(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Families of the Wyoming Valley: biographical, genealogical and historical. Sketches of the bench and bar of Luzerne County, Pennsylvania"




t 



^ 



FAMILIES 



\A/yoming Valley 



Biographical, Genealogical, and Historical. 



Sketches of the Bench and Bar 



> 



/ ¥ c; 



'} . / 



OF LUZERNE COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA. 



4 



. \/[ . 



GEO. B. KULP, 



Hl.STOKIOGR.\l'HRK OF THE WYOMINC HISTORICAL AND GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY. 



" Which we have heard and known, and our fathers have told us. " 

" Which he commanded our fathers that they should make them known to their children. " 

" That the generation to come might know them, even the children which should be born, who 
should arise and declare them to their children. " — Psalms Ixxviii : 3, j, 0. 

' Those who do not treasure up the memory of their ancestors, do not deserve to be remembered 
ky posterity. " — Edmund Burke. 



IN THREE VOI^UMES. 

VOL. II. 



WILKES-BARRE, PENNSYLVANIA. 
1889. 




J J J J J J J , 



Copyright 1889 by 
GEORGE B. KULP. 



</ 



ii 



^ 






/ 



/ 



/ 



E. B. YoRDY. Printer, 
Wilkes-Barre, Pa. 



• » T • » • • 
• • •»• ••• • 
• •• ••^ •* 



• * • • • 



• • • • « • 



■ • •• •• • 



»•• .•• • • 



To MY FEIEND 

Hon. LAZARUS DENISON SHOEMAKER. 

WHO.SE PATEENAL GKAXDFATHEE, LIEUTENANT ELIJAH 
8H0EMAKEE, WAS SLAIN, AND WHOSE MATEENAL GEAND- 

FATHEB, Colonel Nathan Denison, gallantly led the 

LEFT WING OF THE AMEEICAN AEMY' AT THE EVEE JIEM- 
OEABLE BATTLE AND MASSACEE OF WYOMING; AN HON- 
OEED MEMBEE OF THE LlZEENE BAE, WHOSE PUBLIC AND 
PEIYATE LIFE HAS SO CEEDITABLY FULFILLED THE PEOM- 
ISES OF SO DISTINGUISHED AN ANCESTEY", THIS VOLXtmE 
IS EESPECTFT'LLY DEDICATED BY 

The Author. 



PREFACE. 

In continuation of the design of the author of " Families of 
the Wyoming Valley," as set out in the preface to the first vol- 
ume, this second volume is presented. That design, it will be re- 
membered, covered the biographies, and as far as possible, the 
genealogical records of the families from whom the members of 
the Luzerne bar, past and present, descended. 

Even though there had not been intention and promise of a 
second volume, the flattering reception accorded the first, and the 
many important and interesting facts developed in a mere cursory 
inquiry regarding the lives of those not contained in it, would 
have prompted, not to say compelled, the present one. 

And right here is, perhaps, the best place to announce that a 
third volume has been found necessary, and been decided upon. 
It will be devoted mainly to the lives of the departed members 
of the bench and bar, those who had ceased to be when this work 
was commenced ; and when it is remembered that it will include 
such illustrious names as those of Cooper, Griffin, Mallery, 
Denison, Catlm. Conyngham, Woodward, Kidder, Jones, Wright, 
Ketcham, and other eminent men, the need of such a volume 
becomes clearly manifest. 

In this book will be found the biographies of the non-resi- 
dent members of the Luzerne bar, as well as of those hving and 
resident, whose admission to practice came subsequently to Jan- 
uary 20th, 1876 (with a few exceptions.) The work herein has 
been as complete as the most painstaking and conscientious re- 
search could make it. 

It is not pretended that absolute completeness or absolute ac- 
curacy has been attained, but every available source of reliable 



vi Preface. 

information has been exhausted in each case before the author 
was willing to rest content with his work and commit it to the 
perpetuating record of the types. There may be occasional er- 
rors as to facts and dates, and where judgment has been ventured 
in measuring the qualities and capacities of the subjects of the 
biographies, it is highly probable that in some cases it will be 
found faulty in one direction or the other ; but that criticism may 
be safely proffered, no matter how well trained or otherwise 
strongly fortified the judgment considered may have been, and 
the author of these books makes no pretence of infallibility or 
even of exceptional capacity for wise estimate of men. He feels, 
nevertheless, that his work has been done very patiently, and as 
thoroughly as the circumstances would allow, and offers it to the 
reader in calm confidence of its worthiness of a place on the 
shelves of the library of every man or woman who for any rea- 
son has an interest in the history or the people of the Wyoming- 
valley. 

The prime purpose in the production of many books is the ex- 
altation of the author as a man of genius and consequence. 
Such, however, is not the aim of these volumes. Without any 
pretence to the qualities of authorship, he has, nevertheless, 
sought diligently, with much labor and no little expense, to com- 
pile certain personal records in honor of a noble profession, and 
of a locality rich, not only in the bounties of nature, but in the 
fruits of the genius of its men and women — records without having 
perused which, it is safe to say, no acquaintance with all that is 
most important and most interesting in the history of Wyoming 
and its families, can fairly be called complete. 

Acknowledgment has come from many sources that the 
sketches in the first volume contain many hitherto unrecorded 
facts of much more than ordinary moment in connection with 
that history, and this volume, it is believed, will be found equally 
fertile in a similar yielding. To the descendants of those the 



Preface. 



VI 1 



principal incidents in whose lives are here set down, these books 
must prove well nigh invaluable. Those who do not feel an 
eagerness to know and a just pride in recalling the records of the 
honorable achievements of the families from which they have 
sprung is callous to one of the noblest promptings of the human 
heart. Feeling that these books will be an aid to the indulgence 
of those promptings, throughout all this vicinity, in the years to 
come, and that they will be prized for that reason, if for no other, 
the author sends this volume forth, asking only that tolerant 
judgment to which laborers in such difficult fields as those of 
biographical and genealogical research are fairly entitled. 

Wilkes-Barre, Pa., March, 1889. 



FAMILIES 



WYOMING VALLEY. 



OSCAR JEWELL HARVEY. 



Oscar Jewell Harvey was born in VVilkes-Barre, Pa., September 
2, 1851. He is a descendant of Turner Harvey, an Englishman 
who lived in the reign of Henry VIH., and was a noted archer and 
warrior and a great favorite of King Henry. It is said of Turner 
Harvey that he was in his time the mightiest man with his bow 
in all England, or of any age ; and it is added that at his death 
there was no man in England who could spring his bow. This 
bow was a family relic in the time of William Harvey, the 
emigrant, and remained with the English branch of the family. 
The great-grandson of Turner Harvey was William Harvey, of 
Taunton, England. He emigrated to America among the first 
colonists of Plymouth, and with sixteen others from that colony 
purchased from the Indians, for a peck of beans, certain lands, 
and founded the present town of Taunton, Mass. He was a rep- 
resentative in 1664 and for thirteen years afterwards. He had 
children, Thomas and Elizabeth. Elizabeth married a Harvey, 
an emigrant from England, and from this union and that of her 
brother Thomas sprang nearly all of the name in New England. 
John Harvey, a descendant of Thomas Harvey, died at Lyme, 
New London county, Conn., in 1705. He had settled in Lyme 
as early as 1682, having come from Essex county, Mass. He 
had served as a soldier in the great Narragansett fight, Decem- 
ber 19, 1675, in which he was wounded. His son, John, received 
certain lands on account of his father's service in the battle. 



5o6 Oscar Jewell Harvey, 

\^-^ ^ 



Benjamin Harvey, youngest son of John Harvey, jun., was a 
native of Lyme, where he was born July 28, 1722. His wife, 
Ehzabeth, died in Lyme December 3, 1771, and in the fall of 
1772 Benjamin Harvey emigrated to the Wyoming Valley with 
his children, Lois, Lucy, Benjamin, Silas, and Elisha, and settled 
in the lower end of Plymouth township. His second wife was 
Catharine Draper, widow of Major Simeon Draper, of Kings- 
ton. They had no children. Major Draper was one of the early 
members of the Susquehanna Land Company, and one of the 
first Forty of Kingston. Mr. Harvey was a man of intelligence 
and possessed of considerable means (at the time of his death he 
was one of the richest men in the valley), and became prominent 
among the Wyoming settlers. Charles Miner, the historian, 
said of him : " He was esteemed one of the most considerate, 
prudent men among those who first established themselves in 
the valley. He was the intimate friend, and frequently the con- 
fidential adviser, of Colonel Zebulon Butler, they having for- 
merly been neighbors (at Lyme, Conn.) He was often em- 
ployed in situations of trust and delicacy, and his opinions were 
regarded with marked respect." He died in Plymouth Novem- 
ber 27, 1795. One hundred years ago, and even seventy-five 
years ago, there were a great many Harveys in Lyme. They 
were all well-to-do, and owned a great deal of land. The family 
were connected by marriage with many of the prominent families 
of New London county — the Seldons, Colts, Waites (of which 
Chief Justice Waite, United States Supreme Court, is a descend- 
ant), Beckwiths (Rev. George Beckwith, one of the earliest minis- 
ters in Wyoming, was a descendant), Brockways, and Rathbones. 
There is now not one of the name of Harvey in Lyme. Benja- 
min Harvey, jun., son of Benjamin Harvey, was the first merchant 
in Plymouth. In 1774 he started a small retail store in the log 
house of his father, and located very near the site of the Chris- 
tian church building. He was a soldier in Captain Robert Dur- 
kee's company of Wyoming Volunteers, attached to Colonel 
John Durkee's regiment of infantry in the American army. He 
died in service in March, 1777, an unmarried man. Silas, another 
son of Benjamin Harvey, sen., was killed in the battle and mas- 
sacre of Wyoming. He was also unmarried. Elisha Harvey 



Oscar Jewell Harvey. 507 

was the youngest son of Benjamin Harvey, sen. He married, 
in 1786, Rosanna Jameson, daughter of Robert and Agnes Jame- 
son, who came to Wyoming from Voluntown, Windham county^ 
Conn., in 1776. In December, 1780, he was made a prisoner by 
the Indians in one of their incursions into the valley, and con- 
veyed to Canada. He was detained there until August, 1782, 
when he was enabled to return to his home. Exposure to the 
severe climate of Canada and harsh treatment by his captors, 
broke down his constitution, and eventually caused his death, 
which occurred in Plymouth township March 14, j8oo, at the 
age of forty-two. The Wilkes-Barre Gazette of March 18, 1800, 
in referring to his death said, inter alia : " For his uprightness, 
he lived much esteemed by all who knew him ; and died not less 
lamented. Notwithstanding" his agricultural pursuits forbid him 
to mix so much with men as some, yet his virtues were many 
and his exemplary conduct not less distinguishable * * and 
when called to bid adieu to sublunary enjoyments, he was re- 
signed to the sleep of death, with the comfortable hope of awak- 
ening among the blest of God." His second son, Jameson Har- 
vey, was born January i, 1796, and died July 4, 1885. He was 
the father of our townsmen William Jameson Harvey and Henry 
Harrison Harvey. Benjamin Harvey, eldest son of Elisha Har- 
vey, was born May 9, 1792, and married, July 9, 18 15, Sally, 
daughter of Abram Nesbitt, of Plymouth township. He was 
the son of James Nesbitt, who emigrated from Connecticut in 
1769, and was one of the Forty. His name appears on the list 
of settlers of the valley made out by Colonel Zebulon Butler on 
July 24, 1769, and also upon a list prepared by Colonel Butler of 
the persons in the fort at Wilkes-Barre on April 12, 1770. He 
made his " pitch " at the foot of Ant Hill, Plymouth, where he 
resided with his family during the remainder of his life, and 
which was also the residence of his two sons, Abram and James, 
during their respective lives, after him. He returned to Con- 
necticut in 1774, on account of the Pennamite and Yankee 
troubles, but came back to Plymouth in 1777. From this period 
he remained on his farm to the time of his death, July 2, 1792. 
He was, therefore a resident of the town at the time of the 
Wyoming battle and massacre. He was in the Wyoming battle 



5o8 Oscar Jewell Harvey. 



and one of the survivors of Captain Whittlesey's company. The 
name of James Nesbitt appears in the proceedings of several of 
the early town meetings of Plymouth. He was an officer of a 
meeting held December 6, 1779, and was also one of the justices 
of the county court on the organization of Luzerne county May 
27, ^7^7- James Nesbitt, jun., a son of Abram and brother of 
Mrs, Harvey, was a member of the first board of directors of the 
Wyoming (National) Bank, and remained a member several 
years. In 1832 he was elected sheriff of Luzerne county, and in 
1835 was a member of the legislature of Pennsylvania. Abram 
Nesbitt, of Kingston, is the son of James Nesbitt, jun. On the 
organization of the Second National Bank of Wilkes-Barre in 
1863, he was elected a member of the board of directors, and 
has remained in that position since. In 1871 he was elected vice 
president of the bank, which office he held until 1877, when he 
was elected president, which office he now fills. He has been a di- 
rector of the Central Poor District for about fifteen years, and treas- 
urer most of the time. He has been a member of the borough 
council of Kingston about three-quarters of the time, and school 
director for about one-half of the time since the organization of 
the borough. He is one of the trustees of Wyoming Seminary, 
a director of the Wyoming Valley Coal Company, and trustee 
and treasurer of the Forty Fort Cemetery Association. 

Of other children of Elisha Harvey, Sarah married the late 
Rev. George Lane, of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and 
Elizabeth married Thomas Pringle, of Kingston, father of the 
late Alexander J. Pringle, of Kingston. Benjamin Harvey, in 
the spring of 18 16, moved from Plymouth to Huntington town- 
ship, in this county, where he owned a large tract of land and 
a grist mill. Here he lived the balance of his life a prosperous 
and wealthy farmer and man of business. He died in 1873 at 
the age of eighty-one years, respected and beloved by all who 
knew him. 

Elisha B. Harvey, son of Benjamin Harvey, and father of Oscar 
J. Harvey, was born in Huntington township, at what is now 
Harvey ville, October i, 1819. He remained at home until the 
fall of 1837, when he entered the grammar school connected 
with Dickinson College, Carlisle, Pa. He remained there nearly 



Oscar Jewell Harvey. 509 



a year, and then became a student in the Franklin Academy, near 
Harford, Susquehanna county, Pa. Among his fellow-students 
at this academy were several who in later life became men of 
prominence — Galusha A. Grow, Charles R. Buckalew, Thomas 
Bowman, D. D., LL. D., and others. Subsequently he entered 
the academy of" Deacon" Dana in Wilkes-Barre, and early in 
August, 1841, at the age of twenty-two, he entered the freshman 
class of VVesleyan University, Middletown, Conn., in which in- 
stitution his cousin, Harvey B. Lane, was at that time professor 
of Latin and Greek. Among his fellow-students and most inti- 
mate friends in college were several young men who afterwards 
attained eminence in the world: E. O. Haven, bishop of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, and his cousin. Rev. Gilbert 
Haven, author and editor; James Strong, D. D., professor in 
Drew Theological Seminary and' author of" Harmony of the 
Gospels," etc. ; Hon. Dexter R. Wright, of Connecticut ; Hon. 
Cornelius Cole, United States senator from California, 1867 to 
1873; Orange Judd, of New York; and Professor Alexander 
Winchell. the scientist. Mr. Harvey was a faithful and energetic 
student and graduated from the university with honor in the 
summer of 1845. In September, 1845, ^^^ became professor of 
Greek and Latin in the Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa., then 
in the second year of its existence. At that time Rev. Reuben 
Nelson was principal, W. W. Ketcham, subsequently a promi- 
nent member of the Luzerne county bar, and later a United 
States district judge, was professor of mathematics, and among 
the students who recited to Professor Harvey were several young 
men who afterwards became well-known citizens of Luzerne 
county and of the state of Pennsylvania; Henry M. Hoyt, ex- 
governor of Pennsylvania, being among the number. During 
the period of his connection with the Seminary Mr. Harvey was 
registered as a student at law in the office of Charles Denison, 
and when not engaged with the duties of his professorship he 
devoted his time to the study of Blackstone. In June, 1846, he 
resigned his position in the seminary, and soon thereafter enter- 
ing in earnest on the study of the law, was admitted to the bar 
of Luzerne county November 4, 1847. While Mr. Harvey's 
profession was the law, and in it he worked for nearly twenty-five 



5IO Oscar Jewell Harvey. 



years, achieving much success, yet, from the start, he was ahnost 
continually interested and engaged in certain other duties and 
pursuits which occupied much of his time. From early youth 
up he had a great fondness for military affairs. When only 
twenty years of age he was elected captain of the Huntington 
Rifle Company, and at the age of twenty-nine he was elected 
and commissioned, for the term of five years, lieutenant-colonel 
in the Pennsylvania Militia, and at the age of thirty-four years 
he was elected and commissioned brigade inspector of the Sec- 
ond Brigade, Ninth Division, Pennsylvania Militia, for the term 
of five years. In May, 1855, a military company was organized 
in Wilkes-Barre on the basis of the old " Wyoming Artillerists," 
and bore the same name. Elisha B. Harvey was elected cap- 
tain and commissioned for a term of five years. He held the 
offices and performed the duties of brigade inspector and captain 
of the " Wyoming Artillerists" until July, 1859, when he was 
elected major general of the Ninth Division Pennsylvania Militia. 
The following October the election was contested, and because 
of certain irregularities it was decided that Mr. Harvey had not 
received a sufficient number of legal votes to elect him. The 
election was therefore declared void. On April 22, 1861, Mr. 
Harvey began the formation of a company of infantry to be 
called the " Wilkes-Barre Guard." Eighty-seven men were soon 
enlisted, and they offered their services to the state government, 
but were not accepted, as the quota had been filled prior to the 
time their services had been offered. In May, 1861, Captain 
Harvey recruited another company under the name of the 
"Wyoming Bank Infantry," and on June 13 they left Wilkes- 
Barre for West Chester, Pa., where, on June 26, the Seventh 
Regiment of the Reserve Corps was organized with three com- 
panies from Philadelphia, two each from Cumberland and Leba- 
non counties, one each from Perry and Clinton counties, and 
Captain Harvey's company from Luzerne county. Mr. Harvey 
was elected colonel of the regiment, his competitor for the office 
being Captain R. M. Henderson, of Carlisle, who was a promi- 
nent member of the bar of Cumberland county, and is now pres- 
ident judge of the Twelfth judicial district of Pennsylvania. The 
regiment remained at Camp Wayne until the battle of Bull Run 



Oscar Jewell Harvey. 5 1 1 

was fought, at which time a requisition was made by the national 
government onthe state of Pennsylvania for the immediate ser- 
vice of its " Reserve Corps." The regiment left West Chester 
July 22, 1 86 1, for Washington via Harrisburg and Baltimore, 
and five days afterwards the officers and men were mustered into 
the service of the United States and became a part of the Army 
of the Potomac. Their first experience of active service was at 
Great Falls, on the Potomac above Washington, where they did 
picket duty for two weeks, the skirmishers of the regiment being 
face to face with, and in close proximit}' to, those of the enemy. 
On September 9, 1861, the regiment removed to Tenallytown, 
near Washington, and on October 9, following, advanced from 
Tenallytown into Virginia, where it was made the right of the 
Army of the Potomac, which position it held until the close of 
the Peninsular campaign. Soon after this they went into winter 
quarters at Camp Pierpont, Va. Colonel Harvey remained in 
camp with his regiment during the winter of 1861-62, and the 
succeeding spring worked diligently and persistently to bring 
his command up to the highest standard in drill and discipline. 
The first great conflict (Mechanicsville) in the Seven Days' Bat- 
tle before Richmond, fell upon the Reserves, who, almost single 
handed breasted the torrent of the attack. General McCall, in his 
official report of the battle, said," I dispatched the Seventh Regi- 
ment, Colonel Harvey, to the extreme left, apprehending that the 
enemy might attempt to turn that flank. Here they maintained 
their position, and sustained their character for steadiness in fine 
style, never retiring one foot during a severe struggle with 
some of the very best troops of the enemy fighting under the 
direction of their most distinguished general [R. E. Lee]. In 
the battles at Gaine's Mill, Charles City Cross Roads, and Mal- 
vern Hill, Colonel Harvey's command fought with a determina- 
tion and bravery unsurpassed, the flower of the regiment being 
cut down in these sanguinary struggles." The regiment num- 
bered eight hundred and sixty-three men when it went into the 
Seven Days' conflict, and three hundred and fifty-three when it 
came out of the last battle. The hardships during this week of 
battles have rarely been exceeded, and at the close Colonel Har- 
vey found himself completely prostrated. He had been bruised 



512 Oscar Jewell Harvey. 



on the shoulder by a piece of an exploding shell, struck on the 
neck by a spent minie-ball, and severely bruised and injured by 
being thrown to the ground by the runaway horses of an artillery 
caisson. In addition to these injuries he had an attack of rheu- 
matism of such a type as to preclude further service in the field. 
Consequently, July 4, 1862, he tendered his resignation, which 
was accepted, and he was " honorably discharged from the mili- 
tary service of the United States." Colonel Harvey's interest in 
military matters was only exceeded by the interest he took in 
educational affairs. His connection with the Wyoming Semi- 
nary has already been referred to. In 1849 ^^ ^'^^ elected sec- 
retary of the school board of Wilkes-Barre borough, and from 
that time until he entered the army he was, as secretary and 
director, closely identified with, and deeply interested in, the 
public schools of the town. He was one of the incorporators ot 
the Wilkes-Barre Female Institute, established in 1854, and a 
member of its first board of trustees. In 1863 he opened a 
" Classical and Mathematical Institute," for both sexes, which 
was kept open until 1869. He was also more or less in public 
life. In 1849 and 1850 he was chairman of the Luzerne county 
committee of the democratic-whig party, and in August, 1850, 
he presided over the county convention of that party, and was 
nominated for the state legislature. At the same time L. D. 
Shoemaker was nominated for the office of district attorney, G. 
W. Palmer for sheriff, and Henry M. Fuller for congress ; but at 
the election in October Messrs. Palmer and Fuller were the only 
successful ones of the four candidates. The same year he was 
deputy attorney general for Luzerne county. In 1854 he was 
elected as the candidate of the whig party, register of wills of 
Luzerne county for the term of three years. From 1850 to 1861 
he was clerk of the Wilkes-Barre borough council; from 1852 
to i860 collector of taxes of Wilkes-Barre borough; from 1857 
to i860 clerk of the markets and sealer of weights and measures 
for the same borough ; and from 1856 to 1861 chief of police of 
the borough of Wilkes-Barre. In May, 1865, Colonel Harvey 
was elected burgess of Wilkes-Barre. In 1866 he was elected a 
justice of the peace for the First ward of Wilkes-Barre for the 
term of five years, and in 1871 he was elected to serve a second 



Oscar Jewell Harvey. 513 



term. When Wilkes-Barre was incorporated into a city he be- 
came, by virtue of his office, alderman of the Fourth ward of the 
city. At the charter election for city officers in June, 1871, he 
was a candidate for the mayoralty. His opponent was Ira M. 
Kirkendall (a democrat), who was elected. Mr. Harvey was one 
of the corporators, for a long time secretary and treasurer, and 
ultimately sequestrator, of the Wilkes-Barre and Providence 
Plank Road Company. From 1859 to 1861 he was one of the 
directors of the Wyoming Bank, at Wilkes-Barre. He was an 
active member of the Pennsylvania State Agricultural Society, 
the Luzerne county Agricultural Society, the Wyoming Histor- 
ical and Geological Society, the Wilkes-Barre Law and Library 
Association, and before the days of a paid fire department, was 
president and an active member of one of the Wilkes-Barre fire 
companies. He was also for many years a local preacher of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. Colonel Harvey died at his home 
in Wilkes-Barre, August 20, 1872, after a long and tedious 
illness — the result of over work and nervous prostration — and 
was buried in Hollenback Cemetery with military and Masonic 
honors. 

Mr. Harvey was twice married. The first time, October 8, 
1845, to Phebe Maria Frisbie, a daughter of Chauncey Frisbie, 
of Orwell, Bradford county, Pa. She died at Wilkes-Barre, June 
7, 1849, leaving only one child, Olin Frisbie Harvey, M. D. 
Mr. Frisbie was born November 16, 1787, at Burlington, Hart- 
ford county, Conn., and was a son of Levi and Phebe [Gaylord) 
Frisbie. Phebe Gaylord was a daughter of Lieutenant Asher 
Gaylord, slain in the battle and massacre of Wyoming. Chaun- 
cey Frisbie was at one time treasurer of Bradford county, also 
postmaster at Orwell, and held various positions of trust. His 
eldest son, Hanson Z. Frisbie, studied law with Colonel Harvey, 
and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county August 5, 1850. 
He now resides at Grantville, Kan. Colonel Harvey's second 
wife, whom he married July 8, 1850, was Sarah Maria Garretson, 
a native of Readington, Hunterdon county, N. J. She was the 
eldest child of Stephen and Mary Ann {Urguhart) Garretson. 
Mrs. Garretson is still living. She was born October 31, 1797, 
at Readington, and was the eldest child of George and Sarah 



514 Oscar Jewell Harvey. 



{Pittciigc}^ Urquhart. George Urquhart was born in Scotland 
January 17, 1767, and came to America in 1786. He was for 
nearly his whole lifetime a school teacher. Captain John Urqu- 
hart, father of George Urquhart, M. D., of this city, and Samuel 
A. Urquhart of Pittston, was the second child of George Urqu- 
hart. Mrs. Harvey died in this city Aug'ust 21, 1875. [For the 
material facts connected with the Harvey family we are indebted 
to advance shpets of " History of Lodge No. 61, F. and A. M.," 
by Oscar J. Harvey, now in press.] 

Oscar J. Harvey was prepared for college by his father in his 
Classical and Mathematical Institute, and for the year preceding 
his entering college was an assistant teacher in the school. He 
entered the freshman class of La Fayette College in September, 
1867, a few days after his sixteenth birthday, and graduated B. 
A. in 1 87 1, and was at that time elected historian of his class for 
life. In 1874 he received the degree of A. M. After graduation 
Mr. Harvey returned to Wilkes-Barre and spent the ensuing 
year in his father's office as clerk. In July, 1872, he was elected 
professor of mathematics and higher English in the Wyoming 
Seminary, at Kingston, and in September following entered upon 
his duties. He remained in the institution until July, 1873, when 
he resigned the position. He then entered the law office of 
Wright (C. E.) and Hand (I. P.), and in October, 1875, passed 
his examination for admission to the bar. C. E. Rice, W. S. 
McLean, and J. Vaughan Darling being the examining commit- 
tee. The court not being in session he could not be admitted 
at the time, and on November 6, he started on a trip through 
Europe for travel and study. He returned home in May, 1876, 
and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county May 16, 1876. 
Mr. Harvey founded, in 1872, at La Fayette College, " The Har- 
vey Prize for English," an annual prize of twenty dollars in gold 
to the student of the junior class excelling in the English studies 
of the year. He also contributed a collection of valuable books 
to the college library, and was recording secretary of the Alumni 
Association from 1874 to 1882. Upon the organization of the 
Wilkes-Barre Fencibles, November 28, 1878, Mr. Harvey was 
elected captain, and the Fencibles became Company B of the 
Ninth Regiment of the National Guard of Pennsylvania. C 




Oscar Jewell Harvey. 515 



tain Harvey remained in command of the company till October 
17, 1879, when he became commissary of the regiment. He 
continued in this position until July 11, 1881, when he was dis- 
charged under an act of the legislature of the state, cutting off 
all commissaries and paymasters in the National Guard of Penn- 
sylvania. Mr. Harvey has contributed articles to the Keynote, a 
leading journal of New York City, devoted to dramatic and 
musical matters, to the Magazine of American History, and other 
publications. He has been secretary of the Mechanics' Loan and 
Savings Association of Luzerne county since 1872 ; a director 
of the Masonic Benefit Association since 1879; also a mem- 
ber of the Wyoming Historical and Geological Society, and a 
counsellor of the American Institute of Civics, of which Chief 
Justice Waite, of the United States Supreme Court, is president. 
Mr. Harvey married, June 23, 1880, Fannie Virginia Holding, of 
West Chester, Pa., daughter of Eben B. and Martha P. {Smith) 
Holding. Mr. Holding was born near Smyrna, Del., and was 
the son of Richard and Elizabeth {Tillen) Holding, of Queen 
Anne county, Md. Mrs. Harvey has two brothers, Samuel H. 
Holding, the elder of whom, is assistant solicitor of the Cincin- 
nati, Cleveland, Columbus, and Indianapolis Railroad Company 
at Cleveland, O. ; and the other, G. A. McC. Holding, is the law 
partner of R. E. Monaghan, of West Chester. Mr. and Mrs. 
Harvey have three children: Thorndyke Harvey, Ethel Harvey, 
and Helen Harvey, the latter two being twins. Circumstances 
have lured Mr. Harvey from the practice of his profession to 
other pursuits, probably more congenial to his nature, and possi- 
bly more profitable. He now occupies the post of chief of a 
division in the office of the third auditor of the United States 
treasury department. The office has a fair salary attached 
and the duties are important, and of a character Mr. Harvey's 
legal training and general business acquirements give him special 
fitness for. He has been a republican, though of late years not 
very positively of that faith, and his appointment under these 
circumstances was made in accordance with the pledge of Presi- 
dent Cleveland, given at the time of his inauguration, to preserve, 
as far as possible, the so-called non-political offices from partisan- 
ism. Mr. Harvey has a decided leaning to literary endeavor, 



5i6 Thomas Henry Atherton. 

and in several magazine articles on various topics, principally of 
a historical order, has evinced considerable literary ability. His 
diction is clear and pleasing, his reasoning forcible, and his facts 
are carefully collated and substantiated. He is at present engaged 
in the preparation of a history of Lodge No. 6i, F. and A. M., of 
this city, one of the oldest Masonic organizations in this part of 
Pennsylvania, and whose membership has, from time to time, in- 
cluded a large majority of the distinguished men of the Wyo- 
ming Valley, not a few of whom have reached to enviable state 
and national reputations. The publication will contain about 
400 pages, 8vo., eleven portraits (engravings and photographs), 
and ten wood-cuts. There is not much doubt but, had he cho- 
sen to apply himself assiduously to the practice of the law, he 
might have achieved both a good income and a fair distinction 
thereat. 




THOMAS HENRY ATHERTON. 



Thomas Henry Atherton was born in Kingston township, Luz- 
erne county. Pa., July 14, 1853. He is a descendant of Robert 
Henry, who emigrated with his sons, John, Robert, and James 
from Coleraine, Ireland, and settled on Doe Run, Chester county. 
Pa., in 1722. Their ancestors were natives of Scotland. James 
died young, leaving one child, who died in infancy, and Robert 
removed to Virginia after his marriage to Mary A. Davis, of 
Chester county. John Henry, son of Robert Henry, married 
Elizabeth de Vinney, a daughter of Hugh de Vinney, who came 
to Pennsylvania in 1723, and settled in Chester county. John 
Henry died in 1744, and his wife Elizabeth in 1778, at Lancaster, 
Pa. William Henry, eldest son of John Henry, was born in 
Chester county. May 29, 1729, and after the death of his father 
was apprenticed to Matthew Roeser a gunmaker in Lancaster. 
Of his early youth but little is known. He possessed a mind 
strong in its powers by nature, and while prevented by circum- 
stances from obtaining a thorough scholastic education, he was 
still ardently bent on the acquisition of knowledge. Soon after 



Thomas Henry Atherton. 517 



the expiration of his apprenticeship, in 1750, he commenced 
business on his own account in Lancaster. Upon the breaking 
out of the Indian War in the summer of 1754, he was appointed 
armorer to the troops collected for Braddock's expedition, and 
was ordered to Virginia. (Pittsburgh was then claimed to be in 
Virginia.) After the defeat of the expedition he returned to 
Lancaster, where he, as appears in a letter from Colonel Clap- 
ham to Governor Morris, delivered two hundred stand of arms 
for the use of the province. In 1756 he was married to Ann 
Wood, a native of Burlington, N. J. She proved to him a 
worthy helpmate during life, combining within herself every 
qualification to render him happy in his marriage relations. 
During the revolution she conceived the idea of making rag 
carpets. This she carried out by making the first one in the 
provinces or elsewhere. The war had rendered the luxury of a 
carpet almost out of the question, and this invention tended to 
supply the place of the imported article. In the year 1757 Mr. 
Henry, as contracting armorer, was again called to Virginia, to 
the army concentrating there upon the second outbreak of the 
Indian War in that part of the colonies. After the campaign he 
returned to Lancaster, where, in addition to the manufacture of 
arms, he, in 1759, entered into partnership with Joseph Simon in 
the iron and hardware business. In 1760, Mr. Henry, who sailed 
for England on business for his firm, was shipwrecked in the Bay 
of Biscay, and nine months elapsed from the time of his leaving 
home before his arrival in England. Soon after his marriage the 
introduction of Benjamin West .to him took place under the fol- 
lowing circumstances, and we advert to this pleasing incident in 
the life of William Henry with peculiar pleasure, as its relation 
will disclose the character in a considerable degree of his appre- 
ciation of the fine arts and his desire to encourage talent : West, 
who was born October 10, 1738, was at the time this acquain- 
tance took place (1756) about eighteen years of age and was 
apprentice to a tinsmith of Lancaster named Metzger. Mr. 
Henry observed him chalking figures on a board fence as he 
was passing, and was led to enter into conversation with him. 
West confessed that he desired to have paints and brushes to 
exercise his favorite art. Thereupon Mr. Henry visited him at 



5i8 Thomas Henry Atherton. 

his bouse and soon provided him with these requisites, and dur- 
ing his leisure hours he, in a short time, had made such progress 
that he was induced to paint the portraits of both Mr. and Mrs. 
Henry. These are now in possession of a great-grandson Hving 
in Philadelphia. After having painted a few other portraits, Mr. 
Henry suggested to him the propriety of devoting his talent to 
historical subjects, and in a conversation mentioned the death of 
Socrates as affording one of the best topics for illustrating the 
moral effect of the art of painting. The young artist knew 
nothing of the history of the great philosopher, and upon con- 
fessing his ignorance Mr. Henry went to his library and took 
down from one of its shelves a volume of Rollin's Ancient His- 
tory (not Plutarch's Lives, as stated by Gait in his Life of West). 
The frontispiece of one of the volumes contains an engraving 
representing a slave in the act of handing the cup of poison to 
Socrates. (This identical volume is now in the possession of 
James Henry, of Nazareth). West commenced the painting 
on a canvass thirty by forty-five inches, but having never yet 
painted nude or semi-nude figures, he represented the difficulty 
to his patron, whereupon one of Mr. Henry's workmen was sent 
to him for a model (now in possession of James Harvey). West's 
second picture was a landscape, which was also presented to Mr. 
Henry. That West always cherished the most grateful remem- 
brance towards Mr. Henry is known, and that this friendship was 
reciprocated is evident from the fact that Mr. Henry named his 
youngest son, who in riper years also became a painter of con- 
siderable merit, after Benjamin West. In the year 1758 William 
Henry was commissioned a justice of the peace in and for Lan- 
caster county, and was in that capacity indefatigably engaged 
when the murder of the Indians by the " Paxton Boys" took 
place, in December of 1763. Mr. Henry was elected a member 
of the American Philosophical Society March 20, 1767, on which 
day David Rittenhouse was likewise elected. His certificate of 
membership is signed by Benjamin Franklin as president, and 
Samuel Vaughan, William White, and John Ewing. It is pleas- 
ant to note the progress of such a man as William Henry from 
the humble gunmaker's apprentice to membership in the Philo- 
sophical Society, and to the wise and sanguine plans of the 



Thomas Henry Atherton. 519 



statesman, to which he was called subsequent to this period. 
He rose by force of his native genius. Obstacles served only to 
rouse his latent strength. Considerable facility to improve his 
mind was afforded him by having access to the books of one 
of the first libraries established in the provinces (the Juliana Li- 
brary, of Lancaster). For many years the library was kept in 
Mr. Henry's house. In the year 1768 Mr. Henry invented a 
machine, an account of which will be found in the Philosophi- 
cal Society's transactions, Vol. I., p. 350, and also in the Penn- 
sylvania Gazette, July 7, 1768: "A description of a self-moving 
or sentinel register, invented by William Henr3% of Lancaster, 
and by him communicated to the American Society, held at 
Philadelphia, for promoting useful knowledge." 

If not the first, Pennsylvania was one of the first of the colonies 
to enf^age in the great system of public improvements. She 
merits unquestionably the credit of having attempted the first 
canal. Already in 1762 it was proposed to connect the waters 
of the Ohio with those of the Delaware, and as a part of the 
plan, in 1771, the assembly took into consideration that great 
advantages must accrue to the trade of the province in case an 
inland navigation could be effected between the branches of the 
rivers Susquehanna, Schuylkill, and Lehigh. The assembly ap- 
pointed John Sellers, Benjamin Lightfoot, and Joseph Elliot a 
commission " to examine the different branches of said rivers 
lying nearest to each other, to measure by the most direct course 
and distances between them, to observe the soil and other cir- 
cumstances in the intermediate country and report how far the 
said waters are or may be navigable up the branches thereof, and 
whether the opening, or communication between them, for the 
purposes of navigation or land carriage be practicable, etc., etc." 
On September 24, 1771, the commission reported to assembly. 
Benjamin Lightfoot resigned and William Henry was appointed 
in his place. On January 13, 1772, Samuel Rhoads and John 
Lukens were added to the commission, and two weeks later 
David Rittenhouse. They reported to assembly January 30, 
1773. Mr. Henry's name is appended to the non-importation 
paper passed by merchants of Philadelphia in October of 1765, 
At this early stage of the controversy between Great Britain and 



520 Thomas Henry Athekton. 

her American colonics, Mr. Henry warmly espoused the cause 
of his country. His inventive genius developed itself more and 
more. The sentinel register was followed in 177 1 by the in- 
vention of the screw auger. A description of this was prepared 
by his second son, John Joseph Henry, for a number of years 
president judge of Lancaster, York and Dauphin counties, for 
Rees' Encyclopedia, to be found under head of Auger. On Octo- 
ber 12, 1776, he was elected a member of assembly from Lancas- 
ter county. Among the committees on which he served were, 
one to draught instructions to delegates in congress, and one 
for a militia law. Mr. Henry's election to the assembly may be 
considered his entry into public life. In March, 1776, he was or- 
dered to manufacture two hundred rifles for Pennsylvania. His 
workmen were exempted from draft so long as they continued in 
his employ. On September 3, 1776, he was appointed a justice 
of the peace by the legislature of Pennsylvania, and in October 
following appointed to hear and determine and discharge the 
prisoners in the county jail who were suspected of being inim- 
ical to the revolution. In 1777 he was elected treasurer of 
Lancaster county, and held the office until his death in 1786. 
When the news reached Lancaster of the treaty between France 
and the United States (1778) William Henry personally paid for 
the illumination of the town in honor of the event. During the 
revolution he also held the office of deputy commissary of Lan- 
caster county, and, under Washington's order, in 1777, collected 
blankets, shoes, stockings, clothing, and other supplies for the 
use of the army. There are still in existence several letters of 
Washington to William Henry, as well as one from the secre- 
tary of war, desiring him to purchase a pair of horses for the 
family coach of Washington. A few days previous to the 
occupation of Philadelphia by General Howe, September 26, 
1777, congress, as well as the assembly, removed to Lancaster, 
and David Rittenhouse, state treasurer, removed his office to the 
house of Mr. Henry, where it remained until the evacuation of 
the city. Thomas Paine, the political and deistical writer, roomed 
in Mr. Henry's house in 1778. Of him William Henry, jun., of 
Nazareth, has left record that " he occupied the second story 
room ; that he had often seen him sitting in an arm chair before 



Thomas Henry Atherton. 521 

a table covered with writing materials (he was then writing the 
'Crisis ') ; there used to stand on the table a bottle of gin, and 
pitcher and tumbler; his habits were disgusting to every member 
of the family, but my father said that his writings had a great 
effect on the war by urging the inhabitants of the colonies to 
oppose Great Britain ; he was very slovenly and dirty in his 
dress ; some days he did not write more than a line or two ; as 
soon as my father found out his opinions on religion, he did not 
encourage him to remain in his house ; a coldness sprung up and 
he finally left." 

Among those antecedent to Fitch or Fulton in the application 
of steam as the motive power to propel boats, was William 
Henry. See Life of John Fitch, p. 138, published in Philadelphia, 
1857, for Fitch's visit to William Henry, who told him that "he 
himself had thought of steam as early as 1776, and had held 
some conversation with Andrew Ellicott on the subject, and that 
Thomas Paine, in 1778, had suggested it to him, but he never 
did anything in the matter further than drawing some plans and 
inventing a steam wheel, which he showed Mr. Fitch, and said 
that as he (Fitch) had first published the plan to the world, he 
would lay no claim to the invention, etc." On page 170 it is 
also stated " that it was declared that Thomas Paine, in 1778, and 
William Henry afterwards, had suggested the plan of applying 
steam to the verge of a wheel as the method of producing a 
motive power." The original drawings made in 1779 by William 
Henry were found among his papers after his death. 

The German traveler, Schoepff. who traveled through fhe United 
States in 1784 and 1785, visited Lancaster and called on William 
Henry. See Vol. H., page 21 : "Another talented and worthy 
gentleman, named William Henry, I became acquainted with. 
Among other notable and ingenious things shown me by Mr. 
Henry was a small machine of which he was the inventor. An 
agreeable conversation between us as to the practicability of con- 
structing a machine that would move forward against wind and 
tide, gave occasion to its production to me. The machine is 
very simple and, apparently, will answer the purpose very well. 
A tin verge such as are made use of in windows for the purpose 
of ventilation, has attached to its axis a spindle of about six 



522 Thomas Henry Atherton. 

inches in length, etc. Mr. Henry said that he could make an- 
otlicr machine which, if applied to a boat, must move it forward 
against the current. This machine he is, however, not willing 
to describe at present. He is confident that its use will, in a 
great degree, assist the propelling of boats up the Mississippi 
and Ohio rivers, etc." And again : " I omit to mention other 
magnetic and electrical experiments which occupy Mr. Henry's 
leisure hours in an agreeable and useful manner, all of which 
indicate him to be a gentleman of refined mind and deep study." 

In the transactions of the American Philosophical Society, 
March 20, 1785, we find: "The society received from William 
Henry, of Lancaster, the following piece of mechanism and 
other curiosities, communicated by David Rittenhouse : The 
model of a wheel carriage, which rolls close in against the wind by 
wind force; two pieces of crystal of unusual magnitude, found in 
Lancaster county ; an exceeding large tusk and one of the 
grinders of some unknown animal from Ohio." The model and 
papers of Mr. Henry, deposited in the Philosophical Society, have 
long since disappeared from their archives. 

John Fitch, in order of time, ranks after William Henry. Page 
215, in Life of Fitch, says: "April, 1785, John Fitch conceived 
the idea of a steam boat." The plan of William Henry was 
made in 1779. Roth Fitch and Fulton visited him. By vote of 
assembly, October 16, 1784, he was elected a delegate to the 
Continental congress from Pennsylvania, and on the 29th of that 
month took his seat in that body. In the following year he was 
again elected. Congress convened in Trenton, N. J. The busi- 
ness before congress mainly related to the examination and ad- 
justment of claims upon the United States. One of the commit- 
tees on which he served was that of coinage. They reported : 
" First, that the money unit of the United States be one dollar ; 
second, that the smallest coin be of copper, of which two hun- 
dred shall be one dollar; third, that the several pieces shall in- 
crease in a decimal value." A few weeks prior to his election to 
congress, August 19, 1784, he was appointed president judge of 
the Courts of Common Pleas and Quarter Sessions of Lancaster 
county. This appointment evinces that, notwithstanding that he 
had not made law a particular study, yet, having acquired an 



Thomas Henry Atherton. 523 



early fondness for reading and mental investigation, became well 
acquainted with the various branches of science and literature — 
thereby becoming possessed of an extensive fund of information. 
His knowledge of law was less scientific, but more practical and 
useful. During the session of congress of 1784, a deputation of 
Indians arrived at the seat of government (Trenton), among 
them a chief called "White Eyes." This chief formed the acquaint- 
ance of William Henry, and entertaining for him a peculiar af- 
fection, he proposed to cement the regard for him (customary 
among Indians) by an exchange of names. To this proposal 
Mr. Henry acceded, and the name of Henry is borne by his 
descendants to the present day (1885). A descendant. Rev. John 
Henry Killbuck, late a graduate of the Moravian Theological 
Seminary, and at present laboring among the Moravian Indians 
in Canada, is about to proceed on a mission among the Indians of 
Alaska. The family were early converts of the Moravian Mis- 
sion prior to the revolution, and have continued members of the 
church. For man)' years Mr. Henry was one of the most active 
and influential assistant burgesses of the borough of Lancaster. 
He was also commissary of the regiment of troops raised in 
Lancaster county in 1775, and which was destined to re-enforce 
Arnold at Boston. Mr. Henry, after a short illness, died in Lan- 
caster, December 15, 1786, and is buried there in the Moravian 
grave-yard. He caught cold whilst attending a session of con- 
gress in Trenton. 

William Henry, son of William Henry, was born March 12, 
1757, and when )'oung was placed with Henry Albright, gun- 
maker, of Lititz, to learn the business, and remained with him 
until 1778, when he became of age. The same year he removed 
to the Moravian settlement. Christian's Spring, near Nazareth, 
Pa., where he carried on the business of gunmaker until 17S0, 
when he removed to Nazareth, and married Sabina Schropp. 
He resided in Nazareth until 18 18, when he removed to Phila- 
delphia, where he died April 21, 1821. His remains now repose 
in Woodland Cemetery. His wife died in Bethlehem May 8, 
1848. On January 14, 1788, he was commissioned justice of the 
peace of Bethlehem district, Northampton county, as also on the 
same day a lay or associate judge of the Courts of Common 



524 Thomas Henry Athekton. 

Pleas and Quarter Sessions. These offices he held until 18 14, 
and then resigned. In 1792 he was chosen one of the electors 
for president and vice president of the United States, and had 
the honor of giving his vote to Washington, who was re-elected 
president of the United States. His duties as a justice of the 
peace and judge of Common Pleas he discharged with great 
fidelity during the insurrection in Northampton county in 1798, 
when the house or window taxes were about being collected. 
In 1798 he contracted with the state of Pennsylvania for two 
thousand muskets, and in 1809, in company with his son, John 
Joseph, with the United States, for ten thousand. He thereupon 
erected gun works at Bolton, near Nazareth, and in 1808 erected 
a forge to manufacture refined bar iron, and on March 9, 1809, 
had the first bar of iron drawn out in Northampton county. The 
Marquis of Chastellux, who visited Nazareth in 1783, describes 
an elegant pair of pistols made by Mr. Henry. 

William Henry, son of William Henry, and the father of 
Thomas Henry Atherton, was born at Nazareth, August 15, 
1796, and died at his home in Wyoming May 22, 1878. He 
was educated at Nazareth Hall and in his early manhood he fol- 
lowed the occupation of his father — that of a gunsmith. During 
the early struggles encountered in the development of the Lack- 
awanna valley Mr. Henry manifested indomitable pluck, perse- 
verance and energy, backed by an unwavering faith in the rich 
mineral treasures that lined the hills and valleys, waiting for the 
magic touch of some strong arm to reveal them to the world. 
His first public appearance in the Lackawanna valley was in 
1832 in connection with the " Susquehanna and Delaware Canal 
and Railroad Company," the design of which was the construc- 
tion of a railroad from the Delaware to the Susquehanna, and of 
which Mr. Henry was elected treasurer. His frequent journeys 
through that section gave him an opportunity of ascertaining its 
mineral wealth, and he was the first to advocate the building of 
a town at what is now Scranton, even when the place presented 
a most uninviting aspect, and when the wolf and fox roamed 
unmolested through the forests where the city of Scranton now 
stands — and history must ahvays regard him as the real foitmier of 
Scranton. The railroad enterprise met with no encouragement 

t0Otr 




Thomas Henry Atherton. 525 

and was strongly opposed by the residents of the Susquehanna 
and Delaware valleys, who claimed it was an impossible task and 
a project not calculated to improve their social condition. Mr. 
Henry, undismayed by this unfriendly feeling, called a meeting 
of the friends of the road together at Easton in 1836 to devise a 
plan of action. His mind was full of the riches of his famed 
locality, and in his enthusiasm he related to the gentlemen 
present the boundless resources of the country described, and 
asserted that if an iron interest was awakened and once developed 
in the Lackawanna valley a large town would be built as well as 
the road. He assured those present that if the old furnace at 
Slocum Hollow could be reanimated and sustained for a few 
years, it would call for more ample means of communication with 
the sea board, than that afforded by the lumbering stage coach. 
Notwithstanding the zeal with which he advocated this under- 
taking, it seemed so impractical at the time that the most 
experienced at the meeting (which lasted three days) shrank 
from it, and only one gentleman present, Edward Armstrong, 
fell in with Mr. Henry's views. Mr. Armstrong possessed con- 
siderable wealth and was a gentleman of great benevolence and 
courtesy, living on the Hudson. In the acquisition of land in the 
Lackawanna valley, or the erection of furnaces and forges upon 
it, he avowed himself ready to share with Mr. Henry any respon- 
sibility, profit or risk. During the spring and summer of 1839, 
Mr. Henry examined every rod of ground along the river from 
Pittston to Cobb's Gap to ascertain the most judicious location 
for the works. Under the wall of a rock cut in twain by the 
dash of the Nay-aug, a quarter of a mile above its mouth, favor- 
ing by its alitude the erection and feeding of a stack, a place 
was well chosen. It was -but a few rods above the debris of 
Slocum's forge, and, like that earlier affair, enjoyed, within a 
stone's throw, every essential material for its construction and 
working. In March, 1840, Messrs. Henry and Armstrong pur- 
chased five hundred and three acres for eight thousand dollars, 
or about sixteen dollars per acre. The fairest farm in the valley, 
underveined with coal, had no opportunity of refusing the same 
surprising equivalent. Mr. Henry gave a draft at thirty days on 
Mr. Armstrong, in whom the title was to vest ; before its ma- 



526 Thomas Henry Atherton. 

turity death came to Mr. Armstrong, almost unawares. He had 
imbued the enterprise, by his manly co-operation, with no vague 
friendship or faith, and his death at this time was regarded as 
especially disastrous to the interests of Slocum Hollow. His 
administrators, looking to nothing but a quick settlement of the 
estate, requested him to forfeit the contract without question or 
hesitancy. Thus baffled in a quarter little anticipated, Mr. 
Henry asked and obtained thirty days grace upon the non- 
accepted draft, hoping in the interim to find another shrewd 
capitalist able to advance the purchase money and willing to 
share in the afifiiirs of the contemplated furnace. Colonel George 
W. Scranton and Selden T. Scranton, both of them of New 
Jersey, the latter being the son-in-law of Mr. Henry, interested 
by the earnest and enthusiastic representations of Mr. Henry 
reeardinsT the vast and varied resources of the Lackawanna 
valley, of which no knowledge had reached them before, pro- 
posed to add Sanford Grant, of Belvidere, to a party and visit 
Slocum Hollow. The journey from Belvidere to the present site 
of Scranton took one day and a half hard driving, and was well 
calculated to test the self reliance and vigor of the inexperienced 
mountaineer. The Drinker turnpike, stretching its weary 
length over Pocono mountain and morass, enlivened here and 
there by the arrowy trout brook or the start of the fawn, brought 
the party on August 19, 1840, to the half-opened thicket grow- 
ing over the tract where now Judge Archbald's residence is seen. 
Securing their horses under the shade of a tree, the party, amazed 
at the simple wildness of a country where green acres were 
looked for in vain, moved down the bank of Roaring Brook to a 
body of coal, whose black edge showed the fury of the stream 
when sudden rains or thaws raised its waters along the narrow 
channel. None of the party except Mr. Henry had ever seen a 
coal bed before. Assisted by a pick, used and concealed by him 
weeks before, pieces of coal and iron ore were exhumed for the 
inspection of the party about to turn the minerals, sparkling amid 
the shrubs and wild flowers, to some more practical account. 
The obvious advantages of location, uniting water power with 
prospective wealth, were examined for half a day without seeing 
or being seen by a single person. At that time Slocum Hollow 



Thomas Henry Atherton. 527 



contained five dwelling houses, one school house, a grist nnill and 
a ricketty saw mill. The exterior features of the Slocum 
property were anything but attractive, yet, after some question 
and hesitancy, it was purchased at the price already stipulated. 
Lackawanna valley achieved its thrift and fame from this com- 
paratively trifling purchase of but yesterday, and Scranton dates 
its incipient inspirations toward acquiring for itself a place and a 
name from August, 1840. The company consisting of George 
W- Scranton, Selden T. Scranton, Sanford Grant, William Henry, 
and Philip H. Mattes, organizing under the firm name of Scran- 
ton, Grant and Company, began forthwith the construction of a 
furnace under the superintendency of Mr. Henry, whose family 
immediately removed from Stroudsburg to Hyde Park, now a 
portion of the city of Scranton. On September 1 1 of the same 
year, the first day's work was done towards the erection of a blast 
furnace, and the place was called Harrison, in honor of General 
William Henry Harrison, then the candidate of the whig party 
for president of the United States. This name was afterwards 
dropped for that of Scrantonia, which was finally changed to 
Scranton. The various changes which have occurred since then 
are matters of almost contemporary history and it is unnecessary 
to reproduce them here. Scranton, from the fevv struggling huts 
of Slocum Hollow, has grown to be the third city of Pennsyl- 
vania, with a population of sixty thousand inhabitants, and is 
now the county seat of Lackawanna county, erected on a site 
that seemed little better than a wilderness to th,e pioneers. Mr. 
Henry retired from business several years before his death and 
removed to Wyoming, where his last days were spent. He was 
twice married, his first wife being Mary B. Albright, a sister of 
Joseph J. Albright, of ScraViton. In this marriage he violated 
the Moravian custom of choosing wives by lot, one of the first 
breaches of that custom which has now become extinct. His 
children by that marriage were Reuben A. Henry, general audi- 
tor of the Delaware and Hudson Canal Company; William 
Henry, lieutenant colonel of the First New Jersey Volunteers 
during the late civil war ; Joseph J. Henry, captain of the Ninth 
New Jersey Volunteers, the first commissioned officer killed in 
the assault upon Roanoke Island ; Eugene T. Henry, for many 



528 Thomas Hknkv Atherton. 



years superintendent of the Oxford Iron Works, at Oxford, N. 
J.; Ellen Henry and Jane Henry, who married Selden T. Scran- 
ton and Charles Scranton, respectively. His second wife was 
Sarah Atherton, daughter of Elisha Atherton. The children by 
that marriage are Lydia Henry, wife of Rev. W. S. Stites, of the 
Wyoming Presbyterian church, and Thomas Atherton Henry, 
now, by an act of assembly passed by the legislature of Pennsyl- 
vania, March 15, 1871, Thomas Henry Atherton, the subject of 
this sketch. Elisha Atherton was a descendant of the Atherton 
family which originated in the town of Atherton, a short distance 
northwest of Manchester, England. Robert de Atherton lived 
there in the time of King John (i 199-1216). He was the high 
sheriff of the county of Lancashire, and held the manor of Ather- 
ton of the barons of Warrington. The descendants of this Robert 
still reside at the place named. The first of the family to come to 
this country was Humphrey Atherton, who was born at Atherton, 
in Lancashire, in 1609, and emigrated to Boston about 1635. He 
died September 17, 1661. He had twelve children. Humphrey 
Atherton was elected one of the deputies of the council of Boston 
in 1643, and re-elected several times subsequently; was a cap- 
tain of the militia of Dorchester, major, and finally, in 1661, a 
major-general, of the colonial forces. On September 17, 166 1, 
when returning from a muster and while crossing the Boston 
common, his horse became unmanageable, and he was thrown off 
and killed. In one of Longfellow's early dramatic productions, 
the scene of which is laid in Boston, and his characters the 
colonial governors and deputies of the time, this tragic end of 
General Atherton is described. 

James Atherton, a great-grandson of Humphrey Atherton, 
was one of the original settlers at Wyoming, in 1763. The Del- 
aware Indians, on October 14, of that year, rose upon the settle- 
ment at noonday, while engaged in the labors of the field, and 
massacred about thirty of the people in cold blood. Those who 
escaped ran to the adjacent plantations to apprise them of what 
had happened, and were the swift messengers of the painful 
intelligence to the houses of the settlement and the families of 
the slain. It was an hour of sad consternation. Having no arms 
even for self defense, the people were compelled to seize upon 



Thomas Henry Atherton. 529 

such few of their effects as they could carry upon their shoulders 
and flee to the mountains. As they turned back during their 
ascent to steal an occasional glance at the beautiful valley below, 
they beheld the savages driving their cattle away to their own 
towns, and plundering their houses of the goods that had been 
left. At nightfall the torch was applied, and the darkness that 
hung over the vale was illuminated by the lurid flames of their own 
dwellings — the abodes of happiness and peace in the morning. 
Hapless, indeed, was the condition of the fugitives. Their num- 
ber amounted to several hundred — men, women, and children : 
the infant at the breast; the happy wife a few brief hours before, 
now a widow, in the midst of a group of orphans. The supplies, 
both of provisions and clothing, which they had secured in the 
moment of their flight, were altogether inadequate to their wants. 
The chilly winds of autumn were howling with melancholy wail 
among the mountain pines, through which, over rivers and glens 
and fearful morasses, they were to thread their way sixty miles, 
to the nearest settlements on the Delaware, and thence back to 
their friends in Connecticut, a distance of two hundred and fifty 
miles. Notwithstanding the hardships they were compelled to 
encounter, and the deprivations under which they labored, many 
of them accomplished the journey in safety, while others, lost in 
the mazes of the swamps, were never heard of more. Undaunted, 
though his companions fell all around him by the merciless 
tomahawk, James Atherton returned to the valley in 1769. It is 
not now certainly known who was the first settler at the village 
of Kingston, but one of the first settlers of the township in the 
last named year settled within the limits of the borough, namely, 
James Atherton, who, with his sons, James Atherton, jun., Asa- 
hel Atherton, and Elisha Atherton, built the first log house, 
nearly opposite the site of the old academy on Main street. 
There the father resided to the time of his death in 1790. James 
Atherton, jun., was the son of James Atherton, sen., and his son, 
Elisha Atherton, was the father of Sarah Atherton, the wife of 
William Henry. Of the killed at Wyoming are Lieutenant 
Asahel Atherton and Jabez Atherton, who were probably sons 
or grandsons of James Atherton, sen. Caleb Atherton heads 
the list in Captain Ransom's company. His time of service was 



530 Thomas Henry Atherton. 



three years, from January I, 1777, to 1 780. The first wife of 
Elisha Atherton, and the mother of Mrs. Henry, was Zibia 
Perkins. vShe was the daughter of the late David Perkins, of 
Wyoming. He was the son of John Perkins, who came to 
Wyoming prior to 1773, and was one of the original purchasers 
from the Indians of lands in Wyoming. John Perkins was killed 
by the Indians while in his field on the flats opposite this city. 
Miner, in the Hazleton Travelers, printed in 1845, speaks thus 
of the Perkins family : "Among the instances of Indian barbarity 
the murder of John Perkins has been narrated. He was from 
Plainfield, Windham county, Conn. On the enlistment of the 
two independent companies, his eldest son, Aaron, then an active 
young man of about twenty, enrolled his name in the list, and 
marched to camp under Durkee. Hence the family were objects 
of especial hatred to the enemy. Aaron Perkins continued in 
the army to the close of the war, having given his best days to 
the service of his country. David Perkins, the next brother, 
took charge of the family, and by great prudence and industry 
kept them together, and not only preserved the plantation, but 
enlarged it. * * * * * * p^^. ^ great number of 
years Mr. Perkins executed the duties of a magistrate to the 
general acceptance. A son of his held the commission of major 
in the United States army, and is still in the service. Numbers 
of his children are well married and settled around him, or not 
far distant. * * * David Perkins still lives, in the enjoy- 
ment of fine health and an easy fortune. Aaron, the old soldier, 
one of the extreme remnants of Ransom's and Durkee's men, 
broken with age and toil, you may yet see slowly pacing his 
brother's porch, or on a summer day taking his walk along those 
beautiful plains. If not enjoying much positive pleasure, he yet 
seems to suffer no pain. Linger yet, aged veteran ! Ye winds 
blow kindly on him ! Beam mildly on his path, thou radiant 
sun, that saw his father slaughtered, and must have witnessed 
the gallant soldier in many a noble conflict! Plenty surrounds 
him. Peace to his declining years ! As a most interesting 
memorial of the past we love to look upon you. Justice prompts 
me to say that the family of Perkins stands among the foremost 
on the file of patriotic services and deep sufferings, and is 



Thomas Henry Atherton. 531 

entitled to gratitude and respect." At the time of the massacre 
Mr. Perkins' home at Wyoming was burned, and his wife and 
son David -fled to Connecticut, but returned in the fall. The 
second wife of Elisha Atherton was Carolina Ann Ross Maffett, 
widow of Samuel Maffet. Eliza Ross Atherton, wife of Charles 
A. Miner, of this city, is their only child. Her mother died in 
August, 1885. Thomas H. Atherton was prepared for college 
at the academy in VVilkes-Barre, taught by VV. S. Parsons, 
and at the Luzerne Presbyterial Institute, Wyoming, Pa., and 
entered the College of New Jersey at Princeton, from which he 
graduated in the class of 1874. He was the secretary of his class 
and obtained the prize on political science and constitutional 
law. He studied law with Charles E. Rice, and was admitted to 
the bar of Luzerne county September 29, 1876. He is a director 
of the Vulcan Iron Works and also in the Second National Bank 
and People's Bank of Wilkes-Barre. He is a republican in politics, 
a presbyterian in religious belief, and is actively connected with 
Sabbath school work. He married October 7, 1880, Melanie 
Parke, daughter of Rev. N. G. Parke, D. D., of Pittston. S. Max 
Parke, of the Luzerne bar, is her brother. Mr. and Mrs. Ather- 
ton have two children : Louise Parke Atherton and Thomas 
Henry Atherton. 

Mr. Atherton, as will be seen from the foregoing, comes from a 
good family, inheriting from both progenitors the blood of some 
of the best men and women who have figured in the annals of 
our state and country. His disposition and practices, too, have 
done honor to this inheritance. No young man at the bar, or in 
any other business in Wilkes-Barre, stands higher as a citizen. 
Professionally, he is all that a man thus fortified and equipped 
may be expected to be. He has an honest love for the profession 
and an honest anxiety to win in it all those material rewards 
which do not involve a sacrifice of reputation and self respect. 
He chooses to follow the law in the view that the law was made, 
not to shield the wicked, but to subserve good ends only, and being 
thus careful in the choice of his clients, as well as intelligent and 
pertinacious in the prosecution of their causes, he has achieved a 
standing of which many an older practitioner could afford to be 
proud. His sympathies have always been with the republican 



532 Henry Coffin Magee. 

party, and though he has never been in any sense a poHtician, 
his name has been frequently canvassed when the question of a 
fit repubhcan nominee for district attorney has come 'up for con- 
sideration. He is fairly well to do in the world and spends the 
most of the time spared from his business duties in his beauti- 
ful new home and with his interesting family and numerous 
family connections. He is well educated and a diligent reader, 
always well posted on the current news of the day as well as in 
general literature, and therefore a pleasing companion and friend. 



HENRY COFFIN MAGEE. 



Henry Coffin Magee, of Plymouth, was born in Carroll town- 
ship (near New Bloomfield), Perry county, Pa., February 6, 1848. 
His father, Richard Lowrie Magee, was born at York Springs, 
York county, Pa., which his father had purchased while he was 
a resident of Philadelphia. Subsequently the family removed to 
Perry county. The mother of the subject of our sketch was 
Margaret Black, who was born near Carlisle, Pa., and was the 
daughter of William Black. H. C. Magee was educated in the 
common schools and afterwards attended the State Normal 
School, at Bloomsburg, Pa., from which he graduated in the class 
of 1871. He taught school from 1870 to 1876, and from 1871 
to 1875 was principal of the graded public schools of Plymouth. 
He read law with B. Mclntire, of New Bloomfield, and was 
admitted to the Perry county bar August 7, 1875, and to the 
Luzerne county bar October 21, 1875. Mr. Magee is of Scotch- 
Irish extraction, has always been a republican in politics, and 
active in his party's behalf He has interested himself in the 
preliminary and primary work at Plymouth, and in reward 01 
that adhesion and activity has been burgess of the borough 
named, and was a member of the lower house of the state legis- 
lature, session of 1885 and 1886. In the last named body he 
has served upon several important committees, besides identify- 
ing himself conspicuously with numerous measures of a local 



Charles Wesley McAlarney. 533 

and semi-local application, chief of which was the bill making 
an appropriation for the relief of the sufferers by the Plymouth 
typhoid epidemic, and taking an active interest in most general 
legislative measures pending. Mr. Magee is a good lawyer, in- 
dustrious, and of good standing as a citizen in the community 
with which he makes his home. 

PUBLIC 
CHARLES WESLEY McALARNEY^*^"^-^ 



Charles Wesley McAlarney was born December 20, 1847, at 
Mifflinburg, Union county. Pa. He is the son of the late John 
McAlarney, who was born December 8, 1805, in the parish of 
Streat, in the county of Longford, Ireland, and who emigrated 
to this country in 18 19, settling in Harrisburg, Pa., where he 
was educated. In his early manhood he was a school teacher, 
and subsequently he was a manufacturer and largely engaged in 
the lumber business. He resided for a while in the neighbor- 
hood of Milton, Pa., then at Selin's Grove, Pa., and finally re- 
moved to Mifflinburg, where he died May 17, 1876. The wife 
of John McAlarney, who is still living, is Catharine Wilson, the 
daughter of the late Thomas Wilson, who was a native of Ha- 
gerstown, Md., as was also Thomas Wilson, his father. Thomas 
Wilson the younger removed from Hagerstown to Middletown, 
Pa., then to Donegal township, Lancaster county. Pa., where 
Mrs. McAlarney was born. He subsequently removed to EHza- 
bethtown, in the same county, where he died. 

C. W. McAlarney was educated in the common schools and 
at the Mifflinburg Academy. At the age of eighteen years he 
commenced to teach school in his native county, and followed 
that profession for six years. He then removed to Harrisburg 
and commenced the reading of law in the office of his brother, 
Joseph Curtin McAlarney, and was admitted to the bar of Dau- 
phin county, Pa., May 13, 1873. He practiced in the courts of 
that county until his removal to Luzerne county. He was ad- 
mitted to the Luzerne bar February 7, 1876, and has been in con- 



534 Charles Wesley McAlarney. 

tinuous practice since. In addition to his brother above named, 
Mr. McAlarney has two other brothers, one of whom is Matthias 
Wilson McAlarney, also a lavyyer. He has been the postmas- 
ter of Harrisburg for the last twelve years. He is also the man- 
ager and editor of the Harrisburg Telegraph. William Max- 
well McAlarney, the other brother, is a practicing physician 
Philadelphia. (i't;i^| 

The legal profession has recruited many of its brightest lumi- 
naries from among those whose earlier years were spent in teach- 
ing school. In this calling there is much to be acquired that in 
after life proves valuable to a lawyer. The stock of general intel- 
ligence necessarily receives material additions, and it never hurts 
a lawyer to know something outside of the law. A knowledge 
of child nature is obtained that cannot, for manifest reasons, be 
so well garnered elsewhere, and as men and women, the poet 
tells us, are but children of larger growth, the knowledge is 
certain to be of service to the lawyer, whose success not infre- 
quently depends almost as much upon his understanding of hu- 
man nature as of what is contained in the recorded decisions 
and the statutes. The somewhat rigid discipline to which the 
teacher must subject himself as well as those he teaches, will 
stand him in good stead when he comes to practice or to judg- 
ment, as it would, in fact, in any walk of life he might subse- 
quently choose to follow. Whether, however, these particular 
speculations be strictly logical or not, or verified or antagonized 
in the facts, it certainly is true, as we have already said, that 
many of our best lawyers have graduated to the practice of the 
profession from the duties of the school-room. Mr. McAlarney 
is one of the number. He has been at this writing but twelve 
years in practice, but in that time has conveyed to a large circle 
of people the conviction that he is a safe counselor and zealous 
advocate, with the result of securing to himself the advantage of 
a large and constantly increasing clientage. He is one of the 
comparatively few members of the fraternity who view its obli- 
gations and possibilities always from the serious side. His tem- 
perament is of the conservative order, modified by only so much 
of the sanguine as is necessary to the vigorous prosecution of all 
work deliberately undertaken. To the client who trusts him he 



John McGahren. 535 



is the soul of faithfulness, a fact which accounts in great part for 
the lucrative practice he has been enabled to build up in Ply- 
mouth and vicinity, and the gratifying success that attends his 
efforts in the courts. There are lawyers whose natural capacities 
are rendered less useful by indifference in their application, and 
others who multiply their profitableness to those who employ 
their services by the telling and doing of all they know how to 
do or tell. To the latter category Mr. McAlarney belongs, and 
when we add that his knowledge of the law is the result of a 
similar devotion to the study of its intricacies, we have only said 
what is the just due of one of the most thorough and painstak- 
ing practitioners in Luzerne county. His politics are democratic, 
and he has frequently been talked of as a probable candidate 
some day for the position of district attorney, an office he would 
unquestionably grace and make serviceable to the cause of justice 
and the people. Mr. McAlarney is an unmarried man, resides 
in Plymouth, and has a very promising professional future before 
him. 



JOHN McGAHREN. 




John McGahren was born near Ellicottville, Cattaraugus county, 
N. Y., March 8, 1852. He is a son of Patrick McGahren, a native 
of Cavan, Ireland, who emigrated to this country in 1846, and 
is now a prosperous farmer in Wysox, Bradford county, Pa. 
His mother is Catherine Masterson, daughter of the late Cor- 
nelius Masterson, a native of Trim, county of Meath, Ireland, 
who resided in Newark, N. J., at the time of his death, at which 
place the elder Mr. McGahren was married. John McGahren 
was educated in the public schools of Wysox and at St. Bonaven- 
tures College, Alleghany, N. Y., graduating in the class of 1872. 
After Mr. McGahren left college he taught two terms in the 
public schools of Wilkes-Barre. He then entered the law office 
of Foster (C. D.) and Lewis (T. H. B.) as a student at law, and 
was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county February 14, 1876. 
He was associated with Mr. Foster until 188 1, and with Garrick 



536 John McGahren. 



M. Harding until the early part of the present year. In 1882 
he was the democratic candidate for district attorney, and was 
elected for a term of three years by a vote of 10,358, as against F. 
M. Nichols, republican, who had a vote of 9,394. Mr. McGahren 
is an unmarried man, and a typical self-made young man. His 
start in life was unaccompanied by any auspicious influences 
apart from the mother wit and disposition to industry with 
which nature had endowed him. His studies were prosecuted 
without meretricious aids, and at times amid discouragements 
that would have overcome less ambitious and determined young 
men, and his admission to the bar and entry upon active practice 
had only the promise which good abilities and honest use of 
them will always fulfil. He became associated in business with 
Mr. Foster, and afterwards with Judge Harding, and thereby ac- 
quired advantages of which he plucked the most that they af- 
forded. He is a democrat in politics and did good service on 
the stump and otherwise for his party whenever called upon. In 
due time friends proposed to repay him with a nomination for 
the district attorneyship. He consented, and after a sharp strug- 
gle secured a place upon the ticket and was elected. His ser- 
vices in the office have been profitable to the county and have 
brought him a reputation as a practitioner that is certain to stand 
him in good stead for so long as he shall need such assistance. 
He prosecutes the pleas of the commonwealth with all necessary 
vigor, and yet not vindictively towards those whose misfortune 
it is to fall into the clutches of the violated law. He has man- 
aged in the pursuit of these methods to secure conviction in al- 
most every case in which justice required it, and yet avoid that 
persecution which So often follows the unfairly accused. Mr. 
McGahren's measure of success equals that of any other member 
of the bar of no greater age, and his prospects are full of the 
brightest possibilities. 



Nathaniel Taylor. 537 



NATHANIEL TAYLOR. 



Nathaniel Taylor was born in Danville, Montour county, Pa., 
January 28, 1848. He is the son of William Taylor, a farmer 
who resides near Mooresburg, Pa., and who is a native of Here- 
ford, England. The mother of Nathaniel Tayler was Maria 
Michael, the daughter of John Michael, of London, England. 
Mr. Taylor, the subject of this sketch, was educated at La Fay- 
ette College, Easton, Pa., from which he graduated in 1873. 
During portions of the years 1875 and 1876 he attended the Law 
School connected with Columbia College, New York. He also 
read law with Isaac X. Grier; of Danville, and was admitted to 
the bar of Montour county in February, 1876. On April 5, 1876, 
he was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, and has been in 
continuous practice since. He married, February 21, 1878, 
Annie Vincent, of Danville, Pa. Mr. and Mrs. Taylor have no 
children living. Nathaniel Taylor is a man of quiet demeanor 
and kindred temperament, who owes all that he is or has at- 
tained to hard work and perseverance in study and practice. He 
takes but little interest in politics, or in anything outside of his 
profession, of which he is, as a consequence, one of the most 
useful of the junior members. In the writing of these biogra- 
phies we have been many times impelled to what may seem to 
the reader to be dull homilies upon the superiority of even mod- 
erate talents when accompanied by industry, to greater natural 
qualities without that aid, as a means of evoking success in the 
legal or any other profession. It is as true, nevertheless, as any- 
thing can be in this world. When it can truthfully be said of a 
lawyer that he works, no stronger evidence can be given of the 
fact that he is worth employing. And when, on the other hand, 
necessity compels the admission that he makes his practice wait 
upon his personal convenience or pleasure, there is certain to be 
risk in calling his services into requisition, no matter how bril- 
liant may be his endowments at Nature's hands. Mr. Taylor has 
improved his opportunities, and, with the aid of a fine education, 
has succeeded in securing a profitable clientage. 



538 Ernest Jackson. 



ERNEST JACKSON. 



Ernest Jackson was born in Wilkes-Barre August 6, 1848. 
His father, Angelo Jackson, was born at Erie, N. Y., and was of 
New England extraction, and being left an orphan at an early 
acre his mother married for her second husband Reuben Mon- 
tross. M. D., of Northmorcland township, Luzerne (now Wyo- 
ming) county. Pa. Here Mr. Jackson spent his boyhood days, 
and in the year 1847 graduated from Yale College. He then en- 
tered upon the study of the law, and was admitted to the bar of 
Luzerne county April i, 1850. He was for some years a law 
partner of the late Charles Denison. In 1858 he was a candi- 
date for prothonotary on the republican ticket against David L. 
Patrick, and in 1861 against William H. Pier, M. D., but was 
defeated in both instances. On October 20, 1861, he entered 
the army as first lieutenant of Company I, Fifty- Eighth Regiment 
Infantry, Pennsylvania Volunteers, and on June 5, 1863, was pro- 
moted to the captaincy of the company. He was mustered out 
with his regiment September 25, 1865. He then took a position 
in the treasury department at Washington, D. C, as chief of a 
division. He died in that city in 1874. The first wife of Angelo 
Jackson, and the mother of the subject of our sketch, was Eliza- 
beth Whitney. She was the daughter of Asa C. Whitney. M. 
D. Doctor Whitney was the son of Elisha Whitney, who moved 
to the Wyoming Valley in 1810, and went to Wysox, Luzerne 
(now Bradford) county, Pa., with his family in 1816. He was 
born in Spencer, Mass., in 1747. He married Esther Clark, of 
the same place, in 1782. She was born in 1763. Her father's 
name was Asa Clark, a school teacher by profession. She was 
present with General Warren's wife when she learned the sad 
fate of that gallant officer and patriotic gentleman. Soon after 
their marriage they removed to Stockbridge, Mass., and were 
among the first settlers of that place. They had ten children 
born to them between the years 1783 and 1801. Mr. Whitney 
was a revolutionary soldier. He died in 1832, and his wife in 



Ernest Jackson. 539 



185 1, and both are buried in Wysox. Doctor Whitney was 
their second child, and married for his first wife a daughter of 
George Dorrance, of Kingston. He was a physician of great 
abihty, and was the first resident physician of Kingston, and 
Hved in a house from which the late Samuel Hoyt removed when 
he erected his residence. He removed there before 1817. He 
was commissioned in 1810 a justice of the peace for the townships 
of Wysox and Burlington, including Towanda, Luzerne (now 
Bradford) county. In 1820 he was elected register and recorder 
of Luzerne county. He married for his second wife Susan In- 
man, a daughter of Colonel Edward Inman. She was the grand- 
mother of the subject of our sketch. Doctor Whitney's sister, 
Elizabeth, married J. W. Piollet, who came to America from his 
native France about the beginning of the present century. He 
was captain of a troop of horse at the battle of Marengo, and 
by his bravery won the favor of Napoleon, who promoted him to 
the position of postmaster in the Army of the Alps. He was a 
well educated gentleman, and settled in Wysox. Victor E Piol- 
let, a prominent citizen of Bradford county, is his son. 

Ernest Jackson was educated in the academies of" Deacon" 
Dana and W. S. Parsons, in this city, and at Union College, 
Schenectady, N. Y., from which latter institution he graduated 
in 1869. He read law with William S. McLean, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar of Luzerne county September 9, 1872. Imme- 
diately upon his admission he entered into partnership with his 
preceptor under the firm name of McLean and Jackson, which 
^ntinued until January i, 1883. Mr. Jackson removed to West 
Virginia during the last named year and engaged in other pur- 
suits, and but recently removed again to this city. He is the 
now junior member of the firm of McCartney (W. H.) and Jack- 
son. He married, October 2, 1878, Mary Emma, daughter of the 
late G. Byron Nicholson, who in his lifetime was a member of the 
bar of this county. The mother of Mrs. Jackson was Mary A., 
daughter of Riley Stone, a son of John Stone, one of the early 
settlers of Abington township, Luzerne (now Lackawanna) 
county. Pa. Mr. and Mrs. Jackson have but one child living: 
Byron Nicholson Jackson. No man of his years is better known 
or better liked in Luzerne county than Ernest Jackson. As an 



540 Ernest Jackson. 



office lawyer he has few equals and scarcely any superiors. In 
looking up the law in support of his client's cause he is patient, 
painstaking, and always sagacious. Few men know better, or 
even as well, how to " prepare a case," which, as all attorneys 
know, means the outlining of what is to be done in court as to 
witnesses, the questions to be asked of them, etc., and the pro- 
vision of references to authorities that will provide defense for a 
case against attack from any quarter. Fortified with a case pre- 
pared by Mr. Jackson it is a poor lawyer who cannot go out of 
court triumphant, if the case be one deserving of triumph. Mr. 
Jackson is not much given to oratory in or out of court, though 
he can make a neat plea or speech when the occasion demands 
it. It is as a politician, however, that Mr. Jackson is best known. 
He is a democrat, and for years was a conspicuous figure in every 
campaign. He worked aggressively yet quietly, and in the doing 
of his work his genial face and sturdy form became familiar in 
all parts of the county. He was a strategist as well as a worker, 
and but few points of vantage were overlooked in matters of 
which he was given charge. He was never a candidate for office 
himself, but labored unselfishly and assiduously for all who were 
nominated regularly in a democratic convention. A few years 
ago he went to West Virginia to engage in the coal business, but 
the venture not proving satisfactory he recently returned to 
Wilkes-Barre and entered into a partnership with General Wil- 
liam H. McCartney, since when he has eschewed politics and 
given his time wholly to his professional duties. It is difficult 
to believe that Mr. Jackson can have an enemy. He is the soul 
of good nature, never has an ill word to say of any body, but, 
on the other hand, has a smile and a kindly word for all, whereby 
he has achieved a personal popularity that few other men in his 
profession can be truthfully said to enjoy. 



George Washington Shonk. 541 



GEORGE WASHINGTON SHONK. 



George Washington Shonk was born April 26, 1850, in the 
township (now borough) of Plymouth, Pa. He is a grandson of 
Michael Shonk, who was born on the ocean in September, 1790, 
while his father was emigrating to this country from Germany. 
His great-grandfather, John Shonk, father of Michael Shonk, 
was a nailer by trade and settled in Hope, one of the interior 
townships of Warren county, N. J., which derived its name from 
the Moravian pioneers who located there in 1769, and gave that 
name to the locality in which they settled. The house that he 
built is still standing, and his body is interred in the Moravian 
graveyard in that village. The place was visited the present 
year by John Jenks Shonk, father of George W. Shonk, and this 
after a lapse of sixty-one years since he left Hope. Michael 
Shonk removed from Hope to Plymouth in 1821, where he died 
in 1844. His wife was Beulah, daughter of John Jenks. In 
General Davis's History of Bucks County we find the following 
regarding the family : " The Jenkses are Welsh, and the gene- 
alogy of the family can be traced from the year 900 to 1669, 
when it becomes somewhat obscure. The arms which have long 
been in the possession of the family at Wolverton, England, de- 
scendants of Sir George, to whom they were confirmed by Queen 
Elizabeth in 1582, are supposed to have been granted soon after 
the time of William the Conqueror for bravery on the field of bat- 
tle. The first progenitor of the family in America was Thomas, 
son of Thomas Jenks, born in Wales in December or January, 
1699. When a child he came to America with his mother, Susan 
Jenks, who settled in Wrightstown and married Benjamin Wig- 
gins, of Buckingham, by whom she had a son born in 1709. 
She died while he was young, and was buried at Wrightstown 
meeting. Thomas Jenks was brought up a farmer, joined the 
Friends in 1723, married Mercy Wildman, of Middletown, in 
173 1, and afterwards removed to that township, where he spent 
his life. He bought six hundred acres southeast ofNewtown^ 




542 George Washington Shonk. 



on which he erected his homestead, which he called Jenks Hall, 
and built a fulling mill on Core creek, that runs through the 
premises, several years before 1742. He led an active business 
life, lived respected, and died May 4, 1797, at the good old age 
of ninety-seven. * * * At the age of ninety he walked fifty 
miles in a week, and at ninety-two his eyesight and hearing were 
both remarkably good. He had lived to see the wilderness and 
haunts of wild beasts become the seats of polished life. Thomas 
Jenks left three sons and three daughters : Mary, Elizabeth, 
Ann, John, Thomas, and Joseph, who married into the families 
of Wier, Richardson, Pierson, Twining, and Watson. * * * 
The descendants of Thomas Jenks, the elder, are very numerous, 
and found in various parts, in and out of the state, although few 
of the name are now in Bucks county. * * * Among the 
families of the past and present generations with which they 
have allied themselves by marriage, in addition to those already 
named, can be mentioned Kennedy of New York, Story, Car- 
lisle, Fell, Dixson, Watson, Trimble, Murray, Snyder (governor 
of Pennsylvania), Gillingham, Hutchinson, Justice, Collins of 
New York, Kirkbride, Stockton of New Jersey, Canby, Brown, 
Elsegood, Davis, Yardley, Newbold, Morris, Earl, Handy. Rob- 
bins, Ramsey (governor of Minnesota), Martin, Randolph, etc. 
Doctor Phineas Jenks, and Hon. Michael H. Jenks, of Newtown, 
deceased, were descendants of Thomas, the elder." 

As already stated, Beulah Shonk was the daughter of John 
Jenks, son of Thomas Jenks, jun. Her brother, John W. Jenks, 
M. D., in company with his father-in-law, Rev. David Barclay, set- 
tled in Jefferson county. Pa., in 18 19. The latter laid out the 
town of Punxsutawney the same year. It is the oldest town in 
the county, and had a store long before there was one in Brook- 
ville, the county-seat. Jefferson county was organized from a 
part of Lycoming county by an act of the legislature approved 
March 26, 1804. By the thirteenth section of the same act it 
was placed under the jurisdiction of the courts of Westmoreland 
county. An act passed in 1806 authorized the commissioners of 
Westmoreland county to act for Jefferson county. For many 
years after its establishment the county was little better than a 
hunting ground for whites and Indians. The first commission- 



George Washington Shonk. 543 

ers were not appointed until 1824, John W. Jenks, M. D., being 
one of the number. Doctor Tenks was the father of Georse 
A. Jenks, of Brookville, who occupies at present a very impor- 
tant position in the interior department at Washington, D. C., 
and also of William P. Jenks, who was for many years president 
judge of the courts of Jefferson and Clarion counties. In 1880 
George A. Jenks was the democratic candidate for judge of the 
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, but was defeated by Henry 
Green, the candidate of the republican party. Isaac G. Gordon, 
at present one of the judges of the Supreme Court of Pennsylva- 
nia, is a son-in-law of Doctor Jenks. 

John Jenks Shonk was born at Hope, N. J., March 21, 18 15, 
and is one of the most prominent business men of Plymouth. 
He was one of the earliest coal operators in the valley, as well 
as a merchant. As early as 1832 he commenced to mine coal 
for market, and has been engaged almost continuously in the 
business since. He is also largely interested in the mining of 
bituminous coal in West Virginia. He is the president and one 
of the directors of the Cabin Creek Kanawha Coal Company, 
and also of the Williams Coal Company, of Kanawha. He is 
also a director and the president of the Kanawha Railroad Com- 
pany. He is the president and one of the directors of the re- 
cently incorporated Wilkes-Barre and Harvey's Lake Railroad 
Company. In 1875 he was the candidate of the prohibition 
party in the Third legislative district for the legislature of the 
state, and was elected by a majority of five votes over M. A. Mc- 
Carty, the democratic candidate, and four hundred and nine over 
J. N. Gettle, the republican candidate. In 1876 he was re-elected 
as a republican and defeated Bryce S. Blair, his democratic com- 
petitor, by a majority of five hundred and forty-six votes. Mr. 
Shonk has been married three times. His first wife was Eliza- 
beth, daughter of the late Ebenezer Chamberlain, M. D., a native 
of Swanzey, Cheshire county, N. H., where he was born Decem- 
ber I, 1790, and was the practicing physician of Plymouth from 
the time of his immigration in 1816 until his death, April 12, 
1866. He was one of the commissioners of Luzerne county 
from 1843 to 1846, and also held for a long time the commission 
of justice of the peace. The second wife of J. J. Shonk was 



544 George Washington Shonk. 



Frances Rinas, daughter of Carpenter C. Rinas, of Plymouth. 
Neither of the above named wives left any children surviving. 
The third wife of John Jenks Shonk, whom he married in 1847, 
and the mother of the subject of our sketch, is Amanda, daughter 
of the late Thomas Davenport. Colonel Wright, in his " Histor- 
ical Sketches of Plymouth," speaks thus of the Davenports : 
" They were among the early settlers of the town, and one of 
them was of the original P"orty. I am not able to ascertain the 
length of time he remained in Plymouth after his immigration. 
The name of Davenport is on the original list. The Christian 
name is so obliterated that I cannot decipher a letter of it. It 
was undoubtedly Robert, however, father of Thomas, who came 
a few years afterwards. * * * [The family is of New England 
origin.] The name of Conrad Davenport is upon the dead list of 
the Wyoming battle. The Davenport whose name appears upon 
the roll of the Susquehanna Immigrant Company, and to whom 
was allotted some of the lands still in possession of the family, 
came out, most likely, as an explorer; and on his return giving 
a favorable account of the new country, his son, Thomas, suc- 
ceeded his father in the Plymouth possessions. Robert does 
not seem to have returned to the valley. It is also pretty well 
settled that he was a member of Captain Whittlesey's company 
in the battle, and a survivor of that terrible disaster. Such is 
the tradition of the family at the present time, and most likely a 
correct one. [Thomas Davenport, the ancestor of the now resi- 
dent family, came from Orange count}^ N. Y., in the year 1794.] 
His name is registered on the assessor's list of 1796, and he was 
then the owner of a large landed estate. He purchased from Joseph 
Reynolds, of Plymouth, December 6, 1799, 105 acres of land for '65 
pounds current, lawful money.' He died in the year 1812, leav- 
ing a large family — six sons and four daughters. His wife was 
a member of the Methodist Episcopal church of Plymouth be- 
fore 1795. His sons were Thomas (father of Mrs. Shonk), John, 
Robert, Samuel, Daniel, and Stephen. A considerable part of 
the old homestead farm is still owned by the descendants. * * 
The Davenports were among the substantial business men of the 
town for a great many years. They were of that class which, above 
all others, are entitled to public consideration, because they 




George Washington Shonk. 545 

devoted to their own affairs, and were not in the habit of med- 
dUng with those of others. They faithfully maintained their 
credit, and their lives were marked with strict economy, indus- 
try, and fair dealing. The six sons were all farmers." Stephen 
Davenport, the youngest son, was one of the commissioners of 
Luzerne county from 1862 to 1865. He died but a few weeks 
since. The wife of Thomas Davenport, sen., was Charity Lam- 
eroux, a native of Litchfield county, Conn. She was a descend- 
ant of one of the Huguenot families of France. Her ancestor 
came to this country after the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes, 
October 20, 1685. It was then "ordered that all Protestant 
churches be immediately demolished ; that Protestants should 
not assemble in any house or other place for their religious wor- 
ship; that ministers were to leave the kingdom within fifteen 
days if they did not become Catholics. If they attempted to 
exercise their functions they would suffer as the vilest criminals. 
Parents were to send their children at once to the Catholic 
churches for baptism or suffer heavy penalties. But if Protest- 
ants attempted to leave the kingdom they would be sent to the 
galleys." It is vain to attempt to specify the numerous methods 
by which the Revocation made life intolerable and death wel- 
come to the purest and noblest of the French population. " It 
was," says the Duke of St. Simon, a Roman Catholic courtier of 
Louis XIV., " a plot that presented to the nations the spectacle 
of so vast a multitude of people, who had committed no crime, 
proscribed, denuded, fleeing, wandering, seeking an asylum afar 
from their country. A plot that consigned the noble, the wealthy, 
the aged ; those highly esteemed, in many cases, for their piety, 
their learning, their virtue; those accustomed to a life of ease, 
frail, delicate, to hard labor in the galleys, under the driver's 
lash, and for no reason save that of their religion." All this pro- 
longed barbarity proceeded from a court equally remarkable for 
its aesthetic culture, its undisguised licentiousness and its piety (?). 
Under the same influence, in the same century, the Austrian 
court was no less merciless. Bohemian Protestants were ban- 
ished or caged like wild beasts, their children were declared ille- 
gitimate, their goods were spoiled. " Mothers were bound to 
posts with their babies at their feet, to see them die of hunger 



546 George Washington Shonk. 



unless they should renounce their faith." All this occurred 
within two hundred years in the most civilized nations, and 
under the most religious governments (?). Doctor Lord, in his 
" Beacon Lights of History," says, in his lecture on Louis XIV., 
that " it is a hackneyed saying that ' the blood of martyrs is the 
seed of the church.' But it would seem that the persecution 
of the Protestants was an exception to this truth ; and a perse- 
cution all the more needless and revolting since the Protestants 
were not in rebellion against the government, as in the time of 
Charles IX. This diabolical persecution, justified, however, by 
some of the greatest men in France, had its intended results. 
The bigots who incited that crime had studied well the princi- 
ples of successful warfare. As early as 1666 the king was urged 
to suppress the Protestant religion, and long before the t>Jict of 
Nantes was revoked the Protestants had been subjected to humil- 
iation and annoyance. If they held places at court they were 
required to sell them ; if they were advocates they were forbid- 
den to plead ; if they were physicians they were prevented from 
visiting patients. They were gradually excluded from appoint- 
ments in the army and navy ; little remained to them except com- 
merce and manufactures. Protestants could not hold Catholics 
as servants ; soldiers were unjustly quartered upon them; their 
taxes were multiplied ; their petitions were unread. But in 1685 
dragonnades subjected them to still greater cruelties ; who tore 
up their linen for camp beds, and emptied their mattresses for 
litters. The poor, unoffending Protestants filled the prisons and 
dyed the scaffolds with their blood. They were prohibited, under 
the severest penalties, from the exercise of their religion ; their 
ministers were exiled, their children were baptised in the Catho- 
lic faith, their property was confiscated, and all attempts to flee 
the country was punished by the galleys. Two millions of peo- 
ple were disfranchised ; two hundred thousand perished by the 
executioners, or in prisons, or in the galleys. All who could fly 
escaped to other countries, and those who escaped were among 
the most useful citizens, carrying their arts with them to enrich 
countries at war with France. Some two hundred thousand con- 
trived to fly, thus weakening the kingdom, and filling Europe 
with their execrations. Never did a crime have so little justifica- 



George Washington Shonk. 547 

tion ; and never was a crime followed with severer retribution. 
Yet Le Tellier, the chancellor, at the age of eighty, thanked God 
that he was permitted the exalted privilege of affixing the seal 
of his office to the act before he died. Madam de Maintenon 
declared that it would cover Louis with glory. Madam de Se- 
vigne said that no royal ordinance had ever been more magnifi- 
cent. Hardly a protest came from any person of influence in the 
land, not even from Fenelon. The great Bosseut, at the funeral 
of Le Tellier, thus broke out : ' Let us publish this miracle of 
our day, and pour out our hearts in praise of the piety of Louis — 
this new Constantine; this new Theodosius ; this new Charle- 
magne; through whose hands heresy is no more.' The Pope, 
though at this time hostile to Louis, celebrated a Te Deum." 

"The tradition in the family," says Ira Davenport, of Plymouth, 
now seventy-three years of age, " is that our ancestor returned 
to France and was put to death." The wife of Thomas Daven- 
port, jun., was Mary Reynolds Bronson. She was the daughter 
of Levi Bronson, a native of Kent, Litchfield county. Conn. 
He was the father of Ira Bronson, who was one of the commis- 
sioners of Luzerne county from 1846 to 1849, ^^^ ^^^^ ^^^ of 
the justices of the peace of the county for many years. 

George W. Shonk was prepared for college at Wyoming Sem- 
inary, Kingston, Pa. He then entered Wesleyan University, at 
Middletown, Conn., from which he graduated in the class of 1873. 
He then entered the law office of Hubbard B. Payne, and was 
admitted to the bar of Luzerne county September 29, 1876. He 
married, August 15, 1880, Ida E. Klotz, daughter of Joseph 
Klotz, of West Pittston, Pa., who is a descendant of Jacob Klotz, 
who came to this country with his wife, ftce Uteloch, from Wur- 
tenburg, Germany, September 2, 1749. in the ship Chesterfield. 
He took out a warrant for a tract of land in Lowhill township, Le- 
high (then Northampton) county, March 16, 1767, and another in 
November of the same year, lying between the site of the" Mor- 
genlender church and the Jordan creek." He had two sons : 
John and Casper. John Klotz, the grandfather of Joseph Klotz, 
married Franconia Krouse, and by her had five sons. Christian 
Klotz was the fourth son of John, and was the father of Joseph 
Klotz. He was born May 14, 1789, and about the year 18 14 



548 George Washington Shonk. 



left his native township, and soon after settled in Mahoning town- 
ship, Carbon county, where he died March 12, 1848. In 18 16 
he married Elizabeth, daughter of Robert McDaniel, and by her 
had five children ; Joseph Klotz, the father of Mrs. Shonk, being 
the youngest. In 1848 Joseph Klotz removed to Pittston, where 
he has since resided. He married, November 6, 1850, Mary 
A. Grube, daughter of John Grube. Robert Klotz, of Mauch 
Chunk, Pa., who represented the counties of Carbon, Columbia, 
Montour, Pike, Monroe, and parts of Luzerne and Lackawanna 
in congress from 1878 to 1883, is a brother of Joseph Klotz. 
Robert McDaniel, the maternal grandfather of Joseph Klotz, was 
born August 24, 1756, in a small lumbering village near Penob- 
scot, Me. He was apprenticed to Captain Joseph Longstreth, 
of Philadelphia, who, in 1783, purchased the Gilbert farm in 
Mahoning Valley, being the same place where the Indians cap- 
tured the Gilbert family in 1780. The wife of Robert McDaniel 
was Elizabeth Hicks, a Quakeress. Mr. and Mrs. George W. 
Shonk have two children : Herbert Bronson Shonk and Emily 
Weaver Shonk. Mr. Shonk is one of the best and brightest of 
the younger members of the Luzerne bar. He comes of a good 
family, some of the members of which have been prominently 
identified with the political and business interests of the county. 
His father, as already stated, served two terms in the house of 
representatives at Harrisburg, where he took a live interest, and 
was an active participant, in the proceedings. George W.'s ca- 
pacities, both as a lawyer and man of business, are of no narrow 
order. He never permits himself to underestimate the impor- 
tance of a cause placed in his keeping, and is always prepared to 
defend it from every point of attack. Hence he is a close stu- 
dent, as well as a member of the bar, as every good lawyer who 
expects to remain a good lawyer, must be. He is a republican 
in politics, and quite prominently identified with the interests of 
that party. He is quiet, courteous, and affable, and these quali- 
ties, added to his professional and business powers, give promise 
of his becoming a citizen of rare usefulness. 



Clarence Winfield Kline. 549 



CLARENCE WINFIELD KLINE. 



Clarence Winfield Kline was born October 25, 1851, near Jer- 
seytown, Columbia county, Pa. He is a descendant of Jacob 
Klein, who emigrated to this country from Germany October 2, 
1741, in the ship St. Andrew. Daniel Klein, son of Jacob Klein, 
was born in 1742, and served in the revolutionary war. Daniel 
Klein, son of Daniel Klein, was a soldier in the war of 1812, and 
served under General Jackson. He removed from Philadelphia 
to East Hempfield township, Lancaster county, in 1820. George 
Schenck Kline, father of C. W. Kline, was born in East Hemp- 
field in 1826, and removed to Danville, Pa., in 1845. I" 1846 he 
married Maranda Kisner, daughter of Jacob Kisner. He was 
the son of Leonard Kisner, who was the son of John Kisner, a 
native of Germany. Jacob Kisner was the cousin of William 
Kisner, of Hazleton. On the night of his marriage he left with 
the Columbia Guards for the Mexican war, where they partici- 
pated in every battle. The Columbia Guards organized in 1817, 
belonged especially to Danville, and was famous all over Colum- 
bia county (in honor of which it took its name), by its connec- 
tion with the Mexican war. It was mustered into the service 
of the United States December 28, 1846, and was attached to 
the Second Regiment of Pennsylvania Volunteers, commanded 
by Colonel Wynkoop, and afterwards by Colonel Geary, who 
subsequently became governor of Pennsylvania. Their first en- 
eacfeent w as at the storming of Vera Cruz, and the second at 
Cerro Gordo. At the battle of Chepultepec they lost two men. 
On approaching the City of Mexico, the defense of San Angelos, 
with all the military stores, was committed to the Guards, and 
on September 13, 1847, they were among the first to march in 
triumphal entry into the city. Mr. Kline participated in every 
engagement. He went out as first sergeant and was promoted by 
gallantry to first lieutenant and brevet captain. He left a magnif- 
icent sword as an heirloom to his children, which is now in the 
possession of the subjecf of this sketch, and which bears the fol- 



550 Clarence Winfield Kline. 



lowing inscription engraved upon its scabbard : " Presented to 
Lieutenant George S. Kline by General Winfield Scott for bravery 
and meritorious service on the battlefields of Vera Cruz, Cerro 
Gordo, Chepultepec, and Mexico." Lieutenant Kline had the 
honor to be the man who planted the American colors on the 
walls of Chepultepec after three brave soldiers had been shot in 
attempting to do so. Captain Kline returned to Danville after 
the war, and first acted as clerk and then as superintendent of 
the old" Rough and Ready " rolling mill at that place. In 1852 
he went West with a party of surveyors to lay out a railroad, 
and at St. Josephs, Mo., was attacked by cholera and died within 
a few hours. His widow is still living. 

C. W. Kline, after his father's death, was taken and raised by 
his grandmother Kline, in Lancaster county, and in the common 
schools of that county he received the groundwork of his edu- 
cation. When thirteen years of age he left school and Lancaster 
county and came back to his birthplace. The next year he suc- 
cessfully passed an examination and received a teacher's certifi- 
cate. His first school was at the old Derry Presbyterian church, 
in Anthony township, Montour county. He continued teaching 
in the winter and working on the farm in the summer until 1869, 
when he removed to Jeansville, Pa., and for two years was in the 
employ of J. C. Hayden and Company. He was then appointed 
principal of the Jeansville schools. In 1874 he registered as 
a student at law in the office of Thomas J. Foley, then practic- 
ing in Hazleton, and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county 
January 10, 1877. Mr. Kline married, November 26, 1874, Jen- 
nie Lindner, daughter of Samuel Lindner, of Hazleton. Mr. 
and Mrs. Kline have no children living. Mr. Kline has been a 
school director of Hazleton, and for the last six years has been 
solicitor of the borough. He has been chairman and is now sec- 
retary of the republican committee of the Fourth legislative 
district. C. W. Kline, whose office is at Hazleton, is one of the 
rapidly rising young attorneys of the Luzerne bar. He controls 
a large proportion of the legal business of what is called " the 
lower end," meaning the southern portion of the county, or 
Hazleton region, and by assiduous exertion earns his fee and 
satisfies his client every time. Lawyers doing business in the 



Edward Warren Sturdevant. 551 



smaller towns of the county do not come so conspicuously before 
the whole people of the county as those residing at the county- 
seat, but many of them are, nevertheless, equally bright and de- 
serving, and do an equally important and lucrative business. In 
such towns cases of considerable importance are finally decided 
in the courts of the justices of the peace, and practice in these 
courts is oftener a serious matter than practice in the alder- 
manic courts of cities like Wilkes-Barre. It is a long distance 
by rail from Hazleton to Wilkes-Barre, and the journey is expen- 
sive to poor litigants, who, on these accounts, prefer to have 
their causes decided at home by the justices, if they come within 
their jurisdiction, and where they are ably argued pro and con by 
the attorneys. A good part of Mr. Kline's practice is of this 
character, though he is an attendant at almost every session of 
the county courts representing numerous clients. He is a gen- 
tleman well read out of as well as in the law, and makes an ex- 
cellent plea. 



EDWARD WARREN STURDEVANT. 




Edward Warren Sturdevant was born in W'llkes-Barre, Pa., 
November 12, 1854. He is the youngest son of the late Ebene- 
zer Warren Sturdevant, also of the Luzerne bar. The mother 
of Edward W. Sturdevant was Lucy, daughter of Charles Hus- 
ton, at one time one of the judges of the Supreme Court of 
Pennsylvania. Judge Huston was the son of Thomas Huston, 
of Scotch-Irish descent, who, in September, 1775, was appointed 
"lieutenant of one of the armed boats;" March, 1776, captain 
of the Warren; August, 1778, captain of the armed brig Con- 
vention ; and in October of the same year he reported to the 
supreme executive council of this state that he had "taken sev- 
eral prizes which are not condemned." Family tradition states 
that he came home on furlough to his home in Newtown, Bucks 
county. Pa., late on a certain afternoon; his anxious, fearful wife 
persuaded him to retire for the night to a neighboring hill for 
security. He soon saw British soldiers enter his house. Pre- 



552 Edward Warren Sturdevant. 



senting their bayonets to Mrs. Huston, they demanded her hus- 
band, promising protection if he would give himself up. She 
assured them there were none there excepting herself, her little 
children, and a hired boy, who stood trembling by. They ran- 
sacked the house, thrusting their bayonets into beds, closets, or 
wherever a man might havebeen. They found some fire-arms, 
and looking at the children proposed to " kill the cursed rebels 
in the bud," but their leader prevented any further trouble. 
Other officers who came home with Huston were taken, and were 
not released until the war closed. About that time the family 
settled near Carlisle, Pa. Judge Huston, the eldest child of Cap- 
tain Thomas Huston, first entered the army, afterwards studied 
law, then removed to Williamsport, and finally to Bellefonte, 
where he died. The parents followed him to Williamsport and 
kept a public house on a corner northeast of the court house for 
many years. Captain Huston died in Williamsport in 1824, aged 
eighty-five years. He was blind for some years, but could dis- 
tinguish any of his many grandchildren by the voice as he wel- 
comed them while sitting in his arm chair. His wife — Jeanette 
Walker before marriage — was a notable housewife, robust and 
sprightly, making up boxes of clothing for home missionaries 
when seventy years old, eyes to her husband when blind, never 
tired of reading, and he never tired of hearing, out of the blessed 
Book. She survived him but two months, dying the same year, 
aged seventy-five years. Their youngest son, Thomas T. Hus- 
ton, M. D., settled in Athens, Bradford county. Pa., where he 
died in 1865. 

Edward W. Sturdevant was prepared for college at the acad- 
emy of W. S. Parsons, in Wilkes-Barre, and then entered Lehigh 
University, at Bethlehem, Pa., from which he graduated in the 
class of 1875. He read law with E. P. and J. V. Darling, of this 
city, and was admitted to the Luzerne county bar June 11, 1877. 
He married, October 18, 1882, Mary Nicholson Stark, only 
daughter of the late Jasper B. Stark, of this city. Mr. and Mrs. 
Sturdevant have two children : Edward VVarren Sturdevant and 
Amy Sturdevant. J. Byron Stark, of the Luzerne bar, is a 
brother of Mrs. Sturdevant. Mr. Sturdevant, whose ancestry 
are treated at some length in the sketch of his father, General 



Bernard McManus. ' • 553 

Sturdevant, published in the previous volume of this work, pos- 
sesses talents as a scholar and a lawyer from which liberal profit, 
both in money and repuation, might have been realized had not 
the circumstances in which he was left by his father's death 
removed all necessity for his continuing to practice. His share 
of the General's estate amounts to a snug competence, and his 
time is now principally occupied in the management of it. He 
is a gentleman of unusual urbanity of manner, pleasant of speech, 
and popular in the best social circles. 



BERNARD McMANUS. 



Bernard McManus was born in Beaver Meadow, Carbon 
county, Pa., July 23, 1846. He is the son of the late Felix Mc- 
Manus, a native of Cavan, Ireland. His mother, Bridget Mc- 
Manus {lice Dolan), is still living. Mr. McManus was educated 
at the Millersville, Pa., Normal School, and at St. John's College, 
Fordham, N. Y. He read law' with John Lynch, and was admit- 
ted to the Luzerne county bar November 19, 1877. Rev. Patrick 
McManus, who is the parish priest at Great Bend, Pa., is a brother 
of the subject of our sketch. Mr. McManus married. May 20, 
1884, Mary McCormick, daughter of Michael McCormick, a 
native of Roscommon, Ireland. They have no children. Mr. 
McManus practiced law at Hazleton for five years after his ad- 
mission, and then removed to this city where he has been in 
continuous practice since. Mr. McManus, coming from hum- 
blest beginnings, having few early advantages, and required from 
boyhood to depend upon his own labor for his livelihood, has, 
considering the short time he has been practicing, pushed him- 
self forward to a very proud position at the bar. He is a man 
of -magnificent physique (which is a matter of no small conse- 
quence when one is compelled to the drudgeries of the law), of 
good mind and habits of industry. He joined the profession 
with the understanding that it would be of no manner of use to 
him without work, and hard work, and in that particular pos- 



554 RoMKRT Hunter Wright. 



sesscd an equipment, the want of wliich will account for at least 
half the failures of the legal world. He is a very genial, cour- 
teous man in and out of court, and enjoys a most excellent repu- 
tation as a citizen with all who know him. 




ROBERT HUNTER WRIGHT. 



Robert Hunter Wright, of Hazleton, was born in Greenwood 
township. Perry county, Pa., December 4, 1841. He is a de- 
scendant of Isaac Francis Wright, a native of England, who emi- 
grated to this country when quite a lad. He was a carpenter by 
trade and resided in Philadelphia until his death, which was 
caused by a fall from a building. He married in this country 
Hannah Taylor, a daughter of William Tajdor and granddaugh- 
ter of Isaac Taylor, of Lower Merion township, Montgomery 
county. Pa. The wife of Isaac Taylor was a daughter of Mau- 
rice Llewellyn, to whom William Penn gave a deed for six hun- 
dred and forty acres of land in Lower Merion township, fronting 
on the Schuylkill river. Charles Wright, the only son of Isaac 
Francis Wright, was but three months old when his father died. 
His mother married for a second husband, George Mitchell, with 
whom she and her son Charles moved to the Eagle Hotel, in 
Chester county, near Morgan's Corner, where she remained as 
proprietress, while her husband went back to Ireland to secure 
the "fortune coming," with which he purchased a tract of nearly 
two thousand acres of land in Greenwood township, Perry county. 
Pa., extending from the summit of the Buffalo Hills north, and 
from one-half mile of the Juniata river east. Charles Wright 
removed to Perry county when he was ten years of age, or 
about 1790, and lived with his mother and step-father until he 
married Deborah Van Camp, which occurred in his twenty-sixth 
and her twenty-second year. They moved into the woods to 
begin life for themselves, but they did not stay long, for, pos- 
sessed of a vigorous mind and a strong, healthy body, he 
"cleared" his way out. He was a democrat in politics, and as 



Robert Hunter Wright. 555 



such was elected to the county offices of director of the poor and 
county commissioner for one term each. He changed his poH- 
tics during the late civil war, and was ever afterwards as ardent 
a republican as he had hitherto been a democrat. He was a 
prominent member of the Presbyterian church. The Van Camp 
(or Van Campen) family were descendants ofthe Holland Patroons, 
and settled in the Dutch village of Esopus (now Kingston), thirty- 
six miles northeast of New York City. William Van Camp, the 
ancestor of the line, was married to Elizabeth Decker, by whom 
he had three children — John, Jane, and Lydia — before 1763. 



They were informed in the evening that Indians lurked near, med- 
itating a midnight attack, and before 10 p. m., with whatever 
could be hurriedly packed on two horses, leaving behind them 
four cows, ten sheep, and six hogs to arrest the pursuit of the 
plundering savages, who sacked and burned the village before 
the dawn of the next day, the Van Camps were on their way 
through the forest toward Pennsylvania. Where they settled 
after this flight is not certainly known (the family stories differ), 
but from the most reliable sources were said to have lived in 
Columbia county, along the North Branch of the Susquehanna 
river. How long these fugitives were unmolested is not known, 
but it is certain that another surprise by the savages was more 
successful, for Lydia was made a captive and not ransomed for a 
period of nine months. The children of William and Elizabeth 
Van Camp, after their flight from New York, were James, Alex- 
ander, Andrew, and Deborah. The latter was the wife of Charles 
Wright. The removal ofthe Van Camps from the Susquehanna 
took place between 1767 and 1790. They purchased the lands 
they owned on the Juniata river from John Anderson, jun., who 
obtained the warrant and had the survey made in June, 1767. 

Charles Wright, jun., son of Charles Wright, is still living at 
Newport, Perry county. Pa. He is a farmer and is a native of 
Greenwood township. His wife is Eliza Jane Hunter, a daughter 
of John Hunter, a native ofthe North of Ireland. Mrs. Wright 
was born near Liverpool, Pa. R. H. Wright, son of Charles 



556 Thomas Rebaugh Martin. 



Wri'^ht. inn., worked on his father's farm in the summer and 
attended school in the winter until he was fifteen years old. He 
was subsequently a clerk, and when twenty years of age he at- 
tended the Bloomfield Academy. After completing his education 
he taught school, engaged in the mercantile business, and vari- 
ous other business pursuits until 1877. (Bloomfield, in connec- 
tion with this sketch, means a borough of that name in Perry 
county, the postoffice being New Bloomfield). He read law with 
Charles Barnett, of Bloomfield, and with Jabez Alsover, of Hazle- 
ton, and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county March 22, 
1878. He married, December 22, 1863, Kate E. Smith, daughter 
of the late Samuel Smith, of Bloomfield, Pa. Mr. and Mrs. 
Wright have children as follows : Minnie Winona Wright, now 
the wife of George E. Harris, of Bethlehem ; Lulu Itaska Wright, 
Florence Adelaide Wright, and Edgar Samuel Wright. Mr. 
Wright is a man of good mental parts, and, having been an ear- 
nest student, is very well qualified for practice as an attorney at 
law. He does a fair share of the legal business of Hazleton, and 
his face is a familiar one in the county courts. He has never 
been especially active in politics, or other than his profession, 
but possesses qualities that would make him popular as a public 
character if he but chose to employ them with that ambition. 
He is as yet but upon the threshold of his professional career, 
which in the future, if he goes on as he has begun, will bring him 
enviable laurels. 



THOMAS REBAUGH MARTIN. 



Thomas Rebaugh Martin was born near Hagerstown, Wash- 
ington county, Md., May 26, 1849. He was educated at Mer- 
cersburg College, and Franklin and Marshall College, Lancaster, 
.Pa., graduating from the latter institution in the class of 1874. 
Mr. Martin comes from an old Maryland family. His grand- 
father, William Martin, was a justice of the peace in Washington 
county for over thirty years, and was a leading man in the com- 
munity in which he resided. The father of Thomas R. Martia 



Thomas Rebaugh Martin. 557 



was David L. Martin. He was a farmer and resided in the same 
county. His brother, and the uncle of the subject of our sketch, 
Samuel Martin, was a lawyer of considerable note. Thomas R. 
Martin read law with D. G. Eshelman, of Lancaster, and com- 
pleted his legal reading with Andrew K. Seyster, of Hagerstown. 
He was admitted to the bar of Washington county, Md., in the 
latter part of the year 1875 ; to the Lancaster county. Pa., bar, 
in January, 1876 ; and to the Luzerne county bar, April 10, 1876. 
He married, June 28, 1877, Anna A. Stirk, daughter of Isaac 
Stirk, of Lancaster, Pa. They have one child : Florence Vir- 
ginia Martin. Mr. Martin came from Maryland to Wilkes-Barre 
" a stranger in a strange land," and to a bar very much over- 
crowded. He brought with him, however, a remarkable affabil- 
ity and a generally pleasing deportment and bearing that soon 
forged for him a way into a position of credit and prominence in 
his profession and in the party — the democratic — with which his 
sympathies lay. Professionally, nothing was too arduous to be 
undertaken for a client ; politically, no task assigned him con- 
sumed too much of his time, or put him to too much trouble; 
personally, he was ready for any thing to serve a friend ; and as 
a consequence he soon had an enviable standing at the bar, as a 
democrat and socially, that many less persevering and judicious, 
though more pretentious and ambitious, had long essayed in 
vain. During the time that he has been in the community he 
has probably made more political speeches than any other law- 
yer, either democratic or republican, and having a prolific vocab- 
ulary, a good enunciation, and captivating address, and being 
otherwise qualified for success in stump speech delivery, he at 
once made himself a good reputation with all who take delight 
in, or profit from, such instruction. The reputation thus achieved 
brought him into prominence for the nomination for district at- 
torney in 1882, and in the convention of that year he polled a 
good vote. He was again a candidate in 1885, and reached 
within an ace of the nomination, his opponent, James L. Lena- 
han, being especially popular, both personally and by reason of 
the peculiar circumstances attending the contest. Mr. Martin is 
a man who outlives discouragements, and if he chooses to be a. 
candidate again, he may do so with bright promise of success. 



558 James L. Lenahan. 



JAMES L. LENAHAN. 



James L. Lenahan was born in Plymouth township, Luzerne 
county, Pa., November 5, 1856. He attended the public schools 
of this city until he was fourteen years of age. He then acted 
as clerk in his father's store for three years, then entered the 
academy kept by W. R. Kingman, and completed his education 
at Holy Cross College, Worcester, Mass. James L. Lenahan 
read law with his brother, John Thomas Lenahan, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar of Luzerne county January 28, 1879. In 1880 
he was census enumerator for the Fourth ward of the city of 
Wilkes-Barre. The father of James L. Lenahan is Patrick Lena- 
han, a retired merchant of this city. His mother is Elizabeth 
Lenahan {nee Duffy), a native of Wilkes-Barre township. Her 
father, Bernard Duffy, was a native of County Louth, Ireland, 
and emigrated to this country in 183 1. In November, 1885, 
Mr. Lenahan was the democratic candidate for district attorney 
of Luzerne county, and was elected, the vote standing : Lena- 
han, 9,191 ; William Henry McCartney, republican, 8,604; and 
Frank Caleb Sturges, prohibitionist, 470. Although the element 
of chance enters more or less largely into all contests for political 
nominations, and frequently has more to do than anything else 
in determining them, it must be admitted that, in the case of Mr. 
Lenahan's selection as the candidate of his party for district attor- 
ney in 1885, there was an irresistible tendency towards him from 
the moment of the announcement of his name, that was due to the 
esteem in which he was held by his fellow-professionals and the 
people generally. His was one of that class of nominations that 
are sometimes spoken of as natural nominations. All the circum- 
stances surrounding him and his name seemed from the outset 
to point to the wisdom of his being placed upon the ticket, and 
the fact that, though his party was at the time split up into sev- 
eral warring factions, all united upon and elected him, is of itself 
one of the best evidences of his fitness for the position. Mr. 
Lenahan is a man of strong convictions and the courage to ex- 



Emmett De Vine Nichols. 559 



press and contend for them with all proper vigor, of good ad- 
dress, and of industrious disposition, and that he will acquit 
himself creditably as district attorney everybody feels assured' 



EMMETT De VINE NICHOLS. 




Emmett De Vine Nichols was born in the village of Ulster, 
Bradford county, Pa., July 8, 1855. He is the son of George 
W. Nichols, of New Albany, Pa., and a descendant of Stephen 
Nichols, who came from England at an early day and settled in 
Connecticut. The mother of Emmett De V. Nichols was Eliza- 
beth B. Nichols [nee Hemingway), of Rome, Pa. Mr. Nichols at- 
tended the common schools of his native township up to the age 
of fifteen. He then attended the select school of Professor J. B. 
Crawford, at Sheshequin, Pa., and at the age of twenty received 
a certificate to teach. He taught in Laddsburg, Pa., during the 
winter of 1875-1876. Pie attended Wyoming Seminary during 
a portion of the latter year, after which he went to Marathon, N. 
Y., for the purpose of recruiting his health. He then went to a 
place called Willett, near Marathon, for the purpose of teaching 
a select school. On the Sunday night before opening his school 
he delivered his first public address to a packed house in the 
Baptist church. After teaching several months he went to Cort- 
land, N. Y., and studied law a day and a half in Judge Smith's 
office. In the spring of 1877 he came to Wilkes-Barre and en- 
tered upon the study of the law in the office of Kidder (C. P.) 
and Nichols (F. M.), and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county September 16, 1879, and has been in continuous practice 
since. Mr. Nichols is an ardent temperance advocate, and at the 
age of fifteen was worthy chief templar of a Good Templar's 
lodge. While a student Mr. Nichols held many Murphy meet- 
ings and took an active part in good templary. He has been 
deputy grand worthy chief templar of the state of Pennsylvania, 
and is at present a district deputy. He was secretary of the first 
county constitutional temperance amendment association, or- 



560 Emmett De Vine Nichols. 



ganized in Luzerne county, and organized the prohibition party 
in this county in 1880, and has been chairman of the party ever 
since. The same year he was one of the Pennsylvania presiden- 
tial electors on the prohibition ticket. In 1883 he was tempo- 
rary chairman of the state prohibition convention held at Pitts- 
burgh. In 1884 he was the candidate of the prohibition party 
for congress for the Twelfth congressional district, and received 
1,001 votes. In 1885 he published a work of one hundred and 
two pages, entitled, " The License System repugnant to sound 
Constitutional Law. Prohibition in perfect harmony with the 
spirit of American Institutions." Mr. Nichols married, June 25, 
1879, Emma J. Koons, of Ashley, Pa. She is the daughter of 
John G. Koons, a native of the township of Sugarloaf, in this 
county, but who has resided in Ashley for the past twenty years. 
His father, Michael Koons, was a well-to-do farmer in the Con- 
yngham Valley, and died at the age of eighty-two years. His 
father was a native of Schuylkill county, and removed to Sugar- 
loaf township, and his father was born in Germany. The mother 
of Mrs. Nichols, and the wife of John G. Koons, is Emeline M., 
daughter of Captain Thomas W. Knauss. He was a native of 
Easton, Pa., but removed to Centreville, Pa. While residing 
there he was superintendent of the Reformed church Sunday 
school, postmaster, and justice of the peace for many years. ' He 
was captain of a military company in the Mexican war, and while 
in Mexico was taken with a fever and died. Captain Knauss' 
father, John Michael Knauss, was a native of Kreidlersville, Pa., 
and was a soldier in the war of 1812. His father was a native 
of Germany, and afterwards came to this country and here mar- 
ried. Mr. and Mrs. Nichols have three children : Carrie Al- 
berta Nichols, Pearl Elizabeth Nichols, and Maud Edna Nichols. 
Mr. Nichols is one of that class of men of whom examples 
turn up in every age and in almost every community — men 
whose ambition it is to figure conspicuously in movements con- 
templating great reformations, and who frequently make great 
sacrifices, professionally and in a business way, in their ardent 
and unselfish efforts to achieve their object. Such men have 
sown the seed of every important political or social revolution 
the world has ever seen. They were the hard workers in the 



Nathan Bennett. 561 



earlier days of the agitation against feudalism, for the substitu- 
tion of democracies for monarchies, and for the abolition of 
slavery. While comparatively, few of the number have lived to 
participate in the fruition of their hopes, their memories are al- 
ways revered by their descendants, and frequently they have 
reached to high niches in the gallery of public fame. Whether 
we believe in or antagonize prohibition, we must needs concede 
to Mr. Nichols that he is devoted to the interests of the prohibi- 
tion cause, that he is sincere in his beliefs and professions, and 
that he has given, and still gives, very largely in proportion to 
his means, to its advancement. The measure of his success, as 
above outlined, has been, under all the circumstances, quite re- 
markable. We can better appreciate such characters when we 
reflect upon how few there are who are content, in this world, 
with doing only that and all which their consciences approve. 
Mr. Nichols is a lawyer of good abilities, a gentleman of pleasant 
manners, and a reputable citizen. 



NATHAN BENNETT. 



Nathan Bennett was born in Wilkes-Barre, Pa., July 7, 1852. 
He is a descendant of Ishmael Bennett, who was born in Rhode 
Island about 1730. From there he removed to Connecticut, 
where he married, and from there came to Wilkes-Barre, where 
he settled about 1770. After the battle and massacre of Wyo- 
ming he returned to Connecticut with the expelled inhabitants, 
and subsequently returned to Wilkes-Barre, where he married 
for the second time (his first wife having died), Abigail Beers, 
widow of Philip Weeks, who was killed in the massacre. He 
removed to Ohio in 18 16, and died there when a very old man. 
Nathan Bennett, son of Ishmael Bennett by his second wife, was 
born in Hanover township in 1788. He married Ann Hoover, 
daughter of Henry Hoover, a native of New Jersey, who came 
to Hanover in 1790 in company with his father, Felix Hoover. 
They were of Dutch descent. Nathan Bennett lived in this city, 



562 Nathan Bennett. 



where he died in 1872. Stewart Bennett, son of Nathan Bennett 
and father of Nathan Bennett the subject of this sketch, was born 
in Hanover township in 1830. IJis wife was Mary Ann Lynn, 
a daughter of Joseph Lynn, of Bridgeville, Warren county, N. 
J., where she was born. Mr. Bennett was a prominent citizen of 
this city, and served in the city council for several years. He 
died in 1885. Nathan Bennett, the subject of our sketch, was 
educated in the public schools of this city and at the Normal 
School at Millersville, Pa. He taught one year in our schools, 
and for two years was a clerk in the prothonotary's office of 
Luzerne county. He read law with W. L. Paine and Alexander 
Farnham, and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county Sep- 
tember 22, 1879. He married, May 19, 1881, Alice, daughter 
of Charles Sturdevant, of this city. Mr. and Mrs. Bennett have 
one child : Fanny Sturdevant Bennett. Charles Sturdevant is 
the youngest son of the late Samuel Sturdevant, a native of 
Danbury, Conn., where he was born September 16, 1773. The 
late Ebenezer Warren Sturdevant was a brother of Charles Stur- 
devant, as also John Sturdevant (father of W. H. Sturdevant, 
Edward J. Sturdevant, and Samuel B. Sturdevant, M. D., of this 
city), who held the office of county commissioner of Wyoming 
county for several years, and who, in the year 1854, in connec- 
tion with Charles J. Lathrop, represented the counties of Sus- 
quehanna, Wyoming and Sullivan in the legislature of the state. 
In 1838 he, in company with Chester Butler, represented Luzerne 
county in the same body. This was before Wyoming county 
was organized. It was during the latter year that the " Buck- 
shot War," as it is called in Pennsylvania politics, occurred. 
The whig or anti-Masonic party, under the leadership of Thad- 
deus Stephens, although in a minority, undertook to organize 
the house of representatives by excluding the democratic mem- 
bers from Philadelphia, and " to treat the election as if it had not 
been held." Each party organized a legislature of their own. 
For several days all business was suspended, and the governor, 
alarmed for his own personal safety, ordered out the militia, 
and fearing this might prove insufficient, called on the United 
States authorities for help. The latter refused, but the militia, 
under Major-Generals Patterson and Alexander, came promptly 



Nathan Bennett. 563 



in response. For two or three days during the contest the dan- 
p-er of a coHision was imminent, but wiser councils prevailed. 
The whig or anti-Masonic party, seeing the danger of longer 
continuing the struggle, weakened, and enough deserted to the 
democratic body to give that organization a decided majority, 
and by December 25, all had gone over to the democratic legis- 
lature save only one — Thaddeus Stevens. Against the protest of 
some of the democratic members, who held that Mr. Stevens was 
duly and regularly elected from Adams county and could not be 
expelled, the legislative body concluded to expel him, and did so 
by a vote of fifty-eight for, and thirty-four against. John Sturde- 
vant, although a whig at that time, did not approve of the action 
of Thaddeus Stevens, and was one of the first to go over to the 
democratic body, and when the excitement was greatest and 
Stevens, to save his life, jumped out of one of the windows of 
the capitol, Mr. Sturdevant was pleased to get rid of the incubus 
in that manner. John Sturdevant removed from Skinner's Eddy, 
Wyoming county, to this city in 1857. He died here in 1879. 
After his removal to this county he was for many years county 
surveyor of Luzerne county, and also engineer of the borough 
of Wilkes-Barre. The mother of Mrs. Nathan Bennett is Fanny 
Sturdevant, a daughter of the late Isaac Hancock Ross. He 
was a native of Pike township, Bradford county, and was the son 
of Jesse Ross, who was the .son of Lieutenant Perrin Ross, who 
lost his life in the battle and massacre of Wyoming, July 3, 1778. 
Jesse Ross was only five years old at the time of the battle. He 
married Betsey, a daughter of Isaac Hancock, January 22, 1795. 
He was born near West Chester, Pa. Before the revolutionary 
war he was at Wyalusing for a time, and returned there about 
1785. He is mentioned on the records of Luzerne county as a 
" taverner/' for Springfield township in 1788. At this time he 
was also one of the overseers of the poor for the district com- 
posed of the whole extent of Luzerne county, from the mouth 
of the Meshoppen, north to the state line. In 1790 that portion 
of Luzerne since constituting the area of Susquehanna county, 
was included within two townships — Tioga and Wyalusing. By 
order of the justices of Luzerne county " Tioga was bounded on 
the north by the northern line of the state; and east and west by 



564 Edwin Shortz. 



the lines of that county; and on the south by an east and west 
line which should strike the standing stone " now in Bradford 
county. On September i, 1791, Isaac Hancock was commis- 
sioned a justice of the peace for the district of Tioga by Governor 
Thomas Mifflin. He " was a portly, jovial, light complexioned 
man, the very opposite of his grave, dignified Quaker wife, whose 
dark face and black tresses contrasted strikingly with the light, 
blonde locks of her husband." The wife of Isaac Hancock Ross, 
and the mother of Mrs. Charles Sturdevant, was Maria Williams, 
daughter of the late Latham Williams, a native of Groton, Conn., 
who removed with his family to Brooklyn, Susquehanna county. 
Pa., in 181 1. Isaac Edgar Ross, M. D., of this city, is a brother 
of Mrs. Charles Sturdevant, and Latham Williams was the grand- 
father of Edward Denison Williams, D. D. S., also of this city. 
Mr. Bennett is another of the many who have graduated from 
the school room to the practice of the law. The bar has never 
been recruited so largely from any other source. He is a repub- 
lican in politics, and has done much diligent and active service 
in his party's behalf, frequently acting as member and secretary 
of committees and performing much of that detail work of which 
the general public, and frequently even the candidates, know so 
little, but which is perfectly legitimate work, and as necessary to 
success as similar work is. to the success of any private business 
enterprise. He has never been a candidate for office, but has 
frequently been spoken of in connection with nominations. 



EDWIN SHORTZ. 




Edwin Shortz was born in Mauch Chunk, Pa., July 10, 1841. 
His grandfather, Abraham Shortz, was a native of Nazareth town- 
ship, Northampton county, from which place he removed in the 
year 1800 to Nescopeck township, this county, having purchased 
from Thomas Craig on August 11, in that year, three hundred 
and fifteen acres of land in Nescopeck township, known as " Pine 
Grove Farm," for the consideration of "seven hundred pounds 
specie gold and silver money." He was commissioned by Wil- 



Edwin Shortz. 56: 



Ham Findlay, governor of this commonwealth, March 17, 181 8, 
a justice of the peace for the townships of Sugarloaf and Nesco- 
peck in this county, and held the office for over twenty-five years. 
Abraham Shortz, son of Abraham Shortz, was born in Nazareth 
township in 1793, and removed with his father to Nescopeck 
township. In 1820 he removed to Mauch Chunk, and was for 
many years a contractor with the Lehigh Coal and Navigation 
Company, and also engaged in the manufacture of lumber. He 
was also a member of the house of representatives and senate 
from Northampton county, prior to the erection of Carbon county, 
By an act of assembly approved March 13, 1843, he was ap- 
pointed one of the trustees " to receive written offers of dona- 
tions in real estate and money towards defraying the expenses of 
the lands and public buildings for the use of the county of Car- 
bon, erected out of the counties of Northampton and Monroe." 
After the erection of Carbon county he was for several years one 
of the county commissioners, and also treasurer of that county. 
He died in Mauch Chunk in 1876. His wife, who is still living, 
is Sarah, daughter of the late John Rothermel, of Nescopeck 
township, where Mrs. Shortz was born. Her brother, Peter P. 
Rothermel, is the celebrated painter, and whose handiwork is 
seen in the celebrated "Battle of Gettysburg," which he painted 
for the state of Pennsylvania for the sum of twenty-five thousand 
dollars. Edwin Shortz, son of Abraham Shortz, was educated 
in the public schools and Mauch Chunk Academy. In his 
youthful days he was a member of an engineer corps, and subse- 
quently was extensively engaged in the manufacture of lumber 
at White Haven, on his own account and as the senior member 
of the firm of Shortz, Lewis, and Company. While a resident 
of White Haven he was elected burgess, and also a member of 
the school board, of that borough. In 1876 he was the demo- 
cratic candidate for state senator in the Twenty-First senatorial 
district, but was defeated by E. C. Wadhams, republican, the vote 
standing: Shortz, 9,849 ; Wadhams, 9,936. In this connection 
we may state that this district, as at present constituted, has never 
elected a democrat but once, and Mr. Shortz reduced the major- 
ity in the district by nearly one thousand votes. Mr. Shortz read 
law with Stanley Woodward and was admitted to the bar of 



566 Jasper Byron Stark. 



Luzerne county March 29, 1880. Durinc^ the years 1882, 1883, 
and 1884 ho was a member of the board of examiners for the 
admission of applicants to practice in the courts of Luzerne 
county. He married, November 5, 1867, Cehnda Belford, a 
daughter of the late George Belford, of Mauch Chunk. He was 
a coal operator and contractor in his lifetime. Mr. and Mrs. 
Shortz have a family of two children : Robert Packer Shortz 
and Edwin Shortz. It will be observed that Mr. Shortz came to 
the study of the law under circumstances differing in many par- 
ticulars from those which usually surround the student. He 
had achieved a competence, he was nearing middle life, and his 
preceptor was his warm personal friend. He sought to be a law- 
yer, not to earn a livelihood, but from respect for, and love of, the 
profession, and he brought to the effort to master its intricacies 
and mysteries an experience in practical business life and a ma- 
turity of judgment that made success, and speedy success, a pos- 
itive certainty. It was within a year or two from the date of his 
admission that he became a member of the examining com.mittee, 
and already he had been employed as counsel in a number of 
important causes. At this writing his practice is an extensive 
and lucrative one. Although Mr. Shortz is a very excellent 
talker, was so before he began to study law, and employed his 
gift on many occasions on the stump, to the gratification of his 
party friends and the advancement of his party's prospects, he 
does not allow himself to depend in any degree thereupon in his 
practice. He prepares his cases with the most zealous care, and 
leaves little to be abetted by favorable, and less that can be suc- 
cessfully antagonized by, opposition oratory. He is a gentleman 
of refined manners, extensively read, a citizen who has the respect 
and esteem of all. 



JASPER BYRON STARK. 



Jasper Byron Stark was born in Wilkes-Barre, Pa,, February 
17, 1858. He is a descendant of Aaron Stark, of Hartford, 
Conn., in 1639. He had a son William, who had a son Christo- 
pher (who removed to the Wyoming Valley in 1769), who had a 



Jasper Byron Stark. 567 



son William, who settled on the Tunkhannock creek, Luzerne 
(now Wyoming) county, in 1795. David Stark and Aaron Stark, 
two of the sons of Christopher Stark, were killed in the battle 
and massacre of Wyoming, July 3, 1778. Nathan Stark, son of 
William, had a son Nathaniel Stark who was the grandfather of 
the subject of our sketch. Jasper Billings Stark, son of Nathan- 
iel Stark, was born in Tunkhannock, Luzerne (now Wyoming) 
county, in 1823. For many years he was a prominent citizen of 
the Wyoming and Lackawanna Valleys. In his early manhood 
he was a merchant in the city of Carbondale, and subsequently 
was deputy marshal of the recorder's court of that city. In 
1856 he was elected sheriff of Luzerne county, and from 1862 to 
1865 he represented Luzerne county in the state senate. He 
was collector of internal revenue for Luzerne and Susquehanna 
counties under President Johnson. He was also burgess of the 
boroueh of Wilkes-Barre, and at one time chief of police. Mr. 
Stark was the democratic nominee for the state senate in 1859, 
but was defeated by Winthrop W. Ketcham, republican nominee; 
and again in 1874, and was defeated by Hubbard B. Payne, his re- 
publican competitor. He at different times was engaged in keep- 
ing hotels ; the Eagle at Pittston, the Wyoming at Scranton, and 
was at the time of his death, February 16, 1882, the proprietor 
of the Wyoming Valley Hotel in this city. The wife of J. B. 
Stark is Frances, daughter of the late Captain Charles Smith. 
She is a native of Wurtsborough, Sullivan county, N. Y. The 
Smiths are of English descent, and were among the early set- 
tlers of Connecticut. Ephraim Smith, Mrs. Stark's grandfather, 
was born in Windham, Conn., in 1743, and died in Sullivan 
county, N. Y., in 1827. Charles Smith, her father, was born in 
Windham in 1778. He held at various periods important public 
offices, and served as captain during the war of 18 12. He died 
at Carbondale, Pa., in 1865. The maternal grandfather of Mrs. 
Stark was Captain David Godfrey, who received his commission 
direct from General Washington. He was born at Cornwall on 
the Hudson, and was of French descent. Mrs. Stark is a sister 
of John B. Smith, superintendent of the Pennsylvania Coal Com- 
pany, at Dunmore, Pa. Jasper Byron Stark was educated at the 
academy of W. S. Parsons in this city, and at the Hopkins Gram.- 



568 Martin Francis Burke. 



mar School, New Haven, Conn. He read law with Henry M. 
Hoyt and the late Hendrick B. Wright, and was admitted to the 
bar of Luzerne county April 26, [880. He is an unmarried man. 
Mr. Stark has given but little attention to the practice of the 
law, being without necessity for so doing. His qualifications 
are, however, of an order to convince all who understand and 
appreciate them that, if impelled by ambition to excel at the bar, 
or by a scantily filled purse, they would have brought him desir- 
able reward. While it is true that poverty and the wants of the 
physical man have served to develop and amplify the talents of 
some of the brightest geniuses this or any other country has ever 
produced, it is equally a fact that the inheritance of a fortune has 
ultimated in losing to the world the benefits of talents equally 
great. 



MARTIN FRANCIS BURKE. 



Martin Francis Burke was born in Pittston Pa., February 8, 
1855. He is the son of Michael Burke, a valued and respectable 
citizen of this city, a native of Annadown, in the County of Gal- 
way, Ireland. He came to this country in 1840, first settling in 
Manayunk, Pa. In 1844 and 1845 he was employed in the roll- 
ing mill in this city. He was one of the earliest employes of 
the Lackawanna Iron and Coal Company, at Scranton, Pa., and 
was collector of tolls on the Wyoming canal at Plainsville and 
this city for many years. He has resided in Wilkes-Barre since 
1867. His wife, whom he married in this country, is Catharine 
Burke {jice McGee), a native of Arratoma, and daughter of Mar- 
tin McGee. M. F. Burke was educated in the public schools of 
this city and at the Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa. He read 
law with General Edwin S. Osborne and was admitted to the 
Luzerne county bar May 10, 1880. He married December 23, 
1879, Margaret McGinty, daughter of Manus McGinty, of this 
city. Mr. and Mrs. Burke have two children living; James 
Burke and Catharine Burke. For the past few years Mr. Burke 
hns been engaged in other pursuits. 



William Jay Hughes. 569 



WILLIAM JAY HUGHES. 



William Jay Hughes was born in Pittston, Pa., December 30, 
1857. He is the son of the late Morris Hughes, who was born 
January 2, 1826, at Hollyhead, a seaport town in North Wales. 
Morris Hughes emigrated to America in the spring of 1845, ^^^ 
engaged in the tailoring trade in Pottsville, Pa. In 1850 he went 
to California, and while there was interested in gold mining, but 
subsequently branched out as a contractor and builder in Yreka, 
Siskiyou county, in the vicinity of the Modoc lava beds, where 
General Canby was killed. He had many adventures with the 
Pitt River Indians, but his good sense and practical knowledge 
of men stood him in good stead, and he escaped all the danger 
that threatened him in the lava beds. Later on he engaged in 
farming and stock raising, and in 1856 he returned and settled 
in Pittston, where his brother, H. R. Hughes, had preceded him 
He accepted a position as book-keeper with the firm of E. Bevan 
and Company, in which firm H. R. Hughes was interested. A 
few years later H. R. and Morris Hughes bought the brewery 
built by Howarth Brothers, and conducted the business under 
the name of H. R. and M. Hughes until the death of Morris 
Hughes. In 1868 the brewery was burned out, but was imme- 
diately rebuilt. Subsequently the Forest Castle Brewery was 
acquired by the two brothers. After he returned from California 
he married Jannett Shennan, daughter of William Shennan, a 
farmer in Clifford township, Susquehanna county. Mr. Shennan 
was a native of Scotland. The father of Morris Hughes was in 
the British navy, and was in the battle of Trafalgar under Nelson. 
In 1865, he re-visited his old home and attended his father's 
funeral, who died at the age of eighty-three years. Mr. Hughes 
was one of the republican candidates for the legislature when 
Luzerne and Lackawanna were united under the old system, but 
was defeated, the democratic party having a large majority in the 
county. He was president of the Pittston Trust Company and 
Savings Bank from 1870 until it passed out of existence, and was 



5-70 William Jay Hughes. 



for many years a director of the First National Bank. He was 
also a trustee of the West Pittston Presbyterian church. Morris 
Hughes died July 7, 1883, at his home in West Pittston. He 
had many intelligent friends who valued him at his worth, and 
the appreciation was just. He took an active interest in all that 
ameliorated the condition of the indigent, and was foremost in 
every enterprise that promised an advantage to the general pub- 
lic. Mr. Hughes was pre-eminently a public man. He was con- 
stantly on the alert to serve a public need, and no one with a just 
cause left him empty handed. In his death a host of friends lost 
an intelligent friend and neighbor. Just, generous, and faithful, he 
was regarded as one of the foremost men of the town. During the 
war for the Union he was among the first to recognize the call for 
aid, and he responded generously. Regarded as a public man 
Morris Hughes occupied an enviable position among the mon- 
eyed men of Pittston. Whatever public improvement was sug- 
gested tha:t promised an advantage to Pittston, Mr. Hughes was 
free to contribute, and that generously. His main object in life 
seemed to be the furtherance of the public interest, while at the 
same time he did not neglect his duty to his household, which 
was among the happiest in West Pittston. As a husband and 
father Mr. Hughes was a model man, as a citizen he was among 
the first. William Jay Hughes was educated at Wyoming Sem- 
inary, Kingston, and at the Pennsylvania Military Academy, 
Chester, Pa. He studied law with John Richards, of Pittston, 
and with Alexander Farnham, of Wilkes-Barre, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar of Luzerne county June 7, 1880. In 1882 he 
organized Company C, of the Ninth Regiment of the National 
Guard of Pennsylvania, and was captain of the company until 
June, 1885, when he was promoted to the office of major of the 
regiment. He is an unmarried man and a republican in politics. 
William Jay Hughes inherits from his father much of the acute- 
ness, diligence, and energy as a business man by which, as we 
have seen, the latter was characterized. He made the best use 
of the years he gave to mastering the mysteries of the principles 
of the law, which was a necessary preliminary to his admission 
to practice, but with his attainment of that honor did not by any 
means cease to be a student. Wisely realizing that no lawyer 



Robert Davenport Evans. 571 



can possibly know too much law, he still devotes all the time 
which his rapidly growing practice allows him, to increasing his 
stock of knowledge on the subject. In this connection we recall 
the case of a noted Pennsylvanian who recently died full of years 
and honors, and who in his day was without a peer at the bar at 
which he practiced. To assign him a case was to win it, if it 
had a peg of any kind to hang a favorable verdict or decision 
upon. His years multiplied without in the least impairing his 
faculties, and a remarkable memory retained all he had ever 
learned. But, though he continued to practice almost up to the 
day of his death, he was finally compelled to forego his studies, 
and, while never in error as to long established principles of the 
law, his unfamiliarity with the more recent statutory enactments 
and judicial decisions became painfully apparent towards the last, 
and where these could be brought to bear against him he was 
no match for even the babes of the bar, so to speak, who, with a 
much more limited understanding of the law in its essence, were 
read up in the latest legal literature. This only goes to prove 
that the wisest men and greatest lawyers can never safely cease 
to be students. Mr. Hughes is already one of the best known 
and most highly respected citizens of Pittston, and is honored 
with much more than an average share of the legal business of 
its people. 



ROBERT DAVENPORT EVANS. 



Robert Davenport Evans was born in Levvisburg, Union 
county. Pa., August 17, 1856. He is the great-great-grandson 
of Joseph Evans, who, in 1785, when Lewisburg was laid out, 
was a resident thereof Beyond this fact but little is known of 
the paternal ancestor of Mr. Evans. The probability is, that he 
came from Montgomery county. Pa., and was a descendant of 
one of the early Welsh settlers of Pennsylvania. William Evans, 
son of Joseph Evans, and Joseph Evans, son of William Evans, 
as also Thompson Graham Evans, son of Joseph Evans, were all 
aatives of Lewisburg. The latter is the father of Robert D. 



572 Robert Davenport Evans. 



Evans, and is a prominent business man in that place. The 
mother of the subject of our sketch, and the wife of Thompson 
G. Evans, is Rhoda, daughter of the late Robert Davenport, of 
Plymouth. He was the son of Thomas Davenport, the ancestor 
of the now resident family in that place, who came from Orange 
county, N. Y., in 1794. Hon. Hendrick B. Wright, in his " His- 
torical Sketches of Plymouth," says the Davenports are " of Low 
Dutch origin." He is in error in regard to this, as the family is 
of English descent, and removed from New England to Orange 
county, N. Y., and from thence to Wyoming. The wife of Robert 
Davenport was Phoebe Nesbitt, daughter of James Nesbitt, jun. 
He was the son of James Nesbitt, sen., who emigrated from Con- 
necticut in 1769, and was one of the Forty. He was in the 
Wyoming battle and massacre, and was one of the survivors of 
Captain Whittlesey's company. Robert D Evans was educated 
at the University at Lewisburg, and graduated in the class of 
1875. He read law in Lewisburg with the firm of Linn (J. M.) 
and Dill (A. H.), and was admitted to the bar of Union county 
in September, 1880. He then removed to this city and was ad- 
mitted to the bar of Luzerne county November 15, 1880, and 
has been in continuous practice here since his admission. In 
1884 he was assistant secretary of the republican county com- 
mittee. He is at present the attorney of the county commis- 
sioners of Luzerne county. He is an unmarried man Mr. 
Evans is a man of studious habits, devoted to his profession and 
in a fair way of some day taking a leading position at the bar. 
His preceptors were men of high standing in the profession, Mr. 
Dill being especially well known throughout the state by reason 
of his long service in the house and senate at Harrisburg, and 
his having been a democratic candidate for governor of Pennsyl- 
vania. From these he imbibed a thorough understanding of the 
law and excellent business precepts, which he has since put to 
profitable utilization. His present position of counsel for the 
county commissioners is one in which careful scanning of the 
statutes is necessary, and knowledge of great practical value to 
an attorney is necessarily acquired. He has performed its duties 
well, to the satisfaction of the commissioners and the profit of 
the county. 



William Robert Gibbons. ■ 573 



WILLIAM ROBERT GIBBONS. 



William Robert Gibbons was born in Baltimore, Md., Septem- 
ber 18, 1857. His father, Robert Gibbons, was a native of W^est- 
port, County of Mayo, Ireland, and emigrated to the United 
States in 1852 in company with his wife, Margaret, daughter of 
Richard Mangan, also of Westport. When but eight years of 
age W. R. Gibbons, with his father's family, removed to Wilkes- 
Barre, and has resided here ever since. He was educated in the 
public schools of Wilkes-Barre, and read law with John Lynch 
and W. S. McLean, of this city, and was admitted to the bar of 
Luzerne county April 4, 1881. At the age of seventeen he com- 
menced to teach school, and taught four years in succession; 
three years in the public schools of this city, and one year in 
Hanover township, in this county. In 1882 he was elected to 
the council of this city for three years, of which body he was an 
active and influential member. He is an unmarried man. Some 
of the best men in the profession have had no higher preliminary 
education than that which the public schools afford. A collegi- 
ate training is unquestionably advantageous, but there are scores 
of cases of men who have gone to the topmost rung of the lad- 
der without it, to prove that it is not always essential. Mr. Gib- 
bons, like many others, probably learned more as a teacher than 
as a scholar, for it is an undeniable fact that the charge of a pub- 
lic school offers an experience with, and an understanding of, 
human character — that of the man being, to close observers, but 
slightly different from that of the boy — that in an active business 
life is of great utility. Mr. Gibbons had a capable tutor in the 
law in Mr. McLean, and like him has become an expert office 
lawyer, who handles his cases carefully and with much deftness. 
In the council, as stated, he was an active and influential mem- 
ber, always alert in behalf of the interests of his ward in partic- 
ular and of the citizens generally. He has done some valuable 
committee service in behalf of the democratic party, in whose 
tenets he is a believer. He stands well with his brother profes- 
sionals and with the community at large. 



574 John David Hayes. 



(^^^^r\ JOHN DAVn3 HAYES. 

John David Hayes was born in the city of Limerick, Ireland, 
April 4, 1853. He is the son of Thomas and Bridget Hayes, 
{jiic Fahy), daughter of James Fahy. They are both deceased, 
and never resided in this country. When sixteen years of age 
Mr. Hayes came to Hazleton, where he resided until 1876, and 
was employed in various capacities around the mines, principally 
as engineer and ticket boss. He was educated at St. Michael's 
Academy, at Limerick, and at the De La Salle College, at To- 
ronto, Ontario, graduating from the latter institution in 1878, 
receiving a prize for " general excellence." After graduation he 
returned to Hazleton and was employed as a teacher in the pub- 
lic schools of Hazle township during the years 1878, 1879, and 
1880. In 1 88 1 he taught in the public schools of Freeland bor- 
ough, where he now resides. He read law with Clarence W. 
Kline, of Hazleton, and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county June 11, 1881. Shortly after his admission he removed 
to Freeland and is the only practicing attorney in that borough. 
He is a notary public, and is at present one of the school di- 
rectors of that place. He has been one of the auditors of the 
borough. Mr. Hayes married, June 27, 1882, Sally Edith 
Reilly, daughter of the late Peter Reilly, a native of Cavan, Ire- 
land. The mother of Mrs. Hayes is Phoebe Smith, daughter of 
the late Benjamin Smith, who was a soldier in the war of 18 12, 
and who for many years received a pension from the government. 
He was a native of Knowlton, Sussex county, N. J., and was the 
son of Josiah Smith and his wife, Sarah Kirkoff. Mr. Smith's 
wife was Mary Hicks, daughter of Robert Hicks, who emigrated 
from Ireland about 1750, and settled in New Jersey. Mr. and 
Mrs. Hayes have but one child living: Mary Marcella Hayes. 
Mr. Hayes is wholly a self-made man. Thrown upon his own 
resources at an early age, and compelled to earn his livelihood 
in positions affording him but little better compensation than 
-that allotted a common laborer, he managed to fit himself for 



Henry Amzi Fuller. 575 



teaching school, and while engaged at thai avocation to complete 
the preparations for his admission to the bar. The man who can 
achieve such victories over his circumstances and surroundings 
is necessarily made of good material, which is reasonably certain 
in the long run to bring him a fitting reward. He has chosen to 
hang out his shingle in the modest little burgh among whose 
people he has during the greater part of his life resided, and with 
whose interests he has so closely identified himself In thus re- 
sisting the attractions of the larger towns, so potent with most 
newly admitted attorneys, he but gives additional evidence of the 
tact that has carried him successfully forward this far in his ca- 
reer, and that offers him a far brighter prospect of a good har- 
vest in the end. There is generally much greater wisdom in 
patiently waiting to grow up with a little town than in starting 
in to contend against the hot and vigorous competitors of the 
larger ones. Mr. Hayes is a frequent pleader in the county 
courts. He prepares a case well and argues it with much force 
and ability. He is a clever gentleman, an active democrat, and 
a citizen of unquestionably good parts. 

At*. ^L 



HENRY AMZI FULLER. 



\* 



Henry Amzi Fuller was born in Wilkes-Barre, January 15, 
1855. From all the information in the possession of the family 
he is supposed to be a descendant of Samuel Fuller, who came 
to this country in 1620 in the Mayflower. The compact which 
was made by the pilgrims before landing was signed by forty in- 
dividuals, among whom were Samuel Fuller, who had two in his 
family, and Edward Fuller, with three in his family. There is 
now in the possession of the family a large iron kettle which has 
passed through successive generations and is supposed to have 
been brought over on the vessel above named. It is also known 
that some of Samuel Fuller's descendants settled in Kent, Conn. 
The first of the name of whom we have positive information is 
Dr. Oliver Fuller, who was a surgeon in the army during the 



57(3 Henry Amzi Fuller. 



revolution. His son, Captain Revilo (which is Oliver spelled 
backwards) Fuller was born in Sherman, Conn., July 26, 1768, 
and died October 31, 1846, at Salisbury, Conn. He married, 
July 10, 1791, Rebecca Giddings, daughter of Jonathan and Mary 
{Baldivin) Giddings. 

From what particular branch of the Giddings family in Eng- 
land, or who were the immediate ancestors of George Giddings^ 
the first of the name here, we are unable to say ; but the fact is 
well authenticated that George Giddings, at the age of twenty- 
five, and his wife, Jane Tuttle, aged twenty, came from England, 
in 1635, and settled in the town of Ipswich, about twenty-five 
miles from Boston, Mass. Hotten's list of emigrants gives the 
names of George and Jane Giddings and three servants. The 
following is a copy taken from " Our Early Emigrant Ancestors," 

edited by John C. Hotten : 

" 2 April, 1635. 

" Theis underwritten are to be transported to New England 
imbarqued in the Planter, Nicholas Frarice, M!^, bound thither, 
the parties have brought certificates from the Minister of St. 
Albans, Hertfordshire, and attestacon from the Justices of peace 
according to the Lord's order : 

" George Giddins, husbandman, 25 years. 

"Jane Giddins. 

" Thomas Carter, 25, '^ 

*' Michael Willinson, 30, > Servants of George Giddins." 

"Elizabeth Morrison, 12, | 

They are said to have had as companions on their voyage Sir 
Henry Vane, fourth governor of Massachusetts, who, in 1662^ 
suffered martyrdom for his zeal in the cause of liberty and relig- 
ion. " John Tuttle, of Ipswich," says Savage, " came in Ship 
Planter from London in 1635, ae. 39, with wife Jane, ae. 42, and 
ch. — Abigail, ae. 6 ; Simon, ae. 4 ; Sarah, ae. 2 ; and John, ae. i ; 
besides Jane Giddings, ae. 20. and her husband George, ae. 25, 
who are known to be called children of Tuttle. They had pre- 
viously lived at St. Albans, Hertfordshire, England, and had em- 
barked April 2, to be joined four days afterwards by several 
others of the two families. He (Tuttle) died December 3, 1656, 
at Carrie Fergus, where his widow wrote George Giddings as 
her son, and so called, also, John Simon and John Lawrence. 



Henry Amzi Fuller. 577 



John Tuttle was made freeman March 13, 1639, and representive 
1644. After a few years he went home and was established in 
Ireland in 1654. His wife followed." The history of Litchfield 
county, Conn., has the following in regard to the Tuttles : " The 
Tuttle family came from Devonshire, England, and were probably 
of Welsh descent. In 1528, and again in 1548, Wm. Totyl was 
recorder of the ancient city of Exter, the capital of Devonshire, 
and the second city in England. Wm. Totyl was high sheriff of 
Devonshire in 1549, and lord mayor of Exter in 1552. He had 
a son Jeffrey, who was recorder in 1563. Jeffrey bought a fine 
estate, called ' Pearmore,' in the neighborhood of Exter. The 
estate had belonged to Gray, Duke of Sussex, who was executed 
by the crown. Jeffrey had a son Henry, who was high sheriff 
in 1624, and from him Wm. Tuttle and three brothers descended, 
who came to America in the ship Planter and landed in Boston 
in 1635. The brothers were Richard, who settled in Boston, 
John in Dover, N. H., and Simon in Ipswich, Mass." That 
George Giddings was a man of property and position is inferred 
from the fact that he brought over with him three servants, as in 
those days only people of means could afford the luxury of ser- 
vants. He brought with him a letter of recommendation from 
the rector, or minister, of St. Albans, Hertfordshire. St. Albans 
is an ancient borough, situate on the top and northern side of a 
picturesque hill, twenty-one miles northwest from London. The 
Ver, a small tributary of the Colne, separates it from the site of 
the ancient Verula, an important station in the time of the Ro- 
mans, and the scene of a terrible slaughter in the insurrection 
under Boadicea. In honor of St. Alban, said to have suffered 
martyrdom here in the year 297, a Benedictine monastery was 
founded by Offa, king of Mercia, in 796. The foundation of the 
town is supposed to be due to Ulsig (or Ulsin) who was abbot 
about one hundred and fifty years later. Two battles were fought 
near St. Albans during the War of the Roses, in 1455 and 1461. 
In the first Henry VI. became a captive ; in the other he was set at 
liberty by his brave queen, Margaret of Anjou. The old Abbey 
church, restored in 1875 by Sir Gilbert Scott, is a cruciform 
building of irregular architecture, five hundred and forty-seven 
feet in length by two hundred and six in breadth, with an erabat- 



578 Henky Amzi Fuller. 



tied tower one hundred and forty-six feet high. Mr. Giddings 
was one of the twenty sworn freeholders who paid the highest 
rates out of two hundred and thirty in 1644, deputy to the General 
Court in 1641, 1654, 1655, 1659, 1661, 1663. 1664, 1668, 1672, 
and 1675. He was a selectman from 1 661 to 1675, and for a long 
time a ruling elder of the first church. He was born in 1608, 
and died June i, 1676, and his widow, Jane, died in March, 1680. 
Ipswich is said to have been the first place in Essex county 
known to have been visited by Europeans. In 161 1 Captain 
Edward Hardee and Nicholas Hobson sailed for North Virginia 
and touched at the place. In 1614 Captain John Smith mentions 
Agawam. It was first settled in 1633 and incorporated Ipswich in 
1634. John Giddings, son of George Giddings, was born in 1639. 
He had a commonage granted him in 1667; was a commoner 
in 1678, and a lieutenant of militia, and was a deputy to the Gen- 
eral Court in 1653, 1654, and 1655. He died March 3, 1691. 
Thomas Giddings, son of John Giddings, was born in Ipswich, 
Mass., in 1683. He moved to Gloucester, Mass., in 1710, and to 
Lyme, Conn., about 1722, where he purchased land nearly every 
year for several years, and settled near Beaver Brook. He mar- 
ried, in 1708, Sarah Butler. Joseph Giddings, son of Thomas Gid- 
dings, was born in 17 14, in Gloucester, and removed with his father 
to Lyme. He married, October 24, 1737, Eunice Andruss, or 
Andrews, of Ipswich, and about 1752 removed with his family to 
the North Society of New Fairfield, Conn., now Sherman. His 
name first appears on the church records of New Fairfield North 
Society October 6, 1752, in connection with the baptism of a 
daughter " Sarah." On July 15, 1754, he was admitted to the 
church by letter from the Third church in Lyme. He took an 
active part in the French war. In the colonial records, 1760, is 
the following : " This assembly do establish Mr. Joseph Gid- 
dings to be Captain of the north company or trainband in the 
North Society in New Fairfield." In 1775 he was at the head of 
a committee to build a " new House of Worship." His name is 
found on the records of the church and society on various other 
committees, and he seems to have been a leading man in those 
matters. Jonathan Giddings, son of Joseph Giddings, was born 
in Lyme, Conn., April 18, 1741, removed with his father to New 



Henry Amzi Fuller. 579 

Fairfield North Society, where he became a thrifty, enterprising 
farmer. He served in the revolutionary war, enduring many 
hardships. He was at one time sent by his superior officer at 
the head of a scouting party as captain, and they were nine days 
without food, having become lost in the woods, where they were 
obliged to subsist on roots and herbs. Having received a severe 
wound he obtained his discharge and returned to his family. He 
was one of the original proprietors of the Connecticut Western 
Reserve, in Ohio. In 1786 the state of Connecticut reserved 
three million five hundred thousand acres of land in northwestern 
Ohio, which became known as the " Connecticut Western Re- 
serve." Its claim on all other government lands was then ceded 
to the United States. This land was devoted to the use of the 
state of Connecticut for the free education of her children. In 
1795 Elijah Boardman, of New Milford, and others, among whom 
was Jonathan Giddings, purchased, for sixty thousand dollars, a 
large tract of land on the reserve, the share of Mr. Giddings being 
one thousand, three hundred and eighty-three acres. He married, 
January 2, 1766, Mary Baldwin, adopted daughter of Benoni 
Stebbins, of New Milford, Conn., and daughter of Gamaliel Bald- 
win, she being then eighteen years of age. He afterwards came 
into possession of the farm of Mr. Baldwin on the west side of 
the Housatonic river. This property remained in possession of 
the Giddings family for about one hundred years. Mr. Giddings 
died April 8, 18 17. Mr. Baldwin was a descendant of Joseph 
Baldwin, of Milford, one of the first settlers in 1639, born in 
Milford September 11, 17 16, settled in New Milford, where he 
joined the church August 30, 1741. The widow of Jonathan 
Giddings married Captain John Ransom, of Kent, Conn., who 
■came from Colchester, Conn., about 1738. Rebecca Giddings, 
daughter of Jonathan, was born January 2, 1769, and married, 
July 10, 1791, Captain Revilo Fuller. 

Charles Dorrance Foster, of the Luzerne bar, is a descendant 
of George Giddings through his great-grandfather, Rev. Jacob 
Johnson, who married Mary, a daughter of Captain Nathaniel 
Giddings, of Norwich, Conn., a great-grandson of George Giddings 
and the next youngest brother of John Giddings, son of George 
Giddings, the ancestor of Henry A. Fuller. George Giddings 



580 Henry Amzi Fuller. 



was also the ancestor of the late Joshua Reed Giddings, the 
great anti-slavery congressman from Ohio. 

Amzi Fuller, son of Captain Revilo Fuller, was born in Kent, 
October 19, 1793. He obtained as his only fortune the ordinary 
academic education given to almost every young man in New 
England, and which has fitted multitudes of them for the discharge 
of honorable duties in every part of our country. At about the 
age of eighteen he left home to seek his fortune among strangers. 
Without friends or money he went to-Milford, Pa., a little village 
on the banks of the Delaware, the county town of Pike county. 
There he taught a school and entered himself as a student at law 
in the office of the late Daniel Dimmick, for many years a dis- 
tinguished practitioner in the courts of Pike and Wayne counties. 
Having completed his preparatory studies and obtained admis- 
sion to the bar, Mr. Fuller removed to Bethany, Wayne county, 
where, on August 25, 18 16, he was admitted to the bar of that 
county. He immediately opened an office for legal practice, and 
thus became the first resident lawyer in Wayne county. The 
county at that time was wild, rugged, and sparsely populated. 
There were no great thoroughfares of business through it, and 
lumber was the main staple of commerce. The streams being 
small and difficult of navigation, the lumbering business was a 
precarious source of wealth, yet it so withdrew attention from 
agricultural pursuits as to leave the general face of the country 
unimproved. The legal business was very small. The courts 
sat but twice a year with juries, and were seldom occupied a 
week dispatching all the issues, criminal and civil, which arose. 
Nathaniel B. Eldred, subsequently president judge of the Eigh- 
teenth judicial district, had located himself in Bethany, a gay 
young lawyer of fine manners and commanding talents ; and the 
very able gentlemen then at the bar of Luzerne county attended 
the courts in Pike and Wayne to share with Messrs. Eldred and 
Fuller the legal business which seemed scarcely enough for them. 
And there were Messrs. Mott and Dimmick, of Pike county, in 
practice also in the same courts. Into Wayne county such as it 
then was, and attended by this formidable competition, came Mr. 
Fuller to seek his livelihood. And his dependence was to be 
wholly on his profession. He had no adventitious aids, and he 



Henry Amzi Fuller. 581 



engaged in no other business. He sat himself down to the care- 
ful study of the few law books he possessed, and to the correct 
transaction of the business entrusted to his care. Cultivatino- 
the strictest habits of integrity, industry, temperance, and frugal- 
ity, he rose rapidly in public confidence, his business increased, 
and in a few years he was able to marry, to build him a fine 
house, and to establish himself in circumstances of great com- 
fort. There in the little highland village of Bethany he resided 
until 1841, accumulating a fortune by faithful attention to a con- 
stantly increasing business, and by rigid adherance to habits of 
economy, which had been forced upon him in the beginning, but 
which he never sought to change. He made himself a sound 
and well read lawyer. No man's integrity was ever more un- 
doubted, and business never suffered in his hands from procrasti- 
nation, rashness, or unskillfulness. Strictly honest and eminently 
punctual in all his dealings, his credit with the community be- 
came unbounded. Indeed, it is doubted whether his name ever 
stood a month as debtor on any man's books. He never held 
but one civil office, and that he sought not, though he was re- 
appointed to it several times. It was the office of deputy attor- 
ney general, which was conferred upon him by successive admin- 
istrations of various politics for many years, and the duties of 
which he discharged with the same zeal, punctuality, and skill 
that characterized all his business transactions. During his res- 
idence in Bethany his house was ever open with a ready and an 
elegant hospitality. He was an efficient supporter of the public 
schools, and of the interests of religion, as well as of every pro- 
ject for the internal improvement of the county. He loved 
Wayne county with a pure affection. There had been the scene 
of his early professional struggles and of his final triumph. He 
had mixed with the hardy and enterprising people on terms of 
the utmost familiarity, had assisted them and been assisted by 
them, and mutual confidence and affection were the growth of 
such intercourse. Long before he had removed from Wayne 
county he had the satisfaction of witnessing a great improvement 
in the face of the country and in the social condition of the peo- 
ple. As the more valuable kinds of lumber disappeared, in- 
creased attention was given to farming and its associate com-- 



5^2 Henry Amzi Fuller. 



forts; the population, originally from New England, was swelled 
by a continually incoming tide ; turnpikes were projected and 
built, and finally the works of the Delaware and Hudson Canal 
Company were introduced which built up towns, created markets, 
and stimulated enterprise and industry in every department of 
life. These causes wrought magic effects among the rude hills 
of Wayne, and have made it a wealthy and interesting county, 
whilst its population in intelligence and enterprise is equal to 
that of any county in the state. Very deep and hearty was the 
pleasure with which Mr. Fuller witnessed the advancement and 
prosperity of a community with whose interests his own had been 
so long and thoroughly identified, and, although he removed his 
residence to this city, the amor patricc that glowed incessant in 
his bosom belonged to Wayne. In 1840 an act of assembly was 
passed providing for the removal of the county-seat ofW^ayne 
from Bethany, where he had so long resided, to Honesdale, three 
miles distant. Having acquired an ample fortune Mr. Fuller de- 
termined to retire from the toils of his profession, and the better 
to do this he waited until after the removal of the county-seat, 
when he removed to Wilkes-Barre, where his son Henry Mills 
Fuller, was then already established. While here he did not en- 
gage in the active practice of the law, though he continued to 
act as advisory counsel for many of his former clients. While 
resident in Wilkes-Barre Mr. Fuller attached all hearts to him. 
He had cultivated the social virtues with great success, and taken 
a deep interest in the prosperity of the Protestant Episcopal 
church, to whose venerable forms he was strongly attached. 
Though not a communicant in the church, he was a constant at- 
tendant upon its services, a liberal supporter of it, an active ves- 
tryman, and at the time Bishop Potter was elected Mr. Fuller 
was an efficient member of the diocesan convention. He was 
admitted to the bar of Luzerne county January ii, 1822. He 
died in Kent, while on his annual visit to that place with his wife, 
September 26, 1847, in the same room and house in which he 
was born. 

John Ransom Fuller, of Kent, the eldest son of Captain Revilo 
Fuller, was a man of sound judgment and was highly esteemed ; 
was several times elected justice of the peace and to other town 



Henry Amzi Fuller. 583 



offices, and was captain of a militia company. Robert Nelson 
Fuller, another son of Captain Fuller, was a highly esteemed 
resident of Salisbury, Conn. He held various town offices, 
among others justice of the peace and judge of probate. Thomas 
Fuller, another son of Captain Fuller, when young obtained a 
very thorough common school education, at the same time get- 
ting a practical knowledge of the manner in which the labor on 
a New England farm should be performed. But farming was 
not congenial to his tastes, and he had a strong desire to fit him- 
self for some profession, and his preference was that of the law. 
Therefore, in 1823, when nineteen years of age, he arranged to 
go to Bethany and put himself under the instruction of his 
brother Amzi, who was a thorough Latin scholar, where he pur- 
sued his studies until well fitted for practice, and in 1826 was 
admitted to the courts of Wayne county. He was admitted to 
the bar of Luzerne county January 7, 1834. He became a very 
prominent lawyer, and, although in politics was a whig and the 
majority in his legislative district was two thousand democratic, 
he was twice in succession elected to the state legislature. His 
business and popularity continued to increase as long as he lived, 
so that before his death he was recognized as standing at the 
head of his profession in Wayne county. He died at Honesdale 
December 16, 1843. Revilo Fuller, of Sherman, Conn., another 
son of Captain Fuller, was a man of stalwart frame, fine appear- 
ance, pleasing in his intercourse with others, and exerted great 
influence in the community where he resided. He was justice 
of the peace, town clerk, and treasurer many times, a member 
of the legislature in 1850, judge of probate in 1858, and post- 
master. Rebecca Fuller, a daughter of Captain Fuller, married 
John Torrey, of Honesdale, Pa. He is a son of Major Jason 
Torrey, who was one of the earliest settlers in northeastern 
Pennsylvania. Amzi Fuller married, February 10, 1818, Maria 
Mills, daughter of Philo Mills. 

In the seventeenth century three families by the name of Mills 
resided in Connecticut. First, John Mills, coming from England 
with Governor Winthrop ; second, Lincoln Mills, coming with 
Captain Newbury to Salem prior to 1635 ; third, Peter Mills, of 
Dutch origin, and from whom descended families in Windsor, 



584 Henry Amzi Fuller. 



Kent, and Torringford. Pieter Wouters Van de Meylyn of Am- 
sterdam, came from Holland and settled in Windsor. Mrs. 
VVynkoop, daughter of Isaac Mills, while on a tour around the 
world with her son, the Rev. Mr. Wynkoop, of Washington, D. 
C, thus writes from Washington, under date of November 27, 
1881 : " Pieter Wouters Van de Meylyn was born in Holland in 
1622, and the first record of his name in America was in 1666. 
His father was a Dutch nobleman, knighted in consequence of 
improvements which he made in the construction of dikes or 
canals. While a student in the University of Leydon he fell 
under his father's displeasure on account of his religious views, 
was disinherited and, for conscience sake, fled to America, landing 
in Boston. He was twice married. First, to Dorcas Messinger, 
born September 23, 1650, died Windsor May 18, 1688; second, 
to Jane Thamsin, of Hartford, to whom he was married Decem- 
ber 10, 1691. He had four children, Peter being the eldest. For 
reasons now unknown he petitioned the colonial legislature to 
have his name changed to Peter Mills, as appears from the 
records now preserved at Hartford, but the date is not men- 
tioned. The family settled in Windsor, where he died ; date un- 
known. The Van de Meylyns in Holland are now, and ever have 
been, a highly respectable family. Several of its clergymen have 
been distinguished for piety and good judgment. They thmk 
much of their American relatives. The old father in Amster- 
dam was wealthy, and upon hearing of his death one grandson 
took out papers to prove his right to a portion of his estate, but 
the ship and all on board were lost, January 22, 173,0. Peter 
Mills, son of Pieter Wouters Van de Meylyn, or Mills, appears to 
have been a man of uncommon force of character and emi- 
nent piety. He married, July 21, 1692, Joanna Porter, daughter 
of John Porter, a Wealthy landowner of Windsor. The ' Mills 
farm ' was in Bloomfield, the northerly part of Windsor, a beau- 
tiful spot commanding an extensive view of valley,, hill and river. 
Until recently the dwelling remained, but a grove of trees still 
marks the place beside the old homestead once occupied by the 
pious old Dutchman, our forefather." Peter Mills had nine chil- 
dren, among whom were Peletiah A. Mills, born 1693, graduated 
from Yale College and became a lawyer ; Rev. Jedediah Milli, 



Henry Amzi Fuller. 585 



born 1697, graduated from Yale 1/22, became pastor of the 
church in Ripton, and with him studied the eminent missionary 
David Brainard; John Mills, born 1707, farmer, one of the first 
settlers in Kent, Conn., born in Windsor, married Jane Lewis, 
of Stratford, Conn. She was born in Stratford 17 12. He was 
drowned in the Housatonic river June 7, 1760, aged fifty-three, 
was selectman at the time of his death, and was superintendent 
of a bridge. He had carried a woman over and was drowned 
coming back. Rev. Ebenezer Mills, born 17 12, graduated at 
Yale 1738. Rev. Gideon Mills, born 1715, graduated at Yale 
1737. Mr. Mills was once asked " How did you educate four 
sons at Yale College and give each a profession ? " He replied, 
"Almighty God did it with the help of my wife." Ruth Mills, 
granddaughter of Rev. Gideon Mills, married Owen Brown, 
father of John Brown, " Whose soul is marching on." A sister 
of Ruth married Mr. Humphrey, father of the president of Am- 
herst College. John Mills had eight children. His fifth child 
was Rev. Samuel Mills, who was born May 17, 1743. He was 
the noted " Uncle Sam " Mills, of Torringford, and father of the 
missionary, Samuel J. Mills. His sixth child, Jane Mills, mar- 
ried Rev. Joel Bordwell, minister in Kent, Conn., for over fifty 
years. His seventh child, Sarah Mills, married Rev. Jeremiah 
Day, of New Preston, father of President Day, of Yale College. 
His eighth child was Rev. Edmund Mills, of Sutton, Mass. 
Lewis Mills, his third child, was born October 18, 1738, in Kent. 
He was a lieutenant in the army of the revolution. Married 
Hannah Hall July 26, 1759. She came from the southern part 
of Connecticut. Her mother's name supposed to be Bradley. 
Lieutenant Mills died April 4, 1782, in the fourty-fourth year of 
his age. Mrs. Hannah Mills died April 4, 1804, aged sixty-four, 
the old Mills homestead, where she lived with her son Philo. 
Colonel Philo Mills, sixth child of Lieutenant Lewis Mills, was 
born September 5, 1774, married Rhoda Goodwin, of Torring- 
ford, Thanksgiving Day evening, November 17, 1797, by Rev. 
"'Uncle Sam" Mills, of Torringford. Rhoda Goodwin was born 
in Torringford June 4, 1774. The Goodwins came from England. 
Philo Mills was captain, major, and colonel successively of the 
the Thirteenth Regiment in the Connecticut Militia, He died 



-to' 



586 Henry Amzi Fuller. 



July 31, 1863, aged eighty-eight. His wife died September 26, 
1 86 1, aged eighty-seven. They were married sixty-three years 
and no death occurred in the family. Maria Mills, the wife of 
Amzi Fuller, was born April 7, 1799, and died August 24, 1885. 
She was the eldest child of Philo Mills. Colonel Mills was the 
great-grand-father of Henry Amzi Fuller, and also of John Slos- 
son Harding, of the Luzerne bar. 

Henry Mills Fuller, son of Amzi Fuller, was born at Bethany 
June 3, 1820. At the age of fifteen he was sent to the College 
of New Jersey, at Princeton, to attain and perfect his education, 
which was pursued with a view of his entrance upon the more 
trying and intricate study of the law. An early fondness for 
argument and a peculiar forte as a declaimer induced his parents 
to train him for the bar. Mr. Fuller remained in Princeton until 
the year 1838, when he graduated with the highest honors. As 
a member of the Cliosophic Society of the college, he was se- 
lected to deliver the Fourth of July and commencement orations, 
and his brilliant future was then foreshadowed in these collegiate 
exhibitions. After graduation he commenced reading law under 
his father's instruction, but soon removed to Wilkes-Barre and 
pursued his studies in the office of the late George W. Wood- 
ward, ex-chief justice of the supreme court of Pennsylvania, and 
was admitted to the practice of the law by the courts of Luzerne 
county January 3, 1842. Mr. Fuller assiduously improved him- 
self in the practice of the law after his admission and secured a 
large and remunerative clientage. He took an active part, though 
never a mere partisan, in support of Taylor and F'illmore in the 
Rough and Ready canvass of 1848, and at the October election 
of that year was supported by the whigs of Luzerne county for 
representative, more as a compliment to his unusual merit than 
with a hope of securing his election. Mr. Fuller stumped his 
legislative district and carried it triumphantly by one thousand 
five hundred majority, against a popular democratic nominee, 
though Morris Longstreth, the democratic candidate for gov- 
ernor, had at the same time about eight hundred majority in the 
county and General Cass near five hundred at the presidential 
election. It was during this session of the legislature that stren- 
uous efforts were made and required for appropriations towards 



Henry Amzi Fuller. 587 



the completion of the North Branch CanaK and Mr. Fuller, al- 
though a young member, was selected by those interested in this 
important project as the champion of their cause in the house of 
representatives. His speech on this subject was a powerful 
effort, a master-piece of oratorical rhetoric, replete with statistics 
and convincing arguments, and to its electrical effect may be at- 
tributed the successful issue of the effort and the " moving of the 
waters" which opened to trade and commerce those regions of 
mineral and agricultural wealth which, without this important 
improvement, would have long lain unproductive and dormant. 
In 1849 the whig state convention conferred on Mr. Fuller the 
honor of a nomination for canal commissioner, well knowing 
that his personal popularity would add strength to their ticket. 
In this they were not disappointed. In all the counties on the 
" North Branch " he ran ahead of the Taylor electoral ticket of 
the year before upwards of two thousand votes, and, not to be 
deterred in their efforts to overthrow the democracy in one of 
their strongholds, they again in 1850 presented the name of Mr. 
Fuller as the whig candidate for congress in the district com- 
posed of Luzerne, Wyoming, Columbia, and Montour counties, 
against Hendrick B. Wright, and in the face of three thousand 
majority in the district, he gallantly carried it and was elected to 
congress by fifty-nine majority. His election in this instance 
was contested before the United States house of representatives, 
where there was a democratic majority of fifty- four. The com- 
mittee to whom was referred the contested election case reported 
against him, and, according to custom, the contestants were re- 
spectively heard in their own behalf before the bar of the house. 
On this occasion Mr. Fuller's oratorical powers overpowered his 
opponent's, and his brilliant effort sustained him in his seat, which 
was accorded to him by thirteen majority. This was, indeed, a 
triumph such as few have ever attained surrounded by so many 
adverse interests and influences. In 1852 he was nominated by 
the whigs for re-election, and again canvassed the district with 
Colonel Wright as the candidate of the democrats, but was de- 
feated by a meagre majority of about one hundred, though the dis- 
trict at the presidential election a month afterwards gave General 
Franklin Pearce three thousand, nine hundred and sixty-eight 



588 Henry Amzi Fuller. 



majority. Having thus each been once successful by a close 
vote in a district largely democratic, both were again marshaled 
for the contest by their respective parties in 1854, when Mr. 
Fuller cleared the course by some two or three thousand majority, 
although William F. Bigler, the democratic candidate for gov- 
ernor, carried the district at the same election by two thousand, 
two hundred majority. In 1855, notwithstanding his own wishes 
and repeated declinations, his ardent admirers and many friends 
in congress insisted on supporting him for speaker of the house 
of representatives, and it is to be regretted, with his well earned 
experience, business talents, and eloquence, that he was not sus- 
tained irrespective of party predilection and elected to that ele- 
vated position. The house of representatives at that time was 
constituted as no other has ever yet been. No party had a ma- 
jority of its members, while two separate organizations seemed to 
have. The "Americans" had chosen a majority; so had the 
" Republicans," or opponents of the policy embodied in the Ne- 
braska Bill ; but the lines of these two organizations ran into and 
crossed each other. The republicans who were anti " Know 
Nothing" were perfectly willing to support an anti-Nebraska 
"American" for speaker; but nearly all the southern "Americans" 
would support no candidate who was in principle a republican. 
Thus, there was, in fact, no majority of any party, and a long, 
bitter, exciting struggle for the organization was inevitable. The 
contest for the speakership continued for nine weeks. For the 
first week Mr. Fuller was supported by the Pennsylvania dele- 
gation with unwavering fidelity with one exception — that of 
Mr. Allison. Had the delegation continued for another week 
unitedly and inflexibly in his support, there remains little doubt 
that he would have become the rallying point of the moderate 
and national minded men from all sections. His conduct 
during the protracted and wearisome struggle commanded the 
admiration of all who witnessed it. He turned neither to the 
right nor left, but moved straightforward, boldly and fearlessly 
avowing his sentiments whenever called upon to do so, caring 
not a jot whether his so doing would benefit or injure his pros- 
pects of an election ; but saying every time that he wished not 
to be in the way of an election, and desiring those who voted for 



Henky Amzi Fuller. 589 

'him to drop his name whenever they pleased. Honest, fearless, 
and independent as he was ever known to be by all who knew 
him, and so universally conceded by those who differed with 
him, he would not falsify his own convictions and proclaim views 
inconsistent with them, though by so doing he might have driven 
Mr. Banks, who was elected, out of the contest and attained the 
speakership for himself During the contest, in answer to certain 
interrogatories, Mr. Fuller explained his position as follows : 

Mr. Clerk, I voted for the resolution offered by the gentle- 
man from Tennessee [Mr. Zollicoffer] yesterday, because I cordi- 
ally approve of the principle embodied in that resolution. Early 
in the session I felt it a duty, in justice to myself and to those 
with whom I had been acting, to declare the opinions I enter- 
tained and the course of action I should pursue upon certain 
■questions of public policy. I desire to say now, sir, what I be- 
lieve is known to the majority — if not to all — of those who have 
honored me with their confidence, that I have been ready at any 
and all times to withdraw my name from this protracted canvass. 
I have felt unwilling to stand, or to appear to stand, in the way 
of any fair organization of this body. 

In answer to the specific interrogatories here presented, I say 
that I do not regard the Kansas and Nebraska bill as promotive 
of the formation of free states; and I will further say, sir, that I 
do not believe that it is promotive of the formation of slave states. 
The second interrogatory relates to the constitutionality of the 
Wilmot proviso. I was not a member of the congress of 1850, 
and have never been called upon to affirm or deny the constitu- 
tionality of the Wilmot proviso. 

I have never assumed the position, that " if territorial bills 
(silent upon the subject of slavery, and leaving the Mexican laws 
to operate) were defeated, he [I] would vote for a bill with the 
Wilmot proviso in it." That question relates to the legislative 
action of the distinguished gentleman from Illinois [Mr. Richard- 
son.] My political existence commenced since that flood. I 
was not a member of that congress, and having never taken any 
public position upon that subject heretofore, I am willing, in all 
frankness and candor, to do so now ; and I do so with great de- 
ference and respect for those distinguished men who, in times 
past, have entertained and expressed different opinions. Public 
history informs us that slavery existed before the constitution, 
and, in my judgment, now exists independent of the constitution. 
When the people of the confederated states met by their repre- 
sentatives in convention, to form that constitution, slavery existed 



590 Henry Amzi Fuller. 



in all but one of the states of the confederacy. The people, 
through their representatives, having an existing and acknowl- 
edged right to hold slaves, conceded this — the right to prohibit 
importation — after the year 1808. They made no cession, so far 
as regarded the existence of domestic slavery. They claimed — 
and it was granted — the right of reclamation in case of escape. 
They claimed — and it was granted — the right of representation 
as an element of political power. And I hold, in the absence of 
express authority, that congress has no constitutional right to 
legislate upon the subject of slavery. I hold that the territories 
are the common property of all the states, and that the people of 
all the states have a common right to enter upon and occupy 
those territories, and they are protected in that occupation by the 
flag of our common country; that congress has no constitutional 
power either to legislate slavery into, or exclude it from, a terri- 
tory. Neither has the territorial legislature, in my judgment, any 
right to legislate upon that subject, except so far as it may be 
necessary to protect the citizens of the territory in the enjoyment 
of their property, and that in pursuance of its organic law, as es- 
tablished by congressional legislation. When the citizens of the 
territory shall apply for admission into the Union, they may de- 
termine for themselves the character of their institutions (by their 
state constitution) ; and it is their right then to declare whether 
they will tolerate slavery or not, and thus, fairly deciding for 
themselves, should be admitted into the Union as states without 
reference to the subject of slavery. The constitution was formed 
by the people of the states for purposes of mutual advantage 
and protection. The states are sovereignties, limited only so far 
as they have surrendered their powers to the general government. 
The general government, thus created and limited, acts with cer- 
tain positive, defined, and clearly ascertained powers. Its legis- 
lation and administration should be controlled by the constitution ; 
and it cannot justly employ its powers thus delegated to impair 
or destroy any existing or vested rights belonging to the people 
of any of the states. 

In addition the above he made the following answer to Mr. 
Barksdale's interrogatories : 

Mr. Clerk, I shall answer the questions specifically and directly, 
reserving to myself the privilege of more full explanation hereafter. 

"Are you in favor of restoring the Missouri restriction, or do you go for 
the entire prohibition of slavery in all the territories of the United States ?" 

I am opposed to any legislation upon those subjects, for rea- 
sons already given. 

"Are you in favor of abolishing slavery in the District of Columbia and 
the United States forts, dock-yards, etc. ?" 

I am not, sir. 



Henry Amzi Fuller. 591 



" Do you believe in the equality of the white and black races in the United 
States, and do you wish to promote that equality by legislation?" 

I do not, sir. I acknowledge a decided preference for white 
people. 

"Are you in favor of the entire exclusion of adopted citizens and Roman 
Catholics from office ? " 

Mr. Clerk, I think with General Washington— and he is a very 
high authority— that it does not comport with the policy of this 
country to appoint foreigners to office to the exclusion of native- 
born citizens. But I wish to say that I proscribe no man because 
of his religion; I denounce no man because of his politics. I 
accord to all the largest liberty of opinion and of expression, of 
conscience and of worship. I care not, sir, what creed a man 
may profess; I care not to what denomination he may belong; 
be he Mohammedan, Jew, or Gentile, I concede to him the right to 
worship according to the dictates of his own judgment. I invade 
no man's altar, and would not disturb any man's vested rights. 
Whatever we have been, whatever we are, and whatever we may 
be, rests between us and heaven. I allow no mortal to be my 
mediator ; and, judging no man, will by no man be judged. With 
regard to those of foreign birth, I do not desire to exclude them. 
I say to them : " Come, enter upon the public lands ; occupy 
the public territory; build up for yourselves homes, acquire pro- 
perty, and teach your children to love the constitution and laws 
which protect them ; " but I do say that in all matters of legisla- 
tion, and in all matters of administration, Americans should govern 

America. 

" Do you favor the same modification of the tariff now that you did at the. 
last session of congress ?" 

I was not a member of the last congress; and all that I would 
now ask upon the subject of the tariff is, " to be let alone." 

In 1856, for the convenience of giving more attention to some 
matters of business with which he was entrusted, he removed to 
Philadelphia, and continued to reside there until his death. He 
was one of the foremost in developing the coal and iron interests 
of this region. Probably no person had done more for that in- 
terest in the Wyoming and Lackawanna Valleys than he, and he 
also had large investments in the great Montour Iron Works, at 
Danville, which continued until the time of his death. In i860 
it was generally conceded that Mr. Fuller would be the nominee 
for vice president of the constitutional union party, but he would 
not permit his name to be used for that position, as he conceded 
that Edward Everett, who had done so much for the ladies of the 



5^92 Henry Amzi Fuller. , 
— -» 

Union towards purchasing the home of Washington, had greater 
claims than he, and Mr. Everett was accordingly nominated. 
Mr. Fuller was a member of the union national central execu- 
tive committee, in the same year chairman of the constitutional 
union state executive committee of Pennsylvania and candidate 
for congress in the Second district of Pennsylvania. He was, of 
course, defeated with the rest of his ticket. He died December 
26, i860. The Liiserne Union, of Wilkes-Barre, a newspaper 
always politically opposed to him, in speaking editorially of his 
death, said : 

" Probably no one could have been removed from us whose 
loss would have been more deeply felt. His kindness of heart, 
his noble nature — generous to a fault, and never known to do a 
mean act — his fine talents, his large business relations, all con- 
spired to endear him to our people, and a large circle of friends 
from one end of the Union to the other. We can hardly be rec- 
onciled that one so loved, so full of hope and promise and use- 
fulness, in the noontide of life and of success, should be stricken 
down when so many are left to whom death would be a relief 
from the troubles and sufferings of old age and decrepitude. 
But we must bow to 'the will of Him who doeth all things well.'" 

He left seven children to survive him. His eldest daughter 
married Charles E. Rice, president judge of Luzerne county, and 
the next oldest, George Reynolds Bedford, of the Luzerne bar. 
John Torrey Fuller, his youngest son, who was educated at La' 
Fayette College, Easton, Pa., had a remarkable talent for drawing. 
His topographical map of the college grounds was sent by the col- 
lege for exhibition at the centennial exhibition in 1876. He grad- 
uated the same year with the highest honors of his class. Taking, 
a post graduate course he received the degree of civil and mining, 
engineer, and was connected with the state geological survey of 
Pennsylvania, with a residence and office in Philadelphia, where 
he diedijknuary 22, 1880, of pneumonia. He was also for a time 
principal of the Dallas Academy, in this county. 

The wife of Henry Mills Fuller and mother of Henry A. Ful- 
ler is Harriet Irwin Fuller [nic Tharp). Her father was Michael 
Rose Tharp, of Philadelphia, who came with his father's family 
from Ireland prior to 1800. Ih the early years of this century 
he was an agent for the Pennsylvania land-holders in Bradford' 



Henry Amzi Fuller. 593 

county, and built himself a beautiful residence on the bank of 
the Susquehanna river at Athens. He afterwards sold the same 
to Judge Herrick. Mr.Tharp's mother was a sister of R. H. Rose, 
M. D., from whom Montrose, in Susquehanna county, received 
its name. Her father, a Scotch gentleman, and his mother, a 
lady of Dublin, came to the United States a little before the rev- 
olutionary war and settled in Chester county, Pa. The wife of 
Doctor Rose was Jane, daughter of Andrew Hodge, jun., of 
Philadelphia, a cousin of Charles Hodge, D. D., LL. D., father of 
F. B. Hodge, D. D., of this city. The mother of Harriet Irwin 
Fuller was Jerusha Lindsley, a daughter of Judge Eleazer Linds- 
ley, of Lindsley, Steuben county, N. Y., where she was born 
January 19, 1793. Judge Lindsley was a native of Morristown, 
N. J., where he was born July 3, 1769. He married, April 23, 
1787, Eunice Halsey, daughter of Jeremiah and Elizabeth Hal- 
sey, of Bridghampton, N Y. Jeremiah Halsey was the ancestor 
of Gains L. Halsey, of the Luzerne county bar. Emila Lindsley, 
another daughter of Judge Lindsley, was the wife of the late 
George M. Hollenback, of this city. Polly Lindsley, another 
daughter, married James Ford, of Perth Amboy, N. J., and be- 
came the ancestor of Benjamin Ford Dorrance, of the Luzerne 
bar. Judge Lindsley was a son of Colonel Eleazer Lindsley, a 
hero in the war of the revolution. He was born December 7, 
1737, O. S., and married Mary Miller November ii, 1756. The 
Lindsleys are of Scotch descent, and trace their family back to 
Sir Williain Wallace. 

Henry Amzi Fuller was educated in the public schools of this 
city, from which he graduated, and was prepared for college by 
Fred. Corss, M. D., of Kingston, entered the sophomore class of 
the College of New Jersey, at Princeton, from which he graduated 
in the class of 1874. He read law with Henry W. Palmer, and 
was admitted to the Luzerne county bar January 9, 1877. Mr. 
Fuller married, November 20, 1879, Ruth Hunt Parrish, a daugh- 
ter of the late Gould Phinney Parrish, of this city. They have 
four children : John Torrey Fuller, Esther Fuller, Henry Mills 
Fuller, and Charles Parrish Fuller. Gould P. Parrish was born 
in VVilkes-Barre in a building where the Exchange Hotel is now 
located, Ma^^ i, 1822. He served an apprenticeship in the nier- 



594 



Henry Amzi Fuller. 



cantile business with the late Isaac S. Osterhout, and then en- 
gaged in the manufacture of powder with the late George Knapp, 
under the firm name of Knapp and Parrish. They first con- 
structed a mill on Solomon's creek, near the city line, and sub- 
sequently built the Wapwallopen mills, in HoUenback town- 
ship, now owned by the Duponts. He relinquished the manu- 
facture of powder and went into the coal business in partnership 
with the late Thomas Brodrick, and operated the works of the 
Philadelphia Coal Company, now the Empire mines. He after- 
wards became a contractor and laid the first pipes for the Wilkes- 
Barre Water Company. He continued the business of contractor 
during the remainder of his life. He died in this city November 
8, 1875. Gould P. Parrish was the son of Archippus Parrish, 
a native of Windham, Conn., where he was born January 27, 
1773. In his early manhood he removed to Morristown, N. J., 
and there married Phebe, daughter of John Miller, August 12, 
1806. He engaged as a contractor and built the turnpike from 
Morristown to Paulus Hook (now Jersey City). He removed to 
the Wyoming Valley in 1812, and for a short time resided in 
Kingston. He then removed to Wilkes-Barre and kept a hotel 
where the Exchange Hotel now stands. Here George H. Par- 
rish, of this city, was born. In March, 1824, Colonel Gould 
Phinney, with fourteen others, removed from the Wyoming Val- 
ley to Dundaff, Susquehanna county. Pa. Among them was Ar- 
chippus Parrish, who took charge of the Dundaff Hotel, and 
while a resident there Charles Parrish, of this city, was born. 
Mr. Parrish remained in Dundaff about four years, and then re- 
moved to Wilkes-Barre. He again took charge of a hotel lo- 
cated on the site of the present Wyoming Valley House. He 
then removed to the hotel he had first occupied in this city, and 
which shortly afterwards burned down. The family for a few 
weeks were obliged to live in the old court house. He then 
removed to the Drake house, on Main street, next to the present 
Union Leader office, and there kept a hotel. He subsequently 
built and kept a hotel on East Market street, near the old jail. 
About 1839 he retired from business and removed to a farm 
house at the corner of Canal and South streets, in this city, and 
resided there until his death, October, 1847. The wife of 



Henry Amzi Fuller. 



595 



P. Parrish was Esther, daughter of John Smith, M. D., who was 
a descendant of Captain Timothy Smith, or, as he was more fre- 
quently designated, Timothy Smith, Esq. He seems to have been 
a leading man in the Susquehanna Company at their meetings in 
Hartford, before settlements were made in Wyoming. Choosing 
Kingston for his residence, his name is recorded as one of the 
Forty, or earliest settlers. The old Westmoreland records fre- 
quently contain his name, and it is evident that he was an active, 
thorough business man, commanding confidence and respect. 
The sobriquet given him by the ancient people shows the esti- 
mation in which he was held. Of course all were anxious to 
induce the legislature of Connecticut to recognize the settlement 
on the Susquehanna and extend her jurisdiction and laws therein. 
Among the agents sent out was Mr. Smith, and to his superior 
management they ascribed the success of his mission in inducing 
Connecticut to establish the town of Westmoreland. " Hence," 
said Mr. John Carey, "the settlers gave him the name of 'Old 
Head.' " He always conducted whatever affairs were entrusted 
to him with spirit and prudence, showing that he was a wise and 
safe counsellor and an active citizen. On May 6, 1773, he was 
appointed one of "a committee to attend the meeting of the 
Company at Hartford, on June 2nd, to lay the circumstances of 
the settlers before said meeting." On June 28, 1773, Mr. Smith, 
with John Jenkins and others, were appointed " to draw up a plan 
of regulations and submit the same, together with the former 
plan, at the next meeting." At a proprietors' meeting held July 
8, 1773, Timothy Smith was chosen by this company to be their 
sheriff. On September 21, 1773, Captain Z. Butler and Mr. T. 
Smith were appointed agents to attend the General Assembly at 
New Haven in October next. On December 8, 1773, Mr. Joseph 
Sluman, Mr. Timothy Smith, and Mr. John Jenkins were ap- 
pointed agents to General Assembly at Hartford in January next, 
second Wednesday. It would seem that in April, 1874, four 
representatives were chosen or appointed. Among the votes 
recorded is this : " That Zebulon Butler, Esq., Captain Timothy 
Smith, Christopher Avery, and John Jenkins be appointed agents 
from the town of Westmoreland to lay our circumstances before 
the General Assembly in May next. Sept. 30, 1774." His son 



596 Henry Amzi Fuller. 



Benjamin Smith, was a physician. He married Wealthy Ann 
York, daughter of Amos York, of Wyalusing. 

Amos York, from Voluntown, Conn., is believed to have been 
the pioneer settler of Mehoopany township, now in Wyoming 
county. He came in 1772, built a log house and enclosed a con- 
siderable tract of land opposite and above the mouth of the Me- 
shoppen creek. In 1778 he, with others, petitioned the Assembly 
of Connecticut for an abatement of their taxes, since they had 
suffered much from being robbed and plundered by the Indians. 
Subsequently he removed to Wyalusing. Manasseh Miner, the 
father of Mrs. York, was one of the original proprietors in the 
Susquehanna company, and conveyed a right to his daughter, 
and Mr. York made the pitch on which the right was to be lo- 
cated at Wyalusing on some of the Indian clearings. Here he 
had carried on his improvements with considerable success. He 
had erected a good log house, a log barn, and had a considerable 
stock of horses, cattle, sheep, and hogs, and raised sufficient 
quantities of grain for their support. At the breaking out of the 
revolutionary war he was known as an active and ardent whig, 
which arrayed against him the enmity of his tory neighbors. 
Apprehending trouble from the Indians in the fall of 1777, he 
went down to Wyoming to seek the advice of friends and make 
arrangements for the removal of his family. It was then thought 
there would be no danger from the savages in the winter, and, if 
in the spring they continued to favor the interests of the British, 
there would be ample time to seek the protection of the lower 
settlements. The capture of some of his neighbors occasioned 
new alarm, but there seemed to be no alternative but run the 
risk of being undisturbed until spring. To move his family sixty 
miles through a pathless wilderness in the depth of winter could 
not be thought of On February 12 and 13, 1778, there occurred 
a severe snow storm. Each evening a negro from the old Indian 
town came to Mr. York's on a trifling excuse and remained until 
late in the evening. On the 14th the storm ceased and Mr. York 
determined to find out the reason for the negro's strange conduct. 
Immediately after breakfast he set out on horseback on an errand 
to Mr. Pauling's. As to what followed will be nearly in the 
words of his daughter, Sarah, who was at the time fourteen years 



Hexry Amzi Fuller. 597 

of age. She says : " The snow was two feet deep. In the af- 
ternoon Miner, his Httle son, ran in and said the Indians were 
coming. The family looked out and saw Indians and white 
men — quite a company — and the children said they were not 
afraid, for father was with them. Parshall Terry came in first, 
Tom Green next, and father next. Father took his seat on the 
bed and drew his hat over his eyes. I went to him and said, 
' Father, what is the matter? ' He made no answer, but the tears 
were running down his cheeks. Terry used to boat on the river, 
and often stopped at our house. When he came in mother said, 
' How do you do, Terry? ' He replied, ' Mrs York, I am sorry 
to see you.' Mother said, ' Why? have you taken my husband 
prisoner ? ' He answered, 'Ask Tom Green.' Mother said, 'Tom, 
have you taken my husband prisoner ? ' He said, ' Yes,' but 
added that he should not be hurt, only that he must take an 
oath that he will be true to King George. My mother appealed 
to him and Terry by the many acts of kindness they had done, 
represented to them the peaceable, generous, and obliging dis- 
position of her husband, and deplored the wretched condition 
of the family. After a while Terry lit his pipe, and said to Green, 
' It is late, and we must be going.' They then drove the cattle 
into the road, stripped the house of every thing of value they 
could carry away, broke open the chests, tied up the plunder in 
sheets and blankets and put the bundles on the backs of the men. 
Father had to take a pack of his own goods. When they had 
got prepared to start, my father asked permission to speak to his 
wife — he took her by the hand, but did not speak. When the 
company started my father was compelled to walk, carry a bun- 
dle, and assist in driving his cattle, while his favorite riding mare 
carried Terry." The journey was a tedious, toilsome one for the 
captive. He was held a prisoner for about nine months, during 
which time he was subject to exposure and want, and endured 
all manner of hardship and suffering, not the least of which was 
the constant anxiety for the welfare of his family, who were left 
destitute in the midst of winter and far from friends on whom 
they could call for aid in their distress. The narrative continues : 
"After the company had gone and no more was to be seen of 
father, my mother and sister, Wealthy, started down to the town 



598 Henry Amzi Fuller. 



of Wyalusing to see what had been done there. When they 
came to the village they found only two women, the wives of 
Page and Berry, and some children, whose I do not recollect. 
My mother stayed there awhile and then came back. * * * 
That night we expected every moment that the Indians would 
come and kill us, or take us prisoners. We sat up and waited 
for the Indians all night. Next morning my mother and the 
older children concluded to move the family down to Wyalusing. 
We had eight fat hogs in the pen and a crib of corn. The bot- 
tom of the crib was opened and the hogs let out so they could 
get what corn they wanted, and we all started for the village, 
takine what we could of necessaries. Mv eldest sisters went 

o 

every day and brought some things out of our house. We lived 
in this village in one of the cabins about three weeks. One night 
a man came to our cabin and handed my mother a letter from 
my father. His name was Secoy [John Secord], a tory. While 
he was in the house my brother, Miner, came in and said there 
were three men coming. Secoy said, ' Mrs. York, for God's sake, 
hide me.' She threw some bedding over him on the floor, and 
then went and stood in the door. The men came up. They 
were Captain Aholiab Buck, her son-in-law. Miner Robins, my 
mother's sister's son, and a Mr. Phelps. My mother told them 
not to come in, but to cross the river and stay at Eaton's that 
night; that Eaton was the only man left in the settlement; that 
early in the morning she and the children would be ready to go 
with them. They crossed over as my mother advised. She then 
told Secoy he might get up. He said he was hungry and mother 
gave him something to eat. He said she had saved him, and he 
would save her ; that his son was at the head of a body of Indians 
close by, and he was sent as a spy to see if there was any armed 
men there. Next morning Captain Buck came over and we all 
started on foot and travelled ten miles towards Wyoming, with 
no track except what the three men made coming and going. 
The first house we came to was Mr. Van der Lipp's. My mother 
and two of the older sisters went on next day with Captain 
Buck, the rest of the children staying at Van der Lipp's until 
spring, when Mr. Phelps took us away in a canoe to his house. 
Afterwards Miner Robbins took us in a canoe to Wyoming fort, 



Henry Amzi Fuller. 599 



where mother was." As affording some idea of the value of Mr. 
York's improvements at Wyalusing, Mrs. Carr (Sarah York) 
says the Indians took off one yoke of oxen, one yoke of four- 
year-old steers, one horse, eleven good cows, and a number of 
young cattle. There were besides, eight fat hogs, store hogs, 
sheep, fowls, etc. ; that he had sufficient hay for his stock, three 
hundred bushels of corn in the crib, besides other grain. When 
it is remembered that this was on hand the latter part of Febru- 
ary we may infer that his crops were quite abundant. Including 
clothing and bedding taken off by the enemy, she estimates the 
loss to the family at one thousand three hundred and ninety-five 
dollars. Mrs. York and her family took refuge in Forty Fort, 
where she maintained herself by cooking for the garrison sta- 
tioned there. Here she remained until after the battle, in which 
Captain Buck fell, in the twenty-seventh year of his age, leaving 
an infant daughter born March 25, 1778, and who afterwards be- 
came the wife of Major Taylor, of Wyalusing. Speaking of the 
evening of the battle, Mrs. Carr, whose narrative I have quoted, 
says : " Some crawled in on their hands and knees, covered 
with blood, during the night. The scenes of that night cannot 
be described — women and children screaming and calling, ' Oh, 
my husband!' 'my brother!' 'my father!' etc. Next morning after 
the battle Parshall Terry came with a flag and written terms from 
Tory Butler to Colonel Denison. He told Denison if he surren- 
dered peaceably not a soul should be hurt, but if he refused the 
whole fort should be put to the tomahawk. My mother went to 
Colonel Denison and told him that this was the man who had 
deprived her of a husband and her children of a father, and she 
could not bear to see him come into the fort; that she had no 
confidence in his promises, and if he was allowed to come in 
she would go out. Colonel Denison said she must not go out. 
She declared she would ; called her children to her, went to the 
gate and demanded a passage out. The sentry presented his 
bayonet to her breast, and asked Colonel Denison if he should 
let her pass. The Colonel said no. He then pushed the bayo- 
net through her clothes so that it drew blood. She said to 
Colonel Denison, ' I will go out with my children, or I will 
die here at the door.' The Colonel said, ' Let her pass.' We 



5oo Henry Amzi Fullek. 



went down along the bank of the river. We could see burning 
houses on both sides of the river, which the Indians had set fire 
to. We went on until we got opposite Wilkes-Barre. We saw 
a woman on the other side of the river and mother called to her 
to brinp- a boat over. The woman was a Mrs. Lock, a Dutch- 
woman. We all got into it, and Mrs. Lock pushed it down the 
river with all her might. We run all day, and at night we 
stopped at a house near the bank. Not long after we had been 
in the house a boy informed us that Lieutenant Forsman was on 
the bank with a boat load of wounded men. We all got into 
our canoe again, and Forsman took a man [Richard Fitzgerald] 
from his boat to manage the canoe for us, and we run all night. 
We went down to Paxton, where we stayed until October. At 
Paxton my mother buried her youngest child, a son of 13 
months. He died at the house of Colonel Elder. After a time 
mother received letters from Wyoming stating that she might 
return with safety. In October we went up to Wyoming in com- 
pany with a Dutch family. Captain Buck's widow was with us. 
We stayed about two weeks at Wilkes-Barre ; but, as there was 
frequent murdering in the neighborhood, mother would not stay. 
There were three men going through the Big Swampy mother 
and her family accompanied them on foot, resolved to make her 
way to her father's, in Voluntown, Conn. One of the men was 
Asahel, brother of Captain Buck. We lay one night in the 
swamp. When we got through it the men left us. We travelled 
on foot to New Mliford, Conn., where mother was taken sick, 
and it was a fortnight before she was able to travel. When we 
were at the North river where General Washington lay, an officer 
informed him that there was a woman in distress. General 
Washington ordered her to be brought to his tent. She told 
him her story, and Washington gave her ^50. But we did not 
need money to bear travelling expenses, for the people on the 
road treated us with great sympathy and kindness. At New 
Milford my sister. Buck, was among her husband's relatives. 
She and sister Esther remained there all winter. From New 
Milford we were carried in a wagon 100 miles to Windham, 
from there we travelled on foot a day and a half to Voluntown. 
When within a mile of her father's a man met her and said, 'How 



Henry Amzi Fuller. 6oi 



do you do, Mrs. York ? ' Mother said she did not recollect him. 
He told us who he was, and said, ' Have you heard about your 
husband?' She said she had not. Said he, ' I will tell you. 
He is dead and buried.' Mother looked around on her children, 
but did not speak. Not another word was spoken by her until 
she had got to her father's. This was the first intelligence we 
had of father from the time he was taken, except the letter Secoy 
brought. He was detained a prisoner at different places 9 months 
and was exchanged at New York. After his release he went to 
Mr. Miner's to make inquiries after his family, but could get no 
intellieence from them. He declared that he would start in two 
days, and would find his family if living ; but was taken sick, and 
died 1 1 days before his family arrived. We all visited his grave 
that night." The following is a copy of Colonel Butler's pass to 
Mrs. York, the original of which is still in existence : 

" Permit the Bairor, Mrs. York & family, consisting of Nine, 
to pass from this to Stonington in Connecticut. And I do also 
Recommend to all Authority, both Sivil and military, to Assist 
the above family as they are of the Distressed [inhabitants] which 
were drove from this Town by Indians and tories, and her hus- 
band has been a prisoner with the enemy for eight months. 

^ " Zebu. Butler, Lt. Col. Comd'g. 

"Westmoreland, Oct. 13, 1778." 

I have given the narrative thus full because it presents a vivid 
picture of the fortitude and heroism of the women of this period of 
our country's history. Mrs. York was only one of thousands, es- 
pecially on the border, who endured similar sufferings, and were 
compelled to exhibit like firmness and self-reliance in the hour 
of danger or of necessity. Miner Robbins, who was a nephew of 
Mrs. York, was fatally wounded about the middle of June, 1778, 
while on a scout up the river. About 1786 the York family re- 
turned to their old home. Their house, though standing, was 
considerably dilapidated, their fences were decayed, and their 
clearings covered with bushes. During their eight years' absence 
things had remained very nearly as they left them, except what 
had resulted from the want of care and labor; even the stick of 
wood which Mrs. York's son was chopping when he saw the 
Indians coming with his father, lay upon the ground just as he 
left it. A less spirited and earnest woman, under such circum- 



6o2 Henry Amzi Fuller. 



stances and surrounded by such painful associations, would have 
given up all hope and sat down in despair. But her son, who 
had now become a young man, meeting his responsibilities with 
manly courage, and aided by his mother's counsel, with great 
energy set about repairing the injury their farm had sustained 
during their absence, and his labors were attended with so much 
success that he was able in a short time to place the family be- 
yond the reach of want. Mrs. York was a prominent woman in 
the little community where she lived. She died in Wysox Octo- 
ber 30, 1818, and was buried in Wyalusing. She was the mother 
of twelve children. Her house was the home of the first Pres- 
byterian minister. Her only son who lived to manhood's days 
was Manasseh Miner York, who became a Presbyterian minister. 
He was well known and greatly respected and beloved. Abund- 
ant in labor, fervent in his zeal for the truth, a consistent Chris- 
tian, he died in Wysox and is buried in the old burying ground 
in the rear of the brick church. 

John Smith, M. D., son of Benjamin Smith, M. D., and father 
of Mrs. Esther Parrish, was born in Kingston November 4, 1789. 
The paternal homestead was on the main road leading from 
Kingston to Pittston at or near the old Maltby store house. He 
commenced the practice of medicine at Wyoming in 18 12, and 
there remained until 1835. On August 2, 1819, he was commis- 
sioned by William Findlay, governor of Pennsylvania, a justice 
of the peace for the townships of Dallas, Kingston, and Plymouth. 
This office he held for a number of years. In 1835 he removed 
to Wilkes-Barre, and on January 15, 1836, was appointed, by Gov- 
ernor Ritner, prothonotary, clerk of the Courts of Quarter Ses- 
sions, Oyer and Terminer, and Orphans' Court of Luzerne county. 
On January 3, 1839, he was re-appointed by Mr. Ritner to the 
same offices for another term of three years. Upon the expira- 
tion of his term of office he continued to practice his profession 
in Wilkes-Barre until the time of his death, which occurred on 
August 24, 1869. The wife of Dr. John Smith was Mehitable 
Jenkins, daughter of Thomas Jenkins, of Exeter township. She 
was the granddaughter of Judge John Jenkins, of Wyoming. 

The successful lawyer of two hundred years ago, and even 
less, counseled and pleaded with a ponderousness that was awe- 



George Henry Ruggles Plumb. 603 

inspiring to the unlettered. Every other sentence was a legal 
maxim in the original Latin, and if the parties to the suit and the 
jurors were not edified and instructed they were, at least, deeply 
impressed with the wonderful learning of the counselor and ad- 
vocate. The successful lawyer of to-day is he whose briefs have 
the merit of brevity in addition to sufficiency, and whose ad- 
dresses to court and jury are least pedantic and most perspicuous 
to the common understanding. Mr. Fuller is as yet compara- 
tively young in years and young at the bar, but he has already 
given conclusive evidence of his liability to pluck the flower suc- 
cess from the seed of a plain common sense cultivated and brought 
to fruition by patient and unassuming industry. He may be said 
to have inherited inclination and talent for the law, and he has 
certainly, by a judicious utilization thereof, gained an enviable 
reputation for one so young. His service as assistant to District 
Attorney (now judge) Rice was a valuable schooling, of which 
he made the best possible use. He makes no pretensions to 
oratory, but pleads, nevertheless, with remarkable ingenuity and 
force. His practice is one of the largest enjoyed by the junior 
members of the bar, is a paying practice, and may be depended 
upon to increase as the years go by. He is one of the few of the 
younger lawyers, in fact, who will fall heir, by reason of their 
recognized professional merit, to the business the older ones 
must surrender as they are called in their turn to appear at the 
bar of the highest of all courts. Mr. Fuller is a republican in 
politics, much respected in his party, and if his ambition should 
so incline him, may reasonably hope for official preferment at its 
hands. He is in every particular a good citizen and a worthy 
gentleman. 

GEORGE HENRY RUGGLES PLUMB. "^^ 




George Henry Ruggles Plumb was born in Honesdale, Pa., 
June 12, 1854. He is the son of Henry Blackman Plumb, and 
a descendant of Wait Plumb, who emigrated to America from 
England about 1630, and settled in Connecticut. Waitstill Plumb, 



6o4 George Henry Ruggles Plumb. 

son of Wait Plumb, was bom in Connecticut and died there. He 
had, among other children, Waitstill John Plumb, who was 
born in Connecticut, resided in Middletown, married and died 
there. Jacob Plumb, son of Waitstill John Plumb, was born in 
Middletown, Conn., about 1746, married Prudence Powers, re- 
moved to Chester, Mass., in 1788, thence to Springfield, Otsego 
Co., N. Y., about 1806, thence to Mount Pleasant, Pa., about 
18 1 2, thence to Wyoming, about 18 14. He died in Kingston in 
1822, and lies buried in Forty Fort cemetery. During the revo- 
lutionary war he commanded a privateer. Jacob Plumb, son of 
Jacob Plumb, was born in Middletown, Conn., in 1776. He 
manufactured wooden chairs, a ship load of which, before he came 
of age, he took to Bermuda and sold. With the proceeds he pur- 
chased a farm at Springfield, N. Y. He married his cousin, 
Rhoda Plumb. It is believed that he built the first carding 
machine ever made in the United States, at Chester, Mass., in 1801. 
He removed with his family to Springfield in 1806, thence to 
Mount Pleasant, Pa., about. 1812, and built carding machines 
there, thence to Pittston, in 181 3 or 18 14, and, it is believed, built 
the first carding machine in the Wyoming Valley, built the first 
carding machine in Hanover, at Behee's mill, in 1826-7. He 
died in Prompton, Pa., in 1853. Charles Plumb, son of Jacob 
Plumb, was born in Chester, Mass., in 1802. He removed with 
his father's family to Springfield, N. Y., to Mount Pleasant, to 
Pittston, and to Hanover in 1826, where, with his father, he built 
carding machines in Behee's mill. He also built and operated a 
grist mill at Behee's place. He married Julia Anna Blackman, 
daughter of Elisha Blackman, a survivor of the Wyoming mas- 
sacre. The wife of Mr. Blackman was Anna Hurlbut, daughter 
of Deacon John Hurlbut, of Hanover. Charles Plumb died at Har- 
ford, Susquehanna Co., Pa., in 1 83 1. Henry Blackman Plumb, son 
of Charles. Plumb, was born in Hanover, November 13, 1829. He 
removed to Honesdale, Pa., in 1848, returned to Hanover in 1855, 
read law with Volney L. Maxwell, in Wilkes-Barre, and was 
admitted to the bar of Luzerne county November 21, 1859. He 
married, September 28, 185 i, Emma Ruggles, daughter of Ashbel 
Ruggles, a native of Hanover township, where he was born in 
1797, The Ruggles family is supposed to be from Connecticut 




George Henry Ruggles Plumb. 605 

The wife of Ashbel Ruggles was Angelina Bennett, daughter of 
Josiah Bennett, who was a son of Ishmael Bennett, a native of 
Rhode Island, where he was born in 1730. 

George Henry Ruggles Plumb is the only child of Henry 
Blackman Plumb. He prepared for college at Prompton Normal 
school, and Wyoming Seminary, and entered La Fayette college 
in 1873, graduating in the class of 1877, with the degree of 
PH. B. In 1880 he took the degree of M. S. In his freshman 
year he stood at the head of his class in analytical chemistry, and 
in his sophomore year he stood in the same manner in analytical 
botany. At graduation he delivered the presentation speech to 
his class. During the years 1877, 1878, and 1879 he taught in 
the public schools of Sugar Notch borough. He read law with 
E. P. & J. V. Darling, and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county January 18, 1881. He is a republican in politics, and 
represented the third legislative district in the republican county 
committee in the years 1881, 1882, and 1883. He was a candi- 
date before the republican county convention for the office of 
district attorney in 1882 but was defeated. The same year he 
represented the third legislative district in the state convention 
of his party at Harrisburg. In 1884 he was a candidate in the 
republican convention of his district for the legislature but failed 
to receive a nomination. He is preparing a " History, Biography, 
and Genealogy of the Plumb family in America from the earliest 
time to the present." Mr. Plumb is an unmarried man. 

The active, brainy stock from which Mr. Plumb springs gives 
exhibition of its influence in the ardor with which he approaches, 
and the systematic energy with which he carries into execution, 
his allotted and self-sought tasks. As a student of history, parti- 
cularly of local history, he is especially earnest, persevering, and 
careful. He has given not a little of value in this line to publi- 
cation in the local journals, and his history, already mentioned, 
although relating to but one family primarily, is expected to be 
very important in its incidental relationship to the history of the 
county and valley. As a school teacher, in his work in behalf of 
his party, and as an attorney he has sought with utmost patience 
and industry to do well all that he has had to do. He cannot be 
called a brilliant man, but he is well read, quick witted, ambitious, 



6o6 George Hollenback Butler. 

and determined — qualifications and traits that almost invariably 
pay better than brilliancy in the long run — not only their pos- 
sessor but those in whose service they are invoked. 



GEORGE HOLLENBACK BUTLER. 



George Hollenback Butler was born in Kingston township 
September 2, 1857. He is the son of the late James Montgom- 
ery Butler, also a native of Kingston, and the grandson of Pierce 
Butler, eldest son of General Lord Butler, whose genealogy we 
have already given in our sketch of Edmund Griffin Butler. The 
wife of General Butler was Mary, a daughter of Abel Pierce. He 
was a descendant of Thomas Pierce, who came to this country 
from England in 1633-4 with his wufe, Elizabeth Pierce, and 
settled in Charlestown, Mass. He was born in 1583 and died 
October 7, 1666. He was chosen a freeman May 6, 1635, and 
on September 27, 1642, he was one of the twenty-one commis- 
sioners appointed by the Great and General Court "to see that 
Saltpetre heaps were made by all the farmers of the colony." In his 
will he makes a bequest of twenty shillings to Harvard College. 
Thomas Pierce, son of Thomas Pierce, was born in 1608, and 
married, May 6, 1635, Elizabeth Cole. They resided in Charles- 
town village, now Woburn. He was often styled Sergeant 
Thomas. Sergeant Thomas Pierce was admitted into the church 
at Charlestown February 21, 1634; was in Woburn as early as 
1643 ; was taxed there, 1645 ; was selectman of Woburn, 1660, 
and repeatedly afterwards of the committee for dividing the com- 
mon lands in Woburn ; he was one of " the right proprietors " 
chosen March 28, 1667; and also one of the General Courts 
committee appointed for the same purpose in 1668. He died 
November 6, 1683. Thomas Pierce, son of Thomas Pierce, Jr., 
was born June 21, 1645, and died December 8, 17 17. Timothy 
Pierce, son of Thomas Pierce, was born January 25, 1673. He 
resided in Plainfiield, Conn., and died May 25, 1748. Major 
Ezekiel Pierce, son of Timothy Pierce, was born January 8, 171 2, 



George Hollenback Butler. 607 

and married, February ii, 1736, Lois Stevens. He was town- 
clerk of Plainfield from 1749 to 1754, and of Wyoming or West- 
moreland, Penn'a, at the first town meeting of that town. Major 
Ezekiel Pierce, as town clerk of Westmoreland, makes the follow- 
ing entries: April 25, 1772, Major Ezekiel Pierce appointed one 
of a committee to admit settlers in 6-mile townships. October 2, 
1772, Major Ezekiel Pierce appointed one of a committee to pro- 
vide a habitation for Rev. Jacob Johnson for the winter. Abel 
Pierce chosen constable for Kingston township for 1772. March 
30, 1773, Major Ezekiel Pierce one of a committee to receive 
bonds given for settling rights. June 21, 1773, Major Ezekiel 
Pierce appointed one of a committee to assist in regulating the 
settlement of the towns and to redress grievances. Abel Pierce, 
father of the wife of General Lord Butler, son of Major Ezekiel 
Pierce, was born December 15, 1736. His only son, Chester 
Pierce, was the first man killed in the " Pennamite and Yankee 
War, 1784." His eldest daughter, Sylvania, married (as his sec- 
ond wife) Captain Daniel Hoyt, great-grandfather of Edward 
Everett Hoyt, of the Luzerne bar, and was the grandfather of ex- 
Governor Henry Martyn Hoyt. Abel Pierce died May 23, 18 14. 
Franklin Pierce, President of the United States, was seventh in 
descent from Thomas Pierce, the ancestor of George Hollenback 
Butler. Abel Pierce was one of the justices of the peace ap- 
pointed by the Governor of Connecticut for the county of West- 
moreland, i. e. Wyoming. After fuller and further investigation 
we still adhere to the opinion that Colonel Zebulon Butler, father 
of General Lord Butler, who commanded the patriot forces at the 
battle and massacre of Wyoming, and Colonel John Butler, who 
commanded the Tory and Indian forces in the same battle, were 
second cousins. In this connection we might state that during 
the summer of 1885 Thomas H. Atherton, of the Luzerne bar, 
while at Niagara, on the Lake, Ontario, visited St. Mark's church at 
that place and observed a memorial tablet, of which the following 

is a copy: 

"FEAR GOD. HONOUR THE KING. 

" In memory of Colonel John Butler, His Majesty's commis- 
sioner for Indian affairs. Born in New London, Province of 
Connecticut, 1728. His life was spent honourably in the service 
of the Crown. In the war with France for the conquest of Can- 



6o8 George Hollenback Butler, 



ada he was distinguished at the battle of Lake George 8th Sep- 
tember, 1755, and at the siege of Fort Niagara and its capitula- 
tion, 25th July, 1759. 

" In the war of 1776 he took up arms in defence of the Unity of 
the Empire, and raised and commanded the Loyal American 
Regiment of Butler's Rangers. A sincere Christian as well as a 
brave soldier. He was one of the founders and the first patron 
of this parish. He died at Niagara May, 1796, and is interred in 
the family burial ground near this town." 

We have also the following in relation to Colonel John Butler 
in a letter from W. Kirby, of Niagara : 

" Sir William Buell Richards, ex-Chief Justice, Ottawa, mar- 
ried Miss Muirhead, a grand-daughter of Colonel Butler. He 
possesses a painting of the Colonel and some memorials besides. 
There are very few papers to be found, by reason that Colonel 
Butler's house and its contents were destroyed by General Mc- 
Clure when Niagara was burnt by his orders on the retreat of the 
American army from that place in December, 1813. 

" Some descendants of Colonel Butler still remain in Niagara 
township — farmers — but they have no family documents in their 
possession. In Judge Jones' Colonial History of New York will 
be found references to Colonel Butler. 

" Colonel Butler commanded some companies of the Rangers at 
the battle of Wyoming, but the Indians acted independently under 
the command of Kayingwaurto, the great Seneca chief. Brandt 
was not present at that engagement. 

" The popular stories of " The Massacre of Wyoming " are with- 
out any basis of fact. Wild rumors and exaggerations of the 
moment of panic which got into history, and have stuck there 
with the help of Campbell's poem, for which he apologized after- 
wards to John Brandt, and with the help of a good deal of preju- 
dice which will not have the story told otherwise. 

" Colonel Butler was a man of correct life and pious disposition, 
taking much interest in the Church of England, of which he 
might be called the lay founder in Upper Canada. The first 
missionary of that church in Niagara was the late Rev. Dr. Rob- 
ert Addison, and in the burial register of St. Mark's, recording 
the interment of Colonel Butler in the handwriting of Dr. Addi- 
son, is added the words " My Patron." Colonel Butler lived at 
Niagara during the American revolutionary war as superintend- 
ent of Indian affairs and until his death in 1796. His son, John- 
son Butler, commanded the First Lincoln regiment of militia 
during part of the war of 1812, but died before its conclusion. 
His nearest descendants are the children of Sir William B. Rich- 
ards, before mentioned." 



George Hollenback Butler. 609 

The wife of Pierce Butler, grandfather of George Hollenback 
Butler, was Temperance Colt, a daughter of Arnold Colt. The 
mother of George Hollenback Butler, and the wife of James 
Montgomery Butler, was Martha Lazarus, a daughter of the 
late John Lazarus, of Hanover township. He was born in North- 
ampton county in the year 1796 and removed to Hanover with his 
father's family in 18 18. His wife was Polly Drake. He died in 
Wilkes-Barre in 1879. George Lazarus, father of John Lazarus, 
was of German descent, and was born in Northampton county in 
1 76 1. His wife was Mary Hartzell. He lived on the river road 
at Buttonwood bridge, where he died in 1844. He was evidently 
a man of wealth, for when he purchased his farm in 1818 of 
Matthias Hollenback the consideration was $16,000, a considera- 
ble sum of money in that day. George Hollenback Butler was 
educated at the select schools of W. S. Parsons and W. R. King- 
man in this city, and at the Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa. 
He read law with E. P. & J. V. Darling in this city and was ad- 
mitted to the Luzerne county bar June 6, 1881. He is an un- 
married man and a republican in politics. 

Of one who has been but a few years in practice it is impossible 
to say much except in the way of prediction, which must be 
based upon observance, less of what he has done in the way of 
big things than of what he has tried to do in the minor walks of 
the profession. Often the " youngsters of the bar," as they are 
occasionally called, work harder and achieve comparatively 
greater victories in the trivial cases with which they are com- 
pelled to make a beginning than their seniors do in important 
litigations, involving big fees, and that carry their names, accom- 
panied by ardent praises, from lip to lip, through the whole com- 
munity. Age and established reputation are of themselves aids 
to the securement of favorable verdicts which beginners must 
necessarily fight without. For a young man Mr. Butler has 
done well, earning the commendation of his preceptors and of his 
fellow professionals, generally, by much study, unflagging energy, 
and patient perseverance. He has a bright future before him. 



6io William Henry Hines. 



WILLIAM HENRY HINES. 



William Henry Hines was born in Brooklyn, N. Y., March 15, 
1854. He is a son of Timothy Hines, a native of the parish of 
Tuam, in the county of Galvvay, Ireland, who emigrated to this 
country in 1845, "W'th his wife Mary Clark, a daughter of James 
Clark, of the same place. He first settled in Brooklyn, N. Y., and 
finally removed to Hanover township, in this county, where he now 
resides. W. H. Hines was educated in the public schools of 
Brooklyn and at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa. He read 
law with John Lynch and Garrick M. Harding, and was admitted 
to the bar of Luzerne county, June 6, 1881. In 1878 Mr. Hines 
was the labor reform candidate for the state legislature, in the 
third legislative district, and was elected, the vote standing, 
Hines 2048, J. J. Shonk, republican, 1498, and John Dunn, demo- 
crat 6"/?!. In 1880 Mr. Hines was again a candidate for the leg- 
islature, in the same district, but was defeated by James George, 
republican, the vote standing, George 2085, J. V. Perse, democrat, 
1848, and Hines, labor reform, 1383. In 1882 Mr. Hines was 
again a candidate for the same position, but this time as a 
democrat, and was elected, the vote standing, Hines 2686, James 
George, republican, 1293, and R. A. Santee, M. D., independent- 
democrat, 470. In 1884 Mr. Hines was the democratic nominee 
for state senator in the twenty-first senatorial district, but was 
defeated by Morgan B. Williams, republican, the vote standing, 
Williams 12,327, Hines 10,977, and Cool, prohibitionist, 413. Mr. 
Hines, when living in Hanover, served as township clerk and 
assessor, by election. He married November 27, 1884, Ida M. 
Wortman, daughter of Jacob Rowe Wortman, of Ithaca, N. Y. 
They have one child, Henry Gordon Hines. William Wortman, 
the grandfather of Jacob Wortman, was a resident of the Wyo- 
ming Valley at the time of the battle and massacre. His wife 
was Polly, daughter of Samuel Gordon, who was a surveyor, and 
probably removed from Connecticut to Wyoming. " After the 
massacre they fled east with their nine children, Mrs. Wortman 



William Henry Hines. 6ii 

carrying the two youngest in her arms, till she could carry them 
no longer. She then put one down by a brush-pile and went on 
with the other till she found a place of safety, then put that one 
down and went back for the other. She traveled in this manner 
two days and nights before reaching a place of safety." In 1801 
they removed to Ulysses, Tompkins county, N. Y., where Mrs. 
Wortman died, at the age of ninety-eight. Mr. Wortman was 
of German descent, and his wife Scotch, her ancestors having 
come from the highlands of Scotland. 

Jacob R. Wortman, son of John Wortman, was born at Enfield, 
N. Y., February 2, 1823. He married December 12, 1846, Nancy 
Ann Starr, a daughter of Philo Starr, a descendant of Doctor Com- 
fort Starr, the founder of the Starr family in New England. Doctor 
Starr was a native of Ashford, county of Kent, England. It was 
on the coast of Kent the Romans first landed, and the county 
was the scene of many important battles and events in the 
early history of England. How long the Starr family lived there 
or where they came from is unknown. The earliest date found 
on the records in connection with the name is the baptism of 
Margaret Starr January 5, 1584. Ashford, once called the 
" Manor of Esshetesford," is a small town forty-five miles south- 
east of London. The most conspicuous object to the traveler 
as he passes through, on his way to or from the continent, is the 
gray, old parish church of " St. Mary," a large building with 
three aisles, transept, three chancels, and a beautiful tower of 
stone. Its age is unknown ; it had stood for centuries when 
early in the seventeenth Doctor Starr worshipped within its walls 
and brought his children to its altar for baptism. In this old town 
Doctor Comfort Starr lived in the practice of his profession as 
chirurgeon or surgeon, as it is now called, and was evidently a 
man of wealth, for he owned an estate there which he retained 
until his death, and when he came to this country brought three 
servants, which a man of small property could hardly have affor- 
ded in those days. That he was a man of position and some 
importance is certain, for in 163 1 he was warden of St. Mary's 
church, and at a vestry meeting held in 1632 it was voted " That 
Comfort Starr should lend to Jno. Langford the sum of ^12, on 
the security of his house, it being copyhold, etc. " ; and in 1634, 



6i2 William Henry Hines. 



only a short time before he left Ashford, was one of a committee 
to make repairs on the church of St. Mary. He embarked for 
this country March 21, 1635. After his arrival in New England 
Doctor Starr made his residence at New Towne (Cambridge) and 
engaged in the practice of his profession, and his name frequently 
appears on the records there. He subsequently removed to 
Duxbury and finally to Boston, where he died January 2, 1660. 

Doctor Thomas Starr, son of Doctor Comfort Starr, was born in 
England, but when he came to this country is uncertain, but 
probably with his father. On May 17, 1637, he was appointed 
" chirurgeon " to the forces sent against the Pequots. He lived 
in Duxbury, Scituate, Yarmouth, and in Charlestovvn, Mass., 
where, in 1654, he was clerk of the writs. He died October 26, 
1658. Captain Josiah Starr, youngest son of Doctor Thomas 
Starr, was born September i, 1657, in Charlestown, Mass. The 
first record of him after his birth is at the age of twenty-one, on 
Long Island, where he petitions for a grant of one hundred acres, 
of land in Hempstead. But for some reason it appears that he 
was not contented to remain in Hempstead, for in 1693, in com- 
pany with several of his neighbors, they cross Long Island sound, 
travel back some twenty-five miles into the country, and locate 
at Danbury, Conn., soon after the first settlement of that town. 

Josiah Starr was one of the seven patentees named in the grant 
made in 1702, giving town privileges to Danbury, and was elected 
the first town clerk, the second justice of the peace, afterwards 
surveyor, in 1710 commissioned lieutenant, and in 1713 captain 
of the first company or " train band," for three years was justice 
of Fairfield county, in 1702 elected Deputy to the " General Court," 
a position of great honor and distinction, to which he was annually 
chosen as long as he lived. He died January 4, 17 16. Captain 
John Starr, son of Captain Josiah Starr, was born in 1684, prob- 
ably on Long Island, and was young when his parents settled 
in Danbury. He was a man of wealth and prominence in Dan- 
bury, for in 1 73 1, '33, '34, and '35 he was sent as Deputy to the 
General Court. He was chosen. May 10, 1723, lieutenant, and 
May 14, 1733, captain of the North company or train band. He 
died July 27, 1739. Lieutenant Jonathan Starr, son of Captain 
John Starr, was born in Danbury. Little can be known of him. 



William Henry Hines. 613 

The fires lighted by British soldiers burned his history in the 
ashes of the town and church records. In May, 1747, he was 
elected lieutenant. He was a large land holder. He died in 
175 1. Micajah Starr, son of Lieutenant Jonathan Starr, was born 
April 2, 1746, in Danbury, Conn. He removed to Reading, 
Conn., and was teamster in the Revolutionary army. About 
1793-4 he emigrated to Tompkins county, N. Y., spent about a 
year in Ithaca, thence to Milton, and bought a tract of land on 
the east side of Cayuga lake, now in the town of Lansing. He 
left the Congregational church and became a Baptist, probably 
before he left Reading ; was licensed to preach, and faithfully 
ministered to the Baptist church at Lansing, and carried on his 
farm at the same time, until his death March 2, 1820, leaving 
quite a large property. 

Philo Starr, the father-in-law of Jacob R. Wortman, was a son 
of Micajah Starr, was brought up and settled in Lansing. He 
was a farmer and a deacon in the Baptist church. He died April 
21, 1844. Moses Waller Wadhams, of the Luzerne county bar, 
is a descendant of Doctor Comfort Starr, through his grandfather, 
Samuel Wadhams, who married Clorinda Starr Catlin, the grand- 
daughter of Captain Samuel Starr, of Middletown, Conn. 

Mr. Hines first came prominently before the public in 1877 
when that peculiar political convulsion which carried the labor 
reform party into power in this country swept over the land. By 
it the old parties were both submerged. The officials who came, 
it was feared, would be a dishonor to the community ; the admi- 
nistration of public affairs would be cast into confusion. By this 
election W. H. Stanton assumed the judicial ermine only to resign 
it a few years later to escape threatened impeachment. But that 
election, too, contrary to all expectation, produced such admi- 
nistrations as P. J. Kinney's in the Sheriffs office and Thomas R. 
Peters' in the Recorder's. The former distinguished for courtesy, 
dispatch, and honest performance of duties ; the latter so well 
qualified for the position to which he had been advanced that the 
records made by him and under him present the most beautiful 
penmanship in our deed and mortgage books to be found since 
the county's institution, while in precision and reliability they are 
equal to any ; and as a proof of his popularity, when his term ex- 



6i4 William Henry Hines. 



pircd he was continued in the ofifice as chief deputy for four years. 
At that election Mr. Hines is said to have been one of the orga- 
nizers of the new party. The following year he became its can- 
didate for the legislature. It was a period of great suffering 
among the wage-workers of the anthracite region. Mr. Hines 
had been one of them. He saw at close quarters their trials and 
sympathized with them. He had been supplied with a good 
common school preparation, had read assiduously the views of 
the many who, at the time and before, championed the so-called 
labor cause, had become imbued with granger-paper money- 
panacea doctrines then current — was gifted with language, voice, 
and courage that enabled him to enroll himself as one of the 
active leaders of the party on the stump. It was therefore natural 
and just that he, a type of the men who supported him, should be 
chosen to represent their demands, their interests, and their aspi- 
rations on the floor of the legislature. It was also natural that 
the chief legislative problems- which received his attention were 
proposed laws for the particular body of voters to whom he, by 
association, by employment, by parentage, by many other ties, 
belonged. Legislation of this kind has become very common, 
and while some may still doubt its wisdom, there are few who 
will deny its expediency, within reasonable limits. Such legis- 
lation is the complement of charters which grant exclusive fran- 
chises to combined capital, charters which have frequently placed 
corporate rights within a protecting sanctuary not attainable by 
private persons, charters which had become the bane of this state, 
when the constitution of 1874 made a measured attempt to extract 
the mischievous sting whereby future injury of similar character 
might be accomplished by future legislatures. To such charters 
many of the sufferings of Mr. Hines's constituents were by him 
attributed, and consequently he deemed counter-legislation 
against them not only feasible but duty. 

One of the bills by him introduced was a measure to prevent 
company stores, which passed both houses only to be vetoed. 
Another introduced by him, during his second term of office, 
was of a character similar to the Employers' Liability Bill in 
England, and to legislation in actual force for years past in more 
that twenty states of our Union, designed to repudiate many 



Dennis O'Brien Coughlin. 615 

absurd decisions whereby men who can have no knowledge of one 
another, or of one another's acts, and who from the very nature of 
their employment can have no control over each other, have, 
nevertheless, by the courts, in suits against employers for neg- 
ligence, been declared co-employes. Mr. Hines's bill was, per- 
haps, drawn in language too broad to be advisable legislation, 
and the subject, then first brought before our law makers, was 
not generally understood and had not been sufficiently agitated 
in the press of this state to enable wise solution of the problem 
at that time. This much, however, justice demands to be said: 
that Mr. Hines's effort in the direction of a more extended liabi- 
lity of employers to their employes than is now recognized by 
the courts was a step forward and, doubtless, will some day result 
beneficially to the great mass whom it was intended to help. 

Mr. Hines is a man of positive likes and dislikes, a quality 
which alone would bring him some friends and many enemies. 
His extreme youthfulness when he made his entrance in public 
life, being barely twenty-four years of age when he was first elected 
to office, together with an impulsive disposition and a frequently 
uncontroled use of invective, have increased his hostilities. There 
are, consequently, many democrats, now his party associates, who 
have long forgiven the party backslidings of others, committed 
during the exciting events of 1877, 1878, and 1879, who can not 
easily forgive him ; nor was it for these surprising reasons that he 
should be defeated in his candidacy for state senator from this dis- 
trict. Mr. Hines has, since his first legislative experience, read law 
and has secured recognition as a member of our bar, who pleads his 
Ghent's cause earnestly and effectively, and who devotes himself 
to his practice industriously. With advancing years deliberation 
will probably subdue impulse, while the qualities of mind, perse- 
verance, and sympathy, will increase the success and respect 
which he already enjoys. 



DENNIS O'BRIEN COUGHLIN. 




Dennis O'Brien Coughlin was born in Fairmount township, 
Luzerne county, Pa., July 9, 1852. He was educated in the pub- 



6i6 Dennis O'Brien Coughlin. 

lie schools and at the National School of Oratory, in Philadelphia, 
and was for many years a teacher in the public schools of this 
county, seven years of which he was principal of the New Colum- 
bus Academy. He taught, also, three years in Foster township, 
and two years in Fairmount township. His father, John Cough- 
lin, who is still living, was born in i8io in Kilrish, county of 
Clare, Ireland. He was the son of Dennis Coughlin, and was 
about ten years of age when he came to this country. The 
mother of the subject of our sketch, and the wife of John 
Coughlin, was Dianna Seward, daughter of Titus Seward, of 
Huntington township, in this county. He was a descendant 
of Enos Seward, Sr., who was born July 7, 1735, and removed to 
Huntington in 1 793. His son, Enos, married Sarah Goss, and lived 
in Granville, Mass., until he moved to Huntington, in 1793, and 
occupied the farm formerly owned by his wife's father. Titus 
Seward was the son of Enos Seward, Jr. Philip Goss, Sr., was 
the father of Mrs. Seward and one of the first claimants of land in 
Huntington. His sons, Philip, Solomon, David, Comfort, and 
Nathaniel, were with their father in the place before the Indian 
and tory invasion of 1 778. Solomon was a prisoner in Forty Fort 
with Captain John Franklin, and others, for a short time. The 
names of Philip Goss and Comfort Goss are enrolled among the 
first two hundred settlers who braved the hardships and dangers 
of the advance force who came to " man their rights." The name 
of Goss has been permanent in Huntington since the first advent 
of the Connecticut settler. Before the massacre and battle of 
Wyoming the family of Philip Goss, Sr., lived on the farm now 
occupied by Levi Seward. 

Mr. Coughlin studied law with Agib Ricketts, of this city, and 
graduated in the law department of the Northern Indiana Normal 
School, at Valparaiso. He was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county November 20, 1882. In 1880 he was the democratic 
candidate for the state legislature in the second legislative district 
of Luzerne county, and was defeated by Philip H. Seeley, repub- 
lican, the vote standing Seeley 2299, Coughlin 1865. Mr. 
Coughlin married February 20, 1883, Emma Hughes, daughter 
of Edward Hughes, of Kingston township. He was the son of 
James Hughes whose wife was Elizabeth Swetland, daughter of 



Joseph Moore. 617 



Joseph Swetland, a descendant of Luke Swetland, of Kent, Conn., 
one of the Connecticut settlers of Wyoming. Mr. and Mrs. 
Coughhn have but one child living, Annetta Coughlin. James M. 
Coughlin, county superintendent of the public schools of Luzerne 
county, is an only brother of Dennis O. Coughlin. 

Mr. Coughlin is not now practicing his profession, but is occu- 
pying an important position in the office of the collector of inter- 
nal revenue of this district. It goes without saying, however, 
that one who has been so carefully trained and has had such length- 
ened experience in the training of others, is a safe counselor and 
capable pleader in a court of law. As an educator Mr. Coughlin 
achieved a most enviable reputation, and as a rule those who 
have succeeded " with the birch " and afterwards went to the bar, 
have succeeded there. 



JOSEPH MOORE. 



Joseph Moore was born in Castle Eden, county of Durham, 
England, July 3, 1851. He is the son of John Thomas Moore, 
of Miners Mills, who is a prominent and worthy citizen of that 
borough. From 1 871 to 1883 John T. Moore was inside foreman 
forsomeof the mines of the Delaware and Hudson Canal Company. 
He is at present superintendent of the Enterprise colliery, and 
Grassy Island Coal Company, and has charge of lands owned by 
Payne Pettebone, W. W. Amsbry, and other persons. He came 
to this country in 1854, locating first in Schuylkill county, where 
he was elected school director of Frailey township, but came to 
Luzerne county in 1867, before his three years, for which he was 
elected, had expired. Since residing in this county he has served 
a three years' term as school director in Plains township. The 
wife of J. T. Moore, and the mother of Joseph Moore, is Isabella, 
daughter of Joseph Smiles, of Scotch descent. She is a native 
of Shield's Row, county of Durham, England. Joseph Moore 
worked in the mines from 1862 to 1878. He attended school at 
intervals, and by close application to study, when not engaged in 



6i8 John Slosson Harding. 



the mines, fitted himself for a teacher, and has taught in the 
schools of Falls township, Wyoming county. Ransom township, 
Lackawanna county, and Plains township, Luzerne county. 
He read law with F. M. Nichols, and was admitted to the bar of 
Luzerne county November 20, 1882. He has served as town- 
ship clerk of Plains township, and when the newly created borough 
of Miners Mills was incorporated he was chosen its first burgess, 
without opposition. In 1884 he was elected one of the county 
auditors of Luzerne county. He had the highest vote for that 
office in the county; and in the borough of Miners Mills, where he 
resides, he had a majority of 139 votes over his highest, demo- 
cratic competitor, and 82 more votes than James G. Blaine, who 
carried the borough. He is an active republican, and is now 
secretary of the republican county committee. Lie is an unmar- 
ried man. 

Mr. Moore is but at the beginning of his career, though, as we 
have shown, he has already given the best possible evidence of 
his being a useful man in the community in which he belongs. 
He is noted for doing whatever he undertakes to do, thoroughly, 
a trait of character not so common as it should be, and that, even 
in so crowded a bar as this is, will certainly ultimate in bringing 
him a paying clientage and a leading position. He has decided 
literary tastes and contributes not a little to the local newspapers, 
which are always grateful for his contributions. 

4^B£ii>^ JOHN SLOSSON HARDING. 



Among the early planters of New England were the ancestors 
of the New England Hardings. Of the dates of their embarkation 
or arrival no record can be found, but circumstances indicate that 
it was in 1623. Captain Robert Gorges, " late from the Venitian 
wars," and son of Sir Fernando Gorges, of Redlinch, Somerset- 
shire, having received from the Council of New England the ap- 
pointment of General Governor of the whole country, and the 
grant of a tract four miles wide on Massachusetts Bay, and extend- 



John Slosson Harding. 619 



ing thirty miles into the interior, arrived August, 1623, with a 
clergyman of the Church of England and "sundrie passengers and 
families intending there to begin a plantation," that being the 
" place he had resolved to make his residence." Sir Robert 
Gorges, his near kinsman, if not himself, had married Mary 
Harding, daughter and heir of William Harding ; and which ever 
was her husband we may reasonably suppose that some of Lady 
Harding's relatives would have accompanied him. If she was 
his wife and attended him, the Hardings were probably her 
brothers. He pitched upon Wessagussett, already abandoned by 
Weston's people, and now Weymouth Landing, partly in Brain- 
tree. Here were seated the most ancient Hardings of New Eng- 
land, and here for half a century was the geographical centre of 
the race. Stephen Harding, the ancestor of John Slosson Hard- 
ing, by trade a blacksmith, is first mentioned on existing records 
in 1669, when he was of Providence. A tradition among his 
descendants, confirmed by circumstances, makes him to have 
come from Massachusetts and probably from Weymouth Landing 
in Braintree or Weymouth. He is supposed to have been the 
son of John and the junior brother of Abraham, and to have fol- 
lowed the colony from Weymouth to Rehoboth and to have first 
settled in the Baptist part of the town which became Swanzey and 
Barrington, now in Rhode Island. Here he is presumed to have 
come into possession of the town-right of an original grantee, in 
whose right and name he and his heirs drew many lots which 
led to the permanent settlement of several of his descendants in the 
latter towns. His name does not occur among the grantees and 
early proprietors of Rehoboth, because he must have been in his 
minority at the date of their incorporation, nor aniong the inhabi- 
tants of Swanzey when erected into a town, because he had pre- 
viously removed to Providence. But if a list of the early members 
of the Baptist church in Swanzey should be discovered, it is prob- 
able his name will be found included. Captain Stephen Hard- 
ing, son of Stephen Harding, sold his brother John seventy-three 
acres of land in Providence on December 31, 171 2. At the same 
date he bought three acres of meadow land. He had laid out to 
him April 15, 1714, six acres of the common lands of Providence, 
and June 22, 171 5, he purchased one hundred and forty acres in 



620 John Slosson Harding. 



several parcels, the largest containing eighty acres. Nothing 
more is found of him on the Providence records. He removed 
to Warwick, or more probably resided there, when these convey- 
ances were made ; and was in early life a tanner and currier, but 
before leaving Rhode Island had probably built and sailed his 
own vessel. He -was in middle life a man of w^ealth, and his ac- 
quaintances and transactions seem to have been with the first 
persons in the colonies. He subsequently settled in New Lon- 
don, now Waterford, and engaged in commerce. He sailed from 
New London, until, sustaining heavy losses at sea, he resumed 
his early occupation and ended his days upon his farm. The 
name of his wife has not been ascertained. His eldest son, John, 
removed to Red Stone, Pa., and subsequently to Kentucky, and 
from him some of the distinguished Hardins of that state are 
presumed to have descended. Stephen Harding, son of Stephen 
Harding, was born in 1723. He married Amy Gardner about 
1747 and settled in Colchester, Conn., where his children were 
born. In 1774 he removed to Wyoming and settled on the west 
bank of the Susquehanna river in what is now Exeter township. 
Captain Stephen Harding was in Jenkins fort at the time of the 
Wyoming massacre and was taken prisoner. He died October 
II, 1789, aged 66 years. Benjamin Harding and Stukely Hard- 
ing, sons of Captain Stephen Harding, were the first victims of 
the savage invasion of Wyoming in the summer of 1778. On 
June 30, as they were returning from their corn field, some miles 
up the river from Fort Jenkins, where the family had taken refuge, 
they were assaulted by an advanced party of Indians, whom they, 
being armed, " fought as long as they could raise a hand, but 
were overpowered, shot, speared, tomahawked, scalped and had 
their throats cut." Their bodies were found, taken to the fort, 
now West Pittston, and buried. In after years their brother, 
Elisha Harding, erected to their memory a monument with this 
inscription : " Sweet be the sleep of those who prefer Death to 
Slavery." The late Benjamin F. Harding was a son of Elisha 
Harding. He was born in Wyoming county, Pa., January 4, 
1823; studied law in his native county and came to the bar in 
1847; emigrated to Illinois in 1848 and during the following year 
settled in Oregon; in 1850 he was chosen a member of the legis- 



John Slosson Harding. 621 



lative assembly; in 1851 was chief elerk of the legislative assem- 
bly; in 1852 was chosen a member of the legislature and made 
speaker. In 1853 he was appointed by President Pierce United 
States District Attorney for the territory of Oregon ; in 1854 he 
was appointed secretary of the territory, which office he held 
until Oregon was admitted as a state. From 1859 to 1862 he 
was a member of the state legislature, serving the two last years 
as speaker, and in 1862 he was elected a senator in congress from 
Oregon, taking his seat during the third session of the thirty- 
seventh congress. The famous engraving, " Wyoming, June 30, 
1778," well known to the residents of this county, was the first 
of a series of national engravings designed by F. O. C. Darley, 
and published in New York and London. The design is the 
same detailed in the following passage in Miner's History of 
Wyoming : 

"At Fort Jenkins, the uppermost in the valley, and only a mile 
above Wintermoot's, there were gathered the families of the old 
patriot, John Jenkins, Esq., the Hardings and Gardiners, dis- 
tinguished for zeal, with others. Not apprised of the contiguity 
of the savages, on the morning of the 30th of June, Benjamin 
Harding, Stukely Harding, John Harding, a boy, James Hadsell, 
James Hadsell, Jr., Daniel Weller, John Gardiner and Daniel 
Carr, eight in all, took their arms and went up about three miles 
into Exeter, to their labor. Towards evening, at an hour when 
aid could not be expected, they were attacked. That they fought 
bravely was admitted by the enemy. Weller, Gardiner and Carr 
were taken prisoners. James Hadsell and his son James, Benja- 
min and Stukely Harding were killed. John Harding, the boy, 
threw himself into the river and lay under the willows, his mouth 
just above the surface. He heard with anguish the dying groans 
of his friends. Knowing he was near, the Indians searched care- 
fully for him. At one time they were so close that he could 
have touched them." 

John Harding, the boy mentioned above, was the eighth son 
of Captain Stephen Harding, and was born about 1765. He 
married Affa Baldwin, resided in Exeter, and died in 1826. Isaac 
Harding, son of John Harding, was born in Exeter in 1797. 
On December 15, 1818, he was appointed by Governor William 
Findlay a justice of the peace for the townships of Blakely, Exe- 
ter, Northmoreland, Pittston and Providence. This office was 



622 John Slosson Harding. 



practically for life, as the commission always read, " as long as 
you behave yourself well," and only the best men in the com- 
munity received the appointment. From 1825 to 1828 he was 
one of the commissioners of Luzerne county. In 1 846 he re- 
moved to Pawpaw Grove, Lee county, 111. He was a farmer and 
was elected a judge of the county court of Lee county. He died 
in 1854. Garrick M. Harding was a son of Isaac Harding. His 
biography has already appeared in this series of sketches. The 
wife of Garrick M. Harding, and the mother of John Slosson 
Harding, was Maria Mills Slosson, a daughter of John William 
Slosson, and a descendant of George Slawson, who was in Lynn, 
Mass., as early as 1637, and in that year was one of the proprie- 
tors of the new town of Sandwich. He sold land in Duxbury, 
Mass., in 1638, and is claimed as an inhabitant there; he moved 
from Sandwich to Stamford, Conn., as early as 1642, and was a 
leading member in the first church, " and evidently a man of note 
in civil life." In 1657, as a deputy to the colonial assembly from 
Sandwich with Richard Law and John Waterbury, he presented 
to the court at New Haven the submission of the contumacious 
people of Greenwich. He was a deputy from Stamford to the 
last session of the New Haven colonial assembly. He died in 
Stamford February 17, 1694-5. Eleazer Slosson, of Stamford, 
was one of his sons. His will is dated April 29, 1693. Nathaniel 
Slosson, son of Eleazer Slosson, was born about 1696 ; bought 
nine acres of land at Captain's Plains, in Norwalk, Conn., Febru- 
ary 24, 1720-21, and" five acres at Kent, in Norwalk, March i, 
1720-21; and in each deed was described as "of Deerfield, 
Mass." He married Margaret Belden, daughter of William Bel- 
den, of Norwalk ; and probably began his residence in Norwalk 
directly after buying the land above named, for he was called of 
Norwalk November 16, 1721, when Samuel Belden gave him a 
deed of all of said Belden's right in the undivided lands in Nor- 
walk, " in consideration of the love and good will which I have 
and do bear towards my loving cousin, Nathaniel Slawson, of said 
Norwalk." He and his wife Margaret were among the members 
of the church at Wilton at the ordination of Rev. William Gay- 
lord, February 13, 1732-33; yet no record of their admission 
appears nor of the baptism of any of their children until the 



John Slosson Harding. 623 



tenth (Nathan), March 18, 1739. In the first division of lands in 
Kent in May, 1738, he drew lot No. 21, and tradition says that 
he settled thereon about the first of November, 1739, about three 
miles northeasterly from Kent village, in the district called Flan- 
ders. He was chosen constable of Kent December 4, 1739 ; the 
town meeting was held in his house September i, 1740; and in 
1744 he was a lister. They joined the church in Kent July 12, 
1741. His wife Margaret died April 14, 1780, in the 80th year 
of her age. He died March 8, 1787, aged 91 years. His grand 
daughter, Abagail, daughter of Jonathan and Abagail (Slosson) 
Skeel, married Captain Asaph Whitdesey, a native of Washing- 
ton, Conn., where he was born May 12, 1753. He was a son of 
Eliphalet and Dorothy (Kellogg) Whittlesey, and was killed in 
the battle and massacre of Wyoming July 3, 1778. Nathaniel 
Slosson was the ancestor of Hon. James Guthrie, secretary of the 
treasury under President Pierce, through his daughter, Sarah 
Slosson, whose grandson he was. Nathan Slosson, son of Na- 
thaniel Slosson, was born in Norwalk, recorded in Kent January 
30, 1738-9. He married, October 13, 1768, Elizabeth Hubbell, 
daughter of Jehiel and Elizabeth (Sackett) Hubbell and grand 
daughter of Rev. Richard Sackett, pastor of the second church 
of Greenwich, Conn. He served in the war of the revolution ; 
was " a sergeant major in the cavalry," and was detailed to the 
commissary department. He was at the capture of Burgoyne. 
He died October 5, 1821. His wife died January 16, 1829. 
Barzillai Slosson, son of Nathan Slosson, was born in Kent De- 
cember 27, 1769. He graduated from Yale College in 1791 ; and 
as he entered college in the senior year, he availed himself of 
the right to become a candidate for the honors of Dean Scholar, 
and obtained the first premium for excellence in Greek and Latin. 
He taught for a short time in the Sharon academy, then studied 
law with Governor John Cotton Smith, of Sharon, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar of Fairfield county, Conn., April 17, 1794. 
Between 1797 and 1812 he represented Kent in the Connecticut 
legislature. He was elected clerk of the Connecticut house of 
representatives in 1812. He married, October 25, 1772, Mary, 
daughter of Nathaniel and Mary (Cass) Hatch. He died in 
Kent January 20, 181 3. His wife died February 13, 1831. 



624 John Slosson Harding. 

Nathan, a brother of Barzillai, represented Kent in the legislature ; 
John, another brother, was a lawyer of Ridgefield, afterwards of 
New Miiford, Conn. William, another brother, received in 1803 
from Union college the honorary degree of A. M., and was a dis- 
tinguished lawyer in New York. Ezbon, another brother, was 
also a lawyer in New York. John William Slosson, son of Bar- 
zillai, was born in Kent December 20, 1795, and married, Sep- 
tember 26, 1824, Hannah Patty Mills, a daughter of Philo and 
Rhoda (Goodwin) Mills. She was the sister of Maria Mills Ful- 
ler, wife of Amzi Fuller and mother of Henry M. Fuller, of the 
Luzerne bar. Mr. Slosson was a merchant and settled in Kent, 
where he died Nov. 14, 1862. John Slosson Harding, eldest son of 
Garrick M. Harding, was born in Wilkes-Barre, Pa., August 29, 
1859. He was prepared for college at the public schools in 
Wilkes-Barre, at the academy of W. R. Kingman in this city, 
and at St. Paul's school, Concord, N. H,, which school he at- 
tended during the years 1 874-1 875-1 876. He then entered Yale 
college and graduated in the class of 1880. He read law with 
his father and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county No- 
vember 21, 1882. Since 1883 he has been assistant to the dis- 
trict attorney of Luzerne county. He is an unmarried man. 
Mr. Harding- has griven to the work he has had to do since com- 
ing to the bar such a color of wise discretion and intelligent effort 
as to quite fully prove that he has made the best possible use of 
the exceptional advantages he has had. The influence of con- 
stant association with his father, who is one of the foremost of 
our lawyers and was one of the most brilliant of our judges, and 
the training at Yale operating upon a naturally gifted mind, have 
made John Harding already one of the best of our young prac- 
titioners. He showed this during his term as deputy or assistant 
to District Attorney McGahren, a service which was so well per- 
formed as to earn for him the commendation of his chief and the 
applause of the bar generally and the court. It was a service 
valuable to himself also, since it must have given him exceptional 
familiarity with all our criminal laws and the methods of proced- 
ure under them. Mr. Harding is a democrat and quite an active 
member of that party, being secretary of the committee of the 
first legislative district, and a diligent and effective worker in 



CoRMAC Francis Bohan. 625 

every campaign as it arises. He is an affable gentleman, well 
read in general literature, a good conversationalist, and popular 
in social circles. 



CORMAC FRANCIS BOHAN. 




Cormac Francis Bohan, was born in Pittston, Pa., December 
14, 1862. He is a son of Paul Bohan, a native of the parish of 
Cloone, in the county of Leitrim, Ireland. The father of the 
last named was Cormac Bohan. Paul Bohan emigrated to 
America in 1850 and located in Hawley, Pa., where he remained 
until 1854, when he removed to Pittston, where he has resided 
up to the present. He is a leading and prominent citizen of the 
borough of Pittston, and was a member of the town council of 
that borough from 1859 to 1862. From 1862 to 1867 he was 
one of the justices of the peace of the borough. From 1872 to 
1875 he was a member of the school board. From the last 
named year to the present he has been a member of the " poor 
board of Jenkins township, Pittston borough, and Pittston town- 
ship," which includes also the townships of Lackawanna and 
Old Forge, and the borough of Hughestown. He was twice 
appointed to this position by ex-Judge Harding and twice by 
Judge Rice. He has also been in the mercantile business in 
Pittston since 1857. The wife of Paul Bohan, whom he married 
in Easton, Pa., August i, 1858, is Bridget Ellen McCanna, daugh- 
ter of Francis and Ann Bradley McCanna. She was born in 
the parish of Killasnot, county of Leitrim, Ireland. She came 
to this country in 1850, and settled in Easton where she remained 
until her marriage. C. F. Bohan was educated in the public 
schools of Pittston and at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston Pa., 
from which he graduated in the class of 1880. He then entered 
the law school of Yale college, from which he graduated in 1883. 
He was admitted to the bar of New Haven county, Connecticut, 
June 27, 1883. After his graduation he entered the law office of 
ex-Judge Harding, in this city, and was admitted to the bar of 



626 ZiBA Mathers. 



Luzerne county March 15, 1884. Mr. Bohan is an unmarried 
man and a democrat in politics. 

He comes to the profession equipped with a first class educational 
training, and the advantage of having read under a tutor who has 
been successful both in pleading and administering the law, and, 
being a young man of good habits, industry, and sound discre- 
tion, there is every prospect that he will reap the full measure 
of benefit from such auspicious coaching. 



ZIBA MATHERS 



Ziba Mathers was born in that part of the township of Kingston 
which is now the borough of Luzerne, October 25, 1858. His 
grandfather, James Mathers, was a native of Ireland, and when 
about twelve years of age came to this country with his parents and 
settled in Wellsboro, Pa. He afterwards removed to near Philadel- 
phia, and there married Mary Walton, and subsequently removed to 
this county. -From 1835 to 1840 he was engaged in the manu- 
facture of paper at Mill Hollow. His son, John Mathers, was 
born in 18 13, in Kingston township. He is a millwright and far- 
mer. The wife of John Mathers was Ann, daughter of Henry 
Stroh. He was born at Chestnut Hill, near Stroudsburg, Pa., in 
1792. His father came from Germany and settled in Monroe 
county and there married Christina Stroud. Henry Stroh served 
in the war of 18 12 as a sergeant. He removed to Hanover town- 
ship and there married. His first wife was Ann Petty. She was 
the grandmother of the subject of this sketch. The family is of 
German descent, and came to this country prior to the revolu- 
tionary war. Ziba Mathers was educated in the public schools 
of his native county, and during a portion of the years 1881, 1882, 
1883, and 1884 was engaged in teaching. He read law with 
Geo. B. Kulp, and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county 
June 2, 1884. In 1882 he was elected the first burgess of the 
newly organized borough of Luzerne. He is now the clerk of 
the town council, and in 1885 was appointed postmaster of the 
borough. He is a democrat in politics and an unmarried man. 



Edward Everett Hoyt. 627 

For a young man Mr. Mathers, as will be seen, has had many 
and quite important trusts, and it is only fair to say that he has 
discharged them all with entire acceptability to all concerned. 
Diligent in the prosecution of his profession he will lose no cases for 
want of the application necessary to familiarize himself with all 
the details, and the relation thereto of the law in all its phases. 
In other words he prepares his cases with great thoroughness. 
What has been aptly termed " the business feature of a lawyer's 
capacities," as distinguished from his professional knowledge, and 
which depends more largely upon his character as a man than 
anything else, is of far greater importance than some lawyers and 
many people seem to consider it. Good, general business qua- 
lifications, with a little less knowledge of the law, are more likely 
to bring success than a more familiar acquaintance with legal 
maxims and statutes, and no such general qualifications. These 
latter Mr. Mathers possesses in a remarkable degree, and the road 
is open for the attainment by him of a prominent place at the bar. 



EDWARD EVERETT HOYT. 




Edward Everett Hoyt was born in Kingston, Pa., January 22, 
1859. He is a descendant of Simon Hoyt, who was the first 
member of the Hoyt family who emigrated to New England, and 
whose arrival there was on or before 1629. Daniel Hoyt, the 
great-grandfather of E. E. Hoyt, removed from Danbury, Conn., 
to Wyoming about 1795, and was the first Wyoming emigrant 
of that name. His first wife was Anne Gunn. His second wife 
was Sylvina Pierce, daughter of Abel Pierce, of Kingston. He 
had no children by her. Rev. Ard Hoyt, who was born in Dan- 
bury October 23, 1770, was a brother of Daniel Hoyt. He 
became pastor of the Presbyterian church in Wilkes-Barre in 
1806, and remained in that position until 18 17. He then retired 
from this position and became a missionary among the Cherokee 
Indians. His first position was at Brainard, Cherokee Nation. 
He remained there for six years, then removed to Willistown, now 



628 Edward Everett Hoyt. 



in Alabama, where he died February i8, 1828. Lieutenant Ziba 
Hoyt, son of Daniel Hoyt, was the grandfather of the subject of 
this sketch. He was a native of Danbury, Conn., and removed 
with his father to Wyoming. He married January 23, 181 5, 
Nancy Hurlbut, a daughter of Christopher Hurlbut, of Arkport, 
N. Y. He was a descendant of Lieutenant Thomas Hurlbut, a 
native of England, where he was born about 161 5, and immigrated 
to New England in his early manhood. He was a soldier in the 
fort at Saybrook, Conn., in 1636, under Lyon Gardner, was 
wounded in the Pequot war, was one of the first settlers in 
Weathersfield, Conn., was voted a tract of land in 167 1 for his 
services in the Pequot war, was a member of the Assembly in 
1640, married and died in Weathersfield. He had, among other 
children, Samuel, who had a son Stephen, who had a son John, 
who had a son John, known as Deacon John Hurlbut, who was 
born in Groton, Conn., March 12, 1730. His wife was Abigail 
Avery, a native of the town of Preston, Conn. Deacon Hurlbut 
was a farmer and lived many years in Groton, probably always 
lived there until he left for the Wyoming Valley. He was an 
active man and a useful citizen, and was of much aid to his fellow 
townsmen in the early years of the Revolution. He visited the 
valley of the Susquehanna as early as the spring of 1773, having 
purchased an interest in the " Susquehanna Company." In the 
autumn of the years 1775 and 1777 he was also there temporarily. 
Selling his farm in Groton in 1777 he, with his family, stock, 
farming implements, etc., set out in the spring of 1778 for the 
valley of promise. Deacon Hurlbut was taken sick on the way, 
a young daughter also was attacked with a prevailing sickness, 
and she died in Lackawaxen. These misfortunes delayed the 
progress of the family in their journey, but it was spared the massa- 
cre of that year in the valley. They arrived in the following year, 
however, and experienced the hardships incident to the settlers 
of that period. Deacon Hurlbut was a member of the Connec- 
ticut Assembly in 1779, 1780, and 1781. He was also one of the 
justices of the peace at Wyoming, under the state of Connecti- 
cut. He was the great-grandfather of Henry Blackman Plumb 
of the Luzerne bar. As a religious man Deacon Hurlbut was 
prominent, and in the absence of a regular preacher he often 



Edward Everett Hoyt. 629 



officiated by reading or preaching a sermon. He died in Hano- 
ver, at the Stewart place, in Buttonwood, March 10, 1782, and 
was buried on his own farm, west of the house, near an orchard 
he had set out with his own hands. His widow died at the home of 
her son, Naphtah Hurlbut, in Pittston, Pa., November 29. 1805. 
Christopher Hurlbut, son of Deacon John Hurlbut, and father 
of Mrs. Ziba Hoyt, was born in Groton, Conn., in 1757, came to 
Wyoming in 1770, was a soldier in the Revolution from 1776 to 
the end, was at Harlem, N. Y., White Plains, N. Y., through New 
Jersey to Pennsylvania, thence in New Jersey again in the battle 
of Princeton, was discharged at Chatham, N. J., resided in Hano- 
ver till 1797, married Elizabeth Mann, died in Arkport, N. Y., 
April 21, 1 83 1. After the close of the Revolution he officiated 
as surveyor in the Wyoming Valley. The Christopher Hurlbut 
named in Miner's history as a surveyor, being there in the year 
1770, is an error. It should, without doubt, have been written, 
Stephen Hurlbut, an uncle of Christopher, who was in the valley 
in 1773, and very likely earlier. Naphtali Hurlbut, brother of 
Christopher, was sheriff of Luzerne county from 1825 to 1828, 
and was also for three years one of the commissioners of the 
county. He was a soldier in the Revolution, as was his elder 
brother John, who was a sergeant in Captain Franklin's company, 
in the Fifth Regiment of Connecticut militia. 

The father of E. E. Hoyt is John Dorrance Hoyt, of Kings- 
ton. He is a retired farmer and has always resided in that 
place. Henry M. Hoyt, an ex-governor of Pennsylvania, is an 
uncle of E. E. Hoyt, being a brother of John D. Hoyt. The wife 
of John D. Hoyt is Elizabeth Goodwin, daughter of the late 
Abraham Goodwin, of Kingston. The Goodwin family is of 
New England extraction. Abraham Goodwin was an associate 
judge of Bradford county from 1841 to 1844. The wife of Abra- 
ham Goodwin was Sally Myers, daughter of Philip Myers. The 
father of Philip Myers removed with his family from Germany in 
the year 1760, and settled in Frederick, Maryland. He had four 
sons — Lawrence, Philip, Henry, and Michael. The two former 
served the country in the revolutionary war, in the Maryland 
line, and were in the battle of Germantown. Lawrence had come 
to Wyoming and married Sarah Gore, daughter of Obadiah Gore, 



630 Edward Everett Hoyt. 



and became identified with the New England settlers. She was 
of the patriotic family that sent five brothers and two brothers-in- 
law into the battle. Lieutenant Lawrence Myers was ever a 
favorite. His large, round face seemed radiant with benevolence 
and cheerfulness. Besides several offices in the militia, he was 
for thirty years a magistrate, and from 1800 to 1803 a commis- 
sioner of the county. The plan of the old court house that was 
located on the public square, a cross, was introduced by him, taken 
from that at Fredericktown, which doubtless owed its origin to 
the Roman Catholic settlers of Maryland under their liberal and 
tolerant founder. The delight of his life was to talk of Frederick, 
and anything that existed or came from there was an object of 
his special regard. Owning one of the noblest plantations on the 
Kingston flats, adjoining the Plymouth line, though he did not 
personally labor, he caused it to be highly cultivated, the produce 
of which yielded a liberal support. In winter the large and 
elegant cloth cloak, in those early days an article of dress too 
fine and costly not to be rare, gave to his noble person an 
imposing appearance. He died at the age of fifty years, leaving, 
as he had no children, his fine estate to Mrs. Myers and his 
brothers. Philip Myers came to Wyoming in 1785, and was 
married to Martha, daughter of Thomas Bennett, July 15, 1787, 
he being aged twenty-seven and she twenty-four years. Thomas 
Bennett gave his son-in-law a town lot on the north line of old 
Forty Fort. On this he erected a comfortable house, constructed 
of yellow pine logs, hewed, and pointed with lime mortar, and 
limed on the inside. Mr. Myers purchased a lot of one hundred 
and forty acres, extending from Forty Fort to the top of the 
mountain. He cleared up his farm, and also raised a large family 
of children. For many years he kept a public house. His 
house being situated on an eddy in the Susquehanna, it was a 
great place of resort for the lumbermen, bringing their pine 
lumber from the upper part of the Susquehanna and its tributaries 
and taking it to the Baltimore and Philadelphia markets. The 
consequence was that Mr. Myers' house was thronged for weeks 
by the hardy " raftsmen " every spring. He died April 2, 1835. 
His widow subsequently married Rev. Benjamin A. Bidlack, as 
his second wife. 



Edward Everett Hoyt. 631 



Mrs. Myers was born in Scituate, Rhode Island, January 15, 
1763. The same year in which Martha Bennett or Mrs. Myers 
was born a settlement of Connecticut people was commenced in 
Wyoming, and Mr. Bennett rented a valuable property in Rhode 
Island, and removed to the Delaware, near Stroudsburg. He 
took quarters there with a company of people in a store house 
which was fortified and called a fort. Mr. Bennett's object was 
to settle in Wyoming, and accordingly he visited that famous 
locality, but finding the Indians surly, he for the time abandoned 
the project. The next year Mr. Bennett removed to Goshen, 
N. Y., and rented a farm for six years. He set his sons at work 
upon the farm, and took his gun, his axe, and hoe and visited the 
much coveted valley. Two attempts to effect a settlement in 
Wyoming were unsuccessful because of the hostility of the 
Indians, Mr. Bennett, losing all his labor, but more fortunate 
than some of the early settlers, escaping with his life. In Feb- 
ruary, 1769, Mr. Bennett joined a company of New England 
people, forty in all, who built a fort on the west bank of the 
Susquehanna, which, in honor of the forty hardy adventurers, 
was called Forty Fort. This fort was designed as a place of secu- 
rity against the Indians, but withal was to be a Yankee fortifi- 
cation, where, if need should require, the New England settlers 
would be able to take refuge from the Pennamites. Mr. Bennett 
selected a situation on the flats about a mile above the fort, and, 
clearing off a portion of it, put in some seeds. The following 
year, 1770, Mr. Bennett united with a new recruit of settlers and 
paused at the mouth of the Lackawanna, where they built a block 
house. Here they were all taken into custody by John Jennings, 
sheriff of Northampton county, Pennsylvania. As Sheriff Jen- 
nings was proceeding with his prisoners to Easton, at Wyoming, 
probably Wilkes-Barre, Mr. Bennett managed to escape, and 
returned to the east, as he was there in the month of September. 
His escape was made in the summer, and in September Mr. 
Bennett made arrangements to remove his family to Wyoming. 
He had examined the ground ; he understood all the hazard of 
the enterprise; his courage was equal to the danger, and the 
question was settled. As to property he had now but little to 
lose, for he had sold his farm in Rhode Island on personal secu- 



632 Edward Everett Hoyt. 



rity, and both the purchaser and security had failed, and the 
whole was lost. What by industry and economy had been 
saved in Goshen was now put into as compact a condition as 
possible and loaded upon pack horses, and the family commenced 
their march towards " the land of promise." The country now 
presented a striking contrast with the picture of Wyoming which 
was formed in the imaginations of Mr. Bennett's family. The 
grasshoppers had destroyed all the vegetation, and the aspect 
was one of utter desolation. They wound their way over the 
mountains and through the vales until they came to Shehola, on 
the west side of the Delaware, and here they were hospitably 
entertained by a Quaker by the name of Wires. The next 
morning " friend Wires " accompanied the miniature caravan as 
far as the " little meadows," where they took refreshments. Mrs. 
Bennett was boiling some chocolate over a fire made by the side 
of a log. She seemed unusually sad. " I don't know," said she, 
•' what I am about to meet. I think something pretty heavy." 
It was not long before several men came up from Wyoming — 
one bleeding from a wound made on his head by a club— and 
reported that the Pennamites had taken possession of the fort, 
and were resolved upon driving off all the New England settlers. 
A consultation was now held upon the proper course to be 
pursued. Mr. Bennett was a man of cool courage, and he had 
made up his mind to try his fortunes upon the fertile soil of Wyo- 
ming, and he was not to be turned aside from that purpose by 
anything but stern, invincible necessity. He was bent upon 
p-oing on. But what would he do with his family? Mrs. Ben- 
nett, who was not easily intimidated, said : " If it were not for the 
children I would go along." " Friend Wires" said: " Leave the 
children with me ; I will take care of them." Stimulated by the 
courage of Mr. Bennett and his wife, two men who had fled 
from the country resolved to return and try their luck again. 

Mr. Bennett was a great hunter, and the wild woods had more 
attractions for him than the old settled country at the east; for 
himself, he could live anywhere in the Susquehanna mountains 
by the aid of his rifle and hunting knife. Mrs. Bennett was not 
so cool as her husband, but was equally firm in her purposes and 
unterrified by danger. The company thought to find shelter for 



Edward Everett Hoyt. 633 

the time being with a Mr. Chapman, who had built a mill at 
Mill Creek, and who had been a neighbor and a friend of the 
family in Goshen. When Mr. and Mrs. Bennett reached Wyo- 
ming they found that the dispute between the New England and 
Pennsylvania settlers had already ripened into open war. Captain 
Ogden, the Pennamite leader, had built a block-house, which was 
called a fort, at the mouth of Mill Creek, and had in his company 
Sheriff Jennings. Mr. Bennett was a peaceable man, and did 
not enter at once into the war, but took possession of a small log 
house he had previously built on the flats just above Forty Fort. 
The grain he had put in, before his return to Goshen in the 
spring, presented a most delightful prospect of an abundance of 
provisions for the following winter. The Yankees — that is the 
fighters — invested the block-house, when Ogden proposed a par- 
ley. But no sooner had the besiegers entered the block-house 
to hold a conversation with the besieged, than Jennings served a 
writ on them in the name of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. 
They were thirty-seven in all, and they were all taken to Easton, 
a distance of sixty miles, to jail. They obtained bail and imme- 
diately returned. Again they were captured and sent off to jailj 
and again they were released on bail and returned. A re-enforce- 
ment of two hundred and seventy or two hundred and eighty 
Yankees, under the command of Captain Durkee, came on and 
built a fort where Wilkes-Barre now stands, which they named, in 
honor of their leader, Fort Durkee. The Yankees now held the 
ground and proceeded to the work of clearing farms and building. 
" The children " were brought on from Shehola, and Mr. Ben- 
nett was comfortably ensconced in his log cabin with his family. 

But a few months of quiet had passed before the Pennsylvanians 
came on with an augmented force, under the command of Ogden 
and Patterson, the latter bringing up the river, in a boat, a four- 
pounder. Ogden captured Captain Durkee and put him in irons, 
and took possession of the fort. The Yankees were now pillaged, 
and, as far as possible, driven from the country. The house and 
premises generally belonging to Mr. Bennett were robbed ; grain, 
cattle, and everything movable which could be found were taken 
from him, but he did not leave the valley. The Pennsylvanians 
now considered their victory complete. Ogden went to Phila- 



634 Edward Everett Hoyt. 



dclphia, leaving a few men in the fort. In the mean time Captain 
Lazarus Stewart came on with forty brave fellows and drove out 
the small guard from the fort, took possession of the cannon, and 
turned the tide once more in favor of the Yankees. Mr. Bennett 
now took up quarters in Fort Durkee, both as a measure of 
safety and of comfort. In the winter of 177 1 Ogden again made 
his appearance and invested Fort Durkee. His brother Nathan 
was killed by a shot from the fort, Mrs. Bennett witnessing the 
event. Stewart, finding himself unable to hold out against the 
superior numbers of the Pennsylvanians, managed to steal away 
when the Pennamites took possession. Captain Ogden was 
terribly enraged by the death of his brother, and, seizing several 
prominent Yankees who happened to be in the fort, sent them to 
Philadelphia in irons, charged with being concerned in the mur- 
der. Mr. Bennett did not belong to Stewart's party of fighting 
men, but had taken shelter in the fort with his family when he 
considered their lives in imminent peril. Stewart, with his men, 
left the fort, and Mr. Bennett fell into Ogden's hands ; and he, 
without the slightest reason, excepting that he was in the fort at 
the time, was. one of the suspected parties, and was obliged to 
endure the sufferings and disgrace of a suspected felon for five 
months in jail in Philadelphia. The explanation of this affair is 
to be found in the fact that an " inquisition " was held over the 
body of Nathan Ogden by Charles Stuart, January 21, 1 771, by 
which it was found that said Ogden was shot by " a certain 
Lazarus Stewart." But on the back of the report of the inquest 
is found "a list of the rioters in the fort at Wyoming when 
Nathan Ogden was killed." There were forty-seven of these 
" rioters," embracing nearly all the respectable Yankee settlers 
then in the country. Thomas Bennett was among these so-called 
" rioters," and was taken up as a party to the murder. The same 
evil befell several other individuals, and might have befallen any 
of the number upon the list. Fort Durkee was now in the hands 
of the Pennamites, and every few weeks they were running over 
the valley and giving the Yankees who had the courage to remain 
at their homes infinite trouble and vexation, not being particularly 
courteous even to the women, who had the assurance to stick to 
the " stuff" when their husbands were driven off or sent to prison^ 



Edward Everett Hoyt. 635 



Under these circumstances Mrs. Bennett gladly accepted an offer 
made her by the wife of Captain Manning to reside with her on 
what is now known as Scofield's Island, near the head of the 
valley. The two families pushed up the stream in company and 
arranged their scanty catalogue of furniture and fixtures in a 
rude cabin. The Bennett boys had managed to save some grain, 
which they concealed at the head of the island. 

In the mean time Mr. Bennett had been discharged, and had 
returned \vorn out with his tedious imprisonment, and badly dis- 
couraged. Captain Zebulon Butler had come on with a new 
recruit of Yankees, and had shut up Ogden in the fort at Mill 
Creek and cut off his supplies. This was in the spring of 1771. 
Ogden found it necessary to communicate with the Pennsylvania 
officials at Philadelphia, and, not willing to run the risk of send- 
ing a messenger, who would probably fall into the hands of the 
Yankees, resolved upon an ingenious and daring enterprise. He 
made his clothes into a bundle, and fastened his hat on the top 
of it, then tied to it a small cord some twenty feet long. Taking 
up his bundle he walked out into the current, and floated down 
on his back ahead of his hat and clothes. Of course this enter- 
prise was undertaken in the night. The Yankee sentinels saw 
the suspicious looking object and riddled the hat with bullets, 
but Ogden escaped unhurt and soon reached Philadelphia. He 
dashed about, and soon raised a quantity of provisions and a new- 
company of recruits, commanded by Captain John Dick. They 
stealthily entered the valley, and eagerly awaited a favorable 
opportunity of throwing themselves, with their pack horses 
loaded with provisions, into the fort David Ogden, a brother 
of the captain, was one of the company, and, learning that Thomas 
Bennett had returned from Philadelphia and was with his family 
on Lackawanna (now Scofield's) island, set off with a small posse 
in pursuit of him. The capture or murder of Bennett would be 
a clever little adventure while they were waiting for a few hours 
for a favorable opportunity to elude the besiegers and get into 
the fort. Ogden knew the ground perfectly, and easily eluded 
observation until he found his way to the bank of the river over 
against the island. The Mannings had received the intelligence 
of the arrival of Captains Ogden and Dick in the neighborhood 



636 Edward Everett Hoyt. 

of the fort, and of David O^alen's intended visit to the island. 
When Ogden and his friends showed themselves upon the beach 
Mrs. Manning said: "David Ogden is coming over the river. 
Bennett, thee must clear out or be killed." Mr. Bennett replied : 
" I may as well die one way as another. I have been in jail until 
I am worn out ; they have robbed me of all I have in the world, 
and now let them kill me if they will." The women, however, 
roused him from his deep despondency by seizing him by the 
arms and shoving him out of the door just in time to make his 
escape. He hid himself in the thick undergrowth while Ogden 
entered the cabin with the words, "Is Bennett here?" The 
answer was, " No." Mrs. Bennett asked, " What do you want of 
him ?," adding, " If you should find him you would do no harm 
to him." " Where is he ? " demanded Ogden in an angry tone. 
Mrs. Manning replied, " He is not here." Ogden repeatedly 
swore that if he could find him he would shoot him. He went 
out and scoured the w^oods but with no success. After informing 
Mrs. Manning that they intended to enter the fort the next 
morning before daybreak, and after satisfying their hunger with 
the good things of the cabin, they departed, but did not imme- 
diately leave the island. Judging rightly that Mr. Bennett would 
soon come forth from his concealment, they hid themselves within 
gunshot of the cabin. When it was supposed that Ogden and 
his men had crossed the main branch of the river, Mr. Bennett's 
sons went out and called him, and he came in. He sat down in 
a sad state of mind, and Martha (afterwards Mrs. Myers) seated 
herself in his lap, and flung her arms about his neck, and com- 
menced carressing him and condoling with him in view of his 
troubles and dangers ; and the sympathy of the child in this 
instance was a substantial good for it actually saved the life of the 
father. Ogden afterward said he intended to have shot Bennett 
and should have done it but for the fear of killing the child. The 
judgment of charity is, that it was not merely as a Yankee that 
Ogden had formed the deliberate purpose to take Mr. Bennett's 
life, but as an accessory to the death of his brother. But Mr. 
Bennett was in no way connected with that deed; its perpetrators 
afterwards fell in the Indian battle, as several affidavits to be 
found in the archives of the state abundantly prove. 



Edward Everett Hovt. 637 

On being informed of Captain Ogden's intended entrance into 
the fort early the next morning, Mr. Bennett, upon the pretense 
of going out to catch some eels, in the evening crossed the river, 
and went down to the Yankee lines, and communicated the infor- 
mation. When the Pennsylvanians made a rush upon the besiegers, 
just before day, they found them fully prepared for them. They 
lost their pack horses and provisions. Several horses were shot 
down under their riders, and a number of the party were severely 
wounded. Captains Ogden and Dick succeeded in entering the 
fort with about twenty of their men, but they entered to find 
famine and despondency staring them in the face on every side, 
and to feel the mortification of having contributed a considerable 
stock of provisions to the Yankee stock. The besieged Pennsyl- 
vanians, finding it impossible longer to hold out, capitulated and 
left Wyoming. Captain Fuller, one of the Yankee officers, said 
to Mr. Bennett : " You have suffered enough ; come down to 
Fort Lukins, (?) and you shall have as good a lot as there is there." 
Mr. Bennett took his family down to the fort but refused to take 
up his residence there. He fitted up an old horse shed in Forty 
Fort, and made it a comfortable residence for those times and for 
that country, in which his family lived for more than two years. 
During this period Mrs. Bennett presented her husband with 
another daughter — the late Mrs. John Tuttle, of Kingston ; and 
Martha began to develop extraordinary skill at house work, 
and great power of endurance. 

John Tuttle was the third child of Henry Tuttle, a native of 
Baskingridge, N. J., where he was born November 24, 1733. 
He removed to Wyoming in 1785 and settled near Forty Fort. 
John Tuttle was born in Baskingridge April 3, 1767, and married 
Mary Bennett January 11, 1789. His eldest. daughter, Martha, 
became the wife of Holden Tripp, whose daughter, Lucilla S. 
Tripp, married the late Charles FI. Silkman, who was admitted to 
the Luzerne bar January i, 1838. His second daughter, Mary 
Tripp, became the wife of Joseph Orr, grandfather of Nathaniel 
Marion Orr, who was admitted to the Luzerne county bar Sep- 
tember 23, 1875. The late Chester Tuttle, youngest child of 
John Tuttle, was born December 22, 1806. He was deputy 
sheriff, clerk to the county commissioners, editor of the Luzerne 



638 Edward Everett Hoyt. 

Democrat, the first captain of the Wyoming troop, and for fifteen 
years a clerk in the navy department at Washington, D. C. 

The tide had now turned in favor of the New England settlers, 
and large accessions were made to their numbers. Colonel 
Denison came in from Hartford, Conn., and took board with Mr. 
Bennett. He was married to Betsy Sill, this being the first 
match consummated among the settlers. Their daughter was 
the mother of Lazarus D. Shoemaker. He has a rocking 
chair in his possession that was owned by them, which he con- 
siders a valuable heirloom. Rev. George Peck, D. D., in his 
" Early Methodism " says : " Colonel Denison and his lady and 
three daughters became members of the Methodist church. 
Colonel Denison and Betsy Sill were the first couple married in 
Wyoming ; and the colonel commanded the left wing of the 
patriot forces on the occasion of 'the Indian battle.' He was a 
man of great influence in the county, of which sufficient proof 
was given by the responsible positions which he was called by 
his fellow citizens to fill. [He was a representative from West- 
moreland to the Connecticut Assembly during the years 1776, 
1778, 1779, and 1780. He represented Luzerne county in the 
Pennsylvania Assembly during the years 1787, 1788, and 1789. 
He was one of the judges appointed and commissioned for 
Westmoreland by the governor of Connecticut. He held the 
same position subsequently under the jurisdiction of Pennsyl- 
vania.] He was a kind hearted and ardently pious man. His 
house was open to the weary itinerants, and too much could 
scarcely be done by the family for their comfort. All the 
preachers made it a place of rest and refreshment, while several, ' 
at different times, were quartered there as a regular boarding 
place. * * * 'Phe venerable Bishop Asbury was there 
several times entertained, as we learn both from his journal and 
the testimony of members of the family." 

All this time the Indians were numerous but very quiet. 
When Mr. Bennett was taken a prisoner to Philadelphia some of 
them earnestly urged Mrs. Bennett to come with her children 
and live among them. Evidently considering her life in danger 
from the Pennamites, they wished to afford her shelter and pro- 
tection. Three years of quiet in the settlement had resulted in a 



Edward Everett Hoyt. 639 



high degree of prosperity. Plenty had crowned the labor of the 
settlers, and there had been a large accession to their numbers 
from the New England states, not merely consisting of young, 
hardy adventurers, but the old and infirm came on, with their 
children and grandchildren, to spend the remnant of their days 
in " the beautiful valley," and to lay their bones beneath its green 
sod. Mr. Bennett built a "double log house" on his land, 
which Mrs. Myers said " was then called a good house." " We 
removed," says she, " to our new house, raised good crops of 
grain, and had a fine stock of horses and cattle. We sold grain 
and bousfht articles of convenience from the Middletown boats. 
Father and brothers hunted beaver, bears, deer, raccoons, wild 
turkeys, etc., and we were in comfortable circumstances. Game 
was abundant at this period ; we often saw wolves, bears, and 
deer swimming the river." 

In December of this year (1775) the famous expedition of Colo- 
nel Plunkett took place. The New England people prepared to 
give the colonel a warm reception at the head of the narrows 
(Nanticoke) on both sides of the river. Mr. Bennett and his son 
Solomon were at the breast works below Shawnee (Plymouth) 
for two weeks, and Mrs. Bennett took down to them a horse 
load of provisions at two different times. Men, old and young, 
boys, and women were all on hand to act their part in the defense 
of their homes. After an unsuccessful attempt to storm the 
Yankee works, the gallant colonel undertook to take his forces 
in a bateau across the river. The first boat load, which, it is said. 
Colonel Plunkett commanded in person, was saluted by a brisk 
fire from the bushes by Lieutenant Stewart and his men, and one 
of the Pennamites was killed and several wounded. The gallant 
colonel lay down in the bottom of the boat, and ordered the men 
to push out into the river and go over the falls. The party in 
the boat and those left on the west side of the river met at the 
foot of the rapids, and, upon consultation, concluded that it was 
so late in the season, and the ice was accumulating so fast, that 
"prudence would be the better part of valor," and the Pennamite 
army returned home with diminished numbers, no spoils, and no 
addition to their reputation for either tact or courage. The expe- 
dition of Colonel Plunkett terminates the first period of this 



640 Edward Everett Hoyt. 



unnatural war — a war which was not only a public calamity, but 
inflicted untold griefs upon persons and parties who pined and 
writhed under its consequences in private, who never troubled 
the public with their heart-crushing griefs. It was the last effort 
of the proprietary government of the colony of Pennsylvania to 
remove the New England people from Wyoming. 

In the fall of 1777 Queen Esther came up the river with about 
a dozen Indians. She encamped at the mouth of Shoemaker's 
creek, but a short distance from Mr. Bennett's residence. Mrs. 
Bennett, accompanied by Martha, visited the queen's camp and 
had considerable conversation with her. She asked her if it was 
true that the Indians were coming to kill us all. She shook her 
head and shed tears. Her head was gray, and she seemed to be 
old. She remained there about a fortnight. Mrs. Myers said: 
" Not long after Queen Esther left the valley we heard rumors of 
violence committed at the north by parties of Indians, who 
strolled over the country. These reports created great alarm 
among the people of Wyoming. In June, 1778, about two weeks 
before the battle, we had seven head of horses stray away. The 
boys going in pursuit of them asked me to go with them and 
pick cherries. We had not gone far into the woods before the 
boys saw some young hickories broken and twisted in a peculiar 
manner. One of them exclaimed, ' Oh, the Indians ! The In- 
dians have taken away the horses.' This turned out to be the 
fact. Upon our return we learned that the Indians had been at 
Peter Harris's, above Scofield's. Soon after the two Hardings 
were killed ; and now we, with the settlers generally, moved into 
the fort. It was crowded full." On July 3 an Indian on horse- 
back was seen at the mouth of Shoemaker's creek, within sight 
of the fort. Upon finding that he was noticed he galloped off. 
Colonel John Butler now sent orders to the people in the fort to 
surrender, which were promptly refused. The question was now 
mooted whether they should go out and fight the enemy on the 
plains- above, or keep within the fort until re-enforcements should 
arrive. Captain Spaulding was coming on with an efficient, 
well-trained company, and Captain Franklin was on his way 
from Huntington with a company of volunteers, and it was the 
opinion of Colonels Butler and Denison that it was best to delay 



Edward Everett Hoyt. 641 



until the recruits should arrive. Captains Lazarus Stewart and 
William McKarrachan headed the party which were for marching 
out of the fort at once and meeting the foe. A warm debate 
upon the question followed, which closed with high words. The 
belligerent captains, perceiving that the majority was on their 
side, intimated that it was cowardice which influenced the views 
of the colonels, and that if they should decline the command, 
they, the captains, would lead on the brave men who would 
volunteer to go out and flog Butler and his Indians. These 
insulting insinuations roused the spirit of Colonels Butler and 
Denison, and they resolved to hazard all upon the chances of a 
battle. Colonel Butler said : " We go into imminent danger, but, 
my boys, I can go as far as any of you." Those who were fierce 
for fight seemed to be under the impression that the enemy was 
about to retreat, or that they would run as soon as they saw 
danger. They were anxious to meet and punish the Indians 
while they were within reach, and to chase them out of the coun- 
try. This, as they might have known, and as the event proved, 
was all erroneous. In this case, as in many others, hot-headed 
and reckless men prevailed against sober counsels. The little 
army formed and set out in the line of march in high spirits, with 
fifes and drums playing and colors flying. Mr. Bennett was one 
of the " old men " who volunteered to defend the country. He, 
however, was so certain that the little army were about to be 
drawn into a snare and cut off, that he declared he would go with 
them no further than " Tuttle's Creek," the distance of one mile 
or a little more, and he carried out his purpose. He left them at 
the creek, but his son Solomon went on. Soon after the little, 
patriot army had left the fort. Major Durkee, Captain Ransom, 
and Lieutenant Pierce came up on a gallop. They had left 
Captain Spaulding at Merwines', about thirty miles from Wyo- 
ming, and hastened to the point of danger. Dashing into Mrs. 
Bennett's cabin one sang out, " Can you give us a mouthful to 
eat? " They were furnished with a cold cut. Swallowing a few 
mouthfuls they took a piece in their hands and pushed on. They 
left the fort never to look upon it again ; they were all slain in 
the battle. 

When Thomas Bennett returned to the fort he paced the bank 



642 Edward Everett Hoyt. 



of the river back and forth in the greatest excitement. When 
the firing began he Hstened until he noticed the reports scatter- 
ing down the plain. He then hastened to his cabin, exclaiming, 
" Our boys are beat ; they will all be cut to pieces." He was a 
man of strong nerves, but no stoic. He walked back- and forth, 
and seemed all but distracted. At two o'clock the next day 
Solomon Bennett made his appearance and gave an account of 
his escape, and then, in company with his father, Thomas Ben- 
nett, and Andrew, his brother, a lad of about eleven years of age, 
left for Stroudsburg. There were many sad partings on that ter- 
rible day. The depth of sorrow which filled the hearts of hus- 
bands and wives, parents and children, brothers and sisters, on 
that day, and the day before, will only be brought to light by 
the revelations of the last judgment. Something more than a 
week after the battle the houses throughout the settlement were 
fired. The smoke arose from all quarters at the same time. 
Soon after this the widows of Timothy Pierce and John Murphy 
(their maiden name was Gore) with Ellis and Hannah Pierce — 
maiden ladies — requested Mrs. Bennett to visit the battle-ground 
with them to see if they could identify the bodies of Pierce and 
Murphy. They found the bodies of the slain broiling in the hot 
sun, but so changed that they could not distinguish one from 
another. The husbands of the two young widows, and three 
brothers— Silas, Asa, and George Gore— lay upon the ensan- 
guined field, but the heart-broken visitors had not even the poor 
satisfaction of identifying their remains. Martha Bennett had 
lost all her best clothes, and found that it was necessary for her 
soon to make a move of some sort to replenish her exhausted 
wardrobe. She finally ventured to sob out, " If I could leave 
mother and sister I would go with Colonel Denison down to 
Sunbury, to Captain Martin's, and work and get me some clothes." 
Esquire Pierce, coming up, inquired into the cause of Martha's 
grief Upon learning the facts he addressed her in his quaint 
style : " Go along, gal, go along and Pll take care of mother and 
child." She accordingly took passage in Colonel Denison's 
canoe, and arrived in Sunbury the next day. She found a com- 
pany of between thirty and forty persons from the valley quar- 
tered in a house. Miss Bennett was received with great cordiality. 



Edward Everett Hoyt. 643 

and invited to remain with them and be one of the household. 
One of the company was Desdemona Marshall, a daughter of 
Gad Marshall, one of the earliest inhabitants of Huntington. Mr. 
Marshall brought his family at the same time that John Franklin 
moved his into the almost unbroken forest, in 1776. His son, 
Job Marshall, belonged to Captain Franklin's company, and as 
he was at Plymouth on business on the day of the battle, he 
hastened on without his compan)^ and fell. Desdemona Marshall 
subsequently married Epaphras Wadsworth, Sr., of Huntington, 
and was the careful, industrious mother of a large family. Her 
christian principles and moral excellence were influential in her 
large circle of friends, and in the Methodist Episcopal church of 
which she was a member. She was the great-grandmother of 
Rosamond L. (Dodson) Rhone, the wife of Judge Rhone, of this 
city. The family of fugitives, united by common sufferings and 
common danger, was not to remain long together. There was a 
rumor of hostile Indians on the west branch of the Susquehanna, 
and a woman and boy were tomahawked and scalped in the ir 
mediate neighborhood. Miss Bennett and others went to. see 
them while they were yet alive. 

It. was soon rumored that the Indians and tories had agat 
visited Wyoming, and all the settlers had left. A company com- 
menced making preparations to go across the mountains to Strouds- 
burg, and Miss Bennett accepted an invitation to go with them. 
All the means of conveyance they had was a small cart drawn by a 
yoke of steers. There were some small children in the company, 
who were allowed to ride when they were tired, but as for the 
rest they all walked. Their journey was of the distance of about 
one hundred miles through the wilderness, and crossing the 
high ridges which lie between the Susquehanna and the Dela- 
ware. The Misses Bennett and Marshall with three other girls 
outstripped the rest of the company, and saw nothing of them 
during the day. They became hungry and turned aside and 
picked berries to satisfy the demands of nature. The path was 
exceedingly rough, and Miss Bennett's shoes gave out in conse- 
quence of the constant contact with stubs and sharp stones, and 
her feet were so injured as to leave blood behind them. " But," 
says she, " we made ourselves as happy as possible, amusing 




644 Edward Everett Hoyt. 



ourselves with singing songs and telling stories." They were 
constantly annoyed with fears of " the Indians," knowing that 
those dreadful scourges of the country might chance to cross 
their path at any moment. As the darkness of night began to 
approach they met two men whom they first supposed to be 
Indians, but, perceiving them to be white men, they sang out, 
" How far is it to a house ? " The answer was as cheering as 
it was cordial. " Two miles ; be of good courage ; we are hunt- 
ing for some cows, and will soon be in." The young pedestrians 
soon arrived, and found the house guarded by several men. The 
family had gone and most of the goods were removed. They 
made a supper of bread and milk, and lay down upon sacking 
bottoms from which the beds had been removed. They waited 
for the arrival of the company with great anxiety until about two 
o'clock in the morning, when, to their great joy, they arrived in 
safety. The morning's light came, and our travelers were early 
on their way. They passed through Easton, where they bought 
provisions. That day " the girls " kept within sight of their com- 
panions in travel. The third day, at night, they arrived at 
Stroudsburg. Miss Bennett there met her mother and sister, 
who had come over the mountains with Major Pierce and his 
family, but was greatly disappointed in not finding her father and 
brothers. Her brother Solomon had been to Middletown in 
pursuit of her, had returned that day, and set out immediately 
with Colonel Butler and Captain Spaulding for Wyoming. Mrs. 
Myers said, in relation to the events of that day : " One disappoint- 
ment followed another in quick succession, and I seemed almost 
left without hope." Mrs. Bennett and her daughters did not 
remain long in Stroudsburg, but went to Goshen, and early in 
the spring to Bethlehem, where Mrs. Bennett's brother, Samuel 
Jackson, resided, then to Litchfield, Nobletown, and Caanan, 
where they remained among their friends. In the fall Solomon 
Bennett came on with a horse to bring his mother and two sisters 
back to their loved and much desired Wyoming ; and finally Mr. 
Bennett's family, after two years' separation, were together again. 
Mr. Bennett had fitted up " one of Sullivan's old barracks, just 
opposite to Wilkes-Barre, for a house." They had an abundance 
of corn and garden vegetables, but no flour, as there was no grist 

■ ^ 



Edward Everett Hoyt. 645 



mill in the valley. The only resort of the settlers, for the time, 
was to a hominy block. This was a block cut from the trunk of 
a large tree, hollowed, and set on end. The corn was put in the 
hollow and bruised with a pestle hung upon a spring-pole. Such 
was the demand for hominy that this rude mill was kept going 
day and night. The girls often worked the mill, and not unfre- 
quently were obliged to Vvait long for their turn. 

There were now about thirty families in the settlement. Mr. 
Bennett could procure no land to work under cover of the fort, 
and finally resolved to make an attempt to work his own land 
above Forty Fort. On March 27, 1780, he commenced plowing 
within the " Ox-bow," a bend in the creek on the flats. His 
team consisted of a yoke of oxen and a horse. The boy Andrew 
rode upon the horse. When they came to the bend in the creek 
the horse seemed shy. Mr. Bennett said: "I fear all is not 
right. I think we will go around once more." When they 
came again to the same point four Indians sprang from the 
bushes, and one seized Mr. Bennett and another took Andrew 
from the horse. The Indians hurried off their prisoners, and 
soon came up with two more Indians, having Lebbeus Hammond 
as a prisoner. Mr. Bennett exclaimed, " Hammond, are you 
here? " With downcast look Hammond answered, " Yes." 
When Mr. Bennett left home he told his wife that if he did not 
return by sundown she might conclude some harm had befallen 
him. Soon after sundown Mrs. Bennett gave the information at 
the fort that her husband and son had not returned, and desired 
that a party might be sent out in search of them. Mr. Ham- 
mond's wife was also alarmed on account of his failing to return 
as expected. Mrs. Bennett and her remaining children were 
now left in a state of most cruel suspense for the space of six or 
seven days. Mr. Bennett was somewhat advanced in years, and 
was afflicted with rheumatism, and it was most probable that he 
would break down under the hardships of his captivity, and fall 
a victim to savage cruelty. The barbarous tortures inflicted by 
the savages upon the helpless victims of their fiendish orgies 
were all like household words with Mrs. Bennett and her child- 
ren. In the midst of the gloom and despondency of the families 
of Mr. Bennett and Mr. Hammond, and the general impression 



646 Edward Everett Hoyt. 



that the prisoners would never return, three emaciated, limping, 
reeling figures were seen directing their course toward the fort 
at Wilkcs-Barre. Who could they be ? As they came near it 
was discovered that they were " the Bennetts and Hammond." 
Their appearance almost seemed like a resurrection from the 
dead. The mystery was soon explained; they had arisen upon 
their captors at Meshoppen and cut them to pieces, and had 
found their way back to the embraces of their families and friends. 
Their feet had been badly frozen, and the consequences were 
most painful. When the excitement of their flight was over they 
scarcely had a spark of life left. Good nursing soon restored 
their physical strength, and Mr. Hammond and Andrew Bennett 
were able to get about in a few weeks ; but Mr. Bennett's feet 
were so dreadfully injured by the frost that several of his toes 
came off at the first joint, and he was obliged to walk with 
crutches for more than a year, during most of which time he suf- 
fered indescribably, and required much attention. 

The escape of the Bennetts and Mr. Hammond was on the 
fourth night of their captivity, and was as follows : When the 
Indians were ready to lie down, they pappoosed the prisoners, 
that is, fastened down with poles laid across them, with an Indian 
on each end of the poles ; then they drew their blankets over 
their heads and fell into a sound sleep. One only seemed to be 
on the watch. About midnight Bennett manifested great uneasi- 
ness and asked to get up. He received for answer : " Most day ; 
lie down, dog." He insisted that he was sick, and must get up. 
About one o'clock the Indians all got up and relieved the priso- 
ners, allowing them to get up and walk about. Bennett brought 
wood and flung it on the fire. In about two hours all the Indians 
were snoring again except the old watchman, and he commenced 
roasting a deer's head, first sticking it in the fire, and then scrap- 
ing off the meat with his knife and eating it. Finally the old 
fetlow began to nod over his early breakfast. Hammond placed 
himself by an Indian axe, and Andrew Bennett, the boy, stood 
by the guns, which were stacked. Both watched the movements 
of Mr. Bennett, who was poking up the brands. He had on a 
long great- coat, and, as he came round near the Indian, he 
cautiously took hold of a spontoon or war spear, which lay by 



Edward Everett Hoyt. 647 



his side, and stepped back with the instrument, covered by his 
coat, holding it in a perpendicular position behind him. When 
he had reached the right point behind the Indian he plunged 
it through him. He gave a tremendous jump and a hideous 
yell, and fell upon the fire. The spontoon was so firmly fixed 
in the body of the Indian that Bennett was obliged to abandon it, 
and to use a gun and a tomahawk during the rest of the fight. 
Hammond used the axe, dashing it into the head which was 
first lifted. An old Indian, who had given an account of Lieu- 
tenant Boyd's massacre, was the first to take the alarm. He 
yelled out, " Chee-w^oo, chee-woo," when Hammond buried the 
head of the axe in his brains, and he fell headlong into the fire. 
The next blow took an Indian on the side of the neck just below 
the ear, and he fell upon the fire. The boy snapped three guns, 
not one of which happened to be loaded, but his operations 
made the Indians dodge and jump straight under Hammond's 
axe, or the breech of a gun, which old Mr. Bennett had clubbed, 
and with which he did terrible execution. A stout Indian under- 
took to secure a weapon by a rush upon the boy. He sprang 
upon him with the fury of a demon, his eyes seeming to blaze, 
when the brave little fellow swung the breech of a gun, and 
buried the cock in the top of his head. Just at that moment the 
only two Indians remaining alive took to their heels, when Mr. 
Bennett, Avho could throw a tomahawk with the precision and 
force of afly red-skin on the frontier, picked up a tomahawk and 
let it slip, and it stuck in the back of one of them. The Indian 
turned round, being at about the distance of forty feet, and hol- 
lowed out, " Whoo," and his blanket fell from ,his shoulder, and 
the hatchet was left with it on the ground, he running off naked. 
It was an awful struggle, but it was not long. A minute and a 
half or two minutes and the work was done. Five of the savages 
were piled up on and around the fire, and two had fled, badly 
wounded. There was a great contrast between the present ap- 
pearance of the Indian camp under the rock and that same camp 
the evening before, when the blood-thirsty savage gloried in the 
barbarous deed of cutting off Boyd's fingers and toes, and pulling 
out his eyes ; and looked forward, perhaps, to the next night, 
when he would glut his savage vengeance in a similar manner 



648 Edward Everett Hovt. 

upon these prisoners, who were obliged to Hsten to the recital 
without the slightest expression of sympathy for their brave com- 
panion and friend. 

The prisoners were now free, and no time was lost. They 
supplied themselves with good moccasins from the feet of the 
dead and dying Indians, and took guns and ammunition for 
defense and blankets for their protection from the cold, and fif- 
teen minutes from the moment the last blow was struck they 
were on the line of march for their homes and friends. Lieuten- 
ant Boyd's sword was brought away by Hammond, and was 
afterwards presented to his brother — Colonel John Boyd. Mrs. 
Myers said : " We remained under cover of the fort for another 
year. Solomon married the widow Upson ; her maiden name 
was Stevens. Her husband was killed by the Indians. Upson 
with another man and boy were in the woods making sugar. 
When the boy was out gathering sap he saw the Indians come 
up slyly to the camp and pour boiling sap into Upson's mouth, 
while he lay fast asleep on his back. The other man they toma- 
hawked, and made a prisoner of the boy." In the spring of 1781 
Mr. Bennett,. his son Solomon, and old Mr. Stevens each built 
a small log house on the flats, near where Mr. Bennett's home 
stood before the massacre. They raised fine crops, and had 
abundance until another calamity overtook them, which was the 
ice flood in the spring of 1784. Mr. Bennett's house was taken 
down the stream some distance and lodged against some trees near 
the creek, and they lost seven head of young cattle. Mr. Ben- 
nett now hastily put up a temporary cabin, constructed of boards 
and blankets. Mrs. Myers said : " For seven weeks we lived all 
but out of doors, doing our cooking b}^ a log before our miser- 
able cabin. After this we occupied our new, double log house, 
and by slow degrees was improved so as to be comfortable." Mr. 
Bennett had just removed his family into his new house, while 
it was without chimney or chinking, when the old troubles 
between the two classes of settlers were revived. Armstrong 
and Van Horn, under the authority of the legislative council of 
Pennsylvania, had come on with a company of armed men, took 
possession of the fort at Wilkes-Barre, and proceeded to drive 
the New England people from the country by force and arms. 



Edward Everett Hoyt. 649 

Many families were driven from their houses ; among them the 
widows Shoemaker and Lee, near neighbors of Mr. Bennett. 
The first named was the grandmother of Lazarus D. Shoemaker, 
and Mrs. Lee was her sister. They were daughters of John 
McDowell, of Cherry Valley, Northampton (now Monroe) county, 
Pa. Mrs. Lee was the great-grandmother of Kate S. (Pettebone) 
Dickson, wife of Allan H. Dickson, of the Luzerne bar. In vain 
did they plead that their husbands had been slain by the tories and 
Indians, and they were helpless and defenseless widows, and they 
could not leave their homes and take a long journey through the 
wilderness. Go they must, and they made the best of the necessity. 
They left a portion of their goods with Mrs. Bennett, and were 
taken to Wilkes-Barre, and thence with Lawrence Myers, Giles 
Slocum, and many others, were hurried on towards "the swamp." 
At Capouse (Scranton) Myers and Slocum escaped ; but the great 
mass of the persecuted people had no remedy but to submit to 
their fate. Mr. Miner says : "About five hundred men, women, 
and children, with scarce provisions to sustain life, plodded their 
weary way, mostly on foot, the roads being impassable for 
wagons ; mothers, carrying their infants, literally waded streams, 
the water reaching to their arm-pits, and at night slept on the 
naked earth, the heavens their canopy, with scarce clothes to 
cover them." Mr. Bennett and Colonel Denison escaped and 
went up the river to Wyalusing. 

Mrs. Bennett stuck by the " stuff." She had never yet left the 
valley for the Pennamites, and she had made up her mind that 
she never would. She was not left, however, in the possession 
of her home without an effort to drive her away. Mrs. Myers 
says : "Van Horn and his posse came up, having pressed a Mr. 
Roberts with his team to carry off our goods. Van Horn ordered 
mother to clear out, but she finally replied that she was in her own 
house, and she would not leave it for him or anybody else. He 
ordered Andrew and me to put things upon the wagon, a service 
which we refused to render. Some of the men went out to the 
corn house, where there was a quantity of corn; but mother 
seized a hoe, and, presenting herself before the door, declared that 
she wouJd knock the first man down who touched an ear of corn. 
They looked astonished and left her." The Pennamiteand Yan- 



650 Edward Everett Hoyt. 



kee war was finally terminated on the principle of mutual conces- 
sion, but not without great difficulty. At the close of the revo- 
lutionary war the " Supreme Executive Council of Pennsylvania " 
petitioned congress for a hearing in relation to the Connecticut 
claim, " agreeable to the ninth article of the Confederation." Con- 
necticut promptly met the overture. A court was constituted by 
mutual consent which held its session in Trenton, N. J. The 
decree was awarded December 30, 1782, in favor of the jurisdic- 
tion of Pennsylvania. The Pennsylvanians, of course, were 
pleased, and the greater portion of the New England people 
made up their minds to submit to the decision. 

Solomon Bennett, son of Thomas Bennett, is supposed to have 
removed to Canada after the perilous times were over in Wyo- 
ming. Andrew Bennett, the other son, married Abbie Kelly, 
and lived and died in Kingston. The late John Bennett, of Forty 
Fort, was a son. For a number of years he was deputy surveyor 
of the county of Luzerne, receiving his first appointment in 1814. 
The late Charles Bennett, who was admitted to the bar of Luz- 
erne county April 7, 1845, was a son of John Bennett. The 
late Daniel Stiebeigh Bennett, of the Luzerne bar, was a great- 
srandson of Thomas Bennett. We are indebted to the late 
George Peck, D. D., author -of " Wyoming ; its history, stirring 
incidents, and romantic adventures," a son-in-law of Philip Myers, 
for many of the facts relating to the Bennett and Myers families, 
here inserted. The late Philip T. Myers, who was admitted to 
the bar of Luzerne county January 6, 1865, and William V- 
Myers, who was admitted to the Luzerne county bar February 
13, 1872, were grandsons of Philip Myers. Philip Myers, of 
Chicago, III, who was admitted to our bar August 8, 1855, and 
his brother, George P. Myers, of Williamsport, Pa., who was 
admitted to the bar of Luzerne county April 25, 1870, are also 
grandsons of Philip Myers. Thomas Myers, now of Chicago, 
their father, is still living at the age of eighty-four. He was 
sheriff of Luzerne county from 1835 to 1838. This was while 
Wyoming county was yet a part of Luzerne county. He is a life 
director of the Wyoming Seminary, at Kingston, Pa., and contri- 
buted towards its erection, in 1844, one-fourth of its cost.. 

Edward Everett Hoyt was educated at the Wyoming Semi- 



William Carroll Price. 651 

nary, Kingston, and at Lafayette College, graduating from the latter 
institution in the class of 1878. He read law with Dickson 
(A. H.) & Atherton (T. H.), and was admitted to the bar of 
Luzerne county September 17, 1880. He was on the board of 
the last seven years auditors, and has been a director of the pub- 
lic schools of Kingston for the past three years. Henry Mart^'^n 
Hoyt, of Spokane Falls, Washington Territory, who was admit- 
ted to the bar of Luzerne county September 7, 1885, is a brother 
of E. E. Hoyt. Mr. Hoyt is an unmarried man and a republican 
in politics. As will be seen, he springs from a family whose 
several branches have afforded this state and county many wise 
and useful men and women. To be born of such stock is a great 
advantage to a young man possessing the receptive faculty, since 
it gives him the benefit of associations from which he must needs 
draw both understanding and inspiration. Mr. Hoyt appears to 
have the faculty named, and to be withal a lover of his profession, 
and an assiduous student and worker in its ranks. He is but in 
the beginning of his career, of course, but has already developed 
a force of character and instinctive appreciation of the funda- 
mental principles of the law that bespeak a flattering ultimate 
success. 



WILLIAM CARROLL PRICE. 




William Carroll Price was born in St. Clair, Schuylkill county, 
Pennsylvania, March 2, 1858. He is the son of the late William 
Price, who was a native of Stalverah, Glamorganshire, Wales, 
where he was born April 15, 1815. His parents were Rees and 
Anna Price. William Price emigrated to this country in 1833, 
and settled in Pottsville. He afterwards removed to St. Clair, 
near which place he began business as a coal operator, and in 
which occupation he was engaged at the time of his death, April 
9, 1864. The mother of William Carroll Price is Rachel Price 
(riee Webb). She is the daughter of the late Henry Webb and 
Abagail Pike Webb, and was born in Northmoreland, Luzerne, 
(now 'Wyoming) county, Pa., April 24, 1825. She now resides 



652 William Carroll Price. 

at Eddington, on the Delaware river. The ancestors of Henry- 
Webb came to this country in the seventeenth century, and 
settled in Braintree, Mass., and afterwards removed to Windham, 
Conn. Henry Webb, son of Joel Webb and Caroline Webb 
[nee Wales), was a native of Windham, and in his young man- 
hood removed to Northmoreland, and subsequently to Blooms- 
burg, Pa., where he became the editor and proprietor of the Colum- 
bia Democrat, which had been in existence about a year at the 
time of his purchase. The mother of Abagail Pike Webb was 
Rachel Dorrance, a daughter of James Dorrance, son of Rev. 
Samuel Dorrance, who emigrated to this country from Ireland 
about 1723, and settled in Voluntown, Conn. James Dorrance 
was a brother of John Dorrance and Lieutenant-Colonel George 
Dorrance, who was one of the participants in the battle and mas- 
sacre of Wyoming, and who was slain in that engagement. The 
latter was the great-grandfather of Benjamin Ford Dorrance, of the 
Luzerne bar. Rachel Dorrance married Peter Pike in October, 
1 794. He was the father of Hon. Gordon Pike, of Wyoming county, 
and grandfather of the late Charles Pike, of the Luzerne county bar. 
William C. Price was prepared for college at Exeter (N. H.) 
Academy, and in 1875 entered Harvard University. He remained 
there two years. In 1879 he entered the law office of George M. 
Dallas, in Philadelphia, and was admitted a member of the Phila- 
delphia county bar in June, 1881. He made a visit to Europe 
the same year, traveling generally on the continent and Great 
Britain, returning home in August, 1882. He then came to 
Wilkes-Barre, and was admitted a member of the Luzerne county 
bar October 14, 1882. Mr. Price is an unmarried man, and a 
republican in politics. He is prominent in military circles, and 
is now first lieutenant of company D, Ninth regiment, of the Na- 
tional Guard of Pennsylvania. With the advantages of a collegiate 
education, travel in foreign lands, and a tutor in the law of the emi- 
nence of George M. Dallas, Mr. Price should be able to achieve 
success in his chosen calling. He is an unusually hard worker 
in his profession, and industry together with an earnest devotion 
to study — essential in the cases of even those best equipped — 
should give him a paying practice. 



Anthony Lawrence Williams. 653 



ANTHONY LAWRENCE WILLIAMS. 



Anthony Lawrence Williams was born October 10, 1862, at 
Ebervale, Luzerne county, Pa. He is the son of the late Richard 
Williams, a native of the parish of Llandybie, Carmarthanshire, 
Wales, where he was born February 22, 181 5. He came to 
this country in 1855, first locating in St. Clair, Schuylkill county. 
Pa. He subsequently removed to Hazleton and its vicinity. 
During the years 1871, 1872, and 1873 he represented Luz- 
erne county in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives. He 
introduced the bill incorporating the city of Wilkes-Barre. In 
1874 he removed to Audenried, Carbon county, where for five 
years he was a justice of the peace. He died January 30, 1883, 
at Audenried. The mother of A. L. Williams is Mary, daughter 
of the late Walter Thomas, of Pembrokeshire, Wales. Mr. and 
Mrs. Williams were married in their native country. Anthony 
Lawrence Williams was educated at the Millersville (Pennsyl- 
vania) State Normal School, graduating in the class of 1881. 
During portions of the years 1881, 1882, and 1883 he taught 
school, and was principal of the Jeansville school and also of the 
Beaver Brook school. He studied law with Alexander Farnham, 
and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county October 12, 
1885. He is an unmarried man, and a republican in politics. 

Mr. Williams shares many of the characteristics of his deceased 
father, who, though born in humble life, and pursuing an humble 
avocation, was large-minded and keen-witted, and successful in 
many things in which men who had had far greater advantages, 
and who were of apparently far greater attainments, proved 
lamentable failures. He had a ready, native intelligence that 
stood him in good stead upon all occasions, an inexhaustable 
stock of good common sense, and a capacity of reading men and 
understanding them that gave him great influence with them 
whenever he chose to exert it. As a leader in the early days of 
the old miners' union, he had the thorough confidence of his 
fellow workmen at all times, as well as the respect and esteem of 
the employers. He could endorse without playing the lickspittle, 



654 Frank Woodruff Wheaton. 



could condemn without offending. There was that about him 
that convinced all with whom he came in contact of his entire 
sincerity and honesty. He was conservative in temperament, 
and made that important element of his character count quite 
frequently to the mutual advantage of employer and employed. 
He enjoyed the confidence of both to the day of his death. His 
son is very similar in temperament and capacity to the father, 
and, being both industrious and devoted to his books, has, if he 
shall have reasonably good luck, a bright future before him. 




FRANK WOODRUFF WHEATON. 



Frank Woodruff Wheaton was born in Binghamton, Broome 
county, N. Y., August 27, 1855. He is a descendant of Robert 
Wheaton, who came from England to Salem, Mass., in 1636, being 
at that time about thirty years of age, and there married Alice, 
daughter of Richard Bowen. In 1645 he removed to Rehoboth, 
where he died in 1696. From him was descended Moses Whea- 
ton, of Richmond, New Hampshire, who married Sarah, daughter 
of Rev. Maturin Ballou and sister of Rev. Hosea Ballou. In 
Burke's " Life of President Garfield," whose mother was a Ballou, 
reference is made to some of the early members of the Ballou 
family, as follows : " Early in life this man [Abram Garfield] 
married Eliza Ballou, a near relative of Hosea Ballou, the great 
apostle of American Universalism. She became the mother of 
General Garfield, and thus he is allied to that distinguished family, 
which has given so many eloquent preachers and eminent divines 
to liberal theology, and for two centuries has left such deep and 
abiding traces on the scholarship, religion, and jurisprudence 
of this country." The Ballous are of Huguenot origin, and 
directly descended from Maturin Ballou, who fled from France 
on the revocation of the Edict of Nantes, and, joining the infant 
colony of Roger Williams, settled in Cumberland, Rhode Island. 
There Maturin Ballou built a church, which is still standing, and 
still known as the "Elder Ballou Meeting-house," and there, 



Frank Woodruff Wheaton. 655 

during a long life, he taught the purest tenets of the French 
Reformation with a fervent eloquence that was not unworthy of 
the great French reformers. They were a race of preachers. 
One of them (the father of Sarah (Ballou) Wheaton), himself a 
clergyman, had four sons who were ministers of the gospel. 
One of these sons had three sons who were ministers, and one of 
these had a son and a grandson who were also clergymen. But 
it is not only as preachers that the members of this remarkable 
family have been celebrated. As lawyers, politicians, and soldiers 
some of them have been equally distinguished. One of them 
was the eminent head of Tuft's college, and a score or more were 
officers or privates in the Revolution, and, nearer our day, 
another — Sullivan Ballou — the distinguished speaker of the Rhode 
Island House of Representatives — fought and fell at Bull Run. 
As a race they have been remarkable for an energy and force of 
character that are equal to the highest enterprises, and altogether 
undaunted in the face of what would be to others insurmountable 
obstacles. For this trait of character they are especially known. 
Rev. Maturin Ballou, the father of Sarah (Ballou) Wheaton, 
was born in Providence, R. I., October 30, 1722, and was the 
son of Peter Ballou 2d, who was the son of John Ballou, who 
was the son of Maturin Ballou ist. One of the most distinguished 
members of this family was Hosea, youngest son of Rev. Maturin 
Ballou. He was born at Richmond, N. H., April 30, 1771, and 
died at Boston July 7, 1852. At the age of nineteen he joined 
the Baptist church under his father's care, but, having declared 
his belief in the final salvation of all men, he was excommunicated. 
He began to preach at the age of twenty-one, and in 1794 was 
settled at Dana, Mass. In 1801 he removed to Barnard, Vermont, 
and in 1804 he wrote his " Notes on the Parables " and " Treati.se 
on the Atonement." In 1807 he became pastor of the Univer- 
salist church in Portsmouth, N. H. In 181 5 he removed to 
Salem, Mass., and in [817 to Boston, where he became pastor of 
the Second Universalist church, in which location he continued 
for thirty-five years. In 1819 he commenced the "Universalist 
Magazine," and in 183 1, in conjunction with his grand-nephew, 
also named Hosea Ballou, he began the publication of the " Uni- 
versalist Expositor," to which he continued to contribute until 



656 Frank Woodruff Wheaton. 

his death. Among his published works, besides those mentioned, 
are twenty-six "Lecture Sermons," twenty "Select Sermons," 
an " Examination of the Doctrine of Future Retribution " (1846), 
and a volume of poems, mostly hymns, many of which are cm- 
bodied in the " Universalist Collection," edited by Adams and 
Chapin. He preached more than ten thousand sermons, none 
of which were written till after their delivery. Two of his 
brothers — Benjamin and David — also became Universalist preach- 
ers. Two memoirs of him have been published, one by his son, 
M. M. Ballou, and the other by Thomas Whitemore (1854). 
From Benjamin Ballou wer» descended Hosea Ballou 2d, D. D., 
President of Tuft's college (1853); Judge Martin Ballou, of 
Princeton, 111; and Maturin and George William Ballou, the 
eminent bankers. 

Moses Ballou Wheaton, son of Moses Wheaton and Sarah, his 
wife, was born at Richmond, N. H., September 9, 1790, and died 
in Jackson, Pa., December, i860. His wife's name was Mary 
Aldrich. In 1815 he came to Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania, 
bringing with him his wife and two children and his aged mother. 
They were among the first settlers in the town of Jackson. 
Thomas J. Wheaton, son of Moses Ballou Wheaton and Mary, 
his wife, was born in Jackson March 29, 1826. He attended the 
district and select schools of his neighborhood, and Harford 
Academy, an institution of considerable reputation in its day, 
then under the charge of Rev. Lyman Richardson, a distinguished 
educator. He studied medicine with his brother, W. W. Wheaton, 
M. D., of Binghamton, N. Y., attended lectures at the Eclectic 
Medical College, of Rochester, and was a practicing physician 
from 1849 to 1858 in the counties of Bradford and Susquehanna 
and at Binghamton, N. Y. During the war of the Rebellion he 
was an engineer on the iron-clad " Dictator," the flag ship of 
Commodore Rodgers. Since 1858 he has been a dentist, and 
for the past twelve years a resident of Wilkes-Barre. He married, 
April 10, 1 85 1, Maria T., daughter of Lewis H. Woodruff, of 
Dimock, Pa. 

Lewis H. Woodruff was born February 25, 1798, at Litchfield, 
Conn., and died June 25, 1875, at Wilkes-Barre, Pa. At the age 
of seven years he removed, with his father's family, from Litch- 



Frank Woodruff Wheaton. 657 

field to Lisle, N. Y. He was educated at Hamilton College, and 
was married, March 21, 1830, to Almeda Hutchinson, of Lerays- 
ville, Bradford county. Soon after his marriage he located at 
Dimock, Pa., where for more than forty years he was an enter- 
prising and influential citizen. He built the first academy in the 
town, was largely instrumental in securing a fehurch building for 
the Presbyterian congregation, donating the land for that purpose, 
and in many ways contributed to the prosperity of the place and 
the welfare and happiness of his fellow citizens. He was the son 
of Andrew Woodruff, who was born in 1759, married to Miranda 
Orton, and died at Livonia, N. Y., March 27, 1847. He was the 
son of Deacon Samuel Woodruff, of Litchfield, who was born 
June 13, 1723, married to Anna Nettleton, and died in 1772. He 
was the son of Samuel Woodruff, " cordwainer," who was born 
at Milford in 1677, married Mary Judd, and died November 27, 
1732. He was the son, by his second wife, of Matthew Wood- 
ruff, who was born in Farmington in 1646, married (i) Mary Plum, 
of Milford. and after her death (2) Sarah, daughter of John North, 
and died November, 1691. He was the son of Matthew Wood- 
ruff, of Hartford, and Hannah, his wife, who was the first settler. 
He removed from Hartford to Farmington about 1640, and was 
one of the original proprietors of the town. He was freeman in 
1657, and died in 1682, his will bearing date September 6 of that 
year, and was probated in December following. 

Frank Woodruff Wheaton, son of Thomas J. Wheaton and 
Maria T., his wife, was educated in the public schools at Bing- 
hamton, N. Y., and graduated at Yale college in 1877. He read 
law with E. P. & J. V. Darling, and was admitted to the bar of 
Luzerne county September 2, 1879. He married. May 16, 1878, 
L. Maria Covell, of Binghamton, N. Y. She is a native of Tol- 
land, Conn. Mr. and Mrs. Wheaton have no children. In 1884 
Mr. Wheaton was elected a member of the city council of Wilkes- 
Barre. During the year 1885 and the present year he has served 
as chairman of the law and ordinance committee of the city 
council. 

Mr. Wheaton, it will be seen, carries in his veins some of the 
best blood of that new England which was the pioneer of western 
civilization and progress. He is a not unworthy scion of a 



658 Chakles Boone Staples. 



paternity marked for its learning, its ener^jy, and particularly for 
its labors in the spread of advanced and liberal ideas. At the 
bar he is noted tor a quiet and unobtrusive demeanor, for care in 
the preparation of his cases, and for a plain, matter-of-fact method 
of statement that often succeeds where mere eloquence and elabo- 
ration would fail. In the city council he takes a foremost part 
in the debates, particularly in such as arise from reports of the 
important committee of which he is the chairman. He is a most 
useful and universally respected member of that body. He is a 
republican in politics, active in forwarding the interests of his 
party. He has every prospect of a bright future before him. 



CHARLES BOONE STAPLES. 



Charles Boone Staples was born in Stroudsburg, Pa., November 
24, 1853. He is a descendant of John Staples, a native of the 
county of Kent, England, who came to this country, when a lad 
of eighteen years of age, on one of the vessels that brought tea 
into Boston harbor in 1774. During the Revolutionary war he 
served as a soldier in the patriotic army and fought for the inde- 
pendence of the colonies. He subsequently settled in Monroe 
county. Pa., where his son, William Staples, was born. Richard 
S. Staples, son of William Staples, was born near the Delaware 
Water Gap, in Monroe county, January 29, 181 8. He is still 
living, and is a prominent citizen of that county. During the years 
1872 and 1873 he served as a member of the .state legislature for 
the counties of Carbon and Monroe. The wife of Richard S. 
Staples, and the mother of Charles B. Staples, was Mary Ann, 
daughter of John D. Thompson, M. D., of Mauch Chunk, Pa. Her 
mother was a granddaughter of Colonel Jacob Weiss, the founder 
of Weissport, Carbon county, Pa. Charles B. Staples was edu- 
cated in the common schools of his native county and at Dick- 
inson college, Carlisle, Pa., graduating from the latter institution 
in the class of 1874. He read law with William Davis at 
Stroudsburg and was admitted to the bar of Monroe county May 



Peter Alovsius O'Boyle. 659 

26, 1876, and to the Luzerne county bar June 11, 1884. In 
1880 he was a delegate to the democratic national convention 
which was held at Cincinnati, Ohio. On May 16, 1885, he was 
appointed United States collector of internal revenue. He took 
charge of the office June 8, 1885. His district embraces the 
counties of Bradford, Carbon, Centre, Clinton, Columbia, Lacka- 
wanna, Lycoming, Luzerne, Montour, Monroe, Northampton, 
Northumberland, Pike, Potter, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, 
Union, Wayne and Wyoming. Mr. Staples married, March 7, 
1878, Althea Williams, a native of Stroudsburg. She is the 
daughter of Jerome S. Williams, of the same place. They have 
two children, Richard Somerville Staples and Jennie Williams 
Staples. 

Mr. Staples quickly rose to a leading position at the Monroe 
county bar after his admission thereto, and was in the enjoyment 
of a first class practice there when his appointment to the revenue 
service came to him. He was also well known in politics, as 
that appointment testifies. His administration or collection has 
thus far been marked by a skill and thoroughness that are very 
creditable to a new official. He has simplified the methods of 
collection in a number of particulars wherein the collectors are 
given an option, and has maintained a sharp look-out for infrac- 
tions of the law, not a few of which have already (September, 
1886) been detected and the offenders punished. His district, as 
is indicated in the names and the number of counties covered by 
it, is one of the largest and most important in the state. Mr. 
Staples in private life is a very companionable gentleman, a 
pleasant and ready conversationalist, and on these accounts a 
favorite in the social circle. 



PETER ALOYSIUS O'BOYLE. 




Peter Aloysius O'Boyle was born in the parish of Killfine, in 
the county of Mayo, Ireland, November i o, 1 86 1 . He is the son of 
Patrick O'Boyle, who emigrated to this country in 1865, in com- 
pany with his wife and family, settling in Pittston, Pa., where he 



66o Henry Hunter Welles. 



has since resided. The wife of Patrick O'Royle, and the mother 
of P. A. O'Boyle, is Bridget Hagerty, daughter of Michael Hag- 
erty. P. A. O'Boyle was educated in the pubHc schools of the 
borough of Pittston, and read law with Alexander Farnham, of 
this city. He was admitted to the Luzerne county bar July 27, 
1 885. During the past summer he was a delegate to the Chicago 
convention of the Irish National League of America. 

Mr. O'Boyle is yet but a beginner, though he has already gath- 
ered a number of clients about him, and achieved a reputation of 
throwing that energy into the prosecution of their business that 
is certain to win both their confidence and, if the law is with them, 
their causes, too. He is fortunate in being the possessor of the rare 
gift of natural eloquence, and on that account is already much 
sought after as a public speaker, particularly by the Irish and 
Irish-American and other benevolent and patriotic organizations 
of his vicinity. A young man thus qualified is practically certain 
to develop excptional opportunity for acquiring a practice. Mr. 
O'Boyle has all the fitness for successful and profitable work at 
the bar, and " there is always room at the top." 



HENRY HUNTER WELLES. 



Henry Hunter Welles was born in Kingston, Pa., January 21, 
1861. He is a descendant of Governor Thomas Welles, of Con- 
necticut, who was born in Essex county, England, in 1598. 
Early in 1636 Lord Saye and Sele, with his private secretary, 
Thomas Welles, ancestor of Henry Hunter Welles, came out to 
Saybrook, but his lordship, discouraged by the gloomy aspect 
of everything about him, and not finding his golden dreams 
realized, returned to England, and left his secretary behind to 
encounter the dangers and difficulties of the then wilderness. 
Mr. Welles, with his company, proceeded up the Connecticut 
river to Hartford. He appears for the first time of record in 
Hartford, in 1637, in which year he was chosen one of the magis- 
trates of the colony. This office he held every successive year 



Henry Hunter Welles. 66 i 

from this date till his decease in 1 659-1 660, a period of twenty- 
two years. In 1639 he was chosen the first treasurer of the 
colony, under the new constitution, and this office he held at 
various times till the year 165 1, at which time, being in the place 
of magistrate, and finding the execution of the duties of both 
burdensome, he himself moved the General Court "to be eased 
of the Treasurer's place ; " and the court granted his motion, and 
" did think of somebody else to be Treasurer in his room." In 
1641 he was chosen secretary of the colony, and this officehe held at 
various times. In 1649 he was one of the commissioners of the 
United Colonies. In 1654, Governor Hopkins being in England 
and Deputy Governor Haynes being dead, he was elected by the 
whole body of freemen, convened at Hartford, moderator of the 
General Court. This year he was also appointed one of the com- 
missioners of the United Colonies, but his duties at home pre- 
vented him from serving. This year, also, he was chosen Deputy 
Governor; in 1655 Governor; and in 1656 and 1657 Deputy 
Governor; in 1658 again Governor; and in 1659 again Deputy 
Governor. Thus, then, stretching over a period of tweoty-three 
years, from his first appearance in the colony to his decease, we 
find Thomas Welles perpetually enjoying the confidence of his 
fellow citizens, and occupying the highest post in the colony. 
As Secretary of State it was his duty to record the proceedings 
of the General Court and the agreements of the colony. We may 
presume that he ably discharged this duty, particularly as we 
find him charged at times with reducing to form the contracts of 
the colony, as in 1648 when he is appointed with Mr. Cullick 
" to draw up in writing for record " the important agreement of 
Connecticut with Mr. Fenwick, about Saybrook. It was this 
Saybrook affair that the next year, when Mr. Welles was one of 
the commissioners, formed a principal subject of deliberation in 
the first Federal Congress of the New World. She put a small 
duty on all grain and biscuit and beaver exported from the mouth 
of the river from the towns situated upon it, for the support of the 
fort at Saybrook. Springfield rebelled, and Massachusetts rebelled, 
and there was warm agitation at the meeting of the commissioners, 
and both Mr. Welles and Governor Hopkins nobly sustained the 
rights of Connecticut in the case and were triumphant, having 



662 Henuy Hunter Welles. 



procured the decision of every colony in their favor except that 
of " the Bay." Besides this subject there came before the com- 
missioners the very serious quarrel between the English and the 
Dutch about the settlement of Delaware Bay ; the seizure by the 
Dutch of the vessel of Mr. Westerhouse, in the harbor of New 
Haven ; the murder by the Indians of Mr. Whitmore, at Stam- 
ford ; other murders at Southampton ; and a dark plot against 
Uncas and the English on the part of the Narragansetts and 
Nehantics. The meeting was an extraordinary one, called in 
view of serious and alarming dangers. By a course of prudent 
action, in which the counsels of Mr. Welles had much influence, 
war with the Dutch was postponed, the Indians compelled "to 
keep the peace," and Uncas, in spite of the fact that he appeared 
before the commissioners with a deep stab from an Indian assassin 
in his body, was fined one hundred fathoms of wampum for 
too tender dalliance with the Pequot squaws. The entire proceed- 
ings of this congress of 1649 reflect high credit on the commis- 
sioners who composed it, and on Mr. Welles as one of them. In 
his part as moderator of the General Court, and as Deputy Gover- 
nor in 1654, Mr. Welles had to discharge all the duties of Gov- 
ernor, the Governor himself, Mr. Hopkins, being absent in Eng- 
land. This was a year of stirring events — of the arrival of Crom- 
well's fleet of ships for the reduction of the Dutch, and the quar- 
rel between Ninigrate and the Long Island Indians. Governor 
Welles twice convoked special sessions of the General Court ; 
effected the appointment of commissioners to meet Cromwell's 
officers at Boston ; quieted a violent dispute between Uncas and 
the inhabitants of New London, about lands ; and by correspond- 
ence with Governor Eaton and the colony at New Haven des- 
patched Lieutenant Seely and Captain Mason, with men and 
ammunition, to assist the Long Island Indians and check the 
assaults of Ninigrate. It was during his administration this year 
that the Acts passed sequestering the Dutch house lands and 
property of all kinds in Hartford, and thus forever cutting off a 
fruitful source of Dutch intrusion and Dutch impudence. To 
those familiar with the eternal annoyance which the settlers of 
Hartford received from Dutch Point, this act will appear a tall 
feather in the cap of Governor Welles. Governor Thomas 



Henry Hunter Welles. 663 







Welles was married in England about 1618. His wife's maiden 
name was Hunt — a very highly respectable family. She died 
in 1640, and he on Sunday, January 14, 1660. 

Samuel Welles, the fifth child of Governor Thomas Welles, 
was born in Essex, England, in 1630, whence he was brought 
with his parents in 1636 to Saybrook, and in the autumn of the 
same year to Hartford, where he lived until 1649, when he 
removed to Wethersfield, where he lived the remainder of his 
lifetime, and died July 15, 1675. He took the freeman's oath at 
Hartford May 21, 1657. He was elected deputy magistrate from 
1657 to 1661, inclusive. 

Captain Samuel Welles, the first child of Samuel Welles, was 
born in Wethersfield, Conn., April 13, 1660, whence he removed, 
about 1685, to Glastenbury, Conn., where he died August 28, 
1731. He was one of the selectmen of Glastenbury, and for 
many years was a member of the legislature of Connecticut. 
Hon. Thomas Welles, son of Captain Samuel Welles, was born 
in Glastenbury February 14, 1693, and died there May 14, 1767. 
John Welles, son of Hon. Thomas Welles, was born in Glasten- 
bury August II, 1729, and died there April 16, 1764. George 
Welles, son of John Welles, was born in Glastenbury February 
13, 1756, and in 1798 he removed to Athens, Luzerne (now 
Bradford) county. Pa. His name is prominently connected with 
the early history of Athens. He was connected by descent and 
marriage with the prominent families of Connecticut, and was a 
man of superior ability, and said to be a graduate of Yale college. 
Soon after settling in Athens he was appointed a justice of the 
peace, and became land agent for Charles Carroll, of CarroUton. 
He was licensed a " taverner " in 1798, and was annually licensed 
until 1 809. He was the father of General Henry Welles, of Athens. 
He died in Athens in 18 13. Charles F. Welles, son of George 
Welles, of Athens, was born in Glastenbury November 5 , 1 789. At 
the organization of Bradford county, in 18 12, Mr. Welles received 
from Governor Snyder authority to administer the oaths of office to 
the newly chosen officers, and himself was appointed prothonotary, 
clerk of the courts, register, and recorder. These offices he held 
until 18 18. Mr. Welles was a man of varied and extensive read- 
ing, and probably knew more of the history of the county, of its 



664 Henry Hunter Welles. 

resources and men, than any other man of his day. Though 
never a pohtician in the sense of aspirin<j for office, lie took a 
deep interest in pohtical questions. In early life he espoused 
the principles advocated by Jefferson ; later he became an admirer 
of Henry Clay, and a defender of his policy. During his ten 
years' residence in Towanda he exerted a well-nigh controlling 
influence in the politics of the county. His articles on political 
questions written at this time were marked by a breadth of view 
and urged by a cogency of reasoning that carried conviction to 
the mind of the reader, while the corrupt politician received 
scathing rebukes from his trenchant pen. As a man of business 
he was punctual, ready, accurate, of unquestioned integrity, pos- 
sessing a generous heart and a kindly feeling for the distressed. 
The tenants upon his farm or the people in his employ ever found 
him liberal in his demands and unexacting in his requirements. 
Though engaged in ejctended and frequently harrassing business, 
his interest in public matters continued unabated ; and it is 
believed that until within the last year of his life he never missed 
attendance upon a single term of court held at Towanda. He 
was admitted to the bar of Bradford county at its first term, but 
it is believed" that he never practiced his profession. He died at 
Wyalusing, Pa., September 23, 1866. He married August 15, 
1816, Ellen Jones Hollenback, daughter of Matthias HoUenback, 
of Wilkes-Barre. He was a native of Jonestown, Lancaster (now 
Lebanon) county, where he was born February 17, 1752, and 
was the second son of John Hollenback and Eleanor Hollenback 
i^nee Jones) ; his paternal grandfather came from Germany. The 
mother of Mrs. Welles, and the wife of Matthias Hollenback, was 
Mrs. Cyprian Hibbard, whose maiden name was Sarah Burritt, 
whom he married April 20, 1788. She was the daughter of Cap- 
tain Peleg Burritt, a native of Stratford, Conn., and who removed 
to Hanover, in this county, as early as 1773. Cyprian Hibbard, 
the first husband of Mrs. Hollenback, was in the battle and 
massacre of Wyoming, July 3, 1778, with his two brothers, 
Ebenezer and William, and was slain, the two brothers es- 
caping. 

Rev. Henry Hunter Welles, son of Charles F. Welles, was born at 
Wyalusing September 15. 1824. He graduated at the collegerfrj;QAjs 




Hexry Hunter Welles. 66 



3 



New Jersey, at Princeton, in the class of 1844. He also studied 
two years in the Princeton Theological Seminary. He was 
licensed to preach by the presbytery of Susquehanna August 29, 
1850. He began supplying the Kingston Presbyterian church 
December i, 1850, and was ordained and installed pastor of the 
same church, by the presbytery of Luzerne, June 12,1851. He 
resigned from the pastorate of this church in April, 1871, since 
which time he has resided in Kingston, and is supplying pulpits of 
churches in Lackawanna presbytery. He married, October 12, 
1849, Ellen Susanna Ladd, daughter of General Samuel Green- 
leaf Ladd, of Hallowell, Maine. 

He is a descendant of Daniel Ladd, who came to this country from 
England in the ship Mary and John, which arrived in Boston, Mas- 
sachusetts Bay Colony, in 1634. He was the founder of the towns 
of Salisbury and Haverhill, Mass. He had a son named Nathaniel, 
born in 165 i, who resided in Exeter, N. H., who had a son also 
named Nathaniel, of Exeter, who had a son Dudley, who lived 
at Haverhill, who had a son also named Dudley, who lived in 
Concord, N. H. He was the father of General Samuel Greenleaf 
Ladd, the grandfather of H. H. Welles, jr. General Ladd was 
the eldest of thirteen children. He was in business for a time in 
Concord in the hatter's trade, which was his father's business 
also. While yet a young man he removed to Hallowell, Maine. 
He established himself there as an hardware merchant and kept a 
large (the first) stove establishment on the Kennebec. During 
the war of 1812-14 he was captain of a militia company, and 
marched with his company to the defense of Wiscasset, Maine, 
against the British. For several years he was adjutant general 
of the state of Maine. In 1840 he left Hallowell and removed 
to Farmington, Maine, where he was engaged as an hardware 
merchant. In 185 1 he left Farmington and removed to Auburn, 
Maine, and from there to Kingston, Pa., where he died May 3, 1 863. 
While a resident of Hallowell he married Caroline Vinal. Her 
father was a son of Judge Vinal, a French jurist, who lived in 
Boston, having emigrated from France before the Revolutionary 
war. He was exiled on account of his political sentiments. His 
wife was of the nobility of France, either the daughter of a 
countess or one herself by a prior marriage. Their residence in 



666 John Montgomery Garman. 

Boston was on Beacon street, Boston Common, next door to 
the residence of Governor John Hancock. Caroline Vinal on her 
mother's side was a descendant of Deacon John Adams and his 
wife, Susanna Boylston, through Elihu Adams (a brother of 
John Adams, second president of the United States) and wife, 
Thankful White, whose daughter Susanna married Judge Vinal. 
Henry Hunter Welles, son of Rev. Henry Hunter Welles, 
was educated at the college of New Jersey, at Princeton, and 
graduated in the class of 1882. He read law with E. P. & J. V. 
Darling, of this city, and attended the law school of Columbia 
college during portions of the years 1883 and 1884, and was 
admitted to the bar of Luzerne county October 10, 1885. He is 
assistant treasurer of the Hollenback cemetery association. 
Having been at this writing less than a year at the bar, Mr. 
Welles could not be expected to have yet acquired a large prac- 
tice, but he has already shown himself the possessor of qualities 
that have won for him the esteem of his preceptors and other 
leading members of the bar, and gives evidence of the fact that 
with ordinary energy he can go to the front rank if he tries. 
He comes, as shown, from stock that faced greater difficulties 
than beset any of us in the race of life nowadays and won, and 
with the incentive of such a lineage there should be little 
question as to his professional future. 



JOHN MONTGOMERY GARMAN. 



John Montgomery Garman was born in Thompsontown, Juni- 
atta county. Pa., September i, 185 1. He is a great-grandson of 
John Garman, a native of Germany, who came to this country, 
with his father, when a boy, and settled in Lancaster county, in 
this state. His son, Jacob Garman, was a native of Lancaster 
county. John Levi Garman, son of Jacob Garman, is the father 
of John Montgomery Garman, and was born at Dauphin, Pa., 
subsequently settling in Juniatta county. The mother of the 
subject of our sketch, and wife of John Levi Garman, is Margaret 



John Montgomery Garman. 667 



Graham. She is a native of Thompsontown. Her father, James 
Graham, was a native of county Antrim, Ireland. He was con- 
nected with the Irish RebelHon in 1798. His name originally 
was James Graham McVannon, and when he escaped to this 
country he dropped the latter name. William McVannon, a 
brother of James Graham, was also connected with the Irish Re- 
bellion, and was executed by the British government for com- 
plicity in the same. John M. Garman married, October 25, 
1882, Nellie Carver, a native of Lemon towns'hip, Wyoming;, 

county, Pa. They have but one child living — Jessie Car?!^ 04^ 

« :f ■ U B I. ; 
Garman. W ^ 

The father of Mrs. Garman is Benjamin Carver. He is 
descendant of Jonathan Carver, who is among the list of taxables 
in Kingston township in 1796. Samuel Carver, his son, is also 
on the same list. The Carver family settled in the back part of 
Kingston township, near where the Carverton post-office is loca- 
ted. Samuel Carver was a local preacher in the Methodist 
Episcopal church. Doctor Peck, in his history of Early Metho- 
dism, relates the following in regard to Mr. Carver : " Our next 
appointment was in the neighborhood of Rev. Samuel Carver's, 
a most excellent man and a good local preacher. He was a 
bright and shining light wherever he was known. Brother Car- 
ver was one of the mighty hunters of those days. Hence he 
often brought in savory meat, such as bears and coons. Now, 
my colleague had an implacable aversion to coon's flesh. It so 
happened that on one occasion, about the time that Sister Carver 
had prepared a dinner of coon's flesh. Brother Kimberlin came 
in, and of course seated himself at the table with the family, ask- 
ing no questions (whether for conscience's sake or not deponent 
saith not). He ate most heartily, when about the close of the 
repast Sister Carver inquired how he liked the meat. He replied, 
' Very much.' She then informed him that he had been eating 
coon's flesh, and, with the muscles of his face distorted, he 
exclaimed, ' Sister Carver, why did you do so?,' and it was with 
some difficulty she could pacify him for the deception she had 
practiced upon him." 

Rev. Samuel Carver had a son, Isaac Carver, who had a son, 
Benjamin Carver, the father of Mrs. Garman. The wife of Benj- 



668 John Montgomery Garman. 



amin Carver was ICmilia Mitchell Carver. She was the daughter of 
Thomas Mitchell, a native of Warwick, Orange county, N. Y., 
where he was born in 1780. He was the son of Daniel Mitchell, 
an early settler of Pittston, where he died in 1787. Thomas 
Mitchell removed to Eaton township in 18 18. He was one 
of the first deacons in the Baptist church in Eaton, which was 
founded November 20, 1823. The wife of Thomas Mitchell was 
Mary, daughter of Elisha Harding, who was born in Colchester, 
Conn., April 8', 1760. He lived with his father. Captain Stephen 
Harding, in Exeter, from 1774 till the Wyoming massacre. In 
connection with that tragedy his brothers Benjamin and Stukely 
were massacred, but Elisha escaped, with other members of the 
family, to Orange county, N. Y. He spent the rest of the revo- 
lutionary period in Connecticut, and was one of the volunteers 
who went to the defense of New London when that town was 
sacked b> Arnold. He returned to Wyoming in 1784, just in 
time to be driven out by the Pennamites, but soon returned to 
fight it out. He was captured and put in jail at Easton, Pa., but 
escaped and returned. He married, in 1781, Martha Rider, of 
Pittston, and settled near the mouth of the Lackawanna. He 
moved, in 1789, to Eaton, Luzerne (now Wyoming) county. He 
was a justice of the peace from 1799 to 1812. In 1809 he was 
elected one of the commissioners of Luzerne county for three 
years. He died August i, 1839, at Eaton. Hon. Charles Miner, 
in his Hazleton Travellers, speaks thus of Elisha Harding: 
" ' He slept with his fathers ' is the simple and beautiful expres- 
sion of .scripture when an aged man has closed his earthly pil- 
grimage. Elisha Harding, of Eaton, has paid the debt of nature 
and gone down to the grave in a good old age, with the universal 
respect of all who knew him. One of the very few who were 
left among us who shared in the scenes and sufferings of Wyoming 
in the Revolutionary war, his departure creates a painful chasm, 
and compels the remark — a few, very few, years more and not 
one will remain who can say ' I was there. I saw the British 
Butler, his Green Rangers, and his savage myrmidons. I saw 
the scalps of our butchered people, and witnessed the conflagra- 
tion.' * * * Mr. Harding described the savages, after the 
massacre, as smoking, sitting about, and, with the most stoical 



John Montgomery Garscan. ^9 



indifiference, scraping the blood and brains from the scalps of 
our people and stringing them over little hoops to dry — a most 
soul-sickening sight. In a day or two Colonel Butler, his Ran- 
gers, and a party of the Indians, left the valley, abandoning the 
settlement to the tender mercies of the butchers, who chose to 
remain. Among the expelled, Mr. Harding sought his way to Nor- 
wich, Conn., bound himself to the blacksmith's trade, and, des- 
pising idleness and dependence, nobly resolved to live above the 
world and want by honest industry. After the war he returned 
to the beloved waters of the Susquehanna. Whoever dwelt on 
its banks that did not say, ' If I forget thee, thou clear and beautiful 
stream, may my right hand forget its cunning?' Whoever left 
Wyoming whose soul did not long to return to its romantic hills 
and lovely plains ? Married, settled, having an admirable farm, 
and he a first rate farmer, comfort and independence flowed in 
upon him, crowned his board with plenty, and gave him the 
means of charitable usefulness, in reward for early toils and 
present labor. A man of strong mind and retentive memory, he 
read much and retained everything worth remembering. Shrewd, 
sensible, thoroughly understanding human nature, few in his 
neighborhood had more influence. * * * Of a ready turn of 
wit, an apt story — an applicable scripture quotation — a couplet 
of popular verse, always ready at command, rendered him 
a prominent and successful advocate in the thousand inter- 
esting conflicts of opinion that arise in life. A keen sarcasm, a 
severe retort, an unexpected answer, that would turn the laugh 
on his opponent, characterized him, but never in bitterness, for 
he was too benevolent to give unmerited pain. Of old times he 
loved to converse, and his remarkable memory enabled him to 
trace with surprising accuracy every event which he witnessed 
or heard during the troubles here. A very worthy, a very clever, 
a very upright man, he leaves the w^orld respected and regretted. 
Thick-set, not tall, but well knit together, he seemed formed for 
strength and endurance. Of an excellent constitution, well pre- 
served by exercise, cheerfulness, and temperance, he had known, 
but little sickness." 

John M. Garman was educated in the common schools of his 
native county, and at the Bloomsburg Normal School, graduating 



670 John Montgomery Garman. 



from the latter institution in the class of 1871. He was a teacher 
from the time of his graduation until 1884. From 1875 to 1878 
he was superintendent of the common schools of his native county. 
For six years he was principal of the schools of Tunkhannock, 
Wyoming county, Pa. He read law with Louis E. Atkinson, of 
Mifflintown, Pa., and with William M. and James W. Piatt, of 
Tunkhannock, and was admitted to the Wyoming county bar 
in June, 1884, and to the Luzerne county bar January 29, 1886. 
Theorus D. Garman, who was a member of the Pennsylvania 
legislature during the sessions of 1879 ^^^^ 1880 is a brother of 
John M. Garman. 

On his removal to Luzerne Mr. Garman located at Nanticoke, 
where he has already made himself master of a lucrative practice. 
He is a man of the aggressive sort in the prosecution of his pro- 
fession, without timidity, who believes in forcing the fight against 
his antagonist — qualities that compel admiration, especially in 
new, bright, go-ahead towns like Nanticoke, where even the 
oldest inhabitants are still, in a sense, new beginners, and have 
not yet had time to become conservative. He is a ready and 
fluent talker, a very useful capacity in the profession, and one 
that has already brought him into some political prominence in 
the county. He was not a delegate to the democratic state con- 
vention of this year (1886), but happened to be in Harrisburg at 
the time the gathering was in session, and, being solicited, gladly 
agreed to accept a substitution for the purpose of presenting to 
the convention the name of Colonel R. Bruce Ricketts, Luzerne's 
candidate for the nomination for Lieutenant Governor. He had 
had no time whatever for preparation, but his speech, though 
brief, was pronounced by all one of the most eloquent and, in 
all respects, appropriate delivered during the session. Mr. Gar- 
man has a ready wit and a good memory, and with the gift of 
native eloquence, already referred to, he should have little 
difficulty in securing to himself an enduring reputation in our 
county. 



Henry White Dunning. 671 



HENRY WHITE DUNNING. 



Henry White Dunning was born in Franklin, Delaware county, 
New York, September 11, 1858. He is probably a descendant 
of Jonathan Dunning, who came to this country from England 
early in the eighteenth century. His son or grandson, Michael 
Dunning, removed from Boston to Long Island, where he married. 
He then removed to Goshen, Orange county. New York. 
Michael had a son Jacob, who had a son John, who married Polly 
Seely. John had a son John, who married Mehitable Bailey, who 
had a son Henry, who married Catharine Arnot. Charles Seely 
Dunning, D. D., eldest son of Henry Dunning, was born in Wall- 
kill, Orange county. New York, January 31, 1828. In 1846 he 
joined the junior class in Williams College, and was graduated in 
1848. He then entered the Union Theological Seminary, New 
York, from which he graduated in 1852. His theological training 
was obtained in this institution, and after serving the First Presbyte- 
rian church in Binghamton, N. Y., as stated supply for one year 
(1852-3), he returned to the Seminary to occupy the position of 
instructor in Hebrew. This office he filled with great acceptance 
during four years (1853-7). It is said that Dr. Edward Robinson 
pronounced him to be " the finest critical Hebre\^ scholar ever 
graduated at Union Seminary." In April, 1858, he took charge of 
the First Presbyterian church of Franklin, and was ordained and 
installed pastor November 8. In April, 1861, he was called to 
the pastorate of the First Presbyterian church of Honesdale, 
Pa. His relation to that church continued for nineteen years. 
In April, 1880, in consequence of the failure of his health, he 
resigned the pastorate, and soon after removed to Kingston, Pa. 
There having regained his health in a measure, he resumed the 
functions of the ministry, being a less laborious field of labor. 
But even this was too great a tax upon his strength, and after 
three years he was obliged, by reason of still failing health, to 
relinquish this charge also. In March, 1885, he removed to 
Metuchen, N. J., where he had purchased a pleasant home, in 
which he thought to wait, serenely, till the final call of the Mas- 



6/2 Henry White Dunning. 



ter. He had not long to wait. He died on the first day of the 
following June. His body was brought to Honesdale, where the 
best years of his life were spent, and laid beside the children of 
his household who had gone before. On the afternoon of the 
funeral all the business places in the town were closed, and the 
mourninef was creneral and sincere. All denominational lines 
were effaced. ' Jews and Gentiles closed their shops and stores. 
The Catholic priest of the village sat with the brethren of the 
Lackawanna Presbytery in the pulpit during the funeral services 
in the church, and stood with them at the grave. At a later date 
a memorial sermon was delivered by the Rev. William H. Swift, 
who, after a short interval, had succeeded Dr. Dunning in the 
pastorate at Honesdale. This sermon is now incorporated in a 
handsome memorial volume. Lafayette College in 1871 con- 
ferred upon Mr. Dunning the degree of D. D. Dr. Dunning was 
held in high esteem by all who knew him well, for his extensive 
and accurate scholarship, the wide range and strong grasp of his 
thought, and the simplicity, rectitude and moral elevation of his 
character. His influence was far reaching in the community. It 
was the influence of a true man among men, a man whose splen- 
did equipments of intellect and learning were recognized by all, 
a man whose greatness was accompanied by unassuming mod- 
esty ; and one whose life was the constant and everywhere man- 
ifest expression of the religion he professed. He was a preacher 
of no ordinary ability and power. His sermons were masterly 
presentations of truth. Eminently qualified by his deep insight 
into truth, as a whole and in its relations, by his exact and pro- 
found knowledge, and his habits of patient study, to be a defender 
of the faith, he spared himself no pains in the preparation of his 
sermons, many of which grappled with those profound and fun- 
damental doctrines which in these days are most vigorously 
assailed by infidelity. He published three discourses: (i) A 
Sermon occasioned by the Death of Henry Porter McCoy, 
Franklin, Delaware County, N. Y., August 26, i860; (2) A Me- 
morial Sermon delivered Sabbath evening, April 15, 1866, upon 
the Abandonment of the former House of Worship, Honesdale, 
Pa.; (3) A Discourse delivered on the Occasion of the Installa- 
tion of Rev. Henry C. Westwood, D. D., as Pastor of the First 



Henry White Dunning. 673 



Presbyterian church of Honesdale, Pa. He married. November 
4. 1857, Maria H., only daughter of Rev. Henry White, D. D. 
He was a descendant of John White, who was a citizen of Lynn, 
Mass., in 1630. Tradition says he came from England, but when 
is not known. The Howells, the maternal ancestors of Dr. 
White, were at Lynn at the same time. The Howells were origin- 
ally from Wales. In 1654 a colony, of which John White and 
John Howell were prominent members, purchased the tract of 
country on Long Island comprising a part, if not all, of the towns 
now called Easthampton, Southampton and Bridgehampton, and 
settled on it in a body at Southampton, bringing their own min- 
ister, school teacher, and artisans. John White had a son James 
White, who had a son Captain Ephraim White, who had a son 
William White, who had a son William White, jr., who had a 
son Jeremiah White, who had a son Henry White, the grand- 
father of Henry White Dunning. Jeremiah White emigrated to 
Green county, N. Y., and is there buried at Acra. 

Rev. Henry White, D. D., was born at Durham, Green county, 
N. Y., June 19, iSoo. He studied for the ministry at Greenville 
(N. Y.) Academy. Union College, and Princeton Seminary. In 
1826 he was licensed to preach, and was soon thereafter ordained. 
On account of health impaired by study, he first traveled in the 
south as an agent of the American Bible Society. In 1828 he 
became pastor of the Allen street PresDyterian church, New- 
York city. His ministry there was remarkably successful, and 
he had but few equals among the men of his time. He was one 
of the chief movers in founding the Union Theological Seminary, 
in the city of New York, and in 1836 was called to the professor- 
ship of Systematic Theology in that institution. The choice was a 
good one. Dr. White was an independent, acute, vigorous 
thinker, and an admirable teacher. He lived to serve the insti- 
tution for fourteen years, and is still spoken of by his pupils with 
ereat enthusiasm. Prior to the erection of the old edifice on 
University Place he had the students meet in his parlor for in- 
struction. He died August 25, 1850. Dr. White, as a Pharos, 
stood above the shoals of theological speculation. Whoever 
sailed by him avoided wreck. He was a steady warning to keep 
the open sea or to anchor in the roadstead. He had little sym- 



6/4 Henry White Dunning. 



pathy with that class of minds which love most the dan<^erous 
places of theological study. Not that he would leave such places 
unsounded, unsurveyed, but that he distrusted the fascinations 
which they have for the venturesome and the curious. His 
system was pre-eminently clear and simple. His aim was to teach 
what he himself had learned from the bible as a revelation. That 
which the scriptures did not reveal he was not anxious to ex- 
plain. He peculiarly disliked the mists of German philosophy, 
by which the students of his day were often befogged. His 
preaching was remarkably lucid and strong. He at once alarmed 
and attracted his hearers. If Sinai thundered from his pulpit, 
the light of the cross also beamed there, like that of the seven 
lamps which burned with steady radiance amid the flashes of the 
Apocalyptic vision of the throne. Circling about all the symbols 
of terror was the sign of mercy, the "rainbow, in sight like unto 
an emerald." He was still in the vigor of manhood when he died, 
but ready to be unclothed and clothed upon. During the last 
years of his earthly life he supplied the pulpit of the Sixteenth 
Street Presbyterian church in New York, and there preached 
not only with the power but also with the success of his earlier 
days, using old weapons, repeating old victories. The wife of 
Dr. White was Esther Brocket, daughter of Ebenezer Brocket, 
whose wife was Charlotte Loomis, sister of Rev. Hubbel Loomis, 
father of Prof. Loomis of Yale College. The mother of Ebenezer 
Brocket was Esther Hoadley, the daughter of Russell Hoadley, 
of Wallingford, Conn. The wife of Jeremiah White, grandfather 
of Henry White Dunning, was Matilda Howell, daughter of 
John Howell and Mehitable Jessup. The latter was the sister of 
the father of the late Judge William Jessup, at one time 
president judge of the courts of Luzerne county. Henry White 
Dunning was educated at the Williston Seminary, East Hamp- 
ton, Mass., graduating from that institution in 1878. In 1879 
he entered the freshman class of Princeton (N. J.) College and 
remained there for a year, but on account of his father's sickness 
did not return to the college. He commenced the reading of 
the law in the office of William H. Lee (son-in-law of Hiram 
Wentz, of this city), of Honesdale, and completed his legal studies 
in the office of Hubbard B. Payne, in this city. He was admi ^^ ^ _ 



George Hollenback Fisher. 675 

to the bar of Luzerne county June 5, 1882. Mr. Dunning is 
quite prominent in Presbyterian church circles, and was, while 
residing at Kingston, superintendent of the Presbyterian Sabbath 
school. He is at present the assistant superintendent of the First 
Presbyterian Sabbath school of this city. He is the recording 
secretary of the board of managers of the Young Men's Christian 
Association of Wilkes-Barre, and one of the vice presidents of 
the Luzerne County Sabbath School Association. He is also the 
lecturer in the commercial college attached to Wyoming Seminary 
on the law of decedents' estates. 

Mr. Dunning's ancestry, as the foregoing brief record will make 
apparent, were of the kind from whom strong professional men 
might naturally spring, and it is not too much to say that, 
although as yet but a few years at the bar, he has already given 
evidence that, with ordinary good fortune, he may rise to a prom- 
inent position thereat. He is of the sort who face the serious 
side of life with a determination to meet it seriously, and to over- 
come obstacles by careful study and energetic effort. We have 
been impelled on more than one occasion to refer to the fact that 
too many young men go to the law in the belief that the rewards 
of its practice will come like the flowers and fruits of the tropics, 
without effort and for the mere taking. The delusion is a serious 
one, and has led to ignominious failure many a young man who 
might, beginning professional life with a different view of its duties 
and responsibilities, and capable of a little better application, have 
taken rank with the best of them. It is no unmeaning compli- 
ment, therefore, that we pay Mr. Dunning, in mentioning that he 
has begun his professional career in a manner to indicate that it 
will involve continued research and labor. His equipment is of 
the best, and the realization is likely to be satisfactory to his friends. 



GEORGE HOLLENBACK FISHER. 



George Hollenback Fisher was born in Wilkes-Barre, Pa., 
October 13, i860. He is the son of the late William K. Fisher, 
for many years a resident of this city, but who was a native of 



6/6 Benjamin Franklin McAtee. 



Rush township, Northumberland county, Pa. Joseph Fisher, 
the father of WilUam K. Fisher, was a native of the state of New 
Jersey. The wife of William K. Fisher and the mother of 
George H. Fisher was Ann Ulp, a daughter of Barnet Ulp, a 
native of New Hope, Bucks county. Pa. The wife of Barnet Ulp 
was Sarah Treadway, a daughter of John Treadway, a native of 
Colchester, Conn. He was an early resident of Hanover town- 
ship, in this county. His name appears in the assessment list in 
1796. His wife was Hester Camp, also of Colchester. John 
Treadway was drowned in the Susquehanna river, about the year 
1800, while fishing for shad. George H. Fisher was educated in 
the public schools of Wilkes-Barre and at Selleck's Academy, 
Norwalk, Conn., graduating from that institution in the class of 
1877. He read law with E. P. & J. V. Darling, and was admitted 
to the bar of Luzerne county June 5, 1882. 

Of the younger men of the bar we cannot say much other than 
in the way of forecasting their probable future from such naturally 
few opportunities as they have had for exhibiting the material of 
which they are made. Mr. Fisher's mentors are among the best 
in the state. From their offices a large number of the brightest 
young practitioners at our and other bars have been graduated. 
Mr. Fisher has had the same training, and it is the testimony of 
those who have had a chance to know that he has turned it to 
o-ood account. He has natural abilities of a high order and ought 
to succeed. 



BENJAMIN FRANKLIN McATEE. 



Benjamin Franklin McAtee was born in Clear Spring, Wash- 
ington county, Maryland, December 28, 1843. He is a son of 
Thomas Walker McAtee, also a native of the same county. In 
the early settlement of Maryland two families of the name of 
McAtee emigrated to that colony. One was of the Roman 
Catholic faith, and they settled in Prince George county, and the 
other of the Protestant faith, of which the subject of our sketch 



Benjamin Franklin McAtee. 677- 



is a descendant, settled in Washington county. William A. 
McAtee, at one time a professor of mathematics and belles lettres 
in Princeton college, subsequently pastor of the Presbyterian 
church in Danville, Pa., and now pastor of a Presbyterian church 
in Detroit, Michigan ; Walter B. McAtee, president of the Corn 
Exchange, Baltimore, Maryland; and John McAtee, a lawyer 
at Hagerstown, and who is a partner of A. K. Syester, 
who has been attorney general of Maryland, are sons of William 
B. McAtee, a brother of Thomas Walker McAtee, the father of 
the subject of our sketch. John Quincy Adams McAtee, pastor 
of a Lutheran church in Philadelphia, is a brother of B. F. McAtee. 
The mother of the subject of our sketch is Mary McAtee {iiee 
Brinham) She is the daughter of John Brinham, a native of 
Beaver Creek, Washington county. Mr. Brinham is of an old 
Maryland family. He was a slaveholder, and in his will he pro- 
vided that all his slaves should be free at the age of twenty-eight 
years, and that none of them should be sold out of Washington 
county. He died in 1858. B. F. McAtee was educated at the Clear 
Spring Academy, and when eighteen years of age commenced to 
teach school in Hagerstown. During the late civil war he was 
second lieutenant in the First Maryland Cavalry. After his term 
of service was over he removed to Washington, Ohio, and studied 
law with John B. Priddy, and was admitted to the Fayette county 
(Ohio) bar May 15, 1871. After a short time he removed to 
Hereford township, Berks county. Pa., and in the fall of 1872 he 
was admitted to the bar of the counties of Montgomery and Ches- 
ter. About the same time he removed to Pottstown, Mont- 
gomery county. After residing there for several years he 
removed to Phoenixville, Chester county, keeping up his practice 
in both counties. In 1884 he concluded to remove to Pittston, 
where he now resides. He was admitted to the Luzerne county 
bar September 3, 1884. Mr. McAtee married Adelia Young 
Shelly, a daughter of Joel Yeakel Shelly, M. D., of Hereford- 
ville, Berks county. Pa. Mr. and Mrs. McAtee have no children 
Hving. Abraham Shelly, M. D., father of J. Y. Shelly, M. D:,, 
lived for many years in Milford township, Bucks county. Pa., 
near what is known as the Swamp church. The Doctors Shelly 
are evidently descendants of an old family by that name, for we find. 



6/8 Benjamin Franklin McAtee, 

that as early as May 25, 1725, Jacob Shelly was a land owner in Mil- 
ford, and in 1 749 one Abraham Shelly was a petitioner for a road. 
Dr. Abraham Shelly was the father of twelve children — Captain 
Edward Shelly, of St. Paul, Minn., Edmund Shelly, who is 
now deceased, was a book publisher in Philadelphia, Bcnneville 
Shelly, M. D., who now resides in Florida, and Joel Y. Shelly, M. 
D., father of Mrs. McAtee, were sons of Abraham Shelly, M. D. 
Joel Y. Shelly, M. D., resided in Herefordville from his gradu- 
ation until his death. He was a public spirited citizen, and at 
the head of every movement for the educational and social 
advancement of his neighborhood. He had eleven children, five 
of whom are now deceased. Two of his sons are engaged in the 
hardware business in AUentown, one son in the wholesale spice 
business in Philadelphia, and another son is a Reformed minister 
in Florida. Of his two daughters, one is married to Rev. O. F. 
Waage, a Lutheran minister at Pennsburg, Pa., and the other is 
the wife of B. ¥. McAtee. Dr. J. Y. Shelly was a cousin of 
Mary Clemmer, a prominent writer at Washington, D. C, and 
whose second husband was Edmund Hud.son, a very able jour- 
nalist. Christian Young, father of Mrs. J. Y. Shelly, was a 
native of Bucks county. Pa., probably of Milford township, as a 
certain Felty Young was a landholder there as early as 1734. 
He removed to Hanover township, Lehigh county, Pa., and 
opened a store near Coopersburg in 1800. In 181 2 he opened 
the Black Horse Tavern, which he kept till his removal to 
Bucks county in 18 18. Samuel Young, M. D., was the eldest 
of his sons. He was a very successful physician, and practiced 
in Colebrookdale, Berks county. Pa., for over twenty-five years, 
but after the death of his son, Oliver Young, also a physician, 
removed -to Milford Square, Bucks county, and thence for an 
easier field of practice in old age to AUentown, Pa. He died in 
1882. Joseph Young, M. S. Young, and William Young were 
also sons of Christian Young. The first two named founded the 
extensive hardware establishment of M. S. Young & Co , the 
largest in the Lehigh valley. M. S. Young died in 1881. The 
business, however, continues as before. The wife of Samuel 
Youne, M. D., was Anna Maria Dickensheid, daughter of 
John H. Dickensheid, M. D., of AUentown. Dr. Dickensheid 



Benjamin Franklin McAtee. 679 



was a great grandson of Valentine Dickensheid, who emi- 
grated from Germany previous to 1765 and settled in Goshen- 
hoppen, and moved in 1768 to Upper Milford, Northampton 
(now Lehigh) county. Charles Frederick Dickensheid, M. D., 
father of John H. Dickensheid, M. D., was a surgeon in the 
war of 18 1 2. Of the other children of Christian Young, James 
Young, one of his sons, is president of a bank in Germantown, 
Pa. ; another son, Andrew Young, was a minister in the Reformed 
church, and professor of languages in Franklin and Marshall 
college, Lancaster, Pa. His widow married Professor Coffin, of 
Lafayette college, Easton, Pa. Ebenezer Young was a mer- 
chant in Belvidere, N. J. One of his daughters married a Mr. 
Sieger, whose only child is the wife of Hon. Edwin Albright, 
president judge of the courts of Lehigh county. The other 
daughter of Christian Young became the wife of Joel Y. 
Shelly, M. D. 

Though but a short time a resident and practitioner in this 
county, Mr. McAtee has already built up a large and profitable 
practice. He is a hard working attorney, and impresses clients 
by the evident earnestness with which he takes up the advocacy 
of their causes. Very carefully read in the principles of the law, 
and devoting every spare hour to the study of new statutes and 
decisions, he carries to every proceeding in which he is employed 
what the brightest of men cannot without such application possess, 
for no possible natural ability, no degree of inborn eloquence 
can compensate for an inedequate understanding of what " the 
books " contain. He evidently likes the profession, which is far 
from being a drawback, and seeks to win as much if not more 
for the sake of winning than for the fees involved. His army 
experience and his practice in the other counties in which, as 
above recited, he has been located, adding so much to his knowl- 
edge of men and things generally, are necessarily an aid to him in 
his present situation. He stands well with the people of Pittston, 
and has already an enviable reputation with his fellow-professionals- 
at the county seat. 



68o Pekcival Coover Kauffman. 



PERCIVAL COOVER KAUFFMAN. 



Percival Coover Kauffman, of Hazleton, is a native of Mechan- 
icsburg, Cumberland county, Pa., where he was born August 13, 
1857. His great-great-grandfather. Christian Kauffman, emi- 
grated to America from Germany about 1750, and settled in 
Manor township, Lancaster county. Pa., where he died March i, 
1799. He was married to Barbara Bear, whose death occurred 
January 12, 1801. They had six children, of whom Isaac, the 
second son, and great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch, 
was born in Manor township in 1762, and died January 4, 1826. 
In the year 1786 he married Catharine Baughman, who died July 
9, 1833. Their youngest son, Andrew I. Kauffman, father of 
Levi Kauffman, was born August 24, 1802, at the old homestead 
in Manor township, and spent the greater part of his life in that 
township. He represented Lancaster county in the House of 
Representatives in the state legislature, and was closely asso- 
ciated with George Wolf, Thaddeus Stevens and Thomas H. 
Burrows in the establishment of our justly prized common school 
system. In 1850 he became a resident of Cumberland county, 
and in 1853 removed to Mechanicsburg, where he engaged 
in mercantile pursuits, and continued therein until his death, 
which occurred December 14, 1861. Andrew I. Kauffman 
was married March 24, 1825, to Catharine Shuman, who was 
born July 16, 1806, and was the only daughter of Christian 
Shuman, of Manor township. She died at Mechanicsburg May 
18, 1875. 

Levi Kauffman, their fourth son, was born at Little Washing- 
ton, Lancaster county. Pa., September 13, 1833. At the early 
age of thirteen he left home and entered the drug store of Dr. 
George Ross, at Elizabethtown, as an apprentice. At the end of 
four years he received from Dr. Ross a strong testimonial of his 
ability as a druggist, aptness, intelligence, and integrity of char- 
acter. Mr. Kauffman remained in the drug business in Eliza- 
bethtown until April, 1854, when he removed to Mechanicsburg, 
and opened a new drug store in that place. A year or two later, 



Percival Coover Kauffman. 68 1 

in connection with his father, Andrew I. Kauffman, and Henry 
C. Rupp, he entered the hardware business, connecting his drug 
store therewith, and continued therein until 1859, when he 
accepted the position of cashier in the banking house of Merkel, 
Mumma & Q)., subsequently chartered as the First National 
Bank of Mechanicsburg, Pa. This position he resigned in 
1862, when he was appointed, by President Lincoln, collector 
of internal revenue for the Fifteenth district of Pennsylvania, 
comprising the counties of Cumberland, York and Perry. 
He held that position until September, 1866, when he resigned. 
His letter of resignation, published in the Philadelphia Press, 
we here reproduce. It shows his character and sterling patriot- 
ism : 

Collector's Office, U. S. Internal Revenue, 
15TH District, Pa. 

Mechanicsburg, Pa., July 30. 1866. 
Hon. a. W. Randall, President National Union Club, Wash- 
ington, D. C. — Sir : — Your call for a National Union Convention 
at Philadelphia for August 14th next has just been received. You 
say if the call meets my approbation to signify it by a brief letter 
with authority to publish the same. I assisted in placing in 
nomination President Johnson at Baltimore, and I believe in the 
doctrine that "Treason is a crime and must be punished," but I 
dot not like the manner of punishing traitors adopted by him ; 
and as I am an ardent admirer of the wisdom and statesmanship 
of Hon. Thaddeus Stevens and his co-laborers, who have ren- 
dered themselves immortal in the Congress just closed, I cannot 
endorse the doctrines contained in the "call." Again, I am doing 
all I can to aid the election of Gen. Geary as Governor of Penn- 
sylvania; and believing, as I do, that one of the objects of the 
Philadelphia convention is to aid in his defeat, I am decidedly 
opposed to it. 

I write this, of course, with the understanding that it involves 
my removal from office. I trust, however, that you will have a 
good soldier appointed in my place. All other things being 
■equal, the faithful soldiers should have the preference ; and 
more than a year ago I wrote to the President proposing to 
resign in favor of any faithful soldier who would apply for my 
position. 

I would therefore most respectfully name for your considera- 
tion, as my successor, Lieut. J. T. Zug, who lost his arm at Fred- 
ericksburg, or Capt. J. Adair, or Capt. Beatty, all of Carlisle, Pa., 



682 Percival Coover Kauffman. 



who served faithfully, and deserve well of their country. Either 
one would make a good collector. Hoping you will see to it 
that a good soldier is appointed as my successor, and that it will 
only be asked of him "have you been faithful to your country?" 
I am yours, very respectfully, L. Kauffman, 

Collector 15th District, Pa. 

Early in 1864 Mr. Kauffman assisted in organizing and became 
the cashier of the Second National Bank of Mechanicsburg, and 
held that position until he resigned in the latter part of 1869. 
The State Guard, a daily newspaper started at the state capital 
during 1 867, was a project of Mr. Kauffman's, and one in which 
he invested a large sum of money. Not proving a financial suc- 
cess, he abandoned its publication in 1869. From 1870 until the 
time of his death, which occurred February 10, 1882, Mr. Kauff- 
man was engaged in the fire insurance business, having the state 
central agency of several large companies, his principal office 
being at Harrisburg, Pa. Mr. Kauffman never hesitated to per- 
form any duty imposed upon him by his fellow citizens, his 
church, or society. As burgess, town councilman, school 
director, and member of the board of trustees of " Irving Female 
College," he was always on hand to take his full share of work 
and responsibility. He was noted for his public spirit and local 
pride in the town of his adoption, and many of the public and 
private improvements erected in Mechanicsburg were due to his 
foresight and energy. He was liberal to a fault. For more than 
thirty years he was a member of the "Church of God," and faith- 
fuMy filled the offices of superintendent of the Sabbath school, 
deacon and elder. He frequently represented his church in the 
Annual Eldership of East Pennsylvania, and on several occasions 
was a lay delegate to the triennial sessions of the General Elder- 
ship of the church. 

Mr. Kauffman was a man of strong will, great energy, daunt- 
less courage ; inflexible in the right, and afraid of nothing but of 
being wrong; fond of the sports of his children as they were of 
playing and being with him. While abounding in anecdote, 
jovial at table, with pleasant voice, it was in harmony with the 
nature and power of Mr. Kauffman, who was a hero in action in 
every condition of life, and possessed of a will and energy that 
fitted him to be a leader in every party to which he belonged. 



Percival Coover Kauffman. 683 



Politically Mr. Kauffman, like the other members of his family, 
was a republican, and assisted in the organization of that party 
in Pennsylvania. He took a keen interest and active part in the 
primary and general elections, frequently participating as a dele- 
gate in the party conventions. In 1 864 he was a delegate to the Na- 
tional Republican Convention at Baltimore, and assisted in the 
nomination of Lincoln and Johnson. He was, as a republican, 
closely associated with John W. Forney, Thaddeus Stevens, 
Thomas E. Cochran and D. J. Morrill, and took a very active 
part in securing the nomination and election of John W. Geary 
as governor. 

His eldest brother, C. S. Kauffman, of Columbia, Pa., repre- 
sented Lancaster county in the state Senate from 1878 to 1882. 
Lieut. Isaac D. Kauffman, his second brother, served faithfully 
in the war of the Rebellion in the 9th Regiment of Pennsylvania 
Volunteer Cavalry, and died June 7, 1862, from disease contracted 
in the service. His brother Andrew J. Kauffman, a member of the 
bar of Lancaster county, was appointed by President Arthur, in 
1882, collector of internal revenue for the Ninth district of Penn- 
sylvania. 

Mr. Kauffman was married February 5, 1856, to Ann Eliza- 
beth Coover, daughter of the late John Coover. of Mechanicsburg. 
Mr. Coover was one of the earliest settlers of Cumberland county. 
Pa. Prominent in church, society and business, he and his descend- 
ants have always been people of note. He was one of the 
founders of Mechanicsburg, and was descended from the German 
family named " Kobar," afterward changed to Coover, who emi- 
grated to this country as early as 1760. Soon after this date his 
grandfather, Gideon Coover, bought a large tract of land, being 
of the "Manor on Conodoguinet," situated by the Cedar Spring, 
south of Shiremanstown, Cumberland county, Pa. One of his 
sons, George Coover, was married on October 22, 1764, to Eliz- 
abeth Mohler, by Rev. Nicholas Hornell. of York, minister of 
the German Lutheran church, of which both were members. 
They lived on the plantation at Cedar Spring, and had five sons 
and four daughters — George, Jr., Henry, Elizabeth, Susannah, 
Catharine, Anne, Michael, Jacpb, and John, the father of Mrs. 
Kauffman, who was born February 22, 1787. Mr. Coover's early 



684 Percival Coover Kauffman. 



life was spent on his father's farm, where he attended such schools 
as his day afforded. About l8i6 or 1817 he removed to Me- 
chanicsburg. and opened the first important store in that place, 
becoming thereafter a successful merchant. He was therein 
engaged until 1849, when he disposed of his stock and retired 
from active business life, always, however, taking a keen and 
decided interest in the public affairs of the borough, state and 
nation. Some years previous to this time he purchased a large 
tract of land, lying immediately south of the borough of Mechan- 
icsburg — bounded by the middle of Simpson street — which since 
his decease has been incorporated into the borough, and laid 
out by his heirs into town lots, with fine wide streets, and 
being slightly elevated, is being rapidly built up, and bids fair to 
become the most beautiful part of the town. On February 4, 
1 8 19, he was married to Salome Keller, daughter of Martin Keller, 
who landed in Baltimore, Md., in 1786, emigrating from the can- 
ton of Basle, Switzerland. About 1800 he removed to Cumber- 
land county and purchased a large tract of land in Silver Spring 
township, known as "Barbace," situated one-half mile north of 
Mechanicsburg, which is still owned by his descendants. The 
children of John Coover were six in number, one son — who died 
in infancy — and five daughters : Susan K., widow of Philip H. 
Long, M. D. ; Sarah, married to Ephraim Zug (who died May, 
1862), afterward married to William H. Oswald (who died Janu- 
ary, 1884); Mariamna, wife of Richard T. Hummel, Hummels- 
town, Dauphin county, Pa. ; Ann Elizabeth, married to Levi 
Kauffman ; and J. Emmeline, widow of Daniel Coover. John 
Coover died May 13, 1862, and his widow January 3, J 883, 
and they were both buried in the old family grave-yard at 
" Barbace," by the side of Martin Keller and Martin Keller's wife 
and mother. 

The old homestead built by John Coover, situated on the 
northeast corner of Main and Frederick streets, Mechanicsburg, 
and in which he and his wife lived to the day of their death, is 
still occupied by one of his daughters. Mr. Coover was a quiet, 
unassuming man, one who made many friends, and of wide influ- 
ence in his church and society. .He was a great reader, and had 
a fine mind and tenacious memory. His name was a synonyni 



Percival Coover Kauffman. 685 

honesty and integrity, and from time to time he filled the various 
municipal offices, was for many years justice of the peace, and 
so great was the confidence reposed in him that he was con- 
stantly sought after to act as executor and administrator in set- 
tling the estates of decedents, and was guardian for nearly one 
hundred minors. A consistent and leading member of the 
German Baptist, or " Dunkard" church, he was kind to the 
poor, a kind husband and an indulgent father. Generous to a 
fault, kind hearted and true, he was beloved by all who knew 
him, and his memory is deeply cherished for his sterling worth 
and christian character, of which his descendants may well be 
proud. 

Percival C. Kauffman, eldest son of Levi Kauffman, was edu- 
cated at Lauderbach's Academy, Philadelphia, the University of 
Pennsylvania, and the law department of the same institution, 
graduating from the latter in the class of 1879. He read law 
with Hon. Wayne MacVeagh and George Tucker Bispham, and 
was admitted to the bar of Philadelphia county in June, 1879. 
In the fall of that year he located at Harrisburg, Pa., where he 
practiced his profession until 1882, when he was appointed legal 
assistant to the president of the Guarantee Trust and Safe Deposit 
Company of Philadelphia, which position he resigned later that 
year, owing to a long and dangerous illness. In January, 1885, 
he removed to Hazleton, in this county, and was admitted to the 
Luzerne county bar February 26, 1885. In April of that year he 
became associated with George H. Troutman, also of Hazleton,. 
under the firm name of Troutman & Kauffman. 

To no other people is Pennsylvania more indebted for the 
thrift and energy that have made her in many respects the great- 
est in our sisterhood of states than to the early German emi- 
grants who. locating in the southern and southeastern counties, 
have, with their descendants, furnished many of the brightest and 
bravest men in the state's history. Coming from this stock, and 
immediately from a father who, as shown, had always the courage 
of his convictions to an heroic degree, and of a mother in whose 
veins flowed equally good blood, Percival Coover Kauffman may 
safely be set down as " made of good material." Though much 
afflicted physically for some years, he has nevertheless latterly 



686 Joshua Lewis Welter. 



shown himself capable of much work and good work, and, in 
conjunction with his brainy partner, Mr. George H. Troutman, 
has succeeded in establishing in Hazleton an extensive and lucra- 
tive practice. Mr. Kauffman is an industrious man, of good 
moral character, popular politically and socially, and in all respects 
a credit to the town in which he resides. 



JOSHUA LEWIS WELTER. 



Joshua Lewis Welter, of Kingston, is a descendant of Henry 
Welter, who emigrated to this country from Germany either 
before or during the Revolutionary war. His name is found 
among the military veterans of that period. After the war he 
located at Fox Hill, Morris county. New Jersey. He had a son 
Jacob Welter, who was born at Fox Hill. His wife was Ann 
Shankle, a daughter of Henry Shankle, also of German descent, 
and who lived at German Valley, Morris county, N. J. Conrad 
Welter, son of Jacob and Ann Welter, was born in 1799 at Fox 
Hill. His wife was Mary, a daughter of Samuel Fulkerson, of 
Hackettstown, N. J. Joseph Fulkerson Welter, son of Conrad 
and Mary Welter, was born in 1828, at Hackettstown, N. J. 
Thirty years or more ago he removed to Luzerne county, and 
has resided in this county since, his present residence being in 
Kingston. His wife is Barbara Lawrence, a daughter of John D. 
Lawrence, who was a son of Samuel Lawrence, one of the early 
settlers of Pike county, Pa., having emigrated there from 
Germany. The wife of John D. Lawrence was Mary La Barre, 
of French extraction, a daughter of Samuel La Barre, of Strouds- 
burg, Pa. James M. Coughlin, superintendent of the schools of 
Luzerne county, is a son-in-law of J. F. Welter. Joshua Lewis 
Welter, son of J. F. Welter, was born at Pleasant Valley, Luzerne 
(now Lackawanna) county, February 23, 1858. He was edu- 
cated at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, and Syracuse (N. Y.) 
University, graduating from the latter institution in the class of 
1882. After leaving college he removed to Colorado, and was 



Daniel Ackley Fell. 687 



for a year an instructor in mathematics in the Colorado State 
School of Mines, at Golden. He then- returned east, and com- 
menced the study of the law in the office of E. P. & J. Vaughan 
Darling, and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county June 6, 
1885. 

Mr. Welter is another of the many who have left educational 
pursuits for the practice of the law. Among those who have 
made that change are so many of the brightest lights of the legal 
profession, both of the past and the present, that one is almost 
compelled to the conclusion that there is something in the dis- 
cipline of the school room specially adapted to the development 
of the material of w^hich good lawyers are made. Mr. Welter is 
quiet in demeanor and unassuming in manner, but apparently 
studious and earnest, and has first rate prospects of success. 



DANIEL ACKLEY FELL. 



"-^N 



Daniel Ackley Fell was born at Wilkes-Barre, Pa., November 
23, 1858. He is a descendant of Joseph Fell, who left the fol- 
lowing account of his birth and life: 

A NARRATIVE OR AN ACCOUNT OF THE BIRTH AND TRANSACTIONS OF 
THE LIFE OF JOSEPH FELL FROM A CHILD TO OLD AGE. 

I was born at Longlands, in the parish of Aldrail, in the county 
of Cumberland, in old England. I was the youngest son of 
seven children (three sons and four daughters). My father's 
name was John Fell, my mother's name Margaret Fell. I was 
born in the year 1668, the 19th day of October. My father died 
when I was about two years old ; my mother lived about twenty 
years a widow, and I was apprenticed to one John Bond, a house 
carpenter and joiner, living at Wheelbarrow Hill, near Carlisle, 
in Cumberland, where I served four years, and after that followed 
my trade while I stayed in England. When I was in the 30th 
year of my age I married Bridget Wilson, daughter of John and 

Elizabeth Wilson, living at , in the parish of Callbeck, in 

Cumberland, and we had two sons born in Cumberland, Joseph 
and Benjamin. After that we moved to this country; took ship- 
ping at Whitehaven, in Cumberland — Mattheas Gale, captain of 



688 Daniel Ackley Fell. 



the ship. He anchored the ship at Belfast, in Ireland, and we 
stayed about a week there, and set sail again ; and after we left 
sight of Ireland, in twenty- nine days we came in sight of land 
near the capes of Virginia, and our ship was called Cumberland, 
and then cast anchor in the mouth of Potomac river, and we went 
ashore in Virginia, and then we got a shallop to Choptank, in 
Maryland, and from there up the river to French Town, and so 
to New Castle by land; and then we took boat to Bristol, in this 
county, in the year 1705, and we lived one year in the township 
of Makefield, where we had a daughter, named Tamer. When 
she was about seven weeks old we came to Buckingham, where 
I now dwell, and about two years afterward had another daugh- 
ter, named Mary. When she was eleven days old her mother 
died, and I lived a widower near three years, and then married 
[March 10, 171 1] a young woman named Elizabeth Doyle, born 
in this country. Her father was an Irishman, and her mother 
was born in Rhode Island, near New England, and we have lived 
together about thirty-four years, and she is about twenty years 
younger than I am. I am now myself in the seventy-seventh 
year of my age, and have eleven children — four by my first wife 
and seven by my second — and they are yet all living. 

I have had it in my mind some years to leave a brief relation 
•of my birth and transactions of life, being they are like to be left 
by me in a strange land ; and as to my living through the world, 
it has been through some difficulty at times, by losses of crops, 
but nothing has happened to me but what is common to man- 
kind, for I have lived in what I call the middle station of life, 
neither rich nor poor, but by the blessings of God and my indus- 
try I have not been burdensome to anybody, yet hoping to have 
enough to carry me to my grave, and then I desire my children 
may follow my example in the way of living in the world ; and I 
Ihope they may have a good report among men, and enjoy peace 
at last, which I daily desire for them all as for myself; and so I 
shall conclude, and earnestly pray that my wife and children all 
may fare well when I am gone. 

(Signed) Joseph Fell. 

Buckingham, Pa., 6th day of the 12th month, 1745. 

Elizabeth Fell, widow of the said Joseph Fell within mentioned, 
died on the 17th day of April, between eight and nine in the 
morning, A. D. 1784, in or about the 97th year of her age. 

Thomas Fell, sixth child of Joseph Fell, was born in Bucking- 
ham township, Bucks county. Pa., and married Jane Kirk, daugh- 
ter of Godfrey Kirk, of Wrightstown, in the same county. Amos 
Fell, son of Thomas Fell, was born in Buckingham, and there 



Daniel Ackley Fell. 689 



married Elizabeth Jackson, daughter of William Jackson, of 
Shrewsberry township. East Jersey. Their marriage certificate is 
before me, and is dated on the tenth day of the eleventh month, 
in the year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and eighty- 
four, and is in the well known words of a Quaker marriage cer- 
tificate. He was a civil engineer and surveyor, and located in 
Luzerne county about the same time that his brother, Jesse Fell, 
removed here. Amos Fell was a farmer also. Although several 
of the earliest settlements of Pittston township were within the 
present limits of the borough of Pittston, yet in 1828 there were 
but fourteen heads of families there, Amos Fell being among the 
number. John Stewart, sr., father of John Stewart, of Scranton, 
Pa., was also located there at the same time. 

Jacob Fell, son of Amos Fell, was born in Buckingham, and 
removed with his father to Luzerne county. He settled in Pitts- 
ton township, and followed the occupation of a farmer; located 
upon what was a part of the farm of Jacob Fell. The wife of 
Jacob Fell, whom he married October 8, 1814, was Mary Ackley, 
daughter of Joshua Ackley, who resided in what is now West 
Pittston. He subsequently removed to West Finley, Washing- 
ton county. Pa., where he died. Daniel Ackley Fell, sr., son of 
Jacob Fell, was born at Pittston, Pa , May 29, 1817. He is by pro- 
fession an architect, contractor and builder. In his younger days he 
built or superintended the erection of the old Methodist church 
(since rebuilt), the Episcopal church (since remodelled), the 
present Presbyterian church, the McClintock house on River 
street, and the brick block on east corner of Market and Franklin 
streets. He also superintended the erection of the present court 
house and the Wyoming Valley hotel. He is at present the 
master builder of the Lehigh and Susquehanna division of the 
Philadelphia and Reading Railroad, having succeeded to that 
position from first, the Lehigh Coal and Navigation Company ; 
second, the Lehigh and Susquehanna Railroad Company ; third, 
the Lehigh and Susquehanna division of the Central Railroad of 
New Jersey. 

The wife of Daniel Ackley Fell, sr., who was born in Wilkes- 
Barre, is Elizabeth, daughter of the late Alexander Gray, who 
was a native of Aberdeen, Scotland, where he was born in [804. 



690 John Butler Woodward. 



The wife of Alexander Gray was Jane Russell, a native of Hunt- 
ley, Scotland. After their marriage they removed to the island 
of St. Thomas, and subsequently to Baltimore, Md. In 1832 he 
came to Wilkes-Barre and superintended the works of the Balti- 
timore Coal Company. He continued in this position until 1862, 
when he operated the Hollenback mines. He then, in connec- 
tion with his son, Alexander Gray, jr., John Hosie and S. P. 
Lono-street, commenced mining operations in Schuylkill county. 
Pa. He subsequently sold out his interest in these mines to S. 
P. Longstreet, and then removed to Princeton, New Jersey, where 

he died. 

Daniel Ackley Fell, jr., was educated in the public schools of 
Wilkes-Barre, the Wyoming Seminary of Kingston, the Law- 
renceville, N. J., High School, from which he graduated in 1878, 
the Wilkes-Barre Academy, and College of New Jersey at Prince- 
ton, from which he graduated in the class of 1883. He read law 
with E. G. Butler, and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county July 27, 1885. He is an unmarried man and a republican 
in politics. 

The Wyoming Seminary has had share in the training of per- 
haps a majority of the members of the Luzerne bar, and as that 
bar is confessedly one of the best in the state, the faculty of the 
Seminary have no reason to be ashamed of their handiwork. Mr. 
Fell has, as will be seen, had the advantages, in addition, of far 
higher and more ambitious educational institutions, but if he 
.shall do as well as some who call the Seminary their only alma 
mater, he will have given his friends good reason to be proud of 
him. He has an apparently correct conception of what successful 
labor in the law involves, and will undoubtedly go ahead. 



JOHN BUTLER WOODWARD. 



John Butler Woodward was born in Wilkes-Barre, Pa., April 
3, 1 86 1. He is the eldest son of Stanley Woodward, whose 
biography has already been given in these pages. J. B. 
Woodward was educated at St. Paul's Academy, Concord, N. H., 



John Butler Woodward. 691 



the Wilkes-Barre Academy, and Yale College, graduating from 
the latter institution in the class of 1883. He commenced the 
reading; of the law in the office of Andrew T. McClintock, in this 
city. He then entered the law department of the University of 
Pennsylvania, and while there was a student in the office of E. 
Coppee Mitchell, of Philadelphia. He completed his legal edu- 
cation prior to being admitted to practice in the office of William 
.S. McLean, of this city. He was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county September 7, 1885. He is an unmarried man, and a 
democrat in politics. 

No Pennsylvania family has done more for the bar and the 
bench of the state than the Woodward family. Two Supreme 
judges, both of them men of the highest ability, and one county 
judge, many of whose opinions on previously unadjudicated ques- 
tions have already gone into the text books and been widely 
quoted, constitute a record that is almost if not absolutely with- 
out a parallel. It is from this stock that John Butler Woodward 
comes, and it is not too much to say that although but just 
entered at the bar, he has already given demonstration that he 
will do nothing to dim its lustre. His preparation, as will be 
seen, both in general studies and in the study of the law, has been 
under tutelage than which there is no better. He has undoubted 
natural talents, which, with the development they have already 
had, and which increased practice will give them, will carry him 
to a prominent place in the profession if it shall be his ambition 
to occupy such a place. The two Judges Woodward who 
are now deceased had and the one who remains has rare 
oratorical powers — always more a natural gift than an acquire- 
ment — and John Butler Woodward has shown that he is similarly 
endowed. He has a taste for politics — another family character- 
istic — and during recent campaigns his party has utilized him 
upon the local stump to the satisfaction of his hearers and the 
evident benefit of his party's principles and prospects. He is of 
a genial temperament, and starts professional Hfe, in short, under 
the brightest of auspices and with every chance of achieving in 
it both power and profit. 



692 LiDDON Flick. 



LIDDON FLICK. 



Liddon Flick is a descendant of Gerlach Paul Flick, who was 
the first of this family who came to America, arriving September 
23, 175 1, by the ship Neptune. He was a German by birth. 
(See Rupp's Coll. names of German Immigrants, 1 726-1 776.) 
Others of his family came with him. He settled in Northampton 
county. Pa., and followed his occupation of miller. He li,ved to 
be ninety-nine years of age. The longevity of this family is a 
matter of record, and referred to with pride by their descendants, 
particularly w^hen it is remembered that they had to undergo the 
severe trials and hardships incident to the struggle for American 
independence. 

Gerlach Paul Flick had three sons — Paul, Martin and Casper, 
who were born in Moore township, Northampton county. Cas- 
per Flick followed his father's business of milling, served through 
the whole period of the Revolutionary war, and died at the age 
of eighty -two. He had twelve children, nearly all of whom lived 
to be more than eighty. John Flick, eldest son of Casper, was 
born January i, 1783, and died January i, 1869, being eighty- 
six to a day. His early occupation was that of miller. He 
enlisted and served for a short period during the war of 1812, 
being mustered out when peace was declared. He was one of 
the leading citizens of Northampton county, in politics a strong 
democrat, and was several times elected to prominent offices 
while that party was in power. He was county commissioner 
for a number of years when Northampton, Monroe, Carbon and 
Lehish constituted one county, and was twice elected to the 
legislature. In 181 3 he married Eve B., daughter of Philip Cas- 
ter, who also .served in the American army during the Revolu- 
tion, and who at one time lived in the Wyoming Valley, and 
afterwards settled in Lower Mt. Bethel, Northampton county. 
Eve B. Flick died in 1858, at the age of seventy-seven years. 

The oldest son of John Flick is Reuben Jay Flick, who was born 
at Flicksville, Northampton county. Pa., July 10, 18 16. Born 
and reared on a farm, his early opportunities were necessarily 



LiDDON Flick. 693 



limited. In 1838, at the age of twenty-two, he came to the Wy- 
oming Valley. Here he engaged in mercantile trade, and later 
in banking. By industry and integrity he has become one of the 
respected and influential citizens of Wilkes-Barre. He has always 
been closely identified with the various business and charitable 
interests of the city. His position as trustee of Lincoln Univer- 
sity, Oxford, Pa., of the Harry Hillman Academy, Female Institute, 
City Hospital and Home for Friendless Children evidences his 
benevolence and the esteem in which he is held by his fellow 
citizens. Though frequently solicited, he has always declined to 
be a candidate for political office. In 1882, however, yielding to 
the pressure of friends, he accepted a unanimous nomination as 
candidate for congress on the prohibition ticket. Though making 
no personal effort, he polled a large vote, running far ahead of 
any other name on the ticket. He married, in January, 1858, 
Margaret Jane, daughter of Adam and Margaret Arnold, of Ham- 
ilton, Monroe county. Pa. 

Liddon Flick, eldest son of Reuben Jay Flick,wasborn in Wilkes- 
Barre October 28, 1859. His early education was at the public 
schools of this city. After two years spent at private school in 
preparation for college, he entered the freshman class at Prince- 
ton in September, 1878, graduating therefrom in June, 1882, 
receiving the degree of B. A. Having determined upon the 
study of law% he took the prescribed course at the law school of 
Columbia college. New York city. From here he graduated in 
June, 1884, receiving the degree of LL. B., cum laude. After a 
year spent in the office of ex-Judge Lucien Birdseye he was 
admitted to the New York city bar in January, 1885. Later he 
returned to Wilkes-Barre to look somewhat after his father's 
interests and to practice his profession. After spending the 
required six months in the office of Alexander Farnham, Esq., 
he was, on June 2, 1886, admitted to practice in the courts of 
Luzerne county. 

Mr. Flick is bright, painstaking, and conscientious — three 
qualities or attributes that generally win for their possessor the 
best fruits of any undertaking. His collegiate successes, as will 
be observed, have been of an unusual order. They are them- 
selves something to be proud of, but their greatest significance 



694 John Quincv Creveling. 



arises from the fact that they indicate his superior fitness for the 
profession he has chosen. He is a great reader of books of all 
good kinds, and a student of the fine arts, and while these things 
have no necessary relation to the practice of the law, they are no 
small aid to lawyers, of whom this can be said : of two men 
each equally well read in the law and equally able in expounding 
it, the one whose general knowledge is the most extensive and 
varied has decidedly the advantage. 




JOHN QUINCY CREVELING. 



John Quincy Creveling, of Plymouth, was born in Fishing 
Creek township, Columbia county, Pa., June 6, 1861. He is a 
son of Alfred Tubbs Creveling. also a native of Fishing Creek, 
but at present a resident of Plymouth, Pa. John Creveling, 
father of Alfred Tubbs Creveling, was born near the town of 
Espy, Columbia county, in 1808, and in 18 10, in company with 
the family of his father, Samuel Creveling, a native of the state 
of New Jersey, removed to Fishing Creek township. Isaiah 
Creveling, of Fairmount township, Luzerne county, so long and 
favorably known in this county, was a brother of John Creveling. 
The wife of John Creveling was Lowley Tubbs, a daughter of 
Nathan Tubbs, jr., a son of Nathan Tubbs, sr., who became a 
resident of Huntington in 1789. The wife of Nathan Tubbs, jr.. 
was Sarah, daughter of Timothy Hopkins, who took the one 
hundred and fifty acres surveyed as a mill lot whereon he and 
Stephen Harrison built the first flouring mill in Huntington town- 
ship in 1795, or the year following, on Mill creek, near the head 
of Hopkins' Glen. 

The mother of John Quincy Creveling, and wife of Alfred T. 
Creveling, is Susan B. Rhone, a daughter of the late George 
Rhone, who died in this city in 1881. Mrs. Creveling is a sister' 
of Judge Rhone, of this city. We have given a sketch of 
the ancestors of Mrs. Creveling in these pages under the head 
of Daniel La Porte Rhone, but we will herewith give some addi- 



John Quincy Creveling. 695 



tional facts relating to the Bowman family. Mary Bowman 
Stevens, the mother of Mrs. Crevehng, is the great-grand-daugh- 
ter of George Christopher Bauman, who came to this country 
"November 22, 1752, in the ship Phoenix — Reuben Honor, cap- 
tain — from Rotterdam, last from Cowes." Alter his arrival in 
this country he used the name of Christopher Bowman. He 
made his home in Bucks county, Pa., and was sufficiently success- 
ful in his business within a few years to make a return to his father- 
land on a visit. After a few years they removed to Mount 
Bethel, in Northampton county, on the west side of the Delaware 
river, about four miles from the point w^here the Delaware, Lack- 
awanna and Western railroad crosses the river, about fiv^e miles 
below, or east, of the Delaware Water Gap. Here they remained 
and wrought apparently for thirty years, improving their prop- 
erty, planting and sowing, cultivating the land and reaping the 
harvests. 

In 1793 Christopher Bowman, with his son Thomas Bowman 
with his wife and five children, moved from Mount Bethel to Briar 
Creek township, Columbia county, locating about five or six miles 
from Berwick. They were soon after followed by other members 
of the family. After having lived for some years at Briar Creek, 
Christopher Bowman went upon a visit to some friends at 
Queenshockeny Valley, about seven miles north of Williamsport, 
Pa., where in 1806 he became sick and died. He was buried in 
the cemetery of Newberry, and a tombstone without inscription 
marks his resting place. The identity of his grave is lost. 

In Bishop Asbury's journal, Vol. 3, p. 228, may be found the 
following memorandum: "Pennsylvania, Sunday. 19 July, 1807. 
I went to the woods and preached and ordained Thomas and 
Christian Bowman deacons. Before I got through with my dis- 
course the rain came on, and I made a brief finish ; the people 
were attentive. In the afternoon the preachers and many of the 
people went to a barn ; there were showers of rain and thunder 
whilst the services were first performing. My first visit to Wyo- 
ming was in great toil." This was on the site of the old Forty 
Fort church, which was completed the same year. The two 
Bowmans above mentioned were sons of Christopher Bowman. 
Rev. Thomas Bowman, senior bishop of the Methodist Episcopal 



696 James Buchanan Shaver. 



church, is a grandson of Rev. Thomas Bowman, son of Christo- 
pher Bowman. John Bowman, sr., was born at Mount Bethel 
April 2, 1772, and died February 8, 1848. His daughter, Perme- 
lia Bowman, was born in Huntington in 1798, and married 
Zebulon Stevens. Mary Bowman Stevens, mother of Mrs. A. T. 
Creveling, was the daughter of Zebulon Stevens. 

John Quincey Creveling was educated in the public schools 
and at the New Columbus academy. He taught school in Ply- 
mouth in 1879, 1880, 1881, 1882 and 1883, and was one of the 
school directors of that borough during the years 1884 and 1885. 
He studied law with C. W. McAlarney, and was admitted to the 
bar of Luzerne county June 19, 1886. He is an unmarried man 
and a democrat in politics. He is prominent in Methodist Epis- 
copal church circles, and is superintendent of the Methodist 
Episcopal Sabbath school of Plymouth. 

Mr. Crevehng is a young man of good mental parts, and has 
• an energetic way of doing things that gives the on-looker faith to 
believe that he has a decided fitness for the profession he has 
chosen. He is a relative of Judge D. L. Rhone, of the Orphans' 
Court of Luzerne county, and not wholly unlike that gentleman 
in his leading characteristics. He has read and is still reading 
to good purpose and will succeed. 



JAMES BUCHANAN SHAVER. 



James Buchanan Shaver, of Plymouth, was born in Dallas, Pa., 
January 24, 1859. He is a descendant of Philip Shaver. We 
are indebted to William P. Ryman, of the Luzerne bar, for the 
following in relation to the Shaver family of Dallas : 

"The Shaver family appears (in Dallas township) as an early 
and, like the Honeywells, a numerous setder. The name was at 
first spelled indifferently S-h-a-v-e-r, S-h-a-f-e-r and S-h-a-f-f-e-r. 
Adam Shaffer, Peter Shafer and Frederick Shaver were residents 
of Kingston township as early as 1796. Adam was a shoemaker 
by trade, but in 1806 he started and for several years ran an oil 
mill in Mill Hollow (now Luzerne borough), at the place now 



James Buchanan Shaver. 697 

occupied by Schooley's chop and plaster mill. Adam Shaffer 
was also certified grantee of the northwestern half of lot five in 
certified Bedford township, now principally owned and occupied 
by John Ferguson, Esq. The exact date when they first settled 
in Dallas cannot now be determined with certainty. They were 
of German descent, and most of them came immediately from 
New Jersey. 

"About the year 18 12-13 Phil'P Shaver and his sons John and 
William became the owners of large bodies of land in the south- 
easterly portion of what is now Dallas township and in adjacent 
portions of present Kingston township. For a long time, and 
even to this day, the settlement is locally known as and called 
'Shavertown.' Philip Shaver was a progressive man. He was 
born and spent his early boyhood in the valley of the Danube 
river, near Vienna, Austria. It was a cardinal principle with him 
that a man was not reall)' running in debt when he bought and 
owed ftn- good real estate at a reasonable price. One of his 
earliest purchases was in 1 813, of the whole of lot three (over 
three hundred acres) of certified Bedford, from William Trucks. 
The same year he sold a portion from the northwest half to Jonah 
McLellan, also a Jerseyman (from Knowlton township, Warren 
county). On that portion bought by McLellan the present vil- 
lage of Dallas (or McLellansville, as it was originally named) 
was built. 

"Philip Shaver settled and built his house, a log house, on the 
hill about a quarter mile south of the cross roads, near late resi- 
dence of James Shaver, dec'd, and on the ground afterwards occu- 
pied and owned by Asa Shaver, now deceased. Philip Shaver was 
generous and public spirited to a marked degree for the time and 
place. He gave the land for the public burying ground on the 
hill just south of Dallas village. He also gave the land for what 
is known as the Shaver burying ground, which lies about half a 
mile southeast of the former. The land upon which the first 
school-house in Dallas township was built was likewise a gift 
from him. This land lies partly in the cross road just south of 
and adjacent to the present school lot in Dallas borough." 

Philip Shaver had a son Philip, who had a son WilUam, who 
was born in Newton, Sussex county, N. J. Andrew Jackson 
Shaver, son of William Shaver, was born in Dallas. During the 
administration of Samuel Van Loon as sheriff A. J. Shaver acted 
as a deputy sheriff. He died in Dallas. The wife of Andrew J. 
Shaver was Clarissa Davenport, a daughter of Oliver Davenport, 
of Plymouth, a son of Thomas Davenport, jr., and a grandson of 



698 Anthony Charles Campbell. 

Thomas Davenport, sr. A history of the Davenports was given 
in the sketch of George VV. Shonk, that has appeared in these 
pages. The wife of Ohver Davenport was Lyvia Ransom, 
daughter of Col. George Palmer Ransom. A sketch of Col. 
Ransom has already been given in these pages in the biogra- 
phy of George Steele Ferris. 

James Buchanan Shaver, son of Andrew Jackson Shaver, was 
educated at Wyoming Seminary and at the Wesleyan University, 
Middletown, Conn., graduating from the latter institution in the 
class of 1 88 1. He read law with John A. Opp, in Plymouth, and 
was admitted to the Luzerne county bar June 21, 1886. He is 
an unmarried man, and a democrat in politics. 

Mr. Shaver has already tried several cases, and exhibited in 
the conduct of them an understanding of the law and a wisdom 
of judgment that augur well for his future. Plymouth has come 
of recent years to be a very important town. It has extensive 
coal interests and is the centre of general supplies for a popula- 
tion greater than that of many quite ambitious cities. Up to very 
recently one or two lawyers found it easy to do all its legal busi- 
ness, but their number is multiplying, and the fact that all of 
them are succeeding in a financial way is sufficient proof that 
the multiplication has as yet not been in excess of the need. Mr. 
Shaver will get his share of it, however, whether in the hereafter 
it be much or little, for what he undertakes to do he does well 
and thoroughly, and that kind of a man succeeds in the law and 
in everything else. 



ANTHONY CHARLES CAMPBELL. 



Anthony Charles Campbell was born in Wilkes-Barre, Pa., 
June 7, 1862. He is the eldest son of James Campbell, a native 
of Enver, Donegal county, Ireland, and who came to this coun- 
try in 1847, when he was a lad about eighteen years of age. His 
father's name was Anthony Campbell, and the family is of Scot- 
tish descent. James Campbell landed in Boston, Massachusetts, 



Anthony Charles Campbell. 699 

and remained there for about a year, when he removed to Buck 
Mountain, Pa., and from there to White Haven. About 185 i he 
removed to Pittston, in this county. From 1855 to 1858 he ran 
a staee route from Pittston to Wilkes-Barre. He then removed 
to Wilkes-Barre, where he has since resided, and from 1861 to 
1876 hekept an hotel in the latter place. In 1869 he was the dem- 
ocratic candidate for county treasurer, but was defeated by Gar- 
rick M. Miller, republican, the vote standing — Miller, 9537; 
Campbell, 8045. In 1875 he was again a candidate for the same 
office, but was defeated by John McNeish,jr., the vote standing 
— Campbell, 9231 ; McNeish. 9491. In 1871 Mr. Campbell, in 
company with his son Anthony C, paid a visit to the land of his 
nativity. He took a practical view of the affair, as he purchased 
a buggy and harness in this country, and when he arrived in 
Ireland he bought a horse, and in this manner he made a tour of 
Ireland. For the past six years he has been the court deputy 
of the sheriff of Luzerne county. Mr. Campbell married, in 1858, 
Ann McGourty, a daughter of Thomas McGourty, a native and 
resident of Manorhamilton, in the county of Leitrim, Ireland. 

Anthony C. Campbell was educated in the public schools of 
Wilkes-Barre and at Lafayette college, graduating from the latter 
institution in the class of 1884. After graduating from the pub- 
lic schools he taught school for one year in the Morgantown 
school building, in the recently erected borough of Edwards- 
ville. Mr. Campbell is president of the alumni association of 
the Third school district of this city. He read law with Henry 
W. Palmer, and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county 
October 18, 1886. During the latter year he was secretary of 
the democratic county committee. 

Mr Campbell is one of the most promising young men at the 
Luzerne bar. His educational advantages have been the best to 
be had in the state, and he not only studied but learned, winning 
high position in his classes in all the institutions he attended. 
He was prepared for the profession under one who was deemed 
a. good enough lawyer to .serve the commonwealth as its attorney 
general, and he has secured both the esteem and the confidence 
of his mentor. In addition to these advantages he has a natural 
aptitude for the practice of the law, being a careful and acute 



700 Charles Edmund Keck. 

reasoner, a modest but attractive talker, and having industry, 
which always makes other good qualities yield to the full, while 
without it they become dormant and rusty. Many of the most 
conspicuous members of the Luzerne bar are reaching that age 
when, if they are not meanwhile called to the other world, ina- 
bility longer to withstand the strains of arduous practice will 
compel them to retire for needful rest. Mr. Campbell is one of 
the few of the younger men who are expected, from indications 
of their talent already given, to step into the places thus made 
vacant. 




CHARLES EDMUND KECK. 



Charles Edmund Keck was born in White Haven. Luzerne 
county, Pa., September 2, i86[. He is a descendant of Henry 
Geek, a native of Upper Pfalls, Bavaria, who left his native coun- 
try with his ^vife (Peterson), of Holland, on board the English 
ship Pink John and William, of Sunderland — Constable Tym- 
perton, master — from Rotterdam, last from Dover, and arrived 
in Philadelphia October 17, 1732. When he reached there he 
and his wife were sold as redemptioners for their passage money 
to a man in Chester county, and served the time agreed upon — 
about three or four years. As very little is known at this time 
about the redemptioners, we insert the following : 

From the early settlement of Pennsylvania a considerable 
business was carried on, chiefly by ship owners and captains of 
vessels, in importing from Europe persons who were desirous of 
emigrating to this country, and were too poor to pay for their 
passage, or have a competency for an outfit for so long a journey. 
With this class, who generally came from England, Ireland and 
Germany, arrangements would be made, through agents, to con- 
tract and bring them over, furnish them with food during the 
voyage, and perhaps some other necessaries, on condition that 
on their arrival in an American port they have the right to sell 
their time for a certain number of years, to repay the cost thus 



Charles Edmund Keck. 701 

necessarily incurred, and be of some profit to those engaged in 
such ventures. With the growth and settlement of the country 
this business greatly increased, through the demand for laborers, 
and, perhaps, just before the Revolution attained its greatest 
height. However, on the return of peace it did not slacken 
much, even to the commencement of this century. Such a mat- 
ter, of course, would also receive some attention from the gov- 
ernment, and we give the special legislation thereon, upon which 
as yet but little has been written. 

In the Charter of Laws agreed upon in England, and confirmed 
April 25, 1682, by Penn, we find this mention in the twenty-third 
article : "That there shall be a register for all servants, where their 
name, time, wages and days of payment shall be registered." In 
the laws prepared on the fifth of the following month, the propri- 
etary wisely remarks: "That all children within this Province 
of the age of twelve years shall be taught some useful trade or 
skill, to the end that none may be idle, but the Poor may work 
to live, and the Rich, if they have become poor, may not want. 
That servants be not kept longer than their time, and such as are 
careful be both justly and kindly used in their service, and put 
in fitting equipage at the expiration thereof, according to custom." 
Penn, for the justice here di.splayed, certainly deserves credit. 
"The Great La\y," passed at Chester December 7, contains this 
clause : "That no master or mistress or freeman of this Province, 
or territories thereunto belonging, shall presume to sell or dis- 
pose of any servant or servants into any other province, that is or 
are bound to serve his or her time in the Province of Pennsyl- 
vania, or territories thereof, under the penalty that every person 
so offending shall for every such servant so sold forfeit ten 
pounds, to be levied by way of distress and sale of their goods." 
Strange to say, the aforesaid excellent enactments, on William 
and Mary reaching the throne, were abrogated in 1693. In the 
beginning of 1683 "A bill to hinder the selling of servants into 
other Provinces, and to prevent runaways," was passed by the 
Council. On August 29 the Governor, William Penn, "put ye 
question whether a proclamation were not convenient to be put 
forth to empower masters to chastise their servants, and to pun- 
ish any that shall inveigle any servant to goe from his master." 



702 Charles Edmund Keck. 



They unanimously agreed and ordered it accordingly. The 
Assembly passed an "Act for the better Regulation of Servants 
in this Province and Territories," in 1700, which provided 

"That no servant shall be sold or disposed of to any Person 
residing in any other Province or Government without the con- 
sent of the said Servant and two Justices of the Peace of the 
county wherein he lives or is sold, under the penalty of Ten 
Pounds, to be forfeited by the seller. That no servant shall be 
assigned over to another person by any in this Province or Ter- 
ritories but in Presence of one Justice of the Peace under penalty 
of Ten Pounds. And whoever shall apprehend or take up any 
runaway servant and shall bring him or her to the Sheriff of the 
County, such person shall, for every such servant, if taken up 
within ten miles of the Servant's abode, receive Ten Shillings, 
and if ten miles or upwards, Twenty Shillings reward of the said 
Sheriff, who is hereby required to pay the same, and forthwith to 
send notice to the Master or owner, of whom he shall receive Five 
Shillings, Prison fees, upon delivery of the said Servant, together 
with all disbursements and reasonable charges for and upon the 
same. Whoever shall conceal any Servant of this Province or 
Territories, or entertain him or her twenty-four hours without 
his or her Master's or owmer's knowledge and consent, and shall 
not within the said time give an account to some Justice of the 
Peace of the County, every such person shall forfeit Tw^enty 
Shillings for every Day's concealment. That every servant who 
shall faithfully serve four years or more shall, at the expiration 
of their servitude, have a discharge, and shall %)e duly clothed 
with two complete suits of apparel, whereof one shall be new, 
and shall also be furnished with one new axe, one grubbing hoe 
and one weeding hoe, at the charge of their Master or Mis- 
tress." 

This latter clause was abolished in 1791. The object of this 
undoubtedly was to encourage the removal of timber that the 
land mieht sooner come into cultivation. An Act was passed 
May 10, 1729, "laying a duty on foreigners and Irish servants 
inported into this province." Masters of servants were regarded 
■for the time being as holding property subject to taxation. The 
rate in 1776 was fixed at one and a half pounds each, which was 
increased in 1786 to ten pounds. The state passed an Act March 
12, 1778, making compensation to those masters whose servants 
or apprentices had enlisted in the army. "The labor of the plan- 
tations," says the Historical Rcviczv (attributed to Franklin, 1759), 



Charles Edmund Keck. 703 



" is performed chiefly by indented servants, brought from Great 
Britain, Ireland and Germany; because of the high price it bears, 
can it be performed any other way? These servants are pur- 
chased of the captains who bring them; the purchaser, by a 
positive law, has a legal property in them, and, like other chat- 
tels, they are liable to be seized for debts." Servants from the 
Palatinate were disposed of in 1722 at ten pounds each for five 
years' servitude. Prior to [727 most of the Germans who emi- 
grated were persons of means. In the years 1728, 1729, 1737, 
1741, 1750 and 1751 great numbers were brought hither. A 
shipper advertises in 1729: "Lately imported, and to be sold 
cheap, a parcel of likely men and women servants." They 
brought but little property with them, says Dr. Rush, in his 
account of the "Manners of the German Inhabitants in Pennsyl- 
vania," written in 1789. A few pieces of silver coin, a chest with 
clothes, a bible, a prayer or hymn book, constituted the chief 
property of most of them. Many bound themselves, or one or 
more of their children, to masters after their arrival for four, five 
or seven years to pay for their passage across the ocean. The 
usual terms of sale depended somewhat on the age, strength, 
health and ability of the persons sold. Boys and girls had to 
serve from five to ten years, or until they attained the age of 
twenty-one. Many parents were necessitated, as they had been 
wont to do at home with their cattle, to sell their own children. 
Children under five years of age could not be sold. They were 
disposed of gratuitously to such persons as agreed to raise them, 
to be free on attaining the age of twenty-one. It was an humble 
position that redemptioners occupied. "Yet from this class," 
says Gordon in his "History of Pennsylvania," "have sprung 
some of the most respectable and wealthy inhabitants of the 
state." A law was passed February 8, 18 19, "that no female 
shall be arrested or imprisoned for or by reason of any debt con- 
tracted after the passage of this act." With the final abolition of 
imprisonment for debts, the institution had necessarily to die out 
without any special enactment or repeal, so slow has ever been the 
advancement and regard for popular rights, even in this great 
commonwealth and enlightened age. 

The late Joseph J. Lewis, of West Chester, in 1828 wrote an 



704 Charles Edmund Keck. 



amusing account of the "soul-drivers," the name given to those 
men that drove redemptioners through the country with a view of 
disposing of them to farmers. They generally purchased them 
in lots of fifty or more from captains of ships, to whom the redemp- 
tioners were bound for three or more years of service in payment 
of their passage. For a while the trade was brisk, but at last was 
relinquished by reason of the numbers that ran away from those 
dealers or drivers. These ignominious gangs disappeared about 
the year 1785. A story is told how one of them was tricked by 
one of his men. This fellow, by a little management, contrived 
to be the last of the flock that remained unsold, and traveled 
about with his master. One night they lodged at a tavern, and 
in the morning the young fellow, who was an Irishman, rose 
early, sold his master to the landlord, pocketed the money and 
hastened off. Previously, however, to his going, he took the 
precaution to tell the purchaser that, though tolerably clever in 
other respects, he was rather saucy and a little given to lying; 
that he had even been presumptuous enough at times to en- 
deavor to pass for master, and that he might possibly represent 
himself as such to him. 

Though this system of servitude possessed its advantages, espe- 
cially to a people residing in a new and unsettled country, it had 
its attending drawbacks. It was a relic that originated in the 
long past of Europe, and, like slavery, was continued and en- 
forced in the colonies. For the main facts concerning the 
redemptioners we are indebted to William J. Buck, Esq., in the 
history of Montgomery county. Pa. 

These redemptioners were in the main honest men and feared 
God. They were not socialists, anarchists, or others of that ilk. 
They were satisfied with their condition, and had an idea that 
property that belonged to others did not belong to them. They 
came to this country to make a home for themselves, and took 
great pride in the fact that they became American citizens, and 
for this reason they were always honored and respected. Re- 
demptioners were not confined to Pennsylvania alone. They 
were to be found in all of the colonies, and represented nearly all 
the nationalities of Europe. 

After this time Henry Geek, now spelled Keck, came to whi 



Charles Edmund Keck. 705 

is now Lehigh county, and settled on the tract of land in Salis- 
bury township which he subsequently purchased, and is still 
owned by one of his descendants. There was on the place a 
clearing, a log barn, apple orchard, and a log house. About ten 
or fifteen years after his purchase he built a two-story stone 
house, which stood until 18 18, when it was torn down by his 
grandson, Solomon Keck, who built another stone house on the 
site, and which is still standing. When Henry Keck first came 
to Lehigh county, and for several years after, all his grist was 
taken to White Marsh, Sandy Run, now Montgomery county, 
to be ground. In 1828 he purchased four hundred acres of land 
adjoining his farm. 

John Keck, one of the sons of Henry Keck,' was on the first 
grand jury that was held in Lehigh county. Andrew Keck, son 
of Henry Keck, purchased the old homestead, married Barbara, 
daughter of George Blank, and settled there. The Blank family 
were from Saucon township. Andrew lived on his farm until 
his death in 1828, being at that time seventy-six years of age. 
His youngest son, Charles Keck, was elected treasurer, and sub- 
sequently one of the associate judges of Lehigh county. George 
Keck was the eldest son of Andrew Keck. In 1823 he was 
commissioned one of the justices of the peace for Lehigh county. 
This was at a time when the governor of the state always selected 
the leading citizens, and they were commissioned for life. He 
married Elizabeth Levan, of Maxatawny, Berks county, Pa. Her 
great-grandfather was Jacob Levan, the founder of the Maxa- 
tawny branch of the family. He was the owner of two large 
tracts of land in Maxatawny. Parts of Kutztown and Eagle 
Point are now on these tracts. He was also the builder and 
owner of the first grist mill west of the Skippack, and was one of 
the judges of the Berks county court from the erection of that 
county, in 1752, until 1762. The Levans were a French Reformed 
family, commonly known as Huguenots. They left France after 
the revocation of the Edict of Nantes, and came to Pennsylvania 
in the early part of the eighteenth century. Col. Sebastian Levan 
was the son of Jacob Levan. He was an officer in the Revolution- 
ary war, and also a member of the colonial assembly. Mrs. George 
Keck was the second daughter of Jacob Levan, son of Col. Se- 



7o6 Charles Edmund Keck. 



bastian Levan and his wife, Magdalcna, who was a daughter of 
Daniel Levan. 

Charles Levan Keck is the youngest son of George Keck, and 
was born in Allentown March i8, 1827. For many years he has 
been a resident of White Haven. He was for twenty years a mer- 
chant, but is now exclusively engaged in the manufacture of lum- 
ber in the latter place. He is one of the directors and secretary and 
treasurer of the Lehigh Boom Company, and also one of the 
directors and vice president of the White Haven Savings Bank. 
He is the president of the White Haven Water Company, and 
president and one of the directors of the Laurel Cemetery Asso- 
ciation. He was for twenty years president of the school board, 
and for the same length of time one of the school directors of 
White Haven borough. He is also one of the trustees of the 
Presbyterian church. His wife is Eleanor, daughter of the late 
John King, of Freemansburg, a native of Haycock township, 
Bucks county, Pa., where he was born February 16, 1790. His 
father was Frederick King, also a native of the same county. 
Soon after the birth of John King, Frederick King moved to 
Hellerstown, Northampton county, and after residing there some 
time was elected sheriff of Northampton county, then consisting 
of Carbon, Lehigh, Monroe, Northampton, Pike and Wayne 
counties. John King acted as a deputy sheriff under his father. 

The wife of John King was Hannah Jones, who was born August 
16, 1789. She was a descendant of John Jones, who was born in 
Skippack, in what is now Montgomery county. Pa., June 21, 1714. 
His father, says Mr. Reichel, " had emigrated from Wales with 
other persons of excellent and worthy character, descendants of 
the ancient Britons, principally from Radnor, Bryn Mawr, and 
Haverford m Merionethshire." This company founded a settle- 
ment in Montgomery county, and in 1690 purchased a tract ot 
forty thousand acres from William Penn. Of the early history of 
Griffith Jones, the father of John Jones, we know little or nothing. 
He died in 1720. Where John Jones spent his childhood and 
early youth cannot now be ascertained, but subsequent events 
render it probable that he found a home with relatives in the 
Welsh settlement at Upper Merion, which was familiarly known 
as " over Schuylkill." His opportunities of acquiring an educa- 



Charles Edmund Keck. 707 



tion must have been limited, but he learned to write a beautiful 
hand and to express himself in good English. He also learned 
the trade of a blacksmith, and is said to have been an excellent 
workman, though in his late years he devoted himself almost 
exclusively to agricultural pursuits. At an early age John Jones 
was married to Eleanor Godfrey, a daughter of Thomas Godfrey, 
of Tredyfryn township, Chester county. Pa. Mr. Godfrey was 
descended from a highly respectable family in the county of 
Kent, England. He married in England, and his first child was 
born at sea while they were voyaging to this country. In Amer- 
ica the Godfreys grew prosperous and wealthy. Besides the 
daughter born on the sea they had eight children, of whom 
Eleanor was the third. Thomas Godfrey died in 1756. His 
wife, Jane, lived to a great age and died in 177 1. In her will 
she bequeaths " five pounds to the vestry of the church at Rad- 
nor, two pounds to St. Peter's church at Great Valley, and two 
pounds to the minister who shall officiate at my funeral." 

John Jones and his wife, Eleanor, began housekeeping in New 
Providence, Montgomery county, probably on the land he inher- 
ited from his father. In 1749 they removed to Bethlehem, Pa. 
Here they built a massive stone house which stood until 1835, 
w^hen it was taken down by one of their descendants and a mod- 
ern mansion erected on its substantial foundations. The black- 
smith shop erected by John Jones is still standing. Here he did 
a great deal of work for the Indians, especially during the time 
when the Moravian Indian converts occupied the village of Nain, 
in the vicinity of Bethlehem. The Jones house was a place of 
considerable importance during the Indian wars. Again and 
again it was crowded with refugees fleeing from the frontier. On 
July 7, 1757, an Indian boy, the son of the old chief Tattamy, 
was recklessly shot by a white boy at Craig's Settlement while 
on his way to Easton with a party of friendly Indians. Danger- 
ously wounded, the Indian boy was brought to the Jones house 
to be nursed, while his companions encamped around the house, 
breathing threats of the direst vengeance in case of the death of 
their young chieftain. It was a matter of the greatest importance 
that his life should, if possible, be saved, and Dr. Bodo Otto was 
engaged, at the expense of the government, to give him his un- 



7o8 Charles Edmund Keck. 

divided attention. For more than a month younfr Tattamy 
lingered between life and death. The Indians could wait no 
longer, .so they hurried away to their hunting ground.s, greatly 
to the relief of the family which had entertained them. Three 
days afterwards the young chief died and waS buried in the 
grave-yard on the opposite side of the river. 

John Jones soon became a man of wealth and consideration. 
In 1752 he was appointed by an Act of Assembly one of the 
commissioners to secure a piece of land upon which to build a 
court house and prison for Northampton county, at Easton, " to 
accommodate the public service, andfor the ease and convenience 
of the inhabitants." He died June 2, 1781, and is buried in the 
grave-yard at Bethlehem. 

Joseph Jones, the youngest son of John Jones, was born April 
22, 1755, in Bethlehem township. He married, in 1775, Hannah 
Horn, of Upper Merion. We need not say that the first years 
of their married life fell in troubled times. In 1777, when their 
eldest child was an infant, Joseph Jones was required by the 
authorities to take a wagon load of flour to camp for the relief of 
the army. He left home in good spirits, expecting to return in 
a few days, but when the flour was out they loaded him with can- 
dles, and he was compelled to follow the army for many months. 
One day during his absence a company of French soldiers came 
to his house, and by signs demanded food and lodging. They 
were a part of the suite of General Lafayette, who had been 
wounded at the battle of Brandywine, and was at this time under 
surg-ical treatment at Bethlehem. These French soldiers were 
polite and respectful, but it is not surprising that Mrs. Jones was 
afraid of them. At night she crept into a closet hidden by the 
wainscoting, in deadly fear lest her hiding place should be dis- 
covered by the crying of her child. One night she heard a noise 
in the garden, and, looking out of the window, saw that a party 
of tories were engaged in stealing a row of hives full of honey. 
Without a moment's hesitation she called " Messieurs " at the 
top of her voice, and in a few moments the soldiers came running 
down stairs. Unable to make herself understood she pointed to 
the window, when they raised their muskets and fired a volley 
through the panes. Next morning the hives were found scattered 



Alfred Eugene Chapin. ' 709 



along the garden walk stained with blood, but whether any one of 
the thieves was seriously wounded was never discovered. Though 
never in public life Mr. Jones was a man of great influence. He 
had read much, and was widely known as an excellent surveyor. 
His flow of spirit was remarkable, and many stories are still related 
which illustrate his keen sense of humor. In short, he was an 
excellent example of a good humored, intelligent country gentle- 
man. He was made sole heir of his father's landed estate, includ- 
ing farms in Saucon and Williams townships, and comprising 
nearly eight hundred acres of excellent land. He had, however, 
to pay out a considerable number of legacies, and in those days 
"land was cheap but money dear." He died December 17, 
1824. His youngest daughter, Hannah, was the wife of John 
King. 

Charles Edmund Keck was educated in the public schools of 
his native borough and at Muhlenburg college (Allentown, Pa.), 
graduating from the latter institution in the class of 1883. He 
studied law with Gaius L. Halsey, and was admitted to the bar 
of Luzerne county October 18, 1886. He is an unmarried man, 
and a republican in politics. 

The courage and perseverance that enabled the ancestry of 
Mr. Keck, as here related, to overcome the difficulties by which 
their lives were surrounded, and found a numerous and pros- 
perous family, are said, by those who know him best, to be 
reflected in the character of their young descendant. He has 
been a faithful student, and his examination was creditably met. 
He begins professional life surrounded by friends and circum- 
stances that give promise of success therein. 



ALFRED EUGENE CHAPIN. 



Alfred Eugene Chapin was born in Ne\^ Columbus, Luzerne 
county. Pa., August 7, 1853. He is a descendant of John Chapin, 
a native of Springfield, Mass., where he married Hannah Rock- 
wood, and resided in that state and in Connecticut until several 



-lo Alfred Eugene Chapjn. 



of his family of twelve children grew large enough to assist in 
the labors needed in successfully building up a home in the then 
nearly unbroken forest of Huntington township, in this county. 
They obtained a pleasant, healthful location on the western hill, 
where some of his descendants still hold possession of the 
paternal acres. John Chapin is in the list of taxable inhabitants 
of Huntington township in 1796, and it is probable that he re- 
moved there prior to that time. Samuel Chapin, son of John 
Chapin, was a native of Litchfield county, Conn., and removed 
with his father to Huntington township. He married Hannah, 
the only daughter of Solon Trescott, in 1795. Solon Tres- 
cott was the son of Samuel Trescott and his wife Hannah 
Whipple, both of Sheffield, Berkshire county, Mass. They re- 
moved to Huntington in June, 1778, and the Trescott family was 
one of the representative families there. Solon Trescott, with 
his brother Samuel Trescott, served in Washington's army dur- 
ing the campaigns of 1776 and 1777. They were in the many 
engagements during those two disastrous years. After their 
term of enlistment expired the brothers returned to Huntington, 
and both enrolled in the company of Captain John Franklin, and 
with him marched to Forty Fort to participate in the efforts to 
save the Susquehanna settlements from destruction by the tories 
and their Indian allies. After their escape from Forty Fort, 
where they were held as prisoners a short time after John 
Butler was in possession of the fort, they returned to Hunting- 
ton, and assisted others to escape who were still remaining there. 
They had been preceded by bands of roving Indians, who were 
busy in robbing, burning, and devastating the homes that had 
been deserted. Several of the people the Trescott brothers ex- 
pected to find were gone, and of some of them no tidings were 
ever obtained. The brothers went down the river some distance, 
then taking an easterly course, eventually reached Connecticut. 
Samuel Trescott soon after married and never returned to Hun- 
tington. Solon also married soon after, returning to his native 
place, and remained "there until 1794. His wife was Margaret 
Lewis, of Ashford, C'onn. When they returned to Huntington 
they brought with them their six children, Hannah being among 
the number. 



Alfred Eugene Chapin. 711 

Dyer Lewis Chapin, father of A. E. Chapin, was the youngest 
child of Samuel Chapin and his wife, Hannah Trescott. He is a 
prominent citizen and merchant of the borough of New Colum- 
bus, and represented Luzerne county in the legislature of the 
state in i860. He was also a candidate for the same office in 
1 86 1, but was defeated by his republican competitor. He is one 
of the trustees of the New Columbus Academy, and has been a 
justice of the peace for twenty years and over. He has also held 
the position of town councilman and other offices. His wife is 
Amanda M. Fellows, a granddaughter of Abiel Fellows, one of 
the active men of the Susquehanna company, and also a trusted 
business man for the early settlers. He came to Huntington as 
a proprietor to improve his claim as early as 1784. In his evi- 
dence before the Pennsylvania commissioners in 1802 he says 
eighteen years previous to that date. However, during several 
years after that period he was not a constant resident. About 
181 5 he was one of the commissioners of Luzerne county. His 
family record says he was born October i, 1764. He married 
his second wife February 17, 1791. His first wife, whom he 
married November 12, 1786, was Anna Downing Andrews. She 
left no children. Andrus Fellows was the eldest son of Abiel Fel- 
lows by his second wife, Caty Mann. He married Sally Smith 
and cleared up a home a short distance north of New Columbus, 
where he raised his family and spent an industrious, useful life. 
He was the father of Amanda M. Chapin, who is the mother of 
the subject of our sketch. 

A. E. Chapin was educated at the New Columbus Academy. 
He entered the law office of Stanley Woodward, of this city, and 
subsequently that of Charles R. Buckalew, of Bloomsburg. He 
was admitted to the bar of Columbia county, and shortly after 
removed to the borough of Nanticoke, in this county, where, in 
addition to his law practice, he fills the position of justice of the 
peace. He was admitted to the Luzerne county bar October 19, 
1 88 1. He married, October 15, 1874, Lydia Augusta Sutliff, 
daughter of John D. Sutliff, of Huntington. He is a grandson of 
Miles Sutliff, an early Connecticut settler, who is on the list of tax- 
ables of Huntington township in 1796. Stiles Sutliff, son of Miles 
Sutliff, was the father of John D. Suthff. The mother of Mrs. A. 



712 James Noteman Anderson. 



E. Chapin, and wife of John D. Sutliff, is Catharine Larrish, a 
daughter of George Larrish, of Columbia county, Pa. Mr. and 
Mrs. Chapin have no children. 

Mr. Chapin comes, as will be seen, from an old family in the 
county, many of whose members have been prominently identified 
with its growth and prosperity. He is a justice of the peace, 
as we have already said, in Nanticoke, a position that in a place 
so important and away from the county seat is of much conse- 
quence both to its incumbent and to the people whose causes 
are preliminarily adjudicated before him. He fills it with dignity 
and with satisfaction to those by whose votes it was conferred 
upon him. Where men read in the law and regularly admitted 
to practice can be secured to accept these offices a necessar}' and 
distinct advantage to the community accrues. The original juris- 
diction of a justice of the peace under existing statutes in Penn- 
sylvania is sufficiently broad to make it a matter of great import- 
ance that he should have more than an ordinary knowledge of 
the law and its gravity, and it is a fact notorious to every judge 
in a court of record and every lawyer in active practice that a 
very large percentage of the expensive and worse than useless 
litigation with which the higher courts are constantly burdened 
comes from gross ignorance and almost criminal carelessness on 
the part of the justices by whom the cases are " sent up." Every 
well-posted and well-intentioned lawyer would be glad of such 
change in the law as would enlarge the jurisdiction of the justices 
and aldermen, provided it were accompanied by the requirement 
that those who fill such offices be qualified in an understanding 
of the law they are to administer. Mr. Chapin's success as a 
justice is an illustration of the wisdom of these suggestions. 



JAMES NOTEMAN ANDERSON. 



James Noteman Anderson was born in Pittston, Pa., January 
7, 1856. He is the son of John Anderson, a native of Dum- 
frieshire, Scotland, who emigrated to America in 1851, and has 
resided in Pittston ever since. He was for many years in the 



Cecil Reynolds Banks. 7^2) 

employ of the Pennsylvania Coal Company as one of its super- 
intendents, and has also been superintendent of the Pittston Water 
Company since its incorporation. The mother of J. N. Ander- 
son, and wife of John Anderson, is Mary, daughter of James N. 
Bryden, also of Pittston. She is a native of Ayrshire, Scotland. 
James N. Anderson was educated at Newton, N. J., Collegiate 
Institute, and in the college of New Jersey, at Princeton, grad- 
uating from the latter institution in the class of 1880. He read 
law with E. P. & J. V. Darling, and was admitted to the bar of 
Luzerne county June 5, 1882. He married April 27, 1886, 
Carrie A. Westcott, of Oneida, N. Y. She is the daughter of 
John H. Westcott, a native of Connecticut. The wife of John H. 
Westcott is Helen Williams, a daughter of James Williams, also 
of Connecticut. After the admission of Mr. Anderson to the bar 
of this county his health failed him and he resided in the terri- 
tories of Wyoming and Montana for nearly three years. He 
then returned to this county and resumed the practice of law. 
having- his office in Pittston. 

Mr. Anderson exhibits in his practice all the sturdy traits of 
the race from which he has sprung. His residence in the terri- 
tories did much to restore him his lost physical vigor, and, being a 
man of sound and active mind, and impressed with the seriousness 
of professional life, industrious, and of affable demeanor, he has 
already gathered about him a clientage of respectable proportions. 
Members of the bar are multiplying quite rapidly in Pittston, but 
Mr. Anderson is among the best and brightest of them and can 
be depended upon to hold his own in a fair field against any of 
his competitors. 



CECIL REYNOLDS BANKS. 



Cecil Reynolds Banks was born in HoUidaysburg, Blair county. 
Pa., November 3, 1849. He is a descendant of Hugh Banks, 
who was born in the early part of the seventeenth century in 
Ayrshire, Scotland. He had one son, James — if more, we are 
not informed. General James Banks was born in Ayrshire 



714 Cecil Reynolds Banks. 

about 1732. " He was a man (so the record runs) of great learninjT, 
high toned and honorable, exceedingly handsome, and a devout 
Presbyterian. In early manliood he was a great traveler, passing 
much of his time in England, where, in 1754, he married Ann 
Small, and sailed for America." His first home in this country 
was in Chester county, Pa. After living there a year he joined 
the army and went with Washington's forces for the protection 
of the frontier (now Pittsburgh) against the P'rench and Indians. 
He spent three years in the service. Upon leaving it he bought 
a farm in York county, Pa., and in 1772 he bought the Cedar 
Spring farm, in Mifflin (now Juniata) county. Pa., and moved 
his family there. He died in 1793. He had six children. 

Andrew Banks, son of James Banks, was the father of the late 
John Banks, of Reading, who was a representative in congress 
from 1 83 1 to 1836, president judge of the Berks district from 
1836 to 1847, the latter year becoming state treasurer. In 1841 
he was the candidate of the whig party for governor, but was 
defeated. He died in Reading April 3, 1864. James Banks, 
another son of General James Banks, was the father of Ephraim 
Banks. In 1 8 1 7 James Banks was a presidential elector, and voted 
for James Monroe for president. Susan Banks, daughter of James 
Banks, became the wife of Christopher Bowman, the ancestor of 
Thomas Bowman, one of the bishops of the Methodist P^piscopal 
church, and of D. L. Rhone, judge of the Orphans' Court of this 
county, and John Quincy Creveling, of the Luzerne county bar. 
In the " Bowman Family " it is incorrectly stated that Susan 
Banks was the sister of Judge Banks, of Reading. He had no 
sisters, but Susan Bowman was the aunt of Judge Banks. We 
have no knowledge of the other children of James Banks. The 
late Hon. Linn Banks, of Virginia, said he belonged to the same 
family, so it is supposed that one of the sons of James Banks 
went to Virginia ; and General N. P. Banks, of Massachusetts, 
also said the same, and his physique so indicates. In the law 
reports, during Queen Elizabeth's reign, we find that Sir John 
Banks was queen's counsel, and down to the present day we 
find in Scotland and England among the Bankses many lawyers 
and jurists, thus proving that the heredity of taste in learning 
and in the professions is as imperative as the physique of a familjfy^-QT> 



Cecil Reynolds Banks. 715 

Ephraim Banks was the eldest son of General James Banks 
and Catharine Nelson, daughter of Robert Nelson, who came to 
America about the time of Braddock's war and defeat, and shortly 
after married Martha Patterson, sister of John Patterson, grand- 
father of Madam Bonaparte (Betsey Patterson). Madam Bona- 
parte, before her marriage, who was well known as a most beau- 
tiful girl, used to visit her cousin, Catharine Nelson Banks, at 
Cedar Spring. The elder ladies of Harrisburg used to tell some 
pleasing reminiscences of those days. Ephraim Banks was born 
in Lost Creek Valley, then a part of Mifflin (now Juniata) county, 
January 17, 1791. He removed to Lewistown in 18 17, and was 
appointed prothonotary by Governor Findley in 1818, serving 
three years, and commenced the practice of law at Lewistown in 
182.3. He was elected to the legislature in 1826, 1827, and 1828. 
He was a member, by election, of the convention which assembled 
at Harrisburg May 2, 1837, to reform the state constitution. He 
was elected auditor general of the state in 1850, and re-elected 
in 1853, serving six years, and finally was elected associate judge 
of Mifflin county in 1866, which office he held at the time of his 
death, which occurred January 6, 1871. Judge Banks was a 
sincere and devoted christian. He was an elder in the Presby- 
terian church at Lewistown for many years. He often repre- 
sented the church in the meetings of presbytery, and as often, 
perhaps, as any other elder represented the presbytery in the 
meetings of the general assembly. As a member of church 
judicatories his opinions were always looked for and respected, 
and he was always appointed on the most important committees. 
In the church at home he was always as the pastor's right hand. 
According to his Scoth-Irish Presbyterian training he was firmly 
settled in the well known doctrines of the Confession of Faith 
and catechisms of the Presbyterian church. Not only was he 
faithful in his position as an elder of the church, but he refused 
not the humblest service by which he could promote the cause 
of the Master. He was a diligent and faithful teacher in the 
Sabbath school till the infirmities of age compelled him to desist. 
Immediately upon his death the members of the county court 
held a meeting and passed resolutions expressive of their high 
appreciation of his character, and the business places of the town 



7i6 Cecil Reynolds Banks. 



were all closed while his funeral ceremonies were being performed. 
Judge Banks was loved by the democracy of the state, but was 
honored alike by men of all parties. His natural gifts were 
marked; he was a gentleman of the highest style of manners — dig- 
nified, yet genial. The first wife of Judge Banks was Mary Keiser. 
She was the daughter of Andrew Keiser and Jane Phillips, who 
were married in Philadelphia May 28. 1792, by Rev. Joseph Pil- 
more, ofSt. Paul's church. Jane Phillips was the daughter of 
John and Hester Phillips {nee Reese), and was born in this 
country. Andrew Keiser was the son of Jacob Keiser, a native 
of Germany, who probably emigrated to this country September 
16, 175 I, in the ship Edinhurg. The wife of Jacob Keiser was 
Mary Matter, and on the ship just named was Jacob Matter and 
Hans Adam Matter, probably relatives of Mrs. Keiser. Judge 
Banks had five sons, all now in the " land of the hereafter " 
except E. Nelson Banks, M. D., of this city, who is the 
" hero of two wars." As a comparative boy he served through 
the Mexican war. The doctor was in the forlorn hope or storm- 
ing party at Chapultepec and helped storm the heights and 
castle. This was done without any priming in their guns. After 
the fall of Chapultepec the storming party was ordered to take 
the gate of San Cosme, one of the main entrances to the city of 
Mexico. Doctor Banks was wounded while helping to take a 
battery at the English burying ground, near the San Cosme gate. 
He soon rallied and caught up with the storming party, and was 
one of the very few who stormed and took the batteries and gate 
at sundown on September [3, 1847, and had the honor of sleep- 
ing with the little band in the city of Mexico that night — the 
first in the city. The next morning the whole army entered the 
city. For this service Doctor Banks was appointed by President 
Polk a second lieutenant in the regular army, but before confir- 
mation by the United States Senate the war was ended. He 
then read medicine and was graduated at the medical depart- 
ment of the University of Pennsylvania, and then removed 
to Peru, Indiana, and practiced his profession. When the 
late civil war was upon us he was appointed regimental surgeon 
and served with much zeal in his profession during the w^ar. 
Colonel James A. Banks, the second son of Judge Banks, was a 



Cecil Reynolds Banks. 717 



brilliant young lawyer. He read law with his father, and shortly 
after his admission he sailed for California around Cape Horn. 
The voyage was long and tiresome. When he landed at San 
Francisco he was selected by the late Governor Geary, who was 
then Alcalde of San Francisco, to become his counsel in a trial 
between him and the vigilance committee. The trial lasted a 
week and resulted in Governor Geary's favor. At its close young 
Mr. Banks, who had become weak by his long journey, went to 
bed and in a few days died. Governor Geary placed a monu- 
ment over his grave. Enoch A. Banks, the youngest son of 
Judge Banks, read law with his brother, Thaddeus Banks, was 
admitted to the Blair county bar, and soon thereafter removed to 
Norristown, where he made character particularly as a criminal 
lawyer. He was district attorney of Montgomery county for a 
term of three years. He married Miss Ray Bean, and died in a 
few years, leaving one son — B. Stanley Banks — an attorney at 
law residing in Philadelphia. Alexander A. Banks, another son 
of Judge Banks, was a druggist at Lewistown. Judge Banks had 
two daughters — Mary, who married Mr. Stinsen, of Evansville, 
Indiana, and Mrs. G. W. Bates, of Washington, D. C. Thaddeus 
Banks was the eldest son of Judge Banks. He was born in 
Lewistown in 181 5. He read law with his father, was admitted 
to the bar of Mifflin county in 1839, ^^^ shortly after removed 
to Hollidaysburg, and in 1841 married Miss Delia Cromwell 
Reynolds, of Maryland. He was one of the leading lawyers of 
the state, was a safe counselor, an able advocate, and had the 
highest conception of ethics and conscience. His mind was 
stored from almost every department of literature. He was a 
member of the state agricultural society, and took great interest 
in all that pertained to agriculture. He owned a beautiful farm 
near Hollidaysburg, and took much pride in keeping it well 
stocked with choice live stock and fruit, which before were 
unknown in Blair county. In 1861 he was elected, by the demo- 
cratic party, a member of the state legislature. In 1871 he was 
the democratic candidate for president judge of his county, but 
was defeated. He was frequently a candidate for presidential 
elector and other offices in the gift of his party, but it was his 
eminent integrity that shed its greatest luster on his character. 



71 8 Cecil Reynolds Banks. 

He was a zealous christian and a member of the Presbyterian 
church. Mr. Banks died in 1880. He left one son, the subject 
of this sketch, and four daughters — Kathleen, who married C. H. 
Porter, of Hollidaysburg ; Juniata, who married Ambrose Ewing, 
of Maryland ; Mary, who married Colonel M. H. Stacey, United 
States army, who died in 1885 while in command of Fort Ontario. 
Colonel Stacey made a brilliant record as a soldier and officer, 
brave and magnanimous, and by his example and pen labored 
for the highest interests of all branches of the service. The 
Loyal Legion of the United States closes their memoriam of 
Colonel Stacey with this sentiment : " We have tears for the 
bereaved ones, but we remember with pride the luster he shed 
on our escutcheon." Mrs. Stacey now resides in Washington, 
D. C. Delia Cromwell Banks, the youngest daughter, is the wife 
of G. W. Saddler, a prominent merchant of Baltimore. 

Mrs. Delia C. Banks, mother of C. R. Banks, and wife of 
Thaddeus Banks, is the daughter of Reuben Reynolds and Hen- 
rietta Maria Cromwell. Henry Reynolds, the progenitor of the 
Reynolds family in America, was a distinguished minister of the 
society of Friends in England. He was a man of great wealth, 
and with his wife emigrated from Nottingham, England, and 
settled in Nottingham, Cecil county, Maryland. His brother 
William afterwards came to America and settled in New York ; 
another brother, John, came later and settled in Carolina. Reu- 
ben Reynolds was the son of Jacob, who was a son of said Henry. 
He married Henrietta Maria Cromwell, daughter of John Ham- 
mond Cromwell, of England, and Mary Hammond Dorsey, of 
Joppa, Maryland. J. H. Cromwell was born about 1750, came 
to America previous to the revolution, married his cousin. Miss 
Dorsey, and settled first on the Gunpowder river, Baltimore 
county, Maryland. Subsequently he bought an extensive tract 
of land in Cecil county, where he afterwards resided, and where 
he and his family are interred. He was a lineal descendant of 
Oliver Cromwell, who, Lamertine says, was more than king. He 
was descended through Oliver's son, Sir Henry, and Lady Eliz- 
abeth Russell. They had four sons, one of whom, Richard, was 
the more immediate progenitor of J. H. Cromwell. The grand- 
father of Mrs. Thaddeus Banks, John H. Cromwell, was a man of 



Samuel Maxwell Parke. 719 



profound learning, a great aristocrat, and lived pretty much iso- 
lated except in his immediate family. He died a monarchist, 
thus losing the sympathy of his granddaughter, Mrs. Banks, who 
was one of the most zealous friends of the soldiers in the late 
war. She gave her time, her money, her pen, all her energies 
to the interests of soldiers in the field, in hospitals, to their fam- 
ilies at home, and to their orphans. The Dorseys were origi- 
nally French, and went over to England with William the Con- 
queror. The name was D'Arcy, and the first of the American 
D'Arcys came to Baltimore with Lord Baltimore and were 
intermarried in his family. 

Cecil R. Banks read law with his father, and was admitted to 
the bar of Blair county in 1873. He was educated at the Tus- 
carora Academy, Pennsylvania State College, and at Dickinson 
Seminary, Williamsport, Pa. He practiced law with his father 
during his lifetime, and after his father's death removed to this 
county, and was admitted to the Luzerne county bar January 
10, 1883. He comes, as the foregoing narrative attests, from a 
long line of lawyers, many of whom were eminently successful 
and achieved distinction both in their profession and otherwise 
in public life. He has good natural abilities, and has had the 
advantage of excellent training, both before and since his admis- 
sion to practice. In his younger days he wrote much for the 
local press, and in this line of endeavor displayed unusual talent. 
He is a careful investigator, argues his causes well, and may rea- 
sonably look forward to good success. 



SAMUEL MAXWELL PARKE. 



Samuel Maxwell Parke was born in Pittston, Pa., May 4, 1859. 
He is a descendant of Arthur Park, a native of Ballylagby, in the 
county of Donegal, Ireland, who came to this country prior to 
1724, and settled in Upper Octoraro, Chester county. Pa. Hon. 
J. Smith Futhey, in a historical discourse delivered on the occa- 
sion of the one hundred and fiftieth anniversary of the Upper 



720 Samuel Maxwell Pakke. 

Octoraro Presbyterian church, says: "The entire Parke family 
in this section of the country, toi^ether with many famiHes bear- 
ing other honored surnames, are their descendants. It has fur- 
nished this church with five ruhng elders, in five successive gen- 
erations, * * * and has also furnished four ministers — the 
late Rev. Samuel Parke and his son, Rev. Nathan Grier Parke, 
the Rev. Samuel T. Lowrie, and the Rev. John L. Withrow. 
The name was originally spelled Park, but the later generation 
spell it Parke. Members of the family of the seventh generation, 
from the original Arthur Park, are present within these walls 
to-day." His grandson, Joseph Park, was a member of the Penn- 
sylvania legislature from Chester county in the years 1779, 1780, 
1783, 1784, 1802, and 1807. 

Rev. Samuel Parke, son of Joseph Park, was born November 
25, 1788, near Parkesburg, Pa. He graduated at Dickinson col- 
lege in i8og, studied divinity under the direction and instruction 
of Rev. Nathan Grier, of Forks of Brandywine — there being then 
no theological seminaries in the church — and was licensed by the 
presbytery of New Castle in 18 13. He was ordained and 'installed 
pastor of the Slate Ridge church, in York county, in August, 
1 8 14, and sustained that relation for forty-three years. He dis- 
charged the duties of the ministry with great fidelity and to the 
acceptance of his congregation until 1857, when, on account of 
the infirmities of age, he resigned. He died on the 20th of De- 
cember, 1869, in the eighty-second year of his age. His wife 
was a daughter of his preceptor — Rev. Nathan Grier — a native of 
Bucks county, where he was born in September, 1760. His 
parents were John and Agnes (Caldwell) Grier, who, after their 
marriage, came to this countr}' from Ireland. Devoted to God 
in his youth by humble faith, he chose the ministry of the gospel 
as the best means of promoting the glory of God and the benefit 
of his fellow men. His classical and theological education was 
conducted by his elder brother, the Rev. James Grier, of Deep 
Run. He entered the University of Pennsylvania about r78i, 
and was graduated in 1783. He was licensed to preach by the 
presbytery of Philadelphia in 1786. In the same year he received 
and accepted a call from the congregation of the Forks of Brandy- 
wine, and was installed as their pastor in 1787 — a union for life. 



Samuel Maxwell Parke. 721 



He died March 31, 18 14, in the fifty-fourth year of his age, having 
served his congregation for twenty-seven years. He married 
Susanna Smith, a daughter of Robert and Margaret Smith, 
whose biography may be found under the head of Edward P. 
Darhng, in these pages. He left five children — three daughters 
and two sons. Two of his daughters became the estimable wives 
of Presbyterian ministers. His sons were Rev. Robert S. Grier 
and the Rev. John N. C. Grier, D. D. Rev. John Ferguson 
Grier, D. D., was his nephew. 

Rev. Nathan Grier Parke, D. D., is a native of Slate Ridge, York 
county, where he was born December i6th, 1820. He graduated 
from Jefferson College before he had completed his twentieth 
year, and four years later, in the spring of 1844, he received his 
diploma in theology from Princeton College. He was licensed 
to preach the gospel on the 30th of April, 1843, by the presby- 
tery of Donegal. He was ordained in Pittston as an evangelist 
by the presbytery of Luzerne July 7, 1846, and was installed 
pastor of the church at Pittston June 6, 1847. He preached his 
first sermon in Pittston in June, 1844, and has been pastor of the 
Presbyterian church in that place since, a period of over forty 
years. In 1 884 Washington and Jefferson College conferred upon 
Mr. Parke the degree of D. D. In the early days of his ministry 
his field covered Pittston, Lackawanna, Scranton, Hyde Park, 
Providence, Newton, and Abington, a section of the country now 
thickly dotted with Presbyterian churches. Mr. Parke married, 
June 8, 1847, Ann E. Gildersleeve, daughter of the late William C. 
Gildersleeve, of Wilkes-Barre, and granddaughter of Rev. Cyrus 
Gildersleeve. Mr. Gildersleeve was of an old New Jersey family, his 
ancestors having settled in Orange about 1660. Rev Cyrus Gilder- 
sleeve, a son of Ezra Gildersleeve, was born Apri 1 1 4, 1 768, and grad- 
uated from Rutgers College. After studying theology he removed 
south, and for twenty-one years was pastor of the Midway Pres- 
byterian church, at Mcintosh, Liberty county, Ga. While there 
he married Mrs. Renchie Elliott, who had been previously mar- 
ried to Thomas Quarterman. Her maiden name was Norman, 
and she belonged to one of the old slave-holding families of 
Georgia. She was the daughter of William Norman, who removed 
Jfrom Dorcliester, South Carolina, to Midway March 22, 172 1. 



722 Samuel Maxwell Parke. 



The family belon<red to the New England colony that first settled 
in South Carolina and afterwards removed to Georgia. The wife 
of William Norman was a Miss Boyd, of Charle.ston, S. C. Mrs. 
Renchie Elliott was but twenty-three years of age when she 
married Mr. Gildersleeve. Five children were born to Mrs. Gil- 
dersleeve. She died in 1807. By this marriage Mr. Gildersleeve 
became a slaveholder and a grower of cotton. One of these 
slaves Mr. Gildersleeve brought with him to Wilkes-Barre. She 
was known as " Mam Helen," and lived to an advanced age — 
something over a hundred years — and spoke with confidence of 
being " assisher " to entertain General Washington in the home 
of her old master in Georgia. In 18 10 Rev. Cyrus Gildersleeve 
settled in Bloomfield, N. J., and was pastor of the church in that 
place for about ten years. In 1820 Mr. Gildersleeve settled in 
Wilkes-Barre and became the pastor of the Congregational (now 
Presbyterian) church in this city. Desiring to extend the borders 
of the church he occasionally preached to the people in Hanover, 
Newport, Plains, Pittston. and Plymouth. The earliest regular 
Presbyterian preaching in the Lackawanna valley was by Mr. Gil- 
dersleeve, who was there as early as 1827, and the few Presby- 
terians in the lower half of the valley were connected with the 
church in Wilkes-Barre. Once in four or six weeks Mr. Gilder- 
sleeve traversed the valley and preached on week days in school 
houses, barns, and private dwellings, and the open air at Lacka- 
wanna, Hyde Park, and Providence. For more than ten years 
following Mr. Gildersleeve's ministry there were not more than 
six families residing east of the Lackawanna river, in what is now 
the main part of the city of Scranton. In 1829 Mr. Gildersleeve 
was succeeded in the pastorate of the church in Wilkes-Barre by 
Rev. -Nicholas Murray, D. D., author of the " Kirwan letters." 
Mr. Gildersleeve subsequently removed to Bloomfield, where he 
preached until the time of his death, January 15, 1837. He mar- 
ried his second wife, Frances C. Wilkinson, May 12, 1808. This 
wife was a widow whose maiden name was Kennady. Eight 
children were the fruits of this marriage. 

William C. Gildersleeve, son of Rev. Cyrus Gildersleeve, and 
grandfather of Samuel Maxwell Parke, was born in Mcintosh, 
Liberty county, Ga., December 6, 1795, and there lived until he 



Samuel Maxwell Parke. 723 



was fourteen years of age. His father then removed to Bloom- 
field, N. J., with a view to educating his children. After com- 
pleting his education Mr. Gildersleeve entered the store of Israel 
Crane, in Newark, N. J., where he spent several years. He mar- 
ried Nancy Riggs, of Mendham, N. J., a daughter of Preserve 
Riggs, a sister of Rev. Elias Riggs, a graduate of Princeton College 
in 1795, who received his license to preach from the presbytery of 
New York in March, 1802, and for some time supplied the Presby- 
terian church at Perth Amboy, N. J. In 1806 he removed to New 
Providence, N. J., and continued this pastoral charge to the end of 
his life. He died February 25, 1825. Mr. Riggs was eminently 
a Godly man and a faithful pastor, and commanded, by his 
exemplary life and conversation, the affection of his people 
and the respect of the community. He entailed upon the world 
a well-trained family that does honor to his name and has done 
good to the church and the world. His two sons became Pres- 
byterian ministers, the younger one being the distinguished 
missionary at Constantinople since 1832 — the Rev. Elias Riggs, 
D. D., L. L. D. The Riggs are descended from Edward Riggs, 
who emigrated from England and settled at Roxbury, Mass., 
early in the summer of 1663. Some of his descendants removed 
to Newark and Orange, N. J., as early as 1667. The Riggs are 
and were a very highly respectable family. As one has written: 
" The Riggs family is one of which no member of it need be 
ashamed. It is distinguished for its great array of men and 
women of solid worth, with few ' black sheep ' among them. As 
a general attribute they may be said to have lived up to a high 
moral standard, and to have had .strong religious convictions. 
It has been liberally represented in the three leading professions — 
physic, law, and theology, especially the latter. It has spread 
and, literally, has its branches in all the states. Although the 
early generations were neither wealthy nor polished, they were 
honest, brave, and strong in their convictions, just such blood 
as a true man is proud of possessing." 

W. C. Gildersleeve, whose daughter Rev. Mr. Parke married, 
was a decided anti-slavery man. He knew something of it from 
personal observation on his father's plantation and other planta- 
tions in Georgia, and did not hesitate to denounce it as unright- 



724 Samuel Maxwell Parke. 



eons and an abomination, although by so doing he became 
ahenated from all his kindred in Georgia. He was a pronounced 
abolitionist, as much so as Garrison or Wendell Phillips, at a 
time when it cost something to take such a position, and as such 
he stood almost alone in this city. P'or forty years he was ostra- 
cized politically and religiously. He associated himself with the 
abolitionists of the country, invited them to his house, and did 
what he could to aid fugitive slaves who were fleeing to the 
north. His residence on Main street was the depot of what was 
known as the Underground Railroad, and he did not attempt to 
conceal the fact. He frequently met slaveholders from the south 
in this city, and did not hesitate to tell them that they would 
never carry their slaves back if he could prevent it. It was while 
he was entertaining C. C. Burleigh, an aboHtion lecturer, that his 
house was mobbed and he was ridden on a rail through the 
streets of this city. A full acpount of this disgraceful matter was 
given at the time in The Spectator and Freeman s Journal, an anti- 
slavery paper published in Montrose, Pa. An attempt was made 
to bring the leaders of this mob to justice, but the pro-slavery 
sentiment was too strong. Many of the very men who offered 
such indignities to Mr. Gildersleeve subsequently became aboli- 
tionists themselves. The fugitive slave law was passed subse- 
quently to the mobbing of Mr. Gildersleeve, and it was thought 
that this pro- slavery law was so framed that it would certainly 
quiet abolitionists. It made no change in Mr. Gildersleeve. He 
continued to harbor the fugitives and help them in their flight from 
slavery. The result was that he was brought before the Supreme 
Court and attempts made to punish him, but ha escaped both fine 
and imprisonment and hved to see slavery abolished. Mr. Gil- 
dersleeve was eminently a charitable man, and gave largely of 
his means to assist the poor and unfortunate. He was the main 
agitator and founder of the Home for Friendless Children in this 
city, and contributed ^iO,ooo towards the same. For many 
years he was prominently connected with the Presbyterian church 
in this city and served as the superintendent of its Sabbath school. 
The church here in its early day was considered by him to be 
too conservative on the slavery question, and he, therefore, with- 
drew from it and associated himself with the church at Montrose, ^ 
Pa. He died in Wilkes-Barre October 7, 1871. /^^^%, 



George Drum Hedian. 725 

Samuel Maxwell Parke was educated at the Newton, N. J.,. 
Collegiate Institute, the Hill School, Pottstown, Pa., and Yale 
College, graduating from the latter institution in the class of 
1882, having maintained a position in the first division of his 
class during his entire college course. He read law with George- 
R. Bedford, and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county 
June 9, 1885. Mr. Parke is an unmarried man and a republican 
in politics. He is a brother-in-law of Thomas H. Atherton, of the 
Luzerne bar. 

The energy and activity that marked the careers of the gener- 
ations of men whose blood has descended to the subject of this- 
brief sketch find reflection in him, manifest to his friends and as- 
sociates, though he can scarcely be said as yet to have fairly 
started on his career. His tutor gives him credit for having 
been a very close and intelligent and even ardent student, and 
in the cases in which he has been employed he has shown the 
fruits of that application. He is a well-informed young man- 
generally, moves in an influential social circle, and may safely 
be said to be on the high road to success in his chosen profession.. 



GEORGE DRUM HEDIAN. 



George Drum Hedian was born in Wilkes-Barre, Pa., Decem-- 
ber 8, 1856. He is the son of Robert Emmet Hedian, who was 
the son of James Hedian and his wife Bridget, who was a daugh- 
ter of Patrick Hedian and his wife Annie Taft. Patrick Hedian 
lived in county Roscommon, Ireland, where he owned consider- 
able property, the homestead being known as Ballenaheglish, which 
means " The priest's hom.e." He had three sons and three daugh- 
ters. His daughter Bridget was sought in marriage by a relative — 
James Hedian — to whom her father strongly objected, partly on 
political grounds, for he was in favor of the governing power, 
while James and his family were against it, his brother Peter 
having been wounded and captured when captain of a company 
of Red Ribbon men, and was publicly flogged for refusing to 



726 George Drum Hedian. 

reveal his comrades. Finding her father inflexible, Bridget eloped 
with James, and they were married. The family afterwards re- 
moved to Baltimore, Md., and the children (who were all born 
in Ireland), Patrick, Martin, Robert E., Thomas, Annie, and 
Mollie, were brought up, and the sons entered business in that 
city. Patrick became senior member of the firm of Hedian & 
Piatt, editors and publishers of TJic Catliolic Mirror. Martin 
became a gold beater, Robert E. a potter, and Thomas a mem- 
ber of the firm of Myers & Hedian, art importers. The daughter 
Annie married Thomas Faherty, and Mollie married F. G. Cum- 
mins. Robert E. Hedian came to VVilkes-Barre, where he estab- 
ished a pottery. He was afterwards appointed deputy sheriff 
by Abraham Drum, who was sheriff of Luzerne county from 
1853 to 1856. In the early days of the late civil war he took an 
active part in recruiting Company I of the Fifty-eighth Regiment 
Pennsylvania Volunteers. He was appointed second lieutenant 
of the same company June 5, 1863. Not being mustered in he 
re-enlisted in the Fifth New York Heavy Artillery, in which he 
remained until the end of the war. His brothers were active 
sympathizers with the confederacy, and made frequent appeals 
to Robert E. to join them, and at one time when receiving one 
of their letters upon which was printed a confederate flag, which 
was observed by bystanders, the feeling ran so high that he nar- 
rowly escaped being mobbed. He has been employed at Wash- 
ington, D. C, in the pension department. He now resides in 
the same city. 

The mother of George Drum Hedian was Eleanor Drum, 
who died in this city on the 31st day of last March, ^a daugh- 
ter of Abraham Drum, who was a son of George Drum, who 
was born June 15, 1762, in Williams township, Northampton 
county, Pa. The family of the father of George Drum consisted 
of father, mother, two daughters, and the one son, George. The 
father entered the Continental army, and shortly afterwards, at a 
time when the son was visiting with a neighbor, his home was 
burned and mother and sisters disappeared. It was supposed 
they were carried off by Indians. The son was adopted by the 
neighbor he was visiting, a man by the name of Steinbach, with 
whom he remained till of age. His father was never heard of 



George Drum Hedian. 727 



after entering the army. The son became a farmer, and in time 
the owner of a valuable farm in Williams township. George 
Drum, early in the present century, removed from Williams 
township to Sugarloaf (now Butler) township, in this county, 
and bought the farm now owned and occupied by his grandson, 
George Drum. He was appointed by Governor Simon Snyder, 
February 17, 18 10, a justice of the peace. This office he held 
for life. He died February 27, 1831. The wife of George Drum 
was Polly Woodring. Abraham Drum was the third son of 
George Drum. In addition to his being the sheriff of Luzerne 
county he was the first postmaster of the village of Drums, in 
Butler township, after whom the post office was named. The 
wife of Abraham Drum was Magdalena Winters, who was the 
daughter of John Adams Winters, who was born in Berks county 
in 1760. He made his home in Quakeake Valley for a time, and 
afterwards removed with his family to Beaver Meadows, where 
he purchased a farm, upon which he first discovered the coal in 
that locality. Hon. George W. Drum, of Conyngham, who 
represented Luzerne county in the legislature of the state from 
1879 to 1882, is a nephew of Abraham Drum. 

George Drum Hedian was educated in the public schools and 
at the Pennsylvania State Normal School, at Millersville, Pa., 
from which he graduated in 1879. For six years he was a 
teacher in the public schools of this county, having taught at 
Milnesville, Butler township, and in the schools of this city. Of 
his ability as a teacher, Cyrus Straw, now one of the com- 
missioners of Luzerne county, and at the time he wrote secretary 
of the Butler school district, speaks as follows : " His qualifica- 
tions as a teacher, combining discipline, thoroughness, earnestness,, 
and good christian habits, place him among the first men of the pro- 
fession." Edward Brooks, principal of the State Normal School 
at Millersville, says : " He has shown himself to be an excellent 
teacher and a thorough disciplinarian ; he is a young man of 
excellent moral character, and is in every way worthy of public 
confidence, and as such I give him my cordial and hearty indorse- 
ment." He attained an honorable standing in his class. Mr. 
Hedian's taste for literature led him to the stud}^ of phonography, 
which he pursued by piece-meal while attending the normal 



728 George Drum Hedian. 



school, going to New York on several occasions for instruction 
in Browne's college of phonography. After finishing his course 
he secured an engagement with George Bancroft, the historian. 
Mr. Hedian worked in the Senate reporting room for D. F. 
Murphy during the winter of 1 88 1-2, in hours when not employed 
by duties with Mr. Bancroft or with law studies. After conclud- 
ing his law course Mr. Bancroft voluntarily gave him the follow- 
ing recommendation : " Mr. George D. Hedian has been in my 
employ for four years as private secretary. In this capacity he 
has shown fidelity and assiduity, and has won my entire confi- 
dence in his integrity, uprightness, and pure moral character. He 
leaves me of his own accord, being disposed to enter the legal 
profession, for which he has prepared himself at our well known 
Columbian Universit>^ under the charge of President Welling, and 
having for its teachers in the profession lawyers of the highest 
standine on the bench and at the bar. Washington, D. C. 
George Bancroft. June 3, 1S85." Mr. Hedian graduated as 
LL. B. from the law department of the Columbian University 
June 12, 1883, and as LL. M. June 3, 1884, and was admitted to 
the bar of the Supreme Court of the District of Columbia June 
23, 18S4. In 1885 he came to Wilkes-Barre and entered the law 
office of Hubbard B. Payne, and was admitted to the bar of Luz- 
erne county June 4, 1886. Mr. Hedian is an unmarried man, 
a democrat in politics, and a Methodist in religious belief He 
is also a member of the United States Senate Reporters' Asso- 
ciation. 

Mr. Hedian is a man of active mind and business experience, 
which, in addition to his having been an apt and careful reader 
in the law, equips him admirably for its practice. His ex- 
perience and success as a school teacher, his association with 
the eminent historian, as above related, and his practice as a 
stenographic reporter, have given him a knowledge of men and 
measures that must needs add largely to his qualifications for 
advancement as a lawyer. As has been more than once remarked 
in these sketches, such knowledge, other things being equal, 
almost invariably decides which of two men is the better lawyer, 
for, though familiarity with the statutes and with the decisions is 
indispensable, the successful application of the fruits of such 



Peter Augustus Meixell. 729 

familiarity to the settlement of the disputes of men in the courts 
depends largely upon the practitioner's understanding of men 
and of general business procedures. Socially Mr. Hedian is all 
that makes a gentleman. 



PETER AUGUSTUS MEIXELL. 



Peter Augustus Meixell was born in the township of Salem, 
Luzerne county, Pa., August 16, 1857. He is a descendant of 
Philip Meixell, a native of Bushkill, Northampton county, Pa., 
and who removed from that place to Salem township in 1810 and 
purchased a farm, which the father of P. A. Meixell now owns. 
His wi6»^vvas Elizabeth Varner. Philip Meixell, jr., son of Philip 
Meixell, was born in Bushkillin in 1796, and removed with his 
father to Salem township. In 1845 he was elected one of the 
commissioners of Luzerne county. His wife was Catharine 
Lanehart, a daughter of Peter Lanehart, who came to America 
in 1774 from Germany. His brother, George Lanehart, was a 
soldier in the revolutionary army. The wife of Peter Lanehart 
was Susannah Boyer, a daughter of John Boyer. He was at one 
time captured by the Indians near Drylands, Northampton county, 
Pa., and conveyed to Canada. He subsequently returned to his 
home, after enduring innumerable hardships while a captive. 
Peter Meixell, father of the subject of our sketch, is a native of 
Salem township, where he was born September 15, 1820. He is a 
prominent citizen of his township and has filled the various town- 
ship offices, such as school director and supervisor. The wife of 
Peter Meixell is Elizabeth Fenstermacher, a daughter of the late 
John Fenstermacher, a native of Montgomery county, Pa. His 
grandfather, George Fenstermacher, was born in Germany on or 
about the first quarter of the eighteenth century. He came to 
America with his parents when about nine years of age as a refugee 
after the revocation of the edict of Nantes. Philip Fenstermacher, 
son of George Fenstermacher and father of John Fenstermacher, 
was born in Montgomery county about 1770, and removed to 



730 



Henry Dudley Patton. 



what is now Conyngham township, in this county. His wife was 
Gertrude Harter. John Fenstermacher was commissioned a 
justice of the peace for Nescopeck township April 25, 1840, and 
held the office for nearly forty years. He died July 29, 1885, 
aged about eighty-three years. 

P. A. Meixell was educated in the public schools of his native 
township, at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa., and at Blooms- 
burg State Normal School, graduating from the latter in.stitution 
in 1878. At the age of eighteen he taught his first school, and 
was engaged in that occupation for about eight years. He was 
principal of the public schools at Nanticoke, Pa., for one year, and 
of Blakely, Pa., for two years. He also taught a select school 
in Beach Haven. He read law with Hon. G. M. Harding and 
John McGahren, and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county 
September 20, 1886. 

Mr. Meixell evinces a happy understanding of the require- 
ments of the profession, being a close and patient student, and 
conscientious and energetic in the elucidation of all the material 
facts in such causes as are given into his keeping. He is already 
a first rate office lawyer, and with reasonably good fortune is 
assured of a large and lucrative practice. He has a taste for pol- 
itics, and has given much time and attention to the direction of 
the last two or three campaigns under Democratic auspices in 
Luzerne county, taking upon himself much of the detail office 
work that is so arduous, that few know so little about, and that 
is so essential to success, even where a party is supposed to be 
strongly fortified in the confidence of the people, and with an un- 
exceptionable ticket. He is personally very popular with all 
who know him, being of a genial and obliging temperament, 
honest and earnest in his friendships, and faithful in his every 



undertaking. 



HENRY DUDLEY PATTON. 



Henry Dudley Patton is a native of Fayette county, Pa. On the 
paternal side he is of Scotch-Irish descent. At an early day his 
grandfather, John Patton, who married Nancy Woodrovv, of 



Henry Dudley Patton. 731 



Lancaster county, with three brothers, inherited a tract of land 
in Washington township, Fayette county, Pa. The youngest son 
of John and Nancy Patton is Hirim Patton, who now occupies 
the old homestead. Hirim Patton married Harriet Wris^ht of 
Westmoreland county, a descendant of that family of Wrights so 
largely instrumental in establishing Presbyterianism west of the 
mountains. To Hirim and Harriet Patton were born ten chil- 
dren (eight now living), the fourth of whom is H. D. Patton, who 
was born July 28, 1845. 

Desiring an education, and his parents not being in circum- 
stances to afford help, H. D. Patton got their consent to attend a 
high school at Fayette city, Pa., three miles distant. In the 
summer of 1863, earning book-money by working in a neighbor's 
hay-field, he entered school the following Monday, attendino- 
during four quarters. In the summer of 1864 he was a student 
at the Millsboro Local Normal School. The winters of 1864-65 
Mr. Patton was principal of the Allenport public schools. During 
the summers of 1865 and 1866 he attended the South Western 
Normal College, at California, Pa. — since having become the 
South Western State Normal School — where he not only better 
fitted himself for teaching, but also laid the foundation for a more 
liberal education. In the autumn of 1866 Mr. Patton accepted 
the principalship of the West Middletown (Pa.) public schools, 
holding the same also during the winters of 1867-68-69. Dur- 
ing the.se winters he took an active part in county institutes. 
During the spring and summer of 1867 he taught a select and 
normal school at West Middletown. The summer of 1868 Mr. 
Patton was employed as a teacher in the South Western Normal 
College, in which he had been a student. The spring and sum- 
mer of 1869, desiring to gain practical knowledge of the advan- 
tages offered by the eastern schools, Mr. Patton attended the Mas- 
sachusetts State Normal School, at Westfield, where, applying 
himself assiduously, he acquired the Prussian system of teaching 
as taught there. While in the east he visited a number of 
schools in Springfield, Boston, etc. 

During the school term, at the invitation of Prof J. C. Grcen- 
ough, vice-principal of the W^estfield school, Mr. Patton attended 
a teachers' association at Holyoke, where, among other addresses. 



732 Henrv Dudley Patton. 

Dr. Seelye, of Amherst college, spoke on the advantages of clas- 
sical studies. The address modified Mr. Patton's views on this 
question, and he began to plan to seek a more liberal education 
than the normal schools could afford. Accordingly, after return- 
ing and filling his engagement at West Middletown, in the spring 
of 1 870 he entered Waynesburg college in the middle of the sopho- 
more year, remaining to complete the course, graduating in the 
class of 1872. On entering college his reputation as a teacher 
had preceded him, and death having caused a vacancy in the 
faculty, he was employed to teach two hours a day during the 
entire course, which he did in addition to pushing his own 
studies. During the summers he taught normal classes. On his 
graduation , in 1872, the Pennsylvania synod of the Cumberland 
Presbyterian church, of which he is a member, nominated Prof 
Patton to the vice-presidency of the college faculty and to the chair 
of English. The board of trustees of the college confirmed the 
nomination, and at the opening of the next college year he entered 
on his larger sphere of labor and responsibility. He held these 
positions until the spring of 1876, when, the institution getting 
into financial straits, he resigned. During a portion of this time, 
the president of the college being abroad, and also taking part in 
institute work in other states, his duties and responsibilities fell 
upon Prof Patton as vice-president. He also took active part 
in county institute work, and became widely known in south- 
western Pennsylvania as an educator. 

On September 14, 1875, Prof. Patton was married to Miss Lucy 
V. Inghram, M. M., a graduate of Music Vale Seminary, Connec- 
ticut. Mrs. Patton is the youngest daughter of Dr. Arthur and 
Elizabeth Inghram, of Waynesburg, Pa. (both deceased), and the 
youngest sister of Hon. James Inghram, president judge of the 
Fourteenth judicial district of Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mrs. Pat- 
ton have no children. 

In the autumn of 1876 Prof Patton accepted the principalship 
of the public and normal schools of Youngsville, Pa., which po- 
sition he resigned in the spring of 1877 to accept the principalship 
of the Eclectic Institute, Jersey Shore, Pa., a position more con- 
genial to his tastes. While holding this position he gave many? 
educational lectures and contributed largely to the press. 



Henry Dudley Patton. 733 

In the summer of 1881 he abandoned teaching and entered the 
larger field of law and politics. Coming to manhood- in stirring 
war times, Prof. Patton became a student of history and politics. 
Though reared in the democratic faith, he cast his first ballot for 
the republican party. Governor Geary receiving his first guberna- 
torial, and General Grant his first presidential, vote. Supporting 
that party until 1879, he became a prohibitionist, believing the 
liquor traffic to be the greatest moral and political evil afflicting 
society, and endangering the stability of our free institutions. 

Having abandoned teaching in June, 1881, in December of the 
same year he registered as a student of law with his brother-in- 
law, James Inghram (now Judge Inghram), and on January 7, 
1884, was admitted to the bar of Greene county. 

Prof Patton, believing a reorganization of the body politic a 
necessity in bringing the liquor question squarely before the peo- 
ple, and in effecting an adequate extirpation of the evil, volunta- 
rily threw himself into the work of party organization. So 
during the period of his legal studies, as opportunity afforded, 
and since to a greater degree, he has devoted himself largely to 
that work. To give an adequate account of this work in these 
limits is impossible. From August 25, 1 881, at Wilmington, Law- 
rence county, till August 23, 1886, at Gettysburg, five full years, 
he had addressed near six hundred audiences in Pennsylvania, 
besides filling engagements in other states. 

Discussing the principles of the prohibition party throughout 
the state, in school house, church, hall, court house, in groves, 
and on the street, and organizing clubs, effecting township, ward, 
and county organizations, assisting in holding county conventions, 
and setting local forces at work — Prof Patton is personally better 
known in Pennsylvania than any other member of the prohibi- 
tion party. 

On September 13, 1882, in an unfinished store room of the 
Wood estate, 34 South Main street, Prof Patton made the first 
public prohibition speech eve-r made in Wilkes- Barre. He speaks 
wholly off-hand, has the reputation of treating his opponents 
with courtesy and fairness, illustrates his points with clearness, and 
builds his arguments with logical solidity. He has also taken 
part largely in moral suasion and non-partisan temperance work. 



734 Henkv Dudley Patton. 



Prof. Patton was an elector on the Neal Dow ticket of i88o. 
He was also a delegate to the national prohibition conference 
which met at Chicago, August 23, 1882, and on the call of states, 
was chosen by the Pennsylvania delegation to represent the state 
from the platform on the progress of the work therein. He was 
a delegate to the national prohibition convention which met at 
Pittsburgh, July 21, 1884. To the Pennsylvania state conventions 
of his party he has been repeatedly sent, always being placed on 



its working committees. 



Being well acquainted throughout the state, and knowing the 
wants of the party, he was unanimously chosen chairman of the 
state executive committee, at Harrisburg, at the late state conven- 
tion, August 25-26, 1886. 

On the evening of August 31, at headquarters, in Philadelphia, 
where he had gone to open up the campaign, he was met and op- 
posed by the leading candidate, Hon. Charles S. Wolfe, and ten 
or more others — Mr. Wolfe's friends. The opposition was osten- 
sibly on the ground of Mr. Patton's want of legal standing as 
chairman and his lack of fitness for the position. The conditions 
of his remaining chairman were such as Chairman Patton believed 
to be a compromise of his manhood and a betrayal of the integrity 
of the party whose honor he should preserve.. He resigned, 
when at a hastily called meeting of the state committee, at Har- 
risburg, September 10, he was denied the right and privilege of 
stating his reasons for resigning before his resignation should be 
acted on. A vote was promptly taken accepting his resignation, 
in the face of the most strenuous protest on the part of his friends, 
a large part of the delegates not understanding the situation of 
affairs. This created division in the party ranks, by which can- 
didate Wolfe lost, as estimated by many of his friends, from 
twenty to thirty thousand votes in the state. 

Prof. Patton is assiduously studious, is a lover of metaphysics, 
mathematics, the classics, and political economy. 

On January 5th, 1887, on certificate from Greene county, Mr. 
Patton was admitted to the Luzerne county bar, and is a partner 
in the firm of Patton & Nichols, of this city. 

Comparatively few men pass through such varied experiences 
before coming to the practice of the law as Mr. Patton. Many 




James Robinson Scouton. 735 



young men adopt teaching as a temporary makeshift or most 
available means of earning a livelihood while preparing them- 
selves for admission to the bar ; but Prof Patton continued in 
that line of useful endeavor until he had reached an age at which 
most men similarly situated regard their vocation as fixed for 
life. The means by which he got his start, however, showed of 
what superior material he was made. Young men whose parents 
are without the means of assisting them to an education, and 
who are on that account willing to undergo the toils of the hay- 
field to make up that deficiency are not numerous in the modern 
world, and when circumstances have developed one such it is 
safe enough to assume that he will not rest content with what 
he has, so long as he believes there are any greater heights 
attainable. Prof Patton has come to the practice of what he 
finally concluded should be his profession with the convictions of 
matured middle life and all the experiences that precede it to 
guide him in making of that profession a thing of profit and 
honor to himself and advantage to those who employ his services. 
He is a man of pronounced views, with a disposition to be useful 
as a citizen, and many companionable qualities, and he will make 
in all respects a good lawyer. 



JAMES ROBINSON SCOUTON. 



James Robinson Scouton is a native of Elwell, Bradford county, 
Pa., where he was born September 26, 1858. His father, W. W. 
Scouton, is a native of Forkston, Wyoming county. Pa., where 
he was born in 1821. William Scouton, father of W. W. Scouton, 
was a native of Connecticut, as also Jacob Scouton. father of 
William Scouton. The mother of the subject of our sketch, and 
wife of W. W. Scouton, is Luray Ann Robinson, a daughter of 
Ira Robinson, who was also a native of Forkston. He was the 
son of Rewell Robinson, who was the son of Chandler Robinson. 
The Robinson family originally came from Connecticut to 
Pennsylvania. James R. Scouton was educated in the public 



736 Andrew Fein Derr. 

schools, at Susquehanna Collcfriate Institute, at Towanda, Pa., 
and at the Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa. He has taught 
school more or less for twelve years in Wyoming, Bradford and 
Luzerne counties, and was only about seventeen years of age 
when he taught his first school. He read law and was graduated 
from the law department of the Michigan University, Ann Arbor, 
Michigan, in 1886. He then came east and was admitted to the 
Sullivan county bar in September, 1886. He was admitted to 
the Luzerne county bar January 6, 1887. He is a young man 
of good mental parts and will, undoubtedly, succeed in his chosen 
profession. 




ANDREW FEIN DERR. 



Andrew Fein Derr was born May 29, 1853, in Upper Augusta 
township, Northumberland county. Pa , near the village of Kline's 
Grove, about six miles from Sunbury, Pa. He is a descendant 
of Johann Heinrich Dorr, who emigrated to America September 
3, 1742, arriving " in the ship Loyal Judith, James Cowie, Master, 
from Rotterdam, last from Cowes." He was an elder in the old 
Swamp church, in Upper Milford township, Bucks county. Pa., 
and his two sons, Jacob and Michael, are entered on the church 
records as having been confirmed on the same day. The origin 
of this church antedates all existing records. The first log build- 
ing was probably erected prior to 1736, soon after the German 
and Swiss immigrants settled in that wilderness region, for the 
church register opens April 24 of that year. A patent was 
obtained for one hundred and thirteen acres September 27, 1738, 
consideration ^17, 3s., 7d., and the tract is still owned by the 
church. From that date the congregation has been Reformed. 
In 1772 the log building gave way to a substantial stone struc- 
ture; the flooring was flagstone and brick, the pews rough and 
inconvenient for napping during the sermon, and a stove never 
obstructed its aisles. A third building was erected in 1837 and 
a fourth in 1872. The latter is a handsome stone edifice seventy 
by fifty feet, costing $30,000, and is adorned with a tall spire. 



Andrew Fein Derr. 737 



The basement is divided into Sunday school rooms, pastor's 
room, and broad vestibule, and the audience room is handsomely 
finished with frescoed walls. In the loft is an organ which cost 
$2,300. The Sunday school was inaugurated in 1841, amid the 
cry of " innovation " and fierce outside opposition, but they 
availed naught, and it now numbers three hundred scholars. 
The church has now about five hundred members, and since 
1869 service has been held every Sunday, which is the case with 
but one other country German church in eastern Pennsylvania. 
Since 1872 it has been known as Trinity Reformed church, but 
down to that period it was called the Swamp church. Opposite 
the church stands the little old house of the organist and the 
music teacher, in which is still taught the music lessons of the 
young people of the congregation, as was the custom one hundred 
years ago, and was the custom many years before in the Father- 
land on the Rhine, from which these quiet, peaceful Germans came. 

It is more than probable that Johann Heinrich Dorr was the 
son or descendant of Sebastian Dorr, who came to Pennsylvania 
September 1 1, 1728, in the ship Jau/ts Goodwill, and who took the 
oath of allegiance to Pennsylvania in 1743, but there are no cer- 
tain records of their relationship. The Dorr family were all of 
the Reformed faith, being a portion of that large body of German 
Protestants who were driven out of the Palatinate in the early 
part of the eighteenth century, and who came to the free com- 
monwealth of Pennsylvania in such enormous numbers that it is 
estimated that more than thirty thousand emigrants from that 
portion of Germany landed at Philadelphia between 1720 and 
1750. Though all communication has long since been severed 
with the fatherland, within recent years inquiries have developed 
the information that some of the family still remain in the neigh- 
borhood of Heidelberg, and there was, some ten years ago, a 
professor of that name in the university there. 

Jacob Dorr, son of Johann Heinrich Dorr, was born in Penn- 
sylvania in 1752. He enlisted in Captain Thomas Church's 
company of General Anthony Wayne's regiment, fourth Pennsyl- 
vania battalion, and served through the Revolutionary war, 
having been wounded in the battle of Brandywine. After the 
war he returned to Bucks county, settled on his farm in Uppei 



738 Andrew Fein Dekr. 



Milford township, where he built the house in which he li\ed 
for many years until his death in i<S29, and it is still standing in 
good condition at the present day. His remains are interred in 
the grave-yard at the Swamp church. Michael Derr, eldest son 
of Jacob Dorr, was born in Upper Milford township in 1776. 
He served as a soldier in the war of 1812 with Great Britain, 
having gone into the service from his native county, and after 
leaving it lived and died, in 1862, in Springtown, Bucks county, 
Pa., having reared a family of ten children — twc sons and eight 
daughters. 

John Derr, eldest son of Michael Derr, was born near Spring- 
town, Bucks county, Pa., September 4, 1802. He left his home 
at an early age and engaged in the business of milling and later 
in life in that of constructing bridges, having built Milford and 
Frenchtown bridges across the Delaware river, and at other times 
was eneaeed in the lumber business on the Delaware river. In 
1834 he married Hannah Fein, youngest daughter of John Fein, 
Esq., and Catharine Melick, his wife, of Finesville, N. J. In 1849 
he removed with his family to Northumberland county, having 
purchased a farm there, and resided in that county until his 
death in 1 864. Rupp, in his history of the Pennsylvania Germans, 
says that a ship was driven into the capes of the Delaware by 
stress of weather in 1704 which had intended to go to New 
York with its ship-load of emigrants, who proposed to settle in 
that state. Among those people was supposed to be Philip Fein, 
the ancestor of the Fein family, who, in common with many of 
the other people of the ship, started overland from Philadelphia 
to cross the then unknown wilds of northern New Jersey to reach 
New York. Having reached the banks of the Musconetcong 
river, in what is now Hunterdon county, N. J., Mr. Fein, with 
his brother John, appreciating the advantages of the stream as a 
water power and the fertility of the soil, determined to settle 
there instead of pursuing his course any further through the 
forest, which then covered the whole country. Mr. George 
Brakeley White, of Cumberland, Md., in his chronicles of the 
Brakeley family says that when his ancestor arrived in 1705 on 
the Musconetcong he found the Fein family already established 
there. The following is taken from his narrative : " The first 



Andrew Fein Derr. 739 

Philip Fein settled upon the tract of land where the village of 
Finesville has since been built about the year 1700. Like all the 
early German land holders in this locality he held his estate by 
virtue of an Indian title, which was subsequently confirmed to 
his sons Philip and John by the Lords Proprietors. This son 
Philip, who married for the second time, in 1805, Mrs. Brakeley, 
and who gave his daughter Catharine in marriage to y oung Mr. 
Brakeley, was born July 15, 1744. He was a man of wealth and 
influence in those early days. His name, as well as that of his 
brother John, appears amongst the signers of the constitution of 
the St. James' Lutheran church, of Greenwich, N. J. (commonly 
known as the Straw church, on account of the first edifice havinsf 
been thatched with straw), in 1770, and he ever took a deep 
interest in its welfare. His business ventures were fortunate. 
He erected a dam on the Musconetcong river and built an oil 
mill, a grist mill, and a saw mill. They were the largest mills in 
Lopatcong (the general name for the district) and the earliest 
of which there exists authentic accounts. Mr. Fein died Sep- 
tember 4, 1 8 10, and was buried in the Straw church grave-yard. 
His sons inherited this valuable property and for many years 
conducted an extensive business in grain." His son John, born 
in 1767, died in 1826, married Ann Catharine Melick, the daugh- 
ter of Captain Andrew Melick, and became the father of a large 
family, of which the youngest child was Hannah Fein, mother 
of Andrew F. Derr. 

Johannes Molich was a native of Bendorp, Germany, an ancient 
town of four thousand people, four miles below Coblentz, where 
he was born October 28, 1702. He emigrated to America in 
the ship Mercury, William Wilson, master, arriving in Philadel- 
phia May 29, 1735. He brought with him ready money and 
considerable furniture, some large pieces of which are now in the 
possession of Andrew D. Melick, jr., of Plainfield, N. J. He was 
a man of some education, as is shown by preserved correspond- 
ence and legal documents. Tradition asserts that he remained 
ten years in Pennsylvania. In 1747 he appears as owning land 
in Sussex, now Warren county, N. J., and in 1750 was living 
on Rockaway creek, in Readington township, Hunterdon county, 
N. J., where he had established one of the earliest tanneries 



740 Andrew Fein Derr. 



in North America. He was, up to his death, trustee and church 
warden of Zion Lutheran church, at New Germantown, Hun- 
terdon county, N. J. In 175 1 he bought three hundred and 
sixty-seven acres of land frontin^^ on the north branch of the 
Raritan river, in Bedminster township, Somerset county, N. J. 
Here he estabHshed another tannery and erected a substantial 
stone house, which is occupied by one of his descendants. Cap- 
tain Andrew Melick, son of Johannes Molich, emigrated to this 
country with his father, and was but six years of age at the time 
of his arrival in this country. He became a well-known citizen 
of his adopted state, and was mustered in as captain in the first 
regiment of the continental line of the New Jersey troops on the 
4th day of July, 1776, and served through the war, and finally 
died at the ripe old age of ninety-one years, honored and res- 
pected by all who knew him. 

Both the Feins and Melicks were leading members of the St. 
James' Lutheran or "Straw" church, and the communion list 
from the foundation of the church until their deaths shows them 
to have been in regular and constant conmiunication with its 
sacraments and holy work. In common with many of the early 
settlers of New Jersey the Feins and Melicks were slave-holders. 
Though the negroes were held as slaves, yet they appear to have 
been accorded a very much larger measure of freedom than was 
given such persons in the south, and even after they were freed, 
by either the operation of the law or voluntarily by their masters, 
they continued to live on the lands of their former masters and 
worked for wages for them. Mrs. Hannah Derr had many 
childish reminiscences to narrate of the old black men Cfesar and 
Pompey, who were freedmen in her father's household in her 
childhood days. 

John and Hannah Derr were the parents of Thompson Derr, 
Mary Catharine, married to John P. Richter, Henry H. Derr, 
John F. Derr, and Andrew Fein Derr. Both John and Hannah 
Derr died in April, 1864, the mother on the 2d of April, followed 
by the father on the 26th, leaving Andrew not quite eleven years 
of age. In the following autumn he was sent by his guardian to 
Selinsgrove, Pa., where he lived with his sister, who resided 
there with her husband — John P. Richter, of that place — and 



Andrew Fein Derr. 741 

there attended school at the institute and prepared for college. 
In the fall of 1871 he entered the freshman class at Lafayette 
college, Easton, Pa., and graduated with his class in June, 1875, 
taking the degree of A. B. The following year was spent at his 
alma mater in pursuing extra studies, to which there was not 
time to give attention during the regular course, in modern lan- 
guages, history, and general literature. In the summer of 1876 
he registered as a law student in the office of George R. Bedford, 
but in October of the same year he left his office and entered as 
a student in the office of Hon. George W. Biddle, in Philadelphia, 
at the same time taking lectures in the law school of the Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania, which was then adorned by the scholar- 
ship and learning of the late E. Coppee Mitchell. Finding, how- 
ever, that the ready and thorough course of instruction which 
Mr. Biddle afforded his students was amply sufficient to cover 
all the ground gone over in the law school, he concluded to come 
up regularly before the board of examiners of the Philadelphia 
bar for admission to that body in the fall of 1878. He passed 
his examination and was admitted to the bar October 28, 1878, 
being admitted to practice in the four Courts of Common Pleas 
and the Orphans' Court of Philadelphia county at that time. A 
month later, having decided to locate his permanent residence at 
Wilkes-Barre, he came to this county and was admitted to the 
bar of Luzerne county December 2, 1878, and engaged in the 
practice of law in this county, which he pursued until the fall of 
1882, when, owing to the failing health of the senior partner of 
the firm of Thompson Derr & Bro., he entered that firm, since 
which time he has given his attention exclusively to fire insur- 
ance, together with several private enterprises in which he is 
engaged. Mr. Derr is a director of the Miners' Savings Bank 
and also of the Anthracite Bank in this city. He is a trustee of 
the Memorial Presbyterian church, is one of the directors of 
the Osterhout Free Library, of Wilkes-Barre, and is also an active 
member of the Wyoming Historical and Geological Society and 
has served as its treasurer. 

Mr. Derr is a man of excellent natural abilities, and the educa- 
tional advantages above detailed being grafted thereupon, fitted 
him for a high place at the bar had he chosen to adhere to the 



742 William Alonzo Wilcox. 



practice of his profession. Tlie insurance business established 
by his brothers is, however, one of the lari^est in this section of 
the state. It had small beginnings, but Thomp.son Derr & Bro. 
was one of the earliest firms in that line in Wilkes-Barre. By 
close attention and patient perseverance the confidence of the 
best companies in all parts of the. country was secured, and a vast 
aggregate of insurance was placed by them on properties in all 
parts of the state. Large profits were yielded, and it was natural 
that, being offered an opportunity to take a leading place in such 
a business, Mr. Derr preferred doing so to undergoing the labor 
and submitting to the trials that must be borne before even the 
best equipped attorneys can hope to control a paying clientage. 
Those who know him best feel, however, that his decision has 
lost to the bar one who might have taken place among its lead- 
ing ornaments. His knowledge of the law and his practice 
thereof are necessarily an advantage to him in the insurance 
business, as well as to those who have dealings with him in that 
line. Mr. Derr is a democrat in politics, and, while never har- 
boring the thought of seeking or accepting office, has done effii- 
cient committee and other gratuitous work for his party on many 
occasions. He is a gentleman of many attractive qualities, always 
affable, generous, and, by reason of these and other attractive 
social endowments, is a great favorite in the best society wherever 
inclination or business takes him. 



WILLIAM ALONZO WILCOX. 



William Alonzo Wilcox was born in the village of Olean, 
Cattaraugus county, N. Y., July 25, 1857. He is a descendant, 
in the ninth generation, of Edward Wilcox, of Portsmouth and 
Kingstown, R. I. 

Edward Wilcox, in 1638, was one of the free inhabitants of 
the island, then called Aquidneck, now Rhode Island, and 
joined in forming the civil combination or compact of govern- 
ment May 28 of that year. He had a trading house at Narra- 



William Alonzo Wilcox. 743 



gansett, in partnership with Roger WiUiams, about this time. 
At some time thereafter Richard Smith, sr., of Gloucester- 
shire, England, more recently of Taunton, Mass., joined with 
them. Wilcox probably died at Narragansett before 1648, and 
in 165 1 Roger Williams, to raise funds to defray his expenses to 
England for the second charter, sold to Smith the trading house, 
his two big guns, and the small island near Smith's house which 
had been granted him by Canonicus a little before his death. In 
1653 Smith seems to have acted as guardian for eight children, 
probably those of Wilcox, among whose sons were Stephen and 
Daniel. From Daniel have come a host of the name in south- 
eastern Massachusetts. 

Stephen Wilcox, a son of Edward Wilcox, was born about 
1633, and was of Portsmouth, R. I., in 1655. Early in 1658 he 
married Hannah, daughter of Thomas Hazard, of Portsmouth. 
Mr. Hazard was a ship carpenter, who came from Wales to Bos- 
ton about 1635. He espoused the weaker side in the famous 
Hutchinson controversy, and with Nicholas Easton and Henry 
Bull, both afterwards governors of Rhode Island, and fifteen 
others, all prominent citizens of the Massachusetts Bay Colony, 
was first disarmed, then driven, by their triumphant opponents, 
from Massachusetts. They determined to make their new home 
on the Delaware, and sent their household goods by ship around 
Cape Cod, going overland themselves to Providence, where 
they expected to embark for the Delaware country. But at 
Providence they were induced by Roger Williams to take up 
their abode upon Aquidneck. Westerly was settled in 1661. 
In May, 1669, when the town was incorporated, Stephen Wilcox 
was among the free inhabitants. He was one of the first delegates 
from Westerly to" the general assembly, and was again elected 
in 1672. In 1670 John Richards, treasurer of Harvard college, 
charged him with having " seazed, possessed, planted and now 
living upon with his adherents, land in Stonington [Westerly 
intended], on the east side of Pawcatuck river, bounded with a 
parcel of land laya out to Thomas Prentis on the West, with the 
sound on the South, on the East with Wecapauge, and on the 
North with Common land," which Richards claimed as the 
property of the college. This interstate controversy, for it was 



744 William Alonzo Wilcox. 



a question of jurisdiction and boundary between Massachusetts 
and Rhode Island, lasted a number of years, and was finally 
determined in favor of the Rhode Islanders. The old Wilcox 
form, near Watch Hill, part of the tract described, is still owned 
and occupied by descendants of Stephen. In a paper dated Feb- 
ruary 6, 1689-90 he is mentioned as deceased. His children 
were Edward, Thomas, Daniel, William, Stephen, Hannah, and 
Jeremiah. 

Edward Wilcox, son of Stephen Wilcox, was born about 1662, 
married, first, a daughter of Robert and Mary (Brownell) Hazard, 
by whom he had four children — Mary, Hannah, Stephen, and 
Edward. In 1698 he married Tamzin, daughter of Richard Ste- 
phens, of Taunton, Massachusetts, by whom he had six children — 
Sarah, Thomas, Hezekiah, Elisha, Amy, and Susannah. January 
6, 1686, he (of Misquamicut, alias Westerly) sold to Isaac Law- 
ton sixty acres in Portsmouth for £il^, which was described as 
bounded partly by land of his grandfather, Thomas Hazard. In 
1688 he was appointed to look after horses not belonging to in- 
habitants. In 1693 he was delegate to the General Assembly. 
December 29, 17 14, he was one of the grand jury. On the 15th 
of November, 171 5, administration on his personal estate was 
granted to his widow, Tamzin. The town council authorized 
the widow, after paying debts, to draw forth ^^50 for her trouble 
in bringing up children that are under age. She was to have 
her choice of the best room in the house and a third of the 
income of real estate; the eldest son, Stephen, to enter forth- 
with into possession of rest of house, and the orphans to have 
the rest of the moveables, according to law. In the inventory 
are thirty-one head of cattle, nine horses, and twenty-two of 
swine, which, with books, pewter, and gun, amounted to ^^283, 3s. 

Stephen Wilcox, son of Edward Wilcox, who was left in 
possession of the homestead, married, July 12, 17 16, Mercie, 
daughter of Matthew and Eleanor Randall, of Westerly. His 
will, now lying before us, contains matters of creed and religion 
not often inserted in wills nowadays, but common then. It is 
dated January I, 1753, in the twenty-sixth year of his majesty's 
reign, George the Second, king of Great Britain, etc. " Principally, 
and first of all," he recommends his soul to God that gave it ; 



William Alonzo Wilcox. 745 

his body to the earth in christian burial, nothing doubting the 
general resurrection, at which he is to receive the same again by 
the mighty power of God. Bequests are made to his two older 
sons, David and Stephen, and to his daughters, Mercie and 
Unice. The homestead is divided between Valentine and Isaiah, 
and the widow given the residue. The widow and Isaiah are 
made executors. The children of Stephen were David, Mercie, 
Unice, Stephen, Valentine, and Isaiah. 

Rev. Isaiah Wilcox, youngest son of Stephen and Mercie 
(Randall) Wilcox, was born about 1738, and married, October 15, 
1761, Sarah, daughter of John Lewis, of Westerly. The " Third 
Church of Christ in Westerly " was organized in 1765. It was 
always popularly known as the " Wilcox church, " from the name 
of its principal pastors. The constituent members w^ere Isaiah 
Wilcox, Elisha Sisson, David Wilcox, Valentine Wilcox, James 
Babcock, Mercy Lewis, and Austris Dunbar. The following 
sketch of Rev. Isaiah Wilcox is from a chapter on this church in 
Denison's Westerly, page 126 : " The first pastor of the church 
was Rev. Isaiah Wilcox, who was baptized in February, 1766, 
and ordained February 14, 1771. He was a man of full habit, 
broad features but fair face, and weighed three hundred pounds. 
Possessing a sonorous voice and excellent powers of song, he 
made a strong and happy impression. He was a good man, an 
able preacher, and devoted to his work. Deservedly he enjoyed 
a wide and precious reputation. Under his ministry, in 1785, 
occurred a great reformation, which continued for nearly three 
years, and during which more than two hundred persons were 
added to the church. The work was remarkably powerful in 1786. 
The honored pastor died of small-pox, incurred by a compassionate 
visit to a suffering townsman, March 3, 1793, at the age of fifty- 
five years." He had twelve children, of whom Isaiah was the 
eldest. He was succeeded in the pastorate by his son. Rev. Asa 
Wilcox, of \vhom Mr. Denison says : " Besides ministering to 
this he often preached in the ' Hill church ' and in the regions 
round about, for his ability was in much demand. He was a 
man of ordinary stature, handsome presence, excellent voice, 
pleasing address, and readiness of powers. In his day he held 
an enviable rank as a preacher, hence his good name and influ- 



746 William Alonzo Wilcox. 



ence still freshly survive in all the churches to which he minis- 
tered. He finally removed and labored in Connecticut. He died 
in Colchester, Conn., in 1832. His remains, about twenty years 
afterwards, were removed to Essex, Conn., a field of his labor, and 
laid by the side of the Baptist church, and honored by a chaste 
monument." His manner of preaching was calm ; his sermons 
logical, clear, and strong. His personal popularity was great, 
and several large revivals attest the success of his ministry. 
Another pastor of the church was Rev. Josiah Wilcox. The 
first deacon was Stephen Wilcox, a brother of Isaiah. Oliver 
Wilcox and Lieutenant Governor Edward Wilcox were among 
the members. 

Deacon Isaiah Wilcox, eldest son of Rev. Isaiah Wilcox, was 
born in Westerly January 31, 1762-3. When the Revolutionary 
war broke out he was too young for service, being but about 
fourteen years old. He enlisted, however, in a home guard, 
made up, possibly, like the patriot band at Wyoming, of" chiefly 
the undisciplined, the youthful, and the aged, spared by 
inefficiency from the distant ranks of the republic." The force 
was commanded by Colonel William Pendleton, and marched to 
New London, Stonington Point, Newport, and other towns on 
the coast, engaged in frequent skirmishes, preventing the landing 
of British vessels, capturing small vessels, and doing efficient 
service in the defence of the coast. He had been stimulated by 
his father to a love of that liberty Americans prize so highly, and 
all he could do to secure it he did. He married, January 22,1 788, 
Polly, daughter of C-«4wrcl William Pendleton,M' young lady 
whose lovely character and useful life did credit to the excellent 
family of which she came. They were married by Rev. Isaiah 
Wilcox. In 1792, in company with his brother Nathan and his 
family, he removed to Danube, Herkimer county, N. Y., and 
undertook a settlement in the dense forest. He had been there 
but a year or so when his log cabin took fire and burned to the 
ground with very nearly its whole contents. He rebuilt it and 
prospered. He enjoyed the comforts of religion for more than 
sixty years, and was emphatically a shining light in the commu- 
nity. In politics he was earnestly democratic. He died at New- 
ville, Herkimer county, July 13, 1844, at the advanced age of 



William Alonzo Wilcox. 747 

eighty-two years, six months. His children were Polly, Isaiah, 
William Pendleton, Asa, Lydia, Nancy, and Nathan Pendleton. 

Colonel William Pendleton, father of Mrs. Isaiah Wilcox, was 
a descendant of Major Bryan Pendleton through the following 
line: Major Bryan Pendleton was of Watertown, Sudbury, and 
Portsmouth. He was many years selectman and representative ; 
made his w\\\ August 9, 1677, which was probated April .5, 
1681. He left a widow, Eleanor, a son, James, and a daughter, 
Mary. Captain James Pendleton was one of the founders of the 
first church at Portsmouth, 1661, was a justice of the peace, and 
served in the war against Philip, 1676. He married for his 
second wife Hannah, daughter of Edmund Goodenow, by whom 
he had a son Joseph and other children. Edmund Goodenow 
was a resident of Sudbury. He came in the ship Confidence 
from Southampton, England, in 1638. He was made freeman 
May 13, 1640, was representative in 1645 and again in 1650, and 
was a leader of the militia. He died in 1676. Joseph Pendleton, 
born December 29, 1664, at Sudbury, was married, by Rev. 
James Noyes, July 8, 1696, to Deborah, daughter of Ephraim 
Miner, of Stonington, Conn. Colonel William Pendleton, sr., of 
Westerly, was born March 23, 1704, and was married, by Rev. 
Ebenezer Rossiter, March 10, 1725-6, at Stonington, to Lydia 
Burrough, of Groton. Colonel William Pendleton, eldest son of 
Colonel William last mentioned, was baptized August 13, 1727.- 
He was married, by Rev. Nathan Ellis, April 2 5V'i7T?rto Mary 
Chesebrough. Their second daughter, Polly, born November 
14, 1766, at Stonington, it was who married Deacon Isaiah Wil- 
cox. 

Mary Chesebrough, wife of Colonel William Pendleton, jr., 
was a descendant of William Chesebrough as follow.? : William 
Chesebrough came from Boston, county Lincoln, England. He 
was born about 1594, married Anna Stevenson December 15, 
1620, and arrived in Boston, Mass., in 1630, with Governor Win- 
throp. He was among the earliest members of the first church 
of Boston, and was admitted a freeman May 18, 163 i. Here- 
moved to Pawcatuck, where he was the earliest permanent 
white settler. He was a representative in 1653, 1657, and 1664. 
He died June 9, 1669. His son Samuel Chesebrough, born 



748 William Alonzo Wilcox. 



April I, 1627, in England, by his wife Abigail, had (sixth child) 
a son, Elisha Chesebrough, born April (or August) 4, 1667, who 
had a son Jabez Chesebrough, father of Mary, who became the 
wife of Colonel Pendleton. The wife of Jabez Chesebrough was 
his second cousin PriscillaChesebrough. Nathaniel Chesebrough, 
son of William, was born in England January 25. 1630. He mar- 
ried Hannah, daughter of Captain George and Bridget (Thomp- 
son) Denison. Their son, Samuel Chesebrough, married Pris- 
cilla, granddaughter of John and Priscilla (Mullins) Alden. 
Samuel and Priscilla Chesebrough had a daughter Priscilla, who 
married Jabez Chesebrough, as above stated. 

Pollv Wilcox, eldest daughter of Deacon Isaiah Wilcox, was 
born in Colchester, Conn., January 4, 1789, married Isaac Brown, 
November 22, 1806, and had sons, Rasselas and Isaac. The 
three sons of Rasselas are, Hon. Jefferson L. Brown, of Wilcox, 
Elk county. Pa., banker, surveyor, and lumber merchant ; Colonel 
William Wallace Brown, LL. D., M. C, of Bradford, lawyer; and 
Major Isaac B. Brown, of Corry, law}-er. 

Colonel William Pendleton Wilcox, second son of Deacon 
Isaiah Wilcox, was born in Danube May 31, 1794. He married, 
in 1 8 14, Betsey" Payne, by whom he had three children — two 
daughters and one son. He afterwards married Esther Swift, by 
whom he had no children. He was a farmer and merchant, 
served in the war of 1812, was sheriff of Allegany county, N. Y., 
associate judge of Elk county. Pa., speaker of the Pennsylvania 
senate, and member of the Pennsylvania hou-^^e of representatives. 
He died at Port Allegheny April 13, 1868. His only son, Hon. 
Alonzo Isaiah Wilcox, was born in Herkimer county, N. Y., 
March 22, 18 19. About 1842 he engaged in the lumbering 
business at Portland Mills, and at what is now Wilcox, Elk 
county. Pa., and became one of the largest manufacturers and 
dealers in the state. The flood of 1861 swept away the profits 
of years, and he turned his attention to railroad contracting and 
later to oil. It is within the bounds of truth to say that there 
can scarcely be mentioned an important project or enterprise 
in his section of the state inaugurated for the benefit of the 
public in which he has not been one of the originators or most 
active promoters. The Philadelphia & Erie Railroad, the Jersey 



William Alonzo Wilcox. 749 

Shore & Pine Creek road, the Rochester, Nunda & Pennsyl- 
vania Railroad, the Bradford, Bordell & Kinzua Railroad, the 
Equitable Pipe Line Company, and the Tide Water Company 
may be mentioned among them. With some of them he is still 
connected. He held the rank of colonel on the staff of Governor 
Geary, and has been twice a member of the Pennsylvania legis- 
lature, more recently having been sheriff of McKean county. 
He has one child living, a daughter, the wife of Ernest H. 
Koester, of the McKean county bar. 

The third son of Deacon Isaiah Wilcox was Asa. He was a 
merchant and manufacturer, and was a member of the New York 
legislature from Herkimer county in the session of 1849. He 
has two sons living — Hon. Isaiah Alonzo Wilcox, of Santa Clara, 
California, horticulturist, and George Pendleton Wilcox, of Little 
Falls, N. Y. Mrs. George P. Wilcox is a sister of General F. E- 
Spinner, whose curious signature ornamented the greenbacks of 
a few years ago. In 1872 George P. Wilcox was one of those 
democrats who could not support Greely, and was on the O'Connor 
ticket for presidential elector. He has written considerable, 
principally on agricultural and metaphysical subjects. 

Nathan Pendleton Wilcox, sr., youngest son of Deacon Isaiah 
Wilco.x, was born in Danube, N. Y., May 3, 1804. He married, 
October 9, 1828, Lurancia Richardson, daughter of Lieutenant 
William and Sarah (Norton) Richardson. Lieutenant William 
Richardson was born in Cheshire, Mass., and settled in Madison, 
N. Y., with his father in early life. Ebenezer Richardson, the 
father, was the youngest of a family of eight brothers, four of 
whom married sisters, daughters of Hall, of Boston. Ebe- 
nezer died about 1825, aged about eighty years. Sarah Norton 
was an orphan. She came from Vermont with the family of a Rev. 
Mr, Butler. Nathan P. Wilcox died April 24, 1 833, leaving a widow 
and one child. He died young, but not before he had given evi- 
dence of the possession of high qualifications for a successful busi- 
ness life. He was a farmer and contractor. The old Baptist church 
at Nunda was built by him, then an undertaking of considerable 
importance, and several trusts committed to him were executed 
in a manner that reflected credit on his ability and integrity. He 
was interested in military affairs, and held commissions as ensign 



750 William' Alonzo Wilcox. 



and lieutenant of infantry in the New York militia. Lurancia 
Richard.son, daughter of Lieutenant William, was born in Madi- 
son, N. Y., February 23, 1808. In i836shemarried William Will- 
iams, of Smethport, McKean county, Pa. When Mr. Williams 
died, about 1867, she came to Nicholson and has since remained 
there with her only son. Her age is seventy- nine years. .She is 
a zealous, consistent member of the regular Baptist church. Mr. 
Wilcox was of that faith but had never connected himself with the 
church. 

Nathan Pendleton Wilcox, jr., son of Nathan Pendleton Wil- 
cox, sr., was born at Nunda, N. Y., May 16, 1832. He attended 
the public schools and academy at Smethport, Pa., the Nunda 
Literary Institute, at Nunda, N. Y., and the public schools at 
Rochester, N. Y. In 1847-8 and again in 1852-3 he taught 
school in McKean county, Pa. He entered the store of his 
uncle, Jeremiah W. Richardson, at Nunda, in the spring of 1848, 
and remained four years. He then went to Olean, N. Y., and 
was employed with Smith Brothers and with N. S. Butler, mer- 
chants. During 1856 and 1857 he was engaged in mercantile 
business with J. K. Comstock as N. P. Wilcox & Co., and from 
1858 to 1862 with Fred. Eaton as Wilcox & Eaton. He removed, 
in April, 1862, to Nicholson, Wyoming county. Pa., and has 
been engaged in mercantile business there continuously to 1886. 
He was married, October 6, 1856, at Coventry, by Rev. J. B. 
Hoyt, to Celestine, youngest daughter of John and Nancy (Litde) 
Birge, of Coventry, Chenango county, N. Y. They have four 
children — William A., the subject of this sketch, being the eldest ; 
Henry Pendleton, merchant at Nicholson, and Misses Clara B., 
and Anna J. John Birge, of Hebron, Conn., the ancestor of John 

Birge, married Knox. They had a son, John Knox Birge, 

born in Hebron, Conn., about 1754. He married, September 15, 
1777, Ruhamah Foote. He died May 17, 1838. Ruhamah 
was born October 15, 1760. John Birge, their son, was born 
June 18, 1789, and married Nancy, daughter of Captain Ephraim 
Little, of Great Barrington, Mass. He died at Nicholson, Pa., 
October 23, 1866. Captain Ephraim Little, of Great Barrington, 
was the grandfather of Ralph B. Little, of Montrose, Hon. Robert R. 
Little, of Tunkhannock, E. H. Little, of Bloomsburg, and George 



William Alonzo Wilcox. 75 i 

H. Little, of Bradford county, of whom the first three are lawyers. 
Of the next generation there are now at the bar George P. Little, 
of Montrose, son of Ralph B., W. E. & C. A. Little, of Tunk- 
hannock, sons of Robert R., Robert R. Little, of Bloomsburg, 
son of E. H., and S. W. & William Little, of Towanda, sons of 
George Hobert Little. Ruhama Foote was descended from Na- 
thaniel Foote, who was born about 1 593, married, in England, Eliz- 
abeth Deming, about 1615, and died in 1644. Their son, Nathan- 
iel Foote, born about 1620, married, in 1646, Elizabeth, daughter 
of Lieutenant Samuel Smith, of Weathersfield, Conn., and Had- 
ley, Mass. Nathaniel Foote, jr., son of Nathaniel Foote, was 
born January 10, 1647, and married, May 2, 1672, Margaret, 
daughter of Nathaniel and granddaughter of Thomas Bliss, of 
Hartford, Conn. Their son, Joseph Foote, was born December 
28, 1690. He married Ann Clothier December 12, 17 19. He 
died April 21, 1756. Ann Clothier Foote died April 15, 1740. 
Their son, Jeremiah Foote, father of Ruhama, was born October 
1 1, 1725, and died May 15, 1784. His wife was Ruhama, daugh- 
ter of John North am. 

Nathaniel Pendleton Wilcox is of large figure, fine presence, 
and pleasing address; his judgment deliberate and conservative; 
his temperament equable rather than emotional, seldom rising to 
great enthusiasm, and as seldom unduly depressed. A good 
academic education, added to favorable natural endowments, have 
fitted him for a life of usefulness, and such his is. A residence 
of a quarter century at Nicholson as merchant, magistrate, sur- 
veyor, and man of affairs has given him a wide circle of acquaint- 
ances, and it may safely be asserted that he enjoys fully the 
respect and confidence of them all. If he has enemies they 
are such as by their enmity do him honor. Perhaps nowhere 
is he more useful than in the church. At Olean he was a mem- 
ber of the Presbyterian church, and when the Presbyterian 
church at Nicholson was organized (April, 1865) he w^as chosen 
one of its ruling elders. He has frequently been a member of 
the higher church courts — presbytery, synod, and general 
assembly. He was a member of the notable general assembly 
of 1869, which succeeded in consummating the union of the two 
branches of the church, known as the old school and the new 



752 William Alonzo Wilcox. 

school. He has been active in the Sabbath school also, as teacher 
and superintendent. For many years he has tau.i.;ht an adult 
bible class with marked success. He is never sensational, but, 
thoroughly satisfied of the truthfulness and authority of the 
Word, he prepares the lessons conscientiously and presents them 
with plain earnestness. Many have testified to the helpfulness 
of his instruction. Politically he has always been a democrat, as 
have been his ancestors back to the time when parties had their 
beginning in the United States. His democracy is a deep rever- 
ence for the constitution and a desire to transmit to succeeding 
g-enerations the " best government the world ever saw," unim- 
paired by the centralizing and extravagant tendencies of the age. 
He has never held office except such local ones as justice of the 
peace, burgess, school director, etc. 

William Alonzo Wilcox, son of Nathan Pendleton Wilcox, 
came with the rest of his father's family from Olean, N. Y., to 
Nicholson, Wyoming county, Pa., in 1862. He attended the 
public and private schools of the village of Nicholson, and four 
terms (1874-5) at Keystone Academy, Factoryville, Pa. Perhaps 
the most valuable part of his education was that acquired from 
his father — in the store. He taught a district school in Benton, 
Luzerne (now Lackawanna) county, during the winter of 1875-9. 
The years 1878 and 1879 he spent in the law office of W. E. & 
C. A. Litde, of Tunkhannock, Pa., and was admitted to the bar 
of Wyoming county January 12, 1880. On January 17, 1880, he 
was admitted to the bar of Lackawanna county. He at once 
opened an office in Scranton, where he still continues. On March 
12, 1883, he was admitted to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, 
and on June 18, 1883, he was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county. Mr. Wilcox became a member of the Presbyterian 
church at Nicholson in 1876, and during the years 1883 and 1884 
was superintendent of the Sabbath school. When he removed 
to Wyoming, in this county, he connected himself with the Pres- 
byterian church at that place. In 1882 he was chairman of 
the democratic county committee of Wyoming county. He is 
the corresponding secretary of the Lackawanna Institute of His- 
tory and Science, a corresponding member of the Wyoming 
Historical and Geological Society, of Wilkes-Barre ; also a trus- 



Harry Halsev. 753 



tee of the Presbyterian congregation at Wyoming, and a ruling 
elder in the Wyoming Presbyterian church. He is first lieu- 
tenant of Company D, of the Thirteenth regiment of the Na- 
tional Guard of Pennsylvania, having been promoted from a 
private through all the grades to his present position. Mr. Wil- 
cox married, April 22, 1885, Catherine M. Jenkins, youngest 
daughter of Steuben Jenkins, of Wyoming, whose biography has 
already been published on page 52 of this series of papers. Mr. 
and Mrs. Wilcox have one child, William Jenkins Wilcox, born 
March 17, 1886. 

At bars so crowded with legal talent as those of Luzerne and 
Lackawanna there is necessarily a warm competition for business 
— not such competition as characterizes the manufacturing 
industries or mercantile callings, marked by principles of under- 
selling, but competition having its manifestation in vigorous 
effort on the part of the most industrious and ambitious to do 
well all that they are given to do ; that success may be a sign 
unto the next seeker after legal assistance as to where the best 
can be had. In this sort of competition a young man of the 
training Mr. Wilcox has enjoyed, and of the sturdy traits he dis- 
plays, is likely to secure his full share of patronage. Without 
pretence or aspiration to exceptional brilliancy in pleading, he 
nevertheless argues a case neatly as well as thoroughly, and in 
those branches of practice in which well-fortified and safe opinion 
of the law is the thing sought, his advice is discreet and, there- 
fore, sound. He has made a most excellent beginning in the 
profession, and is in a fair way of securing a large and paying 



clientage. 



HARRY HALSEY. 




Harry Halsey was born in Philadelphia, Pa., October 16, i860. 
He is a descendant of Thomas Halsey, who settled at Lynn, 
Mass., as early as 1637, and who came from Hertfordshire, Eng- 
land. He had a son Isaac, born in 1660, who had a son Ephraim, 



54 Harry Halsey. 



born in 1693, who had a son Cornehus, born in 1721, who had a 
son Solon, born in 1769, who had a son Henry C. Halsey, who 
was the grandfather of Harry Halsey. He was a native of Orange 
county, N. Y., and when a young man removed to the city of 
New York, A\hcre he engaged in the mercantile business. He 
died in 1882, aged eighty-two years. W. S. Halsey, son of 
Henry C. Halsey, was born in West Town, Orange county, N. Y., 
October 9, i8_>6. He graduated from Yale college in the class 
of 1846. He was a student of medicine in the college of physi- 
cians and surgeons, in New York city, from 1 848-50 ; received the 
degree of M. D. in the spring of 1850; studied medicine in Lon- 
don and Paris from 1 850-5 1; practiced medicine in Newburg, 
Orange county, N. Y., from July, 1851-54; practiced medicine in 
Philadelphia, February 1854-59; was elected professor of surgery 
in the Philadelphia College of Medicine in September, 1856; con- 
tinued in this office until May, 1859; was one of the consulting 
surgeons of the Philadelphia hospital from 1856-59, and was 
elected professor of surgery in the Pennsylvania Medical College 
in May, 1859. At the time of his election to this office he was 
the youngest professor of surgery ever elected to that office at 
any college in this country. He subsequently retired from this 
office and from the practice of medicine and engaged in the min- 
ing of coal, in company with William Taggart, as W. S. Halsey & 
Co. The wife of W. S. Halsey was Hannah Taggart, the daughter 
of James Taggart, at that time the largest coal operator in Schuyl- 
kill county, Pa., and the great-granddaughter of Colonel Charles 
Taggart, a native of Northampton county, Pa., who, during the 
Revolutionary war, was killed at the battle of Germantown. The 
wife of James Taggart was Elizabeth Dodson, a daughter of 
Joseph Dodson, of Huntington township, in this county. He 
was a descendant of Samuel Dodson, who in 1780 was a resident 
of Penn township, Northampton county (now Mahoning town- 
ship. Carbon county). Pa. Joseph Dodson was a brother of 
Abagail Dodson, who was carried into captivity by the Indians 
during the last named year. 

Harry Halsey, son of W. S. Halsey, was educated at the 
Episcopal Academy, in Philadelphia, and entered the University 
of Pennsylvania. He did not remain there but continued his 



Moses Waller Wadhams. 755 



studies with a private tutor. He studied law with George W. 
Biddle, of Philadelphia, and was admitted to the bar of Philadel- 
phia county in 1881. He then removed to New York and for 
two years was managing clerk in the office of ex-Judge William 
Fullerton. Family interests in this section induced him to come 
to this county, and he located in Hazleton. He was admitted 
to the Luzerne county bar November 28, 1884. He is an un- 
married man and a democrat in politics. 

Mr. Halsey, it will be noted, has had far greater experience in 
the law than usually falls to one of his years. Mr. Biddle, with 
whom he studied, is one of the most eminent members of the 
Philadelphia bar, and ex-Judge Fullerton, of New York, whose 
managing clerk he was, has a national reputation, both as a judge 
and an advocate. Mr. Halsey came to Luzerne, equipped by his 
experiences under these gentlemen, with exceptional advantages. 
He is a young man of quick, natural intelligence, with influential 
friends, is industrious, and will do well, both for himself and his 
clients. 



MOSES WALLER WADHAMS. 



Moses Waller W'adhams was born in Plymouth, Pa., August 
2, 1858. In our sketch of Calvin Wadhams, the uncle of M. W. 
Wadhams, page 109, we gave quite a full account of the Wad- 
hams family. Rev. George Peck, D. D., in his " Early Metho- 
dism," states that Rev. Noah Wadhams, the first emigrant of that 
name at Wyoming. " was baptized with the spirit of Methodism 
and commenced preaching here and there, wherever he found an 
opening. He joined the Methodist church and became a local 
preacher. He spent his latter years in preaching and laboring 
with great zeal and acceptability for the promotion of the interests 
of the societies." At what particular time Mr. Wadhams' theo- 
logical views underwent a cliange is unknown. We quote fur- 
ther from Dr. Peck : " Calvin Wadhams, of Plymouth, was the 
son of the minister just noticed, and was converted under the 



756 Moses Waller Wadhams. 

labors of Rev. Valentine Cook. He contributed largely to the 
erection of a building called the ' Academy,' adapted both to the 
purposes of a school and of religious worship. The upper story 
was seated and fitted up with a pulpit and an altar, and was the 
only church in Plymouth for perhaps fifty years. Mr. Wadhams' 
house was ever open to the preachers, and was often filled full 
on quarterly meeting occasions." Nor was his ho.spitality con- 
fined to the people of his own religious sect — it was broad and 
general, and his house wa"s open to all. Living in a frugal way 
and with his mind constantly upon his business, he accumulated 
a large estate. Labor, temperance, and economy, in his judg- 
ment, proved the true standards of manhood, and that made up 
the rule of his long and prosperous life. On February 10, 1791, 
he married Esther Waller, a daughter of Elijah and Susanna 
(Henderson) Waller — the name of the father of Elijah Waller 
was Samuel Waller — natives of Connecticut. Esther Waller 
died February 19, 1818. On April 28, 1820, he married Lucy, 
widow of Samuel, son of William and Tryphena (Jones) Lucas, 
born in 1754, lived in Greenfield, Mass., and Berkshire, N. Y., 
and died in March, 18 19. She had no children. She was the 
daughter of Captain Samuel Starr, of Middletown, Conn. 

Samuel Wadhams, son of Calvin Wadhams, was born in Ply- 
mouth, Pa. He married, April 7, 1824, Clorinda Starr Catlin, of 
New Marlboro, Mass. She was a descendant, on the paternal 
side, of Thomas Catlin, who is first found at Hartford about 
1645-6 by the name of Catling. The time he came from Eng- 
land, or the ship he came in, is not known. He was one of the 
viewers of chimneys in 1646-7, and owned two lots of land on 
Elm street, Nos. 23 and 24, in 1646. Soon after he removed to 
Hartford he was appointed a constable of the town, which office 
he held many years. The office of constable at that time was 
one of the most honorable and trustworthy in the colony. He 
held other places of trust in the colony and town. He had a 
portion in a division of lands in 1673, and was living in 1687, 
when he testified in court and was seventy-five years old. He 
was probably married before he came to Hartford, and brought 
with him his only son, John, and his wife, as his son is not found 
born at Hartford by the records. He had a daughter, Mary, born 



Moses Waller Wadhams. 757 



at Hartford, and baptized November 29, 1746. A second 
daughter, Mary, baptized May 6, 1749. (Hinman's Puritan 
Settlers.) John Catlin, only son of Thomas and Mary Catlin, 
married Mary Marshall July 27, 1665, and settled in Hartford, 
Conn., where their children were born. He died in Hartford. 
His wife, Mary, died October 20, 17 16. Benjamin Catlin, son of 
John and Mary (Marshall) Catlin, was born in February, 1680. 
He married Margaret Kellogg, and died in Harvvinton, Conn., in 
1767. His wdfe died in Harwinton in 1786. Jacob Catlin, son 
of Benjamin and Margaret (Kellogg) Catlin, was born in Hart- 
ford, Conn., June 3, 1727. He married Hannah Phelps, of Wind- 
sor, Conn., was a farmer, and lived in Harwinton, Conn. He 
died in 1802 in Harwinton. Elijah Catlin. son of Jacob and 
Hannah (Phelps) Catlin, was born in Harwinton, Conn., October 
13, 1762. He married Hannah Starr, daughter of Samuel and 
Chloe (Cruttenden) Starr. He was a physician, settled in New 
Marlboro, Mass., and died in June, 1823, in New Marlboro. His 
w^ife died in August, 1847. His brother, Jacob Catlin, jr., was for 
thirty years Congregational minister in New Marlboro. Clorinda 
Starr Catlin was the daughter of Elijah and Hannah (Starr) Cat- 
lin. The mother of Clorinda Starr Catlin was Hannah Starr, a 
daughter of Captain Samuel Starr. He was a descendant of 
Doctor Comfort Starr and his son, Doctor Thomas Starr, whose 
history has been given in these pages under the head of William 
Henry Hines (page 610), whose wnfe is a descendant of Doctor 
Comfort Starr. Comfort Starr, son of Doctor Thomas Starr, was 
born in 1644 in Scituate, Mass., married, in Boston, Marah, 
daughter of Joseph and Barbara Weld. The Indian apostle^ 
Eliot, says : " The cause of the bitter name Marah is, that the 
father, Joseph Weld, is now in great affliction by a sore on his 
tongue." He died October 18, 1693, shortly after her birth, of a 
cancer. Comfort Starr, soon after his marriage, went to New 
London, Conn., where his brother Samuel was living, but did not 
long remain, for March, 1674-5, "one percell of land was recorded 
to him and to his heires forever in Middletown, County of Hart- 
ford, in the Colony of Conictecutt." This original homestead of 
the family in Middletown w^as at the south corner of what is now 
High and Cross streets. His name frequently appears on the 



758 Moses Waller Wadhams. 



records of the town. Tie was elected to several local offices, and 
in 1679 was one of the sixty-four subscribers to purchase " a 
belle to be hanged up in the meeting house." Joseph Starr, son 
of Comfort Starr, was born September 23, 1676. He was a tailor 
and lived in Middletown, He was chosen tax collector in 1705, 
constable in 171 1 and 17 12, and died July 13, 1758. He married, 
June 24, 1697, Abagail, daughter of Samuel and Abagail (Bald- 
win) Baldwin, of Guilford. Samuel Starr, son of Joseph Starr, 
was born January 6, 1704, in Middletown; in 1734 was collector, 
in 1746 was grand juror, and in 1750 was selectman of the town. 
He died July 27, 1778. He married. August 20, 1724, Elizabeth 
De Jersey. She died August 26, 1768, aged sixty-five. Tradi- 
tion says that she and her sister were the only children of a 
French nobleman, proprietor of a large estate in Jersey, near the 
shore of France. They were left orphans at an early age and 
placed under the care of an uncle, to whom the estate would 
revert in case of their decease. He, under the pretense of sending 
them to England to be educated, put them on board of a ship 
bound for America. On arriving at New York the captain sold 
them for their passage money. They were brought to Middle- 
town, and were given as their surname the name of their native 
island. The elder was about ten years old at this time. The 
sister married a Mr. Redfield. After many years the uncle, on 
his death-bed, confessed his great wrong, caused letters to be 
written to his nieces, begging them to return and claim their 
rightful estate. They were too old themselves to respond, and 
their children did nothing about it. This romantic tradition is 
preserved among all the descendants of said Elizabeth De Jersey, 
now scattered over the country. Captain Samuel Starr, son of 
Samuel Starr, was born in Middletown April 25, 1725. He fol- 
lowed the sea from his youth and became a captain ; was on shore 
in 1755 and 1760, for he was elected to office in Middletown. 
He afterward had a new ship in which he determined to make 
one more voyage and then to give up the sea altogether, and 
accordingly sailed, November 30, 1765, from New London for 
the We.st Indies, in company with his brother. Captain Timothy 
Starr, in another vessel. They kept together for three days, 
when, a severe winter storm breaking over them, they became 



Moses Waller Wadhams. 759 



separated, and Captain Samuel Starr with his new ship was never 
after heard from. He married, May 31, 1748, Chloe, daughter 
of Doctor Daniel Cruttenden. Hannah Starr, daughter of Samuel 
Starr, was born August 13, 1764, in Middletown, and died in 
New Harmony, N. Y., August 8, 1847. She married, December 
16, 1790, Elijah, son of Jacob and Hannah (Phelps) Catlin. Clo- 
rinda Starr Catlin was their daughter. 

Elijah Catlin Wadhams, son of Samuel Wadhams, was born 
in Plymouth July 17, 1825, in the same house in which his father 
was born. The house was built by his grandfather, Calvin Wad- 
hams, and is still standing. E. C. Wadhams was educated at 
Dana's Academy, WilkesTBarre, Dickinson college, Carlisle, Pa., 
and the University of New York, graduating from the latter 
institution in the class of 1847. He remained in his native place 
and established himself in the mercantile business, which he car- 
ried on successfully for twenty-five years. He was a justice of 
the peace for Plymouth for over twenty years, and with the ex- 
ception of one year was burgess of the borough of Plymouth 
from its incorporation until his removal to this city, a period of 
seven years. During his residence in Plymouth he established 
an academical school, which he carried on for twelve years, em- 
ploying the teachers and looking to its interests generally. In 
1869 occurred what is now known as the Avondale disaster, in 
Plymouth township, resulting in the loss of one hundred and 
eight lives. It widowed seventy -two women and made orphan 
children to the number of one hundred and fifty-three. Early on 
the morning of September 6, one hundred and eight miners 
entered the Avondale mine, as usual, for their daily labor, and 
while they were there engaged in work the shaft, constructed 
chiefly of -combustible materials, became ignited, and soon the 
only entrance to the mine was filled with burning timbers, fire, 
and smoke. The immense wooden structure known as the 
breaker, above and over the shaft, also took fire and was soon 
reduced to ashes. Surrounding the fire on every side were 
hundreds of men, women, and children, the female portion of 
whom were making the air resound with their frantic cries of 
distress. Wives were wringing their hands and wailing, — "Oh 
my God ! God, have mercy ! Who'll take care of my child- 



760 Moses Waller Wadhams. . 

rcn ! " and using every expression of endearment and of woe. 
Mothers were crying out for their sons as only mothers can cry, 
and feeling only as mothers can feel. Fathers were bewailing 
the loss of their first-born or the sons of their later years. Broth- 
ers and sisters were mourning the loss of brothers, and sweet- 
hearts were frantic over the immolation of fond lovers, who only 
the evening previous, perhaps, had strained them to their bosoms, 
and whose kisses were yet burning on their lips. No persuasion, 
entreaty, advice, or consolation served to quiet them. This state 
of things continued for hours, when most of the bereaved relatives 
became more calm as they saw every possible effort being made 
to extinguish the fire. During the balance of the day their out- 
breaks were much less frequent, although individual exhibitions 
of overmastering grief might have been frequently seen in the 
neighborhood of the fire or heard issuing from the homes of the 
miners. No assistance could be rendered to the sufferers from 
without, and, there being no means of escape, all of the unfortu- 
nate miners perished. Their bodies were subsequently recovered. 
As nearly all of those who perished had families dependent upon 
thern for support, the suffering caused in the neighboring com- 
munity was extreme. The condition of these suffering families 
enlisted the sympathy of the general public, and generous sub- 
criptions were sent for their relief from various parts of the 
country. The fund thus raised was ^155,825.10, which, by 
judicious investment, was largely increased. Each widow was 
paid $200 per year. Each male orphan under fourteen years of 
age and each female orphan under sixteen years received ;^ioo for 
the same period. Orphans over these ages were paid $300 in full. 
This, in the main, was the order in which the payments were 
made until the fund was exhausted. At the marriage of a widow 
one-half of her share in the fund abated, so that she received only 
;$ioo per year. E. C. Wadhams was one of the acting coroners 
at the inquest over the Avondale victims, and was the president 
of the Avondale Relief Fund Committee. In 1876 Mr. Wadhams 
was elected to the state senate for a period of four years as a 
republican, defeating Edwin Shortz, democrat. In 1873 he re- 
moved to this city and has been a resident of Wilkes-Barre ever 
since. He has been a director of the Wyoming bank, and after- 



Moses Waller Wadhams. 761 

wards of the Wyoming National bank, for over thirty years, and 
is the president of the First National bank of Wilkes-Barre. He 
was for many years superintendent of the Methodist Episcopal 
Sabbath school of Plymouth, and now occupies the same position 
in the Central Methodist Episcopal Sabbath school, of this city. A 
marked characteristic of Mr. Wadhams, and one which has been 
developed in many generations of the family, is industry, which 
he recognizes as the key to success in life under any and all cir- 
cumstances. 

The wife of Elijah Catlin Wadhams, whom he married October 
7, 1 85 1, and mother of Moses Waller Wadhams, is Esther Taylor 
(French) Wadhams. She is the daughter of the late Samuel 
French. He was born July 6, 1803. in Bridgeport (then called 
Newfield), Conn., and came with his mother and stepfather, John 
Smith, to Plymouth in 1808, who, in connection with his brother, 
Abijah Smith, were the pioneers in the coal business in this val- 
ley. In 1807 Abijah Smith commenced mining, and in 1S08 
John Smith purchased the coal designated in the deed from William 
Curry, jr., on a tract of one hundred and twenty acres, known as 
" Potts of Coal," adjoining his brother's land. This mine was 
soon after opened, and workings have been uninterruptedly con- 
tinued ever since. Abijah and John Smith were partners in the 
coal business for many years. The mother of Mrs. E. C. Wadhams 
was Lydia Wadhams, a daughter of Moses and Ellen (Hendrick) 
Wadhams, son of Rev. Noah Wadhams. After the death of 
Moses Wadhams she married Joseph Wright, and became the 
mother of the late C. E. Wright, and H. B. Wright and Harrison 
Wright, all of wdiom became members of the Luzerne county bar. 
The grandfather of Samuel French, of Plymouth, was Samuel 
French, who was of Weston, Conn., in 1766. He served during the 
Revolutionary war in that division of the American army engaged 
about Lake Champlain. Hemarried, April 16, 1 766, Sarah, daugh- 
ter of Nathaniel Hall, who died February 17, 1774. The father of 
Samuel French, of Plymouth, was Samuel French, who was born 
in Weston, Conn., February 17, 1774. He married, April 15, 
1798, Frances Holberton, daughter of William and Eunice (Burr) 
Holberton, of Stratfield, Conn. She was a descendant of William 
Holberton, who came from Devonshire, England, probably in 



762 Moses Waller Wadhams. 



1700 or 1 70 1, and settled in Boston, Mass. He married, April 
4, 1 701, Mar\', tlaughter of John Fayerweather, of Boston, and 
his second wife, Elizabeth Dicksey. He died probably in 17 16. 
John Fayerweather was the son of Thomas Fayerweather, who 
came to America, perhaps in the fleet with Winthrop, and settled 
in Boston, Mass. His name stands No. loi in the First church 
list of one hundred and fifty-one members, who had joined in full 
communion with the church previous to October 10, 1632. He 

married Mar}- . He died in 1638. John Fayerweather, 

only surviving child of Thomas and Mary Fayerweather, was 
born August 8, 1634. He married, November 15, 1660, Sarah, 
daughter of Robert and Penelope Turner, of Boston. He mar- 
ried, in 1674, as his second wife, Elizabeth Dicksey, and his third 
wife November 17, 1692, Mary Hewes, who survived him. Cap- 
tain John Fayerweather was a prominent man in Boston. He 
served in the Indian war of 1675-76 and commanded one of the 
Boston train-bands. He was one of the selectmen of Boston from 
1678 to 1688; was one of the Boston representatives to the gen- 
eral court during 1680-1700. At the revolution of 1689 he was 
appointed comjnander of the castle (Castle William, on Castle 
Island, now Fort Independence). He died April 13, 17 12. Ben- 
jamin Fayerweather, son of John and Sarah (Turner) Fayer- 
weather, was born in Boston, removed to Stratfield, Conn., pre- 
vious to 1695. He married Sarah Sherwood. Their daughter, 
Mary, married John Holberton. Mary Fayerweather, daughter 
of John and Elizabeth (Dicksey) Fayerweather, married, April 4, 
1 701, William Holberton. John Holberton, son of William and 
Mary (Fayerweather) Holberton, was born in Boston September 
10, 1712. He removed from Boston to Stratfield, Conn., about 
1738. He married, September 13, 1738, Mary, daughter of Ben- 
jamin and Sarah (Sherwood) Fayerweather, of Stratfield. He 
died June 21, 1750. William Holberton, son of John and Mary 
(Fayerweather) Holberton. was born in Stratfield, Conn., August 
15, 1740. He married Eunice Burr, daughter of Captain John 
Burr and his wife Eunice Booth. Eunice Booth was a daugh- 
ter of Joseph Booth, who was a son of Richard Booth and his 
wife, Elizabeth Hawley. Eunice Burr was a descendant of Jehue 
Burr. He came with Winthrop's famous fleet in 1630, and on 



Moses Waller Wadhams. 763 

his arrival settled in Roxbury, Mass. He was the first of his 
name in America, so far as we have any record. He was admitted 
a freeman in 1632. In 1635 both himself and wife appear as 
members of the church in Roxbury. About the same time he 
received his first appointment in the colony, as overseer of roads 
and bridges between Boston and Roxbury. At a general court 
of the Massachusetts Bay Colony, held at Boston August 6, 1635, 
" Mr. Tresur [treasurer, an official title], Jehue Burre, and John 
Johnson were appointed a committee for Rocksbury," and a like 
number of men for Boston, " in the making of a cart-bridge over 
Muddy River and over Stony River, at the charge of Boston and 
Rocksbury." His name also appears in the records of a general 
court held at Newtown March 1, 1635, as follows : " The differ- 
ence betwixt Mr. Dumer and Jehue Burre aboute Mr. Burner's 
swine spoyling his corne is by their consent referred to the final 
determination of William Parke, Goodman Potter, and Goodman 
Porter." No further mention is made of him in the Massachu- 
setts records. He did not, however, long remain a resident of 
Roxbury. Opportunities there for rising in the world were far 
too limited to suit one of his enterprising turn, and in company 
with several other aspiring spirits he early determined on a fur- 
ther emigration. The settlers had often heard from the friendly 
Indians of the rich valley land of the Connecticut, several days 
journey west, and early in the spring of 1636 William Pynchon, 
Jehue Burre, and six other young men " of good spirits and 
sound bodies," with their families and effects, set out on a journey 
through the wilderness to this land of promise. The women and 
children performed the journey on horseback and the men on 
foot. They followed a blazed path through the forest that led 
them over wooded heights, through romantic glades, and across 
foaming torrents, now skirting the shores of an ancient lake, 
where the beaver reigned undisturbed by man, and again follow- 
ing the we:^t\vard current of a placid river, until at last they 
issued from the forest upon the banks of the Connecticut Here 
they built their village, which they called Agawam, and which 
in our day has expanded into the flourishing city of Springfield- 
William Pynchon, Jehue Burr, and Henry Smith, by deed bear- 
ing date June 15, 1636, purchased the land of the Indians, being 



764 Moses Wai.lkr Wadhams. 



" all that ground on the east side of Quinnecticut River, called 
Usquanok and Mayassct, reaching about four or five miles in 
length from the North end of Massacksicke up to Chicopee 
River." These new settlers seemed to have considered them- 
selves beyond the bounds of the Massachusetts colony and to 
have joined tluir fortunes with Connecticut at once, as at the 
general court of the latter for that year William Pynchon appears 
as deputy for the plantation of Agawam. and indeed for several 
sessions afterward. Also the next year, 1637, Jehue Burre, who 
is described as a leading spirit in the settlement, was appointed 
collector of rates therein. He was probably the first ta.x gath- 
erer in the Connecticut valley, and was appeased with lesser 
rates than are some of* his successors. From the act of the legis- 
lature appointing him we learn that there were then but four settle- 
ments or " plant.^tions " in the Connecticut colony — Hartford, 
Windsor, VVethersfield, and Agawam. Of this levy Agawam's 
apportionment was ;^86, i6s., payment optional "in money, or in 
wampum, at fower a penny, or in good and merchantable beaver at 
9s. per pound." Jehue Burr remained an active and useful member 
of the society at Springfield for about eight years, and then removed 
for the third and last time to Fairfield, Conn., which had been dis- 
covered a few years before, during the famous pursuit of the Pe- 
quots, and which, with its level lands and warm, productive soil, 
was very attractive to the early settlers. He seems to have taken a 
high rank at Fairfield from the first. The next j-ear after his 
removal, in 1645, he represented Fairfield at the general court, 
again in 1646, and for several succeeding sessions prior to the 
union of the Hartford and New Haven colonies. As early as 
1643 commissioners had been appointed by the New England 
colonies for the founding and maintenance of good schools and 
other places of learning in their midst, and in 1666 a plan was 
presented for " a generall contribution for the mayntenance of 
poore scollers at Cambridge college." The commissioners re- 
ferred it to the several general courts as " a matter worthy of due 
consideration and entertainment," and it was so considered at the 
October session of the general court of Connecticut, which ordered 
" that the propositions concerning the scollers at Cambridge made 
by the sd Commissioners, is confirmed, and it is ordered that two 



Moses Waller Wadhams. 765 

men shall be appoynted in every Town within this jurisdiction, 
who shall demand what every family will give, and the same to 
be gathered and brought into some room, in March, and this to 
continue yearely as yt shall be considered by ye Commissioners." 
The men appointed to this praiseworthy work for " Uncowau " 
(Fairfield) were Jehu Bur and Ephraim Wheeler. In 1660 he 
was appointed grand juror, with twelve other important men of 
the colony, and as such was ordered by the general court " to 
inquire into and consider of ye misdemeanors and breaches of ye 
orders of this Colony, and present all offences to ye next Partic- 
ular Court." The succeeding May he was appointed commis- 
sioner for Fairfield, and ordered to repair to a magistrate and 
take the oath. He was re-appointed May 12, 1664, and again in 
1668. This was his last public service. He died in 1672. We 
have no record of his marriage or of the maiden name of his wife. 
Nathaniel Burr, son of Jehue Burr, was born, probably in Spring- 
field, about 1640. He was made freeman in 1664, in Fairfield. 
He was constable in 1669, and was a representative in 1692-93- 
94-95. He had several grants of land from the town. He died 
in 1712. Colonel John Burr, son of Nathaniel Burr, was born in 
Fairfield in 1673, and held his first public office in the colony in 
1704, during Queen Anne's war, as commissary of the county. 
The commissary, it is proper to note, was an officer to whom 
varied and arduous duties were entrusted. He was to take and 
keep fair accounts of all public charges which should arise in his 
county by reason of the war, and to provide for the soldiers en- 
gaged in the public service. He was also to send orders to the 
several towns to provide two pounds of "biskett" for every listed 
soldier of such town, which was to be made of the country's 
wheat received for rates, but if there was none of this in the 
county, then wheat was to be impressed on a warrant from an 
assistant or justice. He was further expected to have such a 
stock of supplies on hand that in case of a sudden call to arms 
the public safety should not be endangered thereby. At the 
next court, in May, 1704, he appears as deputy from Fairfield, 
and was continued in this office almost continuously until 1724. 
In 1723 and 1724 he was elected speaker of the house. He was 
appointed auditor in 1717, 1720, and 1725. He was appointed 



-j^)^ Moses Waller Wadhams. 



justice of the peace and Quorum in 171 1 and nearly every year 
thereafter until 1725. He was assistant continuously from 1729 
to 1742. He was judge of the county court from 1726 to 1743, 
and also judge of the probate court during the same years. He 
was several times commissioned in the military service of the 
colony. In 1710 he was appointed major of the forces engaged 
in the brilliant expedition to Port Royal, Nova Scotia. This ex- 
pedition proved highly succes.sful. With the aid of the British 
fleet Port Royal was taken and named Annapolis, in honor of 
Queen Anne. In his character as a military man, as well as in 
his civil capacity, he was several times entrusted with difficult 
and dangerous commissions for the state. In 1733 he was ap- 
pointed one of the judges of a court of chancery. He was ap- 
pointed colonel, and was probably one of the largest land-owners 
in the state. Colonel Burr was one of the principal founders of 
the old North church, of Stratfield (now the First Congregational 
of Bridgeport). He was also a principal subscriber at the organi- 
zation of the St. John's Episcopal church, in 1748. He died in 
1750, and his estate was valued at i;i 5,288, an immense sum in 
those days. John Burr was the son of Colonel John Burr. 
Captain John Burr, of Bridgeport, son of John Burr, was born June 
13, 1728, and married, April i, 1750, Eunice, daughter of Joseph 
Booth, and Eunice Booth, daughter of Joseph Booth and Eunice 
Burr, daughter of Captain John Burr, married William Holberton, 
and lived to be eighty-eight years of age. She died in 1838. 
Colonel Aaron Burr, vice president of the United States, was a 
descendant of Jehue Burr in the fifth generation, and J. E. Burr, 
of the Luzerne (now Lackawanna) county bar, is also a descend- 
ant of Jehue Burr in the eighth generation. 

Moses W. Wadhams was prepared for college at the classical 
school of W. R. Kingman, in this city, and then entered Dart- 
mouth college, at Hanover, New Hampshire, from which he 
graduated in the class of 1880. He read law with E. P. and J. V. 
Darling, of this city, and was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county October 10, 1885. He is an unmarried man and a repub- 
lican in politics. Samuel French Wadhams, of the Duluth, 
(Minn.) bar, is a brother of M. W. Wadhams. Mr. Wadhams 
has had every advantage that good birth and the abundant means 



Thomas Chalmers Umsted. ydj 

of fond parents could supply. His general education, as will be 
noted, has been of the best, and his legal preceptors are of the 
safest guides to the careful and ambitious student. Mr. Wad- 
hams makes no pretence to oratory, and does not seek to figure 
in the courts, but as an office lawyer and adviser gives promise 
of taking a front position. In the race for distinction, as ^ rule, 
the highest places are reserved for those whose perceptive and 
retentive faculties have been trained by long and arduous study, 
and Mr. Wadhams, as has been said, having put to the best use 
his unusually good educational advantages, will win an enviable 
position in his vocation. 



THOMAS CHALMERS UMSTEAD. 




X/. 



Thomas Chalmers Umsted was born at Faggs' Manor, Chester 
county. Pa., October lo, 1862. He is a descendant of Nicholas 
Umstat, who died at Crefeld, Germany, October 4, 1682. Au- 
gust 16, 1685, Hans Peter Umstat, son of Nicholas Umstat, bought 
of Dirck Sipman, of Crefeld, two hundred acres of land in Penn- 
sylvania, and soon after set sail in the Francis and Dorothy with 
his family, consisting of his wife Barbara, his son John, and his 
daughters Anna, Margaretta, and Eve, for Philadelphia, where 
he arrived October 12, 1685. He afterwards bought other lands 
in Pennsylvania, and died subsequent to October 14, 17 10. 
His wife Barbara died August 12, 1702. His daughter Eve mar- 
ried Henry Pannebacker, the ancestor of Samuel W. Pennypacker, 
of Philadelphia, who has in his possession the family bible of 
Nicholas Umstat. Peter Schumacher, the ancestor of George B. 
Kulp, also came over at the same time and on the same vessel — 
the Francis and Dorothy. John Umstat, son of Hans Peter 
Umstat, lived at Skippack, now in Montgomery county, Pa., and 
had several children. From which of John Umstat's children 
Thomas Chalmers Umsted is descended it is impossible at this 
time to state. His great-grandfather, John Umstet, was a native 
of Skippack, and was a tanner by trade. He married, while a 



76S Thomas Chalmers Umsted. 



resident of Montgomery county, Catharine Boyer, a .sister of Gen- 
eral Philip Boyer (father of Benjamin Markley Boyer, president 
judge of the thirty-eighth judicial district of Pennsylvania), who 
was an officer in the war of 181 2 and sheriff of Montgomery 
county. Pa., from 1822 to 1828. John Umstet subsequently 
removed to Brandywine township, Chester county. Pa., where 
his son John was born. His wife was Catharine Harner, daugh- 
ter of Abraham Harner. The name of Abraham Harner's 
mother was Catharine Airgood. John Umsted was a builder, and 
removed to Philadelphia when quite a young, married man, and 
resided there during his lifetime. He was a prominent member 
of the Eleventh Presbyterian church of Philadelphia, and died at 
an early age.. He was one of twelve men who constituted the 
organization of the Eleventh Presbyterian church, now the West 
Arch Street Presbyterian church. 

Rev. Justus Thomas Umsted, D. D., son of John Umstat, was 
born in Brandywine township, Chester county, Pa., January 22, 
1820. He received his collegiate education at the University of 
Pennsylvania and his theological education at Princeton Seminary. 
His fields of labor have been: stated supply at South Bend, 
Indiana, 1848-9; pastor at Muscatine, Iowa. 1850-3; pastor at 
Keokuk, Iowa, 1855-8; pastor at Selma, Alabama, pastor at 
Faggs' Manor, 1860-72; pastor at Saint George's, Delaware, 
1872-6; and pastor at Smyrna, Delaware, from 1877 to the 
present time. He is a forcible and faithful preacher, and as a 
presbyter diligent in the discharge of his duty. The divine 
blessing has accompanied his ministry. 

The wife of Rev. Dr. Umsted is Isabella McMinn Umsted. The 
father of Mrs. Umsted was the late John Wilson, a resident of 
Philadelphia, and principal book-keeper in the Presbyterian board 
of publication from its organization until his death. He was an 
eminent christian and a deacon in the Seventh Presbyterian 
church of Philadelphia. During the war of 18 12 he was a lieu- 
tenant of a company, which was stationed at Fort Mifflin for its 
defense. His father was John Wilson, of Paisley, Scotland, an 
exile on account of his non-conformity to the Anglican or es- 
tablished church. After emigrating to this country he settled in 
Freehold, N. J., and afterwards moved to Philadelphia, where he 



Marlin Bingham Stephens. 769 



followed his occupation as a ship builder. The wife of John 
Wilson, sr., was Helen Napier, of Edinburgh, Scotland, a daugh- 
ter of Dr. Napier, an eminent physician in his day. The wife of 
John Wilson, jr., was Isabella McMinn, daughter of John McMinn, 
of Belfast, Ireland, who removed to this country about 1773, and 
was among the Presbyterians of Ulster who in such large numbers 
emigrated to this country on account of political and ecclesiastical 
proscription and persecution. 

Thomas Chalmers Umsted was educated at West Nottingham 
Academy, Cecil county, Md.,and Princeton college. He studied 
law with E. Coppee Mitchell, and at the same time attended the 
law department of the University of Pennsylvania, graduating in 
the class of 1886. He was admitted to the bar of Philadelphia 
November 6, 1886, and to the bar of Luzerne county December 
4, 1886. 

A veteran member of the bar, who should be a good judge of 
character, in going over a list of the younger members with a 
view to calculation as to which of them were most likely to take 
the places of the leaders when they shall have gone, hit upon 
Mr. Umsted as, in his opinion, one of the most promising. He 
has excellent natural abilities, is an ardent student, and possesses 
" the genius of industry," than which, as an eminent statesman 
once said, " there really is no other genius." Mr. Umsted is a 
democrat in politics, but has as yet taken no conspicuous part in 
party matters. He attends strictly to business, a course by far 
the best calculated to make the profession attractive and profit- 
able. 



MARLIN BINGHAM STEPHENS. 



Marlin Bingham Stephens was born near the village of Dilltown, 
Indiana county. Pa., May 10, i860. His great-grandfather, Benja- 
min Stephens, was a native of England, and emigated to the United 
States before the revolutionary war. He located in Maryland, 
where his son Samuel Stephens was born, and who removed to 
Brush Valley township, near the site of Mechanicsburg, Indiana 



j-o Marlin Bingham Stephens. 



county, Pa., and was one of the earliest settlers of that county. 
William S. Stephens, son of Samuel Stephens, was born in Brush 
Valley township, near the town of Mechanicsburg, in 1808, and 
is the father of the subject of our sketch. The mother of Marlin 
B. Stephens is Sarah A. Stephens {nee Skiles). She is the great- 
granddaughter of James Skiles, who emigated from the north of 
Ireland to Cumberland county, Pa., in 1780, and from there, in 
company with Ephraim Wallace, also a native of Ireland, in 1800, 
to the Conemaugh, in Indiana county. There John Skiles, son 
of James Skiles, married a daughter of Ephraim Wallace, and 
had a son Ephraim Skiles, whose daughter became the wife of 
William S. Stephens, and is the mother of the subject of our 
sketch. Ephraim Skiles' wife was a daughter of Isaac Rogers, 
whose father, Robert Rogers, came from Ireland and settled on 
the banks of the Conemaugh at a very early date. Ephraim 
Skiles, shortly after his marriage, settled on a farm near Black 
Lick Furnace, in East Wheatland township, where he lived and 
raised a large family of children. Marlin B. Stephens spent his 
youthful days on his father's farm. When of proper age he at- 
tended normal institutes in Indiana and Cambra counties, and 
soon commenced teaching, which occupation he followed for 
three years. He then attended the Mount Pleasant (Westmore- 
land county. Pa.,) Classical and Scientific Institute, where he pre- 
pared himself for the study of the law, and soon after the com- 
pletion of his studies there entered the law department of the 
University of Michigan, at Ann Arbor, graduating from there in 
the class of 1886, with the degree of LL. B. On passing a satis- 
factory examination in open court, for the twenty-second judicial 
district of the state of Michigan, he was duly admitted to practice 
in the circuit and supreme courts of that state. He then returned 
to his native state and was admitted to the bar of Wyoming 
county April 12, 1887, and to the Luzerne county bar May 16, 
1887. Mr. Stephens is an unmarried man and a republican in 
politics. He has opened his office in Ashley. He is another of 
the numerous class who have used the profession of school teach- 
ing as a stepping-stone in climbing to the bar. Judging by the 
success of the average man thus fortified in experience and labor 
it is very evident that Mr. Stephens will, with reasonably good 



George Peck Loomis, 771 

fortune attending his efforts, forge his way to profitable useful- 
ness as a lawyer. He is by nature eminently endowed with the 
requisite qualifications for the successful practice of the law, and, 
being inclined to develop them, will, undoubtedly, succeed. 



GEORGE PECK LOOMIS. 



George Peck Loomis is a native of Wilkes- Barre, Pa., where 
he was born May i, 1859. He is a descendant of Joseph Loomis, 
who was probably born about 1590, and was a woolen draper in 
Braintree, Essex county, England ; sailed from London April 1 1, 
1638, in the ship Susan and Ellen, and arrived at Boston Jul) 17, 
1638. It is mentioned in the records at Windsor, Conn., that he 
bought a piece of land in that town February 24, 1640. He, there- 
fore, probably came to Windsor in the summer or autumn of 1639, 
and is generally supposed to have come in company with Rev. 
Ephraim Huet, who arrived at Windsor August 17, 1639. He 
brought with him five sons and three daughters. 

Deacon John Loomis," second son of Joseph Loomis, was born 
in England in 1622, admitted to the Windsor church October 11, 
1640, married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Scott, of Hartford, 
February 3, 1649, was representative 1666, 1667, 1675, 1676, and 
1677, resided at Farmington from 1652 to about 1660, returned to 
Windsor, was deacon of the church, and died September i, 1688. 
His monument is still preserved in the Windsor burying-ground. 
Thomas Loomis, third son of Deacon John Loomis, was born 
December 3, 1653. He married Sarah, a sister of Captain Daniel 
White, March 31, 1680. He died August 12, 1688. Thomas 
Loomis, of Hatfield, Mass., second son of Thomas Loomis, of 
Windsor, was born April 20, 1684. He married Elizabeth 
Fowler January 8, 171 3, and died April 30, 1765. Lieutenant 
Thomas Loomis, of Lebanon, Conn., the only child of Thomas 
Loomis, of Hatfield, Mass., was born in 1714. He married No- 
vember 7, 1734, Susanna Clark. He died February 27, 1792. 



-J-Jl 



George Peck Loomis. 



Captain Isaiah Loomis, of Lebanon, Conn., was the fifth son of 
Lieutenant Thomas Loomis. He was born September ii, 1749, 
and married Abagail Williams Decembers, 1774. Reserved 
in the army of the revokition, and died November 20, 1834. 
Sherman Loomis, second son of Captain Isaiah Loomis. was 
born May 17, 1787. He married Elizabeth Champlin November 
15, 1810, and died March 18, 1867, at Centremoreland, Wyoming 
county, Pa., to which place he removed in 1816. William Wal- 
lace Loomis, of Wilkes-Barre, Pa., third son of Sherman Loomis, 
was born at Lebanon, Conn., July 14, 18 15. He removed with his 
parents from Connecticut to Pennsylvania when but a babe, and 
has resided in this city since the autumn of 1827, with the excep- 
tion of three years. The only persons that Mr. Loomis recollects 
as being residents of Wilkes-Barre when he came to this city are 
Josiah Lewis, James P. Dennis, and Nathaniel Rutter. He has 
been a member of the Methodist Episcopal church since 1834, and 
is the oldest member of the Franklin street church. He has been a 
class leader since 1838. In 1865 he was ordained a deacon by 
Bishop Baker, and in 1870 he was ordained an elder by Bishop 
Janes. He has also been superintendent of the Sabbath school of 
the Franklin street Methodist Episcopal church. In 1857 he was 
the republican candidate for county treasurer, but was defeated 
by Edmund Taylor, democrat. From 1854 to 1861, inclusive, he 
was burgess of the borough of Wilkes-Barre, and from 1877 to 
1880 he was mayor of the city of Wilkes-Barre. He is a charter 
member of the Home for Friendless Children of this city, a trus- 
tee since its incorporation in 1862, and for two years was its 
treasurer. He has also been treasurer of Lodge 61, F. & A. M., 
of this city. W. W. Loomis married, February 23, 1841, Ellen 
E. Drake, a daughter of Benjamin Drake, of this city. She died 
June 25, 1845. The only surviving issue of this marriage is 
William Drake Loomis, a resident of Wilkes-Barre. Mr. Loomis 
married for his second wife Elizabeth R. Blanchard, who was 
the mother of George P. Loomis. She was the daughter of Jere- 
miah Blanchard, jr., who was the son of Jeremiah Blanchard, jr., 
who was the son of Captain Jeremiah Blanchard. He was in 
Pittston in 1772, when he received a deed for " a settling right 
in Lackawanna " from Samuel Stubbs, of Walkill, N. Y. He 



Edward Frank McGovern. 773 

was constable in 1775 and 1776 for Pittston. In 1778 he was 
captain of militia, and was in Pittston Fort with most of his 
company at the time of the battle and massacre, July 3, 1778. 
He was the first settler in Port Blanchard, in Jenkins township, 
Luzerne county, and a portion of his farm is still in the possession 
of his descendants. 

George Peck Loomis, son of Rev. W. W. Loomis, was edu- 
cated at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa., from which he grad- 
uated in 1878, and the Syracuse University, graduating from the 
latter institution in the class of 1882. While in college he won 
an enviable reputation for his influence and activity in college 
fraternities. He first studied law with A. Ricketts, but left that 
office and filled the responsible position, with great credit to him- 
self, as cashier in his uncle's wooden moulding mill, Brooklyn, 
which he held a little over a year, when he returned to this city 
and completed his law studies under H. A. Fuller, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar of Luzerne county January 31, 1887. Mr. 
Loomis is a young man of unusual natural intelligence, and 
gives evidence of having made the best possible use of the 
time he has devoted to general study and special preparation for 
the bar. He is a fluent writer and a very attractive talker. His 
qualifications are such as should assure him, in due time, a fore- 
most place in the profession he has chosen. Mr. Loomis is an 
unmarried man, and in politics a democrat. 



EDWARD FRANK McGOVERN. 



Edward Frank McGovern is a native of Darlington, county 
Durham, England, where he was born September 10, i860. His 
father, Frank McGovern, of this city, was born May 7, 1822, in 
Curryglass, county Longford, Ireland, and emigrated to the United 
States in 1842. After remaining in this country about ten years 
he returned to his native country, but came again to the United 
States in 1862. Edward McGovern, father of Frank McGovern, 
was also born in Curryglass. The mother of E. F. McGovern 



774 EnwARD Frank McGovern. 



who was the wife of Frank McGovern, was P'annie Ray, a daugh- 
ter of Robert Ray, a native of Mine Abbey, county Mayo, Ire- 
land. She married Mr. McGovern September lO, 1856, at Darl- 
ington. ■ The wife of Robert Ray was Mary Arke.son, of Mine 
Abbey. When Frank McGovern came to this country, in 1862, 
he settled in Olyphant. Luzerne (now Lackawanna) county, and 
remained there until 1869, when he removed to this city and has 
remained here ever since. 

E. F. McGovern was educated in the public schools of this 
city, and the law department of the University of Pennsylvania, 
graduating as bachelor of laws in the class of 1886. He then 
entered the law office of John T. Lenahan, in this city, and was 
admitted to the bar of Luzerne county June 6, 1887. In 1881 
he was elected an alderman in the second ward of this city for a 
term of five years. He is an unmarried man and a democrat 
in politics. 

Mr. McGovern belongs to a class of young men who, without 
the assistance of wealthy parents or a general college training, but 
by dint simply of natural wit and energy, and with the aid only of 
such educational advantages as are common to all boys and girls in 
this fair land, has furnished many of the brightest ornaments of 
the several learned professions and not a few of our ablest states- 
men. It is one of the proudest achievements of the republic, 
this sending of poor boys to the highest rung of the ladder of 
distinction as men. Nothing we have done or can do so aston- 
ishes the old world, where the idea still largely prevails that only 
those of "high ancestral name and lineage long and great" can 
be really bright and useful men and women in the higher call- 
ings. Mr. McGovern is himself a young man of unusually keen 
intelligence, with a disposition for hard work, that proves very 
useful in every walk of life and particularly in the legal profess- 
ion. His record at the law university was a good one, and it is safe 
enough to say, even thus early in his career as a lawyer, that 
he will not be, in the race for patronage, with the hindmost. 



Wesley Johnson. 775 



WESLEY JOHNSON. 



Wesley Johnson, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county in April, 1846, is a native of old Laurel Run, in Plains town- 
ship, where he was born December 20, 18 19. He is a descendant 
of Robert Johnson. (See page 187 for a history of the Johnson 
family.) His father was Jehoida P. Johnson, the youngest son 
of Rev. Jacob Johnson. He was an active business man in his 
day and resided at Laurel Run, where he built a mill which he 
operated successfully for many years. The mother of Wesley 
Johnson was Hannah Frazer. She was a daughter of Robert 
Frazer, a native of Lovat Dale, Scotland, and the family were said 
to be relatives of the unfortunate Simon Frazer, Lord Lovat. 
Robert Frazer was being educated for the Kirk, but, being a 
young man at the time of General Wolfe's expedition against the 
French, in Canada, he left his school and enlisted in the British 
army and fought as a sergeant under that brave but unfortunate 
general at Quebec, and received a musket shot wound in the 
elbov*- on the plains of Abraham and lost an arm in consequence. 
He finally came to Wyoming with the Connecticut settlers, where 
he was engaged in teaching the youth of the infant colony 
for many years. 

Wesley Johnson was educated at the Laurel Run school house, 
at the Wilkes- Barre Academy, and the Wilkes-Barre High School, 
under Professor J. W. Sterling. He read law under his brother, 
Ovid Frazer Johnson, and was admitted to the bar of Philadelphia 
county January 7, 1846. He has practiced in the United States 
district courts at Galveston, Texas, and Marquette, Wisconsin. 
From 1842 to 1845 he was United States Inspector of Customs, 
at Philadelphia, and from 1851 to 1853 he was clerk of the circuit 
and county courts of Marquette county, Wisconsin. He is at 
present an alderman of the city of Wilkes-Barre, one of the city 
auditors, and one of the assessors elect of the city. Wesley 
Johnson married. May 12, 1852, Cynthia H. Green, a daughter 
of David S. and Mary Green, of Bristol, Vermont. One son, 
Frederick C. Johnson, M. D., of this city, one of the proprietors of 



776 Wesley Johnson. 



the Record of the Times, is the sole surviving issue of this marriage. 
The wife of F. C.Johnson is Georgia Johnson (;z^v Post), a daughter 
of Joseph H. Post, of Knoxville, Tenn. Wesley Johnson married 
a second time, in 1856, Frances H. Wilson, widow of Frederick 
McAlpine, of this city. Her grandfather, James Wilson, emigrated 
from near Edinburgh, Scotland, with his wife and settled at Mount 
Holly, N. J., where her father, Scth Wilson, was born. Seth after- 
wards removed to Wilkes-Barre, where he married Rebecca Yar- 
ington, a daughter of Abel Yarington, who was a native of Norwich 
or Stonington, Conn , and removed to Wilkes-Barre in 1770, where 
Mrs. Wilson was born, in a house on the river bank nearly oppo- 
site the residence of Andrew T. McClintock. He lived in this 
house until the Wyoming massacre and battle took place, July 3, 
1778. It was then burned, with everytiiing in it, by the Indians, 
Mr. Yarington and his family barely escaping with their lives in 
a ferry flat down the river to Sunbury. They stayed there till 
late in the fall, after the Indians had left and gone back to the 
north, when he returned and rebuilt the house and continued his 
business of ferrying until the great ice flood of 1784. At one 
time, while Mr Yarington was absent from home, the Indians 
made a raid on the settlement. There was a cellar under the 
house, where Mrs. Wilson and a sister, Mrs. Colt, were secreted 
with their mother until the Indians left. The Indians came to 
the residence and ate all the provisions tiiat were to be found in 
the house. (See page 496.) Mr. and Mrs. Johnson had but one 
child, Margaret, which died when about five years of age. Mrs. 
Johnson died April 21, 1888. 

Few would imagine that in the quiet old gentleman who dis- 
penses justice in the Fourth ward of Wilkes-Barre is a lawyer of 
more than forty years' experience, whose professional duties have 
been performed at points so widely distant from each other, and 
whose career has covered such a variety of callings, all, however, 
bearing a more or less close relationship to the profession of the 
law. Mr. Johnson has not been an active practitioner for some 
years back. He is best known to Wilkes-Barreans, apart from 
his aldermanic position, as an historian and antiquarian, one 
interested in preserving the records of the past for the entertain- 
ment and guidance of the present generation and those who are 



Sheldon Reynolds. y'j'j 



to come. He has compiled a very useful volume on the Wyom- 
ing centennial and done much other literary work in the same 
line. He has been a frequent contributor to our local journals 
on all manner of topics, and is regarded as an authority on the 
subject of old Wilkes-Barre and old Wilkes-Barreans. He is a 
democrat of the old school, and has done much service for his 
party for many years on the stump and otherwise. He is one 
of the best known and most respected of our older citizens. 



SHELDON REYNOLDS. 



The Reynolds family is of English extraction, and is descended 
from James Reynolds, of Plymouth, Mass., 1643. James removed 
to Kingstown, R. I., before the year 1665, where the family remained 
for three generations. About the }'ear 1750 the branch of the 
family now resident in this neighborhood settled in Litchfield 
county. Conn., and came thence to Wyoming with the first settlers 
in 1769. Benjamin Reynolds' name is recorded among the 
" men on the ground at Wilkesbarry, on the Susquehanna, be- 
longing to New England," April 12, 1770; and the name of 
David Reynolds appears as a witness to the articles of capitula- 
tion of Fort Durkee, November 14, 1769, also in the list of taxa- 
bles in 1777 in Wilkes-Barre and Plymouth, and in 1778 in the 
Plymouth list. It is not known whether he took part in the 
battle of Wyoming, but from the fact that his brother William 
was slain in that engagement and that David was one of the gar- 
rison of the block-house in Plymouth during the winter and 
spring succeeding the battle, it would seem probable that he was 
in the battle. The family was located as early as 1771 in Ply- 
mouth, at which time the name of William appears on the list of 
settlers, and where a tract of land was allotted him known as 
" Reynolds' Pitch." Their residence in Plymouth was continuous 
from the year 1771, with the exception of the time of the flight 
after the battle, and the expulsion in 1784 by the Pennamite 
troops, on both of which occasions the dwelling house and barns 



7/8 Sheldon Reynolds. 



were destroyed by fire. David Reynolds died in Plymouth July 
8, 1816, aged eighty-two years. 

Benjamin Reynolds, the son of David, was born in Plymouth, 
Pa., F^ebruary 4, 1780. He was sixth in descent in line of 
James, of Plymouth, Mass. (David 5, William 4, James 3, James 2, 
James i, 1643). In the female line he was descended from James 
Greene, of Rhode Island,theancestor of General Nathaniel Greene. 
Benjamin Reynolds was one of the prominent men of Plymouth. 
For many years he held the office of justice of the peace, and was 
elected.sheriff of the county in 1831. Asa friend to the cause 
of education and religion he did much during a long and useful 
life toward the promotion of its interest in his native village. In 
1800 he married Lydia Fuller, a descendant of the Mayflower 
family of that name, three of her ancestors having been members 
of the company of Puritans who landed on Plymouth Rock in 
1620. She was seventh in the line of Edward (Joshua 6, Joseph 
5, Joseph 4, John 3, Samuel 2, Edward i). The last two were of 
the Mayflower. In another line she was descended from Rev. John 
Lothropp, who, fleeing from the oppression of Archbishop Laud, 
came to America in Winthrop's company. Benjamin Reynolds 
died in Plymouth February 22, 1854. The children of Benjamin 
Reynolds and Lydia Fuller Reynolds, his wife, were William C. 
Reynolds, the father of the subject of this sketch ; Hannah, wife 
of Andrew Bedford, M. D., of Waverly, Pa., the mother of George 
R. Bedford, of the Luzerne bar; Chauncey A. Reynolds, the 
father of the late Lazarus Denison Reynolds, of the Luzerne bar ; 
Elijah W. Reynolds, father of John B. Reynolds, of the Luzerne 
bar ; J. Fuller Reynolds, father of H. B. Reynolds, of the Luzerne 
bar; Clara Reynolds; Emily, wife of R. H. Tubbs, M. D., of 
Kingston ; and Abram H. Reynolds. Emily and Abram H. are 
still living. 

William Champion Reynolds, the father of Sheldon Reynolds, 
was the eldest son of Benjamin and Lydia Fuller Reynolds, and 
was born in Plymouth, Pa., in December, 1801. He received his 
education at the schools near his home and the old Wilkes-Barre 
Academy, where he was prepared to enter the sophomore class of 
Princeton College. His purpose of securing a collegiate educa- 
tion, which he had long cherished, had to be given up owing to lack 



Sheldon Reynolds. 



779 



of means ; and after leaving the academy, at the age of eighteen, he 
secured the position of school teacher in his native village and 
continued in the work of teaching until, by means of his savings 
and some aid received from his father, he was able to embark in 
the coal business. In 1820 he began shipping coal to Harrisburg 
and Columbia ; and after four years spent in this pursuit, his ex- 
perience and the measure of success which had attended his 
efforts enabled him to extend the range of his business so as to 
comprehend in addition to coal the shipping to market of other 
products of the region. About this time he associated himself 
in business with his kinsman, Henderson Gaylord, under the firm 
name of Gaylord & Reynolds, and they entered actively upon the 
business of mining and shipping of coal and the shipping of grain 
and lumber. The changes that have been wrought in the indus- 
trial interests of this community within the last thirty years by 
means of railroads, canals, and modern machinery have been so 
great that in order to understand the condition of affairs at the 
time of which we are speaking, a few words in explanation may 
be necessary. Before the building of the North Branch Canal 
the only means of outlet for the products of this region, mainly 
grain, lumber, and coal, were those afforded by the Susquehanna 
river and the Easton and Wilkes-Barre turnpike. Duringthe spring 
and fall freshets in the river many small fleets of rafts and arks 
bore to the markets of Harrisburg, Columbia, Baltimore, and 
other less important places, the products of the farms and mines 
that during the intervening seasons had been made ready for 
shipment and awaited this method of transportation. The mar- 
ket at Easton was not so much resorted to except in winter, 
when the snow made communication less difficult ; and then the 
trade was confined to grain in comparatively small quantities. 
The main markets were the river towns, as they were called, and 
the river was the highway upon which the great bulk of the 
commodities was carried. The region being in such a measure 
cut off from the markets, another cause operated to retard in a 
further degree its development. Money was so scarce that little 
business could be transacted by means of it, and recourse was 
had to barter, by which method nearly all business was carried 
on. Wheat being taken in exchange more readily than any other 



780 Sheldon Reynolds. 



product of the farm, it became the staple product, and was grown 
in large quantities wherever the land was adapted for this purpose • 
it served as a medium of exchange, and answered many of the pur- 
poses of money in local traffic. The isolation of the place arising 
from the causes mentioned rendered of little avail its vast natural 
resources, and restricted its products to the home trade. Under 
these conditions the establishment of a market that should enable 
a producer to realize upon the product of his labor became a 
question of general concern. The river, as said before, was the 
main highway ; but the vicissitudes of river traffic, involving 
losses that frequently ate up the margin of profits, deterred many 
from engaging in the business. Some who had made the attempt 
suffered great losses ; others had abandoned the enterprise after 
a short trial of its uncertainties; a few, however, through energy 
and foresight, were enabled to succeed, and by the establishment 
of a permanent shipping business on the river, created the home 
market for the products of the region. The firm of Gaylord & Rey- 
nolds engaged with great energy in the shipping business. In 
connection with this business they established a general store in 
Plymouth and another in Kingston, where they bought and 
stored for shipment large quantities of grain, the supplies being 
drawn from a section of country many miles 'in extent. Grain 
was bought also in the vicinity for future delivery at the place of 
shipment. From their mines in Plymouth they mined and stored 
coal in sufficient quantity to supply, in part, during the time 
navigation was practicable, an increasing demand for that fuel, a 
market for which depended largely upon the certainty of supply. 
After the completion of the canal to Nanticoke, connecting this 
section with the canal system of the state, much of the river 
traffic was transferred to that avenue, and the trade increased 
largely. In 1835 the firm of which Mr. Reynolds was a member 
was dissolved by mutual consent, and he continued the business 
until 1854, when, the trade having reached such proportions that 
the canals afforded insufficient facilities for transportation, he 
retired from active participation in the business and entered upon 
the project of providing better means of reaching the markets. 
Believing that communication by rail would answer in the 
highest degree the demands of the increasing trade, and in addi- 



Sheldon Reynolds. 781 



tion to enhancing the value of coal lands, would also promote all 
other industrial interests of this region, he, together with Hen- 
derson Gaylord, the late Chief Justice Woodward, William Swet- 
iand, Samuel Hoyt, and others, whose interests lay mainly in 
the development of the mineral resources of the locality, secured 
the charter for and proceeded to build the Lackawanna and 
Bloomsburg Railroad, extending from Scranton to Sunbury, 
forming connection at the former place with the Delaware, Lack- 
awanna and Western Railroad, and to the southward with the 
Catawissa, Williamsport and Erie, and other roads, thereby open- 
ing a market for the coal of the Wyoming region reaching from 
the seaboard to the great lakes and the west. He served 
several years in succession as president of this corporation, his 
first term beginning in 1854, the year active operations were begun 
in the building and equipment of the road, and continued in the 
office until the completion of the enterprise, when, at his own 
request, he was relieved from the duties of the chief executive 
office, but continued as a director until the year 1865. 

In his political belief Mr. Reynolds was a democrat of the 
Jefferson school, and when a young man took an active part in 
the management of the affairs of his party. He was elected to 
the legislature, and, together with his colleague, Henry Stark, 
represented this district for the term 1836-38, which included 
the territory now embraced within the limits of Luzerne, Lack- 
awanna and Wyoming counties. At that time the question of 
internal improvements was one of the chief subjects that engrossed 
the attention of the people. The dev^elopment of the natural 
resources and the commercial interests of the state by means of 
avenues of intercommunication — the system of canals, slack- 
water navigation, and turnpikes — had been undertaken by the 
state government nearly a score of years before, and the benefits 
which were expected to accrue to this section by the extension 
and completion of this work made it a question of the highest 
importance to the people here. Mr. Reynolds' business experi- 
ence had made him well acquainted with the need of the pro- 
posed improvements and the great purposes they might subserve, 
and he assumed the duties of the office to which he had been 
chosen well fitted to represent the interests of this district. He 



782 Sheldon Reynolds. 



advocated all measures relating to the plan of internal improve- 
ments, and labored to bring about its extension throughout this 
section of the state. 

Among the important bills he introduced having relation to 
this subject was one granting authority to the Lehigh Coal and 
Navigation Company to build a railroad to connect the head of 
navigation on the Lehigh river with the North Branch Canal at 
Wilkes-Barre. The bill was a compromise measure, releasing 
the company from the operation of certain clauses of its charter 
bearing upon the extension of its system of slack-water naviga- 
tion, but making obligatory the building of the railroad to Wilkes- 
Barre. Work was begun on the road in 1838, and completed 
five years later. It was one of the first railroads built in this part 
of the state, and its completion was looked upon with great satis- 
faction by the people as a principal factor in the progress and 
improvement of the place ; and that their expectations were not 
disappointed is shown in the present usefulness of this highway, 
which, after nearly fifty years of continuous operation, still serves 
to carry to market a large part of the products of the mines of 
the vicinity. 

The course Mr. Reynolds pursued as representative, and his 
efforts in furthering the system of internal improvements, were 
favorably recognized by his constituents in a number of public 
meetings by resolutions expressing the high regard in which 
they held his services. The discharge of the duties of repre- 
sentative and the cares incident to the office required more time 
and attention than he could spare from the demands of an active 
business life, and at the expiration of his term he declined a re- 
nomination to the office. 

In 1840 and for several years thereafter he served by the ap- 
pointment of the auditor general as manager of the Wilkes-Barre 
Bridge Company, representing the interests of the state in that 
corporation. He was appointed in 1841 associate judge of the 
Court of Common Pleas of Luzerne county for the term of five 
years, succeeding in that position William S. Ross, and having 
for his colleague Charles D. Shoemaker. He was chosen a 
trustee of the Wyoming Seminary in 1845, the second year 
after the establishment of the school by the Wyoming Conference 



Sheldon Reynolds. 783 



of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and, although a member of a 
different reHgious denomination, was continued in the board of 
management by successive elections for thirteen years. At the 
time of his death he was a director of the Wyoming National Bank. 

Judge Reynolds was a man of correct business habits, far- 
seeing judgment, industry, and economy. His taste for literature 
led him to devote to its study much of the time he spared from 
business cares, and his kindly temperament and cultured mind, 
united with a fine conversational gift, rendered him a most agree- 
able companion and friend. He married, June 19, 1832, Jane 
Holberton Smith. Their children were G. Murray Reynolds, 
Charles Denison Reynolds. Elizabeth, wife of Col. R. Bruce 
Ricketts, Sheldon Reynolds, and Benjamin Reynolds. Judge 
Reynolds died in Wilkes-Barre, January 25, 1869, aged 68 years. 
Mrs. Reynolds died March 6, 1874. 

The father of Mrs. Reynolds, the wife of William C. Reynolds, 
was John Smith, a resident of Derby, Conn., where he was born 
April 22, 1 78 1. In 1806 he removed with his family to Ply- 
mouth, Pa., having prior to his setting out formed a partner- 
ship with his brother Abijah for the purpose of mining and ship- 
ping coal. They were the first in point of time who engaged in 
the continuing industry of the mining of anthracite coal. There 
were others who had made the attempt on the Lehigh, but the 
obstacles and discouragements which stood in the way proved 
too great, and the work had to be given up. It was not resumed 
until about the year 1820. The Smith brothers shipped their 
first ark of coal in the fall of 1807 to Columbia, and followed it 
the next year with several others. Prior to 1807 the use of an- 
thracite coal as a fuel was confined almost exclusively to furnaces 
and forges using an air blast, notwithstanding the fact that Oliver 
Evans had in 1802, and even before that time, demonstrated on 
several occasions that the blast was unnecessary for the domestic 
use of coal, and had successfully burned the fuel in an open 
grate, and also in a stove, without an artificial draft. In order to 
create a market for this fuel, it became necessary to show that it 
could be used for domestic purposes as well as in furnaces and 
forges ; that it was a better and more convenient fuel than wood, 
and that its use was attended with no difficulties. To accomplish 



784 Sheldon Reynolds. 



this the Smiths went with their coal arks sent to market in 1808, 
and took with them a stone mason and several grates, with the 
purpose of setting the grates in the public houses, where they 
might make known the utility of their fuel. In several houses in 
Columbia and in other towns the fire-places for burning wood 
were changed by them and fitted for the uses of coal, and coal 
fires were lighted, careful instructions being given meanwhile in 
the mysteries of a stone coal fire. After much perseverance and 
expense in providing coal and grates to demonstrate the valuable 
qualities of the new fuel, they disposed of a small part of their 
careo and left the rest to be sold on commission. Notwithstand- 
ing the thorough manner in which they had set about the intro- 
duction of coal as a fuel for domestic uses, it was several years 
before all obstacles to its use were overcome and they were able 
to gain a profit from the enterprise. It seems to be the common 
belief that the anthracite coal trade had its rise on the Lehigh in 
the year 1820, when three hundred and sixty-five tons of coal were 
carried to market; yet. as a matter of fact, the industry was 
begun at Plymouth thirteen years before; and as early as 181 2 
the Smiths had sent coal to New York city, where in that year 
thev delivered and sold two hundred tons, and for eight years 
prior to the beginning of the coal business on the Lehigh their 
annual shipments were considerably in excess of the first year's 
product of the Lehigh region. 

The old and tedious method of mining coal by means of the 
wedge and pick was in the year 18 18 done away with by the 
Messrs. Smith, who first made use of the powder blast, which 
greatly facilitated the work of mining and moreover added to the 
productiveness of the mines. Before this time it was believed 
that the powder blast was impracticable, for the reason that the 
cohesion of the mineral was thought not to be great enough to 
make this means effective. However, the success of the experi- 
ment was unquestioned and the general use of powder in the 
mining of coal soon followed. Abijah Smith retired in 1825. 
John continued the business until 1845, when he also withdrew, 
having been actively and continuously engaged in the industry 
since 1807. In connection with the mining operations he had 
established a grist mill, and in the year 1834 he placed in this 



Sheldon Reynolds, 785 



mill a steam engine to supply the power, which until then had 
been furnished by water. This engine was the first one in use in 
the county. He died May 7, 1852, aged seventy-one years. 
Hon. John B. Smith, of Kingston, is the son of Abijah Smith. 

Sheldon Reynolds, the third son of Hon. William C. Reynolds, 
was born in Kingston, Pa., February 22, 1845. His early edu- 
cation was acquired at the Luzerne Presbyterian Institute, at 
Wyoming, Pa., and the Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa. He 
was prepared for college at the Hopkins Grammar School, at 
New Haven, Conn., and entered Yale College in 1863, was grad- 
uated B. A. from that institution in 1867, and in due course 
received the degree of M. A. In 1868-69 he studied at the 
Columbia College Law School, and afterwards read law in the 
office of Andrew T. McClintock, LL. D., and was admitted to 
the bar of Luzerne county October 16, 1871, having passed a 
creditable examination before the committee, consisting of Henry 
M. Hoyt, H. W. Palmer, and E. S. Osborne. Mr. Reynolds 
married, November 23, 1876, Annie Buckingham Dorrance, only 
daughter of Colonel Charles Dorrance, a descendant of Rev. 
Samuel Dorrance. (See page 360.) Mr. and Mrs. Reynolds 
have one son, Dorrance Reynolds, born September 9, 1877. 

Something more than a mere passing acquaintance is necessary 
to an understanding and appreciation of the legal, professional, 
and general capacity of Mr. Reynolds. His unobtrusiveness is not 
only unusual to the calling, but is misleading as to his qualifications. 
He has been an earnest and conscientious student, has possessed 
himself of a thorough understanding of the principles of the law, 
is well read up in the decisions and the statutes, and adds to these 
qualifications for practice an intuitive understanding of men and 
affairs equal to the best. Despite, however, this admirable equip- 
ment for distinguished success in the practice of the law, Mr. 
Reynolds has discouraged rather than invited clients, being for- 
tunately well enough off in this world's goods to afford that 
course, and devotes a good portion of his time and attention to 
general business and scientific pursuits. He is a director of the 
Wyoming National Bank, the Wilkes-Barre Electric Light Com- 
pany, the Wilkes-Barre District Telegraph and Messenger Com- 
pany, and other corporations. He has business interests in other 



786 Sheldon Reynolds. 

directions in Wilkes-l^arre and at Plymouth. In all these under- 
takings he is looked up to by his fellow investors as an unusually 
intelligent and safe counselor and guide. Like nearly all of the 
family and name in this vicinity, he is a democrat in politics, and 
for years he has taken a deep and at times a very active interest 
in his party's behalf. He was chairman of the county committee 
in 1881, and no man who ever held the position labored more 
earnestly or with better appreciation of its requirements. He in- 
troduced a number of reforms into the management of the party, 
reducing it to regular business methods, and in that way secured 
and maintained during his incumbency an admirable organization. 
He tried the efficacy of honest methods in the management of 
the campaign — the use of the funds placed in his hands by the 
candidates and others for the expenses of the canvass, for such 
purposes only as were strictly within the statutes and the rule of 
fair dealing as between man and man. The venture was success- 
ful, for, notwithstanding there was a third ticket in the field, the 
Labor- Greenback, deriving its main strength from the democratic 
party, the democratic ticket was elected, and the chairman of the 
committee submitted an account in detail, together with the 
vouchers of all expenditures connected with the campaign, by 
whom they were audited and approved. This is believed to have 
been the first instance of accounting and auditing under like cir- 
cumstances. Mr. Reynolds was chairman of the city committee 
in 1880, and his administration was equally clean and effective. 
At the expiration of his term he was solicited to continue in these 
positions, but his other engagements prevented his doing so. The 
thoughts of many in the party naturally turned to Mr. Reynolds, 
in 1884, as a proper candidate for state senator for the 21st dis- 
trict, to succeed Hon. Eckley B. Coxe. It was universally con- 
ceded that he would fill the position admirably — that he possessed 
just the qualifications needed in the representative of one of the 
most important industrial districts in the state, in the higher 
branch of the state legislature. He was repeatedly urged to 
permit the use of his name as a candidate, but the conditions of 
the contest were such as, much to the regret of a very large and 
influential section of the party, to impel him to decline. Those 
who know Mr. Reynolds well universally admit that he would 



Sheldon Reynolds. 787 

grace any public position to which he might consent to be called. 
Much of his time and energies are, and for years have been, given 
gratuitously to the maintenance and advancement of the Wyom- 
ing Historical and Geological Society. For years the most 
intimate friend and associate of the late Harrison Wright, who 
was admittedly the most useful and indispensable member of 
the society named, Mr. Reynolds shared all the other's love for 
and enthusiasm in the prosecution of the researches incident to 
its purposes. They were close partners in almost every under- 
taking ventured in its behalf, and two men never worked together 
more harmoniously or, combining their opportunities, more suc- 
cessfully, for a given end. He is one of the trustees of the society, 
has long served in other official capacities and on its most impor- 
tant committees, and has for a number of years been its correspond- 
ing secretary. A paper from his pen on the shell beds of the Wy- 
oming Valley, contained in a recent publication of the society, ex- 
hibits at once the skill and industry of the enthusiastic geologist 
and antiquarian and his creditable literary ability. He has also 
contributed a number of other papers, published in the collections 
of the society and also in pamphlet form, among others, an article 
on " City of Wilkes-Barre," in Tenth Census United States, " His- 
tory of the First Presbyterian Church of Wilkes-Barre," in His- 
tory of the Lackawanna Presbytery. Mr. Reynolds is one of a 
small coterie of men the Historical Society could ill afford to 
lose. He is a trustee, also, of the Osterhout Free Library, and is 
one of the most energetic and useful of its guardians. He is also 
a life member of the Pennsylvania Historical Society, Franklin 
Institute, and the Wyoming Historical and Geological Society; 
member of the Virginia Historical Society, Bangor Historical 
Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 
and is at present president of the Yale Alumni Association of 
North-Eastern Pennsylvania. In 1875-76 he was a school 
director in the Third school district of this city. With all the 
duties we have mentioned, and others, to tax his time and capacity, 
Mr. Reynolds' life is one of active, hard work, performed not from 
necessity but in response to the promptings of a natural ambition 
to be active and useful. He is withal a genial gentleman, whom 
it is a genuine pleasure to know socially. 



788 Philip Velasco Weaver. 



PHILIP VELASCO WEAVER. 



Philip Velasco Weaver, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pa., September 23, 1878, is a son of Peter Weaver, 
of Butler Valley, in this county. His mother, the wife of Peter 
Weaver, is Loretto O., daughter of Jacob Kline, of Orangeville, 
Pa. P. V. Weaver was born in Black Creek township, Luzerne 
county, March 11, 1855. and was educated at the Bloomsburg 
Normal School, graduating in the class of 1 874. He subsequently 
entered the law office of James Parsons, in Philadelphia, and 
graduated from the law school of the University of Pennsylvania in 
1878. In 1886 he was the democratic candidate for the legisla- 
ture from the fourth legislative district of this county. He was 
defeated. The vote stood — D. M. Evans, republican, 2966 : 
Weaver, 2226. He married, July 29, 1884, Louisa E., daughter 
of the Rev. E. A. Bauer, a Lutheran minister at Hazleton. Mr. 
and Mrs. Weaver have no children. 

It should be explained, in connection with Mr. Weaver's defeat 
for the legislature, that it was compassed under peculiar circum- 
stances. His own nomination was preceded by more or less 
acrimonious contention among several aspirants, and his opponent 
had the advantage of being a prominent official in the Knights of 
Labor, a fact which loosened the political allegiance of many of 
its theretofore democratic members. Mr. Weaver, as chairman 
and committeeman has done good service for his party in every 
campaign for a number of years past. He is not a demonstrative 
man, but makes friends rapidly and holds them firmly. As an 
attorney he is patient, persistent, and energetic. As a citizen he 
is respected by all who know him. 



WILLIAM LA FAYETTE RAEDER. 



William LaFayette Raeder, who was admitted to the bar of 
Luzerne county. Pa., June 6, 1 881, is the grandson of John Raeder, 



William LaFayette Raeder. 789 



who was born in Heppenheim, Hesse Darmstadt, Germany. 
February 2, 1794, and died in Wilkes-Barre January 14, 1866. 
He married, in 1817, Anna Katrina Seilheimer, of Fromesheimer 
Greiss Alzey, Hesse Darmstadt. They had nine children. Of 
these John Raeder, the father of W. L. Raeder, was the second 
son. He left Havre in July, 1841, on the sailing vessel Oneida, 
landing in New York after an exceedingly short voyage of twenty- 
eight days, at a time when crossing the ocean usually occupied 
from sixty to one hundred days. He made his way at once to 
Luzerne county, working at White Haven, Wilkes-Barre, and 
Ransom, at whatever his hands found to do. In the fall of 1841 
he was employed on the Lehigh Canal at White Haven, under 
Charles Gilbert, contractor. In 1842 he returned to Ransom, 
where he remained until 1846, when he removed to Wilkes-Barre 
and took charge of the old Wyoming House for Jacob Bertels. 
This house was located where the Christel block now stands, on 
Main street. In 1849" he again returned to Ransom, and was 
employed on the farm of Amos Barnum. In 1850 he began work 
as a mason on the North Branch Canal, under John and William 
Hall, who had the contract to build the lock at the head of the 
Narrows, and the lock and aqueduct at Gardner's Ferry, He 
was subsequently under W. R. Maffit, who had charge of the 
canal from Pittston to the New York state line. He remained at 
Gardner's Ferry until 1857, when he removed to Pittston and 
took charge of the vaults erected by the late Judge Reichard. 
In 1862 he purchased the old Union hotel property, where he 
remained until i^y^,, when he bought the Washington Hotel, in 
this city, since which time he has resided there. Mr. Raeder 
was commissioned second lieutenant of the Pittston Yaegers, 
in the Second Brigade of the Ninth Division of the uniformed 
militia of the commonwealth of Pennsylvania, from the counties 
of Columbia, Luzerne, and Wyoming. He was, at the time of 
its organization, a director of the Pittston Street Railway. He 
was for several years a director of the People's Bank of Pittston. 
In 1868 he was elected a member of the Pittston borough council, 
and, like all the old citizens of Pittston, served as a member of 
the Eagle Ho5e Company. He has three children living — W. L. 
Raeder, Mrs. Colonel F. M. Rust, and Mrs. F. M. Heitzman. 



790 William LaFayette Raedek. 



Mr. Raeder. since his residence in this city, has not been active 
in public affairs. He married, November i, 1847, Melinda Wen- 
dell, a descendant of Evert Jansen Wendell, one of the early 
settlers of Albany, N. Y., who was the ancestor of many distin- 
iTuished citizens of that state, in the history of which the name of 
Wendell has always maintained its prominence. 

Evert Jansen Wendell, who was born at Emden, a town of 
twelve thousand inhabitants, located at the mouth of the Ems, in 
Hanover (now Prussia), came to New Amsterdam (now New 
York City) about 1642. He married. July 31, 1644, Susanna Du 
Trieux (now changed to Truax), daughter of M. Du Trieux, and 
doubtless the sister of Philip Du Trieux, court messenger in New 
Amsterdam at an early day. He had, by his two marriages, 
twelve children. His second son, and the first to leave issue, was 
Captain Johannes Wendell, born February 2, 1649, baptized, N. 
A., February 2, 1649, and died November 20, 1691. His will 
was probated February 20, 1692. He married (i) Maritie Meyer, 
daughter of Jellis Pieterse Myer, of N. A., and his wife, Elsie 
Hendricks, of Amsterdam, Holland. She was baptized January 
21, 1652. He married (2) Elizabeth Staats, daughter of Major 
Abraham Staats, surgeon (who came to Rensaelearwyck with 
Dominie Megapolensis, in 1642), and his wife, Catrina Jochemse, 
daughter of Jacob Wessels. Elsie Wendell, the older sister of 
Johannes, married Abraham Staats, the brother of her father's 
second wife. Elizabeth Staats married (2) Johannes Schuyler, 
and had, among others, Margarita, " The American Lady," who 
married her cousin. Colonel Philip Van Rensselaer, of " The 
Flats," at Port Schuyler, near W. Troy, N. Y. 

Captain Johannes Wendell was agent, in 1682, for Maryland, to 
receive the indemnity from the Five Nations of Indians for depreda- 
tions they had committed in that province. He was justice of the 
peace 1684-5; ruling elder of the Dutch Reformed church 1686; 
commissioner of Indian affairs 1684 to 1690. In 1685 he was 
commissioned captain of the Albany Company, and in 1690 was 
mayor of Albany. He left one hundred and forty beavers (the 
currency of the country at that time) to each of his daughters, 
Elsie and Maritie, with movables from their mother's estate; to 
Abraham, part of his land, called " Saratoga ; " to Johannes^ his 



William LaFayette Raeder. 791 



land of" Lansengburg," and " Whale Island ; " to Ephraim, his 
land of " Klinkenberg ; " to his wife, his dwelling in Albany ; his 
other lands to his other children. His children were married 
into the families of DeKay, Wyngaart, TenBroeck, Oliver, and 
others. He had thirteen children, of whom (I) Abraham Wen- 
dell, born December 27, 1678, married Katrina DsKay, of N. Y., 
May 15, 1702, and had (i) Johannes, who married, 1724, Elizabeth 
Quincy, daughter of Judge Edmund and Dorothy (Flynt) Quin- 
cy, of the Supreme Court of Massachusetts, a family long dis- 
tinguished in the history of that commonwealth ; (2) Elizabeth, who 
married, April 15, 1725, Edmund Quincy, and had, among others, 
Esther, who married Jonathan Sewell, chief justice of Lower 
Canada ; and Dorothy, who married, as her first husband, John 
Hancock, the governor of Massachusetts and the president of the 
Continental Congress. (H) Hon. Jacobus Wendell, born August 
II, 1691, married, August 12, 1714, Sarah Oliver, daughter 
of Dr. James Oliver, of Boston, Mass., and his wife, Mercy 
Bradstreet. He was a son of Peter Oliver, an eminent merchant 
of Boston, and grandson of Thomas Oliver, of Boston, 1632. Two 
of Dr. Oliver's nephews were Andrew Oliver, lieutenant governor 
of Massachusetts, and Peter Oliver, chief justice of Massachusetts. 
Colonel Jacob Wendell was a merchant of Boston, Mass., where 
he located early in life. In 1733 he was director of the First Bank 
of Massachu.setts ; 1742 colonel of the Boston Regiment ; 1737- 
1750 a member of the Governor's Council ; and 1744-1745 and 
1750 one of the commissioners of Indian affairs from Massachu- 
setts at Albany. 

Sir Jonah Barrington says : " Dress has a moral effect on man- 
kind. Let any gentleman find himself with dirty boots, old sur- 
tout, soiled neck-cloth, and a general negligence of dress, he will 
in all probability find a corresponding disposition by negligence 
of address. We should feel the force of this could we but see 
one of the ' solid men of Boston ' of olden times as he came down 
State street at the hour of high change, then twelve o'clock. His 
appearance would cause as much or more excitement than that 
of the Turkish ambassador who recently made us a visit. Colo- 
nel Jacob Wendell, who died in 1761, is thus described: ' His 
dress was rich, being a scarlet-embroidered coat, gold-laced 



792 William LaFayette Raeder. 

cocked hat, embroidered long waistcoat, small clothes with gold 
knee buckles, silk stockings with gold clocks, shoes and large 
gold or silver buckles, as the importance of the business or occa- 
sion demanded, full ruffles at the bosom and mists, and walking 
with a gold-headed cane.' Now we have a portrait of one of the 
old school gentlemen of a century ago." (Talcott's Gen. Notes.) 

Among the descendants of Colonel Jacob Wendell were Sarah, 
wife of Rev. Abiel Holmes, D. D., the historian, author of "The 
Annals of America ; " Mary Jackson Holmes, the wife of Dr. 
Usher Parsons, of Rhode Island, also an historian ; and Ann S. 
Holmes, the wife of Rev. Charles W. Upham, of Salem, also an 
historical writer of repute. Margaret Wendell, the daughter of 
Colonel Jacob, married William Phillips, of Boston, and had Mrs. 
Judge Samuel Cooper, and John Phillips, the father of that eminent 
philanthropist, Wendell Phillips. 

(HI) Isaac Wendell, born November 5, 1688, the 6th son of 
Captain Johannes Wendell, and the immediate ancestor of Mrs. 
Raeder, married, November 28, 171 7, Catalyna VanDyck, daugh- 
ter of Dr. Hendrick and Maria (Schuyler) VanDyck. This Dr. 
VanDyck was a physician of Albany and son of Hendrick Van 
Dyck, Schout-Fiscaal of Governor Stuyvesant, and a member of 
the Governor's Council. He came to New Amsterdam 1639-40. 
He was a prominent figure in the early history of New Amster- 
dam. Dr. VanDyke married, February, 3, 1689, Maria Schuyler, 
daughter of Arent Schuyler, freeman of New York City, 1695, 
and son of Colonel Philip Pieterse Schuyler, the ancestor of all the 
Schuylers of Albany and vicinity, and the grandfather of General 
Philip Schuyler, of the revolutionary army, whose daughter Eliz- 
abeth married General Alexander Hamilton, secretary of the treas- 
ury under Washington. (See sketch of General S. in Lossing's 
Field Book of the Revolution, i, 38.) Maria (Schuyler) VanDyck 
was the grand-aunt of General Schuyler. Colonel Philip Pieterse 
Schuyler also married a Wendell. Isaac Wendell had nine chil- 
dren, of whom three married, viz.: Elizabeth, born June 29, 
1723, married Peter (5) Lansing, son of Johannes (4) and Geertruy 
(Schuyler) Lansing, of Johannes (3), Gerrit F. (2), Frederick 
(i), of Hassell, province of Overyssell, Prussia, who came to 
New Amsterdam in 1650. This Geertruy Schuyler, born Feb- 



William LaFayette Raeder. 793 

ruary 11, 1694, was the niece of Arent Schuyler and the 
daughter of Colonel Peter Schuyler, first mayor of Albany, 
1686-1694. Sarah, born November 27, 1726, married, July 15, 
1758, Dirck Matthys Vanderheyder, of Matthys Dirk, of Jacob 
Tyssen Vanderheyder, New Amsterdam, 1654. The sixth son 
was (IV) Hendrick Wendell, baptized March 16, 1729, who 
died at Watervliet, N. Y., 1809, will dated October 10, 1796, pro- 
bated May I, 1809. He married, June 17, 1750, Catalina Van 
Schaick, daughter of Sybrant and Jannetie (Bogaart) VanSchaick, 
son of Anthony VanSchaick, who was son of Captain Gosen 
Gerritse VanSchaick, brewer, of New Amsterdam, 1649, and his 
second wife, Annatie Lievens, of Lievense. In 1657 Captain 
Gosen VanSchaick owned a large property in Albany. When he 
married his second wife he settled six thousand guilders on the 
child of his first marriage. His descendants have been among 
the most eminent citizens of New York state. Rev. R. W. Van 
Schoick, D. D., of Kingston, is one. Hendrick Wendell had four 
children, of whom Susanna, the eldest, married Joost Boskirk, of 
Albany, and left issue, recorded in " Pearson's Genealogy of the 
First Settlers of Albany." Sarah, the second daughter, married 
John Bratt, of Jan, of Albany, a descendant of Albert Andriese 
Bratt, of that city, 1662, whose issue is also recorded in Pearson. 
(V) Gerrit Wendell, the eldest son and the second child of Hen- 
drick, married, 1780, Machtelt Heemstreet, born October 15, 
1758, daughter of Hannes Heemstraat, or Hemstreet, of Niskay- 
una, and his wife, Elizabeth Bovie, of Dirk Takelse VanHeem- 
straat and his wife, Catharina Quackenbos. They had (i) 
Cathalyntie, baptized November 2, 1780; (2) Elizabeth, baptized 
July 13, 1783 ; (3) Abraham, baptized February 2, 1786 ; (4) Jo- 
hannes, baptized November 16, 1788. 

Others of the Wendell family who have been prominent men 
were Harmanus Wendell, commissioner of Indian affairs 1728- 
1732 ; Evert Wendell, lawyer, and commissioner of Indian affairs 
1724-1732; Johannes Wendell, also commissioner 1720-1726- 
Harmanus Wendell, judge of the Court of Common Pleas 1752- 
1758, whose daughter married Colonel Philip Pieterse Schuyler, 
of the revolutionary army ; General John H. Wendell, lawyer, 
who served in the continental army 1776-1781, held many 



794 William LaFavette Raeder. 



offices, and was a member of the New York Cincinnati (he 
wore the costume of the revolutionary era until his death, in 1S32); 
Judge Gerrit Wendell and Jud'^e John L. Wendell, of Washing- 
ton county, N. Y. (a daughter of the latter was the wife of Robert 
B. Minturn, of Grinnell, Minturn & Co., the philanthropic mer- 
chants of New York City) ; and Doctor Peter Wendell, chancel- 
lor of the University of New York. 

(VI) Johannes, son of Gerritt and Machtelt Wendell, born No- 
vember 16, 1788, married Vina Morey or Mowry, born 1792, died 
November 29, 1879, aged eighty-seven years, daughter of Isaac 
and Hopie (Harrington) Mowry, who came from Rhode Island 
to Lake George, and had seventeen children, of whom Melinda, 
the ninth child, born October 26, 1828, married, November i, 
1847, Joh^ Raeder. Isaac Mowry was descended from Roger 
and Mary Mowry, who came to Massachusetts with the Plymouth 
colony, was made freeman May 18, 1631, and located at Provi- 
dence, R. I., 1643. Austin states that family tradition makes 
him a cousin of Roger Williams. This appears to be corrobo- 
rated by the similarity of their first names, and the fact that the 
two were associates in their residence successively at Plymouth, 
Salem, and Providence. Hopie Harrington was descended from 
the family of that name that located in Gloucester, R. I., in the 
eighteenth century and moved thence to Danby, Vermont, 1777. 
Among them were Thomas Harrington, John Harrington, Oliver 
Harrington, Mowry Harrington, etc., etc. 

W. L. Raeder, son of John and Melinda (Wendell) Raeder, 
was born at Ransom, near Gardner's Ferry, then Luzerne, now 
Lackawanna, county, November 27, 1854. He removed with 
his parents, in April, 1857, to Pittston, and attended the public 
and select schools of that borough and the West Pittston Semi- 
nary. He was " devil " in the old Gazette office when Hon. B. 
F. Hughes, of Philadelphia, was editor, and Hon. Theo. Hart, 
now its editor and proprietor, was job printer. He was prepared 
for college under the tutorship of Prof. W. J. Bruce, subsequently 
editor of the Record of the Times, and entered the freshman class 
of Lehigh University in September, 1872, where he took the 
course of civil engineering. While a student at college his 
parents removed from Pittston to Wilkes-Barre. He, therefore. 



William LaFayette Raeder. 795 



came to Wilkes-Barre in July, 1876, after graduation as a civil 
engineer, and was employed as a member of an engineer corps 
under W. B. Hick, chief engineer for the Wyoming Valley Coal 
Company, formerly the Riverside. After a narrow escape from 
a fall of rock in the old Enterprise colliery he relinquished min- 
ing engineering and accepted a position with Virtue & Yorsten, 
publishers, whose headquarters were at Pittsburgh. He returned 
to Wilkes-Barre, however, in the spring of 1877 and entered, as 
a student at law, the office of E. P. & J. V. Darling. While yet 
a student he was employed as a solicitor to secure subscribers 
for the establishment of the Wilkes-Barre Telephone Exchange. 
After successfully establishing the exchange, with the aid of L. 
C. Kinsey, Esq., a member of the Luzerne bar, Mr. Raeder was 
continued as solicitor and collector until his admission to the 
bar, about which time the Scranton Exchange and the Wilkes- 
Barre Exchange were consolidated, forming the North Pennsyl- 
vania Telephone and Supply Company. Mr. Raeder was con- 
nected for a time with the old Wilkes-Barre Fencibles, and after- 
wards with Company F., Ninth Regiment, N. G. P., wherein, in 
a short time, he reached the position of a sergeant. Though not 
yet thirty-four years of age, he has attained an enviable position 
in his profession, principally as a practitioner of what is called 
real estate law, though his familiarity with its practice generally 
is a credit to his preceptors and an attestation of the industry and 
zeal with which he pursues its problems. He is the publisher of 
the Real Estate Intelligencer and an authority on the subjects to 
which it is devoted. He is a democrat in politics, and, though 
active in the local councils of the party, has never been a candi- 
date for any office. He is popular socially, being a cultivated 
vocalist and having achieved a flattering celebrity in amateur 
opera. His professional future is likely to be a bright one if 
strong common sense, well-digested methods, and unflagging 
persistency, added to a very thorough understanding of the law, 
can make it so. 

W. L. Raeder married, February 17, 1885, EHzabeth, a daughter 
of George Worrell, of Elmira, N. Y. They have one child— 
Milicent Wendell Raeder, born September 27, 1888. Dr. Smith, 
in his History of Delaware County, Pa., states that it is sup- 



796 William LaFavette Raeder. 



posed that the name of VVorrall or Worrell was originally Warel, 
and that those bearing it are descended from a Sir Hubert de Warel, 
who lost three sons at the battle of Hastings, the town at which 
William the Conqueror first landed. In 1682 Richard Worrell or 
Worrall and John Worrell, both Friends, or Quakers, came from 
Oare, Berkshire, England, to Philadelphia, at the same time. 
They both presented their certificates at the same time, to the 
same meeting in Philadelphia, and are supposed to have been 
relatives. 

John Worrell, born in Oare, Berkshire, England, in 1658, died 
at Edgmont, Delaware county. Pa., February 4, 1742, aged eighty- 
four years. He located first in Chester, Delaware county, in 1682. 
Two years later, in 1684, he moved to Middletown township, 
Delaware county, whence, in 1695, he moved to Edgmont town- 
ship, where he lived until his death. John Worrell was a mem- 
ber of the Pennsylvania Assembly from Chester county in 17 16 
(Delaware county being formed in 1789). In 1684 he married (i) 
Frances Taylor, died at Edgmont, October 13, 171 2, widow of 
Thomas Taylor, of Northenby, Flintshire, England, who pur- 
chased lands in Pennsylvania, and died in 1682, leaving two sons, 
Thomas, and Philip, who married, in 1705, Ann, daughter of 
Thomas and Mary Conway, and died in 1732, leaving issue. He 
married (2), April 9, 17 14, Sarah Goodwin, daughter of Thomas 
Goodwin, of Edgmont. She was a prominent preacher among 
the Friends. By his first marriage Mr. Worrell had, it is said, 
but one son, John, born July 26, 1685, who died young, but the 
records of P^dgmont meeting show that " Joshua, son of John 
Worrell," married, January 23, 1727, Margaret Spoonly, daughter 
of Lewis Spoonly. This was probably a second son by the first 
marriage. By the second marriage Mr. Worrell had (2) Eliza- 
beth, born January 29, 171 5 ; (3) Mary, born April 27, 1717, died 
young; (4) John, born August 26, 17 19; (5) Peter, born August 
26, 1719 (these two were twins); (6) Sarah, born July 19, 1722 ; 
(7) Thomas, born September 21, 1724, died young; (8) Thomas, 
born June 29, 1728 ; (9) Mary, born February 24, 1730. 

(II) John Worrell, the fourth child of John and Sarah (Goodwin) 
Worrell, born August 26,' 17 19, married, April 18, 1741- 
Priscilla Lewis, of Edgmont township, Delaware county, and had, 



William LaFayettk Raeder. 797 



among others, (III) Samuel Worrell, born at Edgmont June 21, 
1754, died February 14, 1827, aged seventy-three years. He 
was disowned by the Society of Friends for having served in the 
revolutionary army. One hundred and ten young men of this 
society entered the continental service from Delaware county and 
were disowned. Only two, however, joined the British army. 
Samuel Worrell married, about 1786, Martha Gamble, of Edg- 
mont, born in 1759, died December 26, 1826, aged sixty-seven 
years. They had four children — (IV) Lewis; John, of Pequa 
Valley ; Priscilla, and Rachel. 

Lewis Worrell, the eldest of these children, was born in Edg- 
mont October 13, 1787, died at Cape May, N. J., March 24, 
i860. He married, in 18 10, Milicent Taylor, of Cape May, 
N. J., born in 1790 and died in 1865. Mr. Worrell was bound 
out at six years of age to learn the potter's trade, in Westown, 
Chester county. When his time had expired he worked for 
some time at his trade in Edgmont. In 18 17 he removed to 
Luzerne county and settled at Wilkes-Barre. He lived, until 
1840, on River street, where he carried on the pottery business 
in connection with a lumberyard until 1848, when he retired from 
business. In 1854 he removed to Elmira, where he established 
his son George in the coal business. In May, 1858, he moved 
to Cape May, N. J., and died there. Mr. Lewis Worrell, during 
his long residence in Wilkes-Barre, earned the high esteem of all 
its people. One who remembers him well, having had intimate 
business and social association with him, says : " He was a man 
of fine physique, with sparkling blue eyes, intelligent, and in 
every respect companionable. He was full of energy and busi- 
ness tact and the very soul of honor and integrity." He lived in 
the Emley house and his pottery stood on the present site of the 
Urquhart property, where Arnold Bertels now resides. It was 
an industrial establishment of no small consequence in a borous-h 
of the size of Wilkes-Barre, and flourished under his careful 
management. Mr. Worrell was a devoted churchman, and an 
ardent participant in all efforts to help his less fortunate fellows, 
and to add to the good name and prosperity of the city. He was a 
good man and a good citizen in all that the term implies. 

(V) George Worrell, son of Lewis Worrell, was born in Wilkes- 



798 TuTHiLL Reynolds Hillard. 



Barre in 1824, and died in Elmira, N. Y., July 21, 1887, aged 
sixty-three years. Moving to l^lmira in 1855, he spent thirty-two 
years of his life in that city. The lUniira Advertiser, speaking of 
Mr. Worrell at the time of his death, says : " He was always an 
active and intelligent business man. At different times in his 
busy career he had been associated with the Nobles Manufactur- 
ing Company and with the company that operated the woolen 
mills, but he was chiefly known as a successful coal dealer. He 
brought the first cargo of Pittston coal to Elmira in a canal boat 
on the once prosperous Chemung canal, and was the first to in- 
troduce the product of the Pittston mines into Rochester and 
other cities. In political life Mr. Worrell was not unknown, 
serving several terms as member of the common council and 
board of supervisors. These trusts were discharged to the credit 
of himself and the satisfaction of his constituents in the Third 
ward. He was a member of St. Omer's Commandery and 
was connected with Grace E^piscopal Church." The Gaseite says 
in addition to the above : " Personally Mr. Worrell was one of 
the pleasantest men. He was one of those generous, whole- 
souled men, quiet and unostentatious in his way, but never with- 
holding aid from any deserving one. Few, perhaps, knew him 
intimately, but they can testify to his worth as a man, a citizen 
and a neighbor." Mr. Worrell married, October 18, 1853, Eu- 
nice Callahan, daughter of John and _Mary (Cole) Callahan, and 
had four children — James L., of Elmira, George H , of Roche.ster, 
N. Y., Mrs. W. L. Raeder, and Mrs. Lewis B. Landmesser, of 
Wilkes-Barre. 



TUTHILL REYNOLDS HILLARD. 



Tuthill Reynolds Hillard, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pa., June 6, 1885, is a descendant of Joseph Hillard, 
of Killingsworth, Conn., who had a son Joseph Hillard, who had a 
son Oliver Hillard, also of Killingsworth. His wife was Nancy 
Crawford. Oliver Burr Hillard, son of J-©sepii Hillard, was born in 



TuTHiLL Reynolds Hillard. 799 



KilHngsworth, Conn., June 7, 1803. He subsequently removed to 
Charleston, S. C, where he carried on a large mercantile and ship- 
ping business. While a resident of that city he married Catharine 
Roberts, a daughter of Captain Roberts, of Charleston. He after- 
wards removed to this city, where he is still remembered by our 
older citizens as the most enterprising merchant of his day. Thad- 
deus S. Hillard, son of Oliver Burr Hillard, is a native of Charleston, 
where he was born in 1829. He came to this city with his 
father's family, and was for many years engaged in the mercantile 
business with his brother, William S. Hillard. His wife is Esther 
Jane Reynolds, a native of Elmira, N. Y. She is the daughter of 
the late Charles Reynolds and his wife, Lydia Tuthill, a daughter 
of Samuel Tuthill. 

Tuthill Reynolds Hillard, third son of Thaddeus S. Hillard, 
was born in this city December 12, i860. He was educated in 
the public schools of his native city, WilHston Seminary, East- 
hampton, Mass., and Yale College, graduating from the latter 
institution in the class of 1883. He read law in this city with E. 
P. Darling and W. C. Price. The same month that he was ad- 
mitted to the bar he left for an extended cruise in the schooner 
yacht Brunhilde, John Jay Phelps, owner and captain, sailing 
around the world, and arriving home a year ago. The yacht 
left New York June 20, 1885, and spent the next ten days at 
New Haven and New London, Conn. On the 29th she sailed 
for Cowes, Isle of Wight ; thence to Boulogne and Cherbourg, 
France ; Cadiz, Spain ; Tangiers, Morocco ; Gibraltar ; Mers-el- 
Kebir, Oran, Algiers, Bougie and Bona, Algeria ; Alexandria, 
Port Said, Ismaila and Suez, in Egypt ; Jebel Zukir, an island 
in the Red Sea; Perim Island in the Straits of Bab-el-Mandeb ; 
Aden; Sokotra, in the Indian Ocean, since seized by England; 
Aucutta, one of the Laccadives ; Bombay ; Columbo ; Penang 
and Singapore in the Strait Settlements ; Pulo Condore in the 
China Seas; Hong Kong; Nagasaki, Shiminiseki, Marayama, 
Mirawa, Te Sima, Kobe, Okoshka, and Yokohama, in Japan; 
San Francisco and Monterey, Cahfornia ; Honolulu and Hilo, 
Sandwich Islands; Papiete and Papara in Tahiti; Rapanni or 
Easter Island; Juan Fernandez; Valparaiso; Stanley Harbor, 
Falkland Islands; Montevideo, Urugauy; Ilha Grande, Rio 



8oo Lord Buti.ek Iliu.AKn. 



Janeiro and Hahia, in Brazil; Barbadoes, St. I. ucia, Martinique, 
Dominica, Montserrat, St. Kitt.s, Santa Cruz, and St. Thomas, in 
the West Indies; the Bermudas, and New York; arriving at the 
latter place July 31, 1887, and after remaining there a week, 
running up the New England coast and back by the first of Sep- 
tember. At many of these places journeys inland were taken, 
and frequently stays of a month made in a single port. Mr. Hil- 
lard, since his return, has been actively engaged in the practice 
of the law. 

Very few men of any age can be said to have .seen as much of 
the world as it has been Mr. Hillard's privilege to familiarize 
him.self with, under most advantageous circumstances. The voy- 
age of the Brunhilde was exclusively for sight seeing purposes. 
Abundant means were at the command of the captain, who is a 
son of the millionaire congressman, William Walter Phelps, and 
time in which to " do " each place visited as thoroughly as pos- 
sible was not wanting. The amount of information any young 
man of even the most ordinary powers must needs have acquired 
in such a tour is not only vast in extent, but largely such as could 
not in a lifetime have been gathered from mere book study. 
Supplementing a graduation from Yale, it should fit a man for 
success in almost any undertaking he could choose. Mr. Hillard 
already gives evidence that he will win a good position in his 
chosen profession. 



LORD BUTLER HILLARD. 



Lord Butler Hillard, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., September 7, 1885, is the only son of the late William 
S. Hillard, of this city, a native of Charleston, S. C, and grand- 
son of Oliver Burr Hillard. (See preceding sketch.) The 
wife of W. S. Hillard is Ruth Ross Butler, a daughter of the 
late Lord Butler, of Wilkes-Barre. (See page 358.) Lord 
Butler Hillard was born in Wilkes-Barre December 5, 1861, and 
was prepared for college at St. Paul's School, Concord, N. H., 



George Eugene Cohen. 8oi 



and, entering Yale College, graduated therefrom in the class of 
1883. He read law with his uncle, E. G. Butler, in this city. 
Mr. Hillard is first lieutenant of Company F, Ninth Regiment, 
National Guard of Pennsylvania. He entered as a private, and 
was promoted through all the grades to his present position. 
Failing health compelled him to give up the practice of the law, 
at least temporarily, and he is now engaged in the sale and man- 
ufacture of lumber at Pittston. He is the vice president of the 
Wyoming Valley Lumber Company, located at that point. Mr. 
Hillard is an unmarried man, and a democrat in politics. Though 
he was but a short time at the bar, it was long enough to dem- 
onstrate that if health had permitted and inclination prompted he 
could and would have fought his way to success there. He is a 
young man of fine mind, ambitious, and possessed of excellent 
general business qualifications. 



GEORGE EUGENE COHEN. 



Georgfe Eugene Cohen, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county December 11, 1886, is a native of Pittston, Pa., 
where he was born July 24, 1862. He is the son of the late 
Henry Cohen, a native of Schubein, in the province of Posen, 
Prussia, where he was born in 1820. His father was Eugene 
Cohen, of the same place. Henry Cohen was educated as a 
teacher, and at the age of fifteen years passed the government 
examination. He subsequently taught five years. In 1848 he 
emigrated to this country, and did business in Susquehanna De- 
pot and Scranton, Pa. In 1850 he removed to Pittston, where 
he resided until the time of his death, May 25, 1886. During 
that time he achieved success in business and amassed a consid- 
erable fortune. He was an active, enterprising citizen, and won 
universal respect for his honorable dealing as a man of affairs, 
and as a friend and neighbor. He took an active interest in the 
public schools of Pittston, and served for a number of years as 
one of the directors, and was treasurer of the board for several 
years. He also held other offices of trust and responsibility to 



8o2 James Madison Fritz. 



the satisfaction of the public. He was a director of the People's 
Savings Bank of Pittston, and also of the Miners' Savings Bank, 
at the time of his death. Mr. Cohen married, in 1857, AmeHa 
Aurbach, a native of Schroda, Pru.ssia, daughter of the late George 
R. Aurbach. 

George E. Cohen, son of Henry Cohen, was educated in the 
schools of his native place, at Wilkes-Barre Academy, Mielzeiner 
Boarding School, New York, and Yale College, graduating from 
the latter in the class of 1884. He took at the latter institution 
the Cobden prize in political economy. Mr. Cohen read law with 
H. B. Payne and George K. Powell, in this city. He also attended 
the Columbia College Law School in the city of New York. Mr. 
Cohen made an extensive tour of Europe in 1887 for the benefit 
of his health. He has an office in this city, but his residence is 
in Pittston. He married, August 30, 1888, Lillie Stein, of Mont- 
gomery, Alabama, daughter of George A. Stein, of New Orleans. 

Mr. Cohen, at the time of the writing of these lines, although 
nearly two years after his admission, can scarcely be said to have 
as yet attempted practice. As already noted, his health has not 
been of the best, and, having the means at command, he has uti- 
lized them to find renewed strength in foreign climates. He is 
now prepared to win a place in the profession by deserving it, 
and he comes to the performance of his task well equipped to 
succeed in it. The honors he won at Yale show him to have ex- 
ceptional ability not only for acquiring knowledge but for making 
stong presentment of what he has learned. He has a keen, ana- 
lytical mind, is an ingenious and effective disputant, and an 
intelligent conversationalist. He has every qualification, in fact, 
as well as admirable opportunity, for making his mark both at 
the bar and, if he chooses, in public life. 



JAMES MADISON FRITZ. 



James Madison Fritz was born in Orangeville, Columbia 
county. Pa., March 10, 1857. He is a descendant of Philip Fritz, 
a native of Philadelphia, who removed from that city to what is 



James Madison Fritz. 803 



now Sugarloaf township, Columbia county, in 1790. He was a 
descendant of one of the early German emigrants who settled in 
Philadelphia at a very early day. Philip Fritz was the owner 
of a large tract of land, and in addition to his duties as a farmer 
filled the office of justice of the peace and was also a school 
teacher. John G. Freeze, in his History of Columbia County, 
says that Philip Fritz was the first school master and justice of 
the peace in the north-eastern part of Columbia county. He also 
says that " he was a scholarly gentleman from Philadelphia. He 
taught the first school of the township in a log hut which stood 
where St. Gabriel's church now stands." His wife was Charlotte 
Deborgur, also a native of Philadelphia. She was the daughter 
of Henry Deborgur. 

Henry H. Fritz, son of Philip Fritz, was about four years of 
age when his father removed from Philadelphia to Sugarloaf 
township. He was a farmer and was one of the founders of St. 
Gabriel's Episcopal Church, in Sugarloaf township. He died in 
1866. He married, in 18 14, Margaret Roberts. 

William Fritz, son of Henry Fritz and father of James M. Fritz, 
was a native of Sugarloaf township. He was a school teacher for 
several years and finally became a merchant at Orangeville. He 
was an elder in the Presbyterian church and a justice of the peace 
at the time of his death, in 1864. The wife of William Fritz was 
Margaret Jones, of New Brunswick, N. J. She was the daughter 
of Benjamin Jones, who removed from that place to Orangeville. 
James M. Fritz, after the death of his father, removed to New 
Brunswick with his mother and for a few years filled the position 
of clerk in some of the manufactories and dry goods stores of New 
Brunswick. Upon the death of his mother, in 1875, he returned 
to Columbia county and attended the Orangeville Academy in 
the summer time and taught school in the counties of Columbia 
and Luzerne during the winter season until 1879, when he entered 
Lafayette College and graduated in the classical course in the 
class of 1883. He then registered as a law student in the office 
of C. G. Barkley, of Bloomsburg, Pa. While pursuing his law 
studies he taught school and was principal of the Shickshinny 
schools and also of the New Columbus Academy. He was ad- 
mitted to the bar of Columbia county December 13, 1886, and to 



8o4 John Franklin Evekhart. 



the bar of T.uzernc county January 29, 1887. He immediately 
thereafter removed to Nanticoke, where he has opened an office. 
He has attached himself to the principles of the democratic party. 
James M. Fritz was married to Annie Elizabeth Stackhouse, a 
daughter of the late John M. Stackhouse, of Shickshinny, Septem- 
ber 9, 1886. Mr. and Mrs. Fritz have one child, Margaret Fritz. 

John M. Stackhouse was a descendant of Thomas Stackhouse 
and his wife, Grace Heaton, daughter of Robert and Alice Heaton. 
They were born in England and came to America in 1682. They 
were married, 7th mo., 27, 1688, at Middletown meeting, Bucks 
county. Pa. Thomas Stackhouse represented Bucks county in 
the Colonial Assembly in the years 1711, 1713, and 1715. He 
was re-elected in 17 16, but refused to serve. He was the owner 
of five hundred and seven acres of land in Middletown. Robert 
Stackhouse, son of Thomas Stackhouse, removed to what is now 
Berwick, Columbia county. Pa. He was one of the earliest settlers 
there, and died in 1788, aged about ninety-seven years. He had 
a son Benjamin, who had a son James, who had a son Joseph, 
who was the father of John M. Stackhouse. 

Mr. Fritz brought experience in the trials of this world to the 
study of his profession, and from this incentive naturally comes 
a degree of quiet but serious energy, fruitful of the best possible 
results. The knowledge gained by him in his connection with 
general mercantile and manufacturing business, together with the 
understanding of human nature that comes from wielding author- 
ity in the school room, are an equipment that cannot but tell 
profitably to him in the pursuit of his chosen calling. He is a 
painstaking and intelligent servitor of his clients, and will doubt- 
less prosper in pace with the rapidly growing community in which 
he abides. 



JOHN FRANKLIN EVERHART. 



John Franklin Everhart, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county November 15, 1887, is a native of Pittston, Pa., 
where he was born June 18, 1859. Two and a half centuries is 



John Franklin Everhart. 805 



a long time for one to glance back through the vista of a family 
history, yet it is about that length of time since there landed 
in this country, from Germany — most probably from the ancient 
kingdom of Wirtemburg — afamily by the name of Eberhard, which 
has since that time become anglicized into Everhart. The name 
Eberhard is closely linked with Wirtemburg, and as far back as 
1370 there was a famous Count Eberhard, who figured promi- 
nently in the history of Germany, and gave the Emperor Karl 
IV no little amount of trouble, which was continued for several 
years with the emperor's son and successor, Wenceslas. About 
the commencement of the last century the great-great-grandfather 
of the subject of this sketch moved from his New York home to 
Pennsylvania, and settled in East Vincent township, Chester 
county. The great-grandfather, James Everhart, was a stripling 
of seventeen years when the revolution of the English colonies 
occurred. Like a brave and patriotic youth, he shouldered his 
musket and was soon in the field fighting for the cause of liberty 
and independence. He served the infant republic until his musket 
was worn out, and lived to see his grand-children prosper, and died 
a nonagenarian in 1852. He had three sons, James, John, and 
William, all of whom became men of wealth and prominence. 
The latter was a member of congress from 1853 to 1855. It is 
related of William that it was his misfortune to be wrecked on the 
coast of Ireland, where he and five survivors of the ill-fated vessel 
were treated with great kindness, and that during the famine in 
Ireland, a few years since, he loaded a ship with provisions at his 
own expense and sent her to Ireland, by way of expressing his 
p-ratitude. He was the father of the late ex-congressman James 
Bowen Everhart, of Chester county. Pa. James Everhart was the 
grandfather of the subject of this sketch, and the youngest .son of 
James Everhart. He was born in 1789 and died in 1863. He 
was an officer in the war of 1812, and after the war engaged in 
the mercantile business in Chester county. Pa. In 1820 he 
removed to Berks county, where he engaged extensively in agri- 
culture, tanning, and the iron trade, during which time he took a 
ship load of bark to England and exchanged it for merchandise. 
He was a man of sound judgment and correct principles, whose 
■influence was more than local, and whose opinion was sought as 



8o6 John Franklin Everiiart. 



a matter of worth by those who knew him best. In all the lead- 
in[^ topics of the day he was a close observer, and in those calcu- 
lated for the general good he was deepK^ interested. He was ar> 
ardent supporter of the free school system, and before its day 
established schools at his own expense, in order that the rising 
generation of his neighbors might have the rudiments of a com- 
mon education. He was in no sense of the word a politician, 
though twice he represented his county in the legislature, the 
second time receiving the unanimous support of both the political 
parties. He was urged to accept a nomination to congress^ 
which was equivalent to an election, and declined. In 1817 he 
married Mary M., the only child of Isaac and Catharine Templen. 
The union was blessed with eight children, of whom five survive. 
James M. Everhart, of Scranton, Pa., is the third son, and Isaiah 
F. Everhart, M. D., also of Scranton, is the youngest child. 

John Templen Everhart, the father of the subject of our sketch, 
is the oldest of the children of James Everhart, and was born 
September 14, 1818. After receiving a common school educa- 
tion, he entered his father's tannery and learned the trade of a 
tanner. In 1851 he removed to Pittston, and purchased large 
coal interests and real estate. P^verhart's Island, in the Lacka- 
wanna river, is one of his pieces of real estate. In private life he 
is generous and charitable, and devoted to his family. In 1841 
he married Theresa A., the daughter of John Maguire, of Phila- 
delphia. One son was born to them, James, who died at the age 
of twenty-four in 1867, and his mother died at the same age in 
1843. O" May 12, 1853, he married Mary Leidy, the daughter 
of Jacob Leidy. 

George Leidy, the father of Jacob Leidy, the grandfather of the 
subject of this sketch, was a native of Hilltown township, Bucks 
county, Pa., and was a wealthy farmer. Jacob Leidy carried on 
a mercantile business in Philadelphia for twenty years. He 
removed to Berwick, Pa., in the early part of the century. He 
erected iron works, known as the Forge, in Nescopeck, carrying 
on a mercantile business at the same time. Subsequently he re- 
moved to this city. He died in Quincy, Illinois, October 12, 
1857. He was a cousin of the father of Dr. Joseph Leidy and 
Dr. Philip Leidy, of Philadelphia. His wife was Elizabeth Rou- 



Henry Clay Adams. 807 



•derbush, a daughter of George Rouderbush, who was born in 
1776, in Berks county, Pa. He subsequently removed to Sellers- 
ville, Pa., where be became a wealthy farmer. 

John Franklin Everhart, son of John T. Everhart, was educated 
in private schools, in the Princeton college preparatory school, 
and at Princeton college. He read law with George S. Ferris, at 
Pittston, and with Alexander Farnham, in this city. He is an 
unmarried man, and a republican in politics. His office is in 
Pittston. The above named place presents a broad field for the 
efforts of young attorneys. It is a large, prosperous, and grow- 
ing town, and, as the foregoing facts show, Mr. Everhart begins 
in it with an outlook that promises most satisfactorily. His 
ancestry, his collegiate training, and the well-known ability of 
his preceptors all combine to foreshadow victory in his battle 
with the complications and vicissitudes of the law. 



HENRY CLAY ADAMS. 



Henry Clay Adams was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county 
May 19, 1888. He is the son of Jacob Adams, of this city, who 
■was born October 26, 1827, at Kertzenheim, Bavaria, Prussia. 
Mr. Adams emigrated to America and landed in New York Jan- 
uary 5, 1853. For the past thirty-five years he has been a resi- 
dent of VVilkes-Barre. The mother of H. C. Adams was Josephine 
Jacoby, daughter of Jacob Jacoby, who was born May 1 1, 1801, 
at Rhine Falls, Bavaria. He emigrated to America in June, 1840, 
and settled in this city in 1842, where he resided until his death, 
September 11, 1887. H. C. Adams was educated in the public 
schools of this city, and read law with Charles Dorrance Foster, 
of Wilkes-Barre. He is an unmarried man, and a democrat in 
politics. 

Mr. Adams has had no " royal road to learning." His advan- 
tages have been only such as are open to every boy in these days 
of public schools and multiplied newspapers.. He is not a " born 
genius," and has not startled anybody by precocious development, 



go8 Frank Warren Larned. 



but all who know him know that he has hiinc^ closely to his 
books, applied himself diligently to all the tedious routine of a 
beginner's life, and emerges from the ordeal well grounded in the 
principles of the law, and likely to become one of the most indus- 
trious and, therefore, most useful members of the profession. 




FRANK WARREN LARNED. 



Frank Warren Larned, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county May 21, 1888, is a descendant of William Learned and 
Goodith, his wife, who were admitted to the present First church 
of Charlestown, Mass.. on October 6, 1632. It has been said, but 
whether upon good authority is not known, that William Learned 
came over in February, 1624 ; but this is improbable, since his son 
Isaac was born that month and his daughter Mary was buried in 
England in July, 1625. In the Charlestown records is a list of 
such as were admitted inhabitants of the town in 1630, and among 
them his name appears. His name also appears in a list of inhab- 
itants in 1633 and again in 1635 and in 1637. Shares of hay 
ground were assigned to him, and again a portion of marsh 
land February ii, 1637. In Wyman's Charlestown Gene- 
alogies seven different parcels of land are described which be- 
longed to him. In 1634 he was admitted a freeman. His name 
appears as one of the signatures to the town order for the appoint- 
ment of eleven selectmen February 13, 1635. On February 13, 

1636, he was appointed a selectman. About this time he is men- 
tioned with twenty-eight others as having " willingly surrendered, 
for the good of the town, part of their land on Mystic side." In 
March, 1637, he was chosen one of four instead of goodman 
Brakenbury to divide for stinting the common land. In April, 

1637, he and goodman Thomas Ewer were desired to lay out 
widow Wilkins two acres. About the same time he and several 
others were desired " to goe with Mr. Winthrop to lay out bounds 
between us and him." At the time of the controversy, which 
originated with Mrs. Anne Hutchinson when the general court 



Frank Warren Larned. 809 



condemned and banished Rev. John Wheelwright, Wilham 
Learned was one of the signers of the remonstrance against that 
proceeding. In the minutes of the court it is recorded : " WiUi. 
Larnet acknowledged his fault in subscribing the seditious writ- 
ing, and, desiring his name to be crossed out, it was yelded to 
him and crossed." February 12, 1638, it was referred to Mr. 
Greene and William Learned to settle Mr. Witherell's wages for the 
year past. William Witherell was the school master. February 
26, 1638, Mr. Learned with five others " were desired to consider 
of some things tending toward a body of laws." In 1640 a move- 
ment was on foot to settle Woburn. The first meeting for the 
purpose was held at the house of Mr. Thomas Greene on Decem- 
ber 18, and town orders were there signed by thirty-two persons, 
and among them by William Learned (spelled by the clerk Ler- 
nedt). He was one of the seven who, on August 14, 1642, 
founded the first church of Woburn. In April, 1643, he was 
chosen constable and one of the selectmen, and again in 1644-45. 
He died March i, 1646. He was about fifty-six years of age at 
the time of his death. His wife survived him. The name (Lear- 
ned) has been varied much by the bad orthography of early 
times, as Lerned, Larned, Lernot, Larnit, etc., and many of his 
descendants now write it Larned, as does the subject of our 
sketch. It may rersonably be conjectured that the true spelling 
was " Learned" and that the true pronunciation was " Larned." 
Isaac Learned, son of William Learned, was born February 
25, 1623, in Bermondsey parish, county Surrey, England, and 
probably came with his father to this country when about seven 
or eight years of age. He probably went with his father, when 
about seventeen or eighteen years old, from Charlestown to 
Woburn. He married at Woburn, July 9, 1646, Mary, daughter 
of Isaac Sternes, of Watertown. She was born in England and 
came to America with her father in 1630 in the same ship with 
Governor Winthrop and Sir Richard Saltonstall, and settled in 
Watertown, near Mount Auburn. She was baptized January 6, 
1626, in the parish of Nayland, county Suffolk, England, from 
which place her father emigrated. Isaac Stearns was admitted a 
freeman May 18, 1631, the earliest date of any such admission. 
He was selectman in 1659, 1670, and 1671. In 1647, with Mr. 



8 10 Frank VVakren Lakned. 



William Biscoe, he had charge of the first bridge of which any 
mention is made over the Charles river at Watertown. In 1652 
Isaac Learned sold his house and lands in Woburn and removed 
to Chelmsford, where he died November 27, 1657. His wife 
survived him and subsequently married John Burg, of Weymouth. 
Lands were repeatedly laid out for him in Woburn both before 
and after his father's death. He was chosen one of the select- 
men of Chelmsford in 1654, sergeant of the (train) band in 1656, 
a committee to lay out certain meadow lands January ii, 1656. 
He was also appointed a commissioner to decide small cases at 
Chelmsford. In the office of the secretary of state, Boston, is a 
petition signed by him for a grant of additional land to Chelms- 
ford, dated May 7, 1656. A petition from Woburn, signed by 
him, " Isaac Larnitt," and by others, is printed in Massachusetts 
Historical Collections in which the petitioners remonstrate against 
an order forbidding any person to undertake a constant course 
of preaching or prophesying without the approbation of the elders 
of the four next churches or of the county court. The Chelms- 
ford records contain several grants of land to him. 

Isaac Learned, son of Isaac Learned, was born at Chelmsford 
September 29, 1659. He settled in Framingham, near the beau- 
tiful pond of thirty-six acres still called from him Learned's 
Pond. He was a soldier in Captain Davenport's company at the 
Narragansett fight and was wounded. He was received as an 
inhabitant of Sherborn in April, 1679 (Framingham not then being 
a town). He was on the committee to procure the act of incor- 
poration in 1699, and signed in that character the answer to the 
remonstrance from Sherborn. After the incorporation it was 
voted in town meeting August 21, 1700, that he and two others 
shall be the men to go and discourse with a lawyer about " our 
aggrieved neighbors." He was selectman in 1692, 1698, 1706. 
and 1711 and fence viewer in 1681-82. He died September 15, 
1737. He married. July it,, 1769, Sarah Bigelow, a daughter of 
John and Sarah (Warren) Bigelow. Mr. Bigelow was a black- 
smith in Watertown, took the oath of fidelity in 1652, and was 
selectman in 1665, 1670, and 1671. He married October 30, 
1642, Mary Warren. This is the earliest marriage found in the 
town records. John Warren came to America in 1630, aged 



Frank Warren Larned. 8ii 



forty-five years. He settled in Watertown, and was admitted 
freeman May i8, 163 1, and was selectman from 1636 to 1640. 
In 1635 he and Abraham Browne were appointed to lay out all 
highways and to see that they were repaired. In October, 165 1, 
he and Thomas Arnold were each fined 20s for an offense against 
the laws concerning baptism. March 14, 1659, he was to be 
warned for not attending public worship, but " old Warren is not 
to be found in town." April 4, 1664, he was fined for neglect of 
public worship fourteen Sabbaths, each 5s=:;^3 los. May 27, 
i66[, the houses of" old Warren and goodman Hammond" were 
ordered to be searched for Quakers. 

William Larned, son of Isaac Learned, was born February 12, 
1688. He had moved from Framingham and had bought land 
in the north part of Killingly, Conn., in 17 12. His name appears 
on the tax list of 17 16. Sometime afterward he moved to Sutton. 
He was one of the original members of the church at Sutton, 
and in 1720 was on a committee to acquaint Rev. Mr. McKinstry 
that the town had given him a call. He was admitted to the 
church in Thompson July 12, 173 1, on a certificate from the 
church in Sutton. The parish of Thompson had formerly been 
the north society of Killingly, and had recently been organized 
as a parish. William Larned lived in this town, was chosen 
deacon June 7, 1742, surveyor of highways in 1729, selectman 
from 1740 to 1744, and town treasurer from 1742 to 1746. He 
died June 11, 1747. He married, November 24, 1715, Hannah 
Bryant, a daughter of Simon and Hannah Bryant, of Killingly, 
formerly of Braintree, Mass. 

Ebenezer Larned, son of William Larrifed, was born March 11, 
1723. He was admitted to full communion in the church at 
Killingly July 12, 1747, and was for many years deacon in North 
Killingly; was selectman in 1760. In a conveyance made to 
him in 1750 he is described as an innkeeper, and in a deed to him 
from his father in 1745 as a husbandman. He was one of the 
original proprietors of the Connecticut Susquehanna Company, 
and took part in organizing it. His name is found on the deed 
from the Six Nations to lands in Wyoming. He died December 
6, 1779. He married, December 28, 1749, Kesick Leavens, one 
of the eight daughters of Justice Joseph Leavens, of Killingly, 



8i2 Frank Warren Larned. 



who was one of the first settlers of the town. Ruth Larned, a 
daughter of William Larned, brother of Ebenezer Larned, mar- 
ried Jedediah Marcy, of Southbridge, who became the mother of 
William Larned Marcy, who graduated at Brown University in 
1808, was recorder of Troy, N. Y., 1816, adjutant general of New 
York, 1821, comptroller, 1823, justice of supreme court, 1829, 
U. S. senator, 1831, governor, 1833- 1839, secretary of war, 
1845-49, secretary of state, 1853-57. 

Theophilus Larned, son of Ebenezer Larned, was born July i, 
1758, in Killingly. He set out for Ohio in 1795, but stayed in 
Pennsylvania, where he remained until 1806. He then removed 
to Ontario county, N. Y., where he died in 1815. A deed dated 
September 21, 1795, describes him as of Colchester, Ulster 
county, N. Y., and conveys to Ephraim Lock wood, of Luzerne 
county. Pa., a right in the Connecticut and Susquehanna Com- 
pany purchase, which he had received by inheritance from his 
father. He married, June 4, 1780, Patience Whipple, of Killingly. 
She died at Phelps, N. Y., February 27, 1849. 

Amasa Larned, the eldest brother of Theophilus Larned, was 
a graduate of Yale College, a member of congress from 1791-957 
and member of the constitutional convention to ratify the consti- 
tution of the United States, 1788. He was of a dark and swarthy 
complexion, which he used to say he inherited from the Leavens 
blood. While he was in college he wrote a Latin letter to his 
brother Theophilus, with postscript, " If you can't read this show 
it to Mr. Brown " (the clergyman at Killingly). In reply Theo- 
philus wrote him a letter in Indian, from the dictation of an 
Indian servant girl, Molly Piggins, with the postscript, " If you 
can't read this show it to some other Indian." His son, Ebene- 
zer Learned, was a graduate of Yale College, 1798. His grand- 
son, William Law Learned, of Albany, N. Y., is a graduate of 
Yale College, 1851 (LL. D., 1878), justice supreme court, pro- 
fessor in the Albany Law School, &c. 

Theophilus Larned, son of Theophilus Larned, was born in 
Killingly in 1791, and removed to Wyoming when a young lad. 
He purchased a farm near the village of Wyoming, and married 
Elizabeth Smith, a daughter of David Smith. She was born at 
Wyoming. The wife of David Smith was Mrs. Lucy Murphy. 



Frank Warren Larned. 813 



Her maiden name was Gore, and she was a daughter of Obadiah 
Gore. (See page 435 for a sketch of the Gore family.) Her 
husband, John Murphy, was killed in the massacre and battle of 
Wyoming. A son, George Murphy, was born in Esquire De- 
pew's barn, on the Delaware, near Stroudsburg, while she was 
a fugitive after the battle. She subsequently returned to Wyo- 
ming, and became the wife of David Smith. James Bidlack was 
born at the same place. His father was also killed in the battle. 
Theophilus Larned removed to Huntington township some years 
before his death. 

Rev. George Marvin Larned, son of Theophilus Larned, was 
born at Wyoming March 8, 1834. He is a minister of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, a member of the Central Pennsyl- 
sylvania Conference, and is now stationed at White Haven, in 
this county. The wife of Rev. G. M. Larned is Samantha Ben- 
scoter, a daughter of the late Warren Benscoter, of Union town- 
ship, in this county. The Benscoter family came from the 
valley of the Delaware. James, the grandfather of Warren, 
brought to Huntington five sons — Anthony, John, Abraham, Isaac 
and Jacob. James, Anthony and Isaac Benscoter are in the list 
of taxables of Huntington township in 1796. Abraham Benscoter 
was the father of Warren Benscoter, the father of Mrs. Larned. 
The name is known in some localities as Van Scoten, but by the 
mixed dialects and nationalities of our country has lost the pe- 
culiarity which ever points to the original home of the family — 
Holland. The ancestors of the Benscoters were of the early low 
Dutch colonists, who contributed largely towards the European 
settlements in the valleys of the Hudson and Delaware rivers. 

Frank Warren Larned, son of Rev. G. M. Larned, was born in 
Huntington township May 30, 1859. He was educated in the 
public schools of his native township, at Dickinson Seminary, 
Williamspoit, and at Dickinson College, Carlisle, Pa., from which 
he graduated in the class of 1880. He taught school for several 
years before his admission to the bar. He had charge of the 
Jeddo private school managed by the Jeddo Coal Company, and 
was principal of the Drifton schools in Hazle township. He was 
also principal of the Franklin street school in Plymouth. In 
1883, 1884 and 1885 he had charge of the normal department 



8 14 Darryl LaPorte Creveling. 



and was assistant professor in mathematics in Dickinson Semi- 
nary. He read law in the office of Hubbard B. Payne in this 
city. Mr. Larned married, February 19, 1881, Helen Frances 
Kantner, of Ashland, Pa., daughter of Lewis Kantner. She died 
on the anniversary of her marriage one year later, leaving her 
husband and a son, Lewis Marvin Larned, born February 17, 1882, 
to survive her. 

Mr. Larned has entered the profession of the law with evident 
intention to boldly attack and, if possible, overcome every obstacle 
that besets the path between ambition and attainment in the 
noblest of the professions. He has great energy and is indefati- 
gable in his efforts to invoke for his clients every advantage the 
law will allow. He gave some attention to newspaper work while 
a student and exhibited a capacity in that connection that by 
persistence would have brought profitable results. He enters 
the profession with every prospect of winning in it both a good 
name and a good livelihood. 



DARRYL LA PORTE CREVELING. 



Darryl LaPorte Creveling, who was admitted to the bar of 
Luzerne county. Pa., June 18, 1888. was born in Fishing Creek 
township. Columbia county, Pa., October 7, 1859. He is a de- 
scendant of Andrew Creveling,who emigrated to this country from 
Germany with his wife and settled near Asbury, Warren county, 
N. J., where he engaged in farming. At the outbreak of the 
revolutionary war he entered the continental army and served all 
through the war. He was in the battle of Monmouth, June 28, 
1778, and on that day his son, Samuel Creveling, the great-grand- 
father of the subject of this sketch, was born. At the close of the 
war Andrew Creveling removed to Columbia county, and located 
near what is now P^spytown, in Scott township, where he bought 
land and made improvements after the fashion of that day. At 
that time and for years there were no milling facilities closer 
than Sunbury, and he used to send his boys there with wheat to 



Darryl LaPorte Ckeveling. 8i 



be ground. They generally loaded about fifteen bushels in a 
canoe, "poling" to Sunbury and return. Andrew Creveling and 
his wife are buried in the Afton graveyard, near Bloomsburg, 
Pa. Samuel Creveling, son of Andrew Creveling, became a 
farmer, and purchased a place of three hundred and fifty acres. 
During the war of 1812 he was drafted, but several young men 
wanted to go in his stead, and he selected one as a substitute, 
who served in his place. His wife, whom he married in 1803, 
was Catharine Willets. John Creveling, son of Samuel Creveling, 
was the grandfather of the subject of our sketch. (See page 694.) 
D. L. Creveling is a son of Alfred Tubbs Creveling, and a brother 
of John Q. Creveling, of the Luzerne bar. Darryl LaPorte Crev- 
eling was educated in the public schools of his native township, 
at the New Columbus Academy, and at Wyoming Seminary at 
Kingston, Pa. He read law with his brother, J. Q. Creveling. 
He was a teacher for several years in Conyngham township, at 
New Columbus, in Salem township, in Huntington township, in 
Fishing Creek township, and in Plymouth borough, where he 
acted as principal of the Franklin street school. He married, 
February 9, 1887, Kate J. Hice, daughter of Jacob S. Hice and 
Esther A. Hice, of Harveyville, Pa. The father of Esther A. 
Hice is Daniel Jones, of West Pittston, Pa. 

Mr. Creveling was in his twenty-ninth year when admitted, 
and in that fact has what has often proved an advantage to a be- 
ginner at the bar. Again, in line with many of his predecessors, 
he will profit by his experience as a teacher. Once before, in 
the preparation of these sketches, we have taken occasion to 
refer to the large number of men who go up from the school 
room to the court room. The transition is a natural one in 
many respects. The school term affords a livelihood and the 
vacation the time for the new study, and the information on gen- 
eral topics acquired in preparing to impart knowledge to pupils 
is beyond question a material aid in imbibing the principles and 
taking in the details of the law and its practice. Many school 
teachers have gone to the very front rank in the legal fraternity, 
and those who know Mr. Creveling believe him fitted for and 
wish him equal luck. 



8i6 Alexander Ricketts. 



ALEXANDER RICKETTS. 

Alexander Ricketts was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county 
September 28, 1888. He was born in this city October 29, 1866, 
and is the eldest son of Agib Ricketts, who was admitted to the 
bar of Luzerne county January 6, 1857. (See page 105.) Alex- 
ander Ricketts was educated in the public schools of his native 
city, and read law with his father. His mother, Annie Elder 
Ricketts [nee Piper), was a daughter of Alexander M. Piper, 
born in 1786 in Bedford, Pa., and married in 18 16 to Ann 
Espy Elder, a daughter of Samuel Elder, who was born Feb- 
ruary 27, 1772, and died at Harrisburg September 26, 18 15. 
He was a soldier in the expedition westward in 1794, and held a 
position in the military establishment of 1798. He filled the 
office of sheriff of Dauphin county from October 23, 1800, to 
October 21, 1803. He married, March 7, 1793, Margaret Espy, 
daughter of Josiah Espy and Annie Kirkpatrick, daughter of 
William Kirkpatrick. George Espy, who married Mary Stewart, 
was a brother of Josiah Espy. The former was the ancestor of 
John Espy and Barnett M. P^spy, of the Luzerne bar. Samuel 
Elder was the son of Rev. John Elder and his second wife, Mary 
Simpson, daughter ^of Thomas Simpson. Rev. John Elder was 
born in the city of Edinburgh, Scotland, January 26, 1706. He 
died July 17, 1792, in Paxtang township, Dauphin county. Pa. In 
1732 he was licensed to preach the gospel, and four or five years 
later he emigrated to America. He subsequently became the leader 
of the Paxtang Boys. He afterwards was appointed colonel by the 
provincial authorities, the date of his commission being July ii, 
1763. He had command of the block-houses and stockades 
from Ea.ston to the Susquehanna. His father was Robert Elder, 
born about 1679 in Scotland; emigrated from Lough Neagh, 
county Antrim, Ireland, where he had previously settled, to 
America, about 1730, locating in Paxtang township. He died 
July 28, 1746. 

Mr. Ricketts joins the army of the law at a very early age. It 
is rather unusual for one to have completed his studies and se- 



William Lewis. 817 



cured admission when not yet twenty-two years old, but in this 
instance a son, doubtless intended from the beginning to inherit 
the father's practice, has probably had, under the guidance of the 
father, more than the usual amount of training. Mr. Ricketts 
has already exhibited qualities that give good promise of his 
attaining success in his profession. 



The foregoing pages contain the biographies of one hundred 
and seventy-eight lawyers who hav^e always, or the greater part 
of their lives, resided in Luzerne county and practiced at its bar. 
Of these Hovvkin Bulkeley Beardslee (page 452), James Augustus 
Gordon (page i), Henry Coffin Magee (page 532), Ziba Mathers 
(page 626), James Buchanan Shaver (page 696), Ebenezer Warren 
Sturdevant (page 14), and Hendrick Bradley Wright (page 2) 
have died since their biographies were written. We follow with 
biographies of those who were at one time practitioners here but 
who have removed and are now located at other points, and of 
those who have been separated from us by the division of Luzerne 
county from time to time. 

October 24, 1S88. 



WILLIAM LEWIS. 



William Lewis, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county 
January 5. 1825, is a descendant of Ralph Lewis (according to 
Smith's History of Delaware county, Pa.), who, with his wife 
Mary and family, emigrated from the parish of Ulan, in Glamor- 
ganshire, Wales, and came over in 1683 or 1684 and settled in 
Haverford, Delaware county, Pa. Ralph Lewis was a member 
of the Society of Friends by convincement, and the certificate 
brought with him attests the excellence of his character and the 
innocency of his life. He died in 17 10 and his wife in 1704. 
His son, Thomas Lewis, married Jane, daughter of Rees Mere- 



Si 8 William Lewis. 



ditli, of Radnor, and his son Abraham married Mary, daughter 
of Anthony Morgan, and Samuel married Phoebe, daughter of 
Josiah Taylor, of Marple. From one of these sons William 
Lewis, the subject of our sketch, descended. One of these sons 
had a son "Josiah Lewis, and his mother is believed to be Martha 
Allen." This according to Smith's History of Chester county. 
William Lewis, son of Josiah Lewis, was born in Edgemont, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, February 2, 1751. When of the 
proper age he was put to a common country school in the neigh- 
borhood of his residence, from which he was afterwards removed 
to a Seminary of a higher order established by the Society of 
PViends at Willistown. There his progress was so rapid as 
quickly to require tuition beyond the usual course, and the ex- 
traordinary trouble was rewarded by a double compensation. 
At a very early age he expressed a strong inclination for the 
profession of the law, which, though it received his father's sanc- 
tion, was disapproved of by his mother, both of whom were 
members of the Society of Friends, and he continued on the 
farm, assisting in the usual labors of agriculture, till his 17th year. 
It was probably about this time that the following incident oc- 
curred : Having driven his father's wagon to the county town, he 
found the court in session. Curiosity led him to enter the court 
room for the first time, when he was so much captivated by the 
conduct of a trial and the oratory of the lawyers that the person 
who accompanied him was unable to persuade him away. The 
latter was compelled to return with the wagon to the farm, leaving 
young Lewis on the spot, who remained until the court rose, late 
in the evening, and early next morning appeared at his father's 
house, to which he had returned on foot, with a stronger resolu- 
tion than ever to study the law if the consent of his parents could 
be obtained. His mother having at length agreed, he was 
removed to Philadelphia and placed under the tuition of Robert 
Proud, who then had the care of the Friends' public school, for 
the purpose of receiving instruction in the Latin language. He 
continued about eighteen months with his venerable preceptor. 
After leaving Mr. Proud he went for a few months to a German 
school, in which language it is not recollected that he made much 
proficiency. At that time the proportion of persons in Pennsyl- 



William Lewis. 819 



vania who made use of that language alone was much greater 
than at present, and an acquaintance with it was found very useful 
to those who practiced in the country courts, which the most 
eminent members of the Philadelphia bar were then in the habit 
of regularly attending. Their quarterly journeys generally ex- 
tended as far as Easton to the northward and York to the west- 
ward. In the year 1770 Mr. Lewis had the gratification of 
commencing the study of the law under Nicholas Wain, who, 
although still a young man. had acquired a high degree of emi- 
nence at the bar. Here Mr. Lewis's application was intense and 
unremitted, and, assisted by a quick perception and tenacious 
memory, his qualifications for admission at the expiration of his 
time were seldom surpassed. Before his admission he had more 
than a usual share of the student's duties to perform. He had 
been in this office about a year when Mr. Wain, who had been 
one of the most gay and animated, as well as the most industri- 
ous, members of the bar, was suddenly struck with serious reli- 
gious impressions, which he publicly evmced by unexpectedly 
kneeling down in meeting and uttering a fervid and eloquent 
prayer. After recovering from a fit of illness that ensued, he 
determined to relinquish the practice of the law. Mr. Lewis 
remained in the office. His attachment and fidelity to his friend 
and preceptor, the abilities he had already manifested, and his 
knowledge of the business under the care of Mr. Wain, secured 
his confidence, and the clients, to whose option it was left to 
employ other counsel and receive back their fees, or at least in 
those cases where trials in court were not to take place, to leave 
their causes under Mr. Lewis's care, in many instances preferred 
the latter. He was admitted in the Court of Common Pleas, on 
motion of Miers Fisher, at December term, 1773, being then 
nearly twenty- three years of age. The period was not unfavorable 
to a young beginner. Of the elder class only Mr. Chew and John 
Ross continued in practice. In the ensuing year Mr. Chew was 
appointed chief justice, and the declining health of Mr. Ross, 
with some other causes, rendered him no formidable opponent. 
Among his younger brethren, of whom the court dockets at that 
day exhibit many truly respectable names, Mr. Lewis had to work 
his way, and he worked it with success. The entries of the last term 



820 William Lewis. 



of the Common IMeas under the royal frovernnient evince that in 
the number of actions he then led the bar. Thi'^ was June term, 
1776. On July 4 the declaration of independence suspended, till 
a new organization, all the business of the courts. The first ses- 
sion of the Common Pleas at Philadelphia, when the style of 
process was from the king to the commonwealth, was held in 
September, 1777. Only six attorneys were entered as admitted 
to practice, whose names are recorded in the following order : 
John Morris, John Haley, William Lewis, Andrew Robeson, 
Jacob Rush, and Jonathan D. Sergeant. The British army was 
at that time on its march from the head of Elk to Philadelphia, 
and before the end of the month the occupation of the city 
removed from it every vestige of the new-formed government, 
and drove away every individual attached to it who had the 
means of escape. Mr. Lewis's political opinions were always in 
favor of his country's rights. In some of the subsequent agita- 
tions of party he was not unfrequently charged with contrary 
sentiments, but his views were liberal, his spirit was independent, 
and he never gave way to popular delusion or popular violence. 
When the British standard was hoisted in Philadelphia he retired 
to his friends in Chester county, with whom he continued, pur- 
suing, however, his practice at those courts which were beyond 
the reach of the enemy's power till the departure of their army 
returned to the city its new republican character. Mr. Lewis 
then resumed his station at the bar, which, as well its compo- 
nent members as its forensic character, soon exhibited material 
changes. Subjects of higher importance than those which com- 
monly fell to the lot of provincial judicatures were brought 
forward. Motives competent to rouse all the latent energies of 
the mind were constantly presenting themselves. The bar was 
chiefly composed of young men possessing aspiring minds and 
industrious habits — George Ross from Lancaster, Edward Bid- 
die from Reading, Governuer Morris occasionally, Joseph Reed, 
C. W. Wilem, of Carlisle, in conjunction with others eminent in 
their profession — and Mr. Lewis found an assemblage of powerful 
and splendid talents which might have coped with an equal 
number of any other forum in America. The whole faculties oi 
the bar were soon put in requisition by the prosecutions which 



William Lewis. ' 821 



were commenced against some of the adherents of the British 
cause. The popular excitement against them was high, and the 
defense appeared to many a service of danger, but the intrepidity 
of the bar did not allow them to shrink from the conflict. 
Among the defenders Wilson and Ross took the lead. Mr. 
Lewis was, however, frequently employed, and always distin- 
guished himself In the defense of Chapman he used with force 
and success the right of an individual on the commencement of 
a civil war to choose his party. McKean, the chief justice, was 
a zealous and heady republican, but, independent in his princi- 
ples and conduct, he discharged the duties of his office impartially 
and inflexibly. His decision in favor of Chapman evinced the 
soundness of his judgment and the disdain he felt for the popular 
clamor excited by the occasion. From the performance of these 
duties, often as painful as they were honorable, we trace the 
progress of Mr. Lewis to one not less delightful to humanity. 
In 1779 ^^^ Pennsylvania legislature took the lead in a public 
declaration of the illegality of that odious and disgraceful subju- 
gation of fellow creatures which had so long stained the character 
of America — a provision, perhaps necessarily imperfect, but car- 
ried as far as then appeared practicable, was made in favor of the 
descendants of Africa, by which a chance of emancipation to those 
then living, and a certainty of it to their issue, was secured. In 
support of this legislation. Act of March i, 1780, which came 
from his pen, an association of private individuals was speedily 
formed for the purpose of securing its benefits to those who were 
unable, from ignorance, poverty and depression, to defend them- 
selves. Mr. Lewis became the champion of this order. With a 
voluntary dereliction of all professional emolument, he strenuously 
and boldly pursued oppression into its artful recesses, and suc- 
ceeded in securing to the injured African all the protection to 
be found in the text of the law, and thousands of the present 
generation of colored people are unconsciously indebted to him 
for his exertions, anxiety and exposure before they were born. 
This benevolent association was subsequently incorporated by an 
Act of the General Assembly. Benjamin Franklin was its first 
president, and Mr. Lewis retained till his death the rank of first, 
and for a long time the most-efficient, of its counsellors. In the 



822 William Lewis. 



regular business of his profession Mr. Lewis soon acquired that 
ascendancy to which his talents and his industry entitled him. 
In him it was verified that genius never shines more brightly 
than when it is enforced by the closest industry. By the great 
number of causes in which he was concerned, the judgment which 
directed and the energies which accompanied both the prepara- 
tion and the management of the trials, evinced the justice of the 
general confidence that was reposed in him. In the doctrine 
of pleading, in questions on devises and the nature of estates, he 
was particularly felicitous. In mercantile law he was, perhaps, 
equally eminent. Whatever points he made in a cause he was 
generally able to support as well by authority as by argument. 
The closeness of his reasoning was seldom weakened by unneces- 
sary digressions nor impeded by ebulitions of wit or the illusions 
of fancy. Although pleasant and facetious in social conversation, 
his public speaking was rather of a grave and serious cast and 
often of the highest syllogistic order, the premises he laid being 
finely carried on to conclusions which the hearer did not antici- 
pate, but was ultimately obliged to acknowledge. In 1787 he 
was elected a member of the legislature of Pennsylvania, in 
which he soon attained a great ascendancy and rendered most 
important services to his fellow citizens. Many measures of the 
highest general interest adopted by that body originated with 
him. One of these was the restitution of the charter of the col- 
lege of Philadelphia, which, in a paroxysm of political jealousy, 
had been taken from them ; but a much more important pro- 
cedure was the alteration of the constitution of the state. He was 
re-elected to the legislature in 1788 and 1789, and in the latter 
year was a member of the convention that framed the constitution 
of 1790. To the latter body he dedicated the chief portion of 
his time. With these services terminated the labors of Mr. Lewis 
as a legislator. In 1789, the present constitution of the United 
States having come into operation, he had the honor to receive 
from the father of his country the appointment of attorney for 
the United States for the district of Pennsylvania. This commis- 
sion bears date September 26, 1789. On the death of Mr. Hop- 
kinson, Mr. Lewis accepted the appointment of judge of the 
District Court of the United States. This commission bears date 



William Lewis. 823 



July 14, 1791. These commissions are in parchment, and are 
signed by George Washington, president, attested by Thomas 
Jefferson, secretary, and are in possession of Josiah Lewis, of this 
city, his grandson. He soon resigned his position as judge ; 
pecuniary consideration induced him to return to the bar. He 
did not find the eminence of his rank affected by his temporary 
absence from the bar. His business as counsel in matters of 
difficulty and value continued to be great, and for a long time 
his industry was undiminished. The supreme court of the 
United States and the higher tribunals of Pennsylvania were the 
chief theatres of his employment, and his emoluments were as 
considerable as his reputation was exalted. He was not a selfish, 
sordid man ; his friendships were warm and his charities were 
unrestrained. Horace Binney, in his volume on The Leaders of 
the Old Bar of Philadelphia, says: "From Maryland to Massa- 
chusetts there was in several of the states some one name at the 
bar which, in the view of persons removed a few hundred miles, 
loomed very large and overshadowed all other lawyers in the 
same state. Theophilus Parsons at Boston, Luther Martin at 
Baltimore, and William Lewis at Philadelphia, were respectively 
such overshadowing names." The last case he tried was Willing 
V. Tilghman, in the spring of 1819. He died August 15, 1819, 
at his residence, now in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia. Mr. 
Lewis was married twice. His children were by his first wife. 

Josiah Lewis, son of William Lewis, was born in Philadelphia in 
1772, and removed to Luzerne county in 1805. He resided in this 
city, Kingston, and finally removed to Pittston (now Old Forge) 
township, Luzerne (now Lackawanna) county, where he died 
May 2, 1 85 1. In 1 821 he was appointed deputy surveyor for 
Luzerne county. He owned several thousand acres of land 
in the Lackawanna coal field, and sold some of it as low as four 
dollars an acre, and even as late as 1837 he realized but seven 
dollars an acre. One of the farms which he sold at four dollars 
an acre has since been sold for twelve hundred dollars an acre. 
He married, March 28, 1799, Margaret Delaney, a daughter of 
Sharp Delaney, of Philadelphia. Mr. Delaney was born in 
county Monaghan, Ireland, and established himself in the drug 
business in Philadelphia in 1764. He was a deputy to the pro- 



824 Caleb Earl Wright. 

vlncial convention in January, 1775, and to the'provincial confer- 
ence which met in June of the same year. In 1776 he raised a 
company of militia and was chosen captain, and in 1779 was 
colonel of the second battalion of Pennsylvania militia. He was 
a signer of the Bills of Credit in 1775, a commissioner "to seize 
the personal effects of traitors" in 1777, and an "agent for forfeited 
estates" in 1778. In March, 1784, he was appointed by the 
assembly collector of the port of Philadelphia, and when the 
office passed to the control of the federal government, was re- 
appointed by General Washington in 1789. The executive coun- 
cil of the state passed a resolution of thanks for the efficient 
manner in which he filled the position. He was one of the 
original members of the Hibernia Society, and an honorary 
member of the Society of the Cincinnati. He was also a mem- 
ber of the American Philosophical Society, and his grandson, 
Josiah Lewis, of this city, has the original certificate, dated July 
20, 1786, and signed by Benjamin Franklin, president. Mr. De- 
laney died in Philadelphia May 13, 1799, aged sixty years. 

William Lewis, son of Josiah and Margaret Lewis, was born 
in Philadelphia March 6, 1801, and removed with his parents to 
Luzerne county in 1805. He read law with Garrick Mallery 
and practiced in this city for a number of years. He subse- 
quently removed to Brooklyn, Schuyler county, Illinois, where 
he now' resides. Josiah Lewis, of this city, is a brother of William 
Lewis. 



V^ 



^- L CALEB EARL WRIGHT. 



Caleb Earl Wright was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, 
Pa., August 9, 1833. His grandfather was Caleb Wright, and 
his father Joseph Wright, of Plymouth. (For a sketch of the 
Wright family see Historical Sketches of Plymouth, and the 
article "Harrison Wright" in this series of sketches.) Mr. Wright 
was born in Plymouth, Pa., February 4, 1810, and was educated 
at the Plymouth and VVilkes-Barre academies, and read law with 
Chester Butler, in this city, and John G. Montgomery, of Dan- 



Caleb Earl Wright. 825 



ville, Montour county, Pa. He immediately removed to Doyles- 
town, Pa., and commenced practice. He remained at the Bucks 
county bar about nineteen years, where he held the ofifice of dis- 
trict attorney under the administration of Governor Porter. He 
was also president of the first borough council of Doylestown. 
In the summer of 1853 he returned to Luzerne county and prac- 
ticed here for a period of twenty-three years. During this time 
he held the office of internal revenue collector under President 
Johnson. He was also a member of the constitutional conven- 
tion of 1874. In 1876 Mr. Wright returned to Doylestown, 
where he now resides, having given up his practice as an attorney. 
Mr. Wright married, April 30, 1838, at Doylestown, Phebe Ann 
Fell, daughter of William Fell, who was the son of Amos Fell, 
of Pittston. (For sketch of the Fells see page 687.) Mr. and 
Mrs. Wright have two children living. Wilson Wright, the 
eldest, is a farmer in Monmouth county, N. J., and Warren 
Wright, the youngest, is an invalid. Mr. Wright was appointed 
a local preacher of the Methodist Episcopal church at Wilkes- 
Barre in 1863. He was ordained a deacon by Bishop Ames 
in April, 1869, and an elder by Bishop Haven in April, 1874. 
Mr. Wright is the author of "Wyoming," from the press 
of Harper Brothers, 1845. New York; "Marcus Blair," 1873, 
from the press of J. B. Lippincott & Co., Philadelphia; "On the 
Lackawanna," 1886, and "Legend of Bucks County," from the 
press of B. McGinty, Doylestown, 1887; and "Rachel Craig," 
1888, from the press of Robert Baur, Wilkes- Barre. 

Joseph Wright gave three sons to his country of whom any 
father might well be proud — Hendrick Bradley and Harrison, 
both of whom figure in this series of sketches, and Caleb Earl, 
the subject of this one, a man of many virtues and conspicuous 
capacities as a lawyer and citizen. He was a painstaking and 
successful practitioner during his nearly half century at the bar, 
figuring in many notable cases and earning liberal fees and excel- 
lent reputation. He is a man of strong convictions, and his 
career is shown, even as above briefly noticed, to have been one 
of unremitting industry. His democracy is of the uncompro- 
mising type, and the appointments he held were fully earned by 
continuous and energetic work in his party's behalf His literary 



826 Lewis Jones. 



efforts have attracted wide attention and the friendly notice even 
of the most exacting critics. Though they have of necessity 
involved the expenditure of much time and more or less labor 
and research, his books were not undertaken for gain, but mainly 
to indulge a rich and ambitious fancy and give congenial employ- 
ment to leisure hours. He has always been an ardent lover of 
the sports of forest and stream, and experiences in that line in 
which he has been a participant are among the pleasantest recol- 
lections of many of our older and best known citizens. To the 
church of his selection his services have been of a useful and 
painstaking character. Few combine so many of the character- 
istics that make at once the genial companion, the consistent 
christian, the successful business man, and the prudent, useful, 
patriotic citizen. 



LEWIS JONES. 



Lewis Jones was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, Pa., 
August 5, 1834. The early settlers along the Susquehanna river 
in Luzerne county were from Connecticut. Among the number 
who came in 1785 were three brothers, Jesse, Nathan and Benjamin 
Jones. Jesse Jones settled on Buttermilk Falls creek (now in 
Wyoming county), and built a grist mill near its confluence with the 
Susquehanna river. This mill was built of logs, twelve feet square, 
its mill stones were of the size of a half bushel measure, made 
from conglomerate rocks found along the Lackawanna river, for 
the purpose of grinding corn, which came from the settlements 
above, near Wyalusing, in canoes, for as yet very little corn, if 
any, had been raised in the vicinity of the falls. In 1790, as the 
population increased, the business of farming began to assume 
more system, and as it increased step by step wheat and rye 
began to be raised in small quantities, and to meet the exigencies 
of the times Mr. Jones placed a bolting apparatus in his little grist 
mill. This bolt was turned by a crank by hand, and persons 
going to mill had to do the operation of the bolting them.- 



Lewis Jones. ' 827 



selves. Nathan Jones, a brother, lived with Jesse Jones, and 
attended to the milling business. In 1791 a settlement was com- 
menced on the river flats two miles below Buttermilk Falls, 
where Benjamin Jones, the other brother, erected the first tavern. 
Mr. Jones had near his inn a still house, which did a business of 
fair proportions, and constituted a valuable auxiliary to his tavern. 
Another of Mr. Jones's enterprises was the building of a store, 
which he kept during 1806 and 1807. Salt, which at that time 
cost four dollars per bushel, was the principal article of commerce. 
The salt was necessary for preserving the shad which the settlers 
took from the "river, they being their only article of meat diet. 
The bears claimed and enforced the first right to all the hogs. 
This was the most thickly inhabited part of what now constitutes 
Falls township, in Wyoming county. This place was known for 
many years as Jonestown. Cloth was made from nettles that 
grew on this place. The first clothing was made from the skin 
of the deer, tanned by a composition made from the brains of the 
deer and buffed with a ball made of yellow clay rubbed over the 
surface of the leather, which added a beautiful luster to its ap- 
pearance. A buckskin coat, breeches and leather apron consti- 
tuted the winter apparel, and during summer a nettle shirt and 
leather breeches formed the only raiment. 

Lewis Jones, son of Benjamin Jones, was born October 25, 
1 77 1, and was married to Sarah Benedict, of Pittston, Pa., De- 
cember, 15, 1794. She died in P>xeter, Luzerne county, February 
22, 1 848. Mrs. Jones was a descendant of Thomas Benedict, of Not- 
tinghamshire. (See page 490.) John Benedict, son of Thomas Ben- 
edict was born at Southhold, L. I., and removed with the family to 
Norwalk, Conn., and married Phoebe, daughter of John and Sarah 
Gregory, of that place, November ii, 1670. He was a freeman 
of Norwalk in 1680, and succeeded his father as selectman in 
1689. He was a selectman in 1692-94 and 1699, and also held 
some minor civil appointments in the town. He was occupied, 
however, with church affairs, having become deacon probably 
upon the death of his father. Thenceforth the records show him 
to have been constantly on committees having charge of the 
religious and educational interests of the communiy, now " ob- 
taining a minister," then "hyeringa schoolmaster." In 1705 the 



828 Lewis Jones. 



church honored him by voting him a sitting "in ye seat before ye 
pulpit." He served as representative in the General Assembly 
in the sessions of 1722 and 1725. The date of his death is not 
ascertained, nor that of his wife. James Benedict, son of Deacon 
John Benedict, was born January 5, 1685, and married, in 1709, 
Sarah, daughter of Thomas and Mary Hyatt, of Norwalk, who 
was born December, 1686, and died February 9, 1767. In 1708 
he and other inhabitants of Norwalk purchased a large tract of 
land between that town and Danbury. The purchase was made 
of Catoonah, the chief sachem, and other Indians, who were the 
proprietors of that part of the country. The deed bears date Sep- 
tember 30, 1708. At the Norwalk town .session in 1709 it was 
ordained that it should be a distinct township by the name of 
Ridgefield. James Benedict was also one of the original settlers 
of this township. He was fence viewer in 171 5 ; called Ensign, 
1 7 19, afterwards Captain, and 1737 Esquire. He was appointed 
justice of the peace for Fairfield county, Connecticut, in May, 
1732, and was reappointed annually until 1743. He was repre- 
sentative for Ridgefield from 1740-45 and 1748-52. James Ben- 
edict was the second deacon of the church in Ridgefield until old 
age and its attendants rendered him unable to serve. He died 
November 25, 1762. James Benedict, son of James Benedict, 
was born February 19, 1720, at Ridgefield, Conn. He became 
a member of the Baptist church at Stamford, Conn., and was 
licensed by that church to preach the gospel. Having received 
a call to become pastor of the church at the new settlement of 
Warwick, Orange county, N. Y., he removed to that place and 
was ordained November 17, 1766. Some time during the troubles 
of the war of the Revolution he removed to Wyoming, and was 
with his family among the sufferers by the battle and massacre 
of Wyoming. His influence and character as a preacher with 
the Indians protected himself and family from personal injury at 
their hands, but his property was mostly lost or destroyed. After 
suffering great hardships he returned to the town of Warwick, 
where he resided until his death, September 9, 1792. John Ben- 
edict, son of Rev. James Benedict, was born in Ridgefield, April 
24, 1747, married Hannah Wisner in 1771, and moved to Pittstoa 
in 1 79 1. He served in the war of the Revolution, and was ap- 



Lewjs E. Parsons. ' 829 



pointed ensign February 19, 1778. Mr. Benedict died in 18 10 
and his wife in 1827. Sarah Benedict, his oldest child, became 
the wife of Lewis Jones. 

Lewis Jones, son of Lewis Jones and Sarah, his wife, was born 
in Exeter, Pa., August 28, 1807. He was educated at the Wilkes- 
Barre Academy, and studied law with Chester Butler. He has 
practiced and resided in this city, in Carbondale and Scranton, 
Pa. He has also practiced in most of the counties of northeastern 
Pennsylvania. While residing in Carbondale in i85ihe drew 
the charter and had the town incorporated as a city. In 1855 he 
removed to Scranton, and in 1870 he was appointed by Governor 
Geary recorder of the mayor's court of the city of Scranton. 
This office he filled acceptably for a short time, and, declining a 
nomination, retired as well from general practice as from official 
position. Taking an early advantage of the opportunity offered 
in the city of Scranton, as well as the Lackawanna valley, for 
speculation, he acquired a large property. Since 1872 he has 
resided in the city of New York. Mr. Jones married, June 
15, 1836, Anna Maria Gibson, a native of Springfield, Otsego 
county, N. Y., and daughter of William Gibson, of the same 
place, formerly a merchant of the city of New York. Her 
mother was Sarah Wharton Collins, daughter of Thomas Whar- 
ton, of the city of Philadelphia. The father of William Gibson 
was also William Gibson, a native of Paisley, Scotland. Mr. 
and Mrs. Lewis Jones have two children — W. Gibson Jones and 
Meredith L. Jones, both lawyers, residing in the city of New 
York. The late Rev. Isaac D. Jones and Benjamin Jones, of 
Pittston, are brothers of Lewis Jones. 



LEWIS E. PARSONS. 




Lewis E. Parsons was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, 
Pa., August 6, 1839. His father was Erastus Parsons and his 
mother was Jeanette 'Hepburn, daughter of Lewis and Huldah 
Hepburn, natives of New Haven, Conn. L E. Parsons is a na- 
tive of Lisle, Broome county, N. Y., where he was born in April, 



830 Lewis E. Parsons. 



1 8 17. He was a teacher in this city, and subsequently read law 
with George W. Woodward. After remaining here a year or 
two after his admission, he removed to Talladega, Alabama, in 
1 841, where he established himself in the practice of the law. He 
rose rapidly and was successful in his profession. He was a firm 
and decided whig in politics, without any compromise or con- 
cession. He was defeated for the legislature on the American 
ticket in' 1855. In 1859 '^*^ ^^^^ elected to the house of repre- 
sentatives, and in i860 he allied himself with the democratic 
party, as the best means, in his judgment, to save the country 
from a threatened danger. In i860 he was a delegate to the 
Baltimore convention, which supported Mr. Douglas for the 
presidency. As a representative to the legislature in 1863 he 
took a high position among men of talent and exhibited strong 
debating powers. From that time his character as a public man 
has been favorably known to the people of Alabama. During the 
late civil war he was a Union man without disguise, although offer- 
ing no factious opposition to the majority. All parties believed 
him honest and only conservative in his views. When in the sum- 
mer of 1 865 President Johnson announced his policy of reorganiz- 
ing the seceding states, Mr. Parsons was appointed provisional 
governor of Alabama, with every token of public approbation. 
He resigned his position as governor on December 20, 1865- 
The state convention of September, 1865, over which Benjamin 
Fitzpatrick presided, unanimously 

" Resolved That, this convention express confidence in the integ- 
rity, patriotism and capacity of Hon. L. E. Parsons, provisional 
governor of this state, and the members hereof acknowledge the 
courtesy and kindness which have uniformly distinguished his 
conduct in his intercourse with them." 

As evidence of a still higher degree of public favor, the general 
assembly, at its session in December, 1865, unanimously 
elected ex-governor Parsons a senator in the congress of the 
United States for a term of six years. That he was not permitted 
by the powers at Washington to take his seat does not impair 
the force of the compliment. His wife was a Miss Wake, of 
Kentucky. In 1865 Mr. Parsons delivered a lecture in New 
York, in which he said : " While public attention in the north was 



Lewis E. Parsons. 831 



turned mainly to the operations around Riclimond and to those 
which attended the movements of the vast armies of General 
Sherman, it also happened that General James H. Wilson, of 
Illinois, with a large force of cavalry, some seventeen thousand, 
commenced a movement from the Tennessee river and a point 
in the northwest of the state of Alabama diagonally across the 
state. His troops penetrated to the center and then radiated from 
Selma in every direction through one of the most productive 
regions of the south. That little city of Selma had about ten 
thousand inhabitants. Its defenses were carried by assault on 
one of the finest Sunday evenings in April, the sun being about 
an hour high. Before another sun rose every house in the city 
was sacked except two ; every woman was robbed of her watch, 
her ear-rings, her finger-rings, her jewelry of all descriptions ; 
and the whole city was given up for the time to the possession 
of the soldiers. It was a severe discipline to the people. It was 
thought necessary by the commanding general to subdue the 
spirit of rebellion. For one week the forces under General Wil- 
son occupied the little town. Night after night and day after 
day one public building after another, the arsenal, and then the 
foundry, each of which covered eight or nine acres of ground, 
and was conducted upon a scale commensurate with the demand 
for military supplies that the war created, the railroad depots and 
machine shops connected with them, and everything of that de- 
scription which had been in any degree subservient to the cause of 
the rebellion, were laid in ashes. Of the brick stores in the city, 
more than sixty in number, forty-nine were consumed. After 
three weeks had elapsed it was with difficulty you could travel 
the road from Plantersville to that city, so offensive was the 
atmosphere in consequence of decaying horses and mules that 
lay along the roadside. Every description of ruin except the 
interred dead of the human family met the eye. I witnessed it 
myself. The fact is that no description can equal the reality. 
When the Federal forces left the little town, which is built on a 
bluff on the Alabama river, they crossed at night on a pontoon 
bridge, and their way was lighted with burning warehouses 
standing on the shore." He has one son, L. E. Parsons, jr., who 
is a lawyer. He also has other children. 



832 Orsemus Hurd Wheeler. 



ORSEMUS HURD WHEELER. 



Orsemus Hurd Wheeler, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county August 3, 1841, is a native of Galway, Saratoga county, 
New York, where he was born August 20, 18 18. He is the 

son of Ephraim Wheeler, born in 1779, and his wife, Elizabeth 
Wakeman, a daughter of Gideon Wakeman, who was the son 
of an English nobletnan. His grandfather was Calvin Wheeler, 
whose wife was Hannah Thorp. All of the above were born in 
Weston, Fairfield county. Conn. O. H. Wheeler was educated 
in the public and select schools in Galway, Saratoga county, N. Y., 
and the academy at Elmira, N. Y. He read law in this city with 
Volney L. Maxwell, and has practiced in Carbon, Luzerne, Nor- 
thampton, and other counties in this state. In 1848 and 1849 
he was deputy attorney general for Carbon county. Pa. In the 
latter year he was a candidate for the state senate, but was 
defeated. From 1850 to 1856 he was district attorney of Carbon 
county. In 1884 he was elected an alderinan in Bradford, 
McKean county, Pa. He resigned in 1888 and now resides in 
Williamsport, Pa. He married, February i, 1844, Malvina F. 
Barnes, a native of Kingston, Pa , where she was born October 
26, 1820. She was the daughter of James Barnes, a native of 
Milton, Saratoga county, N. Y, where he was born in 1779. He 
was the eldest son of Dr. Barnes (who after the battle of .Saratoga 
was a prisoner and permitted to djsert by General Gates), who 
married and lived at Milton. Eliza Woodbridge, wife of James * 
Barnes, was born at Pittsfield, Mass., in 1786. Mr. and Mrs. 
Wheeler have one son living — Harry Clay Wheeler, who is 
married and resides at Williamsport, Pa. 



THOMAS SHARP MURRAY. 



Thomas Sharp Murray, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county November 7, 1842, is a native of New Hope, Pa^ 



Thomas Sharp Murray. 83; 



where he was born February 2, 18 19. His grandfather, William 
Murray, and Rosamond Dawson, his wife, as also his father, Jo- 
seph Dawson Murray, were natives of Edenton, N. C, whose 
ancestors, of Scotch descent, settled there early in the last cen- 
tury. His mother, Margaret Sharp Murray, daughter of Thomas 
Sharp and Rebecca Foster, his wife, was born in Salem county, 
N. J., October 16, 1793. Her ancestors, who were from England, 
settled in the same county in 1685. Thomas S Murray was 
prepared for college at the preparatory school of Rev. Samuel 
Aaron, Burlington, N. J., and then entered Brown University, R. 
I., from which he graduated in the class of 1840. He read law 
with Volney L. Maxwell in this city. He never engaged in gen- 
eral practice, and only practiced in connection with his father's 
business in this and Bucks county, Pa. From 1848 to 1852 he 
was postmaster of New Hope. He married, December 8, 1846, 
Gertrude R. Butler, a daughter of Steuben Butler, of this city. 
The latter was the son of Colonel Zebulon Butler. (See page 326.) 
He died when Steuben was but seven years of age. Mr. Butler 
learned the trade of a printer with Asher Miner, in Doylestown, 
Pa. In 18 1 8 he established the Wyoming Herald in this city. 
Its motto was, " He comes the herald of a busy world. News 
from all nations." In 1828 he enlarged the paper, and an interest 
was purchased by Eliphalet Worthington. The paper was pub- 
lished by Butler and Worthington from 1828 to 1831. The latter 
subsequently removed to Sterling, 111., where he published a paper 
until his decease. Charles Miner bought Mr. Worthington's 
interest. This co-partnership existed until 1833, when the paper 
passed into the hands of Eleazer Carey and Robert Miner. About 
1842 Mr. Butler engaged in the book business and established a 
store on Franklin street, below Market. He continued in this 
business until 1867, when his store was destroyed by fire. From 
1 824 to 1 827 he was one of the commissioners of Luzerne county. 
From 1849 to 1853 he was" postmaster of this city. He was 
secretary and treasurer of the Wilkes-Barre and Hazleton turn- 
pike for forty-five years, and was one of the projectors of the 
Wilkes-Barre branch of the Bank of the United States in this 
city. He married, July 3, 18 10, Julia Bulkeley, a sister of Jona- 
than Bulkeley. (See page 288.) In the prime of his life Mr. 



834 Edmund Burke Baab. 



Butler took great interest in the affairs of Wilkes- Barre, and was 
honored by all As an editor he manifested much ability, and 
the history contained in his paper is one of great interest. Mrs. 
Butler died May 16, 1833, and Mr. Butler August 12, 188 1. Mr, 
and Mrs. Murray have a family of three children. Their only son, 
Steuben Butler Murray, married June 14, 1887, Adelaide Butler, 
granddaughter of Steuben Butler, and daughter of George G. 
Butler. They have one child — Steuben l^utler Murray. 



EDMUND BURKE BABB. 



Edmund Burke Babb, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., April 5, 1843, is a native of Pittston, Pa., where he 
was born in December, 18 19. His father was John P. Babb. son 
of Peter Babb — both natives of Northampton county. Pa. His 
mother was Mary Shriner, a daughter of John Shriner, of North- 
umberland, Pa. John P. Babb was treasurer of Luzerne county 
from January 2, 1824, to April 12, 1826. He was an architect 
and builder, a man of energy and ability, a sample of whose sub- 
stantial work still remains in the Columbia bridge across the 
Schuylkill near Philadelphia. He built and resided in the house 
now owned and occupied by John G. Wood, on North Franklin 
street, in this city. E. B. Babb was educated at Dickinson Col- 
lege, Carlisle, Pa., and graduated in the class of 1840. He read 
law in the office of Charles Denison. He spent several years in 
foreign travel, and then became one of the editors of the Daily 
Gazette, in Cincinnati, Ohio. His present residence is at North 
Vernon, Jennings county, Indiana. He is an unmarried man. 

Rev. Clement E. Babb, D. D., who resides near San Jose, Cal , 
is a brother of E. B. Babb. Dr. Babb is also a native of Pittston, 
and is one of the most voluminous, graphic, original and widely 
known newspaper writers in the United States. He edited for 
seventeen years the Christian Herald of Cincinnati, which was 
one of the principal Presbyterian papers in this country. For 
five years he was the editor of the Occident in San Francisco. 



Joseph Clubine Rhodes. 835 



He is also a regular weekly contributor to the Interior, of Chi- 
•cag-o and the Herald and Presbyter, of Cincinnati. When Henry 
Ward Beecher left the First Presbyterian Church at Indianapolis 
and removed to Brooklyn, Mr. Babb became his successor, and 
filled that pulpit for five years. 



JOSEPH CLUBINE RHODES. 




Joseph Clubine Rhodes, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pa., April 8, 1844, is of English descent, and pre- 
vious to his father's day the family were members of the society 
of Friends. His great-great-grandfather, John Rhoads, came to 
America in 1682 from England when he was quite a young 
man. He came to this country in the ship Welcome, with Will- 
iam Penn. John Rhodes, son of John Rhoads, was born July 8, 
1709, in Philadelphia. Joseph Rhodes, son of John Rhodes, was 
born May ii, 1756, in Bucks county, Pa. John Rhodes, son of 
Joseph Rhodes, was born September 17, 1783, near Lehighton, Pa. 
He removed to Youngmanstown, now Mifflinburg, in Union 
county. Pa., in 18 17. The wife of John Rhodes was Kate Clubine 
who was born December 26, 1792, in Sussex county, N. J. She 
was a daughter of Andrew Clubine. He emigratedin 1 801 to Upper 
Canada, now Ontario, and settled on lands near New Market, thirty 
miles north of Toronto, where he died October 4, 1839. Joseph 
C. Rhodes, son of John Rhodes, was born at Mifflmburg, Union 
county. Pa., October 2, 18 18. He was educated at Dickinson 
College, Carlisle, Pa., and graduated in the class of 1838. He 
read law with Alexander Jordan at Sunbury, Pa., and was ad- 
mitted to the Northumberland county bar in 1843. He has 
resided in this city and Milton, Pa., the greater part of his life. 
In 1858 he represented Northumberland county in the legislature 
of the state. Mr. Rhodes married. May 19, 1846, Martha Stewart 
Thomas, a daughter of Abraham Thomas, of this city. Mr. 
Thomas was born in Bethany, Conn., January 9, 1794. and was 
the son of Noah Thomas and his wife, Mary Tolles, of New Ha- 
ven. She was the daughter of Daniel Tolles and his wife, 



836 James Lee Maxwell. 



Thankful Smith, of New Haven. Abraham Thomas was one of 
the early merchants of Wilkes-Barre, and had a large nuW on the 
canal near the redoubt. The wife of Abraham Thomas, whom 
he married March 20, 1822, was Abigail Alden Stewart, a daugh- 
ter of James Stewart and liis wife, Hannah Jameson. James 
Stewart was a son of Captain Lazarus Stewart, who was killed 
at the head of his company in tlie battle and massacre of Wyo- 
ming, July 3, 1778. (See page 844.) Hannah Jameson was the 
daughter of John Jameson. (Seepage 301.) Mr. and Mrs. Rhodes 
had a family of three children. The only surviving child is Nellie, 
wife of Walter E. Meek. J. C. Rhodes resides in Houtzdale, Pa. 



JAMES LEE MAXWELL. 



James Lee Maxwell, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county November 4, 1844, was born in Northampton, Fulton 
county, N. Y. He spent his early life in Johnstown, in the same 
county. He subsequently entered Union College, Schnectaday^ 
N. Y., from which he graduated in 1842. He was a student of 
law in the office of V. L. Maxwell, and after admission practiced 
until 1852. He then studied theology and entered the Protestant 
P^piscopal Church. He now resides at Danville, Pa., and is 
rector of Christ (Memorial) Church. His father was Samuel 
Maxwell, M. D., a native of New England, whose grandfather 
was in the English navy and left it at Halifax, N. S., before the 
revolution. James L. Maxwell's mother's maiden name was 
Helen VanArnam, who descended from the old Dutch settlers of 
New York. Mr. Maxwell married, in 1847, Elizabeth Meredith, 
a daughter of Thomas Meredith, who was the son of Samuel 
Meredith, the first treasurer of the United States, to which office 
he was appointed by his intimate friend, George Washington. 
The father of Samuel Meredith was Reese Meredith, an emigrant 
from Wales, and a merchant in Philadelphia. Mrs. Elizabeth 
Maxwell died November i, 1875. Mr. Maxwell married for his 
second wife Henrietta Miller, a daughter of George Miller, of the 
city of New York. 



Thomas Lansford Foster. 837 



THOMAS LANSFORD FOSTER. 



Thomas Lansford Foster, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pa., November 4, 1844, is a son of the late Asa Lans- 
ford Foster, a native of Rowe, Franklin county, Mass., where he was 
born in 1798. He came when quite a young man to Pennsyl- 
vania, then the "far west," and engaged in the mercantile business 
with an older brother, who had preceded him, at Berwick, Pa. 
A few years later— about 1821 or 1822 — he engaged in the same 
business on his own account at Bloomsburg, Pa., and married 
Louisa Chapman, daughter of Charles Chapman, a granddaughter 
ofCaptain Joseph Chapman, of Brooklyn, Susquehanna county, Pa. 
The mercantile business of that time and locality was chiefly that 
of trade and barter of the merchandise usually kept in country 
stores for the products of the farm and forest. Part of these 
products were taken on wagons and sleds to Philadelphia and 
part were sent to market down the Susquehanna on the spring 
and fall freshets in rafts or arks. Goods for the store were brought 
in wagons or sleds from the city. About 1826 he disposed of 
his business at Bloomsburg and removed to Philadelphia, intend- 
ine to encase in the wholesale trade in such merchandise as his 
experience had taught him was needed in the country. In Phil- 
adelphia he accepted temporarily a position in a wholesale house, 
and while there, through his connection with his relative, Isaac 
A. Chapman, then civil engineer for the Lehigh Company, and 
residing at Mauch Chunk, Pa., Mr. Foster made the acquaintance 
of Josiah White and Erskine Hazard, and was by them engaged 
to take charge of the company's large supply store at the latter 
place. He removed with his family to Mauch Chunk about 
1 827. Here he found a very large and substantial stone store build- 
ing; filled from rarret to cellar with goods which had from time 
to time been sent by the managers of the company, many of 
which, owing to their ignorance of the needs of their employees, 
were useless and unsalable. These he had packed and returned 
to the city and replenished the stock with such goods as were 
wanted. His management of the store made it very popular, and 



838 Thomas Lanstord Foster. 



it soon became the centre of supply, not only for those employed 
by the company, but also for the country from the Susquehanna 
to the Delaware, which found here a ready market for its pro- 
ducts. To manage such a business, keeping the stock of goods 
and supplies full, with the facilities for transportation then available 
— by wagons from a city nearly a hundred miles distant — required 
ability, foresight, and energy, which Mr. Foster had and exer- 
cised to the entire satisfaction of the company, while the attention 
which he gave personally, and required of his assistants behind 
the counters, to all customers made them all his friends and 
patrons. After acting as manager for a few years, the company 
having concluded to relinquish the mercantile business to private 
enterprise, Mr. Foster, in connection with P. R. McConnell and 
James Brodrick (father of the late Thomas Brodrick, of this city), 
erected a store. In 1829 he commenced the publication of the 
Lehigh Pioneer and Mauch Chunk Courier, with Amos Sisty as 
editor. This was the first newspaper in what is now Carbon 
county. In 1842 he sold the materials of the office to Joseph H. 
Siewers, who changed the name to the Carbon County Transit, 
A year or two later Mr. Siewers sold it to 'William Reed, when 
the paper came again under the control of Mr. Foster for a short 
time, during which the old name was revived. The store which 
was erected in 1833 was supplied with goods and business com- 
menced about the time that the Beaver Meadow Railroad, from 
Beaver Meadow to Parryville, and the "Upper Grand Section" of 
the Lehigh Navigation, from White Haven to Mauch Chunk, 
were in course of construction. Mr. Foster's abilities as a mer- 
chant were again called into action, this store becoming the 
principal point from which supplies for the army of men employed 
on these great works were drawn. The store was, while under 
the management of Mr. Foster, at first owned by McConnell, 
Foster and Brodrick, then Foster and Brodrick, and finally owned 
by Mr. Foster alone. Mr. Foster removed from Mauch Chunk 
in 1837 to engage in another enterprise, leaving his mercantile 
business in charge of his salesman. He unlocked what is now 
the great Black Creek coal basin, and obtained knowledge which 
many men more ambitious and less scrupulous could have turned 
greatly to their advantage. The immediate results of Mr. Fos- 



Thomas Lansford Foster. 839 

ter's discovery was the organization of the Buck Mountain Coal 
Company, of which he was appointed superintendent, and in the 
last named year, having had a log house built on the top of Buck 
Mountain, he removed his family there. The work was com- 
pleted and one boat load of coal was shipped in the fall of 1849. 
In the fall of 1844 he returned to Mauch Chunk. In 1855 
he became a partner with Sharpe, Leisenring & Co., afterwards 
Sharpe, Weiss & Co., in the lease and opening of the Coun- 
cil Ridge colliery, at the eastern end of the great Black 
Creek basin, and within two miles of the place where 
twenty years before he had developed the existence of coal in 
that locality. This is now in Foster township, in this county, 
and the township was named in honor of Mr. Foster. It was 
his knowledge of the resources of this great coal field, and their 
confidence in Mr. Foster's judgment, that induced these gentle- 
men to invest all their means in the venture. It was financially 
succesfsul, and although, like many pioneers in great projects, 
Mr. Foster was at first unfortunate, unlike many of them, he lived 
to participate largely in the fruits of his early labors and enter- 
prise. He died in this city, after a short illness, when on a visit 
to friends here, January 9. 1868. He was one of the vestry of 
St. Mark's Protestant Episcopal Church when it was incorporated, 
and was one of a committee "to solicit subscriptions for building 
a Presbyterian meeting house." The borough of Lansford, in 
Carbon county, was also named after Mr. Foster by applying his 
middle name. 

Thomas L. Foster, son of Asa L. Foster, was born in Blooms- 
burg, Pa., August 30, 1823. He read law in this city with V. L. 
Maxwell. He soon after located at Mauch Chunk; was super- 
intendent of the public schools of Carbon county for six years, 
meantime keeping up the practice of the law. On the organiza- 
tion of the Second National Bank of Mauch Chunk he was 
elected cashier, and is now president of the bank. F"or many 
years he was secretary and attorney of the Middle Coal Field Poor 
District. He was one of the incorporators in 1861 of the Nes- 
quehoning Railroad. He was also one of the engineers in laying 
out the Lehigh Valley Railroad, and w'as for some years con- 
nected with the Mauch Chunk Courier, and was a member of the 



840 Horace Blois Burnham. 



first borou<^h council of Kast Mauch Chunk. Mr. Fo.stcr married, 
November lo, 1847, Henrietta Pratt, daughter of Asaph Pratt and 
his wife. EUza Pratt {nee Worthington), of Beaver Meadow, Pa. 
He has four children living— Charles W. F'oster, Emily P., wife 
of Thomas W. Brown, of this city, Asa L. Foster, Louisa C. 
Foster, and Harry W. Foster. 



HORACE BLOIS BURNHAM. 



Horace Blois Burnham, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county August 12, 1844, is a descendant of Thomas Burnham, 
born in England in 1617, and died in Connecticut in 1688. He 
sailed from Gravesend, England, for the Barbadoes in 1635, and 
soon after removed to Hartford, Conn., where he was admitted a 
freeman in 1656. He was a shrewd criminal lawyer, and for his 
defense of Abagail Betts, accused of blasphemy (saving her neck), 
was prohibited from practicing. He then settled on his lands at 
Podunk. His house was fortified and garrisoned during the 
Indian war, 1675. William Burnham, son of Thomas Burnham, 
was of Wethersfield, Conn. Rev. William Burnham, son of 
William Burnham, was born in 1684. He graduated at Harvard 
College in 1702. He was pastor of a church at Farmingham in 
1712, and moderator of the general association of Connecticut in 
1738. Appleton Burnham, of Cornwall, Conn., son of Rev. 
William Burnham, was born in 1 724. Abner Burnham, of Sharon, 
Conn., son of Appleton Burnham, was born in 1771 and died in 
18 18. His first wife, the mother of Judson Williams Burnham, 
was Sarah Williams. Judson Williams Burnham, father of Horace 
Blois Burnham, was born in 1793 and died in Carbondale, Pa., in 
1857. His wife was Mary Blois. He was a jeweler and began 
business in 1832 in Carbondale. In 1837 he was one of the 
school directors of the same place. He was foreman of the first 
grand jury impaneled for the recorder's court of the city of Car- 
bondale September 8, 185 i. 

H. B. Burnham, son of Judson Williams Burnham, was born 
■in Spencertown, Columbia county, N. Y., September 10, 1824. 



Horace Blois Burnham. 841 



He removed with his parents to Carbondale in 1832, and when 
of proper age entered the law office of Dwight N. Lathrop. 
After his admission to the bar he practiced in Carbondale until 
1849, when he removed to Mauch Chunk, Pa., where he practiced 
until 1 86 1. He then entered the army as lieutenant-colonel of 
Sixty-Seventh regiment of Pennsylvania Volunteers. He was 
judge of the Hustings court of the city of Richmond, Va., from 
September 11, 1867, to June 9, 1869; president judge of the Su- 
preme Court of Appeals of Virginia from June 9, 1869, to April 
29, 1870; major and judge advocate United States army from 
October 31, 1864, to July 5, 1884; and since a lieutenant-colonel 
and deputy judge advocate general United States army. Mr. 
Burnham's judicial duties in Virginia were imposed by the laws 
of the United States known as the " Reconstruction Laws." 
During their performance he was an officer of the army and also 
legal adviser of major generals Schofield, Canby, Webb, and 
Stoneman, who were officers commanding that military district. 
Since that time he has continued to be the judicial adviser of 
major generals Terry, Augur, Ord, Crook, and Howard, in Georgia, 
Kentucky, Texas, and Nebraska. His present duty is deputy 
judge advocate general of the military division (of the Pacific), 
with headquarters in San Francisco, the division including Cali- 
fornia, Nevada, Arizona, New Mexico, Oregon, Washington 
Territory, and Alaska. Mr. Burnham has practiced in most of 
the courts of north-eastern and eastern Pennsylvania, and in the 
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, and Circuit Court of the United 
States. As judge advocate and deputy judge advocate general 
United States army he has represented the rights of the United 
States and tried cases in the various courts of the District 
of Columbia and the states of Virginia, Nebraska, and California 
and in the territory of Utah, and in the Circuit and Supreme 
court of the United States. Since the above was written he has 
retired on account of age from the position of deputy judge advo- 
cate general. Mr. Burnham married, February 22, 1846, Ruth 
Ann Jackson, whose grandfather was Nathan Jackson, of New 
York City. Her father was Doctor Nathan Jackson, of Carbon- 
dale. Mr. and Mrs. Burnham have a'family of three children — 
Nathan Jackson Burnham, a lawyer, of Omaha, Nebraska ; Mary, 



842 George Grant Waller. 



wife of Professor John S. Collins, of St. Louis, Mo. ; and Anna, 
wife of Lieutenant Lewis Merriam, Fourth United States Infantry. 
Mr. Burnham resides near Richmond, Henrico county, Va. 



d 



J-^Bl GEORGE GRANT WALLER. 



George Grant Waller, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county April 7, 1846, is a native of Wilkes-Barre, Pa., where he 
was born May 3, 1821. He is the son of Captain Phineas Wal- 
ler, a native of Wilkes-Barre (now Plains) township, where he 
was born in 1774. In 1776 he went to Connecticut in company 
with his father. Captain Nathan Waller, and returned to Wyo- 
ming in 1782. At the time of his death he was the oldest person 
living that was born in this valley. The father of Captain Phineas 
Waller was Captain Nathan Waller. He was a native of Con- 
necticut, and emigrated to the Wyoming Valley at an early day. 
His wife was Elizabeth Weeks, a daughter of Thomas Weeks, a 
native of Fairfield, Conn., who came to Wyoming with the first 
two hundred settlers in 1769. His brothers — Jonathan Weeks, 
Philip Weeks and Bartholmew Weeks — were slain in the battle 
and massacre of Wyoming. Jonathan Weeks, the father of 
Thomas Weeks, came from Fairfield, Conn., to Wyoming with 
his wife, Abagail, and two sons, Jonathan and Philip, in 1762-63. 
They escaped the massacre of 1 763. Philip and Thomas, his sons, 
came to Wyoming in 1769 ; the father, with Jonathan and Barthol- 
omew and two daughters, came soon afterwards. Captain Nathan 
Waller died July 11,1831, aged 79 years. The wife of Phineas Wal- 
ler, and mother of George G. Waller, was Elizabeth Jewett, born 
October 9, 1780, in New London, Conn., and married in Wilkes- 
Barre March 31, 18 14. She was the daughter of Jacob Hibbard 
Jewett, born August ii, 1745. He was educated at Cambridge, 
studied medicine with Dr. E. A. Holyoke, and settled in New 
London (now Montville),'Conn. Doctor Jewett served as a sur- 
geon in the American army during most of the revolutionary 



George Grant Waller. 843 

war. He died in his native town April 26, 18 14. His wife, Pa- 
tience Bulkeley, was born April 23, 1749, married in August, 
1769, was the daughter of Major Charles and Ann (Latimer) 
Bulkeley, and granddaughter of Rev. John and Patience Prentice 
Bulkeley, first minister of Colchester, Conn. (See page 285.) 
In 181 5 Dr. Jewett's family moved to Wilkes-Barre, where his 
widow. Patience, died in February, 1830. Doctor Jewett's great- 
great-grandfather, Maximillian Jewett, was of Rowley, Mass. 
He was admitted freeman in May, 1640, representative in 1641 
and for sixteen years afterward. Ezekiel Jewett, son of Maxi- 
millian Jewett, was admitted freeman in May, 1669, a deacon, 
representative of Rowley in 1690. Stephen Jewett was a son of 
Ezekiel Jewett. Rev. David Jewett, of Rowley, son of Stephen 
Jewett, was born June 10, 17 14, graduated from Harvard College 
in 1736, ordained pastor of the Second Church in New London 
(now Montville), Conn., Oct 3, 1739, died June 6, 1783. Before 
going to New London he was employed as a missionary to the 
Mohegans, and acquired the favor of the sachem and his tribe. 
No minister in the country stood higher among his own flock 
or in the esteem of his brethren than Mr. Jewett. He was a 
chaplain in the army in 1756, afterwards in the French war and 
in the revolution. He was the father of Dr. David Hibbard 
Jewett, the father of Elizabeth Waller, wife of Phineas Waller. 

George Grant Waller was educated in the schools of this city, 
at Lancaster, Pa., and at Williams College, where he graduated 
in 1844. He read law with Judge Collins in this city. He has 
practiced in this city, at Bloomsburg, but principally at Hones- 
dale, Pa., where he now resides. He married, October 1 1, 1854, 
Lizzie J. Bentley, a daughter of Benjamin S. Bentley and Hannah 
Bentley, his wife. Mrs. Waller was a native of Montrose, Pa. 
Mr. Bentley was appointed president judge of Lackawanna 
county at its organization, on August 21, 1878, but the Supreme 
Court held that there was no vacancy in the office at the time of 
his appointment, and that, under the provisions of the new county 
act, Lackawanna was not a separate judicial /district, and, there- 
fore, the only court authorized by law was that to be established 
by the judges of Luzerne county, who organized the courts of 
Lackawanna county October 24, 1878. He was also appointed 



844 Franklin Stewart. 



by Governor Hartranft president judge of the 29th judicial district 
when Lycoming county was made a separate district. Mr. and 
Mrs. Waller have but one child living, Bessie B. Waller. George 
G. Waller is a brother of the late Judge Charles P. Waller, of 
Wayne county, Pa. 



FRANKLIN STEWART. 



Franklin Stewart, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., August 3, 1847, is a native of Wilkes-Barre township 
where he was born November 14, 1822. His great-grandfather, 
Lazarus Stewart, came with his family from the north of Ireland 
to America in 1729. The same year he settled on a tract of land 
"situate on Svvahatawro creek," in afterwards Hanover township, 
Lancaster county, Pa. With the aid of two redemptioners, whose 
passages were paid by him, he built within that and the two 
years following a house and barn, cleared twenty-odd acres of 
arable land, and planted an orchard. He died about 1744. Mar- 
garet Stewart, eldest daughter of Lazarus Stewart, married James 
Stewart, of Hanover, a cousin or second cousin. James Stewart, 
son of James Stewart, was born in Lancaster county about 1737, 
and came to Hanover, Luzerne county, with his brother. Captain 
Lazarus Stewart, the " Paxtang Ranger," in 1769 or 1770, 
returned to Lancaster county before the battle and massacre of 
Wyoming in 1778, married Priscilla Espy, lived in Lancaster 
county, died there in 1783. His widow married Captain Andrew 
Lee. Lazarus Stewart, son of James Stewart, was born in Lan- 
caster county in 1783, and came to Hanover with his step-father, 
Captain Andrew Lee, in 1804. He married Elizabeth Crisman, 
daughter of Frederick Crisman, of German descent, who came to 
Hanover as early as 1788. Mr. Crisman built and kept the " Red 
Tavern," in Hanover. Lazarus Stewart resided in Wilkes-Barre 
and died here in 18-39. 

Franklin Stewart, son of Lazarus Stewart, was educated in the 
schools of his native place and at Dana's academy, and read law 
with Jonathan J. Slocum. He married, in 1854, Mary C. Wilson, 



Franklin Stewart. 845 

a daughter of A. B. Wilson, M. D., who was born June 1 1, 1797, 
in Madison county, Va. In 1800 his father's family moved to 
Montgomery county, Pa. He received his education at the Hat- 
borough Academy and University of Pennsylvania. He moved 
temporarily to Wilkes-Barre for the benefit of his health, and 
commenced reading medicine under Doctor Crary, and continued 
his studies under Doctor William Batchelor, of Hatborough. In 
1 818 he commenced practicing medicine, and in 1822 he moved 
to Berwick, Pa. He died in 1856. The wife of Dr. A. B. Wilson 
was Minerva Jameson, a daughter of Alexander Jameson, son of 
Robert Jameson, son of John Jameson. (See page 301.) The 
wife of Alexander Jameson was Elizabeth Stewart, a daughter of 
Captain Lazarus Stewart, who was born in Lancaster (now Dau- 
phin) county, Pa., in 1734. He served in the old French and 
Indian war of 1755 to 1763 ; was in Braddock's defeat; married 
Martha P^spy, daughter of Josiah Espy, son of George Espy, son 
of Josiah Espy ; was captain of the Paxtang Rangers ; came to 
Hanover in Wyoming as a settler with forty Lancaster county 
men late in 1769, or in February, 1770. Within the year 
1770 his forty were reduced to thirty Lancaster county men, to 
whom were added ten New England men. By 1772 these were 
reduced to eighteen men, who hired another eighteen men, thus 
keeping up, according to an understanding with the Susquehanna 
Company, their number to not less than thirty-six. Lazarus 
Stewart was the fiery and daring Yankee leader of those stirring 
times. He resided in a block house of his own on his land in 
Hanover, about ninety rods below the Wilkes-Barre line. He 
was killed at the head of his company in the battle and massacre 
of Wyoming. Lazarus Stewart was undoubtedly responsible for 
the battle and massacre of Wyoming, on July 3, 1778. It was a 
mistaken judgment on his part, which he afterwards sealed with 
his blood. Hon. Steuben Jenkins, in his Historical Address at 
the Wyoming Monument, July 3, 1878, says: "The cool and 
more judicious of the officers on whom the responsibilities rested 
thought prudence the better part of valor, and decided that their 
present position being tenable against a superior force, and serv- 
ing to protect the lower and main part of the valley from the 
encroachments of the enemy, would answer the purpose of pro- 



846 Franklin Stewart. 



tcction to that part of it until the expected reinforcements should 
arrive. At this point in the debate Lieutenant Timothy Pierce 
arrived with information that the company of Spalding was on 
its way, and would probably arrive on Sunday for their assis- 
tance." The battle was fought on Friday. " This news did not, 
however, calm the troubled waters. It was contended that Sun- 
day would be too late ; that the enemy by that time could prowl 
through the valley, rob and burn their homes, or kill and take 
captive the women and children, drive off their horses and cattle, 
and destroy their harvests while they, like base and cowardly pol- 
troons, were standing by with arms in their hands, and seeing 
him do it without making an attempt to prevent it. * * * The 
discussion became heated and personal. Charges of cowardice 
were made by Captain Lazarus Stewart, then a private in Cap- 
tain McCarrachen's Hanover company, against all who opposed 
advancing, particularly against Colonel Butler, the principal 
commander, who was against an advance, and he threatened to 
report him as such to headquarters. Stewart was ordered under 
arrest by Colonel Denison. The Hanover company became 
mutinous. Captain McCarrachen resigned, and the company 
immediately elected Stewart in his place. They now threatened 
a revolt unless a march should be immediately made against 
the enemy. Colonel Denison, a cool and quiet man, who had 
taken little or no part in the discussion, as yet, urged the pro- 
priety of careful and considerate action, and the impropriety and 
danger of hasty and inconsiderate action ; that it would be far 
better to wait until more was known of the number and move- 
ments of the enemy; that it was hardly possible that they 
would attempt to overrun the valley as matters then stood; that 
a little delay would give them more information upon these 
points, when they could act intelligently, and in the meantime 
Spalding's and Franklin's companies would arrive — the latter cer- 
tainly. These suggestions did not meet the feelings and views of 
the men generally. They had become warmed up by the fiery 
words of Captain Stewart, and declared that it would be a dis- 
grace never to be forgotten or forgiven should they remain there 
or lie cooped up in a fort while the enemy should devastate the 
valley, plunder and burn their homes, and then draw off with 



Franklin Stewart. 847 



their booty, and they too cowardly to offer the least resistance. 
It was therefore determined to march and meet or attack the 
enemy. When it was decided to advance or attack the enemy, 
Colonel Butler discharged Captain Stewart from arrest, saying : 
' We will march and meet the enemy, if he is to be found, and I 
will show the men that I dare lead where they dare follow.' " 
Jonathan Terry, who was in Forty Fort on the day of the 
battle, said (see appendix to History of Bradford county) "that 
the leading officers in the fort were for delaying the attack until 
the expected reinforcements arrived, or perhaps keep the fort 
and defend themselves therein. Stewart was of a contrary opin- 
ion. A very warm altercation now in a special manner took 
place between Stewart arid Colonel Denison as to the expediency 
of attacking the enemy under present circumstances. He would 
fight that very day or else march his men back and never attempt 
to aid them any more, and finally charged Der'ison and those of 
his opinion with cowardice. Denison, well known to be a candid 
man, now became provoked, anger took place, and he said he would 
not hear that. If Stewart would go out and die (oaths passed) he 
would venture himself in it." Stewart Pearce, in his "Annals of 
Luzerne County," says: "On the morning of the battle they 
were assembled in Forty Fort, when a council of officers was 
convened to decide on the propriety of marching out to meet the 
foe. Colonel Butler and others deemed it advisable to remain in 
the fort. Captain Stewart was prominent among those in oppo- 
sition who contended for a prompt and speedy conflict with the 
invaders in the open field. The debate became animated and 
was marked with warm words." 

Mr. and Mrs. Franklin Stewart have a family of three children — 
Alexander W. Stewart, Minnie W. Stewart and Martha J. Stewart, 
wife of Charles Graham, jr., of Kingston. Mr. Stewart resides in 
Berwick, Pa. 



848 Francis Lord Butler. 



PHILO CALLENDER GRITMAN. 



Philo Callender Gritman, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pa., November 10, 1848, is a native of Sherburne, 
Chenango county, N. Y., where he was born October 29, 1828. 
His grandfather, John Gritman, whose wife was Letitia Carman 
Syphers, was a native of Jamaica, Long Island, and his father, 
WilHam Sypher Gritman, M. D., was born in Poughkeepsie, N. 
Y. His wife was Joanna Callender, a native of Hartford, Conn. 
P. C. Gritman was educated at Franklin Academy, Harford, Pa., 
and Dewey Collegiate Institute, and read law with T. P. Phinney, 
at Dundafif, Pa., and D. N. Lathrop, of Carbondale. He was the 
first principal of the Lackawanna Institute, at Carbondale, which 
was kept several years. He was district attorney of the mayor's 
court of Carbondale in 1857, 1858, 1859, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865, 
1869, i870and 1871, and represented Luzerne county in thelegisla- 
ture of the state in 1857 and 1858. Mr. Gritman married, August 
25, 1852, Jane Ball, a daughter of William Ball, of Carbondale. He 
was the first secretary of the common council of the city of Car- 
bondale. (See page 168). Mrs. Gritman was educated at the 
Youne Ladies' Institute at Pittsfield, Mass. Mr. and Mrs. Grit- 
man have one son, William Ball Gritman, of the Lackawanna 
county bar. S. L. Brown, of this city, is a brother-in-law of P. C. 
Gritman, his first wife, Almira C. Gritman, being a sister of P. C. 
Gritman. 



FRANCIS LORD BUTLER. 



Francis Lord Butler, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, April 6, 1849, is a native of Wilkes-Barre, Pa., where he 
was born September 15, 1827. He is the son of the late John 
L. Butler, of this city. (See pages 102 and 326.) F". L. Butler was 
educated at Farmington, Conn., and New Haven, Conn. He read 
law with Harrison Wright, in this city. Mr. Butler is an unmar- 
ried man and now resides near Centreville, Fairfax county, Virginia. 



George Perkins. 849 



GEORGE PERKINS. 



George Perkins, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county April i, 1850, is a native of Bridgewater township, Sus- 
quehanna county, Pa., where he was born May 8, 1820. His 
father, PVancis Perkins, and grandfather, Jacob Perkins, were 
from the banks of the Thames, in Connecticut. His mother, 
Rebecca C. Perkins, was a daughter of Christopher and Patience 
Childs Sherman, from Rhode Island. Mr. Perkins was educated 
in the Susquehanna Academy and the North Star printing office, 
Montrose, Pa. He read law with Benjamin T. Case, of Montrose, 
and was admitted to the Susquehanna county bar August 19, 
1844. He has practiced in Carbondale, Dundaff Montrose, and 
Pittston, in Pennsylvania, in Ripon and Fond du Lac, in Wis- 
consin, and Negaunee, Michigan. He has been prosecuting 
attorney of the mayor's court of Carbondale, city clerk of Ripon, 
district attorney of Fond du Lac county for three terms, comp- 
troller of the city of Fond du Lac, and county judge of Fond du 
Lac county. This court has probate and common law jurisdic- 
tion. Mr. Perkins is now serving his third term in the latter 
office. He was twice married — first, November 15, 1854, to 
Abby Perkins, daughter of Stephen Perkins and Elizabeth Smith, 
of Gale's Ferry, Conn.; second, June 15, 1870, to Emiline L. 
Perkins, daughter of Adam Larrabee and Emiline Hurlbutt, of 
Windham, Conn, Mr. Perkins has four children, his eldest 
daughter being married to Henry J. Gerpheide, of Fond du Lac. 



HANSON ZEBULON FRISBIE. 



Hanson Zebulon Frisbie, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county August 5, 1850, is a native of Orwell, Bradford 
county, Pa., where he was born June 8, 18 19. He is a descend- 
ant of Levi P'risbie, who removed to Orwell from Bristol, Conn., 



850 Hanson Zebulon Frisihe, 

in 1800. He was a native of Bristol, where he was born January 
31, 1758. His wife, Phebe Gaylord, was the daughter of Lieu- 
tenant Aaron Gaylord, who was slain in the battle and massacre 
of Wyoming. After the battle the widowed mother, with her 
three children, went back to Connecticut, where Mr. Frisbie was 
married to her eldest daughter. Mrs. Phebe Gaylord Frisbie 
was born in Bristol November 19, 1769. Levi Frisbie did service 
in the revolutionary war while in Connecticut, and at the age of 
forty- two came with his wife and four children to Orwell. His 
wife was one of the survivors of the Wyoming massacre, being 
nine years old at the time. The family were among the earliest 
pioneers of the township of Orwell. They met the obstacles of a 
settlement in the wilderness, and the many incidents connected 
with their history while clearing off the forests are matters of great 
interest to the rising generation. Mr. Frisbie died October 5, 
1842, and his wife October 5, 1852. Chauncey Frisbie, son of 
Levi Frisbie, was born in Burlington, Hartford county, Conn., 
November 16, 1787. He removed with his father to Orwell in 
1800. He married, March 17, 1812, Chloe Howard, a native of 
Connecticut, who came to Bradford county with her sister, her 
father being dead. Mr. Frisbie was somewhat active in political 
matters, and by the suffrages of his fellow townsmen held several 
important offices of trust and responsibility. From 1822 to 1824 
he was coroner of Bradford county. In 1833 and 1834 he was 
county treasurer of the same county. His first wife died at the 
age of thirty-five years, and his second wife was the widow of 
Doctor Dudley Humphrey, of Connecticut. Mr. Frisbie died 
May 4, 1864. His second wife died September 9, 1865. 

Hanson Z. Frisbie, son of Chauncey Frisbie and his wife, Chloe 
Howard, was educated at Franklin Academy, at Harford, Pa., 
and Caszenovia Seminary, from which he graduated in 1840. 
He read law with his brother-in-law. Colonel E. B. Harvey, in 
this city. In 1854 he removed to Battle Creek, Michigan. He 
then abandoned the profession and became extensively engaged 
in trade as a dealer in general merchandise. In 1872 he removed 
to Lawrence, Kansas, and in 1874 to Grantville, Kansas, where 
he now resides. He married, March 14, 1844, Mary Elizabeth 
Russell, of Hartford, Conn. Her father was William Russell. 



Ephraim Henry Little. 85 1 



He married in 1859 his second wife, Julia S. Merakal. Mr. 
Frisbie has a family of four children — Clarence Leigh, Selwin 
Chauncey, Charles Harvey, and George Arthur Frisbie. The 
two former are married. 



EPHRAIM HENRY LITTLE. 



Ephraim Henry Little was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county April 7, 185 1. The same year he removed to Columbia 
county, Pa. He was born March 23, 1823, in the state of New 
York. His grandfather was Captain Ephraim Little, of Great 
Barington, Mass., and his father was George Little, who removed 
from the state of New York to Bethany, Wayne county, Pa., when 
E. H. Little was quite young, and resided there a few years, when he 
removed to Montrose, Pa., and engaged in mercantile business. 
The subject of this sketch obtained his education in the schools of 
Montrose, and in his eighteenth year entered the law office of 
Lusk & Little as a law student, but completed his legal studies at 
Morris, 111. He was admitted to the bar there May 12, 1844, and 
practiced law at Joliet, 111., for two years. He then practiced two 
years more at Morris ; and while a resident of that place, in hunt- 
ing prairie chickens, his gun accidentally discharged, lacerating 
his arm in such a manner as to render its amputation necessary. 
In 1847 he returned to Montrose, and in 1848 he opened a law 
office in Tunkhannock, Pa. In 1849 he was appointed weigh- 
master on the North Branch Canal at Beach Haven, in this 
county, and acted as such for two years. In 1850 he married 
Eliza Seybert. He practiced his profession in Berwick until i860, 
when he removed to Bloomsburg, Pa., where he has been in 
continual practice since. From 1856 to 1865 he was district 
attorney of Columbia county. His son, Roberta. Little, was 
district attorney of Columbia county from 1878 to 1884. 



852 Walsingham Griffin Ward. 



DANFORTII L. PKCKIIAM. 



Danforth L. Peckham, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., August 4, 1851, is a resident of Mill City, Wyoming 
county. Pa. He had many years ago an office in Hyde Park, 
(now a portion of the city of Scranton), Luzerne (now Lacka- 
wanna) county, Pa. He is a brother of the late Aaron K, Peck- 
ham. His wife was Ellen Ross, a daughter of Perrin Ross. Mr. 
Peckham has no children living. 



WALSINGHAM GRIFFIN WARD. 



Walsingham Griffin Ward, who was admitted to the bar of 
Luzerne county November 10, 1 851, is a native of Dover Plains, 
Dutchess county, N. Y., where he was born October 7, 1823. 
He had but limited educational advantages during his youth, his 
ability and acquirements having been attained during man's estate. 
His early life was one of toil upon the farm and in the lumbering 
branch of business. He removed to Scranton in March, 1843, 
where he has remained until the present time. In the latter part 
of the year 1846 he volunteered as a private in Company I, P'irst 
Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers, for service in the Mexican 
war, and was honorably discharged at Vera Cruz, April 3, 1 847, 
in consequence of illness that incapacitated him for service. He 
read law with J. M. Alexander, and upon his admission to the 
bar opened an office in Scranton, where he practiced until his 
election as recorder of the mayor's court of the city of Scranton, 
in 1870. In 1875 he resigned his position and again entered the 
practice of his profession. He is the senior member of the firm 
of Ward & Horn. Judge Ward has always been held in high 
estimation as a lawyer, and his efforts before juries have been 
wonderfully successful. As a citizen, he is upright and just. He 
is a strong advocate of temperance and morality, and is often 



Edward Merrifield. 853 



called upon to address public assemblies in the interest of such 
reforms. Judge Ward, during the greater part of his practice, has 
always had some younger person as a partner. We can recall 
the firm names of Ward & Bangs, Ward & Harrington, Ward & 
Kulp, Ward & Mahon, Ward & Gunster, Ward & Edwards, and 
Ward & Horn. Judge Ward was twice married. His first wife 
was Maria White, of Columbia county, N. Y. She died Decem- 
ber 2, 1872. His second wife was Louisa Z. Hurlburt, of North 
Adams, Mass. She is also deceased. He has one son by his 
last wife, Douglass Hurlburt Ward. 



EDWARD MERRIFIELD. 



Edward Merrifield, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county August 6, 1855, is a descendant of Robert Merrifield, who 
was born in England in 1703, and emigrated with a brother or 
brothers to America, and settled in Rhode Isjand. William 
Merrifield, an only son of Robert Merrifield, was born in the latter 
state in 1752, and removed with his father to Dutchess county, 
N. Y. He was a school teacher, and continued to live in Dutchess 
and Columbia counties, N. Y.. until his death in 1836. Robert 
Merrifield, son of William Merrifield, was born in Columbia 
county, N. Y., in 1778, emigrated to Pennsylvania in 18 19, 
and settled in the then township of Providence, subsequently 
Hyde Park, now a portion of the city of Scranton. Here he 
engaged in the business of clearing away the forest, and farming. 
He died at the advanced age of eighty- seven years. His wife 
was Catharine Wolscy, born in Columbia county, N. Y., January 
12, 1786. William Merrifield, son of Robert Merrifield, was born 
at Pine Plains, Dutchess county, N. Y., April 22, 1806, and 
removed with his father to Pennsylvania. His education was 
limited to district schools, but his mind was sufficiently stored to 
enable him to teach, and for five winters he engaged in this occu- 
pation. He soon after engaged in the mercantile business at Cen- 
tremoreland, Luzerne (now Wyoming) county. Pa. Before going 



854 Edward Merrifield. 

there he had been interested in getting a postofficc established at 
Hyde Park, and was appointed the first postmaster in 1831. He re- 
mained at Centremoreland about a year, returned to Hyde Park, 
was reappointed p'ostmastcr, and held the office about ten years. At 
the same time he erected a store building, and followed the business 
of a merchant almost uninterruptedly until 1 864. He early foresaw 
the advantages of this section as a mining and manufacturing 
centre, and in 1837 became a joint owner of the main portion of 
the lands where is now built the central part of Scranton. He at 
once commenced operations through correspondence and other- 
wise towards calling the attention of capitalists to this point, 
and in 1838 the tract was disposed of to Colonel George W. Scran- 
ton and others, by whose energy and perseverance it received the 
impetus that has made it a flourishing city. In 1843 he was 
elected to the legislature of Pennsylvania, to which he was 
returned for three successive terms. As a legislator he was 
regarded as a safe adviser, his opinion being frequently sought 
for and highly respected. His struggles for the welfare of the 
Lackawanna valley exhibit him on the legislative records as the 
ablest champion ever sent from that locality. His greatest effort 
was in behalf of the proposed new county of Lackawanna — the bill 
for which he succeeded in passing through the lower house, and 
was defeated only in the senate by a tie vote. He was also an 
earnest worker in favor of the extension of the North Branch 
Canal, also for the project of slack water navigation on the Sus- 
quehanna and Lackawanna rivers, with a view of opening up the 
Lackawanna coal fields. He was an enthusiastic friend and sup- 
porter of the public schools of his neighborhood. He officiated 
as school director at the time of the building of the first frame 
school house in Hyde Park, and again during the construction 
of the more recent graded school building. He was among the 
first to give an impetus to the growth of the town by plotting his 
tract of land in the central portion thereof into village lots, subse- 
quently laying out another tract known as Merrifield'splot of lots 
in Keyser's Valley. In 1856 he was elected an associate judge 
of Luzerne county. In 1870 he was chosen president of the 
Hyde Park Bank. Judge Merrifield was the first burgess of the 
borough of Hyde Park. As a politician, he belonged to the 



Edward Merrifield. 855 



democratic school, and was ever known as a conscientious advo- 
cate of purity in public affairs, his wishes being always for the 
v.-elfare and prosperity of the country. The public offices that 
were conferred upon him were given in every instance without 
solicitation upon his part, and were invariably administered to 
the entire satisfaction of his constituents. Mr. Merrifield married 
in early manhood Almira Swetland, daughter of Belding Swet- 
land. (See page 464). William Merrifield died June 4, 1877. Ed- 
ward Merrifield, the only child living of William Merrifield 
was born at Wyoming, Pa., July 30, 1832. His education was 
received in the public schools of Hyde Park, and in an attend- 
ance of about two years at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa., 
and between two and three years at Oxford (N. Y.) Academy, 
where he prepared for college. On account of impaired health 
the idea of a college course was abandoned. Upon his return 
from Oxford he engaged, in company with his father at Hyde Park 
in mercantile business, in which he continued but one year. In 
the spring of 1852 he entered the law academy at Easton, Pa., 
Judge McCartney, principal, where he remained one term. In 
1853 he entered the law office of Harrison Wright, in this city, 
where he remained two years. He opened an office in Hyde Park, 
in 1855, the same year that he was admitted to the bar. In 1861 
he removed from Hyde Park to Scranton. In 1867, for the pur- 
pose of recruiting his health, he purchased a farm on the Raritan 
river, Somerset county, N. J., which he carried on for two years. 
Having fully recovered his health, he returned and again opened 
a law* office in Scranton, where he has since practiced. In poli- 
tics Mr. Merrifield has always acted with the democratic party. 
For a number of years he was president of the Scranton Law and 
Library Association. He was very active in securing the for- 
mation of the county of Lackawanna, and to no man was due 
more credit for the final success of that project. In 1884 he was 
the democratic candidate for assistant law judge of Lackawanna 
county, but was defeated by Robert W. Archbald— republican. 
Mr. Merrifield m.arried, November 25, 1855, Jennie Eldridge, of 
Owego, N. Y. Her grandfather, Robert Eldridge, was born in 
New London, Conn., and her father, James N. Eldridge, was born 
at Denmark, N. Y. Her mother, the wife of James N. Eldridge, 



856 PiiiLii' Myers. 



was Elvira C. Patrick, of New Preston, Conn., and her grandfather 
was Henry Patrick, of Norwich, Conn. His wife was Dotha 
demons, of Litchfield, Conn. The wife of Robert I'Lldridge was 
Sally Sylvester, of Copenhagen, N. Y. Mr. and Mrs. Merrifield 
have one child, Jessie Merrifield. 



PHH.IP MYERS. 



Philip Myers was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county 
August 8, 1855. He is the grandson of Philip Myers, who was 
born in Germany in 1756, came to this country with his parents in 
1760, settling in Frederick, Maryland. Philip Myers' grandfather 
came to Wyoming in 1785 and married Martha Bennet, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Bennet, July 15, 1787. Lawrence Myers, brother 
of Philip Myers' grandfather, was one of the trustees of the 
Wilkes-Barre Academy. He was elected in 1808 and served 
until his death. He was an officer of the Maryland line during 
the revolution, and was stationed at the fort here in 1779. 
Thomas Myers, son of Philip and Martha (Bennet) Myers, was 
born in Kingston February 15, 1802, and died at Williamsport, 
Pa., December 3, 1887. (See page 629.) The first wife of Thomas 
Myers, and the mother of Philip Myers, was Sarah Borbidge, 
born in Dublin, Ireland, April 23, 1808. She was the daughter 
of James Borbidge, born in Dublin in 1757. His wife was 
Maria Borbidge {riee Bowers), a native of county Wicklow, Ire- 
land. Philip Myers, son of Thomas and Sarah Myers, was born 
in Kingston, Pa., November 28, 1830. He was educated at 
Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, and at Dickinson College, Carlisle, 
Pa., graduating from the latter institution in the class of 185 i. 
From 185 I to 1854 he was one of the professors in the Wyoming 
Seminary. He read law with George W. Woodward, in this city. 
The second year after his admission here he removed to Oska- 
loosa, Iowa, where he practiced his profession until 1866. In 
1868 he removed to Chicago, 111., where he now resides. From 
1873 to 1875 he was one of the professors in the Union College 
of Law, in Chicago. Mr. Myers married, November 20, i866> 



Charles Edward Lathrop. 857 



at Ottawa, 111., Mary Isabella Cowen, of Ottawa. Her grandfather 
was Robert Cowen, born in Maryland and died in Ohio. His 
wife was Mary Cowen [nee Davis), born near Hagerstown, Mary- 
land. The father of Mrs. Myers was Walter Cowen, who was 
born at or near Hagerstown in 181 3. He died at Ottawa August 
18, 1867. Her mother was Matilda Cowen {nee Strawn). She 
was born near Zanesville, Ohio, November 6, 1823, and died at 
Magnolia, Putnam county, 111., in 1848. Her grandfather was 
Jeremiah Strawn, who was a soldier in the Black Hawk war, was 
born in Somerset, Pa., in 1795, and died at Ottawa in 1883. His 
brother, John Strawn, was colonel of a regiment during the 
Black Hawk war. The wife of Jeremiah Strawn was Hannah 
Strawn {nee Bouscher.) She was born in Somerset in 1799 ^"<^ 
died at Ottawa in 1874. Mr. and Mrs. Myers have but one child 
living — Elizabeth Vanderbelt Myers. 



CHARLES EDWARD LATHROR 



Charles Edward Lathrop, who was admitted to the bar of 
Luzerne county January 12, 1857, 's the descendant of Rev. John 
Lothropp, a native of Etton, Harthill wapentake. East Riding, 
Yorkshire, England, who was baptized at Etton December 20, 
1584, and became the pioneer and founder of the Lothrop- 
Lathrop family in America. He was educated in Queen's Col- 
lege, Cambridge, where he was matriculated in 1601, graduated 
B. A. in 1605, and M. A. in 1609. Authentic records next locate 
him in Egerton, forty-eight miles southeast from London, in the 
Lower Half hundred of Calehill, Lathe of Scray, county of Kent, 
as curate of the parish church there. To this living he was ad- 
mitted about 161 1 by the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul. He was 
there from 1614 to 1619. It was probably his first and only parish 
charge as a minister of the English Church. Here Mr. Lothropp 
labored faithfully as long as his judgment could approve the 
ritual and government of the church. But when he could no 
longer do this, we find him conscientiously renouncing his orders 



858 Charles Edward Lathrop. 



and asserting the right of still fulfilling a ministry to which his 
heart and his conscience had called him. Accordingly, in 1623, 
his decision is made. He bids adieu to the church of his youth, 
and with no misgivings, now in the fullness of his early man- 
hood, subscribes with a firm hand to the doctrines and espouses 
with a courageous heart the cause of the Independents. Hence- 
forth his lot is with conventicle men in his mother land and with 
the exiled founders of a great nation in a new world. The date 
of his leaving Egerton is 1623, and the next year he is called 
to succeed the Rev. Henry Jacob, an independent minister, 
who, having been for eight years the pastor of the First Inde- 
pendent Church in London, resigned his place to remove to 
Virginia. At that date the congregation of dissenters to which 
he ministered had no place of public worship, their worship 
itself being illegal. Only such as could meet the obloquy and 
ri.sk the danger of worshipping God in violation of human statute 
were likely to be found in that secret gathering. Yet in goodly 
numbers, in such places in Southwark as they could stealthily 
occupy, they held together, and were comforted and instructed 
by the minister of their choice. For not less than eight years 
they so worshipped. No threats of vengeance deterred, and no 
vigilance of officious ministers of the violated law detected, them. 
More watchful grew the minions of Laud. Keen-scented church 
hounds traversed all the narrow ways of the city whose most 
secret nooks could by any possibility admit even a small com- 
pany of the outlaws. One of the wiliest of these pursuivants of 
the bishop, Tomlinson by name, tracked Mr. Lothropp and his 
followers to their retreat. They had met for worship, as had been 
their wont, little thinking that it would be their last gathering 
with their beloved minister. How far they had gone in their 
service we shall probably never know. What words of cheer 
they had spoken or heard we may not repeat. Their private 
sanctuary, a room in the house of Mr. Humphrey Barnet, a 
brewer's clerk, in Black Friars, is suddenly invaded. Tomlinson 
and his ruffian band, with a show of power above their resistance, 
seize forty-two of their number, allowing only eighteen of them to 
escape, and made that 22d day of April, 1632, forever memorable 
to those suffering christians by handing them over in fetters to 



Charles Edward Lathrop. 859 



the executioners of a law which was made for godly men to 
break. In the old Clink prison, in Newgate, and in the Gate- 
house, all made for felons, these men, "of whom the world was 
not worthy," lingered for months. In the spring of 1634 all but 
Mr. Lothropp were released on bail. He, their leader, the chief 
offender, was deemed too dangerous to be set at liberty. Like 
the gifted Hooker, it was felt that his words and his example 
had "already more impeached the peace of our church" than the 
church could bear. "His genius will still haunte all the pulpits 
in ye country, when any of his scolers may be admitted to 
preach." And so his prison doors swung to again, and seemed to 
leave him no hope of release or escape. During these months a 
fatal sickness was preying upon his wife and bringing her fast 
toward her end. The " New England Memorial," by Nathaniel 
Morton, published in 1669, and then near enough the date of the 
incidents given to be a credible witness, gives us these touch- 
ing incidents of that imprisonment: "His wife fell sick, of which 
sickness she died. He procured liberty of the bishop to visit his 
wife before her death, and commended her to God by prayer, who 
soon gave up the ghost. At his return to prison his poor children, 
being many, repaired to the bishop at Lamberth and made known 
unto him their miserable condition, by reason of their good 
father's being continued in close durance, who commiserated 
their condition so far as to grant him liberty, who soon after came 
over into New England." In 1634 he arrived in Boston with 
that portion of his London flock who had accompanied him. He 
found already the preparations begun to welcome him to a new 
home in Scituate. At least nine pioneers had built their houses 
in that new settlement, and to it, with such of his people as were 
ready to accompany him, he repaired September 27, 1634. He 
remained in Scituate as the pastor of the church there until 1639, 
when he removed to Barnstable. During the fourteen years that 
he was pastor of the Barnstable church, such was his influence 
over the people that the power of the civil magistrate was not 
needed to restrain crime. No pastor was ever more beloved by 
his people ; none ever had a greater influence for good. To be- 
come a member of his church no applicant was compelled to sign 
a creed or confession of faith. He retained his freedom. He 



86o Charles Edward Lathrop. 

professed his faith in God and promised that it should be his 
constant endeavor to keep His commandments, to Hve a pure 
hfe, and to walk in love with the brethren. He died in Barn- 
stable November 8, 1653. 

Joseph Lothropp, son of Rev. John Lothropp, was born in Eng- 
land, probably in Lamberth, London, in 1624. He probably also 
came over to America with his father in 1634. He married, 
December 11, 1650, Mary Ansell. He settled and lived in Barn- 
stable, where his name on the local records shows him to have 
been an enterprising and honored man. He was a deputy for the 
town in the general court of the state for fifteen years, and for twen- 
ty-one years served as one of the selectmen of the town. On the 
organization of the county he was appointed the register of the pro- 
bate court, and recorded in 1666 the first deed put on record in the 
county. The court appointed him in 1653 to keep the ordinary 
of the town. He was admitted freeman June 8, 1655. In 1664 
we find him as acting constable, and in 1667 as receiver of excise. 
That he was also in the military line is shown in the titles of lieu- 
tenant and captain. He died in 1702. 

Hope Lothrop, son of Joseph Lothropp, was born July 15, 
1671 ; married, November 15, 1696, Elizabeth Lathrop, who was 
born in Barnstable November 15, 1677, a daughter of 
Melatiah Lothrop. They settled first in Barnstable, where he is 
enrolled among the townsmen in 1695, and where the eldest of 
their children were born. He subsequently removed to Fal- 
mouth, Mass., and still later to Connecticut. He died October 
29, 1736, and his wife died February 21, 1763. Melatiah La- 
throp, son of Hope Lothrop, was born February 20, 1714; mar- 
ried, probably in Tolland, where the record was made, Novem- 
ber 15, 1738, Mercy Hatch, daughter of Joseph Hatch, one of the 
pioneers of Tolland, where she was born Angust 23, 17 17. A 
record made by her son Josiah states that "this family, [that of 
his father Melatiah] commenced in Connecticut, whence they 
removed in 1755 into Dutchess county, N. Y., then town of 
Dover, where they were chiefly brought up." He died Septem- 
ber 5, 1787. Ezra Lathrop, son of Melatiah Lathrop, was born 
August 19, 175 1, in Kent, Conn.; married, 1779 (?), Miriam, 
daughter of "old Dea. Thurston," whose fame for piety was in 



Charles Edward Lathrop. 86 i 



all the churches; died February 12, 1825, in Ontario county, N. 
Y. Salmon Lathrop, son of Ezra Lathrop, was born in New 
Concord, Columbia county, N. Y., January 5, 178 1, and married, 
August 28, 1805, Aurelia Noble, eldest daughter of John and 
Lydia Noble, who were born in Benson, Vermont, July 18, 1790, 
and died in Carbondale, Pa., April 13, 1872. Salmon Lathrop, 
at an early period in his life, removed with his father's family to the 
town of Sherburne, Chenango county, N. Y., then a comparatively 
wild and unknown region of country. Here his youth was 
spent on his father's farm, clearing away the wilderness and 
developing the resources of that now most beautiful and pro- 
ductive region of the Empire state. He removed to Carbon- 
dale in 1827, and erected the first frame building in that place, 
being an addition to the log structure known for many years as 
the "log tavern." He died in Carbondale November 4, 1868. 
For the facts herein enumerated we are indebted to the Lo-La- 
throp Family Memoir, by Mrs. Julia M. Huntington, Ridgefield, 
Conn., 1884. 

Charles E. Lathrop, son of Salmon Lathrop, was born in 
Bloomingburg, Sullivan county, N. Y., March 5, 1827. He was 
educated in the schools of Carbondale and Wilkes-Barre, and 
read law with his brother, Dwight Noble Lathrop. He has 
practiced in this city, Carbondale, Scranton, Independence, Iowa, 
and Washington, D. C. He was educated as a printer, and was 
editor and publisher of different newspapers for about ten years. 
During these years he was prosecuting the study of law. He was 
a school director in Scranton in 1855, 1856 and 1857, clerk in navy 
department in Washington, D. C, 1861, 1862 and 1863, naval 
storekeeper, navy yard, Washington, D. C, 1863, 1864, 1865 and 

1866, superintendent of government printing, Washington, D. C, 

1867, 1868 and 1869, and superintendent of schools, Buchanan 
county, Iowa, 1859 and 1 860. He now resides in Carbondale. Mr. 
Lathrop married, February 18, 1849, Charlotte Dilley, the great- 
granddaughter of Richard Dilley, a native of Cape May county, 
New Jersey, who removed to Hanover, in this county, in 1784. 
His son, Richard Dilley, removed with his father to Hanover 
and lived at Buttonwood. His wife's name was Polly Voke. 
Jesse Dilley, son of Richard Dilley, was born in Hanover in 



862 Edward Newell Willard. 



1794. His wife was Hannah K. Luedcr, a daughter of Christian 
F. Lucder, who was born in Germany in 1769. He settled first 
in Northampton county, where he married Mary M. Ryswick, 
and from there removed to Hanover. The father of Mrs. La- 
throp was Jesse Dilley. Mr. and Mrs. Lathrop have a family 
of four children living — Helen Augusta Lathrop, wife of Ur- 
bane C. Rogers, Edward Dilley Lathrop, William Monroe La- 
throp, and Mary Jennette Lathrop. 



EDWARD NEWELL WH.LARD. 



Edward Newell Willard, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pa., November 17, 1857, is a descendant of Major 
Simon Willard, a native of the parish of Horsmonden, in the 
southwesterly part of Kent, England, where he was baptized 
April 5, 1605. He embarked from England in April, 1634, and 
arrived in Boston, Massachusetts Bay Colony, about the middle 
of the month of May. He was a merchant, and one of the most 
prominent of the early Puritans. The grandfather of E. N. Wil- 
lard was Jehiel Willard, of Madison, Conn., whose wife was Eunice 
Blatchley. The father of E. N. Willard was James Willard, also 
a native of Madison. The wife of James Willard, and mother of 
of E. N. Willard, was Susan Clanning, a daughter of Edward 
Clanning, of Newport, R. I. E. N. Willard was born in Mad- 
ison, April 2, 1835. He was educated in the common schools of 
his native town, and also at Lee's Academy, in Madison. He 
studied law with Ralph D. Smith, of Guilford, Conn., and subse- 
quently entered the New Haven (Conn.) Law School, from which 
he graduated. He was admitted to the New Haven county bar 
in September, 1857. He was sworn in as an attorney by Major 
General Alfred H. Terry, who was then clerk of the courts. Mr. 
Willard has been a resident of Scranton since his admission to 
the bar here, and is one of its most prominent attorneys and busi- 
ness men. Jn 1867 he was appointed register in bankruptcy for 
the twelfth congressional district, and has held the office since. 
He is president of the Scranton Savings Bank and Trust Com- 



Edward Newell Willard. 863 



pany, president of the Stowers Pork Packing and Provision Com- 
pany, president of the Bridge Coal Company, and a director and 
one-fifth owner of the Lackawanna Coal Company, Limited. He 
has served as notary public for nine years, attorney and secretary 
or the borough of Scranton four years, and for four years he was 
"attorney for the city of Scranton and secretary of select council 
from date of organization of the city. He is counsel and attorney 
for the Delav/are, Lackawanna & Western Railroad Company, the 
Pennsylvania Coal Company, the Hillside Coal & Iron Com- 
pany, the Pennsylvania Anthracite Coal Company, the Lacka- 
wanna Iron & Coal Company, the Scranton Steel Company, the 
Scranton Gas and Water Company, the New York, Susquehanna, 
& Western R. R. Co., and other corporations. On September i. 
1864, he entered the United States army as captain in the One 
Hundred and Twenty-Seventh Regiment of United States Colored 
Troops, and served in the army until December, 1865. After 
the surrender of General Lee, he was judge advocate in the 
Second Division, Twenty-Fifth Army Corps. Mr. Willard mar- 
ried, June 4, i860, Ellen Hower, a native of Lock Haven, Pa., a 
daughter of Cain Hower, a native of Roaring Creek, Columbia 
county, Pa. Mr. and Mrs. Willard have but one child — Nellie, 
wife of Everett Warren, of the Lackawanna county bar. 

Mr. Willard 's professional career, during all the years he has 
lived in Scranton, has been marked by great ability as an advo- 
cate, untiring zeal for his clients, and the most sterling integrity 
of character. These qualifications, together with his great indus- 
try, have enabled him easily to acquire a large and lucrative 
practice, which he has frequently refused to relinquish for judicial 
and other official positions. Among the many excellent traits of 
his character may be specially mentioned his kindness and con- 
sideration for younger members of the bar, many of whom have, 
in the most trying period of their professional career, been helped 
by his generosity. His nature is open, frank, and social. He 
carries about with him a hearty, good humor, which makes him 
a prime favorite with all classes ; aud he is especially and deser- 
vedly popular with the members of the bar, who, young and old, 
find in him a companion, a friend in need, a brother in the law, 
and hold for him the esteem which his manly qualities ever inspire. 



864 Paul Ross Weitzel. 



PAUL ROSS WEITZKL. 



Paul Ross Weitzel, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, August 17, 1858, is a descendant ofjohan Paul Weytzel, 
who emigrated, September 3, 1742, in the ship " Loyal Judith," 
James Cowie, captain, from Rotterdam, Holland. Some time 
between 1742 and 1750 Paul Weitzel and Charlotte, his wife, 
settled in the town of Lancaster, Pa. Here all their seven children 
were born. Paul was doubtless born before 17 17, as his name 
does not appear on the list of males between the ages of sixteen 
and fifty in Lancaster in 1776. He died about September, 1797. 
John Weitzel, second child of Paul and Charlotte Weitzel, was 
born in Lancaster, December 30, 1752. He received the rudi- 
ments of a good education with his brother, in his native town, 
and at an early age was sent to Philadelphia to learn the mer- 
cantile business. About 1771, when but nineteen years of age, 
he removed to Fort Augusta (near where the town of Sunbury, 
Pa., now stands), opening one of the earliest mercantile stores 
established at that point. When the war of the revolution began 
he became a very prominent actor in county affairs. In those 
days the county offices were held by the best men Before he 
was of age he was appointed, in 1772, one of the first county 
commissioners of Northumberland county. To this office he 
was reappointed January 22, 1776, and also under the constitution 
of 1790, in 1790, 1 79 1 and 1792. He was appointed justice of 
the peace for the same county, respectively March 9, 1774, July 
29, 1775, June 19, 1777, and June 20, 1789. The General Assem- 
bly appointed him, July 25, 1775, a" justice of the Court of Quar- 
ter Sessions, and of the county Court of Common Pleas for the 
county of Northumberland. He was also a member of the com- 
mittee of safety of the same county from February 8, 1776, to 
August 13, 1776. Judge Weitzel was a member of the provin- 
cial conference of June 18, 1776, as a deputy from the county of 
Northumberland. This conference was held in Philadelphia to 
take into consideration the resolutions of the continental con- 
gress recommending the total suppression of all authority under 



Paul Ross Weitzel. 865 



the king of Great Britain, and the adoption of such government 
as would best conduce to the happiness and safety of America. 
The conference immediately issued a call for a provincial con- 
vention for this purpose, to meet the following month. John 
Weitzel was appointed one of a committee at this conference to 
ascertain the number of members, and the proportion of representa- 
tion which should constitute the proposed convention. On July 
8 he was duly elected a representative to this convention from 
Northumberland county. On July 15, the youngest of the nine- 
ty-six delegates, being then not yet twenty-four years of age, he 
took his seat in that body, which gave to Pennsylvania the con- 
stitution of 1776. Judge Weitzel was also appointed a member 
of the Pennsylvania council of safety for Northumberland county 
from July 24, 1776, to March 13, 1777. He was appointed issu- 
ing commissary for the county, July 7, 1780, and contractor for 
furnishing provisions to the state troops from 1782 to 1784. 
Under the new constitution of 1776 Judge Weitzel was again 
appointed, June 19, 1789, one of the judges of the Court of Com- 
mon Pleas for Northumberland county, which office he held for 
seven years. He was a candidate for the state Assembly in 
1783, 1785 and 1793, but each time unsuccessfully. He died in 
1800. His first wife, whom he married June 15, 1781, was 
Tabitha Morris, daughter of John and Rose Morris, of Philadelphia. 
John Weitzel, first child of Hon. John and Tabitha (Morris) 
Weitzel, was born at Sunbury March 24, 1792. He was a millerand 
merchant at Sunbury, and a justice of the peace from 1806 to 1830. 
He married, in 1805, Elizabeth Lehr, of Germantown, Pa. She 
died in 1853 and he died October 9, 1835. Joseph Weitzel, first 
child of John and Elizabeth (Lehr) Weitzel, was born in Sun- 
bury, October 8, 1808. He continued the business in which his 
father was so long engaged, that of milling. He married, Octo- 
ber 10, 1 83 1, Sarah Woodrow, daughter of John and Sarah Wood- 
row, of Northumberland county. Paul Ross Weitzel, first child 
of Joseph and Sarah (Woodrow) Weitzel, was born September 
13, 1832, at Sunbury. He was educated at the select schools 
at Sunbury, and in Dickinson Seminary, at Williamsport, Pa. 
He studied law at Union Law School, at Easton, Pa., where he 
graduated L. L. B., in 1856. He practiced for a time at Sun- 



866 A. W. IUngs. 



bury and Maiich Chunk, locating in Scranton in 1871, where he 
has since resided. He married, January 18, 1859, at Wilkes- 
liarre, Fannie Edwards Boyd, daughter of Dr. Eben Little and 
Ruth Ann (Ellsworth) Boyd, of this city. Dr. Boyd was the son 
of Hon. James Boyd, of Boston, and grandson of Hon. Robert 
Boyd, of Kilmarnock, Scotland, who was the youngest son of 
William, ninth Lord Boyd, and first Earl of Kilmarnock, and his 
wife, Lady Jean Cunninghame, eldest daughter of William, ninth 
Earl of Glencarin. The English family is now represented by 
the Earl of Erroll. Mr. and Mrs. Weitzel have six children 
living — Paul Elmer, Cornelia Shepherd, Eben Boyd, Herbert 
Edwards, Fannie Eleanor, and Carrie Leonard Weitzel. 



A. W. BANGS. 



A. W. Bangs, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county 
August 31, 1858, is a native of Bethany, Wayne county, Pa., 
where he was born July 26, 1834. He was educated at the pub- 
lic schools in Honesdale, Pa., and studied law with D. N. Lathrop 
and Lewis Jones at Scranton. While in this county he practiced 
law at Pittston and Scranton. About i860 he removed to Le 
Sueur, Minn., where he resided for a number of years. He was 
county attorney for Le Sueur county for twelve years. He now 
resides in Grand Forks, Dakota Territory, where he has been 
county attorney, one of the school trustees for a number of years, 
is now a councilman of the city of Grand Forks, and is at present 
chairman of the democratic territorial committee of Dakota. He is 
also president of the Grand Forks Bar Association. He is the son 
of E'ijah K. Bangs, a native of Kortright, N. Y., where he was 
born in 1803, and who died in South Bend, Minn., in 1876. His 
wife was a native of Connecticut. The great-grandfather of A. 
W. Bangs was Lemuel Bangs. He resided in Stratfield, Conn., 
where his children were born. Mr. Bangs was an able man and 
a zealous whig during the revolution. He met with other whigs 
at Nichol's taven, parson Ross, also a strong whig, being of the 
number. During the discussions Lemuel Bangs said he would 



Henry Wilson. S67 



be willing to die and suffer eternal punishment if he could be the 
means of making America free. Mr. Ross replied, "It is a good 
thing to be zealous, but not to be too zealous. Where is my hat, 
I must be going?" Rev. Nathan Bangs, D. D., Heman Bangs 
and Rev. John Bangs were children of Lemuel Bangs, the latter 
being the grandfather of A. W. Bangs. A. W. Bangs married, 
in i860, Fally M. Baker, a daughter of Elnathan Baker, of Hyde 
Park, now city of Scranton. She died at Le Sueur in 1864. The 
following year he married Sara D. Plowman, a daughter of 
William Plowman, of Le Sueur, where he now resides, at the age 
of seventy-four years. He is a native of Ireland. Mr. Bangs 
has a family of seven children. His oldest son, Tracy R., is an 
attorney and a partner of his father, under the firm name of 
Bangs & Bangs. 



THOMAS M. ATHERTON. 



Thomas M. Atherton was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pennsylvania, February 28, 1859. He is a native of 
Kingston township, and is the son of Anson Atherton .In 1857 
he was elected register of wills of Luzerne county, but re- 
signed his office in i860, before the expiration of his term. He 
then went w^est and has resided for many years at Osage, 
Mitchell county, Iowa. He has been for many years connected 
with the Mitchell Coimty Pi-ess, which was published first by 
Mr. Atherton, then by Atherton & Son, and now by Atherton 
& Company. He married, previous to his removal from here, 
Elizabeth Gilmore, daughter of Stephen Gilmore. He is a 
brother-in-law of the late M. E. Jackson, of the Luzerne bar. 



HENRY WILSON. 



Henry Wilson, who was admitted to the bar of Luzsrne county 
August 19, 1859, is a descendant of Joseph Wilson, a native of 
Rhode Island. His son, Isaac Wilson, was the father of Phillips 
Wilson, who was born in Pittston township, in this county, Feb- 



868 George Abisha Woodward. 



ruary 8, 1809. He was the brother of John Wilson, M. D., 
father of Milo J. Wilson, who was admitted to the Luzerne county 
bar April 9, 1868. (See sketch of Milo J. Wilson.) Phillips 
Wilson was the father of Henry Wilson. The wife of Phillips 
Wilson was Frances M. Lines, a native of Franklin township, 
Susquehanna county, where she was born November 13, 1809. 
She was the daughter of Bellisle Lines, and Laura Lines, his 
wife. Henry Wilson was born October 7, 1834, in Franklin 
township. He was educated in the public schools of Carbon- 
dale, Pa., and at the Lackawanna Institute in that city. He 
read law with D. N, Lathrop, in Carbondale, and practiced his 
profession for a few years in that city, and then removed to Hones- 
dale, Pa., where he now resides. He was at one time one of the 
associate judges of Wayne county. Pa. Mr. Wilson married, 
September 6, 1863, Sarah A. Belcher, a daughter of William 
Belcher, who was a native of the state of New York. His wife 
was Mary Ann Carr, a native of Wyoming county. Pa. Mr. and 
Mrs. Wilson have a family of two children — Robert Bruce Wilson 
and Lena Kesler Wilson. The latter is an adopted child. 



GEORGE ABISHA WOODWARD. 



George Abisha Woodward, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county August 26, 1859, 's a native of Wilkes-Barre, Pa., 
where he was born February 14, 1835. He is a son of the late 
George W. Woodward, of the Luzerne bar. (See page 97). 
George A. Woodward was educated at the Wilkes-Barre Acad- 
emy, Bolmar's school, at West Chester, Pa., Wyoming Seminary, 
Kingston, Pa., and Trinity College, Hartford, Conn., graduating 
from the latter institution in the class of 1855. He read law 
with Emmons and Van Dyke, and Hon. Nelson Cross, at Mil- 
waukee, Wis., and was admitted to the Supreme Court at 
Madison, Wis., in December, 1856. He has practiced at Mil- 
waukee, Wilkes-Barre and Philadelphia, Pa. He was city attorney 
of Milwaukee from May, 1858, to May, 1859. During the 



Andrew Jackson Smith. 869 

late civil war he entered the service as captain, and was promoted 
successively to major, lieutenant colonel and colonel in the volun- 
teer service. He entered the regular army as lieutenant colonel, 
and is now colonel in the same service. He is on the retired list 
from wounds received. He married, February 14, 1867, Char- 
lotte Treat Chittenden. Her father was Asahel Chittenden, who 
was born in May, 1797, in Waterbury, Conn., removed to Colum- 
bus, Ohio, in 1829, and died there in 1880. Her paternal grand- 
father, also named Asahel, was born in 1764, probably at 
Guilford, Conn. Her father was of the sixth generation in 
descent from William Chittenden, who in 1639 emigrated from 
the parish of Cranbrook, in Kent, England, landed in New Haven, 
Conn., and settled in Guilford, of which he was one of the orig- 
inal proprietors. He "was the principal military man of the plan- 
tation, bearing the title of lieutenant." Savage states (I, 381) that 
"he had been a soldier in the English army in the Netherlands, in 
the Thirty Years' War, and that hs reached the rank of major. 
He was a magistrate of the plantation, and deputy to the General 
Court until his death." The mother of Mrs. Woodward was Har- 
riet Harpin Treat. She was the daughter of Major Stephen A, 
Treat, of Milford, Conn., who was a descendant of Governor Treat, 
one of the early colonial governors of Connecticut, during whose 
administration occured the incident of the hiding of the charter in 
the oak. She married Mr. Chittenden in 1829, and died at Colum- 
bus, Ohio, in 1 872. Colonel and Mrs. Woodward have two children 
— Henry Sterne Woodward, born in Nashville, Tenn., September 
2, 1868, now in Yale University, and Sarah Elizabeth Woodward, 
born at Fort Fetterman, Wyoming Territory, November 2, 1871. 
Colonel Woodward resides at Washington, D. C. 



ANDREW JACKSON SMITH. 




Andrew Jackson Smith, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pa., January 2, i860, is a descendant of Thomas 
Smith, a native of East Haddam, Conn., who removed to Wyo- 



870 Andrew Jackson Smith. 



ming in 1783, and located on the east side of the Susquehanna 
river, near Nanticoke. The great ice freshet of 1784, which bore 
down h'om the upper waters of the Susquehanna such vast masses 
of ice, overflowing the plains and destroying the property along 
the river, swept his farm of all its harvest product, leaving it with 
little else than its gullied soil. Hardly had his recuperative 
energies again made cheerful his fireside when the "pumpkin 
freshet," as it was called, from the countless number of pumpkins 
it brought down the swollen river, again inundated its banks, 
sweeping away houses, barns, mills, fences, stacks of hay and 
grain, cattle, flocks of sheep and droves of swine in the general 
destruction, and spreading desolation where but yesterday, autumn 
promised abundance. Mr. Smith, not stoic enough to receive the 
visits of such floods with indifference, moved up in the "gore" 
(now Old Forge township, Lackawanna county), in 1786, "for," 
said the old gentleman, " I want to get above high water mark." 
His daughter Hannah married Abraham Bradley, who was ad- 
mitted to the bar of Luzerne county September 2, 1788. 

Deodat Smith, son of Thomas Smith, was born in Con- 
necticut, and came with his father to Wyoming in 1783. He 
was one of the commissioners of Luzerne county during the years 
1825, 1826 and 1827. On April 6, 1820, he was appointed by 
Governor William Findley a justice of the peace for the townships 
of Pittstown, Providence, Exeter, Blakely and Northmoreland. 
His wife was Rachel Allsworth, a daughter of William AUsworth, 
a Yankee, who, living on the extreme border of the state of New 
York, was induced to leave and emigrate to "Nine Partners," N. 
Y., in 1782. He was a shoemaker by trade, and, learning how 
scarce they were in Westmoreland, determined to migrate thither. 
Taking the old Connecticut road, which passed from Orange 
county. New York, to the Yankee possessions at Wyoming, he 
reached what is now Dunmore, Lackawanna county, just at the 
edge of evening, in May, 1783. Surroundedby the shades of night, 
he lit his bright fires around his covered wagon containing his fam- 
ily, to intimidate the horde of wild cats and wolves swarming in the 
chaparral toward ths Roaring Brook, while the surrounding trees, 
fallen and rolled in a cabin shape, and covered with the hmbs 
and poles, became tolerably comfortable. At one time a bear 



Andrew Jackson Smith, 871 



came to the cabin of Allsworth, just at the edge of evening, and, 
jumping into the pen, seized the old sow in its bushy, brawny 
arms, and, in spite of every effort of those daring to pursue, car- 
ried the noisy porker off to the woods towards httle Roaring 
Brook. The httle pigs, frightened but safe, were left in the pen. 
For greater safety the barn yard, or the strong inclosure into 
which cattle and sheep were driven at night, was built contigu- 
ously to the rear of the cabin. At another time, during the 
absence of Mr. Allsworth, a large panther came to this yard in 
the afternoon in search of food. This animal is as partial to veal 
as a bear is to pork. A calf was in the pen at the time. On this 
the panther sprang, when Mrs. Allsworth, hearing an unusual 
bleat, seized the huge tongs standing in the corner of the fire- 
place and actually drove the yellow intruder away without its 
intended meal. The same night, however, the calf was killed by 
the panther, which, in return, was the same week secured in a 
bear-trap and slain. For sixteen years there was no near settler 
to Mr. Allsworth. He married, in early life, Esther Peltebone, 
a daughter of Noah Pettebone, who came to Wyoming in 1769. 
(See page 460.) 

Thomas Smith, son of Deodat Smith, was born May i, 1803, 
and was a native of Old Forge. He resided in Waverly, Luzerne 
(now Lackawanna) county, Pa., nearly all his lifetime. He was 
an active and successful business man, and followed the occupa- 
tion of a surveyor. In 1856 he was a member of the legislature of 
Pennsylvania. He was killed in a railroad accident at Shickshinny 
in 1865. He was commissioned by Governor George Wolf, on Jan- 
uary 14, 1834, a justice of the peace for the townships of Abington, 
Greenfield, Nicholson, and a part of Falls. The two latter town- 
ships now lie in Wyoming county. In 1850 and 1855 he was elect- 
ed a justice of the peace for Abington township, and in 1859 ^"d 
1864 a justice of the peace for the borough of Waverly. He was 
one of the original incorporators of Madison Academy at Wa- 
verly, and was also one of the original commissioners of the 
Leggett's Gap Railroad, now a part of the Delaware, Lacka- 
wanna and Western Railroad system. The wife of Thomas 
Smith was Mary Dean, a granddaughter of Jonathan Dean, a 
native of East Greenwich, R. I. He was an agent for the holders 



8/2 Benjamin Franklin Pursel. 

of the land under the Connecticut claimants, and surveyed the 
township of Abington for its owners, and is said to have ridden 
one horse nineteen times on his trips from Connecticut and Rhode 
Island to Wyoming. He died in Abington early in the century. 
Jeffrey Dean, son of Jonathan Dean, was the father of Mrs. 
Smith. Mr. and Mrs. Smith left four children — Jane S. Smith; 
Emily A. Smith, now the wife of Rev. W. N. Clarke, D. D., a 
Baptist clergyman, of Hamilton, N. Y.; George T. Smith, a mem- 
ber of the Luzerne county bar, now deceased ; and Andrew J. 
Smith, the subject of this sketch, who was born at Waverly, Lu- 
zerne (now Lackawanna) county, Pa., December 15, 1837. He 
was educated at Madison Academy and the State and National 
Law School at Poughkeepsie, N. Y., graduating from the latter 
institution at the age of twenty with the degree of LL. B. He 
then entered the law office of G. B. and L. R. Nicholson, in this 
city, and studied with them until his admission to our bar. He 
then opened an office in Wilkes-Barre, and in the spring of 186 1 
entered the army. On October 23, 1863, he was promoted to 
second lieutenant of Company K, One Hundred and Eighth 
Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers (Eleventh Cavalry), and on 
April 8, 1864, to first lieutenant of same company. His father 
died soon after, and he came home to take charge of his business 
interests. Mr. Smith has been a justice of the peace of his na- 
tive borough for nineteen years, and, at various times, has filled 
every borough office therein. He married, January 31, 1859, 
Josephine A. Green, a daughter of William C. Green, whose wife 
was Aurelia Stone, and granddaughter of Henry Green, M. D. 
Mrs. Smith died February ii, 1874. He has a family of three 
children — Mary Nicholson Smith, Grace Josephine Smith and 
Thomas Bradley Smith. Mr. Smith resides in Waverly, and is 
still a widower. 



BENJAMIN FRANKLIN PURSEL. 



Benjamin Franklin Pursel was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county. Pa., Februaiy 20, i860, on a certificate of admission from 
Clinton county. Pa. He remained in this city but a few months. 
His present residence' is Kansas City, Mo, 



Charles Wesley Todd. 873 



CHARLES WESLEY TODD. 



Charles Wesley Todd was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., April 14, i860. His grandfather was John Todd, of 
Philadelphia. He was a soldier in the war of 181 2. Simon 
Todd, son of John Todd, was born in Philadelphia in 1802. In 
1824 he married Margaret Forester, daughter of William For- 
ester, a native of Scotland, who for a number of years com- 
manded a ship sailing between the East Indies and New York 
He became the husband of Leah Thomas, who was born in Vir- 
ginia in 1 77 1. Her father was educated at Oxford, and was a 
distinguished linguist. His wife was a Knapp, whose parents 
were among the first settlers in Long Island. Mr. Thomas was 
on intimate terms with Washington during the revolutionary war. 
Leah said that the general was often a guest at her father's 
house, and that she had been led by the hand as her father 
walked and talked with him. When she became the wife of 
William Forester, in 1794, she removed to New York, where she 
became the mother of two daughters, Mary and Margaret. The 
husband, in 1801, while on a honieward bound voyage, in a 
perilous storm, was lost with his ship and all on board. The 
widow with her two children subsequently removed to Philadel- 
phia, where, after the lapse of years, the younger daughter became 
the wife of Simon Todd. In 1829 Simon Todd and his wife 
removed to Sterling, Wayne county. Pa. Charles Wesley Todd, 
son of Simon Todd, was born July 22, 1832, in Sterling, Pa. 
He was educated at the public schools of his native place, and at 
Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa. He was a teacher in the 
public schools of this city for about a year and a half He read 
law with Hendrick B. Wright and Samuel P. Longstreet in this 
city. On April 19, i860, he entered the ministry of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal church, uniting with the Wyoming Annual Con- 
ference. After serving several charges through a period of eight 
years, he was transferred from Hawley, Pa., to Oregon City, 
Oregon, in which region he continued preaching until 1877, when, 
on account of the ill health of his wife, he returned to Penn- 



8/4 David Chase Harrington. 

sylvania, and subsequently reunited with the Wyoming Con- 
ference. Mr. Todd married, December 25, 1861, Anna M. Pur- 
sel, daughter of WilHam Purse), formerly of this city, but at the 
time of the marriage a resident of Buckingham, Bucks county, 
Pa. Mr. and Mrs. Todd have a family of four children — Fannie 
Forester, wife of A. C. Giddings, of Christ Church, New Zeal- 
and, William Pursel Todd, married to Dila Dunn, of Uniondale, 
Pa., Mary Bensley, wife of S. H. Norton, of Uniondale, and 
Charles Forester Todd, who was born June 29, 1884. Rev. C. 
W. Todd now resides at Carley Brook, Wayne county, Pa. 



DAVID CHASE HARRINGTON. 



David Chase Harrington, who was admitted to the bar of 
Luzerne county, Pa., May 7, i860, is a son of James Harrington, 
who was born in Herkimer county, N. Y., October 17, 18 10. 
His mother, Emeline H. Harrington, was born February 20, 
181 1, in Lexington, now Jewett, Greene county, N. Y. She was 
a daughter of David Chase, a native of Martha's Vineyard, Mass., 
where he was born March i, 1786. D. C. Harrington was born 
at Jewett, N. Y., December 8, 1834. He was educated in the 
common schools, and read law with George D. Haughawout, in 
Scranton. He commenced the practice of the law at Scranton, 
and in 1862 removed to Wilkes-Barre, and in 1870 to Philadel- 
phia, where he now resides. He married, September 11, 1856, 
Ann Jeanette Kemmerer, a daughter of David Kemmerer, who 
was born near Stroudsburg, Pa. Mr. and Mrs. Harrington have 
a family of nine children — Harriett E. Harrington, Carrie E., wife 
of Charles W. Reichard, Lillie J., wife of William L. Connell, 
Blandine I. Harrington, Walter E. Harrington, married to Maude 
Hastings, Curtis J. Harrington, Frederick A. Harrington, Dora 
Harrington and P^thel Harrington. 



Alfred Hand. 875 



ALFRED HAND. 



Alfred Hand, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania, May 8, i860, is a descendant of John Hand, 
who was on the whaling list of 1644, in Southampton. At the 
time of the settlement of East Hampton, in 1648, he was one 
of the company from Southampton to found a new plantation. 
He was, according to the East Hampton records, originally 
from Stanstede, and according to other accounts from Maid- 
stone, in the county of Kent, England. (See page 313.) He 
died in 1663. He had a son Stephen, who died in 1693, 
who had a son Stephen, born in 1661, of Wainscot in 1684, and 
died in 1740, who had a son John, who had a son John, born in 
1701, and died in 1755, who had a son John, born September 
31, 1754, (whose brother, Aaron Hand, was the father of Rev. 
Aaron Hicks Hand, the father of Isaac P. Hand, of the Lu- 
zerne bar), who had a son John, who died May 30, 1809. He 
was a native of Athens, Greene county, New York. His wife, 
whom he married March 6, 1778, was Mary Jones. Ezra Hand, 
son of John Hand, was born in Rensselaerville, Albany county, 
New York, August 9, 1799. He married, June 2, 1829, Cath- 
arine Chapman, who was born February ii, 1808, at Durham, 
Greene county, New York. She was a descendant of Robert 
Chapman, who came from Hull, in England, to Boston, in 1635, 
from which place he sailed, in company with Lyon Gardiner, 
for Say-Brook, Connecticut, November 3, as one of the com- 
pany of twenty men who were sent over by Sir Richard Sal- 
tonstall to take possession of a large tract of land and make 
settlements near the mouth of the Connecticut river, under the 
patent of Lord Say and Seal. He is supposed to have been 
about eighteen years of age. After the Indians were subdued, 
deeming it safe to form plantations at a distance from the fort, 
they proceeded to clear up the forests and form a permanent 
settlement. For about ten years after leaving England he 
kept a journal, which was burned about twelve years after 
the establishment of the fort. This is to be regretted. He 
was one of the particular friends of Colonel George Fenwick. 



Zy6 Alfred Hand. 



That he was a man of influence in the town of Say-Brook, is 
evident from the fact that for many years he held the office of 
town clerk and clerk of the Oyster River quarter, and filled 
many other important stations. He was for many years com- 
missioner for Say-Brook, and was elected as their deputy to 
the General Court forty-three times, and assistant nine times. 
He was therefore a member of t'he legislature of the state at 
more sessions than any other man from the settlement of Say- 
Brook to the present time. The colony records also show that 
each of his three sons were representatives to the legislature; 
the eldest, twenty-two sessions, the second one, eighteen ses- 
sions, the third, twenty-four sessions. Robert Chapman seems 
to have been a soldier. Lieutenant Colonel Gardiner, in his His- 
tory of the Pequot War, speaks of him as a sentinel in a skirmish 
on the neck, February 22, 1637, with the Indians, and once as 
engaged in beating samp. It appears from the records of 
Say-Brook, that Robert Chapman was a very large landholder 
in the towns of Say-Brook and East Haddam. He also owned 
a very large tract of land in Hebron, leaving at his decease to 
each of his three sons, fifteen hundred acres in that town, 
which he received as one of the legatees of Uncas and his 
sons. He was a man of exemplary piety, and but a short 
time previous to his decease he wrote an address to his children, 
who were all members of the church, in which, it is said, he 
exhorted them to a devoted life and to abide by the covenant 
into which they had entered with God and his church. He 
died October 13. 1687. His wife, Ann Blith or Bliss, whom he 
married April 29, 1642, died November 20, 1685. Robert 
Chapman, the second son of Robert Chapman, was born in 
September, 1646, at Say-Brook, and was extensively engaged 
in agriculture. He owned, at the time of his decease, not less 
than two thousand acres of land in Say-Brook, East Haddam 
and Hebron, as appears from the probate records at New 
London. The town records, as well as the records of the sec- 
retary of state, abundantly show that he was a man of ex- 
tensive influence in civil affairs. He was for many years clerk 
of Oyster River quarter, and commissioner and surveyor for 
the town of Say-Brook. But a short time after his father's de- 
cease, he was elected a representative to the state legislature, 



Alfred Hand. 877 



which office he filled at eighteen sessions. The estimation in 
which he was held by the church is evinced by the fact that 
they appointed him as their delegate to the assembly which 
formed the Say- Brook platform in 1708, a work which for 
over a century and a half has served to preserve the purity 
and order of the Congregational churches of Connecticut. To 
have been a member of that body is a higher honor than could 
have been conferred by any merely civil trust. Mr. Chapman 
was twice married, first to Sarah Griswold, a daughter of 
Lieutenant Francis Griswold, of Norwich, by whom he had nine 
children. He married second, Mary Sheather, relict of Samuel 
Sheather, of Killingworth. By her he had four children. He 
died suddenly in the court room, at Hartford, Connecticut, 
soon after the opening of the November sessions in 171 1. His 
tombstone stands in the old burial gi-ound in Hartford, in the 
rear of the Center church, about a rod north of the monument, 
on which are inscribed the names of the first settlers of Hart- 
ford, with this inscription: "Here lyeth the body of Robert 
Chapman, who departed this life November ye loth, 1711. 
Aged 65 years." Benjamin Chapman, son of Robert Chapman 
by his second wife, was born March i, 1695, and married a lady 
whose baptismal name was Lydia. They had seven children. 
The record of their marriage and decease has not been found. 
Benjamin Chapman, son of Benjamin Chapman, was born at 
Say-Brook November 8, 1725. He was twice married, first 
to Priscilla Jones, second to Hannah Kirtland. The date of 
neither marriage has been found, nor the respective time of 
their decease. He had eight children. Benjamin Chapman, 
son of Benjamin Chapman, was born at Say-Brook Febru- 
ary 22, 1769. He married widow Lydia Cochrane March 29, 
1792, who died at the age of ninety-nine years. By her he 
had six daughters. He removed to Durham in June, 1793. 
He was an exemplary christian and for many years an elder of 
the Presbyterian church of Durham, where he died February 
2, 1842. His daughter Catharine was the wife of Ezra Hand. 
Alfred Hand, son of Ezra Hand, was born at Honesdale, Penn- 
sylvania, March 26, 1835, ^"<^ graduated from. Yale College in 
the class of 1857. He read law with William Jessup and Wil- 
liam H. Jessup, at Montrose, Pennsylvania, and was admitted 



878 Alfred Hand. 



to the Susquehanna county bar November 21, 1859. He has 
practiced in the courts of Susquehanna, Luzerne and Lacka- 
wanna counties and in the Supreme Court of the state. Shortly- 
after his admission to the bar of Susquehanna county he re- 
moved to Scranton, where he has been one of its most active 
and useful citizens. He has been a director of the People's 
Street Railway of Luzerne county, a director in the Jefferson 
Railroad Company, a director in the Dickson Manufacturing 
Company, a director, and president for eight years, of the Third 
National Bank of Scranton, a director in the First National 
Bank of Scranton, a director in the Lackawanna Mills, presi- 
dent and director of the Lackawanna Hospital, president of 
the Pennsylvania Oral School for Deaf Mutes, a trustee of La- 
fayette College, Easton, Pa., president and director of the 
Young Mens' Christian Association of Scranton, a director in 
the Oxford, New Jersey, Iron and Nail Company, a director in 
the Davis Oil Company of New York, a director in the Lack- 
awanna Valley Coal Company, and other corporations. He is 
also a member of the coal firm of William Connell and Com- 
pany. Mr. Hand was appointed by Governor Hoyt, March 4, 
1879, an additional law judge for the eleventh judicial district 
of Pennsylvania (Luzerne and Lackawanna counties), and in 
the election of that year he was elected and commissioned 
additional law judge for the forty-fifth district (Lackawanna 
county), from January, 1880, to January, 1890. On July 31, 
1888, he was appointed by Governor Beaver a judge of the Su- 
preme Court of Pennsylvania, to fill the vacancy caused by the 
death of Justice Trunkey, and on the same day he resigned 
his position as judge of Lackawanna county. Mr. Hand has 
been for a number of years an elder in the First Presbyterian 
church of Scranton. He has been frequently a member of 
the Presbytery and at four sessions a member of the General 
Assemibly of the Presbyterian church. He is also president 
of the Lackawanna County Bible Society. Mr. Hand married, 
September 11, 1861, Phebe A. Jessup, a daughter of Hon. Wil- 
liam Jessup, of Montrose. She died April 25, 1872. Mr. Hand 
married a second time, November 26, 1873, Helen E. Sander- 
son, a native of Williamstown, Massachusetts. She is the 
daughter of Frederick Sanderson, of Beloit, Wisconsin. Mr. 



Frederick Lyman Hitchcock. 879 

Hand has eight children living — Horace E. Hand, a graduate 
of Yale College in the class of 1884, a member of the law firm 
of Jessups & Hand, of Scranton; William J. Hand, a graduate 
of Yale College in the class of 1887, a law student; Alfred 
Hand, a graduate of Yale College in the class of 1888, who is 
now taking a medical course; Harriet J. Hand, Charlotte 
Hand, Miles T. Hand, Helen S. Hand and Ruth B. Hand 



FREDERICK LYMAN HITCHCOCK. 



Frederick Lyman Hitchcock, who was admitted to the bar of 
Luzerne county. Pa., May 16, i860, is a descendant of one of the 
old Puritan families, who founded the New Haven colony. 
The Hitchcocks wereinWallingford, Conn., as early as 1675, and 
in New Haven much earlier. Peter Hitchcock, the grandfather 
of the subject of our sketch, was a native of Claremont, N. H., 
and his son, Daniel Hitchcock, was born in Wallingford. The 
mother of F. L. Hitchcock, and the wife of Daniel Hitchcock, was 
Mary Peck, a daughter of Ward Peck, a soldier in the revolu- 
tionary army, who served throughout the war. He was a nephew, 
and named after Major General Artemus Ward, the predecessor 
of General Washington in command of the continental armies. 
Ward Peck was but sixteen years of age when the war broke out. 
His brothers had all entered the army, and he had tried to enlist, 
but had been rejected because he was too small. He went away 
and procured a large pair of boots and stuffed them with cloths 
until he could raise himself enough to reach the stick which was 
held over the heads of recruits, and was accepted, notwithstand- 
ing his extreme youth. He was in nearly all the battles of the 
revolution, including Trenton, where he marched barefooted, his 
boots beine worn out. The route of the American army, he 
said, could be followed by the blood from the feet of such as he. 
He was at Valley Forge, and at Brandy wine, and was one of the four 
who bore LaFayette, wounded, from the field. He was remem- 
bered by the latter, who, on his visit to the United States, showed 



88o Frederick Lyman Hitchcock. 

him marked gratitude and attention. F. L. Hitchcock was born 
in Waterbury, Conn., April i8, 1837, and was educated in the 
public schools of his native state. When quite a young man he 
removed to Scranton and studied law with Samuel Sherrerd, of 
Scranton, and E. L. Dana, of this city. He practiced his profes- 
sion until August 22, 1862, when he entered the army as adju- 
tant of the One Hundred and Thirty-Second Regiment of Penn- 
sylvania Volunteers. He was in the battles of South Mountain, 
Antietam and Fredericksburg in 1862, and Chancellorsville in 
1863. He was twice wounded, and left for dead at Fredericks- 
burg. He was mentioned by Lieutenant Colonel Charles Al- 
bright, in his report of the battle, as follows : " The command was 
meager in officers ; neither the colonel nor major was present, and 
just as the regiment was moving off to the bloody struggle. 
Adjutant F. L. Hitchcock, who had been absent on sick leave 
came to my aid, and assisted me greatly. He conducted himself 
with great gallantry and bravery, was wounded in two places, but 
is on duty now. His example on and off the battle field is wor- 
thy of imitation." The following mention of him is made by 
Lieutenant Colonel V. M. Wilcox, commanding One Hundred and 
Thirty-Second Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers, in his report of 
the battle of Antietam, September 17, 1862: "I cannot here 
too highly express my thanks and admiration for the assis- 
tance rendered me by Major Charles Albright and Adjutant 
F. L. Hitchcock. They never left the field for a moment, but 
by their coolness and bravery assisted me greatly in inspir- 
ing the men with that courage which it was necessary for men 
to possess under so severe a fire as that to which they were sub- 
jected." On January 24, 1863, he was promoted to major, and 
as such commanded his regiment at Chancellorsville. He was 
mustered out with his regiment May 24, 1863. In December 
following, he was examined by Major General Casey's examining 
board, and was awarded a commission as lieutenant colonel of 
colored troops, and entered on duty at once, and organized 
the Twenty-Fifth Regiment U. S. colored troops, at Philadel- 
phia. He was commissioned colonel early in 1864, and served 
in the defenses at Fort Pickens and Pensacola, Florida, until 
December, 1865. During most of this time he held the posi- 



Frederick Lyman Hitchcock. 88 i 



tion of inspector general of the district of West Florida, in 
addition to his duties as colonel. His only brother, Edwin 
Sherman Hitchcock, enlisted in the Second Connecticut Volun- 
teers, in the three months' service, under Colonel Alfred H. 
Terry, in May, 1861, was commissioned captain in Seventh 
Connecticut Volunteers in the fall of same year, under same col- 
onel, and was killed under circumstances of great gallantry at the 
battle of James Island, in June, 1862. F. L. Hitchcock was 
elected the first clerk of the Mayor's Court of the city of Scran- 
ton, in 1866, and in 1878 was appointed the first prothonotary of 
Lackawanna county, and was secretary of the Scranton board of 
trade in 1869, 1871, 1872 and 1873. He was one of the three 
ruling elders who were elected and ordained at the organi- 
zation of the Second Presbyterian church of Scranton in 1874. 
During his eldership in the Second church he represented the 
Presbytery of Lackawanna as one of the la>^ delegates in the 
General Assembly of the Presbyterian church of the United 
States, which met in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1875. He was super- 
intendent of the Sunday school of the Second church for two 
years, continuing in that office until his removal to Green Ridge, 
a suburb of the city of Scranton, in 1881, when he severed 
his membership with that church and united with the Green 
Ridge Presbyterian church. He was superintendent of a flour- 
ishing mission Sunday school for four years prior to his connec- 
tion with the Second church. In 1883 he was elected superin- 
tendent of the Green Ridge Presbyterian Sunday school, which 
position he still occupies. He was elected an elder in the Green 
Ridge church in 1888, and is still serving in that office. He was 
president of the Young Men's Christian Association during the 
years 1875, 1876 and 1877. and has also been treasurer of the same 
institution. Mr. Hitchcock married, January 24, 1864, Caroline 
Neal Kingsbury. Her great-grandfather was Deacon Ebenezer 
Kingsbury, of Coventry, Conn. He was a member of the Con- 
necticut legislature for thirty-eight years, a military officer of rank, 
and man of note in the community in which he lived. Her grand- 
father. Rev. Ebenezer Kingsbury, was a native of Coventry, Conn. 
He graduated from Yale College in 1783, and studied theology 
with Dr. Backus, of Somers, Conn. He was pastor of the Con- 



882 Frederick Lvman Hitchcock. 



gregational church at Jericho Centre, Vermont, when he visited 
Harford, Susquehanna county. Pa., and received a call to settle 
February 21, 1810. He was installed in August following, and 
continued his pastoral labors there for seventeen years. He trav- 
eled over a large part of the counties of Susquehanna, Bradford 
and Wayne, on horseback, by marked trees and bridle paths, 
preaching in log cabins, barns and school houses, of which there 
were a very few at the time, and assisted at the formation of 
nearly all the churches in that region. He died at Harford in 1 842. 
The wife of Rev. Ebenezer Kingsbury was Hannah Williston, a 
daughter of Rev. Noah Williston, who was born in 1733, gradu- 
ated from Yale College in 1757, ordained in West Haven, Conn., in 
1760, and was for fifty-two years pastor of the West Haven Congre- 
gational church, and died there, aged eighty years. His wife was 
Hannah Payson, of Pomfret, Conn. The eldest son of Rev. 
Noah Williston Was Rev. Payson Williston, who was for forty 
years pastor of the Congregational church at Easthampton, Mass. 
Hon. Samuel Williston was founder of Williston Seminary, at 
Easthampton, to which he gave ;$2 50,000. He was also a son of Rev. 
Noah Williston. The father of Mrs. Frederick L. Hitchcock was 
also named Ebenezer Kingsbury. He was born in Vermont, 
June 13, 1804. At six years of age he came with his parents to 
Harford, Pa. He studied law with William Jessup, at Montrose, 
and was admitted to the bar September 2, 1828. In 1830 he was 
appointed deputy attorney general for Susquehanna county. He 
removed to Honesdale, Pa., in 1833, where he resided until his 
death, in 1844. From 1833 to 1840 he was editor and proprietor 
of the Wayne county Herald. From 1837 ^^ 1840 he repre- 
sented Luzerne, Monroe, Pike and Wayne counties in the state 
senate, and in the latter year he was speaker of the senate. He 
married, in 1829, Elizabeth Harlow Fuller, a daughter of Edward 
Fuller, born in Plymouth (formerly Plymouth Rock), Mass. He 
was a descendant of one of the Fullers who came over in the 
Mayflower. His wife was Hannah West, a native of Norwich, 
Conn. They had six children, of which Mrs. Hitchcock, the 
youngest, Henry A. Kingsbury, general superintendent of stores of 
the Lackawanna Iron & Coal Company, Scranton, and Edward 
Payson Kingsbury, late controller of the city of Scranton, and 



Aretus Heermans Winton. 883 



present secretary and treasurer of the Scranton Steel Company, 
only survive. Mr. and Mrs. Hitchcock have had a family of 
seven children — Edwin Sherman Hitchcock, Frederick Kings- 
bury Hitchcock, Henry Payson Hitchcock. Lizzie Fuller Hitch- 
cock, John Partridge Hitchcock, Mary Peck Hitchcock, and 
Carrie Guilford Hitchcock. All are living except Frederick 
Kingsbury Hitchcock, who died, aged 3 years, in 1872. 



JOHN HANDLEY. 



John Handley was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, Pa., 
Augrust 21. i860. He commenced the study of the law at the Co- 
lumbia College Law School, and finished his reading at Washing- 
ton , D. C, and Avas admitted to the Supreme Court ofthe District of 
Columbia on motion of ex-Mayor Barrett, of that city. Soon 
after his admission he removed to Scranton, and immediately 
commenced the practice of his profession. In 1874, when Mr. 
Handley was less than forty years of age, he received the democratic 
nomination for additional law judge of Luzerne county, and was 
elected over his republican competitor, Edwin S. Osborne. Upon 
the expiration of his term, in 1884, he was a candidate in Lacka- 
wanna county for the same position, but, owing to dissensions in 
his party, was defeated, the vote standing — Robert W. Archbald, 
republican, 7929; John Handley, democrat, 5942, and Edward 
Merrifield, democrat, 2564. After the expiration of his term on 
the bench Mr. Handley retired from practice. 



ARETUS HEERMANS WLNTON. 



Aretus Heermans Winton was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county. Pa., August 22, i860. His father is William W. Winton, 
of Scranton, Pa., who is a native of Butternuts, Otsego county, N. 
Y., where he was born January 29, 1815. His parents were 



884 Aretus IIeermans Winton. 

Andrew Winton and Fannie (Glover) Winton, of Connecticut. 
When W. W. Winton was eighteen years of age his family re- 
moved to that portion of the city of Scranton known as Providence. 
Here, during three years, he was engaged in teaching school, 
and subsequently was employed in the same capacity in Danville, 
Pa. While there he read law with Joshua W. Comly, but was 
never admitted to the bar. In 1842 he opened a store in Walls- 
ville, Pa. In December of the following year he bought out the 
stock of goods of Harry Heermans, and C. T. Atwater acted as 
clerk in that store. In 1844 the Wallsville store was transferred 
to Abington Centre. He subsequently carried on business in 
Providence, in connection with Charles T. Atwater as his partner, 
and later with Hon. A. B. Dunning as his partner. In 1850 he 
removed with his family to New York, where he was engaged in 
merchandizing until about 1858, when he returned to Providence. 
He carried on a private banking business in Scranton, which he 
continued successfully until it was merged in the Second National 
Bank of Scranton. In 1865 he organized the First National 
Bank in Scranton, and ultimately consolidated it with the Second 
National Bank of Scranton, thereby increasing the capital of the 
latter to meet the business wants of the people, but, desiring to 
furnish the people of Providence some privileges, he continued a 
private bank at that place, under the name of W^inton, Clark & 
Company, which in time was merged into the Citizens' and 
Miners' Savings Bank, of Scranton, with 'Mr. Winton as its pres- 
ident. He is now or has been a director of the Scranton Trust 
Company and Savings Bank, and late its treasurer, a director of 
the People's Street Railway Company, treasurer of the directors 
of the poor of Scranton, a director of the Pittston Bank, treas- 
urer of the Roaring Brook Turnpike Company, besides holding 
many other offices of high trust. He was the founder of the 
Presbyterian church of Providence, gave the lot for the church 
building, and has always been a large contributor to it, and all its 
laudable enterprises. W^ere there nothing else to keep his name 
in the minds of the people of Scranton, they will read and remem- 
ber it many years in their title papers, as they peruse convey- 
ances of lots laid out upon various large tracts of land, known as 
Winton's addition to Scranton, Winton's addition to Providence, 



Aretus Heermans Winton. 885 



Winton's addition to Hyde Park, and Winton and Dolph's addi- 
tion to Peckville. and Winton and Livey's addition to Scranton 
He erected in the square at Providence an elegant drinking 
fountain for man and beast, at an expense of $1,000, which 
he cheerfully gave from his own purse. The thrifty village of 
Winton, in Luzerne (now Lackawanna) county, derived its name 
from him. He married, while teaching in Danville, Catharine 
Heermans, the eldest daughter of Henry Heermans, once a 
prominent merchant in Providence. He was originally from 
Salem, Wayne county. Pa., where he was elected constable 
in 18 18, and at the November sessions, in the same year he was 
licensed to keep a public house, which, with a store, he managed 
for many years. In 1829 he disposed of his property at Salem 
Corners and removed to Providence. His wife was Fandina 
Nicholson, of Salem. She was a sister of Zenas Nicholson, father 
of G. Byron, H. W. and O. F. Nicholson of the Luzerne bar. 

A. H. Winton, son of W. W. Winton, was born November 17, 
1838, in Hyde Park (now Scranton), Pa. He received his prep- 
aration for college at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Phillips 
Academy, Andover, Mass., and Williston Seminary, East Hamp- 
ton, Mass. He graduated at Mount Washington College, the 
valedictorian of his class. After graduation he read law with 
David R. Randall. Immediately after his admission to the bar 
he entered the office of Hon. Garrick Mallery Harding, late 
president judge of Luzerne county, and in the first three months 
of his law practice he was engaged in the famous Corwin mur- 
der trial, and in his maiden speech, in this case, at once gained 
renown as a Lalented, gifted and powerful debater and orator. 
Since then he has been engaged in very many of the most 
prominent criminal and civil cases, where he was associated 
with or opposed to many of the crir^iinal lawyers, judges and 
statesmen of Pennsylvania. In 1866 he removed from Wilkes- 
Barre to Scranton, and at once took rank among the fore- 
most pleaders at that bar. In 187/ he was the candidate of the 
prohibition party for judge of the Supreme Court. The Phil- 
adelphia Times, in noticing his nomination, says •: " A. H. Winton, 
the candidate for supreme judge, is a prominent, accomplished and 
highly respected lawyer of Scranton, in the prime of life. He is 



V 



cS86 Aretus Heermans Winton. 



not a politician in the generally accepted sense of the term, but 
posseses all the necessary qualifications for his office. A more 
worthy and suitable person could not be found in our state, and the 
convention may be considered fortunate in this selection." In the 
temperance work Mr. Winton has manifested ability, earnestness 
and talent. When on his summer vacation in Massachusetts the 
papers of that state spoke of him as " an eloquent, powerful and 
very brilliant temperance speaker." In July, 1877, he was the 
orator on the occasion of a large temperance meeting at Ply- 
mouth, Pa., and the Scranton Evening Stay, in reporting the meet- 
ing, said : " Mr. Winton was the principal speaker of the evening, 
and in his eloquent style spoke for an hour, holding his audience 
spell-bound by his remarkable oratorical powers, apt quotations 
and wonderful brilliancy in describing the evils of intemperance." 
Other city papers of Scranton and Wilkes-Barre have noticed his 
temperance addresses in the most glowing terms. At the organi- 
zation of the L-aw and Library Association of Scranton he was 
made treasurer, and has ever since retained that position and 
for many years has also been treasurer of the Cour de Lion 
Commandery of Scranton. He married. May 9, 1865, Alice 
Collings, daughter of the late Samuel P. CoUings, of Wilkes-Barre, 
and granddaughter of Hon. Andrew Beaumont, also of Wilkes- 
Barre. Her mother, in the "thirties," was the reigning belle of 
Washington society. She had an autograph album, which is to 
be presented to the Wyoming Historical and Geological Society 
of this city. We copy therefrom the following gems : 

"The best wishes of the undersigned is presented to Miss Eliza- 
beth Beaumont, that she may have a long, useful life and a happy 
immortality. 

1836. Andrew Jackson." 

"With the tender of my best wishes for the future happiness 
and prosperity of Miss Beaumont, I shall be happy to be esteemed 
as one of her sincere friends. 

Washington, Jan. 28, 1837. James K. Polk." 

The following poem is written in the. best vein of the author, 
and should have been published before. It is as follows : 

TO MISS ELIZABETH BEAUMONT: 

Fair maiden, when the sacred page 
The words of kindness would impart, 



Frederick Fuller. 887 



The friend, the Lover, Father, Sage 
Speaks joys in volumes to the heart; 

But how shall one in life's decline, 

Laden with three score years and ten. 
Speak to the tender heart of thine 

Or greet thee with an iron pen ? 

Let thine own heart, fair maiden, frame 
The words thyself would most desire, 

Fraught with a lover's fervent flame, 
Chaste with a father's holiest fire. 

Then to thyself the words apply. 

Believe them from my heart to flow. 
Yet shall they not one-half supply 

The bliss my wishes would bestow. 
Washington, Jan. 25, 1837. John Quincy Adams. 

Mr. and Mrs. Winton have two children, Katharine M. Win- 
ton and Elsie Beaumont Collings Winton. John B. Collings, of the 
Lackawanna county bar, is a brother-in-law of Mr. Winton. 



FREDERICK FULLER. 




Frederick Fuller, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., November 13, i860, is a descendant of Edward Fuller, 
a native of New Haven, Conn., who in 1806, with his wife and fam- 
ily of fiv^e children, removed to Bridgewater, Susquehanna county, 
Pa. He understood making "wrought" nails, and this of itself 
was sufficient to make his advent a blessing to the community. 
He built a large frame house, two stories in front, with a porch 
and a door opening on it from the second story, while the rear 
was only one story. It became a central point, being the place 
for holding elections, and, from the christian character of Mrs. 
Fuller, the place where the early religious meetings were held. 
As yet not a man of the neighborhood was a professed christian. 
Determined to impress upon her children her estimate of the 
Sabbath, she always dressed them in their best that day, even if 
that were no more than a clean apron to each one. They learned 
to be less boisterous than on week days, so praying mothers 
could meet and sing "the songs of Zion," and occasionally listen 



888 Frederick Fuller. 



to a sermon read by Mr. Fuller or some neighbor. Here the 
family lived until 1812, when they removed to Montrose, Pa. 
In that year Mr, Fuller was elected sheriff of the county, which 
office he held until 18 15. His wife was Hannah West, a native 
of Guilford, Conn. She was the sister of Klias West, who re- 
moved from Connecticut to Bridgewater in 1801. Mr. Fuller 
died in Montrose in 1854, in his eighty-sixth year. Mrs. Fuller, 
the last survivor of the original ten members of the Presbyterian 
church in Montrose, died in Scranton, also in her eighty-sixth 
year. Her funeral was the first service in the new Presbyterian 
church in Montrose. 

George Fuller, son of Edward Fuller, was born in Bozra, Conn., 
November 7, 1802. His wife, Mary Barnard, daughter of Samuel 
Barnard, was born in Boston, England. Mr. Fuller was clerk of 
the commissioners of Susquehanna county for three years and two 
months, from January, 1826. From 1835 to 1837 he was county 
treasurer, and from 1839 to 1842 he was prothonotary of the 
county. From 1843 to 1845 he represented Susquehanna, Brad- 
ford and Tioga counties in the congress of the United States. 
He died in Scranton November 24, 1888. Mr. Fuller while a 
resident of Susquehanna county was active as an editor and pro- 
prietor of several newspapers, amongst others The Montrose Ga- 
zette, The Snsqiiehanna County Republican, The Susquehanna 
Register, The Independent Volunteer and The Northern Democrat. 
Mr. Fuller removed to Scranton in 1855 and continued to reside 
there until his death. He was an earnest and valued member of 
ihe Presbyterian church, and was one of the charter members 
of the Second church of Scranton, where he was always in his 
pew, accompanied by Mrs. Fuller, even in the worst of weather, 
when people of their age did not think of venturing out of doors. 
He was a man of keen business judgment, and was frequently 
consulted by younger men, even during the last years of his 
life. He could not stop doing business, and for several years 
previous to his death had been engaged in settling up the aff^airs 
of the suspended Trust Company and Savings Bank. Previous 
to that time he was in the mercantile business in company with 
his sons G. A. and I. F. Fuller. 

Frederick P^uller, son of George Fuller, was born in Montrose 



Silas H. Durand. 889 



March 13, 1837. He was educated at the academy in Montrose 
and read law with Hon. F. B. Streeter, at Montrose, E. N. Wil- 
lard, Scranton, and with Earl Wheeler, at Honesdale, Pa., where 
he was first admitted to the bar. During the late civil war he was 
lieutenant of Company I, Fifty-second Regiment of Pennsyl- 
vania Volunteers, and acting signal officer in the Army of the 
Potomac. Since 1871 he has been one of the aldermen of the 
city of Scranton. Mr. Fuller married, June 6, 1866, Laura P. 
Gay, a daughter of John S. Gay, a native of Sharon, Conn, Her 
mother was Laura S. Hoskins, a native of Auburn, N. Y., whose 
father was Ebenezer Hoskins, a native of Groton, Conn. Mr. 
and Mrs. Fuller have a family of two children — Fred. Pardee 
Fuller and Theodore Sedgwick Fuller. 



SILAS H. DURAND. 




Silas H. Durand, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county. Pa., November 20, i860, is a native of Herrick, Bradford 
county, Pa., where he was born January 5, 1833. His father was 
Daniel Durand, who was born in Middletown, Orange county, 
N. Y., in 1793, and died in Herrick in 1870. The maiden name 
of his mother was Asenath Newbury, born in Warwick, Orange 
county, N. Y., in 1794; died in Herrick in 1877. Mr. Durand 
practiced law in this city until 1864, when he relinquished it and 
became a Baptist minister. He is now stationed at Southampton, 
Bucks county, Pa. He married, July 5, 1882, in Baltimore, Md., 
Clarice E. Pusey, a daughter of P^dwin M. Pusey, a native of 
Lancaster county. Pa., where he was born March 11, 1822, and 
whose wife's maiden name was Mary Jane Patterson, also of Lan- 
caster county, where she was born November 6, 1824. Mr. and 
Mrs. Durand have two children — Edith Durand and Mildred 
P. Durand. 



890 Charles du Pont Bkeck. 



WILLIAM GIBSON JONES. 



William Gibson Jones, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pennsylvania, April 10, 1861, is a son of Lewis 
Jones. (See page 826.) W. G. Jones was born in Carbondale, 
Pennsylvania, in October, 1837. He was educated at the Lu- 
zerne Institute, Wyoming, Pennsylvania, and read law with 
his father, at Scranton. and with Peter McCall, in Philadel- 
phia. He practiced for a while in Scranton and subsequently 
removed to New York, where he now practices his profession. 
Mr. Jones married, in 1875, Lula V. Wakefield, a daughter of 
Ward H. Wakefield. Mr. and Mrs. Jones have one son. 



CHARLES DU PONT BRECK. 



Charles du Pont Breck, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., August 1 8, 1 86 1 , is a native of Wilmington, Del, where 
he was born May 18, 1840. The Brecks trace their ancestry from 
William de Breck, whose castle and estate was near Selborne, in 
Hampshire, England, and who was one of the barons before 
whom Adam Gurdon, the rebellious baron, was tried in 1274. 
Edward Breck of Rainford, or Ashton, Lancaster, England, 
was a descendant of William de Breck, and came to Dorchester, 
near Boston, about the year 1630. His son', John Breck, became 
eminent in Dorchester. He died February 16, 17 13. , The son 
of that gentleman was named after him, and became the parent 
of three sons and many daughters. The second son was named 
Samuel. He was born April 11, 1747, and died May 7, 1809. 
He sat for seven years in the house of representatives, from Bos- 
ton. The revolutionary war brought many French ships of the 
line into Boston — sometimes to refit and sometimes to escape the 
enemy. It became necessary, therefore, to have a permanent 
agent to collect supplies. The French honored Samuel Breck 
with that appointment, which he held until the peace, greatly to 



Charles du Pont Breck. 891 



the satisfaction of the several commanders with whom he held 
intercourse. He sold their prize goods, negotiated their bills 
of exchange, and furnished their ships of war with all they 
wanted. He entered upon this business about the year 1779. 
Before the revolution it was lawful to hold slaves in Massachu- 
setts, and Mr. Breck had three in his house — Waterford,a coach- 
man; Cato, a house servant, and Rose, the coachman's wife. 
Three greater plagues, as Mrs. Breck used to say, could not easily 
be found. He had a son, George Breck, who was the grand- 
father of Charles du Pont Breck. Samuel Breck, with his family, 
removed to Philadelphia, in 1792. Samuel Breck, a brother of 
George Breck, represented Philadelphia in congress from 1823 
to 1825. His "Recollections," with passages from his note books, 
1 771-1862, were edited by H. E. Scudder, and published in Phila- 
delphia by Porter & Coates, in 1877. It contains this passage 
among others : 

"December 9, 1807. — This morning I rode to Philadelphia, 
and purchased a newly-invented iron grate, calculated for coal, in 
which I mean to use that fuel, if it answers my expectations. 
December 26, 1807. — By my experiment on coal fuel I find that 
one fire place will burn from three to three and a half bushels per 
week in hard weather, and about two and a half in moderate 
weather. This averages three bushels for twenty-five weeks (the 
period of burning fires in parlors.) Three times twenty-five give 
seventy-five bushels for a single hearth, which, at forty-five cents, is 
thirty-three dollars and seventy-five cents, more than equal to six 
cords of oak wood at five dollars and fifty cents, and is, by con- 
sequence, no economy; but at thirty-three cents per bushel, which 
is the usual summer price, it will do very well." 

The wife of George Breck was Catharine Israeli. Her father 
was a resident of Philadelphia, his family having come to this coun- 
try from the West Indies, where they were large planters, and 
came here on account of political troubles. William Breck, 
son of George Breck, was born at Bustleton (now in the city of 
Philadelphia), and was a manufacturer on the Brandywine, near 
Wilmington, Del., where he married Gabriella Josephine du Pont, 
the daughter of Victor du Pont, who was the son of Pierre Sam- 
uel du Pont de Nemours, member of the institute of France, 



892 Charles du Pont Breck. 

councillor of state, and knight of the Order of Vasa, of the Legion 
of Honor, and of the Order du Lys. Endowed with rare vigor 
and acuteness of mind, devoted to truth, an elevated constancy, 
and an indefatigable spirit of benevolence, worthy of the best 
days of ancient times, he devoted himself to the service of his 
country and his species. So pure was his patriotism, and so dis- 
interested his motives, that his time, his means and his talents 
were continually engaged in the prosecution of those great ends, 
regardless of the opportunities of improving his fortune and of 
personal aggrandizement, which his eminent political employ- 
ments presented to him. In the course of a long life spent in 
public stations his incorruptible integrity shone conspicuously. 
Conversant with courts, and daily mixing in the affairs of the 
world, his character retained to the last its original warmth of 
feeling and simplicity — a trait as rare as it is extraordinary, which 
always led him to regard events in the most favorable light, and 
to repose in mankind a faith which is seldom to be found but in 
the unsuspicious, confiding temper of youth. To this primitive 
and benevolent cast of mind is to be attributed that kindness of 
heart and constantly playful cheerfulness which accompanied him 
to the last moments of his life, and gave an endearing charm to 
the affection with which he was regarded by his friends. He was 
an early and most distinguished writer on political economy, 
before it had yet attained the rank of a science. In the year 1772, 
the principles of philosophy and political economy displayed in 
one of his publications, Les Ephemerides du Citoyen, being obnox- 
ious to the French minister, the Duke de Choiseuil, he was 
obliged, like other great men in that epoch, to go into exile. 
Several foreign princes, then distinguished by the liberality of 
their sentiments, offered him an asylum. The Margrave of Baden 
appointed him conseUler hitiine aulique de legation ; Leopold of 
Tuscany (afterwards Emperor), and Joseph II corresponded with 
him; Gustavus III of Sweden decorated him with the Order of 
Vasa; and the king of Poland, Stanislaus Augustus, appointed 
him his director of national education. This last situation, which 
presented the most advantageous prospects to himself and family, 
he relinquished to accept an inferior station in the service in his 
native country, at the invitation of his intimate friend, the great 



Charles du Pont Breck. 893 



and good Turgot, at that time minister of finance to Louis XVI. 
In 1782 he was commissioned by M.de Vergennesto correspond 
with Dr. James Hutton, the confidential and secret agent of the 
king of Great Britain, and arrange with that gentleman the secret 
basis of the peace of 1783, by which the independence of the 
United States was acknowledged. He was for many years inspec- 
tor and commissary general of commerce and manufactures, and 
councillor of state. In these different capacities he greatly con- 
tributed to extricate France from the shackles by which a false 
policy had restrained her. In 1787 and 1788 he was appointed 
by the king secretary of the Assembly of Notables, and in 1789 
was elected a member of the first national assembly, where he 
distinguished himself by his talents, his sound principles, and his 
firmness. He devoted himself to counteract the factions of the 
day, whose intrigues and plots disgraced the French revolution, 
and prostrated the hopes of those who wished to see France 
regenerated, free and happy. He was twice elected president of 
that celebrated body, which combined in itself a greater portion of 
preeminent talents than has ever been exhibited in any other legis- 
lative assembly. His political opinions were those of modera- 
tion; his object the improvement of government without violence. 
He opposed the abettors of anarchy with a courage and active 
energy bordering on temerity. When a horrible tyranny stalked 
through France, and levelled in its progress the great and the 
good, M. du Pont could not expect to escape. He was perse- 
cuted and imprisoned, and after several imminent dangers, his life 
was only preserved by the downfall of Robespierre. Subsequent 
to that event, and when the reign of terror had ceased, he was 
elected, under the Directory, a member and later president of the 
Council of Ancients. The Jacobins havingsucceeded in overturning 
the Directory in Fructidor, 1798, he left France and for the first 
time visited America. In 1802 he returned to France, and when 
Napoleon lost sight of the cause of freedom by which he was 
elevated, and considered only his personal ambition in causing him- 
self to be nominated consul for life, and then emperor, du Pont 
de Nemours pursued steadily the principles which had guided 
him through life by abstaining from any participation in the gov- 
ernment. But the confidence of his fellow citizens followed him 



894 Charles du Pont Breck, 

into the recesses of private life, and his appointments to the presi- 
dencies of the Banquc Territorialc and the chamber of commerce, 
and his election to numerous charitable institutions, of which he 
was an active and conspicuous member, mark the extent of that 
confidence and the sincerity of their rec^ard. At the first abdica- 
tion of Napoleon, du Pont de Nemours was appointed secretary 
of the provisional government, which accepted the house of Bour- 
bon in the hope of thereby securing to F" ranee a more free con- 
stitutional government. Upon the return of Napoleon from 
Elba, he emigrated a second time to the United States, where 
his two sons had been naturalized many years. He left in Prance 
a wife, highly distinguished by her eminent virtues, and in this 
country a numerous posterity, to lament his loss. To those wJho 
looked up to him, not only as the best and kindest of parents 
but as a bright example for their imitation, it is a consolation to 
reflect that his last moments were spent in the midst of his chil- 
dren, and that his venerable relics repose among them, in the land 
of freedom, which, next to his native country, was the object of 
his warmest affection. Rear Admiral Samuel Francis du Pont 
was a brother of Mrs. Breck. 

William Breck removed to Scranton in 1859, and became the 
representative of E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., for the Lacka- 
wanna and Wyoming regions, in the powder business. He died 
in 1870. Charles du Pont Breck, son of William Breck, was 
educated at Union College, Schenectady, N. Y., from which he 
graduated in 1859. He read law with Victor du Pont, in Wil- 
mington, and Sanderson & Willard.at Scranton, and has practiced 
in Scranton since his admission. He was the first controller of 
the city of Scranton. He is a director of the Lackawanna Trust 
Company, president of the Ridge Turnpike Company, director in 
the Carbondale and Providence Turnpike and Plank Road Com- 
pany, and a director in the Scranton Suburban Railway Com- 
pany. Mr. Breck married, April 29, 1869, Mary Duer, a daughter 
of John King Duer, of New York. 

Mrs. Breck is the great-grand-daughter of William Duer, who 
was born in Devonshire, England, March 18, 1747. He was the 
third son of John Duer, a planter of Antigua, who had a villa 
in Devonshire. His mother was Frances Frye, daughter of Sir 



Charles du Pont Breck. 895 



Frederick Frye, who had a command in the West Indies, where 
she married John Duer. After being sent to Eton, and while still 
under age, he went into the army as an ensign and accompanied 
Lord Clive as aid-de-camp on his return to India as governor 
o-eneral in 1762. He remained in India a short time, when he 
returned to England and left the army. He then went to Antigua 
and thence to New York in 1768. While in America he was in- 
duced to buy a large tract of land at Fort Miller, on the upper 
Hudson. He was appointed colonel of the militia, judge of the 
county courts, member of the New York Provincial Congress 
and member of the committee of safety. He was one of a com- 
mittee that drafted the first constitution of New York in the con- 
vention of 1777. In 1777-78 he was a delegate to the continental 
congress and in 1789 secretary of the treasury board. He was 
a member of the state legislature and assistant secretary of the 
treasury under Governor Hamilton. His wife was Catharine 
Alexander, daughter of General William Alexander, claimant of 
the Scottish earldom, of Stirling. Mr. Duer died in the city of New 
York May 7, 1799. The grandfather of Mrs Breck was Will- 
iam Alexander Duer, son of William Duer, who was born in 
Rhinebeck, N. Y., September 8, 1780. He studied law in 
Philadelphia and for a few years was a midshipman in the navy 
under Decatur. He afterwards resumed his law studies and was 
admitted to the bar in 1802. In 18 14 he was elected to the state 
assembly. From 1822 to 1829 he was a judge of the Supreme 
Court of the state of New York. In the latter year he was elect- 
ed president of Columbia College, where he remained until 1842. 
He was the author of the life of his grandfather, William Alex- 
ander, Earl of Stirling (New York, 1847). Mr. Duer died in 
New York May 30, 1858. His wife was a daughter of William 
Denning, of New York. The father of Mrs Breck was John 
King Duer, son of William Alexander Duer, a captain in the 
United States navy. Mr. and Mrs. Breck have one son, Duer du 
Pont Breck. 

Scranton had scarcely emerged from the wilderness when 
Charles du Pont Breck entered upon his career there as an attor- 
ney at law, so that he has been a Scrantonian, practically, since 
its beginning. He has been intimately identified with many of 



896 Albert Marion Bailey. 

its most important institutions and contributed a full share 
toward its remarkable growth and prosperity. Though inherit- 
ing the best blood from both father and mother, he had no "royal 
road to success" prepared for him. His education had been fair; 
his surroundings were those in which both energy and industry 
are essential to profitable achievement. But he had industry and 
tact and a thorough knowledge of his profession. He was con- 
tent to make haste slowly and, as a result, finds himself in middle 
life in comfortable circumstances and with an enviable reputation 
as a lawyer and citizen. 

His election as controller came immediately after the creation 
of that office. He was the first to fill it and put its machinery 
in operation and ran it so successfully that at the close of his term 
he was the recipient of deserved and unstinted praise from the 
press and people of all parties. This was the first and only office 
to which he ever aspired. His general business connections, as 
will be noted from the mention already made of a portion of 
them, are extensive, and no little of the success that has attend- 
ed the several enterprises is due to the careful thought he has 
given to their management and the shrewd counsel evolved there- 
from. 

His reputation has always been that of a man of high honor, 
whether in official, general business, or professional life. His 
trusts, public or private, have always been administered with 
scrupulous regard for every interest involved. In private life he 
is an enjoyable companion, with a flow of genial humor and a 
capacity as a conversationalist that are a joy to his many friends. 



ALBERT MARION BAILEY. 



Albert Marion Bailey, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county. Pa., February 25, 1862, is a grandson of Benjamin Bailey, 
a native of Connecticut, who removed to Luzerne county on or 
about 1800. His wife was Lydia Gore. He was treasurer of 
Luzerne county in 1821. Benjamin Franklin Bailey, son of Ben- 



Ira Canfield Mitchell, 897 



jamin Bailey, was born in Norwich, Conn., October 14, 1797. He 
came here with his father's family early in 1 800. After arriving at 
manhood, he settled in Plains township and married Catharine 
Stark, daughter of Henry Stark. The second grate for burning 
anthracite coal in Luzerne county was put up by Mr. Stark in 
1 808. B. F. Bailey was a j ustice of the peace in this county for over 
twenty years. In 1843 he was appointed one of the " seven 
years auditors." He died in this city in 1883. Albert M. Bailey, 
son of B. F. Bailey, was born in West Abington, Luzerne (now 
Lackawanna) county, September 16, 1837. He was educated at 
Madison Academy, Harford University, New York Central Col- 
lege, and State and National Law School, at Poughkeepsie, N. Y. 
He read law with E. L. Dana, of this city, and has practiced law 
in this city and in Florida. In 1867 he was the republican can- 
didate for district attorney of Luzerne county, but was defeated by 
Hon. D. L. Rhone, democrat. He married, December 19, 1867, 
Lucinda Colt Lewis, a daughter of the late Sharp Delaney Lewis, 
of this city. She is now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Bailey had no 
children. A few years since Mr. Bailey removed to Orange City, 
Florida, where he now resides. In 1884 and 1885 he was mayor 
of that city. 



IRA CANFIELD MITCHELL. 



Ira Canfield Mitchell, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county. Pa., August 7, 1 862, is a native of Howard, Centre county. 
Pa., where he was born April 16, 1833. He was educated in the 
public schools of his native township, and at Dickinson Seminary, 
Williamsport, Pa. He studied law with N. L. Atwood, at Lock 
Haven, Pa., and was admitted originally at Bellefonte, Pa., April 28, 
1854, on motion of A. G. Curtin. He has practiced at Bellefonte, 
in this city, in Iowa, Texas, Kansas, and now at Wellsburg, W. 
Va. He has held the offices of notary public. United States 
commissioner, deputy district attorney of Luzerne county. Pa., 
under Ezra B. Chase, and assistant attorney general of Kansas. 
He was aid to Governor William F. Packer, of Pennsylvania, 



898 Albert Beecher Hotchkiss. 

with the rank of colonel. He was the democratic nominee for 
congress in 1864, in the Fourth Iowa district, and received 10,502 
votes, but was defeated. In the same year he was presidential 
elector at large for the state of Iowa on the democratic ticket. 
He was a candidate at the recent election (1888), for the legis- 
lature of West Virginia, and had a majority in Brooke county, but 
was defeated by a small majority in Hancock county. Ira C. 
Mitchell is a grandson of William Mitchell, a native of Franklin 
county, Pa., whose wife was Ann Johns, born in Harford county, 
Md., and son of Nathan Johns Mitchell, a native of Washington 
county, Pa. He was a minister of the gospel in the Christian 
church for fifty-nine years and died December 10, 1886. His wife 
was Sarah Bye Packer, sister of Ex-Governor William F. Packer, 
born at Howard, Pa., a daughter of James Packer, a native of Ches- 
ter county. Pa., whose wife was Charity Bye, a native of the same 
county. Ira C. Mitchell married, March 22, 1855, Melissa Edgar, 
a native of Allegheny county. Pa., daughter of James W. Edgar. 
He married (second) March 19, 1868, Sophia P. Elliott, a native of 
Bradford county. Pa., a daughter of C. S. Elliott. He married 
(third) January i o, 1 880, his present wife, Mary A. Darrah, a native 
of Clinton county, Pa., and daughter of Charles T. Darrah. Mr. 
Mitchell has five children — Edgar Challen Mitchell, Nathan Johns 
Mitchell (married to Rebecca Vandersloot, and have one son, Ira 
Canfield Mitchell), Charity Ann Mitchell, John Packer Mitchell 
and Jane Atwood Mitchell. Ira C. Mitchell became a Christian 
in Iowa, in 1864, and since that time has been engaged in preach- 
ing the gospel, depending chiefly on the profession of the law 
for a livelihood. He is the senior member of the law firm of 
Mitchell & Braddock, of Wellsburg, W. Va. 



ALBERT BEPXHER HOTCHKISS. 



Albert Beecher Hotchkiss was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county. Pa., August 18, 1862. He is the grandson of Joel 
Hotchkiss and his wife, Esther Beecher, natives of Cheshire, 



Aaron Augustus Chase. 899 

Conn., who emigrated to Harford, Susquehanna county, where 
they remained until their decease. Richard Hotchkiss, son of 
Joel Hotchkiss, was the father of A. B. Hotchkiss. The wife of 
Richard Hotchkiss was Hannah Briggs. A. B. Hotchkiss was 
born in Harford, June 20, 1839. He was educated in the common 
schools of his native township, and at Harford University. He 
was a teacher in this county for a few years, and subsequently 
read law with Hendrick B. Wright, in this city. After practicing 
in Wilkes-Barre for a few years, he removed to Cleveland, O., and 
from there to San Diego, Cal. While residing in the latter place 
he was district attorney of San Diego county, and attorney for 
the city of San Diego. He subsequently removed to Colton, 
Cal., where he was president of the Colton Land and Water Com- 
pany, and a trustee of the city of Colton. He was also a candi- 
date for congressman-at-large on the prohibition ticket, in 1882. 
Mr. Hotchkiss now resides in the city of Los Angeles, Cal. 



AARON AUGUSTUS CHASE. 



Aaron Augustus Chase, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pa., August 20, 1862, is a native of Benton township 
Luzerne (now Lackawanna) county, where he was born March 
28, 1839. His grandfather, Gorton Chase, emigrated to Penn- 
sylvania from Rhode Island in 18 17, and settled in Abington 
township, Luzerne (now Lackawanna) county. Joseph Chase, 
son of Gorton Chase, was born in Providence, R. I., and came to 
Pennsylvania with his father's family. He is the father of A. A. 
Chase. The mother of A. A. Chase was Mahala Phillips, a 
daughter of Aaron Phillips, who settled in Abington township at 
an early day. Mr. Chase was educated in the public schools of 
his native township, and at Madison Academy, at Waverly, Pa., 
and read law with David R. Randall. He married, October 12, 
1862, Laura E. Stiles, a daughter of George M. Stiles, of Har- 
ford, Susquehanna county, Pa. She died May 2, 1884. Mr. and 
Mrs. Chase had no children. A. A. Chase was the editor and 
proprietor of the Scranton Daily Times from 1872 to 1885, and 



900 



William C. Robinson. 



the WtrNj and Law Times {rom. 1873 to i8cS5. Mr. Chase has his 
office in Scranton. He is still a widower. In 1 866 he was elected 
one of the auditors of the city of Scranton. In 1888 he was an 
independent candidate for additional law judge of Lackawanna 
county and received 6639 votes. His successful competitor was 
Frederick W. Gunster. 



ZEBULON MARCY WARD. 



Zebulon Marcy Ward, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., August 17, 1863, is a brother of Walsingham G. 
Ward, of Scranton, Pa. Z. M. Ward was born in Tunkhannock, 
Luzerne (now Wyoming) county, February 17, 1837. He resides 
in Patterson, N. J. 



WILLIAM C. ROBINSON. 



William C. Robinson was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county. Pa., November 9, 1863. His father was John A. Robin- 
son, of Norwich, Conn., son of Elias Robinson, son of Timothy 
Robinson, great-grandson (supposed) of Rev. John Robinson, of 
Leyden. His mother was Mary Callyhan, daughter of William 
Callyhan, son of Andrew Callaghan, son of William O'Callaghan. 
His paternal grandmother was Anna Allyn, of Ledyard, Conn., 
a descendant of Robert Allyn, of Hartford. His maternal grand- 
mother was a descendant of James Rogers, of New London, 1660. 
Mr. Robinson married, July 2, 1857, Anna Elizabeth Haviland, of 
New York city. Her father, Henry Haviland, was of Boston, son 
of Henry Haviland, of London, England. Her mother was Mary 
Magdalen Jutau, daughter of John Jutau, of Bordeaux, France, 
later of the French consulate at Boston. Mr. and Mrs. Robinson 
have three children living — Philip Neri Robinson and George W. 
Robinson, of the New Haven county bar, and Paul Skiff Robin- 
son. William C. Robinson was born at Norwich, Connecticut, July 
26, 1834. He was educated at the Norwich Academy, Williston 



William Wurts Lathrope. 901 

Seminary, class of 1 849, and Wesleyan University. He graduated 
from Dartmouth College in the class of 1854, and at the General 
Seminary of the Protestant Episcopal Church in New York in 
1857. He received the degree of LL. D. from Dartmouth College 
in 1879. From September i, 1857, to August i, 1859, he was 
resident missionary at Pittston, and from February i, 1859, to 
December i, 1862, rector of St. Luke's Protestant Episcopal 
church, Scranton, Pa. In 1863 he joined the Roman Catholic 
church, in whose communion he remains. He read law with 
Hendrick B. Wright, and after his admission to the bar remained 
in this city, practicing his profession, until 1864. From here he 
went to New London, Conn., and from there, in 1865, to New 
Haven, Conn., where he now resides. He was clerk of the New 
Haven city court from 1866 to 1868, judge city court, New Haven, 
1869 to 1 87 1, a member of the Connecticut house of representa- 
tives in 1874, judge of the Court of Common Pleas of New 
Haven county from 1874 to 1876. He has been professor of law 
in Yale University since 1869. Mr. Robinson published "Elemen- 
tary Law," 1882, "Clavis Rerum," 1883, and has in press a 
"Treatise on Patent Law," 



BURRELL BRACE. 



Burrell Brace was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county 
August 20, 1863. He is a native of Wyoming, Pennsylvania, 
and is the only son of the late Alfred Brace, M. D., who set- 
tled in Wyoming in 1838, coming from Franklin township 
in this county. He read law in this city with G. Byron 
Nicholson and Ezra B. Chase, and married, November 30, 
1865, Mary Celestia Sherman, daughter of Rev. J. C. Sherman, 
of Abington, Pennsylvania. He has three children, and resides 
in Keelersburg, Pennsylvania. 



WILLIAM WURTS LATHROPE. 



William Wurts Lathrope, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county. Pa., August 8, 1864, is a native of Carbondale, Pa., 



902 Howard Ellis. 



where he was born October 9, 1840. He was educated at Kenyon 
College, Gambler, Ohio, and Harvard Law School, and read law 
with his father, D. N. Lathrope. He is a descendant of Rev. 
John Lothropp, who emigrated to America September 18, 1634. 
(See page 857.) His father was Dwight Noble Lathrope, who 
was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county November 5, 1833. 
Mr. Lathrope married, September i, 1870, Mary Overton Max- 
well, a daughter of the late Volney Lee Maxwell, who was ad- 
mitted to the bar of Luzerne county November 11, 1831. Mr. 
and Mrs. Lathrope have a family of four children — Maxwell D. 
Lathrope, Henry R. Lathrope, George H. Lathrope, and Eunice 
Lathrope. Mr. Lathrope practiced in this city for some time, 
but now resides in Scranton. He is one of the managers of the 
Lackawanna Bible Society, a director of the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association of Scranton, a director of the Lackawanna Law 
Library Association, and has been president of the association. 
He is the minister's warden of Grace Reformed Episcopal church. 
In 1888 he was the prohibition candidate for congress and receiv- 
ed 1218 votes. While a resident of Wilkes-Barre Mr. Lathrope 
was one of the managers of the Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation of Wilkes-Barre and for one year was president of the 
same. 



HOWARD ELLIS. 



Howard Ellis, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, 
Pa., August 15, 1864, is a native of Elkton, Cecil county, Md., 
where he was born July 6, 1 834. His parents were Francis A. Ellis, 
a native of Philadelphia, Pa., and Eliza Ann Howard, a native of 
Elkton, the ancestors of whom emigrated to America about 
1705. He read law with his father, Francis A. Ellis, of the 
Maryland bar, and with George W. Biddle, of the Philadelphia 
bar, and was admitted to the Cecil county bar January 4, 1864. 
Mr. Ellis has practiced at Elkton, Wilkes-Barre and New York. 
In 1875 he planned and started the New York Weekly Digest, 
which has been successfully conducted according to his plans. 



De Witt C. Cooley. 903 

and in the following year he planned the Law and Equity Reporter, 
which was consolidated in 1878 with the American Law Times 
Reports and has since been published under his editorial control 
as The Reporter. His sound judgment in the selection of impor- 
tant cases, and his careful work thereon, have sustained the cir- 
culation of that periodical and made it a general favorite, not- 
withstanding the rivalry and pressure in recent years of a rapidly 
increasing growth of local law journals and reporters. He is also 
the general editor of English Cases, a compendium of all the 
reports of Great Britain, her colonies, and the United States. Mr. 
Ellis married, October 21, 1872, Aurora Bassford, a great-grand- 
daughter of John Pell, of Schuyler Place, West Chester county, 
N. Y. He resides at Ridgewood, Bergen county, N. J. Mr. and 
Mrs. Ellis have a family of three children — Rosina, Elizabet 
Howard, and Rudulph Pell Ellis. Since writing the above Mr. 
Ellis has been appointed, by President Cleveland, consel of the 
United States at Rotterdam. 



JOHN B. RHODES. 



John B. Rhodes was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, 
Pa., August 31, 1864. He removed to Kansas in 1869, where he 
now resides. 



dewitt c. cooley. 



DeWitt C. Cooley, who was born in New York, and admit- 
ted to the bar of Luzerne county, Pa., October 24, 1864, is a 
resident of St. Paul, Minn. He was twice married, his last wife 
being Louise J. Dunlap, a daughter of the late Rev. Robert 
Dunlap, D. D., of Allegheny City, Pa. One child survives this 
union — Frank D. Cooley, of St. Paul. 



904 M. J. Bykne. 



JOSEPH E. ULMAN. 



Joseph E. Ulman, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county August 29, 1865, is a son of Lazarus Ulman. He was 
born at Rehrersburg, Pa., January 25, 1828. He was educated 
at the Ithaca (N. Y.) Academy, and studied law at Lock Haven, 
Pa., with T. T. Abrams. During the years 1872, 1873 and 1874 
he was burgess of the borough of Hazleton, Pa. Mr. Ulman 
married, February 17, 1857, Frances A. McCloskey, daughter of 
David McCloskey. Mr. and Mrs. Ulman have a family of four 
children — Ida Nancy Ulman, P2mory Washburn Ulman, Edgar 
James Ulman, and Nellie Frances Ulman. 



MICHAEL REGAN. 



Michael Regan, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa.,' November 12, 1866, is a native of Canaan, Wayne 
county, Pennsylvania, where he was born in 1836. His parents, 
Michael Regan and Catharine Regan nee Tobin, were born 
in Ireland. Mr. Regan was educated at the Normal School, 
at Prompton, Wayne county, Pennsylvania, and studied law 
with F. M. Crane, at Honesdale, Pennsylvania. He was ad- 
mitted to the Wayne county bar in 1865. P'rom 1863 to 1866 
he was register and recorder of Wayne county. He married 
in 1863, Margaret, a daughter of Patrick Rutledge, a native of 
Ireland. They have four children: Kate, married to John 
Shreve; John, Andrew and Frank. Mr. Regan practiced 
many years in this city but now resides in New York. 



M. J. BYRNE. 



M. J. Byrne was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, Pa., 
December 5, 1866. He is the son of the late Peter Byrne, LL. D., 
of the Luzerne bar. 



Francis D. Collins. 905 



JOHN B. MILLS. 



John B. Mills, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, 
Pa., April 13. 1839, is a son of Jacob Mills and his wife Prudence, 
daughter of Rev. Caleb Hopkins, a lieutenant in the revolutionary 
war, and the first Protestant Episcopal minister in what is now 
Columbia county, Pa. John B. Mills was born February 23, 
18 1 2, in Madison township, Columbia county. Pa. He was edu- 
cated under Dr. S. S. Lowry and Rev. George C. Drake, of 
Bloomsburg, Pa., and read law with George W. Woodward, in 
this city, where he practiced until 1857, when he removed to a 
farm in Columbia county. He now resides at Riverside, North- 
umberland county. Pa. Mr. Mills married, in 1833, Nancy 
Rafferty, a daughter of Peter Rafferty, of Armagh, Ireland. Mr. 
and Mrs. Mills have a family of six children — Amanda T., married 
to Rufus C. Belding; Henry Clay Mills; Adelaide J., married to 
N. B. Welliver; James Rafferty Mills; Charles Denison Mills; 
and Sarah M., married to Eugene Lenhart. 



FRANCIS D. COLLINS. 



Francis D. Collins, who was "admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county. Pa., December 24, 1866, is a son of the late Thomas Col- 
lins, w^ho was at one time an associate judge of Luzerne county, 
Pa. In 1854 the latter was a candidate for register of wills of Lu- 
zerne county, but was defeated by Elisha B. Harvey. Francis D. 
Collins was born in Saugerties, N.Y., March 5, 1844. When quite 
young his parents removed to Dunmore, Luzerne (now Lacka- 
wanna) county. He was educated at St. Joseph's College, Susque- 
hanna county. Pa., and at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa. 
After his admission to the bar, he was, in 1869, elected district 
attorney of the mayor's court of Scranton. From 1872 to 1874 he 
represented Luzerne, Monroe and Pike counties as state senator. 
In 1874 he was elected a representative in the congress of the 
United States for the eleventh district, composed of the counties 



Qo6 Francis Edgar Loomis. 



of Carbon, Columbia, Montour, Monroe, Pike, and a part of 
Luzerne county. He was re-elected in 1876. In 1879 he was 
a candidate for president judge of Lackawanna county on the 
democratic ticket, but was defeated by Alfred Hand, republican. 
In 1888 he was the democratic candidate for congress in the 
twelfth congressional district, but was defeated by Joseph A. 
Scranton, republican. Mr. Collins resides in Dunmore, but has 
an office in Scranton. 



FRANCIS EDGAR LOOMIS. 



Francis Edgar Loomis, who was admitted to the Luzerne 
county bar February 20, 1867, is a descendant of Joseph Loomis, 
who emigrated to]this country from Braintree, Essex county, Eng- 
land, arriving in this country July 17, 1638. Deacon John 
Loomis, son of Joseph Loomis, was born in England in 1622 
came to this country with his father, and died in Windsor, Conn. 
September i, 1668. Thomas Loomis, son of Deacon John 
Loomis, was born December 3, 1653. He died August 12, 1688 
John Loomis, of Lebanon, son of Thomas Loomis, of Hatfield 
Mass., was born July i, 168 1. His first wife was Martha Osborn 
whom he married October 30, 1706. His second wife was Ann 
Lyman, whom he married September ^o, 1725. Timothy Loomis 
of Lebanon, son of John Loomis, was born August 24, 17 18 
He died June 20, 1785. F^lisha Loomis, son of Timothy Loomis 
was born in 1748, and died February 7, 1820. Eldad Loomis 
of Coventry, Conn., son of Elisha Loomis, was born in 1785 
He married Fanny Jeffers, and died October 23, 1833. Elisha 
Nelson Loomis, M. D., son of Eldad Loomis, was born in 
Coventry, Conn., June 21, 1809. His wife was Rowena Loomis, 
a native of Harford, Susquehanna county. Pa. She was a 
daughter of Major Laban Capron, the first postmaster of Harford. 
(For further particulars concerning the Loomis family see page 

77I-) 

F. E. Loomis is the son of Elisha Nelson Loomis M. D. He 

was born at Harford, Susquehanna county, Pa., February 7, 



Francis Edgar Loomis. 907 



1834. F. E. Loomis was educated at the Harford University 
( formerly Franklin Academy), and read law with William Jessup 
and William H. Jessup, Montrose, Pa., and was admitted to the 
Susquehanna county bar April 17, 1863. He has practiced and 
resided at Montrose, Scranton and Rockford, 111. He was a 
journalist until he was twenty-nine years of age, and was one of 
the editors of the Montrose Republican in 1858-9. He was also 
a newspaper correspondent and reporter at Chicago, when Presi- 
dent Lincoln was nominated, and was connected with the Rock- 
ford (111.) Republican and Janesville (Wis.) Gazette. He was also 
a writer of serials, stories, sketches, &c,, under the name of "Ned 
Lopez." Mr. Loomis has been twice married — first, July 4, 1857, 
to Fannie May Lord, a daughter of John Lord, a native of Wood- 
stock, Vt., and his wife, Maria Lord, a native of Limestone, New 
London, Conn. He was the son of Josiah Lord and Polly Lord, 
{nee Mack), of Limestone. He was married a second time, March 
14, 1873, to Rebecca VanFleet, a daughter of Alva VanFleet, a 
native of Pittston, where he was born, February i, 1810. He was 
the son of James VanFleet, a native of Orange county, N. Y,, 
where he was born February 9, 1786. Mr. Loomis has had seven 
children, six of whom are now living. His eldest son, Arthur 
Benton Loomis, is married to Ella Bentley, of Binghamton, N. Y., 
and his eldest daughter, Hattie M. Loomis, is married to Edward 
D. Lathrop, of Carbondale, Pa, Mr. Loomis has resided for many 
years in Scranton, Pa. He is a member of the Universahst 
church, and is now a deacon and trustee in the same. He is 
president of the Susquehanna association of churches, compris- 
ing Lackawanna, Susquehanna and Wyoming counties. He has 
been general superintendent of Sabbath schools in said associa- 
tion, and frequently a delegate to the state conventions of the said 
church. He was three times a delegate from Pennsylvania to 
the general convention of the Universalist churches of the United 
States and Canada. 

Mr. Loomis is in politics a zealous republican and was one of 
the first democratic young men in Susquehanna county to enter the 
organization, casting his first presidential vote in 1856 for Fre- 
mont. After building up an extensive practice his health failed 
him in 1874, the result of a serious railroad accident and over 



QOS Charles Hopkins Welles. 



work. Since then he has had to give up active practice at the 
bar and now gives his principal attention to the loaning of money, 
collections, and sales of real estate. He has been an alderman of 
the city of Scranton, and in 1882 was a candidate for the state 
legislature in Lackawanna county, but was defeated by his demo- 
cratic competitor. 



DANIEL HANNAH. 



Daniel Hannah, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., February 21,1 867, is a native of Harford, Susquehanna 
county. Pa., where he was born January 21, 1838. He is the son 
of Archibald Hannah, born in 1793, and Mary Leslie, born in 
1803, both of whom were from county Antrim, Ireland. He 
married, February 2, 1879, Lizzie A. Little, daughter of Levi P. 
Little, of Scranton. She died December 3, 1874. They had no 
children. Mr. Hannah married a second time, September 25, 
1876, Rosalia Watson, a daughter of Walter Watson, born near 
• Cold Spring, N. Y. Her mother was Candace Hammond, a 
descendant of Samuel Hammond, who removed to New Milford, 
Susquehanna county. Pa., in 18 19, from Cheshire county. New 
Hampshire. His son. Lieutenant Colonel Asa Hammond, the 
grandfather of Mrs. Hannah, is in his ninety-fifth year, and is the 
oldest inhabitant in Susquehanna county. Mr. and Mrs. Hannah 
have no children. Mr. Hannah was educated at the Montrose, 
Pa., normal school and at the Millersville, Pa., normal school. 
He followed teaching in his young manhood, and then read law 
with Daniel S. Dickinson, at Binghamton, N. Y., where he was 
admitted May 10, 1865. He removed to Scranton in the follow- 
ing year, where he practiced until 1883. He now resides at 
New Milford, Pa. 



CHARLES HOPKINS W^ELLES. 



Charles Hopkins Welles, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pa., March 2, 1867, is a descendant of Governor 



Charles Hopkins Welles. 909 



Thomas Welles, who was born in Essex county, England (see 
page 660), in 1598. The descent of C. H. Welles is through 
Samuel Welles, born in Essex county, England, about 1630, fifth 
child of Governor Welles ; Samuel Welles, born in Wethersfield 
Conn., and removed to Glastonbury, Conn., first child of Samuel 
Welles ; Hon. Thomas Welles, born in Glastonbury, fourth child 
of Samuel Welles ; John Welles, born in Glastonbury, Conn., 
son of Hon. Thomas Welles, and Hon. Ashbel Welles, son of 
John Welles. Ashbel Welles was born in Glastonbury, Conn., 
April 27, 1763, and died at Binghamton, N. Y., April 4, 1809. 
Charles H. Welles, son of Ashbel Welles, was born in Hartford, 
Conn., July 6, 1795, and died at Dundaff, Pa., March 26, 1852. 
He married, at Wyoming, Pa., February 12, 1824, Sarah, daughter 
of Fisher Gay, a native of Sharon, Conn, where he was born May 
6, 1778. He was the son of Colonel Ebenezer Gay, a native of 
Litchfield, Conn., where he was born December 26, 1725. His 
second wife, the mother of Fisher Gay, whom he married Novem- 
ber 21, 1765, was Elizabeth Fairbanks. He died July 16, 1787. 
and his wife died December 8, T827. Fisher Gay married, Feb- 
ruary 8, 1801, Elizabeth Mygett, of Amenia, Dutchess county, 
N. Y. He moved to Wyoming valley May 10, 1807, and settled 
on the farm where the Wyoming monument now stands, and 
lived there until his death, July 3, 1857. He gave the land where 
the monument stands, and was instrumental in its erection. His 
second wife, by whom he had no children, was Susanna Oster- 
hout, widow of Isaac Osterhout, mother of Isaac S. Osterhout, 
founder of the Osterhout Free Library in this city. Her maiden 
name was Susanna Smith, daughter of William Hooker Smith, 
M. D. 

Charles H. Welles, son of Charles H. Welles, was born at 
Dundaff April 16, 1845. He was educated in his native village 
and at the Luzerne Institute, Wyoming, Pa. He read law with 
Samuel Sherrerd, Sherrerd & Hand, and Hand & Post. In 
1869 he was elected clerk of the mayor's court of Scranton for 
a term of three years. He was one of the organizers of the 
Second Presbyterian church of Scranton, Pa., and is one of the 
elders of the same. He has also been one of the board of trustees 
in the same church. Mr. Welles married, October 20, 1869, 



910 



Samuel F. McDormott. 



Hannah B. Sherrerd, a daughter of John B. Sherrerd, M. D., of 
Scranton. (See sketch of Samuel Sherrerd.) Dr. Sherrerd was 
a brother of the late Samuel Sherrerd, of the Luzerne county bar. 
The wife of Dr. Sherrerd was Lucy M. Walters, of Nazareth, Pa. 
Mr. and Mrs. Welles have a family of four children — Lucy Sher- 
rerd Welles, Charles Hopkins Welles, Paul Bessel Welles, and 
Kenneth Brakelv Welles. Mr. Welles resides in Scranton. 



SAMUEL F. McDORMOTT. 



Samuel F. McDormott, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county April 4, 1867, is a native of Espy, Columbia county, 
Pa., where he was born December 24, 1842. He is the son of 
James McDormott, who was the son of Michael McDormott, a 
native of Longford county, Ireland, who came to the United 
States after the suppression of the Irish rebellion in 1798. His 
mother is Ann, a daughter of Joseph and Catharine Shafer [nee 
Mower), of Hanover township, Luzerne county, Pa. Their 
parents were from Germany and settled in Northampton county, 
Pa., at or before the revolutionary war. The wife of Michael Mc- 
Dormott was Sarah Engle, daughter of Jacob and Catherine 
Engle, whose parents came to the United States from Germany 
and settled at Easton, Pa., about the close of the revolutionary 
war. S. F. McDormott was educated in the public schools of 
Wilkes-Barre and at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa. He 
read law with D. L. Rhone. He practiced from the date of his 
admission at Wilkes-Barre to the spring of 1873, from that time 
to February, 1880, at Spottsylvania Court House, Virginia, and 
since that date at Coffeyville, Kansas, where he now resides. He 
married, July 2, 1877, Catharine Tobin, a native of Wayne 
county, Pa. Her parents, John and Julia Tobin, were natives of 
the county Cork, Ireland. Mr. and Mrs. McDormott have one 
child — Richard Henry McDormott. 



Orlando Wellington Spratt. 911 



JEREMIAH D. REGAN. 

Jeremiah D. Regan, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county August 19, 1867, is a native of Canaan, Wayne county, 
Pa., where he was born May 4, 1835. He studied science in the 
University of Northern Pennsylvania, Bethany, Pa., and after- 
wards studied the languages, and was professor of mathematics in 
St. Joseph's college, Susquehanna county, Pa. He studied law 
with his brother, Michael Regan, in this city, and has practiced 
here and at Scranton. His father, Michael Regan, and his mother, 
Catharine Regan, {jice Tobin), were born in Ireland. Mr. Regan 
married, January i, 1867, Mary North, whose parents, Thomas 
North and Bridget North, {nee Mulligan), were also born in Ire- 
land. Mr. and Mrs. Regan have a family of three children — 
Frederick Regan, Ella Regan and Mary Regan. 



ORLANDO WELLINGTON SPRATT. 



Orlando Wellington Spratt, who was admitted to the Luzerne 
county bar October 30, 1867, is a native of Towanda, Pa., where 
he was born April 22, 1841. He is the son of Rev. George M. 
Spratt, D. D, a native of Quebec, Canada, and grandson of Rev. 
George Spratt, a native of England. The mother of O. W. Spratt 
is Abigail Reed, a daughter of Matthias Reed, a native of North- 
umberland county. Pa. O. W. Spratt was educated at the Buck- 
nell University, Lewisburg, Pa., from which he graduated in 1861, 
and the Harvard Law School, from which he graduated in 1866. 
He read law with George F. Miller, at Lewisburg, and was admit- 
ted to the Union county bar in 1863. Mr. Spratt was the busi- 
ness manager of the New York house of the American Baptist 
Publication Society from 1881-83. Since then he has been in 
charge of the business of the main house in Philadelphia, where 
he resides, and of the branch houses located in Boston, Chicago, 
New York, St. Louis and Atlanta. He married, August 30, 
1882, Dora E. Watrous, a daughter of Rev. G. P. Watrous, a 



912 Ira Hale Burns. 



native of Connecticut. Her mother, Prudence M. Knapp Wat- 
rous, was a native of New York state. Her grandfather, Pomeroy 
Watrous, and grandmother, Ethehnda Hurd Watrous, were born 
in Connecticut. Her grandfather, Alfred Metcalf Knapp, was 
born in Vermont, and her grandmother, SaUie Hart Knapp, was 
born in the state of New York. 



IRA HALE BURNS. 



Ira Hale Burns, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., January 21, 1868, is a native of Clifford, Susque- 
hanna county, Pa., where he was born July 19, 1842. His grand- 
father came from the north of Ireland, and was of Scotch descent. 
Jonathan Burns, known as Captain Burns, came from Otsego 
county, N. Y., about 1800, in company with his brother, David 
Burns. He located at first near the site of Dundaff, Susquehanna 
county. Pa., but in 1802 he removed to the east branch of the 
Tunkhannock, near the mouth of the creek that bears his 
name. Captain Burns was a strong, athletic man. He was fond 
of all active sports, and hunted a great deal for profit as well as 
pleasure. It was easier to lay in a store of bear meat or venison 
than to procure and fatten hogs. At one time, late in the fall of 
the year, he went out hunting on the Lackawanna mountains, 
south of where Carbondale now stands. While busily engaged 
in securing game to supply the family larder, the Lackawanna 
had become so swollen with rain as to be impassable. The 
weather had changed from the mildness of " Indian summer" to 
piercing cold. His tow frock was almost frozen to his body. 
His companion had become so discouraged that he sat down and 
declared he could go no further. Burns cut a whip and applied 
it with such vigor to his back that he was stimulated to renewed 
exertions. They built a fire on the bank of the river, and the 
next morning the water had so far subsided that they laid felled 
trees across the stream and went over safely. Burns then carried 
eighty pounds of bear meat and a rifle weighing twenty pounds a 
distance of twelve miles without laying them off his shoulder. At 



John McGinnes Ranck. 913 



one time he carried two bushels of wheat to the mill at Belmont, 
a distance of ten miles, and the flour in returning, and stopped 
but once each way to rest. Captain Burns had seven sons, the 
youngest, Ellery Burns, being the father of I. H. Burns. The 
wife of Ellery Burns was Harriet Clawson, a native of Newburg, 
N. Y., daughter of Benjamin Clawson. 

I. H. Burns was educated in the schools of his native township 
and at the academy at Great Bend, Pa. He read law with Bent- 
ley & Fitch, at Montrose, and was admitted to the bar of Susque- 
hanna county in August, 1864. In 1866 he removed to Scranton 
and has resided there since. In 1876 he was one of the demo- 
cratic candidates for the legislature from Luzerne county, but 
was defeated, owing to dissensions in the party. For the past 
twelve years he has been the city solicitor of Scranton. Mr. 
Burns married, January 31, 1867, Eveline F. Barnes, a native of 
Herrick township, Susquehanna county, and daughter of G. W. 
Barnes, a native of Gibson township, Susquehanna county. Mr. 
and Mrs. Burns have a family of seven children — Rose F. Burns, 
Myrtle E. Burns, May E. Burns, Carlotta L. Burns, Grace 
Burns, Iris Burns, and EUery Burns. 



JOHN McGINNES RANCK. 




John McGinnes Ranck, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pa., February 26, 1868, is the son of Adam Ranck, 
and his wife, Jane Martin, of Union county, Pa. Mr. Ranck 
was born April 19, 1831, in White Deer township, Union county. 
He was educated at the Milton Academy and Lewisburg Univer- 
sity, and read law with H. C. Hickok, at Lewisburg, Pa., and was 
admitted to the bar of Union county, at New Berlin, then the 
county seat. May 26, 1855. Mr. Ranck, when a young man, 
taueht school for three vears, and worked on a farm until he was 
twenty-one years of age. He practiced his profession for a few 
years in Lewisburg, and then removed to Scranton, Pa. He 
married, March 14, 1854, Mary Nancy Dreisbach, daughter of 
Elias and Rebecca Dreisbach, of Buffalo Valley, Union county; 



QI4 MiLO JoNKS Wilson. 



and his second wife, whom he married January 30, 1867, was 
Emma D. Melick, daughter of John and Martha Jane Melick, 
of Light Street, Columbia county. Pa. Mr, Ranck has five child- 
ren living, the eldest, Rebecca J., being married to H, W. Hales, 
of Ridgewood, N. J. Mr. Ranck resides at Light Street, but 
has an office in Scranton. 



MILO JONES WILSON. 



Milo Jones Wilson, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county. Pa., April 9, 1868, is a native of Factory ville, Luzerne (now 
Wyoming) county. Pa., where he was born January 31, 1838. He 
is a descendant of Joseph Wilson, a native of Rhode Island, who 
was a sailor on board of a privateer during the colonial war, in 
which service he lost a leg. He subsequently removed to Bask- 
ing- Ridp-e. N. T., and from there to Warwick, Orange county, N. 
Y., where he died. His wife was Elizabeth Rickey. Isaac Wil- 
son, son of Joseph Wilson, was born at Basking Ridge August 
2, 1 768. His wife was Sarah Phillips, a native of Pownal,Vermont, 
where she was born July 29, 1775. She was a daughter of John 
Phillips, who married Mary Chamberlain. John was a son of 
Francis Phillips, a native of Rhode Island. At the time of the 
battle of Wyoming, July 3, 1778, John Phillips was in Port 
Blanchard with his family. Sarah Phillips was but three years 
of age at the time. In the Act for erecting Luzerne county, 
John Phillips was named one of the trustees to "take assurances 
for a piece of land situated in some convenient place in or 
near Wilkcsburg, within the said county of Luzerne, for the seat 
of a court house and of a county jail or prison for the said 
county, in the name of the commonwealth, in trust for the use 
and benefit of the said county of Luzerne, and thereupon to 
erect a court house and prison. " After the marriage of Isaac 
Wilson and Sarah Phillips they removed from Warwick to Pitt- 
ston, in this county, where they bought a farm on the east side 
of the Lackawanna river, about a mile above its junction with the 
Susquehanna. Their children were all born there, Amzi Wilson 



MiLO Jones Wilson. • 915 



(who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county November 7, 
1840) being the eldest. He was born December 17, 1795. John 
Wilson, son of Isaac Wilson, was born in Pittston, March 22, 
1 80 1. He married, March 3, 1830, Elsa Capwell, of Abington, Pa., 
who was born November 16, 1809. She was a daughter of Jere- 
miah Capwell, who was born in 1799 in Rhode Island. He was 
the son of Stephen and Hannah Capwell. The wife of Jeremiah 
Capwell was Isabella Whipple, a daughter of Joseph and Elsa 
Whipple, of Rhode Island. John Wilson, the father of the sub- 
ject of our sketch and the son of Isaac Wilson, was a graduate of 
Harvard University. He studied medicine with Andrew Bedford, 
M.' D., of Waverly, Pa., and after his marriage settled in Factory- 
villa, Pa., where he practiced until his death, February 27, 1879. 
M. J. Wilson, son of John Wilson, M. D., was educated at the 
Madison Academy, at Waverly, and the New York Central 
College, from which he graduated in 1858. He read law with 
R, B. Little and William M. Post, and was admitted to the bar of 
Susquehanna county August 20, i860. Soon after his admission 
he went to St, Louis, Mo., and was admitted to the bar there in 
the fall of i860. He practiced in St. Louis until the spring of 
1862, when he enlisted in the Ninety-fourth Regiment Ohio Volun- 
teers. He was in the rout and retreat from Lexington, Ky., to Louis- 
ville, and was in the battles of Perryville, Murfreesboro, and 
other engagements. In 1863 he was detached and did duty as 
sergeant major in Fortress Rosecrans until the close of the war, 
in 1865. He settled in Scranton in 1868, where he still resides. 
He married, August 29, 1865, Ellen S. Warren, a native of 
McDonough, Chenango county, N. Y., a descendant of Simon 
Warren, of Littleton, Mass., where he was born November 
21. 1750. He settled in Jaffrey, N. H., about 1773. He mar- 
ried Martha Harper, of Harvard, Mass., who was born Sep- 
tember II, 1749. Oliver Warren, son of Simon Warren, married, 
September 17, 1801, Abiah Stanley, a descendant of Matthew 
Stanley, who was of Lynn, Mass., in 1646. He had a son 
Samuel, who had a son also named Samuel. David Stanley, son 
of Samuel Stanley, jr., was born September 28, 171 7, and married 
Sarah Burton March i, 1746. Jonathan Stanley, the father of 
Abiah Stanley, the wife of Oliver Warren, and his wife Lois Ross 



gi6 John Espv. 

were of Acton, Mass. The latter's parents settled in Jaffrey, 
where Abiah was born. Jonathan Stanley was a native of Wil- 
mington, Mass. Andrew Oliver Warren, son of Oliver Warren, 
married Sophia Underwood, who was born February 19, 181 1. 
She is a descendant of Joseph Underwood, an early resident of 
Massachusetts, wher? he was born in 168 1. His wife was Susan- 
nah Parker. He had a son John, born September 15, 1727, 
who married Hannah Wright. He had a son Jereme, who was 
born July 21, 1750, and married Lucy Wheat at Lincoln, Mass., 
and removed to Jaffrey in 1777. His son Jereme, who was born 
August 24, 1 78 1, married Nabby, daughter of Daniel and Sarah 
Gage, of Marlborough, N. H., November 23, 1807. Sophia, 
daughter of Jereme and Nabby Underwood, became the wife of 
Andrew Oliver Warren, the father of Ella S. Wilson. Her 
parents removed to Montrose, Pa., about 1849, and they still 
reside there. Her father, A. O. Warren, is a member of the Sus- 
quehanna county bar, as is also her brother, Charles A. Warren. 
Mr. and Mrs. Wilson have no children surviving, two having 
died in infancy. 



JOHN ESPY. 



John Espy, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county. 
Pa.. April 20, 1868, is a descendant of George Espy, son of Jo- 
siah Espy, who died March, 1761, in Derry township, Lancas- 
ter county. Pa., where he was a settler as early as 1729. He was 
an emigrant from the north of Ireland. He married, in Ireland, 
Jean Taylor. Josiah Espy, son of George Espy, born in 17 18, in 
the north of Ireland, died in 1762 in Hanover township, Lancaster 
county. George Espy, son of Josiah Espy, was born in 1749 in 
Hanover township, Lancaster (now Dauphin) county, and died 
April, 1 8 14, in Luzerne county. Pa. His father, in March, 1775, 
conveyed to him a tract of land granted him by the proprietaries 
in what was then Northumberland county. Pa., to which he re- 
moved the same year. This tract of land was situated not far from 
the present borough of Nanticoke, upon which he built a log 



Frederick William Gunster. 917 

house. John Espy, son of George Espy, was born in 1779, in Han- 
over township, then Lancaster (now Dauphin) county. He died 
March 25, 1843, in Hanover township, Luzerne codnty. Pa. 
James Espy, son of John Espy, was born in 181 1 in Nanticoke, 
Pa. John Espy was the son of James Espy. (See page 431.) He 
was born in Hanover township, Luzerne county, Pa., September 
21, 1842, and read law in the office of E. B. Harvey in this city. 
During the late civil war he was a private in Company E of the 
First Iowa Regiment. He was the first captain of the Wyoming 
Artillerists as reorganized after the close of the war, and was for 
eight years aid-de-camp on Major General Osborne's staff, with 
the rank of major in the National Guard of Pennsylvania. 
He saw active service in the strike riots at Scranton, Sus- 
quehanna Depot and Hazleton, Pa. He married, March 23, 
1867, Martha M. Wood, a daughter of the late John B. Wood 
and his wife, Sarah Gore Wood. (See page 435.) Mr. and 
Mrs. Espy have a family of four children — John B. W. Espy, 
Lila W. Espy, Maude M. Espy, and Olin Espy. Mr. Espy was 
educated at the New Columbus Academy and at the Albany Law 
School, from which he graduated in I866. In 1879 Mr. Espy 
removed to St. Paul, Minn., where he now resides. In 1884 and 
1885 he was one of the county commissioners of Ramsey 
county, Minn., and the first named year was secretary of the re- 
publican state central committee of Minnesota. 

Mr. Espy is an active and enterprising citizen of St. Paul. 

The organization of Mahtomedi Assembly and the Central Park 

M. E. Church of St. Paul, are largely due to his efforts. He has 

also erected quite a number of business blocks in the same city. 

- He is a brother of B. M. Espy of the Luzerne bar. 



FREDERICK WILLIAM GUNSTER. 



Frederick William Gunster, of Scranton, Pa, who was admitted to 
the bar of Luzerne county, Pa., November 10, 1868, is a native 



918 Frederick William Gunster. 



of Lockweiler, Prussia, where he was born September 15, 1845. 
His father, Peter Gunster, a native of Wadern, Prussia, emi- 
grated to America in 1853, and settled with his family at Scran- 
ton. The wife of Peter Gunster is Mary Birtel, daughter of John 
Birtel, natives of Lockweiler. F. W. Gunster was educated in 
the public schools of Scranton and Williams College, Williams- 
town, Mass., graduating with honors in 1867 in a class of fifty 
students, and was selected by the faculty of the college to deliver 
the philosophical oration. He read law with W. G. Ward at 
Scranton. He was district attorney of Lackawanna county in 
1878 and 1879, and in 1875 and 1876 was a member of the 
house of representatives of Pennsylvania. He is a director of 
the Third National Bank of Scranton, of the Meredith Run Coal 
Company, and of the Pennsylvania Oral School for Deaf Mutes. 
He has been attorney for the city of Scranton, and for the past 
fourteen years has been attorney of the school board of the city 
of Scranton. In 1872 he was one of the electors on the demo- 
cratic ticket. On August 14, 1888, Mr. Gunster received the 
unanimous nomination of the democratic party, of which he is an 
honored member, for additional law judge of Lackawanna county, 
and the republican county convention gave him an endorsement 
by refusing to name a candidate against him. Of course he was 
elected. His term will begin on January 7, 1889. On Novem- 
ber 15, 1888, he was appointed by Governor Beaver an additional 
law judge to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Alfred 
Hand. He will fill this position until his regular term com- 
mences. Mr. Gunster married, October 16, 1873, Maggie Brahl, 
of this city. She is the daughter of Christopher Brahl, a native 
of Fuldau, Prussia, who emigrated to America in 1840, locating 
in Harrisburg, where he resided until 1843, when he settled in 
this city, and has resided here since. He was a merchant here 
for twenty-eight years. He was a director of the First National 
Bank of Wilkes-Barre for eighteen years. He has been for fifteen 
years a director of the Wilkes-Barre Savings Bank, and is now 
vice president of the same. Mr. and Mrs. Gunster have a family 
of four children living — John M. Gunster, Louisa M. Gunster, 
Marguerite M. Gunster and Elizabeth Gunster. 



Charles Graham Van Fleet. 919 



WILLIAM H. STANTON. 



William H. Stanton, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., November 10, 1868, is a native of the city of New 
York, where he was born in July, 1843. His father was William 
Stanton. W. H. Stanton was educated in the public schools and 
at St. Joseph's College, Susquehanna county. Pa., and read law 
with W. G. Ward, in Scranton. In the years 1872, 1873 and 
1874 he was district attorney of the mayor's court of Scranton. 
In 1875-76 he was a state senator for Luzerne county, and in 
1876 was elected to the congress of the United States to fill the 
unexpired term of W. \\\ Ketcham, now deceased. In 1877 he 
was elected by the labor reform party an additional law judge for 
Luzerne county for a term of ten years. He served during the 
year 1878 and then resigned office. He was for the years 1870 
and 1 87 1 the editor and proprietor of the Scranton Bai/y Times. 
Mr. Stanton married, August 16, 1S69, Anna Mary Allen, 
daughter of James Henry Allen. Mr. and Mrs. Stanton have a 
family of five children — William H. Stanton, Mary A. Stanton, 
Victoria A. Stanton, Leroi E. Stanton, and Lenore G. Stanton. 
Mr. Stanton resides in Scranton, Pa., where he practices law. 



CHARLES GRAHAM VAN FLEET. 



Charles Graham Van Fleet, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pa., November 10, 1868, is a native of Benton town- 
ship, Luzerne (now Lackawanna) county. Pa., where he was born 
June 3, 1847. He is a grandson of the late James Van Fleet, a 
native of Minnesink, Orange county, N. Y., where he was born 
February 9, 1786. He came to Pittston the same year, being 
brought by his mother on horseback from his native place. The 
wife of James Van Fleet was Christiana Gardner. She was a 
daughter of Jesse Gardner, a native of Orange county, N. Y. He 
was a revolutionary soldier under General Sullivan, and after the 



g20 Clark Esek King Rovce. 

war ended he emigrated to Pittston. He was the ancestor of 15. 
G. Carpenter, of this city. James Van Fleet removed to Benton 
at an early date, and was one of its first settlers. The village of 
Fleetville, in Benton township, derived its name from him. 
The father of Charles G. Van Fleet, and son of James Van Fleet, 
was Alva Van Fleet, a farmer of Benton. His wife was Esther 
Baker, of Clifford, Susquehanna county, Pa. C. G. Van Fleet 
was educated at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa., and at the 
Clinton, N. Y., Liberal Institute. He commenced his reading of 
the law with Lamberton and Merriman, in this city, and com- 
pleted his reading with E. N. Willard, in Scranton. Mr. Van 
Fleet was twice married — first, July 29, 1869, to Isabella C. Wil- 
son, daughter of John Wilson, M. D., of Factoryville, Pa. (See 
page 914.) By her he had two children — Edwin Wilson Van 
P'leet and Nora Belle Van Fleet. He married a second time, 
September 29, 1887, Ellen Oliver, a native of Troy, Pa. She is 
the daughter of Edwin C. Oliver, a native of Caldwell, N. J. Mr. 
Van Fleet resides at Troy, Pa. He has practiced at Scranton, 
Pa., Troy, Pa., and Boulder, Colorado. In 1879 and 1880 he was 
mayor of Boulder. 



CLARK ESEK KING ROYCE. 



Clark Esek King Royce, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county. Pa., January 23, 1869, is a descendant of Robert 
Rose, who came to America in the ship Francis, from Ipswich, 
England, in 1634, with a son named Robert, who settled in Strat- 
ford, Conn., in 1644. He had a son Samuel Royce, of Walling- 
ford. Conn., in 1644, who had a son Jacob Royce, born in 1697, 
died in 1727, who had a son Amos Royce, of Wallingford, Conn., 
born in 1725, who had a son Jacob Royce, of Lebanon, N. Y., 
born in 1756, who had a son Ira Royce', of Lebanon, born in 
1800 and died in 1874. The name is variously spelled Royce, 
Rice, Rose and Roise. C. E. K. Royce, son of Ira Royce, was 
born at Lebanon Springs, N. Y., January 13, 1837. The mother 
of C. E. K. Royce and wife of Ira Royce was Lucy A. King, 
daughter of Esek King. Mr. Royce married, February 3, 1864, 



Emerich Harrison Painter. 921 



Harriet B. Mitchell, daughter of Edward Mitchell, of Bridge 
Hampton, L. I., whose wife was Mary Brainard, of New Haven, 
Conn. Mr. and Mrs. Royce have a family of three children — 
Frank H. Royce, Robert M. Royce, and Mary B. Royce. C. E. 
K. Royce graduated from Williams College in the class of 1859. 
He then attended the Columbia College Law School, and was 
admitted to the bar of the state of New York, at Albany, in May, 
1861. He entered the army in August, 186 1, with the Forty- 
fourth Regiment, New York Infantry, and in November, 1865, 
was mustered out as colonel of the Twenty-ninth Regiment U. 
S. colored troops. He commenced the practice of the law at 
Sag Harbor, N. Y., and in 1868 he removed to Scranton, and 
was associated for a time with E. N. Willard, under the firm name 
of Willard & Royce. He subsequently went to San Francisco, 
Cal., where he now resides. 



EMERICH HARRISON PAINTER. 




Emerich Harrison Painter, who was admitted to the bar of 
Luzerne county, Pa., February 24, 1869, is a descendant of Jacob 
Painter, who came from Holland at an early day and settled in 
Westmoreland county. Pa., then known as the "Wilds of the 
West." William Painter, son of Jacob Painter, was a native 
of Westmoreland county, where he was born in 1794. E. H. 
Painter, son of William Painter, was born in Freeport, Armstrong 
county. Pa., February 22, 1843. He was educated in the public 
schools of his native i)lace and at Bucknell University, Lewisburg, 
Pa., graduating from the latter in the class of 1867. He read law 
with George F. Miller, at Lewi-sburg. Pa., and was admitted to 
the Union county bar in October, 1868. In 1873, 1874 and 
,1875 he was deputy register of wills of Luzerne county. Mr. 
Painter married, April 15, 1869, Margaret Marr Derr, a daughter 
of Jacob Derr, whose grandfather, Ludwig Dorr, was the founder 
of the present borough of Lewisburg, Pa., which in his day was 
called Derrstown. They have but one child living— Harry Leland 
Painter. Mr. Painter now resides in Turbotyille, Pa, 



y22 Weslev II. Geakiiart. 



WESLEY H. GEARHART. 



Wesley H. Gearhait, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., April 7, 1869, is a native of Rush township, North- 
umberland county. Pa., where he was born December 8, 1839. 
He spent his early life on his father's farm, attending school a 
few months each year. His father died when quite young. This 
soon made self support and family aid a necessity. Soon there- 
after he began a five years' clerkship in Danville, Pa., studying 
in the meantime, and after that attending the Danville Academy 
and Dickinson Seminary, at Williamsport, Pa., graduating from 
the latter institution in 1862. He paid for his education from 
his own earnings. He read law with Hon. Paul Leidy, at 
Danville, and was admitted to the Montour county bar in De- 
cember, 1865. He removed to Reading, Pa., and spent three 
years practicing at the Berks county bar. Mr. Gearhart's reason 
for leaving that bar is given in his own words: "The German I 
had learned from the books and the Dutch as she is spoke in 
Berks county would not mix." He then settled in Scranton, 
Pa., and soon obtained a fine practice. Before leaving Reading, 
Judge Warren J. Woodward, before whom he had there prac- 
ticed, in a letter of introduction to Judge Conyngham, said of 
him : "You will find Mr. Gearhart to have unusual acquirements 
and qualifications for his profession, and to be a gentleman of the 
highest personal character. Such countenances as you may 
properly give him will be deservedly bestowed. " Mr. Gearhart 
is a democrat in politics, and has been quite active since a voter, 
"taking the stump" in about every important campaign. He 
has repeatedly been asked and urged to run for almost every 
political office, but he has preferred home and family and to re- 
main by his large and lucrative practice, and to look after his coal 
mining interests in which he is now and for the past six years 
has been quite largely engaged. During the late civil war he was 
about four and a half months in the state service as a private. 
Mr. Gearhart is of Dutch descent, his ancestors having removed 
from Holland and settled in what is now Warren county, N. J. 
His great-grandparents removed to and settled near the banks 



Harry T. Hull. 



923 



of the Susquehanna river in Northumberland county, Pa. His 
grandfather, William Gearhart, was a native of the last named 
county and was a member of the constitutional convention of 
1838. His son, Charles Gearhart, was the father of W. H. Gear- 
hart. The wife of Charles Gearhart was Sarah Mettler. a daufrh- 
ter of William Mettler. She is still living at Danville at the ao-e 
of seventy-eight. Mr. Gearhart married, May 3, 1866, Mary E. 
Kipp, daughter of George D. Kipp and his wife Mary (fiee Rus- 
sell). Mr. and Mrs. Gearhart have a fam.ily of four children living 
— Edwin W^ay Gearhart, Lilian Gearhart, James Kipp Gearhart 

and Mary Russell Gearhart. Their eldest child, George Kipp 
Gearhart, is deceased. 



HARRY T. HULL. 



Harry T. Hull was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county. Pa., 
April 24, 1869. He is the grandson of Robert Hull, a native of 
Hull, England. Francis Hull, son of Robert Hull, was born at 
Tolland, Mass. His wife was Fannie Hull, a daughter of Reu- 
ben Stearns. H. T. Hull, son of Francis Hull, was born May 24, 
1847, at Clifford, Susquehanna county, Pa. He was educated at 
Harvard, Mass., and at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa., and 
read law with Wright & Harrington, in this city. He has prac- 
ticed at Falls City, Nebraska, where he was police judge in 1885, 
and at Humboldt, Nebraska, where he now resides. Mr. Hull 
married, May 28, 1872, at Falls City, Lydia M. Power, a daugh- 
ter of John Power, a native of New Bloomfield, Perry county, 
Pa., and son of Captain William Power, who resided near that 
place. The wife of John Power was Sarah, daughter of Joseph 
Steele. Sarah Steele was a sister of the late George P. Steele, of 
this city, and of Margaret Steele, who married Edwin F. Ferris. 
(See page 385.) Mr. and Mrs. Hull have a family of two chil- 
dren — Orma Lulu Hull and Mary Hull. 



924 



Michael Heery. 



CORNELIUS SMITH. 



Cornelius Smith, who was admitted to the bar of L-uzernc 
county, Pa., August i6, 1869, is a native of the county Cavan, 
Ireland, where he was born October 25, 1838. He is the son of 
John Smith, whose father's name was Cornelius Smith. The 
subject of this sketch was educated at the New Berlin Academy, 
in Union county. Pa., and read law with George Hill, at Sunbury, 
Pa. He was admitted to the Northumberland county bar in 
November, 1863. After practicing a short time in Sunbury, he 
removed to Pottsville in 1864, where he practiced until his 
removal to this county. He served as city attorney of Scranton 
for one year, and he has been retained in a large number of the 
important trials in Lackawanna and adjoining counties. He 
assisted in the defense in the homicide cases of Irving and 
O'Mara at Montrose, and was attorney for the defense in the so- 
called rioters' cases in this county which grew out of difficul- 
ties in the strike of 1877. He married, January 31, 1864, Mar- 
garet A. Mahon, a daughter of Patrick Mahon. Mr. and Mrs. 
Smith have a family of three children— Mamie Frances Smith, 
Regina Gabrielle Smith, and John Stanley Smith. 



MICHAEL HEERY. 



Michael Heery was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, 
Pa., August 16, 1869. He is a native of county Longford, Ire- 
land, and is the son of Thomas Heery. Michael Heery came to 
this country when quite young. He read law with Michael Re- 
gan, and married Margaret McGavin. He now resides in To- 
peka, Kansas. 



Edward Baker Sturges. 925 



EDWARD BAKER STURGES. 



Edward Baker Sturges, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pd., August 19, 1869, is a native of Greenfield Hill, 
Fairfield county, Conn., where he was born February 15, 1845. 
He is the son of the late Rev. Thomas Benedict Sturges, and 
grandson of Joseph Porter Sturges, who was a resident of 
Bridgeport, Conn. (See page 490.) He was educated at the 
College of New York, and read law with J. D. Alvord, of Bridge- 
port, and was admitted to the Fairfield county bar in February, 
1867. The first time that Mr. Sturges set his foot on Pennsyl- 
vania soil was with Uncle Sam's rifle on his shoulder and knap- 
sack on his back. This was in 1863, when he was but eighteen 
years of age. In 1867 he came to this county to attend a funeral, 
and was so attracted by the prospects of Scranton that he gave 
up his intention of practicing law in the city of New York and 
removed to Scranton. John B. Smith, superintendent of the 
Pennsylvania Coal Company, was largely instrumental in helping 
him to get started, and at the end of two years he had a large 
practice, which soon after probably paid him as well as that of 
almost any attorney in the county. He retained this large practice 
until he became so deeply interested in other business matters 
that he was obliged to surrender a large part of his legal business 
or lose his health. Mr. Sturges has had as much to do with the 
development of the city of Scranton as any other person in it at 
the present time. This has been largely due to his faith and invest- 
ments in real estate and in electric railways, which an examination 
in Europe had made him a thorough believer in before they were 
used practically in this country. Mr. Sturges is a thorough 
"Puritan," "as his fathers were," and also a strong temperance 
man, having been a candidate on the prohibition ticket for judge at 
the time when General Osborne and Judge Handley ran. He has 
since declined nominations by that party because assured that 
eventually their candidates would be elected, which was not de- 
sired in his case. In 1877 he was presented, by a large number of 
citizens, with a silver service for his efforts and success in convict- 



926 Jacob Byron Snyder. 

ing dishonest municipal officers in Scranton. Mr. Sturges has 
been a director of the Young Men's Christian Association of 
Scranton for seventeen years, and is now a trustee of their new 
building. He was president of the association in 1873 ^"^ 1874, 
and was for a number of years corresponding secretary. He is a 
director and trustee of the Pennsylvania Oral School for Deaf 
Mutes, now erecting its building. He was one of the eight mem- 
bers of the First Presbyterian church of Scranton who first 
pledged themselves to organize the Second church of Scranton, 
of which he was trustee for several years. He is now a trus- 
tee and elder in the Green Ridge Presbyterian church in Scran- 
ton. He built, and was president for two years, of the Scranton 
Suburban Railway, the first considerable electric railway in the 
United States, and is now one of the directors of the same. He 
is president of the Nay Aug Cross Town Railway Company, also 
running an electric railway. He is also the president of the Lack- 
awanna Electric Power Company, which supplies electric power 
for Scranton roads now running, and he is a director in the Sub- 
urban Electric Light Company. He is a director in the Lacka- 
wanna Trust and Safe Deposit Company, treasurer of the Lack- 
awanna Coal Company, limited, and one of the managers of the 
Dolph Coal Company, limited, also president of the Scranton and 
Forest City Railroad Company. He is also interested in several 
other enterprises which it is not necessary to name. Mr. Sturges 
married, September 2, 1873, Marion Sanderson, daughter of the 
late George Sanderson, of Scranton. (See sketch of George San- 
derson.) Mr. and Mrs. Sturges have a family of three children — 
Clarence B. Sturges, George Sanderson Sturges, and Anna Stur-. 
ges. E. B. Sturges is a brother of Frank C. Sturges, of the Lu- 
zerne bar. 



JACOB BYRON SNYDER. 



Jacob Byron Snyder was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., August 24, 1869. His father was Jacob Snyder, 
whose wife was Rebecca Niver, a daughter of Jacob Niver. They 
were of Dutch descent, and both Mr. Snyder and Mr. Niver were 



Lewis Martin Bunnell. 927 



soldiers in the revolutionary war. J. B. Snyder was born in 
Greenfield township, Luzerne (now Lackawanna) county, Pa., July 
7, 1824. He was educated in the public schools, and read law with 
F. M. Crane and Earl Wheeler, at Honesdale, and with W. G. 
Ward, at Scranton. While residing in Wayne county Mr. 
Snyder was a justice of the peace for ten years, and coroner of 
Wayne county for a term of three years. He married, June 20, 
1850, Elizabeth, daughter of John Decker. Mr. and Mrs. Sny- 
der have a family of three children living — Byron Jacob Snyder 
(married to Matilda Cramer, daughter of Lewis Cramer), Sam- 
uel Henry Snyder, and Fred Gunster Snyder, Mr. Snyder 
resides in Scranton, and has been court crier of Lackawanna 
county for nine years. 




LEWIS MARTIN BUNNELL. 

Lewis Martin Bunnell was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county. Pa., August 24, 1869. He is a grandson of Miles B. Bun- 
nell, a native of Norwich, Conn., and his father was Martin Bun- 
nell, a native of Danbury, Conn., who removed to Herrick township, 
Susquehanna county, Pa., prior to 1834. In that year he was 
one of the organizers of the Baptist church in that township. The 
mother of L, M. Bunnell was Aurena Decatur, a native of Rox- 
bury, Delaware county, N. Y. She was the daughter of Cor- 
nelius K. Decatur, a nativ^e of Baltimore, Maryland whose par- 
ents came from Baden Baden, Germany. He enlisted in the 
continental army and remained with it until the end of the war. 
He was at Valley Forge in the winter of 1777-8, and was also 
at the surrender at Yorktown. He died in 1852, aged ninety- 
seven years. Lewis M. Bunnell was born in Herrick township, 
December 8, 1835. ^^^ ^^'^^ educated at the public schools of 
his native township, at Harford Academy and the Wyoming 
Seminary, Kingston, Pa. He had attended but four terms of pub- 
lic school up to the time he was sixteen years of age. He was 
apprenticed to a blacksmith, which trade he learned, and after- 
wards worked as a journeyman to enable him to obtain his 
education as stated. He then taught school for three terms. 



928 Meredith Lewis Jones. 



He read law with R. 15. Little, at Montrose, Ta., and was admit- 
ted to the bar of Susquehanna county, Fa., August 6, 1862. In 
1 86 1 he entered the United States service as a private. This was 
in the three months' service. He was afterwards captain of Com- 
pany K, of the One Hundred and Seventy-seventh Regiment 
Pennsylvania Volunteers. The term of service of this regiment 
was nine months. Mr. Bunnell served nearly two years in the 
recruiting service of the army subsequently. Mr. Bunnell mar- 
ried, January i, 1866, Anna Davis, a native of Floyd, Oneida 
county, N. Y. Her father, Richard R. Davis, was a native of 
Wales. Mr. and Mrs. Bunnell have a family of five children 
living — Mary R. Bunnell, Lewis M. Bunnell, Bessie A. Bunnell, 
Anna M. Bunnell, and Ralph Decatur Bunnell. Mr. Bunnell 
since his admission to the bar of our county has resided in Scran- 
ton. From 1873 to 1876 he was a school director of Hyde Park, 
now a portion of the city of Scranton. 



GEORGE D. BUTLER. 



George D. Butler was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, 
Pa., November 9, 1869. He v^^as originally from Montour county, 
Pa., and practiced his profession in Scranton for a year or more. 
He is said to be residing in New York. 



MEREDITH LEWIS JONES. 



Meredith Lewis Jones was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county. Pa., November 15, 1869. He was born in Carbondale, 
Luzerne (now Lackawanna) county, Pa , April 30, 1840, and is 
the son of Lewis Jones and Anna Maria Jones, his wife. (See 
page 826) He was educated at the Luzerne Presbyterian Insti- 
tute, at Wyoming, and read law with his father. He has prac- 
ticed in this city, also in .Scranton, and now in New York city. 
While residing in Scranton he held the position of notary public, 
and he is now commissioner of deeds for Pennsylvania, with his 



James Emmett Stoutenburgh. 929 



office in, the city of New York. During the late civil war he was 
mustered in as second lieutenant and was afterwards promoted to 
first lieutenant of Company E, One Hundred and Forty-ninth 
Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers. He served as aide-de-camp on 
the staff of Major General Abner Doubleday, commanding Third 
Division, First Army Corps, during the Chancellorsville and 
Gettysburg campaigns, and in that capacity ordered up the first 
battery that opened fire at the battle of Gettysburg, about 10 a. m. 
July I, 1863. On the third day he had his horse nearly shot to 
pieces, while in the performance of his duty, though he himself 
escaped unhurt. He received honorable and complimentary 
mention in General Doubleday's report of the battle of Gettys- 
burg, and in the General's book on that campaign. He was 
afterwards placed in command of Company B, One Hundred 
and Forty-ninth Regiment ; and by Governor Curtin was offered 
promotion and command of one of the new regiments forming 
at Harrisburg in 1863, which he declined on account of pledges 
given to recruits who first enlisted with him not to leave them. 
After a severe attack of typhoid pneumonia, from the effects of 
which he has never fully recovered, he was honorably discharged 
March 18, 1864. Mr. Jones married. May 10, 1864, Delia Silli- 
man Mitchell, granddaughter of Minott Mitchell, a lawyer, of 
White Plains, N. Y., and daughter of William Minott Mitchell, a 
lawyer of New York, a partner of Hiram Barney, and at the time 
of his death public administrator of New York city. Her mother 
was Delia Silliman, daughter of William Silliman, counsellor at 

law, New York city, whose wife was St. John, of New 

Canaan, Conn. Mr. and Mrs. Jones have one child living — Annie 
Meredith Jones. Mr. Jones resides in Brooklyn, N. Y. 



JAMES EMMETI STOUTENBURGH, 




James Emmett Stoutenburgh, who was admitted to the bar of 
Luzerne county. Pa., November 24, 1869, is a descendant of Ja- 
cobus Stoutenburgh, who came from the Hague, Holland, and 
settled in Hyde Park, Dutchess county, N. Y., about 17 12. He 



930 Lorenzo D. Vickekv. 



married Margaret Teller in 17 17. Luke Stoutenburgh, his son, 
married Rachel Teller. James L. Stoutenburgh, son of Luke 
Stoutenburgh. married Sarah Morris, of Clinton, Dutchess county. 
The first two generations of Stoutenburghs were large land owners 
in Dutchess county, and the family has always occupied a promi- 
nent place in that locality. Rev. Luke L Stoutenburgh, a son of 
James L. Stoutenburgh, after a course of study for the ministry, 
was licensed by the New York Congregational Association in 
1 84 1. On the evening after receiving his license he commenced 
preaching to the Congregational church ' at Chester, Morris 
county, N. J., where he continued his labors for nearly twenty- 
seven years. He was for eleven years superintendent of the public 
schools of Chester township, and was the projector and one of 
the main founders of the famous Chester Institute, of which he 
was proprietor and principal. On account of ill health Mr. 
Stoutenburgh was obliged to give up both church and school, and 
he removed to Schooley's Mountain Springs for the improve- 
ment of his health. There he purchased the Forest Grove House 
and established the Schooley's Mountain Seminary, which, under 
his charge, became one of the most successful and flourishing 
schools in the state. His first wife was Harriet E., daughter of 
David Reeve, of Middletown, N. Y. James E., son of Rev. Luke 
I. and Harriet E. Stoutenburgh, was born in Chester, Decem- 
ber 14, 1845. He was educated at Williams College, Williams- 
town, Mass., and studied la\v with Hubbard B. Payne, in this 
city. He practiced here until 1873, when he removed to Passaic, 
N. J., where he now resides. He was city counsel for the city of 
Passaic for ten years prior to 1887. Mr. Stoutenburgh was for 
a while professor of mathematics at the Wyoming Seminary, 
Kingston, Pa. He is an unmarried man. 



LORENZO D. VICKERY. 



Lorenzo D. Vickery was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, 
Pa., December 23, iS6g. He resides in Scranton. 



John Beaumont Collings. 931 



HUGH MOORE HANNAH. 



Hugh Moore Hannah, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa, February 24, 1870, is a native of Harford, Susque- 
hanna county, Pa., where he was born September 13, 1842. He 
was educated in the public schools in New Milford, Pa., and at 
the Millersville, Pa., State Normal School, and read law in Scran- 
ton with his brother, Daniel Hannah, and F. E. Loomis. His 
father was Archibald Hannah and his mother was Mary Hannah 
[nee Leslie), a daughter of Alexander Leslie. Both his parents 
were of Scotch descent, and were born in the north of Ireland. 
Mr, Hannah was city solicitor of Scranton in the years 1874, 1875 
and 1876, and a member of the common council of the city of 
Scranton in the years 1877 and 1878. He married, December 2, 
1875, Elizabeth Hindman, of Oxford, Pa. Mr. and Mrs. Hannah 
have a family of three children — Fannie Hannah, Clarence Han- 
nah, and Frederick Hannah. 



JOHN BEAUMONT COLLINGS. 



John Beaumont Collings was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county. Pa., March 2, 1870. He is the grandson of Daniel Col- 
lings, of English parentage, who was born at Easton, Pa., in 1787. 
He learned the trade of a clockmaker, and early removed to 
Wilkes-Barre, where he carried on his trade and engaged in other 
business pursuits for many years. An old clock at present in 
the rooms of the Wyoming Historical and Geological Society is 
a specimen of his handiwork, and for many years did service as 
the town clock of Wilkes-Barre. On October 7, 18 13, Mr. Col- 
lings married Melinda, a daughter of Eleazer Blackman. He was 
the son of Elisha Blackman, who died in Wilkes-Barre in Sep- 
tember, 1804. The Blackman family emigrated from Lebanon, 
Conn., to the Wyoming Valley in 1773. During the troubles 
incident to the Indian excursion of 1778, Eleazer, being only 
thirteen years of age, was too young to go forth with the fighting 



932 Joiix Beaumont Collings. 



men, so he was employed, with other boys and the old men, in 
strengthening the fort at Wilkes-Barre for the protection of the 
women and children. His brothers, Elisha and Ichabod — both 
under eighteen years of age — were in the field, and were of the few 
who escaped with their lives at the time of the massacre and battle. 
After the capitulation Eleazer Blackman, with his mother and 
two sisters, accompanied the women in their flight to the Dela- 
ware river through the "Shades of Death." After the valley was 
restored to quiet he returned and grew up to manhood among 
the hardy frontiersmen. In the progress of the setttement and 
opening up of the country he mingled actively in the business 
of life, held public stations, both civil and military, and during 
his entire life enjoyed the respectand esteem of all who knew him. 
In I Sod he was commissioned captain of the First Troop of 
Horse. This position he held for a number of years, and in 1812 
he attained the rank of major in the militia. In 1801, 1802, 1803, 
1805 and 1806 he was one of the commissioners of Luzerne 
county, and from 1808 to 18 10 treasurer of the county. He died 
at his residence in Wilkes-Bafre township, September 10, 1843. 
aged seventy-eight years. From 1835 to 1841 Daniel Collings 
was postmaster of Wilkes-Barre. He died in this city October 
II, 1854. 

Samuel Phinney Collings, son of Daniel Collings, was born in 
Wilkes-Barre in May, 18 16. From 1835 to 1852 he was the 
editor and proprietor of The Republican Farmer newspaper of 
Wilkes-Barre. For purity of language, boldness of style, and 
cogency of reasoning, few men could excel him. In the fall of 
1854 he was appointed United States consul at Tangier, Morocco, 
for which place he immediately sailed with his wife, two of his 
children, and his wife's youngest sister, Eleanor Beaumont. He 
died at Tangier June 15, 1855, of fever and congestion of the 
lungs, after an illness of three days. The state department at 
W^ashington received from the emperor of Morocco an autograph 
eulogy on the character of the late consul, showing the high 
esteem in which he had been held by the emperor. Mr. Collings 
was a man of marked ability, of strong and refined intellect, and 
firm and steadfast in his principles of honor and integrity. He 
left to survive him his wife, four daughters, and one son, John B. 



John Beaumont Collings. 933 



Collings. His wife was Elizabeth Beaumont, eldest daughter of 
Andrew Beaumont. (See page 886, and sketch of William Henry 
Beaumont). 

John B. ColUngs, son of Samuel P. Collings, was born in 
Wilkes-Barre, Pa., December 17, 1846. He received his educa- 
tion in the schools of this city, Wyoming Seminary and Dana's 
Academy, and read law with George R. Bedford, in this city. In 
1873 he was nominated by the democrats of Luzerne county for 
district attorney, but was defeated by Alexander Farnham. Mr. 
Collings removed to Scranton in 1874, and has since practiced 
his profession in that city, winning distinction by his conduct 
of several important cases. In the new county fight ^Ir. Col- 
lings took a leading part, and wrote much for the local papers 
favoring a division, and labored hard upon the stump to convince 
the voters, to whom the matter was submitted, that a division 
would be beneficial to them. On his mother's side Mr. Collings is 
prominently connected. His grandfather, the late Andrew Beau- 
mont, represented the old twelfth district in congress, and was also 
a member of the state legislature. His uncle, the late Admiral John 
C. Beaumont, for whom Mr. Collings is named, was selected by the 
administration at that time to convey the congratulations of the 
congress of the United States to Alexander, czar of Russia, upon 
his escape from assassination at the hands of a Polander in 1863. 
Another uncle. Colonel Eugene B. Beaumont, was for many years 
instructor in cavalry tactics at West Point, and is now command- 
ant at Fort Bowie, Arizona. Mr. Collings was made private 
secretary to his uncle and accompanied him to Moscow on his 
mission. He received at the hands of the emperor a bronze 
medal, commemorative of the event. During his trip Mr. Collings 
visited nearly all the principal ports in Europe, and wintered near 
the Mediterranean. After an absence of two years he returned 
to his home in Wilkes-Barre, and commenced the study of law. 
While a student Mr. Collings acted as clerk in the prothonotary's 
office, and later held a position in the office of the clerk of the 
courts. Mr. Collings is an unmarried man. In 188S he was the 
democratic nominee for district attorney of Lackawanna county, 
but was defeated by Henry M. P^dwards, his republican com- 
petitor. 



934 Thomas Nesbitt. 



Eleazer Blackman Collings, an uncle of John B. Collings, was 
postmaster of Wilkes-Barre from 1845 to 1849, and also from 
1858 to i86i.' During the war with Mexico he was first lieu- 
tenant of Company I, First Regiment of Pennsylvania Volunteers. 
His brother, George Collings, was in the same company. In 
1852 E. B. Collings and Halsey Brower started the first daily 
paper in Wilkes-Barre. It was called Tlie Daily Telegraph, and 
survived but eight weeks. In 1861 E. B. Collings was elected 
clerk of the courts of Quarter Sessions, Oyer and Termimer, and 
the Orphans' Court of Luzerne county for a term of three years, 
and in 1864 was reelected to the same offices for another term 
of three years. 



ABRAM GOODWIN HOYT. 



Abram Goodwin Hoyt, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., March 2, 1870, is a native of Kingston, Pa., where he 
was born January 25, 1847. ^^ '^ the son of John D. Hoyt, 
and a brother cf E. E. Hoyt, whose biography and family history 
will be found on page 627. Mr. Hoyt was educated at the Wyo- 
ming Seminary and at the College of New Jersey, Princeton, 
graduating" from the latter institution in the class of 1868. He 
read law with his uncle, ex-Governor Henry M. Hoyt, in this 
city, and has practiced here, also in Colorado and New Mexico. 
From 1872-74 he was register of the land office, Santa Fe, New 
Mexico. From 1874-76 he was designated depository United 
States receiver of public moneys and pension agent at Santa Fe, 
and 1880 supervisor of the United States census, for New Mexico. 
He now resides in Kingston. Mr. Hoyt is an unmarried man. 



THOMAS NESBITT. 



Thomas Nesbitt was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county. 
Pa., April 4, 1870, and practiced in this city for a few years. He 
is said to live in Chicago, III. 



Daniel Ward Connolly. 935 



GEORGE PECK MYERS. 



George Peck Myers, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., April 25, 1870, is a native of Kingston, Pa., where 
he was born February 5, 1846. He is the son of the late Thomas 
Myers. (See page 650.) His mother is Elizabeth C. Myers, {jiee 
Vanderbelt). She is the daughter of Peter Vanderbelt, jr., who 
married Elizabeth Ross, a daughter of Michael Ross, who in 1798 
presented the commissioners of Lycoming county, Pa., with the 
land where the court house and jail now stand in the city of 
Williamsport. He was the original proprietor of the lands where 
Williamsport is now located, and the town was named after his 
son, William Ross. Governor Packer, of Pennsylvania, also mar- 
ried a daughter of Peter Vanderbelt, jr. George P. Myers was 
educated at Dickinson Seminary, Williamsport, and Saunders 
Institute, at Philadelphia. He read law with Hendrick Bradley 
Wright and Stanley Woodward. For some years he has resided 
at Williamsport. He is an unmarried man. 



DANIEL WARD CONNOLLY. 




Daniel Ward Connolly, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pa., May 10, 1870, is a native of Cochecton, Sul- 
livan county, N. Y., where he was born April 24, 1847. His 
father was John Connolly, a native of Ireland, who removed to 
this country with his parents when eight years of age. He lived 
in the city of New York until he attained his majority, and sub- 
sequently became a railroad contractor. He removed to Hyde 
Park (now Scranton), Pa., in 1849, where he resided until his 
death. The wife of John Connolly was Ann Adelia Allyn, a 
daughter of Deacon David Allyn, of Montgomery, Mass. D. W . 
Connolly was educated in the public schools of Hyde Park, and 
read law with Aaron A. Chase, in Scranton. In 1880 he was the 
democratic candidate for congress in the twelfth congressional 
district of Pennsylvania, but was defeated by Joseph A. Scranton, 



936 Francis E. Burrows. 



republican, the vote standing — Scranton, 13,455; Connolly, 
10,948. In 1882 he was again a candidate, and was elected, the 
vote standing — Connolly, 11,811; Scranton, 10,822. In 1884 he 
was again a candidate and was defeated, the vote standing — 
Scranton, 17,016; Connolly, 15,179. In 1885 Mr. Connolly 
was appointed postmaster of Scranton, which position he now 
holds. Mr. Connolly is a married man. 



GEORGE SANDERSON. 



George Sanderson was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, 
Pa., November 19, 1870. He is the son of the late George San- 
derson, of Scranton, Pa. (See sketch.) The subject of this sketch 
was born in Towanda, Bradford county. Pa., August 22, 1847. 
He graduated from the Harvard Law School, having previously 
read law with Samuel Robb, of Philadelphia. He has practiced in 
Boston, Philadelphia, Scranton, and this city. He was admitted to 
practice in the superior court of Massachusetts, county of Middle- 
sex, December 18, 1869, and the Common Pleas of Philadelphia 
county, Pa., November 5, 1870. Mr. Sanderson married, Novem- 
ber 28, 1871, Lucy Reed Jackson, granddaughter of Stephen 
W. Jackson and Lucretia Jackson, his wife, daughter of Eph- 
raim Thayer (both natives of Boston), and daughter of Charles 
Jackson, a native of Boston, and M. L. Jackson, his wife, who 
was a daughter of David Reed, natives of Surrey, N. H. Mr. 
and Mrs. Sanderson have eight children, six of whom survive — 
Edward Spaulding Sanderson, Charles Reed Sanderson, James 
Gardner Sanderson, Helen Louise Sanderson, Marion Kingsbury 
Sanderson, and George Sanderson, jr. Mr. Sanderson resides in 
Scranton, Pa. 



FRANCIS E. BURROWS. 



Francis E. Burrows was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, 
Pa., September 5, 1871. He is the grandson of Daniel Burrows 



William D. Lusk. 937 



and son of Joshua Burrows, a native of Hebron, Conn., who in 
1828 removed to Pike township, Bradford county, Pa., where he 
now resides. The mother of F. E. Burrows and wife of Joshua 
Burrows is Harriet E., daughter of Benajata Bostvvick, an early 
settler of Pike township. Mr. Bostvvick was from New Milford, 
Conn. F. E. Burrows resides in Stevensville, Bradford county. 
Pa. 



ALLEN S. HOTTENSTEIN. 



Allen S. Hottenstein, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., September 12, 1871, is a native of Liberty township, 
Montour county. Pa., where he was born May 27, 1840. His 
father, Charles Hottenstein, and grandfather, Henry Hottenstein, 
were natives of Berks county, Pa. Mr. Hottenstein was educated 
at the Milton Academy, Milton, Pa., and the law department of 
the University of Pennsylvania. He read law with Hon. H. H. 
Schwartz, at Kutztown, Pa., and was admitted to the bar of Leb- 
anon county. Pa., January 27, 1871. He has practiced in this 
city, Scranton, Sunbury, and Milton, where he now resides. He 
is the postmaster of Milton, which is a presidential office, his 
commission bearing date August i, 1886, for a term of four 
years. He is also the proprietor of the Milton Economist. Mr. 
Hottenstein married, September 7, 1870, Henrietta F. Graff, of 
Lyons Station, Berks county, Pa. Her father, Frederick W. Graff, 
and grandfather, Samuel H. Graff, were natives of Montgoinery 
county. Pa. Mr. and Mrs. Hottenstein have a family of six 
children, two sons and four daughters. 



WILLIAM D. LUSK. 



William D. Lusk, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county. Pa., September 28, 1871, is the son of Franklin Lusk, a 
lawyer, who resided at Montrose, Susquehanna county. Pa., and 



938 Henry M. Edwards. 



who represented that county in the legislature of the state in 
1840. W. D. Lusk was born at Great Bend, Pa, February i. 
1833. He was educated at Bolmar's Military Academy, West 
Chester, Pa., and at the Homer Academy, Homer, N. Y. He 
read law with Messrs. Little & Post, at Montrose, and was admit- 
ted to the Susquehanna county bar November 21, 1859. He 
married, July — , 1866, Pauline PI Dayton, and has three children. 
Mr. Lusk is president of the P^irst National Bank of Montrose, 
where he now resides. He practiced for a time in Scranton. 



HENRY M. EDWARDS. 



Henry M. Edwards was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, 
Pa., October 18, 1871. His grandfather, John P^dwards, a native 
of Monmouthshire, England, came to this country at an early 
day, and taught school in Carbondale, Pa., in 1832. He subse- 
quently returned to his native place, where he died. His son, 
John M. Edwards, was born in Monmouthshire and emigrated to 
this country in 1864, and located at Hyde Park (now in the city 
of Scranton). The wife of John M. Edwards was Margaret, 
daughter of Thomas Morgan. She was born in Monmouthshire 
and died there while on a visit to her relatives. Henry M. Ed- 
wards, son of John M. Edwards, was born in Monmouthshire, 
February 12, 1844, and came to this country with his parents in 
1864. He was educated at Swansea, South Wales, and at the 
London University, from which he graduated. In the early days 
of his residence in Scranton Mr. Edwards devoted his time to 
newspaper work, and for several years was the regular corres- 
pondent of the New York Tribune and the Philadelphia Press. 
He was afterwards made managing editor of the Banner America, 
an influential W^elsh journal that flourished in Scranton about 
eighteen years ago. Mr. Edwards married, November 3, 1870, 
Jennie Richards, a native of Carbondale. She is the daughter of 
Thomas Richards, a native of South Wales, who emigrated to 
Carbondale in 1831. He now resides in Scranton. Mr. and 
Mrs. Edwards have a family of five children — John Edwards, 



Daniel Webster Rank. 039 



Maggie Edwards, May Edwards, Annie Edwards and Harry 
M. Edwards. Mr. Edwards read law in Scranton with F. W. 
Gunster, and since his admission has been prominent as a law- 
yer, and also distinguished in politics. In the Garfield campaign 
his services were greatly in demand and he stumped the states of 
Ohio, Indiana and Maryland in the interest of the Republican 
national ticket. Twice he has been called into the state of 
Ohio in state campaigns. Mr. Edwards' aptness for political dis- 
cussion and his effectiveness on the platform have often caused 
him to be suggested as a candidate for various offices in the 
county, and during the past two years he has been prominently 
mentioned as a candidate forjudge and for congress. He never 
was a candidate for office, however, until 1885, when he received 
the nomination for district attorney. He was elected by a ma- 
jority of nearly twelve hundred votes, and in 1888 was renom- 
inated without opposition and elected. Mr. Edwards has earned 
an excellent reputation in literature, particularly among the Welsh 
people, in whose Eisteddfods he has taken great interest, winning, 
up to the time when he entered into the business of the law, 
over fifty prizes for poems and other literary work presented at 
these Eistcddfodaii. He is a fluent, forcible writer, in prose and 
verse, and there can be no question that if he had not taken up 
the law for his profession he could have made his mark in literary 
pursuits. 

— r 'ix^ 

DAVID UNGER. 

y 



David Unger was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county. Pa., 
November 16, 187 1. He practiced for a while in Scranton, and 
now resides at Danville, Pa. 



DANIEL WEBSTER RANK. 



Daniel Webster Rank, who was admitted to the bar of Luzferne 
county, Pa., February 19, 1872, is a descendant of Philip Ranck, 



940 Daniel Webster Rank. 



who was a resident of Earl township, Lancaster county, Pa., early 
in the last century, and whose parents came from Alsace in 1728. 
The next in line of descent was Philip Adam Ranck. Philip 
Adam Ranck had a son Adam Ranck, who in 1790 removed to 
a farm which he bought in what is now White Deer township, 
Union county. Pa., where he died. Daniel Rank, son of Adam 
Ranck, lived and died in Union county. He was a farmer and 
blacksmith. His wife was Catharine Heckel. Joseph S. Rank, 
oldest son of Daniel Rank, was born in Union county, December 
20, 1807. He married, December 30, 1830, Catharine McGin- 
ness, of Union county. In 1836 he removed to Limestoneville, 
Montour county. Pa. Daniel W. Rank, son of Joseph S. Rank, 
was born February 16, 1835, in Union county, and until he 
was twenty years of age worked on the farm of his father. In 
1855 he began reading law in the office of Robert Hawley, of 
Muncy, Pa. He was admitted to the Lycoming county. Pa., bar 
April 24, 1859. He then opened an office at Millersburg, Dau- 
phin county. Pa., where he practiced his profession until August 
31, 1 86 1, when he enlisted in Company D, Seventh Regiment 
Pennsylvania Cavalry. On October 9 he was made sergeant; 
on November 18 was promoted to sergeant major, and on June 
1 1, 1864, by order of the secretary of war, was mustered back to 
May I, 1863, as first lieutenant of Company M, same regiment. 
On August 31, 1864, he was made acting assistant adjutant gen- 
eral for the detachment. First Brigade, Second Cavalry Division, 
then at Columbia, Tenn., and was subsequently appointed to the 
command of the detachment to guard Sherman's line of transpor- 
tation. He remained in this duty until December 16, 1864, when 
he was mustered out on account of ill health, not accepting a 
commission as captain, dated September 15, 1864, which had 
been sent him. On his retirement from the army he went to his 
home, and was unable to engage in any occupation until the early 
part of 1872, when he removed to Scranton. He practiced there 
for ten years, during which time he was commissioned by Gov- 
ernor Hartranft district attorney of the mayor's court of Scran- 
ton. In 1882 he returned to his former home in Limestoneville, 
and in the fall of 1884 he was elected district attorney of Mon- 
tour county. Mr. Rank married. May 12, 1875, Mary Catharine 



Daniel Webster Rank. 941 

McKune, daughter of Robert H. McKune, of Scranton. Mr. 
McKune is of Scotch and Irish descent, his great-grandfather, 
Robert McKune, having emigrated from Scotland and settled in 
Orange county, N. Y., in 1762, in which county the family, with 
the exception of Robert H., has since resided. Robert H. 
McKune was born in Newburg, N.Y., August 19, 1823. His father 
dying when he was three years of age, he was taken in charge 
by his grandfather, Robert McKune. He left his studies at the 
age of thirteen and commenced active life by entering the boot 
and shoe store of George Mecklam. After remaining one year 
he united himself with a relative, Henry Schenck, of New Bruns- 
wick, N. J., who carried on the same class of business, and with 
whom he stayed two years. Having always had a desire for 
personal independence, he concluded to learn a trade. His 
widowed mother had been carrying on a baking business in New- 
burg, and thither he repaired to join the comforts of home with 
his business relations, which he adhered to for several years. In 
1839 he went to New York, and after remaining two years he 
returned to his home and took charge of his mother's business 
until he was of age, when, having a small patrimony left him by 
his grandfather, he entered the grocery business in Newburg. 
While here he was married to Elmira Smith, of Mamakating, 
Sullivan county, N. Y. She was the daughter of James D. Smith. 
Mr. McKune continued his residence in Newburg for two years. 
His health failing, he took up his abode at Cold Spring, N. Y., 
for another two years, and in 1849 emigrated to California, leav- 
ing New York, February i, on the steamer "Falcon," which car- 
ried the first mails to California. During this trip he worked as 
baker, both on the Atlantic and Pacific oceans, and was the first 
American that ever carried on that branch of industry in the city 
of Panama. On reaching California he repaired to the mines and 
stayed there for seven months, then went to San Francisco and 
engaged at his business during his sojourn there. On his return 
east he settled first at Susquehanna Depot, Pa., after which he 
located at Binghamton, N. Y. He remained in Binghamton for 
seventeen years, and in 1862 he removed to Scranton. The same 
year he occupied the position of first lieutenant of the Keystone 
Guards, a company raised at Scranton, and with them he joined 



942 Daniel Webster Rank. 

the army at the front, assisting the army of the Potomac at the 
battle of Antietam. Upon his return from this emergency he 
entered the service again by uniting with the secret bureau at 
Vicksburg, Miss., under command of Colonel Hutchinson, and 
remained in the secret service until the close of the war. He 
remained one year south after the termination of hostilities, when 
he again returned north, and entered upon a general insurance 
business in Scranton. In 1868 he was appointed by Chief Justice 
Chase U. S. commissioner, and held this position until his 
election as mayor, when he resigned. He was elected mayor in 
1875 by the democratic party, and held the office until 1878. It 
was during his term as mayor that the great strike of 1877 
occurred. The full particulars may be seen in a work entitled 
"A City's Danger and Defense," by Samuel C. Logan, D. D., 
Scranton, Pa., 1887. Mayor McKune was severely beaten by 
the rioters while trying to persuade them to go to their homes. 
F'ifty-three persons, most of them members of the Scranton City 
Guards, which had been called into existence by Mayor McKune, 
were tried for manslaughter. It is needless to say that they were 
all honorably acquitted. Hon. Stanley Woodward, who was one 
of the counsel for the defense during the trial, paid the following 
tribute to Mayor McKune : "And here let me say, that nowhere 
in the history of any state or city can be found a nobler, braver 
record than that made by Mayor KcKune and the handful of 
men under his command. Their action was as unselfish as it was 
honorable. No man could have shown greater pluck and per- 
sonal courage than Mayor McKune when he quietly approached 
that mob, hoping to prevail upon them to return to their duty as 
good citizens. Yet they gave him no hearing. He was beaten 
down by those who call themselves laboring men. Had they not 
been met and checked in their mad career the city of Scranton 
would have been in embers. There would have been sacked 
houses and terrorized people everywhere. The excitement of 
such an occasion prevents many things from being brought to 
light, but this one fact we have proved, that the three men who 
died were shot in the front." Judge Harding, who presided at 
the trial, said : "The city of Scranton was fortunate in having for 
her chief officer on that day Robert H. McKune, one of the few 



Daniel Webster Rank. 943 



mayors of the cities of Pennsylvania who, in the almost general 
troubles of the times, manfully stood up for law and order." 
Mayor McKune was presented with a testimonial address, which, 
among other words, contained the following : " We recognize the 
promptness and manly decision with which, with a handful of 
our brave young men as special police, you stood at the risk of 
your life, and v/hile bleeding with wounds, to use deadly force to 
arrest the mob, and exorcise the murderous spirit abroad, when 
everything else failed. We are proud to recall you with your 
little band of vigilants as you stood on that memorable first day 
of August as a forlorn hope to save the city from a wretched 
desolation and violence, which the condition of other cities of 
our land at that timed proved to be imminent. We not only be- 
lieve that you and your special police, so wisely organized, did 
God's service that day, but that our fathers' God was with you, 
and that under and by his interposition of mercy this spirit of all 
evil was arrested, if not subdued, for the whole valley. You 
foueht and won the battle of law and order for all the cities of 
the region, and lifted the office you fill into its true importance 
and dignity." This testimonial was voluntarily signed, in an 
illuminated book, by about two thousand citizens of Scranton and 
of the immediate vicinity. It has the signatures of Governor Hart- 
ranft and all the members of his staff, also of all the veterans of 
1 8 12 known to be in the county. It contained the signatures of all 
the Protestant pastors in the city, that of the directors of the Home 
for the Friendless and of the City Hospital. To it also were 
affixed the signatures of the officers and directors of all the cor- 
porations and associations, both business and benevolent, repre- 
sented in the city, and with them the seals of these corporations. 
It was signed by the "Firing Squad" of August first, and by the 
officers and men of the Scranton City Guard. After all these, 
many citizens of Carbondale, Pittston, Wilkes-Barre, Bethlehem, 
and Pittsburg, in Pennsylvania, joined those of Elmira, Buffalo 
and New York city in attaching their names to this recognition 
of the faithfulness of Mayor McKune. 

Mrs. Mary Catharine Rank was born January 11, 1846. She 
died July 18, 1881, in Scranton. Mr. and Mrs. Rank had two 
children, both of whom died in infancy. 



944 George Scranton Horn. 



GEORGE SCRANTON HORN. 



Georee Scranton Horn, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pa., April 3, 1872, is a grandson of John Horn 
and his wife, EHzabeth Horn, {iice Leidig). The father of George 
S. Horn was Adam Lewis Horn, who was born in Easton, Pa., 
December 21, 1815. The wife of A. L. Horn was Elizabeth 
Widener Albright, a daughter of William and Anna Albright. 
She was born at Belvidere, N. J., November 10, 1817. They 
were married at Belvidere November 12, 1836. In 1846 they 
removed to Harrison (now the city of Scranton). George S. Horn 
was born at Scrantonia (now Scranton), April 27, 1849. He at- 
tended the public schools in his early youth, and afterwards one of 
the best business colleges in the country. In 1866 he went to 
Washington, N. J., as an employee of the Delaware, Lackawanna 
& Western Railroad, in the coal shipping department at that place, 
and remained in their employ until the summer of 1869, when he 
entered the law office of John W. Belts at that place, as a stu- 
dent at law. Mr. Betts' health failed in the fall of that year and 
he gave up practice. Mr. Horn thereupon returned to Scranton, 
and on December 13, 1869. entered the law office of Ward & 
Gunster. Mr. Horn has had a lucrative practice from his admis- 
sion, and on June 15, 1877, entered into co-partnership with Hon. 
W. G. Ward, and since then has been a member of the firm of 
Ward & Horn. He is a democrat in politics, but has never sought 
office at the hands of his party. Mr. Horn married, April 17, 
1872, Caroline, a daughter of Adam S. and Julia Edinger, 
formerly of Tannersville, Monroe county. Pa., and subsequently 
of Scranton. Mr. and Mrs. Horn have one child living— Charles 
E. Horn. 

In 1883 one of the newspapers of Scranton published a series 
of articles, containing sketches of members of the Lackawanna 
county bar, from the pen of one of the prominent members of 
that bar. In one of these articles appeared the following, with 
reference to the subject of this sketch : 

" I will select as the subject of to-day's sketch one of the most 



Jacob Shindel Leisenring. 945 



successful young lawyers at the bar — George S. Horn, Esq. Iden- 
tified for some years with the firm of Ward & Horn, his individ- 
uality as an attorney has been partially merged with the prom- 
inent advocate with whom he has been associated. The laborious 
and extensive office work of the firm has fallen to his lot, while 
Judge Ward basked in the smiles of the court and took posses- 
sion of the case after the preliminary work had been done, and 
it was ready for trial. There are few more thorough lawyers 
than Mr. Horn at the bar, and certainly none possessing in a more 
eminent degree those qualities of head and heart which not only 
insure his own success, but endear him to the legal fraternity. 
There is all that strict discipline accompanying his character that 
contributes to the successful issue of a case in hand, but when 
business is given up for the time there is all of that mirthful 
abandon of action and conversation which constitutes the true 
harmony of fun. There is no more genial soul at the Lack- 
awanna bar ; none more ready to give or take a joke; none more 
ready to perform and none more capable of appreciating a kind- 
ness. He is always anxious to please, and does not possess that 
domineering attitude or conduct Which almost cancels the virtues 
of some of our lawyers. Mr. Horn is now coming into more 
active prominence before the court and jury. He is modest in his 
pretensions and does not seek to parade his knowledge or abil- 
ities to the gaze of every one. He is rather inclined to suffer his 
merits to assert themselves. He is honest, capable and efficient, 
the prerequisites of a good and successful lawyer." 



JACOB SHINDEL LEISENRING. 



Jacob Shindel Leisenring, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pa., April II, 1872, was born at Selinsgrove, Pa., 
April 2, 1847. He was educated at the Missionary Institute of 
that place, and in the common schools of Baltimore, Maryland, 



946 Jacob Shindel Leisenking. 

to which place he removed at an early age with his father. While 
yet a mere boy he enlisted, during the late civil war, in Company 
G, First Independent Battery, Pennsylvania Volunteers. At the 
close of the war he located at Charlestown, Jefferson county, 
West Virginia, where he read law with Hon. William H. Travers, 
and where he was admitted to the bar in 1870. In 1871 he 
removed to Tamaqua, Schuylkill county. Pa., and was for a time 
associated with C. ¥. Shindel, Esq., a prominent member of the 
bar of that county. From there, early in 1872, he removed to 
Hazleton, Luzerne county, where he engaged in the practice of 
his profession until the fall of that year, when he removed to 
Hays City, Ellis county, Kansas, having been appointed district 
attorney of a newly formed judicial district in the western part of 
that state. He returned to Pennsylvania in 1873 and located in 
Altoona, Blair county, Pa., where he now resides. He married, 
September i, 1875, Miss Anna M. Cherry, of that city, and has 
one child living — Henrietta S. Leisenring, born July 31, 1876. 
Mr. Leisenring is past commander of Post 62, department of 
Pennsylvania, Grand Army of the Republic, and is a prominent 
and influential member of that order. In it he has held several 
important positions. He is the author of Leisenring's Book of 
Forms. 

His great-great-grandfather, John Conrad Leisenring, migrated 
to Pennsylvania from Heidelberg, Germany, prior to 1750, locating, 
first, in Philadelphia (now Montgomery) county, and from there 
removing to White Hall, Lehigh county, Pa., where the original 
tract of land purchased by him, and the mansion house erected 
thereon soon after, are yet in the possession and occupancy of 
certain of his descendants. From John Conrad Leisenring sprung 
Conrad, who had, amongst other children, a son Peter, born at 
White Hall, where he grew to manhood, and married about 1794, 
and where Gideon, his second child and the father of the subject 
of this sketch, was born in 1802. Peter, the father of Gideon, 
removed to Northumberland county with his family early in 
1800, near which place he resided until his death, which occurred 
about 1830. His children — four in number — were all left well 
provided for, and Gideon succeeded to the ownership of the home- 
stead, a valuable piece of land near the town of Sunbury. Here 



Jacob Shindel Leisexring. 947 



he married Louisa Shindel, and here he resided until 1845, when 
he removed to Selinsgrove, Pa., and from there to Baltimore, Md., 
in 1858. He was a resident of the latter city at the commence- 
ment of the late civil war, and was among the most pronounced and 
fearless advocates of the Union cause in that city. His house 
was the resort and refuge, as he was the adviser and confident, of 
many of the more timid Union-loving residents of that place, and 
from his dwelling floated the first United States flag raised in 
Baltimore after the memorable 19th of April, 1861. He removed 
to. Charlestown, West Virginia, at the close of the war, where he 
engaged in business, and where he died in 18S0. He was a man 
of intense activity and energy, and wherever he resided his busi- 
ness and social qualities were thoroughly recognized. 

The wife of Gideon Leisenring, and mother of Jacob Shindel 
Leisenring — Louisa Shindel — was a descendant of Michael Shin- 
del, a native of Odenwald, Germany, from whence he migrated to 
Pennsylvania and located in what is now Lebanon county, about 
1758. His son, John Peter, born in Odenwald, accompanied 
him, also locating in Lebanon county, where he died May 29, 
1784. Here was born John Peter, his son, August 21, 1766. He 
served in the legislature of the state, and was a justice of the 
peace for many years. He died September 17, 1829. His son, 
also named John Peter, was born in Lebanon, Pa., about 1790, 
and there married Miss Susan McCuUough about 1809. He be- 
came a minister of the gospel in the Lutheran church and a 
preacher of note, and located in Sunbury, Pa., soon after his mar- 
riage, where he died about 1855. The name of Father Shin- 
del was a household word in the entire Susquehanna valley, 
where he is yet held in the tenderest recollection by many of the 
older citizens. His daughter Louisa was born about the year 
18 12; was married to Gideon, the father of Jacob Shindel Lei- 
senring, about 1830, and died at Selinsgrove, Pa., in 1853. She 
was an earnest, pure, christian woman, and her loss was most 
keenly felt in the community. 

Many of the descendants of both John Conrad Leisenring and 
John Peter Shindel are prominent in business and professional 
circles throughout the United States. 



948 George H. Squier. 



Hy\RVEY J. JONES. 



Harvey J. Jones, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., June 8, 1 872, is a native of Wilkes-Barre, where he was 
born October 15, 1847. He is the son of James Jones, who was 
born in Albany county, N. Y. His grandfather, Lathan Jones, 
was a native of Connecticut, whose wife was Nancy Terwilliger, 
of Albany county, N. Y. The mother of Harvey J. Jones was 
Anna M. Wood, a native of England, who was the daughter of 
Moses Wood and Sarah Bielby Wood, his wife. (See page 434). 
Mr. Jones read law in this city with E. P. Darling, and now 
resides in Gunnison, Colorado. He is an unmarried man. 



GEORGE H. SQUIER. 



George H. Squier was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, 
Pa., September 16, 1872. He is the grandson of Stephen Squier, 
a son of Joshua Horton Squier, whose wife was Sarah Greene, a 
daughter of Obadiah Greene, a nephew of General Greene, of 
revolutionary fame. G. H. Squier was born at Nicholson, Lu- 
zerne (now Wyoming) county. Pa., October 8, 1836, and was 
educated at Harford University, Susquehanna county, Pa., and the 
Susquehanna Seminary, at Binghamton, N. Y. He read law with 
A. K. Peckham at Tunkhannock, Pa. He has resided at Carbondale 
for many years. Pie was clerk of the mayor's court of Carbon- 
dale from 1867 to 1870, and district attorney of the same court 
from 1873 to 1876. He was also at one time one of the auditors 
of Luzerne county. Mr. Squier married, April 9, 1861, Flora 
Wilson, a daughter of Amzi Wilson and his wife Esther {nee 
Wetherby). He married a second time. May 13, 1876, Laura C. 
Gates. Mr. Squier has two children — John W. Squier and B. F. 
Squier. 



Moses M. Thorp. 949 



OLIVER CHARLES KAHLER. 



Oliver Charles Kahler, who was admitted to the bar of Lu- 
zerne county, Pa., November 11, 1872, is a descendant of Christo- 
pher Kahler, who was born in Wirtemburg, Germany, Decem- 
ber, 1766. He emigrated to the United States in the latter part of 
the last century, and located at Easton, Pa., where he, in 1797, 
married Catharine M. Kishbauch, of Easton. His son, Charles 
Kahler, was born in P^aston December 27, 1801, and removed to 
Bloomsburg, Pa., with his father's family, in 1808. He was a 
justice of the peace at Bloomsburg for over forty years, and held 
his first commission as such from Governor Wolf He married, 
December 14, 1823, Nancy Teeple, who was born near Belvidere, 
N. J., November 1 1, 1802. O. C. Kahler, son of Charles Kahler, 
was born at Bloomsburg February 20, 1825. He was educated 
in the schools of Bloomsburg, and read law with William G. Hur- 
ley, at that place. He was admitted to the bar of Columbia 
county, at Bloomsburg, in 1848, and was the first person admitted 
after the removal of the county seat from Danville, Pa. He has 
practiced most of his life at Bloomsburg, where he now resides, 
but had, for a while, an office at Shickshinny, in this county. He 
married, July 18, 1852, Caroline Dietterick, a daughter of Abra- 
ham Dietterick, of Briar Creek, Columbia county. Pa. Mr. and 
Mrs. Kahler have a family of eight children, seven sons and one 
daughter. 



MOSES M. THORR 



Moses M. Thorp, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county. Pa., April 11, 1873, is a native of Canaan, Wayne county, 
Pa., where he was born March 6, 1848, He is the son of Jesse 
W. Thorp, a native of W^arren county, N. J. His mother was 
Sarah M. Miller, a native of Morris county, N. J. His grand- 
father, Ephraim Thorp, was born in Morris county, N. J., whose 



950 George B. De Witt. 

wife, Sarah Picket, was born in Warren county, N. J. Leonard 
Miller, the father of Sarah M. Miller, was born in Germany. His 
wife, Ellen Dalton, was born in Knf^land. Mr. Thorp was 
educated in the common schools, where he remained until he 
was eighteen years of age. He then attended the Waymart 
High School and the Albany Law School, from which he grad- 
uated. He read law with D. N. Lathrope and S. E. Dimmick, 
and opened an office in Carbohdale, Luzerne (now Lackawanna) 
county, Pa. He subsequently removed to Waymart, Wayne 
county. Pa., where he now resides. He has been a justice of the 
peace in the latter place for ten years. 



THOMAS J. F0LF:Y 



Thomas J. Foley was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, 
Pa., April 14, 1873. He practiced for some years at Hazleton, 
in this county, and now resides at Slatington, Pa. 



GEORGE B. DE WITT. 



George B. De Witt was admitted to the bar of Luzerne county, 
Pa., April 14, 1873. He is the son of Moses W. De Witt, a na- 
tive of Sussex county, N. J., who from 1866 to 1869 was sheriff 
of Wyoming county, Pa. George B. De Witt was born October 
I, 1S45, '^ Exeter, Luzerne county, Pa. He was educated at 
Dickinson Seminary, Williamsport, Pa., and at Wyoming Semi- 
nary, Kingston, Pa., and read law with P. M. Osterhout, in Tunk- 
hannock. Pa. He has practiced in this county, Cameron county, 
Pa., Wyoming county. Pa., and Greene county, III. Mr, De Witt 
married, in 1872, H. F. Brown, a daughter of Solomon Brown 
and his wife, Mehitable Brown (;/^^ Searle), natives of this county. 
Mr. and Mrs. De Witt have one child — Margaret E. De Witt. 
Mr. De Witt resides at Tunkhannock, Pa. 



Samuel Britton Price. 951 



SAMUEL BRITTON PRICE. 



Samuel Britton Price, who was admitted to the bar of Luzerne 
county, Pa., April 23, 1873, is a resident of Scranton, Pa. He 
was born at Branchville, Frankford township, Sussex county, 
New Jersey, April 29, 1847. The Price family is one of the most 
prominent in the early settlement of Frankford, and trace their 
origin in the township to the advent of three brothers— John, 
Samuel and Robert — who were of English extraction, and first 
settled in Connecticut. They were extensive shippers, owned 
vessels, and were well supplied with worldly goods. The broth- 
ers sailed in their own merchantmen, and continued their shipping 
interest in New England until the loss of valuable cargoes by 
shipwreck compelled its abandonment, when they came to New 
Jersey and followed the Wallkill valley to the Papacating creek 
in quest of farming lands. John returned to Connecticut, and 
eventually to seafaring. Robert and Samuel remained, and both 
died in the township. Robert when a lad was made a prisoner 
by the Indians, as was also his mother. They were conveyed to 
a place of security, and Mrs. Price, having previously acquired 
a limited knowledge of the language of the savages, compre- 
hended from their conversation and ominous gestures that she 
was speedily to be made the victim of their brutality. She con- 
veyed this intelligence to her son, and warned him not to cry lest 
he also be murdered. The heroic woman was soon after toma- 
hawked, and the boy found favor in the eyes of a kind hearted 
squaw, who, having lost her child but a few days before, adopted 
him as her own. He led the nomadic life of his captors until his 
twenty-first year, when he was rescued by his friends. Civiliza- 
tion for a time presented no charms to him, and he frequently 
expressed a desire to return to the scenes of his early life. This 
desire was at length overcome, and some years later he removed 
to the township of Frankford. Samuel Price had two sons at the 
time of his death — Zachariah and P>ancis. The latter had no 
children ; the former, who was a landed proprietor, had five sons, 
of which the fourth, Robert Price, was the great-great-grandfather 



952 Samuel Britton Price. 

of the subject of our sketch. Francis Price, a brother of Robert 
Price, was appointed a lay judge of Sussex county November 20, 
1789, and again November 26, 1794. Samuel Price, great-grand- 
father of S. B. Price, son of Robert Price, was appointed a lay 
judge November 3, 181 3. Samuel Price, grandfather of S. B. 
Price, son of Samuel Price, was a member of the governor's 
council, prior to the formation of the senate of New Jersey, 
in 1833, 1834 and 1836. He was appointed a layjudge Novem- 
ber 6, 1830, and again January 12, 1844. Zachariah H. Price, a 
cousin of Samuel Price, was a member of the senate of New Jer- 
sey in 1855, 1856 and 1857. Rodman M. Price, ex-governor of 
New Jersey, is of the same family. William Price (father of S. 
B. Price), son of Samuel Price, was a member of the house of 
representatives of New Jersey in i860 and 1861. Guy Price, a 
brother of William Price, was a county j udge in 1852 and a mem- 
ber of the house of representatives in 1849 and 1850. The wife 
of William Price was Phebe Armstrong. She was a descendant 
of Hugh Armstrong, who emigrated with his family from Lon- 
donderry, Ireland, about 1740, and settled at Short Hills, Mid- 
dlesex county, N. J., where he died October 23, 1781. Thomas 
Armstrong, one of his sons, married Martha Britton, who died in 
1 8 1 7, at the age of fifty-eight years. He served through the whole 
of the revolutionary war, was quartermaster, and ranked as major. 
In April, 1782, he and his wife settled on the Papakating, in 
Wantage township, Sussex county, where they resided for eight 
years, and bought lands at Sugar Loaf, Orange county, N.Y., upon 
which he settled, but sold it three years afterwards. In 1793 he 
purchased about three hundred acres of land, mostly woodland, 
on the Papakating, in Frankford township. Thomas Armstrong 
added to his original purchase, and owned at his death, January 
3. 1833, seven hundred acres of land in Frankford, which were 
divided among his sons ; also one thousand acres, mostly in New- 
ton township, which were divided among his daughters. He also 
owned twenty-seven slaves, whom he retained in his possession 
until the laws of the state liberated them. He first became ac- 
quainted with Newton township by bringing Indian corn and 
exchanging it for wheat. He followed this business as late as 
1784, at which time Indian corn was not cultivated there. He 



Samuel Brittox Price. 95; 



was a member of the assembly of New Jersey in 1797, and on 
February 19, 1813, he was appointed a lay judge. James Britton 
Armstrong, son of Thomas Armstrong, was the father of Phebe 
Price, wife of William Price. The wife of James B. Armstrong 
was Mary Foster, a daughter of Julius Foster, who was originally 
from Long Island, but settled in Montague township, Sussex 
county, N. J., at an early period. 

S. B. Price was educated in the common schools of Branchville, 
and was prepared for college at Blairstown, N. J. He entered the 
College of New Jersey, at Princeton, in 1866, but was compelled to 
leave on account of ill health. He then entered the j unior class in 
the University of Michigan, at Ann Arbor, and graduated in the 
classical course in the class of 1870. He then entered the law 
school of the same university and graduated from there in 1872. 
He was admitted to practice in all the courts of Michigan, at De- 
troit, October 9, 1872. Under the rules of our county he studied 
under Colonel Royce for six months before being admitted to our 
courts. Mr. Price married, February 9, 1881, Julia Hosie, a 
daughter of John Hosie. who was born June 2, 181 2, in Stirling- 
shire, Scotland. His parents were James and Jane (Bowie) Ho- 
sie. Mr. Hosie's education was limited to an attendance at the 
common schools of his neighborhood. As early as the age 
of ten years he conceived the idea of marking out for himself a 
career which should be independent of all help from his family. 
To this end, and for the purpose of earning something for him- 
self, having been made a present of a pony by an elder sister who 
was landlady of a large hotel, he made good use of it in deliver- 
ing packages which were given him for that purpose by guests of 
the hotel. He was thus employed after school hours for two or 
three years. At the end of that time he found himself the pos- 
sessor of about i^6o, a fact known only to himself He had 
already decided that when he got sufficient means he would go 
to America. At the age of fourteen he went, unknown to any 
member of his family, to Greenock, a shipping port of Scot- 
land, where he purchased his passage, taking a receipt therefor. 
He first told his mother what he had done, which took the 
good woman utterly by surprise. "Boy, what could you do in 
America ?" " I will do something;' was the boy's-reply. " Where 



954 Samuel Brixton Price. 

did you get the money?" was the next question. He satisfied 
her that he came honestly by it. The father, upon his return 
at evening, repeated about the same questions, with the same 
answers. He told the boy, if he would give up going for the 
present, he would give him three years of schooling, and if at the 
end of the time he still desired to go, he would give him money 
to go with ; but no persuasion could turn him from his purpose. 
Accordingly the clothes for the journey were got in readiness, to 
which were added by the thoughtful mother a bible, which had 
been in the family over a hundred years, and some good Presby- 
terian books. P'verything being in readiness, in the month of 
March, 1829, at the hour of midnight, in order to avoid notice, 
he left the old hearthstone for the seaport. He was overtaken 
at Glasgow the next day by his father, an elder brother and sister, 
who made another attempt to persuade him to return, but with- 
out success. It was finally decided that if John was going his 
brother Andrew should go too, and thus, by the persistence of a 
boy of fourteen years, America gained two good citizens instead 
of one. The day after landing in New York, in company with 
his brother, he went over to Newark and applied for a job of 
work at a stonecutter's. There was something in the appearance 
and bearing of the lad that pleased the proprietor, and he set him 
to work at stonecutting. His brother found work at Newark at 
his trade as a carpenter and joiner. Mr. Hosie remained with 
his first employer seven months, receiving very nearly