Skip to main content

Full text of "Encyclopedia of Pennsylvania biography"

See other formats

Initiprattg nf ^ptttaburgij 

Darlington Memorial Library 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2009 with funding from 

University of Pittsburgh Library System 

Encyclopedia of Pennsylvania 




Librarian Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia; Author of "Colonial Families 

of Philadelphia;" "Revolutionary History of Bethlehem," 

and various other works. 






o^. <S\ 




4f •2> 







Inventor, Man of Large Affairs. 

Ralph Baggaley, of Pittsburgh, inven- 
tor and man of afifairs, during a long and 
Active life, needed no introduction in the 
United States or in Europe. He was of 
ancient lineage, honorable in the Old 
World and the New. 

The Baggaley family is of French 
origin, but migrated to England and set- 
tled in the county of Chester. Later, 
three branches settled in Derbyshire, on 
the edge of the Duke of Devonshire's 
famous estate, "Chatsworth Park," in a 
little village called Calver. Descendants 
of the family still reside there. The names 
Ralph and William have been in continu- 
ous use for six hundred and fifty years. 

The earliest known public record relates 
to the purchase of the family estate and 
manor of Lostok Gralam, county of Ches- 
ter, Stephen de Trafiford and Isabel his 
wife conveying the property to William 
de Baggelegh, senior; this was in 1321. 
Isabel, heiress of William de Baggelegh, 
married Sir Thomas Danyers, and he was 
seized of Lostok at his death in 1354. His 
heir was an only daughter. 

The record given below is taken in 
substance from a family prayer-book now 
in possession of the family of Ralph 
Baggaley, of Pittsburgh : 

Ralph Baggaley was born October 5, 
1782, and was of Greathucklow. He mar- 
ried, October 25, 1809, at Bakewell, Ann 
Froggatt, born April 22, 1791, a descend- 
ant of Thomas Froggatt, of Calver, Der- 
byshire, and about 1819 or 1820 emi- 
grated to the United States, settling in 
Pennsylvania. His death occurred Au- 
gust 24, 1820. 

William, son of Ralph and Ann (Frog- 
gatt) Baggaley, was born June 19, 181 1, 
and became one of the leading merchants 
of Pittsburgh. He married Elizabeth, 
daughter of William Blair, a business 
man of that city, and their children were : 
William, died in childhood; Theodore; 
Elizabeth, married John Stillwell Clarke, 
of New York ; and Ralph, mentioned be- 
low. Theodore Baggaley served in the 
Civil War with the rank of captain, and 
while leading a charge at the battle of 
Malvern Hill, or White Oak Swamp, was 
severely wounded; he died in 1875. The 
fortune of Mr. Bagaley (who spelled the 
name thus), a fabulous one for those 
times, was wrecked during the Civil War, 
and his death occurred on August 4, 1877, 
in Pittsburgh, while the world-famous 
riots were at their height. 

Ralph Baggaley, son of William and 
Elizabeth (Blair) Bagaley, was born De- 
cember 26, 1846, and attended the Sewick- 
ley Academy of the Rev. Joseph S. Tra- 
velli, and Kenwood Academy, New 
Brighton. Soon after the outbreak of the 
Civil War, with three schoolmates, he 
enlisted and started for West Virginia, 
but Mr. Bagaley obtained their discharge 
and sent Ralph to a private school in 
Dresden, Germany, where he remained 
more than three years. The loss of his 
father's fortunes caused him to return 
home, and in the terrible times immedi- 
ately following the war he entered the 
employ of Bollman & Company, serving 
at first without compensation in order to 
become familiar with business methods. 

A youth of this caliber was sure to suc- 
ceed. Within a short time, the firm hav- 
ing become bankrupt, Mr. Baggaley 
formed a new organization under the 



name of Baggaley, Young & Company, 
and continued the foundry and machine 
business. The enterprise was success- 
ful from the outset, and still continues 
under the name of the Seaman-Sleeth 

In 1868 Mr. Baggaley formed a friend- 
ship with George Westinghouse, St., with 
whom he was associated in bringing Mr. 
Westinghouse's invention before the pub- 
lic. Patents were then applied for and a 
company with a nominal capital stock of 
$500,000 was formed, Mr. Westinghouse 
receiving $200,000 and Mr. Baggaley 
$100,000. Throughout the long and try- 
ing period of waiting and endeavor, Mr. 
Baggaley was the mainstay and right 
hand of the struggling inventor. Mr. 
Westinghouse spent twelve years in fruit- 
less efforts to introduce the invention in 
England and France, and it seemed that 
the cause was lost, but Mr. Baggaley, 
dropping his work in Pittsburgh, went to 
London and remained there thirty-three 
days. In sixty days thereafter the foreign 
company, which had previously been 
formed, was making money. 

In course of time the Brake Company's 
business became so large that it had to 
be moved, and the Westinghouse Ma- 
chine Company was organized. In three 
years and eight months the concern had 
sunk its entire capital stock, and $80,000 
in addition. At this time Mr. Baggaley 
was about to sail for Europe with his 
family, to remain three years, owing to 
ill health. The Pittsburgh banks that 
held Machine Company notes notified Mr. 
Westinghouse that the company must be 
liquidated and pay its debts. He replied 
that this would also stop the Brake Com- 
pany, the Signal Company and the Elec- 
tric Company, and asked if there were 
any terms on which the Company would 
be permitted to continue business. The 
banks replied that if Ralph Baggaley 
were given entire charge of the business 

it might continue, and they would carry 
it. This was done, and the same banks 
furnished $25,000 more money for new 

The next problem which engaged Mr. 
Baggaley's attention was of singular in- 
terest. Havemeyer, president of the 
Sugar Trust, had notified Glaus Spreckels 
that he must relinquish his immense 
sugar interests on the Pacific coast and 
in Hawaii, as the Sugar Trust proposed 
owning it all. Captain Watson, Mr. 
Spreckels' general manager, said that an 
engine of unusually high speed would 
enable them to compete with Haver- 
meyer, and Mr. Baggaley gave him the 
opportunity of putting his idea to the test. 
Everything worked beautifully, Mr. 
Spreckels built a new refinery in Phila- 
delphia, and at the end of two years of 
furious competition doubled its capacity. 
It was with the deepest gratitude that he 
and Captain Watson acknowledged their 
great indebtedness to Mr. Baggaley. 

One of Mr. Baggaley's partners, Robert 
Pitcairn, with a number of his friends, 
had organized the Consolidated Gas Com- 
pany, and owing to an incompetent book- 
keeper they became involved in difficul- 
ties. Mr. Pitcairn told Mr. Baggaley that 
he was ruined, and that he (Mr. Bagga- 
ley) was the only man in the world who 
could save him and all his friends from 
complete overthrow. Mr. Baggaley 
agreed to work every night on the prob- 
lem after his own day's work was done. 
He did so and the firm was saved. 

About 1875 Mr. Baggaley purchased 
the "Evening Telegraph." It was losing 
money and had no press-dispatch serv- 
ice. At this time Jay Gould owned the 
Atlantic & Pacific Telegraph Company, 
which had no press association, but was 
nevertheless competing with the West- 
ern Union Telegraph Company and had 
a very large income from the Western 
Associated Press and the New York As- 



sociated Press. Mr. Baggaley went to 
New York and called a meeting of free- 
lance newspapers from all parts of the 
country, by telegraph, after conferring 
with the officials of the Atlantic & Pacific 
Telegraph Company. The result was a 
new press association whose afternoon 
service, at least, was far fuller and better 
than that of its competitors. The "Tele- 
graph" was owned and operated for seven 
years as a free-lance in politics and 
everything else. The paper was the first 
in Pittsburgh, and, indeed, in the west, 
to make a great feature of a financial de- 
partment. Mr. Baggaley was a director 
in twenty-six corporations of all kinds, 
and financial news was available that 
others could not get. 

In the interest of his paper, Mr. Bagga- 
ley devised a novel advertising scheme 
consisting of powerful electrical appara- 
tus. It was submitted to Professor S. F. 
Langley, then in charge of the Western 
Observatory, who approved it, but in 
view of the great expense which it would 
involve, more than $50,000, it was de- 
cided that better results could be ob- 
tained by spending this amount in im- 
proved news service. 

During the riots of 1877, Mr. Baggaley 
witnessed from the top of a freight car 
the fight with the Philadelphia regiment 
at Twenty-eighth street. He at once 
drove to his publishing house and wrote 
a three-column description of the event 
for his evening edition. This was the 
only account by an eye-witness that was 
published, and it was at once telegraphed 
as a press dispatch to every member of 
the Atlantic & Pacific Telegraph Com- 
pany Association, and was also tele- 
graphed as a "special" to every important 
paper in this country and in Europe. And 
the "Evening Telegraph" was given 
credit for the news. 

About the time of the riots, a thrilling 
mystery case existed at Binghamton, 

New York. Colonel Dwight, a promi- 
nent citizen who had recently insured his 
life for a large sum, died under suspicious 
circumstances. Timothy Brosnan,a noted 
detective and an old friend of Mr. Bagga- 
ley, was employed to ferret out the facts 
and furnished a complete solution of the 
mystery. A detailed account was pub- 
lished in the "Evening Telegraph," and 
the editor of the New York "Herald" 
authorized his local agent to ofifer "the 
man that wrote that article" five thou- 
sand dollars to join the "Herald" staff. 
He then wrote that he could not under- 
stand how a "country editor" (as he 
called him) could get such a "beat" on 
every big daily paper in the world. 

The "Telegraph" took a fearless stand 
for right during the riots, as always, and 
the publishing house was set on fire three 
times, but owing to the fact that men 
were constantly on guard the loss was 
trifling. Later the residence of Mr. Bag- 
galey was also partially burned. At this 
time the building of the "Dispatch" was 
totally destroyed by fire, and no one was 
equipped to furnish aid but its evening 
rival, the "Telegraph." Mr. Baggaley 
generously came to the rescue, and when 
asked, "What will your charge be?" re- 
plied, "Eugene (O'Neil) may make out 
the bill himself after his publishing house 
has been rebuilt." The "Dispatch" ap- 
peared as usual next morning, and the 
two papers lived together in harmony for 
several months. 

The Pennsylvania Railroad Company's 
loss from the riots in Allegheny county 
exceeded five and one-half millions, and 
the company wished the county to issue 
$2,500,000 in bonds to help it rebuild. A 
great public meeting was held, and Mr. 
Baggaley's speech in favor of the com- 
pany was enthusiastically applauded, and 
resolutions endorsing the bond issue were 
adopted in a whirlwind of assent. This 
action not only helped the Pennsylvania 



Railroad Company, but also saved Alle- 
gheny county expensive litigation in 
which it w^ould have been compelled to 
pay double the amount asked for. 

About this time the "Evening Chron- 
icle," which was controlled by Joseph G. 
Siebenick, was consolidated with the 
"Evening Telegraph." The relationship 
was always pleasant and the property be- 
came a staple twelve per cent, invest- 
ment. The controlling interest was sold 
at a good price to Dr. C. G. Hussey, and 
later the paper was sold to the Oliver 

About 1870, in association with Henry 
W. Oliver and other prominent citizens, 
Mr. Baggaley organized the Duquesne 
Club. It is still in a prosperous condi- 
tion and is the largest club in Pittsburgh. 

It was Mr. Baggaley who foresaw the 
end of the Pittsburgh cotton business, 
and after the Civil War sold his stock in 
the Eagle and Banner Cotton Mills. His 
discernment was abundantly justified. 
Mills sprang up in the south, and the 
cotton business of Pittsburgh died and is 
still dead. 

The Baggaley family attended Sn An- 
drew's Protestant Episcopal Church, and 
a new edifice had recently been erected, 
but the Rev. William Preston, who was 
the pastor and a truly good man, was old 
and feeble, and the building was much 
larger than the dwindling congregation 
needed. It was decided that young men 
be put into ofifice, and Mr. Baggaley and 
a number of others were elected. An elo- 
quent young preacher, Dr. Swope, was 
employed to assist Dr. Preston, and Mr. 
Baggaley was placed in charge of the 
music In accordance with his opinion 
that a church service should be made 
attractive, he engaged a fine quartette 
and an organist of superior ability. This 
was the first great quartette choir in 
Pittsburgh, and one of the first in the 
United States. Its effect was almost 

magical. The morning service was so 
well attended that pews were placed in 
every available space, and still there was 
sometimes not room enough. Other 
churches soon followed this example. 

As the owner of a tract of pine land in 
Clarion county, Mr. Baggaley organized 
the Arthurs Coal and Lumber Company, 
and built saw-mills and fifty-eight miles 
of railroad. The latter is now a part of 
the Bp.ltimore & Ohio main line to Buf- 
falo. Mr. Baggaley also purchased some 
two thousand acres of hemlock and hard- 
wood timber land in Cameron and Elk 

In 1876 Mr. Baggaley visited the Cen- 
tennial Exposition in Philadelphia and 
there saw Professor Bell's speaking tele- 
phone. In the competition between Edi- 
son and Bell, some young bankers of 
Pittsburgh made a contract with the Bell 
interests for their agency in five counties 
near that city. The results were dis- 
astrous, and Mr. Baggaley was forced to 
take charge in order to save his friends. 
He spent seven weeks in New York and 
Boston in negotiations with the officials 
of the Western Union Telegraph Com- 
pany (then controlled by William H. 
Vanderbilt), the Gold and Stock Tele- 
graph Company, the American Bell Tele- 
phone Company and the Central District 
and Printing Telegraph Company. At 
the same time five experts were employed 
to harmonize the dififerences between the 
Edison and Bell interests. The fight was 
very bitter, but an agreement was finally 
reached. Mr. Baggaley charged nothing 
for his services, but the syndicate pre- 
sented his wife with twenty thousand 

In the litigation between Jay Gould and 
the American Bell Company, Mr. Bagga- 
ley was called to the United States Court 
as an expert witness. After he had spent 
two days on the stand, the lawyers in- 
sisted that he should negotiate a settle- 



ment of the suit out of court, claiming 
that he was the one man equipped to do 
this great work. The result of Mr. Bag- 
galey's mediation was the settlement of 
thirty years of litigation by the payment 
of $3,300,000, or less than one-third of the 
amount claimed and sued for. In recog- 
nition of his services the Bell Telephone 
people furnished him with free telephone 
service for thirty years. 

Mr. Baggaley took an active part in 
the organization and building of the Pitts- 
burgh & Lake Erie railroad, persevering 
in the face of much discouragement from 
railroad officials, but, as so often before, 
the event justified him. In the historic 
contest in regard to the building of the 
South Pennsylvania railroad, Mr. Bagga- 
ley played an important and honorable 
part, but it is needless to give the details 
of an episode which now forms one of the 
most thrilling chapters in the railroad 
annals of the United States. 

Almost from the time he commenced 
business in 1867, Mr. Baggaley suffered 
from inflammatory rheumatism, two of 
the attacks almost costing him his life. 
About 1888 he suffered greatly from his 
malady and also from overwork. He was 
a director in four banks and in twenty- 
four other corporations, and was under 
obligation to attend over two thousand 
meetings annually in addition to his regu- 
lar employment. Realizing that this was 
a strain which no one, even in health, 
could endure and live, Mr. Baggaley re- 
signed in one day from eighteen corpora- 
tions, and thereafter steadily reduced his 
business engagements. 

At one time, while quite ill, he under- 
took for a year, and from motives of 
friendship, a task which would have ap- 
palled many men in the full enjoyment of 
health. The United States Glass Com- 
pany, or, as it was called, the "Glass 
Trust," had been forced to suspend oper- 
ations through the arbitrary exactions of 

the Flint Glass Workers' Union. This 
union controlled seven thousand votes in 
Allegheny county, had $72,000 in its 
treasury, and could point to a record 
which chronicled no defeat. Friends of 
Mr. Baggaley had their principal re- 
sources invested in the company, and it 
was at their entreaty that he undertook 
the work of extricating them. His wis- 
dom, energy and inflexible determination 
resulted in a victory for the company. In 
eighteen months seven factories were in 
successful operation, and the company 
commenced making money for the first 
time in its history. Mr. Baggaley, who 
had accomplished this great task at the 
risk of his life, not only from disease but 
also from the machinations of the union, 
resigned, and was ill in bed for more than 
seven months thereafter. 

By the time Mr. Baggaley had recov- 
ered his health sufficiently to chafe under 
prolonged idleness, the great trusts were 
in process of formation and the question 
arose : What business can one engage in 
that can succeed? Mr. Baggaley and 
William Hainsworth together invented 
and patented a splendid wheel and a roll- 
ing machine in which the tread and flange 
were rolled. One hundred and twenty 
perfect wheels were made at the first at- 
tempt and outlasted five-fold the best 
wheels that had ever before been tested 
on the Pennsylvania Railroad. Yet the 
whole scheme failed by reason of the 
selfishness and short-sightedness of cer- 
tain men who were unable to see that 
"honesty is the best policy." 

In 1900 Mr. Baggaley purchased the 
entire Gold Hill Mountain, sixteen hun- 
dred acres, with immense water-power, 
and patented it all. Investigation proved 
it to be a vast field for improvement and 
invention, and Mr. Baggaley entered it 
with enthusiasm and knowledge. Over 
one hundred United States patents were 
obtained on inventions in this line of im- 


provement, and the officials of the patent 
office said that the regular printed issue 
of copies of these patents for sale had 
been five times as many as that of any 
other American inventor. 

From this time forth Mr. Baggaley's 
attention was for many years chiefly oc- 
cupied with mining interests, and v/ith 
his inventions in connection with them. 
One of the details in the complete copper 
process which has attracted universal at- 
tention and has now been adopted all 
over the world is the development and 
successful use of the basic-lined con- 
verter and the dissolving of silicious min- 
eral-bearing ores in it in lieu of destroy- 
, ing the silicious lining of the old-fash- 
ioned converter. This invention alone 
has reduced the cost uf making copper 
about three cents per pound, yet Mr. 
Baggaley's theories on this were contro- 
verted by every metallurgist and by all 
the text-books in the world. After he 
had used this process for eight and a half 
months and had made hundreds of thou- 
sands of dollars' worth of copper by it 
the experts could no longer dispute his 
claims and they then adopted the process. 
It has now superseded all other processes. 
In association with a number of others, 
Mr. Baggaley organized the Pittsburgh 
and Montana Copper Company, and, not 
long after, Franklin Farrell, controller of 
the American Brass Company in New 
England, insisted that Mr. Baggaley 
should become his partner and take over 
the management of his two hundred and 
sixty-seven acres at Butte. Mr. Bagga- 
ley refused, stating that he was then de- 
veloping sixteen hundred acres at Gold 
Hill, Washington, but after much nego- 
tiation Mr. Farrell bought the Gold Hill 
property at its cost of $258,000, in part 
payment for his Butte property, and Mr. 
Baggaley became manager at Butte, 
agreeing to turn over his inventions to 
the company (with certain reservations) 

so long as he remained in charge. He 
was ofifered a salary of $25,000, which 
was refused because he considered the 
scheme "a family afifair." 

Mr. Baggaley remained in Butte three 
years and a half, developing with wisdom 
and foresight the possibilities of the prop- 
erty, which only failed through the weak- 
ness of its financial management, but is 
to-day a rich and prosperous mine, with 
its debts paid, the control having been 
purchased by the East Butte Company. 
Mr. Baggaley proved that there was pay 
ore in the flats of Butte. 

Dr. Edward Weston has truthfully 
said : "There are three stages to an in- 
vention. In the first, competitors say, 
'It's theoretically impossible.' In the 
next, 'It can't be done, mechanically.' In 
the third, 'We did it ourselves three years 
ago'." This has been Mr. Baggaley's ex- 
perience to the letter with the experts in 
the copper business. But his inventions 
are now in universal use all over the 

After leaving Butte and severing all 
connection with the company, Mr. Bag- 
galey developed a number of important 
and valuable inventions. It may well be 
supposed that a man whose time for 
nearly half a century was so intensely 
and continuously occupied as was Mr. 
Baggaley's, would be able to give little 
attention to anything outside the sphere 
of his regular work, but the mechanical 
genius and fine administrative abilities 
of this leading citizen of Pittsburgh was 
always combined with breadth of view 
and liberality of sentiment, making the 
range of his interests exceptionally ex- 
tensive. He affiliated with Franklin 
Lodge, No. 221, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, and Duquesne Chapter, and was a 
life member of the Art Society of Pitts- 
burgh, the American Association for the 
Advancement of Science, the National 
Geographic Society, the American Soci- 




ety of Mechanical Engineers, the Amer- 
ican Institute of Mining Engineers and 
the Strollers' Club of New York. He 
also belonged to the Duquesne Club 
which as stated above, he was instru- 
mental in founding. 

To attempt a detailed description of 
the personal appearance of Mr. Baggaley, 
a man of international reputation, would 
be almost absurd, especially as it can be 
summed up in a single sentence — he 
looked the man he was. 

Mr. Baggaley married (first) in 1875, 
Mary, daughter of Robert and Harriet 
(Alden) Arthurs, and their children 
were : Robert Alden, deceased ; Mary, 
wife of D. King Irwin ; Elizabeth, wife 
of A. Rook Carroll ; Annabel Whitney, 
wife of Walter R. Hine ; and William 
Blair. Mr. Baggaley married (second) 
June II, 1896, Effie, daughter of George 
M. and Euphemia (King) Irwin, becom- 
ing by this union the father of two chil- 
dren : Euphemia, born in 1897; and 
Ralph, Jr., born in 1900. 

It is interesting to note that the two 
names of Ralph and William still exist 
in the family after more than six hun- 
dred and fifty years of continuous use. 

Some narratives leave nothing to be 
said. Additional words would serve but 
to blur and weaken their clarity and 
strength. So it is with the story of the 
career of Ralph Baggaley. His record, 
which was its own eulogy, closed with 
his death, September 23, 1915. 

Mr. Baggaley's father dropped one "g" 
from the spelling of his name when a 
young man commencing business, and 
about 1893 ^^'■- Baggaley restored the "g" 
to its original place in the family name. 

BLAIR, John Chalmers, 

Enterprising Citizen, Philanthropist. 

A monument in the beautiful cemetery 
at Huntingdon. Pennsylvania, bears these 
words : 

"A Life of Deeds — Not Years." 
Beside this monument rests all that was mortal 

of a man whose nobility of character was 

only excelled by his kindness of heart. 
A man in whom was combined breadth of vision, 

far sightedness and executive ability of the 

highest order. 

The originator of an industry, unique 
ir conception and execution, and which; 
under his guidance, gained the highest 
measure of business success ; first in 
every measure for the betterment of his 
community and its people, his life, in its 
entirety, merits the inscription which is 
quoted above. 

John Chalmers Blair was born near 
Shade Gap, Huntingdon county, Penn- 
sylvania, November 26, 1847, of a long 
Ime of Scotch-Irish ancestors. His great- 
grandfather, Alexander Blair, was the 
first of the family to adopt America as his 
home, settling in the wilderness near 
Shade Gap, Pennsylvania. His education 
began in the public schools of the village, 
and was completed in Milnwood Acad- 
emy, Huntingdon Academy, and the 
Eastman College at Poughkeepsie, New 
York. His business career began as 
agent for his father, making settlements 
with the local agents for the stage line be- 
tween his home town and Chambersburg 
On one of these collection trips it was his 
fortune to see and report to the northern 
towns. General Stuart's raid on Cham- 
bersburg. The carrying of this news did 
much to keep the Confederate cavalry 
from further northern progress. The 
family moved to the county-seat at Hunt- 
ingdon, Pennsylvania, in April, 1863, and 
"Chal," as he was known to his boy 
friends, was attending school when the 
news came from Gettysburg that his 
father, Brice X. Blair, then captain of 
Company I, One Hundred and Forty- 
ninth ("Bucktails") Pennsylvania Infan- 
try, had been seriously wounded. Mother 
and son left at once for the battlefield, 


and, after finding Captain Blair, brought 
him to Huntingdon and home. 

In 1866 he served as clerk in the bank- 
ing house of Bell, Garrettson & Company, 
which eventually became the First Na- 
tional Bank of Huntingdon, of which in- 
stitution J. C. Blair was for many years 
afterward a director. After his bank 
clerking experience, he purchased a small 
bookstore which under his energetic im- 
provements soon took on new life. On 
May 25, 1871, the young merchant was 
happily united in marriage to Miss Kate 
Fisher, daughter of the Hon. Thomas 
Fisher, of Huntingdon, Pennsylvania. 
As an adjunct to the book and stationery 
business a small printing office was 
added, and the first step of his real life's 
work was taken. Believing that a market 
existed for pencil and writing papers 
arranged in tablet form, the first experi- 
mental lots were made using copper tacks 
as a means for stapling the leaves and 
back together. The manufacturing plant 
at this time consisted of a small Gordon 
press and its operator, and a hand power 
cutting machine and its operator, plus 
the dynamic "Scotch-Irish" push of the 
young proprietor. With an abiding faith 
in printer's ink and publicity, the little 
business grew and prospered, outgrowing 
building after building. In 1884 the first 
new building of what is now one of 
America's model factory groups was 
built, five others following as the busi- 
ness expanded. Incorporation was made 
in 1891 as the J. C. Blair Company. 

The borough of Huntingdon also 
profited during these busy business years 
by the work and council of John Chal- 
mers Blair, whose administration as chief 
burgess for two terms and services in 
the borough council helped greatly in 
establishing the system of brick and 
macadam streets and the modernizing of 
the public school and cemetery grounds. 
Through his earnest efiforts the local 

celebration of county and borough cen- 
tennial anniversaries were carried to a 
successful finish, the present "Standing 
Stone" monument being erected by him 
in 1896. His religious affiliations were 
with the Presbyterian church, and con- 
stant attendance and ready support of 
all measures for betterment testified to 
the interest he felt in church and Sab- 
bath school. In social life his club mem- 
berships included the Union League, 
Manufacturers and Art Clubs of Philadel- 
phia, and the Huntingdon Club in his 
home town. 

Essentially a busy man, he limited his 
travel for pleasure, but on visits to Eu- 
rope and different sections of the United 
States and Canada he brought back with 
him the views of a keen observer and a 
critical analyst who saw the "inside" of 
things and profited by the seeing. His 
relations with his employees are best 
shown by the fact that the term of service 
of many of them dates back to the earliest 
commencement of the business. Always 
a word of commendation for the task well 
done or a bit of help for the one who 
needed it, every employee, to him, was a 
friend and fellow-worker, and not merely 
a machine that could turn out so much 
work in a day. His personal friends were 
many, and even those of his business 
friends, who had never met the man him- 
self, seemed to consider his written words 
as those of a close personal friend. Some 
of the most heartfelt words of condolence 
that came in after his death were from 
his business competitors. His home life 
was ideal and his greatest time of enjoy- 
ment was passed inside its walls. He 
numbered among his correspondents poet, 
preacher, politician, and the thousand 
other classes which make up society, and 
he derived much pleasure from their 
epistles, especially from those of literary 
tastes and inclinations. His book-shelves 
were not limited to a "five-foot" space, 


but he roamed at will through all English 
literature, especially the poets. During 
the fall of 1896, illness compelled Mr. 
Blair to seek medical aid and, after an 
illness of about seven months the daunt- 
less spirit passed away on June 23, 1897. 

That "the good that men do, live after 
them" is a true saying, has never been 
shown more clearly than in the life of 
John Chalmers Blair. His will and 
memoranda left after his death show con- 
clusively the breadth and clearness of his 
vision for the future. The older employees 
were remembered with generous shares 
of stock in the business, and have carried 
on the company affairs with ample suc- 
cess. His plans for Blair Park and the 
Town Athletic Field and the ridge drive 
to Simla, all have been carried out to 
completion and maintained as his gifts to 
the public, and as a crowning benefaction 
Mrs. Kate Fisher Blair has built and 
given to the public one of the finest and 
most complete hospitals in the country. 
The J. C. Blair Memorial Hospital, dedi- 
cated to the memory of John Chalmers 
Blair, Merchant, Manufacturer and Phi- 
lanthropist, stands on a hill overlooking 
the town of Huntingdon, a perpetual 
memorial to one of her foremost citzens. 
The hospital was opened for service on 
September 4, 191 1, and has proved a 
blessing to the country round-about, 
rendering prompt efficient service to the 
needy "without money and without 

The entire business career and life of 
John Chalmers Blair stand as a record 
to be emulated by any young man. The 
love of his associates, the gratitude of his 
employees, the sense of a great loss by 
his townsmen and the general public all 
point to a life well spent, a life worthy 
of the commendation "Well done, good 
and faithful servant — enter thou into the 
joy of thy Lord." 

LICHTY, John Alden, M. D., 

Practitioner, Instructor, Author. 

The history of the medical profession 
in Pittsburgh is well-nigh coeval with the 
existence of the city and is a record of 
devotion to the progress of science and 
the service of humanity. The prestige 
early acquired has been nobly maintained 
by the successive generations and promi- 
nent among those who uphold it at the 
present time is Dr. John Alden Lichty, 
Associate Professor of Medicine in the 
University of Pittsburgh, and one of the 
city's leading practitioners. Dr. Lichty 
has been for the last fifteen years a resi- 
dent of Pittsburgh and is thoroughly 
identified with her most essential inter- 

The great-grandfather of John Alden 
Lichty was born in Canton Berne, Swit- 
zerland, and in 1768 emigrated to Penn- 
sylvania, landing in Delaware county, 
subsequently removing to Lancaster 
county, and finally settling in Somerset 
county, where his descendants have been 
farmers and men of prominence. His 
wife was also a native of Canton Berne, 
Switzerland. Among their children was 
John Calvin Lichty, see below. 

(H) John Calvin Lichty was born in 
Somerset county, and married Elizabeth, 
also a native of Somerset county, daugh- 
ter of John L Fike. 

(HI) Jonas, son of John Calvin and 
Elizabeth (Fike) Lichty, was born Sep- 
tember, 1830, in Somerset county, where 
he engaged in farming and also labored 
as a minister of the German Baptist 
church. He married Mary, daughter of 
William and Mary (Walker) Miller, 
natives of German Switzerland. Air. 
Miller was a farmer and contractor, 
building the large wooden bridges once 
so common in Pennsylvania. Mr. and 
Mrs. Lichty were the parents of the fol- 



lowing children : Harvey M., of Sunny- 
side, Washington ; William Henry, a 
clergyman of Waterloo, Iowa; Elizabeth, 
married D. M. Saylor, of Morrill, Kansas, 
and is now deceased ; Carrie, wife of D. 
F. Walker, of Somerset, Pennsylvania ; 
Amanda, wife of Peter Plough, of Water- 
loo, Iowa ; Calvin, died in youth ; John 
Alden, mentioned below ; Milton Jay, a 
physician of Cleveland, Ohio; and Annie, 
died in youth. The Rev. Jonas Lichty 
died November 21, 1893, and his wife 
passed away in May, 18S8. 

(IV") John Alden, son of Jonas and 
Mary (Miller) Lichty, was born Febru- 
ary 26, 1866, at Meyersdale, Somerset 
county, Pennsylvania, and attended the 
Meyersdale preparatory school. While 
attending this school he taught school 
one winter, the terms being very short. 
He then entered Mount Union College, 
Alliance, Ohio, and between times of at- 
tending this institution was superintend- 
ent of schools at Carleton, Nebraska. He 
graduated from Mount Union College in 
1890. with the degree of Bachelor of 
Philosophy. He taught mathematics for 
two years in college while a student. He 
then entered the Medical Department of 
the University of Pennsylvania, and in 
1893 received from that institution the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine. The same 
year Mount Union College conferred 
upon him the degree of Master of Phil- 
osophy. After serving for eighteen 
months in the Philadelphia Hospital Dr. 
Lichty entered the Medical Department 
of the LTniversity of Berlin, Germany, 
where for a year he devoted himself to 
study and special research work. On his 
return to the United States he became 
connected with the Clifton Springs Sani- 
tarium, Clifton Springs, New York, re- 
maining there three years. In 1S99 he 
came to Pittsburgh, took up the practice 
of internal medicine, and speedily met 
with recognition. He is connected with 

the Mercy Hospital and also with Co- 
lumbia Hospital, and since 1909 has been 
Associate Professor of Medicine in the 
University of Pittsburgh. He is a trus- 
tee of Clifton Springs Sanitarium, and a 
member of the State Board of Charities of 
the State of Pennsylvania. Among the 
professional organizations to which Dr. 
Lichty belongs are the following: The 
Academy of Medicine, the Allegheny 
County Medical Society, the Pennsyl- 
vania State Medical Society, the Ameri- 
can Medical Association, the American 
Academy of Medicine, the American 
Gastro-Entrological Association, the 
American Climatological Association and 
the Biological Society of the University 
of Pittsburgh. 

Devoted as he has been to the active 
duties of his profession. Dr. Lichty's pen 
has not been idle. He has for a consider- 
able period contributed to medical maga- 
zines several articles a year on cases and 
subjects of more than ordinary import- 
ance. The list, which is a long one, in- 
cludes the following: "A Clinical Study 
of the Relation of the Blood, the Urine 
and the Gastric Contents in Diseases of 
the Stomach" (Philadelphia Medical 
Journal, February 11, 1899) ; "Relation 
of Uric Acid to Migraine ;" "Movable 
Kidney : With a Report of Cases ;" "The 
Early or Premonitory Symptoms of Per- 
nicious Anaemia" (Journal of the Amer- 
ican Medical Association, June 29, 1907) ; 
"Differential Diagnosis and Treatment of 
Pyloric Stenosis" (Pennsylvania Medical 
Journal, April, 1907) ; "A Consideration 
of Failing Cardiac Compensation" (Penn- 
sylvania Medical Journal, August, 1907) ; 
"The Gastro-Intestinal Disturbances As- 
sociated with Migraine" (New York Med- 
ical Journal, October 20, 1906) ; "Tuber- 
culosis of the Gastro-Intestinal Tract" 
(American Medical Journal, March 11, 
1905) ; "Malignant Lymphoma" (Penn- 
sylvania Medical Journal, December, 


1906) ; "A Consideration of the Etiology 
of Mucus Colitis" (American Medical 
Journal, August 9, 1902) ; "The Preva- 
lence of Malaria in Pittsburgh" (Penn- 
sylvania Medical Journal) ; "The Treat- 
ment of Gastric Ulcer Based Upon the 
Results of 140 Cases" (International 
Clinics, Volume IV, series 18) ; "Inci- 
dence of Gall-Bladder Trouble and Gas- 
tric Ulcer" (Lancet-Clinic, December 12, 
1908) ; "Gastric Ulcer Complicated with 
the Symptoms of Cholelithiasis" (Amer- 
ican Medical Journal, October, 1907) ; 
"The Relation of the Diseases of the Gall- 
Bladder and Biliary Ducts to the Gastric 
Functions" (American Journal of the 
Medical Sciences, January, 191 1) ; "Per- 
foration in Duodenal Ulcer" (New York 
Medical Journal, July i, 191 1) ; "Report 
of Two Cases of Henoch's Purpura with 
Symptoms like Acute Appendicitis" (Ar- 
chives of Diagnosis, July, 1909) ; "Diffi- 
culties in Early Recognition of Certain 
Diseases of the Pancreas ;" "Gastro-Intes- 
tinal Stasis ;" "Appendicitis Considered 
from the Standpoint of the Internist, based 
upon 750 Cases;" "Clinical Consideration 
of Gastric Hemorrhage." 

As a true citizen, Dr. Lichty takes a 
keen and active interest in everything 
relating to the welfare and advancement 
of Pittsburgh. In politics he is a Repub- 
lican, but neither seeks nor desires office, 
preferring to concentrate his energies on 
the duties of his profession. No good 
work done in the name of charity or 
religion appeals to him in vain. He is 
a member of the University Club and the 
Alpha Tau Omega fraternity of Mount 
Union College and the University of 
Pittsburgh. He affiliates with the Ma- 
sonic fraternity, belonging to Palmyra 
Zenobia Commandery, of New York 
State, and also to the Knights Templar. 
He is a member of the Shady Avenue 
Baptist Church 

The explanation of Dr. Lichty's great 

success as a practitioner may be found in 
the fact that he combines a thorough 
classical and medical education with in- 
nate talents of no common order. A 
hard student, he is enthusiastic in his 
efforts to elevate the standard of the prcn 
fession, keeping fully abreast of the times. 
Of florid complexion, his strong yet ?.en- 
sitive features accentuated by closely- 
clipped moustache and beard, his counte- 
nance shows him to be a highly intellec- 
tual man of much force of character and 
vigorous individuality. The deep, search- 
ing eyes are those of one possessing 
quick perceptions and his manner, digni- 
fied and courteous, is indicative of a 
genial nature. His friends, both in and 
out of his profession, are numbered by the 
hundred. He is a true gentleman and a 
man of fixed principles — a man in the 
fullest sense of the word. 

Dr. Lichty married, December 11, 1894, 
Cora Lane, daughter of Joseph and 
Elizabeth (Lane) Stoner, of Greens- 
burg, Pennsylvania, and they are the pa- 
rents of the following children : Doro- 
thy, now attending Winchester school, 
Pittsburgh ; Marjorie, also at Winchester 
school ; John .Alden Jr., born May 30, 
1905 ; and Joseph Stoner, born March 19, 
1907, both attending Pittsburgh public 
schools. Dr. Lichty is devoted to his 
home and family. 

Dr. Lichty is now just entering upon 
the meridian of life and his past gives 
assurance of honors which await him in 
the future. His record as a practitioner 
will be written in multitudes of grateful 
hearts as well as in the annals of medi- 
cine, but it is not thus alone that his name 
will be preserved. It will live in the 
literature of his profession as that of the 
author of contributions which have ad- 
vanced the cause of science and shed 
light on the path of those who labor for 
the relief of suffering humanity. 



WEIL, A. Leo, 

Lawyer, Frominent Civic Worker. 

The future of Pittsburgh is in the hands 
not of her industrial leaders and poten- 
tates alone, but also in those of the men 
who are working for her civic improve- 
ment and moral betterment, and who 
administer her laws. Her standing in the 
years to come depends largely on the 
strides she makes along civic and social 
lines, and on the evenhanded justice she 
deals out to all her citizens without dis- 
crimination of rank; fortune or social 
standing, and for advancement along 
these lines she looks with confidence to 
such men as A. Leo Weil, senior member 
of the law firm of Weil & Thorp, and one 
of the most prominent civic workers as 
well as one of the most prominent and 
aggressive attorneys now practicing at 
the bar of the Iron City. For more than 
twenty-five years Mr. Weil has been a 
resident of Pittsburgh, and is conspicu- 
ous as one of her most prominent 
lawyers and as well one of the most civic- 
spirited men to be found within her 
limits, prominently associated with all 
her most vital interests. 

A. Leo Weil was born July 19, 1858, 
at Keysville, Charlotte county, Virginia, 
and was a son of Isaac L. and Minna 
(Weil) Weil, the former having been for 
several years established in business in 
the South. The ancestors of A. Leo Weil 
were natives of Bavaria, Germany. The 
boy received his elementary education 
in the log cabin schoolhouses of Virginia, 
fame, in the old fashioned boarding 
schools of Virginia, and in the high 
school of Titusville, Pennsylvania, to 
which city his parents removed from 
Virginia. He attended the Academic and 
Law Departments of the University of 
Virginia, and in 1879 was admitted to the 
bar of Virginia, then of Ohio, and next of 
Pennsylvania, in 1880. 

From 1880 to 1887 Mr. Weil practiced 
at Bradford, Pennsylvania, achieving 
more than usual success, but in the latter 
year a desire for the larger opportunities 
of a wider field led him to remove to 
Pittsburgh, where he has since continu- 
ously remained, building up an extensive 
and lucrative practice. His marked 
ability, combined with devotion to duty, 
soon brought him into prominence and 
he became the legal representative of 
large interests, making a specialty of 
corporation law. Strong in reasoning 
and forceful in argument, he possesses 
that legal instinct which makes its way 
quickly through immaterial details to the 
essential points upon which the deter- 
mination of a cause must turn, and he 
combines with his other qualifications 
much of the magnetic force of the orator. 
Into every cause intrusted to him he 
throws the whole force of his personality, 
learning, skill and experience, allowing 
none of the many interests committed 
to his care to sufifer for want of close and 
able attention and industry. 

In all that concerns the city's welfare 
Mr. Weil's interest is deep and sincere, 
and wherever substantial aid will further 
public progress it is freely given. Bril- 
liant, stalwart, with keen resentment of 
wrong, and of wide and ripe experience, 
he has been identified with Pittsburgh's 
most important civic movements, and is 
one of the men who are consulted on all 
matters and questions of public moment. 
From 1905 to the present time he has 
been president of the Voters' League, and 
was largely instrumental in bringing 
about the well-remembered graft dis- 
closures and m purifying the politics of 
Pittsburgh. Among the other most 
notable achievements of the Voters' 
League under the direction of Mr. Weil 
may be mentioned the following: The 
saving of Grant Boulevard from occu- 
pation by street railways, and thus pre- 



serving that magnificent driveway to the 
city; the disclosures of the corrupt man- 
agement of a large number of school 
boards in the many school districts, and 
the consequent enactment of a school 
code placing the management of the 
public schools under one body of direc- 
tors, virhich has given to Pittsburgh one 
of the most efficient and satisfactory 
public school systems in the country ; the 
passage of a civil service law placing all 
city employees under civil service ; the 
adoption of an amendment to the charter 
of Pittsburgh substituting a council of 
nine, elected at large, for the unwieldly 
and irresponsible bi-cameral council 
(select and common) of a large number; 
and to these might be added many other 
reforms and advances along the line of 
civic betterment, due largely to the ac- 
tivities of the League under the personal 
direction of its president. Mr. Weil be- 
longs to the National Municipal League 
and the National Civil Service Associ- 
ation, and many other national organiza- 
tions, civil and educational, and philan- 
thropic. In the charitable and benevolent 
institutions of his adopted city, he takes 
an active interest and is ever ready tc 
respond to any deserving call made on 
him. He is a member of the American 
Jewish Committee, the American Bar 
Association, the Pennsylvania Bar Asso- 
ciation and the Westmoreland Country, 
Edge wood Country and Pittsburgh Ath- 
letic clubs, and the City Club of New 

On the countenance of Mr. Weil are 
strongly depicted that will-power, fidelity 
and tenacity of purpose which through- 
out his career has been so strikingly 
manifested. Of deep convictions and 
great force of character, he belongs to 
that class of men who wield a power 
which is all the more pervasive and 
dominating from the fact that it is moral 
lather than political and is exercised for 

the public weal rather than for personal 
ends. His tastes and temperament would 
alike incline him to shun publicity, but 
his rare ability in achieving results 
causes him to be constantly sought and 
often brings him into a prominence from 
which he would naturally shrink were 
less desirable ends in view. Dignified 
and courteous on all occasions, his genial 
personality has drawn around him a large 
circle of warmly attached friends. 

Mr. Weil married, April ii, 1883, Cas- 
sie, daughter of Ferdinand and Minnie 
Ritter, of Youngstown, Ohio, and they 
are the parents of three children : A 
daughter, Aimee Leona, married to 
Julian H. Stein, of Milwaukee, Wiscon- 
sin ; a son, Ferdinand T., aged twenty- 
five, who is a graduate of Princeton, 
class 1913, now taking the law course in 
the University of Pittsburgh, and is a 
law student in his father's office ; a son, 
A. Leo Jr., aged nineteen, who is now 
a junior in Princeton University. The 
Weil family are active socially, and their 
beautiful home in the East End is one of 
the social centres of the city. 

Albeit not a native of Pittsburgh, Mr. 
Weil has shown himself, in all phases 
of his career, to be an incarnation of her 
spirit. Both at the bar and in the civic 
arena he has been a leader of force and 
magnetism. Nor can the phrase "has 
been" be applied to him in any sense 
which implies limitation. With a man of 
his type the past is a warrant for the 
future, and the record of A. Leo \\'eil, 
rich in achievement as it is, gives abund- 
ant assurance of greater things to come. 

WALLACE, James O., M. D., 

Specialist, Hospital Official. 

Among the young surgeons of Pitts- 
burgh is Dr. James Oliver Wallace. 
Tames Wallace, his grandfather, was a 
native of Ireland, and married there. 


James (2), son of James (1) Wallace, 
was born in Ireland, and in 1852 emi- 
grated to the United States, settling in 
Pittsburgh, where he conducted a suc- 
cessful grocery business, retiring five or 
ten years before his death. He was a 
man of prominence in his adopted city, 
a Democrat in politics and in a quiet way 
very charitable. He married Letitia 
Mathews, born in Freehold, North of 
Ireland, who came with her parents to 
the United States, making their home in 
Pittsburgh. Their daughter was then 
twelve years old and they were also ac- 
companied by three sons, one of whom, 
James, is still living in Pittsburgh, having 
retired from business. The following 
children were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Wallace: Isabel; Mrs. John Hamilton, 
of Pittsburgh, has two children ; John T., 
of Pittsburgh ; William Charles, in steel 
business in Pittsburgh, is married and 
has four children ; James Oliver, men- 
tioned below; Robert D., of Independ- 
ence, Kansas, in oil and gas business, is 
married and has one child ; and three 
others, all of whom died young. Mr. 
Wallace died January, 1900, and his 
widow resides in Pittsburgh. 

James Oliver, son of James (2) and 
Letitia (Mathews) Wallace, was born 
January 17, 1877, in Pittsburgh, and 
first attended the public schools, passing 
thence successively, to the high school, 
the Park Institute and Kenyon College, 
where he graduated, in 1902, with the 
degree of Bachelor of Arts. He then en- 
tered the Medical Department of the 
University of Pittsburgh, and in 1906 
received from that institution the degree 
of Doctor of Medicine. After serving for 
thirteen months as interne in the Alle- 
gheny General Hospital and for thirteen 
months filling the position of resident 
physician in the Children's Hospital, Dr. 
Wallace entered upon a career of general 
practice in his native city. His attention 

however, was especially attracted toward 
orthopedic surgery, and in 1912 he began 
to devote himself exclusively to that 
branch of his profession. He was for a 
time shortly after graduation a member 
of the staff of the Pittsburgh Free Dis- 
pensary, and for some years was assistant 
orthopedic surgeon to the Allegheny 
General Hospital. He is also orthopedic 
surgeon to the Children's Hospital, out- 
patient department, the Industrial Home 
for Crippled Children, Mercy Hospital, 
and the Sewickley Convalescent Home 
for Crippled Children. He is Instructor 
in Orthopedic Surgery to the University 
of Pittsburgh. In addition to his other 
official duties he discharges those of sec- 
retary of the staff of the Children's Hos- 
pital. He is a fellow of the American 
College of Surgeons and a member of the 
American Medical Association, the Penn- 
sylvania State Medical Association, and 
the Allegheny County Medical Society. 

Dr. Wallace takes an interest in local 
and national politics, voting with the 
Independent Republicans. He belongs to 
the Alpha Kappa Kappa and Phi Beta 
Kappa fraternities and is a member of 
Trinity Protestant Episcopal Church. His 
only club is the University. 

Dr. Wallace married, November 23, 
1914, Edith B., daughter of the late 
George R. Boswell, of Pittsburgh, Mr. 
Boswell was a merchant of the North 

HUSTON, Abraham Francis, 

Iieading Ironmaster. 

Abraham Francis Huston was born at 
Coatesville, Pennsylvania, July 7, 1852, 
one of the seven children of Dr. Charles 
Huston and Isabella Pennock Lukens. 
His grandfather. Dr. Robert Mendenhall 
Huston, was a member of the faculty of 
Jefiferson Medical College of Philadelphia, 
and his father, who was a physician, was 


also a graduate of the same institution, 
later studying in Paris and Heidelberg. 
His grandmother was descended from 
the brother of Benjamin West, the fam- 
ous painter, who for many years was 
historical painter to King George III. of 
England, and president of the Royal 
Academy, and who painted about four 
hundred pictures, of which probably the 
most noteworthy are "Aggripina Land- 
ing with the Ashes of Germanicus," 
"Death of General Wolfe," "Battle of La 
Hougue," "Death on the Pale Horse," 
"Christ Healing the Sick," the "Crucifix- 
ion," and the "Ascension." His mother 
was a daughter of Dr. Charles Lukens, 
head of the Lukens Iron & Steel Com- 
pany of Coatesville. 

Having received a good education in 
his native town and having completed a 
course at Taylor Academy, Coatesville, 
the young man was prepared for college 
by private tutors. He was then sent to 
Haverford College, at Haverford, Penn- 
sylvania, and graduated from that insti- 
tution in 1872 with the degree of Bachelor 
of Arts. Dr. Charles Huston (the father 
of A. F. Huston) entered the iron busi- 
ness in 1850 and was actively engaged 
in it up to the time of his death in 1897. 
He was considered one of the country's 
greatest experts on the manufacture of 
boiler plates, and was chiefly responsible 
for the development of that branch of 
the Lukens works, which was the first 
in America to make boiler plates. In 
1877 Dr. Huston was chosen chairman 
of a committee of representatives from 
the manufacturers of boiler plates ap- 
pointed to confer with the board of super- 
vising steamboat inspectors for the pur- 
pose of framing a proper standard of 
tests. Having conducted extensive ex- 
periments in the properties of iron and 
steel, and having had much experience 
in the testing of boiler plates. Dr. Hus- 
ton's recommendations were adopted by 
PEN— Vol VI— 2 I 

the board of inspectors. As a result of 
Dr. Huston's long experience and great 
ability he was also selected by Chauncey 
M. Depew in 1895 as the most capable 
man to prepare the history of the iron 
and steel industry for his "One Hundred 
Years of American Commerce." 

It was only natural therefore that the 
younger Huston should be trained in the 
iron and steel industry. Immediately 
after leaving college he entered the 
Lukens Iron & Steel Company and work- 
ed in every department, both in the shops 
and in the office, so that he might have a 
thorough, practical knowledge of every 
branch of the business. In 1875, after 
three years of experience, he became the 
junior member of the firm of Huston, 
Penrose & Company, and ever since has 
remained a member of this firm and of 
the company which succeeded it, the 
Lukens Iron and Steel Company, in Jan- 
uary, 1897, upon the death of his father, 
being elected to the presidency of the 

The Lukens Iron and Steel Company 
was originally established about 1780 by 
Isaac Pennock, who erected a mill for the 
manufacture of iron at Rokeby, Buck 
Run, Chester county, only four miles dis- 
tant from the location of the present 
works. Twenty years later he bought a 
saw-mill property at Coatesville and con- 
verted it into an iron mill, this being the 
foundation of the present large works of 
the Lukens Company. From 1816 until 
his death in 1825 Dr. Charles Lukens. 
Pennock's son-in-law and the maternal 
grandfather of the present head of the 
company, carried on the business and 
upon his death was succeeded in the 
management by his widow, Rebecca W. 
Lukens. Mrs. Lukens developed the 
business in a most remarkable manner 
and displayed a wonderful and extra- 
ordinary amount of business acumen. 
Upon the death of Mrs. Lukens, her sons- 



in-law, Abraham Gibbons and Dr. 
Charles Huston, undertook the direction 
of the company's affairs, but in 1855 Mr. 
Gibbons retired, leaving the entire man- 
agement in Dr. Huston's hands. 

Dr. Huston and his partner, Charles 
Penrose, who entered the business in 
1859, carried on the business together 
until 1881, when Mr. Penrose died, and 
thus Dr. Huston was called upon to man- 
age the business. He had, however, the 
aid of his two sons, A. F. and C. L., the 
former of whom, as said before, entered 
the company in 1872, and the three to- 
gether gradually expanded the business 
until at the present time the works cover 
an area of more than two hundred acres 
upon which stand twelve large buildings 
and employ nearly two thousand oper- 
atives. Up to the time of Dr. Huston's 
death in 1897, the steel works were of 
rather small proportions, although they 
had been enlarged in 1890. Two years 
after Dr. Huston's death at the time of 
a boom in the iron business, his sons be- 
gan to greatly enlarge the plant, and as 
a result of their efforts during a period 
of three or four years, the plant was ex- 
panded to three times its previous extent. 
It had been Dr. Huston's openly avowed 
policy never to fall behind in the race but 
to keep well abreast of the times. He 
frequently said, "It is better in the iron 
and steel business to be ahead of the times 
rather than behind in the smallest de- 
gree." In 1881, shortly after the death of 
Mr. Penrose, Dr. Huston's health began 
to fail, and the active management of the 
business devolved upon his eldest son, A. 
F. Huston, the doctor simply acting in an 
advisory capacity from that time until 
his death in 1897. 

But the younger Pluston's time has not 
been entirely occupied with the affairs of 
the Lukens Company. With the advance 
in position and accumulation of means 
came further responsibilities and new 

offices, and at the present time, in addi- 
tion to his office of president of the 
Lukens Iron and Steel Company, Mr. 
Huston is president of the Coatesville 
Trust Company, a director of the Wil- 
mington & Northern branch of the Phil- 
adelphia & Reading Railroad Company, 
and in 1902 was president of the Asso- 
ciation of American Steel Manufacturers. 
He is also interested in many institutions 
of a benevolent character, and was for 
years president of the Coatesville Hos- 

Mr. Huston has always been very fond 
of traveling, and has not only traversed 
a greater part of his native land but also 
of Europe. In 1883 he visited Europe and 
traveled from North Cape, Norway, to 
Naples, Italy, covering Norway, Sweden, 
Denmark, Great Britain and the Conti- 
nent. He again went abroad in 1886 and 
a third time in 1889. A fourth trip was 
taken to Europe in the early summer of 
1914. After touring over England, Wales, 
and Scotland, largely by automobile, with 
his family, he went to Paris and was there 
when the great war broke out about Au- 
gust 1st. After going through many 
trials and inconveniences, he was able 
to get to Havre by automobile with only 
such baggage as could be carried in it. 
The ship's sailing was delayed by war 
conditions for about a week, but finally 
the passage was made homeward without 
mishap. In 1885 he visited many of the 
principal cities of Mexico, New Mexico, 
California, Colorado. Oregon, Washing- 
ton, and British Columbia. His favorite 
recreation is golfing, his skill in which 
has earned him many handsome trophies, 
and he is a member of the St. Davids 
Golf Club (of which he was for two years 
president"), and the Merion Cricket Club. 
Mr. Huston has twice been married ; 
his first wife was Miss Alice Galley, 
whom he married in Philadelphia in 
1889, and who died in April, 1906. and his 


second wife, whom he married in October, 
1907, was Miss Alfie Frances Sly, of Vir- 
ginia. To the first union three daughters 
were born: Isabel (born 1890), Alice R. 
(born 1897), and Marjorie C. (born 1899). 

MAGEE, Christopher, 

Jjavryer, Jurist, Liegislator. 

The late Christopher Magee, for many 
years Judge of the Court of Common 
Pleas of Allegheny county, and for more 
than two-score and ten a distinguished 
member of the Pittsburgh bar, was one 
of the city's most commanding figures 
during the latter decades of the nine- 
teenth century and the opening years of 
the twentieth. Throughout the long 
period of his residence in the metropolis, 
Judge Magee was zealous in the promo- 
tion of her leading interests, and took 
an active and influential part in the sphere 
of local and State politics. 

Robert Magee, grandfather of Chris- 
topher Magee, was born in 1737, in 
County Derry, Ireland, and in 1788, with 
his wife and seven children, emigrated to 
the United States, finding a home in the 
then infant city of Pittsburgh. 

(II) Christopher, youngest child of 
Robert Magee, was but two years old 
when brought by his parents to the 
United States. He married Jane Watson, 
born in 1796, in Pittsburgh, of Scotch 
parentage. She was a granddaughter of 
Alexander and Elizabeth (Edmundson) 
Thomson, who in July, 1771, embarked 
on the ship "Friendship," in the harbor 
of Greenock, Scotland, arriving in Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, in the following Sep- 
tember, accompanied by their twelve 
children, and soon made their way to 
Franklin county, Pennsylvania, where 
they settled. Alexander Thomson was 
the American progenitor of Frank Thom- 
son, who became president of the Penn- 
sylvania Railroad Company, and the late 

Dr. William Thomson, a famc;us oculist 
of Philadelphia. The family of the Wat- 
sons was one of the most conspicuous 
of that day in Pittsburgh, two of them 
at one time owning most of the land 
extending from Wylie street to the Mo- 
nongahela river, and between what is now 
High street and a line near Stevenson 
street. A brother of Mrs. Magee was a 
practicing lawyer, but was more devoted 
to scientific studies, building the first 
Allegheny County Observatory, an en- 
tirely private one, on a part of the Hill, 
near what is now Chestnut street. He 
also took the first "sun-types" (then 
called daguerreotypes, from the inventor, 
Daguerre) that were ever made in 

(Ill) Christopher (2), son of Chris- 
topher (i) and Jane (Watson) Magee, 
was born December 5, 1829, in Pitts- 
burgh, his first recollections being of a 
home in Second street, now Second ave- 
nue. Later the family moved to Wylie 
street. The boy Christopher received his 
preparatory education in private schools 
of his native city and at the Pittsburgh 
Academy. His father having died soon 
after the removal to Wylie street, Mrs. 
Magee removed with her family to Phil- 
adelphia, and there the future judge, who 
had already studied for a time at the 
Western University of Pennsylvania, ma- 
triculated in the University of Pennsyl- 
vania, graduating in 1849 ^s Bachelor of 
Arts. He was later honored by his alma 
mater with the degrees of Master of Arts 
and Doctor of Laws. 

The legal studies of Mr. Magee were 
begun in the ofifice of William B. Reed 
and Alexander McKinley, of the Phila- 
delphia bar, and he also attended lectures 
at the Law School of the University of 
Pennsylvania, then under the direction 
of Judge Sharswood. Mr. Magee gradu- 
ated from the law school in 1852, and in 
December of the same year was admitted 


to the Philadelphia bar. Soon after he 
was admitted to practice in the Supreme 

Standing thus on the threshold of his 
professional life, the heart of the young 
man turned toward his native city, and 
there awoke in him an earnest desire to 
make Pittsburgh his field of labor and the 
scene of his future career. Accordingly 
he returned to his boyhood's home, and 
on April ii, 1853, on motion of Colonel 
Samuel W. Black, was admitted to prac- 
tice in the Allegheny county courts. In 
entering upon the practice of his profes- 
sion in his native city, Mr. Magee had the 
support of ancestral tradition and family 
prestige. Colonel Black, on whose mo- 
tion he had been admitted to practice, 
and who was at one time governor of 
Nebraska, was a kinsman, and Matthew 
J. Magee, of the Pittsburgh bar, and later 
of the United States army, was an uncle. 
Another uncle was Robert Watson, a 
graduate of the University of Pennsyl- 
vania, class of 1820. Other kinsmen, near 
and more remote, were W. W. Thomson, 
who prepared the "Pittsburgh Digest;" 
the Rev. Samuel B. Wyhe, D. D., of the 
University of Pennsylvania ; the Rev. 
John Black, D. D., a professor in the 
Western University of Pennsylvania ; 
the Hon. Christopher L. Magee, of Pitts- 
burgh, and Thomas A. Hendricks, who 
became Vice-President of the United 

But anyone who imagined that in re- 
turning to Pittsburgh, Mr. Magee 
thought of relying on anything but his 
own native ability and unaided eflbrts 
would show himself totally unacquainted 
with the character of this remarkable 
man. From the day of his opening an 
office in the Iron City he was the maker 
of his own fortune. By dint of thorough 
equipment, inborn talent and devotion 
to duty he acquired a large clientele, rep- 
resenting individuals and many import- 


ant Corporations, rising rapidly to a posi- 
tion of prominence and becoming one of 
the rejresentative lawyers of the metrop- 

In 1885 Mr. Magee was appointed by 
Governor Pattison, Judge of the Court 
of Common Pleas, No. 2, of Allegheny 
county, and in November, 1886, he was 
elected for the full term of ten years from 
January, 1887. During this period 
Judge Magee presided at the trial ot 
thousands of civil and criminal cases, 
proving himself throughout a learned, 
discerning and impartial jurist. In 1S97 
he retired from the bench, leaving a 
record which forms one of the brightest 
pages in the legal annals of Allegheny 

In politics Judge Magee was a lifelong 
Democrat, and in 1856 was elected to the 
Pennsylvania Legislature. On two occa- 
sions he was the candidate of his party 
for mayor of Pittsburgh. He was also 
nominated for Judge of the Orphans" 
Court of Allegheny county, and in 1895 
the Democrats made him their candidate 
for Judge of the Superior Court of Penn- 
sylvania. Pie served once as a Presiden- 
tial elector. 

Among the associations and institu- 
tions with which Judge Magee was con- 
nected were the Shady Side Academy, of 
which he was one of the incorporators, 
as he was also of the Hospital for Chil- 
dren and the Allegheny Cemetery. He 
was a member of the Academy of Arts 
and Sciences, the Pittsburgh Chamber of 
Commerce, the University Club of Phil- 
adelphia, the Delta Phi Club of New 
York and the Pennsylvania Forestry As- 
sociation. He was given degrees by 
many institutions of learning. 

It was said of Judge Magee that "he 
was as true as steel and as pure as gold," 
and one glance at his countenance would 
?onfirn! the statement. It was a face 
'jf mingled strength and refinement, a face 


radiant with kindliness and good will, 
the face of a man who drew men to him. 
There could be no better proof of his 
immense personal popularity than the 
fact that, in a strong Republican district, 
he was elected to the Legislature. Gray 
moustache, with a short beard of the 
same hue, emphasized the distinction of 
his finely cut features and his dark eyes 
were at once deeply thoughtful and keen- 
ly penetrating. 

Judge Magee married, January 12, 
1859, Elizabeth Louise, born August 8, 
1836, daughter of Rev. John Neil and 
Margaret Thomson (Wylie) McLeod, of 
New York City, and they became the 
parents of the following children : John 
Neil McLeod, born October 22, 1859, 
died in infancy ; Margaret McLeod, born 
June 7. 1861, became the wife of Kier 
Mitchell, of Pittsburgh, and died Octo- 
ber 13, 1894, leaving a daughter, Eliza- 
beth Louise McLeod ; Christopher, whose 
biography appears in this work; Norman 
McLeod, born October 14, 1867, died at 
the age of fourteen years ; Jane Watson, 
born December 23, i86g, died June 15, 
1880; and Walter Pollock, born Septem- 
ber 23, 1874, of Pittsburgh. Judge Ma- 
gee and his family were members of the 
Shady Side Presbyterian Church, and 
their home life was one of great beauty 
and simplicity. She who was its heart 
and centre, the devoted wife and mother, 
passed away March 4, 1902. 

The years of Judge Magee were pro- 
longed far beyond the traditional limit 
of human life. Within a few months of 
the eightieth anniversary of his birth he 
closed his career of usefulness and honor, 
breathing his last on July 3, 1909, and 
retaining almost to the latest moment his 
physical and mental vigor. The mourn- 
ing for him was universal, men of all 
classes of the community ofifering to his 
memory tributes of veneration and love. 

Judge Magee was one of the men whose 

work "lives after them." The record of 
his work forms part of the history of the 
bench and bar of the Keystone State and 
in it his name stands as that of a patri- 
otic citizen, a learned counsellor and a 
just and upright judge. 

MAGEE, Christopher, Jr., 

La'nryer, Publicist. 

Among the best known civil practi- 
tioners at the Pittsburgh bar is Chris- 
topher Magee Jr., an acknowledged leader 
in that department of his profession. Mr. 
Magee has thus far been a lifelong resi- 
dent of the metropolis, and all his inter- 
ests, professional and otherwise, are 
centered in his native city. 

Christopher Magee Jr. was born Octo- 
ber 3, 1863, in Pittsburgh, and is a son 
of the late Judge Christopher and Eliza- 
beth Louise (McLeod) Magee. A biog- 
raphy of Judge Magee, with full ancestral 
record, appears on a preceding page in this 
work. Christopher Magee Jr. received his 
earliest education in private schools of his 
native city, and after a due course of 
preparation entered the University of 
Pennsylvania, graduating in 1887 with 
the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He was 
fitted for his profession at the Law School 
of the University, and in 1889 that insti- 
tution conferred upon him the degree of 
Bachelor of Laws. In June of that year 
he was admitted to the Philadelphia bar 
and to practice in the Supreme Court. 
A bright future opened before him, but, 
like his father, he was desirous of iden- 
tifying himself with the city of his birth, 
and in June, 1890, on motion of Judge 
J. McF. Carpenter, he was admitted to 
the Pittsburgh bar. In Philadelphia he 
read law in the office of Judge George 
M. Dallas, and in Pittsburgh his precep- 
tor was George W. Guthrie. At the out- 
set of his career, Mr. Magee practiced 
alone, devoting himself, as he has since 


done, to general civil practice. For a 
short time he was associated with Henry 
A. Davis, but since the dissolution of that 
connection has been without a partner. 
Mr. Magee's standing at the bar is de- 
servedly high. He is remarkable for 
penetrating and accurate analysis of the 
matters submitted for his consideration, 
and in painstaking preparation and skill- 
ful presentation of cases is without a 

While giving his exclusive attention to 
his professional obligations and refusing 
to identify himself with outside interests, 
Mr. Magee is never found lacking in 
public spirit. He votes with the Demo- 
crats and at the request of his neighbors, 
repeated many years, has served as 
burgess of Osborne Borough. He is a 
member of the Academy of Science and 
Arts, the Pittsburgh Athletic Association, 
the Delta Phi fraternity, the Chamber of 
Commerce, and director of Pittsburgh 
Hospital for Children. He attends the 
Sewickley Presbyterian Church. 

Dark hair, reflective dark eyes, their 
keenness undimmed by the spectacles 
through which they habitually look, 
features bearing the imprint of fineness of 
nature and force of character these are the 
distinctive personal traits of Christopher 
Magee Jr. His mind is essentially the 
legal mind and his temperament the 
judicial temperament. He is naturally 
adapted to the profession he has chosen, 
as his twenty-five years of successful 
practice have most abundantly proved. 
Withal he is warmhearted and genial, 
making friends easily and holding them 
long, strong and true in his attachments 
and with the faculty of inspiring equal 
fidelity in others. 

Mr. Magee married, June i, 1892, Julia 
Vogdes Heberton, whose ancestral record 
is appended to this biography, and they 
are the parents of the following children : 

I. Christopher, born March 28, 1893; 
educated at Sewickley Preparatory 
School, Allegheny Preparatory School 
and Cornell University, graduating in 
1915 as Mechanical Engineer, and now 
with the Standard Underground Cable 
Company. 2. Margaret Mitchell, born 
January 4, 1895 ! educated at Sewickley 
Preparatory School and Dana Hall, Wel- 
lesley, class of 1914. 3. Helen Heberton, 
born April 27, 1897; educated at Sewick- 
ley Preparatory School and Dana Hall, 
Wellesley, class of 191 5. 4. Norman 
Heberton, . born December 31, 1899; 
educated at Sewickley Preparatory 
School. 5. Julia Heberton, born Septem- 
ber 30, 1902; attending Sewickley Pre- 
paratory School. 6. Elizabeth Louise 
McLeod, born July 28, 1905, attending 
Sewickley Preparatory School. Mrs. 
Magee is a woman of charming person- 
ality, a gracious hostess and an accom- 
plished homemaker, causing her husband, 
a man of uncommonly strong domestic 
affections, to find the hours which the 
strenuous demands of his profession per- 
mit him to spend at his own fireside the 
happiest seasons in a busy life. 

Pittsburgh is fortunate in that the his- 
tory of her bar is the work of men of 
ability and honor. She is doubly fortunate 
in that its record of the present day is 
being written by those worthy of their 
predecessors — by men of the type of 
Christopher Magee Jr. 

(The Heberton Line). 

George Heberton, the first ancestor of 
record, was presumably born in Scotland 
and emigrated to the United States. He 
married Mary Craig (see Craig line). 

(II) Alexander, son of George and 
Mary (Craig) Heberton, was born May 
21, 1803, in Philadelphia, and was a minis- 
ter of the Presbyterian church. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Parker Brooke (see 



Brooke line), who died February 3, 1884. 
The dea,th of Mr. Heberton occurred in 
Philadelphia, October 26, 1894. 

(Ill) Edward Payson, son of Alex- 
ander and Elizabeth Parker (Brooke) 
Heberton, was born August 12, 1830, at 
Bath, Northampton county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and educated at Lawrenceville, 
New Jersey, at Lafayette College and 
Princeton University. After spending a 
short time in the oil business he served 
in the United States navy as paymaster, 
and before the Civil War was connected 
with the United States Coast Survey and 
with the engineer corps of the Santa Fe 
survey. At the breaking out of the Civil 
War, the vessel on which Mr. Heberton 
was serving as paymaster was engaged 
in the battle of Newberne, North Caro- 
lina. But notwithstanding the prospect 
of preferment which opened before him, 
this earnest man felt that he was called 
to another sphere of action, that it was 
incumbent upon him to follow in the 
footsteps of his father. Accordingly, he 
entered Princeton Theological Seminary, 
graduating in the spring of 1868. There- 
after his life was that of an able and 
devoted minister of the Presbyterian 

Mr. Heberton married, .A.pril 2, 1868, 
in Philadelphia, Caroline Eugenia (Titus) 
Prevost (see Titus line), and their chil- 
dren were : Maxwell, died in infancy ; 
Julia Vogdes, mentioned below ; Edward 
T., born May 19, 1873, married, at Yak- 
ima, Washington, Margaret Boyle ; 
Helen Catherine ; Carrie Eugenia, mar- 
ried, January 26, 1905, Davenport Plumer. 
of Philadelphia ; and Charles Prevost, 
died in infancy. The mother of this fam- 
ily, a woman of lovely personality and 
admirably fitted to be the helpmate of 
her husband in his sacred calling, passed 
away February 27, 1903, at Bridgeton, 
New Jersey, having survived her husband 
nearly twenty years. It was on August 


20, 1883, that Mr. Heberton ended his 
course of unselfish and beneficent service, 
breathing his last at Waldo, Florida. 
"The memory of the just is blessed." 

(IV) Julia Vogdes, daughter of Ed- 
ward Payson and Caroline Eugenia 
(Titus) (Prevost) Heberton, was born 
July 2, 1871, and is now the wife of 
Christopher Magee Jr., as stated above. 

(The Craig Line). 

John Craig was born in 1733, in Scot- 
land, and emigrated to the province of 
New Jersey. He was sergeant of the Mon- 
mouth (New Jersey) militia, and during 
the Revolutionary War served in the 
Continental army. On April 5, 1776, he 
was appointed sergeant, and in May, 
1777, became first lieutenant of Captain 
Elisha Walters' company of the First 
New Jersey Regiment, which took part 
in the battle of Monmouth. Lieutenant 
Craig was also a member of the Associ- 
ation. Monmouth, New Jersey. He mar- 
ried Jane (Robinson) English, born Au- 
gust 18. 17 — . Lieutenant Craig died 
July II, 1821. 

(II) Mary, daughter of John and Jane 
(Robinson) (English) Craig, became the 
wife of George Heberton (see Heberton 

(The Brooke L-ine). 

John Brooke was born March 27, 1740, 
and was a soldier of the Revolution, 
serving as adjutant of the Sixth Battalion, 
Pennsylvania Line, and captain of the 
Sixth Battalion. Pennsylvania Militia. 
On November 8, 1777, he was appointed 
commissary to collect clothing, and on 
October 4, 1781, was made commissary 
for raising efifective supplies for the army. 
He married Elizabeth Way, who was 
born July 30, 1740, and died November 
II, 1786. Mr. Brooke himself passed 
away June 20, 1813. 

(II) Robert, son of John and Eliza- 
beth (Way) Brooke, was born February 


23, 1770, and married Charlotte Porter 
(see Porter line), who was born Febru- 
ary I, 1778, and died August i, 1850, 
long surviving her husband whose death 
occurred November 3, 1821. 

(Ill) Elizabeth Parker, daughter of 
Robert and Charlotte (Porter) Brooke, 
was born December 3, 1806, and became 
the wife of the Rev. Alexander Heberton 
(see Heberton line). 

(The Porter Line). 

Andrew Porter was born September 

24, 1743, in Montgomery county, Penn- 
sylvania, and belonged to the patriot 
army of the Revolution. On June 19, 
1776, he was made captain of marines, 
serving on the frigate "Effingham," and 
on January i, 1777, was commissioned 
captain in the Second Regiment of Artil- 
lery, commanded by Colonel Lamb. On 
January i, 1781, he was transferred to 
the Fourth Regiment of Artillery, com- 
manded by Colonel Porter, on April 19, 
1 78 1, was promoted to major, and on 
January i, 1783, became lieutenant-colo- 
nel commander. From May 10, 1809, to 
December 7, 18 — , he served as surveyor- 
general of Pennsylvania. He married 
Elizabeth Parker, who was born near 
Norristown, Pennsylvania, and his death 
occurred November 16, 1813, at Harris- 
burg, Pennsylvania. 

(II) Charlotte, daughter of Andrew 
and Elizabeth (Parker) Porter, was born 
February i, 1778, and became the wife of 
Robert Brooke (see Brooke line). 

(The Titus Line). 

Robert Titus, the first of the name in 
America, was a respectable English agri- 
culturist, living near Stanstead Abbey, 
Hertfordshire, England, thirty miles 
northeast of London. In 1635 he emi- 
grated to the province of Massachusetts, 
settling at Weymouth, near Boston, and 
removing, in 1644, to the neighborhood 

of Providence, Rhode Island. In 1654 he 
migrated to Oyster Bay, Long Island, 
New York. Robert Titus married, in 
England, Hannah , and their chil- 
dren were : John, who became the an- 
cestor of the New England Tituses ; Ed- 
mond, settled in Westbury, Long Island, 
New York, and died at the age of eighty- 
five, having had eleven children ; Samuel, 
,«ettled in Huntington, Long Island, New 
York ; Content, mentioned below ; Abiel, 
settled in Huntington, Long Island, New 
York, and died at the age of ninety-six ; 
and Susannah. 

(II) Content, son of Robert and Han- 
nah Titus, was born in 1643, at Wey- 
mouth, and in 1672 removed from Hunt- 
ington to Newtown, Long Island, New 
York, where he became an active and 
valued member of the community, pre- 
sumably serving as a soldier, inasmuch 
as he was styled "captain." So vigorous 
were his powers at eighty, that in 1724 
he was elected to an eldership in the Pres- 
byterian church of Newtown. Captain 
Titus married Elizabeth, daughter of the 
Rev. John Moore, and seven children 
were born to them. Among them was 
John, mentioned below. Captain Titus 
died in 1730. 

(III) John, son of Content and Eliza- 
beth (Moore) Titus, migrated, prior to 
1722, to the township of Hopewell. He 

married Rebecca , and among their 

four children was Andrew, mentioned 
below. John Titus died in 1761 and his 
widow passed away the following year. 

(IV) Andrew, son of John and Rebecca 
Titus, lived on his farm near Titusville. 
He married Ilannah Burrowes, and thev 
were the parents of three children, includ- 
ing John, mentioned below. Andrew 
Titus passed away in 1800. 

(V) John (2), son of Andrew and 
Hannah (Burrowes) Titus, married 
Sarah, daughter of Henry Mershow. and 



of their three children Theodore is men- 
tioned below. Mr. Titus died in 1827 and 
the death of his widow occurred Janu- 
ary 28, 1828. 

(VI) Theodore, son of John (2) and 
Sarah (Mershow) Titus, was engaged in 
the lumber business. He married Cath- 
arine Howell (see Howell line), and 
among their children was a daughter, 
Caroline Eugenia, mentioned below. 

(VII) Caroline Eugenia, daughter of 
Theodore and Catharine (Howell) Titus, 
was born November 10, 1848, at Wilkes- 
Barre, Pennsylvania, and married (first) 
Eugene Prevost and (second) the Rev. 
Edward Payson Heberton (see Heberton 

(The Howell Line). 

The Howell family was originally of 
the county of Kent, England, and appears 
to have been transplanted to the Amer- 
ican colonies at least two centuries ago. 

Daniel Howell, the first ancestor of 
record, removed from Long Island, New 
York, to Ewing, New Jersey, where he 
seems to have passed the remainder of 

his life. He married Mary , and 

among the children born to them was 
Hezekiah, mentioned below. Daniel 
Howell died April 25, 1732, and his widow 
survived him many years, passing away 
September 26, 1760, at the age of seventy- 

(II) Hezekiah, son of Daniel and 
Mary Howell, was born August 7, 1727, 
and was an elder in Ewing Church. He 
married Hannah Ellett, and of their chil- 
dren Ellett is mentioned below. Heze- 
kiah Howell died in 1800. 

(HI) Ellett, son of Hezekiah and Han- 
nah (Ellett) Howell, was a lieutenant of 
the First Hunterdon Regiment and also 
filled the position of assistant quarter- 
master. He married Catharine Flick, of 
Philadelphia, and they were the parents 
of a daughter, Catharine, mentioned be- 
low. Mrs. Howell died in 1808, at the age 

of forty-nine, and the death of her hus- 
band occurred in 1821, when he was six- 
ty-four years old. 

(IV) Catharine, daughter of Ellett and 
Catharine (Flick) Howell, became the 
wife of Theodore Titus (see Titus line). 

WINSTON, John Clark, 

Publisher, Leader in Civic Reform. 

Political revolutions bring into promi- 
nence men possessing strong qualities of 
leadership, who have never asserted 
themselves in public life, preferring the 
less troublous activities of business life. 
But when corruption in high places 
threatens the life of their city they come 
from bank, store, office, or factory, and 
by applying the strong arm of correction 
to politicians and bosses redeem the city, 
State, and nation. 

In 1905 there was a political revolu- 
tion in Philadelphia. The city was shaken 
from League Island to Bridesburg by a 
mighty force which overturned the ma- 
chine and quickened the public con- 
science. Philadelphia will never again be 
"corrupt and contented." Men arose, 
little heard of heretofore in public affairs, 
who displayed such qualities of masterful 
leadership that they have ever since been 
prominently in the public eye. One of 
the foremost of these men is John Clark 
Winston, a successful business man, a 
lifelong Republican, who, as chairman of 
the Committee of Seventy, has been very 
active in all efforts to reform municipal 
conditions. He is of Virginia and Caro- 
lina ancestry, and of Quaker blood on 
both sides. Fie is of commanding pres- 
ence, and has a direct way of stating 
facts, but the blunt speech that tends 
upon first contact to repel friendship is 
but his way, and those who have known 
him longest are his warmest friends, for, 
to use a homely phrase, he "wears well." 
It being his duty, as head of the Commit- 


tee of Seventy, openly to oppose many 
prominent public men, he has been a tar- 
get for malicious attack, but his armor 
has not been pierced, and every move he 
has made has stood the fierce light of 
publicity, and no malice, self-interest, or 
dishonest bias has been charged, but only 
a sincere desire to advance the public 
good and to have the committee serve 
the purpose for which it was formed. 
As one of Philadelphia's leading pub- 
lishers, he has acquired large business 
interests, and in the commercial world 
has won the highest and most honorable 

The Winstons trace from early days 
in Virginia, the family being members of 
the Society of Friends. Isaac (i) Winston 
had a son Isaac, who married Mary Ann, 
daughter of Rev. Peter Fontaine, rector 
of "Westover" parish, Culpeper county, 
Virginia, in 17 19, who was a descendant 
of John de la Fontaine, martyred in 
France in 1563. Pleasant Winston, 
grandfather of John C. Winston, was a 
prominent commission merchant in Rich- 
mond, Virginia, his residence being near 
the old church wherein Patrick Henry 
(whose mother was a Winston), delivered 
the immortal sentences that fired the 
revolutionary heart. Through his wife, 
Pleasant Winston became the owner of 
slaves which, under the laws of Virginia, 
he could not free, and, being a Friend. 
he could not keep. He could, however, 
and he did, send them to Liberia. Later 
he left Virginia, and moved to Indiana, 
Avith a large family of young children. 
Bowling Henry Winston, son of Pleas- 
ant Winston, was born in Virginia, went 
west with his father, but soon returned 
to Virginia, living with his uncle near 
Lynchburg, and attending the University 
of Virginia. Later he joined his family in 
Indiana, and there married Anna, a 
daughter of John Clark, a Friend, who 
with others of his faith left North Caro- 

lina on account of slavery, they becom- 
ing early settlers of Indiana. 

John Clark Winston, son of Bowling 
Henry and Anna (Clark) Winston, was 
born on a farm near Darlington, Indiana, 
November 22, 1856, and there resided 
until he was thirteen years of age. He 
then was taken to Virginia by his father, 
there prepared for and later entered 
Haverford College, near Philadelphia, 
whence he was graduated A. B., class of 
1881. In college he was president of his 
class, and in the years 1895-96 was presi- 
dent of the Alumni Association of Haver- 
ford College. 

He had fvilly intended to pursue a 
course of legal study and to become a 
lawyer, but, after graduation, a Philadel- 
phia publishing house with a branch in 
Indianapolis made him so tempting an 
offer that he accepted it, the commercial 
world gaining and the professional world 
losing a bright light. Mr. Winston spent 
two years in Indianapolis, liked the busi- 
ness, and so thoroughly mastered its every 
detail that on his return to Philadelphia 
in 1884 he established himself in the pub- 
lishing business, his first location being 
at No. 1009 Arch street, directly opposite 
the present large establishment that bears 
his name, the John C. Winston Company, 
Publishers. The years have brought him 
nothing but honor and success as a pub- 
lisher and man of affairs. The business, 
now incorporated, still has him as its 
efficient executive head, and, in addition 
to the presidency of the John C. Winston 
Company, he is president of the Standard 
Roller Bearing Company, whose plant 
extends on Girard avenue from Forty- 
seventh to Fifty-second streets. He is an 
aggressive business man, very energetic 
and very determined. One of the depart- 
ments of his publishing business is de- 
voted to the making of Bibles in every 
size, and in that line of publishing he is 
one of the largest producers in the coun- 



try. Printers' ink may be said to have 
made him big commercially. Nature 
created him so big physically and men- 
tally that had he chosen his first ambition, 
the law, or had entered any other field of 
work, he would have succeeded in the 
same degree. But as a publisher he be- 
gan and as a publisher he continues. 

Prior to December, 1904, little had been 
heard of Mr. Winston in a public way, so 
thoroughly had he been engrossed in his 
own business. He knew of the political 
conditions affecting Philadelphia so un- 
favorably, and when a friend met him on 
the street on December 19th and invited 
him to attend a citizens' meeting in the 
assembly room of the Bourse to form an 
organization for permanent reform work 
in municipal afifairs, he accepted the invi- 
tation. There he was surprised by being 
made chairman of the meeting, and on 
him devolved the appointment of the 
Commitee of Seven which the meeting 
voted should be chosen to formulate a 
plan of organization for the promotion 
of good government in Philadelphia. 
This committee reported to a subsequent 
meeting of which Mr. Winston was chair- 
man, advising the establishment of a 
Committee of Seventy, which was done. 
That was the beginning of the Committee 
of Seventy, and Mr. Winston's entry into 
public life, as he was chosen chairman of 
the committee, and such was the confi- 
dence the citizens reposed in him that he 
was ordered to select his own executive 
board and later the members of the com- 
mittee. Since that time his activity in all 
efforts to bring about better municipal 
conditions has never ceased. He took 
prominent part in the gas lease fight 
against the United Gas Improvement 
Company, worked hard for the City 
Party and its candidates, supported Ru- 
dolph Blankenburg as mayor, and in 1912 
Theodore Roosevelt for President. His 
public utterances show lofty sentiments 

and some are here preserved: "Where 
offices are the spoils of victory they will 
be distributed by the bosses, and where 
ofifice holders are the creatures of the 
bosses there will be graft. Our own ex- 
perience, that of other cities, and of the 
Federal Government, points to the one 
conclusion, that it is only by the destruc- 
tion of the 'spoils system' and the faithful 
enforcement of the 'merit system' that 
honest and efficient administration can be 
obtained." "It is now more evident than 
it ever was before that the only political 
salvation of the people of Philadelphia 
lies in the utter destruction of this organ- 
ization, root and branch." As chairman 
of the Committee of Seventy he addressed 
a letter to Governor Pennypacker, under 
date of May i, 1905: "The present atti- 
tude of our City Councils regarding the 
gas lease will, I trust, remove from your 
mind any possible doubt as to the great 
danger to the interests of the city which 
would result from transferring power 
and responsibility from the mayor to 
Councils. In the name of the ten thous- 
and representative citizens who signed 
our petition and in the name of the one 
hundred thousand equally interested who 
would sign the same petition if oppor-- 
tunity presented, let me again implore 
you to veto the so called ripper bills. No 
single act of your administration will so 
gratify the vast majority of our citizens. 
We are trusting to you for protection." 
The objectionable bills were vetoed by 
the Governor. Defining the committee's 
position on municipal ownership, he said 
in part: "We do not oppose the public 
utility corporations. We only ask them 
to deal fairly and honestly with the mu- 
nicipality. My own individual opinion 
is that it is better to encourage private 
enterprise and capital by the most liberal 
treatment. Let the railroads and all 
public utility corporations learn once for 
all that we will no longer tolerate 


bribery and corruption, but that they can 
obtain all that is fair by honorable 
methods. Let the people learn and never 
forget that in dealing with astute and able 
heads of these corporations their interests 
must be protected by having astute and 
honest men of ability to represent them 
I do not find serious fault with the United 
Gas Improvement Company for making 
the best bargain it could provided it 
went about it honestly and did not seek 
to corrupt the representatives entrusted 
with the city's interests. I for one would 
be willing to give corporations even more 
than their just due if only they can be 
made to stop all attempts to corrupt pub- 
lic officials. On February 12, 1912, in 
discussing Colonel Roosevelt's candidacy 
he said : "Unless the Republican party 
nominates a man in sympathy with the 
aspirations of the people we may expect 
a democratic administration, with radical 
legislation which will be of no benefit to 
the country." 

A lifelong Republican of national repu- 
tation and a leader in the reform fight 
for many years, it was with regret that 
he saw President Taft renominated, be- 
lieving that he was not a "man in sym- 
pathy with the aspirations of the people." 
In declaring for the Progressive candi- 
date he said: "President Taft has allowed 
himself to be bamboozled by men like 
Payne, Aldrich, and Cannon, with the 
result that we had imposed upon us the 
wretched Payne-Aldrich measure, which 
is a disgrace and a rank injustice to the 
Republican party. President Taft missed 
his great opportunity to insist upon a 
proper revision and permitted, then com- 
mended the iniquitous Payne-Aldrich bill. 
I prefer to have the needed tarifif revision 
in the hands of those who do not think 
it wrong and unconstitutional to protect 
wages and legitimate business by a pro- 
tective tariflf." He personally directed the 
fight of the City Party in 1905 as chair- 

man of the Committee of Seventy, 
arranging his private business so that he 
might give his entire time to the cam- 
paign. In 1906 he was prominently men- 
tioned for the office of Governor of Penn- 
sylvania, and has since -been equally 
active in all reform movements and has 
many victories to his credit. Although 
his large business interests keep him fully 
employed, he gives a great deal of time 
to the study of municipal problems, and 
in all Philadelphia there is no more de- 
voted, unselfish, patriotic citizen than 
John C. Winston. He is a member of the 
Historical Society of Pennsylvania, and 
finds social enjoyment in various clubs, 
including the University, City, Man- 
heim Cricket, and Huntingdon Valley 
Country. In 1915 he was elected presi- 
dent of the Science and Art Club of Ger- 
mantown, where he resides. His business 
office is at No. loio Arch street. 

Mr. Winston married, July 19, 1883, 
Samuella Terrell Hicks, of Richmond, 
Virginia. He has no children. 

WAKEFIELD, James Alfred, 

Liaivyer, Insurance Expert. 

James Alfred Wakefield is one of the 
lawyers now practicing at the Pittsburgh 
bar who can look back upon twenty-five 
years of successful and honorable en- 
deavor. Mr. Wakefield has been active 
in the political life of his city and State, 
and enjoys a high degree of popularity 
both as a lawyer and a citizen. 

The Wakefield family is of ancient 
English origin, tracing lineal descent 
from Gilbert Wakefield, the author of a 
version of the Bible -^yhich is now num- 
bered among the treasures of the British 
Museum. The original Tower — the 
Round Tower — of London, in which the 
crown jewels are kept, was named when 
built and is still known as the Wakefield 


Tower. The branch of the family to 
which the Pennsylvania Wakefields be- 
long is understood to have migrated from 
Yorkshire, England, to County Antrim, 

Thomas Wakefield was born October 2, 
1757, in Ireland, and emigrated to the 
United States, presumably during the 
Revolutionary War. He married, Sep- 
tember 25, 1779, Elizabeth, born March 
5, 1760, daughter of Samuel Morton, a 
brother of John Morton, who was one 
of the Signers of the Declaration of In- 
dependence. Thomas Wakefield served 
during the Revolution as a private in 
Captain Noah Abraham's company, Cum- 
berland county militia. This was in 1780, 
and shows that he was at that time a 
resident of Pennsylvania. The death of 
Thomas Wakefield occurred November 
20, 1844, in Indiana county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and his widow survived him but 
six months, passing away May 9, 1845. 

(II) Samuel, son of Thomas and Eliz- 
abeth (Morton) Wakefield, was born 
March 6, 1799, and was a minister of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. He was 
the author of "Wakefield's Theology" 
and of many other works, religious, 
musical and literary. He also construct- 
ed the first pipe-organ west of the Alle- 
ghenies, preached the gospel for seventy- 
five years, and at the time of his death 
was the oldest living Free Mason. Dr. 
Wakefield married, August 21, 1821, 
Elizabeth Hough, born August 22, 1803. 
Mrs. Wakefield died September 29, 1894, 
and her husband did not long survive the 
faithful companion of more than seventy 
years, dying September 13, 1895, ^t the 
venerable age of ninety-six. 

(III) David H., son of Samuel and 
Elizabeth (Hough) Wakefield, was born 
August 16, 1822, and led the life of a 
country gentleman. He was noted for 
introducing many new fruits into West- 
ern Pennsylvania, and his conservatory 

of flowers was greatly admired by all 
who were privileged to behold it. Mr, 
Wakefield married, July 31, 1844, Mary 
Covert. whose ancestral record is 
appended to this biography, and they 
were the parents of seven children among 
whom James Alfred is mentioned below. 
Mr. Wakefield died April 4, 1900, and his 
widow passed away December 11, 1902. 

(IV) James Alfred, son of David H. 
and Mary (Covert) Wakefield, was born 
May 3, 1865, in Redstone, Fayette 
county, Pennsylvania, and received his 
elementary education in local public 
schools, afterward attending Allegheny 
College at Meadville, Pennsylvania, 
where he took several oratorical prizes 
and successfully represented his college 
in the Intercollegiate Chautauquan Ora- 
torical Contest. In 1889 Mr. Wakefield 
graduated and immediately thereafter 
began the study of law in the office of the 
Hon. C. E. Boyle, of Uniontown, Penn- 
sylvania, completing his course in Pitts- 
burgh under the instruction of George 
W. Acklin. In 1890 he was admitted to 
the bar and is now a member of the 
Superior and Supreme Courts of Penn- 
sylvania, also of the United States Dis- 
trict and Circuit Courts and the Supreme 
Court of the United States. After enter- 
ing into practice, Mr. Wakefield rose 
steadily into prominence, proving that he 
possessed the essential qualities of a truly 
successful lawyer and winning the con- 
fidence of the profession and the public. 
He has been connected with many im- 
portant cases and has devoted special 
attention to complicated insurance litiga- 
tion, achieving some of his greatest suc- 
cesses in this department. 

In politics Mr. Wakefield is an ardent 
Democrat, but has never allowed the 
attention he gave to public affairs to in- 
terfere with his legal practice. In 1910, 
in compliance with urgent entreaties, he 
allowed his name to appear as the candi- 



date of his party for Congressman from 
the Twenty-second District of Pennsyl- 
vania, opposing John Dalzell, who was 
nominated by the Republicans. Mr. 
Wakefield was defeated, but made a 
highly creditable canvass against great 
odds, receiving the full party vote and 
adding to his already great popularity in 
his district. 

Among the organizations in which Mr. 
Wakefield is enrolled are the Sons of the 
Revolution, the Historical Society of 
Western Pennsylvania and the National 
Democratic Club, also the Pittsburgh 
Athletic Association, the Church Club of 
Pittsburgh and the New York Club. He 
retains his membership in the Delta Tau 
Delta fraternity and is a past master of 
Hailman Lodge, No. 321, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons. He is the local represen- 
tative of the Pocahontas Memorial So- 

Mr. Wakefield married, in 1890, Annie, 
daughter of Washington Lowry, of Pitts- 
burg, formerly of Philadelphia. The 
Lowry family was originally from France. 
Mr. and Mrs. Wakefield were the parents 
of one daughter : Dorothy Randolph, who 
was educated in schools of Paris, Berlin 
and Florence, and is now studying the 
piano abroad. While in Paris Miss 
Wakefield was the winner of a fencing 

James Alfred Wakefield will leave a 
record worthy of his race and name to be 
incorporated in the legal annals of his 
county and State. 

(The Randolph Line). 

The Randolph family is of Virginia 
and traces descent from Pocahontas. At 
some time in the eighteenth century a 
branch was transplanted to Pennsylvania. 

Thomas Randolph, great-grandfather of 
Mrs. Mary (Covert) Wakefield, was a 
son of Brett Randolph and a grandson 
of Richard Randolph, of Virginia. 

Thomas Randolph was of Redstone town- 
ship, Fayette county, Pennsylvania, and 
made his will July 21, 1801. It was re- 
corded July 27, of the same year. His 
wife Abigail and his eldest son Richard 
were named as executors. He was sur- 
vived also by three other sons — Stephen, 
Thomas and Edward, and by one daugh- 
ter, who was married to Robert Richard- 
son. It is recorded that Thomas Ran- 
dolph received depreciation pay for ser- 
vices rendered in the War of the Revo- 

(II) Richard, son of Thomas and 
Abigail Randolph, was born in 1773, 
married and left descendants. 

(III) Abigail, daughter of Richard 
Randolph, was born in 1801, and in 1820 
was married to Benjamin Covert (see 
Covert line). Mrs. Covert died in 1865. 

(The Covert Line). 

Benjamin Covert, presumably of Penn- 
sylvania, married Abigail Randolph (see 
Randolph line), and died in June, 1888. 

(II) Mary, daughter of Benjamin and 
Abigail (Randolph) Covert, was born 
August 8, 1823, and became the wife of 
David H. Wakefield, as stated above ; 
died December 11, 1902. 

BAIRD, Thomas Harlan, 

Jjavryer, Jurist, Liitterateur. 

Hon. Thomas Harlan Baird was born 
in Washington, Pennsylvania, November 
15, 1787. Of his grandfather. Lieutenant 
John Baird, an officer in the Colonial 
army, we find, on referring to the Penn- 
sylvania Archives, Second Series, volume 
II., page 479 and following, mention of 
the second battalion of one of the Penn- 
sylvania regiments. Colonel James Burd, 
commandant. This battalion joined the 
British army at Carlisle; marched with 
it to Fort DuOuesne ; was present at 
Grant's defeat and at the capture of the 

Hon. Thomas Harlan Baird 


fort. On page 481 will be found the name 
of John Baird as ensign (second lieuten- 
ant) in Captain Work's company of this 
second battalion, the date of his commis- 
sion being March 13, 1758. On page 520, 
in the list of officers of the Pennsylvania 
regiment for 1760, will be found the name 
of Lieutenant John Baird, with April 13, 
1758, as the date of his commission, he 
having been promoted subsequent to the 
capture of Fort DuQuesne. On page 523 
Lieutenant John Baird is reported dead. 
Lieutenant John Baird married, in 1756, 
Catharine McClean. and when he joined 
the Pennsylvania regiment he resided at 
Kennett Square, in Chester county, Penn- 
sylvania, where he left his wife and their 
only child, Absalom, then aged about 
three years. Lieutenant John Baird died, 
as stated, in 1760, while in military ser- 
vice. Catharine, his wife, died at Wash- 
ington, Pennsylvania. November 28, 

Dr. Absalom Baird, son of Lieutenant 
John and Catharine (McClean) Baird, 
was born in Philadelphia ; was a surgeon 
in the Continental army during the Revo- 
lution, enjoying the intimate friendship 
of many of its most distinguished officers ; 
afterwards practiced his profession for 
some years at Kennett Square, Pennsyl- 
vania. He married, July 14, 1783, at 
Wilmington, Delaware, Susanna Harlan 
Brown. He subsequently removed to 
Washington, Pennsylvania, where he at- 
tained the distinction of being the most 
able physician and surgeon of his time 
in Western Pennsylvania. He was emi- 
nent also for his classical, scientific and 
literary attainments, his early education 
having been pursued at the famous Log 
College on the Neshamony, in Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania. Dr. Absalom 
Baird's residence in Washington, Penn- 
sylvania, was on West Maiden street, and 
it was here that the Bourbon Prince, 
Louis Phillipe, afterward King of France, 

was entertained June 20, 1797. This his- 
toric old house, after standing one hun- 
dred and seventeen years, was torn down 
to make way for the Government Build- 
ing. Dr. Absalom Baird died at Wash- 
ington, Pennsylvania, October 27, 1805; 
his wife's death occurred at the same 
place, November 16, 1802. Children of 
Absalom and Susanna Harlan (Brown) 
Baird: i. John Baird, born at Kennett 
Square, Pennsylvania, July 26, 1784, died 
at Washington, Pennsylvania, November, 
1836. 2. George Baird, born at Kennett 
Square, Pennsylvania, October 28, 1785, 
died at Washington, Pennsylvania, No- 
vember 2, i860. 3. Thomas Harlan 
Baird, see below. 4. William Baird, born 
at Washington, Pennsylvania, July 24, 
1789, died at same place October 6, 1834. 
5. Sarah Baird (Mrs. William Hodge), 
born at Washington, Pennsylvania, 
March 11, 1793, died at Maysville, Ken- 
tucky, May 30, 1833. 6. Susan Baird 
(Mrs. Campbell), born at Washington, 
Pennsylvania, October 14, 1796, died at 
Uniontown, Pennsylvania, July 9, 1824. 

At the time of Dr. Absalom Baird's 
death, his son, Thomas Harlan, then 
about eighteen years of age, was a 
student in the classical school of David 
Johnston, in Brooke county, Virginia. 
The embarrassed condition of his father's 
estate compelled him to leave school, and 
he commenced the study of law in the 
office of Joseph Pentecost, at Washing- 
ton, Pennsylvania, where he was admit- 
ted to the bar in March, 1808, before com- 
pleting his twenty-first year. His success 
in the rapid attainment of a large and 
remunerative practice was remarkable at 
a bar which boasted such practitioners 
as James Ross, Henry Baldwin, Parker 
Campbell, Philip Dodridge and other 
eminent lawyers of that day. In October. 
1818, he was appointed by Governor 
Findlay, President Judge of the newly 



formed district (the Fourteenth) com- 
posed of the counties of Washington, 
Fayette, Greene and Somerset — the last 
was taken ofif in 1824, to form part of the 
Sixteenth District. In December, 1837, 
he resigned his seat on the bench, which 
he had filled with great honor and rare 
ability for more than nineteen years. Upon 
resigning his judgeship he removed to 
Pittsburgh and resumed the practice of 
the law, being admitted to the bar of that 
city January 2, 1838. After ten years 
or more of continuous professional labors 
he withdrew from active life to the retire- 
ment of his farm, near Monongahela 
City, Washington county, Pennsylvania. 
He did not, however, lose his interest in 
public afifairs, and was a frequent con- 
tributor to the newspapers upon the 
topics that were from time to time 
agitating the public mind. In 1854 he 
was the candidate of the Native Ameri- 
can party for Judge of the Supreme 
Court, Judge Black, the Democratic nom- 
inee, being his successful competitor. 

As a profound, discriminating, acute 
and ready lawyer. Judge Baird had few 
equals in the State, and probably no 
superior. His opinions when on the 
bench always commanded the high re- 
spect of the Supreme Court, and the re- 
versal of any of his decisions was ex- 
tremely rare. In his judicial career per- 
haps the most prominent event was his 
striking from the roll of the Fayette 
county bar, in 1835, a majority of the at- 
torneys. This led to his impeachment 
before the Legislature, by which tribunal 
he was, upon trial, honorably acquitted. 
The case will be found in the fifth volume 
of "Rawle's Reports," and the whole cor- 
respondence and proceedings are detailed 
in "Hazard's Register of Pennsylvania," 
volume XV., pp. 113, 245. While practic- 
ing as an attorney, it seemed impossible 
for the most acute practitioner to catch 
him unawares. So thorough and exten- 

sive had been his reading, so retentive 
was his memory and so quick was his 
reasoning faculty, that his conclusions 
appeared to come like intuitions and were 
almost invariably correct. Among the 
most able and searching productions of the 
presidential campaign of 1827-28 was a 
pamphlet address from a county meeting 
to the people of Washington county, 
against Jackson, written by him. An 
argument from his pen against "Sabbath 
Mails and Sabbath Desecrations in 
General" was published in pamphlet form 
and widely circulated. His charges to 
the grand jury were frequently published. 
His series of papers on the slavery ques- 
tion over the signature of "Alethes," in 
the Pittsburgh "Commercial Journal," in 
185 1, attracted much attention on account 
of their marked ability. As a friend of 
internal improvements and commercial 
enterprise he was among the foremost 
men of his time, if not occasionally in 
advance of his time. As one of the 
original suggesters and active promoters 
of the National Road, of the Mononga- 
hela navigation improvement, of the 
method of coal transportation by tow- 
boats and barges, of the construction of 
the Chartiers' Valley railroad — the first 
survey for which was made largely, if 
not entirely, at his expense — as president 
of a bank and builder of a mill in his 
native town, and in numerous other ways, 
he gave constant evidence of his active 
and enlightened public spirit. 

Though deprived of the advantages of 
a thorough academical course of instruc- 
tion in early life, Judge Baird's thirst for 
knowledge and his facility in its acquisi- 
tion soon carried him far in advance of 
the great majority of those who have 
completed the ordinary college curricu- 
lum. His attainments in classical learn- 
ing were of a high order; philological 
studies were to him a virtual recreation ; 
and the reading- of the Scriptures in the 


original tongues was with him a lifelong 
habit and one of his greatest enjoyments. 
One of the occupations of his later years 
was rendering the Psalms of David from 
the original Hebrew into a metrical Eng- 
lish version, and he advanced as far as 
the Forty-second Psalm. In history and 
general literature his reading was un- 
usually extensive ; his power of memory 
was remarkable, and his taste highly cul- 
tivated. In person he was tall, slender 
and slightly stooped — always appearing 
to be in a deep study, with his eyes fixed 
on the ground. On this account, when 
walking on the street, he seemed to be 
unsocial. But on meeting friends and 
acquaintances he was free, easy and com- 
municative, possessing a fund of informa- 
tion which he freely imparted to others. 
His friends were glad to visit him and 
enjoy his conversation, because of his 
tine literary tastes and his large attain- 
ments in every branch of knowledge. 
His sense of right and wrong was very 
acute, and as a judge his sole object was 
the administration of justice. He was 
somewhat impulsive and irascible, which 
betrayed him sometimes into speaking 
unadvisedly. But when on reflection he 
saw his error, no man was more ready to 
make amends. Being conscious of up- 
rightness in all his conduct, he never 
shunned — nay, even courted — the most 
rigid scrutiny. His bitterest enemies at 
the bar accorded to him integrity and 
honesty of purpose and an anxious desire 
to do right. He possessed a remarkably 
kind disposition and was liberal even to a 
fault. His latest professional act was the 
prosecution before the Court of Claims 
at Washington, D. C, of a claim for com- 
pensation for the services rendered by 
his father, Dr. Baird, during the Revolu- 
tionary War. For the manner in which 
he conducted this case, and for his lucid 
and forcible argument, he was highly 
complimented at the time by many of the 

PEN-Vol VI-3 I 

distinguished lawyers then in Washing- 
ton. A decision in his favor was rendered 
by the court, and he was immediately 
and urgently solicited by a number of 
similar claimants to conduct their cases 
for them, but his impaired health com- 
pelled him to decline. He was endowed 
by nature with rare intellectual gifts, and 
distinguished for his profound legal at- 
tainments, his diversified and highly 
cultivated literary taste, his kindness of 
heart and his spotless integrity. 

Judge Thomas H. Baird died at the 
residence of his son-in-law, Charles Mc- 
Knight (whose biography and portrait 
appear elsewhere in this work), in Alle- 
gheny City (now Northside, Pittsburgh), 
November 22, 1866, having completed his 
seventy-ninth year seven days before. His 
remains were interred in the cemetery at 
Washington, Pennsylvania. 

Judge Thomas Harlan Baird married 
Nancy Acheson McCuUough, and they 
became the parents of thirteen children, 
among them being: Eleanor, who mar- 
ried Dr. R. R. Reed, Washington, Penn- 
sylvania ; Sarah, married George Morgan, 
Washington, Pennsylvania; Susan, died 
in young womanhood ; Mary, married 
Joseph Patterson, of Pittsburgh ; Eliza, 
married Robert Patterson, Pittsburgh ; 
Thomas H. Jr., married Louise King, of 
Monongahela City, Pennsylvania ; Har- 
riet ; Emily ; Margaret Wilson ; Jeanne, 
married Charles McKnight, of Pitts- 

CHANDLER, Amasa Franklin, M. D., 

Physician, Enterprising Citizen. 

Twenty years of successful medical 
practice crowned by a brief but success- 
ful business career, is a combination rare- 
ly met with, but the life of the late Dr. 
Amasa Franklin Chandler furnishes a 
striking instance of it. As a physician, 
Dr. Chandler resided in Akron, Ohio, but 


on turning his attention to business he 
removed to Pennsylvania, where he was 
chiefly known and is best remembered as 
the organizer, secretary and general 
manager of the Charleroi Plate Glass 
Company, and the founder of Charleroi, 

William Chandler, founder of the 
American branch of the family, settled, 
in 1637, in Roxbury, Massachusetts, 
where he became a landed proprietor. 
He brought with him from England his 
wife Annis, and four children : Thomas ; 
Hannah ; John, mentioned below ; and 
William. The fifth child, Sarah, was 
born in Roxbury, and it was there that 
Mr. Chandler died, November 26, 1641. 

(II) John, son of William and Annis 
Chandler, was one of the six who bought 
of Captain James Fitch, of Norwich, Con- 
necticut, "The Mashamoquet Purchase," 
of fifteen hundred acres for the consider- 
ation of thirty pounds. John Chandler 
was one of the deacons of the church in 
Woodstock. He married Elizabeth, 
daughter of William and Anna (Mattle) 
Douglas, and among their eight children 
was John, mentioned below. John 
Chandler died April 15, 1703, and is 
interred in the burying-ground of Wood- 

(III) John (2), son of John (i) and 
Elizabeth (Douglas) Chandler, was born 
April 16, 1655, and in 1690 was one of the 
first selectmen of Woodstock. He also 
held the ofifice of town surveyor, and dur- 
ing the Indian disturbances rose to the 
rank of colonel in the colonial forces. 
For nearly forty years he served as a com- 
missioner of the peace, and for seven years 
was a member of his majesty's council. 
Colonel Chandler married (first) Novem- 
ber 10, 1692, Mary, daughter of Deacon 
Joshua and Elizabeth (Smith) Raymond, 
and they were the parents of ten chil- 
dren, one of whom was Thomas, men- 
tioned below. The Raymonds were of 

New London, Connecticut. Colonel 
Chandler married (second) November 14, 
171 1, Esther Britman, widow of Pals- 
grave Alcock. The death of Colonel 
Chandler occurred August 10, 1743. 

(IV) Thomas, son of John (2) and 
Mary (Raymond) Chandler, was born 
July 23, 1709, in Woodstock, Connecti- 
cut, and was known as "Judge." He was 
extremely public-spirited, aiding in all 
that made for the advancement of his 
community. Judge Chandler married, 
November 23, 1732, Elizabeth, born May 
14, 1712, daughter of Judge John and 
Mary (Wolcott) Elliott, of Windsor, 
Connecticut, and of their five children 
Thomas is mentioned below. Judge 
Chandler died June 20, 1785, and his 
widow passed away December 22, 1794. 

(V) Thomas (2), son of Thomas (i) 
and Elizabeth (Elliott) Chandler, was 
born September 23, 1740, and held the fol- 
lowing offices : Secretary of the State of 
Vermont ; speaker of the House of Repre- 
sentatives ; member of Council; justice of 
the first Superior Court ; and Commis- 
sioner of Sequestration of Tory Estates. 
He married, July 21, 1763, Sarah, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Mary (Wait) Lord, of 
Chester, Vermont, and among their seven 
children was Thomas Lord, mentioned 

(VI) Thomas Lord, son of Thomas 
(2) and Sarah (Lord) Chandler, was 
born August 24, 1768, and studied 
law with his father and brother-in-law, 
Ezekiel Colburn, but did not practice. 
He married, September 14, 1794, Asenath, 
born June 13, 1774, in New Ipswich, New 
Hampshire, daughter of Levi Adams and 
his wife, whose maiden name was Perry. 
Levi Adams was a soldier of the Revolu- 
tion. Mr. and Mrs. Chandler were the 
parents of seven children, of whom Levi 
Lord is mentioned below. The death of 
Mr. Chandler occurred October 25, 1810, 
and his wife died in the fiftieth year of 


her widowhood, passing away on April 
ID, i860. 

(VII) Levi Lord, son of Thomas 
Lord and Asenath (Adams) Chandler, 
was born November i, 1810, and followed 
the calling of a farmer. In March, 1868, 
he removed to Pecatonica, Illinois, where 
he owned another farm which he made 
his home for the remainder of his life. 
He married Nancy, daughter of Jonathan 
and Persis (Gay) Grundy, originally of 
Norfolk, New York. Of the seven chil- 
dren born to Mr. and Mrs. Chandler, 
Amasa Franklin is mentioned below. 

(VIII) Amasa Franklin, son of Levi 
Lord and Nancy (Grundy) Chandler, 
was born January 24, 1844, in Lawrence 
county, New York, and received his edu- 
cation in local schools. Ere he attained 
his majority the current of his life was 
diverted by the Civil War into military 
channels. In 1864 he enlisted in Com- 
pany B, 146th Regiment Illinois Infantry, 
and served to the close of the conflict, 
receiving in July, 1865, an honorable dis- 

On his return home, Mr. Chandler ma- 
triculated in the medical department of 
the University of Chicago, completing his 
studies at the University of Stuttgart, 
Germany, and returned to his native land 
fully equipped for the practice of his 
profession. Opening an offtce in Akron, 
Ohio, he devoted himself for many years 
to the active and faithful discharge of the 
obligations and responsibilities of a prac- 
titioner of general medicine and surgery, 
his labors being attended by success and 

In Dr. Chandler's nature, however, 
professional ability was combined with 
the essential qualities of a man of afifairs, 
and these qualities, in the course of time, 
demanded a field for their exercise. In 
1888 he abandoned the practice of his 
profession, becoming secretary and treas- 
urer of the Standard Plate Glass Com- 

pany of Cutler, Pennsylvania. 'i"he fol- 
lowing year his business talent found 
still fuller scope in the organization of 
the Charleroi Plate Glass Company, of 
which during the remainder of his life he 
was secretary and general manager. He 
was also one of the founders of Charleroi, 
Pennsylvania, and a director of the Char- 
leroi Land Company. 

The political principles advocated by 
the Republican party always received the 
aid of Dr. Chandler's vote and influence. 
During his professional career he was for 
a time assistant surgeon in the Roman 
Catholic Hospital in Chicago. He was a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church. The countenance and manner of 
Dr. Chandler were indicative of the union 
of the reflective and executive faculties 
by which he was distinguished, marking 
him as both the student and the man of 

Dr. Chandler married, September 11, 
1877, Ida H. Hartupee, whose family 
record is appended to this biography, and 
their children were : Andrew Hartupee, 
superintendent of Works No. 5 of the 
Pittsburgh Plate Glass Company at Ford 
City, Pennsylvania, married Lucile, 
daughter of R. R. Brown, of Pittsburgh, 
and they have three children — Dorothy 
Phipps, Caroline Augusta, and William 
Hartupee ; Lee Lord, whose biography 
appears in this work ; Sellers McKee, 
whose biography may also be found on 
another page ; Clarence Amasa, of Cleve- 
land, Ohio, local manager of the Toledo 
Plate and Window Glass Company, has 
one son, Clarence Amasa. Mrs. Chandler. 
in her widowhood, is blessed with the 
devotion of her children and the warm 
attachment of her many friends. 

In the prime of life and in the fullness 
of prosperity Dr. Chandler passed away, 
breathing his last on December 17, 1890, 
at Charleroi, Pennsylvania. A quarter of 
a century has passed since then, but his 


work still bears abundant fruit. Dr. 
Chandler was a resident of two States, 
and in both proved his value to the com- 
monwealth. He helped to sustain the 
prestige of the medical profession of 
Ohio and was largely instrumental in the 
development of one of Pennsylvania's 
most important industries. 

(The Hartupee Line). 

(I) Aaron Hartupee, grandfather of 
Mrs. Ida H. (Hartupee) Chandler, was a 
citizen of Pennsylvania. 

(II) Andrew, son of Aaron Hartupee, 
was born February 29, 1820. He was a 
prominent man in his day, actively iden- 
tified with the affairs of Pittsburgh, and 
was one of the pioneers in the engine and 
iron industries of Pennsylvania. In 1S63 he 
completed and patented the compound 
engine which revolutionized the business 
of heavy engine building all over the 
world, and made him one of the ablest 
inventors of his time. He was also the 
builder of the Brilliant Water Works on 
the Allegheny river for the city of Pitts- 
burgh, having designed and installed the 
enormous pumping engines which are still 
operating there today. At the time of the 
Civil War, Andrew Hartupee contracted 
with the United States government to 
furnish a great number of the engines, 
installed on the Mississippi gunboats. He 
lost millions of dollars through the defec- 
tive wording of one of his patents, but 
nevertheless made a fortune from his 
inventions. He married Louise David, 
born March 11, 1828, daughter of Henry 
Cook, and their children were : Jeannette 
E., wife of H. Sellers McKee, of New 
York and Paris ; Ida H., mentioned be- 
low; Florence, married William B. 
Burke, of Rochester, New York, and is 
now deceased ; and William D., of Pitts- 
burgh, formerly president of the Pitts- 
burgh Plate Glass Company, and presi- 
dent of the Pittsburgh Valve and Fit- 

tings Company, now deceased. Andrew 
Hartupee died September 16, 1891, in 
Charleroi, Pennsylvania. 

(Ill) Ida H., daughter of Andrew and 
Louise David (Cook) Hartupee, became 
the wife of Dr. Amasa Franklin Chandler, 
as stated above. 

CHANDLER, Lee Lord, 

Corporation 0£S.cial. 

Lee Lord Chandler was born October 
29, 1879, in Akron, Ohio, and is a son of 
Dr. Amasa Franklin and Ida H. (Hart- 
upee) Chandler. A biography of Dr. 
Chandler, with full ancestral record, 
appears on a preceding page in this work. 

Lee Lord Chandler received his earliest 
education in local schools, afterward 
attending the West Jersey Academy, of 
Bridgeton, New Jersey, and then enter- 
ing the Case School of Applied Science, 
of Cleveland. From this institution he 
graduated in 1900 with the degree of 
Bachelor of Science as mechanical engi- 
neer. Entering the service of the Pitts- 
burgh Plate Glass Company, Mr. Chand- 
ler steadily advanced, and now holds the 
position of efficiency engineer. Since 
1910 he has been treasurer and director 
of the Chandler-Boyd Supply Company, 
and he also fills the office of president of 
the Charleroi Land Company. To the 
duties and obligations of each of these 
positions he gives full attention. 

The political principles of Mr. Chandler 
are those advocated by all steadfast Re- 
publicans, but he takes no active part 
in the aflfairs of the organization. He 
affiliates with the Masonic fraternity, 
having reached the Knight Templar de- 
grees, and belongs to the Oakmont Coun- 
try Club, the Pittsburgh Athletic Associ- 
ation, and the Missouri Athletic Associ- 
ation of St. Louis, Missouri. He is a 
member of the Presbyterian church. 

Mr. Chandler married, October 26^ 





191 1, Maud M.. daughter of Judge Ed- 
ward F. and Ann (Gibbons) Crawford, 
of Washington, District of Columbia. 
Mrs. Crawford is a niece of Archbishop 
Gibbons, of North Dakota, and of the 
same family as Cardinal Gibbons, of 
Baltimore. Mr. and Mrs. Chandler are 
the parents of one son : Edward Craw- 
ford, born July 17, 1912. 

CHANDLER, Sellers McKee. 

Corporation Official. 

Sellers McKee Chandler was born 
June 6, 1881, in Akron, Ohio, and is a son 
of Dr. Amasa Franklin and Ida H. 
(Hartupee) Chandler. A biography of 
Dr. Chandler, who is now deceased, 
appears, with full ancestral record, on a 
preceding page of this work. 

Sellers McKee Chandler, after attend- 
ing local schools, became a pupil at the 
West Jersey Academy, Bridgeton, New 
Jersey, passing thence to the Case School 
of Applied Science, of Cleveland, and 
graduating in 1902, with the degree of 
Bachelor of Science. In 1905 he received 
from the same institution the degree of 
Mechanical Engineer. In 1902 Mr. 
Chandler obtained the position of assist- 
ant superintendent of the Pittsburgh 
Valve and Fittings Company of Barber- 
ton, Ohio, remaining eight years and 
acquiring the knowledge and experience 
which have borne fruit in recent years. 
He is an authority on certain scientific 
lines regarding the strength of materials, 
the results of his researches having been 
widely published in engineering journals 
and are now in use in the text-books of 
leading technical schools. 

In 1910 he was instrumental in form- 
ing the Chandler-Boyd Supply Company, 
of which he has ever since been presi- 
dent and director. The concern makes 
a specialty of mill, mine and railroad 
supplies and has a large and growing 

business. Mr. Chandler is also vice- 
president of the Pittsburgh Jobbers' Sup- 
ply Association. 

Mr. Chandler is a Republican in 
politics. He is a member of the Ameri- 
can Society of Mechanical Engineers, 
Pittsburgh Association of Credit Men, 
Royal Arch Masons, the Oakmont Coun- 
try Club, the Pittsburgh Commercial 
Club and the Pittsburgh Athletic Asso- 
ciation, also the Beta Theta Pi, Sigma 
Xi and Theta Nu Epsilon fraternities. 
He is a member of the Presbyterian 

Mr. Chandler is and looks an heir of 
the traits which caused his remoter 
ancestors to be distinguished for public 
service and made his father a noted rep- 
resentative of the glass industry of Penn- 

BREED, Henry A., 

Civil War Veteran, Model Citizen. 

There are men whose memories aie 
always green in the minds of those who 
knew them ; whose personalities are so 
vivid that the recollection of them is 
fadeless ; men of whom we cannot say, 
"They are dead," because their life still 
throbs in the hearts that loved them. To 
this class of men belonged Henry A. 
Breed, for many years prominent in busi- 
ness circles of Pittsburgh, in which city 
he was born on August i, 1842. His 
parents were George and Rhoda (Ed- 
wards) Breed, who belonged to old New 
England stock, Mrs. Breed having been 
a lineal descendant of the Rev. Jonathan 
Edwards, the noted New England divine 
of Colonial times. 

(I) The founder of the Breed family in 
America was Allen Breed, who as early 
as 1601 spelled his name Bread. Soon 
after he settled in America the name was 
changed to Breed. Allen Breed came 
with Governor Winthrop to this countn.'. 


in 1630, accompanied by his first wife and 
two sons. Two more sons were born in 
this country, at Lynn, Massachusetts. 

(II) Allen Breed, son of the founder 
of the American branch of the family, 
married, and among his children was a 
son named John Breed. 

(III) John Breed, son of Allen Breed 
(2), married for his first wife, Mercy 

(IV) Gershom Breed, son of John and 
Mercy (Palmer) Breed, married Doro- 
thy McLaren, and among their children 
was a son, Shubael. 

(V) Shubael Breed, son of Gershom 
and Dorothy (McLaren) Breed, married 
Lydia Perkins, by whom was born 
George Breed, the subject's father. 

(VI) George Breed, son of Shubael 
and Lydia (Perkins) Breed, was born at 
Norwich, Connecticut, March 27, 1799. 
A biographer gives the following account 
of George Breed in a history of Pitts- 
burgh : 

He received the plain, ordinary education of 
the times in which he lived, and when fourteen 
years of age went to Taunton, Massachusetts, 
where he entered the store of a certain Captain 
Ingalls as "boy" and clerk. He received a 
thorough training in method, accuracy and 
economy, and cultivation of inherited qualities 
of honesty and thrift. In 1823 he came to 
Pittsburgh and established himself. In 1826 he 
gave up his business in Pittsburgh and went to 
Ravenna, Ohio, where he remained about two 
years, returning to Pittsburgh in 1828. He was 
from this time engaged in the dry goods busi- 
ness and located on the north side of Market 
street, between the Diamond and Fifth avenue. 
On October 8, 1833, he was married to Miss 
Rhoda Ogden Edwards, a great-granddaughter 
of Rev. Jonathan Edwards, the eminent divine 
and president of Princeton College. In 1835 
Mr. Breed sold his dry goods business and 
engaged in the queens-ware and glass business, 
being located on Wood street, just south of the 
Diamond, and later at old No. 100, where he 
continued until his death. 

Mr. Breed belonged to the "heroic age" of 
Pittsburgh's development and enterprise, before 

even the day of palatial canal boating, when the 
stage coach and Conestoga wagon were the 
means of transit. He was active in practical 
matters, but in no sense a public man. He was 
modest, his interest in events manifested by 
quiet and solid results. He was deeply inter- 
ested in the construction of the old Pennsyl- 
vania canal, and was a party to the idea of 
transporting canal-boats across the mountains 
in sections over the inclined planes of the old 
Portage road. 

He was the prime mover in the establishment 
of the Western Pennsylvania Hospital after 
numerous efforts had failed; and when the 
charter had about lapsed he raised by individual 
effort a subscription which secured the grant, 
called a meeting of subscribers and organized 
a board. He was also one of the original 
incorporators of the Third Presbyterian Church, 
of which he continued a member until his death. 
In politics he was an old-line Whig and threw 
no obstacle on the track of the "underground 
railroad" before the Civil War. In 1842 he was 
one of the parties who purchased the ground 
and settled at Oakland, at that date known as 
the "Third Church Colony." In stature he was 
a large man, being six feet and four inches 
high and weighed two hundred and seventy-five 
pounds, but perfectly erect and active in all his 
movements. He belonged to the old school of 
merchants and gentlemen. 

George and Rhoda Ogden (Edwards) 
Breed were the parents of eight children, 
three of whom died in infancy. The 
others were as follows: i. Richard E., 
who engaged in trade in Chicago, 
Illinois. He married Mattie Lyon, of 
Covington, Kentucky, and they had four 
children, including George, who married 
Clara Meade, daughter of Admiral 
Meade, and had six children : Richard 
Edward, Edwards, George, Rebecca, 
Mary Paulding and Henrietta. 2. Sarah 
M., who married Charles H. Zug, Esquire, 
of Pittsburgh. 3. Henry A. (subject). 
4. Emma B., wife of T. F. Phillips, a 
merchant in Philadelphia. 5. Rev. David 
R. Breed, D. D., who became pastor of a 
church in Chicago and later was a profes- 
sor in the Western Theological Seminary 
at Allegheny City. He married Eliza- 


beth Kendall, of Grand Rapids, Michigan, 
and they are the parents of four children : 
Esther K., Mary E. (who married Captain 
Frank Pierpont Siviter of the regular 
army, who died and left one child, Eliza- 
beth Breed Siviter), Maurice Edwards, M. 
D., located at St. Louis, Missouri, and 
Allen Breed. 

(VII) Henry Atwood Breed (subject), 
son of George and Rhoda Ogden (Ed- 
wards) Breed, was a student at the West- 
ern University of Pennsylvania (now the 
University of Pittsburgh), and later be- 
came a soldier in the Civil War. He was 
a lieutenant in the 155th Pennsylvania 
Volunteer Regiment. He was in the 
Army of the Potomac, took part in the 
battles of Antietam and Gettysburg, and 
served until the autumn of 1863, when he 
was discharged on account of ill health. 
After the close of the war he traveled 
extensively in Europe, and then he 
engaged in the manufacturing business 
for about fifteen years. After giving this 
up he conducted a real estate business 
along special lines for upwards of twenty 
years. He was a member of the Grand 
Army of the Republic and of the Sons 
of the Revolution, having joined the latter 
through his mother's ancestry. He was 
also a member of the Military Order of 
the Loyal Legion and of the Duquesne 
Club. He was an early member of the 
Shadyside Presbyterian Church, of which 
he was a ruling elder, deacon and trustee, 
over a period of more than thirty years. 
In politics he was an independent Re- 

On October i, 1868, he married Cor- 
nelia Bidwell, a native of Pittsburgh, 
daughter of John C. and Sarah S. (Dil- 
worth) Bidwell. Mr. and Mrs. Breed 
had three children: r. Mary Bidwell, 
born September 15, 1870, who is a gradu- 
ate of Bryn Mawr, and who was dean of 
women at the University of Missouri, 
and now is dean of the Margaret Mor- 

rison Carnegie School, of Pittsburgh. 2. 
Henry Atwood, who died in infancy. 3. 
Charles Henry, born March 11, 1876, who 
is a graduate of Princeton, and is master 
at Lawrenceville School, Lawrenceville, 
New Jersey. He married Frances De 
Forest Martin, a daughter of Robert L. 
and Annie (Smith) Martin. Issue, three 
children : Anne Martin, born March 2, 
1905 ; Elizabeth Leiper, born December 
29, 1907; Henry Atwood, born November 
29, 1910. 

Henry A. Breed died on February 26, 
1914. His death was a great loss to 
Pittsburgh. Forceful, sagacious, and re- 
sourceful, he was recognized as one of 
those in the inmost circle who are closest 
to the business concerns and financial 
interests which have most largely served 
the growth and progress of the city. He 
had gained a success in life not measured 
by financial prosperity alone, but gauged 
by kindly amenities and congenial asso- 
ciations. Brief and imperfect as this 
biography necessarily is, it falls far short 
of justice to him if it fails to excite regret 
that there are not more citizens to equal 
him in ability and virtue, and gratitude 
that there are some so worthy of honor 
and of imitation. 

ELLIOTT, William S., 

Prominent Mannfacturer. 

William Swan Elliott, president, treas- 
urer and director of The Elliott Company, 
a widely known manufacturing corpora- 
tion, is a true type of the Pittsburgh 
business man. Mr. Elliott, though not 
a Pittsburgher by birth, has spent the 
greater part of his active life in the 
metropolis and is intimately associated 
not only with her manufacturing inter- 
ests, but also with other elements essen- 
tial to her prosperity as a municipality. 

The Elliott family is an ancient one of 
.Scottish origin. Manv branches are found 



not only in Scotland, but also in England, 
Ireland and America and members of the 
race have achieved prominence in the 
professions and in other walks of life. 

John Elliott, grandfather of William 
Sw^an Elliott, was a first cousin of the 
second Earl of Minta, of Scotland, and a 
lineal descendant of Sir Gilbert Elliott, 
of Golden Garter fame. John Elliott was 
born in Scotland, and bred there. He 
married Mary Robinson and they appear 
to have emigrated to the United States. 

(II) John (2), son of John (i) and 
Mary (Robinson) Elliott, was born in 
Scotland, near the border, and in early 
life was a schoolmaster, later turning his 
attention to agricultural pursuits. He 
was six years old when brought to the 
United States, his parents settling in 
Ohio, and there the remainder of his life 
seems to have been passed. He was a 
Republican in politics and a Presbyterian 
in religion. Mr. Elliott married Cather- 
ine, born in County Tyrone, Ireland, 
daughter of John and Jane (Moore) 
Adams, the latter a relative of the Irish 
poet, Thomas Moore, beloved not only of 
his own island, but of the world at large. 
Catherine Adams came in girlhood to the 
United States and was adopted by an 
uncle, Andrew Adams, of Ohio. The fol- 
lowing children were born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Elliott : Mary Jane, widow of D. 
S. McBean, of Wellsville. Ohio; Eliza- 
beth, deceased ; Andrew A., a physician 
of Steubenville, Ohio, now deceased ; and 
William Swan, mentioned below. The 
death of Mr. Elliott occurred in 1869. He 
was the eldest of four children, the others 
being George, Richard and Alinta, now 
Mrs. Gilchrist, of Sharpsville. Ohio. 

(III) William Swan, son of John (2) 
and Catherine (Adams) Elliott, was born 
October 8, 1863, i" Columbiana county, 
Ohio, and received his early education in 
public schools, afterward attending the 
Pennsylvania State College and then 

entering Cornell University. From this 
institution he graduated in 1887 with the 
degree of Mechanical Engineer. 

The same year Mr. Elliott engaged in 
business in Chicago and in the west, 
working as an electrical engineer and 
after a time establishing himself inde- 
pendently. In 1896 he came to Pitts- 
burgh, becoming general sales manager 
of the Sterling Boiler Company and re- 
taining this position until 1904. In 1901 
Mr. Elliott organized the Liberty Manu- 
facturing Company, becoming president 
and director. The concern manufactured 
steam-power accessories and proved very 
successful. In 1910 Mr. Elliott organized 
the Elliott Company for participation in 
the same line of industry, and now con- 
trols the two companies, being president 
and director of both, also treasurer of the 
latter. The Elliott Company was incor- 
])orated under the laws of the State of 
Pennsylvania with a capital stock of 
$850,000. The offices of both companies 
are in Pittsburgh, but the plant is at 
Jeannette, Pennsylvania, on a thirty-three 
acre plot. Its product has markets in all 
parts of the world. 

In politics Mr. Elliott is an Independ- 
ent Republican, but takes no active part 
in the affairs of the organization. He 
belongs to the American Society of Me- 
chanical Engineers, the American Acad- 
emy of Political and Social Science of 
Philadelphia, the Engineers' Society of 
Western Pennsylvania, and the Engi- 
neers' Club of New York. His other 
clubs are the University and the Pitts- 
burgh Press Clubs and he is also enrolled 
in the Pittsburgh Athletic Association. 
He affiliates with the Masonic fraternity, 
having attained the thirty-second degree. 
Active in all that tends to improve his 
cit)'' and a thoroughly progressive and 
virile business man, he looks what he is. 

Mr. Elliott married, February 18, 1890, 
Anna M., daughter of Daniel and Louise 


(Alexander) Leyden, of Beech Creek, 
Clinton county, Pennsylvania, Mr. Ley- 
den being a retired business man of that 
place. Mr. and Mrs. Elliott are the par- 
ents of the following children : George 
Frederick, born July 13, 1892, educated 
in Pittsburgh schools, Bellefonte Acad- 
emy and Pennsylvania State College, 
class of 191 5. mechanical engineering 
course ; Margaret Alexander, born Octo- 
ber 30, 1901 ; Gilbert Leyden, born Janu- 
ary 2, 1903, educated in Pittsburgh 
schools ; and William Adams, born March 
I, 1904. Mrs. Elliott belongs to various 
clubs, among them the Twentieth Cen- 
tury and Tuesday Musical and is a suffra- 
gist and an accomplished home-maker. 

BROWN, John Robert, M. D., 

Practitioner, Hospital Official. 

The rapid development of surgical 
science during the last quarter of a cen- 
tury has led many physicians to devote 
themselves almost exclusively to the sur- 
gical branch of their profession, and 
among these must be numbered Dr. John 
Robert Brown who has, for the last fif- 
teen years, been practicing in Pittsburgh. 
Dr. Brown is known not only as a sur- 
geon, but also as an occasional con- 
tributor to the literature of his profession. 

John Robert Brown was born February 
12, 1868, in County Down, Ireland, and 
is a son of the late Samuel and Margaret 
fOrr) Brown. The boy was educated in 
national schools of his native land and 
in 1888, having reached the age of twenty, 
he emigrated to the United States, where 
he was for a time employed as book- 
keeper for a firm. This position, how- 
ever, was but a stepping-stone to the pro- 
fession which he intended to make his 
life-work, and in 1895 he entered the 
Medical Department of the Western Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania, now the Univer- 

sity of Pittsburgh, graduating in 1899 
with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. 
After spending a year as interne in the 
West Pennsylvania flospital Dr. Brown 
began general practice in Pittsburgh, and 
very soon, by reason of taste and natural 
aptitude, directed the greater part of his 
attention to surgery, gradually eliminat- 
ing the medical element. Success has 
attended his efforts and he is now in pos- 
session of a large and increasing clientele. 
Since 1900 he has been a member of the 
assistant surgical stafif of the West 
Pennsylvania Hospital. For some years 
he served on the surgical staff of the 
South Side Hospital and for a time on 
that of the Passavant Hospital. For a 
number of years he has been surgeon to 
the Wabash Railroad Company. 

Among the professional organizations 
of which Dr. Brown is a member are the 
American Medical Association, the Penn- 
sylvania State Medical Association and 
the Allegheny County Medical Society. 
He has, from time to time, contributed 
to medical magazines. Politically Dr. 
Brown is a Republican. In Masonry he 
has taken the thirty-second degree and 
his affiliations are with Milnor Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons. He is a 
member of the Second Presbyterian 

Dr. Brown married, November 29, 
1908, Lottie Margaret, daughter of Lach- 
lin Mcintosh, of North Side, Pittsburgh, 
and they are the parents of two children : 
Robert Mcintosh, born February' 25, 
T910; and John Samuel, born November 
3. 191 1. Mrs. Brown is a woman of win- 
ning personality and she and her husband 
are popular in the social circles of Pitts- 
burgh, their charming home in the Schen- 
ley Farms portion of the East End being 
a centre of genial hospitality. The par- 
ents of Dr. Brown did not come to the 
United States, but his two brothers, 



Samuel and William Brown, are both 
active in the business world of Pitts- 

By reason of its magnitude and im- 
portance there is probably no other in- 
dustrial centre in the world as greatly in 
need of skillful surgeons as the metropolis 
of Pennsylvania and the success which 
has attended Dr. Brown in the city of 
his adoption attests the wisdom of his 

CARTWRIGHT, Harry Barlow, M. D., 

Practitioner, Hospital Ofucial. 

One of the best known physicians in 
Pittsburgh during the last fifteen years 
or more was the late Dr. Harry Barlow 
Cartwright. Dr. Cartwright was espe- 
cially devoted to hospital work and was 
assiduous in the duties of citizenship no 
less than in those pertaining to his pro- 

Richard Cartwright, great-grandfather 
of Harry Barlow Cartwright, was born 
in England and was a farmer and civil 
engineer, laying out all the roads in the 
neighborhood of Church Stretton, Shrop- 
shire. The name of his wife was Susan 

(II) Edward, son of Richard and 
Susan (Beddis) Cartwright, was born 
February 28, 1793, in Stoneacton, Card- 
ington parish, Shropshire, England, and 
was a farmer. Presumably in middle life 
he emigrated to the United States, but 
was never naturalized. He belonged first 
to the Church of England and afterward 
to the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. 
Cartwright married, in 1819, Mary 
Hamer, born August 11, 1790, and their 
children were : Henry ; Richard, men- 
tioned below; Susan; Edward; James; 
Thomas ; Charles ; and William. Mrs. 
Cartwright died January 28, 1871, and her 
husband passed away March 2, 1874. 

(III) Richard (2), son of Edward and 

Mary (Hamer) Cartwright, was born 
April 15, 1822, at Ruckley, England, and 
at the age of eighteen began to study for 
the ministry. He preached in England 
until 1848, when he came to the United 
States, where he preached in West Vir- 
ginia and was long a member of the 
Pittsburgh Conference. In politics he 
was always a Republican. Mr. Cart- 
wright married, August 20, 1855, at Nor- 
wich, Ohio, Louise, born at that place, 
May 20, 1834, daughter of David and 
Mary Sinsabaugh, and a descendant of 
German ancestors, and their children 
were : Charles Lewis Edward, born 
June 25, 1856; Mary Virginia Josephine, 
born November 12, 1858; David Trott, 
born February 4, 1861 ; Harry Barlow, 
mentioned below ; and Emma Louise, 
born February 20, 1878. In 1895 ^^• 
Cartwright retired from the active work 
of the ministry, having labored forty- 
seven years in the United States and 
several in his native land, making a total 
of about half a century devoted to preach- 
ing the gospel. On April 15, 1901, the 
day on which he completed his seventy- 
ninth year, this good man passed away 
at West Bridgewater, Pennsylvania, one 
of the oldest members of the Pittsburgh 
Conference of the Methodist Episcopal 
church. The death of Mrs. Cartwright 
occurred at the same place. May 2, 1902. 
(IV) Harry Barlow, son of Richard 
(2) and Louise (Sinsabaugh) Cartwright, 
was born Februarj' 6, 1864, ^t Summer- 
field, Noble county. Ohio, and attended 
the public schools of Pittsburgh. He was 
fitted for his profession at Rush Medical 
College. Chicago, graduating in 1891 with 
the degree of Doctor of Medicine. For 
a few months thereafter Dr. Cartwright 
practiced in Johnstown, Pennsylvania, 
and in the autumn of 1891 came to Pitts- 
burgh, where he remained to the close 
of his life, building up one of the largest 
clienteles in the citv. He was a member 





of the staff of St. Francis' Hospital, his 
work being of great value to that institu- 
tion ; also a member of the Academy of 
Medicine and Allegheny County Medical 

In politics Dr. Cartwright was a Re- 
publican, but the demands of his profes- 
sion together with a disinclination for 
public life prevented him from taking any 
part more active than that always requir- 
ed of a good citizen. From childhood he 
had belonged to the Methodist Episcopal 
communion and at the time of his death 
was a member of the Emory Church. 
One of his most marked characteristics 
was a love of nature and he was enrolled 
in the Black Hawk Hunting and Fishing 
Club which has its headquarters near 
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin. Birds, flow- 
ers, all that was beautiful in the life of 
the open, appealed strongly to him and 
yielded him the keenest delight. His 
countenance, with its high, broad fore- 
head, well moulded features accentuated 
by a moustache and calm, searching eyes, 
was expressive of the fine intellect, candid 
disposition and warm heart which sur- 
rounded him with friends both within 
and without the pale of his profession. 

Dr. Cartwright married, February 22, 
1893, ^t Homestead, Pennsylvania, Emma 
Jeannette, born August 18, 1870, at that 
place, daughter of John and Elizabeth 
Jane (Jones) Wesley. Mr. Wesley was 
brought to the United States from Wales 
at the age of five years and spent the re- 
mainder of his life in Pittsburgh, where 
he became a dry-goods merchant; he re- 
tired about twelve years before death. 
During the Civil War he was drafted, but 
peace was declared before he could reach 
the seat of war. He died December 24, 
1914, at the age of seventy-nine. Dr. and 
Mrs. Cartwright were the parents of one 
son : Harry Wesley, born December 23, 
1893, attended the Pittsburgh high 
school, spent one year at the University 

of Pittsburgh and is still pursuing his 
education. Mrs. Cartwright, a charming, 
cultured woman, and a devoted wife and 
mother, presided over a home which was 
to her husband the happiest and most 
restful spot on earth. The widowhood 
of Mrs. Cartwright is brightened by the 
warm and faithful attachment of many 
steadfast friends. 

Scarcely had Dr. Cartwright passed the 
fiftieth milestone when he was suddenly 
summoned from the scene of his labors, 
passing away March 29, 1914. Widely 
and deeply was he mourned, by the med- 
ical fraternity and by the multitudes to 
whom he had wisely, faithfully and un- 
selfishly ministered. Dr. Cartwright was 
the son of a man eminently useful in his 
sacred calling whose record is worthily 
supplemented by that so imperfectly out- 
lined here — the story of the life of an able 
and devoted member of a most noble 

HOWARD, William Jordan, 

Mayor of Pittsburgh, 1845. 

William Howard (father of the late 
William Jordan Howard, one of the early 
mayors of Pittsburgh), was born in Eng- 
land, about 1766, and came to America 
about 1794. Fie was married, near Wil- 
mington, Delaware, at Mill Creek Hun- 
dred, on the Brandywine river, about 
1798, to Elizabeth Jordan, daughter of 
William Jordan and Rebecca, his wife. 
They lived in Delaware for a time then 
moved to Columbiana county, Ohio. 
After the death of his wife, in or before 
181 5, William Howard left Ohio and 
moved to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Wil- 
liam Howard died in Pittsburgh, Penn- 
sylvania, at the home of his daughter, 
Mrs. Mackey, in April, 1828, aged sixty- 
two years, and is buried in Trinity 
churchyard, Pittsburgh. Issue of Wil- 
liam and Elizabeth (Jordan) Howard : i. 


William Jordan Howard (see below). 2. 
Rebecca Howard, born 1801 ; married 
Robert Mackey, of Pittsburgh ; died 1855. 
3. Levi Howard, born 1803 ; died 1855 ; 
unmarried. 4. Myrtilla Howard, died as 
a child. 5. James Boyd Howard, born 
near Little Beaver river, Ohio, 1805 ; died 
1900; married Louisa Pinder Nicholls. 6. 
Eliza J. Howard, born 1810; died 1887; 
married Robert H. Hartley, son of 
Thomas Hartley. 

William Jordan Howard, son of Wil- 
liam and Elizabeth (Jordan) Howard, 
was born at Mill Creek Hundred, near 
Wilmington, Delaware, about midnight, 
December 31, 1799. He was married, in 
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, May 14, 1824, 
at the home of the bride, on Smithfield 
street between Fifth avenue and Diamond 
Alley, to Lydia Updegraflf, daughter of 
Abner Updegrafif and Jane, his wife. Wil- 
liam Jordan Howard was mayor of Pitts- 
burgh at the time of the "Big Fire" of 
1845. He died October 2, 1862, at his 
residence on Third street, Pittsburgh, and 
is buried in the Allegheny Cemetery, 
Pittsburgh. Issue of William Jordan and 
Lydia (Updegrafif) Howard: i. Caroline 
Howard, married William Jack, of Hol- 
lidaysburg, Pennsylvania, and left issue. 
2. William Jordan Howard Jr., of Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania, married Mrs. 
Sophia B. Angue, a daughter of Jonathan 
Swain and Anna Maria Fenner, his wife, 
and left issue. 3. Jane Howard married 
John Christmas Reno, son of John Reno 
and Elizabeth Christmas, his wife ; left 
issue. 4. Byron Howard, died as a child. 
5. Eliza Howard, died aged eighteen 
years, unmarried. 6. Henrietta Howard, 
married Alexander Nimick, of Pittsburgh, 
son of William Nimick and Jane Kennedy, 
his wife, and left issue. 7. Rebecca How- 
ard. 8. Abner Updegraflf Howard, of 
Pittsburgh ; married (first) Fannie Can- 
field, daughter of John Canfield ; married 
(second) Martha Albertson, daughter of 

Morton Albertson and Sarah Lee, his wife, 
of Norristown, Pennsylvania. 9. Hartley 
Howard, of Pittsburgh, married Olivia 
Chambers, daughter of Alexander Cham- 
bers; left issue. 10. Mary Howard, mar- 
ried, November 17, 1869, Henry Blake 
Hays, whose biography appears else- 
where in this work. 11. Virginia 
Howard, died aged eighteen, unmarried. 
12. James Mackey Howard, of Los 
Angeles, California, married Annie 
Thomas, daughter of Robert Thomas and 
Susan Watson Dixon, his wife ; issue, one 

Abner Updegraflf, father of Mrs. Lydia 
(Updegraff) Howard, was a son of John 
Updegrafif, of York county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and Anne, his wife, and a direct 
descendant from the Updegrafifs who set- 
tled Germantown, Pennsylvania, in 1683. 
Abner Updegraflf was born 1771 ; died 
1846; buried in Allegheny Cemetery. His 
daughter, Lydia UpdegrafT Howard, was 
born May 14, 1804; died July 2, 1871, and 
is buried in Allegheny Cemetery, Pitts- 

CRANE, Monsignor Michael J., 

Distinguished Prelate. 

How beauteous was that temple of the Lord, 
Reared to His glory by King Solomon! 
Victims he ofifered there the Holy One, 
And in its place, the Ark devoutly stored. 
Triumphant music swelled in sweet accord 
For eight long days; and sounds of jubilee 
Thro' all the georgeous fane were gladly pour'd 
As earth re-echoed heavens minstrelsy! 

And yet this temple's treasures far outshine 

King Solomon's — The Eucharistic Ark 

Is here upraised. The Victim of this shrine 

Is Christ Himself, our very God — and hark! 

Celestial strains the choristers entone — 

The great De Sales hath come to bless his own! 

Thus wrote Eleanor C. Donnelly in 
honor of the dedication of St. Francis 
DeSales Church, in West Philadelphia, 
probably the most valuable, certainly the 


most handsome, church property in Phil- 
adelphia. Father Crane came to that 
parish, its second pastor, and there his 
splendid abilities and genius for organiza- 
tion has found full vent. His remarkable 
pastorate at DeSales began in 1903, and 
his work for the new temple of worship 
was unceasing until October 12, 191 1, 
when the magnificent church at Forty- 
seventh street and Springfield avenue 
was dedicated and blessed with solemn 
and appropriate ceremonies. 

The dream of Father Crane's boyhood 
was to become a priest, and from the date 
of his ordination in 1889 until the present, 
his career has been one of unceasing 
effort and great usefulness. Churchly 
honors and appreciation have been con- 
ferred upon him abundantly, the culmi- 
nating honor being bestowed on Septem- 
ber 23, 1915, by His Holiness Pope 
Benedict XV., who in recognition of his 
learning, piety and zeal, nominated him 
Domestic Prelate with the title of 

Right Rev. Monsignor Michael J. 
Crane was born in Ashland, Pennsyl- 
vania, September 8, 1863, and received his 
early education in the public schools of 
that town. He entered the Seminary of 
St. Charles Borromeo at Overbrook in 
1880, and was ordained to the priesthood 
in the Cathedral by Archbishop Ryan on 
June 5, 1889, celebrating his first mass 
the following Sunday in his own home, 
Ashland, in St. Joseph's Church. 

The Visitation parish in Philadelphia 
was the scene of his first labors in the 
ministry ; he was then placed in charge 
temporarily of St. Joseph's, at Downing- 
town, Pennsylvania. He was the first of 
the three pioneer priests of the Arch- 
diocese assigned to pursue higher studies 
at the Catholic University, Washingon, 
District of Columbia, entering the univer- 
sity at its opening. After finishing the 
course at the university he was awarded 

the degree of Bachelor of Sacred The- 
ology, and in June, 1890, was assigned as 
assistant at St. Peter's, at Reading, Penn- 
sylvania, continuing in service there until 
the following September. In that month 
he was appointed to St. Malachy's, in 
Philadelphia, where as assistant to the 
present Archbishop Prendergast he 
labored unceasingly for thirteen years, 
winning love and esteem from all that 
came in contact with him, irrespective 
of creed. The splendid new interior of 
St. Malachy's is largely due to the untir- 
ing efforts of Father Crane, and as one 
of the few priests assigned by the late 
Archbishop Ryan to procure funds for 
the new protectory, he was remarkably 
successful. He had charge of the Blessed 
Virgin Mary Sodality, which increased 
in membership under his care until it 
numbered seven hundred, and when the 
pastor was appointed Auxiliary Bishop 
of Philadelphia much of the immediate 
direction of the parish fell on Father 

When on October 3, 1903, Rev. Joseph 
H. O'Neill laid down life's burdens and left 
a vacancy in the pastorate of St. Francis 
DeSales parish, of which he was the first 
pastor. Father Crane was chosen to fill 
the vacancy. He assumed charge of the 
parish October 14, 1903, and there he has 
not only built a church of stone and 
marble, most beautiful in every sense of 
the word and one that will stand as a 
monument to his earnest zeal, remarkable 
enthusiasm and great ability, but what is 
of more moment and a most lasting 
monument, is the deep, strong religious 
spirit that he has cultivated which ani- 
mates every heart within the confines of 
the parish. On October 6, 1907, the 
corner stone of the new church was laid 
by Right Rev. Edmond F. Prendergast, 
Bishop of Philadelphia, in the presence 
of Right Rev. John E. Fitzmaurice, 
Bishop of Erie, Right Rev. William 


Jones, Bishop of Porto Rico, one hundred 
priests, and thousands of people, all 
anxious to show their esteem for the 
pastor, their appreciation of the faith and 
a fitting temple for its practice. 

During the following four years a beau- 
tiful temple of Romanesque architecture 
with Byzantine details grew upon the 
ample lot at Forty-seventh street and 
Springfield avenue, that when completed 
was, with its great polished dome, visible 
for miles in every direction, one of the 
most magnificent edifices in the city. The 
beautiful church was dedicated on Sun- 
day, September 12, 191 1, by Most Rev. 
Edmond F. Prendergast, D. D., assisted 
by Right Rev. John E. Fitzmaurice, 
Bishop of Erie, Right Rev. John Hoban, 
Bishop of Scranton, Right Rev. James J. 
Carroll, D. D., Bishop of Nueva Segovia, 
Philippine Islands, one hundred priests 
and church dignitaries assisting in the 
solemn services conducted before large 
audiences at every service. 

In addition to this evidence of the ma- 
terial prosperity of the parish under 
Father Crane, much might be said con- 
cerning every department of DeSales 
Church work, its schools, its societies and 
its many philanthropies, all keeping pace. 
He is beloved by young and old, number- 
ing his friends both within and without 
the parish he has served so well. He has 
always taken a deep interest in the Cath- 
olic University of America, which he 
entered with its first class, and has 
served as president of the Alumni Asso- 
ciation. On the twenty-fifth anniversary 
of the opening of the university, the 
Alumni Association presented its alma 
mater with a fine portrait painting of 
Bishop Sheehan, the rector, and by vote 
the donors chose Father Crane to make 
the presentation speech, which he did in a 
most eloquent, happy manner. 

His elevation to the higher dignity of 
Domestic Prelate with the title of Mon- 

signor, to which previous reference has 
been made, came through the favor of 
His Holiness the Pope of Rome, by whom 
he was nominated September 23, 1915, 
the brief arriving in Philadelphia on 
October 16, and on the following No- 
vember 14 he was invested in St. Francis 
DeSales Church by Most Rev. Edmond 
F. Prendergast, D. D., with the insignia, 
authority and dignity of his office, the 
sermon being delivered by Rev. Francis 
J. Sheehan, professor at the Seminary of 
St. Charles Borromeo, Overbrook. 
Solemn Pontifical mass celebrated by 
Right Rev. E. M. Albrecht. 

Although now "Monsignor" Crane, 
and a high church dignitary, it is as 
"Father" Crane, pastor of St. Francis De- 
Sales, that Philadelphia knows and loves 

TUSTIN, Ernest Leigh, A. M., LL. D., 

Xia^xryer, Man of Affairs, Public Official. 

The ancestral lines which gave to 
Philadelphia her present Recorder of 
Deeds, Ernest L. Tustin, trace to Eng- 
land and Holland, the blood of Tustin, 
Phillips and Probasco uniting to produce 
the highly esteemed lawyer, prominent 
business man and public official of today. 
Son of a learned, devoted divine of the 
Baptist church and a college professor, 
Mr. Tustin rightfully inherits his scholar- 
ly tastes and interest in the welfare of 
church and school, while from his grand- 
father, John Tustin, an active and suc- 
cessful business man of Chester county, 
comes the business acumen that has 
marked his rise to positions of trust and 
honor in the commercial world. The law 
to Mr. Tustin is an acquired taste, but 
since his admission to the bar in 1887 he 
has given that profession first and promi- 
nent place among his varied activities. 
With the years have come civil honors 
through election and appointment, these 

^fWxx^- ^^^...JiZ^ 


including a State Senatorship and mem- 
bership on important commissions, and 
his present position, Recorder of Deeds 
of Philadelphia. In educational and 
philanthropic circles his ability as a 
lawyer, his clear business understanding, 
and devoted interest has been freely 
drawn upon, his official connections with 
such institutions being varied and exten- 

Ernest Leigh Tustin is a son of Rev. 
Francis Wayland Tustin, and a grandson 
of John and Mary (Phillips) Tustin, of 
Chester county, the Phillips family one of 
the prominent Colonial and Revolution- 
ary families of New Jersey and Pennsyl- 

Rev. Francis Wayland Tustin was 
born in Philadelphia, November 8, 1834, 
and from graduation at Lewisburg 
University in 1856 his life work was that 
of instructor and minister. He was made 
tutor of Lewisburg University in 1857, 
his being the first appointment of an 
alumnus of the university to a position 
upon the faculty. In i860 he was 
appointed Professor of Natural Sciences, 
filling that chair for fourteen years and 
meriting the encomium of President 
Loomis, "He made the department of 
natural sciences in the University." Also 
an eminent classical scholar, he assisted 
in the teaching of classes in Latin and 
Greek. In 1874 failing eyesight com- 
pelled him to abandon laboratory work 
and the chair of Natural Sciences, but the 
trustees, anxious to retain his valuable 
services, elected him Professor of Greek 
Language and Literature, a chair he most 
worthily filled. In the absence of Presi- 
dent Loomis in Europe, Professor Tustin 
acted as president, presiding at the com- 
mencement exercises of 1879. 

In 1866 Professor Tustin was ordained 
a minister of the Baptist church, accept- 
ing a call from the First Church of 
Lewisburg. Thereafter his life was de- 

voted to the services of that church and 
the university, and he refused many offers 
from other churches and institutions, pre- 
ferring to bestow upon the two most near 
his heart all of his energy and ability. He 
was a man of liberal culture, refined in 
nature, fond of Greek art, of music, and 
lived a beautiful, simple daily life. Mor- 
ally and intellectually he was splendidly 
strong, and to the university and church 
was most valuable. Tustin Gymnasium 
is named in his honor, the library at 
Bucknell University was enriched by the 
gift of the Greek department of his own 
fine private library ; while, in appreciation 
of his higher character, learning, and 
service, the university conferred upon 
him the degree of Doctor of Philosophy. 
Professor Tustin did not neglect the 
plain duties of life, great or small, but 
performed faithfully his obligations as a 
citizen. A Republican in politics, he used 
his powers for the furtherance of the 
principles of that party, and in personal 
work served as a director on the school 
board of Lewisburg. He believed not 
only in mental progress, but in Christian 
instruction for youths during the forma- 
tive period, when character foundations 
are being laid. 

Professor Tustin married, in August. 
1859, Maria M.. daughter of John and 
Mary H. (Bacon) Probasco, of near 
Greenwich, New Jersey. She was a great- 
great-great-granddaughter of Christopher 
Probasco. who came from Holland in 
1662 and located on Manhattan Island, 
becoming a judge and man of importance. 
John Probasco was a large land owner 
and prosperous farmer of New Jersey. 
Children : Ernest Leigh, and Margaret, 
who married I. Harrison O'Harra. of 

Ernest Leigh, only son of Rev. Francis 
W. and Maria M. (Probasco) Tustin, was 
born in Lewisburg, Union county, Penn- 
sylvania. December 30, 1862. He pre- 


pared in Lewisburg schools, entered 
Bucknell University, and was graduated 
in the class of 1884, afterward taking 
post-graduate courses at the University of 
Pennsylvania and there completing his 
classical education. Deciding upon the 
profession of law, he prepared under the 
preceptorship of Simon P. Wolverton, of 
Sunbury, Pennsylvania, and was admitted 
to the bar in 1887. Soon afterward he 
moved to Philadelphia, and there has 
risen to a high position at the bar, 
specializing in corporation and orphans' 
court law. His present practice is as a 
member of the legal firm of Tustin & 

Mr. Tustin is a Republican in politics, 
and in 1906 was elected State Senator 
from the Fourth Senatorial District. In 
1910 he was elected to succeed himself. 
He introduced and had passed the pre- 
liminary Educational Act which has dis- 
posed of the issues regarding preliminary 
education for students in pharmacy, 
medicine and dentistry, and at his sug- 
gestion the One Board Medical bill 
created a bureau of the educational de- 
partment which settled the medical con- 
troversy which had lasted for twenty 
years. He introduced sixteen bills re- 
forming the Road Jury System, which he 
followed up with the presentation of the 
bill which is now a law providing for a 
permanent road jury. He took charge in 
the Senate of the bill making a needed 
increase to judicial salaries, and intro- 
duced and had passed the bill allowing 
judges from outside districts, when not 
engaged in judicial duties, to be assigned 
for aid in congested districts. The State 
Fire Marshals' bill, the Uniform Sales, 
Uniform Bill of Lading and the Uniform 
Warehouse acts and the present excellent 
banking law, are among enactments for 
which he was sponsor. He was appointed 
a member of the commission to revise 
the election laws of Pennsylvania under 

the joint acts of 1909 and 191 1- and is also 
chairman of the Panama-Pacific Interna- 
tional Commission authorized by resolu- 
tion of the Legislature, June 14, 191 1. He 
took charge of the new School Code in 
the Legislature, securing its favor with 
passage. Upon its adoption Dr. Nathan 
S. Schaefifer, Superintendent of Public 
Instruction, wrote: "You have shown 
rare skill and most excellent good judg- 
ment in managing this difficult piece of 
legislation. The schools owe you a debt 
of gratitude which they can never repay ;" 
and the Governor presented Senator Tus- 
tin with the pen with which the code 
was signed. In 191 1 Mr. Tustin was 
elected Recorder of Deeds of Philadel- 
phia, an office he most efficiently fills. 

In business relations Mr. Tustin is 
associated with corporations mercantile 
and financial. He is vice-president and 
treasurer of the William H. Hoskins 
Company, director of the Quaker City 
National Bank, director of the Warrior 
Copper Company, director of the Belmont 
Trust Company, and managing executor 
of the Alexander Reed Company, and a 
member of the executive council of the 
Philadelphia Board of Trade. 

He is interested in church, educational 
and philanthropic institutions, giving to 
these the fruits of his legal and business 
ability without stint. By reason of his 
great service in the formation and pas- 
sage of the School Code, Bucknell Univer- 
sity in 1914 conferred the degree of 
Doctor of Laws. 

He is treasurer of the Wisler Memorial 
Home, treasurer of the Pennsylvania Bap- 
tist Education Society, director of the 
American Baptist Education Society, trus- 
tee of Bucknell University, trustee of the 
American Baptist Publication Society, 
trustee of Crozer Theological Seminary, 
trustee of Hahnemann College and Hos- 
pital, trustee of West Philadelphia Young 
Men's Christian Association and solicitor 



for the Young Women's Christian Asso- 
ciation and for a number of charitable 
societies. His clubs are the City, Univer- 
sit3% Lincoln, Overbrook Golf, Merion 
Cricket and Union League. He is a 
member of the Pennsylvania Society, 
Sons of the Revolution, through the ser- 
vices of his patriotic great-grandfather, 
Lieutenant Josiah Phillips, born in 1761, 
died in 1817, second lieutenant of Second 
Company under Captain David Phillips, 
Seventh Battalion, Colonel William Gib- 
bons, Chester county, Pennsylvania 
militia, 1777. He is also a member of the 
Colonial Society through descent from 
Christopher Probasco. He is also a mem- 
ber of different fraternal organizations 
and bar associations, and in '■<=ligious faith 
is a Baptist, belonging to the First 
Baptist Church, Philadelphia. 

BELL, John C, 

liawyer. State Official. 

The name of John Cromwell Bell has 
been added to the list of Philadelphians 
who have been called to high position in 
the State government, have stood the 
strain of public life with honor and dis- 
tinction, and have returned to private 
pursuits bearing naught but favorable 
judgment from the people they served. 
As chief legal adviser in the cabinet of 
Governor John K. Tener, Mr. Bell ably 
and successfully handled the interests of 
the commonwealth, and during his four 
years in the ofifice of Attorney General 
of Pennsylvania added to the worthy 
reputation he had gained in another high 
public office and in private practice. 

John Cromwell Bell was born at Elders 
Ridge, Indiana county, Pennsylvania, of 
Scotch-Irish parentage, October 3, 1862, 
and obtained his preparatory education in 
public, high, and normal schools, prior 
to beginning the study of law in the Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania. His legal studies 
were a most congenial pursuit, as have 

PEN— Vol VI-4 il 

been his legal activities of later years, and 
he took his LL. B. in the class of 1884, 
being awarded at graduation two of the 
highest class honors. His work in his 
profession began at once at the Philadel- 
phia county bar, and through achieve- 
ment in the law of exceptional merit he 
rose to prominent place in local legal 
circles, being appointed District Attorney 
of Philadelphia county by the Board of 
Judges in April, 1903. He subsequently 
was honored by the nomination of his 
party, the Republican, for that office, and 
at the following election was chosen for 
a three years term. He assumed the 
duties of his ofifice January i, 1904, re- 
turning to private practice in Philadel- 
phia at the expiration of his term, and so 
continued until appointed to the Attor- 
ney-Generalship by Governor Tener. 
Taking the oath of ofifice January 17, 191 1, 
Mr. Bell at once began the exercise of his 
rew functions, and his faithful and com- 
petent discharge of his duties forms one 
of the most brilliant points of the Tener 
admmistration. The task of reviewing 
his accomplishments is a lengthy and 
laborious one, the public utilities law, 
chiefly his work, standing out against a 
background of uniformly creditable ser- 
vice, as does his defense of the constitu- 
tionality of Pennsylvania statutes before 
the Supreme Court of the United States. 

With the inauguration of Governor 
Brumbaugh, Mr. Bell turned a perfectly 
ordered ofifice over to his successor 
(Francis S. Brown), and returned to his 
Philadelphia home. It is his privilege to 
serve the University of Pennsylvania in 
the office of trustee. 

John C. Bell married, December 10, 
1890, Fleurette de Benneville Myers, 
daughter of Hon. Leonard Myers, Con- 
gressman from Philadelphia from 1862 to 
1874, and Hethe de Benneville (Keim) 
Myers, and has children : John Cromwell 
Jr., and de Benneville. 


SPANG, Charles Frederick, 

Famous Ironinaster, Sterling Citizen. 

For three-quarters of a century the 
name of Charles Frederick Spang was 
synonymous with the development of 
Pittsburgh's colossal iron industry. As 
head of the famous old firm of Spang & 
Company, Mr. Spang was one of the iron 
magnates of Western Pennsylvania and 
as one of the sterling citizens of Pitts- 
burgh he was identified with all her most 
essential interests. Mr. Spang was a rep- 
resentative of a family which, for one 
hundred and fifty years, has been largely 
instrumental in giving to the iron manu- 
factures of the Keystone State their in- 
ternational reputation and supremacy. 

Hans George Spang (originally Spong), 
g"reat-grandfather of Charles Frederick 
Spang, emigrated in 1751 from Rotter- 
dam, Holland, and settled in Greenwich 
township, Berks county, Pennsylvania. 
He was the father of six sons : Frederick, 
mentioned below ; Leonard ; George ; and 
three others whose names have not been 
preserved. Leonard and George served in 
the Revolutionary War, the former dying 
in captivity. George went to Europe 
with General Knyphausen, the com- 
mander of the Hessians, and became a 
resident of Bremen, where he acquired a 
large fortune and died in 1826 without 
issue, having married a relation of 
General Knyphausen. 

(II) Frederick, son of Hans George 
Spang, associated himself with the iron 
industry, then in its infancy, becoming 
owner of the Oley Furnaces at Semple, 
Pennsylvania, among the oldest in the 
United States, having been built in 1772. 
At his death his son, Henry S., mentioned 
below, inherited this valuable property. 

(III) Henry S., son of Frederick 
Spang, operated the Oley Furnaces until 
about the time when the Pennsylvania 
canal was completed to Huntingdon, 

when he removed to Huntingdon county 
and established iron works at Etna, now 
in Blair county. Perhaps it would be 
more correct to say that Mr. Spang came 
into possession of iron works which had 
been recently erected and were still in a 
state of incipiency. Through the com- 
bined enterprise of Mr. Spang and his son, 
Charles Frederick, mentioned below, 
they acquired, as the Etna Iron Works, 
an international celebrity. Henry S. 
Spang died in 1845. Pennsylvania owes 
him much as one of the most notable 
among her pioneer iron masters. 

(IV) Charles Frederick, son of Henry 
S. Spang, was born May 6, 1809, in 
Berks county, Pennsylvania, and early 
became the associate of his father in the 
iron business. His duties called him fre- 
quently to Pittsburgh, and although but a 
youth he had foresight sufficient to realize 
the advantages of the city, its situation 
making it the market of the east and west, 
and he also perceived its prospective im- 
portance as a manufacturing centre. In 
1828 the firm of H. S. Spang & Son was 
organized, Charles Frederick Spang being 
made business manager of the Etna Iron 
Works. He removed to Pittsburgh, and 
the firm, largely through his efiforts and 
ability, at once took a prominent place 
among the iron manufacturers of West- 
ern Pennsylvania. In 1845 the style be- 
came Spang & Company, the firm being 
then dissolved by the death of Henry S. 
Spang. It was reorganized as Spang & 
Company, being composed of Charles 
Frederick Spang, James McAuley and 
Joseph Long. At the end of a year Mr. 
Long retired, but the style of the firm 
remained unchanged until 1858, when 
Spang & Company sold the works to the 
firm of Spang, Chalfant & Company, 
composed of Charles H. Spang, eldest son 
of Charles Frederick Spang, John W. 
Chalfant, Campbell B. Herron, A. M. 
Byers, George A. Chalfant and Alfred G. 


Loyd. Of these members only Charles 
H. Spang is now living. Biographies and 
portraits of John W. Chalfant, A. M. 
Byers and George A. Chalfant appear 
elsewhere in this work. 

At this time Mr. Spang retired, having 
achieved exceptional success, and wishing 
to devote the remainder of his life to the 
enjoyments afforded by cultured tastes 
and a social temperament. In addition to 
being an able business man he was a kind 
employer, invariably just and considerate 
and never allowing any Sunday work in 
his mills. After his retirement he re- 
moved to Nice, France, where he resided 
during the remainder of his life, making 
occasional trips to the United States. He 
corresponded regularly with his son, 
Charles H. Spang, keeping in close touch 
with affairs, and although nearly half a 
century elapsed between his departure 
from Pittsburgh and the time of his 
death, and during that period he was seen 
by his old friends and neighbors only at 
long intervals, our city never ceased to 
claim him as her own, regarding him as 
one to whom she owed, in large measure, 
her wonderful progress and her world- 
wide fame. 

In politics Mr. Spang was first a Whig 
and later a Republican, but could never 
be induced to become a candidate for 
office, preferring to concentrate his ener- 
gies on his immense business concerns. 
As a true citizen he was earnestly inter- 
ested in all enterprises which meditated 
the moral improvement and social culture 
of the community and actively aided a 
number of associations by his influence 
and means. Widely charitable, so quietly 
were his benefactions bestowed that their 
full number will, in all probability, never 
be known to the world. He was a direc- 
tor of the Dixmont Hospital for the In- 

It is a noteworthy fact that although 
Mr. Spang's father and grandfather were 

the founders of the business which be- 
came the inheritance of their descendants, 
bringing them both wealth and fame, he 
himself was, in one sense, a pioneer. To 
him belongs the distinction of having 
been the first manufacturer of wrought-iron 
tubes west of the Allegheny mountains. 
Nor is this all. His descendants and suc- 
cessors have shown themselves worthy of 
their heritage, keeping pace, to the 
present time, with the ever-increasing 
demands of the most progressive age of 
the world. 

The personality of Mr. Spang was that 
of a man nobly planned, possessing, in 
combination with strong mental endow- 
ments, generous impulses and a chival- 
rous sense of honor. The time-worn but 
most forceful phrase, "His word was as 
good as his bond" admirably epitomized 
his dominant trait. Always of fine pres- 
ence, his appearance in his later years 
was strikingly courtly and noble. He 
was of medium height and dignified bear- 
ing, his intellectual head crowned with 
iron gray hair and his strong, sensitive, 
patrician features accentuated by white 
moustache, side whiskers and beard, 
worn rounded, in the fashion of a bygone 
day. His dark eyes, piercing though they 
were, were yet most kindly in expression 
and his manner, unvaryingly courteous 
to all, had in it, when he addressed the 
young or those who were in misfortune, 
something peculiarly gentle and gracious. 
He was ardent in his friendships and his 
ripe and varied experience and judicial 
mind rendered him the trusted counsellor 
of young and old. He was a genial, 
kindly gentleman and a wise and cour- 
ageous man. 

Mr. Spang married Sarah Ann, born 
October 4, 1817, daughter of Alfred G. 
and Alice (McLanahan) Loyd. Mr. Loyd 
was born March 19, 1792, in England, and 
emigrated to the United States, settling 
in Pittsburgh, where he engaged in busi- 


ness as a saddler. He died May 28, 1835, 
and his wife, who was born March 21, 
1799, passed away October 23, 1869, at 
Etna, Pennsylvania. The following chil- 
dren were born to Mr. and Mrs. Spang: 
Two who died in infancy; Charles H. ; 
Josephine, deceased ; Norman, formerly 
connected with Spang, Chalfant & Com- 
pany, and now living in France ; Rosalie ; 
and Alice. 

Charles H. Spang, formerly head of the 
firm of Spang, Chalfant & Company, but 
now retired, is of Pittsburgh and New 
York, devoting his time to looking after 
his large private interests and to travel- 

The influence of the Spang family has 
left an indelible stamp on Pittsburgh and 
Western Pennsylvania, and not in busi- 
ness only, though in that direction most 
conspicuously so, has this influence been 
exerted, but in many other spheres of 
thought and action. Perhaps the extent 
to which Charles Frederick Spang was 
identified with the essential interests of 
Pittsburgh will be more fully appreciated 
when it is stated that he was one of the 
early directors of the Bank of Pittsburgh, 
one of the founders of the Western Penn- 
sylvania Hospital, a corporator of the 
Allegheny Cemetery and a vestryman and 
member of Trinity Protestant Episcopal 
Church, being thus associated with the 
financial, philanthropic and religious ele- 
ments of the life of the municipality. 

In his domestic relations Mr. Spang 
was peculiarly happy. His wife, a 
woman of charming personality and 
admirably fitted by her excellent prac- 
tical mind to be a helpmate to her hus- 
band in his aspirations and ambitions, 
was an accomplished home-maker. Mr. 
Spang was devoted to the ties of family 
and friendship and his happiest hours 
were passed at his own fireside. The 
presiding genius of that fireside passed 
away November 18, 1887, at Nice, France. 

With Mr. Spang the attractions of the 
home circle were superior to those of 
clubs and fraternal orders to none of 
which he belonged. 

This life so noble and beneficent was 
prolonged a quarter of a century beyond 
the traditional three-score and ten, and 
then, on July 18, 1904, at his residence in 
Nice, France, Mr. Spang passed away, 
mourned in the foreign land where he 
had so long sojourned and doubly mourn- 
ed in his native country and his own city 
of Pittsburgh. All felt that they had lost 
one who was a foremost representative of 
that distinctively public-spirited class of 
citizens whose private interests never 
preclude active participation in move- 
ments and measures that concern the 
general good, one who builded and lived 
for the time to come and had left an 
example to animate future generations. 

Charles Frederick Spang was the last 
survivor of the famous Iron Masters of 
the former half of the nineteenth century. 
He is the most commanding figure in an 
industrial dynasty. A descendant of 
ancestors who laid enduring foundations, 
he reared on those foundations the noble 
structure of a mighty industry which was 
largely instrumental in giving to the Iron 
City her proud and unassailable pre- 
eminence and which caused the story of 
the life and work of this noble and high- 
minded manufacturer to become part of 
the industrial annals of the city of Pitts- 
burgh and the Commonwealth of Penn- 

SPANG, Charles H., 

Ironiaaster, Financier. 

Charles H. Spang, son of the late 
Charles F. Spang, of Pittsburgh, was 
born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He 
received his education in the schools of 
his native city, later attending Burlington 
College, of Burlington, New Jersey. In 

"t O /\ ^^<-^Mw 



1858 he became officially connected with 
the firm of Spang, Chalfant & Company, 
Incorporated, which succeeded the firm of 
Spang & Company, which his father 
founded. He was actively identified with 
this concern for many years, and now 
serves on its directorate. Mr. Spang is 
also a director of the Peoples National 
Bank ; Fayette Coal Company ; Monon- 
gahela Insurance Company ; Pittsburgh 
Junction Railroad Company ; Dixmont 
Hospital for the Insane ; and the Alle- 
gheny Cemetery Company. He is a 
member of the Duquesne and Pittsburgh 
clubs and the Pittsburgh Athletic Asso- 
ciation, of Pittsburgh ; also the Union 
League, New York Athletic and New 
York Yacht clubs, of New York. In 
politics Mr. Spang is a Republican. 

AMBLER, Harry Smith, Jr., 

Ijaivyer, Public Official. 

Choosing the law as a profession, Mr. 
Ambler was a trail breaker in that profes- 
sion in. his direct family, who, tracing 
back to their first settlement near Lans- 
dale, now Montgomery county, prior to 
the year 1700 had been agriculturists or 
skilled craftsmen, often both. But if 
without inherited legal traits, he had a 
rich inheritance from his Quaker ancestry 
who bequeathed him their good blood, 
strong mentality, high principles, good 
judgment, tact, common sense, level 
headedness and untiring energy. On that 
foundation he has built his own life and 
in his sixteen years of practice in Phil- 
adelphia and Montgomery county courts 
he has won honorable distinction as a 
learned and upright lawyer. 

Harry S. Ambler Jr. was born at Abing- 
ton, the Montgomery county homestead, 
March 2, 1877, son of Henry S. and Mary 
(Slugg) Ambler. He began his education 
in the public schools, prepared for college 
at the Abington Friends School, then 

entered the law school ol: the University 
of Pennsylvania, whence he was gradu- 
ated LL. P>., class of '99. He was admit- 
ted to the Philadelphia bar, and has been 
continuously in general practice until the 
present date. He is also a member of the 
Montgomery county bar, and has a large 
practice in the county, State and Federal 
courts of the district. He is devoted to 
his profession and believes that as law 
is the principle of maintaining justice and 
equity between man and man, that the 
practice of the laws established to enforce 
those principles is a study worthy of the 
most exalted minds. He is solicitor for 
Abington township, Abington Memorial 
Hospital and as an active trial lawyer 
represents several corporations in defense 
of negligence cases and enjoys a large 
private practice. Mr. Ambler is a 
member of the various County and State 
Bar associations ; the North Hills Country 
Club ; is a Republican in politics and 
affiliated with the Abington Presbyterian 

He married, October 22, 1902, May, 
daughter of Samuel and Anna (McCon- 
nell) Jones and has Harry S., born April 
10, 1904; Samuel Jones, November 27, 
1906; Bruce, born September 18, 1915. 
Douglass, born January 30, 1910, died 
September 6, 1910. 

MARKEL, J. Clyde, M. D., 

Ophthalmologist, Hospital Official. 

Among those Pittsburgh physicians 
who have made a specialty of ophthal- 
mology is Dr. James Clyde Markel. Em- 
manuel Markel, grandfather of James 
Clyde Markel, was a representative of a 
family of German origin long resident in 
Eastern Pennsylvania. Mr. Markel mar- 
ried Margaret Frey and spent his life as 
a farmer and blacksmith in York county, 

Chester Franklin, son of Emmanuel 


and Margaret (Frey) Markel, was born 
November 13, 1853, ^^'^ Shrewsbury, York 
county, Pennsylvania, and was educated 
in schools of the neighborhood. After 
teaching for a time he entered the College 
of Physicians and Surgeons of Baltimore, 
graduating in 1875 with the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine. He then engaged in 
general practice in Winterstown, Penn- 
sylvania, removing at the end of two 
years to Columbia, Pennsylvania, where 
he has since resided, having retired from 
active practice in 1912. In that year he 
became president of the Central National 
Bank of Columbia, of which he had been 
long a director, and he also holds direc- 
torships in a number of financial and 
industrial enterprises of his community. 
Dr. Markel owns and conducts a large 
drug store in his home town. He is a 
Democrat, and for sixteen years occupied 
a seat in the council of Columbia. He 
belongs to the Pennsylvania State and 
York County Medical associations, the 
Order of Artisans and the Heptasophs, 
and is a member of the Lutheran church, 
in which for a number of years he served 
as treasurer and deacon. Dr. Markel 
married, in February, 1876, Zana, daugh- 
ter of Cornelius S. and Rebecca (Kline- 
felter) Beck, of Shrewsbury, Pennsyl- 
vania, and their children are: James 
Clyde, mentioned below ; Maude, wife of 
Albert A. Becker, of Columbia, Pennsyl- 
vania, and mother of two children : Elva, 
of Columbia, Pennsylvania; Chester F., 
of Jacksonville, Florida, is married but 
has no children ; and Clarence Beck, of 
Columbia, Pennsylvania. 

Dr. James Clyde Markel, son of Chester 
Franklin and Zana (Beck) Markel, was 
born December 17, 1877, at Winterstown, 
York county, Pennsylvania, and received 
his education in schools of Columbia, 
Pennsylvania, attending its high school, 
from which he graduated. In igoo he re- 
ceived from Gettysburg College the de- 

gree of Bachelor of Science and later that 
of Master of Science. Immediately after 
graduating he entered the medical depart- 
ment of the University of Pennsylvania 
and in 1904 the institution conferred 
upon him the degree of Doctor of Medi- 
cine. After spending fourteen months as 
interne in the Germantown Hospital, 
Philadelphia, and one year at the Wills 
Eye Hospital, Philadelphia, Dr. Markel 
came in 1907 to Pittsburgh, and entered 
into practice as an ophthalmologist. In 
1912 he associated himself with Dr. Wil- 
liam F. Robeson, maintaining the con- 
nection until Dr. Robeson's death, but 
has since practiced alone. He is a mem- 
ber of the staff of the Eye and Ear Hos- 
pital and of that of the Mercy Hospital, 
also holding the position of ophthal- 
mologist for the Western Pennsylvania 
Institution for the Blind. Dr. Markel is 
a fellow of the American College of Sur- 
geons and a member of the Pittsburgh 
Ophthalmological Society, the American 
Medical Association, the Pennsylvania 
State Medical Association and the Alle- 
gheny County Medical Society. He also 
belongs to the Phi Delta Theta frater- 
nity and the Alpha Omega Alpha, an 
honorary medical fraternity. 

In politics Dr. Markel is a Democrat, 
but the demands of his profession allow 
him to give no more attention to public 
affairs than is required of every con- 
scientious citizen. He is a member of 
Trinity Lutheran Church. 

HUSSEY, Christopher Curtis, 

Iieading Manufacturer. 

Christopher Curtis, son of Curtis Grubb 
and Rebecca (Updegraff) Hussey, was 
born October 23, 1840, in Pittsburgh, and 
received his early education at Travelli's 
school at Sewickley, finishing his course 
at Cleveland, Ohio. He then became the 
business associate of his father, first in 

jfV. iffJ'^it^^Ss^s d^^r^J^y^ 

Sin^istJ-l^&rz^ca/J^a^ iTr- 


the firm of C. G. Hussey &; Company, and 
later in that of Hussey, Wells & Com- 
pany, becoming in the course of time chief 
manager of the concern. Pie speedily 
gave evidence of having inherited the 
great business ability of his father, and 
everything indicated that a bright future 
was opening before him. 

In the early seventies Mr. Hussey 
organized the firm of Hussey, Binns & 
Company, manufacturers of shovels, his 
partner being Edw^ard Binns, his brother- 
in-law. The enterprise was successful, 
largely in consequence of Mr. Hussey's 
executive and administrative ability, and 
the firm built up a flourishing business. 
To the close of his life Mr. Hussey was 
president of the company, also retaining 
his connection with the firm of Hussey 
Wells & Company. He was likewise 
identified with several local concerns. 

As a citizen Mr. Hussey was intensely 
public-spirited, never refusing the support 
of his influence and means to any project 
which, in his judgment, tended to advance 
the welfare of Pittsburgh. He was a Re- 
publican in politics, but always steadily 
declined to accept office, even when 
urgently solicited to become a candidate 
for Congress. His charities were numer- 
ous but bestowed in the quietest manner 
possible. His only club was the Du- 
quesne, and he belonged to no fraternal 
orders. He was a member and vestry- 
man of St. Andrew's Protestant Episcopal 
Church, in the work of which he took an 
active interest. 

The personality of Mr. Hussey was that 
of a man of great vigor of moral char- 
acter, inflexible integrity and benevolence 
of purpose and his appearance was in 
harmony with the high ideals inseparable 
from the possession of these qualities. He 
was six feet in height, of slender frame, 
and singular distinction of bearing. His 
patrician features, accentuated by beard 
and moustache, light like his hair, bore 

the stamp of strength and refinement and 
his brown eyes were at once penetrating 
and thoughtful. Gentle and courteous, 
yet firm, courageous and honest, he was 
both aggressive and tactful, adamant 
where a principle was involved and in 
friendship unswervingly loyal. Loved by 
many and respected by all, he was a true 
and perfect gentleman, "without fear and 
without reproach." 

Mr. Hussey married, October 26, 1865, 
Harriet, daughter of William H. and 
Susan G. (Haselton) Byram, who were 
from Maine. The following children 
were born to Mr. and Mrs. Hussey: 
I. Mabel G., married Dr. Thomas Turn- 
bull, of Pittsburgh ; children : Thomas, 
Curtis, Hussey, Harriet Byram, Janet 
Duncan, John Gordon and Frederick Wil- 
liam. 2. Clara Eliza, married A. Lochner 
de Villiers, of South Africa. 3. Curtis 
Grubb, of Pittsburgh, formerly connected 
with Colonial Steel Company, now an 
official of East Palestine Rubber Com- 
pany. 4. William Byram, died in infancy. 
5. John UpdegralT, married Edmee Cor- 
lies ; children : John UpdegrafT and Pru- 
dence Byrd. 6. Frederick Byram, of New 
York, married Ethel Dean, of San Fran- 
cisco. Mrs. Hussey, a thoughtful, clever 
woman of culture and character, takes life 
with a gentle seriousness that endears her 
to those about her and that caused her 
husband, the ruling motive of whose life 
was love for his wife and children, to find 
his home a refuge from the cares of busi- 
ness, a place where he enjoyed the com- 
panionship of the members of his house- 
hold and the society of his friends. Mrs. 
Hussey is a member of the Twentieth 
Century Club of Pittsburgh and the 
Adirondack League Club of New York. 
In her widowhood she resides in the 
stately old Hussey home on the North 
Side, the residence of the family for many 
years, devoting much of her time to works 
of charity and benevolence. 


Just as he was entering early middle 
life, a period which in his case promised 
to develop into splendid maturity, Mr. 
Hussey was stricken, and on March i, 
1S84, passed away, in Florida. When the 
sad news was received in Pittsburgh it 
was felt by all that a calamity had be- 
fallen the city's manufacturing interests, 
and that the business world had sustained 
a well-nigh irreparable loss. 

Mr. Hussey was the bearer of two 
names, each of which, at periods widely 
separated, had been rendered notable — 
Christopher, that of the brave and sturdy 
Englishman who crossed the sea to found 
a home in the New World ; and Curtis, 
that of his true and worthy descendant, 
who led the way into hitherto untrodden 
fields of industry. Christopher Curtis, of 
a later time, able and aggressive as his 
ancestors, added lustre to their united 
names, and, had he been granted greater 
length of days, the three words, Christo- 
pher Curtis Hussey, would have repre- 
sented talents and achievements second 
to none in the history of the industrial 

VINCENT, James Rankin, M. D., 

Hospital Official, Sanitationist. 

Dr. James Rankin Vincent, of Pitts- 
burgh, was a man distinguished not only 
as a member of the medical profession, 
but also as a leader in the introduction 
and promotion of measures having for 
their object the furtherance of improved 
sanitary conditions both in his home city 
and throughout the State of Pennsyl- 
vania. Dr. Vincent was for a quarter of 
a century a resident of the metropolis, 
and for many years stood in the front 
rank of her physicians and citizens. 

The Vincent family was founded in 
America at an early date, and its repre- 
sentatives, in the successive generations, 
have been active and prominent in differ- 

ent professions and have wielded an in- 
fluence for good in their communities. 
James Vincent, grandfather of James 
Rankin Vincent, was a farmer living in 
the neighborhood of Harrisville, Penn- 
sylvania. He married Charity Gilmore 
and they were the parents of seven sons 
and three daughters. 

George Carothers, son of James and 
Charity (Gilmore) Vincent, was born 
April 4, 1813, on his father's farm, and 
enjoyed such facilities of education as the 
neighborhood schools afforded. In the 
autumn of 1S33, ^t the solicitation 
of friends, he visited Belmont county, 
Ohio, and later in the year entered 
Franklin College, New Athens, Ohio, 
graduating in 1836. Not long after he be- 
came a student in the Theological Semi- 
nary of the Associate Presbyterian 
church at Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, and 
on the completion of his course was sent 
as a missionary to western Illinois and 
Iowa. Early in the summer of 1841 he 
was called to the pastorate of the First 
Associate congregation of Washington, 
Iowa, and of the church at Grandview, 
Iowa, which he had established as the 
home missionary of that section. In No- 
vember, 1 841, he became resident pastor, 
in doing so accepting the toils and hard- 
ships inseparable at that time from such 
a position. In addition to serving his 
own churches, Mr. Vincent was obliged 
to travel on horseback to preaching sta- 
tions distant from fifty to one hundred 
miles ; the country was almost destitute 
of money, and for months he could scarce- 
ly find the means of paying postage. But 
food was plenty, and his parishioners 
were eagerly and gratefully appreciative 
of his services. In the autumn of 1847, 
being forced by failing health to seek a 
change of climate, Mr. Vincent accepted 
a call to the First Associate congregation 
of Mercer, Pennsylvania. During his 
pastorate there he was principal of the 

JTl^ A*.^^ P^/^^^tr^ ^^r^^! /V^ 

s- ye^y=v/-^^/.^^^ r^ 


Mercer Academy, an institution which, 
consolidated with the Greenville Acad- 
emy, became the nucleus of Westminster 
College which was founded in 1852 at 
New Wilmington, Mr. Vincent being 
chosen vice-president. At this time he 
founded the "Westminster Herald," a 
weekly religious newspaper which was 
afterward merged with "The Preacher," 
a similar paper published in Pittsburgh. 
The new paper took the name of "The 
United Presbyterian," Mr. Vincent be- 
coming an associate editor. 

During the period of Mr. Vincent's 
connection with Westminster College, 
many gifted men and women were 
graduated and sent forth into the minis- 
try, law and medicine, and also into the 
profession of teaching, and the influence 
of the institution was felt far and near. 
In 1871 he resigned his professorship and 
accepted a call to the First United Pres- 
liyterian Church of Brookville, where he 
labored successfully for a number of 
years. In 1877, without his own knowl- 
edge, he was elected to the presidency of 
Franklin College, his alma mater, at New 
Athens, Ohio, and he deemed it his duty 
to accept the office. Under his adminis- 
tration the faculty was enlarged, a new 
college building was erected and a mul- 
titude of young people prepared for a 
career of usefulness. As early as 1864 
Mr. Vincent had received from Washing- 
ton College the degree of Doctor of Di- 
vinity, and in 1884 Franklin College con- 
ferred upon him that of Doctor of Laws. 
In the same year Dr. Vincent resigned 
the presidency and accepted a call to the 
pastorate of the First United Presbyterian 
Church of Latrobe, Pennsylvania, with 
which was associated the neighboring 
congregation of Fairmount. 

Dr. Vincent married (first) September 
10, 1838, Margaret Cowden, daughter of 
Dr. John Walker, of New Athens, Ohio, 
and three children were born to them : 

John Walker, Alvan Stuart, and Robert 
Milton. In June, 1844, Mrs. Vincent died, 
and in July, 1845, Dr. Vincent married 
(second) Mrs. Martha (Hanna) Carna- 
han, the widowed daughter of James 
Hanna, of Cadiz, Ohio. The children of 
this marriage were : James Hanna, Wil- 
liam Hanna, Mary Margaret, Charity 
Jane, James Rankin, mentioned below; 
and Anna Martha. 

In the summer of 1889 Dr. Vincent re- 
signed his pastorate at Latrobe and re- 
moved to Allegheny, where he passed 
away, on October 16, of the same year. 
The death of his widow occurred at the 
same place, September 25, 1899. The 
Rev. J. B. McMichael, president of Mon- 
mouth College, who had been privileged 
as a student to enjoy Dr. Vincent's in- 
structions, wrote of him: "Fifty years 
in the ministerial armor, a true, knightly 
soldier of the cross." 

James Rankin, son of George Carothers 
and Martha (Hanna) (Carnahan) Vin- 
cent, was born July 28, 1855, at New Wil- 
mington, Pennsylvania, and received his 
preparatory education in the public 
schools of his native place and of Brook- 
ville, whither his parents removed when 
he was about fifteen years old. When his 
father became president of Franklin Col- 
lege, James was enrolled among the 
students of that institution, taking a four 
years' course. He then spent three years 
at the Medical College of Ohio, at Cin- 
cinnati, graduating in 1884 with the de- 
gree of Doctor of Medicine. In IMarch 
of the same year Dr. Vincent began prac- 
tice at Wilkinsburg, Pennsylvania, where 
he was soon in possession of a profitable 
clientele. In 1891 he removed to East 
Liberty, Pittsburgh, where he practiced 
uninterruptedly until his death, October 
23, 1915, meeting with exceptional suc- 
cess, the result of intense application, 
thorough and comprehensive knowledge, 
rare skill in reducing theory to practice 


and a real love for the profession of his 
choice. Dr. Vincent was one of the lead- 
ers in the establishment of the Pittsburgh 
Hospital, and until his death was a mem- 
ber of the staff. He belonged to the 
American Medical Association, the Penn- 
sylvania State Medical Society and the 
Allegheny County Medical Society. 

One of the most notable episodes of 
Dr. Vincent's professional career was his 
work as a member of the Filtration Com- 
mission. This was a body of twelve men 
appointed by the mayor to investigate 
the water supply of the city of Pittsburgh, 
and to devise some means of getting rid 
of the impurities which had long been a 
menace to the health of the inhabitants. 
Dr. Vincent's part in the work was an 
important one and it was largely owing 
to his influence that the labors of the 
commission resulted in the establishment 
of the present filtration plant. An excep- 
tional degree of public spirit has always 
been one of Dr. Vincent's dominant char- 
acteristics and in 1901 this found expres- 
sion in an action fraught with blessing to 
the community. In that year he prepared 
and drafted a bill which he introduced into 
the Legislature, and which was trium- 
phantly passed. This was called the Pure 
Milk Bill, and since it became a law, has 
been in successful operation, resulting in 
a marked decrease in mortality among 
infants and children. 

The principles of the Republican party 
always found in Dr. Vincent a staunch 
supporter, albeit his professional obliga- 
tions have prevented him from taking an 
active part in politics. He affiliated v^ith 
Fraternal Lodge, No. 321, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, also belonged to Pitts- 
burgh Chapter, Duquesne Commandery 
and Syria Shrine. He was a member or 
the United Presbyterian Church. 

In Dr. Vincent's personality the attri- 
butes of the student and the man of 

action were harmoniously blended. Deep- 
ly read in his profession, he was a bold 
but never rash practitioner. Force of 
character and promptness in execution 
were combined with delicate insight and 
gentleness of manner. His appearance 
was in accordance with his character. To 
use a familiar phrase, "he looked the man 
he was." All Pittsburgh knew him and 
respected him and many loved him, for 
he was a true friend and an inspirer of 
friendship in others. 

Dr. Vincent married, December 16, 
1886, in Wilkinsburg, Pennsylvania, his 
father, the Rev. Dr. Vincent officiating, 
Fannie, daughter of the late Wilson and 
Anna (McNeary) McLean. Mrs. Vin- 
cent was born in Washington county, 
Pennsylvania, and brought up in Wilkins- 
burg. Before her marriage she was a 
successful teacher in the schools of that 
city. A woman of character and culture, 
uniting fine executive ability with charm 
of manner and much sweetness of dis- 
position, she was admirably fitted to be 
the wife of such a man as her husband, 
one in whom strong domestic affections 
were conjoined with unusual vigor of in- 
tellect and uncommon breadth of view. 

Dr. Vincent's own record and that of 
his father, placed side by side, present 
a striking example of the force of heredity 
— a father and son animated by the same 
spirit — love of their fellow-men. The 
father, as a devoted minister of the Gospel 
and a high-minded instructor, inspired to 
lives of usefulness and honor men and 
women of two generations. The son, by 
his patient, progressive and unwearied 
labors for healing and enlightenment in 
the realm of the physical and his brave 
and victorious efforts in the cause of 
public health and the saving of human 
life has accomplished a work which has 
lived after him and made the world better 
than he found it. 


LYON, Walter, 

La-wyer, State Official. 

Walter Lyon, of Sewickley, former 
Lieutenant-Governor of Pennsylvania and 
at various times the incumbent of other 
offices in the gift of his fellow-citizens, is 
a man whose political life has been inter- 
woven with his professional career. A 
number of years ago Mr. Lyon withdrew 
from active participation in public afifairs 
and has since devoted himself exclusively 
to his duties as a leader of the Allegheny 
county bar. 

The original home of the Lyon family 
was in Scotland and from that country a 
branch was transplanted first to Ireland 
and then to the American colonies. The 
arms of the Lyon family of Pennsylvania 
are : Argent, a lion rampant azure. 
Crest — A lion's head erased proper. 

John Lyon, founder of the American 
branch of the family, was a son of Wil- 
liam Lyon, and in 1763 emigrated from 
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, province 
of Ulster, Ireland, to the province of 
Pennsylvania, settling in Cumberland 
county, now Milford township, Juniata 
county. The warrant for his tract of 
land, consisting of two hundred and sev- 
enty-three acres and situated about two 
miles west of Mifflintown, is dated Sep- 
tember 18, 1766. In 1773 the Proprie- 
taries granted to John Lyon et al. twenty 
acres of land for the use of the Presby- 
terian church of Tuscarora. John Lyon 
married, in Ireland, Margaret Armstrong, 
sister of Colonel John Armstrong, one of 
the prominent and patriotic Pennsylvan- 
ians of provincial and Revolutionary 
times. Colonel Armstrong married John 
Lyon's sister Rebecca, who had emigrated 
with her brother to Pennsylvania. Mr. 
and Mrs. Lyon were the parents of the 
following children, all born in Ireland: 
William, born March 17, 1729, married 
Alice Armstrong; James, married one of 

the name of Martin ; Samuel, married 
Eleanor Blaine; John, mentioned below; 
Mary, born in 1748, married Benjamin 
Lyon ; Frances, born in 1752, married 
William Graham, and died May 4, 1839, 
leaving descendants; Margaret Alice, 
married Thomas Anderson, and lived in 
Ireland ; and Agnes. John Lyon, the 
father, died in 1780, and his widow, who 
was a woman of remarkable intelligence 
and fine conversational powers, passed 
away about 1793. 

(II) John (2), son of John (ij and 
Margaret (Armstrong) Lyon, inherited 
by the terms of his father's will, dated 
December 13, 1779, one half of the home- 
stead, his brother Samuel coming into 
possession of the other half. John Lyon 
resided on this land until June i, 1797, 
when he conveyed it to Stephen Dougle- 
man, who in turn conveyed it to the Ster- 
rett family. In 1896 it was in possession 
of the late Hon. James P. Sterrett and his 
brother. Dr. John P. Sterrett, father of 
James Ralston Sterrett, of Pittsburgh. 
After selling his land, John Lyon re- 
moved to Butler county, Pennsylvania, 
where he passed the remainder of his life. 
He married Mary, daughter of Captain 
Thomas Harris, and their children were: 
Thomas Harris, mentioned below ; Wil- 
liam, John, James, Margaret, Mary Cath- 
arine, and Nancy. The death of Mr. Lyon 
occurred about 1820. 

(HI) Thomas Harris, son of John (2) 
and Mary (Harris) Lyon, was of Butler 

(IV) Henry Baldwin, son of Thomas 
Harris Lyon, was a school teacher, and 
married Mary Ann White. 

(V) Walter, son of Henry Baldwin and 
Mary Ann (White) Lyon, was born 
April 27, 1853. in Shaler township, Alle- 
gheny county, Pennsylvania, and received 
his education in the public schools of 
Pittsburgh and at the Wakeam Academy. 
He was then for five vears engaged in 



teaching, pursuing, meanwhile the study 
of the law in the office of Samuel A. Pur- 
viance, and in January, 1877, was admit- 
ted to the bar of Allegheny county. He 
has ever since been engaged in success- 
ful practice in Pittsburgh. For a number 
of years he was a member of the firm of 
Lyon, Hunter & Burke, but since the 
death of Mr. Hunter, and Mr. Burke go- 
ing to Congress some few years since, has 
practiced alone. 

Early in his career Mr. Lyon became 
active in the sphere of politics. In 1889 
he was appointed United States Attorney 
for the Western District of Pennsylvania, 
and retained the office until 1893, when 
he resigned, having been elected State 
Senator to fill the unexpired term of John 
N. Neeb. In 1894, when Daniel Hartman 
Hastings was elected Governor of Penn- 
sylvania, Mr. Lyon, who had been nomi- 
nated on the same ticket for Lieutenant- 
Governor, was also the choice of the 
people. That choice was justified during 
the period of his incumbency, and when 
in January, 1899, he retired from office, 
he left a record highly satisfactory to all 
good citizens. Since that time Mr. Lyon 
has accepted no political honors, nor has 
he taken any active part in politics, his 
attention having been exclusively devoted 
to his large law practice. He belongs to 
the Duquesne and Union clubs, and the 
Allegheny Country Club of Sewickley 
Heights, and is a member of the Presby- 
terian church. His tall, erect figure and 
gracious, genial manner tell of the man 
of fine old stock and worthy family tra- 

Mr. Lyon married, in 1878, Charlotte 
Wible, whose ancestral record is ap- 
pended to this biography, and they are 
the parents of the following children : 
Lotta, wife of Charles L. Monroe, of 
Pittsburgh, has five children ; Edwin, 
born in 1881, married Betty B. McKown, 
and has two children ; Walter, born in 

1883, studied at the University of Michi- 
gan, and is with his father in Pittsburgh ; 
Stanley, born in 1888, studied at Yale 
University, he is a lawyer in Pittsburgh, 
and married Jane Hood; Ethel, educated 
at Miss Marshall's school, Philadelphia; 
and Jack Wible, born in 1897, attending 
Allegheny Preparatory School, and later 
will go to Yale University. By his mar- 
riage Mr. Lyon gained the life compan- 
ionship of a charming and congenial 
woman who combines with many social 
gifts the essential qualities of a home- 

The career of Mr. Lyon comprises thus 
far a period of nearly four decades. He 
has helped to uphold the prestige of the 
Pennsylvania bar, and at the call of his 
fellow-citizens has ably and worthily 
served the old commonwealth. 

(The Wible Line). 

August Weible (as the name was then 
spelled), the first ancestor of record, was 
born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, 
and married Katharine Snyder, aunt of 
Simon Snyder, third Governor of Penn- 

(II) Andrew, son of August and Kath- 
arine (Snyder) Weible, was born in 1767, 
in Lancaster county, whence he migrated 
in 1790 to East Liberty, Pittsburgh. 
While there he drew the pickets to build 
the old block house on the Point. Later 
he removed to Shaler township, Alle- 
gheny county, where he took up a large 
tract of land on which he made his home 
for the remainder of his life. Andrew 
Weible married Mary Smith, and their 
children were : John, Adam, George. 
Andrew; Harrison, mentioned below; 
William, James, Susan, Katharine, Sarah, 
Mary Ann, and Elizabeth. 

(III) Harrison, son of Andrew and 
Mary (Smith) Weible, was born in 1818, 
in Shaler township, Allegheny county, 
and received his education in the public 



schools. He passed his life as a farmer 
in his native township, residing on a por- 
tion of the homestead, and in politics was 
first a Whig and later a Republican, as 
became one named in honor of Wil- 
liam Henry Harrison. Andrew Wible 
(Weible) was a personal friend of Gen- 
eral Harrison and named his son for him 
and so the son had the honor of casting 
his first vote for the man for whom he 
was named, the hero of Tippecanoe, 
giving his last for Benjamin Harrison, 
the hero's grandson. Mr. Wible (Weible) 
was a member of the Presbyterian church. 
He married Rachel, daughter of William 
and Jean (McClean) Wilson. 

(IV) Charlotte, daughter of Harrison 
and Rachel (Wilson) Wible, is now the 
wife of Walter Lyon. 

WHYEL, George, 

Manufacturer, Public Official. 

George Whyel, president and general 
manager of the Consolidated Coke Com- 
pany, at Uniontown, Fayette county, 
Pennsylvania, is one of those enterpris- 
ing, energetic men, whom obstacles seem 
only to spur to renewed effort, and who 
have thus found their way from humble 
beginnings to the topmost rung of the 
ladder of business and social standing. 
He is of German descent, and combines 
with American progressiveness that trait 
of calm deliberation so characteristic of 
the German race. 

Matthias Whyel, his father, was born 
in Germany, and died in Pennsylvania in 
1889. He emigrated to the United States 
in the year 1851, and at once proceeded 
to Pittsburgh, where he made his home. 
He found employment as a laborer in the 
coal mines, and for a period of a quarter 
of a century was in the uninterrupted 
employ of the Castle Shannon Coal Com- 
pany. Being of a thrifty and economical 
nature, he, by means of this laborious 

work, laid the foundations of a suljstan- 
lial fortune. He was held in high esteem 
by all who knew him, and was regarded 
as a valuable citizen. He married Chris- 
tiana Mink, also born in Germany, and 
they became the parents of eight children, 
of whom four are living at the present 

George Whyel was born in Pittsburgh, 
Allegheny county, Pennsylvania, Febru- 
ary 4, 1863, and may truly be said to be 
the sole builder of his present magnifi- 
cent fortune. He was obliged to com- 
mence the battle of life at an early age, 
and without the advantages given by a 
fine education. The disadvantages, how- 
ever, seemed but to steel the lad to en- 
dure hardships, and perhaps he was 
rendered more efficient by this very lack. 
He was but a child when he commenced 
working in the mines, and it was not long 
before he was doing a full day's work, 
and spent his evenings at a night school, 
and thus equipped himself for a rise in 
the social and business world. So faith- 
ful was he in the discharge of the various 
duties which fell to his share that, in 
1884, he was appointed superintendent 
of mines ; in 1890 became mining engi- 
neer, serving in this capacity till 1900. 
In 1893 he commenced to operate mines 
on his own account, and continued this 
until 1910. In 1905 he organized the 
Monroe Coal Company; in 1906, the Util- 
ity Coal Company ; in 1909. the Sterling 
Coal and Coke Company. Then he and 
his brother operated the Whyel Coal 
Company, and the former companies were 
consolidated under the name of the Con- 
solidated Connellsville Coke Company, 
and Mr. Whyel was appointed to his pres- 
ent office. He built the Calumet plant, 
now owned by the H. C. Frick Coal and 
Coke Company, and a number of other 
coke plants. The mines with which Mr. 
W^hyel has been so extensively connected 
are situated in Westmoreland and Fay- 


ette counties. He has also been success- 
fully identified with a number of other 
important business enterprises. His de- 
votion to his business interests does not, 
however, prevent him from taking an ac- 
tive part in the social life of the city, in 
which he is always a welcome personage. 
He is publicspirited to a degree, and al- 
ways gives his warm and substantial sup- 
port to any project for the public welfare 
in any direction. He has never been very 
desirous to hold public office, but yielding 
to popular demand, he accepted the office 
of auditor of Fayette county, and served 
faithfully from 1893 to 1896, having been 
elected by the Republican party, to which 
he has always given his political allegi- 
ance. He has also served as a member 
of the common council of Uniontown for 
five years. He is a Thirty-second degree 
Mason, a member of the Ancient Arabic 
Order of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. 

Mr. Whyel married Emma V. Real, 
whose ancestors were among the early 
settlers of Fayette county, and they have 
five children. 

CROW, William E., 

Eminent Lavryer and Prominent Citizen. 

The Crow family, represented in the 
present generation by William E. Crow, 
actively and prominently identified with 
the varied interests of Uniontown, and an 
active factor in political circles, is of 
either Dutch or German origin, and traces 
back to an early date, the members in 
the various generations residing in the 
State of Pennsylvania, and they have al- 
ways taken an active interest in com- 
munity affairs. 

Michael Crow, the first of the line here- 
in mentioned, was, in all probability, 
born in the State of Maryland, from 
whence he removed to Fayette county, 
Pennsylvania, in early life, settling in 
Springhill township, where he erected a 

grist mill on Georges creek, which he 
operated until his death, aged nearly one 
hundred years. His wife, who was 
known as "Granny Crow," bore him nine 
children, among whom was Isaac, 
through whom the line of descent is car- 
ried. He was born at Crow's Mill, Ger- 
man township, Fayette county, Pennsyl- 
vania, July 31, 1799, died February 3, 1889. 
He continued the operation of the mill 
established by his father for thirty-one 
years, and for the remainder of his active 
years operated a farm in his native town- 
ship. His wife, Nancy (Kendall) Crow, 
born in Springhill township in 1800, died 
June 6, 1872, bore him ten children among 
whom was Josiah Brown, through whom 
the line of descent is traced. He was 
born at Crow's Mill, German township, 
Fayette county, Pennsylvania, October 
10, 1841. After his father's death he pur- 
chased the homestead farm, which he 
cultivated until 1905, when he moved to 
Uniontown, erected a modern house on 
Ben Lamond avenue, and is now enjoying 
a well earned period of rest. He is a 
Presbyterian in religion, and a Repub- 
lican in politics. His wife, Elizabeth 
(McCombs) Crow, whom he married 
February 8, 1866, was born in German 
township, Fayette county, Pennsylvania, 
December 29, 1841, daughter of John Mc- 
Combs. They were the parents of eight 
children, the eldest son, William Evans, 
of whom further. 

William Evans Crow was born in Ger- 
man township, Fayette county, Pennsyl- 
vania, March 10, 1870. His elementary 
education was obtained in the district 
public school, and this was supplemented 
by attendance at the Pennsylvania State 
Normal School at California, from which 
institution he was graduated. He began 
his active career by accepting a position 
as teacher in the school in German town- 
ship, in which capacity he served for two 
terms, discharging the duties to the satis- 



faction of all concerned. He resigned 
from school teaching in order to devote 
his time and attention to journalism, and 
from 1891 to 1894 was a reporter on Pitts- 
burgh papers. He then became local editor 
of the Uniontown "Standard" and con- 
tinued as such until that paper was 
merged with "The News," and he then 
became local editor of the consolidated 
"News-Standard," one of the leading 
publications of that day. In the mean- 
time he took up the study of law in the 
firm of Boyd & Umbel, of Uniontown, 
and in December, 1895, was admitted to 
the Fayette county bar. In the following 
month he was appointed assistant district 
attorney of Fayette county under Ira E. 
Partridge, the then district attorney, and 
in November, 1898, was elected district 
attorney, his three years' term of service 
being noted for efficiency, capability and 
thoroughness in every detail. After his 
retirement from office, he again resumed 
the practice of his profession, which he 
has continued up to the present time, 
having a large practice in State and Fed- 
eral courts. The success he has attained 
in his profession is the result of indomit- 
able energy, perseverance and patience, 
coupled with the rare ability of saying in 
a convincing way the right thing at the 
right time, and he is one of the ablest 
representatives of the bar in his native 
State. Mr. Crow is not learned in law 
alone, for he has given considerable at- 
tention to political afifairs and to subjects 
of great import, keeping in touch with 
new thoughts and new ideas. His allegi- 
ance is given to the Republican party. 
In 1895 he became secretary of the county 
central committee, and in 1899 was 
elected chairman, serving three years in 
that capacity. In 1902 he was the can- 
didate of his party for the State Senate, 
but through an unfortunate rupture in 
the party was defeated. In 1906 he was 
again the candidate for the Senate and 

was elected, serving with distinction, and 
at the expiration of his term was re- 
elected, and served as president pro tem- 
pore of the Senate during the session of 
191 1. He has frequently represented his 
district at the county and State conven- 
tions, and was chairman of the Repub- 
lican State conventions of 1909 and 1910. 
He is an attendant at the services of the 
Presbyterian church. He is a thirty- 
second degree Mason, a member of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, a member of the Uniontown Coun- 
try Club, Duquesne Club, Young Men's 
Tariff Club and the Athletic Club, the 
last three of Pittsburgh. 

Mr. Crow married, March 24, 1897, 
Adelaide, daughter of James P. Curry, of 
North Union township, Fayette county, 
Pennsylvania. Children : Evans Curry 
Crow, born April 19, 1898; William J. 
Crow, born January 22, 1902; Warren 
Emlyn Crow, born September 25, 191 1. 

BRENEMAN, Joseph P., 

Leading Contracting Builder. 

From the time of the arrival in the 
I'ennsylvania colony of Melchior Brene- 
man, whose depth of religious conviction 
and attendant persecution had compelled 
him to leave his home in Switzerland, his 
native land, the fortunes and prominence 
of the family he founded have steadily 
increased. The interval of nearly two 
hundred years between the time of the 
arrival of the immigrant Melchior and the 
present has witnessed the members of his 
family in important public position, active 
in the founding of the institutions of 
progress and advancement, and in ever}^ 
way discharging to the full the duties and 
responsibilities inseparable from patriot- 
ism and citizenship. 

Joseph P. Breneman, of Lancaster, 
Pennsylvania, is a present day represen- 
tative of the line, son of Captain Henry 



N. Breneman, grandson of Henry Brene- 
man, and great-grandson of Rev. Henry 
Breneman, a minister of the Old Menno- 
nite Church, descendant of Melchior 
Breneman. Melchior Breneman was 
granted a tract of seven hundred acres 
of land south of Lancaster, lying on both 
sides of Mill creek, by the Penns, and 
subsequently added to this property until 
his holdings were large and valuable. 

Rev. Henry Breneman, a member of 
the ministry of the old Mennonite church, 
great-grandfather of Joseph P. Breneman, 
was born September 8, 1764, and died 
in October, 1847. In 1792 he moved from 
Manor township, Lancaster county, pur^^ 
chasing one hundred and forty-seven 
acres in Strasburg township from Henry 
Bowman. This he farmed during the 
remainder of his life, continuing his ac- 
tivity in the Mennonite Church, and 
erected a dwelling and other necessary 
buildings. He married Anna Musser, 
born October 25, 1772, died April 3, 1857, 
daughter of Benjamin Musser, and had 
six children, one of his sons, Henry, of 
whom further. 

Henry, son of Rev. Henry and Anna 
(Musser) Breneman, was born in Stras- 
burg township, Lancaster county, Penn- 
sylvania, January 25, 1795, and died May 
10, 1859. In 1833 he purchased a farm of 
two hundred and three acres from his 
father, its cultivation his lifelong occu- 
pation, and in addition to this he oper- 
ated a mill thereon with good success. 
He married, June 1, 1819, Elizabeth, 
daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth (Herr) 
Nefif, born July 8, 1796, died November 
8, 1870, and had issue : Anna, married 
Daniel Herr; Elizabeth, married Henry 
Musser; Susan, married Amaziah Herr; 
and Henry N., of whom further. 

Captain Henry N. Breneman, son of 
Henry and Elizabeth (Neff) Breneman, 
was born on the old Breneman homestead 
in Strasburg township, Lancaster county, 

January 13, 1830, and died in Lancaster, 
Pennsylvania, October 10, 1901. His 
youthful education was the result of 
training received in the public schools and 
in Lititz Academy, and when he attain- 
ed his majority he learned the trade of 
miller in his father's mill at Camargo. 
He subsequently engaged in mercantile 
dealings at Camargo, then, after a period 
of farming, became a member of the firm 
of Herr, Breneman & Company, in 1886 
entering upon the manufacture of agri- 
cultural implements, continuing this line, 
in connection with farming operations, 
for many years. In May, 1894, he brought 
his family to Lancaster, and in this city, 
in partnership with his son, Joseph P., 
under the firm name of H. N. Breneman 
& Son, started in the field of contracting 
and building, success attending their 
efforts almost from the beginning of busi- 
ness. Lancaster and the surrounding 
country was the field they covered, and 
the scope of their business widened far 
beyond the planned boundaries, expan- 
sion exceedingly gratifying to the mem- 
bers of the firm. Captain Breneman held 
influential positions in other circles than 
those of business, and as a Republican 
rendered valuable service to his party, 
in State and national as well as in local 
affairs. He served his township as as- 
sessor, for fifteen years as justice of the 
peace, and for a number of years as school 
director, in 1875 being elected to the office 
of sheriff of Lancaster county and filling 
that position for three years. As a public 
servant he was efficient and scrupulous, 
discharging to the full any trust reposed 
in him, however arduous or distasteful. 

He gained his military rank in the 
Union service in the War between the 
States, serving for a time as lieutenant in 
Company G, 22nd Regiment Pennsyl- 
vania Volunteer Infantry, resigning his 
commission because of illness and broken 
health. Immediately after the battle of 

^^ (yB^^^^^e^. 


Gettysburg, however, he recruited a com- 
pany for the three months service, which 
became Company B, 15th Regiment 
Pennsylvania Volunteers, and of this 
organization he was elected captain. 
Captam Henry N. Breneman was a mem- 
ber of the Masonic order, holding the 
Knight Templar degree ; his lodge was 
Washington, No. 156, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Quarryville. Henry H. Brene- 
man married, March 17, 1858, Anna M. 
Potts, of Strasburg, Pennsylvania, and 
had issue : Winona S. ; Park P. ; Anna 
M.; Joseph P., of whom further; Eliza- 
beth B. ; Maude M. ; Herbert N. ; and 

Joseph P., son of Captain Henry N. 
and Anna M. (Potts) Breneman, was 
born on the homestead in Strasburg 
township, Lancaster county, Pennsyl- 
vania, April 2, 1865. He was educated 
in the district schools of the place of his 
birth and in the State Normal School at 
Lockhaven, Pennsylvania, where his 
studies were completed. He then learned 
the trade of carpenter, and after finishing 
his apprenticeship traveled for about six 
years as a journeyman in his calling, upon 
his return to Lancaster becoming asso- 
ciated with his father in business, after- 
ward becoming a member of the firm of 
H. N. Breneman & Son, general building 
contractors. As previously stated, the 
career of this firm has been one of con- 
tinuous success, its operations extending 
over a wide area, and among the more 
noticeable of the buildings Tected in 
Lancaster under its direction are the 
silk mills, the Reformed Church, the 
Wheatland Hotel, the Conestoga Build- 
ing, the Slaymaker Building, and the 
Colonial Theatre. Since his father's 
death Mr. Breneman has continued oper- 
ations independently, and is the occupant 
of leading place in his business, the repu- 
tation of twenty years an impressive 

Mr. Breneman is a thirty-second degree 
Mason, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, 
and is a past master of Washington 
Lodge, No. 156, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, also belonging to Lancaster Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons, Lancaster 
Lodge of Perfection, and Harrisburg 

He married Miss Hollinger, daughter 
of Amos Hollinger, a prominent tanner 
of Lancaster, and is the father of Harry, 
Elizabeth, and Anna N. 

ROLAND, Oliver, M. D., 

Physician, Estimable Citizen. 

In the summer of 1727 the ship "Wil- 
liam and Sarah" sailed from Rotterdam 
with ninety families of Palatinates, arriv- 
ing in Philadelphia in September fi that 
year. The head of one of these families, 
John Diffenderfer, loaded his family and 
household goods on a wagon, started 
westward, and in 1728 halted his weary 
team beneath an immense oak in the 
vicinity of the present borough of New 
Holland, Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. 
There he erected a cabin and in the course 
of a few years quite a number of other 
German families located in the neighbor- 
hood, among them one named Roland, 
whose head came from Germany in 1733, 
purchasing land from the Penns and set- 
tling at New Holland, in Earl township. 
In 1754 Jacob Roland was collector of 
taxes; in 1757 there were three Rolands 
on the tax list ; and in 1766 Jonathan Ro- 
land was township constable. In 1775 
Jonathan Roland was chosen committee- 
man, and in 1832 Brevet Major John F. 
Roland, son of Henry Roland, entered 
the United States Military Academy at 
West Point, later serving with distinction 
in the Seminole War and in the war with 
Mexico, earning his major's brevet on the 
hard-fought field of Monterey. The lands 
originally owned by Rolands are still 

PEN— Vol VI— 5 



partly held in the family name, many 
generations of the family having con- 
tinued to reside in the locality first known 
as Saeue Schwamm, then as Earltown, 
now as New Holland, an incorporated 
borough. Dr. Oliver Roland, for many 
years an eminent physician, was a de- 
scendant of the Palatinate family, son of 
Henry Augustus Roland and grandson of 
Henry Roland and his wife, Margaret 
Seeger. Henry Roland had five sons : 
Henry Augustus and Major John F., of 
previous mention; Cornelius, was presi- 
dent of the New Holland Bank; William, 
and Jonathan H., and two daughters, Cath- 
arine and Julia. John F. was a graduate 
of West Point, class of 1836, a distin- 
guished officer of the United States army, 
died September 28, 1852, at the early age 
of thirty-five years, but leaving behind 
him a deservedly hierh reputation, gained 
in his country's service on the frontier 
and in the Mexican War. Henry Roland 
was a man of prominence in New Hol- 
land, a farmer in calling, his wife, Mar- 
garet Seeger, also a descendant of an 
early German family. 

Henry Augustus, son of Henry and 
Margaret (Seeger) Roland, was born in 
New Holland, Lancaster county, Penn- 
sylvania, November 26, 1819, and there 
died June 21, 1901. The district schools 
of the locality in which he lived and 
Beck's Boys Academy at Lititz, Pennsyl- 
vania, supplied him with excellent educa- 
tional opportunities, and after the com- 
pletion of his studies he began farming, 
in which he prospered. In after years he 
devoted himself less closely to farming 
and became active in many of the newer 
business enterprises of the region, pro- 
moting them with his means and support- 
ing them with his services, frequently in 
official capacity. His part in the organ- 
ization of the New Holland Bank was an 
important one, and although he did not 
become an official thereof, subscribed for 

a large share of its capital stock and be- 
came one of its principal stockholders. 
For more than fifty years he was a direc- 
tor of the New Holland Turnpike Com- 
pany, during that time having in charge 
its control as manager. Mr. Roland 
strongly advocated the incorporation of 
New Holland as a borough, and used his 
influence with tireless energy to that end, 
New Holland receiving its borough char- 
ter in 1895, while his earnest efforts 
hastened the organization of the New 
Holland Water Company. Henry Au- 
gustus Roland was shrewd and sagacious 
in business dealings, but at the same time 
alert, forceful, and upright, and in all 
things relating to the place of his resi- 
dence was unselfishly and usefully pub- 
lic-spirited. He married, in 1849, Jane 
Whann, daughter of Philip and Margaret 
(Whann) Heyl, of Philadelphia, and had 
issue : Oliver, of whom further ; William 
H., an attorney of Lancaster, Pennsyl- 
vania ; and Frederick A., a bank cashier 
of Reading, Pennsylvania. 

Dr. Oliver Roland, son of Henry Au- 
gustus and Jane Whann (Heyl) Roland, 
was born in New Holland, Pennsylvania, 
December 8, 1850, and after preparatory 
education entered Princeton University, 
where he received both the Bachelor's and 
Master's degrees. After his graduation 
in 1872 he began the study of medicine 
under the tutelage of the late Dr. John 
L. Atlee, and three years after his gradu- 
ation from Princeton he received his Doc- 
tor of Medicine degree from the Medical 
Department of the University of Pennsyl- 
vania. For eighteen months following the 
completion of his studies at the University 
he was resident physician at the Episcopal 
Hospital, of Philadelphia, in 1877 estab- 
lishing in active professional practice, his 
first office on East King street, between 
Lime and Shippen streets, while for the 
last twenty years of his professional life 
in Lancaster his office was located at No. 



211 East King street. In connection with 
a private practice of large dimensions, 
which occupied much of his time, he 
maintained many professional relations 
of responsibility and importance. For 
several terms he was visiting physician 
at the county hospital ; was chief of the 
medical staff of St. Joseph's Hospital for 
several years ; for thirty years medical 
director of the Home for Friendless Chil- 
dren, of which institution he was at one 
time a trustee ; was a member of the 
Board of Health of Lancaster for many 
years ; was a consulting physician of the 
General Hospital ; and was also medical 
examiner for a number of life insurance 
companies. Dr. Roland was twice elected 
to the presidency of the Lancaster County 
Medical Society, also belonging to the 
State and American Medical A.ssocia- 
tions, and was a member of the Lancaster 
Tuberculosis Society. He ranked with 
the ablest exponents of his profession in 
knowledge and breadth of experience, and 
Lancaster has known few physicians 
more generally beloved than he. Dr. Ro- 
land's connection with charitable and 
beneficent organizations gave him an in- 
sight into fields where followers of his 
profession could have labored for years 
and still have left much work undone, 
and among those oppressed by poverty 
and misfortune he performed works that, 
in benefit to his and future generations, 
were unequalled by his ministrations 
among his clientele better favored in ma- 
terial things. His medical skill and 
knowledge were to him a means to a noble 
end, and he used the great powers at his 
command with charity, discretion, and 

Dr. Roland was a trustee of the Stevens 
Industrial School and of the A. Herr 
Smith Memorial Library, and his most 
important business interests were as a 
member of the boards of directors of the 
Lancaster Trust Company, the New Hol- 

land Turnpike Company, and the Amer- 
ican Mechanics' Building and Loan Asso- 
ciation. He fraternized with the Masonic 
order, holding the fourteenth degree, An- 
cient Accepted Scottish Rite, his lodge, 
Lamberton, No. 476, Free and Accepted 
Masons; his chapter, No. 43, Royal Arch 
Masons. He also belonged to the Royal 
Arcanum ; Lancaster Lodge, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, and the 
Lancaster Chamber of Commerce. 

In any gathering of men of his profes- 
sion. Dr. Roland was regarded with de- 
ference and respect, and his speech in 
such a body, always convincing and 
authoritative, received close attention, 
while on social occasions he was no less 
a central figure. Broad culture, wide ex- 
perience, and considerable travel made 
his contributions to general conversation 
interesting and entertaining, and he was 
liked by all. Qualities of the sternest 
manhood composed his nature, and his 
death, occurring November 20, 1910, 
checked a source of benefit to mankind, 
and took from his many friends one sin- 
cerely regarded. 

Dr. Oliver Roland married, June 13, 
1882, Harriet, daughter of Benjamin and 
Sarah (Overly) Hunsecker, her father a 
farmer and miller of Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania. She and a daughter. Helen 
Hevl, survive him. 

CARSON, Cornelius, 

Retired Merchant, Public Official. 

About the year 1800 three brothers by 
the name of Carson left their native land, 
Ireland, and came to the United States, 
seeking an opportunity to better their 
fortune. After arriving in this country, 
they soon separated, one of them finding 
a location in Fallowfield township, Wash- 
ington county, Pennsylvania. The land 
on which he settled is still owned in the 
family. This record follows the fortunes 


of a member of the third generation in 
Pennsylvania — Cornelius, son of John S. 
and Margaret (Jones) Carson and a 
grandson of the emigrant. John S. Car- 
son died September 24, 1882; his wife 
December 16, 1870. Both were members 
of the Methodist Episcopal church ; the 
former a Democrat and a man of high 
standing in his community. 

Cornelius Carson was born in Fallow- 
field township, Washington county, 
Pennsylvania, December 29, 1848. The 
son of a farmer, his early life was spent 
in those tasks belonging to a boy's work 
on a farm and in attendance at the public 
school. Later he attended Messenger 
Academy, and the school now known as 
California State Normal. His father, 
John S. Carson, was actively interested in 
educational matters, serving for thirty 
years on the school board, therefore, it 
was but natural that after educating his 
son, he should give him an opportunity 
to teach. For two winter terms the young 
man taught in the public school of Fal- 
lowfield township, working on the home 
farm, the remaining months of the year. 
He continued at the farm until 1881, 
when he located at Monongahela City, 
Pennsylvania, and there engaged in the 
lumber business, as member of the firm 
Yohe, Carson & Company, the firm also 
operating a planing mill. He continued 
with the firm of Yohe, Carson & Com- 
pany (now Yohe Brothers) for one year, 
then for three years was engaged in 
business in Monongahela City as furni- 
ture dealer and undertaker. After dis- 
posing of his interests in that business 
he established a retail grocery and for 
nine years was successfully engaged in 
that line. At the end of that period he 
retired from active business, but still con- 
tinues his residence at Monongahela 
City. His life has been an active success- 
ful one and not lived selfishly with only 
a regard for his own interests. He has 

ever been mindful of his duties as a good 
citizen and borne his full share in local 
public affairs — a Democrat in politics 
and always living in strongly Republican 
localities, he has been so highly regarded 
even by political opponents that in all his 
campaigns he polled enough votes from 
the opposition party as to secure an elec- 

He served as a member of election 
boards about twenty-five years ; as school 
director several years ; member of the city 
council ; mayor of Monongahela City and 
in November, 1912, as the regular Demo- 
cratic nominee was elected to the State 
Legislature. His official life has been one 
of honorable effort in behalf of the best 
interests of his constituents and his recent 
election is a just appreciation of his 
worth, also an evidence of the high es- 
teem in which he is held by the voters of 
his district, regardless of party affiliation. 

He married, October 30. 1873, Sarah 
Jane, daughter of Joseph and Sarah 
(Sphor) Beazell, of Washington county 
Children : Laura I., now Mrs. Charles 
A. Hayden, of Allegheny county, Penn- 
sylvania; Margaret, deceased; .Sarah B., 
married Thomas Anson, of Monongahela 
City ; Van Curtis, deceased ; Emma J., 
deceased ; Mary J., deceased ; Cornelius 
C^eorge, deceased; Isaac W"., of Monon- 
gahela City, and Joseph B., of Monon- 
gahela City. The mother of these chil- 
dren died July 16, 1906. Both Mr. and 
Mrs. Carson were active members of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, he a member 
of the board of stewards for twenty years, 
a class leader and superintendent of the 
Sunday school. Although not actively 
engaged in business, Mr. Carson is not 
superannuated, but is one of the active, 
vigorous men of his city and as busily 
employed as of yore, having only changed 
his form of activity from private to more 
public interests. His forthcoming ser- 
vice as a State legislator will be given 




with due regard to the welfare of the en- 
tire State as viewed by him from a Demo- 
cratic standpoint, but not from that of a 
partisan. He is always mindful of the 
opinions of others, conceding to every 
man the same liberty of thought and 
action that he demands for himself in all 
matters religious, political or private. 


Prominent Silk Manufacturer. 

Honored and respected by all, there 
are few men in Emaus who occupy a more 
enviable position than Jonas H. Frederick 
in industrial circles, not alone on account 
of the success he has achieved, but also 
on account of the honorable, straight- 
forward business policy he has ever fol- 
lowed. He possesses untiring energy, is 
quick of perception, forms his plans read- 
ily and is determined in their execution, 
and his close application to business and 
his excellent management have brought 
to him the high degree of prosperity 
which is his at the present time (1915). 
He has clearly demonstrated the truth 
of the saying that success is not the re- 
sult of genius alone, but the outcome of 
a clear judgment and experience. 

The Frederick family has been repre- 
sented in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
for several centuries, the first of the name 
of whom we have definite information 
having been John Frederick, who is re- 
corded as having been a taxable citizen 
of Rockhill township, in 1779, and his 
name appears in the recorded tax lists 
of 1781, 1782, 1784, 1785, 1787. He made 
his last will and testament in January, 
1808, and he died at a very advanced 
age. He was the father of six children : 
Henry ; Barbara, who became the wife 
of John Rinker ; Michael, of whom fur- 
ther; George; John; Catharine, who be- 
came the wife of Ludwick Wile. 

Michael Frederick, son of John Fred- 
erick, was born October 27, 1769, died 
January 13, 1849, in the eightieth year of 
his age. He was appointed administrator 
of his father's estate. He learned the 
trade of weaver, which he followed in 
conjunction with the occupation of farm- 
ing, his property being in the vicinity of 
Three Mile Run, in Rockhill township. 
He married Catharine Stump, born Jan- 
uary 15, 1764, died July 31, 1849, in the 
eighty-sixth year of her age. They were 
the parents of live children : John ; Jo- 
seph, of whom further; Thomas; Cath- 
arine, who became the wife of Casper 
Johnson ; and a daughter who became the 
wife of a Mr. Hilbert. The remains of 
Mr. and Mrs. Frederick were interred in 
the churchyard of Tohickon Church, in 
Bucks county. 

Joseph Frederick, son of Michael and 
Catharine (Stump) Frederick, was born 
in Rockhill township, and there spent his 
entire lifetime, his death occurring in 
1833, in early manhood. He was a weaver 
by trade and followed that occupation 
throughout his active career. He mar- 
ried Mary Shipe, who survived him many 
years. They were the parents of six chil- 
dren : Elias ; James ; Lydia, who became 
the wife of Lewis Jones ; Amos ; Daniel : 
Jonas, of whom further. 

Jonas Frederick, son of Joseph and 
Mary (Shipe) Frederick, was born Sep- 
tember 20, 1828. He was only five years 
old when his father died, and therefore 
was early thrown upon his own resources, 
which fact strengthened his character and 
made him self-reliant and enterprising. 
He devoted his attention to the tilling of 
the soil and to the trades of shoemaker 
and iron worker, for a period of two dec- 
ades being an employee of the Donaldson 
Iron Works, at Emaus, where he resided, 
being one of the respected and esteemed 
citizens of that place. He is a member 



of the Lutheran church. He married, 
June i6, 1850, Mary Ann, daughter ot 
WiUiam and Kate (Gruber) Morder (also 
spelled Madder), a native of Baden, Ger- 
many. Thirteen children were bcrn to 
them, as follows: Sarah, widow of O. S. 
Reinhart; William, died in early life; 
Alice, who became the wife of Jacob 
Brinker; Wilson C, a resident of Allen- 
town ; Milton, a resident of Emaus ; 
Emma, deceased, wife of Allen Dillinger; 
Kate, became the wife of Obediah Miller, 
of Elizabeth, New Jersey; Martha, who 
became the wife of Mahlon Antrim, of 
Emaus; Watson, deceased; Minnie, who 
became the wife of Horace Wennig, of 
Emaus ; James, deceased ; Cora, who be- 
came the wife of Charles Miller; Jonas 
H., of whom further. 

Jonas H. Frederick, son of Jonas and 
Mary Ann (Morder) Frederick, was born 
at Limeport, Lehigh county, Pennsyl- 
vania, January 5, 1875. He was reared 
upon a farm, the out-door life giving him 
a robust constitution and great strength 
both of body and mind, and his education 
was acquired in the public schools of his 
native place and in the American Com- 
mercial College, at AUentown, from 
which latter institution he was graduated 
in the class of 1896. He then served an 
apprenticeship at the trades of weaver 
and warper in the Keystone Silk Mill, 
thoroughly mastering every detail of the 
business so that in due course of time he 
was qualified to engage in the same line 
of work on his own account. In 1905 he 
established the Central Silk Company at 
Siegfried, Pennsylvania, which he con- 
ducted successfully, and in 1908 he built 
the silk mill on Ridge street, Emaus, 
which plant gives employment to more 
than sixty people. In 1910 he purchased 
the Bath Silk Mill, and formed the Bath 
Silk Company, which gives employment 
to about eighty people, and in 1913, in 

company with other business men, he 
purchased the Keystone Silk Mills, at 
Emaus, which is now known and trades 
as the Emaus Silk Company, Inc., which 
gives employment to upwards of two 
hundred people, Mr. Frederick being 
chosen as the treasurer and general man- 
ager of the company. In 1912 a silk 
throwing mill was established at Perka- 
sie, Pennsylvania, which is known as the 
Perkasie Silk Company, and which gives 
employment to about seventy-five people. 
The above statement of facts demon- 
strates that Mr. Frederick leads an active 
life, a life of usefulness, and his efforts 
have also contributed to the building up 
of Emaus and vicinity, in the welfare of 
which he takes a keen interest. He is a 
member of St. John's Lutheran Church, 
and also holds membership in the follow- 
ing organizations : Jordan Lodge, No. 
673, Free and Accepted Masons, of AUen- 
town ; Mystic Star Lodge, No. 73, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, also 
Emaus Encampment, No. 15, of the same 
order, and Washington Camp, No. 398, 
Patriotic Order Sons of America, of 

Mr. Frederick married, October 9, 1898, 
Quinnie I., daughter of Edwin and Ella 
(Heinley) F"rantz, of Fogelsville, Penn- 
sylvania, and granddaughter, on the ma- 
ternal side, of John and Helena (Kline) 
Heinley. Three children have been born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Frederick: Raymond, 
born March i, 1899, who was burned to 
death at the age of eighteen months ; Ker- 
mit Frantz, born July 5, 1908; Armstrong 
Jonas, born April 7, 1910. The house in 
which the family reside was erected by 
Mr. Frederick in 1914, located at the 
southeast corner of Third and Ridge 
streets, Emaus, and is one of the finest 
in that locality, thoroughly equipped with 
everything needful for the comfort and 
convenience of its inmates. 



MACK, John Sanford, M. D., 

Veteran of Spanish-American AVar. 

Dr. John S. Mack, who is successfully 
engaged in the practice of medicine in 
Slatington, occupies an enviable position 
among his professional brethren in Le- 
high county, his skill and ability winning 
him a high reputation. He was born May 
6, 1870, son of John Charles and Sarah 
A. (Remaby) Mack, natives of Lehigh 
county, and representatives of the oldest 
settlers. John C. Mack was a son of 
Ahaha and Elizabeth (Grave) Mack, and 
his wife was a daughter of John and 
Laurine (Wert) Remaby, the former 
named having been a son of George Rem- 
aby, a native of Lehigh county, Penn- 
sylvania, but of English descent, and the 
latter named a daughter of John C. Wert, 
who was of German descent. 

Dr. John S. Mack spent his early life 
in his native town, Slatington, attended 
the public schools, the Philadelphia Col- 
lege of Pharmacy, from which he gradu- 
ated in 1889, and the University of Penn- 
sylvania, graduating from the Medical De- 
partment in the class of 1892. Upon the 
completion of his studies, he began prac- 
tice at Slatington, and the liberal patron- 
age he now receives attests to his skill and 
ability in the diagnosis and treatment of 
disease, and indicates the confidence and 
trust reposed in him by the public. For 
^he past ten years he has served as sur- 
geon for the Lehigh Valley Railroad 
Company, and during the Spanish-Ameri- 
can War he served as assistant surgeon 
of the United States army, under Colonel 
Pettit, in the Fourth Immune Regiment. 
He has served as school director in his 
native town, and at the present time 
(1913) is chief burgess of Slatington, an 
office he has capably filled for the past 
five years. He is a member of the Lehigh 
County Medical Society ; Slatington 

Lodge, No. 440, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons ; Slatingfton Chapter, No. 292, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Allen Council, Royal and 
Select Masters, of Allentown ; Allen Com- 
mandery, No. 20, Knights Templar, 
Caldwell Consistory, thirty-second de- 
gree; Irene Temple, Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, of Wilkes-Barre; Knights 
of the Red Cross of Constantine, Supreme 
Council, thirty-third degree; Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, of Allen- 
town ; Fraternal Order of Eagles ; Junior 
Order of American Mechanics ; Patriotic 
Sons of America ; Foresters of America ; 
Modern Woodmen of America; Knights 
of Pythias; Sons of Veterans and others. 
Dr. Mack is a member of the Dutch Re- 
formed church, and a staunch Republican 
in politics, and is honest and upright in 
all the relations of life. 

Dr. Mack married, January 31, 1889, 
Catherine A. Williams, daughter of Evan 
J. and Ellen (Williams) Williams. Chil- 
dren : Maud G., graduate of the West 
Chester Normal School, now teaching 
school at Jacksonville, Florida ; and 
Helen C, attending high school. 

YEAKEL, James Milton, 

Manufacturer, Pnblic Official. 

From birth until the present day, Mr. 
Yeakel has been continuously a resident 
of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, a city of 
which he is now (1914) chief executive 
educator in her schools, acquiring a trade 
and following it within her borders, be- 
coming an employer and thus contribut- 
ing to the general prosperity, then accept- 
ing her call to the head of government ; 
the title of "native son" of Bethlehem can 
be supplemented by that of dutiful son. 
James Milton Yeakel is a son of Peter and 
Marguerite Yeakel, both of German birth, 
the former born in Bavaria, the latter in 



Wurttemberg. Peter Yeakel came to the 
United States in 1830 and followed farm- 
ing until his death. 

James Milton Yeakel was born in 
Bethlehem, March 28, i860. He attended 
public schools until thirteen years of age 
then became a pupil of Professor Ambrose 
Rondthaler's private school. He began 
active business life on the farm, then, 
deciding upon a trade, apprenticed him- 
i-elf to Henry S. Sellers, who taught him 
the wheelwright's trade. He served three 
and a half years as apprentice, then con- 
tinued a journeyman for six and a half 
years more. In 1890 he became a member 
of the firm of Fatzinger & Yeakel, carriage 
and wagon builders. After ten success- 
ful years Mr. Fatzinger died, and was 
succeeded as sole owner by Mr. Yeakel. 
who purchased his interest and still con- 
tinues the business at No. 313-315 North 
Linden street, Bethlehem, well establish- 
ed and prosperous. 

Politically a Democrat, Mr. Yeakel 
since 1890 has served eleven years as 
councilman, three times elected by the 
people and once by appointment. He was 
a capable, active and useful member, 
faithful to every trust, and displaying a 
devotion to the public mterest that so 
impressed the voting community that on 
November 4, 1913, he was elected chief 
burgess of Bethlehem, a city normally 
Republican. His term expires January i, 
1918. As chief magistrate he is fulfilling 
the expectations of his friends and is add- 
ing to the reputation he already enjoys 
as faithful public ofificial. Mr. Yeakel 
is a member of the Moravian church, the 
Bethlehem Club, South Bethlehem 
Lodge, Benevolent Protective Order of 
Elks and Woodmen of the World. 

He married, June 11, 1891, Lannie 
Irene, daughter of James R. and Almina 
(Riegel) Hammel. 


Prominent Manufacturer. 

Arnold Hochstrasser, superintendent 
of the Whitehall Cement Company, 
Owenton, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, 
is a worthy representative of that class 
of American citizens who claim as their 
birthplace foreign lands, but who give 
their full allegiance to this country upon 
taking up their residence here, being will- 
ing if necessary, to offer up their lives 
in her defense. 

Arnold Hochstrasser was born in Swit- 
zerland, August I, 1877. He was reared 
and educated in his native land, gradu- 
ating from the State Technical School of 
Bern in mechanical engineering. In No- 
vember, 1900, having previously come 
to the conclusion that the United States 
offered better advantages for young men 
than his native land, or, in fact, in any 
part of the Old World, he left his home 
and came to this country, beginning his 
business career as an employee of the 
Singer Sewing Machine Company at their 
Boston plant, later being transferred to 
Elizabeth, New Jersey, where he remain- 
ed three years. He then devoted his at- 
tention to chemical research work at 
Mount Vernon, New York, continuing 
for a period of two years. He then en- 
gaged in the cement business, accepting 
the position of engineer in charge of the 
construction work in the plant of the 
Maryland Portland Cement Company, at 
Hagerstown. When the building was 
completed he was retained as assistant 
superintendent in the operation of the 
cement mills, performing the tasks allot- 
ted to him in an efficient manner which 
won for him the commendation of his su- 
perior officers. In 191 1 he accepted the 
position of engineer of construction in the 
building and remodeling of the Whitehall 
Cement Company plant, of Lehigh 
county, Pennsylvania, and was retained 


as its superintendent, in which capacity 
he has since served with great credit to 
himself and giving entire satisfaction to 
the company. In appearance and action 
he is typically an American, and he is 
essentially a self-made man, this being 
the result of industry, perseverance and 
wise judgment. He is the supporter of 
all measures which have for their object 
the welfare of the community, and in all 
respects fulfills the obligations of a good 
and true citizen. 

Mr. Hochstrasser married May Carroll, 
of New York. They are the parents of 
one child, Carroll L.. born in New York, 
January i6, 1907. 

HARTMAN, Samuel G., 

Oil Corporation Officer, Public Official. 

Israel Hartman (I), great-great-grand- 
father of Samuel G. Hartman, was of 
Lithopolis, Ohio. Philip (II), son of 
Israel Hartman, was born May 28, 1779, 
and married Mariah Cromley, who was 
born in 1787, and died April 6, 1842. The 
death of Philip Hartman occurred Sep- 
tember 5, 1843. 

(Ill) William, son of Philip and Ma- 
riah (Cromley) Hartman, was born Octo- 
ber 13, 1813, and migrated from Allen- 
town, Pennsylvania, to Fairfield county, 
Ohio, where he passed the remainder of 
his life in agricultural pursuits. He mar- 
ried (first) Hannah, daughter of Barney 
Fellers, and their children were: Daniel, 
of Rawson, Ohio ; Franklin, deceased ; 
Joshua, of Rawson, Ohio; Catharine, de- 
ceased ; and Henry, mentioned below. 
Mrs. Hartman who, before her marriage, 
was of Jefferson, Ohio, died about 1848, 
and Mr. Hartman married (second) 
Susan Crozier, of Arcadia, becoming by 
this marriage the father of the following 
children : Jane, Mary, Sarah, Emma, 
Malinda, Barbara, Alice, John, and Jack- 

son. William Hartman died about 1877, 
in Findlay, Ohio. 

(IV) Henry, son of William and Han- 
nah (Fellers) Hartman, was born Janu- 
ary 17, 1836, at Green Castle, Fairfield 
county, Ohio, and was six years old when 
the family removed to Findlay, Ohio. 
It was in the schools of that place that 
he received his education and there he 
has always lived, following the calling of 
a farmer. He served in the Civil War as 
a member of the Twenty-first Regiment 
Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and is a com- 
rade of the Grand Army of the Republic. 
Mr. Hartman is a Republican, and served 
for many years as school director. He is 
a member of the Evangelical church. Mr. 
Hartman married, November 15, i860, at 
Findlay, Ohio, Catharine, born May I, 
1838, daughter of Samuel and Mary (Ro- 
binalt) Powell, of that place. The Powell 
family were originally of Pennsylvania. 
Mr. and Mrs. Hartman were the parents 
of two sons : Samuel G.. mentioned be- 
low ; and Claude, born April 24, 1871. a 
farmer of Findlay, Ohio, and director of 
the Farmers' Mutual Protective Associ- 
ation of that place. Mrs. Hartman passed 
away February 11, 1914. 

(V) Samuel G., son of Henry and 
Catharine (Powell) Hartman, was born 
February 26, 1865, at Findlay, Hancock 
county, Ohio, and received his primary 
education in local schools, passing thence 
first to the Ohio Normal School at Ada, 
Ohio, and then to Findlay College. He 
began his business life by going to Mis- 
souri, where he was employed for a short 
time, returning then to his native State 
and associating himself with the Dalzell, 
Gilmore & Leighton Glass Company. 
This connection he severed after a brief 
period in order to identify himself with 
the industry with which his name has 
ever since been inseparably linked. Ten 
years were spent with the Ohio Oil Com- 


pany, during five of which he was sta- 
tioned at Findlay, afterward representing 
the company at Oil City, Pennsylvania, 
where their general offices were situated. 
During a portion of this time Mr. Hart- 
man served as assistant treasurer for dif- 
ferent companies, including the South 
Penn Oil Company, the Ohio Oil Com- 
pany, Indiana Division, and the South 
Penn Oil Company, Midland Division. 
In the course of these years he achieved 
the reputation of a business man of sound 
judgment, keen foresight and unblemish- 
ed integrity. In 1902 he was transferred 
to Pittsburgh by the South Penn Oil 
Company, and in 1904 became its treas- 
urer. In 191 1 he was made a director of 
the company. 

In politics Mr. Hartman is an Inde- 
pendent Republican, and in 1906 served as 
president and director of the school board 
of the Old Twenty-second (new Four- 
teenth) ward of Pittsburgh, that being 
the time when the new school system be- 
came effective. He affiliates with Home- 
wood Lodge, No. 635, Free and Accepted 
Masons, belongs to the Union Club and 
is a member and trustee of the Home- 
wood Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Mr. Hartman married, July 10, 1889, at 
Carthage, Missouri, Minnie D. Fellers, 
whose ancestral record is appended to 
this biography, and they are the parents 
of the following children : Esther Kath- 
arine, born March 31, 1894: Annette 
Elizabeth, born March 31, 1896; Lois 
Pauline, born April 23, 1899; and Henry 
Paul, born October 22, 1903. All these 
children are receiving their education in 
the schools of Pittsburgh. Devotion to 
family ties and love of home are domi- 
nant traits in the character of Mr. Hart- 
man and in the presiding genius of his 
fireside he finds intellectual comradeship 
combined with the charm of a perfect 
domesticity. Mrs. Hartman, who is a 
member of the Homewood Women's 

Club, is a woman of strength of char- 
acter, breadth of culture and much sweet- 
ness of disposition. 

(The Fellers Line). 

Paul Fellers was a farmer of Carthage, 
Jasper county, Missouri, and married 
Elizabeth Jane Dreisbach (see Dreis- 
bach line), and their children were: Lil- 
lian D. ; Minnie D., mentioned below; 
Grace Annette, Ortiz D., Harley D., 
Thurlow D., Emerson D., and A. P. 
Oswald D. 

(II) Minnie D., daughter of Paul and 
Elizabeth Jane (Dreisbach) Fellers, be- 
came the wife of Samuel G. Hartman, as 
stated above. 

(The Dreisbach Line). 

Martin Dreisbach, great-great-gjand- 
father of Mrs. Elizabeth Jane (Dreis- 
bach) Fellers, was born in 1717, in the 
earldom of Witgenstein, Germany. His 
parents belonged to the middle class, 
owning considerable property. They 
were members of the Reformed Church, 
as was also their son Martin. The latter 
learned the trade of a blacksmith, and 
married Anna Eve Hoffman, daughter of 
a school teacher in Nausausiegen, a small 
estate adjoining that of Witgenstein. In 
1746 Martin Dreisbach and his wife emi- 
grated to the province of Pennsylvania, 
purchasing a farm in Lancaster county, 
near the Black Horse Tavern, in Cocalico 
township. There Martin Dreisbach 
worked at his trade, and also built a grist 
and saw mill, but having lost his oldest 
son by a sudden death he sold his prop- 
erty and bought a farm in Berks county, 
moving thither in 1763. In 1773 he sold 
this place also and purchased a tract of 
land in Buflfalo Valley. Northumberland 
(now Union) county. About three years 
after their settlement they were obliged 
to return to their former neighborhood in 
order to escape from the Indians, but 


:/ ai/r/ -^ cjA/c?^ 


went back to their new home when the 
danger was past. Mr. and Mrs. Dreisbach 
were the parents of the following chil- 
dren : Jacob, Henry, John, Martin, men- 
tioned below ; Margaret, and Catharine. 
Mrs. Dreisbach died in March, 1789, at 
the age of sixty-five, and in February, 
1799, the father of the family passed 
away, being then eighty-two years old. 

(II) Martin (2), son of Martin (i) and 
Anna Eve (Hoflfman) Dreisbach, was 
born in 1764, in Berks county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and married Sabina Fredericka 
Bucks (see Bucks line). Their children 
were: John, mentioned below; Anna E., 
Susannah, Leah, Elizabeth, and Martin. 
Mr. Dreisbach died in 1831, in Union 
county, Pennsylvania, and the death of 
his wife occurred in 1849, in Fairfield 
county, Ohio. Both were for many years 
members of the Evangelical church. 

(III) John, son of Martin (2) and 
Sabina Fredericka (Bucks) Dreisbach, 
was born June 5, 1789, in Buffalo Valley, 
Pennsylvania, and in 1807 entered the 
ministry of the Evangelical church, then 
in its infancy. In 181 1 he married Cath- 
arine Eyer, of Dry Valley, Pennsylvania, 
who died in 1815, leaving two children — 
Saloma and Elizabeth. In 1817 Mr. Dreis- 
bach married (second) Fanny Eyer, born 
September 22, 1791, a sister of his first 
wife. The children of this marriage were: 
Abraham E., Isaac E., Catharine, Sophia, 
Jacob E., mentioned below; Leah E., 
Martin E., Susanna E., John E., Fanny 
E., and Martha E. In 1831 Mr. Dreisbach 
migrated with his family from Buffalo 
Valley, Union county, Pennsylvania, to 
Pickaway county, Ohio, where they set- 
tled on a farm which remained their home 
for many years, until their deaths. 

(IV) Jacob E., son of John and Fanny 
(Eyer) Dreisbach, was born in Union 
county, Pennsylvania, and in after life 
removed to Hancock county, Ohio. He 
was a farmer and minister, and in 1844 

married Catharine Wagner, of Hocking 
county, Ohio. This was before his re- 
moval to that State. Their children were : 
Elizabeth Jane, mentioned below; Simon 
W., Isaiah W., Esther, and William W. 
Mrs. Dreisbach died January 31, 1892. 

(V) Elizabeth Jane, daughter of Jacob 
E. and Catharine (Wagner) Dreisbach, 
became the wife of Paul Fellers (see 
Fellers line). 

(The Bucks Line). 

George Bucks was a native of Wur- 
teniberg, Germany, and emigrated to the 
province of New Jersey, probably re- 
moving thence to Pennsylvania. He was 
twice married, his second wife being 
Christina Metzger, also a native of Wur- 
temberg. Among the children of this 
marriage was Sabina Fredericka, men- 
tioned below. George Bucks and his wife 
were originally members of the Lutheran 
church, but Mrs. Bucks in her last years 
united with the Evangelical communion. 
Mr. Bucks was eighty-five at the time of 
his death, and Mrs. Bucks survived to the 
great age of ninety-seven. 

(II) Sabina Fredericka, daughter of 
George and Christina (Metzger) Bucks, 
was born in 1762, in Sussex county. New 
Jersey, and became the wife of Martin 
(2) Dreisbach (see Dreisbach line). 

DESHLER, David, 

Man of Enterprise, Fonnder of DesHler In- 

The name Deschler is of Swiss origin. 
The direct ancestor in America was Cap- 
tain David Deschler, who was aide-de- 
camp to Prince Lewis, of Baden, Ger- 
many, in the war of the Spanish Succes- 
sion. He married, in 171 1, Maria Wuster, 
born in 1690, daughter of Hans Casper 
Wuster, and Anna Catharine, his wife. 

David Deshler, son of Captain David 
Deshler and his wife, Maria Wister, 


arrived at Philadelphia on the ship 
"Hope," on August 28, 1733. He entered 
the counting house of his uncle, John 
Wistar, and became a leading hardware 
and paint merchant. The Philadelphia 
Directory of 1767- 1768, records the fol- 
lowing: "David Deshler, Director Phila. 
Contribution, hardware, paints, etc. Opp. 
Butchers Shambles, Market St. Sign of 
Green Frying Pan." David Deshler built 
historic Morris Mansion, at Germantown. 
(This mansion, which is situated No. 5442 
Germantown avenue, Philadelphia, was 
built in the years 1772-73-74 by David 
Deshler, a merchant of Philadelphia, who 
was so noted for his integrity that his 
name passed into a proverb — "as honest 
as David Deshler"). The late David 
Lewis, a short time before his death, 
handed to Mr. EUiston P. Morris, the 
present owner (1898) of the mansion a 
package of papers in the German lan- 
guage containing memoranda made by 
David Deshler, his grandfather. Upon 
deciphering and translating them, Mr. 
Morris found that one referred to the 
building of this mansion, giving the de- 
scription and cost of material and labor 
for its erection, between the years 1772- 


At the time of the battle of German- 
town in 1777, Sir William Howe removed 
his headquarters to this house ; the tradi- 
tion says that Prince William, (afterwards 
William IV.) paid him a visit there. David 
Deshler continued to live in this house 
during the summer season, until his death 
in 1792. It was then sold to Colonel 
Isaac Franks, of the Revolutionary army, 
who lived there until 1802. But m the 
year 1793, when yellow fever was raging 
in Philadelphia, this house was selected 
as a temporary residence for (leneral 
Washington, and Colonel Franks acceded 
to the request to rent it to the President. 
General Washington, writing to Burgess 
Ball from Germantown, under date of 

November 24, 1793, makes a reference to 
this house "The Malady with which 
Philadelphia has been sorely afflicted, has, 
it is said, entirely ceased, and all the 
citizens are returning to their old habi- 
tants again. I took a house in this town 
when I first arrived here, and shall retain 
it until Congress get themselves fixed ; 
although I spent part of my time in the 

In 1802 the house was purchased by 
the brothers Elliston and John Perot, 
gentlemen of Huguenot extraction, and 
they used it as a summer residence. On 
the death of Elliston Perot in 1834, it 
became a part of his estate, in the settle- 
ment of the joint estate of the two 
brothers. His only daughter, Hannah, 
had married Samuel B. Morris, of the old 
shipping firm of Wain & Morris, and Mr. 
S. B. Morris purchased the house in 1836 
from his brother-in-law, Francis Perot. 
Mr. Morris lived in it until his death in 
1859, leaving it by his will to his son, 
Elliston Perot Morris, who now resides 

The Germantown Morris house is built 
in the colonial style, having a frontage of 
forty feet, which, tradition says, would 
have been wider, but for a noble plum 
tree on the south side, which David 
Deshler, the owner of the property, was 
averse to removing. The main body of 
the building is about forty feet in depth, 
with back buildings, extending into the 
large beautiful garden, which, commenc- 
ing alongside and running southward, 
presents a width of one hundred feet, and 
extends westward 435 feet. In it may 
be seen some magnificent trees, and box 
bushes more than a century old. (Re- 
corded in "History of Morris Family," 
Philadelphia, Volume II., pp. 679, 680). 

David Deshler died at his home on 

Market street on March 20, 1792, aged 

eighty-one years. He married, in 1738. 

Maria, daughter of Isaac and Catharine 



(Feree) Le Fevre. She was born Sep- 
tember 24, 1715, died February 25, 1774. 
They were the parents of six children, 
namely: Isaac, who died September 18, 
1749; Samuel, who died August 17, 1751 ; 
Sarah, who died October 11, 1757; Mary, 
married to Ellis Lewis ; Esther, married 
to John Morton ; Catharine, married to 
Robert Roberts. The first three of the 
above named children died unmarried. 
The three sons-in-law were merchants in 
Philadelphia. This family were members 
of the Friends' Meeting House on Race 
street, Philadelphia. The archives of this 
meeting house record the marriages of 
their three daughters, the death of the 
three above-named children, and the 
death of their noble parents. 

The family were of the nobility in Ger- 
many and at least three branches were 
honored with escutcheons. 

Anthony Deshler, a brother of David, 
married Mary Elizabeth Bensel, and had 
two sons and three daughters. 

Adam Deshler, son of Captain David 
and Maria (Wuster) Deshler, was among 
the pioneer settlers of Whitehall town- 
ship, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania. Al- 
fred F. Berlin, the noted historian and 
archaeologist, in an article read before the 
Lehigh County Historical Society, quoted 
the following: "An original warrant now 
in possession of The Lehigh Portland 
Cement Company, gave by patent from 
James Hamilton, then Governor of Penn- 
sylvania, per John and Richard Penn, the 
proprietaries, to Adam Deshler, dated 
May 5, 1751. (Patent Book, Phila., Pa., 
A. Vol. 15, page 593,) three tracts of land 
situate on the west branch of the Dela- 
ware river — the Lehigh river — on or near 
Indian Copelin's Creek, containing 301^ 
acres. One of the boundaries contained 
in the description of one of the tracts 
containing 200 acres, is the middle of 
Indian Copelin's Creek." 

Adam Deshler was naturalized April 

10, 1755. He was one of the most success- 
ful farmers in the township. From 1756 
to 1758 he furnished provisions for the 
provincial troops in the French and 
Indian War. In the year 1760, Adam 
Deshler built a stone house* upon this 
tract, which is still standing and in a good 
state of preservation, still giving unmis- 
takable evidence by its heavy walls, that 
it was built to serve other purposes than 
those of an ordinary farm home. Adjoin- 
mg the stone building upon the north, 
was a large frame building in which 
twenty soldiers might be comfortably 
quartered, and a considerable quantity of 
military stores kept. During the Indian 
troubles this place was a kind of military- 
post, furnished gratuitously by Adam 
Deshler, who was one of the most liberal 
and humane men in the region. He was 
a member of the Egypt Reformed con- 
gregation, and is buried in the graveyard 
there. His last will and testament, dated 
January 22, iyj2, was probated Septem- 
ber 20, 1781. Adam and ApoUonia Deshler 
had seven children, namely : Eva Cathar- 
ine, born 1729, died June 2, 1816; David, 
born 1734, died December 24, 1796; Peter, 
born March 18, 1743, died September 28, 
1800; Adam, born October i, 1745, died 
February 24, 1790; Juliana, born May 7, 
1746, died March 12, 1840; Barbara, born 
November 2, 1747, died October 10, 1832* 
Catharine, born 1751. died February 11, 

•Deshler's Fort, which was a place of refuge 
in troublous Indian times, stands on the north 
bank of Coplay creek, in ''.Vhitehall township, 
Lehiph county. Pennsvlvani.i. It stpndt on a 
little eminence overlooking the meadows through 
which Coplay creek flows. It is a substantially 
built structure, forty feet long by thirtv in 
width, two and a half stories high, with walls 
two feet thick, and heavy timbers supporting- 
the interior. There were orlginiUy but a few 
small windows in the sides, each with four 
panes of glass, but more have since been added, 
and in the gable ends there were a row of ionp- 
holes. A large hearth and chimnev occupies the 
center of the house, and divides the lower r.nd 
upper stories into two apartments. In the 
mantlepiece above this can be seen the bullet- 
holes made by the Indians. Ad.ioinin,-? tbe house 
on the north was a frame addition which shel- 
tered the soldiers quartered ther? at the time of 
the Indian troubles In 1763. The house was well 
prepared to withstand any attacks, as it was so 
strongly built, and furthermore it is said there 
was a well within the walls. 



1825. Eva Catharine Deshler married 
Peter Burkholder, who was a prominent 
Revolutionary patriot. They had three 
children, namely : John Peter, married 
to Dorothea Steckel ; Magdalena, married 
to Lieutenant-Colonel Stephen Balliet ; 
and Barbara, wife of Henry Epply. 

David Deshler, the eldest son of Adam 
and Apollonia Deshler, in 1767, pur- 
chased from "James Allen, of the town of 
Northampton, in the county of North- 
ampton, in the Province of Pennsylvania, 
for and in consideration of the sum of 
£500, fifty acres and six perches of land 
situate in Salisbury township, upon the 
southern bank of the Little Lehi Creek, 
so called." From the text of the deed, 
"said David Deshler, intended to erect 
and built upon the tract of land above 
described, a certain grist-mill." (Re- 
corded at Easton, Pa., in Deed Book B, 
Vol. I, page 181). 

He was one of the earliest settlers of 
what is now the city of Allentown, Penn- 
sylvania, "where is credited as having 
built the first house." He was assessed 
£9 in 1762, and in 1768 he was already 
taxed for a grist-mill, a saw-mill, and 
seventy-five acres of land situate in Salis- 
bury township. During the Revolution 
he was one of the most prominent 
patriots in Northampton county. He 
acted as commissary of supplies for the 
army, and with Captain John Arndt, of 
Easton, also a commissary, advanced 
money to the Provincial government out 
of his private means in 1780, when the 
public treasury was empty, and that, too, 
at a time when the prospect of it being 
returned was not very bright. They both 
labored with unflagging zeal to promote 
the welfare of the public cause, and to 
fill the quota of the county, as required 
by the acts of Congress and the Provin- 
cial Assembly. The following letter is 
of interest here : 


David Deshler to Pres. Reed, 1780. 

Allentown, 24th Aug", 1780. 

I have sent Mr. Charles Deshler, my assistant', 
who will- call on you, for a supply of cash, and 
request you'll be pleas'd to send me fifty thou- 
sand pounds for the use of purchasing supplies 
for the army, without that article it is impossible 
for me to carry on the Business in the manner I 
could wish. 

I can purchase one hundred head of cattle in 
one weeks time, if I was supplied with money for 
that purpose. 

I have the offer of five hundred Bushels of 
Wheat from one person, but cannot have it for 
want of money. 

I am sir, Your Obt HumB St. 

David Deshler, 
Commisr for Northm County. 
(Penn. Archives 1779-1781, page 5-17). 

And further, an extract from the 
minutes of the Supreme Executive Coun- 
cil of Pennsylvania : 

Phila., Sat. Aug. 26, 1780. 

An order was drawn on the Treasurer in favour 
of Mr. Charles Deshler, for the sum of one thou- 
sand pounds, of the money emitted by an act of 
the General Assembly, passed the 25th day of 
March, last, to be by him paid to Colonel David 
Deshler, Commissioner of Purchases for the 
county of Northampton, for purchasing supplies 
for the use of the Army, to be charged to Colonel 
Jacob Morgan, Jr., Superintendent, etc., and de- 
ducted out of an order granted him on the 14th 

(Col. Rec. vol. xii, page 460). 

Colonel David Deshler was beyond 
doubt the most substantial resident of 
Northampton town in his time, and his 
influence helped very materially in the 
successful culmination of the War for In- 
dependence. In 1787 he was a delegate 
to the convention called to ratify the 
Federal Constitution. He was a man of 
great foresight and ability, and his char- 
acter and reputation were beyond re- 
proach. In 1782 he purchased from John 
Benezet, a merchant of Philadelphia, for 
81,800 specie, the fine home and tract of 


331 acres of land along the Lehigh (then 
in Allen, now Hanover township) which 
had been previously owned by George 
Taylor, who had built the house still 
standing on the tract in 1768, and which 
Mr. Taylor had sold to Mr. Benezet in 
1776. Here he spent the latter part of 
his life, and died there December 24, 
1796, aged sixty-two years. David and 
Susanna Deshler had children, namely : 
Catharine, born October 10, 1761, died 
December 25, 1837; John Adam, born 
July 31, 1766, died October 14, 1820; Bar- 
bara, born December 17, 1768, died June 
17, 1838; Peter, born December 30, 1769, 
died April 26, 1772; Susanna, born April 
21, 1773 ; Mary Elizabeth, born March 2";, 
177$, died December 17, 1840; Magdalena, 
born June 20, 1779; died December 27, 
1848; Sarah, born November 24, 1783. 

Catharine, eldest daughter of David 
and Susanna Deshler, in 1778 married 
Charles Deshler, born in Philadelphia, 
September 10, 1754. He died February 
4, 1841, at AUentown, where he had been 
a storekeeper, and during the War of 
Independence he served as quartermaster, 
also as the assistant commissioner of pur- 
chases for Northampton county in 1780- 
1781. Charles and Catharine (Deshler) 
Deshler, had the following children : 
George, born August 13, 1782, died Octo- 
ber 26, 1789; Elizabeth, born August 4, 
1786, died January 2, 1789; Charles Wil- 
liam, born September 24, 1787, died Octo- 
ber 4, 1787; Ann, born March 23, 1791. 

John Adam Deshler married Deborah 
Wagner, born in 1764, died October 11, 
1820. He removed to Easton, Pennsyl- 
vania, where he was a prominent busi- 
ness man. Their children were: Eliza- 
beth, born November i, 1786; Mary, born 
November 29, 1788, married Samuel Bit- 
tenbender; Catharine, born June i, 1790, 
married James Hackett; David, born 
January 15, 1792, who became the lead- 

ing banker of Columbus, Ohio. He was 
the father of John Deshler, of Buffalo, 
New York ; George W., born September 
17, 1795, died May 25, 1857, at Easton. 
He married Catharine Lawson Dunham. 

Charles Dunham Deshler, son of 
George W. and Catharine Lawson (Dun- 
ham) Deshler, was born at Easton, March 
I, 1819. He entered the drug business in 
New Brunswick, New Jersey, from which 
he retired in 1859 and engaged in literary 
work, first on the "Jersey City Standard," 
and later on the "Newark Advertiser." 
He returned to New Brunswick in 1868 
and became connected with "Harper's 
Magazine," having charge of the Editor's 
Round Table. He wrote and compiled 
"Chaucer, With Selections," and "After- 
noons with the Poets." He was Asso- 
ciate Judge of Middlesex county, New 
Jersey, and the first school superintendent 
of that county. He was postmaster of 
New Brunswick for one term, and was 
instrumental in founding the Middlesex 
Gas Company, and the Middlesex Savings 
Bank. He had a large and valuable 
library, principally historical in character. 
He died, May 10, 1909, aged ninety years. 
Mr. Deshler married Miss Mary Hol- 
combe, who died in 1893. They had 
seven children : Kate, Mary, Edith, Ed- 
ward B., James, Charles, and Frederick. 

Barbara Deshler, third child of David 
and Susanna Deshler, married John Wag- 
ner, born in 1764, died December i, 1840, 
and had a son, John Wagner, who mar- 
ried Anna Keiper. Descendants of this 
family are Mrs. Franklin Good ; her 
daughter Hattie Wagner Good, and D. 
F. Wagner. 

George Deshler married Susanna Dreis- 
bach, and had children: George, born 
October 17, 1797; and Mary. 

Susanna Deshler married Frederick 

Mary Elizabeth Deshler married (first) 



Christian Mickley, born 1767, died 1812, 
and (second) in 1819, Paul Balliet (1766- 


Peter Deshler, second son of Adam, 
was born near Egypt, March 18, 1743, 
died September 28, 1800. He married 
Magdalena Mickley, born August 31, 
1746, died February 3, 1833. She subse- 
quently married Michael Bieber. Their 
children were : John Peter Deshler, born 
April 3, 1767, died October 6, 1854. He 
married Mary Magdalena Schreiber, born 
January 29, 1767, died January 11, 183 1. 
They had two sons and two daughters. 
Valentine Deshler, one of the sons, had 
daughters : Elizabeth and Salome. 

Catharine Deshler, born March 14, 

David Deshler, born April 8, 1773, son 
of Peter, had a clover mill along the Little 
Lehigh, and was called "Clover Seed 
David." He married Regina Bieber, born 
December 9, 1779, and had eight chil- 
dren : Thomas, who married Matilda 
Eichman, of Easton ; Charles ; William ; 
David ; Elizabeth, married John Gross ; 
Sallie, married David Heimbach ; Ed- 
ward ; and Stephen. 

Charles Deshler, son of David and 
Regina, was born May 18, 1802, died Sep- 
tember 2, 1831. He married Veronica 
Dorney, born January 24, 1804, died July 
II, 1873. They had four children, namely: 
Charles, Tilghman, born December i, 
1825, died May 4, 1908, married Mary 
Romich ; Sarah, born September 2."], 1828, 
died November 4, 1904, married Solomon 
Kline ; and Reuben, born November 23, 
1830, and died September 26, 1905. He 
married Henrietta C. Ritter, born Febru- 
ary 14, 1828, died February 26, 1878. He 
married (second) Mary Zellner, born 
July 7, 1839, died May 28, 1890. Reuben 
Deshler had five children : Charles D. ; 
Henry D. ; Edward (died in infancy) ; 
Emma D., wife of Phaon Kleckner; 
Oliver R. 

Charles D. Deshler, born May 4, 1852, 
married, in 1870, Annie M., daughter of 
Frederick and Sophia (Stengel) Eddinger. 
She died in 1904, aged fifty-two years. 
They had five children : Sallie H., wife 
of A. H. Bowman ; Emma D., wife of 
Arthur W. Young, both deceased ; Ed- 
ward R., married Annie C, daughter of 
John Baker, was born April 2, 1874, and 
died January 19, 1903, leaving one son, 
Russell E. ; Charles S., married Gertrude 
Hay and has children : Paul, William, 
Charles, Ralph, Robert, Howard, and 
Warren; and Warren F., married Mary 
White, and has one daughter, Beatrice. 

Oliver R. Deshler, son of Reuben, was 
born May 26, 1861. He married Carrie 
A. Balliet, and had eight children : George 
O., Harry H., May K., deceased, Edna N., 
Walter B., Ruth O.. Dorothy A., and 
Beatrice E. 

Edward Deshler, son of David and Re- 
gina (Bieber) Deshler, married (first) 
Eliza, daughter of William Stewart ; and 
(second) Mrs. Ellen Eckert, nee Wilson. 
He died in Allentown in 1889. He had 
four children : Dr. C. F., who died in 
1884; William H. ; James B., Esq.; and 
Jennie E. 

William H. Deshler, Esq., was a stu- 
dent at Freeland Seminary and Lafayette 
College, and was admitted to the bar in 

Catharine Deshler, born April 19, 1775. 

Susanna, born January 13, 1778, died 
July 2}^, 1834. She married John Yundt. 

Jacob Deshler, born March 30, 1781, 
married Elizabeth Hagenbach. He was 
a prominent resident of Northumberland 
county, near Milton, where he was a jus- 
tice of the peace. His children were: 
Mary A., wife of Dr. Edward F. Martin, 
of Weaversville, born March 11, 1814, 
died September 17, 1880; Dr. Edward 
Deshler, born April 7, 1826, died Sep- 
tember 27, 1890. He lived at Aarons- 
burg, Pennsylvania, where he married, 


September 22, 1853, Maria Jordan, and 
had four children : Dr. J. Jordan Deshler, 
of Ghdden, Iowa ; Joseph and Elizabeth 
Deshler, who died in Northumberland 
county ; the wife of George Stahl. 

Magdalena Deshler, born October 5, 

Sara Deshler, born August 23, 1788, 
married Jacob Weaver. 

Adam Deshler, son of Adam and 
Apollonia Deshler, was born in Whitehall 
township, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, 
October i, 1745. He became the owner 
of the old homestead, which he farmed, 
and where he died while yet in the prime 
of life, February 24, 1790. He served in 
the Revolution in Captain Zerfass' Com- 
pany, from Whitehall. (Pennsylvania 
Archives, Fifth Series). He married, in 
1769, Mary Catharine, daughter of Paul 
Balliet; she was born July 28, 1752, died 
January 28, 1823. After the death of 
Adam Deshler his widow married Chris- 
tian Deily, September 13, 1798. Adam 
Deshler Jr. had eight children, namely: 
Mary Barbara, born 1771 ; David, born 
September 17, 1773, died March 19, 1827; 
Mary Susanna, born September 4, 1775; 
Magdalina, born September 28, 1778, died 
October i, 1827, married Jacob Stein 
(1777-1842); Maria Susanna, born May 
7, 1781, died March 23, 1857, married 
Peter Schreiber ; Catharine, born July 29, 
1783, married James Preston; Salome, 
born May 8, 1786; Elizabeth, born April 
25, 1789, married John Peter Wotring. 

David Deshler, son of Adam and Mary 
Catharine (Balliet) Deshler, was born in 
Whitehall township, Lehigh county, 
Pennsylvania, September 17, 1773. He 
farmed the old homestead ; married, Octo- 
ber 18, 1795, Catharine Fogel, born May 
27^ 1-777' died August 15, 1842. They 
were the parents of six children, namely: 
James, David, John, Maria, Deborah, 

James Deshler, son of David and Cath- 

PA— Vol VI-6 ig 

arine (Fogel) Deshler, born October 30, 
1796, died August 10, 1842, married 
March 28, 1819, Elizabeth, daughter of 
Peter and Diana (Van Buskirk; Grim, 
who died in 1871. They had six children 
as follows: Mary C, born February 12, 
1820, died May 12, 1891 ; Jacob G., born 
December 21, 1822, died May 12, 1893; 
Caroline A., born July 18, 1825, died July 
14, 191 1 ; Elizabeth, born April 29, 1832, 
died November 24, 1872; D. J. Franklin, 
born August 24, 1834, died October 12, 
1891 ; Peter W. H., born January 16, 1838, 
died August 17, 1889. 

Jacob Grim Deshler, son of James and 
Elizabeth (Grim) Deshler, was born in 
Whitehall township, on the old home- 
btead. He farmed the land owned by the 
family, and also operated a grist-mill, 
which his grandfather, Peter Grim, had 
purchased early in 1802, now known as 
Helfrich's mill. He married Sarah, daugh- 
ter of John and Judith (Seem) Trum- 
bauer. She was born January 3, 1834, 
died March 28, 1886. They were the 
parents of six children, namely : Eliza- 
beth, Mary, Sarah, James (who died in 
infancy), Emma, and Annie. 

Elizabeth Deshler, daughter of Jacob 
G. and Sarah A. (Trumbauer) Deshler, 
married John J. Bahl. They had three 
children : Philip D., who died in infancy ; 
Charles P. ; and Helen S., who died aged 
eight years. 

Mary Deshler married Dr. H. T. Wood- 
house. They have a daughter, Elizabeth 
D., and a son, Edwin. 

Sarah, the third daughter of Jacob G., 
married C. S. Weiss, and has one daugh- 
ter, Anna M. 

Annie, the youngest daughter, married 
J. W. Mackemer, and has children: Doro- 
thy, Marian, Walter, Sumner D., and 

Caroline A., second daughter of James 
and Elizabeth (Grim) Deshler, was mar- 
ried to J. Hiram Kaull, and had children: 


Mary; Alice; George, who died in in- 
fancy ; James, wiio died in his youth ; 
Martha; and Peter. 

Mary married Ezekiel Thomas, and 
had three children: Caroline; Florence, 
who died in infancy ; James, who died in 
his youth ; and Caroline, who married 
Charles R. Smith and has one daughter, 
Helen T. Smith, who is married to Emlyn 
E. Jones. Peter G. is married to Elinor 
J. Job. 

Elizabeth Ann, the youngest daughter 
of James and Elizabeth (Grim) Deshler, 
married Ephraim Mickley, and died with- 
out issue. 

D. J. Frank, died unmarried. 

Peter W., died unmarried. 

David Deshler, son of David and Cath- 
arine (Fogel) Deshler, and whose por- 
trait accompanies this sketch, was born 
at the old homestead in Whitehall town- 
ship, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, on 
September lo, 1798. He left home when 
about sixteen years of age. He became a 
surveyor, and assisted in the government 
surveys of Kansas and Missouri. He 
afterwards engaged in the mercantile 
business in St. Louis, and later in Tus- 
cumbia, Alabama. He conceived the idea 
and successfully carried out the project 
of building a railroad from that place to 
Decatur, forty-two miles across the neck 
of a great bend in the Tennessee river, 
connecting its navigable waters (the 
water in the neck being shallow), and 
thus materially enhanced the commerce 
of that region. This was in 1834 or 1835, 
and the road was the first west of the 
Alleghenies, and probably the third in the 
United States. It is now a link in one 
of the great southern railroads between 
Memphis and Charleston. 

David Deshler married an English 
woman, Eleanor, daughter of John Tay- 
lor. She was born April 17, 1808, at 
Lancashire, England. Their marriage 
took place on March 17, 1825, at St. 


Louis, Missouri, and soon after they re- 
moved to Tuscumbia, Alabama. David 
Deshler had three children : David Tay- 
lor Deshler, born July 31, 1826; Charlotte 
Ann, born June 13, 1831 ; and James 
Deshler, born February 18, 1833, at Tus- 
cumbia, Alabama. David, the elder son, 
was drowned at "Gus Point," Hudson 
river, New York, July 17, 1845, whilst a 
student at the Military Academy, West 
Point. He is buried in the National 
Cemetery at West Point. James, the 
other son, also a cadet, was graduated, 
served in the army, and lost his life in the 
battle of Chiokamauga, September 20, 
1863, aged thirty years, a brigadier-gen- 
eral, commanding Texan brigade. Con- 
federate army. 

The daughter died April 3, 1844, at 
twelve years of age. His wife, Eleanor 
died June 11, 1854, aged forty-six years. 

David Deshler was an advocate of the 
higher education for women, and after 
the death of his son, James, in 1863 (the 
last member of his family), he founded a 
non-sectarian school for the education of 
young women, located at Tuscumbia, 
Alabama, incorporated under the name 
and style of "The Deshler Institute;" to 
said institute he made a bequest of his 
property at Tuscumbia, Alabama, in his 
will ; following a description of which, he 
says : "forming and comprising the 
square of lots on which my home resi- 
dence is located, and upon which is situ- 
ated the house in which James Deshler 
(in memory of whom the above institute 
was named and incorporated) was born." 
"Deshler Institute" is still in existence, 
and continuing its good work in educa- 
tion at this writing (1914). At the time 
of his death Mr. Deshler owned extensive 
properties in and near the city of Minne- 
opolis, Minnesota. 

After moving to the south, David 
Deshler evidently became a member of 
the Baptist church. A man of high prin- 


ciples and unswerving integrity, he was 
yet of a genial, kindly nature. Personally, 
he was of fine presence, tall, straight, and 
of dignified bearing. David Deshler died 
suddenly, on December 5, 1872, aged sev- 
enty-four years, two months and twenty- 
five days. He is buried with his family 
in the cemetery at Tuscumbia, Alabama. 

John, the third son of David Deshler, 
first above mentioned, lived at Waterloo, 
New York. He had children : David, 
Walter, and Harriet. Walter has a son, 
D. J. Frank. 

Marie, daughter of David and Cathar- 
ine (Fogel) Deshler, died aged eight 

Deborah, daughter of David and Cath- 
arine (Fogel) Deshler, married Peter 
Schantz. They had two children : Walter 
D., who was married and had children: 
Mary, Sarah, Walter, and Irene; and 
Ellenora C. M., who married John G. 
Wink. They had two children : John 
D., married to Esther Cressman ; they 
have three children : David D., Charles 
F., and Robert W. ; and Caroline, married 
to Jesse Esser. 

Catharine, youngest child of David and 
Catharine (Fogel) Deshler, was married 
to Louis K. Hottenstein. They had one 
son, Daniel K. Hottenstein, who was mar- 
ried to Emma E. Stichler. They have 
three children : Anna C, married to 
Charles A. Hottenstein, who have one 
daughter, Myrl F. Hottenstein ; Louis V. 
Hottenstein ; and Elda L., married to O. 
Raymond Grimley. 

Juliana Deshler, second daughter of 
Adam, the emigrant, was born May 7, 
1746, and died March 12, 1840. She mar- 
ried John George Schreiber, born De- 
cember 6, 1739, died November 6, 1800. 
They lived in Allentown and are buried 
in the old Allentown cemetery. They had 
no children. 

Barbara Deshler, third daughter of 
Adam Sr., was born November 2, 1747, 

and died October 10, 1832. She married 
Philip Boehm, born December 14, 1747, 
died January 10, 1816. He was a major 
in the Revolution and a grandson of Rev. 
John Philip Boehm. 

Catharine Deshler, youngest daughter 
of Adam Sr., was born in 175 1 and died 
February 11, 1825. She married Peter 
Kern, born 1748, died May 28, 1821. fhey 
had nine children, and are buried at Ham- 
burg, Berks county, where they resided. 

LATIMORE, Wilmer A., M. D., 

Prominent Eclectic Practitioner. 

Dr. Wilmer Armstrong Latimore, a 
representative of the eclectic school, has 
now been practicing almost a score of 
years in the Iron City. Though not a 
native of Pittsburgh, Dr. Latimore has 
thus far associated his entire professional 
career with the interests of the metropolis. 

John Latimore, grandfather of Wilmer 
Armstrong Latimore, emigrated from 
County Tyrone, Ireland, to Westmore- 
land county, Pennsylvania, where he led 
the life of a farmer. He married before 
leaving his native land. 

Robert H., son of John Latimore and 
his wife, was born, it is said, in Ireland, 
and was all his life a farmer and coal 
operator, being associated in business 
with Charles Armstrong in Allegheny 
county. Later he went to Westmoreland 
county and developed the Yough Slope 
mines. He was a Republican, and an 
elder in the United Presbyterian church. 
Mr. Latimore married Emily, daughter 
of Abraham Greenawalt, a farmer of 
Lancaster county, and their children 
were : Wilmer Armstrong, mentioned 
below ; Gertrude, wife of Dr. Jacob H. 
Christman, of Pittsburgh ; Mary Ellen, 
now living in Pittsburgh ; and Margaret, 
wife of Ralph S. Norwell, of Boston, 
Massachusetts. Mr. Latimore died a few 
years since and his widow is still living. 


Dr. Wilmer Armstrong Latimore, son 
of Robert H. and Emily (Greenawalt) 
Latimore, was born October 5, 1869, at 
West Newton, Westmoreland county, 
Pennsylvania, and received his prepara- 
tory education in public schools of his 
birthplace, afterward taking a two years' 
course in the classical department of 
Westminster College. Immediately there- 
after he was associated by his father in 
the latter's business, being given charge 
of the coal mines at West Newton. A 
business career, however, was not his 
ultimate goal, and about 1890 he began 
to read medicine with his uncle. Dr. 
Jacob Greenawalt, afterward entering the 
Eclectic Medical Institute of Cincinnati, 
Ohio, and graduating in 1897 with the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine. During 
his last year as a student he was engaged 
in hospital work. 

After graduating. Dr. Latimore went to 
Pittsburgh, where for some years he was 
associated in general practice with his 
uncle. Dr. Greenawalt, his former pre- 
ceptor. On February 19, 1907, Dr. Green- 
awalt died, and Dr. Latimore has since 
practiced alone. He belongs to the Amer- 
ican Medical Association, the Allegheny 
County Medical Society, and the Alumni 
Association of the Eclectic Medical 
Institute, also Alpha Chapter of the Tau 
Alpha Epsilon fraternity, of which he 
was one of the organizers. He is a thir- 
ty-second degree Mason, affiliating with 
Lodge, No. 45 ; Zerubbabel Chapter, No. 
162; Pittsburgh Commandery, Knights 
Templar, No. i ; Pennsylvania Consist- 
ory, No. 320, Ancient and Accepted Scot- 
tish Rite ; and Syria Temple, Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine. He adheres to the 
Republican party, and is a member of 
Shady Side United Presbyterian Church. 
Dr. Latimore married, in 1902, Nellie 
T., daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James, of 
Pittsburgh, and they are the parents of 
one son: Wilmer A., born April 8, 1910. 

Mrs. Latimore, who is a woman of much 
charm of manner and a social favorite, is 
a member of the Thornburg Country Club 
and various other golf and tennis organi- 

CRONIN, Charles I., 

Lawyer, Antliority on Real Estate Titles. 

This well known attorney has been 
at the bar of Philadelphia since February, 
1893, and has established a record as a 
conservative counsellor in real estate law, 
and as a specialist in the rehabilitation of 
building operations which have reached 
the point of receivership or bankruptcy. 

Mr. Cronin is a native of Delaware 
county, and still resides within the limits 
of that municipality at Lansdowne in a 
substantial home he erected some years 
ago. Born in the village of Glen Mills, 
in Thornbury township, he attended the 
"little brick school" of his district, supple- 
mented by private tuition and extensive 
reading and travel. After some years on 
a farm he entered the mercantile business 
in a grocery store, which also combined 
the business of the Pennsylvania railroad, 
Adams Express Company and post officw 
at Cheyney, Pennsylvania, and after some 
years of active experience he acquired 
the basis of a substantial business educa- 
tion. He entered the law offices of Ed- 
ward A. Price, Esq., at Media, on April 
16, 18S8, and after three years' study, 
during which time he made a specialty of 
the examination of titles in Delaware, 
Chester, and Philadelphia counties, of 
which work Mr. Price, his preceptor, was 
recognized as an authority, was admitted 
to the bar of Delaware county, July 6, 
1891. His ability was early recognized 
by Hon. Isaac Johnson, now President 
Judge at Media, and he entered his office 
shortly after his admission, where he re- 
mained until July ii, 1892, when he 
entered the title department of the Land 

£h,iyZ:a.ftf/iSa'Ba ^an,.j\(}r 


isH-iS fyli/a„i;al' /'ui ^V 


Title and Trust Company as an examiner 
of real estate titles in the various counties 
of Eastern and Central Pennsylvania. 
From this position he was appointed in 
May, 1893, settlement officer, vi^hich he 
filled until March i, 1905, when he re- 
signed to resume the practice of law. In 
the winter of that year he was elected 
one of the staff of lecturers on real estate 
titles, examinations and conveyancing at 
Temple College, now Temple University, 
which position he filled until 1910, when 
he retired by reason of increasing law 
practice. In the summer of 1912 he was 
asked by the university to again resume 
the position he had formerly held and is 
now actively engaged in the duties of the 
position. For this work he has recently 
prepared for the private use of the stu- 
dents a practical work on examinations 
of titles to real estate, law lectures there- 
on and conveyancing forms. Many of 
his students are now successful real 
estate men and conveyancers in this city 
and attest to the value of his worth as a 
practical instructor. 

Mr. Cronin is solicitor for the Central 
Building Association, Manufacturers' 
Loan and Savings Association, Forty- 
third Ward Building and Loan Associa- 
tion and the Northeast Boulevard Build- 
ing and Loan Association, as well as sev- 
eral other corporations in Delaware coun- 
ty. Mr. Cronin is also a member of the bar 
of Chester county, which county he holds 
in great favor and annually attends the 
various reunions and debates of the old 
educational institutions of which he was 
a member in his early days and in which 
his interest still remains. 

WILLS, Abner E., 

Enterprising Business Man, Public Bene- 

The name Wills has been an honored 
one in Chester and Philadelphia counties 
since 1728, when Michael Wills came 


from County Wicklow, Ireland, until the 
present day, Abner E. Wills having been 
the Philadelphia representative of his 
family for many years prior to his death. 
The leading Chester county representa- 
tive of the family is J. Hunter Wills, 
merchant and justice of peace of Down- 
ingtown. Both are sons of Allen Wood 
and Elizabeth H. (Evans) Wills, of 

Michael Wills, according to tradition, 
was of English descent, the family mov- 
ing to Wicklow during the rebellion of 
1788, either with the British army or 
shortly afterward. He was rated among 
the taxables of Whiteland township, 
Chester county in 1729, presumably mov- 
ing to Philadelphia county, now Mont- 
gomery county. 

Michael (2) Wills, son of the founder, 
is buried in St. David's churchyard at 
Radnor, the inscription on his gravestone 
reciting in part: "Here lies interred in 
full assurance of a joyful Resurrection 
the Body of Michael Wills, who after he 
had liv'd through a long course of years 
a pattern of Virtue, Patience and Piety 
Exchanged this Earthly for a Heavenly 
habitation on the 8th Day of Oct. 1794 in 
the 86th year of his Age." His widow, 
Jane Mather Wills, survived him ten 
years, and is buried in St. David's church- 
yard. Their sons were Jeremiah, Michael, 
and John. 

Michael Wills was a resident of Ches- 
ter county where he died January 15, 
1829. He married Ann, daughter of 
Andrew and Elizabeth (Keyser) Wood, 
both of German descent. They were the 
parents of fourteen children, nine of 
whom lived to mature years. 

Allen Wood Wills, eleventh child of 
Michael (3) Wills, was born February 
23, 1810, and died October 28, 1873. He 
married Elizabeth H. Evans, and spent 
his business life in Downingtown. Chil- 
dren : Rebecca, married Dr. Samuel 


Ringwalt; Anna, married Daniel Baugh ; 
George E., died December 31, 1884, mar- 
ried Tamazine Zook ; J. Hunter (see fol- 
lowing sketch) ; Abner E., of further men- 
tion ; and Allen Wood, died unmarried. 

Abner E. Wills was born in East 
Brandywine township, Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, in 1848, and died at Denver, 
Colorado, April 16, 1913. After complet- 
ing his studies he entered business life, 
becoming interested in the chemical 
manufacturing firm of Baugh Sons & 
Company, retaining his interest and 
superintendency of the works in Phil- 
adelphia until three years prior to his 
death, when he retired. Mr. Wills was 
unmarried, his residence in Philadelphia 
being at the Continental Hotel. 

While traveling in the west he was 
stricken with a fatal illness, dying in 
Denver. J. Hunter Wills immediately 
went to Denver, returning with all that 
was mortal of his brother. He rests in 
Northwood cemetery. 

Among other benefactions he be- 
qeathed in his will: $10,000 to St. James 
P. E. Church, $5,000 to the Downingtown 
Free Library, $5,000 to the Methodist 
Hospital, Philadelphia, $500 for a public 
fountain, and made various other similar 

WILLS, J. Hunter, 

Civil War Veteran, Enterprising Citizen. 

J. Hunter Wills, fourth child and sec- 
ond son of Allen Wood and Elizabeth H. 
(Evans) Wills, was born in East Brandy- 
wine township, Pennsylvania, July 2, 

He was educated in the public schools, 
Downingtown Academy, and the Phil- 
adelphia Business College, beginning his 
active business career in 1863 as an em- 
ployee of Baugh Sons & Company, the 
great chemical fertilizer manufacturing 

company of Philadelphia. For thirteen 
years he occupied a position of trust with 
that company, then in 1876 he established 
a mercantile house in East Downingtown, 
beginning business on February 14. He 
has since that date been continuously in 
business in East Downingtown, as mer- 
chant, and also serving as justice of 
peace, rating as one of the efficient, pro- 
gressive, valuable men of his borough. 
He conceived the idea of a building and 
loan association in Downingtown, took 
upon himself the burden of the prelimi- 
nary work, and after organizing the 
Downingtown Building and Loan Asso- 
ciation was elected its first president, ably 
guiding the association as chief executive 
during the first twelve years of its exist- 
ence. He serves on the Board of Trade, 
and, as president of Northwood Ceme- 
tery, greatly improved and beautified that 
"Silent city of the dead." His influence 
has been felt in every phase of business 
life in his borough, being president of 
Minquas Fire Company, president of 
Civic Association, member of board of 
directors, Men's Club, Business Men's 
Club, and Free Library ; and to him is due 
much of Downingtown's prosperity. 

While emphatically a busy man of 
afifairs, Mr. Wills has been of the greatest 
value in civic regulation of his borough. 
As chief burgess, 1900-1903 and 1906- 
1909 he secured wise legislation, ably 
administered the civil government, and 
during his term many important manu- 
facturing plants located in Downingtown. 
For twelve years he served upon the 
school board, nine of these years as its 
I^resident, and was not only a warm 
friend of the public school system but an 
untiring worker for its betterment, wit- 
nessing during his term a great increase 
in their efficiency and value to the youth 
of the borough. Politically he is in sym- 
pathy with the Republican party, has 


served as a member of the county com- 
mittee and has been a factor in party suc- 

Mr. Wills, although not sixteen years 
of age at the outbreak of the Civil War, 
in 1861 enlisted as a drummer boy, serv- 
ing in the Fifty-third Pennsylvania Vol- 
unteer Regiment in 1862, in First Emer- 
gency Regiment at battle of Antietam, 
and in the Twenty-ninth Pennsylvania 
Volunteer Regiment in 1863, in the Get- 
tysburg campaign. He has ever been 
prominent in the Pennsylvania Grand 
Army of the Republic as a member of 
General W. S. Hancock Post No. 255, as 
chaplain, trustee, and delegate to the 
State department encampment as stafif 
officer to the State commander in 1903, 
and as national staff officer in 1904. 

Mr. Wills, as a member of the Down- 
ingtown Protestant Episcopal Church, 
has served as vestryman for forty years, 
and with personal eflforts and purse, aiding 
generously the work of his parish. He 
is a member of the Masonic order, affili- 
ating with Potter Lodge, Philadelphia. 
Mr. Wills married, in 1881, Katharine 
Ellicott Lindley, who died February 18, 
1898, leaving a son, William Mintzer 
Wills, a graduate of Haverford College, 
class of 1904, now engaged in business in 
Philadelphia. He is vice-president of the 
Diamond Specialty and Supply Company. 

J. Hunter Wills presented to the school 
a playground called the J. Hunter Wills 
Athletic Field, and the gift was also sup- 
plemented by an equal amount, $500.00, 
for the fountain presented to Down- 
ingtown by his brother. 

RINEHART, Stanley M., M. D., 

Specialist, Medical Inspector. 

Dr. Stanley Marshall Rinehart, Medical 
Inspector of Allegheny county, is one of 
those Pittsburgh physicians who can look 
back upon twenty-five years' practice in 

the metropolis. For the last few years 
Dr. Rinehart has specialized in the treat- 
ment of diseases of the chest, having long 
taken an active part in the campaign 
against tuberculosis. 

Stanley Marshall Rinehart was born 
January 25, 1867, in Pittsburgh, and is 
a son of the late William and Louise 
(Gillespie) Rinehart. A biography of 
Mr. Rinehart, with full ancestral record, 
appears elsewhere in this work. Stanley 
Marshall Rinehart received his primary 
education in the schools of the Fourth 
ward of his native city, and afterward 
attended the high school. Later he en- 
tered Adrian College, Michigan, and in 
1888 graduated from that institution with 
the degree of Bachelor of Philosophy. 

The professional training of Dr. Rine- 
hart was received at Hahnemann College, 
Philadelphia, where he completed his 
course in 1891, graduating as Doctor of 
Medicine. For two years thereafter he 
served in the Pittsburgh Homoeopathic 
Hospital, and then opened an office in 
Allegheny. Until 1910 he engaged suc- 
cessfully in general practice, but in that 
year went to Europe for the purpose of 
doing post-graduate work, having become 
deeply interested in the progress of the 
war against tuberculosis. The time he 
spent abroad was devoted to the study of 
diseases of the chest, and since his re- 
turn to Pittsburgh, after sojourning at 
Vienna and Berlin, his practice has been 
exclusively in this department. For 
twelve years Dr. Rinehart held the posi- 
tion of city physician of Allegheny, now 
North Side, Pittsburgh, and for a long 
time he served on the Tuberculosis Com- 
mission of Pittsburgh, but eventually re- 
signed. Since 1894 he has been Medical 
Inspector of Allegheny county for the 
State Department of Health. He is in 
charge of the State Tuberculosis Dispen- 
sary in Pittsburgh and in September, 
1914, consented to serve on the commit- 


tee appointed to investigate matters in 
regard to the furnishing of the new city 
tuberculosis hospital. He is a member of 
the American Institute of Homoeopathy, 
the Pennsylvania State Homoeopathic 
Association and the Allegheny County 
Medical Homoeopathic Society in which 
he has held various offices. In the ser- 
vice he is rendering in the conflict with 
tuberculosis Dr. Rinehart is aiding in a 
work which is enlisting the best powers 
of the medical profession in the Old 
World and the New. 

The political principles of Dr. Rinehart 
are those advocated by the Republican 
party, and his professional labors bear 
evidence to his public spirit. He belongs 
to the Allegheny Country and Edge- 
worth Clubs and is a member of the 
Protestant Episcopal church. 

Dr. Rinehart married, April 21, 1896, 
Mary E., born August 12, 1876, in Pitts- 
burgh, daughter of Thomas Beveridge 
and Cornelia (Gilleland) Roberts, and 
they are the parents of three sons : Stan- 
ley Marshall, born August 18, 1897, at- 
tended Shady Side Academy, is now a 
student at Harvard University; Alan 
Gillespie, born November 18, 1900, at- 
tending Morristown School, Morristown, 
New Jersey ; and Frederick Roberts, born 
September 14, 1902, now at Sewickley 
Preparatory School. Mrs. Rinehart is a 
member of the Twentieth Century, Alle- 
gheny Country and Edgeworth Clubs, 
also belonging to the Suffrage Club. 

Mrs. Rinehart, who was educated in 
public and high schools of Pittsburgh, is 
a graduate of the Pittsburgh Training 
School for Nurses, and in January, 1915, 
left her charming Pittsburgh home and 
went to the front in the European War 
for the purpose of carrying aid to the 
wounded. During her two months' 
absence Mrs. Rinehart went where no 
woman had ever been before, in the very 
first line of trenches of the three allied 

armies, and while she brought back with 
her the memory of all the horrors of the 
field hospital service, she also brought 
back the recollection of the unfailing and 
ever-ready courtesy shown her by all 
with whom she came in contact. 

The place occupied by Mrs. Rinehart in 
the literary world is too well assured to 
require mention here. Among her pub- 
lished works are the following: "The 
Circular Staircase," 1908; "The Man in 
the Lower Ten," 1909; "When a Man 
Marries," 1909; "Window at the White 
Cat," 1910; "Amazing Adventures of 
Letitia Carberry," 191 1 ; "Case of Jennie 
Brice ;" "Where There's a Will ;" "The 
Street of Seven Stars ;" "King, Queens 
and Pawns," and "K." She is also the 
author of "Double Life," (play), pro- 
duced in 1907 at the Bijou Theatre, New 
York. Mrs. Rinehart also wrote, in con- 
junction with her husband, "The 
Avenger," (one-act play), 1908, and is 
author of "Seven Days," a successful 
farce and other plays. She is a member 
of the Equal Franchise Federation, the 
Woman's Club of Sewickley Valley, 
Edgeworth Club, Allegheny Country 
Club, and many other organizations, and 
the Episcopal church. 

GWINNER, John Frederick, 

Financier, Enterprising Citizen. 

For eighty years Easton has been the 
scene of Mr. Gwinner's activity, and with 
the exception of his youthful years they 
have been years of useful, honorable con- 
nection with educational and financial 
institutions ; but the major part of his 
long and active life has been devoted to 
the banking business, and with Easton 
banks — in 1857, the clerical novice in the 
Farmers and Mechanics Bank; in 1876, 
cashier of the First National Bank; in 
1890, president of the same, and in 1914, 
ably filling the same position ; is the 



^/' iP-Z-l^-i^r. 

^^ , 

c-/ ^ . yV^r— Z^V-J^^^-v'V^/?- 


record to which Mr. Gwinner can point 
with justifiable pride. In connection with 
this honorable business record there has 
been carried along through the years a 
useful civil record that embraced posi- 
tions of trust conferred by his fellow 
citizens of Easton, by men in charge of 
impoi"tant educational institutions, and by 
his brethren of the Masonic order ; while 
of genial value and kindly spirit, his 
friends are legion and numerous are the 
occasions upon which he has had public 
demonstration of the high esteem in 
which he is held. 

Although a native born Eastonian and 
a. son of a native born son of Easton, Mr. 
Gwinner is of German lineage and of the 
fourth generation of his family in Amer- 
ica. The pioneer in Pennsylvania was 
Frederick Gwinner, born in Germany, 
settling in Pennsylvania in 1758. Seven 
years later he took out final naturaliza- 
tion papers, the date being. October, 

John Frederick Gwinner, son of Fred- 
erick Gwinner, the founder, was born May 
10. 1765, and passed his life in Easton. 
He was engaged as abutcher and tobacco- 
nist, conducting business in a building on 
South Third street, on the site of the 
Pomfret Building, near the old Bulls 
Head Hotel. 

Francis Aaron Gwinner, son of John 
Frederick Gwinner, was born in Easton, 
April 27, 1803, died April 15, 1863. He 
learned the trade of chairmaker, but later 
in life engaged extensively in brick manu- 
facturing. While there are many build- 
ings in Easton constructed of brick made 
at his yards, the most conspicuous of 
these was the Northampton court house, 
the brick used in that building being the 
last he ever manufactured. He was a 
man of influence and high standing in 
Easton serving as a member of the town 
council, and as a director of the Farmers 
and Mechanics Bank. He was a member 

of the Lutheran church, that having ever 
been the family religious faith, i'rancis 
A. Gwinner married, September 5, 1831, 
Sarah Staufifer, born January 9, 181 1, in 
Plainfield township, died in Easton, April 
4, 1881, surviving her husband eighteen 
years. She was engaged in the millinery 
business in Easton for several years, be- 
ing not only a capable business woman, 
but also a trained milliner. There were 
two children by this marriage, John Fred- 
erick, and Anna Catherine, born June 17, 
1837, died January 23, 1839. 

John Frederick (2), onl) son of Francis 
Aaron and Sarah (Staufifer) Gwinner, was 
born in Easton, Pennsylvania, April 9, 
1833. His school years were spent in 
Easton public schools and at a private 
school in Port Colden, New Jersey. After 
completing his studies he taught school 
for two winters (1850-52) at Tanners- 
ville, Monroe county, Pennsylvania, spend- 
ing his summers with his father, assisting 
him in his brick manufacturing. He next 
taught in Easton schools (1854-57), con- 
tinuing until twenty-four years of age, 
also holding a position in the meteoro- 
logical department of Lafayette College, 
under Professor Coffin. He finally severed 
his connection with professional life, and 
on July 8, 1857, began his long connec- 
tion with the institution of which he has 
for a quarter of a century been the 
honored head. He began on the date 
named as clerk in the Farmers and Me- 
chanics Bank, and continued in that and 
more advanced positions until the incor- 
poration of the bank as the First National 
Bank of Easton in 1865. He had won the 
regard of the management of the old bank, 
and after the merger was continued and 
advanced to more responsible station. In 
1876 he was chosen cashier, a position he 
held for fourteen years, only to surrender 
it at the demand of the directors of the 
bank, who had advanced him to the presi- 
dency. His fitness for this honorable 



position was unquestioned, and time has 
only more clearly shown the wisdom of 
the choice. Conservative, yet not timor- 
ous, he has led the First National along 
the sometimes devious paths of modern 
finance, with an eye single to the sacred- 
ness of his trust, and with a wisdom born 
of knowledge, experience and conscious 
integrity. Skilled in the laws regulating 
banks and banking transactions, he made 
every transaction conform with the law 
and firmly established precedent that is 
the bank's law. He gained the entire con- 
fidence of the banking public and became 
an authority on points involving finance. 
While he has surrendered the more ardu- 
ous duties of his office to younger and 
trusted subordinates, President Gwinner 
is daily at his post and the directing head 
as of yore. He has proved a wise executive, 
an able financier and one thoroughly alive 
to his responsibilities as the guiding head 
of a great financial institution. In civil 
affairs he has ever taken a deep interest 
serving as treasurer of Easton, as direc- 
tor of schools, and aiding with purse and 
influence all efforts to advance the inter- 
ests of his native city. For many years 
he was a trustee of Pennsylvania College, 
giving valuable service to that institution. 
He has ever been an adherent of the Re- 
publican party, but has never sought or 
accepted political preferment, although he 
has been valiant in the political service 
of his friends. In religious faith he is 
true to the family traditions and is a 
communicant of the Lutheran church. 

Mr. Gwinner's Masonic record is an 
interesting one particularly so, from the 
fact that he is now the oldest living mem- 
ber of Easton Lodge, No. 152. Free and 
Accepted Masons. He was initiated an 
(entered apprentice on St. John's Day, 
1857; was advanced and raised in lawful 
season, and on St. John's Day, i8=;8, was 
installed junior warden, the third ofifice 
in importance in the lodge. He passed 

•fo the senior warden's station, and then 
became worshipful master, being one of 
the oldest past masters in the State. He 
has also taken all the degrees of Capitular 
Masonry, joining Easton Chapter, No. 
173, Royal Arch Masons, in 1868, fiUing^ 
all stations in that chapter, of which he 
is a past high priest. In Cryptic Ma- 
sonry he has taken all degrees, and is a 
past thrice illustrious master of Pomp 
Council, No. 20, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters. In Templar Masonry he is a mem- 
ber of Hugh De Payens Commandery, 
Knights Templar, and in 1894 was elected 
eminent commander of that body. By 
virtue of these high offices he is also a 
member of the grand bodies of these 
orders in the State of Pennsylvania. He 
is held in high esteem by his Masonic 
brethren, who on the occasion of his 
golden wedding presented him a "Grand- 
father's Clock" of beautiful design and 
costly material. 

Mr. Gwinner married, November 3, 
1853, at Port Golden, Warren county. New 
Jersey, Martha Jane Harris, born October 
13, 1832, daughter of Samuel Harris, Rev. 
P. L. Jacques performing the marriage 
ceremony. Fifty years later Mr. and Mrs. 
Gwinner celebrated their fiftieth wedding 
anniversary at their home in Easton, 
more than two hundred people extending 
congratulations during the evening, two 
of them having been present at the wed- 
ding in 1853, one of them Mrs. Rebekah 
A. Annin, of Paterson, New Jersey, hav- 
ing been bridesmaid. Among the many 
substantial tokens of regard was one 
from the board of directors of the First 
National Bank ; another from the board 
of managers of the Home for Aged and 
Infirm Women, of which Mrs. Gwinner 
was a member; and the "Grandfather's 
Clock" from Mr. Gwinner's friends in the 
different Masonic bodies, previously 
mentioned. The latter gift was not pre- 
sented until the following Christmas, 



when Mr. Gwinner was assembled with 
his fellow Sir Knights to honor their 
ygrand commander, according to their 
annual custom. Enjoying the confidence 
and esteem of all who know him, and 
secure in his portion of this world's goods, 
Mr. Gwinner reviews his long and useful 
life with satisfaction. He has fought a 
good fight and kept the faith. 

MILLER, Harold A., M. D., 

Specialist, Hospital Official. 

Aggressiveness wisely directed is the 
hallmark of a Pittsburgher and it is not, 
as some appear to think, an attribute 
which belongs exclusively to her business 
men. On the contrary, it distinguishes 
to a high degree her members of the 
learned professions and more especially, 
perhaps, her physicians and surgeons. 
Certain it is that among these there is to 
be found no one who more strikingly 
illustrates the truth of the statement than 
Dr. Harold Applegate Miller, one of the 
leading specialists of the Iron City. 
More than twenty years ago Dr. Miller 
came to Pittsburgh as a student and his 
entire career has, thus far, been associated 
exclusively with the metropolis. 

Addison Miller, father of Harold 
Applegate Miller, was born in Ohio, and 
was a son of Stephen and Nancy Miller, 
and was a member of Company H, 105th 
Regiment, Ohio Volunteers. Addison 
Miller engaged in the oil business in his 
native State and also New York, and 
married Kizzie H., daughter of John H. 
and Jane (McCandless) Thompson. Mr. 
Miller died March 28, 1908. 

Harold Applegate, son of Addison and 
Kizzie (Thompson) Miller, was born 
September 20, 1873, '" Alliance, Ohio, 
and received his education in the public 
schools of Butler, Pennsylvania, and at 
Grove City College. He was fitted for 
his profession in the Medical Department 

of the University of Pittsburgh, graduat- 
ing in 1899 with the degree of Doctor of 
Medicine. After serving for a time as 
interne in the Pittsburgh Hospital for 
Children, Dr. Miller was placed on the 
stafif of the West Pennsylvania Hospital, 
and entered upon a career of general prac- 
tice. In 1902, however, he went to Ger- 
many and did post-graduate work at the 
University of Heidelberg. On his return 
he became a specialist, devoting himself 
exclusively to obstetrics, in which he has 
ever since had a large and steadily in- 
creasing practice, being regarded as one 
of Pittsburgh's most skillful practitioners 
in his own special department of the pro- 
fession. In 1903 he was made obstetri- 
cian to the Allegheny General Hospital. 
He is a member of the American College 
of Surgeons, the Pittsburgh Academy of 
Medicine, the American Medical Asso- 
ciation, the Pennsylvania State Medical 
Association and the Allegheny County 
Medical Society. 

In politics Dr. Miller is an Independent 
Republican, and devotes as much atten- 
tion to the consideration of public affairs 
as the pressing demands of his profes- 
sional duties will allow. He affiliates 
with Dallas Lodge, No. 78, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, and belongs to the Uni- 
versity and Oakmont Country clubs, the 
Nu Sigma Nu fraternity, and the Sons 
of the American Revolution. He is a 
member of the Second Presbyterian 

It is sometimes said of a man, by way 
of description, that "he looks what he is," 
and of no one could this statement be 
made with greater truth than of Dr. 
Miller. Deeply read in all that pertains 
to his profession and extraordinarily skill- 
ful in the application of his knowledge, 
the lines of his face and the glance of 
his eye indicate alike the profound reflec- 
(tiveness of the student and the alert energy 
of the executant. Most emphatically, "he 



looks what he is" — the learned, intensely 
progressive physician and withal the 
thorough gentleman. 

On March 28, 1904, Dr. Miller married 
Katherine, daughter of Dr. George Rich- 
mond Kirk and Anna (Dagg) Kirk, of 
Washington, Pennsylvania, and they are 
the parents of two children : William 
B., born January i, 1910; and Harold 
Applegate Jr., born Januaiy 13, 1912. Dr. 
and Mrs. Miller enjoy a high degree of 
social popularity and their home is a 
centre of hospitality for their many 
friends. Mrs. Miller, a charming hostess, 
is essentially a home-maker and it is her 
husband's greatest delight to spend every 
hour which he can spare from duty in 
the domestic circle. 

While the medical profession numbers 
among its representatives men like Dr. 
Harold Applegate Miller there will be no 
lack of vitalizing energy to develop and 
impress upon the world the great truths 
so essential to the well-being of the 
human race. 

Dr. Miller's great-great-grandfather, 
Nathaniel Fish, served in the War of the 
Revolution ; his great-grandfather, Wil- 
liam McCandless, served in the War of 
1812; his father served in the Civil War 
of 1861-65, which adds a bright military 
record to his history. 

HARTON, Theodore M., 

Manafaoturer and Inventor. 

Theodore Marshall Harton, president 
and manager of the T. M. Harton Com- 
pany, is one of those progressive and 
thoroughly modern business men who are 
generally (and with reason) regarded as 
peculiarly typical of Pittsburgh. Mr. 
Harton is a man with a wide range of 
interests, and is earnestly devoted to the 
promotion of the welfare of his native 

Theodore Marshall Harton was born 
October 23, 1863, in Pittsburgh, and is a 
son of the late Theodore Marshall and 
Emily (Rinehart) Harton. The boy was 
educated in schools of the metropolis, and 
when the time came for him to engage 
in the active work of life went into the 
produce business on his own account. A 
spirit of enterprise, however, was always 
one of Mr. Harton's dominant character- 
istics, and this led him, ere many years 
had passed, to seek a new and compara- 
tively untried field. In 1893 he embarked 
in the business of building Ferris wheels, 
toboggans, all kinds of roller coasters, and 
the various other inventions and appli- 
ances used for furnishing amusement in 
parks. It was then that he organized the 
T. M. Harton Company, becoming its 
president and manager. The success of 
the venture was immediate and has stead- 
ily augmented. Mr. Harton is president 
of West View Park, the largest amuse- 
ment park in the city and one of the 
finest in the country, and he is also a 
director in a number of subsidiary com- 

The political allegiance of Mr. Harton 
is given to the Republican party, and he 
is a member of the Americus Republican 
Club. He belongs to the Pittsburgh 
Athletic Association, and attends the 
East Liberty Presbyterian Church. His 
appearance and manner are thoroughly 
expressive of the traits of character which 
have insured his success. 

Mr. Harton married, June 18, 1907, 
Mrs. Laura Barker, daughter of William 
M. Wallace, of Pittsburgh. Mr. Wallace, 
who is now deceased, was engaged in the 
glass business. Mrs. Harton has a son 
by her former marriage : Wallace Barker, 
born June 8, 1901. She is a charming 
woman, and both she and her husband 
are socially popular. 



GOLDEN, William A., 

Liaiiryer, Civic Endeavor Xieader. 

William Augustine Golden, attorney, of 
Pittsburgh, has a record of thirty years' 
successful practice in that city, after 
several years' career in Baltimore. Lat- 
terly Mr. Golden stood in the front rank 
of civic workers ; having been officially 
connected with local organizations labor- 
ing in the interest of reform. 

William Golden, father of William Au- 
gustine Golden, was a descendant of 
pioneer settlers of Maryland, and in 
early life abandoned the Lutheran church 
for the Catholic, of which his mother was 
a member. He married Mary Ann 
(Wivell, of one of the old Catholic families 
of the Crescent State, and of their four 
children, three of whom were sons, Joseph 
A. and William Augustine are mentioned 

Joseph A. Goulden (who retained the 
original spelling of the family name), was 
born August i, 1844, iri Adams county, 
Pennsylvania, and in May, 1864, enlisted 
in the United States navy, serving until 
1866. He was for a time engaged in the 
insurance business, and from 1884 to 
1888 was State manager of the Pennsyl- 
vania Reformatory. From 1895 to 1898 
he was a school commissioner of New 
York City. In politics he was a Demo- 
crat, and in 1902 was elected to Congress 
from the Eighteenth New York District, 
being reelected in 1904, 1906 and 1908. 
In 1910 he declined reelection, and in 
1912, on an unsolicited nomination, was 
elected for a fifth term. In 1914 he was 
once more chosen, but did not live to 
serve out his term. Mr. Goulden was 
manager and president of the New York 
State Soldiers' and Sailors' Home, Bath, 
New York, and secretary and member of 
the commission that erected the Soldiers' 
and Sailors' Memorial Monument in New 
York City. Mr. Goulden married, in De- 

cember, 1867, Isabelle Allwein. His 
death occurred in May, 1915. Both as 
a private citizen and a member of Con- 
gress, Mr. Goulden was an earnest and 
influential advocate of every worthy 
cause, standing always for a broad liberal 
policy in local as well as national affairs, 
and in his daily life furnishing an illus- 
tration of the words which were ever his 
rule of conduct and principle of action — 
"Public office is a public trust." 

William Augustine Golden was born 
June 28, 1857, at Taneytown, Carroll 
county, Maryland, and educated chiefly at 
Eagleton Institute, Taneytown, Berkeley 
Academy, Martinsburgh, West Virginia, 
and Rock Hill College, Ellicott City, 
Maryland. In his youth Mr. Golden had 
a strong inclination toward the priest- 
hood and became a Jesuit novice, but 
was eventually obliged to withdraw by 
reason of frail health. 

After a succession of varied occupa- 
tions Mr. Golden registered September 
20, 1877, as a law student with State 
Senator Joseph M. Gazzam, of Pittsburgh, 
now of Philadelphia, but concluded his 
course with United States District Attor- 
ney Henry H. McCormick. On January 
8, 1880, on motion of William B. Negley, 
he was admitted to the Allegheny county 
bar. On March 16 of the same year he 
became a member of the bar of Baltimore, 
and on November 14, 1882, was admitted 
to that of Westminster, Maryland. For 
several years Mr. Golden practiced in 
Baltimore, but in October, 1S85, returned 
to Pittsburgh ; where he has since con- 
tinuously devoted himself to the work of 
his chosen profession. He is a notary- 
public of twenty-three years' standing. 

In Catholic lay-society work for 
many years he occupied a position in the 
very front rank. His connection with it 
began in July, 1875, and in 1888-89-90 he 
was the originator of the forerunner or 
vanguard of the present flourishing Amer- 


ican Federation of Catholic Societies, 
which prototype was developed chiefly 
through the medium of the Pittsburgh 
Pioneer Diocesan Council, composed of 
about four hundred delegates of varied 
nationalities. Its two public civic dem- 
onstrations, taking place respectively on 
February 22, 1889, and July 4, 1890, were 
headed by him and constituted an epoch 
in local history. On March 2, 1890, he 
personally called on and that evening had 
assembled over a score of the official rep- 
resentatives of six leading Baltimore 
society-unions, resulting in the founding 
of an archdiocesan council, and the fol- 
lowing day had an extended audience 
there on the subject with the approving 
Cardinal-Archbishop. Meanwhile his pen 
was not idle. A notable pamphlet of 
which he was the author, learnedly dis- 
cussing the ripe occasion for the move- 
ment-at-large, was submitted to all the 
chief diocesan authorities north of Mexico 
and widely circulated both in the United 
States and Canada. It was endorsed by 
the entire Catholic press of the two coun- 
tries, the Montreal "True Witness" re- 
producing the brochure on its front page. 

In recognition of such prodigious and 
wholly voluntary service, the late Bishop 
Phelan appointed him a diocesan delegate 
to each of the two American Catholic 
congresses, held respectively in Baltimore 
in November, 1889, and in Chicago in 
September, 1893. According to "The 
Catholic Mirror," of the former city, in 
the earlier of these distingnished conven- 
ticles, his "brief, extemporaneous speech 
on 'Catholic Literature' captured the 

In local civic endeavor in Pittsburgh, 
he has prominently and popularly figured, 
more especially in 1910 and 191 1. During 
those years he was a founder and presi- 
dent of the Uptown Board of Trade, vice- 
president of the twenty-one Allied 
Boards and aflfiliated bodies of like char- 

acter, and an active member of the West- 
ern Pennsylvania Historical Society. He 
has been for many years a member of 
St. Brigid's parish, Pittsburgh, and long 
served as secretary of its former school- 
board. For twenty-three years he has 
been a member of Sacred Heart Branch, 
No. 34, C. M. B. A. ; has affiliated nearly 
as long with the Y. M. I., and more re- 
cently became a member of Marquette 
Council, No. 435. 

BACKENSTOE, Martin John, M. D., 

Practitioner, Financier, Fnblic Official. 

One of the most exacting of all the 
higher lines of occupation to which a man 
may lend his energies is that of the physi- 
cian, and among those in Emaus, Penn- 
sylvania, who devote their time and atten- 
tion to the practice of medicine and have 
gained a leading place in the ranks of the 
profession is Dr. Martin John Backenstoe, 
a representative of a family that has been 
established in the Keystone State for 
many centuries, contributing in large de- 
gree toward promoting the varied inter- 
ests of the communities in which the 
various members are located. 

Henry Backenstoe, the pioneer ances- 
tor of the line herein followed, was a 
resident of Dauphin county, Pennsyl- 
vania, where he was respected and 
esteemed for his many excellent char- 
acteristics, which were transmitted in 
large degree to his descendants. He mar- 
ried Margaret Fusser, and among their 
children was John Backenstoe, who was 
born in Dauphin county, Pennsylvania, 
February 20, 1806, and died at Macungie, 
Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, April 12, 
1881. During his early life he removed 
from his native county to Lehigh, locating 
in Macungie, where he spent the re- 
mainder of his days, and by the exercise 
of thrift and energy was enabled to pro- 
vide a comfortable home for his family 


.^^fm^u^ib ^Ct-n.^t^c^<L^ 6g4,<-y^^&^<!^£xg^^i. 


and a competence for his declining years. 
He married Theresa Wescoe, born Octo- 
ber 8, 1809, died in 1891, daughter of 
Philip Henry and Margaret (Stahler) 
Wescoe. Their children were: i. Leah 
M., born in December, 1828, died Octo- 
ber 22, 1909; married (first) Daniel 
Yeager, and (second) Samuel Schmoyer. 
2. Margaret, born January 24, 1830, died 
in 1893 ; married (first) Perry Weaver, 
and (second) William Yeager. 3. Jonas 
W., born January 24, 1832, died August 
30, 1900; married Lovina Kemmerer and 
resided at Limeport. 4. Anna Marie, born 
April 2, 1834, died in March, 1858; mar- 
ried Mahlon Artman, of Philadelphia, 
who was a member of the firm of Artman, 
Treichler & Company. 5. John Joseph, 
born November 6, 1836, died January 6, 
1896; married Sarah Finck; they resided 
at Emaus. 6. Jacob Martin, of whom 
further. 7. Lucinda, born November 6, 
1840; married William Yeakel, of Emaus. 
8. Tillia M., born December 27, 1842, died 
June 17, 1852. 9. Elias, born March 6, 
1844, died July 16, 1863. 10. Emma J., 
born March 24, 1846; married Ambrose 
Schantz. 11. William, born August 5, 
1850, died in infancy. 12. William Alfred, 
born November 16, 1852, died February 
22, 1908; married Louisa Kuntz, of 

Jacob Martin Backenstoe, father of Dr. 
Martin John Backenstoe, was born Octo- 
ber 6, 1838, at Macungie, Lehigh county, 
Pennsylvania, and died at Emaus, Lehigh 
county, Pennsylvania, December 19, 
1895, after an active and well-spent life, 
leaving behind him the heritage of an 
untarnished name. He was reared and 
educated in his native county, and in 
1867, the year following his marriage, he 
assumed the management of the farm be- 
longing to his father-in-law, Martin Kem- 
merer, and continued its successful oper- 
ation until the year 1888. when he retired 
from active pursuits, and spent his re- 

maining years in the borough of Emaus. 
His wife, Mary A. ( Kemmerer j Backen- 
stoe, whom he married in 1866, bore him 
three children: Martin John, of whom 
further; William Alfred, born in 1871, 
and Sylva Tacy, born in 1876. Mrs. 
Backenstoe continues to reside in Emaus. 
Dr. Martin John Backenstoe was born 
in Salisbury township, Lehigh county, 
Pennsylvania, October 9, 1867. He was a 
student in the public school adjacent to 
his home, pursued advanced studies at 
Muhlenberg College, entering the pre- 
paratory department, then entered the 
Chesbrough Seminary at Rochester, New 
York, from which institution he was 
graduated in 1887, after which he ma- 
triculated in the University of Pennsyl- 
vania at Philadelphia, graduating from 
its medical department in 1890, receiving 
the degree of Doctor of Medicine. In 
1892 he was graduated from the Post- 
Graduate Medical School of New York, 
and three years later he went abroad and 
pursued advanced studies in medicine at 
the Albert Ludwig University in Frei- 
burg, Baden, Germany, and in the Gen- 
eral Hospital of Vienna, Austria. Being 
thus well prepared for his chosen profes- 
sion, he engaged in a general practice in 
Emaus, and by close application and per- 
severance, coupled with ability of a high 
order, soon built up a reputation for him- 
self, his patients being numbered among 
the representative families of the com- 
munity. He is a progressive physician, 
and keeps abreast of the times by con- 
stant research and study. For about 
twelve years he served as president of 
the Emaus Board of Health. His activi- 
ties are by no means limited to his profes- 
sional duties, as will be shown by the 
following statement of facts : He was one 
of the organizers, and for more than a 
decade has been president of the Emaus 
National Bank ; a director for the past 
eighteen years of the Second National 


Bank of Allentown, Pennsylvania, and 
was a member of the common council of 
the borough of Emaus from 1908 to 1912, 
having been elected on the Republican 
ticket. He is a staunch adherent of the 
Moravian church, and holds membership 
in the following societies : Lehigh County 
Medical Society, of which he is an ex- 
president; Allentown Academy of Medi- 
cine, American Medical Association, Med- 
ical Society of the State of Pennsylvania, 
National Geographic Society of Wash- 
ington, D. C., American Academy of Po- 
litical and Social Science of Philadelphia 
(Life), the Academy of Political Science 
of the City of New York, and Pennsyl- 
vania Forestry Association. 

Dr. Backenstoe married, November 14, 
1893, Agnes Louise Seler, born in Allen- 
town, Pennsylvania, August 26, 1875, 
daughter of Charles and Agnes (Doering) 
Seler, the former named born in 1841, 
died in 1875, and the latter named a 
daughter of Adolf Doering, of Mauch 
Chunk, Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mrs. 
Seler were the parents of three other 
children : Amelia, the wife of Francis 
Kleckner; Maria, wife of Richard Flexer, 
D. D. S., of Allentown, and Dr. Charles 
A. Seler, who died in 1903. Mrs. Back- 
enstoe also had a half-brother, Martin 
Kemmerer, a clerk in the Second National 
Bank of Allentown. Mrs. Backenstoe 
was educated in the public schools of 
Allentown, and Assumption School, at 
Assumption, Illinois, which she attended 
for one year. During the period of her 
husband's study in Germany, Mrs. Back- 
enstoe, who accompanied him, took a 
course in music in Freiburg. Mrs. Back- 
enstoe, who is an industrious and faithful 
wife and model mother, is also actively 
interested in the welfare of the public 
schools and the Young Women's Chris- 
tian Association, and figures prominently 
in all social and civic movements in her 
native town. She was admitted to mem- 

bership in St. Michael's Lutheran Church, 
Allentown, in 1890. Dr. and Mrs. Back- 
enstoe are the parents of six children : 
Eldon Martin, born August 18, 1894, died 
February 10, 1895; Miers Seler, born 
January 30, 1896; Gladys Seler, July 16, 
1897; Dorothea Seler, January 16, 1899; 
Gerald Seler, August 27, 1903 ; Althea 
Seler, July 11, 1907. The Backenstoe 
family is one of prominence in the com- 
munity, being people of sterling worth, 
and they enjoy the sincere regard of a 
large circle of friends. 

McCREADY, J. Homer, M. D., 

Practitioner and Professional Instmotor. 

During the early years of the twentieth 
century the medical profession of Pitts- 
burgh has been recruited from a body of 
young men who have infused into their 
chosen work an element of vigor and 
enthusiasm which augurs well for the 
future of medical science. Noteworthy 
among these physicians of the new 
era who are now coming forward to fill, 
in the course of time, the places of their 
noble predecessors, is Dr. J. Homer Mc- 
Cready, Instructor in Laryngology at the 
University of Pittsburgh and already 
numbered among the city's successful 
practitioners. Dr. McCready is a repre- 
sentative of one of the old families of 
Western Pennsylvania, distinguished in 
the revolutionary period of our history 
and now numbering several members in 
the medical profession. 

Robert McCready, great-grandfather of 
J. Homer McCready, was born in Scot- 
land, and in 1772 emigrated to the Amer- 
ican colonies. After working for a time 
on a farm in New Jersey he went to York 
county, Pennsylvania, where he followed 
the calling of a schoolmaster until the 
outbreak of the Revolutionary War. 
Without delay he took up arms in the 
service of his adopted country, enlisting 


in the Continental army and marching 
and fighting under the orders of Washing- 
ton. Subsequently he returned to York 
county and in the autumn of 1776 re- 
moved to Western Pennsylvania, settling 
near Eldersville, Washington county, on 
a farm of three hundred and thirty-two 
acres now occupied by Robert B. W. Mc- 
Cready. He held the office of county 
commissioner and for many years served 
as justice of the peace. During the War 
of 1812 he served as adjutant in the Lis- 
bon company. A man of commanding 
presence, with a voice of unusual 
strength, he seemed, in these respects, as 
well as by coolness, courage and self- 
control, well fitted for military duties. 
In the latter part of his life Mr. McCready 
was a ruling elder in Cross Creek Presby- 
terian Church. He died in 1846, at the 
venerable age of ninety-four years. 

Joseph, son of Robert McCready, was 
a native of Washington county and in the 
course of time removed to Columbiana 
county, Ohio, where he passed the re- 
mainder of his life. He married Martha 
Campbell and their children were : Cyn- 
thia J., wife of Robert Smith, of Ashland 
county, Ohio ; Margaret A., wife of 
Thomas Cameron, of Onslow, Jones 
county, Iowa ; James Campbell, men- 
tioned below ; Robert J., and Joseph A., 
the two last-named being Pittsburgh phy- 
sicians. Mr. McCready passed away in 
the seventy-fifth year of his age. 

James Campbell, son of Joseph and 
Martha (Campbell) McCready, was a 
builder, real estate broker and insurance 
agent of Pittsburgh, and married Mary, 
daughter of Philip Mcintosh. They were 
the parents of four children : Mary 
Belle, wife of A. J. Worley, of Pitts- 
burgh ; Avie, of Pittsburgh ; R. A., in 
real estate business in Pittsburgh; and 
J. Homer, mentioned below. The death 
of Mr. McCready occurred in August, 

PEN— Vol VI— 7 I 

J. Homer McCready, son of James 
Campbell and Mary (Mclntoshj Mc- 
Cready, was born February 18, 1882, in 
Columbiana county, Ohio, and received 
his education in local public and high 
schools. Choosing to devote himself to 
the profession of medicine he entered 
Jefferson Medical College, graduating in 
1906 with the degree of Doctor of Medi- 
cine. For one year thereafter Dr. Mc- 
Cready served as interne in the West 
Pennsylvania Hospital and then went to 
Vienna for post-graduate work, making 
a study of diseases of the ear, nose and 
throat. In 1908 he returned to Pitts- 
burgh and began practice as a specialist 
in these ailments, meeting from the out- 
set with favorable recognition and acquir- 
ing a steadily increasing clientele. Since 
191 1 he has been instructor in laryn- 
gology at the University of Pittsburgh, 
and since 1914 has served on the staff of 
the Eye and Ear Hospital. The profes- 
sional organizations of which he is a 
member include the American College of 
Surgeons, the American Laryngological, 
Rhinological and Otological Society, the 
American Academy of Ophthalmology 
and Laryngology, the College of Physi- 
cians, the American Medical Association, 
the Pennsylvania State Medical Associ- 
ation and the Allegheny County Medical 

Politically Dr. McCready is a Repub- 
lican, and has never been found wanting 
in the public spirit which has always been 
a characteristic of his family. He belongs 
to the University Club and the Phi Beta 
Pi fraternity and is a member of the 
Sixth Presbyterian Church. 

The personality of Dr. McCready is 
that of a man of great mental activity, 
strong reasoning powers and keen per- 
ceptive faculties. His countenance bears 
the imprint of these qualities and also 
reflects that kindness of heart essential to 
the character of the true physician. He 


makes friends easily and, what is more, 
holds them long. 

Dr. McCready married, December 3, 
1912, Jean Alice, daughter of William S. 
and Emma (Chapman) Brown, of Pitts- 
burgh, and they have one son : James 
Homer, born September 20, 1913. Mrs. 
McCready, who was educated at the Na- 
tional Park Seminary, Washington, Dis- 
trict of Columbia, is a woman of culture 
and charm and Dr. McCready is never so 
contented as in those hours which the 
demands of an exacting profession permit 
him to spend in his own home. 

For nearly half a century the name of 
McCready has been associated in West- 
ern Pennsylvania with military and civic 
virtue and excellence in the medical pro- 
fession. The career of Dr. J. Homer 
McCready places the record of another 
successful physician on the pages of the 
family annals. 

DuBois, James T., 

Joiirnalist, Antlior, Diplomat. 

The history of the DuBois family, to 
which belonged James T. DuBois, littera- 
teur and diplomat, is one of great inter- 
est, beginning from the coming of the 
Huguenot brothers, Louis and Jacques 
DuBois, from France to New Amster- 
dam, about the middle of the seventeenth 

Abraham DuBois, a direct descendant 
of Jacques, located in New Jersey, where 
he married, having three sons, Abraham^ 
Nicholas and Minna. Abraham became 
a wealthy jeweler of Philadelphia, and 
owned vast tracts of land in Northeast- 
ern Pennsylvania. He sent his brother 
Minna DuBois to Great Bend, Susque- 
hanna county, to take charge of his land- 
ed interests. Minna remained there and 
became prominent, married and had two 
children by his first wife : Abraham (2) 
and Jane A. 

Abraham (2) DuBois, also was an ex- 
tensive landowner, and in 1815 built the 
well-known saw mill that is still stand- 
ing. He was very public-spirited, and in 
company with John McKinney built upon 
a commanding site a Presbyterian church, 
and was always one of its earnest devout 
supporters. In 181 1 he married Juliet 
Bowes, who bore him thirteen children, 
nine of whom lived to mature years. 

Joseph, born in 1812, eldest child of 
Abraham (2) DuBois, held many posi- 
tions of honor and trust in his native 
town of Great Bend, Pennsylvania, and 
was regarded highly as a conscientious 
faithful official. He was noted for his 
public spirit, and did much to add to the 
attractiveness of his town. He married, 
in 1840, Enroy, only daughter of Ben- 
jamin Taylor. Their oldest son Richard 
became a captain in the United States 
regular army ; James T., the second son, 
is of further mention ; William, moved to 
Kansas ; Addison, became an attorney of 
Washington, D. C, while Abraham, the 
youngest, married Abbie, daughter of 
Henry McKinney, and settled in Great 

James T. DuBois, second son of Joseph 
DuBois, was born in the village of Great 
Bend, Susquehanna county, Pennsyl- 
vania, April 17, 1851. At the age of thir- 
teen years he entered the printing office 
of the "Northern Pennsylvanian," pub- 
lished in Great Bend borough, and there 
learned the printer's trade. After his 
apprenticeship was ended he entered 
Ithaca (New York) Academy, whence he 
was graduated with honors in 1870. The 
following year he began the study of law 
at Columbian University, at Washington, 
D. C, but in his second year left college 
to accept the position of assistant editor 
of the "National Republican," a journal 
then known as the organ of the Grant 
administration. After two years as assist- 


ant, he was appointed chief editor, con- 
tinuing in that position until the summer 
of 1877, when he resigned. The same 
year he was appointed by President 
Hayes as commercial agent at Aix-la- 
Chapelle, Germany, and in 1881 was pro- 
moted to United States Consul of that 
city. In the fall of 1883 he was recalled 
and appointed by President Arthur to the 
more responsible and lucrative consulate 
at Calloa, Peru ; for personal reasons he 
declined the appointment, but succeeded 
in obtaining a transfer to the important 
post of consul at Leipsic, Saxony, a post 
he held until January, 1886, when he re- 
signed and returned to the United States. 
The following is the letter received from 
the assistant Secretary of State, accepting 
his resignation : 

Department ok State, 
Washington, January 14, 1886. 
James T. DuBois, Esq., Consul of the United 
States at Leipsic: 
Sir: — I have to acknowledge the receipt of your 
despatch of the 2nd instant, tending your resig- 
nation of the office of consul at Leipsic and in 
reply to inform you that the same is accepted to 
take effect on this date. 

I take this occasion to express the Department's 
appreciation of the zeal and fidelity you have dis- 
played in the performance of the duties connected 
with the offices you have held under it and to 
assure you that your retirement from the consular 
service is recognized as the loss of a faithful 
efficient officer. 

I am, sir your obedient servant, 

Jas. D. Porter, 
Assistant Secretary. 

While abroad Mr. DuBois perfected 
himself in German and French and while 
at Aix-la-Chapelle wrote two volumes, 
one entitled "An Hour with Charle- 
magne," the other "In and About Aix-la- 
Chapelle." The following is an extract 
from a letter written by Postmaster-Gen- 
eral Vilas, of the Cleveland administra- 
tion, concerning the first-named volume : 

I sat dovk'n with the great Charles last evening 
and was so interested by your presentation that 
ceased only with its close. Your sketch is de- 
lightful. It lifts the splendid story out of the 
darkness and shows what a wonderful creation 
and creator a great man is. Had Bacon's phi- 
losophy then been known, modern civilization 
would have dated from Charlemagne. 

May I also be allowed to commend the rich 
and flowing style in which you bear your readers 
blissfully? I shall hope to enjoy other products 
of so deft a pen. 

After his return from abroad, bringing 
a wife, Mr. DuBois again became con- 
nected with the "National Republican," 
published at Washington, D. C, having 
charge of the "Consular edition" of that 
journal. He spent his winters in Wash- 
ington, his summers at Hallstead, Susque- 
hanna county, where he was the pro- 
prietor of "Spring Farm," a tract beauti- 
fully situated on the picturesque Susque- 
hanna river, that has been owned in the 
family for one hundred years. On this 
farm is situated the mountain "Mano- 
tonome," from the summit of which a 
wonderful view unfolds. He conducted 
several miles of road and footways about 
the mountain, making it a favorite resort 
for the people. 

In 1897 Mr. DuBois was again called 
into the diplomatic service of his country, 
being appointed by President McKinley 
consul-general of the United States at St. 
Gall, Switzerland, where he continued 
until 1901. In that year he was appointed 
minister to the United States of Colum- 
bia. He was always an active Republi- 
can ; a member and vice-president of Dis- 
trict of Columbia Chapter, Sons of the 
American Revolution, and connected with 
other social and political organizations. 

While abroad Mr. DuBois married 
Emma, daughter of Henry Paster, of Aix- 
la-Chapelle, Germany, who bore him two 



McCLAIN, Frank B., 

Iiieutenant-GoTernor of Pennsylvania. 

The city of Lancaster, Pennsylvania, 
though forced to surrender Frank B. Mc- 
Clain, for five years her chief executive, 
to the higher duties of the State, whose 
service he entered on January i, 191 5. in 
the office of Lieutenant-Governor, never- 
theless retains him as citizen and business 
man. Mr. McClain is a native of Lancas- 
ter, a product of her schools, and in this 
city has found public prominence and 
business prosperity, and Lancaster shares 
largely in the honor of his election to his 
high office in the government of the Com- 

The family of which Mr. McClain is a 
member was founded in this country and 
in Lancaster by his father, Francis Mc- 
Clain, who in 1840 came from his home 
in Londonderry, Ireland, locating in Lan- 
caster in the following year. Francis Mc- 
Clain was for a time associated in busi- 
ness with the McGrann firm, then form- 
ing a partnership with Patrick Kelley, a 
connection that endured agreeably and 
profitably for many years, the firm being 
dealers in cattle. Francis McClain re- 
mained in this business until his retire- 
ment from active affairs. He married 
Susan, daughter of Bernard Mulhatten, 
an early resident of Lancaster, and had 
issue: Frank B., of whom further; George 
E. ; Mary G., married James Maloney ; 
and John C. 

Frank B. McClain, son of Francis and 
Susan (Mulhatten) McClain, was born in 
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, April 14, 1864. 
As a youth he attended the parochial 
schools of Lancaster and the Lancaster 
High School, graduating from the latter 
institution in the class of 1881, and upon 
the completion of his studies began busi- 
ness life in the service of Levi Sensenig, 
a live stock dealer of the city, in whose 
employ he continued for a period of eight 

years. After severing his connection with 
Levi Sensenig, Mr. McClain associated 
himself in the live stock business with the 
firm of George R. Sensenig and Andrew 
F. Frantz, as a limited partner, which 
arrangement continued for several years, 
when Mr. George R. Sensenig withdrew 
from the firm, Mr. McClain and Mr. A. F. 
Frantz continuing the business under the 
firm name of A. F. Frantz until the year 
1900, when Mr. McClain engaged inde- 
pendently in the purchase of and sale of 
live stock until 1913. His present busi- 
ness, wide in dimension and flourishing 
in condition, is conducted as the McClain 
Commission Company, of which he is the 
active head. 

While laying the lines of a business 
that ranks among the leaders of its line, 
Frank B. McClain has rendered service 
to his city and State that has made his 
name a familiar one throughout Pennsyl- 
vania, and has placed him with the fore- 
most statesmen and public servants of 
Pennsylvania. His public career began 
with his election to the lower house of 
the State Legislature in 1894. The favor 
with which his early efforts as a law- 
maker were received by his supporters 
was shown in his reelection in 1896, and 
successive reelections in 1898-1900-02-04- 
06 and 1908, constituted a true index to 
his continued popularity. In the course 
of his legislative career, Mr. McClain 
served ably and well on some of the most 
important regular committees of the 
house, and was also appointed to mem- 
bership on several special committees, not 
the least important of which was that 
designated for the investigation of the 
office of the State Treasurer in 1897, three 
years after his first appearance in the leg- 
islature. In 1899 he was vice-chairman 
of the committee on appropriations, and 
continued as such until 1907. From floor 
leader of the house he was elected speaker 



in 1907, and in this office appointed the 
majority of the committee that conducted 
the capitol investigation with such signal 
success, the startling disclosures of the 
committee and the subsequent drastic 
punitive measure due in great part to the 
judgment and wisdom with which Mr. 
McClain made his selections for that 
momentous task. 

At the close of the term for which he 
was elected in 1908, Frank B. McClain 
turned from the State to the municipal 
service, February, 1910, being the suc- 
cessful Republican candidate for the office 
of mayor of Lancaster, assuming office for 
a two years' term, which was shortened 
four months by a constitutional amend- 
ment passed in 1909. In November, 191 1, 
he was reelected, the term of office having 
been lengthened to four years, and his 
resignation from the chief executiveship 
took efifect January 6, 191 5, in order that 
he might qualify for the office of Lieuten- 
ant-Governor of Pennsylvania, to which 
he was elected in November, 1914. Lancas- 
ter returns Mr. McClain to the State only 
after she has been the recipient of five 
years of the most devoted service. The 
advancement and benefit of the city of 
his birth have always been near to Mr. 
McClain's heart, and as mayor of the city 
he seized every opportunity to improve 
her municipal institutions, to better her 
government, and in every way to raise 
the standard, already high, of Lancaster. 
All this and more, are in the list of the 
accomplishments of his administration, 
and to his next high service he bears a 
reputation as a public official that will en- 
dure the most severe tests of examination 
and publicity. 

Frank B. McClain has long been a 
prominent figure in the councils of his 
party, the Republican, and as a delegate 
has been active in numerous party State 
conventions. His connection with the 

institutions of Lancaster have been many, 
and all have profited by his zealous inter- 
est and well-directed labors. He is iden- 
tified with several charitable and philan- 
thropic movements, and is a trustee of the 
Home for Friendless Children, and a 
director of the Lancaster Charity Society. 
Mr. McClain is a member of the Lancas- 
ter County Historical Society, the Ham- 
ilton Club, the Young Republican Club, 
vice-president of the Thaddeus Stevens 
Industrial School of Lancaster, a director 
of the A. Herr Smith Library, and holds 
membership in the Union League and 
the Manufacturers' Club, the last two of 
Philadelphia. In 1909 Mr. McClain was 
the prime mover in the organization of 
the Lancaster Live Stock Exchange, an 
association of dealers in live stock, and 
was elected its first president, an office he 
holds at this time through reelection. 

Mr. McClain married, in 1888, Ellen 
Bernardine O'Neil. 

Briefed, the above is the record of 
Frank B. McClain, who has taken his 
place with the chief executives of the 
State of Pennsylvania. His business 
associates know him as one guided 
by fairness and principle, and this char- 
acteristic has led his political, public, and 
private life. Sterling merit and an attrac- 
tive personality are the open secrets of 
his wide popularity, and many friends are 
his sturdy champions. 

WILLIAMS, Alfred W., 

Latryer and Jnrist. 

The bench and bar of Pennsylvania 
have by their illustrious past laid upon 
their representatives of the present day 
the task of a difficult emulation, and 
nobly have they risen to its accomplish- 
ment — none more successfully than Alfred 
W. Williams, President Judge of Mercer 

On his father's side. Judge Williams 



comes of ancient New England lineage, 
and through his mother is a descendant of 
Pennsylvania ancestors. Riley Williams, 
father of Alfred W. Williams, was a di- 
rect descendant of Roger Williams, 
founder of the colony of Rhode Island, 
and progenitor of a family many members 
of which have been distinguished in our 
Colonial, Revolutionary and national his- 
tory. Riley Williams was the son of a 
shoemaker of Trumbull county, Ohio, 
whose five sons all learned their father's 
trade. Riley, however, followed it for 
only a short time, early becoming inter- 
ested in the development of the oil in- 
dustry, and removed to Pennsylvania, 
where the remainder of his life was 
passed. He held the office of postmaster 
of Pithole, then in the centre of the oil 
district comprised in Chenango and 
Crawford counties. He married Rachel 
Porter, a native of Mercer county, and 
the following children were born to them : 
Alfred W., mentioned below; Wilbert M., 
of San Francisco, California, general 
manager of the Crocker Printing Com- 
pany ; Julia, widow of William K. Naylor, 
of Corry, Pennsylvania ; and Ella M., who 
became the wife of John Service, of 
Sharon, and who, with her husband, is 
now deceased. Mr. Williams, the father 
of the family, died in 1865, being then 
only in middle life, and thus forming an 
exception to the rule of longevity which 
prevailed in the diflferent branches of the 
Williams race. Mrs. Williams, who also 
belonged to a long-lived family, died Feb- 
ruary 21, 191 1, at the age of seventy- 

Alfred W. Williams, son of Riley and 
Rachel (Porter) Williams, was born De- 
cember 22, 1851, in Brookfield township, 
Trumbull county, Ohio, and received his 
early education in the public schools of 
Sharon, whither the family removed soon 
after his birth. Sharon was then only a 
small village, the Erie canal being the 

only public means of travel and trans- 
portation. Judge Williams was only 
eleven years old when the first railroad 
was constructed at Sharon, the line being 
laid through the school-house yard, and, 
of course, necessitating the destruction of 
the building. During the enforced inter- 
ruption to his education Judge Williams 
worked as a nail-feeder in the mill of 
Coleman, Westerman & Company, at 
Sharon. When the school was reopened 
in 1865 he resumed his attendance, but 
after a few weeks left in order to supply 
the place of a boy who was employed in 
the factory and who had fallen ill. Not 
long after the boilers blew up and the 
mill was closed for a considerable time 
and Judge Williams then returned to 
school, but within a short time was 
obliged, in consequence of the death of his 
father, to resume work, being employed, 
during the next few years, as a nail-feeder 
in the Westerman Iron Company nail 
factory. At the age of eighteen he learned 
the carpenter's trade, afterward acquir- 
ing a knowledge of drafting and archi- 
tectural drawing, in which he engaged for 
a number of years. 

In early manhood Judge Williams be- 
came deeply interested in politics, and 
soon rose into prominence. He was ap- 
pointed, through the influence of the Hon. 
Samuel H. Miller, then member of Con- 
gress from the Mercer district, to a place 
in the folding room of the house, a posi- 
tion which he lost by reason of the elec- 
tion in 1882 of a Democratic Congress. 
It was at this period of his life that Judge 
Williams turned his attention to the law, 
entering upon a course of study in the 
Law Department of Columbian Univer- 
sity of Washington, D. C, and graduated 
in June, 1883, while still in the folding 
loom of the House, from which he with- 
drew in January, 1884. He then secured 
a position in the office of the supervising 
architect of the Treasury Department, 

s--jrnjri^-i>fi!i—Tt -s^r^/vry 


but after a few weeks again found himself 
without employment. He had passed the 
bar examination and been admitted to 
practice in the courts of the District of 
Columbia, but preferred to make his early 
home the scene of his professional career. 

Accordingly, on June lo, 1884, Judge 
Williams returned to Sharon, and the 
same month was admitted to the Mercer 
county bar. He at once opened an office 
in Sharon, where he practiced continu- 
ously until January, 1905, when he be- 
came President Judge of Mercer county, 
having been elected the preceding No- 
vember. As an attorney, his knowledge 
of the law and skill as a practitioner 
caused him speedily to take high rank 
among his professional brethren, prac- 
ticing in all the State and Federal courts 
and also in the courts of Ohio, New York 
and Michigan. As a judge he has estab- 
lished an unimpeachable reputation for 
profound learning and strict impartiality. 
He holds court in almost all the counties 
in the western part of the State. 

Judge Williams is a member of the 
State and County Bar Associations and 
affiliates with the Masonic order. In poli- 
tics he has always been a Republican, but, 
active as he has been in public affairs, 
has never been known as an office-seeker. 
He and his family are members of the 
First Presbyterian Church of Mercer, in 
the work of which they are actively inter- 

Judge Williams married (first) March 
29, 1876, Louise S., daughter of Ferdi- 
nand M. Hull, of Sharon, Pennsylvania, 
and they became the parents of one daugh- 
ter: Louise S., now the wife of Gerald C. 
Dixon, an attorney of Sharon. Mrs. Wil- 
liams died May 26, 1877, and Judge Wil- 
liams married fsecond) December 7, 
1886, Ida F., daughter of Robert and Wil- 
helmina Boyce. of Sharon, becoming, by 
this union, the father of two children : 
Helene B., graduated at Wellesley Col- 

lege, in the class of 1910, with honors; 
and Alberta, who died at the age of four 
years. Judge Williams is a man whose 
genial nature, combined with his sterling 
traits of character, has made him the cen- 
tre of a circle of warmly attached friends, 
and he and his family are prominent in 
the social life of the community. 

The prestige of the legal profession in 
Pennsylvania has been ably maintained 
by Judge Williams, and his career has 
added another name to the long list of 
honored judges of the Keystone State. 

PRENDERGAST, Edmond F., D. D.. 

Roman Catholic Prelate. 

On February 24, 1897, the beautiful 
Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul in 
" Philadelphia was filled with church digni- 
taries and laity to do honor to one of the 
most respected and esteemed priests of 
the diocese. Right Rev. Edmond F. Pren- 
dergast, V. G., who had been selected by 
Pope Leo XIII as Auxiliary Bishop of 
the Archdiocese of Philadelphia, with the 
title of Bishop of Scillio. Cardinal Gib- 
bons presided over the ceremonies from 
the throne, Archbishop Ryan acting as 
consecrating prelate, assisted by Bishops 
Horstman and Hoban. Fourteen years 
later the good Archbishop Ryan was 
called on high, and on May 27, 191 1, 
Bishop Prendergast was appointed to 
succeed him as Archbishop of the diocese, 
the Cathedral again witnessing the solemn 
ceremonies attending his elevation to his 
high Episcopal office. His selection by 
Pope Pius X for the archbishopric of 
Philadelphia was heartily welcomed by 
his co-religionists as a happy realization 
of their hopes and expectations, as dur- 
ing his forty years as pastor and bishop 
in Philadelphia he had acquired a familiar- 
ity with the people over whom he now 
presides such as few others had gained, 
and in that long service he had won the 



respect and affection of his colleagues and 
people. His early call to the rectorship 
of one of the most important of the city 
parishes, his later call to the duties and 
responsibilities of the vicar generalship, 
and his selection as auxiliary to Arch- 
bishop Ryan all attest the high estimation 
in which he had been held by his own 
church and explain the universal joy felt 
when it was announced that he had been 
chosen for the dignity and honor of the 
Arch Episcopal office. The formality of 
his installation and the conferring of the 
pallium followed the announcement of 
his appointment, and on Wednesday, July 
26, igii, he was duly installed with all 
the form and ceremony attending induc- 
tion into the high office he now fills. 

Edmond Francis Prendergast was born 
at Clonmel, County Tipperary, Ireland, 
in 1843. He resided in Ireland until his 
sixteenth year, then, in 1859, came to the 
United States, locating in Philadelphia 
and beginning his studies in divinity in 
the old seminary of St. Charles Borromeo, 
at Eighteenth and Race streets. On No- 
vember 17, 1865, he was ordained a priest 
of the Roman Catholic church by Bishop 
Wood and began his ministerial career as 
curate at St. Paul's, with Father Sher- 
idan as rector. Later he was in Susque- 
hanna county, Pennsylvania, his success 
there causing Bishop Wood to appoint 
him pastor at St. Mark's, Bristol, Penn- 
sylvania, where he labored with diligence 
to good result in the building of a church. 
He was then transferred to Allentown, 
Pennsylvania, and there repeated his suc- 
cess in both spiritual and temporal work, 
again causing the erection of a church. 
In February, 1874, he was appointed rec- 
tor of St. Malachy's parish of Philadel- 
phia, where he won the hearts of his 
people and the recognition of Archbishop 
Ryan, the former by his actively helpful 
ministry, the latter by his executive abil- 
ity and power of administration. He was 

one of the first appointed to the Board of 
Consultors of the Diocese, was soon 
afterward appointed vicar general, and 
when the work of the Protectory was in- 
augurated it was upon Bishop Prender- 
gast's prudent counsel that the archbishop 
relied. On November 17, 1890, his silver 
jubilee in the priesthood was celebrated 
by the people of St. Malachy's parish, 
and in February, 1899, his twenty-fifth 
anniversary as rector of that parish. For 
thirty-seven years he ministered to their 
spiritual needs, and when, in May, 191 1, 
he was appointed archbishop, it was with 
mingled feelings of extreme pleasure and 
sadness that the congregation of St. Mal- 
ach3''s regarded his elevation — pleasure 
that their beloved pastor had been so 
honored by the Pope, and sadness that he 
was to be no longer in their midst, their 
daily source of comfort. 

As stated, Archbishop Prendergast was 
consecrated auxiliary bishop of the Arch- 
diocese of Philadelphia with the title of 
Bishop of Scillio on the Feast of St. Mat- 
thias, February 24, 1897, and for fourteen 
years was the efficient incumbent of that 
office, the close friend and coadjutor of 
Archbishop Ryan. Every priest in the 
diocese became his personal friend, he was 
in the most complete accord with Arch- 
bishop Ryan in all matters of church 
policy, and to him was due much credit 
for the prosperity of the See. When Arch- 
bishop Ryan died in February, 191 1, 
Bishop Prendergast was virtually Arch- 
bishop in the interregnum and performed 
the necessary Episcopal functions until 
his official appointment. May 27, follow- 
ing. It was especially fortunate for the 
church in Philadelphia that the direction 
of its affairs remained in the charge of 
one of her own sons, an ecclesiastic know- 
ing and loving his people, known and 
loved by them. 

On Wednesday, July 26, 191 1, Edmond 
Francis Prendergast was ritually installed 


r /7i/]aU^A^ 


the third Archbishop of Philadelphia in 
the presence of many church dignitaries 
and numerous laymen. The solemn mass 
was sung by Rt. Rev. John E. FitzMaur- 
ice, D. D., Bishop of Erie, and the sermon 
was delivered by Rt. Rev. M. J. Hoban, 
D. D., Bishop of Scranton. On January 
31, 1912, he was invested with the Pal- 
lium, the ceremony taking place in the 
Cathedral, Cardinal Gibbons conferring 
the Symbol of Jurisdiction, and to him 
Archbishop Prendergast made his oath of 
allegiance to the Holy See. Archbishop 
Prendergast is careful of every interest of 
his diocese, but particularly urges the 
value of education. His wisdom as an 
executive has been fully demonstrated. 
Wholly devoted and thoroughly conse- 
crated, his talents are all employed for 
the good of his people, his years, seventy- 
two, being borne lightly and well. On 
November 18, 191 5, he will celebrate the 
fiftieth anniversary of his ordination to 
the priesthood, forty-one of these years 
having been spent in Philadelphia as rec- 
tor, vicar-general. Bishop and Archbishop. 
Full of honors and secure in the love of 
his people he reviews a life of great use- 
fulness and of honorable service to the 
church of his devotion. 

BORDEN, Edward Payson, 

Man of Large Affairs, Pliilanthropiat. 

From Normandy came Blundel Bur- 
doun in the train of William the Con- 
queror, and on the roll of Battle of Abbey 
his name is found as one of the knights 
who fought at Hastings, 1066. Down 
through the centuries came the name as 
Borden and Burden, borne with honor 
by men of notable achievement, bearing 
arms, "Azure, a chevron engrailed ermine, 
two bourdens or pilgrim's staves proper 
in chief, and a cross-crosslet in base, or;" 
crest, "A lion rampant above scroll, ar- 
gent, on his sinister foot holding a battle 

ax proper;" motto — Palma vxrtuti; above 
the crest "Excelsior." 

In America the record begins with 
John Borden, who came from England 
under a permit to emigrate dated May 
12, 1635, bringing with him wife and chil- 
dren. Richard Borden, son of John Bor- 
den, is thus remembered in the Record of 
Friends Meeting of Newport, Rhode 
Island: "Richard Borden, of Ports- 
mouth, Rhode Island, having been one 
of the first planters of Rhode Island, lived 
about seventy years and then died at his 
own house belonging to Portsmouth. He 
was buried on the burial ground given by 
Robert Dennis to the Friends, which is in 
Portsmouth and lieth on the left hand of 
the way that goeth from Portsmouth to 
Newport upon the 25th day of the 3rd 
month, 1671." His widow, Joan, survived 
him eighteen years, and died July 16, 1688, 
two years after John Alden, who is sup- 
posed to have been the last of the May- 
flower Company. Richard Borden held 
many important public ofifices, was deputy 
to the general court, and a man of con- 
siderable means. 

John S. Borden, son of Richard and 
Joan Borden, was a man of shrewd busi- 
ness tact and sound judgment. Within a 
few years after receiving his patrimony he 
was known as the owner of large tracts 
of land in Rhode Island, New Jersey. 
Pennsylvania and Delaware. In fact, so 
eager was he to acquire land that he pub- 
licly announced : "If any man has land to 
sell at a fair price I am ready to buy and 
have the money ready at my house to pay 
for it." He was on intimate terms with 
the Indian sachem, "King Philip," who 
said : "John is the only honest white man 
I have ever known." He tried to prevent 
King Philip from going to war with the 
whites, but failed, the Indian feeling hav- 
ing been too deeply wronged. John Bor- 
den owned Hog Island and came into 
conflict with the Plymouth government 



over his refusal to pay taxes to them. 
He had no end of trouble over the matter, 
but Rhode Island finally established her 
claim to jurisdiction. John Borden was 
a well known Friend, represented his 
town in the General Assembly from 1680 
to 1708, and was the most prominent 
member of the Borden family. He mar- 
ried Mary Earl. 

Richard (2) Borden, son of John S. and 
Mary (Earl) Borden, was born in Ports- 
mouth, Rhode Island, and became one of 
the wealthiest men of the town. He 
farmed, bought and sold land, lumber and 
ship timber, owned much Fall River prop- 
erty, but always remained on his farm, 
situated on the main road about a mile 
from the east shore of Mount Hope Bay 
and two and a half miles south of the city 
hall in Fall River. He accumulated a 
large estate, which he so invested and ar- 
ranged that it supported the three suc- 
ceeding generations without efifort of their 
own save to use it and to transmit it to 
their successors. He married Innocent 

Thomas Borden, son of Richard (2) 
and Innocent (Wardell) Borden, married 
Mary Gif^ord, and died at Tiverton, 
Rhode Island, having passed a life of ease 
and comfort from his inherited wealth. 

Richard (3) Borden, son of Thomas 
and Mary (Giflford) Borden, was born in 
1722, died July 4, 1795. Of all the de- 
scendants of Richard (2) Borden, who 
accumulated the Fall River estate, none 
placed so high a prospective value upon 
his holdings as did his grandson, Richard 
(3). Although a man of but average abil- 
ities, he became inspired when upon his 
favorite topic. Fall River and its future. 
His prediction invariably was: "The time 
will come when every dam on the stream 
will be sought after by men who have the 
money to pay for it at a great price, and 
every stone and tree around Fall River 
will be wanted." This prepossession led 

him to hold every foot of his land and all 
of his water power, and succeeding gener- 
ations of his descendants have profited 
greatly by his foresight. He married 
Hope Cook March. 

Thomas Borden, son of Richard (3) 
and Hope Cook (March) Borden, was 
born in 1749, died May 29, 1831. He mar- 
ried Mary Hathaway. He passed the life 
of a prosperous landowner, retaining title 
to the Borden lands and water power. 
When Fall River became a town in 1803 
it contained eighteen families, half of 
these being Bordens owning a large por- 
tion of the land and water power, in fact, 
Bordens are yet the largest land and mill 
owners of that city. 

Colonel Richard (4) Borden, son of 
Thomas and Mar^- (Hathaway) Borden, 
was born in Fall River, April 12, 1795, 
died February 25, 1874. He spent his 
early years, after leaving school, on the 
farm, then from 1812 to 1820 operated a 
grist mill at the mouth of the river, com- 
bining the occupations of miller, mariner 
and shipbuilder. He enlisted in the army 
in the War of 1812 as a private, rose to 
the rank of colonel, and was everywhere 
known as Colonel Borden. In connection 
with Major Bradford Durfee he built 
every year a small coasting vessel, doing 
the iron work in a neighboring black- 
smith's shop themselves, after the day's 
work on the vessel was completed. This 
work in the blacksmith's shop developed 
a trade in iron products which was the 
beginning of the Fall River Iron Works, 
the original company composed of Colo- 
nel Borden, Major Durfee, Holder Bor- 
den. David Anthony, William Valentine. 
Joseph Butler, Abraham and Isaac Wil- 
kinson. The combined capital contri- 
buted amounted to $24,000, soon reduced 
to $18,000 bv the withdrawal of the Wil- 
kinsons. The company prospered, was 
incorporated in 1825 with a capital of 
$200,000, increased in 1845 to $960,000. 



In 1849 the company owned one mile of 
wharf frontage and was the largest water 
front owner in Fall River. Colonel Bor- 
den, from the time of the organization of 
the company until his death, 1874, a per- 
iod of fifty-three years, was its treasurer. 
The Old Colony Railroad, originally 
chartered to run between Boston and Ply- 
mouth, owes its Fall River and southern 
Massachusetts extension mainly to Colo- 
nel Borden, and, with his brother Jefifer- 
son he established in 1847 the Fall River 
Steamboat Company. He was president 
of the American Print Works, president 
of the American Linen Company, presi- 
dent of the Troy Cotton and Woolen 
Manufacturing Company, president of 
the Richard Borden Manufacturing Com- 
pany, and a director of the Annawan 
Manufacturing Company. He was presi- 
dent of the Fall River National Bank, 
president of the Watuppa Reservoir 
Company, all Fall River corporations, and 
in addition was treasurer, director, agent 
and corporation clerk for the Fall River 
Iron Works Company. He was as wide- 
ly known in New York and Boston, was 
president of the Bay State Steamboat 
Company, the Providence Tool Company, 
the Cape Cod Railroad Company, and the 
Borden Mining Company, also a director 
of the Old Colony Railroad Company. 
Besides his great prominence as a man 
of affairs he was distinguished for his 
liberality to charitable and educational 
institutions. His sympathy went out to 
all things that were good, his views were 
broad, true and steadfast. He was a lead- 
ing layman of the Congregational church, 
his deepest interest being in mission Sun- 
day school work. 

In civic affairs he was equally active. 
In Fall River he served as assessor and 
surveyor, and represented the city as 
Assemblyman and State Senator. He was 
a presidential elector in 1864 on the Lin- 
coln ticket and was a tower of strength to 

the Union cause. He gave the Soldiers' 
Monument and lot at the entrance to Oak 
Grove Cemetery and so endeared himself 
to the old soldiers by his patriotism and 
generosity that Richard Borden Post, 
Grand Army of the Republic, was their 
tangible testimonial of gratitude. 

Colonel Borden married, in 1828, Abby 
Walker, daughter of James and Sally 
(Walker) Durfee, also of a distinguished 
Massachusetts family. Children: i. Caro- 
line, born September 20, 1829. 2. Colonel 
Thomas J., a manufacturer of Fall River, 
married Mary E. Hill. 3. Richard B., born 
February 21, 1834, married Ellen M. Plum- 
mer. 4. Edward Payson, of further men- 
tion. 5. William Henry Harrison, born 
September 13, 1840, died in Mentonne, 
France, January 3, 1872; during the Civil 
War he was in command of steamers 
transporting troops on the Potomac and 
James rivers ; after the war he com- 
manded the "State of Maine" of the 
Stonington Line, and the "Canonicus," 
running between Fall River and Provi- 
dence ; he married Miss F. J. Bosworth. 

6. Matthew C. D., born July 18, 1842, mar- 
ried Harriet M. Durfee ; he was one of the 
well known manufacturers of Fall River. 

7. Sarah W., born May 13, 1844, married 
Alphonso S. Covel. 

From such ancestry comes Edward 
Payson Borden, now one of Philadel- 
phia's honored retired business men, but 
yet officially connected with distinctive 
Borden institutions and Philadelphia cor- 
porations and philanthropies. He pos- 
sesses the qualities of mind and heart that 
are a part of the Borden heritage, as well 
as the business energy, executive ability, 
and liberality of his father. Long past 
man's allotted "three-score and ten" he 
retains a forceful connection with busi- 
ness interests, although the burdens of 
active leadership have been transferred to 
younger shoulders. 

Edward Payson Borden was born in 


Fall River, Massachusetts, February 12, 
1836, son of Colonel Richard (4) and 
Abby Walker (Durfee) Borden, and of 
the ninth American generation of his fam- 
ily. He was educated in the public 
schools of Fall River, finishing his studies 
virith a year's course in chemistry at 
Lawrence Scientific School, Cambridge, 
Massachusetts. His father's large manu- 
facturing interests ofi^ering a field con- 
genial to his tastes, he early entered busi- 
ness life and has ever been identified with 
the large Borden interests in Fall River 
and elsewhere. He attained high stand- 
ing in the business world and held re- 
sponsible executive position in many cor- 
porations, being president of the Rich- 
ard Borden Manufacturing Company, 
president of the Borden Mining Company, 
vice-president of the Pulaski Iron Com- 
pany, vice-president of the Merchant's 
Fund, of Philadelphia, member of the 
Board of Managers of the Western Sav- 
ings Fund Society, of Philadelphia, and 
director of the Real Estate Trust Com- 
pany. On December 31, 1886, Mr. Bor- 
den retired from active business, but yet 
retains official connection with several 
corporations. His broad sympathy has 
led him to devote a portion of his time 
to philanthropic institutions, his present 
official connection being as president of 
the Pennsylvania Working Home for 
Blind Men, and as member of the Board 
of Managers of Howard Hospital. He is 
a Republican in politics, and a communi- 
cant of the Tenth Presbyterian Church. 
He is a member of the Council of the 
New England Society of Pennsylvania, 
the Harvard Club, the Union League, and 
the Manufacturers' Club, all of Philadel- 

Mr. Borden married, in Fall River, 
Massachusetts, September 29, 186'^, Mar- 
garet Lindsay, daughter of Rev. Thomas 
R. and Ann Glendav Durfee. He has one 
child, Edward Shirley Borden, born 

March 11, 1867. Since 1864 Philadelphia 
has been the family home, their present 
residence No. 2038 Spruce street. Mr. 
Borden's business offices are at No. 421 
Chestnut street. 

BRUBAKER, Albert Philson, M. D., 

Professional Instructor and Author. 

Since his graduation from Jefferson 
Medical College in 1874, Dr. Brubaker 
has been a resident of Philadelphia, con- 
stant in the service of his honored alma 
mater as demonstrator, lecturer, adjunct 
professor and professor of physiology and 
hygiene. In point of years of continuous 
service he is the oldest man connected 
with Jefiferson Medical College, his years 
of association numbering forty. 

He was graduated March 11, 1874, and 
the following April returned to the col- 
lege, and of all the men then connected 
with the college is the last survivor in 
its service. For the first ten years he 
conducted a private practice, then, sac- 
rificing the emoluments of practice, gave 
himself entirely to the cause of science 
and the service of "Old Jefiferson." He 
has never been the conventional "profes- 
sor," but has been a boy with his boys, 
has kept his heart young, and while he 
has given them his very life, they have 
gladdened his way by loving appreciation 
and constant remembrance. On birth- 
days and general festivals of remembrance 
letters, cards, and loving expressions 
come literally from all over the world. In 
his hours "off duty" and during vacation 
periods, no matter whether it be in Phil- 
adelphia, distant parts of his own land, or 
in Europe, he is met by the glad hand- 
clasp of medical or dental practitioner, 
and the old friendly relations are resumed. 
A teacher for forty years, Professor Bru- 
baker is yet youthfully alert, quick of 
eye, sharp of wit. He has always loved 
his work, never has looked upon it as 


less than a labor of love, and yet loves it. 
He has kept pace with the vital activities 
of the subject in which he interests him- 
self, and they are many and varied. He 
possesses and exercises the rare gifts of 
common sense, observation, and judg- 
ment, and always takes a broad gauge 
view of changing conditions in medical 
education. With his wide range of study, 
travel, and contact with his fellow men 
his personal attributes have become well 
rounded. A strict disciplinarian and re- 
spected as such, yet most afifable and 
considerate towards students and col- 
leagues, tolerant of all truths, endowed 
with singularly happy equipoise, broad 
sympathy, and carefully developed tal- 
ents, Professor Brubaker is eminently 
fitted for the chair he now fills. 

He is a descendant of early German 
families in Pennsylvania, the Brubakers 
moving from Lancaster to Somerset 
county in 1784. John Brubaker, the 
founder of the family in Somerset county, 
settled in Brothers Valley township, 
where his sons and grandsons were, for 
the most part, tillers of the soil. Major 
John Brubaker, grandfather of Dr. Albert 
P. Brubaker, of Philadelphia, was always 
a resident of Berlin, Somerset county. He 
was born in 1776, and died in 1851 from 
wounds received during his service in the 
war with Mexico. Here his youngest 
son. Dr. Henry Brubaker, was born 
March 31, 1827. After preparation under 
private tutors he entered Allegheny Col- 
lege, at Meadville, Pennsylvania, and in 
1848 began the study of medicine under 
Dr. J. H. Reidt, of Berlin. Later he en- 
tered Jefiferson Medical College, at Phil- 
adelphia, and on March 8, 1851, was 
awarded his degree, M. D. After a short 
time spent in practice in Berlin, he located 
in Somerset, the county seat, where from 
1856 until his death, November 12, 1889, 
he shared with Dr. Kimmel the chief 
practice of that community, and was be- 

yond question the best medical prac- 
titioner the county ever had. In 1879 ^^ 
received from Allegheny College the de- 
gree of Master of Arts. Dr. Henry Bru- 
baker married Emeline Philson, of Ber- 
lin, a daughter of Alexander H., and 
granddaughter of Hon. Robert Philson, 
one of the most prominent and influential 
citizens of Somerset county in early 
years. Robert Philson was born in Ire- 
land in 1759, and in 1785 came to Amer- 
ica, settling in Berlin, Somerset county, 
Pennsylvania. He engaged in mercantile 
life successfully, was a member of the 
Pennsylvania State Legislature in 1795, 
was one of the early associate judges of 
Somerset county, represented his district 
in the National House of Representatives, 
1821-1822, was brigadier-general of mili- 
tia, and died in 1851. Samuel Philson, 
one of his sons, was the founder of the 
banking house of S. Philson & Company, 
from which sprang the present Berlin and 
Myersdale banks, owned largely by the 
family. Alexander H., another of the 
eleven children of Hon. Robert and Judith 
(Lowry) Philson, was born in Berlin, 
Somerset county, in 1801. He was a mer- 
chant, a noted land surveyor, and for 
thirty years served as justice of the peace. 
He married Nellie, daughter of Rev. Jacob 
Crigler, and died in 1873. Emeline, the 
eldest daughter and third child of Alex- 
ander H. Philson, married Dr. Henry 
Brubaker, and bore him two sons and 
four daughters. 

Dr. Albert Philson Brubaker, eldest son 
of Dr. Henry and Emeline (Philson) Bru- 
baker, was born in New Lexington, Som- 
erset county, Pennsylvania, August 12, 
1852. He obtained his academic education 
in the schools of Somerset, and after grad- 
uation began the study of medicine under 
the direction of his honored father. In 
1872 he entered Jefiferson Medical Col- 
lege at Philadelphia, and on March 11, 
1874, was graduated with honors and was 



awarded the degree M. D. He engaged in 
private practice in Philadelphia for ten 
years, but from graduation has been offi- 
cially connected with Jefferson and other 
medical institutions of Philadelphia. In 
May, 1874, he was appointed assistant 
physician to the medical clinic of Jeffer- 
son, retaining that position for two years, 
and in October, 1874, he was elected to 
the board of visiting physicians of the 
Charity Hospital, serving for five years. 
In February, 1875, he was elected at- 
tending physician to the Northern Dis- 
pensary, continuing two years, and in 
May, 1879, he was appointed lecturer on 
anatomy of the head at the Philadelphia 
Dental College, resigning in 1881 to ac- 
cept an appointment as demonstrator at 
Jefferson Medical College. In 1885 he 
was appointed professor of physiology 
and pathology at the Pennsylvania Col- 
lege of Dental Surgery, which position he 
held until 1907. In 1S90 Dr. Brubaker 
was appointed by the board of trustees 
of the Jefferson Medical College to con- 
tinue the course of lectures on therapeu- 
tics. Dr. Roberts Bartholow, then profes- 
sor of that subject, being too ill to attend 
to the duties of the chair. Futhermore, 
Dr. Brubaker had conducted the experi- 
mental work in the laboratory of experi- 
mental therapeutics in the winters of 
1887-1890. That Dr. Brubaker more than 
met the demands of this work bespeaks 
his versatility in various field of natural 
science. In 1891, on the opening of the 
Drexel Institute of Science, Art, and In- 
dustry, Dr. Brubaker was tendered the 
lectureship on physiology and hygiene, 
which he accepted and filled until June. 
1914, the value of his teaching there being 
testified to by the large number of stud- 
ents always in attendance in his depart- 
ment, and by the large audiences which 
attended his public lectures. 

As a still further mark of appreciation 
on the part of the board of trustees of 

the value of Dr. Brubaker's teaching, he 
was elected Adjunct Professor of Phy- 
siology and Hygiene at Jefferson in 1897, 
and two years later, on the completion 
of the Students' Physiologic Laboratory, 
for which the institution is indebted to 
the generosity of Louis C. Vanuxem, 
Esq., Dr. Brubaker was made director of 
the same, and has since conducted the 
system of laboratory work there engaged 
in by the students. With the resignation 
of Professor Henry C. Chapman. Dr. 
Brubaker, in April, 1909, was elected to 
the full professorship of Physiology and 
Medical Jurisprudence. 

Among the contributions of Dr. Bru- 
baker to physiologic science may be men- 
tioned : "Electro-Physiology," in the 
International System of Electro-Thera- 
peutics; the articles on "Digestion" and 
"Reflex Diseases" in the American Sys- 
tem of Dentistry; a valuable illustrated 
paper on "The Physiology of Tissue Re- 
pair and of Inflammation" in the "Dental 
Brief," July, 1905 ; a "Compend of Human 
Physiology," now in its thirteenth edition 
and largely used by students throughout 
the United States; a "Laboratory Manual 
of Physiologic Exercises ;" a "Text Book 
of Physiology." now in its fourth edition ; 
the yearly reports on "The Progress of 
Physiology," published in Progressive 
Medicine, edited by Professor Hare. In 
connection with Professor Chapman he 
is the author of: "Researches on Respi- 
ration," "Radius of Curvature of the Cor- 
nea," "Electro-motive Forces of Muscle 
and Nerve," "Resistance of Muscle and 
Nerve to the Electric Current," all pub- 
lished in the Proceedings of the Academy 
of Natural Sciences. Dr. Brubaker is a 
member of the College of Physicians, 
Academy of Natural Sciences, American 
Philosophical Society, as well as of nu- 
merous medical and dental societies. 

Professionally he ranks very high, both 
as a master of the subjects in which he 



specializes and as a forcible, interesting, 
and efficient instructor. His professional 
work gives ample evidence of the l^readth 
and depth of his learning and of the rich- 
ness of the fund of knowledge from which 
he draws for lecture, book, or essay. He 
married, September 27, 1885, Edith B. 
Needles, of Philadelphia, daughter of 
Caleb H. and Anne M. Needles, and re- 
sides at No. 3426 Powelton avenue. 

LANDIS, James D., 

Journalist, Editor, Fnblisher. 

In 1717, three brothers who were Swiss 
Mennonites but who then came from 
Manheim, Germany, emigrated to Amer- 
ica. Their names were Rev. Benjamin 
Landis, Felix Landis and John Landis. 
The last named was the progenitor of the 
family to which the subject of this sketch 

John Landis settled in Richland town- 
ship, Bucks county, in this State. He had 
five sons and two daughters. His oldest 
child was also named John Landis. This 
son was born in Bucks county, on No- 
vember II, 1720, but he afterwards re- 
moved his residence to Douglas town- 
ship, Montgomery county. He married a 
widow by the name of Eschbach, whose 
maiden name was Eliza Bechtel. They 
had five children, the eldest of whom was 
a son, Jacob Landis. The date of the 
birth of Jacob Landis cannot now be as- 
certained, but it is known that he died 
in 1806. He had four sons and two 
daughters. Two of these sons, John and 
Joseph, moved to Lancaster county about 
1799. John was born on August 16, 1776. 
and he died in this city on April 26, 1850. 
He kept a general store in the city of Lan- 
caster for some years, and after he had 
retired from this business was alderman 
for the Northeast Ward of the city. He 
married Mary Kline, who was a daughter 
of Michael Kline and Anna Maria Gun- 

daker, his wife. Michael Kline was a sol- 
dier of the Revolution, and was in Colo- 
nel Matthias Slough's and Captain Joseph 
Hubley's battalions. 

John Landis and Mary, his wife, had 
thirteen children. The youngest to sur- 
vive was Jesse Landis. He was born on 
October 15, 1821, and died December 28, 
1873. He was admitted to the Lancaster 
county bar in 1843, ^"d he was in the ac- 
tive practice of his profession until his 
death. He served as solicitor for the 
county commissioners from i860 to 1869. 
He married Elizabeth Parke Daniel. She 
was of Scotch-Irish descent, and came 
from Chester county. She was a daugh- 
ter of James Daniel and Elizabeth Hind- 
man, his wife. She died on March 31, 
1896. They had six children, four daugh- 
ters and two sons. The latter were 
Charles I. Landis and James D. Landis. 
the subject of this sketch. 

James D. Landis, journalist, editor, and 
publisher, second son of Jesse Landis. 
Esq., and his wife, Elizabeth Parke Dan- 
iel, was born in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, 
March 14, 1862. He was educated in the 
public schools of Lancaster, and at an 
early age began his newspaper career, 
first, in the office of the "Lancaster Ex- 
press," and later with the "Examiner and 
Express." On April 28, 1877, when the 
"New Era" was founded by J. M. \V 
Geist and John B. Warfel, he joined the 
editorial staff of that paper. In 1897, 
when the "New Era" was formed into 
The New Era Printing Company, Mr. 
Landis became one of the firm with Ben- 
jamin S. Schindle, Andrew H. Hershey 
and John G. Warfel, and continued to be 
a member until his death. For many years 
he was a special correspondent for the 
"Associated Press" and for the "Philadel- 
phia Press." 

If it be true, as is said, that the poet is 
born, not made, the aphorism is no less 
true when applied to the editor of a suc- 


cessful newspaper. The modern, so-called 
school of journalism, it is no doubt true, 
can do much to make a successful editor, 
but there is much that it can not do. Mr. 
Landis served his apprenticeship in the 
best of all schools, the modern newspaper 
office itself. Newsboy, copy-holder, proof 
reader, managing editor, and finally edi- 
tor-in-chief, that is the story of his re- 
markable success in his chosen calling. 
Along with all this, a liberal education, a 
mind naturally quick and acute, supple- 
mented by strong common sense, and a 
wide acquaintance with current events, 
books, and men, unusually well-equipped 
him for his editorial duties. He was a 
ready writer, in command of an easy but 
strong and clear style, and possessed of 
a vocabulary equal to any occasion, the 
whole forming an exceptionally strong 
combination for successful newspaper 
work. He was in the fullest sense the 
master of his subordinates. His own 
methods were impressed upon them and 
their response was immediate and com- 
plete. His own mind permeated as well 
as dominated his associates, and the re- 
sult was a publication which the public 
came to realize was at once fair, honest, 
and capable, and deserving of the patron- 
age accorded to it in such abundant meas- 

In addition to his newspaper work, Mr. 
Landis was engaged in outside afifairs. 
From 1890 to 1901 he was copartner with 
Jacob S. Peacock in the Union Lock and 
Hardware Company, and its treasurer. 
He was identified with many of the finan- 
cial, political, social, and charitable or- 
ganizations of the city, county and State. 
He was a director and vice-president of 
the West End Building Association, a 
director of the Peoples Trust Company, 
& trustee of the A. Herr Smith Free 
Memorial Library, a member of the Lan- 
caster Chamber of Commerce, and a di- 
rector of the Lancaster Charity Society. 

He was a member of the Hamilton Club, 
the Elks, and the Country Club. Though 
raised a Methodist, for twenty-three years 
he affiliated with the First Presbyterian 

In politics, Mr. Landis was always 
identified with the Republican party, and 
was a recognized leader in Lancaster 
county. He was a charter member of the 
Young Men's Republican Club, a member 
of common council, and a public school 
director. He was a presidential elector 
in 1904, casting his ballot for Roosevelt 
and Fairbanks, and was a delegate to 
many State conventions. 

Mr. Landis cared little for the honor 
of public office. His first duty was to his 
profession, and he regarded it as a jealous 
mistress. It left him free to advocate any 
cause approved by his convictions, or to 
denounce any means he could not con- 
scientiously approve. But when he did 
consent to assume public office, as he did 
on several occasions, he gave it the fullest 
measure of his attention. When, there- 
fore, the responsible position of a place 
on the board of managers of the Hunt- 
ingdon Reformatory came to him by ap- 
pointment of Governor Edwin T. Stuart 
in 1907, he gave it as much and as careful 
consideration as he did to his private in- 
terests. Although held in a distant part 
of the State, for seven years every meet- 
ing of the board was regularly attended 
by Mr. Landis except on the several occa- 
sions when he and his wife were traveling 
in Europe. He felt that he was engaged 
in a most meritorious cause and he gave 
it the most efficient service at his com- 
mand. He put the same conscience and 
energy into this gratuitous public work 
that he gave to his own private interests. 
This fact is deserving of special mention, 
because it is not so common among public 
officials as it should be, but it seems to 
mark a strong and distinctive feature in 
his view of the relations that should exist 


among office holders and the public posi- 
tions they hold. 

On September 17, 1890, Mr. Landis 
was united in marriage with Miss Mary 
Elizabeth Schaeffer McNeal, born Feb- 
ruary 24, 1862, a daughter of Henry B. 
McNeal and his wife, Emeline R. Schaef- 
fer, who was a daughter of Hon. Eman- 
uel Schaeffer, associate judge of Lancas- 
ter county, 1842-1848. 

On January 8, 1914, Mr. Landis and his 
wife started on their fourth trip abroad, 
this time to make a tour of the world. 
They were accompanied by their niece. 
Miss Jessie E. Schindle. Mr. Landis died 
at sea, on board the "Franconia," of the 
Cunard line, January 17, 1914, midway 
between the Azores and Gibraltar. The 
body was brought home on board the 
"Saxonia," of the same line, landing in 
New York, February 2, 1914, and was 
buried in Greenwood Cemetery, Lancas- 
ter, Pennsylvania. Mr. Landis died with- 
out issue. His wife survives him. 

LANDIS, Charles I., 

IiavryeT, Jurist. 

Charles I. Landis (see preceding sketch) 
was born in the house. No. 232 East King 
street, Lancaster, on November 18, 1856. 
He was first educated in the public 
schools of the city, graduating from the 
high school in June, 1871. He then en- 
tered Franklin and Marshall College, 
where he remained until his father's 
death. For six months thereafter he 
clerked in the store of Hager & Bro., and 
on September 8, 1874, he began the study 
of law with D. G. Eshleman, Esq. While 
a law student he taught school one term 
in Lehigh county, one term in East Co- 
calico township, this county, and about 
six weeks in the city. He was admitted 
to the Lancaster county bar on Septem- 
ber 8, 1877, when not yet twenty-one 
years of age. 

PEN— Vol VI-8 I 

He was elected city solicitor of Lan- 
caster City in the spring of 1880, be- 
ing the only one of the caucus nominees 
of the Republican party who escaped de- 
feat. He was again elected to the same 
office in 1882. In 1883 he was made sec- 
retary of the Republican County Com- 
mittee, and in 1884 and 1885 was the 
chairman of that committee. As such he 
conducted the presidential campaign 
which resulted in the defeat of James G. 
Blaine. In 1886 he was the senatorial 
delegate to the convention which nomi- 
nated Governor James A. Beaver, and 
from 1 89 1 to 1897 he served on the Lan- 
caster City school board. On April li, 
1899, he was appointed additional law 
judge of the Second Judicial District as 
successor of Hon. Henry Clay Brubaker, 
deceased, and having been nominated at 
the Republican primary election to this 
office he was at the November election 
of that year elected for a term of ten 
years. Upon the retirement of Judge 
Livingston he was on February 13, 1904, 
commissioned as President Judge At 
the November election of 1909 he was 
elected without opposition for another 
term of ten years, having received both 
the Republican and Democratic nomina- 
tions. On June 14, 1915, Judge Landis 
was elected president of the Lancaster 
Bar Association, to succeed the late W. 
U. Hensel. 

In business life he was, prior to his 
accession to the bench, active as an offi- 
cer and director of a number of corpo- 
rations. The Peoples National Bank and 
Greenwood Cemetery Company were or- 
ganized in his office, and he was on their 
boards of directors, as well as on that of 
the Peoples Trust Company, until he 
became judge, when he resigned. He has 
been for a number of years a director 
of the Peoples Building and Loan Asso- 
ciation, and he is now its vice-president. 

He was president of the commission 


which built the Thaddeus Stevens 
School buildings and he is now president 
of the board of trustees of the school, 
and president of the Thaddeus Stevens 
Home Board. He is president of the 
Henry G. Long Asylum, president of the 
A. Herr Smith Free Memorial Library, 
and a State trustee of the Millersville 
State Normal School. 

He is a member of the Pennsylvania 
State Bar Association, and has been one 
of its vice-presidents, and is a member of 
the American Bar Association. He was 
admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court 
of Pennsylvania, and to the bar of the 
Supreme Court of the United States. He 
is also a member of the Historical Society 
of Pennsylvania and of the Lancaster 
County Historical Society, and of the lat- 
ter he is one of the vice-presidents. He 
also belongs to the Pennsylvania German 
Society, the Genealogical Society, and 
the Hamilton Club of Lancaster City. 

In conjunction with the late Judge Bru- 
baker he, in 1883, started the "Lancaster 
Law Review," a legal paper which is yet 
successfully conducted by George Ross 
Eshleman, Esq. He has also been the 
author of various Acts of Assembly, 
among which was the act enabling de- 
fendants to enter pleas of guilty at any 
time without the intervention of a grand 
jury. He has been active in literary pur- 
suits, and has written sketches of the 
President Judges of this county, a his- 
tory of the District Court of Lancaster 
City and County, and monographs on 
other subjects. His term of office will 
expire on the first Monday in January, 

He was married, on September 5, 1888, 
to Jessie Amanda Witmer, daughter of 
the late Amos L. Witmer and Amanda 
Herr Witmer, of Paradise township, this 
county. Mrs. Landis was born in that 
township on February 20, 1857. 

KEENAN, General James, 

Distinguished Soldier, Diplomat. 

General James Keenan was born in 
Youngstown, Pennsylvania, November 16, 
1823, son of James and Isabella (John- 
ston) Keenan. The father died before 
the son reached manhood, and upon the 
latter largely devolved the care of the 
widowed mother and her younger chil- 
dren. His youth was filled with hard- 
ship and privations, all of which he man- 
fully met. Doubtless the adversities of 
his youthful days fitted him to perform 
the stern duties which confronted him in 
after years. 

He entered Mt. St. Mary's College at 
Emm,itsburg, Maryland, but his course 
was cut short by the breaking out of the 
Mexican War, in which he enlisted as a 
private in the Duquesne Grays of Pitts- 
burgh. In this company was also Rich- 
ard C. Drum, later General Drum, Adju- 
tant-General, United States Army. Going 
in the army to Mexico in 1846, the first 
year of the war, he became afflicted with 
a disease incident to the excessively hot 
climate, and returned home in 1847. O" 
his partial recovery he was commis- 
sioned lieutenant in the Eleventh Infan- 
try, United States Army, and was de- 
tailed to recruit for the service. In 1848, 
with his recruits, he returned to Mexico 
and remained in active field service until 
the war ended and his commission ex- 
pired. He proved himself a gallant and 
daring soldier in the war, and when he 
returned home found himself hailed as a 

In the fall of 1849 he was elected Reg- 
ister and Recorder of Westmoreland 
county, and he was reelected in 1852, ex- 
tending his term of office to six years. 
He proved himself an energetic and 
methodical officer, and he introduced 
many improvements in his office which 



were highly appreciated by its patrons. 
An ardent Democrat, his effective work 
for the party came to the notice of Gov- 
ernor Bigler, who on February 2, 1852, 
appointed him Adjutant-General of the 
State with the rank of Brigadier-General. 
In June of the same year President Pierce 
offered him the appointment of United 
States Consul to Hong Kong Island, 
which he held under advisement until 
October of the following year, when he 
resigned the adjutant-generalship and 
sailed for Hong Kong. He was con- 
tinued in the Hong Kong Consulate by 
President Buchanan, a fact which elo- 
quently testifies his ability as a diplomat, 
in a peculiarly trying field. In 1857 he 
returned on a visit to Greensburg, and 
was united in marriage with Elizabeth 
Barclay, a daughter of John Young Bar- 
clay, and a young woman of highly cul- 
tivated tastes and refinement. General 
and Mrs. Keenan at once sailed for Hong 
Kong. The duties of his position were 
burdensome, and the climate undermined 
his constitution. However, he discharged 
the duties of his office with scrupulous 
fidelity (under President Lincoln) until 
February 22, 1862, when he and his fam- 
ily sailed in the ship "Surprise" for the 
United States, arriving in New York on 
May 16th, after a voyage of nearly three 
months. For many weeks he was con- 
fined to his berth on board the ship, and 
was with difficulty removed to a hotel in 
New York. He gradually declined, and 
his death occurred in Blanchard's Hotel, 
New York City, on May 22nd, 1863, in 
the thirty-ninth year of his age. His 
body was conveyed to Greensburg, Penn- 
sylvania, and buried in the old St. Clair 
Cemetery, with one of the largest and 
most impressive funerals ever known 

General Keenan was a man of unusual 
qualities. He was fully six feet in height, 

and built in proportion, with dark eyes 
and black hair. Nature had endowed him 
with a fine intellect, which, with his noted 
physical strength, enabled him to press 
forward and surmount difficulties which 
would have overcome men of less native 
power. No young man in Pennsylvania 
had a more brilliant future before him 
than had he. From his jouth his career 
had been steadily upward and onward. 
He was generous, intrepid and courage- 
ous, yet gentle, kind and humane. He 
was noted for his courteous and graceful 
manners, not manners of an assumed 
sort, but those which resulted from a 
naturally generous and happy disposition. 
He had an unusually accurate knowledge 
of human character, and was seldom de- 
ceived in his estimates of men. In the 
dangers of battle he was never excited, 
surprised or disconcerted, but only 
aroused to cool and intrepid action. He 
is said to have possessed many of the 
qualities of a great com.mander, and had 
he engaged in the Civil War, as was his 
ardent desire, he would doubtless have 
distinguished himself as a leader of men 
in battle. Without the aid of fortune or 
even of influential friends, except those 
he won by the excellence of his character, 
he had risen step by step, without a single 
setback or defeat. The position which he 
occupied in the East became one of great 
importance at the time of the Sepoy mu- 
tiny and other Eastern troubles. He was 
with the United States Marines when the 
English took Canton, China, and the 
adjacent country. Later, he accompanied 
Commodore Perry on his memorable ex- 
pedition to open the Japanese ports to 
American commerce. 

General Keenan was the personal friend 
of General Lewis Cass, Secretary of War 
Simon Cameron, Governor Bigler. Gen- 
eral Henry D. Foster, and other distin- 
guished Democratic leaders. Though he 



read law in Greensburg, he never prac- 
ticed nor became known as a lawyer, yet 
his correspondence with the State De- 
partment in Washington City gave him 
high rank as an authority on International 
law. As in his military career, his life as 
a diplomat was cut short, and we can 
only surmise what he might have accom- 
plished had he lived to maturer years 
and riper wisdom. He died at an age 
when most men are content if they have 
but won a fair start in public life, yet he 
had accomplished more than many men 
of greater age and more ample oppor- 

SHINDEL, Charles Shoener, 

Fromineiit Man of Affairs. 

In the death of Charles Shoener Shin- 
del there was lost to Tamaqua and to the 
State of Pennsylvania a man to whose 
abilities and powers there was seemingly 
no end ; to whom in the future days there 
was promised much of fame and of repu- 
tation ; who in the conception and execu- 
tion of his ideas and ideals would have 
rendered services of value to town and 
State, which he had already begun ; whose 
career in the manufacturing world fore- 
told a captain of industry ; all thwarted 
by the chill hand of death. Son of a 
father whose name had known preemi- 
nence at the bar, he was by nature en- 
dowed with talents that qualified him for 
great things, and in the short time that 
he was granted the exercise of these 
faculties of exceptional merit he showed 
himself to be a worthy son, adding honor 
to the achievements of his sire. 

Conrad Shindel, father of Charles 
Shoener Shindel, was born at Lykens. 
Dauphin county, Pennsylvania, Novem- 
ber lo, 1836, died in Tamaqua, Schuyl- 
kill county, Pennsylvania, March 6, 1890. 
He obtained an excellent classical edu- 

cation in the Hartford Preparatory School 
and Franklin and Marshall College, at 
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, from which lat- 
ter institution he was graduated. Soon 
after the completion of his studies he 
entered the law office of George H. Mc- 
Cabe, an attorney of Tamaqua, and pass- 
ing highly satisfactory examinations was 
admitted to the bar of Schuylkill county 
in 1857, and from that time until his 
death constantly practiced in all the 
courts of the State. He had a large prac- 
tice in the Orphans' Court of the State, 
and was particularly skilled in the ad- 
justment of the estates of orphans and 
in making provision for their future wel- 
fare. He gained worthy position among 
his legal brethren of the State, which he 
maintained by the signally upright and 
honorable course he pursued throughout 
his entire professional relations, and no 
case was ever decided against him be- 
cause of an inferior display of legal knowl- 
edge. It is a subject for wonder that in 
spite of his engrossing professional duties 
and interests he should have found suffi- 
cient time to establish a reputation as a 
business man of natural sagacity and un- 
questioned ability. He was a partner in 
a stove manufacturing concern in Ta- 
maqua, known as Robinson & Company, 
which was merged in 1S82 with the Ta- 
maqua Manufacturing Company, in which 
latter organization Mr. Shindel was one 
of the principal stockholders, a director 
and solicitor. The Tamaqua Boot and 
Shoe Company was another of his inter- 
ests, and he held stock in the Pottsville 
Real Estate, Title, Insurance and Trust 
Company. In 1877 he purchased a farm 
one mile north of Tamaqua and erected 
thereon a handsome residence, where he 
spent his remaining years. He was a Re- 
publican in politics and in the Garfield 
campaign of 1881 was a presidential elec- 
tor from the State of Pennsylvania. Be- 



cause of his prominence in the legal pro- 
fession and his popularity with the lead- 
ers of the industrial interests of the State 
he was frequently pressed to announce 
his candidacy for State and national polit- 
ical office, being assured that he would 
be acceptable to a large majority of the 
voters of the State, but he never yielded 
to this persuasion, being content to con- 
fine his endeavors to his professional and 
business activities. He held membership 
in the Masonic order, and was promi- 
nent in the various organizations of that 
society. He married Mary I. Bailey. 

Charles Shoener Shindel, son of Con- 
rad and Mary I. (Bailey) Shindel, was 
born in Tamaqua, Schuylkill county, 
Pennsylvania. April 29, 1868, died in 1913. 
He obtained a wide and thorough educa- 
tion in the public schools of Tamaqua, 
Wyoming Seminary, and finally in Le- 
high University. Upon leaving college 
he entered his father's office to fit himself 
for the legal profession, but at the death 
of the elder Mr. Shindel he abandoned 
this intention and gave his entire atten- 
tion to the numerous business responsi- 
bilities that he had been gradually accu- 
mulating. He was the owner of consider- 
able timber land and a stockholder in the 
company developing the same, promoted 
the East Lehigh Colliery at Tamaqua. 
and besides holding title to valuable coal 
land, possessed a great deal of real estate 
in and around Tamaqua. He was a direc- 
tor of the Tamaqua National Bank and 
of the Tamaqua Building and Loan Asso- 
ciation, and president of the Tamaqua 
Manufacturing Company, a concern to 
whose management and direction he gave 
much of his personal attention. In all 
these organizations Mr. Shindel was the 
moving spirit, suggesting plans of pro- 
cedure here, disclosing defects in routine 
there, always advising well and, where 
necessary, bearing the burden of the 

proposed innovation u]jon his already 
heavily-laden shoulders. He took a spe- 
cial pride in the first-class institutions 
that grew up in the borough of Tamaqua, 
and ever counted it a privilege and pleas- 
ure to aid in any way their growth and 
prosperity. For two terms he was post- 
master of the borough and was also ele- 
vated to the office of chief burgess by his 
fellow-citizens, his administration being 
marked by the inauguration of many 
projects for the improvement and ad- 
vance of the town, which he carried on- 
ward to a successful consummation. He 
held a life membership in the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. The an- 
nouncement of his death, the victim of 
an autom,obile accident, came as a great 
shock to his many friends and admirers, 
who had been watching his career with 
close interest, marveling at the varied 
talents of the man. and taking pride in 
his high achievements. Lofty as were 
his accomplishments, his aims were yet 
more lofty, and with the clear purpose 
and strength of will that had marked his 
every action in the financial and indus- 
trial world, their attainment seemed but 
a matter of years. It is a striking ex- 
ample of the instability of life and the 
mutability of human purpose when such 
glowing prospects are dashed to earth, 
their subversion sudden and complete. 

The following testimonial, from the 
directors of the Tamaqua Manufacturing 
Company, was presented to his family : 

In memory of Charles Shoener Shindel, Presi- 
dent of the Tamaqua Manufacturing Company, 
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania. Whereas, knowing that 
by sudden death of our beloved President, 
Charles Shoener Shindel, we have lost one who, 
always having the good of others at heart, de- 
voted his time and personal attention without 
stint to their welfare, and to the many important 
interests with which he was identified brought 
the same qualities which made him prominent in 
the community as a man faithful, conscientious, 



and intellectual Citizen and President of Board 
of Directory with the same full measure of suc- 
cess that by his jovial, pleasant, and lovable dis- 
position endeared him to all. And knowing his 
departure will be greatly felt in this community 
by those who were brought into personal contact 
with him and especially by his family, to whom 
he was a most kind, generous, and devoted hus- 
band and father, and realizing what a shock and 
heart-rending grief it must bring to them and 
desiring to sympathize with them in this great 
affliction and bereavement we commend them to 
Almighty God, the Source of all comfort and 
consolation. Therefore be it resolved that a 
minute be made on our records and a copy of 
the same suitably engrossed be presented to the 
family Therefore be it resolved that every de- 
partment of the Tamaqua Manufacturing Com- 
pany be closed on the day of the funeral of our 
departed president. 

He married, February ii, 1895, Rosa 
Belle, daughter of Daniel and Mary I. 
(Boyer) Shepp. They were the parents 
of two children, who with his widow sur- 
vive him : Mary Louise, attends the Oak 
Lane Private School, and Isabelle, attends 
the Tamaqua public school. 

Daniel Shepp was a descendant of an 
old German family, Conrad Shepp, his 
grandfather, having been the emigrant 
ancestor of the name. Daniel Shepp, 
father of Daniel Shepp, was born Febru- 
ary 16, 1802, died in 1881. Daniel Shepp, 
father of Rosa Belle, spent his early life 
on the family homestead near Reading, 
where he attended the public schools, 
finishing his studies at the Unionville 
Academy, in Chester county. In 185 1, 
attracted by the tales that had come east 
of the vast fortunes to be had for the 
seeking in the gold fields of California, he 
and twenty others started for their El 
Dorado by way of the Isthmus of 
Panama. He remained in that region for 
seventeen months, with good success, 
saving $5,000 from the amount of the 
precious metal he was able to find. Need- 
less to say he was more successful than 

the majority of his companions, and when 
the pocket in which he had made his dis- 
covery was exhausted he returned east, 
a move showing wisdom which most of 
the gold-seekers lacked. Many of them 
were not content to return to their homes 
with so modest a sum, but spent it all in 
a vain search for their "big find." Arriv- 
ing in the east he secured a position as 
bookkeeper for W. H. Climer & Com- 
pany, of the Mount Laurel Furnace, re- 
maining in that employ for sixteen 
months. In March, 1854, he came to 
Tamaqua and there began the business 
operations by which he amassed a con- 
siderable fortune, gaining, as well, the 
reputation of one of the most shrewd and 
able financiers of Schuylkill county. His 
first venture was in partnership with A. 
W. Kaufifman and Daniel Baum, the trio 
building the stone flouring mills known 
as the Tamaqua Steam Mills operating 
for two years as Daniel Shepp & Com- 
pany. In 1856 Adam Aulthouse, his 
brother-in-law, purchased the interests of 
Messrs. Kaufifman and Baum, and until 
1861 the business was conducted as Shepp 
& Aulthouse, when H. F. Stidfole pur- 
chased Mr. Aulthouse's interest, and for 
the next six years the firm was known as 
Shepp & Stidfole. The Stidfole interest 
passed to Joseph and John Hirsh in 1867, 
the name becoming D. Shepp & Com- 
pany, and in 1891 Mr. Shepp became sole 
owner. His next deal was consummated 
on March i, 1869, when in company with 
Conrad Graeber and John Kempel he 
secured the lease of the Locust Gap Col- 
liery, in Northumberland county, and as 
Graeber & Shepp operated it for five 
years. At the end of this time Mr. Kem- 
pel withdrew from the firm, J. B. Hirsh, 
John Graham and Simon Stein buying his 
share of the capital stock and taking his 
place in the direction of the company's 
business. In December, 1882, Mr. Shepp 



became associated with Joseph Mitchell, 
operator of the West Lehigh Colliery, 
near Tamaqua. Four years later Daniel 
Shepp & Company, composed of Mr. 
Shepp, James Fitchorn and Joseph Zeh- 
ner, began the shipping of coal in Carbon 
county, and in the same year Mr. Shepp 
opened one of the largest veins in the 
anthracite coal region, ranging from one 
hundred and twenty-five to one hundred 
and fifty feet in thickness the product of 
which was sold to the Lehigh Coal and 
Navigation Company. He was, besides 
these busin'"^« connections, president of 
the Tamaqua Banking and Trust Com- 
pany, and the Edison Illuminating and 
Power Company. Nor were his opera- 
tions only local in character. He was 
the owner of six thousand acres of rich 
timber land near Lock Haven, Pennsyl- 
vania, and in order to furnish proper 
facilities for the development of the tract 
and the shipping of the lumber he caused 
a ten-mile railroad spur to be built con- 
necting with the New York & Erie rail- 
road. He also held title to four thousand 
acres of heavily timbered land in Lycom- 
ing county, and leased three thousand 
acres with ten miles of railroad connect- 
ing with the Pine Creek railroad at Camp- 
bell Station. The Texas & Oregon rail- 
road connected with the Pine Creek Road 
at Campbell Station and in the former 
company he owned considerable stock, 
so that he was able to arrange shipping 
accommodations with much greater ease 
than would have otherwise been possible. 
Of the Blue Mountain Manufacturing 
Company, controlling thirteen thousand 
acres of timber land in Schuylkill county, 
he was president, the product of the com- 
pany being mining supplies of all kinds. 
The variety of his industrial connections 
served admirably to give an impression 
of the character of the man. Vast as was 
the difference between them, his mind 

was master of the details of each, and he 
was the mainspring action about which 
the success of the various eMterpri.-5es 

Mr. Shepp was a Democrat in political 
action and gave freely of his time and 
service to his borough, being for twenty- 
eight years of his residence in Tamaqua 
a member of the council, and for twenty- 
four of the twenty-eight its energetic 
president. Many were the ordinances 
that have added to the town's attractive- 
ness as a place of homes that originated 
in his discerning mind, and numerous 
the civic reforms that he fostered. And 
in the cares of the business world he was 
mindful of the finer side of life, serving 
Trinity Reformed Church as elder from 
the time of its organization until his 
death, and for thirty-six consecutive 
years he was superintendent of the Sun- 
day school of that denomination, both 
remarkable records of religious fidelity 
and constancy. He fraternized with the 
Masonic order, belonging to Tamaqua 
Lodge, No. 38, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons ; Tamaqua Chapter, No. 117, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Ivanhoe Commandery, 
Knights Templar; the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows ; Ringgold Lodge, No. 
318, of which he was past grand and for 
over thirty years treasurer, and Scott En- 
campment, No. 132, of which he was also 
a past officer. 

Mr. Shepp married, October 14, 1857, 
Mary Isabelle, daughter of Joshua and 
Susanna Boyer. 


Lavryer, filan of Affairs. 

The association in one personality of 
an astute lawyer and an able business 
man is of rare occurrence, yet this infre- 
quent combination is finely exemplified 
in the character of Edwin S. Templeton. 



of Greenville, assistant general counsel 
for the Bessemer & Lake Erie railroad, 
and president of the Greenville Gas Com- 
pany. Mr. Templeton is descended on 
both sides from Pennsylvania ancestry. 

Chambers Templeton, father of Edwin 
S. Templeton, w^as born in Armstrong 
county, and was for many years engaged 
in mercantile business. In 1849 he was 
one of the argonauts who journeyed to 
California in quest of gold, and spent sev- 
eral years in that then enchanted region. 
In 1869 he settled in Greenville and for 
a number of years thereafter operated a 
flour mill at Sharpsvillc. He was a Re- 
publican in politics, and, while always 
interested in public afifairs, took no par- 
ticularly active part in their conduct and 
management. He married Susan J. Moss- 
man, a native of Mercer county, who died 
in December, 1872, and whom he sur- 
vived until July 13, 1897. For seven 
years he was a member of the school 

Edwin S. Templeton, son of Chambers 
and Susan J. (Mossman) Templeton, was 
born April 23, 1854, at Brady's Bend, 
Armstrong county, Pennsylvania, and re- 
ceived his preparatory education in the 
public schools of his native place and of 
Greenville, afterward entering Thiel Col- 
lege, whence he graduated in 1875. He 
then studied at the Columbia Law School, 
Washington, District of Columbia, gradu- 
ating in 1877, and while a law student 
held a clerkship in the United States 
Treasury Department. 

After graduating from the law school, 
Mr. Templeton did not at once begin 
practice, his inclination for business as- 
serting itself and prompting him to seek 
the oil field of Bradford, Pennsylvania, 
and there to spend tvv'o years in the oil 
industry. At the end of that time he set- 
tled in Greenville and entered upon the 
practice of his profession, in which he 

has ever since been continuously engaged 
in the same place. He practices in all 
the State and Federal courts, and is rec- 
ognized as one of the leaders of the bar 
in Western Pennsylvania, his compre- 
hensive knowledge of the law, thorough 
familiarity with all the details of his pro- 
fession and skill as a practitioner, placing 
him in the front rank of his associates. 

As a business man Mr. Templeton is 
widely known and is regarded as an au- 
thority in matters financial. He is presi- 
dent not only of the Greenville Gas Com- 
pany, but also of the Mercer County Gas 
Company, and of the Ashtabula Gas Com- 
pany. He is a director of the Greenville 
Silica Company and the Greenville Steel 
Car Company, being also associated with 
various other corporations and com- 
panies. In several States of the Union 
he is known and highly esteemed as a 
man influentially active in the conduct of 
extensive enterprises. In politics Mr. 
Templeton has usually associated with 
the Republicans, and has always been 
actively interested in local. State and 
national afifairs, but has never been a 
place-seeker, the only political office 
which he has ever held being that of 
member of the school board, in which 
capacity he has served twelve years. He 
belongs to the State and County Bar 
associations and affiliates with the Ma- 
sonic fraternity, both chapter and com- 
mandery. He and his family are mem- 
bers of the Presbyterian church. 

Mr. Templeton married, July 27, 1887. 
Clara, daughter of H. N. and Mary E. 
(Buchanan) Shrom, of Greenville, and 
they are the parents of four daughters : 
Mary B. ; Florence S. ; Susan M. ; and 
Ruth. Mr. Templeton is a man whose 
genial nature and courteous and aflfable 
manners have drawn around him many 
friends, and he and his family enjoy a 
high degree of personal popularity, being 



prominent in the social life of their com- 
munity. One of his distinf^aiishing traits 
is loyalty to youthful friendships and 
associations, a striking instance of this 
being furnished by the fact that for some 
years he has served on the Ijoard of trus- 
tees of his alma mater, Thiel College. 

Such men as Mr. Templeton are at once 
the strength and motive power of their 
communities, and the progress and pros- 
perity of his home city are largely due 
to his public-spirited efforts and to the 
impetus imparted to all its best interests 
by his vitalizing energy and well-directed 

DAVIDSON. George, 

Financier, Enterprising Citizen. 

George Davidson, a resident of Beaver, 
and president of the First National Bank 
of Beaver Falls, has for the last quarter 
of a century been a prominent factor in 
the financial and business world of his 
community, where his loyalty and public 
spirit in all matters afifecting progress 
and improvement have ever been of the 
most insistent order. 

Mr. Davidson is a descendant of ances- 
tors who as Protestants were driven by 
religious persecution from their native 
Scotland and took refuge in the northern 
counties of the Green Isle, their children 
and grandchildren forming that stalwart 
Scotch-Irish stock which has given to the 
United States some of her best and ablest 
citizens. The founder of the American 
branch of the Davidson family came, 
about 1695, from the North of Ireland 
and settled near Harrisburg, Cumber- 
land Valley, Pennsylvania. It is a note- 
worthy fact that he had lived in London- 
derry during the famous siege of that city 
by the English. 

William Davidson, grandfather of 
George Davidson, of Beaver, was born 

I'ebruary 14, 1783, at Carlisle, Cumber- 
land county, Pennsylvania, and in 1808 
settled in Fayette county, in the same 
State. His first important position was 
that of manager of Laurel Furnace, and 
later he became ironmaster at Breakneck. 
Air. Davidson was a recognized leader in 
the public affairs of Fayette county, and 
stood high in the confidence and esteem 
of his fellow-citizens, as appears from the 
fact that he was a member of both the 
Senate and House of Pennsylvania, serv- 
ing also as speaker of the latter body. 
His influence among his colleagues in the 
legislature was very great. Mr. David- 
son married Sarah Rogers, a woman of 
strong personality and a high order of 
intellect, and they became the parents of 
three sons — among them, Daniel R., men- 
tioned below — and two daughters. 

Daniel R. Davidson, son of William 
and Sarah (Rogers) Davidson, was born 
January 12, 1820, at Connellsville, Penn- 
sylvania, where the greater portion of his 
life was passed. At the age of twenty- 
one he became interested in the project 
of the railroad from Pittsburgh to Con- 
nellsville, and was instrumental in secur- 
ing rights of way and funds with which 
to further the undertaking. The road 
was completed in five years and became 
a power in developing the business re- 
sources of this part of the State. Later, 
Colonel Davidson — as he was always 
called — promoted the Fayette County 
railroad, and he was also one of the pro- 
moters of the Southwestern Pennsyl- 
vania railroad. His fine business abilities 
were not devoted to the development of 
railroads alone, but were also of inestima- 
ble service in utilizing the resources of 
the great coking-coal lands in Fayette 
county. He was the owner of two plants 
in the coke region and one of the largest 
owners of coal lands in Western Pennsyl- 
vania. He was president of the Shoe & 



Leather Bank and one of the organizers 
of the Commercial National Bank of 
Pittsburgh, a director of the Pittsburgh 
National Bank of Commerce and the 
Southwest Pennsylvania railroad. Colo- 
nel Davidson married Margaret C. John- 
ston, daughter of Alexander and Mar- 
garet Clark Johnston, of Connellsville, 
Pennsylvania, a v^'oman of rare beauty, 
broad culture and artistic temperament, 
and twelve children were born to them, 
among whom were the following: George, 
mentioned below ; James J., a sketch of 
whom appears elsewhere in this work ; 
and Frederick, a prominent business man 
of Beaver Falls. Colonel Davidson re- 
sided on his farm near Connellsville until 
1865, widely sought as a counsellor in 
business, politics and personal matters. 
Though actively interested in public 
affairs he could never be prevailed upon 
to accept ofifice. At the time of his death, 
which occurred in 1884, he was one of the 
most prominent men, not only in his own 
county, but also in Western Pennsyl- 

George Davidson, seventh child of Dan- 
iel R. and Margaret C. (Johnston) David- 
son, was born October 13, 1859, ^^ Con- 
nellsville, Fayette county, Pennsylvania, 
and when he was but eight years of age 
the family removed to Beaver county. He 
became a student in Beaver Seminary. In 
1877 he entered Bethany College, Beth- 
any, West Virginia, remaining three 
years, and becoming, at the end of that 
period, associated in business with his 
father. After the death of the latter he 
entered the service of the West Newton 
Paper Company, but at the end of a year 
went west, and during the next two years 
prospected in the Rocky mountains. Re- 
turning to Beaver again in 1887, Mr. 
Davidson was appointed deputy prothon- 
otary of the county, but resigned at the 
end of a year in order to accept the posi- 
tion of cashier of the Old National Bank 

of New Brighton. During the interven- 
ing years to the present time he has been 
connected with that institution as cashier, 
vice-president and president. Since 1905 
he has also held the ofifice of president of 
the First National Bank of Beaver Falls, 
and he is recognized as one of the most 
capable and reliable financiers in West- 
ern Pennsylvania. One of his qualifica- 
tions is that of far-sighted sagacity, and 
of this he gave signal proof during the 
panic of 1892-93. At that trying period 
Mr. Davidson was one of the few bankers 
in Beaver county who appreciated the 
necessity for a clearing house and advo- 
cated its organization. He continued to 
do so until 1897, when, through the co- 
operation of other bankers, he succeeded 
in organizing the Beaver County Clear- 
ing House Association and became its 
first manager. Mr. Davidson is director 
of the Davidson Ore Mining Company, 
the Union Drawn Steel Company, the 
Beaver Clay Manufacturing Company 
and the Second New Brighton Building 
and Loan Association. He belongs to 
the board of trustees of the Beaver 
County Children's Home. 

Mr. Davidson is aligned as a supporter 
of the principles and policies of the Re- 
publican party, inasmuch as they are in 
accord with his political convictions, and 
he is sincerely interested in community 
affairs, being ever in sympathy with all 
measures and enterprises projected for 
the furtherance of the general welfare. 
In 1912 he was elected a delegate to the 
Republican National Convention in ChiT 
cago from the Beaver Congressional Dis- 
trict. Mr. Davidson enjoys the high de- 
gree of social popularity which, in any 
community, would inevitably be accorded 
him as a cultured gentleman, genial and 
courteous and possessing those sterling 
traits of character which never fail to 
command respect. 

Mr. Davidson married, February 14, 



1883, Mary, daughter of the Hon. Samuel 
B. and Elizabeth (Robinson) Wilson. A 
sketch of Mr. Wilson appears on another 
page of this work. Mr. and Mrs. David- 
son are the parents of six children : Wil- 
liam and Mary, deceased ; Daniel R., en- 
gaged in the banking business at New 
Brighton ; Elizabeth, wife of Walter C. 
Durfee, of Boston, Mas.sachusetts ; Mar- 
garet J. ; and Samuel Karl, a student at 
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, 
New York. The family are prominent in 
the best social life of Beaver Valley, and 
their beautiful home, "Westview," with 
its charming scenery, is noted as a centre 
of refinement and most generous hospital- 
ity. Mrs. Davidson is a native of Beaver 
county, where her early life was passed. 
She has inherited her father's keen intel- 
lect, remarkable memory and oratorical 
ability, and her work as a reader, marked 
as it is by eloquent and delicately appre- 
ciative interpretation, is surpassed by few 
professionals. Miss Margaret J. David- 
son is now doing post-graduate work 
under Dr. Arthur Reginald Little, direc- 
tor of the Conservatory of Music. Noted 
musical critics have united in bestowing 
a high degree of praise on Miss David- 
son's talent and work, which are both of 
rare and exceptional excellence. 

Mr. Davidson is one of those men who 
are valuable wherever found, essential as 
their presence is to the well-being of any 
community — men of business ability and 
integrity of character, who place duty be- 
fore every other consideration and po.s- 
sess the courage of their convictions. 

BAUGH, Daniel, 

Man of Large Affairs, Philanthropist. 

Seldom, indeed, is it that the different 
elements and interests essential to the 
progress and well-being of a great city 
are represented and strengthened by the 

same man, but a notable exemplification 
of wide-reaching and comprehensive force 
is furnished by the career of Daniel 
Baugh, of Philadelphia, president of the 
celebrated Baugh & Sons Company, and 
for more than a half century prominently 
identified with all the most vital interests 
of the metropolis of Pennsylvania. Mr. 
Baugh is a representative of one of those 
old German families which, from an early 
period in our colonial history, have con- 
tributed so largely to the upbuilding of 
the commonwealth. 

Bach (as the name was origi- 
nally spelled), great-great-grandfather of 
Daniel Baugh, emigrated from Germany 
not many years prior to the Revolution- 
ary War, and purchased land in Tredy- 
fTryn township, Chester county, Pennsyl- 
vania, founding a home for himself and 
his descendants. His son, John Baugh, 
and his grandson, Daniel Baugh, were 
born on the homestead. 

John Pugh Baugh, son of Daniel 
Baugh, was born on the ancestral estate, 
and when a young man served in the war 
of 1812. In i860 he removed to Philadel- 
phia, and during the remainder of his life 
was identified with the manufacturing 
interests of that city. He was a leading 
citizen, taking a public-spirited interest 
in municipal affairs, and it was in his 
honor that the John P. Baugh public 
school received its name. Mr. Baugh 
married Hannah Krauser, of an old Ger- 
man family of Chester county, and two 
sons and two daughters were born to 
them. Of these, all of whom reached 
maturity, Daniel (mentioned below) is 
the sole survivor. 

Daniel Baugh, son of John Pugh and 
Hannah (Krauser) Baugh, was born Oc- 
tober 22, 1836, in Chester county, and 
received his early education at a private 
academy presided over by the late Pro- 
fessor James McClune. Upon the re- 



moval of this preceptor from Chester 
county to the Philadelphia high school, 
Daniel was sent to Norristown to con- 
tinue his studies at the Fremont Semi- 
nary, where he was fully prepared to 
enter college. The conditions of his 
father's business being such as to require 
his assistance, he relinquished the pros- 
pect of a collegiate course and returned 
home, entering at once upon an active 
business career. His intellect, however, 
was of that order which can safely be 
trusted to guide its own development, 
and the leisure hours which he devoted 
to the acquisition of knowledge were 
richer in results than are years spent by 
the average youth in college or univer- 

The business with which Mr. Baugh 
thus early became associated was a suc- 
cessor to one founded by his great-grand- 
father, John Baugh, who had been en- 
gaged in tanning or in some way con- 
nected with the leather trade. Daniel 
Baugh, the grandfather, and his brothers, 
owned four or five tanneries in Chester 
county until the scarcity of bark and the 
introduction of more advanced methods 
compelled the removal of the business to 
the more sparsely settled and better 
wooded sections of Pennsylvania. In 
consequence of this, John Pugh Baugh 
decided in 1853 to direct his energies into 
some new channel, and after a year or 
two of experimental and technical inves- 
tigation on the subject of crop fertiliza- 
tion by artificial and chemical means — an 
investigation in which he was assisted 
by his two sons, Edwin P. and Daniel — 
the time seemed to have arrived for the 
inauguration of the new enterprise. The 
power and machinery incidental to the 
old business were utilized in the new, and 
in 1855 the firm of Baugh & Sons was 
established and the manufacture of super- 
phosphate begun. During the first year 

the product of the works was quickly 
absorbed by a purely local demand and 
it became evident that the facilities were 
inadequate for the supply of the rapidly 
opening field. In 1856 a special plant 
was erected at Downingtown, on Brandy- 
wine creek, and in i860 was moved to 
Philadelphia, the Delaware River Chemi- 
cal Works being then established. The 
ensuing years witnessed the addition of 
new lines of manufacture pertaining to 
chemicals and kindred products, and the 
business rapidly assumed a very high de- 
gree of scientific importance. 

In 1887 the firm was incorporated under 
the laws of Pennsylvania, with Edwin P. 
Baugh as president, the father and senior 
partner having died in 1881, at the age of 
eighty-five. In 1888 occurred the death 
of Edwin P. Baugh, and since that event 
Daniel Baugh has been the active head 
of this famous concern. Under his able 
management, directed by sound judg- 
ment, far-sighted sagacity and unfalter- 
ing enterprise, the Delaware River Chem- 
ical Works has become one of the leading 
establishments of its kind in the world, 
and now comprises, in many respects, a 
unique and interesting group of scientific 
operations, requiring precisely that policy 
of fearless and enlightened progressive- 
ness wisely tempered by cool conserva- 
tism which has ever been the distinctive 
feature of Mr. Baugh's administration. 
In 1888 a branch office was established 
at Norfolk, Virginia, where a manufac- 
turing plant is now in process of erection. 
In 1903 the Baugh Chemical Company of 
Baltimore was organized, and has be- 
come a very important adjunct to the 

Of all these allied concerns, Mr. Baugh 
is president, being also sole owner of the 
Baugh & Sons Company, while in the 
two concerns established later, which are 
close corporations, he is the principal 



shareholder. Born to command, wise to 
plan, he is quick in action and capable of 
prolonged labor with the power of close 
concentration. He possesses that stern 
and inflexible sense of commercial justice 
— to himself and to others — which makes 
for the prosperity of those associated 
with him. It is such men that the world 
needs — men of unquestioned integrity 
and honor, capable of managing gigantic 
commercial and industrial concerns and 
conducting business on terms fair alike 
to employer and employed. When there 
are more m,en of this type the world-old 
controversy between capital and labor 
will be forever at rest. 

The inexhaustible energy of Mr. Baugh, 
together with his ability to give due at- 
tention to a variety of interests, has en- 
abled him to associate himself with nu- 
merous institutions. He is a director in 
the Girard National Bank, the Delaware 
Insurance Company and the Philadelphia 
Bourse ; a member of the board of trus- 
tees of Jefferson Medical College and 
Hospital, and of Rush Hospital, and one 
of the managers of Howard Hospital. He 
is president of the School of Design for 
Women, trustee of the Philadelphia Mu- 
seum and a member of the Permanent 
Relief Committee of Philadelphia. 

In his early manhood the business 
career of Mr. Baugh, like that of many 
another man of his generation, was inter- 
rupted by the Civil War. In 1862 he 
enlisted as a private in the Grey Reserves 
of Philadelphia, and served with his regi- 
ment when it was sent by Governor Cur- 
tin to the defense of Pennsylvania at that 
crisis in our national history when Gen- 
eral Lee, with a vast army, threatened 
the invasion of the North. The Grey Re- 
serves were sent over the State lines 
about the time the battles of South Moun- 
tain and Antietam were fought, and were 
mrr-cr] from r oint to point between W^il- 

liamsjjort, Maryland, and Boonsboro dur- 
ing the days immediately following the 
latter engagement. When the service of 
his company was completed, Mr. Jau?^'. 
returned home and resumed his place in 
the business world. 

Despite the exceptional success achiev- 
ed by Mr. Baugh as a business man, it is 
a mistake to think of him chiefly in that 
character. The fact that his commercial 
triumphs never interfered with steadfast 
devotion to the highest purposes of his 
life is the strongest proof of that com- 
manding intellect and capacious heart 
which have won for him the respect and 
love of his fellow-men. For twelve years 
he was president of the Sanitarium As- 
sociation, during which time this noble 
charity outgrew its restricted quarters on 
Windmill Island and was successfully 
transplanted to its own land in a beau- 
tiful park at Red Bank, on the shores of 
the Delaware. 

Since June 2, 1896, Mr. Baugh has been 
a member of the board of trustees of 
Jefiferson Medical College and Hospital, 
and he has ever since been the moving 
spirit of that institution, serving on the 
college committee and as chairman of the 
hospital committee of the board. He was 
one of the most active members of the 
building committee which erected the 
present hospital structure (1904-07), not 
only raising the majority of the funds 
for this purpose, but, in association with 
Mr. Alba B. Johnson, superintending the 
construction. Under their watchful and 
economic care the building was com- 
pleted at a cost of a little over $900,000, 
thus saving the institution over $300,000, 
as compared with the bids of $1,250,000 
received for the work. Mr. Baugh was 
also chairman of the committee entrusted 
with the furnishing and equipment of the 
hospital, and later he personally raised 
the funds to provide two electric ambu- 



lances. He has now undertaken to re- 
install a much enlarged and thoroughly 
equipped X-ray department. The total 
valuation of this institution at the time 
Mr. Baugh became connected with it was 
less than $400,000, while today, owing to 
the energetic cooperation of Mr. Baugh 
and Mr. Johnson, with the efforts of 
President Potter, it is valued at over $2,- 
000,000. Jeflferson Hospital is now re- 
cognized as the most modern institution 
of the kind in the world, and this is very 
largely due to the fact that the policy 
pursued by Mr. Baugh has been never 
to consider that a state of perfection has 
been reached, but to constantly remem- 
ber that the institution must either ad- 
vance or recede. In following this course 
Mr. Baugh has distinctly displayed one of 
his most marked characteristics — that of 
desiring nothing but the best and of 
never resting satisfied until the best is 
obtained. He is a man of high ideals — 
and which is more remarkable — one who 
never relaxes his efforts until those ideals 
are realized. 

It is stated on the authority of Dr. 
Copeland, superintendent of Jefiferson 
Hospital, that when Mr. Baugh is in the 
city there is seldom a day on which he 
does not spend some time at the hospi- 
tal, deciding, with characteristic prompt- 
ness and accuracy, the various problems 
of policy and administration submitted to 
him. He possesses the rare faculty of 
being able to inspire others with his own 
enthusiasm, and, in consequence of this, 
when funds were to be raised, he has, 
first giving liberally himself, accom- 
plished, with marvellous celerity, the 
seemingly impossible. 

President William Potter has said of 
Mr. Baugh that he is the most valuable 
man ever connected with the board of 
trustees of Jefiferson Medical College and 
Hospital, contributing as he has, not only 
of his means, but his time and his intel- 

ligence, applying to the conduct of its 
affairs the same remarkable administra- 
tive abilities which he brings to bear 
upon his business transactions. 

After having for many years contri- 
buted largely to Jefferson Hospital, Mr. 
Baugh has recently made the College the 
special object of his munificence by pre- 
senting to it the building of the old Penn- 
sylvania Dental College, which he pur- 
chased at his own expense. He is re- 
modeling the structure and fitting it up 
with every facility, intending to make it 
the finest museum of anatomy in the 
United States. When completed it will 
represent a gift of over one hundred 
thousand dollars. The board of trustees 
of the college have ordered that this 
building shall always be known as the 
Daniel Baugh Institute of Anatomy. 

For nearly a quarter of a century Mr. 
Baugh has been president of the School 
of Design for Women, an institution for 
the training of young women in the field 
of applied art, as designers, in order to 
enable them to become self-supporting. 
The school now occupies a historic 
building, once the residence of Edwin 
Forrest, which was purchased and en- 
larged for the institution and is now free 
from incumbrance. The management is 
entrusted to men and women who take 
a personal interest in the progress and 
success of the students, and it would be 
impossible to estimate the good that has 
been accomplished by this noble institu- 

In 1887 Mr. Baugh was one of the or- 
ganizers of the Philadelphia Art Club, 
and six months later became its treas- 
urer, an office which he held until 1892, 
when he resigned in order to accept the 
presidency. To this position he was re- 
elected for nine consecutive years, re- 
signing in September, 1901, by reason of 
increasing business obligations. During 
his administration the organization de- 


encyclopp:dia of biography 

veloped from an undertaking of very un- 
certain promise into one of the most pros- 
perous and popular social organizations 
of Philadelphia. Since the completion of 
the club's art galleries, annual exhibitions 
have been held, open to competition, by 
American artists, and there have also 
been monthly exhibits of the work of 
artist members of the club, free of ex- 
pense. During the first few years of its 
existence the club passed through some 
very discouraging phases in its efforts to 
establish in practical form its organic 
provision, that the artistic and social in- 
terests of club life must cooperate for the 
common good. How well Mr. Baugh 
succeeded in harmonizing these elements 
and in overcoming all obstacles to the 
club's progress is evident in the personal 
popularity and hearty support accorded 
him by all its members and in the attain- 
ment of the present prosperity of the 
club along the lines of its original aims. 
Several times during the latter years of 
his presidency he strongly objected to his 
renomination, but was loyally voted in, 
and he was finally forced to insist upon 
the acceptance of his resignation. Upon 
that occasion appreciative resolutions 
were passed by the board of directors, 
and at a dinner given in his honor by the 
club, not long after, he was presented 
with a magnificent loving cup. 

The Art Federation was a monument 
to Mr. Baugh's public spirit as applied to 
municipal affairs, in connection with art. 
Its organization, in 1900, was chiefly ow- 
ing to his efforts and he was elected its 
first president. For two years this body 
concentrated its energies on the project 
of securing a magnificent boulevard to 
run diagonally through the city from the 
city hall to Fairmount Park. In his en- 
thusiastic leadership of this movement 
Mr. Baugh rendered most valuable ser- 
vice until a point was reached when it 
became advisable to form a new organi- 

zation with which the Art Federation was 
merged — the Parkway Association, which 
has since accomplished, with some slight 
changes, the original project. 

Another movement in which Mr. 
Baugh was keenly interested was the es- 
tablishment of the Museum of Archae- 
ology and Palaeontology and the forma- 
tion of the Aichaeological Association, 
and in 1891, in association with others, 
he was instrumental in founding the De- 
partment of Archaeology and Palaeon- 
tology of the University of Pennsylvania. 
In 1894 Dr. Pepper resigned as provost 
of the university in order to accept the 
presidency of this department, devoting 
his few remaining years to a strenuous 
effort to make it one of the foremost in- 
stitutions of its kind in the United States. 
Upon the death of Dr. Pepper Mr. Baugh 
was elected his successor, and for sev- 
eral years devoted his best efforts to the 
successful discharge of this great trust. 
During his administration the department 
was brought to its present state of com- 
pleteness and efficiency and the present 
wing of the Museum of Science and Art 
was erected, the large collections of Egyp- 
tian, Babylonian and Mediterranean ob- 
jects being installed therein. Upon its for- 
mal transfer to the trustees of the uni- 
versity Mr. Baugh made the presentation 
address, and soon after, considering the 
period of his greatest usefulness to the 
institution terminated, he resigned the 
presidency. The strongest possible efforts 
were made to induce him to reconsider 
his resignation, but, needless to say, 
without effect, Mr. Baugh adhering to 
his resolution with the quiet force and 
persistency characteristic of men of his 

On January i, 1898, in association with 
Dr. William Pepper and other eminent 
physicians of Philadelphia, Mr. Baugh 
established the "Philadelphia Medical 
Journal," which he conducted as president 


for six years, when it was merged with 
the "New York Medical Journal." In 
this undertaking Mr. Baugh had the co- 
operation of the finest medical and scien- 
tific minds in the largest cities of the 
United States, and as the "Philadelphia 
Medical Journal" the magazine attained 
not only a wide circulation and high de- 
gree of popularity among American phy- 
sicians, but an exalted international repu- 

The social affiliations of Mr. Baugh in- 
clude membership in the Union League 
Club, Philadelphia Art Club, Markham 
Club, Penn Club, Racquet Club, Merion 
Cricket Club, Corinthian Yacht Club and 
Philadelphia Country Club. Personally, 
Mr. Baugh is a man of large stature, of 
imposing presence, his strong, clear-cut 
features, notably the determined chin, 
denoting the force and intensity which 
have forbidden him to recognize defeat, 
or even its possibility, while the eyes, 
which look the beholder straight in the 
face with a glance piercing yet kindly, 
are those of one accustomed to reading 
the future and facing with undaunted 
courage crises which would appall men 
of less heroic mould. He possesses that 
greatest of all assets — personality, and 
the dominant expression conveyed by 
that personality is strength. He is full 
of intellectual and physical vitality, in 
perfect command of his bodily and men- 
tal powers, and capable of accomplish- 
ing a greater amount of work than many 
men of half his years. His silvered hair 
and moustache, together with his digni- 
fied bearing, give him a singular air of 
distinction, while his manner, at once 
courtly and genial, wins while it controls. 

Mr. Baugh married, October 22, 1861, 
at Downingtown, Chester county, Penn- 
sylvania, Anna, daughter of Allen Wood 
Wills, of that place, and they have been 
the parents of four children : John Pugh, 
who died at the age of seven years ; Ed- 

win Pugh, married, in 1898, Grace, 
daughter of the late Howard Munnik- 
huysen, one of the most prominent law- 
yers and capitalists of Baltimore, and 
lives in a beautiful country seat built by 
him on the banks of the Severn, near 
Annapolis, Maryland ; Elizabeth, wife of 
Benjamin Harris Brewster, Jr., of Balti- 
more ; and Paul Daniel, married Joseph- 
ine Fay Glaser, of Asheville, North 
Carolina, and is now in Europe. Mr. 
Baugh has five grandchildren, two girls 
and three boys. By his marriage Mr. 
Baugh gained the life companionship of 
a charming and congenial woman, one of 
those rare women who combine with per- 
fect womanliness and domesticity an un- 
erring judgment, traits of the greatest 
value to her husband, to whom she is not 
alone a charming companion, but a con- 
fidante and adviser. Mrs. Baugh has 
for many years been the moving spirit 
in the Institute of Sheltering Arms, as 
also in the Women's Directory, and is 
actively identified with various other 
public and private charities. 

A man of strong domestic tastes and 
affections, Mr. Baugh is devoted to his 
family and friends, and his beautiful 
home, built by himself nearly a score of 
years ago, is a centre of gracious hospi- 
tality, Mrs. Baugh being one of the city's 
most tactful and popular hostesses. The 
house is modestly, not profusely, enrich- 
ed with mementoes of travel, Mr. Baugh 
having, for the last thirty-five years, spent 
at least five or six months annually in the 
Old World. His delight in ancient his- 
tory has carried him twice around the 
globe, to every island and coast in the 
Mediterranean, and has taken him many 
times to the banks of the Nile. 

The city of Philadelphia was named by 
William Penn and his associates in re- 
cognition of those principles of peace and 
good will which they believed to be in 
accordance with the highest ideals of 


life. Those principles, albeit not always 
manifested precisely after the manner of 
the founders, continue, after the lapse of 
more than two centuries, to animate 
Philadelphians of the present day. Es- 
pecially is the City of Brotherly Love 
made to verify its name by men who, 
while they increase its material prosper- 
ity and advance it in the realms of art, 
literature and science, minister to its suf- 
fering and afflicted and labor for the up- 
lifting of humanity — men of the type of 
Daniel Baugh. 

GILPIN, Washington Hood, 

Prominent liaTPyer. 

Prior to 183 1 the progenitors of Wash- 
ington Hood Gilpin were residents of the 
State of Delaware, Chester county, Penn- 
sylvania, Warborough. Oxfordshire, 
England, descendants of Richard de 
Gylpyn, to whom the Baron of Kendal 
granted the estate of Kentmere, county 
of Westmoreland, in or about the year 
1206, King John then monarch of Eng- 
land. The name and family of Gilpin is 
doubtless of Norman origin, as the name, 
traced from authentic English records for 
eight generations, was spelled de Gylpyn. 
Genealogical records of the family, care- 
fully collected and preserved, showing 
the descent from Richard de Gylpyn, may 
be seen in the Gilpin Library of the His- 
torical Society of Pennsylvania. 

Joseph Gilpin, the American ancestor, a 
lineal descendant of Richard de Gylpyn, 
came to Pennsylvania with his wife and 
two children in 1695, landing at New 
Castle. He settled in Concord township, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, prospered, 
and became one of the prominent Friends 
of Concord Meeting. He married Han- 
nah Glover, and of their fifteen children 
but one died under the age of sixty years. 
At the death of Joseph Gilpin, November 
9. ^739. he had forty-five living grand- 

PEN— Vol VI-9 I 

children, and at the death of Hannah 
(Glover) Gilpin, January 12, 1757, all 
fifteen of her children had married, twelve 
of them were living, there were sixty-two 
grandchildren and nearly as many great- 
grandchildren, one hundred and thirty- 
three living descendants in all. The line 
of descent to Washington Hood Gilpin 
is through Joseph, eighth child of the 
founder, who in 1761 moved to near Wil- 
mington, Delaware; his son Vincent, a 
flour mill owner and shipping merchant 
of Wilmington ; his son Edward, a mer- 
chant of Wilmington until 1831, then a 
resident of Philadelphia ; his son Charles, 
father of Washington Hood, Hood and 
Bernard, all eminent members of the 
Philadelphia bar, another son, Charles, 
choosing a business career. 

Charles Gilpin, youngest child of Ed- 
ward and Lydia (Grubb) Gilpin, was 
born in Wilmington, Delaware, Novem- 
ber 17, 1809, died in Philadelphia. He 
was admitted to the Philadelphia bar in 
1834, and was there in practice for half 
a century. He was also distinguished in 
public life as a member of Common 
Council in 1839, Select Council in 1840, 
mayor in 1850, serving three years, so- 
licitor to the sherifif, 1858 to 1883, with 
the exception of two terms. United States 
Attorney for the Eastern District of 
Pennsylvania, 1864-1868, and supervisor 
of elections for the same district. He 
married, April 5, 1843, Sarah Hamilton, 
born at "Bessie Bell Farm," Montgom- 
ery county, Pennsylvania, April 17, 1815, 
daughter of John McClellan and Eliza- 
beth (Forepaugh) Hood, of Race street, 
Philadelphia, "Bessie Bell Farm" being 
the Hood country seat. 

Washington Hood Gilpin, eldest son of 
Charles and Sarah Hamilton (Hood) Gil- 
pin, was born at what is now No. 709 
Walnut street, Philadelphia. February 2, 
1844, died in his native city, April 5, 191 1. 
After preparation in private Philadelphia 


schools he entered the college department 
of the University of Pennsylvania in i860 
at the age of sixteen years, and was grad- 
uated A. M., class of '64. He studied law 
under his distinguished father, and in 
1866 was admitted to the Philadelphia 
bar. He rose to the highest rank in his 
profession, and was continuously en- 
gaged in practice in all State and Federal 
courts of the Philadelphia district until 
his death. His work was largely in the 
handling and settlement of estates. 

Mr. Gilpin was lieutenant of the Uni- 
versity Light Artillery during the Civil 
War, and a private of the Gray Reserves. 
In later years he was an officer of the 
Pennsylvania National Guard, ranking as 
captain and lieutenant-colonel of the First 
Regiment, on duty in suppressing riots 
at the Susquehanna Depot, Hazleton, 
Jeddo, Pittsburgh, and Scranton. He 
was a charter member of the Union Lea- 
gue, of the Rittenhouse Club, and of the 
various bar associations. 

Mr. Gilpin married, October 16, 1873, 
Louisa, daughter of John and Anna Bald- 
win (Colton) Clayton, the latter a niece 
and adopted daughter of Matthias W. 
Baldwin, the founder of the great loco- 
motive building industry in Philadelphia, 
known as "Baldwin's." Mrs. Gilpin, a 
member of the Colonial Dames of Amer- 
ica, survives her husband, residing at No. 
2004 De Lancey Place, Philadelphia, the 
family home since i8go. Children, all 
born at No. 2026 De Lancey Place : 
Louisa Clayton, married Israel Wistar 
Morris, two children — Louise Gilpin and 
I. Wistar, Jr. ; Charles (3) ; John Clayton, 
married Lucy Disston ; Washington 
Hood (2), deceased; George, married 
Edith Kirkpatrick ; Sarah Hood, married 
Stanley Bright, of Reading, Pennsyl- 
vania, and has three children — Stanley, 
Jr., Joseph Colman, Sarah Gilpin ; Anna 

FISHER, Sydney George, 

JjttxrjeT, Historian, Iiitteratenr. 

That man lives not to himself alone 
is an assurance that is amply verified in 
all the affairs of life, but its pertinence 
is the more patent in those instances 
where persons have so employed their 
inherent talents, so improved their op- 
portunities, so marshaled their forces, as 
to gain prestige which finds its angle of 
influence ever broadening in practical 
beneficence and human helpfulness. He 
whose helpful activities are directed along 
legitimate and normal lines is by virtue 
of that very fact exerting a force which 
conserves human progress and prosperity, 
and that man of capacity for business af- 
fairs of importance finds himself an in- 
voluntary steward upon whom devolve 
large responsibilities. To the extent that 
he appreciates these duties and respon- 
sibilities and proves faithful in his stew- 
ardship does he also contribute to the 
well being of the world in which he 

Sydney George Fisher, of Essington, 
Delaware county, Pennsylvania, lawyer, 
historian, political economist, biographer 
and sportsman — a combination rarely met 
with — is essentially a man who "does 
things," and does them well. While the 
intellectual interests of Mr. Fisher's na- 
ture are developed, the human side of it 
is very much in evidence, and with this 
kept in mind his work in law and litera- 
ture becomes of double interest. His his- 
torical works are full of human interest 
and show originality of treatment, rather 
startling boldness in the use of modern 
historical methods, but portraying men 
and occurrences in a manner that one can 
feel and understand is truth and not fancy. 
His men are real men and not the lay 
figures that Washington and others of 
our Revolutionary fathers are represented 


to be by most of our historians. He goes 
to the original sources of information 
among the letters, documents and old 
pamphlets of the time. 

His father, Sydney George Fisher Sr., 
was born in Philadelphia, March 2, 1809, 
and died on his farm, Forest Hill, north 
of the city, July 25, 1871. He was grad- 
uated from Dickinson College in the class 
of 1827, studied law, and in his early life 
practiced this profession in Philadelphia. 
He acquired a national reputation as a 
political writer under the nom de plume 
of Cecil, and also Kent, the Civil War 
problems of slavery and secession form- 
ing the basis of the greatest number of 
his writings. He was a member of the 
Union League of Philadelphia, and an 
ardent supporter with pen and speech of 
the administration and character of Pres- 
ident Lincoln. He married Elizabeth In- 
gersoll, who was of Connecticut descent. 

Sydney George Fisher Jr. was born in 
Philadelphia, September 11, 1856, and was 
brought up on his father's farm, which 
had old forest trees and two streams run- 
ning through it ; it was there he probably 
acquired his strong liking for animals, na- 
ture and country life. Both of his par- 
ents were deceased when he reached the 
age of sixteen years, and he became a 
boarding pupil at St. Paul's School at 
Concord, New Hampshire, and was there 
prepared for entrance to Trinity College, 
Hartford, Connecticut, from which he 
was graduated in the class of 1879 with 
the degree of Bachelor of Arts. Since 
that time the Western University of 
Pennsylvania conferred upon him the de- 
gree of Doctor of Literature, this insti- 
tution now being known as the University 
of Pittsburgh ; Trinity College conferred 
the degree of Doctor of Laws ; and the 
University of Pennsylvania, that of Doc- 
tor of Laws. After his graduation he 
returned to Philadelphia, where he read 
law. then became a student in the Har- 

vard Law School, and was admitted to 
the Philadelphia bar in 1883. ^o*" some 
years he continued in the practice of his 
profession, during which time he was 
admitted to all State and Federal courts 
of the district, and obtained a reputation 
as a young lawyer of ambition and abil- 
ity. Lie wrote a number of articles for 
legal periodicals — "Are the Departments 
of Government Independent of Each 
Other?" in the "American Law Review;" 
"The Suspension of the Writ of Habeas 
Corpus in the War of the Rebellion," in 
the "Political Science Quarterly;" "The 
Railroad Leases to Control the Anthra- 
cite Coal Trade," in the "American Law 
Register;" "The Administration of 
Equity Through Common Law Forms in 
Pennsylvania," in the "London Law 
Quarterly Review," afterwards repub- 
lished in the second volume of "Select 
Essa3's in Anglo-American Legal His- 
tory." compiled and edited by the Asso- 
ciation of American Law Schools. 

The law could not confine him, how- 
ever, and to the public at large he is 
known less as the lawyer than as the 
political economist and the historian. 
While yet a student he commenced his 
work as a political essayist ; attacked 
with vigor in the columns of the "New 
York Nation," under the signature of F. 
G. S., the spoils system as then practiced, 
and suggested the formation of the civil 
service reform associations, which were 
almost immediately organized and have 
accomplished such excellent results in 
obtaining legislation against the spoils 
system and in favor of merit as a tenure 
of public office. This sort of work in 
the field of political science, begun and 
long prosecuted by the father, has been 
continued by the son — first, perhaps, as 
a natural inheritance, but later from a 
genuine love of his brother and a desire 
to help all reform measures that tend to 
the public good. Some of his best articles 



are: "Alien Degradation of American 
Character," and "Has Immigration Dried 
Up Our Literature?" in "The Forum;" 
and "Has Immigration Increased Popu- 
lation?" in the "Popular Science Month- 
ly." These proved an important incen- 
tive to the formation of the Immigration 
Restriction League. Other articles ap- 
peared in rapid succession, including 
"The Causes of the Increase of Divorce," 
later rewrritten and amplified ; also a 
pamphlet of very wide circulation called 
"The American Revolution and the Boer 

He is the author of a number of books : 
"The Making of Pennsylvania;" "Penn- 
sylvania Colony and Commonwealth ;" 
"The Evolution of the Constitution ;" 
"Men, Women and Manners of Colonial 
Times;" "The True Benjamin Franklin;" 
"The True William Penn ;" "The Life of 
Daniel Webster." Among his more re- 
cent books attracting wide attention and 
circulation, are: "The True History of 
the American Revolution," and "The 
Struggle for American Independence." 
These last two books brush the scales 
from one's eyes and give us the story of 
men, not demi-gods. The latter book, 
which is in two volumes, is a fine piece 
of bookmaking on the part of publisher 
as well as author, and a most complete 
history of the American Revolution from 
the point of view of scientific and im- 
partial investigation of the original evi- 
dence by modern historical methods. Mr. 
Fisher's recent pamphlet, "The Legend- 
ary and Myth-Making Process in His- 
tories of the American Revolution," read 
before the American Philosophical Soci- 
ety in 1912, points out some of the mis- 
leading methods by which the history of 
that period has been written, and leads 
to the hope that many more histories of 
men of that period will appear from the 
pen of Mr.. Fisher. 

His interest in his alma mater has not 

diminished with the years since leaving 
her halls. He is a trustee of Trinity Col- 
lege, and its warm friend. He is also 
interested in schools for the blind, and 
serves on the board of trustees of the 
Pennsylvania Institution for the Instruc- 
tion of the Blind. As one of the man- 
agers of the Old Philadelphia Library, on 
Locust street, which was founded by 
Benjamin Franklin, he has amply proven 
the worth of his services. 

Active, busy, and useful as he is, Mr. 
Fisher believes in recreation and sport. 
His pleasures extend from fine old en- 
gravings to golf, farming and pointer 
dogs. He has always been fond of using 
tools, particularly in boat building, and 
in his leisure hours has constructed a 
number of boats in his well equipped and 
interesting amateur shop at Essington, 
his home. He is an active member of 
the Corinthian Yacht Club at that place, 
and can usually be found there on Sat- 
urdays and Sundays. He is very fond of 
reading about natural history, biological 
science and geology. He has always 
taken a leading part in urging the im- 
portance of game preservation, and has 
written a number of articles on that sub- 
ject. He is a most enthusiastic conser- 
vationist, and believes that the time has 
come for the enforcing of very strenuous 
measures to protect our forests, birds, 
and all natural resources. 

The wild parts of Florida have always 
had a strong attraction for Mr. Fisher, 
and he has cruised in the Gulf of Mexico 
and made numerous explorations in the 
interior of Florida for sport and nature 
study, usually in company of his cousin, 
Mr. William M. Meigs, and has traveled 
extensively through nearly all the South- 
ern States, particularly the regions where 
quail shooting can be enjoyed. His 
articles upon the negro problem, and 
upon scenes and episodes of southern 
life, have been widely read. He has also 


written articles for "Forest and Stream," 
as, for example, "Two Weeks with the 
Louisiana French ;" and a notable article 
in "The American Field," entitled "Have 
Field Trials Improved the Setter?" and 
another in "The London Field," called 
"Practical Tests for Shotguns." 

In religious faith, Mr. Fisher is an 
Episcopalian, but is inclined to regard 
such subjects in the rationalistic way of 
the Quaker stock, from which he is de- 
scended on his father's side. In addition 
to the Corinthian Yacht Club, Mr. Fisher 
is a member of the University Club and 
the Franklin Inn Club of Philadelphia, 
and the Spring Haven Country Club 
in Delaware county. He frequently 
spends part of the summer at the old 
Broadwater Club on the coast of Vir- 
ginia, and is very familiar with the sail- 
ing, fishing and sporting facilities of 
those channels and islands. He is very 
fond of Delaware county, and says that 
he never felt at home until he came there 
to live almost a quarter of a century ago. 
He likes to take walks in all parts of the 
county, visiting dairy and grain farms 
and talking to the farmers. The fox 
hunting, the numerous packs of hounds, 
some of them kept by the old fashioned 
farmers, and the pretty scenes when the 
hounds and the mounted keepers are out 
exercising as well as hunting, give a 
character and interest which it would be 
hard to equal, he says, in any other part 
of America. His favorite district is along 
the valley of Ridley Creek, which he 
considers on the whole the choice of the 
county's four beautiful streams, Darby. 
Crum, Ridley and Chester. 

The Delaware river, on which he has 
lived so long, is to him also a very im- 
portant part of the county. He has al- 
ways found it difficult to keep away from 
the water and boats. He went to live on 
the Delaware at Essington, many years 
ago, because he found himself so strongly 

attracted by the boats, yachting, and 
Scandinavian sailors, that he visited it 
every Saturday afternoon, Sundays and 
holidays. It was more convenient to live 
at the place one was perfectly willing to 
stay in on Sundays and holidays. Re- 
turning to it from his city work every 
evening, he found a more restful and 
wholesome change than he could find in 
any other of Philadelphia's suburbs. Con- 
tinual city life does not at all suit him. 
Most of his congenial acquaintances and 
friends belong to the Corinthian Yacht 
Club at Essington. and he is at his best 
among these companions. Yachting 
draws together positive interesting char- 
acters from every walk of life ; and there 
is a democratic comradeship in such pur- 
suits that has a strong appeal for broad- 
minded nature. The club at Essington, 
founded a quarter of a century ago by 
some of Philadelphia's ablest men of 
wealth and business, who required recre- 
ation in the great out-of-doors, has al- 
ways been an intellectual centre not only 
in its members but in the visitors and 
guests that are drawn to it from other 
parts of the country. Explorers, trav- 
ellers, sportsmen and experts in all sorts 
of occupations often meet there in easy 
informal intercourse ; and the free ad- 
mission of their wives and families adds 
greatly to everyone's enjoyment. 

Mr. Fisher has explored the Delaware 
river, studied its tides, shoals, islands and 
geology, and wrote a long article on it 
in the "Philadelphia Sunday Ledger," of 
October 20, 1912, which was afterwards 
enlarged and reprinted. He has been 
connected with several of the contro- 
versies of riparian owners against the 
interests that narrow the river and shoal 
small harbors. He advocates deepening 
the Delaware by dredging rather than by 
dikes that act as partial dams to the 
flood tide. The varied richness, vegeta- 
tion and bird life along the shoals and 


islands of the Delaware, and in the 
meadows and marshes that spread out 
like lakes at high tide with their vast 
crops of graceful reeds and red and yel- 
low flowers are, he often says, far more 
attractive to the naturalist and real 
nature lover than panoramic tourist 
rivers like the Hudson. Equally fasci- 
nating are the remains and records of the 
Delaware's long geologic history in the 
days of glaciers, ice floes and mighty 
floods, when they rolled down to the 
ocean the sand and mud that went to 
build New Jersey and Delaware. 


Journalist and Historian. 

Frank Reid Diffenderffer was born in 
the village of New Holland, Lancaster 
county, Pennsylvania, on April 30, 1833. 
He is descended from that hardy Ger- 
man stock which has given Pennsylvania 
her great prominence in the sisterhood 
of States. The immigrant from whom 
he claims descent was John Michael Dii- 
bendorf, who reached Pennsylvania on 
September 18, 1727, from his home near 
Heidelberg, in the Palatinate. There is 
an ancient town named Diibendorf, six 
miles northeast of the city of Zurich, 
Switzerland, which was undoubtedly the 
ancient home of the family. In the 
"Swiss Geographical Lexicon," 175-2. 
there is a voluminous account of that 
ancient town going back to 1195, in 
which one Werner von Diebendorf and 
also Cuno von Diebendorf, Knight, are 
named as witnesses to important public 
documents. In 1690 the public records 
of this town were destroyed by fire, thus 
ending all further research into the early 
family history. 

Mr. Diffenderffer is in the fifth genera- 
tion of descent from the original immi- 
grant, the line being as follows: John 
Michael, born January 10, 1695 ; Michael, 

son of the foregoing, born November 14, 
1721, who came to Lancaster in 1765, 
built that well known hostelry, the 
"Leopard," on East King street; became 
a commissioner of Lancaster county 
from 1770 until 1772; took the oath of 
allegiance in July, 1777; was a burgess 
of the town in 1778-79, 1780-81-82 and 
83 ; bought the estate of the so-called 
"Baron" Henry William Steigel, at Man- 
heim, in 1779; his son David, who was 
born February 9, 1752, was an officer in 
the famous German regiment during the 
Revolution, and who is the subject of a 
lengthy biographical sketch in Rupp's 
"History of Lancaster County;" his war 
record including, the Hessian surprise at 
Trenton, battle of Monmouth, Sullivan's 
expedition against the Six Nations, and 
Valley Forge ; his son Michael, born Au- 
gust 4. 1783, was the father of the sub- 
ject of this sketch. 

Mr. Diffenderffer remained in the place 
of his birth, a farmer's son, until the age 
of seventeen, attending the public schools 
of the place and then entering the pre- 
paratory department of Marshall College 
at Mercersburg, Pennsylvania. In 1850 
he came to the city of Lancaster, becom- 
ing a clerk in the book store of W. H. 
Spangler, at what is now No. 66 North 
Queen street. The seven years' experi- 
ence in that establishment went far in 
bringing about his later literary career. 

In 1857 he went to Mexico, to the then 
City of El Paso (now Jaures), where his 
two brothers were engaged in merchan- 
dizing and government contracting, the 
firm name being F. R. Diffenderffer & Co. 
At that time what is now the city of El 
Paso, Texas (then called Franklin), had 
a population of about one hundred and 
fifty persons, of whom only about fifteen 
were Americans, the entire populntion 
housed in one-story adobe houses and 
jacals. In those days railroads at that 
point were little else than dreams. All 


the goods sold by the firm were bought 
in New York, shipped by sea to Port 
Lavaca, Texas, and from thence freight- 
ed overland by mule teams to El Paso, a 
distance of about eight hundred miles. 
In some years the freight was sent by 
rail to St. Louis, thence up the Missouri 
river to Fort Leavenworth, and from 
there by mule train to Santa Fe and the 
Rio Grand to El Paso, a distance of over 
one thousand miles. The last trip over 
this route was made in 1865, when Mr. 
DiflFenderfifer left Lancaster on May 16, 
and reached El Paso on October 26, hav- 
ing been on the road traveling or trying 
to travel five months and ten days. The 
long delay was caused by rainy weather 
and bad roads. One entire month was 
passed in a single camp on a slight eleva- 
tion of the prairie, the rain falling every 
day or night, preventing all travel. 

In 1871 Mr. Diflfenderflfer returned to 
Lancaster, where, in conjunction with 
his brothers, the banking firm of Dif- 
fenderffer Brothers was established. The 
panic of 1873 came along and hard times 
with it, and the firm closed its business. 
During the following few years Mr. Dif- 
fenderflfer was engaged in tobacco pack- 
ing, and in assisting Mr. J. J. Sprenger 
in the publication of the "Morning Re- 
view" newspaper. 

When "The New Era" newspaper was 
established in Lancaster by Messrs. War- 
fel and Geist, in 1877, he was invited by 
his old-time friend, Mr. Geist, to assume 
the position of associate editor, a posi- 
tion he held continuously for a period 
of many years. During that long time, 
never a discordant word passed between 
the two men, and the closest friendship 
existed until Mr. Geist's death. 

Although Mr. Diflfenderffer had for 
years been a contributor to the Lancas- 
ter press, his active literary career dates 
from his connection with the "New Era." 
In addition to his purely editorial work, 

he also contributed largely to the local 
columns, especially on agricultural topics. 
.'Kt that time the tobacco interest became 
an important factor in the farms of the 
county, and Mr. Diffenderfifer, having 
had experience in that line, established a 
tobacco department in the paper, giving 
the subject much study and time, so that 
in a few years the "New Era" became an 
authority on the subject of tobacco grow- 
ing and tobacco statistics. He was for 
many years the Lancaster correspondent 
of the "U. .S. Tobacco Journal," also of 
the "Tobacco Leaf," Bradstreet's "Louis- 
ville Tobacco Journal," and was the first 
editor of the "Lancaster Tobacco Jour- 
nal," founded in 1S91. He wrote several 
lengfthy articles on tobacco growing for 
the State Agricultural Department, one 
of which was published in pamphlet form 
for general circulation. He prepared the 
voluminous article on "Tobacco Grow- 
ing in Pennsylvania" for the United 
States Census Report of 1880; although 
the contract price was only fifty dollars, 
the Census Department sent him a check 
for one hundred and twenty dollars. Mr. 
Dififenderflfer was one of a delegation 
sent to Washington to secure a heavy 
duty on .Sumatran tobacco, and succeed- 
ed in having the duty fixed to two dol- 
lars per pound. He also contributed 
lengthy articles on tobacco culture to 
Ellis & Evans' "History of Lancaster 
County," to Hensel's "History of Lan- 
caster County," "Forney's Press," and 
other publications. 

Prior to his connection with the "New 
Era," Mr. Diflfenderflfer had become an 
earnest student of Pennsylvania history 
and especially local history, contributing 
articles to various publications, such as 
the "Reformed Church Review," "The 
Lancaster Farmer," and "Christian Cul- 
ture," and a notable one on the Juliana 
Library, which for the first time made 
known the history of that interesting 



literary venture, and to which no addi- 
tions have since been made. 

The first of his more important con- 
tributions to local history was his "His- 
tory of the Three Earls" (townships in 
Lancaster county). It met with a full 
measure of success and was later bodily 
incorporated with that valuable work. 
Ellis & Evans' "History of Lancaster 
County." Another volume by him ap- 
peared in 1897; it was "The German 
Exodus to England" in 1709, a work of 
much research on a then little known but 
important subject. It was a literary suc- 
cess, and copies are now rare. It was 
followed in igoo by "The German Immi- 
gration into Pennsylvania" through the 
port of Philadelphia from 1700 to 1775. 
Both the foregoing are stately octavos 
with many illustrations, maps, and rare 
documents They have long been out of 
print. The "Redemptioners" quickly fol- 
lowed, and it also was quickly absorbed 
by the general public and librarians. In 
loic) appeared his "History of the Farm- 
ers" Trust Company of Lancaster," a 
goodly octavo with numerous illustra- 

In 1890 Mr. DiflFenderffer began a 
movement for the formation of the Penn- 
sylvania German Society. He first ad- 
vocated the project in the columns of 
the "New Era," and later invited a num- 
ber of representative Pennsylvanians of 
German descent to a conference in his 
ofTice in Feb'-uary, 1891. The society 
then and there had its birth. It to-day 
has a membership of five hundred. Its 
literary and historical activities may be 
seen in the twenty-two splendid volumes 
it has given to the world and which in 
variety and original research are perhaps 
not equalled by the publications of any 
similar organization in the country. He 
was chosen secretary of the society and 
held that position three years, editing the 
first three volumes of its proceedings. 

then resigning to become president of 
the society, in 1896. 

In 1903 Governor Pennypacker, a warm 
personal friend, upon the passage by the 
Legislature of the act creating the "Ad- 
visory Committee for the Preservation 
of the Public Records," appointed him as 
a member of the committee. He has re- 
tained the position continuously through 
the administration of Governors Penny- 
packer, Stuart and Tener. 

He has for many years been a mem- 
ber of the Pennsylvania Historical Soci- 
ety, and in 1901, at the invitation of 
Provost Stille, of the University of Penn- 
sylvania, who at that time was also presi- 
dent of the State Historical Society, read 
a lengthy paper before that body on "The 
Palatine and Quaker as Commonwealth 
F)uilders." which was later published in 
book form and is now so scarce that the 
author himself has no copy. 

He was one of the organizers of the 
"Pennsylvania Federation of Historical 
Societies." and its president in 1910-11. 
He is a member of the "Pennsylvania 
History Club," and in volume one of the 
publications of that organization a list 
of about forty separate articles and books 
written by him, mostly on historical sub- 
jects, is enumerated. He is a member of 
the "American Flistorical Federation," 
and of the "Lancaster Zweig-Verein of 
the Deutch Amerikanischer Central Bund 
von Pennsylvania." He is also a mem- 
ber of the "Lancaster Press Club," and 
was for a period of fourteen years the 
acting secretary of the Lancaster County 
Horticultural Society, and wrote and 
published a history of that organization. 
He was also the first and only secretary 
of the short-lived Lancaster County For- 
estry Association. 

Much of Mr. DilTenderfTer's literary 

activities have been connected with the 

Lancaster County Historical Society, of 

which he was one of the founders and its 



first secretary for a period of seven years, 
when he resigned to become its first vice- 
president, a position he still holds. In 
connection w^ith this organization his his- 
torical instincts were most fully display- 
ed. Perhaps as many as two-score articles 
have appeared in its eighteen volumes of 
"Papers and Proceedings." An ardent 
Pennsylvanian, a lover of his home coun- 
ty and her people, his admiration of their 
sturdy character and industrial energy, 
he has in these numerous contributions 
paid a loving tribute to the race from 
which he sprung and of which he is so 
proud. A mention of a few of his contri- 
butions to his home county Historical 
Society, will serve to show the trend of 
his studies in local history: "The First 
White Man in Lancaster County and in 
Pennsylvania ;" "The Early German 
Printers of Lancaster County;" "Plea for 
the Conestoga River;" "Bibliography of 
the Newspapers of Lancaster City and 
County ;" "The Loyalists of Lancaster 
County;" "Date Stones with Examples;" 
^'Indian Traders' Troubles ;" "How the 
New Holland School House Was Built ;" 
"The Story of a Picture (of Lancaster) ;" 
"The Play Bills and Theatres of Early 

He was an early member of Conestoga 
Council of the Royal Arcanum, and is a 
past regent of the order ; also a member 
of Washington Encampment, Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a mem- 
ber of the board of trustees of the A. 
Herr Smith Free Library, and chairman 
of the library committee. From having 
been a book-seller for six years when 
comparatively a young man, he has nat- 
urally a wide acquaintance with books, 
inside as well as outside, and has conse- 
quently taken a lively interest in the 
local library. As a further evidence of 
his interest in books and historical stud- 
ies, it may be mentioned that he estab- 
lished and endowed an alcove in the De 

Peyster Library connected with Frank- 
lin and Marshall College, devoted to 
Pennsylvania history and biography, 
starting the same with about eight hun- 
dred bound volumes and pamphlets, se- 
lected from his own library. This gift 
was to some extent in grateful recogni- 
tion of his affection for his old college, 
which in 1903 conferred upon him the 
honorary degree of Litt. D. 

With something of a distaste for poli- 
tics, he has nevertheless been an ardent 
partisan, and when the periodic political 
contests came along, he struck out with 
all his might in the columns of the "New 
Era" for his party — the Republican. He 
has been a member of that party from 
its organization in 1856. Although com- 
paratively a stripling at that time, he 
was elected secretary of the Fremont 
Club of Lancaster City. He moved into 
the Sixth Ward of Lancaster in 1873, at 
which time the ward was strongly Dem- 
ocratic, and in 1881 was a candidate for 
common councilman. To his own sur- 
prise and that of his party, he was elected 
— the only candidate of his party that 
pulled through. 

For clubs and similar organizations he 
cares little. He is, however, a member of 
the Press Club of Lancaster, in which he 
takes a lively interest. He is also a mem- 
ber of the Pennsylvania Society, Sons of 
the Revolution. Being of unadulterated 
German ancestry on both the paternal 
and maternal sides since the advent of 
his family in America one hundred and 
eighty-eight years ago, he has naturally 
a warm feeling for the descendants of 
bold-hearted yeomanry who began com- 
ing into the province of Pennsylvania as 
early as 1683. and who have done so 
much to make our State the grandest of 
the entire Sisterhood. He has been a 
bold defender of their sterling virtues, 
and in his earliest book, "The Three 
Earls," first sounded the bugle blast in 


their praise and defense, a step which 
has since been followed by many other 
writers and historians. Nothing more 
quickly arouses his ire than aspersions 
on and flippant allusions to the German 
element in our population. At the same 
time he has little use for the hyphenated 
German Americans. 

Mr. Diffenderflfer was married, in 1873, 
to Miss Annie Sarah Sprenger. The one 
offspring of that marriage is Harold F. 
DifTenderilfer, born December 22, 1877. 

FILBERT, John H., 

ILawyer, Historical Anthority, Anthor. 

John Harry Filbert, a well known at- 
torney of the Schuylkill county bar, is 
descended of a long line of ancestors 
whose beginning dates far back into an- 
tiquity. The family name, Filbert, is 
itself evidence of this fact. Filbert is 
one of the oldest names in the Teutonic 
language, being derived from "fiel- 
brecht," which means very bright or illus- 
trious. This appellation was borne by 
many of the old Teutonic chieftains, 
whose descendants carried it into all the 
countries of Eastern Europe in their 
early conquests. The earlier spelling of 
the name was "Philbert" and "Philibert." 
In England it exists both in the form of 
Philbert and Filbert ; Philibert, Prince of 
Orange, was one of the generals of 
Charles V. and fell in the Italian cam- 
paign of 1529. There were several 
counts of the name who ruled over Savoy 
in the twelfth century, and the descend- 
ants of Emmanuel Philibert of Savoy be- 
came kings of Sardinia and later the 
reigning family of Italy. 

(I) The American branch of the fam- 
ily traces its ancestry to the great-great- 
great-grandfather of Mr. Filbert, John 
Samuel Filbert, who was born in Wurt- 
emberg, January 8, 1710, and who with 
his wife Susanna came to the New World 

on the ship "Samuel," Hugh Percy, mas- 
ter, sailing from Rotterdam, and took 
the oath of allegiance to the crown of 
Great Britain and the Province of Penn- 
sylvania at Philadelphia, August 30, 
^IZ"?- l^c spelled the name "Filbert," but 
the Rev. John Casper Stover, who kept 
the baptismal records of the family, 
spelled it "Philbert." The children of 
John Samuel Filbert were : John Thomas 
(1737-1784), married to Catherine Bat- 
teiger; Maria Catrina, born 1739, mar- 
ried John Heinrich Ache ; Anna Eliza- 
beth, born 1741, married to John Henry 
Webber, a captain in the Revolutionary 
War; John Phillip (1743-1817) ; John 
Peter, born 1746, who was a delegate 
from the First Battalion of Berks Coun- 
ty Militia to the convention held in Lan- 
caster, July 4, 1776, to elect three briga- 
dier-generals for the Pennsylvania and 
Delaware militia, and who was elected 
sheriflf of Berks county in 1785; and 
Maria Christina, born 1749, married to 
Jost Ruth. 

As the father and three sons had the 
first name "John" in common, they drop- 
ped it in active life and the only places 
it can be found are on their baptismal 
records and tombstones. 

Samuel Filbert and his wife Susanna 
settled immediately on coming to the 
country in Bern township, Lancaster 
(now Berks) county, Pennsylvania, at 
the present site of Bernville. Samuel 
Filbert and Godfried Fidler each gave an 
acre of ground to the North Kill Lu- 
theran Church at Bernville. A log church 
was built in 1743 on the part donated by 
Samuel Filbert ; tradition says that he 
paid half of the cost of the building, 
which was used as a church on the Sab- 
bath and as a school on week days. In 
1791 the log church was replaced by a 
brick building, at which time his son 
Philip acted as president of the building 
committee. In 1897 the present hand- 


some brown stone edifice was erected on 
the same ground. Back of the chancel in 
the new building is a beautiful stained 
glass window dedicated to "Samuel Fil- 
bert, Founder, 1743." He died Septem- 
ber 25, 1786, and is buried in the center 
of the old church yard. 

(H) John Phillip, son of Samuel and 
Susanna Filbert, was born December 7, 
1743. He was commissioned as a captain 
of the Eighth Company of the Sixth Bat- 
talion of Berks County Militia, June 14, 
1777, and was recommissioned in 1780, 
1783 and 1786, so that he served as an 
officer of the Pennsylvania militia during 
the whole period of the Revolution. Cap- 
tain Phillip Filbert's battalion was mus- 
tered into the Continental service on De- 
cember 13. 1777, for sixty days, and was 
engaged under General Washington in 
the Schuylkill Valley, between Valley 
Forge and Germantown. He was mar- 
ried to Anna Maria Meyers, and had 
three children: Samuel, mentioned be- 
low ; John, married to Anna Maria Leiss ; 
and Catherine, married to William Ma- 
chimer. He died August 20, 1817, and is 
buried at Bernville. 

(HI) Samuel Filbert (about 1770- 
1795), eldest son of Phillip and Anna 
Maria, married Sibylla, daughter of 
Francis Umbenhaur, a captain in the 
Revolutionary War ; he left two sons — 
Joseph, who died in 1804, and Peter. 

(IV) Peter, son of Samuel and Sibylla 
Filbert, was born at Bernville, Berks 
county, in 1794. His father died when 
he was about six months old, leaving his 
two sons to the guardianship of their 
grandfathers, Phillip Filbert and Francis 
Umbenhaur. In 1814 he enlisted with 
the troops called out for the defense of 
Baltimore against the British army, and 
marched under Captain Smith to Spring- 
field camp, near that city, and after the 
retreat of the British was honorably dis- 
charged from service. He married Eliz- 

abeth, daughter of John Stoudt, in 1818, 
and the next year removed to Pine Grove, 
Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, to take 
charge of the Pine (jrove J'orge. Peter 
and Elizabeth Filbert had the following 
children : Samuel P., iparried to Lavina 
Lamm ; Edward T., married to Mary 
Clayton ; Peter A., who was a major in 
the Ninety-sixth Regiment Pennsylvania 
Volunteers in the Civil War, married to 
Theodosia Reitzel; Leah, married to Dr. 
John Kitzmiller ; Rebecca, married to F. 
W. Conrad, D. D. ; and John Q. A., men- 
tioned below. Mr. Filbert was the presi- 
dential elector chosen to represent this 
district in the election of 1840, and cast 
his vote for the successful candidate, Wil- 
liam Henry Harrison. He died February 
14, 1864. 

(V) John Quincy Adams Filbert, son 
of Peter and Elizabeth, was born in Pine 
Grove, Schuylkill county, February 11, 
1827. At the age of sixteen years he 
served on the engineer corps of the late 
Colonel Benjamin Aycrigg. Later he re- 
moved to York, Pennsylvania, and then 
to Baltimore, Maryland, where he lived 
when the Civil War broke out. Mr. Fil- 
bert was a staunch Unionist, and was one 
of the men who helped save Maryland 
for the Union. When it was reported 
that the Confederates were going to 
seize the city, he stood in the trenches 
to help guard it. All the coal yards of 
the city were in the hands of southern 
sympathizers who would not coal the 
government vessels, and the government 
did not dare to confiscate them for fear 
of further inflaming sentiment. Mr. Fil- 
bert, at the request of the leaders of the 
Union element in the city, came up to 
Schuylkill county and made arrangements 
to procure coal for the national vessels. 
He returned to his native county in 1866, 
residing on his farm below Schuylkill 
Haven for thirty-five years. He was 
married, April 30, 1856, to Mary, daugh- 


ter of Michael G. and Mary (Herman) 
Beltzhoover, of Boiling Springs, Penn- 
sylvania, and had the following chil- 
dren: Benjamin Aycrigg; May E. ; 
Helen B., married to Dr. Gaylord A. 
Hitch, of Laurel, Delaware : Charles B., 
married to Florence Saulsbury, and resid- 
ing in Muskogee, Oklahoma ; and J. H. 
Filbert, subject of this sketch. He died at 
Schuylkill Haven, December 4, 1910. 

(VI) John Harry Filbert was born in 
the city of Baltimore, October ig, 1865. 
When only a few months old his parents 
removed to Schuylkill county, where he 
has resided ever since. He is a graduate 
of the Pottsville High School, and attend- 
ed Pennsylvania College, at Gettysburg, 
Pennsylvania, and Williams College, Wil- 
liamstown, Massachusetts. He registered 
as a student at law under the late Judge 
David C. Henning, and was admitted to 
practice law in the courts of Schuylkill 
county on the first day of January, 1894 

Mr. Filbert takes a deep interest in 
educational matters ; has been a member 
of the Midwinter Educational Club of 
Pottsville for upwards of twenty years. 
He was one of the incorporators of the 
Schuylkill County Historical Society, and 
is its first vice-president, and is one of 
the best read men in the community on 
local historical matters. He resides in 
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania, and 
maintains a law office at Pottsville. He 
has filled many local offices of honor and 
trust. Fraternally he is a member of 
Page Lodge, No. 207, Free and Accepted 
Masons, at Schuylkill Haven, and a mem- 
ber of the Masonic Grand Lodge of Penn- 
svlvania. He has never been married. 


Journalist, Financier, Xtegislator. 

John M. Stockdale was a loyal Penn- 
sylvanian ; he returned to his native State 
after an absence of a quarter of a cen- 

tury and gave her the services of his rip- 
est years. He was a man whose rare 
talents were ever consecrated to the ad- 
vancement of the best interests of the 
Commonwealth. Mr. Stockdale was a 
scion of that sturdy and courageous North 
of Ireland race which has contributed so 
largely to the upbuilding and develop- 
ment of the Keystone State. His grand- 
father, James Stockdale, was a native of 
the North of Ireland, and in 1787 came 
to the United States, expecting to return 
after seeing the new country. Having, 
however, exhausted his funds in travel- 
ing he determined to remain long enough 
to earn money to pay his passage home. 
This delay changed the current of his life 
for before the necessary amount was ac- 
cumulated he met Miss Weir, who after- 
ward became his bride, and he abandoned 
his intention of recrossing the seas to his 
native land. In 1790 this young couple 
established themselves in Washington 
(now Greene) county, Pennsylvania, and 
to them were born one son (William) 
and three daughters. Mrs. Stockdale 
died in 1823, and the father of the fam- 
ily passed away in 1840, at the age of 

Their son, William Stockdale, was 
born in 1792 on his father's farm, where, 
with the exception of a short period of 
service in the War of 1812, he spent all 
the seventy-one tranquil years of his life, 
and there he died in 1863. He was mar- 
ried to Hannah, daughter of John Mc- 
Quaide, of Washington county ; she at- 
tained the age of seventy-six and died in 
1873, having survived her husband ten 
years. Seven children were born to 
them : James ; John M., (see forward) ; 
Robert ; Thomas R. ; Mary, and the twins, 
Isabella and Sarah. William Stockdale 
was a fairly prosperous man for his day 
and spared no pains to prepare his chil- 
dren to enter with credit upon the duties 
of life, sending them to the neighboring 


/ / /?>v^^ 


schools and colleges of Waynesburg, 
Washington and Canonsburg. 

John M. Stockdale, the second son of 
William and Hannah (McQuaide) Stock- 
dale, was born August 28, 1822, on the 
ancestral farm in Morris township, 
Greene county, Pennsylvania, and was 
prepared for college at the Carmichael 
Academy, graduating in 1849 from Wash- 
ington College. Immediately thereafter 
he entered the law ofifice of the Hon. T. 
M. T. McKennan, and in 1852 was ad- 
mitted to the bar. The following year he 
became owner and editor of the "Waynes- 
burg Messenger," the only Democratic 
newspaper in Greene county. This fact 
furnishes significant evidence that even at 
that early period in his career Mr. Stock- 
dale was — what he ever afterward re- 
mained — a steadfast adherent to his party 
and a fearless champion of its principles. 
The zeal and talents of the youthful 
editor did not long fail of recognition and 
in 1854 he was elected to the State Legis- 
lature, where his record fully justified the 
choice of his constituents. He served two 
terms — having been accorded the com- 
pliment of a reelection — when failing 
health forced him to give up these ac- 
tivities, so he decided to take a trip to the 
West. While in quest of health and rec- 
reation in Iowa he formed extensive busi- 
ness associations, circumstances calling 
into action that talent for affairs which 
was one of his most distinctive charac- 
teristics. He decided to settle in Fort 
Dodge, Iowa, a frontier town fortified for 
protection against the Indians, and in 
1^57' by appointment of President Buch- 
anan, he became register of the govern- 
ment land office at that place. The year 
1857 was an eventful one in his early 
life. On April 22d he was married to 
Pattie Clark, one of the eight children 
of Abner and Patty (Evans) Clark, of 
Ten Mile Valley, Pennsylvania. She was 
born June 22, 1833, on the farm "Pleas- 

ant Hill," which was also the birthplace 
of her mother and her grandfather and 
which had been "taken up" as govern- 
ment land by her great-great-grandfather, 
Colonel Daniel McFarland, of Revolu- 
tionary fame, and which has ever since 
been in the possession of his descend- 
ants. The family was prominent in the 
county and this home filled with these 
brothers and sisters was a center where 
was dispensed a large, hearty and whole- 
some hospitality. She attended Washing- 
ton Seminary and graduated from that 
institution in 185 1. Mr. Stockdaie look 
his bride to his new home in the then rar 
west "where as also in their later places 
of residence, her beauty, her rare charm 
of manner, her ready wit which left no 
sting, her gracious Christian character 
won her a place in the hearts of an ever 
widening circle of friends." Mrs. Stock- 
dale survived her husband seven years 
and on May 28, 1904, died in their home 
on East Wheeling street, Washington, 
Pennsylvania, where their only child. 
Miss Elizabeth C. Stockdale, is now liv- 
ing. In memory of her mother this 
daughter erected in 1907 at Colcord, 
Raleigh county. West Virginia, the Pat- 
tie C. Stockdale School for mountain 
girls. This is operated under the direc- 
tion of the Woman's Board of Llome Mis- 
sions of the Presbyterian church. 

In 1863, while Mr. Stockdale was still 
a resident of Fort Dodge, he was nomi- 
nated for the State Senate of Iowa, but 
declined the honor, consenting, however, 
in 1864 to serve as an elector on the Mc- 
Clelland ticket. During his residence in 
Iowa he dealt extensively in real estate, 
buying and selling, as the records show, 
more than two hundred thousand acres 
of land. The Civil War, however, so de- 
pressed land values throughout the West 
that for the time being real estate became 
a hazardous investment, and in 1865 Mr. 
Stockdale removed to Baltimore, Mary- 



land, where he engaged in the wholesale 
drug business as head of the well known 
firm of Stockdale, Smith & Company. 
He was also the owner of a petroleum 
oil refinery until the methods of the 
Standard Oil Company proved fatal to all 

Mr. Stockdale and his family removed 
in 1881 to Washington, Pennsylvania, 
where for several years he owned and 
published "'The Review and Examiner." 
Being an intensely public-spirited man he 
was always interested and helpful in all 
enterprises which meditated the moral 
improvement and social culture of the 
community and foremost in movements 
which tended to further the progress and 
welfare of his home town. In 1883 he 
secured a State charter for the transpor- 
tation and use of natural gas for light and 
heat. A company of enterprising citizens 
was organized and the development of 
oil and gas in the immediate vicinity of 
Washington was the result. His endeav- 
ors along this line aided materially in the 
development and utilization of these re- 
sources and promoted greatly the pros- 
perity of the borough. 

In 1884 he accepted the nomination for 
Congress on the Democratic ticket as 
representative of the district comprising 
Washington, Beaver and Lawrence coun- 
ties. Possessed of an attractive person- 
ality, an alert mind well stored with 
knowledge and a fine memory, Mr. Stock- 
dale was unusually gifted as an extem- 
poraneous speaker. His language was 
forceful and he expressed himself with an 
earnestness and sincerity which carried 
conviction. He had graphic powers of 
conversation, and an unusual fund of 
quaint humor. He was honorable him- 
self and hated injustice, he loved law and 
order and was ever a champion of the 
people's rights. There were no neutral 
tints in his political colors; he was an 
ardent Democrat, believing thoroughly in 

his party and its principles. Though 
never a man of rugged health, his bear- 
ing was forceful and resolute, and he had 
a strong will and great tenacity of pur- 
pose. His face, with its clear-cut refined 
features, keen grey eyes and long beard 
conveyed the impression of patrician 
blood. His manner, at once courtly and 
kindly, proclaimed him to be what he was 
in fact, a Christian gentleman "of the 
old school." He had been a member of 
the Presbyterian church from early life. 
He enjoyed much success; he bore pros- 
perity with simplicity and reverses with 
dignity ; "he was equal to either fortune." 
It was at his home in Washington, 
Pennsylvania, that the death of Mr. 
Stockdale occurred September 17, 1897, 
closing a life of usefulness and honor. 
Many elements united to form his char- 
acter, the wise legislator, the astute man 
of aflfairs, the progressive citizen and the 
staunch friend. "When he felt the eve- 
ning shadows coming on" and no longer 
could take a part, he retained a fresh and 
virile interest in all public affairs and 
matters of government as he had done all 
his life long. It was because of these 
strong personal characteristics that in 
June, 1913, his daughter established in 
Washington and Jefferson College, at 
Washington, Pennsylvania, as a memorial 
to him, The John M. Stockdale Lecture- 
ship on Political Science and Political 

BODINE, Samuel Taylor, 

Man of Large Affairs. 

Samuel Taylor Bodine was born in 
Philadelphia, August 23, 1854, son of 
Samuel Tucker Bodine, one time mayor 
of Kensington, a director of the Penn- 
sylvania Railroad ; manager of the Pres- 
byterian Board of Education, a high type 
of manhood and citizenship, conducting 
his business along constructive lines and 



at all times observant of the rights and 
privileges of others. His mother, Louisa 
Wylie, was a daughter of WiUiam and 
Martha (Orr) Milliken. The Bodines are 
of French ancestry, descendants of the 
Le Baudains, who were of Chambray, 
France, in the twelfth century. The an- 
glicized name Bodine has been worthily 
borne through five generations in Amer- 
ica by men of many professions. 

John Bodine, grandfather of Samuel T. 
Bodine, was a soldier of the Revolution- 
ary army, serving six years, entering as 
a private and winning a captain's com- 
mission. Samuel T. Bodine was educated 
in Germantown Academy, 1862-1869, 
then entered the University of Pennsyl- 
vania, whence he was graduated B. A., 
class of 1873. In 1876 his alma mater 
conferred upon him the degree of Master 
of Arts. He entered business life as ship- 
ping clerk with the Royersford (Pennsyl- 
vania) Iron Foundry Company, serving 
until 1874, then entering the employ of 
the Cohansey Glass Company of Bridge- 
ton, New Jersey, in a similar capacity, 
1874 to 1876. In the latter year he be- 
came associated with the firm of Peter 
Wright & Sons, Philadelphia, and was 
placed in charge of the commercial work 
of the engineering department of the 
American and Red Star steamship lines, 
1876 to 1882. In 1882 he began his long 
association with the public service of his 
native city. He was in that year elected 
secretary and treasurer of the United Gas 
Improvement Company, and in 1888 he 
was elected general manager of the com- 
pany. Four years later he was elected 
second vice-president, and in 1894 was 
promoted to the first vice-presidency, but 
continued through all these years to bear 
the title and fill the position of general 
manager of the corporation. When Presi- 
dent Dolan was elected the executive head 
of the corporation, he would only accept 
on the condition that Mr. Bodine be 

elected first vice-president. This demand 
was gladly granted by the board of direc- 
tors, and in his dual capacity of vice- 
president and general manager, he served 
until 1912, when he was elected president 
of the great and powerful corporation 
familiarly known in Philadelphia as the 
"U. ('•■ I." His executive ability is not 
yet tested to its limit, notwithstand- 
ing the magnitude of company operations, 
nor is his work finished, plans for future 
betterment and expansion are constantly 
under consideration. While great prob- 
lems have been solved, others remain yet 
to be worked out. 

While his greatest concern is the "U. 
G. I.," he has other important business 
interests and connections. He holds di- 
rectorships in the Franklin National 
Bank, the Commercial Trust Company, 
the Guarantee Company of North Amer- 
ica, and the Pennsylvania Company for 
Insurance on Lives and Granting Annu- 
ities. He is also interested in educational 
institutions ; is trustee of the Episcopal 
Academy of Philadelphia, while to his 
alma mater he has donated the building 
known as Bodine Dormitory. He retains 
his interest in the student body through 
his college fraternity, Phi Kappa Sigma. 

He is a member of the Presbyterian 
church, the Sons of the Revolution, and 
Franklin Institute. His clubs are the 
Rittenhouse, University, Racquet, Ger- 
mantown Cricket, Merion Cricket of 
Philadelphia, and the University of New 

Mr. Bodine married, at Germantown, 
November 15, 1883, Eleanor Gray, daugh- 
ter of William Gray and Sarah Wells 
(Bushnell) Warden. Children: Louise 
Warden, born December 15, 1884; Elea- 
nor Gray, August 21, 1886, now the wife 
of William Graves Perry, of Boston ; Wil- 
liam Warden, October 18, 1887. 

His has been a notably successful busi- 
ness career, but his success, says a bio- 


grapher: "Is no less pleasing in its con- 
templation than the elements of his char- 
acter, which have most endeared him to 
those who have had the privilege of fre- 
quent association with him ; the courtesy 
and broad tolerance, the keen perception 
and scholarlv conversation, the sense of 
humor and kindly wit, and the beauty 
and dignity of his home life, which have 
made him the worthy and sought com- 
panion of the cultured, while the sim- 
plicity and integrity of his character 
have won him the affection, and respect 
of men of every class." 

NORTH, Hugh M., Jr., 

La^^er, Man of Affairs. 

For sixty-five years Lancaster county 
and Pennsylvania legal circles have 
known the name of Hugh M. North, this 
long record being the combined careers 
of the late Hugh M. North, and his son 
of the same name. The honorable posi- 
tion in the law, in the public service, in 
politics, and in religious and business 
activity, attained by Hugh M. North, Sr., 
stamped him as a man of most unusual 
mental powers, resistless determination, 
and strong moral texture, and his achieve- 
ments in the varied lines with which he 
was identified were of more than ordi- 
nary brilliance. In the present gener- 
ation his son, Hugh M. North, Jr., a law- 
yer of twelve years standing, his pro- 
fessional career inaugurated in partner- 
ship with the elder North, an association 
broken only by the death of the senior 
member of the firm, has worthily meas- 
ured up to the high expectations of those 
who knew and loved his honored father, 
and in varied associations and connec- 
tions, professional, business, fraternal, re- 
ligious and social, shows himself deserv- 
ing of the title he bears and proud of its 

Hugh M. North, Sr., was of Scotch- 

Irish ancestry, one of his forbears ac- 
companying Cromwell to Ireland, where 
in Westmeath county he was granted a 
large estate, there founding his family. 
He was a son of John and Jane (McAl- 
ister) North, his mother a daughter of 
Hugh McAlister, one of the original 
Juniata county settlers, and granddaugh- 
ter of Major Hugh McAlister, of Revo- 
lutionary fame, founder and proprietor of 
McAlisterville, Juniata county, Pennsyl- 
vania. It was in this place that Hugh 
M. North was born. May 7, 1826. and 
died December 20, 1907. Here he attended 
the district schools, afterward complet- 
ing a course in the Mifflinburg Academy, 
an institution well favored in educational 
circles. When he was twenty years of 
age he began the study of law, reading 
in the offices of Edmund S. Doty and 
Judge Joseph Casey, of New Berlin. Un- 
ion county, Pennsylvania, successfully 
taking his examinations for admissi(^n to 
the bar, and being granted the right to 
practice in both Union and Lancaster 
t'ounties in 1849. He began practice in 
Columbia, Pennsylvania, in that year, and, 
making a favorable impression from his 
earliest cases, was soon in possession of 
a lucrative and rapidly increasing prac- 
tice. In addition to his extensive clien- 
tele among persons in private and busi- 
ness life, he was for forty years solicitor 
for both the Pennsylvania and the Phila- 
delphia & Reading Railroad companies, 
and during the long period of his greatest 
eminence there was scarcely an important 
case tried in the State with which he was 
not connected. He was an advocate of 
positive knowledge, his finely trained 
mind retaining a firm grasp upon every 
phase of a case in which he was inter- 
ested, and his presentation of his argu- 
ment, always logical and forceful, was 
made with courtesy to his opponents and 
deference to the court. He was a gentle- 
man of commanding presence, the 


u^Sci-is ^^r^ jvyr 

V df ^^^ .-vo^ 




strength of his personality and character 
reflected in his bearing, and he impressed 
his hearers with the certainty of his pro- 
cedure, the uninterrupted flow of his 
thought, and its apt translation into lan- 
guage easily understandable and finely 

Mr. North had been a member of the 
legal fraternity of Pennsylvania but live 
years when his merits and superior qual- 
ities found recognition in his election to 
the Pennsylvania Legislature as the nom- 
inee of the Democratic-Independent 
parties, and in the capacity of represen- 
tative his public service, so ably per- 
formed and of such signal value, began. 
He was, throughout his entire life, iden- 
tified with the Democratic party, and in 
i860 was a delegate to the Democratic 
National Convention at Charleston, 
South Carolina, in this convention being 
a member of the committee on creden- 
tials, a committee which, because of the 
closely strained political conditions, was 
one most important. In 1S64 he was the 
Democratic opponent for Congress of 
Thaddeus Stevens, and in the returns ran 
far ahead of his ticket, an achievement 
rarely credited to a Democratic candidate 
in that day, and in 1872 opposed A. Herr 
Smith for the same office. In 1874 Mr. 
North received a large vote for the Demo- 
cratic nomination for the Lieutenant-Gov- 
ernorship, and in the following y-jar was 
accorded flattering support for the guber- 
natorial nomination. He was a delegate- 
at-large to the Democratic National Con- 
vention at St. Louis, Missouri, in 1876, 
and in 1884 was a presidential elector, 
casting his ballot in the electoral college 
for Grover Cleveland, who at that time 
entered the White House for the first 
time. He was nominated in 1891 for 
President Judge of Lancaster county, and 
the following year, upon the death of the 
incumbent of that office, was ofiFered that 
position by the Governor of the State, 
PA— Vol VI— 10 I 

but declined the honor. In 1904 he was a 
delegate to the Democratic National Con- 
vention at St. Louis which nominated 
Hon. Alton B. Parker for the Presidency. 

Mr. North was one of the prime factors 
in the movement that resulted in the or- 
ganization of the Lancaster County Bar 
Association, and upon its formation he 
was unanimously elected its first presi- 
dent, an office he held for many years. 
He likewise held membership in the 
Pennsylvania Bar Association, and was a 
prominent member of the American Bar 
Association, for a time belonging to its 
council for the State of Pennsylvania. 

He was for a number of years presi- 
dent of the First National Bank of Colum- 
bia, Pennsylvania, his leadership inspir- 
ing trust and confidence in that firmly 
founded institution, and he was at differ- 
ent times solicitor for two banks of Co- 
lumbia and for numerous other corpora- 
tions. In the affairs of the Protestant 
Episcopal church he was ever active, be- 
ing a member and vestryman of St. Paul's 
Church of that denomination in Columbia, 
Pennsylvania. He was a member of the 
standing committee of the Diocese of 
Central Pennsylvania, and in 1895, 1898 
and 1901 was a deputy to the General 
Convention, contributing generously to 
the funds maintained to further the mis- 
sionary work of the church and to dis- 
charge its current expenses. The action 
of Franklin and Marshall Academy in 
conferring upon him the honorary degree 
of Doctor of Laws in 1887 was a splen- 
did tribute to his scholarship and lofty 
legal standing, and recognition of an hon- 
orable and useful career. Mr. North was 
a member of the Scotch-Irish Society of 
Pennsylvania, interested in its activities 
and a participant whenever possible. 

He married, December 23, 1868, Serena 
Mayer, daughter of Thomas Emlen 
Franklin, LL. D., of Lancaster, Pennsyl- 
vania, Attorney General of Pennsylvania 



under Governors Johnson and Pollock. 
Hugh M. and Serena (Franklin) North 
were the parents of : Serena, married 
Joseph B. Hutchinson, and Hugh AL, Jr., 
of whom further. 

Hugh M. North, Jr., son of Hugh M. 
and Serena M. (Franklin) North, was born 
in Columbia, Lancaster county, Pennsyl- 
vania, June 21, 1873, and he prepared for 
college at the Lawrenceville School, 
Lawrenceville, New Jersey, subsequently 
matriculating at Yale University. He 
was graduated from this institution Ph. 
B. in the class of 1897, and prepared for 
legal work under the instruction of his 
father, gaining admission to the bar in 
March, 1902. From that date until the 
death of his father, he and the elder 
North were associated in their profes- 
sional labors, and since that time Mr. 
North has continued in practice in Co- 
lumbia, Pennsylvania, adding to profes- 
sional success prominence in business and 
financial circles. Among his business in- 
terests are his duties as president of the 
Columbia National Bank, of Columbia ; 
director of the First National Bank of 
Columbia, Pennsylvania, of which his 
father was long chief officer ; president of 
the Columbia Flospital ; a director of the 
Keeley Stove Company, of Columbia ; and 
president and director of many other 
business corporations. 

Mr. North, in political matters, yields 
allegiance to the Democratic party, and 
has on four occasions served as secre- 
tary of the Democratic State Conven- 
tion. Nominated on the Democratic 
ticket for Congress in 1904, he was de- 
feated, and five years later was nominated 
for judge of the Court of Common Pleas, 
withdrawing from the race in order to 
make the election of Judge Landis unani- 
mous. In 1900 Mr. North was commis- 
sioned battalion adjutant of the National 
Guard of Pennsylvania, and during the 
coal strike of that year saw forty days of 

service, two years later serving for forty 
days on a similar occasion. 

Hugh M. North, Jr., is a communicant 
of St. Paul's Protestant Episcopal Church 
of Columbia, and a member of its vestry, 
and is president of the board of trus- 
tees of the Columbia Hospital. He holds 
the thirty-second degree in the Masonic 
order, belonging to Harrisburg Consis- 
tory, and is a member of Lodge, No. 286, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Columbia ; 
Columbia Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; 
Lancaster Lodge of Perfection, and Zem- . 
bo Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, 
of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. His other 
fraternal society is the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, of Columbia, 
Pennsylvania, and his clubs are the Ham- 
ilton, of Lancaster, the Country, of Lan- 
caster, the Country, of York, and the 
University, of Philadelphia. He is a 
member of the Pennsylvania and Amer- 
ican Bar x\ssociations, the Lancaster 
County Historical Society, the Historical 
Society of Pennsylvania, the Swedish 
Colonial Society, the Scotch-Irish Society, 
and St. Andrew's Society. Mr. North is 
progressive in citizenship, a lawyer of 
proven ability and worthy reputation, a 
financier of accurate judgment, and a 
successful business man, and is well re- 
garded and liked whatever his associa- 
tions with his fellows. 

DORRANCE, Benjamin Ford, 

Iiaiivyer, Enterprising Citizen. 

A soldier of the Gospel army of peace. 
Rev. Samuel Dorrance, "Scotch Presby- 
terian lately arrived from Ireland," was 
the founder of this branch of the Dor- 
rance family. The old divine must have 
had a strong militant strain in his make- 
up, that not even his holy calling could 
subdue, for he bred a race of warriors 
that as bravely fought the enemies of 
their country, in actual combat, as their 


Presbyterian ancestors fought the enemy 
of souls. 

Rev. Samuel Dorrance was a graduate 
of the University of Glasgov^^, licensed to 
preach by the Presbytery of Dumbarton 
in 171 1. He settled in Connecticut, after 
his emigration, and followed his holy call- 
ing until the weight of years compelled 
him to "cease from his labors." He died 
in Connecticut, in 1775, aged ninety years. 
With his son, George Dorrance, the fam- 
ily appeared in Pennsylvania, settling in 
the Wyoming Valley, where he held the 
rank of lieutenant-colonel of militia, and 
after a life of brave deeds fell in the battle 
known as the Wyoming Valley Massacre. 

His mantle fell on his son, Colonel 
Benjamin Dorrance, who bravely upheld 
the family honor, and in turn was suc- 
ceeded by his son, Colonel Charles Dor- 
rance, born 1805, a noted agriculturist of 
Luzerne county, owning and conducting 
the old homestead farm, making it the 
model farm of the valley. Colonel Dor- 
rance held many positions of honor and 
trust in both civil and military life, and at 
his beautiful valley home dispensed a 
generous hospitality in keeping with his 
position and educated tastes. His wife, 
Susan E., was a daughter of James Ford, 
of Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, State 
legislator and Congressman. His wife, 
Maria Lindsley Ford, was a daughter of 
Judge Eleazer Lindsley, of Steuben 
county, New York, and the granddaugh- 
ter of Colonel Eleazer Lindsley, a brave 
officer of the Revolution. 

From such sterling ancestors came 
Benjamin Ford Dorrance, son of Colonel 
Charles and Susan E. (Ford) Dorrance, 
also a man of battle but his is the war- 
fare of brain, learning, and wordy bul- 
lets, that, while they rend and rankle, 
cause no shedding of blood, but carry 
the same convincing power as the steel 
clad bullet of the modern rifle. He was 
born in Kingston township, Luzerne 

county, Pennsylvania, August 14, 1846. 
After preliminary courses in the public 
schools, he prepared for college at Lu- 
zerne Institute, then entered Princeton 
University, whence he was graduated 
Bachelor of Arts, class of 1868. He pur- 
sued a course of legal study under Andrew 
T. McClintock, and on August 20, 1870, 
was admitted to the Luzerne county bar. 
From that date until 1885 he was con- 
tinuously engaged in the practice of law, 
securing a high position at the bar as an 
able, honorable practitioner, devoted to 
the interest of his clients and a strict ob- 
server of the ethics of his profession. 
His practice has extended to all State and 
Federal courts of the district, and to the 
Supreme Court of the United States. 
After three years of successful though 
arduous practice, his eyesight partially 
failed, and giving up active practice he 
returned to the management of the Dor- 
rance homestead farm, made famous by 
his father. Here he has carried on farm- 
ing and stock breeding operations on the 
most advanced modern scientific prin- 
ciples. Special attention is also given to 
horticulture, a branch of which Mr. Dor- 
rance is passionately fond. He has other 
business interests of importance. He is 
head of the firm, Benjamin Dorrance ; is 
director of the New York Cut Flower 
Company ; and president of "A company 
for erecting a bridge across the Susque- 
hanna river at Wilkes-Barre." He is a 
Democrat in politics and for many years 
has served as school director of the 
borough of Dorrancetown. In religious 
conviction he is a Presbyterian. 

Mr. Dorrance married, at Bath, New- 
York. May 22, \%-j2, Ruth WoodhuU, 
daughter of Schuyler Strong, a promi- 
nent lawyer of the New York bar. Chil- 
dren : Anne, Frances and Ruth. The 
family home is at DorrancetOAvn, Luzerne 
county, Pennsylvania, where amid con- 
genial surroundings and near the place 


made holy by the blood of his sire, he is 
enjoying the blessings of family and for- 
tune. He is president of the Wyoming 
Commemorative Society ; member of the 
Pennsylvania Society; the Sons of the 
Revolution ; hereditary companion of the 
Military Order of Foreign Wars ; Penn- 
sylvania Commandery; and a member of 
the Royal Horticultural Society of Eng- 
land. His clubs are the Princeton of 
New York City, and the Florists of Phil- 
adelphia. His favorite sports are hunt- 
ing and fishing, stated portions of each 
year being devoted to favorite localities 
for each sport. His degrees. Bachelor 
and Master of Arts, w^ere conferred by 
Princeton University, the former in 1868, 
the latter in 1871. 

It is now nearly two centuries (1722- 
1912) since the "Presbyterian Scotch- 
man" arrived at Voluntown, Connecticut, 
and there began the long career of use- 
fulness that so endeared him to his 
people. No less revered is the memory 
of the sons, grandsons and great-grand- 
sons in the Wyoming Valley, where their 
names as soldiers, statesmen, professional 
and business men adorn the records. The 
traits of loyalty, hospitality, and neigh- 
borly kindness that have ever distin- 
guished them are strongly exemplified in 
the present day representative whose 
honorable career has been thus briefly 

CUMMINS, Albert Baird, 

statesman, United States Senator. 

There are different families of this 
name in the United States, many of whom 
spell the name Cummings. Senator Cum- 
mins is of Scotch-Irish lineage, descend- 
ed from that thrifty, industrious and in- 
tellectually keen people who have been 
conspicuous as pioneers in many sections 
of this country, as well as in Northern 
Ireland, which was chiefly settled by peo- 

ple from Scotland. One of this class, 
Andrew Cummins, resided on the eastern 
shore of Maryland until after the Revo- 
lution, when he located in Western Penn- 
sylvania. His son, Benjamin Franklin 
Cummins, born in that section, was a 
farmer of Cumberland township, Greene 
county, where he died. His wife, Eliza- 
beth, was a daughter of Samuel Finch, 
who came to Pennsylvania from Eastern 
Virginia about 1789. The Greene county 
home of the Cummins family was near 
Carmichaels. Thomas Layton Cummins, 
son of Benjamin Franklin, was born 
March 6, 1823, near Carmichaels, was 
educated in the public schools, and learn- 
ed the trade of carpenter. In course of 
time he erected many of the dwellings 
and farm buildings of Greene county, 
under contract. Like his ancestors, he 
was a faithful member of the Presby- 
terian church, and when the Republican 
party was organized he became one of 
its steadfast supporters. He married 
Sarah Baird Flenniken, born December 
20, 1826, in the same neighborhood as 
himself, daughter of James and Mary 
(McClelland) Flenniken, and grand- 
daughter of Judge John Flenniken, who 
came to Greene county from North Caro- 
lina. Judge Flenniken was an ardent 
patriot and a delegate to the convention 
held at Charlotte, North Carolina, May 
^9> ^775- He was not only influential 
in passing, but signed his name to the 
Mecklenburg Declaration of Independ- 
ence, which document antedated the 
Philadelphia declaration by considerably 
more than a year. From this, tradition 
says, Thomas Jefferson drew some of the 
principal points of the famous declaration 
of July 4, 1776. John Flenniken was also 
an elder of the Presbyterian church, and 
represented the new county of Greene, 
upon its formation, in the State Legisla- 
ture. For many years he was one of the 
associate judges of the Court of Common 


Pleas, his commission dated March 17, 
1796. His son, James Flenniken, was 
born about 1790, in Cumberland town- 
ship, and lived to be more than eighty 
years old. His wife, Mary McClelland, 
was, like himself, of Scotch descent. 

Albert Baird Cummins, eldest son of 
Thomas Layton and Sarah B. (Flenni- 
ken) Cummins, was born February 15, 
1850, near Carmichaels, and there grew 
to maturity upon the homestead farm. 
In boyhood he attended the common 
schools, and was later a student at 
Waynesburg College. At the early age 
of nineteen years he became a western 
pioneer, settling in 1869 at Elkader, Clay- 
ton county, Iowa, where he secured a 
clerkship in the county recorder's office. 
Later he worked at the trade of carpen- 
ter, which he had learned through assist- 
ing his father. For a time he was em- 
ployed as an express clerk, and subse- 
quently engaged in surveying. In this 
way he gained a practical knowledge of 
civil engineering, and in 1871 was thus 
employed in Allen county, Indiana, serv- 
ing as deputy surveyor. Having per- 
fected himself as an engineer, he was ap- 
pointed division engineer in the construc- 
tion of the Cincinnati, Richmond & Fort 
Wayne railroad. After he was actively 
in charge of the Northern Central Michi- 
gan railroad, where he was for some time 
busily employed. Having determined to 
engaged in the practice of law, he began 
his studies at Chicago, Illinois, in the 
offices of McClelland & Hodges, and two 
years later was admitted to the county 
bar. From 1875 to 1878 he was engaged 
in law practice in Chicago, and in the 
last named year located at Des Moines. 
Iowa, which has ever since been his 
home, and formed a law partnership with 
his brother, James C. Cummins. The 
latter retired from practice nine years 
subsequently, and the present senator be- 
came a member of the firm of Wright, 

Cummins & Wright, which was soon 
after succeeded by Cummins & Wright, 
later Cummins, Hewitt & Wright. Pos- 
sessed of energy, a clear conception of 
the law, and a pleasing personality, A. 
B. Cummins made rapid advancement in 
the profession, and in 1890 was elected 
president of the Polk County Bar Asso- 
ciation. In the meantime he had been 
active in political movements, and made 
rapid rise in public favor. Believing 
earnestly in the broad principles and con- 
structive policy of the Republican party, 
he became eminent in its councils, and 
began his public service as a member of 
the Iowa House of Representatives, to 
which he was elected in 1887. In the Re- 
publican State Convention of 1892 he was 
temporary chairman, and by the same 
convention elected as an alternate to the 
national convention held at Minneapolis. 
In the campaign of that year he was 
made a presidential elector-at-large, and 
during the campaign made many speeches 
in support of the Republican platform 
and candidates. In 1896 he was perma- 
nent chairman of the Iowa State Con- 
vention, and was again made a delegate 
to the national convention, and by the 
delegation was chosen as national com- 
mitteeman for a period of four years. In 
1901 he was nominated by the Repub- 
licans of Iowa for the high office of Gov- 
ernor, and was elected by a majority ap- 
proximating one hundred thousand. Be- 
ginning with January i, 1902, he served 
two years, and was reelected, continuing 
in the gubernatorial chair until January 
I, 1906. His administration found favor 
with the people of the State, and for the 
third time he was elected, but resigned 
November 24, 1908, to accept the ofTice 
of United States Senator, to which he 
had been elected. Long before this time 
Governor Cummins had become a na- 
tional figure, and many of his advanced 
ideas have been written into the plat- 



forms of his party, east and west. As an 
executive he was fearless and capable, 
and attracted to himself the progressive 
element of his party, naturally thus an- 
tagonizing and alienating its reaction- 
aries. The State, however, rallied to his 
support, and he retired from the Gov- 
ernorship, firmly intrenched in the regard 
of the greater and best element of his 
party, not only in Iowa, but in many sec- 
tions of the country. The death of Sen- 
ator Allison having caused a vacancy, 
Governor Cummins was elected to suc- 
ceed him, November 24, 1908, the term 
expiring the following March. He was 
then elected by the Legislature for the 
full term of six years, extending to 
March, 1915. In November, 1914, at the 
first popular election for United States 
Senator in Iowa, he was elected to suc- 
ceed himself, and the country is thus 
assured of his valuable services for a fur- 
ther period of six years. In the United 
States Senate, Mr. Cummins is appreci- 
ated, esteemed and respected for his firm 
support of his announced principles, to- 
gether with his courteous and gentle- 
manly demeanor at all times. All his con- 
tests have been conducted in the open, 
and many of his opponents, while they 
fear him, cannot fail to respect him for 
his straightforward methods. In 1912 
his name was prominently before the 
Chicago Convention for the presidential 
nomination, but the nomination of Mr. 
Taft was the inevitable consequence of 
conditions then existing. Had Senator 
Cummins consented to certain proposals 
which involved the surrender of princi- 
ples to which he was committed, it is 
quite possible that he might have been 
nominated. His career has been one of 
honorable patriotic service, and he stands 
most conspicuous among the leaders of 
the progressive movement in politics, 
whose motives cannot be impugned, and 
whose record cannot be successfully at- 

Remarkable as a campaigner, he has 
rendered his party inestimable service 
in many hard contests, and in his own 
State he has carried through many meas- 
ures that have been of great benefit to 
the people, and made Iowa one of the 
foremost states in the progressive polit- 
ical movement. He is honored in State 
and nation, and when the battle shall 
have been finally won and the people 
come again "into their own," a full meas- 
ure of credit must be awarded Senator 
Albert Baird Cummins, this son of Greene 
county, who transplanted from the rug- 
ged hills of Pennsylvania to the treeless 
prairies of Iowa, there took root, flour- 
ished and became a leader of modern 
political thought. From various insti- 
tutions of learning Senator Cummins has 
received degrees which are alike honor- 
able to himself and those institutions. In 
191 2 he received from Waynesburg Col- 
lege (Pennsylvania), the honorary de- 
gree of Doctor of Laws, and in the same 
year received from Cornell (Iowa) Col- 
lege, a like honor. He is a consistent 
professor of the broad fraternal princi- 
ples of the Masonic order, with which 
he is affiliated, and he belongs to various 
bar associations, political organizations, 
and scientific societies, and still main- 
tains an active interest in his profession. 
Among the clubs in which he holds mem- 
bership are the Grant and Golf and Coun- 
try clubs of Des Moines ; Union League 
of Chicago; University, Chevy Chase and 
Columbia Country clubs of Washington, 
D. C. 

He married, June 24, 1874, at Eaton 
Rapids, Michigan, Ida L. Gallery, daugh- 
ter of James and Eliza Gallery. There is 
one child of this union, Kate Cummins, 
born July 21, 1875, who was married, 
October, 1898, to Hollis A. Ranson, and 
has sons : Albert Cummins, Alan and 
Thomas Scott Ranson. 




Financier, Leader in Community Affairs. 

Descendant in the present generation 
of Jacob Hertzler, who founded his line 
in the Pennsylvania colony in 1749, John 
Hertzler, well known financier and busi- 
ness man of Lancaster, Pennsylvania, has 
given to his name prominence in fields 
into which its members had previously 
little penetrated. Agriculture and the 
pursuits of the farm have in previous 
American generations claimed the care 
and attention of this line of Hertzler, and 
in this manner was occupied John Hertz- 
ler, father of John, of this chronicle, gain- 
ing a comfortable competence from the 
soil of his native county, Lancaster. So 
it was not from his forbears that John 
Hertzler obtained the ability and talent 
that have been the instruments of his rise 
to a position of importance and influence 
as a man of wide afifairs, but to them he 
is owing for habits of steady industry, 
strong moral fibre, and a conscience im- 
movable in decision. Well does his rec- 
ord in active life adorn the family name, 
and it is significant of the deep religious 
reverence that has ever been a family 
characteristic and which determined the 
coming of the immigrant ancestor, that 
he is active in many branches of the work 
of the Reformed church. 

The American ancestor of this line of 
Hertzler was Jacob Hertzler, who came 
to America from Holland in 1749. He 
was born in Switzerland, in 1703, and 
was a farmer and minister of the Amish 
Mennonite church, after his marriage in 
his native land moving to the Palatinate 
and France, where he lived for several 
years. The persecutions of those of in- 
dependent belief under the rule of Louis 
XV. caused him to flee to Holland, and 
from the port of Rotterdam he came to 
America via Plymouth, England, in the 
ship "St. Andrew," James Abercrombie, 

master, landing in Philadelphia on Sep- 
tember 9, 1749. He subsequently moved 
to Berne township, Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania, now Upper Berne town- 
ship, Berks county, he and his wife, Cath- 
erine Rugey, being buried in the Amish 
Congregation burying ground near Ham- 
burg, Pennsylvania. His descendants 
have made their homes in different sec- 
tions of the State and country, but the 
line of John Hertzler has retained resi- 
dence in Lancaster county to the present 

John, grandfather of John (3) Hertz- 
ler, passed his entire life in Rapho town- 
ship, Lancaster county, a farmer, success- 
ful and well known. He was a man of 
universal good report, married, and rear- 
ed a family, one of his sons John (2), of 
whom further. 

John (2), son of John Hertzler, was 
born in Rapho township, Lancaster coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania, and, like his father, en- 
gaged in agriculture as his life pursuit. 
lie was successful in his operations and 
prospered to a gratifying degree, gam- 
ing besides material independence, the 
confidence and respect of his neighbors. 
John Hertzler married (first) Miss 
Charles, member of an old and promi- 
nent family of Manor township, Lancas- 
ter county, Pennsylvania, and had one 
child, who died in infancy ; (second) 
Fannie, daughter of John Eshleman, a 
letired farmer of Elizabethtown, Penn- 
sylvania, and a member of a long estab- 
lished and noted family of the region. 
Children of John (2) and F'annie (Eshle- 
man) Hertzler: John, of whom further; 
Mary A., married Jacob Hertzler, de- 
ceased ; and Elizabeth, married A. F. 

John (3), son of John (2) and Fannie 
(Eshleman) Hertzler. was born on the 
family homestead in Rapho township, 
Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, Decem- 
ber 16, 1856. and was educated in the 


schools of the neighborhood. He discon- 
tinued his studies at the early age of six- 
teen years, entering the private banking 
house of Samuel Eby, of Elizabethtown, 
Pennsylvania, and there remained until 
1880. In the following year, upon the 
organization of the Fulton National 
Bank, of Lancaster, he was offered the 
position of paying teller, and, accepting 
this office, was associated with the insti- 
tution until 1887, being in the meantime 
raised to the rank of cashier. In the lat- 
ter year he resigned from the service of 
the Fulton National Bank and went west 
to Minneapolis, Minnesota, there enter- 
ing business as treasurer of the North- 
western Milling Company, at the end of 
two years disposing of his interests in 
this locality and returning to Lancaster, 
Pennsylvania. He at once assumed duties 
as treasurer of the Lancaster Trust Com- 
pany, newly organized in 1889. For the 
following ten years Mr. Hertzler was 
thus connected with this company, and 
upon the death of the president, John I. 
Hartman, December 26, 1899, Mr. Hertz- 
ler was the choice of his fellow directors 
for the presidency, which responsible 
oftice he holds to this time. His other 
business interests have been and are 
many, and the concerns with which he 
has been identified have profited by his 
discerning judgment and wise foresight. 
For many years he was president of the 
Hubley Manufacturing Company, and is 
now president of the .Star Ball Retainer 
Company ; treasurer and director of the 
Bearings Company of America ; and di- 
rector of the Lancaster Gas, Light and 
Fuel Company, the Edison Electric Com- 
pany of Lancaster, and the Columbia 
(Pennsylvania) Gas Company. Mr. 
Hertzler is also a director of the Lancas- 
ter County Railway and Lighting Com- 
pany, and president of several of its con- 
stituent lines. He has shown himself a 
man of large mental calibre, sufficiently 

broad in every respect for his wide in- 
terests and heavy responsibility, and 
when he has been closely associated with 
a business project has given to the ven- 
ture standing and rating because of his 
. reputation as a financier and business 
man who holds integrity and honor above 
material gain. The Lancaster Trust 
Company, with which he has been identi- 
fied longer and more intimately than with 
the majority of his other interests re- 
flects in its firm and substantial organi- 
zation the wisdom and strength of his 
guiding hand, and is widely known as an 
institution managed and conducted on 
the soundest of business principles. 

John Hertzler is a member of the First 
Reformed Church, of Lancaster, holding 
in its organization the office of elder, and 
is a liberal contributor to funds for its 
current expenses and beneficences. In 
the broader fields of church work his in- 
fluence is also felt. He is treasurer of 
the board of education of the Eastern 
Synod of the Reformed Church in the 
United States, and is a member of the 
board of trustees of the Theological Sem- 
inary of the Reformed church in the 
United States, also being treasurer of the 
latter board, and discharges his duties in 
connection with these offices faithfully 
and well. His political preferences are 
Republican, and this party he supports 
with his vote. His clubs are the Hamil- 
ton and Lancaster Country, of Lancaster, 
and the Union League, of Philadelphia. 

Mr. Hertzler married, October 7, 1880, 
Emma, daughter of Samuel GrofT, and 
has children, John Walter, Arthur G., 
and Emma. 

BRADFORD, Thomas Lindsley, M. D., 

Hom.oeopatliic Practitioner and Historiaiv. 

Not only has Dr. Bradford won emi- 
nence as a physician and specialist in 
children's diseases, but in the wide field 


of medical literature relating to HomcEO- 
pathy, its history, bibliography and in- 
stitutions he is far famed, an authority 
recognized and unquestioned. His liter- 
ary work, which began to appear in 1892, 
has been constant since that date and 
has been carried on in connection with 
a large private practice, his capacity for 
work seemingly boundless. He located 
in Philadelphia in 1877, and since then 
has been constantly engaged in medical 
and literary work in this city. He is an 
honored member of his profession, and is 
known not less for his profound medical 
knowledge than for his ability as a writer. 

Thomas Lindsley Bradford was born 
in Francestown, New Hampshire, June 
6, 1847, son of Thomas Bixby and Emily 
Hutchinson (Brown) Bradford. The 
family from which he descends is one of 
the most distinguished in the early colo- 
nial history of Massachusetts, in fact, the 
family record from the establishment of 
the Pilgrims in Holland in 1608 to the 
year 1657 includes a great part of the 
history of the Pilgrim colony in New 

Dr. Bradford was early educated in 
private schools and academies of Fran- 
cestown and at Phillips Academy, An- 
dover, Massachusetts, beginning the 
study of medicine in the first months of 
1866. The same year he attended a 
course of medical lectures at Harvard, 
but becoming impressed with the value 
of the Homoeopathic school of medicine 
entered, in 1867, the Homoeopathic Med- 
ical College of Pennsylvania at Philadel- 
phia. He was there graduated Doctor of 
Medicine, class of '69, then located for 
practice at Skowhegan, Maine, being at 
that time the only practitioner of homoeo- 
pathy in the entire county of Somerset. 
He built up a good practice, remaining 
in Skowhegan until 1877, but during the 
winter of 1872 spent several months in 
.<?tudy in Europe. In the spring of 1877 

he was called to the management of the 
Children's Homoeopathic Hospital in 
Philadelphia, remaining the head of that 
institution for one year. He then toured 
the West extensively, afterward return- 
ing to Philadelphia, which city has since 
been the scene of his activities, his spe- 
cialty being diseases of children. He is 
a member of the American Institute of 
Homoeopathy, the Pennsylvania Homoeo- 
pathic Medical Society, and the Philadel- 
phia County Homoeopathic Society, hold- 
ing a high place in the regard of his 
professional brethren of these societies. 

Dr. Bradford spent many years collect- 
ing data concerning the early history of 
Homoeopathy in the United States, and 
in 1S92 published "A Homoeopathic Bibli- 
ography of the United States from the 
Years 1825 to 1891." This work was one 
of the highest value, giving as it did con- 
densed statements, data, and histories of 
the various homoeopathic societies, col- 
leges, hospitals, homes, dispensaries, 
pharmacies, publishers, directories, legis- 
lative laws on Homoeopathy, the princi- 
pal books written against its principles, 
and a list of homoeopathic libraries at 
any time extant in the United States. In 
1895 he published "The Life and Letters 
of Samuel Hahnemann," followed in 1897 
by "Pioneers in Homoeopathy." In 1898 
he published a "History of Hahnemann 
Medical College and Hospital of Phila- 
delphia," and in the same year "Quiz 
Questions on the History of Medicine" 
and a "History of the Homoeopathic Med- 
ical College of Pennsylvania." In 1900 
there appeared from his able and prolific 
pen "The Logic of Figures, or Compara- 
tive Results of Homoeopathic and Other 
Treatments," followed in 1901 by "An 
Index of Provings." In 1905 his "His- 
tory of Homoeopathy and its Institutions 
in the United States" came from the 
press, and in 1912 a revised edition of the 
"Autobiography of a Baby." In addi- 


tion to this original work Dr. Bradford 
is the compiler of "Bibliographer's Man- 
ual of American History" (1907-1910 in 
five volumes), and "The Lesser Writings 
of C. M. von Boenninghausen" (igo8). 
His library is one of great value, espe- 
cially rich in the early Homoeopathic 
w^orks and in the old and rare books that 
have been published on Homoeopathy in 
America, Germany and France. His col- 
lection of prints, letters, and documents 
relating to Homoeopathy is also very 
large. These, in addition to the library 
of Hahnemann College, form a rare and 
valuable collection, over which Dr. Brad- 
ford is the official college librarian, an 
office he has held for many years. While 
medicine and literature have been his 
constant pursuits the doctor has a warm 
social nature and has for many years 
been in closest association with the Ma- 
sonic order and its varied bodies, and is 
also a member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. In political faith he is 
a Republican. 

Dr. Bradford married, June 15, 1887, 
Eliza Virginia Hough, of Williamsport. 
Pennsylvania, and now resides at No. 
1862 Frankford avenue. 

HEAD, Judge John B., 

La-wyer, Jurist. 

Among those whose lives and labors 
confer honor and distinction on the State 
of Pennsylvania is Judge John B. Head, of 
Greensburg, Westmoreland county, who 
is of English descent. 

William B. Head, the great-grandfather 
of Judge Head, was born in the northern 
part of what is now the State of Virginia. 
Subsequently he removed to Frederick 
county, Maryland, where he was engaged 
in agricultural pursuits for many years. 
He was an active participant in the War 
of the Revolution, and is buried near his 

John Head, son of William, B. Head, 
was born in Frederick count}', Maryland, 
and died in 1838, near Youngstown, West- 
moreland covinty, Pennsylvania. He re- 
moved to Youngstown in 1836, and he 
and his wife are buried in the Catholic 
Cemetery near Latrobe. Mr. Head mar- 
ried Sophia Greene, of Maryland, and 
they had eight children. 

William S. Head, eldest son of John 
and Sophia (Greene) Head, was born on 
the homestead farm in Frederick county, 
Maryland, in August, 1823, and died in 
Latrobe, Westmoreland county, Pennsyl- 
vania, February 7, 1896. He was a young 
lad when the family removed to Penn- 
sylvania, and received his education in 
country schools. In 1852 he removed to 
the new railroad station of Latrobe, and 
erected the first house in that town. Later 
he erected warehouses, in order to carry 
on his constantly increasing business, and 
was identified with the town almost all of 
his life. In association with his brother 
Joseph he opened a private bank in La- 
trobe in 1873, and when his brother died 
two years later he admitted his son, John 
B., to partnership, changing the firm name 
to read W. S. Head & Son. This bank 
was chartered as the First National Bank 
of Latrobe in 1888, Mr. Head becoming 
president of this corporation, and remain- 
ing in office until his death. He was a 
Democrat in political opinion, and a mem- 
ber of the Roman Catholic church. Mr. 
Head married, in 1848, Sarah Coulter, a 
native of Pennsylvania, of Scotch-Irish 
ancestry, daughter of Joseph and Mary 
(Wilson) Coulter, and granddaughter of 
Joseph Coulter. They had children : 
Mary, married W. A. Johnston, of La- 
trobe ; John B., the subject of this sketch ; 
Joseph C, who has won an enviable repu- 
tation in the world of finance ; William ; 
Richard ; Raymond ; Harriet, who joined 
the Benedictine order; Julia, who joined 


the Order of Mercy; two who died in 

Judge John B. Head was born at La- 
trobe, Pennsylvania, April 4, 1855, and 
was a pupil in the parochial schools until 
he had attained the age of thirteen years. 
He then matriculated at Mt. St. Mary's 
College, Maryland, from which he was 
graduated with honor in 1873. His con- 
nection with the banking institution 
organized by his father and uncle has 
been related above. The legal profession 
had always had a peculiar fascination for 
him, and he commenced reading law in 
1878 in the office of A. A. Stewart, Esq., 
of Greensburg, and was admitted to the 
bar of Westmoreland county in 1880. He 
at once became associated in a legal part- 
nership with the late Hon. H. P. Laird, 
and when this was dissolved associated 
himself in a similar relation with James 
S. Moorehead, which becam,e one of the 
most important legal firms of the county. 
In 1905 Mr. Head was nominated by the 
Democratic State Convention at Harris- 
burg for the office of Judge of the Su- 
perior Court, and was elected the follow- 
ing November. 

Judge Head married. May 2, 1877, Na- 
omi, a daughter of Morris and Margaret 
Jones, formerly of Pittsburgh. 

GIVEN, William B., 

Lawyer, Man of Large Affairs. 

Mr. Given is the third of his line to 
hold residence in Columbia, Lancaster 
county, Pennsylvania, and to occupy a 
prominent and important place in the 
business and public life of the city and 
locality. That his present position sur- 
passes those of his father and grandfather 
in influence in no way casts unfavorable 
light upon those representatives of former 
generations of the family of Given, but 
has its explanation in the difference of 
times and conditions in which they were 

placed. Schooled in the law and attain- 
ing to success in that profession, from 
that calling Mr. Given made his entrance 
into public life, and until 1896 was an 
ardent and active worker in the Demo- 
cratic party, thoroughly in sympathy with 
its best principles and striving always for 
their propagation. Since that year he has 
devoted his time and attention to profes- 
sional and business interests, and in busi- 
ness has created a record that is a fit 
companion for the success of his profes- 
sional and business career. Traction and 
power companies in his native county 
have felt the influence of his direction, 
and in the organization of several light- 
ing companies, gas and electric, he played 
a leading part. At this time telephone 
operations are his chief concern, and as 
president of the Consolidated Telephone 
Company of Pennsylvania and of the 
Telephone Securities Company he exer- 
cises no small power in this field. Mr. 
Given has been almost continuously iden- 
tified with business operations of size 
and importance, and has led and aided in 
the organization and promotion of insti- 
tutions now leaders in their various lines, 
examples of which are numerous through- 
out his active career. He is a citizen of 
Columbia, in whose achievements, as a 
native, Columbia may well take pride, 
and in fealty and devotion to his birth- 
place, his State, or his friends, he has 
never failed. 

William B. Given is a descendant of 
Scotch-Irish ancestry, his family founded 
in the United States by his grandfather, 
James Given, a native of Ireland, who, 
upon first coming to this country, settled 
in Chester county, Pennsylvania. He 
afterward moved to Lancaster county, 
making his home in Columbia, and there 
engaged in lumbering. In this line he 
prospered, wisely invested his means, and 
became the possessor of a considerable 
fortune. He was a leading Democrat of 



his community, and during his success- 
ful life enjoyed the regard and liking of 
many friends. He belonged to the Meth- 
odist Episcopal church, and through his 
identification with this denomination par- 
ticipated in all its good works, contribut- 
ing generously to its beneficences. He 
and his wife, a Miss Mercer, were the 
parents of eight children. 

William P., son of James and father of 
William B. Given, was born near Down- 
ingtown, Chester county, Pennsylvania, 
January 20, 1813, and when he was three 
years of age came to Columbia with his 
parents. In this place he grew to manhood, 
was educated, and here succeeded to his 
father's business interests, from which he 
retired quite early in life. Among his 
business connections in Columbia were 
memberships in the boards of directors 
of the Columbia National Bank and the 
Columbia Bridge Company, and after his 
retirement in 1859 he purchased a farm 
near Baltimore, Maryland, upon which 
he resided until his death in 1862. His 
religious and political beliefs coincided 
with those of his father, and he was a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and of Democratic sympathies. 
William F. Given married, October 21, 
1851, Susan A., daughter of Rev. Wil- 
liam Barns, of Philadelphia, and had chil- 
dren: Laura, William B., of whom fur- 
ther; Mercer, Frank S. and Martha W. 

William B. Given, son of William F. 
and Susan A. (Barns) Given, was born 
in Columbia, Lancaster county, Pennsyl- 
vania, September 23, 1854. His parents 
moving soon afterward to their farm near 
Baltimore, Maryland, it was in the public 
schools of that city that his education was 
begun, his studies continued in Saunders 
Institute, Philadelphia, and the Univer- 
sity of Michigan. From the Ann Arbor 
institution he was graduated in the class 
of 1875, when a young man of twenty 

years, and at once chose the law as his 
profession, beginning his legal prepara- 
tion in the ofifice of Hon. Vincent Brad- 
ford and E. Ray, of Philadelphia, com- 
pleting the same under the preceptorship 
of Hon. H. M. North, of Columbia. He 
obtained admission to the bar in 1876, 
and began practice in Columbia, rapidly 
gaining in ability and influence in his pro- 
fession, extending his practice to all of 
the State and Federal courts of his dis- 
trict, and appearing in the Supreme Court 
of Pennsylvania and the Supreme Court 
of the United States. For nine years Mr. 
Given was a member of the Columbia 
school board, for two years of that time 
as president. In the year following his 
establishment in legal work he became 
the candidate of his party, the Demo- 
cratic, for the office of district attorney, 
five years afterward appearing as the 
Democratic Congressional nominee, but 
on both occasions was unable to over- 
come the large majority that had always 
belonged to the Republican party. For 
several years he was a member of the 
State Democratic Committee, and in 1892 
was a delegate to the National Demo- 
cratic Convention that nominated Grover 
Cleveland for the presidency. In 1896 he 
was chairman of the State Convention 
that convened at Allentown, and upon 
taking the chair took a decided and effec- 
tive stand for "sound money," vigorously 
advocating a monetary system of stabil- 
ity and recognized permanence. His well 
known position on this subject made him 
a delegate to the National Convention of 
1896, where he was again a tireless advo- 
cate of "sound money," and upon his re- 
turn to Pennsylvania he assisted in the re- 
organization of the "sound money" Dem- 
ocratic movement, subsequently serving 
as a delegate to the convention at Indian- 
apolis, and State chairman of that party 
in the following campaign. Since 1896 


Mr. Given has taken no part in politics, 
but in 1900 cast his vote for William Mc- 

The Lancaster County Electric Rail- 
ways and Lighting Company is largely 
the result of Mr. Given's organizing abil- 
ity, this company now controlling all 
street railways in Lancaster county, and 
he also assisted in organizing the Colum- 
bia and Lancaster Electric Light Com- 
panies. He resigned the presidencies of 
these corporations in 1906, leaving the 
companies in flourishing and expanding 
condition, and participated in the organ- 
ization of the American Laundry Machin- 
ery Company, a concern which controlled 
all the laundry machinery manufacturing 
plants in the United States, with the ex- 
ception of those located in Troy, New 
York. The headquarters of this company 
were in Chicago, Illinois, and during Mr. 
Given's occupancy of the offices of treas- 
urer and general solicitor he resided in 
that city. He is now president of the Con- 
solidated Telephone Company of Pennsyl- 
vania, whose headquarters are at Hazle- 
ton, Pennsylvania, and is also president 
of the Telephone Securities Company, 
whose offices are at No. 60 Broadway, 
New York City, and was one of the organ- 
izers and first president of the Columbia 
Trust Company, Columbia, Pennsylvania. 

Mr. Given's lifetime of activity has 
been productive of results, and the insti- 
tutions in whose founding he took such a 
conspicuous part have been boons of in- 
expressible value to Lancaster county. 
While still most strenuously active in the 
business world, and while wielding a po- 
tent influence in many circles, he can 
review a past spent in association with 
large enterprises successfully consum- 
mated and feel nothing but satisfaction 
in his connection therewith. His repu- 
tation is that of a professional and busi- 
ness man who has adhered, in word and 
action, to principles of right and truth, 

and it is as such that he is universally 
regarded. Mr. Given is a member of the 
University of Chicago Club, the Art Club 
of Philadelphia, the Westmoreland Club 
of Wilkes-Barre, and the Lancaster 
County Country Club of Lancaster. 

William B. Given married, September 
5, 1878, Mary E., daughter of Abraham 
Bruner, and has three daughters and one 
son, Erna B., Jane Bruner, William 
Barns and Susan Emily. His son, Wil- 
liam Barns Given, was born in Columbia, 
Pennsylvania, December 7, 1886, and was 
educated in the public schools of Colum- 
bia, Hill School, at Pottstown, and Yale 
University, whence he was graduated 
class of 1908. He is now associated with 
the American Brake Shoe and Foundry 
Company, of New York, and is secretary 
of the Hale and Kilburn Company, of 
Philadelphia. His clubs are the Univer- 
sity of Chicago, Illinois, and Yale of 
New York. 

CARSON, Hampton L., 

Distinguished Zjawyer, Iiitieratenr. 

From Scotland, after a residence in 
County Antrim, Ireland, came to Phila- 
delphia in 1759, the forbears of Hampton 
L. Carson, of Philadelphia, now and for 
many years a conspicuous figure in State 
and national life. His maternal descent 
is from Henry Hollingsworth, a deputy 
surveyor under William Penn. This line 
is traced to England and Wales. 

Mr. Carson is of the fourth American 
generation of Carsons : Joseph (i), the 
emigrant, Joseph (2), and Dr. Joseph 
(3) Carson, being the heads of the in- 
tervening generations. 

Hampton Lawrence Carson was born 
in Philadelphia, February 21, 1852, son 
of Dr. Joseph and Mary (Hollingsworth) 
Carson. His early and preparatory edu- 
cation was obtained in the famous boys' 
school presided over by Rev. John W. 



Faires. In 1867 he entered the Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania, with which his dis- 
tinguished father (class of 1826) had 
been intimately associated as professor 
of materia medica, in the medical depart- 
ment. He chose the department of arts 
for his course, and. after a brilliant college 
career, was graduated B. A., class of 1871, 
He was awarded the freshman declam- 
ation prize, equally with Herbert Welsh ; 
as a sophomore, he won the sophomore 
declamation ; also the junior English, ana 
the alumni junior declamation prizes, 
and was class historian. Deciding upon 
the legal profession, he entered the office 
of William M. Tilghman, Esq., and also 
the law school of the University of Penn- 
sylvania, whence he was graduated LL. 
B. and M. A., class of 1874. He was 
admitted to the Philadelphia bar, April 
4, 1874, and at once began the practice 
of his profession as junior of the law firm 
Redding, Jones & Carson. 

He was later admitted to the Superior 
and Supreme Courts of Pennsylvania, to 
the Supreme Court of the United States 
on motion of William H. Taft, then So- 
licitor General, and to the Federal courts 
of his circuit. He rapidly grew in promi- 
nence in legal circles, and, after some 
changes in the personnel of the firm with 
which he was connected, withdrew, and 
began practice under his own name. He 
acquired an influential clientele, and as 
counsel in many important cases soon be- 
came a State figure. As professional suc- 
cess came, political honor was also tend- 
ered him by his Philadelphia friends, but 
he steadfastly refused all ofifers, and con- 
tinued his law practice. He now became 
very much in demand and could only give 
personal attention to cases of greater im- 
portance. He argued cases before the 
Supreme Courts of Pennsylvania, New 
Jersey, Maryland and other states, in- 
volving questions of deepest moment and 
carried them to final decision. One of 

these involved legal issues never before 
brought before the United States Su- 
preme Court, and, as the first to be de- 
cided, became a leading case of record. 

The importance of his legal work had 
now brought him into national promi- 
nence, and he argued, before the commit- 
tee on elections of the United States Sen- 
ate, against the right of the Governor of 
a State to make an appointment to a va- 
cancy arising during a session of the leg- 
islature. In this he was successful. As 
leading counsel before the United States 
Supreme Court in the Lone Wolf case, 
involving the rights of Indians in Okla- 
homa, he was brought prominently be- 
fore the American people, who have since 
followed his career with deepest interest. 
He delivered many speeches and ad- 
dresses that were reported in full in the 
daily papers and later printed and pre- 
served in permanent form. He was spe- 
cial representative of the American Bar 
Association at the meeting of the Eng- 
lish and French bars at Montreal, Can- 
ada, in 1901, and an invited speaker be- 
fore the bench and bar of England — at 
the banquet in London given in honor 
of the great French advocate Labori, 
counsel for the defense in the Dreyfus 

From 1895 to 1901 he was Professor 
of Law at the University of Pennsyl- 
vania. He had developed the art and 
graces of the polished orator, and was 
regarded as one of America's most dis- 
tinguished and eloquent orators. To this 
reputation of his earlier years, he has 
added the wisdom of maturer years and 
greater exoerience. until he stands today 
without a superior in the realm of legal 
attainment, or oratory. In 1903 he ac- 
cepted, from Governor Samuel W. 
Pennypacker, the position of Attorney 
General of the State of Pennsylvania, 
continuing in that high office until 1907. 
While Attorney General, he wrote over 


five hundred opinions, while his argu- 
ments before the Supreme Courts of the 
United States and Pennsylvania, fill thir- 
ty-two volumes. 

Notwithstanding his profound knowl- 
edge of law, he never goes before a court 
without special preparation for each par- 
ticular case. With this thorough knowl- 
edge of his subject, and of the legal 
principle involved, his addresses to the 
court are models of clearness and con- 
vincing logic. Himself called "Our legal 
encyclopedia," he thoroughly examines 
any close legal point involved and con- 
sults every authority, before trusting his 
case to argument. He does not depend 
upon oratory to win decisions, but with 
his profound knowledge of all law, his 
special preparation for that case, and his 
wonderful eloquence, all combined, he 
seldom goes down to defeat. 

With professional duties bearing heav- 
ily upon him, Mr. Carson has not neg- 
lected the duties of citizenship, but has 
been a close student of political prob- 
lems, and fought from the forum many 
of the historic political conflicts of his 
State and nation. His public speeches, 
addresses and law articles cover a very 
wide range of thought embracing sub- 
jects, legal, historical, political, scientific 
and patriotic, including reviews of the 
laws of our country from William Penn ; 
reports of celebrated legal cases ; contri- 
butions to legal and historical magazines ; 
biographies of great lawyers, statesmen 
and heroes ; political speeches and argu- 
ments in cases of national interest. They 
have been delivered before supreme 
courts, trial courts, historical societies, 
political societies, universities, bar asso- 
ciations, scientific societies, public gath- 
erings, banqueting bodies and the United 
States Senate. They have been published 
in book form in the "Legal Intelligencer," 
the "Green Bag," daily papers, magazines, 
and in pamphlets. His oration on "The 

Real Greatness of Abraham Lincoln" was 
delivered before the Union League of 
Philadelphia, and his "Character of Grant 
and his Place in History" in the Acad- 
emy of Music in the same city. Outside 
his own State he has delivered many his- 
torical addresses, and his is a familiar 
figure before the students of many of our 
universities, colleges and high schools. 

To adequately cover the detail of his 
busy life would require a volume, but 
enough is here shown to convey some 
idea of the scope of his activity and the 
measure of his achievement. To thor- 
oughly understand what his success real- 
ly means, one must remember that Mr. 
Carson is still but little, if any, past the 
prime of life. When this is regarded, 
one may leave all thought of his intel- 
lectuality and gift of oratory, and readily 
see that the mainspring of his success 
is not those God-given talents, but his 
immense capacity for work, work, and 
still more work. Talented though he be, 
nothing but hard work could have placed 
him in the proud position he occupies at 
the bar and on the forum. The lesson 
his life teaches to the young man, is the 
value of properly directed industry. There 
is no royal road to success. Hope is of 
the valley, but success lies in climbing 
the mountain side. 

There are other phases of his life that 
are worthy of particular mention, nota- 
bly his work in the field of literature out- 
side his written opinions, addresses and 
historical contributions. He is the author 
of "Law and Criminal Conspiracies as 
Found in American Cases," which has 
been accepted as an authority in nearly 
every State of the Union ; "A History of 
the Celebration of the One Hundredth 
Anniversary of the Promulgation of the 
Constitution of the United States," two 
volumes ; and he now has in course of 
preparation a life of Lord Mansfield and 
a "History of the Supreme Court of 


Pennsylvania." He has for thirty years 
been collecting the material, and has a 
collection of legal portraits, documents 
and autograph letters, which include 
twelve thousand portraits and six thou- 
sand volumes of law history. He has also 
more original documents and letters from 
the pen of William Blackstone, than any 
other collector in England or America, 
including the original appointment of 
Blackstone as judge by King George III. 
Other documents of great value are found 
in his collection. 

Before the Pennsylvania Bar Associa- 
tion, June 29, 1910, he read a paper en- 
titled "The Genesis of Blackstone's Com- 
mentaries and Their Place in Legal Liter- 
ature." In this he completely reviewed 
Blackstone's methods of writing, citing 
the long list of books from which he drew 
his materials ; spoke of the criticism fav- 
orable and unfavorable with which the 
work of the master was received, includ- 
ing the charge that, "It was intelligible 
and that any lawyer who wrote so clearly 
was an enemy to his profession." Clos- 
ing his review of the work that Black- 
stone did, Mr. Carson said: "This then 
was his work, transcendent in its results 
as well as marvelous in its beauty. It 
must always be reckoned with by any 
historical student of the development of 
the law * * * By us it must not be 
forgotten that we owe a debt to Black- 
stone which is not simply sentimental 
and historical but substantial * * * j^ 
crowded cities, in prairie villages, in 
mountain hamlets, in the depth of the 
forests, and by the shores of the Great 
Lakes, or by the banks of our teeming 
rivers, the great commentator has been 
omnipresent * * * In nine hundred years, 
but six names appear as the real masters 
in authorship of the English law — Glan- 
vil, Bracton, Littleton, Coke, Hale, and 

Mr. Carson is a great traveler, eight 

times he has crossed the ocean, and he 
is almost as familiar with Europe as with 
his own land, and that he has toured 
thoroughly. He is an ardent lover of 
nature, and takes his recreation out of 
doors, his favorite relaxation being horse- 
back riding. His social clubs are the 
Philadelphia, the Union League, the Uni- 
versity, Manufacturers, Franklin Inn, and 
Triplets. His literary and scientific so- 
cieties are the Wistar, American Philo- 
sophical, American Historical, Swedish 
Historical, The Historical Society of 
Pennsylvania, of which he is vice-presi- 
dent, and the Pennsylvania Society Sons 
of the Revolution. His legal clubs are 
the Philadelphia Law Association, of 
which he is chancellor, Pennsylvania 
State Bar, and the American Bar Asso- 
ciations, the Legal Club, and the Law- 
yers' Club. 

In political life he has always been a 
Republican. He was active in the re- 
form movement in Philadelphia in 1880, 
and as a member of the Anti-Third Term 
League, made a speech at the Chicago 
Convention, opposing the nomination of 
President Grant for a third term. He is 
a member of St. Peter's Episcopal Church 
at Third and Pine streets, Philadelphia, 
with which he has long been connected. 

He married, in April, 1880, Anna Lea 
Baker, daughter of John R. and Anna 
(Lea) Baker, of Philadelphia. Children: 
Joseph (4) Carson, an attorney of the 
Philadelphia bar, associated with his 
father in business ; Hope, wife of Evan 
Randolph; John B., a physician; Anna 

GRUBB, Clement B., 

Prominent Ironmaster and Financier. 

To do honor to those of worthy life 

who have passed from the scenes of their 

achievement and activity is always a 

pleasing task to the biographer, and in 



no instance can such recognition be bet- 
ter placed than in a brief review of the 
career and antecedents of Clement B. 
Grubb, the well-known financier and 
business man of Lancaster. He was a 
member of an English family founded in 
the Pennsylvania colony by John Grubb, 
in the latter years of the seventeenth 
century, and which since the second 
American generation has been prominent- 
ly identified with iron ore production in 
the State. Important public position, as 
well as leading place in business, has fre- 
quently been the lot of members of the 
line to which Clement B. Grubb belonged, 
and John Grubb, the American ancestor, 
was twice elected to the Provincial As- 
sembly, taking active part in the deliber- 
ations of that legislative body. 

In the person of Clement B. Grubb, the 
English family was ably represented in 
many circles, and the active period of his 
long life of seventy-four years was filled 
with interests far-reaching and excellent 
in result. His aim was far from the at- 
tainment of personal prestige, and the 
material success that came to him was 
so generously administered and so wisely 
used that many were sharers in his good 
fortune. For twenty years he filled the 
presidency of the First National Bank of 
Lancaster, guiding the affairs of that in- 
stitution in channels safe and well chart- 
ed, his conservative, rational business 
methods applied to finance with the same 
success that attended them in his private 
dealings. His life was in all ways up- 
right, and the length of his days gave 
full opportunity for the completion of a 
life work whose benefits were widely dis- 
tributed and which in itself was a ser- 
mon, strong and convincing, beautiful in 
simplicity, on brotherhood and fellow- 

John Grubb, founder of the line of 
Clement B. Grubb, sailed from England 
in the ship "Kent," in 1669, and landed 

PEN— Vol VI— n I 

in Delaware, near Wilmington, in which 
locality he received a grant of three hun- 
dred and forty acres. Grubb's Landing, 
on Chester creek, took its name from 
him, but in 1703 he left that locality and 
made his home in Marcus Hook, Penn- 
sylvania. He became the owner of large 
lands, was colonial justice in 1693, and 
was twice elected to the Colonial As- 
sembly. Among his children were Sam- 
uel, and Peter, of whom further. 

Peter, seventh son of John Grubb, was 
the discoverer of vast and valuable de- 
posits of iron ore in Lebanon county, 
Pc«nsylvania, and became chief owner of 
the rich Cornwall ore hills, the Cornwall 
Furnace, built at that place, one of the 
first in Pennsylvania, being still in profit- 
able operation. Peter Grubb was a mem- 
ber of the Society of Friends, and in 1732 
married (first) Martha, widow of James 
Wall, who died in 1740, (second) Han- 
nah, widow of Theodore Marshall. By 
his second marriage he had two sons, 
Curtis and Peter (2). 

Peter (2), son of Peter (i) Grubb and 
his second wife, Hannah Marshall, was 
born in Cornwall, Pennsylvania, and died 
in 1786, at Hopewell Forge (now Speed- 
well), Pennsylvania. From early man- 
hood he was an iron manufacturer, and 
in 1784 bought property at Mount Hope, 
there erecting a furnace which he oper- 
ated during his active years. He was a 
soldier in the Eighth Pennsylvania Bat- 
talion in the War for Independence. He 
married, in 1771, Mary Shippen Burd, 
who died at Hopewell Forge, in 1776, 
having borne him children : Alan Burd, 
and Henry Bates, of whom further. 

Henry Bates, son of Peter and Mary 
Shippen (Burd) Grubb, was born at 
Hopewell Forge, Pennsylvania, Febru- 
ary 6, 1774, died March 9, 1823. Like his 
father, he was closely connected with the 
iron industry, and in this line attained 
material independence, being largely in- 


terested in the Mount Hope, Manada, 
Mount Vernon, and Cadoros furnaces. 
He married, June i8, 1805, Ann Carson, 
who died in October, 1806, survived by 
her husband and one son, Henry. Henry 
Bates Grubb married a second time, De- 
cember I, 1808, Harriet Amelia Buckley, 
and had issue: i. Edward B., married 
Euphemia Parker ; children : General E. 
Burd, United States Minister to Spain; 
Henry, Charles R., and Euphemia. 2. 
Clement B., of whom further. 3. Mary 
Shippen, married, in 1845, George W. 
Parker, their daughter Mary marrying 
Hon. William Welsh, United States 
Minister to Italy. 4. Sarah Elizabeth, 
married John G. Ogilvie, of Philadelphia, 
and has a daughter, Elizabeth, who mar- 
ried Dr. Herbert Morris, of Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania. 5. Alfred Bates, born in 
1821, died in 1885; married Ellen Far- 
num; children: Alfred Bates, Jr., Ellen, 
Anna Newbold, married George J. Chet- 
wood ; Mary Elizabeth, and Rosalie, mar- 
ried Charles Grosholtz, of Philadelphia. 

Clement B. Grubb, son of Henry Bates 
and Harriet Amelia (Buckley) Grubb, 
was born at Mount Hope, Pennsylvania, 
February 9, 1815, and died at Lancaster, 
Pennsylvania, October 31, 1889. He was 
early placed under the tutelage of Dr. 
William A. Muhlenburg, who directed 
his studies until his entrance to the 
Franklin Institute, of Philadelphia. When 
seventeen years of age he became asso- 
ciated in business with his brother, Ed- 
ward Burd Grubb, in the management 
and operation of the furnaces at Mount 
Hope, Mount Vernon, Manada, and Ca- 
doros, and the St. Charles and Henry 
Clay furnaces at Columbia, Pennsylvania, 
with his son, Charles B. Grubb, the first 
four charcoal, the latter two anthracite. 
Mr. Grubb became sole owner of the 
Chestnut Hill Ore Bank, and prospered 
in his industrial operations. For twenty 
years he was president of the First I^a- 

tional Bank of Lancaster, a financier of 
foresight and judgment, the careful 
guardian of the funds of the bank's in- 
vestors. He was a staunch Republican, 
a loyal believer in the party's principles, 
and was one of the earliest members of 
the Philadelphia Union League. Mr. 
Grubb was confirmed in the Protestant 
Episcopal faith by Bishop White, and be- 
came a vestryman of St. James' Church 
of that denomination, active in all of its 
works, and a liberal contributor to funds 
for its various needs and projects. The 
worth of his life and the fineness of his 
moral fibre bound his many friends to 
him closely, and by those of his friends 
and associates who survive him his 
memory is revered and honored, for 
principles of right were his daily creed, 
and his impression upon his day ineradi- 

Mr. Grubb married, February 27, 1841, 
Mary, daughter of Charles and Jane 
Barde Brook, her father a successful 
ironmaster of Chester county, Pennsyl- 
vania. Children of Clement B. and Mary 
(Brook) Grubb: i. Harriet B., married 
Stephen B. Irwin, of Philadelphia, and 
has a son, John Heister. 2. Charles 
Brook, born October 6, 1844, died Octo- 
ber 12, 191 1 ; he was educated in Prince- 
ton University, and became associated 
with his father in business, upon the 
death of the elder Grubb succeeding him 
in the direction of their various enter- 
prises. He was a member of the Masonic 
order, and belonged to St. James' Prot- 
estant Episcopal Church. 3. Mary L. 
Brook, married Joseph Bond Beall, of 
New York ; three children : Mary Lilly ; 
Ethel Grubb, married Dr. George Tucker 
Smith, United States Navy, where fam- 
ily line is connected with that of George 
Washington, and has one son, George 
Tucker Smith, Jr.; Florence Bell. 4. 
Ella Jane, married Colonel L. Heber 
Smith, deceased, of Joanna, Pennsyl- 

^^^-«Bss,«« £^!r^.J\^:yr 

^CTO^oL' J^. Vcr^il^^^ 

-■,/,^,^a,' ^1^ /r^ 


vania, and has six children : Clement 
Grubb, married Edith Watts Comstock, 
and has one daughter, Julia Comstock; 
Heber L., married Nellie Oliver Baer, 
daughter of George F. Baer, deceased, 
a former president of the Philadelphia & 
Reading Railroad; Mary Grubb; Daisy 
Emily, married William Stuart Morris, 
and has Heber S., Morris. Mary Cheston, 
and Jane Grubb ; Stanley MacDonald, 
married Caroline B. Franklin ; William 
Howard. 5. Daisy Elizabeth Brook, re- 
sides in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. 

COGHLAN, Rev. Gerald P., 

Roman Catholic Clergyman. 

The Rev. Gerald P. Coghlan, the well 
known pastor of the Church of Our Lady 
of Mercy, Philadelphia, has had a career 
that bespeaks accomplishment and stamps 
him as one of the conspicuous priests of 
the Catholic church. 

He was born at Foxford, County Mayo, 
Ireland, July 4, 1848, and his early youth 
was passed amid the inspirations of the 
ardent Catholic faith of the Irish people. 
He came to the United States in his 
eighteenth year, and was admitted to the 
Seminary of St. Charles, in the diocese 
of Philadelphia, where he displayed tal- 
ents of superior order. These were sub- 
sequently recognized by the faculty of 
the institution, in his appointment to 
teach the classics. As a student of phil- 
osophy and theology he was remarkable 
for his clear understanding and his ardent 
love of study. He also devoted much 
time to general reading. He writes an 
easy and perspicuous style, and his con- 
tributions to the periodical press, though 
mainly anonymous, have attracted mark- 
ed attention. 

After having completed the theological 
course, he was ordained priest, on the 
feast of St. Luke the Evangelist, Octo- 
ber 18, 1872. His first appointment was 

as assistant to the Church of the Im- 
maculate Conception, Philadelphia. Here 
he remained until 1875, when he was 
transferred to St. Mary's, Philadelphia. 
He returned to the Immaculate Concej>- 
tion in the spring of 1876, and officiated 
therein for two more years. We next 
find him laboring in the city of Easton. 
His term of thirteen months in this im- 
portant mission closed with the appoint- 
ment to the pastorate of St. Aloysius, 
Pottstown. Four years of good work 
were spent in this parish when his effi- 
ciency moved Archbishop Wood to in- 
trust him with the pastorate of St. Pe- 
ter's, Reading. 

In Reading Father Coghlan built the 
new church of St. Joseph, and cleared it 
almost entirely of debt. He also intro- 
duced into Reading the Sisters of the 
Good Shepherd. Seven years of spiritual 
activity marked Father Coghlan's pastor- 
ate of St. Peter's, Reading. The moment 
came for a summons to a wider and more 
difficult sphere of action. On October 14, 
1889, he received his appointment as pas- 
tor of the new church of Our Lady of 
Mercy, to be erected at Broad street and 
Susquehanna avenue, Philadelphia, and 
with characteristic energy, he began op- 
erations ten days after his appointment. 
Actual work was begun October 24th. 
The subsequent history of the Church of 
Our Lady of Mercy may be summed up 
in one word — "Onword !" There has been 
no pause in the work. The lower story 
of the school building was the first struc- 
ture. It was dedicated as a chapel, De- 
cember 22, 1889. On May 12, 1890, 
ground was broken for the edifice of the 
new church. In October, of the same 
year. Archbishop Ryan laid the corner 
stone. The parish house was formally 
opened February 12, 1892. The school 
is also finished, and it is surpassed by 
no educational edifice of the kind in the 


Our Lady of Mercy is a conspicuous 
and magnificent edifice situated at the 
corner of North Broad street and Sus- 
quehanna avenue, Philadelphia, Pennsyl- 
vania. It is admitted one of the finest 
specimens of the Romanesque in this 
country; beautiful and impressive, it is 
probably the most conspicuous church 
located on the broadest, longest asphalt 
street in the vi^orld. 

When we reflect that Father Coghlan 
assumed the financial burden of this great 
undertaking without a dollar in the treas- 
ury and that he accomplished this stu- 
pendous work chiefly by the admirable 
manner in which he organized the 
"Church Building Fund," it must be ad- 
mitted that God endowed him with cour- 
age and perseverance and consummate 
cost. His enterprises to collect money 
have been exceptionally successful. Not 
the least of the elements of his success 
is the unbounded confidence which the 
people repose in his skill and prudence. 
As a pastor he is loved and respected. 
On the occasion of his silver jubilee the 
parishers of Our Lady of Mercy gave a 
testimonial to Father Coghlan and pre- 
sented him with a check for $6,000. 
Father Coghlan consented to accept this 
gift only with the understanding that he 
could turn it over to the "Building Fund," 
again demonstrating his big-heartedness 
and genuine interest in his life work. 

The silver jubilee of Father Coghlan's 
was an occasion where many leading 
Catholic dignitaries met and paid tribute 
to him. He also received a cablegram 
from the late Pope, Leo XIII., which 
read, "Rome, October 23. To Rev. Ger- 
ald P. Coghlan, Philadelphia. His Holi- 
ness aiTectionately blesses your jubilee." 

Father Coghlan, whose portrait and 
autograph appear in this connection, is 
at the writing of this article (1915) 
still the progressive well loved pastor of 
Our Lady of Mercy. Father Coghlan be- 

longs to the following societies : The 
Friendly Sons of St. Patrick, the Penn- 
sylvania Historical Society, the American 
Catholic Historical Society, the Ameri- 
can Irish Historical Society, the Ancient 
Order of Hibernians, the Knights of Co- 

SOUTH, Thomas W., 

Financier, Enterprising Citizen. 

Among the various interests which in- 
dicate the development of Pennsylvania's 
enterprises that of the minor judiciary is 
quite an important adjunct. Coming of 
old American stock and attached to 
Pennsylvania's earliest history through 
ancestral connections. Magistrate Thomas 
W. South is in every way worthy of rep- 
resenting the most advanced phases of 
its latter-day citizenship. 

Thomas Winfield South was born at 
Laurel, Ohio, October i, 1847. His father 
was Dr. Stephen B. South, and his 
mother Abigail Steelman (Higbee) South. 
His paternal grandfather came from New 
Jersey to Bethel, Ohio, and his great- 
grandfather originally came from Wales. 
His father lived on an adjoining farm, in 
Bethel, Ohio, under the employ of Jesse 
R. Grant, the father of General Grant, 
and he was a companion of the latter dur- 
ing his early life. When General Grant 
was appointed to West Point, Magistrate 
South's father was given the same oppor- 
tunity for military development, but, 
urged by his mother, refused the chance. 
Instead, he studied medicine and became 
a very successful physician and surgeon, 
in the practice of which profession he 
continued for more than forty years. In 
the meantime General Grant wrote the 
older Mr. South to join him and accept 
a position as surgeon in the army in Mex- 
ico, but he declined on account of ill 
health. The maiden name of Magistrate 
South's mother was Abigail Steelman 


Higbee, and she was the daughter of Ab- 
salom Higbee, of Leeds Point, New Jer- 
sey. The family was a branch of an old 
American stock, her grandfather having 
been a soldier in the Revolutionary War. 
The fact that the date of the birth and 
death of the brave soldier, John Steelman, 
who was the maternal progenitor of Mag- 
istrate South, are not in accordance with 
the regulations of the Sons of the Revo- 
lution, is the only thing which prevents 
Magistrate South from becoming a mem- 
ber of that patriotic society. 

In common with the youth of his time, 
Thomas W. South was educated in the 
public schools, receiving the benefits of 
a system which at that time had but en- 
tered into its preparatory stage. This 
was at Laurel, Ohio, and later he was 
sent to Clermont Academy, New Rich- 
mond, Ohio. In 1862 Thomas W. South 
made application for admission to West 
Point through Congressman R. W. Clark, 
from the congressional district in Ohio 
where Mr. South lived. The application 
was unsuccessful, but Mr. South was 
offered a cadetship in the Naval Academy 
at Annapolis, which he declined. How- 
ever, being a patriotic youth, he went into 
the army with the 153rd Regiment of Vol- 
unteers in 1863. This step he took without 
his father's knowledge, and with his com- 
rades he reached Camp Dennison, near 
Cincinnati, marching from there to Har- 
per's Ferry. Although imbued with the 
fiery spirit of warfare, he was discharged 
at the latter place by Governor Dennison, 
of Ohio, at his father's urgent request. 

After receiving a regular course of 
studies he left school and, for the purpose 
of developing his business qualities, as 
well as improving his physical condition, 
he went into the live-stock business in 
Ohio in 1868, and in 1872 he came to 
Philadelphia and entered the employ of 
Henry Disston. From that time Thomas 
W. South has been identified with the 

development of Tacony. In 1872, when 
he entered the Disston establishment, he 
saw the splendid future which was offered 
to that section of Philadelphia, and he 
became an active participant in the re- 
laying out and building upon improved 
plans of the town of Tacony. The first 
house erected under the new scheme of 
improvement there was begun on the day 
that Jay Cooke failed, and, in spite of 
the fact that business throughout the 
country was generally depressed, more 
than $3,000,000 were expended in making 
Tacony what it is today. Mr. South is 
probably more than any one person re- 
sponsible for the remarkable growth of 
this beautiful suburb. He was connected 
with the firm of Henry Disston & Sons 
as manager and general agent of their 
real estate operations in Philadelphia, 
and his primary object in coming from 
Ohio to F'hiladelphia was to superintend 
the building of that town of homes for 
the Disston workmen. Mr. South be- 
came a director of the Suburban Electric 
Company, of which he was practically an 
originator. He was also one of the pro- 
moters of the Holmesburg, Frankford 
and Tacony Electric railway ; and he or- 
ganized the Tacony Building and Loan 
Association, of which he has been treas- 
urer for forty-two years. Through good 
management this has grown to be a five 
million dollar institution, and has been 
of unmeasurable advantage to people of 
thrift. He was appointed index clerk in 
the Recorder of Deed's office under the 
administration of General Wagner. He 
demonstrated special abilities for such 
a responsibility and was shortly made 
special agent in the revenue office. The 
office of magistrate requires a large adap- 
tability and numerous talents. All of 
these Thomas W. South possessed, and 
it was but a natural outcome of his pro- 
gressive temperament and frequently in- 
dicated abilities that he should be elected, 


in 1875, to the post of magistrate of the 
city of Philadelphia. He has been re- 
elected five times, in recognition of his 
excellent public service. Few members 
of the minor judiciary have a better rec- 
ord to point to than Magistrate Thomas 
VV. South. The interests of his district, 
the advancement of his city at large and 
the honorable conduct of his office have 
ever been his chief consideration, and it 
is but a natural result that he is ranked 
today among the most successful and able 
members of that body of eminent Phila- 
delphians and representative Pennsyl- 
vanians who have the legal interests of 
the city in their hands. 

In 1878 Magistrate South was married 
to Ida N. Corbly, of Cincinnati, Ohio. 
They have had three children Blanch 
L., now Mrs. J. Leon Taylor; Effie L., 
now the wife of Mr. W. J. Raney, son of 
the ex-tax receiver; and Hamilton D. 
South, a captain in the United States 
navy, and Post Adjutant of the Norfolk 
Navy Yard, who married Miss Elsie 
Turnbull, daughter of Charles S. Turn- 
bull, a prominent physician and eye spe- 
cialist who resides at No. 1935 Chestnut 
street, Philadelphia. 

DETWILER, Daniel H., 

Financier, Enterprising Citisen. 

The European home of the Datwyler 
family was in Switzerland, canton of 
Basle, town of Langenbruck, where the 
earliest record traces to 1608. In Penn- 
sylvania the name is variously spelled 
Detwiler, Detwiller, and Detweiler being 
the forms most in use. The family has 
been especially noted in medicine and fi- 
nance, Dr. Henry Detwiler, who died in 
Easton, Pennsylvania, April 21, 1887, hav- 
ing been the pioneer of the Hahnemann 
school in America and at his death "prob- 
ably the oldest practitioner in the world." 
Manv others of the name have attained 

prominence in the same profession, while 
the branch of Daniel H. Detwiler, of Co- 
lumbia, has been and is prominent in 
public life and financial circles. The 
American founder of this branch of the 
Detwilers in Pennsylvania was Joseph 
Detwiler, a descendant of the early Swiss 
family. His home in Switzerland was 
near the Swiss-German frontier of Baden, 
and when he finally came to America he 
was accompanied by his brother. He also 
had a brother, Samuel, and a sister, Mary. 
Joseph Detwiler settled near Octoraro 
Creek, below Safe Harbor, Lancaster 
county, but afterward moved to Bam- 
bridge, on the Susquehanna river, below 

Joseph (2) Detwiler, son of Joseph (i), 
was born at Bambridge in 1789. He there 
grew to manhood, later moving to Co- 
lumbia, and married Susan Garber, 
daughter of a prosperous York county 
farmer, and resided in that place until 
1820. In that year he moved to York 
county, purchasing and settling on a farm 
in Hellam township, near Wrightsville. 
He cultivated these acres until his death, 
April 30, 1870. He enlarged the home- 
stead, built the barn that yet stands, and 
was one of the prosperous farmers of his 
township. He was at one time super- 
visor of West Hempfield township, filled 
the office of county commissioner, and 
long was active in public affairs. In ad- 
dition to his numerous other interests, 
public, business, and agricultural, he was 
for many years manager of the Wrights- 
ville Pike, an office in which he was suc- 
ceeded by his son David, who entered 
upon its duties at the death of his father. 
His political party was the Democratic. 
Children of Joseph (2) and Susan (Gar- 
ber) Detwiler: David, deceased, a suc- 
cessful farmer ; Joseph, a wealthy land- 
owner and owner of stone quarries and a 
lime kiln, since i860 a director of the 
Union National Bank, Mt. Joy, Penn- 


sylvania; Daniel H., of whom further; 
Susan ; Solomon, deceased, cashier of the 
First National Bank, of Columbia, Penn- 
sylvania ; Anna, married Abram Hie- 
stand, deceased, a farmer, miller, and dis- 

Daniel H. Detwiler, son of Joseph (2) 
Detwiler and his wife, Susan Garber, was 
born in West Hempfield township, Lan- 
caster county, Pennsylvania, October 26, 
1828. When he was three years of age 
his parents moved to York county, Penn- 
sylvania, and here, in the district schools 
in the region of their home near Wrights- 
ville, he obtained his education. He re- 
mained on the home farm with his par- 
ents until i860, performing his share of 
the labor of cultivation, and in that year 
came to Columbia, Pennsylvania, with his 
brother Solomon, and with that brother 
formed a partnership in banking. The 
firm's name was Detwiler & Brother, and 
together the two conducted their private 
enterprise until 1864, when they took out 
Federal papers and incorporated as the 
First National Bank of Columbia, Solo- 
mon Detwiler becoming cashier of the 
newly organized institution, Daniel H. 
Detwiler continuing his connection with 
the bank of which he was a founder, in 
the capacity of director. Upon the death 
of Hon. Hugh M. North Mr. Detwiler 
succeeded to the presidency of the First 
National, and is still its executive head. 
His length of service is more than fifty 
years, and he has been instrumental in 
promoting the series of expansions that 
have placed the First National in its pres- 
ent place of reliable usefulness in Co- 
lumbia. Under his leadership, stability 
and strength have continued to character- 
ize the institution that represents so 
much of his labor and care, and he has 
maintained high place among the finan- 
ciers of the locality. For the past ten 
years Mr. Detwiler has been president of 

the Keeley Stove Company, a flourishing 
corporation conducting a large business, 
is vice-president of the l-'armers' Fire In- 
surance Company, of York, Pennsylvania, 
and has also many other business con- 
nections. His years are eighty-seven, but 
in multiplicity of associations and burden 
of duties his lot far surpasses that of 
many a man of fewer years. The respect 
and approbation of his fellows has at- 
tended him throughout his long and well 
spent career, and he is valued as a citizen 
of pure life and motives. 

Daniel H. Detwiler married, in De- 
cember, 1875, Laura .A.., daughter of Wil- 
liam H. Sanderson, of Lock Haven, Penn- 
sylvania, a descendant of Henry Sander- 
son and his wife, Hanna Popham, of Ar- 
magh, Ireland. Hanna Popham was a 
member of the family owning Major Wil- 
liam Popham, an ofificer of the American 
army in the War for Independence, a dis- 
tinguished soldier and a warm personal 
friend of General Washington. A mater- 
nal line of the family is the Van Kouwen- 
hoven. founded in America by Wolfert 
Gerrisse Van Kouwenhoven, who in 1630 
came from Holland and to New Nether- 
lands. His son, Gerrit Wolfersten Van 
Kouwenhoven, had a son William Ger- 
ritsen Van Kouwenhoven, the son, ac- 
cording to Dutch usage, taking the name 
of the father with the suffix "sen." and 
this William was the father of six sons. 
William, Peter, Cornelius, Albert, Jacob, 
and John. Robert Van Kouwenhoven 
participated in the Indian struggles along 
the West Branch, serving as chief guide 
to Colonel Hartley, and fought in the 
American army in the battles of Trenton 
and Princeton in the Revolution. He 
married, February 22. 1778, Mercy Kelsy 
Cutter, and through his line connection 
is made with that of Sanderson and thus 
with that of Detwiler. 

Children of Daniel H. and Laura fSan- 


derson) Detwiler: Beatrice and William 
Sanderson. William Sanderson Detwiler 
is a graduate of Princeton University, and 
the present (1914-18) burgess of Colum- 
bia, Pennsylvania. 

SMITH, Seth MacCuen, M. D., 

Practitioner, Instructor, Author. 

Dr. Seth MacCuen Smith, Professor of 
Otology in Jefi'erson Medical College, and 
for twenty-five years a specialist in dis- 
eases of the ear, nose and throat, was 
born in Hollidaysburg, Blair county. 
Pennsylvania, March 6, 1863. His father. 
Dr. George Washington Smith, was a 
prominent practitioner of Hollidaysburg, 
and widely known throughout the central 
and western part of the State. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth MacCuen, a daughter oi 
Judge Seth MacCuen, of Hollidaysburg. 
whose early ancestors came to America 
from Scotland, and were first located in 
Blair county, Pennsylvania. 

Dr. S. MacCuen Smith acquired his 
preliminary education in Hollidaysburg 
Academy, and after completing his liter- 
ary and classical course of study entered 
Jefiferson Medical College, from which he 
was graduated in 1884. He at first en- 
gaged in the practice of general medicine, 
in later years confining his attention to 
his chosen specialty. Immediately fol- 
lowing his graduation in 1884. he was 
elected resident physician in the German- 
town Hospital, where he served for eigh- 
teen months, and on the expiration of his 
interneship he entered upon the active 
practice of general medicine in German- 
town, Philadelphia, and so continued for 
five years, although during that period he 
devoted considerable time to special 
study of diseases of the ear. nose and 
throat. In 1886 a department of the ear, 
nose and throat was established at the 
Germantown Hospital, and Dr. Smith 
was elected surgeon-in-charge, which 

position he still holds. In 1886 also he 
was elected clinical chief of the Depart- 
ment of Otology at the Jefiferson Medi- 
cal College, holding that position until 
1893, when he was elected Clinical Lec- 
turer of Otology in the same institution. 
He continued to perform his duties as 
Clinical Lecturer until 1894, when he was 
chosen Clinical Professor of Otologfy, 
and given a place in the faculty of the 
Jefiferson Medical College. In 1904 Dr. 
Smith was elected Professor of Otology 
of the Jefferson Medical College, which 
position he holds at the present time, and 
in the same year he was elected aurist of 
the Jewish Hospital of Philadelphia. In 
the intervening years he has spent much 
time in study in foreign countries, per- 
fecting himself in his special work, which 
he has followed exclusively for the past 
twenty-five years, constantly forging to 
the front in this line, until he stands to- 
day as a distinguished representative of 
the profession in his chosen field of ser- 

On October 24, 1889, m Germantown, 
Philadelphia, Dr. Smith was married to 
Miss Virginia Allen, a daughter of John 
Allen, a well-known manufacturer and 
the founder of the extensive Sherwood 
Knitting Mills, one of the largest and 
most modern manufactories devoted to 
the production of hosiery and fancy 
goods in the country. Unto Dr. and Mrs. 
Smith have been born two sons and a 
daughter — George Allen, Elizabeth Mac- 
Cuen, and Lewis Happer. 

Dr. Smith is an exemplary representa- 
tive of the Masonic fraternity. He be- 
longs to the Union League of Philadel- 
phia, and to nearly all of the leading 
clubs and organizations, including the 
University, Philadelphia Cricket, Ger- 
mantown Cricket, and the Whitemarsh 
Valley Country clubs. His religious 
faith is that of the Presbyterian church. 
While varied lines claim Dr. Smith's at- 

jCa-^s -Vfs'^i-icf/ ^ai iT^ 





tention and keep him in touch with the 
activities and interests of life, he is chiefly 
occupied with his profession, and has 
contributed largely to the literature em- 
bracing his specialty. He has not only 
written many monograms pertaining to 
his special line of work, but has also con- 
tributed the chapter on diseases of the 
ear in several systems of medicine. He 
was early in the field of aural surgery 
and has done much in the perfecting of 
modern surgical otology. He holds mem- 
bership with the College of Physicians of 
Philadelphia, American Otological So- 
ciety, American Laryngological. Rhino- 
logical and Otological Society, American 
Medical Association, American Academy 
of Ophthalmology and Oto-Laryngology, 
and the Medical Society of the State of 

SHATTUCK, Frank Rodman, 

liaxryeT, I<ai7 Examiner. 

Although a native born Philadelphian, 
Mr. Shattuck, through both paternal and 
maternal lines harks back to early days 
in New England, even to that remote date 
1623, when a maternal ancestor, Joshua 
Pratt, came in the ship "Anne and Little 
James." On the paternal side Mr. Shat- 
tuck descends from William Shattuck "of 
the people called Quakers," both families 
being of English ancestry. They endur- 
ed, in the first generation, all the trials 
and privations of the "pilgrim" and also 
the persecutions to which the "Quaker" 
was subjected by his stronger brethren. 

William Shattuck, the progenitor, born 
in England 1621-22, died at Watertown, 
Massachusetts, August 14, 1672. He was 
tried at Salem, Massachusetts, May 11, 
'659, on the heinous charge of being a 
"Quaker," and sentenced to banishment 
from the colony under pain of death. 
But he was a fighter himself, although a 
member of the peaceful sect, and on leav- 

ing the colony in deference to the sen- 
tence of the court, proceeded at once to 
England, and laid his case before the 
King, Charles H. He secured the aid of 
a powerful friend, and on September 19, 
1661, obtained a writ of mandamus, com- 
manding the magistrate and ministers of 
New England to "forbear to proceed any 
further" against the Quakers. He was 
also appointed King's deputy to carry this 
mandamus to New England, which he did 
and on November 27, 1661, the general 
court of the Province of Massachusetts 
Bay, ordered that "the execution of the 
laws in force against 'Quakers' as such, 
so far as they respect corporal punish- 
ment or death, be suspended until the 
Court take further Order." After this 
victory over ecclesiastical intolerance, 
won in behalf of his religious associates 
as well as himself, Samuel Shattuck lived 
to enjoy his freedom from persecution 
twenty-eight years, dying in 1672, his 
widow Susanna marrying three and a half 
years later, Richard Norcross. 

The line of descent to Frank Rodman 
Shattuck is through William (2) Shat- 
tuck, third son of the "Quaker" emigrant, 
who was born at Watertown, Massachu- 
setts, married 1678, Susanna Randall. 

Robert, tenth child of William (2) 
Shattuck, born January 1, 1698, settled at 
Plymouth, Massachusetts, but died m his 
father's house at Watertown while there 
visiting December 13, 1723. His wife, 
Mary Pratt, was a daughter of Benajah 
(2) and Mary Pratt, of Plymouth, grand- 
daughter of Benajah and Persis (Dun- 
ham) Pratt, and a great-great-grand- 
daughter of Joshua Pratt, who arrived in 
the "Anne and Little James" as previous- 
ly stated. 

Robert (2), second of the three children 
of Robert (i) Shattuck, was born in Ply- 
mouth, Massachusetts. June 3, 1721, died 
in Middletown, Connecticut, February 
12, 1802. His first wife, Ruhamah Cook, 


was a descendant of Francis Cook, who 
came in the "Mayflower" in 1620. 

David, sixth child of Robert (2) Shat- 
tuck, is the Revolutionary ancestor of 
Frank Rodman Shattuck. He was born 
in East Hampton, Connecticut, Septem- 
ber 12, 1758, died in Colchester, Connec- 
ticut, January 23, 1840. In 1776, he en- 
listed in the company commanded by 
Eliphalet Holmes, Colonel Ephraim 
Chamberlain's regiment, Connecticut 
militia ; served six months under Colonel 
Selden in the Continental service ; was 
with Washington's army on Long Island. 
He again enlisted under Captain Cham- 
bers in 1780, his company being a part of 
Colonel Heman Swift's regiment, Con- 
tinental Line, serving until the final dis- 
banding of the American army. He ap- 
plied for a pension March 31, 1818, which 
was granted, he living twenty-two years 
to enjoy its benefits. His wife, Dorothy 
Alcott, died April 26, 1838. 

Giles, fourth child of David and Doro- 
thy (Alcott) Shattuck, was born at Col- 
chester, January 24, 1798. He married, 
September 30, 1821, Nancy Eggleston. 

Their son, Francis Elliott Shattuck. 
was born at Moodus. Connecticut, Octo- 
ber 16, 1828. He came to Philadelphia, 
when a young man and there was for 
many years adjuster for one of the lead- 
ing fire insurance companies, and himself 
one of the leading insurance men of the 
city. He married, October i, 1861, Mary, 
daughter of Isaac G. Colesberry, of Phila- 

Frank Rodman, only son of Francis 
Elliott and Mary (Colesberry) Shattuck, 
was born in Philadelphia, February 19, 
T864. He received his elementary edu- 
cation in the public schools, finishing at 
Central High School, whence he was 
graduated in 1881. He began the study 
of law under Alexander P. Colesberry as 
preceptor, and in 1883 entered the I^w 

Department of the University of Penn- 
sylvania, from whence he was graduated 
LL. B., class of 1885, was admitted to the 
bar of Philadelphia county the same year, 
and has taken an honored position among 
his professional brethren. He is a mem- 
ber of the Philadelphia Board of Law 
Examiners, and of several professional, 
historical and patriotic organizations. He 
is a member of the Colonial Society ; the 
Sons of the Revolution, Pennsylvania 
Chapter, through the patriotic services of 
his great-grandfather, David Shattuck 
( 1 758-1840) ; the New England Society; 
and the Historical Society of Pennsyl- 
vania. His clubs are the Art, Univer- 
sity, Racquet, Philadelphia Country and 
Huntingdon Country. 

He married, November 18, 1886, Ella 
Agnes, daughter of Thomas and Kather- 
ine Martin Woodward, of Philadelphia. 
Children : Mildred Woodward and Kath- 
lyne Montgomery. 

SNIVEL Y, Albert Charles, 

Laxr-yer, Public 0£Scial. 

The Snively family, which has one of 
its able representatives in the present day, 
Albert Charles Snively, an attorney of 
Greensburg, Westmoreland county, Penn- 
sylvania, has been resident in the United 
States since the latter part of the eigh- 
teenth century, and came originally from 

John Snively was born in Germany, 
emigrated to America, and made his home 
in Hagerstown, Maryland, in 1780, being 
a young lad at that time, and died in 
1806. He was a member of the Lutheran 
church. He married Amy Wilkinson, and 
had children : John, of further mention ; 
Abraham, made his home in Pittsburgh ; 
Hugh, migrated to Ohio and settled in 
that State. 

John Snively, eldest son of John and 



Amy (Wilkinson) Snively, was born in 
Hagerstown, Maryland, in 1803, and died 
in Mount Pleasant township, Westmore- 
land county, Pennsylvania, in 1884. He 
was brought to Mount Pleasant town- 
ship in 1807, received a good common 
school education, and was brought up in 
the Lutheran faith. He married, in 1824, 
Catherine Fausold, born in Cumberland, 
Maryland, in 1800, came to Westmore- 
land county, Pennsylvania, in 1818, and 
died in 1877. They became the parents 
of ten children. 

Hiram Snively, son of John and Cath- 
erine (Fausold) Snively, was born in 
Mount Pleasant township, February 4, 
1832, and is now living in Mt. Pleasant 
township, Westmoreland county, Penn- 
sylvania, a fine specimen of hearty old 
age. One of his paternal cousins was ac- 
tive in the French and Indian War, and 
he himself was desirous of enlisting at 
the time of the Civil War, but was not 
accepted by reason of a physical disabil- 
ity. He received a good common school 
education, and was a man of much natural 
intelligence and fine reasoning powers. 
He was a staunch supporter of the Demo- 
cratic party, and was honored with a 
number of township offices, among them 
being that of assessor in which he served 
five terms, and tax collector, in which he 
served twice. He married, September 16, 
1858, Mary Ann, born in Westmoreland 
county, Pennsylvania, a daughter of 
David and Hester (Benford) Chorpen- 
ning, the former born in Somerset county, 
Pennsylvania, in 1799, died in 1868, the 
latter, born in Somerset county in 1807, 
died in 1867. Mr. and Mrs. Snively had 
ten children, eight now living. 

Albert Charles Snively, son of Hiram 
and Mary Ann (Chorpenning) Snively, 
was born in Mount Pleasant township, 
Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, 
November 26, 1869. His education was 

a liberal one, and was acquired in the 
public schools of his native township, in 
the Mount Pleasant Institute, and the 
Cireensburg Seminary. He commenced 
teaching in the public schools of the 
county while still pursuing his own edu- 
cation, and continued this for eight terms 
with great success. He then took up the 
study of law in the offices of Albert H. 
Bell and G. Dallas Albert, and was ad- 
mitted to practice at the bar of West- 
moreland county, January 26, 1896. He 
at once established himself in the prac- 
tice of his chosen profession, and has been 
actively and very successfully identified 
with it since that time. 

In matters connected with the public 
welfare of the community, Mr. Snively 
has also taken a prominent part. As a 
representative of the Democratic party he 
has served as school director of Irwin 
borough ; was secretary of the Demo- 
cratic County Committee in 1896; chair- 
man of the same in 1907 ; has been dele- 
gate to a number of State conventions ; 
was a delegate to the convention of 1904 
which met at St. Louis, Missouri. His 
religious affiliation is with the Methodist 
Episcopal church. Fraternally he is a 
member of Masontown Lodge, No. 459, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Lodge No. 
415, Knights of Pythias, of Irwin; Lodge 
No. 486, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, of Jeannette. He was a member 
of Company I, National Guard of Penn- 
.sylvania, 1894-95-96. 

Mr. Snively married, July 28, 1903, in 
Westmoreland county, Nettie A., who 
was educated in the common and normal 
schools, a daughter of Rev. A. Dickey and 
Samatha (Pyle) Christner, of Mount 
Pleasant, Pennsylvania, and they have 
two children : Alberta Christner, born at 
Irwin, February 17, 1905; and Florence 
Christner Snively, born at Irwin, Janu- 
ary 17, 1907. 



STRITTMATTER, Isidor P., M. D., 

Proprietor of Private Hospital. 

Dr. Isidor P. Strittmatter, whose study 
and abilities have brought him to a promi- 
nent position in the ranks of the medical 
fraternity in Philadelphia, has for almost 
a quarter of a century conducted one of 
the leading private hospitals of the city 
and has done splendid work as well in 
general practice and as a member of hos- 
pital staffs. 

A native of Carrollton, Pennsylvania, 
Dr. Strittmatter was born August i6. 
i860, of the marriage of Francis X. and 
Elizabeth (Huber) Strittmatter. The 
former was born in Lycoming county. 
Pennsylvania, but his father was a native 
of southwestern Germany. Coming to 
America, he settled in Philadelphia, 
where he married Frances Meyer, who 
was born near Strassburg and crossed 
the Atlantic on the same ship with her 
future husband. After a short residence 
in Lycoming county, during which period 
Francis X. Strittmatter was born, the 
family removed to Cambria county, Penn- 
sylvania, and were among the pioneer 
settlers of that mountainous region. 
There Francis X. Strittmatter was reared 
and through the period of his manhood 
engaged in building operations, while ag- 
ricultural pursuits were to him a pas- 
time. His wife, Elizabeth Huber, was a 
native of Bavaria, Germany. 

After attending the public schools, Dr. 
Strittmatter became a pupil in St. Vin- 
cent's College of Pennsylvania, and re- 
ceived his professional training in the Jef- 
ferson Medical College of Philadelphia, 
from which he was graduated in March, 
1881. He taught school for two terms 
prior to his graduation in medicine and 
after completing his course he acted as 
resident physician in the German Hos- 
pital, from which he resigned, afterwards 
he became resident physician in St. Mary's 

Hospital. On October 21, 1882, however, 
he entered upon private practice at No. 
1232 North Fifth street. For ten years 
he served on the surgical staff of St. 
Mary's Hospital, but resigned in 1897 to 
devote his entire attention to the private 
hospital in which he established and 
which was opened at 999 North Sixth 
street on March 27, 1887. The liberal 
patronage accorded this institution is un- 
mistakable evidence of the confidence re- 
posed in Dr. Strittmatter professionally. 
Splendidly for both medical and surgical 
work, he has surrounded himself with a 
corps of able assistants and in its equip- 
ment his hospital is thoroughly modern 
and progressive in every particular. Dr. 
.'strittmatter is also the owner of real es- 
tate in Philadelphia and farm property 
not far distant in both Pennsylvania and 
New Jersey. He is likewise a director of 
the Integrity Title Insurance Trust & 
.Safety Deposit Company. 

On September 27, 1897, in Philadel- 
phia, Dr. Strittmatter wedded Clara A. 
Ross, a daughter of Herman H. Ross, a 
carpet manufacturer, and they have one 
son, Isidor T. Dr. Strittmatter belongs 
to St. Peter's Roman Catholic Church, 
and is identified with various societies for 
the promotion of professional knowledge 
and efficiency, including the Philadelphia 
Medical Club, the County Medical So- 
ciety, the Pathological Society, the Ob- 
stetrical Society, the North Medical As- 
sociation, the Pennsylvania State Society, 
the American Medical Association and 
the James Aitken Meigs Medical Society. 

Apart from the deep interest in scien- 
tific knowledge allied to medicine and 
surgery and all that goes for the mental 
and physical betterment of the human 
family his greatest pleasure is country 
life — occasional hunts in the wilds of the 
west and the woods of Maine and in jour- 
neys through Europe and Africa, lending 
inferential variety to his interests. He 




believes that closer contact with nature, 
study of the many unsolved problems 
which are to be seen on all sides and at 
all times, coupled with the reading and 
digestion of the concrete study of one's 
predecessors and contemporaries as found 
in their writings, fits the individual better 
for the solution of the problems of the 
present and inflicts less mental pain and 
heartache than high finance and the diver- 
sions of so called society. In other words 
Dr. Strittmatter likes to contemplate and 
support those projects and movements 
which broaden the vision of the individual 
and increase his efficiency without tramp- 
ling on the rights or narrowing the op- 
portunities of one's fellowmen. His life 
work is an exponent of the spirit of broad 
humanitarianism that dominates him and 
in the practice of his profession he utilizes 
the many opportunities which are pre- 
sented to aid those in need of assistance. 

DREXEL, George William Childs. 

Journalist, Retired. 

Certain names are always associated 
in the minds of Americans with certain 
achievements, events or lines of activity 
in which they have been famous, as : 
Lincoln and emancipation; Cramp and 
ship building; Edison and electricity. 
Mention the name of Drexel and one in- 
voluntarily instantly associates the name 
with banking, although it is also a noted 
name in art, philanthropy and society. In 
Philadelphia not only is it prominent, 
through the great banking house of 
Drexel, but through that magnificent phil- 
anthropy, Drexel Institute, one of the 
greatest practical schools in the world. 
As bankers, the name is borne by great 
financial institutions in Philadelphia, 
New York and Paris. In philanthropy 
the magnificent generosity of Anthony 
Joseph Drexel and his sister, Katherine 
Drexel, will ever be remembered. In art 

and literature the name is one held in 
highest estimation and in social life the 
family have been leaders for generations. 

The founder of the family in Philadel- 
phia was Francis Martin Drexel, an artist, 
born in Austrian Tyrol in 1792. He left 
his native land during the troublous 
times of the Napoleonic wars, arriving in 
Philadelphia in 1817. He established a 
studio in that city and practiced his art, 
chiefly in the painting of portraits. In 
1826 he traveled through the Spanish- 
American states, painting while "en tour" 
the portraits of many celebrities, includ- 
ing one of the "Great Liberator" General 
Simon Bolivar, the Washington of Bo- 

In 1837 he entered the world of finance, 
founding the banking house of Drexel 
& Company in Philadelphia. In the man- 
agement of the aflfairs of that house he 
displayed financial ability of the highest 
order and builded so well, so strong and 
so true, that, continued by his sons, it 
has grown and expanded into a house 
with connections all over the world, and 
with the great banking house, Drexel, 
Morgan & Company, in New York, and 
the equally great Drexel, Harjes & Com- 
pany, in Paris, France. 

The greatest banker of the second gen- 
eration was Anthony Joseph Drexel, sec- 
ond son of the founder, Francis Martin 
Drexel and his wife. Katherine Hook. He 
began working in his father's banking 
house when thirteen years of age, occu- 
pied a subordinate position until 1885, 
when the death of his elder brother left 
him in practical control. He was an able 
financier and a great banker. To him is 
due the world wide prominence of the 
name in connection with financial opera- 
tions. His great fortune was fairly earned 
and was distributed with the same fair- 
ness. He was a contemporary of George 
W. Childs, and joined with him in many 
philanthropies, notablv the Childs-Drexel 



Home for Printers in Colorado. He gave 
liberally to the University of Pennsyl- 
vania and founded the Drexel Institute 
in Philadelphia, which he liberally en- 
dowed. This institution for the develop- 
ment of art, science and technology, is one 
of the great practical, useful educational 
institutions of our country, and has fully 
justified the liberality of its founder, who 
gave to its upbuilding and endowment a 
sum in excess of three millions of dollars. 
Mr. Drexel died abroad in 1893. His 
statue, wrought by a famous sculptor, 
adorns Fairmount Park in Philadelphia. 
His wife, Ellen Rozet, was the daughter 
of John Rozet, a wealthy Philadelphia 
merchant of French descent. She was a 
lady of many accomplishments and 
beauty of character, rendering her a lead- 
ing social favorite. 

George William Childs Drexel, eighth 
child and youngest son of Anthony 
Joseph and Ellen (Rozet) Drexel, was 
born in Philadelphia, in 1868. He bears 
the name of his father's intimate friend, 
George W. Childs, then owner, editor and 
publisher of the "Public Ledger," great- 
est of all Philadelphia journals, during 
the life of Mr. Childs. After finishing his 
education in private schools and under 
special tutors, he entered the employ of 
Mr. Childs, serving in various depart- 
ments, but chiefly on the reportorial staflf 
until 1894, when on the death of Mr. 
Childs, Mr. Drexel succeeded him in con- 
trol and as editor and publisher. He con- 
tinued "The Ledger" along the lines suc- 
cessfully followed by Mr. Childs, con- 
tinuing as active head until 1902, when he 
sold his interests and retired from the 
world of journalism. Since that year he 
has devoted himself to his large private 
estate, maintaining an office at Drexel 
Building, Philadelphia. 

He married, at Vincentown, New Jer- 
sey, November 18, 1891, Mary S. Irick. 
His city home is at the corner of Eigh- 

teenth and Locust streets, Philadelphia; 
his summer homes, a handsome estate at 
"Wooton," Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, 
and at North Isleboro, Maine. 

Member of the New York Yacht Club, 
Corinthian Yacht Club of Philadelphia, 
Rittenhouse Club, Historical Society of 
Pennsylvania, Bryn Mawr Polo Club, 
Philadelphia Country Club, etc. 

KINZER, Esaias, M. D., 

Physician, Legislator. 

Into an active life of fifty-six years, 
twenty-seven of which were passed as 
a practicing physician of Lancaster 
county, Pennsylvania, Dr. Esaias Kinzer 
crowded much of professional and public 
service, following his calling with such 
zeal and disregard of personal welfare 
that he was compelled to retire while in 
age but in the prime of life. His promi- 
nence and popularity were not confined 
to professional circles, but he added to 
his reputation as a representative citizen 
by filling a seat in the State Senate for 
one term. He was a devout churchman, 
observant of his obligations to his church, 
the Lutheran, and in every way dis- 
charged his duties in relation to his fel- 
lows, by whom he was regarded with 
enduring respect and regard. 

Dr. Esaias Kinzer was born on the 
Kinzer farm in East Earl township, Lan- 
caster county, Pennsylvania, December 

4, 1805. and died in Lancaster, September 

5, 1861. He was a grandson of Michael 
and Magdalena Kinzer, son of George 
Kinzer, both his father and grandfather 
having passed their lives on the old 
homestead in East Earl township. 
George Kinzer was born February 18, 

1778, died November 28, 1834, pursuing 
agriculture all of his life. His wife was 
Anna Margaretta Ellmaker, born May 10, 

1779, daughter of Nathaniel and Elizabeth 
Ellmaker, who bore him issue : Maria, 




r jVirrj-va^^i^:' : 



born October 9, 1800, married Henry 
Yundt; Amos S., born February 23, 1803, 
died September 5, 1876; Esaias, of whom 
further; William, born September 27. 
1805; Elizabeth, born March 10, 1809, 
married Aaron Custer, of Pottstown, 
Pennsylvania ; Nathaniel E., born August 
10, 1810; Anna M., born February 20, 
1812, married George Diller; Elias, born 
March 31, 1814; Caroline, born May 11, 
1816; George W., born March 27, 1818; 
Harriet C, born December 6, 1821, mar- 
ried George Van Buskirk ; Levi, born 
March 13, 1819; Benjamin, born Septem- 
ber 6, 1823. 

Dr. Esaias Kinzer as a youth was a 
student in the district schools in the local- 
ity of his home, at the same time assist- 
ing his father in the cultivation of the 
home acres. Deciding upon his profes- 
sional career, he first studied medicine 
with Dr. John Luther, of East Earl town- 
ship, Lancaster county, subsequently en- 
rolling in the medical department of the 
University of Pennsylvania, whence he 
was graduated M. D. in the class of 1829. 
Leacock township, Lancaster county, was 
for many years the scene of his profes- 
sional practice, and with the passing 
years he grew steadily into the confidence 
and respect of the people among whom he 
lived, assuming a place in the life of the 
community that spoke eloquently of the 
high favor in which he was held. His 
political preference was in favor of the 
Whig party, and it was as the candidate 
of this party that he was elected to the 
upper house of the State Legislature, 
serving with ability and honor for one 

Failing health caused Dr. Kinzer's re- 
tirement from professional labor in 1856, 
and he took up his residence in the city of 
Lancaster, where his death occurred five 
years afterward. He was a communicant 
of the Lutheran church. His life was 
spent in the service of his fellows, with 

the exception of the short period preced- 
ing his death when he was physically un- 
fit for strenuous activity, and in this ser- 
vice he developed to the full a strong and 
vigorous manhood, replete with Christian 
virtues. Dr. Kinzer belongs to a gen- 
eration past, but the story of his unselfish 
life and upright character is the legacy of 
all who follow him. 

He married Catherine, daughter of 
Henry Roland, of New Holland, Pennsyl- 
vania, and had issue: Roland, died aged 
thirty years, and Anna M., a resident of 

SMITH, James, 

Enterprising Citiren, Legislator. 

For sixty-five years a resident of Eas- 
ton, a period that also covers practically 
his entire residence in the United States, 
James Smith has lived a retired life for 
many years, his active career covering a 
long period of enterprise and usefulness. 
While his business activities were often 
far removed from Easton, his interest in 
the city of his home was so constantly- 
manifested in every phase of its growth 
and development during his time that he 
has been recognized for many years as 
one of the most influential and useful of 
its citizens. 

James Smith was born in County 
Meath, Ireland, in 1829, a son of Patrick 
and Ann (Carpenter) Smith. His father, 
a farmer, gave him such educational ad- 
vantages as the common schools of the 
locality afforded, but his education has 
been mainly acquired through his own 
efforts, and in the great school of ex- 

At the age of twenty years he came to 
this country with his mother, landing in 
New York City, and in 1850 settled in 
Easton. He learned the stone mason 
trade, and in his early life worked at his 
trade on the construction of the railroads 



then building in this vicinity. After sav- 
ing a small capital he started in business 
as a railroad contractor, which he con- 
tinued with conspicuous success for 
many years. Monuments to his enter- 
prise and skill in railroad construction 
are found all over the Eastern and Middle 
States, spanning the Susquehanna, Dela- 
ware, Raritan, Connecticut, and other 
rivers of these states. He was identified 
prominently with the construction and 
development of the Lehigh Valley Rail- 
road, particularly in its early stages, and 
executed many large construction con- 
tracts for the Delaware, Lackawanna & 
Western Railroad ; New York Central ; 
New York, New Haven & Hartford, and 
other railroads. Thoroughness, reliabil- 
ity and integrity were the characteristics 
which won him confidence and respect 
in the world of business, and no man in 
Easton is more highly esteemed and hon- 
ored than James Smith. 

While he has many holdings and in- 
terests in the business section of Easton, 
he devoted much of the energy of his later 
years to the development of South Eas- 
ton, the section in which he resides. He 
was instrumental in having constructed 
the street which bears his name, which 
was so important a factor in the growth 
of the South Side. He was instrumental 
in the establishment of the silk industries 
which now exist there. The consolida- 
tion of Easton and South Easton is due 
in a large measure to his individual ef- 
forts. In fact every project pertaining 
to the advancement of the city of Easton 
commanded his earnest and practical 
support. He has been a director of the 
Equitable Securities Company of New 
York, and the Northampton National 
Bank, retiring from the latter on account 
of advancing years in favor of his son 
Frederick F. Smith. He has been for 
years a director of the Northampton Fire 
Insurance Company. 

In public life a Democrat, he was a 
delegate to the conventions of his party. 
He served as a member of the town 
council of South Easton ; was a presiden- 
tial elector on the Democratic ticket in 
1888; and was a member of the Pennsyl- 
vania House of Assembly in 1890, serv- 
ing in all these capacities with ability and 
honor. In religious faith he is a Roman 
Catholic. He was a man of unusually 
wide knowledge, a keen and philosophic 
observer of men and events, his outlook 
upon life being informed by a broad and 
liberal intelligence. 

He married, in the fall of 1858, Mary 
Sheeran, and has the following living 
children : James F. Smith, Washington, 
D. C. ; Ellen Smith, Easton, Pennsyl- 
vania; Mary Smith, Easton, Pennsyl- 
vania ; Joseph P. Smith, Easton, Penn- 
sylvania, vice-president Smith-McCor- 
mick Company ; Thomas R. Smith, Eas- 
ton, Pennsylvania ; Frederick F. Smith, 
Easton, Pennsylvania, treasurer Smith- 
McCormick Company. 

James F. Smith, his oldest son, gradu- 
ate of the Easton High School and Mt. 
St. Mary's College, Emmitsburg, Mary- 
land. After a post-graduate course at 
Lafayette College he entered the law 
school of Georgetown University, Wash- 
ington, D. C, was admitted to the bar 
in 1890, and since that time has prac- 
ticed law in Washington. He is at pres- 
ent assistant corporation counsel of the 
District of Columbia, and a member of 
the University Club, Columbia Country 
Club, the Bar Association, and Carroll 
Institute of that city. 

Joseph P. Smith, born March, 1870, 
was educated in Easton private and pub- 
lic schools. He started business with his 
father in 1889, and has continued the same 
until the present time. He is at present 
vice-president of the Smith-McCormick 
Company, director of the Easton National 
Bank; has succeeded his father as a man- 



ager of the Northampton Fire Insurance 
Company; is president of the Board of 
Prison Inspectors, Northampton county; 
member of managing board of the Pom- 
fret Club ; member of the Easton Anglers' 
Association, Country Club (Northampton 
county), Pennsylvania Society of New 
York City, and the Northampton County 
Historical and Genealogical Society. 

FANNING, Adclbert Cannedy, 

Itatryer, Jurist. 

A true son of Bradford county, Penn- 
sylvania, Mr. Fanning is third generation 
of the family in Springfield tovirnship of 
that county. They date in Bradford 
county from 1812, a full century having 
elapsed since Elisha (2) and Betsey 
(Grace) Fanning cleared and improved 
the farm yet owned in the family, their 
home for many years, and their place of 
death. Elisha (2) was a native of Mas- 
sachusetts, son of Elisha (2) Fanning and 
his wife Mary Button. 

David, son of Elisha (2) Fanning by 
his first wife, Betsey, was born February 
15, 181 1, and was the last survivor of the 
six children of his parents. He was born, 
lived and died in Springfield township, 
Bradford county, Pennsylvania, where he 
cleared and improved a farm on which 
he resided until death. He married Aus- 
tis B., daughter of Alexander Cannedy, 
of Colerain, Vermont, also an early set- 
tler of Springfield township. 

Adelbert Cannedy, the youngest of six 
children born to David and Austis B. 
(Cannedy) Fanning, was born in Spring- 
field township, July 25, 1851. He grew 
to manhood at the home farm, attended 
the public schools and was graduated in 
1872 from Mansfield State Normal School. 
He began the study of law with Delos 
Rockwell, of Troy, Pennsylvania, and H. 
W. Patrick, of Athens, Pennsylvania, 
then in 1874 entered the law department 
PEN— Vol VI— 12 20 

of Michigan University at Ann Arbor, 
whence he was graduated Bachelor of 
Laws, class of 1874; was admitted to the 
Supreme Court of Michigan, and in Sep- 
tember, 1874, to the Bradford county 
(Pennsylvania) bar. He at once began 
practice in Towanda, Pennsylvania, form- 
ing a partnership with his former in- 
structor, H. W. Patrick, that lasted only 
about one year. Mr. Fanning, in the 
fall of 1875, located in Troy, Pennsyl- 
vania, where he continued in active pri- 
vate practice until 1881, when he was 
elected district attorney of Bradford 
county, serving eight years. In Septem- 
ber, 1889, he was appointed President 
Judge of the Forty-second Judicial Dis- 
trict of Pennsylvania, to fill the vacancy 
caused by the death of Judge Benjamin 
M. Peck. Later he was elected to the 
same office, beginning his term, January 
I, 1900. 

Judge Fanning has been for years a 
member of the Troy school board, and 
has been a strong friend of the public 
schools in all his public acts as well as in 
private influence. He is a member of 
Bradford Bar Association ; State trustee 
of Mansfield State Normal School ; trus- 
tee of the Robert Decker Hospital of 
Sayre, Pennsylvania ; trustee of the 
American Historical and of the Bradford 
Historical societies, the Westmoreland 
Club of Wilkes-Barre, and the Ontario 
Glee Club of Towanda. He is prominent 
in the Masonic order, belonging to Mor- 
gan Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; 
Troy Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; 
Northern Commandery, Knights Tempn 
lar; and Irem Temple, Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine. In the Scottish Rite he 
has attained the thirty-second degree, be- 
longing to Towanda Lodge of Perfection ; 
Harden Council, Princes of Jerusalem ; 
Calvary Chapter of Rose Croix ; and Wil- 
liamsport Consistory, Princes of the 
Royal Secret. Judge Fanning is a Re- 
1 1 


publican in politics, and a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. 

He married, April i6, 1885, Jennie E., 
daughter of Edward E. and Louisa (Bal- 
lard) Loomis, of Troy, Pennsylvania. 
Children: Adelbert Carl, born August 12, 
1886, and Pauline Frances, born August 
15, 1890. The family home is in Towan- 
da, where Judge Fanning is held in high- 
est esteem as a citizen, lawyer and jurist. 

REIMER, William, 

Enterprising Citizen, Public Official. 

The family of William Reimer is an 
old one, of noble descent, the progenitor 
being a knight, Hanz, called the "rhy- 
mer," who lived in Lower Saxony, A. D., 
1 195. By his bravery and rare gift at 
rhyme, beautiful songs and ballads, he 
found great favor with the Roman Em- 
peror of the German nation, Friedrich 
Barbarossa. Also, because of this gift 
of rhyme, he was called Hanz, der 
Reimer (rhymer), and as this name was 
widely known and well respected, his 
progeny adopted it as their surname. To 
this same Hanz, der Reimer, the Emperor 
Friedrich also granted armorial bearings, 
and he was permitted to drape his es- 
cutcheon with the robe of the Princess of 
Hahenstaffen. He accompanied the Em- 
peror during all his expeditions in Asia, 
Italy, etc., and by him was vested with 
several large and valuable estates, viz : 
Walmeroth, Munkenthal, Puslinger, in 
Suevia. He left four sons : Frederick, 
Hanz, Cornelius and Richard, who all as- 
sumed the name of Reimer. Of these 
four sons, three inherited the estates of 
their father ; Hanz, in Suevia ; while Fred- 
erick took possession of the estate in 
Parchingen, in Lower Saxony, which was 
the dower of his mother, Abel von For- 
menten. In this way the different line- 
ages of the family came into existence, 
the sons of Hanz calling themselves after 

their estates, viz : Reimer von Walm- 
eroth, Reimer von Munkenthal, Reimer 
von Puslinger, Reimer von Parchingen. 
Among the knights of Suevia and Lower 
Saxony were many members of the 
Reimer family who were well known on 
account of their good qualities and illus- 
trious deeds ; for example, Frederick, der 
Reimer, von Parchingen, who was a 
gentleman of the equerry to Count 
Adolph von Sohaneburg, and under him 
participated in the battle of Barnhaeven, 
A. D., 1227, against the Danes, where he 
made the Danish Duke of Bentinoke, of 
Erisland, a prisoner. Another member of 
the family, Oswald by name, in the year 
1395, in recognition of important services 
rendered by him against the Swedes, was 
elevated by Margaret, Queen of Den- 
mark, to a Danish baronage, and was 
invested with the insignia of Danesburg. 
The progeny of Oswald, A. D., 1725, were 
living on their large estate in Norway. 
One of them, Jasmund Reimer, was com- 
mander of Bergen. One of the members 
of the family from Suevia was Antonius 
Reimer von Bilingen, who was in 1609 
Abbot Prior of the Abbey of Parishern ; 
and another was George Sixtus Reimer 
von Munkenthal who in 1590 was chan- 
cellor of the empire under Emperor Fred- 
erick. About this time the family of 
Reimer von Walmeroth became extinct. 
The son of the above named Sixtus 
Reimer, Walbert Reimer von Munken- 
thal, a brother-in-law to the celebrated 
Goetz von Berlichingen, was proscribed 
by Emperor Maximilian, together with 
Goetz, for revolt and breach of the land. 
Munkenthal, being an imperial gift, was 
confiscated by the Emperor. Adelbert 
Reimer von Munkenthal was so incensed 
at this that he enrolled soldiers and 
marched towards Regenbergm for the 
purpose of intercepting and murdering 
the Emperor. His plot was betrayed, and 
Knight George Truchiess von Waldberg, 

-V ii,^/^ita'/&,«,, ^Br„ fn^ 



head of the knights of Suevia, with one 
hundred troops surprised him and his 
men, and brought him a prisoner before 
the Emperor, who at first condemned him 
to death, subsequently, yielding to the so- 
licitations of the families of Von Hutten 
and Von Sickingen, he pardoned him, but 
deprived him of all the privileges of 
knighthood, had his name nailed to the 
gallows, his sword broken by the execu- 
tioner, and his right hand cut ofif. In 
consequence of this terrible punishment 
the family of Reimer von Munkenthal de- 
clined, and the members found shelter in 
various free cities, where they engaged in 
different business pursuits. The family 
of Reimer von Pfilengen became extinct 
by the death of the above mentioned 
member, Abbot Antoinus, A. D., 1609. In 
our days we find members of the Reimer 
family scattered and settled over almost 
all parts of Germany ("European Office 
and General Calendar, at Vienna." vol. 

(The Reimer Family in America). 

Dr. John Christian Reimer was born at 
Michelbacli, Kingdom of Wuertemberg, 
Germany, April 19, 1786. He married 
(first) August I, 1814, Charlotte Mickel, 
who was born at Ober-Ingelheim, near 
Mainz, May 29, 1783, and died October 
II, 1817. Issue: Carl, who was born 
June 28, 1816, afterwards lived with his 
grandfather, Frederick Mickel, at Ober- 
Ingelheim. Dr. John Christian Reimer 
emigrated to America in the year 1818. 
He married (second) August 8, 1819, 
Barbara Rebecca Schithe, who was born 
April II, 1799, at Bretzburg, Canton 
Aargau, Switzerland. They had issue : 
VVilhelmina, born in 1820, died in 1849, 
married Charles Lieberman ; Louisa, born 
in 1821, died in 1840; Wilhelm, of further 
mention; Caroline, born in 1825, died in 
1893, married Stephen Smith ; B. Frank- 
lin, born in 1826, died in 1899; Ludwig, 
born in 1828, died in 1906; Amanda, born 

in 1830, died in 1834; Augustus, born in 
1832, married Carrie Haas, and lives at 
No. 805 North Broad street, Philadelphia ; 
Priscilla, born in 1835, died in 1840; 
Emma, born in 1837, died in 1900, mar- 
ried John Haas; G. Washington, born in 
1839, died in 1840; Ann Eliza, born in 
1841, died in 1842. 

Dr. Reimer had studied medicine in his 
native country. After his coming to 
America he first lived in one of the 
counties near Philadelphia, subsequently 
removing into the "City of Brotherly 
Love," where he practiced successfully 
until his death, which occurred in 1845. 
He is buried in Mount Peace Cemetery, 
Philadelphia, by the side of his wife. 

William (Wilhelm) Reimer, eldest 
child of Dr. John Christian and Barbara 
Rebecca (Schithe) Reimer, was born in 
Berks county, Pennsylvania, March 18, 
1823, and died suddenly while in a street 
parade, August 22, 1888. He was reared 
and educated in Philadelphia. When his 
text books were laid aside he learned the 
barber's trade, and subsequently located 
in Allentown, Pennsylvania, where he 
practiced his vocation on Hamilton 
street. He also established the Allen- 
town News Agency, and became a factor 
in the Democratic party, and in the year 
1859 was elected county treasurer of Le- 
high county, serving until 1861. He was 
a member of the Masonic fraternity, the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
the Knights of Pythias. His life motto 
was "The Golden Rule." 

Mr. Reimer married, November 17, 
1843, Sophia Rothrock, born in Heller- 
town, Pennsylvania, died August 14. 1873. 
They had the following named children : 
George W., born in 1844, died at Allen- 
town in 1897; Charles C, born in 1845, 
died in Allentown in 1896; Thomas J., 
born in 1846, died in 1909, was in the 
postal service ; Benjamin F., born in 1848. 
died in 1899; Mary E., born in 185 1 ; John 


A., born in 1858, died in 1894; Lillian S., 
born in 1861, died July 6, 1908, married 
Henry Snyder, had children: Thomas 
W., of South Bethlehem, who married 
Lillian Stoudt, and Harold G. 

Mr. Reimer was a man of generous im- 
pulse, a producer and giver, but it re- 
mained for his daughter, Mary E. Reimer, 
a native of Allentown, who became house- 
keeper for her family, caring for her 
father in his declining years, also her 
brothers and sisters, to carry out his 
ideas. She possesses business qualifica- 
tions and industry beyond the average 
woman, which have resulted in the pur- 
chasing of valuable property and the earn- 
ing of a comfortable income and inde- 
pendence. She owns a farm at Snyders- 
ville and considerable valuable real estate 
in Allentown, occupying the Reimer 
homestead at No. 640 Linden street since 
1881. Miss Reimer is a member of the 
Reformed church, has also been endowed 
with a generous heart, and is deeply in- 
terested in church work and various 

MASSON, Monsignor Peter, 

Roman Catholic Clergyman. 

Of German birth and educated in for- 
eign institutions for the priesthood of the 
Roman Catholic church, Monsignor 
Peter Masson's first charge was a Phil- 
adelphia church, and for seven years he 
labored in the Pennsylvania field. In 
1899, because of exceptionally high scho- 
lastic standing and demonstrated ability, 
he was called to the vice-rectorship of the 
American College at Louvain, Belgium. 
After eight years passed in this connec- 
tion. Father Masson, at his own request, 
was permitted to return to America and 
to resume his work in the field that he 
bad left in deference to the wishes of 
the church leaders, and since that time 
has filled charges in Pennsylvania. Upon 


the death of Rev. Joseph Nerz, in 191 1, 
Father Masson was appointed rector of 
Church of the Sacred Heart, a German 
parish, of Allentown, Pennsylvania, and 
there continues to this time. While rec- 
tor of this parish, high ecclesiastical 
honor has come to him in recognition of 
the splendid work he has accomplished, 
both in this and other parishes, and after 
his appointment as Rural Vicar of Le- 
high and Northampton counties, he was, 
on June 14, 1914, made Domestic Prelate 
of His Holiness, with the title of Mon- 
signor, his authority extending to all the 
foreign speaking churches, with the ex- 
ception of the Italian, of his district. 

Monsignor Peter Masson was born at 
Stadtkyll, near Treves, Germany, July 31, 
1867, and until he was twelve years of age 
attended the schools of his birthplace. At 
this age he entered St. Albert's College, 
Venloo, Holland, afterward entering the 
Gymnasium at Treves, Germany, where 
he studied until graduating from the 
course in which he had enrolled. He 
subsequently pursued philosophical study 
in the Seminary at St. Trond, Belgium, 
and completed his theological studies at 
the American College, Louvain, Belgium. 
From his first attendance at school he 
had distinguished himself as a student, 
and during his stay at the American Col- 
lege, with the real work of life close at 
hand, applied himself so faithfully to his 
studies that he led his fellows by a wide 
margin, examinations and interrogations 
disclosing his complete mastery of theo- 
logical subjects. This course, of three 
years' duration, did not end until the 
summer of 1892, but on September 19, 
1891, he was ordained for the archdiocese 
of Philadelphia, the ordination of his 
classmates not occurring until several 
months later. Before taking up the du- 
ties to which he had been assigned, he 
added to his excellent preparation for 
priestly activity by a post-graduate 





H^B -^v^ 


course in the University of Louvain, and 
on September i, nearly a year after his 
ordination, was called to Philadelphia, 
where he was duly installed as curate of 
St. Alphonsus' German Catholic Church. 
For two years he remained with this 
congregation, his next charge being as 
pastor of the Church of Our Lady of 
Mount Carmel, at Minersville, Pennsyl- 
vania. In the five years that he led this 
congregation there was a noticeable 
quickening of the spiritual life of the par- 
ish which had its reflection in the mate- 
rial advance made in that time, a new 
church being built and the school and 
parsonage enlarged. Another of his works 
of this period was the building of a new 
church at Newtown, Schuylkill county, 

On July i6, 1899, Father Masson was 
appointed vice-rector of the American 
College, at Louvain, Belgium, his com- 
mission coming from the late Cardinal 
Ledochowski, Prefect of the Propaganda. 
Sincere sorrow marked the hours of his 
departure, for his earnest, devoted pur- 
pose and unselfish life had endeared him 
to the hearts of his parishioners. Enter- 
ing upon the discharge of his vice-rec- 
torial obligations at the college in the fol- 
lowing month, new duties soon rested 
upon his shoulders, and in addition to 
filling the office of vice-rector, there fell 
to his lot the stewardship and the teach- 
ing of the classes in pastoral theology and 
liturgy. With characteristic vigor and 
energy he applied himself to his burden- 
ing tasks, his thorough training and fine 
scholarship ample qualifications for his 
important place. He passed his vacation 
in 1902 in a visit to his friends and former 
parishioners in the United States, and at 
the end of his eighth year in association 
with the American College he requested 
that he be once more assigned to a church 
in the United States. The necessary per- 
mission was granted and he at once set 

sail for Philadelphia, being appointed, on 
January 4, 1908, by Archbishop Ryan, 
pastor of the church at Lansdale, Penn- 
sylvania. At Lansdale he established a 
school and built a new parsonage, and 
from that place as a center conducted 
work in the outlying districts, enlarging 
the churches of Sellersville and Quaker- 
town, and organizing a new congregation 
with a resident pastor at Quaktertown, 
October 18, 1908. At the end of little over 
two years, a space of time marked by the 
most strenuous of successful effort, he 
was appointed to St. Joseph's German 
parish at Mauch Chunk (East), and took 
charge of that parish April 4, 1910. Dur- 
ing his short stay in this place he caused 
the remodeling of the rectory and beau- 
tified the church, and while pastor of 
St. Joseph's was appointed by His Grace. 
Archbishop Ryan. Archiepiscopal Com- 
missarv for the Archdiocese of Philadel- 

The death of Rev. Joseph Nerz, pastor 
of the German parish of the Sacred Heart, 
of Allentown, Pennsylvania, in the spring 
of 191 1 caused a vacancy that Father 
Masson was summoned to fill, and he has 
since been the active head of this church. 
Under his direction the church was re- 
built and its interior tastefully enriched 
with appropriate pieces of statuary and 
other decorations, the basement also be- 
ing renovated and now in use as a chapel 
for mid-week services. 

A free school was established under 
his direction, which has now an attend- 
ance of 825 pupils. A new convent was 
also required in May, 191 2, for the 
teachers of the school, the Sisters of St. 
Francis. The tireless pastor did not for- 
get the sick of his flock ; eight Mission- 
ary Sisters of the Sacred Heart were in- 
vited June 15, 1912, to locate in Allen- 
town, to nurse the sick of the poor in 
their private homes; to them he gave the 
pastoral residence. On October 20, 191 3. 


he purchased the handsome residence and 
park of the late Hon. Edward Harvey, 
which will be converted into a non-sec- 
tarian hospital, known as the Sacred 
Heart Hospital, Allentown. 

Not long after his appointment to the 
pastorship he was made Rural Vicar for 
Lehigh and Northampton counties, and 
in June, 1914, was appointed Domestic 
Prelate of His Holiness, with the title 
of Monsignor. In every relation to the 
church, Monsignor Masson has complete- 
ly fulfilled the confidence reposed in him, 
and while showing his fitness for the posi- 
tion he filled, has displayed talents 
worthy of further honor, talents that won 
him his promotion to his present high 
office. His dignity is not the false hau- 
teur of high position, but the simple dig- 
nity that is born of service and striving 
for one's fellows, and although his pres- 
ence graces any gathering of scholars and 
church dignitaries, those who know him 
best love him best as he works from day 
to day with the people of his parish, 
sympathetic, courageous, and friendly. 
As has been said, Monsignor Masson is 
a man of unusual scholastic standing, 
and speaks several languages with 
fluency and exactness. Progressive ac- 
tivity and an insatiable appetite for labor 
increase his value as a pastor and church 

MOFFAT, James David, 

Clergyman, College President. 

In the foremost rank of the educators 
of the United States stands the Rev. 
James David Mofifat, D. D., LL. D., presi- 
dent of Washington and Jefiferson Col- 
lege, Washington, Pennsylvania, from 
18S2-1915. Thirty-three years Dr. Mof- 
fat has been head of this noble institu- 
tion, its great advancement during that 
period furnishing the most convincing 
testimony to his able leadership. 

John Mof¥at, father of James David 
Mofifat, was born January i, 1816, in Scot- 
land, and in 1837 emigrated to the United 
States. Having been in his own country 
a shepherd lad, he landed on the shores 
of the New World well-nigh destitute of 
pecuniary resources, and, with the sturdy 
independence characteristic of his race, 
engaged in any kind of honest labor he 
could find, working for a short time in a 
stone quarry in New York State, and for 
a few weeks on the Erie canal, near 
Rochester, New York. He eventually 
found his way to Columbiana county, 
Ohio, and to the neighborhood of Home- 
worth, then called Middle Sandy, where 
he was employed on farms during the 
summers and during the winter months 
taught the country schools of the vicin- 

Later it became the cherished purpose 
of this earnest young man to fit himself 
for the work of the ministry, and with 
this end in view, he removed, after much 
private study, to the county seat. New 
Lisbon, where he opened a private school, 
continuing, meanwhile, his theological 
studies under the guidance of the Rev. 
Dr. A. O. Patterson, pastor of the Pres- 
byterian church. The home and also the 
school of Mr. MoiTat were in the hos- 
pitable residence of Dr. John McCook, 
whose children and their cousins were 
among his pupils, many of whom have 
achieved distinction in the army and the 
church and at the bar. After completing 
his preparation Mr. Moffat accepted a 
call to the Presbyterian church of St. 
Clairsville, Belmont county, Ohio, where 
he spent fourteen years of unwearied ef- 
fort and signal usefulness. He was then 
for a time pastor of the Presbyterian 
church in Bellaire, Ohio, and in 1863 ac- 
cepted a call to the Second Presbyterian 
Church, of Wheeling, West Virginia. 

While teaching in the country schools 
of Columbiana county Mr. Moffat had as 


a pupil Mary Ann McNeelan, daughter 
of a well-to-do farmer. This young wo- 
man became eventually the wife of her in- 
structor and proved herself a most devoted 
helpmate, aiding and inspiring her hus- 
band during his early struggles and ably 
cooperating with his efforts in the years 
that followed. During the closing years 
of his life, while suffering from impaired 
health, Mr. Moflfat had the great and sat- 
isfying joy of being assisted in his labors 
by his son, James David Moflfat, who 
gave to this work some of the best years 
of his early manhood. Mr. Moflfat passed 
away December i6, 1875, leaving the rec- 
ord of a strong, purposeful, self-denying 
life consecrated to the service of human- 
ity — a life which may well serve as an 
inspiration to generations of his descend- 

Rev. James David Moflfat, son of John 
and Mary Ann (McNeelan) Moflfat, was 
born March 15, 1846, at the home of Dr. 
John McCook, in New Lisbon, Colum- 
biana county, Ohio, receiving the name 
of James in memory of his paternal 
grandfather, and that of David out of 
regard for David Little, a very dear 
Scotch friend in Middle Sandy. James 
David was but a year old when his par- 
ents moved to St. Clairsville, and it was 
there that he received his common school 
education, acquiring at the same time al- 
most enough Latin to admit him to col- 
lege. During the two years spent in Bel- 
laire, the first winter saw him a pupil 
in the high school, and the second a 
teacher in a country school in the Rock 
Hill district, where the youthful instruc- 
tor had pupils older than himself. It 
was, doubtless, under these trying cir- 
cumstances, which would have proved too 
severe a test for the average youth, that 
Dr. Moflfat developed that gift for im- 
parting knowledge and that rare talent 
for leadership which rendered his future 

work as an educator so exceptionally suc- 

When his father accepted the call to 
the pastorate at Wheeling, Dr. Moflfat 
took a course in a business school and for 
a short time was bookkeeper in a store. 
During the winter of 1864-65 he taught a 
school in the same district in Columbi- 
ana county, in which his father a quarter 
of a century before had been a teacher. 
It was at this time that he began the 
study of Greek, in the hope that he might 
enter college the following September — 
a hope which was realized by his becom- 
ing a member of the freshman class of 
Washington and Jeflferson College. In 
1869 he graduated and entered Princeton 
Theological Seminary, but at the close of 
his second year, when ready to be 
licensed, his father was stricken with 
paralysis, and the son was invited to fill 
the pulpit until September, which he did, 
expecting to return to Princeton for his 
last year in the seminary. His father, 
however, not recovering as had been 
hoped, he continued to supply the pulpit, 
and was finally called to the co-pastorate. 
This event changed the current of his 
life. Abandoning his intention of return- 
ing to the seminary, he accepted the call, 
and on May 8, 1873. was ordained, being 
at the same time installed as his father's 
co-worker in the ministry. 

After the death of his father, Dr. Mof- 
fat remained as pastor until December, 

1881, when he was elected to the presi- 
dency of his alma mater. On January 4, 

1882, he entered upon the discharge of 
the duties of that office which he has ever 
since filled with such distinguished abil- 
ity. The great increase in the number of 
students and the wonderful progress in 
every department are due largely to the 
ceaseless toil of Dr. Moflfat and to his 
phenomenal talent as a leader no less 
than as an instructor. He realizes, in 


fact, the ideal of the college president, 
having the hearty good will and coopera- 
tion not only of his faculty, but also of 
the students — which latter condition is 
the real test of the head of a college. The 
attention attracted by the success of his 
work has not been limited by the boun- 
daries of Pennsylvania, but has extended 
throughout the United States. During 
his presidency the property and endow- 
ment of the college have been increased 
by about a million dollars. 

In 1882 Dr. Moflfat received from Han- 
over College, Indiana, the degree of Doc- 
tor of Divinity, and the following year 
the same degree was conferred upon him 
by the College of New Jersey (Prince- 
ton University). He received the de- 
gree of Doctor of Laws from the West- 
ern University, in 1901 from the Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania, and in 1906 from 
the Missouri Valley College. A ripe 
scholar and a man of widest reading, he 
is withal tremendously earnest and tre- 
mendously intense, keeping himself ab- 
solutely abreast of the times and having 
an intimate knowledge of men and of the 
best thought of the day. 

In 1894 Dr. Moffat became one of the 
editorial contributors to the "Presbyte- 
rian Banner," and in 1900 one of its edi- 
tors and directors. In every cause in be- 
half of which he wields his pen he exerts 
the influence of a forceful and brilliant 
writer. In 1888 he represented the Pres- 
byterian Church North in the Presbyte- 
rian Alliance in London, and again in 
Liverpool, in 1904, on the latter occasion 
reading a paper on the "Rights and 
Limits of Biblical Criticism." In 1898, 
when the two hundred and fiftieth anni- 
versary of the Westminster Confession 
was celebrated in many places. Dr. Mof- 
fat delivered addresses at Princeton Sem- 
inary, in New York, before the Social 
Union, at McCormick Seminary, Chicago, 


and before the General Assembly meet- 
ing at Winona Lake, Indiana. The ex- 
tremely able paper on "The Fundamental 
Doctrines of the Confession" which he 
lead on the last-named occasions was 
published in a volume containing the 
other addresses delivered at the meet- 
ing. Dr. Moffat is distinguished no less 
as a speaker than as a writer, his fine 
delivery and classical language being per- 
vaded by an earnestness and sincerity 
that never fail to carry conviction with 
them. On no fewer than four occasions 
Dr. Moft'at has represented his presby- 
terj- in the General Assembly, taking a 
prominent part in the revision of the 
Confession of Faith in the meetings in 
Philadelphia in 1901, and in New York 
in 1902. At the meeting at Winona Lake. 
in 1905, he was exalted to the position 
of Moderator of the General Assembly of 
the Presbyterian Church of North Amer- 
ica — the highest office the church can be- 

Dr. Moffat married, September 6, 1876, 
Elizabeth Dalzell, daughter of Henry 
Crangle, of Wheeling, West Virginia, and 
they are the parents of the following 
children: Harriet Crangle; Margaret 
Blanche; and James David. By this mar- 
riage Dr. Moffat gained the life compan- 
ionship of a charming and congenial wo- 
man, one of those rare women who com- 
bine with perfect womanliness and do- 
mesticity an unerring judgment, traits 
which make her truly an ideal helpmate. 
Both by native gifts and the advantages 
of a thorough education Mrs. Moffat is 
singularly fitted for the exacting duties 
of the prominent social position she has 
been called upon to fill. Dr. Moffat is a 
man of genial nature and a magnetic per- 
sonality and both he and his wife are 
extremely popular in the social circles of 
Washington, and also in those of Pitts- 
burgh and other large cities of the East. 


The future of a nation is largely in the 
hands of its educators. Happy is it for 
any people when the responsibility is 
committed to such men as James David 

FRANTZ, Andrew F., 

Prominent Stock Dealer, Financier. 

The members of the old Mennonite 
family of Frantz have in Lancaster 
county, Pennsylvania, placed to the credit 
of the name a record of honorable and 
useful life in its American home. In 
many instances preferring the peaceful 
pursuit of agriculture, the field of busi- 
ness has likewise claimed numerous 
members of the family, and to this latter 
class belongs Andrew F. Frantz, of Lan- 
caster, member of the firm of Dunlap 
and Frantz. Since 1738 resident in Lan- 
caster county, the institutions of the lo- 
cality that have grown up since that date 
have uniformly been benefited by the 
wise judgment and firm executive power 
of those bearing the name Frantz, and 
in the march of progress and improve- 
ment they have ever been well in the 
van. One of the most noteworthy ex- 
amples of this faithful service to a Lan- 
caster county institution is in the long 
and valued connection of Jacob M. 
Frantz, father of Andrew F. Frantz, with 
the Millersville State Normal School, 
with which he was identified as trustee 
for more than fifty years, a record equalled 
by his brother, Andrew M. Frantz. 
The close relation of the family with this 
excellent institution is continued through 
Andrew F. Frantz, who succeeds his 
father and uncle as a member of the board 
of trustees. 

The migration of Jacob Frantz, a native 
of Alsace, France, from the land of his 
birth was in all probability caused by his 
adoption of a religious creed that met 

with the disapproval of the reigning 
house, and the persecution, violent and 
unceasing, visited upon such a "heretic." 
He sought asylum first in Holland and 
permanent relief from oppression on re- 
ligious grounds in America, whither he 
came on the ship "Elizabeth," sailing 
from Rotterdam in 1738. Arriving in 
Pennsylvania, he settled at once in Man- 
heim township, Lancaster county, and be- 
gan earning a livelihood at his trade, that 
of shoemaker, after, when he had ac- 
quired title to land, adding agricultural 
pursuits to his activities, his farm being 
near Oregon. He was the father of 
Jacob (2) Frantz, born in 1755, died in 
1799, who married (first) a Miss Hostet- 
ter, (second) Maria Nissley, and through 
whom the line to Andrew F. Frantz con- 

Christian Frantz, son of Jacob (2) and 
Maria (Nissley) Frantz, was born June 
23, 1797, and died May 8, 1868. In man- 
hood he became the owner of a large 
farm at Eden, Pennsylvania, and there 
passed his life, his accidental death be- 
ing caused by an overdose of poisonous 
medicine. He was a member of the 
Mennonite church, as had been his Amer- 
ican fathers, a man of quiet nature and 
life, industry and zealous application to 
duty the characterizing features of his 
blameless life. He married (first) in 1812, 
Elizabeth Bassler, born in 1798. and died 
in 1819, (second) in 1820, Elizabeth 
Kaufifman Miller, born August 10, 1801, 
died November 25, 1862. Children of 
Christian Frantz. all of his second mar- 
riage : Maria, born in 1821, died in 1906; 
Jacob M., of whom further ; Eliza, born 
in 1825, died in 1843 ; Andrew M. ; Anna, 
born in 1829, now living (1914) aged 
eighty-five years ; Christian M., born in 
1832, died in 1853 ; Susanna, born in 1834, 
died in 1855; Rebecca, born in 1835, died 
in 1900; Sarah, born in 1837, died in 


1864; John, born in 1839, died in 1864; 
Samuel M., born in 1842; Elizabeth, born 
in 1844, died in 1906. 

Jacob M. Frantz, son of Christian and 
Elizabeth Kaufifman (Miller) Frantz, 
was born near Binkley Bridge, Lancaster 
county, Pennsylvania, December 18, 1823, 
and died at Wabank, Lancaster town- 
ship, Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, 
February 16, 1909. After completing his 
studies in the district schools and Stras- 
burg Academy he was for several years 
a school teacher in East Lampeter town- 
ship, Lancaster county, then returning to 
the home farm and operating it in con- 
nection with his father. Following his 
marriage he made his home on the farm, 
there remaining until his death, deriving 
from his fertile acres a comfortable com- 
petence. In general farming he was in- 
variably successful, and he was one of 
the earliest tobacco growers in the coun- 
ty, prospering from the beginning of his 
experiments in the culture of this plant. 
He became a man of large importance in 
the community and county, was president 
of the Manor Turnpike Company, one of 
the promoters of the Wabank Hotel, and 
a director of the Lancaster and Millers- 
ville Horse Railway Company until the 
absorption of that concern by the Cones- 
toga Traction Company. For a number 
of years he was a school director of Lan- 
caster township, and was an enthusiastic 
promoter and organizer of the Millers- 
ville State Normal School, using his in- 
fluence to secure its establishment upon 
its present site and continuing his efforts 
in its behalf for more than fifty years 
as a member of the board of trustees, 
being, at his death, the oldest member, 
in age and point of service, in that body. 
He fraternized with the Knights of Py- 
thias, and was the object of the lasting 
regard and liking of his associates in edu- 
cational and business circles. Jacob M. 
Frantz married, October 18, 1845, Anna, 

born July 25, 1826, daughter of Jacob R. 
and Mary P. Frick, of Neflsville, Man- 
heim township, Lancaster county, and 
had children, all born near Wabank, 
Pennsylvania : Franklin F., born July 
19, 1846; Benjamin F., born June 28, 
1848; Christian, born August 16, 1850; 
Jacob F., born July 29, 1852 ; Andrew F., 
of whom further ; Abram E., born Sep- 
tember 2, 1858 ; Charles, born June 23, 
1862; Mary E., born October 30, 1864; 
Anna, born January 18, 1867; Edward 
B., born February 14, 1872. 

Andrew F. Frantz, son of Jacob M. 
and Anna (Frick) F"rantz, was born on 
the Frantz homestead in Lancaster 
township, Lancaster county, Pennsyl- 
vania, January 14, 1855. As a lad of 
seven years he began attendance at the 
Millersville State Normal School and 
there obtained his entire education, for a 
few years after leaving school engaging 
in agricultural pursuits. In 1881 he es- 
tablished in his present line, dealing in 
live stock, continuing independently un- 
til 1912, in which year the present well- 
known firm of Dunlap & Frantz, com- 
mission dealers in cattle, was formed. 
This concern conducts a business that is 
the largest of its kind in Lancaster 
county, and during its short life has ac- 
quired many of the qualities that make 
for permanent success, among them sub- 
stantiality, reliability, and a reputation 
for strict and unvarying integrity. Mr. 
Frantz is president of the Manor Turn- 
pike Company, an office his father pre- 
viously held ; is a director of the Eastern 
Market Company ; and is a member of 
the board of trustees of the Millersville 
State Normal School, to which he is in- 
debted for his education, and which ewes 
his father enduring gratitude for labor 
and sacrifice in establishing it upon so 
secure a foundation. Mr. Frantz, a suc- 
cessful man of afifairs, is respected sin- 
cerely in the circles in which he moves. 


ably and commendably bearing a worthy 
name. He is a Republican in politics 
and a member of the First Reformed 
Church of Lancaster. 

He married, July 26, 1881, Snsan H., 
born October 19, 1859, daughter of Philip 
and Mary Herr Bausman, of Lancaster 
township, and has children: Philip B., 
president of the Standard Dental Com- 
pany, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania ; 
Anna Mary, married George A. Young, 
of Pottsville, Pennsylvania; J. Paul, a 
practicing physician of Philadelphia ; 
Maud B. ; Ruth H., married J. Nevin 
Schaeffer, a member of the faculty of 
Franklin and Marshall College, Lancas- 
ter; Elizabeth F. ; J. Andrew, a student 
in the Harvard Law School ; David H., 
a student in Franklin and Marshall Col- 
lege ; Abram P., a student in Franklin 
and Marshall Academy ; Susan B. 

DETWILER, Horace, 

Bank Official, Man of Affairs. 

A list of the citizens of Columbia, 
Pennsylvania, of a generation ago, whose 
efforts and labors laid the foundation 
upon which is being reared the business 
and industrial progress and achievement 
of the present day, would have well to 
the front the name of Solomon S. Det- 
wiler, whose only male descendant is 
Horace Detwiler, cashier of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Columbia. In finance and 
in business he occupied a prominent place 
in his locality, and he is remembered al- 
ways as one whose labors were directed 
not to selfish ends but always with the 
object of adding to the importance of 
Columbia and of making it an increas- 
ingly better place in which to live. His 
ambitions were of no mean order, and in 
attracting to Columbia several well 
known industries and in constant striv- 
ing for civil uplift many were realized, to 
his joy and the benefit of his fellows. 

The family of Detwiler has been espe- 
cially noted in medicine and finance. Dr. 
Henry Detwiler, who died in Easton, 
Pennsylvania, April 21, 1887, having been 
the pioneer of the Hahnemann school in 
America, and at his death was "probably 
the oldest practitioner in the world." 
The American founder of this branch of 
the Swiss family, the name of which is 
variously spelled in Pennsylvania Det- 
wiler, Detwiller, and Detweiler, was 
Joseph Detwiler, a member of the family 
of Datwyler, of which the earliest record 
traces to 1608 in the town of Langen- 
bruck. Canton of Basle. Joseph Detwiler, 
accompanied by his brother, John, the 
two members of a family of four children, 
the others Samuel and Mary, settled near 
Octoraro creek, below Safe Harbor, Lan- 
caster county, his later home at Bam- 
bridge. on the Susquehanna river below 

Joseph (2) Detwiler, son of Joseph (i), 
was born at Bambridge, Pennsylvania, in 
1789, and died in Hellam township, near 
Wrightsville, York county, Pennsylvania, 
April 30, 1870. He grew to man's estate 
in the place of his birth, and in 1820 
moved to York county, passing the rest 
of his life in the cultivation of his farm 
in Hellam township. He enlarged the 
homestead, built the barn that is now 
standing, and was attended by prosperity 
in all that he did. Called to prominent 
place in public life, he served as super- 
visor of West Hempfield township, al- 
ways elected to office as the candidate of 
the Democratic party. Several of his in- 
terests were of a business nature, and he 
was manager of the Wrightsville Pike, at 
his death his son David succeeding to the 
position. Joseph {2) Detwiler married, 
at Bambridge, Pennsylvania, Susan Gar- 
ber, her father a successful farmer, and 
had children : David, deceased, a pros- 
perous farmer; Joseph, a wealthy land, 
stone quarry, and lime kiln owner, since 



i860 a director of the Union National 
Bank of Mt. Joy, Pennsylvania ; Daniel 
H., a financier and business man, presi- 
dent of the First National Bank of Co- 
lumbia ; Susan ; Solomon S., of whom fur- 
ther; Anna, married Abram Hiestand, a 
farmer, miller and distiller. 

Solomon S., son of Joseph (2) and 
Susan (Garber) Detwiler, was born near 
Wrightsville, York county, Pennsyl- 
vania, October 28, 1833, and died in De- 
cember, 1897. ^"^ course in Mount Joy 
Academy, after attendance in the public 
schools, completed his education, and he 
at once came to Columbia, Pennsylvania, 
and found employment in the hardware 
establishment of Jonas Rumple. Here he 
was employed until i860, he and his 
brother, Daniel H., in that year founding 
the private banking house of Detwiler 
and Brother. For four years this firm 
did successful business, and in 1864 was 
supplanted by the First National Bank of 
Columbia, Solomon S. Detwiler being 
elected to the cashiership. an office he 
filled with competence and the greatest 
acceptability until his death. His un- 
varying courtesy and considerateness 
made his relations with the patrons of the 
bank most pleasant, while his sterling 
traits of character, his fine sense of honor 
and absolute reliability, gave his efficient 
service double value. In other than fi- 
nancial circles Mr. Detwiler made his in- 
fluence felt with telling force. Largely 
through his efforts in 1882 the Keeley 
Stove Company changed its location from 
Spring City, Pennsylvania, to Columbia, 
this company now comprising one of Co- 
lumbia's leading industries, and at his 
death he was president of the corporation. 
Another addition to the manufacturing 
interests of the city that resulted through 
his instrumentality was the establishment 
of the silk and lace mills. The manner of 
his attainment was simple and without 
pretension, but a grateful citizenry and 

his many friends would not permit his 
works to pass unpraised nor would they 
allow him to escape due recognition. 
From the time of the incorporation of the 
Columbia Hospital he served the institu- 
tion as treasurer, remaining with it in 
its useful years with the same fidelity he 
had shown when endeavoring to accom- 
plish its birth. He was a director of the 
Columbia and Marietta Turnpike Com- 
pany and of the Grey Iron Company. 
Mr. Detwiler was a vestryman of St. 
Paul's Protestant Episcopal Church, and 
to all of its beneficences contributed gen- 

He married Mary C. Redsecker, daugh- 
ter of Isaac Redsecker, of Elizabethtown, 
Pennsylvania, a retired farmer and tan- 
ner. Solomon S. and Mary (Redsecker) 
Detwiler had five children — Effie, and 
Horace (of whom further), the onlj' sur- 
vivors. Katherine having died aged 
twelve years, Joseph, aged eleven years, 
and Susan in infancy. 

Horace Detwiler, son of Solomon S. 
and Mary (Redsecker) Detwiler, was 
born in Columbia, Pennsylvania, August 
10, 1873, ^"d after completing his studies 
in the public schools attended Shortlidge 
Academy, at Media, Pennsylvania. His 
education finished, he became his father's 
assistant in the numerous connections of 
the elder Detwiler, and upon the death of 
Solomon S. Detwiler entered the First 
National Bank in the capacity of clerk. 
His present office is that of cashier, a 
place held by his honored parent for 
thirty-three years. In his financial career 
Mr. Detwiler has splendid guides and ex- 
amples in the lives of his father and 
others of his family, guides that not only 
lead but inspire, that cheer as well as 
direct. He is president and director of 
the Keele)' Stove Company ; a director, 
manager, and treasurer of the Columbia 
and Marietta Turnpike Company ; and a 
director and treasurer of the Mount 


Bethel Cemetery Company. Mr. Det- 
wiler is an interested member of the 
Vigilant Volunteer Fire Company, of Co- 
lumbia, and is treasurer of that organiza- 
tion, member of Columbia Board of 
Health, and, as was his father, he is a 
vestryman of St. Paul's Protestant Epis- 
copal Church. 

BROWNSON, James I., 

Lairyer, Anthor. 

The bar of Western Pennsylvania has 
ever, as its annals testify, been rich in 
learning, ability and character, and ably 
is its prestige maintained by its repre- 
sentatives of the present day. Among the 
foremost of these must be numbered 
James I. Brownson, of Washington, a 
member of the firm of Donnans, Brown- 
son & Miller. This firm is among those 
of the highest standing in the county and 
Mr. Brownson is recognized as one of 
the leading lawyers of this part of the 
old Keystone State. 

The Rev. James I. Brownson, father of 
James I. Brownson, of Washington, was 
a native of Franklin county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and in 1849 moved to Washington 
in order to accept the pastorate of the 
First Presbyterian Church of that city, 
an office which he filled without inter- 
ruption for fifty years — years of earnest 
and unwearied usefulness, consecrated to 
rekindling hope in the hearts of the de- 
spairing, reviving courage in the souls 
of the conquered and carrying beauty, 
joy and love into the lives of those whom 
sin and misery had crushed. He was a 
man endowed with notable social gifts, 
charm of voice and manner, unfailing 
tact, quick, generous sympathies, an ever- 
luminous sense of humor, and — greatest 
of all — the subtle faculty of making all 
about him appear at their best. Mr. 
Brownson married, March 14, 1843, 

Sarah Ellen, daughter of John Maclay, 
of Shippensburg, Pennsylvania; she died 
in April, 1853, and on January 9, 1855, 
he married Eleanor, daughter of David 
Acheson, of Washington. On January i, 
1899, he tendered his resignation of the 
pastorate of half a century, and but six 
months later, on July 4, of the same 
year, passed forever from the scene of 
his labors, having been the spiritual guide 
and counsellor of three generations. An 
able, scholarly and gifted man, he lives 
still in the memory of this community. 

James I. Brownson, son of James I. 
and Eleanor (Acheson) Brownson, was 
born January 25, 1856, at Washington, 
Pennsylvania, and received his prelimi- 
nary education in the public schools of his 
native place, afterward entering Wash- 
ington and Jeflferson College, graduating 
in the class of 1875. He then registered 
as law student with Alexander Wilson 
and in 1878 was admitted to the bar. 
Since that date he has been in continu- 
ous practice in Washington, and has 
proved himself to be possessed of that 
judicial instinct which makes its way 
quickly through immaterial details to the 
essential points upon which the determi- 
nation of a cause must turn. Thoroughly 
conversant with the literature of his pro- 
fession, energetic in all his transactions, 
clear, logical and forceful in argument, 
and ever actuated by the highest sense 
of honor, Mr. Brownson occupies an en- 
viable position in the ranks of the legal 
fraternity. He has served several terms 
as solicitor for Washington county. 

Intensely public-spirited, Mr. Brown- 
son possesses that judgment — at once 
clear and rapid — which enables him in 
the midst of incessant professional ac- 
tivity to give to the aiifairs of the com- 
munity eflfort and counsel of genuine 
value, and his penetrating thought has 
often added wisdom to public move- 



merits. Though taking no prominent part 
in politics he is thoroughly identified with 
the Republicans, but has steadily refused 
to hold office — with one exception. This 
exception was made in favor of the posi- 
tion of president of the council of South 
Washington, a position which was filled 
by Mr. Brownson before South Wash- 
ington became a part of the city. He is 
a director of the Washington Trust Com- 
pany, a trustee of Washington and Jeffer- 
son College, and a member of the Archae- 
ological Institute of America, the Penn- 
sylvania Society, of New York, the Penn- 
sylvania Scotch-Irish Society, the Na- 
tional Geographical Society and the 
American Forestry Association. He is 
author of: "The Life and Times of Sen- 
ator James Ross," and '"Equity in Penn- 
sylvania from the Historical Point of 
V^iew." He is a member of the First 
Presbyterian Church, in the work of 
which he is active, serving as secretary 
of the Sunday school. 

Mr. Brownson is a member of the 
Washington County and Pennsylvania 
State Bar associations, and the high place 
which he holds not only in the estima- 
tion of the public at large, but also in 
that of his professional brethren, is ac- 
corded to him not alone for the posses- 
sion of the qualities essential to a suc- 
cessful lawyer, but for that of every trait 
that marks the true Christian gentleman 
and man of honor. Fie is of dignified 
presence, abounding in vitality, his coun- 
tenance giving evidence at once of his 
keen and aggressive, yet kindly nature, 
the piercing expression of his eyes temp- 
ered by the glint of humor. He is a man 
who, notwithstanding his long period of 
practice at the bar, may reasonably look 
for many years of useful and appreciative 
reward yet to come. 

The son of a father whose memory is 
still revered in the place which was the 
scene of his noble life, Mr. Brownson has 

worthily supplemented the record of an 
enlightened, self-denying pastor by that 
of an able, conscientious and high-minded 

CRESSWELL, Robert Emmett, 

I.awyer, Leader in Commnnity Affairs. 

Robert Emmett Cresswell, of Johns- 
town, a leader of the Cambria county 
bar, and for nearly a quarter of a century 
prominently identified with the political 
life of W'estern Pennsylvania, is a repre- 
sentative of a family of colonial record, 
and numbers among his ancestors on 
both sides scions of Irish and Scotch- 
Irish stock — two elements which have 
largely influenced the progress and de- 
velopment of the Commonwealth. 

Robert Cresswell, grandfather of Rob- 
ert Emmett Cresswell, was born at or 
near Hagerstown, Maryland, and was a 
member of a well known and influential 
family which had been settled, prior to 
the Revolutionary War, in the Old Line 
State. Robert Cresswell moved to Frank- 
lin county, Pennsylvania, and there, in 
1824, married Isabella, sister of Captain 
William McKinzie, who served in the 
War of 1812, and was with Commodore 
Perry at the battle of Lake Erie, known 
as "Perry's victory." Captain McKinzie 
belonged to a family which emigrated in 
1798 from Belfast. Ireland, and settled 
at or near Concord, Franklin county, 
Pennsylvania, where they still own the 
property known as "McKinzie's Dock," 
which has been contested for a long 
period and is in litigation at the present 

Thomas Hayden, son of Robert and 
Isabella (McKinzie) Cresswell, was born 
in 1827, in Franklin county, Pennsylvania, 
but while he was still a child his parents; 
removed to Newry, Blair county, in the 
same State. At an early age the boy was 
employed in his father's shoe factory, and 


later became a driver on the old Pennsyl- 
vania canal between lioUidaysburg and 
the east. He also worked for a time on 
the old Portage railroad, and later served 
as a clerk in the store of Dr. Peter Shoen- 
berger, at Rebecca Furnace, subsequently 
becoming bookkeeper and then manager 
of the Rebecca Furnace and what was 
then known as the Maria Forges. Mr. 
Cresswell remained with Mr. Lytel, a 
son-in-law of Dr. Shoenberger for some 
time after the latter's death, and shortly 
after his marriage severed his connec- 
tion with the Shoenberger estate, re- 
moving to Strongstown, Indiana coun- 
ty. This place was then in the heart of 
the pine woods and Mrs. Cresswell was 
the owner of a considerable estate in the 
vicinity. Mr. Cresswell engaged in the 
lumber business with which he continued 
to be associated during the remainder of 
his life, and he also opened a store which 
he conducted in connection with the lum- 
ber trade. During the entire period of 
his residence in Indiana county he was 
numbered among the leaders of the Dem- 
ocratic party, and during the memorable 
presidential campaign of i860 enjoyed 
the distinction of being, with one excep- 
tion, the only "Breckenridge Democrat" 
in his township. He filled in a most 
creditable manner the office of postmaster 
and for many years was a justice of the 
peace. Mr. Cresswell married, in 1855. 
in Strongstown, Ellen M. Burke, whose 
family record is appended to this sketch, 
and their children were : Edmund Burke ; 
Michael ; Robert Emmett, mentioned be- 
low ; Joseph ; Kate B. ; Francis A. ; 
Thomas M., and Ella B. All these, with 
the exception of Robert Emmett and Ella 
B., are now deceased. The father of the 
family died May 11, 1882, and the mother 
passed away February 28, 1902, at her 
home in Johnstown. 

Robert Emmett, son of Thomas Hay- 
den and Ellen M. (Burke) Cresswell, was 

born November 2, 1858, in Strongstown, 
where he received his preliminary edu- 
cation in the common schools, afterward 
attending the State Normal School at 
Indiana. \\'hen not in school he was em- 
ployed in his father's store, or in and 
about the mills and lumber busmess. 
After completing his course of study he 
taught a country school during the win- 
ter and in the summer was employed in 
his father's business. Later he became a 
car recording clerk in the service of the 
Pennsylvania Railroad Company, remain- 
ing until the department in which he was 
employed was removed from Altoona to 
Philadelphia. He then spent some time 
in the west, engaged in the railroad busi- 
ness, finally returning to Pennsylvania, 
and in 1885, in order to assist in the 
settlement of his father's estate, he again 
engaged in the lumber business. 

Throughout these changes of occupa- 
tion, Mr. Cresswell had had a decided in- 
clination to the study of law — an inclina- 
tion which eventually crystallized into a 
purpose — and during the year or two 
spent in lumbering began reading Black- 
stone. Often he carried this volume into 
the woods, and there, in the logging 
camps, laid the foundation for his future 
success in the legal profession. In 1887 
he closed the business, thus becoming 
free to devote his whole time to his 
studies. He had previously registered as 
a student of law at the Cambria county 
bar, and now, by the advice of his father's 
old-time friend and legal counsellor, the 
late Supreme Court Judge Silas M. Clark, 
of Indiana, he took the law course at the 
University of Michigan, graduating in 
1889, with the degree of Bachelor of 
Laws. During his vacations he read in 
the office of M. D. Kittell, Esq., and also 
for a time prior to his admission. Since 
that time he has been continuously en- 
gaged in general practice in Johnstown, 
and has won a most enviable reputation 


for learning, skill and probity, standing 
high in the esteem both of the general 
public and of his professional brethren. 
For many years he has been one of the 
recognized leaders of the Cambria county 

In political allegiance and religious be- 
lief Mr. Cresswell adheres to the tradi- 
tions of his ancestors, being a strong 
Democrat and an earnest Roman Catho- 
lic. In 1899 he was unanimously chosen 
by his party for chairman of the Demo- 
cratic County Committee, a position 
which he held for four years. Under the 
rule of what was known as the "Court 
House Ring," the county had grown 
strongly Republican, but, despite this 
fact, Mr. Cresswell succeeded in building 
up a powerful organization, and in 1901 
the party elected Hon. F. J. O'Connor 
as Common Pleas Judge, and William H. 
Strauss as register and recorder. The 
following year the Democrats elected a 
county treasurer and the next year suc- 
ceeded in electing a sheriff. In these 
campaigns Mr. Cresswell proved beyond 
dispute his rare talent for leadership, and 
in 1900 he was elected a member of the 
Democratic State Executive Committee, 
and in this position served his party for 
the space of three years. 

In 1902 Mr. Cresswell was the candi- 
date of his party for Congress from the 
Nineteenth Congressional District, and 
although his opponent, the Hon. Alvin 
Evans, of Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, was 
one of the ablest and most popular Re- 
publicans in his district, he made a very 
fine showing, especially in his own county. 
Under President Cleveland's first admin- 
istration, Mr. Cresswell served for four 
years as postmaster of Strongstown, dis- 
charging the duties of the ofifice to the 
entire satisfaction of the community. He 
has been many times a delegate to State 
conventions, and in 1908 went to the 
National Convention in Denver pledged 

to the support of William Jennings 
Bryan, having always been the warm 
friend and staunch political advocate of 
that leader. In 1912 Mr. Cresswell was 
nominated by his party for Auditor- 
General of Pennsylvania, and in Novem- 
ber of that year received a most encour- 
aging number of votes, amply justifying 
the choice of his constituents. 

Mr. Cresswell is vice-president of the 
First National Bank of Cressan, Penn- 
sylvania, and takes an active interest in 
everything pertaining to the welfare and 
advancement of his home city, being a 
liberal contributor to all her benevolent 
institutions. He affiliates with the Hepta- 
sophs, the Knights of Columbus, the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
and the Johnstown Lyceum. A man of 
genial nature and affable manners, he 
wins and holds many friends and enjoys 
a high degree of personal popularity. 

After the death of his brother, Francis 
A. Cresswell, Mr. Cresswell became inter- 
ested in the rebuilding of the old home 
in Strongstown, where the family owned 
a large tract of farm land. He restored 
the old house and has since given much 
time and attention to improving and 
stocking the farm, the raising of cattle 
and hogs and the cultivation of alfalfa. 
Mr. Cresswell is unmarried and spends 
the summers at the old home with his 
sister and two widowed sisters-in-law. 

Mr. Cresswell has won laurels at the 
bar and as a political leader. His career 
has thus far been filled with accomplish- 
ment, but he is still in the prime of life 
and the past furnishes a guarantee for 
honors in the future. 

The Wilson administration tendered to 
Mr. Cresswell the appointment of Assist- 
ant United States Attorney-General. His 
important duties of that office was to 
assist in the settlement of Indian affairs 
in Oklahoma. This appointment he de- 
clined, as his business interests would not 



allow of its acceptance. Later he was a 
candidate for the appointment to a Fed- 
eral judgeship of the District Court of 
the United States, embracing the western 
district of Pennsylvania. He is at pres- 
ent a much spoken of candidate for 
National Committeeman from Pennsyl- 
vania to succeed the Hon. Mitchell A. 
Palmer, who lately resigned the office 
owing to his appointment to a Federal 

(The Burke Line). 

Edmund Burke, father of Mrs. Ellen 
M. (Burke) Cresswell, was a native of 
County Waterford, Ireland, and belonged 
to a branch of a family famous in history 
through the genius of some of its mem- 
bers, chief among whom stands the 
world-renowned statesman and orator 
who bore the full name of Mrs. Cress- 
well's father, Edmund Burke. Edmund 
Burke, of County Waterford, was a 
marine engineer or navigator, and for 
some years was employed by the British 
government to make ocean surveys. The 
exact date of his emigration to the United 
States has not been preserved, but after 
his arrival he was employed to make sur- 
veys for a canal project in the State of 
New York. Later he was engaged in 
making surveys in and about Baltimore 
and Annapolis, and he finally moved to 
Western Pennsylvania, where he became 
a contractor, entering into partnership 
with a Mr. McGrath, of Lancaster, the 
firm being known as Burke & McGrath ; 
another partner was named Riley. The 
firm constructed a number of sections of 
the old Pennsylvania canal, the Bald Eagle 
canal, and sections of all the numerous 
pikes leading through the western part 
of the State. Mr. Burke acquired a large 
landed estate at Strongstown, Indiana 
county, Pennsylvania. He married, in 
1828, Catherine Sweeney, born at Belle- 
fonte, Centre county, Pennsylvania, 
where her parents settled on emigrating 

from Ireland, later removing to Cherry 
Hill township, Indiana county. Mrs. 
Burke died in Strongstown in 1838. 

Ellen M., daughter of Edmund and 
Catherine (Sweeney) Burke, was born in 
Strongstown, and became the wife of 
Thomas Hayden Cresswell, as mentioned 
above. The old home where she was 
born is now owned by her son, Robert 
Emmett Cresswell. 

SHAW, George Benton, 

Prominent LiA-wyer. 

From the Colonial period down to the 
present time the bench and bar have 
wielded a power second to none in deter- 
mining the course of events and main- 
taining the eminence and honor of the 
State. George Benton Shaw, who holds 
marked prestige among the members of 
the bar of Greensburg, Westmoreland 
county, Pennsylvania, is numbered 
among its leading practitioners, and his 
connection with litigated interests has 
been of a most important and extensive 
character. He is of the fifth generation 
of the Shaw family in Westmoreland 
county, the family having been settled 
there about the time of the Revolutionary 
War by three brothers. Daniel W. Shaw, 
father of George Benton Shaw, married 
Sarah Matilda, a daughter of John and 
Jane (Miller) Reed, and had children: 
Albertus Miller; Lizzie Ida, married W. 
P. Weister; George Benton, whose name 
heads this sketch ; John Reed ; Jennie ; 
Robert C, county superintendent of 
schools ; Margaret Emeline, married John 
Young; William Gill. 

George Benton Shaw was born in 
Washington township, Westmoreland 
county, Pennsylvania, May 28, 1863. The 
public schools of his native township fur- 
nished him with an excellent education, 
which was supplemented by attendance 
at the Poke Run Academy and the 

PA— Vol VI-13 



Greensburg Seminary. Having decided 
to make the legal profession his life work, 
Mr. Shaw commenced reading law in the 
ofifices of Atkinson & Peoples, a well 
known firm of attorneys, and was admit- 
ted to practice at the bar of Westmore- 
land county, March 3, 1893. From the 
very outset of his practice he showed 
legal ability of an unusually high order, 
and time has not lessened the impression 
which his earlier conduct of cases gave. 
So extended did his practice become that 
he found it imperative to associate some 
one with himself, and he has found a very 
congenial legal partner in the person of 
John C. Silsley, Esq. As a pleader, a 
cross-examiner of witnesses, and a deep 
and logical reasoner, Mr. Shaw is ex- 
celled by none. His culture and talents 
give him social influence and professional 
eminence ; in conversation he is peculiarly 
fascinating, and he is always surrounded 
by a group of eager listeners. In his 
presentment of cases he is most convinc- 
ing, marshalling his facts accurately, and 
using concise, yet graceful, language. 
Politically he is a member of the Demo- 
cratic party, and he was a candidate for 
Congressman-at-large in 1912. His re- 
ligious affiliations are with the West- 
minster Presbyterian Church in Greens- 
burg, in which he is a ruling elder. 

Mr. Shaw married, December 25, 1890, 
Sara Luella, a daughter of James L. and 
Nancy (Kirkwood) Thompson, of Wash- 
ington township. His wife died March 
4, 1908. 


Accomplislied Artist. 

An artist of a generation past, the repu- 
tation of Arthur Armstrong, of Lancas- 
ter, rests securely in the numerous ex- 
amples of his work that are preserved at 
this time, rather than in written words 
of favorable criticism. There are, indeed. 

brief notices of his activity to be found, 
but no adequate biography has been 
printed, and it remains for the biographer 
of the twentieth century to chronicle, 
from the best material available, the life 
of one whose birthdate fell in the 
eighteenth century. 

The family of which Arthur Armstrong 
was a member is that which claims 
among its members General Armstrong, 
Secretary of War under President Madi- 
son. Arthur Armstrong was a son of 
James Armstrong, and was born in 
Manor township, Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania, in 1798. He was educated 
in the public schools of his home and at 
an early age evinced his artistic talent, 
for as a young man of twenty-two years 
he opened a studio in the borough of 
Marietta. Here he followed his art and 
here he imparted the principles thereof 
to several students, among them the late 
Judge John L. Liebhart and the eminent 
J. Henry Brown, the former the painter 
of a portrait of General Simon Cameron, 
a canvas that merited and received the 
highest commendation. The number of 
the "Intelligencer" for December, 1849, 
contains the following mention : 

We were very much gratified with a recent 
visit we paid to the gallery of Mr. Arthur Arm- 
strong in the Mechanics' Institute. Mr. Arm- 
strong, we believe, is a native of this city, and 
of talents of the highest order as an artist, com- 
bined with suavity of manner and an exceedingly 
accommodating disposition deserve ample en- 
couragement, then he is richly entitled to it at 
the hands of the public. His paintings.^and his 
gallery is ornamented with some splendid pro- 
ductions from his pencil which exhibit taste, 
skill, and productions of the highest order of 
genius, — are well worthy a visit from all our 
citizens in town and country. We intend, when 
we have a little more leisure, to renew our visit, 
and to take a note of his most celebrated paint- 
ings for publication. We hope that Mr. Arm- 
strong will be liberally patronized as a native, 
and he is eminently deserving of it. 




Mr. Armstrong's studio could not have 
been long in the Mechanics' Institute, for 
his stay there is neglected altogether by 
the author of the following notice that 
appeared after his death in the "Exam- 
iner:" "Arthur Armstrong was born in 
Manor township and was long and well 
known to Lancasterians. He aspired 
high, built a fine studio of classical de- 
sign on Orange street, and fitted up the 
second story to exhibit paintings. We 
remember 'Hamlet,' 'Ophelia' and the 
'Assassination of Caesar,' which were 
works of great size, and he also had a 
large collection of engravings, which he 
took great pleasure in showing to a few 
select friends. He was a genial, kind- 
hearted man, and had numerous pupils, 
some of whom speak kindly of him to 
this day." 

Art has never rivalled business as a 
means of attaining material prosperity, 
and the calling of a portrait painter in a 
small city of that day was by no means 
a lucrative one. Even as the famous 
West at times painted tavern signs and 
in other ways humbled his art in defer- 
ence to necessity, so Arthur Armstrong 
resorted to such means to obtain money 
when more desirable occupation was not 
obtainable, painting signs, making and 
gilding picture frames, and in other ways 
meeting the needs of daily existence. A 
contemporary, writing of his work and 
of one piece in particular, states: "It 
does not require a connoisseur in the fine 
: arts to discover something remarkable in 
I the style of Mr. Armstrong's paintings. 
He leaves nothing in the dark for the 
imagination to work out, it is bold and 
distinct, and yet the distance is kept in 
such a natural harmony as to give it at 
once that ease and softness essential to 
the art. The picture is one on rich blue 
silk, and is intended as a banner for the 
Washington Fire Company of Louisville, 
Kentucky. The back of the canvas repre- 

sents the Washington family, which is 
not a mere convening of the bare 
material, but with a persevering assiduity 
the artist has left nothing unfinished. 
The scene is under the portico of the 
mansion at Mount Vernon and consists 
of the family circle, in the distance the 
Potomac studded with sails. The whole 
is beautifully worked out, and more 
worthy the gallery than the back of a 

Mr. Armstrong worked for a time 
under the instruction of a Philadelphia 
artist, then returning to the neighborhood 
of his early home. Upon the organization 
of the Mechanics' Society, July 8, 1829, 
Mr. Armstrong was elected treasurer, and 
was long an interested member of the 

His death occurred June 18, 1851, when 
he was fifty-three years of age. Many of 
his canvases remain in the locality of his 
home, and the home of his surviving 
daughter, Elizabeth Grofif, contains nu- 
merous paintings from his brush. Among 
these are portraits of his daughters, 
Amanda and Elizabeth, and of his son, 
James ; of his wife and young daughters ; 
of his daughter, Margaret Katherine, at 
a youthful age ; of himself at mature man- 
hood ; of himself at a youthful age ; of 
Mrs. Margaret Haldeman, his sister; of 
his daughter, Helen, who died young; of 
his daughter, Harriet, who died young; 
of Mrs. Thomas Wentz ; of Mrs. Kath- 
erine Wentz ; a picture of fruit, attrac- 
tively arranged ; "The Entombment of 
Christ," a large picture of five figures, 
owned by J. B. Litchy, of Lancaster ; por- 
trait of the late Mrs. Christian Cast, 
owned by Mrs. Annie E. Martin ; por- 
traits of the late Emanuel SchaefTer and 
second wife, owned by Miss Louise Herr, 
of Philadelphia ; portrait of Mrs. John 
Levergood, owned by Mrs. Levergood ; 
portraits of Edwin and Susan SchaefTer; 
portrait of Mrs. John Herr, owned by 



Miss Louise Herr; portrait of Mrs. W. 
E. Heinitsh, owned by her daughter, Miss 
Margaret Heinitsh ; portrait of Hon. Wil- 
liam Frazer, owned by Miss Susan C. 
Frazer ; portrait of James Jeffries, owned 
by Miss Susan Jeffries; portrait of 
Colonel John W. Forney; portrait of 
Michael Breneman ; portrait on wooden 
panel, in oil, of Kitty Snyder; a small 
portrait in oil on a wooden panel of a 
gentleman whose name, undecipherable, 
appears on the back; picture of Fort Mc- 
Henry, and portraits of two of the chil- 
dren of W. E. Heinitsh, the last three pic- 
tures the property of Mr. Breneman. 

It was Mr. Armstrong's happy fate to 
come into artistic prominence and favor 
while at the pinnacle of his mastery of his 
art. Portraiture was easily the branch in 
which he excelled, and the fidelity of his 
reproductions and the natural touch that 
all his work bears mark him as an artist 
of unusual ability, the preservation of 
whose work is a privilege and a duty. 

Arthur Armstrong married Harriet 
Wentz, of Lancaster, and had children : 
James T., an artist, died young; Amanda 
Haldeman, deceased ; Elizabeth Groff, 
who is the possessor of inherited artistic 
talent that has found expression in no 
inconsiderable amount of work with the 
brush ; Margaret Katharine Kerfoot ; and 
Helen and Harriet, who died young. 

FEE, David Hamilton, 

Promineiit Journalist. 

The Fees came to America from Ire- 
land, Abraham Fee being the American 
ancestor. After first sojourning for a 
time in Maryland, he crossed the Alle- 
ghanies, settling in Washington county 
in 1800, and died in 1809, in Canonsburg. 
A maternal ancestor of David Hamilton 
Fee was David Hamilton, a soldier of the 
Revolution, who came in 1780, settling at 
Rich Hills, died in 1840, aged ninety 

years, and is buried in the Cross Roads 
United Presbyterian churchyard. 

William, son of Abraham Fee, was 
born in Maryland, and came to Washing- 
ton county with his parents in 1800. He 
was a man of unusual intelligence, had 
been liberally educated, and was for many 
years justice of the peace in Chartiers 
township. He was one of the early school 
teachers of Washington county. His 
wife was Elizabeth, daughter of David 
Hamilton, the Rich Hill pioneer and land- 
owner of previous mention. One of the 
sons of William Fee was William (2), 
who followed in his brother's footsteps, 
teaching school, and was for two terms 
superintendent of public instruction in 
Washington county, 1869-1875. He spent 
the last twenty-five years of his life in 
Cherokee county, Iowa, where he died, 
October 13, 1895. 

John Fee, son of William (i), and 
father of David Hamilton Fee, was born 
in North Strabane township, Washing- 
ton county, March 10, 1817, but spent 
most of his life in Chartiers township, 
died June 30, 1901. He was a carpenter 
and builder, constructing many of the 
better class of buildings in Washington 
and vicinity, including the county court 
house that preceded the present struc- 
ture. In his latter years he became a 
farmer, owning the old Fee homestead in 
Chartiers township. He served several 
terms as school director, and was always 
a warm friend of the cause of public edu- 
cation. Although the Fees were identi- 
fied with the United Presbyterian Church 
of Cross Roads, John Fee was baptized 
when an infant by the noted Rev. John 
McMillan, D. D., pastor of Chartiers 
Presbyterian Church. John Fee married 
Harriet Quinn, born in Washington 
county, 1827, daughter of James Quinn, 
a native of Ireland, died suddenly in 
Wheeling, West Virginia, when compara- 
tively a young man. She died June 30, 



1901. Children: John Nesbit and Lydia 
A., who own and reside on the old Fee 
homestead in Chartiers township ; Re- 
becca J., died February, 1906, married 
Matthew A. Cain, of Canonsburg; Sam- 
uel G., of Chartiers township, married 
Anna, daughter of Samuel McCoy ; Ellis 
Gray, of Chartiers township, married 
Catherine Stewart; Henry, of Chartiers 
township, married Jennie M'cCarty ; 
David Hamilton (see forward) ; and Wil- 
liam H., also of further mention in this 

David Hamilton Fee, son of John Fee, 
was born in Chartiers township, Wash- 
ington county, Pennsylvania, July 9, 
1853. He grew to manhood on the home 
farm, and was educated in the public 
schools, and Jefferson Academy, under 
the well known instructor. Professor Wil- 
liam Ewing. In 1881 and 1882 he taught 
school, then secured an interest in the 
"Canonsburg Notes," being in a few 
months sole owner and editor of that 
paper, then a weekly publication. He 
conducted the "Notes" very successfully 
for ten years alone, then admitted his 
brother, William H. (who had been with 
him since 1883), to a partnership. The 
firm of David H. & William H. Fee con- 
ducted the "Notes" for twelve years as a 
weekly, then on April 18, 1894, began the 
publication of the "Daily Notes," although 
Canonsburg was then little more than a 
village. By careful management, how- 
ever, the "Daily" was a successful ven- 
ture from the first issue, and has become 
so valuable a medium that there is hardly 
a home in the community where it is not 
a welcome daily visitors. The "Daily" be- 
coming so popular, the weekly issue was 
discontinued, and the entire energy of 
the brothers devoted to the newer enter- 
prise. In 1904 the Notes Printing and 
Publishing Company was formed, with 
David H. Fee as president. He is also 
senior editor, and directs the policy of the 

paper. The "Notes" is known far and 
near as a fearless advocate of the right as 
its editor sees the right, and is strong in 
its advocacy of good government and 
genuine reform measures, as well as an 
advocate of public improvement looking 
to the benefit of Canonsburg. The poli- 
tics of the paper is "Independent Repub- 
lican," and its independence is not a sham, 
but real, as has been often demonstrated. 
While the paper reflects in a great meas- 
ure the personality of its editor, there is 
much more to the nature and character 
than is there made manifest. He is a great 
lover of nature, art and literature, his 
hours "off duty" being given to his flow- 
ers, fruits, books, etc. 

He is a charter member of the Monday 
Night Club, Canonsburg's oldest and 
most important literary society. He is a 
public speaker of more than local fame, 
and his pleasing personality is never seen 
to more striking advantage than upon 
the platform in advocacy of some forward 
movement in which he is interested. He 
has been a leader in many such move- 
ments, and through the "Notes" was the 
first in Washington county to demand 
"local option" on the liquor question. He 
is widely and favorably known through- 
out Western Pennsylvania, having been 
engaged in newspaper work longer than 
any other member of the profession in 
Washington county. He and his wife 
are members of the Chartiers United 
Presbyterian Church, and of other local 
social and charitable organizations. 

He married. May 15, 1884, Ellen Eva 
Lee Pattison, daughter of Thomas Patti- 
son, of near West Alexander. Their only 
child, a son, died in infancy. 

FEE, William Huston, 

Prominent Journalist. 

Closely associated with his brother, 
David H. Fee, in the management and 
editorial work of the Canonsburg 



"Notes," William H. Fee since boyhood 
has known no other business than that of 
helping make the best possible newspaper 
for a small town and a rural community. 

He is the youngest son of John and 
Hannah (Quinn) Fee, and was born near 
McConnells Mills, Chartiers township, 
Washington county, Pennsylvania, Octo- 
ber i6, 1868. His first fourteen years were 
spent on the homestead farm, but being 
the youngest of six sons he escaped much 
of the usual farm labor falling to a boy. 
He attended school irregularly, but early 
developed a love for the weekly news- 
paper that came to the farm, imbibing 
more knowledge from them than from his 
books. On February 6, 1883, being then 
but little more than fourteen years of 
age, he began working for his brother, 
David H. Fee, owner and editor of the 
Canonsburg "Notes." He passed through 
all the grades of service known to the 
country newspaper office, from "printer's 
devil" upward, and has been continuously 
connected with the "Notes" until the 
present time. In 1892 he became an equal 
partner with his brother, continuing as 
junior member of the firm of David H. 
& William H. Fee until the business was 
incorporated in 1905, when he became 
vice-president of the Notes Printing and 
Publishing Company, and one of the 
principal stockholders. For several years 
he held the position of news editor. The 
paper has not been left in undisturbed 
possession of the field, but has success- 
fully withstood all competition, and 
serenely outlives several would-be rivals 
for public favor. This has been due to 
efificient management and a public policy 
that won the admiration of the best and 
most to be deserved class of patrons. 

Mr. Fee belongs to no lodges or soci- 
eties, beliving that an editor should be 
free from alliance of any kind, nor has 
public ofiice ever appealed to him. He is 

a "newspaper man" first, last, and all the 
time, spending his hours of ease in his 
home enjoying the society of his favorite 
authors, whose works are found in his 
well chosen library, together with stand- 
ard works of reference and many others 
of a miscellaneous character. 

He married, October 28, 1891, Julia 
May Humphrey, of West Alexandria, 
daughter of Robert Humphrey, of Ohio 
county. West Virginia, a descendant of 
Robert Humphrey, a soldier of the Revo- 
lution and founder of the town of West 
Alexandria. Their only son, Dwight 
Humphrey Fee, born September 4, 1892, 
graduated from the Canonsburg High 
School, and is engaged in newspaper 
work in Pittsburgh. The family are 
members of the Canonsburg United Pres- 
byterian Church. 

FREEMAN, Edward Jacob, 

Iieading Physician. 

For a quarter of a century a leading ex- 
ponent of the healing art in Freemans- 
burg, Pennsylvania, Dr. Freeman has in 
the years that have intervened since his 
retirement in 1898 been equally success- 
ful in his business affairs. Scion of an 
old English family he traces to Colonial 
ancestors in this country, and in Penn- 
sylvania, the village of Freemansburg, in 
the Lehigh Valley, standing as a memo- 
rial to the early family, many of whom 
were large landowners in Bethlehem and 
Lower Saucon township, Northampton 
county. Dr. Freeman rightfully came by 
his love for the medical profession, his 
father. Dr. George W. Freeman, having 
been a medical practitioner from 1852 
until his death in 1898, nearly half a cen- 
tury. The work of the two Doctors Free- 
man was carried on in association for 
four years, then each practiced alone. 
The long period these two healers prac- 



ticed in Freemansburg made their names 
most familiar in that section, which in 
two hundred years has not been without 
Freemans of prominence. 

Dr. George W. Freeman was born in 
Freemansburg, Pennsylvania, in 1832, 
died May 16, 1898, son of Jacob and 
Susan (Butz) Freeman. He was early 
educated in the public schools of Free- 
mansburg and Bethlehem, preparing for 
college at Professor Vandeveer's private 
school at Easton, Pennsylvania. For 
three years he studied medicine under the 
guidance of Dr. C. C. Field, of Easton, 
then entered the medical department of 
the University of Pennsylvania, whence 
he was graduated Doctor of Medicine, 
class of 1852. In the latter year he began 
practice in Freemansburg, and there con- 
tinued his work in medicine and surgery 
until his death, a period of forty-six years. 
He was a skillful physician, conducted 
an honorable practice, and was greatly 
beloved. He was a member of the 
Northampton County Medical Society, 
for many years served in official capacity, 
and was held in highest esteem by his 
professional brethren. He married Ma- 
tilda Seip, daughter of Edward Seip, of 
Easton, Pennsylvania. Children : Ed- 
ward Jacob, of whom further ; Mary 
Ellen, married G. W. Bachman ; Walter 
S., M. D., a practicing physician of Phila- 
delphia, married Jane Unangst ; Adelia, 
died in infancy. 

Edward Jacob Freeman, eldest of the 
children of Dr. George W. and Matilda 
(Seip) Freeman, was born in Easton, 
Pennsylvania, December 18, 1851. His 
early education was obtained in the pub- 
lic schools, his preparatory education in 
Swartz Academy, South Bethlehem. He 
then entered Lehigh University, but in 
the middle of his sophomore year left the 
university, and entered the medical de- 
partment of the University of Pennsyl- 

vania, being then eighteen years of age. 
He continued his study at the latter insti- 
tution, took high honors and was gradu- 
ated Doctor of Medicine, class of 1873. 
He at once began practice with his hon- 
ored father in Freemansburg, continuing 
this association until 1877. They both 
continued in practice in Freemansburg 
twenty-one years, practicing separately 
but in closest sympathy. In 1898 both 
retired, the elder doctor being called away 
by the Great Physician, the younger sur- 
rendering his practice to devote himself 
to the management and development of 
the business interests he had acquired. 
Dr. Edward J. Freeman was a member of 
the Northampton Medical Society, was a 
skillful physician and surgeon, had a 
large practice and was wherever known 
highly esteemed professionally and soci- 
ally. Although he is a business man, he 
is brought less in contact with the public, 
he has a large circle of friends to whom 
he will ever be the "Doctor" and family 
friend. He is broad-minded, public- 
spirited, and useful, bearing the kindliest 
feelings toward all, and joining with his 
lifetime friends in all that tends to pro- 
mote the welfare of the community. He 
is a devoted member of the German Re- 
formed Church, an active helpful worker 
in its service. He holds fraternal rela- 
tions with the Knights of Pythias, Hul- 
dah Lodge, No. 364. 

Dr. Freeman married Emily J., daugh- 
ter of John and Eliza (Reigel) Knecht. 
Children : Anna Elizabeth, three having 
died in infancy. The family residence is 
in Freemansburg, where surrounded by 
the many evidences of his ancestors and 
fruits of his years of successful endeavor. 
Dr. Freeman is passing the early autumn 
of a useful honorable life. Anna Eliza- 
beth graduated from Moravian Seminary, 
Bethlehem, and National Park Seminary 
at Forest Glen, Maryland. 



BAIR, Edward Henry, 

Ija-wyer, Man of Affairs. 

The name Bair has been spelled in dif- 
ferent ways, but so far as we can trace 
it back, they all came from the same 
original stock. The ancestor of Edward 
H. Bair came from Switzerland, and set- 
tled in Lancaster county about the year 
1700. He and his children were Swiss 
Mennonites, and were well known in the 

David Bair married (first) Elizabeth 
Bowers, and (second) Sarah Bender. He 
moved from Lancaster to Westmoreland 
county in the early part of the eighteenth 
century. He brought up a large family, 
named, respectively, Isaac, Benjamin, Se- 
bastian, David, Henry N.- H., (mentioned 
below), Jacob, Mattie and Aaron. 

Henry Nicholas Hacke Bair, a son, 
commonly known as H. H. Bair, was born 
February 2, 1825, in Penn township, 
Westmoreland county, and in his youth 
became a carpenter and blacksmith. He 
was decidedly of an inventive turn of 
mind, and, with his brothers, invented 
and manufactured the machine known 
for many years as the tumbling shaft 
threshing machine, which, in the early 
'50s, supplanted the flail and which, at a 
later date, was supplanted by the Mas- 
silon separator. Mr. Bair manufactured 
these machines at Congruity in Salem 
township. He was also the inventor of, 
or at least the first man in this county, to 
manufacture broadcloth covered coffins 
for the burial of the dead. These he made 
out of polar wood by a process of steam- 
ing and bending the sides to the proper 
shape. This invention, though it may 
have been used elsewhere, was primarily 
his own and became a common mode of 
cofifin-making and remained so for per- 
haps half a century. 

The wife of H. H. Bair was Elizabeth 
E. Keener, a daughter of Henry and 

Susan (Uber) Keener, of Hempfield 
township. Susan (Uber) Keener was a 
direct descendant of the Frantz family, 
which was also a pioneer family in West- 
moreland, the name sometimes being 
spelled Francis. This family lived on a 
farm now the home of the Greensburg 
Country Club about two miles northwest 
of Greensburg. The old stone house, the 
family residence, stands a short distance 
south of the country club house, and was 
erected by Mrs. Bair's grandfather, Jacob 
Frantz, great-grandfather to Edward H. 
Bair, in 1796. It is a somewhat peculiar 
incident that Edward H. Bair is now, and 
has been for the past two years, president 
of this country club. 

During the Indian troubles in the lat- 
ter part of the eighteenth century oc- 
curred the murder of the Frantz family, 
and of this the "History of Westmore- 
land County." by Mr. John N. Boucher, 
published in New York in 1906, has the 

The murder of the Francis (Frantz) family 
was one of the most inhuman and barbarous in- 
cidents in border warfare. The family resided 
two miles or more east of Brush Creek. There 
had been no special alarm on account of the 
Indians for some months, and their usual vigi- 
lance was somewhat relaxed. On the day of the 
murder they did not have their cabin door barri- 
caded, and a party of Indians, therefore, very 
easily gained access. Two of the family were 
killed at once and the remaining members were 
taken prisoners. One was a young girl who lived 
to return to the settlement where she married 
and has left descendants in Hempfield Township. 
Her brothers and sisters were divided among 
several tribes represented among the captors. 
Those who were killed were scalped and their 
bodies were found near the ruins of the cabin 
the day following. They were buried in the 
garden, a custom then prevalent among the pio- 
neers and which lasted till regular cemeteries, 
or grave yards, as they were called, were estab- 

It was the great-grandfather of Eliza- 
beth (Keener) Bair, who was murdered by 



the Indians as above mentioned, and it 
was the great-grandmother and her 
daughter who were captured. They were 
taken by the Indians to a point along the 
Monongahela river, near the present site 
of McKeesport. After about six months 
in captivity they escaped and stole their 
way back to the home near the present 
Country Club, northwest of Greensburg. 
Elizabeth (Keener) Bair, the wife of 
Henry Nicholas Hacke Bair, was born in 
1824, and died in 1894 at Congruity, Penn- 

H. H. Bair, the carpenter and black- 
smith, was one of the founders of the 
Trinity Reformed Church at New Salem, 
of which he and his wife were members. 
In politics he was a Democrat. He took 
an active part in the establishment of the 
new public school system in the '50s, and 
for many years served as a member of the 
school board in Salem township. At his 
death on January 11, 1872, he was a can- 
didate for County Commissioner of West- 
moreland county. 

Edward Henry Bair was educated in 
the public schools of Salem township and 
at the New Salem Academy. He relates 
that perhaps through acquaintance and 
sympathy, more than for any other rea- 
son, he was made a teacher at the age of 
sixteen years in Salem township. After 
teaching three years he was elected prin- 
cipal of the New Salem schools, and dur- 
ing three summers, in partnership with 
the late Mr. I. E. Lauiifer, afterwards a 
member of the Westmoreland bar, had 
charge of the New Salem Academy. Mr. 
Bair was elected principal of the Scott- 
dale schools in 1881, and after two years 
of work there he resigned and located in 
Greensburg for the purpose of studying 
law, and during the same time took 
charge of the Ludwick schools. Two 
years later he drifted into the real estate 
and insurance business. He had, in the 
meantime passed the preliminary law ex- 

amination and was registered as a stu- 
dent with a prominent firm of attorneys, 
but owing to the rapid growth of office 
business he abandoned further law 
studies, and since then has been largely 
interested in Greensburg real estate and 
in insurance. 

For twenty-five years Mr. Bair has 
been identified with many enterprises, 
being the prime mover in forming the 
Westmoreland Electric Company, later 
the Greensburg and Southern Street 
Railway ; the Westmoreland Realty Com- 
pany, and the Iron City Land Company. 
He is at present the senior member of the 
firm of Bair & Lane, one of the leading 
real estate and insurance firms of West- 
ern Pennsylvania. He is vice-president 
of the Greensburg Finance Company, a 
director in the Merchants' Trust Com- 
pany, and is largely interested in numer- 
ous other enterprises in Westmoreland 

In religion Mr. Bair is a member of the 
Second Reformed Church of Greensburg, 
and has been a trustee of that church for 
many years. In politics he has kept the 
traditions of his father and is a Democrat. 
He is a member of Westmoreland Lodge, 
No. 518, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Greensburg; Olivet Council, R. S. M., 
No. 13 ; Urania Chapter, R. A. M., 
No. 192 ; Kedron Commandery, No. 18, 
Knights Templar; Ancient and Accepted 
Scottish Rite, Valley of Pittsburgh ; Syria 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine, and the present secre- 
tary of the Greensburg Masonic fund. 

One of Mr. Bair's chief ambitions, in a 
business sense and for the general good, 
is to bring about a consolidation of the 
numerous boroughs surrounding the bor- 
ough of Greensburg, in order that the 
town may become a city, and a leading 
one in Western Pennsylvania for ideal 
homes. He has, also, always taken a 
great interest in the public school system. 



but he is at war with the present high 
school system as carried on in Greens- 
burg and most towns in Pennsylvania. 
He believes that it is the bounden duty 
of the commonwealth to give to each 
boy and girl a sufficient preliminary edu- 
cation to fit them to become good and 
useful citizens, and to give them the rudi- 
ments of an education in the vocations 
which are chosen for their life work. But 
he does not believe that the high schools 
should be preparatory schools for large 
colleges. He believes that a parent who 
intends that his children shall enter the 
professions demanding a complete col- 
lege education, should pay for this ad- 
vanced training, and not secure it through 
the high school, which is kept up largely 
by local taxation, the burden of which is, 
in a great measure, borne by citizens who 
cannot afiford a superior education for 
their children. 

Mr. Bair has not posed as a public 
speaker, but has frequently made ad- 
dresses, and all of them are character- 
ized as direct and concise in their style. 
When on the aggressive it seems to be 
easy for him to completely puncture the 
object aimed at. His address before the 
annual convention of the Merchants' 
Association of Southwestern Pennsyl- 
vania, delivered in Greensburg, Febru- 
ary 22, 191 1, on "Co-Insurance-Fire 
Waste-Legislation," has been printed in 
pamphlet form and is considered a mas- 
terpiece of its kind. 

But though deeply engaged in business 
of various kinds, Mr. Bair is, above all, 
an insurance man, and to that has given 
the best years of his life. He is an author- 
ity on that most important economic sub- 
ject, not only in the courts of our county 
but throughout the State as well. Aside 
from his business engagements, he has 
given much time and thought toward im- 
proving and beautifying the borough of 
Greensburg, his cherished desire being 

that it may become an ideal community 
in which to live. 

Mr. Bair, on October 14, 1885, was 
united in marriage with Esther Mary 
Suydam, of Latrobe, Pennsylvania, a 
daughter of Joseph L. and Mary (White) 
Suydam. Her father, until a short time 
before his death, was superintendent of 
the Wilmington and Delaware railroad, 
and resided at Coatesville, Pennsylvania. 
Mrs. Bair was educated in the schools of 
Coatesville and Latrobe. Their children 
are: Paul Suydam, Kenneth Henry, 
Helen, Edward Hart, Esther and Joseph 

POTTER, WUliam G., 

Enterprising Business Man. 

When considering the various agencies 
to which a town, village, or city owes its 
advancement and development, the im- 
portant part which a responsible real 
estate dealer plays is in no way to be 
neglected. It is in this line of endeavor 
that William G. Potter, of Washington, 
Pennsylvania, has been of inestimable 
value to his city, for through his acute 
business perspicacity much desirable cap- 
ital and many manufacturing interests 
have been attracted to this region. 

He was born in West Finley township, 
Washington county, Pennsylvania, in 
1869, son of William and Margaret 
(Hutchinson) Potter. The family had 
been planted in Pennsylvania in 1810 by 
his grandfather, John Potter, who moved 
there from New Jersey. His father was a 
man who was several years in advance of 
his generation in his social views, and 
advocated earnestly and sincerely the 
abolition of the slave traffic at a time 
when such sentiments were so unpopular 
as to be almost treason. 

William G. Potter obtained his educa- 
tion in the public schools of his native 
county, and later attended the State nor- 



mal school at Edinburg, Erie county, 
Pennsylvania. After his graduation he 
became a school teacher, a profession in 
which he continued for ten years. At the 
end of that time he enlisted in the con- 
tracting and building business in Wash- 
ington, and the experience and informa- 
tion gained while engaged in that busi- 
ness made a sturdy reliable foundation 
for the business he founded five years 
later, when he opened a real estate office. 
As an accompanying interest he also con- 
ducts a general insurance business. In 
politics Mr. Potter makes a firm and une- 
quivocal stand for the lofty principles of 
the Prohibition party, and to show the 
more clearly the implacability of his posi- 
tion, has several times allowed his name 
to be advanced as the candidate of his 
party for public office. 

He and his wife, Sabina E. (Ashbrook) 
Potter, are members of the Second United 
Presbyterian Church and he is now one 
of the trustees of the church. He com- 
mands a high position in the community 
as a successful business man, a good citi- 
zen and a gentleman. 

DETWILER, David S., 

Retired Mannfactnrer, Financier. 

Variously spelled by the Pennsylvania 
branches of the family Detwiler, Det- 
weiler, and Detwiller, these lines are 
American representatives of the Swiss 
family of Datwyler, whose European 
home was in the Canton of Basle, town of 
Langenbruck, where it is found as early 
as 1608 through record mention. Medi- 
cine, finance, and business have been the 
fields in which the talents of the family 
have shown to the best advantage, and 
Dr. Henry Detwiler, who died in Easton, 
Pennsylvania, April 21, 1887, was the pio- 
neer of the Hahnemann school in Amer- 
ica, and at his death "probably the oldest 
practitioner in the world." Business activ- 

ity and management have brought promi- 
nence to the line of David S. Detwiler, of 
Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, which is de- 
scended from Joseph Detwiler, a member 
of the early Swiss family. His family 
lived near the Swiss-German frontier of 
Baden, in Switzerland, and from that 
place, accompanied by his brother, John, 
he came to America, the two brothers be- 
longing to a family of four, the others 
a brother, Samuel, and a sister, Mary. 
From his first home, near Octoraro 
Creek, below Safe Harbor, Lancaster 
county, he moved to Bambridge, on the 
Susquehanna river, below Harrisburg. 

Joseph (2) Detwiler, son of Joseph (i) 
Detwiler, was born at Bambridge, Penn- 
sylvania, in 1789, and died in Hellam 
township, near Wrightsville, York coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania, April 30, 1870. He 
grew to maturity in the place of his birth 
and there resided until 1820, when he 
moved to York county and purchased the 
farm in Hellam township in whose culti- 
vation he passed his remaining years. He 
prospered in his operations, enlarged the 
homestead and built the barn that stands 
at this time, and became the occupant of 
important place in the public life, serving 
as supervisor of Hellam township and as 
county commissioner, always elected to 
office as the candidate of the Democratic 
party. Among the business interests to 
which he gave his time and attention was 
the managership of the Wrightsville Pike, 
an office in which he was succeeded at 
death by his son, David. Joseph (2) Det- 
wiler married, at Bambridge, Pennsyl- 
vania, Susan Garber, her father a success- 
ful farmer, and had children : David, of 
whom further ; Joseph, a wealthy land, 
stone quarry, and lime kiln owner, since 
i860 a director of the Union National 
Bank of Mt. Joy, Pennsylvania; Daniel 
H., a financier and business man, presi- 
dent of the First National Bank of Colum- 
bia (see record in this work) ; Susan ; 



Solomon, deceased, cashier of the First 
National Bank, of Columbia ; Anna, mar- 
ried Abram Hiestand, deceased, a farmer, 
miller, and distiller. 

David Detwiler, eldest son of Joseph 
(2) and Susan (Garber) Detwiler, was 
born in January, 1818, on the Lancaster 
Pike near Columbia, Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania, and died December 13, 
1898. When he was two years of age his 
parents moved to the farm in York coun- 
ty, near Wrightsville, and there he grew 
to manhood, obtaining his education in 
the township schools. He continued as 
his father's farm assistant until the lat- 
ter's death, then succeeded to the man- 
agement, remaining at the homestead un- 
til 1879. David Detwiler also succeeded 
his father as supervisor and manager of 
the Wrightsville turnpike, holding that 
position for twenty-five years. He was 
a Democrat in politics, held the office of 
school director in Hellam township for 
several years, and was a man held in high 
esteem. In 1879 he built the house in 
Wrightsville later occupied by his daugh- 
ter, Anna, and there resided until his 
death. After moving to Wrightsville he 
served as director of the First National 
Bank of that town, but lived a practically 
retired life. He married Sarah Stoner, 
born in Hellam township, York county, 
Pennsylvania, February 6, 1829, died in 
December, 1901. daughter of Henry and 
sister of Emanuel Stoner, of Hellam 
township. Children : Paul, a resident 
of Wrightsville ; Anna, married George 
Graybill ; David Stoner, of further men- 
tion ; Ella K., married Dr. George A. Reb- 
man, of Wrightsville, whom she survives. 

David Stoner Detwiler, second son and 
third child of David and Sarah (Stoner) 
Detwiler, was born on the homestead 
farm near Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, 
January 11, 1856. He grew to manhood 
at the homestead, his father's assistant 
and a student until his nineteenth year. 

He obtained his education in the town- 
ship schools, finishing his studies at Mil- 
lersville State Normal School, attending 
the latter institution during the school 
terms of 1874-75. After leaving the nor- 
mal he returned to the farm, remaining 
there four years. In 1881 he began busi- 
ness in Wrightsville as a dealer in leaf 
tobacco and manufacturer of cigars, con- 
tinuing most successfully for twenty-five 
years. His purchase of leaf tobacco ex- 
ceeded $50,000 annually, and the annual 
output of his factory for many years was 
four million cigars. He took his father's 
place on the board of directors of the First 
National Bank, and acquired other busi- 
ness interests of importance in the town. 
In 1906, after rounding out a successful 
quarter of a century as a manufacturer, 
he retired from business, only retaining 
interest in his fine farm of one hundred 
and ten acres in Hellam township, chiefly 
devoted to dairy farming. 

Mr. Detwiler cast his first presidential 
vote for Samuel J. Tilden, the Democratic 
candidate for president in 1876. He was 
elected chief burgess of Wrightsville on 
the Democratic ticket and gave the bor- 
ough an efficient business administration, 
his term expiring in March, 1903. During 
his active years he was prominent in all 
departments of Wrightsville interests, 
and bore his full share in all that per- 
tained to the borough's development. He 
was the wise executive head of his own 
business and to public affairs he gave the 
same careful attention. He held the high 
regard of his fellowmen and was rightly 
rated one of the leading citizens of the 
borough. Although now retired and no 
longer in the public eye, he retains all of 
his old-time interest and spirit and is the 
trusted friend and adviser of those on 
whom the burden of affairs has fallen. 

Mr. Detwiler married, October 12, 1886 
Matilda G., daughter of William H. and 
Eliza (Beaverson) Kerr, of Wrightsville. 



Children: Helen B., married William J. 
Wilson, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 
and has a son, Edward Detwiler Wilson ; 
Reba May, residing with her parents at 

ELKIN, William F., 

Postal 0£acial. 

William F. Elkin, postmaster of the 
town of Jeannette, Westmoreland county, 
Pennsylvania, is a man of strict integrity, 
careful and industrious habits, and one 
who stands high in the esteem of his fel- 
lowmen. He is a descendant of an honor- 
able ancestry in Ireland, who were for 
the most part engaged in agriculture. 

William Elkin, his father, was born in 
Ireland, and emigrated to America in 
1867, and located at Newburgh, New 
York, where he lived for a time. From 
there he removed to Pittsburgh, Pennsyl- 
vania, where he worked as a puddler in an 
iron plant until 1888, then established 
himself in the hotel business in Pitts- 
burgh, continued this two years, then 
removed to Jeannette, Westmoreland 
county. He opened a hotel in this town, 
and conducted it successfully until his 
death. He gave his political support to 
the Republican party, and was a member 
of the Episcopal church. He married 
Elizabeth Elkin, and they became the 
parents of twelve children, of whom six 
are living at the present time. 

William F. Elkin, son of William and 
Elizabeth (Elkin) Elkin, was born in the 
city of Pittsburgh, December 17, 1878. 
He acquired his preparatory education in 
the public schools of his native city, then 
became a student at the Indiana State 
Normal School, from which he was grad- 
uated in the class of 1898. He then 
joined a military company of the Pennsyl- 
vania Volunteers, and was in service for 
a period of six months. Having been ap- 
pointed to a clerkship in the office of the 

attorney-general at Harrisburg, Pennsyl- 
vania, he filled this office very capably for 
three years, then became bookkeeper at 
a glass plant at Moosic, Lackawanna 
county, Pennsylvania, and after a time 
was promoted to the responsible position 
of manager of the plant, the duties of 
which office he discharged efficiently for 
four years. He next opened a hotel at 
Moosic, which he conducted personally 
four years, when he removed to Jeannette, 
in which town he has been a prominent 
resident since that time. He received his 
appointment as postmaster under the Taft 
administration, and so excellent has been 
his management of this office, that he is 
still retaining the position, although the 
political party in power has changed in 
the meantime. He has always given his 
active support to the Republican party, 
and has been a consistent member of the 
Episcopal church. Fraternally he is a 
member of the Junior Order of United 
American Mechanics and the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. Mr. Elkin 
married Hannah Lynn. 

GARVIN, Milton Thomas, 

Merchant, Man of Affairs. 

Milton Thomas Garvin, dry goods mer- 
chant of Lancaster, was born August 
14, i860, in Fulton township, Lancaster 

His father was Milton Young Garvin, 
a son of Thomas and Tobitha (Brown) 
Garvin, whose paternal ancestors came 
from the north of Ireland and settled in 
Delaware in 1745. His father's maternal 
ancestors, the Brown family, came to 
Pennsylvania with William Penn, even- 
tually settling in Chester county with a 
colony of Friends or Quakers and it was 
there that Thomas Garvin and Tobitha 
Brown were married and moved to Cecil 
county, Maryland, where their children 
were born and reared. The mother of 



Milton Thomas Garvin was Hannah Re- 
becca Hannum, a daughter of Malcaijah 
and Ellen (Reynolds) Hannum. The 
Hannums were Welsh Quakers and the 
Reynolds were English Quakers and had 
settled in Pennsylvania about the middle 
of the eighteenth century and all followed 
the vocation of farming. The subject of 
this sketch was early left without pater- 
nal care, as his father died in West Vir- 
ginia at an early age, leaving his son to 
be brought up among relatives. Mr. Gar- 
vin spent his boyhood days with his fath- 
er's sister, Elizabeth Garvin Dunn, on a 
farm in Cecil county, Maryland. At the 
age of thirteen his uncle having died, he 
came to Lancaster City to live with his 
mother, who was now married to William 
J. Baer. A few months later, in 1874, at 
the age of fourteen years, he entered the 
dry goods store of R. E. Fahnestock as 
errand boy and two years later was pro- 
moted to be salesman. In 1882 through 
physical infirmities, Mr. Fahnestock was 
obliged to have someone of his employees 
to manage his business and assume its 
cares and the selection fell upon Mr. Gar- 
vin, who had just passed his majority. 
Appreciating the responsibility, he took 
vigorous hold and managed this business 
successfully for twelve years. 

In 1886, Mr. Garvin married Catherine. 
the widow of Abijah D. Gyger, and a 
daughter of Anthony and Catherine (Mc- 
Laughlin) Lechler, who was born at 
Paradise, this county, where her father 
was a well known and popular hotel 
keeper. From this union there has been 
no children. 

In 1894, on account of physical infirmi- 
ties. Mr. Fahnestock retired from busi- 
ness and Mr. Garvin succeeded him. On 
March 5th, of that year, under the name 
of M. T. Garvin & Company, he began 
his new business career with modern and 
up-to-date principles and methods. The 
business then was located in 35 and 37 

East King street, fi^rst floor, the second 
and third floors of the main building be- 
ing used as offices. In a very few years 
these offices were absorbed and remod- 
eled into the store and the building other- 
wise enlarged. Then the second and third 
floors of 31 and 33 East King street ad- 
joining were secured and finally in 191 1 
a new building on this site four stories 
high and 250 feet deep was erected and 
occupied. In 1915 the building at 29 East 
King street was also absorbed, making 
three entire buildings devoted to this rap- 
idly increasing business. The force of 
twelve clerks and employees which was 
sufficient in 1894 now numbers about 
150, which number is much increased in 
busy seasons. Mr. Garvin is deeply inter- 
ested in the welfare of his employees and 
has adopted many progressive ideas for 
their general welfare, education and de- 

All movements for the general good of 
the community have Mr. Garvin's interest 
and he is allied with many of its institu- 
tions. He is a trustee of both the A. Herr 
Smith and Mechanics libraries; president 
of the board of trustees of the Shippen 
School for Girls ; trustee of the Mead- 
ville Theological Seminary, at Meadville, 
Pennsylvania ; director and ex-president 
of the Chamber of Commerce ; director of 
the Lancaster Development Company ; 
director of the Lancaster General Hos- 
pital and the Lancaster Charity Society ; 
a member of the Humane Society, Chil- 
dren's Aid Society, Historical Society and 
other kindred organizations. Religiously, 
Mr. Garvin is a Liberal and a member of 
the Church of Our Father, Unitarian, of 
Lancaster, and has been chairman of its 
board of trustees ever since its founda- 
tion in 1902. He is president of the Jo- 
seph Priestley Conference of Unitarian 
Churches and a vice-president of the Uni- 
tarian Laymen's League of America, of 
which ex-President Taft is president, and 



' 'WWMWff^'^'^^" 

1><i--<^-^^-^^^ e/^^ 



a trustee of the People's Octoraro Meet- 
ing House of Cecil county, Maryland, for- 
merly a Friends Meeting House, where 
his grandparents are buried. He is also 
a member of the American Society of 
Psychical Research and of the Pennsyl- 
vania Society of New York. 

Tempermentally and politically, Mr. 
Garvin is a Democrat, but without parti- 
san bitterness. He has an abiding faith 
in the ability of mankind to work out its 
political, social and economic salvation 
and favors an ever increasing measure of 
democracy for all people to this end. In 
1906, Mr. Garvin was candidate for mayor 
on the platform that Lancaster City 
should own its own filter plant, and while 
Lancaster has a large Republican major- 
ity, the returns showed he lacked but 73 
votes of being elected. 

Mr. Garvin has traveled quite exten- 
sively in America and has visited Europe 
four times, making a study of its history, 
its art and its architecture and also the 
government of its cities. His interests 
are many and cover every movement 
which makes for the progress of mankind. 

REYNOLDS, George Nelson, 

Insurance Actuary, Enterprising Citizen. 

In the person of George Nelson Rey- 
nolds the ancient New England family of 
Reynolds is represented in the business 
world of Lancaster, Pennsylvania, the 
course of his career having taken him 
from the home of his birth and of his 
ancestors to New York and thence 
throughout the west, finally to Lancas- 
ter. In this city Mr. Reynolds has 
.attained a position of prominence and 
importance, participating not only in the 
business but likewise in many forms of 
public life, and is identified with many 
of the organizations and institutions of 
the city that cherish its welfare and ad- 

His family, which occupies a worthy 
place in New England history, was there 
founded in 1636 by Robert Reynolds, a 
native of England, who in that year set- 
tled in Boston, Massachusetts, where his 
death occurred April 27, 1G69. The line 
to George Nelson Reynolds is through 
his son. Captain Nathaniel, born in Eng- 
land, who accompanied his father to 
America. During the King Philip's War 
he held the rank of captain in the colonial 
forces, and in 1675-76 was in command 
of the garrison at Chelmsford, Massachu- 
setts. In 1658 he was made a member 
of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery 
of Boston, and was one of the founders 
of Bristol, Rhode Island, where his death 
occurred July 10, 1708. 

Nathaniel, eldest son of Captain Na- 
thaniel Reynolds, was born in Boston, 
Massachusetts, March 3, 1662, his home 
for a long time being at the corner of 
Milk and Washington streets, Boston, 
and he died in Marblehead, Massachu- 

Nathaniel (3), son of Nathaniel (2) 
Reynolds, was born in Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, January 14, 1693, and there died 
in 1740. He married, in 1712, Mary Snell, 
daughter of Thomas Snell, who came 
from England to Massachusetts. 

Nathaniel (4), son of Nathaniel (3) 
Reynolds, was born in Boston, March 19, 
1718, and died in Vassalboro, Maine, in 
1807. He was for a time a resident of 
Bridgewater, Massachusetts, where he 
was the first justice of the peace, and mar- 
ried Hannah, daughter of Samuel Hart- 
well, having issue. 

Philip, son of Nathaniel (4) Reynolds, 
was born in North Bridgewater, Massa- 
chusetts, September 19, 1740, and died in 
January, 1775. He was a private in Cap- 
tain Dunbar's company at the. time of the 
expedition to Crown Point during the 
French and Indian W^ar. Philip Reynolds 



married, October 29, 1765, Hannah, 
daughter of David Packard. 

William, son of Philip Reynolds, was 
born in North Bridgewater, Massachu- 
setts, June 23, 1767, and died in Winthrop, 
Maine, in 1854. He married, November 
3, 1791, Martha Snell, daughter of Cap- 
tain Zebedee Snell, who served in Colonel 
Mitchell's regiment in the War for Inde- 

Nathan, son of William Reynolds, was 
born in North Bridgewater, Massachu- 
setts, in 1796, and died in Lewiston, 
Maine, October 24, 1859. He was the 
principal founder of the Lewiston Falls 
Academy, and a man of influence and 
importance in his community. He mar- 
ried, November 10, 181 5, Betsey Briggs, 
of an old Massachusetts family, number- 
ing among her ancestors Governor Wil- 
liam Bradford and Elder William Brew- 

Major Nelson Briggs Reynolds, son of 
Nathan Reynolds, was born in Lewiston, 
Maine, May 16, 1819, and died in Auburn, 
Maine, February 6, 1898. He prospered 
in the mercantile operations that were 
his lifelong pursuit, and was the first 
postmaster of Lewiston, Maine, appoint- 
ed to that office by President James K. 
Polk. A lifelong Democrat, he was for 
many years a member of the State Cen- 
tral Committee, and always an enthusi- 
astic supporter and wise adviser of his 
party. He afiiliated with the Congrega- 
tional church. Major Nelson Briggs Rey- 
nolds married, November 28, 1839, Har- 
riet Andrews Chase, who belonged to a 
New England family that was founded 
in America by Aquila Chase but nine 
years after the arrival of Robert Rey- 
nolds. Aquila Chase, the founder, who 
came to Hampton, New Hampshire, in 
1639, was born in 1618, son of Aquila, 
born August 14, 1580, grandson of Rich- 
ard, born April 16, 1654, and great- 
grandson of Thomas Chase, of Hundrich, 

parish of Chesham, England. Aquila 
Chase, the American ancestor, died in 
Newbury, Massachusetts, December 27, 
1670, his line descending through Aquila, 
born September 6, 1652, died July 29, 
1720; Joseph, born November 25, 1677; 
Rev. Stephen, born October 26, 1705, 
died in January, 1778. He was gradu- 
ated from Harvard College in 1728, and 
married Jane Wingate, daughter of Colo- 
nel Joshua Wingate, of Hampton, New 
Hampshire, who commanded a company 
at the siege of Louisburg in 1745 ; John 
Wingate, born August 14, 1749, died in 
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, in No- 
vember, 1791, married Abigail Tappan ; 
Captain Benjamin Tappan, born Febru- 
ary 20, 1786, a sea captain, died at sea, 
a victim of yellow fever, April 3, 1821. 
He commanded a company in the War of 
1812, and married, September 29, 1814, 
Hannah Andrews, of Bridgeton, Maine, 
daughter of Samuel Andrews, grand- 
daughter of Samuel Andrews and his 
wife, Elizabeth Emerson, her grand- 
father a corporal in Captain James An- 
drews' Company, Colonel Thacher's 
Massachusetts Regiment, in the expedi- 
tion to Crown Point in 1755, dying in the 
army hospital at Albany, New York, in 
1757. Hannah Andrews was a descend- 
ant of Major Thomas Leonard, born in 
England in 1641, who settled in Taun- 
ton, Massachusetts, where he died De- 
cember I, 1713, the first iron manufac- 
turer in New England and a descendant 
of Thomas Leonard, Earl of Sussex in 
England, and Sir Roger Finnes, of Eng- 
land. Major Thomas Leonard married, 
August 21, 1662, Mary Watson, of Ply- 
mouth, Massachusetts, daughter of 
George Watson and Phoebe Hicks, who 
numbered among her ancestors Sir Ellis 
Hicks, who was knighted by the Black 
Prince on the battlefield of Poitiers in 
1356. Harriet Andrews Chase, wife of 
Major Nelson Briggs Reynolds, was a 



daughter of Captain Benjamin Tappan 
and Hannah (Andrews) Chase, and was 
born in Portland, Maine. 

George Nelson Reynolds, of the tenth 
American generation of his family, eld- 
est son of the seven children of Major 
Nelson Briggs and Harriet Andrews 
(Chase) Reynolds, was born in Lewiston, 
Maine, October 30, 1842. As a youth he 
attended the academy founded by his 
grandfather, Lewiston Falls Academy, 
and was graduated from this institution 
in 1S59. Determining upon an active 
business career, he at once sought 
broader fields than those offered at home, 
and became employed in the New York 
establishment maintained by Stone, 
Bowman & Bliss. Milwaukee, Wiscon- 
sin, was his next place of business, and 
in that city he formed an association 
with the Manhattan Life Insurance Com- 
pany, of New York, representing this 
concern at dififerent points throughout 
the West for a period of five years. At 
the end of this time he resigned from 
the service of the Manhattan Life Insur- 
ance Company and became connected 
with the Union Mutual Life Insurance 
Company, of Boston, going to Philadel- 
phia in the interests of that company. 
Since October 10, 1889, he has been offi- 
cially connected with the Northwestern 
Mutual Life Insurance Company of Mil- 
waukee, Wisconsin, soon after that date 
moving to Lancaster, Pennsylvania. His 
capacity in the employ of the Northwest- 
ern Company is that of general agent, and 
he has been a leader in insurance circles 
in Lancaster since taking up his residence 
in this city. Other business interests 
have also claimed his attention largely, 
and in addition to these have come the 
many social, fraternal, religious, and civic 
duties that compose the activities of the 
useful, energetic citizen. For nine years 
he held a place upon the Lancaster school 
board, was for two years president of the 

Young Men's Democratic Club, is direc- 
tor and secretary of the Hamilton Club, 
and was at one time widely named for 
the office of mayor of the city. He is a 
trustee and secretary of the Yeates In- 
stitute, and trustee of the Bishopthorpe 
School for Girls. His fraternal affiliations 
are with the Masonic order, and in this 
he holds the thirty-second degree. An- 
cient Accepted Scottish Rite, his lodge 
No. 13, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Milwaukee. Mr. Reynolds is a member 
of the Pennsylvania Society of New York, 
the New England Society of Philadel- 
phia, since 1899 of the Society of Colonial 
Wars of New York, and of the Mayflower 
Descendants Society, of Philadelphia. He 
is a communicant of St. James Protestant 
Episcopal Church, of which he has for 
many years been a vestryman, now also 
holding the office of junior warden. With 
many of the activities of the church in the 
city and the diocese he is intimately re- 
lated, and is treasurer of the board of 
missions for the diocese of Harrisburg, 
a member of the board on general foreign 
and domestic missions, and was once a 
trustee of the Christmas Fund of the 
Diocese of Central Pennsylvania, a fund 
devoted to the maintenance of aged 
clergymen of the Protestant Episcopal 
church. He has attended the last three 
General Conventions of the church as 

Mr. Reynolds is president of the Lan- 
caster and Susquehanna Turnpike Com- 
pany, and of the Elmlawn Cemetery As- 
sociation, of Buffalo, New York. His 
record is one of business achievement of 
high order, and his progressive public 
spiritedness has prompted service to the 
city and its institutions that do credit to 
his citizenship. To his work in relation 
to the religious denomination with which 
he is identified he has addressed himself 
with sincere consecration, yet bringing 
to his problems in financial matters the 

PEN-VoI VI-14 



wise, reliable judgment that has marked 
his business career with success. His 
worth and merit are recognized by his 
associates in the city of his adoption, and 
universal popularity and respect are his. 
George Nelson Reynolds married, No- 
vember 7, 1865, Helen, daughter of Theo- 
dore and Louise Henderson Monroe 
(Board) Koues, paternally descended 
from Governors Winthrop and Dudley of 
Massachusetts, and maternally from New 
York Dutch and Huguenot ancestry. 
Children of Mr. and Mrs. Reynolds : Mary 
Leaycraft, born in New York, deceased ; 
Nelson Bradford, born in Milwaukee, 
Wisconsin, deceased ; Louise Bogert, 
born in Philadelphia, married Benjamin 
F. Fisher, of that city; George Koues, 
born in Philadelphia, October i, 1875, 
married to Lillian McFalls ; Frank Win- 
throp, born in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, 
July 28, 1882. 

Be FREES, Joseph Hutton, 

Frominent Business Man. 

Called from a business career active 
and successful to membership in the As- 
sembly of the State of Pennsylvania, 
Joseph Hutton DeFrees, of Warren, 
Pennsylvania, is in no application of the 
word a politician. His nomination as the 
candidate of the Washington party in 
1912 and his subsequent election were 
honors that came to him unsolicited, his 
recommendation to his party for this 
choice having been a reputation for fair 
dealing in his business life. 

Joseph Hutton DeFrees was born in 
Mead township. Warren county, Penn- 
sylvania, November 25, 1874, son of Wil- 
liam S. and Maria Sill (Rogers) De Frees, 
his father a native of Ohio, his mother 
born in Pennsylvania. 

Joseph Hutton DeFrees was educated 
in the public schools of Bellefontaine, 
Ohio, there graduating from the high 

school, and in the medical department of 
the University of Pennsylvania, in which 
he was a student for three years. His 
studies completed, he in young manhood 
became associated with an uncle, B. W. 
Rogers, a lumber manufacturer. Since 
that time this business has been con- 
ducted as the Rogers Lumber Company. 
Mr. DeFrees has been identified with 
numerous other business enterprises, and 
at the present time is vice-president of 
the Pennsylvania Metal Culvert Com- 
pany. His standing among his business 
associates in Warren is testified by his 
presidency of the Chamber of Commerce 
of the city, an organization at once strong 
and useful in the promotion of the city's 
industrial welfare. He is a citizen re- 
spected and universally well-regarded, 
his record, private or public, business or 
political, reflecting upon him credit as a 
gentleman of high principle. 

He married, October 28, 1902, Anne 
Isabel, daughter of C. W. Stone (de- 
ceased), ex-Lieutenant Governor of Penn- 
sylvania. Mrs. DeFrees is a woman of 
broad culture and wide education, and 
the mother of Joseph H., Jr., born Sep- 
tember I, 1905; Charles Warren Stone, 
born April 3, 1908; Anne, born September 
19, 191 1 ; June, born June 11, 1914. 

BROBST, James C, M. D., 

Physician, Enterprising Citizen. 

Professional attainment, worthy and 
honorable as it was, by no means relates 
the story of the activity and achievement 
of Dr. James C. Brobst, of Lititz, Penn- 
sylvania, for prominent as was the posi- 
tion to which he rose in the practice of 
medicine he yet gave largely of his time 
and service to non-professional enter- 
prises and interests. Political affairs al- 
ways held an attraction for him, and he 
long occupied place in the councils of the 
Republican party in Lancaster county, 




while in the fraternal, religious, educa- 
tional, and business life of his community 
he played an important part. Just as the 
actual activity of Dr. Brobst could be 
confined to no one field so did his in- 
fluence extend throughout all channels of 
the community life and in all ways he 
stood for the best in citizenship and in 
civil life. 

In the arrival of Philip Brobst and his 
wife Cerine from Germany in 1720 and 
their settlement in Albany township, 
Berks county, Pennsylvania, there was 
founded in the United States the line of 
which Dr. James C. Brobst was a mem- 
ber. Philip Brobst was a potter by trade, 
in his new home following agriculture as 
his occupation, and was the father of 
three sons, Martin, Michael, and Valen- 
tine. All were members of the Lutheran 
church, and the church records of the 
locality have the following entry: "In 
1740 Parson Muhlenberg gave them a 
small tract of land on which the three 
brothers, with the assistance of some new 
settlers, built a church and school house 
which is occupied from that day to this 
for the worship of God, by the name of 
'Allimimgle Church.' " 

Valentine, son of Philip and Cerine 
Brobst, came with his parents from the 
homeland. He studied for the medical 
profession, and made his home for a time 
in Baltimore, Maryland, where he was 
one of the founders of Baltimore Col- 
lege. Among his sons were Valentine 
and Martin. 

Valentine (2), son of Dr. Valentine 
Brobst, was born in Albany township, 
Berks county, Pennsylvania. He was 
for a time a farmer, subsequently enter- 
ing the profession of his father, and, after 
moving to Reading, Pennsylvania, be- 
came proprietor of a hotel. He prospered 
in business, and was one of the largest 
landowners in the county, among his 

holdings being coal lands of great value 
in Schuylkill and Northumberland coun- 
ties. He is buried in the burial ground 
of Trinity Lutheran Church, of which he 
was a member. He and his wife, a Miss 
Leavy, were the parents of Christian, 
of whom further, Elizabeth, Mary, Cath- 
arine, Margaret, Diana, Sophia, and Mag- 

Christian, son of Valentine (2) Brobst, 
was born in Albany township, Berks 
county, Pennsylvania, November 29, 
1787. After reaching man's estate he en- 
gaged in farming until 1814, in which 
year he moved to Rehrersburg, Pennsyl- 
vania, there becoming proprietor of the 
well known hostelry, "Brobst House." 
His death occurred December 14, 1828, 
and he is buried in the Lutheran Ceme- 
tery. He married a Miss Kreider and 
had children : Valentine, of whom fur- 
ther, Michael, Henry, William, John, and 

Valentine (3), son of Christian Brobst, 
was born at Reading, Pennsylvania, Jan- 
uary 31, 1809, and in his youth availed 
himself of his opportunities and secured 
an excellently thorough education. He 
became a hat manufacturer at Rehrers- 
burg, and was also for a quarter of a 
century proprietor of the "Brobst 
House," which his father had managed 
and owned before him. Prior to the ap- 
pearance of Lincoln in public life he was 
a Democrat, but supported Lincoln's be- 
liefs and policies and from that time was 
a Republican. He represented his dis- 
trict in the House of Representatives, was 
postmaster of Rehrersburg, and was also 
justice of the peace. His church was the 
Lutheran. Valentine Brobst was a suc- 
cessful business man, faithful in the dis- 
charge of his public duties, and was 
highly regarded by his fellows. He mar- 
ried, in 1832, Mary, daughter of Peter 
Miller, of Hamburg, Berks county, and 



had children: Edward, M. D., John A., 
M. D., Sally, James C, M. D., of whom 
further, and Mary E. 

Dr. James C. Brobst, youngest of the 
three sons of Valentine and Mary (Mil- 
ler) Brobst, fourth of their five children, 
and third of their sons to adopt the medi- 
cal profession, was born in Rehrersburg, 
Pennsylvania, August i8, 1844, and died 
February 15, 1915, at Lititz, Pennsyl- 
vania. His classical education was ob- 
tained in the Myerstown Palatinate Col- 
lege and Franklin and Marshall College, 
and he was graduated from the latter in- 
stitution with the highest class honors in 
1861, delivering the valedictory address. 
He at once began professional study un- 
der the preceptorship of his brother, Dr. 
John A. Brobst, of Bernville, Berks 
county, here preparing for entrance to 
the medical department of the University 
of Pennsylvania. Completing his course 
at the university, he was graduated in 
the class of 1865, during the course of 
his studies in this institution serving as 
assistant surgeon of the Forty-sixth Regi- 
ment Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, 
receiving an honorable discharge at the 
end of the war. After professional study 
in Bellevue Hospital Medical College, of 
New York, whence he was graduated in 
1867, Dr. Brobst began the practice of 
his profession at Leesport, Berks county, 
and ever afterward was active in medical 
work. Dr. Brobst remained in Leesport 
for three years, for the following five 
years was located at Mohrsville, Penn- 
sylvania, and from September 14, 1873, 
was closely identified with the medical 
profession of Lancaster county, on that 
date taking up his residence in Lititz, 
Pennsylvania, where he lived until his 

Dr. Brobst's professional standing was 
of the highest, the forty-two years of his 
labors in Lancaster county productive of 
great good and benefit. He was a mem- 

ber of the Lancaster County Medical So- 
ciety and the Pennsylvania State Medical 
Association, and was the founder and to 
the time of his death conducted the Lititz 
Spring Sanitarium. His associations 
with the institutions and organizations 
of the county were many, and in his earl- 
ier years were even more numerous. For 
twelve years he was president of the 
Lititz Electric Light Company, of which 
he was an organizer, for ten years he was 
director of the Womelsdorf Water Com- 
pany, was intimately connected with the 
Lancaster County Fair Association, of 
which he was director and for three years 
president, was director of the Schuylkill 
Valley Railroad, was president of the In- 
land Chemical Company of Lititz, manu- 
facturers of proprietary medicines, direc- 
tor of the Lititz and Lancaster Turnpike 
Company, and president of the Lititz 
Lithographing Company. For many years 
he was the well known proprietor of a 
drug store in Lititz, and in that locality 
had real estate holdings of large value. 
His political party was the Republican, 
and as the candidate of this party he was 
elected to the office of burgess of Lititz. 
Party conventions in the State and county 
were attended by him as delegate, and 
his political influence was ever used in 
favor of the Republican organization. In 
religion he was a believer in the Moravian 
faith, interested in the educational work 
of that church as member of the Mora- 
vian School Association and as trustee of 
Linden Hall Seminary. He fraternized 
with the Masonic order, and belonged tc^ 
the Lancaster County Historical Society. 
Dr. Brobst, as may be readily seen from 
the foregoing brief outline of his career, 
was a gentleman of broad interests, and 
in each of his relations to his town and 
county bore his full share of burden and 
responsibility. Local charities found in 
him a generous friend, and his sympathy 
and support were granted all projects 



promising the g-ood of his fellows. Much 
of usefulness and helpfulness came from 
him in the course of his long union with 
Lancaster county interests, and his re- 
ward was in the regard, respect, and con- 
fidence of all who knew him. 

Dr. James C. Brobst married, in 1868, 
Emma E. Mohr, daughter of Isaac H. 
Mohr, of Mohrsville, Berks county, Penn- 
sylvania, member of the family from 
whom the town derived its name, and 
had children: Helen, married Benjamin 
F. Grosh, deputy treasurer of Lancaster 
county, and Valentine, educated at 
Schuylkill Seminary, Franklin and Mar- 
shall Academy, and Medico-Chirurgical 
College of Philadelphia. 

Benjamin F. Grosh was born in Milton 
Grove, Pennsylvania, December 12, 1880, 
son of Frank B. Grosh and grandson of 
Benjamin Grosh. His grandfather was 
the founder of the village of Centerville, 
now Milton Grove, Pennsylvania, and 
was well known in that locality, pro- 
prietor of a general store and active in all 
of the town's business enterprises. His 
son, Frank B. Grosh, was the first post- 
master of Milton Grove, Pennsylvania, 
like his father proprietor of a general 
store, and for thirty-five years was justice 
of the peace. All of his acquaintances for 
miles around the countryside knew him 
only by the familiar title of "Squire." He 
married Anna Brenneman. 

Benjamin F. Grosh, son of Frank B. 
and Anna (Brenneman) Grosh, was edu- 
caetd in the schools of his birthplace and 
in the Lancaster Business College, his 
active career beginning when he was a 
youth of sixteen years. At this time he 
accepted a position in the office of the 
"Elizabethtown Chronicle," there re- 
maining for three years, after which he 
came to Lancaster. In that city he con- 
tinued his connection with journalism, 
joining the office force of the "Lancaster 
Enquirer," under the supervision of 

Major Elwood Griest, and one year 
later formed a connection with the "Lan- 
caster New Era." With this last paper 
he was for three years in the job depart- 
ment, afterward being employed for six 
months on the Altoona, Pennsylvania, 
"Mirror," as printer. Mr. Grosh returned 
to Lancaster at the end of this time, and 
until December, 1904, was employed on 
the paper with which he was formerly 
associated, the "Lancaster New Era." At 
this date he became a clerk in the office 
of the county recorder, in May, 1906, re- 
ceiving the appointment as deputy county 
treasurer. He has been reappointed for 
each following term, and is the present 
incumbent of the office, filling his posi- 
tion with faithful competence. In con- 
nection with his official duties, Mr. Grosh 
serves as director and treasurer of the 
Lititz Lithographing Company. 

ROBBINS, Edward Everett, 

liaipyer, Congressman, Soldier. 

Hon. Edward Everett Robbins, of 
Greensburg, Pennsylvania, a prominent 
lawyer, statesman, and army officer in the 
Spanish-American War, traces his ances- 
try to the earliest Colonial times. 

Richard Robbins, the emigrant ances- 
tor, came from England in 1630, self-ex- 
patriated because of his opposition to the 
restoration of the monarchy under 
Charles II., and so conspicuous that he 
was obliged to come under an assumed 
name and in the guise of a servant. He 
settled at Cambridge, Massachusetts, and 
became active in public afifairs. 

Samuel Robbins, son of Richard Rob- 
bins, served in King Philip's War, and 
received a grant of land in Voluntown. 

Brintnel Robbins. great-grandson of 
Samuel Robbins, was one of the most en- 
terprising men of his day. He was born 
in 1756, died in 1836. He served in the 



Connecticut Line in the Revolutionary 
War four years, participated in numerous 
battles, and was commissioned ensign. 
During the War of 1812 he built vessels 
on Lake Erie for Commodore Perry, but 
only received payment after prolonged 
litigation. Before 1790 he located at 
Connellsville, Pennsylvania, and worked 
iron ore in the Turnbull Furnace. Sub- 
sequently he purchased a farm at Port 
Royal, and built a flour mill at Long Run. 
In 1790 he bought, from the State of 
Pennsylvania, a large tract of land on 
the Youghiogheny river, which is still in 
the possession of his descendants. In 
1812 he removed to Pittsburgh, where he 
became an extensive ship builder and coal 
operator. In 1813 he built two schooners 
which, loaded with flour and cheese for 
the West Indies, were remanned at New 
Orleans with Spanish sailors and never 
afterward heard from. During the latter 
part of his life he resided at Greensburg, 
Pennsylvania, where he died August 25, 
1836, and was buried in the "Old Harrold 
Cemetery," near that city. 

Joseph Robbins, son of William Rob- 
bins and grandson of Brintnel Robbins, 
was born at Robbins Station, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1824, died July 12, 1912. He 
was the pioneer coal operator in Yough- 
iogheny district, opening an extensive 
mine at Osceola in 1848. He was active 
in public affairs, served as school direc- 
tor twelve years, was a Republican, and 
a delegate to various conventions. In 
religious belief he was a Presbyterian. 
He married (first) Rachel G. Gordon 
Robbins, who died in 1865; he married 
(second) Margaret Christy. He had 
seven children. 

Hon. Edward Everett Robbins, eldest 
child of Joseph and Rachel G. Gordon 
(Robbins) Robbins, was born at Robbins 
Station, Westmoreland county, Pennsyl- 
vania, September 27, 1861. He attended 
the public schools of that section, and 

was then a student at Elder's Ridge 
Academy and Indiana Normal, Pennsyl- 
vania, from whence he went to Wash- 
ington and Jefferson College, and was 
graduated from this institution in 1881 
with the degree of Bachelor of Arts, be- 
ing sixth in a class of thirty-six. He 
took up his professional studies in the 
Law Department of Columbia Univer- 
sity, New York City, was graduated in 
1884 with the degree of Bachelor of Laws, 
and in the same year was admitted to the 
bar of Westmoreland county. He im- 
mediately became active in his profes- 
sion and also in public life. In 1885 he 
was nominated for the office of district 
attorney. In 1888 he was elected a mem- 
ber of the State Senate and served with 
efficiency until 1892. He was the prime 
mover in three important acts of legis- 
lation — the bill appropriating five thous- 
and dollars to the Children's Aid Society, 
thus securing the present home of this 
beneficent institution, this being the first 
State aid for any purpose secured by the 
people of Westmoreland county; the bill 
for providing free text books in the pub- 
lic schools ; and the law for the equaliza- 
tion of taxation. He was also chairman 
of the Senate Judiciary Committee. He 
was elected a member of the Fifty-fifth 
Congress in 1898 and served until 1900. 
During the Fifty-fifth Congress while 
the Dingley Tariff Bill was under con- 
sideration, Mr. Robbins appeared before 
the Committee of the Whole and address- 
ed it with much earnestness in behalf of 
a protective tarifl^, with special reference 
to the coal, iron and glass schedules. He 
introduced a bill regulating slack water 
in the Allegheny and Youghiogheny 
rivers. He visited Cuba in 1897 and was 
one of the Congressmen who maintained 
that the United States government should 
take steps to put an end to Spanish rule 
in Cuba and adjoining islands and the 
territory formerly occupied by Spain, 


tl^^^^l^^^ L6:^^-^<z>6/i^-z^y^^:^ 


which was the direct means of bringing interests of a large and important clien- 


on the war with that country. His in- 
terest in behalf of Cuban independence 
and his speeches in advocacy thereof 
were able and brilliant, and based upon 
ample knowledge, he having visited the 
island and made himself acquainted with 
the conditions there. 

At the outbreak of the Spanish-Ameri- 
can War he was one of the three members 
of Congress who entered the army, and 
on June 15, 1899, was commissioned cap- 
tain and quartermaster of the First 
Brigade, Third Division, First Army 
Corps, on the staff of General John A. 
Wiley, at Camp Thomas, Georgia. He 
entered the army with experience, hav- 
ing long served in the National Guard 
of Pennsylvania as private, lieutenant, 
major, brigade quartermaster and finally 
as commissary-general on the staff of 
Governor Stone. This experience was 
now of great value, and he was detailed 
for the special duty of equipping and for- 
warding troops to the front. His suc- 
cess brought him promotion, August 21, 
1899, to the position of chief-quarter- 
master, with the rank of major of United 
States Volunteers, and he was placed in 
charge of the transport "Seneca," and 
sent to Porto Rico with the United States 
Commissioners, Admiral Schley and 
General Gordon. He served at Ponce, 
San Juan and Santiago, and was in 
charge of the transports "Mobile," "Ches- 
ter," and "Grant." With the close of the 
war Quartermaster-General Luddington 
offered him a commission as major in the 
regular army, but he declined and tend- 
ered his resignation, which was accepted 
and he was honorably discharged by 
Special Order No. 243, by the adjutant- 
general of the army, November 14, 1899, 
and with special commendation for his 

Mr. Robbins resumed his legal practice 
in 1900. He has not only guarded the legal 

tele, but he is also solicitor for the Balti- 
more & Ohio and the Ligonier Valley 
Railroad companies, and adviser for sev- 
eral corporations with which he is iden- 
tified, and which are large commercial 
and financial factors in the business of 
his city and county. He was one of the 
organizers, and is now vice-president, of 
the Safety Deposit & Trust Company of 
Greensburg; has been connected, as 
stockholder and director, since its organi- 
zation in 1900, with the West Pennsyl- 
vania Coal & Coke Company ; director in 
the Atlantic Coal Company since its or- 
ganization in 1905 ; is a director in the 
Wilmerding National Bank, the Connells- 
ville Basin Coke Company ; president of 
the Garrett Coal Company ; stockholder 
in several other banks and industrial cor- 
porations ; a trustee of the Washington 
and Jefferson College. His club mem- 
bership is with the Americus, Duquesne 
and the University. He is a member of 
the First Presbyterian Church of Greens- 
burg, and was president of its Board of 
Trustees from 1903 to 1908. He has al- 
ways given his unwavering allegiance to 
the Republican party. 

Mr. Robbins married, December 17, 
1897, Luella Moore, daughter of J. W. 
and Elizabeth S. Moore, of Greensburg. 
Children : Edward E., born December 2, 
1900: William M., born March 26, 1902. 

OMWAKE, George Leslie, 

Minister and Educator. 

The Omwake family in America is "not 
large, but it traces its history from the 
earlier period of the great German migra- 
tion to this country in the eighteenth 
century. The progenitor, Leonhardt am 
Weg, was a member of the original band 
of German pietists who gathered in the 
region of Schwartzenau. in Hesse-Cassel, 
to propagate a form of faith and practice 



which was to be in strict accord with the 
teachings of the New Testament. Since 
this involved a change in the manner of 
administering the rite of baptism from 
that which prevailed in the established 
churches, this became in the popular 
mind the distinguishing feature and the 
new sect came to be known as Taufer 
brethren. Due to intolerance on the part 
of the authorities of the principality in 
which they lived, the company became 
broken up in 1719, when a number of 
them came to America and settled at 
Germantown. The remaining families 
went down the Rhine and found refuge 
for a time in Holland. Their residence 
here was to be only temporary and was 
doubtless undertaken with a view to ac- 
cumulating funds with which to follow 
their brethren to the hospitable land of 
William Penn. Alexander Mack, the 
leader of this band had been wealthy but 
by this time had probably spent most of 
his substance in furnishing protection to 
his followers. Eventually, in 1729, they 
were able to charter a ship, the "Allen," 
of which James Craigie was captain. On 
July 7, the ''Allen." with one hundred and 
twenty-six passengers, embracing thirty 
families, set sail from Rotterdam, and 
after a perilous voyage of seventy-one 
days, arrived at Philadelphia. 

Leonhardt am Weg was accompanied 
by Magdalina, his wife, and John Michael, 
their son, a lad in his teens. This family 
probably proceeded soon after their ar- 
rival to the newly constituted county of 
Lancaster, within which, near the present 
site of Reinhold's Station, John Michael, 
the son, took title twenty-five years later 
to three hundred acres of land. About 
the year 1800, Jacob Amweg, Jr., a grand- 
son of John Michael, set out from this 
region with his wife and little son John to 
carve out his fortune in the newer settle- 
ments in the fertile and attractive Cum- 
berland Valley, finally settling in the 

20 : 

southern part of Franklin county near 
Besore's (later Salem) church. The 
people of this valley were mainly of 
Scotch-Irish descent, and by them the 
Amweg name, like many other German 
family names, was subjected to a radical 
change in spelling which strangely 
enough was accepted by the family. This 
branch of the Amweg family henceforth 
bore the name Omwake. Nothing but 
the proud consciousness that they were 
now no longer Germans but Americans, 
can account for the freedom with which 
these patronymic transformations were 
allowed to take place. 

John Omwake, the eldest son of Jacob 
Amweg, Jr., succeeded to the homestead 
established by his father. Of his large 
family, our interest centers in a son, 
Henry Omwake, father of the subject of 
this sketch. Henry Omwake was born 
in 1830, began his education about the 
time the common school system of Penn- 
sylvania was being established, supple- 
mented the meagre opportunities it af- 
forded with self-directed efiforts, and be- 
came a teacher at nineteen. After he had 
established himself in his profession, he 
married Eveline Beaver, a daughter of 
Squire John Beaver, who was earlier a 
noted schoolmaster of the community but 
who had sometime since removed to Fort 
Wayne. Indiana. They located in the 
neighboring township of Antrim, where 
after some years of frugal life, in which 
teaching finally gave way to farming, 
they acquired the old Witmer homestead 
near Greencastle. This location was se- 
lected with special reference to school 
advantages for the children, to all of 
whom the parents endeavored to provide 
advantages beyond those furnished in the 
district school. The family consisted of 
eleven children. Two of these were re- 
moved by death in childhood, but the 
rest, eight sons and a daughter, grew to 
maturity, and for forty years, until the 


father himself was taken, death did not 
cross the threshold of this home. 

The representative of the family under 
consideration feels greatly indebted to in- 
fluences surrounding him in his youth, 
and it will be in place to review briefly a 
few of the features of his boyhood life. 
As seventh in order among the children, 
he found himself in the midst of a group 
of brothers whose ages were not suffi- 
ciently varied to break up a rather close 
community of interests. There was a 
wholesome interchange and variety of 
work and play. The spirit of the latter 
was predominant, and saved the former 
from ever becoming drudgery. It was be- 
fore the day when manual and voca- 
tional training had become widely recog- 
nized as features of education, yet the 
school education of these boys was sup- 
plemented by a rich and varied home life 
in such manner as to secure to them the 
finest kind of training in these respects. 

By some spontaneous movement which 
arose altogether from within, the lads 
developed as a central feature of their 
play a complete municipal government, 
and under its forms the various activities 
of the home life were carried forward. 
This provided not only ofificeholding with 
explicit training in the duties of a mayor, 
a sheriff, a treasurer, etc., but it led on to 
the full functions of citizenship, with its 
social and political obligations and duties, 
including manufacture, trade and finance. 
The George Junior Republic at its best 
could not have been much more efficient 
in its training for citizenship than was the 
spontaneously developed system of play 
maintained by this family of boys. 

Thus, at the age of fourteen, the lad 
whose career this article is intended to 
portray, was familiar with the forms 
and use of commercial paper — contracts, 
promissory notes, receipts and paper 
money. Of the latter, the treasurer was 
authorized to issue a certain amount dur- 

ing each term of office. The total amount 
in circulation at any time represented in 
actual value the sum of everything in- 
cluded in the play outfit of the place. As 
the amount of money increased faster 
than playthings accumulated, money be- 
came cheap, everyone had plenty of it and 
prices became high. The citizen-lads not 
only learned business but they picked up 
soeculation. Markets were cornered by 
them long before they had heard of New 
York and Chicago brokers. Sheriff's sale 
bills, with their legal phraseology copied 
from those appearing in the newspapers, 
appeared not infrequently as notices of 
business failures. Despite these failures, 
it was easy to get a new start. The 
youngest lad once got on his feet by go- 
ing to the cane brake and cutting a lot 
of stick horses with which he held a 
"monster horse sale," according to the ad- 

A "town" like this could not get along 
without new^spapers. Of these there were 
several, but the earliest was "The News" 
founded by our subject when he was just 
entering upon his teens, and issued by 
him almost continuously as a weekly for 
several years. The circulation consisted 
of one copy executed on tablet paper, but 
it was read as eagerly as any publication 
that came to the library table. 

There was a "court" for the trial of 
civil and criminal cases, and one of the 
most coveted offices was that of judge. 
The number of criminal cases depended 
somewhat on the activity of the sheriff. 
There were few instances of acquittal, 
and the sentence was always to some 
form of labor which would have been im- 
posed upon the group as a whole by pa- 
rental authority, e. g., the cleaning of a 
gravel walk in the front yard. One lad, 
now grown to manhood and possessing 
a clear record as a citizen of our country, 
has a portion of that walk to clean yet in 
order to clear himself before the law of 


his youthful estate. Another has long was gotten in the "little red school 

since confessed to the burning of his 
brother's barn, a small structure of pine 
shingles. He escaped punishment at the 
time, because both the judge and the 
sheriff were at least "accessories before 
the fact" if not particeps criminis in the 

On taking possession of the place, the 
father built a new house. The original 
residence, a stone structure of one story 
and a loft which had stood from the days 
of the Penns, then became a shop and 
store-house. In this building many of the 
activities of the busy municipality cen- 
tered. One room contained a wood work- 
ing equipment with a set of tools. Here 
the rainy days were spent. At the height 
of the government's prosperity, this place 
was the "agricultural works" of which 
there were many notices in the news- 
papers. Here was manufactured in mina- 
ture, almost every kind of machine known 
to the farm life of the community. Each 
boy made his own design of machine for 
which he had his trade mark and for 
which the "government" issued patents. 
An annual fair with an outdoor exhibit 
on the lawn at which medals were 
awarded, brought out the merits of the 
manufacturing industry. 

Sufficient has been related to show how 
the afifairs of the great world at large 
were thus enacted in a novel system of 
play within the confines of a humble 
home by this group of school-boy broth- 
ers. There was freedom, as this would 
indicate, and yet there was the restraint 
of careful and solicitous parents — a re- 
straint that in the generation in which 
this is written would be regarded as puri- 

Out of this rich but regulated domestic 
environment came George Leslie Om- 
wake. He was born on the homestead 
near Greencastle, Pennsylvania, July 13, 
1871. His formal rudimentary education 

house" of his native district. His teach- 
ers were men, and the school was recog- 
nized as one of the best in the county. 
During his school days he developed 
some skill in free-hand drawing. At the 
request of his teacher he executed a pencil 
portrait of George Washington for the 
adornment of the school-room wall. 
Later, in the high school, he drew a cray- 
on sketch of Robert Burns for the cele- 
bration of "Burns Day." About this 
time his father visited a local artist with 
a view to having the boy enter his studio. 
On completing the high-school course, 
however, the young man qualified as an 
amateur teacher, and was appointed to 
take charge of a school. After teaching 
two terms he entered the State Normal 
School at Shippensburg, from which he 
was graduated in 1893. While here he 
came under the instruction of a teacher 
of Latin who was a recent graduate of 
Ursinus College. He had so much re- 
gard for the scholarship and ability of 
this instructor that he resolved to go to 
Ursinus College, and at once shaped his 
course with a view to meeting the en- 
trance requirements of that institution. 
He taught one term after graduation, and 
immediately thereafter entered the Mer- 
cersburg Academy, where he completed 
his preparation and continued during an 
extra year in which he did the freshman 
work of the college course, and at the 
same time earned his way in the academy 
by teaching elementary Latin and Eng- 
lish and editing the school monthly. He 
entered the sophomore class of Ursinus 
College in the fall of 1895, and was gradu- 
ated with the degree of Bachelor of Arts 
in 1898, having pursued the classical 
group of studies. In college he showed 
much better ability in the reflective stud- 
ies than in those whose mastery depended 
on verbal memory. 

The influence of his home training, an 



inherent desire to be of service to his 
fellow men, and a little practical experi- 
ence in Christian work in school and col- 
lege, led him to choose the ministry of 
the gospel as a life work. Although a 
member of the Reformed church to which 
his ancestors belonged from the days of 
John Michael Amweg, and fully resolved 
to minister in this church, he neverthe- 
less went to Yale for his theological 
training. He entered the Yale Divinity 
School in the fall of 1898, pursued the 
regular course, took some studies also in 
the department of philosophy in the 
Graduate School, and was graduated in 
1901. Before the close of his last year 
at Yale he was sought by the president 
of Ursinus College to accept a minor 
position on the teaching staff of the col- 
lege, and to devote some time also to as- 
sisting him in the administrative work. 
Looking upon the step as only a tempo- 
rary one which would be a means of 
eventually securing a pastorate in his 
mother church, he accepted. From this 
point forth, however, the logic of events 
led to a field of service akin to, but apart 
from the ministry, and he was never or- 
dained to that office. 

The oldest member of the faculty, a 
Yale man of the class of '59, had been 
serving the college as dean. Although in 
robust health, he felt that he should fol- 
low the example of President Dwight, of 
his "alma mater," and resign at seventy. 
The faculty chose its youngest member 
as his successor, and so Mr. Omwake 
was made dean. At the same time he was 
advanced to a full professorship in edu- 
cation. Professor Omwake, after serv- 
ing six years as dean, was made vice- 
president in 1909. The following year 
Franklin and Marshall College conferred 
upon him the honorary degree of Doctor 
of Pedagogy. When the presidency be- 
came vacant in 1912, he was unanimously 
chosen president and was inducted into 


office on October 7, 1913, with fitting 
ceremonies in which representatives of 
the leading universities and colleges of 
the country took part. During his first 
two years in office extensive alterations 
and improvements were made to the col- 
lege buildings. This enabled the new ad- 
ministration to take an advanced posi- 
tion on the side of the domestic life of 
the students and to establish a higher 
standard of efficiency in college work. 

President Omwake has responded to 
the full extent of his ability to popular 
demands for his services. For a period 
of years he gave himself freely to work as 
an instructor in the teachers' institutes of 
the State, and assisted in placing this 
work on a higher professional plane. He 
has exerted a similar influence as a mem- 
ber of the Pennsylvania State Educa- 
tional Association, of which body he is a 
trustee. He has written much, and a few 
of his articles have, from time to time, 
appeared in educational and theological 
journals. The burden of his literary 
work has been done on the publications 
issued by Ursinus College, of which he 
has been editor for twelve years. 

Dr. Omwake was married, June 18, 
1902, to Bessie May Landis, of Hummels- 
town, Pennsylvania, who died February 
10, 1904. On August 28, 1906, he was 
married to Sophie Hendricks Cassel- 
berry, of Collegeville. They have two 
children, Stanley Casselberry Omwake, 
born March 15, 1908, and Eveline Beaver 
Omwake, born October i, 191 1. Besides 
being president and professor in the col- 
lege. Dr. Omwake is superintendent of 
the local Sunday school in Trinity Re- 
formed Church, and as a member of the 
executive committee of the Laymen's 
Missionary Movement and of the United 
Missionary and Stewardship Committee 
of the General Synod, he renders consid- 
erable service in the wider work of his 


BOYD, Samuel H., 

Man of Affairs, Fnblic Official. 

Continuously in public service in Lan- 
caster county, Pennsylvania, his birth- 
place, since 1886, Samuel H. Boyd, of 
Columbia, is now the incumbent of the 
office of Director of the Poor of Lancas- 
ter county, his previous positions those 
of Tax Collector and Register of Wills of 
the county. Aside from his long term of 
service in county offices, Mr. Boyd is 
prominent in Columbia through numer- 
ous business, fraternal and religious con- 
nections, and is known throughout the 
county as one of the leaders of the Repub- 
lican party, his identification with this 
organization a lifelong connection. Mr. 
Boyd's record as a public servant, his 
energetic and interested activity in all 
that has been for the best good of Colum- 
bia, and his extensive intercourse with 
the people of the city and county have 
placed him high in popular favor. 

The family of which Mr. Boyd is a 
member has ancient and distinguished 
origin in Scotland. Alan, First Lord 
High Steward of Scotland, married Mar- 
garet, daughter of Fergus, Earl of Gallo- 
way, and had five children, the third being 
Simon, progenitor of the family of Boyd. 
Alan died in 1153, and Simon, his third 
son, became the Second Lord High 
Steward of Scotland. Robert, son of 
Simon, being of fair complexion, was 
called "Boidle," or "Boidel," in Gaelic 
meaning "Boyt," fair or beautiful. Later 
this became a surname, and Robert Boyd, 
"the Fair," is the common ancestor of all 
of the name of Boyd. He died prior to 
1240, A. D., and left a son, Sir Robert 
Boyd. Dean Castle, long the residence 
of the ancient family of Boyd, stands 
about a mile from Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, 
on the west coast of Scotland. The de- 
scent to the American Boyds during the 
centuries has been in many instances 

through younger sons, of whom no rec- 
ord has been kept in the register's office 
of Scotland. 

They are first on record in America at 
Londonderry, New Hampshire, where 
Boyds settled in 1718. They were Scotch- 
Irish who had gone into Northern Ire- 
land from Scotland about 1688, there 
married, and bred the hardy pioneer 
Scotch-Irish, who perpetuated their home 
names in the towns they founded. The 
name is next found in New York City and 
Pennsylvania, where they settled prior to 
the Revolution, and there was also an 
early Boyd settlement in Virginia. The 
Boyds, like all the Scotch-Irish, were 
hardy, energetic, desirable citizens, and 
in settling in a new country usually chose 
the rugged region, instead of the more 
fertile river bottoms, as did the Dutch. 
This was due to their previous environ- 
ment, each choosing locations similar to 
his early surroundings. 

The first settlement was made in West 
Hempfield township, Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania, by Scotch-Irish from Don- 
egal, who continued their advance up the 
Little Conestoga until they met the Men- 
nonites a few miles east of Chickies 
Creek. With these settlers came the 
Boyds of Chickies, the first record being 
of James Boyd, a farmer. James Boyd in 
middle life left his farming operations in 
West Hempfield township, Lancaster 
county, and moved to Columbia, where 
he became proprietor of a grocery store, 
there making his home until his death. 
He married Mary Fisher and was the 
father of a large family : John, of whom 
further; William ; George, married a Miss 
Tyler and had four children ; Hugh, mar- 
ried Amanda Ohmit and had sons, Elmer 
and John D. ; Christian, married Sarah 
Decker and had one son, James ; Mary, 
married William Baltzer and had one 
son, William ; Margaret, married Samuel 
Lockard and had James, John and Harry ; 



Susan, married Jacob Grube and had 
George, Samuel, Mary, Matilda, Sally, 
Emma; Ann, married John Wheeler and 
had two sons and two daughters ; James, 
twin of Ann, died in infancy ; Louise, 
married Daniel Campbell and had two 
sons and two daughters. 

John Boyd, son of James and Mary 
(Fisher) Boyd, father of Samuel H. Boyd, 
of Columbia, was born at Chickies, West 
Hempfield township, Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania, December 6, 1815, and died 
at Columbia, Pennsylvania, July 22, 1871. 
His education was obtained in the district 
schools near his birthplace, and his active 
career began with Leach & Company, a 
commission house of Columbia, Pennsyl- 
vania. Mr. Boyd was subsequently in 
the service of the Pennsylvania railroad, 
occupying various positions with this 
road until his death. He was a gentle- 
man universally esteemed and liked, and 
during his entire life possessed the sin- 
cere respect of his associates in business 
and private life. Politically an ardent 
Republican and always identified with 
that party. John Boyd married, in 1839, 
Elizabeth Stanley, born in 1820, died Oc- 
tober 28, 1865. Children : Mary A., born 
January 5, 1840, died December 29, 1902, 
married David Welsh ; James, born Oc- 
tober 14, 1843, died in infancy; Ellen L., 
born December 14, 1845, married Dr. H. 
V. Gress, of York county, Pennsylvania; 
Catherine, born February 4, 1848, mar- 
ried J. T. Hughes, of Columbia, Pennsyl- 
vania ; Samuel H., of whom further. 

Samuel H. Boyd, son of John and Eliz- 
abeth (Stanley) Boyd, was born in Co- 
lumbia, Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, 
August 20, 1850, and at this time is a resi- 
dent of his birthplace. As a youth he 
attended the public schools of Columbia 
and was afterward a student in Annville 
College, at Annville, Pennsylvania, at the 
completion of his course in the latter in- 
stitution entering the employ of the Penn- 

sylvania railroad, remaining with this 
company until his election as tax col- 
lector of Columbia. His first election was 
as the candidate of the Republican party, 
and he was the successful nominee of 
this party at each election for the follow- 
ing twenty years. In 1906 he was elected 
to a three-year term as Register of Wills 
of Lancaster county, at the expiration of 
this period being appointed to fill out an 
unexpired term as Director of the Poor 
of Lancaster county. This service came 
to an end in a year, and at the elections 
of 1910 he was chosen for a three-year 
term in the same office, being again elect- 
ed in 1913 for a four-year term. This 
directorship he holds at this time, and so 
he will continue until 1917. His com- 
petency and fidelity in service are the 
qualities that have gained him his re- 
peated reelection to positions of trust and 
responsibility, and it is characteristic of 
the man that duties of small importance 
receive the same careful attention be- 
stowed upon those of greater weight. 

Mr. Boyd is financially interested in 
several of Columbia's manufacturing es- 
tablishments, and is a member of the 
board of directors of the Columbia Trust 
Company. A Republican in politics, he 
has represented his district at many 
county and State conventions, and has 
ably and zealously worked for the pros- 
perity of his party in that locality. In 
party councils he plays an important 
part, and his devotion to the Republican 
cause has been productive of excellent 
and tangible results. He is fraternally 
connected with Susquehanna Lodge, No. 
80, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
and the Artisans' Order of Mutual Pro- 
tection, both of Columbia. His church is 
the First Methodist Episcopal of Colum- 
bia, which he serves as trustee, and he is 
president of the Landisville Camp Meet- 
ing Association of Landisville, Pennsyl- 
vania. In the combination of church, fra- 



ternal, official and business associations 
with Columbia and the county his alli- 
ance with the best interests of both is 
definite and strong, and in all he obeys 
the dictates of a high order of citizenship. 

DODGE, Byron Griswold, 

Manafactnrer, Enterprising Citizen. 

The surname Dodge has been traced to 
a remote period in England, and has ex- 
tended to every part of the United States, 
beginning with the earliest settlement of 
the New England colonies. The name is 
distinguished in law and letters, in divin- 
ity and war, in politics and business, 
every college and university has gradu- 
ated sons of the family, and in all walks 
of life the name is an honored one. The 
English family bore arms as early as 
1306, Peter Dodge being the grantee. 
The arrival of the name in America was 
coincident with the arrival, June 29, 1629, 
of the two vessels, "Talbot" and "Lion's 
Whelp" from Yarmouth, England, at 
Salem, Massachusetts. On the latter ves- 
sel were planters from Dorset and Som- 
erset, England, among them William 
Dodge, founder of this branch of the 
Dodge family in America. 

William Dodge settled in that part of 
Salem, Massachusetts, known since 1668 
as Beverly, separated from Salem proper 
by the bay. Tradition says that he was 
tall with black hair and dark complexion. 
He became a freeman, April 17, 1637, and 
received a grant of sixty acres, Septem- 
ber 3, 1637. He later bought two hun- 
dred acres and became prominent in the 
community, serving as grand juryman, 
"rate" gatherer, selectman, committee- 
man, and deputy to the general court. In 
May, 1685, he disposed of his real estate 
by deeds that are of record, his homestead 
in Salem going to his son, "Captain" Wil- 
liam Dodge. The name of his wife is not 
known. Richard Dodge, a brother of 

William and son of John Dodge, of Som- 
ersetshire, England, came to Salem nine 
years after his brother, and is the pro- 
genitor of an even more numerous family 
than William. Children of William 
Dodge: i. "Captain" John, born in 1636, 
served against the Narragansetts in 1675, 
was deputy to the General Court, held 
many town and church offices. He mar- 
ried Mary Proctor. 2. "Captain" William, 
of whom further. 3. Hannah, married 
Samuel Porter. 4. Josiah, killed in the 
Narragansett War, 1675. 

"Captain" William Dodge, son of "farm- 
er" William Dodge, was born in 1640, 
died in 1720. He inherited the family 
homestead in Salem, was made freeman 
in 1683, deputy in 1689, representative in 
1690. He served in the Narragansett 
War, 1675, Hubbard in his "Narrative" 
giving particular account of his bravery 
and success. He served in many town 
and church offices, ranking with the lead- 
ing men of the town. He married (first) 
Mary Conant, widow of John Balch ; 
(second) May 26, 1685, Joanna Larkin, a 
widow, daughter of "Deacon" Robert 
Hale ; (third) Mary, widow of Captain 
Andrew Creatty, of Marblehead. Chil- 
dren, by first wife : Deacon William, 
born March 20, 1663, died January 17, 
1747 ; Mary, born May 26, 1666, married 
John Herrick ; Joshua, baptized August 
20, 1669, died April 15, 1694; Hannah, 
born July 9, 1671, married John Green; 
Elizabeth, born October 26, 1673, mar- 
ried Jonathan Herrick ; Sarah, born 
March 3, 1677, died young. Children by 
second wife : Robert, of further mention ; 
Rebecca, twin of Robert, born October 
9, 1686; Josiah and Elisha, twins, died 

Robert, son of Captain William Dodge 
and his second wife, Joanna (Hale) Lar- 
kin, was born in Salem, Massachusetts, 
October 9, 1686, died January i, 1764. 
He was a prosperous farmer of North 



Beverly, held many town offices, and 
reared a large family. He and his wife 
are buried in the churchyard of the Sec- 
ond Church, their gravestones well pre- 
served. He married, in 1709, Lydia 
Woodbury, who died April 6, 1759, in her 
sixty-eighth year, daughter of Isaac and 
Elizabeth (Herrick) Woodbury, of Che- 
bacco Parish. Children : Isaac, born 
June 12, 1710, married Lois Herrick; Re- 
becca, married Jonathan Thorndike ; 
Caleb, born December 11, 1714, married 
Hannah Woodbury ; Lydia, married Jona- 
than Woodbury ; Joanna, married Cap- 
tain Andrew Woodbury ; Robert, born 
February 18, 1723, married Mary Tarbox; 
William, died young; Nicholas, of whom 
further; William, baptized January 2, 
1732, married Mary Baker. 

Nicholas, son of Robert and Lydia 
(Woodbury) Dodge, was born in Bev- 
erly, Massachusetts, April 16, 1728, died 
in Londonderry, New Hampshire, his 
will made there June 10, 1780, probated 
June 15, 1785. He inherited lands from 
his father, which he sold in 1762, and in 
1763 he bought land in Boxford, took his 
letter from Beverly Church, September 2, 
1764, and resided in Boxford until 1775. 
He then sold and moved to New Hamp- 
shire, made his will as stated, and died. 
He married, March 3, 1752, Experience 
Woodberry, who survived him. Children : 
Nicholas, born November 19, 1752, mar- 
ried Hannah Cole ; Caleb, born March 22, 
1754; Anna, born July 9, 1756; Mary, 
born December 9, 1758; Ebenezer, of fur- 
ther mention ; Lydia, baptized July 20, 
1763; Isaac, born August 2, 1767. 

Ebenezer, of the fifth American gen- 
eration, son of Nicholas and Experience 
(Woodberry) Dodge, was born January 
21, 1761, and died at Claremont, New 
Hampshire, in 1816. He became a promi- 
nent New Hampshire farmer, residing at 
Claremont nearly all his life. He mar- 
ried Clarissa York, born in 1722, died in 

1862. Children : Reuben, Roxanna, So- 
phia, David, Clarissa, John, of further 
mention; Amos, George W., and William. 

John, son of Ebenezer and Clarissa 
(York) Dodge, was born August 29, 1804, 
at Claremont, New Hampshire, and there 
died June 20, 1873. Pie learned the shoe- 
maker's trade, but was possessed of such 
mechanical ability that he was adept at 
many trades. He married Melinda Bates, 
born June 20, 1803, died October 9, 1862. 
Children : George W., of further men- 
tion ; Jeannette, Edwin. Mary, Jane and 

George W., eldest son of John and Me- 
linda (Bates) Dodge, was born at Clare- 
mont, New Hampshire, February 12, 
1827, died in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, in 
1890. The Claremont schools afforded 
him his early education, and as a young 
man he made his home in Berlin, New 
York, where he married and resided until 
1876. In Berlin he was one of the organ- 
izers of the Berlin Cork Company, for 
several years filling the position of man- 
ager of the plant erected by this concern, 
in 1876 locating in Lancaster, Pennsyl- 
vania. From this time until his death he 
was connected with the industry of his 
former occupation, associating with the 
Lancaster Cork Works. George W. 
Dodge bore a business reputation that 
was unblemished, his correct and upright 
life receiving the universal approbation 
of his fellows. He was a communicant 
of the Baptist church. He married Deb- 
orah E. Griswold, of Berlin, New York, 
and had issue : Ella G., married Rev. 
Henry G. Appenzeler, a minister of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, a mission- 
ary in the Korean field ; Byron Griswold. 
of whom further. 

Byron Griswold Dodge, only son of 
George W. and Deborah E. (Griswold) 
Dodge, was born in Berlin, New York, 
September 16, 1851. From the public 
schools he enrolled in a boarding school 



in Vermont, an institution chiefly pre- 
paratory for entrance at Williams Col- 
lege, and there continued his studies. His 
youthful years were passed on a farm, 
and at the age of twenty-two years he 
learned the machinist's trade, his train- 
ing received in a printing press factory 
at Westerly, Rhode Island. Subsequently 
he became associated with his father in 
the cork business in Berlin, New York, 
coming with the elder Dodge to Lancas- 
ter and in August, 1876, becoming identi- 
fied with the Lancaster Cork Works. He 
remained with this concern until the in- 
corporation of the business in 1893, then 
becoming a director of the new corpora- 
tion and general manager of the plant. 
From this time until his retirement from 
active business, a period of more than 
twenty years, Mr. Dodge was head of the 
producing department of the Lancaster 
Cork Works, and to him must be attrib- 
uted much of the credit for the prosper- 
ous life of the works. His closest atten- 
tion was given all departments that came 
within his province of control, and at all 
times he was closely in touch with facts 
and conditions regarding the plant. The 
expansion that has come under his direc- 
tion has been wisely planned and has 
taken place in full harmony with the gen- 
eral policy of the concern, and upon the 
sure and firm foundation he laid in the 
factory has been built a large and flour- 
ishing business. When Mr. Dodge re- 
tired from his long connection with the 
Lancaster Cork Works in 1914, it was 
amid the regret of associates of years, 
who recognized the faithfulness, com- 
petence, and value of his service. Among 
the numerous other business interests 
that have claimed some part of Mr. 
Dodge's time is the Lancaster Linoleum 
Works, a plant that he was largely in- 
strumental in establishing in the city. 

Mr. Dodge's chief recreation has been 
in the raising and owning of thorough- 

bred horseflesh, and his stable contains 
some of the best blooded stock of the 
locality, in which he takes the pride and 
pleasure of the man who knows, appre- 
ciates, and loves good ho/ses. Mr. Dodge 
is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 

He married, in Bennington, Vermont, 
Anna Smart, daughter of Captain Elisha 
Smart, who gained his rank in the Union 
service during the Civil War through 
meritorious service, and who met his 
death while leading his company in an 
engagement of that war. Mr. and Mrs. 
Dodge are the parents of: Leon G., Anna, 
George, a graduate of Pennsylvania State 
College, class of 1901, and Arthur, a grad- 
uate of Cornell University, class of 1904. 

DEMUTH, Henry C, 

Manufacturer, Enterprising Citizen. 

Two of the sons of Christopher Demuth, 
born about 1650, a magistrate (Richter) 
of Karlsdorf, Moravia, came to America, 
Johann Christopher Demuth and Gott- 
hard Demuth, the former dying in Naza- 
reth, Pennsylvania, the latter in German- 
town, Pennsylvania. 

Tobias Demuth, son of the first Chris- 
topher Demuth and ancestor of the line to 
which Henry C. Demuth, of Lancaster, 
belongs, did not leave his European home. 
He married Rosina Tonn, born in 1682, 
died September 22, 1732, and had five 
children, three daughters and two sons, 
the younger of the two sons, Gottlieb, the 
American ancestor of the Lancaster fam- 

Gottlieb Demuth, son of Tobias and 
Rosina (Tonn) Demuth, was born in 
Karlsdorf, Moravia, in 1715, and when a 
youth of fifteen years moved to Saxony, 
emigrating in the year before he attained 
his majority and coming to the United 
States, settling in Georgia. He subse- 
quently moved north, and at his death, 



October 6, 1776, was a resident of Schoe- 
neck, Pennsylvania. He and his wife, 
Eva, whom he married in 1739, were the 
parents of seven children, five of them 
sons. Gottlieb Demuth was, like his fath- 
er, a believer in the Moravian faith, and 
performed much missionary work in the 
interests of that church. 

Christopher Demuth, son of Gottlieb 
and Eva Demuth, was born in German- 
town, Pennsylvania, September 19, 1738. 
He obtained his education in the different 
Pennsylvania towns to which his father's 
missionary work carried the family, and 
after reaching his majority made his home 
in Lancaster. Here, in 1767, he married 
Elizabeth Hartaffel, born October 16, 
1746, her father a tobacco manufacturer 
of Lancaster. In 1770 Christopher Demuth 
purchased his father-in-law's tobacco bus- 
iness, and continued it until his death, 
which occurred subsequent to 1817, the 
business descending in the family from 
father to son, its present owner, Henry 
C. Demuth. Children of Christopher and 
Elizabeth (Hartafifel) Demuth: Anna 
Maria, born November 9, 1768, married 
Johannes Eberman ; Johannes, born De- 
cember 20, 1771, a gunsmith, married 
Catharine Trisler ; Frederick, born June 
2, 1773, died January 13, 1798; Sophia, 
born November 22, 1777, died July 19, 
1781 ; Jacob, of whom further ; Josef, born 
October 18, 1781, a gunsmith, married 
Elizabeth Danner. 

Jacob Demuth, son of Christopher and 
Elizabeth (Hartaflfel) Demuth, was born 
August 9, 1779. He attended the schools 
of Lancaster, and in young manhood be- 
came connected with the tobacco business 
owned by his father, upon the latter's 
death succeeding to proprietorship. In 
addition to his business activities in this 
line, Jacob Demuth owned and operated 
a grist mill, and in the course of a busy, 
successful life gained title to considerable 
valuable real estate in the vicinity of Lan- 

caster. Prominent in business affairs and 
one of the leading men of his city in that 
respect, his activity in public life was 
natural, and he was ever conspicuously 
identified with progressive civil enter- 
prises, among them the building of the 
first municipal water works for Lancas- 
ter. His church was the Moravian, and 
in political conviction he was a Whig. 
Jacob Demuth was thrice married, his 
first wife Eliza Eberman, his second Cath- 
arine Mefiford, his third Ann Hurst. He 
had one son by his first wife, Emanuel E., 
born December 25, 1804. Children of his 
second marriage : Amelia R. L., born Oc- 
tober 2, 1808; Charles A. R. H., January 
6, 1810; Godfrey A. O. E., August 6, 181 1 ; 
Caroline S. M., September 22, 1812; 
Louisa E. L., March 5, 1814; Lawrence I., 
September 15, 1815; Samuel C, August 
26, 1817; Henrietta M. H., January 16, 
1819; Jacob G., June i, 1820; Ann C, 
January 26, 1822. Children of his third 
marriage : Sarah Lauman, born July 8, 
1824; Elizabeth Pauline, February 27, 
1828; Henry Cornelius, of whom further; 
Ferdinand Louis, April 3, 1832 ; Fred- 
erick William, August 26, 1833; Andrew 
Elias, December 17, 1835; Julia Frances, 
July 9, 1837; Rachel Angelica, January 26, 
1839 ; Emily Rosanna, October 8, 1840. 

Henry Cornelius Demuth, son of Jacob 
and his third wife, Ann (Hurst) Demuth, 
was born in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, 
April 17, 1830, and there died May 30, 
1906, his death the close of an eminently 
successful business and public life. He 
was educated in the schools of the locality, 
his father's death occurring when he was 
a youth of twelve years. His business 
experience began in the employ of one of 
his half-brothers, who had assumed the 
management of the family business, this 
arrangement enduring until 1864. In this 
year Mr. Demuth became its active head 
and continued in its profitable and suc- 
cessful management until his death. 

PEN— Vol VI— 15 



Called into public service by his fellows, 
Mr. Demuth represented the Third Ward 
of Lancaster in both Common and Select 
Councils, and in 1878 he was the suc- 
cessful Republican candidate for the 
State Legislature, and for two years ably 
filled a seat in the lower house of that 
body. The benefit and advancement of 
the city of his birth was his highest aim, 
and one of the means that he chose to 
accomplish this end was in promoting 
volunteer fire-fighting service, furnishing 
an excellent example by his work in con- 
nection with the American Fire Company 
No. 5, of which he was at different times 
president and treasurer. All departments 
of civil life held his interest and knew 
his support, and he was a lifelong member 
of the Moravian church, holding official 
position therein as trustee. Henry Cor- 
nelius Demuth married, in 1856, Eliza- 
beth MacDonald, born June 15, 1835, died 
August 18, igi2, daughter of George Mac- 
Donald, of Lancaster, and had two sons : 
Ferdinand A., born in 1857, died January 
26, 191 1, married Augusta W. Buckius, 
and has one son, Charles H. ; Henry C, of 
whom further. 

Henry C. Demuth, younger of the sons 
of Henry Cornelius and Elizabeth (Mac- 
Donald) Demuth, was born in Lancaster, 
Pennsylvania, September 25, 1859. After 
attending the public schools of Lancaster 
he entered Franklin and Marshall Acad- 
emy, and upon the completion of his 
academic pursuits became associated with 
his father at the old location of the busi- 
ness on East King street, where since 
1770 Mr. Demuth's ancestors have been 
engaged in tobacco manufacture. Upon 
the death of Henry Cornelius Demuth, 
Mr. Demuth and his brother, Ferdinand 
A., succeeded to ownership thereof, con- 
tinuing operations from 1906 until 191 1 
under the firm name H. C. Demuth's 
Sons, the death of the senior partner in 
the latter year making Mr. Demuth sole 

owner. At the location that has for so 
long been the home of the family busi- 
ness Mr. Demuth is active at this time, 
nearly a century and a half of ownership 
under one name. The product of the fac- 
tory is Demuth's snuff, which has long 
had a country-wide reputation and sale. 
Mr. Demuth remains in the faith of his 
fathers, the Moravian, and politically is a 
Republican. He is a member of the Lan- 
caster Board of Trade, and also belongs 
to the Hamilton and Manufacturers' 
clubs, of Lancaster. Mr. Demuth is a 
widely known citizen of Lancaster, and 
stands for the principles so stoutly cham- 
pioned in this city by his father and 
grandfather. He is universally popular, 
concerning himself with public affairs 
only so far as alert, conscientious citizen- 
ship requires. 

Henry C. Demuth married, April 7, 

1896, Ida E., daughter of Dr. J. S. and 
Martha (Kreider) Smith, of Strasburg, 
Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, and has 
two sons: Henry C. (3), born August 7, 

1897, formerly a student in Nazareth Hall 
Military Academy, Nazareth, Pennsylva- 
nia, now a cadet at the United States 
Military Academy, West Point, New 
York, class of 1918; Christopher, born 
September 12, 1899, a student at Naza- 
reth Hall Military Academy. 

SCHROYER, Henry Albert, 

Enterprising Business Man, Public Official. 

Dating from early seventeenth century 
days of the Pennsylvania colony, this line 
of Schroyer possesses a record that tells 
of an American life of usefulness, activity 
and achievement among its members. In 
no period of the family's life in this coun- 
try have the results of the labors inspired 
by these attributes been more creditably 
noticeable than in the past three-quarters 
of a century, within which limits are in- 
cluded the active lives of Henry Albert 



Schroyer and his father, George W. 
Schroyer. The former, his business, fra- 
ternal, social and public connections are 
well-known to the citizens of Lancaster, 
his lifelong home, and the memory of the 
latter, who was a resident and business 
man of Lancaster from 1854 until his 
death, an early day journalist and a pio- 
neer florist, lives in the memory of his 
many friends and associates. George W. 
Schroyer lived to the great age of ninety- 
one years, in journalism and floriculture 
achieving success and prominence, and 
although his business cares and duties 
made his life an exceptionally active one, 
even as a nonagenarian he was spared 
the infirmities and weaknesses so closely 
attendant upon old age. Relinquishing the 
management of his interests to his son in 
his latter years, George W. Schroyer yet 
retained a vigorous and comprehensive 
grasp upon matters of public interest and 
general concern, suffering none of his old 
friendships to flag, and when death re- 
moved those whom he had known in 
youthful days, forming new friends in the 
younger generation, with whom he was a 
universal favorite. Strong in step and 
carriage, it was hard to reconcile his ex- 
cellent bearing with a birth date nine 
decades removed, and his was a familiar 
and well-loved figure in Lancaster until 
his death. 

The father of George W. Schroyer was 
Colonel Christian Schroyer, born in Corn- 
wall, Lancaster (now Lebanon) county, 
August 5, 1793, and died in 1855. The 
hotel maintained by him near Lewisburg, 
Pennsylvania, was famous for the cordial 
hospitality of its host, and in addition to 
this business he cultivated a farm of gen- 
erous dimensions. Under the administra- 
tion of President Andrew Jackson he was 
appointed to the postmastership at Chillis- 
quaque, Pennsylvania, serving one term 
in this position, and gained his military 
title through service in the State militia. 

having commanded the Eighth Regiment. 
He was twice married, his first wife Susan 
Spangler, his second Mrs. Myer, a widow, 
and by his first marriage had: Elizabeth, 
Rachel, Sarah, Susan, William, George 
W., of whom further, and a child who 
died in infancy. Michael and Lewis were 
the children of his second marriage. 

George W. Schroyer, son of Colonel 
Christian and Susan (Spangler) Schroyer, 
was born in Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, 
September 9, 1818, and died in Lancaster, 
February 22, 1910. His early education 
was obtained in the district school, and 
he supplemented the knowledge he there 
obtained with a course in a grammar 
school and an evening writing school, 
his later schooling being under that all- 
wise teacher, experience. As a youth of 
eighteen years, with a fine courage and 
determination, he started upon the work 
of life independently, walking to Harris- 
burg and in that city accepting a position 
in which he could learn the trade of 
printer. His first employment was with 
"The Keystone," and he remained in con- 
nection with this journal until he was 
raised to the rank of foreman, which posi- 
tion he resigned to purchase, in the fall 
of 1845, "The Spy," a paper of Columbia, 
Pennsylvania. Two years after becoming 
owner of this periodical he disposed of his 
interest therein and returned to Harris- 
burg, where he resided until 1854, then 
moved to Lancaster, Pennsylvania. In 
this city he accepted the position of fore- 
man in the office of the "Independent 
Whig," subsequently, under the owner- 
ship of Theodore Fenn, serving "The In- 
land Daily" in the same capacity. Upon 
the establishment of "The Daily Evening 
Express" in Lancaster in November, 1856, 
Mr. Schroyer became a member of its 
original staff as foreman, and efficiently 
occupied that office for six years, in 1862 
resigning in order to pursue out-of-door 
work of a more healthful nature. 



It was at this time that he beg-an the 
operations that led to the establishment 
of the business now conducted by his 
son, Henry Albert Schroyer. Purchasing 
from Dr. Muhlenberg a fruit farm of 
seven acres, he for a time devoted his 
attention to fruit raising and gardening, 
soon afterward transforming the farm 
into a nursery and beginning floriculture 
upon a small scale. Diligent botanical 
study and no less careful work in famil- 
iarizing himself with the best and most 
modern methods used in the calling he 
had entered as a tyro inspired greater 
confidence in his ability to successfully 
manage such a business as he had plan- 
ned, and he made more elaborate prepara- 
tions for securing the trade of the region. 
This was readily attracted, and hot-houses 
covered the ground that he had formerly 
tilled, while sturdier plants stood in 
orderly rows, exposed to the elements, or 
sought the protection of glass-covered 
frames. A pioneer in a new business, his 
success was assured from the first, the 
patronage of his nursery a steadily in- 
creasing one until his death, his son in 
the meantime having assumed the man- 
agement of the business. He was orig- 
inally a Democratic supporter, casting his 
first presidential vote for Martin Van 
Buren, but in 1856 changed his allegiance 
and from that time until his death faith- 
fully and enthusiastically worked for the 
welfare of the Republican party. He was 
a member of St. John's Lutheran Church, 
long a member of the vestry of that or- 
ganization, and in daily life lived the prin- 
ciples that he thus championed. 

His true worth was appreciated by all, 
and there were none who withheld from 
him the respect and honor that his up- 
right, manly career demanded. He met 
the issues of life courageously and openly, 
with unswerving faith in himself and the 
Power that gave him strength. When 
bodily frailty caused the abandonment of 

the only occupation he had known, with 
resourcefulness and unconquerable zeal 
he turned himself to one of which he 
knew nothing, mastered it, and in it rose 
to prominence and prosperity, founding 
his new business so firmly and well that 
it has endured for half a century, increas- 
ing in size and scope through the passing 
years. Of his personal attributes of a 
more apparent nature, his genial courtesy 
and cheerful manner were remarked by 
all meeting him for the first time, and 
those who were his friends knew the gen- 
erosity of spirit, the fidelity and sympathy 
that lay deeper than the cordial greeting 
or the pleasant smile. He was an inter- 
esting and lively conversationalist, and so 
wide was his experience, so many inter- 
esting incidents and personalities did it 
include, that it was a pleasure and a de- 
light to hear him. Nor did he dwell en- 
tirely in the past, for, with mind active 
and acute reasoning powers, he liked dis- 
cussion of present day matters, whether 
it were a municipal problem or a ques- 
tion of national import, and his views 
showed a deep understanding and knowl- 

George W. Schroyer married, in Har- 
risburg, Pennsylvania, in 1845, Annie E., 
daughter of J. B. Thompson, of Harris- 
burg, Pennsylvania, whose death pre- 
ceded his own by nearly twenty years. 

Henry Albert Schroyer, son of George 
W. and Annie E. (Thompson) Schroyer, 
was born in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, 
January 29, 1850, passing his youthful 
years in Lancaster, his present home. He 
was educated in the school of St. James' 
parish, afterward attending the high 
school, and when seventeen years of age 
became associated with his father in the 
florist's business, having since continued 
therein. Mr. Schroyer in 1888 opened a 
store on North Queen street, Lancaster, 
where he remained until 1913 when he 
removed to No. 146 North Duke street. 



and is there still located, the head of a 
business large in proportion and profit- 
able. He holds an assured position 
among the business men of the city, and 
in numerous other lines has become well 
known and popular. 

Like his father, he is a loyal Republi- 
can, and in 1878 made his entrance into 
the public life of Lancaster when he was 
elected to the Common Council from the 
Ninth Ward in the face of a strong Dem- 
ocratic organization, placed in office by 
the narrow margin of three votes, and has 
on two occasions been a delegate to the 
Republican State Convention. From 1888 
until 1903 he was a member of the Lan- 
caster Board of Education, in 1900-01-02 
serving the city as treasurer of the board, 
a responsible position, the importance of 
which can only be realized by those of 
experience in matters of municipal edu- 
cational systems. While a member and 
officer of the board he held the chairman- 
ship of the committee on night schools, in 
this capacity directing a work that was of 
inestimable value to the youth for whose 
benefit evening instruction was instituted, 
those whom the necessity for daily em- 
ployment kept from the regular sessions 
of the city schools. The school building 
at North Mary street and Harrisburg 
avenue, a handsome and splendidly equip- 
ped structure, was erected principally as 
the result of Mr. Schroyer's efforts to 
that end and not only is a valuable addi- 
tion to the school property of the city but 
gives to Lancaster one of the finest school 
buildings of the State. 

In 1886 Mr. Schroyer was one of the 
organizers of the West End Building and 
Loan Association, and is the only surviv- 
ing member of the original board of direc- 
tors of that institution. He is a member 
of the Lancaster Liederkranz, the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, the Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
and is a thirty-second degree Mason, Har- 

risburg Consistory, Ancient Accepted 
Scottish Rite, belonging to Lamberton 
Lodge, No. 476, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of which he is past master. Chapter 
No. 43, Royal Arch Masons, Goodwin 
Council, No. 19, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters, Lancaster Commandery, No. 13, 
Knights Templar, affiliates with Zembo 
Temple, of Harrisburg, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. Mr. 
Schroyer is a communicant of St. John's 
Lutheran Church, in matters of religion 
also following the lead of his father. He 
married, October 27, 1875, Anna V., 
daughter of the late Samuel M. Myers, 
of Chambersburg, Pennsylvania. 

TROUT, Frank Burrows, 

Business Man, Pnblic OfficiaL 

The passage of time and close associa- 
tion rarely fail to reveal a man to his fel- 
lows in his true light as a man and a 
citizen. Thirty-four years of continuous 
business and public activity in Lancaster, 
the city of his birth, have served only to 
raise Frank B. Trout to a position of 
higher regard in the minds of his fellow 
citizens, and to ever increasing popular- 
ity among the people with whom he has 
passed his life. The vast number of his 
friends and a reputation for uprightness 
and honor unassailable are the founda- 
tions upon which he has built a complete 
business success. Mr. Trout has numer- 
ous business interests in Lancaster, fra- 
ternally and socially is well connected, 
and is representative of the element that 
stands for the best in city life. 

Frank B. Trout is a son of Adam Rut- 
ter and Salome (Lefevre) Trout (q. v.), 
and was born in Lancaster, Pennsyl- 
vania. November 24, 1851. The public 
schools furnished him with his early edu- 
cation, and his first employment was in a 
grocer's establishment, after which he be- 
came identified with the calling that 



claimed his early manhood, bookbinding. 
He served an apprenticeship with George 
Wiatt, under his instruction developing 
especial ability in artistic gilt work, and 
when a journeyman in his trade was for 
six months in charge of the State Bindery 
at Harrisburg, and then accepted a posi- 
tion in the employ of the United States 
Government at Washington. For nine 
years Mr. Trout remained in this place 
as a department head, then went to Phil- 
adelphia, where he was connected with 
the Holden Bible Publishing Company 
and the well-known house of J. B. Lippin- 
cott, his service with both concerns in 
the capacity of foreman. 

In 1881 Mr. Trout returned to his home 
city of Lancaster, and has here since been 
in active business in several lines, pros- 
perity attending his efforts in each. As 
a member of the firm of Trout & Shank 
he engaged in the manufacture of shirts, 
operated a laundry, and conducted a 
gentlemen's furnishing store, subsequent- 
ly forming an alliance with the brokerage 
firm, Bachman & Company. In 1905 he 
embarked in cigar manufacturing, at the 
same time entering the retail trade, at- 
tracting a generous patronage to the es- 
tablishment he now owns, "The Every- 
body Cigar Store." In addition to his 
private enterprises Mr. Trout has had 
financial interest in several Lancaster and 
Lancaster county business and industrial 
projects that have been of sufficient sta- 
bility and promise to warrant such sup- 
port, and entertains a live and cordial in- 
terest in the welfare of all of the business 
institutions of the locality. He is owner 
of the Trout Building and the Colonial 
Theatre, of Lancaster, and is likewise a 
candy manufacturer and retailer of the 
city. His business record is an open book, 
every transaction marked by fairness and 
strict accord with probity and honor. 
Popular good will is the result of a career 
unmarred by business irregularity of 

any kind, and since in several instances 
his business has been solely dependent 
upon universal favor, this has been one 
of his greatest assets. 

Mr. Trout has found opportunity to 
indulge a deep seated love for travel, and 
in out-of-door exercise and sport finds the 
most pleasurable relaxation. He is a 
member of the Lancaster Road Drivers' 
Association, the Lancaster Country Club, 
the County Golf Club, and the Hamilton 
Club, while his fraternal affiliations are 
with the Masonic order and the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks. In 
religious belief he is a Presbyterian. A 
lifelong supporter of the Republican 
party and prominent in its councils, Mr. 
Trout has found little time from business 
pursuits for political activity or public 
service, but for sixteen years was a mem- 
ber of the Lancaster School Board. In 
every relation of business and civil life 
he has, in brief, faithfully performed 
every duty, and has held to a high stand- 
ard of citizenship. 

KEHLER, Henry Neff, 

Enterprising Citizen. 

Bearing the name of his honored father, 
Henry Neff Kehler, of Columbia, is de- 
scended in the third generation from 
Joshua Kehler, of Strasburg, Pennsyl- 
vania, through his son, Joshua (2) and his 
wife, Anna Neff, and their son, Henry 
Neff Kehler (i). Mr. Kehler's active life 
began as his father's assistant in agri- 
cultural operations, and from 1890 un- 
til 1907 he was connected successively 
with three of the leading financial insti- 
tutions of the locality, the Columbia 
Trust Company, the People's Trust Com- 
pany, and the Lancaster Trust Company, 
the first of Columbia, the last two of Lan- 
caster. Upon the death of the elder Keh- 
ler, Henry Neff Kehler Jr. assumed the 
management of the homestead farm in 



West Hempfield township, Lancaster 
county, and has since conducted general 
farming operations thereon, including 
dairying, grain raising, and tobacco cul- 
ture. Mr. Kehler, although he has made 
agricultural pursuits his chief interest for 
the past eight years, retains several busi- 
ness and financial connections in Colum- 
bia, and is closely identified with the so- 
cial, educational, and religious activity 
of the town. 

Henry Nef¥ Kehler Jr. is a son of 
Henry Nefif Kehler, grandson of Joshua 
(2) Kehler, and great-grandson of Joshua 
Kehler. Maternally he is descended from 
Francis Neff, who in 1717 came from his 
Switzerland home to Manor township, 
Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, where 
he founded a family. Joshua (2) Kehler 
was born in Strasburg, Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania, October 15, 1782, and died 
on the homestead on the Lancaster and 
Columbia Turnpike, November 22, 1850. 
In his earlier years he followed the call- 
ing of miller, later becoming a hotel pro- 
prietor, and in 1810 he purchased a tract 
of one hundred and thirty-five acres on 
the Lancaster and Columbia Turnpike, 
where he resided until his death. His 
religious faith was the Mennonite, in polit- 
ical belief he was a Democrat, and until 
his death, at the age of sixty-eight years, 
he occupied a position of prominence 
among the prosperous farmers of the 
township. Joshua (2) Kehler married 
Anna Nefif, daughter of Henry and Anna 
(Oberholtzer) Nefif, of the family found- 
ed by the Swiss immigrant, Francis Nefif. 

Henry Nefif Kehler, only son of Joshua 
(2) and Anna (Nefif) Kehler, was born on 
the homestead in West Hempfield town- 
ship, Lancaster county, April 17, 1821, 
and there died May 14, 1907. He was 
educated in the schools in the vicinity of 
his birthplace, and as a young man be- 
gan farming with his father, continuing 

the cultivation of the home estate from 
the time of his father's death until the 
close of his own active lite. Mr. Kehler 
was for more than forty years a director 
of the First National Rank of Columbia, 
and was long interested in private bank- 
ing. He was a man of progressive mind 
and ideas, always striving for the ad- 
vancement of his community, and was 
highly esteemed by his fellows. His 
years, eighty-six, were years of well re- 
warded labor, of resultful endeavor, and 
during his long life his ways were di- 
rected so uprightly that he feared neither 
the criticism nor the judgment of those 
about him. He served on the ofificial 
board of the Presbyterian church of Co- 
lumbia, generously supporting all of its 
activities, and in politics affiliated with 
the Republican party. Henry Nefif Keh- 
ler married, February 23, 1871, Cather- 
ine Stewart Knox, born in September, 
1842, died October 22, 1905, daughter of 
John Hunter Knox, the family founded 
in the United States by John Knox, who 
came from Ballymoney, County Antrim, 
Ireland, in 1785. John Hunter Knox was 
a graduate of Milton Academy and Dick- 
inson College, was by profession a civil 
engineer, and served with distinction in 
the Union army in the Civil War, hold- 
ing the rank of captain of Company D, 
Eleventh Regiment Pennsylvania Volun- 

Henry Nefif (2) Kehler, only son of 
Henry Neff (i) and Catherine Stewart 
(Knox) Kehler, was born on the West 
Hempfield township homestead, Lancas- 
ter county, Pennsylvania, May 3, 1874. 
After a course in the local public schools 
he prepared at Lawrenceville for Prince- 
ton University, and was graduated from 
this institution C. E. in the class of 1897. 
Mr. Kehler was never active in his pro- 
fession, civil engineering, a calling that 
had claimed his maternal grandfather. 



John Hunter Knox, but became asso- 
ciated with his father in agriculture, in 
1890 accepting the position of teller in 
the Columbia Trust Company. In 1893 
he resigned from this office to become a 
general clerk in the People's Trust Com- 
pany, of Lancaster, in 1905 forming an 
association with the Lancaster Trust 
Company that endured until 1907. The 
death of Henry Neff Kehler Sr. in this 
year, caused Mr. Kehler to discontinue 
his relations with the financial interests 
of Lancaster, and since that time he has 
devoted himself to the cultivation of the 
homestead acres. His operations are 
general in character, a herd of cattle of 
excellent breed supporting a profitable 
dairy business, and he also raises to- 

Since January i, 1905, Mr. Kehler has 
been a member of the board of directors 
of the First National Bank of Columbia, 
and he serves the Eureka Box Company, 
of Columbia, in the same capacity. He 
was a school director of West Hempfield 
township from 1907 to 1910, is a Re- 
publican supporter, and, like his father, 
is closely connected with the work of the 
Columbia Presbyterian Church, holding 
the office of president of the board of 
trustees. His clubs are the Hamilton and 
Elks, of Lancaster ; and one of the many 
ways in which he evinces his ardent loy- 
alty to his alma niatcr is in his member- 
ship of the Princeton Club of Philadel- 
phia, one of the strongest of alumni or- 
ganizations. Mr. Kehler's citizenship is 
on the high level of that of his honored 
father, and his civil duties are faithfully 

Henry Nefif Kehler Jr. married, in 
April, 1907, Lucinda Hughes King, of 
Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania, and is the 
father of Henry Neff (3), born January 
2, 1910, and Catherine Elizabeth, born 
April 12, 1914. 

LOCHER, Grove, 

Frominent Manufacturer. 

The Park Run Tanning Company is 
the corporation that is the modern out- 
growth of the tanning business founded 
in 1849 by David P. Locher, father of 
Grove Locher, of Lancaster, the latter 
the president of the above named con- 
cern. After the death of the founder of 
this business, it was continued by his two 
sons, Robert E. and Grove, the latter the 
only survivor of the former partners. 
While Mr. Locher is well known in the 
business world of Lancaster, and gives 
to the company of which he is head his 
devoted and competent attention, it is 
doubtful whether the high rating and firm 
financial standing of the Park Run Tan- 
ning Company give him as great cause 
for satisfaction and pride as the owner- 
ship of two hundred and twenty acres of 
land in Manheim township, Lancaster 
county, comprising what is generally con- 
ceded to be the finest farm in all this 
county of rich agricultural property. 

Mr. Locher's family was founded in 
the United States by Henry Locher, who 
settled in Lancaster county, his home in 
what is now the east end of the city of 
Lancaster, near Witmer's Bridge, in the 
building of which he helped. He subse- 
quently purchased a farm of one thous- 
and acres in Maryland, but through an 
obscure title lost this desirable posses- 
sion, afterward becoming the owner of a 
large farm on the Hagerstown Pike, 
named "Scheibraken," in honor of his 
German home. Henry Locher was the 
owner of a tannery while a resident of 
Lancaster, and also from his native land 
brought some clover seed, becoming the 
first cultivator of that plant in the United 
States. Henry Locher was the father of 
several children, and from him descended 
Jacob Locher, grandfather of Grove 
Locher, of this record. 




Jacob Locher inherited the property 
on the Hagerstown Pike, and followed 
the calling of tanner, an occupation that 
had claimed his father and grandfather, 
;ind was also a currier. He was a soldier 
in a Maryland regiment in the War of 
1812, and after his marriage moved to 
Lancaster county, the first home of the 
American founder of his family, still later 
engaging in the leather trade in Harris- 
burg, Pennsylvania. Jacob Locher mar- 
ried Mary Grove, daughter of a Maryland 
landowner, and farmer of large property, 
and died in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. 
They w^ere the parents of George W., Eliz- 
abeth, Katherine, and David P., of whom 

David P., son of Jacob and Mary 
(Grove) Locher, was born in Shepherds- 
town, Virginia (now West Virginia), on 
the bank of the Potomac river, in July, 
1827. He accompanied his parents to 
Lancaster county, and in early life be- 
came a tanner, establishing in this line 
on South Prince street in 1849, operating 
a small tannery at this location for two 
years, at the end of this time replacing 
his first building with one of much larger 
dimensions, here doing business until 
1868. In 1876 David P. Locher purchased 
another tannery on South Prince street, 
enlarging and altering the same, and con- 
tinued its operation until his death, Feb- 
ruary II, 1884, at the age of fifty-seven 
years. Mr. Locher was the owner of a 
valuable and fertile farm in Manheim 
township, and here gratified his passion 
for the possession and breeding of blood- 
ed stock, owning the first herd in Lan- 
caster county of Alderney cattle of pure 
strain and having an unusually fine stable 
of Hambletonian horses, his stock for 
years the only stable in the county. He 
was a gentleman who constantly held the 
regard of his fellows, and delighted in the 
unchanging loyalty of a host of friends. 
He married, in November, 1848, Clemen- 

tine Matilda Evans, daughter of Robert 
Evans, a merchant of Lancaster, Pennsyl- 
vania, and had four sons, Charles H., 
Robert E., Grove, of whom further, and 

Grove Locher, son of David P. and 
Clementine Matilda (Evansj Locher, 
was born January 12, 1864, and after at- 
tendance at private schools entered Naza- 
reth Hall Academy, at Nazareth, Penn- 
sylvania. His record at this institution 
was most brilliant, for he completed the 
work of seven years in four, was awarded 
the Centennial Medal, and was graduated 
at the age of fifteen years. He was after- 
ward a student at Yeates Institute and at 
Franklin and Marshall College, in 1882 
becoming associated in business with his 
father in the tanning business, a line with 
which the family has been identified since 
the arrival of the immigrant, Henry 
Locher. Upon the death of David P. 
Locher in 1884, Charles H. and his 
brother, Robert E., succeeded to the own- 
ership thereof, and until 1897 continued 
the business as Locher Brothers, incor- 
poration being made in this year as the 
Park Run Tanning Company, of which 
Robert E. Locher was the head, and 
Grove Locher vice-president and general 
manager. Mr. Locher succeeded to the 
presidency of the company upon the 
death of his brother, Robert E. Locher, 
and at this time is its active head, the 
principle product of the tannery is sole 
leather, which is shipped over a wide 

Mr. Locher's farm in Manheim town- 
ship is devoted to general agricultural 
operations, the rich soil producing to a 
remarkable extent. His pride in its pos- 
session and in the leading position it oc- 
cupies is natural and needs no apology, 
and its wealth and fertility has not dimin- 
ished since the days when it was owned 
by his honored father. His farm is a de- 
sirable one not alone for the great pro- 



ductivity of the soil, for its location and 
physical aspects make it a most attrac- 
tive estate. Mr. Locher is a member of 
the Hamilton Club and the Lancaster 
Country Club, of Lancaster, the Manu- 
facturers' and the Merion Cricket, of 
Philadelphia, and the Pennsylvania So- 
ciety of New York. 

He married, in 1890, Lillie Elizabeth 
Hershey, daughter of Samuel L. and Ma- 
tilda (Frantz) Hershey, of Philadelphia. 

BAER, Reuben A., 

Journalist, Enterprising Citizen. 

It is in the form of a tribute more than 
deserved that the pages of history are 
turned back to a period in the latter part 
of the past century, when there was com- 
pleted the life work of Reuben A. Baer. 
Some there will be who peruse this brief 
review of his life and works who will 
read into every word and between every 
line an understanding born of past 
friendship and love, and all will find the 
story of a man strong in temporal things, 
blessed in spiritual wisdom, who, during 
a long and busy career, gave first place 
to those duties and obligations which 
concerned his responsibility for his fel- 

Reuben A. Baer belonged to a family 
whose residence in this country dates 
from 1730, Switzerland the original home 
of the line. He was a grandson of An- 
drew Baer and a son of John Baer, the 
early generations of the family members 
of the Mennonite church. John Baer, a 
native of Lancaster county, Pennsyl- 
vania, early in life learned the printer's 
trade, and as a young man of twenty-one 
years of age began the publication of a 
journal called the "Volksfreund," in Lan- 
caster. A few years afterward he pur- 
chased the "Beobachter," and combined 
the two papers under the title "Volks- 
freund and Beobachter," a periodical that 

became well known in Lancaster county 
and the surrounding region. John Baer 
in 1819 published the first German Bible 
printed in this country, and shortly after- 
ward began the publication of "Baer's 
Almanac," which gained widespread 
popularity and profitable circulation over 
a wide extent of territory. The business 
founded by John Baer, and in which he 
was associated with William Greer, was 
upon his death continued by his sons, C. 
Rine and Reuben A. Baer. Of the three 
other sons of John Baer, Charles A. be- 
came a minister of the Lutheran church, 
Captain Benjamin F. gained eminence in 
the law, and John A. was a business man 
of New York. 

Reuben A. Baer was born in Lancaster, 
Pennsylvania, April 4, 1823, died in that 
city, December 2, 1897. In young man- 
hood, after enjoying excellent educational 
advantages through attendance at private 
schools and at Franklin College, he be- 
came apprenticed to the printer's trade 
in the establishment of his father. The 
elder Baer in 1854 admitted his two sons, 
Reuben A. and C. Rine, to partnership 
in the printing business under the firm 
name, John Baer & Sons. This associa- 
tion continued for but four years when 
the death of John Baer made the two 
brothers sole owners of the business, 
which they continued as John Baer's 
Sons. In the division of responsibility in 
the new arrangement, C. Rine Baer took 
charge of the business department and 
the large book store, which was one of 
the most extensive and important in the 
State, Reuben A. Baer becoming head of 
the printing and editorial branch, for 
many years continuing as editor of the 
"Volksfreund and Beobachter." His 
paper continued in popularity and in- 
fluence during the years in which he was 
its moving spirit, and he carefully fost- 
ered its reputation for reliability, accuracy 
and clean journalism. In the editorial 



articles that came from his pen he was 
forceful and decided in expression and 
opinion, but always with regards for the 
rights of others and the absolute facts. 
"Baer's Almanac" is to this day a regular 
visitor to a large number of homes 
throughout that locality, and for the pub- 
lication of that work Mr. Baer was main- 
ly responsible. 

Mr. Baer's interest in the projects 
pointing toward the benefit and develop- 
ment of the county was too strong to per- 
mit him to become solely absorbed in his 
personal affairs. He was a director of 
several turnpike companies, director of 
the Farmers' National Bank, and was 
financially concerned in numerous other 
enterprises in the vicinity of his home. 

Ranked according to the place it held 
in his heart and given its proper place in 
proportion to the share of his time and 
devotion it claimed, nothing in his en- 
tire life would hold a place of greater 
importance than his religious experience. 
He was active in the organization of the 
congregation of Grace Evangelical Lu- 
theran Church, of Lancaster, long super- 
intending the work of the Sunday school 
of that church, and was one of the oldest 
members of Holy Trinity Lutheran 
Church. For many years he was a trus- 
tee of Holy Trinity, a life member of the 
vestry, vice-president of that body, and 
chairman of one of its most important 
standing committees, remaining an officer 
until declining health compelled him to 
refuse reelection. 

The death of Reuben A. Baer came 
after long weeks of failing strength. The 
years have given, in the place of the uni- 
versal sorrow of friends and the poignant 
grief of those close to him, a sense of 
gratitude for such a life, a sincere joy in 
the teaching and example of a life of 
such rectitude. It was the privilege of 
his pastor to come into even closer touch 
with him than the intimate relations of 

pastor to a loyal church officer and sup- 
porter, and the following quotation is 
from a memorial penned by him at the 
time of Mr. Baer's death, expressive of 
the esteem of the vestry : 

We desire to express our rejoicing in the tri- 
umphant Christian faith which so unfalteringly 
sustained his soul amid the days of the breaking 
up of his physical powers, and in the hour of his 
calm and willing departure. We would also 
cordially bear our emphatic testimony to the 
stainless integrity of his high moral character, 
his sterling honor and exemplary uprightness as 
a business man, which have been proverbial in 
this community for a half a century, his purity 
of heart and his utter abhorrence of the personal 
vices so alarmingly prevalent in our day. We 
shall ever cherish his memory as a man who did 
not divorce morality and religion, but with the 
strictest probity of conduct as a citizen in all his 
eminent positions of trust and influence, he con- 
joined an humble devoutness of soul, a deep 
and abiding hunger for the spiritual food of the 
Divine Word, and a lifelong interest in the 
progress of the church. * * * We shall miss 
his genial presence and the wise counsel of his 
good judgment. * * * 

Reuben A. Baer married Mary L. Har- 
man, daughter of Daniel and Susannah 
(Herbst) Harman. She is a devout mem- 
ber of the Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, 
a trustee of that church, and a liberal 
contributor to its maintenance and 

GRADY, Charles A., 

Constructing Bnilder, Financier. 

At the time of his death chiefly identi- 
fied in business as the representative of 
the Pennsylvania Construction Company 
and of the Art Metal Construction Com- 
pany, his field of authority covering three 
states, Charles A. Grady nevertheless had 
numerous interests that centered in the 
place of his birth, Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania, and at Marietta, in this 
county, maintained his residence. Since 
1839, when Adam Grady came to Penn- 



sylvania from his home in Hesse-Cassel, 
Germany, the line has been one well 
known in Lancaster county, his son, John 
Grady, father of Charles A. Grady, offer- 
ing his services to the Union cause from 
Pennsylvania and serving through the 
war. Charles A. Grady was a repre- 
sentative of the third American gener- 
ation, and spent an active and useful life, 
which terminated March 12, 1915, short- 
ly before the completion of his forty-sev- 
enth year. 

After the settlement of Adam Grady in 
Marietta, in 1839, he made that place his 
home until his death, which occurred in 
1888. His wife, Catharine Helwick, was 
a native of the locality in Germany that 
was his birthplace. She bore him chil- 
dren : Catharine ; John, of whom further ; 
Harry C. ; Anna, married Christian 
Troube ; and Frederick. 

John Grady, son of Adam and Cathar- 
ine (Helwick) Grady, was born in Mari- 
etta, Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, 
November 7, 1840, and died December 7, 
1913. From the time of the completion 
of his education, which was obtained in 
the district schools, until the call of 
President Lincoln for volunteers, he was 
engaged in farming, and when war be- 
came the sole solution of the problems 
that threatened destruction to the Union 
he entered the army as a wagonmaster. 
From Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, he was 
sent to Hagerstown, Maryland, then be- 
coming attached to the Army of the Po- 
tomac, with which division of the Union 
forces he remained in the capacity in 
which he had enlisted until 1863. In this 
year he went to the front as a private in 
Company K, 199th Regiment Pennsyl- 
vania Volunteer Infantry, and so served 
until his honorable discharge at the close 
of the war, being mustered out at Rich- 
mond, Virginia. Upon his return to his 
Marietta home he undertook tobacco cul- 
ture, his operations in this line continuing 

with excellent success until 1885, from 
which date for many years he was pro- 
prietor of a livery, prospering in his deal- 
ings. John Grady was held in favorable 
esteem by his townsmen, entered actively 
into public life, and for seven terms filled 
the office of supervisor of East Donegal 
township, Lancaster county, also per- 
forming the duties of tax collector for one 
term. He held in remembrance the asso- 
ciations of war days by membership in 
the William L. Childs Post, Grand Army 
of the Republic, and held fraternal con- 
nections with the Junior Order of United 
American Mechanics and the Improved 
Order of Red Men. In religious faith he 
was a member of the Reformed church. 
He married (first) in 1866, Mary A. 
Hartman; (second) in 1892, Mrs. Lucinda 
(Sherbahn) Shafner, daughter of Benja- 
min Sherbahn, a brick manufacturer of 
Maytown, Pennsylvania. Children, both 
of his first marriage: Charles A., of 
whom further; Tillie A., married E. E. 

Charles A. Grady, only son of John and 
Mary A. (Hartman) Grady, was born in 
Marietta, Lancaster county, Pennsyl- 
vania, May 26, 1868. As a youth he at- 
tended the public schools of Marietta, 
and, his studies over, learned the trade of 
moulder. He was associated with the 
Pennsylvania Construction Company, 
and was the representative of the Art 
Metal Construction Company, of James- 
town, New York. His duties comprised 
the supervision of the operations of these 
companies in three states, a responsible 
position he most capably filled. The 
large contracts of the companies with 
which he was connected include all forms 
of modern construction, and Mr. Grady 
was in charge of the erection of numerous 
public buildings. The family home is a 
handsome residence in Marietta, and in 
the life of the city, financial, fraternal, 
and social, he was as active as his other 



interests would permit. He was a mem- 
ber of the boards of directors of the Ex- 
change Bank of Marietta and of the Mari- 
etta and Mount Joy Turnpike Company, 
and was prominent in Masonic circles, 
holding the thirty-second degree. Ancient 
Accepted Scottish Rite, his lodge being 
Marietta, No. 398, his consistory Harris- 
burg; he was also a member of Zembo 
Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of 
Harrisburg. His other fraternal orders 
were the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, and the Knights of Pyth- 
ias, and he belonged to the Hamilton 
and Republican clubs, of Lancaster, 
Pennsylvania. Though never the in- 
cumbent of public office, Mr. Grady was 
long active in the Republican organiza- 
tion of the county and State, and ren- 
dered valuable and important service to his 
party. His counsel was sought and re- 
garded by his political associates, and to 
affairs of party he devoted much of his 
time. In the varied fields in which his 
influence and personality made them- 
selves felt he became the center of a wide 
circle of friends, and in all ways was well 
regarded by his fellows. 

Charles A. Grady married, July 21, 
1889, Mary Conklin Heidler, daughter of 
H. H. Heidler, a merchant of Columbia. 

KLOPP, Henry I., M. D., 

Physician, Hospital Superintendent. 

Dr. Henry I. Klopp, superintendent of 
State Homoeopathic Hospital for the In- 
sane at Allentown, Pennsylvania, who 
has been serving in that capacity since 
March 25, 1912, discharging his duties 
with efificiency and thoroughness, gain- 
ing the approbation of all interested 
therein, is a worthy representative of a 
family of German origin, the ancestors 
being among the early settlers of Berks 
county, Pennsylvania, and who were ac- 


tive factors in its development and prog- 

John Adam Klopp, son of the ancestor 
aforementioned, was a native of Berks 
county, Pennsylvania, born 1779, a farmer 
by occupation, and a man of influence in 
the community. He married Sarah Key- 
ser, born 1783, died 1843, aged sixty years, 
two months, twenty-five days. She bore 
him nine children, namely : Samuel, Ben- 
neville, Adam C, of whom further, Eli, 
Jonathan, Benjamin, John, Sarah, mar- 
ried John Conrad, Eliza, married John 
Sheetz. He died in 1844, aged sixty-four 
years, nine months, four days. 

Adam C. Klopp, son of John Adam 
Klopp, was born in Berks county, Penn- 
sylvania, January 27, 1820, died February, 
1901, aged eighty-one years and eight 
days. He was a farmer in early life, but 
later became a lumber and coal dealer at 
Stouchsburg, Berks county, and at Sheri- 
dan, Lebanon county, Pennsylvania. He 
was a man of honor and integrity, con- 
ducted his business transactions in a cap- 
able manner, and achieved a large degree 
of success. He was an active member of 
the Reformed church, serving as elder, 
deacon and trustee, and a staunch Re- 
publican in politics. He married, in 
1842, Sarah Loose, daughter of John and 
Magdalena (Fisher) Loose, also of Leba- 
non county, Pennsylvania, who bore him 
five children, three of whom grew to 
maturity, namely : Jerome, of whom fur- 
ther ; Adam C, who became a member of 
the firm of A. C. Klopp's Sons ; Rebecca 

Jerome Klopp, son of Adam C. Klopp, 
was born on the farm in Marion town- 
ship, Berks county, Pennsylvania, De- 
cember 20, 1843, died July 4, 1909. He 
was reared on his father's farm in Jack- 
son township, and his educational train- 
ing was obtained by attendance at the 
public schools of the neighborhood and 
at the academies in Stouchburg and My- 


erstown. Pie began his business career 
by accepting a position as teacher, in 
which capacity he served for three years, 
and then settled on a farm where he re- 
mained eight years. At the expiration 
of this period of time he entered into part- 
nership with his father and brother in 
the firm of A. C. Klopp & Sons, conduct- 
ing business at Stouchsburg, and later 
made his home at Sheridan, where a 
branch of the business was established. 
Upon the death of the father, the style 
was changed to A. C. Klopp's Sons, 
which was one of the leading firms in 
grain, coal and lumber in Lebanon 
county, their success being the result of 
good business management, straightfor- 
ward dealings and progressive ideas. Mr. 
Klopp was a leading member of the Re- 
formed church, in which he served as 
deacon and secretary ; took a leading part 
in the councils and affairs of the Re- 
publican party, and was a member of the 
Knights of Pythias of Myerstown, and of 
the Golden Rule Lodge of Good Fellows, 
of Stouchsburg. 

Mr. Klopp married, December 25, 1866, 
Eliza Catharine Groh, daughter of Josiah 
and Mary (Loose) Groh, prominent resi- 
dents of Berks county, who were the 
parents of three other children, name- 
ly: Samuel H., married Susan Huyert; 
Amelia, married Adam Huyert; Alice, 
married George Hain. Mr. and Mrs. 
Klopp were the parents of four children, 
namely: Henry I., of whom further; 
Charles G., married Mary A. Smith ; Min- 
nie O., a graduate of Albright College, 
class of 1899; Anna M., deceased. 

Dr. Henry I. Klopp, son of Jerome 
Klopp, was born on his father's home- 
stead in Jackson township, Lebanon 
county, Pennsylvania, January i, 1870. 
He attended the public schools in the vil- 
lage of Stouchsburg, and the knowledge 
thus obtained was supplemented by at- 
tendance at Palatinate College, now Al- 

bright College, Myerstown, Pennsyl- 
vania. He then turned his attention to 
gaining a knowledge of telegraphy and 
when competent accepted a position with 
the Cornwall railroad. In the spring of 
1886, he accepted a position as night oper- 
ator with the Philadelphia & Reading 
railroad, at Sheridan, Pennsylvania ; 
three months later was appointed day 
operator and assistant agent, which posi- 
tion he held up to the time of entering 
medical college. 

For a period of two years his evenings 
were devoted to the study of medicine in 
the office of a distant relative. Dr. Calvin 
L. Klopp, in his home village; in 1891 he 
matriculated at Hahnemann Medical 
College and Hospital in Philadelphia, 
from which he was graduated in May, 
1894, ranking second in his class for 
marks. Immediately after he substituted 
during the summer for Dr. Rink, of Burl- 
ington, New Jersey. The latter part of 
the same year entered the Homoeopathic 
Hospital at Reading, Pennsylvania, as 
resident physician, where he remained 
until February, 1895, when he was oflfered 
a position as junior assistant physician in 
connection with the Westboro State Hos- 
pital, Westboro, Massachusetts; in 1898 
became first assistant physician and in 
1903 received the appointment of assist- 
ant superintendent. For ten months pre- 
vious and on other occasions during the 
illness of the superintendent. Dr. George 
S. Adams, he acted as superintendent, ful- 
filling the duties of that charge in a way 
that brought commendation from his su- 

On February 17, 1912, he was appoint- 
ed superintendent of the Homoeopathic 
State Hospital for the Insane at Allen- 
town, assuming charge March 25, 1912. 
This institution, located about three miles 
from Allentown, Lehigh county, Pennsyl- 
vania, was established by Act No. 737, 
Pennsylvania Legislature, July 18, 1901, 



for the care and treatment under Homoeo- 
pathic management of the insane for 
the counties of Bradford, Bucks, Carbon, 
Lackawanna, Lehigh, Monroe, North- 
ampton, Pike, Sullivan, Susquehanna, 
Wayne and Wyoming. The real estate 
consists of 208.76 acres of land, upon 
which are erected the administration 
buildings, ward buildings, and power 
y plant, all completely equipped with steam 

heat, electric light, a sewerage disposal 
plant, reservoir and pumping station. The 
hospital was turned over to the board of 
trustees by the building commission 
July 2, 1912. The control of the institu- 
tion is vested in a board of nine trustees 
appointed by the Governor. The hospital 
was opened for the reception of patients, 
October 3, 1912. It has a capacity of one 
thousand patients, and there are nine 
hundred and fifty patients there at the 
present time (1914). The average cost of 
maintenance approximates a weekly per 
capita allowance of $2.50 from the State 
and $1.75 from counties, a total of $4.25 
per week. 

Dr. Klopp is a member of the Amer- 
ican Institute of Homoeopathy ; Massa- 
chusetts State Homoeopathic Medical 
Society ; Lehigh Valley Homoeopathic 
Medical Society ; Worcester County 
(Massachusetts) Homoeopathic Medical 
Society; American Medico-Psychological 
Association ; Patriotic Order Sons of 
America ; Free and Accepted Masons, 
I affiliating with lodge, chapter, command- 

K ery, all Scottish Rite bodies with the ex- 

ception of the consistory ; Lehigh Valley 
Country Club, and the German Reformed 

Dr. Klopp married, December 28, 1898, 
Bessie L. Stump, daughter of Henry W. 
and Emma C. (Groflf) Stump, of Stouchs- 
burg, Berks county, Pennsylvania, and 
their children are: Russell I., born April 
30, 1900; Dorothy E., born February 27, 

PEACOCK, Jacob S., 

Mannfactnrer, Enterprising Citizen. 

Schooled in manufacturing by his 
father and for eleven years associated 
in business with his honored parent as 
an iron manufacturer, Jacob S. Peacock 
in later life embarked independently in 
business, organized and guided to pros- 
perity the Union Lock and Hardware 
Company, relinquished his ownership in 
this concern, and at the present time is 
president, general manager, and active 
head of the Carbon Steel Casting Com- 
pany. The reputation of this company, 
the organization and mechanism of which 
will be treated more fully in following 
pages, places it among the leaders of pro- 
gressive, modern, and firmly established 
corporations, and in many ways it repre- 
sents an ideal for which Mr. Peacock has 
striven throughout his business life. 
Jacob S. Peacock has gained prominent 
position in the life of the city of Lancas- 
ter aside from his importance in the field 
of business, and is known and sought 
after in social and fraternal circles. The 
home of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks in Lancaster is largely the 
result of the energetic interest Mr. Pea- 
cock has in that organization, and with 
all that touches the public welfare he is 
in close sympathy and accord. 

Mr. Peacock's family was founded by 
John Peacock, a native of Scotland, whose 
son, John (2) Peacock, married 9th mo. 
2, 1723, Elizabeth, daughter of Zachariah 
Prickitt. Zachariah Prickitt, the pro- 
genitor of the Prickitt family, was a large 
landowner of Northampton, Burlington 
county. New Jersey, where his will was 
probated March 14, 1727, this document 
mentioning his sons and daughters, 
among the latter the wife of John (2) 
Peacock. John (2) and Elizabeth (Prick- 
itt) Peacock were married by John Gos- 
ling, justice of Northampton, and were 



the parents of six sons and four daugh- 

Adonijah Peacock, third son of John 
(2) Peacock, was born 8th mo. 5, 1724. 
He married Elizabeth Springer and had 
a family of fourteen sons and daughters, 
nearly all of them marrying, several mov- 
ing to different parts of the country, 
south and west, one, Jacob, going to 

Thomas Peacock, son of Adonijah and 
Elizabeth (Springer) Peacock, was born 
July 7, 1762, and died in Reading, Penn- 
sylvania, in 1828, a resident of that city 
at his death. Throughout the greater 
part of his life he was in business as a 
manufacturer of cut nails, an industry 
that was destroyed by the introduction 
of machinery in 1815 for nail making. 
The northern part of the State was the 
field in which he disposed of his com- 
modity, and from 1815 until just prior to 
)iis death he engaged in boating on the 
Schuylkill Canal. He was the owner of 
several boats, which on the down trip 
from Reading to Philadelphia were laden 
with coal, returning with a cargo of mer- 
chandise for points up the canal. Thomas 
Peacock married Margaret Orth, of Har- 
risburg, Pennsylvania, born in 1791, died 
in 1874, who bore him eleven children. 

Alexander Hamilton Peacock, son of 
Thomas and Margaret (Orth) Peacock, 
was born in Reading, Pennsylvania, June 
26, 1821, and died in 1897. As a youth 
he attended private school in the place 
of his birth, and after the death of his 
father conducted the boating business on 
the canal for thirteen years with good 
success. This calling he had undertaken 
at an early age, and from 1847 until 1863 
he was the proprietor of a general mer- 
cantile establishment in Reading, a ven- 
ture that likewise met with a favorable 
outcome. For the next two and one- 
half years he was a member of the firm 
of Hunter & Peacock, iron manufacturers 

of Mosalem, Berks county, Pennsylvania, 
this same firm also operating a forge in 
Oley township, in the same county, a 
property formerly owned by Jacob K. 
Spang. In 1867 Mr. Peacock took over 
the Conestoga blast furnace in Lancaster, 
and as a member of the firm of Thomas & 
Peacock operated it until the death of 
Mr. Thomas in 1879. The interest of the 
deceased partner fell to his son, Robert 
C. Thomas, the firm name being changed 
to Peacock & Thomas, and under the 
leadership of Mr. Peacock the business 
experienced a period of growth that far 
exceeded the most hopeful expectations. 
The Hematite ore used in the Conestoga 
furnace was mined on land in Lancaster 
county owned by Peacock & Thomas. 
Mr. Peacock was a director of the Penn- 
sylvania Iron Company, and in addition 
to his private business enterprises was 
interested in furnaces and mining prop- 
erty throughout the State. Among his 
leading outside connections was his share 
in the ownership of the Howard Iron 
Works in Center county, Pennsylvania, 
which he held from 1872 to 1879, and he 
was also one of the incorporators and 
president of the Lancaster & Reading 
Narrow Gauge railroad, built in 1872. 
Fle married, in 1849, Charlotte K., daugh- 
ter of Jacob K. Spang, the well known 
iron manufacturer of Berks county, Penn- 
sylvania, and had issue : William S., 
Henry W., Anne, Edward, Jacob S., of 
whom further; Sarah M., Charles L. 

Jacob S. Peacock, son of Alexander 
Hamilton and Charlotte K. (Spang) Pea- 
cock, was born in Reading, Pennsylvania, 
July 22, 1856. He obtained his education 
in the schools of Reading, Mosalem and 
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, in the last named 
city attending high school. He also 
studied under the direction of a private 
tutor, and when his academic pursuits 
were completed he became associated 
with his father in the management of the 



elder Peacock's interests in Center 
county, Pennsylvania. Here he remained 
until 1876, when he journeyed to Vene- 
zuela, South America, and was employed 
in gold mines south of the Orinoco river, 
spending a year in this locality. Return- 
ing to Lancaster, he was for eleven years 
his father's business partner, and on July 
I, 1890, organized the Union Lock and 
Hardware Company, of which he became 
president and general manager, James D. 
Landis filling the offices of secretary and 
treasurer. Until 1901 this company en- 
joyed a prosperous existence, and in No- 
vember of that year Mr. Peacock pur- 
chased the interests of those associated 
with him in the enterprise, remaining sole 
owner until June of the following year, 
when he sold the entire business. Im- 
mediately after the completion of this 
deal he organized the Carbon Steel Cast- 
ing Company, Incorporated, furnishing 
the capital necessary for such action. 
After securing as heads of the diflferent 
departments of the works men in whose 
ability and integrity he placed confident 
reliance, he put into operation a plan upon 
which he had expended much careful 
thought, and gave to the heads of the 
departments a large share of the capital 
stock, without expense to them. Other 
noted manufacturers and business men 
have joined Mr. Peacock in instituting 
such a system, the inauguration of which 
showed him a deep student of human 
nature as well as of economics. His plan 
included not only a bestowal of the bene- 
fits, but likewise an apportionment of the 
responsibility of management, and the 
success of the arrangement can best be 
gauged by the present high financial rat- 
ing of the corporation and the complete- 
ness of its organization. Mr. Peacock 
remains at the head of this company, and 
is surrounded by a capable corps of as- 
sistants to whom the welfare and growth 
of the business is no less vital than to 

him, and who are his loyal and devoted 
supporters in all that he proposes. His 
position in manufacturing circles in Lan- 
caster is one of eminence and importance, 
and as a citizen he stands for all that is 
best and worthy. 

He is a communicant of Trinity Luth- 
eran Church, and is a life and honorary 
member of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks of Lancaster, this order in 
great measure indebted to him for its 
splendid home on North Duke street, his 
strenuous efforts in securing subscrip- 
tions therefor resulting in the necessary 
fund. His clubs are the Hamilton, Coun- 
try and Auto, of Lancaster, and he takes 
the greatest pleasure in out-of-door sports 
and recreation of all kinds. 

Jacob S. Peacock married, December 
II, 1890, Anna Deisley, daughter of John 
and Anna (Spotts) Deisley, of Lancaster, 
her father a prominent contractor and 
builder of that city. 

McGRANN, Frank, 

Prominent Ponltry Breeder. 

The two Pennsylvania generations of 
his family that have preceded Frank 
McGrann placed the family name high 
among successful railroad constructors 
and bridge builders, Richard McGrann 
and his son, Bernard J., making this their 
lifework. It has remained for Frank, son 
of Bernard J. and grandson of Richard 
McGrann, to place to its credit worthy 
achievement in another and far different 
line, and this he has done, attaining in 
youthful years prominence and prosper- 
ity as one of the leading poultry breeders 
of Pennsylvania. His poultry farm in 
Lancaster county has a more than local 
reputation, and his ceaseless experiment- 
ing and activity have made his name 
familiar among poultry fanciers the coun- 
try over. 

The American history of this old Irish 

PEN— Vol VI— 16 



family begins with the emigration from 
the land of his birth of Richard McGrann, 
in 1819, and its connection with Lancaster 
county dates from sixteen years later, 
when Richard McGrann made his home 
in Manheim township and there resided 
until his death in 1867, aged seventy-three 
years. In the field of railroad and public 
contracting he was well known and suc- 
cessful, his reputation based no less upon 
the integrity and fairness that marked all 
of his dealings than by the high grade and 
excellence of the work performed under 
his name. The bridge that spans the 
Schuylkill river at Chestnut street, Phila- 
delphia.^was built under his direction, and 
he was engaged in the construction of the 
Pennsylvania and Northern Central rail- 
road, the Erie railroad, the Pennsylvania 
railroad, and the Lehigh & Susquehanna 
railroad, his work on the last named road 
including the bridge across the Delaware 
river at Easton. It was while this struc- 
ture was in the course of erection that 
Richard McGrann's death occurred, but 
this work, as well as that on the State 
road between Lancaster and Philadelphia 
and on the Lehigh, Raritan, Union and 
Welland canals, stands to the long last- 
ing credit of his constructive skill and 
ability. There went into the operations 
awarded to him much of the strength and 
reliability of his own character, and he 
never feared to name his previous work 
as a recommendation for further orders. 
He was enterprising, resourceful and en- 
ergetic, and his industrious application 
brought him well deserved success. 

Richard McGrann married, prior to his 
immigration to the United States, Alice, 
(laughter of Bartley Sheridan, who died 
in 1848. They were the parents of eight 
children: The eldest died young; Brid- 
get, married Hugh Fitzpatrick; Richard; 
Elizabeth, married John McGovern ; 
John ; Alice R., married John T. Mc- 
Gonicle, at one time mayor of Lancaster, 

Pennsylvania ; Patrick F. Bernard ; and 
Bernard J., of whom further. 

Bernard J. McGrann, son of Richard 
and Alice (Sheridan) McGrann, and 
father of Frank McGrann, was born at 
the homestead, Grand View Farm, in 
Manheim township, Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania, June 24, 1837, and died 
after a life spent in the callings of his 
father, August 28, 1907. As a boy he at- 
tended the schools of Lancaster, later 
matriculating at Mount St. Mary's Col- 
lege, Emmitsburg, Maryland, where in 
1854 his education was completed. From 
this time until his father's death he was 
engaged in agricultural operations on the 
home estate, a beautiful homestead in 
Manheim township, then succeeding his 
father in membership in the banking firm 
of Reed, McGrann & Company, of Lan- 
caster, a concern founded ten years prior 
to the death of Richard McGrann. Subse- 
quently Bernard J. McGrann extended 
his business interests into the field in 
which the elder McGrann had won such 
high position, and was interested in the 
building of the Catawissa Extension rail- 
road to Williamsport, Pennsylvania, 
afterward grading a portion of the Bound 
Brook railroad, which extended into New 
Jersey. Among his later works were the 
bridge across the Delaware at Jenkin- 
town, and the Pittsburgh & Lake Erie 
railroad to Youngstown, Ohio, with a 
bridge over the Ohio river, built in 1878. 
In addition to his many and varied busi- 
ness interests, Bernard J. McGrann was 
a large real estate owner of Lancaster, 
his holdings including property in the 
city and valuable land throughout the 
county, not the least important of which 
was his attractive home estate. He was 
a director of the Conestoga National 
Bank, and president of the board of trus- 
tees of the Pennsylvania Industrial Re- 
formatory at Huntingdon, Pennsylvania. 
In the Democratic organization in the 




county and State he was an influential 
figure, active in all of the party move- 
ments and a leader in council, on one oc- 
casion the unsuccessful candidate of the 
Democratic party for State treasurer. His 
life just filled out man's allotted years, 
three score and ten, and into this period 
he placed attainment of wrorthy nature, 
rising to leading position among his fel- 
lows by virtue of compelling attributes of 
mind and character. He married, Janu- 
ary 3, 1872, Mary, widow of William F. 
Kelly and daughter of Philip Dougherty, 
of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. Bernard 
J. and Mary (Dougherty) (Kelly) Mc- 
Grann were the parents of two children, 
Richard Philip, and Frank, of whom fur- 

Frank McGrann was born on the home- 
stead in Manheim township, Lancaster 
county, Pennsylvania, November 13, 
1880. After completing a course in the 
public schools of Lancaster he entered 
Mercersburg Academy, Mercersburg, 
Pennsylvania, where he finished his stud- 
ies. After leaving school he became as- 
sociated with his father in agricultural 
pursuits, and upon reaching his majority 
was entrusted with the management of 
three of his father's farms, an arrange- 
ment that continued until the death of 
Bernard J. McGrann. At the present time 
Mr. McGrann gives his personal atten- 
tion to the cultivation of a farm of four 
hundred acres of the richest and most 
fertile land in the county, and his suc- 
cessful general operations have given him 
a place well to the fore among the agri- 
culturists of the region. 

A department of Mr. McGrann's oper- 
ations that exceeds all others in interest 
and which probably is nearer his heart 
than the wealth of his laden acres is his 
poultry farm. Here he has installed 
every modern device and invention for 
poultry breeding, and his black Minorca 
stock is known wherever poultry culture 

is attempted, while his other breeds are 
of the purest and most vigorous strains 
obtainable. As proof of Mr. McGrann's 
standing among those who give time and 
attention to this line is his presidency 
(1914) of the Pennsylvania Poultry 
Breeders' Association, also secretary of 
the Pennsylvania State Poultry Associa- 
tion, his successful endeavor in breeding 
having much to do with his election to 
these offices. Prior to the merging of the 
Lancaster County Society for the Preven- 
tion of Cruelty to Animals with the Lan- 
caster County Humane Society, he was 
president of the former organization, and 
he was one of the organizers and the first 
president of the latter society. Mr. Mc- 
Grann has also been president of the 
Federated Humane Societies of Pennsyl- 
vania, is a director of the Conestoga Na- 
tional Bank, of Lancaster, a member of 
the Lancaster Country Club, the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, the 
Knights of Columbus, and St. Mary's 
Roman Catholic Church. 

He married, October 30, 1907, Blanche 
E., daughter of Jacob H. Hebble, of Lan- 
caster, Pennsylvania. 

GRIEST, Major EUwood, 

Civil War Veteran, Jonrnalist. 

Major EUwood Griest was in every 
sense a self-made man. A journeyman 
blacksmith ; a country school teacher ; an 
Abolitionist of the most ultra type ; a 
military record in the service of the Union 
of great usefulness ; a journalistic career 
active and influential ; political promi- 
nence in the Republican party, and terms 
of service as county treasurer of Lancas- 
ter county and as postmaster of Lancas- 
ter City, are features of his well-remem- 
bered and distinguished career. 

Major EUwood Griest, son of William 
and Margaret Wiley Griest, was born at 
Griest's Fording, on the Octoraro creek. 



in West Nottingham township, Chester 
county, Pennsylvania, June 17, 1824. His 
mother, who was the daughter of Thomas 
and Catherine Wiley, died in 1861, but is 
yet remembered as a prominent minister 
of the Society of Friends. William Griest 
was also a member of the Society of 
Friends, and both he and his wife lie 
buried in the burial ground at Eastland 
Friends Meeting. William Griest's trade 
was that of a wheelwright, and his place 
of business was at Griest's Fording, on 
the Chester county side of the Octoraro 
creek. It was decided that his son Ell- 
wood should learn the trade of black- 
smithing, a kindred occupation, and he 
subsequently pursued his trade in Lan- 
caster, Chester and Delaware counties. 
Meantime, before the days of the present 
free school system in Pennsylvania, he 
taught school at Buckingham and other 
places in Little Britain township. After 
his marriage, in 1849, he located in the 
blacksmithing business in that part of 
Bart township, Lancaster county, which is 
now Eden, thence removing to Christi- 
ana, where he was conducting the black- 
smithing business when the furies of civil 
strife burst upon the country. 

In December, 1862, he became a citizen 
clerk at headquarters of the First Brigade 
(Shaler), Third Division, Sixth Corps, 
Army of the Potomac, remaining there 
until the following October. He was 
with the Army of the Potomac during 
the Chancellorsville campaign, the battle 
of Maryes Heights, Salem Church, the 
Gettysburg campaign, and Bristoe Sta- 
tion, October 14, 1863. On October 16, 
1863, near Chantilly, he was made a pris- 
oner of war by Colonel Mosby's guerillas, 
and was confined in Castle Thunder 
and other Richmond prisons until Janu- 
ary 30, 1864, when he was paroled and 
exchanged. Until August, 1864, he was 
assigned to duty at Johnson's Island, 

Lake Erie. On August 27, 1864, Presi- 
dent Lincoln issued to him a commission 
as captain in the United States volunteers 
and commissary of subsistence. After 
several months' service in Washington he 
was then assigned to duty with General 
Sheridan in the Army of the Shenandoah 
and Middle Military Division, with head- 
quarters at Winchester and Stevenson's 
Station, Virginia. He was with Sheridan 
and a member of his staff throughout the 
campaign in the Shenandoah Valley, and 
when General Sheridan was transferred 
to New Orleans, in the autumn of 1864, 
he personally requested of the War De- 
partment that Captain Griest be assigned 
to duty with him there. During the time 
that Captain Griest was connected with 
Sheridan's staflf, General Alexander Shal- 
er, who knew him well in the Army of the 
Potomac, and was now commanding the 
post of Columbus, Kentucky, made re- 
peated applications to have him assigned 
to duty on his staflf. These applications 
were at length referred by the Commis- 
sary General of Subsistence to General 
Sheridan, who returned them with the 
following endorsement. 

Headquarters Middle Military Division, 
Winchester, Va., December 14, 1864. 
Respectfully returned to the Commissary Gen- 
eral, with the remark that Captain Griest is an 
intelligent and efficient officer, whose services at 
this time, in this department, cannot very well 
be dispensed with. 

By order of 

Major General Sheridan. 
Jno. Kellogg, Col. and Chief C. S. 

Later Captain Griest was appointed 
depot commissary at Jacksonville, Flor- 
ida, where on May 11, 1866, he received 
his discharge from the service with the 
rank of brevet major. At this time he 
was urged to accept an appointment in 
the regular army of the United States, 
infantry branch, but declined to do so. 



In September, 1866, a vacancy occurred 
in the office of county treasurer of Lan- 
caster, by the death of Samuel Ensminger, 
and Major Griest was appointed county 

From early manhood Major Griest had 
been a prolific writer for the newspapers 
on the grave matters of public concern 
which then agitated the country, wielding 
a facile and forceful pen. Before his 
term as county treasurer expired, he be- 
came editor of the "Lancaster Inquirer," 
then owned by Stuart A. Wylie. In 1868, 
after he retired from office, the publishing 
and printing firm of Wylie & Griest was 
formed, and in the four years which inter- 
vened before the death of Mr. Wylie in 
1872, the most extensive printing busi- 
ness in interior Pennsylvania was estab- 
lished by this firm. After the death of 
his partner, Mr. Griest divorced himself 
from the printing end of the business and 
became the editor and proprietor of the 
"Inquirer," remaining so until his death 
twenty-eight years afterward. He was a 
fearless, outspoken editor — scathing in 
his denunciation of institutions, indi- 
viduals or parties, whose ends he consid- 
ered unworthy — and the principles which 
he upheld were always advocated with 
force and effect. His paper was a whole- 
some and widely read periodical, and the 
editorial articles that came from his pen 
were the utterances of a man thoroughly 
informed, sound in judgment, and sincere 
in statement and advocacy. 

In young manhood Major Griest was 
a strong supporter of the Abolitionist 
cause, participated in the original organ- 
ization of the Republican party, and dur- 
ing all his life was politically prominent. 
He frequently presided at county conven- 
tions of his party, and was a delegate to 
the first State Convention in 1856. In 
1868 he was a candidate for Congress, to 
succeed Thaddeus Stevens, withdrawing 


from the Congressional race in favor of 
O. J. Dickey. After Mr. Dickey's death, 
Major Griest was again a candidate for 
Congress, his successful opponent being 
A. Herr Smith, to whom victory was 
awarded after a close and exciting con- 
test, decided by a difference of fifty-seven 
votes. In 1888 he was a presidential 
elector. On December 11, 1890, he was 
appointed postmaster of Lancaster by 
President Harrison, and was again ap- 
pointed to this office by President Mc- 
Kinley on February 16, 1898, his death 
occurring while he was the incumbent 

Major Griest remained in the religious 
faith of his fathers, that of the Society of 
Friends, and was a member of Eastland 
Meeting, Little Britain township, Lan- 
caster county, Pennsylvania. He was a 
member of George H. Thomas Post, No. 
84, Grand Army of the Republic, and fra- 
ternized with Lodge No. 43, Free and 
Accepted Masons. His death occurred 
February 2, 1900. He was in all of his 
relations with his fellows considerate, 
courteous and upright, and by them he 
was highly regarded and respected, and 
with them he left the imprint of a forceful 

Major Ellwood Griest married Rebecca 
Walton, daughter of Asa Walton and his 
wife, Mary Taylor, of Bart township, 
Lancaster county, March 23, 1849. Three 
children resulted from this union — Asa 
Walton, who died September 17, 1852; 
Frank, a teacher and business man, who 
died March 5, 1910; and William Walton, 
who at the time of his father's death was 
Secretary of State for the Commonwealth 
of Pennsylvania, and at the date of this 
publication was serving his fourth term 
as Representative in Congress from the 
Ninth Congressional District of Pennsyl- 


BELL, Charles Herbert, 

Enterprising Business Man. 

Prominently identified with large mer- 
cantile interests of Philadelphia from his 
entrance into business, Mr. Bell has won 
honorable position in the flour business, 
a line of activity with which his family 
has been connected for many years. He 
is a native son of Philadelphia, and with 
the exception of his years at college and 
university has continuously resided in 
that city. He is a descendant of an an- 
cient family that appeared in New Eng- 
land as early as 1643, in Virginia in 1645, 
in New Jersey before 1680, and in Penn- 
sylvania about 1682. While the greater 
number of the early emigrants came to 
America from Edinburgh, Linlithgow, 
Paisley and Glasgow, in Scotland, some 
came from the north of England and Ire- 
land and some from the south of Ireland. 
Among the Bells of Scotland, Samuel, 
John, James, and William are almost uni- 
versal, the names enduring in the same 
family from generation to generation. 

Charles Herbert Bell was born in Phil- 
adelphia, October 16, 1877, son of Sam- 
uel Jr. and Ada A. (Rees) Bell, and 
grandson of Samuel Bell. Samuel Bell 
Jr. is yet actively engaged in business in 
Philadelphia, head of Samuel Bell & Sons, 
president of the Quaker City Flour Mills 
Company, vice-president of the Eighth 
National Bank, vice-president of the Mer- 
chants' Warehouse Company, a director 
of the Board of City Trusts, of the United 
Security Life Insurance and Trust Com- 
pany of Philadelphia, of the Philadelphia 
Rapid Transit Company, and of several 
mining, power and water companies. 

After graduation at Eastburn Academy 
in 1894, Charles H. Bell entered Haver- 
ford College, class of 1898, going thence 
to Harvard University, from which insti- 
tution he was graduated Bachelor of Arts, 
class of 1900. On his return to Phila- 

delphia he entered business life, engaging 
with his father, and has so continued until 
the present. He is treasurer of the 
Quaker City Flour Mills Company, one 
of the large flouring and milling concerns 
of the city, is secretary and treasurer of 
the Bufifalo Flour Milling Company, and 
vice-president of the Commercial Ex- 
change of Philadelphia. He has won his 
way to worthy place through successive 
promotion, and is one of the strong men 
of the companies in which he holds offi- 
cial position. Mr. Bell is a Republican 
in politics, but never has accepted public 
office. He is a member of old North 
(Broad Street) Presbyterian Church, in- 
terested in and a worker toward its pros- 
perity. His clubs are the Union League, 
the Racquet, Bachelors' Barge, Merion 
Cricket, and Philadelphia Cricket, and in 
these he finds social enjoyment and a 
means of indulging his love of out-of- 
door sports. He is unmarried. 

POTTS, William M., 

Civil Engineer, Financier. 

The name of Potts has figured promi- 
nently in Pennsylvania history for many 
generations. The family is of German 
origin, but the branch which has been so 
well known in Pennsylvania sprang from 
a stock that flourished in England for 
more than a hundred years before a scion 
was transplanted to the New World. 

The first representative of the famnj' 
in America was Thomas Potts Jr. Ht 
was born in Wales in 1680, came to Penn 
sylvania as a boy and settled in German- 
town. The subsequent history of the 
family is found in "A Memorial of 
Thomas Potts Jr." among the records of 
the Pennsylvania Historical Society. 

Joseph D. Potts, father of William M. 
Potts, was born at Springton Forge, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, December 
4, 1829. He became a civil engineer and 



was engaged in railroad work in Pennsyl- 
vania for many years, first as an engineer 
and then in official capacity. Pie was 
superintendent of the western division of 
the Pennsylvania railroad and president 
of the Western Transportation Company. 
In 1861 Governor Curtin appointed him 
en his active staff as lieutenant-colonel 
and chief of the transportation and tele- 
graph department of the State. He was 
active in the Civil War both as a soldier 
and in charge of the movement of troops, 
and after he returned to private life was 
president of and extensively interested in 
various transportation companies, one of 
which was the owner of a large fleet of 
propellers on the great lakes. Later he 
engaged in the manufacture of charcoal 
iron, which he continued until the time 
of his death in 1893. He married Mary 
McCleery. at Milton, Northumberland 
county, Pennsylvania. She was a de- 
scendant of the Scotch-Irish Covenanters 
who settled in that region of the State. 

William M. Potts was born in 1856, in 
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He also fol- 
lowed civil engineering, and was a grad- 
uate of the University of Pennsylvania 
in 1876. For a few years his business 
took him to Colorado and New Mexico, 
but in 1880 he returned to Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, and engaged in the iron 
business with his father. Upon the death 
of his father Mr. Potts was obliged to 
shoulder great responsibilities, but he met 
all demands made upon him with char- 
acteristic energy and business ability of 
a high order. Aside from this his own 
interests soon became varied and exten- 
sive until now he is identified with many 
enterprises as officer and director. He is 
president of the Enterprise Transit Com- 
pany, Midland Mining Company, Kewa- 
nee Oil and Gas Company, Lycoming 
Mining Company, vice-president of Tono- 
pah Belmont Development Company, Bel- 
mont Milling Company, Jim Butler Tono- 


pah Mining Company, Chester County 
Trust Company, Coatcsville Trust Com- 
pany, and director of the Tonopah & 
Goldfield Railroad Company, Nevada 
Wonder Mining Company, Esmeralda 
Power Company, Marion Oil Company, 
I. P. Morris Iron Works, and the Wil- 
liam Cramp & Sons Ship and Engine 
Building Company. 

Mr. Potts is a member of the Art, Uni- 
versity and Engineers' clubs, the Frank- 
lin Institute of Philadelphia, the Society 
of Mining Engineers, and is a trustee of 
the Presbyterian church. For many years 
he has been one of the board of managers 
of the Chester County Hospital, and 
many other worthy enterprises have 
claimed his attention. He is a man of 
large-hearted benevolence, and has been 
most generous in sharing his good for- 
tune with others as well as providing im- 
provements of various kinds to the com- 
munity in which he lives. He has built at 
his own expense a number of bridges 
and several miles of macadam roads. He 
has also been township supervisor for the 
past six years. Mr. Potts is a man of rare 
business ability and unusually good judg- 
ment and as such has played an impor- 
tant part in the business life of Philadel- 
phia and vicinity. He has an honored 
lineage and has ever been true to the best 
traditions of the family. 

On October 3. 1888. Mr. Potts was mar- 
ried to Ginevra Harrison, of Newark, New- 
Jersey, daughter of John D. Harrison, a 
prominent manufacturer. Their home is 
at Wyebrooke, Chester county. Pennsyl- 

STERN, William J., 

Business Man, Pnblic Official. 

Few names are more familiar in con- 
nection with the civic and industrial 
annals of Erie county, Pennsylvania, than 
that borne by the subject of this review. 


William J. Stern, now mayor of the city 
of Erie, who has devoted his life to the 
betterment of conditions in the commun- 
ity in which he lives. He is the son of 
Martin Stern, who was born in Germany, 
and came to this country in 1847, and his 
mother was Mary Virginia (Lerch) Stern, 
born in the State of Pennsylvania. 

William J. Stern was born in Allen- 
town, Pennsylvania, December 24, 1863. 
He obtained a substantial and practical 
education in the public and high schools 
of Erie. Upon the completion of his edu- 
cation he entered upon his business career, 
which has been a most successful one. 
He has always been connected with the 
wholesale cigar and tobacco business, and 
has been a progressive and wide-awake 
business man all his life. Mr. Stern has 
always given great attention to the con- 
duct of the civic affairs of the community, 
and has been instrumental in introducing 
many beneficial innovations. He was one 
of the dozen men who founded the Cham- 
ber of Commerce of Erie, March 6, 1902, 
and through the influence of this body 
many conventions have been secured for 
the city, and numerous other good move- 
ments started. Mr. Stern served as chair- 
man of the Chamber of Commerce from 
1909 until his election as mayor of the 
city, and he has always been a member of 
the directorate. He has been rather inde- 
pendent in his political affiliations, active, 
but never an office seeker, and his elec- 
tion as mayor of the city of Erie in 191 1 
is a proof of the high esteem in which he 
is held by all and of the well earned popu- 
larity he enjoys. Mr. Stern is a member 
of several fraternal organizations and the 
Associate Society of the Grand Army of 
the Republic, in the organization of which 
he was a leading spirit. Mr. Stern has 
ever been deeply interested in the young, 
and realizes the fact that their environ- 
ment has much to do with the shaping 
of their characters. He, therefore, be- 

lieves in surrounding boys and girls with 
good influences, and they recognize in 
him a warm and constant friend. His life 
contains the elements of greatness in that 
it is not self-centered, but is largely de- 
voted to the welfare of his fellow men, 
his influence being ever on the side of 
progress and improvement. "Not the 
good that comes to us but the good that 
comes to the world through us is the 
measure of our success." And judged in 
this way. Mayor William J- Stern is a 
most successful man. 

FON DERSMITH, Charles A., 

Civil War Veteran, Enterprising Citizen. 

In the death of Charles A. Fon Der- 
smith, of Lancaster, the Farmers' Trust 
Company, of Lancaster, Pennsylvania, 
lost an official whose relation with the 
institution covered a large part of its exis- 
tence under two names, the Farmers' Na- 
tional Bank and the Farmers' Trust Com- 
pany, one who had been connected there- 
with in two terms of service, one of thir- 
teen and the other of twenty-six years. 
Nor was this the only concern in which 
his loss was felt, for while the financial 
world of Lancaster had been the field of 
most of his activity, he had yet been asso- 
ciated with numerous leading business 
and industrial enterprises, and his influ- 
ence had extended deep into many chan- 
nels. Charles A. Fon Dersmith was 
prominent fraternally in Lancaster, the 
city of his birth, was active in religious 
work, and both contributed to and aided 
in the direction of the charitable institu- 
tions of the city. The Lancaster General 
Hospital, of which he was one of the 
founders in 1893, benefited much from 
his diligent labors in its behalf, and for 
several years he was its treasurer, 
anxiously and devotedly guarding and 
advancing its interests. Lancaster re- 
ceived much from him in the useful serv- 



ice of good citizenship, and repaid him 
with confidence, regard, and respect. 

Charles A. Fon Dersmith was a son of 
Henry C. Fon Dersmith, born April 3, 
1820, died April 8, 1871, and his wife, 
Anna Maria Burg, born April 23, 1820, 
died March 23, 1887; and grandson of 
George Fon Dersmith, born December 
14, 1780, died in Lancaster county, No- 
vember 21, 1834, and his wife, Elizabeth 
Sindle, born November 9, 1780, died Oc- 
tober 5, 1827. Children of Henry C. and 
Anna Maria (Burg) Fon Dersmith: 
Henry A., Charles A., of further men- 
tion ; Lucius K., Eva A., George L., and 
Frank B. 

Charles A. Fon Dersmith was born in 
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, July 24, 1846, 
and when he was a youth nine years 
of age his parents moved to Columbia, 
Pennsylvania, where he completed the 
studies begun in the public schools of his 
birthplace. Here also he became associ- 
ated in business with his father, a dry 
goods merchant, and as soon as he at- 
tained the age necessary for enlistment in 
the Union army he went to the front as 
a member of Company F, One Hundred 
and Ninety-fifth Regiment Pennsylvania 
Volunteer Infantry, with the rank of cor- 
poral. At the close of the war he returned 
to his home, having been promoted to the 
rank of sergeant, and at once accepted a 
position as messenger in the Columbia 
National Bank, at the end of two years 
becoming a clerk in the same bank. A 
short time afterwards he was raised to the 
position of receiving teller, which he re- 
signed in February, 1869, to accept the 
position of discount clerk and receiving 
teller in the Farmers' National Bank, of 
Lancaster, remaining in this institution 
until 1882. The New Fulton National 
Bank was organized in this year, and 
upon being offered the office of cashier, 
Mr. Fon Dersmith accepted the same. 
Four years afterward the Farmers' Na- 

tional Bank of Lancaster opened negotia- 
tions with him through the board of direc- 
tors and made him an attractive proposi- 
tion of the office of cashier, which he fav- 
orably considered. When the Farmers' 
National Bank became the Farmers' 
Trust Company, Mr. Fon Dersmith was 
elected treasurer of the new organization, 
discharging the responsible duties of this 
office until his death, April 12, 1909. 

Charles A. Fon Dersmith was well 
known in his city and among the resi- 
dents of the surrounding country, his 
straightforward, progressive business 
methods making a lasting impression 
upon all with whom he had dealings. His 
position in the financial life of Lancaster 
was an important one, and in gatherings 
of the heads of the institutions with which 
he was connected his expressed opinions 
and judgment carried force and weight. 
Aside from the interests previously men- 
tioned, Mr. Fon Dersmith was one of the 
organizers of the Hamilton Watch Com- 
pany and extensively interested therein, 
from 1883 to 1899 was one of the owners 
of the Conestoga Paper Mills at Eden, 
Pennsylvania, and for years was a direc- 
tor of the Marietta Turnpike Company. 
Mr. Fon Dersmith was one of the organ- 
izers of the Lancaster Board of Trade and 
was elected to the presidency of that 
organization, and was one of the leaders 
in the promotion of Lancaster's present 
electric lighting system. No labor for his 
city's benefit was too arduous, no duty 
too exacting, no sacrifice of time or con- 
venience too great. 

He was a member of the Trinity Lu- 
theran Evangelical Church, an elder and 
trustee of the congregation, a member of 
the board of Home Missions Lutheran 
Ministerium of Pennsylvania, and held 
membership on the board of trustees of 
Muhlenberg College. He was a mem- 
ber of the board of directors of the Lan- 
caster Young Men's Christian Associa- 



tion and of the Ann C. Witmer Home, 
and in 1893 was one of the founders of 
the Lancaster General Hospital. This 
latter institution, that has so substantially 
proved its worth and value to the city, 
he served for several years as treasurer, 
and although there was not a degree of 
difference in his faithfulness to the organ- 
izations of this nature with which he was 
related, this was probably the one to 
which he felt most closely attached, for 
to his strenuous efforts its birth had been 
due in no small measure. Mr. Fon Der- 
smith was a Republican, but one in sym- 
pathy and at the polls only, for he never 
entered political life. His fraternal con- 
nections were with the Masonic order, in 
which he held high degree and position. 

It mattered not whether one was asso- 
ciated with Mr. Fon Dersmith in busi- 
ness, in finance, in religious work, in 
philanthropy, or in fraternal activity, or 
whether he was but a social friend, his 
actions and speech were always those of 
a Christian gentleman, and his daily life 
was a sermon — a sermon of clean and 
upright life. 

He married, November 7, 1877, Annie 
Downing Truscott, daughter of Samuel 
and Ann E. (Downing) Truscott, of Co- 
lumbia, Pennsylvania, who survives him, 
a resident of Lancaster, Pennsylvania. 

KELTZ, John W., 

Bank Officer, Public Official. 

John W. Keltz, of Jeannette, West- 
moreland county, Pennsylvania, cashier 
of the First National Bank of Jeannette, 
represents a family which came to this 
country from England, although its 
origin was probably in Germany. 

Samuel Keltz, grandfather of John W. 
Keltz, came from England to America, 
and located on a farm in Westmoreland 
county, becoming one of the pioneer set- 

tlers of that section. He was engaged in 
farming until his death. 

George Keltz, son of Samuel and father 
of John W. Keltz, remained under the 
paternal roof until he was twenty-three 
years of age, when, having married, he 
engaged in the lumber business with 
which he was actively identified until his 
retirement from business life. He was a 
Methodist in religious belief, and a 
staunch supporter of Democratic princi- 
ples all his life. He married Jane Knox, 
and they became the parents of fourteen 

John W. Keltz, son of George and Jane 
(Knox) Keltz, was born in the Ligonier 
Valley, Westmoreland county, December 
24, 1869. He acquired his early education 
in the public schools near his home, and 
subsequently attended the Ligonier Acad- 
emy, from which he was graduated with 
honor. He was a very young lad when 
he commenced earning his own liveli- 
hood, leaving home at the age of nine 
years. From his earliest years he had 
been of an ambitious and energetic nature 
and, in order to secure the advantages of 
a good education, he continued working 
on neighboring farms during the summer 
months, and during the winter he attend- 
ed school. He then made his home with 
Dr. Ambrose, an old friend of the Keltz 
family, remaining with this gentleman 
until he had attained his seventeenth 
year. By this time he had become suffi- 
ciently well educated to accept the posi- 
tion of clerk in the ofifice of the Ligonier 
Valley railroad, holding this three years ; 
he then became deputy clerk of West- 
moreland county court for his brother- 
in-law, James D. Best, a position he re- 
signed at the end of four months, in order 
to become clerk in the First National 
Bank of Jeannette. After five years in 
this position, where his fidelity was thor- 
oughly appreciated, he was elected cashier 



of the institution, in which position he is 
at the present time. He was one of the 
organizers of the Jeannette Savings and 
Trust Company, of Jeannette, is treasurer 
of this institution, and is identified with 
a number of other enterprises in West- 
moreland county. He is a member of 
lodge, chapter and commandery of the 
order of Free and Accepted Masons, and 
is also a member of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. His public 
career has also been a most creditable 
and commendable one. He has served 
as a member of the school board of Jean- 
nette for a period of nine years, being 
president of the board during six years 
of this term ; was a member of the city 
council twelve years, and served as presi- 
dent of this honorable body during eleven 
years of this period ; he was appointed by 
the court as receiver for the National 
Glass Company, when that concern had 
gone into liquidation, and straightened 
out its complicated affairs in a very satis- 
factory manner. His religious affiliation 
is with the Methodist Episcopal church, 
of which he is a trustee. Mr. Keltz has 
served as superintendent of the Sunday 
school for five years. 

He married Irma, a daughter of Wil- 
liam Dickey, of Apollo, Armstrong coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania. 

SHIELDS, James Craig, 

Noted Educator. 

James Craig Shields, who has been 
actively and prominently identified with 
educational affairs in Westmoreland 
county, Pennsylvania, for many years, 
serving at the present time (1914) as 
superintendent of the city schools of 
Irwin, is a descendant of a family that 
made their home in the North of Ireland, 
from whence the immigrant ancestor. 
John Shields, came to this country in the 
year 1750, settling in Westmoreland 

county, Pennsylvania, in which section 
his descendants have since resided, bear- 
ing well their part in its development and 

James Shields, grandfather of James C. 
Shields, was a native of Westmoreland 
county, Pennsylvania, as was also Mat- 
thew Shields, father of James C. Shields, 
whose death occurred there in 1892, his 
wife, Frances (Sloanj Shields, still living 
at the age of seventy-four, on the old 
farm, having a deed of the original entry 
in 1769. They were the parents of six 
children, the eldest of whom was James 

James Craig Shields was born in West- 
moreland county, Pennsylvania, May 13, 
1862. His preliminary education was ob- 
tained in the public schools of his native 
county, and in 1879 he became a student 
in the Washington and Jefiferson College, 
graduating from that institution in the 
class of 1882 with the degree of Bachelor 
of Arts. He then accepted a position as 
teacher in the Greensburg high school, 
and after two years' service in that capac- 
ity was appointed principal, serving as 
such for three years, making five years in 
all. He then pursued a course of study in 
law in the office of W'illiams, Sloan & 
Griffith, was admitted to the bar of West- 
moreland county in 1892 and engaged in 
the active practice of his profession in 
Greensburg, continuing for several years, 
achieving a large degree of success as the 
result of his comprehensive knowledge of 
the law in its various forms, persistent 
effort and painstaking work in the inter- 
est of his clients. He then resumed his 
former vocation, accepting a position as 
principal of the school at New Alexan- 
dria, Pennsylvania, in which capacity he 
served up to the fall of 1906, when he 
came to Irwin, Pennsylvania, and taught 
in the high school for a period of two 
years, and in 191 1 was elected superin- 
tendent of the citv schools of Irwin and 



has held that position ever since, his serv- 
ices being eminently satisfactory to all 
concerned, meeting with the approbation 
they deserve. He is progressive in his 
ideas, and demands thoroughness and 
efficiency from all under his control, 
judges the candidates for positions as 
teachers on their own merits, allowing no 
favoritism or partiality to dominate his 
actions. In 1914 he was appointed by 
President Wilson to the position of post- 
master of Irwin, the duties of which he is 
performing in a thoroughly capable man- 
ner. He is connected with the First 
Presbyterian Church of Irwin, being a 
member of the board of elders and board 
of trustees, and takes an active interest 
in the work of all the societies of the 
same. He has attained the degree of 
Knight Templar in the Masonic order, 
and his allegiance is given to the Demo- 
cratic party. 

Mr. Shields married, October 27, 1892, 
Anna C. Cook, born in Westmoreland 
county, Pennsylvania, daughter of Dr. 
Joseph L. Cook, of Westmoreland coun- 
ty. Children : James Cook, born August 

27, 1895 ; Joseph Matthew, born January 
31, 1898; Foster Sloan, born December 

28, 1906. 

CAMERON, Alexander P., 

Prominent Business Man. 

Alexander P. Cameron, serving in the 
capacity of general superintendent of the 
Westmoreland Coal Company, of Irwin, 
Pennsylvania, where he is prominently 
and actively identified with all enterprises 
that afifect the general welfare, is a de- 
scendant of a family of Scotch ancestry, 
and the characteristics of that race have 
been transmitted in large degree to the 
various members of the family. 

Peter Cameron, father of Alexander P. 
Cameron, was reared and educated in his 
native land, Scotland, and upon attain- 

ing manhood, in order to improve his 
condition and enlarge his opportunities, 
he came to the United States and located 
in Blossburg, Pennsylvania, where he en- 
gaged in coal mining, employed by the 
Fallbrook Coal Company at Blossburg. 
Later he moved to Clearfield county and 
engaged with the Berwynd White Coal 
Mining Company, was their chief man in 
charge of their entire coal mining prop- 
erties, which position he held up to the 
time of his death. He proved a most 
faithful and competent person in that 
capacity, being thoroughly posted in 
every department of the mining business, 
and his integrity was never questioned. 
He was a Republican in politics, but 
never sought or held public office. He 
married Christine Pollock, a native of 
Scotland, who bore him twelve children, 
seven of whom are living at the present 
time (1914). 

Alexander P. Cameron was born in 
Blossburg, Pennsylvania, June 20, 1859, 
third child in the family in order of birth. 
He attended the schools adjacent to his 
home, and at the age of twenty began his 
business with the Berwynd White Coal 
Alining Company, and served with that 
company for five years, giving entire sat- 
isfaction to all concerned. He then be- 
came connected with the Whitmer Land 
and Lumber Company, and after two 
years' service entered the employ of the 
Boliver Coal and Coke Company, with 
whom he remained a similar period of 
time, then became an employee of the 
Manor Gas, Coal and Coke Company, a 
subsidiary of the Westmoreland Coal 
Company, his connection with this con- 
cern covering a period of twenty years, 
from 1906 to 1912 was connected with 
the Penn Gas Coal Company, another 
subsidiary of the Westmoreland Coal 
Company, and in the latter named year 
was appointed general superintendent of 
the Westmoreland Coal Company, his 



present position. In the discharge of his 
duties displaying the utmost wisdom, 
showing no partiality, but treating all 
according to their merit, hence he is re- 
spected and admired by all under his con- 
trol. He casts his vote for the candidates 
of the Republican party, and in the Ma- 
sonic order he has attained the rank of 
Knight Templar. 

Mr. Cameron married, June 3, 1883, 
May B. Roberts, born in Wellsboro, Penn- 
sylvania, July, 1863, daughter of William 
and Margaret (Sturrock) Roberts. Chil- 
dren : James R., born April 30, 1886, 
graduate of Cornell University ; W. 
Roberts, born August 20, 1888, a gradu- 
ate of Princeton College ; Margaret, born 
April 6, i8go, a graduate of Women's 
College, Frederick, Maryland ; Christine, 
born August 31, 1894, at present a stu- 
dent at Margaret Morrison Carnegie 
School ; Edward, born April 22, 1902. 

The family occupy a place of promi- 
nence in the social circles of Irwin, and 
in all the movements for the betterment 
and development of the section wherein 
they reside, take an active part. 


Noted Financier. 

The family of which John B. Cunning- 
ham, cashier of the First National Bank 
of Irwin, Pennsylvania, is a member is of 
Scotch origin, his grandfather, Robert 
Cunningham, having been a native of 
Scotland, from whence he emigrated to 
this country, locating in Westmoreland 
county, Pennsylvania, being one of the 
early settlers of that section. He was a 
prosperous farmer, a member of the Pres- 
byterian church, a Republican in politics, 
and served as colonel in one of the Penn- 
sylvania regiments during the Civil War. 

J. E. Cunningham, father of John B. 
Cunningham, purchased a farm adjoin- 
ing the land of his father in Westmore- 

land county, Pennsylvania, and is resid- 
ing on the same at the present time (1914) 
at the age of seventy years, and in addi- 
tion to this is the owner of a large amount 
of real estate in the same county, which 
is steadily increasing in value. He has 
always been progressive in his methods, 
and therefore has derived a goodly in- 
come from his agricultural pursuits. He 
is a Presbyterian in religion, and a Re- 
publican in politics. He married Mar- 
garet Rankin, a native of Westmoreland 
county, Pennsylvania, who bore him three 
children : Arthur R., born January 4, 
1871 ; John B., of whom further; Bessie, 
born June, 1875, niarried William Samp- 
son and they are the parents of three chil- 
dren, two sons and a daughter; they re- 
side at West Newton, Pennsylvania. 

John B. Cunningham was born in 
Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, Au- 
gust 13, 1872. He obtained a practical 
education in the schools of the neighbor- 
hood, supplementing this by a course in 
a business school, hence is well qualified 
for the active duties of life. He remained 
with his parents until he was twenty-five 
years of age, then entered the mercantile 
business at Charleroi, Washington coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania, which he conducted 
successfully for six years, at the expira- 
tion of which time he disposed of the 
same and entered the banking business 
as assistant cashier in the Citizens' Bank 
of Fayette City, Pennsylvania, remaining 
there from 1903 to 1907, when he was 
elected assistant treasurer of the Valley 
Deposit and Trust Company of Belle Ver- 
non, Pennsylvania, where he remained 
from 1907 to 191 1, when he was elected 
cashier of the First National Bank of 
Irwin, Pennsylvania, in February, in 
which capacity he is still serving. The 
officers of the bank are as follows : R. P. 
McClellen, president ; G. W. Flowers, 
vice-president; John B. Cunningham, 
cashier. The bank was organized in 1892, 



and at the present time (1914) its re- 
sources are over seven hundred and fifty 
thousand dollars. Mr. Cunningham is a 
member and trustee of the Presbyterian 
church of Irwin, a member of Charleroi 
Lodge, No. 615, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, and of the Royal Arcanum, and a 
Republican in politics. 

Mr. Cunningham married, June i, 1898, 
in Jefferson township, Fayette county, 
Pennsylvania, Gertrude Steele, daughter 
of Harvey Steele, of Fayette county. Chil- 
dren : Ruth, born November 30, 1899; 
Margaret, born November 15, 1902; 
Nelle, born November 3, 1906. Mr. and 
Mrs. Cunningham take an active interest 
in everything that pertains to the general 
welfare of the community, and their in- 
fluence is widefelt and beneficial. 

BUCHER, John R., 

Prominent Manufacturer and Financier. 

Activity to an unusual degree in the in- 
dustrial, manufacturing, and business life 
of Columbia and Lancaster counties, 
Pennsylvania, coupled with prominence 
in the councils of the Democratic party 
and close identification with fraternal or- 
ganizations, makes John R. Bucher one 
of the leading and influential citizens of 
Columbia. Though Mr. Bucher's inter- 
ests, financial and official, are in many of 
the flourishing industrial concerns of the 
city and locality, he is most closely con- 
nected with the Columbia Baking and 
Manufacturing Company. One of the 
organizers of the original company, he 
was retained as active manager when the 
control of the plant was taken over by 
New York interests, subsequently be- 
came chief owner, successfully weathered 
severe loss by fire in 1906, and now directs 
its large and profitable business as presi- 
dent and treasurer. He has cooperated 
with Philadelphia capitalists in the pro- 
motion of industrial projects in the local- 

ity, and independently has carried to suc- 
cessful conclusion numerous business 
enterprises. He is widely and favorably 
known in the vicinity of his home, and 
his appointment, on February 15, 1914, as 
postmaster of Columbia, by President 
Woodrow Wilson, met with the heartiest 
of approval among his host of acquaint- 

John R. Bucher is a grandson of Chris- 
tian M. Bucher, born November 28, 1815, 
died at Marietta, Pennsylvania, January 
28, 1881. He married, at Marietta, April 
24, 1834, Margaret Hinkle, born July I, 
1815, like her husband a native of Mari- 
etta, died January 9, 1895, the Rev. H. 
B. Schafifner, pastor of the German Re- 
formed Church, performing the ceremony. 
Christian M. Bucher is buried with his 
wife in the family lot in the Marietta 
Cemetery. Children : George William, 
of whom further; Henry, born April 3, 
1837, died March 31, 1868; Horace, born 
October 12, 1838, died December 21, 
1903 ; Elizabeth, born December 3, 1840, 
married a Mr. Hippie, deceased, and now 
lives in York, Pennsylvania ; Joseph, born 
January 16, 1842, died July 6, 1842; Chris- 
tian, born April 27, 1843, married and re- 
sides at Kinderhook, Pennsylvania ; 
David H., born January 25, 1846, mar- 
ried and resides in Philadelphia ; Mar- 
garet, born June 23, 1847, died January 
2, 1848; Alonzo S., born August 28, 1848, 
died March 31, 1849; Augusta, born Janu- 
ary 23, 1850. died an infant of eleven 
days ; Emma Frances, born January 8, 
1852, died September 12, 1852; Ellwood 
P., born September 17, 1854, married and 
resides in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. 

George William, eldest son and child 
of Christian M. and Margaret (Hinkle) 
Bucher, was born April 11, 1835, and died 
March 7, 1910. He was for two years 
engaged in the sawmill business in Mari- 
etta, and later moved with his family to 
Thompsontown, Juniata county, Pennsyl- 


a ^ 6^1^ (9".^ 


vania, where he was engaged in agricul- 
tural pursuits. Subsequently he returned 
to Marietta, where he was in active 
charge of the Heistand Saw and Planing 
Mill, which he managed for many years. 
He was a member of the Marietta Coun- 
cil, prominent in all public matters of 
local importance, and was an officer of 
the Presbyterian church. His fraternal 
organizations were the Knights of 
Pythias, the Order of United American 
Mechanics, and the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, in the last named fraternity 
belonging to Donegal Lodge, No. 129, 
and Marietta Encampment, No. 86. His 
political party was the Democratic, which 
he supported faithfully during his entire 
life. George W. Bucher was esteemed by 
his fellows for his many commendable 
qualities, which found expression in a 
life well and usefully passed. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth A. Reichard, born in York 
county, Pennsylvania, May 2, 1830, died 
at Marietta, Pennsylvania, March 21, 
1910, the Rev. Frederick Vanderslute per- 
forming the ceremony, December 27, 
1855. She was the second daughter of 
John C. Reichard, who came from Ger- 
many and located in Shrewsbury, York 
county, Pennsylvania, where he reared a 
family of nine children. George William 
Bucher and his wife, Elizabeth, are buried 
in the Marietta Cemetery, Marietta, 
Pennsylvania. They were the parents of : 
Amanda A., born November 5, 1856, died 
September 5, 1857; Emma C, born in 
Wrightsville, York county, Pennsylvania, 
March 14, 1859, resides on the homestead 
at Marietta, Pennsylvania, unmarried, 
and John R. Bucher. 

John R. Bucher, only son and youngest 
of the three children of George William 
and Elizabeth A. (Reichard) Bucher, was 
born at Wrightsville, York county. Penn- 
sylvania, January 4, 1861. Until he was 
a youth of sixteen years he attended the 
public schools of Marietta, whither his 

parents had moved but a short time after 
his birth, and at that age he became em- 
ployed under his father in the Heistand 
Saw and Planing Mill. Four years after- 
ward he went west, locating in Clinton, 
Iowa, and there obtaining employment as 
a filer in the saw mills of W. J. Young & 
Company. For two years he remained 
in Clinton, then going to Dubuque, Iowa, 
where he became a salesman in the em- 
ploy of A. J. Smiddel & Company. This 
position he retained for but one year, 
when he returned to the State of his 
birth, in Columbia, accepting a position 
as salesman for the firm of W. A. King & 
Company. He represented this concern 
in the eastern and central states until 
February 29, 1896, when he and others 
formed the Columbia Baking and Manu- 
facturing Company, and purchased the 
plant of W. A. King & Company. ]\Ir. 
Bucher managed the new company until 
1899, when the entire control of the plant 
was leased to the National Biscuit Com- 
pany of New York. The new owners re- 
tained Mr. Bucher's services as manager 
for five years, and when the lease held 
by the National Biscuit Company expired 
he purchased all of the outstanding stock 
and reorganized the company. Its suc- 
cessful course was interrupted by a dis- 
astrous fire on Sunday evening, Decem- 
ber 23, 1906, which damaged the plant to 
the extent of $20,000. only partially cov- 
ered by $8,000 insurance, and which en- 
tirely stopped production. That a greater 
loss than the actual ravages of the flames 
was not suffered by the company was due 
to Mr. Bucher's quick and decisive sav- 
ing action, for within less than a week he 
had installed all that remained of the ma- 
chinery in that portion of the building, 
formerly the shipping department, that 
the flames had not destroyed and had be- 
gun work on the orders at hand. The 
difference between the former production 
and that which he was now able to com- 



mand was made up by purchase from 
bakeries in Harrisburg, York, Lancaster, 
and Philadelphia, so that the company- 
suffered no loss of prestige or influence 
through their misfortune. During this 
period John F. Sload was manager of the 
plant. Early in 1907 Mr. Bucher pur- 
chased the building adjoining the plant, 
and at the same time caused work to be 
begun upon the large and modern bakery 
that is now the home of the company, of 
which he is the present president and 
treasurer. Eastern Pennsylvania and 
Maryland form the company's most 
profitable field, and throughout this dis- 
trict it bears an excellent name for fair- 
ness and honor in all transactions. 

Mr. Bucher's interests in other of Co- 
lumbia's enterprises are many. He 
bought the controlling interest in the 
Fairview Milling Company, of Columbia, 
and was one of the promoters, with rep- 
resentatives of Philadelphia capital, of 
the Eastern Milling and Export Com- 
pany, whose offices were in the Bourse 
Building, Philadelphia. Mr. Bucher rep- 
resented this company as manager of the 
Columbia and Fairview Mill, of Colum- 
bia, and the Locher Mill, of Lancaster, 
Pennsylvania. He was also one of the 
reorganizers of the Columbia Brewing 
Company and for a time its general man- 
ager; led in the organization of the Eu- 
reka Box Factory, of Columbia, and is 
secretary and treasurer of this prosper- 
ous company ; is connected with the Kee- 
ley Stove Company, of Columbia ; for 
many years a director of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Columbia; and in 1888 
was one of the organizers of the Central 
National Bank of Columbia, of which he 
is still a stockholder. 

Mr. Bucher's services are always at the 
disposal of his fellows if the object of 
their endeavors is the advancement and 
welfare of the place of his home. Dur- 
ing the Old Home Week Celebration at 

Columbia in October, 1913, Mr. Bucher 
was chairman of the Industrial Commit- 
tee, and through his devoted efforts con- 
tributed largely to the success of that fes- 
tival. In fraternal life he is particularly 
prominent, and in the Masonic order 
holds high rank. He is a member of As- 
harra Lodge, No. 398, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Marietta ; Corinthian Chapter, 
No. 224, Royal Arch Masons, of Colum- 
bia ; past eminent commander of Cyrene 
Commandery, No. 34, Knights Templar, 
of Columbia ; Lancaster Lodge of Perfec- 
tion ; Harrisburg Consistory, Red Rose of 
Constantine, of which he is secretary ; 
Lancaster Shrine Club, and Rajah 
Temple, of Reading, Pennsylvania, of 
which he was twice elected representa- 
tive to the Grand Imperial Council of the 
United States. He is also a member of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
belonging to Donegal Lodge, No. 129, 
and Marietta Encampment, No. 86; Sus- 
quehanna Aerie, No. 293, Fraternal Order 
of Eagles, of which he is past worthy 
president, and the Columbia Lodge, 
Loyal Order of Moose. 

Always a staunch Democrat, Mr. 
Bucher has effectively advanced the in- 
terests of that party in the county and 
State, and has taken leading part in all 
political activity. He has been a dele- 
gate to many State conventions of his 
party, and in the campaign of 1912 and at 
the Baltimore Convention was a strenu- 
ous worker for the Wilson candidacy, 
acting as a member of Mr. Wilson's offi- 
cial escort through the State of Pennsyl- 
vania. He is a member of the Demo- 
cratic Club of Philadelphia. On Febru- 
ary 15, 1914, Mr. Bucher received the ap- 
pointment as postmaster of Columbia 
from President Wilson, and was also 
prominently named for the office of rev- 
enue collector for the Ninth Revenue Dis- 
trict of Pennsylvania. His record is in 
itself an eloquent one, speaking of well 



directed energy, foresight, and determi- 
nation, and that these qualities are guided 
by strict integrity and uprightness is 
shown by the regard in which he is held 
by his associates. 

John R. Bucher married Katherine 
Shuman, born in Columbia, June ii, 1861, 
the Rev. George Wells Ely, of Colum- 
bia, performing the ceremony February 
10, 1891. Mr. and Mrs. Bucher journeyed 
in the South for six weeks, then took up 
their residence in Altoona, Pennsylvania, 
finally returning to Columbia, where they 
have since resided. 

Katherine (Shuman) Bucher is a 
daughter of Michael Strebig Shuman, a 
descendant of George Shuman, who in 
1760 came to Pennsylvania from his Ger- 
man home and settled on the upper end 
of Turkey Hill, Manor township, Lan- 
caster county. He was accompanied by 
his wife, a Miss Manning, and after her 
death he married Catherine PfeiiTer, who 
died in 1826. He was the father of Chris- 
tian, born in 1777. Elizabeth, born in 
1779 ; Jacob, of whom further ; Mary, born 
in 1784; Frederick, born in 1786, and 
George, born in 1788. 

Jacob, son of George Shuman, the im- 
migrant, was born in Manor township, 
Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, in 1781, 
and died in March, 1837. He followed 
the trade of tailor all of his life, and was 
twice married, (first) to Mary Witman, 
(second) to Margaret Wisler. The parents 
of Mary Witman were the owners of a 
farm now covered by the city of Harris- 
burg. Children of Jacob Shuman's first 
marriage : George, Jacob, Daniel, John, 
Katherine, Henry, Frederick and Michael 
Strebig, of whom further. Children of 
his second marriage : Christian, Andrew, 
Abraham, Benjamin and William C. 

Michael Strebig Shuman, son of Jacob 
Shuman and his first wife, Mary Witman, 
was born September 16, 1825, and passed 
his boyhood on a farm. He was a youth 
of but seventeen years when he learned 
PA— Vol vi_i7 209 

the millwright's trade, in 1844, beginning 
an apprenticeship at the trade of carpen- 
ter with John Young, of Columbia. For 
twenty-three years he followed the car- 
penter's trade, in 1867 turning his atten- 
tion to oil refining as a member of Tru- 
scott & Company, and remained in asso- 
ciation with this concern for eighteen 
years, and on dissolution of this firm for 
a short time conducted a milling business. 
In 1858 he engaged in the fire insurance 
business, the management of which he re- 
tained when retiring from active life in 
1885. This he still conducts, and at this 
time, although having attained the ad- 
vanced age of eighty-nine years, retains 
an active interest in several business en- 
terprises. Columbia has been his home 
for more than seventy years, and in its 
growth and development he has borne a 
worthy part, advocating all progressive 
and modern movements and lending his 
services in many capacities. Among the 
positions that he has worthily filled are 
those of councilman and school director. 
He is a member of lodge and encampment. 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
the esteem in which he is held by his fra- 
ternity associates is shared by all who 
know him. His friends in Columbia ex- 
tend to all circles and classes. Michael S. 
Shuman married, in 1857, Margaret Leh- 
man, and has children : Mary, deceased, 
married Dr. William R. Powell, of Cam- 
den, New Jersey ; Katherine, of previous 
mention, married John R. Bucher; Anna, 
deceased ; George, deceased ; Michael, 
married Nellie Spencer; Jane, married E. 
G. Smith, of Tampa, Florida; and John, 
married Lottie Munroe. 

Children of John R. and Katherine 
(Shuman) Bucher: May Elizabeth, born 
May I, 1892, died July 15, 1892 ; Margaret 
Shuman, born February 2, 1894, lives at 
home; Elizabeth Rose, born May 2, 1896, 
died August 22, 1904; and Lillian Kather- 
ine, born December 15, 1900, died March 
7, 1906. 


BUCHER, William L., 

Pharmacist, Enterprising Business Man. 

Columbia, Pennsylvania, the scene of 
the professional activity of William L. 
Bucher, was likewrise the place of labor of 
his honored father, Frederick Bucher, 
who founded his line of the German fam- 
ily in Pennsylvania. 

Frederick Bucher, son of Joseph M. 
and Barbara (Bernhauer) Bucher, was 
born in Deggingen, Wurttemberg, Ger- 
many, September i8, 1830, and two years 
after attaining manhood came to the 
United States, soon after his arrival mak- 
ing his home in Columbia, Lancaster 
county, Pennsylvania. His first employ- 
ment was in the hardware store of Mr. 
Rumple, and he afterward entered the 
service of Henry Phaler, with whom he 
was associated until i860. In this year 
he formed a business partnership with J. 
W. Cottrell, six years afterward embark- 
ing independently in grocery and hard- 
ware dealings, which he conducted suc- 
cessfully for more than twenty years. In 
1857 Mr. Bucher made an extended trip 
throughout the South and West for the 
purpose of discovering a new home, but 
finding no location that suited him better 
as a permanent place of residence than 
Columbia returned to his home and there 
passed his remaining years. While main- 
taining the business previously men- 
tioned, Frederick Bucher conducted im- 
portant dealings in real estate, and under 
his personal supervision many residences 
were erected in Columbia. Among the 
other business interests that he contract- 
ed in concerns operating in the locality 
of his home were membership in the 
board of directors of the Keeley Stove 
Company and the treasurership of the 
Columbia Laundry and Machine Com- 
pany, both of Columbia. He was a busi- 
ness man, keen and shrewd, and in long 
continued dealings with his fellows held 

closely to the most honorable rules of 
personal and business conduct, his up- 
right life winning admiration and respect 
from friends and associates. Frederick 
Bucher was a lifelong Republican, and 
was called to the service of Columbia in 
1884 as a member of the City Council, 
the following year becoming president of 
that body. In fraternal life he was prom- 
inent and popular, in 1856 affiliating with 
Susquehanna Lodge, No. 80, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, passing all of its 
chairs, in 1874 becoming a member of the 
Artisans' Order of Mutual Protection, 
and also belonged to Lancaster Lodge, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
He had a short and uneventful military 
record, on September 13, 1863, enlisting 
in Company A, Second Regiment Penn- 
sylvania Volunteer Infantry, and was 
mustered out of the service on Septem- 
ber 25, 1863. 

Frederick Bucher married, in i860, 
Louisa Bartch, daughter of Michael 
Bartch, of Chestnut Hill, Lancaster coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania, and had issue: Mary; 
Frederick C, married Estelle Brant; 
Emily, married Dr. J. W. Grove ; Wil- 
liam L., of whom further. 

William L. Bucher, son of Frederick 
and Louisa (Bartch) Bucher, was born in 
Columbia, Pennsylvania, March 7, 1873, 
and as a youth attended the public 
schools of Columbia entering, upon 
reaching his decision for his life work, 
the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy. 
He received his Graduate of Pharmacy 
from this institution in the class of 1894, 
and since that date has been proprietor 
of a pharmacy in Columbia, at one time 
conducting two stores in this place. His 
present business is confined to one store, 
in which he handles the well-known 
Rexall preparations, and his establish- 
ment, modern in every particular and 
splendidly managed, occupies foremost 
place among Columbia's pharmacies. It 



is known as the Central Drug Store, and 
while Mr. Bucher devotes his entire time 
thereto, sparing nothing to add to its 
attractiveness and usefulness, he yet finds 
time to serve as director of the Keeley 
Stove Company and of the Columbia 
Manufacturing Company. Mr. Bucher in 
1907 caused to be erected a building of 
modern design and construction, known 
as the Bucher Building, containing within 
its four stories offices, stores, and lodge 
rooms, which is the finest structure of its 
kind in Columbia. Mr. Bucher, is, like 
his father, widely known fraternally, and 
in the Masonic order belongs to lodge, 
chapter, commandery, and shrine, also 
holding membership in the Artisans' 
Order of Mutual Protection. 

Mr. Bucher married, in 1906, Emma 
Hess Fry, daughter of Phares Fry, a 
tobacco dealer and cigar manufacturer of 
Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bucher are the parents of William Lewis, 
born July 16, 1909, and Mary Louise, 
born July 31, 1913. 

JONES, J. Arthur, 

Capable Financier. 

John W. Jones, father of J. Arthur 
Jones, a prominent citizen of Delta, Penn- 
sylvania, where he is well known and 
highly respected, is a native of Wales, in 
which country he was reared and edu- 
cated, and from which he emigrated in 
1864, prior to his marriage, locating in 
this country in Lancaster county, Penn- 
sylvania, where he engaged in manufac- 
turing Peach Bottom Roofing Plate, con- 
tinuing the same up to the present time 
(1914), in which he has achieved a large 
degree of success. By his marriage to 
Ellen Jones, a native of Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania, he became the father of 
eight children, the third in order of birth 
being J. Arthur. 

J. Arthur Jones was born in Lancaster 

county, Pennsylvania, February 17, 1870. 
His educational advantages were ob- 
tained in the common schools of York 
county, Pennsylvania, and from the time 
he completed his studies until he attained 
his twentieth year he worked in his 
father's mine in Delta, Pennsylvania. He 
then received the appointment of assist- 
ant cashier in the Miles National Bank at 
Delta, and served from 1890 to 1894, and 
in the latter named year, through the 
recommendation of the National Bank 
Examiner, he received the appointment 
of bookkeeper, with the First National 
Bank, Irwin, Pennsylvania, in which 
capacity he served from 1894 to 1899, 
when he became assistant cashier of the 
First National Bank at Jeannette, which 
position he held for fifteen months, and 
in 1900, upon the organization of the 
Citizens' National Bank of Irwin, he be- 
came its cashier, his present position. 
The officers of the bank are as follows : 
John M. Lang, president; F. A. Farmer, 
vice-president; J. Arthur Jones, cashier. 
Its total resources amount to over seven 
hundred thousand dollars, consisting of 
loans and discounts, bonds and securities, 
United States bonds to secure circulation, 
United States bonds to secure deposit, 
premiums on bonds, bank building and 
fixtures, cash and due from banks and 
trust companies, five per cent, redemption 
fund. Its capital stock is fifty thousand 
dollars ; surplus, one hundred thousand 
dollars ; undivided profits over sixteen 
thousand dollars; dividends paid, fifty- 
one thousand dollars. Mr. Jones is a 
member and trustee of the First Presby- 
terian Church, of Irwin ; member of the 
Royal Arcanum, and an Independent in 

Mr. Jones married, June 10, 1896, in 
Delta, Pennsylvania, Catherine Morris, 
born at Delta, Pennsylvania, in 1874, 
daughter of Robert and Anna Morris. 
Three children; Wilbur, born in 1899; 



Morris, born in 1906; James Franklin, 
bom in 1910. Mr. and Mrs. Jones enjoy 
the acquaintance of a wide circle of 
friends and their home is noted for the 
hospitality dispensed there. 

TROUT, Harry L., 

Enterprising Citizen, Public Official. 

Business interests in the city of Lan- 
caster have claimed Harry L. Trout for 
nearly a quarter of a century, and during 
that time he has had deep interest in pub- 
lic and political affairs, having since 1889 
been continuously in the public service. 
His connection with the business life of 
the city is as proprietor of a large book- 
binding establishment, the scope of which 
is State-wide, and at this time he fills the 
chair of chief executive of Lancaster, ap- 
pointed to the mayor's ofifice to complete 
the unexpired term of Mayor Frank B. 
McClain, present Lieutenant-Governor of 
the State of Pennsylvania. Mr. Trout is 
no stranger to the details of the munici- 
pal administration, having come to his 
present office after long experience in its 
different departments, including both 
houses of the city council. 

Mr. Trout is a descendant of Isaac 
Trout and his wife, Rachell Ferree. Isaac 
Trout was one of three brothers who 
came to this country from their German 
home. The line continues through their 
son, David, who married Mary Rutter, 
and had a large family : Daniel, born May 
I, 1794; Samuel, October 12, 1801 ; Eliza- 
beth, June 2, 1803; Mary Ann, July 17, 
1805; Joanna, September 26, 1807; Cath- 
arine, May II, 1809; David, August 22, 
181 1 ; Henry, April 17, 1813; John, April 
5, 1816; Margaret, August 25, 1818; 
Adam R., of whom further; and Hannah, 
born December 12, 1823. 

Adam Rutter, father of Harry L. Trout, 
was born in Paradise township, Lancas- 
ter county, Pennsylvania, July 6, 1820, 

son of David and Mary (Rutter) Trout. 
He was proprietor of the Western Hotel, 
formerly a prominent hostelry of Lan- 
caster, and until his death in 1870 was 
well and favorably known throughout 
that locality. He married Salome Le- 
fevre, and had four children : Josephine, 
who married Andrew G. Frey, of Lancas- 
ter; Frank B. ; Harry L., of whom fur- 
ther ; Sue Lefevre, married Abram Hall, 
of Canton, Ohio. 

Harry L. Trout, son of Adam Rutter 
and Salome (Lefevre) Trout, was born in 
Lancaster, Lancaster county, Pennsyl- 
vania, October 28, 1853. After complet- 
ing a course of study in the public 
schools, as a youth of seventeen years he 
went to Philadelphia, there obtaining em- 
ployment in a queensware establishment 
and remaining in that city for three years. 
Returning to his birthplace he served a 
four years' apprenticeship in a book- 
bindery, and after mastering the art of 
bookbinding in 1881 established in that 
business in Centre Square, Lancaster. 
With the passing years the pressure of 
ever increasing business necessitated 
moving to more spacious quarters, and 
he occupied a location on North Chris- 
tian street. This is the present home of 
his plant, whose extensive operations 
reach to the limits of the State and which 
is numbered among the substantial and 
prosperous concerns of the city. 

All of his mature life Mr. Trout has 
been a believer in Republican principles 
and a staunch supporter of that party. 
His loyalty to party interests and the 
willingness of his service won him early 
admission to party councils, and he be- 
came a frequent delegate to county and 
State conventions. Becoming a candi- 
date for common council from the Fifth 
Ward, Mr. Trout in 1889 was chosen as 
the representative of that district in the 
lower branch of the city's lawmaking 
body, occupying his seat through reelec- 



tion for several terms and in 1893-94-95- 
96, serving as president of common coun- 
cil. In 1897 he was elected to select 
council, in 1899 resigning from his mem- 
bership to accept the post of clerk of the 
court of sessions, which he held during 
1900, 1901 and 1902. A vacancy being 
caused in select council by the death of 
Dr. S. T. Davis, Mr. Trout was appointed 
to act during the remainder of the term, 
and was returned in his own right the fol- 
lowing year. He continued in select 
council until 1909, when he received the 
appointment to the postmastership of 
Lancaster from President Taft, an office 
from which he retired on November 21, 
191 3, after an able and satisfactory ad- 
ministration. When Mayor McClain was 
forced to resign from the office of mayor 
of the city to assume the duties of Lieu- 
tenant-Governor, the choice of council 
for his successor fell upon Mr. Trout, 
who in January 6, 1915, undertook the 
duties of that high office for the final year 
of Mr. McClain's unexpired term. 

Mr. Trout is a trustee of the Thaddeus 
Stevens Industrial School, holds member- 
ship in the Hamilton and Republican 
clubs of Lancaster, and affiliates with the 
Masonic order, Lamberton Lodge, No. 
476, Free and Accepted Masons ; the In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows ; the 
Knights of Pythias, and the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. He is a 
member of the First Presbyterian Church. 

From the above brief narrative it is 
seen that more frequently than not the 
circumstances of Mr. Trout's entering 
public position have been in times of im- 
mediate and peculiar need, and it is that 
fact which accurately tells of his qualities 
of sterling dependability, his faculty of 
rapidly acquainting himself with the 
duties and requirements of a new posi- 
tion, and his fearlessness in risking the 
censure that might result from a single 
error. Lancaster has called him to many 

and important missions, has received 
from him devoted and efficient service, 
and has benefited from his loyal devo- 
tion to her best interests. 

Mr. Trout married, September 2, 1875, 
Sarah E. Colby, daughter of Joseph Y. 
Colby, her father at one time prominent 
in cotton manufacturing in Lancaster. 
They are the parents of one daughter, 
Maude, who married James W. Harvey, 
an attorney of Baltimore, Maryland, and 
has two children, Sarah C. and Jane W. 

LANG, John MUler, 

Honored Citizen. 

John Miller Lang, who is now leading 
a retired life at his home in Irwin, located 
on Main street, where he is enjoying to 
the full the consciousness of a life well 
spent, was born on the Lang farm, near 
Monroetown, Allegheny county, Pennsyl- 
vania, May 2, 1844. 

William Lang, grandfather of John M. 
Lang, was a descendant of a Scotch an- 
cestry, and for many years a resident of 
Allegheny county, Pennsylvania. He 
married and reared a family of six chil- 
dren, as follows : George, John, William, 
James, Catherine (Mrs. Frank McClure), 

John Lang, second son of William 
Lang, and father of John M. Lang, was 
born on the Lang farm, near Monroe- 
town, Allegheny county, Pennsylvania- 
He was prominent in the afifairs of the 
community in which he resided. In 1850 
he removed to McKeesport, where he re- 
mained until his death, 1855, and where 
he followed his trade of carpenter. At 
the age of about twenty-two he married 
Margaret Black, a daughter of John and 
Mary Black. Children : Henry W., died 
December 26, 1903 ; John Miller, of whom 
further; Mary Ellen; George. 

John Miller Lang attended the com- 



mon schools of McKeesport, whither his 
parents removed when he was six years 
of age, also those in Versailles township. 
He resided near McKeesport until seven- 
teen years of age, when he moved to the 
Wallace farm, near Trafford City, where 
he farmed continuously for thirteen 
years, subsequently retiring from active 
pursuits, and now resides on Main street, 
Irwin. He is a member of the United 
Presbyterian Church, of which he has 
been a trustee several times, and he is a 
Democrat in politics. He married, Sep- 
tember 29, 1885, Mary Margaret Wallace, 
born November i, 1836, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Margaret (Mahaflfey) Wallace. 
William Wallace, grandfather of Mary 
Margaret (Wallace) Lang, came from 
Ayrshire, Scotland, to this country, set- 
tling in North Huntingdon township, 
Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, on 
Old Wall Hill. Here he discovered he 
could get no title (papers having been 
destroyed by fire in Harrisburg) and re- 
moved to the present Wallace farm, near 
Trafford City, on the line of the Pennsyl- 
vania railroad, a grant for which he re- 
ceived from the government. He was 
one of the earliest settlers in the western 
part of the State, and his life was a con- 
tinuous succession of exciting skirmishes 
with the Indians. He was a famous run- 
ner and the fleetest runners of the tribe 
were sent to capture and torture him to 
death. In this, however, they were in- 
variably unsuccessful. The Duff block- 
house, not far from his farm, was often 
his refuge when in trouble. On one occa- 
sion, when hunting his horses which had 
strayed, he was surprised by the Indians, 
cut off from escape by any means than 
over the face of a precipitous bluff. He 
hesitated not an instant, but ran straight 
to the edge of the bluff and leaped off. 
In his descent he grasped the top 
branches of a sugar tree which stood 
there, thereby breaking his fall consider- 

ably, and alighting in the soft mud of the 
creek beneath, from which he extricated 
himself with difficulty. He arrived at the 
blockhouse in safety, and alluded lightly 
to the adventure, ignoring the idea of the 
tremendous risk he had taken. Another 
time, when working in the field, with a 
relative named Cousins and another man, 
a volley from the woods nearby killed 
Mr. Cousins instantly, but Mr. Wallace 
and the other man escaped. The mother 
of Mr. Cousins was a sister of William 
Wallace, who had married in Scotland. 
Another sister of William Wallace mar- 
ried Alexander Duff, the first of the name 
here, and a third married a Mr. Lusk, be- 
coming the grandmother of Alexander 
Duff, of Ardara, on the maternal side. 
Another occasion which proved the per- 
sonal courage of William Wallace was 
when the settlers in the vicinity had all 
their horses carried off by the Indians. 
A party was formed for pursuit, and the 
trail, leading over the Wild Cherry Flats, 
was easily followed. The horses were 
finally discovered tethered in a hollow on 
Simpson's Run, which now comes into 
Brush Creek by the Carnegie coke ovens, 
near Larimer. No one would venture 
down the hill to release the horses until 
Mr. Wallace volunteered. Gun in hand 
he slid cautiously down the hill until 
among the horses, and raising himself 
slightly as he approached each animal, he 
severed the halter strap and with a slap 
on the flank started him for home. So he 
proceeded until all were released, when 
he retired as cautiously as he had come 
and the party made off. The Indians 
were doubtless in search of more horses 
at a settlement nearby. 

William Wallace married Margaret 
Duff, and their children were : John, born 
May 7, 1790; David, May 3, 1792; Samp- 
son, April 24, 1794; William, of whom 
further; James, August 16, 1802; Samuel, 
October 6, 1805. William Wallace, father 


^^7^^^ .^^^Z^/^t^ 


of these children, died January 13, 1836, 
aged eighty-four years ; his wife, Mar- 
garet (Duff) Wallace, died December 26, 
1835, aged seventy-three years. 

William Wallace, fourth son of Wil- 
liam Wallace, and father of Mary Mar- 
garet (Wallace) Lang, was born on the 
Wallace homestead, October 2, 1800, 
where he lived all his life, and died May 
7, 1875. He married, April 5, 1832, Mar- 
garet Mahaffey, born May, 1800, died 
January 9, 1878, daughter of William and 
Margery (Foster) Mahaffey, of McKees- 
port, Pennsylvania. Children : Elizabeth, 
born December i, 1833; Mary Margaret, 
November i, 1836, aforementioned as the 
wife of John Miller Lang; Jonathan, 
April 12, 1838; Samuel Alexander, Janu- 
ary 2, 1840; Joseph Sampson, December 
9, 1841 ; Ann Jane, January 28, 1844. 

PARSONS, Ellwood, 

Stannch and Trusted Citizen. 

The Parsons family, for seven genera- 
tions associated with the affairs of Bucks 
and Philadelphia counties, Pennsylvania, 
is of ancient English residence and is 
probably of Norman origin, tracing to the 
time of the Crusaders, the early form of 
the name being Pierreson, son of Pierre. 
The earliest record of the name in Eng- 
lish heraldry is in the "Visitation to Here- 
ford in 1286," when Sir John Parsons, of 
Cuddingham, is awarded armorial bear- 
ings comprising a leopard's head between 
three crosses, indicating that the original 
grantee was a Crusader. 

Authentic records name George Par- 
sons, of Middlezoy, Somersetshire, Eng- 
land, born about 1540, as ancestor of Ell- 
wood Parsons, of this chronicle. George 
Parsons was the father of a son John and 
four daughters. Toward the close of the 
seventeenth century several representa- 
tives of the Somersetshire family of Par- 
sons, who had become converts to the 

faith of George Fox, found their way to 
Pennsylvania, among them a John Par- 
sons, great-grandson of George Parsons, 
previously mentioned, grandson of John, 
and son of John Parsons, and with him 
the American record of this line begins. 

John Parsons, the American ancestor of 
the branch of the Parsons family claim- 
ing Ellwood Parsons as member, was 
born at Middlezoy, Somersetshire, Eng- 
land, about 1630, and in early manhood 
allied himself with the believers in the 
faith of George Fox, suffering persecu- 
tion for this allegiance. In 1670 he was 
fined, with other members of Middlezoy 
Meeting, for refusing to pay tithes, and 
five years afterward was placed in prison 
for the same offence. He was one of seven 
Quakers imprisoned for holding religious 
meetings after the manner of their faith, 
who in 1684 addressed an eloquent peti- 
tion to the judges of the assizes, com- 
plaining against the injustice of their de- 
tension. He and his wife Florence signed 
a certificate for their son John, from the 
Meeting at Middlezoy to Friends in Phil- 
adelphia dated 7 mo. (September) 4, 1681. 
This son John returned to Middlezoy in 
1685, married Ann Powell, and with her, 
his brother Thomas and his sister Jane 
Tyler and her family, returned to Penn- 
sylvania in the same year. This party 
was accompanied by the parents of John 
and Thomas Parsons, John and Florence 

Thomas, son of John and Florence Par- 
sons, of Middlezoy, Somersetshire, and 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, was born 
about 1663. Like his father he was a 
member of the Society of Friends, and in 
1683 was imprisoned, with others, at 
Ilchester, County Somerset, for attending 
a conventicle held at Gregory-Stoke, 
where the Quarterly Meeting of Friends 
was usually held. He married, in 1685, 
Jeane or Jane Culling, daughter of John 
Culling, of Babcary parish, Somerset- 



shire, Ilchester Meeting of Friends con- 
senting to their marriage July 29, 1685. 
Thomas Parsons must have made imme- 
diate preparations to accompany other 
members of his family to Philadelphia, 
and there, with his wife, witnessed a mar- 
riage at the Friends Meeting House on 
April 8, 1686. Many of the early settlers 
of Philadelphia found it impossible to 
secure house accommodations for their 
families, and Thomas Parsons was one 
of those who for a time dwelt in a cave 
on the bank of the Delaware, near the 
foot of Arch street. Thomas Parsons and 
his brother John were carpenters and 
joiners, and owned one of the first wind 
mills "upon the Bank before the front 
Lott of Joseph Growden," which they 
sold to Richard Townsend, who on Feb- 
ruary 22, 1689-90, obtained a grant of 
"one hundred foot of bank before the 
Proprietor's son's Lott that lies on the 
south side of said Growden's Lott to sett 
the Mill upon." Thomas Parsons resided 
for a time on land he owned at Third and 
Walnut streets. Philadelphia, afterward 
moving to Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
where both he and his brother John had 
land grants, with allottments of Liberty 
lots in Philadelphia. His wife, Jane Cul- 
ling, died in Bucks county, and he again 
married in June, 1704, at Falls Monthly 
Meeting, his second wife being Mary 
Hinds. Soon afterward he settled in Ox- 
ford township, near Frankford, Philadel- 
phia, where he owned and operated a mill 
for a number of years, in January, 1720, 
selling it to Jacob and Isaac Leech. 
Thomas Parsons was also the owner of 
five hundred acres of land in Salem coun- 
ty, New Jersey, and eight hundred acres 
on Duck creek, Kent county, Delaware. 
He died at his home in Oxford township, 
in June, 1721. 

Thomas (2), son of Thomas and Jane 
(Culling) Parsons, was born in Philadel- 
phia about 1688, resided in the vicinity of 

his birthplace until after the death of his 
father, then moved to Virginia. He was 
named executor of his father's will, but 
was "absent" at the time of its proof, June 
17, 1721. By the terms of the will he was 
devised the mill property in Oxford town- 
ship, but his father conveyed the estate 
after drawing up his testament. The 
three children of Thomas (2) were bap- 
tized at Abington Presbyterian Church, 
the last one on September 8, 1722. 

Abraham, son of Thomas (2) Parsons, 
was baptized at Abington Presbyterian 
Church, March 5, 1720-21, the date on 
which his elder brother, Isaac, was bap- 
tized. He married Joanna, daughter of 
James and Margaret Ayres, of Lower 
Dublin township, Philadelphia county, 
and became the owner of a farm in that 
township, part of the estate of his father- 
in-law, James Ayres. Abraham Parsons 
died in December, 1768, his widow sur- 
viving him to February, 1779. 

Isaac, son of Abraham and Joanna 
(Ayres) Parsons, was born in Lower 
Dublin township, Philadelphia county, 
November 12, 1748, died September 26, 
1818. Soon after arriving at man's estate 
he located in Bristol township, Bucks 
county, in 1781 moving to Falls township, 
in the same county, and in the latter place 
passing the remaining years of his life. 
He was a member of St. James' Protes- 
tant Episcopal Church, of Bristol, Penn- 
sylvania, and he and his second wife are 
buried under the present church edifice. 
Isaac Parsons married (first) in 1777, 
Anstrus Shadowell, who bore him five 
children; (second) about 1791, Elizabeth 
Brodnax, born May 20, 1755, died June 
15, 1827, who bore him two children. 
Elizabeth was a daughter of Robert 
Brodnax, born about 1700, a scrivener 
who did considerable public work in 
Lower Bucks county, writing many wills 
and deeds and other documents. Robert 
Brodnax is said to have come to Bucks 



county from Henrico county, Virginia, 
where John Brodnax had settled in 1686 
and where he died in 1719, leaving a will 
of which his son Robert, a minor slightly 
under legal age, was named executor. 
From this John Brodnax, of Virginia, the 
family line is traced nine generations in 
an unbroken line to Robert Brodnax and 
his wife, Alicia Scappe, of Burmarsh and 
Godmersheim, County Kent, England, in 
the first quarter of the fifteenth century. 
Robert Brodnax married, October 9, 1734, 
Christiana Keen, daughter of Jonas and 
Frances (Walker) Keen, and resided in 
Bensalem township, Bucks county, where 
he died about 1784. Christiana Keen was 
a lineal descendant of Joran Kyn, who 
came to Pennsylvania with Governor 
John Printz in the ship "Kama," which 
sailed from Stockholm, Sweden, August 
16, 1642. 

Isaac (2), son of Isaac and Elizabeth 
( Brodnax) Parsons, was born in Falls 
township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
July 3, 1794, and died there August 21, 
1851. He inherited the old homestead 
and lived thereon during the greater part 
of his life, engaging for a brief period in 
mercantile trade. He married, April 5, 
1821, Lydia Ann Anderson, who was born 
near Trenton. New Jersey, July 18, 1801, 
died July 19, 1901, having attained the 
great age of one hundred years and one 
day, daughter of Joseph Anderson and 
Sarah (Norton) Anderson, and a descend- 
ant of Jochem Andriessen, who was a son 
of Andries Jochemsen Van Albade, one 
of the earliest settlers of New Amster- 
dam (New York). Enoch Anderson, son 
of Jochem and great-great-grandfather of 
Lydia Ann (Anderson) Parsons, was 
born in New York in 1676 and was one 
of the chief founders of Trenton, New 
Jersey. He was a justice of the peace 
and of the courts of Burlington county as 
early as 1709, was named in 1698 as trus- 
tee for the church and school grounds at 

Maidenhead, and was later trustee of 
both the Lawrenceville and Ewing Pres- 
byterian churches, and was active in the 
founding of these two places of worship. 
He lived on the Assaupuk creek, within 
the present limits of the city of Trenton, 
and on April 20, 1827, gave a portion of 
his land, one hundred and fifty feet square, 
in "Trent-town," to the trustees of the 
Presbyterian congregation, others con- 
tributing logs, mortar, and labor toward 
the church building, which was long 
known as "The Anderson Meeting 
House," now the First Presbyterian 
Church of Trenton, New Jersey. His 
wife was Trintje Op Dyke, of Newtown, 
Long Island, a granddaughter of Jansen 
Op Dyke, who came from Holland to the 
New Netherlands prior to 1653. The 
Norton family, to which belonged the 
wife of Joseph Anderson, had members 
among the earliest English settlers in 
New Jersey. 

Ellwood Parsons, son of Isaac and 
Lydia Ann (Anderson) Parsons, and 
member of the seventh American genera- 
tion of his family, was born in Falls 
township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
April 5, 1822. He obtained his education 
in the Friends' School at Fallsington and 
in a boarding school at Poughkeepsie, 
New York, and from the time he left 
school until his marriage made agricul- 
ture his occupation. Before his marriage, 
which occurred when he was a young 
man of twenty-nine years, he purchased 
a farm in Falls township, and he after- 
ward bought another of two hundred and 
seventeen acres on the New Jersey side 
of the Delaware, two miles below Borden- 
town, where he resided for nine years. 
Then returning to Bucks county, he was 
for three years engaged in the lumber 
business at Morrisville, in partnership 
with his brothers-in-law, Joseph C. and 
David Taylor. After retiring from his 
lumber operations Mr. Parsons purchased 



a country seat near Morrisville, which he 
made his home until his death. 

He held several important positions in 
connection with financial and industrial 
institutions, and from 1876 until his death 
was a member of the board of directors 
of the Bucks County Contributionship for 
Insuring Homes and Other Buildings 
from Loss by Fire, the oldest fire insur- 
ance company in the county. Elected a 
director of the First National Bank of 
Trenton, New Jersey, in January, 1868, 
he "rendered a most faithful and untiring 
service there until his death," a period of 
nearly a quarter of a century, being elect- 
ed to the presidency of the institution 
June 3, 1891. He was for many years a 
director of the Trenton City Bridge Com- 
pany, and in addition to his official duties 
discharged the obligations of numerous 
private positions of trust. 

Ellwood Parsons died October 13, 1891, 
and is buried beside his wife, in the fam- 
ily plot in the Morrisville Cemetery. 

He married, March 26, 1851, Mercy 
Ann Taylor, born July 14, 1824, died Oc- 
tober II, 1890, daughter of William and 
Mary (Crozer) Taylor, the former a de- 
scendant of Robert Taylor, mariner, a 
native of County Wicklow, who retired 
from the pursuit of the sea, settled in 
Philadelphia, and there died in 1798. 
Mary Crozer was a descendant of the 
Crozer family, who occupied for several 
generations the old Pennsbury Manor 
house and plantation which had been the 
home of William Penn. Through the 
Crozer line, Mercy Ann (Taylor) Par- 
sons was descended from Duncan Wil- 
liamson, one of the earliest settlers on 
the Delaware at Dunk's Ferry, which 
took its name from him, and also was de- 
scended from George Brown, who was 
commissioned a justice at the Falls by 
Governor Andros in 1680, as well as 
from John Sotcher and his wife, Mary 
Lofty, who came from England with Wil- 

liam Penn in 1699 and were long his stew- 
ards at Pennsbury Manor. Children of 
Ellwood and Mercy Ann (Taylor) Par- 
sons : William Taylor, born April i, 1852, 
died June 24, 1875 ; Annie Crozer, born 
September 18, 1853, died February 9, 
1895, married, September 3, 1891, Ed- 
ward C. Williamson, of Falls town.ship, 
Bucks county; Mary Taylor, born June 
2, 1856, died April 25, 1909; Lydia An- 
derson, born April 14, 1858, died August 
16, 1914, married, February 17, 1891, 
Henry W. Comfort (q. v.) ; George Tay- 
lor, born May 14, 1861, met his death by 
drowning, December 13, 1869; Rose, born 
June 13, 1864, died September 20, 1864; 
Ella, born November 8, 1866, a resident 
of Philadelphia and a member of the 
Pennsylvania Society, Colonial Dames of 
America, the Genealogical Society of 
Pennsylvania, and the Swedish Colonial 

COMFORT, Henry W., 

Fiuancier, Enterprising Citizen. 

The association of the family of Henry 
W. Comfort, a prominent and active busi- 
ness man of lower Bucks county, with 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania, dates from 
the landing of William Penn; Mr. Com- 
fort's ancestry tracing to "Welcome" 
passengers. John Comfort, the pater- 
nal great-great-great-great-grandfather of 
Henry W. Comfort, was a resident of 
Flushing, Long Island, in 1719, when he 
brought a certificate to Falls Monthly 
Meeting of Friends in Bucks county and 
settled on the eastern bank of the Dela- 
ware in West Jersey, near the Falls. He 
married, August 6, 1720, Mary Wilson, 
daughter oi Stephen Wilson, another 
member of Falls Monthly Meeting, resid- 
ing on the Jersey side of the Delaware, 
who brought a certificate from Friends 
Meeting in Cumberland county, England, 
which is so characteristic of the quaint 



and curious epistles of the time that it is 
here reproduced in full : 

Whereas, Steeven Wilson of Eglishfield in ye 
parish of Bugham and County of Cumberland 
haveing a purpose in his mind to goe to Pensil- 
▼ania to settle himself there in some employ- 
ment of honest labour in yt Country : 

Therefore this is to certifye and also to satis- 
fye ffriends or any other people there in that 
Island that may employe ye sd Steeven Wilson 
that he hath not come away or left his owne 
Country for any misdemeanor or miscarriage 
or matter of dishonestye of any kind that we 
knowe of never since he owned ye Truth but 
hath walked pretty orderly for several yeares 
amongst us, only that it is his owne free will 
purpose and resolution to settle himself in that 
plantation being a single man. 

In 1690, Stephen Wilson was one of 
the carpenters in charge of the building 
of the meeting house at Falls, and in 
1706 he had charge of the construction 
of the Buckingham Meeting House, dying 
in March, 1707, before the latter edifice 
was completed. Stephen Wilson married, 
in August, 1692, Sarah Baker, born at 
West Darby, Lancashire, England, Octo- 
ber 18, 1672, daughter of Henry Baker 
and his wife, Margaret Hardman. Henry 
and Margaret (Hardman) Baker, with 
their children, came to Pennsylvania in 
1684 and settled in Bucks county, which 
Henry Baker represented in the Provin- 
cial Assembly, 1685-1691, and again in 
1698. He was also commissioned one of 
the justices of the Common Pleas and 
other courts of Bucks county, January 2, 
1689-90, and served until his death in 
1701. He was one of the commissioners 
named to divide the county into town- 
ships, and in many ways was prominent 
and useful in the aflfairs of the infant 
colony on the Delaware, as was his son- 
in-law, Stephen Wilson. John Comfort 
died in 1729, leaving three minor chil- 
dren — Stephen, Sarah, and Robert, who 
were taken in charge by the Wrights- 
town Monthly Meeting. 

Stephen Comfort, eldest son of John 
and Mary Comfort, married, August 25, 
1744, Mercy Croasdale, born in Middle- 
town, Bucks county, February 28, 1723- 
24, and settled in Middletown township, 
where he died in 1772. Mercy Croasdale 
was a daughter of Jeremiah Croasdale, 
born October 29, 1694, died 1748, and his 
wife, Grace Heaton, daughter of Robert 
Heaton Jr. and his wife, Grace Pearson, 
and granddaughter of Robert Heaton and 
Alice, his wife, from Settle, Yorkshire, 
who, with their children, including Rob- 
ert, Jr., born in Yorkshire in 1671, crossed 
the Atlantic with William Penn in the 
"Welcome," arriving in the Delaware 
river October 27, 1682. Both Robert 
Heatons were among the largest original 
landowners in Bucks county, holding title 
to several large tracts in and adjoining 
Middletown. Robert Heaton Jr. was a 
member of the Provincial Assembly, 
1709-1711, and was otherwise prominent 
in public afifairs. Ezra Croasdale, the 
paternal grandfather of Mercy (Croas- 
dale) Comfort, brought a certificate from 
Brighouse Monthly Meeting of Friends 
in Yorkshire in 1683, and settled in Mid- 
dletown township, where he married, 
April 6, 1687, Ann Peacock, who had ar- 
rived in the "Shield," of Stockton, from 
Kirksdale, Yorkshire, in October, 1684. 
Ezra Croasdale was a member of the 
Provincial Assembly, 1706-1710, and filled 
a number of other important public posi- 
tions prior to his death, which occurred 
June 18. 1740. His wife, Ann, died De- 
cember 8, 1732. 

Ezra Comfort, son of Stephen and 
Mercy Comfort, born in Middletown, Au- 
gust II, 1747, was a minister of the Soci- 
ety of Friends, and resided for a time in 
Bensalem township, Bucks county, and 
later in Plymouth township, Montgomery 
county, where he died January 15, 1820. 
He married, at Buckingham, Bucks coun- 
ty, January 8, 1772, Alice Fell, born Sep- 



tember 3, 1754, died November 6, 1840. 
She was a daughter of John Fell, born 
July 7, 1712, died November 20, 1762, 
near Doylestown, Bucks county, and his 
wife, Elizabeth Watson, born February 
22, 1717-18, died March 12, 1812, and 
granddaughter of Joseph Fell, born at 
Longlands, parish of Uldale, County Cum- 
berland, England, died in Buckingham 
township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
June 9, 1748, and his second wife, Eliza- 
beth Doyle, daughter of Edward Doyle, 
a native of Ireland, and his wife, Rebecca, 
daughter of Rev. Thomas Dungan, 
founder of the first Baptist church in 
Bucks county, established about 1688. 
Elizabeth (Doyle) Fell was, however, an 
accepted minister of the Society of 
Friends. Joseph Fell was for a number 
of years a justice of the courts of Bucks 
county, and a member of the Provincial 
Assembly, 1721-1725. Elizabeth (Wat- 
son) Fell was a daughter of Dr. John 
Watson, a prominent resident and physi- 
cian of Buckingham, Bucks county, and 
his wife, Ann Beale, and granddaughter 
of Thomas Watson, who came from High 
Moor, County Cumberland, England, in 
1701, many years a colonial justice and 
member of Provincial Assembly, and his 
wife, Elinor Pierson. Alice (Fell) Com- 
fort was long a faithful elder of the Soci- 
ety of Friends and her worth is commend- 
ed in a memoir in "The Friend," of Janu- 
ary 2y, 1849. She died November 6, 1840. 
Ezra (2) Comfort, son of Ezra and 
Alice, born April 18, 1777, was also a 
minister of the Society of Friends, resid- 
ing in Plymouth, Montgomery county, 
where he died August 29, 1847. He mar- 
ried, October 16, 1800, Margaret Shoe- 
maker, born February 9, 1782, died March 
31, 1873, daughter of David Shoemaker 
and his wife, Jane Roberts. Margaret 
Shoemaker was a descendant of George 
Shoemaker, of Kriegsheim, Germany, on 
the upper Rhine, "two hours ride from 

the city of Worms," who with his brother 
Peter was one of the early converts to 
the faith of George Fox, who visited 
Kriegsheim about 1660. Both Peter and 
George Shoemaker suffered persecution 
for their religious faith as early as 1663. 
George Shoemaker married at Heidel- 
berg, in 1662, and continued to reside at 
Kriegsheim until 1685, where eight chil- 
dren were born to him and his wife Sarah. 
In 1685 he and his brother Peter decided 
to immigrate to Pennsylvania, where Ger- 
mantown had already been laid out to 
the thirteen families who had left the 
same German locality a year before. 
Peter sailed in the "Francis and Doro- 
thy," arriving at Germantown on Octo- 
ber 12, 1685, taking with him Sarah, the 
eldest daughter of his brother George, 
but for some reason George and his wife, 
with their seven other children, sailed 
several months later in the ship "Jeffer- 
ies." This ship made Philadelphia port 
March 20, 1685-86, but George Shoe- 
maker had died during the passage and 
had been given a sea burial. His widow 
a year later purchased two hundred acres 
of land at the present site of Ogontz, on 
the old York road, known for a century 
and more as Shoemakertown. 

George Shoemaker, eldest son of 
George and Sarah Shoemaker, born at 
Kriegsheim in 1663, acquired the land of 
his mother at Shoemakertown, Septem- 
ber 28, 1708, and becoming owner of an 
additional hundred acres, greatly im- 
proved it and lived thereon until his death 
in 1740. He there erected and operated 
a tannery, and was to some extent identi- 
fied with matters of public interest, being 
one of the commissioners appointed by 
the Pennsylvania Assembly to lay out 
the York road from Philadelphia to the 
Delaware at Reading's Ferry in Solebury 
township in 171 1. George Shoemaker 
married, February 14, 1694-95, Sarah 
Wall, daughter of Richard Wall Jr. and 


his wife Rachel, granddaughter of Rich- 
ard Wall Sr. and his wife, Joane Wheel, 
who had come from Gloucestershire, 
England, in 1682, bringing a certificate 
from Friends Meeting at Stoke's Or- 
chard, County Gloucester, dated 4 mo. 
26, 1682, which was accepted by Philadel- 
phia Monthly Meeting in December, 
1682. Richard Wall purchased six hun- 
dred acres of land, including part of the 
site of Shoemakertown, and his house in 
that town was the first meeting place of 
the Friends who later organized Abing- 
ton Monthly Meeting. He died March 
26, 1698, devising his whole estate to his 
granddaughter, Sarah Shoemaker, subject 
to the life estate of his wife, Joane, who 
died February 2, 1701-02, his only son, 
Richard Jr. having died April 8, 1689, 
leaving as his only child Sarah, the wife 
of George Shoemaker. 

Jacob Shoemaker, third son of George 
Shoemaker and Sarah Wall, was born at 
Shoemakertown, now Ogontz, December 
16, 1703. He married Margaret Cunard. 
born in 1708, daughter of Matthias and 
Barbara (Tyson) Cunard, and settled 
in White Marsh township, Philadel- 
phia, now Montgomery county. "Thones 
Kunders" (otherwise Denis Cunard), 
father of Matthias, and his wife, Ellen 
Streypers, with their children, consti- 
tuted one of the thirteen families from 
Crefeld and Kriegsheim, Germany, who 
sailed from London in the ship "Con- 
cord," July 24, and arrived in Philadel- 
phia, October 6, 1683, founding the first 
German colony in America at German- 
town. Denis Cunard was born at Crefeld, 
on the borders of Holland, in 1648, and 
died at Germantown in 1729. Matthias, 
son of Denis and Ellen Cunard, was born 
at Crefeld, January 25, 1679-80, and mar- 
ried, July 29, 1705, Barbara, daughter of 
Cornelius and Margaret Tyson, who 
came from Crefeld to Germantown, about 
1685. Cornelius was born in Crefeld in 


1652, and died in Germantown, May 9, 

David Shoemaker, son of Jacob and 
father of Margaret (Shoemaker) Com- 
fort, was born at White Marsh in 1752, 
and died there November 9, 1810. He 
married, at Plymouth Meeting, Novem- 
ber 22, 1778, Jane Roberts, born May i, 
1751, died October 11, 1821, daughter of 
John Roberts, of Whitpain, and his wife, 
Jane Hank. Jane Roberts was of Welsh 
descent, a great-granddaughter of Robert 
Cadwalader, of Wales, who came to 
Pennsylvania in the "Robert and Eliza- 
beth," in 1698, with his wife and six chil- 
dren, settling at Gwynedd, where the 
parents died a few years later. The son, 
according to Welsh custom, took the sur- 
name Roberts. John Roberts, son of 
Robert Cadwalader, was born in Wales 
about 1677, died in Montgomery town- 
ship in 1773. He married, August 7, 
1706, Elizabeth Edwards, also of Welsh 
ancestry, and they were the parents of 
John Roberts, of Whitpain, above men- 
tioned, who was born July 28, 1714, and 
died October 4, 1801. He married (first) 
May 13, 1736, Jane Hank, born in 1714, 
died in 1762. 

John S. Comfort, son of Ezra and Mar- 
garet (Shoemaker) Comfort, was born in 
Plymouth township. May 26, 1810, died 
in Falls township, Bucks county, July 29, 
1891. In early life he engaged in lime- 
burning, erecting, owning and operating 
kilns on the line of the Delaware Division 
Canal along the Delaware river, ten miles 
south of Easton. He was the shipper of 
the first boat load of lime carried on the 
new canal, and for a number of years 
supplied most of the lime used by the 
residents of lower Bucks county. Sub- 
sequently he undertook lumber deal- 
ings at what is now called Thornhurst 
on the Lehigh river, and in 1836 he pur- 
chased the farm still owned and resided 
on by the family, near Fallsington, Bucks 


county, where his death occurred. He 
was a member of the board of directors 
of the Bucks County Contributionship, 
and of the First National Bank of Tren- 
ton, New Jersey ; and was prominent in 
the Society of Friends. John S. Com- 
fort married, April 6, 1836, Jane Cooper 
Comfort, born June 2, 1813, died March 
31, 1881, daughter of Jeremiah Comfort, 
of Byberry, and his wife, Sarah Cooper. 

George M. Comfort, son of John S. and 
Jane Cooper (Comfort) Comfort, was 
born on the Falls township homestead, 
April 10, 1837, succeeded to the owner- 
ship of the estate, and there died May 
30, 1913. His life comprised activity in 
many lines, and he was respected and 
honored as a business man of upright 
principles, careful and conservative in all 
of his transactions. He was a member of 
the original board of directors of the 
People's National Bank of Langhorne, a 
director of the First National Bank of 
Trenton, New Jersey, president for many 
years of the Bucks County Contribution- 
ship, the oldest fire insurance company 
in Bucks county, and held numerous 
other important positions of weighty re- 
sponsibility. Like his ancestors for sev- 
eral generations, he was a member of the 
Society of Friends, and was ever promi- 
nent in church affairs. He married, Oc- 
tober 14, 1858, a distant relative, Ann 
Elizabeth, born July 21, 1837, daughter of 
Moses and Mercy Comfort, of Penn's 
Manor. Children : Edward C, died in 
childhood ; Henry W., of further mention ; 
William S., died in childhood. 

Henry W., second son of George M. 
and Ann Elizabeth Comfort, and the 
only child to survive childhood, was born 
at the Comfort homestead in Falls town- 
ship, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, Feb- 
ruary 27, 1863. Three generations of his 
family in direct line have owned and 
lived on the old farm, situated about a 
mile and a half from the village of Fall- 


sington, and from an early age Henry 
W. Comfort has been its manager, later 
its owner. An interesting feature of the 
farm is that since 1847 it has been one of 
the sources of milk supply for the city of 
Trenton, John S., grandfather of Henry 
W. Comfort, first establishing a dairy 
business with that nearby city. In addi- 
tion to successfully conducting the oper- 
ation of this farm of two hundred and 
twenty-five acres and others, Mr. Com- 
fort has long been a prominent figure in 
the business life of his community and of 
the city of Trenton, and is one of the ac- 
tive, progressive public spirits of his 

Henry W. Comfort spent his early life 
in acquiring an education in Friends 
schools, and as a young man he became 
manager of the homestead acres. As he 
grew in years he widened his field of 
operations, has acquired large business 
interests, and has gained high repute as 
executive of well known institutions and 
corporations. He has been for many 
years president of the John L. Murphy 
Publishing Company, is president and 
treasurer of the International Pottery 
Company, of Trenton, is a director of the 
First National Bank, of Trenton, presi- 
dent of the Yardley National Bank, of 
Yardley, vice-president of the William H. 
Moon Nursery Company, vice-president 
of the Morrisville Building and Loan 
Association ; director of Bristol Trust 
Company ; director of Bucks County Con- 
tributionship Insurance Company, and 
has honorably fulfilled the many sacred 
private trusts committed to him as guar- 
dian, trustee and executor. 

His private interests have not selfishly 
bound him, but he has for several years 
been a member of the board of managers 
of the Friends' Asylum for the Insane, at 
Frankfort, Pennsylvania, president of the 
Fallsington Library Company, and is in- 
terested in all that tends to promote 


neighborhood interests. His life has been 
an active, useful one, and in all that 
makes for good citizenship Mr. Comfort 
is preeminent. 

He married (first) November 13, 1884, 
Edith De Cou, born October 28, i860, 
died January 6, 1888, daughter of Samuel 
Ellis and Sarah B. De Cou, of Trenton, 
New Jersey, and (second) on February 
17, 1891, Lydia A. Parsons, born April 
14, 1858, died August 16, 1914, daughter 
of EUwood Parsons, of Falls tow^nship, 
and his wife, Mercy Ann Taylor. 

BURPEE, Washington Atlee, 

Founder of Important Seed House. 

The name Burpee is a widely known one, 
perhaps there is no quarter of the world 
where flowers and vegetables are grown 
that "Burpee's Catalogue of Seeds" is not 
a visitor. It is a matter of pride that 
Philadelphia is the home of the largest 
mail order seed house in the world. Its 
founder was an American, although born 
in Canada, and was a grandson of Dr. 
Washington L. Atlee, of Philadelphia. 

Mr. Burpee in truth developed a won- 
derful business, and one that from its 
inception to its present magnitude is the 
child of his own genius. Distinctively a 
mail order house, its offerings each season 
are presented to the world through the 
medium of a finely illustrated catalogue 
— the "Burpee's Annual." The products 
of three large farms owned by W. Atlee 
Burpee & Company furnish but a small 
part of the seeds sold, but the same 
standard of quality is observed as though 
all were grown on the Burpee farms. 
This method of maintaining quality is 
one of the interesting features of the 
business, as is the packing and shipping 
system, that cares for thousands of 
orders daily, the system of sorting and 
opening mail, the printing department; in 
fact, a visit to the Burpee plant on North 


Fifth street is full of interest at every 
point. While Mr. Burpee was proud of 
his business, Philadelphia was proud of 
Mr. Burpee, for in his treatment of em- 
ployees he has shown to employers that 
quality of product depends on the quality 
of employes. This homely truth has been 
so little understood in the past that Mr. 
Burpee and other employers, pioneers in 
the field of improving the working condi- 
tions of employes, have had to face the 
criticism of the less progressive and more 
narrow-minded. The Burpee people have 
rest rooms with easy chairs, lounges, 
tables, newspapers and magazines, smok- 
ing rooms for the men, a light, airy dining 
room for women, with food and service 
at cost, umbrellas for use in case of storm, 
and nothing has been overlooked that 
tends to the comfort, convenience, and 
welfare of those connected with the Bur- 
pee plant. This insures a corps of loyal, 
efficient, workers, who guarantee cus- 
tomers immunity from careless packing, 
shipping, or delay. System is the key- 
note of the establishment, one result be- 
ing that an order rarely remains unfilled 
for more than twenty-four hours. That 
such a business has been built by one 
man's force, determination, and genius 
in the short space of forty years seems 
little short of marvelous. 

Could one add to his idea of the activity 
of the Philadelphia house a view of Ford- 
hook farms in Pennsylvania, Sunnybrook 
farm in New Jersey, and Floradale farm 
in California, and a view of the hundreds 
of farms elsewhere that produce Burpee 
seeds, then indeed would he gain some 
faint conception of the work that has been 
accomplished by the head of "the largest 
mail order seed house in the world." 
When one ceases to marvel at the seed 
production the next cause for wonder is 
the manner in which such an immense 
number can be sold. Remembering the 
more than a million "Silent Salesman" 


over which millions of men, women, and 
children pore, the thousands of daily 
orders are explained. Truly a wonderful 
business, wonderful in its scope and mag- 
nitude, wonderful in its systematic de- 
velopment, yet even more interesting 
than the business is the man who con- 
ceived and developed it. 

Washington Atlee Burpee was born in 
Sheffield, New Brunswick, Canada, April 
5, 1858, son of David and Anne C. (Atlee) 
Burpee, and maternal grandson of Dr. 
Washington L. Atlee, of Philadelphia. 
He became a Philadelphian in early life, 
his parents changing their residence dur- 
ing his boyhood. He obtained his pre- 
paratory education at the Friends' Central 
School, and then studied for two years at 
the University of Pennsylvania, class of 
1878. He became interested in the seed 
business in 1876, and for two years was 
associated with partners. In 1878 he 
severed the connection and established a 
separate business under the name W. 
Atlee Burpee & Company. Beginning 
modestly, the business has expanded until 
Burpee's seeds are sought for in every 
State in the Union and every country on 
the globe where they can be used. The 
three farms "Fordhook" (Pennsylvania), 
"Sunnybrook" (New Jersey), and "Flora- 
dale" (California), are part of the great 
business cen