joshua, mentioned be- 
low ; Sarah. 

(IV) Deacon Joshua (2) Smith, sec- 
ond son of Ensign Joshua (i) and Mary 
(Peck) Smith, was born in Rehoboth, 
Massachusetts, October 10, 1695. died De- 
cember 10, 1745. He lived near his father 
in the Palmer river district, and deeds 
show him to have been a yeoman with 
considerable property. He was captain 
of the military company, and May 9. 1733, 
was one of a committee of nine chosen to 
oversee the building of the new meeting 
house. He married, February 15, 1722, 
Mary Whitaker, born March 3. 1700, 
daughter of Samuel and Mary (Square) 
Whitaker. Children : Thomas, Joshua, 
mentioned below ; Samuel, Mary, Abigail, 
Elizabeth, David, Lydia, Huldah. 

(V) Joshua (3) Smith, son of Deacon 
Joshua (2) and Mary (Whitaker) Smith, 
was born in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, 
September 19, 1724. He was a soldier of 
the Revolution and served upon the Com- 
mittee of Safety, 1812. He married (first) 
June 16. 1748. Joanna Redway. (second) 
June 10, 1756, Mrs. Elizabeth Perrin 



42 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Walker, a widow, born November 17, 
1728. 

(VI) Captain Daniel Smith, son of 
Joshua (3) Smith, was born in Rehoboth. 
Massachusetts, September i, 1761, died in 
1826, and buried in East Cheshire. He 
was also a soldier of the Revolution, and 
is said to have been a prisoner of war on 
a prison ship for eight years. He mar- 
ried, April 28, 1785, Mary Bliss, born No- 
vember 20. 1763. died January 3, 1842, a 
daughter of Ephraim and Sarah (Reid) 
Bliss. 

(VH) David Smith, son of Captain 
Daniel and Mary (Bliss) Smith, was born 
in Cheshire, Massachusetts, December 27, 
1788, and died in Elgin, Illinois, in 1863. 
He built the Graylock Hotel at Adams, 
Massachusetts, prior to his going West. 
He married Susanna Brown, of Earlville, 
Illinois, who died in 1864, a daughter of 
Simon and Betsy (Topliff) Brown. They 
were the parents of a daughter, Isabel, 
and a son Lawrence. 

(VIII) Lawrence Smith, son of David 
and Susanna (Brown) Smith, w^as born 
September 16, 1809, died in Earlville, La- 
salle county, Illinois. He was killed by 
being accidentally shot while out hunt- 
ing. He married Susan Lapham, daugh- 
ter of George and Maria (Brown) Lap- 
ham. They were the parents of a son, 
Frank Douglass, of further mention, and 
two daughters. Flora and Kate, the latter 
the wife of William H. Wilson. 

(IX) Frank Douglass Smith, only son 
of Lawrence and Susan (Lapham) Smith, 
was born in Ottawa, Illinois, May 20, 
1852, died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
April 29. 1904. one of the best known men 
in the paper trade. In early life he came 
East to the State of his ancestors, and 
after living for a time in Adams located in 
Holyoke, in 1873. He first entered the 
employ of the old L'nion Paper Mill Com- 
pany, where he remained until 1880, when 



he formed a partnership with W. H. Wil- 
son and began the manufacture of tablets 
and writing pads, with a plant in the 
Whitcomb Building. In 1881 he bought 
Mr. Wilson's interest and was alone until 
1890, when he admitted E. N. White and 
formed the Smith & White Company. 
Later J. L. Wyckoft" was taken in, and 
in 1891 the business was incorporated as 
the Smith & White Company, with Mr. 
Smith president. In 1893 he sold his in- 
terest to his partners, who continued the 
business as the White-Wyckoff Company. 
Mr. Smith then became treasurer of the 
Smith, Wilson & Sears Company, con- 
tinuing until 1896, when, with W. H. 
Pryor. he organized the Smith Tablet 
Company, of which he was first manager, 
buying out Mr. Pyror's interest, and con- 
tinued in this position up to 1900, when 
he became treasurer, which office he held 
until his death. The company was a very 
successful one, and in its own particular 
field of manufacture a leader then as now. 
He was an able, progressive business 
man, and an untiring Christian worker, a 
member of the Second Baptist Church, 
also serving as superintendent of the Sun- 
day school. He was also deeply inter- 
ested in Christian Endeavor work. 

Mr. Smith married, in 1878, M. Lizzie 
Frink. a daughter of Moses and Amelia 
(Davis) Frink, of Willimansett, Massa- 
chusetts. Mr. and Mrs. Smith were the 
parents of three children : Lawrence 
Frink. mentioned below; Doris Lapham, 
born June 13, 1889; Carl Douglass, No- 
vember 20, 1894, married, January, 1916, 
Irene Haughwout, of Binghamton, New 
York. 

(X) Lawrence Frink Smith, eldest son 
of Frank Douglass and M. Lizzie (Frink) 
Smith, was born in Holyoke. Massachu- 
setts, January 6, 1882. He was educated 
in the graded and high schools of Hol- 
yoke and at \\'illiams College, which in- 



43 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



stitution he entered immediately after 
graduation from high school. After com- 
pleting his college study, he spent six 
years in the New York office of the Smith 
Tablet Company, up to 1907, then re- 
turned to Holyoke, where he has since 
been manager and treasurer of the Smith 
Tablet Company, which was incorporated 
under the original firm name, as above. 
Their product is shipped all over the 
United States, and to many foreign coun- 
tries. He is a member of the college fra- 
ternities, also Mt. Tom Golf and Holyoke 
Canoe clubs, and of the Second Baptist 
Church. 

Mr. Smith married, October 27. 1906, 
Mary Eliza Robinson, a daughter of 
Arthur and Clara (Sanford) Robinson, of 
North Adams, Massachusetts. 



GALLUP, Augustus Truman, 

Clothing Merchant of Holyoke, 

Augustus Truman Gallup comes of old 
Connecticut Colonial stock, and his pa- 
ternal ancestry has been traced to the 
time of the Norman Conquest in England. 
The surname Gallup or Gollop, as once 
spelled, is said to be of German origin, 
from words meaning God and peace. Ac- 
cording to old family tradition in Lor- 
raine, France, where there is a family of 
Gallups, one of the family was a fol- 
lower of William the Conqueror, and the 
same tradition exists in the English fam- 
ily. The Gallup coat-of-arms is de- 
scribed : Gules on a bend or, a lion pas- 
sant guardant sable. Crest: A demi-lion 
barry or and sable, holding in his dexter 
paw a broken arrow gules. Motto: "Be 
bolde Be Wyse." The following pedigree 
of the American immigrant is taken from 
the Visitation of Dorsetshire, 1623: 

(I) John Gallup came out of the north 
in the fifth year of the reign of Edward 
IV. in 1465. He married Alice, daughter 



and heir of William Temple, of Dorset- 
shire, and settled there. 

(II) John (2) Gallup, son of John (i) 
Gallup, lived at North Bowood and 
Temple, Dorsetshire, and died there in 
1533. He married Joan Collins, of Snails 
Croft, Dorsetshire. 

(III) Thomas Gallup, son of John (2) 
Gallup, died April 8, 1610. He married 
Agneta, daughter of Humphrey Watkins, 
of Holwell, Dorsetshire. Children : Ege- 
dins, went to Rome and became a priest ; 
Humphrey; John, mentioned below; 
Thomas, heir of North Bowood and 
Strode, died December, 1622. 

(IV) John (3) Gallup, son of Thomas 
Gallup, married Crabbe. 

(V) John (4) Gallup, son of John (3) 
Gallup, was the American immigrant, born 
in England in 1590, was aged forty-three 
years when the Visitation was made in 

1633. The family still occupy the estate 
at Strode. He sailed from Plymouth, 
England, March 20, 1630, in the ship 
"Mary and John," arriving at Nantasket, 
Massachusetts, May 30, 1630. His wife 
and children came in 1633. He came 
from the parish of Mosterne. Dorsetshire, 
settled first at Dorchester, Massachusetts, 
but removed to Boston. An extract from 
a letter of Governor Winthrop to Rev. 
John White says : "I have much diffi- 
cultye to keepe John Gallup here by rea- 
son his wife will not come. I marvayle 
at the woman's weaknesse. I pray, per- 
suade and further her coming by all 
means. If she will come, let her have the 
remainder of his wages ; if not let it be 
bestowed to bring over his children, for so 
he desired. It would be about 40 pounds 
losse to him to come for her." This was 
dated July 4, 1632. John Gallup was ad- 
mitted to the First Church, January 6, 

1634. and admitted a freeman in April 
following. He was one of the earliest 
grantees of the north part of the town 



44 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and owned a wharf right and house at 
Gallup's Point. He also owned Gallup's 
Island in Boston harbor and had a farm 
there, also a meadow on Long Island, a 
sheep pasture on Xix Mate and a house 
in l^oston. He was a mariner and made 
voyages along the coast in his own ves- 
sels. One of his expeditions was made 
memorable as the first naval encounter in 
this country, when he found the murder- 
ers of his friend, John Oldham, in July, 
1636. An account of the fight written by 
his son John to Governor Winthrop has 
been preserved (see Gallup genealogy). 
He and his sons took the vessel that the 
Indians had attempted to navigate after 
murdering Oldham, and wrought venge- 
ance on the savages. The Indians proved 
to be Pequots, and this murder of Oldham 
was the beginning of the Pequot w^ar. 

After the settlement of Rhode Island 
and Connecticut, his vessel was almost 
the only means of communication be- 
tween the two colonies, and once when 
his vessel had been delayed, Roger Wil- 
liams wTOte in a letter to Winthrop, "God 
be praised John Gallup has arrived." He 
won distinction by piloting the ship "Grif- 
fin" in 1633 through a new channel, hav- 
ing as passengers the Rev. John Cotton, 
Rev. Thomas Hooker, Rev. Mr. Stone 
and others numbering two hundred. It 
is supposed that his wife and children 
were on this vessel. He died in Boston, 
January 11, 1650. His will was dated 
December 20, 1649. ^'S wife Christobel 
died in Boston, September 27, 1655. Her 
will was dated there July 24, 1655. She 
joined the First Church, June 22, 1634. 
Children: John, mentioned below; Joan, 
Samuel, Nathaniel. 

(VI) Captain John (5) Gallup, son of 
John (4) Gallup, was born in Dorsetshire, 
England, and came to this country in 1633. 
He was with his father in the fight with 
the Indians off Block Island, and after- 
ward took part in the Pequot war, for 



which the General Court of Connecticut 
granted him a hundred acres. He settled 
in New London, Connecticut, in 1650-51. 
He received another grant of 300 acres, 
February 9, 1652-53, on account of his 
father's public service, and in the follow- 
ing year one hundred and fifty acres 
more. In 1654 he moved to the east side of 
the Mystic river, now Stonington, where 
he was among the first settlers. He was 
deputy to the General Court in 1665-67. 
He often served as Indian interpreter. 
Although he was more than sixty years 
old, when King Philip's war broke out, 
he joined Captain John Mason, of Nor- 
wich, at the head of the Mohegan Indian 
company, and was engaged in the Swamp 
Fight at Narragansett, December 19, 1676. 
He was one of the six captains that were 
slain. He married, in 1643, ^^ Boston, 
Elizabeth Hannah Lake, daughter of John 
and Margaret Lake, and granddaughter 
of Edmund Read, Esq., of Wickford, 
County Essex, England. Her mother 
was a sister of Elizabeth Read, who mar- 
ried John Winthrop, Jr., Governor of 
Connecticut. Children : Hannah, born 
in Boston, September 14, 1644; John, 
1646; Esther, born at Taunton, March 24, 
1653 ; Benadam, mentioned below ; Wil- 
liam, 1658; Samuel, Christobel, Elizabeth, 
Mary, Margaret. 

(VII) Benadam Gallup, son of Captain 
John (5) Gallup, was born in Stonington, 
Connecticut, 1655. He married Esther 
Prentice, born July 20, 1660, daughter of 
John and Esther Prentice, of New Lon- 
don. Both were members of the Stoning- 
ton church. He died August 2, 1727, and 
his wiie, May 18, 1751. His estate was 
valued at five hundred and eighty-three 
pounds. Children, born at Groton, Con- 
necticut: Hannah, born IVIay 22, 1683; 
Esther, 1685; Mercy, 1690; Benadam, 
1693; Joseph, mentioned below; Mar- 
garet, 1698; Lucy, 1701. 

(VIII) Captain Joseph Gallup, son of 



45 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Benadam Gallup, was born at Groton, 
Connecticut, in 1695, died December 22, 
1760, aged sixty-six years. He married, 
February 24. 1720, Eunice Williams, who 
died October 24, 1772. aged seventy-one 
years. Children, born at Stonington : 
Martha, born October 15, 1721 ; Joseph, 
February 21, 1725 : Elisha, mentioned be- 
low; Oliver, March 28, 1729; William, 
January 16. 1735; Eunice, October 11, 
1738; Prudence, February 17. 1742; Lucy, 
January 5, 1747. 

(IX) Captain Elisha Gallup, son of 
Captain Joseph Gallup, was born at Ston- 
ington, Connecticut. April 21, 1727. He 
married, January 25, 1747, Mercy Denni- 
son, of one of the leading families of 
Stonington. He removed to Hartland, 
Vermont, in 1778. Children, born at Ston- 
ington : Anna, born June 3, 1748; Esther, 
October 15, 1750; Mercy, July 11, 1753; 
Elisha. October 16. 1755; Eunice, April 

1, 1758; Joseph, mentioned below; Mar- 
tha, March 30. 1762; Elisha, April 30, 
1766; Edward, December 31, 1768: Denni- 
son, August 30, 1776. 

(X) Joseph (2) Gallup, son of Captain 
Elisha Gallup, was born at Stonington, 
Connecticut, October 18, 1760. He went 
with his father to Hartland. He was a 
soldier in the Revolution from Vermont, 
a private in Captain Elias Wood's com- 
pany which marched to Royalton, Ver- 
mont, and Haverhill, in October. 1780; 
also in Lieutenant Daniel Spooner's com- 
pany which marched to Orford in March, 
1 781 (pay rolls, pages 277 and 347, Ver- 
mont Revolutionary Rolls). He married 
Miriam Brigham, of Grafton, Massachu- 
setts. She died March 16. 1823. He 
moved to Melbourne, Province of Que- 
bec, Canada, in 1800, and died there Feb- 
ruary 18. 1849. Children, born at Hart- 
land, \'ermont : Mercy, born June 19, 
1785: Ezekiel, July 6, 1787; Joseph, June 

2, 1789; Elisha Zadock, June 2"], 1791. 



Born at Brookfield. X'ermont : George, 
September 15, 1792; Martha, September 
5, 1795; Elisha, mentioned below; Miri- 
am, August 25, 1800. Born at Melbourne: 
Eunice, January 2, 1805. 

(XI) Elisha (2) Gallup, son of Joseph 
(2) Gallup, was born at Hartland, \'er- 
mont, February 15, 1798. He married, in 
1825. Eunice Gardner, of Coventry, a de- 
scendant of Lionel Gardiner, the immi- 
grant, of the famous Gardiner's Island, 
near the east end of Long Island. They 
removed to Melbourne, Canada, and he 
died there August 2, 1864. Children, born 
at Melbourne: Miriam, born August 10, 
1825; Elisha Joseph, October 17, 1826; 
Fanny M., September 20, 1828; Loring 
G., May 3. 1831 ; Harriet E., March 15, 
1833; Pollie A., May 8, 1836; John P., 
mentioned below; P. Oscar. May 2, 1840; 
Zadoc Augustus, September 30, 1842; 
Marcia S., September 15, 1844. 

fXII) John P. Gallup, son of Elisha (2) 
Gallup, was born at Melbourne, Canada, 
May 2. 1838. He was a farmer, residing 
in his native town on Gallup Hill, and 
owned an estate of 1,200 acres. He mar- 
ried, in 1863, Althea Lawrence, of Mel- 
bourne. Children, born at Melbourne: 
Eunice S., born February 29, 1864; Elisha 
J.. September 5, 1865 ; Augustus Truman, 
mentioned below ; Frederick E., February 
20, 1871. 

(XIII) Augustus Truman Gallup, son 
of John P. Gallup, was born at Mel- 
bourne, Canada, January i, 1869. He at- 
tended the public schools of his native 
town, entered St. Francis College, affili- 
ated with McGill University, from which 
he was graduated June 29, 1886. He be- 
gan his business career as clerk in the 
office of the Ogdensburg & Lake Cham- 
plain Company at Ogdensburg, New 
York. Afterward he was a clerk in a 
bank in Ogdensburg for a year, resign- 
ing that position to become a clerk in the 



46 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



offices of the Grand Trunk Railroad in 
Richmond, Quebec. In 1885 he left the 
railroad business and entered mercantile 
life as clerk in a clothing store in New 
Bedford, Massachusetts, and he acquired 
a thorough knowledge of the business 
and valuable experience as a salesman in 
stores at Manchester, New Hampshire, 
and Chelsea, Massachusetts. In 1892 he 
came to Holyoke, Massachusetts, to man- 
age the Currier Clothing Store. Here he 
was highly successful in a very respon- 
sible position for fourteen years. In 1906 
Mr. Gallup became the owner and incor- 
porated the business under the name of 
the A. T. Gallup Company, Incorporated, 
of which he is president and treasurer. 
This store has been one of the leading 
concerns in the clothing trade of this sec- 
tion for many years, and under his man- 
agement and ownership for a quarter of 
a century it has grown year by year and 
maintained its position among the most 
important mercantile houses of the city. 
Since 1909 Mr. Gallup has also conducted 
a clothing store at Meriden, Connecticut, 
under the same corporate title. Both 
stores are centrally located, carrying 
large and fine stocks artistically arranged 
and appointed. 

Mr. Gallup married, 1895, Emma Louise 
Brownell, of New Bedford, Massachu- 
setts, a daughter of Stephen Brownell. 
Children, born in Holyoke : Burton Au- 
gustus, born October 25, 1899; Prentiss 
Brownell, born September 25, 1901. 



ALLEN, Charles Leslie. 

Representative Citizen. 

When a young man of nineteen, Charles 
Leslie Allen was called into active service 
in the business world, and as his father's 
successor as agent for the Prouty & Miller 
Lumber Company he has won high stand- 
ing among the energetic, progressive and 
capable young men of Holyoke. 



(I) James Allen, the first of the family 
in this country, was a grandson of Regi- 
nald Allen, of Colby, County Norfolk, 
England, and came to Dedham with his 
uncle, the Rev. John Allen, about 1637. 
He was admitted to the church, October 
2, 1646, and made a freeman. May 26, 
1647. He was one of the first thirteen 
proprietors of the town of Medfield, and 
he became a large landowner there. His 
will was dated September 23, 1676. He 
married, in Dedham, March 16, 1638, Ann 
Guild, who died in Medfield, March 29, 
1673. Children, born in Dedham, except 
the youngest : John, born December 4, 
1639; Martha and Mary, December 11, 
1641 ; Sarah, May 4, 1644; James, April 
28, 1646; Nathaniel, August 29, 1648; Jo- 
seph, mentioned below. 

(H) Joseph Allen, son of James Allen, 
was born in Medfield, Massachusetts, June 
24, 1652, settled in the northern part of 
his native town. Castle Hill, since known 
as Allen Place. He was a cooper by trade, 
his shop and house having been built be- 
fore King Philip's War and being set on 
fire by the Indians in February, 1676, 
when the town was sacked, but the flames 
were extinguished. It was the only house 
in this section saved from the flames. He 
was admitted a freeman, October 11, 1682 ; 
was a sealer of weights and measures in 
1688. He married, at Seekonk (Reho- 
both), November 10, 1673, Hannah Sabin, 
born there, October 22. 1654, daughter of 
William Sabin. She died in Medfield in 
1730. Joseph Allen died January 14, 1703. 
Children, all born in Medfield : Joseph, 
born December 19, 1676; Hannah, June 
23, 1679; Daniel, April 21. 1681 ; David, 
March 22, 1683; Noah, April 21. 1685; 
Eleazer, August 25, 1688; Jeremiah, Au- 
gust 5, 1690. killed by Indians; Hezekiah. 
mentioned below ; Abigail, October 24, 
1694; Nehemiah, April 22, 1699; Thank- 
ful and Mary, died young. 



47 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR.APHY 



(III) Hezekiah Allen, son of Joseph 
Allen, was bom at Medrield. Massachu- 
setts, Xovember 3, 1692. He was a car- 
penter by trade, residing for a short time 
in Weston, then removing to Dedham 
about 1723, in which year he was dis- 
missed from the church in Medfield to 
that in Xatick. He was selectman of 
Dedham in 174S, 1749 and 1750. In 1749 
he was on the committee to secure timber 
for the new meeting house in the third 
precinct, located on the east side of Trout 
brook. He lived in that part of the town, 
now Dover, owning a large tract near 
Regan Hill, extending from Xatick to 
Medfield. and the land remained in the 
family until 1886. He was buried in 
Dover. His epitaph reads : "In Memon.- 
of Capt. Hezekiah Allen Who died Au- 
gust ye i6th. 1775 Aetatis S^." 

Away \"ain World, your jojs I hate. 

Heaven is my native air; 
My friends I bid a short farewell 

Till they shall meet me there. 

He married, in Dedham. April 4, 1722, 
Man.- Draper, bom at Dedham, Xovember 
5. 1696, died October 25, 1775, daughter of 
Daniel and Elizabeth Draper. Children. 
all born at Dedham : Hezekiah. men- 
tioned below; Man.-, bom July 2. 1727; 
Timothy, August 31, 1729; Elizabeth. 
August 7. 1731 : Hannah, Xovember 21, 
1733; Mehitable. April 30, 1736; Abigail, 
March 22. 1741-42. 

(IV) Hezekiah (2) Allen, son of Cap- 
tain Hezekiah ( i ) Allen, was bom at 
Medfield, Massachusetts. April 15, 1724. 
He inherited the farm of his father near 
Regan Hill, Dover. He was one of the 
petitioners for the formation of the new 
parish at Dover, dated April, 1748. He 
was a soldier in the Revolution in Captain 
Ebenezer Battle's company on the Lex- 
ington Alarm. April 19. 1775. serving six 
days. In 1784, when Dover was set oft 
from Medfield, he was made clerk of the 



precinct. He was town treasurer in 1786; 
warden, 1787-89. He was commissioned 
captain of the Dedham Fourth Precinct 
Company. Suffolk County Regiment, Sep- 
tember 19, 1 77 1. He married (first) Xo- 
vember 2^, 1745. Jemima King5bur\-. bom 
February- 11, 1727, died in Dedham. April 
13. 1755. daughter of Comet Timothy and 
Jemima ( Ware) Kingsbury-. He married 
( second ) in Medfield, April 7, 1757, Mary 
Peters, who died in Dover, July 12, 1798. 
His epitaph reads : "Tn Memory of Capt. 
Hezekiah Allen who died July 12, 1798, 
Aetatis 76. Watch, therefore, for you 
know not the day nor the hour when the 
Son of Man Cometh." Children, all born 
at Dedham : Timothy, bom April 20, 1747 ; 
Jemima, February.- 15, 1748: Rachael. Feb- 
ruar\- 4, 1749-50; Susy, September 20, 
1752: Hezekiah. May 2;-, 1754, died June 
17. 1754. Children by second w-ife : Calaa, 
Januan.- 11, 1759; Zella. September 8, 
1760; Hezekiah Peters, May 3. 1762. a 
soldier in the Revolution ; ' Perez. Febru- 
ar\- 8, 1764: William Pitt, mentioned be- 
low; Hitta, August 30, 1768: Calvin, 
March i. 1770: Patty- and Mar\-. March 
II, 1773; Morrill. April 3, 1776. 

(V) William Pitt Allen, son of Heze- 
kiah (2> Allen, was born October 21. 1766, 
in Dedham. Massachusetts. He resided 
in Dover and was elected highway sur- 
veyor and collector in 1792 and 1795. He 
removed to Medfield in 1798 to manage 
his father-in-law's farm, and died there. 
May 18. 1802. William P. Allen married, 
March 2S, 1788, Kezia Mason, bom De- 
cember 22. I J JO. daughter of Asa and 
Beriah 1 Fisher 1 Mason, a sister of Eben- 
ezer Mason. Children: Reuben, bom 
September 13. 1789; Willard, Xovember 
4. 1791. died young; Willard. mentioned 
below; Martha, January 3, 1796: Ira. 
July II. 1797: Amos. October 18, 1799: 
Marv-. March 14, 1802. 

(VI) Willard Allen, son of William 



48 



1^'SS^^'' 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Pitt Allen, was born in Dover, August 
5, 1793, and died in Deerfield, Massachu- 
setts, January 30, 1865. He married, in 
Montague, Massachusetts, April 22, 181 2, 
Elizabeth Field Nettleton, who was born 
at Northfield, Massachusetts, September 
30, 1794, and died in Deerfield, February 
19, 1871. Children: i. Willard Mason, 
born in Montague, April 2, 1819; married, 
July 10, 1855, Lydia Elkins, of Effingham 
county, Georgia, and died at Savannah, 
Georgia, May 11, 1857. 2. Martha Ma- 
linda, born in Deerfield, February 23, 
1821 ; married there, January 7, 1845, 
Horatio O. Rockwood, and died January 
2; 1862, leaving three children. 3. Amos 
Morrill, born at Deerfield, March 31, 1823 ; 
married. May 10, 1853, Catherine M. 

■ , of Middletown, Pennsylvania, and 

had a daughter Mary, born at Pottsville, 
Pennsylvania. 4. George Newton, born 
July 7, 1825, died in Baton Rouge, Louisi- 
ana, August 22, 1863. 5. Elijah Crane, 
born September 20, 1827; married, in 
Greenfield, September 20, 1864, Adelaide 
Victoria Morgan, of Northfield. 6. Eliza- 
beth, born August 7, 1831 ; married, June 
5, 1861, Henry C. Hale, of South Deer- 
field, Massachusetts. 7. William Pitt, 
mentioned below. 

(VII) William Pitt (2) Allen, son of 
Willard Allen, was born in Deerfield, 
Massachusetts, March 10, 1835, died at 
South Hadley Falls, Massachusetts, April 
7, 1909. He was educated in the public 
schools of Deerfield, and after finishing 
his studies became a carpenter's appren- 
tice. He was employed as a carpenter for 
several years until 1879, when he entered 
the employ of the Holyoke Machine Com- 
pany at Holyoke as a pattern maker. He 
continued with the company in that ca- 
pacity until 1899, then retired through ill 
health. Sometime after he engaged in the 
roofing business, then in association with 
his sons, Charles C. and Fred G. Allen, 
Mass— 6— 4 49 



under the firm name, William P. Allen 
Sr Sons, engaged in the manufacture of 
Yukon Compound for pneumatic tires. 
The firm built up an extensive business, 
William P. Allen retiring a few years 
prior to his death. He was of an inven- 
tive turn of mind, and several of his in- 
ventions were patented and placed upon 
the market successfully. He was a mem- 
ber of the sinking fund committee of 
South Hadley Falls, an attendant of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, and highly 
esteemed by all who knew him. He mar- 
ried. May 22, 1864, Anna Albina Morgan, 
born at East Windsor, Massachusetts, 
March 19, 1842, daughter of Charles C. 
and Mary A. (Treadwell) Morgan, of 
Northfield, Massachusetts. They were 
the parents of six children: i. William 
Arthur, mentioned below. 2. Charles 
Clare, whose sketch follows. 3. Mary 
Elizabeth, born January 24, 1870; mar- 
ried James Madison, and has a daughter, 
Esther Allen Madison. 4. Frederick 
Grant, born March 5, 1872 ; now cashier 
of the Park National Bank, of Holyoke; 
married, June i, 1916, Lucy J. Reed, of 
Constable, New York, daughter of John 
and Annie (Donney) Reed. 5. Angie 
Stella, born September i, 1878; married 
E. A. Hastings, of Holyoke. 6. Bessie 
Imogene, born September 5, 1881, died 
January 17, 1884. 

(VIII) William Arthur Allen, son of 
William Pitt (2) Allen, was born at 
Northfield Farms, Massachusetts, July 
15, 1865, died at South Hadley Falls, Sep- 
tember 4, 1909. He was educated in Deer- 
field public schools, and after completing 
his studies entered the employ of the 
Holyoke Machine Company at Holyoke 
as an office employee. He was next in 
charge of a room for the Massachusetts 
Screw Company of Holyoke, then found 
his true sphere of action, the lumber busi- 
ness. For thirteen years he was associ- 



E-VCVCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ated with D. D. Johnson, then was ap- 
pointed agent for the Prouty & Miller 
Lumber Company and established a 
branch of that company in Holyoke, con- 
tinuing its manager until his death in 
1909. The headquarters of the company 
are at Newport. X'ermont, the senior part- 
ner a former governor of that State. 
Under Mr. Allen's able and skillful man- 
agement the business became an exten- 
sive one, and to its management he de- 
voted his entire energ}-. He was stricken 
down in the height of his usefulness, in 
the prime of his manhood, when his pros- 
pects for the future were bright and full 
of promise. He was a man of quiet, do- 
mestic tastes, his business and his home 
filling the full measure of his life to the 
exclusion of public service, club life or 
fraternal orders. He was an attendant 
of the Methodist Episcopal church. 

Mr. Allen married, August 10, 1889, 
Caroline Bell Pearsons, daughter of Hor- 
ace and Sarah Elizabeth (Higgins) Pear- 
sons. ^Ir. and Mrs. Allen were the par- 
ents of seven children : Charles Leslie, 
mentioned below ; Evelyn Hazel, mar- 
ried John 'SI. Hooks, of Holyoke; ^lyrtle 
Elizabeth ; Grace Roxie ; Willard SIot- 
gan ; Dorothy Belle ; Edward Pearsons, 
all in Holyoke. 

(IX) Charles Leslie Allen, eldest son 
of William Arthur Allen, was born at 
South Hadley Falls. Massachusetts, ^lay 
3. 1890, and was there educated in the 
public schools. At the age of nineteen, 
the death of his honored father caused the 
abandonment of his school plans and he 
at once took the place with the Prouty 
&: Miller Lumber Company left vacant by 
the death of William Arthur Allen. He 
has ably filled the position, and has con- 
tinued the management of the Holyoke 
branch of the company with marked suc- 
cess. He is a member of Mt. Holyoke 
Lodge. Free and Accepted Masons, of 
South Hadley Falls, and of the First Bap- 



tist Church, and is popular among a large 
circle of business friends and acquaintances. 
Charles L. Allen married. September 4, 
1915. Gertrude, daughter of Joseph Seney, 
of Holvoke. 



ALLEN, Charles Clare, 

Master Mech.anic. 

A representative in the eighth gener- 
ation of the family founded in Xew Eng- 
land by James Allen, who came from Eng- 
land as early as about 1637. Charles Clare 
Allen, of Holyoke. Massachusetts, traces 
his ancestry back through a line of Revo- 
lutionary and Colonial stock to earliest 
Xew England days. 

Charles Clare Allen, son of William 
Pitt Allen, was born at Whately, Massa- 
chusetts. December 13, 1866. He attended 
the public schools of Deerheld. \\'illiman- 
sett. Chicopee and South Hadley Falls, 
and after finishing his studies learned the 
machinist's trade with the Holyoke Ma- 
chine Company at Holyoke. He con- 
tinued with that company for seven years, 
became an expert worker in metal, and in 
1890 entered the ser^-ice of the Farr Al- 
paca Company as master mechanic, a posi- 
tion he has held for more than a quarter 
of a century and yet most ably fills. He 
is a member of Mt. Holyoke Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of South Hadley 
Falls, and of Mt. Holyoke Chapter. Royal 
Arch Masons. In political faith he is a 
Republican. Mr. Allen married. Septem- 
ber I. 1913. Georgette Trudeau, of Coati- 
cook. Quebec, Canada, daughter of Amida 
and Azelda ( Langevin) Trudeau. Mr. 
and Mrs. Allen are the parents of a daugh- 
ter, Constance, born September 13. 1914. 



MacCARTHY. Timothy Joseph, 
City Engineer of Holyoke. 

Timothy Joseph MacCarthy. the well- 
known city engineer of Holyoke, Massa- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chusetts, who has tilled that office accepta- 
bly and with credit to himself since 191 1, 
and has been connected with it since 1893 
as assistant engineer, comes of an old and 
honored Irish ancestry. 

His grandfather, Dennis MacCarthy, 
was a farmer, and spent his entire life in 
Ireland. He married Catherine Harring- 
ton and they had the following children : 
Ellen, Abigail and Michael. Dennis Mac- 
Carthy predeceased his wife, who later 
married Timothy Driscoll, the children 
of this marriage having been : John, 
James C, Daniel D., Mary, Kate, Marga- 
ret, Sarah, Jane and Isabelle. 

Michael MacCarthy, father of City En- 
gineer MacCarthy, was born at Castle- 
town, Berehaven, County Cork, Ireland, 
in November, 1829. He was a man of 
strong personality and rigid principle, and 
attained high office in his own land. Upon 
him was bestowed the dignity of the mag- 
istracy, the factor of chief consideration 
in this appointment being the moral and 
social standing, in private life, of the men 
entrusted with the office. Michael Mac- 
Carthy was a gentleman of high moral 
character. That he was also a man of 
ability is evidenced by his business rec- 
ord. In the days of his youth, education 
in Ireland was crude and the better fam- 
ilies owed their superiority of intelligence, 
culture and deportment more to the en- 
vironment and influence of their home life 
than to any technical instruction afforded 
them. Michael MacCarthy was a leader 
in his community, and entered success- 
fully into its business affairs. He carried 
on an extensive general mercantile busi- 
ness ; was commissioner of affidavits ; 
agent for a steamship company and for 
the Lloyd Mercantile and Marine Com- 
pany. He also took a prominent part in 
the Parnell agitation which compelled 
the British government to pass remedial 
legislation for the intolerable conditions 



in Ireland. He spent his life in Ireland, 
and died there, December 11, 1912, at the 
advanced age of eighty-three. He mar- 
ried Ellen O'Donovan, of Castletown, 
County Cork, Ireland. She was the 
daughter of Timothy O'Donovan and 
from the same line of descent as General 
John Sullivan. She was also a descendant 
of the MacCarthys of Carberry, and, com- 
ing as she did from one of the best fam- 
ilies in Ireland, was a woman of culture 
and refinement. Intellectually, she was 
very capable, and passed some of her time 
at the first National School established 
at Castletown. While there she gave of 
her knowledge whole-heartedly to the 
children who received the first benefits of 
the Act of Emancipation, 1845. Her 
father passed some of his life as a master 
shipwright, and also took up navigation 
and general surveying. 

The children of Michael and Ellen 
(O'Donovan) MacCarthy were: i. Mi- 
chael, died in infancy. 2. Mary, a sister 
in a Catholic order. 3. John, deceased ; 
was a lawyer in Ireland. 4. Ellen, died 
in infancy. 5. Timothy Joseph, of whom 
further. 6. Margaret, deceased ; she be- 
longed to the Sisters of Mercy of the 
C'atholic church in Ireland. 7. James D., 
who was clerk of the Crown and Peace 
for County Carlow, Ireland. 8. Eliza- 
beth, became the wife of Jeremiah O'Rear- 
don, who was an M. A. of the Royal L^ni- 
versity, and head inspector of schools in 
Ireland ; they were the parents of fifteen 
children, all of whom are very intelligent 
and bid fair to make their mark later, the 
eldest having taken ninety-two pounds 
($460) in prizes in one year in the inter- 
mediate examinations ; the American 
branch of the family of which Mrs. 
O'Reardon is a member, represented in 
the person of Timothy J. MacCarthy and 
his children, gives promise of high educa- 
tional achievement. 9. Julia, became the 



51 



ENC\'CLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



wife of Peter White, a bank manager at 
Granard, County Longford, Ireland. lo. 
Helena, deceased ; was the wife of Eugene 
O'Sullivan. ii. Dennis Florance, who 
succeeded to his father's business in Ire- 
land. 12. Isabelle, who resides in Lon- 
don, England. 

Timothy Joseph MacCarthy, son of Mi- 
chael and Ellen (O'Donovan) MacCarthy, 
was born at Castletown, Berehaven, Coun- 
ty Cork, Ireland, August 22, 1862. His 
early education was obtained at the Na- 
tional School of his native place. There 
he studied for eight years, from five to 
thirteen, after which, having decided upon 
a business career, he spent six months in 
a commercial school in Cork. In the 
meantime his parents decided upon a col- 
legiate education for him, and he was sent 
to the St. Brendan's Preparatory School, 
Killarney, where he studied for three 
years, which course fitted him for en- 
trance to Maynooth College, which he at- 
tended for three years, then entered upon 
a course of technical instruction at 
Queen's College, Cork, where he special- 
ized in engineering. Possessed of a good 
groundwork of knowledge in general sub- 
jects, and an insight into the theory and 
practice of engineering, he decided to seek 
a larger field of activity in the United 
States, and consequently set sail for Xew 
York City, arriving on October 2, 1887. 
He remained in the City of Xew 
York for eight months, then removed to 
Palmer, Massachusetts, where he entered 
the employ of the Flynt Building & Con- 
struction Company. A year later he re- 
turned to Ireland, remaining with his 
father for a year, then again came to the 
United States, proceeding immediately 
after landing to Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
where he opened an oflfice on his own 
account and actively practiced his pro- 
fession until 1893, when he was appointed 
assistant city engineer of Holyoke, and 
in that capacity continued to serve the 



city until 191 1, when, in recognition of 
his faithful performance of the difficult 
duties of that office, he was advanced to 
the position of city engineer, and inspector 
of buildings, which positions he still holds. 
That the city of Holyoke has in Mr. Mac- 
Carthy an official highly valued is evident 
in the length of his service. His out- 
standing characteristic is thoroughness, 
and what is done under his supervision 
is well done. He gives his entire time, 
thought and attention to the duties of 
his office, his desire being to make the 
most of that time for the benefit of his 
adopted city. Many changes have taken 
place during his long term of office and 
many undertakings of magnitude stand to 
his credit as an engineer. Among the 
important works carried out by him was 
that resulting in Holyoke's Elmwood and 
Oakdale excellent sewer systems, which 
Mr. MacCarthy began in 1893. ^^ ^^^" 
ternal activities, Mr. MacCarthy is affili- 
ated with the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks and the Knights of Colum- 
bus. He is also a member of the Holyoke 
Countr\' Club. 

Mr. MacCarthy married, October 21, 
1899, Mary Elizabeth Walsh, their mar- 
riage having been solemnized in New 
York City. She is a daughter of John 
and Catherine (Sheedy) Walsh, of New 
York City, where her father was born 
and where he was a well-known educator 
practically all his active career, serving as 
principal of the Sixty-third Street School. 
Children of Mr. and Mrs. MacCarthy: Jo- 
sephine Ivera, born October 7, 1900 ; Cath- 
erine Ellen Aquin, born June 2, 1903 ; Anna 
Felice, born May 7, 1904. 



DELANEY, John L., 

Contractor of Note. 

John L. Delaney, a well known con- 
tractor of Holyoke. now retired, is a na- 
tive of that city, born November 15, 1849, 



52 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



son of John and Bridget (Lahey) De- 
laney, and grandson of James and Julia 
(Caniphion) Delaney, natives of Ireland. 
John Delaney (father) was born in Cul- 
lahill, Queens county, Ireland, in 1811. 
Left fatherless at the age of sixteen 
months, it is not surprising that both he 
and his brother James were given little 
opportunity to attend school and secure 
an education. In fact, as soon as they 
were able to assist, they aided in the cul- 
tivation of the home farm and later 
learned a trade in order to be of more 
assistance to their family. John Delaney 
served an apprenticeship under a promi- 
nent stone mason and followed this line 
of work throughout the active period of 
his life. The obstacles which beset him 
in early life made him alert and ready to 
take advantage of every opportunity. 
Consequently, in December, 1835, the 
time of the great fire in New York City, 
he promptly emigrated to the United 
States, realizing that the building indus- 
try would ofTer great opportunities in 
New York at that time. He left his na- 
tive town, April i, 1836. embarked at 
Liverpool, England, April 8, in the packet 
ship "Star," commanded by Captain Glo- 
ver, and arrived in New York City, May 
9, and during the voyage of over a month's 
duration he made big plans for the future. 
As he anticipated, he found that stone 
masons were in great demand and posi- 
tions easy to obtain, his first work being 
in the erection of the extension of Vassar 
Brewery at Poughkeepsie, New York, 
which covered a period of about one year. 
He then went to Hudson, New York, 
where he remained one year, and in the 
fall of 1837 returned to New York City. 
The Croton Water Works were being 
built at that time and he secured employ- 
ment in that undertaking, being thus en- 
gaged for two years. Always on the look- 
out for extensive building operations, he 



learned that railroad bridges were being 
built at I>ecket, Massachusetts, and he 
immediately set out for that place. In 
1841, reading that the Croton Dam was 
washed away, he returned to seek employ- 
ment there, and, owing to the conscienti- 
ous work that he had performed in his 
previous engagements, he was offered the 
position of superintendent of the new 
work, and for the following two years 
remained in charge of the rebuilding of 
the dam. He then returned to Massachu- 
setts and worked on Fort Warren in Bos- 
ton harbor for two years. Subsequently 
he returned to Brooklyn, New York, and 
was employed on the Atlantic Dock for 
two years. He then went to Brunswick, 
Maine, and was employed on the erection 
of a chapel for Bowdoin College, and 
when the work was completed in the fall 
of 1846 again returned to Massachusetts. 
Under the direction of J. B. Francis, he 
had charge of important work at Lowell, 
Massachusetts, for the Lock and Canal 
Company until the spring of 1849, ^^ 
which year he located in Holyoke perma- 
nently, in which city he was more promi- 
nent in the building and construction 
business than any other man and there 
is not a section which does not attest to 
his ability and in which his name is not 
known, due to the buildings which he 
erected. Under Engineer John Chase and 
his nephews, S. Stewart and William A. 
Chase, Mr. Delaney did all the important 
stone work on the head gates, wheel pits, 
raceways and the many extensive canal 
walls, as well as on the bridges between 
Holyoke and South Hadley. Several 
bridges that span the canals, the founda- 
tions of numerous mills, the city hall, 
many of the churches and some of the 
business blocks in the city were also put 
up under his supervision. In Springfield 
he was almost as active as in Holyoke. 
The stone work at the Water Shops on 



53 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the dam, the foundation for the gun level 
machines, the stone dam at Smith &. 
Wesson's Works. Mill River, the masonry 
for the Connecticut River Railroad Com- 
pany for the entrances to Hampden Park 
f.nd the extensive river wall along their 
premises are all of his work. The Otis 
Company of Ware entrusted him with the 
very important work of erecting their 
dam, bridge and mill foundations. He 
also built the dam of the Xonotuck Silk 
Company at Florence. In 1874 he was 
given the largest contract which he ever 
received, this consisting of rebuilding the 
bridges, dams and foundations which had 
been washed away by the great Mill river 
flood at Williamsburg and Haydenville. 
His work was not only very profitable 
for his employers but also netted him a 
good amount, and in 1876 he had the 
pleasure of revisiting the land of his birth, 
accompanied by his daughter. This was 
indeed a great enjoyment because it gave 
him an opportunity to see how great had 
been his success by comparing it with the 
condition of his early life, and he also had 
the privilege of again meeting the men 
whom he had known in youth. After 
spending some time with his relatives and 
friends in Ireland, he made a tour of Eng- 
land and France before returning to his 
adopted country and to his home in Hol- 
yoke. Massachusetts. 

Mr. Delaney married, November 20, 
1846, Bridget Lahey, of Thomastown. 
County Kilkenny, Ireland. They were 
the parents of six children : James E., 
born in Lowell, Massachusetts, Novem- 
ber 7, 1847; John L., of whom further; 
Julia A., born November 23, 1851, died 
December 19, 1854; Mary Elizabeth, born 
June 4. 1854. died December 16, 1854: 
Elizabeth A., born November 18, 1855 ; 
and Mary L., born March 23, 1859. 

John L. Delaney attended the public 
schools of his native city, Holyoke, and 



after completing his studies he engaged 
with his father and brother in the con- 
tracting business under the firm name of 
John Delaney & Sons, this firm being no 
longer m existence. This was indeed a 
fortunate position for a young man, owing 
to the success which his father had 
achieved previous to forming the partner- 
ship with his sons. During the many 
years in which the firm was engaged in 
the contracting business, they did more 
than one million dollars worth of work. 
John L. Delaney retired from active 
business pursuits in 1894. His brother, 
James Delaney, died July 13, 1910. and 
prior to his death he had been very active 
in politics, serving as mayor of the city 
for a term, city clerk for seven years, as 
a member of Governor Russell's staff for 
three years, and during 1888-89 served as 
delegate-at-large from Massachusetts to 
the National Convention of his party. 
James Delaney married Mary Devereaux, 
and they were the parents of four chil- 
dren who survive him. namely: ^lary. 
John W., James E. and Alice; he is also 
survived by two sisters : Elizabeth A. 
(Mrs. T. B. O'Donnell) and Mary L. 
(Mrs. Samuel McQuaid). 

John L. Delaney married. May 9, 1874, 
Margaret Horan, daughter of Maurice 
Horan, of Quebec. Canada. Their chil- 
dren are : Elizabeth M. ; John ; Edward 
J., married Man,- Powers; Margaret T., 
a graduate of Mt. Holyoke College, a' 
teacher in the high schools of Holyoke ; 
Catherine M.. who became the wife of 
Dr. William T. Horrigan and they have 
one child, Carol, born December 25. 1915 ; 
and Robert. 



LYNCH, Maurice. 

Contractor and Builder. 

Maurice Lynch was born in the little 
town of Anniscaul, County Kerry. Ire- 



54 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



land, in 1837, one of six children, the 
others as follows : Michael, John, Thom- 
as, Patrick, Mary. Maurice Lynch came 
to the United States with his mother, as 
a lad, sailing from his native land in 1845 
and arriving at the port of New York. 
From there he removed to Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he received his educa- 
tion in the public schools. He attended 
principally the Chestnut Street School, 
where he was a favorite of teachers and 
fellow students alike. Upon completing 
his studies in this institution, he applied 
himself to learn the trade of bricklayer, 
and upon the completion of his appren- 
ticeship, being of an enterprising disposi- 
tion, instead of working as a journeyman, 
at once entered into business on his own 
account, taking contracts in masonry 
work in Holyoke. His contracts were on 
a small scale at first, but he proved him- 
self a capable business man and was very 
soon enabled to increase the scale of his 
operations until he became one of the 
large contractors of Holyoke. Many of 
Holyoke's largest buildings were erected 
by Mr. Lynch and stand to-day as a mark 
of his honest workmanship. He also en- 
tered into the business of manufacturing 
bricks, his first plant for that purpose be- 
ing situated in South Holyoke, on the site 
occupied at present by the Farr Alpaca 
Company. About 1880 he established a 
much larger brickyard at South Hadley 
Falls, and remained in that location up to 
the time of his death, which occurred 
January 18, 1902. Mr. Lynch played an 
active part in the civic life of Holyoke ; 
he served at various times on the City 
Council and Board of Aldermen ; was one 
of the water commissioners, serving for 
nine years, and was chairman of the 
board at the time it established the pres- 
ent fine water system by which Holyoke 
is supplied. The Whiting Street Reser- 
voir was built when he was chairman of 



the Holyoke Water Board. He was a 
prominent member of St. Jerome Temper- 
ance Society, and his death removed an 
active figure in the life of the community. 
He was a prominent member of St. 
Jerome's Catholic Church. Since his de- 
cease the extensive business which he 
built up has been carried on by his sons 
under the name of Lynch Brothers Brick 
Company. 

Mr. Lynch married Mary Kennedy, a 
native of County Kerry, Ireland, who 
came to this country with her parents at 
the same time that Mr. Lynch made the 
journey here. Thirteen children were 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Lynch, of whom 
seven are living, as follows: i. Elizabeth 
R. 2. Patrick M., graduate of Boston 
School of Technology, in the class of 
1894, now treasurer of the Lynch 
Brothers Brick Company. 3. John J., a 
graduate of Williams College in the class 
of 1894, now principal in the West Street 
Grammar School of Holyoke. 4. Thomas 
James, of whom further. 5. Maurice, Jr., 
a graduate of Williston Seminary, now 
president of Lynch Brothers Brick Com- 
pany. 6. Michael J., graduate of Brown 
University, 1904, a successful attorney of 
Providence, Rhode Island, where he oc- 
cupies a position on the staff of the gov- 
ernor of that State. 7. Joseph E., a gradu- 
ate of Williston Seminary, secretary of 
Lynch Brothers Brick Company. In ad- 
dition to these children six children were 
born, five of whom died in infancy. The 
other child, Mary E., wife of Dr. P. T. 
O'Reilly, died February 4, 1902, leaving 
a daughter, Mary, now a student at Rad- 
cliiTe College. 

Thomas James Lynch was born on 
Christmas Day, 1874, at Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, and since that time has made his 
home there. His preparatory education 
was acquired in the public schools of Hol- 
yoke, after which he attended Williams 



5J 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR.\PHY 



College, from which institution he was 
graduated with the class of 1894. and then 
entered the Law School of the Boston 
University, where he left a record of an 
unusually intelligent and diligent student, 
and from which he graduated with the 
class of 1897. He was admitted to the 
bar of Massachusetts in the same year. 
and upon his return to Holyoke estab- 
lished himself in practice there and has 
continued to the present time (1917), 
achieving a marked degree of success. 
Mr. Lynch handles an unusual amount of 
important litigation, and is regarded as 
a leader of his profession in this section, his 
services and achievements up to the pres- 
ent being such that it may confidently be 
predicted that the future holds for him a 
brilliant success. Mr. Lynch has not con- 
fined his activities to his profession, how- 
ever, but has served the community in a 
number of oflficial capacities, having been 
a member of the School Board of Holyoke 
for three years and treasurer of the City 
Water Department. He is also a mem- 
ber of the board of directors of the 
Knights of Columbus Building Associ- 
ation of Holyoke. In his religious belief 
he is a Roman Catholic and attends that 
church in Holyoke. He is a member of 
the Catholic Society, Knights of Colum- 
bus, the Holyoke Club and the Country 
Club of Holyoke. 

He married, June 3, 1914. Maria Marra. 
a native of Holyoke. Massachusetts, a 
daughter of John and Maria (McDonnell) 
Marra. old and well known residents of 
that citv. 



GARVEY. Patrick James. 

Attorney-at-Law. Active in Educational 
Affairs. 

One of the prominent and successful 
lawyers of Holyoke, Massachusetts, is 
Patrick James Garvey, a man whose repu- 
tation as a member of the legal fraternitv 



has been won through earnest, honest 
labor and his standing at the bar is a 
merited tribute to his ability. He is also 
a public-spirited citizen, active in advanc- 
ing the cause of education in his commu- 
nity and he was the prime factor in the 
establishment of the Holyoke Evening 
High School, of which he is the principal 
at the present time (1916). 

(I) Daniel Garvey, the earliest known 
ancestor of the branch of the family 
herein followed, was born in Ireland, was 
there educated, passed his entire active 
life and died, honored and respected by 
all. He married Ellen Moran. who bore 
him seven children: Thomas, John, Den- 
nis. Patrick, Kate. Mary, Honora. 

(^11 ) Patrick Garvey, son of Daniel and 
Ellen (Moran) Garvey. was born in 
County Kerry. Ireland, and there resided 
until the year 1847. ^vhen he emigrated 
to the United States and located in Hol- 
yoke, ^^lassachusetts, where he spent the 
remainder of his days, his death occurring 
many years later. He assisted in build- 
ing the first dam in Holyoke, and during 
that period acquired the title of "Bully" 
Garvey. not. however, through any pug- 
nacious tendencies displayed by him. He 
was a man of large build and great 
strength, and upon seeing two men fail 
in placing a large stone in its proper place 
he went to the rescue and unaided placed 
it on the scafltolding. The man in charge 
of the work said "Bully for you" and Mr. 
Garvey was ever afterward known by 
that appellation. He was a man of genial 
disposition, always ready to assist a 
neighbor and friend, and was honored and 
respected accordingly. His wife. Eliza- 
beth (Donnelly) Garvey. bore him seven 
children : Mary, Ellen, John, Daniel. Pat- 
rick H., Thomas J.. Michael. 

(Ill) John Garvey, son of Patrick and 
Elizabeth (Donnelly) Garvey, was born 
in Caherciveen, Countv Kerr\-. Ireland, 



.n6 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in 1836, died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
December 29, 1905. He attended the dis- 
trict school in his native land, and when 
about ten years of age accompanied his 
parents upon their removal to the United 
States and completed his studies in the 
schools of Holyoke. Upon attaining a 
suitable age to begin his active business 
career he became an employee in the old 
Hadley Mills, serving as bobbin boy. 
Later he worked in foundries in North- 
ampton and Easthampton, Massachusetts, 
and for a number of years was a resident 
of Northampton, up to the year 1876, 
when he went to the Easthampton Val- 
ley Machine Company foundry, and re- 
mained there up to 1894, then went to 
Holyoke, and there resided up to the 
time of his death. The last ten years 
of his life he spent in retirement from 
active toil, enjoying to the full the fruit 
of his former years of endeavor. He 
was an active member of the Sacred Heart 
Church, and in his daily life exemplified 
its teaching. He married Honora Ashe, 
a native of Dingle, County Kerry, Ire- 
land, daughter of James and Mary Ashe. 
Children: Mary, died young; John, died 
young; Elizabeth, deceased; Thomas J., 
assistant engineer of the United States 
armory at Springfield, Massachusetts ; 
Eleanor, deceased ; Annie, deceased ; Pat- 
rick James, of whom further. 

Patrick James Garvey was born in 
Northampton, Massachusetts, April 20, 
1873. He attended the public schools in 
the vicinity of his home, private school 
in Chicopee, Massachusetts, St. Joseph 
School, from which he graduated in 1888, 
Williston Seminary, from which he grad- 
uated in the class of 1891, and then, hav- 
ing determined upon the profession of 
law as his life work, he became a student 
in the Boston University Law School, 
from which he was graduated with the 
degree of Bachelor of Laws in the year 



1894. He was admitted to the bar the 
same year, and at once established him- 
self in the active practice of his profes- 
sion in Holyoke. He has served as coun- 
sel in a number of important cases, and 
his experience has been broad and varied, 
demonstrating his comprehensive knowl- 
edge of the law and his ability to success- 
fully cope with the intricate problems that 
confront the members of that profession. 
In addition to his extensive private prac- 
tice, Mr. Garvey has devoted considerable 
time and attention to the young men and 
women who have been unable to attend 
the public schools long enough to com- 
plete their studies, and in 1896 he took up 
the matter of evening schools in Holyoke, 
realizing that in this way they could make 
up for many deficiencies in their educa- 
tional course, and through his indefatiga- 
ble efforts that has been made practica- 
ble. He was instrumental in founding 
the evening high school, which was estab- 
lished in 1904, which registers as high as 
one thousand pupils per year. He was 
chosen to serve in the capacity of princi- 
pal, and the duties of this responsible 
ofifice have been performed by him since 
then in a highly creditable manner, he 
keeping abreast of the times in every par- 
ticular and giving those under his care 
the benefit of his thoughts and ideas. He 
keeps in touch with all that concerns the 
welfare and improvement of his adopted 
city by membership in various societies 
where his counsel and advice are of great 
value. He is a member and president of 
the Holyoke Board of Associated Chari- 
ties, member of the Chamber of Com- 
merce of Holyoke. the Springfield Board 
of Trade, the alumni associations of dif- 
ferent schools, the Order of Foresters, the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
the Improved Order of Red Men, of 
which he is a charter member, the Hol- 
yoke Country Club, the Holyoke Rod and 



57 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Gun Club, of a number of boys' clubs and 
of various societies connected with the 
Catholic church. 

Mr. Garvey married, June 25, 1902, 
Anna E. Kilbride, of Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, daughter of Thomas F. and Han- 
nah (Flynn) Kilbride. Children: Anna, 
born March 29, 1904; James, born May 
30, 1907; Edward, born December 28, 
1916. 



HOUSTON, Robert Alonzo, 

Representative Citizen. 

The branch of the Houston family re- 
siding in Holyoke and vicinity trace their 
ancestry to Samuel Houston, a native of 
Londonderry, Province of Ulster, Ireland, 
a descendant of a Scotch ancestry, zeal- 
ous Presbyterians in religion. He came 
to this country in 1718 or soon afterward 
with the Scotch-Irish who were invited to 
locate in New England by Governor 
Shute, of Massachusetts. Samuel Hous- 
ton's lot was laid out in Xutfield (as Lon- 
donderry was originally named on ac- 
count of its great forests) in the year 
1720, in what was called the English 
Range, and was duly recorded April 6, 
1725. It contained sixty acres and bor- 
dered on Beaver Pond. To this farm he 
added one hundred and forty-four acres, 
June 25, 1729, recorded January 24, 1730, 
in what was called the High Range, bor- 
dering on Bear Meadow in Londonderry. 
He was a well-to-do farmer, a man of 
good habits, exemplary character and un- 
questioned integrity. Among his chil- 
dren was Rev. John, mentioned below. 

(II) Rev. John Houston, son of Sam- 
uel Houston, was born in Londonderry, 
New Hampshire, April 4, 1732, the third 
boy born to the Scotch-Irish settlers 
there. After completing a preparatory 
course in the schools of his section, he 
studied for the ministry under the instruc- 
tion of the Rev. David MacGregor, the 



famous minister of the Londonderry 
Presbyterian Church, and later entered 
Princeton College, from which he was 
graduated in 1753. After a few years of 
preaching in various localities, he was 
called, August 5, 1756, to the pastorate 
of the church at Bedford, New Hamp- 
shire, a town founded by the London- 
derry pioneers, and was ordained there, 
September 28, 1757. He received the 
lands set aside for the first settled minis- 
ter of the town, and a salary of forty 
pounds, but it was stipulated that he was 
to preach only at such times as the town 
by vote requested him. A great portion 
of his time was spent in itinerary preach- 
ing in adjacent towns where there were 
no Presbyterian churches. He remained 
in cordial relations with his parish until 
the Revolutionary War, but not being in 
sympathy with the action of the colonies, 
he remained loyal to the mother country. 
When his attitude became known, the 
town by formal vote restrained him, from 
further preaching, June 15, 1776. He 
then turned his attention to teaching pri- 
vate pupils, from time to time, and to 
agricultural pursuits. He was an able 
preacher and a good pastor, had a high 
reputation for classical learning, and is 
described as a "tall, solemn, stern and 
dignified man." He married Anna Peebles, 
daughter of Robert and Sarah Peebles,- 
who were also Scotch-Irish pioneers of 
New Hampshire. Children: Samuel, 
who served in the Revolutionary war; 
Robert ; John, mentioned below ; Anna. 
became the wife of Hugh Riddle ; Sarah, 
became the wife of Hon. John Orr ; Wil- 
liam, who served in the Revolutionary 
War ; James ; and Joseph. Three of the 
sons graduated from Yale College. Rev. 
John Houston died in Bedford, February 
3, 1798, aged seventy-five years. His wife 
died in Bedford, July 4, 1798, aged sev- 
enty-two years. 

(Ill) John (2) Houston, son of the 



5B 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Rev. John (i) and Anna (Peebles) Hous- 
ton, was born in Bedford, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1760, and his death occurred in 
his native town in September, 1853. He 
spent his entire lifetime in Bedford, fol- 
lowed the occupation of farmings, and was 
highly respected and esteemed in the 
com,munity. He married and was the 
father of the following children : Robert, 
who died at Bedford, December 12, 1869, 
aged sixty-nine years ; John ; William E., 
mentioned below ; James, who died at 
Bedford, March 21, 1871, aged seventy- 
seven years. 

(IV) William E. Houston, son of John 
(2) Houston, was born in Bedford, New 
Hampshire, April 12, 1801, and died in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, July 30, 1879. 
He had a common school education, and 
in early life followed farming in Bedford 
and Gofifstown, New Hampshire. Later 
he removed to Haverhill, New Hamp- 
shire, where he resided for eight years, 
during which time he followed farming 
and conducted a saw mill, of which he 
was the owner. He learned the trade of 
carpenter during his young manhood, and 
this he followed in Nashua, New Hamp- 
shire, for five years, in which town he 
settled upon removing from Haverhill. 
In 1850 he came to Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, and engaged in farming at Smith 
Ferry, now known as the Abbott prop- 
erty. He was an earnest, industrious, up- 
right and capable man, and a highly use- 
ful citizen. He was a member of the 
Baptist church of Holyoke, in the work of 
which he aided to the best of his ability. 
In early manhood he was an adherent of 
the Whig party, and later in life gave his 
allegiance to the Republican party, to 
which he adhered during the remainder of 
his days. Mr. Houston married, Decem- 
ber 20, 1825, at Goffstown. New Hamp- 
shire, Sarah Kimball, of that town, born 
December 19, 1800, died January 12, i! 



daughter of Richard and Margaret (Fer- 
rin) Kimball, and a descendant of Rich- 
ard Kimball, of old English ancestry, and 
who was one of the pioneers of Massa- 
chusetts, and the progenitor of a large 
and very prominent family. Children: i. 
Anna Margaret, born September 2, 1826, 
died August 10, 1895 ; she was the wife of 
John Roby Webster. 2. Nancy Melissa, 
born January i, 1828, died August 25, 
1883 ; she was the wife of Ebenezer A. 
Johnson. 3. Richard Kimball, born No- 
vember 28, 1829. 4. Robert Alonzo, men- 
tioned below. 5. Sarah Amanda, born 
March 3, 1834. died December 3, 1834. 6. 
William E., Jr., born January 3, 1836. 7. 
Sarah Amanda, born April 26, 1840, died 
February 25, 1868; was the wife of Ed- 
ward A. Johnson. 8. Joseph Edgar, born 
April 4, 1842, whose sketch follows, only 
one now living. 

(V) Robert Alonzo Houston, son of 
William E. and Sarah (Kimball) Hous- 
ton, was born in GofTstown, New Hamp- 
shire, August 18, 1831, and died in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, October 14, 1916. 
He attended the public schools in his 
native town aiid in Nashua, and com- 
pleted his studies in the Nashua Acad- 
emy. He then learned the trade of belt 
making and roll covering, but this not 
proving to his liking, he engaged in the 
photograph business with his uncle, Wil- 
liam Kimball, in Concord, New Hamp- 
shire. Here his strict attention to his 
duties was a source of satisfaction to his 
employer, and he remained several years. 
In 1850 he located in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, and engaged in machine work in 
the United States Armory in Springfield, 
employed in the manufacture of rifles. 
Subsequently he became an employee of 
the Florence Sewing Machine Company 
at Florence, Massachusetts, continuing 
there for eleven years, and during the 
greater part of that time served in the 



59 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



very responsible capacity of superintend- 
ent of the testing department. On ac- 
count of impaired health, he returned to 
Holyoke and resided with Whiting 
Street on his farm. Some years later he 
formed a partnership with Clark Fergu- 
son, under the firm name of Houston & 
Ferguson, and they engaged in making 
and installing top roll coverings, an in- 
dustry at that time allied with the cotton 
industry, and which trade he had previ- 
ously learned. The shop was located 
near the old Mt. Tom Paper Mill, but as 
more modern appliances displaced the 
leather covered top roll in the manufac- 
ture of cotton goods, the firm discon- 
tinued business and from that time until 
his death, Mr. Houston lived practically 
a retired life. In 1884 he purchased six 
acres of land in what is now the residen- 
tial section of Northampton street, Hol- 
yoke, and erected a handsome residence, 
equipped with every modern convenience 
and com.fort, in which he spent the re- 
mainder of his days. He subsequently 
disposed of the remainder of the property 
in building lots, realizing handsomely on 
the investment. He devoted his time to 
gardening, and the last summer of his 
life he furnished a beautiful exhibition of 
Canterbury Bells at the Holyoke Public 
Library, and he took delight in being 
present while the blooms were on exhibi- 
tion to hear the exclamations of admira- 
tion. Second to his gardens was his in- 
terest in fishing, and when the season was 
in full swing he, with several companions, 
went to the woods of Maine to enjoy that 
sport, his last trip being two years prior 
to his death. In politics Mr. Houston 
was always a Republican. Although not 
active in civic affairs of any kind, and of 
a quiet and retiring disposition, Mr. 
Houston enjoyed a wide acquaintance. 
He was one of the charter members of 
the Pequot Club and retained member- 



ship until his decease. He was an attend- 
ant of the Second Congregational Church 
of Holyoke, in the work of which he took 
a keen interest, as he also did in every 
project advanced for the welfare of his 
adopted city. 

Mr. Houston married, November 27, 
1862, Polly Ann Street, born at North- 
ampton, Massachusetts, December i, 
1837, a daughter of Alpheus and Sally 
Ann (Thorpe) Street. Children: i. Henry 
Street, born September 11, 1863; married, 
June I, 1886, Ada Belle Ham, a native of 
Wilton, New Hampshire, but at the time 
of her marriage a resident of Holyoke, 
daughter of William G. and Lydia A. 
Avery. 2. Ida Pearl, born November 4, 
1872, died June 15, 1908; was the wife 
of Rufus H. Chapin. 3. Robbie, born and 
died September 7. 1874. Mr. Houston 
died at his late home in Holyoke, October 
14, 1916, after a comparatively short ill- 
ness, at the advanced age of eighty-five 
years. His death removed from Holyoke 
a man well known and highly esteemed 
by all with whom he was connected, 
either in business or social life. 



HOUSTON, Joseph Edgar, 

Ag^iculturistt Business Man. 

Joseph Edgar Houston, the youngest 
son of William E. and Sarah (Kimball) 
Houston (q. v.) was born in Haverhill, 
New Hampshire, April 4, 1842. He was 
eight years old when his parents removed 
to Holyoke, Massachusetts, and he re- 
ceived his early education largely in the 
public schools there. He assisted with 
the work of the home farm, which con- 
sisted of ninety acres located at Smith's 
Ferry, and he continued to reside with 
his father until the latter's death, in 1879, 
when he succeeded to the ownership of 
the homestead. To the original tract he 
afterward added from time to time, until 



60 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



it consisted of one hundred and forty-four 
acres. He was engaged in general farm- 
ing and also had an excellent dairy, dis- 
posing of the latter products to the milk 
dealers of the city of Holyoke. In every 
sense of the word he was a successful 
farmer, employing modern methods, rais- 
ing and keeping high-grade cattle, con- 
stantly improvang his fields, gardens and 
orchards, and always kept pace with the 
advance in agriculture. In addition to his 
farming interests, he purchased tracts of 
timber land and engaged in the lumber 
business, selling lumber from these lots 
and disposing of wood at the various 
brick yards in his section. In 1882 he 
retired from active pursuits, selling the 
homestead, and since that year has made 
his home in Holyoke. His achievements 
in life have been substantial and impor- 
tant. Endowed with a natural skill and 
love for husbandry, Mr. Houston made 
the most of his opportunities and suc- 
ceeded well. He set an example to the 
younger farmers of the section by a life 
of industry, thrift and application, demon- 
strating that good business methods and 
a proper regard for efficiency insure good 
results on the farm as well as in the mill 
and office. Though a man of quiet and 
unostentatious ways, devoted to his home 
and caring little for social activity, he is 
highly respected by his fellow citizens. 
He has given to the Republican party his 
loyal support and confidence, and his in- 
fluence has been potent, though quietly 
exerted. In religion Mr. Houston is a 
Baptist. 

He married, in 1877, Harriet A. Street, 
daughter of Alpheus and Sally Ann 
(Thorpe) Street, of Northampton, Mas- 
sachusetts. Children: i. Lulu Maude, 
became the wife of John Parsons Phelps, 
who is now engaged in the paper busi- 
ness in Bridgeport, Connecticut; they 
have two children : Houston Street and 



Elizabeth Phelps. 2. Mena May. 3. Ada 
Josephine. 4. Paul Leon, a graduate of 
Yale College, 1913; engaged in the paper 
business, serving as assistant superintend- 
ent of the Nonotuck Division of the Amer- 
ican Writing Paper Company. 



KENNEY, Daniel WQliam, 

Journalist, Public Official. 

Among the citizens of Holyoke who,, 
during a long and unusually active career, 
have wielded a definite influence in politi- 
cal and civil affairs, and who have been 
known for their sterling qualities, their 
fearless loyalty to honest convictions, 
their sturdy opposition to misrule in 
municipal affairs, is Daniel William Ken- 
ney, a man who lives the life he does be- 
cause he believes it to be right and has 
made high moral principles a part of his 
nature. 

William Kenney, grandfather of Daniel 
W. Kenney, was a native of County Car- 
low, Ireland, in which country he was 
reared and educated, was the owner of a 
stock farm and an extensive cattle dealer, 
and was considered well-to-do for those 
times. He was prominent and influential 
in community affairs, and was honored 
and respected in the neighborhood where 
he spent his entire life, his death occur- 
ing in the same county in which he was 
born. He married Ann O'Niel, who bore 
him eight children: Daniel, W^illiam, 
Charles, Patrick, Michael, Anzela, Jane, 
Maria. 

Charles Kenney, father of Daniel W. 
Kenney, was born in County Carlow, Ire- 
land, died in Waterford, Ireland, 1875, 
having lived in that town during the 
greater part of his life. He received a 
practical education in the national schools 
of his native country, and early in life he 
entered the employ of a dry goods mer- 
chant, they being known by the name of 



61 



ExXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



drapers in that country at that time, and 
was connected with that line of business 
throughout his entire active career. He 
was a Liberal in politics and took an ac- 
tive interest in affairs pertaining- to the 
welfare of the party. He married Alary 
Aylmond, of County Kilkenny, Ireland, 
who bore him six children, namely : Ann 
Maria, deceased ; Daniel William, of 
whom further; Michael Joseph, deceased ; 
Mary Josephine, a widow, residing in 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania ; Lucy, de- 
ceased ; Anastatia, superior in a convent 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts. 

Daniel William Kenney was born in 
the city of Waterford, County Waterford, 
Ireland. July 6, 1858. He obtained his 
education in Mt. Sion Christian Brothers 
School in Waterford, Ireland, completing 
his studies at the age of fourteen years. 
He began his active business career in a 
ship broker's office, and at the expiration 
of one year's service he ran away in order 
to go to sea and continued a seafaring 
life for the following three years. At the 
time of his father's death he returned to 
his home, but shortly afterward again re- 
turned to his former life and enlisted for 
one year in the English Navy Reserve 
with which he went to Turkey, South 
America, Russia and other ports and 
countries. In 1876 he reached Cape 
Breton and in July of that year he came 
to Boston, Massachusetts, and shortly 
afterward joined the Eighth United States 
Cavalry and engaged in scout duty on the 
Mexican border. He was connected with 
the United States Cavalry service for five 
years and eight months, part of which 
time was spent in barracks and the re- 
mainder under tents, but during the en- 
tire period he was faithful in the dis- 
charge of his varied duties and won the 
approval and commendation of his su- 
perior ofificers. Upon the expiration of 
his service he rettirned to Boston and en- 



gaged in newspaper work, at which he 
continued for some time, and later became 
identified with Mr. P. F. Collier, publisher, 
having charge of an of^ce for him in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, and in ]\Ion- 
treal, Quebec, this connection continuing 
for about three years. In December, 1886, 
Mr. Kenney came to Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, and in company with others estab- 
lished a daily paper, the Holyoke "Demo- 
crat," the name of which has since been 
changed to the Holyoke "Telegram" and 
conducted the above paper for about five 
years. He changed from this paper to 
the "Transcript,' another Holyoke paper, 
of which he was city editor between four 
and five years, and during that period his 
chief aim and ambition was to make the 
papers with which he was connected high- 
class periodicals as distinguished from the 
mere political organ, and he esteemed it 
ample reward that he was connected with 
them long enough to make them a power 
in the city and an influence throughout 
the State and Nation. During the years 
1888-89-90 he served as probation officer; 
also served as deputy sheriff for a short 
time; was clerk of city council, and in 
1895 was elected to the office of city audi- 
tor of Holyoke, in which capacity he has 
served to the present time (1916) and his 
tenure of office has been noted for effici- 
ency and accuracy. He casts his vote for 
the candidates of the Democratic party, 
the principles of which he believes is for 
the best form of government. He is a 
member of the Knights of Columbus and 
has been especially active and a leader in 
this order for twenty-two years. He has 
held all the important offices in the order, 
including district deputy, master of the 
fourth degree, and one of the national di- 
rectors of the National Board. Mr. Ken- 
ney takes a deep and abiding interest in 
everything pertaining to the public wel- 
fare and to the advancement of material, 



62 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



social, intellectual and moral interests. 
Personally he is popular and socially he 
occupies a position in the front rank. 

Mr. Kenney married, September ii, 
1888, Minnie A. Reardon, of Hadley, 
Massachusetts, daughter of Thomas and 
Hannah (Toole) Reardon. Children : 
Charles, a graduate of Holy Cross Col- 
lege ; Marion Eilleen, Daniel William, 
Jr., and Thomas A. 



PARTRIDGE, Frederick F., 

Financier. 

Advancement in any line of activity is 
proverbially slow, and the man who 
would win laurels in any walk of life is 
he who applies himself diligently and 
earnestly to the mastery of every detail 
connected with his special line. It is these 
qualities that have gained to Frederick 
F. Partridge marked prominence as presi- 
dent of the Home National Bank. Widely 
and favorably known, the record of his 
career cannot fail to prove of interest to 
all of his large circle of friends. 

Colonel William W. Partridge, grand- 
father of Frederick F. Partridge, was born 
February 25, 1790, in England, and died 
April 15, 1849. By his marriage to 
Louise Edwards, born March 13, 1793, 
died October 15, 1863, he was the 
father of ten children, among whom was 
William E., born May 11, 1816, in 
Northampton, Massachusetts, died in 
Holyoke, February 24, 1903. In early life 
he devoted his attention to agricultural 
pursuits, and later served in the capacities 
of court messenger, superintendent of the 
poor farm, and night watchman of all the 
banks in Northampton. He married, No- 
vember 5, 1839, his cousin, Julia A. Part- 
ridge, born September 12, 1819, died Sep- 
tember 20, 1895, daughter of John S. and 
Abigail (Hitchcock) Partridge. They 
were the parents of five children : Wil- 



liam E., born August 23, 1840, died of 
starvation in Libby Prison, October 11, 
1864; Lucy L., born February 23, 1843, 
died February 22, 1897; Mary M., born 
October 3, 1845 J Harriet H., born Octo- 
ber 2, 1847, "^ied September 21, 1848; 
Frederick F., of whom further. 

Frederick F. Partridge was born at 
Northampton, Massachusetts, February 
18, 1862. His education was thorough 
and practical, obtained in the schools of 
his native town, and at the age of fifteen 
years he entered upon his active career, 
becoming a clerk in a dry goods store and 
serving as such for three years. He then 
spent a short time in a lawyer's office, but 
changed his occupation when offered a 
clerkship in the Northampton National 
Bank, where he served until the year 1881, 
when he came to Holyoke to become 
bookkeeper for the City National Bank, 
which was then located in the Hotel 
Hamilton building. He served in that 
capacity until 1884, giving entire satis- 
faction to his superior officers, and upon 
the organization of the Home National 
Bank in that year became teller of that 
institution, also bookkeeper, the other 
officers being James H. Newton, presi- 
dent, and E. L. Munn, cashier. He took 
in the first deposit made at the bank, 
March 4, 1884, and he held the position 
until 1892, a period of eight years, when 
E. L. Munn, the cashier, resigned, and he 
was elected to that office, in which capa- 
city he served for twenty-four years. On 
January i, 1916, at a meeting of the direc- 
tors of the Home National Bank, James 
H. Newton, who had been the president 
of this institution from, the time of its 
organization, covering a period of thirty- 
two years, declined reelection and Mr. 
Partridge was elected his successor. For 
several years previous to this time, Mr. 
Partridge had practically assumed the 
duties of this position, and was thor- 



^Z 



E-XCVCLOPEDIA OF EIOGR-\PHY 



oughly conversant with them. As noted 
above, he is among the oldest bank offi- 
cials in Holyoke, having served thirty- 
five years in some position in connection 
with National banks of Holyoke. At the 
time of his accession to the office of 
cashier the deposits were $420,000 as 
against $1,638,878 at the present time 
(1916); surplus and undivided profits, 
$38,000 as against $205.227.41 ; and total 
assets, $1,014,096 as against $2,283,426.05. 
This is indeed a splendid record, meriting 
the commendation of all connected with 
the institution, and placing him in the 
rank of successful and conservative execu- 
tives who have the interests of the institu- 
tions with which they are connected ever 
uppermost in their thoughts. This dis- 
tinction is well earned, it is a foregone 
conclusion that he will display the same 
• painstaking interest in behalf of the in- 
stitution in his new office as he displayed 
in his former positions. The career of 
Mr. Partridge is one which elicits praise 
and admiration and may serve as an ex- 
ample well worthy of emulation by any 
young man who desires to succeed. 

Mr. Partridge is a Republican in his 
political principle, and while he has never 
held public office he has always taken an 
active interest in all the affairs of the city 
and has ever been ready to lend his aid 
and influence to any measure for its up- 
building or advancement. Although the 
duties of his position in connection with 
the bank have been of a strenuous nature, 
he has still found time to assist other 
worthy corporations and is a director of 
the Holyoke Hotel Company and the 
Morris Plan Bank, and is treasurer of the 
Mt. Tom Realty Trust Company, owners 
of a large amount of real estate in that 
section. He has also taken an active part 
in the various clubs and fraternal organi- 
zations, being a member and for three 
years (up to 1916 when he resigned) presi- 



dent of the Holyoke Club ; a member of 
Mt. Tom Golf Club, the Bay State Club, 
Xonotuck Lodge, Xo. 61, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and was formerly 
a member of the Holyoke Canoe Club. 
'Sir. Partridge has always taken an active 
part in religious matters, being a member 
of the First Congregational Church So- 
ciety, in which he has held the office of 
treasurer continuously for nearly thirty 
years. 

Mr. Partridge married, August 3, 1885, 
at Northampton, Massachusetts, Ella 
Gertrude, daughter of Zebard and Martha 
(Way) Foster. Mrs. Partridge was born 
in Williamsburg, but resided up to the 
time of her marriage at Northampton. 
They are the parents of two children: i. 
Ethel, who was a student at Wellesley 
College ; she became the wife of George 
E. Squier. advertising manager of the 
White & ^^'ycofit Company of Holyoke ; 
they are the parents of one child. Barbara. 
2. Harry, who was a student at Rock- 
bridge Hall, Wellesley Hills. Massachu- 
setts, and is now purchasing agent of the 
Coburn Trolley Track Company of 
Holvoke. 



SEARS, Henry G., 

Merchant, FixLancier. 

Henry G. Sears, a progressive, ener- 
getic merchant, president and treasurer of 
the Henry G. Sears Company, Incorpor- 
ated, and general business man of great 
ability of Holyoke, comes of an old New 
England family, being a descendant of 
Richard Sares, as the name was then 
spelled, and so appears in the records of 
the Plymouth Colony tax list in 1633, and 
in the Salem lists in 1637-38, each suc- 
ceeding generation maintaining the honor 
of the name and winning distinction in 
the various communities in which they 
have resided, whether in commercial, 



64 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



financial, professional or social life. Hol- 
yoke, since 1871, has been the home of 
one of the twentieth century representa- 
tives of the family, Henry G. Sears, whose 
name heads this article. The line of this 
particular branch of the family is traced 
through Captain Paul Sears, son of Rich- 
ard Sears, who married Deborah Willard ; 
their son, Captain Samuel Sears, who 
married Mercy Mayo ; their son, Jona- 
than Sears, who married Elizabeth 
Howes ; their son, Jonathan (2) Sears, 
who married Priscilla Sears ; their son. 
Sergeant Jonathan (3) Sears, who mar- 
ried Abigail Hall ; their son, Jonathan 
(4) Sears, who married Hannah Foster; 
their son, Stillman Sears, father of Henry 
G. Sears. 

Stillman Sears was born in Ashfield, 
Massachusetts, September 23, 181 5, died 
in the prime of life at Shelburne Falls, 
Massachusetts, October 10, 1854. He 
established and successfully conducted a 
large teaming business before the build- 
ing of the Fitchburg Railroad, his trucks 
carrying under contract freight and mer- 
chandise between Shelburne Falls, Green- 
field and intervening points. He was a 
man of great energy, a hard worker, well 
known and highly regarded in the sections 
he covered in his business operations. 
When the work of excavation for the 
great Hoosac Tunnel began, a certain in- 
ventor believed the work could be per- 
formed by a huge augur driven by such 
powerful machinery that the mountain 
could be pierced more economically and 
quickly than by blasting and digging. 
His plan was adopted and Stillman Sears 
was awarded the contract for transport- 
ing the heavy mass of machinery required 
from the nearest railroad station to the 
east end mouth of what is now the tunnel. 
Great skill was required in this operation 
on account of the weight of the machinery 
and the locality of the point of destina- 

Mass— 6— 5 65 



tion, but the contract was faithfully com- 
pleted. The project was in the end de- 
clared a failure after many thousands of 
dollars had been expended. Stillman 
Sears married, September 27, 1842, Abigail 
Eldridge, who survived her husband by 
five weeks, her death occurring November 
20, 1854. They were the parents of two 
children : Isabelle, married Henri N. 
Woods, a prominent lawyer of Gloucester, 
Massachusetts (now deceased), and now 
resides at Rock City Falls, New York; 
Henry G., of further mention. 

Henry G. Sears was born at Shelburne 
Falls, Massachusetts, April 4, 1853, and 
the following year was doubly orphaned. 
His boyhood until the age of twelve was 
passed under the care and in the home of 
his maternal grandfather, Eli Eldridge, 
but from that time forward he was the 
captain of his own fortunes. At twelve 
he was hired to a farmer of Conway for 
two years, the farmer furnishing him as 
remuneration, board, clothes, and giving 
him $1.00 each year on July 4, and allow- 
ing him to attend school three months 
each winter. At the end of this time, he 
secured a better position with a farmer 
who gave him fourteen dollars monthly 
for the seven months farming season, and 
allowed him to attend school during the 
winter months. The next year, being 
stronger and having won a good name 
among the farmers for faithfulness and 
industry, he commanded a salary of 
twenty dollars monthly for a term, of 
seven months, every cent of which he 
saved. With his one hundred and forty 
dollars gained by hard work and strict 
economy, he entered Powers Institute at 
Bernardston, Massachusetts, and later 
Northampton High School, investing the 
entire sum and that which he could earn 
in the meantime in securing an education. 

In March. 1871, he entered the employ 
of Lemuel Sears, a merchant of Holyoke, 



EXCVCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Massachusetts, remaining but a few weeks 
when he accepted the advice of an uncle, 
Henry Eldridge, and went West. He 
located at Dwight, Illinois, and there 
made an agreement by which in return 
for his services he was to receive twelve 
dollars and fifty cents per month the 
first year, fifteen dollars the second and 
twenty dollars the third year, in addition 
to his board. The West did not prove to 
his liking, and after one month in his new 
home he returned to Holyoke and again 
entered the employ of Lemuel Sears, be- 
ginning as clerk at a weekly salary of four 
dollars and board. He remained in that 
subordinate position until twenty-three 
years of age, when he was admitted to a 
partnership in the -business then con- 
ducted upon a retail basis only. The part- 
nership, begun in 1876, was continued 
until the death of Lemuel Sears, March 
17, 1912, when Henry G. Sears purchased 
the interest owned by the heirs and be- 
came sole proprietor. Soon after 1876 the 
business was enlarged and as wholesale 
and retail grocers the firm became well 
and most favorably known, the enthusi- 
asm, energy and efficiency of the junior 
partner agreeing well with the matured 
wisdom and long experience of the senior. 
After becoming sole proprietor Mr. Sears, 
in April, 1913, expanded the business by 
incorporation, as the Henry G. Sears 
Company, with Henry G. Sears as presi- 
dent and treasurer, and the business of the 
company has been built up until it is at 
the present time (1916) the largest in 
Western Massachusetts. A force of 
traveling salesmen and some fifty clerks 
is needed to transact their large business, 
and in addition to railroad shipments a 
number of automobile trucks delivers 
goods to surrounding cities and towns. 
Mr. Sears has built up a widespread repu- 
tation for fair and honorable dealing that 
places him firmly in the high regard of 
the commercial world in which he moves. 



His business activities are not bounded 
by the field covered by the Henry G. 
Sears Company, but he has been an im- 
portant factor in the management of other 
commercial and financial concerns where 
his resourcefulness, his vision and his 
business acumen have been highly appre- 
ciated. He is a director of the City Na- 
tional Bank, for many years has been a 
trustee and member of the investment 
committee of the Mechanics Savings 
Bank, and until the disposal of his interest 
in 1915 was treasurer of the Holyoke Ice 
Company, and is a director of the Nono- 
tuck Hotel Company. 

He is a member of Mt. Tom Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Holyoke 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; and Hol- 
yoke Council, Royal and Select Masters ; 
the Young Men's Christian Association, 
the Congregational church, and in 1916 
was honored by his business associates 
by election to the office of president of the 
Southern New England Wholesale Gro- 
cer's Association. He is a believer in and 
a strong supporter of the Republican 
party, and in his political as in his busi- 
ness life is guided by a devotion to prin- 
ciple. Although his sterling worth and 
fidelity would be gladly utilized by his 
townsmen in public position, he has never 
accepted political office, but as a private 
citizen has aided in the many movements 
that have benefited his city. His clubs 
are the Bay State, Holyoke, Mt. Tom 
Golf and Holyoke Canoe. 

Mr. Sears married, in Minneapolis, 
Minnesota, June 18, 1884, Fannie E. Ford, 
daughter of Charles E. and Jane R. 
(Hemenway) Ford, granddaughter of 
Alvah and Betsey (Barnes) I'ord, and 
great-granddaughter of Phineas Hemen- 
way, of Herkimer, New York, who at the 
age of sixteen ran away from home and 
enlisted in the Revolutionary army as a 
drummer boy. Mrs. Sears, through col- 
lateral lines, traces her descent to John 



66 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Priscilla Alden of the "Mayflower." 
Mr. and Mrs. Sears are the parents of 
three children: i. Marion E., married Dr. 
Edward P. Bagg, an eminent physician 
of Holyoke, and has two sons : Edward 
P. and Henry Sears Bagg. 2. Marguerite, 
married Morton Hull, of Chicago, a 
graduate of Dartmouth College, now and 
since the incorporation of the Henry G. 
Sears Company in April, 1913, treasurer 
of that company. 3. Henry P., died in 
infancy. 



PRENTISS, Hollo Arthur, 

Business Man. 

The Prentiss or Prentice family, of 
which Rollo Arthur Prentiss, who for sev- 
eral years was a well known retail shoe 
dealer of Holyoke, is a descendant, is an 
old and honored one, and is traced to 
Captain Thomas Prentiss, who was born 
in England in 1621. With his wife Grace, 
whom he married about 1643 i" England, 
and his daughter Grace, Captain Prentiss 
came to New England about 1648, and 
located in Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
where he and his wife joined the church. 
May 23, 1652. A few years later he made 
his home in what is now Newton, then 
part of Cambridge, and though he lived 
there to the end of his days, he had inter- 
ests in various other towns. In 1667 he 
bought three hundred acres of land in the 
Pequot country, and he was one of the 
first to build a house in Quinsigamond 
(now Worcester), where he owned fifty 
acres of land, but he did not remain there 
to settle. He also owned real estate in 
Woburn and Billerica, and in 1675 re- 
ceived a grant of three hundred acres in 
Connecticut. In those days land alone 
was the measure of a man's wealth and 
standing in the community. 

In 1656 he was chosen lieutenant of a 
troop of horse, and in 1662 became its 
captain, and "he and his troops of horse" 



we are told, "were a terror to the Indians 
by his sudden and impetuous charges. 
He took part in the Narragansett fight. 
In 1689 ^^ s"<J li's troop were sent to 
Rhode Island to arrest Sir Edmund An- 
dres, the royal governor." He was one 
of the commissioners to put Indian chil- 
dren to service in 1675, and in the same 
year was a commissioner to rebuild the 
town of Lancaster, after it had been 
burned by Indians. But at other times 
he was a conspicuous friend and counselor 
of the Indians, especially those that had 
been converted to Christianity, and at 
their request was appointed their guardian 
and magistrate. In 1705 he settled his 
estate by deeds of gift to his children. 
He died July 6, 1710, on Sunday in conse- 
quence of a fall from his horse on return- 
ing from church, and was buried with 
military honors, July 8, 1710, in the old 
graveyard at Newton. There his grave- 
stone is still standing. His wife Grace 
died in Newton, October 9, 1692. Chil- 
dren : Grace, born 1646 ; Thomas, Janu- 
ary 22, 1649; Elizabeth, twin of Thomas; 
John, February 2, 1653 ; John. July 10, 
1655 ; Mary ; Henry ; Hannah, 1661. 

(II) Thomas (2) Prentiss, son of 
Thomas (i) Prentiss, was born January 
22, 1649, ^n Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
and lived in his native town. He married, 
March 20, 1675, Sarah Stanton, daughter 
of Thomas Stanton, who came to this 
country in 1635, and became a famous 
Indian interpreter and a man of note 
throughout the colony ; her mother, Anna 
(Lord) Stanton, was a daughter of 
Thomas Lord. The home of the Stantons 
was Stonington, Connecticut. Thomas 
Prentiss died April 19, 1685. Sarah Pren- 
tiss, widow of Thomas Prentiss, married 
(second) in 1713, Captain William Den- 
nison. Children of Mr. and Mrs. Prentiss: 
Thomas, born January 13, 1676; Grace; 
Samuel ; John, mentioned below. 



67 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(III) Rev. John Prentiss, son of 
Thomas (2) Prentiss, was born in 1682, 
and graduated from Harvard College in 
1700. He married (first) December 4, 
1705, Mary, widow of Andrew Gardner. 
She died in 1716, and he married (sec- 
ond) Prudence, widow of Rev. Josiah 
Swan. She died July 10, 1765. Mr. Pren- 
tiss began to preach in May, 1705, at 
Lancaster, and he was ordained, March 
29, 1708, the fourth minister of that town, 
continuing as its pastor until he died, Jan- 
uary 6, 1748. It is said that he was 
"gentle yet firm, satisfied with the way of 
the churches, he asked for no newghides." 
He baptized 1593 persons and admitted 
to the church 321 during his pastorate. 
His epitaph reads : "Ye Rev. Mr. John 
Prentice, Pastor of ye First Church of 
Christ in Lancaster. Died Jany. 6 A. 
D. 1747-8, aetat 66. In his doctrine he 
was learned, judicious, Plain, Season- 
able and Unreprovable. In his Conversa- 
tion Steady, Sober, Temperate, Peace- 
able, Watchful, Instructive, Prudent and 
Blameless. In his house ruling with all 
gravity ; a tender Husband, a good Father, 
a kind Master and given to Hospitality. 
In his public character a true Bishop. 
In his private Capacity a Gentleman and 
Exemplary Christian. His micmory is 
precious and his Praise is in the churches." 
Children by first wife: John, mentioned 
below; Mary, 1708; Thomas, baptized 
September 3, 1709; Stanton, 171 1; Eliza- 
beth, baptized November 22, 1713; Sarah, 
baptized March 11, 1715-16. By second 
wife: Dorothy, baptized January 12, 
1718; Prudence, baptized November 29, 
1719; Relief, married the Rev. John 
Rogers ; Rebecca, born September 22, 
1727. 

(IV) John (2) Prentiss, son of Rev. 
John (i) Prentiss, was born about 1706, 
and died March 12, 1737-38. He settled 
in Lancaster, Massachusetts. He mar- 



ried, October II, 1728, Anna Bayley. Chil- 
dren: John, born September 23, 1729; 
Samuel, mentioned below ; Anna, born 
June 17, 1734; Joshua, baptized October 

2, 1737- 

(V) Samuel Prentiss, son of John (2) 
Prentiss, was baptized at Lancaster, Mas- 
sachusetts, September 5, 1731. He mar- 
ried, February 18, 1755, Prudence Osgood, 
who died March 20, 1778. He removed to 
Winchendon, Massachusetts, where he 
died in 1800. His farm was situated on 
what is still known as Prentiss Hill. He 
was a soldier in the Revolution in Cap- 
tain Peter Woodbury's company, Colonel 
Jacob Gerrish's regiment from July 13 to 
November 9, 1778; also in Captain David 
Jewett's company, Colonel Gerrish's regi- 
ment from November 12 to December 12, 
1778, guarding the troops of the conven- 
tion. Children : Prudence, born Febru- 
ary 6, 1756 ; Anne, June 23, 1758 ; Thomas, 
June 23, 1758; John, December 17, 1760; 
Samuel, mentioned below ; Levi, April 19, 
1768; Luke, July 17, 1770. 

(VI) Samuel (2) Prentiss, son of Sam- 
uel (i) Prentiss, was born at Lancaster, 
Massachusetts, July 11, 1763. He mar- 
ried, February 25, 1794, Rebecca Mc- 
Ilwaine, who was born March 19, 1772, 
daughter of James and Rebecca Mc- 
Ilwaine. He was deacon of the First 
Congregational Church of Winchendon, 
but declined to serve. For many years 
the foremost citizen of the town, he served 
as representative to the General Court in 
1812, as delegate to the State Constitu- 
tional Convention, and for twenty years 
was town clerk and justice of the peace, 
holding other ofiices of trust and honor 
from time to time. He died September 
28, 1828. Children : Anna, born Decem,- 
ber 15, 1794; Samuel, October 20, 1796; 
John, December 4, 1798; Prudence, Au- 
gust 21, 1800; James, February 28, 1803; 
Levi, February 11, 1805; Rebecca, May 



68 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



27, 1807; Mary, February 12, 1810; Wil- 
liam, mentioned below; Henry, April 20, 

1815. 

(VII) William Prentiss, son of Sam- 
uel (2) Prentiss, was born at Winchen- 
don, Massachusetts, August 9, 1812. He 
married, December 17, 1835, Sarah Lin- 
coln. He settled in Acworth, New Hamp- 
shire, where he died March 29, 1864. He 
was a shoemaker by trade. His wife was 
born in 1813, died in September, 1902, a 
daug"hter of Lemuel and Mehitable 
(Fisher) Lincoln. Children: Davis Brain- 
erd, mentioned below; Marden Warner, 
born September 3, 1840; Robert Thomas, 
July 17, 1842; William, Jr., February 26, 
1845; Charles Herbert, January 21, 1848; 
Samuel Lincoln, September 25, 1850. 

(VIII) Davis Brainerd Prentiss, son of 
William Prentiss, was born at Acworth, 
New Hampshire, December 18, 1838. He 
was educated in the public schools of his 
native town, and in his youth learned the 
trade of shoemaker, working afterward 
as a journeyman in New Hampshire and 
at Bellows Falls and Springfield, Ver- 
mont. In 1883 he came to Hadley Falls, 
Massachusetts, and entered the employ 
of his brother, who was a grain dealer in 
Holyoke, and he continued in this posi- 
tion until 1908, when he was crippled by 
an accident. Since then he has been re- 
tired from active business. In politics he 
is a Republican. He attends the Congre- 
gational church. He married, December 
24, 1864, Frances J. McNabb, who was 
born in Barnet, Vermont, May 17, 1846. 
Children : i. William Carlos, born Decem- 
ber 22, 1867, a Congregational minister; 
married (first) Ella Brackett, (second) 
Elsie Hathaway, and (third) Mabel H. 
Goodnow ; child by first wife, William B., 
born May 22, 1900; children by second 
wife : Marden Thomas, born April 3, 
1903; Adelaide Hathaway, August 15, 
1905 ; Dorothy Frances, February 19, 



1907; Frederick Carlos, June 5, 1909, died 
June 26, 1910. 2. Mary Elvira, born Sep- 
tember 15, 1869. 3- George Milan, born 
May 15, 1871, died March 11, 1895. 4. 
Horace Duncan, born August 11, 1872, 
assistant postmaster of Holyoke ; married, 
April 21, 1900, Minnie Gushing; children: 
Allan Horace, born May 14, 1906; Dorris 
Ethel, March 16, 1912. 5. Frederick Mar- 
den, born December 14, 1874, died Au- 
gust 25, 1892. 6. Milton Parks, born Oc- 
tober 29, 1877, farmer in Granby, Massa- 
chusetts ; married, October 29, 1900, Lucy 
C. Bemis ; children : Earl, born January 
25, 1903; Hazel M., August 10, 1905, died 
November 9, 1908; Alma C, April 19, 
1910. 7. Rollo Arthur, mentioned below. 
8. Henry Wallace, born February i, 1884, 
died October 2, 1888. 

(IX) Rollo Arthur Prentiss, son of 
Davis Brainerd Prentiss, was born at Ac- 
worth, New Hampshire, January 24, 1880, 
but it may well be said that he has been 
a lifelong resident of Holyoke, for he 
came with his parents to that city when 
but two years old and there in the public 
schools he received his education and be- 
gan his business career. Beginning with 
a clerkship in the ofifice of the Mt. Tom 
Railroad Company, his aptitude for the 
business, his application to duty and his 
faithfulness to the interests of his em- 
ployers won him promotion from time to 
time, and he was advanced to one of the 
most responsible positions in the service 
of the corporation, that of ticket agent for 
the Holyoke Street Railway Company, a 
position that he held for the period of five 
years. But he was naturally ambitious 
for business, requiring a larger field of 
activity and greater ability, and in 1901 
he resigned to take advantage of a prom- 
ising opening in the employ of Thomas S. 
Childs, the well known boot and shoe 
dealer, where he remained for two years, 
acquiring valuable experience and ac- 



6g 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



quaintances and made his mark as a sales- 
man. His ability attracted the attention 
of various shoe manufacturers, who are 
always on the alert for men of exceptional 
capacity. He accepted a flattering offer 
to become a traveling salesman and from 
the beginning was highly successful and 
he followed this line of work until 1905, 
when he saw and accepted a favorable 
opportunity to engage in business on his 
own account as a retail shoe dealer in his 
own city. His experience and training, 
his wide acquaintance among all classes 
of people there, and his natural ability as 
a salesman were sterling assets, and from 
the outset he has enjoyed a prosperous 
business. Year by year his trade has 
grown and his customers have multiplied. 
Within the decade in which he was a mer- 
chant he won for himself a place among 
the foremost retail dealers of the city, and 
he commanded the confidence and esteem 
not only of the business community but 
of all his fellow-citizens. Success in this 
line of business particularly proves that a 
man possesses tact, acumen, foresight in 
purchasing, skill in advertising and at- 
tracting trade, integrity in his dealings 
and the ability to retain his customers. 
But, most of all, those exceptional quali- 
ties of personality that attract and retain 
friends and inspire confidence and faith 
even in strangers. On April i, 1917, the 
building in which his store was located 
was sold to other parties, and being un- 
able to obtain a suitable location, Mr. 
Prentiss sold his stock and retired from 
the retail shoe business. 

Mr. Prentiss has taken especial interest 
in the Masonic fraternity, and is a mem- 
ber of William Whiting Lodge, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons ; also of Hol- 
yoke Lodge, No. 134, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, of Holyoke. He attends 
the Congregational church. While he is 
a believer in the principles of the Repub- 



lican party and keenly interested in pub- 
lic affairs, he has been too closely confined 
to his business to accept public office of 
any kind. 

He married, June 20, 1900, Lola Vir- 
ginia Guimond, who was born at Malone, 
New York, a daughter of Levi and Mary 
(LaVergne) Guimond. They have one 
child, Helen Marcia Prentiss, born at 
Holyoke, December 14, 1909. 



McCORKINDALE, Duncan L., 

Expert in Paper Indnitry. 

Descendant of an ancient Scottish fam- 
ily, Duncan McCorkindale, born and liv- 
ing in his native shire until his fifteenth 
year, has since been a resident of the 
United States. The forty-six years which 
have since elapsed have been spent in 
various locatities, but since 1900 he has 
been located in Holyoke as assistant su- 
perintendent of the Parsons Paper Com- 
pany. He is a son of Edward and Mar- 
garet (Lyon) McCorkindale, and a grand- 
son of Duncan McCorkindale, who lived 
and died in Scotland, see elsewhere in this 
work. 

Duncan L. McCorkindale was born in 
Greenoch, Scotland, June 8, 1854. He at- 
tended Greenoch schools and worked in a 
paper mill until 1870, when he came to 
the United States with his parents, and 
settled in Troy, New York, where he 
spent four years, being employed in a 
paper mill, also taking a course in a busi- 
ness college. Becoming weary of paper 
manufacture, he went to Waterford, New 
York, nearby, and learned the marble cut- 
ter's trade. Later he returned to his 
original trade, and was superintendent of 
several paper mills including the mill at 
Troy in which he was first employed on 
coming to the United States. He was 
also superintendent at Wilder, Vermont, 
erecting the first paper mill ever built in 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Wilder and installing all of the machin- 
ery. Ke was next employed by C. S. 
Garrett & Sons, of Philadelphia, in their 
paper mill at Wayne, Pennsylvania. The 
same firm bought the Ledger Mills at 
Child?. Maryland, and Mr. McCorkindale 
was selected to go there to rebuild the 
mill and bring it up to modern require- 
ments. After this task was completed he 
remained as manager of the plant for fif- 
teen years, until 1900. when he came to 
Holyoke. He at once secured the posi- 
tion of assistant superintendent of the 
Parsons Paper Company plant, of which 
his brother, William McCorkindale, is su- 
perintendent, and still holds that position. 
He is interested as a stockholder in the 
Millers Falls Paper Company, and is one 
of the expert men in his line of business. 
He and his wife are members of the First 
Congregational Church. He is a member 
of the Holyoke Club and the Canoe Club, 
and in politics is affiliated with the Re- 
publican party. 

Mr. McCorkindale married, June i, 
1881, Martha McKay, daughter of Robert 
and Charlotte Elizabeth McKay, of Troy, 
New York. Mr. and Mrs. McCorkindale 
are the parents of two sons and a daugh- 
ter : Ralph, born in Troy, New York, 
is now a civil engineer of New Bed- 
ford, Massachusetts ; he married Minnie 
Keeney, of Antioch, Contra Costa county, 
California, and they are the parents of 
two daughters, Margaret and Janett Mc- 
Corkindale ; Roy, born in Childs, Mary- 
land, is now a civil engineer in the em- 
ploy of the New York Central Railroad 
Company ; Charlotte, the only daughter, 
was born in Childs, Maryland, now (1917) 
at the Sargent school for physical edu- 
cation in Cambridge, Massachusetts. 



ELY, Franklin Watson, 

Business Man. 

Massachusetts, the original American 
home of the Elys, has retained as her 



sons and daughters many of the descend- 
ants of Nathaniel Ely, the pioneer mem- 
ber of this branch of the Ely family in 
America. Of the ninth generation, trac- 
ing through an unbroken descent of Mas- 
sachusetts citizens, Franklin Watson Ely, 
president of the Ely Lumber Company of 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, is one of the 
twentieth century representatives of a 
family long noted for those qualities of 
mind and body which have rendered them 
prominent in every field of human en- 
deavor they have entered. He is of Hol- 
yoke birth, was there educated and there 
has spent his years, sixty-one, one of the 
successful, substantial men of his native 
city. He is a son oi Watson and Alary 
(Ely) Ely, and' traces descent from Na- 
thaniel Ely, the founder. 

(I) Nathaniel Ely, of whom there is 
nothing definitely known prior to his set- 
tling at Newtown, now Cambridge, Mas- 
sachusetts, is believed to have been born 
in Trent, England, in 1605, and came to 
America in the bark "Elizabeth," in April, 
1634. He was made a freeman at Cam- 
bridge, May 6, 1635. He went to Hartford, 
Connecticut, in June, 1636, with the Rev. 
Thomas Hooker, and his company, his 
name appearing on the monument erected 
in Hartford to the memory of its first 
settlers. In 1649, o" ^he petition of Na- 
thaniel Ely and Richard Olmstead, of 
Hartford, the General Court gave per- 
mission for the settlement of Norwalk, 
Connecticut. Nathaniel Ely was con- 
stable in Norwalk in 1654, an ofifice he 
also filled in Hartford. He was select- 
man in 1656, representative to the Gen- 
eral Court in 1657, and a prominent man 
in the new settlement. In 1659 he sold 
his property in Norwalk and moved to 
Springfield, Massachusetts. He was se- 
lectman there several times as late as 
1673. In 1665 he was licensed to keep an 
inn, the old Ely tavern being on Main 
street, Springfield. He died on December 



71 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



25, 1675. His wife Martha died in 
Springfield, October 23, 1688. They had 
two children, Sam.uel and Ruth. 

(II) Samuel Ely, son of Nathaniel Ely, 
was born in Hartford. Connecticut, died 
in Springfield, Massachusetts. March 19, 
1692. He accompanied his father to Nor- 
walk and Springfield, and was quite suc- 
cessful in acquiring property, leaving a 
considerable estate at his death. He mar- 
ried, in Springfield. October 28, 1659, 
Mary, youngest child of Robert Day and 
his second wife, Editha (Stebbins) Day. 
She was born in Hartford, Connecticut, 
in 1641, and twice married after the death 
of Samuel Ely. She died October 17, 
1725, aged eighty-four. Samuel and Mary 
(Day) Ely were the parents of sixteen 
children, of whom the third was Joseph, 
through whom descent is traced to Frank- 
lin Watson Ely. The first child was born 
in 1660, the last in 1688. 

(HI) Joseph (Deacon) Ely, son of 
Samuel Ely. was born August 20, 1663, in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, died in West 
Springfield, April 29. 1755. He w^as a 
leading member of the church and was 
always known as "Deacon Joseph." By 
will dated April 14, 1738. he devised con- 
siderable land and money. He married 
Mary, daughter of John Riley, wdio lo- 
cated in that part of West Springfield 
called Ireland Parish, in the south part 
of the present city of Holyoke, near 
"Riley Brook." She was born June 2, 
1665, and died May 19, 1736, the mother 
of eight children. 

(IV) Joseph Ely. son of Deacon Joseph 
Ely. was born in West Springfield. Mas- 
sachusetts, April 9, 1686, and there died 
January 6. 1770. His tombstone in addi- 
tion to dates and age bears this inscrip- 
tion : 

It there's a Power above, 
He must delight in virtue, 
And that which he delights in, 
Must be happy. 



He married Margaret Leonard, born in 
1692, died in West Springfield, October 3, 
1760, the mother of eleven children, of 
whom Benjamin was the seventh. 

(V) Benjamin (Colonel) Ely, son of 
Joseph Ely, was born in West Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, December 25, 1730, 
died there December 25, 1802. He was 
a man of large influence, prominent in 
town affairs, representative to the State 
Legislature, bore the military rank of 
colonel, and was one of the highly re- 
spected, influential and useful men of his 
day. He married Esther Backus, whose 
mother, Jerusha (Edwards) Backus, was 
a sister of President Jonathan Edwards. 
They were the parents of eight children, 
of whom Robert was the eldest son and 
third born. 

(VI) Robert Ely, son of Colonel Ben- 
jamin Ely, was born February 28, 1763, 
in West Springfield, Massachusetts, there 
died August 7, 1847, and w^as buried in 
that part of the town now known as 
Agawam. He married, in June. 1792, 
Jemina Leonard, daughter of Reuben and 
Martha Leonard, born in West Spring- 
field (Agawam Parish), September 19, 
1769, died there October 20, 1849, the 
mother of seven children, of whom the 
third w^as Lucius. 

(VII) Lucius Ely. son of Robert Ely, 
was born May 30, 1797, in West Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, and there died Feb- 
ruary 28, 1838. He married, February 22, 

1825, Harriet Day. born February 21, 
1799, in West Springfield, died in Hol- 
yoke, in 1893, at the great age of ninety- 
four years, the mother of two children, 
Watson and Benjamin Franklin, the 
latter born April 21, 1828. died in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, February 17, 1849. 

(VIII) Watson Ely, son of Lucius and 
Harriet (Day) Ely, was born in West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, August 14, 

1826, died in Holyoke. Massachusetts, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



April II, 1896. He was educated in the 
public schools, his parents moving when 
he was quite young to what is now Elm- 
wood, Massachusetts. On reaching suit- 
able age, he was apprenticed to the car- 
penters' trade, his employer agreeing to 
teach him the trade and pay a yearly 
wage of $50.00. This arrangement con- 
tinued several years, the young man be- 
coming an expert mechanic and worker 
in wood. After establishing a high repu- 
tation for mechanical ability he became 
master mechanic for the Holyoke Paper 
Company, holding that position for sev- 
eral years. He then decided to begin 
business as an independent contractor 
and established his shops on Front street, 
Holyoke. His unquestioned ability as a 
builder brought him liberal patronage 
from the beginning, and as the years 
passed he became one of the leading con- 
tractors of the city. A lumber yard was 
later added, and his son, Franklin Watson 
Ely. admitted to a partnership under the 
firm name. Watson Ely & Son. This 
connection existed until terminated by the 
death of Watson Ely in 1896. He was an 
excellent business man, but his mechan- 
ical- genius was his greatest business 
asset, and to his well known skill and 
knowledge of every phase of the building 
and contracting lines the early and con- 
tinued prosperity of the company was 
largely due. There are many monuments 
in Holyoke to his skill as a builder, some 
of the finest residences and public build- 
ings in the city having been erected by 
him. notably the Opera House, the 
Windsor Hotel and the interior of the 
City Hall. With the weight of years he 
surrendered the heavier burdens of the 
business to his capable son, and in his 
later years lived a life of comparative 
ease. He was a man of high character, 
greatly esteemed by all who knew him. 
In religious faith he was a Baptist, a 



member of the Second Church of Hol- 
yoke. 

Watson Ely married, November 26, 
1849, Mary, daughter of Peletiah and 
Mary (Moore) Ely. She was born in 
West Springfield, January 3, 1826, died 
March 12, 1912, at eighty-six years of 
age. She was the mother of an only son, 
Franklin Watson Ely, of further men- 
tion. 

(IX) Franklin Watson Ely was born 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, June 26, 
1855. He was educated in the public 
schools of the city. He began business 
life as a bank clerk, and for seven years 
after graduation from high school was 
in the employ of the Holyoke National 
Bank. He resigned his position at the 
end of that period, joining his honored 
father in his contracting, lumber and 
building business. In course of tim,e he 
was admitted to partnership, the firm 
Watson Ely & Son becoming one of the 
leading firms of Holyoke in their line. 
After the death of Watson Ely in 1896, 
the son succeeded him as its owner and 
head, continuing as such until January, 
1898. when he incorporated the business 
as the Ely Lumber Company, Franklin 
W. Ely, president, and during the 
eighteen years which have since inter- 
vened he has ably guided the company, 
which transacts a large business and 
ranks with the leaders. Mr. Ely is a 
wise, careful man of affairs, yet progres- 
sive and liberal in all his dealings. He 
has succeeded in his undertakings, and 
maintains a high position among the 
solid, substantial men of his city. He is 
a member of the Baptist church, inter- 
ested in good works and a supporter of 
all movements that make for improve- 
ment and progress. 

Mr. Ely married, October 23, 1878, 
Harriet Louisa Adams, daughter of the 
Rev. Robert J. and Eliza J. (Mason) 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Adams, a descendant of James Mc- 
Adams, born in Argyleshire, Scotland, in 
1680, came to America in 1721, settled in 
Londonderry, New Hampshire, in 1743. 
The line of descent is through his son, 
James (2); his son, John, born 1756; his 
son, John (2), born 1798, married Betsey 
Alerriam ; their son, Rev. Robert J. 
Adams, D. D., born in Granville, New 
York, September i, 1829, married Eliza 
J. Mason ; their daughter, Harriet L. 
Adams, married Franklin Watson Ely. 
Mr. and Mrs. Ely are the parents of three 
sons: I. Robert Watson, born July 8, 
1880; now purchasing agent for the Na- 
tional Blank Book Company, of Holyoke; 
he married. October 10, 1906, Jean B. 
Allan; children: Janet Allan, born Au- 
gust 24, 1908, and Bettina Adams, born 
May 7, 191 1. 2. Ralph Adams, born Jan- 
uary 31, 1884; now an expert in apple 
growing, employed on the estate of 
Frederick G. Crane ; married, Decem- 
ber 7, 1916, Lena S. Pratt, of Dalton, 
Massachusetts ; he is a vocalist of 
note, possessing a rich baritone voice. 
3. Karl Raymond, born April 6, 1888; 
now clerk with the Crocker-McElwain 
Company, paper manufacturers of Hol- 
yoke ; he is also a noted musician, 
organist and choir director of a church 
in Northampton, Massachusetts ; he mar- 
ried, September 15, 191 5, Dorothy Por- 
teous. 



WILSON, William Thomas, 

Business Man. 

In 1892 William Thomas Wilson, of 
Scotch-Irish ancestry and Canadian birth, 
first located in the city of Holyoke, where 
he is now the honored treasurer of the 
Holyoke Ice Company. He is a grand- 
son of David Wilson, born and married 
in Scotland, who later crossed the ocean 
and settled on a farm in the province of 



Quebec, Canada, near the city of 
Montreal. He married Janet Stephen- 
son, of Scotch birth and ancestry. They 
were the parents of David, James, Mary 
and Janet Wilson, all born in Scotland; 
Robert, born on the passage to Canada ; 
William, John, Barbara and Jean Wilson, 
all born in the province of Quebec. 

William Wilson, the first American 
born child of David and Janet Wilson, 
was born at the old homestead near 
Montreal, Canada, in 1821, and died in 
Howick, a post village of Chateauguay 
county, Quebec, on the English river, 
March 9, 1901. He obtained his educa- 
tion in the public schools, and during his 
youth was his father's farm, assistant. He 
inherited the qualities of industry and 
thrift from his pioneer parents, as well 
as their strict Presbyterianism, and was 
one of the successful stock farmers of his 
section. His farm of one hundred acres 
was devoted largely to stock raising, the 
general products of the farm being de- 
voted to the feeding of the horses, cattle, 
sheep and swine with which the farm was 
always well stocked. He was a Liberal 
in politics, an official member of the 
Presbyterian church, and a man thor- 
oughly respected in his community. He 
married, March 29, i860, Ann Baskin, 
born in Howick in 1835, a daughter of 
Thomas and Sarah (Cowan) Baskin, her 
father coming to Canada from Ireland. 
Mr. and Mrs. Wilson were the parents 
of two sons and two daughters: i. 
Sarah, married James Hope, and died 
leaving a son, Albert, and a daughter, 
Annie. 2. David, married a Miss McRea, 
and they have four children : Albert, 
Earl, Gordon and Jennie. 3. William 
Thomas, of further mention. 4. Cather- 
ine, married Wilbur Peacock, and they 
have two children, Evelyn and George. 

William Thomas Wilson, second son 
of W^illiam and Ann (Baskin) Wilson, 



74 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was born at St. Chrysostome, province of 
Quebec, Canada, March 8, 1872. After 
completing his studies in the public 
schools, he began learning the carpenter's 
trade continuing that occupation until 
May, 1890, when he came to the United 
States, finding employment in a shoe 
factory at Athol, Massachusetts. In the 
spring of 1891 he located in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, a city in which he has 
ever since resided. Shortly after settling 
in Holyoke, Mr. Wilson established a 
retail ice business in Holyoke and South 
Hadley Falls, which he conducted until 
1907 under his own name. He then 
admitted a partner, but two years later 
bought him out and continued the busi- 
ness alone until 1915. In that year he 
bought, with Mr. E. H. Frederick, Jr., 
the controlling stock of the Holyoke Ice 
Company, then doing a large wholesale 
and retail business, and the company has 
since transacted a very large business in 
both departments. Mr. Wilson was 
chosen treasurer of the company at that 
time and this office he still fills, an im- 
portant factor in its management. In 
his political faith Mr. Wilson is a Repub- 
lican, and in religious preference a Con- 
gregationalist. He is a m,ember of Wil- 
liam Whiting Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Holyoke Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons ; Holyoke Council, Royal and 
Select Masters, and Springfield Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar, all of Hol- 
yoke ; Melha Temple, Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, Springfield ; and of Hol- 
yoke Lodge, Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. His clubs are the Hol- 
yoke. Mt. Tom Golf and Oxford Country, 
and in all he is an honored, popular and 
interested member. 

Mr. Wilson married, April 25, 1894, 
Annie E. Donaldson, born in the north of 
Ireland. They are the parents of W^il- 
liam, Howard, Edna and Walter Thomas 
Wilson. 



OWEN, James Franklin, 

Insurance Actuary. 

Well known among the fire and life 
underwriters of the city of Holyoke, 
James Franklin Owen has taken an active 
part in the business life of that munici- 
pality during the past sixteen years. Be- 
fore he located there, however, he had 
won a place of importance in the whole- 
sale woolen trade in Boston. He comes 
of a sturdy line of artisans and mechanics, 
men skilled in trade and business, who 
performed their share in the upbuilding 
of the colonies, provinces and States of 
New England. Though not a very 
numerous family the Owens made their 
mark in every community in which they 
lived. 

The surnames Owen and Owens have 
been used in times past interchangeably, 
but in Colonial days Owens was most 
common. The name and family are of 
Welsh origin. Though the name is now 
to be found in Ulster Province, north of 
Ireland, and Owens families are numer- 
ous there, none of the name were among 
the Scotch and English settlers of the 
seventeenth century. In England and 
Wales the name has been w^ell known for 
centuries. John Owen, who settled in 
Windsor, Connecticut, was born in 
Wales or England. December 25, 1624, 
and is the progenitor of a numerous pos- 
terity in Connecticut. New York and the 
West. The names of his children are 
almost exactly the same as those of Wil- 
liam Owen, mentioned below, and the 
plain inference is that they were brothers. 
Another pioneer, Samuel Owen, said to 
have been born in Wales in 1651 and to 
have come to New England in 1685, 
settled in Rhode Island ; his great-grand- 
son, Daniel Owen, was chief justice of 
the Supreme -Court of Rhode Island and 
lieutenant-governor ; and the names of his 
children and grandchildren, Joseph, Oba- 



75 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



diah. Josiah, and Samuel, indicate that he 
was related to the other immigrants. 

(I) William Owen came from Wales 
or England to Braintree, Massachusetts, 
before 1650. He was admitted a freeman, 
May 7, 165 1. He was a son-in-law of 
Charles Grice, mentioned in his will in 
1661. He married, September 20, 1650, 
Elizabeth Davies. William Owen died 
January 17, 1702, intestate, and his widow 
died June 3. 1702. Children, born at 
Braintree: Daniel, buried October 14, 
165 1 ; Deliverance, a daughter, born 
February 15. 1654, married John Eddy; 
Ebenezer, born May i. 1657, died of 
smallpox on the Canadian expedition, 
August. 1690, lived in Braintree ; Daniel, 
September 23, 1659; son, August i, 1667; 
Obadiah, February i. 1670; Nathaniel, 
mentioned below ; William, of Boston. 

(II) Nathaniel Owen, son of William 
Owen, lived at Braintree. Children, born 
at Braintree by wife Mary : Nathaniel, 
born November 21, 1684. lived at Brain- 
tree; Benjamin, November i, 1691, of 
Braintree ; Joseph, January 3, 1695. of 
Braintree; William, January 30, 1697; 
John, mentioned below : Mary. February 
15, 1702. 

(III) John Owen, son of Nathaniel 
Owen, was born at Braintree, Massachu- 
setts, April 13. 1699. He settled in Fal- 
mouth, now Portland, Maine, about the 
time of his marriage. The first record at 
Falmouth of John Owen was the birth of 
his son John in 1723. After the death of 
his first wife Lucretia, John Owen mar- 
ried (second) at Falmouth, in 1735. Mar- 
garet Mustard. He joined the church in 
1726, and his wife Margaret, April 11, 
1736. His home was where the postoflfice 
is now located. At the time of the Revo- 
lution he moved to Brunswick, where his 
sons had settled. Children by wife Lu- 
cretia: I. John, born December 5. 1723, 
baptized by Rev. Mr. Fitch, 1726: mar- 
ried Anna Hodgkins, daughter of Philip 



Hodgkins, and had thirteen children ; sold 
the homestead in Falmouth to Nathaniel 
Deering, who enlarged it, occupied it 
until he died and it was later moved to 
Bramhall's Hill near the almshouse; 
John was a soldier from Falmouth in the 
Revolution. 2. Mary, born October 15, 
1725, baptized 1726, died young. 3. 
Mary, baptized November 12, 1727 (born 
November 5). 4. Thomas, born July 29, 
baptized August 3, 1729, probably died 
young. Children by wife Margaret: 5. 
Thomas, baptized 1737. soldier in the 
Revolution. 6. \\'illiam, born 1740, 
joined the church at Falmouth, Septem- 
ber 29. 1765. moved to Brunswick in 
1775-76. and by wife Mary had there: 
James, April 9, 1776; Lucy, June 3. 1779; 
Rachel, May 9. 1781 ; William, January 
3. 1784. 7. Gideon, born April. 1742. the 
first of the family to settle in Brunswick, 
lieutenant in the Revolution, died at 
Topsham : children, born at Brunswick: 
Margaret. October 6, 1764: Thomas, 
September i, 1766; Hugh White. Septem- 
ber 23. 1768: Martha. July 13, 1770; John, 
August 3. 1772: David, November 30, 
1774. 8. James, lived in Portland; chil- 
dren: Eunice, born February 28, 1773; 
Lois. March 12. 1775: Samuel. July 13, 
1777; Dorcas, September 6, 1778. The 
will of John Owen, of Falmouth, was 
dated August 2', 1752, proved October i, 
1753. Inventory, one hundred and sixty- 
three pounds, three shillings, four pence. 
He bequeathed to wife Margaret and 
children: Mary, John. Thomas. William,- 
Gideon, Samuel and James. Jabez Fox 
and his widow were executors ; Samuel 
Cobb, Jr., Simon Gookin and Stephen 
Longfellow, witnesses. (Maine Wills 
p. 715). Ebenezer Owen, son of John 
Owen, Jr., lived at Portland, and his son 
Cotton was living, according to Willis, 
in 1864. Philip Owen, grandson of John 
Owen, also lived in Brunswick. 

(IV) William (2) Owen, son of John 



76 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Owen, was born in Falmouth, in 1740, 
and with wife Mary joined the First 
Church there, September 29, 1765. He re- 
moved to Brunswick in 1775-76. He was 
a taxpayer at Falmouth in 1766. He 
married Mary Dunning. Children, born 
at Falmouth: David, born May jo, 1767; 
John, September 10, 1769; Elizabeth, 
June 9, 1770; Samuel, mentioned below; 
John, October 25, 1772; Peggy, March 13, 
1774. Born at Brunswick: James, April 
9, 1776; Lucy, June 3, 1779; Rachel, IMay 
9, 1781 ; William, January 3, 1784. 

(V) Samuel Owen, son of William (2) 
Owen, was born in Falmouth, June 28, 
1771. He was a cabinet maker in Bruns- 
wick, Maine. He married Catherine 
Williston, widow of George Williston. 
Children: Charles, died in California; 
John, died in Boston; Elizabeth; Sarah; 
Frances ; Daniel Dickinson, mentioned 
below. 

(VI) Daniel Dickinson Owen, son of 
Samuel Owen, was born in Rome, Xew 
York, July 9, 1822, and died in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, March 4, 1902. His par- 
ents lived for a time in Rome, but 
returned to Brunswick when he was 
eight years old. He was educated in the 
public schools of Brunswick, and learned 
the painter's trade there. He was a skill- 
ful craftsman, and was employed chiefly 
in ornamental work, frescoing and strip- 
ing. For a number of years he was in 
business on his own account. He was 
employed frequently in the shipyards to 
do the ornamental work on the vessels 
building and being repaired there. In 
1857 he removed to Boston, where he was 
employed for a period of thirty-five years 
by the S. A. Wood Machine Company. 
He retired from active business at the 
age of seventy years, and spent the last 
two years of his life in Holyoke. In 
politics he supported the Whig party until 
it disbanded and afterward the Republi- 



can party. When a young man he served 
in the Maine militia and had a commis- 
sion. In religion he was a Congrega- 
tionalist. He married, December 31, 
1856, Elizabeth S. Harrington, who was 
born in Kennebunkport, Maine, August 
17, 1837, a daughter of the Rev. James 
Harrington, a Methodist clergyman, and 
Patience (Sylvester) Harrington. Her 
ancestral line from the pioneer in this 
country was John (6), John (5), Amos 
(4), Amos (3), Captain Joseph (2), 
Richard (i) Sylvester. Children of 
Daniel D. and Elizabeth S. Owen : Eliza- 
beth Eugenia, deceased; Louise; Harriet; 
Nellie; Florence, married William M. 
Cochran, of Northampton, Massachu- 
setts ; Gertrude, deceased ; James Frank- 
lin, mentioned below. 

(VII) James Franklin Owen, son of 
Daniel Dickinson Owen, was born in 
Boston, Massachusetts, May 7, 1875. He 
received his education in the Boston 
public schools and at Bryant & Stratton's 
Business College in Boston. At the age 
of seventeen, he began his business career 
as clerk for a wholesale house dealing in 
woolen goods in Boston. He won rapid 
advancement, and at the end of nine 
years held the responsible position of sell- 
ing agent to the mills. In 1900 he en- 
gaged in business on his own account in 
Holyoke, buying the insurance business 
of the firm of E. C. Clark with his brother- 
in-law, W'. M. Corcoran, who recently 
died. Year by year Mr. Owen has de- 
veloped and increased this business, giv- 
ing to it his constant attention and energy 
and maintaining it among the foremost 
agencies in this section. He is agent for 
various large companies in all the depart- 
ments of insurance, including fire, cas- 
ualty and accident, and has one of the 
best equipped offices in this section. Mr. 
Owen is well known among the Free 
Masons and members of other fraternal 



E.XCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



organizations. He is a member of Wil- 
liam Whiting Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; and of Mount Holyoke Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons. He is a member of 
the First Congregational Church, and for 
a number of years has been clerk of the 
society. 

He married. July 12, 1900, Mary Wood- 
all, born in Birmingham, England, a 
daughter of John and Mary (Swift) 
Woodall. Her father came to this coun- 
try with his family in 1883 and made his 
home in Boston. Children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Owen: i. James Franklin, born at 
Holyoke in 1902, died there aged six 
months. 2. Franklin Woodall, born at 
Holyoke, August 27, 1904. 



MAGNA, Albert Gallatin, 

Financier, Insurance Actuary. 

Albert Gallatin Magna, the well known 
insurance agent and banker of Holyoke, 
descends, on his mother's side, from the 
ancient Spencer family of Connecticut. 
Among his ancestors is one of the 
founders of Yale University, and the 
Mayflower passengers, John Alden and 
Priscilla Molines. In the paternal line he 
is a descendant of Joseph Magna, who 
came to New England previous to 1780. 
The name was then spelled with a final 
"e," Magne, but now an "a" has been sub- 
stituted in place of the "e.'' 

Joseph Magna was the son of a West 
Indian sugar planter, owning plantations 
on the Island of Guadaloupe, who sent 
his son to New England to be educated. 
a custom then prevalent among the 
wealthy planters of the West Indies. As 
Saybrook, Connecticut, then maintained 
an extensive trade with Guadaloupe, he 
landed there and remained in Connecti- 
cut, not only to complete his education, 
but made his home, married and remained 
here until after the birth of his vounerest 



child, Lucretia. in 1788, when he returned 
to his native Guadaloupe in response to 
the entreaties of his aged father. After 
his return to Guadaloupe, he, however, 
kept in communication with his Saybrook 
friends through the medium of the trading 
vessels, particularly one commanded by 
a Captain Whittely, by whom he sent to 
his friends gifts of fruits and other island 
products. 

He married, as mentioned previously, 
in New England, Lucretia Conklin, of 
Southold, Long Island, born December 
15. 1758, a member of an early Southold 
family. She was a woman of rare beauty 
and intelligence, remarkable even in her 
advanced years for her fine appearance. 
The family home was for many years 
maintained in Old Saybrook and there 
all their children were born. She, how- 
ever, accompanied her husband on his 
return to Guadaloupe, and there they 
spent the remainder of their lives and 
both died. Children : Charles, born Feb- 
ruary 5, 1782: Mary Ann, February 19, 
1784; Joseph, of further mention; Lu- 
cretia, born April 22, 1788. 

Joseph Magna, youngest son of the 
founder, was born in Old Saybrook, Con- 
necticut, August 15, 1786, and there 
resided until eighteen years of age. His 
father in Guadaloupe then sent for him, 
but the vessel in which he took passage 
was captured by a French privateer and 
he was landed in Nantes, France. After 
being released he returned to Saybrook, 
Connecticut, and there spent his life. He 
married Lydia Post, daughter of Jedediah- 
and Abigail (Lay) Post, her mother a 
descendant of John and Priscilla (Mo- 
lines) Alden, of the "Mayflower." They 
were the parents of Joseph Nichols, of 
further mention : Diana, married a Mr. 
Spencer ; Samuel and Sarah. 

Captain Joseph Nichols Magna, son of 
Joseph and Lydia (Post) Magna, was 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born in Connecticut, November 22, 1810, 
died March 20, i860, at sea, and was 
buried beneath the waves. From boy- 
hood he followed the sea, and was among 
the owners and sea captains of the old 
clipper ship period, sailing from New 
York to Liverpool. He was twice ship- 
wrecked, in both instances with the loss 
of his ship, and in fact lived his life of 
fifty years amid scenes of adventure and 
danger. His life ended as it was lived, 
and with his passing went out one of 
those brave spirits who made the Ameri- 
can sailor respected in every port of the 
world. Captain Magna married Abby 
Maria Spencer, born May 12, 1818, died 
October 20, 1867, daughter of Joseph and 
Sabra (Dee) Spencer, who also traced 
descent to John Alden and Priscilla Mo- 
lines of the "Mayflower." They were the 
parents of Joseph Nichols (2) ; Russell 
\\'. ; Albert Gallatin, of further mention ; 
Edwina, married E. L. Kirtland ; and a 
child who died in infancy. 

Albert Gallatin Magna, youngest son of 
Captain Joseph Nichols and Abby Maria 
(Spencer) Magna, was born in West- 
brook, Connecticut, February 28, 1849. 
After public school courses in Westbrook, 
he spent three years at Russell's Military 
School in New Haven, entering business 
life as cashier in a large New Haven 
carpet house. After two years' experi- 
ence there he went to New York City, 
entering a broker's office, but later was 
given a position by his brother, who was 
manager of a large cotton brokerage firm 
on Wall street. In 1871 he located in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts. All his previous 
training having been along financial lines, 
he secured a position with the Holyoke 
Savings Bank, continuing with that insti- 
tution for fifteen years. He then resigned 
and established a general insurance busi- 
ness, which he successfully conducted. 
When the Manufacturers' Trust Com- 



pany was organized, Mr. Magna was 
elected its treasurer, and until the de- 
struction of the Windsor-Howe block 
maintained his offices in that building. 
In November, 1900, he was elected secre- 
tary of the Holyoke Savings Bank, and at 
about the same time became manager of 
the C. W. Johnson Company Insurance 
Agency, and is now holding both posi- 
tions. He is also a trustee of the Holyoke 
Savings Bank. He is a member of lodge, 
chapter and council of the Masonic order, 
and the Mount Tom Golf and Holyoke 
Canoe clubs. Now in the evening of life, 
with ripened judgment and wide experi- 
ence, ]Mr. Magna occupies a position in 
his city, honorable in the extreme. 

Mr. Magna married, October 26, 1876, 
Harriet Goss, daughter of William and 
Mary (Hallet) Goss, of Worcester, Mas- 
sachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. Magna are the 
parents of two sons, associated in busi- 
ness as proprietors of the Magna Garage, 
Holyoke : Russell W., born September 
6. 1878, married Edith Scott; Joseph N., 
born June 28, 1882, married Edith Up- 
dyke, and they are the parents of Edith 
and Joseph N. Magna, Jr. 



CROSIER, William Jefferson, 

Veteran of Spanish-American War. 

Although a native son of New York, Ma- 
jor \\'illiam Jefferson Crosier, since 1882. 
has been a resident of Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, and identified with the business 
interests of that city through his connec- 
tion with the Chase & Cooledge Company. 
When Company D marched away to 
maintain American honor upon foreign 
battlefields, "Captain" Crosier marched at 
their head, and when, their duty glor- 
iously performed, the regiment returned, 
"Major" Crosier was his title, he having 
won that rank by bravery. When the 
regiment, in 1916, was dispatched to the 



79 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mexican border with full ranks, it was in 
a measure due to Major Crosier's activity 
in recruiting men that those ranks were 
full. Major Crosier is a son of Charles 
Crosier, grandson of William Lorenzo 
Crosier, and great-grandson of John Cro- 
sier, all of Halifax, Vermont, the latter 
connected with the cotton manufacturing 
business. The family were originally 
natives of France, going thence to Eng- 
land, one branch settling in Ireland, from 
whence descendants came to this country, 
settling in Vermont. 

John Crosier, who lived, died and is 
buried in Halifax, Vermont, a cattle 
dealer, had two sons, William Lorenzo 
and Rodney. The latter went to the 
State of Illinois and there died. William 
Lorenzo Crosier, born in Halifax, Ver- 
mont, died in North Adam^s, Massachu- 
setts, about 1872, having resided in 
North Adams from about the year 1838. 
He was a cattle buyer, conducted a meat 
market, and in his later years was en- 
gaged in trucking. He had sons : Charles, 
of further mention ; Alonzo, Oliver Dex- 
ter, William Lorenzo (2). 

Charles Crosier was born in Halifax, 
Vermont, in 1828, died at Williamstown, 
Massachusetts, in 1910. At the age of ten 
years he was brought by his parents to 
North Adams, ^Massachusetts, and there 
attended public schools. He was a resi- 
dent of Williamstown, Massachusetts, for 
over half a century, and most of that 
period was employed in the cotton mills, 
although one year was spent in a mill at 
Hoosick Falls, New York. Late in life 
he bought a farm and managed it until 
his death, at that time eighty-two years 
of age. He was a faithful member of the 
Baptist church, and a man much re- 
spected. He married at North Leverett, 
Massachusetts, Alvira Moore, born in 
New Salem, daughter of Jefiferson and 
(Hemmingway) Moore, and 



granddaughter of Asa Moore, a soldier of 
the Revolution, who fought at Bunker 
Hill, and was with Ethan Allen when 
with his "Green Mountain Boys" he cap- 
tured the fort at Ticonderoga. They 
were the parents of a son, William Jeffer- 
son, of further mention, and a daughter, 
Ella Elvira, who married Arthur C. 
Smith, of South Williamstown. 

William Jefferson Crosier was born at 
Hoosick Falls, New York, March 25, 
i860. He was educated in North Adams 
and Williamstown public schools, and 
during his youth was employed in the 
cotton mills. He w^as later variously em- 
ployed, and in April, 1882, when he lo- 
cated in Holyoke, Massachusetts, he was 
thoroughly experienced in business 
methods. He was for some time engaged 
in the manufacture of leather belting, and 
then became a salesman with the Chase 
& Cooledge Company, dealers in leather 
belting and manufacturers supplies, and 
until the present (1917) has continued 
with that company, one of the oldest men, 
in point of years of service, of their sell- 
ing force. As a salesman he has an 
honorable record, and holds the perfect 
confidence and esteem of his company and 
his customers. When the Spanish-Amer- 
ican War broke out he went to the front 
as captain of Company D, Second Regi- 
ment, Massachusetts National Guard. He 
saw hard service in Cuba, was engaged 
with his regiment at San Juan Hill and 
Santiago, and all incidents of that cam- 
paign in which his regiment participated. 
He returned from Cuba with the regi- 
ment, August 27, 1898, having been in the 
service since June 22. He was mustered 
out with the rank of major, November 3, 
1898. Major Crosier is a member of 
]\Iount Tom Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Holyoke Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons ; Connecticut Valley Lodge, 
Knights of Pythias; Holyoke Lodge, 



80 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks ; 
and Nelson W. Miles Camp, No. 36, 
Spanish War Veterans, of which he is a 
past commander. 

Major Crosier married (first) in April, 
1886, Jessie Casey, born in Glasgow, 
Scotland, who died leaving a son, Charles 
Ray Crosier, born in January, 1887. He 
married (second) in September, 1892, 
Anna Corner, born in England, daughter 
of William and Nancy (Harrison) 
Corner. They are the parents of a 
daughter, Anna Bertha, born in Septem- 
ber, 1893, died in September, 1910, and a 
son, Walter E., born in November, 1894. 



LAPORTE, Mederic Joseph, 

Engaged in Trncking and Antomobiles. 

From noble French ancestry comes this 
enterprising and successful citizen of 
Holyoke. Beginning in a small way, he 
has developed a very extensive business 
and established a high reputation as a 
business man and public-spirited citizen. 
His ancestry, which is a long and notable 
one, has been traced to Jacques de la 
Porte and Marie (Hamelin) de la Porte, 
who were born and married in France. 
Their son, Jacques-Georges de la Porte, 
Sieur de St. Georges, resided in Canada, 
where he occupied a responsible position 
in the community. He married in 
Montreal, Canada, September 3, 1657, 
Nicole Duchesne, and they were the par- 
ents of Pierre de la Porte, born May 27, 
1678, died September 6, 1751, at Laval 
Tree, Canada. He married (first) Marie 
Anjean and (second) Marie Antoinette 
Cusson. The latter named was the 
mother of Charles Laporte, born Decem- 
ber 16, 1740, at St. Sulpice, Canada, died 
October 23, 1825. He was a captain of 
militia. He married Marie Josette Ethier, 
who died September 20, 1817. Their son, 
Jeremie Laporte, was born November 20, 

Mags— 6— 6 8 



1789, at Laval Tree, and died at St. Sul- 
pice, i860. Like his father, he was cap- 
tain of militia. His first wife, Marguerite 
Dufour (Latour) Laporte, a daughter of 
a noble Latour, was born September 12, 
1793, and died February 14, 1831. His 
second wife, Felicite (Juneau) Laporte, 
was a sister of Solomon Juneau, founder 
and first mayor of Milwaukee, Wisconsin. 
Leon Laporte, son of Jeremie Laporte and 
his first wife, was born July 4, 1824, and 
was for many years employed in the 
paper making industry. In 1868 he 
settled at Holyoke, Massachusetts, where 
he continued to reside until his death, 
1876. For some time after his arrival in 
Holyoke he continued in mill work, and 
then engaged in the sale of wood and the 
trucking business, in which he met with 
great success. He married. May 27, 1854, 
Flavia Martineau, born 1832, died 1908, 
at the age of seventy-six years. Of their 
family of twelve children Mederic Joseph 
Laporte, of this review, is the only one 
living. 

Mederic Joseph Laporte was born 
April 18, 1859, in Canada. As a boy he 
had very little opportunity for study, 
coming when but nine years of age with 
his parents to Holyoke. He immediately 
went to work in a cotton mill, the hours 
of labor extending from 5 :30 in the morn- 
ing until 7:30 at night. When his father 
engaged in business, the son was his 
faithful assistant until death called the 
father from this world, and the son was 
then employed by various Holyoke citi- 
zens until sixteen years old, when he 
determined to become his own employer. 
He possessed five dollars in cash and a 
sound body, but his industry and fidelity 
had already established for him a credit 
which enabled him to start out in busi- 
ness on his own account. He purchased 
a horse, harness and wagon for sixty 
dollars, paying over his cash and giving 



ea'cyclopedia of biography 



a note for fifty-five dollars. With this 
equipment the ambitiovis youth immedi- 
ately engaged in the trucking and express 
business, doing all the work himself and 
often continuing late in the night to com- 
plete his tasks, and from this humble 
commencement has grown up a business 
which requires a payroll of nearly one 
hundred dollars per day and employs a 
capital of one hundred thousand dollars. 
In 1898 he added to his trucking and 
express a small livery which he pur- 
chased. This occupied a small frame barn 
which had been known as the Miller 
Stable. It occupied the site of the present 
five-story fire-proof brick structure now 
occupied by M. J. Laporte, Incorporated, 
erected in 1905. To the horse livery in 
time was added a complete line of auto- 
mobiles, which now includes not only 
every style of machine in use, but also 
luxuriously upholstered limousines for 
weddings and other functions. With the 
growth of Mr. Laporte's business has 
extended his reputation as a caterer to the 
highest demands made upon him, and he 
now maintains the most complete and 
varied equipment in this line in Western 
Massachusetts. More than twenty-five 
men are regularly employed, as chauffeurs 
and in various departments, and any call 
meets prompt attention at any hour of the 
day or night. In addition to supplying 
the public demand for taxicabs and other 
forms of automobile, he deals in these 
machines, and also maintains a complete 
equipment for repairing automobiles and 
carriages, carpet cleaning, carriage paint- 
ing and blacksmithing, and conducts a 
baggage and theatre transfer. In 1912 
the business was incorporated under the 
name of its founder and principal owner, 
who is president and treasurer. The 
company consists of Mr. Laporte and his 
sons, L. Alphonse and Mederic Jerome, 
who act as directors, and L. L. Escault. 



who serves as secretary. The company 
also conducts a riding school. 

I\Ir. Laporte has always maintained an 
intelligent interest in the progress of his 
town and State, and has taken no incon- 
siderable part in their aflFairs. He is a 
Republican and has served twenty-five 
vears as a member of the city commit- 
tee, now chairman of the general com- 
mittee and twenty years as chairman of its 
finance committee, and is one of the 
founders and the first president of the 
Republican Club of Holyoke. In 1890 he 
was elected a member of the Common 
Council of the city and reelected the fol- 
lowing year. In 1892 he was elected to 
the Board of Aldermen and again elected 
in 1893. By appointment of Mayor Smith 
he served three years as fire commis- 
sioner, and later four years as park com- 
missioner. Governor Draper appointed 
him a member of a board of five men to 
discover reasons for the high cost of 
living. After traveling over the State and 
making careful and exhaustive inquiries, 
the board made a report covering some 
eight hundred printed pages, recommend- 
ing beneficial legislation and forming a 
valuable handbook for any interested in 
the subject. In 1897 Mr. Laporte yielded 
to the wishes of his friends and permitted 
his name to be used in the Republican 
caucus for nomination to the office of 
mayor. In one of the largest caucuses 
ever held by the party, he failed to secure 
the nomination by only eight votes. For 
several years he was a member of the 
Republican League, and was present at 
the great dinner given to President Taft 
at the Hotel Astor in New York, which 
was attended by one thousand of the 
leading men of the Nation. Hi? last of!ice 
was in 191 /, when he was appointed by 
Governor McCall one of the Committee of 
Safety, one of four appointed. Mr. 
Laporte is identified with many social and 
82 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fraternal organizations, among which 
may be mentioned the following: Order 
of Moose, Independent Order of Forest- 
ers, New England Order of Protection, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
and the Order of Heptasophs. With his 
family Mr. Laporte is a member of the 
Church of the Blessed Sacrament of Hol- 
yoke. Mr. Laporte is a great lover of and 
takes a just pride in his beautiful home 
in Elmwood, which was constructed in 
1892. He is a man of keen observation, 
a diligent reader of the press of the day, 
and is among the best informed men of 
his time, and a most interesting talker on 
any of the subjects of modern times. Hol- 
yoke may well be proud of this product 
of her institutions and times, and his 
example may most properly be urged 
upon the attention of ambitious youth. 

Mr. Laporte married, November 14, 
1882, Emeline L. Hainault, a native of 
Oswego, New York. Of their seven chil- 
dren five are living, namely: M. Albert, 
now engaged in the automobile business 
at Springfield, Massachusetts ; L. Al- 
phonse, now with the Dunbar Motor 
Company ; Mederic Jerome, associated in 
his father's business ; Rondolph E., at 
home ; Amelia Celina, at home. 



WEISER, Edwin Christopher, 
Representative Citizen. 

The Weisers came to America in 1710, 
landing at New York, where Conrad 
Weiser, the great-great-grandfather of 
Edwin Christopher Weiser, of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, remained until 1714. His 
parents continued in New York until 
1723, when they settled on Tulpehocken 
creek in Berks county, Pennsylvania. 
Conrad Weiser was born in Germany in 
1696, and in 1710 was brought to New 
York City by his parents, arriving June 
13, 1710. His father made the acquaint- 



ance of a Mohawk Indian chief, who be- 
coming interested in young Conrad 
offered to take him to the New York 
home of his tribe and teach him the Mo- 
hawk language. The father consented, 
and in 1714 he began his residence with 
the Indians. Although he suffered many 
trials and privations during the following 
years, he became an adept in the Indian 
tongue, their signs, symbols and mys- 
teries. He did not settle in Pennsylvania 
until 1729, then joined the family at the 
home on Tulpehocken creek. In 1730 
Governor Gordon, of Pennsylvania, learn- 
ing of his knowledge of the Indian tongue, 
called upon him to act as an interpreter 
with the Indians, and during the next 
twenty-five years he acted in that capacity 
at all the Indian treaty councils, and was 
one of the most famous Indian inter- 
preters of that period. During the French 
and Indian War he was lieutenant-colo- 
nel in command of the second battalion 
of the Pennsylvania Regiment. He settled 
in then Lancaster, later York county, 
Pennsylvania, and was one of Lancaster's 
early men of note. In 1752 he was ap- 
pointed a trustee of the schools held in 
Lancaster, York and Reading, Pennsyl- 
vania. He died July 13, 1760. 

He w^as succeeded by his son, Martin 
Weiser, who died in York county, Penn- 
sylvania, in 1822, leaving a son, Martin 
Weiser, born in York, Pennsylvania, in 
1789, and died in 1829, a merchant of 
York. He married Catherine Haller. 
They were the parents of William, Susan, 
Mary, Catherine, Martin Haller, of fur- 
ther mention, and Emma. 

Martin Haller Weiser was born in 
York, Pennsylvania, in 1825, and died in 
1886. He learned the mercantile business 
in his father's store in York, and nearly 
his entire life was spent as a merchant. 
He was an earnest Christian worker, 
served the German Lutheran church as 



83 



ENC:\'CLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



deacon, and was a man highly esteemed. 
He was also a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. He married (first) 
Caroline J. Peiffer, a daughter of Chris- 
topher and Mary (Hyde) Peiffer. of 
York. He married (second) Mary Tyler. 
The children of his first marriage were : 
Edwin Christopher, of further mention, 
and William P., of Camden, New Jersey. 
The children of the second marriage were : 
Dr. Walter R. Weiser, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts; Martin Luther, of Long 
Island City, Greater New York, and 
Margie Haller, deceased. 

Edwin Christopher Weiser was born in 
York. Pennsylvania, April lo, 1852. and 
was there educated in the public schools 
and York County Academy. After com- 
pleting his school years, he spent four 
years in general store merchandising as 
clerk, then in 1872 located in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, a city in which he has 
since continuously resided. He secured 
his first employment with the Parsons 
Paper Company in lowly office position. 
but rose rapidly in rank, being in succes- 
sion paymaster, secretary, assistant treas- 
urer and manager of a departrruent until 
the company was absorbed by the Amer- 
ican Writing Paper Company. After this 
he was manager of the Parsons Paper 
Company, a division of the American 
Writing Paper Company, for some years. 
He had devoted himself so assiduously to 
the duties of the responsible positions he 
filled that he was obliged to retire from 
paper manufacturing business and devote 
himself to rebuilding the physical man. 
He was out of business while this was 
being accomplished, but upon the death 
of \\'hiting Street he was appointed as 
an assistant to the trustees of this large 
estate, and since the year 1900 he has 
devoted himself entirely to the above 
position. He is also a director of the 
Parsons Paper Company. He is a mem- 



ber of the Second Congregational Church, 
which he has served as treasurer, and of 
the Holyoke Canoe Club. 

Mr. Weiser married, October 9, 1890, 
Lucy Bagg Brooks, a daughter of Ethan 
and Hannah M. (^Bagg) Brooks, of 
Springfield, Massachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. 
Weiser are the parents of three children: 
Richard Mather, born April 7, 1893, a 
graduate of Cornell University, class of 
1914, now connected with the National 
Blank Book Company; Catherine, born 
May 2. 1896: Helen Brooks, April 18, 
1899. 

Mrs. Lucy Bagg (Brooks) Weiser is a 
descendant of Joseph Brooks, born in 
Concord, Massachusetts, April 22, 1641, 
son of William Brooks, of England, who 
settled in Springfield. Massachusetts, as 
early as 1649. Joseph Brooks, born Octo- 
ber 10. 1667, left a son, Joseph (2) 
Brooks, whose son, Israel Brooks, born 
September i, 1736. died December 29, 
1794. He lived in the Ware river district 
of Massachusetts, and on March 9, 1758, 
married Miriam Morgan, born July 13, 
1739, died October 13, 1809. Their chil- 
dren were : Miriam, Simon, of further 
mention : Levi, Rachel. Letitia, Barnabas, 
Roger and Mercy. 

Simon Brooks, son of Israel and Miriam 
(Morgan) Brooks, was born November 
27. 1760. and died May 31. 1856. He mar- 
ried (first) Hannah Owen, (second) 
Theodosia Day. Their children were: 
Elijah. Samuel Morgan, Jonathan, of fur- 
ther mention: Hannah, Mary and Deb- 
orah. 

Jonathan Brooks, son of Simon Brooks, 
was born in West SpringTield. Massaclru- 
setts, February 10. 1796. and died in Au- 
gust. 1869. He married Angelina Ring, 
and they were the parents of: George, 
Reuben. John Ring, Ethan, of further 
mention ; Simon and Angelina. 

Ethan Brooks, son of Jonathan and An- 



>4 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



gelina (Ring) Brooks, was born in West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, January lo, 
1832. He married, January i, 1856, Han- 
nah Mather Bagg. They were the par- 
ents of two daughters : Harriet Loraine, 
married Daniel P. Cole ; Lucy Bagg, mar- 
ried Edwin C. Weiser, of previous men- 
tion. 



JOHNSON, Irving Lincoln, 

Detective, Criminologist. 

After a career of notable success in his 
chosen profession as a detective, Irving 
Lincoln Johnson, retired, is making his 
home in Holyoke, Massachusetts. Thor- 
oughly versed in the arts of pursuing and 
capturing criminals, it may be said that 
few men in this line of work have con- 
tributed more to the protection of society 
and the prevention of crime, as well as 
the seeking out and prosecution of 
offenders against the law. Mr. Johnson 
comes of old English stock. His ancestors 
in various lines are traced to the pioneers 
of New England. 

(I) Edmund Johnson, the first of the 
family in this country, was born in Eng- 
land. In 1635, at the age of twenty-three, 
he and his wife Mary sailed from London 
in the ship "J^n^^s." They hailed from 
Romsey, England. In 1639 he was living 
in Hampton, New Hampshire, where he 
received grants of land from time to time. 
Children: Peter, baptized 1639; John, 
baptized May, 1641 ; James, mentioned 
below. 

(II) James Johnson, son of Edmund 
Johnson, was born in Hampton, New 
Hampshire, in 1643, ^"^ ^^^^ June 16, 
1715. He married at Hampton, March 26, 
1673, Sarah Daniels, who died in 1718, a 
daughter of Robert and Elizabeth Daniels. 
He was a millwright, living at Hampton 
and at Kittery, Maine. Children, born at 
Hampton : James, mentioned below ; 



Samuel, born August 18, 1678; John, 
1679; Dorcas, June, 1681 ; Hannah ; John, 
July, 1687; Mary, November 4, 1688; 
Benjamin, November 22, 1691 ; John, Oc- 
tober 27, 1694. 

(III) James (2) Johnson, son of James 
(i) Johnson, was born at Hampton, New 
Hampshire, February 4, 1677, and died 
November 6, 1752. He married at Hamp.- 
ton, November 10, 1698, Elizabeth Mason, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (Ward) 
Mason. She was born at Hampton, May 
5, 1674. He had part of the old home- 
stead. Children, born at Hampton: 
Dorcas, born December 19, 1699; Benja- 
min, mentioned below ; Jonathan, born 
May 6, 1706; Joseph, March 9, 1709; 
James, May 4, 1713; Mary, February 22, 
1717; Elisha, March 27, 1720. 

(IV) Benjamin Johnson, son of James 
(2) Johnson, was born at Hampton, New 
Hampshire, in 1702. He married, June 
22, 1727, Bethia, daughter of John and 
Bethia (Tuck) Marston. She was born in 
Hampton, November 17, 1704. He moved 
to Epping, New Hampshire, and bought 
land of Israel Oilman. This land he after- 
ward deeded to his sons. James and Ben- 
jamin. He was highway surveyor and 
fence viewer; assessor in 1748-49; con- 
stable in 1757. Children, with dates of 
baptism: Sarah, November 24. 1728; 
Bethia, January 4, 1730; Elizabeth, Janu- 
ary 2, 1732; Abia, August 12. 1733; Ben- 
jamin, September 14, 1735 ; Mary and 
James, October 22, 1738; John, mentioned 
below; Huldah, October 2, 1743; Susan, 
May 18, 1746. 

(V) John Johnson, son of Benjamin 
Johnson, was born in 1741, baptized at 
Hampton, New Hampshire. June 14, 1741. 
He married (first) Abigail Morrison, born 
at Epping, August 5, 1744, died at San- 
bornton, in 1777, a daughter of Bradbury 
and Elizabeth (Badger) Morrison. He 
married (second) April 23, 1778, in San- 



85 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



bornton, Molly Smith, born at Epping, 
January 22,, 1763. died at Sanbornton, 
September 12, 182S. John Johnson lived 
at Epping until 1775-76. It is said that he 
was a soldier in the Revolution. He cer- 
tainly was in Sanbornton in 1776, when 
he signed the Association Test. He was 
a carpenter. Children : Benjamin, born 
1764, soldier in the Revolution ; Bradbury, 
1766, carpenter, settled in Maine; Simon, 
May 14. 1768; John, mentioned below; 
Abigail, born 1772; Bethia, 1779; Elisha, 
resided in Belfast and Knox, Maine ; 
Polly, 1785 ; Brackett, 1787; Sally, May 6, 
1789; Rachel Short, August i. 1792; 
Ebenezer, 1794. went West; Zebulon 
Smith, November 4. 1796; Sylvester, 
1799; Amos, 1803, went West; Stephen, 
1805. miller in Laconia, New Hampshire ; 
Lydia Norris, February 28. 1808. 

(VI) John (2) Johnson, son of John 
(i) Johnson, was born in Hampton, New 
Hampshire, September 22, 1769, and died 
August 27, 1855. His wife. Rachel John- 
son, died June 16, 1865. Among their 
children was Nehemiah, mentioned be- 
low. 

(\'II) Nehemiah Johnson, son of John 
(2) Johnson, was born in Maine. He 
resided for a time at Damariscotta, later 
removed to Freedom, where Elisha John- 
son, brother of John (2) Johnson, was an 
early settler. He had a cousin, Rev. 
Ephraim Johnson, of Burnham. Maine, 
for whom he named his son Ephraim, 
mentioned below. His principal occupa- 
tion was lumbering, making a specialty 
of ship timber. He married Hannah 
Brown. 

(VIII) Ephraim Johnson, son of Nehe- 
miah and Hannah (Brown) Johnson, was 
born at Freedom, Maine. August 2, 1840. 
He was educated there in the common 
schools, and learned the trade of wheel- 
wright and carriage maker. For some 
thirty years or more he was engaged in 



carriage making, and had a wheelwright 
shop in the town of Thorndike, Maine. 
For some years he was postmaster. He 
was active in public affairs and a citizen 
of prominence. He is now living at Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts. He is a Republican 
in politics. Mr. Johnson married Mary 
H. Hussy, born April 15, 1841. daughter 
of Lincoln S. and Abigail (Gould) Hussy, 
of Unity, Maine, and a granddaughter of 
Peter Hussy, descendant of many of the 
first settlers in Maine and New Hamp- 
shire. Children of Ephraim and Mary 
H. Johnson : Irving Lincoln, mentioned 
below, and Omar Harry, born August 2, 
1877, died in 1909. 

(IX) Irving Lincoln Johnson, son of 
Ephraim and Mary H. (Hussy) Johnson, 
was born in Brooks, Maine. August 16, 
1873. He removed to Thorndike with his 
parents when he was but four years old, 
and received his early education there in 
the public schools. His early life in this 
little Maine village ran parallel with the 
farmers' sons who were his playmates and 
school companions, but early in life he 
became interested in criminalogy, a sub- 
ject that he studied earnestly, creating 
for himself a profession that soon called 
him away from the scenes of his youth. 
Beginning life as a detective, he proved at 
the outset that he possessed the ability 
and natural gifts for this occupation. He 
went wherever duty called him. from city 
to city, and for many years knew the 
meaning of the word home only from 
memories of his boyhood home. His 
duties took him in the course of time to 
ever^- State in the L^nion and to many 
places abroad. He has had the perilous 
duty of running down southern moon- 
shiners in the South and of bringing noted 
criminals home from Europe. His adven- 
tures would supply material for a thrill- 
ing book, and perhaps no detective living 
has had more narrow escapes from death 



86 



r T'--'^ NE^tN' YORK 

: UBRARYI 



[ f II 




LiAJ^jt:^^^.^ Btic,^%.^£j^ce -^^m 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the pursuit of his vocation. Since 191 1, 
however, he has made his home in PIol- 
yoke, and he has avoided his former in- 
tense activity, though by no means retired 
permanently from his profession. Always 
interested in public affairs, and a Repub- 
lican in his political beliefs, Mr. Johnson 
has retained a degree of independence, 
avoiding office himself, but exerting his 
influence for the men and principles he 
believed for the greatest good of the 
greatest number. He is a member of all 
the Masonic bodies up to and including 
the thirty-second degree, and is well 
known and highly esteemed in Masonic 
circles in all parts of the country. 

He married, April 4, 191 1, Minnetta 
Koegel, daughter of Charles F. and Wil- 
helmina P. (Merkel) Koegel, of Holyoke. 



HAMMOND, William Churchill, 
Organist, Choirmaster. 

To few men has it been given to real- 
ize their ideals of usefulness along the 
lines they dreamed as has been the 
happy lot of William Churchill Ham- 
mond, professor of music at Mount Hol- 
yoke College, organist and choirmaster 
of the Second Congregational Church, 
organist and choirmaster of Skinner 
Memorial Chapel, and purveyor of mu- 
sic to the people. As a youth he had 
a vision of bringing music to every- 
body, of opening wide the ways to it 
so that every man, woman and child 
would share it. He wanted it to be a 
part of his life work that music in Hol- 
yoke, his adopted city, could be had for 
the asking, and it is a matter of the ex- 
amination of statistics only to prove that 
he has accomplished the ambition his 
generous inclusive love of mankind in- 
spired. So much has he done, so gener- 
ously has he given of his time and talents, 
that when he closed the recital season in 



the spring of 1916 he had given C25 free 
public recitals on the great organ of the 
Second Congregational Church attended 
by not less than 350,000 listeners. Is 
there another such record of free organ 
recitals in any city of the United States 
by any church organist with no additional 
remuneration? While he was connected 
with Smith College of Music he gave 
fifty free recitals on the college organ, 
and during the twelve years' connection 
with the music department of Holyoke 
College, 1902-15, he gave 125 free recitals 
on the Whiting organ. In the towns 
around Holyoke he has given 75 recitals 
to dedicate new organs, often at events 
when music and charity were combined, 
his services being always donated. And 
this is but a small part of what he has 
done for music and music lovers. He has 
performed his regular duties as church 
organist and head of a college music de- 
partment; has conducted a great chorus 
choir and built up such a feeling of co- 
operation in the church that all expenses 
connected with the free organ recitals is 
borne by the church which supports Pro- 
fessor Hammond in any program he may 
suggest. So his boyish hopes have ended 
in fruition, and from the ''Valley of Am- 
bition'' he has climbed to the mountain 
top. 

Professor Hammond traces his ancestry 
to Thomas Hammond, who came to this 
country in 1636 and settled in Xewton. 
Massachusetts. In England the name is 
traced to the Conquest, and on the Roll 
of Battle Abbey the name of Hammond 
is found. The name as a surname is de- 
rived from the given name Homo, and 
as Hamo, Hamon and Hammond is re- 
peatedly found in "Domesday Book." 
Thomas Hammond, American ancestor, 
was a son of Thomas Hammond, who 
died in Lakenham. England, in 1589, and 
is believed to have been a grandson of 



87 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



John llaniniond, a clothier. Thomas (i) 
Hammond married, 1573, Rose Trippe, 
the mother of Thomas (2) Hammond 
Thomas (2) Hammond married, in Eng- 
hind, ITizabeth Cason or Carson, and 
with his family came to Massachusetts 
in i(>i(y, settling at Newtown. He evi- 
dently prospered as at his death his estate 
inventoried 1,139 pounds. Thomas and 
ITizabeth Hammond had children: Eliza- 
beth. Thomas (3), Sarah and Xahum. 
Thomas (3) Hammond, born in England 
in 1643. married Elizabeth Stedman, De- 
cember 17, i6()2, and had children: Eliza- 
beth. Thomas, Isaac and Sarah (twins), 
Nathaniel, John, I-llcazer. Isaac Ham- 
mond, born December 20, 1668, married 
Ann Hardwick and had children: Mar- 
garet, Isaac. Josiah, Hannah, Jonathan, 
Esther and Elijah. I-liijah Hammond, 
born October 7. 1711. married Mary 
Kingsbury and had children: Nathaniel, 
Hannah, Priscilla. Nathaniel Hammond, 
born in 1733. married Dorothy Tucker 
and had children: Jason, Candau, Elijah, 
Samuel, Eli, Mary, Allen, Calvin, Alvin. 
]'"lijah Hammond, born in 1760, married 
Martha Strong and had children: Elijah, 
J(jsiah. Martha, Justus S., Allen, Mary 
and Joseph Churchill. Elijah Hammond, 
the father, was a prominent man in Ver- 
ntm. Connecticut, was active in church 
v.(jrk, the Hammond Church being a re- 
ligious centre. The preceding generations 
had all resided in Newton, Massachusetts, 
but with this generation Vernon, Con- 
necticut, became the family home. 

Joseph Churchill Hammond was born 
in i.So<>, died 1878. He was a man of edu- 
cation and for a time taught the Vernon 
School. Later he entered the employ of 
the Haywood Rubl)cr Company at Col- 
cliester, Connecticut, then a small con- 
cern which he saw grow to be one of the 
large rul)I)er manufacturing comjianies of 
the country controlling many mills. At 



the time of his death he was general man- 
ager of the company, a position he had 
held for many years. He was an active, 
virile man, prominently interested in all 
town afYairs, was a close friend of Gov- 
ernor lUickingham with whom he was 
associated in the rubber manufacturing 
business, gave generously to the poor and 
was noted for his charitable, benevolent 
disposition. He gave an organ to the 
Congregational church and was a devoted 
Christian, showing forth his faith by his 
works. He married Abbie Johanna Hub- 
bard and had children : Samuel Hubbard, 
Daniel Hubbard, Joseph Churchill (2), 
and David Green. 

Joseph Churchill (2) Hammond was 
born in Colchester, Connecticut, Decem- 
ber 15, 1836, died in Rockville, Connecti- 
cut, August 22, 1913. He was educated 
in Bacon Academy, Colchester, and com- 
pleted his studies at the famous Hall 
School in Ellington. In 185 1 he began 
his business career in the drug store of 
Lee & Osgood, Norwich, Connecticut, re- 
maining four years. He then went to 
Europe with a former classmate, Captain 
E. C. Weeks, and on his return entered 
the employ of the Hayward Rubber Com- 
pany as shipping clerk in the Providence 
of^ces of the company. In 1857 he en- 
tered the service of the New England 
Mill at Rockville, Connecticut, and in 
1859 located permanently in Rockville. 
He was bookkeeper for the New England 
Mill until 1877 ^"d ^^^ several years act- 
ing treasurer. He was also secretary of 
the Rockville Aqueduct Company from 
its reorganization in 1866 until 1893. and 
upon the organization of the Rockville 
Water & Aqueduct Company, he became 
its secretary-treasurer, dual positions he 
held until his death. In 1880 he perfected 
and patented the "King B" buckle used 
as a fastener on Arctic overshoes and or- 
ganized the Hammond Buckle Company 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to control its manufacture. He was gen- 
eral manager and treasurer of the com- 
pany and until 1892 pushed the sale of the 
buckle until it was adopted by the leading 
manufacturers of Arctic overshoes. In 
1892 the business was sold to the United 
States Rubber Company. He was for 
many years secretary and treasurer of 
the Rockville National Bank and the 
Rockville Savings Bank, and treasurer 
and trustee of the Rockville Public Li- 
brary, trustee of the Rockville Free Read- 
ing Room, and secretary and treasurer of 
the Rockville Hotel Company. In 1878 
he represented the town of Vernon in the 
General Assembly, serving on important 
committees and aiding the progress of 
Legislation on the floor of the Flouse. 
He was one of the founders of the local 
branch of the Connecticut State Humane 
Society, and for thirty years was the 
Rockville agent of the society. He was 
a lover of music and himself a good mu- 
sician. One of Rockville's noted organ- 
izations, the Hammond Silver Drum 
Corps, composed of boys between the 
ages of ten and sixteen years, was organ- 
ized by Mr. Hammond in 1876; this was 
named for him and became famous 
throughout New England. 

Mr. Hammond married, December 21, 
1859, Catherine Isham Burr, born in Au- 
burn. New York, March 22, 1841, died at 
Rockville, Connecticut, August 2, 1907. 
She was a daughter of Henry Burr, who 
was born August 8, 1806; was the Boston 
representative of the Haywood Rubber 
Company for many years; he married, in 
1827. Lucretia Isham. of Colchester, Con- 
necticut. Henry Burr was a descendant 
in the seventh American generation of 
the family founded by John Burr, who 
came from England with Winthrop's fleet 
in 1630, settled in Roxbury, Massachu- 
setts, moved to what is now Springfield, 
in 1636, then settled in Fairfield, Connec- 



ticut, where he attained important rank 
and where he died in 1672. Horace Burr, 
grandfather of Catherine isham (Burr) 
Hammond, was a prominent man in 
Hartford, Connecticut, and served as 
president of the Hartford National Bank. 
Mrs. Hammond removed to Colchester, 
Connecticut, during her girlhood, and 
there resided until her marriage to Mr. 
Hammond, whereupon they took up theii- 
residence in Rockville. Connecticut, that 
city being her home until her death, forty- 
eight years hence. She was a leader in 
the social, charitable and musical life of 
Rockville, where she was widely known 
and loved. She was a woman of rare 
charm and lovely personality, modest and 
refined, and her nature was so rare that 
words are feeble in expressing the loveli- 
ness of her character. When Mr. Ham- 
mand first came to Holyoke to serve as 
organist at the Second Congregational 
Church, she spent considerable time in 
that city, and in later years spent con- 
sider time at South Fladley. There she 
drew about her a wide circle from the 
faculty and student body at Mount Hol- 
yoke College, the students at that time 
wishing that there might be a permanent 
Mrs. Hammond among them, for sympa- 
thetic, inspiring friendship. She was one 
of the choicest types of New England 
bred gentlewomen, her nature, culture 
and refinement of manner being deepened 
by her strong character. She was most 
deeply interested in the musical career 
of her son, William C. Hammond, and 
she was a great inspiration to him. She 
was active in all entertainments for the 
church, as well as social affairs, and her 
exquisite taste in arranging tableaux and 
statuary for stage effects was extremely 
artistic. The Christmas season was a 
happv time for her. because of her joy in 
giving, and each year many homes were 
gladdened with bundles and baskets of 



89 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 

good cheer sent throu^^h her generosity. setts, his home, hrst becoming organist 
Not a case of sorrow or misfortune came of the Second Congregational Church, in 
to her knowledge hut it was borne in her 1885. He was instructor of organ music 
heart, and not only that, her purse strings at Smith's College from 1899 until 1900, 
opened, and with intuition rare, she and since 1900 has been Professor of 
seemed to feel just the assistance needed. Music at Mount Holyoke College. His 
The loss to her own circle in her death professional standing is of the highest, 
could not be e.xpressed in words, and the and dating from the day he first became 
friends who mourned her in Holyoke, also organist of the Congregational church at 
those in other towns, where she had Rockville has licen one of continuous suc- 
stayed temporarily felt that a beautiful cess. His second engagement was as 
life had ended. Mr. and Mrs. Hammond organist of Pearl Street Church, Hart- 
were the parents of two sons: William ford, his connection with the Second Con- 
Churchill, of whom further ; and Charles gregational Church of Holyoke begin- 
Ilenry. born September 16, 1863; he re- ning. as stated above, in 1885. 
sided in Rockville. Connecticut, where for The professional reputation Professor 
many years he was associated with his Hammond has attained rests upon a 
father in business, and now (1917) is re- secure basis, and he has freely given to 
siding in S])ringfield. the public service that which a fortune 
William Churchill Hammond, of the could not have bought. The free organ 
ninth American generation of his family, recitals given in Holyoke and elsewhere 
eldest son of Joseph Churchill and Cath- have been enumerated, but the mere fact 
erine Isham (P.urr) Hammond, was born that he has in that way added to the 
in Rockville, Connecticut, November 25, pleasure of more than a quarter of a mil- 
1860. After graduation from Rockville lion people is perhaps subordinate to the 
High School, he began the development spirit he has inspired among all churches 
of his early manifested musical talent, of the city, institutions and individuals, 
and under the best teachers acquired pro- and by glowing example taught them the 
ficiency on the pipe organ, his principal way to make church, society or home 
instructors having been N. H. Allen, of doubly attractive. 

Hartford, and S. P. Warren, of New York Professor Hammond came to the Sec- 
City. This was not the work of the ond Congregational Church, young, joy- 
moment to be laid aside in favor of other ous and enthusiastic, but beyond his con- 
activities, but the settled jiurpose and ception of music as an art was that strain 
professional ambition of an earnest young of the practical, a heritage from his dis- 
man deeply in love with his art, desirous tinguished New England ancestors, so he 
to make his talent a blessing to his com- began at once to plan, and soon to execute 
munity. The years have brought him those plans with the result as here shown. 
fame, and perhaps nothing during his pro- A free organ recital in a then so small a 
fessional career has given him more genu- city as Holyoke was a new departure, but 
ine pleasure than the free organ recitals Professor Hammond carefully nurtured 
he has given to his old friends and neigh- the idea. He brought to the recitals solo- 
bors upon his often recurring visits to ists of note, himself paying the expenses 
Rockville. his birthplace and the home of of these out-of-town artists and bearing 
his youth. the cost of furnishing programs. He en- 
He early made Holyoke, Massachu- countered opposition from some of the 

90 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



church members, who regarded the pew 
they paid for as their exclusive property 
and objected to the church being used by 
a public who did nothing to support it. 
but these were in the minority, and there 
were many broadminded men of vision 
among the membership who saw with the 
leader, and from the Second Congrega- 
tional Church has gone out such a spirit 
that now there is not a member that is 
not proud to throw his or her influence 
toward furthering Professor Hammond's 
work. Now the church bears all the ex- 
penses connected with the recitals. As a 
further testimonial the first organ was 
rebuilt, this occurrence taking place twice 
since. The last time, to fitly honor the 
silver anniversary of the leader coming 
to them, a double organ was built, the 
echo organ being placed in the rear of 
the church. With the completion of 
Skinner Memorial Chapel, during the 
early winter of 1912, the music of the 
Second Church rose to greater heights, 
the especial feature of the beautiful chapel 
being the organ which, placed in a setting 
that adds to the beauty of the music, can 
be played in connection with the double 
organ in the church. 

The first week's services in the chapel 
ended with a Saturday afternoon free 
organ recital at which hardly half of the 
throng of people who came could be ac- 
commodated, and here Professor Ham- 
mond saw another opportunity to make 
his art a still greater blessing to the 
people. Saturday afternoon was a holi- 
day to the army of mill workers and he 
then and there inaugurated a series of 
free recitals for their benefit, he presid- 
ing at organ, and Joseph Skinner bearing 
all expenses incident thereto. The large 
attendance at these Saturday afternoon 
recitals and the fact that they continue 
is evidence that they are appreciated by 
those for whose benefit they are given. 



The vocal department of the church 
music has kept pace with the instrumen- 
tal, and a great chorus choir joins with 
the organ in the grand anthems of praise. 
Professor Hammond at the organ also be- 
ing the choir master. For many years an 
annual event has been the Christmas con- 
certs of the combined choirs of the Sec- 
ond Church and Mount Holyoke College, 
an event that may be said to have a 
nation-wide reputation, as the program is 
distributed from coast to coast and used 
as a model in great musical centers. This 
concert never fails to crowd the Second 
Church. And as further evidence of the 
spirit that permeates and influences the 
church the fact is cited that for many 
years it has been used also annually for 
the concert given by Professor Cartier's 
violin students, about one hundred in 
number, all playing in conjunction with 
the great organ, this event also taxing the 
seating capacity of the church. 

Professor Hammond is a fellow of the 
Guild of American Organists, and in 
more recent years, w^ith the chorus, he 
has arranged notable services in the 
series of concerts given by the Guild. 
This record of vicarious service would 
constitute a worthy life record, but to it 
must be added his regular duties as head 
of a college department of music and as 
organist and choir master of church and 
chapel at regular services and rehearsals. 
Professor Hammond could not have ac- 
complished all that he has for Holyoke 
had he been the musician alone. It is 
the many-sided man, large-hearted and 
far-visioned. with a genuine love of his 
fellow men that reaches far beyond organ 
loft or chorus choir, which has enabled 
him to do so much for his community. 
Among men he is a force for broad- 
minded, liberal giving out of earth's bless- 
ings to those otherwise destitute of them. 
Personally one of the happiest, sunniest 



QT 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of men, he radiates a good cheer that dis- 
pels all gloom or friction, numbering liis 
friends wherever he is known. On April 
2S, 191 5. the church gave one day to the 
celebration of his thirty years' service as 
organist of the church, and the following 
invitation was sent broadcast throughout 
the L'nited State: 

A Complimcntar)' Organ Recital will he given 

in the 

Second Congregational Church 

Holyoke, Massachusetts 

on April twenty-eighth, nineteen hundred fifteen 

in affectionate appreciation of the faithful 

service of 

William Churchill Hammond 

who fur thirty years as Organist and Choirmaster 

has enlarged the influence of the church and 

through his recitals extended the ministry of his 

music to people of all creeds and of all walks in 

life becoming thereby deservedly known as a rare 

master of a great art, a leader in his profession, 

an inspiring teacher and a friend of the people. 

You arc invited to be present. 

Professor Hammond married Fannie 
Bliss Reed, only daughter of the Rev. 
Edward Allan Reed, D. D., long pastor 
o^ the Second Congregational Church, of 
Holyoke, and his wife, Mary Ann (Bliss) 
Reed. They are the parents of two sons: 
William Churchill, Jr., born July 4, 1903 ; 
Lansing X'andcr Hyden. born April 2, 
1906. 



MACKINTOSH, Donald, 

Manufacturer. 

The name Donald Mackintosh was one 
well known in business life in Edinburgh, 
Scotland, and in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
through a long term of years. Donald 
Mackintosh, the father, was a merchant 
of Fdinl)urgli. Scotland; Donald Mackin- 
tosh, the son, a manufacturer of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, was president of D. Mack- 
intosh Sons Company. The sterling vir- 
tues of the father were transmitted to the 



son, ami in the fuller, freer business op- 
l)ortunities of the New World bore full 
fruit. Donald Mackintosh, the younger, 
was a man of twenty-four years when he 
came to the United States, and soon after 
located in Holyoke. From the expert 
dyer, he rose to a commanding position 
as head of one of that city's most impor- 
tant industrial enterprises, notwithstand- 
ing the fact that the hand of misfortune 
was heavily upon him more than once, 
and the crises he passed through would 
have daunted a less courageous soul. He 
died in Holyoke, after a successful busi- 
ness career. In the east transept of St. 
Paul's Protestant Episcopal Church in 
Holyoke, of which Donald Mackintosh 
was one of the founders, is a beautiful 
memorial window, a splendid example of 
the opalescent glass art, placed there as 
a monument to his memory. 

Donald Mackintosh, the father, was 
born in Killen, Perthshire, Scotland, died 
in Edinburgh, Scotland. He was for 
many years a merchant in his native city, 
later moving to Edinburgh, where he con- 
tinued in mercantile life until his death. 

Donald (2) Mackintosh, son of Donald 
(i) and Mary Mackintosh, was born in 
Edinburgh. Scotland. 1819, died in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, September 27, 1902. 
His only brother, James Mackintosh, died 
in 1871. After completing his studies in 
Edinburgh, Donald Mackintosh served 
an apprenticeship of five years at the 
dyer's trade in one of the best mills in 
Paisley, Scotland, and became an expert 
in blending colors and dyeing cloth. He 
delved deep into the mysteries of his art, 
and was as much the deep student of the 
chemistry of colors and dyes as he was 
the practical dyer for a purely commercial 
result. From Paisley, he went to Leeds, 
England, where for two years he w^as in 
charge of a dyeing plant, going from 
Leeds to Kidderminster as superintend- 



92 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ent of the dyeing department of the 
famous carpet manufacturing plant of 
j. & G. Humphries. He remained super- 
intendent of that department of the just- 
ly famed Kidderminster Carpet Works 
until 1843, when he met a representative 
from the Hartford Carpet Company of 
Connecticut, United States of America, 
who had sent him abroad to secure the 
services of a high-class dyer to place in 
charge of their dyeing department. The 
representative finally succeeded in mak- 
ing satisfactory arrangements with Mr. 
Mackintosh, and he came to the United 
States. He continued in the employ of 
the Hartford Carpet Company, in charge 
of their dyeing department, for eight 
years, when their entire plant was de- 
stroyed by lire. Mr. Mackintosh then re- 
turned to England, but was soon impor- 
tuned by the Hartford Carpet Company 
to again come to the United States to take 
charge of a new plant they intended to 
erect. He yielded to their very liberal 
offer and came to the United States, but 
the company was unable to forward its 
plans for reorganization and rebuilding, 
consequently had no occasion for the 
services of the Scotch expert. While 
sorely disappointed, Mr. Mackintosh 
swallowed his chagrin and was soon in 
receipt of an offer from the Hampden 
Mills at Holyoke, Massachusetts, to take 
charge of their dyeing department. He 
accepted this offer and in 1854 assumed 
the duties of his position. For twelve 
years he continued as manager of the dye 
plant at the Hampden Mills, then began 
business in a small way under his own 
name. He succeeded, and as he pros- 
pered he enlarged his plant and was meet- 
ing with success when his ancient enemy, 
fire, swept his plant away and with it 
all his accumulated wealth. Then his 
Scotch determination and courage came 
to his rescue, and ignoring the defeat he 



had sustained, he quickly began prepara- 
tions to retrieve his fallen fortunes. He 
made his second start as a manufacturer 
in Northampton, Massachusetts, but ere 
long he returned to Holyoke, beginning 
business on Bigelow street. There he 
rapidly improved his position, the demon 
of ill-fortune seemingly having been 
appeased. Five years later the failure 
of the Hampden Mills brought that prop- 
erty into the market, and Mr. Mackintosh 
became the purchaser of the mill in which 
he had formerly been employed. To fi- 
nance and operate so large a plant he 
formed the D. Mackintosh Sons Com- 
pany, his partners. Colonel John G. Mack- 
intosh and Charles E. Mackintosh, his 
sons. 

Under the capable Mackintosh manage- 
ment the Hampden Mills prospered as 
never before, and there many of the pres- 
ent methods of dyeing and manufactur- 
ing were first introduced. An expert in 
his own particular realm, dyeing, Mr. 
Mackintosh, Sr., combined with that 
knowledge an intimate acquaintance with 
the best Scotch, English and American 
methods of manufacture, and with the 
aid of his capable partners the mills ran 
without friction and the best results were 
obtained. Dyeing raw cotton in bulk was 
first practiced at the Hampden Mills by 
Mr. Mackintosh, and many other im- 
provements in the dyeing of cotton ma- 
terials in time placed the plant among the 
largest cotton dyeing mills of the coun- 
try. The founder continued at the head 
of D. Mackintosh Sons Company until 
his death, and in all the realm of textile 
manufacturing he had no superior. 

He was one of the founders of St. 
Paul's Episcopal Church in Holyoke, and 
v.^as one of its wardens and ever a strong 
pillar of support. He was of deeply do- 
mestic nature, his home being the center 
of his happiness. He was highly es- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



♦ecmed. and his upright, rugged honesty 
;;nd purpose was apparent to even the 
most casual acquaintance. He was in 
the van of improvement and progress in 
his own business, and left that business 
far in advance of what he found it. He 
was a true pioneer and blazed the way for 
his successors. 

Mr. Mackintosh married, in March, 
1843, Hannah Underwood, born 1818, 
died 1892, d^tighter of Benjamin Under- 
wood, of Kidderminster, England. They 
were the parents of four children : Colo- 
nel John C, deceased ; James, deceased ; 
Charles E. and Henrietta, of Holyoke. 
Charles E. Mackintosh, born September 
14. 1857, is president and treasurer of D. 
Mackintosh Sons Company, vice-presi- 
dent of the Mechanics' Savings Bank, di- 
rector of the Springfield Safe Deposit 
Company, president of the Nonotuck 
Hotel Company, and interested in other 
Holyoke enterprises. He married, in 
1882, Carrie Chase, daughter of Nathan 
Berkely and Sarah CBranscombe) Chase, 
her father born in 1813, died in 1888, her 
mother born in 1825, died in 1910. Re- 
cently there w-as unveiled in the western 
transept of St. Paul's Episcopal Church, 
a beautiful memorial window in memory 
of the long years of devoted service Mr. 
and Mrs. Chase had given to that church. 
The window, a companion work of art 
for the Mackintosh window in the east 
transept of the church, is a gift from Mrs. 
Carrie (Chase) Mackintosh and her sister, 
Jessie Sarah Chase. Mr. and Mrs. Charles 
E. Mackintosh are the parents of the fol- 
lowing children: i. Donald Chase, born 
September 19. 1885, general manager of 
D. Mackintosh Sons Company ; married, 
October 15, 1910, Helen Louise Cook, 
of Holyoke, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Charles W. and Emma (Still) Cook; 
children: Janet, born March 12. 1914, 
and Donald, born September 9, 1915. ii. 



Helen, became the wife of Paul Sturs- 
burg, deceased, ii. Malcolm E. iv. Jessie 
C. V. Henrietta. 



BRAINERD, George Wilson, 
Paper Manufacturer. 

George Wilson Brainerd, treasurer of 
the American Pad and Paper Company 
of Holyoke, Massachusetts, who has been 
for over twenty years connected with the 
paper industry of that city, comes of one 
of the oldest and most prominent families 
of the old Connecticut colony. 

(I) Daniel Brainerd, his immigrant 
ancestor, was born in England, probably 
at Braintree, County Essex, and was 
brought to this country when he was 
about eight years old. He lived with the 
Wadsworth family in Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, until 1662, when he took up land 
on his own account, and settled at Had- 
dam. in the wilderness. His children 
were baptized at Middletown, eight miles 
away. He became a leading citizen, 
serving in the offices of constable, sur- 
veyor, fence view^er, assessor and justice 
of the peace, and on various town com- 
mittees to lay out land. He was elected 
commissioner by the General Assembly 
in 1669, and was a representative in the 
Legislature. For many years he was 
deacon of the Haddam church, at a time 
when the office of deacon was bestowed 
upon the foremost citizens only. His 
home was on what is now Main street, 
east of the river. He died at Haddam, 
April I, 191 5, aged seventy-four years 
and was buried in the old graveyard a 
few rods east of the court house. 

Deacon Brainerd married (first) Han- 
nah Spencer, who was born in 1641, and 
died in 1691, a daughter of Gerrard and 
Hannah Spencer. He married (second) 
March 30. 1693, Elizabeth (Wakeman) 
Arnold, a daughter of Samuel and Eliza- 



94 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



beth Wakeman. Her father died in the 
Bahama Islands in 1641. He married 
(third) November 29, 1698, Hannah 
(Spencer) Sexton, who was born April 
25, 1653, a daughter of Thomas and Sarah 
Spencer, and widow of George Sexton. 
Children, all by his first wife : Daniel, 
born March 2, 1665-66; Hannah, Novem- 
ber 20, 1667 ; James, June 2, 1669 ; Joshua, 
July 20, 1671-72; William, March 30, 
1673-74; Caleb, November 20, 1675-76; 
Elijah, mentioned below; Hezekiah, May 
24, 1680-81. 

(II) Elijah Brainerd, son of Daniel 
Brainerd, was born in Haddam, Connec- 
ticut, in 1678, and remained in his native 
town, following farming for his vocation. 
He married (first) September 28, 1699, 
Mary Bushnell, born March 10, 1675, died 
September 11, 1735: (second) September 

6, 1738, Margaret . He died April 

20, 1740. Children, all by his first wife: 
Mary, born June 20, 1700; Abigail, June 
20, 1702; Joseph, June 21, 1704; Elijah, 
mentioned below; Thankful, July 2, 1709; 
Rachel. May 13, 1712; Jabez, February 
19, 1714-15; Esther, August 16, 1717; 
Phineas, October 17, 1720. 

(III) Elijah (2) Brainerd, son of Elijah 
(i) Brainerd, was born at Haddam, Con- 
necticut, September 22, 1706. He also 
became one of the foremost citizens of 
his native town. He was made ensign 
of the Eleventh Company, Seventh Regi- 
ment of the Connecticut province in Octo- 
ber, 1747, commissioned lieutenant of the 
same company in 1754, and did valiant 
service in the French and Indian wars. 
He was elected deacon of the Haddam 
church, an office that his grandfather had 
filled before him, and continued in this 
honorable post until the time of his death. 
He died at Haddam. May 9, 1764. He 
married, April 4, 1732, Phebe Bailey 
(other records give her name as Davis). 
She died about 1791, and her estate was 



settled April 4, 1791. Children, born at 
Haddam: Elisha, born March 7, 1733; 
Elijah, September 5, 1734; Prosper, Janu- 
ary 6, 1736-37; Mary, February 3, 1737- 
38; Zachariah, February 6, 1741-42; Sus- 
annah, February 6, 1744-45 ; Timothy, 
May 23, 1746, died young; Mindwell, Oc- 
tober 7, 1748; Martha, January 21, 1751 ; 
Timothy, mentioned below. 

(IV) Timothy Brainerd, son of Elijah 
(2) Brainerd, was born at Haddam, Con- 
necticut, April 2, 1754. He was a soldier 
in the Revolutionary War, marching with 
his company at the time of the Lexington 
Alarm,, April 19, 1775, and remaining in 
the service for two years. He was a pri- 
vate in the Eighth Company, Colonel 
Huntington's regiment, Connecticut, in 
1775, and served at the siege of Boston, 
stationed at Roxbury, Massachusetts, and 
also in coast duty along Long Island 
Sound in Connecticut. In 1776 he was 
one of this regiment which went into the 
Continental service. He was granted a 
pension, March 4, 1831, for his service in 
the war. He was a blacksmith by trade 
and worked in East W'indsor and Lyme 
as well as Haddam. He removed to 
Palmer, ^lassachusetts, about 1772, and 
set up a blacksmith shop, making scythes, 
axes and other farming tools and doing a 
prosperous business. He also had a farm 
and at last accounts it was still owned by 
his descendants. He died September 29, 
1834. He married, in 1783, Sarah Wilson, 
of Shelburne, Franklin county, Massachu- 
setts. She was born October 19, 1765, 
and died March 19, 1839. Children, born 
at Palmer: Margaret, born March 20, 
1784; Phebe, January 6, 1786; Sarah, Au- 
gust 26, 1787; Phebe, July 25, 1789; Lucy, 
January 31, 1793 ; Timothy, mentioned be- 
low ; Amy, June i, 1796; Mary, June 16, 
1798; Mindwell, August 9, 1800; Betsey, 
July 8, 1803; Wilson, February 22, 1806. 

(V) Timothy (2) Brainerd, son of 



95 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Timothy (i) Brainerd, was born at 
Fainter, Massachusetts, May 13, 1794. He 
settled in Enfield, Massachusetts, and was 
deacon of the Congregational church 
there. He died February 3, 1876. He 
married, December 9, 1819, Sophronia 
Crosby, born July 28, 1797, died Decem- 
ber 12, 1879, a daughter of the Rev. 
Joshua and Lydia (Terry) Crosby, of En- 
field. They had one child, John Crosby, 
mentioned below. 

(\T) John Crosby Brainerd, son of 
Timothy (2) Brainerd, was born at En- 
field, Massachusetts, October 23, 1820, 
and was associated with his father as a 
farmer some years, then went to Warren, 
where he was engaged in the insurance 
business, after which he removed to Am- 
herst, Massachusetts, where he continued 
in the same business and where he died 
in 1906. He married, October 4, 1848, 
Mary J. Lowell, born January 17, 1830, 
died May, 1904, a daughter of John and 
Maria (Lyman) Lowell, of Ware. Mas- 
sachusetts. Children, born at Amherst: 
Ellen Maria, born January 24, 1850, died 
April 27, 1854; George Wilson, mentioned 
below ; .Arthur Lyman, born December 4, 
1870, in South Orange, New Jersey. 

(VH) George Wilson Brainerd, son of 
John Crosby Brainerd, was born at W'ar- 
ren, Massachusetts, December 3, 1858. 
He received his early education in the 
public schools of his native town, com- 
pleting his preparation for college in the 
Hitchcock Free High School at Brimfield, 
then entered Amherst College and gradu- 
ated in the class of 1881 with the deg^-ee 
of Bachelor of Arts. After teaching 
school at West Stockbridge, Massachu- 
setts, for two years, he turned to news- 
paper work, beginning on the staff of the 
Springfield "Union." Here he remained 
until 1882, when he took a position on the 
Holyoke "Herald." Like most ambitious 
young journalists, he enjoyed the work of 



a reporter, but accepted a promising 
opportunity in business. It has been said 
that there is no better training for a busi- 
ness man than a few years of reporting 
on a daily newspaper. During the next 
four years he was a bookkeeper in the 
office of the Chemical Paper Company at 
Holyoke, at the end of which time he 
resigned and acquired an interest in the 
American Pad Company. Here he re- 
mained two years, when he disposed of 
his interest and removed to Boston to 
become bookkeeper for the firm of 
Turner, Clark & Rawson, a position 
that he filled for four years. The fol- 
lowing year he was with Hutchinson 
& Company, wool dealers of Boston, in 
the counting room. He was then, for 
about a year, engaged in the insurance 
business as agent of various fire and life 
insurance companies with offices in Bos- 
ton. 

In 1894 he returned to the paper busi- 
ness in Holyoke. The American Pad 
Company was incorporated under the 
name of the American Pad and Paper 
Company, and in 1894 he was elected a 
director and secretary, and held this until 
1904, w'hen he was made treasurer of the 
corporation, and since then he has con- 
tinued to administer its affairs, and has 
been a prime factor in the development 
and growth of this concern, to which he 
has devoted himself with characteristic 
energy and industry. In addition to his 
position in the above company, Mr. 
Brainerd is one of the trustees of the 
People's Savings Bank of Holyoke. He 
is active in church and charities, and is a 
deacon of the Congregational church. He 
is a member of various clubs and the Chi 
Phi college fraternity, and is prominent 
in social circles. In politics he is a Re- 
publican. 

Mr. Brainerd married (first) July 26, 
1883. Ella R. Savage, who was born at 



96 



^BLIC U 





#/%^.^. 



d-^ 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Paxton, Massachusetts, and died at Hol- 
yoke, January i, 1910, a daughter of Seth 
and Emma Ann (Granger) Savage. He 
married (second) January 16, 1915, Susan 
CaroHne Titcomb, a daughter of Edward 
and Mary (Paine) Titcomb, of Barn- 
stable, Massachusetts. Children by first 
wife: I. George Winthrop, born at Au- 
burndale, Massachusetts, September 29, 
1889, attended public school at Holyoke, 
entered Amherst College, graduating in 
191 1 ; after spending five years in busi- 
ness in Holyoke, he took a course in the 
New York School of Philanthropy. 2. 
Ruth Marie, born at Auburndale, January 
14, 1893, graduated from the high school 
of Holyoke, spent one year at Wheaton 
Seminary, then went to the Teachers' 
College in New York City. 



BULLARD, WUliam H., 

Manufacturer. 

Robert Bullard, the immigrant ances- 
tor of this family, was born in England 
in 1599, and died at Watertown, Massa- 
chusetts, June 24, 1639, a few years after 
he came to this country. His widow, 
Anne Bullard, married (second) Henry 
Thorpe. She was granted land in Water- 
town in 1644. Henry Thorpe died May 
21, 1673, and her children inherited his 
estate. George Bullard, of Watertown, 
Isaac Bullard, of Dedham, William Bul- 
lard, of Watertown and Dedham, are be- 
lieved to be brothers of Robert Bullard. 
It is known that Robert Bullard had a 
son Benjamin, mentioned below. 

(II) Benjamin Bullard, son of Robert 
Bullard, was born about 1634. After the 
death of his father, he lived with an uncle 
in Dedham. He was admitted a towns- 
man of Boston, January i, 1655. He and 
George Fairbanks were pioneers of Sher- 
born, Massachusetts, as early as 1658. 
Benjamin Bullard built his house to the 



north of Bogistow pond. Soon afterward 
he and his neighbors built a stone gar- 
rison house as security against Indian 
attack, on the shore of the pond near 
Bullard's house. In this fort they were 
once besieged by Indians, who attempted 
to burn it by rolling a load of burning fiax 
up to it, but the wagon was stopped by 
a boulder, and the Indians finally retired 
without succeeding in their attack. A 
lineal descendant of Benjamin Bullard 
still owns and cultivates the farm. Ben- 
jamin Bullard signed the petition for the 
incorporation of the town of Sherborn in 
1662. He married (first) April 5, 1659, 
at Dedham, Martha Pidge, born at Rox- 
bury, January 12, 1642, daughter of 
Thomas and Mary Pidge. He married 
(second) in 1677, Elizabeth Thorpe, 
daughter of Henry Thorpe. Children by 
first wife : Elizabeth ; Mary, born Sep- 
tember 14, 1663; Samuel, December 26, 
1667; Benjamin, March i, 1670 (ancestor 
of Eunice W. Bullard, who married Rev. 
Henry Ward Beecher. She was a daugh- 
ter of Dr. Artemas Bullard, granddaugh- 
ter of Asa and great-granddaughter of 
Benjamin Bullard, the third of the name 
in direct line); Hannah, August 6, 1672; 
Lieutenant Eleazer, June 2"], 1676. By 
second wife : John, mentioned below ; 
Elizabeth, January 31, 1681 ; Mary, Feb- 
ruary 20, 1683; Malachi, March 8, 1685; 
Isaac, July 25, 1688. 

(HI) John Bullard, son of Benjamin 
Bullard, was born at Sherborn, Massa- 
chusetts, March 7, 1678. He inherited 
part of his father's estate in the north part 
of Medway near the southeast corner of 
what is now Holliston, and almost sur- 
rounded by Bogistow brook. He mar- 
ried Abigail Leland, daughter of Deacon 
Hopestill Leland. Abigail Leland was 
born February 17, 1683, married, January 
7, 1702. Her father was a son of Henry 
Leland, the Puritan, and grandson of 



Mass— 6— 7 



97 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hopestill Leland, who died at Medfield in 
1655, aged seventy-five years. Children : 
Thankful, born at Medway ; John. May 
16, 1705; Abigail. December 4. 1708; 
Hannah, May 12. 1714: Mary, Xpril 7, 
1717; Comfort. March 2. 1721 : Henry, 
mentioned below. 

(IV) Henry Bullard. son of John Bul- 
lard, was born at Medway. Massachu- 
setts, October i. 1723. He married, 
March 14. 1745-46, Jemima Pond, who 
died May 19, 1766; he married (second) 
Abigail Morse, daughter of Nathaniel and 
Sarah (Coolidge) Morse, granddaughter 
of Joseph and Priscilla (Colburn) Morse. 
John Morse, father of Joseph Morse, was 
a son of the immigrant, Samuel ^lorse. 
Children of Henry Bullard by first wife: 
Mary, born October 14. 1746: Henry, 
April 29, 1749; Adam. August 10, 1752; 
John, November 28, 1756; Eli, November 
16, 1758; Royal, April 21, 1762; Samuel, 
May 15, 1766. By second wife: Abigail, 
April II, 1773; Margaret, November i, 
1775; Liberty, mentioned below; Amos, 
February 25, 1780: Abigail, August 11, 

1783- 

(V) Liberty Bullard, son of Henry 
Bullard. was born at Medway, Massachu- 
setts, November 11. 1777, and died about 
1848. He married (first) Abigail Learned ; 

(second) Holbrook, of Belling- 

ham. His first wife was a daughter of 
Edward Learned, of Sherborn and Stur- 
bridge, granddaughter of Captain Edward 
and Sarah (Fuller) Learned, great-grand- 
daughter of Deacon Benoni Learned by 
his wife, Sarah (Fanning) Learned. 
Isaac Learned, of Chelmsford, father of 
Benoni Learned, married Mary Stearns. 
He was a son of William Learned, the 
pioneer at Charlestown. She died Feb- 
ruary 29, 1808. Children by first wife: 
Edward, mentioned below ; James, died 
young ; James ; William. By second wife : 
Abigail, Gilford, Aaron, Betsey, Hannah. 



The family settled at New Salem, Massa- 
chusetts. 

(\T) Edward Bullard, son of Liberty 
Bullard, was born at Medway, Massa- 
chusetts, in May, 1800. He went in early 
life with his father to New Salem, fol- 
lowed farming in that town during all his 
active life, and his death occurred there. 

He married . Children : 

Benjamin Francis, Lucinda, John H., 
mentioned below; Robert, Charles, San- 
ford. 

(VII) John H. Bullard, son of Edward 
Bullard, was born in New Salem, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1833, and died in Athol, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1892. In early life he was 
a resident of Royalston, but about i860 
removed to Athol, where he spent all the 
later years of his life. He was a car- 
penter and cabinet maker, a skillful me- 
chanic. He was a member of the Aleth- 
odist church, and a Republican in politics. 
He married Lovina Elizabeth Jillson, who 
was born in Richmond, New Hampshire, 
daughter of Wheaton Jillson and grand- 
daughter of Silas Jillson. Children : 
\\'illiam Henry, mentioned below ; Ed- 
ward E., born in Athol. who was drowned 
soon after graduation from the high 
school. 

(VIII) William Henry Bullard. son of 
John H. and Lovina Elizabeth (Jillson) 
Bullard, was born in South Royalston, 
Massachusetts, September 25, 1856. His 
parents removed to Athol, same State, in 
i860, and his education was acquired in 
the schools of Athol and New Salem 
Academy, where he was thoroughly pre- 
pared for the active duties of life. During 
young manhood he served in the capacity 
of teacher in the schools of Petersham, 
Massachusetts, and in those of Ashuelot 
and Winchester, New Hampshire, his 
work proving highly satisfactory, he 
meeting all the requirements of the posi- 
tion. In 1875 ^^ accepted a clerkship in 



98 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a dry goods store in Athol, Massachu- 
setts, and there familiarized himself with 
that line of work, and in 1881, six years 
later, removed to Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, in which city he has since resided, 
a period of three and a half decades. In 
1887 he engaged in business on his own 
account as a dry goods dealer and so con- 
tinued until 1913, a period of over a 
quarter of a century, and then disposed 
of the same at an advantageous price. In 
December, 1903, he established a business 
known as the Bullard Thread Company, 
under which name it operated until De- 
cember, 1914, when it was changed to the 
W. H. Bullard Thread Company of Hol- 
yoke, of which Mr. Bullard is the sole 
owner, and in the form,er named concern 
he filled the offices of treasurer and agent. 
The company are manufacturers of Char- 
ter Oak products, which consist of Char- 
ter Oak Best Six Cord Thread ; Charter 
Oak Mercerized Crochet Cotton, Charter 
Oak Spool Darning Cotton, Charter Oak 
Ball Mending Cotton, Charter Oak 20 
Ball Knitting Cotton. Charter Oak Mac- 
rame Cord, Charter Oak Crochet Cord, 
Charter Oak Crochet Twist, Charter Oak 
Carpet Warp, Charter Oak Mercerized 
Sea Island Embroidery Floss, all of which 
are always reliable. The enterprise 
proved successful from the outset, and 
has steadily increased in volume and 
importance, ranking now among the rep- 
resentative business enterprises of Hol- 
yoke, bringing to its owner a good finan- 
cial return. It is needless to say to those 
acquainted with his honorable business 
career and his excellent executive ability 
that every transaction is conducted on 
strictly business lines and that he well 
merits the confidence reposed in him. 

Mr. Bullard is vice-president of the 
Holyoke Cooperative Bank. In 1912-13 
he was president of the Holyoke Cham- 
ber of Commerce. He is a member of the 



Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
of the United Commercial Travelers' As- 
sociation, of the Holyoke Club, the Canoe 
Club, and the Mount Tom Golf Club. He 
was president of the New Salem Alumni 
Association in 1913-14-15. He is a mem- 
ber of the Baptist church, interesting 
himself in all that pertains to its welfare 
and work. 

Mr. Bullard married, August 25, 1880, 
Evalyn B. Tandy, daughter of the Rev. 
Lorenzo B. and Lucy Talbot (Stowell) 
Tandy. Rev. Lorenzo B. Tandy was a 
Baptist clergyman and had charges in 
New Hampshire and Massachusetts ; 
both he and his wife died in Newport, 
New Hampshire ; she was born in Middle- 
boro, Massachusetts. Children: i. Ralph 
E., born April 12, 1882 ; commercial 
traveler ; married Hazel Warner and has 
one child, Marion, born July 7, 1908. 2. 
Grace E., born October 2, 1892. 3. Irving 
E., born January 29, 1896. 

Mr. Bullard is a man of many sterling 
characteristics, with a high standard of 
citizenship, and with social qualities 
which render him popular with his circle 
of friends. His career has been char- 
acterized by fidelity, honesty and enter- 
prise, and as a business man, citizen and 
Christian gentleman he commands the 
respect and admiration of all with whom 
he is associated. 



MILLS, William Jay, 

Business Man. 

For over a quarter of a century Wil- 
liam J. Mills has been a prominent figure 
in the business life of Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, although the State of Connec- 
ticut claims him as one of her native sons. 
But he has for his adopted city all the 
loyalty and love of a true son, and has 
aided in the upbuilding of her commercial 
greatness and business importance. He 



99 



364888.^ 



E-XCVCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 

traces his ancestry to Holland, the name Peter (2) Mills, son of Peter (i) and 
Mills being the English meaning of the Dorkas (Messinger) Mills, settled in 
Dutch surname "Meulen." As his Dutch W'intonbury, Connecticut, where he died 
ancestor won his title in perfecting the in 1754. He married, July 24, 1692, Joanna 
peculiar dyke and canal system which Porter, born February 7, 1670. They were 
have added so greatly to Holland's area the parents of eight sons and one daugh- 
and prosperity, so this twentieth century ter. The eighth child was Rev. Eben- 
descendant, by the exercise of the same ezer Mills, who studied theolog}- under 
traits of character, has added to the up- the instruction of his brother, Rev. Jede- 
building of the greater Holyoke. diah Mills, who for fifty-two years was 
The progenitor of this branch of the pastor of a church at Repton, now Hunt- 
Mills family in .\merica was Sir Wouters ington, Connecticut. The ninth child, 
Van Der Meulen. of Amsterdam, Hoi- Gideon Mills, was prepared for college by 
land. He won his knighthood from his his brother, the Rev. Jedediah ]\Iills, and 
sovereign by rendering distinguished after graduating from Yale in .1737 was 
public service in the improvement of the one of the Deans scholars at New Haven, 
canal and dyke system of Holland. His was rector of Hopkins Grammar School 
eldest son. Peter Van Der Meulen, born for ten months, then was licensed to 
in Holland in 1622, came to Xew England preach and continued in the ministry until 
from Leyden, where he was studying for his death, August 4, 1772. His son, Lieu- 
the ministry at the university. About tenant Gideon Mills, married Ruth Hum- 
1650 he joined the refugees who had come phrey, and their daughter, Ruth Mills, 
to Leyden for "Conscience sake" from married Owen Brown, whose son, John 
England, and thereby enraged his father Brown, was the "Liberator" whose "soul 
who disinherited him. In "Colonial Rec- goes marching on." 

ords," volume one (in the office of the Captain Peletiah Mills, eldest son of 
Secretary of State, Hartford, Connecti- Peter and Joanna (Porter) IMills, was 
cut), it is stated that by his own request born April 27, 1693. He practiced law 
his name was changed to Peter Mills; and was a well known attorney of Win- 
\'an der Meulen meaning, in the Dutch tonbury. He married, July 5, 1720, Mar- 
language, "the man of the mill." It is tha Chapman, of Colchester, Connecticut. 
not know that he ever lived in Hartford, They were the parents of two sons who 
but on March 13, 1670, that town voted grew to manhood, Peletiah (2) and Eli- 
to Thomas Shailler, "the lote that was jah. 

Peter Milesa the donchemanes." He set- Peletiah (2) Mills, son of Captain Pele- 
tled in Windsor, in that part now Bloom- tiah and Martha (Chapman) Mills, was 
field, and as a "tailor" is frequently men- born in W'intonbury, Connecticut, Janu- 
tioned in the manuscript of Rev. Timo- ary 9, 1723, and died there, July i, 1786. 
thy Edwards, of East Windsor. He mar- He married. March 29, 1743, Hannah 
ried (first) Dorkas Messinger, born Sep- Owen, who died January 26, 1806, aged 
tember 2^. 1650, died May 18, 1688. He eighty-nine. Their sons: Peletiah (3), 
married (second) December 10, 1691, moved to Johnstown, New York; Sam- 
Jane Warren, of Hartford. He died April uel, to Colebrook, Connecticut; Eli and 
17, 1710. leaving sons: Peter, of further Llihu, remained in Wintonbury. 
mention ; Return and Ebenezer, and a Elihu Mills, youngest son and eighth 
daughter Dorkas. child of Peletiah (2) and Hannah (Owen) 

100 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mills, was born in Wintonbury, Connec- 
ticut, there was baptized in June, 1761, 
and died in 1835 in Bloomfield. He was 
a farmer of Bloomfield, and represented 
that town in the General Assembly, 1815. 
He married Hetty Allen, who died July 
3, 1807, ag-ed forty-four. They were the 
parents of two sons: Elihu, born Sep- 
tember, 1793; and Ammi. 

Ammi Mills, youngest son of Elihu and 
Hetty (Allen) Mills, w^as born in Bloom- 
field, Connecticut, in 1800, and died there 
in 1848, a farmer. He married, Novem- 
ber 16, 1826, Rebecca Loomis. daughter 
of Jacob Loomis. Five of their nine chil- 
dren died in childhood ; Susan R., Samuel 
Jay, of further mention, Anson A. and 
Gustavus D. lived to mature years. 

Samuel Jay Mills, son of Ammi and 
Rebecca (Loomis) Mills, was born in 
Bloomfield. Connecticut, July 16, 1833, 
and died June 5. 1915. At the age of 
eighteen he became manager of the home 
farm, and all his life was prominent in 
town affairs, serving on the Board of 
Selectmen in 1862, 1865 and 1868, once 
being the candidate for both parties, al- 
though his ow^n political faith was that of 
the Democratic party. He was also town 
treasurer for a term of eight years. He 
was a member of the Masonic order, be- 
longing to Hiram Lodge, of which he 
was past master, and to Pythagoras 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, of Hart- 
ford. He lived to the great age of eighty- 
two years, a man highly esteemed and 
universally respected. He married, No- 
vember 8, 1854, Antoinette V. Whitmore, 
born in Bloomfield, Connecticut. Septem- 
ber 8, 1832. and is yet living in Bloom- 
field. nearly eighty-five years of age. 
daughter of Henry Whitmore. Mr. and 
Mrs. Mills were the parents of two daugh- 
ters : Harriet Virginia and Sadie Ruth, 
both deceased, and of a son, William Jay. 

William Jay Mills, only son of Samuel 



Jay and Antoinette V. (Whitmore) Mills, 
was born in Bloomfield, Connecticut, De- 
cember 15, 1859. After preparation in 
the public schools, he entered Connecti- 
cut Literary Institute at Sultield, and 
after completing courses there attended 
business college in Hartford. He began 
his business career with the wholesale 
house, George W. M. Reed & Company, 
of New Haven, and for six years con- 
tinued with that company. His next 
move carried him far from his native 
Connecticut and into a different line. He 
went to New Orleans with the firm of 
Reed & Smith, a wholesale oyster house, 
operating largely in native waters and 
shipping their product north. He spent 
one year in the south, then returned to 
New Haven and for another year was a 
clothing clerk. 

He had reached the age of twenty-nine 
years, when in 1888 he entered into a 
partnership with Lyman Besse as the 
Besse-Mills Company, clothing merchants. 
They opened a clothing store in West- 
field, Massachusetts, and in 1890 opened 
a similar store in Holyoke on the site of 
the old Windsor Hotel. In 1900 they 
completed the erection of the building 
they now occupy at the corner of High 
and Suffolk streets, and moved in the 
same year. At the time of entering into 
partnership with Mr. Besse, the latter 
was operating a chain of twenty-one 
clothing stores in different cities and 
towns and in several of these Mr. Mills 
has an interest. He has also since 1897 
been buyer for the Besse stores, forty in 
number, the largest syndicate in the 
L^nited States. In 191 5, in company with 
George P. B. Alderman, he erected the 
Mills-Alderman block on High street, 
Holyoke. 

The business of the Besse-Mills Com- 
pany in Holyoke has been a prosperous 
one, and to its management Mr. Mills has 



lOI 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



given his energy and ability. He is pro- 
gressive in his methods, and ranks with 
the leading merchants of his city. In ad- 
dition to his private business, he is vice- 
president of the Commercial Trading 
Company of Boston, a jobbing company. 
His business quality has been thus tested 
as buyer, retailer and wholesaler, and has 
proven by every test to ring sound and 
true. He is a member of the Holyoke 
Chamber of Commerce : Mt. Tom Lodge. 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Mt. Tom 
Golf Club. Holyoke Club and the Second 
Baptist Church. 

Mr. Mills married. September 15. 1886, 
Maria Louise Clarke, daughter of James 
and Mary ( Gemmill ) Clarke, her father 
born in England, coming to the United 
States at the age of twenty-one years. 
Mr. and Mrs. Mills have two sons: Leon- 
ard Olcott. born May 29. 1887, a gradu- 
ate of Massachusetts Institute of Tech- 
nology, now an electrical engineer in Mil- 
waukee : Everett Jay. born February 21, 
1896. 



MARSHALL, William Rowe, 
Representative Citizen. 

In all the walks of life William Rowe 
Marshall, of Holyoke. has so acquitted 
himself as to be regarded as a most valued 
and honorable citizen. Although his resi- 
dence in Holyoke has been of compara- 
tively short duration, and his career has 
been a quiet and uneventful one, yet by 
his manifestation of those sterling qual- 
ities that ever command respect he has 
gained the good will of all with whom he 
is brought in contact. 

Jacob Marshall, grandfather of William 
R. Marshall, was born in Xatick. Massa- 
chusetts, in 1795, died in Medfield, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1871. He was a son of Jacob 
and Mary (Morse) Marshall, the latter 
named a daughter of Peletiah Morse, who 
was an innholder in Natick. and a de- 



scendant of Samuel and Elizabeth Morse, 
who came to this country from England 
in 1635. Jacob Marshall. Jr., married 
(first) Louisa Jackson, of Walpole, Mas- 
sachusetts, who bore him one child, 
Louisa. He married (second) Mary 
Gay, daughter of Joel and Priscilla 
^Wheelock) Gay, and granddaughter of 
Ralph Wheelock, '"the founder of Med- 
field, Massachusetts," who was born in 
Shropshire. England, in 1600. educated at 
Clare Hall. Cambridge, was a dissenting 
preacher and often preached after coming 
to this country, though never a settled 
minister. Mary (Gay) Marshall, whose 
death occurred in 1870. bore her husband 
four children, as follows : Harriet, born 
1829. died 185 1 ; Mary J., born 1832. died 
1850: William, of whom further; Olive 
Frances, born 1840, died 1877. 

William Marshall, father of William R. 
Marshall, was born in 1836, in Xatick, 
Massachusetts, died in Medfield. same 
State, in 1906. He attended the schools 
in the neighborhood of his home, and 
upon arriving at manhood years chose for 
his occupation the manufacture of bonnet 
wire, conducting his operations in Med- 
field under the firm name of William 
Marshall Company, his son. William R. 
Marshall, being connected with him for 
several years. He was a man of industry 
and thrift, active and enterprising, and 
his business prospered accordingly. He 
married, in 1864. Mary A. Rowe. born in 
Medfield. Massachusetts, in 1843, daugh- 
ter of William D. and Lydia A. (Hamant") 
Rowe. the former named a native of Bos- 
ton. Massachusetts, born in 1812, and the 
latter named a resident of Medfield. Mas- 
sachusetts, a descendant of Francis Ham- 
ant, one of the thirteen original settlers 
of that town. Children of Mr. and Mrs. 
Marshall : William Rowe. of whom fur- 
ther: Henry Everett, born in Medfield, 
July 12. 1872. now residing in Boston. 

William Rowe Marshall was born in 



102 




^^^^g^ ^, 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Medfield, Massachusetts, March 4, 1865. 
His preparatory education was obtained 
in the public schools of Medfield, and this 
was supplemented by a two years' course 
in Framingham High School and a busi- 
ness course in Bryant & Stratton Com- 
mercial College. His first employment 
was in a clerical capacity with Kimball 
Brothers, carriage manufacturers, in Bos- 
ton, serving as their bookkeeper for a 
period of three years. He then entered 
the employ of Hallett & Davis Piano 
Company in Rochester, New York, with 
whom he remained for one year. He then 
returned to Boston and bought out the 
Baker & Company Express which oper- 
ated between Dedham and Boston, and 
under the name of Marshall's Express 
conducted a successful business for three 
years, after which he disposed of it and 
went to Westboro, Massachusetts, in the 
capacity of assistant superintendent for 
H. O. Bernard, engaged in the manufac- 
ture of straw hats, and satisfactorily filled 
that position for three years. He then 
returned to Boston and engaged in his 
former line of work, bookkeeping, for 
four years, after which he became identi- 
fied with his father in the manufacture 
of bonnet wire under the firm name of 
William Marshall Company, of which 
William R. Marshall was manager, and 
this connection continued for a period of 
almost six years. He then went to 
Worcester with the American Steel Wire 
Company, with which concern he re- 
mained for three years, and in 1908 took 
up his residence in Holyoke, and assumed 
the duties of superintendent of the Hol- 
yoke Covered Wire Company, which po- 
sition he has since held, enjoying the re- 
gard of the many men under his control 
by his fair and impartial treatment of 
them, and his consideration for their com- 
fort and welfare. In all his varied career 
he has discharged his duties with a 



promptness and fidelity that has won him 
the commendation of all his superiors. 

Mr. Marshall married, September 11, 
1891, Maude A. Miller, of Westboro, Mas- 
sachusetts, daughter of George and Ada 
(Bowman) Miller. They are the parents 
of one child. Thelma, born in Dorchester, 
Massachusetts, December 23, 1894. 



BURGESS, Arthur Hope, 

Representative Citizen o£ Holyoke. 

F"oreign countries have furnished to the 
various States of the Union, and espe- 
cially to the State of Massachusetts, 
many of their representative men, men of 
solid character and substantial worth who 
came to the New World, not as adven- 
turers, but to establish homes and make 
for themselves fame and fortune, and 
among this number must be mentioned 
Arthur Hope Burgess, a resident of Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, where in all matters 
pertaining to the public Avelfare he has 
manifested a deep interest, giving his co- 
operation to many measures for the pub- 
lic good. 

Dr. James Burgess, C. I. E., father of 
Arthur Hope Burgess, was born in 1832 
at Kirkmahoe, Dumfriesshire, Scotland, 
and died October 10. 1916. He was edu- 
cated at the celebrated Glasgow Univer- 
sity. Later he was appointed principal 
of Doveton College, in India, in which 
institution he also filled the chair of 
mathematics and natural philosophy. 
Some years later, owing to ill health, he 
was forced to tender his resignation, 
which w^as reluctantly accepted, and he 
was appointed assistant director-general 
of the archeological survey work in 
India conducted by the British govern- 
ment, in which capacity he served ac- 
ceptably for thirty years, the last three 
from 1886 to 1889, as director-general. 
During the course of years he completed 



103 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



an exhaustive survey and study of an- 
cient mines, inscriptions and other objects 
of historical interest throughout India. 
and was responsible for a large number 
of publications on antiquarian subjects. 
He had a distinguished career in the 
sphere of pre-historic science and histori- 
cal inquiry, and for his services in this 
direction he received the honorary degree 
of LL. D. of Edinburgh University in 
1881. and he was awarded the Keith 
medal of the Royal Society of Edinburgh 
in 1898. He acted as joint chairman of 
Edinburgh University library committee, 
retiring from that office a year or two 
prior to his death. He was a fellow of 
the Royal Society of Edinburgh, an Hon. 
A. R. I. B. A., a fellow of the Royal 
( ieographical Society and of other socie- 
ties at home and abroad, and he also took 
a prominent part in the affairs of the 
Edinburgh Dumfriesshire Association. 
Dr. Burgess was related closely to Sir 
Walter Scott, a representative of an old 
border family, the Scotts of Harden, an 
oflFshoot from the house of Bucceleuch, 
whose first publication, a translation of 
"Burger's Ballads," "Lenore and The 
Wild Huntsman." was issued in 1796. 
Dr. James Burgess married Anna Allan, 
born at Montrose. Scotland, in May, 1834, 
and is living at the present time (1916). 
Their children were as follows: Eliza- 
beth Ann Scott, David. Arthur Hope, 
Cecil Scott, Marion Scott. Edith Cath- 
erine, Charles Herbert. 

Arthur Hope Burgess, son of Dr. James 
and Anna (Allan) Burgess, was born at 
Bombay, India. .August 22, 1868. His 
parents returned to Scotland when he 
was three years of age, and his educa- 
tion was acquired in the public schools 
of Edinburgh, where they located. Upon 
attaining a suitable age to enter upon the 
active duties of life, he chose the trade 
of machinist as the best suited to his 



tastes and inclinations, and accordingly 
served an apprenticeship at that line of 
work, and later was employed as a jour- 
neyman in the mechanical department of 
the same works, serving in that capacity 
for five years, after which he was pro- 
moted to the draughting department, in 
which he remained for two years, his en- 
tire term of service being of inestimable 
value to his employers. In 1891 Mr. 
Burgess was chosen as the one most 
capable in their employ to render the 
service required, that of going to Canada 
to install paper making machinery in the 
plant of the company located there, which 
work was performed by him to the entire 
satisfaction of all concerned. During the 
time he was employed in Canada, he de- 
cided to change his residence to the 
United States, trusting thereby to better 
his condition and gain a more lucrative 
livelihood, and accordingly in the follow- 
ing year. 1892. he located in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, becoming an employee of 
the draughting department of the J. & W. 
Jolly Machine Company, and by his faith- 
fulness to duty, industry and perseverance 
won rapid promotion, rising step by step 
until he became assistant treasurer of the 
company, and subsequently treasurer, the 
duties of which responsible ofifice he has 
faithfully discharged for a number of 
years, giving the utmost satisfaction to 
his superiors, who appreciate him at his 
true worth. The company is one of the 
leading industries of Holyoke. and the 
work of Mr. Burgess has been an impor- 
tant factor in its development and suc- 
cessful carrying on. See full description 
of this business under articles of James 
and William Jolly. Mr. Burgess holds 
membership in William Whiting Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Holyoke, 
and is also a member of Mt. Holyoke 
Chapter. Royal Arch Masons, and Hol- 
yoke Council. Roval and Select Masters, 



104 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in all of which bodies he has held offices 
and taken an active part and interest. 
He is an attendant of the Second Congre- 
gational Church, in the work of which he 
takes an active interest. 

Mr. Burgess married, in 1900, Janet 
Cuthbertson. of Glasgow, Scotland, 
daughter of John and Ann (Kennedy) 
Cuthbertson, respected citizens of that 
city. Children : Anna Edith, born June 
5, 1902; Christine, born August 14, 1904, 
on the anniversary of her grandfather's 
birth. 



KING. George W., 

Juvenile Probation OflScer for Holyoke. 

King is an old English name. The 
West Greenwich branch of the family is 
of the ancient English stock commingled 
with French by marriage, and the family 
history is intensely interesting and ro- 
mantic. Not far from London these 
Kings originally lived, and in 1600 or 
earlier they intermarried wath the Las- 
celle-Wardwells, a semi-Huguenot fam- 
ily. It is believed that a Lascelle girl 
married a Pierce, and that their daughter 
married one of the Kings. Michael. Wil- 
liam and John King came early to New 
England ; also Thomas King, progenitor 
of many Rhode Island Kings. Another 
brother remained in England, lived in 
London and had means. One of his 
younger children, John King, born in 
1654, was a puny child, and his father, 
after the plague had subsided, placed him 
in charge of a sea captain sailing for 
Providence. This captain proved to be a 
scoundrel and sold the boy into service 
for fourteen years. 

(I) John King, the first of the line 
whose name is known, grew up strong 
and robust and followed the sea. Tradi- 
tion tells us he became a buccaneer and 
commanded a ship that preyed on the 



Spaniards. It is known that he w^as for 
some years one of the crew and probably 
a petty officer under Captain Robert Kidd, 
the famous pirate and buccaneer. John 
King was later a seaman on a ship taken 
by Kidd after he turned pirate. He had 
no choice but to join Kidd's crew again, 
?nd in the "Adventure'' sailed to ^Madeira, 
down the African coast, around the Cape 
of Good Hope to the Red Sea, seizing a 
number of vessels on the way. In Algiers 
John King escaped and went to Mar- 
seilles in a French vessel in 1698. Captain 
Kidd was captured in 1699 and hanged 
in 1700. At the age of forty-four years, 
John King married a French woman. He 
lived in France and died there in 1740, 
aged about eighty-six years. A conch 
horn that he carried has been preserved 
and is now owned by a descendant, V. D. 
Nichols, of San Jose, California. He had 
a son IMagdalen, mentioned below. 

(II) Magdalen King, son of John 
King, was born in France, August 23, 
1702. It is said that he was named, after 
French custom, for a godmother. He 
was tall, fair and had blue eyes. When 
his father died, he came wnth his wife's 
relatives to Marblehead, Massachusetts, 
but soon afterward with Peter La\^alley 
removed to Warwick. Rhode Island, 
where there was a Huguenot settlement. 
He remained there twelve years, then 
bought a two hundred acre tract at West 
Greenwich on the Division Road near 
what was known as Webster's Gate, and 
cleared the farm. Here his descendants 
m,et at the Indian Rocks and held a clam- 
bake annually for many years. He died 
in 1775, and was buried on his farm. His 
son Samuel succeeded to the farm, but 
it passed out of the possession of the 
family in 1839; the house was burned 
soon afterward, and the farm is now 
overgrow'n with pitch pine and scrub oak. 

He married, about 1727, Marie LaVal- 



105 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ley, daughter of Peter La Valley, or Val- 
lais, and Suzanna La\'alley. Marie was 
a woman of remarkable energy and indi- 
viduality. "She had plenty of family 
pride, though she had too much sense to 
show it. Her conversation was witty, 
brilliant and sparkling, yet beneath it ran 
the family reserve * * * she kept more 
irons in the fire than half a dozen ordi- 
nary women, but none of them ever 
burned. She bore ten children and raised 
them. She kept her hou'^e in apple-pie 
order and another such a famous cook 
the annals of the family do not record." 
(Greene Family by Lora S. LaMance). 
"Marie La Valley was of medium height. 
She was dark and had expressive black 
eyes. She had the mobile countenance of 
a true French woman, her face lighting 
up and reflecting every emotion or ani- 
mation as she talked." The La Valley 
family was of noble French stock. The 
house of de la \'alle was once the second 
most powerful in France. They were 
autocrats of the valley of the Loire. The 
present Queen of Holland and Kaiser 
W'ilhelm have the blood of this family in 
their veins through William of Orange, 
who married the daughter of Admiral de 
Coligny. and his wife Charlotte de la Val. 
Peter and David La\'alley, brothers of 
Marie, came to Marblehead as early as 
1727. Both were shipmasters and Peter, 
Jr., who wrote his surname Vallais, was 
an intimate friend of Peter Faneuil, of 
Boston. Peter La Valley, Sr., came with 
John King and others of his own family 
to Rhode Island, and he died at Warwick. 
Children of Magdalen King: i. Grace, 
married an Englishman and lived in 
Canada. 2. Susan, married Job Nicholas 
and lived in Providence. 3. John, married 
Deliverance Spink. 4. Elizabeth, married 
John Matteson. 5. Sarah, married Burton 
Briggs. 6. Mary, married, but husband's 
name unknown. 7. Anna, born 1742, 



married Abel Greene. 8. Samuel, men- 
tioned below. 9. Margaret, baptized Oc- 
tober 16, 1748, married Peleg Edwards. 
10. Paul, baptized May 19, 175 1, married 
Dinah Matteson. 

(Ill) Samuel King, son of Magdalen 
King, was born in February, 1745. in 
Warwick. Rhode Island, and died in 1829. 
He married, April 15, 1766, Deborah 
Greene, born September 23, 1744, died in 
1812, daughter of James and Elizabeth 
(Straight) Greene. Her parents married, 
May 18, 1727. Elizabeth Straight's father 
was descended from the immigrant. Cap- 
tain Thomas Straight, who married ]\Iary 
Long, daughter of Joseph and 'SlsLvy 
Long, and their son, Henry Straight, who 
was born at Watertown in 1651, came to 
Rhode Island, and married Hannah Tor- 
man. John Straight, son of Henry 
Straight, was born March i. 1678, and 
married Rose \\^estcott. About 1565 
Meriba, daughter of Gershom and Meriba 
Lascelle, early French Huguenots, mar- 
ried in England, William Wardwell. son 
of Richard and Mary (Ithell) Wardwell, 
and their daughter, Rosanna W'ardwell, 
married a \\'aite. Mehitable \\'aite. of 
the next generation, married Richard Hill, 
and their son, John Hill, was head of the 
family from which the Rhode Island Hills 
are descended. They lived at Great Tor- 
rington, Devonshire, England. The 
Westcotts were from the same place. 
Stukeley Westcott. son of Richard and 
Mary (Parsons) \\'estcott, came over in 
1635. Their oldest son, Amos Westcott, 
married Deborah Stafford, June 9, 1670, 
and their daughter, Rosanna, married 
(second) John Straight, and had a daugh- 
ter Elizabeth, born October 8, 1705. De- 
borah Greene was one of the "good- 
natured Greenes" and a woman of fine 
mental powers. Samuel King was an 
expert millwright and built mills of all 
kinds all over Rhode Island. He was a 



106 



E>: CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



soldier in the Rhode Island militia in the 
Revolution in Captain Samuel Wilber's 
company in the spring of 1777, as shown 
by an old payroll, (p. 137 Greene Gene- 
alogy). Children: i. Nancy. 2. Sarah, 
married Xathan Hathaway. 3. Mary, 
married Sanford Pierce. 4. Elizabeth, 
born 1771, married James Kittle. 5. 
George, mentioned below. 6. Hannah, 
born June 25, 1777, married Captain John 
Howard. 7. Dinah, born 1778, married 
Christopher Hopkins. 8. David, born 
March 11, 1781, and lived at West Green- 
wich. 9. Paul. 10. Joel, born November 

3, 1785, lived at Pompey, New York. 11. 
Stephen, born May 8, 1787. 

(IV) George King, son of Samuel 
King, was born May 21, 1774, and died 
in 1833. He married his second cousin, 
Meriba Matteson, who was born April 25, 
1779, and died in 1847, ^ descendant of 
the Greene line mentioned above and 
doubly descended from Henry Matteson, 
the pioneer. George King lived and died 
in West Greenwich on a farm adjoining 
the Magdalen King homestead. Chil- 
dren: I. David, born July 23, 1802, mar- 
ried Thankful Hopkins. 2. John, died 
young. 3. Mercy, born April 10, 1807. 

4. Sarah, born May 9, 181 1, married 

Musor. 5. Whipple, mentioned below. 
6. Celia, married Thomas Matteson. 7. 
Caleb, born February 20, 1821, settled at 
Pompey, New York. 

(V) Whipple King, son of George 
King, was born at West Greenwich, June 
9, 1813. and died August 29, 1903. He 
was the patriarch of his family, and 
deacon of his church. He was a farmer, 
living for a time in Onondaga county. 
New York, and in Griswold, Connecticut, 
and later at Passaquisett Brook Farm, 
near Kenyon, Rhode Island. He was 
active in public affairs, and held the 
offices of assessor, town clerk and director 
in the State Bank. He was deacon of the 



Baptist church. He married, February 
12, 1838, Elizabeth Clark, daughter of 
Luke Clark, of Richmond, Rhode Island. 
Their only child was John Whipple Perry, 
mentioned below. 

(VI) John \\'hipple Perry King, son 
of Whipple King, was born at Richmond, 
Rhode Island, February 24, 1847, ^"^1 
died in 1913. He attended the public 
schools and the institute at Suffield, Con- 
necticut. He taught school for twenty 
years in various Rhode Island and Con- 
necticut towns. He also carried on the 
farm of his father at Passaquisett Brook, 
on the Narragansett reservation. He and 
his wife were both active in the temper- 
ance movement, and he was a prominent 
member of the Prohibition party, once 
candidate on the Prohibition ticket for 
lieutenant-governor and at another time 
candidate for State treasurer. He served 
on the Prohibition State Committee of 
Rhode Island. At the time of his death 
he was collector of taxes of Charlestown, 
Rhode Island. He was a faithful member 
of the Baptist church and clerk of the 
society. He married, December 7, 1865, 
Harriet Elizabeth Tefft. a native of Gris- • 
wold, Connecticut, born January 31, 1845, 
daughter of Sprague and Eliza M. 
(Browning) Tefft. Children: i. George 
Whipple, mentioned below. 2. Ruth 
Elizabeth, born February 19, 1872, mar- 
ried Oscar E. Earnshaw, of Mystic, Con- 
necticut, and has two children: Eldred 
and Everett Earnshaw. 3. Joanna Rey- 
nolds, born September 28, 1873, married, 
April 25. 1895, Thomas G. Clark, of Ken- 
yon, Rhode Island, and had two children: 
Leon Whipple Clark, born March 19, 
1898, and Edith May Clark, born March 
16, 1899. 

(VIE) George Whipple King, son of 
John Whipple Perry King, was born May 
19, 1867, at Griswold, Connecticut. He 
attended the public schools in Charles- 

07 



EXCVCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



town, Rhode Island, and the East Green- 
wich Academy, in which he took a busi- 
ness course, and the State Xurmal School 
at Providence, from wliich he was gradu- 
ated in 1888, at the age of twenty-one. 
He was employed on the farm during the 
summer months, and taught school dur- 
ing the winter months, after which he 
entered the L'nited States Indian service 
as a teacher in the field, and served in 
that capacity in the West for five years, 
from 18S9 to 1894. During his term in 
the government service he was stationed 
at Fort Lapwai, Idaho, in Chief Joseph's 
Reservation, and was principal of the 
schools there for two years, and after- 
ward superintendent at the Klamath 
Agency Boarding School at Fort Kla- 
math, Oregon, in Captain Jack's Reserva- 
tion, two years, and for seven years was 
superintendent and principal of schools 
in Western Shoshone in Nevada. He 
then returned to Rhode Island and taught 
in the schools for two terms, but resigned 
this position to become an ofificer of the 
Rhode Island Reform School at Howard, 
Rhode Island, having charge of the 
largest division, his term of service ex- 
tending from January 6, 1895, to Septem- 
ber, 1907, when he resigned. He then 
took up his residence in Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, to which city he is greatly 
attached, and in recent years he has re- 
ceived several tempting offers to locate 
elsewhere, but has declined them all, pre- 
ferring to retain his residence in the city 
of his choice. He was appointed superin- 
tendent of the Boys' Club of Holyoke, 
September 16, 1907, and has held that 
position to the present time (1917), devot- 
ing his life to the work for boys. On 
February 17, 1916, he was appointed by 
Judge Edward W. Chapin as juvenile pro- 
bation ofificer for Holyoke. His new office 
will not require the severance of present 
relations with the Boys' Club, in fact his 



experience in the latter named especially 
qualifies him for the new position. Mr. 
King is chairman of the Case Committee 
of Associated Charities in Holyoke. He 
takes an active interest in church matters, 
and has been superintendent of the Sun- 
day school of the Second Baptist Church 
for four years, during his residence in 
Holyoke. In politics he is an Independ- 
ent. He was a member of Doric Lodge, 
No. 38, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Auburn. Rhode Island, and was musical 
director of this lodge for ten years, and is 
now a member of William Whiting 
Lodge of Holyoke. He is a skillful 
amateur photographer, and has spent 
considerable time in the study of this and 
has a large collection of interesting views. 
Mr. King married, August 13, 1891, 
Martha Estelle Saunders, daughter of 
Captain Thomas E. and Sarah (Gavitt) 
Saunders. Children : Frances Elizabeth, 
born August 9, 1892, at Klamath Agency, 
Oregon ; Sarah Saunders, born June 9, 
1895 ; George Whipple, Jr., born February 
25, 1899. 



SPIES, Milton Samuel, 

Leading Merchant of Holyoke. 

Milton Samuel Spies, the w^ell known 
merchant tailor, is of German parentage, 
and exemplifies in his own person the 
sterling traits and worthy characteristics 
of that race of people. He has attained, 
by virtue of his own unaided efforts, a 
high place in the regard of the community 
in which he has elected to make his home, 
and has shown the way to those of his 
own race who, coming here with strong 
ambitions, may not be discouraged by 
the difficulties to be overcome. 

The ancestor of Mr. Spies, as has 
already been indicated, was of German 
origin, from which country have come so 
many of our representative citizens, men 



108 




"'/////^/''■/W'//"' 



(ln<J^^rHi 




-?.D^^"' 



E.NXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



who have been willing to lay down their 
lives if necessary for the preservation of 
the land of their adoption. The grandfather 
of Milton S. Spies was a large land owner 
in Germany, his birthplace having been 
Posen in the German empire. Among his 
children, Abraham Spies, was the father 
of Milton S. Spies, and he also was born 
in Posen and spent the early part of his 
life in Germany. Here he learned the 
tailor's trade, and when he reached the 
age to decide for himself journeyed from 
his native land in search of wider oppor- 
tunities. He first went to England and 
there worked at his trade for about two 
years, making in the main a considerable 
success, but, hearing that there was still 
more to be hoped for in the United States, 
he traveled to that country in 1869 and 
located at first in New York City. Here 
he worked as a journeyman tailor for 
many years. He then engaged in busi- 
ness for himself, which he conducted up 
to 1905, in which enterprise he was ex- 
tremely successful, then retired and is 
now living at Holyoke, Massachusetts. 
He is a man who possesses the very 
strongest loyalty to the land of his adop- 
tion, being an American in his aims and 
ambitions and fully in sympathy with the 
life in this country. He was married to 
Betsy Kahn, who like himself was born 
near Posen in Germany. They are the 
parents of a large family of children as 
follows : Sarah, Jacob, Katherine Eliza- 
beth, Milton S., Harry, Annie, Abraham, 
Murray and Paulina. Sarah, the oldest 
child, was born in England, but the re- 
mainder of the family are all native Amer- 
icans, while they are all identified com- 
pletely with the life and customs of this 
country. 

]\Iilton Samuel Spies was born in New 
York City, January 25, 1875. His educa- 
tion was received in the public schools of 
that city, and he very early showed signs 



of the business talent which has since 
distinguished him in his career. After 
completing his education in these institu- 
tions, he secured employment in a num- 
ber of the best stores in New York, 
among which should be named the Brink- 
erhofif establishment ; Meyer-Johnson, the 
large tailors and dealers in cloaks ; B. 
Marks, the well known tailor, and still 
later Bloomingdale Brothers, the well 
known department store at Fifty-ninth 
street and Third avenue. New York, 
where he was employed for a number of 
years in the clothing department. During 
this time, Mr. Spies became thoroughly 
familiar with business methods and objec- 
tives here and fitted himself well for the 
management of his future establishment. 
He had also taken cutting lessons and 
these, in connection with his experience 
in the tailor trade, part of which he had 
gained from his father, made him feel that 
he was capable of himself engaging in 
business. Accordingly, in the year 1901, 
he came to Holyoke, Massachusetts, and 
in that city established himself success- 
fully in the tailoring business. He has 
since that time built up a remarkably fine 
trade, which is still in the period of actual 
growth. His trade is in every way of the 
highest class, and his establishment is a 
most up-to-date one in all its equipments 
and service, and Mr. Spies is recognized 
as one of the leading merchants of his 
adopted home. 

In the year 1898 Mr. Spies well proved 
the strong patriotism which he feels for 
this country by enlisting in the One Hun- 
dred and Sixty-ninth New York Infantry 
for service in the Spanish-American War. 
He held himself during the period of that 
struggle ever in readiness to go to the 
front but, as is well known, the United 
States government had need for but a 
comparatively small portion of its volun- 
teers, and Mr. Spies' regiment was not 
09 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



called upon for active service. Mr. Spies 
is extremely active in the general life of 
the community, and is particularly promi- 
nent in fraternal circles, being a member 
of a number of important local lodges in 
Holyoke. An unusual honor came to 
Milton S. Spies, worthy president of the 
Holyoke Aerie of Eagles, who received 
official notice of his appointment as 
deputy for the first district, comprising 
Essex and Suffolk counties. The appoint- 
ment was made by Rex B. Goodcell, of 
San Bernardino, California, the worthy 
grand president of the Eagles. Mr. Spies 
is believed to be the first worthy president 
to be named a district deputy. The dis- 
trict deputies are usually members who 
are past worthy presidents. However, 
Mr. Spies attended the national conven- 
tion of the Eagles as a delegate from the 
Holyoke Aerie in August, 1916, when it 
was held in Savannah, Georgia. He 
therefore became a member of the Grand 
Aerie, which made him eligible for a dis- 
trict deputyship. District deputies usual- 
ly have been residents of the district to 
which they were appointed. Now, appar- 
ently, it has been decided to have the 
deputies supervise districts in other parts 
of the State, and better results are ex- 
pected. All of the deputies are named by 
the head of the national body. Besides 
this affiliation he is also a member of the 
Improved Order of Red Men. of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
In 191 7 he was elected a member of the 
Holyoke Chamber of Commerce, to serve 
three years, and has been very active in 
the encouragement and stimulation of 
local business in this capacity. He keeps 
the interests of Holyoke ever at heart, 
and is counted one of those public-spirited 
citizens who never fails to respond to 
calls upon his generosity for the assist- 
ance of any public movement undertaken 
for the common weal. 



Mr. Spies married, in October, 1900, 
Edna Sophia Fountain, a native of 
Coopersville, New York. Mrs. Spies is a 
daughter of Octave and Sophia (Xoelj 
Fountain. Her family on both sides of 
the house is of French origin, her father. 
Octave Fountain, having been born in 
Champlain, Clinton county, Xew York, 
a son of Julian and Ursula Fountain, and 
the grandson of Julian Fountain, who 
came from France to this countrj', where 
he changed his name from the original 
French of DeFontaine. Her mother, 
originally Sophia Xoel, was born in 
Coopersville, Xew York, and was a 
daughter of Joseph X'oel, and a grand- 
daughter of another Joseph X'oel, who 
came from France in the company of 
Lafayette and played a part in the gain- 
ing of American independence. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Spies two children have been 
born : Edna Sophia, Rebecca Evangel, 
born April 18, 1903, and Elizabeth Clara 
X^aomi, born September 15, 1906. 



OSBORNE. Archie J., 

Business Man. 

Archie J. Osborne, head of the firm of 
G. E. Russell & Company, of Holyoke, 
hardware dealers, was born in Xorth 
Hadley, Massachusetts, January 18, 1862, 
son of Timothy Root Osborne, who was 
a son of John Osborne, who resided in 
Xorth Hadley, removing from South 
Deerfield, and he there spent his remain- 
ing years. He was a farmer in both 
named towns, and in addition worked at 
the manufacturing of wagons and at 
blacksmithing. He died at the age of 
sixty, and his wife, who bore him seven 
children, died at the age of seventy-four 
years. 

Timothy Root Osborne was reared and 
educated in Xorth Hadley, and upon 
arriving at a suitable age engaged in the 
livery business and in the manufacture 



no 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of brooms, continuing along these lines 
throughout the active years of his life, 
lie was one of the best known and most 
highly appreciated men of that town, 
took an active interest in all that per- 
tained to its welfare and upbuilding, and 
was ever ready to lend a helping hand to 
those in distress or those who were mak- 
ing an earnest effort to help themselves. 
His death came as a personal bereave- 
ment to all who had the honor of his 
acquaintance, and his funeral services 
were attended by the largest gathering 
of people ever known in that community. 
His wife, Jane Osborne, a native of Pel- 
ham, died in Holyoke, in March, 1913, 
aged seventy-eight years. She was a 
member of the Congregational church of 
North Hadley. Mr. and Mrs. Osborne 
were the parents of four children who 
reached maturity : Archie J., of whom 
further; Harrison D., a resident of Hol- 
yoke ; Edson P., died in 1904, at the age 
of fifty years; Jennie M., died in 1912; 
three died in infancy. 

Archie J. Osborne spent the early years 
of his life in North and South Hadley, 
and was educated in the schools of the 
former named town. At the age of fifteen 
years he began earning his own liveli- 
hood, his first employment being the driv- 
ing of a stage to Smith's Ferry, which he 
followed for five years. He then took 
up his residence in Holyoke, entering the 
employ of J. S. Preston, Jr., proprietor of 
a men's furnishing store, with whom he 
remained for two and a half years. In 
the year 1883 he became an employe of 
G. E. Russell, beginning as a clerk and 
so remaining for a period of six years, 
when he was admitted to partnership, the 
business being then conducted under the 
style of G. E. Russell & Company and so 
continues to the present time. Upon the 
death of Mr. Russell, January 26, 1907, 
his widow assumed her husband's inter- 



ests, but in 1917 Mr. Osborne purchased 
her interest. (An account of the life of 
Mr. Russell will be found elsewhere in 
this work). The business is now the 
oldest under one name in Holyoke, and 
Mr. Osborne has been longer associated 
with it than any man in any business on 
High street. Its scope and volume has 
greatly increased with the passing years. 
When he began his connection with the 
business, it only occupied the ground floor 
of the present building, No. 245 High 
street, and at the present time (1917) 
they occupy five floors and the basement, 
the building being one hundred by fifty 
feet, and in addition to this, on Suffolk 
street, they occupy an extensive store- 
house, one hundred by forty-five feet, 
where they carry agricultural tools of 
every description, all kinds of dairy sup- 
plies, and a large assortment of stock of 
all kinds for replenishing the supply in 
the High street store. This stock con- 
sists of every conceivable thing in the line 
of hardware, of all grades, paints, oils, 
kitchen utensils, china, glassware, wood- 
enware. 

Mr. Osborne is a Republican in politics, 
and he and his family attend the Baptist 
church. He is a member of the Chamber 
of Commerce, of which he is president 
(1917). He is a member of the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks ; mem- 
ber of the Western iMassachusetts Hard- 
ware Association, serving as its president 
in 1913 ; charter member of the New Eng- 
land Hardware Dealers Association, join- 
ing in 1891, being one of the three charter 
members living at the present time; and 
was chosen for its president in 1915 ; the 
association has now four hundred and 
fifty active members and four hundred 
and fifty honorary members, one of the 
largest in the country. Possibly few men 
have taken a more active part in these 
organizations than has Mr. Osborne. He 



III 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



is also a member of the Rotary Club, and 
of the Holyoke Canoe Club. 

Mr. Osborne married, March 27, 1884, 
Ilattie R. Doyle, born in Northampton, 
Massachusetts, daughter of John A. 
Doyle, now deceased, who was a paper 
maker there for many years. Mrs. Os- 
borne is one of nine children, her mother 
living at the present time (1917) aged 
eighty-four years. Mr. and Mrs. Osborne 
are the parents of four children : Edith ; 
Bessie, who became the wife of Dr. E. A. 
Knowlton, a sketch of whom appears 
elsewhere in this work, and they are the 
parents of one child, Silvia, born March 
18, 1915 ; Leila, a graduate of the Holyoke 
High School and Miss Wheelock's School 
of Boston, a teacher in the schools of Hol- 
yoke ; George, associated with his father 
in business. 

This brief resume of Mr. Osborne's 
many spheres of activity and usefulness 
proves the broadness of his mental vision, 
and whether considered as employee, 
employer, merchant, official business 
associate or clubman, he has always been 
found a man true to himself and true to 
his fellows. 



TREWORGY, Henry Howard, 

Merchant. 

One of the best known business men of 
the city of Holyoke, a useful, trusted and 
honored citizen, was the late Henry 
Howard Treworgy. He was a shrewd, 
capable and successful man of affairs, a 
self-made man, starting with no advan- 
tages and fighting his own way to for- 
tune. He was descended from a race of sea- 
faring men. His ancestors came early to the 
Maine coast, and though the Treworgy 
name has never been numerous, the men 
who bore it have been distinguished for 
their industry, courage and persistence in 
the face of great difficulties. The sur- 



name Treworgy is a variation in the spell- 
ing of Trueworthy or Treworthy, and in 
the early records all three spellings were 
used in connection with the same family. 

(I) James Treworgy, said to be of 
Welsh (Cornish) descent, bought land in 
Kittery, Maine, in 1635. He married at 
Kingsweare, England, March 16, 1616, 
Katharine Shapleigh, daughter of Alex- 
ander Shapleigh. He died in 1650, and 
his widow married Edward Hilton, of 
Exeter, New Hampshire. Alexander 
Shapleigh was a merchant in England, 
agent of the Maine estate of Sir Ferdi- 
nando Gorges. He deeded all his estate 
at Kittery to his son-in-law, James Tre- 
worgy, May 26, 1642, and probably re- 
turned to England before July 6, 1650, 
when his estate was settled at York, 
Maine. Besides Katharine, Mr. Shap- 
leigh had a daughter Joan, who married 
John Meredith ; daughter Elizabeth, mar- 
ried John Oilman ; and daughter Lucy, 
married Thomas Wills. Children of 
James and Katharine Treworgy: i. John, 
mentioned below. 2. Joan, married John 
Meredith. 3. Samuel, born 1628, married 
Dorcas Walton. 4. Lucy, born 1632, 
married (first) Humphrey Chadbourne 
(not Scammon, as given in the Kittery 
history) ; married (second) Thomas 
Wills; and (third) Elias Stillman. 5. 
Elizabeth, born 1639, married, June 3, 
1657, the Hon. John Oilman, of Exeter, 
died September 8, 1719. 

(II) John Treworgy, son of James 
Treworgy, was born at Kingsweare, Eng- 
land, and baptized December 30, 1618. 
He came to this country as the agent of 
John Winter l^efore 1639, and was after- 
ward agent of Alexander Shapleigh, his 
grandfather. From 1640 to 1649 he was 
a resident of Kittery, and thence went to 
Newfoundland, where he died before 1660. 
He was one of the Newfoundland com- 
missioners, April 8, 165 1. He married, 

12 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



January 15, 1646, Penelope Spencer, 
daughter of Thomas and Penelope 
(Filiall) Spencer, and Spencer has been 
used in the family in every generation 
since this marriage as a given name. 
Thomas Spencer, her father, married in 
England (license dated September 24, 
1623) Penelope Filiall; he died in 1648; 
his will w^as dated June 22 and proved 
August 23, in that year. Thomas Spencer 
had a brother, John Spencer, who died at 
Salem in 1637. Thomas Spencer men- 
tions in his will brother Nicholas Kidwell 
and children : John Spencer, who settled 
in New England ; Penelope, who married 
John Treworgy, mentioned above ; 
Thomas and Rachel, who had the lease 
of Waddam in Chertsey, England ; 
daughter-in-law, Anna Fyllial ; mention- 
ing wages due him for service of the king 
(see Waters Gleanings 467). Children 
of John Treworgy : John, born August 
12, 1649; James, mentioned below. 

(Ill) James (2) Treworgy, son of John 
Treworgy, was born about 1660. He was 
mentioned in the will of Katherine Hilton, 
his aunt, in 1676. In 1696 he was a 
tanner in the employ of Sir William 
Pepperell. He married (first) July 16, 
1693, Mary Ferguson, daughter of John 
Ferguson. An interesting record is the 
deposition made many years afterward by 
Abigail Hodsdon and Elizabeth Gowen 
stating that they were "bridemaids" at 
this wedding. His wife died July 19, 
1696. He married (second) Sarah Brad- 
ley, widow of John Bradley. He married 
(third) in 1702, at Portsmouth, New 
Hampshire, Ruth Kirk, daughter of 
Henry Kirk. His third wife owned the 
covenant in the church at the time her 
son was baptized. He lived in Ports- 
mouth in 1701-02, but most of his life in 
Kittery. Children by first wife : Pene- 
lope, born June I, 1694, married Joseph 
Kilgore ; John, mentioned below. By 

Mass— 6— 8 I 1 3 



second wife : Samuel, born August 20, 
1698, died October 9 (record in Boston). 
By third wife : James, baptized at Ports- 
mouth, April II, 1714. 

(IV) John (2) Treworgy, son of 
James (2) Treworgy, was born at Kit- 
tery, Maine, June i, 1696, and died before 
1748. He married, in April, 1731, Mary 
Bracey, daughter of William and Mary 
(Marston) Bracey, of York, Maine. She 
was born in June, 1707. He lived at 
Biddeford, Maine. Children: i. James, 
mentioned below. 2. Spencer, baptized 
June 19, 1743; married Judith Townsend, 
of Little Falls, September 21, 1769, when 
he was of Biddeford ; he was lost at sea 
with his brothers, December 12, 1776, and 
she married (second) John Stewart, and 
(third) Ebenezer Jordan ; her daughter, 
Betsey Townsend Treworgy, married his 
son, Solomon Jordan, in 1803. 3. Jacob, 
married, December 9, 1756, lost at sea 
with his brothers. 4. Daniel, married 
Betsey Townsend. 5. Mark. 6. Daugh- 
ter, married, June 26, 1753, John Davis. 

(V) James (3) Treworgy, son of John 
(2) Treworgy, was born in 1732. He was 
a sea captain and was lost at sea with 
Captain Haslam, Spencer and Jacob 
Treworgy, his brothers, and a sailor 
named Seavy, on their way from Union 
River (Surry), Maine, to Boston, Decem- 
ber 12, 1776. He was admitted to the 
Biddeford church, June 2^, 1762, and came 
to Surry about 1770. He married, De- 
cember 9, 1756, at Biddeford, Catherine 
Libby. Children : James ; Nathaniel, 
mentioned below ; Jacob, born July 10, 
1771, died March 5, 1848, married Han- 
nah Jackson ; lived at Unity, Maine. 

(VI) Nathaniel Treworgy, son of 
James (3) Treworgy, according to the 
best obtainable evidence, was born about 
1770 in Surry, Maine. He had a farm 
at Treworgy Cove in his native town. He 
was tall and dignified, and to the end of 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his life wore a tall hat. He died in Surry. 
He married there Huldah Townsend. 
Children, born in Surry: Nathaniel, Wil- 
liam G., mentioned below; Charles, Levi, 
Newell, Archibald, Betsey, Judith, Jordan. 

(\'II) Captain William G. Treworgy, 
son of Nathaniel Treworgy, was born in 
Surry, Maine, November 8, 1813, and died 
in August, 1871, lost at sea. He followed 
the sea all his active life and was a master 
mariner and ship owner. He married, 
August 18, 1840, Nancy Jarvis, of Surry, 
born December 26, 1819, died January i, 
1908. Children, born at Surry : Annie J., 
Edward, Elizabeth, Caroline, William 
Harris, a prominent lumber dealer of 
Boston ; Henry Howard, mentioned be- 
low. 

(VIII) Henry Howard Treworgy^ son 
of Captain William G. Treworgy, was 
born at Surry, Maine, September 28, 1858, 
and died at Holyoke. Massachusetts, Janu- 
ary 22, 1902. He received his education 
in the public schools of his native town, 
and during his youth, like other sons of 
farmers and mariners, he devoted a good 
part of his time to helping his father. At 
the age of nineteen he left home and came 
to Holyoke, Massachusetts, where he 
found employment as clerk in the Dick- 
inson Ninety-nine Cent Store. Subse- 
quently he was a clerk in the employ of 
Philander Moore, the veteran grocer. In 
the course of time he was admitted to 
partnership, and the firm continued pros- 
perously. The store was located at 223 
High street in the center of the retail dis- 
trict. As the city grew the partners kept 
pace with its growth and with the 
progress in their special line of business. 
In 1890 Mr. Moore, the senior partner, 
withdrew and Mr. Treworgy became the 
sole owner. He continued the business 
successfully until it was purchased by the 
Mohican Company, and remained as man- 
ager for the new owners for a short time. 



From time to time Mr. Treworgy had 
made substantial investments in Holyoke 
real estate, and after he retired from the 
grocery business he devoted his time 
chiefly to the care and development of his 
property. In partnership with Charles 
E. Ball, he built the business block at the 
corner of High and Dwight streets, com- 
pleted in 1898, now one of the most im- 
portant buildings of its kind in the city. 
He possessed an accurate knowledge of 
real estate values, and his judgment was 
taken in many cases where the value of 
property was sought. He took a keen 
interest in public affairs, though he de- 
clined to accept office. In politics he was 
a Republican. He was a member of the 
Holyoke Business Men's Association, of 
the local council of the Royal Arcanum, 
and of the Second Baptist Church. 

He married, November 27, 1888, Mary 
E. Brooks, of Fairfield, Connecticut. 
Children, born at Holyoke : Harry 
Howard, August 11, 1890; Ethel Mae, 
August 14, 1891 ; Rachel Lillian, Decem- 
ber 30, 1893; Alice Louise, June i, 1895; 
Grace Luella, February 11, 1897; Ruth 
Brooks, August 27, 1901. 



BALDWIN, Herbert Lucian, 
Business Man. 

The firm of Baldwin Brothers is one 
well known in Holyoke, ^lassachusetts, 
not alone for the extensive grocery busi- 
ness conducted under that name, but for 
the public spirited, upright and honorable 
manner in which that business is con- 
ducted as well as all other enterprises 
with which Baldwin Brothers are con- 
nected. The brothers are of English 
parentage, sons of Bentley Baldwin, and 
grandsons of Hugh Baldwin, who lived 
and died in Yorkshire, England, as did 
his wife, Ann (Bentley) Baldwin. They 
were the parents of seven children : Bent- 



114 






•^ASSj 




^o<i^'/f/t ^L ^'oiifiei^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ley, of further mention ; Joseph, John, 
Hugh, Abraham, Martha and Harriet 
Baldwin. 

The eldest son, Fjcntley Baldwin, born 
in Bradford. Yorkshire, England, June 9, 
1 84 1, died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
Mav II, 1889. He became a worker in 
the English mills, and after coming to the 
United States in 1873 continued the same 
line of activity with the Farr Alpaca Com- 
pany in Holyoke, but lived a retired life 
for several years prior to his death. He 
\vas a man of strong character and up- 
right life, a Democrat in politics, and a 
member of the Episcopal church. He 
married, in 1864, Mary A. Bulger, born in 
Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, April 
8, 1842. died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
April, 1900. They were the parents of 
five children: i. Etta J. 2. Anna, de- 
ceased. 3. William Cole Piatt, inventor 
of the Baldwin Reversible Garment, 
president of the Baldwin Garment Com- 
pany of Holyoke, Massachusetts, and 
London, Canada, and senior partner of 
Baldwin Brothers, grocers of Holyoke ; 
he married Sibyl Smith, of Meriden, Con- 
necticut, and has two sons : Bentley Ivan 
and William Cole Piatt (2). 4. Maud, 
deceased, married Edward E. Bogart, of 
Holyoke, and left a daughter Helen. 5. 
Herbert Lucian, of further mention. 

Herbert Lucian Baldwin was born in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, December 29. 
1878. He was educated in the city public 
schools, and on leaving school he entered 
the employ of his brother, William C. P. 
Baldwin, then conducting a grocery busi- 
ness in Holyoke. He continued in respon- 
sible position with his brother until 1901, 
then was admitted a partner, the firm re- 
organizing as Baldwin Brothers. In 
addition to a very extensive grocery busi- 
ness, Baldwin Brothers conduct a large 
baking plant, the business of both store 
and bakery being under the management 



of Herbert L., his brother, William C. P., 
devoting himself to the executive man- 
agement of the Baldwin Garment Comr 
pany, manufacturers of the Baldwin Re- 
versible Garment. The business of Bald- 
win Brothers is conducted upon a high 
plane of both quality and efficiency, and 
is a worthy monument to the energy and 
enterprise of the owners. Herbert L. 
Baldwin is a member of several business, 
fraternal and social organizations, includ- 
ing William Whiting Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Mt. Holyoke Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons ; the Pequot Club, 
and the Holyoke Canoe Club. 

He married, December, 1902, Myra 
Morse, of Norwich, Connecticut, daugh- 
ter of M. E. and Josephine Morse. Mr. 
and Mrs. Baldwin are the parents of a 
daughter, Maude Gofif, born March 10, 
1905, and a son, Leonard Morse, IMarch 
4, 1907. 



FOWLES, Joseph Henry, 

Contractor, Bnilder. 

The senior partner of the firm of J. H. 
Fowles & Son, contractors and builders, 
of Holyoke, Massachusetts, ranks among 
the foremost in his line of business. Dur- 
ing the thirty years in which he has been 
in business, he has taken an important 
part in the development and progress of 
the city in which he lives, and his career 
affords an excellent example of business 
success and useful citizenship. His an- 
cestry has been traced to the days of the 
first settlements in New England, and it 
is descended from one pioneer. 

(I) George Fowles or Fowle, as many 
of his descendants in Massachusetts spell 
the name, was born in England, came to 
Massachusetts about 1636, and located in 
Concord, where he was living March 14, 
1638-39, when admitted a freeman by the 
General Court. He moved to Charles- 



II! 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



town between 1646 and 1648, bought a 
house there, and followed his trade as 
tanner until the end of his life. His house, 
bought of R. Mousal, was on the road to 
Penny Ferry. He also owned land in 
Maiden. He died September 19, 1682, in 
Charlestown. aged seventy-two years, 
according to his gravestone. His wife 
Hannah, who came from England with 
him, died at Charlestown, February 15, 
1676-77. aged sixty-three years. His will 
was dated March 11, 1681-82, and proved 
October 3, 1682, bequeathing to his sons 
in minute detail all his property. His 
real estate was valued at three hundred 
and twenty-one pounds. He was active 
in the military service, and was surveyor 
of arms. Children : Hannah, married 
Samuel Ruggles ; Captain John, married 
Anna Carter ; Mary, born November 24, 
1640, at Concord ; Peter, born December 
2, 1641 ; James, mentioned below ; Mary, 
born February 9, 1644; Abraham, mar- 
ried Hannah Harris ; Zechariah, died 
January 7, 1677-78; Isaac, died October 
15, 1718 (through his daughter Abigail, 
was great-grandfather of President John 
Adams) ; Elizabeth, born January 27, 

1655-56- 

(II) Lieutenant James Fowles, son of 
George Fowles or Fowle, was born at 
Concord, Massachusetts, March 12, 1643, 
and died at Woburn, Massachusetts, De- 
cember 17, 1690. He settled in Woburn, 
where he was a taxpayer as early as 1666, 
and he had a common right in the town 
in 1668. In the same year he was 
admitted a freeman, and in 1672 he was 
constable. He was a trooper, appointed 
ensign about 1686 by Governor Andros 
and afterward commissioned lieutenant. 
He gave evidence of his patriotism by 
enlisting in the expedition against Canada 
in 1690, and like many other soldiers in 
that ill-fated army he returned ill, and 
died December 19, 1690. Before he left 



home he made his will, July 30, 1690, 
stating in the preamble : "Being by a call 
of God bound for Canada in the expedition 
against the French enemy and not know- 
ing whether I shall ever return home 
alive." He was a shoemaker by trade, 
living and having his shop near the site 
of the present Central House. In 1678 
he was allowed by the town to take in "a. 
little piece of land behind the Bell Hill" 
adjoining his estate and so-called because 
upon it was located the bell that called 
the people to meeting. On the westerly 
slope of the hill is the burying ground 
where James Fowles, his son James, and 
many descendants are buried. It is now 
known as Powder House Hill. He 
acquired a large estate for his day, leaving 
property valued at seven hundred and 
fifteen pounds and his descendants 
profited largely in later years, as his 
estate was located in the heart of the 
village. He married, about 1666, Abigail 
Carter, daughter of Captain John and 
Elizabeth Carter, of Woburn. She mar- 
ried (second) Ensign Samuel Walker, 
April 18, 1692. He died January 18, 1703- 
04, and she married (third) Deacon 
Samuel Stone, of Lexington, Massachu- 
setts. Children by first marriage : Cap- 
tain James, mentioned below ; Abigail, 
born October 15, 1669; John, captain, 
March 12, 1671 ; Samuel, September 17, 
1674; Jacob, April 3, 1677; Elizabeth, 
September 28, 1681 ; Hannah, January 2^, 
1683-84; Mary, July 18, 1687. 

(Ill) Captain James (2) Fowles, son 
of Lieutenant James (i) Fowles, was born 
at Woburn, Massachusetts, March 4, 1667, 
and died there March 19, 1714, aged 
forty-seven years. His homestead was 
on the site of the present Central House, 
Woburn, and it is believed that he built 
and kept the old Fowles Tavern, sup- 
posed to have been erected in 1691, soon 
after the death of his father, and for a 

16 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



century and a half the leading public 
house of the town, always kept by a 
Fowles. It was demolished in 1840 to 
make way for the Central House. He 
became sergeant of the Woburn military 
company, 1693 to 1701, and was captain 
in his later years. He was for thirteen 
years town clerk, 1701-14; selectman for 
fourteen years, and also a commissioner 
to aid in establishing the province tax, 
1703. He married, October 2, 1688, Mary 
Richardson, born March 22, 1669, at Wo- 
burn. daughter of Joseph and Hannah 
(Green) Richardson, descendant of the 
Richardsons who founded Woburn. She 
married (second) Samuel Walker, of 
Woburn. deacon, and died, his widow, at 
Charlestown, October 23, 1748, aged 
eighty years (gravestone). Children of 
first marriage, born at Woburn : Mary, 
born June 18, 1689; James, July 20, 1691 ; 
Abigail, August 22, 1693; John, major, 
November 11, 1695; Hannah, September 
13. 1697; Elizabeth, August 9, 1699; 
Ruth, April 6, 1701 ; Sarah, July 29, 1703 ; 
Samuel, mentioned below ; Esther, May 
29, 1707; Martha, March 12, 1709; Cather- 
ine, September 20, 171 1. 

(IV) Samuel Fowles, son of Captain 
James (2) Fowles, was born at Woburn, 
Massachusetts, June 10, 1705. He mar- 
ried, September 5, 1727, Susanna Reed, 
born August 18, 1707, daughter of Lieu- 
tenant Joseph and Phebe (Walker) Reed. 
He lived at Woburn also. Children, born 
at Wobi:rn : Samuel, September 11, 
1728, married, December, 1766, Elizabeth 
Barron, of Billerica ; Joseph, mentioned 
below; Joshua, June 21, 1733, went to 
Maine; William, September 13, 1735, 
went to Maine ; Jonathan, June 16, 1747. 

(V) Joseph Fowles, son of Samuel 
Fowles, was born at Woburn, Massachu- 
setts, June 17, 1732. He and his brothers, 
Joshua and William, settled early at Ball- 
town, of which the present town of 
Whitefield was a part. Samuel, Joshua 



and Joseph Fowles were among the 
signers of a petition of the inhabitants of 
Lincoln county, Maine, April 22, 1755, 
and the records of probate in Lincoln 
county give evidence that they lived there 
at a later date. Joshua and William were 
witnesses to various documents on file. 
By wife Sarah he had children, born at 
Woburn: Samuel, January 22,, 1756; 
Susanna, twin of Samuel ; Joseph, men- 
tioned below ; and probably several others 
after going to Maine. 

(VI) Joseph (2) Fowles, son of Joseph 
(i) Fowles, was born in Woburn, Massa- 
chusetts, March 9, 1758, and went with 
his father and brothers to Pemaquid, 
Maine, when a young man. He settled at 
Whitefield, Maine, in the south part of the 
present town. The name of his wife has 
not been found, but we have the names 
of several of their children: i. William, 
died in Whitefield, 1859; married Char- 
lotte Blair, and had Benjamin, Caroline, 
Charles, Hannah and William. 2. Samuel, 
said to have gone to Green Bay, Wiscon- 
sin, where he was a pioneer in the lumber 
business. 3. Bradford, settled to the east- 
ward in Maine. 4. Joseph, mentioned be- 
low. 

(VII) Joseph (3) Fowles, son of Jo- 
seph (2) Fowles, was born 1780-90, in 
Whitefield, Maine, and followed farming 
there through his active life. He married 

. Children : Harrison, 

Samuel, Miles, John, Bradford. Gardner, 
mentioned below, and Lydia. 

(VIII) Gardner Fowles, son of Joseph 
(3) Fowles, was born at Whitefield, 
Maine, in 1828, and died at Southampton, 
Massachusetts, December 25, 1915. aged 
eighty-seven years. He was educated in 
the common schools, and during his youth 
followed farming in his native town. 
When he came of age he left home and 
located in Southampton, where he bought 
a farm and conducted it during the re- 
mainder of his active life. He enlisted in 



117 



E-XCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Company B, Thirty-first Regiment, Mas- 
sachusetts Volunteer Militia, and served 
three years in the Civil War, being 
mustered out at Xew Orleans, November 
19, 1864. In politics he was a Republican ; 
in religion a Congregationalist. He mar- 
ried (first) Mary Thorpe, daughter of 
James and Almenia (Searles) Thorpe, of 
Southampton. He married (second) 
Frances Frary. Children by first wife : 
Ellen, died in infancy ; Alice ; Joseph 
Henry, mentioned below ; Frank ; Harry ; 
Mary and Xellie. Children by second 
wife: Leon, Bernard, Ethel, Cecil. 

(IX) Joseph Henry Fowles, son of 
Gardner Fowles, was born at Southamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, March 2S. 1857. He 
received his education in the public 
schools of that town. After leaving 
school he worked on a farm for two years. 
At the age of seventeen years, he began 
to learn the trade of carpenter in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, and for a number of years 
worked as a journeyman. For thirty 
years he has been in business as a car- 
penter and builder. From the beginning 
he has been successful and year by year 
the scope of his operations increased. As 
his reputation became known he was 
given contracts not only in the city where 
he lives, but in all the surrounding towns 
and even in distant points, in X'ew Hamp- 
shire. \'ermont, and as far away as 
Florida. Among the many business 
buildings and residences that he has 
erected are the McCauslin & Wakelin 
Block; the Besse-Mills Block: the Tilley 
Building; the Majestic; Dr. Tuttle's 
Block ; residences of T. J. Morrow, Clifton 
Tilley and others too numerous to men- 
tion ; the Polish Church, and Highland 
Methodist Episcopal Church. He has 
from fifteen to forty carpenters in his 
employ, according to the season. Until 
recently he was in business alone, but 
since he admitted his son, Lynford 



Fowles, to partnership, the business is 
conducted under the firm name of J. H. 
Fowles & Son. Mr. Fowles is one of 
the best known and most highly esteemed 
business men of the county. The reli- 
ability of his work is characteristic of the 
man. Trained in the old-fashioned school 
of honor, his aim has been to do durable, 
lasting, substantial work, and throughout 
his career he has sustained his reputation 
as a first-class builder. Mr. Fowles is a 
member of Holyoke Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and of the High- 
land Methodist Episcopal Church. In 
politics he is a Republican. 

Mr. Fowles married, Xovember 3, 1877, 
Mary Merrill, born in Orono, Maine, 
daughter of Asa and Mary (Spencer) 
Merrill, of Orono. Children: i. Effie, 
born May 30. 1879 ! became the wife of 
Fred Ball, of Holyoke, and had three chil- 
dren, one of whom is living, Marion. 2. 
Lynford, born March 15, 1882, in Hol- 
yoke ; educated there in the public schools, 
learned the trade of carpenter, and was 
employed by his father until admitted to 
partnership, now junior partner of T. H. 
Fowles & Son. 3. Florence, born January 
3, 1887; a graduate of Holyoke schools, 
then for two years attended Xorthfield 
School, from which she was graduated 
and obtained a diploma ; she went to Bos- 
ton, where she studied and obtained a 
diploma as a manicurist, and practiced in 
Holyoke ; later attended the Xew York 
City Training School for Nurses, from 
which she graduated and received a 
diploma, and at the present time (1917) 
is practicing her profession as a trained 
nurse. 4. Ruth, born May 31. 1890; 
graduate of Holyoke schools and Wes- 
leyan Academy at Wilbraham. Massachu- 
setts : became the wife of Earle Brown, 
of Xew York City, now a teacher in 
Girard College, Philadelphia, Pennsyl- 
vania : they have one child, Earle Joseph 
Brown. 



118 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ALDEN, Edward Smith, 

Printer, Journalist. 

A practical printer, owner and pub- 
lisher of the "Artisan," a weekly paper 
devoted to the interests of labor, and 
former president of the State Federation 
of Labor, Mr. Alden occupies a respon- 
sible relation to the industrial world. A 
worker himself from boyhood, he has risen 
in the confidence of his fellow workers 
by a course of consistent and persistent 
interest in their welfare and by his loyalty 
to every trust reposed in him. He is a 
fine type of American manhood and 
worthy of the honored name he bears, a 
name which has existed in New England 
from the first landing of the Pilgrims. 

He is a descendant of John Alden, who 
cast his lot with the Puritans and came 
over in the "Mayflower," a ship which 
also bore his future wife, Priscilla Molines 
(Mullins). They were married in the 
spring of 1621, and from them, comes a 
large number of worthy descendants. 
John Alden, in 1633, was appointed 
assistant to the governor, and from that 
time was one of the influential men of the 
colony, associated with Edward Win- 
slow. Josiah Winslow, Bradford Prince 
and Thomas Hinckley in public life, 
holding ofifices of the highest trust. He 
possessed sound judgment and talents 
above the ordinary, and there is abundant 
evidence as to his industry, integrity and 
exemplary piety. On the farm he owned 
stands one of the four oldest houses in 
New England, and there he spent his 
declining years, dying at Duxbury, Sep- 
tember I, 1686, aged eighty-seven, the 
last survivor of the "Mayflower" com- 
pany, that famed band of Pilgrim fathers. 

The line of descent to Edward Smith 
Alden, of Holyoke, is through Joseph 
Alden, son of the "Pilgrim," born in 
Plymouth in 1624, died February 12, 1697. 



He married Mary, daughter of Moses 
Simmons, who came in the "Fortune" in 
1 62 1, and settled at Duxbury; their son, 
Joseph (2) Alden, born at Plymouth or 
l^ridgewater in 1667, died at Bridgewater, 
December 22, 1747. He settled at South 
Bridgewater, was a deacon of the church 
and a prominent citizen. He married, 
in 1690, Hannah, daughter of Daniel 
Dunham, of Plymouth ; their son, Sam- 
uel Alden, was born at Bridgewater, 
August 20, 1705. He married (first) 
in 1728, Abiah, daughter of Captain Jo- 
seph Edson, a descendant of Deacon 
Samuel Edson, an early Bridgewater 
settler. The line continues through their 
fifth child, Josiah Alden, born in Bridge- 
water in 1738, and was a farmer there, in 
Wales and in Ludlow, Massachusetts. 
He married, in 1761, Bathsheba Jones, of 
Raynham. Their eldest son Elijah 
served in the Revolution. Another son, 
Benjamin Alden was born in 1781, and 
died in 1841. He married Mary (Polly) 
Hodges, born in 1781, and died in 1865. 
Their son, Jefferson Alden, was born at 
Ludlow, Massachusetts, January 26, 1804, 
and died in August, 1857. He was a 
maker of reeds for textile machinery and 
the inventor of a machine used in his busi- 
ness. He married Salome Kendall, 
daughter of Amos and Sila (Miller) Ken- 
dall. Their eldest son George was a 
soldier of the Civil War. 

Edward Monroe Alden, son of Jefiferson 
and Salome (Kendall) Alden. was born 
in Ludlow, Massachusetts, February 17, 
1844, died at Chicopee, Massachusetts, 
November 28, 191 1. He located in Chico- 
pee at an early day, ran an express line 
between Holyoke and Chicopee, and was 
long active in various other business 
activities, having a shoe store in Chicopee 
Falls, also a store in Chicopee, and for 
many years conducted a real estate busi- 
ness in both Chicopee and Springfield. 



119 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He was a member of Chicopee Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, was a com- 
panion of Chicopee Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons, a past noble grand of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, and a 
member of the Congregational church. 
He married Ida Smith, a woman of liter- 
ary talent, a writer of stories, many of 
them published in the "New England 
Homestead." She died in 1891, leaving 
children: Edward Smith, of further 
mention ; Ida Grace, born November 30, 
1877, married Amos T. Palmer; Percy 
Monroe, born August 5, 1883 ; Edith M., 
born September 12, 1885; John S., born 
April 1 1, 1899. 

Edward Smith Alden, of the ninth 
American generation of the family 
founded by John Alden and Priscilla 
(Mullins) Alden, son of Edward Monroe 
and Ida (Smith) Alden, was born in 
Chicopee, Massachusetts, August 18, 1875. 
He attended public school until thirteen 
years of age, then began business life in 
a grocery store in Palmer, Massachusetts, 
remaining there four years. He then be- 
gan his apprenticeship to the printing 
trade with the Springfield Printing and 
Binding Company of Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, receiving absolutely no wages 
for a time. He thoroughly mastered the 
"art and mystery" of printing with that 
company, and when he had passed his 
apprentice term remained with them as a 
journeyman in the job printing depart- 
ment. When the linotype was introduced 
and struck terror to the hearts of many 
journeyman printers who thought it 
spelled ruin for the typesetter, Mr. Alden 
welcomed the machine, at once learned 
to work it, and became a good operator. 
Soon afterward he was called home to 
Chicopee to assist his father in the real 
estate business, later going to Holyoke, 
where he secured a position in the job 
department of the "Daily Transcript," as 



foreman of the linotype department. He 
remained with the "Transcript" twelve 
years, a strong comment on his value to 
his employers. In 1908 he began the pub- 
lication of "The Artisan," but did not 
devote his entire attention to that journal 
until 1912, since when it has been his 
sole business interest. 

The "Artisan" is a weekly, devoted to 
the interests of the working man, and is 
a highly regarding medium, reaching a 
large list of readers and well patronized 
by advertisers, is ably edited and a power 
in labor's cause. Mr. Alden also main- 
tains a high class job printing business 
called the Alden Press. In September, 
1916, he moved from his location on High 
street to commodious quarters on Maple 
street. For fifteen years he has been 
president of the local Typographical 
Union, has been its representative in the 
Central Labor Union for as many years ; 
is vice-president of the Central Labor 
Union ; has for some years been a dele- 
gate to the Massachusetts Federation of 
Labor, to the American Federation of 
Labor and New England Typographical 
Union, and in 191 1 was elected president 
of the State Federation, holding that office 
three years, a record for length of service 
in that body. In 1915 he was sent as a 
delegate to the National Federation meet- 
ing in San Francisco during the Panama 
Exposition. He is still active in these 
various bodies in official capacity. 

In politics he is independent. He is a 
member of Roswell Lee Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, of Springfield ; Morn- 
ing Star Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, of 
Springfield ; Springfield Ctnuicil, Royal 
and Select Masters ; Springfield Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar ; Melha 
Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; 
Amity Lodge and Agawam Encampment, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of 
Springfield. He is highly regarded in 



120 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



these bodies, and wherever known num- 
bers his friends. 

Mr. Alden married, October i, 1902, 
Mary Tate, born in County Clare, Ireland, 
daughter of George Tate. Mr. and Mrs. 
Alden are the parents of Alice, Arnold 
and Priscilla Alden, and of three sons who 
died voungf. 



DOWD, Hon. James J., 

An Honored Citizen of Holyoke. 

Honored and respected by all, there 
were few men in Holyoke who occupied 
a more enviable position in business, 
political or religious circles than the late 
James J. Dowd, not alone on account of 
the success he achieved, but also on 
account of the honorable, straight for- 
ward business policy he ever followed. 
He was of the type of man who makes 
the nnest citizen, was serious-minded in 
all of his pursuits, accomplished a vast 
amount of good in his quiet, unostenta- 
tious way and performed many kind and 
charitable deeds for people in need. Dur- 
ing his more than half a century of resi- 
dence in Holyoke he made many friends, 
and in all relations of life he manifested 
those sterling qualities that ever com- 
mand respect and are at all times worthy 
of emulation. 

James J. Dowd was a native of Ireland, 
born in 1859, and six years later, in 1865, 
accompanied his parents to this country, 
they settling in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
in which city the son spent his entire after 
life. The father, also James J. Dowd, was 
employed in the mills of Holyoke for a 
number of years, and his death occurred 
in that city. He and his wife were the 
parents of fourteen children ; one of their 
sons, Matthew Dowd, resides in Water- 
bury, Connecticut ; two daughters in Ire- 
land, two in Holyoke, and one is in the 
Convent of Notre Dame in Lawrence, 
Massachusetts. 



James J. Dowd received his education 
in the public schools of his adopted city, 
making the best of his opportunities and 
thus acquiring knowledge that proved of 
great benefit to him in his later career. 
His first occupation was clerk in the gro- 
cery store and market conducted by the 
late Jeremiah Doody located at No. 163 
Lyman street, Holyoke, and later, after 
mastering all the details of the business, 
he purchased the stock and good will of 
his employer and conducted the business 
successfully for fifteen years, at the ex- 
piration of which time he disposed of it 
to Messrs. Grififin and Reardon, realizing 
a goodly profit on the transaction which 
compensated him for his years of honor- 
able toil and endeavor. For the follow- 
ing thirteen years he served the city of 
Holyoke on the Board of Assessors, 
serving eight years as chairman, and dur- 
ing the latter part of his term, in 1898, he 
opened an insurance and real estate busi- 
ness whh J. J. Keane, in which they were 
particularly successful, gaining an en- 
viable reputation for honesty and integ- 
rity. This they continued up to 1907, 
when Mr. Keane retired, and Mr. Dowd 
w^as alone until 1910, wdien he admitted 
his son, James J. Dowd, Jr., who had just 
been graduated from Holy Cross College, 
into partnership and this association con- 
tinued up to the senior Mr. Dowd's death. 
It is safe to assume that the business will 
be conducted by the son along the same 
straightforward lines as laid down by his 
honored father. The elder Mr. Dowd was 
one of the first tenants of the former Ball 
Building and occupied the offices for the 
long period of eighteen years, up to the 
time of his decease. He was chosen to 
represent Holyoke in the State Legis- 
lature and served acceptably during the 
terms of 1901 and 1902, and for the 
promptness and fidelity displayed by him 
in the discharge of his duties he won the 
commendation and approval of all con- 



121 



EXXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cerned. During his incumbency of the 
office of assessor, when the board was 
confronted with serious problems. Mr. 
Dowd showed his grasp of property valu- 
ations and his views and opinions carried 
weight with the other members of the 
board, and in his years in the Legislature 
he exhibited the same seriousness of pur- 
pose and his efforts in behalf of the 
people were highly beneficial and bore 
good fruit. He was the predecessor of the 
late Thomas J. Dillon. 

From the time he took up his residence 
in Holyoke until his decease, Mr. Dowd 
was prominently and actively identified 
with St. Jerome Church, and he served 
on the altar up to the time that he was 
made collector in the year 1886. his serv- 
ice in difTerent capacities in that church 
covering a period of forty years. To 
people attending the church for the past 
half century, Mr. Dowd was a familiar 
figure and he was acquainted with nearly 
ever}' member of the parish. He was 
highly thought of by all and was particu- 
larly loved by all of the children of St. 
Jerome schools. He was a model of 
accuracy himself and he felt that church 
people should be as loyal and generous 
to the church as he was. St. Jerome 
Church never had a more faithful collector 
or a church official that was more willing 
to give his energies and effort. He was a 
member of the Holy Name Society of the 
church, joining the organization when it 
was first formed. He was a charter mem- 
ber of the Holyoke Council, Knights of 
Columbus, and w^as one of the most 
active and zealous workers in the organi- 
zation. He was at the time of his death 
secretary of the building committee, and 
he was one of the most tireless workers in 
the organization for the erection of the 
present home of that order. He had 
always been a loyal member of the An- 
cient Order of Hibernians and had shown 



the same unfailing interest in its welfare, 
and he was a member of Holyoke Lodge, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
also of the Robert Emmett Literary Asso- 
ciation. 

Mr. Dowd married, January, 1886, 
Mary Frances McCann, of Montreal, 
Canada, who was his constant companion, 
and they w-ere the parents of four chil- 
dren, namely: Infant, deceased; James 
J., of whom further ; Mary Agnes, died at 
age of two and a half years ; John 
Francis, died at age of three and a half 
years. Mr. Dowd was devoted to his wife 
and son, and their family life was an un- 
usually happy and peaceful one. 

Mr. Dowd died at his late home, Xo. 
127 Chestnut street, Holyoke, after a 
short illness. May 6, 1916. He was sur- 
vived by his widow, son, six sisters, Mrs. 
Katherine Hannifin, Mrs. Edward Dowd, 
Sister James of the Order of X'otre Dame 
at Lawrence, Mrs. Geran, Mrs. Rice and 
Mrs. Grififin, of Ireland, and one brother, 
Matthew Dowd, all of whom are men- 
tioned previously. In his death the city 
of Holyoke lost a man of splendid char- 
acter, a man who was at the wheel of 
service for many years and whose entire 
life was an inspiration for right living and 
earnest purpose. 

There was a solemn high mass of 
requiem in St. Jerome Church for Mr. 
Dowd. The Rt. Rev. Monsignor John T. 
Madden w^as celebrant, Rev. Walter T. 
Hogan, deacon, and Rev. James O'Con- 
nor, sub-deacon. Within the sanctuary 
w^ere seated Rt. Rev. Thomas D. Beavan, 
bishop of Springfield Diocese, who pro- 
nounced the benediction ; Rev. Owen Mc- 
Gee, of Springfield, Rev. James Sheehan, 
of Ware, Rev. John O'Connell, of Fair- 
view. Rev. D. T. Devine, of Brookfield, 
and Rev. P. F. Dowd, of the Holy Cross 
Church. Monsignor Madden paid the 
following tribute to Mr. Dowd who had 



122 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



been so long identified with St. Jerome 
Church ; in addition to this his son re- 
ceived over twenty letters from other 
pastors who could not be present. 

Dk.ak Friends : — To let this sad occasion pass 
without a brief tribute to the character of James 
J. Dowd would savor of a lack of appreciation of 
the work and worth of a noble Christian man. 
As a boy he served at this altar. As a young man 
and through manhood he gave the best service 
without stint or reservation to the furthering of 
the material and moral interests of St. Jerome's. 
For over a generation has he, Sunday after Sun- 
day passed up and down in this church, always 
painstaking and ever courteous to all comers. 
Exact in every detail, firm in the enforcement of 
church regulations, he possessed the fine art of 
tempering firmness with a gentle suavity, all his 
own. In bearing and in fact he was an ideal 
church official. He would have graced a wider 
field and would have been a marked figure in any 
congregation. One trait stood out in a very 
marked manner in his character. He had a very 
fine and correct idea of the position and respon- 
sibility of a layman in reference to his church. 
This was so developed in him that he felt it a 
conscientious duty to assist in every practical way 
in the uplift and advancement of religion. Always 
ready to tender advice, he never overstepped the 
line, never obtruded his own opinion, or insisted 
on its adoption, but was always found amongst 
the hard persistent workers. He even anticipated 
the needs of those who sought his cooperation. 
He was a warm hearted, sympathetic man. He 
could interest himself in the wants and simple 
pleasures of children. He could frequently be 
found chattering with them and entering into 
their childish plans. The older members of the 
congregation were always greeted with a word or 
a nod of kindness and sympathy. All in all his 
presence will be missed for many a day in old St. 
Jerome's. He had promised himself some respite 
from the self-imposed labors, but now that the 
Master has called him we are glad that the 
summons found him still in active duty — still at 
the head of workers of the church that he so 
ardently loved and so faithfully served. Peace 
be to his memory. Your fervent prayers will fol- 
low him beyond the grave. Eternal rest be his 
portion and may Heaven's light shine upon him 
forever more. 

James J. Dowd, Jr., w^as born in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, February i6, 1889. 



He was educated in the public schools of 
his native city, in parochial and high 
schools, and Holy Cross College, Worces- 
ter, Massachusetts, from which he was 
graduated in 1910. During the time spent 
in high school and college he had played 
with success on the base ball team, four 
years in high school and four years in 
college, and upon the completion of his 
course of study in college he decided to 
take up baseball as a profession during 
his spare time, and from then up to the 
time of his father's death, a period of 
almost seven years, he filled the posi- 
tion of pitcher in the professional clubs 
of the State and National organizations, 
playing with the Montreal, Pittsburgh, 
Indianapolis, Utica, and Cincinnati clubs. 
In this sport and profession his efforts 
were always seconded by his father, 
who encouraged him in every way, 
being present at all times when pos- 
sible to applaud his good work. The 
senior Mr. Dowd was an enthusiast in the 
national pastime, and through the w^ork of 
his son met many of the most prominent 
players in the baseball world, and with 
them he was not only popular but a great 
favorite. As a rule ball players have so 
many encomiums heaped upon them and 
are made so much of by the public that 
they become reserved and to some extent 
almost cold in their manner to strangers, 
but exactly the opposite was it with James 
J. Dowd. They were not only glad to 
see him, but to show their appreciation 
of him and as a special mark of respect 
he w^as in many cases invited to sit with 
them on the bench during the game, a 
privilege accorded or extended to very 
few men outside of baseball officers in the 
United States, and at his death the asso- 
ciation sent an enormotis floral piece over 
six feet in height as a mark of their re- 
spect and the esteem in which he was 
held. Upon the death of his father, James 



123 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



J. Dowd, Jr., was compelled to relinquish 
his position and return to Holyoke to take 
charge of his father's business, which he 
still continues. He is a young man whom 
it is a pleasure to know, a worthy son of 
a worthy sire. 



VERSHON, (Mrs.) Mary A., 

■Well-Known Resident of Holyoka. 

Joseph \'ershon (\'achon in French), 
father of Jacob Vershon, deceased hus- 
band of Mrs. Mary A. \'ershon, was born 
in Canada, from whence he came to the 
United States, locating at first in Water- 
bury. Washington county, Vermont, from 
whence he later removed to Providence, 
Providence county, Rhode Island, where 
he died January 20, 1917, at the advanced 
age of ninety-two years. He took an 
active part in the various communities in 
which he resided, giving his time and 
attention to the profession of journalist, 
in which he was highly successful, having 
been able to lay aside sufficient funds to 
provide for his needs during his declining 
years. He married Rose Tatro, a native 
of Canada, and they were the parents of 
four children to grow up, namely : Mary, 
Jacob, David and Seymour. 

Jacob Vershon, eldest son of Joseph 
and Rose (Tatro) Vershon, was born in 
St. Cesaire, Province of Quebec. Canada, 
1857. He was reared and educated in his 
native land, and during his active career 
was a mechanic and a mill man. After 
coming to Holyoke, he followed the busi- 
ness of a barber, and during his last years 
he was in Providence, Rhode Island, and 
he died there in 1902. He was faithful in 
the performance of his duties, conscien- 
tious and painstaking, and gained the 
good will and confidence of all with whom 
he associated. He married, in 1878, Mary 
A. (Henault) Welch, born in Beauhar- 
nois, in the vicinity of Montreal, Province 



of Quebec, Canada, daughter of Edward 
and Angelina (Deignault) Henault, 
granddaughter of Henry B. Henault, and 
widow of James E. Welch, to whom she 
was married in 1871, and by whom she 
had one son, Edward Welch. He is a 
printer in Springfield, Massachusetts. By 
her second marriage she had children, 
namely : Angelina, died in infancy ; Rhea, 
died aged six years ; Eva. died in infancy ; 
Henry, at home with his mother, was an 
engineer for ten years on the Boston & 
Albany Railroad, now in the automobile 
business, married Florida Emond, of 
Montreal. The Henault family trace 
their descent to a lord in Canada, who 
was the father of Henry B. Henault, 
aforementioned. The city of Berthier, 
Canada, is built on what was formerly the 
estate of Henry B. Henault, who was the 
father of nine children : George, Albert, 
Edward, Victor, ]^Iary, Elmira, Louise, 
Martha and Antoinette. Edward Hen- 
ault, the third son of Henry B. Henault, 
w^as born in Canada, removed from there 
to St. Johnsbury, Vermont, in 1864, and 
five years later took up his residence in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts. He was a book- 
keeper, well educated, and a great musi- 
cian. He died in 1875. 

Mrs. Vershon is a strong advocate for 
the French people in this country, doing 
all in her power to advance their inter- 
ests. She has taken an active part for 
many years in the fraternal order, Com- 
panion of the Foresters, has filled the 
various chairs in the order, serving as 
supreme recording secretary, supreme 
chairlady, etc., and has been delegate to 
their various conventions for more than 
tw^enty years, traveling in this capacity to 
various parts of the country. She has 
instituted lodges and acted as official in- 
terpreter of the work of the order. She 
is the owner of a valuable estate fronting 
for some six hundred feet on Main street, 



124 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Holyoke, with the Connecticut river run- 
ning the entire length on the rear part of 
the property. She is a woman of broad, 
humanitarian spirit, of wide general cul- 
ture, and is interested in all that pertains 
to the uplifting of the human race, espe- 
cially the people of her own nationality, 
the advancement of the moral, the intel- 
lectual and the good, and all that brings 
comfort and true happiness. 



DILLON, William Joseph, 

Business Man, Public OfficiaL 

The firm of Dillon Brothers, funeral 
directors of Holyoke, Massachusetts, of 
which William J. and James H. Dillon are 
the efficient heads, was founded on the 
business established by their father, John 
Dillon, and their uncle, Thomas Dillon. 
John, Thomas and Michael Dillon, all 
born in Ireland, were the sons of Thomas 
Dillon, a school teacher in Ireland, and 
his wife, Ellen (Carroll) Dillon. She was 
a most capable, energetic woman, and 
ambitious that her sons should have better 
opportunities than their section of Ireland 
afforded. She finally left her husband and 
two younger sons in Ireland and came to 
the United States with her eldest son, 
Thomas. She selected a location in Chic- 
opee, Massachusetts, and later was joined 
by her husband and the two sons, John 
and Michael. This sketch deals with the 
fortunes of John Dillon, the second son 
of the family. 

John Dillon was born in Balleydufif, 
Ireland, in June, 1842, and died in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, December 25, 1903. 
He came to the United States with his 
father in 1856, a lad of fourteen years. 
He was well educated for a boy of his 
years, his scholarly father having given 
him the benefit of his own teaching. He 
learned the trade of wheelwright in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, with E. D. Shelley, 
continuing at his trade until 1870. He 



then formed a partnership with his 
brother, Thomas Dillon, and as T. & J. 
Dillon they started an undertaker's estab- 
lishment in Holyoke, in the J. Doody 
block. They prospered and continued to- 
gether until Thomas Dillon sold his share 
in 1889, John Dillon then conducting the 
business alone until his decease in 1903. 
His undertaking rooms were in the Dillon 
Block erected by Dillon Brothers, which 
is one of the largest in the city. It was 
begun in 1875, completed in 1885, and 
occupies half a square, formerly the site 
of the old City Reservoir. John Dillon 
was an able business man, a skilled 
cabinet maker, and thoroughly under- 
stood the business he followed. He 
served as alderman, was very, popular and 
was one of the substantial men of his 
adopted city. He married Alary Sullivan, 
born in 1846, died in 1887, ^ daughter of 
Patrick Sullivan, of Irish birth. They 
were the parents of a large family: i. 
Elizabeth, married Richard A. Cronin, 
postmaster of Chicopee, Massachusetts. 2. 
Mary, died in infancy. 3. Thomas J., 
deceased ; was common councilman, alder- 
man, representative and State Senator, 
and held the office of tax collector at 
death ; for several years he was a member 
of the firm of Dillon Brothers. 4. John J. 
5. William Joseph, of further mention. 6. 
Helen, married B. J. Grady. 7. Hannah. 
8. Mary. 9. Catherine. 10. Michael. 11. 
James H., a partner in Dillon Brothers; 
member of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks; Division i, Ancient Order 
of Hibernians ; Uncas Tribe, Improved 
Order of Red Men ; Knights of Columbus, 
and Holyoke Club ; married Anna C. 
Byrnes. 12. George, died in January, 
1916. 13. Jeremiah. 14. Grace. 

William Joseph Dillon, son of John 
and Mary (Sullivan) Dillon, was born in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, July 24, 1872, 
and has always resided in his native city. 
He finished the full course allotted to 



125 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



students of St. Jerome Parochial School, 
and after graduation spent a year at 
Childs Business College. After complet- 
ing his studies he became associated with 
his father, who taught him his business, 
but later he learned the bricklayer's trade 
with Lynch Brothers, working at that 
trade until the year 1900. He then re- 
turned to his father and continued his 
efficient assistant until John Dillon's 
death in 1903. After the founder had for- 
ever departed, his sons, Thomas J., W il- 
liam J. and James H., formed the firm of 
Dillon Brothers and continued the busi- 
ness. In a few years the political and 
public responsibilities that were bestowed 
so liberally upon Thomas J. Dillon caused 
him to withdraw from the firm, William 
J. and James H. Dillon continuing the 
business as at present, their undertaking 
establishment being operated upon the 
most modern methods for the care and 
burial of the dead. In 1917 they pur- 
chased ground and built a new building 
at No. 124 Chestnut street, where they 
have very fine funeral parlors. William 
J. Dillon is an ex-councilman of Holyoke ; 
ex-overseer of the poor, a position he held 
for eleven years; is a member of the 
Bricklayers' Union; Knights of Colum- 
bus ; Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks; Ancient Order of Hibernians and 
the Loyal Order of Moose. 

He married, in October, 1901, Elizabeth 
Donahue, of Holyoke, Massachusetts, a 
daughter of Jeremiah and Mary (Leary) 
Donahue. Mr. and Mrs. Dillon are the 
parents of seven children, all born in Hol- 
yoke : May, in January. 1903 ; John, May, 
1904; Catherine, died in infancy; Eliza- 
beth, born in 1908; William, July, 1909; 
Catherine, in 191 1 ; Eleanor, in 1914. 



STREET, John, 

Representative Citizen. 

The old Street homestead in Holyoke, 
now the home of John Street, was also 



his birthplace. To the then new house on 
the old homestead farm his father, Philo 
Williams Street, brought his bride, Lu- 
cina P. Dickinson; the first fire ever 
lighted in the big sitting room fireplace 
being on the night of the wedding, Febru- 
ary 17, 1 83 1. Fifty years later a fire burn- 
ing in the same fireplace threw out the 
warmth and good cheer to one hundred 
and fifty relatives and friends gathered to 
celebrate the golden wedding anniversary 
of Philo W. and Lucina P. (Dickinson) 
Street. There Philo W. Street and his 
wife lived for more than half a century, 
there their children were born, the death 
of the father in 1883 being the first break 
in the family circle. 

On the paternal side John Street, of 
Holyoke, traces his ancestry to the Rev. 
Nicholas Street, the early teacher and 
preacher of Taunton, Massachusetts, and 
colleague of Rev. John Davenport, of New 
Haven, Connecticut. The Streets were of 
ancient English lineage, the name Le 
Strete being found as early as 1300. The 
family bore arms and were of importance, 
this branch springing from Richard 
Street, of Somersetshire, whose will was 
probated September 30, 1592; his son, 
Nicholas Street, whose will was proved 
May 3, 1610; his son, Nicholas (2) Street, 
a gentleman of Bridgewater, Somerset- 
shire, whose will was proved February 
13, 1617. This Nicholas (2) Street mar- 
ried, January 16, 1602, Susanna Gilbert. 
They were the parents of the Rev. Nich- 
olas Street, the American ancestor. 

(I) Rev. Nicholas Street, born in 
Bridgewater, Somersetshire, England, 
there baptized January, 1603, died in New 
Haven, Connecticut. April 22, 1674. His 
mother died one month after the birth of 
her son, and at the age of thirteen years 
he lost his father. Matriculation papers 
of Oxford University show that "Nicholas 
Street of Somerset entered college No- 
vember 2, 1621, at the age of eighteen." 

26 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He received the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts at Oxford, February 21, 1624. He 
was installed as reader over the Taunton 
church, an office he held jointly with Mr. 
Hooke for seven years. When Mr. Hooke 
was called to New Haven, Connecticut, as 
colleague with the Rev. John Davenport, 
Mr. Street continued pastor of the Taun- 
ton church for fifteen years alone, then on 
September 26, 1659, followed Mr. Hooke 
to New Haven, and took the latter's place 
as assistant to the Rev. John Davenport. 
On September 27, 1667, Mr. Davenport 
was called to Boston, Mr. Street succeed- 
ing him as pastor of the First Church at 
New Haven and serving until his death, 
April 22, 1674. He was a wise and 
earnest man, grave and dignified in ap- 
pearance, and holy in life, who kept the 
mark of his gentle birth in all the pioneer 
life in the wilderness. He shrank from no 
responsibility, rose to every occasion and 
left a precious memory. His second wife 
was Mrs. Mary Newman, widow of Gov- 
ernor Francis Newman, of New Haven. 
She survived Mr. Street and married 
(third) Governor Leete, whom she also 
outlived; she died December 13, 1683. 
Rev. Nicholas Street had children : Rev. 
Samuel, of further mention ; Susanna ; 
Sarah, married James Heaton ; Abiah, 
married Daniel Sherman. 

(H) Rev. Samuel Street, only son of 
Rev. Nicholas Street, was born in 1635, 
and died at Wallingford, Connecticut, 
January 16, 1717. He was a graduate of 
Harvard College, 1664, one of a class of 
seven, all of whom he outlived. A 
monitor's bill, recently discovered, two 
hundred years old, gives all the names of 
Harvard's twenty-three students of that 
year. For ten years he taught in Hop- 
kins Grammar School, New Haven, those 
being years of association with his hon- 
ored father and in preparation for the 
ministry. He was installed April 22, 



1674, the first settled pastor at Walling- 
ford, and for forty-five years he was the 
spiritual head of that church. In 1710 he 
was one of the original signers of the 
Plantation Covenant of Wallingford, and 
exerted a great influence in all the affairs 
of the town. He was esteemed a 
"heavenly man" and was highly respected 
by the inhabitants of Wallingford. 

Soon after graduation from Harvard, 
Mr. Street married, November 3, 1664, 
Anna Miles, daughter of Richard and 
Katherine (Constable) Miles, the latter 
dying in Wallingford, April 11, 1687, aged 
ninety-five years. On his tombstone, now 
replaced, was this inscription : "The Rev- 
erend Mr. Street departed this life Janu- 
ary 16, 1817, aged eighty-two." Mrs. 
Street died August 10, 1730. She had 
been married sixty-six years. Children : 
Anna, born in New Haven, August 17, 
1665, died before her father; Samuel, of 
further mention ; Mary, born in New 
Haven, September 6. 1670; Susanna, born 
in Wallingford, June 15, 1675, married 
Deacon John Peck; Nicholas, born in 
Wallingford, July 14, 1677. married Je- 
rusha Morgan ; Katherine, born in Wall- 
ingford, November 19, 1679, married 
(first) Joshua Munson, (second) Sergeant 
Joshua Culver (2) ; Sarah, born in Wal- 
lingford, January 15, 1681, married The- 
ophilus Yale. 

(Ill) Lieutenant Samuel (2) Street, 
son of the Rev. Samuel (i) Street, was 
born July 2^, 1667. at New Haven, Con- 
necticut, and his estate was administered, 
February 18, 1719. At a general assembly 
held at Hartford, May 10, 1716: "This 
assembly do establish and confirm Mr. 
Samuel Street of Wallingford to be lieu- 
tenant of the train band on the west side 
in the town of Wallingford." He mar- 
ried (first) July 14, 1690, Hannah Glover, 
born October 10, 1672, died July 8, 1715, 
daughter of John Glover, of New Haven. 



12: 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He married (second) December 20, 1716, 
Mrs. Elizabeth (Brown) Todd, daughter 
of Eleazer and Sarah (Bulkley) Brown. 
Children by first marriage : Eleanor, born 
December 3, 1691 ; Nathaniel, born Janu- 
ary 19, 1693, married Mary Raymond; 
Elnathan. born September 2, 1695, mar- 
ried Damaris Hull; Mary, born April 16, 
1698, married John Hall ; Mehitable, born 
February 15, 1699, married Abraham 
Bassett ; John, born October 23, 1703, 
married Hannah Hall; Samuel, of further 
mention. 

(IV) Samuel (3) Street, son of Lieu- 
tenant Samuel (2) Street, was born May 
10, 1707, and died in Wallingford, Con- 
necticut, October 15, 1792. He married 
(first) November 12, 1734, Keziah Mun- 
son, daughter of Caleb and Elizabeth 
(Hermon) Munson. He married (second) 
in 1745, Sarah Atwater, born November 
28, 1727, died October i, 1795, daughter 
of Caleb and Mehitable (Mix) Atwater. 
Child of first wife : Glover, of further 
mention. Children of second wife : Titus, 
born June 4, 1748; Caleb, born October 
26, 1753. 

(V) Glover Street, son of Samuel (3) 
Street, was born May 28, 1735, and died 
November 28, 1826, aged ninety-one years. 
He was taken prisoner by the French 
during the French War on a merchant's 
ship from New Haven to the West Indies 
and carried prisoner to Guadaloupe, there 
confined som,e months. He married, in 
1755, Lydia Allen, of North Haven, Con- 
necticut. She died February 13, 1817, 
aged eighty. Children : Esther, born 
February 24, 1757, married twice; Han- 
nah, born October 18, 1758, married Jehiel 
Todd; Keziah, born March 7, 1761, died 
in infancy; Samuel, born October 2, 1762, 
married Ann Munson; Glover (2), born 
May 7, 1764, married Deborah Bradley; 
Caleb Munson, born July 13, 1766, mar- 
ried Bathsheba Chapin ; Keziah, born 
July 23, 1768, married Zenas Hastings; 



George, born January 2, 1771, died Sep- 
tember 23, 1836, married, October 17, 
1808, Miriam Munson, born October 22, 
1763, died March 14, 1843; Joshua, born 
November 28, 1772, married twice; Eliza- 
beth, born July 30, 1775, married Elijah 
Morgan; John, of further mention. 

(VI) John Street, son of Glover Street, 
was born in Wallingford, Connecticut, 
May 29, 1778, and died January 17, 1846. 
He was a representative from West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, in the General 
Court at Boston in 1827-28, probably com- 
ing to West Springfield with others of the 
family in the year 1800. He was a car- 
penter by trade and a farmer, owning 
lands at Holyoke upon which many fine 
residences now stand. He w-as connected 
with the building of the First Congrega- 
tional Church in Holyoke, and only re- 
ceived for this work one dollar a day, and 
was a man of importance in his com- 
munity. He married, in 1801, Sally Wil- 
liams, born in Wallingford, Connecticut, 
December 15, 1783, died September, 1848, 
daughter of Willoughby Williams. Chil- 
dren : Harriet, born May 30, 1802, at 
Wallingford. married Abner Miller; 
Abigail Charlotte, born December 24, 
1804, at Holyoke, married Titus Ingra- 
ham ; Philo Williams, of further mention ; 
Sally Jerusha, born August 9, 1809, at 
Holyoke, married Milo Judd Smith, of 
Northampton ; George Willoughby, born 
September 9, 1814, at Holyoke, married 
Sarah K. Button ; John Herman, born 
November 14, 1820, died March, 1876, 
married, December, 1846, Mary Loderna 
Munson. 

(VII) Philo Williams Street, son of 
John Street, was born in Holyoke. Massa- 
chusetts, March 29, 1807, and died De- 
cember 9. 1883. He learned the carpen- 
ter's trade with his father, and grew to 
manhood at the old homestead which he 
helped to clear. He built the new house 
on the home farm to which he brought 



128 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his bride, and there he spent his more 
than half a century of married life. He 
combined undertaking with his carpenter- 
ing and conducted many funerals. He 
also conducted farming operations, and 
was one of the substantial men of his day. 
He married, February 17, 1831, Lucina P. 
Dickinson, who died October 18, 1894, 
aged eighty-two. After the celebration of 
their golden wedding day, February 17, 
1881, the devoted couple passed two more 
anniversaries in their Holyoke home, but 
before the third had rolled around the 
loving husband and father had passed 
away, his wife surviving him eleven years. 
They were the parents of two sons : Philo 
Hobart, born October 20, 1838, married 
Caroline V. Ball, deceased ; John, of fur- 
ther mention. 

(VIII) John Street, of the eighth 
American generation of the family 
founded by Rev. Nicholas Street, and 
youngest son of Philo Williams and Lu- 
cina P. (Dickinson) Street, was born at 
the homestead in Holyoke, Masachusetts, 
June 19, 1851, and there yet resides. He 
was educated in the graded and high 
schools of Holyoke, and in his earlier 
years devoted himself to farming and 
market gardening. For a long term of 
years he conducted a prosperous business 
along those lines, in addition to farming 
on his farm of thirty-two acres, but is now 
also engaged in the wholesale ice busi- 
ness, a line of activity he entered in 1906. 
He owns the old homestead and there re- 
sides, the third of his line to occupy it. 
Mr. Street was made a Mason in Mt. Tom 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, Feb- 
ruary 2:1, 1878, and is now in the fortieth 
year of membership. He is an Independ- 
ent in politics, and served as common 
councilman for two years. 

He married, in November, 1877, Mary 
Strong, daughter of Chester and Sarah 
(Cooley) Strong. 

Mass— 6— 9 1 29 



O'CONNOR, John James, 

Superintendent of City Farm. 

For eleven years John James O'Con- 
nor has filled his present responsible 
position, and under his charge many imr 
provements have been made in the city 
property, and its occupants have been 
made happy and comfortable. Mr. O'Con- 
nor is a native of Ireland, where his 
grandparents, Patrick and Mary (Slat- 
tery) O'Connor, lived and died. They 
were the parents of Thomas O'Connor, 
born in County Kerry in 1832, and died 
there in 1882. He was an industrious and 
thrifty farmer, and reared a large family 
of children. He married Ellen O'Connor, 
who was born in 1837, daughter of John 
and Mary (Flaherty) O'Connor, and she 
is still living in her native place, at the 
age of eighty years. Several of their chil- 
dren came to this country. The eldest, 
Patrick, is employed by the Park Depart- 
ment of Holyoke, Massachusetts; the 
second, Michael, resides in his native 
place ; two daughters, Mary and Cather- 
ine, are deceased ; Thomas F., resides in 
San Francisco ; John J., the subject of the 
succeeding biography ; Hugh, died in 
childhood ; Daniel, a resident of Water- 
bury, Connecticut ; several died in infancy. 
John James O'Connor was born De- 
cember 22, 1872, at Castle Gregory, 
County Kerry, Ireland, and attended the 
national schools there, receiving excel- 
lent instruction. In his twentieth year he 
came to the United States, arriving May 
14, 1892, and very shortly afterward lo- 
cated in Holyoke, Massachusetts, where 
his home has continued to the present 
time. For some years he engaged in the 
insurance business, and was later an 
undertaker. In 1906 he was made super- 
intendent of the Holyoke City Farm, and 
has ably filled that position to the present 
time. Under his administration new 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



buildings have been erected, old equip- 
ment has been renewed, and a much larger 
acreage of land has been tilled and more 
and better live stock maintained on the 
farm, so that the comfort of the inmates 
has been secured and the interests of the 
city conserved. On April 17, 1917, the in- 
stitution of which Mr. O'Connor is super- 
intendent, was visited by the members of 
a joint committee of public institutions, 
and also the members of the Legislature 
of this section spending the day in inspect- 
ing the buildings and grounds. Shortly 
after their departure, Mr. O'Connor re- 
ceived a very beautiful testimonial com- 
pliraenting him upon the skillful manner 
in which he had conducted the large farm 
of over one hundred acres, and for the 
neat and tidy appearance of the buildings, 
also for the efforts put forth by both Mr. 
O'Connor and his wife, who acts in the 
capacity of matron, for their care and 
consideration of the welfare and comfort 
of the inmates of the institution under 
their supervision, and for their courtesy 
in the entertainment of these officials, 
fourteen in number, all of whom signed 
this testimonial which is very highly 
treasured by Mr. and Mrs. O'Connor. Mr. 
O'Connor has been especially active in 
the Ancient Order of Hibernians, in 
w^hich he has held all the offices of the 
local body, and was president of the 
Hampden county branch for four years. 
For a period of two years he served as 
treasurer of the State organization, and 
has been a delegate to several of the na- 
tional conventions. He is also a member 
of the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, and of the Knights of Columbus. 
He married, November 27, 1902, Jo- 
sephine T. Kennedy, who was born in 
Dingle, County Kerry, Ireland, daughter 
of John and Catherine (Baker) Kennedy, 
who came to America in 1897. 



CHARLTON, Kenneth Rhoades, 

Automobile Dealer. 

Successful in a new industry, as a dealer 
in automobiles, Kenneth Rhoades Charl- 
ton, of Holyoke, has attained distinction 
as a merchant. He is well known and 
highly esteemed in business circles in that 
city and through Central ^Massachusetts. 
His paternal ancestry is Scotch and Eng- 
lish ; his maternal (Granger) is of old 
Colonial stock. The surname Charlton is 
English. 

(I) Henry Charlton, the first of the 
family in America, was doubtless of Eng- 
lish ancestry, more or less remote, but he 
was probably born in Scotland, whence 
he came about 1800 to Nova Scotia and 
made his home. 

(II) William Charlton, son of Henry 
Charlton, was born in 1801, and died in 
Nova Scotia in 1876. He w^as by trade a 
ship carpenter, but he also followed farm- 
ing. He was a perfect giant in stature 

and strength. He married . 

Children: Elizabeth, Jane, Charlotte, Am- 
brose, mentioned below ; Robert, William. 

(III) Ambrose Charlton, son of Wil- 
liam Charlton, was born in Williamstown, 
Nova Scotia, in 1823, and soon afterward 
came with his parents to live in Spring- 
field, Nova Scotia. He followed farming 
for an occupation, and continued to live 
in Springfield until he died, July 4, 1890. 
In his early days he was a river driver 
and lumberman. He married Abigail 
Rope, who was born at Springfield, ^March 
31, 1831, died February, 1914, a daughter 
of Elijah and Betsey (Fletcher) Rope. 
Their children, born at Springfield: Eli- 
jah, John, Emma, Israel Manning, men- 
tioned below; Margaret, William, Edith. 

CIV) Israel Manning Charlton, son of 
Ambrose Charlton, was born in Spring- 
field, Nova Scotia, June 20, i860. He at- 
tended the public schools of his native 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



town, but at the age of twelve years went 
to work as a driver of logs on the river 
and as lumberman. He continued in this 
arduous occupation until after he came of 
age. In 18S3, he sought his fortune in the 
States, and for three years he followed 
farming in West Acton, Massachusetts. 
In 1886 he made another change in voca- 
tion, acquiring a grist mill at West 
P)ridgewater. Massachusetts. Here he 
ground the grain for farmers and engaged 
in farming as well. For two years he con- 
ducted a general store in addition to his 
other business there. Finally he took up 
the trade of carpentering and he has fol- 
lowed it since 1888. Leaving West 
Bridgewater. he lived for a few years 
again at West Acton, but since 1909 he 
has made his home at Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. From January i, 1906, to 
March, 1908, he was employed in the me- 
chanical department of a construction 
company of the Panama Canal. This 
work was perhaps the most interesting 
and arduous of all. His duties took him 
to all parts of the work and he acquired 
invaluable experience in the course of his 
work in the "Big Ditch." While living on 
the Isthmus of Panama, he joined Isthmi- 
an Canal Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. In politics he is a Repub- 
lican. He attends the Congregational 
church. Mr. Charlton married, June 23, 
1886, Carrie Augusta Granger, who was 
born at Concord, New Hampshire, March 
12, 1861, daughter of Albert Sanford 
Granger (see Granger line). They have 
one son, Kenneth Rhoades, mentioned be- 
low. 

(V) Kenneth Rhoades Charlton, son of 
Israel Manning Charlton, was born in 
Ottawa. Canada, w^here his parents resided 
for a short time, June i, 1891. He at- 
tended the public schools of West Acton, 
Massachusetts, and for a year was a pupil 
in the school in the adjoining town of 



Boxborough. He was afterward a student 
in the West Springfield High School and 
in the Pratt Institute of Brooklyn, New 
"^'ork, from w^hich he was graduated in 
191 1 with the degree of Bachelor of Sci- 
ence. After graduation he went into the 
automobile business in Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, and in 1913 came to Holyoke. 
where he has had the exclusive agency 
for the Ford and Hudson automobiles in 
that city, and has built up a very exten- 
sive and profitable trade, finding a market 
for some three hundred machines yearly, 
exclusive of used cars. At the present 
time, in order to accommodate his busi- 
ness, he is erecting a new modern fire- 
proof garage at a cost of about $75,000. 
He is progressive in his methods, possess- 
ing the natural gift of salesmanship and 
is a master of all the details of his busi- 
ness. Mr. Charlton is a member of Mount 
Tom Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Holyoke ; of the Holyoke Club 
and the Canoe Club. He is a member of 
the Second Congregational Church of 
Holyoke. 

He married, June 30, 1913, Eloise Fay 
Shur, of El Paso, Illinois, a daughter of 
Columbus Porter and Constance Anna 
(Welch) Shur. 

(The Granger Line). 

The earliest mention of the surname 
Granger in England is found in the Roll 
of Battle Abbey in 1086. The word is of 
ancient French origin, adopted into Eng- 
lish, and applied to a farmhouse or home- 
stead and the bailiff who had charge of a 
farm was called Ate Grange and after- 
wards merely Granger. 

(I) Launcelot Granger, the immigrant 
ancestor, came from England and settled 
in Ipswich, Massachusetts, as early as 
1648. The following tradition concerning 
him appears in many branches of the fam- 
ily, giving it some measure of probability: 



131 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



"Launcelot Granger was born in the west 
of England and, when a lad of twelve or 
fourteen years of age, he was stolen from 
his mother (his father being dead) and 
brought to Plymouth in Massachusetts, 
where he was sold (apprenticed) to serve 
two years for his passage. He had served 
on ship as a cabin boy. He afterwards 
married a lady named Adams and settled 
east of Boston, where he lived until they 
had two children." Launcelot Granger 
removed from Ipswich to Xewbury at the 
time of his marriage in 1654, and leased 
the farm of Stephen Kent on Kent's 
Island. The site of his house there may 
still be recognized. The building was re- 
moved in 1884. About 1674 he removed 
to Suffield. Connecticut, and September 
14 of that year, received a grant of sixty 
acres besides forty for each of his two 
sons. But he did not remain long after 
King Philip's \\'ar. In 1678 his home was 
on High street. During King Philip's 
War he lived in the stockade at \\^estfield. 
He spent his last years in Suffield, and 
died there, September 3, 1689, and was 
buried in the old graveyard opposite the 
meeting house, High street. 

He married, January 4. 1653-54, Joanna 
Adams, daughter of Robert and Eleanor 
Adams. She was born in England in 
1634 and died after 1701 in Suffield. Rob- 
ert Adams was born in 1601 in Devon- 
shire, England, and died at Xewbury. Oc- 
tober 12, 1682. Children of Launcelot 
Granger: John, Thomas. George, Robert, 
Mary. Elizabeth, Dorothy. Rebecca. Sam- 
uel, Hannah, Abraham, mentioned below. 
(II) Abraham Granger, son of Launce- 
lot Granger, was born April 17, 1673. at 
Newbury, and died at Sufifield, Connecti- 
cut. He married (first) in 1706, Hannah 
Hanchett, daughter of Deacon John and 
Esther (Pritchett) Hanchett, of Suffield. 
She died January 18, 1707-08. He mar- 
ried (second) Hannah , who died 



June 7, 1726. He came to Suffield with 
the family when an infant and lived there 
the remainder of his days. He was a 
farmer in the northern part of the town 
on the present road to Westfield, then but 
a path, and as late as 1892 his homestead 
was owned by descendants. Child, born 
at Suffield. by first wife: Benjamin, men- 
tioned below. Children by second wife : 
Seth and Hannah. 

(HI) Benjamin Granger, son of Abra- 
ham Granger, was born in Suffield. Janu- 
ary 15, 1707-08. and died there, March 
30, 1796. He married (first) June 4. 1730, 
Obedience Smith, daughter of Thomas 
and Mary (Youngglove) Smith. She 
was born January 28, 1703-04. and died 
April II, 1731. He married (second) 
June II, 1733. Martha Granger, born 
January 6. 1707-08, daughter of Thomas 
and Elizabeth (Allen) Granger, of Suf- 
field. Benjamin Granger was a farmer 
in the northern part of Suffield on the 
road to Westfield, adjoining the farm of 
his father mentioned above. Child, born 
at Suffield, by first wife : Charles. Chil- 
dren by second wife : Ruth, Martha, 
Eldad. soldier in the Revolution ; Jona- 
than, mentioned below; Benjamin. 

(IV) Jonathan Granger, son of Benja- 
min Granger, was born at Suffield. Octo- 
ber 19, 1743. He married, September 12. 
1765. Abiah Halliday, born July 20. 1744, 
daughter of William and Anne (Moses) 
Halliday. They lived at Suffield and at 
Marlboro. Vermont. In the Revolution 
he was a teamster, and while engaged in 
hauling supplies for the army, in unyoking 
his oxen he struck his right hand upon the 
ox-bow so severely that the hand was 
permanently disabled and he was incapac- 
itated for further service. Children, born 
at Suffield: Eldad. mentioned below; 
Abiah, Lovica, Walter, killed in the War 
of 1812, unmarried; Jonathan, Mary. 

(V) Eldad Granger, son of Jonathan 



132 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Granger, was born at Suffield, ]\Iarch i6, 
1/66, and died March 2, 1866, at Alstead, 
New Hampshire. He married, in 1790, 
Sarah Holmes, daughter of Thomas and 
Hannah (Harris) Holmes, of Woodstock, 
Connecticut. She was born October 10, 
1771, at Woodstock, died October 25, 
1852, at Westmoreland, New Hampshire. 
She was distantly related to Dr. Oliver 
Wendell Holmes. Eldad Granger in early 
life went to Chesterfield, New Hampshire, 
where he followed his trade as wheel- 
wright. Later he removed to the adjacent 
town of Westmoreland, where he built a 
house and established a saw mill and grist 
mill. He operated these mills to the end 
of his life. In politics he was a Whig, in 
religion a Universalist. He died at the 
house of Mrs. Hodgkin, his daughter, in 
Alstead, lacking fourteen days of being 
a centenarian. Children, born at Chester- 
field : Lucinda, born July 10, 1788; 
Luther, October 11, 1791 ; Sabra, Febru- 
ary 18, 1793, died March 2, 1793; Sabra, 
February 17, 1794; Sanford, mentioned 
below; Mary, May 17, 1798; John, Febru- 
ary 18, 1800. Born at Westmoreland : 
Elihu. April 3, 1802; Maria, July 10, 1804; 
Miranda, May 10, 1806; Nancy, February 
20, 1808; John J., August 17, 1810; Sarah 
Susan, September 19, 1812; Lucy H., July 
13, 1814; Daniel H., July i, 1817. 

(VI) Sanford Granger, son of Eldad 
Granger, was born March 12, 1796, at 
Chesterfield, died May 17, 1882, at Bel- 
lows Falls, Vermont. He married, Feb- 
ruary 26, 1826, Abigail Stevens, born 
January 16, 1800, died November 18, 1877. 
She w'as a native of Chester, Vermont. 
They settled in Bellows Falls. He was a 
mechanic and millwright, and obtained 
considerable reputation as a bridge 
builder. When he was twenty-three 
years old he bought a mill site at Rock- 
ingham, Vermont, and erected a mill, 
which was carried away by a freshet. 



Some years later he built another mill on 
Saxtons River, near Bellows Falls, and 
he conducted it for a long time. He was 
one of the founders of the Methodist 
church at Bellows Falls. In 1855 he 
erected a three-story brick block in the 
village, the ground floor of which was 
used for a store. He was an ardent 
Abolitionist and cooperated with the 
Underground Railroad in aiding slaves on 
their way to Canada. He died of diph- 
theria at the age of eighty-seven years. 
His portrait is in the Granger Genealogy 
and also that of his father, Eldad Granger. 
Children, born at Bellows Falls : Albert 
Sanford, mentioned below ; Harriet Abi- 
gail, born May 14. 1837, died January 23, 
1880, married Joseph Miller ; Edwin, April 
21, 1843, died May 5, 1843; Edward Lor- 
ing, August 18, 1844, married Angelina 
^I. Roe; Mary Geyer, May 8, 1846, died 
August 31, 1846. 

(VII) Albert Sanford Granger, son of 
Sanford Granger, was born at Bellows 
Falls, November 10, 1834. He married 
(first) March 16, 1857, Loretta Elizabeth 
Carpenter, born October 9, 1835, died 
June 16, 1870, daughter of Seth and Re- 
becca (Thomas) Carpenter, of Surrey, 
New Hampshire. He married (second) 
October 19, 1876, Sarah Hodgkin, daugh- 
ter of Emory and Maria (Granger) Hodg- 
kin. He married (third) January 17, 
1889, Adelaide Cilley Hayes, born May 12, 
1837, daughter of David, Jr., and Mar>^ 
Ann (Waldron) Hayes. He was a me- 
chanical engineer. From 1857 to 1861 he 
resided at Concord, New Hampshire ; 
from 1861 to 1867 at Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts; from 1867 to 1876 at Bellows 
Falls ; from 1876 to 1879 at South Fram- 
ingham, Massachusetts, and after 1879 in 
New York City, his home for many years 
being at No. 147 East Thirty-ninth street. 
Children by first wife : Clement Alfred, 
born December 15, 1857, died January 8, 



133 



EXXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1881 ; Carrie Augusta, born March 12, 
1861, married Israel M. Charlton (see 
Charlton) ; Rose B., born November i, 
1863, lives at Brooklyn, New York; Ruth 
Elizabeth, born November 15, 1865, lives 
in New York City, married Captain A. N. 
McGray, secretary of the Neptune Asso- 
ciation of Master Seamen of the port of 
New York, also a noted nautical writer 
and district superintendent of schools of 
New York City ; Sanford Thomas, born 
October 9. 1868. died April 21, 1870. 



O'NEILL, John Joseph, 

Contractor. Manufacturer. 

To her sturdy citizens of Irish birth 
and parentage the United States owes 
much of its progress and development. 
They are ever ready to engage in enter- 
prises that enlarge and develop cities, and 
Holyoke is fortunate in having many such 
within her borders. The name, O'Neill, 
signifying grandson of Xeill, is among the 
oldest and most dignified and respectable 
in Ireland. Among its descendants was 
John O'Neill, a noted contractor on the 
Pacific Coast of the United States, who 
was connected with the construction of 
the Northern Pacific railroad. Michael 
O'Neill, a brother of John O'Neill, was 
born in 1847, i" County Kerry, Ireland, 
and died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 
1909. He attended school in his native 
district, and came to America at the age 
of eighteen years, in 1865, settling in Hol- 
yoke. He learned the trade of bricklayer, 
and was occupied in this capacity until his 
untimely death. This was caused by the 
falling of an embankment while at work 
on the construction of the Rock Cliff 
building in Holyoke. Mr. O'Neill was an 
intelligent and progressive citizen, greatly 
interested in politics, a good talker, and 
an active worker for the benefit of the 
Democratic party. He married Mary 



Lynch, like himself a native of County 
Kerry, Ireland, daughter of Timothy and 
Mary (Cain) Lynch, both of whom were 
educated people. Children of Michael and 
Mary O'Neill: Thomas, died young; 
John Joseph ; Mary, died in infancy ; Tim- 
othy ; Margaret ; Catherine, died young ; 
Helena ; Frank ; Eugene ; Catherine. 

John Joseph O'Neill, second son of 
Michael and Mary (Lynch) O'Neill, was 
born November i, 1874, in Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts. He has been actively identi- 
fied with the industries of his native city 
for many years. No fortuitous circum- 
stances placed him in the front of enter- 
prising and successful men, for his ad- 
vancement is but the natural consequence 
of industry and well-applied talents. In 
the town schools he made good progress 
and prepared himself for the active life 
which ensued on leaving his studies. At 
an early age he entered a paper mill, 
where he was employed three years, and 
he there entered upon an apprenticeship as 
bricklayer. After some years as journey- 
man, he engaged in business on his own 
account, as contractor, in which he has 
always been successful. With the excep- 
tion of six years, when he was employed 
as superintendent of construction in New 
York City and Washington, D. C, he has 
been continually in business in Holyoke. 
He was foreman in charge of work on the 
Holyoke postoffice building, and has con- 
structed many important buildings in and 
about that city, including the D. M. Rear- 
don residence in South Hadley, built at a 
cost of twelve thousand dollars ; the Jo- 
seph Metcalf School in Holyoke ; the 
Massachusetts State Hospital for Epilep- 
tics at Munson ; and the Hampden County 
Training School at Agawam. He has also 
erected many apartment houses and pri- 
vate residences. In 1910 he built for him- 
self an apartment house on Dwight street, 
which he has recently sold, and is now 



134 




^^^^y.O'jh^. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fitting up for a home the Mosher property 
on Bowers street, which he subsequently 
purchased. For some years, Mr. O'Neill 
has engaged in the manufacture of brick, 
in which he does an extensive business, 
and is sole owner of the Holyoke Brick 
Company, as well as of the John J. O'Neill 
Company, contractors and builders, and 
is a large employer of labor. Naturally, 
Mr. O'Neill is interested in social matters, 
is a mem,ber of the Knights of Columbus 
and the Ancient Order of Hibernians, and 
is always ready to foster any undertaking 
that promises benefit to his native city. 
He is genial and popular, and enjoys the 
esteem and respect of a host of his fellow 
citizens. 

He married, June 6, 1899, Rose M. 
Landers, a native of Canada, daughter of 
Michael and Ellen (Sears) Landers, with 
whom she came to the United States 
when two years old. They have children, 
born as follows : Timothy, September 4, 
1900; Mary Catherine, November 21, 
1901 ; John, September 22, 1903 ; Eleanor, 
October 6, 1905 ; William, November 14. 
1907 ; Margaret, December 22, 1909 ; 
Thomas, January 13, 1912, died March 
24, 1913 ; Rose, May 20, 1913 ; George, Au- 
gust 24, 1914; Charles, January 21, 1916. 



BENEDICT, Gorham, 

Hotel Manager. 

Gorham Benedict, the very capable and 
popular manager of the magnificent new 
hotel at Holyoke, the Nonotuck, is de- 
scended from, one of the finest old Colo- 
nial families of Connecticut. The sur- 
name Benedict has been in use in Eng- 
land since about the year 1200. As a per- 
sonal name it has been used from very 
remote antiquity. It comes originally 
from the Latin word meaning blessed. 
The order of Benedictines was founded by 
Saint Benedict in 520, and no less than 



fourteen Popes bore this name between 
574 and 1740. 

(I) Thomas Benedict, first of the fam- 
ily in this country, was born in Notting- 
hamshire, England. According to family 
tradition, apparently verified by records, 
he was the only representative of the fam- 
ily in England at the time he emigrated to 
America. His ancestors came to England 
from Holland, having fled first to Ger- 
many and thence to Holland on account 
of religious persecution in France, their 
original home. They lived in the silk dis- 
trict, and were of French and Latin stock. 
He married Mary Brigum (Brigham or 
Bridgham) who came to New England in 
1638 in the same vessel. A family history 
was written in 1755 by Deacon James 
Benedict, a descendant of Thomas Bene- 
dict, relating facts that he had orally from 
the immigrant's wife. He says: "Be it 
remembered that one William Benedict 
about the beginning of the fifteenth cen- 
tury (doubtless meaning about the year 
1500) who lived in Nottinghamshire, Eng- 
land, had a son born unto him whom he 
called William after his own name (an 
only son), and this William — the second 
of the name — had also an only son whom 
he called William ; and this third William 
had in the year 1617 an only child whom 
he called Thomas and this Thomas mar- 
ried the Widow Brigum. Now this Thom- 
as was put out an apprentice to a weaver 
who afterwards in his twenty-first year 
came over to New England. Afterwards 
said Thomas was joined in marriage with 
Mary Brigum. After they had lived some 
time in the Bay parts (Massachusetts) 
they removed to Southold. Long Island, 
where were born unto them five sons and 
four daughters, whose names were Thom- 
as. John, Samuel, James. Daniel. Bett, 
Mary, Sarah and Rebecca. From thence 
they removed to a farm belonging to the 
town called Hassamanac. where they 



13.- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lived some time. Then they removed to 
Jamaica on said island, where Thomas, 
their eldest son, took to wife Mary Mes- 
senger of that town. And last of all they 
removed to Xorwalk, Fairfield county, 
Connecticut, with all their family, where 
they all married." The generations are 
given down to the time of writing, March 
14, 1755. by James Benedict, of Ridgefield, 
Connecticut. 

Traces of Thomas Benedict are found 
in the records of Jamaica, December 12, 
1662, when he was appointed with others 
to lay out the south meadow and was 
voted a home lot. He served on other 
committees and held various offices. He 
was appointed magistrate, March 20, 1663, 
by Peter Stuyvesant, the Dutch Governor 
of New Amsterdam. In the same year he 
signed the petition for annexation to Con- 
necticut. He was lieutenant of the mili- 
tary company, December 3, 1663 ; was a 
grantee of Elizabethtown, New Jersey. 
After coming to Connecticut he was town 
clerk of Norwalk. 1664, 1674, 1677 and 
afterward ; seventeen years a selectman 
before 1689; was a freeman as early as 
1669 ; representative to the Connecticut 
General Assembly from 1670 to 1675. In 
1684 he was appointed by the General 
Court to plant a town, called Danbury. in 
1687. "His good sense and general in- 
telligence, some scientific knowledge and 
his skill as a penman made him their re- 
course when papers were to be drafted, 
lands to be surveyed and apportioned and 
disputes to be arbitrated. It is evident 
that very general respect for his judgment 
prevailed and that trust in his integrity 
was equally general and implicit." He 
was one of the founders of the church at 
Southold and also at Huntington, and of 
the First Presbyterian Church at Jamaica 
in 1662. He was deacon of the Norwalk 
church during his last years. His will 
v/as dated February 28, 1689-90. Of his 



household James Benedict wrote : "They 
walked in the midst of their house with a 
perfect heart. They were strict observers 
of the Lord's Day from even to even." 
Many of his descendants followed him in 
the ofifice of deacon of the church. ""The 
savor of his piety as well as his venerable 
name has been transmitted through a long 
line of deacons and other godly descend- 
ants to the seventh generation." Chil- 
dren : Thomas, died November 20, 1C88- 
89; John, Samuel. James, Daniel, men- 
tioned below ; Elizabeth, Mary, Sarah, 
Rebecca. 

(II) Lieutenent Daniel Benedict, son 
of Thomas Benedict, was born in South- 
old, Long Island, about 1650. He re- 
moved to Norwalk with the family ; 
served in the Swamp Fight in King 
Philip's War, December 19. 1675. and re- 
ceived a grant of twelve acres on account 
of this service. He sold his property at 
Norwalk, March 25. 1690, and removed to 
Danbury. He probably died soon after 
February 15, 1722-23. He married Mary 
Marvin, daughter of Mathew Marvin, of 
Norwalk. Children: Mary, Daniel, men- 
tioned below ; Mercy, Hannah. 

(III) Daniel (2) Benedict, son of Lieu- 
tenant Daniel (i) Benedict, was born in 
Norwalk, Connecticut. He married Re- 
becca Taylor, daughter of Thomas Tay- 
lor, one of the original settlers in Dan- 
bury. His will was dated March 26, 1762, 
proved August 5, 1776, soon after his 
death. Children, born in Danbury ; Mat- 
thew, mentioned below ; Theophilus, born 
J711 ; Rebecca; Mary, 1714; David; Na- 
than ; Deborah. 

(IV) Matthew Benedict, son of Daniel 
(2) Benedict, w^as born in Danbury, Con- 
necticut, in 1707. He married. May 21, 
1729, Mabel Noble at New Milford. She 
was of a prominent old family. Matthew 
Benedict sufifered heavily at the burning 
of Danburv bv General Trvon during the 



[36 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Revolution, April 27, 1777, and in 1792 
his heirs were allowed two hundred and 
five pounds, four shillings, eight pence in 
compensation. He died September 28, 
I78i,and his estate was distributed March 
27, 1782. The inventory shows that he left 
an estate valued at more than one thou- 
sand one hundred and sixty-four pounds 
(see Danbury probate records, IV, p. 235). 
Children, born at Danbury: Matthew, 
born 1733; Noble, January 25, 1735; Za- 
dock, mentioned below ; Thankful, mar- 
ried John Hopkins; Jonah, born 1741 ; 
Abijah. 

(V) Zadock Benedict, son of ^latthew 
Benedict, was born in Danbury, Connecti- 
cut, in 1737. He married (first) Jerusha 
Russell, of Branford, Connecticut, born 
1741, died September 3, 1791. He married 
(second) Betsey Frost, born 1766, died 
February 17, 1844. Zadock Benedict was 
a farmer, but about 1780 began to manu- 
facture hats and is given the honor of be- 
ing the pioneer in manufacturing what 
afterward became the principal industry 
of his native town (see "History of the 
Hatting Trade." Francis, Danbury. 1861). 
He was representative of the town in the 
General Assembly in 1790; was selectman 
in 1783, 1784 and 1786. He also lost heav- 
ily when General Tryon sacked the town 
in 1777, and was allowed compensation by 
the State in 1792 to the sum of one hun- 
dred and sixty-nine pounds, seventeen 
shillings. He died August 17, 1798, at 
Danbury, leaving an estate valued at three 
thousand six hundred and fifty pounds, 
wealthy for his day, prominent in town 
aflfairs, a very able and useful citizen. 
Children, born at Danbury : Jerusha, born 
1772, married Isaac Ives; Russell Harri- 
son, June I. 1774, died August i, 1775; 
Zadock Russell, mentioned below. 

(\T) Zadock Russell Benedict, son of 
Zadock Benedict, was born at Danbury, 
Connecticut, June 7, 1799. In early life 



he became a partner in a mercantile firm 
of New Orleans, in the Mexican and West 
Indies trade. He prospered in business 
there. Coming to New York City, he en- 
gaged in the wholesale crockery trade and 
built up a very large business. lie was 
president of the Rosendale Cement Com- 
pany, and a director of the Seventh Ward 
National Bank of New York. The author 
of the Benedict genealogy describes him 
as a "man of fortune and of elegant mien 
and manners." He married (first) August 
16, 1825, Mary Ann White, daughter of 
Russell White; (second) September i, 
1830. Maryette Tweedy, daughter of Sam- 
uel Tweedy, of Danbury. She died July 
6, 1838, at Danbury. Child by first wife: 
Russell White, born June 4, 1826, married, 
November 13, i860, Sarah Allen Ogden, 
daughter of David S. Ogden, and they had 
Edith, born September 17, 1861, and Ed- 
gar, August 2, 1865. Children by second 
wife : Robert Morris, mentioned below ; 
Elizabeth, May 14, 1834; Samuel Tweedy, 
September 8, 1837, married, June 29, 1865, 
Julia A. Jackson, daughter of Professor 
Isaac W. and Eliza (Pomeroy) Jackson, 
and had children: Mariette. born May 17, 
1866. and William Jackson, August 31, 
1869. 

(VII) Robert Morris Benedict, son of 
Zadock Russell Benedict, was born at 
Danbury, Connecticut, August 6, 1832, 
and died in New York State in 1896. 
When a young man he was associated 
with his father in the crockery trade in 
New York City, but on account of ill 
health he moved to Canandaigua, New 
"S'ork, where he lived on a stock farm. 
For nearly fifty years he enjoyed the life 
of a "gentleman farmer," as it was called 
a generation ago. He married, April 25, 
i860, Margaret Gorham, daughter of Wil- 
liam W. and Betsey (Parish) Gorham, of 
Canandaigua. Her mother was a daugh- 
ter of Jasper Parish, who was once cap- 



U7 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tured by the Indians, and later was ap- 
pointed agent of the Six Nations by Presi- 
aent Washington. Children of Robert M. 
and Margaret Benedict: i. Elizabeth, 
born April 26, 1861, died September 26, 
1862. 2. Robert Russell, born November 
2^, 1863, a lawyer in Philadelphia and 
manager of the American Surety Com- 
pany of New York. 3. Gorham, men- 
tioned below. 

(\'III| Gorham Benedict, son of Rob- 
ert Morris Benedict, was born in Canan- 
daigua. New York, November 26, 1867. 
He received his education in the public 
schools of his native town. He began his 
career in Canandaigua in the lumber busi- 
ness, and was afterward with Canandaigua 
vSteamboat Company. Eventually he en- 
gaged in the hotel business, and has since 
been associated with some of the finest 
hotel properties in the country, including 
the Arlington at Washington, D. C. ; the 
Ten Eyck of Albany, New York ; and at 
present is the manager of the Nonotuck 
in Holyoke, one of the finest hotels in 
Massachusetts. 

Perhaps no class of men have better 
opportunities to make friends among the 
leaders of the business world, captains of 
industry, merchants and statesmen than 
the proprietors of the great modern hotels, 
and Mr. Benedict, year by year, added to 
his extensive acquaintance of substantial 
men from all parts of the country. His 
reputation in the hotel business placed 
him among the foremost men in his line. 
and when the Nonotuck was completed, 
the owners chose Mr. Benedict as man- 
ager and exerted their friendship and in- 
fluence successfully in bringing him to ac- 
cept the opportunity. The Nonotuck is 
one of the largest and finest of the modern 
hotels of New England. The able man- 
agement of Mr. Benedict has given it a 
reputation throughout the country and at- 
tracted the custom of automobile tourists 



of all sections. He has made this hotel 
one of the leading institutions of the city, 
bringing thousands of visitors and much 
new business to the city. During his com- 
paratively brief residence in Holyoke, he 
has made a large number of friends and 
is widely known already in the commu- 
nity. He is a member of the Holyoke 
Club and of jNIount Tom Golf Club. 

Mr. Benedict married, November 6, 
1906, Mrs. Madeline Pollock, daughter of 
Dr. George H. Corbett, of Orilla, Canada. 



BOGART, Edward Elmer, 

Representative Citizen. 

Edward E. Bogart, secretary and gen- 
eral manager of the Chase & Cooledge 
Company of Holyoke. is a descendant of 
Myndert Van de Bogart, who with his 
brother Jacobus came from Amsterdam, 
Holland, in 1702, and settled on the site 
of the present city of Poughkeepsie, New 
York. They acquired a large tract of land 
and built one of the first eleven houses in 
that then village. They gave the land and 
contributed liberally to the ':upport of the 
first church in the village. Dutch Re- 
formed. In 1726 Myndert Van de Bogart 
was elected the first sherifif of Dutchess 
county. The land on w-hich the first court 
house was built was also donated by the 
Van de Bogart brothers, and Jacobus was 
a member of the building committee. 
Myndert Van de Bogart married, in 1724, 
Gretchen Kipp. and had a son, Myndert 
(2). who in 1765 married Hannah Vetie. 
Their son. Minard (Myndert anglicized) 
Bogart, died in Chatham, New^ York, a 
carpenter by trade. He married Cather- 
ine Curtis, born in Dutchess county. New 
York, died at the home of her daughter, 
Mrs. Sumner I. Smith, in Whately, Mas- 
sachusetts. They were the parents of: 
James, George, John, William Henry, of 
further mention ; Sarah, married Duane 



13? 



E.XCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Latham ; Lucretia, married Franklin Hol- 
dredge ; Mandeville ; Harriet, married 
Sumner Ives Smith, whom she survives. 
now (1917) residing in Whately, Massa- 
chusetts, aged ninety-three ; Elizabeth, 
married Charles Stewart. 

William Henry Bogart, son of Minard 
and Catherine Curtis Bogart (as the name 
had become anglicized), was born in 
Chatham, Columbia county. New York, 
in 1816. died at Cummington, Hampshire 
county, Massachusetts, in 1878. He early 
began work in the mills as a mule spinner, 
his pay seventy-five cents weekly, but 
later he learned the painter's trade and 
made that his life work. He was at one 
time the owner of a small farm at Wind- 
sor, Massachusetts, and was a fairly suc- 
cessful man, a Methodist in religious pref- 
erence. He married Caroline Holdredge. 
who died in 1886, daughter of Asher Hol- 
dredge, of Plainfield, Massachusetts. They 
were the parents of: Charles Wesley; 
Mary Louise, married Franklin B. Sher- 
man ; Caroline Aurelia, married George 
Smith ; Flenry Oscar, of further mention ; 
Harriet, married a Mr. Lawrence ; Al- 
mira, married a Mr. Whipple ; Alice 
Ophelia, married a Mr. IMallory. 

Henry Oscar Bogart, son of William 
Henry and Caroline (Holdredge) Bogart, 
was born in Conway, Massachusetts, 
March i, 1845. and there obtained a pub- 
lic school education. When war broke 
out between the states he tried to enlist 
and several times repeated the attempt, 
but his youth and other causes rejected 
him. Finally, in 1863, he succeeded in 
convincing the recruiting officers of his 
fitness. Mr. Bogart enlisted from Berk- 
shire, Massachusetts. July. 1863, to serve 
three years or during the war, and was 
mustered into the United States service 
at Boston. Massachusetts. December 20, 
1863, as a private of Captain Amos L. 
Hopkins' company. "K," First Regiment, 



Massachusetts Volunteer Cavalry, Colo- 
nel Samuel E. Chamberlain commanding. 
This regiment was organized at Camp 
Brigham, Readville, during the early 
riutumn of 1861 with the following field 
officers : Robert Williams, Colonel Hor- 
ace B. Sargent, Lieutenant-Colonel Wil- 
liam F. White and John S. Adson, major. 
The companies were mustered in on the 
various dates from the 12th, 18th and 
25th of September, the regiment leaving 
camp by battalions on the 25th, 27th and 
29th of October. The first battalion, 
under Major Curtis, moved to Annapolis, 
Alaryland, when it went into camp for 
about five weeks, the second and third 
battalions were halted at New York, and 
formed part of General T. W. Sherman's 
expeditionary corps, sailing from New 
York for Hilton Head, where the First 
Battalion joined it in February. The com- 
mand served at times in detachments ; it 
was for a long time the only cavalry force 
in the Department of the South, and 
either as a regiment or by detachments 
took part in the following engagements : 
Secessionville, James Island, demonstra- 
tions against Charleston, after which two 
companies being left at Hilton Head and 
two at Beaufort, the remaining eight com- 
panies accompanied an expedition to Ed- 
isto Island. Later the regiment was as- 
signed to the First Brigade, Gregg's di- 
vision. Cavalry Corps, Army of the Poto- 
mac, and participated in engagements at 
Cacopon Bridge or Pawpaw, South Moun- 
tain, Antietam, Maryland ; Rappahan- 
nock Station, Fredericksburg. Hartwood 
Church. Kelleys Ford, Rapidan. Bealton 
Station. Aldie, Copperville, White Sul- 
phur Springs. Brandy Station. Beverly 
Ford. Virginia ; Gettysburg, Pennsylva- 
nia ; Boonsboro. Jones' Cross Roads, 
Maryland ; Shepherdstown. Culpeper, 
Rappahannock, New Hope Church, Rob- 
ertson's Tavern, Mine Run. Todd's Tav- 



^39 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ern, Yellow Tavern. Po River, Beaver 
Dam Station, Ashland, Spottsylvania, 
Tatopotomy, Deep Bottom, Meadow 
Bridge, Cold Harbor, Hawes' Shop, Deep 
Bottom (second), Trevillian Station, St. 
Mary's Church, Jerusalem Road, Siege of 
Petersburg, Weldon Railroad, Malvern 
Hill, Hatcher's Run, Dinwiddie, and a 
number of minor engagements and skir- 
mishes ; also took part in the Grand Re- 
view at Washington. D. C, May 29, 1S65. 
Mr. Bogart was injured at Vaughan Road, 
which compelled his being placed in the 
hospital at City Point, where he remained 
for two months. He was at all other 
times with his command during his term 
of enlistment, and rendered faithful and 
meritorious service at all times. He re- 
ceived an honorable discharge at Boston, 
Massachusetts. July 26, 1865, by reason 
of the close of the war. 

In the fall of 1865, Mr. Bogart went 
W^est. remaining seven years, visiting all 
the states of the Middle and far West. 
going to the Pacific coast before returning 
to Massachusetts, and there settling in 
Whately in 1872. There for a year he 
operated a tobacco farm, then moved to 
Sunderland and farmed there until 1875, 
when he moved to Cummington, Massa- 
chusetts, there being employed as a 
painter until 1886. In that year he moved 
to Holyoke. Massachusetts, where he has 
since resided, following his trade of 
painter. He is a member of the Baptist 
church, and of Kilpatrick Post, No. 7, 
Grand Army of the Republic. 

Mr. Bogart married, April 9, 1871, Anna 
Pelton, of Kent county, Michigan, daugh- 
ter of Ephraim and Magdelene Pelton. 
She is deeply interested in and an honored 
member of the Women's Relief Corps, 
auxiliary to the Grand Army of the Re- 
public. Mr. and Mrs. Bogart are the par- 
ents of a son and two daughters : Edward 
Elmer, of further mention ; Nellie A. and 



Anna Lillian, the latter died in 1900, she 
married Robert B. Stedman, and left a 
daughter, Elsie Loraine. 

Edward Elmer Bogart, son of Henry 
Oscar Bogart, was born in Whately, Mas- 
sachusetts, August 26, 1872, but when 
young his parents moved to Cummington, 
where he attended public schools. In 
1886 he came to Holyoke, and was em- 
ployed in the Hadley Falls National Bank 
for three and a half years, leaving the 
bank to enter the employ of Chase & 
Cooledge, leather merchants, and has 
since been continuously with that com- 
pany, advancing to higher position with 
the years, and is now its secretary and 
general manager. He is a member of 
Mt. Tom Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Mt. Holyoke Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Springfield Commandery, 
Knights Templar; Melha Temple, Nobles 
of the Mystic Shrine ; the Knights of 
Pythias ; Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks; Sons of Veterans and Holyoke 
Canoe Club. 

Mr. Bogart married (first) July 5, 1899, 
Maude Mary Baldwin, who died in Octo- 
ber, 1902, leaving a daughter. Helen Bent- 
ley Bogart. He married (second) Febru- 
ary 19, 1910, Edith Erline Nash, daughter 
of Alfred S. and Dora Shannon Nash, of 
Chicopee. Massachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bogart are the parents of a daughter, 
Marion Louise. 



MORTON, Robert Kellogg, 

AVire Mannfactnrer. 

One of the youngest managers of the 
great industrial plants of Holyoke is Rob- 
ert Kellogg Morton, who began without 
unusual advantages at the bottom of the 
ladder and won his own way by dint of 
persistence, energy and ability to one of 
the coveted places in the manufacturing 
world. He is the general manager of the 



140 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



George W. Prentiss Wire Mill and presi- 
dent of the Holyoke Covered Wire Com- 
pany. He is a representative of the old 
English stock that founded the Common- 
wealth, and of the adventurous colonists 
who settled in perilous times in old Hat- 
field. Morton is a very ancient English 
family. As a surname it takes its origin 
from the name of a locality in which the 
family once lived. There are parishes and 
places in the counties of Oxford, Bucks, 
Chester, Dorset, Essex, Nottingham, 
Salop, Stafford, Gloucester, Daveon and 
Berks. A great baronial family, spelling 
the surname Mortain, afterward anglicized 
to Mourton or Morton, was founded in 
England by Robert, Earl of Mortain, 
brother of William the Conqueror. Many 
of the branches of the family in England 
possess coats-of-arms. In Scotland, the 
family was well established in Edinburgh- 
shire and Dumfriesshire before the year 
1300, while still earlier the surname was 
common in England, thus dating to the 
very beginning of family names, about 
the year 1200. A branch of the Scotch 
Morton family is found in Ireland, where 
the name is most numerous in Antrim, 
but is pretty well diffused throughout that 
country. 

George Morton, progenitor of most of 
the Colonial Morton families of Massa- 
chusetts, was born about 1585 in Auster- 
field, Yorkshire, England, and is believed 
to have been of a noble family. In his 
"Founders of New England" Hunter sug- 
gests that he belonged to the family of 
Anthony Morton, of Bawtry, but of 
George Morton's early life we know very 
little. His home was near Scrooby, 
whence came many of the Pilgrim 
Fathers, and he joined the Pilgrims in 
Leyden, and continued active in the move- 
ment until his death. When the "May- 
flower" sailed he remained behind, though 
we are told that he much desired to em- 



bark. He was a merchant, and is said to 
have been agent of the Puritans in Lon- 
don. To him is credited the authorship 
of "Mourt's Relation," which may be 
described as the first history of the 
colony. His name was often abbreviated 
to "Mourt" and was generally spelled 
"Mourton." This book is full of interest- 
ing and valuable matter about the colony. 
Shortly after it was published, George 
Morton prepared to emigrate, and he 
sailed on the ship "Ann," arriving in 
Plymouth in June, 1623, but did not long 
survive. He died in June, 1624. He mar- 
ried, July 2T^ or August 12, 1612, Juliana 
Carpenter, daughter of Alexander Car- 
penter. Children : Nathaniel, born in 
Leyden, 1613; Patience, at Leyden, 1615 ; 
John, at Leyden, 1616-17; Sarah, at Ley- 
den, 1617-18, and Ephraim, born on the 
ship during the voyage. Flis widow Juli- 
ana married (second) Manasseh Kemp- 
ton, and she died at Plymouth, February 
16, 1665, in her eighty-first year. 

(I) Richard Morton, son of George 
Morton, of Plymouth, was born in 1640, 
and came from England with relatives 
who settled in Hartford. He later came 
to Hatfield, Massachusetts, in 1670. He 
was a blacksmith by trade, and followed 
it in that town until his death, April 3, 
1710. His wife Ruth died December 31, 
1714. Children: Thomas; Richard, born 
about 1665; John, born January 31. 1670, 
died April 26, 1670; Joseph. April 1672; 
John, April, 1674; Abraham, mentioned 
below; Elizabeth, March 31, 1680; 
Ebenezer, August 10, 1682 ; Jonathan. No- 
vember 2, 1684, died April 23, 1767. 

(II) Abraham Morton, son of Richard 
Morton, was born at Hatfield, May 12, 
1676. and died there, February 28, 1765. 
He built the first house on the Morton 
homestead in Hatfield. He married. May 
8, 1 701. Sarah Kellogg, daughter of Sam- 
uel and Sarah (Root) Kellogg. His wife 

141 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



died in June, 1755, aged seventy-two 
years. Children, born at Hatfield : Abra- 
ham, born May 2, 1703; Richard, Octo- 
ber I, 1704; Sarah, April 3, 1707, married 
Samuel Smith; Samuel, September, 1709; 
Abigail. January 6, 171 1. died February i, 
1715 : Xoah ; Moses, mentioned l)elo\v ; 
Daniel, December 23. 1720; Abigail, Feb- 
ruary I, 1722, died December 24, 1726. 

(ni) Moses Morton, son of Abraham 
Morton, was born in Hatfield, in 171 7, 
and died there. January 30, 1798. He mar- 
ried Ruth Billings, who died March 2S. 
1802, aged eighty-six years, daughter of 
Richard Billings. Children, born at Hat- 
field: Judith, born August i, 1753. mar- 
ried Joseph Waite ; Abigail, November 
29, 1754; Josiah, mentioned below. 

(IV) Josiah Morton, son of Moses 
Morton, was born at Hatfield, February 
16, 1757, and died May 30. 1829. He was 
a soldier in the Revolutionary War, a 
private from Hatfield, in the company of 
Captain Seth Murray, regiment of Major 
Jonathan Clapp, serving from July 6 to 
August 12, 1777, one month and ten days, 
marching one hundred and twelve miles, 
in the expedition to Fort Edward and 
Mosses Creek. The payroll from which 
this record was taken was sworn to in 
Hampshire county (see ''Massachusetts 
Soldiers and Sailors of the Revolutionary 
War." Vol. XI, p. 1142). During the 
war he was a constable and often had to 
take Tories to the jail at Northampton. 
Josiah Morton married, February 10, 1789, 
Phebe Bliss, who died January 5, 1836. 
Children, born at Hatfield: Moses, born 
January 4, 1790; Abigail, December 13, 
1791, died August 15, 1874; Rodolphus, 
mentioned below; Sarah. March 20, 1796, 
died February 28, 1879; Leander. March 
16, 1803, died October 17, 1872. 

(V) Rodolphus Morton, son of Josiah 
Morton, was born at Hatfield, January' 21, 
1794. and died there. June 20, 1853. ^^ 



was a farmer in his native town, land 
surveyor and civil engineer ; a man of 
exemplary character and exceptional abil- 
ity. He married, in 1836, Elizabeth W. 
Dickinson, who was born May 5, 1S08, 
died April 24. 1862. daughter of Israel 
Dickinson. Children, born at Hatfield: 
George Louis, born January 8, 1837, died 
April 5, 1870; Mary Dickinson, January 
26, 1840, died December 19, 1894. mar- 
ried Hugh Mitchelson ; Charles Kellogg, 
mentioned below. 

(VI) Charles Kellogg Morton, son of 
Rodolphus Morton, was born at Hatfield, 
en the old Morton homestead. May 9. 
1842. He attended the public schools of 
his native town. He enlisted in Com- 
pany K, Fifty-second Regiment, Massa- 
chusetts \'olunteer Infantry, in the Civil 
\\'ar, and served eleven months, being 
mustered out August 14, 1863, with the 
rank of corporal. During the greater part 
of his service his regiment was located in 
Louisiana and he took part in the siege, 
assault and capture of Port Hudson. 
After he was discharged he returned to 
Hatfield and followed farming. He is the 
fifth generation of the family that has 
owned and lived upon the old Morton 
homestead. He has some fifty acres of 
land in the village of Hatfield and plants 
a large acreage of tobacco and onions. 
He is one of the best known and most 
successful farmers in this section. In 
politics he is a Republican. For many 
vears he was prominent in town aflFairs. 
and from 1880 to 1886 he was chairman of 
the board of selectmen of the town. He 
is a member of William L. Baker Post. 
No. 86, Grand Army of the Republic. 
Mr. Morton married, January 17. 1872. 
Mary W. Kellogg, who was born May 20, 
1846. daughter of John Kellogg. Chil- 
dren : Robert Kellogg, mentioned below ; 
Charles Dickinson, born May 11. 1882, 
now associated with M. S. Friede, Incor- 



142 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



porated, of New York City, buyer for the 
Russian government. 

(VII) Robert Kellogg Morton, son of 
Charles Kellogg Morton, was born at 
Hatfield, April i8, 1876. He received his 
early education in the public schools of 
his native town and at Smith Academy in 
Hatfield. He began his career in business 
as clerk of the Home National Bank, now 
the Hadley Falls Trust Company. After 
a year in the bank, he accepted a position 
in the office of George W. Prentiss Wire 
Mill. Step by step he was advanced on 
his merits. For a number of years he was 
a salesman, then he was made superin- 
tendent of the factory, and finally, on 
January i, 1916, was promoted to his 
present position as general manager of 
the company. 

Well fitted by virtue of natural gifts 
and through training in this business, he 
is recognized everywhere as an expert 
wire manufacturer, a manager of execu- 
tive ability. His knowledge of manufac- 
turing coupled with his skill as a sales- 
man have been exerted to good advantage 
in developing and enlarging the business 
of his company, which he has maintained 
in a prosperous and thrifty condition. In 
addition to his duties with this concern, 
he is president of the Holyoke Covered 
Wire Company, another large and grow- 
ing corporation. Mr. Morton is a member 
of Mount Tom Lodge, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, of Holyoke ; of Hol- 
yoke Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; of 
Holyoke Council, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters ; of Springfield Commandery, Knights 
Templar, of Springfield ; Melha Temple. 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Spring- 
field. He is a member of the United Com- 
mercial Travelers' Association ; of the 
Holyoke Club, the Mount Tom Golf Club 
and other social organizations. In politics 
he is a Republican. 

Mr. Morton married, August 15, 1916, 



Jane Grover, daughter of Joshua and 
Mary Eleanor (Shortz) Grover, of Wap- 
wallopen, Pennsylvania. 



RICHARDS, Arthur James, 

Mill Superintendent. 

From a very humble beginning, Mr. 
Richards has worked his own way up- 
ward to one of the most responsible posi- 
tions in the great textile industries of 
Massachusetts. His ancestors were iden- 
tified with this industry, and his father, 
Arthur Richards, was one of the most ex- 
pert carpet weavers in this country. He 
was born in Kilmarnock, near Glasgow, 
Scotland, about 1807, and died at Lawr- 
ence, Massachusetts, in 1867, as the result 
of injuries received in the fall of a large 
mill there. He received an excellent edu- 
cation, was a man of much natural ability, 
and became an expert in weaving fancy 
carpet. At an early age he came to Amer- 
ica with a party of weavers who, like him- 
self, were expert in their particular lines 
of work, and assisted in establishing the 
operation of the carpet mills at Thomp- 
sonville, Connecticut. Afterwards he went 
to the Pemberton Mills in Lawrence, Mas- 
sachusetts, and was working there when 
the mill fell, killing and wounding a large 
number of people. From the injuries re- 
ceived at this time, Mr. Richards died 
within a short time. He married, in this 
country, Mary Dean, of Lyme. Connec- 
ticut, daughter of Richard and Mary Ann 
Dean, and they were the parents of Mary, 
Annie, Elizabeth, Helen. Alma. Grace, 
and Arthur J. Richards. The last named 
is the only one now surviving. 

Arthur James Richards was born July 
7, 1858, in Danvers, Massachusetts, and 
was compelled by the early death of his 
father to begin very early, at nine years, in 
the labors necessary to the support of the 
family. Soon after his father's death they 



143 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



went to Olneyville, Providence, Rhode 
Island, and there he entered the mills 
of Delan, manufacturers of cotton goods. 
His education was largely supplied by 
night schools, and of these he was a steady 
and faithful attendant. He is also a reader 
and keen observer of events, and is reck- 
oned among the best informed citizens of 
Holyoke. For nine years he was em- 
ployed in mills at Providence, and in 1873 
he went to W'illimantic, Connecticut, 
where he entered the employ of the W'illi- 
mantic Linen Company, which later be- 
came a part of the American Thread Com- 
pany. Mr. Richards' long employment 
with this establishment is ample testi- 
mony to his capacity, faithfulness and in- 
dustry. Starting in with this concern as 
a mule spinner, he became in time assist- 
ant overseer, then overseer, and later 
assistant superintendent at Willimantic. 
In May, 1909, he removed to Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, as superintendent of the 
Merrick Thread Mills Xos. 2 and 3, which 
are now a part of the American Thread 
Company's plant. Under his efficient 
management the works are turning out 
high quality of goods, and are prosperous. 
Mr. Richards in 1912 brought out a patent 
for a tube roll for spinning machines, 
and in 1913, in connection with Peter J. 
Hinds (sketch under proper heading in 
this work) founded the Richards Hinds 
Company and began the manufacture of 
these rolls at Indian Orchard, Massachu- 
setts, where they still continue to do a 
prosperous business, this roll being used 
upon all spinning machines for all kinds 
of yarns, cottons, etc. Mr. Richards is a 
man of kindly nature, of keen business 
conception, and ready action, and is 
equally popular with employers and those 
who serve under his direction. He has 
always tried to do his duty as a citizen, 
and is identified with various organiza- 
tions and institutions calculated to de- 



velop and improve the best that is in 
man. He is a regular attendant of St. 
Paul's Episcopal Church of Holyoke, and 
is an active member of the Masonic fra- 
ternity, afifiliating with Eastern Star 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, Royal 
Arch Chapter, and St. John's Command- 
ery. Knights Templar, all of Willimantic. 
While retaining his membership in these 
bodies, he is a frequent and welcome 
visitor at the sessions of similar bodies in 
Holyoke. 

'Mr. Richards married (first) in June, 
1883, Delia Alice Senior, of Xewbury- 
port, ^lassachusetts, daughter of Charles 
and Helen (Speakman) Senior, both of 
whom came from England. She died 
in 1915, and Mr. Richards married (sec- 
ond) in August, 1916, Mabel Clark, of 
Willimantic, Connecticut, daughter of 
Ralph and Betsey (Chamberlain) Clark. 
His children, all born of the first mar- 
riage, at Willimantic, are as follows: i. 
Arthur Charles, now office manager of 
the Merrick Mills on Appleton street, 
Holyoke ; he married Grace Stevens, of 
Winsted. Connecticut. 2. Mary Ellen, 
wife of George Battersly, of Providence, 
Rhode Island, a draughtsman ; they have 
a son. Earl Arthur, assistant foreman of 
the carding department of the Merrick 
Thread Mills of Holyoke. 



WRIGHT, John Sidney, 

Health Officer. 

For many years IMr. Wright has been 
identified with the city government of 
Holyoke in various capacities, serving 
efificiently for nine years as chief of 
police, and has gained the confidence and 
esteem of the entire city electorate. He 
is descended from a very old American 
family, founded in this country by John 
Wright, who was born 1600-01. and died 
in Woburn. Massachusetts, June 21, 



144 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1688. He was first at Charlestown, Mas- 
sachusetts, and was one of the thirty-two 
who settled W'oburn, was a freeman in 
1643, and represented Woburn in the 
General Court in 1648. For many years 
he was selectman of the town, from 1645 
to 1647, 1649 to 1658, 1660 to 1664, 1670 
and 1680-81. His wife Priscilla died in 
Woburn, April 10, 1687. 

(II) Their only known son, John (2) 
Wright, born 1630-31, in England, died 
in Woburn, April 30, 1714, aged eighty- 
three years. He married, in 1661, Abigail 
Warren, of Woburn, born 1641-42, died 
April 6, 1726, aged eighty-four years. 
Their children were: John, Joseph and 
Ebenezer, all residing in Chelmsford, 
Massachusetts, in 1701 ; Josiah, men- 
tioned below; Ruth, Priscilla and De- 
borah. 

(III) Josiah Wright, son of John (2) 
and Abigail (Warren) Wright, was born 
in 1674-75, lived in Woburn, and there 
married, September 17, 1700, Ruth 
Carter, who was born October 18, 1681, 
in Woburn, daughter of John and Ruth 
(Burnham) Carter, and died there Janu- 
ary 31, 1774. Josiah Wright was a deacon 
of the Woburn Church from 1736 until 
his death, January 22, 1747, at the age of 
seventy-three years. 

(IV) Josiah (2) W^right, eldest son of 
Josiah (i) and Ruth (Carter) Wright, 
was born December 2, 1701, in Woburn, 
and lived in that part of the town which 
is now Wilmington, with his wife 
Abigail. He was a soldier of the Colo- 
nial wars, and died July 15, 1758, at Lake 
George, in his fifty-seventh year. His 
children are recorded in W^ilmington. 

(V) Josiah (3) Wright, eldest son of 
Josiah (2) and Abigail Wright, was born 
in Wilmington, Massachusetts, and lived 
for a time in the adjoining town of Bil- 
lerica, whence he removed, in 1792, to 
Grafton, Vermont. The journey was 

Mass— 6— 10 74 



made on a sled drawn by oxen, and six 
weeks were consumed in the trip. He 
cleared up land in Grafton, and became 
a prosperous farmer. He was a soldier 
of the Revolution, serving eight months, 
from May 7, 1775, under Captain Handell 
and Colonel Bridges. In March, 1777, he 
reenlisted for the term of the war, in 
Captain Josiah Fox's company, Colonel 
Henry Jackson's regiment, the Ninth 
Massachusetts. He lost one eye and part 
of one hand in the service, and received 
for some years a pension of forty-eight 
dollars a year, which was increased to 
ninety-six dollars. He married, in W^il- 
mington, February 10, 1785, Mary Ruey, 
of Salem. They had two sons, born in 
Wilmington: Josiah, April 30, 1785, and 
Daniel, mentioned below ; Lucina, born 
September 27, 1790, in Billerica ; Phebe 
and Freelove, in Grafton, Vermont. 

(VI) Daniel Wright, second son of 
Josiah (3) and Mary (Ruey) W^right, was 
born July 15, 1787, in Wilmington, Mas- 
sachusetts, and was a farmer and shoe- 
maker in Vermont, where he died in 
1857. He made shoes by hand for the 
community in which he lived, and was an 
active member of the Congregational 
church of Grafton. He married Lucy 
Parker, and they had children : Leverett 
D., Josiah, John Willard, mentioned be- 
low, George, Lucinda, and Samuel. The 
last named resides on the homestead in 
Grafton, cleared by his grandfather. 

(VII) John Willard W^right, son of 
Daniel and Lucy (Parker) Wright, was 
born August 14, 1825, in Grafton, Ver- 
mont, and is still living (1917) at the age 
of ninety-two years. He attended the 
public schools of his native town and the 
academy at Chester, Vermont. Through 
most of his active life he was a carpenter 
and l:)ridge builder, leaving the paternal 
farm at the age of twenty-one years, and 
living in Bellows Falls, Vermont, from 

5 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1874 to 1915. For many years he was 
engaged as a building contractor, and 
with his brother went to Vineland, New 
Jersey, where they built forty or fifty 
houses. Up to ten years ago he was 
very active, and painted and shingled his 
own house when eighty-six years old. 
In early life he was a Whig, and upon the 
organization of the Republican party be- 
came one of its most faithful adherents. 
During his residence in Grafton he served 
on the school committee. He is a faithful 
attendant of divine worship as conducted 
by the Congregational church. Mr. 
Wright married, in 1851, Lura Maria 
Rhodes, of Grafton, Vermont, born Sep- 
tember 14, 1826, died 1907, daughter of 
Daniel and Mary Rhodes. They were 
the parents of John Sidney, mentioned 
below ; Mary Ann, Eudora, M. Henry, 
Merriam, deceased, and Minnie Janet. 

(VIII) John Sidney Wright, eldest 
child of John Willard and Lura Maria 
(Rhodes) Wright, was born February 22, 
1853, in Grafton, Vermont, where his boy- 
hood years were spent, and where he re- 
ceived his primary education in the 
public schools. He was subsequently a 
student at Leland Seminary and Gray's 
Seminary, Townshend, Vermont, from 
which he was graduated in 1873. Two 
years later he settled in Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, where he has continued to re- 
side to the present time. His first em- 
ployment in Holyoke was with the Amer- 
ican Express Company, and subsequently 
for a period of six years, he was employed 
by the old Connecticut River Railroad 
Company. In 1880 he entered the service 
of the Whiting Paper Company of Hol- 
yoke, having charge of stock and supplies, 
and continued in that capacity eighteen 
years. Mayor Arthur B. Chapin ap- 
pointed him chief of police, January 2, 
1899, and this position he filled continu- 



ously until 1907. establishing a record in 
Holyoke by holding that office longer 
than any other individual. He resigned 
this position in 1907 to become health 
officer, and since that time has continu- 
ously held that position. Mr. W^right is 
active in the social life of the community, 
is a charter member of the Holyoke 
Lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks ; is a member of King Solomon's 
Temple Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Bellows Falls, V^ermont ; Royal 
Arch Chapter and Council, of Holyoke ; 
Springfield Commandery, Knights Temp- 
lar, and Alleppo Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of 
Boston. 

Mr. Wright married. March 12, 1879, 
Caroline Louisa Grout, of Newport, Ver- 
mont, daughter of Emerson and Mary 
(Hoyt) Grout. They were the parents 
of three children, of whom the only sur- 
vivor is ]\Iary Janet, the wife of Ernest 
T. Preston, of Holyoke; they have one 
son, Sidney Wright Preston, born April 
6, 1907. Two sons, Daniel Sidney and 
Arthur Emerson Wright, died in infancy. 



MORIARTY, Daniel Francis, 

Manufacturer, Mercliant. 

As president of the Holyoke Supply 
Company of Holyoke. Daniel Francis 
Moriarty ranks as both manufacturer and 
merchant ; his company handling the 
specialties of other houses as well as 
manufacturing important lines of their 
own. He has worked his way up from an 
apprentice at the steamfitter's trade to the 
head of a large concern, and as a business 
man displays the same ability he did in 
the mechanical department. 

He is a son of Maurice Moriarty, born 
in Dingle, County Derry, Ireland, about 
1830, died in South Hadley Falls, Massa- 



146 



/■'O: 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chusetts, April 14, 1914. Maurice ]\Io- 
riarty came to the United States with his 
mother in 1839, lived in New York City 
about three years, in Chicopee, Massa- 
chusetts, about eight years, going thence 
to South Hadley Falls, where he was en- 
gaged in brick making for many years, 
and advanced to foreman of the plant in 
which he was employed. He married 
Ann Breshnahan, born in Ireland, in 
1830, died in 1904. They were the par- 
ents of Margaret, deceased ; Mary ; Maur- 
ice J. ; Catherine, deceased ; Daniel Fran- 
cis, of further mention. 

Daniel Francis Moriarty was born at 
South Hadley Falls, Massachusetts, No- 
vember 20, 1870, and there was educated 
in the graded and high schools. After 
graduation from high school, he learned 
the steamfitter's trade with Keegan & 
Company, after which he spent eight 
years as foreman of the Holyoke Valve 
& Hydrant Company, his service with the 
latter terminating in 1907. In that year 
he organized the Holyoke Supply Com- 
pany, engineers and contractors, of which 
corporation Mr. Moriarty was elected 
president; F. A. Champlin, treasurer; J. 
A. Tucker, secretary. They are manu- 
facturers of the Flynn Combination 
Steam Engine Heater and are contractors 
for steamfitting and also handle all kinds 
of steam specialties, valves, radiators, 
boilers, and cut piping of all kinds. The 
company occupies a large, finely equipped 
plant, which it has recently built, and is 
well known all over New England. Mr. 
Moriarty is a member of the Holyoke 
and Pequot clubs and Mt. Tom Golf 
Club ; is an Independent in politics, and 
highly esteemed as a business man. 

He married, August 10, 1893, Rose 
Tucker, daughter of Patrick and Mary 
(McMannis) Tucker. Mr. and Mrs. Mo- 
riarty are the parents of Ruth Louise, 
Clement David, and Edward Moriarty. 



WALKER, Charles Edward, 

Merchant. 

When after a long term of clerical 
service in other cities, Mr. Walker re- 
turned to Holyoke. ]\Iassachusetts, and 
purchased the sporting goods business of 
M. D. Stebbins, he invested it with his 
own energetic personality and has at- 
tracted to the largest sporting goods 
store in the city a line of patronage which 
attests the appreciation of the public he 
wishes to serve. Mr. Walker is of Eng- 
lish parentage, but of American birth, 
his father, William Walker, coming to 
the United States in i860 and settling in 
Pittsfield, Massachusetts. 

William W^alker was born in Derby- 
shire, England, in 1834, and there learned 
the trade of wire weaver, using a hand 
loom. He remained in England until 
i860, then came to the United States, 
obtaining employment in the paper mills 
at Middlefield after a prior settlement 
at Pittsfield. Later he spent some time 
in the State of Connecticut, then returned 
to Middlefield, thence about 1891 locat- 
ing in Holyoke, where for a number of 
years he has lived retired from active life. 
He is a member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church, and a man of upright life, 
highly regarded. Mr. Walker married 
Ruth Scholls. born in Yorkshire, Eng- 
land, daughter of Isaac Scholls. They 
are the parents of six sons: Elijah, mar- 
ried, has a son Harold Walker, who is 
married and has a daughter. Alta Weaver ; 
William, married, and has children : 
Earl, Robert, Fred and Francis Weaver ; 
Frank ; George, married, and has chil- 
dren: Dorothy, Elizabeth, Mildred. Lucy 
and Ralph Weaver; Fred, married, and 
has children : Ruth, William, Agnes, 
Esther and Fred (2) Weaver ; Charles 
Edward, mentioned below. 

Charles Edward Weaver was born at 



147 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Middlefield, Massachusetts, August 22, 
1868. He was educated in the public 
schools of South Windsor, Connecticut; 
North Adams and Springheld, Massachu- 
setts. He began his wage earning career 
in a clerical position with a paper manu- 
facturing mill at Bridgeport, Connecticut, 
returning to Massachusetts after eighteen 
months, obtaining a position as clerk in a 
Huntington store. He spent three years 
in Huntington, then for a year and a half 
was a clerk in the H. W. Cooley grocery 
business in Holyoke. He was next em- 
ployed in a general store at Chester, Mas- 
sachusetts, for two years, then returned to 
Holyoke, filling for a time a clerical posi- 
tion in the J. B. Whitmore General Store. 
The next eight years were spent as clerk 
in the Springfield department store of 
Meekins, Packard & Wheat, which serv- 
ice terminated his clerical career. 

These years spent in difterent cities in 
varied mercantile lines had invested him 
with a thorough knowledge of modern 
merchandising, a clear idea of its pitfalls 
and with well digested plans for his own 
future. Believing himself to have arrived 
at the proper time of life to engage in 
business for himself and to have found 
the proper opening in Holyoke, he pur- 
chased the sporting goods business of M. 
D. Stebbins. His keen judgment guided 
him wisely in making this investment, 
and the years which have since intervened 
have brought him prosperity. The busi- 
ness is conducted under the firm name of 
C. E. Walker & Company ; all kinds of 
sporting goods of superior manufacture 
are handled, the store is headquarters for 
that line of goods in the city, in fact out- 
side of the largest cities no larger or better 
stocked store can be found. In 1904 ^Ir. 
Weaver bought the business block at No. 
396 High street, and occupies its floors as 
sales and display rooms. Above this 
store he uses the second floor, covering 



the space over the stores of Nos. 394, 396 
and 398, taking up the entire block on that 
floor, and carrying the largest stock of 
sporting goods in Western Massachu- 
setts. 

To his business enterprise, Mr. Weaver 
adds fraternal and social activities, and he 
is one of the popular men of his city. He 
is a member of Mount Tom Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Mt. Holyoke 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Holyoke 
Council, Royal and Select Masters ; 
Springfield Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar; Melha Temple, Nobles of the ^Mystic 
Shrine ; Bay State Club ; Holyoke Canoe 
Club and Second Baptist Church. In poli- 
tics he is a Republican. 

Mr. Walker married (first) May 24, 
1893, Emma Galbraith, born in South 
Roxton, Province of Quebec. Canada, 
daughter of Major Joseph and Isabelle 
(Howe) Galbraith. They were the par- 
ents of a son, Roy Galbraith, born in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, May 24, 1895, 
a graduate of Holyoke High School, now 
associated in business with his father, 
and a daughter, Leah Emma, born July 
23, 1897. Mrs. Emma (Galbraith) Walker 
died January 4. 1900. Mr. Walker mar- 
ried (second) Sarah Squires, of Platts- 
burg. New York. 



O'CONNELL, John, 

Retired Bnaineaa Man. 

Among the citizens of Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, fast approaching octogenarian 
honors is John O'Connell, whom the years 
have touched so lightly that almost every 
day he may be seen on the streets driving 
or walking. He has watched Holyoke's 
growth from stage coach days and from a 
mere village to a veritable hive of manu- 
facturing industry, and in the growth has 
borne a man's part as citizen, business 
man and official of the city government. 



148 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He is not a native son, l)ut was born on 
the Green Isle across the sea, the isle 
which has furnished the United States 
with so many men who either themselves 
or through their descendants now bear so 
important a part in governmental, profes- 
sional and business life in every American 
State. He was one of the early grocers of 
Holyoke. and for many years conducted 
a prosperous business in Ward 4, but 
since 1901 has lived a retired life, free 
from business cares. 

The O'Connells came to Holyoke in 
1847, coming from County Kerry, Ireland, 
where Daniel O'Connell was born in 1799. 
He resided in the west part of the county, 
there married Catherine Manning, and 
there all his children were born. In 1847 
he came to the United States with his 
family, located in Holyoke. where he died 
in 1849. His wife died in West Holyoke 
in 1885. They were the parents of James ; 
Michael ; Daniel, founder of the important 
contracting firm, Daniel O'Connell's Sons ; 
Maurice ; John, of further mention ; Jo- 
anna, and Mary, who married James Sul- 
livan. 

John O'Connell, son of Daniel and 
Catherine (Manning) O'Connell, was 
born in County Kerry, Ireland, in 1840, 
and in 1847 was brought to Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, by his parents, his father dying 
two years later. He attended the public 
schools, but in early life became a wage 
earner, being first employed in the Lyman 
Mill. He did not like mill work, and in 
a short time left to take a position as gro- 
cer's clerk, continuing in that business 
some three or four years. He next tried 
farming, then for eleven years, 1859-1870, 
ran a milk wagon. In 1870 he established 
a grocery store in Holyoke, which he suc- 
cessfully conducted for twenty years. He 
sold out in 1890. but after a short time 
again established in the grocery business, 
continuing until 1901, when he perma- 



nently retired from business to devote 
himself entirely to the large real estate 
interests he had acquired. He was a good 
business man and a shrewd investor, mak- 
ing few mistakes in his estimate of prop- 
erty values, and with rare judgment 
selecting locations which the years would 
greatly increase in price. 

He was a trustee of the People's Sav- 
ings Bank for several years, and in earlier 
life took active part in city afifairs, and has 
always lent his aid to the cause of good 
government, both as a citizen and during 
his two terms as a member of Council. 
When Holyoke was first incorporated a 
city, Mr. O'Connell was a member of the 
first Common Council, served well the in- 
terests of the new municipality, and has 
never been other than a friend and a sup- 
porter of all movements that he felt was 
for the good of his community. He is one 
of the popular men of the city, and when 
he recently celebrated his seventy-sixth 
birthday, his home in Dwight street stood 
open all day to receive the congratulations 
of the many friends who called upon the 
hale, hearty and well-beloved couple. 

Mr. O'Connell married (first) in 1870, 
Margaret Bowles. He married (second) 
in 1874, Joanna Landers, born in Holyoke, 
daughter of John and Jane (Sullivan) 
Landers, her father coming to the United 
States in 1847. The two children of his 
first marriage are deceased, but of the 
twelve children of John and Joanna 
O'Connell, nine are living: i. Rev. John 
A. O'Connell, pastor of St. Ann's parish 
in Fairview. Massachusetts. 2. Edward, 
a veterinary surgeon in the United States 
army ; was three years in the Philippines, 
three years in China, again one year in the 
Philippines, and now (1917) in San An- 
tonio. Texas. 3. Dennis F., a member of 
the Holyoke Park Commission. 4. Joseph 
J., married Laura Packett, a native of 
Bridgeport, Connecticut; they reside in 

149 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR.\PHY 



Springfield. 5. Richard J. 6. Christopher 
J., a doctor of dental surgery, of Holyoke. 
7. Howard, a graduate of Holy Cross 
College, 1916, now a student at the Grand 
Seminary in Montreal. 8. Catherine, re- 
sides with her parents. 9. Mary J., a 
music teacher in Holyoke, resides with 
her parents. The names of the deceased 
children are : Daniel. Howard. Paul. 

Being denied the blessings of advanced 
education for himself. Mr. OConnell gave 
his children every advantage, and al- 
though he has been granted long life in 
which to enjoy the fruits of his industry 
and ability, the great joy in the lives of 
the aged couple is that they have been 
spared to witness the rise of their chil- 
dren to honorable position in the world, a 
satisfaction only parents can understand 
and appreciate. 



EASTMAN. Fred Atherton, 

Representative Citizen. 

The Boston & Maine Railroad Company 
probably has in its service no freight agent 
better known or more popular than Fred 
Atherton Eastman, who has charge of the 
business in Holyoke. Massachusetts. In 
addition to a natural aptitude for the work 
in which he has been engaged for so many 
years, his training has been received in 
various other positions of trust and re- 
sponsibility. From a line of sturdy an- 
cestors he has inherited traits of character 
that have stood the acid tests of a life of 
great industry in positions requiring abso- 
lute integrity, alertness, tact, loyalty, fair- 
ness and a sense of duty and justice. 

The surname Eastman is one of the 
oldest in England, derived, it is evident, 
from the word Easterling. originally 
meaning a native of eastern Germany and 
synonymous with the surnames Easmond. 
Estmond. Eisman and Esmond. The only 
coat-of-arms of the familv is described : 



Gules the dexter chief point an escutcheon 
argent charged with a lion rampant. 

(Ij Roger Eastman, the first settler in 
this country, was born in Wales in 1661, 
died in Salisbury, then Massachusetts, 
now Connecticut, December 16, 1694. He 
came to this country from Langford, W i-t- 
shire. England, in the ship "Confidence," 
in 1640, as an apprentice of John Saunders, 
and settled in Salisbury, Massachusetts, 
where he received land in the first di- 
vision in 1640-41. He was a housewright; 
was a proprietor of the town and, in 1644, 
both he and his wife were members of the 
church, and his name is on a list of con- 
tributors to the minister's tax in 1650. He 
aeposed, April 11, 1671, that he was sixty 
years old, and on the same day his wife 
gave her age as fifty. He died December 

16, 1694. He married Sarah Smith, bom 
1620, died ;March 11, 1697-98. Children, 
born at Salisbury : John, bom January 9, 
1640: Nathaniel, May 18, 1643; Philip, 
December 30, 1644; Thomas, November 
II. 1646: Timothy, Novemt)er 29. 1648; 
Joseph, January 8, 1650; Benjamin, Feb- 
ruary 12, 1652 ; Sarah, September 25, 1655 ; 
Samuel, mentioned below; Ruth, March 
21. 1661. 

(II) Samuel Eastman, son of Roger 
Eastman, was born at Salisbury, Novem- 
ber 20, 1657, and died February 2~, 1725. 
He took the oath of allegiance in 1677 and 
was admitted a freeman in 1690. He re- 
moved from Salisbury to Kingston, now- 
in New Hampshire, about 1720. and was 
dismissed from the Salisbury church to 
the Kingston church. September 26. 1725. 
He was granted land in Kingston. He 
married (first) November 4. 16S6. Eliza- 
beth Scriven. who was baptized and ad- 
mitted to the Salisbury church, October 
8, 1690. He married (second) September 

17, 1719. Sarah Fifield. who died at Kings- 
ton, August 3, 1726. Children, all by first 
wife: Ruth, born Januarv ^, 1688: Eliza- 



1^0 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



beth, December i, 1689; Mary, January 4, 
1691 ; Samuel, January 5, 1695-96; Joseph, 
January 6, 1697; Ebenezer, mentioned 
below; Thomas, January 21, 1703; Timo- 
thy, March 29, 1706; Edward, ]\Iarch 30, 
1708; Benjamin, July 13, 1710. 

(III) Ebenezer Eastman, son of Sam- 
uel Eastman, was born at Salisbury, Jan- 
uary II, 1701, and died at Kingston, Feb- 
ruary 16, 1746. He married, May 5, 1729. 
Mary Sleeper, a widow. Children, born at 
Kingston: Samuel, baptized May 7, 1727 
(date given in genealogy) ; Edward, men- 
tioned below ; Mary, baptized August 25, 
1734; Hannah, baptized May 3, 1741. 

(IV) Edward Eastman, son of Eben- 
ezer Eastman, was born in Kingston, New 
Hampshire, baptized there February 25, 
1732, died November 7, 1815. He was a 
soldier in the Revolution, and a member 
of the Committee of Safety. He lived on 
w^hat has been lately known as the Titus 
H. Wadsworth farm. He married, May 
6, 1758, Anna Judkins, who died March 
24, 1817, aged seventy-seven years. Chil- 
dren, born at Kingston: Benjamin, men- 
tioned below ; John, born November 23, 
1760; Hannah, February 12, 1764. Born 
at Salisbury, New Hampshire : Phineas. 
June 20, 1766; Mehitable, June 20, 1768; 
Moses, August 11, 1770; Nancy, August 
5, 1772; Abigail, March 5, 1775; Samuel, 
April 4, 1780. 

(V) Ensign Benjamin Eastman, son of 
Edward Eastman, was born at Kingston, 
New Hampshire, June 19, 1759. died at 
Salisbury, New Hampshire, April 14,1813. 
He was a soldier in the Revolutionary 
War at the age of sixteen. He married, 
March 23, i/'88, Dolly Bean, born at Or- 
ford, New Hampshire, died January 13, 
1853, at Salisbury, New Hampshire, aged 
eighty-five years. He was a farmer and 
shoemaker. His home was at Shaw's 
Corner in Salisbury. Children, born at 
Salisbury, New Hampshire : Edward. 



September 12, 1789; John, January 13, 
1791 ; Betsey, May 7, 1793; Nabby, April 
21, 1795; Phoebia, October 21, 1797; 
Moses, mentioned below; Daniel B., 
March 26, 1802; Abby, January 25, 1805; 
John T., October, 1808; Benjamin F., 
July 18, 1811 ; Nancy, October 18, 1813. 

(VI) Moses Eastman, son of Ensign 
Benjamin Eastman, was born at Salis- 
bury, New Hampshire, November 2, 1799, 
died September 9, 1888, in Danbury, New 
Hampshire. His early life was spent in 
Danbury. In 1832 he moved to Wilmot, 
New Hampshire, but in 1840 he returned 
to Danbury and spent the remainder of 
his life there. He was captain of the mili- 
tia company; selectman of Danbury and 
representative from that town in the State 
Legislature. He was a farmer. He mar- 
ried, at Salisbury, April 22, 1826, Irena 
Wells, born at Sandown, New Hampshire, 
October 16, 1800, died January 26, 1891, 
a daughter of Nathaniel and Anna (Bean) 
Wells, of Salisbury and Danbury. Chil- 
dren, born at Danbury: Sarah Ann, Feb- 
ruary 3, 1827, married George W. At- 
w^ood ; Warren, October 17, 1828, lived 
at Princeton, Illinois ; Nancy Woodbury, 
May 26, 1830, lived at Potter Place. New 
Hampshire; Moses, March 11, 1832, lived 
at Franklin Falls, New Hampshire. Born 
at Wilmot: Benjamin Franklin, March i, 
1834, died aged three years ; Thomas Ben- 
ton, December 26, 1837. died aged three 
years; Amanda, January 5. 1839. married 
Levi Bean ; William Harrison, October 
27, 1840, lived at Attica. Kansas; Irene 
Marett, September 17, 1842: Oscar Irvin, 
July 21, 1844, married Lucia Jane Keni- 
son. 

(VII) Moses (2) Eastman, son of 
Moses (i) Eastman, was born at Dan- 
bury, New Hampshire, March 11, 1832, 
and died at Franklin, New Hampshire, in 
1904. He was a farmer in Danbury; re- 
moved to Franklin Falls, where for many 



151 



EN'CVCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



years he kept a boarding house. He was 
a member of the Masonic lodge of Elkins, 
New Hampshire, and of the Unitarian 
church. He married Celestia R. Currier, 
of Danbury, a daughter of Moses and 
Lucretia (Smith) Currier. Children: i. 
Appleton Burt, a bookkeeper in a lumber 
concern in Bangor, Maine; married, and 
has one son. Malcolm. 2. Moses Frank, 
resides in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, a 
stair builder. 3. Fred Atherton, men- 
tioned below^ 4. Ada Maria, married 
George R. Xeal, agent of the Standard 
Oil Company in Stoneham, Massachu- 
setts; children: Richard, Fred, Eastman 
and Franklin. 5. Lucretia Irene, married 
Will S. Moore, a machinist, employed by 
the Springfield Machine Company of 
Windsor, Vermont; daughter, IMiniah, 
born March 11, 1902. 

(VIII) Fred Atherton Eastman, son of 
Moses (2) Eastman, was born at Dan- 
bur}-, New Hampshire, July 8, 1866. He 
attended the public schools of his native 
town and afterw-ard was a student in 
Proctor Academy for one year. Since he 
was seventeen years of age, he has been 
engaged constantly in the railroad busi- 
ness. In the winter of 1883 he was em- 
ployed at the railroad station at Danbury 
under George Gordon, station agent. In 
the following spring he was sent to 
Canaan, New Hampshire, and began to 
learn telegraphy in the railroad offices. 
Six months later he was assigned to the 
station in South Danbury, as station 
agent. The place was small, but he won 
the confidence of his superiors by the 
faithfulness he displayed, and a year later 
was appointed station agent at Grafton, 
New Hampshire, a position he filled for 
seven years. In 1891 he was appointed to 
a much more important place in charge of 
the station at Franklin Falls. New Hamp- 
shire, as general freight and passenger 
agent of the Boston & Maine Railroad 



Company. Franklin is a thriving city of 
some seven thousand people. Here he re- 
mained for a period of twenty-one years, 
and grew constantly in the esteem of 
those who had business with his em- 
ployers and in the confidence of his su- 
perior olificers in the corporation. On 
January, 1912, he was transferred to 
White River Junction in a similar capac- 
ity, but in August of that year was placed 
in charge of the freight and passenger 
service of the railroad at Bellows Falls, 
Vermont. His stay there was brief, how- 
ever. In the following February he was 
appointed freight agent at Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, .a position he has since filled 
with ability and efificiency. Few of the 
emplo}ees of the Boston & Maine have 
had a longer period of service, a third of 
a century, yet Mr. Eastman is yet in the 
prime of life. The duties of freight agent 
at Holyoke are particularly onerous and 
important. The value of the freight enter- 
ing and leaving the city of Holyoke is 
very great. The paper alone sent from 
this city forms a vast aggregate in the 
course of a year. While a citizen of 
Franklin, he took an active part in local 
aflfairs. He joined the Masonic fraternity 
in that city, and is also a member of the 
Eastern Star Chapter there. He is a 
member of the Canoe Club of Holyoke. 
He and his family attend the First Con- 
gregational Church. 

He married. June 5, 1890, Hattie Ger- 
trude Kilton, daughter of Lovell and 
Amaryelias (Stearns) Kilton, of Grafton, 
New Hampshire, the former named a 
farmer there all his life, and a representa- 
tive of an old family there. Children: i. 
Harold Moses, born at Franklin. January 
23, 1892; graduate of the I'ranklin High 
School and the New Hampshire State 
College at Durham; now superintendent 
of the National Radium Company, Den- 
ver. Colorado ; married Louise Phillips, of 







fOi^si 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Concord, Xew Hampshire; one son, Har- 
old Moses, Jr., born ^larch 2^, igiy, in 
Denver, Colorado. 2. Richard Kilton, 
born at Franklin, August 19, 1902. 3. 
Ruth \'olana, born at Franklin, April 27,, 
1904. 



HEIDNER, Joseph G., 

Business Man. 

As head of J. G. Heidner & Son, Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, Mr. Heidner con- 
trols a business in musical instruments 
and music accessories which he founded 
in 1891 and conducted under his own 
name until 1912, when he admitted his 
son as a partner. This is one of the best 
equipped music stores in the State, and 
the business therein transacted is evi- 
dence that the musical public appreciates 
that fact. 

When Frederick Heidner, born in Ger- 
many in 1816, came to the United States, 
a lad, he found his way to Fulton county. 
New York, and in the town of Bleecker, 
near the village of the same name, became 
a farmer. He also resided in Broadalbin, 
a manufacturing borough of Fulton coun- 
ty, ten miles north of Amsterdam. Fred- 
erick Heidner married Mrs. Mary Yennis 
Strauchen, also born in Germany. They 
were the parents of eight children: Fred- 
erick A. ; Joseph G., of further mention ; 
Samuel D. ; Charles E. ; Anna; Susan; 
Margaret, married Frederick Getchell ; 
Caroline, married Edward Simons. Fred- 
erick Heidner, the father, died in i8go, his 
wife Mary in 1867. 

Joseph G. Heidner, son of Frederick 
and ]\Iary Heidner. was born in Bleecker. 
Fulton county. New York. June 7, 1856. 
and there obtained a good public school 
education. At the age of seventeen, he 
began working in a paper mill in Broadal- 
bin, New York, there continuing three 
3-ears, until 1873, when he came to Hol- 



yoke, Massachusetts, which has ever since 
been his home and the scene of his busi- 
ness successes. For fifteen years after 
coming to Holyoke, Mr. Heidner engaged 
in the sewing machine business with his 
brother, Frederick A. Heidner, as a sales- 
man, retiring from that line in 1891 to 
establish in business for himself as a 
dealer in pianos. The business he then 
founded has grown to large proportions 
and now includes a full line of modern 
musical instruments and accessories. In 
1912, Raymond Frederick Heidner was 
admitted a partner, the firm now trading 
as J. G. Heidner & Son. In 1917 they 
moved to a beautiful new store at No. 294 
Maple street, where he has one of the finest 
showrooms in Western Massachusetts. 
Mr. Heidner, Sr., is a member of the 
Knights of Pythias, the Second Congre- 
gational Church, and in political faith is 
a Republican. 

Mr. Heidner married, in 1886, Anna 
E)elding, daughter of Frederick and Chloe 
( Dresser) Belding, of Easthampton. ^las- 
sachusetts. They are the parents of Ray- 
mond Frederick, born in Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, November II, 1889. a graduate of 
Holyoke High School, a junior of Hamil- 
ton College, now junior partner of J. G. 
Heidner & Son ; he is a member of Mt. 
Tom Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
and Holvoke Canoe Club. 



BALLOU, Alonzo Newton, 

Representative Citizen. 

For over thirty years Mr. Ballou has 
been chief engineer with the American 
Thread Company of Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, coming to that position with the 
change from the Merrick Thread Com- 
{>any name. Mr. Ballou comes of an early 
and distinguished family, his American 
ancestor, Maturin Ballou, a descendant of 
Gunebored Ballou, of Norman-French 



.^.!) 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR.A.PHY 



origin, believed to have come to England 
with the Conqueror. 

(I) Maturin Ballou, born in De\on- 
shire, England, early came to Xew Eng- 
land, his name appearing on recorded 
documents among the signatures of the 
twenty-eight proprietors with Roger Wil- 
liams, on the grant of land now a part of 
the city of Providence, Rhode Island. He 
signed his name ''Mathurin." but his de- 
scendants adopted Maturin as the spell- 
ing. He married, between 1646 and 1649. 
Hannah, daughter of Robert and Cather- 
ine Pike. He died between the years 1661 
and 1663. 

(H) James Ballou, son of Maturin 
Ballou, was bom in Providence, Rhode 
Island, in 1652, and died soon after the 
settlement of his affairs in 1741, although 
the date is not definitely known. Soon 
after his marriage in 1683 he settled in 
Loquasquissuck. originally a part of 
Providence, now Lincoln. His first home 
was a log house built prior to 1685, his 
second a frame dwelling near the site of 
the first. He acquired about one thou- 
sand acres by gift and purchase, and in 
1706 conveyed a farm to each of his three 
sons. James. Nathaniel and Obadiah. He 
was a man of high character and sound 
judgment, ably administering his affairs. 
He married. July 2;^. 1683. Susanna Whit- 
man, born at Providence, February 26, 
1653. died about 1725. daughter of \'alen- 
tine and Mary Whitman. 

(Ill) Xathaniel Ballou. second son of 
James Ballou, was born in Providence, 
Rhode Island, April 9. 1687. died in the 
town of Cumberland. Rhode Island, Janu- 
ary' II, 1747. and there both he and his 
wife were buried in the Ballou family 
plot. His farm was near Beacon Poll Hill 
and there he long resided. He was a 
member of the first town council of Cum- 
berland, and was holding that office at the 
time of his death. He married. December 



7. 17 16, Mary Lovett, born near Paw- 
tucket, Rhode Island, in 1696, died in 
Cumberland, October 14, 1747. 

(IV) Stephen Ballou, son of Xathaniel 
Ballou, was born in Cumberland, Rhode 
Island, March 18, 1731, and died Novem- 
ber 13, 1776. His homestead comprised 
the northerly portion of his father's lands, 
and there he pursued a quiet, even life. 
He married (first) June 13, 175 1. Mehit- 
able, daughter of Elder Josiah Cook. She 
died June 2, 1772, leaving a family of 
eight children. He married (second) Sep- 
tember II, 1774, Anna, daughter of John 
and Mar}- (Fisher) Metcalf, who survived 
him many years and sold out her right of 
dower in the Stephen Ballou homestead, 
July 7, 1809. She married a second hus- 
band, Jonas Ellis, of Thompson, Connec- 
ticut. 

(V) Edward Ballou, eldest son of Ste- 
phen Ballou and his first wife. ^lehitabie 
( Cook) Ballou, was born in Cumberland, 
Rhode Island, X'ovember 24, 1756. He 
was a soldier of the Revolution, and in 
his old age drew a government pension. 
He was industrious and honorable, and 
highly respected. He died at the home 
of his son, Stephen Ballou, in Pelham, 
Massachusetts, Februarv* 22, 1833. He 
married, in Cumberland. Bethany Streeter. 
born October 25, 1755. died there, Febru- 
ary 22, 1808, daughter of Isaiah Streeter. 
They were the parents of ten children. 

(VI) Stephen (2 ) Ballou, eldest son of 
Edward and Bethany (Streeter) Ballou, 
was born in Cumberland. Rhode Island, 
May II, 1782, and died in Pelham, Massa- 
chusetts, March 5, 1859. Xot long after 
his marriage in 1804, he moved to Pel- 
ham. Massachusetts, and there followed 
his trade of carpenter. Both he and his 
wife were members of the Society of 
Friends and used the plain speech. He 
married. October 14, 1804, Alice (Elsie) 
Bralev, born in Cumberland, December 



154 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



17, 1777, died in Pelham about 1861, 
daughter of Roger (2) J:5raley. They 
were the parents of nine children. 

(VII) Hiram Ballou, eighth chikl of 
Stephen (2) and Alice (Braley) Ballou, 
was born in Pelham, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 9, 1823, and died there, May 2, 
1903. He was a man of intense religious 
nature, and from his conversion at the 
age of eighteen was a pillar of strength 
to the Methodist Episcopal church, of 
which he was an active member for sixty 
years. He was at different times a mem- 
ber of the oflicial board, a class leader and 
Sunday school superintendent. Prayer 
meetings were often held at his home and 
many souls were blessed under his leader- 
ship. He was one of the leading spirits 
in the organization of the Methodist So- 
ciety at Amherst, was one of the original 
members of that church, being transferred 
from the West Pelham church. When 
Wesley Methodist Episcopal Church was 
erected by the Amherst congregation, he 
generously contributed of his time and his 
means, and until his death maintained the 
deepest affection for the church and con- 
gregation he had aided to found and up- 
build. His faith in God was unwavering, 
and there was nothing uncertain in his 
hope of immortality. So thoroughly con- 
sistent was his Christian character that 
from him radiated an influence for good 
that was an appreciable force in the moral 
life of his community. He was a farmer 
all his life, and one of the substantial, re- 
liable men of his town. Hiram Ballou 
married (first) in Pelham, November 30, 
1843, Elizabeth Wales Arnold, born in 
Belchertown, Massachusetts, August 23, 
1823, died June 15, 1871, daughter of Wil- 
lis and Polly Arnold. He married (sec- 
ond) Mrs. Olive F. (Briggs) Stowell. 
daughter of Amos Briggs and widow of 
Ira L. Stowell. His ten children were all 
born in Pelham except Lyman Ellsworth, 



the ninth ; his first wife was the mother 
of all. Children: i. Plenry Auburn, born 
October 26, 1844; a machinist and engi- 
neer of New Haven, Connecticut ; mar- 
ried Addie Beers. 2. Winslow Elmer, 
died young. 3. Mary Alice, born Octo- 
ber 18, 1849; married Charles Beers. 4. 
Alonzo Newton, of further mention. 5. 
Harriet Louisa, died young. 6. Emma 
Loretta, born June 24, 1855 ; married 
Oscar Pettengill. 7. Lizzie Jane, born 
August 18, 1857, died January 5, 1887 ; 
married Dr. Almond J. Cutting. 8. Delia 
Maria, born March 12, 1861, died 1917; 
married Willard D. Stowell. 9. Lyman 
Ellsworth, born December 7, 1863, a tin- 
smith of Barre, Massachusetts. 10. Wil- 
liam Martin, born December 27, 1867. 

(VIII) Alonzo Newton Ballou, son of 
Hiram and Elizabeth Wales (Arnold) 
Ballou, was born in Pelham, Massachu- 
setts, October 27, 185 1. He attended the 
public schools of Pelham, Belchertown 
and Enfield during the winter seasons, 
spending his summers in farm employ- 
ment. Later he moved to South Hadley 
Falls, entered the employ of the Glasgow 
Mills and continued four years. In 1883 
he took a position with the ^Merrick 
Thread Company of Holyoke as foreman 
of a department. When the American 
Thread Company superseded the IMcrrick 
Thread Company, Mr. Ballou became 
chief engineer of Mill No. i, a position 
he has held continuously since 1886 in full 
charge of all steam and electric power 
used in the mill. He is a master in his 
particular line, is a member of the Engi- 
neers' Association, and highly regarded 
by his associates. He is a member of Hol- 
yoke Lodge. Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. 

Mr. Ballou married, February 2-]. 1871, 
Mary Akers, daughter of Joseph and Lucy 
(Tufts) Akers, of Granby, Massachusetts. 
Mr. and Mrs. Ballou are the parents of 



'55 



E.XCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



three children, a daughter, Elizabeth, and 
two sons, Frederick and Joseph, both of 
whom died in early childhood. Elizabeth 
Liallou married Charles Moore, of Wil- 
hmantic, Connecticut, a division manager 
with the drand Union Tea Company, re- 
siding in Springfield; they have a daugh- 
ter, Dorothy Moore, born July 6, 1909. 



O'SHEA, John, 

Piano and Music Dealer. 

John O'Shea, the well known piano and 
music dealer of Holyoke, was born in 
Kathkale, County Limerick, Ireland, April 
22, 1848. He is the son of Patrick and 
Ellen (Scanlon) O'Shea. The father, who 
was a horse-shoer and farrier in Ireland, 
died when John O'Shea was but two 
months old, leaving his wife with several 
small children, namely: Mary, Catherine, 
Margaret, Ellen, James and John. When 
the latter named was about two years of 
age his mother, realizing that there were 
few opportunities for her to support her 
family comfortably and with advantages in 
Ireland set sail for the United States, and 
after a voyage of more than two months 
arrived in Boston, Massachusetts. It is 
needless to say this took considerable 
courage, and demonstrated clearly the 
great love and ambition she cherished for 
her children. From Boston she w^ent to 
Ware, Massachusetts, in which town she 
resided up to the time of her decease. 

John O'Shea received the ordinary pub- 
lic school education in Ware, and re- 
mained in that town until he was about 
twenty-five years of age, and for a number 
of years after completing his studies was 
employed in the George H. Gilbert Manu- 
facturing Company, after which he served 
in the capacity of foreman in the weaving 
department of Charles A. Stevens & Com- 
pany. Leaving their employ, he engaged 
in the manufacture of cigars in connec- 



tion with William F. Cooney & Company, 
continuing along that line until his re- 
moval to the Western section of the 
United States, he being ot the opinion 
that the West offered greater opportu- 
nities for advancement than the East. He 
chose as his place of residence the city of 
St. Louis and for several months con- 
ducted a grocery store there. Immedi- 
ately after his marriage, which occurred 
in that city, he returned to Ware, Massa- 
chusetts, then came to liolyoke, and for 
one year was associated with his brother- 
in-law in the tin business. He then 
opened a tobacco, cigar and fruit store, 
and also conducted a public dining room, 
which was well patronized. His several 
business ventures up to this time had been 
successful financially, and believing he 
had accumulated sufficient capital he 
established a piano and sewing machine 
business ; is now located at No. 463 High 
street, and which has proved a successful 
undertaking, and to this enterprise he has 
since devoted his entire time and atten- 
tion. His affable manner and unfailing 
courtesy have won him many patrons, 
and these assets being great advertisers 
his business has increased more rapidly 
than is usual in a line not dealing in 
staples. 

Mr. O'Shea married, in 1873, Mary Gil- 
bert, born in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, 
daughter of George and Catherine (Flem- 
ing) Gilbert, natives of England and Ire- 
land, respectively. After the death of Mr. 
Gilbert his widow married a Mr. Healey, 
and her death occurred in St. Louis in 
1899. Mr. and Mrs. O'Shea are the par- 
ents of seven children: i. Frank, born in 
March, 1874. died in infancy. 2. James, 
a sketch of whom follows. 3. Catherine, 
born October 4, 1877, d'^*^! i" June, 1893. 

4. Mary, born May 12, 1880, died in 1892. 

5. John, born in May, 1887. 6. Gilbert, 
born in August, 1889; assists his father 

156 









^aTO». LENOX -•^ND | f 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the piano and sewing machine busi- 
ness; married, in September, 1914, Lillian 
M. McCuddy, and they have one son, 
James Edward, born April 24, 1916. 7. 
Edward, born in August, 1893; ^ gradu- 
ate of Dartmouth College, June, 1916. 

Such citizens as John O'Shea add a 
considerable element to the communities 
with which they are connected, and much 
of the development of Holyoke has been 
due to this class of men who devote their 
entire time to building up a business en- 
terprise on principles of strict integrity 
and honorable dealings. 



O'SHEA, James, f 

Attorney-at-Laxr. 

James O'Shea, the well known attorney 
of Holyoke, was born in Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, September 2y, 1875, son of John 
and Mary (Gilbert) O'Shea, who are men- 
tioned in preceding sketch. John O'Shea, 
realizing that educational advantages 
would count largely in his son's success 
later in life, gave him full opportunity to 
attend the public school of Holyoke, from 
which he graduated in 1893, and was later 
sent to Boston University, where he en- 
tered the Law School and from which he 
graduated in 1897. He was admitted to 
the bar and began the practice of law the 
same year. On account of the popularity 
of his family he found it expedient to 
open his office in Holyoke, and since 1897 
has been a member of the bar of that city, 
and here he has since continued in active 
and successful practice. In 1914 he was 
appointed district attorney by Governor 
Walsh, an office in which he fully met the 
expectations of his supporters. Turning 
his attention to politics, he became an 
active member of the Democratic organ- 
ization in the county and State. In 1904 
he was elected a delegate to the National 
Democratic Convention, and in 1912 he 



held a similar position, representing the 
]''irst Congressional District. Political 
activities have brought him personally be- 
fore men of prominence in the Democratic 
party, and he is well and favorably known, 
and on his office walls are seen auto- 
graphed portraits of Hon. William J. 
Bryan and the Hon. Champ Clark, both 
of which were given to Mr. O'Shea by 
these gentlemen as tokens of respect and 
esteem. Mr. O'Shea is a member of the 
Roman Catholic church, the Knights of 
Columbus and of the Holyoke Club. His 
career thus far gives promise of far greater 
and more varied successes in the future, 
and it is probable that his legal activities 
will become quite as wide-spread as his 
political- connections. 

On June 27, 1905, Mr. O'Shea married 
Alice M. Benjamin, of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, daughter of Albert H. and 
Esther Benjamin. The residence of Mr. 
and Mrs. James O'Shea is at No. 388 
Appleton street, Holyoke. 



McHUGH, Edward Thomas, 

Head of McHngli Foundry Company. 

For fifty-eight years Mr. McHugh has 
been connected with the foundry business 
in different places, but since 1880 in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, where he is the ca- 
pable head of the McHugh Foundry Com- 
pany, one of the useful industries of the 
city. He is a son of Thomas McHugh, 
and a grandson of LIugh IMcHugh, who 
was a native of and died in Ireland. He 
married a Miss Sheridan and they had 
children: Hugh (2), Edward, Mary, Eliz- 
abeth, Nancy and Thomas. After being 
left a widow, Mrs. McHugh came to the 
United States with her children in 1824 
and settled in Lowell, Massachusetts. 

Thomas McHugh (father), born in the 
north of Ireland in 1814, died at Cam- 
bridgeport, Massachusetts, in 1878. He 



0/ 



EX'CVCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was ten years of age when brought to this 
country by his widowed mother, and in 
Lowell, Massachusetts, he learned the 
moulder's trade, and all his after life was 
a foundryman. From Lowell he went to 
North Chelmsford, but was living in 
Lowell, Massachusetts, when the canal 
was opened to that city, the canal long 
antedating the railroads. For sixteen 
years he lived at Canton, Massachusetts, 
and at Cambridgeport spent the later 
years of a life which was an active one 
until \vithin two years of his death, which 
occurred in his seventy-eighth year, in 
if)02. He married Julia O'Connor, born 
in County Cork, Ireland, daughter of Tim- 
othy and Helena (Toomey) O'Connor. 
She was one of seven children, the others 
being: John, Mary, Cornelius, Margaret, 
Patrick. Timothy. Thomas and Julia 
( O'Connor j McHugh were the parents 
of : Mary, married Timothy J. McCarty ; 
Edward Thomas, of further mention ; 
Charles ; Timothy, deceased ; Cornelius, 
deceased ; Elizabeth ; Annie, deceased ; 
Helena, married Burnherd McCafifrey; 
and Julia. 

Edward Thomas McHugh, eldest son 
of Thomas and Julia (O'Connor) Mc- 
Hugh, was born in Canton. Massachu- 
setts, Xovember 20, 1845, ^^id there at- 
tended school until thirteen years of age. 
He then began learning the moulder's 
trade, and has ever since been a foundry- 
man, working for others and running his 
own business, but always a foundryman. 
During the Civil War he was in govern- 
ment employ, stationed at Chattanooga, 
Tennessee, his work the repairing of rail- 
roads damaged by the Confederates. 
After the war he worked in Cambridge- 
port and Warren, Massachusetts, several 
of these years spent in the employ of the 
Knowles Steam Pump Company, of War- 
ren. In 1880 he located in Holyoke, and 
for the following thirteen vears was man- 



ager of the foundry department of the 
Dean Steam Pump Company. He was 
also employed by the Holyoke Motor 
Company and by the city of Holyoke for 
several years ; he equipped and started 
the Keough Foundry on the site of his 
present plant, performed a similar service 
for the Holyoke Auto Company, and later 
ran that foundry under his own name for 
ten years. He then sold out, taking mort- 
gages in part payment. Eventually he 
was obliged to foreclose on the plant, and 
in 1914 again put it in commission and 
operates it under the name of the Mc- 
Hugh Foundry Company. Castings of 
varied kinds and a full line of foundry 
work are turned out at the plant, which 
is patronized by the large industrial com- 
panies of the city, including the Holyoke 
Heater Company, Cowan Truck Com- 
pany, Perkins Paper Company, Holyoke 
Gas & Electric Company, Bosch Magneto 
Company, American Writing Paper Com- 
pany, American Thread Company, Ger- 
mania ]Mills and the Independent Paper 
Companies. The quality of the work 
turned out at the McHugh Foundry can 
be judged by the high standing of his 
patrons, much of their work being of the 
most important character. The jobbing 
department of the foundry is kept fully 
employed and is under the management 
of the veteran owner, who Is everywhere 
recognized as an expert in his special line. 
This has been his life work, and he has 
never departed from it, and although re- 
peatedly urged to accept political office, 
these ofiFers are as repeatedly refused. He 
is a member of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks. He is a most 
kindly hearted, genial man, whom all re- 
spect. 

Mr. McHugh married, in February. 
1871. Mary McTighe, daughter of John 
and Bridget (King) McTighe, of Warren, 
Massachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. McHugh 



158 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



are the parents of six children : Charles, 
who died at the age of nineteen years ; 
Agnes; Edward, foreman of the McHugh 
Foundry Company, married Alary Shea 
and has two sons, Edward and Paul ; 
Helena, married James H. Riley, a lawyer 
of Springfield, Massachusetts ; John, en- 
gaged in the drug business in Springfield ; 
Cornelius, died aged three years. 



WALSH, Maurice Joseph, 
Contractor. 

Maurice J. Walsh is among the many 
natives of Ireland who have won recog- 
nition and prosperity in the United States 
through their industry, business capacity 
and lives of integrity. His grandfather, 
Bartholomew Walsh, was a farmer in Ire- 
land, where he owned a section of land, 
and died at the age of one hundred and 
five years. He married Mary O'Connor, 
and they had the following children : 
Michael, Maurice, James, John and Red- 
mond. Of these, Michael Walsh, born 
1822, in County Kerry, Ireland, died there 
in 1907. at the age of eighty-five years. 
He received such education as the na- 
tional schools supplied, and engaged in 
agriculture upon the paternal homestead, 
where he reared a large family. He mar- 
ried (first) Mary Mahoney, and (second) 
Nora O'Connell. They had seventeen 
children, as follows : John, James, Maurice 
Joseph, Michael, Redmond, Bartholomew, 
Patrick, Jeremiah, Daniel, Mary, Johanna, 
Bridget, Nora, Alice, Catherine, Ellen 
and Margaret. 

Maurice Joseph Walsh was born March 
2, i860, in Caherciveen, County Kerry, Ire- 
land, and was educated in the schools of 
his native town. As a youth and young 
man he studied the trade of wheelwright 
and carriage maker, and when twenty-two 
years of age came to America and located 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, which has 



ijecn his place of residence to the present 
time. On arriving in Holyoke he found 
employment as a carpenter, serving suc- 
cessively with Francis F. O'Neill, Toomey 
and Shea, Doan Williams, and Casper 
Ranger. In 1908, Air. Walsh engaged in 
business on his own account as a con- 
tracting carpenter, and continued with 
success for some time, after which his son 
became a partner, and since that time the 
business has been carried on under the 
firm name of M. J. Walsh & Sons. Many 
of the best business blocks and residences 
of Holyoke have been erected by Mr. 
Walsh. Among these may be mentioned 
the Central Fire Station, one of the best 
of Its kind in the United States ; West 
Springfield High School, and the public 
schocl building at Agaw^am. He employs 
a large force of men, and his pay roll often 
amounts to seven hundred dollars per 
week. By his industry, ability and care- 
ful attention to details and the wishes of 
his patrons, Mr. Walsh has built up a 
large and successful business. He does 
not seek membership in any social organ- 
izations, or fraternities, but is a member 
of the Massachusetts Catholic Order of 
Foresters. Since 1900 he has been sexton 
of the Sacred Heart Church. 

Mr. Walsh married, April 13. 1883, 
Mary Terese Conway, a native of County 
Limerick, Ireland, daughter of James and 
Margaret (Lynch) Conway. Air. and 
Airs. Walsh are the parents of the fol- 
lowing children : Mary, widow of John 
Dowd. and mother of John, Francis and 
Alary Dowd ; James, associated with his 
father in business ; John, who was a part- 
ner w^ith his father until his death in 
1915, at the age of twenty-five years; 
Alaurice, a graduate of the Rensselaer 
Institute of Technology; Catherine, de- 
ceased ; George ; Aiargaret ; Charles and 
Cecelia. 



159 



EXXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



MAHONEY, James Henry, 

'Warehouse Proprietor. 

For many years Mr. Mahoney has been 
identified with business affairs in Hol- 
yoke, and is known and esteemed as a 
sound business man, industrious, prompt 
and reliable, and has formed many lasting 
friendships. His father, Timothy Ala- 
honey, was born 1810, in County Kerry, 
Ireland, and died in Huntington, Province 
of Quebec, Canada, in August, 1890, at the 
age of eighty years. A blacksmith by 
trade, he worked as a mechanic in his na- 
tive land, and after coming to America 
was thus occupied for some time in- Og- 
densburg and JMoira, New York, and in 
Huntington, Canada, where he died. His 
first wife's family name was Kelliher, and 
he married (second) Catherine Manning, 
also a native of County Kerry, daughter 
of James and (O'Connor) Man- 
ning. There were three children of the 
first marriage : Patrick, John and Mar- 
garet. Those of the second marriage 
were : Mary, now deceased ; James H. ; 
Annie ; Timothy ; Michael, now a gun 
tester on the Mexican border; Elizabeth, 
deceased ; Catherine, deceased, and Ellen, 
wife of Edward Beathune, of Avonmore, 
Province of Ontario, Canada. 

James Henry Mahoney was born July 
15, 1856, in Ogdensburg, New York, and 
was a child when his parents removed to 
Huntington, Quebec. There he worked 
upon a farm as a boy, received a fair com- 
mon school education, and was later em- 
ployed in a grocery store. He took up 
his residence in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
May 6. 1881, and since that time has been 
one of the most active and progressive 
citizens of that growing city. For a short 
time he was employed in a boiler shop, 
and subsequently drove a team for Daniel 
O'Connell, a truckman of Holyoke. His 
next employment was in a shop where he 



was engaged in making bone knife han- 
dles. He entered the employ of A. H. 
Perry, in a storage warehouse, April 25, 
1882, and continued thirteen years with 
that establishment. He succeeded to the 
ownership of this business, July 22, 1895, 
and since that date has continued a gen- 
eral storage warehouse business, under 
the title of the People's Public Ware- 
house, in the same building he entered in 
1882. He gives especial attention to ship- 
ping and deliveries, in which he employs 
several horses and drivers, and is conduct- 
ing a very prosperous and growing busi- 
ness. Mr. Mahoney is a man of genial 
manners, of kind heart, and broad mind, 
and has drawn to himself many faithful 
friends. He is ever courteous and oblig- 
ing, endeavoring to satisfy the wants of 
his customers, and is deservedly popular 
with the general public. 

Mr. Mahoney married, July 17, 1883, 
Emma Elizabeth Kelly, of Malone, New 
York, daughter of Roger and Alary (Lar- 
kin) Kelly, born in Dublin, Ireland. The 
first child of Mr. and Mrs. Mahoney, 
Mary, is deceased. Their only son, Wil- 
liam Henry Mahoney, is a foreman in 
the service of P. Garvin, of Holyoke. The 
two surviving daughters, Bernice and 
Frances, are teachers in the public schools 
of Holvoke. 



HIGGINS, John Francis, 

Well-Known Citizexu 

At his father's brass foundr}^ in Hol- 
yoke, John Francis Higgins learned the 
business in its various details and there 
holds the position of foreman. He is a 
son of James Edward Higgins, founder 
of the business of which he is now head, 
and grandson of Michael Higgins. born in 
Ireland, later came to the United States, 
settled in Chicopee, Alassachusetts, where 
he was in the employ of Belcher & Taylor, 



[60 



ASTCP, 




/ftf/e^/^r (/3ii.^^^^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



manufacturers of agricultural machinery. 
Michael Higgins married Mary Williams, 
and they are the parents of David, Alice, 
Mary A. and James E. Higgins. 

James Edward Higgins was born at 
Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts, and there 
has ever retained his residence. After 
completing public school study, he learned 
the moulder's trade and for fifteen years 
was in the employ of Graves & Kinney at 
their foundry in Holyoke. He then estab- 
lished a brass foundry in Holyoke, under 
his own name, which he successfully con- 
ducts. He has always taken an interest 
in the public life of Chicopee Falls, his 
home, has served as license commissioner 
and register of voters and in other capac- 
ities. He married Elizabeth Malley, of 
Chicopee, and they are the parents of four 
sons : John Francis, of further mention ; 
James A., David V., and Frank, deceased. 

John Francis Higgins, eldest son of 
James Edward and Elizabeth (Malley) 
Higgins, was born at Chicopee Falls, Mas- 
sachusetts, July i6, 1882, and was there 
educated in the public school. He began 
work with his father in the brass foundry 
in Holyoke, learned brass moulding in all 
its branches, and finally became foundry 
foreman, which position he now fills. He 
is also treasurer of the Gas Safety Appli- 
ance Company of Holyoke, manufacturing 
an improved gas cut ofif. He is a member 
of the Foresters of America, and in poli- 
tics is an Independent. Mr. Higgins mar- 
ried, October 25, 1908, Anna Moriarity, 
daughter of Henry F. Moriarity, of Chico- 
pee. They are the parents of a son, Frank, 
born in April, 1913. 



BURKHARDT, Robert Carl, 

Merchant. 

Third of the sons of Gottlieb Heinrich 
Burkhardt, who accompanied their par- 
ents to the United States and in their 

Mass— 6— 11 161 



adopted city, Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
won honorable standing, Robert C. Burk- 
hardt has practically spent his entire life 
in Holyoke, and is there rated among the 
enterprising and successful merchants of 
the city. He was born in the city of 
Glanchau, Saxony, Germany, October 27, 
1867, but in 1870 was brought to the 
United States by his parents. After two 
years' residence in Huntington, Massa- 
chusetts, the family came to Holyoke and 
there Robert C. was educated in the pub- 
lic schools. He began the active business 
of life as an employee of the Germania 
Mills in Holyoke, but after a few years as 
a mill worker he entered the employ of 
Casper Ranger, contractor and builder, 
where he remained three years. He then 
entered the employ of his father in the 
grocery business and was with him thir- 
teen years, when he decided to go in busi- 
ness for himself. He chose the Elmwood 
district of Holyoke as a location, and there 
opened a grocery store which he has suc- 
cessfully conducted until the present date 
(1917). He built in 1916 a beautiful block, 
65x73, three stories high, in the Elmwood 
section, in one-half of which he has a gro- 
cery store, the other half being occupied 
as a dry goods store. Five families reside 
in the upper floors. He is a member of 
William Whiting Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of Holyoke ; Mt. Holyoke 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; the Hol- 
yoke Turn Verein, Holyoke Board of 
Trade, Young Men's Christian Associ- 
ation and Veteran Firemen's Association. 
He is highly regarded as a business man 
and in the societies to which he belongs. 
Mr. Burkhardt married, October 20, 
1893, Anna Schnabel, of Broad Brook, 
Connecticut, daughter of John and Mary 
(Weizer) Schnabel. They are the par- 
ents of a son, Everett Robert, born Sep- 
tember 20, 1899, and a daughter, Alice 
Anna, born June 10, IQ04. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



WARNER, Ernest Stone, 

Merchant, Manufacturer, Real Estate 
Operator. 

Among the men well known in the real 
estate business of Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, is Ernest Stone Warner. He is 
descended from old Connecticut Colonial 
stock in various lines of ancestry. 

(I) John Warner, the first in his pater- 
nal line in this country, was born in Eng- 
land. He was an early settler in Hartford, 
and one of the founders and proprietors of 
Farmington, Connecticut. He served in 
the Pequot War and was rewarded for his 
service by a grant of land from the colony. 
In 167 1 he was deputy to the General 
Court. In October, 1689, land was granted 
to his heirs and to Sergeant Thomas Judd 
and Sergeant John Stanley. He was one 
of the petitioners for liberty to make a 
small plantation at Mattatuck, and signed 
the articles of 1674, intending to remove 
thither, but he died in 1679. His sons, 
John and Daniel, were also signers, and 
several generations made their homes in 
what is now Waterbury. His will was 
dated in March, 1679. Children : John ; 
Daniel ; Thomas, mentioned below ; Sarah, 
baptized March 15, 1656-57, married Wil- 
liam Higason. 

(II) Thomas Warner, son of John 
W^arner, was born as early as 1650. He 
lived at New Haven and Waterbury, 
whither he moved before 1680. He took 
possession of his father's lands at Water- 
bury after February, 1682-83. He was a 
subscriber to Mr. Peck's settlement as 
minister. He held the offices of hayward, 
chimney viewer and surveyor. His house 
was on the east side of what is now Banks 
street, on the site of the Baptist church. 
It was voted November, 1679, by the town 
that his cellar might stay as built, accord- 
ing to an "agreement with Lieutenant 
Samuel Steele." His lot adjoined land of 
John Hopkins and John Richards, but 



later he exchanged it with the latter for 
a lot near the present location of the paper 
mill. He died November 24, 1714. By 
w'ife Elizabeth he had children: Eliza- 
beth, married Samuel Chesterton ; Ben- 
jamin, mentioned below. Born at Water- 
bury : John, born March 6, 1680-81 ; Mary, 
December 9, 1682, died June 7, 1705 ; Mar- 
tha, April I, 1684, married John Andrews ; 
Thomas, October 28, 1687, married Abi- 
gail Barnes; Samuel, March 16, 1690; 
Margaret, March i, 1693, married Eben- 
ezer Richason. 

(HI) Benjamin Warner, son of Thom- 
as Warner, was born before 1678 in New 
Haven. Connecticut. He administered his 
father's estate and made an agreement to 
care for his mother w^hile she lived, in con- 
sideration of quitclaim deeds from the 
other heirs. He was granted a '"bachelor 
right" in Waterbury in 1700. His father 
deeded him part of the homestead lot, 
July 10, 1702. He removed to New Haven 

before 1704. He married . 

Children, born at New Haven: Desire, 
born August 23, 1704, married February 
II, 1728-29, Ezekiel Sanford, whose sister 
married her brother, Benjamin Warner, 
Jr.; Benjamin, mentioned below; Joseph, 
IMarch 16, 1714; perhaps others not re- 
corded. 

(IV) Benjamin (2) Warner, son of 
Benjamin (i) Warner, was born at New- 
Haven, Connecticut. January 16, 1707. He 
married, January i, 1729-30, Rachel San- 
ford, born May i, 1710, at North Haven, 
Connecticut, daughter of Samuel Sanford, 
granddaughter of Thomas Sanford, and 
great-granddaughter of the pioneer, 
Thomas Sanford (see Sanford geneal- 
ogy). He died before 1750 at New Haven, 
and she married (second) November, 1750, 
Enos Sperry. Children, born at New 
Haven: Benjamin, born May 2, 1730, died 
at Hamden. Connecticut, where he and his 
brothers settled, March 2, 1800, aged sev- 



162 



EXXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



enty years; Ebenezer, born December 14, 
1732, died at Hamden, February 19, 1818, 
aged seventy-eight years ; Mary, born 
October 2},, 1736; Rachel, September 13. 
1738; Hezekiah, March 9, 1740-41; Han- 
nah, July 5, 1743. 

(V) Benjamin, Ebenezer and Hezekiah 
Warner, sons of Benjamin Warner, where 
the pioneers in Hamden, Connecticut. All 
three were living there in 1790, as shown 
by the census. Among the sons of Ben- 
jamin (3) Warner were David, Benjamin, 
Amos, Samuel. Ebenezer, and Jonah. 
Hamden was part of Xew Haven until 
1786. The northwest part of the town 
was called Warnertown. Hezekiah War- 
ner was a prominent citizen, selectman in 
179091-92, 1810 and 1819. Ira Warner, 
another early settler, died at Hamden, 
August 20. 1835. aged ninety-six years; 
his wife, Betsey \\'arner, died March 3, 

1877- 

(VI) Jonah Warner, son of Benjamin 
(3) Warner, was born in Hamden, Con- 
necticut, in 1764, and died there Novem- 
ber 5, 1848, aged eighty-four years. He 
married Olive Sanford, born 1775, died 
1862, daughter of David Sanford (Samuel, 
Samuel, Thomas, Thomas Sanford, the 
pioneer). Children, born at Hamden: 
Elizabeth, married Alfred Doolittle ; Al- 
ma, married Zeri Peck ; Maria, married 
Seymour Doolittle ; Litha, married Silas 
Lyman, and lived in Bethany, Connecti- 
cut; Eliza, married Egbert Ailing; Me- 
linda, married Chauncey Nutt ; Mehit- 
able, died young; Zealous, married Mary 
Ailing; Abner, married ^lary Bradley; 
Minor, mentioned below ; Harley, born 
September 10, 1812, died March 10, 1890, 
married (first) Susannah Dorman, (sec- 
ond) Emily Ailing. 

(VII) Minor Warner, son of Jonah 
Warner, was born at Hamden, Connecti- 
cut, Tune II, 1805, and died July 6, 1880. 
He married. May, 1829, Betsey Elizabeth 



Ford, who was born May 29, 1S07, at 
Hamden, and died December 14, 1864, in 
that town. He was a farmer in his native 
town and a lumberman, owning extensive 
tracts of woodland, from which he cut the 
timber and manufactured railroad ties and 
lumber. He was an influential citizen, 
and served the town as selectman and in 
other places of trust. Children, born at 
Hamden: i. Jane, born March i, 1831, 
died February 26, i860; married William 
Lord. 2. Charles Jared, born April 25, 
1832, married Mary Oviatt. 3. Robert 
Rollin, mentioned below. 4. Louisa, born 
1836, died September 12, 1843. 5- Amos, 
born May 28, 1841, died July 17, 1853, at 
Hamden. 6. Griswold, born September. 
1842, died September, 1842. 7. Marietta 
Cleora, born September 12, 1843, married 
James Stone. 8. Huldah Adeline, born 
December 11, 1845, married Levi Munson. 
9. Betsey Ann, born October 20. 1847, 
married Frederick Mix. 10 and 11. Twin 
daughters, born and died in 1849. 

(VIII) Robert Rollin Warner, son of 
Minor Warner, was born in Hamden. 
Connecticut, November 15, 1833, and died 
September 6, 1902, at Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts. He married, October 13. 1857, Mar- 
tha Johnson, born October 7, 1838, in 
Watertown. Connecticut, died November 
15. 1883, at Wallingford in that State. He 
followed the same occupation as his father, 
cultivating his farm at Hamden. cutting 
telegraph poles and railroad ties from his 
wood lots and selling them to the rail- 
road company. Except for a few years 
when he lived in Bethany. Wallingford 
and Pelham, Massachusetts, he made his 
home in his native town. He was quiet, 
reserved and industrious, devoting him- 
self to his home and business and avoid- 
ing public life. For many years he was 
an officer of the Methodist Episcopal 
church at Hamden, of which he was a 
member. He was a devout and sincere 



163 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Christian, an earnest, capable, upright 
man. Children, born at llamden : i. Cora 
Estelle, born September 21, 1858, died 
February 13, 1895; married Joel Miller. 
2. Ellsworth Robert, born February 26, 
i860, married Rosette Warner. 3. Ida L., 
born October 8, 18O1, died June 20, 1899, 
at Litchfield, Connecticut. 4. Fred An- 
drews, born September 20, 1863, married 
(first) Estella Tuttle ; (second ) Lillian 
Potts. 5. Burton Horace, born December 
II, 1870, at Pelham, Massachusetts, mar- 
ried Nettie Johnson. 6. Ernest Stone, 
mentioned below. 7. Frank Hobart, born 
December 23, 1875. married Fannie 
Young. 8. Clinton Melvano, born July 
30, 1877, married Mary Hendrick. 

(IX) Ernest Stone Warner, son of 
Robert Rollin Warner, was born at Wal- 
lingford, Connecticut. March 23, 1873. 
He received his early education in the 
})ublic schools of Wallingford, Litch- 
field and Hamden, Connecticut. After- 
ward he was for a time in the em- 
ploy of his brother Fred A., who then 
owned a dairy and was engaged in the 
milk business. In 1890 he came to Hol- 
yoke and began his mercantile career as 
clerk in a grocery store. A year later he 
accepted a position with the Metropolitan 
Life Insurance Company, a year later he 
was promoted to the position of assistant 
superintendent, an of^ce he held for three 
years. He resigned on account of ill 
health and turned to farming again. For 
two years he lived with his brother Ells- 
worth R., who had a farm at Wallingford. 
W'ith health restored he returned to Hol- 
yoke and engaged in business as a grocer. 
In 1897 he established a tea business in 
Holyoke and conducted it for thirteen 
years. Until 1902 he was alone in this 
business, but in that year he admitted his 
brother into partnership, and for eight 
years the business continued under the 
firm name of the Warner Tea Company. 
In 1910 he sold his interests in the firm 



and gave his attention to other lines of 
business. In 1909-10 he financed the El 
Progresso Banana Company of Honduras, 
Central America, and acted as its fiscal 
agent for a year and a half. Since 1911 he 
has given the greater part of his time and 
attention to real estate, with of^ces in 
Holyoke. He has handled many impor- 
tant real estate transactions, and in the 
development of property he has been 
highly successful. Besides his real estate 
interests and business, he conducts a fac- 
tory manufacturing roach powder, and 
also operates the Andrews Chemical Com- 
pany of Holyoke. Mr. Warner is treas- 
urer of the Holyoke Real Estate Ex- 
change. In religion he is a Methodist 
and for fifteen years has been secretary 
of the board, and trustee of the Highland 
Methodist Episcopal Church of Holyoke. 
He is a member of the William Whiting 
Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons ; also of the Holyoke Canoe Club. 

Mr. Warner married (first) May 29, 
1893, Lillian E. Bryant, born October 18, 
1871, at South Hadley Falls, ^lassachu- 
setts, died April 11, 1911, daughter of Syl- 
vester W. and Lydia E. (Carter) Bryant. 
He married (second) June 2^, 1911, Mabel 
Chase Smith, born in New Bedford, Mas- 
sachusetts, daughter of Sabina Smith. 
Children by first wife, born at Holyoke : 

1. Stanley Ernest, born March 15, 1894. 

2. Howard Malcom, born February 9, 
1897, died March 14. 1901. 3. Marion 
Viola, born November 10, 1901. 4. Bertha 
Althea, born December 19, 1903. 5. Pau- 
line Estella, born January 8, 1906. 6. 
Everett, born December 14, 1910. His 
son, Stanley Ernest, graduated from the 
public schools in Holyoke, a business col- 
lege, also the Tri-State College, An- 
gola, Indiana, with the degree of C. E., 
now with the Chicago, Burlington & 
Quincy Railroad in the valuation depart- 
ment ; member of Angola Lodge, No. 23, 
in Indiana. 



164 



IL L:.-j^'. HI, 



ASTO'R. LENOX klT" 

PTLDSN *®UNDATTC 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



KEANE, Jeremiah J., 

Public OfiBLcial. 

In the field of poHtical Hfe the late Jere- 
miah J. Keane won distinction, and at the 
time of his death was numbered among 
the leading, influential and honored citi- 
zens of Holyoke, in which city he spent 
the greater part of his life. In private life 
and public office he was always affable, 
yet firm in maintaining what he regarded 
to be right, and in the expression of his 
sentiments, however much they might an- 
tagonize those of other people, no one 
was ever in doubt as to his position upon 
any questions of business or politics, and 
no one ever had reason to question his 
perfect sincerity in any expression he 
might make or any position he might 
take. He had complete command of him- 
self, of his intellect and of all the forces 
of his nature, which quality eminently 
qualified him for leadership. 

Jeremiah J. Keane was born in New 
York City, May 26, 1856, son of Jeremiah 
and Honora (O'Conner) Keane. He at- 
tended the parochial schools in his native 
city, and at the age of eleven years accom- 
panied his parents upon their removal to 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, and there at- 
tended the public school, also spending 
considerable time in evening study, thus 
laying the foundation for his broad culture 
of later years. His first employment was 
in the Lyman Mills of Holyoke, in whose 
service he remained until he was sixteen 
years of age, and the following six months 
he was a student in the Holyoke High 
School. He conducted a private school 
for a number of years, and was later prin- 
cipal of the evening school in the old 
Chestnut Street Building, the forerunner 
of the present Evening High School, serv- 
ing in that capacity for many years, and 
through this service he left the indelible 
impress of his personality on a large num- 



ber of the young men and women of Hol- 
yoke who have since performed and are 
still performing their full duty as citizens. 
Mr. Keane also served an apprenticeship 
at the trade of bricklayer, and for more 
than two decades was employed as book- 
keeper and bricklayer for Lynch Brothers. 
Later he formed the I'aker, Cavanaugh, 
Keane, Lynch & Verrill Company that 
erected the Riverside Paper Mill and de- 
veloped the brick yards in Willimansett. 
The firm was finally dissolved and Mr. 
Keane then formed a partnership with 
James J. Dowd, recently deceased ; this 
firm conducted an insurance and real 
estate business. 

In the field of politics Mr. Keane always 
took a keen interest and he became a com- 
manding figure. He was elected a mem- 
ber of the Legislature in 1886 and was 
returned for three more terms, his record 
in that body being like that of the re- 
mainder of his career, clean and honorable 
at every point. As long as he was a mem- 
ber of the Legislature he haunted the 
State Library and the Boston Public 
Library and read himself into a remark- 
able familiarity with Irish history, and 
the habit, once acquired, led him on to 
general reading, which trained him into 
acute thinking and close reasoning, and 
he became remarkably adept at logic and 
in debate. In 1904 he was elected by the 
aldermen a member of the Board of As- 
sessors, and he served as secretary of the 
board during his entire term ; he brought 
to that office a wide practical knowledge 
of inestimable value to the board as a 
whole. xA-s a member of the Legislature 
and of the Board of Assessors he demon- 
strated what a man with the right spirit 
and poise can put into his work. He was 
an earnest worker and he never allowed 
his conscience to be stifled or warped. It 
was these qualities, coupled with his 
painstaking industry, that made Mr. Keane 

65 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



staking industry, that made Mr. Keane 
the ideal in public service. For many 
years he devoted a large share of the time 
outside his regular office hours to figuring 
out estimates for contractors to be sub- 
mitted in making bids on various con- 
tracts, and he was an authority on the 
cost of brick work and plastering. 

Few self-educated men were better 
equipped with book knowledge than Mr. 
Keane, and he had a reading knowledge 
of French, German and Gaelic. His li- 
brary was one of the most remarkable in 
the city of Holyoke, having many of the 
volumes that are out of print now. Books 
dealing with the history of Ireland and 
Irish literature were his especial delight, 
and although not a native of Ireland he 
was deeply attached to the Emerald Isle. 
Naturally he was identified with local 
Irish societies. He was a vice-president 
of the Robert Emmett Literary Society, 
and at one time was an officer in the na- 
tional organization of that society. He 
was also a member of the Gaelic League, 
and Division ii, Ancient Order of Hiber- 
nians. He held membership in the Hol- 
yoke Aerie, Fraternal Order of Eagles ; 
the Bricklayers' Union and in the Holy 
Name Society of St. Jerome Church, and 
was at one time president of the St. Jer- 
ome Temperance Society, and as a young 
man took an active part in the St. Vin- 
cent De Paul Society. 

Mr. Keane married. October 8, 1895, 
Mary Elizabeth Callahan, born in Bally- 
duff, County Kerry, Ireland, daughter of 
Jeremiah and Mary (Hurley) Callahan, 
and granddaughter of James Callahan ; 
she came to the United States with her 
parents in April, 1868. Mr. and Mrs. 
Keane had three children, all of whom 
survive him, namely: i. John, born July 
6, 1896, was employed in the forestry de- 
partment, now in the automobile busi- 
ness. 2. Rosemary, born July 28, 1898, a 



member of the graduating class of the 
Holyoke High School, 1916; later entered 
the Boston Conservatory of Music, 
graduating in June, 1917, as a super- 
visor of music. 3. Jeremiah, born June 
22, 1905, a student at St. Jerome School. 
Mr. Keane was devoted to his wife and 
children, and in his home life he was seen 
at his best, always thoughtful and con- 
siderate of the wishes and desires of the 
members thereof. When his daughter was 
quite small he used to walk with her, just 
as much as he could, the two holding 
hands, and this was not a duty assumed 
because she was frail, but it was taken 
because of his intense joy in it. Mr. 
Keane had ambitions that his daughter 
should have a most complete education, 
and had perfected plans along that line, 
his ideal being that first of all she should 
be thoroughly good, fine and lovable. 

It would be hard to enumerate the many 
fine qualities that made up the unique per- 
sonality of Mr. Keane, but one stood out 
very dominantly, the fact that he was 
essentially a gentleman. The cultured 
side of life appealed very strongly to him. 
Alost men who have to get at life from 
the necessity standpoint do not go out of 
their way for the beautiful in life, but Mr. 
Keane did. Somehow one had the feeling, 
after talking with him, that is if one was. 
not accustomed to see him often, that it 
had taken a long line of cultured ances- 
tors to have evolved him. In his associ- 
ations with other men Mr. Keane was the 
diligent, thoughtful man. Life was a seri- 
ous thing with him and he studied how to 
put his time to the best use. He died May 
31, 1916, at his late home in Holyoke. 
There was a high mass of requiem in St. 
Jerome Church, and the interment was in 
St. Jerome Cemetery. By his death the 
city of Holyoke lost one of its most es- 
teemed and most efficient public officials, 
a man by temperament and by life train- 
66 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing adapted to an unusual degree to the 
duties of the various offices he filled so 
acceptably. Mayor John J. White paid 
the following tribute to Mr. Keane : 

In the death of Jeremiah J. Keane the city has 
lost an honest, efficient official. I feel his loss 
keenly because I have been in contact with him 
all during my public career and have always 
found him a man with a high regard for the 
rights of others. Mr. Keane loved his work and 
he attended to it diligently. It is not going to be 
an easy matter to get a man who will give the 
same attention to the details of the position that 
he has given. He was peculiarly adapted for the 
position both by temperament and by his knowl- 
edge of buildings. It will seem awfully strange 
not to see "Jerry" Keane around the City Hall 
with his always cheery good-natured salutation. 
We will all miss him, miss his kindly greeting and 
miss his willingness to assist in any way possible 
to help others. 

The portrait accompanying this sketch, 
placed there by his widow in memory of 
his many beautiful qualities, will, it is 
believed, be a source of much pleasure to 
his large circle of friends. 



AFFLECK, John Henry, 

Manufacturer. 

The surname Affleck is of Scottish ori- 
gin, derived from Auckenleck estate and 
family. 

Henry Affleck, son of Robert Affleck, 
was born in Edinburgh, Scotland. His 
father was born and died in Scotland. 
Henry Affleck was educated in his native 
place, and learned the trade of paper mak- 
in there. When still a young man he be- 
came manager of various paper mills in 
England, and eventually engaged in busi- 
ness as a manufacturer of paper on his 
own account. His mills were at Guns 
Mills, located near the border line of Eng- 
land and Wales near the Forest of Dean 
in Gloucestershire. There the first cannon 
were cast in England. He continued in 



this business to the time of his death at 
the age of sixty-eight years. He was an 
able man of afifairs, an upright, earnest 
and useful citizen. In politics he was a 
Liberal. His brother, Robert Affleck, was 
well known throughout the United King- 
dom on account of his activity in the 
temperance movement. He was a force- 
ful speaker, and for many years was on 
the lecture platform. For forty years 
Robert Affleck resided in London. Henry 
Affleck married Elizabeth Swinton, daugh- 
ter of John and Elizabeth Swinton, of an 
old Scotch family, residents of Edinburgh. 
Children of Henry and Elizabeth Affleck : 
William, who for many years was travel- 
ing salesman for the firm of Charles Mar- 
den & Sons, paper dealers, of Sheffield, 
England, and who was said to be the most 
successful commercial traveler in his line 
of business in England ; John Henry, men- 
tioned below ; Thomas, died in Holyoke 
in 1913 ; Agnes, Violet, Minnie, Bessie. 

John Henry Affleck, son of Henry 
Affleck, was born in Derbyshire, Eng- 
land, June 4. 1856. He received his early 
education in the schools of that county. 
He also attended school in Gloucester and 
the Blenheim House School. In his 
father's mill at Guns Mills he learned the 
art of paper making and the details of the 
business. In 1874, when he was but a 
boy in years, he was intrusted with the 
duty of installing a paper mill in New 
Brunswick, Canada, and he remained 
there two years. During the next six 
years he was associated in business with 
his father, but his observation of con- 
ditions in America led him eventually to 
seek his fortune here. He saw greater 
])ossibilities for a paper manufacturer in 
the United States than in the United 
Kingdom, and thither he came in 1880, 
beginning his career as superintendent of 
the finishing department of the Holyoke 
Chemical Company at Holyoke, Massa- 
[67 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chusetts. He remained in this position 
for a period of twelve years, and in a 
similar position in the employ of the 
George C. Gill Paper Company for seven 
years. The mills of both these concerns 
were in Holyoke. Since 1900 Mr. Aftieck 
has been in business on his own account. 
He established the Afifleck Ruling and 
Stationery Company, of which he is presi- 
dent and treasurer. He erected a large 
and finely equipped mill on North Bridge 
street, Holyoke. In system, convenience, 
the latest machinery and methods, this 
concern keeps pace with the foremost in 
its line of business. The blank books and 
stationery of the Afifleck plant are known 
in all parts of the country, and in various 
foreign markets. Mr. Afifleck has devoted 
his energies strictly to his business, has 
taken no active part in public afifairs, and 
is affiliated with no social organizations 
outside of Mt. Tom Golf Club. 

He married (first) in 1881, Clara 
Thomas, daughter of Henry and Jemima 
Thomas, of Hereford, England. She died 
in 1908. He married (second) in Buffalo. 
New York, Mrs. F. S. Brooks, nee Caro- 
line Priscilla Wallace, of Watertown, 
New York. Their home is in Holyoke. 
By the first marriage there w^as one 
daughter, Minnie Gertrude, born in Hol- 
yoke in 1882, married Charles Howard 
Hastings, of Holyoke, and has a daughter 
Marion, born in November, 1903. 

Franklin Samuel Brooks, the first hus- 
band of Mrs. Affleck, was a native of 
Oriskany Falls, New York, and a repre- 
sentative of an old Revolutionary family. 
He died in 1897. By this marriage there 
were two daughters: i. Ida May, who 
married Merle Haynes Dennison, of Buf- 
falo, New York, and they have two chil- 
dren : Carl Wallace and Priscilla. 2. 
Minnie A., married Forrest George 
Kirsch. of Springfield, Massachusetts. 



HAARMANN, Gustav, 

Manufacturer. 

A native son of the city of Mendon, 
Westphalia, Prussia, Gustav Haarmann, 
in the metal working plants of that city, 
t^'ained his insight into a business which 
has de\cloped in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
into the present corporation, G. Haar- 
mann cK: Company (Inc.). of which he is 
president. He is a son of Frederick Haar- 
mann, foreman in a brass factory in Men- 
don, Westphalia, JVussia, where he died 
at the age of fifty-four. Frederick Haar- 
mann married Sophia Greningho, who 
died in Mendon. They were the parents 
of Henry, Emma, Gustav, of further men- 
tion ; and Bertha. Emma is deceased, but 
both Henry and Bertha are living in Ger- 
many, Henry having two sons in the Ger- 
man army, both of whom have been deco- 
rated with the Iron Cross for valor at 
Verdun. 

Gustav Flaarmann was born in Mendon, 
Westphalia, Prussia, September 12, i860, 
and was there educated, taking special 
courses in music and drawing. He con- 
tinued in his native city until twenty-four 
years of age, employed in brass works, 
manufacturing pipes for various purposes 
and brass musical instruments. In 1884 
he came to the United States, arriving at 
New York City and remaining in that 
vicinity two years, a teacher of instru- 
mental and vocal music and leader of his 
own orchestra. In 1886 he located in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, and was for a time 
with the W^hiting Paper Company. He 
was also employed by the C. H. Bausch 
t'^; Sons Machine Tool Company, and later 
was with the Bausch & Harris Machine 
Tool Company of Brightwood, Spring- 
field, remaining in the employ of the last 
named company until 1900. In that year 
he began manufacturing under his own 
name as a partner in the Haarmann & 



168 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Derichs Structural Iron Works, but soon 
purchased his partner's interest and con- 
tinued the business under the firm name, 
Ilaarmann & Son. A very successful busi- 
ness was conducted as a firm until 1913, 
when he incorporated as S. Haarmann & 
Company (Inc.), of which he is president 
and treasurer. The present plant of the 
company on Commercial street, Holyoke, 
was erected in 1909, but additions have 
been made constantly. The company are 
manufacturers of structural steel and 
other building material and employ about 
forty men and ship their ])roduct to all 
the New England States. New York, and 
New Jersey. Mr. Haarmann is a thor- 
ough master of his business from a prac- 
tical standpoint, a wise executive, and a 
capable manager. 

Mr. Haarmann married (first) in Hol- 
yoke, ^Massachusetts, Antowith Hahna- 
mann, who died in 1891, daughter of 
Frank Hahnamann. He married (sec- 
ond) in 1892, Ulrika Taushor, born in 
Saxony, Germany, daughter of Frank 
Taushor. The only child of Gustav and 
Antowith (Hahnamann) Haarmann is a 
son. Frank, born December 14, 1890, edu- 
cated in Holyoke public schools, now 
superintendent of the plant of C. Haar- 
mann & Company (Inc.). Gustav and 
Ulrika (Taushor) Haarmann are the par- 
ents of two sons : i. Gustav (2), born No- 
vember 4, 1894; educated in Holyoke 
schools ; now a bookkeeper in the employ 
of G. Haarmann & Company (Inc.) ; he 
married, December 26, 1914, Albertina, 
daughter of F. X. Densereau, of Holyoke ; 
they have one daughter. Reta, born March 
29, 1917. 2. Frederick, born September 
12. 1898. 



REVETT, Frank Haynes, 

Business Man. 

Although the Revetts were long seated 
in England, they were of French-Hugue- 



not descent. Two generations of the fam- 
ily, William Revett and his son, Frank 
11. Revett, have made Holyoke their 
home, the father, now deceased, but the 
son one of the business men of the city, 
lioth were born in England, son and 
grandson of Captain William Revett, born 
in Fastfield, Norfolkshire, England, March 
16, 1801, died in his native England in 
1848. He was a farmer prior to his re- 
moval to Bradford in Yorkshire, but in 
the latter place a captain of police, having 
been a watchman during the "Tartus 
Riots" and a member of the police force 
after the establishment of a regular sys- 
tem of protection. He remained a cap- 
tain until his death, his the second death 
from the regular force. Captain William 
Revett married, April 20, 1824. Ann Mi- 
son, born in Fastfield, England, in 1805. 
They were the parents of: Mary Ann, 
Elizabeth. Martha, Ezekiel, Eliza, Wil- 
liam (2), of further mention, and James 
Revett. 

William (2) Revett, son of Captain 
William (i) Revett, was born in Brad- 
ford, Yorkshire, England. October 31, 
1838, and died in Westfield, Massachu- 
setts, January 10, 1903. In England he 
was a warehouseman in the textile busi- 
ness, serving an apprenticeship of seven 
years to qualify for the position he held. 
In 1882 he came to America for his health, 
going first to Canada, where in out-of- 
door work on Dominion railroads he re- 
gained his health in a large degree. In 
1883 he came to the United States, locat- 
ing in Manchester, New Hampshire, there 
remaining until 1889. employed as a fin- 
isher in a cloth textile mill. In 1889 he 
came to Holyoke, entered the employ of 
the Farr Alpaca Company as a finisher, 
remaining with that company until his 
retirement a few years prior to his death, 
making his home in Westfield. He was a 
man of quiet, home loving tastes, a mem- 
ber of the Manchester Unity, Odd Fel- 



169 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lows in England, and of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows in this country, 
and was a past noble grand of the order. 
In religious faith he was a Methodist. 
William {2) Revett married, August 6, 
1864. Sarah Ann Allen, born in Manches- 
ter, England, January 3, 1832. died in Hol- 
yoke, in November, 191 3, daughter of 
George and Ann Allen. They were the 
parents of five children, all born in Brad- 
ford, England: Lucy Ann. born Novem- 
ber 7, 1865, died February 25, 1891 ; Eliz- 
abeth, born September 15. 1867, married, 
April 25. 1887, George M. Goodwin ; Eliza, 
born February 23, 1869, died February 
II, 1871 ; Frank Haynes. of further men- 
tion ; James William, born October 28, 
1874. married, and has children: William, 
Jessie and George 

Frank Haynes Revett, eldest son of 
William (2) and Sarah Ann (Allen) 
Revett, was born in Bradford, Yorkshire, 
England, August 28, 1872. He attended 
public school in Bradford until eleven 
years of age. his mother and her children 
then joining the father in Manchester, 
New Hampshire. On arriving there in 
1883, Frank H. resumed his studies, at- 
tending both the Franklin and Lincoln 
street schools. After completing his stud- 
ies, he secured employment in the Man- 
chester Mill, later going to the Ezeldam 
Hosiery Mill in Manchester and there re- 
maining until coming to Holyoke. In 
Holyoke he was with the Farr Alpaca 
Company for nine months, then decided 
to learn the plumber's trade. He served 
an apprenticeship of four years with C. 
P. Lyman, of Holyoke. then worked for 
a year in Boston, spending the next twelve 
years in the employ of plumbing firms in 
Westfield. Massachusetts. In 1906 he be- 
gan business for himself in Holyoke with 
headquarters in Elmwood, and has built 
up a prosperous plumbing business. He is 
a member of the Master Plumbers' Associ- 



ation, which he has represented in a num- 
ber of State conventions. He is a member 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
Mount Moriah Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons; Mt. Holyoke Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons; Mt. Holyoke Council, 
Royal and Select Masters ; and is an at- 
tendant of the First Baptist Church. 

Mr. Revett married, September 30, 
1900, Caroline Woolley, born in Toronto, 
Canada, daughter of George and Sarah 
(Brett) Woolley, her father born in Eng- 
land. Mr. and Mrs. Revett are the par- 
ents of: Olive Lucy, born in Westfield, 
Massachusetts. July 3. 1901 ; Frances Ger- 
trude, born in Westfield, January 13. 1903 ; 
Allan Haynes, born in Holyoke, October 
20, 1909 ; Ruth Elizabeth, born in Hol- 
yoke, July 9, 1915. 



GIFFORD, Stephen Elmore. 

Master Mechanic, Veteran of Civil War. 

When a lad of fifteen years, Stephen E. 
Giflford answered his country's call and, 
from November, 1863, until the surrender 
of General Lee. was in the thick of the 
fight. That early devotion to the call of 
duty has ever characterized his life, and 
the position he has held with Holyoke's 
leading industries as master mechanic for 
forty-five years is the proof. He is a son 
of Jesse Giflford. and a grandson of John 
Giflford, the latter a farmer of Lee, Massa- 
chusetts, who died in 1751, leaving chil- 
dren: Martin, William. Harry. Jesse and 
Sarah. Jesse Giflford. born in Lee. Massa- 
chusetts, died at Tyringham, Berkshire 
county. Massachusetts, a farmer. He mar- 
ried Julia Vedeto. daughter of John Ve- 
deto. of Tyringham. They were the par- 
ents of sons, Henry, and Stephen Elmore, 
of further mention, and of a daughter, 
Lillian. 

Stephen Elmore Giflford was born in 
East Lee, Berkshire countv, Massachu- 



170 





<s 




a^ 



^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



setts, December 5, 1848. lie attended 
Lee and Stockbridge public schools until 
ten years of age, then left home and 
henceforth , made his own way in the 
world, his first compensation being board 
and clothing. But he did make his way, 
and for the next five years not only sup- 
ported himself but obtained additional 
education. He developed a strong and 
healthy body in which beat a stout, cour- 
ageous heart, and after fighting his own 
battle for five years he applied for and 
was granted the privilege of fighting for 
his country. He enlisted on November 
9, 1863, in Company E, Thirty-fourth 
Regiment, Massachusetts Infantry, and 
for two years and three months was in 
the service before receiving his honorable 
discharge, the last eight months before 
the war was over being stationed in Rich- 
mond, Virginia. During his service he was 
engaged in many battles, fighting with his 
regiment in the Shenandoah Valley, at 
Newmarket, Lynchburg, Cedar Creek, 
Hatcher's Run, Winchester and Fisher's 
Hill under Sheridan ; was under Grant at 
Petersburg and at the capture of Fort 
Gregg, where out of two hundred and 
sixty-eight defenders of the fort only thir- 
ty-one were left alive to surrender, and at 
Appomattox was in full view of General 
Lee when final surrender was made. His 
service was largely with the Thirty-fourth 
Massachusetts Regiment. 

Safely passing the perils of war, the boy 
veteran returned to South Lee, and for 
two and one-half years was employed in 
a paper mill. Later he learned the car- 
penter's trade in Stockbridge, there con- 
tinuing until 1873, when he located in 
Holyoke as an expert mechanic with thor- 
ough knowledge of mill construction. 
Forty-three years have since elapsed, and 
during that entire period he has been en- 
gaged as superintendent and master me- 
chanic. He was in chargre of the construc- 



tion of the addition to the first plant of 
the I'^arr Alpaca Company, and in 1886 
superintended the erection of a second 
plant for the same company. He served 
the Franklin Mills as master mechanic for 
two and a half years, the Skinner Silk 
Mills for eleven years in the same capac- 
ity, and for nearly twenty-four years has 
occupied a similar position with the Whit- 
ing Paper Mills. This fact alone be- 
speaks his merit, for the duties of master 
mechanic are responsible ones and on him 
depends the successful operation of a vast 
I)lant employing many hands. For six- 
teen years Mr. Giflford was a member of 
the Volunteer Fire Department, and in 
1890-91 he represented his ward in Com- 
mon Council, serving on the committee 
on highways and bridges. He is a mem- 
ber of Kilpatrick Post, No. 71, Grand 
Army of the Republic, and of Mt. Tom 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
which latter body he has been a member 
since 1885, one of the oldest members in 
the order. 

Mr. GifYord married, October 2, 1869, 
Sarah Sullivan, of South Lee, Massachu- 
setts, who died August 30, 1913. Mr. and 
Mrs. Gifford w^ere the parents of three 
daughters and a son : Esther, married 
Ralph Fisk ; Florence, married Frederick 
Pinney, their children, Richard and Irene 
Pinney ; Mabel, deceased ; \\'alter. mar- 
ried Mrs. Blanche (Tougway) Howes, 
now residing in Brooklvn, New York. 



ATTINGER, George, 

Bnsiness Man. 

From the time of his coming to the 
United States in 1883 until his locating in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 1900, Mr. At- 
tinger's life did not lack variety, neither 
in ()ccuj)ation nor location. Since his set- 
tlement in that city he has steadily pur- 
sued the business of cigar manufacturing, 



171 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and has been very successful, ([uadrupling' 
his working force and establishing a very 
large trade among local retailers. He has 
ever been a worker, beginning at the age 
of thirteen years in his native Germany, 
and at no time has his energy or ambition 
lagged. He is a son of John G. Attinger, 
who was born in Germany, and there died 
in 1887, 'It the age of forty-seven years. 
He was a farmer, operating large vine- 
yards and wine presses. He married 
(first) Rose Bertch, who died in Decem- 
ber, 1868. He married (second) 

. who died February 15, 1916. Chil- 
dren of first marriage: Frederick, now in 
the German army; Mary, residing in New 
York ; George, of further mention. Chil- 
dren of second marriage: John and Wil- 
helm, both now in the German army ; 
Christina and Rosa. 

George Attinger, son of John G. At- 
tinger and his first wife, Rosa (Bertch) 
Attinger, was born in Owen, Kerkheim, 
Wodenburg, Germany, November 30, 
1868. He attended the public school until 
thirteen years of age, then began learning 
the cabinet maker's trade, at which he 
worked two years before coming to the 
United States in 1883. He was fifteen 
years of age when he came to Fairfield. 
Connecticut, and entered the employ of 
Ambrose Taylor, getting out ties, driving 
oxen, running an engine, in fact, doing 
any kind of work required of him. From 
Fairfield he went to Bridgeport, Connec- 
ticut, working in the casket department 
of the Buckingham Furniture Company, 
thence to South Norwalk, Connecticut, 
where he learned cigar making, going 
four and a half years later to New Haven, 
thence to Boston, these various changes 
consuming seventeen years of his life, 
1883-1900. He had become an expert 
cigar maker, was thoroughly informed in 
the details of tobacco manufacturing and 
having accumulated sufficient capital, in 



1900 he decided to start in business for 
himself. He chose Holyoke for a location, 
and with a force of four men began busi- 
ness under the firm name. The Attinger 
Cigar Company, but was himself the sole 
owner. He made goods entirely for the 
local trade and was successful from the 
start. In 1905 he bought the block, No. 
71 Main street, in which his business is 
located, and sixteen men are now em- 
ployed to meet the demand for his goods. 
His brands are popular, his business 
methods please his trade, and he can well 
corrg'Ta-tulate himself upon his standing in 
the business world of his adopted city. 
He has numerous fraternal and social 
affiliations, belonging to the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, the Knights 
of Pythias, the City Club, Park Lyceum, 
Bay State Club and the Springdale Turn 
Verein. In political faith he is an Inde- 
pendent. 



BATCHELOR, Robert Gilbert, 

Representative Citizen. 

This branch of the Batchelor family 
was founded in the United States by 
Philip Batchelor, great-grandfather of 
Robert G. Batchelor, of Holyoke. His 
son. Henry Batchelor, remained in his na- 
tive England, but Henry's son. Frederick 
Batchelor, came with his grandfather, 
Philip Batchelor, and finally settled in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, where his son, 
Robert G. Batchelor, was born. Philip 
Henry and Frederick Batchelor were 
manufacturers of cloth, both in England 
and the United States, men of skill and 
industry. 

Philip Batchelor was born in England 
in 1792, came to the United States in 1857, 
and died in Granby, Massachusetts, in 
1864. In England he was engaged in the 
cloth manufacturing mills, and in Granby 
was employed in the same line of activity 



172 



ThK 



?fEH' 



^public' irrl 



ril^Ds^- Ji^^ox i 







^yecler^K ziSa/fc/tc/x 



'^r- 



E.XCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



until his death. He had sons, John, .Vl- 
fred, Frederick, Henry, of further men- 
tion, and daughters, Xaomi. Jane, Maria. 

Henry Batchelor, born in Trowbridge, 
Wiltshire, England, there resided all his 
life, and died August 25, 1892, aged seven- 
ty-two years. He was a woolen manu- 
facturer, also a landowner, conducting 
farming operations. He married Fannie 
Martin, born in England, and there died 
January 13, 1872, aged fifty-nine years. 
They were the parents of: Maria; Fred- 
erick, of further mention ; Henry, Ann, 
Alfred, Edward, Ruth, George, Agnes and 
Owen. 

Frederick Batchelor was born in Trow- 
bridge, Wiltshire, England, November 30, 
1839, and died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
November 7, 1916. He was educated in 
Trowbridge schools, and until 1857 was 
employed in the woolen mills there. In 
that year he came to the United States 
with his grandfather, Philip Batchelor, 
settling with him in Granby, Massachu- 
setts, and there continuing until the out- 
break of war between the North and 
South. He enlisted early in the struggle 
and served, until disabled, in Company 
D, Twenty-seventh Regiment, Massachu- 
setts Volunteer Infantry. He enlisted in 
1861, accompanied Burnside's expedition 
to North Carolina and wdiile in a trans- 
port going around Cape Hatteras a terri- 
ble storm was encoimtered, and during 
the pitching of the vessel he had a leg 
broken and was in the hospital for some 
time, and after eleven months was honor- 
ably discharged. After his recovery, he 
remained in Granby until 1864, when he 
moved to Holyoke, his home until death. 
He was an active man. and in the pursuit 
of business crossed the Atlantic seven 
times and made several coastwise trips 
South. He was a well known amateur 
botanist, loved flowers and grew them in 
profusion. He was a member of the old 



volunteer fire department, belonging to 
Relief Steamer Company, and afifiliated 
with the Veterans of the Civil War in 
Kilpatrick Post, No. 71, Grand Army of 
the Republic. 

Mr. Batchelor married, April 26, 1866, 
Mary Ann Hogan, born in County Clare, 
Ireland, daughter of John and Bridget 
(Consedine) Hogan. Mr. and Mrs. Bat- 
chelor were the parents of five children, 
all born in Holyoke, IMassachusetts : i. 
Mary Agnes, born September i, 1867, 
married Frank H. Wade, then of Spring- 
field, now of Holyoke, Massachusetts. 2. 
Alfred Henry, born June 5, 1870, married 
Louise Dowling Read, and has a daugh- 
ter, W^inifred Mary. 3. Frederick John, 
born July 6, 1875, married, May 7, 1903, 
Leola Bronson ; children : Ruth Madeline 
and Robert Franklin. 4. Fannie, born 
July 27, 1879, died July 18, 1916; married 
William C. Bohl. 5. Robert Gilbert, of 
further mention. 

Robert Gilbert Batchelor was born in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, October 7, 1882. 
A-fter preparation in Holyoke schools, he 
entered Cornell University, but the fail- 
ure of his health compelled him to leave 
the university before graduation. He was 
in the employ of the Dean Steam Pump 
Company for two years ; was with the 
Holyoke Paper Company nine years, 1903- 
12, then on account of his health was 
obliged to give up inside occupation. He 
spent two years in the forestry depart- 
ment of the city government, and is now 
living retired. 



DRESCHLER, John Franklin, 

Active Factor in Commnnity A£Pairi. 

The great-grandparents of John F. 
Dreschler, of Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
came from their home in \\'eitenberg. 
Upper Franconia, Bavaria (now part of 
the German Empire) in 1814, bringing 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



with them a son, Carl Ludwig Dreschler, 
born in Weitenberg, Bavaria, in 1792. 
For a time the family resided in New 
York City, where Carl L. Dreschler 
learned the blacksmith's trade. In later 
years he located in Tonawanda, Xew 
York, where he profitably pursued his 
trade, conducted a store, owned a farm, 
became one of the prominent men of the 
village, and at one time the owner of land 
upon which one-half of that now impor- 
tant town is built. He was a man of great 
energy and foresight, his wealth being ac- 
cumulated solely through his own eft'orts 
and wise investment. He died in Tona- 
wanda. in 1885, at the great age of ninety- 
three years. He married and had chil- 
dren: Minnie. Mary. Adolph. of further 
mention ; Katherine, Hannah, Florence 
and Julius. 

Adolph Dreschler. son of Carl Ludwig 
Dreschler, was born in Xew York City, in 
1825. died in Buffalo, X'ew York. June 6. 
191^, a nonagenarian, although not quite 
reaching his father's age. He was edu- 
cated in Tonawanda schools, his parents 
having moved to that town in Western 
X'ew York during his youth, and there he 
learned the blacksmith's trade with his 
father. Later he became a farmer and a 
large landowner at Mt. Clemens. Michi- 
gan, selling out eventually at a handsome 
profit. His brother Julius also became a 
large landowner in Mt. Clemens, and yet 
retains very large holdings of real estate 
in that famed health resort. Adolph 
Dreschler. after disposing of his interests 
at Mt. Clemens, returned to New York 
State and located at Black Rock on the 
X'iagara river, later in life removing to 
Buffalo, where he lived a retired life for 
nearly forty years, but dealt considerably 
in real estate, buying, building and selling 
on his own account. He, like his parents 
and grandparents, was a member of the 
German Lutheran church, but was liberal 



in his religious views. He was a man of 
great energy, shrewd and farsighted, hon- 
orable and upright in his life and highly 
esteemed. He married, in 1847, ^iary 
Ritter, of Buffalo, who survived him and 
still resides in her native city, aged eighty- 
three years, daughter of Felix and Kather- 
ine (Rather) Ritter. Adolph and Mary 
Dreschler were the parents of a large fam- 
ily : Mary, deceased ; Felix ; Edward, de- 
ceased ; Charlotte ; Ludwig, deceased ; 
John Franklin, of further mention ; Wil- 
liam H., deceased ; Martha and Rosilla. 

John Franklin Dreschler, of the fourth 
generation of the family m the United 
States, son of Adolph and Mary ( Ritter j 
Dreschler, was born in Mt. Clemens, 
Michigan, May 25. 1864. \\'hen he was 
six years of age his parents returned to 
XeAv York State, where he attended pub- 
lic school Xo. 10 in Buft'alo. a private 
school for six months and German Lu- 
theran College for one year. After leav- 
ing college he was for a time associated 
with the planing mill business, then for 
ten years was engaged with the John C. 
Hamilton Lumber Company as foreman. 
He left that company to become superin- 
tendent of the Chapin Hall Lumber Com- 
pany of Xewark, Xew Jersey, remaining 
with that company ten years. He next 
established in business for himself in Xew 
York City, there conducting a cabinet 
m.aking shop for four and one-half years, 
selling that business to become general 
superintendent for Hoxson Brothers, con- 
tractors and builders, remaining with that 
firm three years. He then, in 1913, formed 
a connection with the well known Casper 
Ranger Lumber Company of Holyoke. 
Massachusetts (see history of this com- 
pany under separate heading), and still 
continues as general superintendent. He 
is a Republican in politics, and has always 
been active in party work wherever lo- 
cated. He is a past chancellor com- 

74 



_■--!;, Lenox knb 




y)^z^^^^<^ ^^Pi^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mander of the Knights of Pythias, being 
the youngest man in New York State 
elected to that office. He is a member of 
the Royal Arcanum, and a past grand 
regent of the State of New York; also 
belongs to the Order of Orioles and to the 
Butter Club of Holyoke. He is true to 
the religious teachings of his youth, and 
while located in Newark aided in the erec- 
tion of a new German Lutheran church. 
Mr. Dreschler married, in December, 
1888, Alma Strauss, born in Koenisgberg, 
capital of East Prussia, Germany, in No- 
vember, 1869. They are the parents of 
two daughters : Olive, died aged three 
years; Edna, born September 6, 1891, 
married John Balsir, of Buffalo, New 
York, and has a daughter, Jennie, born 
January 3, 1913. 



COLLINGWOOD, James, 

Autliority on Art of Dyeing. 

In the great mills of his native York- 
shire, England, Mr. Collingwood mastered 
the dyer's art, and in Yorkshire, Philadel- 
phia and New Jersey mills gained a rich 
experience that for the past twenty-eight 
years has been employed for the benefit 
and profit of the Farr Alpaca Company of 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, one of New 
England's most important manufacturing 
corporations. He comes from a family of 
mill workers, his father, Joseph Colling- 
wood, having been connected with York- 
shire mills from boyhood to old age. Jo- 
seph Collingwood was born in Halifax, 
Yorkshire, England, about 1826, and died 
at Bradford, in his native county, at the 
age of seventy. His work was principally 
as stock warehouseman in the dye house. 
Most of his life was spent in Bradford and 
there his children were born. He mar- 
ried Mary Smith, and they were the par- 
ents of the following daughters : A.nn 
Eliza, Grace, Emily and Maria; sons: 
Charles and James. 



James Collingwood was born in Brad- 
ford, Yorkshire, England, November 29, 
1849, son of Joseph and Mary (Smith) 
Collingwood. Until fourteen years of age 
he attended Bradford schools, and since 
1864 has been connected with the dyeing 
departments of textile mills in England 
and the United States. He became an 
expert dyer and held good positions in 
Bradford mills during the years 1864-71, 
but in the latter year decided to come to 
the United States. He located in Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania, but after a few 
months spent in a textile mill there re- 
turned to England and resumed his trade 
in Bradford, continuing until 1876, when 
he came to the United States and again 
located in Philadelphia. He spent a year 
there, then was employed for three years 
in New Jersey mills, returning to Phila- 
delphia in 1880 and there remaining until 
1887. His work during those years was 
entirely as a dyer, his engagements being 
with the best mills in the section named. 
In 1887 he located in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, and formed an association with the 
Farr Alpaca Company, and since then has 
been continuously in the employ of that 
company in charge of the color and proc- 
ess dyeing department. He is thorough- 
ly skilled in the mysteries of dyeing as 
applied to textiles, and in all matters per- 
taining to his art is an unquestioned au- 
thority. His long retention in the posi- 
tion he holds is the best proof of the value 
placed upon his services and higher eulo- 
gy could not be uttered. He has taken 
more than ordinary interest in Holyoke 
civic affairs, has served in City Council, 
and in party affiliation is a Republican. 
He is a member of Mt. Tom Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; Holyoke Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons ; Holyoke Council, 
Royal and Select Masters, and is a com- 
municant of the Second Baptist Church. 

Mr. Collingwood married, November 
22, 1873, Sarah Jane McFarland, born in 



175 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Huddersfield, a borough of the West 
Riding of Yorkshire, England, daughter 
of Ward and Jane (Beaulandj McFar- 
land. Mr. and Mrs. CollingAvood are the 
parents of five children: Emily, born in 
Bradford, England; Joseph, born in Phil- 
adelphia, Pennsylvania, now a dyer in the 
employ of the Farr Alpaca Company of 
Holyoke, married May E. Alderman, of 
Holyoke ; Jane Eliza, born in Holyoke, 
married John L. Bagg, of Holyoke. and 
has a daughter, Elizabeth Bagg; George, 
born in Holyoke, now a steel worker in 
Ohio; Frank, born in Holyoke, now with 
the Magna Automobile Company of Hol- 
yoke. 



GLESMANN, August Frank, 
Business Man. 

Although born in Germany, Mr. Gles- 
mann has been a resident of Holyoke since 
his eighth year, and as an official of the 
Dietz Baking Company is closely identi- 
fied with a business with which he has 
been associated from youth. He is a 
grandson of Frank Glesmann, who lived 
and died in Germany, and a son of Frank 
(2) Glesmann. 

Frank (2) Glesmann was born in Posen. 
Germany, October 18, 1839, and died in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, October 27, 1908. 
He obtained a good education, and in his 
youth was employed by a stock farmer as 
a shepherd. Later he entered railroad 
employ as a brakesman, so continuing for 
fifteen years. He came to the United 
States, September 14, 1882, located in 
Holyoke, and there until his death, twen- 
ty-six years later, was an employee of the 
Germania Mills. He was a member of 
the German Lutheran church, a man of 
industrious, upright life. He married, 
February 9, 1868. Mrs. Christina (Shultz) 
Domke, born in Hohensalza, Posen, Ger- 
many, November 12, 1838, daughter of 



Karl and Elizabeth (Veisner) Shultz, and 
widow of W'ilhelm Domke. By her first 
marriage she had a daughter Bertha, who 
married Richard Herman Dietz. Frank 
and Christina Glesmann were the parents 
of five children: Minnie, married Otto 
Fromhold and has a son, Arthur ; Amelia, 
married Henry Schloerb and has two 
daughters, Margaret and Erma ; August 
Frank, of further mention ; Anna, married 
Ernest Ruckdeschel, a sketch of whom 
follows, and has sons, Edwin and Walter; 
Max, died aged two years. 

August Frank Glesmann, only son of 
Frank and Christina Glesmann, was born 
in Posen, Germany, August 3, 1874. He 
attended a Posen school for two years, 
but in 1882 his parents brought him to 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, and there his 
education was completed. After leaving 
school, he entered the employ of Richard 
H. Dietz. husband of his half-sister. Ber- 
tha, and with him acquired expert knowl- 
edge of the baking business. He con- 
tinued in a responsible position with Mr. 
Dietz until the incorporation of the Dietz 
Baking Company, when he was elected 
vice-president of the company. He is a 
capable and efficient business man, held 
in high esteem by all who know him. 

Mr. Glesmann married, in 1901, Emma 
Price, daughter of Edward and Rose Price, 
of Holyoke. Mr. and Mrs. Glesmann are 
the parents of four children: Helen, Ed- 
ward, Doris and Esther. 



RUCKDESCHEL, Ernest, 

Head of Rnckdeschel Press. 

Brought by his parents from his native 
Bohemia in 1882, a child of three years, 
Mr. Ruckdeschel knows no other land 
than this, and has in his adopted city 
pursued a course of successful effort, and 
is now the head of a prosperous printing 
business conducted under his own name. 



176 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



His grand and great-grandfather were 
professional men in liohemia, Austria, the 
latter a school teacher, his son John a 
lawyer and clerk of court in the city of 
Asch, the westernmost town of Bohemia. 

August Ruckdeschel, son of John Ruck- 
deschel, was born in Asch, Bohemia, Aus- 
tria, October 30, 1853, died in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, September 29, 1904. He 
attended school until fourteen years of 
age, then was employed in the textile 
mills, becoming- an expert weaver. He 
lemained in his native land until after his 
marriage, coming with his wife and son 
to the United States in 1882, arriving in 
New York in April of that year. He lo- 
cated in Holyoke, Massachusetts, there 
finding employment in the Germania 
Mills, later g"oing to the Skinner Silk 
Mills, there continuing for several years. 
He married, January i, 1878, Eva Holz- 
heimer, born in the town of Selb, Bavaria, 
daughter of John and Eva Margaret 
(Hendeck) Holzheimer. They were the 
parents of four children : Ernest, of fur- 
ther mention ; Elsie, born in Holyoke, 
May 21, 1884, married William Flittner 
and has two sons, Ferdinand and Wil- 
liam ; ]\Iax, born September 26, 1885, a 
linotype operator, married Edith Seidel 
and has a daughter, Judith ; Ferdinand, 
born February 3, 1888, a printer, of New 
York City. 

Ernest Ruckdeschel, eldest son of Au- 
gust and Eva (Holzheimer) Ruckdeschel, 
was born in Asch, Bohemia, Austria, July 
26, 1879, and in 1882 was brought by his 
parents to Holyoke. After completing 
courses of public school study, he began 
learning the printer's trade with the 
Powers Paper Company, in their print- 
ing department, spending three years with 
that company. The years until 1902 were 
spent in the employment of the Holyoke 
houses. Smith & White Company, Hub- 
bard & Taber, three years each. In 1902 
he entered the employ of White & Wy- 

Mass— 6— 12 I 



ckoff and remained until 1908. He then 
went to Poole Brothers, Chicago, Illinois, 
and remained there for a short time. 
White & Wyckoff requested him to re- 
turn and take charge of their printing 
department, and this he did and remained 
until 1910, when he went to the printing 
plant of John C. Otto, of Springfield, as 
foreman. During these years he had be- 
come not only an expert in its mechanical 
features, but had acquired an intimate 
knowledge of printing as a business, and 
in 1913 established a plant for himself. 
Coming to Holyoke he began business 
under the name of The Ruckdeschel 
Press. He now maintains a plant for ex- 
ecuting orders for all kinds of color, also 
die stamping and engraving. To his ex- 
pert knowledge of printing as a trade, he 
added four years' instruction in art under 
the famous August Castringius, a talented 
artist, whose ability has been recognized 
by a medal of honor from Munich Uni- 
versity and a gold medal from Paris. 
Liability and service are the watchwords 
of The Ruckdeschel Press, and the re- 
sponse from the public has been a steadily 
increasing patronage and a constantly 
growing business. Mr. Ruckdeschel is a 
member of the Connecticut Valley Club 
of Printing House Craftsmen and a mem- 
ber of the Franz Abt Maennerchor, the 
German Lutheran church and of the 
Young Men's Society of that church. 

He married, October 24, 1900, Anna 
Glesmann, daughter of Frank and Chris- 
tina (Shultz-Domke) Glesmann, a sketch 
of whom precedes this. They are the 
parents of two sons : Edwin Ernest, born 
March 21, 1902; Walter Franz, May 4, 
1906. 



SHEA, Daniel, 

Representative Citizen. 

Among Holyoke's well known citizens 
who have been identified with the best 



77 



EX'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR.\PHY 



interests of the city for some years is 
Daniel Shea, who, although not a native 
of the United States, is known and hon- 
ored for his devotion to the country of 
his adoption, also for his sterling qualities 
and his cooperation in every project that 
has for its object the betterment of the 
community and the uplift of mankind. 

John Shea, grandfather of Daniel Shea, 
was a native of Ireland, in which country 
he spent his entire lifetime, devoting his 
attention to the tilling of the soil, and he 
lived to the advanced age of eighty-five 
years, his death occurring in his native 
land in the year 1885. His wife, also a 
native of Ireland, bore him three children : 
James, Maurice, Daniel, of whom further. 

Daniel Shea, father of Daniel Shea, of 
this review, was born in County Kerry, 
Ireland, 1829. He attended the common 
schools of the neighborhood, assisted in 
the work of his father's farm, and upon 
attaining manhood years followed in his 
father's footsteps, devoting his entire at- 
tention to agricultural pursuits. In 1879, 
at the age of fifty years, he left his native 
land in the hope of advancing the interests 
of both himself and his family, and upon 
arriving in the United States located in 
the city of Holyoke, Massachusetts, and 
for a number of years was in the employ 
of the city government, performing his 
duties in a creditable manner. He mar- 
ried, in Ireland, Joanna McCarthy, a na- 
tive of Ireland, and they were the parents 
of five children : Mary, who became the 
wife of ^Michael McDonald; Maurice; 
James ; Daniel, of whom further, and 
Dennis. Daniel Shea. Sr., died in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, January, 19 13. aged 
eighty-four years. 

Daniel Shea, Jr., was born in Dingle, 
Ireland, May 15, 1866. His youth was 
spent in his native land, his time occupied 
by attendance at the school in the neigh- 
borhood of his home and assisting with 



the work of the home farm. He accom- 
panied his parents upon their removal to 
the United States, he being then thirteen 
years of age, and for some time thereafter 
he attended the night schools of Holyoke, 
in this manner greatly supplementing the 
knowledge gained during his earlier years. 
His first employment was in the paper 
mills in Holyoke, his term of service ex- 
tending over a period of seven years, dur- 
ing which time he gained a good insight 
in the manufacture of that most useful 
commodity, paper. In the year 1888 he 
severed his connection with the paper mill 
in order to carry out his purpose of see- 
ing something of his adopted country, and 
accordingly made his way to the Pacific 
coast, where he remained for twenty-three 
years, that section of the country proving 
more to his liking than the eastern sec- 
tion, during which time he made his 
headquarters in the city of San Francisco, 
and during the time spent there was con- 
nected wuth a telephone company. In 
191 1 he returned east and once more took 
up his abode in Holyoke, purchasing there 
"The Rosamond." located on Pleasant 
street, an apartment house consisting of 
eighteen suites, and during the interven- 
ing years has devoted his entire time to 
looking after this property, which he 
keeps in first-class condition. In religion 
he is a Catholic, interested in the work of 
the Holy Cross Church, and in politics is 
an Independent. 

Mr. Shea married, in 191 1, Annie Lynch, 
of Holyoke, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Michael and Katherine (O'Donnell) 
Lynch, also born in Holyoke. In their 
daily life Mr. and Mrs. Shea endeavor 
to do their full duty, actuated by a spirit 
of love toward all mankind, and thus have 
won and retained the respect and esteem 
of all with whom they are brought in con- 
tact, whether in business, political or so- 
cial circles. 



178 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPi 1 \ 



WILLIAMS, Frank, 

Snccessful Manufacturer. 

In the subject of this review we have 
a man who has attained a high position in 
the business world, a self-made man, hav- 
ing worked his way up, step by step, 
without the aid of parents, he being left 
an orphan at an early age, without capital 
or influential friends, but he made good 
use of his meagre opportunities, and since 
engaging in business on his own account 
has prospered from year to year, conduct- 
ing his business matters carefully and 
systematically, and in all his acts display- 
ing an aptitude for successful manage- 
ment. 

Frank Williams was born in New York 
City, August 8, 1865. His father was a 
native of England, in which country he 
was reared and educated, the male mem- 
bers of the family being seafaring men. 
In manhood he emigrated to this country, 
taking passage from Liverpool, England, 
and during the progress of the Civil War 
he enlisted his services in defense of his 
adopted land and probably lost his life in 
that conflict as he never returned to his 
home, consequently his son never knew 
him and never experienced a father's care. 
His mother was a Southern woman, and 
her death occurred in Orange county, New 
York, when her son was eight years of 
age, leaving him thus alone at the age 
wiien most boys are enjoying all the ad- 
vantages of home and the protection of 
parents. He was then placed in the care 
of a family in Paterson, New Jersey, with 
whom he resided until he was about four- 
teen years of age, in the meantime attend- 
ing the common schools ot that place, and 
then, his surroundings not being to his 
liking, he ran away and made his way to 
Newark, New Jersey, where he lived with 
a family by the name of Judson for a num- 
ber of years. He was alw^ays fond of the 



water, probably inheriting that taste from 
his paternal ancestors, and for the follow- 
ing live or six years he followed the water 
as a means of livelihood, running engines 
in yachts and attending the regattas. 

Mr. Judson, his benefactor, was a manu- 
facturer of screen plates for paper mills, 
his plant being located in Newark, New 
Jersey, and Mr. Williams eventually be- 
came an employee in his factory, becom- 
ing thoroughly familiar with the details 
of the business, and subsequently brought 
out some valuable patents of his own in 
connection with the screen plates, which 
added greatly to their value and useful- 
ness. In the meantime Mr. Judson died, 
and for some time thereafter Air. Wil- 
liams conducted the business in the inter- 
est of the widow of Mr. Judson. In 1896 
Mr. Williams removed to Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, and established a similar line 
of business under the name of Judson & 
Williams, using the name of Judson in 
honor of his former employer and bene- 
factor, but being the sole owner of the 
business. At first he rented quarters from 
the Water Power Company, but in 1906 
erected the commodious plant at No. 115 
Park street, Holyoke, which he has used 
ever since in the manufacture of screen 
plates, for which there is a constant and 
ever increasing demand, there being only 
two other plants in this country engaged 
in the manufacture of the same article. 
A portion of his building is occupied by 
Higgins & Company Brass Foundry, of 
which Mr. Williams is the principal owner, 
this being one of the leading industries of 
Holyoke, giving employment to many 
hands. In addition to his manufacturing 
business, in which he requires the services 
of a large force of skilled operatives, Mr. 
Williams has devoted considerable time to 
real estate operations, which he conducts 
on an extensive scale, he being the owner 
of valuable property in the city of Hol- 



179 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



yoke, and he is also the owner of an apple 
orchard in the State of Washington, 
which is in a high state of cultivation, 
and from which he derives a goodly in- 
come. The chief characteristics in Mr. 
Williams" business career are his honesty 
of purpose, his determination to succeed 
and his straightforward and honorable 
methods of conducting his affairs, and 
these qualities have been the means of 
securing for him a liberal and constantly 
increasing patronage. Mr. Williams is a 
m.ember of the Baptist church, in the work 
of which he takes an active interest, of 
Holyoke Lodge, No. 134, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and of the en- 
campment of the same order. 

Mr. Williams married, ]\Iay 11, 1907, 
Edna Brainard, of South Hadley Falls, 
Massachusetts, daughter of Halsey and 
Emma (Graves) Brainard. They are both 
well and favorably known in the section 
in which they make their home, and they 
enjoy the high regard of many friends. 



BEAUREGARD, Alexandre, 

Contractor, Builder. 

Alexandre Beauregard, of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, comes of an old and re- 
spected French-Canadian family. Charles 
Beauregard, great-grandfather of Alex- 
andre Beauregard, who was a man of 
wealth, was a hotel keeper in Canada. 
He had considerable real estate interests 
there also, the steady rise in value of 
which brought him wealth. At his death, 
liis possessions were divided among his 
sons, of whom we are interested in Alex- 
andre Beauregard, grandfather of the 
subject of this article. He was born in 
the Province of Quebec, Canada. Inherit- 
ing so much land, he was naturally a 
farmer, and this vocation he followed all 
his life on the estates left him by his 
father. His wife was Mary Tathe. They 



were the parents of Alexandre (2) Beau- 
regard, father of the respected Holyoke 
resident of present interest. 

Alexandre {2) Beauregard was born on 
the family estate, Province of Quebec, 
Canada, in the year 1847, and at this writ- 
ing (1916J is still actively interested in 
his farming affairs at South Hadley, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he has resided for twen- 
ty-four years. He was educated in the 
district school of his native place, but, as 
the son of well-to-do parents, this ele- 
mentary foundation of knowledge was 
supplemented by a course at St. Hya- 
cinthe College. After completing his 
course there, he returned home, and as- 
sisted his father in the working and man- 
agement of the family estate and farm. 
In May, 1885, he came over the border 
into the United States, locating in East 
jaffrey, New Hampshire. He was em- 
ployed in a mill there for seven years. In 
1892 he came into Massachusetts, pur- 
chasing a farm in South Hadley tow^nship, 
where he still lives. He is of the old type 
of French-Canadian gentlemen, and while 
resident in that country took an active 
part in Canadian politics. He w'as a 
staunch Conservative, and worked keenly 
and indefatigably in the interests of that 
party. His wife, whom he married in 
Canada, was Edwith Shepard. To them 
Avere born the following: Alexandre (3), 
Horace, Clarice, Edward, Euclid, Alice, 
Almina, Eulalia, Rosa, Mary and Louise. 

Alexandre (3) Beauregard was born at 
St. Hyacinthe, Province of Quebec, Can- 
ada, November 5, 1869. After an educa- 
tion in the elementary schools, he entered 
1 csolutely into the working of his father's 
farm. In 1885 he came with his parents 
to New Hampshire, and for a time re- 
mained with them, assisting his father at 
the mill at East Jaffrey, that State. He 
later journeyed further south, and found 
work at W'orcester, Massachusetts, but 
80 




^':&^ay>^JiZ(^S^6.i^^^cn.'^^-^'^L 



-v^buc 



^ST^^- 



L 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in 1892 he moved to Holyoke, ^lassachu- 
setts in which city he has made his home 
ever since. He learned the carpenter's 
trade, and was employed by others for a 
number of years before embarking in busi- 
ness for himself. Diligence, knowledge, 
initiative and self-conhdence developed 
his activities, until his business of con- 
tractor and builder assumed considerable 
proportions. He eventually formed a 
partnership with Mr. Choiniere, under the 
firm name of Choiniere & Beauregard, and 
their success has been gratifying and ap- 
preciable. They have erected many nota- 
ble structures, and have done considerable 
work in Springfield, ^lassachusetts, as 
well as in Holyoke. Mr. Beauregard built 
and owns the Cambria Apartment House, 
on Appleton street, Holyoke. He is build- 
ing another block known as the Welling- 
ton 2nd. corner of Dwight and Linden 
streets, which has sixteen beautiful apart- 
ments and five stores, and he is also build- 
ing two beautiful residence blocks. He is 
an Independent in politics. He is an en- 
thusiastic member of the Order of For- 
esters. 

On May 30, 1897. ^^^ married Rosaline 
Beaudoin, who is a native of his own 
Province, Quebec, Canada. The union 
has been blessed with issue as follows : 
Wilfred. Leo. Alec, Isabelle, Edna, \'iola 
and Evelina. 



BRADLEY, Arthur William, 

W^ell-Known Citizen. 

Michael Bradley, grandfather of Arthur 
William Bradley, of Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, was born in County Down, Ireland, 
in 1814, and died in Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania, from the effects of heat prostra- 
tion in 1866. He was educated in Ireland, 
and came to this country when a young 
man, in 1839, locating in Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania. He had learned the trade 
of handloom weaving in his native place, 



and after coming to America followed his 
trade in the winter months, working as a 
stone mason the remainder of the year. 
He served through the Civil War in the 
Twenty-eighth Pennsylvania Regiment, 
taking part in twenty-seven engagements 
and miraculously escaped without a wound 
of any kind. He married Rosa Brady. 
Children: Ellen; Peter; Arthur Joseph, 
mentioned below ; Cecilia ; Hugh, who 
served in the Civil War. was wounded in 
the battle of Fair Oaks and died in the 
military hospital, Baltimore ; John, served 
in the Civil War, was killed in the Battle 
of the Wilderness, and his body never re- 
covered ; Michael ; Charles ; Mary. 

Arthur Joseph Bradley, father of Arthur 
William Bradley, was born in County 
Down, Ireland, October 3. 1838. and 
came to this country with his parents 
when he was but six months old. He 
attended the public schools of Philadel- 
phia and w-as a resident of that city until 
1863, when he removed to Camden. Xew 
Jersey. Eight years later he moved from 
that city to Philadelphia, where he lived 
five years. In 1876 he removed to South 
Hadley Falls, Massachusetts. In 1889 he 
came to Holyoke and made his home 
there until 1910. since when he has been 
living at Amherst, Massachusetts. In his 
younger days he learned the trade of brick 
mason, and for many years worked at that 
trade in summer. For a number of years 
he was employed in the Alpaca Mills in 
Holyoke during the winter season, and 
later in the mills at W^altham, Massachu- 
setts. He has always taken a lively in- 
terest in public aflfairs. In politics he is 
a Democrat, and he has served on the 
Democratic town committee of South 
Hadley Falls and on the Democratic city 
committee of Waltham. He served in 
the L'nion army in the Civil War, enlist- 
ing February 10, 1865. in Company C, 
Eighty-first Xew York Regiment, and 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



during most of his service was on de- 
tached duty in and near Richmond, Vir- 
ginia. He was mustered out after peace 
was declared. He has been a member of 
the Order of Foresters, the Ancient Order 
of Hibernians, the Improved Order of 
Red Men, and at one time was sub-district 
chief ranger. He was active in labor or- 
ganizations and is past master workman 
of the Knights of Labor, which was for- 
merly the strongest labor organization in 
the country and paved the way for the 
l)resent more highly organized labor 
unions. 

Mr. Bradley married Ann Hourigan, 
who was born in Ireland. July ii, 1838, 
and died January 25, 1908, daughter of 
Thomas and Mary (Riley) Hourigan. 
Children : Arthur William, mentioned be- 
low ; Michael Edward, Thomas Francis, 
Joseph William, and Mary, who became 
the wife of William Welch. 

Arthur William Bradley, son of Arthur 
Joseph and Ann (Hourigan) Bradley, was 
born in Camden, New Jersey, March 11, 
1867. He received his education in the 
public schools of Philadelphia, Pennsyl- 
vania, and South Hadley Falls, Massa- 
chusetts. At an early age he started out 
to earn his own livelihood, his first em- 
ployment being in the Farr Alpaca Mills 
at Holyoke, Massachusetts, where he 
gained a thorough insight into the details 
of that line of work and became proficient 
therein, and later he was listed on the 
working force of the Hadley Thread Mills 
and the mills of the Merrick Thread Com- 
pany, in both of which corporations he 
was noted for the excellence of his labor. 
In 1904 he was appointed to the responsi- 
ble position of superintendent of the W. 
H. Bullard Thread Company of ?Iolyoke, 
and from that date to August i, 1916, 
when he resigned, rendered excellent 
service in that capacity, giving entire sat- 
isfaction to all concerned, winning the 
approbation of his superiors and the good 



will and respect of those under his charge, 
being a man of fair-minded principles, dis- 
playing no discrimination or favor in his 
treatment of the emi)loyees. This last 
term of service makes altogether thirty 
years of experience in the manufacture of 
thread, years that have tested his strength 
and endurance to the utmost, but he has 
always been found faithful to the duties 
imposed upon him, performmg each day's 
work in a cheerful manner and thus has 
well earned the recompense that he is en- 
joying at the present time, the esteem and 
confidence of all with whom he is brought 
in contact in his daily toil. In addition 
to his arduous duties at the factory, he 
has for some years been the proprietor of 
a highly successful mercantile business 
conducted in the city of Holyoke, from 
which he derives a lucrative income, and 
thus he is preparing for his advancing 
years, and in due course of time will be 
enabled to give up active pursuits and en- 
joy a well-earned rest, the sequel of years 
of toil and strife. Mr. Bradley, aside from 
casting his vote for the candidates whom 
he considers best suited for the various 
offices, has never taken an active part in 
politics, preferring to devote his entire 
attention to his chosen work and his 
home, nor has he afifiliated Avith organiza- 
tions of any description. 

Mr. Bradley married, January i, 1898, 
Marie Gennest, a native of Canada, born 
October 2, 1876, daughter of John and 
Celanese (Nadeau) Gennest. Children: 
Russell Arthur, born February 18, 1899; 
Thomas Francis, born July 31, 1902; 
Marie Claire, born December 12, 1905. 

The uniform courtesy and genial dis- 
position of Mr. Bradley have gained for 
him the friendly regard of all with whom 
he has come in contact, and in a work of 
this description he well deserves represen- 
tation as an exemplary resident of his 
adopted city, the interests of which he 
serves to the best of his ability. 



182 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



GALLIVAN, Andrew D. A., 

Florist, Market Gardener. 

Andrew Dennis Aloysius Gallivan, one 
of the leading florists and market gar- 
deners of Holyoke, is in partnership with 
his brother, Daniel Joseph Gallivan, under 
the firm name of Gallivan Brothers. Their 
success in founding and building the busi- 
ness of the firm is a source of pride to the 
entire community. Though both partners 
were born under foreign skies and lacked 
every advantage at the outset, they have 
shown foresight and shrewdness and ex- 
erted their energies and abilities to such 
good purpose that their firm takes rank as 
the leading florist's establishment of the 
city. 

Dennis Gallivan, father of Andrew D. 
A. and Daniel J. Gallivan, came of an an- 
cient and honorable Irish family, and his 
entire life was spent in the region of his 
birth in Ireland. He followed farming in 
a modest way. He married Catherine Hor- 
gan, daughter of a neighboring farmer. A 
few years later, in 1881, when he was still 
a young man. he died, leaving two sons. 
Andrew Dennis Aloysius and Daniel Jo- 
seph. The latter was born March 29, 1880. 
So closely have the lives of the two sons 
been associated that to write a biography 
of one is to tell the life story of the other. 
Andrew Dennis Aloysius was but three 
years old when his father died, and his 
brother was an infant. The widowed 
mother decided a few years later to fol- 
low the example of various relatives and 
make her home in this country. In 1887. 
with her two little sons, she sailed for 
America. Making her home in Holyoke, 
she devoted herself to the care and main- 
tenance of the boys, and owing to her love 
and wisdom, and through her guidance and 
training, both grew into sturdy, capable 
men, and in full measure they realized in 
the course of time the substantial rewards 
of life for which she planned and prayed 



in their youth. Both boys were given a 
good common school education in the 
public schools of Holyoke. 

Andrew Dennis Aloysius Gallivan was 
born in Killarney, County Kerry, Ireland, 
July 12, 1878. When he left school, he 
found employment in the cultivation and 
raising of greenhouse produce and flowers. 
I'Vom his ancestors he appears to have in- 
herited a natural skill with plants and the 
soil, and a keen enjoyment and love for 
his occupation. All that he could learn of 
the methods of cultivation of flowers and 
vegetables, especially when they were 
grown under glass, he acquired while a 
boy employed in various places. He read 
and studied agriculture and horticulture. 
He held positions of trust and responsibil- 
ity under various employers, and learned 
by practical experience every detail of the 
business of a market gardener and florist. 

With a modest capital the brothers ven- 
tured in business as market gardeners and 
florists in 1901. Beginning with a few 
lines, they increased the capacity of their 
plant and the extent and variety of their 
product, keeping pace with progress in 
the art of cultivation under glass on a 
commercial scale. They were both in- 
defatigable and thoroughly capable, and 
their industry has been rewarded. At 
Smith's Ferry, where their large green- 
houses are located, they have also one 
of the finest and most profitable market 
gardens in the State of Massachusetts. 
As florists measure their success by the 
area of glass in their greenhouses, the fact 
that Gallivan Brothers now have green- 
houses covered by more than 20.000 
square feet of glass indicates the extent 
of their activities during the past six- 
teen years. Their flowers and produce 
find a market almost exclusively in Hol- 
yoke and vicinity. Besides the plant at 
Smith's Ferry, the firm has a place of 
business in the city at No. 500 Dwight 
street. Their artistic and attractive store 



^8^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



is stocked with every sort of flower on 
the market, and is thoroughly metropoli- 
tan in style and management. Their 
wholesale trade is, of course, important 
and extensive. As business men the 
brothers are popular and highly esteemed 
by the other merchants in the city. Their 
careers furnish a fine incentive to the 
youth who are apt to believe that the dif- 
ficulties in the way of a successful venture 
in business have become too great to be 
within the reach of a poor boy. Mr. Galli- 
van and his brother have made their firm 
known throughout this section of the 
country, and their example will be an in- 
spiration to other young men. 

In the social and business organizations 
to which Mr. Gallivan belongs he has 
many friends throughout New England. 
He is a member of Holyoke Lodge, No. 
74, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, and of the New England Order of 
Protection. In politics he is a Democrat, 
but such have been the demands of his 
growing business that he has declined to 
hold public office of any kind. But his in- 
terest in the affairs of the municipality is 
keen and frequently in evidence. He is 
a communicant of the Blessed Sacrament 
Church and a faithful supporter of the 
parish. 

He married, October 26, 1909, Julia 
Hallisey, a daughter of John and Mary 
(Donahue) Hallisey, of Holyoke, and they 
have two children : Daniel, born Decem- 
ber I, 1910, and Elmore Andrew, born 
June 6, 1912. 



SMITH, Herbert Edmund, 

Representative Citizen. 

The career of Herbert Edmund Smith, 
of Holyoke, although quiet and unevent- 
ful in the main, demonstrates the fact that 
success depends not u])on circumstances 
or environments, but upon the man, the 
successful men of the day being those 



who have planned their own advancement 
and have accomplished it in spite of many 
obstacles, overcoming dif^culties that to 
men not possessed of courage would seem 
unsurmountable. 

F.dward Smith, father of Herbert Ed- 
mund Smith, was a native of Adel, York- 
shire, England, where he was reared and 
educated, and later engaged in lousiness 
pursuits as a farmer and continued until 
his death in 1871. He was active in the 
affairs of the neighborhood, energetic and 
enterprising, and was highly thought of 
by his neighbors and friends. He mar- 
ried Mary Ann Simpson, who w^as born 
at Chapeltown, Yorkshire, England. After 
the death of her husband she came to Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, where she died in 
1904. They were the parents of five chil- 
dren : Emily ; Thomas Simpson, de- 
ceased ; George Edw^ard ; John ; Herbert 
Edmund, of whom further. 

Herbert Edmund Smith was born at 
Adel, Yorkshire, England, January 31, 1870. 
He obtained a practical education by at- 
tendance at the schools of his native town, 
and this knowledge was supplemented by 
a course of study in the E. E. Childs 
Business College of Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, he having accompanied his mother 
to this country after the death of his 
father. He gained his first insight into 
the business world by securing employ- 
ment in the silk mills in Holyoke, in 
which city his mother took up her resi- 
dence, and there continued for a period of 
nine years, becoming thoroughly expert 
in that line of work. He then entered into 
business relations with the American 
Thread Company of Holyoke, serving for 
twelve years in their mills, and for the 
following two years he was an employee 
of the Bullard Thread Company of the 
same city. This completed the years of 
service at his trade, and he then turned 
his attention to an entirely different line 
of work, in which he was equally compe- 



184 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tent and successful, and from which he 
derived a goodly income and a sense of in- 
dependence not to be gained by working 
for others in whatsoever capacity em- 
ployed. This new venture was the culti- 
vation of the soil, in which occupation he 
engaged at Trenton, Ontario, Canada, 
where he resided for five years, after 
which he returned to the United States, 
locating at Easthampton, Massachusetts, 
where he continued in the same line for 
six years, and met with well merited suc- 
cess. He then decided to lead a more re- 
tired life and accordingly exchanged his 
farm for a beautiful apartment house in 
Holyoke. It is among the finest in archi- 
tecture and appointments in the city, is 
favorably located on the corner of Apple- 
ton and Elm streets, in the best residential 
section, is four stories high and contains 
thirty apartments, and covers a lot one 
hundred and fifteen by one hundred and 
thirty feet. Mr. Smith devotes his atten- 
tion exclusively to the care of this prop- 
erty, and its trim appearance testifies to 
the interest displayed by him in its man- 
agement and care. He attends the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church, and his political 
allegiance is given to the Republican 
party, but he has never sought nor held 
public office. He is a man of sterling 
worth, and throughout his residence in 
the various sections mentioned has gained 
the respect and good will of his fellow 
men. 

]Mr. Smith married, in 1898, Tina Teal, 
daughter of John and Lucretia (Patrick") 
Teal, of Trenton, Ontario, Canada. They 
were the parents of one child, Vernon, 
born in 1906, died in 191 5, aged nine years. 



HILL, George Henry, 

Manufacturer. 

The only manufacturer of hand stamps 
in the city of Holyoke, Mr. Hill devotes 
his entire energy to the prosecution of his 
business, one which he learned under the 



instruction of his honored father, with 
whom he w^as for several years associated 
in business prior to his settlement in Hol- 
yoke. 

His father, Benjamin B. Hill, was born 
in Lowell, Massachusetts, and became a 
manufacturer of hand stamps, a business 
in which he was engaged until near the 
close of his long life of eighty-three years. 
At various periods he w'as located in busi- 
ness in Springfield, Massachusetts ; Phil- 
adelphia, Pennsylvania, and Chicago, Illi- 
nois. He was a member of the IMasonic 
order, and in religious belief a Spiritualist. 
He married Sarah Adelia Steel, and she 
died in 1910. They were the parents of 
the following children: Milton B., George 
H., of further mention; Carrie M., and 
Sarah Josephine, deceased. 

George H. Hill was born in Bridgeport, 
Connecticut. April 14, 1853. His educa- 
tion, begun in the public schools of Chico- 
pee, was completed in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, schools, and then for a few years 
he was employed with his father in the 
manufacture of hand stamps, adopting 
that as his own business. For a time 
thereafter he was in the employ of the 
R. H. Smith Manufacturing Company of 
Springfield, then passed several years in 
Chicago, Boston and Philadelphia. About 
1898 he permanently located in Holyoke, 
where, as the only hand stamp manufac- 
turer in the city, he transacts a profitable 
business. 

Mr. Hill married. September 8, 1876, 
Sarah S. King, born in Suffield. Connec- 
ticut, daughter of William B. and Mar\- 
R. (Wright) King. Mr. and Mrs. Hill 
are the parents of the following children: 
Sarah Josephine, born in Chicago, Illinois ; 
Lucy May, born in Boston, Massachu- 
setts, deceased ; Herbert King, born in 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, educated in 
Springfield and Holyoke public schools, 
now engaged as a window^ dresser by the 
A. T. Gallup Company of Holyoke. 



185 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



HEBERT. Arthur, 

Bnainca* Man. 

After preliminary service as a clerk, 
Arthur Hebert en^'agcd in the drug busi- 
ness under his own name and is proprie- 
tor of one of llolyoke's prosperous, well 
equipped and well stocked drug houses. 
The lieberts are of an old Canadian fam- 
ily, there standing in the city of Quebec a 
monument erected in honor of a Hebert. 
Arthur Hebert, of Holyoke, is a son of 
Toussaint Hebert, born in the Province of 
Quebec in 1843. now residing at Crysler, 
Stormont county. Province of Ontario, 
where for the past twenty-five years he 
has been engaged in general farming. In 
his younger years he was a general mer- 
chant, spent a period of his life mining in 
California, was for several years in the 
hotel business, and at one time bought 
and sold horses, trading between Canada 
and the United States. Most of his life 
has been spent in Crysler, however, and 
there he has won public favor as an honor- 
able, upright man. He is a Liberal in poli- 
tics, and has served as mayor of his town. 
He married X'^ictorine de Laricheliere, 
born in the Province of Quebec, died at 
Crysler, in 1915. Children: Rosanna, 
Olivine. Joseph. Arthur, of further men- 
tion ; Felix, Marie Louise. Victoria, Bea- 
trice, Dolores, Theresa, Irene, Charles 
Henry, Isabelle, all living. 

Arthur Hebert, second son of Toussaint 
and \'ictorine (de Laricheliere) Hebert. 
was born at Crysler, Stormont county, 
Province of Ontario. February 10, 1878, 
and until the age of twelve attended the 
public schools. From twelve until eighteen 
he was engaged as a farm assistant, then 
attended r)ttawa I'.usincss College. At 
the age of nineteen, in 1897, he came to 
the United States, settling in Ilolyoke. 
Massachusetts, securing a i)osition as a 
drug clerk. He continued in that line un- 
til 1904. then opened a drug store under 



his own name. The store he opened about 
twelve years ago is still his place of busi- 
ness, although after purchasing the prop- 
erty he remodeled it for his own purposes 
and erected adjoining the store a public 
warehouse and storage plant. He is a 
successful business man, and has taken 
a deep interest in the welfare of his coun- 
trymen in Holyoke. Through his serv- 
ices on the naturalization board, Mr. 
Hebert has been instrumental in the mak- 
ing of six hundred new citizens. He is a 
member of Model Parliament, the For- 
esters of America, the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, the Holyoke 
Club, and the Society of St. Jean Baptiste. 
He married (first) June i, 1903, An- 
toinette Boivin. born at Pierreville, Ya- 
masha county, Quebec, who died in Hol- 
yoke. Massachusetts, March 6, 1908. He 
married (second) May 22, 1910, Imalda 
A. Couillard, daughter of Joseph Couil- 
lard, that family, like the Heberts, being 
of ancient Canadian settlement. By the 
second marriage there are four children: 
Roland Gerald, born May 22, 191 1; 
Jacques, November i, 1912; Henriette, 
April 19, 1915 ; Bibianne. September 21, 
1916. The home of Mr. Hebert is one 
where good cheer abounds and where the 
wayfarer is always sure of a most cordial 
welcome. 



CARREAU, Alphonse Wilford, 

Builder, Contractor. 

Among the well known builders and 
contractors of Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
who by perseverance and fair dealing 
have attained an enviable place in busi- 
ness circles, should be mentioned the firm 
of L. Carreau & Son. 

Louis Carreau, the senior member of 
the firm, was born at Saint Gregorie le 
Grand (Mount Johnson), Iberville county, 
Quebec, Canada. May 15. 1859, son of 
Evariste and Philomene (Baizeut) Car- 



186 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



reau, the former of whom died in Canada, 
September 20, 1861, aged twenty-eight 
years. They were the parents of three 
sons : Joseph, : Louis and Evariste. Louis 
Carreau was educated in the schools of 
his native place, there learned the trade 
of carpenter, which he followed there until 
1889. in which year he came to the L'nited 
States and located in Willimansett. Mas- 
sachusetts, where he resided until 1916, 
when he removed to Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts. From the year of his coming to the 
United States until 1896, a period of seven 
years, he was employed as a carriage 
builder in Willimansett and Chicopee. In 
the latter named year he engaged in busi- 
ness on his own account as a contractor 
and builder in Chicopee, and so continued 
until his removal to Holyoke, as noted 
above. He is a mechanic of rare skill and 
a contractor of integrity and ability. He 
is a director of the Master Builders' Asso- 
ciation, and a member of the Order of 
Foresters and the French Artisans. Mr. 
Carreau married, February 9. 1863, Marie 
Rosaline Masse, who bore him seven chil- 
dren : Alphonse Wilford. of further men- 
tion ; Alida D., deceased ; Blanche, be- 
came the wife of Henry J. Lamothe; Jo- 
seph, died in infancy ; Alice, deceased ; 
Yuonne ; Lucienne Marguerite. 

Alphonse \\"ilford Carreau was born at 
Saint Bridget, Iberville county. Province 
of Quebec, Canada, September 24, 1882. 
He was brought to the Cnited States by 
his parents when a lad of seven years, and 
resided in Willimansett and Chicopee 
prior to his removal to Holyoke. He was 
educated in the School of the Precious 
Blood, South Holyoke, Chicopee High 
School and ^larysville College, Canada, 
and after completing his studies became 
associated with his father in his contract- 
ing and building business. He gained a 
thorough knowledge of the business, and 
in 1903. upon attaining legal age, was ad- 
mitted to partnership and so continues. 



the firm being known as L. Carreau & 
Son. A list of the buildings erected by 
this firm would require a volume to enu- 
merate, but among the many may be cited 
the following that will long remain as 
monuments to their skill and ability : Wil- 
liam Whiting School ; Knights of Colum- 
bus Building; George S. Taylor School 
at Chicopee ; Infirmary and Sanatorium 
at Rutland, Massachusetts ; Worronoco 
Paper Mill at Worronoco; Mills-Alder- 
man Building. Holyoke; Bijou Theatre. 
South Holyoke ; E. H. Frederick's plant 
at Main and Sergeant streets ; Charles U. 
Roy Block on Main street ; residences of 
Henry George Alderman, B. P. Alderman, 
Edward Xewton and Charles O. Connell ; 
Croise Brothers Auto Garage, the Elks 
Building, and many apartment houses, 
including the block built on Pine street 
in 1916 in which the firm has had for 
some time their offices and in which the 
family resides. 

Alphonse Wilford Carreau served on 
the Chicopee Board of Assessors for three 
years : is secretary of the board of direc- 
tors of the Master Builders' Association ; 
is a member of the Independent Order of 
Foresters ; Improved Order of Red Men ; 
Holyoke Lodge, Benevolent and Protec- 
tive Order of Elks, in which he has passed 
all the chairs, and in March. 1916. was 
elected exalted ruler; the Holyoke Club, 
Holyoke Country Club, and the Alcyone 
Canoe Club of Chicopee. He is a highly 
esteemed member in all these bodies, very 
popular in his circle of friends and ac- 
quaintances, and one of the young men 
of Holyoke whose future is full of 
promise. 



GINGRAS, Amedee P., 

Business Man. 

Coming from his native Canada a very 
young man, Amedee F. Gingras first was 
a bell boy in the Massasoit Hotel, Spring- 



1S7 



EXCVCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



field, but two years later he located in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, where with one 
or two exceptions he is the oldest nier- 
(hant. and is the oldest undertaker, by 
years in the city, which city he has seen 
grow from a population of 6.500 to 7J.000. 
Amedec ]•'. (jingras was born in the Prov- 
ince of (Juebcc, Canada, Aus2:ust 18, 1849. 
He was educated in puljlic schools and St. 
.Marys College, after which he spent three 
years as a grocery clerk in West Farhan, 
Quebec. He then spent two years in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, coming thence 
to Holyoke, where he has since been con- 
tinuously in business. His entrance into 
business was as proprietor of a dining 
room which he purchased from Mr. Guyot, 
of the Guyot Hotel. He operated the 
dining room very successfully for three 
years, then, craving for out-of-door life, 
he started an express business with but 
two horses. P>ut the business grew under 
his careful management and was con- 
tinued for two years. In 1876 he began 
his present business at No. 42 High street, 
but in 1879 '"IS bought the property and 
enlarged it to meet the demands of an in- 
creased business. He became one of the 
leading undertakers of the city, and in 
1884 erected a suitable building at No. 47 
High street, which he still occupies. As 
the years have passed his business has 
greatly increased, but he has kept pace 
with its growth and maintains a modern 
establishment carefully managed. He is 
one of Holyoke's oldest business men, and 
recalls the fact that where his building 
now stands was once the site of the city 
reservoir, the entire locality being now 
covered with business blocks and resi- 
dences. He is a devout Catholic, and in 
his earnest activity gives liberally of his 
time and means to church and charity. 
In the days prior to the incorporation of 
Holyoke as a city, he took an active part 
in town affairs, and for several years 



served as constable, the same of^ce as the 
present constable. 

He married, February 7, 1871, Claudia 
Mfiiard, who has borne him eighteen chil- 
dren, among whom are the following : 
Rosalie, who died in 1896, and whose hus- 
band followed her two years later, leaving 
a daughter, Beatrice, born July 10, 1896, 
now a bookkeeper in Chicopee National 
I lank; Delia, a nun in the Convent of St. 
Hyacinthe, Montreal, Canada; Arthur and 
George, twins ; Charles ; Gabriel ; Emma 
M., of further mention ; Viola, married. 
May 19, 191 5, Herman Paquette, a mer- 
chant of Holyoke ; Charlotte, also in St. 
Hyacinthe Convent. 

Emma M. Gingras was born in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, April 25, 1879, and 
died March 29, 1917. She obtained her 
early education in Holyoke public schools, 
after which she attended the Sisters of 
Presentation Boarding School in Canada. 
She then entered St. Hyacinthe Convent, 
Montreal, Canada, where she completed 
her studies and was graduated in 1897. 
Deciding upon a profession she entered 
Spence's School, New York City, taking 
a full course in optometry, graduating O. 
D., class of 1902. For the next six years 
she was associated with her uncle, Dr. 
A. S. Menard, of Holyoke, who for many 
years was an eminent specialist in dis- 
eases of the eye, ear, nose and throat in 
Holyoke. Feeling the need of a more 
thorough and complete knowledge in her 
profession, Dr. Gingras in the summer of 
1908 went abroad and took a post-gradu- 
ate course in a hospital in Paris, France, 
and on her return to Holyoke began pri- 
vate practice with offices at No. 255 High 
street. She continued there until 1916, 
when she moved to ofifices on the sixth 
floor of the newly completed Holyoke 
National Bank Building, corner of High 
and Dwight streets, where she continued 
in her professional career up to her death. 



188 




,TSM//,^^ £Sr, ynr 




/2^-€^ 



;«,r-^/S,,i,*y 



E.XCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



She was a devout member of I'erpetual Help 
Church, a member of the National Optical 
Association and L'Union St. Jean Bap- 
tiste d'Americque, L. C. B. A., No. 664. 
The funeral of Miss Emma M. Gingras, 
O. D., took place April 2, 1917, from the 
home, 47 High street, followed by a solemn 
requiem high mass in the Perpetual Help 
Church, Rev. Joseph Marchand was cele- 
brant, Rev. Father Landry was deacon and 
Rev. Father Delage, of Willimansett, was 
sub-deacon. In the sanctuary were seated 
Rev. L. Geoffroy, of Three Rivers ; Rev. 
Father Durocher, of Aldenville ; Rev. 
Father Robillard, of Willimansett, and 
Rev. Father Damour, of the Perpetual 
Help Church. The bearers were Dr. Bou- 
vier, Dr. Arthur Lepine, Clement Du- 
charme, John Plante, O. D., S. Bonvouloir 
and Ernest Beaumais. The full church 
choir sang. The funeral was largely at- 
tended. Rev. Joseph Alarchand read the 
prayers at the grave. 



IVES, Dwight H., 

Man of Affairs. 

Among the few families of Holyoke 
who trace their ancestry back to early 
Colonial times should be mentioned the 
Ives family, represented by Dwight H. 
Ives, who has been connected with that 
city in some business capacity for over 
half a century. The name runs back to 
the days of the Normans and to the 
North of France where it is spelled 
"Yves" and where a number of families 
are still to be found. The English 
branches of the family trace their descent 
from Guilbert Yves, who crossed the 
channel from Normandy among the fol- 
lowers of the Conqueror. 

The first of the name to reach these 
shores, so far as known, was Captain 
William Ives, who came to Boston in 
1635, aged twenty-eight, in the '"True- 



love" from London. In 1638 he was in 
New Haven, and on June 4, 1639, was 
one of the subscribers to the T'undamental 
Agreement, Ouinnipiack, which place a 
few years later became known as the 
Colony of New Haven. He died early 
in 1648. His two sons, John and Joseph, 
pushed on northward into the wilderness 
in 1670 and w-ere among the first signers 
of the Wallingford Plantation. The chil- 
dren of William Ives: Phebe ; John, mar- 
ried Sarah Ball ; Joseph, of whom fur- 
ther ; and Plannah, who became the wife 
of Samuel Cook, of Wallingford. The 
widow^ of William Ives was married 
again, not long after his death, to Wil- 
liam Bassett. 

(H) Joseph Ives, second son of Cap- 
tain William Ives, married, January 2, 
1672-73 (old style), IVIary Yale, born 
April 16, 1650, daughter of Thomas Yale, 
a merchant in New Haven, and Mary 
(Turner) Yale, daughter of Captain Na- 
thaniel Turner, who was lost in the 
"Phantom Ship" which sailed from the 
port of New Haven early in January. 
1647, '^^^ never returned. For a descrip- 
tion of the "Phantom Ship'' read the Rev. 
John Davenport's letter to Rev. Cotton 
Mather in "Mather's Magnalia." Mary 
Yale was a first cousin of Governor Elihu 
Yale who gave to Yale College its name, 
in consequence of munificent donations 
presented by him, he being at the time a 
resident of London and ex-governor of 
Madras of the East Indies. It was long 
supposed that Elihu and Mary Yale were 
brother and sister and President Stiles 
so gives it. but recent careful researches 
by Professor Dexter, of Yale, have proven 
that the fathers of Elihu and Mary were 
brothers. Joseph Ives died November 17, 

1694. 

(Ill) Ensign and Deacon Samuel Ives, 
son of Joseph and Mary (Yale) Ives, 
was born in New Haven, November 6, 
189 



EXCVCLOFEDIA OF BIOGRArilV 



i()Oj, and died there, November 24, 17JO. 
He was one of the first "two deacons" 
chosen in the First Society Church of 
New Haven. In Rev. Trumbull's Cen- 
tury Sermon it is shown that in 1718 
Deacon Samuel Ives was commissioned 
"ensign" and at the same time his brother 
Joseph received the appointment of cap- 
lain, tie married, January 3, 1706, Ruth 
At water, born December 31, 1688, daugh- 
ter of Johnathan and Ruth (Peck) At- 
water. Johnathan At water was a son 
of David Atwater, one of the original 
signers of the Plantation Covenant of 
Quinnipiack. Ruth Peck was a daughter 
of the Rev. Jeremiah Peck, son of Deacon 
William Peck, who was also an original 
subscriber to the Plantation Covenant of 
New Haven. William Peck, one of the 
founders of the New Haven Colony, came 
with his wife. Elizabeth, and his son, 
Jeremiah, from England, probably in the 
company of Governor Eaton, Rev. John 
Davenport and others in the ship, "Hec- 
tor," which arrived at Boston, June 26, 
1637. Rev. Jeremiah Peck, son of Wil- 
liam Peck, was born in the city of Lon- 
don, England, or its vicinity, in 1623. He 
came to America with his father in 1637. 
He is said by Cotton Mather to have been 
bred at Harvard College. In 1659 he was 
appointed by the General Court of the 
Colony of New Haven to take charge of 
the Collegiate School (later the Hopkins 
Grammar School) and "there teach the 
languages and the sciences." There he 
remained until 1661, having removed 
from Guilford where he had been teach- 
ing school, and where he also married 
Johannah Kitchell, daughter of Robert 
kitchell. of Guilford. In 1668 Mr. Peck 
received a call from the Presbyterian 
church in Elizabethtown, New Jersey. 
He accepted and was the first permanent 
minister of that church. He remained 
until 1678 and then returned to New 



England. Elizabethtown is now Eliza- 
beth. The old church was destroyed by 
fire, it is believed, and a second structure 
was erected upon its site, which in the 
Revolution was used as a stone house 
and was burned by the British. A new 
house of worship, very large and impos- 
ing, was erected upon the .-ite of the old 
church, which is still standing, an admir- 
able relic of Revolutionary days and 
architecture, it is of brick and has a 
pointed spire ; the grounds embrace a 
church yard for burial ; there is a spaci- 
ous session room which stands upon one 
corner and occupies the site of the origi- 
nal school, which has grown into Prince- 
ton College, whither it was removed. 
The Rev. Jeremiah Peck was one of the 
founders of Elizabeth and an original 
signer of its Fundamental Covenant. He 
owned two hundred and twenty acres of 
land. Flis residence or house lot, con- 
taining five acres, was situated in what is 
now the block adjoining the church on 
the north ; it was located at the corner 
of Broad and West Jersey streets, and in 
1678, when he left Elizabeth, he sold his 
home lot. He died at Waterbury, Con- 
necticut, June 7, 1699, aged seventy-eight 
years. He was eminent in his profession, 
and prominent in all affairs for the pro- 
motion of good in the Colony. His widow 
also died in Waterbury, in 171 1. 

(IV) Captain Jonathan Ives, fourth 
son of Ensign and Deacon Samuel and 
Ruth (Atwater) Ives, was born March 
14, 1716-17. He was a great musician, 
and he possessed a voice of so much com- 
pass that it could be heard a half mile 
distant. He was a farmer and innkeeper. 
He removed from New Haven to Ham- 
den, in 1735, then also a part of the New 
Haven Colony, where he settled on the 
banks of the Mill river being one of 
its pioneer settlers. This was near the 
present village of Ivesville ; at that time 



190 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ihere were no roads in the territory and 
his nearest neighbor was one mile dis- 
tant. In that town he was a large land- 
holder, and a representative of the dis- 
trict in the Legislature, by which posi- 
tion he was entitled to the affix to his 
name of Hon. and Captain. The annals 
of the period show that good men, strong 
in character, morals and religion were 
chosen as representatives in State as well 
as in national affairs. Captain Jonathan 
Ives married, February 19, ^7Z7'Z'^^ 
Thankful Cooper, born April 11, 1721, 
daughter of Joseph Cooper, who was a 
son of John (2) and Mary (Thompson) 
Cooper, son of John (i) Cooper, an origi- 
nal signer of the New Haven Plantation 
Covenant. Captain Jonathan and Thank- 
ful (Cooper) Ives were the parents of 
four sons and four daughters. The sons, 
Jeremiah, Joel, Jonathan and Ailing, all 
served in the Revolution. Captain Ailing 
Ives, named for the Ailing family, who 
largely married with the Ives family, was 
captured by the British and sent to Ire- 
land, whence he had a very remarkable 
escape. He returned to America to the 
astonishment of his family and friends 
who mourned for him as dead. He mar- 
ried Rebekah Dickerman, of Hamden, and 
their daughter. Julia Ives, received her 
name in honor of the name of the ship 
"Julia" which bore her father from the 
captivity of the British to the liberty of 
America, the land of the free. Julia Ives 
married Rev. Ezra Bradley, an Episcopal 
minister, who moved to West Springfield, 
Massachusetts, and had for his home the 
place near the Ashley Ponds, known as 
the Bradley House, where the Rev. 
Dwight Ives was born. The name of 
Julia together with that of the freedom 
ship, as it were, is perpetuated in the 
name of Julia Bradley Ives, of Holyoke. 

(V) Jeremiah Ives, eldest child of Cap- 
tain Jonathan and Thankful (Cooper) 



Ives, was born in New Haven, Novem- 
ber 19, 1738, died in 1825, aged eighty- 
seven years. He married, in what is now 
North Haven, then a part of New Haven. 
June 7, 1768, Hannah Bassett, born De- 
cember 26, 1739, died in West Springs, 
September 14, 1803, aged sixty-four years, 
the seventh and youngest child of Abram 
and Mehitable (Street) Bassett, of New 
Haven. The ceremony was performed 
by the Rev. Dr. Benjamin Trumbull, 
the historian of Connecticut during the 
eighteenth century. Abram Bassett was 
a son of Samuel and Mary (Dickerman) 
Bassett, and grandson of William Bas- 
sett, the settler, who married the widow 
of William Ives, the settler, and she was 
the mother of Lieutenant Samuel Bas- 
sett. Abram Bassett was born Novem- 
ber 9, 1692 ; he married, February 2, 
1721, Mehitable Street, and one of their 
daughters, Mehitable Bassett, sister of 
Hannah (Bassett) Ives, became the wife 
of Judge Samuel Bishop, of New^ Haven. 
Jeremiah Ives engaged in farming on a 
tract of land in West Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, which was in the possession of 
his descendant. Dwight H. Ives, up to 
1906. This tract embraced three hundred 
acres. 

(VI) Abraham Ives, son of Jeremiah 
and Hannah (Bassett) Ives, was born in 
New Haven, 1768. died in 1855. He in- 
herited the tract of land above men- 
tioned and engaged in agricultural pur- 
suits throughout the active years of his 
life. He married, in Ireland Parish. West 
Springfield, Massachusetts. January 22, 
1795, Eunice Day, who died December 
12, 1844, aged seventy-four years. She 
was a daughter of Joel Day. of Ireland 
Parish, and his wife, his first cousin. Eu- 
nice Day, daughter of Joseph and Eliza- 
beth (Mattoon) Day. of Northfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, and among the children of the 
latter named were three who intermar- 



191 



E>:CVCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ricd with their kindred by the name of 
Day. Nevertheless they produced good 
stock, that even to the present time has 
not degenerated. V>y observing the above 
statement concerning W'illiam Ives and 
his descendants it is shown that very 
nearly all trace back by intermarriage to 
the tirst and most prominent settlers and 
founders of one of the grand colonies 
sent out by England in those stirring, 
startling days of the English Reforma- 
tion. Xo band of these early immigrants 
seemed so strongly combined with the 
energy, spirit and jjower of the Puritani- 
cal element as did that "Godly Company" 
who settled upon the shores of the Ouin- 
nipiack. Among those who perished with 
Captain Nathaniel Turner on the "Phan- 
tom Ship" was another ancestor of this 
family, Thomas Greyson, one of the chief 
and principal planters of the colony. 
Eaton was governor, John Daven- 
port, minister, and Thomas Greyson, the 
financier of the colonies. He embarked 
on the "Phantom Ship" for the purpose 
of going to England in the interest of 
the Colony, whose funds were low, thus 
causing a depressed condition of afifairs. 
Mr. Thomas Greyson was an ancestor 
through the line of Hannah (Glover) 
Street, wife of Lieutenant Samuel Street. 
She was a daughter of John and Joanna 
C Daniel) Glover, the latter named a 
daughter of Stephen Daniel, of Saybrook, 
who removed to New Haven and married 
Anna or Hannah Greyson. daughter of 
Thomas Greyson. Although Mr. Grey- 
son was an active merchant and an assis- 
tant of the Puritan Colony, he gave land 
for an Episcopal church which they 
named Trinity and which stands at the 
present time (1916) on the original site. 
Lieutenant Samuel Street was a son of 
Rev. Samuel and Ann (Mills) Street, the 
latter named a daughter of Mr. Richard 
Mills, one of the most prominent found- 



ers and signers of the New Ilaven Cove- 
nant. The prefix "Mr." was a title of dis- 
tinction in Colonial days and only a few 
civilians possessed it. Rev. Samuel Street 
was a son of Rev. Nicholas Street, who 
came from Taunton, Massachusetts, to 
New Haven, Connecticut, and succeeded 
Rev. John Davenport. 

(VII) Abraham (2) Ives, son of Abra- 
ham (i) and Eunice (Day) Ives, was 
born in West Springfield, Massachusetts, 
August 15, 1803, died October 19, 1866. 
He succeeded to the homestead whereon 
his father and grandfather resided and 
brought it to a high state of cultivation. 
He was a prominent man in the commu- 
nity, inheriting in large measure the ex- 
cellent characteristics of his forbears. He 
w^as a member of the First Baptist Church 
of West Springfield, as was also his wnie. 
He married Harriet Knowles, born in East 
Hampton, near Mt. Tom, June 16, 1807, 
but resided in West Springfield from early 
childhood, died June 7, 1889, a daughter 
of Joshua Knowles. They were the par- 
ents of four children : Ann E., now de- 
ceased, was the wife of Alvin C. Pratt ; 
Dwight H., of whom further; Ellen H., 
resides with Dwight H. ; Julia B.. now 
deceased. 

(VIII) Dwight H. Ives, son of Abra- 
ham (2) and Harriet (Knowles) Ives, 
was born on the paternal homestead in 
West Springfield, Massachusetts, Janu- 
ary 28, 1836. He attended the public 
schools of his native town, and was later 
a student at the Suffield Literary Insti- 
tute and Holyoke Academy. For the six 
years following the completion of his 
studies he assisted his father in the man- 
agement of the large farm which had 
descended from his ancestor, and subse- 
quently he assumed the entire manage- 
ment of the same, adding adjoining land 
by purchase from time to time until the 
farm embraced two hundred and thirty 

92 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



acres, one of the largest in that section, 
and devoted principally to dairying. The 
milk product was disposed of at retail in 
the city of Holyoke for twenty-one years, 
during which time Air. Ives delivered 
milk to his customers. He then disposed 
of the retail part of the business and en- 
gaged in the wholesale milk business and 
in this he continued in connection with 
his agricultural pursuits, doing a very 
successful, profitable business, up to 1905 
when he disposed of the farm. In 1897 
he removed from the farm to No. 1966 
Northampton street, Holyoke, which has 
since been his place of residence. For 
two years Mr. Ives was interested in con- 
ducting a retail meat business in Hol- 
yoke, but after retiring from this he be- 
came associated with Edward Nether- 
wood, under the firm name of Nether- 
wood & Ives, and they purchased a large 
tract of land at Elmwood, a suburb of Hol- 
yoke, which was laid out in village lots. 
On this tract Mr. Ives erected some thirty 
bouses, which he sold to good advantage, 
and continued in real estate operations 
until 1900, when he disposed of his inter- 
ests. At the present time he is living re- 
tired from active pursuits. 

For the past fifteen years Mr. Ives has 
been a director and vice-president of the 
Holyoke National Bank, and for a period 
of ten years has been one of the trustees 
and a member of the board of investment 
of the Holyoke Savings Bank. He is a 
director of the Holyoke Valve & Hydrant 
Company, the Irving Paper Company, 
and was formerly a director of the Bul- 
lard Thread Company. From 1900 to 
1914 he was a member of the board of 
license commissioners. He has always 
been identified with the Republican party, 
of which he is a staunch supporter, and 
served in various capacities in city offices, 
being a member of the Common Council, 
and was elected in 1894 as representative 

Mass— 6— 13 I 



in the State Legislature, being reelected 
in 1895. \N hile serving in the latter named 
capacity he was a member of the com- 
mittee on roads and bridges. In 1897 he 
was elected a member of the State Senate, 
and served on the committee on prisons 
and agriculture and was chairman of the 
committee on engrossed bills. Mr. Ives 
and his sister attend the First Baptist 
Church of Holyoke, and he is connected 
with the Masonic fraternity, being a mem- 
of Mt. Tom Lodge, Free and Accejjted 
Masons ; Mt. Holyoke Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons; and Holyoke Council, 
Royal and Select Masters. Mr. Ives is 
an energetic and capable business man, 
and through his own effort has risen to 
a position of importance in the city of 
Holyoke. He is ever ready to sustain any 
movement calculated to advance the in- 
terests of the city and benefit his fellow 
men. 



LAWRENCE, Hiram Bartlett, 

Educator. 

Among the educators of Massachusetts 
who have left a name indelibly stamped 
upon the community should be placed 
first Hiram Bartlett Lawrence, late of 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, who served the 
public schools of that city for the greater 
part of his useful life of seventy years, the 
last thirty-eight of which were as princi- 
pal of Appleton street school, this period 
covering the years from 1S72 until his 
death in 1910. He was then dean of the 
Holyoke corps of educators and in but 
few instances has his term of active teach- 
ing service been exceeded in the entire 
State. Thoroughly consecrated to his 
work, he was more to his pupils than a 
teacher, he was their friend, their guide 
and their inspiration. The good influence 
he exerted over them in the school con- 
tinued after they passed from under his 



93 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



teachings and his memory is warmly 
cherished by men and women now in the 
sere and yellow leaf, who recall his deep 
interest in their welfare and his many acts 
of kindness. Thousands of boys and girls 
passed through the Appleton street school 
during those thirty-eight years and in 
each he felt a personal interest, and his 
ambition was that the Appleton street 
school should be to them a true ahna 
maicr in shaping the course of their lives. 
Many of those scholars were men and 
women of Holyoke when Mr. Lawrence 
ended his earthly career, and it was in 
I espouse to a strong public sentiment 
created by them that the board of educa- 
tion renamed the Appleton street school 
and honored the man who had so long 
been its head by calling it the Lawrence 
School, thus officially designating it by 
the name the public had long before given 
it. And truly in the Lawrence School his 
influence permeated every department and 
inspired every teacher and every pupil to 
their best endeavor. 

The years spent in Holyoke schools did 
not cover Mr. Lawrence's entire career as 
an educator, for both in Maine, his native 
State, and in New Hampshire he had been 
principal of high school and academy. He 
educated himself for the profession of law 
and was regularly admitted to the Maine 
bar. but being compelled to teach in order 
to finance his college education, he de- 
veloped a deep love for that profession 
and after a short period of law practice 
he followed the leadings of his heart and 
gave himself to the cause of education. 

On the paternal side Mr. Lawrence 
traced his ancestry to Robert Lawrence, 
who, about 1664, left England, going to 
Holland, coming thence to Massachu- 
setts and settling at Sandwich, Barnstable 
county. In this branch he traced his de- 
scent to Sir Robert Lawrence, who at- 
tended his sovereign, Richard Coeur de 



Lion, to the Holy Land and as a Crusader 
won high honors. He particularly dis- 
tinguished himself at the siege of Acre 
and was knighted Sir Robert of Ashton 
Hall. Fifteen generations of the family 
Nourished in England ere the transplant- 
ing to America where the name is an 
equally honored one. On his mother's 
side Mr. Lawrence traced to Robert Bart- 
lett, who came to America on the ship 
"Ann" in July, 1623. settled at Plymouth, 
I\Iassachusetts, where he was prominent 
in early Colonial affairs and founded one 
of the strong New England families. 

Hiram Bartlett Lawrence, son of Oliver 
A. and Lemira ( Bartlett j Lawrence, was 
born in Wayne, Kennebec county, Maine, 
March 8, 1840, and died at his home in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, December 20, 
1910. His boyhood was passed on the 
home farm, the winter months being de- 
voted to school work, the summer months 
to farm labor. After exhausting the ad- 
vantages oflFered by the Wayne schools he 
attended Towie Academy at \\'inthrop, 
then taught for two winter terms in Ken- 
nebec county schools. He spent one year 
as a student at Maine State Seminary at 
Lewiston, entering Bowdoin College in 
Brunswick, Maine, in 1862. He spent four 
years at that institution, paying his own 
way with money earned during vacation 
periods. He won high honors at college 
and was class orator of the graduating 
class of 1866. He had decided upon the 
profession of law and registered as a law 
student in a lawyer's office at Gardiner. 
Maine, pursuing his law studies in con- 
nection with his duties as principal of the 
Gardiner High School. On August 11, 
1866. he was admitted to the Maine bar 
and he formed a partnership and began 
his legal practice. Shortly afterward his 
partner died, and after due consideration 
and no suitable partner being available, 
he decided to abandon the law and dedi- 



194 






^P\jfe 







^I^u^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cate his life to the profession of teaching, 
in which he had already proved a success 
and to which he felt strongly drawn. His 
first position after arriving at that de- 
cision was as principal of the Gardiner 
High School, of Gardiner, Maine. After 
completing his work there he next went 
to Penacook Academy, New Hampshire, 
where he remained until 1872, when he 
was elected principal of the Appleton 
street school, Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
and in that position the remaining thirty- 
eight years of his life were passed. Apple- 
ton street school was organized in 1864 
and had three principals prior to Mr. 
Lawrence, he taking charge in 1872. His 
term of service exceeded that of any 
teacher ever connected with the Holyoke 
schools, and in recognition of his long 
and valuable service, his usefulness and 
his devotion, the school is now officially 
known as the Lawrence School, a fitting 
tribute to his long and faithful service. 
But his monument is in the hearts of all 
who personally came wnthin the circle of 
his influence, and their "name is legion," 
including the youth of two generations, 
there being scarcely a family of standing 
in Holyoke in which one or more mem- 
bers do not lovingly recall their school 
years at the Appleton street school under 
his instruction, training and example. 

A lover of nature himself, he introduced 
the nature study, Appleton street school 
being the first school to form classes for 
indoor and outdoor nature study. The 
decoration and beautifying of school 
rooms and grounds was also due to his 
initiative, in fact, his progressive mind 
led in all modern forms of educating the 
young. He kept ever abreast of his times 
and in no particular did he lag behind. 
Himself a man of education and culture, 
he craved the same advantages for the 
youth of Holyoke, and by earnest, efficient 
\vork he brought boards of education. 



parents and pupils to a higher plane of 
thought and accomplished much of the 
desire of his heart. He was well-known 
in educational circles beyond his own city 
and often employed his talents as a writer 
and platform speaker. He was made a 
Mason in 1868, belonged to Ionic Lodge, 
Free and x-\ccepted Masons ; Psi Upsilon 
fraternity, Western Massachusetts Gram- 
mar Masters' Club, "The Club," of Hol- 
yoke, a literary organization ; and the 
Second Congregational Church. In poli- 
tics he was a Republican. He was very 
popular in these organizations, in fact, his 
genial manner, unfailing courtesy and in- 
tellectual gifts were an "open sesame" to 
any circle. 

Mr. Lawrence married, December 29, 
1875, Mary J. Day, daughter of Horace 
R. and Mary J. (Wiggins) Day. (See Day 
family elsewhere in this work.) She is 
a graduate of Holyoke High School, and 
prior to her marriage taught in the Wil- 
liam Whiting and Appleton street schools 
of Holyoke. She survives her husband 
and continues her residence in Holyoke. 
Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence were the parents 
of three children: Ray, died in infancy; 
Genevieve, died at two and one-half years 
of age ; Vera, wife of Raymond E. Snow, 
who is connected with the office of the 
chief engineer of the water department of 
the city of Springfield, Massachusetts, son 
of W. H. Snow, a former manager of the 
Holyoke Gas and Electric Company, now 
filling a similar position at New Bedford, 
Massachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. Raymond 
E. Snow have two children : Raymond 
Lawrence and Norma. 



O'NEILL, Francis Felix, 

Real Estate Operator. 

Lawrence O'Neill, grandfather of 
Francis F. O'Neill, was a paper manu- 
facturer in Dublin. Ireland, where he 



195 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lived and died, but was represented in the 
United States by his three sons, Felix, 
John and Lawrence, Jr., to all of whom 
he taught his own trade, paper making. 
John O'Neill was the first of the brothers 
to come to the United States, he engag- 
ing in the manufacture of i)aper, and giv- 
ing employment to his brother, Lawrence, 
when he came here in the year 1840, 
accompanied by their mother. 

Lawrence O'Neill, Jr., was born in 
Dublin, Ireland, about 1822, and died in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 1885. He 
was educated in the schools of his native 
land, also supplemented this by his own 
eflforts, and in 1840 he left his native land 
to seek a home in the new world, joining 
his brother John, a paper manufacturer of 
Berkshire county, Massachusetts. He 
was in his brother's employ and in busi- 
ness association with him until the year 
1869, when he located in Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, there being employed as a paper 
maker until his death, which occurred in 
1885. He was an active church member, 
and reared his children to habits of indus- 
try and right living. He married Jane 
^I. Wrinkle, a native of Ireland, a daugh- 
ter of Timothy Wrinkle, who died in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 1897. Mr. 
and Mrs. O'Neill were the parents of nine 
children, namely : i. John S., was a mem- 
ber of the Holyoke Board of Health for 
a number of years ; married Julia A. Hood, 
and they had the following children : 
John ; Mary, married Eugene Moriarity ; 
Anna ; Lawrence A. ; Ray ; Frances, mar- 
ried Edward F. McCarthy ; Jane ; Joseph ; 
Grace A.; John S. O'Neill died December 
6, 1915. 2. Jane Ann, deceased; was the 
wife of Francis J. Curley, deceased; chil- 
dren : Jane M., Stella, Evelyn, Gertrude, 
William F., Elizabeth, became the wife of 
Daniel Courtney. 3. Lawrence A., in part- 
nership with his brother, Francis F., in 
Holyoke. 4. Francis I-"clix, of whom fur- 



ther. 5. Timothy, married Nellie Connor, 
and has childen : Lawrence A.. Jane M. 
and Mary. f>. Mary E. 7. Edward M. 8. 
Katherine A., a teacher in the Whiting 
School. 9. Elizabeth M., principal of the 
South Chestnut Street School, Holyoke. 

Francis Felix O'Neill, son of Lawrence 
and Jane M. (Wrinkle) O'Neill, was born 
in Westminster, Massachusetts, May 6, 
1855. His early education was obtained 
in the public schools of Norwich and 
Windsor Locks, Connecticut, and after 
the family located in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, in 1869, he attended the Lawrence 
Street School. Upon the completion of 
his studies, he entered the employ of the 
Hampden Paper Mills as a cutter, going 
thence to the office employ of the Albion 
Paper Mill. Before attaining his seven- 
teenth year, he decided upon the trade of 
carpenter, and from that time until the 
age of twenty-three he was employed at 
that trade as apprentice and journeyman, 
becoming an expert mechanic and builder. 
In 1878 he began contracting and build- 
ing under his own name, and until 1907 
was so engaged, monuments to his skill 
and integrity as a builder standing in 
every part of the city of Holyoke. Among 
the public buildings he erected may be 
named the Hamilton Street and South 
Chestnut Street public schools, also 
Charles Street and Alden school houses 
in Springfield, Sacred Heart and Holy 
Cross churches, many business blocks on 
Essex, High, Main and Cabot streets, 
erecting more business blocks on High 
and Main streets than any other builder 
of the city, also many of the largest 
apartment houses. In 1907 he retired 
from the contracting field, and has since 
devoted himself to the real estate busi- 
ness, in association with his brother, 
Lawrence A. O'Neill. Mr. O'Neill has 
always taken a deep interest in city 
affairs, but has never sought public office. 



196 



D 



Tn* »iL»V 







J^ IK^^ 






?>^^^^^^^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF L;lO(:iRAI•ll^■ 



He is a Democrat in politics, and was 
member of the State Central Committee 
during the term of Governor Russell. Mr. 
O'Neill has taken an active part and in- 
terest in the business affairs of Ilolyoke, 
and was one of the first directors of the 
lUisiness Men's Association, which organ- 
ization was the basis of the present Board 
of Trade, of which he is a director, and he 
is also a member of the Chamber of Com- 
merce. He is a member and past president 
of the Holyoke Master Builders Associ- 
ation, of which he was the organizer, and 
a member of the Massachusetts State As- 
sociation of Master Builders, of which he 
was one of the organizers, and is now a 
member of the executive board ; a member 
of the Improved Order of Red Men, and 
past sachem of Wampanoag Tribe ; the 
Catholic Order of Foresters, and past 
chief ranger of Shields Court, and in 1876 
enlisted in Company K, Second Regi- 
ment, Massachusetts National Guard, 
serving three years. 

Mr. O'Neill married, January 30, 1884, 
Julia A. Murphy, daughter of Patrick and 
Joanna (McCraw) Murphy. 



SKINNER, William, 

Manufacturer, PIiilaiitliTopist. 

It is an honor to stand as did William 
Skinner in the very front rank of textile 
manufacturers of this great nation, but a 
greater honor to be, as he was, a man who 
by an honorable upright life left the im- 
press of his character upon the yovmg men 
of his city, and to rank for all time as one 
of those men of generous nature and char- 
itable impulse, to whom Holyoke owes 
the development of her philanthropic and 
public institutions. 

He placed "Skinner's Satin" upon the 
market, and there is no name better 
known in the dry goods trade, its repu- 
tation resting on quality of goods and 



honorable dealing on the part of the 
maker. That reputation did not come in 
a day nor upon the (Iclivcring of one bill 
of goods, but by long years of honest 
manufacture and honorable dealing. Un-* 
til 1874 his i)lant was located in the centre 
of a prosperous conmiunity which grew 
up around it known as Skinnerville. Then 
came the great flood of 1874, when Mill 
river swept all evidences of manufactur- 
ing from her banks, leaving nothing be- 
longing to Mr. Skinner but his residence, 
and that injured. The rebuilding of a 
plant was an easy matter, as the only 
thing to do was to plan new and enlarged 
buildings, select a location, and l)uild. But 
with the handsome residence slightly in- 
jured, the problem was more difficult. It 
was finally settled, however, by taking 
the house down as carefully as possible, 
transporting it to Holyoke grounds occu- 
pying an entire city block. Thus was the 
old mansion with its memories retained 
and with its beautiful surroundings, the 
home of Mr. Skinner until his death. It 
was in accord with the homeloving in- 
stinct of his nature that Mr. Skinner did 
this thing, and when beautiful "Wistaria- 
hurst" was ready for occupancy, it was 
not a new, cold, unfamiliar home that he 
entered, but the home he knew and loved, 
a valued gem in a new setting. 

William Skinner, son of John Skinner, 
was born in London. England. November 
14, 1824, died at his home. 'AVistaria- 
hurst.'' Holyoke. Massachusetts. Febru- 
ary 28, 1902. His father was engaged in 
the silk business in London, and after 
completing a full course in the public 
schools William Skinner was given a 
practical training in silk manufacture by 
his father. At the age of nineteen he 
came to the United States, a skilled 
worker in silk, determined that his techni- 
cal knowledge and skill should bring him 
greater returns than was possible in Eng- 



197 



E>:CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



land. His first position was with the 
\'alentine Dye Works in Northampton, 
Massachusetts. Two years later he asso- 
ciated himself with Josei)h Warner, and 
under the firm name of Warner & Skin- 
ner began the manufacture of sewing silks 
in Northampton. In 1849 the excellent 
water power at Haydenville, part of the 
town of Williamsburg, attracted him, and 
a few miles from Northampton a small 
mill was built on the banks of Mill river. 
There he manufactured sewing silks. In 
1853 he purchased a plant and water 
power at what became known as Skinner- 
ville. and in 1854 added silk twists to his 
former line of sewing silks. In 1857 he 
built a three-story mill, 80x30, known as 
the Unquomonk Silk Mills. There he 
continued in splendid usefulness and pros- 
perity until 1874, Skinnerville becoming 
a thrifty, prosperous community, and the 
Unquomonk Silk Mills, one of the leading 
manufacturing enterprises of Western 
Massachusetts. Nearby he had erected 
a residence in keeping with the wealth 
and position of its owner, and nothing 
but promise of even better things was in 
prospect when suddenly, on May 16, 1874, 
a dam five miles above Skinnerville in an 
instant caused a raging devastating flood. 
The mill and houses were swept away, 
and all that remained of the thrifty village 
was the house of Mr. Skinner, which stood 
on higher ground, but even that did not 
escape injury. 

\\''ith the mill swept away, Mr. Skinner 
decided to rebuild in a locality offering 
better power facilities, and after mature 
deliberation selected Holyoke and there 
completed his first mill in October, 1874. 
six months after the flood disaster. He 
there began the manufacture of cotton 
back satins, and silk and mohair braids, 
for which the Skinner mills became 
famous. Prosperity for the plant and 
for the city in which it was located fol- 



lowed, and from the single mill came en- 
largement and addition until a very large 
plant resulted, and a business the largest 
of its kind in the United States. In 1883 
his sons, William and Joseph A., were ad- 
mitted, the firm name then becoming W^il- 
liam Skinner & Sons. At that time five 
hundred hands were employed at the 
plant, but this was greatly increased later, 
as additions were made until in 1917 over 
two thousand five hundred hands were 
employed. In 1889 the business w^as in- 
corporated as W'illiam Skinner Manufac- 
turing Company, capital $100,000, with 
William Skinner, president and treasurer, 
and Joseph A. Skinner, secretary ; and as 
its capable head William Skinner con- 
tinued until his death in 1902. The great 
mills of the company were veritable hives 
of industry where the vast quantities of 
raw- material received were converted into 
finished goods, a constant stream of satin 
dress goods and linings, taffeta silk, and 
mohair braids, sewing silks, and twists, 
pouring out through the shipping room to 
every nook and corner of the world where 
their use was possible. "Skinner's Satin" 
ruled the market, and in the great cities, 
of New York, Boston, Philadelphia and 
Chicago, offices for sale and distribution 
were maintained. Mr. Skinner was a di- 
rector of the Silk Association of America, 
director of the Silk Manufacturers* Asso- 
ciation, and president of the Holyoke 
Manufacturers' Association. He was a 
good business man, relying not on diplo- 
macy, but upon right and just dealing for 
his victories. 

With his own future assured, Mr. Skin- 
ner lost no opportunity to extend the 
helping hand to a "worn and weary," 
brother, or to generously remember Hol- 
yoke's institutions for bettering the con- 
ditions of the unfortunate. He was the 
largest contributor to the City Hospital 
and for many years was president of its 
98 



E.XCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



board of management. The House of 
Providence Hospital was also largely 
benefited through the generous nature of 
this greathearted man. He gave without 
reservation a complete site for a Young 
Men's Christian Association building, and 
liberally toward the erection of the build- 
ing thereon. Grace Church, an outgrowth 
of the Second Congregational Church of 
Holyoke, was erected largely through his 
generosity, and just prior to his death he 
subscribed ten thousand dollars toward 
the new Holyoke Public Library Fund. 
Besides. Mt. Holyoke. \'assar and Smith 
colleges all were recipients of his gener- 
ous benefactions ; and to the Dwight L. 
Moody School at Xorthheld, Massachu- 
setts, he gave a finely equipped g}-mna- 
sium. 

He was a patron of art and music, and 
all societies of a refining nature appealed 
to his nature. He loved Holyoke and her 
institutions, and no son could have been 
more devoted and helpful. He profited 
through Holyoke's exceptionally good 
manufacturing facilities, and Holyoke re- 
ceived in return not only the substantial 
gifts noted, but. in addition Holyoke has 
received the loyal interest of his able sons 
and helpful daughters who carry on the 
business, maintain beautiful 'W'istaria- 
hurst," and continue the philanthropic 
work the father began. 

Mr. Skinner married (first) Xancy 
Warner, of Xorthampton, Massachusetts, 
a descendant of one of the first settlers 
of the town. She left two daughters — 
Eleanor, who married Frederick H. War- 
ner, of Boston : and Xina, who married 
Charles E. Clark, of Philadelphia, de- 
ceased. Mr. Skinner married (second) 
Sarah Elizabeth Allen, died March 6, 
1908. daughter of Captain Joseph Allen, 
of Xorthampton. who died July 12. 1876. 
William and Sarah E. ('Allen) Skinner 
were the parents of two sons and three 
daughters : 



1. William Skinner, born in Xorthamp- 
ton, Massachusetts. June 12, 1857; pre- 
pared at Williston Seminary and attended 
Yale University. He succeeded his father 
as head of the great corporation that bears 
his name. He is vice-president of the 
Pacific Bank of Xew York City, and a 
director in the following institutions : The 
Broadway Trust Company of Xew York; 
the Irving Xational I'ank of Xew York; 
the Boston & Lowell Railroad Company ; 
the Hartford & Connecticut Western 
Railroad Company ; the Poughkeepsie 
Bridge Railroad Company ; the United 
States Conditioning and Testing Com- 
pany ; the Worcester Investment and Se- 
curity Company : the Worcester Street 
Railways Company ; the First Xational 
Bank of Boston ; the Maine Central Rail- 
road Company; the Massachusetts Mu- 
tual Life Insurance Company : the Amer- 
ican Surety Company ; the Equitable 
Life Assurance Company ; the Boston 
Railroad Holding Company ; and the 
Central X'ew England Railroad Company. 
He is a member of the board of managers 
of the Silk Association of .A-merica ; and 
of the following clubs : The Metropoli- 
tan. Union League. Xew York Yacht, and 
Automobile. In religion he is a Congre- 
gationalist. 

2. Elizabeth Allen Skinner, married 
Rev. William H. Hubbard. D. D.. of Au- 
burn, Xew York. 

3. Joseph A. Skinner, president of the 
Hadley Falls Xational Bank. 

4. Belle Skinner, mistress of "Wistaria- 
hurst," her loved and long time home 

5. Katharine, who married Robert S. 
Kilborne. of Xew York City. 



CLARK, John E.. 

Manufacturer, Financier. 

From the age of sixteen years the life 
of John E. Clark, of Holyoke. Massachu- 
setts, president of the People's Savings 
Bank of that city, has been one of increas- 
ing and successful business activity, and 
since the age of twenty-one he has been 
a partner, manager or head of every busi- 
ness enterprise with which he has been 
connected. The association he formed 



199 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



early in his business life with (leorge R. 
Dickinson, of Springfield. Massachusetts, 
continued unbroken until Mr. Dickinson's 
death, and together they conducted suc- 
cessfully several enterprises which be- 
came well known in Holyoke and West- 
ern Massachusetts. His association with 
the People's Savings P>ank began in 1885 
as a director and vice-president, and since 
May 10, 1909, he has been its capable 
president. In every line of activity he 
has entered he has proven strong and 
capable, his career furnishing an example 
of continued success, won through hon- 
orable methods and the ability to plan and 
execute. 

He is a son of Edward and Lucinda 
(Allard) Clark, the former of whom was 
born in Hopkinton, Massachusetts, where 
on arriving at manhood he engaged in 
farming. He went to Ashland, where he 
sold produce and killed beef for the Bos- 
ton market. He then went to Petersham, 
where he followed farming and raising 
produce. He then went to Worcester and 
engaged in selling tin, woodenware and 
glassware. His final removal was to 
Springfield, where he spent the remainder 
of his life, and where his death occurred 
September 12, 1882. He was a Repub- 
lican in politics, taking a deep interest in 
piiblic affairs, and was an active member 
of the various bodies of the Masonic 
order. He married Lucinda Allard, who 
died August 2, 1888, the mother of nine 
children, four of whom are living: i. 
Alrua L., widow of E. L. Munn, who was 
for many years a prominent banker of 
Holyoke, where he was instrumental in 
founding two large banks ; during his last 
years he resided in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts. 2. John E., of further mention. 
3 Alice M., widow of Charles B. Brown, 
who died in February, 1916. 4. William 
H., a traveling salesman, representing a 
western paper house. 



John E. Clark was born at Ashland, 
Massachusetts, July 24, 1847. He was 
educated in the public schools of W^orces- 
ter, Massachusetts, leaving school at the 
age of sixteen to enter the employ of R. 
C. Dickinson & Company, of New Haven, 
Connecticut, wholesale dealers in rags 
and paper stock, and manufacturers of 
tin and ironware. Their business was 
one which is now among the memories of 
the past, but was then a very important 
one. They manufactured by hand labor 
in their factory in New Haven a full line 
of tinware, also dealt in woodenware and 
cutlery, and in addition carried silver and 
glassware in every variety for household 
use. These goods were sold all over New 
England by men classed as "tin peddlers," 
who covered designated routes with 
wagons, carrying a large stock, being 
virtually traveling department stores. 
They exchanged their goods for cotton 
and woolen rags, old iron, brass, copper, 
etc. Their coming was eagerly awaited 
by the housewives, boys and girls, and a 
lerge business was transacted by each 
wagon. Modern invention and easy com- 
munication between country and town 
brought about the death of the business, 
the handmade tinware of the Dickinson 
plant not being able to compete with the 
press work of modern factories. 

Mr. Clark was admitted a partner to 
R. C. Dickinson & Company at twenty- 
one years of age, the firm then consisting 
of R. C. and George R. Dickinson and 
h'mself. After a few years R. C. Dickin- 
son retired and the two remaining part- 
ners consolidated with Thomas H. 
Wheeler, who was engaged in a similar 
business. Finally George R. Dickinson 
retired, and Mr. Clark in 1878 sold his 
interest to Mr. Wheeler. In 1879, J" part- 
nership with his old associate, George R. 
Dickinson, he purchased the old Albion 
Paper Mill, at Holyoke, which they oper- 



200 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OP BIOGRAl'IIY 



ated as the Dickinson & Clark Paper 
Company. They conducted a highly suc- 
cessful business up to 1890, when they 
disposed of it to its former owners. In 
the meantime, in 1883, in connection with 
D M. Dickinson, they had purchased the 
Excelsior Paper Company, which busi- 
ness they carried on for some years when 
Mr. Clark bought out both partners, con- 
tinuing the business alone, until forced 
by ill health he sold the Excelsior Mill 
to Henry S. Dickinson and others. He 
intended to erect a large plant and resume 
paper manufacturing, but the death of 
Mr. Dickinson altered Mr. Clark's plans, 
and after settling up the affairs of the 
former partnership, he accepted the posi- 
tion of general manager of the George R. 
Dickinson Paper Company, and continued 
in this position and with this plant until it 
was disposed of to the American Writing 
Paper Company, and he was retained as 
manager of this company for several 
years. He was first president of the Ford 
Augur Bit Company, of Holyoke, and 
after the death of the treasurer he was 
elected to that office and continued in that 
capacity until April 14. 1916, when the 
business was disposed of. 

He was one of the charter members 
of the People's Savings Bank of Holyoke, 
organized in 1885, and as vice-president 
ard trustee has maintained intimate rela- 
tions with the bank from the first. On 
May 10, 1909, he was elected its president 
and has since devoted himself to the 
dn.ties of that office. He was for many 
years a director of the Excelsior Paper 
Company, and is now a director of the C. 
AV. I. Building Company, Incorporated, 
of New Haven. A Republican in politics, 
he has taken an active part in the city 
gc vernment, serving as alderman 1885- 
86. and has been ever an interested and 
useful citizen. He is a member of the 
Holyoke Club, of which he was president 



for three years, and is always ready to aid 
any public movement that is of value to 
the city. 

Mr. Clark married, August lo. 1870, 
Adella E., daughter of Walter \V. and 
Sarah (Bartholomew) Ives, of Walling- 
ford, Connecticut. Walter W. Ives was 
born December 3, 1816, and died Decem- 
ber 21, 1880. He was a farmer and fol- 
lowed that calling all his life. His wife 
was born October 24, 1822, and died De- 
cember 26, 1906. Mr. and Mrs. Walter 
W. Ives were the parents of seven chil- 
dren, five of whom are now living: Vic- 
torine A., residing in Meriden, Connec- 
ticut; Adella E., wife of John E. Clark; 
Georgene, residing in Meriden ; Charles 
Walter, residing in New Haven ; Fannie 
E., twin with Charles W., wife of Herbert 
J. Frink, president of the Holyoke Ma- 
chine Company. John E. and Adella E. 
Clark have three children: i. Royal E.. a 
graduate of Brown University, is now 
engaged in the real estate and insurance 
business at Bridgeport, Connecticut ; he 
married Catherine E. Wheeler and they 
have the following children, Wheeler and 
John Elliott. 2d. 2. Aline B., married 
Herbert C. Haunton, general agent for 
mill supplies; they have one son. Thur- 
low C. 3. Walter E., who was assistant 
treasurer and manager of the Ford Augur 
Bit Company, of Holyoke. up to 1916. and 
is now with the Millers Falls Tool Com- 
pany, of Millers Falls. Massachusetts ; he 
married Mildred Kendrick. of Chicago, 
Illinois. 



TITUS, Leonard Lee. 

Cashier of City National Bank. Holyoke. 

Leonard Lee Titus, one of the promi- 
nent figures in financial circles in Central 
Massachusetts, cashier of one of the larg- 
est banks in Holyoke, director of the 
Morris Plan Company of Holyoke. treas- 



201 



ENXVCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



urer of the Chamber of Commerce, and 
other organizations, is descended from 
one of the oldest New England families. 
The surname Titus is extremely ancient, 
dating to the time surnames came into 
use before the year 1200. in France, and 
soon afterward in England. The best 
authority on English surnames, "Patro- 
nymica Britannia," informs us that the 
surname was derived from the personal 
name. Even before the time of Titus, the 
Roman Emperor, back in Biblical times, 
Titus was a common personal and bap- 
tismal name, when in most countries each 
{)crson had one or more personal names, 
perhaps a patronymic to tell the name of 
his father, but no family name. Burke 
gives but one coat-of-arms for the Eng- 
lish family and the presumption follows 
that the Canadian and American descend- 
ants are entitled to use it. It is described : 
Quarterly one and four or on a chief 
gules, a lion passant guardant of the field. 
Two and three gyronny of eight or and 
azure on an escutcheon or a black's head 
ccuped sable, wreathed round the temples 
argent and azure. Crest: A black's head 
ccuped at the shoulders proper, wreathed 
round the head argent and of the first. 

(I) Robert Titus, the first in America, 
was born in St. Catherine's Parish, near 
Stanstead Abbots, Hertfordshire, Eng- 
Irind, about thirty miles from London, in 
the year 1600. He was a son of Colonel 
S'las and Constantia Titus. Colonel Titus 
died there October 22, 1607. Robert Titus 
sailed from London, April 3, 1635, in the 
ship "Hopewell," with wife Hannah, aged 
thirty-one years, son John, aged eight, and 
son Edmund, aged five years. He settled 
in Boston and had a grant at Muddy 
River (now Brookline), was admitted a 
fieeman. May 13, 1640, removed to Wey- 
mouth, Massachusetts, and about 1644 to 
Rehoboth, with Rev. Samuel Newman. 
He was one of the founders of the town 



of Rehoboth, and commissioner of Ply- 
mouth county in 1648-49-50 and 1654. He 
sold his Rehoboth property to Robert 
Jones, of Nantasket, and went to Hunt- 
ington, Long Island, May 23, 1654, with 
sons, Samuel, Abiel and Content. His son 
John remained in Rehoboth. The will of 
Hannah Titus, wife of Robert Titus, was 
dated May 14, 1672, at Huntington, and 
was proved December 17, 1679 (Court of 
Appeals, Albany, New York). Children: 
Jchn, mentioned below; Edmund, born 
1630, died 1727; Samuel; Susanna; Abiel, 
born March 17, 1641, at Weymouth ; Con- 
tent, March 28, 1643, died 1730. 

(II) John Titus, son of Robert Titus, 
was born 1627, in England, died April 16, 
1689. He was one of the original pur- 
chasers of what is now the city of Attle- 
boro, Massachusetts ; was prominent in 
town and church. He and his son John 
were soldiers in King Philip's War. His 
first wife's name was Rachel, who died 
before 1659, in which year he married 
Abigail Carpenter, daughter of William 
and Abigail Carpenter, of Rehoboth, born 
April 9, 1643, iri Weymouth, Massachu- 
sttts. She married (second) November 
9, 1692, Jonah Palmer, and died March 
5. 1710. Children of first wife, born at 
Rehoboth : John, mentioned below ; 
Abigail, February 18, 1652 ; Silas, May 18, 
1655; Hannah, November 28, 1658; of 
second marriage: Samuel, born June i, 
1661 ; Joseph and Mary (twins), March 
17, 1665 ; Experience, October 9, 1669. 

(TTI) John (2) Titus, son of John (i) 
and Rachel Titus, born December 18, 1650, 
in Rehoboth, made his home in that town, 
and died there December 2, 1697. He 
married there (second) July 3, 1677, 
Scirah Miller, born October 15, 1655, in 
Rehoboth, daughter of John Miller, Sr., 
died March 10, 1752. 

(IV) Timothy Titus, youngest son of 
John (2) and Sarah (Miller) Titus, was 
202 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born November i6, 1692, in Rehoboth, 
where he lived with his wife Waite. 

(V) Timothy (2) Titus, second son of 
Timothy (i) and Waite Titus, was born 
September 14, 1721, in Rehoboth, and was 
m.arried at Dedham, December 24, 1747, 
to Jerusha Whipple. 

(VI) Timothy (3) Titus, son of Tim- 
othy (2) and Jerusha (Whipple) Titus, 
was born June 17, 1762, in Rehoboth, and 
lived in that town. He married there, 
March 7, 1785, Olive Lincoln, born Janu- 
ary 4, 1763, in that town, daughter of 
Isaac and Sarah Lincoln, who came from 
Taunton. 

(VII) Jam,es Titus, second son of Tim- 
othy (3) and Olive (Lincoln) Titus, was 
born August 3, 1797, and removed to New 
Brunswick, settling in Kings county of 
that Canadian province. There he mar- 
ried Mary Upham, born July 22, 1797, in 
Cavendish, Vermont, died August 9, 1872, 
youngest child of Jabez and Bethia (Cut- 
ler) Upham, who came from Brookfield, 
Massachusetts, and located in Wood- 
stock, later Upham, Kings county, New 
Brunswick. Jabez Upham served in the 
Continental Revolutionary army, and 
after many years residence in Vermont 
removed to New Brunswick. James Titus 
and wife were the parents of three sons : 
Jabez E., Jonathan C. and James W. 

(VIII) Jabez E. Titus, son of James 
Titus, was born February 5, 1826, in Irm- 
sey, province of New Brunswick, Canada, 
and died in September. 1878. His first 
wife's maiden name was Snow. He mar- 
ried (second) Charlotte E. Gorham,, who 
was born April 15, 1825, at Long Beach, 
Kingston, New Brunswick, died April 9. 
1900, daughter of George and Sarah (Ray- 
mond) Gorham. Both Snow and Gorham 
families were doubtless branches of the 
pioneers from Cape Cod, Massachusetts. 
Child by first wife : James. Children by 
second wife: Theodore E., Annie W., 



married Robert Hastings ; Joseph H., 
mentioned below; Lemuel W., Claretta 
J., Ransford, George E., Sarah Louise, 
married Victor Gowland. 

(IX) Joseph H. Titus, son of Jabez E. 
and Charlotte E. (Gorham) Titus, was 
born at Smithtown, New Brunswick, 
April 18, 1858. He was educated in the 
common schools, and early in life engaged 
in business as a lumberman in New 
Brunswick. While yet a young man in 
1891, he came to Massachusetts. After 
living a few years at Wollaston, Massa- 
chusetts, he bought a place in New Brain- 
tree, Massachusetts, in 1904. and since 
then has followed farming. He is a mem- 
ber of the Baptist church. He married. 
November 19, 1877, in Canada, Phoebe 
Elizabeth Titus, who was born in Titus- 
ville. New Brunswick, October 8, 1858. a 
daughter of William and Phoebe (Dyke- 
man) Titus, also a descendant of the 
Loyalist settler. Children: Harry W., 
born November 8, 1881, lives in Wollas- 
ton. married and has a son, Lincoln ; 
Leonard Lee. mentioned below ; Cora 
\\\. born July 15, 1885; Horace G., born 
November 23. 1886, lives in Ouincy, Mas- 
sachusetts ; Ferris Louise, born Novem- 
ber 18. 1899. 

(X) Leonard Lee Titus, son of Joseph 
H. Titus, was born at Smithtown. Kings 
county. New Brunswick, October 4. 1883. 
He came to this country with his parents 
in early childhood, attended the public 
schools of Wollaston and afterward took 
a course in a Boston business college. He 
has been in the banking business since 
he was sixteen years old, beginning in 
1899 as a clerk in the First National Bank 
of Boston. From time to time he won 
promotions, and he was assistant cashier 
of the bank when he resigned in 1914 to 
accept the position of cashier of the City 
National Bank of Holyoke. In noticing 
the choice of the directors for ca-hicr. the 



203 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



"Bankers Home Magazine" of September, 
1914, said : 

Mr Titus was formerly in the employ of the 
First National Bank of Boston for twelve years 
preceding his election to his new position, during 
which time he had worked in various capacities in 
that large and prosperous institution, thus having 
received a training that well fitted him for the 
position to which he was recently elected. Mr. 
Titus was not only active in his own bank but 
was interested in the work of organizations con- 
nected with the banking business, being charter 
secretary of the Boston Chapter, American Insti- 
tute of Banking, having attended their conven- 
tions in the past, thereby enlarging his acquaint- 
ance and making friends throughout the country. 
Locally his service in connection with the work 
of the Bank Officers' Association of the city of 
Boston as secretary of the entertainment com- 
mittee for three years was one which brought 
him in close touch with the banking fraternity of 
Boston, and while his summons to a broader field 
was well merited, he will be much missed by his 
Boston friends. The bank which he has the honor 
to represent is one of the oldest in Holyoke, in- 
corporated in 1879, with a capital of $200,000 — 
in 1888 it was reorganized and the capital in- 
creased to $500,000. To-day it is recognized as 
among the strongest financial institutions of West- 
ern Massachusetts with deposits of $2,800,000, ably 
officered, ably directed and carrying the accounts 
of many of the leading merchants and manufac- 
turers of Holyoke and vicinity. 

In his new position, Mr. Titus has made 
good from the outset. He has made 
friends rapidly and is already well known 
throughout the city. Under his adminis- 
tration the bank has enjoyed a period of 
exceptional growth and prosperity. When 
the Morris Plan Company, an institution 
for small borrowers, was recently incor- 
porated in Holyoke. he became interested 
as one of the founders and is now one 
of the directors. This bank seems to have 
a special field of usefulness in Holyoke 
and supplies a great need. In public 
affairs Mr. Titus has taken an active part 
since coming to Holyoke, and he is now 
treasurer of the Chamber of Commerce 
and of the Rotary Club, in which he is the 



representative of the banking business. 
He is also a member of the Canoe Club, 
the Mount Tom Golf Club and other 
organizations. He attends the Second 
Congregational Church. 

Mr. Titus married, October 3, 1908, 
Elizabeth Klingenhagen, of Plymouth, 
Massachusetts, a daughter of Caspar 
Klingenhagen. 



WYCKOFF, Joseph Lewis, 

Manufacturer, Man of Affairs. 

The ancestry of Joseph L. Wyckoff, 
president of the White & WyckofT Manu- 
facturing Company, of Holyoke, makers 
of fine stationery, traces in paternal line 
through ten American generations to 
Oaes Cornelissen Wyckoff, born about 
1595, who came from the Netherlands to 
New Amsterdam in 1636. But the com- 
ing of the Dutch ancestor is antedated 
by Mr. Wyckoff's English ancestors, John 
and Priscilla (Mullins) Alden, of the 
"Mayflower" by sixteen years, that his- 
toric couple forming a part of the first 
English settlement in New England in 
1620. 

The maternal line traces through nine 
American generations, John and Priscilla 
Alden being young when they landed, 
their marriage being the first in the Ply- 
mouth Colony, and their daughter Eliza- 
beth the first white woman born in New 
England. The line of descent is through 
their fifth child, Ruth Alden, who married 
John Bass ; their daughter, Sarah Bass, 
married Ephraim Thayer ; their daughter, 
Ruth Thayer, married John Capen ; their 
daughter, Esther Capen, married Benja- 
min Ludden ; their daughter, Milcah Lud- 
den, married Daniel Gates ; their daugh- 
ter, Esther Gates, married James Wyck- 
ofi ; their son, James WyckofT, married 
Caroline W. Tuttle ; their son, Joseph 
Lewis Wyckoflf, of Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts. 



204 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Claes Cornelissen Wyckoff, the Dutch 
ancestor, who came to New Amsterdam 
in 1636, left a son, Peter Claessen 
Wyckoff. who died in 1695, '^ prominent 
man of his day living on Long Island. He 
married Gretia Van Ness. Children : 
Annatje, Mayken, Geerje, Claes or 
Nicholas, Cornelius, Hendrick, Gerrit, 
Martin, Peter, and John. 

Claes (Nicholas) Wyckoff, son of Peter 
Claessen Wyckoff, married and had chil- 
dren : Peter, died 1757; Jacob, died 1720, 
married, October 16, 1706, Willantje Jan- 
son Van Vorhes ; Nicholas, baptized Feb- 
ruary 16, 1679; Sarah, baptized February 
27. 1681 ; Cornelius, baptized August 5, 
1683, married. May 3, 1708, Adriana Luy- 
ster. 

Peter Wyckoff", eldest son of Claes 
Wyckoff, married and had children : 
Nicholas Petersen, John, Jacobus, Cor- 
nelius, Maryin, Antje, Sarah, Jannetje. 

Nicholas Petersen Wyckoff, eldest son 
of Peter Wyckoff, born in 1700, married 
and had children : Peter, Samuel, Nich- 
olas, William, John and Nellie. 

Peter (2) Wyckoff, eldest son of Nich- 
olas Petersen Wyckoff, was born March 
17 1724, and died June 7, 1807. He mar- 
ried (first) Maria , born November 

22, 1 719, and died Februar^^ 7, 1758. He 

married (second) Jannett , who 

died June 16, 1775. He married (third) 
Rebecca Emaus, who died September 17, 
1807. Children: Hannah, born March 
2y, 1744; Nicholas, September 20, 1745; 
John, July 19, 1747; Elizabeth, October 
27, 1749; Peter, January 22, 1754; Mavia, 
April 15, 1757; Joseph, January 5, 1760; 
William, December 27, 1761 ; Cornelius, 
October 11, 1763; Mary, October 4, 1765; 
Jane, September 18, 1767; Margaret, No- 
vember 14, 1769; Albert, March 14, 1772. 

William Wyckoff, son of Peter (2) 
Wyckoff and his second wife, was born 
December 2/, 1761, and died April 2, 1847. 



He married. January 17. 178^), Isabella 
Crownover or Covenhoven, born Septem- 
ber II, 1767, and died October 15, 1837. 
Children: James, born October 19, 1788, 
died June 20, 1840; Peter, October 28, 
1790, died March 7, 1821 ; Thomas, Octo- 
ber 27, 1792, died March. 1844; Sarah, 
October 15, 1794, died January 15, 1838; 
Samuel, January 13, 1798; Jannette, Octo- 
ber 30, 1799, died December 28, 1876; 
Lucetta, February 12, 1802, died October 
17, 1838; Laura, February 19, 1804, fl>ed 
January 4, 1878; Mary, January 2. 1807. 

James Wyckoff, eldest son of William 
Wyckoff, was born at Hopewell, New 
York, October 19, 1788, and died there, 
January 3, 1840. He married at Hope- 
well, January 19, 1812, Esther Gates, born 
at Hopewell, April 19, 1796, died at La- 
Crosse, Wisconsin, July 14, 1871, she be- 
ing a descendant of John and Priscilla 
(Mullins) Alden, of the "Mayflower." 
Children: Eliza, born July 25, 1813, died 
January 21, 1890; Daniel G., May 5. 1815, 
died December 28, 1890; a son, born and 
died May 15, 1817; Esther, born Novem- 
ber 7, 1818, died August 7, 1819; Emma, 
November 7, 1818, died August 5, 1819; 
James, December 12, 1820, died July 19, 
1890; Joseph B., February 24, 1822; Eras- 
tus, April I, 1825, died August 13, 1825; 
Esther G.. December 27, 1826, died Janu- 
ary 21, 1917; Emma Hitchcock, Novem- 
ber 25. 1829, died November 29, 1894, 
m^irried at Hopewell. New York. April 
10, 1854, Richard T. Tuttle, born at 
Seneca, New York, September 18. 1830. 
died at Perry, April 2/, 1896 — child— Wil- 
lis Hastings Tuttle, born at Perry. June 
7. 1856, died November 29. 1916; Cyrus 
G., July 2j, 1832. died August. 187 1 ; Wil- 
liam M. B., August 2/, 1834: Mary I.. 
January 4, 1837. died April 20. 1837. 

lames (2) Wyckoff. third son of James 
(i) Wyckoff. was born at Hopewell. On- 
tario county, New York. December 12,1820, 



205 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and died at Perry, Wyoming county, Xew 
York, July 19, 1890. For several years 
he was a farmer in Canandaigua, Ontario 
county, New York, then moved to Perry, 
Wyoming county, where he engaged in 
the hardware business and in the manu- 
facture of harvesting machinery under the 
firm name of Wyckoff & Tuttle. In a 
history of the town of Perry published in 
1915, this tribute is paid James Wyckoff: 
"Probably the most enthusiastic agitator 
in providing Perry with railroad connec- 
tion with the outside world was James 
Wyckoff who was among the first to 
recognize the advantages that would 
accrue in developing the town and stimu- 
lating its growth. He was one of the 
original and most active and determined 
promoters of the enterprise ; was presi- 
dent of the road for a number of years, 
and a director from the beginning until 
his death. After the sale of the road he 
held for several years the ofifice of rail- 
road commissioner of the town of Perry." 

The fact was well recognized that to 
Mr. Wyckoff more than to any other was 
due this great public improvement, the 
village of Perry connected with the out- 
side world with gleaming rails over 
which the products of both village and 
town were carried to distant markets. 
He was as confident during the most 
gloomy period of the undertaking as when 
the whistle of the first locomotive an- 
nounced the fruition of his hopes. He 
was an honored member of the Masonic 
order, and a devoted Christian, serving 
the Perry Presbyterian Church as deacon. 

James Wyckoff married at Hopewell, 
New York, October 3, 1843, Caroline 
Wadsworth Tuttle, born at Seneca, New 
York, August 26, 1824, died October 30, 
1905, daughter of Joseph Tuttle, of Ben- 
nington, Vermont. Mr. and Mrs. Wyckoff 
were the parents of six sons and a daugh- 
ter: I. Henry Pratt, born at Hopewell, 



New York, December 10, 1845, ^^^^ ^^ 
Perry, New York, September 12, i860. 

2. Ella Harwood, born at Hopewell, April 

3. 1S48; married at Perry, April 4, 1872, 
Francis H. Lloyd, of LaCrosse, Wiscon- 
sin ; children, all born at LaCrosse : 
Henry Wyckoff, April 4, 1873; Thomas 
Harper, October 16, 1877; Caroline 
Louise, March 7, 1885. 3. Frank Herbert, 
born at Hopewell, July i, 1851, died at 
Perry, December 21, 1900. 4. Edwin 
Morton, born at Hopewell, April 12, 1856; 
married, December 19, 1888, Frances S. 
Downing, of Palmyra, New York. 5. 
James Newton, born at Perry, November 
I9> 1859; married there, May 8, 1889, 
Mary E. Olin, of Perry ; children, both 
born at Perry, Elizabeth Olin, March 8, 
1890, deceased ; James September 9, 1894. 
6 Joseph Lewis, of further mention. 7. 
Richard Tuttle, born at Perry, October 
16, 1866; married at Ithaca, New York, 
May 13, 1891, Pauline M. Blakesley, of 
Ithaca. Children, born at Holyoke, I\Ias- 
sachusetts: Helen Louise, August i, 
1892; Frank Tuttle, May 14, 1898. 

Joseph Lewis Wyckoff, fifth son of 
James (2) and Caroline Wadsworth 
(Tuttle) Wyckoff, was born at Perry, 
New York, December 10, 1864. He was 
educated in Perry and Ithaca schools, and 
began his business career in the harvest- 
ing machinery plant of Wyckoff & Tuttle 
at Perry. After three years' service with 
that company he was elected secretary 
of the Perry Salt Company, holding that 
position two years. He then spent eigh- 
teen months in New York City, locating 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 1890, after 
his New York experience. In Holyoke 
he became identified with the Smith & 
White Paper Company, later purchasing 
Mr. Smith's interest, the firm reorganizing 
as a corporation, the White & W^yckoff 
Manufacturing Company, of which Mr. 
Wyckoff is president, E. N. White, treas- 



206 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



urer. The company are manufacturers of 
a high grade of stationery, and are among 
the successful industrial corporations of 
Holyoke. In addition to his executive 
responsibilities, Mr. Wyckoff is vice- 
president of the Cowan Truck Company 
and director of the Hadley Falls Trust 
Company. He is a progressive, energetic 
man of affairs, highly regarded in the 
business community in which he moves. 

In 1908, Mr. Wyckoff took a leading 
part in petitioning the Legislature to have 
set ofif from the city of Northampton the 
so-called Smiths Ferry District and annex 
the same to the city of Holyoke. The 
district was in reality and for all prac- 
ticable purposes, except the legal bound- 
ary, a part of the city of Holyoke, and 
the residents of the district were unani- 
mous in their desire to become a part of 
Holyoke. The agitation which led up to 
the actual annexation act lasted for three 
years, and was an extremely strenuous 
struggle between the city of Holyoke and 
the citizens of the Smith Ferry District on 
the one side and the city of Northampton 
and Hampshire county on the other side. 
Under the terms of the act, that portion 
of Northampton south of the Mt. Tom 
Station to the Holyoke line, a distance of 
about two and three-quarter miles, was 
annexed to Holyoke for a consideration 
of fifty thousand dollars ($50,000). The 
southern part of this territory has already 
developed into Plolyoke's most attractive 
residential section, and the entire terri- 
tory will, without doubt, in time become 
one of the finest portions of the Connec- 
ticut Valley. For the part which Mr. 
Wyckoff took in this matter, he is entitled 
to the lasting gratitude of the city of 
Holyoke, and his efiforts will undoubtedly 
in time be adequately appreciated. He 
was one of the moving spirits in the 
development of the Mount Tom Golf 
Club, and for eleven years has been its 



president. For two years he was presi- 
dent of the Holyoke Club, president of 
the Bay State Club three years, and in 
all takes more than a mere member's 
interest. He holds the thirty-second de- 
gree in Massachusetts Consistory, is a 
member of the Holland Society of New 
York and also a member of the Alden 
Kindred of America. 

Mr. Wyckoff married at Port Jervis, 
New York, June 13, 1893, Minnie A. 
Branch, daughter of Thomas H. and Oliva 
A (Roscoe) Branch, of Port Jervis, and 
paternal granddaughter of Charles and 
Eliza (Taynton) Branch, and maternal 
granddaughter of Richard Millbank and 
Margaret (Sleightholm) Roscoe, her 
grandfather coming from Bristol, Eng- 
land, to Port Jervis, New York, where he 
died. His son, Thomas H. Branch, was 
born in Bristol, but from youth resided 
in Port Jervis. 



WILSON, J. Edward, 

Representative Citizen. 

J. Edward Wilson, general manager and 
acting treasurer of the Essex Pad and 
Paper Company, of Holyoke. Massachu- 
setts, who has for many years been one 
of the prominent and respected citizens of 
Holyoke, was born in that city, July 9, 
1876, son of William Harri>on Wilson, 
of whom further, and grandson of James 
Wilson, who was a paper maker in Eng- 
land before coming to this country, 
though he was still a young man at the 
time of his emigration. He settled in 
Dalton, Massachusetts, and there spent 
the greater part of his life. 

William Harrison Wilson (father) was 
a native of South Lee, Massachusetts, 
born March 5, 1848. He was reared in 
Dalton, Massachusetts, and received his 
education in the schools of that town. 
He learned the paper making trade in the 



207 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Crane Mills of Dalton, and was advanced 
from one position to another until he 
attained that of foreman. He later went 
to Lawrence, where he was further 
advanced by an appointment as superin- 
tendent of the mills of the Russell Paper 
Company. In 1872 he removed to Hol- 
yoke, having secured the position of 
superintendent of the Riverside Mills, 
which, following their purchase by the 
American Writing Paper Company, be- 
came known as Riverside No. 3, its pres- 
ent name. He held this position until 
1S80, when he formed a partnership with 
F. D. Smith and began the manufacture 
of writing pads, tablets, etc., in the Whit- 
more Building. They continued business 
under the name of the Smith & Wilson 
Tablet Company until 1881, when Mr. 
Wilson disposed of his interest to Mr. 
Smith, and he then became associated 
with the Union Paper Company, in which 
his father was a stockholder, and in which 
he served as foreman. Later he was con- 
nected with the Hampden Glazed Paper 
and Card Company, and subsequently 
with the Essex Pad and Paper Company, 
his interest in this continuing up to the 
time of his death, which occurred January 
I, 1917. He was one of the best known 
and leading authorities on paper making 
in this section of the State. He was a 
member of Mt. Tom Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and of the Holyoke 
Canoe Club. 

Mr. Wilson married Kate B. Smith, 
born in Adams, Massachusetts, 1853,- 
daughter of Lawrence D. and Susan (Lap- 
ham) Smith, the former named also a 
native of Adams, Massachusetts. Mr. and 
Mrs. W^ilson were the parents of two 
children : J. Edward, of whom further, 
and Daisy Mabel, who became the wife 
ot Edward Ashley, a salesman, connected 
with the Japanese Tissue Mills. They 
have one child, Sarah Stewart Ashley. 



J. Edward Wilson obtained his educa- 
tion in the public schools of his native 
city, Holyoke, and his initiation in busi- 
ness was with the Smith Tablet Com- 
pany, and at the death of his uncle, F. D. 
Smith, his aunt, Mrs. Smith, incorporated 
the Smith Tablet Company, of which 
corporation Mr. Wilson was appointed 
treasurer, in which capacity he continued 
to direct and control the affairs of the 
company until 1907, in which year he 
became acting treasurer, secretary and 
general manager of the Essex Pad and 
Paper Company, which offtces he is filling 
at the present time (1917). Mr. W'ilson 
has taken considerable interest in frater- 
nal organizations. He was formerly a 
member of Mt. Tom Lodge, Free and 
Acepted Masons, and later, with others, 
became one of the charter members and 
founded the William W'hiting Lodge ; 
he is also a member of Holyoke Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons ; Holyoke Council, 
Royal and Select Masters ; Holyoke Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar, and the An- 
cient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine. He is also a member of the Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
the Holyoke Canoe Club and the Mt. 
Tom Golf Club. 

Mr. Wilson married (first) April 5, 
1899, Jennie Bottomley. Mrs. Wilson 
died November 2, 1914. A daughter, 
Elizabeth, survives. Mr. W^ilson married 
(second) December 12, 1916, Mrs. Emily 
(Robert) Cloutier, widow of Dr. Felix J. 
Cloutier, a sketch of whom follows this 
in the work. 

(The Bradford Line). 

Mrs. W^illiam Harrison W^ilson traces 
her ancestry back to and beyond the time 
of the coming to these shores of the good 
ship, "Mayflower." The genealogy con- 
nects with the distinguished Colonial 
family of Bradford, as hereafter stated: 



208 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Kate B. (Smith) Wilson was a daughter 
of Susan (Lapham) Smith, born 1825, 
and died 1901. Susan (Lapham) Smith 
was a daughter of Maria (Brown) Lap- 
ham, born 1802, and died 1890. Maria 
(Brown) Lapham was a daughter of Sus- 
anna (Bradford) Brown, born 1782, and 
died 1876, daughter of Elisha Bradford, 
born 1745, and died 1809. Elisha Brad- 
ford was a son of Abner Bradford, born 
1707, and died 1784, who in turn was a 
son of Israel Bradford, born 1678, and 
died 1760. Israel Bradford was a son of 
Major William Bradford, born 1624, and 
died 1704, who was a son of the first 
American ancestor of the family. Gov- 
ernor William Bradford, Colonial gov- 
ernor, who was born in Austerfield, York- 
shire, England, in March, 1588, son of 
William Bradford, who died in 1591, and 
grandfather of his namesake, who died 

in 1595- 

Governor Bradford inherited a yeo- 
man's freehold, and, being religiously in- 
clined from childhood, joined the Puritan 
church, established in 1606 by William 
Brewster, at Scrooby Manor, Notting- 
hamshire, which act estranged him. from 
his relatives. Threatened with persecu- 
tion he. and his co-worshippers, decided 
to emigrate to Holland. In 1607, Wil- 
liam Bradford and other principal mem- 
bers of the society made an agreement 
with a Dutch captain, by which they were 
to embark for Boston at Lincolnshire, 
England, but they were betrayed by the 
Dutch captain, and some were sent to 
prison by the British authorities. Wil- 
liam Bradford escaped in the spring of 
1608 to Amsterdam, Holland, where he 
apprenticed himself to a silk weaver, a 
French Protestant. In 1609, he removed 
to Leyden, Holland, and eagerly promoted 
the scheme of forming an English colony 
in the New World. Assisted by Sir Edwin 
Sandys, who at that time was treasurer 
Ma8»-6-i4 209 



of the English colony of Virginia, he and 
his company were granted a patent of a 
tract of land in Virginia. On September 
5, 1620, William Bradford embarked at 
Southampton, England, in the "May- 
flower" with the first hundred Pilgrims 
that left for America. Stress of weather 
forced them to seek shelter in Plymouth 
Harbor. Before landing, the Pilgrims 
signed a compact of government by which 
Carver became first governor. His ad- 
ministration, however, only continued a 
few months, his death coming on April 
21, 1621, and William Bradford was unan- 
imously elected to succeed him. He was 
elected governor year after year, with one 
or two exceptions, up to the time of his 
death in 1657. He was a cultured man, 
of literary inclination, having some ac- 
quaintance of Latin, Greek and Hebrew ; 
was well read in history and philosophy, 
and a considerable part of his leisure time 
was spent in literary composition. Many 
manuscript books in verse were left to 
posterity by him ; his "Epitaphium 
Meum" was issued in Morton's "New 
England Memorial" (Cambridge, 1669). 
Other productions of his brain and quill 
are to be found recorded conspicuously 
in the historical archives of the United 
States. 



CLOUTIER. Felix J.. 

Physician, Manufacturer. 

In the death of Dr. Cloutier. who died 
[anuary 19, 1914. the city of Holyoke lost 
one of its most progressive and useful citi- 
zens. Dr. Cloutier was thoroughly edu- 
cated, and brought to the practice of his 
profession the keenest interest in it, a re- 
markable ability, and a kindliness of heart 
which made him extremely popular among 
his patients. He was ever ready to relieve 
to the utmost of his power any form of 
suffering without consideration as to pe- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cuniary reward. He was not only the 
good physician, but a man of keen busi- 
ness ability, broad foresight and intense 
industry. In the short span of his life he 
accomplished much, and in his death a 
most promising career was cut short. 

Dr. Cloutier was born March 15, 1863, 
in Napierville, Canada, one of a family of 
twelve children, nine of whom are still 
living. After attending the Grand Semi- 
nary in Montreal, he entered Trinity Uni- 
versity at Toronto, Ontario, from which 
he was graduated in 1888. He then took 
a post-graduate course at Queens Uni- 
versity at Kingston, Ontario, and gradu- 
ated the following year. He at once set- 
tled in Holyoke, Massachusetts, where he 
began the practice of his profession, and 
in a short time built up a successful prac- 
tice. He was known as the leading 
French physician of the city ; was exceed- 
ingly popular among the French people, 
and his practice extended to all national- 
ities, by whom he was equally regarded. 
Through his popularity as a physician, 
and his industry and thrifty care of his 
earnings he was enabled to embark in a 
business which has proved of great bene- 
fit to the manufacturing city of Holyoke. 
In 1912, in association with Dr. G. C. 
Robert, he formed the Willimansett Ice 
Company, of which he was president. He 
superintended the erection of the build- 
ings of this plant, managed the business 
in a very successful manner, and to-day 
it stands as a monument to his industry 
and business sagacity. Dr. Cloutier was 
exceedingly kind and benevolent to the 
needy of his city, ever ready to respond to 
the call of suffering, and many have cause 
to cherish his memory with great grati- 
tude. His charities were many and wide- 
spread, were administered without osten- 
tation, and known in most cases only to 
the beneficiary. He was a member of 
Holyoke Medical Association, American 
and French Medical societies, of numer- 



ous fraternal orders, and of the Holyoke 
Club and Holyoke Country Club. His 
broad sympathies and benevolent im- 
pulses were represented by various fra- 
ternities in which he afifiliated, including 
the Order of Heptasophs, Ancient Order 
of United Workmen and the Foresters of 
America. 

Dr. Cloutier married. May 22, 1895, 
Emily Robert, a sister of Dr. George Rob- 
ert, of Holyoke. Like her talented hus- 
band, she is a woman of good executive 
and business perception, and is now act- 
ing as president of the Willimansett Ice 
Company of Holyoke. Under her admin- 
istration the business proceeds without 
interruption, and with the same success 
with which it started out under her hus- 
band's initiation. Dr. Cloutier was very 
fend of travel, and in 1905, together with 
his wife, visited the Paris exposition and 
spent some four months in traveling 
through continental Europe. 

Mrs. F. J. Cloutier married (second) 
December 12, 1916, J. Edward Wilson, 
whose sketch precedes this. 



SMITH, George Herbert, 

Physician, Public Official. 

In the death of Dr. George H. Smith, 
the city of Holyoke lost not only its lead- 
ing physician, but also one of its most 
prominent men who had for more than a 
quarter of a century taken an important 
part in all its political, social, business 
and professional afifairs, and who was 
widely esteemed and highly respected by 
all who knew him. It was not only in the 
afifairs of the city in times of peace that 
he took an active part, but when the war 
cloud rolled menacingly across the hori- 
zon, it found him not only ready but 
anxious to be of any service possible to 
defend the flag and to preserve intact the 
Nation. In the following review no at- 
tempt will be made to give in detail the 



210 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



service which he rendered, but simply to 
call attention to some of the important 
events in a life which covered a period of 
nearly seventy years, and which from the 
time when he attained his majority until 
its close was every moment taken up in 
an effort to be of especial benefit to the 
citizens of his City, State and Nation. 

(I) He was a descendant of one of the 
oldest American families, and inherited 
from worthy ancestors most estimable 
qualities. The founder of this family in 
America was Lieutenant Samuel Smith, 
who was born in England about 1602, and 
came to America with his wife Elizabeth 
and several children. They sailed April 
3. 1634, in the ship "Elizabeth" of Ips- 
wich for Xew England. The parents 
were then called thirty-two years of age. 
They settled first in Salem. Massachu- 
setts, where Lieutenant Smith was ad- 
mitted a freeman, September 3, 1634, and 
was one of the proprietors of the town in 
1638. Later he removed to Wethersfield. 
Connecticut, where he was a leading citi- 
zen. Thence he removed to Hadley, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he held important 
offices in both church and State, and died 
about 1680, aged seventy-eight. 

(II) Phineas Smith, third son of Lieu- 
tenant Samuel Smith, was born about 
1635-36, in New England, and died ^larch 
7, 1 73 1, aged ninety-five years. In 1673 
he was admitted a freeman, and resided 
in Hadley. He married, October 2, 1661, 
PTannah Hitchcock, born 1644-45. died 
August 31, 1733, daughter of Luke Hitch- 
cock, of Wethersfield, Connecticut. 

(III) Chileab Smith, eighth child of 
Phineas Smith, was born February 18, 
1685, died November 8, 1746. His father 
was ensign and he was a lieutenant in the 
colonial militia. He resided in Hadley. 
He married, December 19, 1710, Mercy 
Golding, who died in her sixty-ninth year. 

(IV) Phineas (2) Smith, third son of 
Chileab Smith, was born June 5, 1717, and 



resided in Granby, where he was a man of 
prominence. In 1774 he was a delegate 
to the Provincial Congress and again in 
1775. and deputy to the General Court in 
^-117^ ^779 and 1781. Notwithstanding his 
great age he entered the Revolutionary 
army. He was a captain in Colonel Por- 
ter's regiment which marched on the Lex- 
ington Alarm, but was out only two days, 
as they were not in time to reach the 
scene of conflict. He was subsequently a 
captain of the Eighth Company in Colo- 
nel Samuel Howe's (Fourth Hampshire 
County) Regiment, ordered commis- 
sioned in Council, April i, 1776. He was 
subsequently a captain in Colonel Rug- 
gles Woodbridge's regim.ent, which served 
four days, marching on the Bennington 
Alarm, August 17, 1777. Because of his 
age he resigned October 6. 1777. He mar- 
ried (first) Mary, daughter of Benjamin 
Church, of South Hadley; (second) in 
175 1, Elizabeth Smith, born February 14, 
1728, in Hadley, daughter of John and 
Elizabeth Smith, granddaughter of John 
and Mary (Root) Smith, great-grand- 
daughter of John Smith, who was killed 
by the Indians, May 30, 1676, in Tops- 
field. John Smith's wife was Mary, 
daughter of William Partridge. He was 
a son of Samuel Smith, the ancestor above 
mentioned. His wife survived him many 
years, dying July 28, 1814. Captain 
Phineas Smith died February 6. 1787. 
Both he and his wife are buried in the 
Granby Cemetery with the following 
epitaph : "This stone stands but to tell 
not what they were ; when Saints shall 
rise, that day will show, the part they 
acted here below." 

(\') Phineas (3) Smith, eldest child of 
Phineas (2) Smith, was born about 1752. 
He was also a soldier of the Revolution. 
He was a member of his father's com- 
pany in Colonel Howe's (Fourth Hamp- 
shire County) regiment, and was drawn 
with others for the reinforcement of the 



211 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Continental Army, list dated May 28, 
1777. He was a sergeant in his father's 
company of Colonel Ruggles Wood- 
bridge's regiment, and served four days 
on the Bennington alarm. 

(VI) Medad Smith, son of Phineas (3) 
Smith, was born about 1780, in Granby, 
where he followed agricultural pursuits, 
and toward the close of the War of 181 2 
was one of a company which reported for 
military duty. On account of the cessa- 
tion of hostilities their services were not 
required. He married Pamela Dickinson, 
and they were the parents of Edmund H., 
of whom further. 

(VII) Edmund H. Smith, son of Me- 
dad Smith, was born February 2, 181 3, in 
Granby, and removed in boyhood with his 
parents to Chicopee, Massachusetts. He 
was employed in the cotton mills as over- 
seer until 1845, when he returned to Gran- 
by. He remained there but one year, how- 
ever, and in 1846 settled at Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts. Two years later he removed 
to Windsor Locks, Connecticut, where 
he continued five years, and was subse- 
quently engaged in farming in Franklin 
county. New York, until 1858, when he 
returned to Windsor Locks as overseer 
in a thread mill, where he remained until 
1865. In that year he removed to Hol- 
yoke, and was overseer there in the Ly- 
man Mills, later in the Beebe & Webber 
Woolen Mill, from which position he re- 
tired to a small farm. He died Septem- 
ber 8, 1891. in Willimansett, opposite 
Holyoke. He married Lucy Blanchard, 
daughter of Josiah Blanchard, and a 
granddaughter of Moses Clement, of 
Revolutionary fame. Their children were: 
George Herbert, of whom further ; An- 
nette L., who married James L. Hodge, of 
Holyoke, and is now deceased ; Adella A., 
widow of Dr. E. A. Stebbins, a dentist, 
of Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts, who 
died in 1896. 



(VIII) Dr. George Herbert Smith, eld- 
est child of Edmund H. and Lucy 
(Blanchard) Smith, was born July 4, 
1840. in Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts, 
and was educated in the schools of that 
town and South Hadley Falls, Massachu- 
setts. For some time he was a student 
at the Wesleyan Academy at Wilbraham, 
Massachusetts, from which he was gradu- 
ated in 1861. Having determined to adopt 
the profession of medicine, he began its 
study with Dr. R. T. Chafifee, of Windsor, 
Connecticut, where he remained one year 
at the beginning of hostilities between the 
North and South in the Civil War, he de- 
cided to go to the defense of his country, 
and enlisted September i, 1862, becoming 
a member of Company C, Twenty-fifth 
Regiment, Connecticut Volunteers. The 
regiment was immediately ordered to the 
department of the gulf under General Na- 
thaniel P. Banks, and participated in the 
expedition which resulted in the capture 
of Port Hudson. Mr. Smith entered the 
army as a private, and in ^^larch 1863, he 
was appointed to the surgical staff of his 
regiment, filling that position until he was 
mustered out of service. After the close 
of hostilities he resumed his medical stud- 
ies with his former preceptor, and later 
attended Bellevue Hospital Medical Col- 
lege of New York City, from which he 
was graduated in March, 1865. He located 
in the village of TarifTville, in the town 
of Simsbury, Connecticut, where he re- 
mained in practice one year, when failing 
health compelled him to seek a change of 
climate, and he went to Sycamore, Illi- 
nois. There he continued two years, and 
in 1868 located at Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, where he continued in practice with 
much success until his death, which oc- 
curred August 16, 1907. He specialized 
in the diseases of women and children, in 
which he was eminently successful, being 
celebrated throughout this section as one 
112 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the first and foremost physicians in 
this specialty. He was on the staff of the 
Holyoke City Hospital for many years, 
also a member, and one of the examiners, 
of the pension board. He was a man of 
high literary sense, a lover of the best 
books, and an admirer of Dickens, whose 
works he had repeatedly read. In religion 
he was an Episcopalian, and took a great 
interest in this church. A man of much 
energy, and of broad and sympathetic 
character. Dr. Smith was eagerly sought 
as a participant in the regulation of pub- 
lic affairs. He was an earnest supporter 
of Republican principles, and early took 
an active part in the councils of his party. 
In 1875 he was elected a member of the 
Common Council of Holyoke, was re- 
elected in 1876, and afterwards became 
president of the Council. In 1877-78 he 
was a member of the Board of Aldermen. 
In 1881 he became a member of the 
School Committee, and with the excep- 
tion of two years was continuously a 
member for a quarter of a century. He 
was a member of the Board of Park Com- 
missioners and Board of Health, and was 
chairman of the Board of Commissioners 
of the sinking fund. In 1897 he was 
elected mayor of Holyoke, under the first 
city charter. Dr. Smith was interested in 
several business enterprises of Holyoke. 
For a time he officiated as a director of 
the Holyoke & Westfield railroad. He 
owned a one-third interest in the Excel- 
sior Paper Company, was one of the or- 
ganizers of the Ford Bit Company, and 
a director; director of the Keating Wheel 
Company ; trustee of the Mechanics' Sav- 
ings Bank, and at one time its auditor, 
and in addition to these was at one time 
a partner of Smith, White & Sears Com- 
pany, merchants. He was a member of 
the Connecticut Valley Medical Associa- 
tion, of which he served as vice-president. 
He was appointed by President Harrison 
and served for some years as a member of 



the Xational Pension Board. He was also 
affiliated with various philanthropic and 
benevolent organizations. He attained an 
eminent position in the great Masonic fra- 
ternity, being a member of all the bodies 
in both the York and Scottish Rites. Origi- 
nally a member of St. Mark's Lodge, in 
Tarift"ville, Connecticut, where he joined 
in 1865, he took a demit to Mt. Tom Lodge 
of Holyoke. He was a member of Mt. 
Holyoke Chapter, Royal .\rch Masons; 
Holyoke Council. Royal and Select Mas- 
ters ; S])ringfield Commandery, Knights 
Templar, and Evening Star Lodge of Per- 
fection ; Massasoit Council, Princes of 
Jerusalem ; Mt. Olivet Rose Croix Chap- 
ter of Boston ; and the Massachusetts 
Consistory, attaining the thirty-second 
degree in the Scottish Rite. He was a 
member of Holyoke Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows ; Tuscarora En- 
campment of the same order, being a past 
grand of the lodge and district deputy 
grand master of the district ; a memljer 
of Connecticut Valley Lodge. Knights of 
Pythias, in which he held the office of 
chancellor, and was also a member of the 
Sons of the American Revolution. He 
was a member of Kilpatrick Post. Grand 
Army of the Republic, in which he had 
taken an active part, serving as com- 
mander, and was favorably known in this 
connection, having made many addresses 
for this body. 

He married. June 8. 1869. at Sycamore. 
Illinois. Ada M. Babcock. daughter of Dr. 
C. W. Babcock. formerly of Medina. Ohio. 
She died January 15. 191 1. They were 
the parents of three children : Edmund 
Herbert, died in infancy : .Vbbie May ; 
Lucv C. widow of Edwin Burgin. The 
home life of Mr. Smith was an ideal one. 
and his memory is cherished by not only 
his family, by whom he was so greatly 
beloved, but by a vast circle of friends, 
not only in Holyoke. but throughout all 
the surrounding county. 

13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



TILLEY, Trenor Preston, 

Merchant. 

The surname Tilley is found in Eng- 
land as early as the Norman Conquest 
and appears in the Domesday Book. The 
name was common also in France and 
Holland at an early date, and is doubt- 
less of Norman-French origin. The name 
is spelled in the ancient records Tillie, 
Tilly, Teley. Tiley, Tilee and Tely. We 
have at the present time the surname 
Tylee, probably of the same English 
stock. 

Edward and John Tilley were among 
the passengers of the "Mayflower." Ed- 
ward Tilley and his wife Ann both died 
in the spring of 1620-21. John Tilley 
brought his wife and daughter Elizabeth, 
and he and his wife also died early in 
1621. The only descendants of these Pil- 
grim Tillcys are through John's daugh- 
ter who married John Howland. John 
Tilley lived at or near Exeter, England. 
His son, William Tilley, also lived at Exe- 
ter. John (2) Tilley, son of William Til- 
ley, was born at Edford, England, about 
1687-90, and came to Boston with his 
brothers, William and James, to work in 
the rope-walk of their cousin, William 
Tilley. He was in Boston about 1720, re- 
moved to New York State, where he mar- 
ried and had two sons. Leonard Tilley, 
son of John (2) Tilley, was born in Brook- 
lyn, New York, where he lived until his 
marriage, after which he resided at Gran- 
by, Massachusetts, and was the progeni- 
tor of all of the name, it is thought, in 
Western Massachusetts. His wife was of 
Dutch ancestry. Children : Alexander, 
Ludwig, John, Ruth, Bridget. Ludwig 
Tilley, son of Leonard Tilley, was born 
about 1770-75, in Granby, made his home 
in the latter town, and was a farmer and 
substantial citizen. He married in Gran- 
by. Children: George, Orrin, Porter, 



Ruth, Jcrusha, Cynthia, Sally, Leonard. 
George Tilley, son of Ludwig Tilley, was 
born about 1800, on the old homestead at 
Granby, received a common school edu- 
cation and followed farming for his voca- 
tion. He was a Whig, but look no active 
part in politics. In religion he was an 
orthodox Congregationalist. He married, 
about 1828, Hannah Sheldon. Children : 
James, Norris, John, Marie, Benjamin, 
Eugene, Hiram, Clarence. 

John (3) Tilley, son of George and 
Hannah (Sheldon) Tilley, was born Feb- 
ruary 13, 1834, on the old homestead, 
where his childhood was spent. He at- 
tended the public schools of his native 
town and left home at the age of seven- 
teen to work for a neighboring farmer, re- 
ceiving one hundred dollars for a years' 
v/ork. When he was twenty he removed 
to Medway, Massachusetts, to work in a 
straw shop or "bonnet-factory." Six 
months later he went to Hartford, Con- 
necticut, and established himself in busi- 
ness, cleaning and remodeling hats and 
bonnets. He was successful in this ven- 
ture. A few years later he returned to 
Granby, and in partnership with his 
brother bought and carried on a farm 
until the Civil War. He entered the 
Union army, September i, 1862, in Com^ 
pany H, Second Regiment, Massachu- 
setts Volunteers, with the rank of cor- 
poral, and was discharged August 14, 
1863. After this he located at South Had- 
ley Falls, where he resided until 1870, 
wdien he again returned to Granby, and 
lived there until 1894. While residing in 
Granby, he was engaged in buying and 
selling timber land and in the general 
lumber business, a line in which he was 
well known. In 1882 he was a representa- 
tive in the Massachusetts Legislature. 
Mr. Tilley's final move was to Holyoke, 
where he made his permanent home from 
that time until his death, which occurred 



214 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



February 14, 1912. For some time previ- 
ous to his removal to Holyoke, Mr. Tilley 
had been engaged in building a beautiful 
residence for himself on Northampton 
street, which was completed in 1893. He 
began in the furniture business while re- 
siding in South Hadley Falls, in 1870, his 
first store being on Alain street, Holyoke, 
later on High street, and in this business 
he was very successful, and from time to 
time was obliged to enlarge his store. In 
April. 1907, he began the erection of a 
new block, which was completed and 
ready for business November i of the 
same year. This is one of the finest of 
its kind in New England ; it is six stories 
high and filled with furniture of every 
description, each floor being devoted to a 
separate line, it being the largest exclu- 
sive furniture store in Western Massa- 
chusetts. Mr. Tilley was counted among 
the most substantial and successful mer- 
chants of the Connecticut Valley ; was 
president of the People's Savings Bank, 
and a member of the finance committee ; 
director of the Home Savings Bank, and 
a member of its finance committee. He 
was a member of the Congregational 
church. In politics he was a Republican, 
and when a resident of Granby was elect- 
ed from a Democratic district as a Repub- 
lican candidate to the General Court. He 
married, November 27, i860, in Granby, 
Mary A. Preston, born February 25. 1838, 
daughter of Joel L. and Esther (Rust) 
Preston. Children: i. Clifton Fowler, 
born October 2, 1861, educated at South 
Hadley Falls schools, is associated with 
his brother in the furniture business 
founded by their father. 2. Trenor Pres- 
ton, of whom further. 

Trenor Preston Tilley, son of John (3) 
and Mary A. (Preston) Tilley, was born 
Decem.ber 8, 1875. i" South Hadley Falls, 
and was in his fifth year when the family 
moved to Granbv. There he was edu- 



cated, graduating from the high school in 
1893. In the following year he entered 
his father's store in Holyoke and has been 
connected with the business to the pres- 
ent time. He is an energetic and sound 
business man, and has contributed to the 
continued success of the business in many 
ways. On the death of his father early in 
1912, he succeeded to the ownership of 
the store, in association witli his brother, 
Clifton Fowler Tilley, and they transact 
a steadily increasing business. Mr. Tilley 
is regarded by his contemporaries as a 
business man of highest integrity and 
substantial character. He is a member 
of the First Congregational Church of 
Holyoke, of the local lodge. Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and the Holyoke 
Canoe Club. He married, September 4, 
looi, Harriet L. Snow, born in Holyoke, 
May 5, 1879, daughter of Melvin and 
Hannah (Henry) Snow. Children : John 
Melvin, born October 27. 1905: Ruth 
Mary, October 30, 1910; Nathan Snow, 
June 24, 1916. 



ALLEN, Carl Addison, M. D.. 

Phyiician. Tuberculosis Expert. 

As a good physician and benefactor, Dr. 
Allen takes high rank not only in his 
home city of Holyoke, but throughout the 
section of the country in which he lives. 
He has been a student all his life, and has 
achieved large results by his industry and 
determination. His ancestors were peo- 
ple of character and worth, and partici- 
pated in the development of this country 
along the highest lines of social, political 
and moral endeavor. The name of Allen 
comes from the baptismal name Allen, 
which was used from ancient times in 
various forms in several countries. In 
one version of the roll of Rattle Abbey 
the name Fitz-Aleyne (son of Allen) oc- 
curs. One of the first in England record- 



21 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ed as using Allen as a surname was 
Thomas Allen, sheriff of London in 1414. 
There are no less than twenty-five fam- 
ilies of the name in Great Britain and Ire- 
land possessing coats-of-arms, whilst 
there are about twenty other families 
with the same name spelled in as many 
different forms. The name moreover is 
one of those most frequently met with in 
the United States, and is represented by 
many distinct families. Several immi- 
grants brought it to these shores among 
the earliest in New England. The family 
traced below has numerous representa- 
tives throughout the United States and 
they are usually found among the lead- 
ing citizens. 

(I) James Allen came to Dedham with 
his uncle, Rev. John Allen, about 1637. 
He was a grandson of Reginald Allen, of 
Colby, Norfolk, England. The first men- 
tion of him in the records is dated April 
6, 1638, when "Jeames Allin accepted to 
haue sixe acres layd out for him in yt 
corner of Jeffrey Myngey yf ther it may 
be found fitt." He received other grants 
at various times and was admitted to the 
church, October 2, 1646, and made a free- 
man. May 26, 1647. Iri 1649 ^ number 
of the inhabitants of Dedham made up a 
company in order to form a settlement at 
Boggestown, upon the Charles river, now 
known as Medfield, and he was one of the 
first of the thirteen proprietors and the 
fifth to be granted land in the new town. 
The committee w^hich carried on the 
affairs of the town at first granted him 
land, June 19, 1650, when it laid out the 
thirteen house lots. His lot was on South 
street near the present residence of Mr. 
Rhodes. In 1650 his estate was valued 
at one hundred and thirty-nine pounds. 
He was again granted land in 1653, near 
that of his son Joseph. He received other 
grants and owned tracts on both sides of 
the river. His will was dated September 



2^, 1676; he left his barn, houses, etc., to 
his son-in-law. Joseph Clark, and as he 
had given his house on South street to 
his son Nathaniel, he must have owned 
two places. He married, in Dedham, 
March 16, 1638, Ann Guild, who died in 
Medfield, March 29, 1673, and he died 
there, September 27, 1676. 

(II) Joseph Allen, fourth son of James 
and Ann (Guild) Allen, was born June 24, 
1652, at Medfield, and died in that town, 
January 14, 1703. He settled in the north- 
ern part of the town on Castle Hill, 
known as the Allen place afterward. He 
was granted two lots of land in 1673, ^"^^ 
between the road leading to the "Goos- 
man Morse's" and land owned by his 
father, below Samuel Wight's land. The 
other lot was between his father's land 
and that owned by Samuel Wight, bound- 
ed on the east by the highway leading to 
Natick. He \vas a cooper by trade and 
his house and shop were built before 
King Philip's war. In 1676 the Indians 
determined to burn the town, and his 
property was among the first to receive 
their attention. They took shavings from 
the shop, piled them on the kitchen floor, 
and set them on fire ; but the shavings 
had been piled on a trap door, which fell 
into the cellar w^hen burned, and extin- 
guished the flames. No other damage 
was done, although all the other houses 
in that part of the town were burned. He 
received, September 21, 1676, from his 
father, six acres of upland and one acre 
of meadowland, and this was probably 
his share in his father's will, as his name 
was not in the will which was dated two 
days later. In 1675 his name was on the 
list of proprietors and he was made a 
freeman, October 11, 1682. In 1688 he 
was a sealer of weights and measures, and 
he and his wife were admitted to the first 
parish in 1697. He married in Seakonk 
(Rehoboth), November 10, 1673, Hannah. 



216 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born there October 22, 1654, died in Med- 
field, 1730, daughter of William Sabin. 

(III) Nehemiah Allen, eighth son of 
Joseph and Hannah ^Sabin) Allen, was 
born April 22, 1699, in Medfield, and lived 
in Sherborn, Massachusetts, from 1723 to 
1741, soon after removing to Sturbridge, 
same State. He married Alary Parker. 

(IV) Abner Allen, son of Nehemiah 
and Mary (Parker) Allen, was born Au- 
gust 22, 1746, in Sturbridge, Massachu- 
setts, where he died Alarch 6, 1830. He 
married Mary or Marcy Marsh, who died 
July 8, 1802, in Sturbridge. 

(V) Penuel Allen, eldest child of Ab- 
ner and Mary (Marsh) Allen, was born 
October 17, 1772, in Sturbridge, and set- 
tled in Sutton, New Hampshire. 

(VI) Stephen Allen, son of Penuel 
Allen, was born in 1810, in Sutton, and 
settled in Lempster, New Hampshire, 
when a young man. He married, in 1834, 
Phebe, daughter of Leland Lewis, a highly 
respected citizen of Lempster, prominent 
in educational work. She was born in 
Novenxber, 1814, and lived to celebrate 
with her husband the sixtieth anniversary 
of their marriage. 

(VII) Dr. Carl Addison Allen, son of 
Stephen and Phebe (Lewis) Allen, was 
born October 27, 1847, in Lempster, and 
began his education in the public schools 
of the town. He was subsequently a stu- 
dent at Kimball Union Academy, in Meri- 
den. New Hampshire, from which he 
graduated in 1871. Subsequently he be- 
came principal of the academy at Marlow, 
New Hampshire, and while in discharge 
of the duties of that position began the 
study of medicine with Dr. Marshall Per- 
kins, of that town. After taking a course 
of lectures at Bowdoin College, Bruns- 
wick. Maine, he entered Long Island Col- 
lege, and was graduated with the degree 
of Doctor of Medicine in 1874. For fif- 
teen years Dr. Allen was engaged very 



successfully in the practice of medicine at 
Acworth, New Hampshire, and was the 
good physician to people in a wide range 
of territory, the nearest physician being 
six miles away. Under the strain of the 
demands thus made upon his strength 
ard time, Dr. Allen broke down tempo- 
rarily, and was obliged to abandon his 
practice. In 1890 he settled in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, and since that time has 
been very energetic and successful in the 
practice of his profession. In 1890 he 
made an extended trip through the west- 
ern portions of the United States, visiting 
Yellowstone Park, Yosemite \'alley. and 
other interesting points, and on his re- 
turn to Holyoke was enabled to take up 
his humanitarian work with great vigor. 
While residing in Acworth he was super- 
intendent of schools for a period of twelve 
years, and was also active in promoting 
various business concerns of the town, 
being a silent partner in a general mer- 
cantile business and interested in a local 
newspaper, of which he was for some 
time editor. He is a member of the New 
Hampshire State Medical Society and of 
the Connecticut River Medical Society, 
of which he has been president. He is 
also a member of the Hampden District 
and the Massachusetts State Medical soci- 
eties, and the American Medical Associa- 
tion. While occupying a prominent posi- 
tion in the medical world. Dr. Allen is 
probably best known for his connection 
with and activity in the promotion of ad- 
vancement in the treatment of tubercu- 
losis. He has devoted a great amount of 
study and conducted many successful ex- 
periments in the treatment of this disease, 
and was instrumental in organizing the 
Holvoke Society for the Prevention and 
Relief of Tuberculosis. This was organ- 
ized at the beginning of 1906. and on Feb- 
ruary 22, of that year. Dr. Allen was 
elected president, and held the office by 



21; 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



successive reelections up to January, 
1917, a period of over ten years. He is a 
member of the State Tuberculosis Asso- 
ciation and the National Association for 
the Study and Prevention of Tubercu- 
losis. The local society has performed a 
vast amount of work along this line. It 
began at first with a day camp, but when 
the law was passed compelling the city 
to erect a hospital for the treatment of 
tuberculosis, Dr. Allen was selected as 
one of those to designate the site, and as 
a result the present Hillside Hospital was 
erected. Probably no other man in the 
State of Massachusetts has taken so active 
a part along this line, and he may justly 
be gratified at the result attained. Dr. 
Allen and his family are associated with 
the Congregational church. He has long 
been an active member of the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows, and has passed 
all the chairs in the subordinate lodge of 
that fraternity. 

Dr. Allen married (first) May 19, 1875, 
Sophie E. Stearns, of Lebanon, New 
Hampshire, and they were the parents of 
four children: i. Walter S., graduated 
from the high school and from Amherst 
College, class of 1900, and is now super- 
intendent of their main laboratory, at 
Lowell Hill, of the General Chemical Com- 
pany in New York, one of the largest es- 
tablishments of its kind in the world ; he 
married (first) Lucia Turner, of New 
Hampshire, and they had two daughters, 
Olive E. and Marian S. ; the mother died 
and he married (second) Nina McDou- 
gall ; they have one daughter, Ruth. 2. 
Dr. Fred H. Allen, graduated from the 
high school and from Amherst College, 
after which he entered Harvard Medical 
School, where he graduated in 1902, and 
spent one year in special study in Ger- 
many ; he married Harriett Ives, and they 
have two children. Harold and Stephen ; 
Dr. Allen is a member of the Holyoke 



Medical Society, of which he is president, 
and of the Massachusetts State Medical 
Society. 3. Raymond P., attended the 
common and high schools of Holyoke, 
and is now paymaster of the Farr Alpaca 
Company; he married Ina Squier, and 
they have two adopted children, Eliza- 
beth and Philip. 4. Sophie E., attended 
the schools of Holyoke, and graduated 
from Mt. Holyoke College in 1909; she 
taught two years in the high school, and 
is now secretary to the dean of the post- 
graduate department of Columbia Col- 
lege in New York City. Dr. Allen mar- 
ried (second) March 25, 1891, Hattie M. 
Murdough, of Acworth, New Hampshire, 
daughter of Freeman Murdough, an old 
resident of that place. From, this mar- 
riage resulted the birth of two children: 
Carl M., who graduated from the Hol- 
yoke High School, and the Massachusetts 
Agricultural College, and is now con- 
nected with the General Chemical Com- 
pany of New York, and Leland C, who 
is a student of the Massachusetts Agri- 
cultural College, class of 1918, now in the 
United States service. 



HEYWOOD, Francis Daniel, 

Manufacturer. 

The surname Heywood is distinct from 
Haywood, Hayward and Howard, al- 
though the spelling of each in every pos- 
sible way makes it dif^cult not to confuse 
the families, especially where Heywards, 
Howards and Heywoods were living in 
the same town. The derivation of the name 
Heywood is given in a pedigree prepared 
by Peter John Heywood, of Whitehaven, 
England, in 1781, and published in "Hunt- 
er's Life and Times of Oliver Heywood," 
who was a non-conformist clergyman of 
note in the days of Charles I. The pedi- 
gree runs back to the year 1164, a period 
when surnames were beginning to come 



218 




sny^A^- 



y 



,-i k-rriti 






EX'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAI'IIV 



into use in the mother country. The earli- 
est authentic document containing- the 
name of Heywood, or its prototype, is a 
title deed still preserved for a tract of 
land in Lancashire, from one Adame de 
Burgo or de Bury, who held the Knight's 
fee to a large section of territory in the 
vicinity to Peter de Ey-wood, that is "of 
wooded island." The latter was the re- 
puted founder of the Heywood family in 
England, from, which the American fam- 
ily is descended. This estate remained in 
the possession of the descendants of Peter 
Heywood more than five hundred years, 
or until 1717, when Robert Heywood sold 
it to John Starkey of Rochdale, whose 
grandson, James Starkey, dying intestate, 
allowed the place to pass into the hands 
of the Crown. It is now an attractive 
public park, having been donated for that 
purpose by Queen Victoria. The English 
line from this Peter Heywood is traced in 
an unbroken line to the emigrant in Amer- 
ica. James and John Heywood, both 
about twenty-two years old, brothers, 
came together in the ship, "Planter," in 
1636. They were both certified from Step- 
ney Parish, London. James Heywood 
settled in Charlestown, and later went to 
Woburn, where he died November 20, 
1642. 

(I) John Heywood, born in London, 
1620, died January 11, 1707. He settled 
in Concord, Massachusetts, and was ad- 
mitted a freeman in 1670. He married 
(first) August 17, 1656, Rebecca Atkin- 
son, daughter of Thomas Atkinson. 
She died 1665. He married (second) 
August 5, 1665, Sarah Simonds. He 
married (third) Priscilla , who sur- 
vived him. Children of first wife : Re- 
becca, born September 9, 1657. died 
young; Rebecca, May 13, 1660; John, 
mentioned below; Persis, April 11, 1664; 
Benomi, July 31, 1665. 

(H) Deacon John (2) Heywood, eldest 



son of John (i) Heywood, was born in 
Concord, Massachusetts, April 5, 1662, 
and died there January 2, 1718. He was 
constable of Concord in 167C, and in his 
later years kept an ordinary or inn. He 

married Sarah . Children : Sarah, 

died in infancy; Thomas, born July 13, 
1686 ; Samuel, mentioned below ; Edmund, 
born July 31, 1689; Josiah, Xoveml)er 15, 

1691, married Lydia ; Daniel, April 

15, 1694, removed to Worcester, married 
Hannah Ward; Eleazer, August 3, 1696; 
Nathan, September 24, 1698; Sarah, Jan- 
uary 18, 1700-01; John, March 14, 1703, 
settled in Lunenburg; Mary. March 23, 
1704; Phineas, July 18, 1707, settled in 
Shrewsbury, married Elizabeth Moore, 
died March 6, 1770; Benjamin, October 
25, 1709. 

(HI) Deacon Samuel Heywood. son of 
Deacon John (2) Heywood. was born Oc- 
tober II, 1687, and died October 28, 1750. 
He resided in Concord, where he was a 
prominent citizen, serving as deacon of 
the church, town clerk, and in other town 
offtces. He married, January 19, 1709-10, 
Elizabeth Hubbard (ceremony by Rev. 
Joseph Estabrook) and she died Decem- 
ber 25, 1757, aged sixty-six years, six 
months. Children, born at Concord: 
Samuel, October 18, 1710. died January 
12. 1712-13; Amos, February 18. 1711-12, 
died young; Elizabeth, June 3, 1714 ; Sam- 
uel, March 4, 1715-16; Jonathan, Deccm/- 
ber 3. 1717; Amos, mentioned below; 
Jonas, August 21, 1721 ; Charles. Decem- 
ber 24. 1723 ; Rebecca, December 23. 1725 ; 
Aaron, November 11, 1728; John. June 22, 
1729; Sarah. June 19. 1731 : >Liry. .\pril 

8. 1733- 

(IV) Captain Amos Heywood. son of 
Deacon Samuel Heywood. was born at 
Concord, Massachusetts. October 3. 1719, 
died February 7, 1792, at Holden. Massa- 
chusetts. He and his brother Samuel 
were among the early settlers of Holden 



219 



r.x\XYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Worcester county. He was received 
into the Holden church in 1742. He was 
ensign in the militia company in 1763 and 
captain in 1771. He was selectman in 
1762, 1763 and 1780. He was active in 
both town and church during his long 
life. He married, August 30, 1743, at 
Concord, Mary Buttrick, of Concord, of 
the same family as Major Buttrick, who 
commanded the Americans at the Con- 
cord fight. She died January 21, 1793, 
aged seventy-three years. Children : 
Daniel, born July 2, 1744, died in infancy; 
Silas, mentioned below; Amos, born 
March 17, 1748; Mary, April 9, 1750; 
Lucy, February 28, 1751, died young; 
Daniel, February 24, 1752; Eunice, Janu- 
ary I, 1756, married, August 19, 1779, 
Abiel Buttrick; Lucy, October 31, 1757, 
married, March 7. 1782, Lemuel Hey- 
wood ; Elizabeth, October 30, 1759, mar- 
ried, January 28, 1781, John Forbes ; Levi, 
November 21, 1761 ; Alpheus (twin), May 
21, 1764, married, October 14, 1794, Patty 
Davis; twin of Alpheus, May 21, 1764. 

(V) Silas Heywood, son of Captain 
Amos Heywood, was born in Holden, 
Massachusetts, February 20, 1745-46, died 
at Royalston, Massachusetts, November 
21, 1825. He settled in Royalston when 
a young man ; was a farmer. He was a 
soldier in the Revolution, a private 
in Captain Jonathan Houghton's com- 
pany, detailed from Colonel Nathan 
Sparhawk's regiment (the Seventh) and 
General Warner's brigade to reinforce the 
guards at the Rutland barracks under 
Colonel Jacob Gerrish and to escort 
troops of the Saratoga convention to En- 
field, Connecticut. (Massachusetts Revo- 
lutionary Rolls, volume vii, page 640). 
He married, November 11, 1779, Hannah 
Goddard, of Shrewsbury, who died at 
Royalston, January 18, 1821, in her sev- 
enty-first year. Children, born at Royals- 
ton: Hannah, January 6, 1781, died May 



16, 1795; Betsey, April 4, 1782, died May 
23. 1795: Silas, mentioned below; Grace, 
February 7, 1785; Lucy, July 10, 1787; 
Benjamin, July 12, 1789, died April 19, 
1795; Sarah, July 23, 1792, died May 22, 
1795 ; Benjamin, November 19, 1795, mar- 
ried, September 17, 1819, Sally Cutler. 

(VI) Silas (2) Heywood, son of Silas 
(i) Heywood, was born in Royalston, 
^Massachusetts, October 21, 1783, died 
May 2, 1819, at Royalston. He married, 
June 25, 1812, Hannah Heywood, of Win- 
chendon, who was born September 24, 
1785, at Winchendon, died February 21, 
1829, at Royalston. Children, born at 
Royalston: Silas Nelson, May 7, 1813, 
died September i, 1815; Daniel, men- 
tioned below ; Silas N., December 9, 1816, 
died 1904, at Springfield, married Mary E. 
Reed, child, Sarah E. ; Hannah Grace, 
September 13, 1818, married William O. 
Brown. 

(VII) Daniel Heywood, son of Silas 
(2) Heywood, was born in Royalston, 
Massachusetts, April 4, 1815, died No- 
vember 29, 1884, at Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts. He was a merchant, conducting 
stores at different times in Athol and 
Holyoke. He married Levina Partridge, 
born November 30, 1819, at Dedham, died 
January 10, 1899, at Holyoke. Children : 
I H. Emogene, born August 16, 1846, 
married Herbert Lyman, of Westfield, 
June 3, 1873, died 1916, at Westfield; two 
children, William F., Mary E., both born 
in Westfield. 2. Francis Daniel, men- 
tioned below. 3. William H., born Feb- 
ruary 7, 1850, died 191 1 ; married (first) 
Clementina Hazen ; children : Ralph, 
born June 29, 1877, died July, 1895, and 
Alice, born March, 1882, married Alfred 
H. Morton, Jr., in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts. William H. married (second) 
Margaret Newell, of St. Johnsbury, Ver- 
mont, where she now resides. 4. George, 
born 1856, died 1857. 



220 



liNCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(VIII) Francis Daniel Heywood, son 
of Daniel and Levina (Partridge) Hey- 
wood, was born in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, September 28, 1848, died there Jan- 
uary 28, 1916. In 1856 his parents moved 
to Holyoke, and there he attended school 
until fourteen years of age. He then en- 
tered the employ of the Connecticut River 
Railroad, beginning in the offices of the 
freight department at Springfield. He 
displayed unusual aptitude, and was ad- 
vanced through successive promotions 
until he became general passenger and 
ticket agent, a position he held until his 
resignation in 1881. He then entered the 
Whitmore Manufacturing Company of 
Holyoke, manufacturers of surface coated 
paper, and was the honored treasurer of 
that company until 1916, when he retired 
from business. From boyhood until 191 5, 
Mr. Heywood made his home in Holyoke, 
then moved to Springfield. During the 
thirty-five years he was connected with 
the management of the finances of the 
Whitmore Manufacturing Company, he 
saw the company grow from a small be- 
ginning until it was operating one of the 
largest plants of its kind in the State, its 
product going to all parts of the world. 
In that growth and prosperity his was an 
important part, reflecting credit upon his 
ability as a financier. During his long 
residence in Holyoke he was closely iden- 
tified with civic affairs, was a trustee of 
the City Hospital, director of the Boys' 
Club, was active in the affairs of the Sec- 
ond Congregational Church, and for a 
time chairman of the parish committee of 
the Church Society. He was a Repub- 
lican in politics, and, although he never 
entered actively into political life, his 
name was frequently mentioned for re- 
sponsible city government offices. 

He married Isabel Cady, of Stafford 
Springs, Connecticut, daughter of Mrs. 
Garner Cady. They are the parents of 
three children: i. Frank Herbert, born 



in 1876, died in 1887. 2. Clara Emily, 
born August 3, 1878; married, in 1903, 
Charles E. Scott, and since 1906 engaged 
in missionary work in China, where all 
their children except the eldest were born ; 
children : Elizabeth Alden, Helen Pren- 
tice, Beatrice Eleanor, Francis Heywood, 
and Kenneth Monroe. 3. Francis Cady, 
of further mention. 



HEYWOOD, Francis Cady. 
Mannfactnrer. 

Francis Cady Heywood, of the ninth 
American generation, youngest son of 
Francis Daniel and Isabel (Cady) Hey- 
wood, was born in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, August II, 1888. He prepared for 
college at Holyoke High School, then en- 
tered Cornell University, whence he was 
graduated with the degree of Mechanical 
Engineer, class of 1911. After gradua- 
tion he formed an association with the 
Whitmore Manufacturing Company of 
Holyoke, and rose through successive pro- 
motions to the superintendency of the 
plant. Upon the retirement of his hon- 
ored father in 1916, Francis C. Heywood 
was elected to succeed him as treasurer 
of the company, that office now having 
been held by father and son since the or- 
ganization of the company in 1881. Mr. 
Heywood is a member and corporal of 
Company D, Second Regiment, Massa- 
chusetts National Guard, and in response 
to the President's call in June. 1916, went 
to the Mexican border with his regiment 
and was stationed with his company at 
Columbus. New Mexico, the scene of one 
of the border raids. He is a member of 
William Whiting Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons; Holyoke Lodge. Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks; Hol- 
yoke Canoe Club; Holyoke Yacht Club; 
the Sans Souci Club : the Second Congre- 
gational Church and is a teacher in the 
Sunday school. 



221 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



BIGELOW, James Bernard, M. D., 

PhyalciaiL, Health Officer. 

Bigelow is a name frequently found in 
Massachusetts records ; many descend- 
ants of the English family settled in that 
State, coming here direct from England 
or from Ireland, where one early branch 
of the family located. Although spelled 
in a variety of ways, it can always be 
traced to the Anglo-Saxon biggan (.big) 
and bleaw (hill or barrow) and was prob- 
ably adopted as a surname by a resident 
of some such locality. 

John Bigelow, the first ancestor of Dr. 
James Bernard Bigelow to leave Ireland, 
was born in County Tyrone, Province of 
Ulster. The stories which reached him 
telling him of the free and democratic life 
in the United States so fired his imagina- 
tion that, in spite of the long voyage of 
about the year 1840, he left home to see 
for himself what his chances would be in 
this new and prosperous country. The 
date of his arrival is not known, but it is 
reasonably certain that he arrived at an 
eastern port and located at once in Massa- 
chusetts. Conditions were probably not 
as he expected to find them, but the same 
courage which prompted him to leave his 
native land also helped him overcome the 
obstacles against which any foreigner 
must struggle. His brother, C. H. Bige- 
low, a well-known watch manufacturer of 
the day in New York, gave him an oppor- 
tunity to enter his watch business, and it 
is quite likely that he remained in that 
city several years. The next record shows 
that he resided in Granby, Connecticut, 
for a few years before settling perma- 
nently in Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 
1867. About ten years previously he is 
known to have taken out citizenship 
papers. His death occurred at his home 
in Holyoke, in 1880, when he was sixty 
years of age. He married Margaret Elli- 



ott, also a native of Ireland, but who had 
long resided in this country, having been 
brought here by her parents when she 
was but two years old. Her brother, Wil- 
liam Elliott, was one of the largest and 
most successful cattle dealers of his gen- 
eration in Xew York State. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bigelow had children : William J., Ber- 
nard Francis, of whom later mention will 
be made; Ellen; Elizabeth, who married 
John Splan ; Alice, who became the wife 
of Edwin Keough ; Margaret ; James ; 
Thomas ; Joseph. 

Bernard Francis Bigelow, second child 
of John Bigelow, was born February 7, 
1S53, in Granby, Connecticut. The father 
had not been in America long enough to 
be able to give his children the educa- 
tional advantages the next generation 
were to receive, and at the early age of 
eight and one-half years the son was 
forced to begin work in the mills in order 
to assist in supporting the family. Sub- 
sequently he spent a few years in the 
elementary schools of Terryville and 
West Hartford. A better instance to 
show the high value of labor at the pres- 
ent day could not be found than to com- 
pare the wages this youth received, even 
after working several years, with the 
wages being paid at present. His wages 
were thirty-three and one-third cents per 
day and at the present time (1917) the 
most unskilled labor is receiving more 
than ten times that amount for a shorter 
working day. In 1867 he came to Hol- 
yoke with his parents, and for the next 
seven years he was employed in diflFerent 
positions in order to find something which 
would prove sufficiently remunerative to 
enable him to engage in business for him- 
self. For one year he was a teamster, and 
the next two years was employed in the 
Hampden Cotton Mills. In 1870 he took 
a position in a meat market business, and 
after working for others for four years he 



222 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



purchased a business for himself, in which 
he was successfully engaged until 1915, a 
period of over forty years, during which 
time he built up a large patronage. For 
several years he was chief engineer of the 
fire department and many improvements 
were made at his suggestion. One of the 
principal benefits Holyoke received from 
him while in that position is the present 
fire alarm system. In politics he has given 
his support to the Democratic party, and 
for two years he was a member of the 
city government. He holds membership 
in the Ancient Order of United Work- 
men and the Roman Catholic church. 

In 1875 ^6 married Elizabeth Shine, a 
native of Ireland and the daughter of 
John and Catherine (Scanlon) Shine. 
Mr. and Mrs. Bigelow are the parents 
of the following children : John, whose 
death occurred at the age of fourteen 
years ; Mary ; Elizabeth ; James Ber- 
nard, of whom later mention will be 
made; Marguerite, who died when twen- 
ty-one years of age. 

Dr. James Bernard Bigelow, second son 
of Bernard Francis Bigelow, was born in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, August 13, 1886. 
After completing the regular courses 
given in the elementary grammar and 
high schools of the city he entered Dean 
Academy in the fall of 1905, graduated 
from that institution in 1906; he then 
entered Tufts College and two years later 
completed his academic course in that in- 
stitution. The choice of a profession had 
already been decided upon and he took 
up the study of medicine in Tufts Medi- 
cal College, receiving his degree in 191 1. 
In order that he might be more fully 
qualified for the duties of his profession, 
he spent three years in hospital training. 
The first two years of this time were spent 
at St. Vincent's Hospital, one of the 
largest in New York City, then one year 
at the New York Institution for Found- 



lings, and three months at the Manhattan 
Maternity Hospital. This gave him an 
unusually thorough training and ac- 
quainted him with modern facilities and 
the most successful clinical practices. In 
1914 he opened an office in Holyoke, 
where he has since been successfully en- 
gaged in the practice of his profession, 
and is highly regarded by the medical 
fraternity in the city. As an indication 
of his ability, he has for the past two 
years been city physician of Holyoke, fill- 
ing this position with credit to himself 
and the entire satisfaction of the citizens. 
He is a member of all the local medical 
associations, and a fellow of the Ameri- 
can Medical Association, in which so- 
cieties he constantly keeps himself cogni- 
zant of the proceedings and discoveries. 
The esteem in which he was held while at 
college is shown by his membership in 
the Alpha Kappa Kappa, and the Phi Chi 
Beta fraternities. He is also a member 
of the Knights of Columbus and the 15e- 
iievolent and Protective Order of Elks. 



KNOWLTON, Edward Allen, M. 

Physician, Surgeon. 



D. 



Dr. Edward Allen Knowlton. one of 
the younger physicians and surgeons of 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, has been in ac- 
tive practice there since completing his 
hospital training in Boston, in 191 1. He 
is descended from one of the oldest and 
most distinguished families of Massachu- 
setts. The history of the Knowlton fam- 
ily is traced in this country to the found- 
ing of the colonies and in England to the 
time of the Conquest. The ancient seat 
of the family in England, known as 
Knowlton Hall in Knowlton parish, is 
located in County Kent, six miles from 
the city of Canterbury, and was granted 
to the first ancestor of which there is 
record by William the Conqueror for serv- 



223 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ice in the army of conquest. In the thirty- 
third year of Edward I. a descendant 
named Perot assumed the title of Lord 
Knollton. The surname was variously 
spelled in the ancient records. From 1553 
to the present time the line has been 
traced by documentary proofs. 

(I) Richard Knowlton, of County Kent, 
a descendant of the original Knowlton 
stock in that county, was born in 1553. 
He married, July 17, 1577, Elizabeth Can- 
tize. Children : George, born at Canter- 
bury, Kent, May 6, 1578, lived in Chad- 
wick; Stephen, born May i, 1580; Thom- 
as ; William, of whom further. 

(II) Captain William Knowlton, son of 
Richard Knowlton, was born in Canter- 
bury, Kent, England, in 1584. He was 
a well-to-do shipmaster, part owner and 
captain of a trading vessel which often 
visited Xova Scotia and New England 
ports. When he sailed for New England 
to make his home there, he was forty- 
eight years old. With him came his wife 
and six children. They settled in Hing- 
ham, Massachusetts. He died at sea soon 
afterward. He married, in England, Ann 
Elizabeth Smith. Their children were: 
John, born 1610; Samuel, 161 1; Robert, 
about 1613; William, of whom further; 
Mary, 1617; Thomas, about 1620. 

(III) William (2) Knowlton, son of 
Captain William (i) Knowlton, was born 
in Kent, England, in 1615, and came to 
this country in 1632 or 1634 with his 
father and brother Thomas, joining an- 
other brother John in Ipswich, Massachu- 
setts, in 1642. William Knowlton was a 
brick mason by trade, but followed farm- 
ing after coming to New England. He 
joined the Ipswich church, and in 1642 
was admitted a freeman of the colony. As 
early as December 12, 1643, as shown by 
a deed to Edward Bragg, he owned land 
in Ipswich. He died intestate in 1665 and 
his estate was administered by his brother 



Thomas. He married, in England, Ann 
Smith. Children: Thomas, born 1640; 
William, 1643; John, of whom further; 
Samuel, 1647; Benjamin, about 1649; 
Joseph, about 165 1 ; Mary, 1653, married 
Samuel Abbe. 

(IV) John Knowlton, son of William 
(2) Knowlton, was born in Ipswich, Mas- 
sachusetts, about 1645, ^"d spent his 
youth there. He was admitted a free- 
man in 1669, and took the oath of allegi- 
ance at Manchester in 1680. He removed 
to Manchester in 1679. He was a car- 
penter by trade and associated his father 
in building at Ipswich and later bought 
land and erected and sold houses at Man- 
chester. He was prominent in military 
affairs and was captain of the local mili- 
tia company. About 1707 he removed to 
the hamlet (now the town of Hamilton) 
and died there in August, 1728. He mar- 
ried (first) Bethia, daughter of Rice Ed- 
wards, of Charlestown and Wenham, and 
she died after 1707. He married (second) 
Susanna Hutton (intentions of marriage 
dated April 11, 1714, at Wenham). Chil- 
dren by first wife: John, of whom fur- 
ther; Mary, married James Patch; Rice, 
born 1676 ; Susanna, married Samuel Corn- 
ing, Jr.; Benjamin; Bethia; Thomas, 
born about 1686; Timothy, married Han- 
nah Story; Elizabeth, married Malachi 
Corning; Abigail, married Isaac Ged- 
dings ; Miriam, married Joseph Day. 

(V) John (2) Knowlton. son of John 
(i) Knowlton, was born about 1670 at 
Ipswich He went to Manchester with his 
parents, learned the trade of carpenter, 
and was a builder and farmer. He mar- 
ried, December 20, 1697, Abigail, daugh- 
ter of Joseph Batchelder, of Salem. Chil- 
dren, born at Manchester : John, August 
3. 1699; Joseph, December 28, 1701 ; Abi- 
gail, May 2, 1705 ; Churchill, March 5, 
1707; Miriam, September 7, 171 1; Lucy, 
February 28, 1714-15 ; Prudence, April 13, 



224 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1718; Andrew, of whom further; Han- 
nah, March 13, 1723-24. 

(VI) Andrew Knowlton, son of John 
(2) Knowlton, was born at Manchester, 
March 5, 1720. He married, November i, 
1741, Abigail Stone, of Beverly. He set- 
tled in Machias, Maine. Children: Rob- 
ert, born May 26, 1743; Jeremiah, of 
whom further; Andrew, born 1747, mar- 
ried Ruth Ridlon ; Jonathan, July 28, 
1750; Betsey; Molly; Rachel; Anna, 
August 21, 1759; Lydia; Abigail; Sally. 

(VII) Jeremiah Knowlton, son of An- 
drew Knowlton, was born at Manchester, 
in 1745, and married Anna Pierce. Chil- 
dren : Ezekiel, of whom further ; Mehit- 
able, Anna, John, Jonathan, Samuel, An- 
drew, Sally, Betsey, Jeremiah, Fellows, 
David. 

(VIII) Ezekiel Knowlton, son of Jere- 
miah Knowlton, was born in 1765. He 
was adopted by an English naval officer 
named Eastman. He married Polly 
Knowlton, sister of Joseph Knowlton. 
Both he and his wife died soon after 1819. 
They resided in Davistown, Canada. Chil- 
dren: Abigail, born March 21, 1795; 
Polly, May 29, 1797; Sally, August 23, 
1799; Hiram, November 14, 1803; Amy, 
January 30, 1806; Joseph W., 1808; Lu- 
cinda, January 13, 181 1; Lovina, Janu- 
ary 7, 1814; Isaac Case, of whom further. 

(IX) Rev. Isaac Case Knowlton, son 
of Ezekiel Knowlton, was born at Lib- 
erty, Maine, September 6, 1819, and died 
at West Acton, Massachusetts. March 23, 
1894. He was reared in the family of his 
sister Abigail. He learned the trade of 
cooper and was employed in making lime 
casks at Rockland and Thomaston, Maine. 
His early education was limited. He was 
a student for a time in an academy, but he 
pursued the study of Latin and Hebrew, 
and fitted himself for the ministry. He 
began to preach at Albion, Maine, in 1841. 
and settled in Lincoln, Maine, in 1843 5 ^* 



Durham, 1845; ^^ Auburn, 1850; Hamp- 
den, 1851 ; Oldtown, 1853; at Keene, New 
Hampshire, i860; in South Boston, Mas- 
sachusetts, 1863; at New Bedford, Massa- 
chusetts, 1865; at Calais. Maine, 1870; at 
West Acton, Massachusetts, 1875, ^^^ ^^ 
continued as pastor there for eighteen 
years, retiring in 1893, after more than 
fifty years of active work in the ministry. 
He received the degree of Doctor of Di- 
vinity from Tufts College in 1889. He 
was well known among the clergy and 
laity of the Universalist denomination in 
New England. He was an able preacher 
and a forceful writer. He contributed fre- 
quently to newspapers and magazines and 
published two books, "The History of 
Calais, Maine" (1873) and "Through the 
Shadows" (1885) 

He married, November 27, 1845, ^^ary 
S. Wellington, daughter of John and Mary 
Smith (Winslow) Wellington. Children : 
Hosea Morrill, of whom further; Mar>' 
Alice, born February 7, 1850; Frank War- 
ren, October 2, 1851 ; Wellington Case. 
May 14, 1858. 

(X) Hon. Hosea Morrill Knowlton, son 
of Rev. Isaac Case Knowlton, was born at 
Durham. Maine. May 20, 1847. He at- 
tended the public schools, the academies 
at Oldtown and Bangor, Maine, and 
Powers Institute at Bernardston. Massa- 
chusetts. He entered Tufts College, from 
which he was graduated in 1867 with the 
degree of Bachelor of Arts. He entered 
Harvard Law School and received his de- 
gree there in 1870. being admitted to the 
bar in the same year and beginning the 
practice of his profession in New Bedford. 
Massachusetts. He took an active part 
in public affairs, and soon achieved a 
place of prominence in the community. 
From 1872 to 1876 he served the city on 
the school committee. He was appointed 
register of bankruptcy in 1874, and held 
that oflfice until it was abolished by a 



Mass — 6—15 



-3 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



change in the laws, two years later. He 
was city solicitor of New Bedford in 1875. 
He was a representative to the General 
Court in 1876 and 1877, ^^^ State Senator 
in 1878 and 1879. Erom 1879 to 1893 ^^ 
was district attorney of the Southern Dis- 
trict of Massachusetts. He was elected 
attorney-general of Massachusetts in 1894 
and served by annual reelection until 1901. 
He was for many years one of the most 
prominent and trusted leaders of the Re- 
publican party in the Commonwealth. 
His learning, integrity, common sense 
and ability as a public speaker brought 
him in close touch with the people of the 
State. He stood high in his profession, 
ranking among the very foremost lawyers 
of the country. In later years he had his 
oflftce at No. 50 State street, Boston. His 
untimely death at Marion, Massachusetts, 
December 18, 1902, cut short a very prom- 
ising career. He was a member of the 
University Club, the Union Club, the Mid- 
dlesex Club, the Wamsutta Club and the 
Oakley Country Club. He married, May 
22, 1873, Sylvia Bassett Almy, bom at 
New Bedford. Children, bom at New 
Bedford: John Wellington. February' 28, 
1874; Abby Almy, March 30, 1876; Frank 
Warren, August 16, 1878; Edward Allen, 
of whom further; Helen Sophia, August 
I, 1885; Sylvia Prescott, May 29, 1890; 
Benjamin Almy, June 13, 1892. 

(XI) Dr. Edward Allen Knowlton, son 
of Hon. Hosea Morrill Knowlton, was 
born in New Bedford, Massachusetts, 
April 16, 1883. His early education was 
received in the public schools of his na- 
tive city. He was graduated from Phil- 
lips Academy, Exeter, New Hampshire, 
in 1902, and from Tufts College in 1906. 
He entered the Tufts Medical College, 
from which he was graduated in 1909 
with the degree of M. D., and during the 
next two years he was an interne in the 
Boston City Hospital. In 191 1 he opened 



an ofhce in Holyoke, Massachusetts, and 
since then has been in private practice in 
that city. He is a member of the Holyoke 
Medical Society, the Springfield Academy 
of Medicine, the Massachusetts Medical 
Society, the American Medical Associ- 
ation, and is a member of the surgical 
staff of the Holyoke City Hospital. He 
attends the Unitarian church. Dr. Knowl- 
ton married, November 12. 1913, Bessie 
Osborn, a daughter of Archie J. and 
Hattie (Doyle j Osborn, of Holyoke. 
They have one child. Sylvia, bom March 
18. 1915. 



McCORMICK, John Joseph David, 
Business Man. 

The early generations of the McCor- 
mick family, worthily represented by the 
late David McCormick, and his son, John 
J. D. McCormick, a business man of Hol- 
yoke, were numerous in Ireland, where 
they were generally known as industrious 
people who engaged in agricultural pur- 
suits and the trades of their native vil- 
lages. 

(I) Michael McCormick, great-grand- 
father of John J. D. McCormick, was a 
native of Ireland and there spent his en- 
tire life, performing well the duties and 
obligations that fell to his lot. He mar- 
ried a Miss Sears, who bore him nine chil- 
dren, as follows: John, David, Thomas, 
Michael, Henry, Helen. Catherine, Lizzie 
and Honora. 

(II) Michael (2) McCormick, fourth 

son of Michael (i) and (Sears) 

McCormick, was also a native of Ireland, 
was reared, educated, spent his active ca- 
reer, married and died in his native land, 
his death occurring at the early age of 
thirty years. His wife. Mary (Sheehy) 
McCormick, bore him four sons: Michael, 
John, Patrick, and David, the latter being 
but seven days old when his father died. 



FMCYCLOPEDIA OF DIOGRArilV 



Later Mrs. McCormick became the wife 
of Maurice O'Connell, and they were tlie 
parents of two children : Daniel and 
Nellie. Mr. and Mrs. O'Connell emi- 
grated to the United States, about 1864- 
55, and located in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, where she resided until her death in 
1903, at the advanced age of eighty-tive 
years. 

(Ill) David McCormick, youngest son 
of Michael (2) and Mary (Sheehy) Mc- 
Cormick, was born in Ireland, Feljruary 
4, 1854. He resided there until 1864-65. 
when he accompanied his mother and 
step-father to this country, he being then 
ten years of age. He attended the public 
schools of Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 
which city he resided, and later served 
an apprenticeship with James & Marra. 
who were engaged in a stone-cutting and 
contracting business, becoming in course 
of time one of the best stone masons and 
contractors in the valley, and there are a 
large number of buildings in Holyoke that 
stand as monuments to his skill and abil- 
ity. After completing his apprenticeship, 
he entered into business relations with 
Jerome Jackson, of New York, who re- 
tired from the firm at the expiration of 
seven years, Mr. McCormick conducting 
the business alone for a short period of 
time. He then associated himself with 
John Wall, which connection was dis- 
solved after a number of years. He then 
conducted the business on his own ac- 
count until a short time prior to his death, 
when he admitted his son, John J. D., to 
partnership, and from that time the busi- 
ness was conducted under the firm name 
of David McCormick & Son. Mr. Mc- 
Cormick was an active member of the 
Roman Catholic chufch. of the Holyoke 
Lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, and was also one of the charter 
members of Shields Court of Foresters. 
It is impossible to show more clearly the 



esteem in which he was held throughout 
his life in the city where he made his 
home from boyhood until his death than 
by (juoting extracts from an editorial 
wliich appeared in the Holyoke "Daily 
Transcript" immediately after his dcalli : 

It was Bacon who wrote of beauty: 'A'irtuc is 
like a rich stone — best plain set." The quotation 
is most apt for David McCormick. Holyoke's well 
known stone contractor, who has just passed on. 
Mr. McCormick was a rich stone — plain set. He 
was one of those men who come up from humble 
beginnings. He worked, lived right and was 
bound that his children should enjoy the privileges 
of education and culture that were never his. It 
was a beautiful ambition and has been liberally 
realized. He has one son who is a junior at Cor- 
nell and doing brilliant work, and his daughters, 
too, have made his life happy, especially since the 
death of his wife in 1898. Mr. McCormick was 
a man of few words but there was a tine char- 
acter and earnest manhood for a background. 
The world is the better for such men as plain, 
modest, silent David McCormick. 

Mr. McCormick married, in 1886, Cath- 
erine Dowling. born in County Kerr)-. 
Ireland, August 15, 1856, died in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, September 6, 1898. daugh- 
ter of Timothy and Catherine ( Mc- 
Carthy) Dowling, and granddaughter of 
John and Mary (Cahill) Dowling. Six 
children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Mc- 
Cormick: Eileen, who is a graduate of 
Mt. Holyoke College and a successful 
teacher in the Holyoke High School; 
Michael ; John Joseph David, of further 
iTiention : Francis Daniel; William, died 
in infancy; Catherine. 

(IV) John J. D. McCormick. (nily son 
nowlivingof David anrl Catherine ( Dow- 
ling) McCormick. was born in Holyoke. 
Massachusetts. March 10. i8<)i. He was 
reared and educated in his native city, and 
after completing his high school course 
he attended Williston Seminary for one 
vear. and then entered Cornell University. 
Ithaca. New York, where he remained for 



E.\ CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



two and one-half years, his course being 
interrupted by the death of his father. 
Some time prior to leaving the university 
his father had taken him into partnership, 
under the tirm name of David McCormick 
tS: Son, and since the father's death the 
business has been successfully carried on 
by the son and his sister, Eileen. During 
his college course, Mr. McCormick spe- 
cialized in civil engineering preparatory 
to engaging in construction work, intend- 
ing in this way to enlarge the business 
interests of the firm of which he had been 
made a member. In addition to the above 
named interest, Mr. McCormick has vari- 
ous other business connections in which 
he is financially interested but which are 
n( t conducted under his name. He is a 
member of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, the Foresters of America, 
the Rotary Club, the County Club, the 
Knights of Columbus and the Ancient 
Order of Hibernians. 



MILLER, Edward J., M. D., 

Physiciait. 

This well known and successful physi- 
cian of Holyoke comes of an old and hon- 
ored Scotch ancestry. His grandfather, 
John Miller, came from his native land, 
Scotland, to the United States, and settled 
in Westchester county, New York, where 
for several years he engaged in farming. 
He then moved to Norwalk, Connecticut, 
where he resided until his death at the 
great age of ninety-three. Flis wife, who 
died at the age of eighty was the mother 
of five children, only two of whom, Eliza 
and John, are living. 

One of these children, Charles E. Miller, 
born in Westchester county, New York, 
there resided for many years, acquiring 
an education and the trade of cabinet 
maker. At about the age of thirty-four 
he moved to Norwalk, Connecticut, fol- 



lowing his trade about forty years until 
his death at the age of seventy-four years. 
He was well known and highly respected, 
a member of the Methodist church, and a 
Republican in politics. He married Nellie 
Littell, who survives him, still a resident 
of Norwalk. She is a daughter of Wil- 
liam Littell, who at the time of his daugh- 
ter's birth was residing in New Y'ork 
State. Later he moved to Norwalk, 
where he died, leaving three children : 
Nellie, widow of Charles E. Miller ; 
Charles, living in Binghamton, New 
York; and Airs. Eva Smith. Charles E. 
and Nellie (Littell) Miller were the par- 
ents of three children: Dr. Edward J., of 
whom further ; Bertha, wife of Walter C. 
Haynes, of Norwalk ; Walter, a tool- 
maker of Bridgeport, Connecticut. 

Dr. Edward J. Miller, of the third Ameri- 
can generation of the family founded by 
John Miller, of Scotland, was born in Nor- 
walk, Connecticut, July 31, 1880, eldest of 
the children of Charles E. and Nellie (Lit- 
tell) Miller. He was educated in the pub- 
lic schools of Norwalk, completing the 
high school course with graduation. He 
decided upon a professional career, and 
choosing medicine he entered the New 
York College of Homeopathy connected 
wath Flower Hospital, there pursued a 
full course to graduation, receiving his 
degree M. D. with the class of 1907. 
After graduation, he received appoint- 
ment to the medical staff of Blackwell's 
Island Hospital and there spent two 
years. This was valuable experience, as 
the two thousand patients treated in that 
institution during his term were suffer- 
ing from every form of disease known to 
the human family. His association with 
the twenty-four eminent physicians com- 
prising the hospital stafT was of greatest 
value to the young physician and afforded 
him opportunity to acquire knowledge 
through personal contact with men of ex- 



228 



::\XYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



perience and culture. With such prepara- 
tion and equipment, Dr. Miller located in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 1910, and here 
began the work of building up a private 
practice. The years that have since inter- 
vened have been years of constant growth 
in public favor, and have demonstrated 
the depth of his learning and of his devo- 
tion to his most arduous profession. Al- 
though a young practitioner, his practice 
has attained generous proportions and he 
has the confidence of his clientele as well 
as the highest esteem of his professional 
brethren. Dr. Miller is a member of 
Hampden County Homeopathic Medical 
Association, of the Holyoke Homeopathic 
Medical Society, and the Massachusetts 
Society of Homeopathy. He is a member 
of college fraternities, and with his wife 
attends the Second Congregational 
Church. 

Dr. Miller married, February 24, 1914, 
Armenta Rose, born in Dayton, Ohio, 
daughter of John Rose, a well known and 
successful inventor of Dayton, now resid- 
ing in Holyoke. Mrs. Miller is one of 
three children : Mary, w^ife of Charles 
Fauld, residing in Cleveland, Ohio; Ar- 
menta, wife of Dr. Edward J. Miller; 
John, of Dayton, Ohio. 



CHASE, Joseph Edwin, 

Merchant, Cnrio Collector. 

From a noted American family, Mr. 
Chase inherited a tendency to excel in 
anything he undertook, and thus gained 
the esteem and respect of a very wide 
circle of acquaintances. He was known 
throughout the United States, not only as 
a collector of curios, but also as an expert 
chessplayer. His ancestry has been 
traced to a remote period in England. 
For many years the earliest known ances- 
tor of the American family was Aquila 
Chase, who was among the founders of 



Hampton, New Hampshire, and he was 
said to be from, Cornwall, England, by 
several antiquarians whose authority was 
tradition. A long search has established 
beyond a reasonable doubt that he was 
from Chesham, in Buckinghamshire, some 
thirty miles northwest of London. The 
family is said to have been of Norman 
origin, and it has been suggested that the 
name was formerly LaChasse. In the old 
English records it is spelled Chaace and 
Chaase, and in the fifteenth and sixteenth 
centuries it was modified to the present 
form most in use — Chase. 

Thomas Chase, the first of the family 
of whom we have definite information, 
had a son, John Chase, who had a son. 
Matthew Chase, of the parish of Hund- 
rich, in Chesham, who married Elizal)eth 
Bould, daughter of Richard Bould. Their 
son. Richard Chase, married Mary Rob- 
erts, of Welsden, in Middlesex. Their 
son, Richard (2) Chase, baptized August 
3. 1542, married, April 16, 1564. Joan 
Bishop. Their fourth son, Aquila Chase, 
was baptized August 14. 1580. The 
unique name of Aquila is found nowhere 
in England, before or since, coupled with 
the name of Chase, which makes it reas- 
onably certain that this Aquila was the 
ancestor of the American family. 

His son, Aquila (2) Chase, born 1618. 
settled, about 1646, in Newbury, Massa- 
chusetts, in that part which is now New- 
buryport. He was formerly in Hampton 
(now part of New Hampshire), where he 
and his brother Thomas, together with 
fifty-five others, received grants of land in 
June, 1640. He married .Ann Wheeler, 
who was a daughter of John Wheeler, 
wh(i came from Salisbury. England, in 
September, 1^146- After his death. De- 
cember 27, 1670. she married (second) 
Daniel Mussiloway. 

Ensign Moses Chase, youngest child of 
Aquila (2) and Ann (Wheeler) Chase, 



229 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was burn December 24, 1663, in Newbury. 
He married, November 10, 1684, Ann Fol- 
lonsbee, and settled in West Newbury, 
on the main road, about one hundred 
rods above what is now Bridge street. A 
large majority of the Chases in the United 
States are said to be his descendants. He 
died September 6, 1743. 

His eldest son, Daniel Chase, born 
September 20, 1685, '" Newbury, now 
West Newbury, moved to Littleton, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1725, thence to Sutton, same 
State. He married, January 6, 1706, 
Sarah, daughter of George March, of Gro- 
ton, Massachusetts. Subsequently he 
moved to Sutton, where he died in April, 
1768. 

Their youngest child, Moses (2) Chase, 
was born March 16, 1727, in Newbury, 
and removed to Sutton with his parents 
when five years old. About 1765 he 
j( lined the pioneers in settling Cornish, 
New Hampshire, where he died October 
18, 1799. He married, April 15, 1752, 
Hannah Brown, of Sutton, born Novem- 
ber 15, 1735, daughter of Jonas and Han- 
nah Brown, and died January 16, 1812. 

Their third son. Rev. Amos Chase, born 
May 19, 1760, in Sutton, graduated at 
Dartmouth College and entered the minis- 
try. For many years he was pastor at 
Litchfield, Connecticut, where all his 
large family of children are recorded. He 
died January 25, 1850, in Centreville, 
Crawford county, Pennsylvania, in his 
ninetieth year. He married (first) No- 
vember 30, 1788, Rebecca Hart, of Gris- 
wold, Connecticut; (second) June 27, 
1792, Joanna Lammon, of Norwich, Con- 
necticut, who died August 19, 1848. 

Edward Chase, youngest child of the 
Rev. Amos and Joanna (Lammon) Chase, 
was born about 1805-08, in Litchfield, and 
lived some time in Nashua, New Hamp- 
shire, whence he removed to Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, in 1849. He engaged in 



the lumber business, in which his son in 
time became a partner, the style of the 
firm being E. Chase & Sons. He died in 
Holyoke at the age of sixty years. His 
wife was Maria Adams. One son and 
four daughters of their remarkable family 
survive, namely : Charles P. Chase, presi- 
dent of the Springfield Board of Trade, 
Springfield, Massachusetts ; Mrs. W. H. 
Brooks, of Holyoke ; Mrs. Sarah Piatt 
Decker and Mrs. P. S. Kingsland, of Den- 
ver, Colorado; Mrs. Arthur A. Shaw, of 
Somerville, Massachusetts. A brother of 
Mr. Chase, Henry A. Chase, was post- 
master at Holyoke, as was also a nephew, 
Charles A. Chase. 

Joseph Edwin Chase, son of Edward 
and Maria (Adams) Chase, was born 
March 22, 1839, '" Nashua, New Hamp- 
shire, and died April 20, 191 1, in Holyoke. 
After the death of his father, he opened a 
fruit and novelty store on Dwight street, 
Holyoke, where the Postal Telegraph 
ofifice now stands. There he kept a large 
line of novelties and curios, and was inter- 
ested in various collections. His wonder- 
ful aggregation of butterflies, which he 
had spent many years to collect, was sold 
to Mt. Holyoke College for one thousand 
dollars. It was said to be the finest col- 
lection ever seen. He also had note- 
worthy collections of stamps, minerals 
and coins. After some years he sold out 
his store and engaged in the real estate 
business, until his retirement two years 
preceding his death. Mr. Chase was a 
remarkable character, with a well stored 
mind, and informed on a wide range of 
subjects. Flis chief diversion was in play- 
ing chess, in which he gained wide dis- 
tinction. He conducted many games by 
mail, with players in different parts of the 
United States, and was often a winner. 

Mr. Chase married, March 22, 1874, 
Alma Cofftn, born in Londonderry, New 
Hampshire, daughter of David and Har- 



230 



::n' CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAl'llV 



riett (Burbank) Coffin. Children: i. 
Jessie, died aged eight years. 2. Alma, 
married (first) Herbert Rowe, one daugh- 
ter, Herma Rowe ; married (second) 
Harry Kimball. 3. Willis, died aged four 
years. 4. Josie, married Cooledge Porter- 
field, and they have a daughter, Priscilla. 
5. Joseph Theodore, a graduate of Dart- 
mouth, was president of his class and a 
noted athlete ; he is an expert civil engi- 
neer, and has attained high rank in his 
profession ; has participated in some large 
developments in his native land ; is man- 
ager of the Roanoke Rapids Power Com- 
pany of Roanoke Rapids, North Caro- 
lina; married Cora Lee Welch, and they 
have two children : Josie Alma and 
Chester Everett. 



SULLIVAN, Eulick R, M. D., 

Physician. 

Now a practicing physician of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, Dr. Sullivan brought to 
his practice in that city the experience 
gained in college, hospital and practical 
work as a physician in other fields. He 
has during the few years of his Holyoke 
residence gained the confidence of his 
clientele, and is held in high repute as a 
physician of honor and skill. He bears 
the given name also bestowed upon his 
grandfather, Eulick Sullivan, who died 
in County Kerry. Ireland, in 1848. After 
his death his widow, Ellen (Lyon) Sulli- 
van, came to the United States with her 
children, settled at Three Rivers, Massa- 
chusetts, later at Palmer, and there reared 
her children to habits of thrift, honesty 
and usefulness. She brought to the 
United States children : Cornelius, Mary, 
Catherine, Thomas and Julia. 

Thomas Sullivan, youngest son of Eu- 
lick and Ellen (Lyon) Sullivan, was born 
in County Kerry, Ireland, in 1844. His 
father died in 1848, and in 1850 he was 
brought to the United States by his 



mother with the remainder of the family. 
He attended public school in Palnu-r, 
Massachusetts, worked in boyhood in the 
mills at Three Rivers, and in time at 
Thorndyke Mills, and later was an over- 
seer in the Lyman Mills in Holyoke. 
About 1875 he retired from mill work, 
located at Belchertown, Massachusetts, 
and there has for forty years followed the 
peaceful life of a farmer. He married 
Margaret Leary, born in Ireland, daugh- 
ter of Cornelius and Margaret (McCar- 
thy) Leary. They are the parents of six 
children, all born in Belchertown : Julia, 
Mary, Dr. Eulick F., of further mention ; 
Ellen, Cornelius and Margaret. 

Dr. Eulick F. Sullivan, eldest son of 
Thomas and Margaret (Leary) Sullivan, 
was born in Belchertown, Massachusetts, 
October 4, 1880. He there began his edu- 
cation in the public school, prepared at 
W esleyan Academy, W^ilbraham, Massa- 
chusetts, then entered the Medical De- 
partment of the University of \'ermont 
at Burlington, whence he was graduated 
Doctor of Medicine, class of 1904. He 
later engaged in post-graduate work in 
New York and Boston. He then located 
at North Adams, continuing in practice 
there until 1914. when he moved to Hol- 
yoke, where he is well established. Dr. 
Sullivan is on the staff of the House of 
the Providence Hospital, is a member of 
the Massachusetts State Medical Asso- 
ciation, the Holyoke Medical Society, the 
Knights of Columbus and other societies. 

Dr. Sullivan married, November 8, 191 1, 
Joanna Griffin, of Belchertown. daughter 
of Michael and Margaret (Houlihan) 
Griffin. 



CLARK. Georae Henry. M. D.. 



Phvuician- 



.•\ practicing physician of the city of 
Holvoke. Massachusetts, for over a quar- 
ter of a centurv. Dr. Clark has won the 



2.^1 



EXCYCLCPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



patronage of a large clientele and the 
good will of his townsmen to an unusual 
degree. He is a great-grandson of Ralph 
Clark, of County Kilkenny, Ireland, one 
of those well to do Irish landowners, a 
lever of sports and good horses, who lent 
that charm to the Irish character that will 
ever endure. He married Maria Mat- 
thews, who bore him a son Robert, and a 
daughter Bessie, who married John Smith. 

Robert Clark, born in Kilkenny, Ire- 
land, in 1807, came to the United States 
in 1849, ^"<i only survived the change of 
residence two years, dying in Ware, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1851. He married Ellen 
Cunningham, daughter of Thomas Cun- 
ningham, born in Ireland, who long sur- 
vived him, dying in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1907, aged eighty-eight years. 
They were the parents of Jane ; Robert 
(2), of further mention; William; Eliza, 
married Morris Keough, and Ralph Clark, 
all but the last named born in Ireland. 

Robert (2) Clark was born in Kilkenny, 
County Kilkenny, Ireland, in 1842, and 
was brought to the United States by his 
parents in 1849. ^^ "^^^s educated in the 
schools of Ware, Massachusetts, and after 
a short term in the mills there learned the 
carpenter's trade. He continued a house 
builder for a time, then became a car 
builder, employed until his retirement in 
the car shops at Springfield and for a time 
in the United States Armory at Spring- 
field. For several years he lived a retired 
life, his health having failed. He married 
Ellen Donoghue, born in Kilkenny, Coun- 
ty Kilkenny, Ireland, in 1841, died in 1913. 
They were the parents of five sons: 
George Henry, of further mention ; Wil- 
liam, killed by a railway train ; Charles, 
John and Frank Clark. 

Dr. George Henry Clark, eldest son of 
Robert (2) and Ellen (Donoghue) Clark, 
was born in Ware, Massachusetts, May 
30, 1868, and obtained his education in 



Ware and Springfield schools. Deciding 
upon the medical profession as his life 
work, he entered Long Island Medical 
College, Brooklyn, New York, whence he 
was graduated Doctor of Medicine, class 
of 1891. He chose Holyoke as a location, 
began practice there, and from the un- 
known young physician has risen to a 
leading position among the professional 
men of the city. He was a member of 
the school board for five years, from 1905 
to 1910, and chairman of the board during 
his last year of service. He is a member 
of the Massachusetts Medical and other 
professional associations, is thoroughly 
modern in his methods of practice, ana 
highly regarded as a physician of skill 
and honor. 

Dr. Clark married, September 5, 1899, 
Margaret Keefe, daughter of Cornelius 
and Ellen (Fox) Keefe, of Holyoke. 
They are the parents of two daughters : 
Helen, born September 10, 1900; Mildred, 
January 24, 1905. 



POWERS, William Joseph, M. D., 

Physician. 

After extended courses of study at 
home and abroad, hospital experience and 
general practice in different localities. Dr. 
Powers, in 1909, permanently located in 
Holyoke, Massachvisetts, where he is well 
established as a skillful and honorable 
practitioner. He is a son of Patrick Pow- 
ers, whose long career with the Ameri- 
can Steel and Wire Company of Worces- 
ter, Massachusetts, covering a period of 
half a century, is worthy of special men- 
tion. 

Patrick Powers w^as born in Newton, 
County Waterford, Ireland, in 1834, and 
died in Worcester, Massachusetts, in 
1908, only living four years to enjoy the 
pension granted him by the corporation 
he served so long and so well. He at- 



232 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTt5B, LENOX AND 





7^- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tended school in Newton until eighteen 
years of age, then, in 1852, came to the 
United States and located in Worcester, 
Massachusetts. He secured a position 
with the American Steel & Wire Com- 
pany, then a small concern operating ia 
one building, and for fifty-two years re- 
mained in that employ, a trusted em- 
ployee. During that period Mr. Powers 
saw the company grow to vast propor- 
tions, and in his way had been one of the 
factors contributing to its growth and im- 
portance, he having charge of a depart- 
ment employing fifty men. In 1904 he 
was retired on a pension, carrying with 
him the esteem of his life-time employers. 
He was a Democrat, and a member of the 
American Order of United Workmen. 
Patrick Powers married Bridget Kean, 
daughter of John Kean. They were the 
parents of thirteen children, six of whom 
are living (1917) : James, deceased; Mar- 
tin ; Margaret, married John McParth- 
land ; John; Richard; William J., of fur- 
ther mention ; Catherine, married J. 
O'Connor. 

Dr. William J. Powers was born in 
Worcester, Massachusetts, June 10, 1879, 
and there passed through the grade and 
high schools, finishing with graduation. 
From high school he passed to Dart- 
mouth College, taking a two years' special 
course. Deciding upon the profession of 
medicine, he entered Baltimore Medical 
College, whence he was graduated Doctor 
of Medicine, class of 1902. During the 
remainder of 1902 and in 1903 he was 
engaged in hospital work in Providence 
Hospital, Holyoke ; practiced at Chicopee 
Falls, Massachusetts, 1903-1907, and in 
January, 1908, went abroad for study in 
the hospitals and medical schools of Lon- 
don and Vienna. Prior to his return to 
the United States in 1909, he visited the 
home of his father in Ireland, a visit he 
greatly enjoyed. After his return he 
spent three months in special medical 



study in New York City and a like period 
in Boston, locating in Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1909, thoroughly fitted to till 
the important place which he now 
occupies in the city's professional life. 
Dr. Powers is a member of the American 
Medical Association, the Massachusetts 
Medical Society and the Holyoke Medical 
Society ; serves Holyoke as a member of 
the Board of Health, and is an ardent 
apostle of the doctrine of prevention of 
disease through sanitary precaution and 
personal habits. He is a member of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
the Knights of Columbus, and of the Hol- 
yoke Country Club. 

Dr. Powers married. April 19, 191 1, 
Genevieve McGlynn, daughter of John 
and Mary McGlynn, of Chicopee Falls. 
They are the parents of a son and two 
daughters: Margaret (Peggy), born 
April 12, 1912; William, August 8. 1913; 
Elizabeth (Betty), April 4. 1915. 



ALGER, Charles R., 

Bnaineas Man. 

For two decades Charles R. .Mger has 
been in active business in the city of Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, and during those 
years his business has constantly grown 
and his personal popularity increased. 
Admirably fitted by nature and training 
for the trying duties of his profession, he 
is called upon by families in time of be- 
reavement, not only in Holyoke but in all 
parts of the county. He is descended 
from the same stock as the late President 
Grover Cleveland, and from many other 
sterling families of Colonial days. His 
Alger ancestors from Connecticut came 
up the Connecticut river before the Revo- 
lutionary War. settled in the State of 
\'ermont. and were active participants in 
that memorable struggle for independ- 
ence. 

The Alger genealogy of the descendants 



^Zi 



E-XCVCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Thomas Alger says: "Until recently 
the name of Alger was almost invariably 
Ijronounced Auger, and this it appears 
was in accordance with the rule as in 
other names. Some members of the 
family have never varied the orthography 
of the name from Alger, yet by others it 
has been frequently written, as pro- 
nounced. Auger." The spellings vary 
widely in the early Colonial records, such 
as Aulger, Augur, Ager, in all branches 
of the family. An early record states 
there were eight emigrants of the Alger 
family came to New England before 1700, 
but later investigation points to a larger 
number. Andrew Alger and his brother 
Arthur were in Scarborough, Maine, in 
1651 ; Sampson Alger was in York, Maine, 
in 1649; Tristram Alger was early at 
Scarborough ; John Alger settled in Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, as early as 1652; 
Jonathan and Benjamin Alger, brothers, 
were in Salem, about 1650, and they were 
probably related to William Alger, who 
was in Salem in 1636, and died in 1654, 
and also to William Alger, of Maiden, 
1659. In Connecticut there was another 
grouf). Dr. Nicholas Alger, ancestor of 
the Augurs and Algers, in and about New 
Haven, who came as early as 1643. (See 
Savage.) 

(I) Roger Alger, who settled early at 
Lyme, Connecticut, was born in 1670. 

He married Elizabeth , in 1711-12, 

ceremony performed by Joseph Peck, 
Esq., and he was the father of: John, 
mentioned below ; Joseph, who married, 
April 2, 1732, Mary Huntley, at Lyme, 
and they had a son, Joseph, born April 
22, 1733. He also was the father of sev- 
eral daughters whose marriages occurred 
in Lyme. 

(II) John Alger, son of Roger Alger, 
was born August i, 1694. He married 
(first) December 13, 1722, Temperance 
Tillotson, who died September 3, 1727. 



lie married (second) Mary . Chil- 
dren by first marriage : Nathan, born 
October 2, 1723; Joanna, August 3, 1725; 
Mathew, March 20, 1726-27. Children by 
second marriage : John, born December 
14, 1730; Benjamin, March 19, 1733, died 
April 23, 1752; Mary, November 13, 1735, 
died March 11, 1736; Mary, January 20, 
1736-37; John, mentioned below; Silas, 
mentioned below ; child, born and died 
September 20, 1748. 

(Ill) Captain John (2) Alger, son of 
John (i) and Mary Alger, was born in 
Lyme, Connecticut, March 13, 1739. With 
his brother Silas he came to Strafiford, 
Orange county, Vermont, prior to the 
Revolution. He served in the French 
and Indian War in the company of Cap- 
tain Zebulon Butler in 1759. He married, 
at Lyme, December 25, 1760, Elizabeth 
Wade. 

(III) Silas Alger, son of John (i) and 
Mary Alger, and brother of Captain John 
(2) Alger, was born in Lyme, Connecti- 
cut, August 13, 1745. He accompanied 
his brother John to Strafiford, Vermont, 
as before noted. He was a private in the 
company of which his brother, John 
Alger, was captain, according to a pay roll 
dated at Thetford, Vermont, August 14, 
1777. He was also a member of the Com- 
mittee of Safety in 1779. He was the 
father of the following children: i. 
Jared, served as private in the company 
of which his uncle. Captain John Alger, 
was the head, in 1780 was a member of 
Captain John Powell's company, and later 
a member of Captain Abner Seeley's com- 
pany. 2. Roger, served in Captain Eli 
Noble's company in Vermont, August 16 
to November 21, 1780. 3. Isaac, men- 
tioned below. 

(IV) Isaac Alger, son of Silas Alger, 
was born in Lyme, Connecticut, in 1770. 
When a young man he removed to Water- 
vliet. New York, and engaged in business 



234 



EX' CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



as a retail grocer. His death occurred 
there, October 4, 1814. He married 
Eunice (Cleveland) Wing, a widow, 
daughter of Zenas and Eunice (Luding- 
tcn) Cleveland (see Cleveland V). She 
married (third) Benedict Burdick, by 
whom she had one child. Children of 
Isaac and Eunice Alger: Isaac, born 
1798; Esther, 1800; Eunice, 1803; Joseph 
C, 1806; Eliza C, 1808; Lydia, 1810; 
Mary, 1812; Silas W., mentioned below. 
(V) Silas W. Alger, son of Isaac and 
Eunice (Cleveland-Wing) Alger, was 
born in WatervHet, New York, May 9, 
1814, and died May 12, 1886, in Fly Creek, 
New York. His father died when he 
was an infant and he was adopted by a 
Mr. Foster, w-ho made life so hard for 
him that he ran away and entered the 
employ of Eaton & Gilbert, carriage 
manufacturers. In 1846 he removed to 
Fly Creek, Otsego county. New York, and 
engaged in business for himself, and also 
from i860 to 1884 he served in the 
capacity of postmaster of that town. In 
politics he was a Republican. He mar- 
ried, at Lansingburg. New York, Kather- 
ine Oakley, born in 1814, died December 
17, 1892. Children: Sanford S., born 
February 12, 1838; Amelia, January 11, 
1840; Freeman W., August 2. 1842; Eu- 
gene G., June 19, 1844; Mary J., April 25, 
1846; George, October 21, 1847, died De- 
cember 8, 1849; Georgianna, June 12, 
1850; Charles R., mentioned below; 
Emery S., February 27, 1854. The sons, 
Freeman W. and Eugene G., served in 
Company F, One Hundred and Twenty- 
first New York Regiment in the Civil 
War; Freeman W. died May 3, 1863, in 
the battle of Fredericksburg, and Eugene 
G. died at Annapolis, Maryland. June 4, 
1865, having spent eight months in An- 
dersonville prison and being too weak 
from starvation to recuperate after being 
discharged. 



(\'I) Charles R. Alger, son of Silas W. 
and Katherine (Oakley) Alger, was born 
in Fly Creek, New York, .April 29, 1852. 
He received his early education in the 
public schools of his native town, and 
during his youth assisted his father, being 
for a time the assistant postmaster. In 
1880 he engaged in business on his own 
account as an undertaker and embalmer 
in his native town, but three years later 
sought a larger field in Cooperstown, 
New York, where he continued in the 
same line of business until 1889. Shortly 
before that time he had admitted a part- 
ner in the business and to him he sold his 
interests. For a period of almost five 
years thereafter he was engaged as a 
traveling salesman. In 1896 he resumed 
his old line of business in Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, purchasing the Dickinson 
undertaking establishment, and he has 
conducted the sarae with marked success 
to the present time (1917). ^Tr. .Mger is 
one of the well known business men of 
Holyoke, active and popular in social and 
fraternal circles, and a worker in the 
Methodist church, of which he has been 
a trustee for many years, and a useful and 
influential citizen. He is a member of 
Holvoke Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, having joined this lodge In- 
a demit from Otsego Lodge of Coopers- 
town, New York, of which he had been 
noble grand. A member of Connecticut 
Valley Lodge, Knights of Pythias, and 
Massasoit Lodge. Knights of Malta, also 
Mt. Tom Lodge, Free and .Xcccptcd Ma- 
sons ; Holyoke Chapter. Royal Arch 
Masons; Holyoke Council. Royal and 
Select Masters. 

Mr. .Alger married, October 14. 1874, 
at Fly Creek. New York. Alice M. Col- 
burn, daughter of Everett L. and Caro- 
line (Simonds) Colburn. They have an 
adopted son. Charles Floyd, born in .Al- 
bany, New York, June i, 1879, married 



235 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Annie May Webb, born in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, daughter of James Webb 
and Eliza (Doney) Webb; children, 
Alberta Alice and Ernest Charles. 

(The Cleveland Line). 

(I) Moses Cleveland, founder of the 
family in this country, was born in 
Ipswich, County Suffolk, England, about 
1621, and at the time he left London for 
New England in 1635 he was an inden- 
tured apprentice. He settled in W^oburn, 
Massachusetts, where he was living when 
admitted a freeman of Massachusetts in 
1643, s"*^ he died there January 9, 1700- 
01 He was admitted to the full com- 
munion in the First Church of Charles- 
town, in 1692. He held various public 
oflFices in Woburn. He married, Septem- 
ber 26, 1648, Ann Winn, born about 1626 
in Wales or England, daughter of Edward 
and Joanna Winn, w^ho were pioneers in 
this country. Children, born at Woburn : 
Moses, Hannah, Aaron, Samuel (men- 
tioned below) ; Miriam, Joanna, died aged 
six years ; Edward, Josiah, Isaac, Joanna 
and Enoch. 

(II) Sergeant Samuel Cleveland, son 
of Moses Cleveland, was born at Woburn, 
Massachusetts, June 9, 1657, died at 
Canterbury, March 12, 1735-36. He was 
a soldier in King Philip's War, serving as 
sergeant. About 1680 he located at 
Chelmsford, Massachusetts, and cleared 
a farm the following year. Subsequently 
he removed to Canterbury, Connecticut, 
with his brother Josiah. He married 
(f:rst) in Chelmsford, May 17, 1680, Jane 
Keyes, who was born in Newbury, Mas- 
sachusetts, October 25, 1660, daughter of 
Solomon and Frances (Grant) Keyes ; 
she died without issue, November 4, 
1681. He married (second) in Chelms- 
ford, May 22, 1682, Persis Hildreth, 
daughter of Richard and Elizabeth Hil- 
dreth. She was born in Cambridge, Feb- 



ruary 8, 1660, and died in Canterbury, 
February 22, 1698. He married (third) 
in 1699, Margaret Fish, a widow, of 
Canterbury. Children by his second wife : 
Persis, Samuel, Joseph, mentioned below ; 
Elizabeth and Mary. Children by third 
wife : Abigail and Timothy. 

(III) Sergeant Joseph Cleveland, son 
of Sergeant Samuel Cleveland, was born 
in Chelmsford, Massachusetts, July 18, 
1689, ^"d di^<i ^^ Canterbury, March 11, 
1766. He married (first) February 7, 
1710-11, Abigail Hyde, born at Cam- 
bridge, August 8, 1688, daughter of 
Jonathan and Dorothy (Kidder) Hyde. 
She died in Canterbury. He married 
(second) Sarah Ainsworth, who was born 
in Plainfield, Connecticut, June 12, 1700, 
died at Canterbury, June 21, 1761, daugh- 
ter of Alexander Ainsworth. Children, all 
by first wife : Ephraim, Jonathan, Benja- 
min, mentioned below ; Dorothy, John, 
Elijah, Persis, Ezra and Samuel. 

(IV) Benjamin Cleveland, son of Ser- 
geant Joseph Cleveland, was born at 
Canterbury, Connecticut, May 20, 1714, 
and died in 1797 at East Brookfield, Ver- 
mont. His wife Rachel, whom he mar- 
ried in 1736, died in 1792, at Lyme, New 
Hampshire. Children, born at Canter- 
bury : Joseph, Benjamin, Dorothy, Abi- 
gail, Zenas, mentioned below ; Rachel, 
Persis, Rufus, Mary and Phebe. 

(V) Zenas Cleveland, son of Benjamin 
Cleveland, was born at Canterbury, Con- 
necticut, in 1749. He lived at Brookfield, 
Vermont, from 1786 to 1790, removing 
thence to Litchfield, Pennsylvania, where 
he died August 27, 1821, aged seventy-two 
years. From boyhood he suflfered from 
lameness, caused by a fever sore. He 
followed the trade of shoemaker through- 
out his active life. In 1773 he married 
Eunice Ludington, who died at Litch- 
field, May I, 1824. Children: i. Eunice, 
born about 1774; married (first) a Mr. 



236 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 

Wing and had one child, Freeman Wing. whose career we are here especially con- 

and perhaps others; she resided at one cerned ; Louis; Joseph, wIkj resides at 

time near Albany, New York; she married Buffalo, New York; Anna, who became 

(second) Isaac Alger (see Alger IV). 2. the wife of Harry Pratt, of Westbrook, 

Betsey, born 1776. 3. Zenas, born Sep- now deceased; and William, who also 

tember, 1778. 4. Elinor, born April 10, resides at Buffalo. 

1780. 5. Anna, born 1782, died 1786. 6. Born April 11, 18.S0, at Westbrook, 

James, born October 30, 1784, died August Maine, Wilfred F. (iirard was educated 

ic, 1786. 7. Flora, lived with her father in the local public schools, and after com- 

at Bethel, New York, and went west pleting his studies at these institutions, 

with him. found employment in cotton niills. situ- 

ated in different sections of New luigland. 

GIRARD Wilfred F. ^^ ^'^^^ continued for a number of years, 

moving from place to place, and beine 

Photographer. , ° „r , , >, • r 

located at Westbrook, Maine ; Jewett 

Wilfred F. Girard, a native of West- City, Connecticut; Clinton and North 
brook, Maine, is of French Canadian Adams, Massachusetts ; and Pawtuckct, 
parentage, and has made his home in Hoi- Rhode Island. He then secured a position 
yoke, Massachusetts, only since 1913. In with a firm at Providence, Rhode Island, 
spite of this fact, however, he has become where for two years he worked on the 
most intimately associated with the life manufacture of adding machines, and 
of this community, and is now one of the then came to New Haven, Connecticut, 
best known photographers in this section w-here for a similar period he was em- 
of the State. He is a son of Napoleon and ployed by a concern which manufactured 
Emma (Bradley) Girard, his father hav- various computing machines, at the mak- 
ing been born in Canada, from which place ing of w^hich he was employed. The next 
he came to the United States and settled move of Mr. Girard was to East Hampton, 
in Maine, when about eighteen years of Massachusetts, where he became asso- 
age. As a young man he worked as a ciated with a photographer, from whom 
farm hand and as a lumberer in the woods he learned the details of this art. and 
of that State, but eventually settled in finally, in 1913, came to Holyoke, Massa- 
Westbrook, where he engaged in a mer- chusetts, where he has founded a photo- 
cantile enterprise, being the first French graphic establishment on his own account. 
Canadian merchant in the city. He w^as In Holyoke Mr. Girard has met with 
engaged in both a grocery and bakery remarkable success, and in 191''). finding 
business, which he conducted with con- larger quarters necessary, removed his 
siderable success, and he also owned a studio from No. 194 High street to the 
farm, where he carried on agricultural Mills-Alderman Building. His establish- 
operations at the same time. He married ment at the new location is undoubtedly 
Emma Bradley, and they were the parents one of the best equipped commercial 
of the following children : Charles, who photograph shoi)S in New England. Here 
now resides at Pawtucket, Rhode Island; he has large facilities for developing and 
George, deceased; John, who continues printing for amateurs, and in addition to 
to make his home at Westbrook, Maine ; this makes a specialty of such work as 
Mary, who became the wife of George outside and interior views, machinery, 
Smith, of Westbrook; Wilfred F., with flashlights of banquets, etc. He has re- 

237 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cently added to his equipment the modern 
kiograph method for transferring photo- 
graphs to other materials such as china, 
glass, wood, celluloid, leather and so forth, 
and is also specializing in this. His staff 
of workers has constantly increased and 
he recently added to it Mr. J. Frank Wig- 
gins, of New York, an expert in designing 
printing paper machinery. The plant is 
now equipped to handle some five hun- 
dred rolls of film a day, and Mr. Girard 
keeps his shop open at all tim£s to visitors, 
amateurs, as well as those in the trade. 
He is regarded by his colleagues in the 
business as one of the most competent 
and successful commercial photographers 
in the country. Mr. Girard is conspicu- 
ous in the social and fraternal life of the 
city, and is a member of the local lodge 
o^ the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
Mr. Girard is at once an artist and a 
typical man of business, of the kind that 
has made New England famous and 
placed her so high in industrial circles. 
He is the kind of man at whom the com- 
munity can and does point with gratitude 
and admiration for the benefits which his 
activities have conferred upon it. 



McLEAN, Hugh, 

Representative Citiien. 

Ballymena, County Antrim, Ireland, 
with its large trade in linens, its immense 
bleaching grounds and nearby iron mines, 
was the scene of the activities of this 
branch of the McLean family for many 
years, and there Patrick McLean and his 
sen, Hugh McLean, were born. Later 
both moved to Linlithgow, Scotland, 
where Patrick McLean was a salesman 
of household tin and hardware. Here he 
spent the remainder of his life, and here 
he and his wife are both buried. He mar- 
ried Agnes Murdoch, also born in Bally- 
mena, and they were the parents of four 



sons, Hugh, James, Patrick, and Daniel; 
the latter two served in the British army 
in the Crimean War ; and of two daugh- 
ters, Mary and Agnes. 

Hugh McLean was born in Ballymena, 
County Antrim, Ireland, in 1833, and died 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, August 3, 
1893. He attended Ballymena schools 
until fourteen years of age, then with his 
parents moved to the parish of Linlith- 
gow, Linlithgowshire, Scotland. There 
he learned paper making in all its 
branches, and remained until of legal age. 
In 1854 he came to the United States, 
locating in the State of Pennsylvania, but 
in 1858 he returned to Scotland, where he 
spent the following twenty-three years of 
his life. In 1881 he again came to the 
United States, located in Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, and there was actively employed 
in paper manufacture until his death. He 
was a man of intelligence, possessed a 
mind w-ell stored from wide reading of 
good literature, his excellent memory 
enabling him to secure the full benefit of 
his reading. He was a ready public de- 
bater, and was well known for his readi- 
ness to defend any position he took upon 
any question within his scope of learning. 
He became a naturalized citizen in 1853, 
and was an ardent Republican in his 
political belief. 

Hugh McLean married Elizabeth Don- 
aldson McLaughlin, born near Edinburgh, 
Scotland, in 1841, daughter of William 
McLaughlin, born in County Ferman- 
augh, a town of Enniskillen, Ireland, and 
his wife, Elizabeth Donaldson, born in 
Scotland. Hugh and Elizabeth McLean 
were the parents of: Agnes, married 
Robert Clark; Patrick J. (q. v.); Eliza- 
beth, married Peter McGarrity ; Hugh (2) 
(q. v.) ; Margaret ; Mary, married Harry 
Osborne ; Daniel (q. v.) ; William, and 
Thomas, all residing in Holyoke. 



238 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



McLEAN, Patrick J., 

BniinesB Man. 

Of true Scotch-Irish blood, Patrick J. 
McLean, eldest son of Hugh and Eliza- 
beth Donaldson (McLaughlin) McLean, 
brought to the land of his adoption the 
sturdy qualities of honorable ancestors, 
and on American soil has demonstrated 
that he possesses the characteristics of a 
race which has contributed so largely to 
the upbuilding of the United States and 
her institutions. He was born in Scot- 
land, May 15, 1863, there was educated, 
and there resided until 1881, when he 
came to the United States with his father 
on his second coming. On July 22 of the 
same year he began his residence in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, there adding to his 
mental equipment courses of study in 
evening school and business college. For 
fourteen years he was employed in the 
chemical mills of the city, then entered 
into partnership with his brother Hugh, 
and in 1895 opened a retail furniture store, 
under the firm name of McLean Brothers. 
The business was profitably conducted as 
a partnership until 1912, when Patrick J. 
McLean withdrew and started a furniture 
and house furnishings business under his 
own name, and so continues. He is .a 
member of the Catholic Order of Forest- 
ers of Massachusetts ; also the American 
Order of Foresters. He is a Democrat in 
politics, and in religious affiliation a 
Catholic. 

Patrick J. McLean married, in 1885, 
Jane Cassidy, born in Londonderry, Ire- 
land, came to the United States at the 
age of eighteen years, died in Holyoke, 
in 1910, daughter of John and Margaret 
(Coyle) Cassidy. Mr. and Mrs. McLean 
were the parents of three children : Hugh 
P., born September 22, 1895, employed in 
store with his father; John J. C, born 
1898, now studying medicine in Tufts 



College ; Jane Lauretha, born January, 
1900, now a student at the Elms .Academy 
in Chicopee, Massachusetts. 



McLEAN, Hugh. Jr., 

Merchant. 

Now a successful merchant of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, Hugh McLean, Jr., son of 
Hugh and Elizabeth Donaldson (Mc- 
Laughlin) McLean, when a lad of four- 
teen years came from his native Scotland, 
and amid the many opportunities offered 
finally chose merchandising, his success 
evidencing that he chose wisely. He was 
born in Caldercruix Shotts, a parish of 
Lanarkshire, Scotland, sixteen miles 
southeast of Glasgow, April 27. 1867. 
After attendance at the parish school he 
was employed at the Dalsholm mills at 
Maryhill, near Glasgow, for a short time, 
then in 1881 came with his parents and 
family to the United States, locating in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 1881. This 
city he has ever since considered his home, 
although he was employed for some years 
in other states. Shortly after coming to 
Holyoke, he went to the State of Penn- 
sylvania, and for seven years was em- 
ployed in the paper mills of that State and 
New York State. Later he was for one 
year engaged as a traveling salesman. In 
1889 he formed a partnership with his 
elder brother, Patrick J., founding the 
business in Holyoke in which he has since 
been engaged. Until 1912 they conducted 
the business under the firm name. Mc- 
Lean Brothers, but in that year Patrick 
J. retired from the firm, since which year 
Hugh McLean has conducted it alone, 
continuing the firm name. He is a retail 
dealer in furniture and kindred lines, has 
built up an extensive trade, and is one of 
the substantial, highly esteemed mer- 
chants of Holyoke. As a citizen. Mr. Mc- 
Lean has borne his full share of civil 



239 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



responsibility, and for twenty years has 
been active in the Democratic party. He 
served as a member of the Board of Alder- 
men four years, being president of the 
board one year. At the present time he is 
chairman and treasurer of the Board of 
Water Commissioners ; member of the 
New England Water Works Association, 
serving on important committees, and has 
contributed several articles of value to the 
press concerning the water supply of 
cities, and on many other topics of inter- 
est. He is a member of the Democratic 
State Central Committee, and was form- 
erly chairman of the Democratic City 
Committee. He is a potent force in city 
politics, and wields an influence in favor 
of good government. He is a member 
and vice-president of the Home Furniture 
Association ; member of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, the Forest- 
ers, Knights of Columbus, and of Blessed 
Sacrament (Catholic) Church. 

Mr. McLean married (first) October 14, 
1892, Ella K. Denneen, daughter of Mat- 
thew and Eliza (O'Keefe) Denneen, of 
Westville, near Malone, New York ; she 
died April 5, 1910. Mr. McLean married 
(second) in July, 1911, Nellie T. Gorman, 
daughter of John and Mary (Smith) Gor- 
man. Hugh and Ella K. (Denneen) Mc- 
Lean were the parents of: Hugh Den- 
neen, Marion Elizabeth, Elsie Ann, and 
Matthew Francis McLean. 



McLean, Daniel, 

Fire Department Officer. 

The fourth of the sons of Hugh and 
Elizabeth Donaldson (McLaughlin) Mc- 
Lean, all born in Scotland of Scotch-Irish 
ancestors, Daniel McLean, after a term 
of service as mill worker and mercan- 
tile clerk, entered the public service as 
fireman, and for fourteen years, as lieu- 



tenant, captain and deputy chief, led his 
men in their gallant efforts to protect life 
and property. His rise in rank evidences 
the value of his service to the department 
and to the city, and no words of praise 
can add to the high reputation he holds. 

Daniel McLean was born in Scotland, 
March i, 1876, accompanied the family to 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 1881, complet- 
ing his education in the public schools of 
that city. He began his wage earning life 
as an employee of the George C. Gill 
Paper Mill, remaining one year ; spent 
eighteen months with the Norman Paper 
Mill, going thence to the furniture store 
of McLean Brothers, continuing in the 
latter's employ until 1901. He then 
entered the Holyoke Fire Department as 
lieutenant of Hose Company No. 2, was 
promoted captain in 1903, third deputy 
chief in May, 1914, and on July 7, 1915, 
first deputy chief, which position he still 
holds, a record of honorable advancement 
for meritorious service, highly creditable. 
He attended and was graduated from the 
New York Fire College and Training 
School of the New York Fire Department 
in order to more thoroughly perfect him- 
self in his duties. He is a member of the 
Firemen's Aid Association, and of the 
State Permanent Firemen's Organization. 
He is a Democrat in politics, and a mem- 
ber of the city committee. Fraternally he 
is affiliated with the Knights of Columbus, 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, and the Improved Order of Red 
Men, and in religious faith is a Catholic. 

Mr. McLean married, November 12, 
1913, Martha Annie Driecom, of Holyoke, 
daughter of Max Otto and Katherine 
(Riemers) Driecom, her father born in 
Germany, now deceased, was a prominent 
b?ker of Holyoke. Mr. and Mrs. McLean 
have one child, Martha Elizabeth, born 
May 8, 1917. 



240 






l^'^n. LENOX »w^ 





^L i^^Z 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



RANGER, Casper, 

Founder of Important Holyoke Industrie!. 

Casper Ranger, founder of two of the 
principal industries of Holyoke — the 
Casper Ranger Lumber Company and 
the Casper Ranger Construction Com- 
pany, was born in the city of Mulhausen, 
Alsace-Lorraine, now a part of the Ger- 
man Empire, in 1850. His rearing was 
essentially American, for he was but six 
years old when he came with his parents 
to this country, their youngest child. He 
was educated in the Holyoke and South 
Hadley Falls public schools, and after 
completing his studies, chose the trade of 
carpenter for his active business career. 
He began as an apprentice with Allen 
Higgenbottom, but later came under the 
masterly instruction of Watson Ely, a 
successful Holyoke builder of that day. 
Mr. Ranger not only became an expert 
workman, but a capable manager of men, 
and was made foreman by Mr. Ely, which 
position he held for several years, and 
during that period superintended the 
execution of several of the most impor- 
tant of Mr. Ely's contracts, among these 
being the erection of the City Hall and 
Opera House in Holyoke. 

In the year 1877, when he had reached 
his twenty-seventh year, Mr. Ranger had 
reached a point in his career when he real- 
ized that he must either embark in busi- 
ness on his own account, or forever remain 
an employee. His ambition forbade the 
latter alternative, and in a small way, as 
his capital would allow, he began contract- 
ing, and from that time until his death 
he was busily engaged in the contracting 
and building business, also general wood 
working and lumber dealing, his opera- 
tions covering the New England States 
and the State of New York. It is, how- 
ever, principally with his relations to the 
city of Holyoke that this narrative has to 



deal. Here he soon came to be recog- 
nized as its leading contractor and builder. 
His absolute honesty, strict observance of 
the terms of a contract, and his own 
thorough knowledge of his business, 
which constituted him his own most 
capable superintendent, were (jualifica- 
tions which appealed to those with build- 
ing contracts to award, and his services 
were greatly in demand. The best class 
of contracts fell to him, and each one 
completed was another effective adver- 
tisement. 

As time passed, and the business ex- 
panded, Mr. Ranger found efficient aides 
in his sons, and on May l, 191 2, he incor- 
porated the Casper Ranger Construction 
Company and the Casper Ranger Lumber 
Company, and the Ranger interests en- 
tered upon a broader field of expansion. 
The elder Ranger gave personal super- 
vision to every important contract so long 
as the business remained within limits 
where that was possible. In his latest 
years, he had the great satisfaction of see- 
ing that his sons were so thoroughly 
grounded in his aims and methods, that 
the results attained by them were such 
as he himself would have accomplished : 
but, while these worthy sons shouldered 
the heavier burdens of the business, the 
father, as long as he lived, was the man- 
aging head of the great industries he had 
founded and developed to such unusual 
proportions. 

While held in admiration for his mas- 
terly business abilities, Mr. Ranger was 
highly esteemed for his high personal 
qualities. He was upright in every rela- 
tion of life, loyal and devoted in his 
friendships — in brief, of the best type of 
citizen. He was deeply interested in pub- 
lic afTairs, and took an active part in civic 
government. In 1880 he was chosen to 
rei)rescnt Ward One in the city council ; 
and in 1881-82-83 was reelected alderman 



Mass— 6— 16 



241 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



from the same ward. In i8<>3 he was 
appointed license commissioner by Mayor 
A. B. Chapin, and later was appointed to 
the same office for a full term of six years. 
In 1906 he was reappointed, and during 
his entire term, of twelve years was chair- 
man of the commission. He was a mem- 
ber of the governing board of Holyoke 
Lodge, Knights of Columbus ; and a 
member of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, the Holyoke Club, the Mt. 
Tom Golf Club, and the Holyoke Coun- 
try Club. He enjoyed the society of his 
friends in these organizations, his kindly, 
genial, friendly nature expanding under 
their social influence, and rendering him 
a welcome addition to any group. He 
was a lover of his home, and deeply be- 
loved in that home by its every member. 
While monuments to his skill as a builder 
stand everywhere, his truest monument is 
in the hearts of his children. The por- 
trait of Mr. Casper Ranger which is pre- 
sented in the pages of this work, placed 
there by his sons, will, it is felt, be a 
source of gratification to his large circle 
of friends.. 

Casper Ranger married (first) Kather- 
ine Kilmurry, and (second) Ellen Mc- 
Donnell. His first wife bore him nine 
children, six of whom attained years of 
maturity, namely: Joseph F., (see 
sketch) ; William E., (see sketch) ; James 
A., (see sketch) ; Charles ; George A. L., 
(see sketch) ; and Catherine. Of his sec- 
ond marriage three children were born — 
Carolyn ; Alma, who became the wife of 
Frank Brady, of Brookline, Massachu- 
setts ; and Helen. 

Mr. Casper Ranger died in Holyoke, 
October 17, 1912. 

The two great industries which bear 
the name of Casper Ranger, and which 
are enduring tributes to his name, are 
worthy of a particularity of mention 
which is deserving of space in this con- 



nection. Their contributions to the city 
of Holyoke and other important New 
luigland cities stamp their founder and 
his sons who are continuing his work, as 
public benefactors. Seventy per cent, of 
all the mills in Holyoke have been erected 
by Casper Ranger or by the Casper 
Ranger companies. A few of the most 
important are the Skinner Mills, the 
Whiting Paper Company Mills, the 
American Writing Paper Company Mills, 
the Farr Alpaca Company Mills, the Ly- 
man Mills, the W'hite & WyckofF group, 
the National Blank Book plant, the Whit- 
more Manufacturing Company plant, the 
Deane Steam Pump buildings, and the B. 
F. Perkins Mills. Other mill and factory 
plants erected outside Holyoke are the 
West Boylston Mills in Easthampton ; 
Hathaway Cotton Mills in New Bedford ; 
Dwight Manufacturing Company plant 
in Chicopee ; United Metallic Cartridge 
Company factories in Bridgeport ; and 
many in Springfield. In the latter city 
they are represented by the buildings of 
the Springfield Institution for Savings, 
the United Electric Company, the United 
States Envelope Company, and many 
others. Nearly every building on the 
campus of Mt. Holyoke College, at South 
Hadley Center, including Skinner Recita- 
tion Hall and the Alumni Building, are 
the Ranger handiwork ; as are also the 
Skinner Memorial Chapel of Holyoke, 
connected with the Second Congrega- 
tional Church, concededly the most beau- 
tiful edifice in New England ; the Smith 
College Library Building at Northamp- 
ton ; Stockbridge Hall ; the Massachusetts 
Agricultural College, and the Beta Theta 
Pi and Psi Upsilon fraternity houses at 
y\mherst ; the City National Bank build- 
ings at Holyoke; and many more. Among 
the tine residences erected are those of 
S. R. Whiting, E. N. White and J. L. 
Wyckoff, on Northampton street, Hol- 



242 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



yoke; and the Joseph A. Skinner resi- 
dence in South Hadley. The beautiful 
Nonotuck Hotel of Holyoke is an ex- 
ample of that class of building. The 
operations of the Ranger Company, as 
indicated, cover structures devoted to 
every purpose, the range of material be- 
ing equally wide — wood, stone, brick, 
steel or concrete — in fact, every known 
material being used in their building. In 
order to meet the demands of the busi- 
ness, an enormous plant is maintained 
in Holyoke, under the name of the Casper 
Ranger Lumber Company ; this includes 
a woodworking mill equipped with the 
latest and most improved machinery, 
which covers an entire block ; a vast 
lumber yard, construction yards, and 
storehouses for their equipment; and the 
Hampshire brickyards, of which the com- 
pany are owners, burn millions of bricks 
annually for their use. 

The incorporation of the Casper Ranger 
Construction Company and the Casper 
Ranger Lumber Company has been pre- 
viously mentioned. The olificials of both 
corporations at present (1917) are the 
following named, sons of Casper Ranger, 
the founder: William E. Ranger, presi- 
dent; Joseph F. Ranger, treasurer; and 
James A. Ranger, vice-president and 
assistant treasurer — narratives of whom 
follow in this work. Under their father, 
the founder of the Ranger industries, fair 
dealing and honest fulfillment of every 
contract was never deviated from ; and it 
is the pride of his sons, who revere his 
memory, that the principles which were 
as dear to him as his heart's blood, shall 
ever be the guiding lights of his succes- 
sors. Admirable as is the work they have 
accomplished as builders, they have yet a 
greater claim upon public favor in the 
spirit of courtesy and kindness with 
which they have permeated their entire 
plant — that spirit of genuine goodwill and 



observance of the "Golden Rule" which 
pervades every department. Although 
two thousand skilled workmen, represent- 
ing every mechanical trade, are at times 
employed, it is the policy of the companj 
to see every man with whom they cat 
possibly have dealings ; and every caller, 
whether he represents small or large in- 
terests, receives the most courteous con- 
sideration. The present managers of the 
great Ranger industries have well fulfilled 
the expectations of their honored sire. 



RANGER, Joseph F.. 

Officer of Casper Ranger CompanieB. 

The immense business of the Caspel 
Ranger Construction Company of Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, is conducted by iht 
able sons of the founder — Joseph F., Wil- 
liam E. and James A. Ranger, each in 
charge of a particular department. Th< 
business of the company is very exten- 
sive, and each son as he came to suitable 
years was taught its every detail by the 
father, in fact during the intervals in 
school life this education for the positions 
they were to fill was begun and continued 
until each was fitted for his particular 
department of the business. 

Joseph F. Ranger, the eldest son di 
Casper Ranger, was born in Holyoke 
Massachusetts, September 5. 1872. lit 
was educated in the public schools and 
Eastman's Business College, and at the 
age of nineteen years, in 1891, entered 
his father's employ. He was not ignorant 
of much of the work of the Ranger Con- 
struction Company, having from boyhood 
spent his vacation periods with his father, 
whose ambition it was to train his sons 
to l)ecome his successors in the great 
business he had founded and brought to 
a high plane of success. After entering 
the business permanently. Joseph F. 
Ranger for several years devoted himself 



243 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to outside details connected with pur- James A. Ranger was born in Holyoke, 
chasing, contracting and supervision, February 17, 1877. He was educated in 
later turning his attention more to office the public schools, Williams College and 



details, now being largely occupied in the 
inside management. He is a Republican 
in politics, and in 1916 was appointed a 
member of the city board of water com- 
missioners. He is deeply interested in 
local real estate, and has done a great 
deal for the improvement of the residence 
sections of the city through his building 
operations. Mr. Ranger is rated an ex- 
pert in real estate values and his advice 
is constantly sought by both buyers and 
sellers. His judgment is relied on im- 
plicitly, and the utmost confidence re- 
posed in his fairness and justness. He 
is a member of the finance committee of 
the Mechanics' Savings Bank, and a 
director of the Nonotuck Hotel Company, 
the hostelry owned by that company be- 
ing one of the finest in New England. 

Joseph F. Ranger married, April 26, 
1897, Alma F., daughter of Frank Smith, 
of Springfield, Massachusetts. Mr. and 
Mrs. Ranger are the parents of Kather- 
ine, Casper and Elizabeth Ranger. 



RANGER, James A., 

Officer of Casper Ranger Companies. 

Third of the sons of Casper Ranger 
trained by their father to occupy the im- 
portant positions they now fill, James A. 
Ranger brought to his present position 
the experience and business knowledge 



Brown College, entering his father's em- 
ploy immediately after leaving college. 
He was not unfamiliar with the details 
of that business when he became a per- 
manent part of it as, like his brothers, he 
had improved his vacation periods in 
various positions both outside and in the 
office. In 1901 he was elected to his pres- 
ent position, and has developed into one 
of the strong men of Holyoke's business 
world. Together with his brothers, Jo- 
seph F. and William E., he organized the 
Hampshire Brick Company, a successful 
brick manufacturing company, of which 
he is treasurer. He is a member of Sacred 
Heart Church, the Knights of Columbus, 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, and the college fraternity, Psi 
Epsilon. 

James A. Ranger married, September, 
1905, Mary Scolley, born in Fitchburg, 
Massachusetts, of old New England 
family. They are the parents of two 
children : Casper James and Mary Louise 
Ranger. 



RANGER, William E., 

Officer of Casper Ranger Companies. 

Second of the sons of Casper Ranger, 
and like his brothers trained under the 
direction of his honored father for the 
post of responsibility which he so ably 



of a man of greater age, having been but fills, William, E. Ranger is the ideal chief 



little past his majority when he became 
assistant treasurer of the Casper Ranger 
Construction Company of Holyoke, and 
vice-president in charge of the lumber 
and construction department. That he 
has well performed his part in the man- 
agement of the large corporation founded 
by his father, the prosperity of the com- 
pany testifies. 



executive for a corporation which em- 
ploys such a large number of men as the 
Casper Ranger Construction Company of 
Holyoke. During his school days every 
vacation period was devoted largely to 
acquiring familiarity with the various 
details of the great business, and when 
the time came to permanently become a 
part of it, he was placed at the bottom of 



244 



Bnaineas Man. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 

the ladder, sharing every burden and lil)cral supporter of all their interests and 

hardship that befell the other workmen, devoted to all that is best for their wel- 

In this he gained perfect equipment for fare. He takes a deep interest in the 

the greater responsibilities which were to well-being of his many employees, and 

follow and a sympathy and an under- has the confidence and the highest esteem 

standing of working men and their needs, of all who know him. 

difficulties and thinking, which leads him William E. Ranger married, October 

to meet them on common ground where 14, 1903. Eliza M.. daughter of John 

there are dififerences to adjust. The men Morra. 

look upon him as their best friend, in fact 

one of them, for did he not for years share RANGER Georee A L 
their burdens in daily toil? This ex])lains 
his popularity with the men, many of 
whom do not think of him as the presi- Youngest son of Casper Ranger and 
dent of the corporation for which they his first wife, George Ambrose Luke 
work, but as their old friend and call each Ranger has spent his life in Holyoke. 
other by the familiar titles of their boy- He was born on the old Ranger home- 
hood days. stead on Appleton street, which has lately 
William E. Ranger was born in Hoi- passed into other hands. He was edu- 
yoke, Massachusetts, January 29, 1876. cated in the Holyoke public schools. He 
He was educated in the public schools, then entered the employ of the Casper 
and when those years of preparation were Ranger Lumber and Construction Com- 
past he assumed the more serious duties pany and remained with this concern for 
of life according to the plans of his father, several years and then accepted a position 
whom he joined in his building and con- with the Hampshire Brick Company, also 
tracting operations. This preparation, owned and operated by them, where he 
begun even in his school days, was from arose to the position of assistant foreman, 
the very bottom upward and was most holding this position up to June 14, 191 7. 
thorough. Prior to his father's death he a period of about twenty-five years when 
had been advanced to a responsible post he resigned. 

and was the practical head, as the father Mr. Ranger had for some years been 

gladly surrendered the burdens of man- interested in owning and operating auto- 

agement as his sons were able to assume mobiles, and feeling the need of a change 

them. When Casper Ranger finally laid after resigning this position, began the 

down in peace "after life's fitful fever," operating of an automobile covering a 

William E. Ranger succeeded him as route from the City Hall to the flighlands 

president of the Casper Ranger Construe- and in addition to this conveys people to 

tion Company, and still most ably guides all the surrounding cities, using two auto- 

the destinies of that most successful and mobiles in the prosecution of his business, 

important corporation. He is also a He is a man of strong character as befits 

director of the Morris Plan Cooperative a son of Casper Ranger and is possessed 

Bank and has other large interests. He of those characteristics which have made 

is a member of Holy Cross Church, the the name an honored one wherever 

Knights of Columbus, the Benevolent and known. He is a member of the Knights 

Protective Order of Elks and Mt. Tom of Columbus. In politics he is a Repub- 

Golf Club, active and popular in all, a lican. 

245 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Ranger married, June 14, lyii, 
Gertrude Canedy, born in Brattleboro, 
Vermont, daughter of Harvey Lincoln 
and Sarah Jane (Larrabee) Canedy, and 
granddaughter of Levi Canedy. In 1915, 
Mr. Ranger erected a fine residence in 
Holyoke at No. 39 Ridgewood avenue, 
which since its completion has been the 
familv home. 



HALL, Roy Porter, 

DairymaiL. 

The tradition is that the now numerous 
family of the Hall surname in New^ Eng- 
land are descended from three Hall 
brothers, John, Ralph, and Richard, who 
came from England and settled, John, in 
Dover; Ralph, in Exeter, New Hamp- 
shire ; and Richard, in the vicinity of 
Boston. But there were other Halls in 
New England during the Coloniol period, 
and among them in the first two or three 
generations were twenty who bore the 
baptismal name of John. 

Roy Porter Hall, of Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, descends from the Maine branch 
of the descendants of that John Hall who 
first appeared in New England in 1635, 
when he was made a freeman of Charles- 
town. His name appears on the tax list at 
Dover, New Hampshire, in 1648. By his 
wife Elizabeth, he was the father of seven 
children including sons, Sheba, John, 
Nathaniel and Ralph, from whom sprang 
a numerous family. 

Roy Porter Hall is a son of Ellery Cola 
Hall, and a grandson of Albert S. Hall, 
who left his native Maine and settled in 
Massachusetts. He married Mrs. Hannah 
H. Hall, widow of George Hall. They 
were the parents of several children who 
died young, and Leonidas, Marshall and 
Ellery Cola Hall, the latter born at Mai- 
den, Massachusetts, in 1852, died at South- 
wick, Massachusetts, in December, 1902. 



Ellery Cola Hall, although a farmer, was 
active in business pursuits. He conducted 
a meat market in Springfield for a time, 
and after his removal to Southwick was 
foreman of the Porter tobacco farm. He 
married, in 1879, Ella Sarah Porter, born 
in Westfield, Massachusetts, December 5, 
1856, died in 1896, daughter of Isaac D. 
and Sarah Ann (Drake) Porter. They 
were the parents of four children: i. 
Albert E., died in childhood. 2. Sarah 
Edith, married Franklin DeWolf, of 
Southwick, and has a daughter, Ella 
Adeline Warner, born in September, 1906, 
a charter member of the Children of the 
American Revolution, and at the age of 
twenty-one she graduates into the Daugh- 
ters of the American Revolution. 3. 
Charles Leslie, a merchant of Southwick, 
married Lovina G. Hastings, and has 
three children : Ella Caroline, John Al- 
bert and Donald Ellery. 4. Roy Porter, 
of further mention. 

Roy Porter Hall was born at Chicopee 
Falls, Massachusetts, June 2, 1887. He 
was educated in the schools of Spring- 
field and Westfield, Massachusetts, and at 
Mt. Hermon School, Mt. Hermon, Massa- 
chusetts. After completing his studies he 
was engaged in farming for a few years, 
then entered mercantile life as a clerk, 
spending about three years in Springfield, 
Massachusetts. The following year was 
spent in Southern Idaho and Denver, 
Colorado, after which he returned to Mas- 
sachusetts, locating in Holyoke in 1902. 
He began the retailing of milk in a small 
way, serving customers on a short route 
in the city. This small business soon ex- 
panded into a larger one, and finally 
reached such proportions that he incor- 
porated as the Hall's Dairy, Incorporated, 
of which he is treasurer and general man- 
ager. The dairy handles daily two thous- 
a!id quarts of pasteurized milk and large 
quantities of kindred dairy products, being 



246 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the largest business here, the plant is 
equipped with all the latest improved 
machinery for their sanitary handling. 

Air. Hall married, July 7, 1913, Adeline 
Idella Warner, daughter of Solomon 
Coombs and Mary Elizabeth (Kirtland) 
Warner, of Southwick, Massachusetts. 
Solomon C. Warner served in the Civil 
War in a Massachusetts regiment. Mr. 
and Mrs. Hall are the parents of two 
children : Roy Warner, born March 30, 
1914, and Mary Edith, December 17, 191 5. 
The parents arc members of the Baptist 
church. 

Mrs. Hall traces descent to John 
Warner, born in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, April 20, 1756, died December 24, 
1807, a soldier of the Revolutionary War. 
Pie married Mary Ward. Their son. John 
W^arner, married Fannie Sanderson and 
they were the parents of Solomon Coombs 
Warner, father of Solomon Coombs (2) 
Warner, who married Mary Elizabeth 
Kirtland. Their daughter, Adeline Idella 
Warner, married Roy Porter Hall. Mrs. 
Hall was educated in the public schools 
of Westfield and was graduated from high 
school, after which she entered the State 
Normal, completing the required course 
and receiving a diploma as teacher. She 
then taught one year in Southwick. Mas- 
sachusetts, the following three years in 
Greenfield. Massachusetts, then two years 
in the upper grades of the public schools 
of New Jersey, filling all these positions 
to the entire satisfaction of the Boards 
of Education where she taught. Through 
the Sanderson line, they also trace back 
to the Revolution. 

On the maternal side. Mr. Hall de- 
scends from Isaac Porter, who came to 
Westfield, Massachusetts, from East 
Hartford, Connecticut. His son. Ezekiel 
Porter, was born in East Hartford, about 
1783, and died in Westfield, Massachu- 
setts, April 16, 1843. He married. Janu- 



ary 30, 1810, Mercy Day, who died June 
17, i86i, aged eighty-four years. Their 
son, Isaac Day Porter, born in Westfield, 
August 17, 1816, died September 4, 1875. 
He married, July 4, 1843, Sarah Ann 
Drake, born December 21, 1822, died in 
1882. Their daughter, l^Ua Sarah Porter, 
married Ellery Cola Hall, and they were 
the parents of Roy Porter Hall. 



REDFORD, Joseph, 

ManufactnriiiK Expert. 

As superintendent of manufacturing for 
the American Thread Company in Hol- 
yoke, Mr. Redford fills a position for 
which he is admirably fitted through long 
manufacturing experience in many locali- 
ties. He gained his first knowledge under 
the eye of his honored father, who was an 
authority on all matters connected with 
the manufacture of cotton and woolen 
goods, the father gaining his fame in the 
textile world through long experience in 
English and American mills. Lawrence, 
Massachusetts, was the seat of the elder 
Redford's activity, and he played an im- 
portant part in developing cotton manu- 
facturing there. 

Robert Redford was born in Bolton. 
England, in 1845, died in Lawrence, Mas- 
sachusetts, June II. 1914. ■\t the age of 
eight years he began in the cotton mills 
of Bolton, and from that lowly position 
advanced with his years to higher position 
until he became manager of the Reddish 
Spinning Company of Reddish, England. 
In 1880, at the age of thirty-five, he came 
to the United States, located in Lawrence, 
Massachusetts, and there repeated his 
English successes. He planned and built 
the Arlington Mills in Lawrence, and as 
agent for the owning corporation spent 
the last twenty-five years of his life. In 
the interest of the corporation he made 
two trips annually to England and 



247 



E.VCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



France, buying and selling goods, secur- 
ing all improvements in textile machin- 
ery from abroad and introducing Amer- 
ican goods to the foreign trade. He was 
one of the best informed men in the textile 
business, an authority frequently con- 
sulted by manufacturers on important 
subjects where knowledge, experience and 
sound judgment were needed. He was 
also president of the Warren, Spencer & 
Brookfield Railroad, and had other busi- 
ness interests. He was a member of the 
Masonic fraternity, in which he had taken 
all the Scottish Rite degrees, up to and 
including the thirty-second, some of these 
degrees having been conferred in Lawr- 
ence, others in England and still others in 
France under special dispensation. He 
was a member of the Congregational 
church, and a man of highest character. 
He married Jane Booth, born in Bolton, 
England, daughter of Joseph and Mar- 
garet Alice Booth. They w^ere the parents 
of three children : Joseph, of further 
mention ; Margaret Alice, deceased ; May 
Lottie. 

Joseph Redford, only son of Robert 
and Jane (Booth) Redford, was born in 
Bolton, England, December 22, 1867. He 
attended Bolton schools. When a boy he 
accompanied his Grandfather Redford on 
his travels, visiting St. Petersburg (Pet- 
rograd) and nearly all European capitals. 
In 1880 he came to the United States with 
his parents, completing his education in 
the Lawrence, Massachusetts, schools. 
He then entered the employ of the Arling- 
ton Mills, of which his father was agent, 
continuing with that corporation until 
1908, being the overseer of the carding 
department of the cotton mill. In 1906 
he was sent to Brazil as an expert on mill 
construction and operation, spending 
eighteen months in that country on his 
mission. He performed similar work in 
Quitman, Georgia, then returned to Mas- 



sachusetts, going to Fall River in the 
interest of the American Thread Company 
and placing the Kerr Mill No. 3 in running 
operation. On February 14, 1910, he was 
transferred to Holyoke as superintendent 
of the American Thread Company's Mill 
No. 5, and there continues his official title, 
superintendent of manufacturing, is a 
manufacturing expert and so recognized 
in the textile world. He is a member of 
lodge and encampment of the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows, the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, and of the 
English Social Club. 

Mr. Redford married, October 30, 1890, 
Martha Smith, daughter of John and 
Esther (Preston) Smith. They are the 
parents of a daughter and three sons : 
Marion Alice, married Dr. Manning, a 
practicing dentist of Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts ; Everett Robert, an automobile 
expert, married Ida Turgeon, of Holyoke; 
Carlyle and Lawrence. 



HINDS, Peter Joseph, 

Mill Snperintendent. 

Mr. Hinds may be reckoned among the 
self-made men of America, who have con- 
quered many obstacles and risen from 
humble beginnings to positions of import- 
ance and responsibility in the comm.unities 
where they live. His father, John Henry 
Hinds, was born in 1849, ^^ County Cavan, 
Ireland, and came to America when a 
young man, settling at Newark, New Jer- 
sey, where he died in 1905. He received 
the benefit of the national schools of Ire- 
land, was a man of keen perception and 
much native ability, so that he profitted 
thereby. He continued in agricultural 
|)iirsuits until about eighteen years of age, 
when he came to America, and located in 
Newark. Th.ere he engaged in business 
for many years, until his death, as above 
noted. He was a man of quiet nature, of 



248 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRArilV 



domestic taste, and never took part in 
political or public life. He married, in 
Newark, Mary Riley, also a native of 
County Cavan, Ireland, who came to 
America when sixteen years of age, 
daughter of Peter and Mary Riley. Mr. 
and Mrs. Hinds have children: Rose, 
wife of Michael Gray; Mary, Elizabeth, 
Peter J. and Joseph. The last named died 
in childhood. 

Peter Joseph Hinds was born October 
I 1881, in Newark, New Jersey, and was 
educated in the parochial schools of that 
city. After a special course of two and 
one-half years in the Newark Business 
College, he entered the mill of Clark's O. 
N. T. Thread Company in Newark, where 
he soon proved his efficiency and fidelity, 
and through gradual promotions became 
overseer. In 1909 he removed to Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, where he was for 
som,e time assistant superintendent of the 
Merrick Thread Mill. Thence he went to 
Fall River, Massachusetts, occupying a 
similar position in the Kerr Mill for a 
period of about two years. In November, 
1915, he returned to Holyoke. as assistant 
superintendent of the Hadley Division of 
the American Thread Company, which 
position he has continued to hold to the 
present time. Mr. Hinds is the inventor 
of a tube roll that is used in all spinning 
machines on yarns of all kinds, and is 
rapidly growing in demand and import- 
ance. In association with Mr. A. J. Rich- 
ards, he formed a firm known as the Rich- 
ards-Hinds Company, and engaged in the 
manufacture of these rolls at Indian 
Orchard. Massachusetts. In the four 
years that the goods have been established 
on the market a very large business has 
been built up and is constantly growing, 
assuring to Mr. Hinds an ample reward 
for his ingenuity and application. He is a 
man of untiring energy, of keen insight, 
and is fully capable of caring for the inter- 



ests placed in his charge. While in New- 
ark, Mr. Hinds was especially active in 
amateur dramatics and acted as a director 
and coach fur many of the leading amateur 
productions in that city and vicinity, for 
many years being well known alung these 
lines. Naturally he makes his influence 
felt in Ilolyoke, although his short resi- 
dence there has prevented his taking a 
controlling part. His general knowleclge 
of affairs, his ability and natural leader- 
ship are likely to lead to his promotion in 
the near future, and certainly act to the 
advantage of the community. He is a 
member of the Knights of Columbus and 
the Holyoke Country Club. 

Mr. Hinds married, in Fel)ruary. 1899, 
Mary Houghton, a native of Nova Scotia, 
daughter of Samuel Houghton, a native 
of London. England, and his wife. Mary 
Ann (Scofield) Houghton. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hinds have children: Gertrude, Mary, 
John. Joseph and \'irginia. 



FORSTER. John F. C. M. D.. 

PhysiciRii. Surgeon. 

In a comparatively short period Dr. 
Forster has developed a practice in Hol- 
voke that is increasing, and is recognized 
by his contemporaries and the public as a 
skillful and able physician. He is de- 
scended from worthy English and Scotch 
ancestry. 

(I) The first of his lineage now known 
was Thomas Forster. a lifelong resident 
of England, who married a Miss Stuart, 
said to have been a descendant of the 
roval family of Stuart of Scotland. They 
were the parents of Wilfred Forster. who 
was a pioneer settler of Richibucto. New 
Brunswick. 

(ID Wilfred Forster was born, reared 
and educated in Cumberland county. Eng- 
land, and resided there until 1826. when he 
followed the tide of emigration to the New 



249 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



World. Locating in Xtw Hrunswick. he 
settled at Richibucto, at the time when 
that town contained but five dwellings. 
He purchased land and, having capital, 
was considered a gentleman farmer, and 
died at the age of seventy years. He mar- 
ried, in Lngland. Llizabeth Graham, a 
native of Cuml)frland county, who sur- 
vived him, reaching the age of eighty-nine 
years, and dying in Richibucto. Both 
were members of the Episcopal church. 
They were the parents of seven children. 
(HI) Their son, James Forster, was 
Ixirii in Scotland, in the early part of the 
nineteenth century, being fifteen years of 
age when his parents came to New Bruns- 
wick, where he completed his education, 
having as teacher the recent Senator 
David Wark, of Fredericton, New Bruns- 
wick. After leaving school he went to 
sea, and after seven years embarked in 
the coasting trade as master of his own 
vessels, making trips along the coasts of 
Maine, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. 
Like his forebears he adhered to the Epis- 
copal church, and in Canadian politics was 
ranked as a Conservative. After a long 
and useful life he died at the age of 
seventy-six years. His first wife, Isabella 
Baker, was a daughter of John Baker, of 
Prince Edward Island, and the mother of 
seven children. One of these, William 
Forster, was a telegraph operator in New 
York at the outbreak of the Civil War, 
and was sent, with others, on an expedi- 
tion to tap the rebel wires between 
Charlestown and Savannah. For a period 
of five hours he was in communication 
with the Southern main army, taking 
many important messages to the com- 
manding general of the Union army. 
Subsequently he was captured by the 
Confederates, and sent to Columbia, 
South Carolina, thence to the prison at 
Andersonville, Georgia, where, after ten 
months of confinement, he died of starva- 



tion. James Forster married (second) 
Mrs. Jane Robotham, who died in 1856, 
the mother of two children. 

(IV) John Baker Forster, son of James 
and Isabella (Baker) Forster, was born 
April 5, 1842, in Richibucto, and educated 
there. In early life he learned telegraphy, 
and for some time was employed as an 
operator. Gifted with unusual business 
qualifications, and becoming very skillful 
in his line, he was made superintendent of 
the telegraph line between Richibucto and 
Moncton, in 1859, and continued in that 
position until 1867, having his head- 
quarters at Richibucto. For the next 
twelve years he was interested in the 
shipping business, and operated a packet 
between Shediac and Richibucto. In 
1868, at the opening of the Eastern Exten- 
sion Railway, now part of the Intercolo- 
nial, he became station agent at Painsac 
Junction, where he continued one year, 
and then went to Nova Scotia to establish 
on the railway extending from Pictou to 
Halifax the working system used on the 
Intercolonial. In 1870 he became station 
agent of the latter line at Point du Chien, 
where he continued four years, and in 
1870 became general agent for several 
lines of steamers running from Montreal 
and Quebec to Pictou, Nova Scotia. This 
position he resigned in 1879, to become 
deputy warden at the Dominion Peniten- 
tiary, Dorchester, New Brunswick, an in- 
stitution with which he continued for 
many years to be connected, becoming 
warden in 1887. Mr. Forster was an 
active Mason, affiliating with Richibucto 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. He 
was a most useful member of the Epis- 
copal church, and of the New Brunswick 
Synod, also a trustee of the "Church 
School for Girls" at Windsor, Nova 
Scotia, and one of the governors of King's 
College, at the same place. He married 
Fuphcmia Cooke, daughter of Dr. Wil- 
250 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



liam Cooke, of Pictou, and they were the 
parents of six children, three now living: 
Sadie, John F. C, see next paragraph, and 
William. 

(V) Dr. John F. C. Forster, son of John 
Baker and Euphemia (Cooke) Forster, 
was born July 24, 1879, ^^ Point Duchene. 
New Brunswick. He was educated in the 
public schools of Dorchester, New Bruns- 
wick, and Pictou Academy. Pursuing 
further studies, he graduated from Mt. 
Allison University at Sackville, New 
Brunswick, in 1898, and from McGill 
University, Montreal, with the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine in 1902. His college 
course was supplemented by hospital 
work in the Montreal General Hospital 
and the Victoria Hospital, of Montreal, 
also in the Pierpont Morgan Hospital and 
the Lincoln Hospital of New York City. 
Having become thoroughly prepared for 
the practice of medicine, he settled at 
North Adams, Massachusetts, in 1905. and 
continued there for seven years, with 



Dr. Forster married. June 5, i<^5, Annie 
Snyder, a native of Lancaster, Ontario, 
Canada, daughter of John P. Snyder. 



WHITE, Harry William. 

Bnaineas Man. 

The name White is a common one, not 
only in New England, but in all parts of 
the United States, it having been brought 
over from Great Britain to this country at 
various times, from the earliest Colonial 
period down to the present. There were 
six who bore this name among the emi- 
grants who came to the country during 
the early part of our history, of whom the 
most prominent were John White, of 
S^lem. Massachusetts, who arrived here 
in 1638, and William White, of Ipswich, 
who preceded him by three years. Prob- 
ably the first who reached New England, 
however, was elder John White, who 
appears to have been born in the mother 
countrv about 1600. and who sailed on 



the good ship "Lion" in the month of 
gratifying success. In 1912, Dr. Forster June, 1632, and landed in Boston some 
removed to Holvoke, where he has since months later. He resided for a time at 



given his entire time to the general prac- 
tice of surgery. A man of scholarly 
attainments, of keen and analytical mind, 
he is thoroughly fit by nature and experi- 
ence for the successful practice of his 
profession, and is deservedly popular with 
the people of Holyoke. He did not cease 



Cambridge, but afterwards settled at 
Hartford, where he died January i. 1684. 
It is not probable, however, that the 
line with which we are here concerned is 
descended from any of these, and it is 
supposed to have been founded here at a 
much later date bv Tohn White, who was 



to be a student on leaving college, and is bcrn probably in England or Ireland in 



found well versed in all the modern dis- 
coveries and advancement of the profes- 
sion. He is a member of the Massachu- 
setts Medical Association, Hampden 
County Medical Society, and the North- 
ern Berkshire Medical Society, and his 
worth and ability are recognized by his 
contemporaries. He is also a member of 
the Holyoke Club and the Holyoke Canoe 
Club, and finds relaxation in outdoor life. 
Like his forbears he is a faithful member 
of the Episcopal church. 



1791, and who died in this country m 
1856. He was a farmer by occupation. 
He married Sarah Granger, and they had 
the following children : John, who was 
killed while serving in the Union army 
during the Civil War; Huldah. who be- 
came the wife of Henry Humiston : 
Sarah; .Anna; Margaret: Lizzie: Kate, 
who became the wife of David Fortune: 
Tames. .Mice, who became the wife of Gil- 
bert Mvatt: William Edward, who is 
mentioned below : and .-Mexander. 



2:;i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



William Edward White was burn Au- 
gust 13, 1847, at Chateaugay, Franklin 
ccainty. New York. He attended the 
schools of his native town, and afterwards 
worked as a lumberman in the forests of 
New York State. He began this whole- 
some, if hard life, when but fifteen years 
of age, giving his attention to this work 
during the winter months, while in the 
summer time he farmed. I'or three 
years he worked for a Mr. Johnson, the 
uncle of his future wife, in the latter's 
saw mill at Powers Court, Canada, and 
drove a team for a number of years. In 
the year 1870 he returned to the United 
States and came to Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, where he secured a position as engi- 
neer in the paper mills. Here he remained 
for some thirty years, and then went to 
Westfield, Massachusetts, where he occu- 
pied a similar position for four and a half 
years. He once more returned to Hol- 
yoke and was there associated with the 
Parsons Paper Company, during the last 
years of his active life. In 1905 he retired 
from business, and is now (1917) making 
his home in Holyoke. He has always 
been a man of strong domestic instincts 
and has found his chief pleasure in his 
own home. He is a great reader, his taste 
extending over a wide field of subjects, 
and he has a retentive memory which pre- 
serves for him the value of what he reads. 
In his religious belief he is a Methodist, 
and he attends the First Methodist Epis- 
copal Church of that denomination at 
Holyoke. He is a member of the Legion 
of Honor, and is well known in social 
circles in the town. Mr. White married, 
February 4, 1878, Priscilla Johnson, a 
native of Powers Court, Canada, born 
May 31, 1858, a daughter of David Ward 
and Caroline Olivia (Hall) Johnson. Mr. 
and Mrs. White are the parents of the 
following children: Nettie Ward, who 
became the wife of S. A. Kjoller, and the 
mother of one daughter, Priscilla; Archi- 



iKild, married Florence Dakin ; Harry 
William, with whose career we are par- 
ticularly concerned ; Orrick Edward, mar- 
ried Marion Chapman; Fayette Osgood, 
married Elsie McCausland ; Howard 
Allen, married Lillie Barker Tapper; 
and Viola. 

Born February 8, 1883, at Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, Harry William White has 
continued to make his home in his native 
town up to the present time. There he 
passed his childhood and there he received 
his education, attending for this purpose 
the local public schools, although to a 
very large degree he is self educated. The 
circumstances of his early life were such 
that he did not enjoy many educational 
advantages, but such as he did he supple- 
mented by studying independently of his 
school work at night, and in this way 
came to possess in time a better education 
than many a young man who may attend 
the best of schools. While thus engaged 
at night, he was not idle in the day time, 
but worked from an early age in the paper 
mills at Holyoke. In the year 1906 Mr. 
White associated himself with C. P. Ly- 
man, of Holyoke, in the plumbing and 
tinning business of the latter, and now 
has entire charge of the work of that 
firm, not only of the practical and me- 
chanical department, but of the making of 
ertimates, contracts, etc. He is correctly 
regarded at the present time as one of the 
most successful of the younger business 
men and merchants of the town, and has 
earned an enviable reputation for probity 
and ability. He is a conspicuous figure 
in the social and fraternal circles of the 
community, and is a member of the local 
lodges of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and was at one time affiliated 
with the Knights of Malta. Like his 
father before him he is a Methodist in 
his religious belief, and attends the First 
Church of that denomination in Holyoke. 

Harry William White was united in 



252 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



marriage, March 14, 1906, with Bessie 
Arms Lyman, a native of Sunderland, 
Massachusetts, and the adopted daughter 
of Alfred and Sarah (Brahman) Arms. 
To ]\Ir. and Mrs. White two children have 
been born as follows : Lyman Fayette, 
February 20, 1907, and Orrick Ward, July 
20, 1908. 



MacBEAN, Thomas, 

Real Estate, Insurance. 

Alexander MacBean, grandfather of 
Thomas MacBean, of Holyoke, was a 
Scotch soldier in the English army, was 
with Wellington at Waterloo, the battle 
fought in Belgium which determined the 
fate of Europe and the great Napoleon. 
Great-grandsons of his are now with the 
English army in France and Egypt, 
Thomas, the elder, a gunner of the royal 
artillery, a veteran of the Dardanelles 
campaign, now in Egypt, the younger, 
also Alexander MacBean, just promoted 
to the rank of sergeant, although but 
eighteen years of age. It is the ambition 
of this latter day Alexander MacBean that 
he too may see service in a great battle in 
Belgium that perhaps may be as decisive 
in settling the fate of Europe as was the 
battle in which his great-grandfather 
fought. 

This Alexander ]\IacBean was a grand- 
son of Gillies MacBean, who fought with 
his Prince Charlie and was one of the 
famous clan Macintosh, whose motto was 
"Touch not a cat but with a glove." 
Gillies MacBean had three sons born as 
triplets, one of which was the father of 
Alexander MacBean, grandfather of 
Thomas MacBean, of Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts. Alexander MacBean married 
Nancy Wilson, and they are the parents 
of three sons: Peter, a veteran of the 
Crimean War, who died in the English 
army ; James, was with Havelock's Relief 



I^xpedition in this mutiny and was killed 
at the Relief of Lucknow ; and Thomas, 
of further menticjn. 

Thomas MacBean, father of Thomas 
MacBean, Jr., was born in Markinch, 
Scotland, in 1836, and died in ICasthamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, July 3, 1901. He at- 
tended school in Scotland until nine years 
of age, then began working in a paper 
mill. He continued a paper mill worker 
in Scotland until 1893. then came to the 
United States, dying eight years later. 
His life in Massachusetts was spent in 
Flolyoke and Easthampton. In politics 
he was a Liberal, a warm admirer of the 
statesman, William E. Gladstone, took a 
deep interest in the churcli and its work, 
and was devoted to his home and family. 
He married Jane Jamieson. born in Mark- 
inch, Scotland, about 1841, died in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, in September, 1893, 
daughter of Alexander and Jane (Eng- 
lish) Jamieson. They were the parents 
of four daughters and two sons: Eliza- 
beth, deceased ; Alexander, of Norwich, 
England, whose sons, Thomas and Alex- 
ander, are fighting with the Allies in 
France and Egypt, their sister in the med- 
ical army service; Agnes, twin with Alex- 
ander, deceased; Jane Jamieson, married 
James Ross, of Holyoke, and has a son. 
James MacBean Ross ; Thomas, of further 
mention; and Harriet Jamieson MacBean. 

Thomas MacBean. Jr.. was born in 
Markinch, Scotland. August 20, 1870. He 
was educated in the schools of his native 
town, went to work in a flax mill when 
ten years of age and in a pa{)er mill when 
twelve. He came to the L'nited States in 
1893, and located in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, where he was first employed by the 
Holyoke Paper Company and later by the 
Riverside Paper Mill, leaving the mill in 
1896 to enter W'illiston Seminary. He 
there remained four years and success- 
fullv passed entrance examinations to 



253 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Yale University. He studied law for two 
yea.Ts, then entered the real estate and in- 
surance business in Easthampton, in igoo, 
remaining there until February, 1915, 
when he located in Holyoke in the same 
line of business. He is a member of Ionic 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Easthampton ; Northampton Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons; William Parsons 
Council, Royal and Select Masters; 
Northampton Commandery, Knights 
Templar; and the First Congregational 
Church, of Easthampton. He was for 
four years water tax collector of East- 
hampton, and is secretary and treasurer 
of the Holyoke Specialty Manufacturing 
Company, engaged in the manufacture of 
a motor washing machine. He is a man 
highly esteemed for energy and upright- 
ness. 

Mr. MacBean married, March 16, 1903, 
Edith Bromley, daughter of Charles and 
Hanna Bromley, of Leicester, England. 
Mrs. MacBean came to the United States 
when a child. 



BEAUPRE. Dolor Israel, M. D., 

Physician^ Surgeon. 

Among the physicians of French par- 
entage, who by courteous treatment and 
sympathetic manner, has endeared him- 
self to a large circle of people in Holyoke, 
thereby affording him an opportunity to 
use to the greatest extent his ability as a 
physician, should be mentioned the gen- 
tleman whose name heads this article. He 
is of French ancestry, descended from the 
sturdy yeoman who came from France to 
Canada some years before the "May- 
flower'' sailed. 

The surname Beaupre in French has the 
same meaning originally as Fairfield in 
English, and is a derivation from a place 
name. Before the year 1200 this name 
came into use as a family name, adopted 



by various distinct families, from the 
name of the locality in which they lived. 
The name became wide-spread, the family 
or families being prolific, and in France 
and Canada many of the name have 
achieved distinction. 

The founder of the family in Canada, 
Augustin Beaupre, was born at Bordeaux, 
France, in 1677, and died September 7, 
1747. He was the first of the name that 
the records reveal in this country, and 
his descendants have been fairly numer- 
ous both in Canada and the United States. 

Israel Beaupre, a descendant of Au- 
gustin Beaupre, was born in La Colle, 
Province of Quebec, Canada. His early 
schooling was received in his native town, 
but his education was limited, as he left 
his home when sixteen years old and took 
a position in the mills at Manchaug, Mas- 
sachusetts, to learn the trade of loom 
fixer. He became a skillful mechanic, and 
followed his trade for a time in Canada 
and later in Ludlow, Massachusetts. 
Eventually he settled in Indian Orchard, 
and there he followed the trade of car- 
penter and joiner, and in due time became 
a contractor and builder. He employed 
several men and took contracts for many 
buildings in this section. He had a repu- 
tation for good, honest and reliable work. 
He was an active, alert, energetic man, 
highly esteemed in the community, and 
resided there until his death in 1912, at 
fifty-six years of age. He was a member 
of the Heptasophs, and of the local Union 
of Carpenters at Indian Orchard He mar- 
ried, at Indian Orchard, Mary La Fren- 
iere, born at Freligsburg, Province of 
Quebec, Canada Children, born at Indian 
Orchard: i. Rose, became the wife of 
Caregnan, of Indian Orchard ; 
Roland and Clarice. 2. Emma, 
1904, aged nineteen years. 3. 
4. Dr. Dolor Israel, of whom 



Hormis 
children 
died in 
Bertha, 
further. 



254 




A i/S^, 









^/ 



^, 




i? c 



^.^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Dr. Dolor Israel Beaupre, son of Israel 
and Mary (La Freniere) Beaupre, was 
born at Springfield, Massachusetts, Octo- 
ber ID, 1886. He attended the public 
schools of Indian Orchard, and after 
graduating entered Assumption College 
of Montreal, Canada, from which he was 
graduated with the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts in the class of 1908. He then entered 
the Medical School of La Salle Univer- 
sity, from which he was graduated with 
the degree of Doctor of Medicine in the 
class of 1912. He was afterward an in- 
terne in Hotel Dieu, a Montreal hospital, 
for more than a year. In 1913 he came 
to Holyoke. Massachusetts, where he 
opened an office and has since been in 
active general practice in that city. The 
above description does not adequately 
portray the character and achievements 
of Dr. Beaupre, who in every sense of the 
word is a self-made man and who has 
reached his present place in the medical 
and social life in the city of Holyoke by 
persistent effort and a determination to 
succeed. He is a member of the Hamp- 
den County Medical Society, in the pro- 
ceedings of which he takes an active part 
and interest, and he is also a member of 
the following societies: The Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, the Inde- 
pendent Order of Orioles, the Catholic 
Order of Foresters, and the following 
French societies : St. Jean Baptist Society 
and the Rochambeau Circle. 

Dr. Beaupre married, October 5. 1914, . 
Hermenie Osteguy, born at Merryville, 
Canada, daughter of Flies Osteguy. She 
died February 25, 1916. 



KOEGEL, Charles Frederick, 

Inventor, Mannfactnrer. 

Charles Frederick Koegel, mechanic, 
inventor and manufacturer, who died in 
Holyoke in 191 1, was one of its best 



known and highly respected citizens. He 
was a native of Germany, and in his life 
he exemplihed in a marked degree the 
German characteristics of thoroughness, 
tenacity and unflagging industry. He was 
born February 7, 1848, in P>aden, Ger- 
many, a son of Ignatius Koegel, also a 
native of that city, and his wife, Margaret 
I'lorentine ( Reich j Koegel. Ignatius 
Koegel was born about 1819, in Baden, 
the son of Ignatius Koegel, also a native 
of that place, where he died at an ad- 
vanced age. Ignatius Koegel, Jr., left his 
native land and settled in Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he died in 1891, at the 
age of seventy-two. His wife was born 
1822, and died in 1892, at Holyoke, at the 
age of seventy years. They were survived 
by eight children : Charles Frederick, 
Herman, William, Mary, Francis, Floren- 
tine, Amelia, Anna and Louise. Of these 
only five are now living: William, resid- 
ing at Clinton, Massachusetts; Floren- 
tine; Mary, became the wife of John 
Schuster; Anna, became the wife of 
Adolph Hitner; and Louise, became the 
wife of Hubert Kuell. 

Charles Frederick Koegel was the finest 
type of early German immigrant, and his 
name can well be placed in the list of 
those who have labored unceasingly for 
the upbuilding of Holyoke as an indus- 
trial community. His early education 
was received in his native land, and he 
was a student in the mechanical engineer- 
ing department of the famous University 
of Heidelberg, when his parents deter- 
mined to remove to America. He accom- 
panied them, and spent most of his life in 
Holyoke. Here he first entered the em- 
ployment of the Holyoke Paper Com- 
pany as master mechanic, and continued 
seventeen years in this association. He 
was possessed of a clear mind and great 
creative faculties, and was an indefatiga- 
ble worker. While employed in the mills 



25: 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



by day, he spent much of hi> time by 
night devising improvements in mill 
working machinery. He fitted up a 
laboratory at his home and there spent 
many hours of the night in experimenting 
in the development of labor-saving de- 
vices. In this he was very successful, and 
no less than seven of his ideas were 
patented and placed in practical oper- 
ation. Many others of his devised im- 
provements which he did not take the 
trouble to patent are now in daily use. 
The most important of his inventions is 
the "Koegel Slitter," which he perfected 
while working as a master machinist. 
After completing his term of service in 
the Holyoke Paper Mills he engaged in 
business for himself, and made improve- 
ments upon the originally patented slitter, 
which has since been known as the "Im- 
proved Koegel Slitter No. i." Others of 
his important inventions are the slitting 
grinder and the sloper slitting machine. 
In 1892 Mr. Koegel founded the now well 
known firm of Charles Koegel & Sons, 
and with the aid of one of these, Mr. Her- 
man Koegel, and one workman, he began 
to builfl and repair paper mill machinery 
in a small room on Bigelow street. Natur- 
ally whatever this remarkable man under- 
took to accomplish was successfully car- 
ried through. Although begun in a very 
small way, this establishment has con- 
tinually grown until it is now recognized 
as one of the leaders in this line of indus- 
try. Every machine produced is of 
acknowledged merit and simplicity. The 
c|ualit}' of the production has given the 
firm a very high reputation, and it now 
produces paper and wire mill machinery, 
patent slitting and wire drawing machin- 
ery, improved universal slitter grinding 
machines, latest improved slitters, slitter 
blades, and circular knives of every de- 
scription, improved wire winding ma- 
chines used to spool wire, said to be the 



best on the market, doing more and better 
work than any other. The establishment 
owns many patents on the machinery 
which it turns out, and is the largest in 
its special class in New England. Much 
of the machinery is of original design, 
and possesses many points of superiority, 
and finds ready market throughout the 
United States and in foreign countries. 
Much of the product has been shipped to 
Japan and Germany. The plant very 
quickly outgrew its humble quarters on 
Bigelow street, and was removed to a 
three-story building on the first level of 
Canal, near Cabot street, occupying about 
twelve thousand feet of floor space. Here 
they have a factory fully equipped with 
the most modern appliances, much of the 
machinery designed and built for special 
lines of work. It is a fine monument to 
the man who founded and built it up. Mr. 
Koegel was more than a mechanic and 
inventor. He was a capable business man, 
with a large vein of humor in his makeup, 
which often turned aside the anger of 
others. His society was highly prized by 
his acquaintances, and he was ever wel- 
come in every circle where he went. Be- 
neath his cheerful exterior was the serious 
mind which enabled him to grapple with 
great problems. His tenacity of purpose 
and mental grasp enabled him to bring 
most of his problems to a satisfactory 
solution. Always a student and deeply 
interested in trade matters, he did not 
overlook the interests of the community 
in which he lived, and was active in solv- 
ing political and social questions. Though 
not active in practical politics, he never 
lost interest in the progress of his adopted 
country, and of his home town. Before 
the city had an organized fire department 
he ofifered his services as a fireman, and 
aided in protecting property and life. He 
was a member of the Knights of Pythias, 
of the Holyoke Club, and one of the 



256 



i r^^' 






7 



lU^rZ'^^/' 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



organizers and active members of the 
Holyoke Turn V^erein. His death, which 
occurred at Holyoke, August 8, 191 1, at 
the age of sixty-three years, caused a loss 
keenly felt, not only by his family, but by 
his associates and the community gener- 
ally. In his death Massachusetts lost a 
true type of the worthy citizen, and a 
noble and generous soul. 

Mr. Koegel married, June 1, 1872, Wil- 
helmina Pauline Merkel, also a native of 
Baden, a daughter of Johan Frederick and 
Margaret Barbara (Schuster) Merkel. 
Her parents were natives of Germany, 
who settled in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
where they died. Mr. Koegel is survived 
by his widow, five daughters and three 
sons, namely: i. Louise, became the wife 
of Charles Oliver Downing, of Holyoke ; 
he died July 2, 1910. 2. Minnetta, became 
the wife of Irving L. Johnson, of Miller, 
South Dakota. 3. Elizabeth, became the 
wife of Harry E. Perry, formerly of 
Springfield, Massachusetts, now of Keene, 
New Hampshire. 4. Lillian, became the 
wife of Harold C. Foy, of Hartford, Con- 
necticut. 5. Margaret, became the wife 
of Tracey W. Gerry, of Oshkosh, Wis- 
consin. 6. Herman, married Emma E. 
Jagger, of Holyoke, Massachusetts. 7. 
Fred, married Theresa Schnell. 8. 
Charles, especially well known through- 
out the paper industry; married, October 
17, 1916, Rosalind E. Cook, only daugh- 
ter of George W. Cook ; for a number of 
years prior to her marriage, Mrs. Koegel 
wac engaged in newspaper work in Hol- 
yoke, and for five years was with the 
"Transcript," where she won the highest 
esteem of her co-workers and commanded 
the respect and confidence of the Holyoke 
public in a degree that few newspaper 
workers ever attain. The "Transcript" 
ofBce said of her that during her years 
of unfailing efficient work covering the 
local department in more ample mj.nncr 
than is usually connected with the work 

Mass— 6— 17 257 



of the social departnicnt, Miss Look was 
never known to have made a statement 
that was not so or to have missed an item 
that she might have been able to secure, 
i his is as high a tribute of efficient work 
as a newspaper can give. 

The business founded by Mr. Koegel is 
conducted by the three sons. Each of the 
sons entered the business as soon as he 
had completed the course of the city 
public schools. They also attended night 
sessions at business schools, while ac- 
tively employed at the shops during the 
day. They inherit in large degree the 
energy and i)eculiar ability of their father, 
and are thorough and efficient business 
men. Under their management the 
growth of the business has continued, and 
they now employ fifty-five skilled me- 
chanics and transact a business of one 
hundred thousand dollars per year. 
Though keenly interested in the political 
and social questions of the day, they do 
not take any active part in political move- 
ments, and devote their attention and 
abilities to the development of their busi- 
ness. Like their parents they are loyal 
supporters of the Lutheran church. 



MURRAY, Peter Joseph, 

BnaineiB Man. 

For many years a well known and 
highly regarded merchant of Holyoke. 
Massachusetts. Mr. Murray attained the 
position he held in the business com- 
munity through his own energy, enter- 
prise and integrity. A worker from l)oy- 
hood, he threw himself heartily into what- 
ever task was before him and richly 
earned the success achieved and the posi- 
tion he occupied. He not only won per- 
sonal reputation, but by the upbuilding of 
a prosperous commercial house he added 
to the growth and importance of the city 
of his adoption. 

Peter Joseph Murray was a grandson 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Peter Murray, who lived and died in 
Ireland, where he was a well-to-do farmer. 
He married (hrst) Rose Shaughnessy, 
who died leaving children : James and 
i:ilen. By a second wife he had Barney 
and Mary Murray. 

James Murray, only son of Peter Mur- 
ray and his hrst wife, Rose (Shaugh- 
nessy) Murray, was born in Ireland, in 
183 1, and was killed at the battle of the 
Wilderness in Virginia, May 10, 1864, a 
brave soldier of the Union. He was a 
man of education and intelligence, self- 
made, as at the age of seventeen, in 1848, 
he ran away from home to come to the 
United States. On coming he found a 
home in Steuljcn county, New York, 
where for a time he was a hotel steward. 
Later he bought a farm of sixty acres and 
had just settled down to a farmer's life 
when the call to arms drew him and he 
marched away to the war, never to return. 
He married, in Canisteo, New York, Mary 
Ann McNiel, born in Belfast, Ireland, 
daughter of Archibald and Sarah (Mc- 
Niel) McNiel. They were the parents of 
Rose Murray, married Thomas Maloney ; 
Mary Ellen, married James J. Monahan ; 
Sarah, married George Sanderson ; Peter 
Joseph, of further mention ; James, de- 
ceased, a fire commissioner of Hartford, 
Connecticut ; Margaret, married Hugh 
Brady, captain of police, Yonkers, New 
York' 

Peter Joseph Murray was born in Rex- 
ville, Steuben county. New York, Febru- 
ary 9, i860, and died at Greylock Rest, 
Adams, Massachusetts, where he had 
gone for treatment, May 10, 1916. Until 
the age ot thirteen the lad remained at the 
Rexville farm with his mother, attending 
the i)ublic school, then from thirteen to 
si.xtecn he lived in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, later returning to the home farm 
where he remained for six years, coming 
with his mother to Holyoke at their ex- 



piration. He obtained a position in Hol- 
yoke with Martin Conway, a dealer in 
sewing machines, with whom he remained 
four years. At the end of that period he 
established himself in the same line of 
business, succeeding in his undertaking, 
as he was bound to do, for he labored 
with an earnestness and singleness of pur- 
pose which nothing could daunt or dis- 
courage. About 1896, Mr. Murray formed 
a partnership with P. J. Collins, and under 
the firm name, Collins & Murray, engaged 
in the retail furniture business. In that 
line he made his great success, and dur- 
ing the twenty years which elapsed before 
death ended his labors, the firm transacted 
a large and profitable business while the 
partners, working in perfect harmony, 
kept pace with the progress of the city 
and prospered abundantly. Mr. Murray 
was a man of honorable, upright life, was 
of a genial, happy disposition, thoroughly 
enjoyed his work, and made a friend of 
every person with whom he came in con- 
tact. He enjoyed the society of his fellow 
workers in every line, was so full of en- 
ergy and optimism that his very presence 
was an inspiration and his example of 
diligence and devotion made him a leader 
among his business friends. His influence 
was always exerted for good, and he freely 
aided with his means all worthy causes. 
He was a member of Holyoke Lodge, Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
and the Catholic Order of Foresters, but 
his greatest attraction was his home and 
family. There he was at his best and 
there he loved to be. The close attention 
he gave to business finally undermined 
his health, but it was thought that a 
course of treatment at Greylock Rest, 
with the absolute respite from business 
cares that place afiforded, would restore 
his failing energies, but the edict had gone 
forth and his race was run. 

Mr. Murray married. May 29, 1888, 



258 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Catherine A. Reardon, born in Hadley, 
Massachusetts, daughter of Thomas and 
Hannah (Toole) Reardon, her father com- 
ing to the United States from Ireland a 
young man. They were the parents of a 
daughter, Grace, who resides with her 
mother in Holyoke. 



SMITH, George Albert, 

Representative Citizen. 

George A. Smith, sales manager of the 
Hampden Glazed Paper & Card Com- 
pany, comes of an old Connecticut family. 
He is a son of Joseph Smith, of Colches- 
ter, Connecticut, and grandson of Captain 
William B. Smith, who died in 1840, a 
farmer. Captain Smith married Jane 
Crosby, who was born in East Haddam 
county, Connecticut, and died in June, 
1882. Captain William B. and Jane 
(Crosby) Smith were the parents of John 
Albert, Henry, Franklin, Joseph and Brit- 
any Smith. 

Joseph Smith was born in Old Lyme, 
Connecticut, October 11, 1839. A black- 
smith by trade, he has pursued his voca- 
tion and lived in Colchester most of his 
life. He is a veteran of the Civil War, en- 
listing in Norwich, Connecticut, in Com- 
pany A, Twenty-sixth Regiment, Connec- 
ticut Volunteer Infantry, serving one year 
under General Butler at New Orleans, 
and was under fire in several engage- 
ments of a minor character but exceed- 
ingly dangerous. After his return from 
the war he followed his trade in Colches- 
ter, and operated a wheelwright shop, 
building carriages and wagons, turning 
cut of his own shop the finished carriage ; 
wood work, iron work, upholstering and 
painting all being done by his own men 
on the premises. He continued active in 
business until 1915, when he retired. For 
a number of years he was president of the 
Colchester Savings Bank, is a member of 



the board of managers of Bacon Academy, 
member of the First Congregational 
Church, but has never taken an active 
part in politics. Joseph Smith married, 
April II, 1866, Ellen Fuller, daughter of 
David and Mary (Sissons) Fuller. They 
are the parents of: George Albert, of fur- 
ther mention; William I., born February 
2, 1868; Annie M., August 17, 1869; Ber- 
tha F., March 8, 1871 ; Nellie M., January 
17; 1873; J- Henry, September 20, 1874; 
Rose F., May 24, 1876; Emma D., Octo- 
ber 2, 1878. 

George Albert Smith was born in Col- 
chester, Connecticut, February i, 1867. 
After passing through the graded schools 
he entered Bacon Academy, Colchester, 
and was graduated from that institution, 
class of 1886. He began business life as 
a clerk in a hardware manufacturing plant 
at Nashua, New Hampshire, continuing 
two years before connecting himself with 
the Nashua Card & Glazed Paper Com- 
pany, of Nashua, a corporation of which 
he was a part for sixteen years, rising to 
the position of superintendent. In 1905 
he came to Holyoke and entered the sales 
department of the Hampden Glazed Paper 
& Card Company, a position he has most 
ably filled until the present time (1917). 
He is a member and treasurer of the Sec- 
ond Congregational Church, of Holyoke, 
and of the Holyoke Country Club. 

Mr. Smith married, in December, 1892, 
Bertha Wallace, of Nashua, New Hamp- 
shire, daughter of Job and Eliza Wallace. 
They are the parents of a son, Wallace 
Smith, born in Nashua, in July, 1900. 



DICKINSON, George Levi, 

Retired Police OfBcer. 

Whether the elements of success in life 
are innate attributes of the individual or 
whether they are quickened by a process 
of a circumstantial development, it is im- 



259 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



possible to clearly determine, yet the 
study of a successful life is none the less 
profitable by reason of the existence of 
this uncertainty, and in the majority of 
cases it is found that exceptional ability, 
supplemented by close application and 
earnest purpose, forms the real secret of 
the success attained. This is certainly 
true of Sergeant George Levi Dickinson, 
whose passing deprived the city of Hol- 
yoke of one of the most efficient members 
of the police department. Sergeant Dick- 
inson was of English descent, tracing 
through eight generations to Nathaniel 
Dickinson, of Ely, Cambridge, England, 
a descendant of Walter de Caen, who later 
adopted as his surname the name of his 
manor, Kenson, in Yorkshire, and was 
known as Walter de Kenson. This be- 
came Dykonson in the second generation, 
Dykenson in the third, Dykensonne in 
the fourth, Dickensonne in the fifth, Dick- 
erson in the sixth, and in the seventh, the 
present form, Dickinson. From Yorkshire 
this branch in the eleventh generation 
settled at Brinley Hall in Staffordshire, 
thence in the thirteenth in Cambridge- 
shire, William Dickinson, of the four- 
teenth generation, who married, in 1594. 
Sarah Stacey, dying in Ely in 1628. They 
were the parents of Nathaniel Dickinson, 
of the fifteenth English generation, and 
the founder of the Dickinson family in 
New England. 

Nathaniel Dickinson was born in Ely, 
Cambridge. England, in 1600, and died in 
Hadley, Massachusetts, June 16, 1676. He 
married at East Bergolat, SufTolk, Eng- 
land, in January, 1630, Anna, widow of 
William Gull, and with her settled in 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, in 1636 or 
1637. There he became a leader, serving 
as town clerk in 1645, and in 1646-47 as 
deputy to the General Court. In 1659 he 
moved to Hadley. Massachusetts ; was 
admitted as freeman there in 1661, was a 



deacon of the church, first recorder of the 
town, selectman, assessor, magistrate, 
member of the Hampshire Troop, and a 
member of the first board of trustees of 
Hopkins Academy. He lived for a time 
in Hatfield, but returned to Hadley, where 
he died. His first wife died in Wethers- 
field, and in Hadley he married his second 
wife, also bearing the name Anna. By his 
first marriage there were ten children, one 
of whom, Azariah, was killed in the 
Swamp Fight, August 25. 1675. The line 
of descent is through Samuel Dickinson, 
the sixth child and fourth son, who was 
born in Wethersfield, Connecticut, in 
July, 1638, and died in Hatfield, Massa- 
chusetts, November 30, 171 1. He was 
made a freeman of Hatfield in 1690, and 
there spent the remainder of his life. He 
married, January 4, 1668, Martha, daugh- 
ter of James Bridgman, of Springfield and 
Northampton. They were the parents of 
five sons, three daughters and one died 
unnamed. 

Ebenezer Dickinson, the sixth child, 
was born February 2, 1681, and spent his 
life in Hatfield, Massachusetts. He mar- 
ried, June 27, 1706, Hannah Frary. They 
had eight children, the third a son Nathan. 
Nathan Dickinson was born in Hatfield, 
Massachusetts, May 30, 1712, and died in 
Amherst, Massachusetts, August 7, 1796. 
He married (first) Thankful Warner, 
(second) Joanna Leonard, of Springfield, 
fthird) Judith Hosmer. By his first wife 
he had children : Nathan (2) ; Levi, of 
further mention ; Irene and Enos. By his 
second wife he had eight children, and by 
the third wife a son Stephen and a daugh- 
ter Judith. 

Levi Dickinson, son of Nathan Dickin- 
son and his first wife. Thankful (Warner) 
Dickinson, was born January 3, 1741-42. 
He married and had a son, Sylvanus Dick- 
inson, whose son, Levi Dickinson, mar- 
ried Alma Pomerov, and thev were the 



260 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



parents of Levi P. Dickinson, father of 
Sergeant George Levi Dickinson, to 
whose memory this review of a useful life 
is dedicated. 

Levi P. Dickinson was born November 
27, 1832, in Hadley, Massachusetts, and 
died in June, 1914. He was a carpenter 
by trade, and for many years was a guide 
en Mt. Tom and in charge of the Observa- 
tion Room. He married Eliza Smith, born 
in April, 1833, and died in January. 1914. 
They were the parents of five children : 
Mary Delia, became the wife of August 
W^ilfred Hoffman, of South Hadley Falls, 
and they have one son, George Levi Dick- 
inson HofTman ; William ; George L. ; 
Nellie Clara; Edward P. 15. 

George Levi Dickinson, of the ninth 
American generation of his family, son of 
Levi P. and Eliza (Smith) Dickinson, was 
born at North Amherst, Massachusetts. 
June 27. 1859, and died at the City Hos- 
pital in Holyoke, after a month's illness, 
May 2, 1916, on his thirty-seventh wed- 
ding anniversary. He acquired a practical 
education in the public schools of his na- 
tive town, and was reared to habits of 
thrift and industry, characteristics which 
were strongly in evidence during his sub- 
sequent career. In 1880, upon attaining 
legal age, he took up his residence in Hol- 
yoke. becoming a clerk in the store of 
Philander Moore, whom he served faith- 
fully and conscientiously for five years, 
until appointed a member of the police 
force by Mayor James E. Delaney, Febru- 
ary 5, 1885. He possessed a wonderful 
physique, but used his strength judicious- 
ly, his power lying in the splendid judg- 
ment he always used in making arrests, 
not exerting more than the necessary 
force and never arresting a man who did 
not deserve it. He was kindness itself 
when it came to dealing with other men's 
weakness, never taking advantage of his 
uniform to enforce his private views, this 
fact being one of the truest tests of his 



si>lcndi(l maniiood. Ik* was appointed 
lieutenant in 1898 by the late Mayor 
Michael Connors, and in the discharge of 
his duties was most cfificient. With the 
establishment of civil service in the de- 
partment he was returned to the ranks, 
but was promoted a sergeant by Mayor 
X. P. Avery, March 8, 1908. A more fear- 
less officer never wf)rc a uniform ; law 
l^reakers feared him, but the little children 
on his beat in the old days were his most 
valued friends, this indicating clearly his 
gentle, loving nature. He performed his 
duty faithfully and conscientiously in 
every part of the city, l)ut in later years 
he had jurisdiction at night over the dis- 
trict below the canals and he took a {)ar- 
ticular pride in the way "my boys'' kept 
the law. In private life he was the earnest, 
clean living man, in manner cordial and 
genial, in disposition courteous and kind- 
ly, his many manly characteristics win- 
ning him popularity with a host of friends. 
He enjoyed the esteem and respect ever 
accorded to those who act well their part 
in life, in whatever sphere placed, and his 
name was synonymous with all that was 
upright and honorable. Said his chief. 
Marshal Thomas J. Lynch, and his senti- 
ments were echoed by evcr\' member of 
the police department: "He was a splen- 
did police officer, strong, kind and always 
a credit to the force and the uniform he 
wore. The department loses an efficient 
member and the city loses an excellent 
citizen by death." 

Sergeant Dickinson married. May 2, 
1879. Etta Moulton. daughter of Robert 
and Mary (Brown) Moulton. of North 
Parsonsfield, York county. Maine. They 
were the parents of four children, all of 
whom survive their father: Edith; Wil- 
liam Robert, married Minnie Beudroin ; 
Alice, married Howard Martin and has a 
son, Robert Frank Martin ; George Ed- 
ward, married Grace E. Temple and has a 
daughter, Marian E. Dickinson. 



261 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



MOQUIN. Valmore, 

Capitalist. 

Valmore Moquin was a native of Que- 
bec, and was a descendant of an old 
French-Canadian family, a son of Joseph 
Moquin. a native of Canada, born 1803, 
who died in Holyoke, August 22, 1866, 
aged sixty-three years. Early in life Joseph 
Moquin located in Springfield. Massachu- 
setts, where he was in the grocery busi- 
ness, and was successful also as a con- 
tractor and builder, having large real 
estate interests. He married Priscilla 
Roberts, who died within a few years 
after their marriage, leaving three chil- 
dren: Valmore, Cordelia and Minnie, all 
now deceased. 

X'almore Moquin was born August 2, 
1848, at Urbain, Province of Quebec, Can- 
ada, and died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
December 31. 1908. He w^as fourteen 
years of age when his father removed to 
Massachusetts, and resided for some 
years in .Springfield, whence he removed 
to Holyoke. and there continued to reside 
until his death. He was one of the best 
known of the French residents of Hol- 
yoke, where he settled in 1868. Here, 
with the assistance of his wife, he estab- 
lished a grocery store, and by their close 
application and honest methods drew 
about them a large body of customers, 
making the business very successful and 
profitable. This continued until a short 
time before his death, when his wife sold 
out. after which, until his death, he gave 
attention to his real estate interests, and 
in 1881 he built the present home of his 
widow at Xo. 180 Pine street. With 
shrewd foresight they foresaw the de- 
veloi)ment and prosperity of the city, and 
invested largely in real estate, which en- 
hanced in value. From 1894 to 1897 he 
was a fire commissioner of Holyoke, and 
he was ever readv to advance the interests 



of the city. He became a stockholder and 
director of the People's Savings Bank, 
Holyoke Savings Bank and City Co-oper- 
ative Bank. He was greatly interested in 
and was a life-long member of the Society 
of St. Jean Baptiste, held several offices 
in this society, and was also interested in 
a number of other organizations, includ- 
ing the Artisans. He was also a member 
of several social organizations, and was 
very popular throughout the city among 
all classes of people. Ever quiet and un- 
assuming, he was most hospitable and 
large-hearted, and contributed to the sup- 
port and advancement of various public 
institutions. He was a self-made man, 
with small educational opportunities, for 
which he made up by well-balanced judg- 
ment and keen powers of observation and 
foresight. His advice in business matters 
was often sought and highly regarded. 
His judgment on the larger business ques- 
tions of the day was sound, and this led 
to his political preferment, and would 
have led farther in this line had he been 
willing. His home life was almost ideal, 
and he was never happier than when en- 
tertaining friends in his home circle. 

He married, April 26. 1876, Caroline 
Gilbert, of Troy, New York, born Febru- 
ary 4, 1853, daughter of Maxim and Adele 
(Billdreau) Gilbert. She survives him 
with their three sons : Albert, Oscar and 
Rene J., all of Holyoke. Six of their 
children died in early childhood. Albert, 
the eldest son, born March 6, 1877, is a 
buyer for a leather goods house in Bos- 
ton ; he married Milly La Roche. The 
second son, Oscar, was born June 20. 
1879, and is now manager of the Chicopee 
Falls plant of Solins Market and Gro- 
ceries ; he married. August 20, 1900, Tillie 
Trembly, and has children : .Albert, Ed- 
gar, Pauline and Armand. Rene J. was 
born August 13, 1885, in Holyoke. where 
he has spent his entire life, graduating 



262 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



from the grammar school. He was sub- 
sequently a student at Thompson's Busi- 
ness College of Holyoke, and the Jesuit 
College in Montreal. Since the death of 
his father he has had charge of the real 
estate interests of the estate, which occu- 
pies his entire time. He was married, 
September 25, 1906, to Lillian Dragon, of 
Northampton, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Joseph and Rose Delina (Hobert) Dragon. 
They are the parents of three sons : Leon- 
ard, born February 15, 1909; Vincent, 
February 15, 191 1; and John Roberts, 
April 3, 1917. 



FEATHER. Frank, 

Business Man. 

Although located in Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, since 1883, it was not until 1910 
that Mr. Feather engaged in business 
under his own name, but during the seven 
years that Feather (S: France, sheet metal 
workers, have been in business they have 
been very successful and are well known 
in the trade. Mr. Feather is of English 
birth and parentage, son of John Feather, 
who was born in Keighley, Yorkshire, 
England, where he died in 1868, aged 
fifty-three years. John Feather, a wool 
comber by trade, became a manufacturer 
and commission spinner, operating the 
Hope Mills at Keighley. An accident 
which broke both his legs caused his re- 
tirement from business about three years 
prior to his death. He married Sarah Jane 
Crossley, of Sutton, Yorkshire. England, 
who died in 1871, aged fifty-three years. 

Frank Feather was born in Keighley, 
Yorkshire, England, March 26, 1859. He 
attended Keighley School until eight years 
of age, then was admitted to the woolen 
mills as a half-day worker, attending 
school the other half of the day. At the 
age of thirteen he was taken on as a full 
time worker at the woolen mill in Bingley. 



where he continued two years. At the 
age of fifteen he commenced the ajjpren- 
ticeship of a sheet metal worker in Bing- 
ley, which covered a period of six years. 
In 1881 he came to the United States, set- 
tling in Boston, where he had a brother 
George, a pattern maker. He was em- 
ployed at his trade in Boston for two 
years, and for a short time in Lawrence, 
Massachusetts. In 1883 he came to Hol- 
yoke. Massachusetts, and has since made 
that city his home. He entered the em- 
l^loy of S. T. Lyman &: Son. now C. P. 
Lyman, who were conducting the princi- 
pal sheet metal factory in the city, as their 
foreman, and remained with them about 
twenty-eight years. In 19 10 he formed a 
partnership with Wallace M. France, 
under the firm name. Feather & I'rance, 
sheet metal workers, and so continues, 
specializing in mill work and executing 
contracts. Throughout New England Mr. 
Feather is known as an expert designer 
and mechanic, and his years of experience 
in two countries, coupled with his me- 
chanical ability, renders him weli 
equipped for steel metal manufacturing. 
From youth he has been a musical enthu- 
siast and is a fine performer on the 
cornet. For years he was a member of 
Scheniwind's Orchestra, and at one time 
was leader of the Holyoke Military Band. 
For twelve years he was a "call man'" in 
the Holyoke Fire Department, was fore- 
man of Dexter Hose Company for six 
years, and at retirement was holding the 
rank of captain. During the years 1896- 
97-98, he represented wards three and 
seven on the Board of Aldermen, serving 
with credit to himself and with benefit to 
the districts he represented. He is a 
member of William Whitney Lodge. Free 
and Accepted Masons, and in political 
faith is an Independent Republican. 

Mr. Feather married, July 15. 1884. 
Sarah f. McLean, born on Prince Edwar'i 



263 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Island, Canada, daughter of James and 
Sarah Jane (Boyle) McLean. Mr. and 
Mrs. Feather are the parents of three sons, 
all born in Holyokc : Albert Ozro. born 
in 18S5, manager of the piano and musical 
department of the People's Furniture 
Store at Haverhill, Massachusetts, and 
like his father an accomplished musician ; 
he married Beatrice Spiccr, of Methuen, 
Massachusetts, and they are the parents 
of a daughter, 15eatrice Elizabeth ; Frank- 
Russell. l)orn in 1890, a sheet metal 
worker; Harry Heath, born in 1891. a 
pattern maker. 



FRANCE, Wallace Maden, 
Bnainess Man. 

In 1871 Wallace M. France was brought 
from his Lancastershire home in England 
by his parents and taken to far off Iowa, 
and in 1873 he was brought by them to 
Holyoke, where he is now a partner with 
Frank Feather, they forming the firm. 
Feather & France, sheet metal manufac- 
turers. He is a great-great-grandson of 
Thomas France, of Adlington, England, 
baptized January 19. 1783. Thomas France 
was the father of thirteen children : Eliza- 
beth, born September 9, 1804; Margaret, 
February 22, 1806; Alice. December 20, 
1807; Mary, September, 1809; Ann, July 
21, 1810; James, August 15, 181 3; Adam, 
July 2, 1815; Martha. April 13. 1817; 
Thomas (2), of further mention; Joseph, 
May 13, 182 1 : William, February i, 1824; 
Ellen, September 17, 182S; Sarah, May 
13, 1830. 

Thomas (2) France was born in Adling- 
ton, England, March 21, 1819, and died in 
his native England in 1885. He was the 
inventor and manufacturer of a cement for 
covering steam pipes that they might 
better retain the heat, a purpose for which 
asbestos is now used largely. He created 
a demand for his product all over the 



manufacturing portions of England and 
Ireland and did a good business. He mar- 
ried, August 2;^, 1840, Mary Tomlinson, 
born September 25, 1813, died June 3, 
1872, daughter of Christopher Tomlinson. 
They were the parents of four sons and a 
daughter: Joseph, now (1917) living in 
England; Thomas (3), born April 21, 
1832, died at eight years; James, of fur- 
ther mention ; William, born November 3, 
1845, <J'^d April 28, 1847; Mary Ann, 
born September 24, 1850. 

James France was born in the parish 
of Horwich, Lancastershire, England, in 
1841, and died in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, July 31, 1910. He was a man of 
fine intelligence and good education, em- 
ployed until 1871 by his father in the 
manufacture and sale of his steam pipe 
covering material. In 1871 he came to 
the United States with his wife Elizabeth 
Ann and two sons, Walter and Wallace 
M. He located at Harlan, Iowa, where 
he bought one hundred and sixty acres 
of farm land, seventeen miles from a rail- 
road station, and remained there until the 
spring of 1873, when he sold and came 
east, locating in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
his home until death, thirty-seven years 
later. He learned the machinist's trade 
in the Lyman Mills Machine Shop, and 
continued in the employ of that corpora- 
tion for twenty-two years. He then re- 
tired from the shops, took the civil serv- 
ice examination prescribed by the Hol- 
yoke board of education and secured ap- 
pointment as janitor of the Elmwood 
School, a position he most satisfactorily 
filled until his death about fifteen years 
later. He was a member of Mt. Tom 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; w^as 
also a Royal Arch Mason, and a member 
of Holyoke Council, Royal and Select 
Masters. He attended the Protestant 
Episcopal church. He married, August 
7, 1866, Elizabeth z\nn Maden, born in 



264 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 

Stacksted, Lancastershire, England, De- a Sir Knij^-ht uf Sjiriiigfield CuniuKUKicTy, 

cembcr 6, 1845, tlaughter of John and Knights 'Jemphir, and in Scottish Kite 

Elizabeth Maden. Their eldest son, Wal- Masonry holds the thirty-two degrees, and 

tcr France, born April 2. 1867, died Sep- is a member oi Cininecticut \'alley Con- 

tember 12, 1902. The younger son, Wal- sistory. He is also a Xoble of Melha 

lace M. France, is of further mention. Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 

Wallace Maden France was born in the Mystic Shrine. He is an attendant of 

Bolton, Lancastershire, England, May 26, the Protestant I-:i)iscopal church. 

1868. and was three years of age when . 

brought to the United States by his par- ZIELINSKI Tohn 
ents. He was five when the family lo- 

^ 1 ■ TT 1 1 n,T 1 1 Bank Official, Musician. 
cated m Holyoke, Massachusetts, and 

there he attended public school until en- From the time of his coming to the 

tering the Lyman Mills at the age of United States in 1899, Mr. Zielinski has 

eleven. He began at a daily wage of been constantly employed as a profesional 

twenty-five cents, which was soon raised organist and teacher, that being the pro- 

to a larger amount, he remaining in the fession he prepared for under the instruc- 

mills for six years. In 1875 he left home tion and advice of his honored father in 

to go on the stage in vaudeville with a his native Poland. Even before coming. 

minstrel troupe and did not return perma- he had from the age of seventeen been 

nently to Holyoke until 1903. Two years organist of a large church, a church so 

of this period were spent in a mining camp large that it was an unusual honor for so 

in Arizona and one year in the real estate young a man to be chosen to conduct its 

business in Chicago, the other years were music. It was not until coming to Hol- 

spent on the stage. yoke that Mr. Zielinski seriously associ- 

After returning to Holyoke, he entered ated business with his professional work. 

the employ of C. P. Lyman, a sheet metal but after taking a position he advanced 

manufacturer, as bookkeeper, continuing rapidly, and although having but a three 

in that capacity for eight years. 1903-TI. years' connection with the Holyoke Na- 

He then formed a partnership with Frank tional Bank, he was on January 0. 191 7. 

Feather, an expert sheet metal worker, elected assistant cashier: but he has re- 

who had been Mr. Lyman's foreman for tained his position as organist of the 

twenty-eight years, and the firm of Mater Dolorosa Church, a position which 

Feather & France, sheet metal manufac- first brought him to Holyoke in i'>ij. He 

turers, sprang into existence. The com- is a young man of unusual energy and full 

bination has proved a very profitable one of public spirited interest in all that per- 

to both and the firm has won a strong tains to the city which has adopted liim. 

position in the business life of Holyoke. and is held in the highest esteem by his 

Mr. France is a member of the Masons' ow^n people as well as by the many friends 

and Builders' Association of Holyoke. In he has made, professional, business and 

Free Masonry he is a member of all bodies social. He is an eloquent speaker, and at 

of the order in both York and Scottish all Polish patriotic meetings is always 

Rites. He is a member and secretary of called for. If he has a passion it is for 

William Whiting Lodge. Free and Ac music, but so versatile is he and so well 

cepted Masons; a member of Mt. Hoi- has he performed every duty that each 

yoke Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Hoi- would seem to be his particular talent. 

yoke Council. Royal and Select Masters; He is a son of Blszius Zielinski, son of 

265 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a tradesman and manufacturer of fur ct^ats 
in I'oland, both father and son living their 
entire lives in Poland, Austria and Czerm- 
na, Galicia. Blszius Zielinski, born in 
Poland in 1835, died in Czermna in 1913, 
was a man of superior intelligence and 
education, and a teacher and musician. 
He was organist of the church at Czerm- 
na. forty-six years, and until the last four 
years of his life was the village secretary. 
Attached to the parish church at Czermna 
was a tract of twenty acres of good farm 
land which was set aside for the use of 
the organist of the church, and this little 
tract Mr. Zielinski cultivated in connec- 
tion with his professional duties. He mar- 
ried (first) Marianna Rydarowicz, (sec- 
ond) Anna Kwiatek, (third) Appalonia 
Krol, (fourth) Marianna Data. Children 
of first marriage : Anna. Stanislaus. Mari- 
anna, Geneva. Thomas, and John, of 
whom further. Children of third mar- 
riage: Michael, Ignatius, now a prisoner 
of war to the Russian government, and 
Frank. Child of fourth marriage: Clare. 
John Zielinski was born in Czermna in 
Galicia. Polish Austria, February 27, 1880, 
and at the age of three years was left 
motherless. He was educated in the 
schools of Czermna, finishing with a four 
years' course in normal school. All 
through his school years he made a spe- 
cial study of music and the pipe organ, 
his father's position as organist giving 
him good opportunity to become master 
of that instrument. From the age of sev- 
enteen he held the position of organist of 
the church at Jodlowa, a large parish and 
one it was an honor for so young a man 
to serve. In 1899, being then in his twen- 
tieth year, he left home and emigrated to 
the United States, the country which to 
many of his countrymen was both a land 
of promise and a place of refuge from the 
wrath of the governments that in turn 
have inflicted their fatal power over Cen- 



tral Europe. He spent two days in St. 
Joseph's Home in New York City, after 
arriving from Europe, securing at once a 
position as organist and teacher in the 
])arochial school of the Polish Catholic 
church at Perth Amboy, New Jersey. He 
left New York and at once entered upon 
his duties, finding his school numbering 
but thirty pupils. At the end of three 
months the school numbered one hundred 
and twenty-three pupils, and two ad- 
ditional teachers had been employed. 
Four years were spent in Perth Amboy. 
years of great benefit both to the teacher 
and to the parish. 

From Perth Amboy he went to South 
River, New York, as organist and musical 
instructor, but his health was not good 
there and after one year he resigned, go- 
ing thence to Trenton, New Jersey, re- 
maining there three years as organist of 
Holy Cross Roman Catholic Church. He 
also availed himself of Trenton's fine edu- 
cational institutions and perfected himself 
in certain English branches, passing ex- 
aminations on orthography and compo- 
sition. From Trenton he went to Florida, 
New York, as organist of St. Stephen's 
Church, where he remained four years, in 
the meantime taking a course in East- 
man's Business College at Poughkeepsie, 
New York, completing a six month's 
course in five months and graduating 
with the class. In 191 1 he became organ- 
ist of St. Stanislaus Church at Chelsea. 
Massachusetts, and while there was man- 
ager of the Polish weekly newspaper, 
"The Gazeta Bostonska." 

On May 23, 1912. Mr. Zielinski located 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, as organist of 
Mater Dolorosa Church, a position he 
fills at the present time (1917). During 
the first year he held a position in the 
Albert Stieger department store in Spring- 
field, and during that period attracted the 
attention of an official of the Holvoke Na- 



266 



litimber Dealer, Park Commissioner. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 

tional Bank with the result that in Feb- Perth Aniboy, Xevv Jersey, Mary E. Dul- 

ruary, 1914, he became identified with the ski, born in Grudziadz. Polish Germany, 

force of that institution, his position being daughter of John and Veronica (Jankow- 

an outside one, as solicitor. In October, ska) Dulski, who came to the United 

1915, he was made manager of the for- States in 18S1. Mr. and Mrs. Zielinski 

eign exchange department of the bank, are the parents of seven children : Ronald, 

and a year later the managership of the born at Perth Amboy, New Jersey, Octo- 

savings department was added to his ex- ber 23, 1903; Edmund, born in Trenton, 

change department duties. On January New Jersey. September 16. 1905; Karl, 

9, 1917, he received a further promotion born in Trenton. New Jersey, August, 

to the assistant cashier's window. This 1907; JdIiii, born in I'lorida. New York, 

record of three years cannot be excelled March 7, 1909: Eugene, born in Florida, 

if equalled by any employee or officer in April 19, 1910; Joseph, born in Chelsea, 

any national bank in the country. A rise Massachusetts. January 20, 1912; Doro- 

from outside solicitor to the department ihy, born in Holyokc. Massachusetts, 

manager, and assistant cashier, is a rise January 20, 191 7. 

not only exceptional but phenomenal, 

when the advance comes through merit wiLLISTON. Lorenzo Arthur, 
and not through relationship or favorit- 
ism. It stamps Mr. Zielinski as a young 

man highly gifted in those qualities that One of the foremost business men of 

make the successful banker and financier, the city of Holyoke, a highly successful 

He is a director of the Eastern States Ex- dealer in lumber, prominent in clubs, fra- 

position with headquarters at Springfield, ternal organizations and other activities. 

Massachusetts, and local agent for Hamp- Lorenzo Arthur Williston has had a ca- 

den county for the Guarantee Committee reer of unusual interest. A native of the 

Fund, $100,000 capital. city in which he has always lived, he is 

He is a member of St. Stanislaus So- descended from many of the early settlers 

ciety, a Polish organization numbering in this section. Though the family has 

one hundred members; member of St. never been very numerous the W'illistons 

Casimir Society; the Holy Rosary So- have taken a prominent part in the up- 

ciety ; Kosciusko Society, honoring the building of colony, province, towns and 

great Polish patriot ; member and musi- cities in the vicinity. 

cal director of St. Cecelia Singing So- The surname Williston is doubtless of 
ciety; a communicant of the Roman Danish origin, implanted very early in 
Catholic Church ; member of the Knights England, probably when King Canute 
of Columbus, and of the Benevolent and made his famous invasion. Williston 
Protective Order of Elks, and with all his was one of the chiefs in Canute's army, 
other responsibilities and duties is the de- There is a tradition relating that three 
voted organist of Mater Dolorosa Church, brothers came to New England in 1640 
It is worthy of note that he has been a from Lancashire, England, but no records 
church organist from his seventeenth have been found to substantiate it. This 
year continuously, the time consumed in tradition exists in almost every old family- 
crossing the ocean being the longest and is usually wrong, coming, it is 
period of idleness he has since known. thought, in many cases from a confusion 

Mr. Zielinski married. June 3. TO02. at of the history of paternal and maternal 

267 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ancestry. Many Wilsons came with the 
first settlers, and at least one Wilton. 
John Willison or Willingstone was a 
pioneer of Ij^wich. Massachusetts, but 
whether he was father of Joseph men- 
tioned below or not, nobody has yet found 
proof. 

( I ) Joseph Williston, the progenitor of 
the Willistons of Springfield and Ilolyoke, 
was of English ancestry, born about 1670, 
])robably in England. During his child- 
hood he lived in the family of John Wil- 
liams, of Windsor, Connecticut, and was 
doubtless related to him, possibly a grand- 
son. Williams married, July 29, 1644, 
Mary Burley, who died August 3, 1665, 
and he himself died April 18, 1681. Early 
in life Williston removed from Windsor 
to Springfield, Massachusetts, and in 1691 
settled in the adjacent town of Westfield. 
He married (first) at Springfield, March 
2, 1699, Mary (Parsons) Ashley, widow 
of Joseph Ashley, daughter of Joseph Par- 
sons ; his wife died August 23, 171 1. He 
married (second) November 2, 171 1, Sarah 
Stebbins, widow of Thomas Stebbins ; she 
died in 1732. Children, born at Spring- 
field: I. Joseph, born December 28, 17 — , 
died .August 21, 1747; married Hannah 
Stebbins, and was the father of Rev. Noah 
WMlliston, who graduated at Yale in 1757, 
pastor of the church at W^est Haven, Con- 
necticut, and whose son. Rev. Payson 
Williston, D. D., graduate of Yale in 1783, 
was first minister of Easthampton, Mas- 
sachusetts, serving for more than fifty 
years (John Payson, son of Rev. Payson 
Williston was a cotton manufacturer and 
prominent in business in Holyoke, and 
Samuel Payson, another son, an eminent 
citizen, founded the Williston Seminary 
at Easthampton. A. Lyman Williston, 
son of John Payson, was one of the chief 
benefactors of Mt. Holyoke College in its 
early days, a trustee and treasurer ; was 
a trustee of Williston Seminary and of 



Smith College ; an eminent citizen of 
Northampton). 2. Margaret, born March 
30, 1703, died aged thirteen years. 3. John, 
November 6, 1705, died November 10, 
1747. 4. Nathaniel, mentioned below. 

(II) Nathaniel Williston, son of Joseph, 
was born at Springfield, January 28, 1707 ; 
died July 18, 1748. He married, Novem- 
ber 20, 1735, Miriam Stebbins, born Octo- 
ber 8, 1707, daughter of Benjamin and 
Martha Stebbins, granddaughter of Jo- 
seph and Sarah (Dorchester) Stebbins; 
great-granddaughter of Thomas and Han- 
nah (Wright) Stebbins. Thomas was a 
son of the founders of the Stebbins family 
in this country, Rowland and Sarah, who 
came from England wath the first settlers. 
She married (second) in 1749, Caleb Par- 
sons, who was born December 27, 1699, 
at Springfield, died July 24, 1760, a son 
of Ebenezer and Margaret (Marshfield) 
Parsons. Children of Nathaniel and Miri- 
am (Stebbins) Williston: Nathaniel; 
Elihu ; Israel, mentioned below ; Mary. 

(HI) Israel, son of Nathaniel Willis- 
ton, was born at Springfield, about 1730. 
He was a soldier in the Revolution, a ser- 
geant in Captain Nathan Rowle's com- 
pany, Lieutenant-Colonel Timothy Robin- 
son's regiment from Hampshire county, 
December 25, 1776, to April 3, 1777, and 
served at Ticonderoga. He was second 
lieutenant in Captain Levi Eddy's com- 
pany (second), Colonel Moseley's regi- 
ment (Third Hampshire County) com- 
missioned September 18, 1777. He was a 
lieutenant in Captain Francis Stebbins' 
company. Colonel David Moseley's regi- 
ment in 1782, engaged in supporting the 
government at Springfield and W^est 
Springfield and the roll preserved at the 
State House was dated at West Spring- 
field. (See "Massachusetts Soldiers and 
Sailors in the Revolution," xvii, p. 519). 

(IV) Israel (2), son of Israel (i) Wil- 
liston, was born at Springfield or West 



268 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Springfield. The census of 1790 shows 
that both Israel, Sr., and Israel, Jr., were 
then living in West Springfield, the elder 
having a family of eleven and the younger 
having three. He married, at West Spring- 
field, December 17, 1788, Sophia Day (in- 
tentions dated November 29, 1788). She 
v^ras born February 17, 1771, a daughter 
of Thomas Day, born October 2j, 1745, 
who married, September 12, 1767, Joanna 
Noble. Luke Day. father of Thomas, was 
born July 2, 1706, married November 9, 
1734, Jerusha Skinner. Ebenezer Day, 
father of Luke, was born September 5, 
1677, married April 18, 1700, Mercy 
Hitchcock, who died September 29, 1761 ; 
and he died September i, 1763, aged 
eighty-eight years. Thomas Day, father 
of Ebenezer, married Sarah Cooper, 
daughter of Lieutenant Thomas Cooper, 
who was killed when the town was 
burned, October 2"], 1659; Thomas Day 
died December 27, 171 1, and his widow 
November 21, 1726. Robert Day, father 
of Thomas, was the immigrant ancestor, 
born in England about 1604, came in the 
ship "Hopeweir in 1635, lived at Cam- 
bridge and Hartford. The Day family 
had been from the days of the settlement 
one of the most prominent in Springfield 
and vicinity. Israel W^illiston died before 
his son Lorenzo Day was born, and his 
wife died soon afterward. 

(V) Lorenzo Day Williston, son of 
Israel (2) Williston, was born in West 
Springfield, about 1800 and died in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, September 26, 1879. 
Both he and his wife were reared by the 
Shakers, but left the Shaker settlement at 
the time of their marriage. He became a 
typical Yankee farmer, prosperous, frugal, 
industrious and conscientious, spending 
most of his life and making his home in 
Ireland parish, Holyoke. He married, in 
1826, Sophia Asenath Pease, born March 
9, 1802, died February 13, 1869. Children. 



born in Holyoke: Sophia /\senath, born 
February 24, 1827; Xewton B., Septem- 
ber 3, 1829; Caroline Roselle, March 8, 
1831 ; Lorenzo Xewton, mentioned be- 
low ; R(jland Stebbins, March 13, 1835, 
killed in the Civil War; Monroe Peter, 
December 31, 1837, killed in the Civil 
War; l-'mily .\nne, June 20. 1840; Cyn- 
thia Jane, June 3, 1872; Mary I'..: Henri 
Arthur. 

(VI) Lorenzo Xewtrm Williston. son 
of Lorenzo Day Williston, was born at 
Holyoke, May 15, 1833, and died there, 
April 6, 1903. He received his education 
in the public schools of his native town. 
When a young man he learned the 
barber's trade and engaged in business 
with a shop in the old Massasoit House 
at Springfield, Massachusetts. A desire to 
see more of the world led him to go to sea, 
and for several years he made voyages on 
whaling vessels to the Arctic ocean, where 
he saw the midnight sun, and also to the 
Antarctic ocean, sailing around Cape Horn 
several times and circumnavigated the 
globe. On these vessels he was chief 
harpooner and first mate. He was ship- 
wrecked several times, barely escaping 
with his life, and his wish to see the 
world having been thoroughly gratified 
after many years of seafaring life, he 
decided to abandon it for some other 
pursuit, which he did when his vessel 
reached San Francisco. He later went 
to New Mexico, where he spent two 
years on the plains, employed as a cow- 
boy. After an absence of eight years he 
returned to Holyoke. and again engaged 
in his trade, opening a barber's shop in 
the old Exchange Building. Afterward 
he moved his business to Hotel Hamilton, 
and still later to the Windsor Block, 
where he continued in this line of work 
until he retired in 1891. At the time he 
retired he was the oldest barber in the 
city. For many years his shop was the 



2(^) 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



largest in the city, and he was personally 
jjopular with all classes of customers. His 
ojjportunities for making friends were ex- 
tensive and few had a wider circle in the 
city. In politics he was a Democrat of 
the old school, keenly interested in mu- 
nicipal affairs as well as in national poli- 
tics and served one year in the city coun- 
cil. He was also much interested in fra- 
ternal organizations; was a charter mem- 
ber of Mount Tom Lodge, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons ; of Mt. Holyoke 
Chapter, Royal .\rch Masons, and of Rob- 
ert Morris Chapter, Order of the Eastern 
Star. Mr. Williston married, December 
_'5, 1861, Lucy Abigail Hatch, who was 
born in West Royalton, January 8, 1837, 
died March 8, 1904, a daughter of Adrian 
and Lucy (Frink) Hatch. Children, born 
at Holyoke: Jane Roselle, born January 
3, 1863; Lorenzo Arthur, mentioned be- 
low; Lucy Hatch, July i, 1867, died No- 
vember 2"], 1874; Elizabeth Leona, No- 
vember 6, 1870, married W. W. Eddy; 
Roland Albert, March 20, 1873; Emily 
Meyers, Juiy 29, 1878. 

(VII) Lorenzo Arthur Williston, son 
of Lorenzo Newton Williston, was born 
at Holyoke, June 20, 1865. He received 
his education in the public schools of his 
native town. He began his business career 
in 1883, thirty-four years ago, as office 
Ijoy for Watson Ely, dealer in lumber in 
Holyoke, and he has continued in the 
lumber business to the present time with 
the same concern. When the business 
was incorporated in 1898, Mr. Williston 
became secretary of the corporation and 
manager of the business. The name of 
the concern became the Ely Lumber Com- 
pany. As manager of this company, Mr. 
Williston has been among the foremost 
in his line of trade, and his reputation has 
extended throughout western and central 
Massachusetts. For three years he was 
president of the Retail Lumber Dealers' 
Association of Massachusetts. 



Mr. Williston has been called into the 
public service of the city, and for the past 
eight years has been on the Board of Park 
Commissioners and is now chairman. To 
the parks he has given the same able ad- 
ministration of affairs that he has given 
to his own business, and he has devoted 
his time freely to the improvement and 
development of the city parks. He is well 
known in Masonic circles. He was made 
a Master Mason in Mt. Tom Lodge, and 
was a charter member of William Whit- 
ing Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons. He is also a member of Holyoke 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Holyoke 
Council, Royal and Select Masters; 
Springfield Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar ; the Consistory; Melha Temple, 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He was a 
charter member of Robert Morris Chap- 
ter, Order of the Eastern Star, and a 
charter member of Holyoke Lodge, Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
of Holyoke ; also of Massasoit Command- 
ery, Knights of Malta, and he is a mem- 
ber of the Holyoke Club and Mount Torn 
Golf Club. For three years he was presi- 
dent of the Pequot Club. 

Mr. Williston married (first) in 1893, 
Alice Hearn, who died August 2, 1905, 
daughter of William and Frances Hearn. 
Her father was a soldier in the Civil War. 
He married (second) Mary McGuirk, of 
Holyoke. By his first wife, Mr. Williston 
had one child, Frances Alice Williston. 



O'DONNELL, James Joseph, 

Owner of Holyoke "EveninR Telegram." 

With true training and knowledge of 
general affairs, and association with 
leaders in the world's progress, Mr. 
O'Donnell, a leading citizen and attorney 
of Holyoke, reflects honor upon his city, 
and in his conduct of the Holyoke "Tele- 
gram" and of the Holyoke post office, of 
which he is postmaster, stands for the 



270 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



highest interests of the city and of the 
State. Mr. O'Donnell has filled many 
offices in Holyoke since the time when, 
as a youth of twenty years, he taught 
Latin and mathematics in the Holyoke 
High School, and in all of these he has 
kept the human and helpful side in view, 
with a personality that never tired urging 
progress and forward movements among 
Holyoke's young men. 

John O'Donnell, grandfather of James 
J. O'Donnell, w^as born in the town of 
Inch, County Kerry, Ireland, and his 
death occurred in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, in which place he settled upon his 
arrival in this country, in the year 1840. 
In his native land and also in his adopted 
country, he devoted his attention to agri- 
culture, conducting his operations in the 
latter place on a farm at Rock Valley. He 
was the father of four children : John, 
Terrance, Kate and Mary. 

Terrance O'Donnell, father of James J. 
O'Donnell, w^as born in the town of Inch, 
County Kerry, Ireland, in 1837, and died 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 1873. He 
w-as brought to this country by his par- 
ents, when a young man, was reared on 
the homestead farm, and upon attaining 
a suitable age for earning his own liveli- 
hood began work in the quarries, and at 
the time of his death was foreman of the 
quarries operated by Mr. Delany. He 
was honest and capable, and was held in 
the highest esteem by all with whom he 
associated. He married Kate Doyle, a 
native of Dublin, Ireland, daughter of 
Michael and Ellen (Curran) Doyle. 
James M. Doyle, brother of Mrs. O'Don- 
nell, was chief engineer on the Southern 
Pacific railroad, and was actively identi- 
fied with its construction ; he was held 
in the highest esteem by Collis P. Hunt- 
ington, the financier of the Southern 
Pacific railroad. Mr. and Mrs. O'Donnell 
were the parents of two children : Mary 
T., and James Joseph. 



James Joseph O'Donnell was born in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, May 13, 1873. 
lie was educated in the public schools of 
Holyoke, and Holy Cross College, where 
he was graduated in 1892, after which he 
pursued a post-graduate course in Har- 
vard University. He taught Latin and 
mathematics in the Holyoke High School, 
then entered the Boston University Law 
School and received the degree of LL. V>. 
He was admitted to the bar in 1898, and 
from that year to 1904 engaged in the 
active practice of law in Holyoke. The 
following five years he served as suj^er- 
intendent of schools in Holyoke, and his 
keen judgment, fine sense of practicability 
and skill made many advances in the Hol- 
yoke schools, and he left the imprint of 
his personality upon his work. The year 
1910 was spent in the practice of his pro- 
fession in Holyoke. In the following year 
he bought out the majority of the stock 
of the Holyoke "Telegram." of which he 
was already a large stockholder, and was 
made president and treasurer of the cor- 
poration, and has edited, published and 
controlled the policies of the paper ever 
since, which has steadily increased in cir- 
culation, and its influence as a factor for 
good has been strongly felt in the com- 
munity. In addition to this he is treasurer 
of the Essex Pad and Paper Company of 
Holyoke, one of the well known enter- 
prises of that thriving city, and has also 
dealt extensively in real estate. 

Since attaining his majority, Mr. O'Don- 
nell has taken an active interest in the 
welfare of the Democratic party, and has 
been one of the real forces in developing 
and keeping Holyoke as the Western 
Massachusetts stronghold of Democracy. 
Perhaps nothing will show his determin- 
ation more than the fact that Holyoke 
was the only city in Massachusetts that 
went for President Wilson in the Demo- 
cratic primaries when that gentleman was 
first a candidate. Mr. O'Donnell assured 



271 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Wilson leaders in advance that Hol- 
yoke would be recorded for him in the 
primaries, and all the efforts of the Clark 
men or Massachusetts State Democratic 
committees could not divert him from his 
purpose. The prominence he has gained 
therein is the result of the influence of a 
man whose opinions are honest and in 
whom the people have confidence. He 
was appointed by Governor E. N. Foss 
on the committee on river waterways for 
the purpose of developing the Connecti- 
cut river from Holyoke to Long Island 
Sound. He was appointed postmaster of 
Holyoke, November 25, 1913, one of the 
first appointees of President Wilson, and 
is performing the duties of that office at 
the present time (1917). Mr. O'Donnell 
holds membership in the Boston Press 
Association, Irish Historical Society, Park 
Lyceum, Ancient Order of Hibernians, 
Knights of Columbus, Country Club of 
Holyoke, Mt. Tom Golf Club and the Hol- 
yoke Club. Genial in manner, pleasant 
in conversation, Mr. O'Donnell has a large 
circle of well earned friends. 

Mr. O'Donnell married, February 14, 
1912, Mary Dillon, of Holyoke, daughter 
of Thomas and Anne (Kennedy) Dillon. 



FARR, Hoit Franklin, 

Active Business Man. 

For half a century, Hoit Franklin Farr 
has been in active business life in Canada 
and Holyoke, Massachusetts, his first con- 
nection in Holyoke being with the Farr 
Alpaca Company, the last quarter of a 
century with the American Dye Wood 
Company. He is a descendant of an old 
Massachusetts family, that first appeared 
in New England as early as 1629, when 
George Farr, shipwright, came in the fleet 
with Higginson, settled first in Salem, 
and soon afterward went to Lynn, where 
he was made freeman in 1635. 



(I) Thomas Farr, of Hardwick, Mas- 
sachusetts, with whom this narrative be- 
gins, removed there from Stow or Little- 
ton some time previous to 1719, when his 
name appears as the owner of land. In 
that year also his wife Elizabeth was ad- 
mitted a member of the church in Hard- 
wick. He was the father of two sons : 
Thomas, Jr., and Jonathan. 

(II) Jonathan, son of Thomas and 
Elizabeth Farr, lived in Hardwick, but 
was of Chesterfield, New Hampshire, pre- 
vious to 1767. He was a selectman in 
1777, and during the same year served as 
a soldier in the Revolution. He married 
(first) June 5, 1751, Mary, daughter of 
John Wells; married (second) January 
19, 1757, Mercy, a daughter of Thomas 
Winslow. Children: i. William, born 
March 15, 1752. 2. Jonathan, born April 
14, 1754. (By second wife) : 3. Joshua, 
born September 23, 1757, died August 28, 
1815; married Molly, daughter of Zerub- 
bael Snow. 4. Amos, born March 9, 1759. 

5. Mary, October, 18, 1760; died Decem- 
ber 16, 1839; married Jonathan Brigham. 

6. Moses, born May 18, 1762. 7. Abigail, 
born January i, 1764, died at St. Johns- 
bury, Vermont, 1837 ; married, 1787, James 
Snow. 8. Asahel, born March 23, 1766. 
Children by third wife : 9. Susy or Susan, 
born July 21, 1779. 10. Sabrina, born 
February i, 1782, died January 18, 1868; 
married (first) 1802, Francis Parks ; (sec- 
ond) Wilder Brown ; (third) 1837, Rus- 
sell Farr. 11. Charlotte, born February 9, 
1799. 

(HI) Moses, son of Jonathan and 
Mercy (Winslow) Farr, was born in 
Deerfield, Massachusetts, 1761, and died 
in Chesterfield, New Hampshire, July 14, 
1829. He married, in 1784, Sabrina Hast- 
ings, (laughter of Josiah Hastings, who 
married Mary Hartwell and settled in 
Chesterfield as early as 1770, and lived 
near the river in the southwest part of 



272 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the town, on what has long been known 
as the Hastings farm. He served as a 
private in Company T., Third Regiment 
New Hampshire Volunteers, in the Revo- 
lution, which took an active part in the 
battle of Bunker Hill, and was in service 
in 1775, and 1777. He died December 14, 
1810. Moses and Sabrina (Hastings) Farr 
had eight children, all born in Chester- 
field : I. Achsah, July 2, 1785; died No- 
vember 21, 1824; married 1803, John 
Snow. 2. Ora, July 25, 1786. 3. Mary, 
February 20, 1788; married, 1809, Ezra 
Church. 4. Roxanna, August 21, 1789; 
died July 4, 1825 ; married Loring Farr. 
5. Jason, 1794, a physician ; died October 
II, 1825; married Rachel, daughter of 
John Day. 6. Sally, 1796, died May 13, 
1828; married, 1815, Roswell Powers. 7. 
Polly, 1799; died May 8, 1840; married, 
1829, Roswell Powers. 8. Sabrina, 1809, 
died December 10, 1829. 

(IV) Ora, son of Moses and Sabrina 
(Hastings) Farr, was born in Chester- 
field, New Hampshire, July 25, 1786, died 
there, June 30, 1828. He was a mill- 
wright, and followed his trade in the 
town. In 1814 he married Hannah Har- 
ris, born in Chesterfield, June 20, 1795, 
died at Sutton, Vermont, July 31, 1852, 
daughter of John and Hannah (Colburn) 
Harris, granddaughter of Abner, Sr., and 
Debora Harris, who removed with his 
family from Medford, Massachusetts, to 
Woodstock, Connecticut. Abner Harris 
married Elizabeth Lawrence, of Medford. 
He was a son of Isaac and Mary (Dun- 
bar) Harris, and a grandson of Arthur 
Harris, who came from England to 
America, was of Duxbury, Massachu- 
setts, in 1640, and afterwards was one of 
the proprietors and first settlers of 
Bridgewater, Massachusetts. His wife 
was Martha Lake. Ora and Hannah 
(Harris) Farr had six children, all born 
in Chesterfield: i. Emily, April 25, 1815; 



married, 1834, Alfred Chamberlain. 2. 
Marshall H., January 16, 1817. 3. Hoit 
F., January 18, 1819; lived in California, 
but died in Sutton, Vermont, July 16, 
1867. 4. Larkin L., November 4, 1821. 
5. Norman H., April 16, 1824. 6. George 
R., July 27, 1826. After the death of 
Ora Farr, his widow married (second) 
Luther Stoddard, and removed to Ver- 
mont. 

(V) Larkin Lloyd Farr, son of Ora 
and Hannah (Harris) Farr, was born No- 
vember 4, 1821, in Chesterfield, New 
Hampshire, died September 12, 1863, at 
Brattleboro, Vermont. He was a farmer 
and a carpenter, and resided in various 
parts of Vermont and New Hampshire. 
Fle married, February 23, 1845, Mary V. 
Young, born January 14, 1828, daughter 
of John Folsom Young, of Deerfield, 
New Hampshire. Children: i. Ellen S., 
resident of Holyoke ; born in Manchester, 
New Hampshire, May 4, 1846. 2. Hoit 
F., of further mention. 3. Fred M., resi- 
dent of Keene, New Hampshire ; born in 
Newark, Vermont, September 2^, 1853 ; 
married, June 3, 1880, Mary J. Hills. 4. 
Dennie L., born in Chesterfield, New 
Hampshire, November 29, 1861, whose 
sketch follows. 

(VI) Hoit Franklin Farr, son of 
Larkin Lloyd and Mary V. (Young) 
Farr, was born in Newark, Vermont, 
January 14, 1852. He attended public 
schools, in Newark, Vermont, and Hes- 
peler, Canada. At the age of fourteen, 
in 1866, he joined his cousin, Herbert 
Marshall Farr, whose father. Marshall 
Howard Farr, was a contractor and 
builder. Later, at the age of sixteen, he 
left school and entered the office of 
Randall Farr & Company, that firm com- 
posed of relatives engaged in the manu- 
facture of knit goods at Hespeler, Water- 
loo county, Canada. The confinement 
proved too much for Mr. Farr, and in 



Ma8*-6— 18 



273 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1871 he gave up his position and went 
to California, sojourning in the Vaca 
Valley in Solano county. Much improved 
in health, he returned the sam^e year to 
Canada, and secured work with Randall 
Parr & Company, continuing until 1874, 
when the company moved to Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, incorporated as ilic Farr 
Alpaca Company. capital $250,000 — 
erected mills, and the same year began 
business with Merhert M. Farr as agent 
and active business head. After the re- 
moval to Holyoke, Hoit F. Farr con- 
tinued in the employ of the Farr Alpaca 
Company for seventeen years, spending 
eighteen months in the manufacturing 
department, then going to the finishing 
and dyeing department, as its capable 
manager. In 1891 he resigned his posi- 
tion on account of failing health, and 
entered the employ of the American Dye 
Wood Company, of New York, as travel- 
ing salesman. Life on the road built up 
his health, and for twenty-five years he 
represented his company in the New 
England States, his labors in later years 
having been confined to the States of 
Massachusetts and Connecticut. These 
two corporations have claimed his entire 
business activity, and each had his serv- 
ices about twenty-five years. In politics 
he is a Republican, and in religious faith, 
a Unitarian. He is a member of Mount 



1. Ervin Harris Farr, born in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, August 12, 1882. After 
graduation from high school he attended 
Tufts College one and one-half years, 
then entered Dartmouth Medical College, 
whence he was graduated M. D.. class of 
1906. He began practice in Holyoke in 
November, 1907, and there continues suc- 
cessfully specializing in X-Ray practice. 
He was city physician for two years, and 
in charge of the Holyoke Tuberculosis 
Sanitarium six months of the same year. 
Dr. Farr married, October 6, 1913, Ruby 
Medora Beeching, daughter of William S. 
and Edith (Marston) Beeching. 

2. Clarence Larkin Farr, second son of 
Hoit F. Farr. was born in Holyoke, March 
9, 1892. After completing his education 
in Holyoke schools, he entered business 
life, and is now a traveling salesman for 
the Lyman Seed Company. 



FARR, Dennie L., 

Ex-Mayor, Prominent Citizen. 

In presenting to the readers of this 
volume the history of Dennie L. Farr, 
late of Holyoke, we record an account 
of a life that has been honorable and 
useful. He was regarded as one of the 
leading citizens of Holyoke, and his 
worth as a public ofificer was widely 
acknowledged because of the efficient 
service he performed in the various 
offices he filled. He came of an old 
Massachusetts family. 



Dennie L. Farr was born in Chester- 
Tom Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; field, New Hampshire, November 29, 
Holyoke Lodge, Independent Order of 1861, died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 



Odd Fellows ; and the Holyoke Canoe 
Club. He is a man thoroughly respected 
by all who know him, a good business 
man, and companionable friend. 

Mr. Farr married, October 25, 1876, 
Mary Belle Porter, born at Great Falls 
(Xew Sommerworth), New Hampshire, 
daughter of John and Mary Rosabelle 
(Hazen) Porter. Mr. and Mrs. Farr are 
the parents of two sons : 



May 19, 1909. He received his early 
education in the schools of Bellows Falls, 
New Hampshire, Westminster, Vermont, 
and of his native town, and then became 
a student in the academy at Swanzey, 
New Hampshire. At the age of seven- 
teen he made his home in Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, and entered the employ of 
the Farr Alpaca Company, of which the 
late Herbert M. Farr, a cousin of Dennie 



274 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



L. Farr, was the founder. Later he was 
promoted to the position of paymaster, 
in which capacity he served for ten years, 
then became assistant treasurer, and 
faithfully discharged the duties of that 
office until 1902, when illness compelled 
him to relinquish work that had proved 
both agreeable and remunerative. Mr. 
Farr always took a deep interest in public 
affairs, and was prominently identified 
with the Republican party. In 1887 he 
began his political career, being elected a 
member of the Common Council, and in 
the following year was a member of the 
Board of Aldermen. His excellent work 
in these branches of the city government 
was so satisfactory to the voters of Hol- 
yoke that in 1889 he was elected city 
treasurer, which office he held for three 
years. He was thorough and efficient in 
the performance of duty in that important 
position, and in 1893 he was elected to 
the highest office in the gift of the 
people, that of mayor of Holyoke, he 
assuming those responsible obligations 
when only thirty-two years of age. 
Under his administration many improve- 
ments were made and several important 
public works were inaugurated and com- 
pleted, among them the sewer systems of 
Elmwood and Oakdale, also the beautiful 
new public school building of Elmwood, 
the finest in the city. 

Mr. Farr was one of the most popular 
men in the city of Holyoke, and his rise 
in the political history of the city proved 
not only his tremendous popularity and 
the esteem in which he was held, but the 
fact that he always did his duty well and 
thus earned the commendation of the 
citizens. He was a self-made man, of 
magnetic personality, possessed fine high 
ideals, and was ever ready to assist when 
the opportunity presented itself. He was 
a member of Mt. Tom Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Mt. Holyoke Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons; Holyoke Council, 



Royal and Select Masters; Springfield 
Commandery, Knights Templar; was 
also a member of the Royal Arcanum, 
Holyoke Turn Verein, Holyoke Canoe 
Club and Bay State Club. He was a 
member of the Second Congregational 
Church of Holyoke, and was an active 
member of the Young Men's Christian 
Association, having served on its finance 
committee many years. 

Mr. Farr married, October 12, 1886, 
Augusta Schaefer, daughter of Leonard 
Schaefer, of Windsor Locks, Connecticut. 
Children of Mr. and Mrs. Farr: i. 
Leonard S., with the Farr Alpaca Works ; 
married Christine Dickey, and they have 
two sons — Gilmore Lloyd and Duncan 
Larkin. 2. Ruth, a graduate of Holyoke 
High School and Wheelock Kinder- 
garten School, and for seven years 
has taught in Proctor, Vermont ; she has 
travelled extensively over the United 
States, thus adding greatly to her knowl- 
edge of people and places. 3. Clara V., 
a graduate of the Dr. Sargent's Schooi 
of Physical Culture, in Cambridge ; noM 
the wife of Herman C. Walker, an ety 
mologist of West Springfield, Massachu 
setts, and they have one daughter, Eliza- 
beth. 

Mr. Farr was a true, staunch and un- 
failing friend, a devoted husl)and, an 
affectionate father, and in all these re- 
spects he was a man, with all that that 
means. His life may prove an example 
for others to follow in his footsteps, and 
this is a legacy more precious than any- 
thing else. He was an example of un- 
faltering devotion to duty, and a man 
whose faith in his duty as a citizen was 
very high. 



FARR, Simeon, 

Representative Citizen. 

Twenty-eight years ago, Simeon Farr 
and his wife. Ann (Batchelor) Farr, left 



-/o 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



their English home and came to Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, where they made their 
home on South street, Ehn\voo<l. Later 
they moved to No. 19 View street, where 
on March 5, 1892, they celebrated their 
silver wedding. There they continued 
living until March 5, 1917, when their 
golden anniversary was celebrated by 
their keeping an "open house" and a fam- 
ily reunion, eleven children and twenty- 
five grandchildren now comprising the 
family. The twenty-eight years passed 
in Holyoke. Massachusetts, have been 
spent by Mr. Farr in active labor as mill 
worker and gardener, and although they 
have whitened his locks and left their 
imprint in other ways, he is strong and 
healthy, performing his regular duties 
every day. He is a son of James Farr, 
born in England, in 1797, died in his 
native land in 1858. James Farr married 
Martha Marks, born in 1804, died at the 
great age of ninety-three years. They 
were the parents of Alfred, Henry, Maria, 
Sarah. Elizabeth, Mary, Robert, Jane, 
George, and Simeon, the last named the 
only survivor of this family. 

Simeon Farr was born in Trowbridge, 
Wiltshire, England, June 7, 1846, and 
there attended the public schools. When 
still young he began working at farm- 
ing and gardening, at first but half of the 
day, spending half a day in school. This 
continued until his school days were over, 
when he became a full time farm worker, 
being so engaged for three years. The 
woolen mills of Trowbridge then claimed 
him, and for twenty-three years he con- 
tinued employed in woolen manufactur- 
ing, from the age of twenty until he was 
forty-three. In 1889 he came with his 
family to the United States, locating in 
Holyoke, which has ever since been his 
hom£. His first employment in Holyoke 
was as an employee of the Beebe & 
Weber Mills, nine years being passed 
with that company. For the past nine 



years he has been in charge of the park 
plots and gardens surrounding the Had- 
ley division of the American Thread 
Company, and also the No. 2 mill of the 
same company as gardener, reverting to 
the occupation of his youth and one he 
loves. 

From youth Mr. Farr has been a musi- 
cian, and for eighteen years was organist 
of St. Nicholas Church, North Bradley, 
England. His talent was not confined to 
the instrument, he having a good voice 
that was cultivated, and for several years 
he was a member of a male quartette. 
Since coming to Holyoke he has played 
occasionally in local churches and aided 
in musical entertainments. For twenty- 
tw^o years he has been a member of Court 
City of Holyoke, Foresters of America. 

Mr. Farr married in Trowbridge, Eng- 
land, March 5, 1867, Ann Batchelor, born 
May 24, 1844, Rev. Samuel Martin per- 
forming the marriage ceremony. Mrs. 
Farr was also born in Trowbridge, a 
daughter of Henry and Fanny (Martin) 
Batchelor, and a sister of Alfred, George 
and Edward Batchelor, all residents of 
Holyoke. Mr. and Mrs. Farr are the par- 
ents of twelve sons and daughters, eleven 
of whom are living: Emily, died at the 
age of five years ; Fanny, married Albert 
Mennel, of Holyoke ; Albert, of Holyoke ; 
Ellen, married Frank Goodman, of Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island; Jesse Nelson, of 
Providence ; Fred F., of Holyoke ; Lewis, 
of Holyoke ; William, of Westfield, Mas- 
sachusetts ; Margaret, married Carlton 
Pratt, of North Adams, Massachusetts; 
Howard, of Holyoke; Mary, married Jo- 
seph Collins, of Palmer, Massachusetts ; 
John, of Brockton. These children, also- 
twenty-five grandchildren were present 
at the golden wedding anniversary of Mr. 
and Mrs. Farr, March 5, 1917, all having 
come to this country and made their 
homes with or not far from their parents 
in Holyoke. The parents, always home 



276 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



loving people and deeply mindful of their 
children's interests and welfare, are now 
richly repaid in knowing that all are 
happily situated, and they in turn are 
deeply mindful of the interests and wel- 
fare of their honored parents. 

Upon the occasion of their golden 
wedding, Mr. Farr wrote the following 
poem: 

To My Beloved Wife on the Occasion of Our 
Golden Wedding, March 5, 1917. 

It's fifty years ago to-day, Dear Heart, 
That we joined hands and hearts, and pledged 
to share 
Each other's burdens, joys, and play our part 
In life, when all the world looked fresh and 
fair. 

The dreams and hopes that ardent youth inspired, 
Not all were realized, yet, it is plain 

That God withheld some treasures most desired 
For His own purpose, lest we live in vain. 

God's special gifts are ours, the children's love. 
And sympathies. And all the days to come. 

Our hope and fervent prayer is "that the dove 
Of peace shall spread her pinions o'er our 
home." 

We look adown the vista of the years. 
We've passed together, toiled together, prayed ; 

Sometimes we've caused each other pain, yea 
tears ; 
But love has ever healed the wounds we made. 

As the years pass on we'll need each other more ; 

The joys which thrilled the heart of youth are 
gone; 
The River seems more real ; the dark'ning shore. 

The turbid waters each must breast alone. 

We now have passed the allotted years of man. 

And lengthening shadows steal across the lea. 
The few more days that are left, we humbly plan. 

To dedicate them all. Oh Lord, to Thee. 

— Simeon Farr. 



SHEEHAN, Patrick Henry, 
Lavryer. 

Since the date of his birth in County 
Cork, Ireland, in 1834, until his sailing 



for the United States in 1873, Jeremiah 
Sheehan, father of Patrick H. of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, lived in his native county, 
becoming a well known manufacturer of 
custom trade shoes. He was a quiet 
home-loving man, and it was a great trial 
to him to break with the associations of 
a lifetime, but the "land of promise'' was 
out across the seas and was beckoning 
him, so that in 1873, with his wife and 
family, he came, settling at North Brook- 
field, Massachusetts, where he was em- 
ployed in the shoe factories until his 
death in 1887. His wife, Mary Connolly, 
also born in County Cork, died in North 
Brookfield, Massachusetts, in 1893, aged 
sixty-two. They were the parents of: 
Mary; Daniel, deceased; Jeremiah; 
Patrick Henry, of further mention ; 
Thomas, deceased ; James, postmaster at 
Minis, Massachusetts. 

When the family left their home in 
Ireland, Patrick Henry Sheehan was a 
child of three years, his birthday, March 
12, 1870. When of suitable age he began 
attending the North Brookfield public 
school, and when sufficiently advanced 
entered Holy Cross College at Worces- 
ter, Massachusetts, pursuing a three 
years' course. He prepared for the pro- 
fession of law at Boston University Law 
School, and in private study under the 
preceptorship of L. Emerson Barnes, of 
North Brookfield, completing preparation 
and gaining admission to the Worcester 
county bar in 1893. He located in Hol- 
yoke the same year, and has there con- 
tinuously practiced until the present 
(1917); is well established, and highly 
regarded as a lawyer and citizen. He is 
a member of the various bar associations, 
and holds the unlimited confidence of the 
bench and bar of the county in which his 
entire professional life of nearly a quarter 
of a century has been spent. 

In addition to a large law practice, Mr. 



277 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Sheehan has been interested in political 
affairs, and is one of the leading Demo- 
crats of his city. In 1895 he was chair- 
man of the Democratic City Committee 
of Holyoke. and in 1896 he was nomi- 
nated by his party as their candidate for 
Congress from the Holyoke district, 
polling an exceptionally large vote. His 
profession holds him closely, a large 
clientele entrusting him with the con- 
duct of their legal aflFairs. He is very 
jealous of the rights of his clients, and he 
uses all his rights within the law to 
protect them. He is rated a skillful, hon- 
orable lawyer and a safe adviser, learned, 
honorable and upright. 

Mr. Sheehan married, in Boston, in 
June, i8</), Mary E. Collins, of that city, 
daughter of Edmund and Eliza (Hen- 
nessy) Collins. Mr. and Mrs. Sheehan 
are the parents of two sons: Henry Col- 
lins, born April 16, 1897; and John Ed- 
mund, November 2, 1903. 



SMITH. Albert, 

Enterprising Business Man. 

The comjnodious modern store, 364 
High street, Holyoke, in which is housed 
the jewelry business of Lynch & Smith, 
is the outgrowth of the business founded 
in Holyoke in 1889 by Albert Smith, the 
present junior partner. Mr. Smith is a 
practical jeweler, inheriting from his 
father mechanical ability of a high order, 
which, developed under high class in- 
struction, has produced the expert jew- 
eler and watch maker. He is of English 
birth and parentage, a grandson of Ben- 
jamin Smith, and a son of William Smith, 
Yorkshire men and skilled mechanics. 

William Smith born in Kieghby, York- 
shire, England, in 1844, is now living 
retired in Holyoke, Massachusetts. He 
was educated in the public school, and 
learned the machinist's trade in England, 



becoming an expert w^orker in metals. 
In 1881 he came to the United States, 
locating in Holyoke, there entering the 
employ of J. and W. Jolly as machinist, 
continuing with them over twenty years, 
until his retirement from active service. 
He is a member of the Baptist church, a 
man of integrity, highly respected. He 
married Ada Shuttleworth, who died in 
1906, aged sixty-one years. Their eldest 
son, John Smith, died September 5, 1916, 
leaving a widow, Clara (Britzel) Smith, 
and a son, John William Smith. 

Albert Smith, second and youngest 
son of William and Ada (Shuttleworth) 
Smith, was born in Kieghby, Yorkshire, 
England, March 20, 1877. He was 
brought to the United States by his par- 
ents in 1881, and there was educated in 
the public schools. After completing his 
school years he entered the employ of 
Mr. Baum, and began learning the trade 
and business of a jeweler. After pro- 
gressing to a certain point he left Mr. 
Baum and entered the Horological 
School at Waltham, Massachusetts, 
whence he completed full courses and 
was graduated in 1898. After graduation 
he returned to Holyoke, and the same 
year opened a jewelry and optical goods 
store which he conducted alone until 
1901, when he formed a partnership with 
Thomas J. Lynch, under the firm name 
of Lynch & Smith, jewelers and op- 
ticians. They conducted a very success- 
ful business at No. 394 High street until 
May, 191 7, when they moved to their 
present store, 364 High street, in a block 
owned by the firm. The store is hand- 
somely and appropriately furnished, 
well stocked, is conducted along the best 
modern lines, and is one of Holyoke's 
prosperous business houses. 

In addition to his jewelry business, Mr. 
Smith is president of the Bijou Theatre 
Company. The Bijou has recently been 



278 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF HIOGRAl'llV 



renewed and refurnished at a large out- 
lay, and is one of the attractive amuse- 
ment houses of the city. He is a member 
of Mt. Tom Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Holyoke Chapter, Royal Arch 



mained with Burdett tS: Williams until 
1870. then after a short time he located 
in Holyoke. 

The first years of his business career 
in llolvokc in the hardware business, 



Masons; Holyoke Council. Royal and were spent in partnership with Joel Rus- 

Select Masters; and Humbolt Lodge, sell under the firm name of J. Russell & 

Knights of Pythias. In religious prefer- Company. They were located in the 

ence he is a Baptist. Hotel Hamilton block on Dwight street, 

Mr. Smith married, June 3. 1913. Ella and there conducted a successful business 

MifYert. daughter of William Miffert, of until 1883. when C.ilbert E. Russell sold 



Holyoke. They are the parents of a 
daughter, Edith Smith, born April 13, 
1914; and a son, Edwin Albert, born July 
12, 1917. 



RUSSELL, Gilbert E., 

Bnsiness Man. 



Gilbert E. Russell, of this review, 
located in Holyoke. Massachusetts, in 
1870 and was there successfully engaged careful, thoroughly reliable business man. 



his interest to his cousin Rrjbert and re- 
tired from the firm. 

lie then opened a hardware store at 
245 High street under his own name, so 
continuing for about eight years, when 
he admitted .Archie Osbourne to a part- 
nershij). The firm becoming Russell & 
Osbourne. They built up a very large 
business, Mr. Russell continuing the 
active head until his death. He was a 



in business until his death, January 26, 
1907. The hardware business which he 
founded became one of the largest in Hol- 
yoke, and stands as a monument to his 
business ability. 

Gilbert E. Russell was born at Bidde- 
ford, Maine, November 6, 1848. He was 
the son of Amos and Sarah Russell. His 
parents moved to Holyoke, thence to 
West Springfield, Massachusetts, where 
they spent the rest of their lives. Gilbert 
E. Russell was educated in the public 
schools of West Springfield and Burnett's 
English and Classical Institute of Spring- 



highly esteemed and very popular. Xo 
l)etter estimate of the place Mr. Russell 
held in public esteem can be given than 
the resolutions passed by the Men's Club 
of the Second Congregational Church, of 
which he was a memhcr. /\t the regular 
meeting of this club the following resolu- 
tions were passed : 

It is hereby resolved to e.xtcnd t-^ the wife of 
our late lamented member, G. K. Russell, the 
deepest sympathy of this organization in her great 
loss and affliction, and each and every member 
will long cherish and admire his sterling qualities 
and absolute fairness in all business matters; 
field. He began business life as clerk in his kindly influence and manly action under all 

,, c- u 1 4. TJ^ 1,. r^ conditions won for him the respect and devotion 

the Snow hardware store. He onlv re- . ,, ^ . . . • n 1 

" he so richlv deserved and his memorv will alwavs 

mained here a short time when he re- ^^ cherished by those who were fortunate to 

signed and next located in Worcester, j^p^w him and esteem his friendship. 
Massachusetts, there continuing in the 



hardware btisiness as clerk for the firm of 
White & Conant, and here he remained 
until he received the offer of a better posi- 
tion with Burdett & \\'illiams, of Boston, 
and he then went to that citv. He re- 



A Republican in politics, Mr. Russell 
took a deep interest in public affairs, and 
neglected none of the duties imposed by 
citizenship, but never would accept polit- 
ical office, although often importuned to 



279 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



do so. He did however take an active sional reputation and honor, their prac- 



interest in the State National Guard, and 
was one of the organizers of Company 
D, of Holyoke, and for a number of years 
held the rank of first lieutenant of that 
company. The volunteer fire department 
also claimed his active interest for many 
years until he resigned, his long term of 
service entitling him to membership in 
the Veteran Firemen's Association. He 
was treasurer of the Holyoke Business 
Men's Association ; president of the 
Western Massachusetts Hardware Asso- 
ciation ; and a member of the New Eng- 
land Hardware Dealers' Association; 
member of the Second Congregational 
Church ; and of the Bay State and Hol- 
yoke Canoe clubs. 

Mr. Russell married, April 24, 1883, 
Mrs. William J. Cobb, nee Hattie J. Ells- 
bree, daughter of Ephraim B. Ellsbree. 
lier mother, Helen Jane W^alker, was 
born near Syracuse, New York, and died 
aged sixty-nine years ; she was twice 
married, Mrs. Hattie J. Russell being the 
only living child by her first husband, and 
born in Plymouth, Connecticut, a repre- 
sentative of an old Massachusetts family. 
Mr. Cobb, first husband of Mrs. Russell, 
died after ten months of married life. 
After the death of her husband. Mrs. 
Russell retained his interest in his busi- 
ness down to 1917, when she sold it to his 
I)artner, Archie Osbourne. 



HUNT, George Eddy, M. D., 
Phyiician. 

Since 1899, Dr. Hunt and his talented 
wife have been successful medical prac- 
titioners in the city of Holyoke, both be- 
ing graduates of the medical department 
of Tufts College, and experienced physi- 
cians at the time of their location in Hol- 
yoke. The years which have since inter- 
vened have brought them added profes- 



tice being extensive, while as friends and 
neighbors they are very popular. 

George Eddy Hunt is a son of Isaac 
Eddy Hunt, and a grandson of Luther 
and Trena (Sylvester) Hunt. Luther 
Hunt, a farmer, settled at Fort Coving- 
ton. Franklin county, New York, in 1800. 
Here he spent the rest of his life. He 
was twice married and his son by the first 
marriage Hezekiah, died in Lowell, Mas- 
sachusetts. His son, Isaac Eddy Hunt, 
by second marriage, was born in 1840 and 
educated in the district schools of that 
town. During his boyhood Isaac Eddy 
Hunt was employed by the farmers of the 
section, but later he learned the mason's 
trade, which he followed until the Civil 
War, when he volunteered but w^as re- 
jected, but again volunteered and was 
accepted and enlisted September 3, 1864, 
in Company H, Third Regiment New 
York Cavalry, Kent's Division. Eigh- 
teenth Army Corps, under the command 
of General B. F. Butler, and served until 
he was honorably discharged with the 
rank of corporal. He escaped all the 
perils of war. and on his return to private 
life resumed work at his trade. Later in 
life he purchased a farm near Constable, 
Franklin county, New York, where he 
has since resided, following his trade and 
managing the farm. He has held the 
office of justice of the peace, and was 
office deputy of the Order of Good Temp- 
lars, is past commander of the local post 
of the Grand Army of the Republic, and a 
member of the Presbyterian church. 

He married, at Constable, New York, 
in September, 1862, Martha M. Garner, 
who died in 1893, daughter of James and 
Nancy Garner. They were the parents 
of six children : Ella May, born October 
4, 1863. deceased; George Eddy, July 15, 
1866; Addie Mabel, July 19, 1868, at 
home; Mattie Eliza, April 21, 1870, mar- 



280 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOCRAI'l 1 V 



ried Fred Bell ; Ernest Alfred, January 2", 
i8j2, at home ; \'iola Dell, August 5, 1877, 
deceased. 

Dr. George Eddy Hunt was born on 
the old homestead in Constable, Franklin 
county, New York, July 15, 1866. His 
early life was spent in his native section, 
where he attended the public schools and 
Franklin Academy. Later he entered 
Tufts College, and in 1894 received the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine from the 
Medical School of that institution. The 
same year he began practice, locating at 
Constable, where he remained until 1899. 
In that year he moved to Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he has been in success- 
ful practice until the present date (1917). 
He is highly regarded as a skillful, honor- 
able physician, and is held in universal 
esteem. He is a member of the medical 
societies of his city and county, the Mas- 
sachusetts Medical Society, and the 
American Medical Association. In fra- 
ternal relation he is af^liated with Wil- 
liam Whiting Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Holyoke Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, in which he has 
filled all the chairs and is a past noble 
grand. In religious faith he is a Congre- 
gationalist, and in politics is a Repub- 
lican. 

Dr. Hunt married in 1898. Dr. Alice 
Elizabeth Palmer, born at Richfield 
Springs, New York, daughter of Dr. 
Danver Palmer, an eminent physician of 
that town. Miss Palmer followed the 
example of her father, two brothers and 
two brothers-in-law, and chose medicine 
as her profession. She is a graduate of 
the medical department of Tufts College, 
obtaining her degree of Doctor of Medi- 
cine in the class of 1894. The same year 
she became resident physician to the 
State Insane Asylum at Danville, Penn- 
sylvania, continuing in that responsible 
position until her marriage in 1898, win- 



ning the highest approbation of the hos- 
pital Ijoard. After resigning from her 
position, Dr. Hunt accompanied her hus- 
l)and to Constable, where she engaged 
with him in practice. The following year 
>he began practice in Holyoke. and has 
established a most satisfactory clientele. 
She is a member of the leading medical 
societies, local. State and National, and 
of the Congregational church. 

(The Sylvester Line). 

(Ij Richard Sylvester, the immigrant 
ancestor, was born in England, and was 
one of the original settlers in Dorchester, 
Massachusetts, in 1630. He applied for 
admission as a freeman of the colony, 
October 19, 1630, but soon afterward re- 
moved to Weymouth, where he was liv- 
ing in 1633. In 1640 he went to the Pil- 
grims at Marshfield. There he held town 
office. His wife Naomi was a sister of 
the famous Captain William, Torrey. of 
Weymouth. Children: Lydia, born 1633 ; 
John. 1634; Peter, 1637; Joseph. 1638; 
Dinah. 1642; Elizabeth. 1643: Richard. 
1648; Naomi. 1649: Israel, mentioned be- 
low; Hester, 1653; P.enjamin. 1656. 

(II) Israel Sylvester, son of Richard. 
was born in 165 1. probably at Marshfield. 
He lived in Scituate, and his house was a 
quarter-mile southeast of the South meet- 
ing house on the Second Herring Brook. 
It stood until 1829. Children, born at 
Scituate: Israel. mentioned below; 
Silence. Richard. Lois. Martha. Mary. 
Elisha, Peter, Zebulon, Bathsheba, De- 
borah. 

(III) Israel (2) Sylvester, son of Israel 
(i) Sylvester, was born at Scituate. Sep- 
tember 23. 1674; baptized there Septem- 
ber 19. 1675. He married. October 3. 
1 701. at Scituate, Ruth Prince. They 
settled in Duxbury. Children, born in 
Duxbury: Ruth. Israel, mentioned be- 
low ; Grace. 



281 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(IV) Israel (3) Sylvester, son of Israel 
(2) Sylvester, was born at Duxbury, 
May 5. 1706. He married. December 12, 

1734, Abigail Snell. born at Duxbury, 
1703, a daughter of Josiah Snell, after- 
ward of West Rridgewater. She died at 
Duxbury, July 22, 1775. He died in 1785. 
Children, born at Duxbury : Joseph, men- 
tioned below; Israel. 

(V) Joseph Sylvester, son of Israel (3) 
Sylvester, was born at Duxbury, July 6, 

1735. He married Lucy Sampson, daugh- 
ter of Ephraim. who came of "Mayflower" 
stock. Joseph settled in North Bridge- 
water. Children, born at North Bridge- 
water : Lucy. Ephraim, Seth, mentioned 
below ; Benjamin. Josiah, Joseph, died 
March 18. 1849. 

(VI ) Seth Sylvester, son of Joseph 
Sylvester, was born at Duxbury, baptized 
there December 25, 1763. At Royalton, 
\'ermont. he erected a fulling mill Oc- 
tober I. 1790. He married, 1788, Han- 
nah Eddy. He died in 1801, in Bos- 
ton. He served in the United States 
Xavy. Children : John, born at Wood- 
stock. Massachusetts. September 8. 1789; 
Galen, born at Royalton, Massachu- 
setts, December 14. 1791. died April 4, 
1866; Seneca, born at Reading, Massa- 
chusetts, May 12, 1794, died March 4, 
1853, married, December 10, 1819, Har- 
riet Curtis ; Ira, born at Peterborough, 
New Hampshire, July 18, 1796. married 
Lucy Davis ; Irena, born at North Bridge- 
water, Mas.sachusetts, October 18. 1798, 
died October, 1869. married at Royalton. 
\'ermont. Luther Hunt (see Hunt). 



COMTOIS, Odilion J., M. D., 

Physician. 

Dr. Comt(jis, one of Holyoke's well 
known physicians, who has been in prac- 
tice in that city for over a quarter of a 
century was born at Three Rivers, 



Canada. He obtained his professional 
education in the United States and in 
Europe, and as medical expert served the 
United States government in Alaska, then 
returning to Holyoke, rich in experience, 
to resume medical practice in that city. 
He is of French parentage, his father, 
Odilion Comtois, being a son of French 
parents and an early settler near Mon- 
treal. Canada. 

Odilion Comtois, son of the French 
emigrant, was born near ^lontreal. 
Canada, and in the city of Montreal 
gained education and business experience. 
At about the age of twenty years he 
moved to Three Rivers. Province of 
Quebec, Canada, where he engaged in 
business as a leather merchant, until his 
death at the age of seventy years. He 
was an able business man, far ahead of 
his times, and so wisely had he conducted 
the affairs of his large business that his 
executors found only thirty dollars in 
outstanding accounts on his books. For 
half a century he was one of the leading 
business men of Three Rivers, also was 
prominent in public aiTairs. He dealt ex- 
clusively for cash in both buying and in 
selling, that fact explaining the small 
amount of the bills receivable. 

He married Alice Rhean, born in Beau- 
fort, Quebec, a highly educated woman 
and professional teacher. After becom- 
ing acquainted with Miss Rhean he pre- 
sented her with a steel pen, the first ever 
seen in that section. His next effort to 
win his lady's favor was the gift of a 
kerosene burning lamp, that too being 
the first of its kind in that section, and 
procured at the cost of a good deal of 
trouble and considerable expense. The 
amount of interest these two common 
articles excited fairly indicates the primi- 
tive region and early date of this incident. 
Eleven children were born to Odilion and 
Alice (Rhean) Comtois, all except Dr. 



282 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Odilion J. yet residing at Three Rivers, 
Canada, the sons eminent bnsiness and 
professional men. The mother yet sur- 
vives, aged eighty-four years. 

Odilion J. Comtois was born at Three 
Rivers. Province of Quebec, Canada, 
March 19, 1859, ^"^ obtained his early 
and preparatory education there. He 
then entered McGill College in Montreal 
and in 1884 he was graduated with the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine. The same 
year he located in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, and began the practice of his pro- 
fession, chiefly among his own people. 
In 1890 he entered the Post-Graduate 
School, New York City, there pursuing a 
full course to graduation, and later spent 
several months in the hospitals of Paris. 
During this trip he was in London at the 
time of Queen Victoria's death, and wit- 
nessed the imposing pageant her funeral 
presented. 

On his return to Holyoke, Dr. Comtois 
was appointed by the government to in- 
vestigate and report upon the causes 
which resulted in the death of about three 
hundred Esquimaux at Kings Island, 
Alaska. This duty he performed, and 
then spent three and a half years in the 
Yukon region on his own responsibility, 
studying the habits of the Esquimaux and 
Alaskan Indians. He was enabled to get 
very close to the lives of those people, 
for he represented the authority of the 
government, being postmaster and re- 
corder of deeds for Kings Island. He 
collected a vast amount of information 
concerning them, and passed through 
many most interesting experiences ere he 
abandoned his investigations and returned 
to the United States. He again located 
in Holyoke, where he has since continued 
in successful practice. 

His practice is large, and among an 
influential clientele by whom he is most 
highly regarded. Cultured, courteous and 



a gentleman we love to allude to as of 
the "old school," Dr. Comtois has a wide 
circle of friends, attracted by his charm- 
ing j)crs(.)nality. In the j)rofcssi(jn his 
medical knowledge, experience and keen 
analytical power have won him exception- 
ally high standing, and his fame has 
spread far beyond the confines of his city 
and county. He is a member of the Hol- 
yoke Medical Society, the French Cath- 
olic Church, and in politics is a Democrat. 
Dr. Comtois married, in 1885, Miss 
Malvina Dufresne, of Three Rivers, 
Canada, daughter of Joseph Dufresne. a 
merchant and hotel proprietor. They 
have an only son, Edgar E. Comtois, born 
in 1888, educated in Holyoke grammar 
and high schools, later attending the 
academy in New York City founded by 
Mrs. Eugene Kelly. He is now a cotton 
broker, associated with the firm of George 
H. McFadden & Brothers, of New York 
Citv. 



DOERING. Paul. 

Bnsiness Manager. 

As manager of the retail department of 
the Henry (i. Sears Company of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts. Mr. Doering fills a posi- 
tion for which his many years of service 
with the company peculiarly fits him. and 
one which he has fairly earned. He is a 
son of Henry and Emma (Muscall) Doer- 
ing. both ot (icrnian birth, wlio in 1880 
came to the United States, bringing with 
them their son Paul, then a child of six 
years. Henry Doering was liorn in Meck- 
lenburg. Schmcren. Germany, in 1836, 
died in Holyoke. Massachusetts. May 7, 
1910. He was a man of good education 
and lousiness ability, and prior to his com- 
ing to the United States he owned and 
operated a woolen mill. In 1880 he lo- 
cated in Holyoke, Massachusetts, where 
until his retirement in 1895 ^^ "^^^^ ^" ^^^ 



283 



EN'CVCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



employ of the Gerniania Mills in an im- 
portant capacity. He was a member of 
the German Lutheran Church, a man of 
both ability and character. Mr. and Mrs. 
Doering^ were the parents of seven chil- 
dren, all b(jrn in Germany: hla, married 
Joseph Bader ; Martha, married Herman 
Himritz; Hannah, deceased; William, 
I'.nul. Paul and Henry, twins, the former 
of further mention, the latter deceased. 

Paul Doering was born in Mecklen- 
l>urg. Schmeren, Germany, also the birth- 
])lace of his father and his mother, June 
28, 1874. At the age of six years he was 
brought to Holyoke, Massachusetts, and 
with the exception of four years in 
Springfield has ever since resided in Hol- 
yoke. He completed public school 
courses of study, and since leaving school 
has been engaged in the grocery business 
in different capacities. Four o