(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Fasti ecclesiæ scoticanæ; the succession of ministers in the Church of Scotland from the reformation"

FASTI ECCLESI^ SCOTICANvE 



COMMITTEE, 1936-49 



Sir FRANCIS JAMES GRANT, K.C.V.O., 
LL.D., W.S., Convener and General 
Editor 
*Rev. WILLIAM BURNETT, B.D., Restalrig 

Rev. ALFRED BROWN, D.D., Maxwell 

Rev. THOMAS CALDWELL, D.D., Aberlady 
*Very Rev. ANDREW JAMES CAMPBELL, 
D.D., Evie 

Sir THOMAS CLARK, Bart. 

Rev. GEORGE FREDERICK Cox, B.D., 

Harray 
*Rev. JAMES TAYLOR Cox, D.D., Dyce 

Rev. ROBERT MARCUS DICKSON, D.D., 
Lanark 

Rev. WILLIAM MCLAUCHLAN GOLDIE, 
T.D., Kilmaronock 

Rev. JOHN ARNOTT HAMILTON, B.D., 
Ph.D., Newbattle 

Rev. Professor GEORGE DAVID HENDER 
SON, D.D., D.Litt., Aberdeen 

Rev. WALTER ROBERTSON HENDERSON, 
B.D., Auchencairn 



Rev. WILLIAM MCCALLUM, D.D., Ma- 
kerstoun 

*Rev. ARCHIBALD MACDONALD, D.D., 

Kiltarlity 
Rev. DAVID JOHN MCLAREN, M.A., 

Dundurn 

Rev. JOHN SCOTT MACNAUGHTON, D.D., 

Perth 

*Rev. WILLIAM MCMILLAN, D.D., Dun- 

fermline 

Rev. ANGUS McViCAR, M.A., Southend 
*Rev. JOHN MUIRHEAD, B.D., Avendale 
*Rev. Louis CARRICK PHILLIPS, D.D., Fala 

*Rev. ALEXANDER MASON SHAND, M.A., 

Bridge of Weir 

Rev. JOHN SINCLAIR, B.D., Glasgow 
*Rev. WILLIAM STEPHEN, D.D., Inver- 

keithing 

*Rev. ARTHUR POLLOK SYM, D.D., Lillies- 

leaf 

Rev. JAMES PETER WILSON, B.D., St. 
Quivox 



Deceased 



H \ie Oe-a 
6 

FASTI ECCLESLE 
SCOTICAN.E 

THE SUCCESSION OF MINISTERS IN 

THE CHURCH OF SCOTLAND FROM 

THE REFORMATION 



BY 

HEW SCOTT, D.D. 



Revised and continued to the Present Time under the Superintendence of a 
Committee appointed by the General Assembly 




VOLUME VIII 

MINISTERS OF THE CHURCH FROM DATE OF 
PUBLICATION OF VOLUMES I-VII, 1914-28, TO 
UNION OF THE CHURCHES, 2nd OCTOBER 1929, 
AND ADDENDA AND CORRIGENDA 1560-1949 



OLIVER AND BOYD 

EDINBURGH: TWEEDDALE COURT 

1950 



BX 

3 03 3 




v.t 



Printed in Great Britain at 

THE KYNOCH PRESS 

Birmingham 



PREFATORY NOTE 



DURING the years 1915 to 1928 were published the seven volumes of this 
work containing the record of the Ministers of the Church of Scotland from 
1560 to the date of the issue of the various volumes, viz. I Synods of Lothian 
and Tweeddale, 1915; II Merse and Teviotdale, Dumfries and Galloway, 
1917; III Glasgow and Ayr, 1920; IV Argyll and Perth and Stirling, 1923; 
V Fife and Angus and Mearns, 1925; VI Aberdeen and Moray, 1926; VII 
Ross, Sutherland and Caithness; Orkney and Shetland, with Churches Over 
seas, also University Principals and Professors in the Faculties of Divinity, 
1928. 

Towards the end of 1936 the General Administration Committee decided 
that a supplementary volume should be issued to complete the Record of 
Ministers of the Church of Scotland as it existed before the date of the Union 
of the Churches on 2nd October 1929 and also to add all the additional 
information that had been collected since the above-mentioned volumes 
were published. A sub-committee of the Committee on General Administra 
tion was formed to which several others were co-opted to carry out the work 
Sir Francis J. Grant, K.C.V.O., LL.D., Convener and General Editor. 

Since these seven volumes were printed the present Convener, who had 
been Joint Editor of the same, has been collecting additional information 
and keeping the work up to date, and therefore the foundation of the present 
volume existed and was used as a basis on which to work. 

Certain records of the immediate Post-Reformation Period which had 
not been systematically gone over have now been done so, and many new 
names and information as to the Clergy, Readers, and Exhorters previous 
to 1600 have been recovered and many blanks filled in. In regard to these 
the Committee are indebted to Dr Gordon Donaldson, formerly of the 
Historical Department of H.M. Register House, and the late Rev. William 
Stephen, D.D., Inverkeithing. For the continuation of the accounts of the 
various parishes, presbyteries and synods the Committee have to thank their 
various members who undertook this work and particularly to the late Rev. 
William Burnett, B.D., for the Presbytery of Edinburgh; the late Rev. 
Arthur P. Sym, D.D., for the Synods of Merse, Teviotdale and Dumfries; 
the Rev. Walter R. Henderson for the Synod of Galloway; the Rev. James P. 
Wilson, B.D., for the Synod of Ayr; the late Rev. Alexander Mason Shand, 
M.A., for the Presbytery of Paisley; the late Rev. John Muirhead, B.D., for 
the Presbytery of Hamilton; the Rev. R. Marcus Dickson, D.D., for the 
Presbytery of Lanark; the Very Rev. Andrew James Campbell, D.D., for the 



Presbytery of Glasgow; the Rev. William McLauchlan Goldie for the 
Presbytery of Dunbarton; the Rev. Angus J. McVicar, M.A., for the Synod 
of Argyll; the Rev. John Scott Macnaughton, D.D., for the Presbytery of 
Perth; the Rev. David J. Maclaren, M.A., for the Presbytery of Auchterarder; 
the late Rev. William Stephen, D.D., for the Synod of Fife; the late Rev. 
James Taylor Cox, D.D., for the Synods of Aberdeen and Moray; the late 
Rev. Archibald Macdonald, D.D., for the Synod of Ross and Sutherland; 
the Rev. George Frederick Cox, B.D., for the Synod of Orkney, and the 
Rev. Professor G. D. Henderson for the University of Aberdeen. The 
Clerks to Presbyteries and the Officials of H.M. Register House and the 
Ministers Widows Fund and many others have also contributed much new 
matter. 

The most valuable part of this volume will be the very large additional 
information regarding the earlier clergy which has been gathered from many 
sources too numerous to mention and involving much research in records. 
The volume has further been enriched by a number of Ecclesiological Notes 
on parishes by the late Dr William Stephen. 

The Editor regrets that ten of his valued helpers have passed away since 
the volume was first undertaken and have not seen the results of their labours 
and that latterly he has had to complete the same alone. 

FRANCIS J. GRANT 

Convener and General Editor 
April 1950 



VI 



CONTENTS 

PAGE 

ABBREVIATIONS . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . xii 

SYNOD OF LOTHIAN AND TWEEDDALE 

Presbytery of Edinburgh . . .... 1 

Presbytery of Linlithgow . . . . . . . . . . . . 36 

Presbytery of Biggar . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 51 

Presbytery of Peebles 58 

Presbytery of Dalkeith . . V, . . . . 67 

Presbytery of Haddington .. .. 85 

Presbytery of Dunbar . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 105 

SYNOD OF MERSE AND TEVIOTDALE 

Presbytery of Duns . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 115 

Presbytery of Chirnside . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 122 

Presbytery of Kelso .. 130 

Presbytery of Jedburgh .. .. .. .. .. .. .. 135 

Presbytery of Earlston . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 143 

Presbytery of Selkirk 148 

SYNOD OF DUMFRIES 

Presbytery of Lochmaben . . . . . . . . . . . . 155 

Presbytery of Langholm 162 

Presbytery of Annan 165 

Presbytery of Dumfries . . . v . . . . . . . . . . 170 

Presbytery of Penpont . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1 82 

SYNOD OF GALLOWAY 

Presbytery of Stranraer . . 187 

Presbytery of Wigtown . . . . 193 

Presbytery of Kirkcudbright .. .. .. 199 

SYNOD OF GLASGOW AND AYR 

Presbytery of Ayr ..211 

Presbytery of Irvine . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 228 

Presbytery of Paisley . . . . ... 

Presbytery of Greenock . . 246 

Presbytery of Hamilton . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 251 

Presbytery of Lanark . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 265 

Presbytery of Dunbarton 

Presbytery of Glasgow 285 



PAGE 

SYNOD OF ARGYLL 

Presbytery of Inveraray . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 312 

Presbytery of Dunoon . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 316 

Presbytery of Kintyre . . 322 

Presbytery of Islay and Jura . . . . . . . . . . . . 328 

Presbytery of Lorn . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 331 

Presbytery of Mull . . . . . . . . 337 

Presbytery of Abertarff . . . . . . . . 343 

SYNOD OF PERTH AND STIRLING 

Presbytery of Dunkeld . . . . . . 346 

Presbytery of Weem . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 354 

Presbytery of Perth 360 

Presbytery of Auchterarder . . . . . . . . . . . . 376 

Presbytery of Stirling . . 386 

Presbytery of Dunblane . . 395 

SYNOD OF FIFE 

Presbytery of Dunfermline 404 

Presbytery of Kinross . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 416 

Presbytery of Kirkcaldy . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 422 

Presbytery of Cupar . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 437 

Presbytery of St Andrews 453 

SYNOD OF ANGUS AND MEARNS 

Presbytery of Meigle . . . . . . . . 471 

Presbytery of Forfar 479 

Presbytery of Dundee 485 

Presbytery of Brechin 497 

Presbytery of Arbroath 508 

Presbytery of Fordoun 516 

SYNOD OF ABERDEEN 

Presbytery of Aberdeen 526 

Presbytery of Kincardine O Neil .... 544 

Presbytery of Alford 555 

Presbytery of Garioch 562 

Presbytery of Ellon 572 

Presbytery of Deer 578 

Presbytery of Turriff 588 

Presbytery of Fordyce 596 

SYNOD OF MORAY 

Presbytery of Strathbogie . . 603 

Presbytery of Aberlour . . 611 

Presbytery of Abernethy 615 

Presbytery of Elgin 622 

viii 



PAGE 

SYNOD OF MORAY (continued) 

Presbytery of Forres . . 642 

Presbytery of Nairn 647 

Presbytery of Inverness . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 650 

SYNOD OF Ross 

Presbytery of Chanonry . . . . .... . . 655 

Presbytery of Dingwall . . . . . . . . 658 

Presbytery of Tain 664 

SYNOD OF SUTHERLAND AND CAITHNESS 

Presbytery of Dornoch . , ..671 

Presbytery of Tongue . . . . 674 

Presbytery of Caithness . . 676 

SYNOD OF GLENELG 

Presbytery of Lochcarron 680 

Presbytery of Skye . . 683 

Presbytery of Uist ..688 

Presbytery of Lewis . . 692 

SYNOD OF ORKNEY 

Presbytery of Kirkwall 693 

Presbytery of Cairston 696 

Presbytery of the North Isles 699 

SYNOD OF SHETLAND 

Presbytery of Lerwick . . . . . . . . . . . . 702 

Presbytery of Burravoe . . . . . . . . . . 704 

Presbytery of Olnafirth 706 

ARCHBISHOPS 708 

BISHOPS 709 

UNIVERSITIES OF SCOTLAND 711 

MODERATORS OF GENERAL ASSEMBLY 720 

ARMY AND NAVY CHAPLAINS 721 

CHAPLAINS TO INFIRMARIES AND OTHERS 722 

SYNOD OF THE SCOTTISH CHURCH IN ENGLAND 

I. Presbytery of North of England . 723 

II. Presbytery of West of England . . 724 

III. Presbytery of London .... 724 

CHARGES IN ENGLAND NOW EXTINCT OR MERGED WITH OTHER CONGREGA 
TIONS . . 725 

IRELAND 725 

ix 



PAGE 

THE CHURCH OF SCOTLAND OVERSEAS 
Continent of Europe 

Belgium 727 

France . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 727 

Germany . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 727 

Holland 727 

Italy .729 

Switzerland . . . . . . 729 

Continent of Africa 

Egypt .. ..730 

Kenya . . . . . . 730 

Mauritius 730 

Continent of Asia 

Burma . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 731 

Ceylon 731 

Indian Chaplains .. 731 

Palestine 732 

Australasia 

Australia 734 

New Zealand 734 

Continent of America 
Dominion of Canada 

Cape Breton 735 

Nova Scotia 735 

Prince Edward Island . . . . 735 

Ontario and Quebec 736 

Newfoundland . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 736 

United States of America 737 

British West Indies 

Grenada . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 737 

Jamaica . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 737 

St Vincent 737 

Central America 

British Honduras . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 737 

South America 

British Guiana 737 

Argentina . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 738 

Chile 738 

FOREIGN MISSIONARIES . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 739 

JEWISH MISSIONARIES 742 

PRINCIPAL CLERKS AND DEPUTE CLERKS OF ASSEMBLY . . . . 743 



PAGE 

PROCURATORS OF THE CHURCH . . . . . . . . . . . . 745 

AGENTS FOR THE CHURCH . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 745 

FATHERS OF THE CHURCH . . . . . . . . . . . . 747 

INDEX OF PARISHES AND CHAPELS, SCOTLAND AND ENGLAND . . . . 749 

INDEX OF MINISTERS . . . . . . . . . . 757 



XI 



ABBREVIATIONS 



adm. 


. . admitted 


marr. 


married 


app. 


. . appointed 


min. 


minister 


bapt. 


. . baptized 


ord. 


ordained 


coll. 


. . collated 


pres. 


presented 


cont. 


. . contract 


presb. 


presbytery 




(marriage) 


pro. 


proclaimed 


dem. 


. . demitted 


res. 


resigned 


dep. 


. . deposed 


s.p. 


without issue 


ind. 


. . inducted 


trans. 


translated 


inst. 


. . instituted 


univ. 


university 


licen. 


. . licensed 


unmarr. . . 


unmarried 



Xll 



SYNOD OF 
LOTHIAN AND TWEEDDALE 

PRESBYTERY OF EDINBURGH 



ADDIEWELL 

WILLIAM PETER McLAREN, his 

1893 wic * ow Joan Robertson, died at 
manse of Trinity Cask 7th Nov. 
1924; his son William David, A.M.I.C.E., 
V.D., died 31st May 1941. 

WILLIAM LOW JAMIE, dem. 3rd 



1898 

1947. 



June 1930; line 6, for "28" read 
"26"; died at Edinburgh 4th Jan. 



COLINTON 

SIR ANDREW BINNING, vicar of 
1575 "the Kirk at ye brig of Hailes" 
(Colinton), died Oct. 1575, executor, 
Walter Binning. [Edin. Test., iii, 420.] 

SAMUEL NIMMO, M.A., in response 
1686 to his petition stating that on 27th 
April 1689 his house was invaded 
by more than 40 armed men with wicked 
and bloodie designe" against him, they 
failed to find him but caused the reader and 
beadle to tear his gown, sacrilegiously took 
away the vessels of the sanctuary, and 
warned him and his family to flit in six 
days under and professing readiness to 
pray for William and Mary, Parliament on 
3rd May 1689 ordained the communion 
cups and other things belonging to the 
church to be recovered and asked the 
heritors to protect him in the exercise of 
his ministry and in the possession of his 
house, resident with his first wife in Lady 
Tester s Parish, 1st Nov. 1694. [Lady 
Tester s Poll Tax Roll, 23; Acts Scott. 
ParL, ix, App. 7.] 



THOMAS JOHNSTON, M.A., reader 
and schoolmaster 1694, had son 
James. [Colinton Poll Tax Roll, 5.] 



1694 



WILLIAM LOCKHART. Addl. Publi- 
cat i n Heaven, its Changed Rela 
tionship (Edin., 1875). 

THOMAS MARJORIBANKS, D.D. 

(Edinburgh 30th June 1932), trans. 

to Morham 15th Feb. 1932; dem. 
31st July 1941; died at St Andrews 30th 
Jan. 1947; his wife, Mary Ord Logan, died 
26th July 1946; his son, James Alexander 
Milne, in H.M. Consular Service, China; 
his daugh., Anne Leslie, born 6th May 
1915. Addl. publication A Ministry 
Ended: the Rev. James Alexander Milne, 
M.A., Minister of the Parish of Cramond. 



CORSTORPHINE 

In 1128 the church, than a dependent 
chapel of St Cuthberts, was granted along 
with 2 bovates and 6 acres of land to Holy- 
rood Abbey by David I; and, probably 
soon after, Norman, Sheriff of Berwick, 
made a similar grant to the abbey under 
the designation "my Chapel of Corstor- 
phine. " The chapel was a church before 
1158. In the church there was an altar 
dedicated to the Holy Trinity to which on 
18th May 1465 a tenement of land under 
Edinburgh Castle was granted by Sir John 
Marschall, chaplain in the collegiate church 
of Corstorphine, and an annual rent of 5 
was granted by Hugh Barr from a tenement 
in the Cowgate on 16th Dec. 1475. There 



CORSTORPHINE 



[PRESB. OF 



was also in the church an altar dedicated 
to St Ann, at which a chaplain was founded 
in 20th Sept. 1473 by William de Camera, 
vicar of Kirkurd. In the churchyard and 
adjoining the church, a chapel dedicated to 
John the Baptist was founded by Sir Adam 
Forrester of Corstorphine, who died before 
6th Nov. 1405. On 25th Feb. 1425-6 
James I gave and confirmed 24 for the 
endowment of three chaplainries in the 
chapel, 20 being from the King personally 
and 4 being an annual rent from Edin 
burgh, bestowed by the late Sir Adam 
Forrester; and on 20th May 1429 Dame 
Margaret Forrester, relict of Sir Adam, and 
their son, Sir John Forrester, gave an 
annual rent of 21 13s. 4d. for the support 
of two additional chaplains and two clerks 
in the chapel. Probably soon afterwards, 
and in any case prior to 6th Jan. 1436-7, 
the said Sir John erected the chapel into a 
collegiate church for a provost and four 
prebendaries and two singing boys, and for 
endowment consigned 120 gold ducats; and 
on the foregoing date Pope Eugenius IV 
issued a Bull which, after narrating that 
Sir John had stated that if the rectory of 
Ratho Church which was served by a 
perpetual vicar could be added to the 
collegiate church, four or five priests could 
from its fruits be instituted in the said 
collegiate church, gave mandate to the 
Abbot of Holyrood, if he found the state 
ment true, to confirm and approve the said 
foundation and endowment, etc.; and to 
make appropriation of the said rectory 
when it became vacant, and after such 
appropriation that five other priests be 
instituted. A further Bull of Pope Euge 
nius, 13th June 1440, suspended notu pro- 
prio the taking effect of the said appropria 
tion pending a certain contingency; but 
still another Bull of the same Pope, 15th 
June 1444, gave mandate to the Abbot of 
Holyrood to carry out the annexation and 
appropriation of the rectory and the insti 
tution of prebends. Later, however, on a 
further representation by Sir John Forres 
ter that the priests and two boys could not 
be maintained and live on the said fruits, 
the Pope ordered the reduction of the 
priests from five to four, the establishment 



thus consisting of a provost, eight prebends, 
and two boys. On 30th Oct. 1444 the 
institution was confirmed by James Ken 
nedy, Bishop of St Andrews. Subsequently, 
on 23rd Jan. 1450-1, papal remit was made 
to the Abbot of Holyrood to confirm and 
approve an agreement between the said 
bishop on the one hand and, on the other, 
the provost and chaplains of the collegiate 
church, whereby the latter, in return for 
the rectory of Ratho being surrendered by 
the Bishop, should celebrate for ever on 
the Wednesday after the Feast of St 
Thomas the Martyr a solemn mass with 
music during the bishop s life and, after 
his death, a requiem mass. The prebends 
were Gogar, Hadingston, Haltoun, Dal- 
mahoy, Bonyngtoun, Platt, Nortoun, and 
Byres. The fruits of the Church of Clerk- 
ington were included in Bishop Kennedy s 
confirmation charter. After the Reforma 
tion the Church of Corstorphine was again 
attached to St Cuthbert s, and was served 
by a reader. But on 7th March 1587-8 Sir 
James Forrester and other parishioners 
presented to the presbytery a claim that 
Corstorphine was a parish church, and that 
they should not be "compellit to hant any 
other paroch kirk nor their awn qlk had 
been fundit of auld to yt effect. After due 
enquiry the presbytery on 19th March 
interponed their authority on the claim, 
and asked the Lords Modifiers to supply 
a stipend for the minister out of the Thirds 
of Holyrood. Up to 1633 the collegiate 
church and the parish church seem to have 
existed side by side. The collegiate church, 
however, was dissolved by the provost and 
first prebend in 1634, an action ratified by 
Parliament seven years later; and the col 
legiate building became the parish church 
in 1 646, when, on 6th May of that year, the 
Kirk Session had estimates for taking down 
the old parish church and putting up a 
new aisle, attached to the collegiate fabric, 
and apparently on the site of the old 
church. [Reg. Great Seal, ii, 35, 121, 337, 
1320, 3564; Cal. Papal Regs., Letters, viii, 
265, 595, x, 476-7; Acts Scott. Par!., iv, 
677, v, 158, 437; Excheq. Rolls, vii, 30, 
viii, 203, x, 73, etc.; Charters of St Giles, 
41-2; Charters of Holyrood, 3, 4, 6, 7,10.] 



EDINBURGH] 



CORSTORPHINE 



1548 



THOMAS MARJORIBANKS, son of 
Thomas M., burgess of Edinburgh, 
pres. to the prebend of the Col 
legiate Church of Corstorphine called 
Halton and Dalmahoy 16th Nov. 1548 on 
death of Robert Marjoribanks; he was also 
Vicar of Craigie and Prebendary of Kirk- 
michael in the cathedral church of Ross, 
still prebendary in 1567. [Comps. Sub 
Coll of Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.; P. S. 
Reg., iii, 3023, 3026.] 

JAMES SCOTT, provost of Corstor 
phine 18th July 1549, was brother s 
son and heir of late Sir Alexander 
Scott, provost of Corstorphine and son and 
heir of the late Janet Adamson, relict of 
John Bruce, burgess of Edinburgh; was 
still provost 15th Oct. 1560, when he had 
a son William, who was described as grand 
son and son of the heirs of the late William 
Adamson, burgess of Edinburgh. He died 
Sept. 1563 and was succeeded as provost 
by his nephew William Scott, burgess of 
Irvine. [Acts and Decs., iii, 154-5, Ix, 
20th May 1575; A. Guthrie s Prot. Book, 
i, 174.] 

MUNGO WOOD, reader at Gogar, 



1549 



1561 

97.] 



trans, to Corstorphine 1561. 
[Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds, 1561; 



WALTER LANG reader 1568 and 
1569. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 

T I- I 1 

Linlithgow, etc.] 

WALTER COUPER, reader 1569 and 
1570. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Linlithgow, etc.] 



1569 



ANDREW FORRESTER, as min. here 
1590 P res - to vicarage vacant by death of 
last vicar, Adam, Bishop of Orkney. 
[P. S. Reg., Ixvi, 46.] 

ROBERT LINDSAY, had issue David, 
161 _ bapt. 14th June 1603; Helen, bapt. 
14th Nov. 1617; David, bapt. 19th 
August 1619. 

DAVID BALSILLIE, had issue John. 
1626 [G. R. Sas., 2 Ser. v, 354.] 



ROBERT HUNTER, afterwards of 
1655 Bo ness (q.v.). 

ROBERT LAW, delete perhaps min. of 
1689 Kilpatrick. 

GEORGE HENRY, M.A., with his 

1672 W ^ e and cmldren James, Mary, 
Edward, Margaret and Janet, resi 
dent in Tron Parish 6th Nov. 1684. [Tron 
Poll Tax Roll, 20.] 

ARCHIBALD HAMILTON, marr. 24th 



1692 



March 1694 Sarah, daugh. of Wil 



liam Wynne of Wynne Hall, Ruabon, 
Denbighshire; she died 14th Aug. 1724. 
From her daugh., Sarah, was descended 
the Right Hon. Neville Chamberlain. 

GEORGE FORDYCE, had issue- 
George, Henry, Anna (died 19th 
May 1791), Sarah, Jean, Martha 
and Elizabeth. 

JOHN CHIESLIE, his son John born 
1?68 16th Jan. 1760, died 4th Oct. 1761; 
his daugh. Agnes born 1st March 
1765, died 6th Oct. 1766 

ROBERT KEITH DICK HORNE, his 



1863 



widow, Helen Macfarlane, died at 



Eastbourne llth Nov. 1929, aged 
86; his daugh., Caroline, died at Edinburgh 
22nd Oct. 1920. 

JAMES DODDS, his widow, Elizabeth 
Leishman, died 5th Nov. 1914; his 
sons John Macalister (died 13th 
Nov. 1921); Sir James Miller (died at 
London 25th Oct. 1935); his daugh., Mary 
Janet, O.B.E. (died at Edinburgh 15th Oct. 
1947). 

JAMES FERGUSSON, clerk of Presby- 



1895 



tery 1925-6; died at London llth 
Sept. 1926. 



OSWALD BELL MILLIGAN, M.C., 



1927 



trans, from Jedburgh 31st March 
1927; D.D. (Edinburgh) 30th June 
1939; died 2nd April 1940. Addl. issue- 
Beatrice Moira, born 20th Dec. 1918 (marr. 
7th Feb. 1948 Hubert Horace, only son of 



CORSTORPHINE CRAMOND 



[PRESB. OF 



Professor Ernest H. Lamb, Cambridge). 
Publications The Story of St Leonard s, 
Ayr; Corstorphine and its Parish Church 
(1929); The Practice of Prayer (1938). 

ST. ANNE S, CORSTORPHINE 

Erected parish quoad sacra 5th Nov. 
1915. 



1889 



JOHN ANDERSON ROBERTSON, 
dem. 31st Dec. 1932; died 12th Dec. 
1941; his sons Atholl, 2nd Lieut., 
King s Royal Rifle Corps, born 29th 
March 1897, killed in action, Civenchy in 
France, 26th March 1916; Douglas William, 
D.S.O., M.C., 2nd Lieut., R.F.A., in Ad 
ministrative Service, Uganda; his daugh. 
Aileen (marr. 1st Jan. 1926 Field- Marshal 
William Joseph Slim, M.C., India). His 
wife, Jean Mathewson, died 1st June 1938. 
Publication The Parish Church ofSt Anne, 
History (1917). 

CRAIGLOCKART 

ALFRED WILLIAM ANDERSON, 
1903 died 20th Oct. 1934. 

GOGAR 

The church of Gogar was dedicated by 
Bishop de Bernham of St Andrews on 23rd 
May 1247. The chapel of Ochterogate 
(Gogar ?) was united by the Ordinary to 
the Trinity College, Edinburgh, and on the 
petition of James III, patron of the said 
chapel, and his mother, Mary of Gueldres, 
the union was confirmed by Bull of Pope 
Pius II, 10th July 1462. The hospital of 
Ochterogate occurs in 1394. [Cal. Papal 
Regs., Letters, xi, 450, Petitions i, 615; Reg. 
Great Seal, vi, 137; Lockhart s Ch. of 
Scotland in \3th Century, 60.] 

CRAMOND 

On 1 1th Jan. 1478-9 Alexander Currour, 
vicar of Dunsyre, founded a chaplainry at 
the parish altar of St Columba in the 
"Parish Church of St Columba of Nether 
Cramond." Another chaplainry in the 
church was founded by James Howieson 
in Cramond Regis, with endowment in part 



from land in the burgh kirk of Cramond. 
Part of the reddendo was 2 sh. annually for 
the maintenance of the lights of the Blessed 
Virgin Mary in the church, indicating the 
existence of an altar dedicated to the 
Virgin. There was also in the church an 
altar dedicated to St Thomas. The church 
was rebuilt in 1654, and enlarged in 1711 
and again in 1811; and in recent years it 
has been twice altered. The tower, which 
belongs to the 15th century, was finished 
with the present parapet in 1811. The New 
Statistical Account records that the bell, 
which has the inscription "Michael 
Burgersdyk facit me 1619. Soli Deo 
Gloria," was "restored from the body of 
the Civil War by Monk in 1658." In 1569 
Patrick Murray was chaplain of the altar 
in the church founded by John Howieson 
in Cramond Regis, and in 1571 occurs 
Matthew Stewart, chaplain of Cramond 
Regis. [Reg. ofAbbrev. of Feu Charters of 
Church Lands, ii, 69; Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Roxburgh, etc.; Reg. Great Seal, ii, 
1429; iv, 2840; vi, 1146; x, 323; Reg. Sec. 
Seal, xliii, 114; and, 2, Report Commis. 
Ancient Monuments, Midlothian, 27.] 

THOMAS SCOTT, M.A., vicar 1568-72. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlith- 

n 

gow, etc.] 
WILLIAM CORNWALL, called ex- 



1573 



horter 1568. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 

PATRICK SIMSON, as minister pres. 
to vicarage 24th April 1588 on 
death of Thomas Scott. [P. S. Reg., 
Iv, 61.] 

MICHAEL CRANSTOUN, pres. to 
vicarage llth Feb. 1591-2 on dem. 
of Patrick Simson. [P. S. Reg., 
Ixiii, 178.] 

WILLIAM DALGLEISH, his son 

James, merchant, baillie of Queens- 
ferry, died 25th Feb. 1719, ancestor 
of Scotscraig family. 

WILLIAM MARTIN, reader; the first 



1590 



1639 



1651 

earliest existing volume of the Kirk 

Session Records, is "The Session Book 



EDINBURGH] 



CRAMOND CURRIE 



being lost in the year immediately after 
Dunbar by Mr William Martin, reader, in 
whose custody it was, this Book is begun 
at the minister and the people s return to 
the parish again. This day was the first 
Lord s Day after the people were returned 
from the several places where they were 
scattered, to the parish again." [Memo. 
Mr Gordon Stott.] 

DAVID FALCONER, marr. Margaret 
Brydie. [Reg. Mag. Sig., xi, 
1201.] 



1666 



1694 



JOHN SOMERVILLE, line 4 delete 
"To St Boswells 1662, trans.," 
line 11 delete from "(1) Esther 
Scougall to (2)"; died in London 1691. 

WILLIAM HAMILTON, tutor in 
family of Earl of Dundonald, 
Paisley, in summer. [Cramond Poll 
Tax Roll, 9th Nov. 1694.] 

GILBERT HAMILTON, his daugh., 
1737 Mary, marr. pro. 5th Nov. 1751. 

GEORGE MUIRHEAD, his daugh., 
1816 Elizabeth, died 1st May 1837. 



WALTER LAIDLAW COLVIN, his 

daughs. Eliza, died 14th Sept. 
1923; Jessie Louisa, died at London 
10th Feb. 1938. 



1843 



1884 



JOHN WEBSTER, had issue James 

Melville born 26th Au s- 1858 ; 

Robert, born 19th Dec. 1859; John 
Alexander, born 29th Jan. 1864; Edward, 
born 30th March 1870, died 18th June 
1938. 

JAMES ALEXANDER MILNE, his 
1007 widow, Mary Lee Bowden, died 
30th Aug. 1948. 

GEORGE GORDON STOTT, D.D. 



1910 



(St Andrews, 1919); his sons, George 



Gordon, advocate, 1936; Ian Fer- 
gusson, Nyasaland Mission; Richard Cossar 
Gordon, died 23rd Oct. 1947. 



ST COLUMBA S, BLACKHALL 



Erected parish quoad sacra 7th July 1922. 

WILLIAM BLACK STEVENSON, 
D.D., convener of Foreign Mission 
Committee, died at Aberdeen 5th 
May 1928. His sons, Robert Dennistoun, 
killed May 1916; Alexander James, advo 
cate, Carrick Pursuivant 1939-46; Sheriff 
Substitute, Airdrie, 1946. 

CECIL TAYLOR THORNTON, dem. 
1916; Lieut. Royal Scots; afterwards 
min. of St Margaret s, Edinburgh 



DAVID WILSON BAIRD, adm. from 

101 , Presbyterian Church of England by 

General Assembly 1915; app. 1916; 

adm. to Augustine, Greenock, 15th Dec. 

1920. 

ANDREW MITCHELL SNADDEN, 
trans, from Gilmerton 18th May 
1921; adm. first min. of parish 31st 
July 1922; dem. 1931; died at Bishop- 
briggs 2nd March 1936. 

CURRIE 

The church was dedicated to St Mungo. 
-[P. S. Reg., Ixvi, 47.] 

ALEXANDER BETOUN, archdeacon 



1571 



of Lothian, parson 1571 and parson 



and vicar 1584. He is to resign the 
parsonage and vicarage called of old the 
Archdeaconry of Lothian and its emolu 
ments, to the sustentation of the masters, 
regents and other residents of the college 
recently erected by them in the burgh in 
favour of the provost, bailies, councillors 
and community 28th March 1584. 
\Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow, 
etc.; Cal. of Charters xii, 2709; Acts and 
Dec., xxviii, 144.] 



1591 



MATTHEW LICHTON, pres. to 
vicarage pensionary Feb. 1593-4 on 
death of Sir Mark Jamieson. [P. S. 
Reg., Ixvi, 51.] 

HENRY HAMILTON, son of Archibald 
1691 H., min. of Wigtown. 



A* 



CURRIE EDINBURGH ABBEY 



[PRESB. OF 



ROBERT TAYLOR, son of James T., 
1701 merchant burgess, Edinburgh. 

JOHN SPARK, his daugh., Elizabeth, 
marr. proc. 25th Dec. 1768, William 
Steedman, Lieut. R.N. 

JAMES LANGWILL, his sons Archi- 



1719 



1859 



bald, died 4th Jan. 1928; Robert 
Balfour Graham, died Edinburgh 

29th July 1932; Hamilton Graham, M.D., 

died 25th July 1946. 

DUDDINGSTON 

The church was granted to Kelso Abbey 
probably in the 12th century and certainly 
not later than the early part of the 15th, 
but the exact date of the gift and the iden 
tity of the donor do not appear to be on 
record. 

The church is as old as at least the early 
part of the 12th century, and consisted of 
a nave and chancel separated by an arch 
which is the internal feature of the building. 
By Act of Presbytery of Edinburgh of 1 8th 
May 1631 an aisle was appointed to be 
added to the church for the accommoda 
tion of the proprietor of Prestonfield and 
his tenants, the aisle to be built and sup 
ported at his expense. This aisle, on the 
north side at the east end of the nave, bears 
the date 1631, and the tower at the west 
end was added at the same time. The 
church was described in 1 843 as enlarged, 
repaired, and painted about 4 years ago." 
[Cart, of Kelso, i, 196; ii, 347, 348.] 

WILLIAM BLACKWOOD, vicar in 

156Q 1560 and 1566, and 9th June 1574, 

and chaplain of Our Lady Altar in 

Dunblane. [Laing Charters, 808; Acts and 

Dec., Iv, 17.] 

NINIAN HAMILTON, exhorter 1561, 
1574 called minister 1568-72, prebendary 
of Railsteun, brother of John H. in 
Prestonpans, died before 19th April 1583. 
Marr. Alison, daugh. of Alexander Heriot 
in Murehouse. [Edin. Com. Dec. 1587; 
Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 

CHARLES LUMSDEN, M.A. (1585). 



1588 



Line 7, for 1587 read 1585; as min. 
here pres. to vicarage 7th Nov. 



1588-9 in succession to William Black- 
wood, last vicar excommunicated. [P. S. 
Reg., lix, 17.] 

JAMES CRAIG, his son William rector 
of West Kington. [Deeds, Dal., 
1704, No. 741.] 



1694 



WILLIAM BENNET, his son Patrick, 
1786 Ross Herald, 1816-25. 

JAMES MACFARLANE, his son Wil 
liam died Peterhead 26th Sept. 1916; 



1841 



his daugh. Eliza died 10th Sept. 
1932. Addl. Publication The Principles 
and Duties of the Church of Scotland 
(Assembly Address) (Edin., 1865). 

JOHN ALLAN HUNTER PATON, his 

son John Hunter Park died llth 



1866 



Jan. 1949. 



WILLIAM SERLE, died 5th April 1947. 



1903 



He was a keen ornithologist and 
was one of the official observers for 
the bird sanctuary of Duddingston Loch. 

ST JAMES, PORTOBELLO 

JAMES OLIVER, died at Portobello 4th 
1880 Jan. 1918. 

JAMES RAY, trans, from Cellardyke 
3rd Oct. 1916; dem. 16th May 1924; 
died at Harrogate 10th June 1933. 



1924 



WILLIAM SUTHERLAND BUCHAN, 
trans, from Liff and Benvie 8th Oct. 
1924; trans, to Sanquhar 24th Oct. 
1929; trans, to Dunbog 16th Dec. 1949. 
Addl. Publication Young Minds Adven 
turing (Edin., 1933). 

EDINBURGH, ABBEY 

JAMES ROBERTSON SABISTON, 



1889 

1941. 



died 4th March 1918; his widow, 
Gretchen Becker, died 24th Jan. 



ARCHIBALD MORRISON, M.A., 

trans, from Salen (q.v.) 23rd Oct, 

1918; trans, to Lairg 20th Nov. 

1940; trans, to Kilmodan 19th Sept. 1946. 

Addl. issue Mary Rose, born 31st Dec. 

1924 (marr. 17th Oct. 1944 John Talvethan 



EDINBURGH] 



EDINBURGH ABBEY CANONGATE 



Wells, Lieut. North Staffordshire Regi 
ment); Archibald, born 12th March 1925. 

BUCCLEUCH 

FINLAY MATHIESON, died 26th 
1864 Nov. 1918. 

JOHN CAMPBELL, his son, Ian Went- 



1882 



worth, died at Palmerston, New 
Zealand, 24th Aug. 1928. 



NEIL MACLEOD ROSS, trans, to 
1913 Laggan 25th Sept. 1923. 

JOHN SPENCE EWEN, trans, from 
Monquhitter 25th Jan. 1924; trans, 
to Liberton 5th Dec. 1928. 



1924 



WILLIAM GEMMELL MITCHELL, 



1929 



born 12th Aug. 1893; trans, from 



Freuchie 16th May 1929. Addl. 
issue Robert Gemmell, born 9th Nov. 
1925; Jean Gall, born 5th May 1931. 

CANONGATE 
(HOLYROODHOUSE) 

In the Monastery of Holyrood was a 
parochial aisle with parochial altar, dedi 
cated to the Virgin Mary, founded by Sir 
John Eastoun, curate. Part of the endow 
ment was "the merck lands called the 
Crosshouse of the tenements of the Chap- 
lainrie." On 25th May 1487 sasine of 30s. 
from the Community of the Canongate 
was given to the image of the Virgin at the 
said altar, and to Sir George White, chap 
lain. In the yard of the Palace was a chapel 
dedicated to St Anne. A short distance 
north of the Girth Cross was the original 
boundary of the sanctuary of Holyrood 
Abbey, there was situated a chapel dedi 
cated to St Thomas the Apostle, with alms- 
house for seven old men, founded by 
George Crichton, Bishop of Dunkeld 1527- 
43, who had previously been Abbot of 
Holyrood. [Acts of Par I., vii, 82-3; 
James Young s Prot. Book Nos. 19, 558; 
Lord High Treas. Ace., ii, 260; iv, 43, 
Maitland s Hist, of Edinburgh, 154.] 

JOHN BRAND, his pres. to the chap- 

1544 laincy of St Ninian, 5th Jan. 1567-8, 

was on death of Sir William Youn 



ger. His son, James, was chaplain of St 
Thomas situate at the well, that is beside 
the Abbey. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 1; Acts 
and Dec., lii, 215.] 

ALEXANDER THOMSON, reader 
1571 1571-2. [Edin. Tests., iii, 54]. 

MATTHEW WEMYSS, his son David 
1635 bapt. 14th Oct. 1632. 

GEORGE LESLIE, M.A., his widow, 
Elizabeth Charteris, and son, Henry, 
resident in Tron Parish 3rd Nov. 
1694. [Tron Poll Tax Roll, 30.] 

THOMAS WILKIE, son of William W., 



1689 



min. of Lilliesleaf, had issue, Chris 
tian. [Canongate Poll Tax Roll, 
14th Nov. 1694.] 

JAMES WALKER, his sons William, 

1713 apprenticed to Thomas Gardner, 

merchant, 1st Aug. 1733; James, 

bapt. 18th March \1\\ .[Ferryport on 

Craig Reg.] 

JAMES WATSON, died 1763, not 1673; 
line 8, for "James Pillans son of a 
cousin" and line 9 "and Professor 

of Humanity in the University" read 

"Alexander Adam". 

WILLIAM LOTHIAN, his daugh. Helen 
1769 died 19th Jan. 1828. 

ROBERT WALKER, born at Monkton 



3rd May 1755; pres. 29th Dec. 1783; 
his daugh. Jane (marr. 29th Sept. 



1784 

1809). 

ANDREW REDMAN BONAR, pres. 
1849 by Queen Victoria 25th Oct. 1849. 

JAMES MACNAIR, pres. by Queen 
1869 Victoria 10th Sept. 1869; his second 
wife, Harriet Hill, born 24th June 
1827. 

THOMAS WHITE, died at Bridge of 



1889 



Weir 2nd Dec. 1936; his wife, Janet 



Barbara Stuart, died 17th March 
1936; his son, George Thomas Frood, 
executive engineer, P.W.D., died at Singa 
pore 15th Oct. 1934; his daugh., Margaret 
Stewart (marr. 2nd Aug. 1918 Captain 
James Leggat, R.F.A.). 



CANONGATE GREENSIDE 



[PRESB. OF 



CANONGATE 

SECOND CHARGE 
ALEXANDER BURNET, son of Alex- 
ander B., alias Buchan, merchant, 
Aberdeen, Dean of Guild, and grand 
son of Andrew B., of Kirkhill, resident 
with his wife and three children in Lady 
Yester s parish 10th Nov. 1694. [Aberdeen 
Sher. Court Deeds, 5th Nov. 1692; Lady 
Yester s Poll Tax Roll, 3.] 

JOHN WALKER, his son, William 
1709 min. of Monkton. 

JOHN WARDEN, marr. (1) 16th July 



1755 



1733, Ann Macfarlane, who died 



21st Jan. 1748 and had issue- 
Elizabeth, born 28th March 1734; Helen, 
born 15th Aug. 1735; Margaret, born 31st 
March 1737; Lilias, born 24th Dec. 1738; 
John, born 29th May 1740; William, born 
6th Oct. 1745; James, born 25th Jan. 1747. 

JOHN WARDEN (MACFARLANE), 



1765 



his daugh., Elizabeth Home, died 
7th April 1794. 



WALTER BUCHANAN, marr. Mar- 



1789 



garet, daugh. of John Stobie, writer, 
Edinburgh. 



DEAN 

ROBERT WILLIAM WALKER, his 

,_ widow, Jane Ogilvie, died 29th 
March 1919. 

JAMES WILLIAMSON, dem. 29th Dec. 



1879 



1915, died 18th Dec. 1919; his wife, 



Isabella Agnes Jane Donaldson, 
died 26th Aug. 1919; his daugh., Mary 
Gordon, died 7th March 1941; his son, 
James Gordon, died 22nd Oct. 1934. 

JAMES REEKIE, ord. 10th May 1916, 
1926 trans, to Ashkirk 12th Nov. 1926. 

ARTHUR STANLEY MIDDLETON, 

Q2 _ trans, from Cambuslang West 15th 
March 1927; dem. 28th Oct. 1945. 
His wife, Gloriana Margaret Muir, died 
14th Jan. 1939; his daugh., Ann Chrystal 
(marr. 5th April 1941 William Stephen, 
younger son of William Macdonald, The 
Knoll, Montgarrie, Aberdeenshire). Addl. 



issue James Clyne Wingate, born 24th 
April 1921, licenciate. 

GAELIC CHAPEL OF EASE 

JOSEPH MACGREGOR ROBERTSON, 



1778 



marr. Nov. 1771 Janet, daugh. of 



Thomas Brown, merchant, Aber 
deen. His son, Hamilton, died 12th Nov. 
1813, aged 21. 

GAELIC PARISH (ST ORAN S) 

The Gaelic Church was in Argyll Square, 
1815-77. 

JAMES NOBLE, marr. Abigail, daugh. 



1840 



of Thomas Ross, LL.D., min. of 
Lochbroom. 



DONALD TOLMIE MASSON, his 



1854 



daugh., Grace Isabella, died 13th 
March 1915. 



1911 



JOHN CAMPBELL MACGREGOR, 

died of wounds in action 4th Nov. 

1916; his widow, Robina Ralston 
Mclntyre, died at Connel 25th Oct. 1939; 
his daughs. Constance Evelyn Campbell 
(marr. Dr G. H. Clement, Broadstairs, 
Kent); Mary Kathleen (marr. llth Aug. 
1934 Allan Lawson Kelly Rankin, M.D., 
Ph.D., son of Rev. H. M. Rankin, min. of 
St Andrew s, Galashiels). 

JAMES DUFF MACDONALD, trans. 



1917 



from Durness 8th June 1917; died 
22nd Oct. 1945. 



GREENSIDE 

JOHN LAMOND, dem. 3rd Oct. 1923 



1899 



and became a spiritualist; died at 
London 19th July 1932; his daugh., 

Kathleen Ogilvie, died 18th March 1922; 

his son, John Logan, died at Glasgow 28th 

Sept. 1940; his widow, Mary Logan, died 

at Tetbury 9th Nov. 1945. 



1924 



PETER ALEXANDER DUNN, trans, 
from Woodside, Aberdeen, 13th 
May 1924; dem. 7th Oct. 1928 on 

app. to Central Church, Boston, U.S.A.; 

trans, to St Paul s, Hamilton, Ontario, 

1932; marr. (2) 6th Aug. 1942 Dorothy 

Burton Dewar. 



EDINBURGH] 



GREENSIDE OLD GREYFRIARS 



DUDLEY STUART HOPKIRK, B.D., 



1929 



B.Litt., Ph.D., born Portobello 7th 



Dec. 1896, son of John Hopkirk; 
educated at Univ. Edinburgh and Oxford; 
licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh 1925; assis 
tant Barony, Glasgow, 1925; ord. to Skel- 
morlie 5th Aug. 1926; trans, and adm. 26th 
April 1929. 

NEW GREYFRIARS 

ROBERT HENRY, line 6, for "liii" 
1768 read "Iviii". 

WILLIAM MARTIN, marr. Margaret, 



1787 



daugh. of John Cockburn, teacher, 
Edinburgh. 



JOHN THOMSON, his daughs. Nancy 
Ann, born 28th June 1771, died 7th 
Feb. 1788; Janet, born 2nd July 
1776, died 5th Nov. 1793. 

DAVID WILKIE, his son, James of 



1829 



Rathobyres; his daughs. Chris 



tian Stuart (marr. 29th June 1858 
Andrew Scott, Glasgow); Caroline (marr. 
2nd Jan. 1851 James Malcolm of Olrig, 
Nova Scotia); Emelia (marr. 15th March 
1855D. J. Dickson). 

JOHN JULIUS WOOD, line 3, for 



March" read May"; his daugh., 
Margaret Hedley, died at Penicuik 
3rd March 1929. 

WILLIAM ROBERTSON, his son, John 
Hay, died 1874. Publications for 
"Four" read "Six". 



1839 



1843 



ROBERT STEWART, licen. 6th Dec. 

on 1871; his widow, Margaret Brown, 
died 6th Oct. 1934; his son, John 
James Erskine Brown, B.A. (Oxon), LL.B. 
(Edinburgh), 2nd Lieut. Royal Scots, died 
of wounds 12th June 1917; his daugh., 
Wilhelmina Jane, died 29th Sept. 1931; his 
son, William, in Sumatra, died 26th Oct. 
1944. 

JAMES NICOLL OGILVIE, D.D. 

19Q5 (Aberdeen, 1911), dem. 4th June 

1919; app. Junior Clerk of Assembly 

1st June 1926; died suddenly 9th June 

1926; his widow, Elizabeth Johnston 



1919 



Massie, died 6th Jan. 1939. Addl. publica 
tion Our Empire s Debt to Missions 
(London, 1924). 

WILLIAM WALLACE DUNLOP 
GARDINER, D.Litt. (1928), D.D. 
(Edinburgh, 1st July| 1938); trans. 
from St Madoe s 24th Dec. 1919; trans, to 
Caddonfoot 4th Sept. 1940; trans, to Onich 
Ballachulish 28th Oct. 1948; his wife, Ellen 
Pearl Lindsay Ranken, died at Nethy 
Bridge 5th Aug. 1936; he marr. (2) 20th 
Dec. 1938 Margaret Jackson, daugh. of 
Thomas Miller, 55 Oxgangs Road, Edin 
burgh. 

(Church united with Old Grey friars \st 
June 1929.) 

ROBERTSON MISSION 

WALTER SHAW, trans, to Lairg 23rd 
1907 Aug. 1916. 

JOHN HENDERSON MACKENZIE, 

ind. 17th Jan. 1918; trans, to New 
castle 22nd Aug. 1918. 

THOMAS CONNOLLY, ord. 13th July 



1918 



1921 



1921; afterwards min. of Kelso 
North and Glasford (q.v.). 

OLD GREYFRIARS 

GILBERT RULE, born 1629, son of 

1689 George Rule m * n - f Mordington 
and Longformacus, was enrolled at 
St Andrews Univ. in 1647 (his name does 
not appear on the lists of Glasgow); 
Regent at King s College, Aberdeen, 1651-2 
and Sub Principal 1652-6; he "came into 
the College by violence and not minding 
forms"; he went to Alnwick in 1656 but 
prior to that he held the degree of M.D., 
having graduated at Leyden 9th Feb. 1656. 
On 18th Dec. 1679 he was on the petition 
of William Hepburn of Beanstoun and 
remanent heritors allowed to preach in a 
meeting house at East Linton which had 
been built for him, but on 17th June 1680 
the Sheriff Depute of Haddington was 
ordered by the Council to demolish it 
before the end of the month on the ground 
that it was within a mile of the parish 
church. He marr., contract 27th Nov. 1655, 
Elizabeth Birnie and had issue Elizabeth, 



10 



OLD GREYFRIARS ST GILES 



[PRESB. OF 



bapt. 30th Dec. 1655; Isabel, bapt. 20th 
Jan. 1657; and (2) before 21st June 1657 
Janet, daugh. of John Turnbull, Minto, and 
had issue Gilbert, born Berwick 1658-9, 
M.D. (Leyden, 20th Sept. 1682), F.R.C.P. 
(Edin. 1695), physician, Heriot s Hospital, 
1695. [Aberdeen Reg., Old Machar Reg. , 
Univ. of King s College, 41, 57, 192-3; 
Berwick Sas., 1666, 365; G. R. Sas., 33; 
309 (1674), 37, 112 (1676), 55, 282 (1687), 
58, 345 (1668), 60, 67 (1690); Edin. Tests, 
82, 23, Feb. 1704; Index to English Speaking 
Students at Leyden Univ., Privy Council 
Reg., 3 Ser., vi, 360, 471.] 

JAMES HART, marr. (2) Mary, daugh. 
1702 of James Campbell of Kilpont. 

WILLIAM ROBERTSON, his daughs- 
Elizabeth, died 27th Feb. 1810 
(marr. Archibald Hope, Royal Bank); 

Jane (marr. William GifTbrd, farmer); 

Helenora (marr. 27th Feb. 1757 James 

Cunningham, baxter); Mary, died 15th 

Aug. 1837. 

JAMES STEVENSON, his daugh., 



1736 



1747 



Mary (marr. pro. 2nd June 1771 
William Home, upholsterer). 

WILLIAM ROBERTSON, his daugh., 
1761 Mary, died 15th Aug. 1837. 

JOHN INGLIS, his daugh., Mary Jane, 
1799 died 2nd April 1897. 

JOHN SYM, his daughs. Jane Melville, 
died 21st Dec. 1914; Margaret Scott, 



1834 



1877 



died 4th Jan. 1917; Henrietta 
Wilson, died 25th Sept. 1943; his son, Sir 
John Munro, died 3rd Oct. 1919. 

JOHN GLASSE, died at Edinburgh 8th 
Feb. 1918; his son, John Morley, 
M.B., Ch.B., died Haltwhistle 26th 

Dec. 1943; his widow, Louisa Plymer 

Gibson, died 12th Aug. 1944. 

ALEXANDER BROWN GRANT, 
1910 trans, to Rosneath 3rd Nov. 1916. 

SAMUEL DUNLOP, trans, from Kirk- 



1917 



Patrick Irongray 17th May 1917; 



app. Presb. Clerk 27th Oct. 1926; 
killed in motor accident 30th Sept. 1928; 
his widow, Helen Brown Hislop, died 10th 
June 1930. 



OLD GREYFRIARS 

SECOND CHARGE 
MUNGO LAW, son of William L. in 
1644 Ballintown, Stirlingshire, and Jean 
Houston, had a child buried 22nd 
Aug. 1658; had additional issue Anna, 
born 6th May 1647; James, born 28th Aug. 
1648; Andrew, born 28th Sept. 1651 ; David, 
born 29th Dec. 1652; Marion, born 26th 
March 1654; Robert, born 19th June 1656; 
William, born 9th May 1658; his son, John, 
min. of Symington. [G. R. Sas., Ixi, 32.] 

JOHN HAMILTON, line 15, for 
1693 "Hugh "read "Henry"; his daugh. 
Jean, marr. Henry, not Hugh, Haw 
thorn; his son, William, buried 12th Aug. 
1685; a child buried 26th March 1698. 

JOHN HEPBURN. Addl. issue 
17 - Thomas, merchant burgess of Edin 
burgh, 6th March 1751; Jean (marr. 
pro. 20th Jan. 1760 John Weir, merchant). 

ROBERT HAMILTON, his son, James, 

17 _ ft died 1845; his daughs. Catherine, 

died 1811; Grizel (marr. Aug. 1771). 

GEORGE KAY, marr. (2) Ann, daugh. 
1754 of John Forth, merchant. 

The churches of Old and New Greyfriars 
were united 1st June 1929 and the whole 
building restored as one church. The 
church of Lady Yester s was also united 
3rd July 1938 and that of New North on 
18th June 1941. 

ST GILES or THE HIGH KIRK 

JOHN KNOX, p. 50, line 15, delete 
1560 and again in 1 568. 

JAMES LAWSON, line 21, for "First" 
1572 read "Second." 

ALEXANDER HENDERSON, line 10 



1639 



from bottom of p. 57, 2, delete "and 
was again Moderator in 1639." 



GEORGE GILLESPIE. Addl. Publica- 
tion The Testimony of Mr. George 
Gillespie against association and 
compliance with malignant enemies of the 
truth, 1648 (Paisley, 1791). 



EDINBURGH] 



ST GILES 



11 



ALEXANDER HAMILTON, died 



1689 



1691, not 1692; p. 60, line 3, for 
West Linton read * Kinglassie. 
[G. R. Sas., 3 Ser., xxix, 443.] 

GEORGE HAMILTON. Addl. issue 
1697 Agnes. 

JOHN MATHIESON, son of Alexander 
M., wright burgess of Edinburgh; 
his daugh., Jean (marr. pro. 6th May 

1753 William Currie, merchant, Dumfries); 

Margaret, died 10th June 1754. 

WILLIAM GREENFIELD, his son, 
1787 James Hunter, died 1st Feb. 1866. 

ROBERT GORDON, line 21 delete 



1710 



1836 



Professor of Divinity, etc.; min. of 



1843 



Free High Church; line 25, for 1843 
read 1847; his daughs., Georgiana White 
died 1 1th Jan. 1919; Susan Campbell (marr. 
Andrew Mackean) died 3rd April 1926. 

DAVID ARNOT, his daugh., Anna 
Fernie (marr. James Gourlay, North 
British & Mercantile Insurance Co.), 
died 19th Aug. 1919. 

ANDREW WALLACE WILLIAM- 

SON, licen. 13th May 1881; dem. 

10th July 1925; created K.C.V.O. 

1926; died 10th July 1926; his widow, 

Elizabeth Mary Phoebe Croall, died 1st 

March 1946. 

CHARLES LAING WARR, educated 



1926 



Glasgow Academy, Univs. of Edin 



burgh, M.A. (1914), and Glasgow; 
trans, from St Paul s, Greenock, llth Feb. 
1926; app. Dean of the Thistle and of the 
Chapel Royal in Scotland, 19th Feb. 1926 
and Extra Chaplain in Ordinary to H.M. 
the King 12th March 1926; Chaplain in 
Ordinary 1935; Chaplain to Convention of 
the Royal Burghs of Scotland 1926; 
Trustee National Library of Scotland 
1926; Chaplain to Highland and Agri 
cultural Society 1926; Chaplain to Royal 
Scottish Academy, 1927; D.D. (Edinburgh, 
2nd July 1931); Vice Convener, Home 
Mission, 1935-6, 1939-41, and Convener 
1947; Convener of Committee on Huts and 
Canteens for Forces 1939-45; Chaplain to 



King s Body Guard (Royal Company of 
Archers) 22nd Feb. 1937; Hon. R.S.A. 
(1927); F.R.S.E.; C.V.O. 10th July 1937; 
LL.D. (St. Andrews 28th Sept. 1937); Chap 
lain of the Order of St. John of Jerusalem, 
1943, Sub-Prelate 1947, and Prelate of the 
revived Scottish Priory 1950. Created 
K.C.V.O. 1950. Marr. 30th April 1918 
Christian Lawson Aitken, only daugh. of 
Robert Rattray Tatlock and Christian, 
daugh. of Rev. Charles Aitken of Cupar- 
head, Lanarkshire, Vicar of Carmenellis, 
Cornwall. Publications The Unseen Host 
(1916); Echoes of Flanders (1916); Alfred 
Warr of Rosneath (1917); Principal Caird 
(1926); The Call of the Island (1929); 
Scottish Sermons and Addresses (1930); 
The Presbyterian Tradition (1933); Bruce 
(Walker Trust Lecture) (1936); many 
contributions to journalism. 

ST GILES 

SECOND CHARGE 
JAMES BALFOUR, line 32, delete 



1598 

1639. 



"who survived him"; marr. (2) 
Elizabeth King, buried 10th Sept. 



ALEXANDER THOMSON, line 5, for 



1628 



1623 read 1619; marr. Margaret, 



daugh. of Thomas Muirhead, min. 
of Cambusnethan. 

HENRY POLLOCK, trans, from 
1641 Trinity. 

DAVID DICKSON of BUSBY, Mode- 



1650 



rator in 1639, not 1640; his sons, 



David and Archibald, matriculated 
at Glasgow Univ., 1647. 



1675 



ANDREW CANT, line 10, for "1553" 
read "1653"; marr. (1) 20th Nov. 
1653 Anna Burnett; his son, 
Andrew, Bishop of Glasgow. [Aberdeen 
Reg.} 

WILLIAM MITCHELL, line 24, marr. 
1721 (2) "26" not "7." 

ROBERT KINLOCH, addl. issue 



1728 



Robert, bapt. Dundee 9th Aug. 
1716. 



12 



ST GILES LADY GLENORCHY S 



[PRESB. OF 



JAMES BUCHANAN, son of James B., 
spirit dealer and grain merchant, 
and Annabella Orr; his daugh., Jean 

Morrison (marr. 12th Dec. 1862 William 

Rose Campbell of Ballochyle). 

OLD KIRK 

ANDREW RAMSAY. (G. R. Sas., 
1641 xviii, 337; liii, 274). 

THOMAS GARVINE, schoolmaster of 



1649 



Irvine; brother of Janet G., who 



married 1609 James, son of John 
Spence, portioner of Lathine, Fife; his 
daugh. Anne (marr. cont, 3rd Jan. 1673 
James Caithness, writer, Edinburgh). [G. R. 
Sas., 2 Ser., xviii, 46; 3 Ser., i, 7; Edin. 
Sheriff Court Reg. of Deeds, 14th June 
1707.] 

ALEXANDER RAMSAY, his son, 



1681 



Robert, apprenticed to Alexander 
Callander 17th Aug. 1709; his 

widow, Jean Orrok, marr. Robert Cheyne, 

min. of Girthon. 



JAMES NISBET, son of James N., 



1718 



M.D.; line 4, for 1625 read 1695; 
his son, David, merchant, Glasgow. 



DANIEL MACQUEEN, marr. Eliza- 
1758 b etn > daugh, of Archibald Nisbet 
of Carfin. Addl. issue Elizabeth, 
born 4th April 1745, died 27th March 1746; 
Ann (marr. 27th July 1769 James Wilkie), 
died 26th March 1789. 

JAMES MACKNIGHT, had issue 
William, born 2nd Feb. 1755, died 
20th Oct. 1761. 

JOHN LEE. Addl. publication Evi- 
1835 d gnce before the Committee on 
Religious Instruction (Edin., 1837). 

OLD KIRK 

SECOND CHARGE 
JOHN HALL, trans, to Second Charge 
1596 St Giles after 21st Feb. 1610. 

JAMES HAMILTON, son of Gavin H., 
merchant, Glasgow and Coleraine, 
and Helen Dunlop; his daughs. 
Jane (marr. Archibald Hamilton, min. of 



Wigtown); a daugh. marr. William Mait- 
land, min. of Beith; Mary (marr. Peter 
Blair, min. of Jedburgh). [Hamilton MS., 
161.] 

GEORGE CAMPBELL of KINNOCH- 



1690 



TREE, his daughs. Rosina (marr. 



12th June 1690 Charles Garden, 
min. of Ashkirk); Marion (marr. George 
Anderson, min. of Dairsie); Janet, buried 
10th June 1676; his son, Alexander, buried 
30th Aug. 1699. 

JOHN ORR, his daugh., Janet, died 



1703 



1732 (marr. Andrew Greg, surgeon, 
Cupar, Fife). 



PATRICK CUMING, MS. volume of 
1732 sermons in Assembly Library. 

ROBERT HENRY, marr. Ann, daugh. 
of Thomas Balderston, surgeon, 
Berwick. [Scots Mag., Iviii, 293.] 



1776 



THOMAS MACKNIGHT, line 6, for 



1810 



"Canongate Second Charge" read 
"South Leith." 
(Second Charge abolished 1836.) 



OLD KIRK PARISH (Q.S.) 

JAMES RICHMOND AITKEN, app. 
19Q7 Presbytery Clerk 14th Nov. 1928; 
app. secretary, Church Extension 
Committee, 1939; D.D. (Edinburgh, 30th 
June 1932); died 3rd Jan. 1943. His wife, 
Gertrude Allen, died 9th Dec. 1921. His 
daugh., Marguerite, marr. Andrew Fraser. 

(Church transported to new site at Crewe 
Toll, 7th Jan. 1941.) 

LADY GLENORCHY S (Q.S.) 
THOMAS SNELL JONES, marr. (2) 



1779 



pro. 1st Dec. 1783 Mary, daugh. of 
John Belshes of Invermay, and (3) 
pro. 30th June 1787 Agnes, daugh. of 
George Gardiner of Custom House. 



GEORGE RAMSAY DAVIDSON, his 

sons David William, died Oct. 
1886; George Ramsay, died Feb. 
1893. 



1842 



ALEXANDER FYFE BURNS, for 

1877 "Andrew" read "Alexander." 



EDINBURGH] 



LADY GLENORCHY S MURRAYFIELD 



13 



1882 



THOMAS BURNS, D.D., C.B.E., T.D., 

died 15th Jan. 1938; his wife, Sarah 
Frances Townsend Murray, died 
18th Nov. 1926. He was chairman of the 
Scottish National Home for Blinded 
Soldiers (Newington House) and raised 
large sums of money for this purpose. At 
the same time the Thomas Burns Home 
for Blinded Women was founded as a 
tribute to his work on behalf of the blind. 
His son, Norman Frederick MacGregor, 
manager, Banda Kwala Estate, Sumatra; 
his daugh., Agnes Mary Frances (marr. 
30th July 1918 James Thomas Hall, min. 
of Monymusk). 

LADY YESTER S 

THOMAS WILKIE, his son by first 



1691 



marriage, Henry, apprenticed to 



1732 



John Hay, surgeon, 15th Dec. 1695. 
[Lady Yester s Poll Tax Roll, 35.] 

ARCHIBALD GIBSON, probably of 
Durie family. His mother was Jean 
Pringle; his daugh., Janet (marr. 
Jan. 1756 Robert Innes, physician, Edin 
burgh). 

THOMAS FLEMING, his daugh., Ann, 
-ion/: born 2nd May 1788, died 25th 
March 1791. 

CHARLES MacGREGOR, died 27th 



1880 



Dec. 1923; his widow, Wilhelmina 



Blair, died 21st Feb. 1927; his son, 
Blair, died Oakland, California, 18th April 
1937. 

JOHN MORRISON McLUCKIE, 
1910 trans, to Castleton 7th Feb. 1918. 

GEORGE SIMPSON MARR, M.A., 
B.D., D.Litt., M.B., Ch.B. (Edin. 
20th Dec. 1923); trans, from Dalzell 
2nd Oct. 1918; dem. 2nd July 1938; marr. 
5th Feb. 1924 Rhoda Keith Bryden, B.Sc., 
only daugh. of William Shand, 37 Bucking 
ham Terrace, Edinburgh, whom he divorced 
for desertion 6th July 1928. Publications 
Periodical Essayists of the Eighteenth Cen 
tury. Happy Youth: A Faith for To-day: 
Christianity and the Cure of Disease. 

(Charge united to Grey friars 3rd July 1 938.) 



MAYFIELD (Q.S.) 
ALEXANDER NEIL, dem. 27th Oct. 



1879 



1920; died at Joppa 13th Oct. 1925; 



his widow, Cecilia Morrison, died 
5th Aug. 1929. 

WILLIAM JOHN SYM, trans, from 
- Broughty Ferry 28th April 1921; 
M.B.E., 1932; Chaplain to Terri 
torial Forces and Senior Chaplain, Alder- 
shot, 1940-3; Convener, Chaplain s Com 
mittee, 1938; died 29th Sept. 1946. 

MORNINGSIDE (Q.S.) 

THOMAS ADDIS, his sons Rev. Wil 
liam, died 20th Feb. 1917; Thomas 
Chalmers, died at Colinton 24th 
Jan. 1918; David Foulis, died 26th Nov. 
1924; Sir Charles, K.C.M.G., died 14th 
Dec. 1945; his daughs. Henrietta Thor- 
burn (marr. Andrew D. Black) died at 
Rothesay 14th June 1917; Robina Scott 
Thorburn, died 16th Aug. 1940; Susan 
Forbes, died 12th Feb. 1936. 

EBENEZER BROWN SPEIRS, his 



1897 



widow, Wilhelmina Amalie Marie 



Pancke, died 12th Nov. 1935, aged 
83; his son, Andrew, died llth Nov. 1918; 
his daughs. Wanda died at Blenay, 
Switzerland, 26th Jan. 1917; Catherine 
Vera (marr. 8th May 1920 Frederick K. 
Watson, B.Sc., New South Wales); Marie, 
headmistress, Allermuir School, died 23rd 
Dec. 1943. 

ROBERT HOWIE FISHER, trans, to 

1900 St Cuthbert s 6th May 1914. 

ANDREW BROWN, D.D. (St. An- 

drews 27th June 193 )> died 21st 
March 1943; his sons David in 
Ceylon; Douglas, C.A., died from result 
of an accident, Idwah, Upper Burma, 19th 
May 1934. 

MURRAYFIELD (Q.S.) 

ROBERT JOHNSTONE, trans, to 

1901 Aberdour 18th Nov. 1914. 

JAMES ROSSIE BROWN, born 10th 



1914 



1915 



July 1886, son of William Rossie B., 
min. of Ardrossan; educated at 
High School and Univ. of Glasgow; M.A. 



14 



MURRAYFIELD ST AIDAN S 



[PRESB. OF 



(1907) Berlin and Heidelburg; licen. by 
Presb. of Irvine 2nd May 1911; app. 
Chaplain to Duke of Hamilton and ord. 
by Presb. of Hamilton 29th July 1912; 
assist, at Glasgow Cathedral, St Cuthbert s 
Edinburgh, and Peebles; adm. 13th April 
1915; served in European War 1914-15 
with Royal Scots; Squadron Leader, Auxi 
liary Air Force; Chaplain, No. 603 City of 
Edinburgh Squadron, 1929; D.D. St 
Andrews 30th Nov. 1948. 



NEWINGTON (Q.S.) 

JOHN ALISON, his widow, Margaret 
Macgeorge, died at Bournemouth 
15th March 1921. 



1898 



HUGH CAMERON, dem. 15th May 
1932, died 21st Aug. 1934; his 
daughs. Maud (marr. 26th July 
1917 Norman Gottfried Resting, min. of 
Kirkhope); Norah (marr. 24th Sept. 1942 
Lewis Frederick Armitage). 

PRESTONFIELD 

DONALD MACMILLAN, dem. llth 

Feb. 1926; died 31st July 1944; his 

wife, Edith Marjorie Eveline Watt, 

died 26th May 1920; marr. (2) 6th June 

1928 Agnes Charteris (died 23rd April 

1938), daugh. of James Stirling, 17 

Orchardhead Road, Liberton; his daugh., 

Isabella Catherine, marr. 1st July 1922 

John Elder, M.C., M.A., min. of Cults 

East. 



1926 



ANDREW ROBERTSON, trans, from 
Mochrum 6th Oct. 1926; trans, to 
Oxnam 26th May 1937; his wife, 

Helen Ferme Lawson, died 22nd Sept. 

1939. 

RESTALRIG (Q.S.) 

JOHN DURIE, exhorter in 1568 and 

1569. [Comps. Sub Coll of Thirds, 
156o T i i i i 

Linlithgow, etc.] 

GEORGE BOYD, his daugh., Elizabeth 
1870 Mackenzie, died 17th Dec. 1929. 



WILLIAM BURNETT, dem. 31st Dec. 

1912 1934; died at Leeds 30th Ma y 1946 ; 

his daugh., Mary Johnstone, M.A., 
B.Ed. (marr. 27th July 1932 James Lums- 
den D.Sc., Ph.D., principal, Technical 
College, Dundee); his wife, Lena Dawson, 
died 4th Dec. 1943. 



ROBERTSON MEMORIAL (Q.S.) 

WILLIAM LYON RIACH, his widow, 

1872 A nes Geraldine Potter, died 15th 

Nov. 1915; his daugh., Agnes Mary 

(marr. Francis William Gibb, Edinburgh), 

died 2nd March 1940. 

DAVID PAUL, dem. 26th Nov. 1919, 

1896 died 12th July, 1929; his son, 

George Morison, died at Malaga 

23rd Jan. 1917; his daugh., Alice Mary, 

died 19th July 1947. 

GEORGE VICTOR DUNNETT, trans. 
1920 ^ rom Cockburnspath 4th June 1920; 
O.B.E. (3rd June 1918); adm. to 
Flisk 4th Feb. 1937; dem. 21st Dec. 1943. 
Addl. issue Alastair Inglis, born 31st 
March 1920; Stephen Falconer, born 19th 
Jan. 1923. 

ST AIDAN S 

ANDREW BENVIE, dem. 28th Nov. 
1894 1926; died 5th Aug. 1930. 

NEIL ALEXANDER MACLEAN, 
192? born Glasgow 27th June 1895, son 
of Neil M., Leamington Terrace, 
Edinburgh; educ. at Univ. of Glasgow; 
licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 1923; assistant 
at Paisley Abbey; served in European war 
as private in H.L.I, and officer in K.R.R.C.; 
taken prisoner at Cambrai 30th April 1917; 
ord. to Montrose, Second Charge, 3rd Feb. 
1925; trans, and adm. 7th June 1927; dem. 
15th May 1936; adm. to St Columba s, 
Lauriston, Falkirk, 19th Sept. 1939; dem. 
15th May 1944. Marr. 17th Sept. 1943 
Janet Inglis, daugh. of James Cruickshank, 

s.s.c. 

(New Church at Saughton dedicated 28/7* 
Dec. 1934.) 



EDINBURGH] 



ST ANDREW S ST CUTHBERT S 



15 



ST ANDREW S 

ANDREW GRANT, his son David, 



1813 



born 22nd Sept. 1794, died 13th 
March 1800. 



JOHN BRUCE, his daugh., Isabel 



1837 



Angus, died Edinburgh 21st May 
1924. 



THOMAS CLARK, his daugh., Janet 
1843 Gordon, died 19th Sept. 1853. 

JOHN STUART, line 7, for "1848" 
read "1847"; his widow, Jessie 
Duncan, died 19th March 1922. 



1857 



PETER HAY HUNTER, his widow, 
Helen Dawson, died 13th June, 



1896 



1935. 



GEORGE CHRISTIE, D.D. 1927; died 
1908 23rd Nov. 1937. 

(St Andrews and Queen Street Churches 
united \2th Oct. 1947.) 

ST BERNARD S (Q.S.) 

For ANDREW WATSON BROWN 
1841 read Alexander Watson Brown. 

JOHN McMURTRIE, his widow, 
1866 Beatr ^ x Somerville Brodie, died at 
Skene Manse 20th April 1920; his 
daughs. Beatrix, headmistress, St Co- 
lumba s School for Girls, Kilmacolm; 
Agnes Katherine, died 29th Aug. 1936. 

ALEXANDER FIDDES, D.D. (Aber- 

deen, 1929), dem. 12th Nov. 1925; 

died 29th March 1943; his widow, 

Mary Ross Allardyie, died 24th Jan. 1948. 

ALBERT ALEXANDER DIACK, 

trans, from Peterhead East 7th July 
1926. 

ST CUTHBERT S 

In 1 128 David I with consent of his son, 
Henry, granted to Holyrood Abbey the 
church with the parish and all things per 
taining to the church, and with the kirkton, 
and with the land on which the church is 
situated, and with the other land which lies 



beneath the Castle, and two chapels per 
taining to the church the chapel of 
Corstorphine with two bovates and 6 acres 
of land, and the chapel of Liberton, with 
2 bovates of land, and with all the teinds 
and rights, both living and dead, of 
Legbernarde, which Macbeth of Liberton 
gave to the said church and which the King 
confirmed. Manifestly the church was 
founded long prior to the foregoing date; 
and it may be that it owed its origin to one 
of the followers of St Cuthbert, or even to 
that saint himself. There is, however, no 
certain information with regard to the 
foundation. The church was dedicated by 
Bishop de Bernham on 16th March, 1241-2. 
On 3rd July 1486 William Tours of Inver- 
leith and Alison Home, his wife, granted 
to a chaplain at the altar of St Anne, 
mother of the Virgin Mary, situated in St 
Anne s aisle on the north side of the 
church, 14 merks annually from a tenement 
near the place of the Minorite Friars, Edin 
burgh; and in 1558 George Tours of Inver- 
leith stated that the altar had been founded 
by his predecessors. On 10th Dec. 1488 
Mr Alexander Currour, vicar of Living 
stone, granted to a chaplain at an altar in 
the church dedicated to the Holy Trinity 
annual rents from tenements on the north 
and south sides of High Street, in the 
Canongate, and in le Forstan s Wynd on 
the south side of High Street. There was 
also in the church an altar dedicated to the 
Virgin Mary. By Act of Parliament in 1633 
St Cuthbert s Church was dissolved from 
Holyrood; and by Charter of 29th Septem 
ber of that year Charles I annexed it to his 
newly formed Bishopric of Edinburgh. 
After the Revolution, when the bishopric 
was dissolved, the church became inde 
pendent. 

It is presumed that when, in May 1544, 
under the direction of the Earl of Hertford, 
the English leader, * the towne (Edinburgh) 
and also the Abbey of Holyrodehouse" 
were wholly burned and desolate, St 
Cuthbert s Church was involved in the 
conflagration. In any case in 1550 the 
church is described as "the new parish 
Church of St Cuthbert s," indicating that 
at that date a scheme of rebuilding had 



16 



ST CUTHBERT S 



[PRESB. OF 



very recently been carried out. In 1593 the 
fabric of the church underwent consider 
able repairs. The Steeple "yat is auld," 
was taken down in whole or in great part 
and rebuilt, the walls of the church were 
heightened, and the roof was covered with 
slates in place of thatch which had done 
service. The foregoing description of the 
steeple clearly indicates that it was of much 
earlier date than the rest of the church, and 
therefore had survived the fire of 1 544. At 
the same time a new church was erected at 
the west end of the church, on the site of 
the existing tower and the triangular piece 
of ground adjacent thereto. In Gordon of 
Rothiemay s map of Edinburgh, 1647, 
there is a sketch of the church showing it 
as a plain building consisting of nave and 
choir, with a south transept at the junction 
of the nave and choir, and on the south 
side of the west end a massive square tower. 
Later illustrations reveal considerable 
alterations in the external appearance of 
the building, including the heightening of 
the nave and an addition in the outside 
stair to the end of the south transept. These 
alterations were due to the need of pro 
viding lofts for additional accommodation. 
Mention in 1649 is made of the West Loft 
called Braid s Loft, at the north end of 
which provision was made in that year for 
accommodation for the Town Council, 
who had become a heritor, entrance to the 
Council s Loft being secured by a door 
"broken through the wall." In September 
1650, after the battle of Dunbar, in connec 
tion with the siege of Edinburgh Castle by 
Cromwell, the new church was demolished, 
and of the old church practically nothing 
but the bare walls remained. In the follow 
ing year restoration work was begun; and 
in 1652 sufficient repairs had been carried 
out in "roof, walls, and windows" to 
enable the church to be reopened for wor 
ship in April of that year. But even in 1655 
internal renewal work was still being car 
ried on, for on 1 3th June of the latter year 
the Town Council, on the ground that "St 
Cuthbert s was straitened for fault of lofts 
and seats therein, that the most part of the 
congregation goe stragling and wandring 
up and down to uther kirks and under 



pretence thereof spend the holie Sabbath 
ydlie and profanlie," and that their loft 
if repaired, would provide needed accom 
modation and thereby make the people 
"inexcusable for disorderlie living," 
ordered their said loft to be rebuilt. Prob 
ably it was in this connection that the 
Town Council on 7th Nov. 1655 arranged 
for a partition wall of good and sufficient 
lyme and stane work" being built in the 
church. In the same period, 1652-5, the 
walls and roof of the new church were 
restored, and repairs were carried out on 
the churchyard dykes which had been built 
in the early part of 1601. In March-June 
1689 the blockade of the Castle, then held 
by the Duke of Gordon on behalf of 
James II, led to further severe damage 
being done to both churches. In course 
the old church was repaired, while the new 
church was externally restored. The latter 
does not appear again to have been used 
for worship, and in 1753, when it was in a 
ruinous condition, the roof was removed, 
and in 1772 the walls were demolished. In 
1772 the old church, including the tower, 
was also demolished, and its place was 
taken by a building which was opened for 
worship on 31st July 1775. At the same 
time the first stage of the tower, which has 
a sundial with the date 1772 and the motto 
Vivite Fugio, was built, and in 1789 the 
tower was completed with funds privately 
subscribed. The church of 1775 gave place 
to the present church, which was opened 
for worship on Wednesday, 1 1th July 1894. 
The name, West Church, applied to St 
Cuthbert s in the 17th century, seems to 
have originated in the early Covenanting 
days. But it never really supplanted the 
old name. Indeed, it had a restricted use, 
and in course it disappeared. The church 
lands and glebe, with barn, cornyard, etc., 
were situated on the east side of the 
churchyard. 

In the parish there were several chapels 
and religious houses. Near the West Port 
on the south side of the Castle there was 
Barras or Barres Chapel, so named from 
the enclosure for tournaments in the 
vicinity. Dedicated to the Virgin Mary, it 
was built by James IV in 1507-8, and 



EDINBURGH] 



ST CUTHBERT S 



17 



appears to have been completed in May of 
the latter year. On 10th May foresaid 
King James supplied taffeta red and white 
"to the courtingis and ruf of the Chapel 
of the barres" at a cost of 42 5s., and 
later in the same month, on the 20th and 
27th respectively, he made offerings in the 
chapel then designated "the Chapell of 
conscience beside the barres." On 25th 
Feb. 1532-3 James V provided for the 
chapel, vestments and altar furnishings, 
and also a bell and an image of the Virgin 
Mary. The lands of the chapel are de 
scribed on 31st Oct. 1566 as lie Barres and 
the tail adjoining the same on the west side, 
and extending to St Margaret s well, lying 
under the Castle on the south, between 
Polcatsher s and Orchardfield on the south, 
the public way leading to St Cuthbert s on 
the north, the said well on the west, and 
the lands called Kingis-Stabillis on the east. 
The first chaplain, presented by James IV 
on 6th June 1508, was Sir James Ellem or 
Allane, and his successor on 15th Sept. 
1545 was Henry Achesoun. At the Burgh 
Moor, on the ground of St Giles Grange, 
there was a chapel founded in honour of 
St John the Baptist and St John the 
Evangelist, apparently on 15th Feb. 
1512-13, by Sir John Crawford, prebendary 
of St Giles. Provision was made for (1) a 
chaplain to celebrate in the chapel, the 
endowment being 1 8 acres of the Common 
Moor, U acres of land given of charity by 
the Town Council, and 3i acres of said 
moor held by Sir John off the Town 
Council in feu, and (2) for "a man of 
advanced age" who "shall reside at the 
said church, wearing always a white robe 
and carrying on his breast a sign, viz. the 
head of John the Baptist, proclaiming his 
hermitical life, who shall have for his 
sustenance an acre of land with house and 
garden adjacent to the same on the south. 
On 5th Jan. 1516-17 Sir John Crawford 
conveyed the chapel with the churchyard, 
houses, yards, lands, to the adjacent Con 
vent of St Catherine of Sienna, and the 
chapel became the chapel of the convent. 
Near the foregoing chapel there was a 
chapel dedicated to St Roc or Rok, founded 
probably about 1501-2. At that period 



James IV made various gifts to the chapel, 
and included in the outlays was a gratuity 
to the French Friar * that brocht ane bane 
of Sanct Rouk to the King." Further 
gifts followed in 1507 and 1512. On 24th 
Nov. 1532, "for suffrage and prayeris to 
be done in Sanct Rokis Kirk on the 
Burowmuir for the souls that lie in the said 
Kirk and Kirkyard," the Town Council 
granted to Sir John Young, chaplain in the 
chapel, and his successors in office 3 acres 
of the Burgh Moor, with another acre on 
the south side of the kirkyard of the chapel, 
to build a yard and house upon the 
successive chaplains to "uphold the Kirk 
in sclates watherticht, glaswyndows, and 
all uther necessour thingis." Evidently 
the Town Council was the patron of the 
chapel, for on llth Aug. 1537 it granted 
authority for 10 expenditure * upon heting 
and mending Sanct Rokis Chapel for the 
present year," which "is allegit to thame 
to be reuynous and falling doun." At 
Newhaven there was a chapel dedicated to 
the Virgin Mary and St James. In the 16th 
century up to 1560 it was variously desig 
nated the Chapel of the Blessed Virgin, 
"Our Lady Kirk of the New Haven," the 
Chapel of St Mary at lie New Haven or 
Port of Grace"; but later, and certainly in 
1601, it was called the "Chapel of St 
James, Newhaven." Included in the 
revenue granted by Crown Charter of 2nd 
March 1614 to the minister, elders, and 
deacons of South Leith Church for the 
Royal Foundation of the Hospital and 
Poor of Leith, was the place where was the 
Chapel of St James, Newhaven, formerly 
called the Chapel of the Blessed Virgin 
Mary, with the garden of the chapel. 
Within the lands of Bristo there was a 
chapel dedicated to St Sebastian, founded 
on 8th May 151 1, by Sir Matthew Doweile, 
chaplain; and in a charter of 14th April 
1439, quoted in a Crown Charter of 2nd 
Sept. 1458, there appears "the Church of 
St John the Baptist under the Wall of the 
Castle." This latter was the chapel 
attached to the Hospital of the Knight 
Templars and later the Knights of St John 
at the Bow Foot in the Grassmarket. In 
St Ninian s Row in the Low Calton there 



18 



ST CUTHBERT S 



[PRESB. OF 



was a chapel dedicated to St Ninian. 
Lepers at St Ninian s Chapel are referred 
to in a charter of 15th Feb. 1541-2, indi 
cating that attached to the chapel there 
was a house for lepers. The west pier of 
Regent Bridge is situated on the site of the 
chapel. The Dominican nunnery of St 
Catherine of Sienna, the foundation of 
which was confirmed by Bull of Pope 
Leo X on 29th March 1517, was situated 
at the place called the Sciennes. Land for 
the nunnery was given by John Cant, 
burgess of Edinburgh, and Sir John Craw 
ford, prebendary of St Giles, and the 
expense of erection was borne chiefly by 
Jane Hepburn, wife of George, fourth Lord 
Seton. Dedicated to the Virgin Mary, the 
Carmelite convent of St Mary of Placentia 
was situated a short distance from the 
south-east corner of the city wall. Alike of 
the name of the founder and of the date of 
the foundation nothing is known. The 
name survives in the pleasance. The 
hospital, or almshouse, with chapel was 
situated at the foot of St Leonard s Lane 
in the old barony of Broughton. It was in 
existence in the first half of the 12th cen 
tury, and was granted to Holyrood Abbey 
by David I, probably at or soon after his 
foundation of the abbey in 1128. It seems 
to have had a somewhat chequered career. 
At any rate, towards the end of the 1 5th 
century "time, war, and other incon- 
venients" had made it "waste and un 
inhabitable," and on 18th July 1493 it was 
refounded by Robert Bellenden, Abbot of 
Holyrood, for six old and frail poor men, 
and their successors as beneficiaries, with 
sustenance for them, consisting of two 
crofts, the Terraris Croft and le Hermitis 
Croft in the said Abbot s territory of St 
Leonard, and 23s. annual rent from a tene 
ment in the Canongate. Provision was also 
made for a chaplain for the hospital, who 
had a manse near the gate of the monastery 
on the north side of the High Street of the 
Canongate. Of the two crofts and the 
annual rent of 20s. sasine was granted by 
the abbot on 2nd Sept. 1494 to six poor 
men in the hospital, John Rudry, Thomas 
Blak, Robert Murray, John Burne, Thomas 
Rannald, Thomas Huchonson, and their 



successors. [Reg. Great Seal, i, 805, 1812; 
ii, 616, 1692, 2192, 3818; iii, 170; iv, 2813; 
vi, 1181; vii, 1015; viii, 243; Reg. Sec. Seal, 
i, 1689, ii, 2455, iii, 1322; Acts Scott. 
ParL, v, 54; Lord High Treas. Aces., ii, 68, 
146, 346, iii, 293, 1322, iv, 22-3, 38, 41, 
181, 183, 191, v, 389, vi, 93, vii, 74, 195, 
290; Exts. from Records of City of Edin 
burgh, i, 164; 1528-57, 59, 67; 1557-71, 7; 
1589-1603, 285; 1642-55, 275, 391; Char 
ters of Holyrood, 3, 4, 6, 234-44; Foular s 
Prot. Bk., Nos. 1 10, 253, 713; Young s Prot. 
Bk., No. 730; Gilbert Grote s Prot. Bk., 
Nos. 152, 155; Church of Scotland in 13th 
Century, 46; Scotsman, 12th July 1894.] 

ARCHIBALD HAMILTON, M.A., 



1557 



vicar in 1557 and 7th July 1566. 



[Col. of Charters, ix, 1902, 2044; 
Reg. Abb. Feu Charters of Church Lands, 
i, 183; Acts and Dec., xxxii, 113.] 



WILLIAM HARLAW, his pres. to 
vicarage 6th Feb. 1 572 was on death 
of William Hamilton. [Reg. Pres. 
Bene., i, (4), 4.] 



1560 



ROBERT PONT, his daugh., Beatrix, 
was by first marriage; his son, James, 
commissary of Dunblane. It does 

not appear that he actually became min. 

at St Andrews (#.v.). 

JAMES REID, line 1, for "John" read 
1649 "William." 

DAVID WILLIAMSON, his son, 
George, by 2nd marr., bapt, 15th 
Oct. 1668; his son, William, appren 
ticed to Robert Manderston, merchant, 
23rd March 1711. Publications for 
"TVo" read "Four Single Sermons 1690- 
1703." [South Leith Reg.} 

THOMAS PITCAIRN, parentage given 
is doubtful; his daughs., Jean (marr. 
pro. 17th Aug. 1755 David Wardrop, 
surgeon, Edinburgh); Margaret (marr. pro. 
5th Sept. 1756 Alexander Sheriff, merchant, 
Leith); his son, James, apprenticed to 
James Hunter, wright, 8th Sept. 1742. 

ALEXANDER STUART, marr. (1) 
Margaret, daugh. of John Heriot, 



1735 



1762 



candlemaker. 



EDINBURGH] 



ST CUTHBERT S 



19 



SIR HENRY WELWOOD MON- 
CREIFF. Addl. Publication^ 
Brief Account of the Constitution of 
the Established Church of Scotland (Edin., 
1833). 

JOHN PAUL, his son, Sir James Bal- 
four, died 15th Sept. 1931. Publica 
tions for "7V0" read "Four 
Single Sermons" (1834-60). 

JAMES MAcGREGOR, pres. by Queen 



1775 



1828 



1873 



Victoria 17th July 1873; his widow, 
Helen Murray, died 29th May, 1930. 

ROBERT HOWIE FISHER, line 17, 



1914 

1934. 



"June," not "May"; dem. 12th 
Nov. 1925; died at Oxford 2nd Nov. 



NORMAN MACLEAN, trans, to 



1925 



Collegiate Charge from Park, Glas 



gow, 18th March 1915; became 
senior minister 12th Nov. 1925; app. 
Chaplain to the King 24th Aug. 1926; 
chaplain, St Andrew s, Jerusalem, 1939^0; 
Moderator of General Assembly, 1927; 
convener of Life and Work Committee, 
1928; preached opening sermon in the 
Cathedral of Geneva of 10th Assembly of 
the League of Nations, 1930; dem. 2nd 
Feb. 1937; his wife, Jane Robertson 
Macaulay, died 1927. He marr. (2) 3rd 
April 1929 Hon. lona Marie Adelaide, 
only daugh. of Ronald Archibald, Lord 
Macdonald of Sleat. His daughs. Mar 
garet Hope (marr. 28th June 1929 Daniel, 
son of Lachlan Macpherson, Upper Ollach, 
Portree); Jean (marr. 4th July 1930 Allan 
Biggar, Bombay); Dileas, M.B., Ch.B. 
(marr. 1st June 1935 William Douglas 
Short, B.Sc., Dumbarton). Addl. Publi 
cations The Message of Bethlehem , The 
Future Life; Death Cannot Sever; How 
shall we Escape?; In Former Days (1945); 
numerous contributions to the Scotsman 
and magazines. 

ST CUTHBERT S 

COLLEGIATE CHARGE 
WILLIAM KEITH OF AQUHORTIS, 

1661 was f rmer ly mm - f Udny (<?.v.). 

Addl. issue William, eldest; Robert, 

called eldest 1694; Jean (marr. cont. 14th 



March 1720 William Anderson, min. of 
Daviot.) [Aberdeen Inhib., 24th July, 
1655; Sher. Court Deeds, 3rd July 1694.] 

NEIL McVICAR, marr. (2) contract 

1?07 9th Nov. 1737 Bridget Balfour and 

had issue Neil, only son, Jean and 

Lilias. [Reg. of Deeds, Dal. 161, 12th 

March 1747.] 

JAMES MACKIE, his Common Place 
Book and Sermons in Assembly 

T M 

Library. 

JOHN GIBSON, marr. Mary, daugh. 
of Alexander Tait, merchant, Edin 
burgh. Addl. issue Janet, born 
30th May 1756. 

JAMES VEITCH, pres. by Queen 
1843 Victoria 29th Aug. 1842. 

JAMES BARCLAY, died at Keswick 



1878 
1942. 



18th March 1928; his widow, 
Marion Simpson, died 1st April 



WILLIAM LYALL WILSON, died 1st 

1Q11 Aug. 1914; his widow, Margarita 

MacCulloch, died at Hove, 23rd 

June 1945; his son, Thomas Leslie Lyall, 

killed in flying accident Jan. 1945. 

NORMAN MACLEAN, see Senior 
1915 Charge. 

SIR GEORGE FIELDEN MACLEOD, 
1926 Bart., born Glasgow 17th June 1895; 
second son of Sir John Mackintosh 
Macleod, Bart., C.A., M.P. Glasgow, and 
Edith Fielden; educ. at Winchester, Oriel 
College, Oxford, B.A., Edinburgh Univ., 
Union Theological College, New York; 
served as Captain, Argyll and Sutherland 
Highlanders, in European war (Military 
Cross and Croix de Guerre); licen. by 
Presb. of Edinburgh 29th June 1921; 
missioner, British Columbia Lumber 
Camps 1922; assist. St Giles, Edinburgh; 
ord. for Social Service with Toe H 17th 
Dec. 1924; adm. to this charge 24th March 
1926; trans, to Govan 8th Oct. 1930; D.D. 
(Glasgow Univ. 16th June 1937); dem. 31st 
May 1938 to become leader of the lona 
Community; succeeded his nephew as 4th 



20 



ST CUTHBERT S ST GEORGE S 



[PRESS. OF 



Baronet, April 1944; marr. 28th Aug. 1948 
Lorna Helen Janet, daugh. of Donald 
Macleod, min. of Inverness. Publications 
Govan Calling, a Book of Broadcast 
Sermons and Addresses (1934); contributor 
to "Way to God" series for the B.B.C.; 
Speaking the Truth in Love: a Book on 
Preaching (1936). 

BONNINGTON 

JOHN SUTHERLAND HUNTER, 

licen. by Presb. of Irvine 8th June 
1886; died 15th Jan. 1943; his wife, 
Lizzie Mathewson, died at Edinburgh 30th 
April 1924; had issue May Spedding, 
born 21st June 1899; Elizabeth Dorothy, 
born 19th May 1901. 

JOHN ANTHONY MACRAE, ord. 



1915 



8th April 1915; res. 1917; afterwards 
of St John s, Dundee. 



JAMES MILLER, trans, from 
1918 Dundee. 

JOHN W. SPENCE, afterwards of 
1920 Buckhaven. 

(Charge dissolved 1924.) 



CHARTERIS MEMORIAL 
ST NINIAN S 

WILLIAM COWAN, died 9th June 
1912 1917. 

1917 JAMES GILLAN. 

ROBERT GEORGE JAMIESON, 

1918 Indian chaplain locum. 

GEORGE CAMPBELL, app. 1920; 
1920 trans, to Cranshaws 9th April 1925. 

THOMAS RAMSAY KEARNEY, 



1925 



formerly of Ichang; adm. 19th 
April 1925; trans, to Hallside 21st 
Sept. 1927. 



HENRY McKINLEY, born 18th May 



1928 



1874; son of William M., mining 
contractor, and Isabella Aitchison; 
educ. at Tranent Public School, Univ. of 
Edin. and Congregational Theological 
Hall; ord. in Congregational Union 10th 



Aug. 1912; min. at Sullom in Shetland; 
Old Greyfriars, Edinburgh Jan. 1916 to 
April 1917; locum tenens North Esk 1st 
May 1917, and assistant Liberton 1st Sept. 
1917-25; ord. in Church of Scotland and 
adm. to Channelkirk 30th April 1925; 
trans, to Sinclairtown 2nd Nov. 1926; dem. 
27th Dec. 1927 on app. to this charge 15th 
Jan. 1928; trans, to Cambusbarron 13th 
June 1934; died 24th May 1945. Marr. (1) 
1st June 1897 Margaret, daugh. of William 
Nicolson, Mossbank, Shetland; she died 
14th Feb. 1932 and had issue William, 
born 28th Aug. 1898; (2) 30th Sept. 1933 
Isabel Margaret, youngest daugh. of 
Norman Macdonald, F.C. Min., Alvie, 
and Elizabeth Stewart. 

ST DAVID S 

WILLIAM RITCHIE BLACK, died 1st 
1896 Dec. 1944. Line 2, for "6" read 
"4." He had issue Marion Gal 
loway (marr. 2nd July 1923 Leonard 
Langdon Williams, M.S.A., F.R.I.B.A., 
M.I.P.T., manager, Singapore Improve 
ment Trust); John Murray, M.D., F.R.C.S. 
(Edin.), Dunfermline; William Galloway, 
M.A., B.Sc., M.I.C.E.; Robert James, died 
15th Sept. 1916; David James Galloway, 
B.Sc., lecturer in Agriculture, Reading 
University; Helen Grace, M.A.; Charles 
Ritchie, M.A., LL.B., W.S., 1937; his wife 
Euphemia Grace Galloway, died 9th Aug. 
1943. 

ST GEORGE S 

ANDREW MITCHELL MORRISON, 



1814 



his daugh., Jean (marr. 1st June 
1831 Alexander Campbell, writer). 



ROBERT SMITH CANDLISH, his 

daugh., Elizabeth Smith, died 18th 



1834 



July 1915. 



1843 



ROBERT HORNE STEVENSON, his 

wife, Frances Cadell, died 27th 
March 1918; his sons John Home, 
K.C., M.B.E., Marchmont Herald, died 
23rd Jan. 1939; Robert Cadell died at 
Epsom 23rd March 1944; Henry James, 
W.S., died 8th Aug. 1945; his daugh., Anne 
Frances, died 25th Dec. 1941. 



EDINBURGH] 



ST GEORGE S ST LUKE S 



21 



ARCHIBALD SCOTT, marr. 4th July, 



1880 



not June; his sons Archibald, born 



10th April 1863, died 31st April 
1864; John Robert, born 19th Nov. 1864, 
died 3rd June 1865; his daugh. Margaret 
died at Ballater 22nd Sept. 1922; his widow, 
Marion Elizabeth Rankine, died at Bal 
later 30th Sept. 1920. 

GAVIN LANG PAGAN, enlisted in 



1909 



15 Royal Scots 1914 and became 



captain; killed in action 28th April 
1917. He marr. 12th Aug. 1915 Jessie 
Mabel, daugh. of Gordon Douglas, mana 
ger of Life Association of Scotland; she 
marr. (2) 5th Jan. 1927 Cecil Thornton, 
min. of St Margaret s, Edinburgh. 

CHARLES WILLIAM GRAY 
TAYLOR, trans, from Uddingston 
18th Jan. 1918 fo.v.), D.D. Edin 
burgh 30th June 1933; convener of Foreign 
Mission Committee 1928-36; moderator, 
General Assembly, 19th May 1942. 



ST JAMES (Q.S.) 

THOMAS PORTEOUS, dem. 29th Dec. 
1899 1931, died 3rd March 1939. 



ST JOHN S 

THOMAS GUTHRIE, D.D., his sons 

184ft James, died at Brechin 2nd March 

1920; Patrick, died at Colinton 30th 

Nov. 1925; Alexander, died 28th Dec. 1934. 

ROBERT WILLIAM ERASER, his 
1844 daugh. Mary Gertrude (marr. Wil 
liam Cownie) died at Corstorphine 
10th July 1922. 

JOHN GAVIN DICKSON, born May, 

1908 not Au - dem - 18th Mav 1927; 
died 31st July 1928; his widow, 
Agnes McAllum Paul, died 25th Sept. 1930; 
his son, John Gavin, Lieut. H.L.I., killed 
in action 8th March 1916; his daughs. 
Lilian Paul (marr. 1st Oct. 1925 Peter 
Dewar, Arnprior), died 16th Jan. 1947; 
Jean Shearer Paul (marr. 10th Sept. 1930 
George Smith Goodall Strachan, W.S.). 



B 



SAMUEL JAMES MOORE COMPTON, 



1927 



born Ballymena, Co. Antrim, 6th 



March 1881, son of James C, tim 
ber merchant, Larne, and Margaret Ann 
Wilson; educ. at Royal Univ. of Ireland, 
B.A. (1904), and Princeton Theological 
Seminary, B.D. (1907), Berlin and Halle; 
licen. by Presb. of Carrickfergus 24th Nov. 
1908; assistant, Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, 
1908; ord. 1910, St James, Ballymony, 
Antrim; trans, to St Andrew s, Kingston, 
Canada, 1912; served with Canadian 
Forces in Great War as chaplain; trans, to 
St Andrew s U.F., Kilmarnock, 1919; St 
George s Pres. Ch., Southend on Sea, 1925; 
trans. 21st Dec. 1927; trans, to Skirling 
14th April 1943. Marr. 15th July 1913 
Ruby, daugh. of Rev. Robert Cameron, 
Glasgow, and has issue David Henry 
Cameron, born 21st June 1914, died 7th 
Oct. 1914. 

ST LEONARD S (Q.S.) 
LEWIS FREDERICK ARMITAGE, 

his widow, Jane Edmonstone Mor- 
ham, died 16th Nov. 1918; his 

daugh. Elizabeth marr. Louis Edmond 

McVicker, min. of Monigaff. 

WILLIAM LIDDLE, his wife, Florence 



1879 



1913 



Louisa Nystrom, died 24th Oct. 



1929; he died from effects of an 
accident 12th Sept. 1948. 

(The parish was united with Newington 
1st June 1932.) 

ST LUKE S (Q.S,) 
ADAM MOODY STUART, p. Ill, 
line 16, for "a daugh . read 
"Adam"; his sons Alexander, 
died 22nd Dec. 1915; George, O.B.E., died 
30th May 1940; John, died 7th Feb. 1936; 
his daugh., Eliza, died 30th Jan. 1946. 

RANALD MACPHERSON, his daughs. 
Jean, died 23rd Feb. 1926; Janet 
Harvey (Jessie), widow of David 
Grieve Miller, died 15th June 1946. 



1835 



1861 



DAVID MUNRO MILNE, died 31st 
March 1927; his wife, Jeannie 
Mackay, died 12th April 1922; his 
son, Sir David, K.C.B. (1947), Permanent 



1893 



22 



ST LUKE S ST MICHAEL S 



[PRESB. OF 



Under-Secretary of State for Scotland, 
1945; his daughs. Mary Catherine (marr. 
25th March 1924 James Davie, M.C., 
B.Sc., Kokstadt, South Africa); Agnes 
(marr. 6th Aug. 1935 Koert Nicholas 
Pretorius, Livingstone, Northern Rho 
desia). 

THOMAS DOWNIE MEREDITH, 



1927 



trans, from Inchture 30th Sept. 
1927; died 30th Sept. 1944. 



ST MARGARET S (Q.S.) 
WILLIAM MORRIS BROWN, line 12, 
1881 Delete "advocate"; formerly a 
teacher at Constantinople; ord. by 
Presb. of Aberdeen 14th May 1868, mis 
sionary to Jews; his widow, Elizabeth 
Brodie Powrie, died 2nd Nov. 1927; his 
son, Alexander Monro, LL.B., died at 
Regina, Canada, 4th June 1935. 

903 JOHN COCHRANE, licen. 1890. 



1905 



JAMES GILLAN, D.D., dem. 30th 
Nov. 1910; died 9th May 1932; his 
widow, Margaret Henderson Wil 
son, died Aberdeen 25th May 1947, aged 
95; his sons James, Civil Secretary to 
Sudan Government 1933; Ian Robert 
Wilson, min. of Fairmilehead, Edinburgh. 

WILLIAM VEITCH, dem. 26th Nov. 

1920; died at Bridge of Allan 31st 

Dec. 1937; his daughs. Helen 

Flowerdew (marr. 29th July 1921 Prince 

Demetre Galiczini, Russia); Gladys Muriel 

(marr. 28th Aug. 1920 Francis William 

George Urquhart, W.S.). 

DAVID BRUCE NICOL, M.C., trans. 



1920 



from Skelmorlie 3rd Aug. 1920; 
trans, to St Mark s, Dundee, 18th 
Dec. 1925. 

CECIL TAYLOR THORNTON, for- 



1926 



merly of Blackball, adm. 4th March 



1926; his wife, Hilda Buchanan 
Batchelor, died 23rd Jan. 1922; issue- 
Frances Elizabeth, born 15th Sept. 1915 
(marr. 14th July 1940 John, son of Charles 
Young, Hazledene, Gilmerton); George 
Hugh Malcolm, born 30th March 1919; 
marr. (2) 5th Jan. 1927 Mabel, daugh. of 



Gordon Douglas, manager of Life Associa 
tion of Scotland and widow of Gavin Lang 
Pagan, min. of St George s, and had issue, 
Gordon Douglas, born 6th Dec. 1927. 

ST MARY S 

JAMES GRANT, died Father of the 



1841 



Church; his sons Archibald Dun 
can, died 7th May 1915; Andrew, 
of Pitcorthie, died 23rd Oct. 1924, be 
queathed 350,000 to Edinburgh College 
of Art. 

CORNELIUS GIFFEN, his daughs. 



1872 



Annie, died 15th Dec. 1914; Agnes, 
died 10th Aug. 1925. 



ANDREW TAYLOR LAURENCE, 
Q1 _ trans, from High Church, Kilmar- 
nock, 4th March 1915. 



ST MATTHEW S (Q.S.) 

FRANK HALE MARTIN, convener 
of Home Mission Committee, died 
5th May 1941; marr. 14th Nov. 1923 
Helen, youngest daugh. of David Smith 
Rae, min. of Lethendy; she died 30th May 
1939. 



1912 



1919 



ST MICHAEL S (Q.S.) 

GEORGE WILSON, D.D., died at 
1887 Edinburgh 5th May 1921. 

JOHN EDMUND HAMILTON, son 
of Rev. John Sinclair H.; B.A., 
M.C.; ord. to Helen s Bay, Co. 
Down, 1909; trans. A. & S. 20th Dec. 1919; 
dem. 27th Feb. 1929; re-adm. by General 
Assembly, May 1930; adm. to St. John s 
East, Leith, 18th May 1938. Marr. 22nd 
Sept. 1926 Hon. Lilian, M.B., Ch.B., daugh. 
of Joseph, 1st Lord Macleay, and has issue 
Helen Josephine, born 1927; Martha, 
born 12th May 1929; Patrick John Sinclair, 
born 28th July 1934; Colin William, born 
12th June, 1937. 

JOHN MACDOUGALL, trans, from 
Wick 30th Sept. 1929; secretary, 



1929 



Church of Scotland Committee on 



Canteen Work during war 1939-45; O.B.E. 



EDINBURGH] 



ST MICHAEL S ST STEPHEN S 



23 



June 1945; trans, to Kincardine and 
Croick 25th Feb. 1948. 

ST OSWALD S (Q.S.) 

HENRY JOHNSTONE WOTHER- 



1907 



SPOON, licen. 30th June 1875; 



dem. 27th June 1923; died un 
married 28th Jan. 1930. 



1924 



CHARLES GOODALL, trans, from 
Dailly 15th Jan. 1924; dem. 18th 
Nov. 1928; app. chaplain to Queens- 
berry House Dec. 1934; died 2nd June 1941. 
Addl. issue George Turnbull, born 20th 
April 1921; his daugh., Patricia, marr. 6th 
Nov. 1942 Captain J. F. Wilson, R.A.M.C. 

CHARLES MONCRIEFF ROBERT 
SON, trans, from Ferryhill, Aber 
deen, 19th April 1929. 

ST SERF S (Q.S.) 
DAVID GORDON HAMILTON, line 
4 * r "Forbes" rea( * " Jones"; 
marr. Agnes Todd Hunter; trans. 
to Kelso 21st Sept. 1916. 



1912 



EDWARD CHARLES HOULISTON, 
1917 trans, from St Leonard s, Dun- 
fermline, 1st March 1917; served as 
chaplain, Gallipoli, Egypt, France, 1915- 
16, Italy Feb. 1918 to Jan 1919; chaplain 
to Lord High Commissioner 1925 and 1926; 
died suddenly 2nd Oct. 1926; his widow, 
Jacobina Scott Mason, died 6th Nov. 1939. 

GEORGE TOD WRIGHT, born 21st 



1920 



April 1892, son of Maxwell James 



W., min. of St Ninian s, Aberdeen; 
educ. at Annan, Univ. of Aberdeen, M.A. 
(1913), B.D. (1915); licen. by Presb. of 
Aberdeen 4th May 1915; chaplain to 
Forces 26th Dec. 1917-18; assistant St 
Michael s, Dumfries; ord. to Dryfesdale 
6th April 1920; trans, and adm. 5th April 
1927; trans, to Carnock, Fife, 20th Feb. 
1946. Marr. 20th Nov. 1923 Vera Stewart, 
daugh. of Samuel Thomas Parish of Tod- 
hillmuir, Dumfries-shire, and has issue 
Edith Ann, born 26th July 1925 (marr. 16th 
Feb. 1946 Charles Russell Miller, Dorclyfe 
House, Rawcliffe, Goole); Maxwell James, 



born 14th July 1928. Publication God and 
Israel (Church of Scotland Bible Class 
Handbook. Edin., 1935). 

ST STEPHEN S 

WILLIAM MUIR, his sons James, 
en meer t New River Company, 
London, died Jan. 1889; William, 
born 5th Sept. 1814, died 4th Nov. 1815. 

MAXWELL NICHOLSON, his son, 



1867 



Stuart Oliphant, died 15th Oct. 



1923; his daughs. Anna (Mrs 
Marshall) died 29th Sept. 1939; Mary (Mrs 
Ellis) died 12th Dec. 1918; Margaret 
Marianne (Mrs Rankine) died 1st Jan. 
1926; Anne Helen died 3rd April 1917; 
Frances Maxwell died Buenos Aires 27th 
April 1947, aged 92. 

JOHN FORBES WATSON GRANT, 
18Q1 his widow, Diana Shank Cook, died 
29th Nov. 1932; his daugh., Mary 
Elizabeth, died 18th Dec. 1947. 

LAUCHLAN McLEAN WATT, trans. 
1011 to St Mungo s, Glasgow, 26th June 
1923. 

THOMAS BENTLEY STEWART 
THOMSON, trans, from Dalzell 
(q.v.) 20th Dec. 1923; assistant 
Chaplain General, Territorial Army, 1922; 
Senior Chaplain, Lowland Division, 1928; 
app. convener of the Committee on Socie 
ties for Young Men and Women, 1929; of 
the Jewish Mission Committee, 1931-4; of 
the Committee on Desecration of the Sea 
of Galilee, 1934; app. Senior Chaplain to 
the Forces (T.A.), Scottish Command, 
1934; trans, to Govan Old 27th April 1939; 
trans, to Dunbarney 16th Feb. 1948. Marr. 
4th June 1918 Margaret Rolland Menzies, 
only daugh. of Robert Mackenzie, M.A., 
min. of West U.F. Church, Alloa, and has 
issue Elizabeth Stewart, born 12th July 
1920 (marr. 30th May 1945 Charles Grant, 
M.B., Ch.B., R.A.M.C); William Mac 
kenzie Stewart, born 3rd Dec. 1925; 
Margaret Stewart, born 6th June 1935. 
Publications Edited Alma Mater (Aber 
deen University Magazine) 1912-13; 
Crumbs for the Children, 1923; Preparing 



24 



ST STEPHEN S TRINITY 



[PRESB. OF 



for the Lord s Table, 1925 (fifth impression, 
1936); The Quest of Youth, 1926; Studies in 
the Teaching of Jesus, 1928; edited A Book 
of Prayers for Guild Meetings, 1928; con 
tributor of sections to The Expositor s 
Ministers Annual, 1929-30-31; and to 
Lovely Britain, 1935; edited The Man s 
Own Paper, 1928-9; Historical Notes on 
the Origin, Progress and Issue of the Great 
War, with Suggested Form and Order of 
Service for the use of Educational and other 
Authorities on the Day of National Remem 
brance, 1936; Bens and Glens Wayfaring 
in Scotland, 1935. 

TOLBOOTH PARISH 

GEORGE HUTCHESON. (G. R. Sas. 
1649 2Ser. x, 134.) 

WILLIAM MELDRUM, line 9, for 



1675 



"Colston" read "Colison"; last 
line, for "1683" read "1681." 



WILLIAM GARDYNE, D.D., resident 



1686 



with three children, John, James and 



Margaret, in Old Kirk parish 9th 
Nov. 1694. [Old Kirk Poll Tax Roll, 16.] 

JOHN TAYLOR, oid. to Tillicoultry 
7th July 1714; trans, to Alloa 17th 
Feb. 1726. Marr. Martha Lindsay 

and had issue John, born 1724; Marion 

(marr. pro. 22nd April 1753). 

ALEXANDER WEBSTER, his daugh. 
Ann marr. pro. 22nd June 1777. 
Publication Observations on 
Church Affairs (Edin., 1 734). 

WILLIAM KING TWEEDIE, his 



1737 



1842 



daugh. Margaret died at Elie 19th 
July 1927. 



GEORGE SMITH, his son Sir Henry 
1844 died 2nd March 1921. 

TOLBOOTH 

SECOND CHARGE 

JAMES WEBSTER, line 2, p. 124, after 

1693 "Edin." add "1694." Marr. (1) 

Margaret, daugh. of Laurence Keir 

of Forret. [Reg. of Deeds Mack, Ixxxv, 

1032.] 



WILLIAM GUSTHART, his daugh. 
1721 Elizabeth died 19th Nov. 1792. 

DAVID PLENDERLEITH, his daughs. 
176 _ Alison (marr. pro. 1st March 
1779 James Grant, merchant, Edin 
burgh); Janet (marr. pro. 19th Nov. 1755 
Robert Wilson, cabinet-maker, Edinburgh). 

JOHN CAMPBELL, had issue Daniel, 

ft . born 15th Aug. 1792, died 6th June 

1802; Mary, born 12th July, died 

15th Sept. 1793; Robert (twin), born 12th 

July, died 25th Sept. 1793; Elizabeth (marr. 

25th June 1839 James Gibson, min. of 

Kingston, Glasgow), died 9th Aug. 1881; 

Margaret (marr. 2nd Nov. 1843 Charles 

James Kerr, C.A.), died 18th Nov. 1891. 

TOLBOOTH (Q.S.) 

JAMES LUMSDEN, trans, to Ratho, 
1900 2nd March 1917. 

JOHN CAMPBELL, trans, from 



1917 



Greenock St Paul s 16th Sept. 1917; 

Librarian, General Assembly Li 
brary, 1932; D.D. (Glasgow 17th June 
1936); dem. 7th Jan. 1941. His wife, 
Margaret Swan, died 6th Feb. 1935; his 
daugh., Effie Jean, marr. 9th March 1940 
Daniel Richard Cameron, Bombay, son of 
David Cameron, Greenock); his sons 
John, min. of Dunnottar; Alexander 
Archibald, ord. locum Cromdale, Sept. 
1941, ord. to Strathdon 18th Oct. 1943. 

(The charge was united with St John s 2nd 
Jan. 1940.) 

TRINITY 

WALTER BALCANQUHEL, his son 



1598 

1617. 



Walter D.D. made burgess and 
guild Brother, Edinburgh, 2nd June 



HEW McKAIL. [G. R. Sas. t 2 Ser., 
1649 xvii, 190.] 

ANDREW CANT, M.A., his wife and 

daughs. resident in Tron Parish 12th 

Nov. 1694. Marr. (1) Agnes Murray 

and had issue Andrew, bapt. 13th June 

1672; Alexander, born 25th May 1674; 

John, born 24th Oct. 1675; Jean, 21st July 



EDINBURGH] 



TRINITY TRON 



25 



1678. [Tron Poll Tax Roll, 56; S. Leith 
Reg.} 

HUGH KENNEDY, transfer children 
to first marriage and add Herbert, 
regent in Edinburgh University 
1684. [G. R. Sas. y 2 Sen, xi, 362.] 

WALTER TAIT, his daugh. Aline 
Elizabeth (marr. John Balleny) died 



1813 



1892. 



WILLIAM CUNNINGHAM, his 

daugh. Mary Anne died 17th Aug. 



1834 



1933. 



1879 



WILLIAM STEVEN, p. 130, line 4, for 
1843 "1862" read "1826." 

ALEXANDER KENNEDY, his sons- 
Lieut. Colonel MacDougal, D.S.O., 
C.M.G., died 2nd Nov. 1924; 
Alexander Burnett died 28th July 1913. 

WILLIAM MAIN, trans, to Paisley 
1906 Abbey llth Sept. 1925. 

ALFRED JAMES MACKENZIE, for- 



1926 



merly Professor, Madras Christian 



College; adm. 3rd March 1926, died 
15th March 1930; his son Ian Andrew born 
16th Jan. 1924. 

TRINITY 

SECOND CHARGE 

HENRY ROLLOCK, afterwards min. 
1628 of St Giles 1641. 

JAMES ELLIOT, son of James E., min. 



1635 



of Forfar. [Reg. of Deeds, dxli, 
383.] 

WILLIAM BENNET, had issue Wil- 
Ifi41 liam and Helen (twins), bapt. 13th 
Aug. 1643; David, bapt. 2nd Jan. 
1645; Catherine, bapt. 27th Dec. 1646. 

ARCHIBALD RIDDELL, was min. of 
17ftl Kippen for a short time in 1691; 
marr. (1) "Isobel" not "Helen" 
Aitkenhead. 

GEORGE LOGAN, had issue by first 

1732 marriage Alexander, born 1714, 

W.S. apprentice 1733; John, born 

1715; Elizabeth, born 1712; Helen, born 

1713; by second marriage George, min. 



of Ormiston, born 1723; Jean (marr. pro. 
10th March 1754 Archibald Campbell, 
writer, Edinburgh). 

ROBERT DICK, marr. Grizel, daugh. 
1758 of Robert Ford, Glasgow. 

TRON 

JOHN PATERSON, one of H.M. Chap- 



1663 



lains 6th May 1668 in succession 
to Dr William Ogstoun. 

ALEXANDER MALCOLM, his son 

William buried 25th June 1688; his 
daugh. Janet buried 31st Aug. 1697; 
his son John, schoolmaster of Newbattle; 
Alexander, writer on mathematics and 
music, incumbent of St Anne s Parish, 
Maryland, 26th Sept. 1749, died in Queen 
Anne s County 15th June 1763. [Scot. 
Notes and Queries, Dec. 1928, 234.] 

GEORGE MELDRUM, M.S. Sermon 
on Hebrews x, 23, in Assembly 
Library. 



1692 



WILLIAM WISHART, his daugh. Cor 
delia (marr. 6th Jan. 1724 John 



1707 



Moncrieff of Rumgally). 



ANDREW HUNTER, born 15th Feb. 
1744. Addl. Publication The Duties 



1786 



of Subjects, a Sermon (Edin., 1793). 



JOHN BARCLAY, trans, from St 



1874 



George s, Glasgow, not Old Kil- 
patrick. 



WILLIAM CRUICKSHANK EDDIE 



1876 



JAMIESON, his widow, Jessie 



Archibald, died at Edinburgh 28th 
June 1924, aged 85. 

DAVID MORRISON, his widow, Annie 
1885 ^ ray Stirling, died at Dunblane 1 3th 
Aug. 1931 ; his son David Lyall died 
16th Dec. 1944. 

JOHN WALLACE, trans to Paisley 
1908 Abbey 2nd Charge, 4th May 1916. 



JOHN ARCHIBALD GLOVER 
THOMSON, trans, from Wallace- 
town, Ayr, 28th Sept. 1916; trans, 
to Hawick 19th Nov. 1925. 



1916 



26 



TRON ST BRIDE S 



[PRESB. OF 



JOHN FORD MACLEOD, trans, from 

Craigrownie 5th May 1926; trans. 

to Longniddry 4th Sept. 1940. Marr. 

21st Sept. 1920 Catherine Maud, younger 

daugh. of George Cuthbert, Gartlands, 

Broughty Ferry. 

TRON 

SECOND CHARGE 

ROBERT MORTIMER, son of Thomas 
1665 M., bailie of Aberdeen. 

JOHN STRACHAN, marr. (1) Janet, 

daugh. of William Forbes of Fin- 

zean, advocate, and (2) Isabel, 

daugh. of John Irvine of Kincausie; his 

son Alexander, paymaster of the Forces; 

his daugh. Isabella bapt. 15th Aug. 1689 

(marr. 7th Nov. 1716 Andrew Drummond 

of Stanmore, banker, Charing Cross) died 

13th Feb. 1731. Col. 2, line 1, for "Fin- 

gask" read "Finzean." 

JOHN STEEDMAN, his son Robert 

t apprenticed to Robert Grierson, 

merchant, Edinburgh, 5th Feb. 1718. 

WILLIAM WISHART, delete daugh. 
1745 Cordelia. 

JOHN JARDINE, born 3rd Jan. 1716, 
son of Robert J., min. of Loch- 



1754 



maben. 



JOHN DRYSDALE, born 20th April, 
1718; his daugh. Anne marr. Pro- 



1767 
Biog.] 



fessor Andrew Dalziel. [Diet. Net. 



WILLIAM SIMPSON, his son George, 
Lieut. R.N., H.M.S. Fox, killed in 



1789 



Batavia. 



1891 



TYNECASTLE 

JAMES BELL NICOLL, died 22nd Jan. 
1924; his daughs. Janet Maud 
(marr. 2nd April 1919 Capt. John 
Prayer Hosken); Elizabeth Bell (marr. 2nd 
June 1925 Charles Moubray Russell, M.B., 
Ch.B., Bradford); Jean Mackenzie, died 
19th Sept. 1926. 

JOHN MENZIES BAILLIE DUNCAN, 

ioid formerly Foreign Missionary (vii, 

692), trans, from St Brides 30th 



April 1924; trans, to Moonzie 19th July 
1939; dem. 31st Dec. 1947; his sons John 
Henry, missionary, Kikuyu, 18th June 
1933; George Baillie, min. of St James 
Parish Church, Carlisle; his daugh. Clara 
Cecilia died 6th Sept. 1934. 

WEST COATES 

ROBERT GIBB FORREST, ord. to 



1872 



New Pitsligo 10th Aug. 1865; his 



son George, C.A., Inverness, died 
25th Oct. 1931; his daugh. Elsie died 29th 
April 1946. 

WILLIAM ANDREW KNOWLES, 
1909 trans, to Dalton 21st March 1918. 

WILLIAM JAMES SOMERVILLE 

IQIS MILLER, trans, from Helensburgh 

West 26th Sept. 1918; dem. 5th 

June 1932; his wife, Grace Beveridge Begg, 

died at Carrick Castle 22nd March 1941. 

ST BRIDE S 

Erected parish quoad sacra 16th March 
1923. 

WILLIAM GEORGE ANDREWS, 



1904 



died 19th Nov. 1917; marr. llth 



April 1917 Elsie Anderson, daugh. 
of David Williamson Runciman, min. of 
Leslie, Fife and Auckland, New Zealand. 

JOHN MENZIES BAILLIE DUNCAN, 
formerly of Calcutta (vii, 692), adm. 



1918 



13th Feb. 1918; dem. 1918; app. 
Joint Secretary for Scotland of Bengal 
Religious Tract Society 1st June 1920; 
adm. to Tynecastle 30th April 1924. 

THOMAS GILLIESON, trans, from 
1919 C ransnaws 9th Oct. 1919; trans, to 
Greyfriars, Port of Spain, Trinidad, 
30th Sept. 1931 ; dem.; returned to Scotland 
and adm. to Bonkle and Preston 3rd Sept. 
1935; died 8th June 1946. Issue Margaret 
Theodora, born 22nd June 1908; Archibald 
Hamilton Charteris Phin. B.Sc., Ph.D., 
born 5th May 1910; John William Mc- 
Intosh, born 25th April 1911; Marion 
Catherine, born 1st July 1912; Thomas 
Lindsay, born 30th Oct. 1915; Flora 
Patience, born 2nd Dec. 1919; Anne Eddie, 



EDINBURGH] 



ST BRIDES JUNIPER GREEN 



27 



born 2nd Aug. 1926; a son born 2nd Dec. 
1931. His wife s mother was Margaret Ann 
Eddie, widow of David Shaw, agent, Bank 
of Scotland, Bonar Bridge. 



WEST ST GILES 

ROBERT WALLACE, his daugh. Eliza- 
1738 beth died 6th July 1795. 

ROBERT NISBET, his daugh. Jessie 
1843 Ann died 5th March 1935. 

ALEXANDER WILLIAMSON, his 



1875 



widow, Sarah Ann Todd, died Edin 
burgh 26th Dec. 1924. 



JOHN MALCOLM MUNRO, trans, to 



1913 



St Columba s, Glasgow, 18th June 
1925. 



DAVID BROWN, born 30th Sept. 1890, 



1925 



only son of David B., Newton 
Stewart; licen. by Presb. of Wig 
town, 1922; assist. St. Matthew s, Glasgow; 
ord. to St. Mary s, Dumfries, 30th June 
1922; trans, and adm.24th Sept. 1925; died 
14th Jan. 1944. Marr. 12th Sept. 1923 
Margaret Cranston, eldest daugh. of 
Robert Ormiston, Westlea, Alloa; s.p. 



WEST ST GILES 

COLLEGIAGE CHARGE 

ROBERT SANDILANDS, son of 



1708 



Robert S., bailie of Edinburgh. 
[Edin. Burgesses, 13th Sept. 1706.] 



WILLIAM HAMILTON, marr. Mary, 
daugh. of John Robertson, mer 
chant, Glasgow; his son Alexander 

died 1778; his daugh. Janet marr. 1731 

James Smith. 

THOMAS HARDY, born 22nd April 
1786 1748; his daughs. Agnes, born 
July, not Nov.; Sophie (marr. (1) 
28th Feb. 1811). 

DAVID DICKSON, addl. issue Mary, 
korn 25th ^ Ug - 1785; Alexander, 
born 7th Jan. 1789. 



GILMERTON 

JAMES CHRISTIE, his widow, Jane 



1881 



Turner Jack, died 15th Aug. 1939; 

his daugh. Mary Christina died at 
Dumfries 15th Sept. 1937; his sons James 
Johnston died at St Jovite, Canada, 18th 
Jan. 1917; Thomas in Calcutta. 

JOSEPH MOFFETT, dem. 31st Oct. 



1913 



1917; adm. to Crown Court, Lon 
don, 3rd Nov. 1917. 



ANDREW MITCHELL SNADDEN, 



1918 



formerly of St George s, Johannes 



burg (vii, 564); adm. 3rd May 1918; 
trans, to Blackhall 18th May 1921. 

PETER MILNE, formerly chaplain, 
Duars, India (q.v.); adm. 18th Sept. 



1921 

1929. 



1921; trans, to Guthrie 7th Aug. 

GRANTON 

THOMAS SMITH GOLDIE, dem 4th 
Dec. 1927; died at Balerno 30th 
Nov. 1929; his daughs. Margaret 
Somerville (marr. 2nd Aug. 1916 John Craw 
ford, M.A.); Norah Isabella (marr. 14th 
July 1923 Robert Johnston, Victoria); his 
widow, Maria Gosling, died 7th Feb. 1936. 



1889 



1928 



THOMAS MALLOCH MACFAR- 

LANE, born Dundee 25th Nov. 

1897, son of William M.; educated 
Harris Academy and Univ. of St Andrews, 
M.A. (1921) and Strasbourg; licen. by 
Presb. of Dundee 1924; assistant St Mary s, 
Edinburgh, 1925; ord. 9th May 1928; marr. 
24th Sept. 1928 Elizabeth Mary, daugh. of 
Alexander Low, Dundee. 

JUNIPER GREEN 

CHARLES MAURICE SHORT, for- 



1906 



merly of Congregational Church, 
Cork, died 3rd Nov. 1925; his 

widow, Lucy Greig Robertson, died Sept. 

1937. 



1926 



WILLIAM BUCHANAN CULLEN 
BUCHANAN, born Southend, Ar 
gyll, 1899, son of Robert B., 
Macharioch, Kintyre; educated at Hamil 
ton Academy, Univ. of Edinburgh, M.A., 
British School of Archaeology, Athens; 



28 



JUNIPER GREEN NORTH LEITH 



[PRESB. OF 



served as Flying Officer in Great War in 
France 1917-19; licen. by Presb. of Edin 
burgh 1924; assistant St Giles; ord. 18th 
March 1926; trans, to St Marnoch s, Kil- 
marnock, llth Sept. 1930; dem. 8th July 
1941 on becoming Chaplain, R.A.F.; adm. 
to Pollokshields East 30th April 1946; 
marr. 9th Sept. 1927 Alice Dorothy, 
younger daugh. of William Sime, N.E.I.S., 
Dalserf. 

KIRKNEWTON 

NINIAN BORTHWICK, M.A., min. 



1562 



in 1562, and Prebendary of Cor- 



storphine, called Half Gogar and 
Aldertoun. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Linlithgow, etc.; Gen. Coll. of Thirds, 1562, 
101.] 

JAMES BROWN, sometime parson, 
rector 2nd April 1556, 16th Feb. 
1565-6 and 28th May 1569, for 
merly rector, was out of office llth April 
1576. [Acts and Dec., 1, 256; Thomas 
Johnson s Prot. Book, 376, 482, 824, 935.] 

SIR JOHN TOD, reader and vicar 



1573 



1577 



1577 



pensioner 28th March 1574; died 
before 2nd March 1511. [Reg. 
Pres. Bene., i, (2), 66; Edin. Tests, iv, 191-2.] 

SAMUEL SOMERVILLE, pres. to 
vicarage pensionary 2nd March 1 577 
on death of John Tod; designated 
reader Oct. 1578 and 21st Feb. 1578-9; 
still vicar 1581. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, (2), 
66; Reg. Abbrev. Feu Charters of Church 
Lands, ii, 223; Edin. Tests, iv, 191-2, vi, 
324.] 

JOHN THORBURN, his son James, 
1699 merchant, Keith. [Lyon Register.} 

ALEXANDER BRYCE, marr. daugh. 



1745 



of Provost John Gillespie, surgeon, 



Stirling; his daugh. Janet (2) marr. 
George Johnston of Hillhouse. 

HENRY WALLIS SMITH, p. 153, 
line 3 for "Auchinleck" read 



1862 



"Auchineck. 



GEORGE GARDINER, licen. 16th 



1881 



May 1878; died 21st Jan. 1922; had 
issue Euphemia Forgan, born 5th 
Oct. 1881, died 7th June 1882; Annie Dow, 



born 10th Oct. 1883; David Forgan Lind 
say, born 21st Aug. 1885, died 22nd Sept. 
1888; William Wallace Dunlop, min. of 
Caddonfoot; his widow, Margaret Smith, 
died llth March 1936. 

CHARLES ORFORD ALLAN, trans. 

1922 from L 8 ie ( Cu P ar ) 20th July 1922. 
Addl. issue Kathleen Anderson, 
born 26th May 1926. 

NEWHAVEN 

There was at Newhaven a chapel of St 
James with manse and garden, which took 
the place of a chapel dedicated to the 
Virgin Mary. [Reg. Mag. Sig., vii, 1015.] 

THOMAS PEARSON, dem. 17th May 



1887 



1916, died 20th July 1920; his widow, 
Eliza Downs, died 2nd June 1930. 



MUNRO SOMERVILLE, trans, from 



1916 



Drumelzier (q.v.) 12th Oct. 1916; 
trans, to Ballantrae 5th April 1923. 



DAVID SILVER JOHNSTON, trans. 



1923 



from Bervie (q.v.) 19th Oct. 1923; 



trans, to Botriphnie 25th March 
1931; died 7th Oct. 1946; his daugh., 
Elizabeth Marguerite Angela, marr. 24th 
March 1945 Lieut. Inge Hey, Norwegian 
Services. 

NORTH LEITH 

The Act of Parliament, 9th July 1606, 
which erected the parish, the church then 
having 1,000 communicants, narrates that 
the inhabitants of the north and south parts 
of the Water of Leith being "unable to 
repair to thair Parish Church of Holyrood, 
upon thair awin expenss and charges has 
biggit to themselffis ane kirk upon the 
north side of the brig of Leith, and has had 
ministers there 20 years bygone" serving 
the cure and ministering to them the sacra 
ments. The General Assembly had ratified 
and approved the erection in 1602. The 
"kirk" in the narrative has reference to 
the Chapel of St Ninian which Robert 
Bannatyne, Abbot of Holyrood, founded 
in 1493 at the north end of the Bridge of 
Leith, and to which, for two chaplains to 



EDINBURGH] 



NORTH LEITH ST PAUL S 



29 



serve at the chapel, he conveyed by charter 
of 18th July 1493, land or building at the 
south end of the bridge and various annual 
rents. In or about 1586 the inhabitants of 
North Leith acquired the chapel, the chap 
lain s house, the tithes of certain lands and 
houses, and also the tithes of fish brought 
into the harbour. At that time the chapel 
was rebuilt, or at least enlarged. In 1736 
the church was in great measure rebuilt; 
and of this church only the steeple now 
remains. The present church is situated 
farther to the west. [Acts Scott. Parl., 
iv, 301-2; Reg. Great Seal, i, 2193; the 
Stewarton Case, 114.] 

HENRY CHARTERIS, marr. (1) cont. 



1620 



9th Aug. 1599 Agnes, daugh. of 
Alexander Barclay, apothecary; (2) 
3rd Sept. 1602 Agnes, daugh. of John 
Mason, merchant; (3) 19th Dec. 1615 
Janet, daugh. of John Bell, min. of Cadder 
and widow of Henry Stirling. Addl. issue 
Laurence, min. of Dirleton; James, mer 
chant; Gilbert, died young; Elspeth (marr. 
George Leslie, min. of Canongate); 
Thomas, min. of Humbie. 

JOHN KNOX, his eldest son, John, 

1653 garrison surgeon, Edinburgh Castle; 

his daugh. Margaret bapt. 19th May 

1666. (Roxburgh Sas. 22nd Sept. 1683; 

Burke s Landed Gentry, 1937, 2285.] 

THOMAS WILKIE, line 5, for "Jan" 
1672 read "4th June." 

JAMES LUNDIE, son of John L., 
re 8 ent > King s College, Aberdeen; 
had a child buried 5th Feb. 1674; 

his wife, Agnes Wilkie, buried 20th Jan. 

1692; his son James, M.D., Haddington, 

died 1777. 

JOHN WILSON, had issue Mr An- 



1708 



drew; Rebecca, died before 13th 
June 1747. 



GEORGE LINDSAY, his son Alexan- 

1725 der, apprentice to Alexander Kin- 

caid, bookseller, Edinburgh, 12th 

Oct. 1743; his daugh. Grizel marr. William 

Porteous, min. of Wynd, Glasgow. 



WALTER FOGGO IRELAND, marr. 



1799 

Inverness; his daughs. Thomasina 

(marr. 13th July 1840 Samuel Miller, min. 
of Monifeith); Eliza Ann (marr. 18th 
March 1858 Rev. James Davidson, Salt- 
coats). 

ALEXANDER DAVIDSON, his wife, 
Margaret Barron, born 4th May 

1825. 



1843 



JOHN HUTTON McCULLOCH, his 



1884 



widow, Anne Louisa Case, died 16th 



Oct. 1919; his sons Donald Harry, 
solicitor, Aberdeen; Alexander Norman, 
died 7th Oct. 1943. 



JAMES ROBERTSON SWEET 
WILSON, died llth Feb. 1942; his 
widow, Helen Cameron Ruthven, 
died 19th July 1947. 



1913 



ST JOHN S (Q.S.) 
Was held by the Free Church till 1868. 

JAMES PARK, dem. 18th May 1921; 
died at Blackness 25th Nov. 1931; 
his wife, Robina Riddell, died 20th 
Oct. 1918. 

DONALD MACASKILL BEGBIE, 

trans, from Freuchie 23rd Nov. 



1921 

1928. 



1921; trans, to Glencorse 5th Dec. 



DONALD MACKILLOP CAMERON, 



1929 



born 15th Nov. 1876; educ. Univ. 



of Aberdeen and F.C. College; ord. 
to Ardchattan and Connel F.C. 1907; 
trans, to Lome Street U.F., Campbeltown; 
trans. 14th May 1929; died 26th Oct. 1937. 
Marr. 7th Oct. 1909 Grace Rae Mary 
Helen Oridge Peterkin and had issue 
Constance Mary, born 27th July 1917; 
Sheena Marjorie, born 23rd Sept. 1912 
(marr. 23rd Nov. 1939 James Sharp Grant, 
M.D., F.R.C.S.); Grace Rae, born 10th 
Oct. 1913; Ranald James, born 17th July 
1920. 

ST PAUL S (Q.S.) 

HUGH MAcCULLOCH, adm. from 

Buncrana, Donegal, April 1883; 

trans, to Greenlaw 23rd Sept. 1881. 



30 



ST PAUL S SOUTH LEITH 



[PRESB. OF 



THOMAS MILLAR, his widow, Helen 



1893 



Stuart Watt, marr. (2) 27th Dec. 



1911 Dr J. M. Logic, Cuttlehill, 
Aberdour, and died 15th March 1931; his 
daughs. Monica Anderson (marr. 9th 
Dec. 1920 Alexander John McLaren, 
Milrig, Kirkliston); Maud, died 4th June 
1923. 

DUNCAN CAMERON, dem. 30th 



1914 



June 1920 on app. as Director of 
Religious Instruction in Edinburgh 
Training College; died 2nd April 1946; his 
wife, Margaret Shepherd Robertson, died 
at Auchterarder 21st July 1942; his daugh. 
Margaret died 28th May 1943. Publica 
tion^ First Hebrew Reader (Edin., 1919). 

GEORGE LINDSAY STEWART, 



1920 



trans, from Annbank (q.v.) 9th Dec. 

1920; trans, to Houndwood 26th 
Sept. 1946; his daugh. Louisa Constance 
(marr. 30th March 1932 Robert Fisher 
Martin, Dunsley, Dunfermline). 

ST THOMAS (Q.S.) 

ROBERT GEORGE ERASER, his 

widow, Margaret Sharp, died 7th 
March 1933. 

JAMES ALEXANDER FLEMING, 
1904 trans, to Carnoustie 6th Feb. 1919. 

ROBERT FORSYTH McGARRITY, 



1919 

1923. 



trans, from Carfin (q.v.) 19th May 
1919; adm. to Burray 24th Oct. 



CHARLES KEITH McWILLIAM, 



1923 



trans, from Leadhills llth April 



1923; trans, to Kelso North 17th 
Feb. 1926. 

ALEXANDER MAUCHLINE, trans. 



1926 

1928. 



from St Mary s, Dalziel, 22nd Sept. 
1926; trans, to Rathen 14th Sept. 



JAMES ALEXANDER HAMILTON 

1928 IRWIN born 3rd Jul y 1876 > son of 

Samuel Hyndman I., farmer, and 
Mary Hamilton; educ. at Royal Univ. of 
Ireland, B.A. (1900), M.A. (1902), B.D. 
(1907), Ph.D. (1910); Magee College; Univ. 
of Edinburgh, New College, and Univ. of 



London; licen. by Presb. of Glendermott 
May 1903; ord. to Killearn, Co. Antrim, 
24th Nov. 1903; dem. 19th Oct. 1926; 
assistant St Michael s, Edinburgh; adm. 
by General Assembly on probation 26th 
May 1927; adm. 19th Dec. 1928; trans, to 
Lucan and Summerhill, Dublin, 30th May 
1935. Marr. (1) 3rd Sept. 1907 Alexandrina 
Thompson Cheyne (died llth June 1911), 
daugh. of Rev. R. J. Morrell, Bangor, and 
had issue Samuel Ranald, born 22nd 
Nov. 1908; Robert John Morrell, born 1 1th 
June 1911; (2) 25th April 1916 Amy Marie, 
daugh. of Francis Hunter and Jane Smith 
and widow of George Miller, Rothesay. 

SOUTH LEITH 

DAVID LINDSAY, line 18 from top 
of column for Westruther read 



1613 



Westerkirk. 



JOHN CRANSTOUN, his son James, 



1627 



writer, Edinburgh. [Reg. of Deeds 
Mack., xxv, 210.] 



JAMES SHARPE, M.A. (Glasgow 
1612); his son John, M.A. (Glasgow 



1639 



1653). 



DAVID ADDINSTOUN, reader, 4th 
1657 July 1651[Laing Charters, 2504.] 

JAMES WAUGH, marr. Christian 
1682 Mylne. [Edin. Sas., xxxiii, 84.] 

ROBERT DICKSON, pres. 30th July 
1790 1790. 

JAMES GRANT, pres. 1824, not 
1824 1799. 

WILLIAM STEVENSON, pres. by 
1844 Queen Victoria 14th Feb. 1844. 

JAMES MITCHELL, pres. by Queen 



1864 



Victoria 16th June 1862; his widow, 



Janet Stewart Sceales, died 28th 
June 1921. 



1911 



WILLIAM SWAN, died at Greenbank 
Manse 28th Aug. 1927; his daughs. 



Eiladh (marr. James Arthur 



Coullie, min. of St Columba s, Oban); 



EDINBURGH] 



SOUTH LEITH LIBERTON 



31 



Katherine Allison (marr. 22nd April 1924 
Rt Hon. William Shepherd Morrison, 
M.P., K.C., Postmaster-General); Dorothy 
Mary (marr. 21st April 1931 Dr John 
Morrison, Hong Kong). 

DONALD DAVIDSON, born 26th 



1928 



Nov. 1892, son of Donald D., min. 



of Invergowrie, educ. Univ. of Edin 
burgh, M.A. (1914), B.D. (1921), D. Litt. 
(1923), Ph.D. (Oxon) (1927); licen. by 
Presb. of Edinburgh 1921; assistant St 
Mary s, Dundee; ord. to Campbeltown, 
Lowland Charge, 4th April 1923; trans, to 
Queen s Park, Glasgow, 20th Jan. 1925; 
trans, and adm. 28th Feb. 1928; trans, to 
St Andrews, Bournemouth, 30th Sept. 
1937; trans, to St Andrews, Edinburgh, 
20th June 1948. Marr. 5th Aug. 1925 
Charlotte Brookes, youngest daugh. of 
Charles Kemp of Auchencrieve, Rothie- 
may, and has issue Charles Kemp, born 
15th April 1929; Lilian Charlotte, born 6th 
June 1932. Publications Afterthoughts 
(Glasgow, 1928); The Inner Circle (1928); 
The Issues of Life (1929). 

SECOND CHARGE 

JOHN DURIE, trans, to St Giles before 
1570 6th Aug. 1573. 

DAVID ADDINSTOUNE, M.A., 
reader 13th Dec. 1659 and 12th 



1659 



May 1672. 



CHARLES KAY, marr. Janet Turn- 
bull. [Reg. of Deeds Mack., Ixxxiii, 



1681 



9th Dec. 1698.] 



HENRY HUNTER, his son Lieut- 
1766 Samuel died at Madras 1792. 

JAMES ROBERTSON. Addl. issue 
1804 James, born 4th July 1790. 

DAVID THORBURN, his son John 
1833 Hay died 22nd Feb. 1 93 1 . 

HENRY DUFF, his daugh. Mary Anne 
1844 died 12th Feb. 1927. 

ST MUNGO S (Q.S.) 

Erected quoad sacra parish 20th July 
1923; now Lockhart Memorial Church. 



GEORGE JACK, dem. 1921; became 



1901 



lecturer for International Society of 
Practical Psychology; his wife, 
Jeanie Ross, died 9th Oct. 1920; marr. (2) 
5th July 1921 Agnes Watson, daugh. of 
John Hunter, Woodhall, Jumper Green 
she died at Buffalo 28th Jan. 1922. 

KENNETH DUNBAR, born 18th 



1922 



March 1892; educ. at Univ. of Edin.; 



became min. of non-subscribing 
Presb. Church of Ireland; missionary at 
Kingscavil Oct. 1919; adm. as licentiate by 
General Assembly May 1920; ind. to this 
charge 1st Feb. 1922; adm. first min. 21st 
July 1923; trans, to Broughton 4th Oct. 
1934; trans, to Colinton Mains 15th Sept. 
1939; dem. 14th Oct. 1945. Marr. 21st 
Sept. 1933 Barbara Maclean, daugh. of 
John B. Wallace, Birkenhead, and has 
issue Fiona Margaret Wallace, born 27th 
July 1936; Sheila Rosemary, born 5th April 
1938; Henrietta Michael Ian, born 28th 
Nov. 1939. 

LIBERTON 

In 1 128 the church, at that time a depen 
dent chapel of St Cuthbert s, was granted 
along with two bovates of land by David I 
to Holyrood Abbey. Apparently about a 
century later Liberton was erected into a 
parish. There was in the church an altar 
dedicated to St John the Baptist; and lands 
in the parish called Reinyenielandis and 
Ninianeslandis indicate that there may also 
have been in the church an altar dedicated 
to St Ninian. The church was rebuilt in 
1815. On the east side of the Edinburgh- 
Straiten road, about a quarter-mile north 
of the Kaimes cross-road, at the place 
called St Catherine s, there was a chapel 
dedicated to that saint, termed St Cathe- 
rine-of-the-Kaimes. Of the chapel it is 
said on 30th March 1420 that it was 
"founded of old," and is "devoutly 
resorted to by Christ s faithful on the 
Feast of St Catherine," and "for want of 
means cannot be completely constructed or 
fittingly ornamented, unless through Papal 
succour"; and on that date Papal Indul 
gence was granted to all Christ s faithful 
giving free caritative subsidies to the 



32 



LIBERTON 



[PRESB. OF 



construction of the said chapel, or visiting 
it on the said feast. The spring, called the 
Balm-Well, which was attached to the 
chapel, still exists. On the surface of the 
water there always floats petroleum, issuing, 
in all probability, from a bed of shale 
below. To the well curative properties 
were ascribed. It was visited in 1617 by 
James VI, who ordered it to be fenced with 
stones from bottom to top, and a door and 
staircase to be made for it to facilitate 
access to the water. In 1650 it was de 
stroyed and filled up by Cromwell s 
soldiers; but after the Restoration it was 
again opened up and put in order. It is 
covered by a small vaulted structure. By 
charter of 5th June 1502 Archibald 
Wauchope of Niddrie-Marschall, with con 
sent of Elizabeth Scougal, his wife, granted 
to Sir William Warrok, chaplain, and his 
successors in office, for perpetual celebra 
tions at the high altar of the Holy Rood 
built by him in the town and territory of 
Niddrie-Marschall, 12 merks annual rent 
from the lands of Pylmure in the barony 
of Niddrie-Marschall, in the parish of 
Currie, land built, planted, and open in the 
said town and territory of Niddrie- 
Marschall, and the .East Croft, called the 
Scotis-patis-croft, also in the said town, for 
glebe and manse, with pasture for two 
cows in the commonty of the said town. 
The above description is incomplete; but 
evidently it implies that the chapel was 
dedicated to the Holy Rood. Attached to 
the chapel there was a graveyard which in 
1685 was transferred to the south-west side 
of the garden. At that time or somewhat 
later there was built the Tomb-house which 
occupies the site of the chapel. To the 
latter may have belonged ecclesiastical de 
tails which are found in the Tomb-house. 
After 1511 Sir Simon Preston of Craig- 
millar, Kt., who died in or before 1520, 
built and endowed a chapel at the south 
end of the bridge of Craigmillar. The 
chapel was dedicated to the Virgin Mary. 
The New Statistical Account tells of a 
chapel at Bridgend, built by James V, near 
a place that he used as a hunting lodge, 
and at the time (1845) that the account 
was written served as a stable. It may be, 



however, that the latter chapel was identical 
with the chapel of Sir Simon Preston, and 
was erroneously ascribed to James V. 
There was also at Craigmillar a chapel 
built and used as a place of worship for 
the Presbyterians during the Indulgence by 
James VII. It, too, a century ago was used 
as an out-house/ [Reg. Great Seal, i, 2695, 
3616; ix, 138, 1071; John Foular s Prot. 
Book, 315, Scott. Rec. Soc.\ Excheq. Rolls, 
xiv, 629; Cal. of Scott. Supplies., 186, S.H.S.; 
Book of Dry burgh, 3, 4, 6; for traditional 
story of St Catherine s Chapel see Boece s 
Scotorum Historiae, etc., p. 6, ed. 1574, and 
Bellenden s Cronikils of Scotland, i, xxxviii.] 

ALEXANDER CHALMERS, M.A., 

1561 vicar of Liberton 9th Nov. 1570, 
designated priest 21st Jan. 1561-2 
and earlier was factor and sub-chamberlain 
and then chamberlain of Holyrood. [Reg. 
of Deeds, iii, 19, 162, 420; iv, 337; xi, 247, 
485.] 

JAMES, LORD SOMERVILLE, held 



1568 

etc.] 



parsonage 1568. [Reg. Abbrev. Feu 
Charters of Church Lands Dumfries, 



JAMES HAMILTON, min. 2nd Nov. 
1574 1575. [Edin. Tests, iv, 169.] 

NINIAN RAMSAY, vicar 1571. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Rox 
burgh.} 



1571 



1586 



MICHAEL CRANSTOUN, his pres. in 
1586 was on death of Alexander 



Chalmers. P. S. Reg., Iv, 31.] 



ALEXANDER CHALMERS, vicar 



1586 



1586-90. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 



JOHN ADAMSON, line 2, for Henry 
1609 read "James." 

ANDREW LEARMONTH, trans, from 
1627 Saline 1627. 

SAMUEL SEMPLE, MS. Sermon 



1697 



preached in 1708 in Assembly 
Library. 



JAMES GRANT, pres. by George III 
1789 1st April 1789. 



EDINBURGH] 



LIBERTON WEST CALDER 



33 



JAMES BEGG, his sons Ferdinand 

Faithfull, died at Hove 4th Dec. 

1926; Walter Bently (actor), died in 

Australia Sept. 1927; Charles, M.D., died 

at Bath 21st April 1931; his daugh. 

Euphemia died at London 15th Nov. 1926. 

JOHN STEWART, pres. by Queen 
1843 Victoria 14th July 1843. 

ROBERT BURNETT, died 22nd May 
1896 1928. 

JOHN SPENCE EWEN, D.D. (Aber- 



1928 



deen, 1st April 1936), Junior Mathe 
matical Master, Robert Gordon s 
College, 1898; Headmaster, Lonmay 
School, 1902; Cullen Secondary School, 
1906; Chaplain to 9th Seaforth High 
landers during Great War; was Chaplain to 
Edinburgh Police, 1926; trans, from Buc- 
cleuch 5th Dec. 1928; died 16th Sept. 1941; 
was a noted Highland athlete in his younger 
days. His sons John Clifford Spence, 
Education Officer, B.B.C., killed moun 
taineering at Brevart, Switzerland, 21st 
July 1935; Alastair Hamilton, Assistant 
Professor, Animal Husbandry, Univ. of 
Saskatchewan, Canada, 1930. 



CRAIGMILLAR 

JAMES MATHERS, O.B.E., app. 1926; 
1926 trans, to Rosewell 3rd Feb. 1927. 



EAST CALDER 

The church was dedicated by Bishop de 
Bernham on 30th May 1247. [Lockhart s 
Church of Scotland in \3th Century.] 

JOHN BALFOUR, vicar 14th May 
1566 1566, died before 13th July 1582. 



[Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Pres. Bene., ii, 76.] 



xxxv, 3 1 ; Reg. 



SAMUEL WARDLAW, M.A., his pres. 

1582 in 1582 was on death of John 

Balfour. [Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 74.] 

WILLIAM GALBRAITH, pres. to 
1588 v * cara ge on death of Samuel Ward- 
law. [P. S. Reg., Ivii, 139.] 



JOHN BROWN, M.A., his pres. in 
1 596 was on death of John Spottis- 



1596 



wood. [P. S. Reg., Ixviii, 37.] 



EDWARD KINNEAR, read "Andrew 
1663 Kinnear. 

JOHN KINNAIRD, his widow, Rachel 
1694 Sandilands (died 30th Dec. 1738), 
sister of John Sandilands of Brad- 
shaw. [Deeds, Durie, 1704, No. 595.] 



MID CALDER 

JOHN SPOTTISWOOD, marr. 12th 
1583 Oct. 1589. 

GEORGE DUNBAR, went to Ireland 



1638 



and preached at Carrickfergus 1 625, 
Ballymena 1625 and Inverlarne 
1625. His wife, Jean Crawford, died be 
tween 13th April 1603 and 15th Oct. 1604. 
[Ayr Sas. Sec. Reg., ii, 495.] 

JOHN COLVILLE, his son John. 



1663 



[G. R. Sas., 3 Ser., xxxix, 214, 19th 
June 1677.] 



WILLIAM WEIR CLARK, his sons 



1907 



William Arthur, C.B.E., Colonial 



Service, Kenya; Peter George, North 
Rhodesia, born 23rd Nov. 1915; his wife, 
Katherine Robertson Dewar, died 19th Dec. 
1943; his daugh., Isabel Katherine, born 
24th Jan. 1913, marr. 30th Aug. 1945 John 
Melville Clark, W.S. 

WEST CALDER 

PATRICK SHIELDS, third son of 
James S., cooper, Glasgow; his sons 



1645 



James, apprentice to Henry 
Brown, surgeon apothecary, 9th Oct. 1667; 
Walter, apprentice to William Thine, 
litster, llth Nov. 1674. [Burgess Roll, 
28th Aug. 1658.] 

GEORGE ROBERTSON, line 2, delete 



1675 



"Ord. to Queensferry 20th Dec. 



1674"; line 4, "trans, to Kirkurd 
16th Jan. 1679; dep. 3rd Nov. 1680." 

JOHN LAUDER, born 20th Jan. 
1689 1631. 



34 



WEST CALDER RATHO 



[PRESS. OF 



ANDREW GLOAG, eldest son of John 



1720 



G.; marr. pro. 18th Dec. 1721, 



Christian Ronald, Linlithgow, she 
was buried 20th July 1729; had issue 
John, merchant, Edinburgh; James, ap 
prentice to Robert Straiton, wright, 23rd 
June 1742; Thomas, apprentice to James 
Mansfield, merchant, 14th June 1738. 

WILLIAM LEARMONTH, his daugh. 
1835 Elizabeth Lee died 17th March 1920. 



1874 



JAMES ALEXANDER ANDERSON, 

died 27th June 1927; his wife, 
Margaret Melville, died at Portrush 
22nd Aug. 1921; his son, Gustav Alexander 
Melville, surgeon, Lieut. -Commander, 
R.N., died at Plymouth 26th July 1924; 
his daughs. Olivia (marr. 24th April 1915 
Rowland H. Rawlingson, Lieut., 10 Bat. 
H.L.I.); Winifred, died at Belfast 22nd 
Feb. 1936; Eva Melville (marr. Alexander 
Carstairs, Rio de Janeiro). 

JOHN MACDOUGAL, trans, from 



1927 



Aberfoyle 17th June 1927; trans, to 



Old Bonhill 8th Feb. 1932; trans, to 
Daviot, Inverness, 25th Aug. 1937; trans, 
to Forgan 2nd Sept. 1942. 

PORTOBELLO 

GEORGE THOMAS JAMIESON, dem. 
fi 17th May 1917, died Father of the 
Church 6th March 1926. 



1917 



ROBERT DAVIDSON, trans, from 
Fisherton (q.v.) 15th Nov. 1917; 
died 24th June 1943. 

RATHO 

The church was dedicated by Bishop de 
Bernham on 5th May 1243. By mandate 
of 15th June 1444 Pope Eugenius IV, at the 
instance of Sir John Forrester of Corstor- 
phine, Kt., annexed the rectory and 
vicarage of the church to the Collegiate 
Church of Corstorphine. About four years 
later William de Lauder, lord of Haulton 
(Halton), and all the parishioners of Ratho 
represented to Pope Nicholas V that on 
account of said annexation the church and 
its great and populous parish had been 



much weakened and neglected, and that 
"the cure of the parishioners" could "ill 
be borne, and accordingly by Bull of 2nd 
Jan. 1450-1 Pope Nicholas separated from 
the said collegiate church all the tithes, etc., 
formerly belonging to the Vicar of Ratho, 
not exceeding 8 stg. in value, and granted 
and assigned them for the portion of a 
vicar to be again instituted in the said 
Parish Church of Ratho, and moreover 
erected the said Parish church into another 
vicarage, and made provision of it, not 
exceeding 8, to Thomas de Lauder, priest 
of the Diocese of St Andrews, of a race of 
barons, by unmarried knight and an un 
married woman. [Lockhart s Ch. in Scot, 
in the \3th Century, 52; Collegiate Churches 
of Midlothian, 289-303; Cal. Papal Regs., 
x, 85, 476-7.] 



JAMES BISHOP, Vicar pensionary 
1577. [Comps. Gen. Coll. of 
Thirds.] 



1577 



RICHARD THOMPSON, pres. to 



1589 



1606 



vicarage principal and pensionary 
24th Jan. 1588-9 on death of James 
Bishop. [P. S. Reg., Iviii, 162.] 

THOMAS BANNATYNE, M.A., son 
of Thomas B. of Newtyle, pres. to 
vicarage 23rd Oct. 1606 on death 
of Richard Thompson, but appears to have 
declined. See Castleton and Douglas. 
[P. S. Reg., Ixxv, 188.] 

JOHN DUNLOP, his son Ludovick, 
1607 burgess of Aberdeen 1st Aug. 1636. 

JOHN GUTHRIE, his son John appren- 



1703 



ticed to Andrew Mowat, merchant, 
20th July 1743. 



1808 



ANDREW DUNCAN. Addl. issue- 
James, born 25th Jan. 1789, died 
19th Aug. 1799; his daughs. 
Hannah died 12th March 1839 (marr. 
Major H. A. Montgomerie of Arndean, 
53 Reg. Indian Army); Margaret (marr. 
Major David Bruce, Bengal Army), died 
at Delhi 18th July 1833; Susan (marr. Dr 
John Wyllie, physician-general H.E.I.C.S.), 
died at Nagpore, India, 13th Aug. 1828. 
[Tombst. Blairingone Churchyard.] 



EDINBURGH] 



RATHO ROXBURGH PLACE 



35 



1866 



ROBERT CHARLES HENRY 
MACDUEF, his son William Alex 
ander died at London 8th Oct. 1934. 



ARCHIBALD BISSET, died 6th Oct. 
1876 1916. 

JAMES LUMSDEN, trans, from Tol- 
booth (q.v.) 2nd March 1917; D.D. 
(Aberdeen, 3rd April 1935); his 
daugh. Margaret Grange (marr. (1) 23rd 
June 1928 Geronwy Owen, Blue Star Line; 
(2) 30th April 1945 Alfred Gamble, Liver 
pool). 

EDINBURGH CASTLE 

WALTER SMYTH, William, probably 

1692 h * s son a PP rent i cecl to Robert 
Antonious, wright, Edinburgh, 18th 
Aug. 1725. 



JAMES GLASGOW, son of John G., 



1788 



min. of Kilbirnie. [Edin. Com. 
Deeds, xxxvi, 5th Jan. 1758.] 



NEW STREET CHAPEL 

DAVID SAVILE, his daugh. Mary marr. 
1799 17th Sept. 1833. 



ROXBURGH PLACE 

JOHN JOHNSTON, line 20, for "1" 
1833 read "31." 

JAMES HAMILTON, his son Robert 
1841 William died at Newport, Salop, 
14th Sept. 1918. 



PRESBYTERY OF LINLITHGOW 



ABERCORN 

SIR JOHN LYTHGOW, vicar in 1572. 



1572 



[Reg. Abbrev. Charters of Church 
Lands, ii, 190.] 



JAMES MOUBRAY, pres. to vicarage 
28th Feb. 1574-5 on death of Sir 
John Lythgow, last vicar. [P. 5. 
Reg., xlii, 118.] 

WILLIAM POWRIE, min. in 1583. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin- 
lithgow, etc.] 

JOHN LAING, for "John" read 
1624 "James." 

ROBERT ROW, his widow marr. (2) 



1583 



1642 



Luke Greenshiells, min. of Ar- 
drossan. 



JOHN ARTHUR, probably brother of 
1662 Patrick A. of Ballone. 

HUGH MEIKLEJOHN, his children 

1791 Elizabeth died 1847; James Hope 

Johnstone died 1856; Hugh Cree 

died 1847; Andrew died 1844; Alexander 

died 21st Jan. 1809. 

DAVID PLAYFAIR, line 17, for 



1843 

1930. 



Nov." read "Feb."; his daugh. 
Alice Jane Macduff died 10th April 



JOHNSTON OLIPHANT, dem. 10th 

1908 Jan. 1948. 

AIRTH 

FREDERIC HENDRY, died 13th July 
1900 1937. 

ARMADALE 

JOHN ALEXANDER CALDWELL 

1909 DREW, dem. 16th Feb. 1922. 



ROBERT MACPHERSON, M.A., ord. 



1922 



7th June 1922; trans, to Stobhill 
23rd Sept. 1927. 



ALEXANDER AITKEN MORTON, 



1928 



trans, from Logic, Cupar (#.v.), 14th 
March 1928; trans, to Bourock, 
Barrhead, 18th March 1931. 

BATHGATE 

JOHN HAMILTON, reader and vicar 



1555 



1 555, and on a Letter of Collation to 



him by John, Archbishop of St 
Andrews, was infeft in the vicarage in the 
church on 30th March 1567 by sasine in 
his favour, there being delivered to him 
the book and church keys; pres. to 
vicarage 2nd May 1574 on death of John 
Gray. [Thomas Johnsoun s Prot. Book, 
506; Reg. Pres. Bene., i (2), 19; Reg. 
Abbrev. of Charters Church Lands, ii, 1 565.] 

JOHN GRAY, M.A., had been min. 



1567 



for six years in 1573 in succession to 
JohnLayng. [Actsand Dec., i, 148.] 



1579 



ROBERT HODGE, also min. at Living- 
1574 stone and Torphichen. 

JOHN LEVERANCE, son of Richard 
L., messenger-at-arms, Linlithgow; 
reader at Carmichael; pres. to 
vicarage 8th June 1579 on death of John 
Hamilton. [P. C. Reg., iv, 510, 18th July 
1590; Reg. Sec. Sig., xlvi, 8.] 

GILBERT TAYLOR, his pres. to 
parsonage and vicarage ratified as 
minister. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Iviii, 49.] 



1588 



JAMES SIMSON, trans. 1618; his 



1618 



daugh. Margaret marr. John Crooks, 
min. of Ballantrae. [G. R. Sas., 
2 Sen, vi, 75.] 



36 



PRESB. OF LINLITHGOW] BATHGATE BORROWSTOUNNESS 



37 



1655 



WILLIAM CRICHTON, line 9, for 
"after 16th Nov. 1660" read "May 



1661." 



GEORGE BLACKWALL, MS. volume 
1735 of sermons in Assembly Library. 

WALTER RIGG, line 2, for "1655" 
1665 read "1665." 

SAMUEL MARTIN, born 2nd Dec. 

1802; his sons John died 12th Jan. 

1854; Samuel died 20th June 1856; 
Robert died 17th Dec. 1862; David died 
1st April 1875; his daugh. Jane died 12th 
Jan. 1929; his son William Hamilton died 
14th Feb. 1854. 

JOSEPH MILNE, his widow, Mary L. 
1867 Burns, died 26th May 1917. 

WILLIAM BENNIE, his widow, 



1872 



Catherine E. Craig, died 23rd Oct. 
1922. 



WILLIAM LAURIE WEBSTER, died 



1898 



Edinburgh 5th Aug. 1941 ; his daugh. 



Laura, M.D., Ch.B., marr. 12th 
July 1928 William Robert Caldwell Camp 
bell, M.B., Ch.B., Newcastle upon Tyne. 

BLACKBRAES 

IRVING BEATTIE, ord. 1871, died at 
1871 Edinburgh 24th Nov. 1883. 

WILLIAM SMITH, ord. llth April 



1890 

1937. 



1884, died 12th Feb. 1926; his 
widow, Helen Smith, died 29th Oct. 



JOHN EASTON, born Bathgate 27th 
Oct. 1887; licen. by Presb. of Lin- 
lithgow 1917; M.A.; assistant at 

Bathgate 1925; South Leith; ord. 9th 

March 1927. 

BORROWSTOUNNESS or KINNEIL 

The Church of Kinneil was granted to 
Holyrood Abbey by Herbert, Chamberlain 
of Malcolm IV, with consent of his sons, 
Stephen and William; and this was con 
firmed by Charter of King Malcolm in 
1158-9. Before 1163 there pertained also 
to the Abbey the teinds of the mill and 



c* 



salt pans of Kinneil. In 1634 the inhabi 
tants of Bo ness built a church in which 
the parish minister conducted worship in 
turn with the parish church at Kinneil. In 
1649, Bo ness being then in a flourishing 
condition through the increase of trade, 
the inhabitants petitioned Parliament to 
the effect that their kirk had been planted 
with a minister, and that it was expedient 
that it should be erected into a kirk by 
itself, they pledging themselves to provide 
a stipend of 800 merks for the minister"; 
and on 9th March of that year Parliament 
passed an Act dissolving and dividing the 
church from Kinneil and erecting it into a 
separate church with an area attached, the 
stipend as stated to be allocated among the 
inhabitants. In 1669 William, Duke of 
Hamilton, and Anna, Duchess of Hamilton, 
laid a petition before Parliament stating 
that Kinneil had only 300 communicants, 
that through the decay of trade and the 
poverty of the inhabitants of Bo ness the 
stipend there could not be yearly collected 
or recovered without a great deal of 
trouble and expense, and that the erection 
of Bo ness Church into a parish church 
was for the time illegal as wanting the 
lawful authority, and done in the absence 
of the late James, Duke of Hamilton, then 
a prisoner in England, who had right to 
the superiority and property of all lands 
in the barony of Kinneil, and to all the 
teinds thereof; they craved therefore that 
the said erection be declared null and void 
save in relation to the stipend of 800 merks 
payable by the inhabitants of Bo ness, and 
that the Kirk of Bo ness, situated in the 
most fit and convenient place within the 
barony, should be declared the only kirk 
of the barony and parish, they being willing 
to provide at Bo ness for the minister a 
manse and glebe in lieu of the same at 
Kinneil. On 23rd Dec. of the same year 
Parliament passed an Act in terms of the 
petition, declaring the Kirk of Bo ness to 
be the parish church, and annulling the 
erection of the parish of Bo ness in 1649 
except in regard to the stipend of 800 merks 
which, with the teind stipend at Kinneil, 
was to constitute the stipend of the 
minister. The parish church at Bo ness was 



38 



BORROWSTOUNNESS CAMELON 



[PRESB. OF 



repaired in 1672, when the Duke of Hamil 
ton added a large aisle for himself and his 
tenants. In 1775 the aisle was removed, 
and the church was very largely rebuilt to 
a size of 69 x 48 ft., and in 1820 the south 
wall and part of the east wall were rebuilt 
and the galleries reconstructed and made 
uniform. The present church was built in 
1886-8, being opened for worship on 14th 
Oct. of the latter year. It consists of a nave 
with aisles, transepts, chancel, and a tower 
at the north end, and contains a Dutch 
pulpit said to have been a gift from Dutch 
sailors, and a ship in the gallery of the west 
transept, both transferred from the old 
church. The latter church was for a time 
the place of worship of the congregation 
of the Episcopal Church of Scotland, and 
is now a cinema house. It was burned on 
Sat., April 7th 1945. Within the policies 
of Kinneil are the remains of the Church 
of Kinneil the west gable with double 
belfry, and foundations, which show a nave 
and a chancel with a cross aisle on the 
south side of the latter. In the vestibule of 
Bo ness Church there is a bell which is 
said to have belonged to Kinneil Church. 
It is medieval, and has this incomplete 
inscription on the shoulder in Lombard 
lettering: EN : KATERINA : VOCOR : 
UT : PER : ME : VIRGINIS : ALME 
(Lo, Katherine I am called, that by me ... 
of the Blessed Virgin . . .). [Charters of 
Holyrood, 12, 13-14, 15, 167-171; Acts 
Scott. Parl, vi (2), 262, vii, 656; Memo. 
Mr. Robert Taylor, Solicitor, Bo ness.] 

JOHN JOHNSTON, exhorter, of Barne- 
cluyth, held the vicarage and ap 
parently was vicar in 1560 and 
conformed; died after 30th July 1582 and 
before 24th Jan. 1585-6. [Reg. Great Seal, 
v, 431, 1040; Reg. Sec. Seal, liii, 91.] 



1571 



PETER HAMILTON, reader; desig 
nated Minister in 1574. [Sir 



Thomas Johnsoun s Prot. Bk., 906.] 



WILLIAM POWRIE, minister 24th Jan. 

1585-6, when he was presented to 

the vicarage vacant by the death of 

Sir John Johnston; seems identical with 

William Powrie, minister at Abercorn, 



holding both charges. [Reg. Sec. 
liii, 91; see Abercorn.] 

ROBERT HUNTER, his son James 
1672 died llth April 1672. 



JOHN BRAND, his son John apprentice 
to Francis Newton, merchant, Edin 
burgh, 6th May 1726. 



1694 



HENRY McINTOSH ROBERTSON 



1868 



FULLARTON, his sons Archi 



bald Louis died 30th Oct. 1918; 
Henry Argyll died 26th Oct. 1932; Edward 
Charles died 8th Nov. 1928. 

ROBERT GARDNER, died 25th Feb. 



1896 



1925; his son Roderick James, Lieut. 



H.M. Submarine H47, which was 
sunk in collision off West Coast 9th July 
1929 but saved; his widow, Jessie Wylie, 
M.B.E., died at Edinburgh 28th Nov. 1946. 



1925 



WILLIAM JAMES SMITH, trans, from 
St Marnoch s, Kilmarnock (q.v.\ 
1st Sept. 1925; trans, to Claremont, 

Glasgow, 28th Sept. 1933; D.D. (Glasgow, 

1948). 

BROXBURN 

JOHN AITKEN ORR, died 15th Nov. 
1908 1919. 



1920 



WILLIAM McWHIRTER, formerly of 
British Guiana St Catherine s (q.v.\ 
adm. 20th March 1920; trans, to 
Small Isles 4th July 1930; dem. 30th Aug. 
1939; app. to Half Morton by Presb. for 
three years 5th May 1942; trans, to Hoy 
and Graemsay 2nd Nov. 1944. Marr. 20th 
Dec. 1939 Adelaide Geraldine Fitzgerald. 

CAMELON 

JOHN SCOTT, his son John Michael 
1867 died 8th Dec. 1942. 

ROBERT AGNEW, trans. A. and S. to 
1913 Clackmannan 19th Jan. 1921. 

ROBERT HEADRICK, born 1 1th April 

1893; son of Robert H., bootmaker, 

Alva, and Helen Macnaughton; 

educ. Alva Academy and Univ. of St 

Andrews; M.A. (1914); B.D. (1918); served 



LINLITHGOW] 



CAMELON CARRIDEN 



39 



in Great War as Lieut, in Scottish Rifles; 
licen. by Presb. of Stirling 1918; assistant 
St Mungo s, Glasgow; ord. 8th June 1921. 
Marr. 7th Sept. 1921 Ethel Isabella Lindsay, 
daugh. of Robert Kirtley. 

CARRIDEN 

In 1124-42 the church was granted to 
Holyrood Abbey by Robert, Bishop of St 
Andrews. It was dedicated by Bishop de 
Bernham on 7th May 1243. In 1766 the 
church was removed from the churchyard 
in the vicinity of Carriden House, a new 
church being built on a site on the east side 
of the road a short distance south of 
Bridgeness. The latter consisted of a nave 
with a north transept in the middle, and 
the walls were of rubble. A tower at the 
east end and a vestry at the west were 
added considerably later. From the old 
church to the new there was transferred 
the pulpit which had the date 1655 and is 
said to have come from Holland. In 1905 
steps were taken to deal with the dilapi 
dated condition of the church, and after 
protracted negotiations with the heritors it 
was agreed on 20th March 1907 that that 
body contribute 1,800 to the building of 
a new church at a minimum cost of 4,800, 
the Kirk Session being responsible for the 
balance of the cost. The church, built to 
plans by Dr Macgregor Chalmers, Glas 
gow, was completed prior to 8th Sept. 
1909, and ten days later was designated 
the parish church by the Presbytery. It 
occupies a site on the North Glebefield, in 
the vicinity of the old church. The bell and 
a ship, which presumably had been in the 
older building in the churchyard prior to 
1766, were removed from the old church 
to the new. The bell is Dutch and bears 
the inscription PIETER OSTENS GOOT 
MY TE ROTTERDAM A s 1674. After 
the old church was abandoned the heritors 
agreed to dismantle it, leaving only the 
tower and vestry intact. [Charters of 
Holyrood, 10; Heritors 1 Records.} 

ALEXANDER HAMILTON, M.A., 

1561 vicar presented to the vicarage in 

1546 in succession to Sir Archibald 

Wetherspoon; may have conformed and 



acted as reader; vicar on 16th April 1560, 
when, along with William Cornewall, 
reader, Linlithgow, he certified the publica 
tion of the banns of marriage in their 
respective churches. Evidence that the 
Reformed Religion was in operation here 
then. Still in office llth March 1577-8; 
died before 17th Sept. 1579; had a natural 
daughter, Elizabeth, who married (1) John 
Gardner, (2) Henry Touch in Linlithgow. 
[Nicol ErounisProt. Bk. No. 10, 3; Charters 
of Holyrood, 261-2; Sir Thomas Johnsoun s 
Prot.Bk., 543,994.] 



JOHN LESLIE, exhorter in 1563 and 
1569, min. in 1571 and exhorter in 
\512.[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Linlithgow, etc.] 



1563 



JOHN WESTWATER, pres. to vicar. 
17th Sept. 1579 on death of Alex- 



1579 

ii, 21.] 



ander Hamilton. Reg. Pres. Bene., 



ROBERT STEEDMAN, eldest son of 
1 ,__ James S., elder, of Little Sergie. 
[G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., xv, 160.] 

JOHN TOD, marr. Agnes, daugh. of 
1704 James Dundas, Southfield, and had 
issue James, born 18th Feb. 1705; 
John, born 21st March 1706; Robert, born 
23rd March 1708; Alexander, born 21st 
July 1710; William, born 1st Feb. 1712; 
Agnes, born llth Nov. 1714. [Reg. of 
Deeds, Linlithgow Sher. Court, 1st April 
1709.] 

GEORGE ELLIS, his daugh. Mary died 
1740 at Edinburgh 4th Feb. 1796. 

DAVID FLEMING, his daughs. Janet 
1816 Carlile ( marr - 1 st Se Pt- I 857 Andrew 
Vannan); Martha Duncanson (marr. 
llth Oct. 1854). 

WILLIAM DUNDAS, died 9th Nov. 

1887 1931 ^ s son w ilh am > Captain in 
Black Watch; his daugh. Harriet 
Elspeth, B.A., teacher of Greek, Wycombe 
Abbey School (marr. 12th April 1935 
Frederick Sleath, M.A., Scottish author). 



40 



DALMENY ECCLESMACHAN 



[PRESB. OF 



DALMENY 

There was in the church an altar dedi 
cated to St Bridget; and there was also in 
the church an altar dedicated to St Adam- 
nan and St Columba. The Church of 
Auldcathie belonged to the Priory of St 
Andrews. [Mackinlay s Anc. Church 
Dedications, Non-Scriptural, 127; Cal. 
Papal Regs., Letters, viii, 376; Cal. Laing 
Charters, 619; Retours, xv, 140, xvi, 1.] 

JOHN SINCLAIR, provost of Roslin, 



1547 



pres. to vicarage 2nd Jan. 1547-i 



on death of Sir Thomas Hulduson, 
but did not enter. 

ALEXANDER FOIRHOUSE, pres. 3rd 
Jan. 1547-8. [P. S. Reg., xxii, 3, 
63.] 



1547 



1562 



SIR WILLIAM McDOWALL, vicar, 
also at Dreghorn, Leswalt and 
Holyroodhouse, and Preceptor of 
St Paul s Work, at the foot of Leith Wynd, 
to which he was appointed 1555-6; died in 
or before 1579. [Compts. Gen. Coll of 
Thirds; Compts. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin- 
lithgow, etc.; Book of Old Edin. Club, xvii, 
49, 52.] 

ROBERT HOGG, exhorter 1569-72. 
[Compts. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin- 
lithgow, etc.] 

GEORGE LUNDIE, rector of Auld- 



1574 



cathie4th April 1567; pres. on death 



of Sir William McDowall. Marr. 
Katherine Loch and had issue George, 
his heir. [Reg. Mag. Sig., iv, 2251; Reg. 
Pres. Bene., ii, 321; Pitfirrane Writs, 335.] 

JAMES STEWART, pres. to vicarage 
3rd March 1 579-80 on death of Sir 



1579 



William McDowall. [Reg. Pres. 



Bene., ii, 31.] 

JOHN DURIE, 2nd line from foot, for 
1642 "1660" read "1680." 



1656 



ALEXANDER HAMILTON, son of 
John H. of Bangour. [Reg. of 



Deeds, 14th Aug. 1663.] 



ALEXANDER BANKS, had issue- 
William, bapt. llth Feb. 1673; 
Mary, bapt. 3rd March 1675; 

Katherine, bapt. 7th Jan., died March 

1677. [Peterhead Reg.] 

GEORGE TURNBULL. On supplica- 
1688 ^ on ky tne parishioners, which 
stated that George Turnbull "has 
preached at the meeting-house of the 
parish some considerable time and exer 
cised the other ministerial functions, and 
that the kirk was now vacant by the death 
of Mr Alexander Banks, the Commission 
of Estates on 15th May 1689 granted 
warrant allowing Mr Turnbull to preach 
at the said kirk of Dalmeny and exercise 
the other parts of the ministerial function 
without prejudice to the rights of the 
patron according to law; he was admitted 
to Alloa 26th Sept. 1690. [Acts Scott. 
ParL, ix, App. 26b; see Alloa.] 

JAMES NASMYTH, his son Patrick, 



1711 



apprenticed to Ralph Dundas, mer 
chant, Edinburgh, 22nd June 1743. 



THOMAS ROBERTSON, his son 

1776 Charles Hope died 28th Jan. 1806. 

ROBERT HUGH MUIR, his widow, 



1884 



Margaret Kerr Black, died 1st Feb. 
1921. 



PETER DUNN, D.D. (Aberdeen, 1922); 



1890 



dem. 9th Dec. 1925; died 23rd 
March 1930. 



1926 



WILLIAM NEIL SUTHERLAND, 

trans, from Fraserburgh (<7.v.) 18th 
June 1926; died 19th June 1946; his 
wife, Eugenie Florence Natalie Bach, died 
15th Feb. 1940. Marr. (2) 31st Oct. 1940 
Marion Cunningham, elder daughter of 
John George Dudgeon, Easter Dalmeny. 

ECCLESMACHAN 

JOHN MOUBRAY, parson and min., 
1561 and 1569-72. [Coll. Gen. of 
Thirds, 156 1/. 96; Acts and Dec., 
xlviii, 67.] 

CHARLES WILKIE, marr. Eupham, 
daugh. of James Flint, merchant 



1561 



1734 



and bailie of Edinburgh. 



LINLITHGOW] 



ECCLESMACHAN^FALKIRK 



41 



1869 



ALEXANDER SHEPHERD, his 

widow, Jane Douglas Dawson, died 
Newbury, Berks, 16th July 1926; his 

daugh. Sophia Hay died at Blair Atholl 

26th Aug. 1926. 

ARTHUR PENRHYN STANLEY 



1910 



TULLOCH, dem. 6th May 1924 



and joined Church of Rome; died 
15th Dec. 1945; his son Arthur died 16th 
April 1937. 

ROBERT LANG PINKERTON, trans. 

from St Leonard s, Lanark (q.v.), 

17th Sept. 1924; has issue Jean 

Haddow Bell, born llth June 1919; 

Robert Leonard Cecil Comrie, born 23rd 

Dec. 1921; Frances Mary Joyce, born llth 

April 1926. 

FALKIRK 

In 1166 Richard, Bishop of St Andrews, 
for the souls of David I, Malcolm IV, his 
predecessors, Robert and Arnold, Bishops 
of St Andrews, Alwin, his uncle, etc., 
granted to Holyrood Abbey "the Church 
of Eeiglesbrac" (Falkirk) called Varia 
Capella, "speckled church." On 12th June 
1242 the church was dedicated by Bishop 
de Bernham of St Andrews. On 24th Feb. 
1449 Papal confirmation was given to the 
erection of the church into a collegiate 
church by Sir Alexander Livingstone, but 
the erection was subsequently quashed. 
There were in the church an altar dedicated 
to the Virgin Mary, and an altar dedicated 
to St Michael the Archangel, founded on 
the north side in 1531 by Sir Robert Batho, 
chaplain of the said Altar of the Virgin. At 
Manuel there was a chapel, dedicated to 
the Virgin Mary, with regard to which 
there was presented to the Pope by Rankine 
de Crawford, nobleman, temporal lord of 
Manuel, and all the inhabitants of Manuel 
in the parish of Falkirk, a petition to the 
effect that the church or chapel of the said 
place of Manuel had from time imme 
morial a cemetery, baptistry, chrism, vase, 
burial-place, and a priest who celebrated 
divine offices there and administered the 
sacraments to all the inhabitants of the 



temporal lordship, but that, although other 
similar neighbouring churches or chapels 
had their own district and special clerk- 
minister to the priests and chaplains serving 
such churches or chapels in divine offices, 
elected and presented by the inhabitants of 
such places, the said church or chapel was 
without such a clerk-minister. The petition 
craved a clerk-minister, so elected and 
presented. In response a Papal Mandate 
was given 4th Apr. 1454 to Robert Lauder, 
Bishop of Dunblane, to grant power to the 
place and lordship to elect, with the consent 
of the chaplain, a clerk-minister to help and 
minister, according to custom, to the chap 
lain or priest of the said church or chapel, 
the emoluments, similar to those in other 
cases, to be provided by the inhabitants. 
On 21st Oct. 1300 Edward I made an 
offering of 7 sh. "at the High Altar of the 
Priory of Manuel. In the west end of the 
parish, near St Helen s Loch, which no 
longer exists, there was a chapel dedicated 
to St Helen. [Cal. Papal Regs., Letters, 
x, 691-2; Cal. Docs. Rel. to Scot., iv, 44a; 
Church of Scot, in 13th Century, 48; Scott. 
Ch. Hist. Soc., vi, 212; Reg. Great Seal, 
ii, 2441; iii, 1333; iv, 815; v, 68.] 

SIR ANDREW HOGGE or HEGY, 

vicar 1560; still in office 1572. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 

JAMES ERSKINE, son of James E. of 

j _ 6 _ Little Sauchie, pres. to vicarage 14th 

Nov. 1576 in succession to Sir 

Andrew Hegy. [Stephen s, Inverkeithing 

and Rosy th, 528.] 

ALEXANDER CUTHBERT, reader 
1587 29th Oct. 1574, pres. to vicarage 
31st May 1587 on dem. of James 
Erskine. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Iv, 48.] 

JAMES ERSKINE, pres. to vicarage 



1588 



29th Sept. 1588 on death of Sir 



James Erskine. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Iviii, 44.] 

THOMAS SPITTAL, marr. Elizabeth, 
1626 daugh. of Adam Spittal of Blairlogy. 



42 



FALKIRK FAULDHOUSE 



[PRESS. OF 



ARCHIBALD MUSCHET, marr. (2) 



1686 



proc. 23rd June 1675 Margaret 



Edward; his son Archibald appren 
tice to John Hay, surgeon apothecary, 
Edinburgh, 7th Aug. 1700. 

WILLIAM BURNET, his son Alexan 
der, apprentice to Peter Blair, skin- 



1696 



ner, Edinburgh, 27th Feb. 1723; his 
daughs. Catherine (marr. Aug. 1756 
Alexander McCulloch, merchant, Edin 
burgh); Elizabeth (marr. (1) Feb. 1751 
Alexander Ross, Edinburgh). 

JAMES ANDERSON, his son James, 
apprentice to Charles Blair, gold 
smith, Edinburgh, 12th Sept. 1721. 

JOHN ADAMS, line 5, for "1728" 
1744 read "1727." 

JOHN AITCHISON, line 4, for "1759" 
1759 read "1758." 

1787 JOHN MUIR pres. 1 5th June, 1 787. 

WILLIAM BEGG, his daugh. Margaret 
1840 died at Prestwick 6th Aug. 1929. 

GEORGE CARRUTHERS, his widow, 
1888 Mary Russell, died 17th Sept. 1928. 

ALEXANDER LOUDON, died 20th 
March 1940; his son James Alexan 
der, M.B., Ch.B., F.R.C.P.E., lec 
turer in anatomy, Edinburgh University, 
died 1st Aug. 1931 ; his daugh. Helen (marr. 
20th Oct. 1931 John A. Balfour, ship- 
broker, Grangemouth). 

LAURIESTON, ST COLUMBA S 

ALEXANDER BARRIE ROBB orga 
nised efforts on behalf of Servia 
during the Great War for which he 
received the Order of St Sava; died sud 
denly between services 22nd Jan. 1939. 
(Charges united 25th April 1945.) 

ST MODAN S 

Disjoined from Falkirk 16th March 1923. 

JOHN MARSHALL PRYDE, dem. 
1916 on appoint, as Chaplain to 
Forces, Salonica; afterwards of 
Ruthrieston. 



1908 



JOHN SPENCE, F.R.A.S. (1897), born 



1917 



Lerwick, 1861; sometime a sailor at 



Greenland fishing, had command of 
two sailing vessels, then became a clerk in 
Edinburgh; ord. to Baptist Church, Ar- 
broath Oct. 1891; went to America 1893; 
min. of Baptist Church, Chelsea, 1894- 
1904; of Orange Street Congregational 
Church, Leicester Square, Hope Park Con 
gregational Church, Edinburgh, 1905 to 
Feb. 1908; Eccleston Square Congrega 
tional Church, Belgravia, 1909 to Nov. 
1913; Lerwick Congregational Church 
1913 to Jan. 1915; locum tenens, Ladhope; 
adm. as licentiate by General Assembly, 
assistant Balshagray; ord. 16th Nov. 1917; 
died 13th Feb. 1921. Marr. Janet Johnston, 
who died 3rd June 1920, and had issue 
James W., min. of Symington, born 19th 
June 1 892, and two daughs. Publications- 
The Wonders of the Heavens , From Fore 
castle to Pulpit; The Wreck of the World; 
Christ in Astronomy. 

THOMAS MEIKLE WATT, formerly 
1921 ^ Congregational Church; ord. 1 5th 
June 1921; admitted first min. of 
parish 17th March 1923; dem. 23rd July 
1926 on admission to Scots Church, 
Geneva (q.v.). 

WILLIAM ROBERTSON BROWN, 



1926 



trans, from Kerse (q.v.) 10th Nov. 
1926; trans, to Deskford 6th May 
1932; died 20th Jan. 1945. 



1882 



FAULDHOUSE 

GAVIN CRAWFORD, his widow, 
Jessie Brownlie Craig, died at Allo- 
way Manse 18th March 1932; his 

son William, min. of Coylton; his daugh. 

Mary Hamilton (marr. 21st April 1925 

John Macfarlane Hamilton, min. of Allo- 

way). 

THOMAS WATT McANDREW, trans. 



1898 



to Tollcross, Glasgow, 1st Sept. 
1915. 



JOHN SINCLAIR, ord. 16th Feb. 1916; 
trans, to Lundie and Foulis 17th 



1916 



July 1919. 



LINLITHGOW] 



FAULDHOUSE KIRKLISTON 



43 



CHARLES WATSON, trans, from Car- 

1Q10 lisle fo.v.) 29th Oct. 1919; dem. 5th 

July 1932. His wife, Anne Hors- 

burgh Young Williamson, died 5th Nov. 

1936. He died at Greenlaw 2nd Oct. 1942. 

GRAHAMSTON 

ANDREW ROSS TAYLOR, died llth 
1881 March 1926. 

JAMES FERRIER POLLOCK, trans. 



1926 



from Portmoak (<?.v.) 1st Oct. 1926; 

died at Edinburgh 20th Dec. 1948; 
had issue Margaret Muriel, born 1st Feb. 
1916 (marr. 24th May 1945 Ronald Major, 
B.Sc. (Agric.)); Freda, born 26th July 1919. 



GRANGEMOUTH 

GEORGE MILES THOMSON, his son 
1884 Robert, M.B., Ch.B. (Edin.), died 
25th Jan. 1930; his daugh. Jemima, 
M.A., teacher in Fife. 

ALEXANDER MACPHERSON, died 
1914 at Aberdeen 28th July 1939. 

KERSE 

WILLIAM ROBERTSON BROWN, 

trans, to St Modan s, Falkirk, 10th 



1919 



Nov. 1926. 



JOHN BARCLAY DA VIE, trans, from 
192 Benholm (q.v.) 18th May 1927; 
trans, to St Nicholas, Leith, 26th 
Feb. 1935; trans, to Coldingham 29th July 
1942; had issue Eleanor Margaret, born 
14th Feb. 1926; John Alexander Barclay, 
born 13th Aug. 1927. 

KINNEIL 

JOHN JOHNSTON, vicar and reader 

1562 1562-7. [Comps. Coll. Gen. Thirds 

and Sub Coll. Thirds, Linlithgow, etc. ] 

RICHARD DICKSON, fourth son of 
162 5 William D., burgess of Edinburgh; 
his daugh. Margaret (marr. Robert 
Innes, merchant, Edinburgh. [Edin. Bur 
gess Roll, 8th May 161 1 and 9th June 1641 .] 



WILLIAM WISHART, his son, Sir 



1649 



George, died 1725. [G. R. Sas., 
2 Ser., xi, 63.] 



KIRKLISTON 

The church was dedicated by Bishop de 
Bernham on llth Sept. 1244. In response 
to a petition by James Kennedy, Bishop of 
St Andrews, the Church of Kirkliston was 
appropriated by Papal Bull of 26th June 
1451 to the episcopal mensa of St Andrews. 
The petition stated that "the said Parish 
Church is situated within the barony of 
Kirkliston (which belongs to the episcopal 
mensa of St Andrews, and is not more than 
six miles distant from the most populous 
town of the realm, at which town the King 
of Scotland at times resides) and has a con 
venient manse for the Bishop s residence." 
The actual appropriation was to take effect 
on the resignation or death of the rector, 
John Gray. By Act of Parliament in 1 598 
the parsonage and vicarage of the church 
were dissolved from the Bishopric of St 
Andrews, and granted to James Law, 
minister of the parish. In 1383 and later 
the church was called Listen; and another 
alternative name was Temple Liston. By 
Papal Decree of 4th Oct. 1387 the church 
was annexed to the mensa of the Bishop of 
St Andrews. [Cat. Papal Reg., Letters, x, 
220; Acts Scott. Parl, iv, 33; Lockhart s 
Ch. in Scot, in 13th Century, 59; Cal. Scott. 
Supplies., 53; Transcripts from Vatican, i, 
283; see Lasswade.] 

JOHN MOUBRAY, reader 1568 and 



1568 



1569. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds 
Linlithgow, etc.] 



GEORGE SPENS, pres. to vicar pen- 



1577 
6.] 



sionary in succession to Gilbert 
McMath. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i (2), 



JAMES LAW, marr. Marion Dundas. 
1585 [Deeds, 35, 45, 1588-9.] 

GILBERT HALL, had issue Euphame; 
Alexander; Janet; Thomas; John. 
[P. Reg. Sas. Edin., xxvii, 444.] 



44 



KIRKLISTON LINLITHGOW 



[PRESB. OF 



ADAM DUNCAN TAIT, marr. Mar- 
iot* garet, daugh. of James Hill of 
Gartloch. 

ALEXANDER MASSON, died at Esk- 
bank I8th Feb. 1936; his wife Helen 
Ogilvie, died llth May 1 929; his 

daugh. Lennie (marr. 1 9th Sept. 1 933 Dr 

James Ogilvie, late of Moffat). 

ROBERT ALLAN MACLEAN, born 
30th Oct. 1 89 1, son of John Allan 



1924 



M., Glasgow, and Barbara White 
Smith; educ. at Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. 
(1922); licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 1922; 
assistant at Bluevale; ord. (assist, and sue.) 
8th May 1 924; died 22nd July 1 940. Marr. 
30th April 1924 Edith Miller, M.A., daugh. 
of Alexander Sinclair Johnston and Mar 
garet Miller, and has issue Margaret 
Miller, born 1 7th July 1 925; Robert Allan, 
born 4th April 1 927; Barbara Smith, born 
26th Aug. 1928; Edith, born 10th Jan. 1932; 
Fiona Roberta, born llth Sept. 1940. 

LINLITHGOW 

The church was dedicated by Bishop de 
Bernham of St Andrews on 22nd May 1 242. 
Nearly two years before, on 6th July 1 240, 
Bishop de Bernham confirmed to the 
Priory of St Andrews the Church and 
Chapels of Linlithgow, and particularly 
the Chapel of Binnie, afterwards Church 
of Binny, and the Chapel of Retrevyn 
(Torthraven), which had been granted to 
the priory by his predecessor, William 
Malvoisine, Bishop 1202-38. The Church 
of Binny was dedicated to St Giles. In 
1 120-57 William de Lindsay confirmed to 
the church i caracute of land which had 
been given by his ancestor, Durand. The 
patronage of the vicarage of the church 
belonged to the Priory of Elcho in Rhynd. 
The Chapel of Torthraven was dedicated 
to St Leonard the Abbot. To the chapel 
Sir Richard de Melville, who lived dr. 
1180-1215, gave | caracute of land; and 
his grandson, George or Gregory, dr. 
1262-70, 2i marks annually from the 
fermes of Lochbersard. On 24th May 
1401 Sir James de Douglas of Dalkeith 
granted to Friar William Cochar, Prior of 



the Provincial Order of the Carmelites, and 
to the Chapel of the Virgin (Mary) of Lin 
lithgow and the friars of the Order there, a 
piece of land of 4 acres at the south side of 
the chapel, and an acre called "the Her 
mit s Acre," for building a refectory, 
dormitory, cloister, etc. This appears to 
denote the completion of the settlement 
founded by the burgesses of Linlithgow in 
1290. On 26th April 1571, on presentation 
by James, Lord Ross of Halkhead and 
Melville, patron, Sir Robert Alisoun was 
instituted chaplain of the said "Kirk or 
Chapel" by John Kirkpatrick handing 
over to him "the Book, the Door Key, 
and the Desk of the same. On 2nd Feb. 
1502-3 James IV granted to the burgesses 
of Linlithgow and certain chaplains of 
Linlithgow Church, the church lands of 
Magdaleneside, amounting to 6 arable 
acres, and in exchange received from them 
6 arable acres of land beside the hospitium 
of Sir James Erskill, Chaplain. The latter 
lands the King gave for building a Place 
for the Augustine Friars," no doubt the 
Hermit Friars of the Order of St Augustine, 
Observantes. From the King there came 
to those friars further gifts noted in the 
Lord High Treasurer s Accounts of 1503: 
14th Sept. To the Augustine Freris to thair 
bigging in Linlithgow, X French Crowns, 
VII lib.; 29th Oct. To the Augustine Freris 
at Linlithgow, XIII Sh.; 13th Dec. To the 
Augustine Freris of Linlithgow to thair 
bigging, X French Crowns, VII lib. Of the 
Place nothing further seems to be known. 
At Linlithgow there was also a leper house 
dedicated to St Michael. Probably it was 
to the inmates of this house that James IV 
made various contributions in 1496 and 
1498, under these descriptions: "The pur 
folk, seke folk, and gangors in Linlith 
gow"; "The sek folk," "The pur folk", 
and "The Seik folk at the toun end of 
Linlithgow." In 1641 Parliament ratified 
a charter of James VI, 8th May 1591, 
granting to the town council the endow 
ments of all altarages and chaplainries in 
the burgh, for the maintenance of a reader 
at the kirk, and of the poor of the hospital 
of the burgh. [The Church of Scotland in 
the \3th Century, 48; Reg. Priory of St 



LINLITHGOW] 



LINLITHGOW 



45 



Andrews, 169, 180-1, 376-7; Eraser s The 
Melvilles, i, 14-16, iii, 9-10; Sir Thomas 
Johnsoun s/Vo/. Bk., 581; Reg. Great Seal, 
ii, 2694; and MS. Reg. xiii, 562; Lord High 
Treas. Aces., i, 286, 288, 307; ii, 254-6; 
Acts Scott. Parl., v, 460-1; Birch s Eccles. 
Seals, 100; Reg. Honoris de Morton, ii, 
199, 200.] 

PATRICK FRENCH, vicar, still in 
office 17th June 1588. [Cal. of 
Charters, xiii, 2973.] 

WALTER CORNWALL, reader on 16th 
1560 ^P r *l 1560, when he, along with 
Alexander Hamilton, vicar of Carri- 
den, certified the publication of banns of 
marriage in their respective churches. 
[Nicol Thoun s Prot. Book, No. 10, 3.] 

PATRICK KINLOQUHY or KIN- 
LOCH, pres. to vicarage in 1574 on 
death of Alexander Heriot and on 
19th Aug. 1587, on death of Sir Patrick 
French. He had issue Pater or Patrick of 
Kettleston, pedagogue to James, Lord 
Hamilton, son and heir to John, Marquess 
of Hamilton; Andrew, fought duel with 
swords; David; Agnes (marr. Robert Haly, 
min. of Muiravonside); Elspeth; Marion; 
Helen (marr. George, son of Nicol Corn 
wall of Bonhard). [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ivi, 72; 
Reg. Pres. Bene., i (2), 21; Linlithgowshire 
Sas., 24th Feb. 1603; Linlithgow Sher. 
Court Books, 24th June 1623; Part Reg. 
Inhib., 10th Dec. 1612, 26th June 1623.] 

WILLIAM SALMONT, M.A., Vicar of 
1563 Binny 2nd May 1565-72. [Sir 
Thomas Johnsoun s Prot. Book , 
Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries; Reg. 
of Abbrev. Feu Charters of Church Lands, 
i, 283.] 

GEORGE HEPBURN, M.A., parson 
1568 



and minister 1568. [Comps. Sub 
Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 



RICHARD FLEMING, pres. to vicar- 

1588 age ^ Binny 16th J an - 1588 n 

death of William Salmont, was min. 
of St Laurence Kirk, Slamannan. [Reg. 
Rec. Sig., Iviii, 105.] 



ROBERT CORNWALL, pres. to vicar- 
1 _ Q7 age on dem. of Patrick Kennaway. 
[P. S. Reg., cxv, 228; G. R. Sas., 
Iii, 248.] 

EPHRAIM MELVILLE, marr. 24th 
Feb. 1642 Bessie Yoole. [St. An 
drews Reg.] 



1650 



WILLIAM WEIR, was min. of West 
1691 Balder i n I 672 ; his widow, Kathe- 
rine Lunn, buried 24th Feb. 1714; 
his son James buried 13th Jan. 1728. 
[Reg. of Deeds, Linlithgow Sher. Court, 
22nd Dec. 1716.] 

ALEXANDER DALGLEISH, his 

1699 w ^ ow Susan Campbell, buried 26th 

July 1743; his daugh. Christian 

(marr. 16th July 1725 William Dalgleish). 

G. R. Sas., xxii, 409; civ, 415.] 

ROBERT DALGLEISH, his children 
1727 Alexander, buried 16th May 1730; 
Isobel (Helen), buried 15th Nov. 
1734; Mary, buried 12th Sept. 1757; 
Christian (marr. Dec. 1772 John Short, 
burgess, Bo ness). 

JAMES DOBIE, marr. (1) Isabella, 
daugh. f James Stoddart, min. of 



1792 



Kirkintilloch. 



JOHN FERGUSON, his widow, Mary 
1878 Jane Richard, died 4th Feb. 1940. 

ROBERT COUPAR, D.D. (St Andrews, 

28th June 1929); his wife, Eliza 

Nicol, died 5th Oct. 1936. He died 

at Edinburgh llth Dec. 1945. His son, 

Sydney Bell Nicol, died in France 1918. 



SECOND CHARGE 

PATRICK TRENT, his daugh. Christian 
1687 died before 10th July 1732. 

ANDREW BARCLAY, his daugh. 
170Q Margaret (marr. Sept. 1754 Robert 
Macfarlane, merchant, Edinburgh); 
his son Alexander apprenticed to William 
Mead, surgeon apothecary, Edinburgh, 
22nd June 1720. 



46 



KINGSCAVIL MUIRAVONSIDE 



[PRESB. OF 



KINGSCAVIL 

THOMAS LUGTON, died 16th Feb. 
1899 1917. 

LIVINGSTON 

The church, with a half-caracute of land 
and a croft, was given to Holyrood Abbey 
by Turstan, son of Leuing; and a charter 
of confirmation, in which the church was 
designated "the Church of the town of 
Leuing," was granted by Richard, Bishop 
of St Andrews, in 1163-5. At Stoneburn 
in the parish there was a chapel. [Charters 
of Holyrood, 11, 12, 15-16; Reg. Great 
Seal, v, 69.] 



ROBERT BALFOUR, vicar 1569-72 
and Provost of Kirk of Field. 
[Comp. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlith- 
gow, etc.] 



1569 



1573 



ROBERT HODGE, M.A., min. here 
26th Aug. and 5th Dec. 1575 and 
9th Feb. 1578; probably continued 
in charge here when min. at Bathgate and 
Torphichen (q.v.}.[Edin. Tests, vi, 302; 
Test. William Morels, 26th Aug. 1575, 
Inventories MS., Gen. Reg. House.] 

PETER HAMILTON, as min. pres. on 
dem. of Robert Balfour. [P. S. 



1585 



Reg., Ixxxii, 186.] 



PATRICK MONIPENNY, min. at The 



1610 



Hayning; marr. (1) Janet Campbell; 

(2) Beatrix or Elizabeth Muirhead, 
who marr. (2) James Flint. (Clan Camp 
bell, vi, 88; Reg. of Deeds, cccl, 58.] 

1616 JAMES ROSS, his son Walter. 

ROBERT HUNTER, son of James H., 
1718 merchant, burgess, Ayr. 



1872 



THOMAS AITON, dem. 25th Nov. 
1919, died at Edinburgh 24th April 
1923; his son William, 2nd Lieut., 
Rifle Brigade, killed in action 21st March 
1917; Agnes Hamilton, his daugh., died at 
Edinburgh 27th Dec. 1931 ; his widow, Jane 
Charteris Scott, died 23rd Jan. 1942; his 
son, Adam Charteris, died at Glasgow 6th 
Feb. 1947. 



JOHN COPLAND, M.A., Ph.D., trans. 

1920 fr m St Andrew s Presbyterian 

Church, Newcastle upon Tyne, adm. 

7th April 1920; trans, to Edzell 23rd Feb. 

1928. 

JAMES AITKEN, trans, from St James, 
Forfar (q.v.), 14th Sept. 1928, died 
13th Feb. 1945. 

(Charges united 1st Oct. 1945.) 



MUIRAVONSIDE 

The Cistercian nunnery at Manuel, 
which was situated on the left bank of the 
river Avon and was dedicated to the Virgin 
Mary, was founded by Malcolm IV before 
1164, and very probably in 1156. By 
Charter 1165-71 King William the Lion 
confirmed to the nuns that land in Manuel 
which King Malcolm, his brother, gave to 
them, by its right marches as perambulated 
. . . with common pasture and easements 
of wood for building, fencing, and fuel, so 
far as necessary for their own use. The 
same Charter also confirmed a tenth of the 
Mill of Ihetham (Yetholm) given to the 
nuns by Walter Corbat, and a holding in 
Rokesburg (Roxburgh), given by Rawenild 
of letham (Yetholm). By Charter of 22nd 
June 1224 Alexander II granted to them 
H chalders of salt from the teinds of his 
saltpans which Ralph Baret then held. The 
lands of Manuel comprised the lands, town, 
and manor of Manuel, lands of Walk- 
milton with the Mill, Myrehead, William- 
craigs, in the barony of Manuel. Other 
possessions of the nunnery were the grain 
mill called Mongall, with the mill and mill 
lands, and the dry multures of Nether and 
Over Mongall, lying in Mongall, in the 
barony of West Kers, and at least one half, 
one and a half fifth-parts and a fifth part 
of the land of Whitebaukis in the barony 
of Bellormie. To the nunnery there also 
pertained an annual rent from the fermes 
of the Burgh of Linlithgow. On 1 6th June 
1506 Pope Julius II, in response to a peti 
tion of James IV, gave commission to the 
Abbots of Cambuskenneth and Balerimo, 
and the Provost of Trinity College, Edin 
burgh, to convert the nunnery into a house 



LINLITHGOW] 



MUIRAVONSIDE QUEENSFERRY 



47 



of the Hermit Friars of the Order of St 
Augustine, Observantes. The King stated 
that no house of the Order existed in Scot 
land, that he desired the establishment of 
such a house, and that in the Nunnery of 
Manuel five nuns were resident. He asked, 
therefore, that the said nunnery be "sup 
pressed and extinguished, the nuns trans 
ferred to another place, and said Order of 
Friars introduced, a house to be built for 
their use with church, bell tower, small 
bell, cloister, refectory, churchyard, etc.; 
but it is apparent that the change was not 
carried out. On 10th Jan. 1545-6 the lands 
of Manuel, as already described, were set 
in feu by Janet Livingstone, prioress of the 
nunnery, to Alexander Livingstone, in life 
rent, and his second son, William, in fee 
for defence, promised by said Alexander, 
against those who might do her harm an 
illustration of the danger of lawless steps 
being taken in the interests of a rival to 
usurp the office of prioress in such houses. 
Then or soon afterwards the other local 
possessions of the nunnery were also set in 
feu by the said Janet. Associated with the 
office of prioress for a time was a prior. 
The seal of James Hopper, Prior of the 
Monastery of Manuel and the Convent of 
the Carmelites in Linlithgow, is attached 
to a charter of llth Jan. 1559-60. 
[Scotichronicon, i, 453, Ed. 1759; Hailes 
Annals, i, 130, Ed. 1819; Misc. Scott. Hist. 
Soc., iv, 305, 313; Transcripts from the 
Vatican, i, 148-56, MS., Reg. Ho.; Abbrev. 
Feu Charters of Church Lands, i, 167, ii, 
103, 202, MS. Reg. Ho.; Reg. Great Seal, 
iii, 3308, v, 16, 568, 649, vi, 248, 890; 
Excheq. Rolls, i, 25, iv, 25; Laing s Cat. 
Scott. Seals, ii, 204.] 

JOHN BRUCE, his widow, Isobel Ker. 

~^ G - R - Sas -> 3 Ser " xxxiv 271 
20th Nov. 1674.] 



ANDREW URIE, resident in Old 
1667 Kirk Parish, Edinburgh, with 
three children Mary, aged 6; 
Anna (marr. 15th Feb. 1699); Elizabeth, 
9th Nov. 1696. [Old Kirk Poll Tax Roll, 
23.] 



ANDREW BENNET, his daugh. Anna, 



1696 



born 9th Sept. 1713. [Bo ness 
Court of Regality, 17th Aug. 1720.] 



JAMES MACFARLANE. His issue- 
Christian (marr. 4th April 1857); 
Jane (marr. 1872), died 1901; 
Marianne (marr. 1886), died 1894; Elea- 
nora, died Perth 10th June 1932; Katharine 
Louise, died 22nd Sept. 1935; Mary 
Christie (marr. 1910 her brother-in-law 
Robert Charles Menzies, papermaker, St 
Michael s, Inveresk). died 9th Dec. 1924. 

DAVID BAYNE, dem. 1st July 1940; 
1897 died at Edinburgh 2nd Sept. 1941. 



POLMONT 

There was at Polmont, then in the parish 
of Falkirk, a chapel dedicated to the Virgin 
Mary, to which on 28th May 1498 Robert 
Bellenden, Abbot of Holyrood, granted 
an annual rent of 6 merks from the tene 
ment of the late Alexander Turing in the 
burgh of Edinburgh, above "the lower 
arch of the said burgh on the south side 
of High Street. [Reg. Great Seal, ii, 244.] 

GEORGE KEITH, born 9th March 
1871 1844. 

OSWALD BELL, his widow, Kate 
1885 Matilda Keddie, died 3rd June 1934. 

JAMES BUCHANAN MACKENZIE, 



1894 



died 4th Feb. 1926; his widow, Mary 



Bayne Mushet, died 17th July 1935; 
his son, Archibald, min. of Balfron and 
Ayr 2nd Charge; his daugh., Janet 
Buchanan, died 22nd Jan. 1944. 



1926 



JAMES WALKER MORISON 
WILLIAMSON, trans, from Pit- 
sligo (q.v.) 12th Aug. 1926. His 

wife, Susan Maxwell Elmslie, died 8th Dec. 

1935. 

QUEENSFERRY 

By Crown Charter 9th July 1635, ratified 
by Act of Parliament 9th July 1641, the 
Chapel of St Michael in the Burgh was 



48 



QUEENSFERRY SLAMANNAN 



[PRESB. OF 



erected into the parish church. [Reg. Mag. 
Sig., 9th July 1635; Acts of Par!., i, 570.] 

JOHN PRIMROSE, his widow was 
resident in Tron Parish, Edinburgh, 
8th Nov. 1694. [Tron Poll Tax 
Roll, 6.] 

JOHN PHILIP OF ORMISTON. Reg. 



1678 



of Deeds , Mack. Ixxxiii, 10th Nov. 
1698.] 



JOHN DALGLEISH, marr. Agnes, 
daugh- of Gideon Wauchope of 
Pendicle. [Reg. of Deeds Dal., 
liii, 576.] 

DONALD CAMPBELL, son of John 
C., min. of Monzieward; his son, 
John. [Reg. of Deeds Mack., xc, 
22nd Jan. 1702.] 

JOHN GRIERSON, his daugh. Janet 



1700 



(marr. William Somerville, min. of 
Hawick.] 



JAMES KID, his son James, apprentice 
171ft to James Lorimer, merchant, Edin 
burgh, 20th May 1747. 

THOMAS DIMMA, his daugh. Laura 



1820 



(marr. John Gardner, Queensferry, 
and went to America.) 



JOHN WHYTE, his daugh. Mary Ruth 
(marr. John Stewart, min. of 



1872 



Bridgegate). 



DAVID MILLER, his widow, Margaret 



1884 



Fender Hay, died 5th Dec. 1931; 

his daugh. Elizabeth Constance Wini 
fred (marr. John William Thomson, bank 
agent, Mid Calder) died 2nd April 1932. 

WILLIAM BOWER WILSON, dem. 

8th March 1944, died 4th June 1944; 

his daugh. Molly, M.B., Ch.B. 
(Edin.), awarded, 18th July 1934, Dorothy 
Gilfillan Memorial Prize and the Prize of 
the Scottish Association for Medical Edu 
cation of Women to most distinguished 
woman graduate; his daugh. Marion, B.Sc. 
(marr. 5th July 1939 Dr Charles, lecturer 
on Applied Mathematics, Liverpool Uni 
versity, son of E. Strachan, 213 Forest 
Avenue, Aberdeen). 



SLAMANNAN 

RICHARD FLEMING, reader and vicar 
pensionary 1565 and in 1569; pres. 
to vicarage of Binning 16th Jan. 

1588. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin- 

lithgow and Dumfries, etc.] 

ADAM MURRAY, pres. to parsonage 

1566 an< ^ v i cara e 17th May 1566 by 

John, son and heir of the late John 

Sandilands of Calder Cleir. [Reg. Sec. 

Sig., xxxiv, 81.] 

JAMES DALRYMPLE, min. in 1568. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin- 

,. , .. 

lithgow, etc.] 

GAVIN NASMYTH, Exhorter 1568. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin- 

,. f ., 

lithgow, etc.] 

THOMAS AMBROSE, eldest son of 
William A., merchant burgess of 
Stirling, and Christian Anderson, 
and brother of Alexander, min. of New- 
battle. [Edin. Tests, 3rd Dec. 1 606.] 

GEORGE PHIN, marr. cont. 25th July 
1 684, Susannah, daugh. of Alexan 
der Simpson of Stonehouse. [G. R. 
Sas., 2 Ser., xiv, 436; Deeds Durie, 1706, 
No. 719.] 

JAMES STEVENSON, his son, John, 
1691 min. of Cathcart. 

JOHN STEVENSON, his widow, Isobel 
Smith, died at Glasgow 16th Jan. 



1607 



1661 



1709 



1763. 



JAMES MACNAIR, pres. 26th Sept. 
1788 1787. 

ALEXANDER DAVIDSON, his son 

1826 Alexander born 24th Oct - 1821 
died young; his daugh. Anne (marr. 

10th June 1834 Henry James Taylor of 
Southfield). 



1856 



ROBERT STEVENSON HORNE, pres. 
31st March 1856; his widow, Mary 
Lochhead, died at Edinburgh 26th 
Nov. 1925; his sons Right Hon. Sir 
Robert Stevenson, P.C., G.B.E., LL.D., 
M.P. Hillhead, Minister of Labour 1919, 



LINLITHGOW] 



SLAMANNAN UPHALL 



49 



President of the Board of Trade 1920-1, 
Chancellor of the Exchequer 1921-2, 
created Viscount 12th May 1937, died 3rd 
Sept. 1940; Thomas Lochhead, died 2nd 
Dec. 1916. 

ALLAN REID, died 5th Sept. 1922; 
his widow, Jessie Baird Macdonald, 



1892 



died 30th Sept. 1933. 



ARCHIBALD MORTON PATERSON, 



1923 



M.A., ord. 28th Feb. 1923; trans, 
to Tarbolton 15th Dec. 1927. 



NINIAN ELLIOT, born Edinburgh 12th 
June 1898, son of John E., Surveyor 
of Taxes, H.M. Customs and Excise, 
and Margaret Craig Melville, educated at 
George Watson s College, Edinburgh; 
Grammar School and Univ. of Aberdeen, 
M.A. (1920), B.D. (1923); served in Great 
War as Signaller, R.G.A., in France 
1917-18; licen. by Presb. of Aberdeen 1923; 
assistant Aberdeen West, 1923; ord. to St 
Leonard s, Lanark, 19th Feb. 1925; trans, 
and adm. llth April 1928; trans, to Sorbie 
5th April 1945. Marr. 12th Dec. 1939 
Margaret, youngest daugh. of Rev. William 
Skinner, C.I.E., D.D., Principal, Madras 
College and had issue: Helen, born 14th, 
died 19th March 1941; Jane Melville, born 
23rd March 1943. 

(Charges of Slamannan and Balquhatson 
united 25th Oct. 1945.) 



TORPHICHEN 

There was an altar dedicated to St Ninian 
and another to the Virgin Mary. [Nicol 
Thounis Prot. Book, 44 n .] 

SIR THOMAS DICKSON, vicar, 
cousin and intimate servitor of John, 
Archbishop of St Andrews, vicar 

1558-71. [Cal. of Charters, x, 2112; Reg. 

Abbrev. Feu Charters of Church Lands, ii, 

226; Compts. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlith- 

gow.] 



ROBERT HODGE, 

1572 i, 27.] 



[G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., 



THOMAS VASSIE, son of William V., 
1639 burgess of Lanark. 

WILLIAM BAIN, eldest son of John B., 
1682 wr ^ ht burgess of Musselburgh; 
resident with his wife in Tron par., 
Edinburgh, 9th Nov. 1694; his daugh. 
Alison (marr. George Boswell, writer, 
Edinburgh). [Tron Poll Tax Roll, 6; Abb. 
Adj., 2nd March 1726.] 

JOHN McKERLIE JOHNSTONE, 
1879 licen. 9th May 1871. 

GEORGE BEALE, dem. 1931 and 
R charges united 16th May 1931; died 
1st Feb. 1945. Publications Con 
tributions to West Lothian Courier on 
Nature Knowledge, Birds, Folklore, Anti 
quities, Poetry and General Literature; 
Brochures on Torphichen Preceptory, The 
Knights of St John of Jerusalem, etc. 

UPHALL 

ROBERT PITCAIRN, Commendator 



1572 



of Dunfermline, held the parsonage 
1572. [Compts. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Linlithgow, etc.] 

SIR PATRICK OGSTONE, vicar 1572. 

1572 \. Com P ts - Sub ColL f Thirds, 
Linlithgow, etc.] 

GEORGE BARCLAY, min. of meeting 
1690 house at Gargunnock 1688. 

ALEXANDER KEITH, marr. (2) Mar 
garet Hamilton. [G. R.Sas., 2 Ser., 



1699 



ix, 240, July 1654.] 



WILLIAM GIB, marr. Elizabeth, daugh. 
1763 of Robert Rentoul of Middleton. 

JOHN FERGUSON, according to Aber 
deen Univ. Records, 346, his father 



1798 



was James F., London. 



1868 



WILLIAM JOHNSTON, his widow, 
Elizabeth Arbuckle, died 20th Oct. 



1916. 



50 



UPHALL WINCHBURGH 



[PRESB. OF LINLITHGOW 



CHARLES DUNN, born Leochel Cush- 
nie, licen. March 1900, died sud- 



1912 



denly 13th March 1931. 
WHITBURN 



1732 



ALEXANDER WARDROBE, his son 

David apprentice to John Wallace, 



surgeon, Edinburgh, 9th Nov. 1748. 

ROBERT BRUCE MACKINNON, his 

son, Robert Alexander, died 26th 
Dec. 1922. 



1912 



1904 



WINCHBURGH 

HUGH ARMSTRONG, licen. llth 
June 1890, died at Edinburgh 9th 
Feb. 1930. He marr. (2) 22nd Aug. 
1916, Amelia Barr, daugh. of J. Miller, 
Dairy Road, Edinburgh, and had issue 
Margaret Sybil Ross (marr. 26th May 1927, 
Laurence Harrower, Hamilton, Bermuda); 
Aimes Isabel Josephine, born 4th Jan. 1918; 
Hugh Ian Oliphant, born 22nd Jan. 1923; 
Anne Jane, born 24th Nov. 1926. 



PRESBYTERY OF BIGGAR 



BIGGAR 

The church in 1545 was erected on the 
site of the old building dedicated to St 
Nicholas. Associated with the church 
there was a hospital, dedicated to St 
Leonard, called the House of Biggar. On 
10th Aug. 1531 John Tweedie of Drum- 
melziar granted an annual rent of 10 from 
his lands of Drummelziar to Sir Andrew 
Brown, Chaplain, and his successors as 
chaplains, for perpetual celebrations in 
Biggar Church for the soul of John, Lord 
Fleming, slain on 1st Nov. 1524 by said 
John Tweedie s son James and his kinsmen 
and associates. The grant was in fulfilment 
of a Decreet Arbitral with reference to the 
foresaid murder between Malcolm, Lord 
Fleming, son and successor of the said 
John, Lord Fleming, and the said John 
Tweedie. On 10th Jan. 1545-6 Malcolm, 
Lord Fleming, erected the church into a 
collegiate church in honour of the Trinity 
and the Virgin Mary, for a provost, 8 
canons and prebendaries, 4 boys having 
children s voices, and 6 poor men. At his 
own charge Lord Malcolm built a stately 
Church in the village of Biggar, dedicated 
to our Lady of Assumption." The founda 
tion was confirmed by the Papal Legate on 
14th March 1545-6. To the provostry was 
assigned the Church of Thankerton, with 
its rents, fruits and emoluments and manse 
and glebe, the provost being held bound to 
pay to a curate having the care of the souls 
of the parishioners of Thankerton 10 
Scots besides 2 acres of land of the pro 
vostry beside the church for a manse and 
garden. The First Prebendary was called 
the Prebendary of the Hospital of St 
Leonard. He was the preceptor of the 



Song School; and to him were assigned the 
lands of Spittal. The Second Prebendary 
was the Preceptor of Grammar Study; and 
to him were assigned the lands of Auchin- 
reoch in the barony of Auchtermony in the 
county of Stirling. The Third Prebendary 
was the sacrist of the church; and to him 
were assigned the chaplainry of St Mary 
at Kirkintilloch, founded upon the lands 
of Garnegaber and Auchyndavy, 6 merks 
annual rent in Kirkintilloch and 2 acres for 
a manse and garden pertaining to the said 
Chaplainry. The Fourth Prebendary was 
the preceptor of the praying poor and the 
administrator and distributer of their 
victual and other emoluments; and to him 
were assigned 10 Scots annual rent from 
the lands of Drummelzier, and 7 6s. 8d. 
from the fruits, etc., of the parsonage and 
vicarage of Biggar. To each of the other 
prebendaries was assigned 7 6s. 8d. from 
the parsonage and vicarage, and of the 
church lands of the same. The Eighth 
Prebendary was the vicar-pensioner of the 
"Parish Church of Biggar erected into a 
College"; and he had a seat with the other 
prebendaries in the choir, and sang and 
exercised the divine office there except 
when he was occupied with the cure of the 
said church and the administration of the 
Sacraments to the parishioners. In 1555 
the Church of Dunrod was collated to the 
collegiate church. One of the altars in the 
church was dedicated to the Holy Rood. 
[Reg. Great Seal, iii, 1093, 1531; Charter 
Chest of Earl of Wigton, 409, 466, 478, 
486-8, 529, 530, 602; Scott. Rec. Soc.; 
Calendar of Yester Writs, 117, 157, 160; 
Scott. Rec. Soc.; Charters of Holy rood, 
294-8; Mis. of Spalding Club, v, 296-308; 
see Thankerton, Dunrod, Kirkintilloch.] 



51 



52 



BIGGAR GLENHOLM 



[PRESB. OF 



WILLIAM MILLAR, reader, 1567 and 
156? 1568. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Linlithgow.] 

THOMAS CAMPBELL. [G. R. Sas., 

1599 2 Sen, xv, 46.] 

ROBERT LIVINGSTON, his son 

Alexander apprentice to George 



1696 



Lawson, merchant, Edinburgh, llth 
Nov. 1705. 

WILLIAM HAIG, son of James H. of 
1751 Orchardfarm. 

JOHN JOHNSTON, marr. (1) ; (2) 

8th 1754 Aug. 1755. 

WILLIAM WATSON, his daugh. Janet 
1787 (marr. 3rd June 1823). 

JOHN CHRIST1SON, his daugh. Ann 
1822 Hay (marr. 19th Aug. 1851). 

WILLIAM NEWBIGGING, his widow 
1874 Sarah Wilson died 1st Nov. 1926. 

WILLIAM GRANT DUNCAN, died 



1884 



suddenly 22nd Oct. 1933; his wife 



Ann Williamson Matthew died 5th 
March 1924; his daughs. Catherine 
Matthew (marr. (1) 10th March 1927 John 
Thomson, Edenside, Strathmiglo; (2) 25th 
Jan. 1938 Thomas Robinson, Indian 
Police); Jean Ogilvy (marr. 22nd July 1919, 
Gerard Hassell Williams, M.C., Birken- 
head); Ann Williamson (marr. 10th April 
1929 John Myles Caie, M.C., M.B., Ch.B., 
Biggar). 

DAVID SINCLAIR RUTHERFORD, 



1928 



born 25th Nov. 1896, son of Robert 



William R., min. of Gartsherrie, 
educ. at Royal High School, Fettes College 
and Univs. of Edinburgh and Glasgow, 
M.A. (1920); served in France Aug. 1916 
to Dec. 1916, Lieut. 3 Welsh Regiment; 
Black Bursar; Licen. by Presb. of Hamilton 
1921; assist. St Mary s, Edinburgh, 1922; 
ord. to Ochiltree 3rd May 1923; trans to 
Biggar (ass. and sue.) 20th June 1928. 
Marr. 16th April 1924 Catherine Jardine, 
youngest daughter of Laurence Crawford, 
J.P., Coatbridge, and has issue David 
William, born 28th Nov. 1925; Laurence 
Crawford, born 9th July 1933. 



BROUGHTON 

WALTER TWEEDIE, reader and vicar 
pensioner 1562, designated min. 
28th Nov. 1588. [Comps. Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Roxburgh.] 

THOMAS GRAY, his daugh. Mary 
(marr. 9th Jan. 1824 James Usher, 
writer, Edinburgh). 



1769 



ALEXANDER THOMSON COSENS, 



1854 



his son Peter Hunter, W.S., died 26th 
Nov. 1931; his daughs. Alexandra 
Jeanette died 1st Dec. 1929; Ann Thomson 
(Mrs Napier) died 14th Feb. 1944; his son 
Robert Romanes died 5th Sept. 1944. 

ANDREW BAIRD, died 7th Jan. 
1892 1935. 



GLENHOLM 

By Bull of 29th July 1272 Pope Gregory 
X confirmed the grant of the church to the 
Abbey of Scone by John Fraser of Glen- 
holm. [Book of Scone, 83.] 

JOHN PORTEOUS, vicar in 1568 and 



1568 



1569. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 



GEORGE TOD, reader and vicar pen 
sioner 1563 to 18th Dec. 1574. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Rox 
burgh, and Edin. Tests., iii, 441.] 



1569 



WALTER TWEEDY, appears to have 
been parson just prior to 1571. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Rox 
burgh, etc.] 



1571 



JAMES STEWART, son of Sir John S. 
of Minto and his second wife 
Margaret, daugh. of James Stewart 
of Cardonald, and brother of Walter, Prior 
of Blantyre; pres. to parsonage and 
vicarage, which is ane chaplaine within the 
chapel of Stirling, 3rd Aug. 1571, on death 
of William Hamilton, parson of Cambus- 
lang, last parson and vicar. [Scots 
Peerage, ii, 80; P. S. Reg., xxxix, 14; Reg. 
Pres. Bene., i, (2), 18; Comps. Coll. Gen. of 
Thirds.] 



BIGGAR] 



GLENHOLM COULTER 



53 



JAMES TOD, reader, 20th Feb. 1572-3. 
1572 [Test, Inventories, MS. Reg. Ho.] 

JOHN JAMIESON, vicar pensioner/ 
13th April 1574. [Co/. Laing Char- 



1574 



ters, 890.] 



JOHN HEPBURN, M.A., pres. to 
parsonage and vicarage 31st Dec. 
1591 on death of James Stewart. 
[P. S. Reg., Ixiii, 92.] 

ROBERT JOHNSTON, marr. Mar 
garet Lawrie; died before 15th Nov. 
1642. [Reg. of Deeds Dal., xxxviii, 
212; Acts and Dec., iii, 340.] 

SIMON KELLIE, eldest son of John K., 
tailor burgess of Glasgow. His son 
John, apprenticed to Robert Mc- 

Kinlay, merchant, Edinburgh, 9th Dec. 

1720; his daughs. Marion (marr. Jan. 

1768 James Sommers, writer, Edinburgh); 

Helen (marr. James Dean, farmer in 

Chapelgill of Glenholm). 

KILBUCHO 

There was a hermitage at Kilbucho. 
Cosmo, hermit of Kylbovkhoe, was witness 
to a writ regarding the division of Stobo 
about 1200. [Reg. of Glasgow, i, 89.] 

WILLIAM PORTEOUS, reader and 



1567 



vicar pensioner 1559-72; confirmed 
in office 28th April 151Q.[Comps. 
Coll. Gen. of Thirds; Edin. Tests., iii, 50-1.] 

GEORGE AUCHINLECK of BAL- 

15?1 MANNO, parson 1571-86. 
[Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds , Comps. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Roxburgh, etc.] 

ANDREW JARDINE, reader, 28th 

1574 Nov. 1580. [Edin. Tests., viii, 292.] 

WALTER TWEEDIE, min. at Brough- 

1575 ton, in charge here. 

JOHN TAIT, son of James T., merchant 



1700 



burgess of Edinburgh; his son James, 



wright, burgess of Edinburgh 15th 
May 1728; his daugh. Isobel (marr. John 
Tait, staymaker, Alnwick). 



WILLIAM TAIT, marr. Grissel, daugh. 
of James Dick, min. of Wynd, Glas- 
gow; his son Robert died at sea 17th 
March 1793. 



COULTER 

ARCHIBALD LIVINGSTON, rector, 



1560 



1st Sept. 1563. [Sir Thos. John- 
stoun s Prot. Book, 682.] 



JAMES FOTHERINGHAM, exhorter, 
1563. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Stirling, etc.] 

JOHN LIVERANCE, exhorter, 1563. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 
etc.] 



1563 



JOHN GOLD, exhorter, 1568. [Comps. 
1568 Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 

WILLIAM MILLAR, reader, 5th March 
1576 1516. [Edin. Tests., v, 64.] 



1654 



ANTHONY MURRAY, had sasine 
with his wife Grissel Muir, of the 
lands of Westerhills, Lanarkshire; 
marr. (2) Jean Murray with issue Jean, 
both residing in the Canongate 13th Nov. 
1694; his widow marr. (2) Alexander 
Bertram of Nisbet. [Canongate Poll Tax 
Roll; G. R. Sas., 3 Ser., xxxi, 12th Dec. 
1672.] 

JAMES FORRESTER, his son Robert, 
apprenticed to George Andrew, 
merchant, Edinburgh, 24th Aug. 
1720. 

JOHN BROWN, his daughs. Marion 

1750 ( marr - pro - 6th A?"! 1791 John 

Thomson of Comiston, merchant, 

Edinburgh); Euphemia, died 5th Dec. 1793. 

JOHN ANDERSON, died at Corstor- 
1862 phine 27th March 1922, aged 101. 

JOHN COWAN HAMILTON, dem. 



1891 



30th June 1932; died 1st Aug. 1943; 



his wife, Jessie Burns Shearer, died 
29th Jan. 1938; his son Arnold Angus, 
M.D., died at Broughton, 9th Sept. 1937; 
his daugh., Leslie Bail lie Shearer (marr. 
30th Nov. 1935 Robert Murray Methven, 
Calcutta). 



D* 



54 



COVINGTON DUNSYRE 



[PRESB. OF 



COVINGTON 

HEW LINDSAY, son of John L. of 
Covington. Marr. Katherine Arthur 
and had issue Hew; Patrick. 



1608 



GEORGE OGSTOUN, marr. Abigail, 



1621 



daugh. of James Baillie, Min. of 
Lamington. 



JOHN BUCHANAN, marr. Catherine 
Spreull. [Abbey Proclam. 26th June 



1691 



1692.] 



1890 



JAMES HOGGAN, his widow, Isabel 
1865 Gibson, died 30th Sept. 1921. 

WILLIAM COVINGTON MAC- 
GREGOR, dem. 1st Dec. 1931; 
died 9th April 1942. 

THANKERTON 

About 1180 Agnes de Brus granted to 
Kelso Abbey the church of the town of 
Thankerton, which is called the Wode- 
kyrch (Woodchurch); and at the same 
period Simon Lockard made a similar 
grant, the designation being "the Church 
which is called the Wudechirche. " The 
confirmation charter of Jocelyn, Bishop of 
Glasgow, also about the same date, has 
the description, "the Church of Wude- 
kirche with the whole parish as well of 
Thankerton as of the town of Symon 
Lockard." On 1st May 1542 the Arch 
bishop of Glasgow ratified the transference 
of the patronage of the church by Kelso 
Abbey on 26th Nov. 1 540, with consent of 
David Hamilton, Rector of Thankerton, to 
the Collegiate Church of Biggar which 
Malcolm, Lord Fleming, intended to build. 
To a vicar-pensioner for Thankerton there 
was reserved 20 merks Scots with 4 acres 
of land at Kelso. The consent of the 
Commendator (Gavin) of Kelso to the 
transference bears that "all of them in 
these evil times in the increase of Lu- 
theranism" are "obliged to contribute to 
so good a work," and that Lord Fleming 
might not be diverted from so good a work 
nor receive any prejudice by the abbey 
having the patronage. [Book of Kelso, i, 
227, 318-20; Reg. Epis. of Glasgow, ii, 272; 



Charter Chest of Earl of Wigton, 522; Scott 
Rec.Soc.} 

THOMAS BAIKIE of St Thomas 
Chapel, parson and vicar, 1595-7. 
[Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.} 



1595 



DOLPHINTON 

THOMAS LUNDY, exhorter, 1569. 
1569 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Rox 
burgh, etc.] 



ARCHIBALD DOUGLAS, M.A., pres. 

1592 t0 P arsona S e 28th March 1592 on 
death of John Cockburn. 

JOHN KELLIE, pres. to vicarage 9th 
April 1592 on death of John Cock- 
burn of Newholm. [P. S. Reg., 
Ixiii, 229, 248.] 

ALEXANDER SOMERVILLE, marr. 



1592 



1618 



(2) Margaret Cockburn and had 
issue James; John; Agnes; Jean. 
[G. R. Sas., xxi, 239, 19th July 1631.] 

WILLIAM DUGUID, portioner of 
Appletree-leaves. [G. R. Sas., 2 Ser. 
x, 180.] 

JAMES CRUICKSHANKS, marr. 
Margaret Oswald. [Edin. Sas., vii, 
116.] 

JOHN SANDILANDS, his son James 



1665 



1684 



1693 



apprenticed to Robert Mowbray, 
wright, Edinburgh, 28th May 1707. 

JOHN SANDILANDS, his son John, 
1711 min. of Sanquhar. 

JOHN AITON, his daugh. Ruth died at 
1825 Musselburgh 24th Nov. 1939. 

JAMES RUTH GILRUTH, dep. 
1899 1928. 

ROBERT BROWN WISEMAN, trans, 
from St John s, Kirkcaldy, 1st June 



1928 



1928; dem. 28th May 1938. 



(United to Dunsyre 2Sth Dec. 1941.) 

DUNSYRE 

ROBERT DENHOLME, pres. to 
vicarage 31st May 1577 on death of 
1577 Sir Robert Greig. [Reg. Pres. Bene. 
i, 55.] 



BIGGAR] 



DUNSYRE SKIRLING 



55 



1647 



ROBERT SOMERVILLE, son of 

Patrick S. in Grene, was pres. in 
1601 on death of Robert Denholme. 
[P. S. Reg., Ixxii, 167.] 

THOMAS SOMERVILLE, min. here 
pres. to parsonage 22nd Jan. 1603. 
[P. S. Reg., Ixxiii, 171.] 

ROBERT LOCKHART, marr. (2) 
Eleis, daugh. of William Dunlop, 
elder of Crage.[Reg. of Deeds, 1st 
Dec. 1663.] 

ROBERT SKENE, son of James S., 
1678 merchant, Aberdeen; Lyon Depute. 

JAMES BRADFUTE, born 22nd July 
1681, marr. 4th June 1717; had 
issue Elizabeth, born 13th March 
1718; Janet, born 8th May 1720. 

JOHN BRADFUTE, born 10th Nov. 
1725; his son James min. at Penrith; 
his son John, died 16th Jan. 1837. 
[Ex information Miss Margaret Tait.] 

WILLIAM SMITH, dem. 25th Oct. 
1920; died at Carnwath 29th Nov. 
1921. 



1713 



1751 



1877 



ROBERT WILSON TURNBULL, ord. 



1921 



llth March 1921; trans, to Kirk- 
michael 5th June 1925. 



WILLIAM MUIRHEAD, born 16th 



1925 



March 1864, son of Robert M., 



farmer, and Isabella Wallace; educ. 
at Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1884); licen. 
by Presb. of Dunbarton May 1889; assist. 
Langholm 1918-19; locum St Margaret s, 
Arbroath; assist. St Michael s, Edinburgh; 
Temperance Committee Deputy; ord. llth 
Sept. 1925; dem. 24th Feb. 1948. 

LIBBERTON 

For the souls of himself, Christian, his 
wife, etc., Sir John Maxwell of Carlaverock, 
Lord of Maxwell, granted the church to 
Kilwinning Abbey, the rights of Sir Robert 
Glene, rector, being reserved. The grant 
was confirmed by Charter of David II in 
1364, and by Bull of Pope Gregory IX, 
25th Nov. 1312. [Reg. Great Seal, i, 182; 
Theiner s Vet. Mon., 347-8.] 



GEORGE ALEXANDER, reader, 1569. 



1569 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin- 
lit hgow.] 



ALEXANDER CHALMERS, vicar. 
1574 [Acts and Dec., Ivi, 55.] 

JAMES HAMILTON. [Acts and Dec., 
1574 cxxx, 258.] 

ALEXANDER SPITTAL, was of the 
family of Spittal, either of Blairlogie 
or Leuchat. [Stephen s Inverkeith- 
ing and Rosyth, 482.] 



1590 



ROBERT LIVINGSTONE, his son 



1649 



Samuel apprentice to James Tait, 
merchant, Edinburgh, 24th July 
1672. [G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., xiv, 171.] 

JAMES STUART, marr. a daugh. of 
1697 John Ingles of Eastshiel. 

JOHN LAWRIE, his widow Isobel 
1857 Stark died 14th Nov. 1921. 

JOHN PICKEN, died 31st July 1935; 



1890 



his daugh. Mary (marr. 9th July 



1932, Alister John Frazer, B.Sc., 
A.M.I.C.E.). 

QUOTHQUAN 

JAMES HAMILTON, min. in 1569. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin- 

. i -, 

lithgow, etc.] 

SIR THOMAS SOMERVILLE, parson 
1 _- and min. in 1 576; had a son Thomas. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixiv, 28; Comps. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 

JOHN CHIESLIE, min. 3rd March 
1606 1606. [Fraser Charters.] 

ROBERT BROWN. [G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., 
1652 iii, 76, 160, 238.] 

SKIRLING 

JOHN COCKBURN, of Newholme; 



1525 



parson 30th April 1558 and 21st 



Aug. 1568; also parson of Roberton. 
[Reg. of Deeds, ii, 463; vi, 467; viii, 133; 
xii, 144; Reg. Sec. Seal, Ixiii, 229, 248.] 



56 



SKIRLING WANDEL 



[PRESB. OF 



JOHN MURRAY, marr. Katherine 
1701 Douglas (died 6th June 1756). 

JOHN BROWN ARMSTRONG, his 
widow, Rhoda Charlotte Mary 
Truman, died 3rd April 1948. 



1888 



THOMAS MUIR, his wife, Joanna 
Mavor, died 31st May 1933; his son, 



1904 



John, min. of Foulden. 



SYMINGTON 

At first called the chapel of the town of 
Symon, the church, under the designation 
of the Church of Symonstoun, was granted 
to the Bishopric of Glasgow by Simon 
Lockard about 1 1 80, with confirmation by 
William the Lion in 1195-9. [Reg. Epis. 
of Glasgow, ii, 267, 269, 272.] 

1607 ROBERT LINDSAY, M.A. 

JOHN LAW, son of Mungo L., min. 
1665 of Greyfriars, Edinburgh. 

PATRICK MITCHELL. [Act Book, 
1700 10th March 1712.] 



1813 



JOHN SMITH, his daughs. May 
(marr. 9th Jan. 1828); Grace Hen 



derson, died 28th Dec. 1869. 



JOHN FORBES, his daughs. Elizabeth 
Isabella (Mrs John Murray Bell) 
died 7th Sept. 1938; Margaret 
Matilda died 3rd Nov. 1946. 



JOHN ALEXANDER, licen. 15th May 
1879; died 29th March 1926. Marr. 
(2) 20th June 1916 Martha Crouch, 
who died 27th Oct. 1932. 



1851 



GEORGE CALDWELL, died 22nd 
May 1927. His son, James Robert 
Macdonald, 2 Lieut. R.F.A., killed 
in action 27th Oct. 1918. 



1891 



1928 



JOHN W. SPENCE, formerly of Buck- 

haven (4- v )> dem - 23rd Nov - 1926; 
assist. Barony; adm. here 26th Jan. 

1928; died 20th Oct. 1945. 

(Charges united IQth Feb. 1946.) 



WALSTON 

DAVID DALGLEISH, as Sir David D. 

1560 he ^ the y i cara e at 1560 and being 

reader, had conformed; died before 

20th May 1567. [Reg. Sec. Seal, xxxvii, 5.] 

WALTER TWEEDIE, was pres. to the 
156 _ vicarage 20th May 1567. [Reg. 
Sec. Seal, xxxvii, 5.] 

THOMAS LINDSAY, his daugh. Mary 
(marr. Robert Nairne, min. of Car- 



1580 



michael). 



THOMAS LINDSAY, marr. Mary 
Livingston. [G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., vi, 



1621 



355; Reg. of Deeds Dal., i, 456.] 



PATRICK ANDERSON, marr. Mar- 



1689 



garet, second daugh. of James 



Threipland, Chamberlain of Biggar. 
[G. R. Sas., 3 Ser., iii, 334; xxxvi, 240, 
1st Nov. 1675.] 

THOMAS LINNING, had a son 
1705 Thomas. 

PATRICK MOLLISON, his daugh. 
1788 Ann died at London, 6th May 1857. 

JAMES EADIE, trans, to Macduff, 16th 
1904 June 1916. 

THOMAS BLANEY, born 2nd Jan. 



1916 



1885, son of Thomas B., surface 



man, and Agnes Brown Steele; licen. 
by Presb. of Lanark 6th May 1913; ord. 
13th Oct. 1916; marr. 2nd Jan. 1917, 
Elizabeth, daugh. of William Scott and 
Jessie Tennant. 

WANDEL 

NICOL CRAWFORD, M.A., min. 
parson and vicar of Hartside 1 560- 
69.[Comps. of Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 



1664 



JOHN HAMILTON, marr. Jean Sharp 
and had issue Jane (marr. cont. 
22nd and 24th June 1653 Archibald 
Bannatyne of Lubors); Mary (marr. (1) 
William Power, merchant, Edinburgh; (2) 



BIGGAR] 



WANDEL LAMINGTON 



57 



Ninian Spence of Wester Kames). [House 
of Hamilton 549; G. R. Inhib., 200, 1665; 
Reg. of Deeds, dxxxix, 129, 1643; Argyll 
Sas., i, 87.] 

DAVID BLINSHALL, his son Baillie, 
apprentice to Malcolm Brown, 
saddler, Edinburgh, 14th June 1749; 
his daugh. Ann died 8th April 1806. 

CHARLES HOPE, his daugh. Janet 
1821 Sarah died 27th Nov. 1914. 

ROBERT RANKIN, marr. Theresa 
Margaret, daugh. of John George 
Claus, shipowner, Liverpool; she 
died 12th June 1937; his sons Kenneth 
Phin, died at Plymouth 7th March 1919; 
Robert Andrew Smith, died 7th Feb. 1943; 
Right Hon. Sir George Claus, P.C., Chief 
Justice, Bengal, 1926-34; Member of 



Judicial Committee of Privy Council, 1935; 
died 8th April 1946. 

CHARLES JOHN RITCHIE, D.D. 

(St Andrews, 28th June 1932); dem. 
31st Jan. 1934; died at Edinburgh 
21st March 1937. 



LAMINGTON 

On 30th March 1448 there occurs Archi 
bald Jardin, rector, of the other or second 
part, called the Rectory of Hartside, of the 
parish church of Lamington; the parish 
church of Hartside is mentioned on 26th 
Jan. 1451-2; and on 7th July 1460 the 
Rectory of Hartside is given as constituting 
the other or second part of the Rectory of 
Lamington. [Cat. Papal Regs.; Letters, 
x, 184, 550; xi, 575.] 



PRESBYTERY OF PEEBLES 



DRUMELZIER 

On the south side of the stream of 
Kingledoors there was a chapel dedicated 
to St Cuthbert. By Sir Simon Fraser, who 
died a short time prior to 15th Jan. 1291-2, 
the chapel, along with the lands of South 
Kingledoors and Hopcarthne, was granted 
to Melrose Abbey, confirmation being 
given by Sir Simon s son, Sir Simon Fraser, 
Kt. Cristin, hermit of Kingledoors, is 
recorded about 1200. The chapel may have 
been a hermitage. [Munimenta de Metros, 
318-19; Rotuli Scotiae, i, 7; Reg. of Glas 
gow, i, 89.] 

THOMAS BISSAIT, exhorter, 1563; 



1563 



designated minister 5th Dec. 1575. 

[Test, of Peter Waych, llth Jan. 
1575-6, Edin. Commis. , Test. Inventories, 
MS. Reg. Ho.; Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Roxburgh, etc.] 

JAMES SIMPSON, eldest son of James 
1683 S., cordiner, Glasgow. 

WILLIAM WELSH, marr. Marion, 



1787 



daugh. of Gavin Waugh, baker, 
Edinburgh. 



JAMES SOMERVILLE, his daugh. 
1810 Rachel died 2nd Dec. 1875. 

JOHN TAYLOR, his daugh. Mary 
1843 Alison died 12th Jan. 1918. 

WILLIAM MILNE, his widow, Alexan- 



1877 



drina Hill Lindsay, died Edinburgh 
25th Feb. 1932; his daugh. Janette 
Murray Lindsay (marr. 21st Jan. 1926 John 
Archibald Hunter, Malay States). 

MUNRO SOMERVILLE, trans, to 
1900 Newhaven 12th Oct. 1916. 



NORMAN GOTTFRIED RESTING, 
M.A., ord. 20th April 1917; trans, 
to Knoxland 29th Sept. 1927. 

GILMOUR NEILL, born 31st Dec. 
1926 1880, son of Matthew N., min. of 
Urney and Sion Mills parish, 
Tyrone; educ. at Royal School, Raphoe; 
Royal Univ. of Ireland; Magee College, 
Londonderry; licen. by Presb. of Strabane, 
12th May 1905; assist. First Presbyterian 
Church, Lisburn; ord. to Hillhall Church 
8th May 1907; trans, to St Andrew s 
Church, Portsmouth, 1913; Chaplain to 
H.M. Forces, 5th Army; wounded in France 
1918; Acting Chaplain to Presbyterian 
Troops, Portsmouth, Oct. 1920; adm. by 
General Assembly 26th May 1921, locum 
tenens Moffat, adm. to Moffat 25th Dec. 
1921, trans, and adm. 21st May 1926; died 
2nd May 1933. Marr. July 1907 Helen 
Maude Neil (died 26th Nov. 1943) and 
had issue Helen Christine, born 8th June 
1908. 



EDDLESTON 

In later medieval times the church was 
dedicated to the Virgin Mary. About 1 140 
Eddleston appears on record as Pentjacob 
or Pentejacob. On 5th April 1170 the 
designation is Gillemorestun, the "town" 
of Gille More, St Mary s servant or 
devotee. Somewhat later, 1176-89, the 
lands were granted by Richarde de More- 
ville, constable of Scotland, to Edulf, son 
of Uchtred, from whom arose the designa 
tion Eddleston, Edulfston. The church was 
rebuilt in 1829. Possibly Harehope in this 
parish was the site of the "House of St 
Lazarus of Harop, the Master of which, 



58 



PRESB. OF PEEBLES] EDDLESTON INNERLEITHEN 



59 



Friar William Corbert, in 1296 had letters 
from Edward I of England to the Sheriff 
of Edinburgh for restitution of the lands of 
his house in the shire of Edinburgh. Land 
in the parish called St Mungo s Row 
suggests either a chapel or an altar dedi 
cated to that saint. [Ancient Church Dedi 
cations in Scotland; Reg. of Glasgow, i, 3-5, 
23, 39, 140-3; Lord High Treas. Aces., vi, 
347; Rolls of Scot., i, 250; Watson s Celtic 
Place- Names, 135; Mackenzie s Scott. 
Place- Names, 217; New Stat. Ace. iii, 
Peebles, 15.] 

GEORGE HAY, delete p. 271, line 1, 



1560 



from * and to line 5 Assembly. 
Son of William Hay of Talla. On 
19th Jan. 1560-1 he granted to his brother 
William the lands of Eddlestori for a sum 
of money to repair the church. [Reg. Mag. 
Sig. iv, 1615.] See Kiltarlity, Ruthven, 
Renfrew. 

ADAM DICKSON, reader. See 
1574 Peebles. 

SIR THOMAS HARGREAVES, vicar 
pensioner, died before 3rd June 
1589. [Reg. Mag. Sig., v, 1640.] 

JAMES SMITH, his sons Alexander, 



1665 



born 1652, apprentice to Charles 



Smyth, merchant, Edinburgh, 16th 
Nov. 1681; died 1689; Charles, apprentice 
to William Alison, merchant, Edinburgh, 
14th Dec. 1670; William, apprentice to 
Simon Johnston, merchant, Edinburgh, 
18th Sept. 1667. [Notes and Queries, 
3 Ser., xii, 27.] 

JAMES BUCHAN, his son James at 
1686 Univ. of Aberdeen. 

JAMES ROBERTSON, son of James 
1697 R., tailor, Edinburgh. 

ALEXANDER ROBERTSON, his 

daugh. Christian (marr. 27th April 
1776). 

ALEXANDER JOHN MURRAY, his 

18 _ 6 son Patrick Maxwell died at Sydney, 

New South Wales, 27th Nov. 1938. 



HOPE KAILZIE 

JOHN BULLO, reader in 1563 and 
1563 \561.[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Roxburgh, etc.] 

INNERLEITHEN 

The church was dedicated to St Mungo. 
[Cal. Papal Regs. Letters, xii, 277.] 

PATRICK SANDERSON, exhorter, in 
1563 office \512.[Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Roxburgh, etc.; Reg. Privy 
Council, ii, 306.] 

HEW GRAY. [G. R. Sas., 3 Ser., i, 
1674 121.] 

THOMAS LAWIS, eldest son of Wil- 

1697 Ham L. of Plora; marr. cert. 31st 

March 1658 Janet, daugh. of Francis 

Scott of Sinton. [G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., xiv, 

406, 407.] 

GILBERT HUTCHISON, his son 

1727 David, apprentice to Patrick Sib- 
bald, locksmith, Edinburgh, 27th 
Nov. 1754. 

ROBERT SCOTT, his daugh., Agnes, 
died 6th June 1802; his son, Charles 
James, died at sea 4th June 1807. 



1777 



JOSEPH JOHNSTON, marr. Christian, 
1797 daugh. of Hugh Grandison, bailie 
of Inverkeithing. 

PATRICK BOOTH, his children 



1833 



Patrick, died 19th March 1924; 



Robina, died Edinburgh 30th Sept. 
1924; William, died 17th May 1917; Jane 
Ann Duff, died London 22nd Nov. 1934. 

JAMES BOYD, died 24th Sept. 1919; 
1878 his daugh. Henrietta (marr. 1st Aug. 
1916 Ralph B. Macdonald, Lieut. 
Seaforth Highlanders). 

JOHN YUILL WALKER, trans, (ass. 
and sue.) from Pathhead (a.v.) 9th 
March 1917; Provost of Innerleithen 
1st July 1941; his daugh. Noreen Christian 
May (marr. 22nd July 1939 Lieut. John 
Kellwick Wright, R.N.). 



60 



KIRKURD MANOR 



[PRESB. OF 



KIRKURD 

By Bull of Pope Alexander II in 1170 
the Church of Ord (Kirkurd) was con 
firmed to Ingleram, Bishop of Glasgow. In 
1186 the church is called the Church of 
Hurd, and in the early part of the 14th 
century, Kyrkhurde. [Reg. Epis. of Glas 
gow, 23, 425, 355; Reg. Mag. Sig., i, 727.] 

DAVID GIBSON, M.A., vicar, 4th 
1561 Aug. 1561. [Co/, of Deeds, iv, 296.] 

THOMAS LUMSDEN, exhorter, 1563- 
71. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Roxburgh, etc.] 

ARCHIBALD DOUGLAS, had issue 
1574 Edward. [Stirling Papers No. 413.] 

RICHARD WEIR, still vicar. [Stirling 
1576 Papers Nos. 418, 427.] 

JOHN MEKILL, vicar, 1580. [Reg. 
1580 Mag. Sig., v, 86.] 

GEORGE ROBERTSON, line 7, delete 
He became minister of West 



1673 



Calder 1675. 



LAURENCE MERCER, his daughs. 
1681 Elizabeth (marr. 14th Sept. 1713); 
Sarah (marr. John Campbell, second 
son of Patrick C. of Beath). 

ALEXANDER WALKER, his daugh. 
, . Isobel (marr. (1) Thomas Baillie of 
Polkemmet, W.S.; (2) probably John 
Leirmant of Handaxwood). 

DAVID ANDERSON, his daugh. 



1787 



Isabella (marr. 19th Aug. 1835 
George I. Moxey, M.D.). 



THOMAS GRAY, marr. daugh. of 
Major-General Burrell, Governor of 
Hong Kong. 

THOMAS DUNCAN MILLAR, dem. 
18go 19th Nov. 1919; died 25th July 1936; 
his son, Archibald William Bucha 
nan, K.O.S.B., killed in action Oct. 1917; 
his widow, Margaret Julia Grant, died at 
Perth 25th June 1942. 



JOSEPH HARDIE CATTANACH, 



1920 



M.A., B.D., formerly of Scots 
Church, Paris (q.v.}\ adm. 7th May 

1920; trans, to Newton 19th Oct. 1934; 

died 30th Oct. 1937. 



LYNE and MEGGAT 

PATRICK GRINTON, reader, 1563-72. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Rox 
burgh, etc.] 



1563 



1575 



JOHN WYHTMAN, vicar, 1572. 

1572 [ Com P s - Sub Co11 - f Thirds, Rox 
burgh, etc.] 

ARCHIBALD DOUGLAS, M.A., pro 
bably identical with A.D. pres. to 
Kirkurd 1574, dem. before 14th 
July 1575. [Reg. Sec. Sig., xliii, 5.] 

GILBERT HAY, parson 1584-98; pres. 
to vicarage 16th July 1575. [Reg. 
Sec. Sig., xliii, 15; Aud. of Exch. 
1584-98, 2.] 

1627 HEW KER. [G. R.Sas., xlvi, 459.] 
ROBERT BROWN, tenant in Hallmyre; 



1660 



his daughs., Janet and Margaret. 
[P. C. Reg., 2 Ser., ix, 500; x, 308.] 



WILLIAM WALKINGSHAW, his 
daugh., Jane Inglis, died 9th Jan. 



1852 



1936. 



MOSES TAGGART, dem 31st Dec. 
1946; died 8th Jan. 1949; his son, 
Henry Rawson, 2nd Lieut. Argyll 
and Sutherland Highlanders, killed in 
action 24th July 1918; his daugh., Christine 
(marr. 12th Jan. 1927 Hedley Briggs Con 
stable, Kluang, Johore); his wife, Martha 
Hall Allan, died 6th March 1940. 

MANOR 

JOHN ALLAN, minister 1560, died in 



1560 



or before 1572. [Comps. Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Roxburgh, etc.] 



THOMAS PURVES, reader in 1563 



1563 



and 1565. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Roxburgh, etc.] 



PEEBLES] 



MANOR PEEBLES 



61 



HECTOR CRANSTON, reader, 16th 
May 1574 and 8th Jan. 1577-8. 



1574 



[Edin. Tests., iv, 54; v, 341.] 



DAVID THOMSON, his eldest son, 
Samuel, tailor burgess of Peebles. 
[Reg. of Deeds Mack., i, 589; Reg. 
Ho. Charters, 1707.] 



1663 



ROBERT SMITH, his daugh., Agnes, 
1683 born 1664. 

WILLIAM ANDERSON, his daugh. 

Margaret (marr. proc. 12th Sept. 

1781 John Stewart, student of 

divinity); a daugh. (marr. -. Somerville) 

died 14th May 1826. 

WILLIAM MARSHALL, his first 
1788 father-in-law a peruke-maker. 

JOHN WILLIAM MURRAY, his wife, 



1901 



Ann Bell, died llth Oct. 1927. He 
died 3rd June 1938. 



NEWLANDS 

In 1317 the patronage of the church was 
granted to Dunfermline Abbey by John de 
Grahame; and in 1477 the church became 
a prebend of the Collegiate Church of 
Dalkeith. [Reg. of Dunfermline, 236, 
403-4.] 

THOMAS PATERSON, reader 1563. 



1563 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Rox 
burgh, etc.] 



1570 



WILLIAM MURRAY. [Acts and Dec. 
1566 xxviii, 58.] 

ARCHIBALD DOUGLAS, M.A., min. 

of Kirkurd, held parsonage 1570; 

min. at West Linton 1576 (q.v.)\ 
senator of College of Justice. [Comps. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

SIR JOHN THOMSON, reader, pro- 
-__- bably vicar before 1560 and con 
formed, died Oct. 1575. Marr. 
Margaret Robeson, who survived him and 
marr. (2) Patrick Thomson in Scotstoun. 
[Edin. Tests., viii, 212.] 



JOHN COLDEN, coll. and adm. to 



1592 



parsonage by Presb. of Edinburgh 



and Peebles 20th June 1593. 
[Deer, on Taxation 22nd Jan. 1593^.] 

1596 JOHN SYDE. [G. R. Sas., xv. 102.] 

ARCHIBALD TORRIE, his son, David. 
[Scroll Reg. P. R. Sas. Fife, 1716, 
War. 79.] 



1694 



STEPHEN PATON, his widow, Jane 



1709 



Sibbald, marr. (2) James Lorimer, 
min. of Yarrow. 



DAVID DICKSON, line 22, for " 1756" 
1756 read "1755." 

JAMES MOFFAT, marr. Janet, daugh. 
of Thomas Stoddart of William- 



1768 



hope. 



JAMES CHARTERIS, son of George 
1834 Charteris of Amisfield. 

WILLIAM KELLY, his widow, Cathe 
rine Forrester, died at Edinburgh 
5th May 1923. 



1870 



JOHN MILNE, died 26th May, 
1884 1918. 

HORACE JAMES DICK, trans, from 
Blythswood for.v.) 25th Oct. 1918; 
died at Largs 20th Nov. 1944. His 
daugh. Ella (marr. 10th Dec. 1920 Walter 
Brotherston, Rangoon); his widow, Eliza 
beth J. M. Smith, died at Greenock 29th 
Jan. 1949. 

PEEBLES 

The earliest patron of Peebles was St 
Mungo; and St Mungo s Well still survives. 
About 1116 the church with a caracute of 
land belonged to the See of Glasgow; and 
added to it there occurs in 1186 among the 
possessions of the see the dependent 
Chapel of Manor. On 29th Oct. 1195 the 
church was dedicated by Bishop Joceline 
of Glasgow, and it may be that it was at 
that date that St Andrew took the place of 
St Mungo as the patron. Before 1214 
Peebles had become a prebend of Glasgow. 



62 



PEEBLES 



[PRESB. OF 



In the church there were altars dedicated 
to St Mary the Virgin (St Mary of Child 
birth); Holy Rood; St Andrew; St Mary 
of the Geddes Aisle, founded with the aisle 
or chapel by John Geddes early in the 1 5th 
century; St Mary Major; St James, desig 
nated also the Altar of St James and St 
Katharine in a Charter of 17th April 1469, 
by which William Smaill, priest, granted 
two annual rents from properties on the 
north side of High Street, Edinburgh, for 
masses at the altar; St John the Baptist; 
St Laurence, founded probably about 1470 
by Sir Richard Purdie, Dean of Peebles and 
Vicar of Pettinain; St. Martin; St Michael 
the Archangel; St Christopher, founded 
29th April 1517 by William Alane, burgess 
of Peebles; St Peter and St Paul, founded 
20th Jan. 1520-1, in virtue of an indenture 
between the community of the burgh and 
Sir Patrick Stenhouse, chaplain of the 
Chapel of St Mary, who gave part of the 
chapel lands as the endowment. By Crown 
Charter of 8th June 1543 there was con 
firmed the erection of the church into a 
collegiate church by the Bailies, Council, 
and Community, and John, Lord Hay of 
Yester, for a provost and 12 prebendaries, 
and "two young persons having a youthful 
voice to chant Divine Service." The pre 
bends, identical with the altars, were in the 
following order: The Virgin Mary of Child 
birth, Holy Cross, St Michael the Arch 
angel, St Mary Major, St Peter and St Paul, 
St John the Baptist, St Mary of Geddes 
Aisle, St Andrew, St James, St Laurence, 
St Martin, St Christopher. Each preben 
dary was to have 24 merkes, a chamber 
with garden "in the ancient town of 
Peebles" adjoining the messuage of the 
Archdeacon of Glasgow, and an acre of 
the church lands. There was at the Castle 
of Peebles a chapel founded by David I. 
To Kelso Abbey King William the Lion 
(1145-1214) confirmed the chapel, with a 
caracute of land, and also an annual rent 
of 10 shillings from the fermes of the burgh 
of Peebles assigned to the chapel by his 
grandfather, David I, for perpetual celebra 
tions for the soul of Henry, father of said 
King William. The abbey was also held 
bound to make the chapel fitting and 



beautiful, to equip it with suitable eccle 
siastical ornaments, and to provide a chap 
lain who "shall minister perpetually in it 
for the soul of Earl Henry. By letters of 
David II of 8th March 1362-3 the com 
munity were enjoined to assign a stance in 
the common muir to build a Chapel of the 
Virgin Mary. In the chapel there was an 
altar dedicated to St Osyth. The Church 
of the Holy Cross is said by Fordun to 
have been founded by Alexander III. 
According to the narrative, the royal action 
was prompted by the discovery of a stately 
and venerable cross at Peebles on 9th May 
1361. The cross, it was believed, had been 
hidden by some of the faithful about 296, 
when the Maximian persecution was raging 
in Britain. Soon after there was found 
close to the same spot an urn containing 
ashes and bones of a man s body torn from 
limb to limb, as it were. The clue to the 
identity of the ashes and bones was thought 
to lie in the inscription on the outside of 
the stone in which the cross was lying, 
"Tomb of the Bishop St Nicolas." 
Miracles were wrought at the place to 
which people from Scotland and the north 
of England continued to resort in crowds, 
bringing offerings to God. And so, with 
the advice of the Bishop of Glasgow, the 
King reared a handsome church on the spot 
in honour of God and the Holy Cross. The 
church was placed in the custody of Trini 
tarian or Red Friars; and on 3rd Feb. 1473, 
in response to a petition by James III and 
Margaret, his queen, Brother Robert, Head 
Minister of the Red Friars at the Monastery 
of Mathuron, Paris, sanctioned the erection 
of a Trinitarian Monastery at the church, 
and the annexation thereto of the Trini 
tarian House at Berwick on Tweed, which 
had been destroyed by the English. Among 
the possessions of the house at Berwick on 
Tweed, so annexed, was the Church of 
Kettins. James V increased the resources 
of the monastery by the annexation of the 
Trinitarian House at Dunbar on 1st July 
1529, the monastery being described as the 
place quhar ane part of the verray croce 
that our Salvatour was crucifyit on is 
honorit and kepit, and by the annexation 
of the Trinitarian House at Houston in the 



PEEBLES] 



PEEBLES 



63 



parish of Prestonkirk, on 2nd Dec. 1531. 
The high altar of the church was the Black 
Rood; and there were also altars of the 
Holy Blood and St Sebastion. After the 
Reformation the Cross Church became the 
parish church, and was so used till 1784, 
when a new church was built on the Castle- 
hill. The latter gave place to the present 
church in 1887. At Eshiels near Hors- 
burgh Castle there was a hospital with 
chapel bearing at first the name of St 
Laurence, and later the name of St Leonard 
and, maybe, under the invocation of both. 
Regular payments to the hospital were 
made from the customs of the burgh, the 
first occurring in 1327. The site is now 
called Chapelyards. About 1462 there was 
founded near the Chapel of the Virgin 
Mary an almshouse, also dedicated to St 
Leonard. By Charter of 19th Nov. 1621 
James VI granted to the burgh for "the 
commonne workes of the burgh" the 
endowments of the following prebends of 
the former collegiate church, St Mary, 
Holy Rood, St Michael the Archangel, 
St Marie major, St John the Baptist, St 
Mary dallgeddes, St Andrew, St James, 
St Laurence, St Christopher, "with the 
chaplanrie callit St Marie"; the lands, 
tenements, houses, biggins, kirt kirks, with 
"the hie and Cross Kirk" and kirkyards, 
chapels, yards, orchards, crofts, rents, 
teinds, fruits, duties, emoluments, almous 
silver, obite silver and anniversaries" per 
taining to chaplainries, alterages, prebends 
founded in any kiik, hospital, chapel, 
college or hospital in the burgh, or due 
from any land or tenement in the burgh to 
any kirk, chaplainry or prebend founded 
outside the burgh in any part of Scotland. 
[Acts Scott, Part., xii, Supplement \b; 
Excheq. Rolls, i, 71, ii, 208, 323, etc.; Reg. 
of Glasgow, 5, 55, 95; Book of Kelso, 15; 
Reg. Sec. Seal, i, 4110, ii, 203, 1069, 2524, 
4207, 4842; Reg. Great Seal, ii, 838, iii, 
2921; Chron. of Me I rose, 102; Charters of 
Burgh of Peebles, 8, 9, 10, 14, 43, 50, 54, 
61 ft ., 64, 73, 76 ff., 81, 91; Retours, viii, 
275; Fordun s Scot., i, 299, Scott. His 
torians; for details see Dr. C. B. Gunn s 
Book of St Andrew s Church; Book of the 
Cross Church (2 vols.).] 



JOHN WALLACE, was probably the 
first, if unauthorised, preacher of 
the Reformed Faith in Peebles, for 
on 3rd March 1559-60 it is narrated that 
"John Dikesone yr. of Winkieston, and 
Rollan Scott, bailies, passit to the per- 
sonale presens of Johne Wallace als 
appostal, and dischargit him to vse ony 
new novationes of commoun prayeris or 
preching becaus the said Johne was nocht 
electit be the saidis baillies and parochyn, 
and that the said baillies wald nocht assist 
to him nor nane of his sect nor opinioun; 
becaus the saidis baillies wald stand vnder 
the faith and obedience of thair Prince 
berand authorite for the tyme, nocht being 
dischargit be ane ordour and in na con- 
timptioun of the Lordis of the Congrega- 
tioun," [Extracts from the Records of the 
Burgh of Peebles, 258.] 

JOHN DICKSON, min. in 1566. 
1560 [Acts and Dec., xxxvi, 374.] 

JOHN HOPPRINGLE, chaplain. 
1573 [Acts and Dec., liii, 219.] 

THOMAS HAY, brother to William, 



1575 



Lord Hay of Yester, provided to the 
ministry 30th Oct. 1566; res. in 
favour of his nephew James, 7th Lord Hay 
of Yester, 15th Jan. 1583-4; died before 
llth June 1584. [Scots Peerage, viii, 437; 
Acts and Dec., Ixi, 260, 262.] 

ADAM DICKSON, reader at Eddleston, 



1586 



designated minister in Peebles 31st 



July and 14th Sept. 1577. [Edin. 
Tests., v, 242; vii, 219.] 

THEODORE HAY. [G. R. Sas., 25th 
1616 July 1631, xxxi, 304.] 

JAMES THOMSON, his son, William, 



1696 



and his daugh., Susanna, died before 



30th March 1737. [P. R. Sas. 
Lanark, xiv, ii, 354.] 

ROBERT BUCHANAN, died Father 
1813 of the Church. 



THOMAS MARTIN, licen. llth June 
1883; Moderator of General As 
sembly, May 1920; dem. 12th Nov. 
1925; died at Davidson s Mains 7th Jan. 



1911 



64 



PEEBLES STOBO 



[PRESB. OF 



1942; his wife, Isabella Robertson, died 
14th Aug. 1929; his son, Thomas, M.D., 
Peebles, died 27th June 1931; his daugh., 
Christeen Isobell (marr. 4th July 1918 
George Thomas Thomson, min. of St 
Boswells), died 7th Jan. 1937. 

BERRY PRESTON, trans, from Riccar- 
1926 ton (#.v.) 24th March 1926. 

STOBO 

At Westerhoprew there was a chapel 
dedicated to St Michael, described in 1503 
as founded by the predecessors of John, 
Lord Hay of Yester, and endowed with 
certain lands and a manse, the vicar of 
Stobo being held bound to celebrate service 
twice weekly in the chapel for the souls of 
the founders. [Yester Writs, 272, Scott. 
Rec. Soc.] 

JOHN COLQUHOUN, M.A., parson 



1560 



1554, reader 1560; son natural of 



late James Colquhoun, parson of 
Luss; held the parsonage of Stobo, of 
which he was described on 28th April 1 566 
as now " usufructuar. " [/teg. of Deeds, 
viii, 3016; Comps. Sub Col. of Thirds, 
Roxburgh, etc.; Chiefs of Colquhoun, i, 100; 
Acts and Dec., xxiii, 153; xxx, 301; xlvii, 
298; xlviii, 216; 1,279; lii, 187; liv, 71, 304, 
337; Ixi, 389; Monumenta Univ. Glasgow, 
i, 82.] 

SIR NINIAN DOUGLAS, vicar 4th 
Nov. 1562; was in office 19th Dec. 



1562 



1557; Chaplain of the Altar of the 
Holy Rood, Dalkeith Coll. Church, 19th 
Dec. 1551; and on 28th Sept. 1557 was 
Chaplain of the Altar in the threshold of 
said Coll. Church. "[Laing Charters, 591, 
679, 744; Reports Hist. MSS. Commis., ii, 
Duns Castle, 23.] 

SIR THOMAS GODERRALL, vicar 



1562 



14th July 1562, on which date he 



received from Sir David Hamilton, 
vicar-pensioner of Stobo, a letter of tack 
and assedation of the fruits, rents, teinds, 
emoluments, and other duties of the 
vicarage, with glebe, manse, houses, and 
kirklands, for 5 years. [Grote s Prot. Bk., 
221.] 



THOMAS NEILSON, reader, alleged 

1566 P arson designated exhorter 1569- 

72. [Acts and Dec., xxxvii, 157; 

Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Roxburgh, etc.] 

JAMES NOBLE, parson 1572. [Comps. 
1572 Sub Coll. of Thirds, Roxburgh, etc.] 

ARCHIBALD COLQUHOUN of Sal- 



1573 



lochty, parson 2nd Sept. 1566 in 
succession to his kinsman, John 

Colquhoun. [Reg. of Deeds, viii, 301; 

Acts and Dec., 1, 279; lii, 187; liv, 71; 302, 

337; Ixi, 389; Ixiii, 377.] 

WILLIAM TWEEDIE, reader, 13th Jan. 
1578 1578-9. [Edin. Tests., ix, 239.] 

ROBERT DOUGLAS, perpetual vicar 

16th July 1565, Provost of Corstor- 

phine 8th Dec. 1575, called vicar 

1582. [Reg. Abbrev. Feu Charters of 

Church Lands, ii, 1580; Yester Writs, 731, 

812.] 

ADAM HEPBURN, pres. to benefice 



1592 



on death of Archibald Colquhoun 



30th Sept. 1588 and to parsonage 
on death of Andrew Murdo. [P. S. Reg., 
Ix, 65; Ixiii, 248.] 

ARCHIBALD ROW, pres. to vicarage 
on depr. of Andrew Cunninghame. 



1598 



[P. S. Reg., Ixx, 51.] 



1688 



WILLIAM BOLLO, line 2 for "1600" 
1682 read "1660." 

WILLIAM RUSSELL, had issue- 
Marion, born 18th June 1672; 
Margaret, born 7th Nov. 1673; 
John, born 30th Dec. 1675; George, born 
6th Feb. 1678; Alexander, born 23rd June 
1679; Margaret, born 6th Dec. 1688; 
William, born llth Feb. 1691; James, born 
28th Sept. 1693; Adam, born 25th Jan. 
1697; Daniel; Agnes. Marr. (2) Jean 
Lindsay. [Deeds, Mack., 1704, No. 11, 
515.] 

WILLIAM RUSSELL, his son, William, 
born 23rd July 1703, apprentice to 
William Carmichael, merchant, 
Edinburgh, 28th Feb. 1718. 



PEEBLES] 



STOBO WALKERBURN 



65 



ALEXANDER KER, his daugh. Isa- 
1787 bella [marr. 17th Sept. 1818]. 

ALEXANDER EDGER, line 6, for 
1837 "1847 "read "1837." 

JOHN LIVINGSTON BOOTH, his 

widow, Julia Ritchie, died 1st Aug. 
1928. 

JOHN RODGERS CRUICKSHANK, 
D.D. (Aberdeen, 3rd April 1941), 
1891 died 6th Oct. 1944. 



DAWYCK 

GEORGE SMITH, born 1650; marr. 
1684 



1690 and had issue Ann. [N. and 
Q., 3 Sen, xii, 27.] 



TRAQUAIR 

ALEXANDER TAIT, vicar pensioner 
and reader 1567-72; vicar and ex- 
horter 10th April 1575; reader 16th 

Jan. 1577; afterwards at Bedrule. [Comps. 

Sub Coll. of Thirds, Roxburgh; Edin. Tests., 

iii, 189; v, 349; vii, 181.] 



1567 



1646 



WILLIAM THOMSON, his widow, 
Geilles Millar, and son, Mr Thomas, 
resident in Tron Par., Edinburgh, 

9th Nov. 1694; his daugh. Jean (marr. cont. 

30th Nov. 1677 Ewen Campbell in Pelna- 

neach, Moray). [Tron Poll Tax Roll 10; 

Reg. of Deeds Dal, 19th Nov. 1720.] 

JOHN WALKER, line 3, for "7" 
1789 read "2." 

JARDINE WALLACE, his sons 



1859 



James Campbell, died 4th Feb. 
1935; Jardine, died East Grange, 
New Jersey, 6th Dec. 1936. 

JOHN MAIN, his wife, Elizabeth Kidd 

ions Campbell, died at Musselburgh 1 6th 

Aug. 1 926. Marr. (2) llth April 

1 928 Isabella Clark (died 23rd Sept. 1 943). 

TWEEDSMUIR 

Formerly known as the Quarter Kirk. 
[Reg. of Deeds Mack., xliii, 201 , 1703.] 



WILLIAM HIGGINS, M.P., 1689-1700; 
his son William apprentice to James 
Chisholm, apothecary, Edinburgh, 
26th Jan. 1704. 

JAMES GARDNER, his son, George, 
1793 died 31st July 1842. 

GEORGE BURNS, his son, John James, 
1831 died at Glasgow, 18th Jan. 1917. 

JOHN DICK, his daughs. Mary 
Gibson, died 23rd March 1915; 
Eleanora Lidderdale, died 8th Jan. 
1933; Jessie Crawford, died 28th Feb. 1933. 

WILLIAM SHILLINGLAW 
CROCKETT, D.D. (Edinburgh, 
1929); his wife, Mary Ross, died 
5th Jan. 1944. He died 25th June 1945. 
Addl. Publications The Centenary of 
Waverley (1915); Dr Mair of Ear Is ton 
(1920); Berwickshire and Roxburghshire 
(Cambridge Series) (1925); Lays from 
Leader side (1925); The Berwickshire Scene 
(1936); Tweedsmuir Church and Churchyard 
(1936). General Editor of Fasti Ecclesiae 
Scoticanae 1915-28. 

WALKERBURN 

DONALD MACGREGOR GRANT, 

dem. 16th May 1918, adm. to New- 



1860 



1894 



1908 



port 13th Feb. 1920. 



1919 



ROBERT STEWART, born 22nd Aug. 
1864; educ. at Univ. of Glasgow 
and Original Secession Church Hall; 
ord. 1888 to Original Session Church, 
Castletown, Caithness; adm. to Free 
Church 1895; missionary at Windygates; 
adm. min. 1899; adm. here 2nd July 1919; 
dem. 16th May 1924 owing to dispute with 
congregation; died 3rd Oct. 1927. Marr. 
5th July 1888 Isobel Brown, and had issue 
William R. B., born 29th April 1889; 
Anne Isabel B., born 12th Aug. 1890; 
Grace, born 24th Nov. 1893; Jessie McD., 
born 15th May 1895; Helene S., born 5th 
March 1897; Robert A., born 31st Aug. 
1899. 

FREDERICK ROBERT SIM, born 
10th August 1888, youngest son of 
Robert S., M.D., Affleck House, 
Monikie, and Isabella Margaret Boosie; 



1924 



66 



WALKERBURN WEST LINTON [PRESB. OF PEEBLES 



licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh 22nd Dec. 
1922; assistant North Esk 1923; ord. 23rd 
Sept. 1924; trans, to St Columba s, Black- 
hall, 30th Sept. 1931; died 4th Aug. 1945. 
Marr. 23rd Dec. 1924 Janet Grant, daugh. 
of William Smith, Portobello, and has 
issue David Robert, born 14th Nov. 1925. 

WEST LINTON 

There was in the church an aisle of St 
John the Baptist, no doubt with an altar 
of that dedication. 

In its early designation, Lyntunruderic 
(Linton Roderick), West Linton is linked 
up with Roderick (d. 603), Christian King 
of Strathclyde, Rydderick Hael (Roderick 
the Liberal), supporter of St Mungo, to 
whom the church was dedicated. In 1 569- 
72 George Foirhous had the chaplainry of 
"ye Lady of Linton" to "sustain him at 
the Schools, indicating the existence of a 
chapel dedicated to the Virgin. [Ancient 
Ch. Dedications in Soct., Non-Scrip., 178-9; 
Compts. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow, 
etc.; Laing Charters, 499. 

ADAM COLQUHON, exhorter 1563- 
_.- 71 and described as reader 20th 
Sept. 1574 and 8th June 1575. 
[Edin. Test., ii, 47; iii, 267.] 

WALTER BALFOUR, afterwards 
1566 reader at Kinross. 

ARCHIBALD DOUGLAS, min. of 
1576 Kirkurd, had charge here 1574. 



ROBERT ALLAN, min. of Newlands, 



1585 



had charge here 1585. (See New- 
lands.) 



THOMAS FINDLATER, born 2nd 
1731 July 1697. 

ALEXANDER McCAUL FORRES- 
1836 TER, died 9th April 1883. 

SAMUEL McLINTOCK, died 12th 



1877 



April 1922; his widow, Margaret 
Bryce Gunn, died 25th Dec. 1938. 



JAMES THOMAS HALL, trans, from 
Tillicoultry (q.v.) 6th Oct. 1922; 
trans, to Holborn 2nd Sept. 1927. 



1928 



JAMES GRAHAM GOODALL 
NICOLSON, born Pittenweem 
1893, son of Thomas Peter Johnston 
N., secretary and bailie, Pittenweem, and 
Margaret Anderson; educ. at Waid Aca 
demy and Univ. of St Andrews, M.A. 
(1916); served in Great War as lieut. in 
Highland Light Infantry; licen. by Presb. 
of St Andrews Jan. 1923; Assistant, Dun 
blane; ord. 13th Dec. 1923 to Saltoun; 
trans, and adm. 22nd March 1928. Marr. 
24th June 1925 Nellie, younger daugh. of 
James Hebenton, Glasgow, and has issue 
Thomas Peter Johnston, born 25th March 
1927; Isobel Marion, born and died 12th 
Jan. 1931; Margaret Helen Rae, born 4th 
May 1932. Editor College Echoes (St 
Andrews Univ.). 



PRESBYTERY OF DALKEITH 



BORTHWICK 

The Church of Lockerworth was granted 
to the Abbey of Scone by David I 1 124-53, 
along with a piece of land which the abbey 
subsequently gave to David de Lyn in 
exchange for 1 acre of land and a piece of 
land beside the river under the orchard of 
the church. The exchange was confirmed 
by Roger, Bishop of St Andrews, 1188- 
1202. The teinds, fruits, etc., of the church 
were granted by William, Lord Crichton, 
for the institution of prebends of the 
Collegiate Church of Crichton on its 
foundation on 26th Dec. 1449. In response 
to a petition by the Presbytery of Edin 
burgh which stated that the church had 
been destitute of the exercise of religion for 
several years bypast on account of the 
absence of stipend for a minister, all the 
teind sheaves and all the teinds of the 
rectory, great and small, and all the fruits 
of the parish that pertained to the prebends 
of Crichton Collegiate Church, and the 
vicarage of Borthwick, alias the vicarage 
Lochorquhart of Torcrek, with manse and 
glebe, resigned by Nathaniel Harlaw, 
Minister of Ormicton, were, by Crown 
Charter of 4th April 1596, ratified by 
Parliament in 1606, dissolved from Crich 
ton, and annexed to Borthwick, to be 
called the Rectory of Borthwick. [Book of 
Scone, 5-6, 14, 33; Reg. Great Seal, vi, 
425; Acts Scott. Parl, iv, 327.] 

DUNCAN WALKER, min. 27th March 
1583 1583. [Cal. Laing Charters, 1060.] 

PATRICK TURNER, M.A., pres. in 



1604 



1604 in succession to John Murray. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiv, 150.] 

ARCHIBALD TURNER, marr. Re- 
1648 becca, daugh. of Alexander Couper 
of Failford, W.S. [Reg. of Deeds, 
Dal., xix, 587.] 



JOHN WEIR, marr. Anne, daugh. of 
John Hamilton of Gilkerscleuch, 



1652 



parson of Crawfordjohn. 



THOMAS PATERSON, had issue 
165? (addl.) Agnes; Helen; Walter. 
[Reg. of Deeds, Mack., Ixxxvii, 31st 
Dec. 1700.] 

THOMAS PATERSON, M.A., with his 

1683 Wife Ann Murray anc * three ch ^~ 
dren, the eldest 8 years, and his 

daughter-in-law Ann White going on 14, 
was resident in Tron parish, Edinburgh, 
16th Nov. 1694. Thomas, probably his 
son, was apprenticed to David Wemyss, 
merchant, Edinburgh, llth Jan. 1703. 

WALTER WADDELL, marr. Susan, 



1860 



daugh. of William Morrison, Pro 



curator Fiscal, Fifeshire; she died 
13th Sept. 1924; James Cumming Dewar, 
his son, died at Uddingston 14th Aug. 1932. 

THOMAS ALEXANDER BICKER- 

1904 TON licen - May 1882; dem 30th 
Jan. 1922; died at Davidson s Mains 

29th Jan. 1923; his wife, Alison Watson 
Hope Mackenzie, died 4th July 1918. 



WILLIAM JOHN MACFARLAND, 
B.A., trans, from Kelso North 15th 
Dec. 1922; trans, to Balmerino 6th 
May 1926. 



1922 



ANDREW CLARK ORR, born llth 



1926 



May 1888, son of Robert Clark O., 
West Kilbride, and Annie Boyd; 
educ. at Univ. of Edinburgh, M.A. (1915); 
licen. by Free Church Presb. of Glasgow 
June 1919; assistant Bluevale; ord. 15th 
Oct. 1926. Marr. 14th Dec. 1926 Janey 
Hepburn, M.A., daugh. of Peter Hepburn, 
Auchterarder. 



67 



68 



CARRINGTON CRANSTOUN 



[PRESB. OF 



CARRINGTON 

The original parish church was dedicated 
by Bishop David de Bernham, 2nd May 
1243. The church was granted to the Abbey 
of Scone by David I 1124-53. On 13th 
Feb. 1356 William, Bishop of St Andrews, 
on the renunciation of all rights in the 
church by Scone Abbey, gave in exchange 
to the said abbey the Church of Blair in 
Gowrie; the present church was first used 
7th Oct. 1911. [Bk. of Scone, 5-6, 14, 
130-3; see Blairgowrie.] 

GEORGE ALEXANDER, parson of 
Foulden, pres. to parsonage here on 
forfeiture of James Hamilton. 
[Reg. Pres. Bene., i, (2), 27.] 

SIR JAMES HOPKIRK, reader, pro 
bably previously vicar in 1 549, vicar 
pensioner, died after 23rd Dec. 1574. 
[Wodrow s Miscel. Prot. Book of Thomas 
Steven; Edin. Tests. June 1570, iii, 178; 
Reg. Pres. Bene., i (2), 32.] 

JOHN CHARLES, reader, pres. to 



1575 



vicar; pensionary 15th April 1575 
on death of James Hopkirk. [Reg. 

Pres. Bene., i (2), 32; Reg. Mag. Sig., iv, 

2816, 24th Nov. 1578.] 

LUCAS SOUSIE, line 3, for "1586" 
1585 read "1585-6." 

JOHN COLLIER, his wife, Annabella 
1663 Lindsay, buried 15th March 1693. 



1682 



ROBERT MONTEITH, bapt. 16th Nov. 
1651; marr. Rebecca Higgins; his 
second son, Patrick. [Dumfries 
Sas., iv, 455.] 

JAMES KIRKPATRICK, min. at 
Machars, Co. Down, marr. 1682 (1) 



1688 



and had issue Anna, Susanna and 
Christian. [Deeds Dal., 1706, No. 1029.] 

JOHN BISHOP, son of William B., 
1698 burgess of Edinburgh. 

JAMES PATON, his daugh., Rosina 
(marr. proc. 21st Feb. 1762 George 
Paton, clerk in Custom House). 



WILLIAM GRANVILLE CORE, dem. 
19th May 1916; died at Portobello 
5th Jan, 1917; his widow, Jessie 

Braidwood, died 25th Aug. 1920; his daugh. 

Jessie died at London 16th Dec. 1918. 

WILLIAM EDWARD GRIMWOOD, 



1916 



ord. 19th Sept. 1916; trans, to Pol- 
warth 22nd Oct. 1925. 



DAVID EDWARD EASSON, born 2nd 

1926 Aug J ^ 7 son f Day id Chapman 
E. and Isabella Rae Duncan; educ. 
at Univ. of St Andrews, M.A. (1918), B.D. 
(1924), Ph.D. (1928); licen. by Presb. of 
St Andrews 7th May 1924, assistant 
Inveresk; ord. 8th April 1926; trans, to 
Mauchline Old Church 5th March 1931; 
dem. on app. Lecturer on Church History, 
Univ. of Leeds, 30th Sept. 1947. 

COCKPEN 

SIR GEORGE RAMSAY, perpetual 

1569 v * car ^ 4t ^ Dec ^9; appears to 
have held office in 1560; died before 
1580. [Reg. Great Seal, iv, 3018; Reg. 
Pres. ofBenefs., ii, 44.] 

ALEXANDER WOOD, marr. Jean 
1681 Brown. [Reg. of Deeds, 1700.] 

DAVID LINDSAY, his sons Charles, 



1695 



apprentice to Patrick Gibb, cor- 
diner, Edinburgh, 12th Aug. 1736; 
David, apprentice to John Sempill, surgeon 
apothecary, Edinburgh, 8th March 1721. 



1903 



ROBERT MONTGOMERIE HARDIE, 
died 13th March 1942; his wife, 
Mary Smith, died 2nd May 1928; 
his daugh., Agnes Montgomerie, died 5th 
Oct. 1937; his sons Thomas, L.R.C.P. & 
S.E., died at Hull 24th Nov. 1941; William 
Towers Hardie, M.D., Ch.B., Glasgow, 
died 3rd June 1948. 

CRANSTOUN 

The church was granted to Kelso Abbey 
by Hugh Riddel, Lord of Cranston, and 
in 1165-78 the grant was confirmed by 
William the Lion. On 2nd March 1316-17 
the church, with the lands of Preston or 
Easter Cranston pertaining thereto, was 



DALKEITH] 



CRANSTOUN CRICHTON 



69 



conveyed by the abbey to William Lamber- 
ton, Bishop of St Andrews, in exchange for 
the Church of Nenthorn, with the Chapel 
of Little Newton. The vicarage of the 
church became a Prebend of St Salvator s 
College and Collegiate Church, St An 
drews. At least twice at the end of the 16th 
century the parish was designated Cran- 
ston-Riddell. The present church was built 
in 1825 at the sole expense of Sir John 
Dalrymple. The old manse, which was 
situated at Prestonhall, is said to have been 
a rest-house for pilgrims to Melrose 
(Kelso ?) Abbey. Over one of the windows 
was the inscription " Diversorium infra, 
Habitaculum supra, literally, Inn below, 
dwelling above, expressive of the idea of 
Pilgrimage on earth, Home in heaven. At 
the village of Cousland there was a chapel 
dedicated to St Catharine, originally a 
dependent chapel of Inveresk Church, and 
as such appearing among the possessions 
of Dunfermline Abbey confirmed by 
Robert, Bishop of St Andrews, apparently 
before 1153, and certainly not later than 
1158-9. On 4th June 1509 William Ruth- 
ven of Ruthven, Kt., fiar lord of Cousland, 
and William, Lord of Ruthven, and his 
wife, Isabel Livingstone, life-renters of Cous 
land, granted to the chapel 12 merks 
annually from the lands of Cousland, and 
a house and garden on the west side of the 
chapel. The date when Cousland was 
attached to Cranston parish has not been 
definitely ascertained; but it is said to have 
been at or soon after 1560. All traces of 
the chapel seem to have disappeared some 
time prior to the close of the 18th century; 
but local people of that period had recollec 
tions of a bell which had been taken away, 
and of a churchyard. [Acts Scott. ParL, 
iv, 28, v, 118; Reg. Great Seal, ii, 3358; 
Reg. Sec. Seal, iii, 1716; Retours, xliii, 
291; Reg. of Dunfermline, 55, 57, 59, 63, 
etc.; Book of Kelso, i, 14, 16-18, 197-8, 
251-2.] 

JAMES MURRAY, vicar 1563, styled 
J563 min. 20th Nov. 1580; pres. to haill 
vicarage on dem. of Andrew Black- 
hall./?^. Sec. Sig., Ixi, 57; Comps. Sub 
Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 



E* 



JAMES WATSON, pres. by David 
1597 McGill, King s Advocate, before 
3rd July 1598. [Decree ts on the 
Taxation, 3rd July 1598.] 

JOHN NYMBILL, marr. 21st Feb. 1604 
1610 Margaret Danielston. [Reg. House 
Charters.] 

GEORGE KINTORE, had issue, 
1663 George, bapt. 2nd Nov. 1662. 
[South Leith Reg.] 

JAMES BLAIR, son of Peter B., min. 
1679 ofJedburgh. 

WILLIAM SMITH, his daugh. Mar- 

1733 garet (marr. pro. 9th Dec. 1795 

Richard Cochrane, late of America.) 

SAMUEL STEPHEN WALKER, his 

1912 wife Anna, daugh. of James Sharp, 
Aberdeen, died 9th Sept. 1939; 
marr. (2) 5th July 1944 Helen Alexander, 
eldest daugh. of John Aikman, 3 White- 
house Terrace, Edinburgh; his son, James 
Cadenhead, died prisoner of war, Singapore, 
1942. 

CRICHTON 

On 26th Dec. 1449 William, Lord 
Crichton, Chancellor of Scotland, out of 
thankfulness and gratitude to Almighty 
God for all the manifold deliverances He 
has vouchsafed unto him," and "to the 
praise and Honour of God Omnipotent, 
and our Lord Jesus Christ, the ever Blessed 
and Glorious Virgin Mary, St Kentigern, 
and All Saints and the Elect of God," with 
consent of his son and heir, Sir James of 
Frendraucht, founded the Collegiate 
Church of Crichton in the parish church. 
Three days later confirmation was given by 
James Kennedy, Bishop of St Andrews. 
The foundation was for a provost, eight 
chaplains or prebendaries, one of whom 
was to be master or instructor of the school 
of music, and another master or teacher of 
the grammar school, two boys, and a 
sacrist whose duties were to attend to the 
ringing of the bells, locking the doors, 
vestments, chalices, and other vessels, and 
also for the repair of the fabric, furnishing 



70 



CRICHTON 



[PRESB. OF 



the altar and choir, and other necessaries. 
The provost was to have the whole fruits 
of the Rectory of Crichton, along with the 
rector s manse as residence, subject to a 
provision of 10 annually with acre of 
land for manse and garden, to a perpetual 
vicar who was to have the parochial cure 
of Crichton, and was also to be the Pre 
bendary of Crichton. To the provostry 
also pertained the Temple Lands of Crich 
ton. The fruits of the Church of Locker- 
worth (Borthwick), annexed to the colle 
giate church, were in the first instance for 
the provision of a perpetual vicar of 
Lockerworth, who was to have the church 
lands or glebe of Lockerworth for his own 
use, along with the manse and garden 
formerly pertaining to the rector, and all 
the teind sheaves and other teinds of 
Haukerston, and all the teinds of Douglas- 
land and Goldlan. The fruits of the Church 
of Lockerworth further provided for three 
prebends the First Prebend of Middleton 
and the Second Prebend of Middleton, 
which had all the teind sheaves and other 
teinds of the town of Middleton and of 
Cauldsyde, along with all the teinds of the 
town of Osperton, and the Prebend of 
Lockerworth, later called the Prebend of 
Vogrie, which had all the teind sheaves and 
other teinds of the lands of Little Locker 
worth, with all the teinds of the domicile 
lands of Lockerworth. For the fabric of 
the church and the repair of the fabric, and 
for ornaments, vestments, etc., further 
teinds of Lockerworth were devoted the 
teinds of Arnoldston, Hervistoun, Rathqu- 
hillintoun and Catkin, with the teinds of 
the mills of Catkin and Lockerworth and 
Vogrie. This appears to be the Prebend of 
Arnoldston mentioned in a Crown Charter 
of 4th April 1 596. The other three prebends 
were the prebend called 
with endowments of lands and annual 
rents in lie Buithraw in Edinburgh; the 
Prebend of Hogston, with endowments of 
an annual rent of 16i merks from a tene 
ment in Edinburgh, along with the town 
of Hogston near the Burgh Muir of Edin 
burgh; and the Prebend of Furde in the 
barony of Crichton, with endowments of 
5 Scots from the east half of the lands of 



Uggingis between Sleden and Furde, 5 
Scots annual rent from the lands of the 
barony of Crichton, and i acre for manse 
and garden. For the education and sus 
tenance of the two boys there were set 
apart the teind sheaves and other teinds of 
Auchinlekhill and Curry, with all the teinds 
of the lands called lie Stanis; and the pro 
vision for the sacrist was all the teind 
sheaves and other teinds of West Caldmure, 
all portions of the fruits of Lockerworth 
Church. The Act of Parliament of 1641 
which declared the collegiate church to be 
the parish church for all time, converted 
and appropriated all the teinds, fruits, 
rents, emoluments, and other duties what 
soever, due to the vicares or prebendaries 
thair," to the said parish kirk and the 
minister serving or to serve the same. 
[Acts Scott. Parl., v. 572; Reg. Great Seal, 
ii, 1784, iv, 2169, vi, 425, vii, 508; Reg. Sec. 
Seal, iii, 2366; Charters of Coll. Churches 
of Midlothian, Ixxvii-lxxix, 304-12.] 

ADAM JOHNSTON, M.A., min. and 



1569 



provost 1569 and 1572. [Comps. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 



GIDEON PENMAN, his son, James, 



1639 



apprenticed to James Edmonds- 
toune, merchant, Edinburgh, 13th 
April 1681. [G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., ii, 417.] 



1682 



ANDREW DONN, resident with his 

W ^ 6 at Inveresk 1694 hi s son 
Alexander, apprenticed to James 

Spotswood, barber, 7th March 1701. 
[Inveresk Poll Tax Roll, 24.] 

MATTHEW SELKIRK, marr. Agnes, 



1690 



daugh. of George Cunningham, 
merchant burgess, Edinburgh; his 

son, James, apprentice to Robert Geddes, 

surgeon apothecary, Edinburgh, 2nd Nov. 

1709; his daughs. Janet (marr. John 

Cleghorn, min. of Wemyss); Agnes (marr. 

Charles Wright, portioner of Newbigging); 

Laurence. [Edin. Burgess Roll, 14th June 

1695.] 

CHARLES PRIMROSE, marr. (1) 
daugh. of Bailie Duncan Mclntosh; 
(2) Ann, daugh. of Nicolas Moffat, 



1729 



stabler. 



DALKEITH] 



CRICHTON DALKEITH 



71 



1840 



JOHN CRAWFORD, his daughs. 
Lillian Ann, died 28th Oct. 1918; 
Georgiana, died 11 May 1923; 
Agnes, died llth Jan. 1927. 

HENRY DUNCAN, his widow Cecilia 
Bertram Baillie, died 25th Jan. 1933; 
his son, Alexander William, died 
18th Nov. 1934; his daugh., Mary Hen 
rietta, died at London 26th March 1924. 

STEVENSON MACNAB, dem. 5th 
1902 Dec. 1946, died 14th Oct. 1947. 

DALKEITH 

In Dec. 1372 Robert II granted licence 
to Sir James de Douglas, Kt., of Dalkeith, 
to found a chaplainry or chaplain in the 
Chapel of St Nicolas, Dalkeith, with an 
endowment of 6 1 3s. 4d. stg. annual rent 
from the lands of Horsbruke in Peebles, 
and also to Sir Henry de Douglas, Kt., to 
infeft the foresaid chaplain in 5 merks 
annual rent from whatever source he 
pleased. The same king on 25th Oct. 1375 
confirmed a charter of Sir James de 
Douglas, Kt. of Dalkeith, founding in the 
chapel another chaplainry in honour of the 
Virgin Mary and St Nicolas, for the souls 
of Sir John de Douglas, his father, and 
Lady Agnes, his mother, the endowment 
being the lands of Suylt and Fethenane in 
Peebles. On 1st June 1406 Sir James 
erected the chapel, which he had enlarged 
and decorated, into a collegiate church for 
six chaplains, one of whom was provost. 
To the provost were assigned the lands of 
Dythment and Holden in the barony of 
West Calder. The provision for the first 
chaplain was the tenpound lands of Suylt 
and Fethenane to the extent of 20 marks 
annually; for the second, 10 stg., to wit 
2 merks of the lands of Louchurde and 
40s. annual rent of the lands of Kirkurde 
in Tweeddale; for the third 10 merks 
annual rent of the lands of Horsbruke 
"granted by us," and 3 annually from 
the lands of Wynkiston, Corstunyngiis- 
felde and Dillay-islande in the Sheriflfdom 
of Peebles, granted by Sir Henry de 
Douglas, brother of Sir James, the chaplain 
to celebrate at the Altar of St Peter in the 



said chapel (collegiate church); and for the 
other two chaplains 22 merks and half the 
lands of Spittalhaulch and Ingalston in 
Tweeddale, formerly given by "our pre 
decessors to the Culdees and pious uses," 
in equal portions. Manses were also pro 
vided for the provost and chaplains. On 
17th May 1477 James, Earl of Morton, 
erected the collegiate church anew for a 
provost and six canonries or prebends 
which were reorganised and augmented, 
the Churches of Newlands, Kilbocho, and 
Mordington being appropriated to the 
collegiate church. The prebends were 
Newlands; Romanhouse; Bordland; Kil 
bocho; Horsbruke; Mordington. Besides 
the Altar of St Peter, there were at least an 
Altar of the Virgin Mary, an Altar of the 
Holy Rood and an Altar of St John the 
Baptist. On 31st May 1504 James II con 
firmed a charter, apparently of 21st July 
1503, by which Alexander GifTord, Re 
corder of Newlands, founded two chap- 
lainries in the church, one at the Altar of 
the Holy Rood, with lands and tenement 
in Edinburgh, and other buildings, and 
14 acres of "my Temple Lands" in Gul- 
lane, and the other at the Altar of St John 
the Baptist in the south aisle, with 5 merks 
apx. from "my Hospital in the town of 
Dalkeith on the south side of the highway 
of the same. 

Originally Dalkeith formed part of the 
parish of Lasswade; but in 1467 the in 
habitants of Dalkeith made representations 
as to the very great inconvenience and 
danger to which they were exposed during 
tempestuous weather in having to cross the 
streams that fell into the Esk, as they 
resorted to their parish church of Lasswade 
about 2 miles distant, and also that the 
vicarage teinds were ample to support two 
vicars, and craved Patrick Graham, Bishop 
of St Andrews, to disjoin Dalkeith from 
Lasswade. On 10th Oct. of the same year 
the Bishop consented to the proposed dis 
junction and erected Dalkeith into a 
separate parish, the inhabitants of the 
town and Castle of Dalkeith, of the park 
commonly called Graham s Park, and of 
Easter and Wester Coldane, etc., to be 
under the spiritual jurisdiction of a separate 



72 



DALKEITH 



[PRESS. OF 



vicar who was to perform Divine Service 
at the Altar of the Virgin Mary in the 
collegiate church, and was to have the 
fruits of the said town, etc. The actual 
disjunction was to take effect upon the 
death or demission of Mr. James Lewing- 
ton, vicar of Lasswade. The Altar or 
Chapel of the Virgin was thus constituted 
the Parish Church of Dalkeith. The Earl 
of Morton granted two roods of land for 
a manse. The rectory of Dalkeith was 
attached to the deanery of Restalrig; and 
on the dissolution of the deanery by Act of 
Parliament in 1592, Dalkeith secured full 
status as a parish. On 25th Nov. 1531 an 
indentor was made between James, Earl of 
Morton, and Sir John Crichtone, vicar of 
Dalkeith, by which the said vicar, con 
sidering the cost and expense incurred of 
James, Earl of Morton, John, Earl of 
Morton, and now James, Earl of Morton, 
to find and obtene coles of Colden and 
Dalkeith, and the importance and emolu 
ments the vicar and his successors might 
have, "if coals were won," for "the 
utilitie, augmentatioun, and ampler profit 
of the Kirk and Vicarage of Dalkeith, set 
and let to the Earl "all and hail the teynd 
coles of Colden and Dalkeith, with the 
teind sheaves of the lands of Braidwood, 
and the Earl, "to the laude glore and 
Honour of God Omnipotent, the blessit 
virgine Sanct Marie, His moder, patrones 
of the paroche kirk of Dalkeith, the bishop 
Sanct Nicolace, patron of the said nobill 
and michty Lordis College and Chapel of 
Dalkeith, and of all the Sancts, to pay to 
the vicar and his successors 40s. Scots 
annually. 

On 5th Dec. 1384 Sir James de Douglas 
founded in Dalkeith Castle a chapel dedi 
cated to the Virgin Mary and St John the 
Baptist, in memory of his wife, Agnes 
Dunbar, the endowments being the lands 
of Louchurde and Kirkurd, subsequently 
annexed to the collegiate church. Provision 
was made for the services being conducted 
at Lasswade amid interruptions of war or 
repairs to the Castle. On 27th June 1396 
Sir James de Douglas also founded a 
House of God near our Chapel of Dal 
keith," for six poor and miserable persons, 



the endowment being the following annual 
rents: 6 3s. 4d. stg. from the lands of 
Esterhopkelyack, 4 stg. from lands of 
Newby in Peebles, 3 4s. 8d. stg. from 
lands of Morton in Dalkeith. Described as 
"two mean old houses called the Beid 
Houses," the hospital was sold for the 
benefit of the poor about 1752, when the 
charity workhouse was built. One house 
was opposite the old manse, the other a 
little to the east of the church. [Reg. Hon. 
de Morton, ii, 98-9, 124-6, 151-4, 197, 211, 
226-35, 247, 259-60, 294, 324-8; Coll 
Churches of Midlothian, Ixxxiii, Ixxxv, 
Ixxxvi, cxvi-cxix, 323; Laing Charters, 28, 
160, 230.] 

ARCHIBALD BOYD, provost of the 
collegiate church 10th Feb. 1558-9. 
[Reg. of Abbrev. Feu Charters of 
Church Lands, i, 9.] 

ANDREW DAVIDSON, vicar, 25th 
_.. June 1563. [Reg. Mag. Sig., v, 
1214.] 

ARCHIBALD SIMPSON, pres. to 
Altarage St John in Church 1st 
Aug. 1588. For "1586" read 
"1591." [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ivii, 154.] 

HEW CAMPBELL, son of George C, 
apparent of Shankstoun; marr. (1) 
Mary Ross, and had issue Hugh; 
John; Elizabeth (marr. 2nd March 1656); 
Robert. [Books of Council and Session 3rd 
April 1602; Ayr Sas., iii, 2 Ser., 28th July 
1624; Reg. of Deeds dcxvi, 19th Dec. 1655; 
G. R. Sas., I m, 432; Clan Campbell, vi, 327.] 

WILLIAM CALDERWOOD, his 

daugh. Elizabeth. [Edin. Sas., xxxv, 
451.] 

ALEXANDER HERIOT, his son 



1591 



1635 



1683 

1694. 



Robert, apprentice to John Wilkie, 
merchant, Edinburgh, 24th Jan. 



WILLIAM MUIR, marr. cont. re- 



1691 



corded. [Reg. of Deeds, Dal., 
xviii, 827.] 



JAMES ELPHINSTON, his son, John, 



1700 



apprentice to George Duncan, sur 
geon apothecary, 13th Jan. 1721. 



DALKEITH] 



DALKEITH GLENCORSE 



73 



ANDREW GRAY, line 23, delete 
1876 fc Robert John died at school 1 877. 

DALKEITH WEST 

HENRY FARQUHAR, died at London 
3rd March 1946; his wife, Annie 
Muir Peace, died at Dover 27th 

Dec. 1916; his daugh., Jane Lament, died 

at London 8th March 1935. 

JOHN SCOTT, trans, to Saughtree 8th 
1909 Sept. 1922. 

CHARLES MICHAEL HEPBURN, 



1923 



M.A., B.D., ord. 4th Jan, 1923; 
trans, to Moulin 25th Nov. 1926. 



DOUGLAS DICKSON ROBERTSON, 



1927 



trans, from Patna (q.v.) 21st April 



1927. Had issue Margaret Selkirk, 
born 7th Aug. 1928, died 17th Jan. 1937; 
John James (twin), born 7th Aug. 1928, 
died 16th Dec. 1943. 

FALA 

JOHN FERNIE THOMSON, his 



1861 



widow, Jessie Wood McGowan, 
died 27th Nov. 1927. 



JAMES HUNTER, died 26th Nov. 



1882 



1915; his widow, Caroline Helen 



Parry, died 8th Sept. 1926; his 
sons David Ainslie, sergeant, Canadians, 
killed in action 9th April 1917; Charles 
Cook, died at Murtle 21st Nov. 1919. 

JAMES ALEXANDER STEPHEN, 

1Q16 trans, from Orphir (q.v.) 19th May 
1916; min. of United Charge 1937. 
Served in Great War as Lieut. R.G.A. 
1916-19; died 10th Nov. 1946. 

SOUTRA 

There was in the church an altar dedi 
cated to the Virgin Mary, the endowment 
of which was a croft in the burgh of 
Hawick, and Blacatis-Aiker, East Mains, 
in the barony of Hawick. [Reg. Great 
Seal, iv, 1702.] 

GLENCORSE 

In or about 1230 Sir Henry de Brade 
granted to Holyrood Abbey the teinds of 



Baveley (Bavelaw) for the support of the 
chapel then called the Chapel of St Kathe- 
rine in Pentland, and later St Katherines 
(or St Catherines)-in-the Hopes. The grant 
was confirmed by Charter of King Alexan 
der II in 1236, and Bull of Pope Gregory 
IX in 1237. In Jan. 1243 David de Bern- 
ham, Bishop of St Andrews, confirmed the 
chapel to the abbey; and a Bull of Pope 
Innocent IV to the same effect followed in 
1247. The foregoing facts hardly support 
the picturesque story of the founding of 
the chapel by Sir William St Clair of 
Rosslyn, which narrates that while hunting 
in the Pentlands King Robert the Bruce 
was baulked by a white deer specially fleet 
of foot, and in his difficulty asked his 
attendant nobles whether one of their dogs 
could secure the animal. Without hesita 
tion Sir William St Clair pledged his head 
against the forest of Pentland Moor that 
his two dogs would kill the deer before it 
crossed the march Burn. The king assented; 
and then came the chase, which went on 
till it was close on the Burn. In despair of 
securing the animal, Sir William threw 
himself from his horse and invoked the aid 
of St Katherine. At once one of his dogs 
stopped the deer in the middle of the 
stream, and the other turned it back to the 
winning bank and killed it. Sir William s 
reward was the lands of Logan House, 
Kirkton, and Earnscraig; and in gratitude 
for St Katherine s help he built a chapel 
to her honour on the spot where he had 
knelt in prayer. While the story can hardly 
be true, it may be that in some way Sir 
William was a benefactor of the chapel 
which was in existence more than a century 
earlier. Some time prior to 1560 Glen- 
corse became a parish with the chapel as 
the church; and in the 17th century there 
occur the designations the Church of St 
Catherine-in-the-Hopes; and under that 
designation the church was attached to the 
Bishopric of Edinburgh on its erection by 
Charles I in 1633. At an earlier period, 
apparently in or soon after 1602, the parish 
had been united to Lasswade. But on 1 8th 
June 1612, on the ground that "Glencorse 
is not able to interteine ane minister for the 
present as is allegit," and also on account 



74 



GLENCORSE 



[PRESB. OF 



of the distance of Lasswade from Glen- 
corse, the Presbytery consented "to the 
union of the twa kirks," Glencorse and 
Penicuik, "ane reasonable augmentation" 
to be "provyded fra Glencors for the 
present minister of Penycuik and his suc 
cessors. The union with Lasswade, how 
ever, was not disannulled; and the minister 
of Lasswade retained his right to the double 
benefice. In any case the arrangement does 
not appear to have yielded satisfactory 
results for Glencorse; and on 26th Oct. 
1615 the parishioners complained to the 
Presbytery " of ye want of the Word and 
Sacramentis, " and desired "most earnest- 
lie ane pastor. The minister of Lasswade 
agreed, "provyding that in respect of his 
strict and grit necessities his stipend was 
not imparit." The lack of stipend pre 
vented Glencorse being made a separate 
charge; but on 23rd Dec. 1615 the Presby 
tery resolved that a colleague be appointed 
to the minister of Lasswade, his particular 
duty being to overtake the work at Glen 
corse. In this arrangement the people of 
Glencorse concurred; and the emoluments 
of the colleague were provided by the 
heritors of both parishes. By Act of 
Parliament on 8th March 1647 Glencorse 
was disjoined from Lasswade and made 
into a separate parish. In the same year, 
on account of the church being situated at 
the west end of the parish it was only 20 
yards from the March Burn a new church 
was erected in a central position on the 
Erncraig. The work does not appear, how 
ever, to have been wholly satisfactory, for 
on 6th June 1661 there was laid before the 
Presbytery a reference of the Kirk Session 
of 1 st May narrating the ruinous state of 
that part of the kirk from the Eastern door 
to the Western door, which is holden up 
for the present by props of timber, not 
withstanding whereof the whole side wall 
in that bounds is most like to fall," and 
craving speedy repairs. Four years later 
the church was in large part rebuilt. A new 
church was in process of building in 1694-5, 
and in the latter year was burned without 
being completed. Rebuilding took place in 
1699. A scheme of renovation was carried 
out in 1811, when the tower was added. 



The last service took place in the church 
on 5th Dec. 1885; and thereafter the 
church, whose ruins still stand on Erncraig, 
gave place to the present church situated 
near Milton Bridge. Within the latter 
church is a baptismal font which was dis 
covered deep down in the middle of the 
floor of the old church during the renova 
tion work of 1811. Probably it had been 
removed from the Church of St Catherine 
in 1647. For the increase of Glencorse 
stipend Parliament in 1648 mortified a 
yearly sum of 140 merks which had pre 
viously been paid out of the lands of 
Castlelaw for the maintenance of the organs 
and singers of the Chapel Royal of Stirling. 
[Charters of Holy rood, 45-6, 64, 65-6, 
179-80; Acts Scott. ParL, vi, (1), 733, vi, 
(2), 482; Grant s Call of the Pentlands, 
89-99.] 

LANCELOT GIBSON, reader 1573, 
still in office 1585. [Comps. Gen. 
Coll of Thirds.} 



1573 



THOMAS DOUGLAS, M.A., min. 
1576; also in charge at Dalkeith. 
[Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.] 



1576 



1616 



JAMES PORTEOUS, M.A., min. at 
Soutra; on 23rd Dec. 1615 the 
Presbytery, with the concurrence of 
the parishioners of Glencorse, chose him 
as colleague to George Ramsay, min. at 
Lasswade and Glencorse, to furder (said) 
Mr George at Leswaid in word and disci 
pline, as also to instruct thaim (parishion 
ers of Glencorse) by preiching and 
chatechising, yea, administer to thaim also 
the sacramentis in due and proper season 
in and at thair awin Kirk at Glencors"; 
trans, and adm. as colleague 8th Aug. 1616; 
in 1636 he "related (to the Presbytery) that 
for sa meikle as ye paroche of Glencors 
had been annexed to his Kirk (Lasswade) 
thir many yeirs bygane, and he had been 
serving yaim according to his abilitie, bot 
now aige on his pairt, and distance of place 
and ye charge of his awin Kirk makes him 
unable to repair thither, and yairfoir hes 
demitted ye said kirk (Glencorse) to Mr 
Alexander Robesoun, who hes resaved 



DALKEITH] 



GLENCORSE INVERESK 



75 



1674 



presentation yairto be ye Kings Majestic. 
[Grant s Call of the Pentlands, 91-3.] 

GEORGE PURVES, M.A., on his com 
plaint that notwithstanding that he 
had given obedience to the pro 
clamation for prayers for the King and 
Queen, certain persons had come "to his 
house and discharged him from preaching 
. . . and took away the keys of the kirk 
door and the Kirk Byble, Parliament, on 
7th May 1689, ordered the keys and the 
Bible to be restored to him, and the laird 
of Glencorse to afford him protection. 
[Acts Scott. ParL, ix, App. 100.] 

JOHN WILSON, eldest son of Thomas 



1699 



W., merchant burgess of Glasgow, 
admitted burgess of Glasgow 1748. 



ALEXANDER TORRENCE left a be- 



1818 



quest of 1,000 in favour of the 



church, which is said to have been 
invested in ground annuals in respect of 
the Municipal Buildings, Portobello. 



1878 



WILLIAM BAILL1E STRONG, dem. 

24th July 1928 died at Edmbur g h 

17th Dec. 1930; his daughs. Helen 
Marjorie (marr. 22nd Nov. 1919 James C. 
Spence of Debrugarth, Assam); Katherine 
Baillie (marr. 24th June 1925 John Fleming, 
C.A.); his son, William, M.A., C.A. assis 
tant controller Transport, Sudan Govern 
ment. 

DONALD MAcASKELL BEGBIE, for- 

192R merly of Freuchie (q.v.), trans, from 

St John s, Leith, 5th Dec. 1928; his 

son, Donald William David, killed in an 

accident 20th Feb. 1941. 

HERIOT 

WILLIAM McGEORGE, son of James 
McG., schoolmaster, Dumfries, and 
Marion Gladstanes; marr. Kathe 
rine, daugh. of John Coupland, elder and 
barber of Dumfries, and had issue 
Robert, died 17th Dec. 1680. Line 6, delete 
son of min. of Caerlaverock. 

ADAM STEEL, his daugh. Helen (marr. 
proc. 21st May 1749 James Robert 
son, clerk to London Paving Co.). 



1689 



ALEXANDER HUNTER, marr. (3) 



1791 



Lily, daugh. of Thomas Malcolm, 
shoemaker, Edinburgh. 



DANIEL CAMERON, his daugh., 
1869 Amelia Nisbet, died 19th April 1931. 

JOHN FRANCIS BROWN, dem. 15th 
Dec. 1927, died at Gorebridge 25th 
Nov. 1928. 



1871 



HARRY SMITH, trans, from Old 
Kilpatrick (q.v.) 7th June 1928; 
dem. 31st March 1936, D.D. (Aber 
deen, 1st April 1925); died 8th Aug. 1942; 
his daughs. Margaret Miller Frazer (marr. 
7th March 1933 Thomas Alexander, elder 
son of William Mathieson, Shoesbourne, 
Heriot); Lettice Ruthven, B.Sc. (marr. 18th 
Dec. 1934 Peter Chalmers Somerville, 
B.Com., A.I.C.S., Antwerp). Addl. Publi 
cations Editor Life and Work, 1925; Not 
against Flesh and Blood, 1923, is included 
in Modern Scottish Poets: A Book of 
Twentieth Century Scottish Verse and Oor 
Mither Tongue, Scots Anthology. 

INVERESK 

There was in the church an altar dedi 
cated to St Ninian, and in St Ninian s 
Aisle there was also an altar dedicated to 
the Virgin Mary. On 6th March 1475-6 
Simon de Preston of Craigmillar, Kt., 
granted 10 merks of the lands of Cameron 
for a perpetual chaplain to celebrate in the 
church. Later this was designated the 
"Chaplainry of St Ninian called Came 
ron." In 1804 the old church was taken 
down and the existing church built. There 
were at least three chapels in the parish. 
The chapel dedicated to St Mary Magda 
lene, called Whitehill, was situated at 
Hailes on the banks of the Niddry Burn. 
The chapel dedicated to St James was in 
existence before 8th Sept. 1491, and may 
have been the chapel which stood at the 
head of Market Street where, in the first 
part of the 19th century, there were the 
ruins of an almshouse. The beginning of 
the Chapel of Loretto, dedicated to the 
Virgin Mary, is narrated in the Diurnal of 



76 



INVERESK 



[PRESB. OF 



Occurrents under date 19th April 1533: 
"In this mene tyme, thair come an here- 
meit, callit Thomas Douchtie, in Scotland, 
quha haid been lang capitane (captive ?) 
befoir the Turk, as was allegit, and brocht 
ane ymage of our Lady with him, and 
foundit the cheppill of Laureit beside 
Musselburgh. " There followed on 27th 
Jan. 1533-4 a charter of the bailies, bur 
gesses and community of Musselburgh, 
granting in pure alms to Thomas Duchty, 
hermit of the Order of St Paul, first hermit 
of Mount Sinai, for his lifetime and for 
his successors, hermits, for building the 
Chapel of the Blessed Virgin Mary of 
Loretto, with small house and garden, as 
might be pleasing to them, a piece of 
vacant land of their territory and liberty, 
containing 5 roods, at the east boundary 
of the burgh near le chaypule, bounded by 
the common green on the east and west. 
On 1st Aug. 1534 James V supplied fur 
nishings and vestments for the altar of the 
chapel, provision being made for em 
broidering the royal arms on the vestments 
and "frunlett." The "small house" was 
a cell, the residence of the hermit, adjoining 
the chapel; and it may be assumed that 
Thomas Duchty was "Thomas, Hermeit 
in Lareit," to whom Alexander, Earl of 
Glengairn, addressed a satire exposing the 
hypocrisy of the clergy "Ane Epistell 
direct fra the halie Hermeit of Alareit to 
his Brethern, the Gray Friars. The chapel 
was destroyed in Hertford s expedition in 
1544, but was repaired; and on 10th Dec. 
1568 Sir Gavin Walker, hermit of the 
chapel, with consent of the patrons, the 
bailies and community of Musselburgh, set 
in feu to Andrew Sanderson, burgess of the 
burgh, the chapel with its room and garden. 
In 1590 the stones of the chapel were 
utilised for the building of Musselburgh 
Tolbooth. 

The church was dedicated to St Michael 
and All Angels. [Cal. of Scott. Supplica 
tions, 119, S.H.S.; Reg. Great Seal ii, 1228; 
iii, 1403; iv, 1909; Lord High Treas. Aces., 
200-1; Diurnal of Occurrents, 17; Capring- 
ton Letter Bk., 14; James Young s Prot. 
Bk., 483, 485; Ancient Church Dedications 
in Scotland, 347.] 



JOHN BURNE, min. before Aug. 1567. 
1567 [Edin. Tests., i, 73.] 

EDWARD LAYOS or LYNE, reader, 
1570 pres. to vicarage 26th June 1579 in 
succession to Thomas Makgill. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., xl, 15.] 

ANDREW BLACKHALL, his son, 
Andrew, student of grammar, pres. 
to Prebendary of Restalrig 7th July 
1582. [Reg. Sec. Sig., xlix, 14.] 

RICHARD OGILL, son of Henry O. 
_ Qn of Hartramwade, pres. to vicarage 
12th May 1590 on death of Michael 
Baillie. Reg. Sec. Sig., Ix, 128.] 

ADAM COLT, pres. to vicarage on 



1597 

1480.] 



dem. of Edward Lyne, last vicar. 
[Chart, of Dunfermline MS., ii, 



PATRICK HENDERSON, M.A., 
reader, 3rd Jan. 1607 and 4th Aug. 
1608. [Yester Writs, 1045, 1062.] 



1607 



1680 



ARTHUR MILLAR, M.A., resident in 
Inveresk, with his wife, 1694; had 
right to half-year s stipend at Whit 
sunday of that year. [Inveresk Poll Tax 
Book, 23.] 

RICHARD HOWIESON, had five 

6 children; his second son, Richard; 

Magdalen (marr. Henry Stewart, 

surgeon, Inverkeithing. [Fraser Writs Gen. 

Reg. House, 16th Nov. 1707; Inveresk Poll 

Tax Roll, 17.] 

JOHN WILLIAMSON, 2 col., line 2, 
1702 ^ elete " A nes niarr. Henry Robin, 
min. of Burntisland. " 

LESLIE MOODIE, born 29th Dec. 
1806 1766. 

JOHN GARDINER BEVERIDGE, his 



1836 



son, William Bryce, died 6th Feb. 

1932; his daughs. Janet Isabella 
(marr. William Macnab of Keithock); Mary 
Elizabeth Anne, died 14th Aug. 1933. 



DALKEITH] 



INVERESK LASSWADE 



77 



JAMES SHARP, licen. 13th May 1885; 
his daughs. Muriel Margaret, died 
22nd July 1918; Irene, died Edin 
burgh 28th Sept. 1925; Catherine, died 1st 
Aug. 1931. 



1910 



WILLIAM EDIE, D.D. (St Andrews, 
5th July 1918), Chaplain to Royal 
Company of Archers 8th June 1927; 
M.V.O. 3rd Oct. 1929; died 22nd June 
1936; his widow, Jean Irvine Fergusson, 
died 9th Nov. 1941; his son, Robert Miller, 
M.A., died 13th Dec. 1919. 



LASSWADE 

Of the old church, apparently of the 13th 
century, and therefore in all likelihood the 
church dedicated by Bishop de Bernham 
on 6th May 1240, only a portion of the 
south wall in the old graveyard survives. 
There is also the ruin of a north transeptal 
aisle, now a mausoleum of the family of 
Clerk of Eldin, belonging to the 17th cen 
tury. The medieval floriated finial cross 
above the entrance of the Drummond 
mausoleum in all likelihood belonged to 
the old church, as also did two sculptured 
fragments which are in the National 
Museum of Antiquities of Scotland. The 
present church was built in 1793. Ap 
parently a short time prior to 1451 the 
church became a mensal church of the 
Bishopric of St Andrews. But on 26th June 
of that year a Papal Decree, in answer to 
a petition by Bishop Kennedy of St An 
drews, revoked and dissolved the appro 
priation of the church to that purpose, the 
actual severance to be effected with Kirk 
liston Church, which was to take the place 
of Lasswade as a mensal church, became 
vacant by the death or resignation of the 
rector thereof. The connection with St 
Andrews was renewed however, when, 
during a voidance in the Church of St 
Andrews and with the consent of the 
Chapter, Prior David, vicar general, at the 
instigation of George Abernethy, who had 
become rector of Lasswade before 5th May 
1465, united Lasswade Church in per 
petuity to the capitular mensa of St Salva- 



tor s Church, St Andrews, the said George 
Abernethy being received as a Canon of 
St Salvator s. The union did not at once 
take effect; and on 20th Dec. 1468 the 
Pope, Paul II, made remit to delegates to 
enquire into the matter, and if they found 
that union had been decreed as stated, to 
unite in perpetuity the said Church of Lass 
wade not exceeding 40 merks to the said 
mensa, so that on the resignation or death 
of said George Abernethy, the Dean and 
Chapter take possession of the Church and 
cause its cure of souls to be governed by 
one of the Canons or Chaplains of St 
Salvator s. " Succeeding stages are marked 
by Bulls of Pope Sixtus IV, one on 31st 
May 1473, which united Lasswade (along 
with other churches) to the episcopal mensa 
of St Andrews, on the death or demission 
of the rector, and the other on 17th March 
1477, which joined to St Salvator s Church 
a canonry and prebend in the Church of 
Lasswade, Robert Blackadder, rector of 
Lasswade, being made canon and pre 
bendary, and 5 merks annually to be paid 
from the canonry to the common table of 
St Salvator s. The election of Robert 
Blackadder to the See of Aberdeen in 1480 
rendered the parsonage vacant; and by 
Bull of Pope Sixtus on 8th Aug. 1482 it 
was united once more to the mensa of St 
Andrews. Five years later a Papal Bull 
effected the dissolution of the union with 
St Andrews, and united Lasswade to the 
collegiate church, Restalrig, attaching it to 
the deanery thereof. On 5th June 1592 an 
Act of Parliament dissolved the Deanery 
of Restalrig, constituted Lasswade a 
separate parish, and, excluding Dalkeith 
which also pertained to the deanery, 
erected the haill permanent fruitis of the 
said deanry of Restalrig and qlk pertenit 
thairto of auld in ane severall and distinct 
personage to be call it the personage of 
Leswaid," and with the vicarage of the 
church, quhen it sal happen to vaik, to 
become the stipend of the minister and his 
successors "in all tymes aiming." In 1601 
the vicarage became part of the stipend; 
and in 1648 Parliament ratified the morti 
fication by Mr James Fairlie, parson of 
Lasswade, to Mr John Weir, parson of 



78 



LASSWADE LOANHEAD 



[PRESB. OF 



Restalrig, of the endowments of the par 
sonage of Lasswade not lying within that 
parish, Lasswade thus becoming dependent 
entirely upon its own parochial endow 
ments. By Bull of llth March 1478-9 
Pope Sixtus IV gave faculty and licence to 
a hospital, "lately erected" near the 
church of Lasswade by Robert Blackadder, 
rector, to God and the Blessed Virgin, and 
under the invocation of the Blessed Mary 
of Consolation, for the poor, for pilgrims, 
for the infirm, the sick, and other miserable 
persons wishing to betake themselves to it 
for a time." By another Bull of the same 
date the Pope gave executors and keepers 
of the hospital, and by still another of 4th 
April previously he had granted indul 
gences for its erection and maintenance. 
Beside the brig of Leswaid there was a 
hospital with chapel, dedicated to St 
Leonard. To it belonged the lands and 
mill of Powtoun (Polton), which in July 
1 500 Sir David Ramsay, parson of Foulden 
and chaplain of the hospital, with consent 
of his nephew, Sir Alexander Ramsay of 
Dalhousie, patron of said hospital, granted 
in feu to William Ramsay of Powtoun 
(Polton). Evidently one of the Dalhousie 
family had founded the hospital, the 
patronage of which continued with that 
family. [Lockhart s Ch. in Scot, in llth 
Century, 46; Report of Anc. Mon. Commis 
sion, Midlothian, 97; Cal. Papal Reg., 
Letters, x, 220, xii, 635-6, 794; Acts Scott. 
Parl, iii, 551, vi (2), 84; Theiner s Vetera 
Monumenta, 481, 483, 484; Reg. Sec. Seal, 
i, 551; Retours, i, 108, xxxi, 323; Chart. 
Coll. Churches of Midlothian, 237; Wal- 
cott s Anc. Ch. of Scotland, 389, 409.] 



1565 



WILLIAM BARBOUR, pres. 1569 on 
death of Sir Michael Henderson. 
[Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 22.] 



1581 



GEORGE RAMSAY, his pres. to 
vicarage in 1601 was in consequence 
of the death of Mr John Manderston 
and was in terms of the Act of Dissolution 
of the Deanery of Restalrig, which decreed 
that he should receive the vicarage when 
it became vacant. [Reg. Pres. Bene., iii, 
51.] 



JOHN MANDERSTON, vicar of Glen- 
15Q2 corse and Lasswade prior to 1592; 
died before 1 601 . [Reg. Pres. Bene., 
iii, 51.] 

JAMES PORTEOUS, M.A., his pres. 
1616 to the Parsonage and vicarage of 
Lasswade in 1617 was upon the 
resignation of George Ramsay, who thus 
helped to make provision for James Por- 
teous, his colleague in the charge of Lass 
wade and Glencorse. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 
iv, 146.] 

JAMES ALEXANDER BURDON, his 

widow, Marianne Imrie, died 12th 
Oct. 1927; his son, Harry, died 12th 
Dec. 1929. 

ROBERT HAMILTON PRYDE, app. 
19Q5 Presby. Clerk 4th July 1929, died 
suddenly 6th Jan. 1930; his daugh., 
Frances (marr. 14th July 1939 Cyril Jones, 
min. of St Andrews, Lochgelly); his widow, 
Sarah Eleanor Braithwaite, died 10th 
March 1943. 



LOANHEAD 

ALEXANDER STEWART, dem. Llth 



1884 



Oct. 1927, died at Corstorphine 18th 



Feb. 1929; his widow, Isobel Glover 
Johnston, died 1st May 1933; his daugh., 
Jessie Bremner (marr. 4th Jan. 1936 
Matthew Campbell Thomson, curator, 
Carnegie Aquarium, Edinburgh). 



1928 



THOMAS MAVER PATERSON, born 
Aberdeenshire 26th May 1901, son 
of John P., farmer, and Helen Mary 
Maver; educ. at Univ. of Aberdeen, M.A. 
(1922); Edin. B.D. (1925); licen. by Presb. 
of Edinburgh 12th May 1926, assistant, 
South Leith; ord. 14th March 1928; trans, 
to Sinclairtown 27th Nov. 1935. Marr. 
16th July 1930 Agnes Campbell, M.A., 
only daugh. of Andrew Bowden, Ryehill 
Gardens, Leith, and has issue Agnes 
Ruth, born 6th May 1931; John Maver, 
born 6th March 1935; Alistair Andrew, 
born 25th Dec. 1936, died 22nd June 1937; 
Helen Campbell, born 14th Aug. 1943. 



DALKEITH] 



NEWBATTLE NEWCRAIGHALL 



79 



NEWBATTLE 

There was in Newbattle Abbey an altar 
dedicated to St Katherine. (Book of 
Assumption, 79, 344.) The patronage of the 
Church of Masterton (Newbattle) was 
granted to Newbattle Abbey by Robert I 
306-29. The Church of St Mary Newbattle 
was dedicated by the Bishop of Moray 
1 3th March 1233. At Bryan s Chapel there 
was a chapel dedicated to St Briox. [Reg. 
Mag. Sig., i, app. ii, 525, viii, 1146.] 

ROBERT WILSON had parsonage and 



1573 



vicarage in succession to John Hay. 
[Acts and Dec., Iv, 12.] 



ANDREW MILLAR, pres. to par- 



1583 



sonage and vicarage and to be 
reader 9th Jan. 1583 and 6th June 

1584, on death of Robert Wilson. [Reg. 

Pres. Bene., ii (2), 104.] 

JOHN HERRIES, pres. on dem. of 
Andrew Millar, probably son of 
Archibald H. of Maidenpap. Marr. 
Barbara Harlaw and had issue John, 
M.A., held Prebend of Kirkbank in the 
Collegiate Church of St Bothans, which on 
22nd March 1608-9 he received for life 
from James, Lord Hay of Yester, in succes 
sion to Daniel Hay. Line 7, delete "pro 
bably." [Cal. of Yester Writs, 1058, 1059; 
Reg. Sec. Sig., Iv, 32.] 

THOMAS AMBROSE, son of William 



1606 



A., merchant burgess of Stirling. 
[Edin. Tests., 3rd Dec. 1606.] 



ANDREW CANT, M.A.; on 19th Dec. 
1638, on a supplication by Lord 
Lothian from Newbattle, the Gene 
ral Assembly deliberated whether Mr Cant 
should be transported from Pitsligo to 
Edinburgh or to Newbattle ("the Com 
missioners of Edinburgh alledged that they 
had made an election of him 24 yeares 
since"), and by a majority decided in 
favour of Newbattle. [Peterkin s Recs. of 
the Kirk of Scot., 187.] 

JOHN MOSSMAN, his son, George, 



1688 



apprentice to Alexander Mitchell, 
barber, 21st Jan. 1696. 



GEORGE SHEPHERD, his son, John, 
1784 min. of Muirkirk. 



THOMAS GORDON, his daughs. 
Amy Mary, died at Crieff 21st Dec. 
1938; Janet Elizabeth (Mrs Sym), 
died 23rd April 1945. 



1843 



JOHN CHARLES CARRICK, his 



1885 



widow, Annie Jane Russell, died 
25th June 1915. 



WILLIAM LINDSAY, trans, to Lang- 
1913 holm 3rd March 1922. 

JOHN ARNOTT HAMILTON, trans. 



1922 



to Kirkfieldbank (q.v) 14th July 



1922. Addl. Publications^ Me 
diaeval City in Greece (Aberdeen, 1921); 
Churches in Palermo (London, 1929); New- 
battle Parish Church, 1727-1827 (Edin 
burgh, 1928); Byzantine Architecture and 
Decoration (London, 1933); The Story of 
Newbattle Church and Abbey (1945); 
Byzantine Architecture (London, 1945). 

NEWCRAIGHALL 

ARCHIBALD PRENTICE, died 16th 



1886 



Nov. 1919; his sons James Alexan 



der Webster, corporal, 3rd Dragoon 
Guards, killed in Flanders 6th June 1915; 
Archibald Hepburn Gardner, died at Mom 
basa 21st March 1926; his daugh. Maisie 
(marr. 10th Nov. 1917 Lieut.-Col. William 
Henry Forsyth, R.A.M.C.); his widow, 
Jane Ann Russel, died at Tonbridge, Kent, 
25th Nov. 1931. 

CHARLES HEUGHAN, trans, to 



1912 



Hutchesontown, Glasgow, 29th 
March 1917. 



1917 



ADAM HUNTER, born Sheardale, 
Dollar, 29th Oct. 1870, son of John 
H., colliery manager, Kirkintilloch, 
and Mary Morris; educ. Dollar Academy, 
Univ. and Trinity College, Glasgow; licen. 
by Free Church Presb. of Glasgow, May 
1900; Assistant Partick and Springburn, 
Glasgow; ord. to Shettleston Free Church, 
1905; trans, to Glenorchy, 1908; trans, to 
Rothesay Free Church, 1913; trans, and 
adm. 4th Sept. 1917. Marr. 16th Dec. 1902 
Elizabeth Paul, daugh. of William Gray, 



80 



NEWCRAIGHALL NORTH ESK 



[PRESB. OF 



Portobello, and has issue Elizabeth Paul, 
born 12th Oct. 1903, M.A. (marr. 6th Sept. 
1932 Robert Mitchell, Musselburgh); Mary 
Morris, L.D.S., R.C.S.E., born 22nd April 
1906 (marr. 17th April 1946 Peter Bryce 
Gunn, min. of Roxburgh); John (Ian), born 
9th Nov. 1907; William Gray, born 3rd 
April 1909. 



NEWTON 

DAVID BELL, exhorter before 12th 
1561 



March 1561-2 and also 5th Nov. 
1569. [Edin. Tests., i, 332.] 



LAURENCE WATSON, reader; for 



1576 



"1576" read "1567"; pres. to 



vicarage 16th March 1573 on death 
of Sir John Crawford. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 
1, (2), 17.] 

JOHN BARBOUR, reader, Pentland; 
pres. to vicarage 14th July 1587 on 
death of Sir Laurence Watson; still 

reader 1603. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Iv, 99; 

Comps. Surplus Thirds of Benefices.} 



1681 



ROBERT BANNERMAN, son of 
Alexander B. of Elsick and his wife, 
Marion, daughter of Alexander 
Hamilton of Easter Binning; resident with 
his wife and son, Alexander, in Tron 
Parish, Edinburgh, 4th Nov. 1694. [Tron 
Poll Tax Roll, 2; Complete Baronetage, 
iv, 317.] 

THOMAS MOFFAT, his daugh., Mary 
(marr. proc. 28th March 1762 John 
Sprott, candlemaker, Edinburgh). 



1700 



THOMAS SCOTT, his daugh., Mar- 
1801 garet Louisa, died 9th July 1836. 

MALCOLM MACGREGOR, his 

widow, Jane Snowdon, died 16th 
Feb. 1922; his daugh., Margaret 
Arnot, died 10th July 1945. 

JOHN MACBETH, died 5th Oct. 
1897 1923. 

WILLIAM CARRIC CLARK, ord. 3rd 



1924 



April 1924; trans, to Montrose 
Second Charge 7th Dec. 1927. 



FREDERICK RITCHIE MITCHELL, 



1928 



born 15th May 1899; son of Alexan 



der M., solicitor and provost, 
Musselburgh, and Annie Rose Ritchie; 
educ. at Univ. of Edinburgh, M.A. (1922), 
B.D. (1925); licen. by Presb. of Dalkeith, 
1927; assistant St Paul s, Leith; ord. 20th 
April 1928; trans, to Orwell Park Presb. 
Church, Liverpool, 1st Oct. 1930. Marr. 
8th Aug. 1931 Margaret Wilson Shaw, 
daugh. of William Mackay Lennox, Town 
Clerk, Kilsyth, and has issue Margaret 
Lennox, born 18th Oct. 1935; Eva Ann, 
born 18th May 1938. 

NORTH ESK 

On 7th June 1649 there was submitted 
to Parliament a supplication of heritors, 
members, ministers and kirk session, and 
inhabitants of Inveresk, to the effect that 
upon a decision of Synod in Nov. 1648 the 
Presbytery had visited Inveresk on 5th 
April 1649, had come to the finding that 
over 2,000 communicants of the church 
"was too much for one man." and there 
fore deemed it necessary that a division of 
the parish was necessary, and that "the 
Burgh of Musselburgh and the Fisherrow 
be erected into a new parish by itself." 
Having perambulated the bounds, the 
Presbytery did design the place where a 
kirk should be built, and it now asked 
Parliament to ratify the same and "grant 
an Act for the erection of the said kirk in 
a paroch by itself, that so with all diligence 
convenient some course may be taken for 
building of the same." The matter was 
remitted to the Commission for the Planta 
tion of Kirks, etc., and the division of 1650 
was the outcome. [Acts Scott. ParL, vi, 
(2), 393.] 

ROBERT BONALY, his son, Robert, 



1719 



apprentice to John More, merchant, 
Edinburgh, 17th Oct. 1739. 



HENRY MONCRIEFF MACGILL, 

his widow, Janet Seed Whyte, died 

at Levenhall, 3rd Jan. 1926; his son, 

Wakefield, died at Manchester 23rd March 

1938; his daugh., Jane Whyte, died 23rd 

Jan. 1942. 



DALKEITH] 



NORTH ESK PENICUIK 



81 



JOHN ASHPLANT NICHOLLS, trans. 
1910 to Cambusnethan, 16th May 1917. 

DAVID DUNCAN, trans, from Dun- 
tocher (q.v.) 17th Oct. 1917; his 
wife, Jessie McAinsh, died 13th 
Jan. 1934. He died at Crieff, 20th July 
1940; his son, Alastair Jamieson, solicitor, 
died Sept. 1940. 

ORMISTON 

There was in the church an altar dedi 
cated to the Virgin Mary. [Chart, of New- 
battle, 142.] 

ANDREW SIMSON, min. in 1571. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlith- 

I ^ / I n 

gow, etc.] 
NATHANIEL HARLAW, pres. to 



1591 



Borthwick 13th Oct. 1594-5, on 



1647 



death of Nicol Hay. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., Ixvii, 75.] 

JOHN SINCLAIR, col. 2, lines 8 and 
12, for 1662 and 1663" read "1682 
and 1683"; his son Patrick,, rector 
of Ailmertoun, Norfolk; his daugh., Jean 
(marr. 17th June 1687 Andrew Hogg, W.S.), 
died May 1691. 

JOHN COCKBURN, marr. Anna 
1688 Garden. 

JAMES BANNERMAN, his daugh., 
Jemima Margaret, died 25th June 
1929. 

WILLIAM JOHNSTON, his widow, 
1880 Mary Mackay, died 4th March 1934. 

DAVID CUNNINGHAM GRAHAM, 
dem. 16th May 1924; died at Bourne, 
Massachusetts, llth Oct. 1937. 

WILLIAM YOUNG WHITEHEAD, 

trans - fr m Law (<7- v -) 26tn Se Pt- 

1924. Ph.D. (1929). Addl issue, 
William James Bethune, born 19th June 
1921. Publication History of Ormiston 
(1938). 

PENICUIK 

The present church was built in 1771 and 
enlarged in the first half of the 19th century. 
Near it are the ruins of the earlier church, 
post-reformation and probably 17th cen- 



1911 



1924 



tury. In April 1251 the Church of Mount 
Lothian was confirmed as a chaplainry to 
Holyrood Abbey by David de Bernham, 
Bishop of St Andrews; and it was attached 
to the Bishopric of Edinburgh on its erec 
tion by Charles I in 1633. The ruins of the 
church are situated in the churchyard in a 
wooded enclosure north-north-east of 
Mount Lothian. Newhalls House is said 
to have been the site of a Cistercian con 
vent. About 60 yards south-west of the 
house are fragmentary remains of a chapel, 
of which in the middle of the 1 8th century 
there existed considerable portions of the 
walls, the east gable showing a pointed 
window. The ground on the west side of 
the chapel was termed Chapel Yard. At 
the close of the 18th century there still 
remained vestiges of a hospital, termed 
Back Spittal or Old Spittal House, at the 
side of the stream on the north of Spittal 
Hill. There was also a hospital farther 
south at Spittal Farm. In the same area 
are Friarstown and Glebe Croft, the latter 
possibly identical with St Robert s Croft 
described as situated at the confluence of 
the Spittal Burn and Monk s Burn. At 
Polmathorn there was a chapel dedicated 
to the Virgin Mary. [Charters of Holy- 
rood, 63; Reg. Great Seal, viii, 2225, x, 423, 
425, 603; Grant s Callofthe Pentlands, 124; 
Report Anc. Monuments Commiss., Mid 
lothian, 150-1.] 

WILLIAM PENYCUKE, son of Sir 
John P. of Penycuke, parson 1563, 
and still min. 16th Jan. 1594-5; 
designated, also vicar of Urr and Provost 
of the Collegiate Kirk-of-the-Fields; in 
1564 he gave a charter of the Parsonage 
Kirklands and Glebe to his nephew, Wil 
liam P., son of John P. of P.; marr. 
contract 27th Feb. 1570 Katherine, daugh. 
of Alexander Wardlaw of Kilbaberton, 
with issue, including James, eldest son. 
[Cat. of Charters, ix, 1920, x, 2287; 
Acts and Decreets, xli, 174, xlvii, 404, li, 
376, cxcii, 258; Reg. of Deeds, xi, 273, 25th 
Oct. 1570; Reg. Privy Council, ix, 501; Reg. 
Abbrev. Feu-Charters of Ch. Lands, ii, 115; 
Reg. Great Seal, 10th Jan. 1507-8; Reg. 
Sec. Sig., Ixvii, 98.] 



82 



PENICUIK ROSLIN 



[PRESB. OF 



GEORGE TAIT, min. in 1562, reader 
31st March 1566 and llth Jan. 
1575-6. [Test. Inventories MS.; 

Test. James Tweedie 18th Dec. 1575-6, 

Coll. Gen. Thirds, 1562, 102.] 

JOHN HARBOUR, exhorter, Mount 



1577 
325.] 



Lothian, 18th Dec. 1577 and 21st 
Feb. 1578-9. [Edin. Tests., vi, 243, 



EBENEZER BROWN, his daugh., 
1746 Margaret (marr. April 1773 William 
Braidwood, clerk, Edinburgh). 

JOHN HOME, marr. 15th Jan. 1857 

1856 Mary Cobden (died 6th May 1920), 

daugh. of George White, New York. 

WILLIAM SCOTT MONCRIEFF, his 

son, William George, died 2nd Jan. 
1927; his daugh., Elizabeth Joanna, 
died 5th Oct. 1933. 

ROBERT THOMSON, died 1st April 
1888 1927; his son, John William, Lieut. 
R.G.A., died 4th Feb. 1919. 

WILLIAM MAXWELL LANDALE, 
1928 P res - by the Presb. jure develuto and 
trans, from Straiton (q.v.) 15th Feb. 
1928; dem. 30th June 1935; his wife, Anges 
Frances Anderson, died 9th June 1928. 
Marr. (2) 30th April 1931 Jessie, second 
daugh. of Robert Muirhead of Northern 
Lights Commission, Lasswade. He died 
suddenly at a football match, Edinburgh, 
19th Sept. 1936. 

PENTLAND 

To the Chapel of Pentland, which be 
longed to Holyrood Abbey, Alexander II 
granted 3 acres of land on 25th Aug. 1236. 
It was a parish church before 1275, the 
rectory being valued at 8s. in the taxation 
of that year. [Charters of Holyrood, 46; 
Theiner s Vet. Monumenta, 139.] 

GEORGE LUNDIE, son of David L. 

1589 anc * E ^ za ^ etn daugh. of Thomas 
Carkethill, burgess of Edinburgh; 
had issue Susanna, born 5th Nov. 1578. 
[Stephen s Inverkeithing, 187; Dunfermline 
Par. Reg.] 



ROSEWELL 

JOHN HUNTER, dem. 17th May 1915, 
18?6 died at Edinburgh 4th April 1930; 
his wife, Christina Bayne Bell, died 
26th Oct. 1920. 

JAMES MACKENZIE, M.A., ord. 
1Q1 _ 28th Sept. 1915; trans to St Paul s, 
Perth, 29th Jan. 1919. 

JOHN ANDREW INGLIS, ord. 13th 
1Q1 o Ma y 1919 ; trans - to Peterhead East, 
12th Nov. 1926. 

JAMES MATHERS, born 5th June 

1927 J ^ son ^ Tri omas M -> farmer, 
and Esther Sheldon; educ. at Royal 
Univ. of Ireland, B.A. (1897), and Univ. 
of Edinburgh, B.D. (1899); licen. by Presb. 
of Madras 1915; O.B.E. 1st Jan. 1919; 
adm. by General Assembly from Congre 
gational Church May 1916; ord. by Presb. 
of Edinburgh as Secretary for Religious 
Work and Y.M.C.A. 21st Nov. 1920; app. 
to Craigmillar Mission 1926; trans, and 
adm. 3rd Feb. 1927; dem. 30th Sept. 1946. 
Marr. 29th Aug. 1901 Agnes Malseed, and 
has issue Aileen Elizabeth, M.B., Ch.B., 
born 25th July 1902 (marr. 23rd Aug. 1935 
John Edwards, Public Assistance Office, 
Newport, Monmouth); Agnes Doreen, 
M.A., born 20th April 1904 (marr. (1) 20th 
April 1929 Arthur Currie Gordon, min. of 
Foveran; (2) 2nd July 1947 Malcolm 
Manford Corner, min. of Drainie); Robert 
Campbell Malseed, born 14th July 1910, 
ord. 24th April 1936, min. of Mure 
Memorial, Baillieston; Amy Lillingston, 
born 16th Oct. 1912; Joyce, born 3rd Nov. 
1914; Alison, born 27th March 1921. 
Publication The Master Builder, a Study 
of the Life of the Apostle Paul. 

ROSLIN 

The Chapel of Roslin, in the old civil 
parish of Lasswade, is the former Col 
legiate Church of Roslin founded in 1446 
by William St Clair, Earl of Orkney, and 
Lord of Roslin, in honour of the Holy and 
Undivided Trinity, Father, Son and Holy 
Spirit, and the Most Glorious Virgin Mary, 
Mother of the Lord Jesus, and Matthew, 
the Apostle and Evangelist. At his death, 



DALKEITH] 



ROSLIN TEMPLE 



83 



between 4th Dec. 1476 and 29th March 
1482, the building was unfinished; but the 
work was carried on to some extent by his 
younger son and successor as baron of 
Roslin, Sir Oliver Sinclair. The church, 
however, remained incomplete, the nave 
never having been begun, and of the tran 
septs the east walls only having been 
erected. Besides the High Altar of St 
Matthew, there were in the church altars 
dedicated respectively to St Matthew, St 
Pater, St Andrew, and St Mary the Virgin, 
the last being situated in front of the central 
pillar, with a figure of the Virgin above it. 
There was also a lady-chapel which con 
stituted the retrochoir, and contained, in 
addition to elaborate carving, a representa 
tion of the dance of death. The church, 
with the Castle of Roslin, was pillaged by 
an unruly mob during the night of llth 
Dec. 1688. Dedicated also to St Matthew, 
there was a church prior to the collegiate 
church. Remnants of it exist in the ceme 
tery, outside the west wall of which is St 
Matthew s Well. [Chart. Coll. Churches 
of Midlothian, xciii-c., 327, 32.] 

JOSEPH LOU DON, died 23rd Dec. 
1926; his wife, Margaret Mary 
Campbell Buist, died 23rd Feb. 

1924; his daugh., Elizabeth Buist, died 5th 

April 1948. 

SYDNEY SMITH, formerly of Keith 

1017 (#- v -) assistant St Cuthbert s, adm. 

30th March 1927; died suddenly 

when returning from a baptism, 16th Oct. 

1932. 

STOBHILL 

DAVID WILKIE WILSON, died 10th 
March 1922; his daugh., Edith 
Agnes (marr. 9th Oct. 1929 Alexan 
der Bache Walker, M.D., Newtongrange). 

JOHN ALEXANDER CALDER- 
1Q22 WOOD, ord. 8th Sept. 1922, trans, 
to Airdrie 20th May 1927. 

ROBERT MACPHERSON, born 23rd 

192? May 1892, son of John Forbes M., 

min. of South Parish, Greenock; 

educ. at Greenock Academy, Univ. of 

Glasgow, M.A. (1919); licen. by Presb. of 



1888 



Greenock 1920; assistant Paisley Abbey; 
ord. to Armadale 7th June 1922; trans, and 
adm. 23rd Sept. 1927; trans, to Craig- 
rownie 14th July 1932. Marr. 21st Aug. 
1922 Jessie Hardie, daugh. of Peter Mac- 
Coll and Anne Hardie Stewart, and has 
issue John Forbes, born 1st July 1923; 
Stewart MacColl, born 5th Nov. 1925; 
Anne Hannah, born 13th Nov. 1933. 

TEMPLE 

The roofless walls of the old church 
stand in the churchyard on a slope a short 
distance below the village of Temple and 
near the bridge which spans the South Esk. 
The main part appears to belong to the 13th 
century, but the west end, which shows 
signs of a heritor s loft, was rebuilt some 
time after the Reformation. A belfry of 
the 17th century crowns the east gable, and 
a weathering at the east end of the north 
wall may indicate that there a sacristy had 
existed. The present church occupies a site 
on the estate of Braidwood on the north 
side of the road opposite the churchyard. 
Designed by Thomas Brown, architect, 
Uphall, it was built by Thomas Creak, 
Temple, at a cost of 868 in 1831-2, and 
was ready for occupation in April-May of 
the latter year. Near the gate an offering 
house was built. The bell pertained to the 
old church. In part at least the manse has 
been built upon the walls of the buildings 
of the Templar Preceptory; and there have 
been found on the west side of the manse 
grounds traces of an old wall running 
parallel to and near the ravine of the South 
Esk. The patronage of the Church of 
Clerkington was granted in 1338 to New- 
battle Abbey by Christine Bisset, Lady of 
Clerkington, widow of Sir John Bisset, Kt., 
with confirmation in 1359 by her son, 
Walter Bisset. Later its fruits belonged to 
the Collegiate Church of Corstorphine. 
The site of the church, within the grounds 
of Rosebery, is marked by several old 
tombstones. The Chapel (or Church) of 
Moorfoot, now in a very ruinous condition, 
is situated a short distance from Moorfoot 
farm. It was linked with the lands of Moor 
foot, which in 1142 were granted to New- 
battle Abbey by David I. 



84 



TEMPLE 



[PRESB. OF DALKEITH 



Temple was formerly called Balantroda. 
To the Knights Templars David I gave a 
grant of the lands of Balantrodach, where 
they established their first seat. In 1312 
their place was taken by the Knights of St 
John. Friar Thomas was Master of the 
Hospital of St John of Jerusalem at Balan 
troda in 1354. The church was dissolved 
from the collegiate church of Corstorphine 
in 1634; and that was ratified by Parliament 
in 1646, "that the samine may remaine as 
ane several kirke and benefice dismembered 
thairfrom." How long the church con 
tinued to be used for worship is uncertain. 
On 17th Dec. 1669, when Parliament rati 
fied the Crown Charter whereby Sir John 
Nicolson of Lasswade acquired the barony 
of Clerkington including the parsonage and 
vicarage and the patronage of the church, 
it was decreed that in time coming Nicolson 
be "the propper names and designations 
respective of the forsaids lands, paroch 
kirk, and Parochine." In 1749 reversion 
was made to the name Clerkington. [Acts 
Scott. ParL, v, 433, vii, 425; Reg. Great 
Seal i, 326, App., ii, 1173, 1218; Retours, 
iii, 212, xlvi, 166, 170; Hist. MSS. Commis. 
Reports, iii, 414; Charters of Newbattle, 
292-3, 295; see Corstorphine.] 

JOHN BROWN, reader, \562.[Comps. 
1562 Gen. Coll. of Thirds.] 



JOHN B ARBOUR, pres. to vicarage 
2nd Jan. 1577 (see under Penicuik) 
on death of Sir William Henderson. 
[Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, (4), 631.] 

ROBERT MOWAT, his son, John, 



1690 



apprentice to John Baillie, surgeon, 
1st March 1682. 



ARCHIBALD WALKER, his daugh., 
Ann (marr. proc. 7th Nov. 1762 
Archibald Walker, merchant, Perth). 



1738 



1789 



JAMES GOLDIE, line 6, for "1897" 
read "1789." Jointly with the 
Earl of Roseberry and Robert 
Dundas of Arniston in 1840 founded and 
endowed at Toxside a school to provide 
elementary education for children of the 
labouring classes in the south-west portion 
of the parish. [Heritors Records, 25th Jan. 
1883.] 

THEOPHILUS SMITH, his widow, 



1843 



Roberta Florence Smith, died 19th 
Nov. 1943. 



JAMES WILLIAM BLAKE, dem. 13th 



1881 



June 1935; died at Balerno 4th Jan. 



1943; his wife, Beatrix Hewat, died 
16th Feb. 1919; his son, Alexander Kirk- 
wood, died of wounds in France 16th June 
1916. 



PRESBYTERY OF HADDINGTON 



ABERLADY 

In the churchyard there was a chapel 
dedicated to the Virgin Mary. At Kil- 
spindie on the north-west side of the village 
there is said to have been a Culdee settle 
ment. Within the policies of Luffness, a 
short distance south-west of Luffness 
House, are the ruins of the church of the 
Carmelite Friary of Luffness, with its 
churchyard. In the first half of the 18th 
century part of the cloisters and portions of 
the walls of the place still survived. In the 
north wall of the east end of the church 
there is an arched tomb with a solid stone 
coffin and the effigy of a knight with shield 
on breast and sword in hand. In 1723 it is 
described as "the tomb of Bickerton," 
evidently one of the family of that name, 
who, in the latter part of the 1 3th century 
and the first part of the 14th, in the persons 
of Walter and John de Bickerton, held 
Luffness off the successive crown vassals, 
Robert de Pinkeny and his brother and 
heir, Henry. It may be that the friary was 
founded by a member of the Bickerton 
family in the 13th century, the period to 
which the ruined church appears to belong. 
In 1361 it received a charter from David II; 
but no details are available. In 1335-6 it 
is narrated that from the lands of Luffness 
there was payable to the friary the sum of 
ten merks in alms annually as "constituted 
of old. The friary also held other lands 
and tenements, including five tenements in 
the town of Aberlady. At Ballincrieff there 
was a hospital dedicated to St Cuthbert and 
said to have been founded in the 12th 
century. On 23rd Nov. 1296 it is stated 
that from the two mills of Ballincrieff the 
hospital received twenty shillings yearly as 
alms from the late Robert de Pinkeny, as 
from the foundation of his ancestors, and 
that by the gift of said ancestors and said 



late Robert it possessed nine bovates and 
nine acres of land. At Edinburgh Castle 
on 29th July 1291 Walter, Master of the 
Hospital, swore fealty to Edward I; and 
similar fealty was sworn at Berwick on 28th 
August 1296 by William Tornall, Guardian 
of the Hospital. At Gosford there was 
another hospital, said to have been asso 
ciated with the Collegiate Church of 
Dunglass. The site, Red Spittal, may indi 
cate that the house belonged to the Red 
Friars; and the place may be identical with 
the establishment of Red Friars in this 
parish, which is said to have been founded 
by the Earl of Dunbar (Patrick, 7th Earl, 
died 1289) in 1286. The vicarage of the 
church was erected a prebend of Dunkeld 
Cathedral by Bishop Lauder of Dunkeld 
1452-76. [Retours, i, 173; Cat. of Docs. 
Rel to Scotland, ii, 125, 227, iii, 338, 386; 
Reg. Great Seal, i, 24, App. II, 1381, vii, 
258, 1666; Haddington Sas., v, 635, f. 248; 
Ragman Rolls, 19, 147; Procs. Soc. of Anti 
quaries, iii, 299; and Plate xxx; Macfarlane s 
Geog. Collections, i, 374, S.H.S.; Walcott s 
Anc. Ch. of Scotland, 385; Chalmer s 
Caledonia, iv, 520.] 

GEORGE ADAMSON, reader, in office 
28th July 1574, when he was called 
Addesoun. [Edin. Test., iii, 197.] 

WILLIAM KEMP, son of John K., 



1567 



prebendary of Aberlady 10th Oct. 
1567. [Reg. of Deeds, vii, 158.] 



1577 



ROBERT SINCLAIR, pres. to vicarage 
27th Feb. 1577 on death of Walter 



Kemp. [Reg. Pres.Bene., i, (2), 67,] 



JOHN KER, as min. here pres. to 
vicarage 30th Nov. 1593 on death 
of Robert Sinclair. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Ixvi, 7.] 



85 



86 



ABERLADY ATHELSTANEFORD 



[PRESB. OF 



ANDREW BLACKHALL, pres. on 
succession to John Ker. [P. S. Reg., 
Ixxii, 190.] 

JOHN GRAY, eldest son of Andrew G., 
merchant, Haddington. [Reg. of 
Deeds, Durie, xxi, 197. 



1684 



ADAM GLASS, bapt. 2nd Nov. 1673, 

1687 y un est son f Alexander G. of 
Sauchie and Marion, daugh. of 
James Rae of Cultonhove; marr. 30th May 
1698 Helen Hamilton, and had issue 
Alexander, born 4th Dec. 1699; Marion, 
born 5th Aug. 1702; Helen, born 29th Nov. 
1704; Thomas, merchant, Stirling, born 3rd 
March 1706; Adam, born 13th April 1707. 
[Foulis of Ravelstoun Ace. Book, xxiii; 
Turnbull s Diary, 374.] 

THOMAS CALDWELL, app. Depute 
Clerk of Assembly, 23rd May 1946; 
D.D. (St Andrews, 27th June 1947.] 

ATHELSTANEFORD 

The church belonged to the Priory of 
Haddington. At the Byres there was a 
chapel dedicated to St Lawrence, which in 
1328 David Lindsay, Lord of Crawford, 
granted to Newbattle Abbey, along with 
2\ acres of land beside the chapel for a 
house to be built, and grazing in the com 
mon pasture of Byres, the abbey to supply 
the chapel with a monk or secular priest, 
and keep it in repair. The church was dedi 
cated by Bishop de Bernham on 7th April 
1244. It was built about the middle of the 
12th century by Countess Ada, daughter 
of the Earl Warrenne and Surrey, and wife 
of Prince Henry of Scotland, and given by 
her to the Priory of Haddington. The 
present church was built in 1784. To 
Bernard Eraser of Drem Gilbert, Prior of 
St Andrews 1166-8, granted permission to 
have a chapel at Drem in return for certain 
lands and with oblations and obventions 
for the Church of Haddington which was 
then the mother church. On the same 
conditions the permission was repeated by 
Simon, Prior of St Andrews, who in 1225 
resigned the office to become Prior of Loch- 
leven. About 1412 William, Lord Lindsay, 



founded the Lady Chapel of Drem for 
himself, Christian, his wife, etc., and en 
dowed it with certain lands and tenements 
at Drem. In 1483 the chapel was annexed 
to the Chaplainrie and Alterage foundit 
within the paroche kirk of St Andrews at 
the altar called the Trinity Altar, situat 
within that part of the said paroche kirk 
callit the Lord Lindsay s Yle." In the 
garden west of Drem House are the ruins 
of the Chapel of St John, probably of the 
15th century, which belonged to the 
Knights Templar. At Fortune there was a 
hospital with lands attached, which about 
1268-70 were given to the House of the 
Red Friars at Houston, Prestonkirk, by 
Christina de Moubray, widow of Sir 
Bernard Fraser of Fortune and Linton. 
[Chart, of Newbattle, 117-20; Cal. of Papal 
Letters, xii, 114-6; Reg. Great Seal, iii, 
30, 2569, vii, 71; Reg. Priory ofSt Andrews, 
40, 322; Re tours, xx, 94; Acts Scott. Par I., 
W, 449; Proc. Soc. of Antiq., 1887-8, 27-8; 
Eraser s Haddington Bk., ii, 227; Lock- 
hart s Ch. in Scotland in \3th Century.] 

THOMAS HEPBURN, M.A., min. in 
156g 1568. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Linlithgow, etc.] 

JOHN AUCHINLECK, alias John 



1573 



Affleck; was a Friar of the Grey- 



friars Friary at Haddington, and 
became Warden in 1560; reader at "Elstan- 
furd Jesus" in 1573, the expression mean 
ing, perhaps, that he held as his stipend 
as reader the revenues of an Altar dedicated 
to our Lord, St Salvator, in Athelstaneford 
Church; no trace of him after 27th Nov. 
1577. [Bryce s Scott. Grey friars, 188 and 
193.] 

JOHN SIMSON, still in office 1590. 
1578 [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.] 

JAMES CARMICHEAL, min. of 



1590 



Haddington, pres. to vicarage on 
dem. of John Simson. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., Ixii, 4.] 

JOHN JENKINSON, marr. (2) Kathe- 
rine, daugh. of Alexander Cunning 
ham, farmer, Whitekirk; his daugh. 
Beatrice, is said to have received a diamond 



HADDINGTON] 



ATHELSTANEFORD BOLTON 



87 



ring from Prince Charles Edward ~[Soc. 
ofAntiq., 19th Dec. 1931.] 

ROBERT BLAIR, his son, William, 
1731 merchant, Edinburgh. 



1778 



GEORGE GOLDIE, his daughs. Janet 
died 13th Aug. 1833; Clarissa (marr. 



25th Aug. 1824). 



WILLIAM RITCHIE, his wife, born 



1805 



10th Dec. 1799; his son, Andrew, 
died 9th Nov. 1883. 



JOHN MORRISON WHITELAW, line 
1 846 15, read Bishop Bree. 

THOMAS OGILVY DUNCAN, dem. 
1912 5th Nov. 1935; died 20th May 1942; 
his daugh., Mary Somerville Pater- 
son (marr. 2nd Dec. 1925 Frank Ythol 
Bethell, Lieut. R.N.); his widow, Jessie 
Somerville Paterson, died at Moffat 19th 
June 1943. Publication Athelstaneford 
A Poet Haunted Parish in East Lothian 
(1934). 

BOLTON 

In the time of William the Lion, ap 
parently about 1200, William de Vipont, 
eldest son and heir of William de V. and 
Lady Emma of St Hilary, granted the 
church to Holy rood Abbey. [Holy rood 
Charters, 28, 33, 35.] 

ANDREW SIMSON, exhorter in 1561, 
1561 still in office 1572; also at Saltoun. 
[Comps. Gen. Coll. and Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 

JOHN SINCLAIR, reader at Dumfries; 
1578 was pres. to the vicarage 29th Sept. 
1578 in succession to Andrew Sim- 
son and was admitted to the office before 
16th Feb. 1578-9 by Patrick Adamson, 
Archbishop of St Andrews; on the latter 
date David Forsyth, min. at Bolton, and 
the parishioners raised an action against 
the archbishop, who, not possessed of the 
power of visitation in the region in which 
Bolton was situated, intruded Sinclair (a 
"new minister") in the parish; the 
parishioners, who had for the most part 
sustained the minister themselves till order 



be taken thereanent, had procured a royal 
order to the archbishop to receive and 
admit David Forsyth; the archbishop 
refused because he had given admission 
to Sinclair, who was still vicar and reader 
of Dumfries and without standing; and on 
said admission Sinclair forcibly entered the 
church, and took institution to the vicarage, 
and left the burgh of Dumfries, and thus 
deprived said David Forsyth of a portion 
of the teind sheaves of Bolton which be 
longed to the vicarage; the Privy Council 
referred the matter to the Commissioners 
of Parliament; before 20th June 1587 
Sinclair was deprived for non-residence. 
[Reg. Privy Council, iii, 95; Reg. Pres. to 
Bene., ii, 6; Reg. Sec. Seal, xlv, 71, Iv, 86.] 

DAVID FORSYTH, M.A., pres. to 
vicarage 1st Nov. 1578, on death 
of Andrew Simson. [Reg. Pres. 
Bene., ii, 8.] 

JAMES LAMB, pres. to vicarage 27th 



1587 



July 1587 on deprivation of John 
Sinclair. [Reg. Sec. Sig., iv, 133.] 



JAMES MAITLAND, M.A., pres. to 
vicarage 20th June 1587, on deposi 
tion of John Sinclair for non- 
residence. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Iv, 86.] 

JOHN MANDERSTON, parson 10th 



1602 



Aug. 1573, designated "parson and 



prebendary 1 599-1 600.[Yester 
Writs, 771, 972.] 

JOHN COURTNEY of Trolingshaw, 
1640 his daugh., Margaret. 

WALTER PATERSON, had a son, 
1665 Francis. [Deeds, 21st Oct. 1706.] 

JOHN SINCLAIR, marr. Eupham, 



1692 



daugh. of Alexander Reid, writer, 
Edinburgh. [Burgess Roll, llth 
Dec. 1700.] 

WILLIAM HAMILTON, line 3, after 
1708 wife add Christian Schiell. 

JOHN HAMILTON, his son, Robert, 
1743 died 8th March 1809. 



88 



BOLTON DIRLETON 



[PRESS. OF 



THOMAS DRUMMOND, his daughs. 

Mary Euphemia, died 4th Oct. 

1928; Anne Rose, died 15th Jan. 
1929; Isabella Sangster, died 15th May 
1935. 

JOHN BARR SERVICE, dem. 1st June 



1883 



1928; died 17th May 1936; Davina 
Shanks, his wife, died 9th Oct. 1923. 



ROBERT NINIAN PAISLEY, born 



1928 



2nd June 1891, son of Robert P., 



min. of Careston; educ. at Brechin 
High School and Univ. of St Andrews, 
M.A. (1911); licen. by Presb. of Brechin 
1919; assistant St Matthews, Edinburgh; 
served in Great War as Lieut. 4 Scottish 
Rifles; ord. to Ladykirk llth Jan. 1921; 
trans, to New Abbey 30th April 1926; 
trans, and adm. 8th Nov. 1928; died 20th 
March 1948. Marr. 24th July 1917 Kathe- 
rine Davidson, youngest daugh. of William 
Keith, farmer, Westknock, Old Deer, and 
Elspeth Cummin, and had issue John 
Taylor Keith, R.N., born 20th April 1918; 
Elizabeth Cumming, born 15th June 1923; 
Robert Ninian, born 27th March 1926. 



COCKENZIE 

GEORGE HOGG, dem. 21st May 1923; 



1885 



died 20th June 1927. Marr. (2) 22nd 
May 1918 Alice Crichton, daugh. of 

Harry Edward Page, railway inspector, 

Ashbrittle. 

THOMAS OSBORNE, born Mother- 
1923 well, 29th Nov. 1891, son of William 
O. and Mary Twigg; educ. at 
Hamilton Academy and Univ. of Glasgow; 
licen. by Presb. of Hamilton March 1921; 
assistant St Bride s, Glasgow; Middle 
Parish, Paisley; ord. 27th Sept. 1923; dem. 
llth Oct. 1942 on appointment as Town 
Clerk of Cockenzie, which office he re 
signed 15th Sept. 1943; re-adm. to charge 
23rd Sept. 1943. Marr. 4th April 1921 
Mary Cherrie, daugh. of William Gough 
and Margaret C. Watson, and has issue 
Margaret Patricia Frances, born 16th Dec. 
1922; Norman Cameron, born 2nd June 
1925. 



DIRLETON 

Beside Dirleton Castle there was a chapel 
dedicated to St Katherine. Church re 
stored in 1930. 

GEORGE HALIBURTON, vicar be- 
fore Dec. 1576. [Edin. Test., v, 
135.] 

ANDREW McGHIE, had issue, 
1597 Patrick. 

JOHN McGHIE, his son, John; his 



1639 



daugh., Margaret (marr. (1) Robert 



Hodge, min. of Inverkeithing, and 
(2) cont. 24th Nov. 1696 Robert Stewart, 
shipmaster, Inverkeithing. - - [Stephen s 
Hist, of Inverkeithing and Rosyth, 279.] 

JAMES GLEN, bapt. 24th Aug. 1692, 

son of John G., min. of Stichell; 

marr. 20th June 1718 Elizabeth 

Elliot, and had issue James, bapt. 18th 

July 1720; Alexander, his successor; 

William. 

ALEXANDER GLEN, marr. Ann, 
daugh. of John Blackadder of St 
Leonards and Catherine Strother 

Ker of Littledean, and had issue Walter, 

died 9th Nov. 1809; James, died llth Dec. 

1828; Katherine, died 1817; Barbara; 

Elizabeth (marr. 1 805 John Finlason of the 

Admiralty), died 1831; John, died 185-; 

Robert, died 13th Feb. 1824; Ann, died 

23rd Nov. 1859. 

LAURENCE CHARTERIS, resident in 



1688 



Tron Parish, Edinburgh, 3rd Nov. 
1694. [Tron Poll Tax Roll, 30.] 



JAMES SCOTT, line 2, for "1899" 



1843 



read "1799"; his daugh., Ann, died 
13th March 1915. 



WILLIAM LOGIE, his sons Alexan- 



1864 



der Graham Spears, Capt. R.A.M.C., 
died 1st Nov. 1919; David Brown, 
M.B., C.M., died Willington, South Africa, 
4th Sept. 1930; his daughs. Emily Jean 
(marr. April 1915 Arnold McCaskill, 
Canadian Forestry Corps); Elizabeth Sarah 
died at Inverness 17th July 1929; Emily 
Jean McCaskell, died 27th March 1943. 



HADDINGTON] 



DIRLETON BARO 



89 



1878 



JOHN KERR, died at Harrogate 8th 
Dec. 1920; his widow, Marion 
Groves, died at Keswick 8th April 
1942; his daughs. Winifred Violet (marr. 
4th July 1918 Lionel John Willis, R.E.); 
Constance Ursula (marr. 14th July 1928 
Frank Ernest Cole, Dulwich); Edith 
Kathleen (marr. 9th March 1935 William 
Dennis Wivell, Keswick). 



NORMAN COUTTS KEITH, trans, 
from Earlston (q.v.) 17th May 1915; 
died 25th Oct. 1927. 



1915 



1928 



HENRY OWENS WALLACE, born 
Mearns, Renfrewshire, 29th March 
1895; son of James W., municipal 
foreman, and Annie Owens; educ. at 
Hamilton Academy and Univ. of Glasgow, 
M.A. (1920); served in 2nd Cameron High 
landers in Salonica and Transcaucasia 
1916-19; licen. by Presb. of Hamilton 1921; 
assistant Barrowfield, Glasgow; ord. to 
Ladhope 7th Sept. 1922; trans, and adm. 
26th April 1928. Marr. 8th Sept. 1919 
Sarah McNiven Cameron, second daugh. 
of William Paterson, and has issue James, 
born 4th April 1920; Margaret Paterson, 
born 20th Oct. 1926. 

GARVALD 

WILLIAM SANDERSON, min. at 



1568 



Whittingham, also in charge here. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin- 
lit hgow, etc.] 

THOMAS BROWN, reader 1568-72. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum- 

f . -i 

jnes, etc.] 



1570 



ALEXANDER CHALMERS, vicar, 
3rd Aug. 1570, afterwards vicar of 
Liberton. 



PATRICK GALBRAITH, exhorter; 



1571-6 



designated 1564-7 Patrick and Sir 



Patrick Galbraith, min. at the Kirk 
of Garvald. [Edin. Tests., i, 64.] 

JAMES REID, pres. to parsonage and 
vicarage 20th June 1587 on death of 
Patrick Galbraith. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Ivi, 153.] 



DAVID OGILL, M.A., son of Henry 
1 _ RO O. of Hartiemurde, pres. to vicarage 
8th Aug. 1589 on death of James 
Reid. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ix, 43.] 

ROBERT FOORD, line 6, for "1667" 
1664 read "1664." 

WALTER GRAY, son of Andrew G., 



1685 



merchant, Haddington, and brother 



1839 



of John G., min. of Aberlady. Had 
issue Mr John; Patrick; Robert; Mary; 
Jean. [Test. Mary Blair, Edin., 15th Feb. 
1737.] 

SELBY ORD DODS, marr. only sur 
viving daugh. of John Robertson, 
merchant, Edinburgh. 

JOHN CROSBIE, his daughs. Jessie, 
died 30th April 1934; Margaret 
Renwick, died 7th Sept. 1935. 

GEORGE DODS, licen. 6th Dec. 1871; 

line 24, delete died 14th Nov. 1903. 

His son, John Erskine, O.B.E., 
Divisional Food Officer for South-East of 
Scotland, died at Cultercraigs, Biggar, 22nd 
April 1940; his daugh., Jane Erskine, 
D.C.S., died 14th Jan. 1949. 

THOMAS LOW, trans, to Newark, 
1910 Port Glasgow, 3rd Dec. 1925. 

VICTOR WILLIAM WANDS, for- 



1876 



1926 



merly of Nyasaland (q.v. and vii, 
710); served in Great War for four 
years, in Gallipoli and France; adm. 14th 
April 1926; trans to Tweedmouth (q.v.) 
19th June 1929. 

BARO 

ALEXANDER CHALMERS, M.A., 



1563 



vicar 17th July 1572. [Acts and 



Dec., xxviii, 210; Reg. of Abbrev. 
Feu Charters of Church Lands, i, 118; Cal. 
of Charters, x, 2256.] 

THOMAS DUDGEON, reader 1567-8. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin- 
lit hgow, etc.] 

DAVID OGILL, pres. on dem. of Daniel 
1594 Chalmers. [P. S. Reg., Ixvi, 193.] 

ALEXANDER TROTTER, line 10, for 
1628 "1643" read "1644." 



1567 



90 



GLADSMUIR GULLANE 



[PRHSB. OF 



CLADSMDIR 

The first church was built at Thrieplaw 
in 1650 to serve the west part of Hadding- 
ton parish. It continued in use till 1695, 
when it was replaced by the church, built 
by Sir William Baillie of Lamington, and 
now a ruin in the churchyard north from 
the present church, which was opened for 
worship on 20th Oct. 1839. After 1695 the 
old church passed to decay, and its walls 
in part were incorporated in colliers 
houses. At a later period four cot-houses 
there were designated the "Old Kirk"; 
and the place, about U miles south-east of 
the present church, is now called "Glads- 
muir Kirk." At Samuelston, which prior 
to the erection of this parish was in the 
parish of lladdington, there was a chapel 
dedicated to St Nicolas. In the garden 
adjoining l.ongniddry House there is a 
fragment of a building known as "John 
Knox House," from its reputed connec 
tion with the Reformer. ---[Ri tours, xviii, 
202; Report, Royal Comm. on Anc. Monu 
ments, E. Lothian, 37-8; Memo, Rev. W. R. 
Wiseman.] 

MUNGO WATSON, man. Helen, 
daugh. of William Young in Groat- 
hall, and had issueHelen; Hen 
rietta.- [Dm/A- Muck.. 1706, No. 199.] 



1759 



FRANCIS COWAN, his daughs.- 
Janet (marr. Henry Gillies, writer, 
Edinburgh; Margaret (marr. proc. 
12th May 1796 Joseph Bethune, min. of 
Renton Chapel). 

GEORGE HAMILTON, his son, John 
17*>0 James, died 20th Jan. 1831. 

JOHN RAMSAY, his daugh.. Charlotte 
1833 (man. 16th Dec. 1856). 

WILLIAM MFNZ1ES, pros. 24th March 
1871 1871. 

WILLIAM BELL TURNBULL, his 
, widow, Elizabeth Holgate, died I Oth 
Sept. 1918. 

WILLIAM REID WISEMAN, had 



1914 



issue Ewen Reid, born 21st Sept. 



1915; Denis Buchanan, born 12th 
March 1917; Sheina Helen, born 6th July 



1918 (marr. 28th Dec. 1940 2nd Lieut. 
Kenneth Donald Burbridge, architect, son 
of Leonard B., Surrey); Gladys Brown, 
born 7th Dec. 1920 (marr. 24th July 
1943 Vaughan Mackintosh Shaw, Lieut. 
K.O.S.B., eldest son of Colonel J. J. M. 
Shaw, R.A.M.C.). 

GULLANE 

About 1170 William de Vaux granted 
the patronage of the church to God and 
St Mary and the Church of St Nicolas and 
the Canons of Dryburgh serving God in 
the said Church of St Nicholas on the 
island of Elbottle (Fidra), for the soul of 
King William, etc. There were reserved 
the rights of the Nunnery of South Ber 
wick in the church, as contained in the 
"writings" (scriptas) made between said 
William de Vaux and the nunnery. The 
grant was confirmed, apparently soon after 
1214, by William de Vaux son and suc 
cessor, John, for the soul of King Alexan 
der, etc., and by William, Bishop of St 
Andrews 1202 38. The foregoing rights of 
the nunnery led to a dispute which was 
settled about 1221 when Sir Gregory, 
Master, and Froelina, Prioress of South 
Berwick, and the convent thereof, sur 
rendered in favour of William de Vaux of 
Dirleton, and William de Vaux, parson of 
Gullane, apparently the uncle of William 
de Vaux, all their rights in the church, with 
the reservation of what they had when the 
lawsuit was moved, and also the teind 
sheaves of the lands of Kingston which 
they "shall take and hold" after the death 
of the said William de Vaux, parson. David 
de Bernham, Bishop of St Andrews, dedi 
cated the church on 8th Oct. 1242, and in 
the same year he reduced it from a par 
sonage to a vicarage, to be served by the 
Canons of Dryburgh, and a priest whose 
annual payment was 12 merks. Two years 
earlier Alexander de Vaux had confirmed 
the patronage of the church to Dryburgh 
Abbey. About 1220 William de Vaux 
granted to the Canons of Dryburgh the 
island of Elbotle itself, and 20 i acres of 
the lands of Elbotle on the mainland, the 
lands of Stodfauld, etc. Two canons were 



IIADDINCilON | 



obliged lo reside and celebrate on the 
island in the ( lunch of Si Nicholas. But 
about 1240 Alexander de Vanx "in con 
sideration of the imminent dangers of the 
lime-, picscni aiul lo come," relieved Dry- 
burgh of the necessity of maintaining (hat 
chantry on the island as hitherto, or of 
building, or sending canons to live on it. 
Instead a canon was to be provided at 
Slodfauld on the mainland, and anothci in 
Dryburgh, lo pray lor the souls of his 
ancestors and successors. It would seem, 
therefore, that the Church of St Nicholas, 
whose ruins are on the east side of Fidia 
about the landing stage, was never really 
completed. About the same lime also 
Alexander de Vaux confirmed to Dryburgh 
the grant of the island of I Ibolle, etc., 
made by William his father in 1220. 
Besides St Nicholas ( lunch, there were 
other religious foundations in the parish. 
The Chapel of Si Mat rick, whose ruins were 
still visible in the second half of the 18th 
century, was situated on the shore at the 
point on the north of (iullane Bay. About 
1221 William de Vaux founded at Dirleton 
a chapel dedicated to All Saints, for the 
privilege of which he paid a stone of wax 
annually to (iullane Church, whose rights 
in other re-peels were fully conserved. At 
the same period on behalf of himself and 
his heirs he conveyed to Gullane Church 
what services they had to render on their 
own charges to the Chapel of St Andrew 
at Dirleton. The chaplain of the chapel 
had to render fealty to Giillane Church and 
also pay annually to the same one pound 
of frankincense. At Congalton, on a site 
still called chapel, there was founded by a 
lord of ( ongalton a chapel, with regard to 
which there was made in 1224 an agree 
ment between Sir Walter and William de 
(iullane, rector of Gullane, whereby the 
said William had to supply a chaplain for 
the chapel, and in turn was to receive the 
oblaiions and olferings made at the same, 
while Sir Walter and his wife, and the men 
in the town of Congalton, were to attend 
at (iullane Church on three festivals, St 
Andrew s Day, Christmas, Raster, and at 
penances and the Sacraments. In the 15th 
century east range of Dirleton ( astle there 



is an apartment which was used as a chapel, 
with piscina, credence, and hcnalura. 
Obviously there was at Stodfauld, some 
where on the mainland not fai liom I ulia 
Island, a cell or chapel for the celebrations 
by a canon of Dryburgh, to which re 
ference has been made. About 1225 a 
dispute between William de (iullane, rector 
of (iiillanr, anil the Nunnery of South 
Berwick, regarding what is called the 
Chapel of Dirleton, was settled by the 
ai biter, William, Bishop of St. Andrews, 
on i he basis that the nunnery possess the 
chapel with the teinds of Flbotle, Dirleton, 
and Karmuchoc, during the lifetime of the 
said William, and that the oblations made 
a I the chapel by William de Vaux and 
other lords of Dirleton pertain to the rector 
of Gullane. It is uncertain whether the 
foregoing has reference to the nunnery at 
Flbotle, a cell of South Berwick, said to 
have been founded by David I. South 
Berwick had another cell, described as 
being near (iullane Church, and also said 
to have been founded by David I. There 
was at Dirleton a Mouse of the Red Friars. 
On 2nd May 1507 Royal Letters of Dona 
tion "of the C hapel of St Andrews in 
Dirleton of the Order of the Trinity, 
founded by the predecessors of Patrick, 
Lord Haliburton, the patron," were made 
to "Friar Alexander Blith of the said 
Order." The chapel had been vacant for 
three years through the failure of the Order 
to supply ministrations, and was at the 
king s disposal by the death of the said 
Patrick. Further information regarding the 
house occurs in 1588 in a charter of "the 
lands called the Friarlands of Dirleton 
extending to 10 merks old measure with 
tenement, land, garden lying in the town 
of Dirleton, called the Chapelyard, which 
pertained to the Minister, Prior, and 
Monastery of Fail, and the Prior of Dirle 
ton, as part of the temporalities of the 
same, and came to the king by annexation, 
and which the king incorporated in the 
tenandry of Craigllat." At (iullane there 
was a hospital of St John of Jerusalem. On 
I Jih April 1557 Patrick, Lord Ruthven, 
granted to Janet Stewart, Lady Ruthven, a 
charter of the provostry, chaplainries, and 



92 



GULLANE HADDINGTON 



[PRESB. OF 



chapels of Dirleton; and on 19th Dec. 1561 
the said Patrick gave to Sir Robert Hoislair, 
presbyter, the provostry of the Chapel of 
Dirleton, near the castle, with the lands of 
Corrige, vacant by the death of Sir Robert 
Hoppringill. An altar, dedicated to the 
Holy Trinity, was founded by Sir Andrew 
Congalton in Gullane Church. The foun 
dation was confirmed by George Dundas, 
lord of St John s, preceptor of Torphichen, 
on 18th May 1523, and the patronage was 
declared to belong to Henry Congalton of 
the same. [Book of Dryburgh, 15, 16-18, 
19-21, 23-6, 27-8, 32-7, 232-7; Excheq. 
Rolls, xii, 693, xlvii, 155; Reg. Sec. Seal, i, 
1470; Reg. Great Seal, iv, 1171, v, 1068; 
Cart. Priory of North Berwick, 82; Keith s 
Scott. Bishops, 461; Walcott s Anc. Ch. of 
Scotland, 379, 385; Armstrong s Map, 1773; 
Douglas Baronage, 522; Chalmer s Cale 
donia, iv, 507, 519.] 

SIR GEORGE HALIBURTON, vicar 
1567 in 1567 and 1572. [Comps. Sub 
Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow, Dum 
fries, etc.] 

JAMES CAESAR, dem. 31st Aug. 1936; 
1904 his wife, Wilhelmina, died 26th Dec. 
1944. He died 15th Aug. 1945. 

HADDINGTON 

The church with its chapels was granted 
to the Priory of St Andrews by David I in 
1139. The later building, which is now 
generally accepted as the church designated 
"The Lamp of Lothian," seems to have 
been erected towards the end of the 14th 
century or early in the 15th. It suffered 
serious damage in 1548 when the English, 
who garrisoned Haddington and used the 
tower of the church for defensive purposes, 
were besieged by the Scots and French. In 
a condition of dilapidation it remained till 
1562, when work of restoration was 
inaugurated, the plan being to "byg, beild, 
and reedyfie sufficiently the fabric extending 
from the steeple to the west gable, and to 
roof in the south tufall" (aisle); the north 
"tufal" to be rebuilt, and "lyhts and 
glass" provided for the whole building; 
afterwards the "croce kirk" (transepts) to 



be proceeded with and perfittit and byggit 
with wallis, ruffs, lychts, and utheris 
necessaris. At that time the choir, which 
stands roofless, was abandoned. Within 
the church there were altars as follows: 
Virgin Mary, St Catherine, Holy Trinity, 
John the Baptist, Holy Blood, St James, 
St Peter, St Nicholas, St Ninian, St John, 
St Michael, Holy Rood, Three Kings of 
Cologne, St Blaise, St Salvator, and the 
two brothers Crispin and Crispinanus, 
patrons of shoemakers, whose altar was 
upheld by the cordiners of the burgh. 
There were altars belonging to the Baxters 
and the Fleshers, but these may be in 
cluded in the foregoing list. There were 
chapels with the following dedications: St 
Laurence; St Anne, situated at what is now 
St Anne s House; St Catherine, on the 
south side of the croft of the Franciscans; 
St Kentigern; and St Ninian in the west 
area of the town, to the chaplain at which 
on 9th March 1488 George Kerr of Samuel- 
ston granted in pure alms a tenement on 
the north side of the burgh. The Church 
or Chapel of St Martin, built probably 
about the beginning of the 12th century, 
and situated with its graveyard at the east 
side of the Nungate, was a dependency of 
the nunnery, having been granted by 
Alexander of St Martin s. The nave still 
survives. At Stevenston there was a chapel, 
for the erection of which (chantry and 
oratory) William de Golin (Gullane) re 
ceived permission from Henry, Prior of St 
Andrews 1225-35. On 23rd March 1539-40 
the church was designated "the Collegiate 
Church of Haddington." which may indi 
cate that its organisation had something of 
the collegiate form. On the erection of the 
Bishopric of Edinburgh in 1633, the church 
became a prebend of St Giles Cathedral; 
and by Act of Parliament of 1641 it was 
separated from the Bishopric of St Andrews 
and its disposition given to the Earl of 
Haddington. In 1178 on a site about a 
mile east of the town a Cistercian monas 
tery or nunnery, dedicated to the Virgin 
Mary, was founded by the Countess Ada, 
mother of Malcolm IV and William the 
Lion. In July 1292 Alicia, the prioress, 
made homage to Edward I. Similar fealty 



HADDINGTON] 



HADDINGTON 



93 



was declared in Aug. 1296 by Prioress Eve, 
to whom in consequence the rights of the 
nunnery were restored. "Destroyed and 
burned by the calamity of wars between 
the kings of Scotland and England," in 
volving the loss of its writs, the nunnery in 
1359 received a Charter of Inspeximus from 
William, Bishop of St Andrews. In Hert 
ford s expedition in 1544 the nunnery was 
burned; and it suffered again four years 
later during the invasion under Somerset. 
A small part of the graveyard still remains; 
and the place is also recalled by Abbey 
Village, Abbey Mill, and the Abbey Bridge. 
A friary of the Grey Friars, dedicated to 
St Duthac, and said to have been situated 
where Elm House now is, was founded 
prior to 1242. It was given to the flames by 
Edward III in 1355. Probably some years 
elapsed before the church at least was re 
built, for there appears in the Exchequer 
Rolls on 14th Aug. 1362 the sum of 
6 13s. 4d. "given to the Minorite Friars 
of Haddington for building their Church. 
The friary further suffered from fire at the 
hands of Hertford s men in 1 544, and also 
during the siege of 1548. Repair followed; 
but the church was finally demolished in 
1572-3. There were in the church an altar 
dedicated to John the Baptist, at the north 
wall of the nave, founded on 22nd July 
1389 by Sir William Haliburton, laird of 
Carlowry, with an endowment of 10 merks 
annually from the lands of Drem; an altar 
dedicated to St Clement, founded on 4th 
Feb. 1494-5 by William Bertram, Provost 
of Edinburgh, nephew of Sir William 
Bertram, vicar of Swinton; and an altar 
dedicated to St Francis. Probably there 
was also an altar dedicated to the Virgin 
Mary. There was also a friary of the Black 
Friars, founded probably in the 13th cen 
tury. It may be identical with the religious 
establishment cleared away in 1 765 to make 
room for the Episcopal church. In the 
Church of the Friary there was an altar 
called "the Altar of the Holy Rood of 
Lucanus." About a mile west of the town 
there was a leper hospital dedicated to St 
Laurence, founded by Richard Guthrie, 
Abbot of Arbroath cir. 1450-5, and be 
longing to the Order of Dominicans. It 



was refounded in 1480; and in 1532 it was 
annexed with its lands to the Dominican 
nunnery of Sciennes, Edinburgh. Its site 
is at St Laurence House; and its lands are 
incorporated in the farm of Spittal Rig. 
Before 1 1th June 1478 Sir John Haliburton, 
vicar of Greenlaw, erected in the Poldrait 
an almshouse dedicated to St Helen. There 
was also a hospital dedicated to the Virgin 
Mary, the custody of which on 19th July 
1319 was granted by Edward II to Thomas 
de Gayregrave. A piece of land in the 
Poldrait was called St Andrew s Land. By 
charter of 24th March 1 566-7 Queen Mary 
constituted the Royal Foundation of Mini 
sters and Hospitals of Haddington, to 
maintain ministers and readers and other 
ecclesiastical burdens, and to provide a 
hospital for the poor, the mutilated, and 
miserable persons, and for orphans and 
other children bereft of their parents. The 
foundation was granted to the provost, 
bailies, town council, and community, and 
was to be administered with the advice and 
approval of the ministers and Kirk Session. 
The endowments were all property and 
annual rents, etc., of chaplainries, altarages, 
prebends in the burgh, property and annual 
rents, etc., of monks in the burgh, annual 
rents levied within the burgh for chaplain 
ries, altarages, and churches elsewhere in 
Scotland, and dues payable from the Com 
mon Good of Haddington to churches 
outside the burgh. At Garleton (Gamril- 
toun-Noble) there was a chapel dedicated 
to St Kentigern. The Hospital of St 
Laurence near the town for poor men was 
under the patronage of the Crown, and 
was served by secular clerics and presbyters. 
On its becoming vacant in the early part 
of the reign of James V, that monarch by 
Letters deprived it of its "hospital nature" 
and united and incorporated it with the 
"religious brothers of the Order of St 
Augustine. None of the Order took up 
residence there; and indeed no additional 
accommodation suitable for the friars was 
provided; and accordingly the king inti 
mated to Pope Leo X (1513-21) that he 
had appointed his chaplain, Walter Ram 
say, to the void house and vacant rectory, 
and craved the Pope that the house be 



94 



HADDINGTON 



[PRESB. OF 



separated from the Order and restored to 
its original position. In the Church of 
Haddington there was an altar dedicated 
to the Saviour, founded by Mr William 
Wawane, official of Lothian. [Reg. Great 
Seal, ii, 610, 1216, 1333, 1836, 2005, 2941, 
iii, 364, 1616, 1735, 1962, v, 1776, viii, 
2225; Acts Scott. Parl, v, 380a; Retours, 
iv, 196, x, 132, xv, 140; Laing Charters, 418; 
Reg. Sec. Seal, i, 1710; Reg. Priory of St 
Andrews, 324; Hist. MSS. Commis. Reports, 
Earl of Home MS., 160; Prynn s Records 
of the Tower, iii, 653; Rymer s Foldera, ii, 
725, ii, Pt. 1, Ed. 1818, 401; Eraser s Mem. 
of the Earls of Haddington, ii, 226; Chal 
mers Caledonia, ii, 683, iii, 422, iv, 507, 
513-14; Bryce s Grey friars of Scotland, i, 
169, 186, ii, 11-21, 170, 172; Millar s Lamp 
of Lothian, 26, 31, 173-4, 175, 176, 177, 
179, 388; Cal of Yester Writs, No. 202, 
394; Scott. Rec. Soc.; Exchequer Rolls, ii, 
116; Epistolae Regium Scotorum, i, 193-4.] 

SIR GEORGE REID, perpetual vicar 
1565 8th Feb. 1565-6. 

JAMES CARMICHAEL, pres. in suc- 



1570 



cession to William Walderstoun; 



pres. to vicarage 27th April 1581 on 
dem. of Robert Bonkle. [Acts and Decs., 

I, 150; Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 57.] 

WALTER BALCANQUAL, formerly 
exhorter at Aberdour and Dalgety; 
On 27th Feb. 1572-3 the Town 
Council "inducit Mr Walter Balcanqual 
to read the common prayers in the Kirk at 
vii hors befor noon in summer, and viii 
hors in winter, and that on Sunday, 
Wednesday and Friday, and to be Clerk to 
the Session and Doctor in the school 
during the space of one year from the date 
thereof" (interlined Martinmas next), and 
resolved annually "to pay sd. reader 5 
merks"; adm. to St Giles in 1574. [Lamp 
of Lothian, 190; Ross s Aberdour and Inch- 
colm, 213.] 

ROBERT BONKLE, pres. to vicarage 

29th Nov. 1574, vacant by death of 

Sir William Scott of Balwearie; dem. 

before 14th Oct. 1580. [Reg. Sec. Sig., xl, 

II, 90; Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 41.] 



HENRY CHAPMAN, reader. [Lamp 
1578 of Lothian, 190.] 

PATRICK BOYLE, pres. to vicarage 
14th Oct. 1580 on dem. of Robert 
Bonkle. [Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 41.] 

JOHN KER, on 17th Aug. 1582 he was 



1585 



appointed Master of the Grammar 



School for five years; and he also 
acted as minister in Mr Carmichael s 
absence; on 19th Nov. 1585 he received 
from the burgh 100 merks "in full satis 
faction for the parts of the sd. burgh 
alanerlie of his service done in the function 
of minister of the Word of God to the hail 
parishioners there of these divers years 
bygon." [Lamp of Lothian, 194-5.] 

JAMES FORMAN, son of James F., 
1678 portioner of Inveresk. 

JOHN CURRIE, his son, John, appren- 



1704 



ticed to David Spence and George 
Miller, merchants, Edinburgh, 8th 
May 1734. 

PATRICK WILKIE, born 2nd Feb. 
1?21 1685; marr. (1) 12th Aug. 1719; his 
daughs. Janet (marr. proc. 23rd 
Jan. 1763); Agnes (marr. Henry Hepburn, 
collector of customs, Prestonpans); his 
sons James of Gilchriston, born 24th 
Sept. 1733, died 9th March 1825; Patrick 
of Island of St Vincent. 

JOHN COOK, his daughs. Helen, died 
Haddington 17th May 1933; Martha 
Mary, died 17th March 1934. 



1843 



WILLIAM ROSS, his widow, Emilie 
1874 Alder Fisher, died llth Jan. 1923. 

ROBERT NIMMO SMITH, his widow, 
Mary Ann Tod, died London 22nd 
March 1928. 



1880 



GEORGE WAUCHOPE STEWART, 



1913 



D.D. (Edinburgh, March 1923); 

licen. 15th May 1887; line 13, for 
"1912" read "1911"; died at Edinburgh 
21st Sept. 1942; was Joint Convener of 
Public Worship and Aids to Devotion 
Committee; revision of Church Hymnary 
and Anthem Book; was one of the greatest 



HADDINGTON] 



HADDINGTON MORHAM 



95 



authorities on church music; his daugh., 
Catherine (marr. 17th Aug. 1926 Ralph 
Laurence, elder son of Harry Heffer, 
Cambridge.) Addl. Publication Music in 
the Church. 

HADDINGTON 

SECOND CHARGE 
WILLIAM TRENT, his son, Archibald, 



1636 



apprentice to William Hamilton, 



merchant, 23rd April 1673; his 

daugh., Marion (marr. Robert Merchiston, 
min. of Kirkpatrick-Juxta). [G. R. Sas., 
2 Ser., xi, 228.] 

EDWARD STEDMAN, his daugh., 
1731 Martha (marr. proc. 1st June 1766). 

ROBERT SCOTT, marr. Jane, daugh. 
1772 of Andrew Elliot of Howford. 



1868 



WILLIAM SIBBALD, his wife s 
mother was Mary Davis, a free 



negro woman. 



WILLIAM PROUDFOOT, born 28th 
18Q1 June 1876; his son, Harry Crichton, 
died at Sydney, N.S.W., 21st July 
1933; his daugh., Edith Mary (marr. 26th 
Aug. 1920 Robert Douglas Osier, M.B., 
C.M., South Africa). 

WILLIAM JOHN FORBES, died 4th 
1918 Nov. 1946. 

HADDINGTON ST MARTIN S 

GEORGE GRIER, his daugh. Isobel. 
1603 [G. R.Sas., xii, 69, 4th Nov. 1622.] 

HUMBIE 

The church was granted to Dunfermline 
Abbey by Alexander I 1107-24. In the 
12th century the parish was described as 
the Parish of Addockis Ket (Keith) and 
Siwynis Ket, apparently with the name of 
the person to whom each district belonged. 
In a dispute between Dunfermline Abbey 
and the Church of Crichton, it was decided 
in 1199, in the time of Pope Innocent III, 
that the Chapel of Keeth should belong for 
ever to the Church of Crichton, one merk 
silver to be paid annually by Crichton 
Church to the abbey. In the Rental of 



Kelso Abbey in 1567 Humbie appears 
under "Lands" and under "Kirkis and 
Teinds." [Reg. of Dunfermline, 3, 48-69, 
96-7; Reg. of Kelso, ii, 492-3.] 

WILLIAM FRANK, vicar, 1566; still 
in office 1576. [Comps. Gen. Coll. 
of Thirds.] 



1566 



ANDREW SIMSON, min. at Ormiston, 
1574 had also charge here. 

THOMAS CHARTERIS, marr. daugh. 
1646 of John Byres of Coates. 

JAMES HAMILTON, marr. Agnes 
Swinton, to whom he disponed his 
estate 14th Dec. 1699 prior to his 
going north. 

GEORGE WEIR, his daugh., Jane 
1843 Broomfield, died 30th Sept. 1915. 

ROBERT BALDOCK SCOTT, trans. 
1905 to Row, 9th Nov. 1922. 

JOHN ANNAND FRASER, born 21st 
1923 June 1894, son of Charles F., min. 
of Croy; educ. at Robert Gordon s 
College, Aberdeen, and Univ. of Aberdeen 
and Edinburgh, M.A. (1919); served in 
Gordon Highlanders in Great War; licen. 
by Presb. of Edinburgh 29th June 1921; 
Assistant at St Matthew s, Edinburgh; ord. 
19th April 1923; trans, to Hamilton Second 
Charge 14th May 1931; M.B.E. (1940). 
Marr. 30th Sept. 1925 Leila, eldest daugh. 
of Colonel Ewen Campbell, Edinburgh, 
and had issue Leila Campbell, born 9th 
Aug. 1926; Charles Annand, born 16th 
Oct. 1928. 

KEITH MARISCHAL 

ANDREW SIMSON, min. at Ormiston, 
1574 had also charge here. See Ormiston. 

MORHAM 

The church was annexed to the Colle 
giate Church of Bothans (see Yester). 

JOHN WHITE, M.A., reader, parson 



1565 



and minister 1568-9. [Comps. Sub 
Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 



96 



MORHAM NORTH BERWICK 



[PRESB. OF 



ANDREW MELVEN, died Feb. 1689. 



1663 



(P.C., xiv, 257). Marr. Elizabeth, 
daugh. of Alexander Douglas, W.S., 
and had issue Andrew, died young; Jean 
(marr. Robert Meldrum, min. of Yester); 
Eliza, killed by a fall of a house in Holland 
with Lady Dundee; Isobel (marr. George 
Robertson, Haddington); Margaret; Ann, 
born 1671 (marr. Gideon Guthrie, min. of 
Fetteresso); Mary (marr. James Robertson, 
stationer, Edinburgh). 



1894 



JAMES MITCHELL PATTULLO, 

dem. 20th June 1923; died 28th May 
1 943 ; his wife, Agnes, daugh. of James 
Cranstoun of Tinwald House, Dumfries. 

NORTH BERWICK 

The church was situated on the "Auld 
Kirk Green" near the harbour. Before 
1199 it was granted to the Nunnery of 
North Berwick by Malcolm, son and suc 
cessor of Duncan, Earl of Fife. In the 
church were an altar dedicated to the 
Virgin Mary, for the support of a chaplain 
at which Agnes Faulaw, wife of Robert 
Lauder of the Bass, and daugh. of George 
F., burgess of Edinburgh, with consent of 
the said Robert, on 20th Oct. 1491 granted 
a charter of 10 merks annually and 5 merks 
annually from tenements in Edinburgh and 
Leith respectively, for celebrations of the 
souls of King James IV, etc., and of her 
late husband, William Carreboris, burgess 
of Edinburgh; an altar dedicated to St 
Ninian, in the north transeptal aisle; an 
altar dedicated to Our Lady of Peace, 
erected in St Ninian s aisle with consent of 
the bailies and community of North Ber 
wick in 1497 by William de Carrick, in- 
dweller in Mains of Tantallon; an altar of 
the Holy Rood; and an altar dedicated to 
St Sebastion. In addition to St Ninian s 
aisle there was an aisle of the Lauders of 
the Bass called "ye lords of bassis yill." 
About the middle of the 17th century the 
church was in a decayed condition, and it 
passed out of use soon after 1656. In 1659 
there was begun the erection of a new 
church on a site on the east side of Law 
Road, which after considerable delay was 
completed in 1664 and was used for the 



first time on 5th June of that year. All that 
now remains of the earlier church is a 
small vaulted building which had projected 
from the south wall. Corrosion by the 
waves has gradually carried away the 
graveyard, which does not appear to have 
been in use after 15th April 1673. During 
the period between the abandonment of the 
old church and the completion of its suc 
cessor, worship was conducted in "the 
great tenement or Lodgeing" within the 
burgh, belonging to William Dick of Braid, 
the site of which is now occupied by the 
Dalrymple Hotel. In 1770 the church of 
1659-64 was in great part rebuilt and at the 
same time enlarged, and the tower erected; 
and in 1828 it was re-seated. Forty-six 
years later attention was turned to the pro 
vision of a new church. The last service in 
the old church was held on 3rd June 1883, 
and its roofless walls stand in the church 
yard. On the south-east corner is a sundial 
purchased in 1680 and bearing the dates 
1660 and 1770. On the east side of the 
tower in a mutilated condition is another 
sundial of date 1679. The new church, 
erected on the site of the old manse in High 
Street in accordance with a design pre 
pared by Sir Rowand Anderson, was 
opened for worship on 10th June 1883. 
The design was completed by the addition 
of the tower and porch in 1907. In the front 
of the north gallery is a clock which was in 
the Luchie Loft of the preceding church, 
and is said to have been a gift in 1770; and 
in the vestibule is the bell which was in use 
in all the three churches, and passed out of 
use in 1928 when a new bell was given by 
Mr J. R. Menzies of West Links House, in 
memory of Mr J. R. Burt, minister of the 
parish 1904-28. It has this inscription: 
" Jacobus Monteath me fecit Edinb. . . . gh 
pro templo de North Berwick Anno 
Domini 1642, Ipero Meliora." On the 
Bass Rock are the ruins of St Baldred s 
Chapel, "newly erected in 1492 by Robert 
Lauder of the Bass, who himself was the 
lay rector and patron. Designated the 
"paris kyrk in the craig of the Bass," it 
took the place of a cell founded by St 
Baldred; and it was consecrated and dedi 
cated on 5th June 1542 by Mr William 



HADDINGTON] 



NORTH BERWICK 



97 



Gibsone, suffragan of Cardinal David 
Beton, Archbishop of St Andrews, in the 
presence of Mr John Lauder, Archdeacon 
of Tweeddale. The intrusion of this parish 
church into the parish of St Andrews 
Church which belonged to the nunnery led 
to a dispute between the nunnery prioress 
and Robert Lauder, the outcome of which 
is not known. There was also a chapel at 
Tantallon Castle. Apparently in or about 
1150 Duncan, Earl of Fife 1136-54, 
founded a Cistercian nunnery on the lands 
called Gillecameston given to the nunnery 
by himself. To the nunnery Earl Duncan 
also gave two hospitals, built and endowed 
by him in connection with the Earl s 
Ferry. One was situated at the port of 
landing on the south side, the harbour of 
North Berwick, and the other at the port 
of landing on the north side, Ardross, in 
Fife. The hospitals were for "poor folk 
and pilgrims." On 10th Oct. 1242 the 
church of the nunnery was dedicated to 
the Virgin Mary by Bishop de Bernham. 
It would appear that at first the nunnery 
was governed by a prior or master, and a 
prioress. While we find a sub-prioress 
acting as the head in 1220, James, Prior, 
occurs in 1238; and he is probably identical 
with James, Master, who is mentioned 
about the same time. Master and prioress 
are found together representing the nun 
nery in 1254-9; Master again occurs in 
1293; and on 28th Aug. 1296, William, 
"vicairie de eglise de Laneta," warden of 
the nunnery, swore fealty to Edward I. 
Thereafter Prioress alone occurs. An 
alternative designation in 1383 is abbatess. 
In addition to lands, etc., the nunnery held 
the following churches: North Berwick, 
granted, as we have seen, before 1199 by 
Malcolm, son of Duncan, Earl of Fife, and 
himself Earl of Fife 1203-29 in succession 
to his father; the gift was supplemented by 
the perpetual vicarage of the church, which 
was given by Bull of Pope Clement VII 
18th Feb. 1383^, the nunnery being held 
bound to appoint a chaplain to minister at 
the church and have the cure of the souls 
of the parishioners, and also to provide for 
him a fixed stipend; Logic (Airthrey), con 
firmed by Simeon, Bishop of Dunblane, 



about 1178; Kilconquhar, granted about 
1200 by Duncan, Earl of Fife 1154-1203, 
while Adam, lord of Kilconquhar and Earl 
Carrick, resigned the patronage of the 
church and ratified Earl Duncan s con 
cession of the same to the nunnery on 16th 
Feb. 1266-7; Kirkbride in Carrick (now 
united with Maybole), confirmed by Joce- 
line, Bishop of Glasgow, in 1199, on the 
petition of Roger de Sealebroc; Largo, 
granted by Duncan, Earl of Fife 1 154-1203, 
and confirmed by Malcolm, Earl of Fife, 
1203-29, and by William, Bishop of St 
Andrews, 1203-34; Maybole, granted by 
Duncan, 1 st Earl of Carrick, who died on 
13th June 1250. Upon the condition of the 
nunnery in the 14th century light is thrown 
by a petition presented to Pope Gregory XI 
by Beatrice the prioress, and "the greater 
and more sane" portion of the nuns. They 
narrated that to the nunnery, which was 
known to occupy a notable and prominent 
site, resorted nobles and other secular 
persons, and that this intercourse had in 
creased of late from the building of a 
number of castles and forts in the neigh 
bourhood. The result was that the nun 
nery, aiming to render the highest service, 
had lapsed from devotion, and its sacred 
cult had suffered great diminution and 
fallen into contempt; and the said prioress 
and nuns genuinely feared that greater 
hurt and more irreparable scandals would 
follow in the future, unless the remedy 
suggested by them was applied. It was that, 
as exit from and entry to the nunnery had 
been notoriously open from the time of its 
foundation, the access of such persons as 
had been mentioned should be prevented 
by a perpetual enclosure, and that the 
prioress and nuns should be ordained to 
live in continual seclusion within the walls 
of the monastery. The Pope, in reply, on 
12th Aug. 1375 gave a mandate to William, 
Bishop of St Andrews, ordaining an en 
closing wall to be built at the expense of 
the prioress and convent, and that the 
prioress and nuns reside within the en 
closure and continue so to do in all time 
to come notwithstanding any statutes or 
practices to the contrary. That, however, 
was not the only trouble that befell the 



98 



NORTH BERWICK 



[PRESB. OF 



nunnery. In the Papal Bull 18th Feb. 
1383-4 annexing the perpetual vicarage of 
the Church of North Berwick to the nun 
nery, there were given as reasons for the 
annexation the oppressions and hardships 
caused by the frequent devastations of the 
plundering of the nunnery possessions 
through the ravages of war, and the 
lamentable burning of the church by an 
invading enemy. The church, however, was 
rebuilt; and there are records that in it 
were a chapel of John the Baptist 4th Jan. 
1 524-5, and an altar of the Holy Rood, of 
which on 3rd March 1539-40 Sir William 
Fowlar was chaplain. At the Reformation 
the prioress and nuns were dispersed, and 
the buildings, with the exception of the 
church and cloisters, which still survived 
at 28th Jan. 1568-9 but had disappeared 
before 12th Jan. 1587-8, became ruinous. 
"The Mansion or lodgeing called the 
Newark" was built on part of the site 
before 28th Jan. 1568-9, and became the 
chief residence of Sir Alexander Home, son 
of Patrick H. of Polwarth, to whom a 
Crown Charter of 20th March 1587-8 con 
veyed the possessions of the nunnery, at 
the same time creating them into a barony. 
An Act of Parliament of 1592 ratified the 
infeftments of Sir Alexander Home, and 
another Act of 1597 dissolved the nunnery. 
The existing ruins appear to belong to the 
period immediately after the Reformation. 
In addition to the Ferry Hospital at the 
harbour there was a hospital for poor 
brethren (monks) which was situated on a 
site now occupied by the Dalrymple Hotel 
in Quality Street. Described in 1544 as 
"built by the late Robert Lauder of the 
Bass," presumably Robert Lauder 1495- 
1579, it had an endowment of 20 merks 
annually from lands on the south side of 
the street of the burgh of Lauder, and other 
lands, including " Lawrenceland, " within 
the liberty of the said burgh. To the per 
petual chaplainry of the shrine or chapel 
attached to the hospital, Sir Robert Lauder 
of the Bass, the patron, appointed George 
Lyall in Sept. 1560 in succession to the late 
Sir James Cowhen (Cowan), and invested 
him in possession by presentation of the 
key of the said chapel and the lodging built 



over it. [Carte Mon. de North Berwic, xi, 
xvii, 4-15, 19-20, 31, 37-8, 40, 47, 54-5, 71, 
76-7, 84-5; Reg. Great Seal, ii, 2068, iv, 
55, 382, 1598, 1599, 1919, v, 1492; Reg. 
Sec. Seal, ii, 579; Acts Scott. ParL, iii, 601, 
iv, 157, vii, 156b, 157a, x, 303; Excheq. 
Rolls, x, 770, xiv, 619-20; Retours, xx, 94, 
xli, 174; Reg. of Dunfermline, 131-3; Cal. 
of Docs. Rel. to Scotland, ii, 208; Cal. Papal 
Reg., Letters, iv, 212; Extractae V arils 
Cronius Scocie, 255; Theiner s Vet. Monu- 
menta, 355; Dalrymple s Collections on 
Scott. History, 268; Fraser s Douglas Book, 
iii, 165-6; Miss. Scott. Hist. Soc., iv, 309, 
334-5; Lockhart s Ch. in Scot, in \3th 
Century, 52; D. B. Swan s Parish Church 
ofSt Andrew, North Berwick.} 

ALEXANDER WOOD, M.A., 1568, 
also vicar of Largo (q.v.). \Comps. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 

PATRICK CREECH, trans, to Jed- 
1568 burgh 1574. 

ROBERT LAUDER, reader 1569-71. 



1569 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin- 
lit hgow, etc.] 



WILLIAM GALBRAITH, reader. 
1611 [MS. Min. Book, 22nd Sept. 1611.] 



HENRY AITKENHEAD, his daugh. 
Isobel, not Helen (marr. Archibald 
Riddell, min. of Trinity, Edinburgh). 



1628 



GEORGE MURRAY, had also issue, 
1729 Jane. 



MATTHEW MURRAY, his son, Hugh, 
died 1846; his daugh., Mary Simp 
son, died 1876; his son, John, 
preacher, died 1799; his daugh., Janet, died 
25th Oct. 1767. 



1758 



HENRY DAVID HILL, marr. (1) 1st 
1792 Oct. 1802; (2) 1818. 

GEORGE MURRAY, his daugh., Ann, 
1795 died 9th Dec. 1867. 

ROBERT BALFOUR GRAHAM, his 

daugh., Christian Mary, died 17th 



1822 



May 1916; his son, Archibald, died 



at Ballarat; John, died at Barrackpore. 



HADDINGTON] 



NORTH BERWICK PRESTONPANS 



99 



1904 



GEORGE WASHINGTON SPROTT, 

marr. 29th Sept. 1857; his son, 
Harold George Hill, LL.B., died 
18th Jan. 1924; his daughs. Lilias Har 
rington, born 4th July 1862, died 27th Nov. 
1867; Agnes Jean (Mrs Wylie), died at 
London 31st Jan. 1939; Mabel (marr. (2) 
16th Aug. 1939 Robert Charles Brown, 
Strone, Bridge of Cally). 

JAMES ROBERT BURT, licen. 21st 
May 1888, dem. May 1927; died 
llth Aug. 1935. Marr. 8th Oct. 
1919 Anne Calder, second daugh. of 
Thomas R. Marshall, Edinburgh; she died 
20th June 1945. 

RITCHIE DOUGHTY LYON, M.A., 

B.D., trans, from Dunfermline North 

(q.v.) 15th Nov. 1928. Issue James 

Doughty, born 27th April 1925; Douglas 

Ritchie Doughty, born 22nd Dec. 1929. 

PENCAITLAND 

The greater part of the church was re 
built in 1631 ; but the aisle probably belongs 
to the early part of the 1 3th century. The 
church was dedicated by Bishop de Bern- 
ham 1st May 1242. About 1343 John de 
Maxwell, son of the deceased Sir John M. 
of Pencaitland, Kt., granted to Dryburgh 
Abbey the patronage of the church with 
the Chapel of Payston. Subsequent to the 
Reformation Payston was attached to 
Ormiston. [Book of Dryburgh, 271; Reg. 
Mag. Sig., i, App. H, 944; Lockhart s Ch. 
in Scotland in \3th century, 48.] 

ANDREW SYMSOUN, designated 



1575 



min. 18th Oct. 1575; held also 



Saltoun. [Test. Inventories MS., 
Reg. Ho.] 

DEAN JOHN CHATTO, vicar 1576. 
1576 [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.} 

ALEXANDER VERNOR, son of 



1653 



Robert V., portioner of Inveresk. 
[Deeds Mack., 1704, No. 361.] 



ROBERT DOUGLAS, line 38, after 

1669 "released" add "Feb. 1653"; his 

son, Archibald, buried at Logic 16th 

July 1714. G. R.Sas., xlii, 164; liii, 481.] 



1685 



JAMES COCKBURN, son of William 
1674 C, min. of Kirkmichael, Ayr. 

WILLIAM DENUNE, his daugh. 
Christian (marr. James Hepburn 
Congalton of that ilk). 

MATTHEW SIMSON, his son, Adam, 
apprentice to James Steel, saddler, 
Edinburgh, 30th Dec. 1730. 

DAVID PYPER, his daugh. Caroline 
(marr. 24th Oct. 1825 James Ander 
son Berry). 

ANGUS McKELLAR, his wife, Helen 
1814 Stirling, died 27th July 1859. 

JAMES COULLIE, dem. 30th Sept. 
1924, died 25th June 1927; his 
daugh., Margaret Evelyn (marr. 18th 
Sept. 1921 Rev. John William Arthur, 
M.D., O.B.E., Dunbog); his son, William, 
Surgeon Lieut. -Commander R.N., died at 
Southsea 15th Sept. 1924. 

GEORGE GRANDISON MORGAN, 

born 15th March 1894, son of John 
Morgan and Fanny Miller; educ. at 

Univ. of Edinburgh, M.A. (1920); licen. 

by Presb. of Edinburgh 2nd May 1923; 

assistant, St Mary s, Edinburgh, May 1923; 

ord. 26th Feb. 1925. 

PRESTONPANS 

JOHN BARTONE, M.A., Dean of 
Dunkeld, vicar 1567-71. [Comps. 



1872 



1925 



1567 



Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 



JOHN DAVIDSON; he founded in 
Prestonpans "ane schole for teich- 
ing Latine grek and hebrew towngis 
and Language and for Instructing of youth 
in virtue and learning," and he "dotit to 
the samin his heretage and all his moveable 
and frie gudis for ane perpetuall stipend to 
the maisteris at the said schole." By Act 
of llth July 1606 Parliament ratified the 
erection and all his benefaction to the 
school. [Acts Scott. Parl., iv, 302.] 

JOHN KERR, had issue Margaret, 

bapt. 15th May 1606; Andrew, 

advocate, bapt. 1607 (delete "died 

Feb. 1670"); Robert, min. of Haddington; 



100 



PRESTONPANS SALTOUN 



[PRESB. OF 



Margaret, bapt. 16th Jan. 1612; Mary 
(twin), bapt. 16th Jan. 1612; Elizabeth, 
bapt. 1st Sept. 1614; John, bapt. 16th Nov. 
1615; Thomas, bapt. 2nd Aug. 1618. 

JOHN OSWALD, line 1, for "1660" 
1648 read "1600." 

ROBERT RAMSAY, his son, Robert, 



1682 



apprenticed to George Manson, 
barber, Edinburgh, 27th Feb. 1712. 



ROBERT HORSBURGH. MS. volume 
1702 of sermons in Assembly Library. 

MATTHEW REID, his daugh., Mar 
garet (marr. Oct. 1781 James Car- 



1768 



michael, writer, Edinburgh). 



GEORGE STUART SMITH, died 7th 
1889 Jan. 1916. 

JOSEPH LOGAN AYRE, trans, from 

Kirkcowan (q.v.), 29th June 1916; 

died at Lumphanan llth Oct. 1938; 

his son, Peter Logan, min. of Kinross; his 

daugh., Margaret Robertson (marr. 24th 

Oct. 1946 Harold Edward Mackenzie, Uln 

Tiram Estate, Johore, Malaya). 



SALTOUN 

The church was dedicated by Bishop de 
Bernham on 21st April 1244. Near the 
Castle of Herdmaston there was a chapel 
dedicated to St John the Evangelist. About 
the beginning of the 1 3th century John de 
Sant Clair received from the abbot and 
convent of Dryburgh permission to build 
the chapel for the use of himself, family 
household, and guests, the rights of the 
mother church of Saltoun being reserved. 
The site with the ruins is in the grounds of 
Herdmaston House. [Retours, xxxv, 162; 
Bk. of Dryburgh, 135; Lockhart s Ch. of 
Scot, in llth Century, 58.] 

JOHN ABERNETHIE, M.A., vicar 



1562 



1562-71. [Comps. Gen Coll. of 
Thirds; Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlith- 
gow, etc.] 

JOHN BURNETT, M.A., vicar 1567- 
1567 ll l Com P s - Sub ColL f Thirds, 



Linlithgow, etc.] 



ARTHUR SIMSON, exhorter in 1568 
at 



1568 - [Comps. 

Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 



1578 



JAMES GIBSON, pres. to vicarage 9th 
Dec. 1581, on death of John Aber- 
nethie, after his removal to Pencait- 
land; was fugitive before 1st Feb. 1584-5. 
[Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 63; Reg. Sec. Sig., 
lii, 1.] 

ROGER WILSON, pres. to vicarage 
1584 1 st Feb. 1 584-5, vacant before death 
of John Abernethie and now vacant 
through James Gibson, min. of Pencaitland, 
to whom the vicarage had been assigned 
as part payment of his stipend, being a 
fugitive from the country. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
lii, 1.] 

ARCHIBALD DOUGLAS, son of 



1646 



John D. of Garvelt. [G. R. Inhib., 
3rd July 1663.] 



PATRICK SCOUGALL, line 3, for 
1659 "1695 "read "1659." 



ARCHIBALD DOUGLAS, line 11, for 
Ewes read Mackerstoun . 
[Reg. of Deeds, Durie, civ, 10th 
Nov. 1704.] 



1684 



ARCHIBALD LUNDIE, had issue- 
John, born 3rd Sept. 1704; Isobel, 
bapt. 15th Aug. 1706; Andrew, 
born 14th Dec. 1708, buried 27th March 
1716; Archibald, born 3rd Dec. 1710; 
Cornelius, born llth Aug. 1716; Katherine, 
born 9th Jan. 1720, died 13th July 1788; 
Adam, born 30th July 1722. 

ANDREW JOHNSTON, line 8, for 
1791 "1761" read "1791." 



PATRICK FAIRBAIRN, line 15, for 
"1855" read "1853"; his daugh. 
Marion died at Tunbridge Wells 
8th May 1934. 



1840 



1885 



THOMAS ELLIOT SIMPSON 
CLARKE, D.D. (Glasgow, 1919), 
died 28th June 1923; his daugh. 

Jessie Lothian (marr. 1st Sept. 1920 Capt. 

James Watt, New York); his son, John 

Elliot, died 13th Oct. 1943. 



HADDINGTON] 



SALTOUN TRANENT 



101 



JAMES GRAHAM GOODALL 
NICOLSON, ord. 13th Dec. 1923; 



1923 

1928. 



trans, to West Linton, 22nd March 



(Parish united with Bolton 1928.) 

TRANENT 

Bishop de Bernham dedicated the Church 
of Tranent on llth April 1244, and the 
Church of Seton on 23rd May 1247. In 
the parish was a Well of St Clement. At 
Seton stood the Hospital of St Germain of 
the Order of Cross-bearers with the Star of 
Bethlehem, under the rule of St Augustine, 
alternatively designated in brief, the Order 
of Bethlehem, the Order of St Mary of 
Bethlehem, and the Order of St Mary of 
the Star. The Order, about which some 
uncertainty exists, was one of Canons 
Regular of St Augustine, but originally 
they may have been simple hospitallers. 
They wore a black mantle on which was a 
red star with a blue centre, and possibly 
they also bore a cross. Of the actual 
founding of the establishment there is no 
record, but it took place prior to 1222, 
when Milone Cornet, prior of St Germain, 
appears as a witness of a Holyrood writ. 
In 1296 Bartholomew, Master of the Hospi 
tal of St Germain, swore fealty to Edward 
I; and subsequently the head is designated 
Master or Rector, and sometimes both. 
The hospital was subject to the Bishop of 
Bethlehem, who had the right of collation, 
provision, and disposition. The See of 
Bethlehem was erected by Baldwin, the 
first Latin king of Jerusalem, with consent 
of Pope Paschal II; and the bishop was a 
suffragan of the Bishop of Jerusalem. After 
the expulsion of the Latins by the Saracens 
in 1266 the Bishops took up residence in 
France, where a hospital was bequeathed 
to them by William, Count of Nevers, a 
crusader; and thereafter they were ap 
pointed by the Pope on the nomination of 
the Counts of Nevers, and held a merely 
titular dignity. To the Hospital of St Ger 
main belonged the churches of Abergairn 
(Glengairn) and Glenmuick in Aberdeen- 
shire, and Aberlethnott (Marykirk) in 
Kincardineshire. In addition to the lands 



G* 



of St Germain on which it was situated, the 
hospital possessed also the lands of Loch- 
house in West Lothian; part of the lands 
of Kinblethmount in Angus, designated 
"the lands of the Hospital House of St 
Germain, called the Temple-lands of Kin- 
blackmount"; land in Leith on the south 
side of the Water of Leith; the lands of 
Braidleys in the constabulary of Crail in 
Fife; and the land of St Germain at Inver- 
keithing. It is likely that to the hospital 
pertained also St Germain s acre at Inver- 
teil, Kirkcaldy ; but in any case the foregoing 
list canot be regarded as exhaustive. In 
1372 Sir John Rollo was master of the 
hospital. About the beginning of the 15th 
century John Rollok, Chaplain of the 
Apostolic See, occupied the same position; 
and after his death the office was held by 
various individuals in somewhat rapid 
succession Roger de Edinburgh, "a no 
torious schismatic," deposed in or before 
1410; Henry de Ramsay, "of noble birth"; 
Richard de Maryton, Canon of Scone, in 
whose favour Robert, Duke of Albany, 
petitioned Pope Benedict XIII in 1410; 
John Fleming, secretary of Alexander, Earl 
of Crawford, * son of a priest and an un 
married woman," and chaplain of the 
Chaplainries of Kilgeny and St George in 
the Church of Dundee; and Richard de 
Langlands, priest of the Diocese of St 
Andrews, collated and assigned, and pro 
vided by John, Bishop of Bethlehem. The 
right of each of these was challenged; and 
in reality they constituted claimants and 
counter-claimants to the office. Later, in 
Feb. 1434-5, Dominic, Bishop of Bethle 
hem, claimed that the hospital belonged to 
the Episcopa Mensa of Bethlehem, as 
against the right of Patrick Rode, who had 
been collated Master by authority of the 
ordinary and its ordinance. Patrick Rode 
resigned his claim, and the Pope ordered 
the admission of Dominic as Master and 
granted to him the hospital itself to hold 
as long as he should be Bishop of Beth 
lehem. Later Dominic appears to have 
withdrawn his claim to the hospital, the 
sentence given in his favour not having 
been executed. In any case he died soon 
afterwards; and thereafter the Bishops of 



102 



TRANENT 



[PRESB. OF 



Bethlehem seem to have lost St Germain. 
In the hands of Dominic s successor as 
Master, Patrick Piot, the hospital passed 
under a cloud; and in Dec. 1470 it was 
charged against him that he "has dilapi 
dated the precious movables of that 
Church, which is wont to be held by 
brethern of the Order of the Cross-bearers 
with Star, and in which there have been 
wont to be a poor-hospital, and a number 
of brethern of the said Order, and has kept 
up no hospitality therein nor kept any 
brother of the said Order, but on the con 
trary has profaned the Church, in which 
there used to be Altars and other Chapels, 
and the relics of saints, and other ecclesias 
tical sacraments, and has allowed and still 
allows laymen to dwell therein with their 
wives and families, as if it were a private 
house, with occasional bloodshed, etc., and 
without the celebration of divine offices." 
Patrick Piot was deprived of office in or 
about 1476, and his successor was John de 
Camera (Chalmers), priest of the Diocese 
of Aberdeen. The latter ceased actively to 
hold the office in 1475, and by Papal Bulls 
of 22nd Dec. of that year he received as an 
annual pension or in place of a pension 25s. 
from the teind sheaves of the * vills of de 
Bernes and de Ecclesmaldeis (Eglismaldie, 
now Inglismaldie) in the parochial bounds 
of Aberbthnot (Aberlethnott), belonging to 
St Germain s Hospital." The next in 
order seems to have been Thomas Piot, 
priest of the Diocese of St Andrews, who 
was certainly in office in 1486. But less 
than a decade later the condition of the 
hospital was again revealed as deplorable. 
The funds had greatly diminished owing to 
continuous litigation, and not within the 
memory of man had the institution served 
the purpose of its founder. The buildings, 
except the chapel, had become ruinous; 
and the resources of the hospital were being 
applied to secular ends. So runs the narra 
tive in the Bull of Pope Alexander VI, 9th 
Feb. 1495-6, by which on the petition of 
James IV the hospital was annexed to 
King s College, Aberdeen. The revenues 
of the hospital, amounting to 30, were 
thus devoted to college uses, with the 
reservation that one religious person of 



the Order of St Augustine should act as 
chaplain at the hospital, and should uphold 
and direct the chapel, and that at the 
hospital three "poor persons" should be 
maintained. It was also provided that 
three poor students should be supported at 
King s College. On 9th Aug. 1497 Thomas 
Piot resigned the hospital in the hands of 
William Elphinstone, Bishop of Aberdeen 
and Chancellor of the University, and 
received in return on 1 8th Aug. the Prebend 
of Cruden and the vicarage of Banff; and 
on 10th Feb. 1504-5 John Chalmers re 
signed his right to the hospital and his 
pension from the teind sheaves of the 
parish of Aberlethnott, and as part com 
pensation was appointed to the parsonage 
of Fetterneir and the chaplainry of St 
Mary Magdalene in St Nicholas Church, 
Aberdeen. On 2nd April 1541 Sir Peter 
Hutchesone was chaplain and preceptor 
of the hospital; before 12th Aug. 1577 the 
office was held by Alexander Moresone, 
alias Moreis, son of late Alexander Moreis, 
burgess of Edinburgh; and John Smysoun 
was in possession before 8th Feb. 1585-6. 
The Church of Seton was dedicated by 
Bishop de Bernham on 23rd May 1247. 
On a petition of George, 3rd Lord Seton, 
craving that the Church of Seton be erected 
into a collegiate church for a provost, 6 
canons and prebends, and 2 boys and a 
clerk, Pope Paul II gave mandate on 13th 
April 1470 to the Bishop of Whithorn and 
the Abbot of Newbattle to make enquiries 
and, if they saw fit, to carry out the erec 
tion. Delay ensued; and the actual erection 
was made on 20th June 1493 by George, 
4th Lord Seton, following a Bull of Pope 
Alexander II in 1492. The collegiate church 
had the cure of souls of the parishioners. 
In the church there was an altar dedicated 
to the Virgin Mary, situated in the aisle of 
that name. [Charters of Holyrood, 49; 
Deeds relating to the Homage of Scotland, 
134; Cal. of Papal Registers, Petitions, i, 
599, 639, Letters, viii, 488, 567, 638, xii, 
337, 346, 356; Cal. of Supplications Rel. to 
Scotland, 13, 64-5, 83, 85-6, S.H.S.; Fasti 
Aberdonenses, 2, 9-11, 15-19, 50-1; Spald- 
ing Club; Reg. Great Seal, ii, 850, v, 2744, 
vi, 868, 915, vii, 967, 1084, 1568, viii, 197, 



HADDINGTON] 



TRANENT YESTER 



103 



ix, 289; Excheq. Rolls, ii, 445; The Apostolic 
Camera and Scott. Benefices, 165, 181, 256; 
Retours, vii, 312; Hist, of the Carnegies, 
ii, 346; Scott. Hist. Review, ix, 110; Lock- 
hart s Church in Scotland in 13 th Century, 
50, 56; Stephen s Hist, of Inverkeithing and 
Rosyth, 332; James Young s Prot. Bk., 450; 
for details of the church see The Family of 
Seton and Maitland s Chronicle of the 
House of Seton.} 

SIR STEPHEN MOFFAT, vicar llth 
Nov. 1565. [Reg. Sec. Sig., xxxiv, 
46.] 



1565 



JAMES SMALL, reader, Longniddry, 
1568 Oct. 1568. [Edin. Tests., i, 311.] 



1568 



ALEXANDER FORRESTER, line 15, 
* r " a b ve " read " after"; his pres. 
was on the death of John Rowand 
through Stephen Moffat, present vicar, 
giving no compearance. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
xlii; Reg. Pres. Bene., i, (2), 28.] 

ROBERT WALLACE, his widow marr. 



1602 



(2) Alexander Maxwell of Little 



Cessnock. [Reg. of Deeds, Hay, 
ccccix, 22.] 

HUGH CUNNINGHAM, his son, 
1784 Robert Brown, surgeon, Tranent. 

JOHN HENDERSON, his daugh. 
Christina (marr. 26th Jan. 1841 
Andrew Brown). 



1806 



ROBERT STEWART, pres. 3rd May 
1850 1850. 

WILLIAM CAESAR, pres. by Crown 
1852 16th Oct. 1851; his daugh., Lily 
Walter (marr. Robert Finnic, Rig- 
gonhead), died 3rd Nov. 1918; his son, 
John Alfred Church, died 6th Jan. 1937; 
his daugh., Felicia Livoni Rose, died 31st 
March 1945. 

ANDREW MIDDLEMASS HEWAT, 



1904 



died 12th March 1942; his son, John 



Ronald, died at Aberdeen 1st July 
1937; his daugh. Margaret Constance Doris 
(marr. 12th May 1942 George Dudley 
Hugh, R.A.F., son of W. H. E. Green, 
Felton, Somerset). 



YESTER 

The usual name was Bothans; but the 
church when it was dedicated by Bishop 
de Bernham in 1241 was designated the 
Church of Yestrith (Yester). It was also 
called St Bothans, apparently from a sup 
posed connection with St Bathan or 
Baithene; but the actual reason for the 
designation is not clear. In any case the 
church was dedicated to St Cuthbert. In 
1708 the church was removed to Gifford. 
The old church is near Yester House, and 
became a mausoleum of the Hay family. 
On 1st Aug. 1420 William Hay, Kt., 
Sheriff of Peebles, Thomas Boyd, Lord of 
Kilmarnock, with consent of his son and 
heir, Thomas, Eustace Maxwell, and 
Dougal McDowel of Malcarriston (Makers- 
toun), co-lords of the Lordship of Yester, 
and patrons in turn of the Church of St 
Bothans, petitioned Henry, Bishop of St 
Andrews, for the erection of the church 
into a collegiate church; and on 22nd April 
1421 the Bishop granted a foundation 
Charter. The collegiate church was for a 
provost and four chaplains, for each of 
whom provision was made, including a 
manse and garden. The third chaplain had 
reserved for him the whole land of Kirk- 
bank, and three husband-lands and five 
cotelands in Duncanlaw; and to the fourth 
chaplain pertained the fruits of the Church 
of Morham which was annexed to the 
collegiate church, the annexation to operate 
when Morham became vacant, and Mor 
ham to be served by a chaplain. Among 
other details, all furnishings, ornaments, 
candles, etc., were also to be provided by 
the founders. There was also a clerk 
trained to read and sing at the high altar. 
Subsequently the organisation of the 
church expanded, and there were the 
following prebends: prebend of Morham; 
prebend of the Altar of St Mary the Virgin, 
on the east side of the church; prebend of 
Blans; prebend of the Altar of St Ninian; 
prebend of Kirkbank; prebend of the Altar 
of the Holy Rood; prebend of the Altar of 
St Edmund, King and Martyr, in the south 
transept or St Edmund s aisle. There was 
also an Altar of our Lord St Salvator. 
Probably the first provost of the church 



104 



YESTER 



[PRESB. OF HADDINGTON 



was Sir John Richardson, who had been 
rector of the church and resigned to facili 
tate the collegiate foundation. At any rate 
he was provost on 13th Dec. 1432. Suc 
ceeding provosts were: Mr Stephen Kerr, 
in office on 20th Feb. 1442, and died before 
28th May 1454; Sir David Ramsay, rector 
of Keryntoun (Carrington), presented 28th 
May 1454; Mr Fergus Makdowell, died 
before 18th March 1470-1; Mr Andrew 
Hay, Clerk to the Diocese of Glasgow, 
presented 18th March 1470-1, said to be 
identical with Mr Andrew Hay, second son 
of Sir David Hay of Lockerworth, and 
rector of Biggar, still in office 28th June 
1494; Sir Thomas Young, in office 6th 
Aug. 1496 and 16th Feb. 1504-5; Mr 
Robert Walterston, in office 23rd May 
1513, and still on 12th Dec. 1542, resigned 
soon after; Mr Thomas Hay, mentioned 
on 12th Dec. 1542 as future successor of 
Mr Robert Walterston, provost and usu- 
fructurer of the collegiate church, described 
as Archpriest of Dunbar on 10th Feb. 1542 
in a Bull of Paul III allowing him to retain 
the said archpresbytery resigned by Robert 
Walterston, along with the provostry of 
St Bothans, in office as provost 21st March 
1542-3, and died before 3rd May 1558; 
Mr Andrew Hay, chaplain to the provostry, 
presented 3rd May 1558; Sir William 
Dobsone, chaplain and prebendary in the 
church, presented on 29th July 1540 and 
died before 21st Oct. 1566, when Gilbert 
Brown, minister of the Church of the Holy 
Cross, Peebles, received presentation to the 
emoluments of the office. At Duncanlaw 
there was a chapel dedicated to St Nicholas. 
[Cal. ofYester Writs, 16, 40, 53, 54, 55, 
59, 79, 85, 86, 87, 92, 110, 116a, 152, 153, 
162, 229, 235, 285, 354, 393, 478, 569, 601, 



602, 605, 682, 684, 855a, 1001, 1057, 1058; 
Reg. Great Seal, i, App. ii, 1859; Scots 
Peerage, viii, 429; Lockhart s Ch. in Scot, 
in 13th Century, 46-7.] 

SIR ANDREW HAY (St. Edmont s) 
and JAMES TEMPLE, M.A., occur 
as Prebendaries 1567. [Comps. Sub 
Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 

WILLIAM MACHAMWELL, in office 
15?2 1571. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Linlithgow.] 

JOHN HAY, dep. for fornication with 
his servant, Margaret Lamb. Was 
afterwards min. of Dunlop 168?. 



1676 



ROBERT MELDRUM, marr. Jean, 
1682 daugh. f Andrew Melvin, min. of 
Morham. 

JAMES WITHERSPOON, his daugh. 
1720 Susan (marr. proc. 17th Aug. 1760). 

JAMES INNES, died Father of the 



1760 

burgh. 



Church; marr. Mary, daugh. of 
William Hogg, merchant, Edin- 



JOHN MUIR, died at Port Bannatyne 
1896 13th May 1920. 



1920 



JOHN GUMMING, M.A., trans, from 
St Andrew s, Alloa (q.v.} 27th Oct. 
1920. Marr. 24th July 1923 Mary 
Graham Herries, daugh. of Thomas 
Rogerson, Lochmaben, and Anne Boyes 
Herries, and has issue Archibald Robert 
Herries, born 16th Jan. 1926; Ewen 
Thomas Elder, born 26th April 1927; John 
Graham Rogerson, born 3rd May 1929; 
David Patrick Low, born 14th Oct. 1932. 






PRESBYTERY OF DUNBAR 



BELHAVEN 

WILLIAM SORLEY, his son, William 



1840 



Ritchie, died 28th July 1935; his 
daugh., Mary Simpson, died at 
London 21st March 1947. 

NORMAN MACLEOD, trans, to St. 
1914 Bride s, Govan, 8th June 1927. 

ALEXANDER JOHN CAIRNS 
RITCHIE, trans, from Orwell (q.v.) 
7th Oct. 1927; trans, to Culsalmond, 
30th Oct. 1947. 

COCKBURNSPATH 

There was a hospital at Cockburnspath. 
South of the village is Chapelhill. Cock 
burnspath and Aldcambus were united by 
the Lords Commissioners of Teinds before 
20th May 1610. 

MICHAEL BONKLE, min. at Inner- 

1 __ 1 wick, also in charge here. [Comps. 

Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 

THOMAS LICHTON, reader 1571. 

1571 \- Com P s - Sub Co11 - f Thirds, Lin- 
lithgow, etc.] 

DAVID HUME, for "1574" read 
1574 "1576." 



1587 



JAMES LAMB, min. here 29th July 

1587 when ^ e was P res - to t* 16 
vicarage of Bolton. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 

iv, 133.] 



JOHN LAUDER, min. 18th Jan. 
1599 1598-9. [Presb.Rec.Fraser Papers.] 

DAVID CLUNIE, marr. Grissell, 
1689 ^ au S h> f Th oma s Thomson, bur 
gess of Inverkeithing, and Janet 
Mitchell. Issue Helen (marr. cont. 17th 
April 1711 James Ferguson, burgess of 
Inverkeithing); Agnes; David, born 1693; 



John, born 1695; Andrew, born 1696, 
Christian; Thomas, M.A.; Alexander; 
merchant, Perth; Mabel. [Inverkeithing 
Burgh Sasines.] 

ANDREW SPENCER, pres. 2nd June 
1789 1789. 

JOSEPH HUNTER, his widow, Jessie 
1869 Brand, died 4th Oct. 1935. 

GEORGE VICTOR DUNNETT, trans. 



1906 



to Robertson Memorial, Edinburgh, 
4th June 1920. 



LESLIE DUNCAN, M.A., adm. 28th 



1920 

1926. 



Sept 192 



t0 St 



in-the-Fields, Glasgow, 17th May 



WILLIAM ERIC KILMORACK 
1926 RANKIN, born 12th Aug. 1899, 
son of Ewen Archibald R., D.D., 
min. of Kilmorack: educ. at Royal Aca 
demy, Inverness; Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. 
(1921), St Andrews, B.D. (26th June 1925); 
served with Black Watch in Great War; 
licen. by Presb. of Dingwall 29th April 
1925; assistant Paisley Abbey 1925; ord. 
28th Sept. 1926; trans, to Second Charge, 
St Andrews, 21st Feb. 1925; Chaplain to 
Forces 1939; prisoner of war in Germany 
June 1940. Marr. 21st June 1927 Irma 
Mary Lyell, second daugh. of Cuthbert 
Finch, Ramornie, Ellon, and has issue 
Sheila Lois, born 2nd Dec. 1928; John 
Finch, born 18th Dec. 1934. 

ALDCAMBUS 

The church, whose ruins are situated on 
the shore not far from Aldcambus, is said 
to have been erected in the latter part of 
the 12th century. At Aldcambus there was 
a hospital for lepers, belonging to Colding- 
ham Priory. In the time of William the 
Lion (1165-1214), David de Quinwood, 



105 



106 



ALDCAMBUS DUNBAR 



[PRESB. OF 



baron of Quinwood, son of Arnold de 
Quinwood, endowed the hospital by giving 
to it and the lepers abiding there, a half 
ploughgate of land at Aldcambus, for 
merly held by Ralph the Tanner. [Carr s 
Coldingham Priory, 96-7, 98, 265.] 

JAMES LAMB, also min. at Cock- 
1584 burnspath (q.v.). 

THOMAS BONAR, pres. to vicarage 



1599 



of Simprim on death of Mungo 



Home, and to Aldcambus on dem. 
of Alexander Lumsden, 7th Feb. 1599. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiv, 448.] 

DUNBAR 

The earliest Christian settlement is said 
to have been associated both with St Abbs 
and Old Cambus. Three Northumbrian 
princesses, having found it advisable to 
seek refuge in Scotland from a virulent 
war which had broken out in their father s 
dominions, set sail for the Firth of Forth 
in a small vessel along with some friends 
and domestics. Having been compelled by 
a contrary wind to land near St Abbs Head, 
they were entertained by the Prior of 
Coldingham; and out of gratitude to their 
respective saints through whose intercession 
they deemed that they had been preserved, 
they erected severally a chapel at their 
own expense, viz. St Abb s (Ebba) on the 
summit of the "Head"; St Helen s at Old 
Cambus; and St Bees (Beya) on the shore 
at Dunbar. Whatever historical value may 
be attached to the story, certain it is that 
St Beya was the patron saint of Dunbar. 
There was a "St Bais Well" which, as 
indicated in a Charter of 1603, was close 
to the shore; and the exact locality is 
denoted by the modern name Bayswell, 
attached to the area overlooking the sea at 
the north-east part of the town. But the 
chapel or cell there must have disappeared 
at an early date, for the medieval church 
was situated where the modern church 
stands. It has been suggested that that 
church was of Saxon style, and that, when 
the collegiate church was founded in 1342, 
to the east end of the Saxon church or 
parish church of Dunbar were added a 



Gothic choir and transepts, entrance to the 
old west portion being by a Saxon arch. 
As completed, the church was cruciform, 
with a length of 123 feet, a breadth of 20-25 
feet, and the cross-aisle or transepts 83 
feet. An altar dedicated to the Virgin Mary 
was erected anew in 1342 in the nave or 
old portion of the church, and is described 
in 1 507 as being in the parish Church of 
Dunbar. In the church was a chaplainry 
called Saulpriestis. Extensive repairs were 
carried out on the church in 1779; and 
forty years later plans were made for a 
new church on the same site. The last 
service in the old church was held on 7th 
March 1819; on 17th April of that year 
the foundation stone of the new church 
was laid; and the latter, not quite com 
pleted, was opened for worship on 20th 
April 1821. Patrick, 7th Earl of Dunbar, 
who died at Whittinghame on 24th April 
1289, was interred in the north aisle of the 
church. At the shore there was a chapel 
dedicated to St Anne. Hence the modern 
"St Anne s Court." There was also a 
chapel dedicated to St John, of which in 
the Lord High Treasurer s Accounts of 
1501 there is this entry: "Item, the xix day 
of October to Schir Andro Wod to the 
bigging of Sanct Johne s Chapell in Dun- 
bar, x li." Apparently in 1218 Christian 
Bruce, 2nd wife of Patrick, 5th Earl of 
Dunbar, and widow of William Bruce of 
Annandale, "biggit and foundit ane hous 
of religioun in the toun of Dunbar, and 
gave the sammin with all the rentis and 
profittis thairof to God and the brethern 
of the Ordour and religioun of the Trinity 
(Red Friars), the hous to be subject to the 
cure and reull of the minister of the place 
and brethern of Trinity at Berwick, the 
minister to be haldin to sustene and uphold 
in the said place and hous of Dunbar ane 
brother of the said Ordour to do divine 
service therein." In 1473, on account of 
Berwick having been held for many years 
by the English, and the Trinity House there 
"destroyit and put doun, " the rents, etc., 
of that house were transferred by James III 
to the Red Friars of Peebles. This transfer 
was held as equivalent to the House of Dun- 
bar and its rents, etc., also being transferred 



DUNBAR 



DUNBAR 



107 



to Peebles; and in Letters of 1st July 
1529 to the Ministry and Brethren of 
Peebles, James V disannulled all disposi 
tions and nominations, etc., to the House 
of Dunbar that might impede the House at 
Peebles in the use of Dunbar House and 
its rents, and ordained Peebles to take all 
the profits of Dunbar for the sustentation 
of their place * to the Honour and Glory 
of God and of the Holy Croce there 
honorit and kepit." Specially revoked was 
the gift of the House of Dunbar made by 
the King to Sir John Scharp, Chaplain, on 
8th March 1528-9. On 1st June 1558 Friar 
Gilbert Brown, Minister of the House of 
Peebles, set in feu to James Home in 
Dunbar 52 acres of land at Dunbar, rented 
20 merks, that belonged to the House 
there. The Charter describes the various 
lands in detail, and includes also le Mason- 
dew in the north part of the town. By 
Charter of 31st March 1567 Queen Mary 
gave the lands, annual rents, etc., of the 
house to the burgh of Dunbar. The house 
itself was situated at what is now called 
Friar s Croft, south of Friar s Vennel, 
where the tower of the church may still be 
seen in use as a dovecot. In 1263 Patrick, 
Earl of Dunbar, founded a House of White 
Friars (Carmelites). All trace of the build 
ing has disappeared, but its situation, 
according to a Charter of 1576, was on 
the north side of "3 acres of lands of 
Newtonleys, " in the region of the burgh 
common. At the head of High Street there 
was a Maison Dieu which was removed in 
1728 to make room for a bowling green. 
It appears to have been the hospital con 
nected with the collegiate church. Within 
the burgh there were Priest s Croft; the 
lands of the Virgin Mary; the lands of St 
John; the "Frier-land," called the Kirk- 
hill; and "the lands Franciscan, the 
Frier-landis, in the vicinity of the church 
yard. Queen Mary s Charter of 3 1 st March 
1567 to the burgh included also the lands 
and annual rents that once pertained to the 
prebends, canons, chaplainries in the col 
legiate church and choir of the same, with 
all annual rents of lands in the liberty of 
the burgh or paid from the burgh common 
lands. [Reg. Great Seal, ii, 1373, 3145, iv, 



1576, 2543, 2978, 3033, 3037, vi, 1418, vii, 
442; Reg. Sec. Seal, i, 4110, ii, 203; Lord 
High Treas. Accounts, ii, 86; Millar s Hist, 
of Dunbar, 186, 187, 191, 192, 195, with 
Sketch of Old Church; for account of Col 
legiate Church, see Mis. Scott. Hist. Society, 
Vol. vi.] 

ANDREW SIMSON, M.A., pres. on 



1564 



forfeiture of John Hamilton, M.A., 



parson (brother of James H. of 
Samuelston), for crimes of treason. [Reg. 
Pres. Bene., i, 26; Reg. Sec. Sig., xxxix, 8; 
xl, 18.] 

ROBERT COLQUHOUN, M.A., par- 
15 _ 5 son, 28th April 1575; had a natural 
daugh., Agnes. [Cal. of Charters, 
x, 2355.] 

WILLIAM KID, vicar and reader, 29th 
1578 Nov. 1578. [Edin. Tests., vii, 240.] 



ALEXANDER HOME of Houndwood, 
his son Alexander served heir to his 
father in Houndwood 19th Feb. 
1624, and in Kimmerghame 4th Aug. 1625. 



1582 



ANDREW STEVENSON, grandson of 
Andrew S., merchant, Edinburgh; 
his first wife was widow of Cuthbert 
Miller, W.S. 



1619 



RICHARD WADDELL, trans, to Sten- 
1657 ton 6th Oct. 1658. 

ANDREW WOOD, Bishop of Caith- 
1665 ness 1680. 

THOMAS WOOD, son of Thomas W., 
1681 bailie of Maybole. 

ALEXANDER PYOTT, his son, James, 
died in Naples; his daugh., Anna, 
died unmarr. 

WILLIAM BORLAND, D.D. (Edin 
burgh 1926), died at Hawthorn, 
Melbourne, 16th Aug. 1945. 



1913 



JAMES KIRK, served in Seaforth High 
landers in Great War; awarded 
Military Cross June 1917; died of 
wounds 1st April 1918; his widow, Eliza 
beth M., died 3rd Aug. 1943; his only 



108 



DUNBAR OLDHAMSTOCKS 



[PRESB. OF 



child, Betty Mackay (marr. 12th Oct. 1928 
Robert Alastair Cunninghame Macnair, 
M.B., C.M., Felpham, Sussex). 

WILLIAM BROWN, trans, from 
Campsie (<?.v.) 9th Oct. 1918; died 
2nd Dec. 1940; his daugh., Jean 
Buchanan (marr. 22nd Sept. 1939 Graeme 
Matthew Warrack, L.R.C.P.&S., L.D.S., 
Captain, Royal Scots); his widow, Chris 
tina Macnie King, died at Edinburgh 18th 
Jan. 1947. 

INNERWICK 

The church was dedicated by Bishop de 
Bernham 17th Oct. 1242, the patron saint 
being St Michael. The present church was 
built in 1784. By Letters of 4th Oct. 1468 
Pope Paul II united the perpetual vicarage 
to the mensa of the Collegiate Church of 
Dunglas. On the shore at Skateraw, at a 
place still called Chapel Point, there was a 
chapel dedicated to St Dionysius, the ruins 
of which still existed in the second half of 
the 18th century. There was also a chapel 
dedicated to the Virgin Mary. [Theiner s 
Vet. Monumenta, 457; Lockhart s Ch. in 
Scot, in \3th Century, 52-3; Armstrong s 
Map, 1773; Mackinlay s Anc. Ch. Dedica 
tions, Script., 96.] 

ALEXANDER CREICHTON, vicar 
1 562, and may have acted as reader, 
14th Feb. 1567-8; died before 3rd 
July l513.[Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds; Sir 
Thomas Johnsoun s Prot. Book, 532; Reg. 
Pres. Bern., i, 27-8.] 

MICHAEL BONCLE, pres. on death 
of Alexander Creichton. [Reg. 



1567 



Pres. Bene., i (2), 8.] 



DAVID OGIL, M.A., min. at Bara, 



1608 



pres. to vicarage 28th April 1608 on 



death of Richard Ogil, but he de 
clined. [Reg. Sec. Sig.] 

PATRICK HAMILTON, delete 
"natural son of Thomas, Earl of 



1608 



Haddington" and read "6th son of 
Hans H., min. of Dunlop." His son Archi 
bald, min. of Wigtown; his daugh., Elizabeth 
(marr. cont. 26th Dec. 1647 William Cun 
ningham yr., merchant, Edinburgh). 



ALEXANDER FOULIS, eldest son of 

t ,,, Harry F., commissary of Edinburgh. 

[Reg. of Deeds, Dal., xxiv, 531.] 

WILLIAM OGILVIE, his eldest son, 
William, surgeon; his daugh., Hen 
rietta (marr. proc. 25th Dec. 1757 
Andrew Hogg, brewer in Pleasance). 



1715 



ADAM FORMAN, his daugh., Cathe- 



1824 



rine Margaret Martha, died 7th July 
1932. 



1906 



THOMAS WILLIAM GRANT 
SUTHERLAND, died 13th Jan. 
1939; his widow, Elizabeth Grant 

Cormack, died at Rotherham 21st Feb. 

1941; his son, Robert, doctor, Rotherham. 

OLDHAMSTOCKS 

Before 30th Nov. 1423 Sir Alexander 
Home of Home and Dunglas founded at 
Dunglas a chapel dedicated to the Virgin 
Mary. On that date he granted to the 
chapel 3 husband-lands with a half land 
on the east side of Kello in Edrom parish, 
and an acre of land with Mansion Place 
in the town and territory of Dunglas near 
the fount called Bryan s Well. By Sir 
Alexander Home s son and successor, Sir 
Alexander Home, Kt., the Chapel of the 
Virgin was erected into a collegiate church 
for a provost, 3 chaplains, and 4 boys to 
sing in the choir. The erection was con 
firmed by Crown Charter of 22nd August 
1450, which described the church as "lately 
founded," and by a Papal Bull of 2nd Jan. 
1450-1, which narrates that Sir Alexander s 
motive for the erection was his desire "by 
a happy commerce to change earthly 
things into heavenly and temporal into 
eternal." The Bull also states that he "of 
the goods granted him by God caused a 
church to be built to the honour of Mary 
the mother of Jesus, and at his own cost to 
be constructed in a godly manner, which 
indicates that he had considerably enlarged 
and embellished the chapel built by his 
father. Provision for each chaplain was 
12 merks annual rent derived as follows: 
First chaplain, from lands and annual 
rents of Kello; second chaplain, from lands 



DUNBAR] 



OLDHAMSTICKS 



109 



and annual rents of Balevley and Gour- 
dounshal in Crail in Fife; and third chap 
lain, from lands and annual rents also of 
Balevley and Gourdounshall. There was 
likewise provision for manses for the pro 
vost and chaplains. The support of the 
4 boys was an annual rent from lands and 
annual rents of Hutton, Herrsile, Cock- 
burnspath, and Pinkerton in Berwick. The 
Papal Bull of 2nd Jan. 1450-1, in addition 
to confirming the erection of the collegiate 
church, also appropriated, for the purpose 
of securing full provision for the Provost 
and other persons" at the church, the 
greater and lesser teinds of the Rectory 
of the Parish Church of Dunglas" (Old- 
hamstocks), value 5 yearly, the reasons 
assigned being that the whole rents pro 
vided for the foundation and endowment 
of the collegiate church were not wholly 
sufficient, and that the rectory of the Parish 
Church "so abounds in wealth that the 
rector for the time can be sufficiently pro 
vided for life without the greater and lesser 
teinds." The scope of the foundation of 
the church was extended; and there are on 
record 8 prebends at least Oldhamstocks 
13 merks annually from the lands of the 
same, given by Patrick Hepburn of Hailes 
and Oldhamstocks 7th Aug. 1450; Trefon- 
taine or Strafontaine lands of, in Abbey 
St Bathans, given on llth Jan. 1451-2 by 
James II for the souls of his father and 
mother, James I and Queen Joan, for his 
own soul, and for the soul of Marie, his 
queen; Kello 13 merks annual rent; 
Chirnside 4 husband-lands, a merk land, 
and 8 merks annual rent from the Mains- 
lands, all at Chirnside, given by Sir 
Alexander Home 5th Aug. 1450; Upsett- 
lington lands of, given by Alexander 
Benystoun of the same, lord of Upsett- 
lington, 8th June 1460; Dewingham; Barn- 
side 5 acres of land, in parish of Colding- 
ham; Redspittal lands of, in the parish 
of Aberlady; and Vigorushauch lands of, 
in Roxburgh, and an annual rent of 40s. 
from Mains of Mordington, given on 16th 
Sept. 1503 by Patrick Hume or Home of 
Polwarth and his second wife, Helen 
Schaw, to a chaplain "celebrating and to 
celebrate Mass, chanting and to chant, 



within the Collegiate Church of Dunglas, 
and principally at the Altar of St Cuthbert 
on the south side of said Church." By 
Charter of 26th April 1451 William, Earl 
of Douglas and Avondale, granted to the 
church one husband-land in the town and 
territory of Hutton, and the church and 
hospital of the same; by Papal Bull of 12th 
Nov. 1458 the vicarage and tithes of 
Edrom Church were appropriated to the 
Provostry of Douglas, which was valued 
at 5, John Hume, vicar, having resigned; 
and by similar Bull of 4th Oct. 1468 the 
perpetual vicarage of Innerwick, not ex 
ceeding 12, was appropriated to the 
capitular mensa, the fruits of which were 
insufficient for the maintenance of the 
"8 canons and other beneficiaries" of the 
church. There was in the church an altar 
of the Virgin Mary, called Our Lady of 
Piete" (Pity), to which George Hume of 
Ayton granted 20 merks annual rent from 
his lands of Cadschele and his husband- 
lands of the town of Duns, a Royal Precept 
of Confirmation being granted on 14th 
Nov. 1500 "to a perpetual Chaplain to 
sing at the Altar. The ruins of the church, 
which in 1711 was used as stables, still 
stand. Sir Alexander Home also founded 
near the church a hospital with chapel 
"under the invocation of the Most 
Glorious Virgin Mary and St John the 
Baptist" for the reception and maintenance 
* of the poor and other miserable persons. 
For the purpose of fulfilling Sir Alexander s 
desire to extend the scope of the work of 
the hospital Pope Sextus IV granted Indul 
gences to it on 5th Aug. 1480. [Reg. Great 
Seal, ii, 387, vi, 1559; Reg. Sec. Seal, i, 592; 
Laing Charters, 1866; Retours, vi, 89; Cal. 
Papal Reg., Letters, xi, 397, xii, 223^, 363; 
Reports Hist. MSS. Comm., MSS. Earl of 
Home, 55, 56, 115, 120, 179, 318; Theiner s 
Vet. Monumenta, 457, 487; The Apostolic 
Camera and Scott. Benefices, 166; Walcott s 
Anc. Ch. of Scot., 409.] 

THOMAS HEPBURN, parson, mani 
festly identical with Mr Thomas 
Hepburne, rector 12th Aug. 1556, 
when Alexander Hepburne of Whitsome 
was described as his brother, and therefore 



110 



OLDHAMSTICKS PRESTONKIRK 



[PRESB. OF 



identical with Thomas Hepburne who is 
recorded as in the Charge from 1562 on 
wards, and is described as natural son of 
Sir Alexander Hepburne of Whitsome; was 
appointed Master of Requests by Queen 
Mary on 7th May 1567; summoned for 
treason 20th Dec. 1567, and was inter- 
communed by the Privy Council five days 
later, having along with others held Dunbar 
Castle and refused to give it up; is called 
deceased on pres. to his son by James, Earl 
of Bothwell, 30th June 1584; his daugh. 
Anne (marr. cont. 24th April 1578 James 
Murray of Philiphaugh); had also a daugh. 
Margaret. [Sir Thomas Dalrymple s Prot. 
Bk., 12th Aug. 1556; Acts Scott. Parl, iii, 6; 
Reg. Privy Council, i, 510, 552, 565, 576; 
Laing Charters, 2483; Philiphaugh Charter 
Chest.] 

GEORGE HEPBURN, M.A., parson 

1561 anc * mm 15 ^l-2; probably identical 

with Thomas H., parson 1556 and 

1566. [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds and 

Cal. of Charters, viii, 1679, ix, 2012.] 

SIR ALEXANDER ELISOUN, por- 
tioner of Oldhamstocks, vicar 28th 



1563 

1217.] 



Jan. 1563-4. [Reg. Mag. Sig., v, 



THOMAS HEPBURN, adm. 1584, 



1584 



buried at Oldhamstocks, 28th Jan. 



1629; had also issue Francis; Jean. 
[G. R. Sas., 3 Ser., xxxi, 225, xxxv, 266.] 

JOHN PATERSON, marr. Margaret, 
1629 daugh. f William Murray, min. of 
Dysart; his eldest son, Duncan. 
[Adj. 27th Sept. 1643.] 

THOMAS HEPBURN, his daugh. 
Margaret (marr. Patrick Hepburn, 
apothecary burgess, Edinburgh, 
afterwards Sir Patrick of Blackcastle). 
[G. R. Sas.,lvui, 9, 2 Ser., viii, 270; xi, 152; 
xv, 406; 3 Ser., xxxv, 266; Reg. of Deeds, 
Mack., Ixxx, iv, 17th June 1699.] 



1642 



HARRY ROBERTSON, son of Thomas 



1706 



R., bailie, Edinburgh, was admitted 
Advocate 2nd July 1690. 



JOHN LUNDIE, born 3rd Sept. 1704; 
his daugh., Isobel (marr. proc. 25th 
June 1787 Henry Cant, dissenting 
min. at Spittal, Durham), died 1791. 

THOMAS MITCHELL, his daugh., 
Jemima Wilhelmia, died 26th Dec. 
1946. 

WILLIAM MENZIES HUTTON, died 
3rd Feb. 1915; his son, William, 
M.D.; his daugh., Janet Georgina, 
died at Dundee 14th Dec. 1928. 

JAMES BRYCE GORDON, died 19th 
1913 May 1941. 

PRESTONKIRK 

There is a legend to the effect that at the 
death of Baldred, the patron saint, which 
is variously said to have occurred in 607-8 
and 756-7, a claim to his body was made 
by his three churches, Preston (kirk), 
Aldhame and Tynninghame. In the course 
of the dispute a pious sage advised a night 
of prayer, to enable the Bishop in the 
morning to reach a decision. When the 
morning came, there were found three biers 
with three bodies, covered with clothes and 
alike in every detail. One was sent for 
interment to each of the claimants. About 
50 yards east of the church there is St 
Baldred s Well, and in the Tyne adjacent 
is St Baldred s Whirl. There was in the 
church an aisle of St John the Baptist, for 
a chaplain of which Patrick Hepburne of 
Bolton gave on 23rd July 1545 a grant of 
10 annually from the lands of Plewlands. 
The present church, with the exception of 
the choir, which appears to belong to the 
middle of the 13th century, was built in 
1770. According to one account of St 
Modevenna or Monenna, an Irish saint, 
whose period is said to have been the latter 
part of the 5th century and early part of 
the 6th, and who left her native land in the 
company of two handmaidens, Dunpelder 
Hill (Traprain Law) was one of the sites 
on which she founded a church or chapel. 
At Wauchton in the north part of the 
parish there was a chapel which was subject 
to the mother church. Another chapel, 



DUNBAR] 



PRESTONKIRK 



111 



dedicated to the Virgin Mary, was situated 
at Markle. In its later stages it had a 
collegiate organisation with a provostry 
and prebends, but the erection does not 
appear to have been confirmed. What 
remained of the Chapel in the first half of 
the 19th century is described as the "old 
ruins of a religious house on the farm of 
Markle," and under the description 
"Markle (Ruins of Monastery)" the site 
is explicitly indicated on the O.S. Map of 
1908 in a field on the south side of the 
railway west of East Linton Station. In her 
widowhood Christine de Moubray, daugh 
ter and heir of Sir Bernard Eraser of 
Fortune and Linton, and wife of Sir Roger 
de Moubray of Barnbougle, who died 
before Jan. 1268-9, founded in the territory 
of her Manor of Houston in this parish a 
house of the Order of the Holy Trinity and 
Redemption of Captives (Red Friars), 
which was called "The Grace of God." 
The endowment was the whole land of her 
Manor of Houston, the whole land called 
Lyneryngham (Lingeam, Lerigamhill) in 
the tenement of Houston, the whole land 
which belonged to the Hospital of Fortune, 
in the parish of Athalestaneford, the whole 
land which belonged to the late Thomas of 
Lessendun, in the territory of Fortune, and 
the whole land of Crauchot (Crawho, 
Cracho), with which there appear, at a 
subsequent date, the Mills of Cracho and 
fishings. To the foregoing were added 
later annual rents from lands in the burgh 
of Haddington. The foundation was con 
firmed by Alexander II on 26th Jan. 1271-2. 
In August 1296 John, Master of the Hospi 
tal, swore fealty to Edward I, and a little 
later there was issued to the Sheriff of 
Haddington a writ to restore the property 
of the place. By Letter of 2nd Dec. 1531 
James V gave the hospital and its endow 
ments to the Red Friars Convent at 
Peebles, and the union was made perpetual 
by a Charter of the same monarch, 8th 
Jan. 1541-2, which confirmed Christine 
de Moubray s foundation and its con 
firmation by Patrick, 7th Earl of Dunbar, 
and also the resignation made by David 
Kinloch, Minister at Houston, in favour 
of Friar James Paterson, Minister at 



Peebles, of Houston Hospital and its 
possessions. The exact site of the hospital 
can hardly be determined. Descriptions of 
the endowments in the 16th century and 
later reveal that included in the town and 
territory of Houston, in the neighbourhood 
of East Linton, there were, in addition to 
the lands of Lingeam mentioned in the 
foundation, Mains of "Houston," the 
Waulk-Mill of Houston, with 4 acres 
attached, lands called Hoigsland and Tait- 
lie, the lands of Friarlie, on the east side 
of Quarrelbog or Quarrybog, in the town 
and territory of Linton, and salmon fishings 
in the Tyne, and other fishings, belonging 
to the said place (of Houston). The Mill 
of Houston, ho longer used as a mill, 
stands on the right bank of the Tyne, 
opposite East Linton; and it would appear 
that somewhere in the region stretching 
from the mill the Red Friars hospital was 
situated. 

The patronage of the Chapel of Markles 
belonged to the Earls of Bothwell. The 
chaplainry of St John the Baptist in the 
Church of Prestonkirk was also under the 
patronage of the said Earls; it was desig 
nated the Provostry, and therefore may 
have been provisionally set aside, probably 
by the 1st Earl of Bothwell, as the endow 
ment of the provost in a plan to erect the 
Chapel of Markles into a collegiate church. 
The endowment included 2 crofts of arable 
land with house and garden in the territory 
of the town of Preston or Linton. In the 
Castle of Hailes there was a chapel dedi 
cated to St Michael the Archangel, the 
endowment of which was the Waulk-mill 
of Hailes, with multures, etc., and mill 
lands, and the lands of Loslett or Lochsleyt. 
At the Reformation Sir Walter Robesoun, 
vicar of Aberdour, was chaplain both of 
the Chaplainry of St John the Baptist and 
of the Chapel of Hailes. [Reg. Mag. Sig., 
ii, 3635; iii, 1220, 2569; v, 759; vi, 64; viii, 
570; ix, 1702, 2189; Reg. Sec. Sig., ii, 1069; 
Acts Scott. Parl., iii, 256, iv, 294; Retours, 
i, 173, xv, 100, 140, xx, 94, xlvii, 29\;Laing 
Charters, 499; Gen. Reg. Sas., Vol. 396, 
f. 104, Vol. 675, f. 63; Haddington Sas., 
Vol. 402, f. 97, Vol. 465, f. 223, Vol. 692, 
f. 126, Vol. 893, f. 285, Vol. 900, f. 262; 



112 



PRESTONKIRK STENTON 



[PRESB. OF 



Prynne s Recs. of the Tower of London, iii, 
656; Rymer s Foedera, ii, 726, i (2), 843, 
Ed. 1818; Proc. Soc. Antiq., 1887-8, 27-8; 
Lamp of Lothian, 171, 172; Skene s Celtic 
Scotland, ii, 37.] 

SIR GEORGE HEPBURN, parson and 



1561 



min. 1561-2. [Coll. Gen. Thirds, 97; 
Acts and Dec., xxxv, 441 ; xxxvi, 360; 
xlii, 403; Reg. Mag. Sig., iv, 2696.] 



SIR THOMAS WHITE, designated 
curate and vicar pensioner, 13th 



1562 

2696.] 



Aug. 1562. [Reg. Mag. Sig., iv, 



GEORGE HAMILTON, M.A., parson, 



1569 



1569. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Linlithgow, etc.] 



ROBERT HEPBURN, M.A., parson, 
22nd July 1586. [Cal. of Charters, 



1586 



xiii, 3016.] 



JOHN FOREST, died Dec. 1700; 
1692 Thomas, his youngest son, 1705. 

THOMAS FINDLAY, his daugh., Mary 
(marr. (2) Oct. 1752 Hercules Lind 
say, advocate). 

THOMAS STIRLING MARJORI- 
1876 BANKS, died 21st July 1918. 

ROBERT CLAYTON CORRIE, trans. 



1702 



1916 



from Culsalmond (q.v.} (assistant 
and successor) 19th Jan. 1916. 



SPOTT 

Spott was at first a dependent Chapel of 
Dunbar, and probably remained a paro 
chial chapel until the Reformation. The 
church may have been dedicated to St John, 
for St John s Well was situated to the west 
of the church. Of the well, the Old Statis 
tical Account says: "It is carried in pipes 
two miles to Dunbar for the supply of 
water to the inhabitants." [Scott. Hist. 
Soc. Mis., vi, 82, 102.] 



1555 



ALEXANDER HOME, second son of 
Sir John H. of Coldinknowes, was 
parson before 3rd May 1555, still 
parson llth Aug. 1587; marr. Janet Hamil 
ton; had a natural son, John, legitimated 



27th Nov. 1 582. [P. C. Reg., Reg. of Deeds, 
xxviii, 44a; Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Linlithgow, etc. ; Reg. Mag. Sig. , v, 478, 1 377. ] 

JOHN MELVILLE, called in 1574, 
sometime min. of Spott. [Comps. 
Gen. Coll. of Thirds.] 



1574 



WILLIAM DOUGLAS, trans, from 
1631 Whittinghame, 1631. 

ARCHIBALD BUCHAN, had issue 
1683 Clam. [Deeds, Dal. 1705, No. 233.] 

WILLIAM CROMBIE, his daugh., 
_ Elizabeth (marr. proc. 5th June 
1794 Robert Armstrong, plumber, 
Edinburgh.) 

ALEXANDER GRAHAM, his daughs. 
1799 Margaret Aitken (marr. 30th July 
1839 William Darling, merchant, 
Edinburgh); Catherine Hay (marr. 2nd July 
1838 William Waddell, merchant, Edin 
burgh). 

ROBERT BURNS THOMSON, his 
1836 daugh., Charlotte, died 6th Sept. 1923. 

LOTHIAN GRAY, died 30th April 



1889 



1945; his daugh., Christian Isobel 
(marr. 16th April 1942 George 

Lloyd Alison Haig, Dylic Tea Estate, 

Doors, India). 

STENTON 

There was in the parish a chaplainry of 
Burnham. Pitcoks was a dependent chapel 
of Dunbar Church prior to becoming a 
prebend and was served by a parochial 
chaplain. The proximity of the Rood Well 
to the ruins of the old church suggests that 
the church was dedicated to the Holy Rood. 
The present church was opened for wor 
ship by Dr Chalmers on 4th Oct. 1828. 
The major part of its construction was 
borne by Mr H. R. Ferguson. [Reg. Mag. 
Sig., viii, 1905; Miscell. Scot. Hist. Socy., 
vi, 82, 93.] 

WILLIAM SANDERSON, min. at 
Whittinghame, also in charge here. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin 
lithgow, etc.] 



DUNBAR] 



STENTON ALDHAME 



113 



THOMAS DAILL, designated min. in 
1568 and also in 1573. [Edin. 



1568 



Tests., ii, 366.] 



JAMES LAUDER, for "1593" read 
1594 "1594." 

PATRICK CARKETTILL, Presb. clerk 
1599 Jan. to April 1599. [Fraser Papers.] 

RICHARD WADDELL, trans, to Kelso 
1658 14th May 1660. 

ROBERT STARK, born 5th Sept. 1654, 



1691 



son of David S., min. of Stichell. 



His sons Robert, min. of Kinross; 
John, apprentice to George Reid, merchant, 
Edinburgh, 23rd Aug. 1732. 

THOMAS MARJORIBANKS, his son, 
Alexander, Royal Bank, died 21st 
Nov. 1923. 



1849 



1868 



GEORGE MARJORIBANKS, died 
20th March 1921; his wife, Eliza 
beth Leslie, died 19th July 1918; his 
sons George Erskine, Celtic scholar, died 
1st Aug. 1940; James Leslie, M.D., died 
25th March 1942. 

HUGH SKINNER MACKENZIE, 

trans, from Mouswald (q.v.) (assist. 

and successor) 16th May 1916; dem. 
1 1th Nov. 1948. Publication The Churches 
ofPitcox and Stenton (1929). 

PITCOKS 

PATRICK COCKBURNE, M.A., par 
son in 1539 and designated parson 
when he died in 1568; had brothers 
William, Adam, Symeon, Alexander. 
[Edin. Test., 1 1th July 1570; Laing Charters, 
434.] 

THOMAS DAILL, min. in 1568. 
1578 [Edin. Test., ii, 366.] 

WHITEKIRK 

On 13th Jan. 1386-7 Papal Relaxation 
of Penance was given to all who visit and 
give alms to the fabric of St Mary of White- 
kirk, renowned for miracles wrought by 
Jesus Christ through the intercession and 
merits of St Mary. [Cal. of Papal Reg., 



Letters, iv, 253; Report on Ancient Monu 
ments Commission for full account of 
church.] 

JAMES KELLIE, pres. to vicarage 27th 
Oct. 1594 on dem. of James Young, 



1592 



1636 



min. at Tyningham. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., Ixvii, 108.] 

ROBERT LAUDER, his daugh., Mar 
garet (marr. cont. 20th Jan. and 10th 
Feb. 1664 Alexander Bisset, min. 

of Melrose). [Reg. of Deeds, Mack., 

Ixxxiv, 10th Feb. 1699.] 

WILLIAM HAMILTON, marr. (1) 
1694 24th April 1667. 

JOHN CLUNIE, his daugh., Charlotte 
1732 (marr. James Bigge). 

JAMES WILLIAMSON, pres. 21st 
1785 Jan. 1784. 

JAMES LANG, pres. by Crown 9th 
1853 Feb. 1853. 

ADAM INCH RITCHIE, pres. by 
Crown 23rd Nov. 1867; line 9, for 
"30" read " 13"; line 10, for " 11 " 

read "31"; his daugh., Marion Lilias, 

born 21st July 1862. 

PETER HATELY WADDELL, died 
at North Berwick 22nd Nov. 1922; 
his widow, Elizabeth Laidlay, died 

17th Jan. 1924. [Life and Letters of P. 

Hately Waddell, by John C. Gibson, 1925.] 



1879 



1904 



EDWARD BLACKMORE RANKEN, 

drowned while bathing at Scougal 
Rocks, 22nd Aug. 1916; his widow, 

Jeannie Mackintosh, died at New Glasgow, 

Nova Scotia, 31st Aug. 1941. 

JAMES TINDAL SOUTTER, trans. 

from Nairobi (q.v.) 8th March 1917; 

Marr. (2) 1st June 1940 Freda, elder 
daugh. of Joseph Frederick Pattinson, Fell- 
side, Grange-over-Sands, and has issue, 
Anna Freda, born 18th April 1941. 

ALDHAME 

The church, dedicated by Bishop de 
Bernham on 23rd April 1243, was de 
molished in 1770. There is a well of St 



114 



ALDHAME WHITTINGEHAME [PRESB. OF DUNBAR 



Baldred. At Scougal, about a mile south 
east of Aldhame, there was a chapel 
founded by one of the Scougal family. 
[Chalmer s Caledonia, iv, 547; Lockhart s 
Church in Scotland in \3th Century, 53.] 

TYNNINGHAME 

At Tynninghame there was a Saxon 
monastery associated with Lindisfarne, to 
which belonged the whole land pertaining 
to the Monastery of St Balthere (Baldred) 
from Lammermoor as far as Exmouth" 
(Inveresk). The church and town were 
burned and destroyed by Anlafus the Dane 
in 941, shortly before his death. By Bull 
of Pope Sixtus IV, 24th Feb. 1473, the 
church became a mensal Church of St 
Andrews. [Chron. of Melrose, 29; For- 
doun, Scott. Hist., i, 134; The Apostolic 
Camera and Scott. Benefices, 173; see 
Prestonkirk.] 

MATTHEW LIDDELL, reader; reader 



1570 



29th Aug. 1569, and min.Nov. 1572 



and 1573. [Edin. Test., i, 330, ii, 
347; Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow, 
etc.] 

WHITTINGEHAME 

Whittingehame was an affiliated Chapel 
of Dunbar, but it was served by a perpetual 
vicar. There was also an affiliated Chapel 
of Dunbar at Penshiel within the bounds. 
It served the higher part of the parish in 
the Lammermoors, whereas Whittingehame 
served the lower. Near the site of Penshiel 
Chapel are the Chapel Stone on the south, 
and on the north the Chapel Cleugh with 
St Mungo s Well, which may indicate the 
dedication of the Chapel. [Misc. S.H.S., 
vi, 82, 92; Chalmers Caledonia, iv, 540.] 



THOMAS LYLE, vicar 1560-8. [Edin. 
1560 Tests.] 

WILLIAM SANDERSON, min. in 
office 2nd Nov. 1571, when he was 
presented to the parsonage vacant 

by forfeiture of Claud Hamilton. [Reg. 

Sec. Sig., xl, 19.] 

WILLIAM STEWART, brother of 



1567 



1570 



Thomas S. of Galston, pres. to 
vicarage 25th Jan. 1570-1 on for 
feiture of Claud Hamilton. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., xxxix, 58.] 

ABRAHAM HOME, marr. Elizabeth, 
daugh. of George Hay of Broad- 
haugh; his daugh. Margaret (marr. 

James Renton, wine merchant, Eyemouth); 

his sons Robert, merchant, Berwick, died 

6th June 1812; Abraham, died on passage 

to London. 

JAMES ROBERTSON, died at Edin- 



1865 



burgh 27th May 1920; his widow, 
Elizabeth Mary Scott Moncrieff, 
died at Edinburgh 15th June 1935. 

MARSHALL BUCHANAN LANG, 



1918 



trans, from St John s, Dundee 



(assist, and sue.) 14th Nov. 1918. 
D.D. Glasgow (30th June 1930); Moderator 
of General Assembly May 1935; his daughs. 
Margaret Eleanor (marr. 4th July 1925 
Robert Holmes Kerr Hope Yr. of Kin- 
nettles, Lieut., Cameron Highlanders); 
Anne Laurence (marr. 16th April 1932 
Capt. Harry Alexander Macdonald, R.E.). 
Addl. Publications The Seven Ages of an 
East Lothian Parish (1929); The Evolution of 
the Kirk. [Trans. Scot. Eccl Soc., 1932.] 

INDEX 

North Esk, for "238" read "338." 



SYNOD OF 
MERSE AND TEVIOTDALE 

PRESBYTERY OF DUNS 



ABBEY ST BATHANS 

WILLIAM COLVILLE, reader, 1563- 
72.[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Roxburgh, etc.] 

MATTHEW LIDDELL, had charge 
1591 here from 1570. See Cranshaws. 

JAMES DUNBAR, his son, David, 
apprenticed to Thomas Kinnaird, 
surgeon, 16th Feb. 1676. 



1699 



GEORGE HOME, marr. (1) Rebecca, 
daugh. of Robert Pow, notary, Eye- 
mouth; his son, Ninian, apprentice 

to George Moseman, stationer, Edinburgh, 

19th Aug. 1696. 

GEORGE HOME, eldest son of Alexan- 
170? der H. of Abbey St Bathans and 
Ann, daugh. of George Rule, min. 
of Longformacus. Marr. (1) cont. 14th and 
16th July 1692 Eupham, second daugh. of 
Patrick Hepburn of Nunraw, and (2) cont. 
7th Jan. 1700 Rebecca (bapt. 26th Dec. 
1670), daugh. of Robert Pow, headmaster 
of Leith Grammar School. [South Leith 
Reg.; Berwick Sas., i, 365, vi, 100, 103.] 

JAMES HALL, bapt. Stamfordham, 
1?19 15th Feb. 1684, son of Thomas H. 
in Ryall; marr. (1) name unknown, 
and had issue Marion, marr. proc. 13th 
Aug. 1732 (not 1752); (2) proc. 27th May 
1722, and had issue John, bapt. 16th June 
1723; George, bapt. 1 1th April 1725; Janet, 
bapt. 23rd Feb. 1727; Margaret, bapt. 19th 
Oct. 1729; James, bapt. 18th May 1732; 
Jean, bapt. 1st Aug. 1737. 



THOMAS DAVIDSON, pres. by 
Crown, 18th Aug. 1843; his daugh., 
Christina Simson, died 13th Sept. 
1917. 

PETER CHRISTIE, pres. 10th May 
1873 1873. 

WILLIAM WILSON BELL, trans, to 
1910 Monzievaird 10th May 1918. 

ALEXANDER SCOTT BERRIE, trans, 
from Broughton U.F. Church 19th 
Sept. 1918; trans, to Berriedale 8th 
April 1927. 

(Parish united to Cranshaws by General 
Assembly May 1927.) 

BUNKLE and PRESTON 

JOHN BLACK, exhorter at Preston 



1563 



1563 and Bunkle 1567. [Comps. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Roxburgh, etc.] 



WILLIAM SINCLAIR, pres. to 
vicarage on death of Sir Harry Kin- 
loch; pres. to vicarage of Preston 

20th Nov. 1585 on death of John Brisbane. 

[Reg. Pres. Bene., iii, 72; Reg. Sec. Sig., 

Iviii, 53.] 

JOHN DAVIDSON, min. at Preston, 
pres. to vicarage 27th Dec. 1597 on 
death of Alexander Forrester. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixix, 181.] 

LUDOVIC MAIR, died 20th Dec. 1922; 



1880 



his widow, Jane Barclay Millar, died 
14th April 1941; his daugh., Minnie 
Ronald, died 2nd March 1921. 



115 



116 



BUNKLE and PRESTON DUNS 



[PRESS. OF 



DONALD WILLIAM MACKAY, born 
22nd March 1891, son of Evander 
Mackay, F.E.I.S., J.P., school 
master at Farr, Sutherland, and Isabella 
McLeod Mackay. Educ. at Farr, George 
Watson s College, Edinburgh, Univ. of 
Edinburgh, M.A. (1914), Univ. of Poitiers, 
France, and Edinburgh Univ. Divinity 
Hall; Commissioned as 2nd Lieut. R.G.A. 
(S.R.) Aug. 1914; served in B.E.F. France 
and Flanders; promoted Major and Battery 
Commander Oct. 1917; Army of the Rhine 
1919; Chief Instructor of Gunnery in II 
Corps; relinquished commission 1920. 
Licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh 29th June 
1921; Assistant at Lady Glenorchy s, 
Edinburgh, Oct. 1921 to May 1923. Ord. 
10th May 1923; trans, to Scots Church, 
Rotterdam, 31st March 1935; trans, to 
Northesk 5th Feb. 1941. Marr. 24th Aug. 
1928 Ethel Clair, daugh. of Dr William 
Symington, V.D., M.B., Ch.B., J.P., of 
Brampton, Cumberland, and has issue, 
lona Clair, born 15th Sept. 1929. 

CRANSHAWS 

DAVID SWINTON, parson 1561-71. 
[Acts and Dec., xxvii, 254; xxxiii, 88; 
xlvii, 245, 289, 292; Comps. Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 

WILLIAM KNOWES, vicar pen- 



1563 



sioner 1576-7. [Co mps. Gen. Coll. 
of Thirds.] 



1572 



MATTHEW LIDDELL, adm. after 
Nov. 1572, continued 1590. See 



Ellem. 



WILLIAM HAY, M.A., son of William 
H. of Barra; pres. to parsonage and 
vicarage 27th Jan. 1591-2 on death 

of David Swinton. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixiii, 

182.] 

ALEXANDER SWINTON, pres. to 
parsonage and vicarage 2nd June 
1593, on death of William Hay. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixv, 93.] 

JOHN HEPBURN, pres. 21st Feb. 
1596 1^5-6 on death of Alexander 
Swinton. 



1593 



JOHN CAMPBELL, his son, James, 
1706 apprentice to William Douglas, 
baxter, Edinburgh, 5th Jan. 1726. 

ALEXANDER JOHNSTON, line 4, 
1792 for "15" read "14." 

JAMES HOPE SIBBALD, his daugh., 
1813 Wilhelmina, died 17th Jan. 1928. 

ROBERT BRIDGES SMITH, licen. by 



1879 



Presb. of Edinburgh llth May 1876; 

his widow, Mary Ann Pringle, died 
23rd May 1923; his son, Robert, died 25th 
Aug. 1935; his daugh., Christian Kent 
Bridges (marr. 15th Aug. 1929 Clifford 
Briggs, Harehill, Leeds). 

THOMAS GILLIESON, trans, to St 
1914 Bride s, Edinburgh, 9th Oct. 1919. 

JOHN KENNEDY MACKENZIE, 



1920 



M.A., ord. 19th Feb. 1920; trans, 
to Stornoway, 26th Nov. 1924. 



GEORGE CAMPBELL, trans, from 



1925 



Cartsburn (q.v.} 9th April 1925; 
retired in favour of C. & S.; died 
at Kirkwall 28th Dec. 1940. 



DUNS 

ARCHIBALD HOME, M.A., parson 
13th Aug. 1562; died in or just 
before 1572. [Comps. Gen. Coll. of 
Thirds; Reg. of Deeds, vii, 192.] 

SIR JOHN RAMSAY, vicar pensioner 
28th Sept. 1572. [Hist. MSS. Com., 
Duns Castle Papers, 40.] 



1572 



DAVID HOME, parson, 10th Aug. 
1573 1573. [Tester Writs, 111.] 

PATRICK GAITTES, M.A., pres. to 
vicarage 26th Jan. 1582 on death of 



1582 

ii, 85.] 



John Bennett. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 



PETER DANIELSTON, M.A., pres. 

t _ _ to parsonage and vicarage 1 3th Aug. 

1585, which had been held by the 

late Captain David Home of Fishwick. 

[Reg. Sec. Sig., xlvii, 16.] 



DUNS] 



DUNS ECCLES 



117 



JOHN WEMYSS, line 2, delete "only"; 
line 19, delete "marr. (2) Janet 
Murray" to "10th April 1664." 



LAURENCE JOHNSTON, father a 
1703 founder in Edinburgh. 

WILLIAM DAVID HERALD, his 

widow, Florence Elizabeth Renton, 
died 10th Sept. 1939; his son, Arthur 
Terrant Ashly, Lieut. 17th Lancers, died 
from effects of motor accident, Asansol, 
India, 21st Nov. 1923; his daugh., Agnes 
Given (marr. 1 1th Jan 1918 Sir John Eraser, 
Bart., M.C., M.D.). 



1907 



ANDREW EWING WALLACE, his 

mother was Eliza Ewing. He died 
18th June 1943. 

DUNS BOSTON 

WILLIAM COUSIN, his son, William 



1840 
1930. 



Victor, died 17th July 1918; his 
daugh., Ann Parker, died 2nd March 



ECCLES 

The Church of St Cuthbert of Eccles, 
with its dependent chapels Chapel of St 
Mary the Virgin at Leitholm, Chapel of St 
John at Mersington, and the Chapel of St 
Mary Magdalene at Birgham belonged to 
the Priory of Eccles. In 1567 there is 
reference to the parsonage and vicarage of 
the four kirks and parishes, "Our Lady 
Parochin, Sanct John s Parochin, and the 
Magdalene and Sanct Cuthbert s Paro- 
chinns, and in 1 609 there are the Parish 
Church of Eccles called the Lady Kirk, and 
the Chapels of St John, St Cuthbert, and 
St Magdalene." It would appear, there 
fore, that for a time after the Reformation 
the Lady Chapel at Leitholm was regarded 
as the parish church. It was situated on a 
knoll called the Chapel Knowe at the north 
west end of the village. The burial ground 
of the chapel has long since disappeared. 
The chapel at Birgham was situated in the 
north end of the existing parish burial 
ground. In 1649 Parliament ratified a peti 
tion of the Presbytery of Duns for dis 
joining from Eccles the lands east and 



north of Lamdenburn, and the erection of 
a new church at East Mersington; but apart 
from the disjunction of Lamden from 
Eccles, nothing appears to have been done. 
In 1774 the old Church of St Cuthbert at 
Eccles was removed with the exception of 
the north transept, which appears to have 
become a burial place and still exists in a 
ruinous condition; and on a site to the west 
the present church was then built. The Old 
Statistical Account states that the old 
church was Gothic in design, cruciform in 
shape, vaulted and covered with large flag 
stones, dedicated to St Andrew in 1248, and 
ornamented with a cross and a very excel 
lent steeple. It will be observed, however, 
that in the records of the 16th and 17th 
centuries there is not only no reference to 
St Cuthbert having been supplanted by St 
Andrew, but the name of St Cuthbert is 
continued. The church was won by the 
English invaders on 27th Sept. 1544. There 
is a death-bell of 1715 inscribed "For the 
people of Ekkles. The Cistercian Priory 
of Eccles, dedicated to the Virgin Mary, is 
variously stated to have been founded by 
Gospatrick, Earl of March and Dunbar, 
in 1 154, and a second time by him in 1 156, 
and also to have been founded by the 
Countess of March. The Church of Eccles 
and its dependent chapels were granted to 
the priory by Gospatrick; and the priory 
held also the Church of Bothkennar. After 
being burned by the English under Hert 
ford in Sept. 1545, the priory was not re 
built. By Charter of 28th Jan. 1568-9 
Margaret Home, the prioress, conveyed to 
Alexander Home of North Berwick the 
mansion called the Newark, and the house, 
buildings of her monastery, with dovecot, 
gardens, and orchards, belonging to the 
monastery (except the church and cloisters 
of the same), which "through turbulent 
times, chiefly for the cause of religion, when 
the said Prioress and the Nuns had been 
dispersed, had fallen into ruins, so that 
they were in the least degree habitable"; 
and by Crown Charter of 20th March 
1587-8 the King, understanding that "the 
superstitious monasticism, " for which the 
monastery had been founded, was abolished 
by the laws of the king, granted to Alexander 



118 



ECCLES FOGO 



[PRESB. OF 



Home of North Berwick the place in 
which the church and cloisters had been 
situated (foundations now gone), and the 
Newark Mansion, etc. All that remained 
of the priory in 1834 was "a wall forming 
part of the East gable of Eccles House, 
i.e. the Newark Mansion House, "and two 
vaulted cellars contiguous to the Church 
yard." The said wall appears to be iden 
tical with what is now the east wall of the 
rose garden of the present Eccles House 
built at the site of the former Newark 
Mansion; and the two cells and the fish 
pond of the priory are situated within the 
private grounds of Eccles House. In 1939 
the church was entirely reconstructed in 
ternally and refurnished, a new hall and 
vestry being added. [Reg. Great Seal, iv, 
1919, v, 1492; Acts Scott. Parl., vi, (2) 306; 
Report Hist. MSS. Commission, MSS. Duke 
of Athol and Earl of Home, 128-9, 131-2, 
141, 146-7; Chron. of Melrose, 75-6; Reg. 
Priory of St Andrews, 56-60; Chalmers 
Caledonia, iii, 343; Memo., Rev. J. G. 
Douglas.] 

ROBERT FRENCH, scholar, 1563, 
1567 Designated min. 1567, Eccles being 
in his charge after he went to Hume. 
[Edin. Tests., v. 80.] 



1622 



HENRY BLYTH, imprisoned at Black- 

ness *^ 5 Inverness ^619. His son 
by first marr., John, min. of Ochil- 
tree. 



JOHN JAMIESON; on 24th July 1654 
the Commissioners, under the Com 
monwealth for visiting Universities 
and placing and disciplining Ministers, 
desired the conjoint Sheriffs of Berwick to 
prevent Mr John Jamieson from preaching 
in the parish of Eccles; on 1st Feb. 1656 a 
summons was served upon him by the Com 
missioners in his "Chalmer in the Tofts" 
to appear before the Protector s Council 
on 7th Feb. 1656; and on 8th Feb. 1656 
there was issued an Order of Council that 
in regard Mr Jamieson has preached on the 
borders of Eccles parish and "taken a 
libertie to renew the memorie of Charles 
Stewart (Charles I) to his auditors to stir 
up their affection to him," the Council 



require that he shall not preach any more 
in the parish or on the border of it." 
[Hist. MSS. Comm. Report, MSS. Earl of 
Home, 132-3.] 

ANDREW RUTHERFORD; an Order 
of the Commissioners under the 
Commonwealth for visiting Uni 
versities and placing and disciplining Mini 
sters, of date at Edinburgh 10th July 1654, 
narrates that as Mr Andrew Rutherford is 
elected Minister at Eccles, and "hath a 
lawfull call by certain Godly and wel 
affected persons in the said parish to 
exercise his ministeriall dutyes, the Com 
missioners approve and authorise him to 
uplift the stipend, forbidding any one to 
disturb him in his parish, providing that he 
shall not revile the Government, nor keep 
the people disaffected by praying and 
preaching agt. it." [Hist. MSS. Comm. 
Report, MSS. Earl of Home, 132-3.] 

JAMES RUTHERFORD WATSON, 

his daugh., Jessie Rutherford, died 
at Edinburgh 15th Dec. 1931. 



1846 



JOHN JOHNSTON, died 26th Nov. 
1R01 1923; his widow, George Greig, died 
25th April 1943. 

JOHN LEONARD DOUGLAS, born 
1924 2nd June 1899, son of David D., 
Dundee, and Susanna Alice Fisher; 
educ. at Harris Academy and Univ. of St 
Andrews, M.A. (1920), B.D. (1922); served 
in Cameron Highlanders in Great War; 
licen. by Presb. of Dundee 8th June 1922; 
assistant at Riccarton; ord. 8th May 1924. 
Marr. 22nd July 1932 Mabel Mary Watson, 
daugh. of John Mackechnie, min. of 
Edrom, and has issue David Ogilvy, born 
7th May 1933; Iain Mackechnie, born 25th 
June 1935; Dorothy Elizabeth Susanna 
Mabel, born 18th July 1938; Margaret, 
born 9th April 1944; Donald Fisher, born 
28th Jan. 1947. 

FOGO 

DONALD BALFOUR, reader 1571-4. 
1571 \- Com P s < Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin- 
lithgow, etc.] 



DUNS] 



FOGO GREENLAW 



119 



1591 



WILLIAM METHVEN, min. of Lang- 
ton, pres. to vicarage 8th May 1591 



on death of Sir George Manderston. 



[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixii, 357.] 

JAMES METHVEN, marr. Isobel 
Dickson. [Reg. of Deeds Dal., 



1626 



xxvi, 390; G. R. Sas., lx, 286.] 



JOHN PRINGLE, line 1, delete 
1660 "only." 

WILLIAM METHVEN, son of James 
M. in Greenlaw. [P. R. Sas., Ber- 



1682 



wick, 2 Ser., iv, 84.] 



JOHN TODD, line 5, for "26" read 
1785 "21." 

ANDREW REDMAN BONAR, pres. 
1843 by Crown 21st July 1843. 

ROBERT FORRESTER PROUD- 
M _ FOOT, pres. by Crown 29th April 
1845. 

WILLIAM HENRY GRAY SMITH, 



1891 



licen. 18th May 1886; his widow, 



Marion Ellison Somerville Stark, 
died 17th Feb. 1926; his daugh., Hester 
Ada (marr. 25th Aug. 1934 Hugh D. R. 
Davidson, Edinburgh). 

ALEXANDER WILSON FINLAY- 
iQi 9 SON, trans, to Campsie 9th April 
1919. 

HUGH SHIRLAW, M.A., B.D., ord. 

llth Sept. 1919; trans, to St 

Ninian s, Lochee 1st Oct. 1925; 

trans, to St David s, Crail, 16th May 1949. 

JOHN CRABBE TEMPLETON 



1926 



HUNTER, born 21st March 1900, 



only son of John H., Edinburgh, and 
Annie Mackenzie; educ. at Univ. of Edin 
burgh, M.A. (1919), B.D. (1922); Oxford, 
B.Litt. (1924); licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh 
2nd April 1924, assistant West St Giles; 
ord. 24th March 1926; marr. 31st July 1935 
Elizabeth Christina Kennedy, elder daugh. 
of John McKechnie, min. of Edrom, and 
has issue John Rattray Mackechnie, born 
20th March 1937; Thomas Mackenzie 
Douglas, born 19th July 1938; Alisdair 



David Skene, born 27th March 1940; 
Elizabeth Marion Mabel, born 3rd July 
1942. 

GREENLAW 

The church was almost entirely rebuilt 
in the closing years of the 17th century. 

WILLIAM SHAW, M.A., parson in 



1568 



1568 and 1571. [Comps. Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 



SIR JOHN AFFLECK, charged to 
answer for his demerits before the 
Privy Council 17th Oct. 1569. 
[P.C. Reg., ii, 40.] 



1569 



ROBERT FRENCH, pres. to vicarage 
on death of Andrew Turnbull. 



1573 



[Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, (4), 5.] 



ROBERT HOME. [G. R. Sas., liv, 
1645 253.] 

JOHN HOME of Kello, marr. cont. 
1674 17th Sept. 1678 Elizabeth, daugh. 
of Robert Watson, barber in Eccles. 
[Berwick Sasines.] 

JAMES GILLILAND, his son, James, 



1711 



apprentice to Archibald Ure, gold 
smith, 25th Feb. 1730. 



ABRAHAM HOME, had issue 



1821 



George, born 12th Feb. 1823, died 



March 1858; Patrick Anderson, 
born 27th April 1824, died June 1874; 
Susan Hamilton, born 22nd Jan. 1822, died 
Jan. 1831; Margaret, born 18th Sept. 1825, 
died llth Sept. 1907; Ann Mary, born 5th 
Feb. 1827, died June 1866; Elizabeth Hay, 
born 15th April 1830, died 20th March 
1831. 

JOHN HUNTER WALKER, his 



1844 



daugh., Elizabeth, died at Edinburgh 
7th Sept. 1925. 



HUGH McCULLOCH, died at Port- 



1886 



rush 13th Aug. 1937; his widow, 
Annie Ross, died 2nd Sept. 1937. 



THOMAS REID THOMSON, his wife, 



1887 



Henrietta Hamilton Hill, died llth 
Nov. 1930. He died at Greenock 



30th March 1945 s.p. 



120 



LANGTON ELLEM 



[PRESB. OF 



LANGTON 

The church was dedicated by Bishop de 
Bernham on 6th April 1242. 

PATRICK COCKBURN, vicar 1570-1. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin- 
lithgow.] 



1570 



THOMAS OGILVY, M.A., parson 
1584 1584. [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.] 

JOHN BROWN, his daugh., Margaret 
(marr. 25th July 1855 Colin Brown, 
Glasgow). 



1810 



JOHN PEATTIE, licen. 13th May 1887; 
his wife, Margaret Crombie Grant, 
died at Alloa 31st Dec. 1917; he 
died 4th July 1931. 

LONGFORMACUS 

By Royal Letters of 14th Feb. 1510-11 
the church was annexed to the archdeanery 
of the Chapel Royal of Stirling because the 
prebend of Glenquhon (Glenholm) within 
the Chapel Royal "is to be erected in ane 
Archdeanery within the Chapel Royal," 
and "the rends and fruitis of the said 
prebend as to litill and solur to sustene the 
honour and expens of the said Arch- 
deanery." [/teg. Sec. Seal, i, 2207.] 

ARCHIBALD HOME, vicar 1568. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin- 
lithgow, etc.] 



1568 



ROBERT DOUGLAS, parson and 
1581 v * car ^ed t> e f re 6th April 1581; 
had issue Robert, was charged to 
compear before the Privy Council on 26th 
July 1614, on a charge of having slain 
Francis Bothwell, brother of John, Lord 
Holyroodhouse, on 24th July 1614, "with 
the stock of ane hagbute, failed to appear, 
and was put to the horn on 8th Sept. 
following; Patrick, who on 14th Sept. 1614 
was grieve to Sir Archibald Douglas of 
Whittinghame. [Reg. Pres. to Benefs., ii, 
55; Reg. Privy Council, x, 255, 269, 271.] 

GEORGE RULE, was also min. in 

1607 cnar g e tiM I 64 **. Latterly designated 

min. of the same; son, Gilbert, 

identical with Gilbert Rule, M.D., Princi 



pal, Edinburgh Univ., and min. of Grey- 
friars, Edinburgh; Archibald, was mer 
chant in Edinburgh; Isabella, appears to 
have been unmarr.; Anna was 2nd wife of 
Alex. Hume of Abbey St Bathans; addit. 
issue Robert, portioner, Peelwalls, min., 
Stirling; George, portioner of Peelwalls 
(marr. Marie, daugh. of Robert Risley, 
Peelwalls), died before 27th May 1684. 
[Gen. Sas., Ser. 1, 265 (1666), 33-309 
(1674), 37-112, 116, 150-268 (1684), 53-284 
(1686).] 

DANIEL SINCLAIR, son of James S., 
1715 Thurso, marr. Elizabeth, daugh. of 
Sir William Hamilton of Airdrie, 
min. of Bothwell, and had issue James, 
born 6th March 1730; Robert, born 21st 
May 1731; William, born 3rd Jan. 1733. 
[House of Hamilton, 710.] 

GEORGE COOK, his widow, Helen 
1871 Lorrain, died 6th June 1919. 

ROBERT CRANSTON KERR, trans. 
1916 to Kelso North 14th Nov. 1928. 

RICHARD CALLEN, LL.B., born 
1929 Dunoon 23rd Sept. 1895, son of 
Richard C, road surveyor, Dunoon, 
and Isobel Murray; educ. at Univ. of Glas 
gow, B.L. (1922), M.A. (1925), LL.B. 
(1926); served in R.A.F.; licen. by Presb. 
of Glasgow 27th April 1927; assistant 
Peebles, 1927; ord. 18th April 1929; trans, 
to Wick North, 30th April 1930; trans, to 
Westruther, 8th April 1932. Marr. 15th 
March 1933 Marion Tennant, daugh. of 
William J. Aitken, and has issue, Richard 
Murray Aitken, born 14th April 1944. 

ELLEM 

On 12th Feb. 1507-8 King James IV 
granted a protection to Mr James Watson, 
parson of Ellem, "makand mentioun that 
he is of the King s benevolence and special 
licence to pass to Sanct Andrie s grafe 
besyde Napillis and thereafter to remaine 
in Italy at his study for the space of vi 
zeris to run, and therefore the King takes 
his property under his protection. [Reg. 
Sec. Sig., i, 1606.] 



DUNS] 



ELLEM POLWARTH 



121 



MATTHEW LIDDELL, had charge 
1574 here 1574-85. See Cranshaws. 

GEORGE REDPATH, returned from 
Bunkle previous in 1603. [Comps. 
Surplus of Thirds of Benefices.} 



1596 



1684 



PATRICK HOME, line 3, for "1650" 
1647 read "before 24th June 1649." 

ZACHARY WILKIE, issue by 1st 
marr. Mary. [Berwick Sas., 30th 
Oct. 1677.] 

JOHN BROWN, marr. Margaret, 
daugh. of John Duns, portioner of 

Grueldykes. [Berwick Sas., 15th Dec. 

1685.] 

POLWARTH 

The interior of the church was partially 
restored in 1928. 

ADAM HUME, his wife s name was 
1560 Dewar, not Stewart; his son, Alexan 
der, described as in North Berwick 
on 14th Sept. 1614, when he was charged 
before the Privy Council with having re 
ceived Robert Douglas, son of late Robert 
D., parson of Longformacus, after the said 
Robert had slain Francis Bothwell. [Reg. 
Privy Council, x, 269.] 

PATRICK GALT, min. at Duns, in 
t -__ charge here. [Comps. Gen. Coll. of 
Thirds.] 

DAVID FORSYTH, min. 1581. 
1585 [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.] 



DAVID ROBERTSON, adm. 28th Jan. 
1652. [Hist. MS. Com., xiv, App. 

f ^ A -i 

m, 94.] 



ARCHIBALD BORTHWICK, marr. 
(1) Mary Moore. [Poll Tax Roll, 
Greenlaw, 12th Dec. 1695.] 



ALEXANDER HUME, his daugh., 



1755 



Euphemia (marr. pro. 14th Nov. 



1799 Charles Seyman, merchant, 
Edinburgh). 

CHARLES JAMES WATT, dem. 2nd 

. June 1925, died at Edinburgh 5th 

Dec. 1938; his wife, Margaret 

Mathie, died at Edinburgh 26th July 1925; 

his sons Charles Cecil, killed in action 

9th May 1917; Francis Clifford, advocate 

1925, M.P. Central Edinburgh 1941-5. 

WILLIAM EDWARD GRIMWOOD, 

1925 b m 26th Aug * 1875 S0n f William 
Alexander G., warrant officer, 

R.H.A., and Elizabeth Jones; served as lay 
missionary at Wallyford; licen. by Presb. 
of Linlithgow 3rd May 1916, missionary 
at Wallyford 1907 and Blackridge Nov. 
1910; ord. to Carrington 19th Sept. 1916; 
trans, and adm. 22nd Oct. 1925; died 24th 
March 1945. Marr. 2nd Nov. 1910 Janet 
Heugh, daugh. of Colin McLean and 
Euphemia Ellen Colyer, and had issue 
Euphemia Elizabeth, born 25th Sept. 1911; 
William Edward, born llth Feb. 1915. 



PRESBYTERY OF CHIRNSIDE 



AYTON 

The patron saint is St Dionysius. The 
remains of the old church are in the burial 
ground to the east of the present church. 
There was in the church an altar dedicated 
to the Virgin Mary, endowments being 
various acres and rigs in the Lordship of 
Ayton, including an acre in lie wichts-balke. 
[Reg. Great Seal, v, 1317.] 

JOHN KENT, reader, called vicar- 
__ d pensioner 1 567-8, had conformed. 
[Edin. Test., i, 39.] 

1601 WILLIAM HOG, born 1570. 

WILLIAM HOME, M.A.; on 25th June 
1661 he presented to Parliament a 
petition to the effect that, lawfully 
admitted to Ayton in 1653, he had been 
deprived of his stipend for two years by 
the prevailing usurping power for his 
loyalty and his opposition to the remon 
strating party; the Lords decerned their 
opinion that he should again be put in 
possession of the cure, and payment be 
made to him of the whole stipend which 
he had formerly enjoyed; Parliament ap 
proved and ordained that he be restored to 
the charge and payment of stipend made 
to him. [Acts Scott. Part., vii, 281-2.] 

JOHN BETHUNE, son of Neil B. of 



1667 



Ballichladich, Ross-shire, and Chris 
tian Monro. [Foulis Writs, 276.] 



THOMAS ANDERSON, son of Robert 
1712 A., merchant, Edinburgh. 

GEORGE HOME, his daughs. Mar 
garet Ann, born 20th Feb. 1776, 
died 25th Feb. 1833; Catherine 

(twin) born 13th Nov. 1779, died 5th Feb. 

1782. 



1773 



GEORGE TOUGH, his daughs. 
Margaret Hay Home, born 16th 
Dec. 1811; Mary Ann, died 6th 
March 1895. 

JAMES JOHN MARSHALL 
1882 AIKEN, died 27th Nov. 1933. 



CHIRNSIDE 

The church was dedicated by Bishop de 
Bernham on 13th April 1242. 

JOHN HOME, parson 1573, and pre 
bendary of the Collegiate Kirk of 
Dunbar. [Reg. Abbrev. Feu Char 
ters of Church Lands, ii, 68.] 



ROBERT DENHOLM, pres. to 
vicarage 31st May 1577 on death of 
Sir James Gray. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 
ii, (4), 55.] 



1577 



JOHN DOUGLAS, parson and vicar, 
died Sept. 1583; had a sister Mabel. 
[Edin. Tests., xiv, 234, 5th May 
1585.] 

ALEXANDER SMITH, born 1570. 
1607 [Pitcairn, ii, 283.] 

HENRY ERSKINE, marr. (1) Jean 
Brown > anc * had issue Jean, born 
in Galashiels 28th June 1 653 (marr. 
1 7th Dec. 1 686 George Balderston, sur 
geon, Edinburgh); Elizabeth, born in 
Wooller 1st May 1655, died 19th June 
1657; Philip, born in Wooller 27th Dec. 
1657 (rector of Knaresdale, Northumber 
land); Katherine, born in Cornhill 12th 
Aug. 1659, died 13th Feb. 1660; Elizabeth, 
born in Cornhill 4th Feb. 1660-1; John, 
born in Dryburgh 22nd April 1663; Rachel, 



122 



PRESB. OF CHIRNSIDE] CHIRNSIDE COLDINGHAM 



123 



born in Dryburgh llth Nov. 1665; William, 
born in Dryburgh 8th Oct. 1669; sailed for 
Caledonia in the Rising Sun (Darien expedi 
tion) and died on the way 23rd Nov. 1699. 
First wife died 9th March 1670. (2) 1st Sept. 
1674 Margaret (died 14th Jan. 1725), daugh. 
of Hugh Halcro, Isle of Weir, Rousay, Ork 
ney, and Margaret Stewart of the family of 
Barscube, and had issue Henry, born 13th 
Feb. 1676, died llth July 1696; James, born 
26th May 1677; also sailed mthe Rising Sun 
in 1 699, fate unknown; Hugh, born 24th Feb. 
1679, died 17th June 1679; Ebenezer, born 
in Dryburgh 22nd June 1680 (min. of 
Stirling); Margaret, born in Parkrig 17th 
Jan. 1683; Ralph, born in Monilaws 15th 
March 1685 (min. of Dunfermline); daugh. 
born in Rivelaw 31st Dec. 1687, died 2nd 
Jan. 1688. 

THOMAS LOGAN, his daugh. Agnes 
(marr. 26th March 1832 Abraham 



1801 



Logan, Woodend). 



ALEXANDER FORTEATH SMART, 
1876 died 29th Nov. 1918. 

COLDINGHAM 

At West Reston there was a chapel dedi 
cated to St Nicholas. It may be that the 
chapel was identical with the chapel dedi 
cated to "St N., Bishop and Confessor," 
which, it was proposed about 1 540, should 
be erected into a parish church, with 
cemetery, baptismal font, bell tower and 
bells, and all the other rights and insignia 
of a parish church. The inhabitants of the 
area had built, founded and suitably em 
bellished and repaired the chapel. The 
chief reason for the proposal was that at 
certain seasons the river E. (possibly the 
Eye) which lay between the towns R. and 
R. (possibly East and West Reston) on the 
one hand, and the parish church and 
churchyard on the other, was difficult of 
crossing on account of storms, floods, and 
frost, by the inhabitants who desired to 
attend the parish church for such services 
as were beyond the functions of the chapel, 
and for funerals proceeding to the parish 
churchyard. It was desired that the rector 
of the parish church should provide for the 



vicar of the new church 20 merks annually 
over and above all the fruits of teind, 
sheaves and other emoluments which the 
rector enjoyed from the teinds of grain and 
goods within the limits of the said towns of 
R. and R. On the basis that the reference 
was to this chapel the proposal was not 
carried out. 

St Ebba died in 637, and soon afterwards 
the monastery was burned through care 
lessness. It was rebuilt, but was destroyed 
by the Danes in 870. On a peninsular 
promontory at St Abbs are the foundations 
of buildings called "St Abb s Kirk," with 
a small burial ground the remains of a 
cell or chapel attached to Coldingham 
Priory, and erected at a later date than St 
Ebba s monastery. King Edgar gave the 
Priory of Coldingham to St Cuthbert s 
Canons Regular of Durham, who con 
trolled it and drew the revenues. It was 
colonised by monks sent by the Abbot of 
Durham. By Charter of 25th July 1378 
Robert II annexed the priory to Dunferm 
line Abbey, but this did not take effect. 
Fully a century later, in 1487, James III 
suppressed the priory and annexed one 
half of the Chapel Royal at Stirling, the 
other half to be devoted to the erection of 
a collegiate church at Coldingham. The 
King s action induced or precipitated a 
rebellion which, led by Alexander, Earl of 
Home, culminated in the Battle of Sauchie- 
burn and the murder of the King. In 1 504 
the priory was annexed to the Scottish 
Crown; and five years later, by Order of 
Pope Julius II, the project of Robert II 
was carried out and the priory was with 
drawn from Durham and annexed to Dun 
fermline Abbey a condition that existed 
till 1560. The priory was under the joint 
invocation of St Mary, St Cuthbert and St 
Ebba, but in actual practice the name of 
the Virgin alone was used. To the priory 
belonged the following churches: Edrom, 
with the Chapel of Ercildone (Earlston) and 
other chapels, granted by Cospatrick, Earl 
of Dunbar, and confirmed by David I in 
Sept. 1139; Fishwick and Swinton, con 
firmed by Robert, Bishop of St Andrews, 
in 1250; Ednam, with Chapels of Newton, 
Nenthorn and Nesbit; Earlston, granted by 



124 



COLDINGHAM EDROM 



[PRESB. OF 



Walter de Lindsay to Kelso in 1150, and 
in 1171 given in exchange for Gordon and 
St Lawrence at Berwick; Stitchell (Chapel); 
Smailholm, granted by Walter Olifard, 
justiciary of Lothian, who died in 1242; 
Holy Trinity at Berwick, granted or con 
firmed by Bishop Bee 1282-1309; Ayton; 
Lamberton; Aldcambus. In a Den west of 
the village there was a Well of St Andrew, 
whence came the supply of water for the 
priory. In 1305 Edward I instituted a Fair 
of St Luke. [Acts Scott. Par I., ii, 171, 
179-82; Reg. Great Seal, ii, 839; Carr s 
Coldingham Priory, 131, 227, 235, 238-9, 
243, 310, 317, 319, 320, 327; Thomson s 
Coldingham Priory and Parish, 45-6, Ap 
pendix VI.] 

CHRISTOPHER KNOWES. [G.R. 
1622 Sas., xxxviii, 194.] 

ALEXANDER DOUGLAS, had seven 



1677 



young children 5th Dec. 1689. 
[P. C. Reg., xiv, 542.] 



1694 



1795 



JOHN POW, bapt. 28th March 1669, 
son of Mr Robert P., headmaster of 
Leith Grammar School, and his 
second wife, Jean Learmonth. [South 
Leith Register, Berwick Sas., vi, 100, 103.] 

JAMES LANDELL, had issue Wil 
liam, died Glasgow; James, died at 
Port Antonio; Thomas, died in 

West Indies; George, died Montreal; 

Alexander, Lieut. Marines, drowned at 

Chatham, 31st July 1812. 

JAMES HOME ROBERTSON, born 
26th May 1801; his sons John 
Dickson, Clerk in Holy Orders, 

died 1915; George Hogarth, Clerk in Holy 

Orders, died Tasmania, 1900. 

DAVID MUNRO, his daugh., Isabella, 
1847 died 15th Oct. 1929. 

HENRY MACLAURIN LAMONT, 

his daugh. Sheila (marr. 14th June 
1938 George Douglas Munro, min. 
of Reston). 

(Congregations united 6th Oct. 1940.) 



COLDSTREAM 

The church at Hirsel was dedicated by 
Bishop de Bernham 6th Oct. 1248. 

ROBERT HOPPRINGLE, M.A., min. 
1563. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Roxburgh, etc.] 



1563 



WILLIAM JOHNSTON, died before 
1659 Dec. 1673. [Mack. Warrants.} 

THOMAS BLAIR, his son, Henry, 
apprentice to Alexander Niven, 
barber, 15th July 1702. 



1686 



WILLIAM WILSON, son of John W., 
1735 stationer, Glasgow. 

THOMAS SMITH GOLDIE, marr. 
Jane Gilloch, daugh. of Donald 
Morgan, Kirkcaldy. 



1830 



ARCHIBALD NISBET, his sons- 
Alexander Allan, died 19th March 



1860 

1945. 



1934; Francis Walter, died 18th Jan. 



ROBERT JOHN THOMSON, trans. 
1912 to Alloa 15th July 1919. 

ALFRED ERNEST WARR, adm. 4th 
Dec. 1919; trans, to Hillhead, Glas 
gow, 1st March 1923. 



1919 



WILLIAM BROWN, trans, from Ting- 
wall (<7.v.) 3rd Aug. 1923. Addl. 
issue Agnes Ewing, born 30th Jan. 



1923 : 



1933. 

EDROM 

The church was dedicated to the Virgin 
Mary. On 1st Dec. 1393 Papal Indulgence 
was granted for visitors to the "Parish 
Church of St Mary of Ederham, to which, 
on account of the miracles which God by 
the merits and intercession of the said Mary 
wrought, a great multitude of people of 
old were wont to flock." [Transcripts 
from the Vatican i, 344, MS. Reg. Ho.] 

JOHN COSTRANE, reader, 1570-2. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Lin- 
lithgow, etc.] 



CHIRNSIDE 



EDROM EYEMOUTH 



125 



JOHN BARCLAY, eldest son of Adam 
B., min. at Perth, etc., probably of 
the 1st marriage, and grandson of 
Adam B., min. at Alford; was resident at 
Peterhead in 1696 with his 1st wife; 
assisted Alexander Barclay, formerly min. 
at Peterhead, in carrying on Episcopal 
services in a meeting house at what is now 
No. 3 Port Henry Lane (off the Longate); 
probably carried on the work when 
Alexander Barclay intruded at Auchterless 
dr. 1704-8, and was designated "Episcopal 
Minister" at Peterhead in the testament of 
his 2nd wife; died after 1714; marr. (1) 
Christian, daugh. of Andrew Hay, Bailie 
of Peterhead, by his wife, Issobel Dalgarno, 
cont. 21st April 1687, with issue, at least, 
George, born 25th Aug. 1693, merchant, 
Georgia, Jamaica, and later in London, 
acquired Cairness, Lonmay, Dec. 1752, and 
died 6th June 1756; (2) on 5th June 1703, 
Ann, daugh. of William Gordon in Savoch 
of Buthlaw, 2nd son of James G. of Buth- 
law, with issue James, also merchant, 
Georgia, Jamaica, succeeded his half- 
brother, George, in Buthlaw, and died 4th 
Jan. 1765; Mary, served co-heiress of her 
brother, James, in Cairness, 19th March 
1766, and of her sister, Ann, in Cairness, 
15th Aug. 1766; marr. her cousin, John 
Gordon of Buthlaw (died July 1775), and 
died 10th May 1799; Ann, also served co 
heiress to her brother, James, in Cairness, 
19th March 1766, marr. Captain James 
Thomson, Peterhead, and of Faichfield, 
and died June 1766; Jane, also served co 
heiress to her brother, James, in Cairness, 
19th March 1766, and of her sister, Ann, 
in Cairness, 15th Aug. 1766, marr. Thomas 
Gordon (died 28th April 1749), son of 
Charles Gordon of Buthlaw, by his wife, 
Margaret Gordon, afterwards termed Lady 
Findrassie, with issue, including Charles, 
who succeeded his uncle, John Gordon, in 
the estate of Buthlaw in 1775, and also of 
Cairness which in 1776 was transferred to 
him by his aunt, Mary, and his mother, 
who died after 2nd Feb. 1780; and possibly 
also, William, "son of Mr John Barclay, 
minister," who on 28th Aug. 1732 was 
apprenticed to John Aitoun, wright, Edin 
burgh; Ann Gordon, widow of John 



Barclay, died before 28th Feb. 1766, and 
apparently in Jan. of that year. [Aberdeen 
Test., 17th May 1756, 28th Feb. 1766; 
Edin. Test., 21st Jan. 1780, cxxvi, 1 ; Retours, 
Ixxvi, 358-62, 3rd April 1766, Mon. No. 5, 
29th Sept. 1766, Mon. No. 10, 26th April 
1776, Mon. No. 17; Reg. of Edin. Appren 
tices, 28th Aug. 1732; Burke s Landed 
Gentry, 1939, 909, 921; Aberdeen Poll Tax 
Roll, i, 572; Memo. E. F. Esson, M.A., 
B.Sc., St Peter s Rectory, Peterhead.] 

JOHN HASTLE, his daugh., Elizabeth 
1797 (marr. 5th April 1836). 

JAMES WILSON, pres. by Crown, 
1849 26th July 1849. 

GEORGE GIBSON GUNN, pres. 6th 
1872 June 1872. 

MACDUFF SIMPSON, died 30th June 



1883 



1925; his widow, Elizabeth Jackson, 
died 30th April 1941. 



JOHN MACKECHNIE, died 26th May 
1944 his daughs. Mabel Mary 
Watson (marr. 27th July 1932 John 
Leonard Douglas, min. of Eccles); Nina 
(marr. 31st July 1935 John Crabbe Temple- 
ton Hunter, min. of Fogo). 

EYEMOUTH 

In the "town and territory" of Eye- 
mouth there were lands designated the 
"four husband lands of Ninewells," a 
name that may indicate that here there was 
a dedication to the Nine Maidens. In 1581 
there are mentioned two tenements of land 
in "the place of St Colin." now called the 
Loches in the common of Eyemouth. On 
account of the distance of Eyemouth from 
Coldingham Church, and also because the 
prosperity of its harbour had increased its 
population, James VI by Charter of 27th 
Jan. 1618 dissolved the town of Eyemouth 
with its lands, etc., and also the Lands of 
Beinryhous from Coldingham, and erected 
the Church of Eyemouth into a distinct 
parish church, with the foregoing lands as 
its parochial area. The Charter, which was 
confirmed by Act of Parliament on 28th 
June 1633, narrates that the inhabitants 



126 



EYEMOUTH HOUNDWOOD 



[PRESB. OF 



had erected not only a suitable church but 
also a sufficient manse and glebe for the 
pastor placed there by John, Archbishop 
of St Andrews. The stipend was all the 
vicar s teinds within the above boundaries, 
along with a chalder of victual formerly 
assigned to Coldingham. [Reg. Great 
Seal, vii, 1761; Acts Scott. Parl., v, 143; 
Reports of Hist. MSS. Commis., Milne- 
Home, 209; Duns Castle Papers, 215, 
265-6.] 

DAVID STIRLING, had a daugh., 
1687 Ann. [G. R. Sas., Ixxv, 81.] 

GEORGE TODD, line 3, for "30" 
1785 read "22." 

JOHN MURDOCH, pres. by Crown 

1844 16th Nov. 1843. 

STEPHEN BELL, pres. by Crown 29th 

1845 April 1845. 

JOHN DEMPSTER MUNRO, his 



1882 



widow, Agnes Jane Balfour Gregor, 
died 2nd April 1926, aged 80. 



WILLIAM BLACK KENNEDY, dem. 



1903 



25th April 1933; died at Inveresk 
10th Oct. 1946; his wife, Helen 

Macdonald, died 23rd May 1927; marr. 

(3) 15th Oct. 1930 Ann, daugh. of Robert 

Edgar, Eyemouth; his son, Norman 

Dougall, min. of Friockheim. 



FOULDEN 

ALEXANDER RAMSAY, parson in 
office 28th Aug. 1562. [Reg. of 
Deeds, vi, 97.] 

WILLIAM PYLE, M.A., exhorter 1563; 

1563 designated chaplain 7th June 1542; 

apparently attached to Jedburgh. 

[Reg. Mag. Sig., 7th July 1542; Comps. Sub 

Coll. of Thirds, Roxburgh, etc.] 

DAVID HOME, exhorter 1563. 



1563 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Rox 
burgh, etc.] 



THOMAS STORIE, M.A., did return 



1576 



in 1585. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Roxburgh, etc.] 



OLIVER COLT, adm. advocate 20th 
1614 Dec. 1606. 

THOMAS RAMSAY, had also issue- 
Alexander and Patrick. [Reg. of 
Deeds, Dal, Ixi, 90; G. R. Sas., 9th 

Sept. 1633, 365; xxxix, 185; xlv, 144; Hi, 

407, Iv, 97.] 

ALEXANDER CHRISTISON, his 

daugh., Agnes Montgomery (marr. 



1821 



15th Sept. 1858). 



JOHN REED, licen. 13th May 1884, 



1886 



dem. 21st Dec. 1926, died 24th Sept. 



1932; his widow, Martha Craig 
Gilchrist, died 9th May 1944; his son, 
John Stewart, Lieut, R.N.R., drowned in 
submarine in Baltic 4th June 1919; his son, 
Alexander Chalmers, M.B., Ch.B., Edin 
burgh. Addl. Publications Contributions 
to Chambers Journal, and Good Words. 

JOHN ALEXANDER RUSSELL 
BROWN MUIR, M.A., born 
Methil 13th Sept. 1895, son of 
Thomas M., Ph.D., min. of Skirling; educ. 
at Biggar High School and Univ. of Edin 
burgh, M.A. (1923); licen. by Presb. of 
Biggar 5th April 1 926, assistant St. George s, 
Edinburgh; ord. 2nd Dec. 1927; trans, to 
Craiglockhart 12th March 1935. Marr. 
27th July 1928 Margaret Grant, fourth 
daugh. of Major Alexander Cumming, 
Mains of Curr, Strathspey, and has issue, 
Maud Margaret Russell, born 5th May 
1929. 

(Foulden and Mordington were united 1929.) 



HOUNDWOOD 

JOSEPH BETHUNE, marr. proc. 12th 
May 1796 Margaret, daugh. of 
Francis Cowan, min. of Gladsmuir. 

JOHN EDGAR DAVIDSON, died in 
Western Infirmary, Glasgow, 29th 



1915 



Nov. 1925. 



JOHN SCOTT MORRISON, trans. 



1926 



from St Andrew s, Berwick (q.v.)+ 



5th Aug. 1926, died at Edinburgh 
5th March 1946. 



CHIRNSIDE] HUTTON LADYKIRK, UPSETTLINGTON, HORNDEAN 127 



HUTTON 

Hutton and Fishwick were united by the 
Lords Commissioners before 20th May 
1610. The church was renovated in 1937. 
[Reg. Mag. Sig.] 

DAVID HOME, exhorter 1563, and at 
Fishwick. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 



1563 



Thirds, Roxburgh, etc.] 



THOMAS WILSON, pres. to vicarage 
15th May 1576 on death of Robert 



1576 



Douglas, M.A. 



WILLIAM COUTTS, reader here, pres. 
to vicarage 6th Dec. 1576 on death 



1576 



of Robert Douglas. [Reg. Pres. 



Bene., ii, (4), 49.] 

JAMES LUNDIE. [G. R. Sas., Iv, 
1636 105.] 

PATRICK HOME, his son, William, 
a PP rent i ce to George Smailholm, 
merchant, Edinburgh, 10th Feb. 
1669. 

ADAM LANDELLS, line 2, for "1st 
1789 Nov. read 29th Oct. 

JOHN EDGAR, his daughs. Janet 



1821 



(marr. 5th March 1850 Alfred 



Harris); Alice (marr. 7th June 1844 
David Bayne, bookseller, London); Geor- 
gina (marr. 28th Oct. 1851). 

ROBERT KIRKE, pres. by Crown 1st 
1858 July 1858. 

DAVID SMITH LESLIE, licen. 17th 
1906 May 1904. 

LADYKIRK, UPSETTLINGTON 
and HORNDEAN 

On 5th April 1556 Sir Hugh Hudsoun 
was admitted to the Prebend of Upsettling- 
ton in Dunglass Collegiate Church by Sir 
William Mustard, a prebendary there, who 
admitted him by tendering to him the 
Bible and taking his oath (i.e. by touching 
the Holy Gospels) to observe the statutes 
and customs of the church. [Reports of 
Hist. MSS. Commis., Milne-Holme, 239-40.] 

In the village of Horndean there was in 



1725 the remains of an old chapel dedi 
cated to the Holyrood, called Rood Kirk. 
[Macfarlane s Geograp. Colls., i, 379.] 

JAMES ROSS, for "1575" read 
1574 "1574." 

JAMES DOUGLAS, min. here, pres. 
to vicarage 17th July 1577 on death 



1577 



of John Henrie. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 



ii, (4), 58.] 

WILLIAM GULLAN, had issue, 
Andrew. [Deeds, Durie, 1706, No. 
508.] 



1697 



ROBERT PEARSON, pres. 10th Feb. 

1787 1787. 

THOMAS MILL, pres. 27th Sept. 

1788 1788. 

GEORGE HOME ROBERTSON, his 

daugh., Margaret (marr. (1) W. 
Mitchell, (2) Alexander Macbean, 
consul at Genoa). 



WILLIAM ANDREW McCORKIN- 
DALE, pres. by Crown 5th Feb. 

1842. 



1842 



JOHN STEVENSON, pres. by Crown 
25th April 1855; his daugh., Marjory 



1855 



Mary, died 23rd June 1917. 



WILLIAM DOBIE, pres. by Crown 
1859 4th Dec. 1858. 

WILLIAM STEVEN MOODIE, died 
1905 19th Dec. 1918. 



WILLIAM MACKIE LAING, M.A., 
adm. 13th May 1919; dem 29th 
Sept. 1920 on appointment to Union 
Church, Valparaiso (q.v.); adm. to Colinton 
4th Oct. 1934. 



1919 



ROBERT NINIAN PAISLEY, M.A., 



1921 



ord. llth Jan. 1921, trans, to New 
Abbey 30th April 1926 



JOHN TUDOR SCRYMGEOUR, 



1926 



trans, from Caddonfoot (q.v.) 27th 



Aug. 1926; dem. 31st Oct. 1944; 
died at Edinburgh 26th Feb. 1945. 



128 



MORDINGTON and LAMBERTON WHITSOME [PRESB. OF 



MORDINGTON and 
LAMBERTON 

In note on Lamberton, line 6, for * Henry 
VIII "read "Henry VII." 

In a description of the liberties of Ber 
wick 20th Jan. 1478-9 there occurs "the 
place of the Cross of St Mary of Mording- 
ton, which may indicate that Mordington 
Church was dedicated to the Virgin Mary. 
On the site of the old church there is a 
burial vault which has on the inside of the 
west wall a panel with a carved representa 
tion of the Crucifixion, an incised inscrip 
tion IHUS MARIA, and figures of the 
Virgin Mary and John the Baptist. 

The Church of Lamberton, now a burial 
vault, is situated in the churchyard on the 
west side of the Dunbar-Berwick road, 4-5 
miles from Berwick. Lamberton was united 
to Ayton by the Lords Commissioners 
before 20th May 1610, because they were 
adjacent to each other and formed an 
inconsiderable parish. At Charterhouse 
there was an establishment of the Car 
thusians, governed by a prior. The Church 
of St Mary-in-the-Forest, apparently Sel 
kirk, was united to Charterhouse on 22nd 
July 1439. [Monastic Annals ofTeviotdale, 
321; The Apostolic Camera and Scott. 
Benefices, \xxivn and 123-4; Reg. Mag. Sig., 
ii, 1412, vii, 2901.] 

DAVID HOME, exhorter at Foulden 



1563 



and also here. [Comps. Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Roxburgh.} 



ARCHIBALD HOME, M.A., vicar 



1568 



1568. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Roxburgh, etc.] 



ROBERT DOUGLAS, parson and 
exhorter 30th Nov. 1574. [Edin. 



1573 



Tests., iii, 227.] 



ROBERT HISLOPE, pres. to vicarage 

1582 14th July 1582 n death f Dean 
William Learmonth. [Reg. Sec. 

Sig., xlix, 17.] 

JOHN HOME, M.A., min. of Ayton, 
pres. to vicarage 23rd May 1588 on 
res. of Robert Hislope. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., Ivii, 120.] 



JOHN DOUGLAS, min. of Long- 
1599 formacus, in charge here from 1599. 

GILBERT RULE, min. of Longforma- 
1607 cus, in charge here. 

THOMAS RAMSAY, marr. cont. 9th 
Jan. 1646, Jean, daugh. of Robert 
Balcanqual, Tranent. 



1648 



1885 



GEORGE FULTON KNIGHT, his son, 
1833 Adam Cairns, born 17th Sept. 1845. 

HUGH FLEMINGTON, dem. 21st 
Dec. 1926, died at Leven 25th Aug. 
1928. 

(Parish united to Foulden 1927.) 

SWINTON 

ANDREW ARBUTHNOTT, line 2, 
1595 for "1642" read "1612"; died 
before 1st June 1632, when his 
testament confirmed. 

ROBERT SANDILANDS, trans, to 
1691 Newbattle 6th May 1695. 

ROBERT HOME, pres. by Crown 30th 
1868 May 1868. 



1892 



DUNCAN DAVID FARQUHARSON 
MACDONALD, marr. (2) llth 
Oct. 1917 Lizzie Ann, daugh. of 
John and Elizabeth Morgan, Scone, Perth; 
line 19, for "1890" read "1900"; Chap 
lain to Forces at Shorncliffe 3rd Oct. 1919 
to 19th April 1920; died at Tayport 12th 
April 1940. 

SIMPRIM 

JAMES SANDERSON, son of Robert 



1668 



S., Coldstream. [Berwick Sas., v, 
91, 1689.] 



GEORGE IRELAND, min. in 1683, 
1683 trans, to Lethendry 1687. 

JAMES ADAMSON, his son, Samuel, 
writer in Edinburgh. [Reg. of 



1689 



Deeds, Dal, 1705, No. 911.] 



WHITSOME 

THOMAS LYTHTON. [Acts, and 
1573 Dec., \, 154.] 



CHIRNSIDE] 



WHITSOME HILTON 



129 



ALEXANDER KINNEAR. [G. R. 
1608 Sas., xxxviii, 107.] 

ANDREW PATERSON, his daugh., 
Janet (marr. George Paterson of 
Dunmuire). [Berwick Sas., 28th 
July 1683.] 

JOHN VEITCH, line 1, for "William" 
1715 read "John." 

JOHN ALEXANDER ROBERTSON, 

died at Port William, Wigtownshire, 
7th July 1918. 



1911 



HUGH PARK REID, dem. 31st Jan. 
1948; died Edinburgh 17th March 
1948; his daugh., Kathleen Mary 
(marr. 9th March 1 940 Eric Wallace Forrest, 
lecturer, Queen Mary s College, London). 



1562 



HILTON 

ARCHIBALD HOME, M.A., vicar 
1567-71. [Comps. Sub Coll of 
Thirds, Linlithgow, etc.] 



JAMES SETON or SEYTOUN, desig 
nated parson in 1562, 1569 and 12th 
Aug. 1589, probably held office 
before 1560 and conformed. [Reports 
Hist. MSS. Com., Milne-Holme, 42; Reg. 
Mag. Sig., iv, 1903; v, 1720; Comps. Sub 
Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 



1563 



HEW HUTCHISON, reader 1563. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Rox 
burgh, etc.] 



GEORGE HOME, trans, to Whittinge- 
1733 hame 27th May 1736. 






PRESBYTERY OF KELSO 



EDNAM 

JOHN CLAPPERTON, had issue- 
James; William; John, min. of 
Yarrow. [G.R. Sas., 2 Ser.,xv,487; 
Berwick Sas. ] 



THOMAS POLLOK, his daugh., Alison 
(marr. cont. 1735 Lieut. John 
O Brien, R.N., brother of Marquess 
of Thomond). 



1723 



WILLIAM LAMB, pres. 27; his widow, 
Christian Archibald MacDougall 
Yair, died at London 10th July 1921 ; 
a daugh. (marr. -. Campbell). 



1844 



1878 



JOHN BURLEIGH, dem. 16th Oct. 

1924, died at Edinburgh 2nd Sept. 

1937; his son, John Henderson Sea- 
forth, professor of Ecclesiastical History, 
Edinburgh Univ.; his widow, Agnes Ann 
Henderson, died at Edinburgh llth July 
1938, aged 79. 



1925 



WILLIAM SCOTT, M.A., B.D., LL.B. 

served as Trooper in South Africa 
Police 1909-10; discharged on 
ground of ill health; taught in Schools, 
Alberta, Canada; trans, from Bressay (q.v.) 
17th April 1925. 



KELSO 

ADAM CLERK, exhorter, designated 
1569 



reader 5th Feb. 
Tests, viii, 54.] 



1575-6. [Edin. 



ALEXANDER THORNTON, M.A., 

min. 24th Feb. 1579-80. [Edin. 
Tests., viii, 43.] 



1578 



ROBERT KNOX, his widow, Elizabeth 
Murray; his son, Robert. [G. R. 
Sas., 3 Ser., xxxvi, 344, 24th Jan. 
1676.] 



1633 



JAMES RAMSAY, line 1, for "1672" 
1707 read "1667." 

JOHN GORDON SMITH NAPIER, 

licen. 15th May 1879; his widow, 
Sarah Roberts, died 26th Aug. 1935. 

DAVID GORDON HAMILTON, dem. 
1916 14th May 1945. 



KELSO NORTH 

HORATIUS BONAR, his son, Ninian, 
1837 



died 16th May 1930; his daughs. 
Emily Florence, died 1st Feb. 1937; 
Eliza Maitland, died 16th Nov. 1941. 



PETER McKERRON, his widow, Ann 

Denholm, died 21st Sept. 1920; his 

sons Robert Gordon, died 15th 

Oct. 1929; George Grant, professor of Law, 

Rhodes Univ., Grahamstown, South Africa, 

died 2nd Dec. 1945. 

JAMES FERGUSSON McCREATH, 



1917 



ord. 24th Jan. 1917; trans, to Mer- 
toun 6th Nov. 1918. 



WILLIAM JOHN MACFARLAND, 

trans, from Craigvad, Co. Down, 
30th April 1919; trans, to Borth- 
wick 15th Dec. 1922. 

THOMAS CONNELLY, ord. assistant 
New Greyfriars, Edinburgh, 13th 
July 1921, adm. 9th May 1923; 
trans, to Glassford 2nd Sept. 1925. 

CHARLES KEITH MACWILLIAM, 

trans, from St Thomas, Leith, 17th 



1923 



1926 



Feb. 1926; trans, to Burnbank 10th 



July 1928. 



130 



PRESB. OF KELSO] 



KELSO NORTH NENTHORN 



131 



ROBERT CRANSTON KERR, M.A. 



1928 



(7th July 1911), trans, from Long- 



formacus (q.v.) 14th June 1928; 
trans, to Smailholm 15th Sept. 1937. Marr. 
8th Feb. 1921 Elizabeth Kerr, daugh. of 
Edward John Smith, Dotham, Northum 
berland, and has issue Margaret Eliza 
beth, born 8th Feb. 1925; Berta Gladstone, 
born 2nd April 1929; Andrew Edward 
Cranstoun, born llth Nov. 1931, died 8th 
Feb. 1946. 

LINTON 

There was at Park a chapel dedicated to 
the Virgin Mary which in 1175-99 Richard 
de Morville, Constable of Scotland, and 
Avicia of Lancaster his wife, with consent 
of their son and heir, William, granted to 
Melrose Abbey. [Book of Me/rose, i, 83, 
96-8; Re tours, xxxix, 248.] 

STEVEN SCHILLINGIS, vicar 
1563 1563. 

MARK KER, parson, 1564. [Comps. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Roxburgh, etc.; 



1564 



Acts and Dec., xxxi, 6.] 



JAMES KER, alleged vicar. [Acts and 
1569 Dec., xlv, 83.] 

WALTER DOUGLAS, marr. Isobel 



1689 

1737.] 



G oldie, who survived him. [Reg. 
of Deeds, Durie, cxcvi, 1st Aug. 



GEORGE HALL, delete "grandson of 
1728 Henry Hall, the Covenanter." 

ANDREW OGILVIE, his son, Joseph, 
1781 died 3rd March 1850. 

THOMAS LEISHMAN, his sons 



1855 



Matthew William Fleming, died at 



Cubalbogy, West Australia, 20th 
March 1928; Robert Fleming, died Victor 
Harbour 2nd Nov. 1936; Thomas Arthur, 
M.D., Brechin, died 3rd Jan. 1948. 

JAMES FLEMING LEISHMAN, died 

1895 at Edinburgh 9th April 1935; his 

widow, Jane Leishman, died 24th 

July 1938. Publication Linton Leaves, 

edited by his daugh. 



MAKERSTOUN 

JOHN DAWSON, his daughs. Mar- 



1869 



garet Noble (marr. 1st June 1920 



1880 



William Cuthill, min. of Balma- 
clellan); Elizabeth Walker, died 16th Jan. 
1929. 

PHILIP BAINBRIDGE, his daugh., 
Marion (marr. (1) Thomas Charles 
Benson, M.B., Ch.B., Perth; (2) 

15th June 1927 John Charles Cameron); 

his widow, Elizabeth McLintock, died at 

Manchester 9th Dec. 1938. 

WILLIAM McCALLUM,Clerkof Presb. 
1924; his daugh., Elizabeth, is M.A., 
LL.B., M.B., Ch.B. (Edin.). 



MOREBATTLE 

THOMAS MOIR. [G. R. Sas., xi, 295; 
1610 xli, 166; Iviii, 133.] 

CHARLES JAMES COWAN, died at 
Edinburgh 6th Jan. 1919; his widow, 
Jane Elizabeth Fleming Leishman, 
died at Yetholm 4th Jan. 1939. 

JAMES JOHNSTONE PRYDE, for- 
merly of Penpont (q.v.), army chap 
lain, adm. 24th April 1919; trans, 
to Stichell 17th Dec. 1926. 

JOHN HARKNESS, trans, from 



1876 



1927 



Auchendoir 19th May 1927. Addl. 

issue Elizabeth McCulloch, born 
29th Feb. 1924; Grace Kerr, born 1st Sept. 
1927; Henrietta Margaret, born 21st Aug. 
1932; his wife s mother s maiden name 
was McCulloch. 

NENTHORN 

DUNCAN WALKER, min. here, pres. 



1584 



to vicarage 23rd May 1584; died 



before 13th May 1599. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., Ixvi, 135; cxiii, 251.] 

JAMES ROBERTSON, trans, from 
1664 Tundergarth 10th June 1664. 

JAMES FLETCHER, marr. Margaret 

Bower, widow of James Wichtoun, 

notary, Dundee, and Andrew 

Auchenleck, min. of Dundee. Had issue 



132 



NENTHORN SPROUSTON 



[PRESB. OF 



Isabel (marr. Thomas Auchenleck, apothe 
cary in Duns). 

MANNERS HAMILTON NISBET 



1855 



GRAHAM, pres. by Crown 3rd 
Sept. 1854. 



JOHN BARCLAY, pres. by Crown 4th 
1866 Dec. 1865. 

HENRY GREY GRAHAM, pres. by 
1868 Crown 5th Dec. 1867. 



1885 



DAVID ANDERSON, died 19th May 
1936; his widow, Emma Louise 
Hutchison, died 22nd March 1937; 

his daugh., Joanna, died 27th Sept. 1937. 

Publication Reminiscences of a Scots 

Parish Minister (1937). 

GEORGE HISLOP YOUNG, dem. 



1900 

1937. 



15th May 1944. His wife, Isabella 
Kennedy Wilson, died 17th April 



ROXBURGH ST JAMES 

On a petition by William, Abbot of 
Kelso, to Pope Martin V, to the effect that 
in "the Church of St James , Roxburgh, 
divine office in virtue of a perpetual Chap- 
lainry founded by the late Roger de Alton, 
layman, had long been celebrated by a 
chaplain at certain times yearly, but that 
on account of the ruin of the said Church 
in the Border Wars, the saying of the said 
office had long been neglected and was not 
likely soon to be resumed," the Pope gave 
mandate on 25th May 1426 to the Abbot 
of Dryburgh to grant licence to the said 
Abbot of Kelso that the office be cele 
brated in a fit chapel of his monastery by 
a secular or a regular priest, even a priest 
of the monastery, appointed by the said 
abbot, who asserts that to him belongs by 
ordinance of the founder the appointment 
of the Chaplain, until the said church 
returns to its due state and the said chap- 
lainry to its wonted revenues. [Cal. Papal 
Regs., Letters, vii, 455-6.] 



SIR JOHN KER, vicar 7th Oct. 1569, 
when he was summoned before the 
Privy Council to answer for his 
demerits. [Reg. Privy Council, ii, 40.] 



1569 



SIR THOMAS KER, was vicar before 
1582 1582 when he and Thomas Newbie, 
reader, Hassendean, Archibald Sim- 
son, reader, Lilliesleaf, John Scott, reader, 
Southdean, James Scott, reader, Ashkirk, 
John McClellan, reader, Kirkandrews, 
were deprived for abusing the sacraments; 
they continued in the offence and were 
excommunicated 26th March 1 588, and on 
18th June 1590 they were sentenced to act 
themselves under the pain of death (which 
they did next day) never to abuse the 
sacraments nor function in the kirks, and 
that "they sould be tane to the Mercat 
Crose of Edinburghe and stand twa houris 
with paiparis on thair heidis contening the 
cryme quhairupone Dome wes pronun- 
cait." [Pitcairn s Criminal Trials, i, 190; 
Booke of the Univ. Kirk, ii, 720; Reg. Privy 
Council, iv, 522, xiv, 373.] 

WILLIAM WEMYSS. [G. R. Sas., 2 
1608 Ser., x, 178.] 

JOHN HALIBURTON, his sons 



1660 



Andrew, apprentice to John Forrest, 



surgeon, 21st Feb. 1683; John, 
apprentice to James Law, skipper, Leith, 
10th Sept. 1684. [Reg. of Deeds, Mack., 
xxxix, 16th Dec. 1671.] 



HENRY ALEXANDER MATHERS, 
ret. in favour of A. and S. Feb. 1934, 
died 8th Dec. 1943. 



1897 



SPROUSTON 

PATRICK BALLENDEN, claimed 



1563 



vicarage. [Acts and Dec., xxviii, 
141.] 



SAMUEL ROW. [G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., 
1655 vii, 466.] 

THOMAS INGLIS, his son, Thomas, 
apprentice to Thomas Borthwick, 
surgeon, Edinburgh, 1st Jan. 1679. 



1661 



GEORGE BARCLAY, M.A., resident 
with three children, eldest seven 
years, in Lady Yester s Parish 7th 

Nov. \694.[Lady Yester s Poll Tax Roll, 

10.] 






KELSO] 



SPROUSTON YETHOLM 



133 



JOHN GOUDIE, his second daugh., 
Margaret. [Reg. of Deeds, Dal., 
clxv, 13th Feb. 1749.] 

NINIAN HOME, line 16, for "14th 
March" read "23rd May"; marr. 
(2) 1723, not 1725. His mother 

daugh. of John Trotter of Fogonook. 

[Deeds, Dal., 1705, No. 522.] 

NINIAN TROTTER, mother Agnes 
1809 Turner. 

DAVID DENHOLM FRASER, died 
19Q1 at Kelso 26th March 1948; addl. 
issue Helen Lydia, born 1 8th April 
1919; Margaret Jane (marr. 16th June 1927 
William Ross Stewart, M.B., F.R.C.S.E.); 
Dora Denholm (marr. 16th Dec. 1937 
Captain Cyril James Mackenzie Martin, 
R.E.); Katherine Mary (marr. 20th April 
1938 Francis Fenwick Pearson, Brant 
House, Kirkby Lonsdale, Lancashire). 



STICHELL and HUME 

The parishes of Stichell and Hume were 
united by the Lords Commissioners before 
20th May 1610. The church was dedicated 
by Bishop de Bernham on 30th March 
1242. The patron saint was St Nicholas. 
[Reg. Mag. Sig., vii, 290.] 

WILLIAM HOOD, called formerly 

1577 reader, 1577. [Comps. Gen. Coll. 
of Thirds. } 

JOHN FAIRBAIRN, reader llth Nov. 

1578 1578. [Edin. Tests., vii, 195.] 

DAVID COURTNEY. [G. R. Sas., 3 
1613 Sen, ii, 36, 38.] 



DAVID STARK, his son, David, has 
Sasine with his mother of Kirklands 
of Home, 27th Jan. 1673. [G. R. 
Sas., 3 Ser., xxxi, 98.] 



1648 



JOHN GLEN, died at Dirleton. Marr. 

1691 cont< 16th Sept> 1691 Helen daugh. 
of James Taylor, min. of Greenock 
and Mearns, and had issue James, bapt. 
24th Aug. 1692, min. of Dirleton; Thomas, 
bapt. 13th Feb. 1694; John, min. of Stichell, 
bapt. 22nd Dec. 1695; Elizabeth, bapt. 4th 



June 1697; Andrew, bapt. 20th Sept. 1699; 
Samuel, bapt. 31st May 1704. 

GEORGE REDPATH, his Diary 1755- 
61 edited by Sir James Balfour Paul, 



1743 published 
Society 1927. 



by Scottish History 



PETER BUCHANAN, born 9th Feb. 
1827 1798. 

GEORGE GUNN, licen. llth May 
1878 1876. 



JOHN LANCELOT CONSTANTINE 
TULLOCH, trans, to Hamilton 
llth Jan. 1917; his son, John 
Lancelot Hill, C.A., died 16th Dec. 1935. 



1900 



1917 



DAVID JACKSON TWEEDIE, trans. 

^ rom R i ccarton (#- v -) di 6 ^ 25tn 
Aug. 1926; his daugh., Ena (marr. 
6th April 1925 Flight Lieut. R. Stanley 
Aitken, M.C., R.A.F.); his widow, Jessie 
Fleming Allison, died Edinburgh 4th April 
1947. 

JAMES JOHNSTONE PRYDE, trans. 



1926 



from Morebattle 17th Dec. 1926, 



died 27th Sept. 1934; his first wife, 
Annie Elizabeth Drummond Drysdale, 
died 9th Nov. 1920; marr. (2) 4th July 1922 
Jane Baillie Dickson, and had issue 
Robert Johnston, born 20th May 1923; 
James Christison, born 12th June 1926. 



HUME 

GEORGE HOME, vicar, 1586-8. 
1586 [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.} 

CHARLES HOME, vicar, 1588. 
1588 [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.] 

YETHOLM 

There was in the parish near the English 
Border a Chapel of St Ethelbride. The 
church was entirely renovated in 1934, a 
chancel being added. Two stained glass 
windows and a chiming clock were the gift 
of Andrew R. Blythe, sometime Session 
Clerk. 



134 



YETHOLM 



[PRESB. OF KELSO 



JAMES WILLIAMSON, reader 1563 
and 1567; excommunicated before 
1590 for profaning the Sacraments. 

-[Privy Council Reg., xiv, 375.] 

SIR THOMAS CHRISTISON, vicar 
1568 and \572.[Comps. Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 



1568 



THOMAS AITKEN, pres. on death of 



1579 



Thomas Christison. [Reg. Pres. 
Bene., ii, (4), 64; Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Ixvi, 126.] 



WILLIAM DOUGLAS, M.A., parson 
July 1587. [Reg. of Deeds, xxvii, 



1587 



221.] 



ARCHIBALD OSWALD, M.A., min. 



1594 



at Fish wick, pres. to parsonage and 



vicarage 3rd May 1594 on dep. of 
Thomas Aitken on death of William 
Douglas. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixvi, 123, 
139.] 

ADAM DOUGLAS, M.A., pres. to 
parsonage and vicarage 7th May 
1594 through inability of Thomas 
Aitken. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixvi, 126.] 



JOHN BALFOUR, pres. on depriva 
tion of Thomas Aitken and dem. of 
Adam Douglas. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Ixxiv, 160.] 



1604 



ROBERT COLVILLE, his son, Walter, 
apprenticed to John Clarkson, bax- 
ter, Edinburgh, 29th Nov. 1723; 
line 1, for "1677" read "1671." 



ADAM DAVIDSON, his son, James 
Little, died at Broomieknowe 1st 
May 1933; his daugh., Janet Carlyle, 
died at Broomieknowe 10th Oct. 1935. 



1862 



WILLIAM CARRICK MILLER, his 



1898 



widow, Johanna Bonthron, died 
30th Dec. 1933. 



JAMES WEDDERSPOON, died 24th 
1916 July 1920. 

WILLIAM LINDSAY GORDON, for 
merly of South Parish, Aberdeen 
(q.v.\ adm. here 8th Jan. 1921; dem. 
16th March 1925; afterwards Chaplain at 
Colchester; died 29th Feb. 1940. 



1921 



1925 



OLIVER KENNETH WALLACE 

McFADDEN > born 19th Ju] y 1897 > 

youngest son of Rev. Jackson M., 
Badoney, Newtown Stewart, Ireland, and 
Mary Wallace Loudon; educ. at Trinity 
College, Dublin, B.A., M.A., and Univ. of 
St Andrews; licen. by Presb. of St Andrews 
1922; assistant Abbey, Edinburgh; ord. 20th 
Aug. 1925. Marr. 4th Dec. 1929 Janet Kay, 
youngest daugh. of Rev. George Home, 
Cleland, Glasgow, and has issue Maureen 
Margaret May, born 3rd Feb. 1940. 



PRESBYTERY OF JEDBURGH 



ANCRUM 

JAMES THORNTON, parson and 



1560 



1569 



vicar in 1561. [Comps. Gen. Coll 
of Thirds.} 

WILLIAM JOHNSTON, M.A., ex- 

horter in 1563. [Comps. Sub Coll. 



of Thirds, Roxburgh, etc.] 



HECTOR DOUGLAS, pres. to par 
sonage and vicarage 18th Feb. 
1577-8 on death of James Douglas. 
[Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, (4), 45.] 

GEORGE JOHNSTON, died Father of 
1572 the Church. [G. R. Sas., vi, 21.] 

JAMES SCOTT, died Father of the 
1616 Church. 



1622 



WILLIAM BENNET, his son, William, 
created a baronet 18th Nov. 1670. 



[G. R. Sas., Ivi, 67.] 



JOHN LIVINGSTON, line 36, add 
"1727" before "1754"; his son, 



1648 

186.] 



William. [P. R. Sas., Roxburgh, vi, 



JOHN CRANSTOUN, brother of 



1704 



George C. in Upper Chatto; line 4, 



for "20" read "1st"; his son, 
Andrew, apprenticed to John Lennox, 
skinner, Edinburgh, 15th Nov. 1717. 

LANGNEWTON 

JAMES COLT, trans, to Roberton 
1647 about 1663. 

BEDRULE 

SIR WILLIAM TOD, parson and vicar, 



1557 



30th Nov. 1557, died before 30th 



July 1564. [Lothian Papers, port 
folio xl, 21; xxv, 359.] 



WILLIAM KER, son of John Ker of 
Ferniehurst, sometime parson. 



1562 



[Acts and Dec., xxv, 359.] 



JOHN STEWART of Traquair, now 
1562 undoubted parson 1562. 

SIR JOHN DOUGLAS, min. 4th Feb. 
1563-4. [Lothian Papers, portfolio 



1563 



xi, 42.] 



JOHN ALLAN. [Acts and Dec., xlii, 
1567 180; xxv, 359.] 

HENRY ELLIOT, marr. Helen, daugh. 
of John MacGhie of Balmaghie, and 
had issue John, Peebles. [Lyon 
Reg., i, 138.] 

JOHN GILCHRIST, son of Mungo G. 
in Holm of Dalgarno. [Dumfries 
Tests., 29th March 1729.] 



1714 



1748 



GEORGE DICKSON, his daughs. 
Margaret (marr. Lieut. William 
Miller, R.N., Maxwellhaugh); Ka- 
therine (marr. Horatio Thomas McGeorge 
of Langside, Kelso). [Roxburgh Services, 
451.] 

JOHN STEVENSON, dem. 13th June 
1923, died Bonchester Bridge 7th 
Sept. 1929; his daugh., Mary Far 
mer, died 24th Dec. 1918. 



JAMES DRUMMOND GORDON, 

trans, from Indian Chaplaincy (q.v.) 
28th Sept. 1923; died 26th Nov. 
1944. 



1923 



CAVERS 

WILLIAM LAMB, parson 24th March 
1546-7, sister s son and heir of 
Patrick Panter, Abbot of Cambus- 
kenneth. Acta Dom. Con., xxiii, 27.] 



135 



136 



CAVERS ECKFORD 



[PRESB. OF 



WILLIAM CLERK, pres. to vicarage 
on dem. of Dean John Watson, 
portioner of Melrose. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., Ixxxii, 76.] 

HUGH KENNED Y. [Harvey s 
1725 Works, vi, 408.] 

JAMES STRACHAN, his daugh., Janet 
1809 Dawson, died 21st Dec. 1837. 



1840 



WILLIAM GRANT, his daugh., Jane 
Dickson, died Swanage llth April 
1924. 



1876 



GEORGE BRUCE SCOULAR 
WATSON, died 30th Dec. 1923; his 
daughs. Dorothea Margaret Flem 
ing (marr. llth Sept. 1919 Robert Calvert 
Sibbald); Mabel (marr. John James Scott 
Morrison, min. of John Knox, Aberdeen). 

WILLIAM KENNETH GRANT, 



1924 



grandson of William, min. 1840, 
trans, from Second Charge St An 
drews (q.v.) 3rd June 1924. 

(The parish church was completely reno 
vated in 1928.) 

CRAILING 

On 9th July 1606 the Lords Commis 
sioners appointed a stipend for the minister 
of Nisbet, Crailing and Spittal, which are 
joined in one. [Acts of Par I., iv, 500.] 

THOMAS WILKIE, was son of Robert 
W., min. of Kilmarnock and not as 
stated. He marr. Euphan Bruce and 

had issue Elizabeth. [Reg. of Deeds, 

Mack., xxiii, 309.] 

DAVID BROWN, his daugh., Elizabeth 
1789 (marr. 30th Aug. 1824). 

ADAM CUNNINGHAM, pres. by 
1840 Crown 21st July 1840. 

CHARLES JAMES MORE MIDDLE- 
1888 TON, licen. 13th May 1887, died 
26th April 1931. 

ECKFORD 

The church was burned by the English 
under Sir Rauf Eure 7th Sept. 1544. 
[Hamilton Papers, ii, 456.] 



ROBERT RICHARDSON, vicar, was 



1560 



in office 5th Dec. 1553; Treasurer 



of Scotland 7th Oct. 1556; Arch 
deacon of Teviotdale 12th May 1565, and 
Commendator of the Priory of St Mary of 
Trayl (St Mary s Isle); acquired various 
lands, including parts of the Regality of 
Dunfermline; died in 1571; had 3 natural 
sons James, afterwards Sir James of 
Smetoun, who marr. Elizabeth Douglas, 
with issue, including Robert, 2nd son, 
created 1st Bart, of Pencaitland 13th Nov. 
1630; Robert; Stephen, in Jedburgh, whose 
daugh., Alison, marr. Thomas Johnstoun. 
[Reg. Great Seal, iv, 1041, 1156, 1475, 
1817, 1938, 1979, 1982, 2279, 2659, 2843; 
v, 1730; viii, 2016; Cal. Laing Charters, 
Nos. 975, 976; Cal. of Charters, i, 467b, 
ii, 3; Cal. of Deeds in Acts and Decreets, 
viii, 348; Reg. of Deeds, ii, 357; Crawford s 
Officers of State, i, 383; Complete Baro 
netage, ii, 381.] 

JOHN CLERK, pres. to vicarage 13th 
1572 March 1572-3 on death of Sir John 
Wilson. [Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, (4), 
5.] 

ANDREW CLAYHILLS, min. in 1592, 



1593 



pres. to vicarage 30th April 1 593 on 
death of John Clerk. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., Ixiv, 45; Ixv, 56.] 

PATRICK URQUHART, pres. on dem. 
of Andrew Clayhills. [Reg. Sec. 



1600 



Sig., Ixxi, 137.] 



JOHN BOYLE, M.A. (Edin. 1596), 



1608 



blind and discharged by General 
Assembly from discharging any part 
of the pastoral office except preaching 19th 
March 1600; proposed for Second Charge, 
Jedburgh, 1601 and described as min. there 
when pres. to vicarage here by James VI 
15th March 1605 on dem. of Patrick 
Urquhart; pres. to Hownam 22nd July 
1607; adm. here 5th May 1608; dep. for 
immoral conduct llth Jan. 1610; pres. by 
James, Viscount Clandeboy, to curacy of 
Kellyleagh, Ireland, and was adm. to rec 
tory there Aug. 1637; denounced the 
"Black Oath" but afterwards took it, but 
was arrested and taken to Dublin. He 



JEDBURGH] 



ECKFORD HAWICK ST. MARGARET S 



137 



marr. and had issue Jean (marr. William 
Murdoch). [Genealogists Mag., Sept. 
1936, 360; Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiv, 265.] 

THOMAS ABERNETHY. [G. R. Sas., 
1610 xli, 475.] 

WILLIAM TURNBULL, his son, 



1666 

1670. 



James, apprentice to Walter Turn- 
bull, surgeon, Edinburgh, 7th Sept. 



JAMES NOBLE, line 8, delete 
1694 "70." 

JOSEPH YAIR, his daughs. Agnes 



1829 



Archibald MacDougall, died 13th 



Aug. 1917; Christian Archibald 
MacDougall, died April 1923. 

CHARLES LUCIUS MAcLAREN, his 

mother was Anne Taylor Bell; died 
25th July 1944; his widow, Isabella 
Blyth Ball, died 9th Dec. 1945. 

EDGERSTON 

JOHN FERGUSSON, his widow, Mar 
garet Richardson, died at Kilmartin, 
Dumfries, 7th Dec. 1924, aged 88. 



THOMAS GORDON, his widow, 
Adelaide Dobie, died at Kirkcud 
bright 10th Jan. 1926. He died 5th 
April 1917. 



1892 



ARTHUR ERASER, born 21st Aug. 

1868, son of John F., min. of Petty; 

educ. at Univ. of Aberdeen, M.A. 

(1906); licen. by Presb. of Aberdeen; 

missionary at Milton of Campsie 1914-17; 

ord. 21st Sept. 1917; died at Denholm 13th 

June 1947. Marr. 19th Oct. 1917 Janie 

Reid, eldest daugh. of James McHardy, 

min. of Latheron. 



HAWICK 

The Church of Hawick was erected and 
created a canonry and free prebend on 30th 
Jan. 1447-8. 

JOHN SANDILANDS, for "1583" 
1560 read "1563." 



ALEXANDER KINNEAR, line 11, for 
1663 " w " ter " read "W.S."; resident 
with his wife, Margaret Rutherford, 
and three children, eldest 14, in Tron 
Parish, Edinburgh. [Tron Par. Poll Book, 
40.] 

JOHN LANGLANDS, his son, John, 
1667 M.D. 

DAVID CATHELS, licen. 17th May 



1892 



1881; Moderator of General As 



sembly 1924; died 16th June 1925; 
his widow, Margaret Agnes Hewat, died 
at Edinburgh 9th July 1940; his daughs. 
Katherine Stuart (marr. 5th Aug. 1917 
Harold Mansfield, B.A., M.B., M.R.C.S., 
Capt. R.A.M.C.); Jane Gardner (marr. 
16th April 1917 James Johnston, M.B., 
Ch.B.); his son, Louis Patrick, Rector of 
St Peter s, Peterhouse, died 9th April 
1939. Publication The Permanent and the 
Transitory (Moderatorial Address, Edin., 
1924). 

JOHN ARCHIBALD GLOVER 
1925 THOMSON, licen. 28th Nov. 1906, 
formerly of Wallacetown, Ayr (q.v.\ 
trans, from Tron, Edinburgh, 19th Nov. 
1925; his mother was Anne Dundas Glover; 
licen. 28th Nov. (not May). Publication 
Roll of the Ministry of Hawick, 1183 to 
1929, with Notes (Hawick, 1936). 

HAWICK ST JOHN S 

ALEXANDER McINROY THOM- 
1889 SON, licen, 21st May 1888. 

ARTHUR HENRY DUNNETT, trans. 
1913 to Teviothead 1st June 1920. 

WALTER GORDON CARTER, B.A., 

ord. 5th Nov. 1920; trans, to Car- 



1920 



luke 21st Aug. 1929. 



HAWICK ST MARGARET S 

WILLIAM CUPPLES McCUL- 
LOUGH, dem. 1935, died at Lon 
don 22nd May 1939; his son, 

William Donald Hamilton, on B.B.C. 

staff. His wife, Marion Jones, died 2nd 

Oct. 1934. 



138 



HAWICK ST MARY S HOWNAM 



[PRESB. OF 



1880 



HAWICK ST MARY S 

STEWART BURNS, dem. 7th Oct. 
1925, died 19th Dec. 1935; his wife, 
Elizabeth Carruthers Murray, died 
17th March 1934. 

ERIC MAITLAND KIRK RAFF, 
1926 born 29th March 1892, son of Wil 
liam Watson R., Melbourne, and 
Victoria Black, and grandson of William 
R., Woodlee, Forres; educ. at Scots Col 
lege, Melbourne, Univ. of Melbourne, 
B.A. (17th April 1915); Presbyterian Theo 
logical Hall; ord. by Presb. of Ormond, 
North Melbourne, 18th Oct. 1916, to 
Efate Island, New Hebrides Mission; res. 
1923; adm. on probation by General As 
sembly 22nd May 1924; assistant St 
Michael s, Dumfries; app. to Rosyth 14th 
Sept. 1925; adm. here 30th March 1926; 
died at Bournemouth 22nd March 1927. 
Marr. 9th Dec. 1916 Ruth (born 30th Oct. 
1891), daugh. of John Baird, s.p. 

WILLIAM SIMPSON, licen. by Presb. 



1927 



of St Andrews, May 1891; trans. 



from Maud fo.v.) 23rd Nov. 1927, 
dem. llth Nov. 1933; died from effects of 
an accident 29th June 1946; his wife, Sarah 
Dare, died at Bonnyrigg 5th March 1940; 
his son, William Nightingale, doctor in 
Stow, born 29th July 1899. 



HOBKIRK 

JOHN DOUGLAS, pres. to vicarage 
on death of Sir David Turnbull. 



1576 



[Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, (4), 537.] 



JOHN GORDON, dem. 19th March 

1919; teacher, North Berwick; Ph.D. 

(Edin.) 28th June 1928; reponed 

June 1926; adm. to Channelkirk 25th 

March 1927; trans, to Kirkinner 3rd Sept. 

1931; dem. 20th Jan. 1943. 

JOHN ASHFIELD CLARK, born 



1919 



1874; educ. at Queen s College, 
Galway, B.A.; Royal Univ. of Ire 
land, M.A. (June 1898); Assembly s Col 
lege, Belfast, and Magee College, London 
derry; licen. by Presb. of Omagh Nov. 
1901; assistant at Creevan; ord. to same 



July 1902; dem. Feb. 1916; assistant South 
Leith; Craigmillar, April 1916; locum 
Tranent, 31st July 1917; adm. 26th Sept. 
1919; drowned by upsetting of boat at 
Norfolk Broads 28th Aug. 1921. 

DAVID LYNEDOCH CATTANACH, 



1922 trans> fr m Golspie (<7-v.) 8th March 

1922; Chaplain, Scots Memorial 

Church, Jerusalem. 1923-4; his daugh., 

Isobel Mary Lorimer, died 18th Nov. 1929. 



ABBOTRULE 

JOSEPH TENNANT, pres. to par- 
sonage and vicarage in 1605 on 
death of Alexander Crichton. 

[G. R. Sas., xxx, 1; x, 46; Iviii, 433; Reg. 

Sec. Sig., Ixxiv, 390.] 

JAMES KER, died Father of the 
1624 Church. 

ROBERT SPOTTISWOOD, his sons, 



1687 



Alexander, apprentice to Alexander 
Shimster, merchant, Edinburgh, 19th 
Dec. 1677; Robert, apprentice to Alexander 
Nicolson, merchant, Edinburgh, 16th Feb. 
1681. 

THOMAS HARVIE, marr. daugh. of 
1687 James Ker, min. of this parish. 
[P. C. Reg., xiv, 338.] 



HOWNAM 

JOHN BOYLE, M.A., min. of Christ s 



1607 



Evangel at Jedburgh; pres. to 
vicarage 22nd July 1607 on death of 

Andrew Douglas. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixx, 

134.] 

JAMES RUTHERFORD, his son, 
David Alexander, died at Edinburgh 



1775 



20th Oct. 1823. 



GEORGE WATSON, his widow, Anna 



1865 



Jane Ewen, died at Corpach 16th 
Aug. 1921; his son, George John 
Ewen, W.S., died 2nd Nov. 1943. 



WILLIAM DRUMMOND MORRIS, 

died 26th March 1946; marr. (2) 
9th Sept. 1919 Jessie Agnes Watson 
(died 7th Nov. 1941), daugh. of Hugh 



1897 



JEDBURGH] 



HOWNAM JEDBURGH 



139 



McCrostie, Dalcroy, Newhaven Road, 
Leith. His son, John George Blount Fyfe, 
doctor, killed in motor accident 19th 
March 1932. 

JEDBURGH 

In the church there were an altar dedi 
cated to St Kentigern, to which on 30th 
Aug. 1479 Mr James Newtoune, rector of 
Bothrule (Bedrule), granted 10 merks 
annual rent from a tenement in Jedburgh; 
an altar dedicated to the Holy Rood, 
described as in the parish church, probably 
the nave of the abbey church; an altar 
dedicated to the Virgin Mary, in the parish 
church; an altar dedicated to St Ninian, 
also in the parish church; and an altar also 
dedicated to the Holy Rood, situated in 
the rud loft of the Monastery of Jed- 
burgh, to the first chaplain (Sir John 
Quhitlaw) of which, and his successors, 
Alexander Donaldson, burgess of Edin 
burgh, mortified certain annual rents from 
tenements in Edinburgh on 7th Sept. 1493. 
The last is an instance of an altar situated 
in the Rood Loft. [Reg. Great Seal, ii, 
1432; iv, 1897; Reg. Sec. Seal, xxxviii, 107; 
Young s Prot. Bk., v, va; Report Hist. 
MSS. Commiss., vii, 729. See Aberdeen 
Univ. Chapel (Old Machar), and Dunkeld 
(Cathedral) for other instances of altar in 
Rood Loft.] 

ALEXANDER FORRESTER, min. in 
1563 1563 and 1566. [Comps. Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Roxburgh, etc.] 

JOHN ABERNETHY, pres. to vicarage 
t . of Oxnam 25th Feb. 1605. [Reg. 
Sec. Sig., Ixxiv, 248.] 

JOHN BOYLE, min. here (probably 
1605 second min.). See Eckford. 

JAMES BURNETT, line 6, for "Feb." 
1636 read "Sept." He was pres. to 
Burmarsh, Kent, 19th May and inst. 
2nd June 1640, but apparently died shortly 
afterwards, as his son, James, was inst. 15th 
April 1641. 

WILLIAM JAMESON, his son, Mr 
Thomas. [Burntisland Writs, Reg. 
Ho. 1645.] 



PETER BLAIR, marr. Mary, daugh. 

1661 ^ James Hamilton, min. of Old 

Church, Edinburgh, and had issue 

James, min. of Cranstoun; Margaret (marr. 

Sir Patrick Davidson, surgeon, London). 

WILLIAM GALBRAITH, has sasine 
t ,_- to himself and wife of annual rent, 
14th Oct. 1672. [G. R. Sas., 3 Ser., 
xxx, 259.] 

JAMES ROWATT, marr. Agnes (died 
in Ireland 1763), daugh. of William 
Mure of Glanderston and widow of 
William Porterfield of Quarrelton. 

JAMES WINCHESTER, marr. Mary, 



1732 



1734 



daugh. of Robert Dunbar of Dun- 
phail and Grizel, daugh. of James 
Brodie, diarist. [Duffus Charters.] 

JOHN DOUGLAS, his son, Walter, 
1758 died 1783. 

GEORGE RITCHIE, pres. by Crown 
22nd July 1843; his daugh., Mar 
garet Elizabeth, died Edinburgh 30th 
Sept. 1925. 

DONALD MACLEOD, line 2, for 
18T7 "Maxwell Parish, Glasgow" read 
"St Mark s, Dundee." 

JAMES JOHNSTONE DRUMMOND, 



1899 



licen. 4th May 1894, died 28th Nov. 

1918; his son, Andrew Alastair 
Landale, min. of Alva; his daugh., Mar 
garet Louise (marr. 3rd July 1936 Brian 
Pullen, Northampton). 

OSWALD BELL MILLIGAN, B.D., 



1919 



M.C., trans, from St Leonard s, 



Ayr, 16th May 1919; trans, to Cor- 
storphine 31st March 1827. 

GEORGE WILLIAM KINNAIRD 



1927 



MACPHERSON, born Kinnaird 



13th April 1891, son of James Rose 
M., D.D., min. of Dingwall; educ. at Univ. 
of Edinburgh, M.A. (1912), B.D. (1915); 
Fellow of Union Theological Seminary, 
New York, 1919-20; served as Captain 1/4 
Seaforths in Great War; was for four years 
on a mission station in Canada; licen. by 
Presb. of Dingwall 25th June 1915; assis 
tant St Cuthbert s; ord. 23rd Nov. 1923 to 



140 



JEDBURGH HASSENDEAN 



[PRESB. OF 



Carstairs; trans, and adm. 22nd Sept 1927. 
Marr. 5th Feb. 1924 Irene Colburn, fifth 
daugh. of Robert C. Buchanan, Mortonhall 
Road, Edinburgh, and Eliza Russell Mac- 
donald, and has issue Margery Ann, born 
8th Oct. 1926; Robert Buchanan, born 5th 
July 1929. 

KIRKTON 

GEORGE DOUGLAS, pres. on death 
of William Cranstoun. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., xxxvii, 25.] 

JAMES SCOTT, trans, to Tongland 
1616 1619. 

PATRICK CUNNINGHAM, his son, 



1687 



John, probably apprentice to John 
Walker, skinner, Edinburgh, 9th 
Aug. 1727. 

THOMAS ELLIOT, line 1, for "III" 
1758 read "II." 

GEORGE HUNTER, pres. by Crown 
1857 27th May 1857. 

JOHN STUART, died 16th Aug. 
1892 1930. 

MINTO 

WILLIAM McGOWAN, line 1, for 
1575 "1575 "read "1574." 

JAMES KIRKWOOD. Addl. reference 
History of the Public Library 
Movement in Great Britain and Ire 
land, by John Minto (Allen & Unwin, 
1932), in which he is claimed the title of 
Father of the Free Libraries because of 
his now celebrated Overture for Founding 
and Maintaining Bibliotheeks in every 
Paroch throughout the kingdom." 

JOHN PETER McMORLAND, his 



1865 



widow, Elizabeth Macdonald Brad- 
shaw Smith, died 16th June 1917. 



ALEXANDER GALLOWAY, died 



1878 



20th Aug. 1926. Marr. Margaret 



Rankin, daugh. of William Smith, 
min. of Douglas; his sons William G., 
died at New York 25th June 1936; Alexan 
der, Lieut-.Colonel 1st Cameronians, In 
structor Staff College, Camberley. 



GEORGE OMOND MACKENZIE, 



1927 



trans, from Methil (q.v.) 2nd Feb. 



1927; dem. 15th Sept. 1935; adm. 
to Nicolson Street Church, Edinburgh, 
19th Sept. 1939, died 26th Nov. 1943. 
Addl. issue Ella Jean Christine, born 14th 
Jan. 1926. 

HASSENDEAN 

The church was granted to the Bishopric 
of Glasgow by David I; and the grant was 
confirmed by Pope Alexander III in 1170. 
About twenty years later there was a dis 
pute regarding the patronage of the church 
between King William the Lion and Joce- 
line, Bishop of Glasgow; and as it appeared 
impossible otherwise to settle the dispute, 
they agreed to give the revenues to charity. 
Accordingly in 1193-4 the Bishop with the 
consent of the King gave the patronage 
lands, tithes, dues to Melrose Abbey for 
the purpose of building and maintaining a 
house at Hassendean for the reception and 
entertainment of wayfaring poor and pil 
grims to Melrose. The hospital was known 
as Monk s Tower, and its lands were 
designated Monk s Croft. Some time after 
1666 a new church was built at the west end 
of Roberton parish; and in 1690 Hassen 
dean Church was wholly suppressed. 
Teviot floods made repeated inroads on 
the church and churchyard, and in 1796 a 
specially severe flood completed the de 
struction. [Reg. Epis. of Glasgow, i, 23-4; 
Bk. of Melrose, i, 112-16; Chronicle of 
Melrose, 100.] 

THOMAS NEWBIE, reader 1576, pres. 



1576 



to vicarage 6th Oct. 1576 on dem. 

of Thomas Westoun, advocate. See 
under Sir Thomas Ker, Roxburgh. [Reg. 
Pres. Bene., Ixxiii, 40.] 

SYMON SCOTT, son of Walter S. of 
Newton; pres. to vicarage pen 
sionary 17th May 1595 on dem. of 

Thomas Newbie. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixvii, 

122.] 

JOHN MADDER, pres. on death of 
,- A Thomas Newbie. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
1620 Ixxiii, 40.] 



1595 



JEDBURGH] 



OXNAM TEVIOTHEAD 



141 



OXNAM 

SIR JAMES AINSLIE, reader in 1568; 



1574 



chaplain of the Altar of St Ninian, 



Jedburgh. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

WILLIAM AINSLIE, min., called par 
son and vicar 1595-7. [Comps. 
Gen. Coll. of Thirds.} 



1599 



JOHN ABERNETHY, min. of Jed- 



1605 



burgh, pres. to vicarage 25th Feb. 



1606 



1605 on depr. of William Ainslie. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiv, 248.] 

THOMAS ABERNETHY, M.A., min. 
at Hawick, pres. to vicarage of 
Plenderleith 24th May 1606. [Reg. 
Sec. Sig., Ixxv, 116.] 

ANDREW KIRKTON. [G. R. Sas., 
1624 xxxiii, 365.] 

ARCHIBALD PORTEOUS. [G. R. 
1640 Sas., liv, 175.] 

JOHN AINSLIE, marr. Anna Douglas, 



1682 



niece of Thomas Douglas, merchant, 



Edinburgh, and had issue Magda 
lene (marr. Andrew Ker, apothecary, 
Yetholm); Anne (marr. William Ainslie, 
vintner, Jedburgh). [Reg. of Deeds, Mack. 
Ixv, 962.] 

JAMES RICHARDSON, adm. 8th 
1764 Nov. not Feb. 

JAMES WIGHT, his son, John 
Rutherford, died 8th Sept. 1919, 
aged 90. 

WILLIAM BARNIE, pres. by Crown 



1859 



14th June 1859; his widow, Mar 



garet Anne Riddoch, died 18th Dec. 
1932; his daughs. Annie Forrest, died 3rd 
June 1917; Jessie, died 4th June 1940; his 
son, Samuel Riddoch, died 28th March 
1946. 

PETER BRYCE GUNN, died 30th 
1R8 _ May 1928; his widow, Jessie Turn- 
bull, died 9th May 1939. 

GEORGE HENRY GRANT, born 

1928 17th April 1905, son of William 

John G., Rose Villa, Archieston, 



and Fanny Calder; educ. at Univ. of Aber 
deen, M.A. (1925), B.D. (1928); licen. by 
Presb. of Aberlour April 1928; assistant 
Holburn, Aberdeen; ord. 13th Dec. 1928; 
trans, to West Church, Inverness, 8th July 
1936. Marr. 6th Feb. 1929 Kathleen Mary, 
daugh. of William G. Gilchrist, Campinas, 
TurrirT, and has issue Sheila Mary, born 
8th Dec. 1930; William Niven, born 25th 
June 1933; Donald Marcus, born 21st Sept. 
1945. 

SOUTHDEAN 

JOHN SCOTT, reader. See under Sir 
1582 Thomas Ker, Roxburgh. 

THOMAS THOMSON, died, having 
1700 been struck by lightning while 
exorcising a ghost. 

JOHN RYRIE SPENCE, date of lie. 



1907 



10th May 1905; M.A. (1901) and 
B.D. (1905). 



TEVIOTHEAD 

THOMAS DYCE, marr. Isobel, daugh. 



1792 

1848. 



of Alexander Gordon, Fochabers, 
who died at Aberdeen 5th Sept. 



HENRY SCOTT RIDDELL, marr. 
1832 23rd July 1833. 

ARCHIBALD HUTTON DINWID- 
DIE, licen. 13th May 1881; died 
7th Oct. 1919. 

ARTHUR HENRY DUNNETT, trans. 



1920 



from St John s, Hawick, 1st June 



1920; dem. 1st Oct. 1824 on app. 
as Depute Home Mission Secretary, and 
on Union of Churches in 1929 became one 
of the Secretaries of the Home Department; 
died 28th Aug. 1940. Addl. issue William 
Gavin, born 4th Oct. 1919. Publications 
The Child s Prayer Book (1920); Book of 
Prayers (1925); The Church in Changing 
Scotland (1934). 

DAVID SIME STEVEN, ord. llth 



1925 

1929. 



Jan., adm. 6th Feb. 1925; trans, to 
Gilcomiston, Aberdeen, 16th May 



142 



WILTON 



[PRESB. OF JEDBURGH 



WILTON 

1567 THOMAS WESTOUN, parson. 

WILLIAM CLARK, pres. to parsonage 

and vicarage 31st Dec. 1602 on 

death of John Lan glands; his second 

son, John, 18th Jan. 1634. [G. R. Sas., 

xxxviii, 330; Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxv, 156.] 

JOHN LANGLANDS, marr. Anna 
Douglas; his sons James, appren 
tice to Robert Blackwood, mer 
chant, Edinburgh, 6th Jan. 1669; Walter, 
apprentice to Adam Bewcastle, merchant, 



Edinburgh, 3rd Aug. 1692. [Reg. of 
Deeds, Dal., 20th Dec. 1693.] 

JOHN RUDGE WILSON, died 27th Aug. 
1930; his widow, Georgina Under 
wood Fiddes, died at Wetheral, 
Cumberland, 9th July 1947. 

CHARLES GUTHRIE COOPER, B.D., 

trans, from Strathbungo 17th May 

1926; trans, to Paisley Abbey 23rd 

Sept. 1930; D.D. (St Andrews, 18th Feb. 

1932); his son, George Douglas, born 4th 

Nov. 1925, died 17th Oct. 1934. 



PRESBYTERY OF EARLSTON 



CHANNELKIRK 

The chapel at Carfrae was built by John 
de Sinclair on permission granted by Dry- 
burgh Abbey. About 1200 he gave in 
demnity that the chapel should not inter 
fere with the rights of the mother church 
of Channelkirk. The chapel at Glengelt 
was built by Henry de Mundeville, who 
about 1400 gave similar indemnity. [Book 
ofDryburgh, 131-2, 136.] 

The bell in Channelkirk has this inscrip 
tion: For Channenkirk 1 702. 

1574 JOHN CHARLES, reader. 

GEORGE STRACHAN, vicar in 1576 
,__, and 1577. [Comps. Gen. Coll of 
Thirds.} 

WALTER KEITH, M.A., acted as min. 
1666 at Guthrie. 



HENRY HOME, his eldest daugh., 
Jean (marr. cont. 15th Nov. 1734 
Archibald Campbell, merchant, 
Edinburgh, late at Crinan). 



1702 



JAMES WALKER, died at New West- 
1862 minster, B.C., 15th Oct. 1921. 



ARCHIBALD ALLAN, dem. 1924, died 
at Edinburgh, 29th Oct. 1924; his 
widow, Jean Christie, died at Edin 
burgh 16th Dec. 1929. 



1891 



HENRY McKINLEY, ord. 30th April 
1Q2 _ 1925; trans, to Sinclairtown 2nd 
Nov. 1926. 

JOHN GORDON, formerly of Hob- 

192? kirk (q.v.), adm. 25th March 1927; 

trans, to Kirkinner 3rd Sept. 1931. 

Marr. 19th July 1923 Mary Jane, daugh. 

of Robert Turnbull, solicitor, Edinburgh. 



EARLSTON 

NINIAN BORTHWICK, reader and 
exhorter 1571. [Comps. Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Linlithgow. etc.] 

JAMES FAIRBAIRN, reader 1568, 

15 _ 5 pres. to vicarage 1st Feb. 1577 on 

death of Christopher Home. {Reg. 

Pres. Bene., ii, (4), 123; Edin. Tests., in, 136.] 

JAMES DAES, min. here, pres. to 



1568 



vicarage 20th Dec. 1586, on dem. 
of James Fairbairn. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig.,lviii, 185] 

JOHN HEPBURN, brother to Patrick 
H. of Nunraw. [Berwick Sas., v, 
202, 203.] 

GEORGE JOHNSTON, son of Patrick 
1694 J., merchant, Edinburgh. 

WILLIAM MAIR, died at Edinburgh 

20th Jan. 1920; his widow, Isabella 

Edward, died at Edinburgh 7th Dec. 

1932. Addl. Publications Action Sermons 

(Edin., 1917); My Young Communicant 

(Edin., 1915). 

WALTER DAVIDSON, trans, to Blue- 
1915 vale, Glasgow, 12th June 1929. 

PETER WYLIE, born 3rd Sept. 1896; 
1 QIQ ec *uc. at Congregational Theological 
Hall, 1922-1; Univ. of Edinburgh; 
licen. by Ordination 4th July 1924 to 
Congregational Church, Lanark; dem. 31st 
Oct. 1926; assistant St Paul s, Leith; adm. 
on probation for one year by General 
Assembly 24th May 1928; ord. 28th Aug. 
1929, died 4th Dec. 1945. Marr. 2nd June 
1926 Jean Watson Muirhead, s.p. 

(Charges united 31 st March 1946.) 



143 



144 



GORDON LEGERWOOD 



[PRESB. OF 



GORDON 

The chapel at Huntlywood was dedicated 
to the Virgin Mary. The patronage be 
longed to the Gordon family, a member of 
whom appears to have been the founder. 
[Reg. Great Seal, ii, 3416; Reg. Sec. Seal, 
ii, 1696; Retours, xiv, 300.] 

JAMES STRAITON, line 4, after Oct. 



1662 



add 1662; marr. Jean Craw. 
[Berwick Sas., 19th Jan. 1659.] 



THOMAS MABON, his daugh., Jean. 
1685 [Homings, llth Dec. 1740.] 

JAMES BELL, his son, John, appren 
tice to Alexander Kincaid, book 
seller, Edinburgh, 20th Nov. 1754. 



1727 



LAUDER 

In 1268 the patronage of the Church of 
Lauder, which was at first a dependent 
chapel of the Church of Channelkirk, was 
resigned by John Baliol in favour of Dry- 
burgh Abbey, and like resignation was 
made by John Baliol s wife, Devorgilla of 
Galloway, daughter and heir of Alan de 
Galloway, late Constable of Scotland. 
Confirmation was given by John de 
Haddington, Prior of St Andrews. The 
church stood on the north side of the town, 
facing Lauder Fort, which now forms part 
of Thirlestane Castle. The present church, 
on the south-west side of the town, was 
built in 1673, and repaired in 1820. The 
Chapel of Kedslie was dedicated to St 
John, and though no remains of it now 
exist, it is perpetuated in the name of the 
estate and mansion of Chapel-on-Leader. 
There was a chapel attached to the Hospital 
of St Leonard. To God, St Mary, St 
Leonard and the sick brothers of the 
Hospital of Lauder (St Leonard s), Richard 
de Morville, Constable of Scotland, for the 
souls of himself, his wife, his heirs, his 
father and mother, and his ancestors and 
successors, gave about 1 170 that land where 
the house of the hospital is situated, ac 
cording to the boundaries as perambulated 
by John, Bishop of Glasgow, Avicia, wife 
of Richard, and William, son of Richard, 
etc. Evidently the hospital was for leprous 



monks, and the foregoing date may be 
approximately the date of its foundation. 
[Book of Dryburgh, 5-6, 7-9, 267-8, which 
gives boundaries of the hospital lands; 
Procs. of Berwickshire Naturalists 1 Club, 
xiii, 139, which see for details of hospital.] 

ANDREW HOME, M.A., son of 



1560 



George H. of Wedderburn and 



brother of Sir David H. of Wedder 
burn; parson 17th April 1548, died Sept. 
1567. [Edin. Tests., 7th Jan. 1568; Reg. 
Mag. Sig., iv, 3rd Feb. 1568; Reg. Sec. Sig., 
iii, 2725.] 

JOHN KNOX, M.A., min. 27th April 
1576 1580. [Edin. Tests., viii, 244.] 

DAVID FORRESTER, trans, to Long- 
1669 forgan, 7th Sept. 1684. 

JAMES MIDDLETON, his son, James, 



1862 

1934. 



factor to Lord Howard de Walden, 
died at Kilmarnock 27th March 



WILLIAM McCONNACHIE, D.D. 



1906 



(Aberdeen, 31st March 1921), died 



3rd Oct. 1931. His widow, Ellen 
Mitchell Douglas, died 6th Jan. 1939. 

LEGERWOOD 

A church existed here in 1127 when 
"John, priest of Ledgaresude" signed a 
charter in connection with Coldingham 
Priory. In 1164 the church passed by 
charter into the possession of the Church 
of St James, St Mirin and St Milburg of 
Passelet (Paisley) and the priors and monks 
there till the Reformation. 

The church was dedicated by Bishop de 
Bernham on 30th Oct. 1242. The Hospital 
of Morriston was at Aldenston. It belonged 
to Melrose Abbey, and was for "sick 
brothers," monks afflicted with leprosy. 
Probably it was founded by Walter, son 
of Alan, Steward of Scotland. At any rate, 
towards the end of the 12th century he gave 
to the hospital and the sick brothers there 
residing a plough-gate and a half of land, 
to wit, a plough-gate in the town of Aldens- 
toun, and a half plough-gate which Dame 
Emma de Ednaham (Ednam) held, with 



EARLSTON] 



LEGERWOOD MERTOUN 



145 



right of pasture and easements in the forest 
of Birkenside and Leggardeswude (Leger- 
wood), and liberty to grind at his mills 
without paying multures. Nichol de 
Lychardeswode, Chaplain, warden of the 
hospital, swore fealty to Edward I on 28th 
Aug. 1296. At Birkenside there was a 
chapel dedicated to St John. [Re tours, 
iii, 135, xiii, 118; Bk. ofMelrose, i, 70; Mon. 
Annals ofTeviotdale, 265; Cal of Docs. Rel. 
to Scotland, ii, 21 1 ; Lockhart s Ch. in Scot 
land in 13 th Century, 52.] 

WILLIAM CRANSTOUN, vicar, 5th 
March 1566-7. [Cal. of Charters, 



1564 



ix, 2079.] 



ROBERT FRENCH, min. at Eccles, 



1592 



pres. to vicarage 18th May 1592 on 
death of William Cranstoun, com 
missioner of Lauderdale. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Ixiii, 267.] 

ARCHIBALD BROWN, died 2nd Dec. 
1859 1918. 



1899 



JOHN ALEXANDER CAMERON, in 

Great War was Senior Presbyterian 
Chaplain at Ripon and at Abbeville 
with 51st Division; in 1929 Joint Clerk of 
Synod of Merse and Teviotdale; Hon. Sec. 
Association of General Assembly, Synod 
and Presbytery Clerks 1927; dem. 15th 
Nov. 1942; died 24th Jan. 1943. His wife, 
Elizabeth Farquhar Philip, died by motor 
accident 19th Dec. 1928; his son, William 
Marshall Philip, B.Sc. (Edin.), D.I.C. 
(London), is Entomologist, Khartoum, for 
Northern Sudan; his daugh., Winifred 
Mary Elizabeth, A.R.C.M. (London) (marr. 
8th July 1930 Ronald Martin Perceval, 
A.C.A., Monkseaton); his son, John 
Austen Perceval, F.R.C.S.E., is surgeon in 
charge of Government Hospital, Penang; 
his daugh., Ruth Evelyn Philip, is M.S.R. 
London. 

MERTOUN 

The present church is situated about a 
mile north-west of the old churchyard, in 
which are remains of the early church, the 
east wall and parts of the north and south 
walls, probably Norman. The church was 



dedicated by Bishop de Bernham in 1241 . 
[Berwickshire Naturalists Club, xiii, 144.] 

SIR ANDREW HEGY, vicar; died 
before 29th Jan. 1582-3. [Reg. 



1560 



Pres. to Ben., ii, 84v.] 



JAMES MENZIES, min., pres. to the 
vicarage 29th Jan. \5S2-3.[Reg. 
Pres. toBene., ii, 84v.] 

JOHN HEPBURN, pres. to vicarage 
20th Jan. 1594-5 on dem. of James 
Menzies. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixvii, 42.] 

THOMAS COURTNEY, marr. Bar 
bara Hamilton, widow of James 
Hamilton of Stenhouse. [Reg. of 
Deeds, Dal, xxii, 633, 23rd March 1667.] 



1663 



1674 



ANDREW MELDRUM, resident with 
his wife and two children in Tron 
Parish, Edinburgh, 8th Nov. 1694; 
his daugh., May, born 9th April 1709 (marr. 
Robert Morrison, writer burgess of Edin 
burgh. [Tron Poll Tax Roll, 57.] 

JOHN WALLACE, marr. Jane, daugh. 
1692 of George Hutchison, min. of Irvine. 

ROBERT LIVER, marr. Elizabeth, 
daugh. of James Pillans, Regent, 
Edinburgh Univ. [Deeds, Dal., 
24th March 1704.] 

JAMES INNES, his son, Robert, M.D., 
1718 died 1798. 

ANDREW THOMSON DONALD, his 

daugh., Edith Armstrong, died 2nd 
May 1934; his son, George Honey, 

D.D., min. of St Andrew s and St Paul s, 

Montreal; his daugh., Dorothy Gray (marr. 

James Patrick Chrystal), died at Meon- 

stoke, Hants, 24th Feb. 1940. 

DAVID GILMOUR MANUEL, died at 
Edinburgh 1 st April 1 92 1 ; his widow, 
Agnes Manuel Stenhouse, died at 
Edinburgh 17th June 1934; his daughs. 
Dora Grizel Baillie (marr. 1st Dec. 1931 
Andrew Jaffray Dobbie); Agnes Graham 
(marr. 16th June 1934 Thomas Douglas 
Vivian Morgan, Shawington Fall, Quebec); 
Marion (marr. 6th June 1936 David Ritchie 
Murdoch, Edinburgh). 



1908 



146 



MERTOUN STOW 



[PRESB. OF 



JAMES FERGUSSON McCREATH, 



1918 



born 20th Aug. 1883, son of Thomas 
M., farmer, Challoch, Newton 
Stewart, and Elizabeth Dunlop; educ. at 
Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1904); licen. by 
Presb. of Wigtown, April 1907; assistant 
St Bernard s, Edinburgh; ord. to Kelso 
North 24th Jan. 1917; trans, (ass. and sue.) 
6th Nov. 1918. Marr. 20th Feb. 1917 
Marjorie Dennistoun, only daugh. of 
Thomas Stark Murdoch Riach, Khonikor, 
Assam, and Christiana Margaret Dennis 
toun Shaw. 



SMAILHOLM 

The church was dedicated by Bishop de 
Bernham on 29th April 1243. Along with 
the Chapel of Stichell it was granted to 
Coldingham Priory by Walter Oliford, 
justiciary of Scotland, who died in 1242. 
[Carr s Coldingham, 320; Lockhart s Ch. 
in Scotland in 13 th Century, 52-3.] 

ADAM CLERK, exhorter 1563. 



1563 



- f 



burgh.} 



SIR THOMAS GETHERALL, vicar 



1563 



1563. [Comps. Sub Coll of Thirds, 
Roxburgh.} 



JOHN HOME of BLACKADDER, 



1567 



held vicarage 1 567-7 1 . [Comps. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Linlithgow.] 



GEORGE HOME, son of Alexander 



1578 



H., fiar of Blackadder and brother 



german of John H. of Blackadder; 
vicar in 1578, he had held parsonage in 
1548. [Reg. Mag. Sig., 29th Jan. 1542-3; 
Noble British Families, ii, 28; Reg. Sec. Sig., 
iii, 2725.] 

DAVID FORSYTH, pres. to vicarage 
on death of Alexander Home. 



1593 



[Reg Sec. Sig., Ixiii, 184.] 



JAMES HUNTER, pres. to vicarage 



1598 



on death of David Forsyth. [Reg. 
Sec. Sig., Ixix, 260.] 



JOHN BELL, marr. cont. 2nd Sept. 

1687 1670 Jean, daugh. of George Murray 

of Tippermuir, and had issue 



Robert and Helen. [Deeds, Durie, 1705, 
No. 940.] 

WILLIAM LAMB SIME, died un- 
1887 married 2nd Jan. 1937. 



STOW 

Stow was anciently called Wedale. 
Tradition narrates that fragments of the 
Cross of Christ were brought from the 
Holy Land by King Arthur, and were 
preserved with great veneration in the 
Virgin Mary s Church of Wedale. The 
early church was situated on the estate of 
Torsonce, and in the first half of the 19th 
century a part of one of the walls, three 
feet thick, was to be seen built in with a 
common drystone dyke. Near by was the 
Lady s Well, and a huge stone, removed 
in the course of the formation of a new 
road and subsequently broken up, was 
said to bear the impression of the Virgin 
Mary s foot, made on the occasion of one 
of her descents to visit this favoured sanc 
tuary. The church was dedicated by Bishop 
de Bernham on 3rd Nov. 1242. A later 
church, apparently of the late 1 5th century, 
but largely rebuilt in the 17th century, with 
a south aisle added at the same period, 
stands a ruin at the south end of the village. 
Here also was a Lady Well. [Report Hist. 
Monuments Comm., Midlothian, 168; Lock- 
hart s Ch. in Scotland in \3th Century, 53; 
Chron. of Melrose, 79.] 

GEORGE COOK, vicar 1568 and 1571. 



1568 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 



JOHN BENNET, M.A., pres. to 

on 



1578 
ii, 8.] 



George Cook. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 



JAMES MITCHELL, his son, John, 
min. of St. Andrew s Church, 



1585 



London. 



JOHN CLELAND, his son, Archibald, 
apprentice to Alexander Thomson, 
saddler, Edinburgh, 1st Sept. 1675. 



EARLSTON] 



STOW WESTRUTHER 



147 



ROBERT KAY, had issue Barbara, 
bapt. 4th July 1647; Robert, bapt. 
4th Sept. 1648. Marr. (2) 14th Jan. 
1658 Janet Brown, Dysart. 

DAVID WADDELL, pres. 5th May 
1841 1841. 

WILLIAM WORKMAN, his widow, 
Margaret Burrell, died llth Oct. 



1882 



1936. 



THOMAS WILKIE WILSON, D.D. 

(Edinburgh, 28th June 1934). 

Addl. Publications Sto w in Wedale; 
The Permanence of Christianity; St Paul 
and Paganism; The Reform of Health and 
Life. 

WESTRUTHER 

SIR ANDREW CURRIE, charged to 



1569 



1595 



answer for his demerits before Privy 
Council 17th Oct. 1569. [P. C. 
Reg., ii, 40; Edin. Tests., ii, 96.] 

SYMON SCOTT, son of Walter S. of 
Newtoun, pres. to vicarage pen 
sionary 17th May 1595 on dem. of 

Thomas Newbie. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixvii, 

122.] 

THOMAS STORIE, M.A., min. here, 
presented to vicarage 13th Dec. 1600 
in succession to late Sir Andrew 
Currie. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxi, 236.] 

JOHN VEITCH, his son, David, ap 
prentice to John Trotter, merchant, 
Edinburgh, 14th April 1675. [G. R. 
Sas., 3 Ser., xvi, 307.] 

WALTER SCOTT, his son, Robert, 
apprentice to Joseph Gibson, sur- 



1598 



1648 



1704 

geon apothecary, Edinburgh, 2nd 

Nov. 1737. 



FRANCIS SCOTT of Langton, served 
R heir to his uncle, Captain Robert 
Scott of Langton, 18th April 1749. 
[Roxburgh Services, 228.] 

WALTER WOOD, pres. 25th June 



1838 



1838; his widow, Margaret G. 
Brodfoot, died 17th Dec. 1946. 



HENRY TAYLOR, pres. by Crown 



1844 

1930. 



4th Jan. 1844; his daugh., Elizabeth 
Robertson, died at Melrose 3rd Oct. 



DAVID SILVER, died 30th Nov. 1921; 



1904 



his widow, Georgina Stephen, died 
12th Feb. 1941; his son, George, 

Captain, 2nd Bengal Lancers, died at 

Malton, Woodbridge, Sussex. 

JOHN JAMES SCOTT THOMSON, 



1927 

1925. 



M.A., ord. 20th April 1922; trans, 
to John Knox, Aberdeen, 3rd Sept. 



WILLIAM GILBERT LIMOND, adm. 
14th Jan. 1926; trans, to St Leo- 



1926 



nard s, Lanark, 27th Sept. 1928. 



ROBERT ARTHUR, born 31st March 

1929 186 S0n f Wu< li arn A - an( * A S nes 
Cartaw; educ. at Torphichen School, 

Bathgate Academy, and Univ. of Edin 
burgh, M.A. (1882); licen. by Free Church 
Presb. of Linlithgow, 21st April 1886; ord. 
26th Jan. 1888 to Free Church, Westruther; 
adm. 1929; dem. 30th Nov. 1931; died at 
Edinburgh 12th Feb. 1947. Marr. 8th Aug. 
1901 Margaret Isabella (died 18th Aug. 
1941), daugh. of James Burnet. 

(A provisional union of the churches was 
effected Sth March 1928, confirmed \3th 
March 1930.) 



PRESBYTERY OF SELKIRK 



ASHKIRK 

JOHN HAMILTON, M.A., 

r\ur 

1570 



pres. to 

parsonage in 1570 on dem. of John 
Murie. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, (2), 4.] 



JOHN SCOTT, was min. here 3rd Nov. 
1574 1573. [Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, (4), 12.] 



JAMES SCOTT, reader in 1574, vicar 
1586. See under Sir Thomas Ker, 
Roxburgh. 



1574 



THOMAS CRANSTOUN, M.A., pres. 
1^70 to vicarage on death of Sir John 
Mmr.[Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 29.] 

DANIEL CHALMERS, pres. to par- 
1583 sona e an d vicarage 19th May 1585 
on death of Thomas Cranstoun. 
[Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 126.] 

ROBERT SCOTT, pres. to parsonage 



1586 

142.] 



15th April 1586 on death of Daniel 
Chalmers. [Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 



THOMAS COURTNEY, min. 7th July 
1663 1663. 



RICHARD SCOTT, M.A., resident 
with his wife and daugh. Jean in 
Lady Tester s Parish 10th Nov. 
1694. [Lady Tester s Poll Tax Roll, 31.] 



1685 



1695 



CHARLES GORDON, brother of John 
G., provost of Aberdeen. [Book of 
Buchan, 197.] 



ROBERT LITHGOW, his son, Robert, 
t _ t t apprentice to William Reoch, wright, 
20th April 1737. 



1780 



WALTER STEWART, his sons- 
Matthew of Barnhill, died 17th 
March 1782; James died young. 



JOHN EDMONDSTON, his daugh., 
1837 Elizabeth, died 20th Jan. 1918. 



1861 



WILLIAM GRIERSON SMITH, his 

son, Alfred William, born 7th June 
1846, died 13th July 1848. 



1871 



JOHN CHALMERS, his widow, Mar 
garet Steele, died 27th March 1918; 
his daugh., Louisa Jane, marr. 

"1893" not "1898"; his sons Edward 

Ernest, drowned in Loch Shiel Oct. 1937; 

Richard Mason, died New Jersey, U.S.A., 

1929. 

JAMES DAUN, licen. 13th May 1887; 
dem. 26th May 1926; died at Edin- 



1892 



burgh, 24th March 1927, unmarr. 



JAMES REEKIE, born Auchtermuchty 

1926 8th April 1886 son of Thomas R - 
Auchtermuchty, and Christina Mc 
Kay; educ. at Harris Academy, Dundee, 
and Univ. of St Andrews, M.A. (1910), 
B.D. (1914); licen. by Presb. of Cupar. 18th 
May 1914; assistant St Mary s, Dundee, 
and St Cuthbert s, Edinburgh; ord. to 
Dean 10th May 1916; trans, and adm. 12th 
Nov. 1926. 

BOWDEN 

THOMAS DUNCANSON, pres. to 



1508 



vicarage on death of Sir William 



Younger. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 6.] 
1574 ROBERT KER, reader. 

HENRY KNOX, M.A., resident with 
two children in Old Kirk Parish, 
Edinburgh, 16th Nov. 1694. [Old 
Kirk Poll Tax Roll, 18.] 

ALFRED MACFARLANE, licen. by 

1891 Presb - of Dalkeitn > 18 "; became 
min. of St Andrews, Niagara, on 
Lake Ontario; died 4th May 1935. 



148 



PRESS. OF SELKIRK] 



BOWDEN GALASHIELS 



149 



JOHN BURR, died 27th May 1940; 



1899 



his mother was Mary Smith, daugh. 

of James Keith, Arbroath; served as 
Chaplain to the Forces in Great War. His 
wife, Catherine Mary Knox, died 29th Oct. 
1933. He marr. (2) 9th Feb. 1935 Fanny 
Elizabeth, daugh. of Alexander Beattie, 
Tunbridge Wells; his daugh., Susan Agnes 
(marr. 7th Sept. 1933 John Lumley 
Matthews, Lecturer in New College, Lon 
don); his son, Robert, banker, born 1905, 
not 1904; Addl. Publications Studies on 
the Apostles Creed (London, 1931); The 
Lordship of Love (London, 1932); The 
Crown of Character (London, 1932); The 
Prodigal s Progress (London, 1933); Studies 
on the Ten Commandments (London, 1935); 
The Prayer of Prayers (London, 1937). 

CADDONFOOT 

JOHN MILNE, missionary here 1860 
to 5th J an - 1864; afterwards Chap- 

. . _ , . 

lain to Forces (q.v.). 

JAMES MACKIE, afterwards min. of 
1864 St Mary s, Partick. 



JOHN TUDOR SCRIMGEOUR, adm. 
as licentiate from Canadian Church 
1905; trans, to Ladykirk 27th Aug. 
1926. 



1910 



1926 



JAMES MACKENZIE KIRK- 
PATRICK, trans, from St Bride s, 
Partick (q.v.\ 9th Dec. 1926; D.D. 

(Glasgow, 22nd June 1927); dem. 28th Feb. 

1940. 

ETTRICK 

SIR JOHN STEVENSON, vicar 21st 
1569 Aug. 1569. [Reg. of Deeds, x, 586.] 

ALEXANDER CUNNINGHAM, his 
son, Walter, apprentice to Gideon 
Schaw, stationer, Edinburgh, 27th 
Nov. 1667. 

THOMAS BOSTON, his daugh., Jane, 
1707 died 19th March 1782, not 1765. 

ROBERT POTTS, dem. 9th May 1780 
on a PP- f an assistant and suc 
cessor. 



K* 



1907 



ALEXANDER HORN, was missionary 
at Stormontfield, Scone; dem. 3rd 
Oct. 1928; died 19th Feb. 1935. 



WILLIAM ADDISON, trans, from 
Kirriemuir (q.v.) 22nd March 1929; 
Ph.D. (Glasgow, 1936). 

GALASHIELS 

The old parish church having been 
united with St Paul s, it was sold and St 
Paul s declared the church of the parish. 

JOHN FOTHERINGHAM, reader 
1565 1565-7. [Edin. Tests., i, 38.] 

ROBERT KERR, M.A., vicar, died 

1569 Before 18tl1 Aug - 1569 ; was m office 

2nd May 1550, may have conformed 

and acted as reader. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 

27; Grote s Prot. Book, 45.] 



1569 



WILLIAM KER, designated "writ- 
tour" and min. 9th Feb. 1575. 
[Test. Inventories MS. Reg. House.} 



PATRICK URQUHART, min. in 
1600 1600. 

JAMES URQUHART, marr. Elizabeth, 
daugh. of James Pringle of Buck- 

, i 

holm. 

THOMAS WILKIE, line 3, for "Jan" 
1665 read "June." 

HUGH SCOTT, trans, to Stow 
1672 1689. 

ROBERT DOUGLAS. Addl. Publica- 
1770 tion Life of Logan (Edin., 1912). 

KENNETH MACLEAY PHIN, line 3 
1841 fr m Bottom, for "1882" read 
"1862." Addl. publications Re 
cent Movements of Scottish Episcopacy in 
the Counties of Roxburgh and Selkirk 
(1856); The Scriptural Principles of the 
Solemn League and Covenant in their bearing 
on the Present State of the Episcopal 
Churches (1858). 

PATON JAMES GLOAG, line 8, for 
1871 "27th Sept." read "20th Jan." 



150 



GALASHIELS LADHOPE 



[PRESB. OF 



DAVID HUNTER, p. 180, line 2, for 
"1891" read "1879." His son, 



1892 



Hugh Blackburn, D.S.O. 



DUGALD BUTLER, died Peebles 9th 



1907 



Jan. 1926; his widow, Catherine 



Christian Barrie Marwick, died 
Colinton 3rd Feb. 1949. Addl. publication 
Prayer in Experience (Edin. 1922). 



1918 



GEORGE HENRY DONALD, D.D. 

(Edinburgh, 2nd July 1948); trans. 

from West Parish, Aberdeen, 5th 
Sept. 1918; trans, to St Andrew s Church, 
Montreal, 1925. Addl. issue Walter 
Douglas, born and died 12th Nov. 1918. 

FREDERICK DAVID LANGLANDS, 

trans, from Eastwood (q.v.) 30th 
June 1925 as assistant and successor; 
Convenor of Christian Life and Work 
Committee 1936; D.D. (St Andrews, 28th 
Sept. 1937); his wife, Ruby Agnes Scott, 
died 21st May 1942. He marr. (2) 16th 
Aug. 1943 Elizabeth Thomson, daugh. of 
John T. Forbes, Biggar Bank, Airdrie. 

GALASHIELS WEST 

WILLIAM DICKSON, his widow, 



1909 



Edith Jane Hanna, died 10th May 
1935. 



1915 



WILLIAM SUTHERLAND BUCHAN, 

trans, to Liff and Benvie 3rd Jan. 



1919. 



HENRY SHANNON BRISBY, born 



1919 



Belfast 19th Nov. 1890, son of Rev. 

James M. B. and Margaret Shannon; 
educ. at Hutchison s Grammar School, 
Glasgow, and Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. 
(1922); licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 25th 
Aug. 1915; served as Lieut, in Great War, 
in Royal Enniskillen Fusiliers; assistant, 
St Mark s, Glasgow; ord. locum tenens 
Dumbarton 10th May 1917; adm. here 24th 
April 1919. Marr. 2nd July 1919 Helen 
Campbell, daugh. of William Maxwell, 
min. of Cardross, and has issue Desmond 
Maxwell Shannon, born 9th Sept. 1920; 
Bryan William James Shannon, born 2nd 
Sept. 1922. 



HEATHERLIE 

ROBERT MONTGOMERY BRIGHT, 

101 , trans, to Insh, Abernethy, 17th May 
1921. 

JAMES WILSON, born East Green, 
1921 Anstruther, 18th Feb. 1889, son of 
David W. and Margaret Grubb; 
educ. at Waid Academy, Anstruther, and 
Univ. of St Andrews, M.A. (1910), B.D. 
(1919); served in R.A.M.C. 1915-19 at 
Aldershot, Malta, Salonica and Northern 
Italy; licen. by Presb. of St Andrews 22nd 
March 1919; assistant at Kilconquhar Mar- 
kinch and St Stephen s, Edinburgh; ord. 
28th Sept. 1921. 

KIRKHOPE 

JOHN SHARPE GIBSON, pres. 16th 
1851 July 1851. 

HUGH MACMILLAN, dem. 16th May 



1876 



1918, died at Edinburgh 22nd July 



1930; his widow, Emily Jane Mit 
chell, died 29th Dec. 1940. 

GEORGE EDWARD MACKENZIE, 

born Inverness 14th Dec. 1887, son 



1918 



of Major George M., Seaforth High 
landers; educ. at Inverness Academy, 
Lycee de Douai, Nord, France, Univ. of 
Edinburgh, M.A. (1909), Aberdeen, B.D. 
(1912); licen. by Presb. of Inverness 1912; 
served in France as Captain R.F.C., 
wounded; assistant Dunkeld and Glasgow 
Cathedral; ord. 19th Sept. 1918; died at 
Bromley, Kent, 4th Sept. 1934. Marr. 
30th Oct. 1930 Mary Rose Murray, elder 
daugh. of Stanley Greenfield of Marlestan, 
Bromley, Kent, and had issue Sylvia 
Mary, born 13th Aug. 1931; George 
Murray (post.), born 20th Feb. 1935. 

LADHOPE 

WILLIAM CORSON CALLANDER, 

his widow, Jane May Mason Patter- 



1884 



son, died 7th Aug. 1922. 



JOHN GEDDES RITCHIE, dem. 13th 
Oct. 1916 and served as Army 



1914 



Chaplain in Egypt and Gallipoli; 



afterwards of Drainie 19th Aug. 1919. 



SELKIRK] 



LADHOPE MELROSE 



151 



JOHN CAMERON, trans, from 



1917 



Poolewe 5th April 1917; trans to 
Glassary 2nd March 1922. 



HENRY OWENS WALLACE, ord. 



1922 



7th Sept. 1922, trans, to Dirleton 
26th April 1928. 



ANDREW REID, assistant Barrow- 



1928 



field; missionary to Nyasaland (#.v.); 



ord. 8th Jan. 1927; adm. to Buck- 
haven 21st April 1927; trans, and adm. 15th 
Nov. 1928; ind. to Alexandria, Egypt, 29th 
Sept. 1933; adm. to Forteviot 28th June 
1938. 

LILLIESLEAF 

ARCHIBALD SIMSON, reader. See 
1582 under Sir Thomas Ker, Roxburgh. 

THOMAS WILKIE, appears from the 
1 588 Kirk Session Records of 30th April 
1671 to have been succeeded by two 
sons, the elder of whom, Thomas, was in 
1627 probably reader at Selkirk and the 
younger, William, min. here. 

WILLIAM WILKIE, died suddenly 



1640 

burgh. 



30th April 1671; his son, Thomas, 
first min. of the Canongate, Edin- 



JOHN CHISHOLM, had issue Wil- 
1674 liam, born 15th Oct. 1682. 



DAVID BAXTER, his daughs. Hariet 
(marr. 9th Sept. 1857); Helen 
Frances (marr. 1st July 1845 Dr E. 
Naysmith Houston). 



1816 



ADAM GOURLAY, his daughs. 
1 841 Adamina Herriot, died at Edinburgh 
27th Feb. 1924; Margaret Redford, 
died at Edinburgh 9th May 1925. 

ARTHUR POLLOK SYM, D.D. (Edin. 
188g 1924), dem. 3rd Oct. 1928; Con 
vener of Committee on Admissions 
of Ministers of other Churches, 1921-46; 
Convener of Committee on Proposed 
Scheme for Superannuation of Ministers, 
1933-7; died at Edinburgh 30th April 1946; 
his wife, Caroline Georgina Simson, died 
7th March 1938. Editor of latest edition 



of Mair s Digest of Church Laws (1923); 
editor of Year Book of Church of Scotland, 
1914-20. Publications The Twenty-Third 
Psalm: an Anthology of Metrical Versions 
(Edin., 1923); Manual on Marriage in 
Scotland, published by authority of the 
General Assembly (1933; 2nd edition 1936). 

JAMES McKENZIE, trans, from St 
1929 Paul s, Perth, 21st June 1929. 

MAXTON 

There was a chapel at Murroslaw (Moor- 
houselaw) belonging to John Haliburton 
in 1551. [Corbet s Prot. Bk., 75.] 

SIR WILLIAM AINSLIE, he was 

1561 P resente d to the vicarage on 28th 
Aug. 1561 by David Erskine, Com- 
mendator of Dryburgh, in succession to the 
late Sir William Tailfeir, who held the 
vicarage on 28th Jan. 1551-2. [Cat. Laing 
Charters, 727; Corbet s Prot. Bk., 75.] 

JAMES MENZIES, min. 10th Nov. 
1584 1584. [Aces. ofExch., 1584-98, 15.] 

ANDREW DUNCANSON, marr. Mary 
1640 Knox, who died 15th May 1697, and 
had issue Mark of Greatlaws. 
[Roxburgh Services, 172.] 

GABRIEL WILSON, his daugh., Ann, 
died 19th May 1801; his son, 
Andrew, M.D., died 4th June 1792, 
aged 73. 

JOHN THOMSON, his daughs. 



1810 



1865 



Beatrice, died 20th Dec. 1918, aged 
100; Jane, died 14th May 1842. 

MANNERS HAMILTON NISBET 
GRAHAM, his son, James Ritchie, 
died Evanston, U.S.A., 3rd Dec. 
1935; his daugh., Christian Lawrie, died 
17th July 1934; his son, Robert Balfour, 
M.B.E., Lieut .-Colonel R.A.M.C., died 
28th Jan. 1946. 

DAVID DENHOLM McKERRON, 
1905 died 27th June 1948. 

MELROSE 

The oldest religious building in the parish 
was burned by the Danes in the seventh 



152 



MELROSE ST BOSWELLS 



[PRESB. OF 



century, and what was left of its ruins be 
came a cell of Solitaries. It was one of 
the first head places of pilgrimage in Scot 
land in visiting which wonderful spiritual 
privileges were obtained. The Cistercian 
Monks built the later Abbey of Melrose, 
and part of it was used as the parish church 
till the beginning of the nineteenth century. 
The chapel at Blainslie was Chield (= 
knight) Lyell s. 

Originally the church belonged to the 
Priory of Coldingham, but in 1124-47 the 
priory conveyed it to David I in exchange 
for the Church of St Mary of Berwick. 
Subsequently it belonged to Melrose Abbey. 
In 1321 the Bishop (Simon) of Whithorn 
granted an Indulgence of 40 days to all 
who for the purpose of devotion visited the 
Chapel of St Cuthbert of Old Melrose, and 
gave of their means for rebuilding said 
chapel lately burned by the English. Of the 
chapel it was further said that it "has 
led the monastic life and flourished 
by miracles." "Sanct Robertis Well," 
Blainslie, occurs on 5th April 1547. 
[Coldingham Charters, 5, No. 18; Raine s 
North Durham\ Book of Melrose, ii, 390-1; 
Corbet s Prot. Bk., 35.] 

The first four ministers mentioned (Vol. ii, 
187) were probably never settled at Mel 
rose, John Knox being the first regular 
minister. 

THOMAS FORRESTER. [G. R. Sas., 
1657 xlvi, 321.] 

ADAM MILNE of BEWLIE, Chaplain 
1711 at Kersfield 1706; marr. proc. 29. 



1898 



ROBERT JAMES THOMPSON, dem. 
17th Nov. 1946; his daughs 
Dorothy Ann Scott (marr. 1 5th July 
1930 Benjamin Frank McNaughton, sur 
geon, Montreal); Edith Elizabeth Mary 
(marr. Rev. W. W. Darke, Congregational 
min. at Wallasey); his sons Cyril, on 
staff of County Council Hospital, Lon 
don; Robert, secretary, Gresham Trust, 
London. 

(Churches of Old and St Aidants united 
17th Nov. 1946.) 



ROBERTON 

JOHN COLT did penance for im- 



1663 



morality in the church of Lilliesleaf 
26th March 1682. 



JOHN FERGUSON, called 27th May 
1696 and ord. 23rd Sept. 1696. Having 
supplied vacancies in the Shyre of 
Angus and Mearns " for a quarter of the 
year 1697, he received calls from Aber- 
brothock and Montrose, but the Presb. 
refused translation. Appeal was taken to 
Synod. On 5th Oct. 1698 a letter was read 
from the Commission of Assembly blaming 
the Presb. for not declaring the Kirk of 
Roberton vacant. F. s name appears on 
the Sederunt of that day. He was actually 
trans, to Aberbrothock (Arbroath) on 20th 
April 1699. 

1786 JAMES HAY, pres. 6th June 1786. 
ALEXANDER NIVISON, his daugh., 



1826 



Euphemia Duncan, died at Edin 
burgh 2nd Feb. 1925. 



CHARLES KINNEAR GREENHILL, 
1845 pres. by Crown 26th March 1845. 

MERCER HALL, died llth March 
1867 1927. 

AENEAS EDE McINNES, died at 
1894 Earlston 2nd May 1931. 

ST BOSWELLS 

JOHN McCLELLAN, reader. See Sir 
1567 Thomas Kerr, vicar of Roxburgh. 

JOHN TURNBULL, reader; was reader 



1576 



and vicar 10th April 1567, when he 
granted to Andrew Ker of Hersell, 
Kt., a charter of the 3 merk (church) lands 
of Allisiden (Lessudden), called Sanct- 
Boiswellis. [Reg. Great Seal, iv, 2140.] 

JOHN SOMERVILLE, line 4, for 
1661 "1662" read "1661." 

ROBERT FISHER, line 11, for "1901" 

read "1891"; his sons Frederick 

Alexander, Engineer of Railways, 

Patagonia, died at Buenos Ayres 8th Sept. 

1919; William White, died 1st Dec. 1918. 



SELKIRK] 



ST BOSWELLS SELKIRK 



153 



ALEXANDER CAMERON WATSON, 






died 13th Dec. 1923; res. as mis 



sionary 1885; his sons Alexander 
Fisher, Lieut. Black Watch, killed in action 
23rd April 1917; Henry Steel, missionary 
in Africa and min. of Lochcraig 1937. 



1924 



GEORGE THOMAS THOMSON, 

trans, from Tain (q.v.) llth June 
1924; dem. on app. as Professor of 

Systematic Theology, Aberdeen, 17th May 

1928; D.D. (Edin., 1935). 

ALEXANDER WOOD McNAIR, 
10-70 trans, from Tarves (q.v.) 23rd Jan. 
1929. 

(Congregations united 3rd March 1940.) 



SELKIRK 

The church, which was sometimes called 
the Church of the Forest, has been claimed 
to be St Mary s Kirk of the Forest in which 
in 1297-8 the Scottish Parliament met and 
gave to Sir William Wallace investiture as 
Guardian of the Kingdom, though Yarrow 
Church, St Mary s Kirk of the Lowes, is 
generally assumed to have been the meeting 
place. In 1511-12 the church was rebuilt. 
Apparently there was delay with regard to 
the steeple, but that it was erected, if not 
then, certainly at a somewhat later date, 
is shown by subsequent reference to it as 
the "high steeple with four turrets." There 
was in the church an Altar of the Holy 
Rood. There were two aisles, Ker s Aisle 
and Brydone s Aisle. The latter aisle, 
which was repaired in 1617, may have been 
the aisle for which Sir William Brydone, a 
vicar of the church, left money to provide 
a shrine. At dates between 1695 and 1714 
extensive repairs were carried out on the 
church, but in 1735 it had reached an un 
satisfactory condition, and in August 1747 
its walls were removed down to the ground. 
Unfortunately the internal woodwork was 
indiscriminately destroyed, involving two 
painted panels, one of the Merchant Com 
pany s Loft, portraying Justice, blind 
folded and holding scales in the hand, with 
the motto A false balance is an abomina 



tion to the Lord." and the other, on the 
Tailor s Loft, depicting Adam and Eve in 
scanty attire, representing their first effort 
at tailoring. The new church was built in 
1748, the congregation having worshipped 
meanwhile in the Grammar School. In 
1858 attention was directed to the internal 
condition of the church, including its lack 
of accommodation, and a year later it was 
resolved to provide a new building. Op 
position to that proposal and also a k battle 
of sites" caused considerable delay, but 
ultimately the building of a new church 
was begun in 1861 on a site on the upper 
portion of the Back Brae Park in the north 
part of the town, and the church itself was 
opened for worship on 1st Feb. 1863. It is 
noteworthy as being constructed of dressed 
whinstone. On the carved label-stop on 
the right side of the doorway is a repre 
sentation of the proverbial kirk mouse. 
The roofless walls of the old church, with 
the aisle of Murray of Philiphaugh on the 
south side, stand in the churchyard in the 
Kirk Wynd. In the belfry hangs the bell 
which, as being the parish bell, was re 
moved from the Council House in 1748. 
In 1113 Earl David, son of King Malcolm, 
founded at Selkirk, apparently near his 
forest castle, a monastery under the invoca 
tion of St Mary the Virgin and St John the 
Evangelist, and in it he placed 13 reformed 
Benedictine Monks from the Abbey of 
Tiron in Le Perche, one of their number, 
Ralf by name, being made first abbot. 
Thirteen years later Earl David, then 
David I, with the advice of John, Bishop 
of Glasgow, and on the ground that Selkirk 
was "a place unsuitable for an Abbey," 
removed the monastery and erected it "at 
the Church of the Blessed Virgin on the 
banks of the Tweed beside Roxburgh in 
the place called Calkou" (Kelso). William, 
also of Tiron, was the 2nd Abbot of Sel 
kirk, 1115-16, and the 3rd was Herbert, in 
whose time the change took place. The 
forest castle of Selkirk may have been on 
the Peel Hill at Haining, near Selkirk. 
[Craig-Brown s Hist, of Selkirkshire, i, 
74-5, ii, 229-32; Recs. of Selkirk Heritors, 
i, 186, 190, 234, 236, 252, 274; ii, 32; Reg. 
of Kelso, i, 4, 5 and vii.] 



154 



SELKIRK YARROW 



[PRESB. OF SELKIRK 



JOHN GOULD, reader and teacher of 
youth 1563. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Roxburgh, etc.] 

THOMAS CRANSTOUN, vicar. 
1574 [Acts and Dec., Ii, 147.] 

ALEXANDER DOUGLAS, pres. to 
vicarage 12th Feb. 1572-3 on death 
of Sir John Stevenson. [Reg. Pres. 
Bene., ii, (4), 69.] 

PATRICK SHAW, marr. Ann, daugh. 

1596 ^ ^* r ^ ames Murrav f Philiphaugh, 
and had issue Hugh of Kelsoland; 
Marion (marr. 3rd June 1624 Dugald 
Stewart, merchant, Edinburgh). 

THOMAS WILKIE, son of Thomas W., 
1627 min. of Lilliesleaf, reader here, after 
wards of Lilliesleaf. 



1634 



JOHN SHAW of Newmains and Holm- 
shaw, died before 19th March 1698; 
marr. Anne, daugh. of Mungo 
Murray of Ochtertyre, and had issue 
Patrick, M.D., buried 7th Nov. 1675; 
James of Clackmannan; George of Red- 
heugh; Christian (marr. John Rutherford, 
min. of Yarrow), and others (Vol. ii, 194). 
[G. R. Sas., 2 Sen, xiii, 291 ; 3 Ser., i, 147.] 

ALEXANDER COOPER, M.A., died 

before 6th Nov. 1694, when his 

widow, Magdalene Watson, was 

resident with one child aged 16 in Tron 

Parish, Edinburgh. [Tron Par. Poll Tax 

Roll, 26.] 

DAVID BROWN, marr. (2) cont. 24th 

Nov. 1735 Janet Scott, widow of 

Walter H., surgeon; his eldest son, 

David, apothecary, London. [Reg. of 

Deeds, Dal., 175, 2nd April 1754.] 

JAMES FARQUHARSON, his widow, 



1857 
1946. 



Martha Hector, died 10th Dec. 1923; 
his daugh., Agnes, died 27th Feb. 



GEORGE LAWSON, D.D. (Aberdeen, 
1899 27th March 1929), retired in favour 
of assistant and successor 7th Oct. 
1930; died 25th Dec. 1937. 



YARROW 

The church may have been the meeting 
place of the Scottish Parliament which 
invested Sir William Wallace with the 
guardianship of the kingdom. A fire in the 
spring of 1922 destroyed all save the walls 
of the church, but the building was restored 
on a handsome scale. At Catslacknowe 
there was a well bearing the name St 
Philip. [Craig-Brown s Hist, of Selkirk 
shire, i, 74-5; Mackinlay s Anc. Ch. Dedi 
cations (script.) 247.] 

WILLIAM MERITOUN, parson. 
156- [Acts and Dec., xxxv, 277.] 

JAMES CASTLELAW, parson. [Acts 
1565 and Dec., xxxv, 277.] 

THOMAS CRANSTOUN, vicar. 
1574 [Acts and Dec., Ivii, 147.] 

JAMES FISHER, line 2, for "26" 
1635 read "6." 

JOHN CLAPPERTON, was min. of 
1666 Woo ^ nouse m England 1659; his 
sons John, apprentice to William 
Hume, merchant, Edinburgh, 12th Feb. 
1673; Richard, apprentice to James Home, 
merchant, Edinburgh, 9th Aug. 1676; 
James, writer, Edinburgh. 

JOHN RUTHERFORD, marr. Chris- 



1691 



tian, daugh. of Gilbert Shaw of 
Lauriston. 



ROBERT RUSSELL, pres. 23rd March 
1791 1791. 

JAMES RUSSELL, his widow, Janet 



1841 



Margaret Shand, died 30th Dec. 



1919; his son, Robert, died Port 
land, Oregon, 28th March 1944. 

ROBERT BORLAND, his widow, 
Anne Haddon, died 14th March 
1922. 



1883 



1912 



ROGER SANDILANDS KIRK- 
PATRICK, licen. 13th May 1881; 
D.D. (Edinburgh, 1924); died 14th 

April 1943. Addl. publication Play fair in 

St Andrews (St Andrews, 1930). 



SYNOD OF DUMFRIES 



PRESBYTERY OF LOCHMABEN 



APPLEGARTH and SIBBALDIE 

When Applegarth and Sibbaldie were 
united on 24th June 1609, it was desired 
that the church of the united parish should 
be at Applegarth. [Acts ofParl., iv, 441.] 

JOHN YOUNG, his daugh., Marion 
(marr. John Maitland of Clontree). 
[Dumfries Sas., 31st May 1636.] 

THOMAS THOMSON, his widow, 
Marion, marr. (2) John Kennedy, 
merchant, Dumfries. 



1682 



WILLIAM DUNBAR, editor of Niths- 
1807 dale Minstrel. 



DAVID LANDALE, his son, David of 
Dalswinton, died 6th Sept. 1935; 
his daugh., Jane Jardine, died 28th 
July 1946. 



1862 



1900 



ANDREW SCOULAR GALBRAITH 
GILCHRIST, M.C., died suddenly 
12th Oct. 1929; his daughs. Janet 
Graham, born llth Dec. 1904 (marr. 23rd 
Sept. 1933 Leslie James Hastie, accountant, 
Royal Bank, Meigle). 

DALTON 

From James VI and the Lords of Council 
special commission was received by John 
Spottiswood, Archbishop of Glasgow, to 
visit in the bounds of Annandale ( in the 
parts sometyme called the borders") and 
"take order for building and repairing of 
the kirks within the samyn." The report 
of the Archbishop bore that the povertie 
of the inhabits in these parts is so great that 
it is impossible that the said kirks can ather 
be repaired or yet be sufficientlie planted 



with ministers in regard of the meannes of 
the parochines, unless certain of the said 
kirkis ly and next adjacent to other be 
united and annexit together." Following 
upon the report, Parliament by Act of 24th 
June 1609 effected various unions, one of 
which was Meikle Dalton, Little Dalton, 
and Mouswald, with the church at Little 
Dalton to be the church of the united 
parish. Later, by Act of July 1615 the 
Privy Council decreed that the Church of 
Mouswald be "the place of preaching, 
etc., for the parishes of Dalton and Mous 
wald. A further step was taken on 18th 
June 1633 when Parliament disjoined the 
Kirk of Meikle and Little Dalton from 
Mouswald, and ordained that Meikle and 
Little Dalton "be ane severall cure and 
paroche kirk per se fra Mowswald." The 
other unions carried out by the Act were, 
Cummertress and Trailtrow; Gretna and 
Redkirk; Kirkpatrich-Fleming and Kirk- 
connel; Middlebie, Carruthers, and Pen- 
nersaughs; St Mungo and Tundergarth; 
Applegarth and Sibbaldie; Hoddam, Eccle- 
fechan, and Luss (Luce); Hutton and 
Corrie; also St Leonards and Lanark (q.v.}. 
[Acts Scott. Parl., iv, 441, v, 520; Reg. 
Privy Council, x, 375; see Little Dalton.] 



JOHN LIVINGSTON, reader 1563. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 

ROBERT KIRKLAND, probably 
chaplain to Alexander Murray of 
Broughton, 1705; marr. Geills, 
daugh. of James Paton, merchant burgess, 
Glasgow; his daugh. and heiress, Mary 
(marr. Robert Drew, portioner of Auchen- 
leck). 



1563 



1715 



155 



156 



D ALTON HUTTON and CORRIE 



[PRESB. OF 



ALEXANDER SHEPHERD, his son, 



1853 



William Alexander, died 5th Aug. 
1929; his posthumous daugh., Jane 
Sophia, born 1868. 

JAMES CLOW BRYCE, his widow, 
1868 Agnes Smith, died at Edinburgh 
29th Nov. 1925 aged 90; his daugh., 
Marianne Douglas, died 23rd Nov. 1873; 
Jenny assumed name of Douglas on suc 
cession to property, died Moffat 1 3th Sept. 
1947. 

CHARLES EDWARD PATERSON, 



1870 



his widow, Alison Barbara Cruick- 
shank, died 4th March 1924. 



ROBERT DONALDSON, his widow, 



1875 



Rose Emma Coventry, died 18th 
Feb. 1919. He died 5th Nov. 1917. 



WILLIAM ANDREW KNOWLES, 



1918 



trans, from West Coates (q.v.) 21st 
March 1918, dem. 20th Nov. 1938; 
died 19th Feb. 1942. He compiled and 
edited Prayers for Divine Service (1923 and 
1929). 



LITTLE DALTON 

JOHN CARRUTHERS, son of John 
C. of Holmains; pres. by his father 
to parsonage 26th Dec. 1565. 
[Anderson s Prot. Book.] 

SIR JOHN BRYCE, vicar of Dumfries 
16Q8 1566; died before llth Oct. 1608, 
when he is called last vicar. [Reg. 
Sec. Sig.] 



1611 



WILLIAM HAMILTON, M.A., trans 
ferred his residence to Mouswald in 
1615, when by Act of Parliament 
the Church of Mouswald became the 
church of the united parish, of which he 
still continued min. 



DRYFESDALE 

ROBERT HERRIES, his daugh., 



1616 



Katherine (marr. John Carruthers, 



yr. of Dormont), died Dec. 1656.- 
[ Dumfries Sas., 8th April 1639.] 



GEORGE BROWN, residing in Dal- 
keith 1707; his son, John, appren 
ticed to Thomas Carruthers, sta 
tioner, Edinburgh, 16th April 1707. 

JAMES SHORT, son of James S., 
1698 merchant burgess, Edinburgh. 

GABRIEL GULLAN, his son, John, 
1 __ 1 apprenticed to David Home, litster, 
Edinburgh, 6th Feb. 1744. 

MATTHEW CLEGHORN, line 5 and 
1?65 6, for "18th Aug." read "15th 

Nov. 

ROBERT HILL WRIGHT, pres. by 
1843 Crown 28th Aug. 1843. 

JOHN ARCHIBALD JOHNSTON, 



188 _ 



died Marchmount, Dumfries, 24th 



Aug. 1931; his wife, Agnes Ander 
son, died 14th June 1920. 

STUART CRAWFORD PARKER, 

trans, to Belmont, Glasgow, 9th 
Dec. 1919. 



1914 



GEORGE TOD WRIGHT, ord. 6th 
April 1920; trans to St Serf s, Edin 
burgh, 5th April 1927. 

JOHN CHARLTON STEEN, born 
Kilmarnock 1898; son of James S., 
teacher, Paisley; educ. at Paisley 
Grammar School and Univ. of Glasgow; 
M.A. Served with Argyll and Sutherland 
Highlanders and later 2/1 Lanarkshire 
Yeomanry in Great War 1917-19; assistant 
lecturer in Italian and Comparative Litera 
ture, Glasgow Univ., 1922-3; licen. by 
Presb. of Glasgow, 1926; assistant North 
Berwick; ord. 3rd Aug. 1927. Marr. 7th 
Sept. 1927 Jemima Izat, daugh. of Alexan 
der Fletcher, freeman of London, and had 
issue Elizabeth Paton Fletcher, born 18th 
June 1929; Mairi Maclean, born 6th May 
1932, died 30th Jan. 1933; James Clement 
Charlton, born 18th May 1930. Publica 
tions A Wayside Venture (an allegory), 
The Journal of a Scottish Recluse. 

HUTTON and CORRIE 

When Hutton and Corrie were united on 
24th June 1689, it was decreed that the 



LOCHMABEN] HUTTON and CORRIE KIRKPATRICK JUXTA 



157 



church of the united parish should be at 
Hutton. [Acts of Par I., iv, 441.] 

ROBERT RAYNING, reader at Ruth- 
1586 well 1571. 



1702 



GEORGE YOUNG, delete "son of 
Patrick Y. of Auchensheoch " ; he 
was grandson of George Y., min. 
of St Mary s, Glasgow; educ. at Univ. of 
Edinburgh, M.A. (6th Sept. 1699). He had 
issue John, physician, Coldstream, born 
26th April 1706; George, born 5th Dec. 
1708; William, min. of this parish; Eliza 
beth, born 10th Aug. 1712; Sophia, born 
4th Feb. 1715; Christian, born 22nd March 
1716 (marr. George Laidlaw in Craik- 
haugh); Mary, born 4th April 1718; Henry, 
born 29th April 1720, surgeon, H.E.I.C.S., 
died St Helena; Margaret, born 4th Jan. 
1722 (marr. 1756 William Moffat, mer 
chant, London); Alison, born llth June 
1724 (marr. 1766 John Laidlaw, Galloway), 
died 30th June 1777. 

THOMAS BAIN, licen. 5th Dec. 1871; 



1875 



his widow, Margaret Morton, died 
2nd Sept. 1927. 



JOHN CHARLES MACK, dem. 2nd 
1903 March 1934; died 8th Dec. 1939. 

JOHNSTONE 

ADAM WILKIE, reader in 1576 and 
1578. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 



1576 



STEPHEN JOHN HOWITT, dem. 15th 
at Moffat 8th Dec. 



,ono 
1898 



1939. 



KIRKMICHAEL 

The old parish of Garrel or Garvald was 
perhaps united with Kirkmichael in 1662, 
not 1674. 

JOHN KIRKPATRICK, second son 
of Alexander K. of Kirkmichael, 
pres. to vicarage and parsonage 22nd 
Jan. 1604, long vacant since the death of 
John Thomson. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiv, 
128.] 



JOHN BREMNER, died at Edinburgh 
1876 28th Aug. 1925. 

ROBERT WILSON FORBES, M.A., 

trans, from Freuchie 1 1th Oct. 1918; 
trans, to Methlick 29th Jan. 1925. 



1918 



ROBERT WILSON TURNBULL, born 
1925 Hawick 7th May 1893, son of Adam 
T., schoolmaster, Hawick, and Helen 
Paterson; educ. at Hawick High School 
and Univ. of Edinburgh, M.A. (1913), 
B.D. (1919); served as Lieut., Black Watch 
and Royal Scots Fusiliers, in France; 
licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh 1915; assis 
tant Tron Church 1915; assistant Hawick 
1919; ord. to Dunsyre llth March 1921; 
trans, and adm. 5th June 1925. Marr. 12th 
Aug. 1916 Catherine Russell, daugh. of 
Joseph Strang, and has issue Helen Blair 
Paterson, born 21st April 1920; Katherine 
Margaret Strang, born 28th June 1922; 
Dorothy Annie Wilson, born 15th Jan. 
1925; Evelyn Josephine Cathels, born 1st 
June 1929; Adam Michael Gordon, born 
29th Dec. 1935. 

GARREL 

United to Kirkmichael, 1662. 

THOMAS BROWN, reader in 1567-72. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum- 

/ . -i 

fries, etc.] 



KIRKPATRICK JUXTA 

MUNGO NIVEN, reader in 1563 and 
1 567. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 

%. j -i 

Dumfries, etc.] 

JOHN HAMILTON, reader. [Acts and 
1574 Dec., Iv, 14, 16.] 

JOHN COLQUHOUN, cbrk of the 



1612 



diocese of Glasgow in 1560, when 



Sir Humphrey Colquhoun, parson 
of Kirkpatrick, resigned his parsonage in 
his favour in the hands of James, Arch 
bishop of Glasgow. In same year Sir 
Humphrey made a similar resignation in 
favour of Sir James Laing, chaplain of the 
diocese of Glasgow, which does not seem 
to have received effect. [Colquhoun Cartu 
lary, 415.] 



158 



KIRKPATRICK JUXTA LOCHMABEN 



[PRESB. OF 



1664 



ROBERT MERCHISTON, M.A., resi 
dent with his daugh., Agnes, in 
Lady Tester s parish, Edinburgh, 
1st Nov. \694.[Lady Tester s Poll Tax 
Roll, 31.] 

WILLIAM BRODIE, licen. 18th June 
1875; dem. 20th May 1918; died 



1877 



at Moffat 15th Feb. 1935. 



1918 



WILLIAM LOGIE FINLAYSON, born 
1st April 1887, son of Joseph Sage 
F., min. of Burntisland; educ. at 
Univ. of Edinburgh, M.A. (1909), B.D. 
(1912); licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh 1912; 
assistant Glasgow Cathedral; ord. 17th 
Sept. 1918; killed on railway line near 
Beattock 5th Feb. 1937; unmarr. 

LOCHMABEN 

Robert de Brus, son of Robert de Brus, 
lord of Annandale, whom he predeceased 
in 1191, granted the church with its lands, 
teinds, and possessions to the Priory of 
Giseburn (Guisborough) in Cleveland, 
Yorks, which had been founded by his 
grandfather, Robert de Brus, in 1129. By 
the said Robert de Brus, lord of Annandale, 
who died in 1194, William, his son and 
successor, and William the Lion, charters 
confirming the grant were given apparently 
about the close of the 12th century. In 1223 
the monks of the priory and the Bishop of 
Glasgow, between whom had arisen dif 
ferences as to the effect of the grant, 
reached a settlement whereby the monks 
retained the tithes of the corn of the church, 
and received 3 merks yearly from the rector 
for the maintenance of lights, and the 
bishop had the right of collation and ordi 
nation to the church and the dependent 
chapel of Rokele. There was in the church 
an altar dedicated to the Virgin Mary. In 
1592 the church was burned by the John- 
stones of Annandale, in order to compel 
the surrender of the Maxwells of Nithsdale, 
who, defeated in a fight with the John- 
stones, had fled to the church for refuge. 
Its place was taken by a Gothic building 
with large choir, which was demolished in 
1818; and the new church was opened in 
the following year. In the parish there was 



a chapel dedicated to St Thomas, appa 
rently the Apostle. [Dugdale s Monas- 
ticon, vi, Pt. 1, 266-9; Reg. Epis. of Glasgow, 
i, 105, 106-7, ii, 619-20; Reg. Great Seal, 
ii, 1650; McDowall s Dumfries, 318; 
McKinlay s Ancient Ch. Dedications, 
(script.) 258.] 



1561 



ROBERT JOHNSTON OF CARRIS- 

TAN, 2nd son of John Johnston of 
that ilk, and his wife Marion or 
Mariota Maxwell; pres. to the parsonage 
by his father before 1561, but the appoint 
ment may have been a lay one; still parson 
13th June 1587. [Reports Hist. MSS. 
Commis., xxiv, 33; Reg. Great Seal, iv, 
2889; Reg. Sec. Seal, Ixiii, 363; Annandale 
Family Bk., i, Pref. Ixi; Acts and Dec., Ivii, 
42; Cal. of Charters, xiii, 2192.] 

JAMES MAXWELL, min. 8th March 
1567 1575-6. [Edin. Tests., vi, 44.] 

WILLIAM JOHNSTON, pres. to 
vicarage in 1592 on death of Robert 
Johnston of Cariston. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., Ixiii, 263.] 

JOHN JOHNSTON, successor to above. 
1596 [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixviii, 27.] 

GEORGE GRAHAM, son of Thomas 
G., min. of Stronsay. Marr. (1) 
Christian, daugh. of William Max 
well, Bishop elect of Bath and Wells, (2) 
Margaret, daugh. of John Teviotdale, and 
was resident with his wife and children in 
Tron Parish; had issue George, merchant, 
Barbadoes; Margaret (10); James (8); 
Christian (6); John (2). [Tron Poll Tax 
Roll, 50.] 

WILLIAM STEEL, line 10, for "Mar 
garet" read "Barbara"; his daugh. 
Juliana (marr. cont. 19th and 21st 
Oct. 1721). 

THOMAS LIDDELL, marr. 16th Nov. 
1850 1835. 



1675 



DAVID NEILL RAE, died 16th Jan. 
1923; his widow, Eleanor Alexan- 
drina Mackezie, died at Stonehaven 
17th Feb. 1940. 



1881 



LOCHMABEN] 



LOCHMABEN MOUSWALD 



159 



1925 



JOHN McCOLL, trans, to Gartsherrie 
1915 16th Sept. 1924. 

RICHARD GIBB, trans, from Lochee 
(q.v.) 17th Feb. 1925; has issue- 
John Watson, born 21st Oct. 1921; 

James Craig Scott, born 22nd March 1924; 

Richard Forbes, born 30th July 1927; 

Margaret Elizabeth Donald, born 3rd Oct. 

1932. 

MOFFAT 

JOHN WARDLAW, M.A., son of 
John W. of Torrie and Elizabeth 
Beaton; vicar of Peebles 28th March 
1557-8; rector here before March 1561-2; 
also held the perpetual chaplainry of the 
Chapel of St Andrew in the barony of 
Brunton, West Lochore; resigned before 
16th April 1582. [Reg. Mag. Sig., iv, 
2468; Reg. Sec. Seal, xlviii, 146; Wardlaws 
in Scotland, 59-60; Acts and Dec., xlviii, 
267.] 

DAVID MAYNE, reader 1563. 



1561 



1563 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 



STEPHEN WILSON, parson; pres. to 



1583 



the parsonage 16th April 1582; 



designed "domestic servitour to 
Our Sovereign Lord s deceist spous" 19th 
Dec. 1590; pres. to H.M. Master Elemo- 
zear. [Reg. Sec. Sig., xlviii, 146; Ixi, 105.] 

GEORGE BUCHANAN, M.A., was 

dep. by the General Assembly at 
Glasgow 21st Nov. to 20th Dec. 
1638 for declining the Assembly, and con 
tinuing in his contumacy and refusing to 
compear before the Commission; and on 
appeal the Assembly at Edinburgh 26th 
Aug. 1 639 reaffirmed the sentence. On 2nd 
July 1639 Charles I addressed a letter to 
James, Lord Johnston, desiring him to see 
that "Mr George Buchanan, minister at 
MorTat" be maintained in his place and 
no other man planted at the church; and 
by another letter of 13th July the King 
forbade the Presb. of Lochmaben and 
Middlebie to proceed further against him 
or to admit any other man to his church 
"as they intend to do." Lord Johnston 



and the Presbytery acted in spite of the 
royal letters; and as the sentence of the 
Assembly at Edinburgh 26th Aug. 1639 
designates Mr Buchanan as min. at Kirk 
cudbright, it would appear that he was 
adm. to the latter charge between 2nd July 
and 26th Aug. 1639. [Peterkin s Recs. of 
the Kirk, p. 261; Reports Hist. MSS. 
Commis., xv, App. ix, 47.] 

JOHN LEARMONTH, marr. Jean 
Dalziel. [G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., iv, 425, 
25th July 1653.] 

GEORGE MILLIGAN, marr. Miss 
1695 Johnstone of Corehead. 

JOHN GIBSON MACVICAR, his son, 

Symon Douglas, died at Inver- 

moidart 27th Feb. 1932; his daughs. 

Agnes Gibson, died 24th Aug. 1920; 

Margaret Macdonald, died 23rd Jan. 1922; 

Katherine Bickwell of Invermoidart, died 

10th March 1939. 

DONALD CAMPBELL BRYCE, his 

widow, Louisa Wilhelmina Buchan, 



1884 



died at Renwick Manse, Dunscore, 



3rd March 1939. 



ROBERT SOMERS, died 12th Oct. 
1921; his widow, Jane Lamb, died 



1891 



9th Dec. 1938. 



GILMOUR NEILL, adm. 28th Dec. 
1921 ; trans, to Drumelzier 21st May 
1926. 

JOHN LAURIE FARQUHAR, born 

13th Aug. 1894, son of Robert F. 

and Annie Laurie; educ. at Univ. of 

Glasgow, M.A. (June 1920); licen. by 

Presb. of Hamilton, 1921; ord. to Kingston, 

Glasgow, 19th Sept. 1922; trans, and adm. 

5th March 1926. Marr. 17th July 1934 

Gunheld Margaretta, daugh. of Chr. 

Rannestadt, Ekely, Fredrikstadt, Norway. 



MOUSWALD 

For union of Meikle Dalton, Little 
Dalton and Mouswald and to the ultimate 
disjunction, see Dalton. 



160 



MOUSWALD ST MUNGO 



[PRESB. OF 



SIR MARK CARRUTHERS, rector 



1567 



and chaplain 1548; prebendary of 
Lincluden 1559; vicar and reader 
1567-73. [Comps. Sub Coll of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.; Anderson s Prot. Book.] 

THOMAS WEIR, exhorter in 1569 and 
1672. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 



1569 



WILLIAM HAMILTON, his daugh., 
1615 Janet. 

ALEXANDER MAKGOWAN, his 
son, Thomas, provost of Irvine, died 
1711. [G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., ix, 282.] 



1637 



JOHN GILLESPIE, his widow, Jessie 
Kirkwood Crichton Patrick, died at 
Dumfries 5th April 1930; his daugh., 

Jean Crichton, died Bridge of Allan 12th 

Nov. 1948. 

ALEXANDER MOIR, trans, to Powis, 
1916 Aberdeen, 24th June 1924. 

THOMAS McGINN, born 23rd Dec. 



1924 



1890, son of John M. and Agnes 



McLean; educ. at Annbank School 
and Univ. of Edinburgh; D.C.M. for war 
service; licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh 19th 
Dec. 1923; assistant St John s, Edinburgh; 
ord. 28th Oct. 1924; trans, to Roslin 8th 
Dec. 1933; trans, to Bedrule 15th June 
1945. Marr. 18th July 1919 Joan Ewenson, 
daugh. of Sinclair Sutherland Spence. 

ST MUNGO 

St Mungo and Tundergarth were united 
by Act of Parliament 24th June 1609, the 
church to be at Tundergarth. The parishes 
were disjoined, probably in 1650. [Acts 
ofParl.,iv,44l.] 

WILLIAM HOUSTON, M.A., pres. to 



1575 



vicarage on death of Sir James Max 
well. [Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, (4), 38.] 



JOHN McCONZIE, parson 12th April 
1585 1585. [Sher. Court Books.] 

DAVID MILLAR, M.A., min. of 
Annan, pres. to parsonage and 
vicarage 5th Jan. 1591-2 on death 



of William Houston. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Ixiii, 112.] 

WILLIAM BELL, son of B., Black- 



1601 



na ttoun, 



. to parsonage and 



vicarage 3rd March 1601 on death 
of Sir Robert Maxwell of Castlemilk. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxii, 17.] 

JAMES MURRAY, marr. Agnes, 
daugh. of William Carruthers of 
Denbie (she marr. (2) James John 

ston of Lockerbie) and had issue John, 

James and George. 

DAVID DICKSON, pres. 6th Dec. 
1784 1783. 

ANDREW JAMESON, son of 
1803 Thomas J. 

JOHN MEIN AUSTIN, pres. by Crown 
26th July 1861; line 11, after 
"farmer" add " of Dykehead. " 

JAMES PROPHET, pres. by Crown 

27th June 1868; his son, James Max 

well Grant, died at Calcutta 19th 

Dec. 1924 aged 65, and left 219,000 for 

tuberculosis and cancer research; Robert 

Jamieson died 2nd June 1943. 



LEE McKINSTERY FLEMING, B.A., 

adm. by Gen. Assembly May 1888, 
died 5th Dec. 1925; his widow, 
Emily Yeates, died 27th Jan. 1937. 



1889 



1926 



JOHN DONALD MACFARLANE 
BENNY BEATTIE, born 15th May 
1896, son of John B., merchant, 
Montreal, Canada, and Jeannie Elizabeth 
Alma Macfarlane; educ. at Crichton 
School, Lower Canada College, McGill 
Univ., B.A. (1917), and Univ. of Edin 
burgh. Licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh 28th 
March 1923; assistant St Cuthbert s, 
Edinburgh; served during Great War in 
Canadian Royal Artillery, 1916-18; ord. 
llth Jan. 1925; adm. 17th May 1926; trans, 
to Wilton, Hawick, 23rd June 1931. Marr. 
19th April 1934 Mary Elizabeth Wallace, 
youngest daugh. of Robert Harbiston Gray, 
Glasgow, and Mary Elizabeth Wallace, and 
has issue Jean Elizabeth Mary, born 4th 
Jan. 1936. 



LOCHMABEN] 



TUNDERGARTH WAMPHRAY 



161 



TUNDERGARTH 

ANDREW JOHNSTON, parson. 
1586 [P. C. Reg., iv, 56.] 

JOHN JOHNSTON, slain by David 
Armstrong 1604. [Pit cairn Crim. 
Trials, ii, 441.] 



1604 



WILLIAM JOHNSTON, died before 
llth Oct. 1605, when he is called 
last vicar. [Reg. Sec. Sig.] 



JOHN PATERSON, min. in 1676. 
Marr. 5th April 1667 Rosina, daugh. 
of James Irvine of East Riggs, whom 
he divorced. [Consist. Process, 17.] 



1676 



ANDREW CLERK, nephew of Andrew 
Bell, deacon of the Weavers, Jed- 
1717 burgh. 



HUGH THOMAS SUTHERLAND 
MORRISON, trans, to Kirkcowan 
12th Dec. 1916. 



1902 



JOHN ALEXANDER KERR, M.A., 

ord. 20th April 1917; trans, to Ewes 
22nd Nov. 1918. 



1917 



ROBERT KELTIE, M.A., ord. 6th 



1919 



May 1919; trans, to Kemnay 16th 
May 1924. 

ALLAN MANSON NELSON, for- 
1924 mei "ly Indian Chaplain (#.v.), adm. 



1934. 



19th Sept. 1924; dem. llth Nov. 



WAMPHRAY 

Was previously united to Johnstone. 

JOHN HAITLIE, marr. Alison 
1632 Stewart. 



1697 



JOHN TAYLOR, was dep. by the 
Synod 15th April 1715 for several 
enormities, and the church was de 
clared vacant in following May, but he 
continued in the manse and glebe, and 
intruded in the church by keeping the keys 
and preaching in it Sept. 1716 to Feb. 1717. 
[Justiciary Recs., 1712-17, March 1717.] 

WILLIAM BARRON, line 4, for "5th 
1763 Feb. read 25th April. 

GEORGE WIGHT, his widow, Jessie 
Taylor, died 17th March 1930; his 
daugh., Helena Mary, died at Moffat 
21st March 1941. 



1907 



RICHARD BELL, dem. on app. as 
Lecturer in Arabic in Univ. of Edin 
burgh 5th Dec. 1921; D.D. (Edin.). 

Publication The Origin of Islam in its 

Christian Environment (1926). 

RICHARD MACKIE CLARK, M.A., 



1922 



trans, from Logie, Dundee, 22nd 
June 1922; his wife, Jeanie Scott, 
died 13th April 1932. He marr. (2) 23rd 
June 1937 Isabella, younger daugh. of 
James Crawford, Holmwood, Fairlie, Ayr 
shire; she died 17th Dec. 1938. 



PRESBYTERY OF LANGHOLM 



CANONBIE 

JOHN DOUGLAS, son of William D. 



1606 

200.] 



of Whittinghame and Elizabeth 
Maitland. [P. R. Sas., Edin., xxviii, 



WILLIAM SNODGRASS, his son, 
1877 John Allan, died 8th July 1929. 

ROBERT HOGG KERR, res. as Presb. 
Clerk Dec. 1927, died 12th Sept. 
1930. 



1896 



CASTLETON 

MARTIN ELLIOT, pres. to parsonage 
and vicarage llth July 1574. [Reg. 
Pres.Bene., ii, (4), 23.] 



1574 



WILLIAM VASSIE, died at Kingussie 

1883 7th Sept< 1917 his widow Cecelia 
Pitcairn Playfair, died at Edinburgh 

29th Sept. 1917; his son, William Playfair, 
died at Nottingham 2nd May 1895. 



1918 



JOHN MORRISON McLUCKIE, 

trans, from Lady Yester s, Edin 
burgh, 7th Feb. 1918, died 13th July 
1926. His daugh., Joyce (marr. 15th March 
1933 Robert Bernard Benson, Natural His 
tory Museum, Kensington). 

HAROLD ANDREW COCKBURN, 



1927 



born 12th March 1895, son of 
George Hanna C., schoolmaster, 
Paisley, and Isabella Brodie Marshall; 
educ. Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1921), St 
Andrews, B.D. (1924); S.T.M. (Union 
Seminary of New York, 1925); served in 
Great War as gunner, R.F.A., 1914-18; 
licen. by Presb. of Paisley, 1925; assistant 
St Michael s, Dumfries, 1925; ord. 20th 
Jan. 1927; trans, to St Michael s, Dumfries, 
27th Nov. 1930; liaison officer between 
Protestant Churches in Britain and United 



States, Oct. 1942. Awarded the Norwegian 
Freedom Medal, 1947. Marr. 10th April 
1934 Isabella, daugh. of Dr William Henry 
Manners and Edith Mary Price, and has 
issue Eileen Mary, born 30th Aug. 1935; 
George Hanna Michael, born 13th June 
1937. 

ESKDALEMUIR 

The church was restored in 1907 and 
further improved in 1936. 

JOHN CRAWFORD DICK, his widow, 



1876 



Jane Brown Armstrong, died 27th 
Nov. 1937. 



JAMES RONALD MACDONALD, 

delete line 5, "St Andrews Univ. *; 

ord. 1st Oct. 1902; retired in favour 
of assistant and successor May 1933; died 
21st Oct. 1937; his widow, Emily Sophia 
Nichols, died 4th July 1948. 

EWES 

There were two churches, the Nether 
Kirk situated at Kirktown, and the Over 
Kirk, situated at Unthank. In 1296 there 
swore fealty to Edward I, Robert, son of 
Randolph, parson of St Cuthbert of Ewes- 
dale, and Mr William Cramond, parson of 
the Church of Wynchedurres of Dumfries. 
In a writ of the time of Alexander III, 
1249-85, Robert, parson of the Church of 
St Mark of Ewesdale, appears as a witness; 
and under Edward I of England warrant 
was given to John, Bishop or Ely, chan 
cellor, to issue presentation to John de 
Pontebrugge to the vacant Church of St 
Martin in Ewesdate in Scotland. Obviously 
reference in each case is to the Over Kirk; 
and the probability is that St Mark of the 
earlier writ is an error for St Martin, whose 



162 



PRESB. OF LANGHOLM] 



EWES SAUGHTREE 



163 



name here, in view of St Ninian s influence 
seems appropriate. The Over Kirk was 
abandoned, apparently soon after the 
Reformation. [Rymer s Fed., i, Pt. 3, 35, 
1745; Rotuli Scotiae, i, 25; Registrum 
Honoris de Morton, ii, 8; Cal. of Docs. Rel. 
to Scot., iii, 123, No. 653; Cal. of Papal 
Regs., Letters, xii, 540.] 

ROBERT MALCOLM, line 14, delete 
1717 "llth Sept. 1722." 

RICHARD SCOTT, marr. Mary, 
daugh. of Hector Turnbull of 
Cruicksfield; his son, James, died 
24th Dec. 1826; his daugh., Janet (marr. 
15th June 1791 William Irvine, merchant, 
Glasgow). [Berwick Sas., 17th Dec. 1759.] 

ROBERT SHAW, his daugh., Marion 
Moncrieff, died at Edinburgh 15th 



1816 



July 1925. 



DAVID PRESTON, trans to Titwood 
1901 27th June 1918. 

JOHN ALEXANDER KERR, born 
1918 30th Sept. 1884, son of John K., 
joiner, and Annie Hamilton Kerr; 
educ. at Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1912); 
licen. by Presb. of Glasgow June 1915; 
assistant Eastwood; ord. to Tundergarth 
20th April 1917; trans, and adm. 22nd Nov. 
1918; app. Presb. Clerk Dec. 1927; Chap 
lain T.A., K.O.S.B. Marr. 1st Aug. 1917 
Mary Duff, youngest daugh. of Robert 
Dawson, Dovehill, Pollokshaws, and Annie 
Hamilton Dawson, and has issue Annie 
Hamilton Duff, born 15th Oct. 1918 (marr. 
26th June 1942 Andrew, son of G. S. 
Easton, Todrig, Ashkirk); Mary Dawson 
Hamilton, born 14th Nov. 1928; Janet 
Campbell, born 8th April 1931. 



HALF MORTON 

WILLIAM BROWN CLERK, pres. by 
1839 Crown 26th May 1839. 

JOHN CONACHER WILLIAMSON, 
19Q2 dem. 3rd Feb. 1941, died 13th Feb. 
1946; his daughs. Catherine Doug 
las Conacher (marr. 2nd July 1932 William 



Harland Coghill, min. of Dalziel North); 
Mary Ann Conacher (marr. 26th Dec. 1936 
Peter Margach, C.A., London); Ethel 
Isabel Brown (marr. 27th Dec. 1938 Robert 
Laing, Bredesholm, Baillieston); his wife, 
Catherine Brown, died 15th Nov. 1940. 
His father was schoolmaster of Greenlaw. 



LANGHOLM 

The church was renovated and a magnifi 
cent stained window provided in 1925, and 
in 1928 the hall was extended. 

ALEXANDER MEIKLE, his son, 



1717 



George, apprenticed to Gideon 



1879 



Crawford, bookseller, Edinburgh, 
27th July 1748. 

JAMES BUCHANAN, died 23rd Oct. 
1921; his widow, Maria Vassie, died 
at London, 26th Jan. 1930; his 
daughs. Mary Murray Vassie (marr. 18th 
Feb. 1921 James Thomson Young, India); 
Marion Gowans (marr. 8th Aug. 1925 
David Williams, B.A., curator of Holy 
Trinity, Shaw, Lancashire). 

WILLIAM LINDSAY, trans, from New- 



1922 



battle (q.v.} 3rd March 1922, died at 



Carlisle 6th Dec. 1942. Marr. 7th 
July 1914 Agnes Cowan, elder daugh. of 
James Young, farmer, Dunning, Perth 
shire. Publication The Church and Parish 
of Newbattle , Heroes of the Great War 
(Newbattle, March 1919). 



SAUGHTREE 

WILLIAM NAPIER BELL, dem. 4th 



1910 



Nov. 1920 on app. as assistant to 



Professor of Ecclesiastical History, 
Univ. of Glasgow. 

DAVID SMITH, ord. 31st March 1921; 
trans, to Inverkeithing 12th May 
1922. 



1921 



JOHN SCOTT, B.A., trans, from Dal- 



1922 



keith West 8th Sept. 1922; trans, to 
Anwoth 26th Aug. 1925. 



164 



SAUGHTREE WESTERKIRK [PRESS. OF LANGHOLM 



JOHN WHYTE McGILL, trans, from 
Inverallochy 23rd Dec. 1925; trans. 



1925 



to Colvend 27th Jan. 1927. 



ROBERT DOUGLAS PETTIE, ord. 
13th May 1927, trans, to Cleish 14th 
May 1928. 



1929 



ROBERT FORSYTH McGARRITY, 

trans, from Burray (q.v.) 15th Feb. 

1929, died at Edinburgh 8th May 
1933; his widow, Jeanie Gloag, died 13th 
May 1935. 

WAUCHOPE 



SYMON WYLD, marr. Rosina, daugh. 
of John Brown, min. of Westerkirk. 
He was dead 23rd June 1699. 
[Deeds Dal., 1705, No. 1017.] 



1685 



1683 



WESTERKIRK 

WALTER DALGLEISH. [Reg. of 
1668 Deeds Dal, clviii, 1st July 1745.] 

JOHN BROWN, line 6, for "Mownan" 
reac * " Mow -" H i s daugh., Rosina, 
marr. Symon Wyld, min. of Wau- 
chope. 

JOHN MEIN. Addl. issue Isabel 
(marr. Thomas Mein in Kelso); 
Janet (marr. Andrew Mein in New- 
stead); John, surgeon. 

WILLIAM LITTLE, his daugh., Eliza- 
1779 beth (marr. Archibald Kean, M.D.). 

JOHN GILLIES, dem. 18th Nov. 1948; 
1Qlft his daugh., Agnes Grace Thomson 
(marr. 7th Sept. 1938 Alastair Dun 
can Cameron, Gourock). 



PRESBYTERY OF ANNAN 



ANNAN 

Robert de Brus, son of Robert de Brus, 
lord of Annandale, whom he predeceased 
in 1191, granted the church with its lands, 
teinds, and possessions to the Priory of 
Giseburn (Guisborough) in Cleveland, 
Yorks, which had been founded by his 
grandfather, Robert de Brus, in 1 129 Con 
firmation charters were granted by the said 
Robert de Brus, lord of Annandale, who 
died in 1 194, and by his son and successor, 
William, and King William the Lion, 
apparently about the close of the 12th 
century. In 1223 the monks of the priory 
and the Bishop of Glasgow, between whom 
differences had arisen as to the effect of the 
grant, reached a settlement whereby the 
monks retained the tithes of corn of the 
church and received 3 merks yearly from 
the rector for the maintenance of lights, 
and the bishop had the right of collation 
and ordination to the church. Early in the 
17th century Annan was without a place 
of worship, and the place being so misert 
ably impoverished" that the people "no- 
hable to build a kirk to themselves," 
James VI "granted and disponed to the 
town and parish the house called the 
Castle of Annan, the hall and tower 
thereof to serve for ane kirk and place of 
convening to heiring of the word and 
ministrations of the Sacraments. On 24th 
June 1609 Parliament ratified grant "with 
power to repair, redifie, flitt, and remove 
the stones and timber thereof to ony place 
they think most convenient for building 
their kirk when they should find them 
selves thereto." The present church was 
built in 1790. [Dugdale s Monasticon, vi, 
Pt. 1, 266-9; Reg. Epis. of Glasgow, 105-7, 
ii, 419-20; Acts Scott. Par I., iv, 441.] 

A new church hall was erected and 
opened in Oct. 1929 and improvements in 



the church and its furnishings were effected 
in 1913. [The Church of Annan, by A. 
Steel, 1934.] 

ADAM BARTON, parson July 1560 
and llth March 1582. [Dumfries 
Sheriff Court Books.] 

THOMAS CRANSTON, pres. to the 
158Q vicarage 29th July 1580 on death of 



Andrew 
Bene., ii, 37.] 



Rankane. [Reg. Pres. 



SIR ANDREW RENTON (? Rankane), 
parson, vicar 1584. [Comps. Gen. 
Coll. of Thirds.} 

DAVID MILLAR, pres. to St Mungo 
,. 5th Jan. 1591-2. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 

JOoo ... ., ., _ _ 

xxin, 112.] 
JAMES MAXWELL, pres. to par- 



1588 



sonage llth Feb. 1588, on dem. of 



Sir Andrew Rankane. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., lix, 20.] 

JAMES FRENCH, pres. to parsonage 

1605 anc ^ v ^ cara e m 1605 on death of 

Andrew Renton. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 

Ixxxiv, 355.] 

SIMON JOHNSTON, son of Robert J. 
1 607 ^ ^ aec eucri an d Barbara Douglas. 
Marr. (1) Marion Douglas and had 
issue Enoch; William; Margaret; Sara or 
Anna; Elizabeth. He marr. afterwards 
twice. 

WILLIAM MONCRIEFF, son of 
1754 Andrew M. and Marion Dron. 



1783 



WILLIAM HARDIE MONCRIEFF, 

his daugh., Elizabeth (marr. George 
Rome). 



165 



L* 



166 



ANNAN DORNOCK 



[PRESB. OF 



NEIL McCAIG, B.D. (Glasgow, not 
Edinburgh). Addl. issue Joyce, 
born 19th May 1920; Sheila (marr. 
12th July 1947 Alexander Irving, Annan). 
Publication The Model Community (Ser 
mon) (Stockwell) 1912. 

BRYDEKIRK 

COLIN ARCHIBALD ARTHUR 
188? MACVEAN, dem. 3rd Nov. 1930; 
died from effects of an accident at 
Edinburgh Royal Infirmary 12th May 1933; 
his widow, Jane Pollok Heron, died at 
Glasgow 13th Feb. 1941. 

CUMMERTREES 

SIR JOHN TAYLOR was in 1561 vicar 
and reader here and at Penpont, 
exhorter 1561-72 and 1584, parson 

13th Aug. 1565, died before 30th May 1599. 

[Coll. Gen. of Thirds, 1561-96; Reg. Mag. 

Sig., iv, 1657; Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixix, 271.] 

JOHN CARLYLE, for "Keith" read 
"Kelhead"; pres. to parsonage and 
vicarage 30th May 1599 on death of 
Sir John Taylor. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixix, 271 .] 



1605 



JAMES FRENCH, M.A., pres. to 
P arsona e an d vicarage 7th Aug. 
1605 on death of Sir John Taylor. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiv, 374.] 



JOHN ALEXANDER, min. here in 
1683 1683. [Reg.ofDeeds,Mack.,lii,S3.] 

WILLIAM JOHNSTONE, pres. by 
1870 Crown 27th July 1870. 



1881 



ALEXANDER SINCLAIR NICOL, 

line 8, delete "died at Bournemouth 
25th Nov. 1916" and read "died 
20th March 1920"; his widow, Dinah Ann 
McFaden, died at Harrogate 2nd March 
1940. 

GEORGE WILSON HAMILTON, 



1920 



M.A., B.D., ord. 4th Aug. 1920; 



dem. 1st Oct. 1925 on app. to 
Knightswood. 

CHARLES FRANCIS McCAUGHEY, 

1926 born Ballymena, Antrim, son of 

Thomas Charles M., solicitor, Perth, 



and Wilhelmina W. McClelland; educ. at 
Royal Belfast Academical Institution, 
Trinity College, Dublin, B.A., M.A.; 
General Assembly College, Belfast; licen. 
by Presb. of Belfast 30th May 1917; ord. 
Helen s Bay, Co. Down, 16th March 1920; 
trans, and adm. 13th Jan. 1926; trans, to 
St Paul s, Perth, 5th Dec. 1929. Marr. 19th 
Aug. 1931 Janet Grieve, eldest daugh. of 
John Wallace, Seafield, Cummertrees. 



TRAILTROW 

Robert de Brus, son of Robert de Brus, 
lord of Annandale, whom he predeceased 
in 1191, granted the church, with its lands, 
teinds, and possessions, to the Priory of 
Giseburn (Guisborough) in Cleveland, 
Yorks, which had been founded by his 
grandfather, Robert de Brus, 1129. Con 
firmation charters were granted by the said 
Robert de Brus, lord of Annandale, who 
died in 1194, and his surviving son and 
successor, William, and by William the 
Lion apparently about the close of the 1 2th 
century. In 1223 the monks of the priory 
and the Bishop of Glasgow, between whom 
had arisen differences as to the effect of 
the grant, reached a settlement whereby 
the monks were to retain the tithes of corn 
of the church, and the bishop was to 
exercise the power of collation and ordina 
tion to the church. When Cummertrees 
and Trailtrow were united in 1609, it was 
decreed that the church of the united parish 
be at Trailtrow. [Dugdale s Monasticon, 
vi, Pt. 1, 266-9; Reg. Epis. of Glasgow, \, 
105-7, ii, 619-20; Acts Scott. Pad., iv, 441. 
See Dalton.) 

ARCHIBALD MENZIES, M.A., par 
son and exhorter 1561-9. [Comps. 
Gen. and Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 

JOHN GRAHAM, vicar 1584. 
1584 [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.] 

DORNOCK 

SIR JOHN MORTON, parson 17th 



1583 



Sept. 1583. [Cal. of Charters, xii, 
2678.] 



ANNAN] 



DORNOCK GRETNA 



167 



GEORGE CLEGHORN, line 4, for 
1612 "Clarence" read "Sarah." 

JAMES MOFFAT, his daugh., Janet, 
died 1734 (marr. Irving of Wood- 
hall). 



1694 



JAMES HUNTER, assistant at 
1715 Sanquhar. 

JAMES ALEXANDER ROBERTSON, 

died 26th Nov. 1925; his son, 



1901 



Robert Reid, min. of Carriden; his 
widow, Elizabeth MacKnight Reid, died at 
Edinburgh 5th March 1945. 

CHARLES EDWARD STEWART, 

born Downfield, Dundee, 19th Nov. 

1896, son of James S., Invertay, 
Downfield, Dundee, and Jessie Warner; 
educ. at Harris Academy, Dundee, and 
Univ. of St Andrews, M.A. (1922); licen. 
by Presb. of Dundee April 1924; assistant, 
St Mark s, Dundee, and St Mary s, Dun 
dee; ord. 8th April 1926. Marr. 10th Aug. 
1927 Helen Clark, M.A., elder daugh. of 
James West water, 6 Tannadyce Street, 
Dundee, and Agnes McLeod. 

GREENKNOWE 

GEORGE GARDNER, his daugh., 



1858 



Marion Craig (Mrs Boyd), died 24th 
Dec. 1937. 



1928 



JOHN COLQUHOUN THOMSON, 
1879 died 27th May 1927; his widow, 
Jean Maclean, died at Sidcup 31st 
Dec. 1941, aged 74. 

JOHN RODERICK MACPHERSON, 

f rmerl y f Ev * e (<7- v -); trans, from 
St Cuthbert s, Glasgow, and pres. 
by the Presb., jure devoluto 27th March 
1928; dem. 17th March 1930; trans, to 
Cummertrees 17th May 1930; adm. to 
Kinlochleven 15th May 1931; trans, to St 
Andrew s, Kirkintilloch, 15th Jan. 1936. 

(Parish united with St Andrew s, Annan, 
March 1930.) 

GRETNA, KINPATRICK 
or REDKIRK 

Robert de Brus, son of Robert de Brus, 



lord of Annandale, whom he predeceased 
in 1191, granted the church with its lands, 
teinds, and possessions to the Priory of 
Giseburn (Guisborough) in Cleveland, 
Yorks, which had been founded in 1 129 by 
his grandfather, Robert de Brus. Charters 
of confirmation were granted by the said 
Robert de Brus, lord of Annandale, who 
died in 1194, by his surviving son and 
successor, William, and by William the Lion, 
apparently about the close of the 12th 
century. In 1223 the monks of the priory 
and the Bishop of Glasgow, between whom 
differences had arisen as to the effect of the 
grant, reached a settlement whereby the 
monks retained the tithes of corn of the 
church, and received 3 merks yearly from 
the rector for the maintenance of lights, 
and the bishop had the right of collation 
and ordination to the church. [Dugdale s 
Monasticon, vi, Pt. 1, 266-9; Reg. Epis. of 
Glasgow, i, 105, 106-7, ii, 619-20.] 

ARCHIBALD MENZIES, M.A., par 
son and exhorter 1561-7. [Comps. 
Coll. Gen. and Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 

BLAISE HAMILTON, pres. to par- 

1 ___ sonage and vicarage of Rinpatrick 

20th Oct. 1575, on dem. of Archi 

bald Menzies. [Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, (4), 

37.] 

THOMAS MAXWELL, pres. on death 
1 __ Q of Archibald Menzies. Reg. Pres. 
Bene., ii, 19.] 

DAVID WOOD, son of James W., 
1608 baxter burgess, Edinburgh. 

THOMAS HENDERSON, his son, 
1667 Thomas, min. of Morton. 

JAMES RODDICK, his son, James, 
1828 min. of Lybster. 

WILLIAM BELL, his widow, Charlotte 
1865 Heathfield, died 17th Jan. 1934. 

JOHN OWEN STAFFORD, killed in 



1906 



son 



Kenneth James, Lieut. R.F.A., died 
of wounds at Rouen 14th Nov. 1918; his 
widow, Mary Tweedie, died 23rd Jan. 1949. 



168 



HODDAM KIRKCONNELL 



[PRESS. OF 



HODDAM 

When Hoddam, Ecclefechan, and Luss 
(Luce) were united on 24th June 1609, it 
was decreed that the church of the united 
parish be at Hoddam, "near the town 
thereof." It is said that in the parish of 
Hoddam, St Mungo built churches and 
placed his see for a time before transferring 
it to Glasgow. [Acts Scott. Parl., iv, 441; 
Watson s Celtic Place Names, 169. See 
Dalton.] 

ANDREW LANG, M.A., parson, died 
1571 before 20th April 1 571 . 

SIR PATRICK LOCH, died before llth 



1608 



Oct. 1608, when he is called last 
vicar. [Reg. Sec. Sig.] 



JOHN ALEXANDER, son of John A., 



1610 



burgess of Easter Anstruther, and 
Barbara Balfour. [G. R. Sas., Ivii, 

99; 2 Ser., xii, 172; Acts and Dec., cccciii, 

210.] 

ALEXANDER ORR, his son, William, 
1729 midshipman in East Indies, 1763. 

GEORGE ROSS, his daugh., Christina 
Laing, died at Bathgate 13th June 
1927. 



1878 



JAMES CHARLES GILLIES COLVIN, 
1899 was assistant at St Michael s, Dum 
fries; dem. 31st Oct. 1947. 



KIRKPATRICK FLEMING 

ROBERT JOHNSTON, pres. on death 



1577 



of Peter Stewart. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 
ii, (4), 64.] 



JAMES CHALMERS, signs list of 
parishioners 15th Sept. 1684; resi 
dent with his wife and four children 

in the Canongate 8th Nov. 1694. [P. C. 

Reg., 3 Ser., ix, 623; Canongate Poll Tax 

Roll, 1694.] 

JAMES GOWANLOCK, his daugh., 
1694 ^ gnes ( marr - Daniel McClaren, 
surgeon, in Lorn). [Reg. of Deeds, 
Dal, clxi, 18th March 1747.] 



1927 



ALEXANDER MONILAWS, his 

1784 daugh., Margaret (marr. 15th March 

1830 Dr. John Aitken, Edinburgh). 

JOHN MURDOCH, his daugh., Joanna 
1845 Leonora, died at Calgary, Canada, 
13th April 1935. 

JOHN WALKER, trans, to Duntocher 
1906 1st Oct. 1926. 

WILLIAM WILSON FYFFE, born 
Old Deer 30th Dec. 1900, son of 
Robert Bullett F., estate factor, and 
Agnes Wilson; educ. at High School and 
Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1922), B.D. 
(1925); licen. by Presb. of Perth 5th June 
1925; assistant at Airth and St Mary s, 
Dundee, 1926; ord. 3rd March 1927; died 
unmarried 30th May 1938. 

KIRKCONNELL 

Robert de Brus, son of Robert de Brus, 
lord of Annandale, whom he predeceased 
in 1191, granted the church with its lands, 
teinds, and possessions, and the Chapel of 
Logan, to the Priory of Giseburn (Guis- 
borough) in Cleveland, Yorks, which had 
been founded by his grandfather, Robert 
de Brus, in 1129. Confirmation charters 
were granted by the said Robert de Brus, 
lord of Annandale, who died in 1194, and 
his surviving son and successor, William, 
and by William the Lion, apparently about 
the close of the 12th century. In 1223 the 
monks of the priory and the Bishop of 
Glasgow, between whom differences had 
arisen as to the effect of the grant, reached 
a settlement whereby the monks were to 
retain the tithe of corn of the church and 
the teinds of the Chapel of Logan, and the 
bishop was to exercise the power of colla 
tion and ordination to the church. When 
Kirkpatrick-Fleming and Kirkconnel were 
united in 1 609, it was decreed that the church 
of the united parish be at Kirkconnel. 
[Dugdale s Monasticon, vi, Pt. 1, 266-9; 
Reg. Epis. of Glasgow, i, 105-7, ii, 619-25; 
Acts Scott. Pad., iv, 441.] (See Dalton.) 

STEVEN CRICHTON, exhorter 1563. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum- 

,- . i 

fries, etc.] 



ANNAN] 



KIRTLE RUTHWELL 



169 



KIRTLE 

ROBERT WILLIAM MALSEED, his 
wife, Ellen Beatrice Irving, died at 
Edinburgh 5th June 1926; dem. 2nd 
Oct. 1945. 



1908 



MIDDLEBIE 

When Middlebie, Carruthers and Pen- 
nersaughs were united in 1609, it was de 
creed that the church of the united parish 
be at Middlebie. [Acts of ParL, iv, 441.] 

JOHN LAURIE, marr. Ann, daugh. of 
1744 William Bell of Scotsbrig. 

ABRAHAM NIVISON, his daugh., 
1785 Margaret (marr. 13th April 1830). 

ERNEST HAMILTON DUKE, educ. 



1903 



at Rugby School; dem. 22nd Oct. 

1947; his daugh., Elizabeth Theo 
dora (marr. 15th June 1929 Seton Steuart 
Crichton Mitchell, Lieut. R.N.); his son, 
Walter Derek, Major, Gordon High 
landers, missing at Singapore, March 
1942. 



1563 



RUTHWELL 

JOHN IRELAND, reader, designed 
rector 2nd March 1560 but con 
formed; parson, vicar and reader 
1563-72. [Comps. Gen. Coll and Sub 
Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.; Laing Char 
ters, 111.] 

ROGER LAWSON, had issue, Eliza- 



1675 



beth; Janet; Sara; Grizel. [Reg. of 
Deeds, Durie, 1706, No. 671.] 



HENRY DUNCAN, nephew of Thom 
son, author of The Seasons , Dum- 



1799 



fries erected a statue to him. 



JOHN LINTON DINWIDDIE, D.D. 

(Edinburgh, 28th June 1935); died 
21st Jan. 1936. His wife, Agnes 
Margaret Melville, died 14th Dec. 1923; 
his sons James Linton Norris, M.B., 
Ch.B., died 23rd Oct. 1932; Melville, 
D.S.O., min. of St Machar, Aberdeen, 
Regional Director, B.B.C. for Scotland; 
Noel Alexander Williamson, M.A., B.Com. 
(Edinburgh, 1925), bookseller, Dumfries. 
Publications Editor of Gallovidian. 



PRESBYTERY OF DUMFRIES 



CAERLAVEROCK 

The church belonged to the Collegiate 
Church of Lincluden. There was in the 
church an altar dedicated to the Virgin 
Mary. [Reg. Mag. Sig., vi, 777.] 

JOHN PATERSON, vicar 16th Dec. 



1558 



1558, continued as vicar and reader 



to at least 1572. [Comps. Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.; Reg. of Abbrev. of 
Feu Charters of Church Lands, i, 203; 
Chronicles of Lincluden, 28.] 

NINIAN DALZELL, died 21st April 
1574 1587. See Colvend. 

EDWARD MAXWELL, pres. to 



1578 



vicarage 26th Nov. 1578 on dem. of 



Sir John Paterson. [Reg. Pres. 
Bene., ii, 28.] 

DAVID ROGERS, was min. of Dal- 
garnock when pres. here in 1605. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiv, 407.] 



1605 



HERBERT GLEDSTANES, line 2, for 
1611 "1612" read "1611." 

WILLIAM McGEORGE, line 6, for 
"son" read "nephew"; his son, 
William, was of Ingliston. 



1613 



ROBERT GILLIES, marr. Margaret 
Anne, daugh. of William Irvine, 



1833 



Soultra. 



JOSEPH CURRIE LORRAINE, his 

daugh., Helen Scott, died 17th May 
1923. 

THOMAS DALE McILVEAN, dem. 
1892 1st Oct. 1930; died 16th March 1932. 

COLVEND 

NINIAN DALZELL, vicar, reader, 
1562 1 562, probably trans, to Dalgarnock. 



WILLIAM LOGAN, vicar 1562. [Reg. 
1 _~ of Abbrev. of Feu Charters of Church 
Lands, i, 214.] 

JOHN LOGAN, reader, afterwards of 
1567 New Abbey (q.v.). 

ARCHIBALD MENZIES, M.A., 
1571 reader 1571-6, also at Morton (q.v.}. 

JOHN TAYLOR, pres. to vicarage 1st 
15?9 July 1579 on death of Archibald 
Menzies. On 30th July George 
Oliver, parson and vicar of Southwick, was 
ordered to give him possession of the 
vicarage and exercise of the office of reader. 
[Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 19; Cal. of Charters, 
x, 2523.] 

WILLIAM TAYLOR, pres. to vicarage 
on death of Sir John Taylor, his 
brother. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixix, 266.] 

DAVID MURRAY, son of Sir Charles 
M. of Cockpool, pres. to vicarage 
9th May 1598 on death of Sir John 
Taylor. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixix, 262.] 

ROBERT STRACHAN, delete father s 



1671 



name, as he could not have been 



son of min. of Kincardine o Neil. 
[Forfar Sas., xv, 16.] 

JOHN WATSON, his MS. Sermons in 
1715 Museum at Thornhill. 

JAMES ERASER, his widow, Jessie 



1844 



Ker Pagan, died at Dalbeattie 19th 



May 1922; his son, Malcolm, died 
31st Dec. 1928; his daugh., Annie Mc- 
Diarmid, died at Edinburgh 2nd Feb. 1922. 

JOHN CHALMERS, died at Edinburgh 
4th March 1917; his widow, Janet 
Mitchell, died 6th May 1919. 



1902 



170 



PRESB. OF DUMFRIES] COL VEND ST MICHAEL S 



171 



JAMES GARROW BERRY, B.D., 



1917 



trans, from Leslie, Aberdeen (q.v.), 



2nd Aug. 1917; dem. 16th June 1926 
and became min. of Presb. Church, 
Fredericton, New Brunswick (q.v.). 

JOHN WHYTE MACGILL, formerly 

Q1 _ of Inverallochy (q.v.); trans, from 

Sauchtree 27th Jan. 1927; died 1st 

Jan. 1937; his widow, Edith Sarah Luxton, 

died Edinburgh 19th Jan. 1947. 

DALBEATTIE 

JOHN MACKIE, licen. 16th May, 1877; 

187? line 8, add before "1885" "29th 

Oct."; died at Ichbesham, Coonan, 

India, 3rd July 1929; his widow, Elizabeth 

Smith Brown, died 14th Oct. 1930. 

LEWIS McGLASHAN, trans, to Men- 
1907 muir 12th July 1929. 

ST MICHAEL S, DUMFRIES 

The church, with the Chapel of St 
Thomas, a toft belonging to the chapel, 
and 5 acres of land given by William the 
Lion to the church and chapel, was granted 
to Kelso Abbey by William the Lion, 1 165- 
1214. There were in the church an Altar 
of Our Lady of Pity, an Altar of the Holy 
Blood, founded by William Cunninghame, 
burgess of Dumfries, in the aisle of the 
Virgin Mary, apparently on 15th Nov. 
1506, an Altar of St Gregory, founded 
apparently on 5th Nov. 1508 by Sir Herbert 
Gladstone, Rector of Dornock, an Altar 
of St Andrew founded 24th July 1 547 by 
Sir David Wallace, son and heir of late 
Adam Wallace, burgess of Dumfries, and 
a Chapel of St Nicholas. Doubtless there 
were an Altar of the Virgin Mary in the 
aisle bearing her name, and an Altar of St 
Nicholas in the chapel bearing his name. 
In St Nicholas Chapel there was a chantry 
in honour of God, the Virgin Mary, and 
All Saints, the erection of which was con 
firmed by David, Earl of Carrick, on 27th 
Dec. 1394, the endowment being two stone 
houses on the east side of the Market 
Cross of the burgh. In or near the Gallow- 



gait of the burgh there was a Chapel of St 
Mary of Willies; and in the liberty of the 
burgh there was the Chapel of St Mary of 
Casteldykis, to which pertained i acre of 
the lands of Kingisholme near the chapel. 
In the territory of the burgh there was a 
Chapel of the Virgin Mary, commonly 
called lie Casteldikis. On 8th May 1537 
Roger Macbrair, Provost of the burgh, and 
Herbert Cunningham and Edward John- 
stone, bailies, on behalf of the community, 
granted to John Makilreve, custodier and 
administrator of the chapel, and his heirs 
male, 4 acres of land called the Chapelland, 
held by the late Duncan Ferguson, Andrew 
Ferguson, and Patrick Ferguson, custodiers 
and administrators in the said chapel, with 
houses, buildings, gardens, and orchards, 
lying at the said chapel, bounded by the 
High way, the rivulet flowing from the 
well of the chapel, a piece of the common 
land occupied by Thomas Welsche, and the 
common lands, the custodier being held 
bound to provide for the celebration of 
certain masses. [Reg. Sec. Seal, i, 3998, 
1302, liv, 55; Reg. Great Seal, ii, 3010, 3335; 
iii, 862, 2083; iv, 2246; Spalding Mis., v, 
250-2.] 

SIR PATRICK WALLACE, min. 21st 
Jan. 1561-2; son of John W. and 



1561 



Marieta Forrester; chaplain 1543, 
curate of Dumfries 1543-59; reader 15th 
Dec. 1570. [Trans. Dumfries and Galloway 
Antiq. Socy., 1936, 111; Edin. Tests., vii, 
156.] 

ALEXANDER AUCHENLECK, M.A., 



1563 



min. in 1563. [Comps. Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Dumfries, etc., 173.] 



SIR JOHN BRYSON or BRYCE vicar 



1572 



17th May 1566, 23rd March 1572-3, 



3rd March 1578. [Acts and Dec., 
Ixii, 9; Edin. Tests., vii, 149.] 

JOHN SINCLAIR, formerly chaplain 
of St Ninian s Altar; reader, pres. 
to vicarage of Bolton 16th Aug. 
1575. [Reg. Sec. Sig., xlv, 71.] 

THOMAS MAXWELL, reader in 1585. 
1580 [Reg. of Assig., 44.] 



172 



ST MICHAEL S ST MARY S 



[PRESB. OF 



THOMAS RAMSAY, marr. Elspeth 

1605 Jh nston re li ct f Matthew Poole, 
merchant and burgess of Edinburgh. 
[G. R. Sas., xxxi, 28, 7th June and 25th 
July 1631.] 

HUGH HENDERSON, his son, 
Alexander. [Kirkcudbright Sher. 
Court Deeds, 2233.] 

WILLIAM VEITCH, line 14, for 



1694 



Hanamhall read Harnamhall ; 



line 15, for "Seaton" read "Stan- 
ton"; col. 2, line 2, for "sent" read 
"sentenced, but not sent 28th July 1674"; 
line 12, after "Scotland" add "2nd Nov. 
1687." Publications, line 2, for " Com 
mons" read "Commissioner"; add a True 
copy of the last sermon, etc. (Edin., 1720). 

ROBERT PATON, trans, to Second 



1715 



Church 13th Nov. 1727; his daugh., 
Mary, died 23rd May 1788. 



ROBERT WIGHT, his daughs. Jean, 



1732 



born 6th Jan. 1728; Mary, died 1st 



June 1815; Janet (marr. Walter 
Murray); Belle, died 24th Jan. 1789. 

JOHN DUNCAN, pres. by Crown 7th 
1865 Feb. 1865. 

JAMES ERASER, pres. by Crown 29th 

1867 Oct. 1866. 

ALEXANDER BRYSON, pres. by 

1868 Crown 8th Oct. 1867. 

JAMES BARCLAY, pres. by Crown 
1871 18th Oct. 1870. 

JOHN PATON, pres. by Crown 30th 



1874 



1908 



July 1874; his daugh., Catherine 
Isabella, died 8th Sept. 1932. 

JAMES MONTGOMERY CAMP 
BELL, licen. 3rd. Moderator of 
General Assembly 19th May 1928; 
dem. 16th May 1930; died at Edinburgh 
13th Feb. 1937; his wife, Agnes Grey, died 
28th Nov. 1935. 

SECOND CHARGE 

PATRICK LINN, marr. 2nd July 1724 
Alison, daugh. of William Charteris 
of Brigmuir and widow of John 
McMurdo, min. of Torthorwald. 



GREYFRIARS 

ANDREW GRAY, pres. by Crown 
1858 18th June 1858. 

MALCOLM CAMPBELL TAYLOR, 
1862 pres. by Crown 13th Sept. 1862. 

DONALD MACLEOD, pres. by Crown 
1866 26th Oct. 1865. 

ROBERT WALTER WEIR, pres. by 
1868 Crown 20th Jan. 1868, died at 
Colinton 23rd Sept. 1925; his 
widow, Jessie Macdonald Macvicar, died 
at Colinton 8th Sept. 1933. Addl. publica 
tion Notes on the History of the Christian 
Unity Association of Scotland (Edin., 1917). 

JAMES BRYCE JAMIESON, trans. 
1911 to Dalziel 26th July 1929. 

ROBERT ALEXANDER KING, D.D., 
1929 K.I.H., born 30th April 1873, son 
of Robert K., Edinburgh, and Janet 
Blair; educ. at Winnipeg Collegiate School 
and Manitoba College, B.A. (1895), M.A. 
(1911) Univ. of Edinburgh, B.D. (1900), 
D.D. (Toronto, 1910); licen. by Presb. of 
Winnipeg 1898; Member of Canadian 
Church College, Indore, India, 1902; 
Fellow of Univ. of Allahabad; Member of 
Council, Univ. of Agra; adviser on educa 
tion to British Administration of Central 
India and Inspector of High Schools for 
Central India; adm. 14th Nov. 1929; died 
at Edinburgh 30th Jan. 1947. Marr. 14th 
Aug. 1902 Annie Kidston (died 1st Feb. 
1947), daugh. of John Murray, Brandon, 
Manitoba. Publications Lecture Notes on 
Economics and Logic; various articles on 
Missions and Religious Types, in Canadian 
and Scottish papers. 



ST MARY S, DUMFRIES 

The endowment granted by Robert I to 
the Chapel of the Holy Rood was 100s. 
sterling annually from the revenue due to 
him from the barony of Caerlaverock. It 
was given for perpetual celebration for the 
soul of Sir Christopher Seton, "our be 
loved kinsman slain in our service," on 
account of the good will and affection 



DUMFRIES] 



ST MARY S HOLYWOOD 



173 



1877 



which the King had entertained for him. 
[Reg. Great Seal, i, App. i, 61, ii, 318.] 

ANDREW FYFE, line 2, delete "born 
1840 1796." 

ALEXANDER CHAPMAN, died at 
Chorley Wood, Herts, 12th June, 
1919. 

ROBERT GORDON MILLAR, killed 
1915 in action llth May 1917. 

WALTER McINTYRE, ord. 18th Oct. 
1917 1917; trans, to Logic 24th Jan. 1922. 

DAVID BROWN, ord. 30th June 1922; 
trans, to West St Giles, Edinburgh, 
24th Sept. 1925. 

ROBERT PAUL FAIRLIE, trans, from 



1925 



New Ardrossan (<7.v.) 14th Jan. 

1926. Addl. issue Margery Chris 
tine Carrick, born 5th Aug. 1919; Joyce 
Florence Wilson, born llth Feb. 1924; 
Archibald Robin Paul, born 7th March 
1933. 

DUNSCORE 

Among the witnesses of a charter of 
Edgar, son of Donald, in the time of King 
William the Lion, is Murchereach, priest of 
St Capre of Dunescor (Dunscore). There 
were four saints named Cairbre (Cairpre, 
Coirpre), but there is nothing to show 
which was associated with Dunscore. On 
18th March and 8th April 1645 the Synod 
decerned that a new church be built by the 
heritors and parishioners at Dalgonar, near 
the centre of the parish; and that was rati 
fied by Act of Parliament on 13th Feb. 
1647. The church, manse and churchyard 
dykes were completed before 16th March 
1649. The church was rebuilt in 1823. 
[Acts Scott. ParL, vi, (1), 697, vi, (2), 345, 
719a; Reg. Great Seal, viii, 127; Charters 
of Holyrood, 213.] 

SIR JOHN WELSH, superior of the 
1562 Monaster y f Holyrood; pres. to the 
perpetual vicarage 27th Nov. 1562 
by Thomas, Commendator of Holyrood, 
and acted as reader at least to 1572 both 
parsonage and vicarage. [Cal. of Charters, 



ix, 1896; Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 

JOHN JAMESON, reader 1574-5, son 
of a laird in the parish and formerly, 
31st Dec. 1543, chaplain of Dum 
fries and vicar here 1545. [Anderson s 
Prot. Book.] 

GEORGE HERIOT, pres. to vicarage 
on death of Alexander Gardiner. 



1574 



1602 



[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiii, 105.] 



WILLIAM 
1664 "Burnet." 



B E N N E T, read 



ALEXANDER MELDRUM, became 
1683 min. of Glendevon 1688. 

JAMES GILCHRIST, excommunicated 
1701 14th March 1718. 

ROBERT BRYDON, his mother, 
1822 Margaret Meickeson. 

JOHN HOPE, presented by Crown 29th 
1843 July 1843. 

ROBERT SIMPSON, his widow, Agnes 



1886 



Campbell Stout, died at Glasgow 
12th July 1933; his daugh., Mar 
garet Hilda, M.A., died 3rd March 1920. 

ALEXANDER MASTERTON, died 
1904 30th March 1930. 



HOLYWOOD 

At Berwick-on-Tweed on 28th Aug. 1226 
Dugald, Abbot of Holywood (St Bryce) 
swore fealty to Edward I. The reference 
to the saint is not clear. [Cal. of Docs. 
Scot., ii, 196.] 

MUNGO MAcGHIE, was vicar pen 
sioner in 1537 and reader in 1567. 
[Reg. Mag. Sig., v, 115; Reg. of 
Abbrev. Feu Charters of Church Lands, i, 1 17.] 

JAMES BETOUN, min. at Glencairn, 
1574 reader here. 

JOHN SINCLAIR, reader at Kirk- 

1579 mahoe (q.v.\ also in charge here. 

HERCULES STEWART, pres. to 

1580 v i car ~P ens i nar y 4tn Mav 158 on 
death of Mungo MacGhie. [Reg. 

Pres. Bene., ii, 357.] 



174 



HOLYWOOD KIRKGUNZEON 



[PRESB. OF 



JOHN MAXWELL, reader, pres. to 
vicar-pensionary 29th Jan. 1582-3. 



1582 



[Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 84.] 



JAMES MAXWELL, son of John M., 
4 min. of Glencairn, pres. to vicar- 
pensionary 1st Feb. 1584-5 on dem. 
of Robert, son of Archibald Newall, bur 
gess of Dumfries, with consent of his father 
and vacant by dem. of John Maxwell, 
sometime vicar or by death of Hercules 
Stewart. Under Lochmaben he is de 
scribed as son of James M., min., whereas 
he himself was min. of Lochmaben (q.v.}. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., lii, 22.] 



JAMES MAXWELL, son of George M., 
min. of Mearns, pres. llth Feb. 
1633; afterwards of Kirkgunzean. 
[Pres., vi, 123.] 



1633 



1665 



JOHN MALCOLM, buried at Dum 
fries 20th March, 1716; marr. (1) 
Agnes Charteris; (2) Janet, buried 
20th Jan. 1732, and had issue Agnes, 
buried 4th Aug. 1690; John, buried 16th 
Aug. 1690; Anna, buried 10th Aug. 1691; 
Jean, buried 17th Oct. 1695; Alexander, 
merchant, buried 3rd April 1708; Isobel, 
buried 13th Dec. 1730; William; his daugh., 
Marion, marr. (2) John Kennedy, mer 
chant, Dumfries. 

JOHN McCOMBIE, died at Dumfries 
1899 10th Oct. 1947. 

JOHN WATT, born Tynron; educ. at 



1928 



Royal Univ. of Ireland, Magee 
College, B.A.; trans, from Bucklyvie 
(q.v.) 8th June 1928, died 26th Dec. 1933. 



KIRKBEAN 

The church was built in 1776 and rebuilt 
in 1825. 

CHARLES HUME, reader 1563. 



1563 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 



WILLIAM SOMERVILLE, vicar before 



1566 



1566 and in 1585. [Acts and Dec., 
xxx, 333; Iviii, 328; Ixi, 165.] 



ROBERT BROWN, min. at Weshing- 
toun 28th May 1648. [P. R. Sas., 



1637 



Dumfries, v, 235.] 



CHARLES ARCHIBALD, his widow, 
Jean Porteous, marr. (2) George 
Gledstanes, min. of Urr. 

ANTHONY MURRAY, son of Thomas 
1660 M., advocate, and Jean Murray. 

HUGH CLANNY, M.A., performed 

irregular marriages and baptisms at 

New Abbey Sept. 1714, July 1715 

and Oct. 1716. [Justiciary Records, 1712- 

17.] 



WILLIAM STEWART, was latterly 
Collector of Customs at Dumfries 
3rd March 1753. [Reg. of Deeds, 
Mack., 468.] 



1733 



JAMES HOGG, line 2, for "1st" read 
1745 "3rd"; line 3, for "19" read "8." 

JOHN DOUGLAS COCHRANE, was 

assistant at Inveresk; died 25th Nov. 

1941. His wife, Isabel Cochrane 
Martin Mackenzie, died 12th March 1930; 
He marr. (2) 2nd Sept. 1937 Mary, daugh. 
of Alexander Wright and Jane Hyslop. 

KIRKGUNZEON 

The patron saint is Findbarr of Moyville, 
who was for some time in Whithorn, and 
whose death is recorded in 579. The alter 
native name of the church in the 12th and 
13th centuries, Kirkwynnin, contains the 
Welsh form of Finnan or Finnen, which is 
a diminutive of the name of Findbarr. By 
Bull of 3rd Feb. 1216 Pope Innocent III 
confirmed to the Abbey of Holm-Cultram 
in Cumberland the Chapel of Kyrke- 
wynnin, which the abbey had held for 
forty years in peace by concession or con 
firmation of Jocelin, Bishop of Glasgow 
1175-99. In the time of Pope Honorius 
III, Walter, Bishop of Glasgow, challenged 
the right of the abbey to the chapel, com 
plaining that the monks of Holm-Cultram 
had usurped churches in his diocese and 
expelled the clergy, and craving that the 
chapel should be restored, but eventually 
on 27th May 1222 he agreed that the abbey 



DUMFRIES] 



KIRKGUNZEON KIRKMAHOE 



175 



should hold the chapel in accordance with 
the confirmation of Pope Innocent and 
Bishop Jocelin. In the latter part of the 
14th century and early part of the 15th, the 
wars between Scotland and England ren 
dered somewhat precarious the abbey s 
hold upon the chapel, now a church, with 
the result that the church was "of little 
profit" to the abbey, and its services 
suffered from neglect, being carried out, 
not by a monk of the abbey as formerly, 
but "now by one priest, now by another"; 
and on 17th June, 1391, Pope Clement VII 
(anti-Pope), on a petition of the Abbot of 
Holm-Cultram, committed the church tem 
porarily to Thomas de Glenluce, of that 
monastery. Subsequently the church was 
granted in commendam to various persons; 
and later still, on a petition of Patrick 
Leche, Clerk, of the Diocese of Glasgow, 
M.A., which stated that on account of the 
commends which had gone on for forty 
years, it would be difficult for the union of 
the abbey and the church to take effect, and 
that the church had been so long void that 
there was no certain knowledge of the mode 
of voidance. Pope Martin V on 27th Sept. 
1424 gave mandate to the Official of Glas 
gow to summon the interested parties and 
make enquiries, and, if he found the facts 
as stated, to suppress both the commends 
and the alleged union, and collate said 
Patrick to the church. What emerged is 
not clear; but before 20th April 1447 the 
abbey had ceased to have any right to the 
church, which was then in lay hands, 
possibly the family of Herries of Terregles. 
Towards the close of the 18th century the 
medieval church was almost a ruin. Its 
roof, of peculiar construction, is said to 
have been formed at Holm-Cultram in 
Cumberland, and brought hither when the 
parish of Kirkguneon belonged to the 
Abbey." In 1790 it was replaced by the 
present church. [Reg. and Recs. of Holm- 
Cultram Abbey, 21, 48, 49, 51, 53-4; Cal. 
of Papal Regs., Petitions, i, 385, 576, 
Letters, vii, 67, 344, x, 280, xi, 261, 625, 
xii, 45, 225; Reg. Great Seal, i, 282, App. ii, 
1574, ii, 3446; Watson s Celtic Place 
Names, 165; Johnston s Place- Names of 
Scot., 223, 228.] 



NICOL EDGAR, reader 1563. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum- 

.. . -. 

fries, etc.] 
JAMES MAXWELL, trans, from assis- 



1643 

there. 



tant at Kingarth 1643; was trans, to 
Holywood but perhaps not settled 



JAMES EWER GILLESPIE, died 9th 



1865 



March 1918; his widow, Agnes 



Isabel Murray, died at Dumfries 
15th July 1923, aged 75; his sons Garnet, 
died 21st April 1917; Hope Murray, died 
at Eastwood, Notts, 18th May 1927; Angus 
died 5th Oct. 1932; his daugh., Mary Char 
lotte, died 30th Jan. 1946. 

JAMES TAYLOR LORNIE, trans. 



1918 



from Cawnpore (q.v.) 20th Aug. 

1918, died 24th Jan. 1923; his 
widow, Marjorie A. Jackson, died 7th 
April 1945. 

JOHN WILSON BAIRD, M.A., ord. 
1923 8th June 1 923 ; trans, to St Andrew s 
Second Charge 3rd Sept. 1925. 

ROBERT LOVE HUNTER, trans. 



1926 



from Townhead, Glasgow 



15th Jan. 1926; dem. llth Nov. 
1932, died 12th Dec. 1933; his widow, 
Annie Mackay Macmillan, died 20th Feb. 
1934. 

KIRKMAHOE 

The church was restored at its centenary 
in 1926. The saint is Mo-Choe, evidently 
Mocha of Clendrium on Loch Cuan 
(Strangford Loch). [Watson s Celtic Place 
Names, 162.] 

WALTER STEWART, M.A., parson 



1564 



1564, rector 10th Jan, 1567-8. 



[Reg. Sec. Sig., xxxvii, 31; Reg. 
Abbrev. Feu Charters of Church Lands, i, 
293.] 

JOHN SINCLAIR, reader, declared an 
15 _ 9 apostate llth Aug. 1590. [Reg. 
Privy Council, xiv, 373.] 

GEORGE HERIOT, marr. (2) cont. 
9th March 1631. [Prot. Book 
Walter Logan, 7th June 1632.] 



176 



KIRKMAHOEKIRKPATRICK IRONGRAY 



[PRESB. OF 



JOHN WALLACE, said to be 50 years 
f age anc * unm arried 8th Aug. 1 684. 
[P. C.Reg., 3 Ser., ix, 271.] 

JAMES HUME, line 11, for "Auchen- 
1682 son read Aucherson. 

FRANCIS IRVING, a prisoner in 
Dumfries prison 20th April 1685. 



1687 



[Fraser Papers. ] 



JAMES HENDERSON, for "James" 
1696 read "John." 

DAVID GRAHAM, marr. Margaret, 
j _ . , daugh. of William Graham of Moss- 
knowe, and had issue William; 
Archibald; David; John; Mary; Isobel. 
[Reg. of Deeds, Dalrymple, cix, 19th Dec. 
1718.] 

EDWARD BUNCLE, probably son of 

1725 J ames - merchant, Linlithgow, and 

Margaret Jervie; marr. (1) proc. 28th 

Jan. 1728 Margaret (bapt. 28th Aug. 1695). 

ARCHIBALD LAWSON, his wife, 
1750 Mary Guthrie, died 4th March 1820. 

MAXWELL HUTCHISON, line 2, for 
1879 John read George. 

JOHN MACKENZIE FORBES, Ph.D. 

(Edin., 1928), died 26th Jan. 1939; 
his widow, Mary Watson Main 
McTaggart, died 3rd April 1945. 



19Q7 



KIRKPATRICK-DURHAM 

ANDREW EDGAR, reader 1563. 

1563 \- Com P s - Sub Co11 - f Thirds, Dum 
fries.} 



1575 



WILLIAM TURNER, M.A., vicar in 
1559 and 20th March 1560-1; 
reader; pres. to vicarage 1st Dec. 
1575 on death of Thores. [Reg. of Pres. 
Bene., ii, (4), 308; Reg. Abbrev. Feu Charters 
of Church Lands, i, 214; Laing Charters, 167, 
217; Kirkcudbright Sheriff Court Deeds, 
1146.] 



ADAM BROWN, line 2, for "James B. 
mm ^ Kirkpatrick Irongray" read 
"Adam B. of Gorgiemylne. " He 
marr. (2) Janet McMillan. In 1670 he was 



1641 



min. at Haltwhistle in England. [Edin. 
Burgess Roll, 13th Aug. 1656.] 

ALEXANDER SANGSTER, vicar 24th 
, July 1673. [P. R. Sas., Dumfries, 
i, 234.] 

JAMES HILL, had other issue Agnes; 
1699 Jean; Isobel; Helen; Sarah. 

ROBERT MACMORINE, his daugh., 
Elizabeth, died at Dumfries 2nd 



1744 



March 1789. 



GEORGE GREIG, pres. by Crown 28th 
1843 Aug. 1843. 

ANDREW LAIDLAW, pres. by Crown 
1870 26th March 1870. 

WILLIAM ADAM STARK, licen. 1st 



1876 



Dec. 1871; died 22nd Feb. 1927. 



Marr. (2) 1st June 1917 Effie Jane, 
youngest daugh. of Maxwell Palmer, Loch- 
park, Dalbeattie; she died at Castle 
Douglas 23rd May 1921. 

WILLIAM ADAM, trans, to Stanley 
1916 15th Oct. 1924. 

WILLIAM MACKEAN CAMPBELL, 



1925 



trans, from Boquhanran (q.v.) 15th 
May 1925; his wife, Margaret Mag 
dalen Ramsay, died 10th Aug. 1929. He 
died 28th March 1945. 



KIRKPATRICK IRONGRAY 

There was a chapel and a well called the 
Angel s Well situated at the east side of 
the lands of Barnesoul, called Drumdrynie. 
There was also a chapel designated the 
Chapel of the Chapel- Yard. [Anderson s 
Prot. Book, 21; Retours, xxvii, 325; Reg. 
Great Seal, ii, 3446.] 

SIR JAMES BRYCE, vicar 1565-6. 
1 _,_ [Reg. Abbrev. Feu Charters of 
Church Lands, i, 182,276.] 

MICHAEL WIGHTMAN, reader 3rd 
1571 Dec. 1577. [Edin. Tests., viii, 35.] 

JAMES BROWN, delete from issue 
1601 Adam, min. of Kirkpatrick-Durham. 



DUMFRIES] 



KIRKPATRICK IRONGRAY NEW ABBEY 



177 



PATRICK BROWN, min. here in 1646. 
1646 [Dumfries Sas., v, 164.] 

JOHN WELSH, his mother, Martha 
1653 Pont. 

JAMES GUTHRIE, his daugh., Janet, 
marr. 21st Nov. 1763 James Crocket 



1694 



in par. of Holywood. 



DAVID DOW, born 29th March 1798; 
1821 h * s daugh., Ann, died Hth May 
1917, aged 72. 

JAMES WILSON, marr. 26th Oct. 1841 



Isabel, daugh. of Robert Clark, 
S.S.C. His son, Thomas Jackson, 
S.S.C., died 20th Feb. 1932. 

THOMAS UNDERWOOD, his widow, 
Agnes Stewart McGill, died 16th 
June 1922. 



1843 



1857 



SAMUEL DUNLOP, licen. 4th; trans. 
tao . to Old Greyfriars, Edinburgh, 17th 
May 1917. 

JOHN MIDDLETON, LL.D., trans, 
from Kemback (q.v.) 2nd Nov. 1917, 
died at London 21st Oct. 1927. 



1917 



WILLIAM ROCK, M.A., born Glas- 

1928 8 W 21st NOV> 18 " S0n of William 
R., steel worker, and May Taylor; 

educ. Newlands School, Hutchison s 
Grammar School and Univ. of Glasgow, 
M.A. (1922); served in Great War; licen. 
by Presb. of Glasgow March 1925; assis 
tant Greenhead and Bluevale; ord. to St 
James, Kirkcaldy, 13th May 1925; trans, 
and adm. 18th May 1928. Marr. 2nd Sept. 
1925 Helen Heughan, daugh. of Andrew- 
Irving Kerr, Millerston, and has issue 
William Gordon, born 10th Oct. 1928; 
Helen Cochrane Henderson, born 26th 
Feb. 1930; Joycelyn Patricia Kerr, born 
2nd Nov. 1937. 

LOCHRUTTON 

GEORGE ARNOT, vicar, 8th May 
1558, parson of Essie and vicar here 
1566. [Anderson s Prof. Book.] 

NINIAN DALZIEL, M.A., min. in 
1563 1563. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries. ] 



WILLIAM LAING, reader 1563. 



1563 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries.] 



JOHN LITTLE, exhorter 1567 and 1572. 



1567 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 



ROBERT DOUGLAS, M.A., parson 
9th April 1589, Provost of Lin- 



1589 

3003.] 



cluden. [Cal. of Charters, xii, 



JOHN CURROUR, his pres. here when 

1606 reac * er > 28t ^ June 1606 was on 
death of (George) Arnot. [Reg. 

Sec. Sig., Ixxv, 103.] 

ALEXANDER TRAIN. [G. R. Sas., 
1618 Ixi, 373.] 

1728 GEORGE DUNCAN, left a journal. 
THOMAS CROSBY, dem. 13th June 



1884 



1923; died 6th Aug. 1948; his daugh. 



Isobel Helen Murray (marr. 31st 
May 1918 John Rae, master mariner). 

ANDREW LOW McGREGOR MAC- 
1923 KENZIE, born 27th Feb. 1890, son 
of Alexander M., schoolmaster, and 
Agnes Dryburgh Mackenzie; educ. at 
Woodside School and Glasgow Univ., M.A. 
(1911), B.D. (1920); licen. by Presb. of 
Glasgow 1920; assistant Rutherglen; ord. 
llth Oct. 1923; trans, to Crailing 24th 
Sept. 1931. He marr. 10th Dec. 1923 Sarah, 
daugh. of James Carson, and has issue 
Margaret Logan McTaggart, born 21st 
April 1925. 

MAXWELLTOWN 

WILLIAM VILANT GRAHAM, his 



1863 



widow, Watson Allan Smith, died 



19th July 1923; his daugh., Robina 
Williamson, died 19th Feb. 1924. 

DUNCAN MORRISON SLESSOR, 
1897 died 20th April 1937. 

NEW ABBEY 

PATRICK COULL, reader in 1563, 
when designated Dene. [Comps. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 



178 



NEW ABBEY TERREGLES 



[PRESB. OF 



JOHN LOGAN, formerly monk here, 
_ 6 reader in 1569, charged with pro 
faning the Sacraments llth Aug. 
1590. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.; Reg. Privy Council, iv, 375.] 

ARCHIBALD HAMILTON CHAR- 
TERIS, line 2, for "nephew" read 
"grand nephew"; pres. by Crown 
21st March 1859. 

JOHN STEWART WILSON, pres. by 
1863 Crown ^Oth June 1863; his daugh., 
Jane Ewing, O.B.E. (marr. Robert 
Kerr Hannay, Historiographer Royal for 
Scotland and Professor of Ancient History, 
Univ. of Edinburgh), died 14th April 1938. 

JOHN MURRAY WOODBURN, 

1911 trans, to Beith 25th Sept. 1919. 

WILLIAM SUTHERLAND, M.A., 
D.D., M.C., ord. 9th April 1920; 
trans, to Eastwood 8th Jan. 1926. 

ROBERT NINIAN PAISLEY, trans. 
1926 from Ladykirk 30th April 1926; 
trans, to Bolton and Saltoun 8th 
Nov. 1928. 

GEORGE GORDON DUNDAS 
1929 STEWART DUNCAN, formerly 
of St Cuthbert s, Edinburgh, trans, 
from St Paul s, Montreal, to Govan 13th 
May 1921; trans, and adm. 1st March 1929; 
died 19th Oct. 1932. Marr. 10th Oct. 1914 
Catherine Louise, only daugh. of Robert 
Hunt White, Castle Park, Prestonpans, and 
had issue Alastair, born 14th Oct. 1915, 
died 29th March 1916. 



SOUTHWICK 

15.. SIR MICHAEL DYSART, 

SIR JOHN CORSWELL. [Acts and 
1565 Dec., xxxv, 155.] 

GEORGE OLIVER, reader 1567-79. 



1567 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.; Cal of Charters xi, 2537.] 



ARCHIBALD SINCLAIR, M.A., par 
son 1572 and 4th May 1577. [Cal. 



1572 



of Charters, xi, 2439.] 



JOHN THOMAS PATTERSON, dem. 
1900 9tn Jan< 1918 5 was afterwards chap 
lain to Glasgow City Hospitals; died 
at Bearsden 14th Nov. 1943; his widow, 
Ann Black Morison, died 21st April 1946. 

JAMES ANDERSON LOW, B.D., 

1918 trans, from Glengairn (q.v.) 28th 
June 1918; dem. llth Nov. 1933. 



TERREGLES 

On the petition of Archibald, Earl of 
Douglas, lord of Galloway, Papal Com 
mission was given on 7th May 1389 to the 
Bishop of Glasgow to convert the Nunnery 
of Lincluden into a collegiate church. The 
Earl narrated that the nunnery had been 
founded by his predecessors for eight or 
nine nuns and a prioress, that only four 
nuns and a prioress remained, that these 
were living disgracefully and insolently, 
that by their carelessness and negligence 
the buildings had become unsightly and 
ruinous, that they had no wish to repair 
them, and that to the repair of the vest 
ments and ornaments they gave no atten 
tion. He asked that the prioress and nuns 
be transferred to another monastery or 
place either of the Benedictine or the 
Cluniac Order. The collegiate church was 
to be for a provost, 8 prebends, extended 
later to 12, and 24 bedesmen; and for the 
support of the establishment there were set 
apart the revenues of the nunnery and of 
the Hospital of the Sacred Grove (Holy- 
wood), situated near the nunnery and 
annexed to the collegiate church. The 
hospital, which was dedicated to St John 
the Baptist, had its origin in a house and 
chapel founded and built by Edward Bruce, 
brother of Robert I, within the bounds and 
limits of the Monastery of Holywood, and 
founded anew by Archibald, Earl of 
Douglas, whose charter was confirmed by 
Robert II on 2nd June 1372, for the recep 
tion of poor, weak, and sick people to the 
number of 18, the endowment being the 
lands of Crossmichael and Troqueer in the 
lordship of Galloway. The churches be 
longing to the collegiate church included 
Caerlaverock; Kirkbean; Preston; Col vend; 



DUMFRIES] 



TERREGLES TINWALD 



179 



Terregles; Lochrutten; Kirkanders, made a 
prebend by Alexander, Bishop of Glasgow, 
16th Jan. 1447-8; Lochmaben, made a 
prebend by William, Bishop of Glasgow, 
confirmed by Pope Nicholas V, 3rd March 
1449-50; Kirkpatrick in Nithsdale, made 
a prebend before 9th Aug. 1453; Kirkbride, 
annexed before 23rd June 1487. On 22nd 
Sept. 1429 Margaret, Duchess of Turaine, 
widow of Archibald, Duke of Turaine, 
Earl of Douglas, for the souls of Robert III 
and Queen Annabella, her father and 
mother, etc., founded a chaplainry in the 
church, the endowment being the lands of 
Estwood, Barschryve, Le Bank, Carvor- 
land, Dummokhead, le Maynys, Suthake, 
and de Barnes, in the Constabulary of 
Kirkcudbright and lordship of Galloway. 
By Bull of llth Dec. 1482 Sextus IV an 
nexed the provostship to the Episcopal 
Mensa of Moray, during the lifetime of 
Andrew Stewart, Bishop of Moray; but in 
1488 Parliament declared the annexation 
to be null and void, the patronage to re 
main with the King, and the pretended 
annexation in favour of Andrew, Bishop 
of Moray, to be of no effect. By James IV 
the provostship was annexed to the Chapel 
Royal of Stirling, confirmation being 
granted by Pope Julius II on 2nd June 
1508; and on llth July 1527 James V 
declared "that his mynde and will is that 
the foundation of his Chapell riale of 
Striveling and the unions of Inchmahomo 
(Inchmahome) and Lincluden be observit 
and kepit in tyme to cum efter the form 
of the erection and union maid tharupon 
by his mest noble fader . . . and that 
supplication be direct to our haly fader 
tharupon." [Acts Scott. Parl., ii, 209; 
Cal. Papal Regs., Letters, vii, 143, 493, ^26, 
630; Transcripts from Vatican, i, 288-97, 
iii, 163-74, MS., Reg. Ho.; Reg. Privy 
Council, xii, 445; Acts Lords of Council in 
Public Affairs, 259, 325; The Apostolic 
Camera and Scott. Benefs., 221, 308; The 
Douglas Bks., i, 348-9; For lands of Lin 
cluden Church, see Acts Scott. Parl., iii, 
436ab, 587b, v, 570-1 , and Reg. Great Seal, 
i, 483, ii, 130, iv, 1652, 1653, 1685, 2488, 
2661, 2734, 2889, v, 17, 32, 42, 234, 820, 
1232, 1506, 1507, 1891, 1981; for details of 



Nunnery and Church, see The Chronicles 
of Lincluden.] 

NINIAN DALZIEL, M.A., min. in 
1563. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 

j-^ y T 

Dumfries. ] 
PATRICK LOCH, reader in 1563. 



1563 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries.} 



WILLIAM THOMSON, M.A., pres. 



1567 



to vicarage 26th Nov. 1580 on death 



1619 



of John Row. His son, John, pres. 
to vicarage of Urr 1602. 

THOMAS MELVILLE, his son, 
Thomas, min. of Cadder; his daughs. 
Bessie (marr. (1) William Taylor, 
wright, Dumfries, (2) Andrew Hunter, 
merchant, Dumfries); Margaret (marr. 
John Thomson, portioner of Kirkland of 
Terregles); Jean (marr. Thomas Cunyng- 
ham, glover, Edinburgh); Lilias. [Dum 
fries Sas., 2nd March 1659.] 

ROBERT PATON, line 4, for "1691" 
1690 read "1690." 

JAMES STEWART, his son, James 

1899 Main, min. of Balgay and John 

Street, Glasgow; his wife, Margaret 

Waddell Main, died 28th July 1942. He 

died 24th Nov. 1944. 



TINWALD 

There was in the church an altar dedi 
cated to the Virgin Mary. 

CHARLES GEDDES, died before 
15.. 1604. 

ALEXANDER THOMSON, pres. 27th 
1604 Jan. 1604. [Pres., iii, 386.] 

JOHN WILLIAMSON, lines 1-3, for 



1777 



"probably son," etc., read "son 



of David W., overseer to Messrs 
Crawford at Wanlockhead." 

JAMES VALLANCE, pres. by Crown 
184? 24th Oct. 1846; his daugh., Mar 
garet Rebecca, died at Gorebridge 
1st Sept. 1923. 



180 



TINWALD URR 



[PRESB. OF 



GEORGE SCOTT KERR, died 22nd 
Jan. 1937; his wife, Lucy Edmond- 
son, died 16th Dec. 1946; his son, 

Hugh George, M.B., Ch.B., Eccleshall, 

Stafford. 

TRAILFLAT and DUNGRIE 

SIR JOHN SINCLAIR, pres. to 



1566 



vicarage pensionary 8th April and 



1591 



20th May 1566 by William, Com- 
mendator of Kelso, vacant by death of 
David Welsh; died before 5th Aug. 1591. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., xxxv, 46; Ixii, 123.] 

JOHN GLOVER, son of Martin G. in 
Woodsyde of Hempisfield, reader, 
pres. to vicarage of Dungrie 5th 
Aug. 1591 on death of Sir John Sinclair. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixii, 123.] 

GEORGE REDDICK or RODDICK, 

marr. Barbara Spottiswoode. 
[G. R. Sas., xxi, 138; 21st May 1627.] 

TORTHORWALD 

JAMES RAMSEY, pres. to vicarage 
April 1582 on death of James 
Wallace. [Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 72.] 



1586 



GEORGE LAURIE FOGO, licen. 18th 
Nov. 1870; his widow, Fanny Eliza- 



1883 



beth Blagden, died 18th Sept. 1930. 



JAMES MARJORIBANKS CAMP- 



1894 



BELL, died 12th Jan. 1949; his wife, 



Edith Leonora Gillott, died 21st 
June 1932, and in her memory Mr Camp 
bell erected a bell-ringers shelter. 

TROQUEER 

The church was dedicated to St Con- 
vellus, the Welsh Conguell, like Convill, 
Cynwell, Irish Connall, a disciple of St 
Mungo. [Watson s Celtic Place Names, 
168.] 

NINIAN DALZIEL, min. in 1563. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 

JOHN HALLIDAY, reader 1570-2. 



1570 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 



1577 



JOHN FULLARTON, vicar. [Acts 
1574 and Dec., liii, 557.] 

ADAM MURRAY, pres. to vicarage 
on death of Robert Martin; was 
nephew of William Somerville, vicar 
of Kirkbean. [Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, (4), 59.] 

HERBERT GLEDSTANES, probably 

1615 scrioolmaster Kirkcudbright, 9th 

Feb. 1592. Marr. Janet Cunning 

ham and had issue Thomas, writer, Edin 

burgh. [Dumfries Sas., 15th Feb. 1637.] 



1668 



JAMES MAIR, marr. Margaret, daugh. 
^ Jolin Crichton f Crawfordston 
and widow of William Lawrie of 
Ingliston, merchant in Dumfries; she re- 
marr. Walter Gledstanes, min. of New 
Abbey. 

JAMES GLENDINNING, amanuensis 



1683 



to James, Bishop of Galloway, 17th 
Dec. 1680; died August 1713. 



JAMES ALEXANDER CAMPBELL, 
1876 died at Edinburgh 19th June 1924. 

JOHN WILSON, awarded the Nor 
wegian Freedom Medal 1947; trans, 
assistant and successor from St 
Paul s, Perth; his daugh., Margaret Craig 
(marr. 20th Oct, 1937 John Harry Whit- 
taker Glover, Newhaven, Edinburgh). 



URR 

Situated in the Diocese of Glasgow, the 
church, called the Church of St Constantine 
of Hur, was confirmed to Holyrood Abbey 
by William de Bondington, Bishop of Glas 
gow, on 20th April 1250. There was in the 
parish another church, dedicated to St 
Bride, and called the Church of St Brigit of 
Blacket and Loublaket. About 1160 it was 
granted to Holyrood Abbey by Uchtred, 
son of Fergus, lord of Galloway, with 
confirmation by Ingelram, Bishop of Glas 
gow, Alan, son of Rolland the Constable, 
Eustache Baliol, and others. Little is 
known of the church but it was independent 
of Urr. [Charters of Holyrood, 28, 41-2, 
56-7, 61, 68, 69; Cal. Papal Regs., Letters, 
x, 547, xi, 304.] 



DUMFRIES] 



URR 



181 



JOHN BROWN, reader, 1563-8, vicar 
and reader. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 



1563 



WILLIAM PENNYCUICK, M.A., 

vicar 31st July 1573, when he was 
also rector of Pennycuik (q.v.) and 
Provost of the Collegiate Church of Kirk 
of Fields. [Cal. of Charters, x, 2287.] 

JOHN THOMSON, M.A., son of 
William T., vicar of Terregles, pres. 
to vicarage 1602. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Ixxii, 73.] 



1602 



GEORGE GLEDSTANES, marr. Jane 
Porteous, widow of Charles Archi 
bald, min. of Kirkbean. [Dumfries 
Tests., Daniel Wallace, 20th May 1690.] 



1641 



JOHN LYON, adm. 1st May 1665; 



1666 



marr. (1) -. Leslie and had issue 
John, min. of Old Greyfriars; (2) 



Emilia Nisbet and had issue Thomas, 
chyrurgeon in Shaws, died 1st July 1736; 
William, probably apprenticed to George 
Langland, surgeon apothecary, Edinburgh, 
29th July 1724. 

JAMES MUIRHEAD, line 27, for 
1770 Vacceram read Vacerram. 

JOHN MACRAE SANDILANDS, 
1855 pres. by Crown 17th May 1855. 

DAVID FREW, LL.D. (St Andrews, 
1892 28th Sept. 1937); retired in favour 
of assistant and successor, June 
1937; died 4th May 1946; his wife, Jeanie 
Lymont, daugh. of John Boyd, Coltness, 
died 28th Oct. 1938. Addl. publication A 
Young Borderer (a Memoir of Captain A. 
S. Young Herries), (Edin., 1928). 



M* 



PRESBYTERY OF PENPONT 



At the union of the Churches in 1929 this Presbytery ceased to exist, the parishes being 
transferred to the Presbytery of Dumfries, except Wanlockhead, which was transferred 
to the Presbytery of Lanark. 



CLOSEBURN 

The name has other forms, Kylosbern, 
Killcosburne, and is held to commemorate 
Osbern, an English saint. There is another 
saint, Osbran, anchorite and bishop of 
Cluain Creamha in Roscommon, who died 
in 752. [Watson s Celtic Place Names, 
167.] 

ALEXANDER FLEMING, his son, 
Malcolm. [G. R. Sas., 23rd Nov. 
1643, liii, 429.] 

CHARLES ANDERSON, ord. to Cask 
1815 22nd April, not Aug. 

DAVID OGILVY RAMSAY, his son, 

2 David, died from the effects of an 

accident at Dumfries 20th Dec. 

1925; his daugh., Anne Maxwell, died 22nd 

Jan. 1937. 



1910 



CHARLES ROLLAND RAMSAY, 
M.A. (Edinburgh, 1886), died at 
Abbey Town, Cumberland, 28th 
Aug. 1939. His sons Norman and Ian, 
both Captains; his daugh., Ellen Margaret 
Sibbald (marr. 7th Feb. 1927 John Hubert 
Graham, farmer, The Gale, Cumberland); 
his widow, Agnes Maud Campbell, died 
26th June 1940. 

DALGARNO 

The church was granted to Holyrood by 
Edgar, son of Deferald, in the time of 
William the Lion. [Holyrood Charters, 
43.] 

JAMES WILLIAMSON, designated 
min. 1567-8. [Edin. Tests., i, 11, 
Jan. 1567-8.] 



DURRISDEER 

There was in the church an altar dedi 
cated to the Virgin Mary. 



1567 



JAMES HAMILTON, seems to be 
identical with John Hamilton, M.A., 
sub-chanter of Glasgow, who was 

parson in 1567 arid died 1570. [Comps. 

Sub Coll of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

LYON BROWN, pres. to parsonage 
and vicarage 25th Jan. 1574-5 on 
dem. of Peter Young. [Reg. Pres. 
Bene., ii, (4), 29.] 



1567 



PETER YOUNG, M.A., his pres. to 



1570 



parsonage and vicarage and sub- 
chanter of Glasgow 5th Aug. 1570 

on death of John Hamilton. [Reg. Pres. 

Bene., ii, (2), 1.] 

JAMES LINDSAY, pres. to parsonage 
and vicarage 18th Dec. 1575 on 
dem. of Peter Young. 

JAMES BRYSON, pres. on dem. of 
tc-70 Peter Young. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 
ii, 22.] 

ALEXANDER STRANG, his son, 
Patrick, apprenticed to Paul Mel- 
drum, corset-maker, Edinburgh, 
14th Sept. 1670. 

JOHN ALEXANDER, resident in St 
Cuthbert s parish, Edinburgh, 17th 
Nov. 1694. St Cuthbert s Poll Tax 
Roll.] 

JOHN McKELL, his diary in Museum, 
1771 Thornhill. 



182 



PRESS. OF PENPONT] DURRISDEER KIRKCONNEL 



183 



1894 



DAVID LITTLE JARDINE, died 
Bournemouth 14th Feb. 1929. Marr. 
(2) 9th Oct. 1917 Violet (died 26th 
March 1944), eldest daugh. of Henry 
Candlish, M.A., Alnwick, Northumber 
land; his daugh., Helen, M.B., Ch.B., 
London. 

GAVIN KERRILL MACKAY, M.A., 



1920 



ord. A. and S. 1st June 1920; trans, 
to Dalziel 24th June 1924. 



THOMAS HARPER, born Glasgow 
30th May 1893, son of Alexander 
R. H., J.P., and Agnes Murray; 
educ. at High School and Glasgow Univ., 
M.A. (1916), B.D. (1920), Ph.D. (1928), 
and at New York Theological Seminary, 
S.T.M. (1923); licen. by Presb. of Perth 
May 1920; assistant Partick; ord. 20th 
Oct. 1924; trans, to Eastwood 6th Feb. 
1930. He marr. 23rd June 1931 Margaret 
Simpson, daugh. of John M. Ross, and has 
issue Alexander Murray, born 31st May 
1933; John Ross, born 20th March 1935. 

GLENCAIRN 

JOHN JAMESON, exhorter; designated 
vicar-pensioner 10th April 1574; 
seems therefore to have been in 
office prior to 1560 and to have conformed; 
probably identical with John Jameson who 
was presented to the vicarage of Dunscore 
in 1573, was reader there 1574-85, and 
became min. there in 1586. [Laing Char 
ters, 890; Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries.} 



1567 



SIR ROBERT HOUSTON, vicar 22nd 
15?4 June 1574. [Reports Hist. MSS. 
Commiss., App. 9, 26.] 

JOHN JAMESON, min. at Dunscore, 
had also charge here in 1586; may 
be identical with foregoing John 
Jameson. 

JOHN BROWN, line 9, delete "John 
1589 ^ In nston " ms daughs. Mary 
(marr. Robert Maitland of Eccles); 
Sarah (marr. (2) James Grierson of 
Capenoch). [Dumfries Sas., 30th Nov. 
1642.] 



WILLIAM BROWN, servitor to 

1|5T? Thomas, Earl of Haddington; line 

10, for "James" read "John"; 

line 12, for "uncle" read "father." See 

Douglas of Morton, 314. 

1692 GEORGE BOYD. He marr. 

PATRICK BORROWMAN, his daugh., 
1837 Sophia Patricia, died 23rd July 1936. 

ROBERT HOME, line 3, for "Dec." 

1864 read "Oct." 

JOHN AGNEW FINLAY, dem. 4th 

1014 O ct - 1921 was mul - at Cairo; D.D. 
(Edinburgh, 2nd July 1931); died 
25th Aug. 1941. 

JAMES CAMPBELL, trans, from 
1922 Kingston, Glasgow (q.v.\ 15th May 
1922; trans, to Durrisdeer 5th June 
1930. His son, William Craigie Drysdale, 
born 2nd Nov. 1917, Missionary, Assam, 
under Colonial Committee. 



KEIR 

WILLIAM MENZIES, licen. 29th Aug. 
1827 1821. 

DAVID BAYNE JARDINE, his son, 
Brigadier Christian West, C.B.E. 
(1944); his widow, Helen Octavia 
Tapson, died 8th Jan 1948, aged 92. 



KIRKCONNEL 

The church was dedicated to St Con- 
vallus, Old Welsh Conguall, later Cinvall, 
Cynwall, Irish Conall, a disciple of St 
Mungo. The ruins of the old church, with 
the Well of St Conal near at hand, are 
situated about 2 miles from Kirkconnel 
village. On the farm of Rig there is a field 
called Libry Park, which may denote that 
it was the site of a hospital for lepers. 
[Watson s Celtic Place Names, 169; Wil 
son s Annals of Sanquhar, 40, 42, 43.] 

WILLIAM BLACKADDER, M.A., 

1560 V ^ car anci exnorter 1561-89. [Reg. 
Sec. Sig., Ix, 74; Comps. Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 



184 



KIRKCONNEL PENPONT 



[PRESB. OF 



JOHN FULLARTON, reader 1568, 



1569 



exhorter 1568-72, vicar and min. 



1576; pres. on death of Sir David 
Maxwell; mentioned as at Troqueer in 
1574; died 27th April 1595; had issue- 
William and Bessie. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Dumfries, etc.; Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 
19; Acts and Dec., liii, 557; Edin. Tests., 
5th Jan. 1596.] 

SIR WILLIAM BROWN, vicar pen- 



1579 



sioner, died at Edinburgh 24th Nov. 
1579. [Edin. Tests., vii, 208.] 



ROBERT BIGGERT, his pres. in 1605 
was upon the death of John Fullar- 
ton. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiv, 403.] 



1605 



PETER RAE, his son James, farmer, 



1732 



Nether Farding, was agent for 
Queensberry and not Buccleuch. 



CHARLES FORBES CHARLESON, 



1899 



licen. 1st May 1895; his son s name 



Conal, not Connell. Publication 
"Notes on the Site of a Pre-Norman 
Chapel of St Conal in Upper Nithsdale," 
Trans. Scot. Eccl.Socy.,ix, part iii, 1929-30. 

MORTON 

ARCHIBALD MENZIES, M.A., acted 



1560 



as exhorter and reader, holding 
parsonage and vicarage 1563 and 

1572; also at Colvend 1572. [Comps. Sub 

Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

ROBERT CUSSANE, reader. [Comps. 
1572 Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

ARCHIBALD DOUGLAS, pres. to 



vicarage 1st July 1579 on death of 
Archibald Menzies. [Reg. Pres. 
Bene., ii, 19.] 

SIR JOHN MORTON, died before llth 
Oct. 1608, when he is called last 
vicar. [Reg. Sec. Sig.] 



1579 



1608 



THOMAS HENDERSON of Broom- 



1687 



field, son of Thomas H., min. of 
Gretna. [Dumfries Sas., v, 447.] 



PATRICK FLINT, his son, William 
apprenticed to Andrew Torrance, 



1691 



wright, Edinburgh. 



DAVID SMITH, son of William S., 
1809 farmer, Gatehills, Kirkpatrick-Flem- 
ing. He was at presentation Governor 
of George Watson s Hospital, Edinburgh. 
Left in MS. a memoir of James Gait, min. 
of Gretna 1730-87. 

JAMES HONEYMAN OSWALD, 
1885 licen. April 1883, died 15th April 
1939: his widow, Mary Grace Ram 
say, died 20th Nov. 1943; his son, John 
Alexander Ramsay, died llth Feb. 1933, 
Lieut. K.O.S.B. 

PENPONT 

SIR ROBERT WELSH, vicar 1541, 
1541 afterwards reader 1567. 



1561 



JOHN TAYLOR, vicar, reader and 
exhorter 1561-9. [Comps. Coll. 
Gen. of Thirds, 94.] 

WILLIAM TAYLOR, vicar, designated 
min. 27th July and 26th Dec. 1578. 
[Edin. Tests, vi, 219, 285.] 

SAMUEL OUSTANE, his son, Samuel, 
afterwards merchant in Virginia; his 
daugh., Mary (marr. Francis Herries 

of Lambholm). [Acts and Dec., Dal., 

Ixxxvii, 25th Jan. 1683.] 

JAMES MURRAY, marr. Isabel, daugh. 
of John Laurie, schoolmaster, Kirk 
cudbright. [Deeds, 1st Nov. 1706.] 



1636 



1693 



1845 



JOHN COLLOW, his son, James, died 
1736 in Tobago 1795. 

JAMES GRAHAM, his daughs. 
Elizabeth, died 14th Oct. 1920; 
Isabella, died Cummertrees 13th 

Jan. 1924; Margaret, died at Cummertrees 

21st March 1925. 

ANDREW PATON, died at Alstonlea, 
1870 Kinross, 21st July 1921. 

JAMES JOHNSTONE PRYDE, be- 



1909 



came Chaplain to the Forces; adm. 
to Morebattle 24th April 1919. 



WILLIAM COCHRAN CONN, trans, 
and adm. (assist, and sue.) from 
Coylton (q.v.} 13th July 1917; died 
13th Aug. 1945. 



1917 



PENPONT] 



SANQUHAR 



185 



SANQUHAR 

Line 6, after "Logan" read "vicar of 
Colvend." 

The present church was built in 1823^4 
on the site of the medieval church whose 
foundations have been outlined by flag 
stones. In the church there were an altar 
dedicated to the Virgin Mary; an altar 
dedicated to the Holy Rood; and an altar 
dedicated to the Holy Blood, founded in 
1519 by John Logan, vicar of Colvend, a 
native of Sanquhar. In the south-west 
corner of the present church there is the 
effigy of a churchman, which bore the name 
of "The Saint of the Choir." St Bride s 
Well was situated in the midst of a grove 
called Welltrees behind the knowe at 
Broomfield. It is now covered by the rail 
way, but its waters have burst forth in 
another direction. In the vicinity of 
Newark there was a chapel dedicated to St 
Nicholas, at the site of which about twenty 
years ago there was discovered the sculp 
tured effigy of a bishop, in robes and with 
crozier, and at his feet a figure presenting 
a scroll. The head and arms are missing. 
Near the farmhouse of Dalpeddar there is 
an old burial ground called Chapel Yards, 
the site of a chapel which is said to have 
been dedicated to St Peter. There was 
another chapel in Eliock House which was 
in existence till in the middle of the 18th 
century extensive alterations to the house 
led to its disappearance; and still another 
was situated at the farmstead of Tower, 
where there survives the Chapel Well. The 
Chapel Hill at Carco on Crawick Water, 
and the Chapel Rig and Our Lady s Well 
at Knockenstob, indicate two other chapels. 
Tradition tells of a chapel and religious 
house for women at the farmhouse of 
Orchard, and of a religious settlement at 
Goosehill, formerly Olive Hill. In the 
burgh, on the site behind the town hall, 
there was a house designated the Mansion 
House of St John the Baptist, but of its 
exact nature nothing appears to be known. 
Sanquhar Hospital, said to have been dedi 
cated to St Mary Magdalene, was situated 
near the farmhouse of Newark. It was in 
existence before 28th Aug. 1296, when 
Bartholomew de Eglisham, chapeleyn, war 



den of "the new Place at Senerwar" (San 
quhar), swore fealty to Edward I. [WH- 
son s Annals of Sanquhar, 9-10, 36-7, 39-40, 
41-2; Cal. of Docs. Rel. to Scotland, ii, 206.] 

SIR THOMAS FLEMING, was chap 
lain of the Chaplainry of the Holy 
Cross, 13th May 1559. [Reg. of 
Abbrev. of Feu Charters of Church Lands, 
ii, 207.] 

ROBERT CRICHTON, M.A., parson 

17th Jan. 1554 and 20th Dec. 1565; 

was chaplain of St Nicholas called 

the Newark; died 15th June 1570. [Reg. 

of Deeds, i, 56; xii, 261 ; Edin. Tests, ii, 159.] 

JOHN YOUNG, reader, called vicar 
pensionary in 1574; died before 20th 
April 1583. [Reg. of Abbrev. of 
Feu Charters of Church Lands, ii, 135.] 

JAMES BLACKWOOD, app. before 



1577 



28th March 1576, but a year later 



was accused of "brooking" both 
Sanquhar and Saline, and serving "not 
ane"; pleaded that he dared not go to 
Sanquhar for fear of his life to work there, 
and asked to be allowed to serve at Saline 
till he got security of Sanquhar and not 
compelled to resign either; ord. by Assem 
bly to travell at Saline till next Assembly 
and meantime John Fullarton to support 
Kirk of Sanquhar upon his costs, and the 
Commissioners of the County ordained to 
admonish the tutor of Sanquhar (William 
Crichton) to make no impediment or 
trouble to Blackwood in using his office 
and serving Sanquhar; still "brooked" 
Saline 1 1th June 1578, when he was ordered 
by Assembly to demit the same; entered at 
Sanquhar probably soon after and was 
deprived some time before 16th Dec. 1594 
for diverse treasonable causes. [The Book 
of the Universal Kirk, i, 386, 397, 424, 465, 
472; P. C. Reg., 30th June 1574, 23rd 
March 1576-7; P. S. Reg., Ixvii, 23, 36; 
Reg. Abbrev. of Feu Charters of Church 
Lands, ii, 133.] 

ROBERT HUNTER, pres. by the 

church to parsonage and vicarage 

16th and 28th Dec. 1594 on dep. of 

James Blackwood, the patron, Lord 



186 



SANQUHAR WANLOCKHEAD [PRESB. OF PENPONT 



1666 



Crichton of Sanquhar, having failed to 
present a lawful person in due time. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixvii, 28, 36.] 

JAMES KIRKWOOD, adm. before 
1666, left at Revolution; adm. Rec 
tor of Magheracross and Prebendary 
of Kelskeery, Co. Fermanagh, 1692. Marr. 
daugh. of George Ker, provost of Sanquhar 
and Chamberlain of Queensberry. 
[Simpson s History of Sanquhar; Leslie s 
Clogher Clergy; Gleanings among the 
Mountains. ] 

JOHN SANDILANDS, son of John S., 
min. of Dolphinton, and Margaret 

T , 

Johnston. 
WILLIAM RANKEN, marr. Margaret, 



1785 



daugh. of Robert Barker in Castle- 



mains. 



JOHN INGLIS, schoolmaster, Maybole; 



1845 



his daugh., Agnes Hutchison, died 
24th Feb. 1930. 

ARCHIBALD EDMISTON DEWAR, 
1881 born 2nd Oct. 1856. 

JAMES RICHMOND WOOD, licen. 
1888 9th June 1880, died 1st May 1929. 

KIRKBRIDE 

THOMAS WEIR, reader 1560. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 

JOHN DOUGLAS, rector 30th Oct. 



1563 



1563. [Sir T. Johnson s Prot. Book, 
685.] 

THOMAS SHIELS, Chaplain or student 
, of divinity to William Douglas of 
Morton. 

TYNRON 

ROBERT WELSH, reader designated 
"Dene" and held the vicarage in 
1560 and conformed, died in June 
1568; had a brother, Sir William W. 
[Comps. Coll. Gen. of Thirds, 1561; Edin. 
Tests, i, 344; Reg. Sec. Sig., xxxvii, 72.] 

WILLIAM TAYLOR, pres. to vicarage 
28th June 1568 on death of Robert 
Welsh; min. 27th July and 24th 
Nov. 1578. [Edin. Tests, vi, 219, 285.] 



1561 



ROBERT RAMSAY, his widow, Kathe- 



1664 



rine Alexander, buried in Greyfriars, 
Edinburgh, 13th Dec. 1697. 



DAVID COUPAR,his widow, Christina 

18?1 Jane Clark, died 26th Feb. 1925; his 

daughs. Evelyn Susanna, died at 

Traquair 29th Oct. 1927; Edith Hylda 

Hope, died at Traquair 8th June 1930. 

SAMUEL GILFILLAN CAR- 
1902 MICHAEL, died llth March 1938. 

WANLOCKHEAD 

ALEXANDER HENDERSON, min. 
1732 in 1732. 

JOHN LAWRIE, preacher 1734, re- 



1734 



ceived 5 for pastoral duties there. 
[Trans. Dumfries and Galloway 
Antiq. Society, xviii, 94.] 



JAMES RITCHIE, dep. 25th May 1802. 



1800 



[Diary of Rev. John Wightman of 
Kirkmahoe, unpublished.] 



JAMES LAIDLAW, his daugh., Isa- 



1848 



bella Sutton, died at Kippen 26th 
Jan. 1932. 



CHARLES PATRICK BLAIR, died 
1886 8th Nov. 1923. 

NORMAN FARQUHAR ORR, trans, 
from Stanley 16th May 1924; dem. 
6th July 1926; afterwards min, at 
Buncrana, Donegal. 

ROWELLYAN RAMSAY, B. Comm., 



1924 



ord. 21st Oct. 1926; trans, to 
Ruthrieston, Aberdeen, 8th Nov. 



1926 

1928. 

THOMAS EDMUND HILL JONES, 
1929 f rmer ly mm - f Deerness (q.v.), 
trans, from Portsoy 29th March 
1929; dem. 25th Oct. 1932 and went to 
Belfast; died 23rd Feb. 1943. Marr. (2) 
25th Nov. 1931 Charlotte Rowe. He had 
issue Arthur, born May 1902; Gladys 
Eleanor Agnes, born 1st Sept. 1912; 
Edmund, S. S., born 1st March 1934; 
Norman Charles Patten, born 27th April 
1935; Marjory Elizabeth Lucy, born 27th 
June 1936, died 30th April 1937; Harold 
Douglas Theodore, born 30th Dec. 1938. 



SYNOD OF GALLOWAY 



PRESBYTERY OF STRANRAER 



ARDWALL 

ANDREW MUIRHEAD BARR, died 



1902 



22nd Nov. 1933; his widow, Rachel 
Morris, died 30th July 1944. 



ARNSHEEN 

THOMAS JARDINE, his son, William 
Hugh, died Coatbridge 8th Oct. 
1942. 



1863 



1895 



WILLIAM GORDON, dem. 1937, died 
24th Feb. 1944; his son, Arthur 
Currie, min. of Kells; his daugh., 
Mary, M.B., Ch.B.; his widow, Alison 
Jollie, died 9th Nov. 1945. 

BALLANTRAE 

JOHN CUNNINGHAM, pres. to 



1571 



vicarage 23rd April 1571 on death 
of Andrew Oliphant; trans, to 
Dailly 1573. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, (2), 16]. 

JOHN CROOKS, marr. Margaret, 
1658 daugh. f James Simson, min. of 
Bathgate, and had issue Patrick; 
Catherine. [G. R. Sas., vi, 75.] 

JOHN WHITE, intruded at Aberdour, 
1687 Deer, 1694; see also Coylton. 

JOHN MILROY, his daugh., Euphemia 
1830 Catherine (marr. 6th Nov. 1863). 

ROLLO RUSSELL GRANT SUTHER- 



1913 



LAND, trans, to Skelmorlie llth 
Feb. 1921. 



JAMES HOUSTON BAXTER, M.A., 
1921 B.D., ord. 21st July 1921; app. to 
Chair of Ecclesiastical History, St 
Andrews, and adm. 10th Nov. 1922. 



1923 



MUNRO SOMERVILLE, trans, from 
Newhaven 5th April 1923; trans, to 
Garvock 13th Dec. 1928. 



1929 



JOHN CHISHOLM COCKBURN, 

born at Mansewood, Glasgow, 6th 
Dec. 1903, son of William Allan C. 
and Jeanie Paul Chisholm; educ. Hutche- 
son s Boys Grammar School and Univ. of 
Glasgow, M.A. (1925), B.D. (1928); licen. 
by Presb. of Paisley, 2nd May 1928; assis 
tant Cambuslang; ord. 2nd May 1929; 
min. of united charge, former parish of 
(Innertig) and U.F. (Ardstinchar) from 21st 
Dec. 1930; trans, to Jordanhill 26th April 
1944. 

COLMONELL 

The church along with the Chapel of St 
Constantine and a caracute of land was 
granted to Holyrood Abbey by Uchtred, 
son of Fergus, lord of Galloway, dr. 
1161-74. On 28th Aug. 1467 Pope Paul II 
granted indulgence to those visiting the 
Chapel of St Ninian near Ardstinchar 
Castle, and giving for the conservation of 
its buildings and the better supply of its 
books, chalices and other ecclesiastical 
ornaments. There was also a chapel at 
Mains of Carleton. [Cal. Papal Regs., xii, 
580; Charters of Holyrood, 19, 42; Retours, 
v, 25.] 

JAMES GREIG, min. here, pres. to 



1568 



parsonage and vicarage 1568; died 
before 21st July 1585. [Reg. Pres. 
Bene., i, 13; Reg. Sec. Sig., ii, 178.] 

JOHN DAVIDSON, principal of Glas 
gow University, held the vicarage 
6th May \51Q.[Monumenta Univ. 
Glasgow, i, 82.] 



187 



188 



COLMONELL SAULSEAT 



[PRESB. OF 



JAMES GRAHAM, pres. to parsonage 
and vicarage 21st July 1585. [Reg. 



1585 



Sec. Sig., ii, 178.] 



WILLIAM DILL, his daughs. Eliza- 

iso keth* died at Seble, Hedingham, 

Essex, 1st July 1918; Euphemia 

Maclagan (Mrs Johnston), died at Glasgow 

7th May 1940. 

JAMES McFADZEN, died 9th May 



1884 



1925; his wife, Anne Templeton, 
died same day; his daugh., Kathleen 
Constance (marr. 4th July 1936 Alexander 
John Gibson, D.S.O., M.B., Ch.B.). 

JAMES BROWN, born Rosewell 20th 

1925 Dec 1896 son of James B., Largs, 
and Janet Reid; educ. at Lasswade 
H.G. School, Univ. of Edinburgh, M.A. 
(1918), B.D. (1921), and Oxford; licen. by 
Presb. of Dalkeith May 1921; assistant 
Peebles; ord. 17th Sept. 1925. Served in 
Great War with Highland Light Infantry 
and Scottish Rifles. 



GLENAPP 

EWEN MACDONELL MAC- 
J894 GREGOR, died 17th Dec. 1940; 
his widow, Wilhelmina Fisher, died 
16th March 1947. 



INCH 

CUTHBERT AD AIR, exhorter 1563, 
designated min. 1568. [Comps.Sub 
Coll of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.; Edin. 
Tests., i, 10th May 1568.] 

SIR WILLIAM MAcDOWALL, vicar 



1568 



20th Aug. 1559 and 6th Feb. 1566, 



may have conformed. See Dalmeny. 
[Crete s Prot. Book, 155; Reg. Mag. Sig., 
iv, 1763; Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 

JOHN WATSON, died 31st Dec. 1639; 
John, his son; a daugh. (marr. 
Alexander Blair). 



1601 



J. ROSS, parson of Saulsett, signs an 



1680 

1680. 



Episcopal Charter as a member of 
Chapter of Whithorn 17th Dec. 



WILLIAM WILSON, his daugh., Agnes 
1695 ( marr - Gilbert Adair, merchant, 
Stranraer). [Reg. of Deeds Dal., 
clvii, 2nd May 1745.] 

1762 ANDREW ROSS, his son, James. 

PETER FERGUSSON, pres. 24th Dec. 
1788 1787. 

JOHN McCALMAN, pres. by Crown 



1862 



26th Jan. 1862; his widow, Mary 
Melville, died 15th Jan. 1929; his 
daugh., Ursula, died 5th March 1931. 

JOHN SERVICE, pres. by Crown 29th 
1872 Feb. 1872. 

JAMES AIKMAN PATON, licen. 16th 



1879 



May 1878; his wife, Katherine Ann 
Malcolm, died 26th Oct. 1919. 



BRODIE SMITH GILFILLAN, trans. 
1916 to Wallacetown, Ayr, 5th Nov. 1924. 

ALEXANDER WRIGHT STEVEN 

SON, trans, from Balshagray (q.v.) 

12th March 1925; died 24th Dec. 

1925; his son, John Alexander, min. of 

Coulter, editor of Life and Work 1946. 



1926 



JOHN YOUNG CLARK, born Cam- 
buslang 22nd Dec. 1882; son of 
Robert C. and Ann Young; educ. 
at Kirkhill Public School and Univ. of 
Glasgow; served in Royal Marine Engineers 
in Great War (one of six brothers with the 
colours); licen. by Presb. of Hamilton 31st 
March 1919; ord. to Buenos Ayres 12th 
April 1920; adm. to Laurieston, Glasgow, 
3rd June 1924; trans, and adm. 23rd Sept. 
1926; trans, to Braemar 14th May 1931; 
trans, to Colonsay 3rd Nov. 1943. Marr. 
2nd Oct. 1919 Edith Graham (died Nov. 
1948), daugh. of William Abercrombie and 
Margaret Edith Sims. 

(Charges united 2nd Aug. 1931.) 

SAULSEAT 

JAMES THOMSON, reader, in office 



1567 



1563. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 



STRANRAER] 



KIRKCOLM LESWALT 



189 



KIRKCOLM 

The church was granted to Sweetheart 
Abbey in 1275 by Devorgilla, lady of 
Galloway, and about 1401 by Archibald, 
4th Earl of Douglas. The chapel at KilHe- 
maccuddican was dedicated to St Mochu- 
ter, the name being Cill-Mo-Chudagon, 
Mochutu s Church, Mochester of Rathan 
and Lismore, who died in 637. [Maxwell 
Monuments, 13; Book of Caerlaverock, ii, 
417; Watson s Celtic Place Names, 166.] 

JAMES NASMYTH, his son, James, 

1684 a PP rent i ced to Jonn Hepburn, 
apothecary, Edinburgh, 21st June 
1693. 

THOMAS BARTY, his widow, Kathe- 
,- rine Gray Allan, died at Edinburgh 
10th Dec. 1928. 

ALBERT TARBETT, his daugh., 

1898 Dorothy Allan (marr. (1) 28th Feb. 

1934 John Carlyle Conn, insurance 

broker, Ayr, (2) 22nd April 1947 Alastair 

James Clark). 

KIRKMAIDEN 

The patron saint was St Medana, whose 
day was on 5th July. The name may be 
taken, therefore, as the Latinised form of 
M Etain, for Mo -Etain, the virgin of 
Tuam Noa, whose day is the same. Near 
Maryport there was a chapel dedicated to 
the Virgin Mary. 

JOHN TROUGHTON, exhorter 1563. 

1563 [ Com P s - Sub Co11 - of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 

JOHN WHITE, held vicarage 1568, 
1562 called Dene 1562 when reader. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 

SYMON JOHNSTON, pres. to vicarage 



1579 



3rd March 1579-80 on death of 



Dean John White. [Reg. Pres. 
Bene., ii, 31; Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 

ADAM THOMSON, pres. to vicarage 
1593 24th Nov. 1593 on death of George 
Niven. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixvi, 18.] 



JAMES McGILL, his widow, Elizabeth 
Inglis, resident with her son James 
in Lady Yester s par. 7th Nov. 1694. 
[Lady Yester s Poll Tax Roll, 17.] 

DAVID RITCHIE WILLIAMSON, 

1881 died 23rd Jan. 1940. 

JAMES MACMORLAND, trans, to 
1915 Tarbat llth Nov. 1920. 

JACKSON LOUDON McFADDEN, 

1Q11 M.A., ord. 7th April 1921; trans, to 
Fearn (Ross) 2nd June 1925. 



ROBERT HILL RICHMOND, trans, 
from Shapinsay (q.v.) 29th Oct. 
1925; trans, to Coull 4th July 1928. 



1925 



1928 



JOHN ADAMSON HONEY, born 26th 
Marc h 1900, son f J onn Adamson 
H., min. of Inchture; educ. at Univ. 
of St Andrews, M.A. (3rd Oct. 1924); licen. 
by Presb. of St Andrews 1927; assistant at 
St Michael s, Dumfries, 1927; ord. 27th 
Sept. 1928; trans, to Cargill 9th Nov. 1933. 
Marr. 2nd Aug. 1933 Marion, daugh. of 
John Boog Colledge, Cairngaan, Drum- 
more, and has issue John Sime Colledge, 
born 9th March 1940; Margaret Elizabeth 
Cochrane, born 9th April 1942. 

(Charges united 9th Aug. 1931.) 

LESWALT 

SIR WILLIAM MAcDOWALL, vicar 
1561-72; also at Dalmeny (q.v.). 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 



1561 



THOMAS MACALEXANDER, reader 
1563 1563-9. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

WILLIAM BARBOUR, adm. exhorter 
1567 26th May 1567; pres. 21st May 1568 
to two prebends of Collegiate Kirk 
of Restalrig, on death of Melville Spittal 
and Sir Archibald Ellam. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
xxxvii, 62; Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 10.] 

NICOL McCLELLAN, M.A., in office 



1574 



1591. [Reg. Abbrev. Feu Charters 
of Church Lands, ii, 91.] 



190 



LESWALT OLD LUCE 



[PRESB. OF 



RICHARD VAUSS (Wauss), son 



1579 



natural of Patrick V. of Barnbarroch, 



1590 



pres. to vicarage 3rd March 1578-80 
on death of Sir William MacDowall. 
[Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 31.] 

JOHN MOFFAT, yr., reader 1584, as 
min. of Kirkcowan pres. to vicarage 
here 22nd April 1586 in succession 
to late Sir Nicol McClellan; as min. pres. 
to vicarage of Tostertoun and Kirkmaiden 
Kirk and parish on death of Sir Michael 
Hawthorn. [Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 31; 
Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.; 
Reg. Sec. Sig., liii, 68.] 

WILLIAM SOMERVELL, had issue- 
William, born 1688; Thomas, rector 
of Myross, Co. Cork, born 1689; 
Judith (marr. William Cameron of Loch- 
bar, Dean in Church of England). 
[Burke s Landed Gentry, Ireland.] 



1668 



THOMAS ELDER, marr. (1) Sara 
Grierson (died 1707), sister of 
Homer G., surgeon apothecary in 
Dumfries. [ Wigtoun Tests. ] 



1731 



THOMAS BLIZZARD BELL, his 



1841 



daugh., Isabella Ross, died at 
Worthing 19th July 1937. 



FREDERICK JOHN BOUTEVILLE 
1874 JOHNSTON, assistant Burntisland; 
pres. by Crown 3rd Dec. 1873. 



JOHN BALFOUR ROBERTSON, dem. 
2nd June 1923; died Edinburgh 3rd 
Jan. 1944; his widow, Jessie Robert 
son Longmuir, died 1st April 1946. 



1878 



MATTHEW ROBERT DRYSDALE, 



1923 



born 26th June 1889; son of Robert 



Ringland D., min. of Creggan, 
Antrim, and Elizabeth Johnston; educ. at 
Sandymount Academical Institution, Dub 
lin, Univ. of Dublin (Trinity) and Univ. of 
Edinburgh, B.A. (1911); served in Great 
War in Forth R.G.A. 1915-19; licen. by 
Presb. of Edinburgh 1921; assistant St 
Bernard s, Edinburgh; ord. 1st Nov. 1923; 
trans, to St John s, Kirkcaldy, 12th Nov. 
1 93 1 ; drowned in river Leven, near Leslie, 
18th Sept. 1940. Marr. 23rd Oct. 1918 
Lily, daugh. of Thomas Small, s.p. 



LOCHRYAN 

JOHN McGUFFIE, his son, John, died 
1878 28th Jan. 1922. 

ALEXANDER MURRAY MAC- 
1886 GREGOR, died 1st Nov. 1935; 
his widow, Margaret Campbell, 
died 14th Sept. 1937. 

NEW LUCE 
ALEXANDER PEDEN, born 1626, 



1659 



licen. by Presb. of Biggar. Col. 2, 
line 29, for "Colinswood" read 
* Columwood or Colyumwood, now Coils- 
helm"; line 33, for "Ayr" read "Lugar"; 

36, for "Sorn" read "Tenshillingside"; 

37, for "28 "read "6." 

JAMES CADDELL, line 4, for "Bal- 
1770 lochmyle read Ballochyle. 

ANTHONY STEWART, line 2, for 
1792 "2nd "read "27th." 

WILLIAM KERR, pres. by Crown 31st 
1854 Aug. 1854. 

WILLIAM FORSYTH, pres. by Crown 
llth Dec. 1862; his daugh., Eliza 
beth Isabella, died 17th Aug. 1934. 

JAMES FRANCIS GRAHAM, died 



1909 

1932. 



20th July 1948; his son, Gerard 
Francis, M.C., M.D., died 7th Oct. 



OLD LUCE or GLENLUCE 

The church was dedicated to St Michael. 

JOHN SANDERSON, exhorter 1563, 
styled Dean 1563, vicar pensioner 
before 1560, reader in 1574. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

NINIAN McCLENOCHAN, pres. to 
vicar pensionary 12th Jan. 1592 on 
death of Dean John Sanderson. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixv, 4.] 

ROBERT WALLACE, vicar and min., 



1599 



Jan. 1567, pres. to vicar pensionary 
llth Feb. 1599-1608 vacant by 
deaths of Ninian McClenochan and Dean 



STRANRAER] 



OLD LUCE STONEYKIRK 



191 



John Sanderson; pres. to vicarage of Girvan 
5th Jan. 1602 but did not take office. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxii, 229, Ixxi, 154.] 

JOHN INNES, adm. 1684, resident 

1684 with h * s W ^ e Chr ^ st ^ an Walker, in 
Tron Parish, Edinburgh, 9th Nov. 
1694. [Tron Poll Tax Roll, 32.] 

ROBERT CAMPBELL, adm. 19th Dec. 
1694 1694. 

ROBERT COLVILLE, marr. Katherine, 
daugh. of Robert Westwood, bur 
gess of Edinburgh. 

BRYCE FROOD, his widow, Agnes 
1858 Bell, died 2nd Feb. 1918. 

JAMES FARQUHAR SMITH, his 
widow, Isabel Aitken, died 1st Aug. 
1932. 

ALEXANDER TAYLOR HILL, dem. 



1909 



6th Dec. 1926; adm. to Leswalt 5th 



Jan. 1933; dem. 1935; died 27th Jan. 
1939. Marr. (2) 1st Jan. 1935 Euphemia, 
daugh. of-. Young, retired butcher, Scone. 

DAVID GALLOWAY, born 15th Dec. 
192? 1898; licen. by Presb. of Irvine 1926; 
assistant Irvine; ord. 1 1th May 1927. 
Marr. 30th April 1934 Helen Margaret 
McEwan and has issue David Robert, 
born 28th April 1935; John Finlay, born 
6th March 1944. 

PORT PATRICK 

JOHN CALDWELL, son of John C., 
1666 corc ^ mar burgess of Glasgow; his 
daugh., Janet (marr. John Glen, 
tailor, Glasgow). 

ANDREW URQUHART, his daughs. 

1832 El iza beth Morris, died 4th June 

1918; Martha Hawthorn, died 19th 

July 1929; Sarah Comrie, died at Dumfries 

3rd Feb. 1940. 

JAMES RUSSELL KENNEDY, licen. 
188 5th July 1882; dem. 2nd Dec. 1931; 
died llth Nov. 1933; his sons- 
Frederick, min. of Strathblane; Major- 
General Sir John Noble, K.C.V.O., K.B.E., 
Governor of Southern Rhodesia 1946; his 



widow, Sarah Maud Noble, died 20th Nov. 
1941. 

(Charges united 14th Dec. 1930.) 

SHEUCHAN 

WILLIAM PORTER, trans, to Ordi- 
1916 quhell 31st May 1918. 

THOMAS FERGUSSON, born Kin- 



1918 



buck, Dunblane, 23rd Feb. 1874, 



son of John Bryden F. and Barbara 
McAllister; educ. at Kinbuck School, Stir 
ling High School, Univ. of St Andrews, 
M.A. (1898), Edinburgh, B.D. (1900); licen. 
by Presb. of Edinburgh 19th May 1908; 
assistant Liberton, Kilsyth, St Thomas, 
Glasgow, Dalserf and Dalmarnock; ord. 
6th Nov. 1918; died 21st June 1946. 

STONEYKIRK or STEPHENKIRK 

Kilasser in Stoneykirk is "Lassair s 
Church," Laisre, Lasrach, Lassar. There 
are various female saints of those names, 
and there is nothing to show which is in 
tended here. In 1420-7 Alexander, Bishop 
of Galloway, appropriated the Church of 
Clayshant to the Capitular Mensa; and on 
9th Aug. 1427 Pope Martin V gave mandate 
to the Provost of Lincluden to confirm the 
appropriation if he deemed it fit. [Wat 
son s Celtic Place Names, 167; Cal. Papal 
Regs., Letters, vii, 526.] 

SIR ROBERT WATSON, was vicar of 
Clayshant 26th Feb. 1556-7, and in 
office June-July 1573 and died be 
fore 1 8th Feb. 1 580-1 ; may have conformed 
and acted as reader. [Reg. Great Seal, iv, 
1160; Edin. Test., i, 309; Reg. Sec. Seal, 
xlvii, 83.] 

SIR NEILL MCDOWELL, parson, 



1561 



vicar 1563. [Comps. Coll. Gen. 
Thirds.} 



-. THOMSON, reader at Clayshant. 



1563 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 



JOHN GIBSON, called min. 1563; 
exhorter 1 568-7 1 .[Comps. Sub 
Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 



1563 



192 



STONEYKIRK STRANRAER [PRESB. OF STRANRAER 



DONALD McCULLOCH, reader 1565. 



1565 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 

JAMES LAW, reader at Clay- 
1574 shant. 

ARCHIBALD EGLINTON, pres. to 
vicarage 18th Feb. 1580-1 .[Reg. 
Sec. Seal, xlvii, 83.] 

PATRICK STIRLING, pres. to 



1584 



1585 



vicarage 5th May 1584 in succession 
to Sir Robert Watson. [Reg. Sec. 
Seal, xlvii, 83.] 

ARCHIBALD ADAIR, son of Ninian 
Adair of Kinhilt, pres. to the 
vicarage of Torkingtoun 8th June 
1585, vacant by dem. of Sir Michael Haw 
thorne. [Reg. Sec. Seal, iii, 180.] 

JOHN MOFFAT, min. of Leswalt, pres. 
to vicarage of Tosterton and Kirk- 
maiden 7th Dec. 1594 on death of 

Sir Michael Hawthorn. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 

Ixvii, 36.] 

HEW McDOWALL, parson 1595-7. 



1595 



1684 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 

GILBERT POWER. [Gen. Reg. Sas., 
1605 xliv, 50.] 

ROBERT BOWES (or Bowie), M.A., 
late min. at Stoneykirk, resident 
with his wife and child in Tron 

Parish, Edinburgh, 8th Nov. \694.[Tron 

Poll Tax Roll.] 

ROBERT CAMPBELL, delete sons 
Thomas and William; had issue 
Robert; Hugh, apprenticed to Wil 
liam Blackwood, merchant, Edinburgh. 
[Edin. App. Reg.] 

JOHN HUNTER, his daugh., Margaret 
(marr. pro. 16th April 1795 Alexan 
der Leslie, flax dresser, Edinburgh). 

ROBERT McNEIL, pres. by Crown 
1840 llth Oct. 1939. 

JOHN JAMES CAMPBELL, pres. by 
1844 Crown 18th Dec. 1843. 

JAMES DOUGALL, his son, James 
__ Q Julius, died at Aberdeen 13th June 
1858 1926. 



WILLIAM JAMES LOWRIE, died 
1895 27th April 1941. 

TOSTERTOUN 

JAMES McCULLOCH, reader 1563. 



1563 



1695 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 

JOHN GIBSON, min. of Stoneykirk, 
1576 also in charge here 1576. 

STRANRAER 

JOHN LIVINGSTON, line 3, for "3rd 
1638 Aug. read 25th April. 

JOHN PARK, second son of Robert P., 
merchant, Glasgow. [Burgess Roll, 
23rd June 1647.] 

WALTER LAURIE, by Deed of 29th 
July 1736 because the charge was 
* destitute" of manse and glebe, and 
the stipend small, he mortified certain lands 
and houses by way of provision of a manse 
and glebe, subject to the life rent of himself 
and his wife, the trustees being the minister 
and elders and their successors. [Books of 
Council and Session, 15th June 1742.] 

WILLIAM MUNGALL SIMPSON, 

pres. by Crown 3rd Dec. 1845; his 
son, James Nicolson, died Glasgow 
20th March 1929. 

THOMAS LITTLE, pres. by Crown 
1867 18th June 1867. 

ROBERT SHARP WARREN, pres. by 
1872 Crown 16th April 1872. 

HARCOURT PETER CHARLTON, 

his son, Henry Lyons, died at Dedza, 

Nyasaland, 31st May 1925; his 
daugh., Margaret O Brien, died 9th Jan. 
1935. 
ANSON ROBERTSON CRAIK 

WOOD, trans, to Cupar First 

Charge 16th May 1924. 



1846 



1915 



RUSSELL WALKER, trans, from Tor- 
phins (q.v.) 25th Sept. 1924. Marr. 
10th Aug. 1926 Nelly, youngest 
daugh. of John Kirkland, Glasgow, and 
Agnes Dempster. 



1924 



PRESBYTERY OF WIGTOWN 



BARGRENNAN 

GEORGE MUIR, trans, to Houston 
1907 18th May 1917. 

JOSEPH CAMPBELL, formerly of 
Lugar (q.v.\ ord. 20th Sept. 1917, 
died 12th Nov. 1924; his widow, 

Marion McKinlay Park, died 28th Sept. 

1944. 

ANDREW HAMILTON, born 1870, 



1925 



son of James H. and Margaret 



Edwards; educ. at George Watson s 
College, Mansfield College, Oxford, Univ. 
of Edinburgh, M.A. (1890); licen. by Presb. 
of Ha wick 1925; assistant at Lyndhurst 
Road Church, Hampstead; ord. to Con 
gregational Church, Leek, Staffordshire 
1896; trans, to Pollokshields Cong. Church 
1897; dem. 1920; adm. by General Assem 
bly on probation 1921; adm. 24th April 
1925; dem. 25th Jan. 1933. Marr. (1) 
Aug. 1897 Wilhelmina Wood (died 1918), 
daugh. of William and Bella Anderson, and 
had issue James Russell, born 1899, 
killed in war at Passchendaele 1917; Wil 
liam Anderson, born 1900, Colombo; 
Marie Anderson, born 1901 (marr. Drew 
McClymont, Ourbank, Bargrennan); (2) 
March 1921, Catherine Doig, daugh. of 
William and James Crookston. 

GLASSERTON 

RODOLPH PEARSON, reader and 
vicar of Kirkmaiden in Farines in 



1561 



1561. [Coll. Gen. of Thirds, 96.] 



HENRY SMITH, reader 1563. 

1563 [ C P S - Sub Co11 - f Thirds for 
Dumfries, etc.] 

JOHN KAY, reader in 1569 and 1570. 
1569 [C m P s - Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 



GEORGE STEVENSON, vicar and 
reader in Kirkmaiden in Farines 
1569-81. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 



1569 



JOHN LIVINGSTON, pres. to vicarage 
20th Jan. 1574 on death of Raulf 
Pierson. [Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, (4), 
29.] 

SIR WILLIAM McLELLAN, vicar, 



1584 



probably died 1584. [Comps. Gen. 
Coll. of Thirds.} 



ROBERT STEWART, vicar, also vicar 



1584 



of Galston; marr. Geillis Murray, 



died in or just before 1590. 
[Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.] 

JOHN WATSON, pres. to vicarage 12th 
Feb. 1587-8 on death of George 
Stevenson. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ivii, 27.] 



1587 



JAMES DAVIDSON, M.A., pres. to 



1591 



vicarage 19th Jan. 1591-2 on death 



of Robert Stewart. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Ixiii, 130, 161.] 



1626 



GEORGE GALLOWAY, son of 

Patrick G., min. of St Giles, Edin 
burgh, and brother of Lord Dun- 
keld; died before 1664, when his wife marr. 
(2) Robert Stewart of Tonderghie; his 
daugh. Jean (marr. James Stewart in 
Balliewhir). [Reg. of Deeds, Mack., xi, 
243.] 

JAMES LAING, line 5, for "III" read 
1761 "II." 



1848 



ARCHIBALD STEWART, pres. by 
Crown 17th March 1849; his son, 
Henry Goodsir, agent, British Linen 

Bank, Wooler, died at Glasgow 1st Jan. 

1928; his daugh., Elizabeth Magdalene, 

died 15th June 1929. 



193 



194 



GLASSERTON LONGCASTLE 



[PRESB. OF 



1914 



JOHN GORDON, died at London 24th 
1876 Sept. 1920. 

JOHN GREENSHIELDS SCOULAR, 

licen. by Presb. of Cupar 3rd May 
1910; dem. 26th June 1945. Marr. 
18th Sept. 1923 Mabel, only daugh. of 
James Alexander, Isle of Whithorn, and 
has issue Mabel Alexander, born 22nd 
June 1924; John Richard, born 27th June 
1931. 

(The charges of Glasserton and Isle of 
Whithorn united 13th Jan. 1946.) 

KIRKCOWAN 

The saint appears to be Eoghan, pro 
bably Eogan of Ard-Strathe, of the first 
half of the 6th century, who is stated to 
have been trained at Whithorn. The pre 
sent church was built in 1834. [Watson s 
Celtic Place Names, 164.] 

JOHN MOFFAT, was min. here when 
, he was pres. to the vicarage of Les- 
walt. [Reg. Sec. Seal, liii, 168. See 
Leswalt.] 

BENJAMIN DENOON, his widow, 



1883 



Mary Jane Abel, died at Dumfries 
14th June 1926. 



ANDREW FALLAS MITCHELL, his 



1886 



widow, Grace Gow Anderson, died 
5th Jan. 1939. 



HUGH THOMAS SUTHERLAND 
MORRISON, trans, to Dysart 2nd 
Charge 16th Dec. 1925. 

LEWIS HERBERT WATSON, ord. 1st 



1926 



June 1926, trans, to Cults 7th April 
1929. 



KIRKEVNER,formerlyCARNESMOLL 

The early name was Carnesmoll or 
Carnismole. Before 1 326 it was granted to 
Whitern Priory by Edward Bruce, Lord of 
Galloway, brother of Robert I. By Papal 
Bull of 4th June 1504 the church, which 
belonged to the Prior and Chapter of 
Candida Casa, was annexed and appro 
priated to the Mense of the Chapel Royal 
of Stirling. [Cal. Papal Reg., Letters xi, 



39, 113; Rymers Foedera, ii, (1), 401; Reg. 
Mag. Sig., i, App. I, 20; Transcripts from 
the Vatican, iii, 77; MS. Reg. Ho.] 

ALEXANDER HUNTER, exhorter. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum- 
fries, etc.] 

ROBERT CHAMPARE, pres. to 



1569 

i, 29.] 



vicarage 13th Sept. 1569 on death of 
James Makaloun. [Reg. Pres. Bene. , 



JAMES KNOX, pres. to vicarage 2nd 
Jan. 1569-70 on death of David 
Gibson. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 34.] 



1569 



MICHAEL or NICOL DUNGALSON, 

reader, exhorter in 1565, min. in 
1572. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 

ANDREW LAMB, M.A., min. of the 

1602 Evan e l P res - to parsonage and 
vicarage 4th Jan. 1602 on deaths of 
William Duncanson, Min. of the Evangel, 
and Dean John Angus. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Ixxii, 207.] 

GEORGE WAUGH, line 5, for "Leu- 
1 647 chars read Edinburgh . 

WILLIAM CAMPBELL, second son of 
Robert C., maltman burgess, Glas- 



1702 

1713. 



gow. [Burgess Roll, 20th March 



ROBERT PATON, his widow, Susan 
1865 Dawson Reid, died 26th Nov. 1930. 

JOHN CUNNINGHAM WALKER, 
1900 licen. 20; died 16th March 1931. 

LONGCASTLE 

GEORGE STEVENSON, reader 1563. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum- 

, . . i 

fries, etc.] 

DENE JOHN MARTIN, vicar in office 
1565 [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 

WILLIAM VANS, reader and school 
master 1568, vicar before 22nd 
April 1581. Comps. Sub Coll. of 

Thirds, Dumfries, etc.; Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 

57.] 



WIGTOWN] 



LONGCASTLE MONIGAFF 



195 



NICOL or MICHAEL DUNGALSON. 
1574 [Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, (4), 27.] 

JOHN YOUNG, min. here, pres. to 
vicarage in 1 577 on death of Nicol 
Dungalson. [Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 
(4), 67.] 



1577 



KIRKMABRECK and KIRKDALE 

PATRICK GRANT, reader of Kirkdale 
1563. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 



1563 



JOHN MOFFAT, was min. here 8th 



1585 



April 1583, when he was presented 



to the vicarage and pensionaire in 
succession to deceased Thomas Regnall. 
[Reg. Sec. Seal, xlix, 115.] 



1603 



JOHN CALLANDER, pres. to vicarage 

by K * ng James VI m success i n to 
Edward, Commendator of Dun- 

drennan, Lady Lamington, the patron, 
having failed to present a qualified person 
within six months. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiii, 
170.] 

DAVID McQUERNE, marr. Sara, 
daugh. of David McQuorne, min. 

/. 

of Straiton. 



ROBERT EDWARD, M.A., resident 
with his wife and son in Tron 
parish, Edinburgh, 9th Nov. 1694. 
[Tron Poll Tax Roil, 59.] 



1684 



JOHN COLVIN, pres. by Crown 20th 
1859 Jan. 1859. 

CHARLES STUART WALLACE, 
1904 servec * as Chaplain to Forces in 
France 1916-18, and Macedonia 
1918-19 with Royal Scots; died suddenly 
in hotel in Edinburgh 8th Nov. 1932. Marr. 
5th Nov. 1918 Barbara Erica, younger 
daugh. of Johnston Stephen, Woolmet, 
Midlothian, and Helena Kitto, and had 
issue Diana Helena Barbara Stuart, born 
16th Feb. 1920; Robert James Stuart, born 
29th Jan. 1921, min. of Brydekirk 1947; 
Charles Stuart, born 6th July 1930. 



MOCHRUM 

LEWIS FRASER, designated min. 1569 
t _ ._ but subsequently as reader 7th Aug. 
1 572. Edin. Tests, ii, 154.] 

ANTHONIE STEWART, vicar 1584. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum- 

y~ . -I 

fries, etc.] 

HENRY WALLACE, M.A., resident 
with his wife, Isabel Cook, 8th Nov. 



1683 



1694. [Tron Poll Book, 30.] 



JOHN STEVEN, pres. 26th April 

1787 1787. 

ROBERT JAMES CRAIG, pres. by 
1863 Crown 8th May 1863. 

WILLIAM ALLAN, pres. by Crown 



1869 



9th June 1869; his widow, Isabella 
Milne Wright, died 22nd Dec. 1942. 



1926 



ANDREW ROBERTSON, trans, to 
Prestonfield, Edinburgh, 6th Oct. 
1926. 



JAMES THOMSON, trans, from 



1927 



Martyrs, Paisley (q.v.), 21st July 



1927; dem. 30th June 1947; his 
daugh., Mary Farquhar (marr. 5th Jan. 
1940 David Jones, Scotstoun); his son, Ivan 
Samson Durham, born 18th Jan. 1917. 

MONIGAFF 

JOHN STEWART, exhorter 1563 and 



1567 



1572. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 



ANDREW MENZIES, min., reader 



1576 



here before June 1576. [Edin. Tests, 
v. 263,] 



ALEXANDER HAMILTON, marr. 



1620 



Margaret, daugh. of Abraham Hen 
derson, min. of Whitern; his daughs. 
Margaret, mentioned in a divorce case 8th 
Aug. 1622; Mary, born March 1619. 
[G. R. Sas., xi, 10, 1st July 1622; xx, 184.] 



THOMAS CAMPBELL, eldest son of 
Robert C, maltman burgess of 
Glasgow. [Burgess Roll, 20th 
March 1713.] 



1699 



196 



MONIGAFF SORBIE 



[PRESB. OF 



JOHN GARLIES MAITLAND, pres. 
1789 24th Oct. 1788. 

MICHAEL SHAW STEWART JOHN- 
STON, his daugh., Harriet Stewart 
Hamilton, died 4th Jan, 1921; his 

son, Dunlop Stewart, died 28th July 1922; 

his daughs. Lilias Alice, died 14th Oct. 

1927; Edith Augusta Octavia, died 9th 

April 1933; Elizabeth McLeod, died at 

Stirling 24th Aug. 1943. 

LOUIS EDMOND McVICKER, trans. 
1915 to Macduff 4th July 1929. 

PENNINGHAME 

MARTIN GIB, reader, holding vicarage 
from 1561, portioner of Penning- 
hame. [Coll. Gen. of Thirds, 96.] 

ANTHONE STEWART, son of Alex- 



1566 



ander S. of Garlics, pres. to par 
sonage 22nd April 1566 on dem. of 
Sir Andrew Arnott. Marr. Barbara, daugh. 
of Alexander Gordon, titular Bishop of 
Athens, a son of John Master of Huntly, 
and was ancestor of Castle Stewart family. 
[P. S. Reg., xxxvii, 70.] 

WILLIAM THOMSON, mentioned as 
1 ,_ 1 min. 23rd June 1651. [Reg. of 
Deeds, Dal., xxv, 624.] 

JAMES COLQUHOUN, Archdeacon 



1666 f Whitern 17th Dec - 16g O- 

of Deeds, Dal., Ixxxviii, 23rd July 

1703.] 

WALTER BOYD, delete "born 
1760 1718." 

JOHN MCDONALD INGLIS, assistant 

1880 South Leith; died 30th Oct. 1929. 

SORBIE, KIRKMADRYNE and 
CRUGILTON 

About 1200 Ivo de Vipont granted to 
Dryburgh Abbey the Church of St Foylen 
(Fillan of Greater Sorbie), and about 1220 
Robert de Vipont granted similarly the 
Church of St Michael of Lesser Sorbie. In 
the latter case confirmation was made by 
Alan, father of Robert. At the request of 
Dryburgh Abbey, Gilbert, Bishop of Whit- 
horn, about 1250, on the ground that the 



two churches were sufficient only for the 
support of one man, consolidated the two, 
and decerned the Church of St Michael of 
Lesser Sorbie to be the mother church of 
each place. Before the middle of the 19th 
century there remained no traces of the 
churches, but their sites were pointed out, 
one at Culnorg in the north-west, and the 
other at Gilfillan near the centre of the 
parish. The church in the village of Sorbie 
was rebuilt about 1750, and thoroughly 
repaired in 1824. A new church was built 
at Millisle in 1874-6. [Book of Dryburgh, 
53, 56, 59-60.] 

Kirkmadryne . The saint is Draigne, 
Draighne, which, with gh silent in med. and 
mod. Gaelic, becomes Drine in English. 
Draigne is said to have been one of the ten 
sons of Dina, daugh. of the King of the 
Saxons, and Bracan, King of Brachineoc, 
of the Britons. To the Priory of Tralles- 
holm (St Mary s Isle of Trail) William the 
Lion granted the Church of Egarnesse 
(Kirkmadryne) given by Rolland, son of 
Uchtred. [Cal. ofCharters,i, 14; Watson s 
Celtic Place Names, 162-3.] 

Crugilton. In 1420-7 Alexander, Bishop 
of Galloway, appropriated the church to 
the Capitular Mensa; and on 9th Aug. 1427 
Pope Martin V gave mandate to the Pro 
vost of Lincluden to confirm the appro 
priation if he deemed it fit. [Cal. Papal 
Regs., Letters, vii, 526.] 

WILLIAM TELFER, reader, held the 
vicarage, was designated "Dene" 
and therefore was apparently pre- 

Reformation vicar and conformed. [Reg. 

Sec. Seal, xlix, 64.] 

JOHN McPHAIL, reader 1563. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum- 

/ . , i 

fries, etc.] 
SIR GILBERT OISLAR, was vicar, 



1561 



1566 

28.] 



apparently at and before 1560; died 
June 1566. Reg. Sec. Seal, xxxvi, 



ROBERT BLINSCHELL, min. at Wig 
town, was collated vicar in succes 
sion to Sir Gilbert Oislar 10th Dec. 
1566; ratification by Crown 20th Feb. 



1566 



WIGTOWN] 



SORBIE WHITERN 



197 



1566-7; he appears to have held Sorbie 
along with Wigtown at that time. [Reg. 
Sec. Seal, xxxvi, 28.] 

PETER GOWAN, reader, pres. to 
vicarage 21st Jan. 1576 on death of 
Robert Blinshell. [Reg. Pres. Bern., 
ii, (6), 51.] 



1579 



ARCHIBALD NORVELL, pres. in 
conjunction on death of Peter 
Gowan (MacGowan). [Reg. Pres. 
Bene., ii, 94.] 

NICOL McBLANE, pres. to the 
1^88 vicarage 17th Jan. 1582-3 in succes 
sion to Dene William Telfer. [Reg. 
Sec. Seal, xlix, 64.] 

JOHN KAY, min. and reader, pres. to 
1 _ gft vicarage 2nd Aug. 1591 on death of 
Sir Nicol McLellan. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., Ixii, 123.] 

ALEXANDER RYNE, line 4, for 
1633 "James VI" read "Charles I." 

ROBERT KAY, pres. to vicarage of 



1594 

134.] 



Crugelton 26th May 1594 on dem. 
of John Kay. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixvi, 



ANDREW AITKEN, his son, John, 
1684 a PP rent i ce d to Robert Freebairne, 
bookbinder, Edinburgh, 27th Nov. 
1706. 

ARCHIBALD HADDEN, son of Archi- 
1700 bald H., weaver, Glasgow. 

JAMES MAITLAND, marr. Agnes, 
daugh. of John Dempster, min. of 
St Madoc s. 

ALEXANDER FORRESTER, line 25, 
1835 for "Rutlan" read "Rutlain." 

ALEXANDER MURDOCH, pres. by 
J869 Crown 21st June 1869; his daug., 
Martha Bowman, died 22nd March 
1944. 

OLIVER SHAW RANKIN, educ. at 
1912 Geor S e Watson s College and Univ. 
of Berlin; adm. Professor of Old 
Testament Language, Literature and Theo 
logy, New College, 5th Oct. 1937; D.Litt. 



N* 



(Edinburgh, 1928); D.D. (Glasgow, 27th 
June 1938). Addl. issue Kenneth Walker, 
born 5th April 1920. Publications Origins 
of the Festival of Hanukkah (Edinburgh, 
1935); Israel s Wisdom Literature, its 
Bearing on Theology and the History of 
Religion (Edinburgh, 1936). 

WHITERN 

The Augustinian priory of St Mary s Isle 
was a dependent cell of Holyrood Abbey. 

In 1324 King Robert I confirmed to 
Whithorn Priory the following churches 
Church of St Kenere of Carnesmoll (Kirk- 
inner) and the Church of St Mathew of 
Wigton, the gift of Edward Bruce, "our 
brother," lord of Galloway; Church of St 
Brigid in Lair in Man, the gift of Thomas 
Randolph, Earl of Moray; Church of St 
Columkill in Kintyre, the gift of Patrick 
McSciling and Finlach, his wife; and the 
Church of St Michael of Gemelston 
(Gelston), the gift of John de Gemelston, 
son and heir of late John de G., Kt. In a 
letter of Edward I of England, 21st Sept. 
1301, William de Dorem narrated that his 
spy told him that these Scots (who had 
retreated from Nithsdale towards Gallo 
way) heard that my lord, your son, was on 
pilgrimage of St Ninian (Rineyan), and 
they removed the imagine (of the same ?) 
to New Abbey, and on the morning they 
hoped to find it, and it had gone back to 
St Ninian. The reference is to the image of 
the Saint at Whithorn. [Reg. Great Seal, 
i, App. I, 20; Cal. of Docs. Rel. to Scot., 
ii, 311; Cal. Papal Regs., Letters, vii, 368.] 

ADAM FOULIS, M.A., min. in 1563. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum- 

,. . i 

fries, etc.] 
DENE JOHN JOHNSTON, reader 



1563 



1563, vicar-pensioner apparently at 
and before 1560; died before 4th 
Nov. 1566. [Reg. Sec. Seal, xxxvi, 8.] 

DENE ADAM FLEMING, was canon 
1566 ^ Wmtnorn ; collated vicar-pen 
sioner by the Commendator of 
Whithorn 4th Nov. 1566; Crown ratifica 
tion 14th Feb. 1566-7. [Reg. Sec. Seal, 
xxxvi, 8.] 



198 



WHITERN WIGTOWN 



[PRESB. OF WIGTOWN 



DENE JOHN HAY, his collation as 



1566 



vicar-pensioner in succession to 



Dene John Johnston in 1566 was 
ratified by the Crown 20th Feb. 1566-7, 
Dene Adam Fleming apparently not having 
actually assumed duty. [Reg. Sec. Seal, 
xxxvi, 27.] 

ADAM FLEMING, reader 1572. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum- 

: . -I 

fries., etc.] 
JAMES ADAMSON, master of Wigton 



1582 



Grammar School; pres. in 1582 on 
death of Adam Fleming. [Reg. 
Pres. Bene., ii, 66.] 

ABRAHAM HENDERSON, his daugh. 
1605 Margaret (marr. Alexander Hamil 
ton, min. of MonigarT). 

ANDREW LAUDER, died before 1669; 



1638 



his son, William, apprenticed to 



Laurence Graham, furrier, Edin 
burgh, 20th Jan. 1669. 

ROBERT GRAY, had issue William, 
bapt. 14th May 1687. [Aberdeen 

loot) -, , 

Reg.} 
ALEXANDER DUNLOP, marr. 



1697 



Katherine, sister to Gavin Dunbar 
of Cathkin. 



THOMAS ELDER, marr. Sara Grierson 



1704 



(died 1707), sister of Homer Grier 
son, surgeon apothecary, Dumfries. 

CHRISTOPHER NICHOLSON, his 

daugh., Margaret, marr. (2) 21st 



1811 



June 1854. 



MATTHEW JARDINE, his widow, 



1864 



Mary Gourlay, died llth June 1830; 



his daugh., Grace Broadfoot, died 
Newton Stewart, 19th Jan. 1947. 

DONALD MACINTYRE HENRY, 

died 18th Aug. 1920; his daugh., 
Dorothea (marr. 6th July 1920 John 
Taylor Wyllie, Dumfries). 

WILLIAM ARNOLD REID, born Alva 
20th Dec. 1890, second son of Wil 
liam R., Eastbank Academy, Shettle- 
ston and Jessie Hunter; educ. at Alva 
Academy, High School and Univ. of Glas 
gow, M.A. (1911); licen. by Presb. of 



Glasgow 1914; served in Great War as 
Captain and Adjutant, Northumberland 
Fusiliers, 1914-19; assistant Hamilton 
1914; Springburn 1919-20; ord. 16th Feb. 
1921; app. Presb. Clerk 25th June 1929; 
trans, to St Mary s, Selkirk, 4th June 1931; 
trans, to Holywood, 13th May 1948. Marr. 
15th June 1917 Marion Baillie Darling 
Wilson, M.B., Ch.B., elder daugh. of Dr 
George Wilson, Shettleston, and Jeanie 
Darling, and had issue Margaret Jean 
Garth, B.Sc., born 3rd July 1919 (marr. 
7th Jan. 1946 Frederick Tidd, Chaplain to 
the Forces); Kathleen Arnold, born 15th 
March 1923 (marr. 1st Nov. 1949 Charles 
William Younger, son of William Drum- 
mond, Newlands, St Boswells); Alastair 
Arnold, born 22nd March 1926; Marion 
Lesley, born 5th July 1930. 

WIGTOWN 

The church was granted to Whitern 
Priory before 1326 by Edward Bruce, Lord 
of Galloway, brother of Robert I. On 9th 
Feb. 1541-2, "Sanct Laurence day, quhilk 
the nynt day of August is described as the 
principal fair day at Wigtown. [Reg. Mag. 
Sig., i, App. i, 20; Acts of the Lords of 
Council on Public Affairs, 513.] 

PATRICK McCULLOCH, reader. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum- 



1563 



fries, etc.] 



ROBERT BLINDSHIEL, M.A., min. 



in 1563, also held Sorbie. [Comps. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

JAMES FALCONER, reader 1572-3. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 

ARCHIBALD HAMILTON, son of 

Patrick H., min. of Innerwick. 



1567 



1572 



1654 



[Hamilton MSS., 166.] 



ANDREW DONNAN, his daugh., 
1785 Janet, died 19th Nov. 1847. 

JAMES CULLEN, his daugh., Rose 
1863 Elizabeth, died 7th Dec. 1933. 

GAVIN LAWSON, marr. 2nd April 
1924 Janet Broadfoot; dem. 18th 
Dec. 1947. 
(Churches united \st Jan. 1948.) 



PRESBYTERY OF KIRKCUDBRIGHT 



ANWOTH 

The church, along with the Chapel of 
Culenes, was granted to Holyrood Abbey 
by David, son of Terr, confirmation being 
given by John, Bishop of Whithorn, 1 1 89- 
1209. [Charters of Holyrood, 38, 40.] 



1563 



WILLIAM MOSCROP, M.A., min. in 
1563, had also charge of Girthon, 
St Mary s Isle, Kirkandrews, Sen- 
nick and Borgue. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

JAMES WYLIE, reader 1563. [Comps. 
1563 Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

ALEXANDER YOUNG, reader in 1569 
1569 and 1570. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

DAVID MURRAY, reader, pres. on 
1 -__ death of Malcolm McCulloch; still 
in office 1590. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 
ii, (4), 64.] 



ELIAS McCULLOCH, pres. to vicarage 
17th Jan. 1577-8 on death of Mal 
colm McCulloch. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
xlv, 5.] 



1577 



ISAAC PATERSON, pres. in 1602, on 
1601 deprivation of David Murray for 
not serving the cure and residing at 
the kirk [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiii, 12.] 

JOHN MEIN, line 6, delete "probably 
1643 deprived in 1662." He marr. 
Barbara Dickson. [Reg. of Deeds, 
1671, p. 295.] 



JOHN RICHMOND, min. in 1665. 
166 _ Marr. Jean Lauder. [Kirkcudbright 
Sheriff Court Deeds, 190.] 

JAMES SHAW, had six children. 
1668 [P. C. Reg., 29th July 1685.] 



THOMAS TURNBULL, his daugh., 
Agnes (marr. 3rd Dec. 1833 John 



1804 



Craig, Edinburgh). 



THOMAS JOHNSTONE, his daugh., 
Lilias, died at Dalbeattie 10th April 






WILLIAM MACMILLAN BLACK, 

his widow, Amy Greenshields, died 
at Oldcolwyn 8th May 1920. 



FRANK WILLIAM SAUNDERS, en 
listed as a private in Great War, 
Lieutenant Argyll and Sutherland 
Highlanders, served in Palestine; killed in 
action 1st Aug. 1918; his widow, Janet 
Cochrane Meiklejohn, died 17th Oct. 1933; 
his daugh., Katherine Helen (marr. 28th 
April 1936 John Porter, Dalmarnock, 
Bute.) 

FRANKLIN ROSS TAYLOR LOR- 
1919 NIE, ord. 13th Feb. 1919; trans, to 
Buccleuch, Glasgow, 26th March 
1925. 



JOHN SCOTT, B.A., formerly of Dal- 
keith West (#.v.); trans, from 
Saughtree 26th Aug. 1925; dem. 
2nd Dec. 1931. 



1925 



AUCHENCAIRN 

Note. Line 5, for "Auchenatary" read 
" Auchenabony. " 



1856 



DAVID WARK, his widow, Jessie 
Morton Crosbie, died 19th April 
1917. 



1900 



WALTER ROBERTSON HENDER 
SON, marr. 18th June 1919 Mar 
garet, second daugh. of David 

Johnston of Linkens, Castle Douglas; she 

died 20th May 1948. 

(Charges united 9th Nov. 1932.) 



199 



200 



BALMACLELLAN BALMAGHIE 



[PRESB. OF 



BALMACLELLAN 

SIR GEORGE GRAY, prebendary and 
vicar 1562. [Reg. Abbrev. Feu Char- 



1562 



ters, Church Lands, i, 187.] 



1563 



ELIAS McCULLOCH, reader in 1563 
and 1567. [Comps. Sub Coll. Oj 



Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 



1625 



ROBERT MURRAY, was dep. by the 
Commission of Kirkcudbright ap 
pointed by the General Assembly 
at Glasgow 1638 for oppression, drunken 
ness, railing, selling the sacraments, sacri 
lege, bribery, etc., which sentence was 
approved by the General Assembly at 
Edinburgh 27th Aug. 1639.- [Peterkin s 
Records of the Kirk of Scotland, 261.] 

JOHN ROW, for an account of an 
assault on him see Privy Council 
Reg., 3 Ser., iii, 100. 

PATRICK GEDDIE, his son, Andrew, 
1685 min. at Farnell. 

THOMAS WARNER, line 5, delete 
1691." Marr. (1) Mary Grier and 



1689 



had issue Thomas; (2) Jean Gor 



don and had issue Agnes. [Privy Council 
Reg., 3 Ser., iii, 100.] 

WILLIAM McKIE, line 5, for "1747" 
1747 read "1746." 

JAMES THOMSON, line 3, for "6th" 
1791 read "1st." 

GEORGE MURRAY, pres. by Crown 
15th July 1851; his daugh., Mar 
garet (marr. James J. R. Hope, 
M.D.), died at New Galloway 25th Sept. 
1930. 

WILLIAM CUTHILL, died at Edin 
burgh 12th Dec. 1927. Marr. 1st 
June 1920 Margaret Noble, daugh. 



1851 



1881 



of John Dawson, min. of Makerstoun. 

GEORGE MURRAY, died at Lennox- 
town 26th July 1925; his widow, 
Elizabeth Lumsden, died 22nd April 
1945; his son, John, 2nd Lieut. K.O.S.B., 
killed 16th Aug. 1917; his daugh., Evelyn 
Hope (marr. Thomas Kennedy Johnston, 
his successor). 



THOMAS KENNEDY JOHNSTON, 

1920 bom 20th March 1890 son of 
David J., min. of St Columba s 

Gaelic Church, Paisley; educ. Paisley 
Grammar School and Univ. of Glasgow, 
M.A. (1914); licen. by Presb. of Hamilton 
June 1919; assistant Pollokshields; ord. 
23rd Sept. 1920; trans, to East Kilbride 
26th Oct. 1932. Marr. 26th Aug. 1924 
Evelyn Hope, younger daugh. of George 
Murray of Troquhain, min. of this parish, 
and has issue Elizabeth Kennedy, born 
4th March 1926; David, born 4th July 1927, 
died 4th Feb. 1934; George Murray, born 
3rd March 1930; Evelyn Kennedy, born 
21st Nov. 1933; William, born 6th May 
1936. 

BALMAGHIE 

ROBERT CHAPMAN, reader in 1563 
1563 and 1567. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

GEORGE CRICHTON, vicar and dean. 
1565 [Acts and Dec., xxxiv, 392.] 

JAMES CARRUTHERS, for "trans, 
from Crossmichael read "min. 



1574 



also at Crossmichael. 



JOHN ADAMSON, M.A., pres. to 

1588 vicara e 22nd Ma y 1588 on death 

of Robert Chapman. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., Ivii, 120.] 

JOHN HILTON, pres. to vicarage 15th 
July 1588 on death of Sir Robert 



Chapman. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ivii, 



1588 

135.] 

JAMES MAXWELL, son of Alexander 
M. of Ingliston or Balgreden, pres. 
to vicarage 7th Jan. 1594-5, on 

depr. of John Charters. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 

Ixvii, 42.] 

JOHN FAIRFOUL, pres. on dep. and 
dem. of James Maxwell. [Reg. Sec. 



1601 



Sig., Ixxii, 20.] 



WILLIAM DALZIEL, M.A., pres. on 
25th June 1605 on death of John 



1605 

239.] 



Fairfoul. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiv, 



KIRKCUDBRIGHT] 



BALMAGHIE SENNICK 



201 



GAVIN MAXWELL, M.A., pres. to 
vicarage 4th July 1605 on death of 



1605 

349.] 



John Fairfoul. [P. S. Reg., Ixxiv, 



JAMES KIRK, born 25th Feb. 1634, 
resident with a son aged 12 in Lady 
Yester s parish, Edinburgh, 1st 

Nov. 1694. [Lady Yester s Poll Tax Roll, 

18.] 

WILLIAM ALEXANDER MOWAT, 

marr. 14th June 1917 Frances Rosa, 
daugh. of George Holmes, County 
Inspector, Royal Irish Constabulary, Dub 
lin, and has issue Magnus, born 28th April 
1918; George Holmes, born 7th May 1920. 



1904 



BORGUE 

About 1170 the church, under the name 
of the Church of Worgis, was granted to 
Dryburgh Abbey by Radulphis de Cam 
pania. It was dedicated to St Nicholas. 
[Bk. of Dryburgh, 49.] 

WILLIAM MOSCROP, M.A., min. of 
1563 Anwoth, also in charge here. 

1563 JAMES SCOTT, reader 1563. 
JOHN STRUDGEON, exhorter 1568- 



1568 



72. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 

1574 WILLIAM STRUDGEON, reader. 

SIR MICHAEL HAWTHORN, vicar 
1584 1584. [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.] 

JOHN AIKMAN, min. here, pres. to 
v i car "P ens i nar y 30th May 1590 on 
death of Robert Blenshell. [Reg. 
Sec.Sig., Ix, 137.] 

ABRAHAM HENRYSON, pres. on 
dep. of John Aikman. [Reg. Sec. 

g-, . i . _^ ., 

Sig., Ixix, 51.] 

GAVIN MAXWELL, line 6, for 
"Ha wick" read "Ancrum." 



1607 



[G. R. Sas., xxviii, 293.] 



ADAM KAE, died 1665. Marr. Grizel 



1649 



Cairns, who survived him and marr. 



(2) William MacMillan of Caldew. 
Publication A Sermon concerning the 



Believers sitting under Christ s Shadow. 
[Kirkcudbright Sher. Court Deeds, 250, 251, 
1349.] 

JAMES MURRAY, adm. before 18th 
1669 May 1669. 

ROBERT MONTEITH, min. before 
1680 17th Dec. 1680. 

PATRICK HASTIE, marr. Rebecca 
1683 Higgins and had issue Patrick. 

WILLIAM REID, pres. by Crown 27th 



1843 



July 1843; his widow, Anna Tom- 
linson, died 16th Feb. 1923. 

GEORGE COOK, pres. by Crown 3rd 
186? Jan. 1867; his daugh., Charlotte 
Stewart, died at Corstorphine 5th 
Sept. 1922. 

WILLIAM JOSEPH PENNELL, dem. 
2nd Dec. 1942. Publication His 
tory and Modern Religious Thought 
(London, 1924). 

(Charges united 14th Dec. 1933.) 



1899 



KIRKANDREWS 

On 14th Jan. 1447-8 Pope Nicolas V 
granted mandate to confirm the erection of 
the Church of Kirkandrews into a Prebend 
of Lincluden by William, Earl of Douglas. 
[Cal. Papal Regs., Letters, x, 342.] 

WILLIAM MOSCROP, M.A., min. of 
Anwoth, in charge here. [Comps. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

DONALD MacALLAN, reader. 



1563 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 



JOHN McCLELLAN, reader. See under 
1582 Sir Thomas Ker, Roxburgh. 

SENNICK 

At Kessoktoun in the parish there was 
a church dedicated to St Kessoc or Kessog. 
[Scott s The Pictish Nation, its People and 
Church, 140.] 

WILLIAM MOSCROP, M.A., min. of 



1563 



Anwoth, also in charge here. 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 



202 



SENNICK CARSPHAIRN 



[PRESB. OF 



JOHN McCLELLAN, reader. [Comps. 
1563 Sub Coll of Thirds, Dumfries.] 

ANDREW DAVIDSON, M.A., vicar 
7th Aug. 1566; parson of Kinnettles 
1573. [/teg. of Deeds, viii, 406; 
Grote sPw/. Bk. t 377.] 

BUITTLE and KIRKENNAN 

The Church of Buittle was granted to 
Sweetheart Abbey by Thomas de Dalston, 
Bishop of Whithorn, 1296-1311. [Max 
well Monuments, 6. ] 

SIR JOHN PARKER, vicar-pensioner 
and reader 1562, still in office 1565. 
[Reg. Abbrev. Feu Charters of 
Church Lands, i, 100.] 

JAMES PARKER, vicar in 1567, died 
before 10th July 1587. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., Iv, 98.] 



1562 



1567 



DAVID (JOHN) AIKMAN, pres. to 

vicarage 10th July 1587 on death of 

James Parker; murdered 2nd Sept. 

1593 by John Muir, son and heir of John 

M. of Hallmuire, and his brothers Adam 

and George and their servant. [P. C. Reg., 

Reg. Sec. Sig., Iv, 98.] 

PATRICK ADAMSON, for "his in- 
sufficiencie for the Ministrie, fre 
quent drunkenness on the Sabbath, 
and dancing in his drunkenness, and dis 
obedience of the Presbyterie he was dep. 
by the Commission of Kirkcudbright ap 
pointed by the General Assembly at Glas 
gow 1638; the sentence was approved by 
the General Assembly at Edinburgh 27th 
Aug. 1639. [Peterkin s Recs. of the Kirk, 
261.] 

ROBERT FERGUSON, imprisoned at 
1645 Edinburgh 1663. 

JAMES WALKER, M.A., resident with 



1676 



three young children in Tron parish, 



Edinburgh, 9th Nov. 1694. [Tron 
Poll Tax Roll, 59.] 

WILLIAM TOD, marr. (1) 9th May 
1697 Anna Hepburn, widow of 
Hugh Rose, writer, Edinburgh. 
[Deeds Dal., 1705, Nos. 23, 24.] 



JOHN DAVIS, enlisted in R.A.M.C., 
died of heat stroke at Amara, 
Mesopotamia, 22nd July 1917. 



1907 



JAMES MURRAY HADDOW, born 



1918 



Glasgow 9th Nov. 1890, son of 
Alexander H. and Isabella Murray; 
educ. Hutcheson s Boys Grammar School 
and Univ. of Glasgow; licen. by Presb. of 
Dunbarton 1916; assistant St Giles, Edin 
burgh; ord. 25th Jan. 1918; trans, to 
Oatlands-St Bernards 30th March 1936; 
died 3rd May 1940. Marr. 12th Dec. 1918 
Margaret Elizabeth, daugh. of Thomas 
Gillespie, 109 Gt. Western Road, Glasgow, 
and had issue Alexander, born 3rd July 
1921; Thomas Gillespie, born 10th July 
1923; James Murray, born 24th Sept. 1925. 

CARSPHAIRN 

On 25th Jan. 1633 there was laid before 
the Commission for the Plantation of Kirks 
a supplication from heritors and inhabi 
tants of lands in the parishes of Kells and 
Dairy situated 12-16 miles from each of the 
two parish churches, to the effect that they 
were defrauded of the comfort of the Word 
and the benefit of the Sacraments, while 
poor people were oftentimes buried in the 
fields, having none to carry them the long 
distance to the churchyard, and craving 
that said lands be erected into a separate 
parish. The Commission ordered the sup 
plication "to be insert in their books qill 
(till) the erection should be passed. There 
after at a village called Tantallocholme 
which on 31st July 1635 was erected by 
Charles I into a Burgh of Barony under the 
name of the Burgh of Kirkton a church 
called the Church of Carsphairn (Scarefern- 
home) was built by voluntary subscription 
by the heritors and inhabitants and opened 
for worship in or just before 1636, and a 
minister was settled whose stipend was also 
provided by the same means. On 1 5th Dec. 
1638 a supplication from the church, which 
then had 500 communicants, was presented 
to the General Assembly, craving help from 
Presbyteries towards the provision of 
"competent means" for a minister, and 
this was renewed on 27th Aug. 1639, when 
the Assembly commended the appeal to 



KIRKCUDBRIGHT] 



CARSPHAIRN CROSSMICHAEL 



203 



the bounds there designed for that contri 
bution. " The position was regularised 
when, after approval of the erection of the 
parish by the General Assembly on 4th 
Feb. 1645 and by the Committee of Parlia 
ment on 7th Feb. 1645, the erection was 
ratified by Parliament on 8th March of the 
same year. The church was rebuilt in 1815 
and thoroughly repaired in 1837. [Acts 
Scott. Parl., v, 596b, vi, (1), 398, vii, 159; 
Reg. Great Seal, ix, 374; Peterkin s Recs. 
of Kirk of Scot., 184, 262.] 

THOMAS COLDEN, line 3, for " 1 657 " 
read 2nd Dec. 1 664. [G. R. Sas., 
3 Ser., xxx, 9.] 

PETER CHARLES FINDLAY, died at 
1881 Edinburgh 10th March 1924; his 
wife, Barbara Stuart Macleod, died 
13th Dec. 1919. 



1913 



GEORGE FERRIER ANDERSON 
MACNAUGHTON, ord. 6th Nov. 
1890, dem. 16th May 1925; died at 

Stansted, Essex, llth April 1933. Line 19 

for Finlay read Findlay. 

WILFRED ROBERT SIEVEWRIGHT, 

1925 born Glas ow 18th March 1 89 1> son 
of Andrew S. and Agnes Clark; 
educ. at Hutcheson s Grammar School and 
Univ. of Glasgow; licen. by Presb. of Glas 
gow 4th May 1921; assistant Govan Parish 
Church and St Marnoch s, Kilmarnock; 
ord. 17th July 1924 to West Wemyss; trans. 
16th Sept. 1925. Marr. 23rd June 1926 
Anna M., daugh. of John and Marjory 
Stewart. 

(Charges united 6th July 1930.) 

CASTLE DOUGLAS 

GEORGE WALKER, died at Aberdeen 
1874 22nd May 1919. 

LUKE McQUITTY, trans, to Monkton 
1915 28th June 1923. 

MATTHEW McPHAIL, ord. 7th Nov. 
1923; trans, to St Luke s, Lochee, 



1923 



12th Oct. 1927. 



DAVID EASTHAM AUTY, B.D., 



1928 



trans, from St Clement s, Dundee 
(<7.v.), 22nd March 1928; his daugh., 



Eunice Mary (marr. 14th June 1940 Colin 
Rea Duncan Brown, 2nd Lieut. Argyll and 
Sutherland Highlanders, son of Peter B., 
Cliff Lodge, Greenock). 

CORSOCK 

The laird of Corsock, John Neilson by 
name, was one of the martyrs of the 
"killing time." The site of his castle is 
still visible, and here the first conventicle 
was held. The circumstances were these. 
In the year 1662 a throng of men and 
women fugitives from the neighbouring 
parish of Kirkpatrick Durham came with 
their minister, Gabriel Temple. The hospi 
tality and protection of Neilson having 
been given, services were held in the hall of 
the manor. Large numbers flocked to them 
and, the accommodation being limited, the 
congregations assembled at length on the 
green, and in this way the first of the 
"Field Meetings" or "Conventicles" was 
held. Later Neilson was taken prisoner at 
Rullion Green and eventually put to death 
after being tortured on "the boot." 

JOHN PAUL, adm. by General Assem 
bly 1899; dem. 27th Oct. 1930; adm. 
to Ayton West 23rd April 1931, died 
at Edinburgh 7th Aug. 1933. Marr. 5th 
Jan. 1921 Jessie Hutcheson Millar (died at 
Edinburgh 31st March 1931), eldest daugh. 
of James McGregor, Dunella, Stonehaven. 

(Charges united 1930.) 

CROSSMICHAEL 

JOHN WAUGH, marr. (1) and had 

issue Barbara, John; (2) 1675, 

Helen, daugh. of William Gordon 

of Air ds. [Kirkcudbright Sher. Court, 221 .] 

JOHN WHITSON, his daugh., 



1837 



Euphemia Dick of Essendy (marr. 

William Fraser, min. of Tradeston 
U.F. Church), died at Edinburgh 19th Oct. 
1923. 

JOHN DOUGLAS STEWART, dem. 

1871 10th Dec. 1918; died 16th Feb. 1919; 

his widow, Ann Craig Allison, died 

9th Feb. 1939; his son, John Douglas, died 

16th Nov. 1928. 



204 



CROSSMICHAEL KELLS 



[PRESB. OF 



JAMES ANNETT FISHER, marr. 30th 

1912 Nov * ^^ to Marjory, daugh. of 
Kingsford Pawling, Barnet, and has 
issue Michael Joseph Pawling, born 6th 
June 1920; Pauline Margaret Clara, born 
23rd April 1924. 



DALRY 

JAMES DODDS, min. in office 1563. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum- 

/* , ,1 

fries, etc.] 
1563 FRANCIS HOME, reader 1563. 
CUTHBERT AD AIR, exhorter 1569-72. 



1569 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 



WILLIAM BOYD, marr. (1) 1 1th March 
1690 **^ I sa b e l Anderson, Glasgow, 
and had issue William, bapt. 2nd 
Dec. 1694; Andrew, bora 1697; by second 
marriage Edward; Robert; David; Isabel 
and Barbara. [Dumfries Tests, Edward 
Maxwell of Hills, 22nd Feb. 1723.] 

ALEXANDER MACGOWAN, his 



1753 
pool). 



daugh., Mary (marr. 24th June 1923 
James Glover, writing master, Liver- 



JOHN ANDERSON, trans, to St. 
1907 Kenneth s, Govan, 18th May 1927. 

HAROLD GEORGE MULLO WEIR, 

Q2 _ born Edinburgh 29th Sept . 1 899, son 
of James Mullo Weir, S.S.C., Edin 
burgh, and Minnie Augusta Wilkins; educ. 
at Royal High School and Univ. of Edin 
burgh, M.A. (1923); licen. by Presb. of 
Edinburgh 1st Dec. 1924; student assistant 
North Berwick 1924; Greenock West 1925; 
ord. 28th Sept. 1927. 

GIRTHON 

WILLIAM MOSCROP, M.A., min. of 



1563 

fries.] 



Anwoth, also in charge here. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum- 



ROBERT MUIR, vicar, exhorter and 



1563 



reader from 1565 to 1574. [Cal. of 
Charters, x, 2326.) 



LEWIS LAWSON of LEUCHOLD, 

"late min. at Girthon, " mentioned 
9th April 1 664. Marr. Lucy Moodie. 
[Reg. of Deeds, Mack., xiv, 888.] 

SIMON KNOX, his son, William, min. 
1666 ofDairsie. 

ROBERT CHEYNE, resident in Grey- 

friars parish, Edinburgh, 9th Nov. 

1694. Marr. (2) Jean Orrok, widow 

of Alexander Ramsay, min. of Old Kirk, 

Edinburgh. [/W/ Tax Roll, 54.] 



PATRICK JOHNSTON, son of James 
1699 J., merchant, Edinburgh. 

ROBERT THOMSON, son of Andrew 
1737 T., min. at Ansell. 

GEORGE MURRAY, pres. by Crown 
1848 23rd July 1843. 

HUGH MORTON JACK, pres. by 



1852 

1936. 



Crown 27th Nov. 1851; his daugh., 
Marianne Louisa, died 23rd March 



JOHN STEWART, died 24th June 
1901 1937. 

(Charges united 2\st March 1932.) 

KELLS 

CHARLES McCULLOCH, pres. to 
vicar pensionary 13th July 1586 on 
death of Sir Donald Mure. [Reg. 
Sec. Sig., liv, 35.] 

JOHN DICKSON, his sons, Robert of 



1636 



Buchtrig, advocate 1666, M.P. New 



Galloway 1661-74, died 10th Jan. 
1674; George of Buchtrig, advocate 1674. 

JOHN CANT, p. 412, line 10, for 
1659 "1694" read "1674." 

JAMES BROWN, M.A., described as 
"a poor man with five children" 
when resident in Lady Yester s 

parish, Edinburgh, 7th Nov. 1694. [Lady 

Yester s Poll Tax Roll, 4.] 

PIRIE PHILIP, dem. 7th Nov. 1921, 



1685 



1879 

(1942). 



died 18th Aug. 1945. Publication 
A New Interpretation of the Cross 



KIRKCUDBRIGHT] 



KELLS GELSTON 



205 



JAMES MAITLAND, his daugh., Jane 
1826 Agnes, died 21st Feb. 1940. 

SAMUEL WOOD CAMERON, ord. 



1922 

1925. 



30th March 1922; dem. on appoint 
ment as Indian Chaplain 29th Oct. 



JOHN ARTHUR CAMERON, born 



1926 



5th April 1894, son of Nicol F. C., 
solicitor, Glasgow; educ. at Glasgow 
Academy and Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. 
(1914); became a solicitor in Glasgow; 
licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh 26th Dec. 
1924; assistant St John s, Edinburgh; ord. 
25th March 1926; died 31st Jan. 1928. 
Marr. 16th June 1921 Agnes May, daugh. 
of John Gavin Dickson, min. of St John s 
Edinburgh, and had issue Ian Nicol 
Ferguson, born 6th Aug. 1922, Flight Navi 
gator, R.A.F., killed on active service 1943; 
Mary Henderson, born llth May 1925; 
Agnes Eleanor, born 29th Dec. 1927. 

ARTHUR CURRIE GORDON, born 
1928 Edinburgh 1st Feb. 1904, son of Wil 
liam G., min. of Arnsheen, and Alison 
Jollie; educ. at George Watson s College 
and Univ. of Edinburgh, M.A. (1924), B.D. 
(1928); licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh April 
1927; assistant St Bernard s, Edinburgh 
1927; ord. 7th June 1928; trans, to Foveran 
20th April 1932; killed in action in France 
June 1940. Marr. 30th April 1929 Agnes 
Dorien, daugh. of James Mathers, O.B.E., 
min. of Rosewell, and Agnes Malseed, and 
had issue Maureen Agnes Elizabeth, born 
24th Nov. 1934; Arthur William Norman, 
born 6th Feb. 1937; his widow marr. (2) 
Malcolm Manford Corner, min. of Drainie. 



KELTON 

In the 12th century the church was desig 
nated Cheletun and Lochelletun. It be 
longed originally to lona, and was granted 
to Holyrood Abbey in 1 161-74 by Uchtred, 
son of Fergus, lord of Galloway. [Char 
ters of Holyrood, 38, 40, 41.] 

SIR HERBERT ANDERSON, vicar 
-.,. 3rd Feb. 1567-8. Cal. of Charters, 
507 2108.] 



SIR JAMES PAINE, reader, still in 
, office 1572. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Dumfries, etc.; Edin. Tests, 
iii, 120.] 

DAVID BLYTH, M.A., min. at Kirk 
cudbright, pres. to vicarage 30th 
Sept. 1590 on death of Sir Herbert 
Anderson. P. S. Reg., Ixi, 52.] 

ROBERT McCLELLAN, for "insuffi- 
1627 c i enc * e intemperat drinking, and 
disobedience to the Presbyterie he 
was dep. by the Commission of Kirkcud 
bright appointed by the General Assembly 
at Glasgow 1638; the sentence was ap 
proved by the General Assembly at Edin 
burgh 27th Aug. 1639. [Peterkin s Recs. 
of the Kirk, 261.] 

JAMES FERGUSON, his son, James, 
apprenticed to Andrew Brown, sur 
geon, Edinburgh, 2nd March 1670. 



1642 



WILLIAM FALCONER, his second 
1695 son, Gilbert. [Sas. 1727.] 

DONALD MAcINTYRE HENRY, 
1916 marr. (1) 3rd Feb. 1920 Agnes (died 
22nd May 1922), second daugh. of 
Stewart Nicolson, Bombie, and had issue 
Donald Maclntyre, born 23rd Feb. 1921; 
Malcolm Nicholson, born 13th May 1922; 
(2) 12th Aug. 1931 Barbara, youngest 
daugh. of William Jamieson, min. of St 
Ringan s, Castle Douglas, and has issue 
Alastair, born 27th June 1932. 



GELSTON 

The Church of Gelston, called also 
Gemilston and Gevellestoune, was dedi 
cated to St Michael. It was granted to the 
Priory of Whithorn by John de Gelston, 
son and heir of (late) John de Gelston, Kt.; 
confirmation charter by Robert I, 1306-29; 
annexed to Kells 1618. [Reg. Great Seal, 
i, App. I, 20; ii, 460.] 

JOHN WRIGHT, reader. [Comps. Sub 
1563 Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

DEAN JOHN MARTIN, vicar and 
1571 reader in 1571. 



206 



GELSTON KIRKCUDBRIGHT 



[PRESB. OF 



MICHAEL HENDERSON, pres. to 



vicarage and as min. 1st April 1581 
on death of Dean John Martin. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., xlvii, 103.] 

JOHN TAYLOR, M.A., pres. to 
vicarage 5th Jan, 1591-2 on death 
of Robert Stewart. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Ixiii, 111.] 



1581 



1591 



KIRKCORMACK 

There were several saints of the name 
Cormac. One was Bishop of Armagh, who 
died in 496. Another was Cormac Ua 
Liathain, a contemporary of Columba and 
Abbot of Durrow, who voyaged to the 
Orkneys. He may be the saint here com 
memorated. The church belonged origi 
nally to lona, and along with the Chapel 
of Balnacross it was granted in 1161-74 to 
Holyrood Abbey by Uchtred, son of 
Fergus, lord of Galloway. Charters of 
Holyrood, 38, 40, 41; Watson s Celtic Place 
Names, 167.] 

SIR MICHAEL DUNN, "ane auld 

1563 blynd man vicar in * 563 and 1 572 
natural son of Sir Herbert D., min., 

legitimated 23rd Aug. 1550. [Kirkcud 
bright Sher. Court Deeds, 82; Comps. Sub 
Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

ROBERT FORRESTER, vicar in 1580. 
[Kirkcudbright Sher. Court Deeds, 
1573 108.] 



KIRKCUDBRIGHT, GALTWAY, 
DUNROD 

The Church of Kirkcudbright, desig 
nated in the 12th and 13th centuries the 
Church of Desnesmor and Denesmor, and 
in the 14th century the Church of Kirk 
cudbright of Denesmor, was granted to 
Holyrood Abbey by Uchtred, son of 
Fergus, lord of Galloway, dr. 1161-74. On 
a request by the General Assembly 29th 
June 1 564, Queen Mary granted the Church 
of the Grey Friars for use as the parish 
church instead of St Cuthbert s. The latter 
church stood in the churchyard about 
quarter-mile east of the town. On 24th 



Dec. 1580 Sir Nicol McClellane, Sir Her 
bert Anderson, Mr. Edward Forrester and 
Ninian Anderson, prebendaries and Stal- 
laris of St Andrew s Church, Kirkcud 
bright, with consent of the patron of the 
church, Thomas McClellane of Bombie, 
disponed the lands, etc., pertaining to the 
church to Robert Forrester, burgess of 
Kirkcudbright. The Church of Gait way 
belonged to Holyrood Abbey before 29th 
July 1163, and appears to have been 
granted by Fergus, lord of Galloway, who 
died in 1161. It was situated about two 
miles from the town. 

The Church of Dunrod, dedicated to St 
Mary and St Brioc, was granted to Holy- 
rood Abbey by Fergus, lord of Galloway, 
with confirmation by Christianus, Bishop 
of Galloway, 1154-86. It stood in the 
churchyard in the south-east part of the 
parish, about six miles from Kirkcudbright. 
On 5th May 1555, at the instance of Mr 
John Stevenson, precentor of Glasgow, 
vicar of Dunrod, and first provost of Biggar 
Collegiate Church, the perpetual vicarage 
of the church, with fruits and rents, was 
added, with consent of the patrons, the 
Canons Regular of Holyrood, and of the 
Ordinary of the Diocese of Galloway, to 
the said Collegiate Church of Biggar, on 
condition that there be provided for a 
vicar-pensioner of the Cure of Dunrod 20 
merks Scots, with house and garden and 
an acre of arable land. The Charter of 
Collation of the Bishop of Galloway bears 
that the vicarage was granted in considera 
tion of the singular zeal and pious affec 
tion towards God and the Catholic Church, 
which were shown in these unhappy days 
of Lutheranism by a sometime mighty and 
noble Lord, Malcolm Fleming, in found 
the Church of Biggar at his own expense. 
The collation was on the supplication, 5th 
March 1555, of James, Lord Fleming, who 
had right to the patronage and right of the 
vicarage of Dunrod, and was ratified by 
Queen Mary on 14th May 1556. [Charters 
of Holyrood, 19, 20, 22-4, 38, 40, 61, 95-6, 
294-8; Reports Hist. MSS. Commiss., iv, 
539; Reg. Great Seal, v, 86; Charter Chest, 
Earl of Wigton, 540, 546; Scott. Rec. 
Soc.} 



KIRKCUDBRIGHT] 



DUNROD 



207 



ALEXANDER ALLARDYCE, M.A., 

min. 1563. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 



1563 



Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 



MICHAEL DUNN, exhorter 1563.- 



1563 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 



JAMES DODDS, marr. Eupham Kirko. 



1569 



[See Grant s Burgh Schools; Kirk 
cudbright Sher. Court Deeds, 98.] 



THOMAS ANDERSON, vicar, reader 



1575 



1568-9, died before 30th July 1580. 



[Acts and Dec., Ixi, 335; Reg. Sec. 
Sig., xlvii, 133; Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 

JOHN MEIKLE, pres. to vicarage 30th 
July 1580 and llth May 1591. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., xlvii, 133, Ixii, 50.] 



1580 



DAVID BLYTH, son of George B., 
- _ burgess of Edinburgh, and Margaret 
Blackburn; pres. to Kelton 30th 
Sept. 1590; appointed schoolmaster ad 
interim of Kirkcudbright on 12th Oct. 159-; 
murdered 2nd Sept. 1593 by John, Adam 
and George, sons of John Muir of Halmuir, 
and their servants. [Grant s Burgh Schools; 
Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixi, 523; P. C. Reg., 1593; 
Reports Hist. MSS. Commiss., iv, 539.] 

ROBERT GLENDENYNG, line 5, for 
1601 " 1602 " read "1601"; his pres. to 
Dunrod vicarage 15th May 1605 on 
death of Mungo Carmichael; his son James 
banished for slaughter of Peter Duncan 
21st June 1638. [P. C. Reg., 2 Ser., vii, 23; 
Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiv, 263.] 

JOHN McCLELLAN, adm. before 21st 

1638 Nov 1638; accom P ame d Livingston 
on his voyage to New England in 
1636. [Peterkin s Records of the Church, 
109.] 

GEORGE BUCHANAN, adm. between 
1638 2nd July and 26th Aug. 1639 and in 
defiance that John McClellan held 
office. (See Moffat.) 



GEORGE GARTSHORE, his daugh., 
Ann (marr. 23rd Oct. 1742 Thomas 
Gordon of Kenharvie). 

GEORGE HAMILTON, his son, John 
James, died 1917; his daugh., Rose, 
died 25th Feb. 1917. 



1820 



JOHN MCMILLAN, line 9, for "1877" 
read "1876"; his daugh., Anne 
Marshall, died at Janefield, Kirk 
cudbright, 8th Aug. 1932. 

JOHN UNDERWOOD, pres. by Crown 
1843 14th July 1843. 



ALEXANDER DUNCAN CAMP 
BELL, licen. 28th Sept. 1870; his 
widow, Mary Jane Muir, died 23rd 
Sept. 1931. 



1879 



WILLIAM BARCLAY, dem. 30th Sept. 



1914 



1926 on appointment to Custron 
Church, Hamilton, Ontario. 



JOHN ELMORE MOTHERSILL, born 



1927 



29th Sept. 1890, son of Joseph M. 



and Eleanor Dobson Mothersill; 
educ. at Univ. of Toronto, B.A. (1910), and 
Knox College, Toronto; licen. by Presb. of 
Toronto 10th April 1913; ord. to Knox 
Church, Gait, Ontario, Nov. 1913; trans, 
to Taylor Church, Montreal, March 1915; 
served in war in R.A.M.C.; assistant Govan 
1924; Superintendent, Pearce Institute, 
Govan; adm. by General Assembly 3rd 
July 1926; adm. 3rd Feb. 1927. Marr. 21st 
Sept. 1920 Eleanor Oughtred, and has issue 
Alan Keith, Lieut. R.A.F., born 27th 
Aug. 1921, killed in action, Tunisia, March 
1943; Donald Joseph, born 28th May 1923; 
Eleanor Daintry, born 6th Nov. 1926. 



DUNROD 

WILLIAM McLELLAN, reader 1571-2. 



1571 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.] 



JAMES DONALDSON, min. 1595; 
1595 trans, to Kirkmabreck 1597. 



208 



ST MARY S ISLE RERRICK 



[PRESB. OF 



ST. MARY S ISLE 

WILLIAM MOSCROP, M.A., min. of 



1563 

fries.] 



Anwoth, also in charge here. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum- 



THOMAS ANDERSON, exhorter 
15?1 1571-2. [Comps. Sub Coll of 
Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 

PARTON 

CHARLES GEDDES, parson in office 
13th April 1562, reader 14th May 
1566. [Reg. Abbrev. Feu Charters 

of Church Lands, i, 223; Reg. Sec. Sig., 

xxxv, 23, 456.] 

JOHNDURY, exhorter 1563. [Comps. 
1563 Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dumfries.} 

NINIAN McCLENNOCHAN, after- 
1574 wards of Glenluce. 

JAMES IRVING, marr. Margaret Gor 
don. [G. R. Sas., xxxiii, 228, 3rd 
May 1632.] 

SAMUEL SPALDING, marr. cont. 16th 



1692 



April 1693 Elizabeth, daugh. of 
Gilbert Brown of Templet on; his 
sons Alexander, apprenticed to John 
Speirs, merchant, Edinburgh, 13th Jan. 
1720, purchased Holm 1750, died 24th 
March 1776; William, died before 1731; 
Samuel, died 1774. 

HENRY ALEXANDER PATTULLO, 

his widow, Maria Mitchell, died at 
Musselburgh 4th Oct. 1925. 

HARVEY NICHOLS, died at Newport, 
1886 Monmouth, 5th April 1930; his 
widow, Isabella Blair Sandilands, 
died at Newport 9th March 1938; his 
daughs. Irene Blair (marr. 23rd Sept. 1924 
John Alexander Douglas, M.B., Ch.B., 
Johannesburg); Ruby (marr. 21st Dec. 1922 
Frank William Bannister). 



RERRICK 

One cannot now definitely locate the site 
of the parish Church in years before the 



Reformation. There seems to have been 
at that time not only a parish church, but 
some chapels in the parish. There was a 
church, perhaps the parish church, at Kirk- 
carswell (which is a corrupt form of Kilkos- 
wald); there was also in close proximity to 
a holy well, known as St Glassin s Well, a 
chapel at Kirkland, and the names Chapel- 
ton and Chapelhill appear to point to some 
chapel as being located in their neighbour 
hood. The Abbey Church of Dundrennan 
was the church of the monks and of the 
parishioners generally. Soon after the 
founding of the monastery in the 12th 
century, the parish church was "appro 
priated to" the abbey; that is to say, its 
endowments were transferred to the abbey 
as part of its revenues and henceforth the 
duty of ministering at its altar would de 
volve upon the monks, who would perform 
other parochial duty. When the Reforma 
tion took place in 1560, the parish church 
once again came into its own, but no cer 
tainty exists as to its site at that time, and 
not until the early part of the 1 8th century 
have we definite knowledge that the old 
chapel at Kirkland was now constituted the 
parish church. It continued as such till 
1865, and on a part of its wall still left 
standing in the centre of the kirkyard there 
was on its demolition affixed an inscribed 
stone with this inscription: "This Church, 
originally a chapel, was enlarged in 1743 
and taken down in 1865." On the demoli 
tion of this old church at Kirkland, a new 
church was erected in the village of Dun 
drennan and was opened for public worship 
in 1866. 



JAMES HUTTON, formerly Dean and 
Prior of Dundrennan. [Kirkcud 
bright Sheriff Court Deeds, 27.] 



1580 



JOHN BROWN, min. of Glencairn, 
pres. to vicar pensionary 13th July 
1590 on death of William Cutlar. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixvi, 197.] 

JOHN CALLENDAR, pres. to par 
sonage and vicarage 5th Aug. 1594 



1594 



on death of David Blyth. [Reg. 



Sec. Sig., Ixvi, 197.] 



KIRKCUDBRIGHT] RERRICK TWYNHOLM and KIRKCHRIST 



209 



JOHN DUNCAN, his son, Andrew, 



1655 



charged to enter heir 1676. [Edin 
burgh Burgh Writs. ] 



WILLIAM JAMIESON, line 7, delete 
1731 "Father of the Church. 

TONGLAND 

In 1161-74 the church was granted to 
Holyrood Abbey by Uchtred, son of 
Fergus, lord of Galloway. The Cell of St 
Salvator, near the monastery, and its gar 
den called the Chapel Yard, pertained to 
the vicarage. The Church of Balnacross 
was originally a chapel dependent upon 
Kirkcormack and belonging to lona. In 
1 161-74 it was granted to Holyrood Abbey 
by Uchtred, son of Fergus, lord of Galloway. 
[Charters of Holyrood, 22-4, 38, 40, 41.] 

WILLIAM SHARP, vicar at the Re- 



1563 



formation; reader in 1563, exhorter 



in 1567; pres. to vicarage of Lanark 
24th June 1588; his son, Roger. [Reg. 
Sec. Sig., Ivii, 125; Dumfries Sas., 1st Oct., 
1628; Cal. of Charters, 2126; Reg. Mag. 
Sig., v, 782.] 

JAMES SCOTT, for "sacriledge, intro- 
mitting with penalties and contribu 
tions, disobedience to the Presby- 
terie, tableing, converseing with excom- 
municat Papists, and declyning the General 
Assembly" he was dep. by the Commis 
sioners of Kirkcudbright appointed by the 
General Assembly at Glasgow 1638; the 
sentence was approved by the General 
Assembly at Edinburgh 27th Aug. 1639. 
[Peterkin s Recs. of the Kirk of Scot., 261.] 

GEORGE RUTHERFORD, marr. 

i^/in Margaret Gordon and had issue 
1640 T. , ~ . , 

Barbara; David; Jean; Marion; 

Martha. [Dumfries Sas., 20th Nov. 1630, 
3 1st Dec. 1654.] 

ALEXANDER BROWN, line 3, for 
1745 "22" read "26." 

WILLIAM DOW, born 9th Feb. 
1826 1800. 

WILLIAM LECKIE McFARLANE, 
1859 pres. by Crown 20th April 1859. 







ANDREW EDGAR, pres. by Crown 
1868 18th Nov. 1862. 

GEORGE McINNES, pres. by Crown 
18?5 18th Dec. 1874 (last presentation); 
his widow, Margaret Hamilton, died 
15th Aug. 1928. 

WILLIAM IRELAND GORDON, died 
1881 29th Jan. 1927. 

BRYCE MACFARLANE, died 25th 
1898 July 1931. 

(Charges united 3rd Feb. 1932.) 

TWYNHOLM and KIRKCHRIST 

The parishes were united after 31st July 
1643. The Church of Twynholm was 
granted to Holyrood Abbey by Uchtred, 
son of Fergus, lord of Galloway, whose 
time was dr. 1161-74. It was rebuilt in 
1 730 on a new site about quarter-mile from 
the earlier building. Portions of the walls 
of the Church of Kirkchrist stand in the 
churchyard on the west bank of the Dee 
opposite Kirkcudbright. At Kirkeoch in 
the Parish of Kirkchrist there was a nun 
nery, the existence of which is recalled by 
place names of the neighbourhood, High 
Nunton, Nun Mill, Low Nunton. Mani 
festly this is the nunnery cited in a Papal 
Bull of 22nd May 1423 giving assent to a 
petition by John of Inverkeithing, Canon 
of Holyrood, who craved that the Cister 
cian Priory of St Evoca the virgin, situated 
in the Diocese of Whithorn, value not 
exceeding 10 libs., be given to him in 
commendam for five years. The priory had 
been governed by "holy nuns and ma 
trons," but on account of the meagre 
amount of the fruits had long since been 
deserted by them, and was now empty and 
derelict, and he was desirous that goods 
set apart to God and religion should not be 
devoted to lay and secular uses. About 
forty years later, the nunnery, designated 
"the Church or Chapel of Kirkeoch" 
where "a nun or otherwise religious 
woman used to dwell of old," was the 
subject of a petition of Robert de Colston, 
Rector of Kirkchrist, which narrated that 



210 



TWYNHOLM KIRKCHRIST [PRESB. OF KIRKCUDBRIGHT 



his predecessor held as united to the said 
Parish Church of Kirkchrist, the church or 
chapel called Kyrknok or Kyrkenok 
(Kirkeoch) situated in the bounds of the 
parish, took its tithes, etc., and exercised 
the cure of souls of the parishioners who 
dwelled thereby, and that he had continued 
the said possession for about eight years, 
that there was no further proof of the said 
union, and therefore his use of the tithes 
and his possession might be interfered with, 
that no nun or religious woman had for 
thirty years lived a regular life in the said 
church or chapel, and that its buildings had 
fallen, and it had been so long void that 
there was no certain knowledge of its 
voidance. Pope Pius II on 10th Jan. 1463^ 
gave mandate to the Bishop of Brechin, 
etc., to make enquiries, and if they found 
the facts as stated, to confirm the said 
union. [Vatican Transcripts, 1421-59, 90, 
MS. Reg. Ho.; Cal Papal Register, Letters, 
xi, 507; Reg. Great Seal, viii, 127, ix, 1416; 
Charters of Holyrood, 31, 38, 40.] 

RICHARD BALFOUR, parson. 
1562 [Coll. of Thirds, 1562, 101.] 

ALEXANDER COLE, pres. to vicarage 
18th Oct. 1580 on death of John 
ROW. [Reg. Sec. Sig. t xlvii, 31.] 



JOHN AIKMAN, pres. to vicarage in 
1582 on death of John Row and 
again 19th Oct. 1592. [Reg. Pres. 
Bene., ii, 72; Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixv, 256.] 

THOMAS IRELAND, marr. Agnes 
Burd, widow of William Menzies, 
min. of Kenmore; resident with his 

wife at Inveresk in 1694. [Inveresk Poll 

Tax Roll, 8.] 

LEO WRIGHT, signs an episcopal 
1680 charter 17th Dec. 1680. 

ROBERT ALLARDYCE, died 7th 
1899 Sept. 1939. 

KIRKCHRIST 

JOHN MOFFAT, reader, 1563. 



1563 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries.] 



ROBERT FORRESTER, reader 
1568 1568. 

THOMAS MAKCULTRIE, reader 1569 
-72. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries. ] 



1569 



DAVID BLYTH. M.A., pres. to 
vicarage 9th Oct. 1591 consequent 
on James McCulloch, vicar, being 
non-resident. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixii, 192.] 



SYNOD OF 
GLASGOW AND AYR 

PRESBYTERY OF AYR 



ALLOWAY 

Preliminary paragraph, line 5 from end, 
for "right bank" read left bank. 

JOHN LOCHHEAD, born 18th Nov. 

1833, died 12th Nov. 1913; marr. 

(1) 1867 Mary Anne, daugh. of John 
McLean, Glasgow, and Anne Niven (died 
July 1900), and had issue John McLean, 
born 1867, medical practitioner, Indiana 
polis, Indiana, U.S.A.; Anne Niven Mc 
Lean, born 1869; Thomas McLean, born 
1871; (2) 1901, Eliza, daugh. of John 
Houston, Sandyhills, Shettleston; she died 
at Cheltenham 24th Oct. 1937. 



1881 



SAMUEL MARCUS DILL, died at 
Edinburgh 23rd Jan. 1924; his 
widow, Agnes Graham Rowe, died 
2nd April 1934 aged 85; his daughs. 
Hessy Foster (marr. 19th Sept. 1924 Wil 
liam John Jackson, Croydon); Rosa (marr. 
22nd Feb. 1922 Edward Wickham Jones, 
M.C., Norwood, London), died 4th Dec. 
1927. 

JOHN MACFARLANE HAMILTON, 

marr. 21st April 1925 Mary Hamil 
ton, daugh. of Gavin Crawford, min. 
of Fauldhouse, and has issue Gavin 
Crawford, born 26th Sept. 1926; Margaret 
Macfarlane, born 30th Oct. 1929. 



ANNBANK 

ROBERT SMITH MACKINTOSH, 
1913 delete "M. A." 



GEORGE LINDSAY STEWART, 

trans, to St. Paul s, Leith, 9th Dec. 
1920. 



1917 



GEORGE ANDREW JOHNSTON, 



1921 



born Chapel of Garioch 1st Dec. 

1889, son of Alexander J., farmer, 
and Jane Durno; educ. at Chapel of 
Garioch Public School, Gordon s College 
and Univ. of Aberdeen, M.A. (1911); licen. 
by Presb. of Garioch 1914; served in Moun 
tain Gun Battery R.G.A. in Great War; 
ord. by Presb. of Paisley, Chaplain to 
Forces 27th July 1917; assistant Arbroath 
1920; adm. 20th April 1921 ; trans, to Kirk- 
michael, Ayr, 26th Sept. 1930; marr. 1st 
Dec. 1921 Frances Hardy, daugh. of Albert 
Ping, Excise Officer, and Christina Miller, 
Auchtertool, and has issue Alexander 
Durno, born Oct. 1926; Jack Miller, born 
Oct. 1928. 

AUCHENLECK 

The interior of the church was destroyed 
by fire on 3rd April 1938 and has since been 
restored. The mission chapel at Dargonner 
is closed. 



JOHN GRANT, marr. cont. 2nd Dec. 
1712 Henrietta, daugh. of Donald 
Campbell of Boghall and Elizabeth 
Innes. 



1712 



1893 



JAMES HILL, died 27th Sept. 1940. 
Issue Alexander, B.Sc., Electrical 
Engineer; Hugh Blair McLellan, 
B.Sc., Lecturer Mechanical Engineering; 
Alison Irene, diploma in Physical Instruc 
tion; Eric Alan, diploma in Art. 



211 



212 



AYR 



[PRESB. OF 



AYR 

(Contributed by Rev. Archibald Mac- 
Kenzie, Minister of Ayr (2nd Charge).) 

It is uncertain as to when a Christian 
church was first planted at Ayr, but that a 
Christian church existed at Ayr at the 
beginning of the 13th century can be 
authenticated, and indeed it may even date 
from the latter part of the 12th century. 
The earliest reference to this church is 1233 
in the Chartulary of the Abbey of Paisley. 
It was a prebend of Glasgow, and of the 
Chapel Royal at Stirling. The Ayr church 
in pre-reformation days was never colle 
giate; it was only a parish church of the 
larger type with its twelve altars at least 
and its numerous clergy staff. 

In 1652 Cromwell had his citadel built at 
Ayr with stones which, it is said, were taken 
from the old castle at Ardrossan. The 
church, which was included in the fortifica 
tions, was utilised as a military store, the 
chancel being kept as a place of worship 
for the soldiers. In 1660 the citadel was 
abandoned and gradually demolished, but 
the church remained intact. At the Indul 
gence it was purchased by John Moor of 
Park, and the Rev. Wm. Eccles, who had 
been "outed" for refusing to sign the 
Test Act, was brought back and ministered 
within its walls from 1687 and 1689, while 
the curates occupied the present old parish 
church. In 1690 it was once more derelict 
until 1706, when the structure was bought 
by four burgesses of Ayr. One of these 
gave his fourth share of the stones to build 
a steeple to the Tolbooth, and the remain 
der of the stones were in time used to build 
dykes in and about the town. The tower, 
which was left, has been restored by the 
Marquis of Bute and is open to visitors. It 
contains four apartments. 

ROBERT ACHESOUNE, min. 1559-61. 
1559 [Ayr Burgh Accounts.] 

JAMES DALRYMPLE, pres. to 
fi vicarage in 1571 on death of Sir 
Robert Leggett. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 
i, (2), 19.] 

1561 DAVID GIBSON, parson 1561. 



ROBERT DENNISTOUN or DANIEL- 



1561 



STON, parson in 1541-2; dem. 



before 16th Feb. 1573-4, when he 
was parson of Dysart and Canon of Chapel 
Royal of Stirling. [Reg. of Deeds, v, 209; 
vi 104; x, 102; xi, 26.] 

JAMES COCKBURN, son of Patrick 
C. of Clerkington, pres. to par 
sonage and vicarage 16th Feb. 1573, 

on dem. of Robert Danielston. [Reg. 

Pres. Bene., i, (4), 17.] 

HEW KENNEDY, reader, pres. to 
vicarage 23rd March 1573^ on 
dem. of James Dalrymple promoted 
to Alloway. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, (4), 18.] 

ROBERT HERBERTSON, was parson 



1574 



in 1563 and still in office 21st May 
1576; had issue John. [Cal. of 
Charters, xi, 2395; Reg. Abbrev. Feu Char 
ters of Church Lands, ii, 88.] 

JOHN PORTERFIELD, pres. in 1581 
upon death of James Dalrymple and 
in 1582 on death of Robert Herbert - 
son. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 57, 58.] 

WILLIAM MONTGOMERIE, pres. to 
.___ parsonage 20th June 1582 on death 

19112 



1580 



of Robert Herbertson. [Reg. Pres. 

Bene., i, 75.] 

ROBERT MONTGOMERIE, M.A., 



1594 



parson 9th Nov. 1594. [Cal. of 
Charters, xiv, 3296.] 



1638 



GEORGE DUNBAR, marr. Margaret 
I/CAT Wallace. [Reg. of Deeds, cxcviii, 
407.] 

ROBERT BLAIR, M.A.; on 19th Dec. 
1638, on a supplication in name of 
the town of St Andrews for his 
transportation to the church there, "for 
the good of their Universitie, the General 
Assembly called upon Mr Blair, who 
answered, I confesse I am in the hands of 
this Assembly; but I protest heir, in God s 
presence, that I had rather lay downe my 
life nor be separat from my flock at Air. 
The matter was referred to a committee, 
who reported on 20th Dec., and after a 
prolonged discussion the Assembly by a 



AYR] 



AYR WALLACETOWN 



213 



majority of 4 or 5 decerned that he be 
transported to St Andrews. [Peterkin s 
Recs. of the Kirk, pp. 187, 189.] 

JOHN FERGUSHILL, graduated M.A., 
1639 1611, not 1612. 

ALEXANDER GREGORIE, marr. 



1683 



Anna, daugh. of Alexander Ross, 
merchant burgess of Aberdeen. 
[Aberdeen City Sas., 2nd July 1680.] 

JOHN HUNTER, line 15, delete 
1701 " Father of the Church. 

THOMAS DYKES, pres. by Crown 24th 



1863 



Jan. 1863; his widow, Margaret 
Shedden, died 18th Nov. 1922. 



WILLIAM CAIRNS DUNCAN, died 
1909 3rd May 1926. 

WILLIAM PHIN GILLIESON, M.C., 

trans, from 2nd Charge 22nd July 
1926; died 30th March 1942; his 
daugh., Margaret Marion Phin (marr. 19th 
Dec. 1939 James Macpherson Jolly, elder 
son of James J., New York). Addl. Publi 
cation Letters from Sudan (1936). 

SECOND CHARGE 
WILLIAM WATERSTON, his son, 



1682 
1710. 



Alexander, apprenticed to William 
Thomson, periwig-maker, 23rd Aug 



JOHN McDERMETT, probably matri- 
1716 culated at Glasgow 1st March 1698. 

WILLIAM SHAW, pres. by Crown 27th 
1853 May 1853. 

ARCHIBALD MACKENZIE, trans. 
1926 from Balfron (q.v.) 23rd Nov. 1926; 
served in Great War as Captain, 
H.L.I., and Staff Captain R.A.F.; acted as 
min. of St Andrews, Georgetown, Deme- 
rara and Commissioner from the Home 
Church in that Colony 1937-8. Publica 
tions William Adair and his Kirk; The Old 
Kirk of Ayr, 163 9-84 (Ayr Advertiser, 1933); 
An Ancient Church: the Pre- Reformation 
Church at Ayr (Ayrshire Post, 1935); An 
Old Church and Burns Memories (Ayrshire 
Post, 1934). 



o* 



1928 



NEWTON-UPON-AYR 

WILLIAM RAINIE, dem. llth June 
1881 1928, died 27th Nov. 1928. 

DAVID ALBERT MURDOCH, line 3, 
for "Benter" read "Baxter"; 
served in Great War with Seaforth 
Highlanders on Salonica Front and on 
Intelligence Staff of B.M.R. in Sophia; 
trans, from Dingwall (q.v.} 14th Nov. 1928; 
died 14th March 1945. Addl. issue- 
Kenneth Lyle Stewart, born 1st Aug. 1928; 
Dorothy Margaret, born 29th April 1933. 

AYR, ST. JAMES 

JOHN HENDERSON, M.A. (Glasgow, 
1889 1879). 

MUIR ANDREW, dem. 17th May 
1919 1921. 

THOMAS REID ALLISON, born 



1921 



Paisley 20th Feb. 1889, son of 
Matthew A. and Margaret Reid; 
educ. at John Neilson School, Paisley, and 
Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1910); licen. by 
Presb. of Paisley Jan. 1920; ord. 7th Sept. 
1921; trans, to Helensburgh Old 6th Aug. 
1930. Marr. 30th Aug. 1921 Margaret 
Gemmell, daugh. of James Graham and 
Rachel Graham, and had issue Thomas 
Reid, born 20th Aug. 1924; Margaret 
Graham, born 26th March 1927. 

AYR, ST. LEONARD S 

"St Leonard s Chaplainrie without the 
Port of Ayr" occurs in 1585. [Comps. 
Gen. Coll of Thirds.} 

WILLIAM GRANGER, licen. 4th June 
1886 1 884. [Memoir by James Millar. ] 

WILLIAM WALKER, afterwards min. 
1898 of Foss 23rd Nov. 1926. 

JOHN ELLIS, trans, to Rubislaw, Aber- 



1919 



deen, 5th Sept. 1930; died 21st Sept. 
1939. 



AYR, WALLACETOWN 

GEORGE JOHN CHALMERS 
SCOTT, his daughs. Ethel Agnes 
Watson, born 30th May 1 866 (marr. 
7th Oct. 1893 Captain Thomas Josiah 



1865 



214 



WALLACETOWN CRAIGIE 



[PRESS. OF 



Clugston Boyd, of S.S. Lord Rosebery), 
died 12th Jan. 1931; Lilian Anna (marr. 
26th Oct. 1895 Charles Frederick Pfeiffer, 
merchant, London), died 18th May 1906; 
Jessie Helen (marr. 7th April 1897 Robert 
Brewster Cowan, insurance inspector); 
Amy Constance, died 13th July 1935; 
Bertram Watson, died 1st Feb. 1913. 

JOHN MARTIN, trans, to Dalmuir 
1917 17th June 1924. 

BRODIE SMITH GILFILLAN, trans. 



1924 



from Inch (q.v.) 5th Nov. 1924; 

dem. 15th Nov. 1944; his son, John 
Brodie Smith, born 7th April 1921; his 
wife, Helen Johnston Smith, died 21st Nov. 
1931. 



BARR 

HERCULES LINDSAY, designed 



1665 



preacher at Monkton 1st June 1678. 
[Regs, of Deeds, Ixxxv, 971, 26th 
April 1698.] 

JAMES MACMASTER, pres. 21st Aug. 
1843 1843. 

WILLIAM MUNGALL, pres. 21st 
1859 Sept. 1858. 

CHARLES GOODALL, pres. 1st Mar. 



1873 



1873; his widow, Jane Watson, died 



1 8th Sept. 1941 ; his son, Dr Charles, 
died 6th Oct. 1941. 

GEORGE DODS, died 31st May 1922; 
188 o ms daughs. Ida Mary Homan, 
died at Karachi 13th March 1921; 
Edith Jane (marr. 18th Aug. 1896 Rowland, 
6th Baron Headley); his widow, Eliza Mary 
Homan, died 18th June 1942. 

ANDREW DOUGLAS McMURRAY, 

1922 born Castle Douglas 1 8th July 1 890; 
son of Andrew McM. and Margaret 
Affleck; educ. at Whitehaven Ghyll Bank 
College and Univ. of Edinburgh, M.A.; 
licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh 30th June 
1920; assistant Glasgow Cathedral; ord. 
18th Oct. 1922; LL.B. (London); L.V.C.M. 
(London). 



CATRINE 

WILLIAM JOHN, appointed Clerk of 



1899 



Presb. 3rd Sept. 1930; dem. 31st 



May 1948; his son, Graham Taylor, 
headmaster, Coldingham school, Berwick 
shire; his daughs. Marjorie Patricia (marr. 
22nd Sept. 1941 William McCreath, 2nd 
Lieut. R.A.S.C., Dalruaine, Troon); Kath 
leen (marr. 27th June 1946 Leslie Richard 
Leonard Parry, South Woodford, London). 

COYLTON 

MATTHEW WYLLIE, pres. to vicarage 
in 1582 on death of Alexander Scott. 



1581 



[Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 57.] 



WILLIAM RICHARDSON, has sasine 
of glebe 8th March 1654. [Ayr 



1654 



Sas., i, 144.] 



WILLIAM BOYD, his mother was 
1700 Margaret Naismith. 

JAMES GLASGOW, his widow, Mar 
garet Macfarlane Maitland, died 
29th Jan. 1929. 



1866 



WILLIAM CRAWFORD, trans, to 



1917 



Uphall North 24th Feb. 1932; dem. 

6th Nov. 1946; marr. 4th Sept. 1935 
Elizabeth Fleming, third daugh. of Peter 
Watson of Drumsine, and has issue 
Gavin Fleming, born 14th Sept. 1936; 
Elizabeth Jane, born 12th April 1938. 

CRAIGIE 

THOMAS MARJORIBANKS, M.A., 

pres. to vicarage 16th Nov. 1548 
vacant by death of his brother 
Robert, who had received a presentation 
on 2nd May same year in succession to 
John Hamilton, M.A.; still vicar 1572, a 
prebendary of Corstorphine (q.v.} in succes 
sion to his said late brother Robert. 
[Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds , P. S. Reg., ii, 
2026, 2027, 2756.] 

JOHN STIRLING, line one, for John 
1806 read "James." 

ROBERT INGLIS, his daugh., Mar 
garet Ann, died at Troon 23rd 
1843 March 1930. 



AYR] 



CRAIGIE DAILLY 



215 



DAVID STIRLING, his widow, Agnes 
Maria Fairlie, died at Largs 9th 



1859 



Feb. 1925. 



WILLIAM CAMPBELL, died 6th June 
1920; his widow, Janet Burns Lind 
say, died at Edinburgh 10th Oct. 
1926, aged 75; his son, Gavin Lindsay, died 
Davidsons Mains 5th Jan. 1938. 



1883 



ROBERT JOHN PAUL, trans, from 
Elder Park, Glasgow, 25th Nov. 
19 1920; died 7th June 1929. 



CROSSHILL 

ROBERT STEWART, licen. 1887; dem. 



1888 



5th Aug. 1925; died 18th Jan. 1926; 

his widow, Jane Stewart, died 4th 
Dec. 1943; his daughs. Elizabeth Margaret 
(marr. 1st June 1927 Louis Herbert Watson, 
min. of St Luke s, Edinburgh); Agnes 
McFadzean, died Edinburgh 24th Nov. 
1941. 

JAMES STORRY BARROWMAN, 



1926 



trans, from Carntyne (q.v.) 14th Jan. 

1926, died 30th Oct. 1930; his widow, 
Mary Leitch Anderson, died 10th March 
1937; his daugh., Dorothy Freda (marr. 
2nd Aug. 1933 William R. Eadie). 

(Charges united 25th Feb. 1931.) 

CUMNOCK 

JOHN DUNBAR, designed parson and 
v ^ car also Canon of Glasgow, 1 3th 
Aug. 1561. [Cal. of Deeds, iv, 300.] 

JOHN RAMAGE, reader 1573. 
1573 [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.] 

GEORGE CAMPBELL, pres. to 



1579 



vicarage on death of John Ryhnd. 
[Reg. Pres. Bene., i, (4), 43.] 



WILLIAM HAMILTON, M.A., parson 
2nd April 1584. [Cal. of Charters, 

. . _ _ .. 

xn, 2720.] 

JOHN SPENCE ROBERTSON, died at 

1875 Axminster, Devon, 1st June 1934; 

his wife, Catherine Forbes Sharp, 

died 12th July 1928; his sons Robert, a 

barrister; Rev. Edmund Downing, died at 






Sidmouth 14th Jan. 1942; his daugh., 
Lillian Mabel Forbes (marr. 25th March 
1936 Robert Edward Campion, Oldham). 

JOHN DOUGLAS McCLYMONT, 



1927 



born Glasgow 30th Nov. 1903; son 



of John Douglas McC. (died Feb. 
1924), Glencaple and Glasgow, and Mar 
garet Murray (died Jan. 1937); educ. North 
Kelvinside Secondary School and Univ. of 
Glasgow; M.A. (1924); B.D. (1927); licen. 
by Presb. of Glasgow April 1927; assistant 
St Bernard s, Glasgow, New Kilpatrick, 
and Glasgow Cathedral; ord. (ass. and sue.) 
23rd Nov. 1927. Contributor to Chambers s 
Journal and other periodicals. 

NEW CUMNOCK 
HUGH CRAWFORD, his second 



1653 



daugh. [Reg. of Deeds, Durie, 194, 
23rd Dec. 1736.] 



JAMES MILLAR, died 5th March 
1886 1921. 

WILLIAM BODIN, ord. (ass. and sue.) 
12th May 1920; trans, to New 
Ardrossan (q.v.) 31st May 1926. 

ANDREW BURNETT, trans, from 

1Q26 Martyrs, Glasgow (q.v.), 25th Nov. 

1926; marr. 28th Aug. 1945 Meta 

Louisa, daugh. of Alfred Hitchcock, 

F.E.I.S., Edinburgh. 

DAILLY 

The alternative name of the parish, 
Dalmakeran, Dalmakerane, or Dalmul- 
kerane, is Dail Mhaoil-Chiaran, "Holme 
of St Ciaran s servant." The church was 
granted to Paisley Abbey by Duncan, son 
of Gilbert, Earl of Carrick, and himself 
Earl of Carrick, on condition that the 
abbey erected in Carrick a monastery of 
the Cluniac Order, and gave the church to 
the said monastery. The grant was con 
firmed by Florence, Bishop-Elect of Glas 
gow, in 1202, and by Alexander II 5th Aug. 
1 236. In terms of that condition the church 
was given to Crossraguel Abbey on its 
foundation soon after 18th July 1244. In 
1696 the church was removed to a central 



216 



DAILLY WATERSIDE 



[PRESB. OF 



position, and was rebuilt in 1766. [Reg. 
of Paisley, 427-8; Watson s Celtic Place 
Names, 417; see Kirkoswald.] 

ALEXANDER BOYD, vicar, deprived 
159Q before 17th March 1590-1 for ab 
sence from his charge. [Miscel. 
Eccles. Documents, 23; Reg. Sec. Seal, Ixii, 
35.] 

DAVID BARCLAY, M.A., pres. to 

1590 v * cara S e 16t h A P r il 1591 on dep. of 
Alexander Boyd, non-resident. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixii, 35.] 

ANDREW MILLAR, M.A. (Glasgow 
1660 1650.) 

THOMAS SKINNER, was 51 years of 
-,,- age Oct. 1684. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 3 
Sen, ix, 538.] 

PATRICK CRAUFORD, his sons 



1691 



Hew (eldest); James. [Deeds Mack. 
1705, No. 818.] 



WILLIAM PATON, marr. Janet, daugh. 
1724 ^ Alexander Kennedy of Drum- 
mellan. 

WILLIAM CHALMERS, pres. by 
Crown 12th March 1841; his son, 
William Bryce, died 10th April 1922. 



1841 



DAVID STRONG, pres. by Crown 12th 



1843 



July 1843. Line 21, add "of Kil- 
marnock after parish. 



CORNELIUS GIFFEN, pres. by 
1855 Crown 9th June 1855. 

GEORGE TURNBULL, pres. 27th 
^ une 1869 ms widow, Elizabeth 
Steel Colledge, died at Glasgow 27th 
Feb. 1921; his daugh., Elizabeth, died 5th 
June 1921; his son, John Colledge, died 
13th June 1942. 

CHARLES GOODALL, trans, to St 



1908 



Oswald s, Edinburgh, 15th Jan. 
1924. 



DAVID ALEXANDER DUNCAN, 



1924 



ord. 30th April 1924; trans, to Kil- 
madock 17th May 1929. 



DALMELLINGTON 

RANKEN DAVIDSON, pres. in 1569 
1562 on death of Sir John Dunlop. 
[Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 28.] 

DAVID CATHCART, pres. in 1572 on 
1572 death f Sir J nn Dunlop. [Reg. 
Pres. Bene., i, (3), 24; Cal. of Char 
ters, xi, 2475.] 

JOHN McQUORNE, pres. to vicarage 
20th Dec. 1591 on death of David 
Cathcart. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixiii, 87.] 

GAVIN STEWART, son of Hector S., 

1621 mercnant burgess of Glasgow; marr. 

Rachel, daugh. of Patrick Sharpe, 

min. of Govan. Addl. issue John, M.A. 

(Glasgow 1651). 

GEORGE SMITH HENDRIE, line 6, 
1880 ac ^ " Umv - f Leipzig"; line 11, 
for "Gairdner" read "Aitken"; 
dem. 25th Nov. 1924, died at Edinburgh 
18th May 1945; his son, John Gairdner 
White, min. of Dunnottar and Colombo. 

JOHN SHEDDEN, M.A., trans, from 

Q2 _ Haggs 30th April 1925; trans, to St. 

Clement s, Dundee, llth Sept. 1928. 

WILLIAM RUTHERFORD MEL- 

1929 ROSE born 3rd SePt- 1900 son of 
George M. and Agnes Loudon, St 

Boswells, Roxburghshire; educ. at Gala- 
shiels Academy and Univ. of Edinburgh, 
M.A. (1923); licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh 
1st April 1926; assistant Goven; ord. 27th 
March 1929; dem. 1st Feb. 1933; adm. to 
St Donan s, Kildonan, Arran, 2nd Aug. 
1935; trans, to Rutherglen West 26th April 
1938; trans, to Eassie and Nevay 24th June 
1943; trans, to Tewchar 8th Oct. 1947. 
Marr. 6th July 1929 Mary Me Anally, 
daugh. of John Brown and Agnes Ramsay, 
and has issue James Henderson Loudon, 
born 24th March 1930. 

WATERSIDE 

JOHN MACKINTOSH, line 3, for 
1907 "June "read "Jan." 

JOHN CADENHEAD, died 4th March 
1915 1929, unmarried. 



AYR] 



WATERSIDE FISHERTON 



217 



ROBERT NICOLSON TULLOCH 



1929 



ANDERSON, born 16th June 1878, 



son of Robert Henry A., Standard 
Life Assurance Co., Edinburgh, and Annie 
Mathieson Humphray; educ. Royal High 
School, Edinburgh, and Univ. of Glasgow; 
became missionary and came here from 
Invergordon 4th Aug. 1929; licen. by 
Presb. of Ayr 2nd July 1930; dem. Nov. 
1930; ord. to Dunrossness 9th Dec. 1930; 
dem. 1st July 1948. Marr. 3rd July 1916 
Rose Emily, younger daugh. of George 
Lloyd Fountain of Greenford, Middlesex. 



DALRYMPLE 

JOHN ADAMS, M.A., Moderator of 
1727 General Assembly 1744. 



ROBERT STEVEN, son of Hugh S. of 
Barransmill, Girvan, and Agnes, 
daugh. of John Brown of Littleton. 



GEORGE ALLAN SEATH, died at Ayr 



1902 



6th March 1945; his widow, Agnes 



Jane McCosh Hammond, died at 
Ayr 3rd May 1948. 

DUNDONALD 

In or about 1221 the church, along with 
the Chapels of Crosbie and Riccarton, was 
granted to the Convent of St Mary of 
Dalmullin by Walter (II), son of Alan, 
Seneschal of Scotland. In 1238, when the 
said convent became a cell of Paisley 
Abbey, the church with its chapels also 
became part of the abbey possessions 
confirmed by William, Bishop of Glasgow, 
in 1239. The Chapel of St Ninian, situated 
near the Royal Castle of Dundonald, where 
Robert II died in 1390, was termed the 
Chapel Royal of Dundonald. On 9th July 
1511 Sir John Leith was indicted for break 
ing into the chapel and the chest of orna 
ments, and carrying off the book, chalice, 
and ornaments of said chapel." [Reg. of 
Paisley, 18, 22, 225-6; Diocesan Reg. of 
Glasgow, i, 493, 495, 511; ii, 23-4, 369, 
383-4, 415, 500; Excheq. Rolls, iii, Ixxii, 
xcv-vi, 242, 279, 280.] 



HUGH MONTGOMERY, M.A., vicar 



1562 



6th Jan. 1562-3 and 1568. [Cal. of 
Charters, ix, 1901; Comps. Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 

ROBERT RAMSAY, sometime school- 
1625 master at Irvine. 

GABRIEL MAXWELL, his son, 



1642 



Robert, apprenticed to Hugh Cun 
ningham, merchant, Edinburgh, 2nd 
July 1684. [G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., vi, 245.] 

THOMAS WALKER, marr. (1) Mary 
Montgomery, died 3rd April 1741, 
and had issue Jean; (2) Jean 
Robertson; (3) Ann Shaw. Clerk of Synod. 

JOHN MACLEOD, son of Alexander 



1816 



M., who emigrated to North Caro 
lina. 



ALEXANDER WILLISON, his son, 
1841 Alexander Stewart, min. of Saline. 

JAMES HOGG GILLESPIE, marr. (2) 
1Q 2 21st Dec. 1944 Jean, eldest daugh. 
of Rev. William Campbell, Kil- 
marnock; his daughs. Kathleen Barbara 
(marr. 30th June 1933 William Barclay, 
min. of Trinity Church, Renfrew); Alison 
Drysdale (marr. 14th Aug. 1936 Lachlan 
McLean Robertson, min. of Macmillan 
Church, Glasgow); Elspeth Taylor, M.A. 
(marr. 1st July 1937 Andrew Murray Rich 
mond Martin, M.A., C.A., Glasgow); 
Marjorie, M.D., Glasgow, 1931. Publica 
tions James Brown, a King o Men* 
(Church of Scotland Committee on Publi 
cations, 1939); Dundonald, a Contribution 
to Parochial History (John Wylie & Co., 
Glasgow, 1 939), two volumes. 



FISHERTON 

WILLIAM MURDOCH, his widow, 
Sarah Davidson McCracken, died 



1870 



7th March 1940. 



JOHN AITKEN SPENCE, trans to 
1918 Norrieston 18th Nov. 1927. 

DAVID GRANT MILNE, trans, from 
1928 Stronsay (q.v.) 20th April 1928. 



218 



FULLARTON GLENBUCK 



[PRESB. OF 



FULLARTON 

DAVID WILSON, his son, William 
Cunningham, solicitor and bank 
agent, Irvine, died 29th Sept. 1931. 



1837 



JOSEPH THOMSON PATON, his 



1876 



widow, Maggie Charles Ward, died 
14th Jan. 1936. 



JOHN PATERSON, res. in ill health 
1903 1937; died 18th Oct. 1938. 

GALSTON 

The parsonage as well as the vicarage 
belonged to the Red Friars of Fail. [Cal. 
Papal Letters, xii, 377.] 

SIR JAMES DOUGLAS, vicar 26th 
1559 Aug. 1559. [Reg. Mag. Sig., v, 998.] 

JOHN DOUGLAS, M.A., vicar 26th 



1566 



March 1566-7. [Cal. of Charters, 
ix, 2024.] 



RANKEN DAVIDSON, exhorter at 
1568 Loudoun (q.v.}. 



1578 



JOHN WALLACE, son of Adam W., 
burgess of Glasgow; pres. to vicarage 
1st Jan. 1578-9 on dem. of Sir John 

Cunningham. [Reg. Pres. Bene., ii, 10; 

Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.} 

JOHN MARTINE, pres. to vicarage 8th 
March 1582 on death of Michael 



1582 



Henryson. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 86.] 



1591 



JOHN TAYLOR, M.A., pres. to vicar. 
5th Jan. 1591-2 on death of Robert 



Stewart. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixiii, 111.] 



ALEXANDER WALLACE, M.A., pres. 
parsonage 17th Jan. 1592 on death 
of John Wallace. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Ixxv, 7.] 

ALEXANDER BLAIR, his son, Alex- 
1648 ander, merchant, Edinburgh. 

ADAM ALASOUN, his marriage cont. 



1672 



dated 27th Jan. 1659. [Kirkcud 
bright Sher. Court Deeds, 125.] 



ROBERT SYMSON, residing with his 
wife, Margaret Hamilton, in Tol- 
booth Parish, Edinburgh, 8th Nov. 



1687 



1694. Addl. issue James, bapt. 18th July 
1695. [Aberdeen Reg.] 

JAMES ALLAN HOGG, his son, 
1887 R b ert Blacklock, M.C., Lieut. 
Border Regiment; his daughs. 
Helen Arthur (marr. Sydney H. R. Warnes, 
min. of Buckie); Mary Allan, died April 
1925. Publication Jesus which is called 
Christ, a pamphlet on the Fourth Gospel; 
numerous pamphlets, including The Wonder 
in Darkness (1938). 

GIRVAN 

ALEXANDER BOYD, pres. to vicarage 
6th March 1578-9 on death of 



1578 
ii, 13.] 



Robert McNeil. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 



ANDREW BOYD, son of Quinten B. 
1601 of Allerthew, pres. to vicarage 2nd 
April 1601. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxii, 
35.] 

ALEXANDER GADERER, set up a 
meeting house at Keith 1706, died 
1714. 

WILLIAM CORSON, his son, Lockhart 
1848 Dobbie, S.S.C., died 5th June 1926. 

SAMUEL CAMPBELL FRY, died 31st 



1888 



1923 



Dec. 1922; his daughs. Janet Ran- 
ken Campbell (marr. 8th March 
1924 William Shairp, M.C., Oban); Jane 
Ranken Campbell, died 24th Oct. 1942. 

ROBERT SMITH MACKINTOSH, 

trans, from St Margaret s, Arbroath 
fa.v.) 27th June 1923; had addl. 
issue Athole Spalding, born 16th June 
1926; Fiona Martin Ancell, born 10th 
April 1924. Publications Contributions to 
periodicals. 

GIRVAN SOUTH 

THOMAS GOURLAY SINCLAIR, 
1907 dem. 30th March 1947. 



GLENBUCK 

COLIN ARCHIBALD MACKENZIE, 
1895 died 27th March 1935. 



AYR] 



KIRKMICHAEL KIRKOSWALD 



219 



KIRKMICHAEL 

In 1370-80 the church is described as the 
Parish Church of St Michael of Munthyr- 
duffy, with the variation Menterduff in 
1386-1400; and in 1470 there is the Parish 
of MunterdufT. The designation "Parish 
of Kirkmichael" occurs on 3rd July 1443 
and 30th July 1564. On 26th Oct. 1545 
John Kennedy, son of Hugh K. of Girvan 
Mains, was instituted in the office of Clerk 
ship of the Church by Sir Hugh Crawe, 
vicar, who in confirmation delivered to him 
a bell and stoup of holy water, as is usual 
in like cases. [Laing Charters, 64, 72, 73; 
Reg. Mag.Sig.,ii, 1810, iv, 1548; Cal. Papal 
Letters, ix, 4; Colville s Prot. Book, 5,(8a)]. 

ANDREW CHARTERIS, sometime 
1564 parson. [Acts and Dec., xxiv, 937.] 

SIR THOMAS McGUDE, vicar. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 

13OO i 

etc.] 

ROBERT PEEBLES, his mother was 

635 Marion, daugh. of Robert Hunter of 

Hunterston. Addl. issue Patrick, 

M.A. (Glasgow 1653); Robert, M.A. 

(Glasgow 1653). 

JOHN HUNTER, described as late of 
1691 Kirkmichael and Ireland; went to 
Coylton 1692. [Deeds, Durie, 1705, 
No. 471.] 

JAMES GILCHRIST, marr. Margaret 
Aird. [Reg. of Deeds, Durie, 27th 
April 1710.] 

JAMES LAURIE, delete "M.A. Glas- 
1711 gow!707." 

JOHN RAMSAY, his father, a weaver; 
1766 adm. burgess of Glasgow 12th Jan. 
1792. Marr. Margaret, daugh. of 
John McFadzean; hisdaughs. Janet (marr. 
Adam Thomson); Margaret (marr. Robert 
McDermeit, Fergushall). 

HENRY ALEXANDER FAIRLIE, 
1866 pres. 26th June 1866. 

WILLIAM HENRY RANKINE, died 
1918 llth July 1921; his son, George, 
died Diamantina Hospital, Brisbane, 
25th Sept. 1935. 



GEORGE CHARLES SMITH, born 
1921 Shettleston, Lanarkshire, 24th Dec. 
1889, son of Henry S. and Anne 
Martha Thomson; educ. at Eastbank 
Academy and Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. 
(1915); served in War 1914-19, Military 
Cross; licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 28th 
June 1920; assistant Cathcart; ord. 8th 
Dec. 1921; trans, to Dunoon High Church 
16th May 1930; trans, to Lochwinnoch 
18th Feb. 1948. Marr. 19th April 1919 
Catherine, daugh. of Alexander Burleigh 
and Jessie Malcolm, and has issue 
Dorothy Kathryn Malcolm, born 17th June 
1933; Harry Charles Thomson, born 28th 
July 1936. 

KIRKOSWALD 

Under the designation the Church of St 
Oswald of Turberry, the church was gran 
ted to Paisley Abbey by Duncan, son of 
Gilbert, Earl of Carrick, and himself Earl 
of Carrick, on condition that the abbey 
founded in Carrick a monastery of the 
Cluniac Order, and gave the church to the 
said monastery. The grant was confirmed 
by Florence, Bishop-Elect of Glasgow, in 
1202, and by Alexander II on 5th Aug. 
1236. In terms of that condition the church 
was given to Crossraguel Abbey on its 
foundation soon after 18th July 1244. The 
church was also called the Church of Turn- 
berry. There was a Chapel of Turnberry 
which likewise pertained to Paisley Abbey. 
[Reg. of Paisley, 113, 309, 427-8; Reg. 
Epis. of Glasgow, i, 121, 124. See Charters 
of Crossraguel for an account of the abbey.] 

JOHN CUNNINGHAM. [Acts and 
1573 Dec., \, 453.] 

HEW KENNEDY, in office 1603. 
1576 [Comps. Surplus of Thirds.} 

JOHN OSBURNE, his sons William, 
mm> f Tarbolton; Anthony. 
[Deeds Dal., 1706, No. 1399.] 

JAMES MUIR, dem. 5th Oct. 1931, 

died 17th Sept. 1933; marr. 20th 
Jan. 1925 Elizabeth Coventry, daugh. 
of Alexander Cunningham, Gullane. Pub 
lication Burns till his Seventeenth (Kirkos- 
wald) Year (Kilmarnock, 1930). 



220 



LUGAR NEW MAUCHLINE 



[PRESB. OF 



LUGAR 

JOHN SKEOCH CLELLAND, licen. 
1876 by Presb. of Glasgow 6th Dec. 1871. 

JAMES MOROGH YOUNG, killed on 



1912 



railway near Grantown 23rd July 
1925. 



JAMES MAWER WALLACE, born 



1925 



Edinburgh 2nd Jan. 1891; son of 
Alexander W. and Helen Maxwell 
Mawer; educ. Fossoway Public School and 
Dollar Academy, Manitoba Univ. and 
Glasgow Univ.; served in Canadian 11 
Field Ambulance 1916-18; student mis 
sionary in Canada 1919-23; licen. by Presb. 
of Dunbarton May 1925; assistant Dun- 
barton Aug. 1924; ord. 17th Dec. 1925; 
trans, to Thornton 24th Oct. 1929. Marr. 
3rd Feb. 1926 Ann McKendrick, daugh. of 
George McKendrick King and Jessie 
Manson Russell, and has issue Eileen 
Margaret, born 19th Oct. 1927; James 
Victor Bryden, born 19th Dec. 1929. 

MAUCHLINE 

(Note by Rev. D. E. Eassori) 
There was no monastery at Mauchline, 
and the frequently repeated statement that 
there was a monastery here (it goes back 
at least to Habakkuk Bisset) rests on 
nothing better than conjecture. Melrose 
had evidently something in the nature of 
a grange there; and in the sixteenth century 
a hospitium was erected. But the only 
ecclesiastical building, properly so called, 
was the Parish Church of St Michael, 
which was appropriated to Melrose. [Reg. 
Mag. Sig., ii, 3514, iii, 1369.] 

About 1204-14 Walter, son of Alan, and 
3rd High Stewart of Scotland, and his wife 
Beatrice, daugh. of Gilchrist, Earl of Angus, 
granted to Melrose Abbey the territory of 
Mauchline and the Church of St Michael 
situated thereon. On 30th June 1315 
Robert Wishart, Bishop of Glasgow, for 
himself and his successors, granted to the 
Abbey of Melrose, and specially permitted 
the said abbey to hold, the chapel or church 
in the territory of Mauchline, already built, 
the said church to have the insignia of a 
parish church, to hold all teinds great and 



small, and be equipped with cemetery, etc.; 
and this was confirmed by John Lindsay, 
Bishop of Glasgow in 1 326. There was at 
Mauchline a hospital belonging to Melrose 
Abbey. [Book of Melrose, i, 64, ii, 368-9, 
371-4; Reg. Great Seal, iii, 2567.] 

ANDREW MICHELL, chaplain, 
1562 curate. [Acts and Dec., xxiv, 250.] 

WILLIAM AULD, second son of Wil- 
1742 ^ am A m Underwood and Margaret 
sister to Robert Campbell of Town- 
head of Newmills. 

ANDREW EDGAR, his widow, Mary 
Sybilla Cowan, died at St Andrews 
14th Jan 1928, aged 82; his daughs. 
Jean Violet (marr. 21st Dec. 1922 Rev. 
John Manisty Hardwick, assistant master, 
Rugby School); Mary Campbell, poetess 
(marr. 12th Sept. 1895 George Smith, M.A., 
headmaster, Merchiston Castle, afterwards 
Master of Dulwich College); his sons 
Campbell Cowan, D.Litt. (Dublin), De 
partment of Antiquities, Cairo, died 10th 
May 1938; Charles Samuel, professor of 
Greek, Stellenbosch, South Africa; his 
daugh., Magdalen Grace, died 18th May 
1943. 

JOSEPH MITCHELL, Moderator of 

General Assembly, dem. 1st Oct. 

1930, died at Bridge of Allan 18th 

March 1931; his wife, Helen Honeyman 

Litster, died 25th June 1921; marr. (2) 

31st Oct. 1924 Jean Walker, J.P., eldest 

daugh. of William Brown Robertson, 20 

Albany Street, Dundee. 



NEW MAUCHLINE 

The division of the Parish of Mauchline 
and the erection of a "new kirk" were 
approved by the Presbytery on Aug. 15th 
1649; and on Nov. 7th 1649 the Presbytery 
decided upon a site for the new kirk (as 
well as a kirkyard, manse and glebe) on 
part of the land of Gilmilnscroft. The New 
Kirk of Mauchline had a minister, John 
Blair, whose career is given in the "Fasti." 
But he seems to have been the first and last 
minister of the new parish; and although 
the Parish of New Mauchline is mentioned 



AYR] 



NEW MAUCHLINE MAYBOLE 



221 



in 1 672 [Privy Council Register, 3 Sen, iii, 
443, 445], its separate existence must have 
terminated in the last quarter of the 17th 
century, a period for which the Presbytery 
records are unfortunately missing. There 
is no trace on the lands of Gilmilnscroft of 
any church, nor has the factor been able to 
find any record of it. Most of the lands 
which are mentioned as included in the 
"New" parish are now in the Parish of 
Sorn. 



MAYBOLE 

On 29th Nov. 1371 Sir John Kennedy of 
Dunure, for the souls of himself, Marie, his 
wife, and their children, founded beside the 
churchyard of the parish church a chapel 
dedicated to the Virgin Mary, for a clerk 
and three chaplains. The endowment for 
the support of the chapel, chaplains, and 
clerk was 18 mercates of land beside the 
chapel, 18 bolls of meal of day multure 
yearly from said lands, 10 merks stg. yearly 
from the lands of Balmaclewhane, 5 mer 
cates of the lands of Barrycloych, 6 mer 
cates of the lands of Treuchan. Later he 
granted to the chapel the lands of Glenap 
and others which his ancestors had given 
to the Abbey and Canons of Bangor, Ire 
land, but which the Scottish King had 
regarded as forfeited. On 1st March 
1383-4, with the approval of Pope Clement 
VII, Sir John erected the chapel into a 
collegiate church for three chaplains, one 
of whom was to be provost, and a clerk. 
The provision for the provost was the 
whole lands of Barclach, Barcley, Over 
Balmaclawnathan, to wit, Archylone and 
Ardowray; he was to pay 20 sh. stg. to one 
of the chaplains as hereafter stated; he was 
also to have one mercate of the lands of 
Kynach. For the second chaplain there 
were provided 3 mercates of the lands of 
Maybole, with the mill situated there, 1 
mercate of the lands of Knokneby, 4 mer 
cates of the lands of Treuchan, 2 merks 
annual rent of the lands of Nether Balma- 
clathane, and 1 mercate of the lands of 
Kynach. The third chaplain s provision 
was 4 mercates of the lands of Pennyglen, 
3 mercates of the lands of Knyleteycowyn, 



3 mercates of the lands of Maybole, U 
merks annual rent from the lands of Nether 
Balmaclathane, and 20 sh. stg. from the 
provost as foresaid, and also 1 mercate of 
the lands of Kynach. For the maintenance 
of the clerk there was set apart one mercate 
of the lands of Kynach near the church. 
Two additional chaplainries were forth 
coming. One was founded by Gilbert 
Kennedy of Dunure on 18th May 1451, for 
celebrations at the Altar of the Virgin Mary 
in the church, for the souls of himself, 
Katherine Maxwell, his wife, and their 
children, the endowment being the lands of 
Larginlen and Broklach, in the Earldom of 
Carrick. The other was founded by Ergidie 
Blair, widow of James Kennedy of Row, on 
24th April 1516, when for the souls of King 
James V, Gilbert, Earl of Cassilis, and his 
consort, Elizabeth Campbell, and for the 
soul of her late husband, herself, and their 
fathers, mothers, brothers and sisters, she 
granted to God, and the Virgin Mary, and 
Sir James Douglas, Chaplain, and his suc 
cessors as chaplains, 10 merks annual rent 
from the lands and barony of Dunure, 
which she had purchased from the said 
Gilbert, Earl of Cassilis. On 17th July 1516 
she also gave 1 acre with a rood of land 
near the church; and to the chaplainry 
there likewise pertained 2 acres of land in 
the same area, resigned by Sir John Ken 
nedy, chaplain of the third stall, on 17th 
July 1516. There were thus at least five 
chaplainries or prebends. Each chaplain 
had a manse and garden. Apparently 
further endowments were made, as evi 
denced by a Crown Charter of 1586, which 
contains the following possessions of the 
provostry 4 mercates of the lands of Bar- 
lach, 1 mercate of the lands of Harkagstoun, 
2 mercates of the lands of Auchinernie, 
40 sh. of the lands of Barclay, 9 sh. of the 
lands of Rowestoun, 8 sh. of the lands of 
Knokinche (or Knokinlard), 8 sh. of the 
lands of Holmheid, 16 sh. of the lands of 
Balliecullie, 8 sh. of the lands of Clunloch, 
26 sh. of the lands of - , 

2 mercates of the lands of Gilberstoun, 
2 mercates of the lands of Balsayrt, 1 mer 
cate of the lands of Little Enoch, 2 mercates 
of the lands of Artreis set in feu to Elspit 



222 



MAYBOLE MONKTON 



[PRESB. OF 



McGill, wife of Thomas Kennedy of Cul- 
zean, and their son and heir, Thomas, the 
combined reddendo being 40 lib. Scots. The 
same charter contains the following endow 
ments of the second prebend 2 mercates 
of the lands of Ballefatownes, 1 mercate of 
the lands of Whitefauldis, 3 mercates of 
the lands of Drummorane, Knokune, and 
Broichhill, called the 40 sh. lands of Drum 
morane, with the mill called Deanis-mylin, 
with dry multures, etc., in the Bailery of 
Carrick reddendo 22 merks 40 pence. A 
charter of 1598-99 contains 5 sh. of the 
lands of Smythstoun as pertaining to the 
third prebend. There was a Maisondeu in 
the burgh, possibly attached to the colle 
giate church. [Reg. Great Seal, i, 378, 428, 
ii, 466, iv, 2377, 2746, v, 992, vi, 860; Reg. 
Epis. of Glasgow, i, 285, 286-8, ii, 526-7, 
527-8; Charters of Crossraguel Abbey, i, 
33-4; Scots. Peerage, ii, 446.] 

JOHN DOUGLAS, parson. [Acts and 
1565 Dec., xxxiii, 196.] 

ARCHIBALD HERBERTSON, pres. to 
vicarage 7th Dec. 1569 on death of 
Sir John Hamilton. [Reg. Pres. 
Bene.,i, 31.] 

DAVID BARCLAY, trans, to Dumfries 
after 15th July 1605. [Reg. of 
Deeds, clxviii, 129, 14th Jan. 1609.] 



1569 



1599 



JAMES BONAR, pres. to kirk and 
parsonage by Thomas Kennedy of 
Bargennie before 14th Jan. 1609. 

[Reg. of Deeds, clxviii, 129; clxx, 407; 

G. R.Sas., x, 101.] 

JOHN HUTCHESON, his daugh., 
Agnes (marr. cont. 29th April 1690 
John Wallace of Camsiscan). 

JOHN JAFFRAY, his son, William. 



1667 



[Kirkcudbright Sheriff Court Deeds, 
987.] 



ROBERT FISHER, his daugh., Jean, 
1720 died 1817. 

JAMES WRIGHT, born 6th July, 1739; 
2 col., line 3, for "Balony" read 
"Ballony"; his son, John of Dal- 
quharn and Ballony. 



ANDREW THOMSON, pres. 17th July 
1840 1840. 

WILLIAM MENZIES, pres. 12th Sept. 
1843 1843. 

GEORGE PORTER, pres. by Crown 
1870 25th June 1870. 

DAVID SWAN, died 12th Feb. 1944. 
1902 

MAYBOLE WEST 

WILLIAM ALEXANDER REID, died 
1905 18th Jan. 1946. 



ALEXANDER WILLIAMSON. Publi 
cations Guide to May bole; Cross 
raguel Abbey. Papers on May bole 
Collegiate Church and other subjects. 



MONKTON 

The Chapel of the Virgin of Grace, 
situated in the common pasture of Adman- 
ton, was founded just prior to 13th Aug. 
1446 by John Blar of Admanton. [Reg. 
Great Seal, iii, 1845; Cal. Papal Regs., 
Letters, ix. 548.] 

Note. Line 16, read "The well and 
ruined chapel still remain." 

JOHN MUIRHEAD, M.A., pres. to 
vicarage 2nd June 1591 on death 
of Andrew Lockhart. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., Ixii, 67.] 



, 



NINIAN YOUNG, min. here, pres. to 
vicarage on depriv. of William 



1594 



Chisholm, bishop of Dunblane, 4th 
Jan. 1591-2. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixiii, 108]. 



1600 



JOHN LINDSAY, M.A., son of Robert 
L., min. of Lanark; pres. to par 
sonage and vicarage 4th June 1600 

on dem. of John Swinton. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 

Ixxi, 230.] 

ALEXANDER CUNNINGHAM, had 

also David and John. [Deeds, Dal., 



1676 



1706,208, 211.] 



DAVID ALLAN REID, died 3rd Jan. 
1888 1923. 



AYR] 



MONKTON PRESTWICK, ST NICOLAS 



223 



LUKE McQUITTY, trans, from Castle 

Douglas (q.v.} 28th June 1923; died 

5th Feb. 1947. Marr. 14th Oct. 1908 

Floranna Thompson (died 26th July 1942), 

daugh. of Isaac Harvey, headmaster, 

Rosetta Academy, Belfast, and Flora 

Louisa Thompson; his son, George, born 

5th died 8th Jan. 1913. 

PRESTWICK 

ROBERT HOGGART, reader. 



1563 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 
etc.] 



MUIRKIRK 

WILLIAM KINROSS, M.A., 1568 and 



1568 



1569. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Stirling, etc.] 



ROBERT MONTGOMERY, his 



1879 



widow, Annie Vallance Bardner, 
died 22nd Jan. 1931. 



JOHN HENDERSON, died 26th Jan. 
IQ 1946; his daugh., Ina Noble (marr. 
25th July 1944 Dr George Howie, 
B.Sc., Rutherglen). 

OCHILTREE 

The patronage of the church was granted 
to Melrose Abbey, apparently in 1316 by 
Lady Eustace de Colville, Lady of Ochiltree 
and widow of Reginald le Chene. [Book 
of Melrose, ii, 360-1, 364, 366.] 

About 1296 Symon de Spalding was 
parson and his brother, John de Spalding, 
was reader here. 

ADAM LANDETHS, exhorter 1571; 



1571 



marr. Helen Wilson. [Aces. Sub 
Collector of Benefices, 1571.] 



ROBERT MILLER, his daugh., 
Euphame. [Reg. of Deeds Dal., 
139, 5th March 1736.] 

SAMUEL LOCKHART, his son, 
1705 Alexander, apprenticed to George 
Cowan, wright, Edinburgh, 10th 
Sept. 1729. 

WILLIAM MONTGOMERY WAL- 
KER, his daugh., Margaret Laird, 
died 1st Feb. 1912; Jane, died 19th 



April 1930; his sons William Hugh, died 
25th June 1913; Josiah Charles, died 28th 
April 1882; his daugh., Frances Hunter, 
writer of poems and prose sketches, died 
17th June 1933; his son, Patrick Hunter, 
died 14th Sept. 1939. 

NIEL MACKAY, died 19th July 1930; 
his widow, Teresa Kossuth Forbes, 



1880 



died 29th June 1935. 



DAVID SINCLAIR RUTHERFORD, 



1923 



ord. A. and S. 3rd May 1923; trans, 
to Biggar 20th June 1928. 



ANGUS MacLEOD, born 6th July 1893, 



1928 



son of Angus M., slate quarryman, 



and Annabella Gillies; educ. at 
Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1919); licen. by 
Presb. of Glasgow Dec. 1923; assistant 
Martyrs, Glasgow; ord. to Salen 10th July 
1924; trans, to Kilcalmonell 25th Nov. 
1925; trans, and adm. A. and S. 30th Nov. 
1928; died 3rd March 1945. Marr. 28th 
Dec. 1923 Helen Cowan, daugh. of John 
Ranken Macintyre and Margaret Cowan 
Wilkinson, and has issue Angus Iain, 
born 8th Dec. 1924; Kenneth Gillies, born 
llth Sept. 1928. 

PATNA 

DOUGLAS DICKSON ROBERTSON, 



1919 



trans, to Dalkeith West 21st April 
1927. 



WILLIAM PAUL MONTEATH, trans. 

from St Andrews, Johnston (q.v.), 

14th Sept. 1927; dem. 1st Oct. 1930; 

died 28th Nov. 1937; had issue William 

Paul, M.A., min. of Viewpark, Uddingston. 



PRESTWICK, ST. NICOLAS 

JAMES MONTGOMERY CRAW 
FORD, died at Glasgow 27th Dec. 
1926. 



1909 



GEORGE MacLEOD DUNN, formerly 
1Q2 _ of West Wemyss (<?.v.); trans, to 
Kelvinhaugh 13th March 1924; 
trans, and adm. 8th June 1927; has addl. 
issue Grace Catherine MacLeod, born 
29th Dec. 1924. 



224 



RICCARTON STAIR 



[PRESB. OF 



RICCARTON 

The church was at first a dependant 
chapel of Dundonald (#.v.). 

EMMANUEL MORGAN, died 8th 
1876 Feb. 1929. 

BERRY PRESTON, trans, to Peebles 
24th March 1926. Addl. issue 



1917 

1923. 



Thomas Russell, born 2nd April 



CHARLES JAMES DONALDSON, 



1926 



trans, from Battlefield (q.v.) 24th 
Nov. 1926; died 27th Jan. 1946. 
Addl. issue Dorothy Dobie, born 7th Jan. 
1923 (marr. 9th July 1948 Frederick 
Richard Benson, South Kensington, Lon 
don). 

ST QUIVOX, formerly 
SANCHUR IN KYLE 

On 7th Jan. 1434-5 the church is termed 
the Parish Church of St Quivox (Sancti 
Kevoci). Kevoc is regarded as a form of 
Mo Choemoc, later Mo Chaomhog of 
Liath Mor or Liath Mo Choemoc in 
Tipperary, whose day was 13th March; he 
died in 656. It may be noted, however, that 
apart from the Aberdeen Breviary, which 
records St Kevoca the Virgin, there was a 
St Evoca the Virgin. [Cat. Papal Regs., 
Letters, viii, 492-3; Watson s Celtic Place 
Names of Scot., 189-190; Transcripts from 
Vatican, 1421-59, 90.] 

JOHN LEVERANCE, min. [Acts and 
1572 Dec., xlix, 40.] 

PATRICK HAMILTON, son of George 
1618 H., of Bogwood, and Jean Lockhart. 



ROBERT MONTGOMERY, line 2, for 
"Adam M. of Macbiehill, Ayr 
shire" read "Hew M. of Auchen- 
hood." Line 5, for "1636 "read "1633." 



1633 



1820 



STAIR PARK MACQUHAE, line 9, 
for "St Croix" read "St Evox." 
He was active in the Church Exten 
sion movement in Ayrshire and in 1850 was 
president of the Glasgow Society of the 
Sons of Ministers of the Church of Scot 
land. His first wife, Louisa Georgina, was 



daugh. of Captain Lewis Mackenzie, Sea- 
forth Highlanders; his son, William, educ. 
at Haileybury, Madras Civil Service, died 
26th Oct. 1930. His second wife, Louisa 
Georgine, was daugh. of Assistant Com 
missary General John Mackenzie, 5th 
Regiment; his daughs. Caroline, died 3rd 
April 1937; Mary Laura, died 26th Dec. 
1936; Louise, died 31st Oct. 1930; his son, 
John Mackenzie, C.B., Captain R.N., died 
1900. [Information from Messrs. Mac 
kenzie, St Evox, Newnham.] 

JAMES WILSON, line 4, for Scoonie" 
1859 read"Leven." 

JAMES PETER WILSON, marr. 29th 
19Q6 April 1925 Margaret Whiteford, 
daugh. of John Hamilton and Isa 
bella Steedman and sister of John Macfar- 
lane Hamilton, min. of Alloway; educ. at 
Ayr and Kelvinside Academies; ord. to 
Dalbeattie 25th Feb. 1897, not 1899. 
Publications Articles in Expository Times. 

SORN 

JOHN RANKINE, his sons Sir John, 



1843 



died 8th Aug. 1922; James, died 10th 
April 1927. 



DAVID FYFE McMATH, trans, to St 



1919 



David s, Kirkintilloch, 15th Oct. 
1924. 



WILLIAM LOWYS DAVIES, adm. 



1925 



12th March 1925; trans, to Auchen- 
doir 16th May 1928. 



JAMES GEGG, born Motherwell 1896, 
i ois son ^ J ames Cegg and Jane MofTat; 
educ. Dollar Academy and Glasgow 
Univ.; licen. by Presb. of Hamilton May 
1926; assistant South Dalziel 1926; ord. to 
Menmuir 12th May 1927; trans, and adm. 
19th Sept. 1928. 



1785 



STAIR 

JOHN STEELE of Palmone. 



WILLIAM HENRY SHANNON, died 
18th Dec. 1942; his wife, Hilda 
Meikle, died 31st Aug. 1929. Marr. 
(2) 30th Aug. 1941 Betty S. Thomson, daugh. 



1899 



AYR] 



STAIR TARBOLTON 



225 



of Alexander Robb, bank manager, Edin 
burgh; his daugh., Hilda Helen Elizabeth 
(marr. 10th June 1936 Hugh Richmond 
Thorn, min. of Corsock). Addl. issue 
William Henry, born 23rd Jan. 1918; his 
daugh., Constance Eileen (marr. 5th July 
1938 Thomas Hughes, teacher, Ardrossan). 

STRAITON 

The church was granted to Paisley Abbey 
by Duncan, son of Gilbert, Earl of Carrick, 
and himself Earl of Carrick, on condition 
that the abbey erected in Carrick a monas 
tery of the Cluniac Order, and gave the 
church to the said monastery. The grant 
was confirmed by Florence, Bishop-Elect 
of Glasgow, in 1202, and by Alexander II 
5th Aug. 1236. In terms of that condition 
the church was given to Crossraguel Abbey 
on its foundation soon after 18th July 
1244. [Reg. of Paisley, 427-8.] 

JOHN McQUORNE, had issue, John, 
his successor. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixix, 
271.] 



1565 



HEW ECCLES. [Reg. of Sas., 3 Ser., 
1644 xxxvi, 30, 25th Aug. 1675.] 

JOHN BLAIR, pres. 4th May 
1844 1844. 

WELLWOOD MAXWELL LAN- 



1899 



DALE, trans, to Penicuik 15th Feb. 
1928. 



JOHN FOSTER McCALLUM, trans. 



1928 



from Dunnichen (q.v.) 15th Aug. 
1928. 



SYMINGTON 

JOHN LINDSAY, exhorter and reader 
1563 1563-8. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 

JOHN SYMINGTON, son of William 
S. of Ryhills, pres. to vicarage 5th 
Feb. 1592-3 on dem. of Robert 

Symington, but may not have entered. 

[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixv, 13.] 

JOHN LINDSAY, pres. to vicarage 
1592 14th Feb. 1592-3 on death of 
Robert Symington. 



JOHN CUNNINGHAM, M.A., pres. 
_ to vicarage 27th May 1598 on death 
of John Miller. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Ixix, 269.] 

WILLIAM BLAIR, it may have been 
his widow and two children, Jean 
and Margaret, who were resident in 

the Canongate, Edinburgh, 14th Nov. 1694. 

[Poll Tax Book.] 

JOHN GEMMELL, his daughs. Agnes 
( marr - Thomas Stewart of Gabroc- 
hill); Margaret. [Deeds. Dal., 1706, 
No. 1399.] 

GEORGE ORR, his daughs. marr. 
184Q Professor T. B. Kirkpatrick, D.D., 
Toronto, and James Martin, C.A., 
Edinburgh. 

JOHN GAGE BOYD, died Edinburgh 



1906 



31st May 1947; his widow, Mary 
Reid, died 22nd Oct, 1947. 



TARBOLTON 

In 1335 John de Graham, lord of Tar- 
bolton, granted the patronage of the Church 
of Tarbolton, with the lands of Unthank, 
to his kinsman, Robert de Graham of 
Walston. Subsequently John de Graham 
conveyed the patronage to Friar John, 
Minister of Fail, in exchange for a white 
horse, which the said Friar John later took 
back. On 21st Feb. 1340, on the plea that 
he had been led astray by the wiles of Friar 
John, John de Graham revoked the gift of 
the patronage to Fail, conceding that 
Robert de Graham was the patron; and on 
llth July 1342 Robert de Graham be 
stowed the patronage upon Melrose Abbey. 
A vacancy in the rectory of the church in 
1404 brought forward three claimants to 
the patronage, Melrose Abbey, the Minis 
try of Fail, and John Seneschal, lord of 
Tarbolton; and ultimately the claimants by 
Notarial Instrument of 14th Dec. 1414 
agreed to keep their dispute in abeyance by 
constituting King James I their procurator 
in making a presentation to the vacant 
living. What steps were subsequently taken 
to arrive at a settlement is not clear; but it 
is on record on 22nd July 1422 that the 



226 



TARBOLTON BARNWELL 



[PRESB. OF 



patronage of the church was of Laymen, 
showing that Melrose and Fail had been 
eliminated. In 1426-37 the church was 
erected into a Prebend of Glasgow by John 
Cameron, Bishop of Glasgow, with the 
consent of Sir John Stewart, Kt., lord of 
Darnley and Tarbolton, who was obviously 
the patron of the church. Prior to that, on 
22nd Feb. 1422, the said Sir John Stewart 
presented a supplication to the Pope, 
stating that he proposed to found and 
partly endow a college for six priests with 
church and offices in his domain of Darnley 
and craving the Pope to incorporate, annex, 
and perpetually unite the Parish Church of 
Tarbolton to the said college. The project 
was not carried out. The Red Friars 
Monastery at Failford, on the right bank 
of the Fail, already noted, was founded by 
Andrew Bruce in 1252. The monastery 
held the churches of Barnewell, Symington, 
Galston, Torthorwald, and Inverchaolain. 
In answer to a petition by James II and his 
queen, Mary of Gueldres, Pope Calixtus 
III decerned on 3rd Nov. 1459, that the 
monastery be suppressed, and the house 
and church and their revenues be assigned 
as a hospital for poor infirm from the same 
erection. The superior or minister of the 
house was Provincial of the Order of the 
Red Friars in Scotland, and sat in Parlia 
ment among the abbots. [Book of Mel- 
rose, ii, 414-15, 417, 420, 421, 422-4, 425, 
510-12; Reg. Great Seal, ii, 3691; Cal. 
Papal Regs., Letters, vii, 210; Reg. of Glas 
gow, ii, 430; Scott. Supplies, to Rome, 203^t; 
Acts Scott. Parliament, ii, 447a, 525b; 
Walcot s Anc. Ch. of Scotland, 349; Keith s 
Cat. of Scott. Bishops, 396-7.] 

JAMES CHISHOLM, M.A., parson and 



1571 



perpetual vicar 19th March 1571-2, 
Archdeacon of Dunblane. [Cal. of 
Charters, x, 2239.] 

DAVID CURLE, reader, in office 26th 
1571 Dec. 1573. [Edin. Tests, iii, 21.] 

HENRY OSBURNE, son of John O., 
1695 min. of Kirkoswald. 

DAVID RITCHIE, line 10, for "1832" 



1829 



read "1882"; his daugh., Susan 
Alexis, died 24th Sept. 1935. 



JAMES CRAIG HIGGINS, died at Ayr 
1883 28th Nov. 1930; his wife, Mary Ann 
Macleod Campbell, died 1 6th March 
1926. 

ARCHIBALD MORTON PATERSON, 

192? born 23rd March 1892, son of 
Robert P. and Mary Morton; licen. 
by Presb. of Glasgow 1919; assistant Elgin; 
ord. to Slamannan 28th Feb. 1923; trans. 
15th Dec. 1927. Marr. 23rd Oct. 1923 
Marion Fotheringham Forrest, daugh. of 
James Allan, and has issue Lorraine 
Mary, born 24th June 1925; Robert Archi 
bald, born 6th Dec. 1929. 

BARNWELL 

The church was dedicated to the Holy 
Rood. In or about Oct. 1459 James II and 
his queen, Mary of Gueldres, presented a 
petition to the Pope, Pius II, stating that 
the ministers and friars of the Trinitarian 
House of Fail (in this parish) were neglect 
ing their duty and living in uncleanness, 
etc., to great public scandal, and that on 
account of their exemption from episcopal 
control and dangers from sea and land, and 
the negligence of their superiors, their 
enormities and shameful life were not cor 
rected, and further that they had become so 
involved in evil that they could not be 
brought back to decency and the obser 
vance of their rule. The petition craved the 
suppression of the house and its annexation 
to " a certain great Hospital, with Church, 
houses, " etc., which the Queen had erected 
and endowed. On 3rd Nov. 1459 the Pope 
gave mandate to the Bishops of Glasgow 
and Whithorn and the Archdeacon of 
Glasgow to make enquiries, and if they 
found the statements were true, to remove 
the said ministers and friars to other 
houses of the same Order in the country, 
suppress said Order in said house, and 
unite and appropriate the said house and 
annexes to said church and hospital in 
perpetuity. The appropriation was not 
carried out. Manifestly the reference is to 
the Trinity Collegiate Church and Hospital, 
Edinburgh. [Cal. Papal Regs., Letters, xi, 
403; Diocesan Reg. of Glasgow, i, 305, ii, 
67.] 



AYR] 



BARNWELL TROON 



227 



1576 



WILLIAM WALLACE, "His Majes- 
^ e S ^ ov ^ cler k, brother of John 
W. of Craigie and son of John W. 
of Craigie, pres. to the min. of Fulfurde 
18th April 1576 on the death of Robert 
Cunningham; still min. 18th June 1587. 
[Reg. of Pres. Bene., i, 42; Reg. Mag. Sig., 
31st Dec. 1575; Reg. Sec. Sig., Iv, 84.] 



TROON 

A new church was built at Troon and 
opened for public worship 29th Dec. 1925. 



It is situated beside the old one, which now 
forms part of a suite of church halls. 

JAMES FLEMING, his daugh., Rebecca 
1fi< _, Maxwell, died at Troon 31st Aug. 
1922. 

ROBERT SMITH, D.D. (Glasgow 19th 
1887 June 1935); died 20th Nov. 1937; 
his wife, Janet Gilmore, died 16th 
June 1924. Marr. (2) 22nd Nov. 1927 
Margaret Brown Guthrie (died 20th Nov. 
1937), widow of David Moore. His son, 
Robert James, C.E., M.A. (Edin.), B.A. 
(Cantab), Irrigation Department, Sudan. 






PRESBYTERY OF IRVINE 



ARDROSSAN 

There were in the church an altar dedi 
cated to the Virgin Mary to which per 
tained 5 merks annual rent from the lands 
of Bar, and an altar dedicated to St Peter. 
There was also in this parish a chapel 
dedicated to All Saints. [Reg. Mag. Sig., 
iv, 1674.] 

JOHN PORTERFIELD, pres. to 
vicarage 29th April 1 568 on dem. of 
Sir Allan Porterfield. [Reg. Pres. 
Bene., i, 8.] 

GEORGE BOYD, pres. to vicarage 23rd 
March 1573 on dem. of John 
Porterfield. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 
(4), 17.] 

ALEXANDER CAMPBELL, pres. to 
1 _ 01 vicarage on death of George Boyd. 
~[P.S.Reg.,lxv,L] 

JOHN CAMPBELL BRYCE, his 

lfi , ft daugh., Elizabeth, died 19th March 
1830 



DAVID EVAN McNAB, his sons 
Richard Bein Hagart, died 10th Jan. 
1937; William Brown, vicar of 
Hadley, Shropshire, 1903-17, St Michael s, 
Shrewsbury, 1917-31, died at Shrewsbury 
28th Feb. 1936; Radstock Bein Hagart, 
town clerk, Cape Town, died 12th Aug. 
1938. 

WILLIAM ROSSIE BROWN, his 

widow, Mary Jane Fullarton, died 
5th Jan. 1937. 



1888 



DAVID DANIEL REES, his first wife, 
Grace Evelyn Emlyn Jones, died 
31st May 1921; marr. (2) 27th Feb. 
1924 Jessie Turner (died 13th Sept. 1935), 
daugh. of Capt. Hugh Wylie. He died 26th 



Jan. 1940. His daugh., Catherine Grace 
(marr. 12th Aug. 1931 William McCallum 
Clyde, M.A., Ph.D., lecturer in English, 
St Andrew s University). 

NEW ARDROSSAN 
JOHN DRENNAN Me CALL, his 
1854 w ^ ow Mar Y Williamson Black- 
wood, died 7th Feb. 1924; his son, 
David, died at Regina, Canada, 30th April 
1931; his daughs. Margaret Mary Wil 
liamson, died at Aberfeldy 19th Sept. 1930; 
Elizabeth Buchanan, died at Aberfeldy 15th 
Feb. 1937. 

ROBERT PAUL FAIRLIE, trans, to 
St Mary s, Dumfries, 14th Jan. 
1926. 



1917 



WILLIAM BODIN, born Kilmartin, 



1926 



Argyll, 7th March 1891, son of 



Hugh B. and Annie Hastie; educ. at 
Bellahouston and Albert Road Academies, 
Glasgow, and Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. 
(1916); licen. by Presb. of Glasgow Dec. 
1919; student assistant Govan, assistant 
Maxwell, Glasgow; ord. (A. and S.) New 
Cumnock 12th May 1920; trans, and adm. 
31st May 1926; trans, to St Luke s, Lochee, 
16th Oct. 1929; dem. 23rd March 1948. 
Marr. 8th June 1920 Elizabeth Patterson, 
daugh. of John Marr, Captain, Mercantile 
Marine, and Martha Seaton, and has issue 
Hugh Alexander Andrew, born 1 1th May 
1921, died 2nd Sept. 1944; Ian Marr, born 
26th Jan. 1924; Cyril William, born 10th 
Nov. 1926; David Seaton, born 10th April 
1936. 

NORTH CHURCH, SALTCOATS 

JOHN GAULD SMITH, ord. to Natal 
1 QT? by Presb. of Edinburgh 5th March 
1873 1877. 



228 



PRESS. OF IRVINE] NORTH CHURCH, SALTCOATS DALRY 



229 



JOHN CLARK, licen. 9th June 
1877 1875. 

JOHN ROBERT SPOTTISWOODE, 
1899 dem. 30th Nov. 1939. 

BEITH 

The Church of Beith was situated near 
Lochwinnoch, and from it "most of 
Beith" was distant three to four miles. 
Because of that and by reason of storms 
of weather and of deep and evell wayes 
adjacent thairto," Parliament passed an 
Act on 28th June 1633 for a new church 
and manse to be built in the middle of the 
parish, the old buildings to be applied to 
the use of the builders and for the pro 
vision of a new manse and glebe. On the 
site of the new church a chapel seems to 
have stood prior to 1 560. There was in the 
parish a chapel with burying-ground, dedi 
cated to St Bride. Near at hand was a well 
of the same name. There was also a chapel 
called Chapel of Trearne (Treehorn), in 
existence in the first quarter of the 13th 
century, to which belonged 2 acres of land 
on the south side of the chapel. [Acts 
Scott. ParL, v, 52, 161; Reg. Great Seal, v, 
341; vi, 207.] 

JOHN YOUNG, line 10, John Camp- 
1589 bell, his brother-in-law. 

PATRICK COLVILLE. [G. R. Sas., 
1645 2 Ser., 20th May 1655.] 

ANDREW BROWN, his daugh., Helen 
Mary, died at Dolgelly 10th Sept. 



1852 



1944 



CROSSHOUSE 



WILLIAM WHITE, born Dalgarven, 
1895 Kilwinning, 10th Jan. 1866, fourth 
son of Matthew W., grain merchant, 
miller and farmer, Partick and Kilwinning, 
and Marion Kennedy; educ. at Kilwinning 
Public School, Irvine Royal Academy, 
Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1887), B.D. 
(1889); studied at Tubingen and Berlin; 
licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 1890; assistant 
at Dunblane Cathedral and Motherwell; 
ord. 10th Jan. 1895; app. clerk of Presb. of 
Irvine and Kilmarnock 8th Oct. 1929; app. 

p* 



clerk of Synod of Ayr llth Oct. 1938; died 
Glasgow 29th Dec. 1943. Publications 
Addresses on the Future Life , Sermons on 
the Shepherd and the Sheep; Thoughts on 
Prayer for the Departed (1940). 

DALRY 

There were originally two churches in the 
parish, one on the east of the village, and 
the other on the west. The latter, situated 
"near to ground called the Old Glebe," 
appears to have been the parish church 
which was dedicated to St Margaret of 
Antioch. St Margaret s Fair was held in 
the parish on 31st July, St Margaret s Day, 
Old Style, when it was customary to kindle 
a bonfire, called a "tannel." Early in the 
17th century, apparently 1600-8, a single 
church was built to take the place of the 
two old churches. In 1771 a new church 
was built. It was repaired in 1821 and 
rebuilt 1871-3. Up to about the middle of 
the 1 8th century remains of the church to 
the east of the village still existed. [Cal. 
Papal Regs., Letters, ix, 144-5.] 

GEORGE HEPBURN, natural son of 
1565 Patrick Hepburn, Bishop of Moray, 
and grandson of Patrick Hepburn of 
Beynstoun; legitimised 4th Oct. 1545; 
rector here 20th Dec. 1567, when he was 
summoned for treason. [Acts Scott. ParL, 
in, 6; Reg. Great Seal, in, 3169; Scots 
Peerage, ii, 142-3.] 

ARCHIBALD CRAWFORD, min. of 

1574 Stevenston in charge here 1574-9. 

SYMON PRESTON, vicar. [Acts and 

1575 Dec., Ivii, 515.] 

GEORGE BOYD, designated vicar 16th 
1577 May 1577. [Edin. Tests., ix, 265.] 

ARCHIBALD BLACKBURN, M.A., 

pres. to vicarage 2nd Sept. 1593 on 
death of Archibald Crawford. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixv, 253.] 

MATTHEW HAMILTON, M.A., pres. 

1602 to P arsona g e anc * vicarage 12th 

March 1 602 on trans, of Archibald 

Blackburne, but apparently not found 

qualified. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxii, 273.] 



230 



DALRY DUNLOP 



[PRESB. OF 



WILLIAM DUNLOP, M.A., one of the 



1602 



regents of the College of Glasgow, 
pres. to parsonage and vicarage 
22nd May 1602, vacant by non-qualifica 
tion of the person lawfully provided and 
the lawful transport, of Archibald Black- 
burne. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiii, 12.] 

JOHN CUNNINGHAM. [G. R. Sas., 
1604 xxxvi, 235; xiii, 267; 2 Ser. viii, 40.] 

ANDREW BALD THOMSON, dem. 



1916 



16th March 1933; died 21st May 
1934; his daugh., Jessie, born 4th 
Oct. 1919. 



WEST DALRY (Q.S.) 

JAMES JOHNSTON, educ. Gracehill 

Academy, Methodist College, 

Queen s College and Assembly s 

College, Belfast; assistant Lissura, Co. 

Down, and St Enoch s, Belfast; died 22nd 

July 1943. Addl. issue Noel, born 25th 

Dec. 1916, died 3rd Jan, 1917; James 

Hastings Chambers, born 18th Jan. 1918, 

died 26th May 1942. 

(United with St Andrew s, Dairy, 30th 
Dec. 1945.) 



DARVEL 

JOHN WATSON JACK, died 16th 
1889 March 1937. 

DREGHORN 

GAVIN NAYSMITH, pres. to vicarage 
28th Nov. 1572 on death of Andrew 
Laing. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, (4), 2; 
Cal. of Charters, xii, 2697.] 



1567 



WILLIAM FULLARTON, M.A., pres. 
to vicarage 15th Sept. 1589, on 
death of Gavin Naysmith. [Reg. 
Sec. Sig., Ix, 57.] 

WILLIAM LINDSAY, his father, mer 
chant burgess of Glasgow; pres. by 
Lord Kilmarnock 10th Aug. 1620; 

banished to Hamarade Kirk, Ireland. 

Marr. Elizabeth, not Margaret, and had 

issue James, matric. Glasgow Univ. 1643. 

[G. R. Sas., xlii, 346.] 



1621 



1695 



JAMES STEWART, line 4, for "1688" 
1687 read "before 30th Aug. 1687." 

ALEXANDER CUNNINGHAME, his 

son, Alexander, apprenticed to 
James Ogstoun, bookseller, Edin 
burgh, 2nd Dec. 1713. 

WILLIAM JAMES JAMIESON, marr. 

1914 28th June 1927 Martha, daugh. of 

David Walker and Margaret Latta. 

PIERSTON 

ROBERT BARCLAY, vicar 1577-90. 
1577 [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.] 

DUNLOP 

The church was rebuilt about 1766, and 
again in 1835, being opened in December 
of that year. The Chapel of the Virgin 
Mary was situated at Chapelton, about 
i mile distant from the village. The writer 
of the Old Statistical Account suggests that 
the chapel was really the pre-Reformation 
church of the parish, and that later its place 
was taken by a church on the present site. 

JOHN HOUSTON, vicar 1560. [Reg. 
Abbrev. Feu Charters of Church 



1560 



Lands, i, 67.] 



HANS HAMILTON, pres. to the 



1563 



vicarage 16th Dec. 1569 in succes 
sion to Mr John Hamilton; he was 
the great-grandfather of William Carstares, 
Principal of Edinburgh Univ., and of 
William Dunlop, Principal of Glasgow 
Univ., whose mother was Elizabeth Mure, 
daugh. of William Mure of Glanderston, 
by his wife, Jean, daugh. of Hans Hamilton. 
In the south-east corner of the churchyard 
there is a marble monument in memory of 
Hans H. and his wife. Erected by their son 
John, Viscount Clanderboyes, in the 
peerage of Ireland, it consists of a vaulted 
chamber under which they are buried, and 
is called the "Picture-House." His son, 
Patrick, min. of Innerwick. [Reg. Pres. 
to Benefs., i, 33.] 

JOHN HAMILTON, M.A., may be 

identical with John Hamilton, 



1569 



reader and exhorter in 1567; in any 



case he was vicar, and he died before 16th 



IRVINE] 



DUNLOP HURLFORD 



231 



Dec. 1569, when he was succeeded in the 
vicarage by Hans Hamilton. [Reg. Pres. 
to Benefs., i, 33.] 

ARCHIBALD BETOUN, servitor of 



1566 



the Sovereign s Privy Chamber, 



received on 9th Feb. 1566-7 a Royal 
Letter of Presentation to the vicarage 
vacant by the death of John Houston; it is 
doubtful if the presentation took effect. 
[Reg. Sec. Seal, xxxvi, 8.] 

JAMES MONTGOMERY, his widow, 



1607 



Elizabeth Montgomerie, marr. (2) 
Robert Brown, town clerk of Irvine. 



HUGH EGLINTON, his son, George, 
1615 by first marriage. 

ROBERT BAIRD, his daugh., Helen 
t _, . (marr. Thomas McGowan of Smith- 

J. 7*54 \ 

ston). 

MATTHEW DICKIE, his daugh., Janet 
Barbour, died Edinburgh 3rd Dec. 



1834 



1925. 



ROBERT GRAHAM, his widow, 



1884 



Georgina Agnes Gunn, died 30th 
April 1925; his daugh., Margaretta 
Maria Lothian, died 24th Nov. 1921. 

JAMES SYMON, his widow, Mary 
1886 Wilson, died 4th Oct. 1921. 

JAMES McCARDEL, trans, to Shettle- 
1915 ston 5th June 1923. 

DAVID BROOK BAXTER, ord. 1st 
Nov - 1923; trans, to Largs 2nd Oct. 
1928. 

JOHN BAYNE, born Greenloaning, 



1929 



Perthshire, 16th Feb. 1892, son of 



Henry B., Denny, and Barbara 
Campbell Ferguson; educ. at Webster s 
Seminary, Kirriemuir, Forfar Academy and 
Univ. of St Andrews, M.A. (1915), B.D. 
(1920); war service 1916, joined Black 
Watch (R.H.), sergeant instructor; 1917, 
commissioned R.G.A.; active service with 
the Royal Siege Artillery in France, Bel 
gium and the Rhine; licen. by Presb. of 
Stirling 1920; assistant Tron and St An 
drews , Edinburgh; ord. to St Ninian s, 
Glasgow, 8th April 1924; trans, and adm. 



14th Feb. 1929; trans, to Bo ness 29th July 
1937. Marr. 9th April 1925 Euphemia 
Adam Bell, daugh. of William Shirran, 17 
Spottiswoode Street, Edinburgh, and has 
issue Ian Fergus, born 13th Jan. 1926, 
died 4th June 1930; Rosemary Agnes, born 
12th May 1931; Yvonne Barbara, born 31st 
June 1934. Publications Dunlop Parish , 
newspaper articles. 

FENWICK 

JOHN GEDDES CROSBIE, joined 
1829 Catholic- Apostolic Church, Lon 
don. 

ANDREW BURNS, dem. 1931; died 

188? 5th Feb. 1932; Mary Retson, his 

widow, died 4th Jan. 1939; his son, 

Andrew, doctor in London; his daugh., 

Agnes (marr. William Archibald, Lanark) 

FERGUSHILL 

WILLIAM MAC ALPINE, died 19th 



1880 



Dec. 1924; his daugh., Rose (marr. 



5th Oct. 1926 Philip, son of Philip 
William Lilley, min. of Trinity Church, 
Irvine). 

THOMAS BARR VALLANCE, trans. 

1925 ^ rom Creich, Fife (q.v.\ 16th May 

1925; trans, to Townhead, Glasgow, 

16th Jan. 1936. Issue James Alexander, 

born 26th June 1927. 

HURLFORD 

JAMES WILSON MUGGOCH, trans. 
1911 to Logic, Dundee, 13th Dec. 1922. 

JAMES WAUGH, B.D.; ord. 10th May 



1923 



1923; trans, to Glenmuick 26th Oct. 
1928. 



WILLIAM SERIGHT, born 20th Feb. 

1891, educ. Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. 

(1914); licen. by Presb. of Glasgow; 

assistant St George s in the Fields, Glasgow, 

1920; ord. to Milton, Glasgow, 27th June 

1922; trans, and adm. 28th Feb. 1929. 

Marr. 7th Nov. 1922 Margaret Thomson 

Ramsay, M.D., and has issue William, 

born 23rd Sept. 1923; Gavin Ramsay, born 

12th June 1928. 



232 



IRVINE KILBIRME 



[PRESB. OF 



IRVINE 

There were in the church an altar dedi 
cated to the Virgin Mary in the north aisle, 
an altar dedicated to St Catherine in the 
south aisle, an altar dedicated to St 
Nirhfrhrc. an altar ^Mmfffl to St Peter in 
the north aisle, between the Altar of the 
Virgin Mary on the north and the Altar of 
St Ninian on the south, and an altar dedi 
cated to St Michael, described 1 6th Nov. 
1446 as situated "in the new aisle of St 
Mary the 0911. * The Altar of St Ninian 
and St Katherine was founded by Mr 

William Cunningham of DimdonaJd on 1st 
March 1418-19. The Altar of St Salvator 
and St Thomas the Martyr was situated in 
the aisle described on 17th Nov. 1506 as 
" built by Rankine Brown (then alive), 
bui^ess of Irvine, in the na\ of the Church 
on the north side." The Altar of StConval, 
St Stephen the Martyr, and St Sebastian 
the Martyr was situated in the south aisle. 
At the Altar of St John the Baptist, St 
rvfofrfliin* the Martyr, and St Ninian the 
Pontiff, aituated in the nave of die church, 
a jHPiBJw 1 AfjMmSm was fcAMi on 4th 
Oct. 1540 by Alexander Scott, Provost of 
Corstorphine fMh^paia. Church. {Monu 
ments of the Burgh of Irvine, i, Pref. xxxiv-v, 
125, 136, 145, 149, 158, 161, 166, 198, 199, 



WILLIAM MCKNIGHT, marr. 



THOMAS ANDREW, reader 1569. 
IConats. Sub CoU. of Thirds, Stirling, 
etc.] 

WILLIAM STRANG, marr. 17th May 
1575 Agnes, daugh. of George 






WILLIAM ANDREW, vicar 31st July 
ISM 1584. [Keg. Sec, Sg^ 1, 169.] 



ALEXANDER SCBDiGBOUft, 

to vicarage 6th March 1591 on death 
of WiliBBi FrilBiiiBi; marr. Jean 
Hunter, *idow of WffliamCimningham of 
Wnndhrad, and had iiinii flinji, Jean; 
ManiHl [Bin, Tn Tjj.. btii, 8; Ayr Sas~ 
3rd April 1602, 28th Dec. 1599, 21st Dec. 

V5 ; 



JOHN STIRLING, h 
1676 Forbes, buried 24tn Aug. 1687. 



1-09 



Agnes Cunningham and had issue 



James, born 8th Aug. 1714; John. 
born 9th Sept. 1717. 

CHARLES BANNATYNE, his daugh., 
Jean, died at Kilmarnock 24th Dec. 
1789. 



HENRY RANKIN. 
31st Aug. 1937 
Martin, died at C 
24th June 1929. 



1891 



c:ec 
telen 



1929 



ALEXANDER MACARA, bora 15th 
Oct. 1900, son of Alexander M., 
min. of Denny; educ. at Denny and 
Stirling High School, Univ. Glasgow, M. A. ; 
been, by Presb. of Stirling April 1927; 
assistant ShffV*^: ord. A. and S. 20th 
Sept. 1928. Marr. 16th April 1929 Mama 
Wiseman, younger daugh. of James Mao- 
kay, Huriti^ "^maiKfiiff^ and nas issue^ 
Alexander Wiseman, born 4th May 1932; 
Ann Elizabeth, born 18th Oct. 1936. 



KILBIRNTE 



JAME 
1565 



phine, vicar by Royal Letters on or 
before 4th April 1565. [Keg. Sec. 
ig~, xxxiii, 32.] 

ARCHIBALD HAMILTON, designated 
rector of Kilbirnie 1567 and on 3rd 
Jury 1572. [Privy Council Reg., ii, 
155; Col. of Charters, x, 2332.] 

ROBERT CRAWFORD, pres, to 
vicarage 9th Sept. 1571 on forfeiture 
of Aidnanald HaHMMun IJBry Ires. 
i, (3X L] 



156" 



15-1 



JOHN HE RIOT, pres. to pirannigr 7th 
Aug. 1581 on death of Alexander, 
CommendatoT of Kirwimring. 



MALCOLM HAMILTON, marr. Mar 
garet Wflkie. Mir Soi., 28th June 
1604 and 29th Jan. 1607.] 

JOHN GLASGOW, tine 14, for "344** 
read "354." 



^ -.-- 

1723 (marr. 7th Jan. 1756). 



IRVINE] 



KILBIRNIE KILMARNOCK, ST MARNOCH S 



233 



HENRY RITCHIE BUCHAN, his 



1886 



widow, Jessie Blackwood Orr, died 
22nd Jan. 1942. 



HUGH CLARKE McCOLL, trans, to 



1918 



St Matthew s, Dundee, 9th Oct. 
1924. 



COLIN CECIL PITCAIRN HILL, 



1925 



formerly Indian Chaplain (q.v.); 

adm. 12th March 1925. Marr. (2) 
5th Oct. 1927, Rosamund Annie, daugh. of 
Frederick Roome Lumsden, schoolmaster, 
Newburn, Fife, and has issue Frederick 
Charles, born 17th Nov. 1930; Cecilia Rose, 
born 18th Jan. 1932. His son, Acting 
Flight Lieut. James Anderson, D.F.C., 
D.S.O., killed in action Sept. 1940. 



KILMARNOCK LAIGH 

FIRST CHARGE 

ROBERT HAMILTON, vicar. [Acts 
1564 and Dec., xxxii, 147.] 

ROBERT WILKIE, min. 1574, pres. to 



1580 



parsonage and vicarage 7th Aug. 



1591 on death of Alexander, Com- 
mendator of Kilwinning. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Ixii, 146.] 

WILLIAM WHITEFORD, M.A., re- 
1608 gent of the College of Glasgow 
when pres. to parsonage and vicar 
age 1608. [Reg. Sec. Sig., liv, 150.] 

MICHAEL WALLACE, M.A. (Glas- 
& ow 1601), regent, Univ. of Glasgow 
1601. 

FRANCIS FINLAYSON, studied arts 
1699 at Glasgow Univ., matric, 1692. 

JAMES BUCHANAN HAMILTON, 

1843 his daugh., Mary Anne Dunlop, 

died at Helensburgh 19th Sept. 1930. 

WILLIAM DUNNETT, retired 1923, 
1881 died 18th Feb. 1928; his widow, Jane 
Inglis, died 29th Jan. 1938; his sons 
Sir James McDonald, K.C.I.E., Indian 
Civil Service, retired 1936; George Victor, 
adm. to Flisk 1937; Hamilton David 
Forrester, trans, to Ellon 1923; Arthur 



Henry, secretary to the Home Board; his 
daugh., Charlotte Inglis, head of School of 
Domestic Science, Aberdeen, died 18th 
Oct. 1933. 

JOHN HENRY DUNCAN, trans. A. 

Q1 and S. from St Madoes (q.v.} 19th 

July 1923; trans, to St Mary s, 

Dundee (C. and S.), 17th May 1937; D.D. 

(St Andrews, 30th June 1944). Addl. issue 

Kenneth Playfair, born 1924. Publica 

tion Sermons on Messages from Scots 

(Angus and Robertson, Sydney, N.S.W.). 

SECOND CHARGE 

GEORGE PEDEN, his son, George, 
1711 born 1716, died at Paisley 13th 
March 1789. 

DAVID PORTER HOWIE, trans, to 

1916 First Char e 5th Ma y 1938 has 

issue Jean Daveena Ogilvy, born 
28th Jan. 1925. 

KILMARNOCK HIGH 

DAVID CRAWFORD WATSON, 
1915 trans, to Lenzie 19th Jan. 1926. 



1927 



DAVID NORMAN MASSON, trans. 

fr m SIains (?- v -) 23rd June 1927> 
Addl. issue Norman Guthrie, born 

5th Aug. 1928; William David, born 26th 
Sept. 1931. 

KILMARNOCK, ST ANDREWS 

JAMES LINDSAY, died 25th March 
1RR _ 1923; his widow, Margaret Dykes 
Cook, died 14th June 1942. 

KILMARNOCK, ST MARNOCH S 

JOHN THOMSON, his widow, Agnes 
1863 S. Nisbet, died 12th July 1938. 

WILLIAM JAMES SMITH, trans, to 
1912 Bo ness 1st Sept. 1925. 

ROLLO RUSSELL GRANT SUTHER- 



1926 



LAND, formerly of Ballantrae (<?.v.); 



trans, from Skelmorlie 18th Feb. 
1926; dem. 16th Dec. 1929 on admission 
to Queen s Road, Brighton; dem. 1941; 



234 



KILMARNOCK, ST MARNOCH S LOUDOUN [PRESB. OF 



chaplain to Forces; adm. to Guernsey 1946. 
Addl. issue Ian Douglas, born 2nd Jan. 
1920. His marr. with Helen J. T. Laurie 
dissolved by Court of Session 25th Nov. 
1933; marr. (2) 18th Dec. 1933, Jessie 
Morton. 

KILMAURS 

Prebends of the collegiate church in 
cluded Cherickeheuch, Bellahill, and Fluris 
and Bankhead. On 13th July 1670 Parlia 
ment granted to Sir John Cunningham of 
Lambrochtoun the vacant stipend for one 
year for repair of the church and manse, 
** ruinous through the carelessness of the 
incumbent and the vacancy. [Reg. Mag. 
Sig., iv, 2221; Acts, of Part., viii, 23-4.] 

JOHN HERVY, vicar 1568-9. [Comps. 
1568 Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 

JOHN COLWYN, parson 1569. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 
etc.] 



1569 



DAVID HENDERSON, pres. on depr. 
of his father Alexander H.; his son, 
Frederick, M.A. (Glasgow 1647). 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixx, 6.] 



1598 



WILLIAM CROOKES, marr. cont. 28th 
April 1660 Anna, daugh. of Henry 
Kelso, bailie in Largs. [Baill. Cun 
ningham, Deeds, llth Aug. 1680.] 



1641 



GEORGE BROWN, his wife was widow 
of Archibald Menzies of Culdares. 



1685 



[Deeds Mack., 1705, No. 398.] 



JOHN ROXBURGH, born 14th Dec. 
1806 1780; his mother, Margaret Wilson. 



1858 



ALEXANDER INGLIS, his sons- 
James Macfarlane, died 15th July 
1937; Daniel Macfarlane, a leading 
churchman and Chairman of the General 
Trustees of Church of Scotland, died 3rd 
Oct. 1944. 



1903 



JOHN KNOX THOMSON, severely 
wounded in action 1917. Addl. 
issue Marion Forrest, born 10th 
Oct. 1919 (marr. 8th March 1946 Flying 
Officer I. E. W. Stewart, Gifford). 



KIL WINNING 

Wynnen, the Welsh form of Finnan, a 
diminutive of the name of Findbarr of 
Mayville, whose death is recorded in 579. 
At Eglinton there was a Chapel of Reviseyn. 
[Re tours, xxvii.] 

WILLIAM KIRKPATRICK, had also 



1567 



issue Marion. [Edin. Tests, ix, 
265.] 



WILLIAM LEE KER, his widow, Janet 



1866 



1903 



Caldwell, died 28th Nov. 1923; his 
sons James Campbell C.I.E. (1924), 

C.S.I. (1928), Indian Civil Service, ret. 

1930, M.P. West Stirlingshire 1931-5; 

Findlay Caldwell, died 27th Oct. 1942. 

ARCHIBALD HUNTER, died 23rd Nov. 
1945; his son, Archibald McBride, 
B.D., Ph.D., min. of Old Comrie 
1934-7, Yates Professor of New Testament, 
Mansfield College, Oxford, min. of Kinnoul 
4th Dec. 1942, Professor of Biblical Criti 
cism, Aberdeen, 1945; his daughs. Crissie 
Swan (marr. 1933 James Nairn Young, 
bank agent, Ballantrae); Janet Winning 
(marr. 1934 Harry Whyte, accountant, 
Commercial Bank, Ayr). 



LOUDOUN 

RANKIN DAVIDSON, exhorter, one 
of the readers approved by the 
General Assembly 20th Dec. 1560, 
afterwards min. at Galston (q.v.). 

ROBERT WILKIE, trans, from Cupar 
1574 Fife about 1573. 

JOHN CAMPBELL, issue by 1st mar- 



1567 



1685 



riage Jean; Elizabeth. Marr. (2) 
Anne Bannatyne and had issue 

William; James; Isobel; Margaret; Anne; 

Maryanna; Dorothy. [Deeds Mack., 115, 

3rd Nov. 1714]. 

ARCHIBALD LAWRIE, marr. Anne, 



1793 



daugh. of James McKittrick Adair 
of the family of Maryport; his 

daugh., Frances Wallace (marr. 7th Sept. 

1826 Thomas Carlyle, advocate). 



IRVINE] 



LOUDOUN WEST KILBRIDE 



235 



HAMILTON MOORE, died 16th Aug. 
1927; his father min. of Elmwood 
Church, Belfast; his widow, Anne 
Kinnear Stephen, died 19th Jan. 1940. 



1928 



JOHN GARDNER MACLEOD 
THOMSON, born Chapelton, 
Lanarkshire, 2nd June 1902, son of 
William T., min. of Chapelton, and Helen 
Macleod; educ. Chapelton, Hamilton Aca 
demy, Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1922), 
B.D. (1927), Ed.B. (1935); trained as 
teacher, Jordanhill College 1923; licen. by 
Presb. of Hamilton 1927; assistant Avon- 
dale; ord. 15th Dec. 1927; dem. 30th Dec. 
1939. App. Director of Religious Educa 
tion at St Andrews, Dundee Training Col 
lege, May 1939. Marr. 26th June 1929 
Helen Craig, youngest daugh. of Alexander 
Torrance, Crookedstone, Quarter, and has 
issue William Paterson Loudoun, born 
9th May 1933; Elizabeth Helen Torrance, 
born 5th June 1936. 



STEVENSTON 

JAMES WALKER, M.A., vicar and 



1562 



1569 



min., 1 562, also in charge of Inm s- 
cailleoch. [Comps. Gen. Coll. of 
Thirds.} 

ARCHIBALD CRAWFORD, M.A., 

pres. in 1569 on death of James 
Walker, and to parsonage on death 
of Alexander, Commendator of Kilwin- 
ning; had Dairy also in charge 1579. [Reg. 
Pres. Bene., i, 27; Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixii, 155.] 

1641 JOHN BELL. [G. R. Sas., xv, 217.] 
ROBERT STIRLING, his son, John, 



1689 



min. of Ballyhelly 1699-1752 (see 
Ireland). 



ROBERT JOSEPH KYD, delete lines 1 
1886 and 2; died 3rd May 1921. 

ALEXANDER MACDONALD, trans, 
from Glassary (q.v.) 28th Sept. 1921 ; 
trans, to Alloa 22nd June 1927. 



1921 



JOHN GEDDES RITCHIE, trans, from 
1927 Drainie (q.v.) 24th Nov. 1927. 



1576 



STEWARTON 

THOMAS HAMILTON, M.A., brother 
of John Hamilton of Stanehouse; 
vicar 7th July 1 566, and still in office 
16th Feb. 1578-9. [Reg. of Deeds, vii, 
298; Reg. Great Seal, iv, 2839; Cal. of 
Charters, xi, 2446.] 

ROBERT MONTGOMERY, his daugh. 
Katherine. [Ayr Sas., 23rd July 
1601, 30th Nov. 1606.] 



1589 



JAMES MONTGOMERY, M.A., son 



1600 



of Neil M. of Langschaw, pres. 18th 
June 1600 on dep. of Robert Mont 
gomery.^^. Sec. Sig., Ixxi, 228.] 



WILLIAM CASTLELAW, had issue 



1645 



by second marriage with Marion 
Geddes John; Thomas; Eupham; 

Elizabeth and Ann. [Reg. of Deeds, 

Mack., xviii, 29th July 1665.] 

JAMES CORNWALL BRYCE, his 
widow, Eliz. C. Brown, died 29th 
Nov. 1925. 



1879 



WILLIAM FALCONER OGILVIE, 



1908 



died 6th June 1939; his daugh., 



Lorna Falconer (marr. 26th Dec. 
1941 Alexander Stewart Borrowman, min. 
of Torthorwald). 

WEST KILBRIDE 

By Charter of 5th June 1509 John, 1st 
Lord Semple, for the souls of the King and 
Queen, his own soul, and the soul of his 
wife, Margaret Creichton, granted to a 
chaplain to celebrate perpetually in the 
Chapel of St Anand to be built by him 
within the cemetry of said chapel within 
the domicile lands of Suthennane, an 
annual rent of 10 merks from the lands of 
Mekle and Little Kyll-niskan, and two 
"soums" of grass in the pasture of the 
lands of Suthennane, with an acre of land 
on the north side of the said cemetry for 
building a chaplain s manse. The chapel 
was erected before 13th May 1510. [Reg. 
Great Seal, ii, 3354; Reg. Sec. Seal, i, 
2066.] 



236 



WEST KILBRIDE 



[PRESB. OF IRVINE 



1594 



SIR JOHN MAXWELL, exhorter 1567 
_._ and 1568. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 

JOHN HARPER, pres. in 1601 to 
vicarage on death of Archibald 
Crawford, parson of Eaglesham and 
last vicar here; line 9, for "Mary" read 
"Margaret." [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxii, 180.] 

GILBERT HAMILTON of Braehead of 
Raploch, died Sept. 1672; marr. 
Margaret Baillie and had issue 

William of Braehead; James in Glasfoird. 

[House of Hamilton, 180; Gen. Reg. Sas., 

2 Sen, xiv, 52, 9th Oct. 1657.] 

THOMAS FINDLAY, his daugh., Isa- 



1832 



bella Donaldson of Warriston, died 
19th Sept. 1935, aged 99. 



ANDREW FORRET SCOTT PEAR- 
SON, F.R. Hist. Socy. (1922); 
D.Litt. (Glasgow 1927); dem. 30th 
Sept. 1929 on appointment as Professor of 
Church History, Presbyterian College, 
Montreal; adm. to High Church, Johnston, 
16th May 1934; app. Professor of Church 
History, Presbyterian College, Belfast, June 
1942. Addl. issue Muriel Paxton Corbett, 
born 6th Jan. 1922; Doris Nancy Forrest, 
born 25th April 1926. Publications 
Thomas Cartwright and Elizabethan Puri 
tanism (Cambridge Univ. Press, 1925); 
conducted correspondence column in the 
Scots Observer, 1928-9; Church and State: 
Political Aspects of 1 6th Century Puritanism 
(Cambridge Univ. Press, 1928); introduc 
tory essay on Die Puritanische Bewegung in 
volume of Ekklesia, published at Zurich, 
on British Free Church (1937). 



PRESBYTERY OF PAISLEY 



BARRHEAD 

JOHN CHARLES CONN, trans, to 
1914 



Elgin, Second Charge, 10th May 
1922. 



GEORGE MURRAY DAVIDSON 
SHORT, adm. from Benholm 
(q.v.) 20th Sept. 1922; dem. on app. 
as Indian Chaplain 17th Nov. 1924. 



1922 



THOMAS CROMBIE, born 4th March 



1925 



1900, son of Robert C. and Mag 
dalen Hodge Lyall; educ. at Hutche- 
son s Grammar School and Univ. of 
Glasgow, M.A. (1920), B.D. (1925); licen. 
by Presb. of Hamilton 1923; assistant Air- 
drie, Barony 1924; ord. 1st May 1925; 
trans, to St Andrews, Glasgow, 22nd Sept. 
1930. Marr. 15th Sept. 1926 Elizabeth 
Guthrie, daugh. of Alexander Thomson 
and Sarah McFarlane, and has issue 
Morag McFarlane, born 18th Sept. 1934. 
Publications Short History of the Parish 
Church of Barrhead , Training the Citizens 
of To-morrow. 

BRIDGE of WEIR 

ALEXANDER MASON SHAND, dem. 
30th Nov. 1939; died at Aberdeen 
24th Jan. 1949. 



1899 



CALDWELL 

DAVID STEWART, dem. 14th Dec. 
18 1925; died 25th Sept. 1931; his wife, 
Jane Kidney, died 19th Dec. 1930. 



1926 



JOHN FAITHFUL IRVINE FORTES- 
CUE, born 6th June 1883, second 
son of William Archer Irvine F. of 
Kincausie and Swanbister, M.B., C.M., 
and Edith Virginia, daugh. of John Robert 
Duguid of Gibraltar; educ. at Grammar 



School, Aberdeen, univs. of Edinburgh and 
Aberdeen; in mercantile business; ord. to 
Congregational Church, Oban, 18th July 
1920; trans, to Thurso 16th Oct. 1921 ; dem. 
18th Dec. 1923; assistant East Church, 
Aberdeen; held commission in A.S.C. 
during war; adm. on probation by General 
Assembly 22nd May 1924; licen. by Presb. 
of Aberdeen 30th June 1925; ord. 12th 
April 1926. Marr. 14th April 1917 Annie, 
daugh. of Joseph Brockhurst Souter, and 
had issue Edith Caroline, born 28th May 
1921; Francis John, born 10th Oct. 1926, 
died 15th Jan. 1929; Hugh William, born 
14th Sept. 1930. 



CARDONALD 

WILLIAM ALEXANDER LISTON, 

Vic \u\r\f\\tj "PatrirM a M^i 

1889 



his widow, Patricia Napier, died 
29th Aug. 1947, aged 100. 



1915 



DUNCAN FINLAY McLEAN, trans, 
to St Paul s, Fairlie; dem. 10th Jan. 
1945. 



EASTWOOD 

St Convallus, the patron saint, a disciple 
of St Mungo, is said to be buried at 
Inchinnan. In the church there were altars 
as follows: Virgin Mary, Gwallis, Holy 
Rood, St Ninian. At the manse there is a 
stone with this inscription in Old English 
letters: Ecclesiae Dei construendum cura- 
vit Thomas Jackaeus 1577." Evidently the 
manse had been rebuilt then under the 
ministry of Thomas Jack. [The Maxwells 
of Pollock, i, 119, 120n, 251; Celtic Place 
Names, 193.] 



JOHN CARNESS, exhorter, 1563. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 
etc.] 



1563 



237 



238 



EASTWOOD GIFFNOCK 



[PRESB. OF 



JAMES CARRUTHERS, exhorter, 
1567-8. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
567 Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 



SIR WILLIAM BANE, vicar, 20th July 



1568 



1568, died before Sept. 1570. [Reg. 
Mag. Sig., iv, 2411.] 



THOMAS KNOX, reader and exhorter 
in 1569 and 1573. [Comps. Gen. 



1569 



Coll. of Thirds.] 



THOMAS JACK, pres. on death of Sir 
William Bane. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 



1570 



i, (2), 2.] 



JOHN GIBSON, Henry, his nephew. 
1599 [Gen. Reg. ofSas., xii, 158.] 

WILLIAM WALLACE, graduated 
1606 1595, not 1599. 

HUGH SMITH, marr. Elizabeth Col- 



1652 



quhoun, who survived him. [Deeds 
Dal., 1706, No. 561.] 



1703 



ROBERT WODROW, marr. 15th Nov. 
1 708 and had issue Mary, born 26th 
Sept. 1709; James, born 18th Oct. 
1710; Robert, born 21st Dec. 1711; Patrick, 
born 8th March 1713; Ebenezer, born 12th 
May 1714; Alexander, born 20th Nov. 
1715; Margaret, born 24th Feb. 1717; 
William, born 20th April 1718; Marion, 
born 21st Sept. 1719; Janet, born 24th 
March 1721; John, born 30th May 1723; 
Lilias, born 28th Oct. 1724; Martha, born 
22nd Sept. 1726; William, born llth Jan. 
1729; James, born 21st March 1730; 
Alexander, born 20th Sept. 1731. There 
are seven volumes of his in MS. in Church 
of Scotland Library. 

GEORGE CAMPBELL, his daugh., 

Edith Graham (marr. Maxwell 

James Wright, min. of St Ninian s, 

Aberdeen); his sons John Maxwell, died 

at Manchester 29th Jan. 1942; George 

Graham, died 22nd Jan. 1944; his daugh., 

Alice Mary, died 13th Nov. 1948. 



FREDERICK DAVID LANGLANDS, 
19Q9 trans, to Galashiels 30th June 1925; 
his son, Frederick Peters, born 4th 
April 1914, died 30th July 1915. 

WILLIAM SUTHERLAND, M.A., 
1926 B.D., born 1891; served in war 1914, 
M.C.; licen. by Presb. of Caithness 
1914; assistant St Stephen s, Edinburgh; 
ord. to New Abbey 9th April 1920; trans, 
and adm. 8th Jan. 1926; died at Glasgow 
21st July 1929. 

ELDERSLIE 

JOHN MEIKLE GRAY, ord. 4th May 



1920 



1920; dem. on appointment to St 
Andrew s, British Guiana (q.v.\ 
16th May 1923. 

WILLIAM WILSON MORRELL, ord. 
1 7th Sept . 1 923 ; trans . to Battlefield, 
Glasgow, 7th July 1927. 

WILLIAM POLLOK MORRISON, 

born Glasgow, 24th Feb. 1885; son 
of John M., ironworker manager, 
Maryhill, Glasgow, and Janet Pollok; educ. 
at Royal Technical College, Glasgow; 
Baptist Theological College; Univ. of Glas 
gow and Edinburgh 1926-7; served in war 
as Engineer Inspector, Tank Department 
of Mechanical Warfare; ord. to Baptist 
Church, Lochee, Oct. 1912; trans, to 
Kelvinside, Glasgow, 1915; trans, to 
Grantown-on-Spey 1920; adm. on proba 
tion as licentiate by General Assembly 3rd 
June 1926; assistant St Stephen s, Edin 
burgh, 1926; ord. 27th Sept. 1927; trans, 
to Stair 15th April 1942. Marr. 26th June 
1916 Margaret, daugh. of Thomas Somer- 
ville, builder, Prestwick, Ayrshire, and has 
issue Fairlie Pollok, born 26th July 1917. 



GIFFNOCK 

ALBERT McCLUGGAGE, died 7th 
Aug. 1921; was for ten years min. 
of York Street Congregational 
Church, Dublin; chairman of Congrega 
tional Union of Ireland. 



PAISLEY] 



GIFFNOCK JOHNSTONE 



239 



ERNEST ORMROD RODGER, trans, 
from Aberfoyle (<7.v.) 16th Feb. 
1922; dem. 9th Oct. 1948. 

GREENBANK 

JAMES FRASER, died 16th Feb. 
1883 1921. 

JAMES ARTHUR COWLEY, trans. 

2 from St Columba s, Oban (q.v.), 8th 
Sept. 1921; had addl. issue Ruth 
Margaret, born llth Jan. 1924 (marr. 9th 
Oct. 1947 Rev. William Bryce Johnston, 
B.D., C.F.); Joyce Katherine, born 20th 
May 1926. 

HOUSTON 

LAURENCE DUNCAN, reader, died 



1560 



1563. [Comps. Sub Coll of Thirds, 
Stirling, etc.] 



ROBERT ALLAN, app. reader 1563. 

1563 [ Corn P s - Sub Co11 - of Thirds, Stirling, 
etc.] 

ANDREW MARTIN, vicar 1571. 
1571 [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.] 

ROBERT CARRICK, marr. 13th Jan. 
1724 Margaret, daugh. of John 



1?20 



Paisley, min. of Lochwinnoch. 



GEORGE MUIR, died 27th June 1939; 
his son, George Bruce, in Civil 
Service, Malaya. 

HOWWOOD 

JOHN GILBERT, dem. 1 1th Nov. 1939, 



1887 
1946. 



died 14th Feb. 1946; his widow, 
Alice B. Guthrie, died 25th March 



KILLELLAN 

St Fillan seems to be identical with 
Faelan of Clurain Moesena in Meith, 
whose day was 9th Jan. [Watson s Celtic 
Place Names, 193.] 

ROBERT COOK, exhorter 1563, pres. 
1563 on death of Robert Maxwell. [Reg. 
Pres. Bene., i, (4), 11; Comps. Sub 
Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 



ROBERT MAXWELL, M.A., pres. on 
death of Robert Cook. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., 24th Jan. 1575.] 

JOHN MONTEATH, line 4, for 1754" 
1748 read "1759." 

INCHINNAN 

It may be that Inchinnan contains the 
name of (St) Finnan, Findbarr of Magh- 
bhile. St Convallus is said to be buried 
here. There was in the Place of Inchinann 
a chapel with an image of the Babe Jesus, 
of Our Lady and a great image with an 
image of St Anne. [Rep. Hist. MSS. Com., 
Hi, 394.] 

WILLIAM JACKSON, reader 1567 and 



1567 



1568. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Stirling, etc.] 



SIR BERNARD PEEBLES, vicar in 



1566 



1566, died after 27th July 1587. 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 
etc.; Reg. Sec. Sig., Iv, 153.] 

GABRIEL MAXWELL, pres. on dem. 
of Sir Bernard Peebles. [Reg. Pres. 



1580 



Bene., i, 40, 93.] 



THOMAS LAW, his eldest son, James, 
1626 M.A., Glasgow (1646). 

LAURENCE LOCKHART, his son, 
James Somerville, died 5th Jan. 
1922. 



1822 



FREDERICK ALEXANDER 



1919 



STEUART, died 2nd Nov. 1930; 
his widow, Marie Louise Dickenson, 
died 29th Aug. 1948. 

JOHNSTONE 

JOHN LENNOX HOWAT, trans, to 



1919 



Queen s Park, Glasgow, 9th Sept. 
1928. 



GAVIN KERR MACKAY, born 28th 

1929 Ju ^ y 18 ^ 1; S0n f Davic * M - master 
baker, and Elizabeth Dewar Brown, 

educ. at Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1913); 
licen. by Presb. of Glasgow May 1915; 
assistant St Michael s, Dumfries; ord. to 
Durisdeer 1st June 1920; trans, to Dalziel 



240 



JOHNSTONE KILBARCHAN 



[PRESB. OF 



24th June 1924; trans, and adm. 16th Feb. 
1929; trans, to Balshagray 16th Nov. 1933; 
C.F. 156th Scottish Infantry Brigade, 5th 
Cameronians. Marr. 6th July 1 920 Jeanette, 
daugh. of George Dunsmore and Elizabeth 
Kirkwood, Glasgow, and has issue 
Ronald Kirkwood, born 28th Aug. 1922, 
died 18th April 1923; Gavin Kirkwood 
Kerr, born 16th Nov. 1924. 

JOHNSTONE, ST ANDREW S 

ARCHIBALD HALLIDAY, his widow, 



1888 



Grace Beaumont, died 6th Aug. 
1933. 



WILLIAM PAUL MONTEATH, trans. 
1917 to Patna 14th Sept. 1927. 

JOHN WILLIAMSON, formerly of 
Rousay (<?.v.); trans, from Kirk- 
fieldbank 30th Jan. 1928; trans, to 
St James, Kirkcaldy, 30th Oct. 1928. 



1928 



COLIN MACPHERSON, born Skye 
1929 13th Oct. 1883, son of Archibald M., 
landholder, and Flora Macrae; educ. 
at Glasgow High School and Univ. of 
Glasgow, M.A. (1921); licen. by Presb. of 
Glasgow Jan. 1924; ord. to Glencoe 6th 
June 1924; trans, and adm. 3rd June 1929. 
Marr. 20th Nov. 1925 Jean Tennant 
Ramsay, daugh. of John McKail and 
Isabella Stevenson Forbes, and has issue 
Isobel Stevenson Forbes, born 17th Oct. 
1928. 

KILBARCHAN 

The Chapel of St Catherine in the church 
yard was founded in 1401 by Thomas 
Crawford of Auchenames. At the same 
time he founded in the church an altar 
dedicated to the Virgin Mary. For the sup 
port of a chaplain to serve both in the 
chapel and at the altar he gave Lynnernocht 
and other lands. At Ranfurly of Prieston 
farm, a little to the east of the castle, there 
was a Chapel of St Mary, founded by a 
member of the Knox family. St Bride s 
Chapel was situated at the village of Ken- 
muir in the south-west corner of the parish. 
On 12th Dec. 1564 David Coull, chaplain 
of the Chapel of St Katherine, conveyed 



the glebe and chapel lands of the chapel to 
John Chalmers, brother of James C. of 
Gadgirth. [Reg. Abbrev. Feu Charters of 
Church Lands, i, 10, 14; Origines Parochialis 
Scotiae, i, 84.] 

JOHN McQUEEN, vicar 1560 and 1569, 
156Q died after 24th April 1 575. [Comps. 
Gen. and Sub Coll. of Thirds, Dum 
fries, etc.; Reg. Mag. Sig., iv, 2070, 2412.] 

ADAM WATSON, exhorter and reader 



1563 



1563. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Stirling.] 



JOHN METHVEN, vicar, died before 
18th March 1512-3. [Reg. Pres. 



1572 



Bene., i, 91.] 



ALEXANDER CUNNINGHAM, 
. reader, pres. to vicarage 15th March 
1572-3; res. before 16th Nov. 1573. 
[Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 91, 143.] 

ROBERT CRAWFORD, reader, pres. 



1573 



to vicarage 16th Nov. 1573. [Cal. 



of Charters, xii, 2780; Reg. Pres. 
Bene., i, 143.] 



1585 



GAVIN HAMILTON, vicar 1585-90. 
Marr. Catherine Cumming, who 
died 20th June 1604, and had issue 
a son and three daughters. [Test., May 
1606; Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.] 

ROBERT STIRLING, had issue- 
Robert. [G. R. Sas., 3rd Sept. 



1593 



1618.] 



ROBERT JOHNSTON, his daugh., 
Anna (marr. 13th Nov. 1741 and 
died 7th Aug. 1786). 



ROBERT GRAHAM, D.D., his widow, 
Margaret Ann, daugh. of Archibald 
Glen, merchant, Glasgow, died 16th 
Jan. 1925. 



1847 



1895 



ROBERT DUNBAR MACKENZIE, 
D.D. (St Andrews 26th June 1925), 
died 27th July 1939; had addl. issue 
William Scott, born 15th Nov. 1920; 
Janet Elsie, born 26th Nov. 1932. 



PAISLEY] 



LEVERN LOCHWINNOCH 



241 



LEVERN 

THOMAS COOK, died 2nd Feb. 
1894 1940. 

( United with Nitshill 2\st April 1940.) 

LINWOOD 

JOHN ADAMSON ABERNETHY, 



1880 



1927 



dem. 15th Nov. 1926, died 3rd Aug. 

1936; his wife, Margaret Arniel 
Gray, died 31st March 1929; his daugh., 
Margaret, died 25th March 1926. 

ALEXANDER REAPER, trans, from 
Rayne (q.v.) 17th March 1927; trans, 
to Barony, Kirriemuir, llth July 
1935. Marr. 12th July 1927 Elizabeth 
Nicol Shepherd, M.A., daugh. of James 
Shepherd, farmer, and Susan Lamb, and 
has issue Isabel Shepherd, born 4th May 
1929. 

LOCHWINNOCH 

On 21st April 1504, John, 1st Lord 
Sempill, founded in his park near Castle 
Sempill, for his own soul, for the soul of 
Margaret Colville, his wife, and for the 
souls of his progenitors and successors, and 
all the faithful departed, the Collegiate 
Church of Lochwinnoch, to the Most High 
God and the Glorious Virgin, the Mother 
of Jesus Christ, for a provost, six chaplains, 
two singing boys, and a sacrist, the chap 
lains to include a clerk in Holy Orders, a 
precentor, and a schoolmaster. The pro 
vost was to wear on feast days a lawn 
surplice, a scarlet hood, and an almuce on 
the arm. The chaplains, the singing boys 
and the sacrist were each to wear a linen 
surplice at the daily service; and in addition 
the chaplains were to wear red hoods lined 
with black lamb s wool. The duties of the 
sacrist were to take charge of the porch, 
the copes, and the altar ornaments; array 
the altar itself; regulate the clock; ring the 
bell for the church services, with double 
ringing on feast days; sweep the church, 
and decorate it with leaves and flowers. 
General endowment of the church was the 
fruits and revenues of the Church of Glass- 
ford; and particular endowments were as 



follows: Provost, the teind sheaves of Glass- 
ford, extending to 45 lib. Scots, with the 
whole glebe except a piece of ground and 
the manse attached to the vicarage; First 
Chaplain, the teind sheaves of Nether 
Schelis, Schavtounhill, Ridrane, and the 
hill of Drumtall, and Gruderland, in the 
parish of Glassford, extending to 10 and 
8 merks Scots; Second Chaplain, the teind 
sheaves of the village of Chapelton and 
Nether Schavtoun, West Ridrane of Drum- 
bow, and de flat, extending to 10 and 8 
merks Scots; Third Chaplain, the fruits and 
emoluments of the parish clerkship of 
Lochwinnoch, extending to 10 and 8 merks 
Scots, the chaplain to provide for the sup 
port of the clerk; Fourth Chaplain, all the 
lands of Upper Pennale occupied by Archi 
bald Reid, and the place, dwelling, garden, 
and orchard, and 40 sh. of pension from 
East Bryntschellis and West Bryntschellis 
in the parish of Kilbarchan, extending to 
10 and 8 merks Scots; Fifth Chaplain, all 
and whole the lands of Nether Pennale, 
with the mill, extending to 20 and 4 merks, 
and the emoluments of the parish clerkship 
of Kilbarchan; he was to act as organist 
and in the singing school teach the boys in 
the Gregorian Chant plain or pointed; he 
was also to make provision for the support 
of the boys and of the parish clerk of Kil 
barchan; Sixth Chaplain, all the fields of 
Auchinlodmond, with the mill and mill 
lands, extending to 22 merks Scots; he 
must be learned in grammar and skilled in 
the Gregorian Chant plain or pointed, and 
instruct the boys in the first and second 
parts of grammar; Sacrist, the fruits, 
revenues, and emoluments of the parish 
clerkship of Glassford, extending to 6 merks 
Scots; he had to make provision for the 
support of the parish clerk of Glassford. 
There were granted also to the provost and 
chaplains 10 roods in Lochwinnoch Park 
for building manses and for gardens near 
the church; and for entertainment and 
fellowship, for bread, wine, and wax, 5 
merk lands of Easter Welland in the parish 
of Kilbarchan, and the lands formerly 
annexed by the founder s progenitors to 
St Brigit s Chapel in Kenmuir Village in 
the Parish of Kilbarchan, the lands which 



242 



LOCHWINNOCH PAISLEY 



[PRESB. OF 



pertained to the founder s chapel in Kil- 
barchan, and the lands annexed to the 
Chapel of St Conal in Paisley Parish, 
situated in the village of Ferans. [Reg. 
Epis. of Glasgow, ii, 505-16.] 

JOHN PAISLEY, son of Robert P., 



1691 



bailie of Paisley; his daugh., Mar 



garet (marr. Robert Carrick, min. 
of Houston). 

ROBERT ZUILLE GILFILLAN, his 

widow, Agnes Brodie Smith, died 



1873 



12th May 1933. 



WILLIAM SINCLAIR STEVENSON, 



1893 



his wife, Isabella Black, died 20th 



June 1943; he died at Edinburgh 
6th Aug. 1946. 

MEARNS 

In addition to the Altar of St Bridget, 
there was in the church an altar to the 
Virgin Mary. [Maxwells ofPollok, i, 251 .] 

JOHN HAMILTON, claimed vicarage. 
1563 [Acts and Dec., xxviii, 35.] 

WALTER STEWART, reader. [Acts 
1575 and Dec., Ivii, 491.] 

JAMES TAYLOR, his daugh., Helen 
1665 (marr. John Glen, min. of Stichell). 

JAMES McDOUGALL, his daugh., 



1691 



Katherine (marr. William Thomson, 
bailie of Irvine). 



MUNGO REID, died at Edinburgh 19th 
Jan. 1924; his widow, Isabella 



1868 

1927. 



Hamilton Pearson, died 28th Dec. 



1915 



DAVID SCOTT, served as Chaplain in 
France and Flanders with 15th 
Scottish Division; dem. 20th May 
1929 on app. to Knox Crescent Presby 
terian Church, Montreal; D.D. (St An 
drews, 29th June 1945). He had issue- 
Hew Ferguson, born 6th Oct. 1923; Charles 
Findlay, born 30th May 1926; Elspeth 
Patricia Mary, born 2nd July 1928. 



1560 



NEILSTON 

SIR STEVEN WILSON, vicar, probably 
in 1560 or soon thereafter; described 
4th March 1579-80 as "mass priest 
of Neilston mony years and rebel put to 
the horn for continual disobedience in 
abusing the sacraments, saying mass, and 
dissolving marriage at pleasure, and still 
in prison till his trial." [Reg. Privy 
Council, iii, 273.] 

JAMES DAVIDSON, reader, in office 



1578 



4th March 1579-80. [Reg. Privy 
Council, iii, 273.] 



JOHN LAW was son of Andrew L. by 



1632 



his second marriage. He had only 



one son, called William, the two 
sons of that name given were one and the 
same. He had a daugh., Margaret. 



1687 



JOHN KINNEAR, M.A., was resident 
with his wife and three children in 
Tron Parish, Edinburgh, on 9th 
Nov. 1694. [Tron Poll Tax Roll, 6.] 

JOHN MILLER, line 6, delete "of 
1703 Divinity. 



THOMAS MILLER, his sons Thomas 
of Auchenheath, died 18th April 
1935; Hugh, M.B., Ch.B., Dundee, 
died at Edinburgh 22nd July 1930. 



1873 



PAISLEY 

ARCHIBALD HAMILTON, Arch 
bishop of Cashel, M.A. (Glasgow 
1599); delete second marriage and 
read "marr. (2) Anna, daugh. of Balfour 
of Burleigh, and had issue John, matricu 
lated Univ. of Glasgow 1631; Malcolm, 
matriculated 1633. 

ALEXANDER DUNLOP, had also 
issue Elizabeth. [Reg. of Deeds, 



1653 



Dal., 1705, No. 378.] 



JAMES CHALMERS, marr. (1) pro. 
1st March 1660 Elspeth Petrie. 



1667 



[Aberdeen Reg.} 



MATTHEW RAMSAY, had issue 
John. [Reg. of Deeds Mack., xli, 
1669 562.] 



PAISLEY] 



PAISLEY 



243 



JOHN BAIRD, eldest son of John B. 

of Selvadge, burgess of Inverkeith- 

ing; had issue Margaret, born 

1689, died Nov. 1695; Janet. [Hist, of 

Inverkeithing and Rosyth, 476-8.] 

JOHN FULLARTON, marr. (3) Isobel 
Sinclair. [G. R. Sas., 3 Ser., xxviii, 
256; Sas. Argyll, lix, 36, 21st June 
1688.] 

THOMAS GENTLES, his widow, 
Cecilia Wernicke, died at Edinburgh 



1878 



5th Jan. 1922 aged 82. 



1910 



1925 



ALEXANDER MILLER MACLEAN, 

died 6th March 1925; his widow, 
Mary Brown, died 25th May 1931; 
his daugh., Alice Mary Jane, marr. (2) 4th 
July 1935 John McKellar Robertson of 
Noddesdale, Largs, Captain R.N.V.R., 
C.B.E. 

WILLIAM MAIN, D.D., trans, from 
Trinity, Edinburgh, llth Sept. 1925; 
died 15th Oct. 1929; his wife, Anne 
Macnaughton, died 22nd Dec. 1919. He 
had addl. issue John St John, born llth 
Aug. 1896, died 4th June 1897; Margaret 
Mary (marr. 2nd Nov. 1944 James Dunbar 
Michael, O.B.E., Indian State Railways). 

SECOND CHARGE 

JAMES STIRLING, brother of Robert 
S., student, Glasgow. Marr. Eliza 
beth, daugh. of John Lennox of 

Woodhead. [G. R. Sas., xv, 260, 15th 

Oct. 1658.] 

JAMES SMITH, youngest son of James 
S., weaver, Glasgow, adm. burgess 
of Glasgow 22nd Oct. 1806. 



1654 



1798 



PATRICK BREWSTER, his daugh., 
i Margaret Mary Crawford, died 30th 
July 1935. 

JAMES BOATH DALGETY, his 

widow, Jane Balfour, died 21st Feb. 



1878 



1924. 



JOHN WALLACE, his widow, Mabel 
Blanche Powell, died at Reading 
23rd Feb. 1945. 



1918 



ALEXANDER RUTHERFORD 
HOWELL, Senior President of 
Edinburgh University Dialectic 
Society 1894-5. Licen. 1895, he was first a 
reader and then an assistant in St Giles 
Cathedral; during the war (1914-18) he 
served for a time in France as General 
Superintendent of the Scottish Churches 
Huts. It was during his ministry in the 
abbey that the restoration of that church 
was completed, involving the entire re 
building of the choir and many other altera 
tions. Into this work Mr Howell threw 
himself with characteristic energy, and the 
exquisitely restored building owes much to 
his artistic genius and comprehensive know 
ledge of church architecture. The stately 
and appropriate form of service observed 
in the abbey is also largely his work. He 
resigned his charge in Paisley 13th April 
1937 owing to ill health and retired to St 
Andrews; died at Edinburgh 2nd Dec. 1943. 
In the wider work of the Church of Scot 
land Mr Howell took a considerable share. 
For a year he acted as Organising Secretary 
for the Foreign Mission Committee. At 
the invitation of the Colonial Committee 
he ministered for a period in 1907 at 
Homburg, and in 1927-8 at Cairo. He was 
on the Council of the Church Service 
Society and in 1935-6 was President of the 
Scottish Ecclesiological Society. Publica 
tions Paisley Abbey: its History, Architec 
ture and Art. To the devotional literature 
of the Church he contributed a book of 
Church Prayers for War-Time, which has 
had a large circulation. On artistic ques 
tions his judgment was fine and his advice 
greatly valued. On the Executive Com 
mittee of the Scoto-Russian Fellowship of 
St Andrew, a member of the Executive 
Committee for the Restoration of the 
Church of the Holy Rude, Stirling, and 
was convener for some years of the Cere 
monials Committee of the Presbytery of 
Paisley. An enthusiastic student of anti 
quity, he was a trustee of the Dalrymple 
Archaeological Fund. His sons Edward 
Alexander, in the R.A.F., O.B.E. and 
D.F.C.; David Logan, Navigator in a 
Bomber Squadron. The daughs. Anne 
served in the A.T.S. and Isabella in the 



244 



PAISLEY POLLOKSHAWS 



[PRESB. OF 



W.A.A.F. (marr. 3rd Sept. 1945 Flight 
Lieut. Leslie Shepherd, Sevenoaks). 

(Charges united 14th April 1937.) 

GREENLAW 

GEORGE NISBET DODS, died 14th 
1907 June 1921. 

JOHN CHAMBERS, M.B.E. Addl. 
issue Evelyn Robertson, born 5th 
Sept. 1916, died 3rd March 1917; 
Mary Manson, born 4th April 1918. 

HIGH KIRK PARISH 

JOHN MUIR, died at Glasgow 19th 
1910 Oct. 1947. 



ST GEORGE S 

ALEXANDER FYFE BURNS, his 
widow, Isabella Martin Ritchie, died 
10th Nov. 1931; line 19, for "Went- 
worth read Waitworth. 



1882 



MARTYRS 

JAMES THOMSON, trans, to Moch- 
1897 rum 21st July 1927. 

JAMES WILSON MUGGOCH, trans. 

from Logic, Dundee, 1 8th Jan. 1 928 ; 

trans, to Heriot 3rd Sept. 1936; his 
daughs. Helen Milne Lawson (marr. 21st 
Dec. 1939 James C. P. Logan, M.B., Ch.B.); 
Dr Edith Mary (marr. 5th July 1947 Dr 
John White, Airdrie). 

MOSSPARK 

GEORGE SCOTT, M.A., trans, from 



1923 



Meldrum (q.v.) 30th Sept. 1923; 

trans, to Holburn, Aberdeen, 24th 
March 1933; trans, to Langside Hill, Glas 
gow, 27th Sept. 1940. Marr. 19th April 
1927 Mary Cunningham, daugh. of Wil 
liam Clark Hamilton and Christina Mar 
tin Paterson, and has issue Christina 
Mary, born 9th June 1930. 

PAISLEY, MID. 

GEORGE PARK, died 30th May 
1882 1927. 



1924 



1926 



WILLIAM GEORGE JOHNSTON, 
trans, from Kirn (q.v.) 10th Dec. 
1924; dem. 31st May 1947. Addl. 
issue Margaret Helen Wotherspoon, born 
9th Feb. 1917; William James Simpson, 
born 13th Feb. 1921. 

PAISLEY, NORTH 

JAMES YOUNG, D.D. (Glasgow, 24th 
1883 June 1925), died 25th June 1925. 

JOHN REEVIE JOHNSTON MERRY, 

trans, from Calderhead (q.v.) 7th 
Jan. 1926; wife s mother s name, 
Jane Jamieson. He had issue Jane Hislop, 
born 22nd Sept. 1918; Janette Alexander, 
born 7th April 1920; John Leech Johnston, 
born llth Sept. 1926; William Adam John 
ston (twin), born llth Sept. 1926. 

PAISLEY, ST COLUMBAS 

DONALD MACKAY, his widow, 
n Catherine Morison, died at Stirling 
10th April 1925; his daugh., Jane 
Georgina, died 17th Jan. 1944. 

DAVID JOHNSTONE, his widow, 
1883 Janet Kennedy, died 26th Oct. 1929. 

JOHN McNIVEN, dem. 16th May 
1903 1928. 

GILLESPIE MACGREGOR CAMP- 



1928 

1946. 



BELL, trans, from Muckairn (#.v.) 
13th Nov. 1928; died 21st March 



1879 



PAISLEY, SOUTH 

WILLIAM MUSHAM METCALFE, 

his widow, Cecilia Simpson, died 



23rd Oct. 1928. 



1917 



FRANK HENDERSON, trans, to 
Sandyford, Glasgow, 16th May 
1930; dem. 11 Jan. 1938; died 27th 
June 1940. Addl. issue Henry David 
Christopher, born 13th April 1921; Alistair 
Lowson, born 26th Feb. 1929. 

POLLOKSHAWS 

ALEXANDER ROBERTSON WAT 
SON, marr. and had issue a son 



1845 



died in infancy 15th Oct. 1849. 



PAISLEY] 



POLLOKSHAWS THORNLIEBANK 



245 



JOHN MACFARLANE, dem. 30th 
Sept. 1927, on app. to Brussells; his 
wife, daugh. of George Barker. 

Addl. issue Margaret, born 12th Sept. 

1928. 

ARCHIBALD EWING MACINTYRE, 
1Q28 trans, from Innellan (#.v.) 7th March 
1928; trans, to Buittle 22nd April 
1948. 

RENFREW 

There were also in the church altars dedi 
cated respectively to the Virgin Mary, St 
Andrew, and St Bartholomew. To a per 
petual chaplain at the Altar of St Thomas 
in the church there was granted by Papal 
Bull of 20th May 1475 the Chapel of St 
Thomas the Martyr outwith and near the 
city of Glasgow. [Acts Scott. ParL, v, 
546; The Apostolic Camera and Scott. Bene 
fices, 181.] 

ANDREW HAY, called parson 21st 
May 1576. [Cal. of Charters, xi, 
2395.] 

ROBERT HERBERTSON, chaplain to 
1563 t ^ ie Chapel of St Ninian, Darnlie. 
[Reg. of Abbrev. of Feu Charters of 
Church Lands, i, 14.] 

WILLIAM JACKSON, reader Sept. 
1568 and 20th July 1569. [Edin. 
Tests, v, 310.] 

JOHN HAY, prts. to the parsonage 
and vicarage 30th May 1589 on 
dem. of his father; his son, George, 
student in arts at Glasgow 1628. 

JOHN HAY. [G. R. Sas., xli, 497, 
1628 3 Ser., x, 386.] 



FRANCIS ROSS, had issue Margaret , 
bapt. 17th March 1690; Mary, bapt. 
15th Aug. 1692. [Old Machar Reg.] 

THOMAS BURNS, pres. 22nd April 
1790 1790. 

JAMES GRAY WOOD, pres. by Crown 
1843 21st July 1843. 

GEORGE ALEXANDER, pres. by 
1850 Crown 6th Sept. 1850. 

ROBERT STEPHEN, pres. by Crown 
1858 2nd June 1858. 



1916 



DAVID YOUNG, died 30th March 
1933; his widow, Minnie d Esterre 
Macleod, died 13th March 1935; 
his daugh., Minnie Aileen d Esterre (marr. 
19th Oct. 1937 Rev. Hugh Legh Beauchamp 
McCarthy, St Mary s, Banbury). 

SHAWLANDS 

JOHN SLOAN, line 3, for "Rankin" 
1882 read "Bankier." 

JAMES EDWARD HOUSTON, dem. 



1933 



13th Aug. 1935, died 26th Nov. 
1935; his wife, Effie Terras Yule, 
died 23rd Sept. 1927. 

THORNLIEBANK 

JOHN CHARLSON, licen. by Presb. of 
Linlithgow 1889; died at Dunranion 
Billericay, Essex, 30th June 1942. 



1890 



ROBERT HARVIE SMITH, died at 
1902 Kyle of Lochalsh 14th Nov. 1926. 

REGINALD FREDERICK WHITE- 
1Q -_ LEY, trans, from Brechin East (q.v.) 
7th June 1927. Had issue Be verley 
Frederick, born 4th April 1928. 



PRESBYTERY OF GREENOCK 



CUMBRAE 

In 1325-35 the church, then a chapel 
annexed to the Church of Largs, was con 
firmed to Paisley Abbey by John, Bishop 
of Glasgow. The Church of Cumbrae is 
mentioned apart in 1561. On 20th Nov. 
1510 Mr. Patrick Shaw, vicar of Monkton, 
was "farmer of the fruits of the Churches 
of Largs and St Kenote"; and that, in 
view of the conjunction of Largs and 
Cumbrae Churches, may indicate that the 
Church of Cumbrae was dedicated to St 
Kenneth. The church was rebuilt at the 
Kirktown in 1612 and again in 1802. 
[Reg. of Paisley Abbey, 238-9, 240-2; 
Original Parishes of Scot., i, 90; see Largs.] 

THOMAS MOORE or MURE, M.A., 



1623 



in office 15th Aug. 1617. [Yester 
Writs, 1180.] 



ALEXANDER SANGSTER, trans, to 



Kirkpatrick Durham before 24th 
July 1673. [P. R. Sas., Dumfries, 
i, 234.] 

JAMES SIMPSON MACNAB, his son, 
James, died at Ruthen, North Wales, 
7th Jan. 1921. 



1668 



1867 



ARCHIBALD GRIERSON, died at 
1889 Rothesay 7th March 1940, un 
married. 

ERSKINE 

SIR HOMER ERASER, vicar 1561-2. 
1561 [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.} 

GAVIN DUNBAR, parson 1561. 

1561 [Acts and Dec., xxii, 333.] 

DAVID STEWART, parson 1562, 

1562 Canon of Glasgow 1565. [Reg. 
Abbrev. Feu Charters of Church 

Lands, i, 15, 141.] 



ROBERT SEMPILL, vicar and reader 

1561 1561-79; conformed; died Dec. 1606 

and had a son, George. [Comps. 

Gen. Coll. and Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 

etc.; Glasgow Tests, 2nd Oct. 1612.] 



JAMES HILL, parson 1571-9; rector 
30th May 1580. Had issue- 
Thomas. [Comps. Gen. Coll. of 
Thirds; Reg. Mag. Sig., v, 581.] 



1571 



DAVID STEWART, parson, died before 
1586 16th Jan. 1586-7; his daugh., Jean 
(marr. Abraham Abercrombie). 
[Reg. of Deeds, xxvii, 155a.] 

WILLIAM BRISBANE, his pres. in 
1592 1592 was on the death of William 
Cranstoun; his sons, William and 
John. [Reg. Sec. Sig., xiv, 9.] 

MATTHEW BRISBANE, his son, 



1642 



Matthew, M.D., Utrecht, Holland, 
M.A. (Edinburgh 1656); Rector of 

Glasgow Univ. 1677 and 1679-81; Town 

Physician of Glasgow; surgeon to H.M. 

Life Guards; died \699.[Gen. Reg. Sas., 

xiv, 333.] 

WALTER MENZIES, marr. Isabel, 
daugh. of Alexander Clark, mer 
chant, Edinburgh. 



1705 



1851 



THOMAS McKIE, his sons Henry 
Bannerman, died 14th June 1927; 
John McMillan, died at Poulton le 
Fylde, Lancashire, 17th June 1925; Walter 
Dunlop, died at Buxton 19th Oct. 1920. 

JOHN McILRAITH, line 24, for 
1871 "1889" read "1881." 

DAVID MELVILLE STEWART, died 
1913 18th Jan. 1936. 



246 



PRESB. OF GREENOCK] ERSKINE GREENOCK GAELIC 



247 



1921 



DONALD FERGUS FERGUSON, 
born 16th Oct. 1896, son of Donald 
Fergus F. and Mary Dunn; educ. at 
High School and Univ. of Glasgow; licen. 
by Presb. of Dunbarton 1920; assistant 
New Kilpatrick; ord. Colleague and Suc 
cessor 14th July 1921; dem. 1928 on app. 
to St Andrew s Church, Selangor; adm. to 
Abernethy North 17th Feb. 1933; app. 
Chaplain to Forces in Middle East March 
1941. Marr. 31st July 1928 Edith, daugh. 
of Alexander Rae and Jean Moir and has 
issue Joyce Fergus, born 7th Feb. 1930; 
Norman Douglas, born 7th Aug. 1933; 
Fergus, B.Sc., died off Liberia, 1st Feb. 
1949. 

DAVID YOUNG ROBERTSON, M.A., 

1Q2Q S.T.M., trans, from Dingwall (q.v.) 

6th March 1929; Chaplain at Simla 

1935; trans, to Dulnain Bridge 7th May 

1941; dem. 21st Sept. 1947. 

FAIRLIE 

ARTHUR ALLAN, dem. 15th Nov. 
1884 1934. 

GOUROCK 

ALEXANDER MILNE, his wife, Helen 

1884 Elizabeth Kirke, died 9th Aug. 1 920; 

his daugh., Margaret Elizabeth 

(marr. 25th July 1923 Harry Steel Watson, 

min. of Lochcraig). 

GEORGE BENNET THOMSON 
MICHIE. He enlisted in Gordon 
Highlanders 1915, Private O.T.C. 
Inns of Court 1916, commissioned 31st Jan. 
1917, trans, to M.G.C. Tank Corps, served 
in France 1917-18, retired as Captain; 
drowned 22nd March 1938. Marr. 5th June 
1920 Agnes May Kirkland, daugh. of 
William Stewart, M.B., C.M., D.P.H., 
Benview, Gourock. 



1907 






GREENOCK, AUGUSTINE 

CHARLES CHRISTIE, licen. by Presb. 
1887 of Edinburgh 13th May 1887; died 
2nd Aug. 1920; his widow, Elizabeth 
Arthur Shaw, died 15th Dec. 1938. 



DAVID WILSON BAIRD, trans, from 
1920 St James Presrj . Church, Sunder- 
land; adm. 15th Dec. 1920; trans, 
to Whiteness 7th Feb. 1923. 

WILLIAM WILSON, ord. 19th July 
1923; trans, to Glenisla 21st March 



1923 



1928. 
(United with Cartsburn 1929.) 



CARTSBURN 

KENNETH ALEXANDER MAC- 



1913 



LEAY, line 16, for "1903" read 



"1902"; line 18, for "23" read 
"21"; he was adm. to Delting 27th Sept. 
1920. 

JAMES FRANCIS, died 30th April 
1919 1943. 



GREENOCK EAST 

JAMES HUTCHESON, his widow, 



1844 



Annie Scott Brown, died 8th Feb. 
1924. 



GEORGE DAVID HENDERSON, 

trans, to St Mary s, Partick, 30th 



1916 



Nov. 1922. 



STEPHEN GREEN, ord. 14th May 
1923 1923, dem. 4th June 1928 on ap 
pointment to Nyasaland (q.v.) 10th 
March 1928. 

IAN McCULLOCH, trans, from Teal- 
Q2 ing (q.v.) 27th Nov. 1928; trans, to 
Grahamston 2nd April 1937. 



GREENOCK GAELIC 

JOHN STEWART McCALLUM, his 



1913 



widow, Isabella Leitch Thomson, 
died 27th Nov. 1919. 



DUNCAN MACARTHUR, his wife s 



1919 



mother, Catherine Fraser; trans, to 
Lochbroom 28th Sept. 1927. 



GEORGE MACKENZIE, trans, from 
1028 Kilmore 17th May 1928; trans, to 
Dores and Bona llth Sept. 1946; 
dem. 15th Oct. 1947. 



248 



LADYBURN INVERKIP 



[PRESB. OF 



LADYBURN 

GEORGE HOPE JAMIE, res. 24th 
Nov. 1920 on commission as Navy 
Chaplain to Atlantic Fleet; adm. to 
Craigrownie 31st Aug. 1926. 



1919 



ROBERTSON McCALLUM MILLAR, 

trans, from Glengarry 4th May 
1921; trans, to Twechar 7th April 
1927. 



1921 



1927 



JOHN FLEMING, born 9th Oct. 1902, 
son of Gavin F. and Isabella 
Patience McClymont; educ. at Univ. 
of Glasgow, M.A. (1924), B.D. (1927); 
licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 1927; assistant 
Ferniegair and Prestwick; ord. 28th July 
1927; trans, to Kells 4th Oct 1932; trans, 
to Skirling 25th Sept. 1936; trans, to Kin 
cardine in Menteith 16th Oct. 1942. Marr. 
29th June 1927 Williamina Mary Watt, 
daugh. of William Twaddle of Ferniegair 
House and Marion Logan. 

GREENOCK MIDDLE 

JOHN ADAM, marr. Elizabeth, daugh. 
1769 of William Parker of Barleith. 

DAVID SMITH PETERS, died 28th 
1877 Feb. 1924. 

JAMES LAWSON MAcCURRACH, 

trans, from Gilcomston (q.v.) 18th 



1924 



Sept. 1924, died 4th Sept. 1944. 



GREENOCK NORTH 

ADAM CURRIE, dem. 16th May 1934. 
Marr. (2) 4th Feb. 1938 Catherine 
Poole; his son, Adam, born 22nd 
May 1894. 



GREENOCK ST PAUL S 

THOMAS FRANCIS JOHNSTONE, 

his widow, Florence Mary Cowley, 
died at London 27th Feb. 1939. 

CHARLES LAING WARR, line 12, 
for "Tulloch" read "Tatlock"; 
trans, to St Giles, Edinburgh, llth 
Feb. 1926. 



MALCOLM MUNRO MACPHER- 

1926 SON born 30th Jan 1892 voun g est 
son of Robert M., D.D., min. of 

Elgin; educ. at Univ. of Edinburgh, M.A. 
(1919); served as Captain in European War, 
O.B.E. (1st June 1919); licen. by Presb. of 
Elgin 1920; assistant St Giles, Edinburgh; 
ord. A. and S. to Helensburgh 25th Oct. 
1922; trans, and adm. 8th July 1926; dem. 
6th Nov. 1945. Marr. llth Aug. 1931 
Jessie Mary, daugh. of Alexander Fleming, 
jun., Greenock. 

GREENOCK SOUTH 

JOHN FORBES MACPHERSON, his 

1881 W ^ e Jess * e Ewart > on ly daugh. of 
John Hannah of Girvan and Auchen- 
vale, Ayrshire, died 4th July 1928; he died 
13th April 1929. 

JOHN YOUNGSON THOMSON, son 

1920 of Jonn T< Bever ley Hall, Chicago; 

trans, from Leadhills (<?.v.) 18th Dec. 

1920; trans, to Annbank 1st May 1931, 

unmarried. 

WELLPARK 

WILLIAM WILSON, died at Kirn, 12th 
1879 Feb. 1925. 



CHARLES PETER GRANT, trans, to 
Dalbeattie 19th Dec. 1929. Marr. 
llth Dec. 1929 Grace Gill Orr. 



1916 



GREENOCK WEST 

PATRICK SHAW, pres. 28th Nov. 1598 
_ 0ft on death of Andrew Murdo. [Reg. 
Sec. &., Ixvi, 6.] 

WILLIAM JACK NICHOL SERVICE, 
1 004 n * s w if e Amy Margaret Angus, died 
16th June 1943. He died Glasgow 
16th Feb. 1945. 

INVERKIP 

There was in the parish a chapel dedi 
cated to the Holy Trinity. Manifestly this 
is identical with the chapel designated the 
"Holy Trinity of Cristelwell" or "Castel- 
well." Other designations were Cristiswell 



GREENOCK] 



INVERKIP LANGBANK 



249 



and Chrystswell. It was under the patron 
age of the Crown, and therefore was in all 
likelihood the chapel to which the following 
reference is made in a record of Charters 
of Robert III, 1390-1406, "Charter for ane 
foundation of a Chapel att Chrystswell. 
If the first part of the name refers to Christ, 
the Holy Trinity may have been a later 
dedication. The endowment of the chapel 
included the 5 lands of Auchymillin and 
mill in the bailery of Cowell and the Forty- 
Penny lands of the "prebend of chaplainry 
of Crystiswell called the Chapelands of the 
said Chapel of Crystiswell." [Transcripts 
from the Vatican, i, 341, MS. Reg. Ho.; Reg. 
Great Seal, i, App. ii, 1848; iii, 938, 1227, 
1533; v, 2051; Reg. Sec. Seal, i, 400, ii, 
1896, 1898 and n; Retours, xliii, 83.] 

JAMES SCOTT, exhorter 1563. 
1 563 [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling. ] 

DAVID CHRISTISOUN, vicar 1567. 
1567 [Acts and Dec., xxiv, 454.] 

JOHN STEWART, M.A., in Stirling; 



1565 



pres. to vicarage 12th April 1565 on 
death of Sir David Christison. 

[Reg. Sec. Sig., xxxiii, 3; Comps. Sub Coll. 

of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 

ANDREW MURDO, M.A., pres. to 
vicarage 9th Jan. 1591-2 on death 
of John Stewart. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Ixiii, 119.] 

THOMAS YOUNGER, M.A., had also 



1591 



1592 

1623.] 



a son, Tobias. [Test Dougal Ban- 
natyne, Glasgow Tests, 28th Nov. 



ALEXANDER McQUISTEN, his 
daugh., Henrietta Mary, O.B.E. 
(marr. 22nd April 1896 Sir Robert 
Campbell Mackenzie of Edinbarnet), died 
26th Feb. 1930; his son, Alexander, died 
29th Feb. 1940. 

KILMACOLM 

UMPHRA CUNNINGHAM, vicar in 
1562 1562. [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.} 



ARCHIBALD CRAWFORD, M.A., 

min. 1563. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 



1563 



Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 



ROBERT MAXWELL, reader in 1563. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stir 
ling, etc.] 

NINIAN CAMPBELL, second son to 
.,_ Colin C. of Ormidale. [Gen. Reg. 

J.O5U /* f~i - ,-. . -i 

ofSas., xxxm, 37.] 
JAMES MURRAY, died Father of the 



1875 



Church 25th Nov. 1939; his wife, 



Margaret Anne Darling, died 21st 
March 1935. 

WILLIAM BLACK was ord. to army 
1918 and not to this parish. 

FOSTER FRANKLIN, born Ayr 14th 
Sept. 1889, son of Foster F., H.M. 
Customs, and Annie C. F. Scott; 
educ. at Hull Grammar School and 
Hutcheson s Grammar School, Glasgow, 
Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (Hons.); Captain, 
3rd Highland Light Infantry; licen. by 
Presb. of Glasgow 1919; assistant Douglas 
1919, Kilmacolm 1920; ord. (assistant and 
successor) 9th Feb. 1921; trans, to Corstor- 
phine 30th Sept. 1940. Marr. 1st Sept. 1921 
Mary Maclean, M.A., M.B., Ch.B., daugh. 
of John Weir, Catford, and Mary Maclean, 
and has issue Anne Mary, born 29th July 
1922 (marr. 18th Sept. 1947 Alan Hugh 
Dermid, M.B., Ch.B.); John Weir, born 
26th July 1925, died 7th April 1926; James 
Murray, born 5th Aug. 1927. Publication 
This Thing Today (1932). 

LANGBANK 

ROBERT CRAWFORD, his widow, 



1867 



Margaret Kirk Stewart, died at 



Edinburgh 14th Nov. 1925; his 
daughs. Janet Campbell (marr. 12th Feb. 
1921 Robert Macfarlane, M.A., B.Sc., 
Dunbarton); Margaret Stewart, died 30th 
May 1927; Jane Blackwood (marr. 24th 
Nov. 1937 Alexander G. Macmillan, Port 
Albirnie, British Columbia); Marjory 
Stewart, parish sister, Tolbooth, Edin 
burgh, died 10th June 1941. 



250 



LANGBANK SKELMORLIE [PRESB. OF GREENOCK 



JOHN KNOX BROWN, his widow, 



1893 



Katharine Macgregor, died 20th 
May 1936. 



WILLIAM ALEXANDER, dem. 7th 
1896 June 1932, died 15th Oct. 1936. 

LARGS 

In 1316 Walter, Seneschal of Scotland, 
granted the church to Paisley Abbey for the 
souls of himself and Marjory, his late wife, 
etc. ; and the grant with the addition of the 
Chapel of Cumbrae was included in con 
firmation Charters by John, Bishop of 
Glasgow 1325-35; and others. In 1832 
"cross aisles" were added to the "eastern 
extremity" of the church by means of funds 
belonging to the poor, seat-rents being 
levied for the benefit of the funds. [Reg. 
of Paisley, 237-44.] 



1563 



DAVID NEILL, exhorter 1563. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 
etc.] 



PATRICK WALLACE, M.A. (Glas- 
1748 gow, 1736). 

ROBERT OSWALD, died 8th Feb. 
1928; his daugh., Helen Dorothy 
(marr. 25th June 1932 Dr L. N. A. 
Harrison, London.) 



1910 



1928 



DAVID BROOK BAXTER, born 12th 
June 1898; son of Fred Walker B., 
F.R.C.O., organist and choirmaster, 
and Laura Brook. Educ. at Univ. of 
Glasgow, M.A. (1920), B.D. (1923); licen. 
by Presb. of Irvine 9th Jan. 1923; assistant 
at Stevenston and Lady Glenorchy s, Edin 
burgh, 1923; ord. to Dunlop 1st Nov. 1923; 
trans, and adm. 2nd Oct. 1928. Marr. 27th 
April 1926 Margaret Maitland, third daugh. 
of John Barclay, Dairy, Ayrshire, and 



Jessie Cowan Macdougall, and has issue 
Winifred Margaret, born 22nd Aug. 1928; 
John Barclay Walker, born 20th Jan. 1931; 
Fred Walker, born 2nd Feb. 1935. 

NEWARK 

THOMAS HARKNESS GRAHAM, 



1882 



dem. 18th May 1925; died 19th June 



1927; his widow, Isabella Rankin 
Brooks, died 9th Feb. 1941. 

THOMAS LOW, son of Andrew L., 
The Rectory, Peebles; trans, from 
Garvald 3rd Dec. 1925; trans, to 
Charteris Memorial, Edinburgh, 4th Oct. 
1934. Marr. 6th Sept. 1933 Mary Evelyn 
(died 1944), daugh. of Richard Edwards, 
54 Warrender Park Road, Edinburgh. 

PORT GLASGOW 

JOHN REID, his widow Margaret 



1877 



Birkmyre Laird, died 15th March 
1934. 



DAVID JOHN MOIR PORTEOUS, 



1907 



died 31st Jan. 1942; his widow, 



Edith Lucy Bertram, died at Edin 
burgh 15th Sept. 1942. 

SKELMORLIE 

DAVID BRUCE NICOL, trans, to St 



1911 



Margaret s, Edinburgh, 3rd Aug. 
1920. 



ROLLO RUSSELL GRANT SUTHER- 



1921 



LAND, trans, from Ballantrae (q.v.) 



llth Feb. 1921; trans, to St Mar- 
nock s, Kilmarnock, 18th Feb. 1926. 

DUDLEY STUART HOPKIRK, B.D., 



1926 

1929. 



B.Litt., ord. 5th Aug. 1926; trans, 
to Greenside, Edinburgh, 26th April 



PRESBYTERY OF HAMILTON 



AIRDRIE, EAST 

ALEXANDER BOWER, a licentiate of 
the Irish Presb. Church; was Relief 
min. at Shiprow, Aberdeen, 1799- 
1806; died 1837. 



1792 



AIRDRIE, WEST 

DAVID HOWAT PATERSON, granted 
an A. and S. 21st Dec. 1920; died at 
Cathcart llth June 1925. 

JOHN FORSYTH MARSHALL, M.A., 



1921 



M.C., ord. 28th April 1921; trans, 
to Helensburgh West 17th Jan. 1927. 



1927 



JOHN ALEXANDER CALDER- 
WOOD, born Barrhead, Renfrew 
shire, 25th April 1893, son of John 
Alexander C. and Agnes Muir; educ. at 
Morrison s Academy, Crieff, and Univ. of 
Glasgow, M.A. (1915); licen. by Presb. of 
Paisley June 1920; assistant Monkton (June 
1921 to Sept. 1922); ord. to Stobhill 8th 
Sept. 1922; trans, and adm. 20th May 1927; 
dem. 14th Nov. 1933 on adm. to Madeira. 
Marr. (1) 6th March 1923 Mary Brough, 
daugh. of Rev. Alexander Gibson, Prest- 
wick (whom he divorced 22nd Dec. 1933), 
and has issue John Alexander, born 13th 
April 1924; Gordon Gibson, born 10th 
May 1928; (2) 24th Jan. 1935 Margaret, 
daugh. of James and Margaret Gilbert. 

AVENDALE 

DAVID CUNNINGHAM, M.A., min. 



1563 



in 1563. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 



SIR JOHN ANDERSON, apparently 
1567 v car Before 1560 and conformed, 
vicar and reader 1561 and 30th Aug. 
1575. [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds; Glas 
gow Tests., ii, 93, 175.] 



JOHN HAY, vicar. [Acts and Dec., 
1574 Iviii, 174.] 

HUGH ARCHIBALD. [G. R. Sas., 
1648 2 Ser., ii, 257, vii, 265.] 

JAMES HAMILTON, delete M.A. 
1672 (Glasgow, 1638). 

ROBERT REID RAE, marr. 27th Sept. 
_ 1852 Jessie Croil, and had issue 
Jessica, born 27th May 1853; Jane 
Donaldson, born 20th July 1854. 

JOHN MUIRHEAD, app. clerk of 



1904 



Presb. of Earlston 1899; app. clerk 



of Presb. (assistant and successor) 
25th June 1929; received assistant in clerk 
ship 1st Feb. 1938; died 2nd May 1938. 

EAST STRATHAVEN CHAPEL 

THOMAS HILL, licen. by Presb. of 
1887 Glasgow 4th June 1884. 

BAILLIESTON 

ALEXANDER ANDREW, D.D. (Glas- 



1892 



gow Univ. 1929); Convener Educa 
tion Committee 1929; dem. 8th Nov. 
1940; died 8th March 1942; his wife, Isa 
bella Lumsden Allan, died 4th April 1941. 

BARGEDDIE 

ALEXANDER LYON BENNETT, 
1917 trans, to Bridgeton llth Oct. 1923. 

JAMES RAMSAY THOMSON, born 
Dunbarton 14th Oct. 1898, son of 
Peter T., J.P., and Isabella Drysdale; 
educ. at Dunbarton Academy and Univ. of 
Glasgow, M.A. (1920), B.D. (1928); served 
in Highland Cyclist Batt. in Great War; 
licen. by Presb. of Dunbarton 1922; assis 
tant at Cambuslang 1922 and Glasgow 
Cathedral 1923; ord. 28th Feb. 1924; trans. 



1924 



251 



252 



BARGEDDIE BOTHWELL 



[PRESB. OF 



to Applegarth 4th April 1930; trans, to St 
Andrews, Carluke, 3rd July 1942; trans, to 
St Margaret s, Barnhill, 1st May 1947. 
Marr. 12th July 1933 Joanna, daugh. of 
Rev. John Hunter, M.A., and Jenny Allan, 
and has issue James Drysdale, born 6th 
July 1935. 

BELLSHILL 

JAMES MILLAR KILLEN, assistant 
1878 at Partick, died 22nd July 1928; his 
widow, Annie Gilbert, died 26th 
June 1934. 

HUGH WILSON, his widow, Margaret 
Josephine Taylor, died 16th May 
1942. 

GAVIN WARNOCK, trans, to Kirk- 



1901 



cowan 24th July 1930; dem. 12th 



June 1932; died 21st Aug. 1932; his 
daugh., Annabella Janet May Louise (marr. 
29th June 1940 -. Simpson); his son, Gavin 
David Ross, Captain, R.A.M.C. 

BLANTYRE 

RICHARD HENDERSON, his son, 
1722 Robert, born 18th Jan. 1730. 

STEWART WRIGHT, born Inveraray 
18?1 15th Oct. 1829, son of James W., 
provost of Inveraray, and Maria 
Brooks; educ. at Inveraray, Irvine Academy 
and Univs. of Glasgow and Edinburgh; 
licen. by Presb. of Glasgow; assistant at 
St Matthews, Glasgow, 1855; ord. to St 
George s-in-the-Fields 23rd May 1855; 
Chaplain at Madras 1858-65; Bangalore 
1865-71; adm. 3rd Aug. 1871, died 29th 
Nov. 1887. Marr. 3rd Jan. 1856 Alice, 
eldest daugh. of Colin Smith, D.D., min. 
of Inveraray, and had issue James Stewart 
born 29th Nov. 1856, died llth Sept. 1857; 
Annie Campbell, born 28th Dec. 1857, died 
at Glasgow 26th Aug. 1932; Mary Harriet, 
born 25th Dec. 1859, died at Glasgow 17th 
Aug. 1928; Alice Narcissa, born 26th 
March 1861, died at Carluke 20th May 
1930; Elizabeth Stewart, born 12th Oct. 
1862, died at Bangalore, 1866; Jeanie Shaw 
Stewart, born 9th Jan. 1864; John Brooks 
Stewart, born 2nd Jan, 1865, died at 



Madras 1868; Colin Stewart, born 26th 
Jan. 1867, died in infancy; William Norman 
Stewart, analytical chemist, born 10th 
April 1868, died 20th April 1944; Elizabeth 
Stewart, born 19th April 1869, died at 
Blantyre 1886; Flora Montgomery Stewart, 
born 19th April 1870 (marr. 22nd June 1894 
John Craig Millar of Waygateshaw, Car 
luke); Dora Stewart, born 25th May 1872, 
died at Glasgow 8th June 1931. 

CHARLES SCRIMGEOUR TURN- 
BULL, dem. 7th Nov. 1933, died 
16th July 1924, unmarried. 

BOTHWELL 

On the petition of Archibald, Earl of 
Douglas, Papal Mandate was given on 21st 
Feb. 1397-8 to Matthew, Bishop of Glas 
gow, to erect the church into a collegiate 
church for a provost and six chaplains or 
prebendaries. For the collegiate church the 
Earl assigned two parish churches of which 
he was patron, and a chapel having Masses 
for his progenitors in the territory of 
Orbenistoun the Chapel of St Catharine, 
Orbiston. To this chapel Walter Olifard, 
Justiciar of Lothian, granted in 1242 an 
endowment of 10 lib. annual rent from the 
lands of Oberniston, which failing from the 
Mill of Bothwell. On 18th May 1410 there 
was given Papal Validation of the erection 
of the collegiate church in spite of an in 
correct statement in the Papal Commission 
thereanent. The prebends of the church, 
increased to eight, were Kittymuir, Stone- 
house, Hessildene, Netherfield of Strat- 
haven, Overtoun of le Newtoun, Cruik- 
burnie, the Church of Hawick, and the 
Church of Bertram-Shotts. The Churches 
of Stonehouse and Strathaven were in 
cluded. The Church of Hawick was erected 
into a prebend on 4th Oct. 1447 by the 
Dean and Chapter of Glasgow, with the 
consent of Gavin, Provost of Glasgow 
Collegiate Church, and William, Earl of 
Douglas, lord of Hawick. On 15th Nov. 
1457 and on 21st May 1471 the provost of 
the church is described as Provost of St 
Mary s, Bothwell, " and on 30th April 1476 
the church is designated the "Parish 
Church of St Mary of Bothwell. It would 



HAMILTON] 



BOTHWELL 



253 



appear, therefore, that in all likelihood, 
when the church was made collegiate, the 
name of the Virgin was added to that of 
St Bridgit. In 1719 the porch of the choir 
which constituted the church was taken 
down "to admit of a modern addition to 
accommodate the congregation." About 
1779 the church was repaired; and in 1795 
it is described as "an old structure in the 
Gothic style, of excellent workmanship 
. . . near the outer base of the spire the 
name of the Master- Mason is writ in Saxon 
Characters, Magister Thomas Tron." In 
1833 there was added a new church or nave 
"in Gothic style corresponding to the old 
fabric," with a tower 120 ft. high between 
the old work and the new. But the old and 
the new were separate and at different 
levels, the new being used as the place of 
worship. But a scheme of renovation car 
ried out in 1933 at a cost of 10,000 united 
the buildings into an harmonious whole, 
comprising nave, choir, and transepts. The 
interior of the church of 1833 was com 
pletely cleared out, including the plaster on 
the walls and gallery and ceiling; and the 
floor was lowered to a common level with 
that of the ancient choir. For the support 
of the tower there was introduced a massive 
steel structure encased in freestone, and 
beneath the tower a large central arch was 
constructed to lead into the crossing. The 
vestibule formerly separating the nave and 
choir was opened up by four arches to 
form transepts, and the wall that filled the 
choir-arch was taken down to open up the 
interior from end to end. The roof of the 
nave was lined with timber; and an old 
vestry at the west end was transformed into 
a vestibule with pillared arcade. New floor 
ing, seating accommodation, and furnish 
ings completed the scheme. Niches in the 
walls of the nave were made to contain 
architectural fragments of a 12th century 
Norman church discovered during the 
course of the reconstruction. In 1939 the 
north transept was converted into a suitably 
appointed baptistry. On 15th Aug. 1529 
the Chapel of St Lessert Lasrach or 
Lassert was in the King s hands on 
account of the death of James, Earl of 
Arran. On 22nd Sept. 1300-1 Edward I 



made an offering of 7 sh. "in his Chapel of 
Bothwell" in honour of St Mauricius. 
[Transcripts from the Vatican, ii, 30, 199, 
MS. Reg. Ho.; Reg. Great Seal, ii, 2453; 
Reg. Epis. of Glasgow, ii, 366; Reports Hist. 
MSS. Commis., xi, 48; Cal. Papal Regs., 
xi, 334, xii, 379; Cal. of Docs. Rel. to Scot., 
iv, 449; Watson s Celtic Place Names, 307; 
Memo. Rev. R. J. Thomson, B.D., Both- 
well.] 

JOHN HAMILTON, pres. to vicar 

, pensionary 30th March 1568 on 

death of Sir James Rae. [Reg. 

Pres. Bene., i, 8; Reg. Sec. Sig., xxxvii, 55.] 

MUNGO BAXTER, reader 1574 and 
1574 1590. [Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.] 

ROBERT BOYD. [G. R. Sas., xxxiii, 
1608 254.] 

MATTHEW McKELL, M.A. (Glasgow 



1649 



1631), his son, Matthew, M.A. 



(Glasgow, 1661), apprenticed to 
Robert Douglas, merchant, Edinburgh, 
24th June 1668. 

SIR WILLIAM HAMILTON, his 



1709 



daughs. Grizel, died 1783; Eliza 
beth (marr. Daniel Sinclair, min. of 
Longformacus). 

JOHN PAGAN, his widow, Margaret 
Wiseman Lang, died at Largs 15th 

A ., _ ~ 

Aug. 1933. 
SAMUEL JOHN HAMILTON, died 



1916 



from effects of bicycle accident near 



Kirkcaldy 3rd Sept. 1926; his daugh., 
Dorothy Poll (marr. 19th Nov. 1938 Orto 
Ferdinand Stiltner, Maklatz, Pomerania). 



1927 



ROBERT JOHN THOMSON, M.A. 

(190? ) B D - ( Glas g w > 191 )> for 
merly of Coldstream (q.v.), trans, to 
Alloa 15th July 1919; trans, and adm. 16th 
Feb. 1927. Marr. llth Sept. 1917 Isabel 
Margaret Ann, only daugh. of Alexander 
Paterson, Burnside, Tain, and Euphemia 
Margaret Finlayson, and had issue David 
Alexander, born 6th June 1918; Euphemia 
Isabel, born 27th Aug. 1919; Robert 
Paterson, born 6th June 1922; John Ken 
neth, born llth April 1925. 



254 



BURNBANK CAMBUSLANG 



[PRESB. OF 



BURNBANK 

ANDREW SMITH DINGWALL 
1894 SCOTT, died 25th July 1920. 

JOHN SMITH SIEVWRIGHT, M.A., 
ord. 2nd Feb. 1921; trans, to Bal- 



1921 



lingry llth Jan. 1928. 



1928 



CHARLES KEITH McWILLIAM, 

bom Aberdeen 29th Jan. 1896, son 
of Charles McW. and Jane Mc- 
William Keith; educ. Robert Gordon s 
College and Univ. of Aberdeen, M.A. 
(1919), B.D. (1920); licen. by Presb. of 
Aberdeen April 1920; assistant Holburn, 
Aberdeen; ord. to Leadhills, 17th Sept. 
1920; trans, to St Thomas, Leith, llth 
April 1923; trans, to Kelso North, 17th 
May 1926; trans, and adm. 10th July 1928. 
Marr. 5th Nov. 1933 Margaret, daugh. of 
John and Margaret McDonald, Aberdeen. 

CADZOW 

THOMAS FOREST HARKNESS 
GRAHAM. Addl. publications 
Scenes on the Avon, Lanarkshire , 
Tributaries on the Avon, Lanarkshire , 
Muttonhole Road and other Poems , Culzean 
Castle (short history). 

CALDERBANK 

WILLIAM BUCHANAN STRACHAN 
his widow, Helen Shaw Munro 



1919 



1884 



Fleming, died 8th Sept. 1921. 



WILLIAM HENDERSON ADAM, 

died 28th Feb. 1923; his widow, 



1919 

1946. 



Margaret Wallace, died 19th July 



JAMES MAcGILLIVRAY, M.A., for- 
merly of Lochcarron (q.v.), adm. 4th 
July 1923; died 2nd Dec. 1924. 

JAMES WALLACE SIMPSON, M.C., 

ord. 22nd April 1925; trans, to 
Crimond 5th April 1928. 

(Charges united 1930.) 

CALDERCRUIX 

WILLIAM BLACK JACK, died 29th 
1896 March 1938. 



CALDERHEAD 

JOHN REEVIE JOHNSTON MERRY, 
1918 trans, to Paisley North 7th Jan. 1926. 

DUNCAN CONACHER, trans, from 

1926 K ^ mor i e > Arran (q.v.), 2nd June 

1926; his wife, Elsie Robertson 

Gordon, died 26th March 1935; his son, 

Duncan Gordon, Captain, R.A.M.C. 

CAMBUSLANG 

DAVID CHRISTISON, sometime par- 
1562 son. [Acts and Dec., xxiv, 454.] 

WILLIAM HAMILTON, parson, 1564, 

1564 1568 and 1572. [Acts and Dec., 

xxxii, 436; xxxiv, 371; xlix, 30; 

Comps. Gen. Coll. and Sub Coll. of Thirds, 

Dumfries, etc.] 

JAMES LINDSAY, called min. 1563, 

156? still in office 13th Feb. 1581-2. 

[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling. ] 

ADAM FOULIS, pres. on death of 
William Hamilton, 1572. [Reg. 
Pres. Bene., i, (8), 20.] 

JOHN HOWIESON, M.A., pres. to 






vicar pensionary 2nd Dec. 1591 on 
death of Thomas Lindsay. [Reg. 
Sec. Sig., Ixiii, 30.] 

JOHN DRUMMOND, pres. to par- 
sona e an d vicarage 23rd Aug. 1 580. 
[Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 387.] 

ROBERT FLEMING, line 5, delete 



1653 



"who was James Fleming s first 
wife." 



WILLIAM McCULLOCH, marr. Janet, 
daugh. of Robert Dinwoodie, mer- 



1731 



chant, Glasgow. 



1774 



JAMES MEIK, son of John M. of 
Fortisset, born 12th March 1740. 
Publication Reply to Mr Ewing s 
Animadversion of Lay Preaching Indefen 
sible, Glasgow, 1800. 

JOHN ROBERTSON, his daugh., Sarah 
1797 (marr. John Whitehead, S.S.C.). 

JAMES STEWART JOHNSON, his 

daugh., Helen Isabella (marr. Archi- 
843 bald Russell, son of Archibald 



HAMILTON] 



CAMBUSLANG COATS 



255 



Russell of Auchenrath, Boithwell), died at 
Moffat 28th Feb. 1938. 

ROBERT SIBBALD CALDERWOOD, 

D.D. (Glasgow, 1928), granted A. 

and S. llth June 1935; his son, 

Walter Macfarlane, min. of St Mary s, 

Hawick; his daugh., Mary Sibbald, died 

28th Aug. 1940. 

CAMBUSLANG WEST 

ARTHUR STANLEY MIDDLETON, 
trans - to Dean, Edinburgh, 15th 
March 1927. 

ROBERT JAMES STEELE DICKEY, 
1Q __ trans, from Beath (#.v.) 29th Sept. 
1927; M.A. (St Andrews, June 1938); 
trans, to Firth llth Jan. 1946; his wife, 
Helen Russell, daugh. of Thomas Ritchie 
and Catherine Anderson, St Andrews 
(marr. 20th Nov. 1915), died 18th May 
1941. He marr. (2) 7th Oct. 1942 Flora, 
daugh. of Charles MacGregor, Kirkwall, 
and widow of Alexander Andrew Moir, 
M.A., rector of Dornoch Academy. 

CAMBUSNETHAN 

Cambusnethan is "Neighton s bight or 
"bend." At this bend stood the old 
Church of Cambusnethan; and the name 
doubtless commemorates a Welsh saint of 
that name; may be identical with Nathalan, 
Nechtan, whose day was 8th Jan. and who 
died in 679 and was buried, it is said, at 
Tullich, Upper Deeside. [Watson s Celtic 
Place Names, 329-30.] 

ALEXANDER ROWATT, min., pres. 

1588 to P arsona g e and vicarage 4th Jan. 

1591-2. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixiii, 107.] 

THOMAS MUIRHEAD, had a son, 
John. [Glasgow Tests., 12th Nov. 
1635.] 

ROBERT SHAW HUTTON, his 

1851 daughs. Ella (marr. 24th Jan. 1925 
John F. Williams, Overdale, Wis- 
haw); Ada Nichol, died Edinburgh 26th 
May 1946. 

GILBERT ALEXANDER KENNEDY, 

1900 kis w i dow > Mary Bryars, died Kenya 

26th Dec. 1935; his daugh., Adelaide 



Margaret (marr. 26th July 1923 Gordon 
Alfred Lyns, London). 

JOHN ASHPLANT NICHOLLS, con 
victed of assault and found insane; 
died at Montrose 20th July 1934; 
his sons John, in Malay Police; William, 
in London; his daugh., Christian (marr. 
4th March 1939 Geoffrey Charles, son of 
Captain F. G. White, R.F.A.). 

CHAPELTON 

WILLIAM THOMSON, dem. 15th 



1891 



June 1930; died 27th Oct. 1933; his 



widow, Helen Macleod, died 29th 
Dec. 1939; his son, John Gardner, B.D., 
B.Ed., ordained to Loudoun Parish 15th 
Dec. 1927; his daugh., Jane Duncan, died 
5th July 1923. 

CLARKSTON 

JAMES BRANDER, his widow, Jessie 
1872 Lorimer, died 24th Dec. 1926. 

WILLIAM OGILVY DUNCAN, born 
23rd Jan 1858, not 1850 as in print; 



1889 

1936. 



dem. 31st Dec. 1933, died 2nd Feb. 



CLELAND 

DUNCAN CAMERON, born 18th May 

1R01 1853; his wife, Agnes Jack Lang, 

died 10th Sept. 1935. Retired for 

sake of Union, 3rd Dec. 1929; died 10th 

Feb. 1938. 

COATDYKE 

JAMES CROMARTY SMITH, D.D. 

(Edinburgh, 28th June 1929, and 
Montreal, April 1929); dem. 31st 

May 1939, died at Airdrie 22nd Dec. 1944. 

His wife, Emma Mary Philip, died same 

day. 

COATS 

WILLIAM HUTCHISON, his widow, 

Elizabeth Dinwoodie, died 5th Nov. 

1935; his daugh., Mary Macdonald 
(marr. 3rd March 1927 Walter Douglas 
Dykes Jones). 



256 



COATS DALZIEL 



[PRESB. OF 



GEORGE MACKENZIE, D.D. (Aber- 



1907 



deen, 29th March 1933); his daugh., 
Joan Noble, author of The Home 
ward Tide (marr. 5th Dec. 1934 James 
Beattie Burnett, son of James Beattie 
Burnett, min. of Fetteresso). A. and S. 
granted 6th April 1937. Publications- 
Edited Alma Mater (Aberdeen Univ. Maga 
zine) 1885-6; Church of Scotland Jewish 
Mission Quarterly, 1924-33; The Few 
Things through the Ages; At the Old Sea 
Gate of Jerusalem; Sermons in Christian 
World Pulpit; Articles in Expository Times, 
Life and Work, etc. 



COLTNESS MEMORIAL CHURCH 

JAMES ROBERT CHRYSTAL, died 



1879 



at Melrose 27th Jan. 1930; his 



daugh., Alice Margaret Wilkie, died 
at Elie 6th Aug. 1948. 

WILLIAM ROBERTSON, dem. llth 
Nov. 1920; died at Edinburgh 29th 
May 1936. 



1892 



DONALD MACDONALD, ord. 22nd 



1921 



April 1921; dem. on app. as Indian 
Chaplain (q.v.) 10th Dec. 1924. 



HAMILTON RUSSELL FERGUSON, 



1925 



born Ollaberry, Shetland, 25th June 
1900, son of Gilbert Young F., 
schoolmaster, and Mary J., daugh. of 
Henry Mouat of North Hammersland, 
Shetland; educ. at Anderson Institute, Ler- 
wick, and Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1922); 
served in Gordon Highlanders in Great 
War 1918; licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 
1924; assistant, Calton and St Georges-in- 
the-Fields, Glasgow; ord. 24th April 1925; 
dem. 1945; Director, Scottish Religious 
Film Society. Marr. 25th Aug. 1926 
Brenda Morag, daugh. of James Banna- 
tyne, solicitor, Glasgow, and has issue 
Ian Russell, born 3rd Feb. 1929; Sheila 
Morag, born 4th Sept. 1930; Rosemary 
Jean, born 9th Oct. 1936. 



CRAIGNEUK 

ROBERT GEDDES BRODIE, died at 
1906 Glasgow 16th June 1924. 



PETER JOHN McIVER, trans, from 



1924 



Cross and Burness 10th Dec. 1924; 
trans, to Inchture 17th Feb. 1928. 



WILLIAM WILSON BELL, formerly 
1928 of Abbey St Bathans (<?.v.); trans, 
from Monzievaird and Strowan 10th 
Oct. 1928; died 13th July 1948. 

DALSERF 

JOHN RAM AGE, reader 1563-9. 
1563 \- Com P s - Sub Co11 - of Thirds, Stirling, 

FRANCIS AIRD. [G. R. Sas., lix, 
1646 14.] 

THOMAS KIRKCALDY, his son, 



1672 

1680. 



William, apprentice to George 
Smailholm, merchant, 13th Oct. 



JOSEPH CLELAND, wife, was widow 
of David Liddell, Prof, of Divinity, 



Glasgow. [Deeds, Dal., 1705, No. 



1681 

352.] 

JAMES CRAIG, son of James C, 
Chaplain to Duke of Hamilton; 
dem. and went to Shrewsbury 1816. 
Marr. (1) Sara Dixon (born 1781, died 
1830) and had issue James, born Dec. 
1812, died June 1873; John, born Dec. 1814; 
Elizabeth, born 1816 (marr.); Charles, born 
1818, died 1890; Alexander, born 1819, 
died 1884; Robert Wallace, born April 
1821, died 1884; Anne (twin), born April 
1821, died Oct. 1821; Mary, born 1823, 
died 1875. He marr. (2) June 1832 Eliza 
beth Brayne (died 1 1th July 1884), Shrews 
bury, and had issue Agnes Wallace, born 
1836 (marr. Thomas Burd); Catherine, born 
1838 (marr. Wakefield Dixon); Donald, 
born 1842, died 1934. 

ALEXANDER BARCLAY, Ph.D. 

(Edinburgh, 1926), died 24th April 
1937. Publication The Protestant 
Doctrine of the Lord s Supper, 1926. 



1907 



DALZIEL 

In the Barony of Dalziel there was land 
called Saint Laurence Land. [Laing Char 
ters, 695.] 



HAMILTON] 



DALZIEL DUNDYVAN 



257 



JOHN ROBESON, pres. to vicar- 
pensionary 18th Feb. 1569 on death 
of Sir Alexander Walker. [Reg. 
Pres. Bene., i, 38.] 

DAVID MAYNE, his son, Thomas, 



1607 



merchant, Glasgow; his daugh., 
Jean (marr. John Weir, maltman, 

Glasgow). [Glasgow Burgess Roll, 4th 

Aug. 1636.] 

DAVID SCOTT, died at Edinburgh, 
21st Sept. 1924; his wife, Elizabeth 
Christian Ritchie, died 4th July 
1922; his daugh., Mary Elizabeth Bradfute 
(marr. 6th April 1938 Sir James Maclver 
Macleod, K.B.E., C.M.G., Consul-General, 
Tunis). 

THOMAS BENTLEY STEWART 



1874 



1919 



THOMSON, trans, to St Stephen s, 
Edinburgh, 20th Dec. 1923. 



GAVIN KERR MACKAY, M.A., 

trans, from Durisdeer 24th June 
1924; trans, to Johnstone High 21st 
Feb. 1929. 



1924 



1929 



JAMES BRYCE JAMIESON, trans. 
from Gre yfri ars > Dumfries (#.v.), 
26th July 1929; D.D. (Edinburgh, 

2nd July 1948); his son, George Thomson, 

min. of Viewfield, Erskine, Stirling, B.A. 

(Cant.); his daugh., Jean McGill, M.A. 

(Hons.), Teacher, Blyth, Northumberland; 

his son, Henry Moncrieff, M.A. (Hons.). 



DALZIEL, ST ANDREW S 

JAMES GELLATLY, died 28th June 
1904 1932. 



DALZIEL, ST MARY S 

WILLIAM SMITH, died 13th March 
1923; his widow, Maria Hatelie, 
died 19th May 1935. 

ALEXANDER MAUCHLINE, for- 



1923 



merl y 



St Matthew s, Dundee 



(q.v.), and missionary at Blantyre, 
Nyasaland; adm. 12th Sept. 1923; trans, to 
St Thomas, Leith, 22nd Sept. 1926. 



1927 



WILLIAM BUCHANAN, trans, from 

Menmuir (tf- v -) 23rd Feb - 1927 
trans, to Belhavie South 3rd April 
1946; had issue Elaine Helen Margaret, 
born 20th Dec. 1926; Gwynneth Ann 
Stuart, born 16th Dec. 1930. 

DALZIEL SOUTH 

DUFF MACDONALD, D.D. (Aber- 



1883 



deen) 1923, died 20th Jan. 1929. 



Marr. (2) 27th July 1920 Christina 
Gourlie Reid. 

JOHN MAUCHLINE, born Glasgow 
1929 5th July 1902, son of John M. and 
Christina Morton; educ. at Hutche- 
son s Grammar School and Univ. of Glas 
gow, M.A. (1923), B.D. (1926); licen. by 
Presb. of Glasgow 28th April 1926; assis 
tant at St Bride s, Glasgow, and Carluke; 
ord. 26th June 1929; dem. 30th June 1934; 
app. to Chair of Old Testament Language 
and Literature, Glasgow, 8th Oct. 1934; 
D.D. (Edinburgh, 2nd July 1948). Marr. 
17th Sept. 1930 Helen Brisbane, M.A., 
daugh. of John B. Paterson and Mary 
Dawson, and has issue John, born 1st 
July 1933; William Morton Paterson, born 
19th Nov. 1935; Robert Lawman, born 
22nd Oct. 1938. Publications Articles in 
various learned magazines. 

DUNDYVAN 

ANDREW ROBERTSON, his widow, 



1905 



Marea Christina Sieberg, died 22nd 
Jan. 1939. 



CHARLES MACKINNON, trans. 10 
1917 St Paul s, Glasgow, 8th March 1922. 

JAMES MUDGE, ord. 26th July 1922; 
resignation accepted 18th Jan. 1926; 
app. to Scots Kirk, Rangoon (q.v.\ 
Feb. 1926. 

DUNCAN SMITH HENDERSON, 
1926 trans - fr m Sinclairtown (q.v.), 24th 
June 1926; trans, to St Stephen s, 
Glasgow, 19th March 1931; died 17th April 
1945. Addl. issue Duncan Smith, born 
24th June 1926; Shiena Frances McAdam, 
born 26th Nov. 1927; Aileen Ishbel Mc- 
Combie, born 3rd Sept. 1929. 



258 



FLOWERHILL GLASFORD 



[PRESS. OF 



FLOWERHILL 

ROBERT HENDERSON, dem. 16th 



1889 



June 1926, died 28th Jan. 1941; his 



wife, Isabella Wright, daugh. of 
Alexander Gibson, town clerk, Kirkcaldy, 
died 28th Dec. 1935. 

JAMES STRATHEARN McNAB, 
served as Lieut, in 7th Cameronians 
in France and Belgium in Great 
War; trans, from Bannockburn (q.v.} 20th 
Oct. 1920; trans, to St Leonard s, Ayr, llth 
March 1931. Marr. 17th Oct. 1922 Dorothy 
Mary, eldest daugh. of John Moir, The 
Mount, Montrose, and Isabella Pirie, and 
had issue Isabel Moir, born 30th July 
1925; Dorothy Marion Joyce, born 3rd 
Dec. 1928. Publications Translated The 
Christian Life and Credo, by Karl Barth; 
Cross and Swastika; The Ordeal of the 
German Evangelical Church, by Dr Arthur 
Frey. 

GARTSHERRIE 

JOHN ALEXANDER IRELAND, 



1891 



1917 



licen. 2nd Nov. 1870; his daugh., 
Charlotte, died 7th Aug. 1928; his 
widow, Charlotte Chalmers Reid Falconer, 
killed in motor accident, Newark, 22nd 
Aug. 1939. 

ROBERT WILLIAM RUTHERFORD, 

died at Bournemouth 12th March 
1924; his son, David Sinclair, min. 
of Biggar. 

JOHN McCOLL, trans, from Loch- 

1924 maben 10th Sept - 1924 Marr - 28tn 
April 1917 Mary Gwendoline, daugh. 

of Henry Edgar Molyneux ffennell, Wood 
lands, Brighton, and has issue Alexander 
Browning, C.A., born 27th Jan. 1918; 
Moira Huntly, born 10th Jan. 1921. 

GARTURK 

HUGH DUNCAN, died 21st Nov. 1934; 
R0ft his wife, Mary Alice Swallow, died 
4th March 1927; his daugh., Mary 
Elizabeth, died 16th April 1933. 

GLASFORD 

JOHN HAMILTON, reader 1576 and 
1576 1511. [Comps. Gen. Co I I. of Thirds.] 



ALEXANDER HAMILTON, M.A., 

1585 ca ^ ec * mm> 158 l-5; P res - to vicarage 
by Robert, Lord Sempill, on death 
of Sir John Hamilton; evidently identical 
with above. Marr. Janet Hamilton, and 
had issue James (eldest); John. [Comps. 
Gen. Coll. of Thirds; Cal. of Charters, xii, 
2820; House of Hamilton, 369.] 

JAMES HAMILTON, M.A., min. in 
RQ 1589 when parsonage held by Mr 
Robert Sempill. [Comps. Gen. Coll. 
of Thirds.} 

PETER CAMERON, M.A. (Glasgow, 
1594 1593). 

WILLIAM HAMILTON, marr. 1646 



1644 



Margaret, daugh. of James Hamil 
ton of Barnecleuch and widow of 
Alexander Durham of Muirhouse, mer 
chant in Edinburgh. 

GAVIN LANG, his son, Alexander, 
1832 C.M.G., died 29th June 1930. 

ROBERT PATERSON, died 3rd Aug. 



1871 

den.) 



1920; his daugh., Edith Maud (marr. 
1st Nov. 1922 John Annan, Bears- 



1925 



ROBERT DALY, trans, to St James , 
1918 Glasgow, 18th March 1925. 

THOMAS CONNOLLY, born Ruther- 
glen 25th Dec. 1873, son of Edward 
C. and Janet Strathearn Jackson; 
educ. Rutherglen Public School, Baptist 
Colleges at Dunoon and Glasgow, Univs. 
of Glasgow and Edinburgh, M.A. (1922), 
and Manchester; ord. to Hopeman Baptist 
Church Jan. 1904; trans, to Inskip 1907; 
to Oldham 1909; Ancoats, Manchester, 
1912; Old Cumnock 1916 and to Dumfries, 
March to July 1918; app. to Robertson 
Memorial Mission, Grassmarket, June 
1918; adm. by General Assembly on proba 
tion 1920 and as licentiate 26th May 1921, 
and by Presb. of Edinburgh 29th June 1921 ; 
assistant, South Leith; ord. 13th July 1921; 
adm. 9th May 1923 to Kelso North; trans, 
and adm. 2nd Sept. 1925; dem. 3rd Sept. 
1947. Marr. 31st Aug. 1905 Mary Mc- 
Farlane Brown (died 26th Aug. 1941), 



HAMILTON] 



GLASFORD HAMILTON 



259 



daugh. of James Daly and Marion Morrison 
Brown. Marr. (2) 8th Sept. 1943 Helen 
Glennie Livingstone. 

GREENGAIRS 

JAMES RUSSELL, died 24th Feb. 
1931; his widow, Mary Keddie, died 
3rd Feb. 1946. 



1916 



HALLSIDE (now FLEMINGTON) 

WILLIAM CONWAY, trans, to Raith 
1918 llth May 1927. 



1927 



THOMAS RAMSAY KEARNEY (see 
vii, 697), trans, from Charteris 
Memorial Church, Edinburgh, 21st 

Sept. 1927; granted A. and S. 7th July 1936. 

Publication The Jubilee of our China 

Mission. 

HAMILTON 

To Pope Nicholas V a petition was pre 
sented by James, 1st Lord Hamilton, to the 
effect that he, considering that the Church 
of Hamilton, otherwise called of old 
4 * Cadzow, whose Rector is Dean of Glas 
gow, was wont to be governed by only one 
vicar, and had, as it now has, a wide parish, 
with many inhabitants of both sexes, beside 
a multitude of souls, men making daily 
journey by land or water, and coming to 
the church for masses and to hear other 
divine offices, and that the cure of souls 
could not be conveniently exercised nor the 
church duly served by the vicar alone, 
granted and gave to the said church 20 lib. 
worth of lands and annual rents within his 
lordship for divine service and the cure of 
souls, and support of the said parish church, 
that he desired the erection of the church 
into a collegiate church for a provost and 
6 chaplainries for as many chaplains, in 
addition to the rector, who was non-resi 
dent, and that he had also given 4 chaplain 
ries founded by his ancestors and of his 
patronage, the Chapel of Machan, the 
Chapel of Hamilton within his lordship, 
the Chapel of St Thomas near Glasgow, 
and the Chapel of Lanark, to be erected 
and incorporated for the chaplains, the 
present vicar to be installed as provost, and 



for the erection he proposed to enlarge and 
adorn the said church. The Pope gave 
mandate to William Turnbull, Bishop of 
Glasgow, on 4th Jan. 1450-1 to make due 
enquiries and carry out the erection. On 
9th Aug. and 18th Sept. 1451 the Bishop, 
"being occupied daily about the King in 
arduous and necessary business of the 
realm," gave commission to Thomas 
Spens, Bishop of Galloway, and Archibald, 
Abbot of Holyrood, to carry out Lord 
Hamilton s wishes; and on 15th March 
1452-3 the Abbot of Paisley was given 
Papal Mandate to confirm the erection 
carried out by the said bishop and abbot. 
But a dispute arose as to the patronage of 
the provostry, George de Graham, vicar of 
the church, being presented by Lord Hamil 
ton, and Martin Waus by Thomas Waus, 
Dean of Glasgow. Appeal was made to 
Rome, and by Bull of 10th April 1462 Pope 
Pius II gave decision for Lord Hamilton, 
confirmed the collegiate erection, and 
directed the Archdeacon of Glasgow and 
the Provost of St John the Baptist s 
Church, Corstorphine, to induct and install 
George de Graham as provost of "the 
new College." The fruits of the perpetual 
vicarage of the church were appropriated 
to the provostry. On 5th Jan. 1450-1 
Relaxation of Penance was given by the 
Pope to all visiting and giving alms on the 
Assumption and Annunciation of the 
Virgin for the building, enlargement and 
conservation of the Collegiate Church of 
St Mary, erected by Lord Hamilton"; and 
it is on record that Lord Hamilton built 
new the parish kirk of Hamilton, the 
queere, and two cross isles, and steeple, all 
of polished stone." The church, as noted, 
was dedicated to the Virgin Mary. By deed 
of gift in 1552 the Abbot and Convent of 
Paisley united the Church of Carmunnock 
to the collegiate church, and made suppli 
cation to the Archbishop of Glasgow to 
confirm the union. But it appears that the 
confirmation did not take place. On 12th 
Oct. 1538 Sir David Hamilton is recorded 
as Rector of Kilbride and Prebendary of 
Hamilton, which may indicate that the 
Rectory of Kilbride was a prebend of 
Hamilton Collegiate Church. [CaL Papal 



260 



HAMILTON HARTHILL 



[PRESB. OF 



Regs., Letters, x, 75-6, 85, 97, xi, 438-9; 
Theiner s Vet. Mon., 438; Hist. MSS. 
Commis. Report, xi, 20, 49.] 

FIRST CHARGE 
JOHN DAVIDSON, M.A., min. in 



1563 



1563. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Stirling, etc.] 



JOHN RAYES, exhorter and teacher 



1563 



of the young, 1563. [Comps. Sub 
Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 



ARCHIBALD BARRIE, M.A., vicar 
pensioner 1571-7, probably did not 
conform. [Comps. Gen. Coll. of 
Thirds.] 

JAMES HAMILTON, on 27th Aug. 
1 609 1 639 t ^ ie General Assembly at Edin 
burgh "upon his humble supplica 
tion and confession declared him capable 
of the Ministry. Marr. Katherine, daugh. 
of James Hamilton of Torrens. [House 
of Hamilton, 855; Peterkin s Record of the 
Kirk, 261.] 

ROBERT DOUGLAS, line 5, for "that 
1675 year" read "1682." 

ROBERT SCOTT, had issue Marie, 

bapt. 31st July 1678; Anna, bapt. 

2nd May 1680 (marr. William Lyell, 

Dysart), died 21st April 1753. He marr. 

(2) cont. 1st Nov. 1701 Barbara, daugh. of 

George Martin, min. of Dundee South, and 

widow of Dr Charles Carnegie, min. of 

Farnell, Dean of Brechin, and had issue 

William, died March 1703, aged 1 1 months. 



1687 



JOHN INGLIS, line 21, for "John" 
read "Alexander"; resident with 
his wife and three children, including 
Christian, in Lady Yester s parish, Edin 
burgh, 10th Nov. 1691. [Lady Yester s 
Poll Tax Roll] 

ALEXANDER FINDLATER, born 



1715 



1666, son of Alexander F. of the 



parish of Dyke, and Christian 
Brodie. Issue Alexander, born 23rd Dec. 
1695; Thomas, min. of West Linton, born 
2nd July 1697; Elizabeth, born 10th June 
1699; Robert, born 1st May 1702; Ann, 



born 25th Sept. 1705; Basil, born 8th 
March 1707; Joan, bora 16th May 1709; 
Charles, born 14th Aug. 1711; Christian, 
born 18th Dec. 1713 (marr. Alexander 
Strang of Burnhouse); James, born 7th 
March 1716, died 6th April 1769. 

EDWARD LITTON THOMSON, died 

t 17th Sept. 1923; his widow, Ella 

Gunn Russell, marr. (2) 29th Jan. 

1934 Robert Gordon Watt Brown, Dundee. 

NORMAN MACLEOD CAIE, granted 
191? A. and S. llth June 1930, died 2nd 
May 1937; his son, Norman, died 
4th Aug. 1931; his daugh., Annabel Hynd- 
man (marr. 31st Aug. 1934 Ronald John, 
son of William Rankine, Portkel, Kil- 
creggan); his widow, Mary Rennie Mathers 
Wood, died at Stewarton 24th Dec. 1947. 

SECOND CHARGE 
WILLIAM ROBERTSON, his daughs. 



1858 



Elizabeth Margaret, died llth 



Jan. 1924; Agnes Fraser, died 22nd 
Jan. 1931. 

JOHN LANCELOT CONSTANTINE 



1917 



TULLOCH, died 2nd Feb. 1926; 



his widow, Janet Richmond Mac- 
donald, died at Edinburgh 13th June 1932; 
his son, John Lancelot Hill, C.A., died 10th 
Dec. 1935; his daugh., Jean Margaret 
Richmond (marr. 17th Oct. 1936 Alexander 
Edward Turnbull, M.B., Ch.B., Yetholm). 

MATTHEW STEWART, trans, from 

Keith (<?.v.) 3rd Sept. 1926; trans, to 

First Charge, A. and S., 10th Nov. 

1930; D.D. (Glasgow, 1944); Moderator of 

General Assembly May 1947; dem. 15th 

Nov. 1948. Issue of 2nd marriage 

Frances Mary, born 17th Feb. 1927; Norah 

Evelyn, born 17th Feb. 1930. 



HARTHILL 

ALEXANDER WATT, died at Polmont 

21st March 1928; his wife, Sarah 

Alice Mahon, died 19th Jan 1922; 

his daugh., Agnes Mary Stewart (marr. Mr 

McDonald, Turduff). 



HAMILTON] 



HARTHILL EAST KILBRIDE and TORRANCE 



261 



KENNEDY ADAMS, dem. 31st Dec. 
1919 1937, died Ayr 14th Aug. 1942, s.p. 

(This parish transferred to Presb. of 
Bathgate after Union 1929.) 

HOLYTOWN 

JOHN DALZIEL DYKES, died 28th 
1906 March 1936. 

CARFIN 

WILLIAM NOTMAN NEILL, died 7th 
1919 Oct. 1925. 

JOHN HENDERSON MACKENZIE, 



1929 



formerly of Nesting (q.v.), trans. 

from St Andrews, Berwick, 30th 
July 1929; appointed by Home Mission 
19th Nov. 1929, dem. 31st Dec. 1945. 



KENMUIR 

GEORGE ALEXANDER STALKER, 



1910 



dem. 18th Jan. 1926; his wife, 



Gavina Elizabeth Young, died 3rd 
Dec. 1934. Marr. (2) llth July 1942 Edna 
Rachael Ratcliffe. 

ROBERT LAURIE KILGOUR, born 

1926 4t ^ Oct> 18 ^ at Dar J eenn S India, 
son of Robert K., D.D., and Agnes 
Elizabeth Horn; educ. Morrison s Aca 
demy, Crieff; St Paul s School, London; 
and Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1921); served 
in Great War in France and Mesopotamia, 
1914-19 (wounded, despatches); licen. by 
Presb. of Glasgow 1924; assistant, Hillhead, 
Glasgow, and Dunblane Cathedral 1924; 
ord. 3rd June 1926; trans, to Elie Old, 22nd 
July 1931. Marr. 18th Jan. 1939 Elsie 
Johnston, daugh. of W. J. Christian, 
Ealing; dem. 15th July 1943 and became 
Missionary at Lovedale. Publication The 
Scottish Universities 1 Mission. 

EAST KILBRIDE and TORRANCE 

The right to have a chapel in the Castle 
of Kilbride was granted to Roger de Valons 
by Joceline, Bishop of Glasgow, 1175-99 
ratified by Parliament 1182-9. By charter 
of llth June 1618 James VI mortified to 
Glasgow University the Church of Kilbride, 



and also, on the resignation of the Arch 
bishop of Glasgow, the Church of Torrens, 
"a small parish and least of all able to 
sustain a ministrie" and "inseparably 
united to Kilbride." The Charter further 
narrated that Torrens had "always been 
a pendicle of Kilbride, and that the entire 
parishioners through diverse years have 
frequented Kilbride." [Reg. of Glasgow, 
i, 48; Acts Scott. Parl., i, 386; Reg. Great 
Seal, vii, 1840.] 

JOHN STEVENSON, M.A., parson 
and vicar, was dead 1563. [Comps. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 

ALEXANDER LINDSAY, M.A., in 

Auldhouse, reader before 14th July 
1568, died 1589; had issue Archi 
bald; James. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Stirling, etc.; Edin. Tests., vii, 142.] 

JOHN COLWYER, M.A., min. in 1569. 



1563 



1569 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stir 
ling, etc.] 

JAMES FLEMING, son of John F., 
merchant, Glasgow. [House of 



1580 



Hamilton, 621.] 



ROBERT DARROCH, min., pres. to 
parsonage of Torrens. [Reg. Sec. 



1584 



Sig., Ixix, 221.] 



DAVID SHARPE, M.A. (Glasgow, 
1608 1596). 

JAMES CRICHTON, (2) marr. cont. 
1663 24th Jan. 1674 Jean, daugh. of Sir 
Robert Elphinstone of Quarrell. 
[Deeds, Mack., 1705, No. 325.] 

SIR HENRY WELLWOOD MON- 
1837 CRIEFF, line 19, for "Glasgow" 
read "Edinburgh"; col. 2, line 12, 
for "characters" read "Churches." 

WILLIAM CARRICK, pres. by Crown 
1843 21st July 1843. 

WILLIAM JACK, granted A. and S. 

3rd May 1932 retired to Colinton, 
died 30th March 1935; his widow, 

Margaret Gilmour Giffen, died 5th Dec. 

1937. 
(Parish transferred at Union 1929 to 

Presb. of Glasgow.} 



262 



LARKHALL SHOTTS 



[PRESB. OF 



LARKHALL 

JOHN CRICHTON, his widow, Mary 
Ann Slater Giffen, died 6th Nov. 
1926. 



1856 



JOHN DONALDSON McCALLUM, 



1885 



Moderator of General Assembly 



1926; dem. 30th Nov. 1929; died at 
MorTat 7th Oct. 1930. 

MEADOWFIELD 

NEIL LIVINGSTONE THOMSON, 



1893 



licen. 14th May 1890; dem. 15th 



May 1932; died at Hamilton 13th 
Feb. 1937. 

(Parish transferred to Presb. of Bathgate 
1929.) 

NEW MONKLAND 

LUDOVIC SOMERVILL, marr. 
Marion, daugh. of Alexander 
Hamilton of Haggs. 

THOMAS FREEBAIRN, his daugh., 
Margaret Molyson (marr. 1815 
Robert Monteith). 

ROBERT ARCHIBALD, his daugh., 



1846 



Marion Birkmyre, died 24th Aug. 
1924. 



1876 



JOHN McGAVIN BOYD, his widow, 
Janet Fulton Brown, died 7th Jan. 
1930; his daugh., Eleanor Brown 
(marr. 18th June 1930 Henry Tod Robert 
son, Meadowbank, Airdrie). 

OLD MONKLAND 

DAVID HAMILTON, exhorter 1568, 
reader 14th Sept. 1579. [Comps. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, etc.; 
Edin. Tests., vii, 280.] 



1568 



JAMES HAMILTON, Bishop of Argyll, 
held parsonage of Monkland and 
Cadder 21st May 1574. [Coll. of 
Charters, xi, 2379.] 



JOHN BELL, pres. to vicarage of Cad 
der and Monkland 25th Nov. 1594 
on dem. of Michael Chisholm. 
[Reg. Sec. Sig., xlvii, 97.] 



1594 



JOHN LOTHIAN, his daugh., Eliza- 
1*1* beth (marr. Matthew Ramsay, min. 

1636 r r i \ 

of Paisley.) 

HUGH WEIR, marr. after 5th Dec. 
1653 J 653 Janet, daugh. of Thomas Bogle, 
maltman and burgess, Glasgow. 
[G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., vi, 389.] 

PETER CAMERON BLACK, his 

widow, Jane Brown, died 21st June 
1932. 



1864 



1894 



MATTHEW SCOTT DICKSON, D.D. 

(Glasgow, 6th June 1932), vice- 
chairman of General Trustees of the 
Church of Scotland, died 19th April 1938 

OVERTOWN 

DAVID LIVINGSTON THOMSON, 
1888 died 8th Aug. 1922. 

THOMAS MILLER McKENDRICK, 



1922 

1927. 



ord. 13th Dec. 1922; trans, to 
Laurieston, Glasgow, 24th Feb. 



1927 



HECTOR MCLENNAN MACLEOD, 

born Glasgow 31st Dec. 1901; son 
of Hector MacL. and Elizabeth 
Taylor; educ. at Hyndland School and 
Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1923), B.D. 
(1926); licen. by Presb. of Glasgow April 
1926; assistant Barony May 1925 to May 
1927; ord. 8th June 1927; trans to Killearn 
24th June 1931. 

QUARTER 

GEORGE BLAIR, died at Blantyre 
1881 23rd Jan. 1929. 



1920 



THOMAS MURRAY INGLIS, trans, 
from Twechar (q.v.) 14th Sept. 1920; 
trans, to Birnie 26th June 1929. 



SHOTTS 

Before 1476 James Hamilton, lord of 
Bertram-Shotts and Hamilton, founded 
and built at Bertram-Shotts a chapel dedi 
cated to St Catharine, which the Bishop 
erected into a parish church. At the church 
he also built a hospital to receive the poor 



HAMILTON] 



siiorrs STOM HOI si 



of Christ. The reason that he assigned for 
the church was that "the desert -place of 
Bertram-Shotts is distant about S mik-s 
from the Parish Church of St Mai\ of 
Bothwell, and is remote and like a desert 
though inhabited; and it is an infertile and 
cold mountain region, on account of \\liu h 
cold and the distance of the place many of 
the inhabitants there die without receiving 
the sacraments, and incur many other 
dangers," to avoid which he had founded 
the chapel. He further stated that as the 
rector of the church for the time being, and 
the poor of the hospital were alike without 
means of sustenance, he proposed to endow 
the church and hospital, and to provide to 
the said parish certain new possessions 
reclaimed by him at great cost from the sea 
by permission of the King. In a petition 
to Pope Sixtus J V he narrated the foregoing, 
and asked the Pope to confirm the founda 
tion and to declare the possessions re 
claimed or to be reclaimed from the sea, 
which are new and have never paid teinds 
or first fruits to any church, to belong to 
the said church and the hospital, although 
the lands are situated in the bounds of the 
Parish of Kinneil (on the Forth), and to 
provide the teinds and first fruits to the 
church and the rector for the time. On 30th 
April 1476 a Bull in terms of the prayer of 
the petition was issued by Pope Sixtus. 
Before 13th Oct. 1488 the patronage of the 
church belonged to the Collegiate Church 
of Bothwell. It would appear that St 
Catherine gave place to the Virgin Mary, 
for in 1552 there is reference to the 
* Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary in 
Bertram-Shottis. " [Reports Hbt. MSS. 
Commit^ xi, 48; Reg. Great Seal, ii, 1784; 
Descriptions of Sheriff dom of Lanark and 
Redrew, 43n.] 

JOHN ROBESOUN or ROBERTSON, 
reader: vicar and reader in 1569. 
[fifci. Test^ ii, JOSJ 



THOMAS HAMILTON, JHntoii a* 
ttfc Am 1 576, JM ScpC, 




1551-Z {Jfey. Great 



JAMI S ( UKUII . his son, \N .11, ...... 

appinituvd 10 Williiim tiiiiMSon, 

iiu-u II.IMI. I .lniiMM -ii ISlh Juno 
1673, 



I(>SH 



(il-OKi.l < I II AND. his son 

Kolvil. .ippu-nf IUH! It) UoluMl Sri 
iii - m. i. I.. mi I llinlMiryh, ni 
Ail)-,. 1 70s. \\illi.ini. iippirnluvd In Wil 
Hum Johnston, skimm. I <iini>iiii-ii " ih 
May 1706. 

WII.I.IAM MARTIN WATT, llJN 

danr.li . I Irlrn I h/.iln ih .h. .1 n-l 

Illlll 



IH92 



JOHN M( Nl( 01,1, KAMSAY, lino 2, 
IM lt IH03" read "1857"; died 27lli 
Sr.pi. 1914. Man. 41 h July 192.1 
Jancl Williamson, cldesl dim^li. of John 
Dunn, schoolmaster, Nellierhy, 1 1. u Hull 

SIONKIIIJ I) 

IMOMAS I HVDI , dir.d ;ii ( aidonald 
JHHO 2()th Oct. 1925. 

JAMI-.S LA MONT, born UMcr /Mi 
July 1870, *on of John I,,, farmer, 
and Ui/abeth Jane Wylic; e<Juc, l 
Univ, of Cilasg^iw and Oucen d ( oil /" 
ord. to Belalie and (fare, Australia, I ^ i 
adm. to We*t Scotland Street, 
1904; tran. to Park Terrace, 
1908; tran*. U> Augustine U,K Church, 
Glasgow, 1911; tran*. and adm, Hth M / 
1920; dcm. \\ \% %tatu 16th May 1923; a/I m 
to Martyr* U,F, Church, Dundee, M/24; 
Iran*, to Hope (Jhurch, Warrrphray, 21rd 
Nov. 1934, Marr, 2*th Ant/l WX, ( hut- 
Jotte (died 7th May 19^9), 4NJgb, tit Kohert 
Ralu/m, and ha* **<* /e^ 
Adelaide, M,A., rx/rn 2nd Aug. 
29th Dec, 193$ Jacob Morr^/n, M.A., 
kacfcrr, Giajyow), 

WILLIAM Hl.t .tuWN MAC- 
OIARM10, BJX, tram, fww> KP 
lingry ^n; JOlli Oct, 1^23; I/am, 
19 UNWM Memoiial, Forfa/, Mil 



JOHN f turn ANT, U* 



264 



STONEHOUSE WISHAW [PRESB. OF HAMILTON 



JAMES WYPER WILSON, dem. 29th 
1887 Sept. 1925, died 10th May 1936. 

THOMAS McCAUGHAN, M.A., 

trans, from Douglas Water (q.v.) 
llth Feb. 1926. Granted an A. and 

S. 5th Feb. 1935; his daugh., Elizabeth 

Maude, died 20th Jan. 1943. 



UDDINGSTON 

JOHN MACKINTOSH, died at Edin 
burgh 15th June 1921; his widow, 
Annie Alexandra Lindsay, marr. (2) 

20th Jan. 1927 Thomas Winn Boyce of Hill 

House, Ely, Cambridgeshire. 



1918 



GUY STEEL PEEBLES, trans, to 
Birnie 29th March 1933; his daughs. 
Margaret Eleanor (marr. llth 
April 1928 Claude Hilary Taylor); Mary 
Agnes (marr. 25th April 1939 Arthur Paul 
Barry, Old Court House, Lempsfield, 
Surrey). 



WISHAW 

ALEXANDER HARPER, his widow, 
Mary Thomson, died 26th Feb. 
1922; his son, Alexander Bain, min. 
of Monzievaird. 



1870 



WILLIAM CLARK, died 20th Dec. 



1911 



1924; his son, Frank Davidson, died 
at Fettes College llth April 1938. 



DONALD CHISHOLM WHITELAW, 



1925 



born Auchterarder 29th Jan. 1886; 



son of Robert W. and Isabella 
Mailer; educ. at Camelon Public School, 
Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (20th June 1923); 
licen. by Presb. of Glasgow, Jan. 1925; 
assistant So. Dalziel 1924-5; ord. 29th 
April 1925. Marr. 2nd July 1912 Agnes 
Mirk, daugh. of George Fotheringham and 
Margaret Henderson, and has issue 
Robert George, M.A. (Hons.), born 29th 
April 1913, medical student, Glasgow; 
Margaret Henderson, born 30th Nov. 1914, 
domestic science student; Ian Chisholm, 
born 26th May 1919, Bank of Scotland, 
Motherwell. 



PRESBYTERY OF LANARK 



CARLUKE 

DAVID FORREST, reader 16th Nov. 
1574 1578. [tfw. Tests., vii, 42.] 



1874 



DANIEL McLAREN, his daugh., 
Alexandrina Grace Janet (Mrs 
Goldsmid), died East London, South 
Africa, 9th March 1942; his son, Herbert 
Wroughton, C.A., died Guildford 10th 
March 1947. 

FRANCIS MARMADUKE HAUX- 
WELL, died 20th Feb. 1929; his 



1888 

1927. 



wife, Helen Stalker, died 4th March 



WALTER GORDON CARTER, born 



1929 



Hastings, Ontario, Canada, 30th 
Oct. 1889, son of John C. and Janet 
Fife; educ. at Norwood High School and 
Queen s College, Kingston, B.A. (1914); 
licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh 1920; ord. 
to St John s, Hawick, 5th Nov. 1920; 
trans, and adm. 21st Aug. 1929; died 5th 
Dec. 1936. Marr. 29th Dec. 1917 Agnes 
Mildred, daugh. of Duncan James and 
Esther Mitchell, and had issue Esther 
Muriel Fife Carter, born 14th May 1922. 
His widow re-marr. 25th Sept. 1945. 



CARMICHAEL 

GEORGE DOUGLAS, parson 1568. 



1568 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 
etc.] 



NINIAN SWANE, reader 1568. 



1569 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 
etc.] 



JOHN CUNNINGHAM, vicar. [Acts 
1573 and Dec., liv, 22.] 

JOHN S YMONTON, line 4, for Jean 
1597 read "Isobel." 



LACHLAN ROSS was vicar of 
1687 Ardagh. 



JAMES DUNCAN WALKER GIB 
SON, died 16th May 1924; his 
widow, Jessie Blackburn Craig, died 
14th July 1933. 



1884 



THOMAS WATT McANDREW, his 

wife, Christina Mackie Wilson, died 
8th April 1939; his daugh., Mar 
garet Craig Wilson (marr. 28th Feb. 1924 
Alexander Murdoch). 

CARNWATH 

THOMAS KING, exhorter in 1568 and 
1569; in 1578 he held the chapel of 
Muirhall. [Comps. Gen. Coll. of 

Thirds; Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 

etc.] 

JOHN CUNNINGHAM, vicar and 
1573 parson. [Acts and Dec., liv, 22.] 

HEW SOMERVILLE, held "the haill 
1 __ q chaplainrie of the yle of Carnwath. 
[Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.} 

THOMAS MAXWELL, pres. to 

1588 y i cara S e pensionary 1 1 th Jan. 1 590-1 

on death of Sir John Cunninghame 

and again 24th May 1594. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 

Ixi, 114; Ixvi, 137.] 

THOMAS LIVINGSTONE, M.A., par- 
lsg4 son and vicar in 1568. [Comps. 
Gen. Coll. and Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Dumfries, etc.] 

PATRICK SCOTT, his son, James, 
apprenticed to Archibald Punton, 



1718 



baxter, 29th Nov. 1738. 



ROBERT JACK, line 11, for "Sept." 
1740 rea d "Oct." Addl. issue Mary, 
born 28th April 1740. 



265 



266 



CARNWATH CRAWFORD 



[PRESB. OF 



LEWIS BEATON, his daugh., Patricia, 
1878 died 27th Dec. 1929. 



1905 



DAVID HAY SAWERS, dem. 7th Aug. 
1938; his wife, Agnes McKean, died 
16th Feb. 1947. 

AUCHENGRAY CHAPEL 

WILLIAM RICHMOND SCOTT, 



1908 



trans, to North Ronaldshay 1st Dec. 
1920. 



CARSTAIRS 

JOHN SCOTT, vicar 1563. [Acts and 
Dec., xxxvii, 364; Comps. Sub Coll. 



1563 



of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 



THOMAS RUSSELL, reader 1563. 

[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 
1563 n 

etc.] 

JAMES STIRLING, was excommuni 
cated by the Bishop of Glasgow 
24th April 1576. [Book of the 
Universal Kirk, 357.] 

JOHN KINNAIRD, son of Patrick K. 
of that ilk, pres. to vicarage 26th 
April 1572 on death of John Scott; 
was before General Assembly as a delin 
quent in 1575 and was excommunicated by 
the Bishop of Glasgow. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 
i, (3), 16; Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds.} 

WALTER HALDANE, min. here, pres. 
_. to parsonage 21st Feb. 1574 on dem. 
of James Stirling. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 
i, (4), 30.] 

GEORGE MOSMAN, pres. to vicarage 
3rd Sept. 1580. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 
i, 39.] 

WILLIAM GRAHAME, son of James 



1580 



1580 



G., burgess of Edinburgh, as reader 
here pres. to vicarage 8th March 
1580-1 and 9th Dec. 1581 vacant by deposi 
tion of John Kinnaird for slaughter of John 
Ramsay, for which he was declared a rebel. 
[Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 51, 63.] 

JOHN LINDSAY, min. here, pres. in 



1581 

i, 61.] 



1581 to parsonage on dem. of 
Richard Weir. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 



ALEXANDER LIVINGSTONE, line 2, 
1672 for "1639" read "1640." 

ALAN JOHNSTONE, resident with his 
family in Lady Yester s parish 10th 
Nov. 1694; his son, Andrew, appren 

ticed to John Law, goldsmith, 17th Feb. 

1692. [Poll Tax Roll.] 

JOHN OLIPHANT, his son, James, 



1693 



apprenticed to James Borthwick of 
Stow, surgeon, 31st March 1675. 



ROBERT MEREDITH SHARPE, died 
5th June 1923; his widow, Helen 



1888 



Russell Orr, died 8th Nov. 1944. 



GEORGE WILLIAM KINNAIRD 



1923 



MACPHERSON, B.D., ord. 23rd 



1928 



Nov. 1923; trans, to Jedburgh 22nd 
Sept. 1927. 

JOHN SMART, trans, from Carmun- 
nock (<7.v.) 15th March 1928; had 
issue John Daniel Arthur Mardon, 
born 1st Aug. 1918, surgeon lieutenant, 
R.N.; Helen Isabel, born 26th Oct. 1924. 

CRAWFORD 

In 1327 David Lindsay, Lord of Craw 
ford, granted to Newbattle Abbey for the 
souls of himself and Marie, his wife, the 
Chapel of St Thomas the Martyr beside 
Crawford Castle, with the old manse for a 
dwelling and garden, etc., the abbey being 
bound to supply the chapel with a monk or 
secular priest, and keep it in repair. 
[Chart, of Newbattle, 117-20.] 

JAMES DOBBIE, reader. [Comps. Sub 
1563 Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 

JAMES FOTHERINGHAM, reader in 



1568 



1568 and 1569. [Comps. Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 



ROBERT LANDELLS, as min. pres. 



1588 



to vicarage 17th Feb. 1588-9 on 
death of William Livingstone. 
[P. S. Reg., lix, 28.] 

JOHN ROSS, his mother, Elizabeth 

Pursell; he marr. Mary, daugh. of 

John Clerk, W.S.; his daughs. 

Agnes Colquhoun (marr. John Bower, 



LANARK] 



CRAWFORD DOUGLAS 



267 



surgeon, R.N.); Helen Campbell, died un- 
marr. 1917; Eliza Fletcher (marr. 1849 
John Craw Richardson of Pont-y-Gwyder 
and Glanbrydan Park); his son, Archibald 
Campbell, died of cholera at Madeira 6th 
Sept. 1856. 

JAMES ALEXANDER BURDON, 
1870 pres. by Crown 30th May 1870. 

CHRISTOPHER McKUNE, died 20th 



1876 



Sept. 1921; his widow, Elizabeth A. 
Chute, died 21st Jan. 1945. 



THOMAS LOGAN DOUGLAS, trans. 



1922 



1579 



from Gorbals far.v.) 21st Feb. 1922. 

Addl. issue Dr Laetitia Janet Wil 
liams, born 2nd Dec. 1918 (marr. 10th July 
1942 Flying Officer Atholl Gordon Forbes, 
M.B., Ch.B., son of J. Grant Forbes, min. 
of Forteviot). 

CRAWFORDJOHN 

JOHN HAMILTON of Gilkerscleuch, 
son of Sir James H. of Crawford- 
john, and Helen Cunyngham of 
Caprington; parson in 1577, died 13th July 
1628; marr. (1) cont. 1583-4 Agnes, daugh. 
of William Baillie of Lamington, from 
whom he was divorced for adultery, and 
had issue Mary; (2) Margaret, daugh. of 
James Hamilton of Neilsland, and had 
issue John of Gilkerscleuch; William, died 
13th Nov. 1621; James, burgess and guild 
burgess of Edinburgh 4th Aug. 1630; 
Thomas; Mary (marr. Hugh Weir of Clow- 
burn); Ann (marr. John Weir, min. of 
Morton). [House of Hamilton, 282; 
Comps. Gen. Coll. of Thirds; Laing Charters, 
1347; Reg. Mag. Sig., iv, 119, v, 1698.] 

WILLIAM GOLDIE, his daughs. 
18 Margaret, died 3rd May 1930; Isa 
bella, died 14th Sept. 1937. 

JAMES COWAN, his daugh., Mary 
1866 Murray Grace, killed in motor 
accident, Queensferry Road, 20th 
Oct. 1934. 

GEORGE McWILLIAM, died at 
Troon 9th Feb. 1933; his wife, Mary 
Inglis, died 7th July 1932. Publica 



tion A Poem, The Evolution of a Dominie 
(Alma Mater, Aberdeen University Maga 
zine). 

DOUGLAS 

By Papal Bull of 27th March 1423 assent 
was given to a petition by Archibald, Earl 
of Douglas, for the erection of the church 
into a collegiate church, and the annexation 
of the Churches of Crawford and Car- 
michael to the same. The fruits of the 
church were to be devoted to the provision 
of a perpetual vicar and also of canons and 
prebendaries. On 7th Aug. 1448, in re 
sponse to a petition by William, Earl of 
Douglas, Pope Nicholas V granted man 
date to William Turnbull, Bishop of Glas 
gow, to erect the church into a collegiate 
church for a provost and 13 prebendaries. 
The Earl had assigned for the purpose 
various rents and goods, and the fruits of 
the Churches of Foresta (Carluke), Culter, 
and Glenquhon (Glenholm), said churches 
to be united and appropriated to the capi 
tular mensa. The Bishop was authorised to 
create and institute the provost from the 
fruits of Douglas Church, and from the 
said other fruits to create the 13 preben 
daries. The Churches of Carluke, Culter 
and Glenholm were to be served each by 
its corresponding prebendary. On 1st Feb. 
1450-1 relaxation of penance was granted 
to all who "visit and give alms for the 
completion, conservation, and maintenance 
of the Parish Church of Douglas erected 
by Papal authority into the College Church 
of St Bride, which William, Earl of Douglas, 
has by wonderful and expensive work 
caused to be built anew"; somewhat 
earlier, on 15th Jan. 1450-1, there occurs, 
unnamed, "the Provost of the College 
Church of St Bride of Douglas"; and on 
31st Jan. 1488-9 George Douglas, son and 
heir apparent of Archibald, Earl of Angus, 
received a charter which included the 
"patronage of the Provostship of Doug 
las." The erection, however, was not 
completed. On 7th March 1483-4 Archi 
bald, Earl of Angus, granted to a chaplain 
at the Altar of the Virgin Mary in the 
church, 2 oxgates of land in le Scrogtoun, 
and this was repeated on 16th June 1506; 



268 



DOUGLAS FORTH 



[PRESB. OF 



and on 1 1th March 1535-6 Sir John Purvis, 
chaplain, was presented to the Altar of St 
Thomas in succession to the late Sir John 
Inglis. Barbour (the Bruce) narrates that 
the bones of "The Good Sir James 
Douglas" were brought back from Spain, 
whence he had gone for the purpose that 
is set forth in a Bull of Pope John XXII, 
6th Aug. 1331, granting absolution on the 
petition of Thomas, Earl of Moray, "to 
those who at the King s bidding took out 
his heart to be carried into Battle against 
the Saracens, and richt honorabilly / 
Intill the kirk of Douglas war / Erdit with 
dule and mekil car,/" and that by his son, 
Archibald, there was erected there an 
alabaster tomb, which is considered to be 
identical with a tomb in a still existing 
portion of the old church. The present 
church was erected in 1781. By charter of 
22nd June 1531 James V granted to Sir 
George Eirmare and his successors as chap 
lains in the Chapel of the Blessed Virgin 
Mary of Parrockholm the 4 merk lands of 
Parrockholm, with enclosures of the same, 
in the Lordship of Douglas. This may 
refer to the foundation of the chapel. At 
Crookbat of Douglas Hugh, Earl of Doug 
las, who died after 1347, founded a chapel, 
dedicating it to St John the Baptist, the 
endowment including fees from the ferry 
boat, with provision for keeping the boat 
in repair. [Reg. Great Seal, \\, 1586, 1827< 
2974, iii, 1036, iv, 2180; Reg. Sec. Seal, ii, 
1978; Theiner s Vet. Man., 251; Papal 
Warrants 1421-59, 78-81, 86, MS. Reg. 
Ho.; Cal. Papal Letters, x, 84, 429; The 
Douglas Bk., iii, 242-4.] 

WALTER KENNEDY, parson, de- 



1561 



ceased. [Acts and Dec., xxiii, 186, 
xxiv, 288.] 



WILLIAM COLHERD, reader, 1563. 



1563 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 
etc.] 



JOHN LIVERANCE, designated min. 
and parson 4th Sept. 1589. [Cal. 



1567 



of Charters, xiii, 3023.] 



THOMAS BANNATYNE, his son, 
William, born 1618, educ. at Edin- 



1621 



burgh Univ., became a Roman 



Catholic while travelling in France, entered 
Scots College at Rome 1641; ord. priest 
1646; app. Prefect Apostolic of Scotland 
1653, died 1661. 

ANDREW SIMSON, resident with wife 
1686 anc * tWO cm *dren, tne el der not H 
in Lady Yester s parish, 9th Nov. 
1694. [Poll Tax Roll, 31.] 

WILLIAM SMITH, died 22nd Sept. 
1858 1921. 

ALEXANDER SALMOND SMITH, 
Ig22 B.D., trans, from Pathhead (q.v.) 
20th April 1922. Addl. issue- 
Alexander Salmond, born 3rd Feb. 1920; 
Moira May Robertson, born 1 1 th June 1 929 . 



DOUGLAS WATER 

ANDREW HUTTON GILRUTH, died 
1892 at Edinburgh 30th Sept. 1925. 

THOMAS McCAUGHAN, trans, to 
1919 Stonehouse llth Feb. 1926. 

RHODERICK JAMES WILSON, born 
2fi 15th March 1897, son of Sir Court- 
hope W., K.C., Vice-Chancellor of 
the Duchy of Lancaster; educ. at Royal 
High School, Edinburgh, Birkenhead 
School, and Edinburgh Univ., M.A. (1922); 
licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh 19th Dec. 
1923; assistant at St Andrew s, Edinburgh, 
and Glasgow Cathedral ; ord. 24th June 1 926. 

FORTH 

WILLIAM PATERSON BROCK, died 
1884 at Rothesay 16th Dec. 1920. 

JOHN TORRENS DOUGHARTY, 
1921 B.A., adm. 29th June 1921; trans, 
to Kingston, Glasgow, 17th Nov. 
1926. 

CHARLES HEUGHAN, trans, from 



1927 



Carntyne (q.v., and Vol. I, 336) 3rd 
June 1927; died 8th April 1934, 
aged 49. Addl. issue Ruth Mary, born 
15th Jan. 1914 (marr. 24th Feb. 1942 
William Farrer, R.A.F.V.R.); Hazel Eliza 
beth, born 16th Sept. 1918; Miriam Mar 
garet, born 13th Jan. 1920. 



LANARK] 



HAYWOOD LANARK 



HAYWOOD 

GILBERT CLARK, dem. 5th June 
1923, died 24th May 1930. 



1884 



PETER CARMICHAEL MARR, for- 



1923 



merly min. of Strachan (q.v.\ assis 
tant Linlithgow; adm. 27th Nov. 
1923. Being charged with murder of J. M. 
Dalgleish, house painter, Leith, Aug. 1930, 
was found insane and confined in criminal 
lunatic asylum 17th Nov. 1930; died 15th 
July 1937. 

(This Charge was united with Wilsontown 
on Sth May 1938.) 

KIRKFIELDBANK 

JOHN ARNOTT HAMILTON, trans. 
1917 to Newbattle 14th July 1922. 

JOHN WILLIAMSON, trans, from 



1923 



Rousay (q.v) 5th Dec. 1922; trans. 



to St Andrew s, Johnstone, 30th 
Jan. 1928. 

JAMES LYON AINSLIE, born Leeds 
24th July 1873, son of William A.; 
educ. at Woodhouse Hall and at 

Leeds Grammar School, Westminster Col., 

Cambridge, and Glasgow Univ., B.D. 

(1913;, Ph.D. (1935), and Edinburgh; licen. 

by Presb. of Yorkshire; ord. 1904 to Har- 

bottle Presb. Church, Northumberland; 

trans, and adm. 12th July 1928; dem. 31st 

Aug. 1944. 

LANARK 

To Dryburgh Abbey David I gave the 
church and, along with it, the Chapel of 
Pedynana (Pettinain) and the Chapel of 
Imbristoun. The gift was confirmed by 
Herbert. Bishop of Glasgow 1147-64. 
Walter, Bishop of Glasgow 120&-32, con 
firmed to Dryburgh the Chapel of Clegern 
(Cleghorne), granted by Bishop Herbert. 
In the church there were altars dedicated 
respectively to the Virgin Mary and the 
Holy Rood; and probably the "Altarage 
of Sorrowflat, described as in the burgh, 
referred to an altar also situated in the 
church. To the Altar of the Virgin, James 
IV on 18th Oct. 1500 granted a tenement 
in the Burgh of Lanark which had fallen 



to the Crown through the bastardy <>1 I he- 
late owner. To the building of "the 
Church of St Nicholas of I ;m;u k M Andrew 
Allan, Lanark, bequeathed 5 murks in 1550, 
which may indicate that the Chupul of 
St Nicholas, as it is usually designated, 
underwent extensive repairs or rebuilding 
at that time. In the chapel there were 
altars dedicated respectively to the Virgin 
Mary, St Catherinu, the Holy Blond, and 
St Michael. On 7th March 1491 2 James 
IV, for the use of the lieges and for his 
favour towards Sir Stephen Lock hart of 
Cleghorne, Kt., patron of the Altar of St 
Catherine, granted to the chaplain of the 
said altar to have and hold a passage-boat 
across the Clyde at Clydsholm for the 
transportation of the lieges and goods, 
with free passage, entry and exit, and right 
to the profits arising therefrom. The boat 
had been placed there by the said chaplain, 
to meet the needs of the lieges who con 
verged upon that place in great numbers, 
and in the absence of a bridge or other 
means of transportation were liable to be 
exposed to danger and to perish in the 
waters. On 1st Aug. 1526 James V by 
letter ratified and approved the gift made 
by Thomas Newton, Sub-Prior of Dry 
burgh and the convent of the same, to Sir 
Thomas Mudy, chaplain, of a chaplainry 
founded in St Nicholas Chapel by the 
predecessors of the said sub-prior and con 
vent. Apparently the revenue of the Altar 
of the Virgin Mary in the chapel was 
derived from the barony of Jerviswood* 
The church or chapel at Nemphlar was 
united by King William the Lion to Lanark 
Church, of which it became a dependent 
chapel. It was situated on temple lands 
called Oldmanis-Apletree or Almansaple- 
tree, which were part of East Nemphlar. 
The Hospital and Chapel of St Leonard, 
founded before 1319, were situated beside 
the east well of the burgh. After the 
Reformation the church or chapel seerra 
to have had an attached area; and on 24th 
June 1609, under the designation of "Kirk 
of St Leonard s," it was united to the Kirk 
of Lanark, "wbeir the samin hes bene 
continwalie servh in tymes bypast," The 
friary of the Greyfriars was founded by 



270 



LANARK ST LEONARD S, LANARK 



[PRESB. OF 



Robert I either towards the close of 1328 
or in the early part of 1 329, the site granted 
by the King within the burgh being a manor 
and orchard enclosed by a wall, which by 
excambion he had acquired from Elene 
Quarantlay. In response to a petition by 
David II and his queen, Johanna, con 
firmation was granted on 29th Nov. 1346 
by Pope Clement VI. In 1550 Andrew 
Allan, Lanark, who desired that his body 
be buried in the "Aisle of St Mary" in the 
Church of the Friary, made bequests to the 
Church of the Friars of Lanark 40 sh., to 
the Church of the distinguished Friars 
(fratrum egregiorum) 40 sh., to the Church 
of the Friars 2 merks. Probably the various 
sums were bequeathed to the Greyfriars for 
different purposes, the scribe who copied 
the testament considering that he did 
enough if he stated merely the sum and the 
legatee; and the term "egregiorum" would 
be used not in regard of another Order of 
Mendicants, but as appreciative of the 
Greyfriars. [Reg. Great Seal, i, 76; ii, 
2093, 2549, 3809; iii, 1036; Reg. Sec. Seal, 
i, 3461, ii, 111; Excheq. Rolls, i, 163-4; 
Transcripts from the Vatican, i, 14, MS. 
Reg. Ho.\ Retours, ii, 116, xxxi, 212, xxxii, 
8, 40, 250; Acts Scott. Parl., iv, 441; Bk. of 
Dryburgh, Pref., Ixix, 34-5, 39-40, 250; 
Test, of Andrew Allan, 8th June 1550, Glas 
gow Commis.; Extracts from Recs. Burgh of 
Lanark, 15, 326, 354; Rymer s Foedera, ii, 
401.] 



1562 



DAVID CUNNINGHAM, marr. Mar 
garet Dalzell, who survived him. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Bene., 1571.] 



ROBERT LINDSAY, M.A., as min. 



1576 



pres. to vicarage 9th Feb. 1 587-8 on 
death of John Weir. His son, John, 

vicar of Monkton. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ivii, 

12, Ixxi, 230.] 

JOHN WEIR, vicar. [Reg. Abbrev. Feu 
1582 Charters of Church Lands, ii, 195.] 

WILLIAM SHARP, M.A., min. of 



1588 



Tongland, pres. to vicarage 21st 
June 1588 on death of Andrew 
Davidson. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixvii, 152]. 



WILLIAM BIRNIE, pres. in succession 
to Robert Lindsay .[Reg. Sec. Sig., 
Ixix, 188.] 

ROBERT BIRNIE. [G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., 
vi, 145, 3 Ser., xxxiii, 117, 25th Dec. 
1673.] 

JOHN BANNATYNE, p. 308, line 3, 
for "1685" read "1684"; line 22, 
for "1695-9" read "1695-1700." 



1688 



1708 



JOHN ORR, son of John O., factor to 
Sir Robert Denholm of Westhall. 
Marr. cont. 1st Sept. 1714 Susan 
Hall, daugh. of Eupham Christie; col. ii, 
line 5, delete s.p. [Reg. of Deeds, Mack., 
clviii, 17th Nov. 1735.] 

THOMAS LITTLE, pres. by Crown 
18?2 21st Nov. 1871; his son, Thomas 
Gavin Steel, died Bombay Feb. 
1927. 

ROBERT MARCUS DICKSON, dem. 
1905 30th Sept. 1948. 



NEW LANARK 

JAMES FRENCH, died 30th June 
1876 1927. 



ST LEONARD S, LANARK 

ROBERT LANG PINKERTON, trans. 
1915 to Ecclesmachen 17th Sept. 1924. 

NINIAN ELLIOT, M.A., ord. 19th 



1925 



Feb. 1925; trans, to Slamannan llth 
April 1928. 



WILLIAM GILBERT LIMOND, born 



1928 



15th April 1889, son of John L., 



May bole, and Mary Hayle; educ. 
Ayr Grammar School and Edinburgh 
Univ.; licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh 26th 
March 1924; ord. assistant South Leith 1st 
March 1925; adm. to Westruther 14th Jan. 
1926; trans, and adm. 27th Sept. 1928. 
Marr. 22nd Dec. 1925 Agnes Fairlie, elder 
daugh. of Charles Thorn, Lagura, Ayr, and 
has issue John Charles, born 16th Feb. 
1928. 



LANARK] 



LAW PETTINAIN 



271 



LAW 

WILLIAM WHITEHEAD, trans, to 
1914 Ormiston 26th Sept. 1924. 

WILLIAM ANGUS WALLACE, adm. 
llth Feb. 1925; trans, to Fairmuir, 
Dundee, 15th Dec. 1926. 



1925 



WEILD ANDERSON, born Pollok- 



1927 



shields 30th Nov. 1885, son of 



James C. A., Glasgow, and Mary 
Hutchison; educ. Blair Lodge and St An 
drews Univ.; licen. by Presb. of Abernethy; 
ord. 20th April 1927; dem. 7th July 1940; 
died 18th Nov. 1940. 

(Charges united 1th July 1940.) 

LEADHILLS 

GEORGE RUSSELL, ord. 1843; trans. 
1843 to Cromarty 27th Aug. 1846. 

JAMES SYMINGTON, died at Kirn 



1878 



23rd Sept. 1921; his widow, Eliza 
beth Kenny, died 8th Dec. 1939. 



JOHN YOUNGSON THOMSON, born 

1917 29th July 1877 (not 1878), son of 

John T., Beverley Hall, Chicago; 

adm. 18th Dec. 1917; trans, to Greenock 

South 22nd June 1920. 

CHARLES KEITH McWILLIAM, ord. 
igift 17th Sept. 1920; trans, to St Thomas, 
Leith, llth April 1923. 

ROBERT CONDIE HUNTER, born 
1923 Bathgate 1861, son of Henry H.; 
educ. Wemvss and Univ. of Edin 
burgh; formerly of Annbank, Asquith, 
Canada, 1910; Westport 1913; St Paul s, 
Invercargill, 1914; Queenstown, New Zea 
land, 1917 (0.v.); adm. 17th July 1923; dem. 
1936; died 18th Sept. 1939. Marr. 1913 
Mary Ann Ellen, daugh. of Joseph Tyler, 
who died 14th March 1941. S.p. 

LESMAHAGOW 

FIRST CHARGE 

Between 1315 and 1321 Robert I granted 
to God, the Blessed Virgin Mary, and St 
Machutus, and the monks of Lesmachu, 
10 merks stg. annual rent from his mills of 
Carneluk (Carluke) to provide eight tapers 



of a pound of wax each to be burned round 
the tomb of St Machutus on Sundays and 
festivals, as the custom is in cathedral and 
collegiate churches. [Reg. Great Seal, i, 
75.] 

ANDREW BORLAND PARKER, his 



1839 



son, William, marine insurance 



broker, died 29th Dec. 1921; his 
daugh., Mary, died 31st Dec. 1923. 

THOMAS HARDIE TURNBULL, 

licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 6th 
Dec. 1871. 



1873 



JAMES GILLIES, died 15th March 



1894 



1934; his daughs. Isobel (marr. 



27th April 1932 Robert McGeachy, 
Toorak, Melbourne); Helen, marr. 9th 
Nov. 1924 Captain Thomas Eastoun, 
Bombay. 

SECOND CHARGE 

ROBERT SEMPLE, M.A. (Glasgow, 
1648 1649). 

ROBERT BLACK, marr. cont. 22nd 



April 1703 Mary, daugh. of John 
Bryson, merchant, Glasgow. [Reg. 
of Deeds, Durie, 194, 21st Dec. 1736.] 

THOMAS LINNING, eldest son of 
James L., cordiner, Glasgow; adm. 
burgess of Glasgow 9th April 1752. 



1708 



1740 



JOHN WILSON, his daugh., Agnes 
1796 Clarke (marr. 31st Jan. 1828). 

THOMAS BURNS, his daugh., Agnes, 
1842 died at Edinburgh 21st Dec. 1930. 

THOMAS WILSON, his son, Captain 



1869 



Douglas Hamilton, died at Rangoon 
July 1938. 



ROBERT ROBERTSON LINDSAY, 



1913 



Ph.D., died 21st Feb. 1941; his 
daugh., Margaret Wilson Robertson 
(marr. 20th April 1938 Archibald Mac- 
Lellan Beaton, min. of Lochgilphead). 

PETTINAIN 

ROBERT FISHER, pres. to vicarage 
8th Dec. 1569 on death of John 



1569 



Tweedie. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 32.] 



272 



PETTINAIN ROBERTON 



[PRESB. OF LANARK] 



JOHN WEIR, vicar, 19th May 1585 
1583 [Cat. of Charters, xii, 2791.] 

WILLIAM LAWRIE, pres. in 1600 on 
dem. of John Weir. [Acts and Dec., 
clxvii, 251.] 



1600 



WILLIAM FYFE, M.A., resident with 
, Q his wife and two children, 12 and 10, 
in Canongate 10th Nov. 1694. 
[Poll Tax Book.] 



1684 



ALEXANDER CARMICHAEL, had 

issue Frederick; William, died 24th 
Feb. 1703; Lilias; Anna; Cecil (marr. 
Robert Honyman, min. of St Andrews. 
[Scot. N. and Q., 3 Sen, vi, 37; Turnbull s 
Diary (Scot. Hist. Socy.\ 427-8.] 

JOHN BRADFUTE, son of James B., 
Culter and Helen Mitchell. Marr. 
Janet, daugh. of James Mure, mer 
chant, Edinburgh. 

CHARLES HUNTER, son of James H., 
1710 baxter burgess of Edinburgh. 

JAMES MACMEIKAN, his widow, 
1881 Agnes Peebles, died 19th Oct. 1924. 

JAMES BAIRD, died 4th Feb. 
1908 1925. 



1925 



THOMAS BO YD MILLAR, born Lark- 
hall 5th April 1900, son of James M. 
and Margaret Lohoar Boyd; educ. 
at Larkhall Academy, Glasgow High 
School and Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1922), 
B.D. (1925); served in Royal Garrison 
Artillery in Great War 1918-19; licen. by 
Presb. of Hamilton 1925; ord. 23rd June 
1925; died llth April 1948. 

WISTON 

WILLIAM SIMSON, reader in 1563, 
died before 1568. [Comps. Sub 



1563 



Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 



ROBERT ALLAN, reader in 1568. 

[Comps. Sub Coll of Thirds, Stirling, 
1568 , 

etc.] 



THOMAS LINDSAY, son of John L. 
of Covington, pres. as a student to 
vicarage 26th Nov. 1579, in succes 
sion to John Weir, and to parsonage 4th 
Jan. 1580-1. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 47, ii, 
24.] 

MATTHEW WILSON, as min. pres. in 
1592, on deprivation of Thomas 



1592 



Lindsay. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixiv, 188.] 



THOMAS HARPER, M.A., resident 

with his wife, Katherin Rae, and 

children, James and Rachel, the 

eldest not 8, in Tron Parish, Edinburgh, 

8th Nov. 1696. [Poll Tax Roll, 25.] 

PATRICK EASON, his son, Alexander, 
apprenticed to Jerome Robertson, 
wigmaker, Edinburgh, 1st June 1707. 

JOSEPH HENDERSON, pres. 28th 
1786 June 1785. 

DAVID BURNESS, pres. 1st Oct. 
1839 1838. 



HENRY LITTLEDALE DICK, died at 
Southport 16th Dec. 1932; his 
widow, Louisa Jane Schrader, died 
29th Oct. 1944. 



1880 



ROBERT BOYD, dem. 27th June 1946; 

died 5th Sept. 1946; his wife, Bertha 

Matilda Hunter, died 9th July 1931; 

his son, Gavin Charles Hunter, min. of 

Larbert West, succeeded his father as min. 

here 1946. 

(Charges united 3rd April 1938.) 

ROBERTON 

CUTHBERT BAILLIE, exhorter 1563. 



1563 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stir 
ling, etc.] 

THOMAS LAURIE, adm. before 1st 
1654 July 1654. 

JAMES LEIPER, M.A., resident in 
Lady Yester s parish, Edinburgh, 
with four children, the eldest not 
14, 12th Nov. 1694. [Poll Tax Book.] 



PRESBYTERY OF DUNBARTON 



ALEXANDRIA 

WILLIAM KIDD, his daugh., Cathe- 



1844 



rine, died 22nd Jan. 1932 (marr. Dr 
J. F. Cullen Brown). 



WILLIAM GORDON MACLEAN, 

dem. 9th Feb. 1932 on app. to First 
Presbyterian Church, Winnipeg. 
Marr. 28th Sept. 1920 Christina Macqueen, 
B.Sc., daugh. of Ex-Provost John Pearson, 
Alloa, and had issue Kathleen Deas, born 
20th July 1921; William Gordon, born 9th 
April 1924; John Pearson, born 3rd Aug. 
1926; Donald Neil, born 24th Nov. 1930. 

ARROCHAR 

ALEXANDER McLACHLAN, died 
1658 Father of the Church. 

JOHN GILLESPIE, marr. Bethia, 



daugh. of John Erskine, hammer 
man, Glasgow. [Burgess Roll, 26th 
Dec. 1838.] 

JAMES DEWAR, his daughs. Jessie 
Edmiston, died 6th Feb. 1935; Alice, 
died at Crieff 15th Feb. 1943. 



1782 



1889 



1913 



HUGH SINCLAIR WINCHESTER, 

dem. 28th Nov. 1935. Publication 
God in the World (1937). 
(Charges united Wth June 1947.) 

BALDERNOCK 

JOHN LANDALLS, parson and vicar 
1568. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Stirling, etc.] 

JOHN POLLOCK, his son, James Innes 
Wright, F.C. Min., Mauchline, 
1878, Arbroath High, 1887-96. 

WILLIAM HUNTER, pres. by Crown 
1843 28th Aug. 1843. 



MORRISON BRYCE, dem. 12th July 



1885 



1926, died at Rosneath llth March 



1929. Marr. 16th Aug. 1926 Mary 
Alice Alderson, who survived him. 

JAMES SMITH, his widow, Jemima 
Aikman Thomson, died 3rd Sept. 
1944. 

ANDREW SNADDEN KIDSTON, 



1878 



1927 



born Falkirk 16th April 1894, 
younger son of Richard K., Falkirk, 
and Mary Forbes Sneddon; educ. at Fal 
kirk High School and Univ. of Glasgow, 
M.A.; licen. by Presb. of Linlithgow 30th 
March 1920; assistant Carndow; Arbroath 
1921; Inveresk 1924; served in European 
War; ord. 14th Jan. 1927. Marr. 6th June 
1927 Allison, youngest daugh. of William 
Doig, papermaker, Eskside, Musselburgh, 
and Ann Millar, and has issue Richard 
Allister Millar, born 6th Jan. 1929; Alan 
William Kidston, born 22nd March 1933. 

BALFRON 

Apparently in 1303 the patronage of the 
Church of Bruthbren (Balfron) was granted 
to Inchaffray Abbey by Sir Thomas 
Cromennane, and on 3rd Oct. of the same 
year Robert, Bishop of Glasgow, granted 
power to the abbey and convent, on the 
death of the rector of the church, to convert 
the church to their own use, the church to 
be served by a vicar, or a secular chaplain, 
or one of the canons of the abbey. The 
power was granted in compassion for the 
plunderings, burnings, and innumerable 
afflictions which the Abbot and Convent 
of Inchaffray had suffered through wars, 
and desirous of relieving, so far as he could, 
their poverty and low estate." [Charters 
of Inchaffray Abbey, 113.] 

JAMES LINDSAY, died Father of the 
1846 Church. 



273 



274 



BALFRON BUCHANAN 



[PRESB. OF 



ARCHIBALD MACKENZIE, trans, to 
1919 Ayr Second Charge 23rd Nov. 1926. 



1927 



THOMAS HUTCHISON BURNS- 
BEGG, born 7th Oct. 1897, son of 
Robert Burns-B., Sheriff Clerk of 
Kinross, and Jane Isabella Hutchison, and 
grand-nephew of Robert Burns, poet; educ. 
at Dollar Academy and Univ. of Edin 
burgh, M.A.; licen. by Presb. of Kinross, 
April 1924; assistant Scoonie 1924; ord. 
1st April 1927. 

BONHILL 

PATRICK REID, reader 1560-3. 
[Comps. Gen. Coll. and Sub Coll. of 



1560 



Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 



1568 



MALCOLM STEVENSON, reader and 
vicar 1568, adm. before 29th Jan. 
1577_8._[7V0/. Book, David Wat 
son, 225, penes Duke of Argyll; Comps. 
Gen. Coll. and Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 
etc.] 

JAMES CUNNINGHAM, M.A., 

schoolmaster, Dunbarton, pres. to 
vicarage 13th Aug. 1587 on death 

of Malcolm Stevenson. [Reg. Sec. Sig., 

Ivi, 4.] 

1639 JOHN STEWART, had issue, John. 

WILLIAM McKECHNIE, M.A., resi 
dent with his wife, Janet Edmon- 
stone, in Tron Parish, Edinburgh, 

9th Nov. 1694. [Tron Poll Tax Roll, 9; 

Deeds, Dal., 5th July 1704, 103, 127.] 

WILLIAM SIMPSON, his widow, Mar- 
1878 garet Wilson, died 27th April 1921. 



1913 



JOHN ROLLAND McNAB, died at 
Lossiemouth 18th July 1931; his 
widow, Marion Johnston, died 4th 
Dec. 1943; his daughs. Marion Rolland 
Johnston (marr. 24th Oct. 1923 Capt. 
Ralph Juanrenaud Smith, Indian Forestry 
Service); Winifred Elizabeth (marr. 29th 
Jan. 1926 James Crawford Shaw, farmer); 
Doris Maud Jane (marr. 20th April 1927 
Tom Osborne Howie, medical practitioner); 
his son, James Strathearn, min. of Ban- 
nockburn, Flowerhill, and St Leonard s, 
Ayr. 



BOQUHANRAN 

WILLIAM MACKEAN CAMPBELL, 

trans, to Kirkpatrick-Durham 15th 



1907 



May 1925. 



WILLIAM ROY, born Glasgow 5th 
March 1900, son of John R., motor- 
man, and Annie Browning Potter; 
educ. at Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1920), 
B.Sc. (1923); served in H.L.I, in Great War; 
licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 1925; assistant 
Irvine; ord. 23rd Sept. 1925; trans, to St 
Stephen s West, Glasgow, 10th Sept. 1931. 
Marr. 3rd Nov. 1926 Isabella Downe, 
daugh. of James Wyllie McCrossan, and 
Margaret Gardiner Wyllie, and has issue 
Margaret Wyllie, born 10th Aug. 1928. 

BUCHANAN 

The sacred bell of St Kessog was here 
preserved, indicating that in the parish 
there had been a chapel dedicated to that 
saint. On 20th Jan. 1566-7 George 
Buchanan of that ilk received a confirma 
tion charter of the lands of Buchanan with 
the bell and alms of St Kessog. [Reg. 
Mag. Sig., iv, 1757.] 

JAMES WALKER, still in office in 
1568. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Stirling, etc.] 

1567 JOHN MACEACHRAN, vicar. 



1567 



DAVID CUNNINGHAM, son of Wil 
liam C. of Cunynghamhead, had 
letters of collation from Andrew 
Hay, commissioner of Superintendent of 
Glasgow, of parsonage and vicarage 6th 
Oct. 1 571 ; line 2, delete afterwards Bishop 
of Aberdeen." [Prot. Book, David Wat 
son, penes Duke of Argyll, 39; Cal. of 
Charters, xi, 2395.] 

ARCHIBALD CAMERON, his son, 
1613 Archibald, M.A. (Glasgow, 1647). 



1892 



WILLIAM HOULDSWORTH MAC 
LEOD, dem. 16th May 1922, died 
at Fuinary, Shandon, 24th March 
1935. Publication The Beginnings of the 
Houldsworths of Coltness (Glasgow, 1938). 



DUNBARTON] 



BUCHANAN DRYMEN 



275 



WILLIAM ROLAND LACEY, M.A. 



1922 



(1935); trans, from Billhead llth 



Sept. 1922; dem. 20th April 1944; 
his wife s mother was Henrietta Alexander 
Kirkpatrick; had issue Ellen Mary Hen 
rietta, born llth April 1920; Walter Kirk 
patrick, born 25th May 1921; Ruth Shar- 
law, born 18th Jan. 1923, died 18th Aug. 
1932; Elizabeth Kirkpatrick, born 26th 
May 1927. His wife, Ellen Bryce Paterson, 
died at Melrose 13th April 1948. 

CARDROSS 

On 3rd May 1357 David II granted to 
William Napier $ caracute of the lands of 
Kilmahew in which the Chapel of Kylen- 
chak is situated. [Reg. Mag. Sig., i, 
App. i, 129.] 

JOHN COOK, reader, 1563. [Comps. 
1563 Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 

JAMES CUNNINGHAME, pres. on 
1596 death of Thomas Archibald. [Reg. 
Sec. Sig., xix, 18.] 

JAMES CUNNINGHAM, M.A., son 



1603 



of Donald C. of Aikenbar, pres. to 



1688 



parsonage and vicarage in Feb. 1603 
on death of James Cunninghame, but may 
not have entered. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiii, 
208.] 

JOHN BLACKBURN, M.A., pres. to 
1603 P arsona & e an d vicarage 10th May 
1603 on death of James Cunning 
ham. [Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxiv, 11.] 

HUGH GORDON, his wife called Eliza 
beth Cove. [Deeds, Dal, 1706, 
No. 191.] 

JOHN EDMONSTON of Warroxhill, 
1727 eldest son of John E., merchant, 
Glasgow; adm. burgess of Glasgow, 
21st Sept. 1752. 

WILLIAM MAXWELL, died 18th Feb. 
1881 1931; ^ S daugh., Mar g a ret Dunn 
(marr. at Calcutta, Jan. 1916, An 
drew Walter Matthew, jute manufacturer, 
whom she divorced 1925); his widow, Helen 
Buchanan Lawson, died 13th May 1940. 

(Charge united with Burns Church llth 
May 1945.) 



CLYDEBANK, ST JAMES 

WILLIAM STEVENSON BROWN- 
1901 LIE, died 12th Dec. 1930. 

CRAIGROWNIE 

KENNETH ALEXANDER MAC- 
LEA Y, adm. min. of Delting 27th 
Sept. 1920. 

JOHN FORD McLEOD, trans, to Tron 
1920 Church, Edinburgh, 5th May 1926. 

GEORGE HOPE JAMIE, formerly of 
Ladyburn (q.v.), assistant Barony, 
adm. 31st Aug. 1926; dem. 14th Dec. 

1931; adm. to Garngad 19th Oct. 1933; 

dem. 1935. 

DALMUIR 

JAMES PITT WATSON, M.A., B.D., 
ord. 14th Oct. 1920; trans, to Sandy- 
ford 18th Dec. 1923. 

JOHN MARTIN, trans, from Wallace- 
1924 town (q.v.), Ayr, 17th June 1924. 

DALREOCH 

JAMES McBAIN, his widow, Margaret 
1873 Cowan, died 17th March 1931. 

ROBERT ALEXANDER ORR, dem. 



1910 



31st Dec. 1945; his son, Lieut. R. A., 
missing 1942. 



DRYMEN 

There was also a chapel at Easter Mayis. 
[Reg. Mag. Sig., vii, 1168.] 

THOMAS ARCHIBALD, M.A. desig- 
nated parson and vicar pensioner 
6th Nov. 1567 and 30th March 1581. 
[Reg. of Abbrev. Feu Charters of Church 
Lands, i, 311; Cal. of Charters, xi, 2586.] 

ROBERT GRAHAM, vicar pensioner. 
1562 [Acts and Dec., xxiv, 52.] 

ALLAN FERGUSON. [Gen. Reg. of 
1648 Sas., 2 Ser., iv, 401.] 

JOHN ROY, his daughs. Margaret 



1878 



Anderson, died 28th Aug. 1921; 



Cecilia Buchanan (marr. llth June 
1925 John Moffat); his widow, Margaret 
Norrie, died 4th Dec. 1947. 



276 



DRYMEN DUNBARTON 



[PRESS. OF 



1918 



JAMES TAYLOR MONTEITH, has 

issue Jeannie Gordon, born 12th 
Oct. 1920; Bethia Mary, bora 12th 

Oct. 1920; James Taylor, born 9th Jan. 

1928. Publication The Training of a 

Nation (1929-30). 

(Charges united 21th Feb. 1935.) 

DUNBARTON 

In the church there were also the follow 
ing altars: St Mary the Virgin on the south 
side; St Peter; St Sebastian; and the Holy 
Rood. In 1519-20 Andrew Danielston, 
natural son of Robert Danielston of Cul- 
grane, acquired from Robert Feriar of 
Fareland the office of custodier of the light 
of the Holy Rood in the church. On llth 
May 1453 the Town Council conveyed to 
Mabel, Countess of Lennox and Duchess 
of Albany, the Chapel of St Mary the 
Virgin, of which the Council was patron, 
with its lands, rents and patronage, to 
enable the Countess to erect the chapel into 
a collegiate church. To the Pope, on 3rd 
Jan. 1453-4, the Countess addressed a 
petition to the effect that some years ago 
her late husband, Murdoch, Duke of 
Albany and Earl of Fife and Menteith, and 
her father (Duncan) Earl of Lennox, and 
their children, namely the sons and brothers 
of the said Countess, were, by order of the 
late James, King of Scots, who was evilly 
counselled or informed, disinherited and 
put to death (on the Heading Hill at Stir 
ling Castle in 1425), leaving no successor 
in the right line excepting the said Countess, 
a solitary widow and very poor, who suc 
ceeded by paternal right to her father," 
and that for the welfare of their souls and 
in lasting memory of them" she desired to 
erect into a collegiate church for a provost 
and chaplains the said Chapel of the Virgin 
Mary, which she is to enlarge, build and 
repair for the purpose. The Pope on 4th 
Feb. 1453-4 remitted to the Bishop of St 
Andrews and the Prior of Inchmahome 
with power to make enquiries, and to erect 
the collegiate church for a provost and such 
perpetual chaplains "as they deemed 
reasonable." At the same time, likewise 
on the crave of the Countess, the Hospital 



of Polmadie, with its annexed Church of 
Strathblane, and also the Church of Fintry, 
were assigned to the collegiate church. The 
Bishop and Prior were also granted faculty 
to "collate and assign for this turn the 
Provostship to George Abernethy, Clerk 
of the Diocese of Glasgow, rector of the 
said Hospital of Polmadie, a son of the 
sister (Maria ?) of the said Countess, * by 
her husband, Sir William Abernethy of 
Saltoun. George Abernethy was still pro 
vost on 6th March 1468-9. Further endow 
ments granted by the Countess to the 
church were the following lands Strath 
blane; Stuckroger and Ferkinch or Fork- 
inch in Lues; Balernicbeg in Cardross; 
Knockdouriebarber in Rosneath; and 
Ladytown in Bonhill. The Church of Bon- 
hill, which also pertained to the collegiate 
church, appears likewise to have been her 
gift. The collegiate church was dedicated to 
the Virgin Mary. The Bedesmen Hospital 
was probably attached to the church. By 
Crown Charter of 12th March 1551-2 there 
was conveyed to Paisley Abbey the patron 
age of the collegiate church and of the 
chaplainries of the hospital and the begging 
poor, lie bedemen; and a further Crown 
Charter of 1st Feb. 1552-3 to the same 
effect described the gift as "the Patronage 
of the Provostry, prebends, prebendaries, 
and chaplainries of the Collegiate Church 
of the Virgin of Dunbarton, with the 
Hospital and the Wayfarer s Inn (or 
Hospitium) and the poor, lie bedemen, of 
the same. The Fair of St John the Baptist 
was instituted by Crown Charter of llth 
March 1225-6. [Cal Papal Regs., Letters, 
x, 623-4, xii, 670; Reg. Great Seal, i, 760, 
iii, 188, iv, 683, 747, 811, v, 188, vii, 190; 
Reg. Sec. Seal, ii, 809; Book of Assumptions 
of Benefices.] 

PATRICK WODDEROW, M.A., pen 
sioner, 1568. [Reg. Abbrev. Feu 
Charters of Church Lands, ii, 103.] 

ROBERT GLATTISBERRIE, reader. 
1574 [Acts and Dec., Ivii, 229.] 
PATRICK WEMYSS, M.A., min. pres. 



1593 



to vicarage 22nd March 1595 on 
dem. of George Moncrieff. [Reg. 



Sec.Sig., Ixix, 81.] 



DUNBARTON] 



DUNBARTON GARELOCHEAD 



277 



1601 WILLIAM SYMSON, died 1620. 

WILLIAM BLAIR, born Irvine; marr. 
Barbara, daugh. of -. Robertson of 



1620 



Orbieston. 



JAMES DONALDSON of Murroch, 



1681 



son of James D., probably min. of 
Rerrick, died 25th April 1722. Marr. 
3rd April 1681 Anna, only daugh. of John 
Stirling of Bankell and Elizabeth Dick, and 
had issue Henry, born 22nd Jan. 1683, 
died young; Elizabeth, born 22nd Dec. 1684 
(marr. 1707 John Colquhoun of Ennistros- 
san); James, born 10th June 1686, died 
young; William of Murroch, Sheriff De 
pute, Dunbarton, died 22nd Aug. 1764; 
George, born 17th Aug. 1689; Nicolas, 
born June 1691; Grizel, born 8th Nov. 
1692; Margaret, born 25th Dec. 1693; John, 
born 17th July, died 3rd Aug. 1695; James, 
born 3rd Aug. 1696; Archibald, born 13th 
June 1698; Henry, bora 3rd June 1700; 
Alexander, born 18th June 1702; Anna, 
born 4th June 1704; Thomas, born Oct. 
1705. Two of these daughs. marr. Colin 
Maclachlan, Luss, and Archibald his 
brother. 

ANDREW GRAY, his daugh. died at 
1843 Cove 2nd Dec. 1925. 

GEORGE ALPINE, his daugh., Mary 



1882 



Turner (marr. James A. Latta), died 
25th March 1946. 

WILLIAM WALKER REID, died 25th 
Feb. 1946; his wife, Mary Scott, 
died 28th Nov. 1937; his daugh., 
Mary Helen Isabel, born 10th Aug. 1919. 

SECOND CHARGE 
ROBERT ANDERSON, returned to 
1689 Rhu 1704. 

DUNTOCHER 

NEIL MAcGILL, trans, to Tomintoul 
1918 21st April 1926. 

JOHN WALKER, trans, from Kirk- 
1920 P atrick - Flemin g (<7- v -) 1st Oct. 1926; 
trans, to Johnstone 21st Dec. 1934; 
his daugh., Edith Isobel (marr. 17th Jan. 
1942 Capt. James Strathearn Dundas, 
K.O.S.B.). 



FINTRY 

By Papal authority on 4th Feb. 1453-4 
the church was annexed to the Collegiate 
Church of Dunbarton. 

GEORGE WATSON, exhorter, "en- 



1560 



tered to Service" Candlemas 1560, 



being elected and adm. with a 
sober and small stipend and manse and 
glebe belonging to the vicarage which the 
vicar brooked; on 18th March 1567-8 the 
Privy Council ordained James Galbrayth 
of Kilcrewth who had withheld the glebe, 
manse and yard since 1560, to desist and 
grant possession to the said George. 
[Reg. Privy Council, i, 615.] 



ANDREW KEMP, adm. before 1571. 
Marr. Isobell Anderson who sur 
vived him. [Aces. Sub Coll. of 
Bene., 1571.] 



1571 



THOMAS FLEMING. [Acts and Dec., 
1573 1, 95.] 

MATTHEW BARCLAY, died 30th July 
1907 1938. 

GARELOCHHEAD 

JOHN PAISLEY, born 20th Nov. 1814; 



1848 



line 3, for "Mary Catherine Rus 
sell" read "Elizabeth Lang"; his 

second daugh., Eupham, died 29th Oct. 

1928; George, his son. 

JOHN PATTERSON, died 28th Sept. 
1934; his widow, Jane Templeton 
Couper, died 5th Jan. 1946. 



1906 



1919 



CHRISTIAN ARTHUR ROBERT 
SON, dem. 3rd June 1924 on app. 
to St Andrew s Church, Alexandria, 
Egypt; adm. to Greenock, Wellpark West, 
14th May 1930; trans, to Avondale 22nd 
Feb. 1939. 

ALEXANDER HASTIE BODIN, born 



1924 



24th May 1887, son of Hugh B. and 
Annie Hastie; educ. at Univ. of 
Glasgow, M.A. (16th Nov. 1912); licen. by 
Presb. of Glasgow 30th June 1920; assistant 
Barony and St Matthew s, Glasgow and 
Dalziel; ord. 18th Sept. 1924; died 1st Feb. 



278 



GARELOCHEAD KILLEARN 



[PRESB. OF 



1948. Marr. 10th Jan. 1929 Eliza Mar 
garet, daugh. of Thomas Alexander Boyd 
and Jane Finlayson Govan, and has issue 
Hugh Arthur Boyd, born 6th June 1930; 
Michael Alexander, born 20th April 1932. 

(Charges united 15th March 1938.) 

HELENSBURGH 

JOHN GEORGE CROCKET CHRIS 
TIE, died at Clarkston 8th Dec. 
1925; his widow, Emily Agnes Jones, 
died 8th June 1948. 

MALCOLM MUNRO MACPHER- 
SON, O.B.E., ord. A. and S. 25th 
Oct. 1922; trans, to St. Paul s, 
Greenock, 8th July 1926. 

THOMAS JAMES CAMPBELL 
CRAWFORD, born 3rd April 1 890, 
son of John C, builder, and Sarah 
Louise Waters; educ. at Univ. of Glasgow, 
M.A. (1921); licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 
1920; assistant, Barony; ord. assistant 19th 
Feb. 1922; adm. 15th May 1922 to Twe- 
char; trans, and adm. 10th Nov. 1926; 
trans, to West Kilbride 19th Feb. 1930. 
Marr. 6th July 1922 Isobel Sharpe Hastings, 
and has issue Eileen, born 8th Jan. 1924; 
Elma Louise, born 18th March 1926; 
Isabel Campbell, born 31st Aug. 1928. 

HELENSBURGH WEST 

JOHN BAIRD, died 14th Sept. 1932; 



1889 



his daugh., Jean (marr. 6th June 
1922 Neil Conley, M.A., min. of 
U.F. Church, Mortlach); his son, John 
Logic, inventor of television, managing 
director of Baird Television, Television 
Station, Alexandra Palace, July 1936; died 
14th June 1946. 

WILLIAM HARVEY LEATHAM, 

dem. on app. to St Andrew s 
Church, Ottawa, 4th Oct. 1926; died 
at Montreal 26th Feb. 1937; his son, 
George Rendle, min. of St Bride s, Edin 
burgh. 

JOHN FORSYTH MARSHALL, born 
8th Dec. 1893, son of Archibald 



1919 



1927 



Millar M., min. of U.F. Church, 



Cowie, and Christina Frere Forsyth; educ. 



at Univ. of Edinburgh, M.A. (1915), and 
Oxford, M.A. (1920); served in War with 
Highland Light Infantry, M.C.; licen. by 
Presb. of Edinburgh June 1920; assistant 
St Cuthbert s; ord. 28th April 1921 to 
Airdrie; trans, and adm. 17th Jan. 1927; 
trans, to Renfrew Old 30th Nov. 1933. 
Marr. 26th July 1921 Anne Pringle, daugh. 
of Alexander Pringle Davidson, min. of 
Skirling U.F. Church, and Mary Gemmell 
Duke, and has issue Archibald Humphrey 
Miller, born 25th May 1922; Doris Mary 
Christine, born 30th June 1924; Jean Mar 
garet Miller, born 22nd April 1926. 

JAMESTOWN 

DANIEL JACK MILLER, died 23rd 
Jan. 1925; his son, John Russell, 
min. of Kilsyth; his daughs. Eliza 
beth Roxburgh (marr. 1st Aug. 1935 
George Garland, Falkirk); Marion, M.A. 
(marr. 13th Feb. 1934 James Gibson, 
Glasgow). 



1876 



1925 



MALCOLM BLAIR MACGREGOR, 

born Glasgow 22nd Feb. 1900, son 
of John Malcolm M. and Margaret 
Gardner Morrison; educ. at Whitehall 
School and Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1922), 
Ph.D. (1929); licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 
19th Dec. 1923; assistant St Andrew s, 
Glasgow, 1924, Cambuslang; ord. 29th 
May 1925. Marr. 22nd Sept. 1925 Lily, 
youngest daugh. of John Downie and 
Catherine Stewart, and has issue Cathe 
rine Stewart, born 9th April 1928; Margaret 
Morrison, born 21st May 1937. Publica 
tions The Sources and Literature of Scot 
tish Church History (Glasgow, 1934); 
Jamestown Parish Church (Historical Sketch) 
(Dunbarton, 1934). 

KILLEARN 

WILLIAM GRAHAM, parson in 1566. 

[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stir- 
15oo .. n 

ling, etc.] 

PATRICK PATERSON, pres. to vicar- 



1572 



pensionary 15th Sept. 1572 on death 
of Sir John Snell. [Reg. Pres. Bene. y 



i, (3), 21.] 



DUNBARTON] 



KILLEARN OLD KILPATRICK 



279 



JOHN GRAHAM, Lord of Council, 
parson 1586. [Lamont Papers, 328, 
105.] 

JAMES CRAIG, had issue James of 
1658 Costerton, W.S., died 5th Aug. 1743. 

JAMES DICK, died at Kirknewton 1st 
1883 May 1930. 



1898 



ALEXANDER GORDON MIT 
CHELL, dem. 2nd Feb. 1931, died 
2nd Nov. 1943; his wife, Edith 
Rebecca Gillies, died 5th Nov. 1925; his 
son, John William Forrester Gordon, died 
21st June 1938; his daughs. Jessie Murray 
Graham, died 7th Feb. 1926; Elizabeth 
Edith (marr. 6th Oct. 1942 Lieut. Roy 
Greer Donnan, Pioneer Corps). Addl. 
Publications Original Latin Dramas of 
George Buchanan in English Verse , Odes of 
Horace in English Verse. 

(Charges united 2nd July 1931.) 

KILBOWIE 

Services were begun in a hall purchased 
in 1896 by the Kirk Session of Old Kil- 
patrick. The church was built in 1904 and 
tower built and bell instituted in 1933. A 
hall was built in 1928. 

JOHN HAMILTON, died 29th Jan. 



1898 



1947; line 8, for "Jane" read 
"Janet." 



KILMARONOCK 

The patronage of the church was granted 
to Cambuskenneih Abbey 1306-29. [Reg. 
Mag. Sig., i, App. ii, 105.] 



1574 



GEORGE McGLEISS, reader, pres. to 
vicarage pensionary 25th May 1574 
on death of Sir James Hunter. 
[Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 21.] 

ARCHIBALD CRAWFORD, M.A., 
1581 vicar pensioner 20th Sept. 1581, also 
parson of Eaglesham (#.v.). [Reg. 
Privy Council, ii, 421-2.] 

LUKE STIRLING, M.A., min. pres. 

1601 to P arsona S e anc * vicarage on dep. 
of Robert Alexander. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., Ixxiv, 175.] 



WILLIAM BERRY SHAW PATER- 



1836 



SON, his daughs. Janet Shaw, died 



at Edinburgh 1st June 1923; Mar 
garet, died at Edinburgh 4th Dec. 1927. 

WILLIAM BOYD, his daugh., Isobel 
1879 McCulloch, died 18th Aug. 1938. 

WILLIAM McLAUCHLAN GOLDIE, 



1920 



dem. 7th April 1948; his daugh., 
Winifred Maud (marr. 15th Oct. 
1926 Walter Bilsland, farmer, Gartenban- 
trick, Kilmaronock); his wife, Matilda 
Maud Barr, died 2nd Aug. 1943. 

KNIGHTSWOOD 

GEORGE WILSON HAMILTON, born 



1925 



17th May 1891, second son of 



Thomas H., Drumcross, Bathgate; 
educ. at Peebles High School, Univ. of St 
Andrews, M.A. (1913), B.D. (1916); student 
missionary at Elvanfoot 1914-15; licen. by 
Presb. of Peebles 1916; assistant Inveresk; 
served in R.A.S.C. in France, Egypt and 
Palestine; ord. to Cummertrees 4th Aug. 
1920; trans, and adm. 1st Oct. 1925; trans, 
to Comrie 1st Dec. 1937. Marr. 4th Aug. 
1921 Elizabeth Tyler, youngest daugh. of 
John Bruce, St Margaret s, Loanhead. 

OLD KILPATRICK 

Attached to the lands of Kilbowie, there 
was a chapel with chapel lands. [Retours, 
xxxiii, 36.] 

ROBERT HOUSTON, exhorter. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 

i 

etc.] 



1573 



WILLIAM HAMILTON, pres. on dem. 
of Archibald Berne "not able to 
travel or supply." [Reg. Pres. 

Bene., i, (4), 127; Edin. Tests, 12th May 

1575.] 

WALTER STEWART. [G. R. Sas., 
1587 xxiv, 97.] 

THOMAS ALLAN, his sons Andrew, 



1667 



buried 9th Aug. 1687; John, buried 
27th Dec. 1689. 



HARRY SMITH, trans, to Heriot 7th 
1916 June 1928. 



280 



OLD KILPATRICK LUSS 



[PRESS. OF 



1928 



JOHN KENNEDY, born 21st Jan. 1897, 
son of Andrew K. and Barbara 
Helen Kennedy; educ. at Hutchi 
son s Grammar School and Univ. of 
Glasgow, M.A. (1922), B.D. (1925); served 
with R.A.F. in Great War, 1918; licen. by 
Presb. of Glasgow 1924; assistant St 
Mungo, Glasgow; ord. to Lowson Memo 
rial, Forfar, 15th Sept. 1925; trans, and 
adm. 19th Dec. 1928; trans, to Cambuslang 
llth March 1936. Marr. 21st Oct. 1925 
Ellison Bryson, daugh. of John Gilchrist, 
and has issue John Gilchrist, born 9th 
Nov. 1926; Margaret Alison, born 27th 
Jan. 1929; Alan Gordon, born 31st March 
1936. Publications Thrums and the Barrie 
Country; A Quiver of Arrows , Worry, its 
Cause and Cure. 

NEW KILPATRICK 

At Balvie-Logan there was a chapel dedi 
cated to St Kessog. [Reg. Mag. Sig., ii, 
2648.] 

JOHN LOGAN, his son, Walter, comp 
troller of customs, Perth Amboy, 
New Jersey. 

JAMES WATERS KING, his daugh., 
Amy Mary Waters, died Versailles 
1870 15th Jan. 1943. 



JOHN HENRY DICKEY, died in 
Glasgow Royal Infirmary 30th Jan. 
1926. 



1907 



1926 



WILLIAM WHITE ANDERSON, 
M.C., D.D. (Glasgow, 23rd June 
1943), trans, from Bellahouston 
(q.v.} 9th Sept. 1926; trans, to St Cuthbert s, 
Edinburgh, 23rd April 1931; Vice-Con 
vener Business Committee 1946; Convener 
Home Board. 

DRUMCHAPEL 

JOHN EASTON BLACK, adm. first 
min. of parish 3rd Nov. 1923; died 
17th Feb. 1942; his daugh., Jean 
Bethia Naismith (marr. 28th June 1933 
Robert Montague Lloyd Puckeridge, Mid- 
stead, Hants). His father was J.P., Stone- 
house, Lanarkshire. 



1910 



KNOXLAND 

JOHN SMITH, licen. by Presb. of 
1886 Glasgow 1884. 

JAMES LITTLE, died 31st March 
1910 1946. 

ARCHIBALD MONTGOMERY, 
1916 trans, to Condorrat 22nd March 
1927. 



1927 



NORMAN GOTTFRIED KESTING, 
born 22nd June 1885, son of Ernest 
K., organist and teacher of music, 
and Isabella Thornwaite Rigg; educ. at 
Univ. of Edinburgh, M.A. (1906); licen. 
by Presb. of Edinburgh April 1909; assis 
tant, St Margaret s, Edinburgh, 1909, 
Selkirk 1911, Newington 1913; ord. to 
Drumelzier 20th April 1917; trans, and 
adm. 29th Sept. 1927; trans, to Kirkhope 
17th May 1935. Marr. 26th July 1917 
Maud, second daugh. of Hugh Cameron, 
min. of Newington, and has issue Hugh 
Morrison, born 25th May 1918, died 14th 
Nov. 1940; John Rigg, born 10th Oct. 1919; 
Norman Douglas, born 20th Sept. 1921; 
Elizabeth Maud, born 12th April 1923; 
Isabel Margaret, born 19th Jan. 1925. 
Publication Chapter on Drumelzier in 
History of Peeblesshire. 

LUSS 

On 8th March 1315-16 Robert I granted 
to God and St Kessog the privilege of gyrth 
round the church for three miles on every 
side, both land and water. [Hist. MS. 
Commiss., iii, 387.] 

Sir Thomas Henderson was on 12th 
April 1556 presented and invested at the 
Altar of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Luss 
in the south part of the church, and to the 
office of clerk of the parish by delivering to 
him a missal book, cup, and other vest 
ments of the altar. [Chiefs of Colquhouns, 
i, 117.] 



1555 



JOHN LAYING (LAING), M.A., par 
son in Feb. 1555-6, having suc 
ceeded Mr James Colquhoune, son 
of Walter C., 3rd son of Sir John C. of 
Luss by his first wife, Elizabeth Stewart; 



DUNBARTON] 



LUSS 



281 



designated prebendary of Luss in 1561, and 
parson and vicar in 1563, when it is nar 
rated that he has been possessed of "the 
parsonage and vicarage years bygone and 
his furneist and sustenit ministeris for 
reading and edifeing of the parochinaris 
thairof yeirlie sen the alteratioun of the 
religioun conforme to ordour taken thaira- 
nent lyke as he yiet dois"; parson of 
Kirkpatrick-Juxta 1539-53, perpetual vicar 
of Dreghorn 1553, Canon of Glasgow 1564, 
Dean of the Faculty of Glasgow Univ. 
1552-5, and Judge-Commissary of the 
Archbishop of St Andrews 1564; died in 
Sept. 1571. [Chiefs of Colquhoun, i, 89, 
97, 118, 123, 124, ii, 82, 247, 262, 345; Acts 
and Dec., xxiv, 73, xxvii, 32, xxviii, 143, 
xxix, 79, xl, 153; Notes on the Black Book 
of Paisley, 93, 95; Edin. Tests., ii, 232.] 

JAMES COLQUHOUN, M.A., min. in 
or soon after 1560; parson 28th 
April 1566; died before 1st Nov. 
1572; had issue John, James. He was 
nephew of Mr Archibald Colquhoun, par 
son of Stobo. [Reg. of Deeds, viii, 201, x, 
222; Chiefs of Colquhoun, i, 222; Edin. 
Tests., viii, 311.] 

JAMES LAYING, reader; Clerk of the 



1567 



Diocese of Glasgow in 1534, and 
Chaplain of the Diocese 1550; con 
formed and became reader here in 1560; 
dem. apparently in 1572; later was parson. 
[Chiefs of Colquhoun, ii, 336, 96; Notes 
on the Black Book of Paisley, 96; Compts. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 

WILLIAM CHIRNSYDE, min., and 



1572 



also parson in succession to Mr 



John Laying; on Jan. 10th 1572-3 
he set in feu to Sir Humphrey Colquhoune, 
son of Sir John C. of Luss, the parsonage 
manse, place, and yard, situated at the 
south side of the Rotten Row of Glasgow; 
trans, apparently before 27th April 1576. 
[Notes on the Black Book of Paisley, 96; 
Colquhoune Cart., i, 397^00; Chiefs of 
Colquhoun, ii, 435.] 

JAMES LAYING, above mentioned, 
15?6 parson 27th April 1576. [Chiefs of 
Colquhoun, ii, 435. See Kirkpatrick- 
Juxta.] 



MALCOLM STEVENSON, Chaplain 
1585 of the Diocese of Glasgow; vicar- 
pensioner here at the Reformation; 
his claim for his pension of 20 merks for 
1561-2 was refused in 1563 by Mr John 
Laying, parson, because he "his maid na 
service thairintill this lang time bypast as 
he aucht to have done," and "he is bot 
ane feall and pensioner"; subsequently, in 
1563, he is designated exhorter, and he 
appears to have continued to discharge 
that duty. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Stirling, etc.; Chiefs of Colquhoun, i, 83; 
Acts and Dec., xxvii, 32; Edin. Test., ii, 232.] 

WILLIAM CHIRNSYDE, had issue at 



1594 



least Archibald and David; died 
before 1st March 1600. [Chiefs of 
Colquhoun, i, 148, 180, ii, 435.] 

DUNCAN ERROLL, on 1st March 
1599 1600 he was presented by Alexander 
Colquhoune of Luss to the par 
sonage and vicarage, vacant by the death 
of Mr William Chirnsyde; by act of Assem 
bly 1605 he was deprived of the living, and 
on 26th Feb. 1606 the Synod ordained the 
presb. to put into execution against him 
the Act of Assembly, and that they should 
make provision, before his deposition from 
the ministry, for the maintenance of him 
self, his wife, and bairns, seeing he had 
served so long in the ministry. He was, 
however, supported by Alexander Col 
quhoune of Luss and the parishioners, and 
in spite of his deprivation he continued in 
full possession till his death, administering 
the Word and Sacraments and receiving 
the stipend. He marr. -. Buchanan. 
[Chiefs of Colquhoun, i, 180, 218.] 

JOHN CAMPBELL, the patron, Alex- 
ander Colquhoune of Luss, made a 
presentation in favour of Mr Mal 
colm Colquhoune, but the presb. presented 
Mr Campbell, jure devoluto, on the ground 
that Mr Erroll had been lawfully deprived, 
and that a successor had not been timeously 
presented by the patron; objections to the 
presbytery s procedure were set aside and 
Mr Campbell was settled. [Chiefs of 
Colquhoun, i, 218-20.] 



282 



LUSS ROSNEATH 



[PRESB. OF 



WILLIAM ANDERSON, his sons- 
Robert, min. of Row, Alexander; 



Charles. [Deeds, Dal., 1705, No. 



1698 



1685 
503.] 

DANIEL McGILCHRIST, second son 
of Donald M., writer, Rothesay, and 
Janet, daugh. of William Yair, town 
clerk, Glasgow. Marr. proc. 5th April 1707 
Margaret McDougal, Dunblane. [Reg. of 
Deeds, Dal., 21st Aug. 1721.] 

JAMES ROBERTSON, line 5, delete 
1723 Father of the Church. 



1908 



ALEXANDER SLATER DUNLOP, 

trans, to St Andrews Second Charge 
7th Oct. 1924; line 5, for "Edin 
burgh read Glasgow. 

ALISTAIR CAMPBELL, trans, from 
Kilninver (q.v.) 26th Feb. 1925; 
Chaplain to Lord High Commis 
sioner 1932. Marr. 9th Feb. 1922 Eliza 
beth M., daugh. of Matthew H. Craig and 
Margaret Craig, and has issue Margaret 
Elizabeth, born 10th Nov. 1922; William 
Alexander, born 29th April 1927; Donald 
George Craig, born 27th Aug. 1931. 

MILNGAVIE ST PAUL S 

1898 JOHN EDGAR, died 3rd July 1925. 

DUNCAN McCORKINDALE, trans, 
from Bonnybridge 22nd Dec. 1925 
(q.v.); line 1, for "29" read "28"; 
dem. 1st Oct. 1940. 



1925 



RENTON 

JOHN MACLEAN, trans, to Liff and 
Benvie 25th March 1925; his son, 



1913 



John, born 13th Nov. 1919. 



GEORGE NEILSON DUFF, born 12th 
April 1 896, son of William Butler D. 
and Janet Neilson; educ. at Hutche- 
son s Grammar School and Univ. of 
Glasgow, M.A. (1918); served in Great 
War; licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 4th May 
1921 ; assistant, St Ninian s, Glasgow, 1922, 
St Paul s 1924; ord. 26th Aug. 1925; trans, 
to Abbotsford-Chalmers, Glasgow, 5th 
April 1934; trans, to Albert Drive, Pollok- 
shields, 23rd Oct. 1946. Marr. 9th Feb. 



1926 Fanny, daugh. of Edward McRoberts 
and Fanny Phelps, and has issue William 
Butler, born 8th Jan. 1928; Frances 
McRoberts, born 30th June 1932. 

ROSNEATH 

The church was granted to Paisley Abbey 
by Anlay or Amelec, brother of Maldouin, 
Earl of Lennox, with confirmation by said 
Maldouin, and by Alexander II, 12th 
March 1225-6. It was dedicated to St 
Nicholas. Traditionally, however, the dedi 
cation is said to have been to the Virgin 
Mary, but the probability is that that was 
the dedication of the Chapel of Kilcreggan 
hence the popular interpretation of Ros- 
neath "isle" as the Virgin Promontory. 
On 1st June 1621 the parishioners un 
successfully petitioned Parliament for the 
removal of the church from the "island" 
to the mainland at Ardinconnel, where 
Rhu Church was subsequently built. Be 
sides the chapel at Kilcreggan, there were 
in the parish the Chapel of St Modan in the 
churchyard where the relics of the saint 
were kept, the Chapel of St Bean at Fass- 
lane, and a chapel at Port Kill, "harbour 
of the Chapel. The chancel of the church 
was extended in 1922 by H.R.H. Princess 
Louise, Duchess of Argyll, in memory of 
her husband, John, 9th Duke, and of 
George, 8th Duke. The reredos was 
erected by her in 1931. [Reg. of Paisley 
Abbey, 209; Acts Scott. Part., iv, 407b; 
Eraser s Lennox, 230; Watson s Celtic 
Place Names, 289, 312.] 

MALCOLM STEVENSON, exhorter 
1563. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 



1567 



Stirling, etc.] (See Luss.) 
GEORGE LINDSAY of Blackscolme. 



1614 



[G. R. Sas., ix, 140, 10th Dec. 
1621.] 

NINIAN CAMPBELL, second son of 
Colin C. of Ormidale (first family); 



had issue William; Colin, matric. 
Glasgow 1647. [G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., xiii, 
41.] 

ALEXANDER CAMERON, dem. 2nd 
1665 June 1680. 



DUNBARTON] 



ROSNEATH STRATHFILLEN 



283 



JAMES GORDON, third son. [G. R. 
1682 Sas., 3 Ser., xxix, 341.] 

JAMES GORDON, had issue Robert. 
1682 [Deeds, Dal., 1706, No. 260.] 

ROBERT CAMPBELL, min. at 



1689 



Stephenkirk in Ireland 1710; his son, 
Hugh, apprenticed to William Black- 
wood, merchant, 13th Dec. 1710. 



ALFRED WARR, his widow, Christian 



1887 



Grey Laing, died 27th Feb. 1945; 



1916 



his daugh., Agnes Christian Con 
stance (marr. 28th Oct. 1931 Stuart 
FCindersley Turnbull). 

ALEXANDER BROWN GRANT, 

dem. 10th April 1939; his wife, 
Agnes Bryden Mackendrick, died 
13th Dec. 1925. Marr (2) 3rd Jan. 1928 
Mabel Symon, second daugh. of David 
Low, Bearsden, Glasgow; his daugh., 
Juanita Turner (marr. 1st July 1936 
Robert McHarg, merchant, Glasgow). 

ROW or RHU 

ROBERT ANDERSON, son of William 



1684 



A., min. of Buchanan. [Deeds, 
Dal., 1705, Nos. 503, 504.] 



JOHN MACLEOD CAMPBELL, his 

daugh., Margaret Duncan, died at 
Stewkley Ham, Bucks, 25th Jan. 
1933. 

JOHN LAURIE-FOGO, his daughs. 



1832 

1930. 



Jane, D.C.S., died 25th Nov. 1929; 
Bertha Margaret, died 12th March 



JOHN McKESSER WEBSTER, his 

daugh., Winifred Mary (marr. 1908 

Lt.-Col. Sir James Forest Halket 

Carmichael, C.M.G.); his widow, Mary 

Jane Dennistoun, died 22nd March 1941. 

VINCENT CASSELS ALEXANDER, 
1914 trans, to Rubislaw 14th June 1922. 

ROBERT BALDOCK SCOTT, trans. 

1922 fr m Humbie (?- v -) 9th Nov - 1922 > 
died 7th May 1924; his widow, 
Alexa Evelyn Macleod, died 18th March 
1937. 



DONALD MCGREGOR GRANT, 



1924 



trans, from Newport (q.v.) 16th Oct. 

1924; drowned at Granton llth 
Dec. 1929. Addl. issue Espeth Catherine, 
born 13th June 1926. His daugh., Helen 
McGregor (marr. 7th Aug. 1946 Robert, 
younger son of Robert Aitken Dunbar). 

STRATHBLANE 

The church belonged to the Hospital of 
Polmadie, and with the hospital became a 
prebend of Glasgow in 1425-6 and in 
1453^ was annexed to the Collegiate 
Church of Dunbarton. 

JOHN COCHRANE, his daugh., Anne 
165Q (marr. cont. 31st May 1679 Archi 
bald Macgregor of that Ilk); died 
24th June 1125. [Stir ling Sas., 10th March 
1680.] 

JAMES GRAY, marr. Agnes, daugh. 



1748 



of William Fogo, merchant, Glas 
gow. 

HAMILTON BUCHANAN, bora 13th 
1835 June 1805. 

DANIEL JOHN FERGUSON, his 

widow, Henrietta Hamilton Mont- 



1874 



gomery, died 21st Dec. 1941. 



WILLIAM BEGBIE MOVES, dem. 5th 
Sept. 1933; died 8th March 1946. 
Marr. (2) 12th Oct. 1932 Catherine 
Renwick Watson. 

(United with Blane field 9th Feb. 1934.) 

STRATHFILLAN 

Part of the endowment granted by 
Robert I to the Chapel of St Fillan, which 
he founded in 1314, was the 5 lib. Lands of 
Wichtertiry (Uchterteris) in Glendochart. 
On 26th Feb. 1317-18 he granted the 
patronage of the Church of Killin to the 
Abbey and Convent of Inchaffray on condi 
tion that the abbey provided a canon to 
serve at the chapel; and the grant was 
repeated on 1 8th April 1318 without condi 
tion. Apparently the original design of the 
King was a chapel with a canon, but soon 
after the foundation the chapel was con 
verted into a priory, as is shown by a 
charter of William Sinclair, Bishop of 



284 



STRATHFILLAN YOKER [PRESS. OF DUMBARTON] 



Dunkeld, dated 28th Oct. 1318, granting 
to the Prior of Inchaffray and to the canons 
the Church of Killin (whose patronage, as 
just stated, had been granted by Robert I), 
and all the teinds, fruits, revenues of the 
same, to be converted to the use of the 
prior and canons living at the said chapel 
for the worship of God, provided that 
according to the capabilities of the place a 
sufficient number of canons should be 
settled there by the Abbot of Inchaffray. 
The Prior of St Fillan s Chapel, on the 
occurrence of a vacancy, was to be pre 
sented by the abbot and convent, and 
instituted by the Bishop. It may be that 
to the enlargement of the place, in order to 
render it fitting for a priory, there has 
reference an entry in the Exchequer Rolls 
in 1329 to the following effect Payment 
through Sir Robert de Bruce, natural son 
of King Robert, of a sum of 20 lib. for the 
building of the Church of St Fillan. In 
1543-4 the church was repaired at a cost 
of 300 merks. [Charters of Inchaffray 
Abbey, 116-20; Reg. Great Seal, i. App. 2, 
658, ii, 347, 2458, iii, 2705; Excheq. Rolls, 
i, 214.] 

ALEXANDER MACKINNON, his 
son, Duncan Archibald, M.A., min. 



1846 



of U.F. Church, Marykirk, died at 
Cromdale 22nd March 1922; his daugh., 
Jessie Elizabeth, died 22nd March 1932. 

GEORGE CALDER, D.D. (Glasgow 

1936), died 1st April 1941; his 

daughs. Helen Edith (marr. 26th 

April 1922 Andrew Davidson, M.B., 

Ch.B.); Margaret Evelyn Campbell (marr. 

12th Nov. 1930 George Stanley Gillies, 

Travancore, India). Addl. Publications 

The Scholar" s Primar (1917); Togailna Tebe. 

The Bard of Statues (1922); Gaelic Grammar 

(1923); Gaelic Songs by William Ross (1937). 

NEIL DUNCAN MACKINNON, dem. 
1913 31st May 1920. 



JAMES GOURLAY, M.A., B.D., licen. 

1920 ky Presb. of Dunfermline 1916, 

assistant South Leith; ord. 21st Dec. 

1920; dem. 30th Sept. 1930; assistant at 

Larbert; died 24th Dec. 1939. 

TEMPLE 

JAMES STUART CARSWELL, died 
1890 22nd Oct. 1940. 

YOKER 

JAMES SMITH, dem. 1st June 1920 on 



1917 



app. of Director of Religious In 
struction, St Andrews and Dundee 
Training College; his wife, Ruth Lindsay 
Morrison, died 3rd Oct. 1945. Marr. (2) 
2nd Sept. 1947 Margaret Helen Kemp, 
elder daugh. of George Birnie, min. of 
Speymouth. Publications The Book of the 
Prophet Ezekiel , The Teacher s Handbook 
to the Syllabus of Religious Instruction. 

JOHN SIMPSON AGNEW, M.A., born 



1920 



30th June 1888; licen. by Presb. of 
Paisley 1912; enlisted as private in 
Scots Guards, officer in H.L.I., three times 
wounded; assistant, East Wemyss, Kirk- 
caldy; ord. llth Nov. 1920; died at Paisley 
28th Dec. 1920. Marr. 12th Feb. 1910 
Eliza Jane Campbell, and had issue 
William Craigie, born 14th April 1911. 

WILLIAM WALLS, born 13th Oct. 



1921 



1889, son of David W., farmer, East 
Hillhouse, Riccarton, Ayrshire, and 
Agnes Stark; licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 
20th Dec. 1920; assistant Calton; ord. 20th 
April 1921; dem. 30th June 1935. Marr. 
27th March 1918 Mary Louisa, daugh. of 
William Jackson, and has issue Phyllis 
Mary, born 24th March 1919; Ian Gas- 
coyne, born 28th April 1922. Publications 
Life, Love and Light (Edinburgh, 1926); 
Inescapable Questions (Govan, 1927). 



PRESBYTERY OF GLASGOW 



BANTON 

JOHN ARCHIBALD DRON, trans, to 

Colintraive 8th July 1932, died 26th 

July 1939; his wife, Ethel Margaret 

Walworth Hutchison, died 14th June 1935. 

CADDER 

JAMES HAMILTON, Bishop of Argyll, 
held parsonage 1 576. [Cal. of Char- 



1576 



ters, xi, 2395.] (See Monkland.) 



JOHN SPOTTISWOOD, M.A., yr., 



parson 8th Oct. 1583; John S. of 
Cadder is mentioned at the same 
time. [Cal. of Charters, xii, 2685.] 

JOHN BELL, M.A., pres. to vicarage 
of Cadder and Monkland 25th Nov. 
1594 on dem. of Michael Chisholme. 

-[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixvii, 9.] 

THOMAS MELVILLE, son of Thomas 



1583 



1594 



1650 



M., min. of Terregles. Marr. Chris 
tian Rae, daugh. of Katherine Inglis. 



JOHN BUCHAN ADAM WATT, his 



1882 



widow, Margaret Annie Edith 
Sprague, died 21st May 1945. 



JAMES WOODSIDE ROBINSON, died 
1911 21st Aug. 1948. 

ALASDAIR ROBERT ELLIS MAO 
1929 INNES, born Tayvallich 4th Oct. 
1897, son of Alexander McL, min. 
of New Listen U.F. Church, and Margaret 
Ellis; educ. Dingwall Academy and Univ. 
of Edinburgh; licen. by Presb. of Bathgate 
(U.F.) 1926, assistant Buenos Ayres 1927; 
adm. by General Assembly as licentiate 
24th May 1928; assistant Mauchline; ord. 
A. and S. 5th June 1929, dem. 30th Sept. 
1941; adm. to Rodney Street, Liverpool, 
12th Dec. 1946; dem. 1949. Marr. 8th 
April 1930 Jane Seton Normansell Kyd, 



only daugh. of William Ingram, K.C., 
advocate (divorced for desertion 23rd Oct. 
1936). 

CAMPSIE 

On 6th June 1508 John Stirling of Craig- 
bernard, Kt., founded a perpetual chap- 
lainry at the Altar of the Virgin Mary in a 
cell or chapel in the church, and in a cell 
or chapel, also dedicated to the Virgin 
Mary, within the Place and Manor of 
Craigbernard, the endowment being 6 
merks 10 sh. from the lands of Craig 
bernard, and 6 merks from the lands of 
Glorat. [Reg. Great Seal, ii, 3240; Dioc. 
Reg. of Glasgow, ii, 413-14.] 

SIR WILLIAM ERSKINE, Knight, 

1563 P arson m 156 ^ secon d son of James 
E. of Little Sauchie, Commendator 
of Kinloss, Archbishop of Glasgow, a lay 
man, had issue Robert; Adam; Janet 
(marr. William, Earl of Stirling); Catherine 
(marr. 19th Dec. 1594 John, son of John 
Blair of Westkirk, Culross). [Stephen s 
Inverkeithing and Rosyth, 528; Reg. of 
Deeds, ix, 103, xix, 194; Comps. Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Stirling, etc. ] 

JOHN ARTHUR, reader in 1563. 



1563 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 
etc.] 



JOHN STOOD ART, min.; held the 



1574 



prebend of Castlehill; pres. to 
vicarage pensionary 20th June 1589 
on death of Archibald Douglas. He morti 
fied to the poor of Campsie 40 sh. annual 
rent from two houses and acre of land at 
the Kirk of Campsie, the property to be 
sold and the feu of 40 sh. administered by 
the min. and elders. [Hist. MSS. Commis. 
Reports, iii, Duntreith, 113; Comps. Gen. 
Coll. of Thirds , Reg. Sec. Sig., Ix, 20.] 



285 



286 



CAMPSIE CATHCART 



[PRESB. OF 



ARCHIBALD DOUGLAS, servitor to 



1576 



James, Earl of Morton; his pres. on 



death of William Kincaid. [Reg. 
Pres.Bene., i, (4), 45.] 

WILLIAM ERSKINE, marr. Janet 
1578 Erskine. 

ARCHIBALD DENNISTOUN, M.A.; 



1649 



his second wife, Katherine Stirling, 



with her son, George, a writer s 
servant, was resident in Tron Parish, 
Edinburgh, 12th Nov. 1694 [Tron Poll 
Tax Roll, 11.] 

JAMES LAPSIE, pres. 6; line 26, add 
1783 "pension of 50." 

THOMAS MONRO, pres. by Crown 



1844 



6th Jan. 1844; his son, James 
Berkeley Stevenson, died at Ade 
laide, South Australia, 1st Aug. 1923; his 
daugh., Eliza Alice Stevenson, died 14th 
May 1934. 

ALEXANDER WILSON FINLAY- 
SON, licen. by Presb. of Edinburgh 
May 1909, died 26th June 1940. 
Marr. 23rd June 1914 Evelyn Violet Emily, 
daugh. of James Oliver and Adeline 
Moubray, and had issue Evelyn Adeline 
Margaret, born 3rd June 1917 (marr. 3rd 
June 1941 Robert Wark Jenkins, R.N. Pay 
Corps); Marjory Edith Winifred, born 20th 
Feb. 1926; Geoffrey Beauchamp Alistair 
Moubray, born 17th July 1934. 

CARMUNNOCK 

ARCHIBALD HAMILTON, vicar in 



1559 



1559. [Reg. Abbrev. Feu Charters 
of Church Lands, i, 81.] 



ROBERT KERR, reader 1563. 



[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 
etc.] 

PETER PATERSON, his pres. in 1568 
was consequent upon the dem. of 
James Hamilton. [Reg. Pres. Bene., 



1563 



1568 



ANDREW HAMILTON, pres. to 



1585 



vicarage 14th Aug. 1575 on death 
of William Hamilton. [Reg. Pres. 
Bene., i, (4), 38.] 



ARCHIBALD GLEN. [G. R. Sas., 
1608 xxvii, 37.] 

ROBERT GLEN, his wife, Jean Sharp, 
may have been a daugh. of Patrick 
Sharp, min. of Govan, for Patrick s 
son, Mr David Sharp, min. of Kilbride, 
appears as a witness of Robert Glen s will. 
[Glasgow Test., 13th March 1622.] 

JAMES HUTCHESON, his son, James, 
1633 M.A. (Glasgow, 1645). 

ANDREW MORTON, line 27, for 



1650 



"1685" read "1683"; son of 
Andrew M., min. of Lundie. 



ANDREW TAIT, his son, William, 
went to Virginia. [Reg. of Deeds, 



1692 



Dal., 6th Sept. 1745.] 



JOHN KERR, his daugh., Isobel, died 
1744 30th Oct. 1788. 

GEORGE GREEN GILLAN, his 
1888 widow, Agnes Wedderburn, died 
10th Jan. 1930; his son, Sir Robert 
Woodburn, died 2nd July 1943. 

JOHN SMART, trans, to Carstairs 15th 
1913 March 1928. 

JOHN ANDERSON, born at Millerhill 
28th May 1901, son of Thomas A., 
Wester Millerhill, Dalkeith, and 
Helen Mathieson; educ. at Newton (Dal 
keith), and Broughton, Edinburgh, and 
Univ. of Edinburgh, M.A. (1923), B.D. 
(1926); Union Theological Seminary, New 
York, S.T.M. 1927; licen. by Presb. of 
Edinburgh 12th May 1926; assistant St 
Matthews, Edinburgh, 1927-8; ord. 21st 
Sept. 1928; trans, to Old Monkland 12th 
Oct. 1938. Marr. 29th July 1929 Dorothy 
Mary Elizabeth, B.A., daugh. of David 
Gall Cromb, 14 Eyre Crescent, Edinburgh, 
and Eleanor Rankin, and has issue David 
Mathieson, born 22nd July 1930; twin sons 
stillborn 12th Sept. 1933; Elspeth Eleanor 
Margaret, born 4th May 1935; Marjorie 
Isabel Helen, born 28th June 1939. 

CATHCART 

A new church, the last in Scotland to be 
built by the heritors, was opened in June 
1929. 



GLASGOW] 



CATHCART CUMBERNAULD 



287 



JOHN COLVILLE, reader 1563. 
. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, 



1563 



etc.] 



JAMES HILL, line 5, for "1572" read 
1568 "1571." 

JOHN RATTRAY, vicar pensioner. 
1574 [Acts and Dec., liv, 229.] 

ROBERT HAMILTON, son of James 
H. of Garyn, pres. in 1577 when 
reader here, on death of John 
Rattray. Marr. Isobel, daugh. of James 
Hamilton of Torrance. [House of Hamil 
ton, 364.] 

WILLIAM MUIRCROFT, adm. to 



1652 



Ardstraw, Ireland, 1655; dep. for 



nonconformity 1661, but continued 
to minister to 1 672. 

DAVID DOW, his daugh., Janet, died 
1788 21st June 1840. 

ARTHUR EUGENE CLAXTON, 
1896 licen. 1st May 1889. 

JOHN ALEXANDER COULL MAC- 



1910 



KELLAR, D.D. (Glasgow, 22nd 



June 1938); Convener, Jewish Com 
mittee, 1922; Joint Convener 1929-33; his 
wife, Jessie Kirkwood Semple, died 18th 
May 1927. Marr. (2) 22nd July 1931 
Margaret Stevenson, daugh. of John 
Anderson and Mary Dunlop. His son, Ian 
Coull Semple, chartered masseur. 

CHRYSTON 

WILLIAM DAVIDSON, dem. 4th June 
1929; died at Bridge of Weir 9th 
April 1933; his daugh., Jane Beattie, 
died 15th Aug. 1929. 

(Charges united 5th March 1950.) 



CONDORRAT 

In Oct. 1929 transferred to the Presby 
tery of Linlithgow and Falkirk. 



DONALD MACPHERSON, delete 
1920 entry, as he did not accept. 

CHARLES HEUGHAN, trans, from 
Hutchesontown (q.v.) 7th Dec. 1921 ; 
trans, to Carntyne 16th Sept. 1926. 



1921 



ARCHIBALD MONTGOMERY, 



1927 



trans, from Knoxland (q.v.) 24th 



March 1927; trans, to Buccleuch, 
Glasgow, 2nd July 1929. 

GEORGE MARTIN, born Glasgow 
1929 29th March 1899, son of David M. 
and Jean Lafferty; educ. at Skerry s 
College, Glasgow, and Univ. of Glasgow; 
licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 4th June 1929, 
assistant Barony; ord. and adm. 18th Sept. 
1929; trans, to Chapelton 14th Oct. 1936. 
Marr. 8th Oct. 1929 Christina, daugh. of 
J. P. Crosbie, and has issue David Clinton, 
born 2nd Aug. 1930; James Gordon, born 
4th Feb. 1932; Morag Christine, born 25th 
Dec. 1934. 

CUMBERNAULD 

The church was repaired in 1810. Within 
the parish are the ruins of the old Parish 
Church of Lenzie (Kirkintilloch). There 
was a chapel at Chapelton on the farm of 
Achinkill. Transferred to Presb. of Lin 
lithgow and Falkirk Oct. 1929. 

GILBERT MUSHET, on account of 



1666 



the opposition of the parishioners 



he was compelled to "leave home 
and Church" before 21st Jan. 1692, with 
"no hope of returning"; and on that date 
John Paterson, "Bishop of Glasgow," 
imprisoned in Edinburgh Castle, sent to 
"All Archbishops, Bishops, Presbyters, 
and other Clerics of Churches of England 
and Ireland" a letter commending Mushet 
in the hope that "he may be admitted to 
the ministry." [Cal. Laing Charters, 
2894.] 

HUGH PARK, his son, Sir Maitland, 



1848 



died at Cape Town 15th March 
1921. 



288 



CUMBERNAULD ANDERSTON 



[PRESB. OF 



JOHN OGILVIE, died 7th Dec. 
1900 1948. 



CUMBERNAULD, EAST 

JOHN COCHRANE, had issue 
Georgina Isabella Waddell, born 
24th June 1846 (marr. 1st Aug. 1873 
William Thomson Henderson, Bo ness). 



1839 



EAGLESHAM 

HENRY SINCLAIR, Bishop of Ross, 
described as parson, vicar and min. 
in 1561. [Comps. Gen. Coll. o, 
Thirds.] 



1561 



1563 



ARCHIBALD CRAWFORD, M.A., 

second son of John C. of Crawford- 
land; secretary and almoner to Mary 
of Lorraine; app. Lord of Session 26th 
April 1566, but depr. 2nd June 1568; was 
parson 12th June 1558, in 1563, and still 
in office 1580. [Acts and Dec., xxxiii, 404; 
xli, 323, 337, 360; Reg. Abbrev.Feu Charters 
of Church Lands, i, 5, ii, 160; Reg. of Deeds, 
iii, 3014, vi, 272, xii, 149.] (See West 
Kilbride and Kilmaronock.) 

ROBERT BROWN, reader 19th Aug. 
1580 1580. [Edin. Tests., viii, 277.] 

ANDREW BOYD, M.A. (Glasgow, 



1589 



1 584), natural son of Thomas, first 
Lord Boyd of Kilmarnock. [Reg. 
of Deeds, clxxxiii, 176, 15th June 1603.] 

JAMES HAMILTON, his sons 
Robert, apprenticed to Archibald 
Hamilton, merchant, Edinburgh, 
13th Jan. 1675; William, apprenticed to 
John Day, surgeon apothecary, 22nd April 
1692. 

JOHN HOUSTON, intruded at Lonmay 
1685 before 1696, died 1707. 

ALEXANDER DOBIE, line 8, for 



1786 



"Carfin" read "Greenholm"; his 
son, David, surgeon, H.E.I.C.S. 



JAMES BUCHANAN, died 4th Aug. 
1881 1924. 



DAVID LANGLANDS SEATH, born 

1917 Dundee; marr. 12th Aug. 1925 

Janet, daugh. of James Gemmell 

and Agnes Wallace, and has issue Joyce 

Gemmell, born 27th Feb. 1926. 

GLASGOW 

ABBOTSFORD 

JAMES McN AUGHT, his wife, Janet 
Kinnear Beatson, died 18th June 
1876; his daughs. Jane Helen 
(marr. P. Nisbet, C.A.), died at Perth 5th 
June 1921; Elizabeth Barclay Campbell, 
died at Droitwich 4th Feb. 1932. 



1904 



ROBERT NELSON, dem. 15th June 
1933 on union of Abbotsford with 
Chalmers (formerly U.F.) Church. 
Became senior assistant, South Leith, 1st 
Oct. 1936; his son, Robert Arthur, tweed 
manufacturer, Earlston. 

(United with Abbotsford-Chalmers \5th 
June 1933.) 

ANDERSTON 
(now Anderston Old) 

JOHN LOVE, father a weaver, mother 



1800 



Margaret Lang. Marr. Janet Mc- 



Killop, s.p.; line 25, add "2 vols. 
(1929)." 

ALEXANDER NEIL SOMERVILLE, 

his son, James Ewing, died at CrierT 
20th Dec. 1923; his daugh., Eliza 

(marr. Major-General J. Keir), died 6th 

Feb. 1921. 

JAMES ROBERTSON, his widow, 



1837 



1904 



Anne Gordon, died at Croy 31st 
Aug. 1944. 

ALEXANDER MOFFATT, son of 

1920 Alexander M . and Jane McClymont, 
trans, from St Stephen s, Perth 
(q.v.\ 15th June 1920; trans, to Second 
Charge, Campbeltown, 9th July 1930; dem. 
8th May 1945; adm. to Lethnot and Navar 
14th Oct. 1945. Marr. Margaret Moffat, 
daugh. of William Morris, and has issue 
Ninian, schoolmaster, born 14th April 
1913, died 23rd June 1942; Claire, born 
22nd Aug. 1916. 



GLASGOW] 



BALSHAGRAY BARONY 



289 



BALSHAGRAY 

ANDREW WATT, his wife, Mary 



1909 



Campbell Burns, died 12th March 
1937. 



ALEXANDER WRIGHT STEVEN- 

SON trans - to Inch 12th March 
1925. 



1925 



PETER CARMICHAEL MILLAR, 
O.B.E., trans, from Balmerino (<?.v.) 
1st Oct. 1925; trans, to St Nicholas s 
West, Aberdeen, 27th March 1933; D.D. 
(Glasgow, 26th June 1945); trans, to 
Fintray, 2nd Oct. 1947. Marr. 28th April 
1 926 Ailsa Rose Brown, daugh. of Colonel 
Ewan Campbell, Edinburgh, and has issue 
Peter Carmichael, born 19th Feb. 1927; 
Jessie, born 9th Dec. 1929. 

BARONY 

ZACHARY BOYD. [G. R. Sas., xxv, 
1623 85.] 

JAMES STIRLING, line 3, for "3000" 
1699 read "300." 

LAWRENCE HILL, p. 394, line 12, 
1750 for "John" read "James." 

NORMAN MACLEOD, his son, 



1851 



William Mackintosh, died at Lon 



don 30th June 1931; his daughs. 
Ann Campbell (Lady Wilson) died at 
Crieff 13th April 1921; Jane, died at Edin 
burgh 8th Feb. 1939; Mary Rhoda, died 
28th Feb. 1947. 

JOHN MARSHALL LANG, pres. by 
1873 Crown 23rd Sept. 1873. 

JOHN WHITE, D.D., born Glasgow 
191 j 1 6th Dec. 1 867, son of Matthew W., 
grain merchant, Kilwinning and 
Partick; educ. at Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. 
(1891); licen. by Presb. of Dunbarton in 
1892; missionary at Drumchapel; ord. to 
Shettleston 14th March 1893; built churches 
in Carntyne and Tollcross and a new parish 
church at Shettleston; trans, to South Leith 
27th Sept. 1904; trans, and adm. 7th June 
1911; Secretary and afterwards Convener 
of General Assembly s Committee for 
Conference on Union with United Free 



Church; Convener of Business Committee 
of the General Assembly of the Church, 
1926-40; Chairman of the Church and 
Nation Committee; first President of the 
Scottish Churches Council; Convener of 
Special Committee on Teinds and Church 
Property, leading to legislation in 1925; 
Convener of Home Mission Committee 
and afterwards Convener of the Home 
Board; Convener of the special "Church 
Extension Committee" 1933; Chaplain to 
the Forces in France 1914-17; Convener of 
Church and Nation Committee; Joint Con 
vener of Committee to confer with Repre 
sentatives of Anglican Church; Commis 
sioner to the Church in Australia and 
representative to the Church in Tasmania 
on occasion of its centenary; Chaplain to 
His Majesty King George V 4th Aug. 1924, 
to King Edward VII, to King George VI; 
Chairman of the Church of Scotland Trust; 
Moderator of the General Assembly 1925; 
first Moderator of the General Assembly of 
the United Church Oct. 1929; received 
Freedom of the City of Edinburgh 1929; 
D.D. (Glasgow, 1920); LL.D. (Glasgow, 
1929); LL.D. (Edinburgh, 1929); D.D. (St 
Andrews, 28th Sept. 1937); honoured by 
King George with the Companionship of 
Honour, C.H., 1936. Marr. (1) 5th Sept. 
1893 Margaret (died 20th Sept. 1942), 
elder daugh. of John Gardner, Muirpark, 
Partick, and has issue Matthew Kennedy, 
born 29th May 1895, Captain Vth Came- 
ronians (Scottish Rifles); John Gardner, 
born 17th May 1897, Lieut. Vth Came- 
ronians (Scottish Rifles), attached Royal 
Flying Corps; fell at La Bruyere Ferme, 
France, 26th Aug. 1917; Lilias Paton, born 
8th Feb. 1899 (marr. Captain John K. 
Tullis Glen, Caldercruix); James Bishop, 
born 30th July 1901; Margaret Gardner, 
born 27th July 1903, died 26th Dec. 1914; 
(2) 24th April 1945 Anne May Calder- 
wood, only daugh. of David Woodside, 
D.D., min. of Newlands U.F. Church, 
Glasgow. Publications With the Came- 
ronians (Glasgow, 1917); Memorandum on 
Church Properties with a View to Legisla 
tion , The Church and Reunion in Scotland , 
Efficiency (Assembly closing address, 1925); 
Reunion and its Tasks (The Union Assembly 



290 



BARONY BLACKFRIARS 



[PRESB. OF 



address, 1929); Surge Memorial Lecture; 
Reunion and International Friendship (1930); 
The New World Situation. 

BARROWFIELD 
(now St Francis in the East) 

ROBERT TURNBULL, his widow, 



1883 



Kate Anderson Smith, died 27th 
March 1924. 

WALTER SHAW, dem. 28th Nov. 1928; 
1919 died 4th Jan. 1929. 

BATTLEFIELD 
(now Battlefield West) 
CHARLES JAMES DONALDSON, 

1919 trans, to Riccarton 24th Nov. 1926. 

WILLIAM WILSON MORRELL, 



1927 



M.B.E., born Glasgow llth July 
1898, son of David Alexander M., 
assistant inspector, Glasgow Parish Coun 
cil, and Eliza Wilson; educ. John Street 
H.G. School, Glasgow, and Univ. of Glas 
gow; licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 20th Dec. 
1922; assistant Greenhead 1923; Neilston; 
ord. to Elderslie 17th Sept. 1923; trans, 
and adm. 7th June 1927; trans. (C. and S.) 
to Trinity College and Moray-Knox, Edin 
burgh, 28th Oct. 1936. Marr. 21st Nov. 
1923 Grace, daugh. of James Reid and 
Wilhelmina Liddell, and has issue Grace 
Wilhelmina Reid, born 18th Feb. 1928; 
David William James, born 26th July 1933. 

BELLAHOUSTON 

JOHN BROWN, his daughs. Mar- 



1887 



garet Romanes, died 4th March 



1922; Jean, died at Edinburgh 24th 
Feb. 1929; his widow, Margaret Romanes 
Rankine, died at Edinburgh 25th Oct. 1943, 
aged 95. 

WILLIAM WHITE ANDERSON, 



1919 



trans, to New Kilpatrick 9th Sept. 
1926; line 10, for "Doo" read 
"Dud." 

HENRY COULTER, trans, from Hol- 
192? burn 9th Feb. 1927; his daughs. 
Sylvia Lucinda (marr. Robert Dun 
can Fairbairn, Midland Bank, England); 
Dorothy Ruth, born 10th Sept. 1924; 
Marjorie lona Bride, born 27th Jan. 1929; 



his son, John Aitken, agricultural student; 
his daugh., Dorothy Ruth (marr. 15th 
April 1947 James Gordon, son of Thomas 
Macpherson, M.P., Great Wagley, Essex.) 

STEVEN MEMORIAL, 
BELLAHOUSTON 

ROBERT CHALMERS ANDERSON, 



1915 



dem. 6th July 1923; adm. to Dulnain 



1925 



Bridge 1925; trans, to Culsalmond 
15th July 1927; died 25th Nov. 1931. 

GEORGE WILLIAM WALKER, trans, 
from Ceres (q.v.) 8th Dec. 1925; 
trans, to Dailly 28th Nov. 1929; died 
Ayr 4th May 1946. 

BELMONT 

JOHN FRASER GRAHAM, died 14th 



1886 



Sept. 1937; his wife, Helen Taylor 
Thomson Hume, died 29th Sept. 
1934; his daughs. Katherine (marr. (2) 
16th July 1930 James John Ainslie); Helen 
Thomson (marr. Colin Macfarlane, Glas 
gow), died 17th March 1939. 

STUART CRAWFORD PARKER, 

dem. 28th March 1923; went to St 



Andrews, Toronto, died 15th Jan. 



1919 

1950. 

WILLIAM LARNOCH TENNYSON 

LEVACK, trans, from Leuchars 

(?.v.) 9th Oct. 1923; D.D. (Glasgow, 

19th June 1929); died 8th Dec. 1935. His 

son, William Larnoch, min. of Mauritius. 

BLACKFRIARS 

JOHN BELL, line 2, for "John B., min. 



1636 



of Tron Parish, Glasgow" read 
"third son of James B., merchant, 

Glasgow." [Burgess Roll, 23rd March 

1633.] 

PETER NAPIER, his daugh., Isabel, 
1845 died Bridge of Allan 13th June 1943. 

JAMES MACKAY, his son, Herbert 
1865 James Hay, died 22nd Jan. 1937. 

THOMAS SOMERVILLE, his widow, 
Agnes Dawson, died at Edinburgh 
28th Jan. 1926; his daugh., Agnes 
Naysmith, died 6th Feb. 1940. 



GLASGOW] 



BLACKFRIARS CALTON 



291 



DAVID FRANCIS LIDDLE, died 17th 
Oct. 1936; had issue Louise Pinck- 
ney, born 29th Nov. 1919; Catherine 
Fraser, born 4th May 1921. 



1916 



BLUEVALE 

ANDREW MILLER, his widow, Janet 
Agnes Kirke, died 3rd Nov. 1935; his 
daugh., Jane Johnstone (marr. 22nd 

June 1929 Andrew, son of Andrew Yardley, 

Stafford). 

JAMES AITKEN BOAG, served as 



1919 



officer in Royal Scots Fusiliers; 



1929 



Chaplain to Duke Street Prison; 
died 3rd Nov. 1928. 

WALTER DAVIDSON, trans, from 
Earlston (q.v.) 12th June 1929; trans, 
to Galston (C. and S.) 30th Sept. 
1931; trans, to Elie Old 23rd March 1944; 
has issue Lorenzo Douglas, M.A., B.Sc., 
schoolteacher, died 1st July 1933; Frances 
Mary; William Leslie Beaumont, British 
Linen Bank; Phyllis Margaret, born 25th 
July 1918. 

BLYTHSWOOD 

(United to St Matthew s \\th June 1920.) 

BRIDGEGATE 

JOHN STEWART, dem. 28th May 



1882 



1931, died 17th Dec. 1932; assistant 



St John s, Glasgow, before 1875; 
his son, Joseph, died 1st June 1891; his 
daughs. Margaret, died 4th May 1890; 
Elfledamacuaria, died llth Nov. 1909. 

(United to Hutchinsontown 28th May 1931 .) 

BRIDGETON 

GEORGE SIMPSON, his widow, 



1852 



Rachel Grace Weir Thomson, died 
at Lesmahagow 26th March 1939. 



THOMAS HISLOP, died llth Jan. 
1877 1929. 

ALEXANDER LYON BENNET, trans. 

1923 A. and S. from Bargeddie (q.v.) 1 1th 

Oct. 1923; trans, to Chryston East 



9th Jan. 1930; trans, to Lasswade Old 4th 
Sept. 1935; died 19th Feb. 1940. Marr. 
30th April 1929 Margaret Elizabeth, daugh. 
of John Findlay. 

BUCCLEUCH 

JOHN MACKINTOSH, died 12th Oct. 



1912 



1924; his widow, Eugenie Fair- 
weather, died 21st Oct. 1938. 



FRANKLIN ROSS TAYLOR LOR- 
NIE, M.A., trans, from Anwoth 
26th March 1925; trans, to Fyvie 
20th Feb. 1929. 

ARCHIBALD MONTGOMERY, educ. 



1929 



at Dalintober and Grammar School, 



Campbeltown; Royal Bounty Mis 
sionary at Cairndow, Argyll, 1908; Dar- 
conner Mission, Auchinleck, 1914; ord. to 
Knoxland 30th March 1916; trans, to 
Condorrat (q.v.) 24th March 1927; trans. 
2nd July 1929; dem. 14th Oct. 1945; died 
29th June 1947. Marr. 3rd May 1927 
Margaret Oliver (died s.p. Oct. 1938), 
daugh. of William Oliver Chisholm. 

(Charge united with St Stephen s \4th 
Oct. 1945.) 

CALTON 

The church was transported to a new site 
within the parish at Newbank, opened 6th 
Dec. 1935, as part of the scheme for church 
extension. 

JOHN JACK, pres. by Crown 30th Nov. 
1861 1861. 

JOHN MURRAY, son of Henry M., 



1864 



farmer, and Janet Petrie; pres. by 
Crown 17th June 1864. 



WILLIAM CHALMERS SMITH, died 



1898 



7th Aug. 1937; his widow, Elizabeth 
Dorothea Lyness, died 21st May 
1944; his children Dorothea Stewart, died 
15th June 1916; George Cruickshank 
Lyness, engineer; William Courtland 
Bannatyne, min. of Clousta; Helen Stewart, 
doctor; Anne Lindsay Stewart, medical 
student. 



292 



CARNTYNE, ST MICHAEL S DEAN PARK 



[PRESB. OF 



CARNTYNE, ST MICHAEL S 

A chapel was built here in 1900 by the 
Rev. John White, min. of Shettleston, and 
the parish of Carntyne was disjoined from 
Shettleston on 14th Jan. 1914. 



JAMES STORRY BARROWMAN, 

trans, to Crosshill, Ayr, 19th Jan. 
1926. 



1910 



CHARLES HEUGHAN, trans, from 
Condorrat 16th Sept. 1926; trans. 



1926 



to Forth 3rd June 1927. 



1927 



DONALD JOHNSON, born at Knock- 
bain 13th Aug. 1884, son of Donald 
Johnson, F.E.I. S., schoolmaster, 
and Catherine McDonald; educ. Duns- 
kellor P.S., North Uist, and Glasgow High 
School; Univ. of Glasgow; licen. by Presb. 
of Glasgow 27th April 1927, assistant 
Chalmers, Glasgow; ord. 15th Nov. 1927. 

CHALMERS 

JAMES COLLIER, his widow, Agnes 
Learmonth Davidson, died 2nd 



1876 



Aug. 1929. 



1897 



ROBERT JACK, died 16th April 1941. 
Marr. 28th Oct. 1919 Euphemia 
Amelia Nightingale, younger daugh. 
of E. J. Mozart Allan, music publisher, 
Glasgow, and had issue Robert, born 21st 
Sept. 1920; David Allan, born 13th Sept. 
1923; Christina McKenzie, born 20th Jan. 
1926. 

COLSTON WELLPARK 

ALEXANDER MACLELLAN, died 
14th Oct. 1934; his widow, Isabella 



1904 



Spence, died llth Dec. 1944. 



COWLAIRS 

JOHN GIBB DUNCAN, died 28th 
March 1934; his widow, Catherine 



1899 



Reed Arthur, died 17th Feb. 1946. 

DALMARNOCK 

JAMES KELLY, had issue James, 
born 31st Aug. 1880, Principal of 
Aitchison (Chief s) College, Lahore, 



1877 



India; Isabella F., born 28th Nov. 1881, 
teacher of Domestic Science; Margaret S., 
born 8th March 1883, shorthand typist; 
Ellie A., born 15th March 1885, Church of 
Scotland Mission, Madras (marr. S. H. 
Pugh, M.B., Ch.B., F.R.C.S. (Edin.), 
London Missionary Society, Neyyoor, 
Travancore, India); Katherine, born 15th 
March 1885, Church of Scotland Mission, 
Madras, now at Arkonam; William A., 
born 19th March 1888, incapacitated 
through accident while student at Brasenose 
College, Oxford; Thomas, born 10th April 
1889, engineer, Babcock & Wilcox, Lon 
don; John Tannahill, born 4th March 1895, 
student, Glasgow University, killed in ac 
tion, Ypres 31st July 1917 (25th Machine 
Gun Corps). 

CHARLES WILLIAM KENNEDY, 
1900 died 8th March 1927. 

PETER HILL NICOLL, B.D., for- 
2 _ merly of Abbey, Arbroath, and All 
Saints, Demerara (#.v.); adm. 27th 
Sept. 1927; trans, to Garvock llth July 
1944. Marr. 14th Jan. 1915 Margie Vivien, 
daugh. of Michael Kennedy, and has issue 
Freda Cecilia Jean, medical student, born 
23rd Oct. 1915; James, C.A., born 6th July 
1917; Ivan Kennedy, C.A., born 14th Jan. 
1921. Publication "Argentine Memories 
the Royal Road," Blackwood s Maga 
zine, Sept. 1917, Jan. 1918. 

DEAN PARK 

JAMES THOMAS GRAHAM, his 

widow, Annalexa Macmaster, died 
3rd Aug. 1940; his son, William, 
min. of Ardersier. 



1878 



CHARLES SCOTT BURDON, born 
1919 3rd Nov. 1862, died 4th March 1930. 



1928 



JOHN MOREL McWILLIAM, trans. 
A. and S. from Craigmore (q.v.) 17th 
May 1928; adm. to united charge of 
St Kiarans and Dean Park 19th Nov. 1931; 
trans, to Tynron 8th Sept. 1938; had issue- 
Hester Lowry Douglas, born 14th April 
1918 (marr. 9th Aug. 1939 George Patrick 
Henderson, M.A.). Publications The 
Birds of Bute (London, 1927); The Birds of 



GLASGOW] 



DEAN PARK GOVAN 



293 



1890 



the Firth of Clyde (London, 1935), and 
many papers on ornithology and natural 
history in Zoologist, Scottish Naturalist, 
British Birds, etc. 

(United to St Kiarans 1st June 1932.) 

ELDER PARK 

Parish erected llth July 1892. 

DAVID ORR, his daughs. Elizabeth 
Anna (marr. 27th Jan. 1922 Sir John 
Auld MacTaggart, Bart.); Elinor 

Liddell (marr. 22nd Jan. 1924 Stuart 

Phillip McCreadie). 

ARCHIBALD GRAHAM STUART, 

trans, from Ardler (q.v.) 19th May 
1921, died 24th Jan. 1936; his daugh. 
Ann Bruce Mackenzie (marr. 21st March 
1929 Arthur John de Burgh Persse Hether- 
ington, min. of Melville Church, Mont- 
rose). 

GARTCOSH 

DONALD STEWART MACKENZIE, 
|Q1 , formerly of Kildrummy, adm. 3rd 
April 1926; trans, to Aberlour 25th 
June 1930. His daugh., Muriel, M.B., 
Ch.B. (marr. 24th June 1948 Benjamin 
Henry Dawson, M.B., Ch.B.). 

GORBALS 

WILLIAM ANDERSON, born 30th 
1?71 June 1728, eldest son of John A., 
tenant in Bickramside of Nether 
Kinneddar in parish of Saline, Fife; educ. 
at Univ. of Edinburgh; app. Schoolmaster, 
Precentor and Session Clerk in the parish 
of Carnock, Fife, in 1748; licen. by Presb. 
of Dunfermline llth Dec. 1760; app. as 
preacher at Gorbals, Glasgow, in 1770; 
pres. by Univ. of Glasgow in March, and 
ord. first min. of the parish 9th May 1771; 
died 1 1th Dec. 1792, and buried in Gorbals 
Burial Ground. He marr. Elizabeth (born 
17th April 1723, died 19th April 1795), 
youngest daugh. of John Stobie, portioner 
of Wester Luscar in the parish of Carnock, 
and of Grisel Stobie, and had issue 
Grisel, born 24th Dec. 1753 (marr. 15th 
Feb. 1790 Bailie John Smith), died s.p. 



T* 



5th Feb. 1791; Janet, born llth April 1755, 
died llth April 1851; Margaret, born 22nd 
Dec. 1757, died 28th Oct. 1784; Elizabeth, 
born 15th June 1759, died 28th May 1836; 
John, born 19th March 1761, merchant, 
Glasgow; William, born 17th Feb. 1765, 
died 1765; William, bora 2nd July 1766, 
died 1819; surgeon, Glasgow. (Glasgow 
Past and Present, etc.). [Ex. inform. H. L. 
Anderson, 18 Rosary Gardens, London, 
S.W.7.] 

1793 JAMES McLEAN, father a flesher. 

THOMAS LOGAN DOUGLAS, trans. 
1915 to Crawford 21st Feb. 1922. 

WILLIAM FULTON, ord. 5th Dec. 



1922 



1922; trans, to Canisbay 18th July 
1928. 



EDWARD ARTHUR NEIL SIN- 



1928 



CLAIR, born 23rd June 1894, son 



of Archibald S., Tiree, and Cathe 
rine Mackinnon; educ. Bellahouston Aca 
demy, Glasgow; Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. 
(1919); licen. by Presb. of Lorn, 1920; 
assistant Wallyford (Inveresk) and Largs, 
1921; ord. 29th Nov. 1928; trans, to 
Cortachy 26th Nov. 1942. Marr. 3rd June 
1929 Jane, daugh. of James Campbell, Ayr, 
and Helen Neil, and has issue Maureen 
Campbell, born 20th Jan. 1931; Lorna 
Jean, born 4th March 1939. Publications 
Legend of Kil churn , Songs oj Ivar (1921). 

( United with John Knox s 30th March 1 943 .) 

GOVAN 

There was in the church a chapel dedi 
cated to the Virgin Mary, of which the 
parishioners were patrons. 

At Polmadie there was a hospital, in 
existence in the time of Alexander III, 
1249-85, dedicated to St John, and, accord 
ing to a statement in 1453 by Isabel, Coun 
tess of Lennox, widow of Murdoch, Duke 
of Albany and patron of the hospital, 
"founded and endowed by her predeces 
sors. By Bull of Pope Martin of 1 2th Jan. 
1426-7 the hospital with its attached 
Church of Strathblane was erected into a 
prebend of Glasgow. The prebendary had 
to give 16 merks for the support of four 



294 



GOVAN GOVANHILL 



[PRESB. OF 



boys to sing in the choir of Glasgow Cathe 
dral, and also had to make provision for 
a vicar to serve the Church of Strathblane. 
In 1453 the foresaid Countess of Lennox 
declared that the hospital was so remote 
from Lennox that her predecessors could 
not conveniently visit and reform it, so that 
it is neglected and forgotten, and is turned 
from its original purpose"; and on her 
petition at that date the Pope decreed that 
the hospital with its annexes, including the 
Church of Strathblane, be attached to the 
Chapel of St Mary of Dunbarton, the 
future collegiate church of that town, and 
that in it "shall be observed the same 
hospitality as has been wont to be observed 
in the said hospital from the time of its 
foundation. 

In the parish at the Bridge of Glasgow 
there was also a leper hospital, with chapel, 
founded by Marjory Stewart, daughter of 
Robert, Duke of Albany, and wife of Sir 
Duncan Campbell of Lochow, afterwards 
Lord Campbell, and dedicated to St Ninian 
the Confessor and Pontiff. For the re 
building and endowment of the chapel 
William Stewart, Prebendary of Killearn 
and Rector of Glasford, by Charter of 31st 
May 1494 granted a tenement in Glasgow 
and also various annual rents. [Reg. Mag. 
Sig., v, 599; Cal of Papal Registers, Letters, 
x, 623-4; Reg. Epis. of Glasgow, i, Pref., 
cl, 223, 225; ii, 326-7, 341, 488-90; Excheq. 
Rolls, iv, Pref. clxxxvi; Rymer s Foedera, 
ii, Pt. i, 401, edition 1818; see Dunbarton 
and Strathblane.] 

STEPHEN BEATON, M.A., designated 
parson and vicar 1563. [Comps. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 



1560 



THOMAS ARCHIBALD, M.A., parson 
1566. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 



1566 



Stirling, etc.] 



JAMES GIBSON, exhorter 1567 and 



1567 



1569. [Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, 
Stirling, etc.] 



PATRICK SHARP, his daughs. Mary 
(marr. Thomas Muir, merchant); 
Rachel (by second marriage) (marr. 
Gavin Stewart, min. of Dalmellington). 



HUGH BINNING, his widow marr. 
1650 (2) 30th Aug. 1660. 

JOHN PETTIGREW, his daugh., Mar 
garet (marr. Robert McBrayer, 
merchant, Glasgow). 

JOHN MACLEOD, the acknowledged 



1875 



leader of the important movement 
in doctrine, ritual, and church order 
of which the Scottish Church Society was 
a principal exponent; his sons John Nor 
man, C.M.G., C.I.E., died at Nice 16th 
Jan. 1932; William Arthur, Canon and 
Rural Dean of Wakefield, died 8th Nov. 
1932. 



JOHN McGILCHRIST, licen. 24th 
April 1894; trans, to Old Machar 
23rd Nov. 1923. 



1913 



GEORGE GORDON DUNDAS 

STEWART DUNCAN, formerly of 

St Cuthbert s, Edinburgh (q.v.); 

trans, from St Paul s, Montreal, 13th May 

1924; trans, to New Abbey 1st March 1929; 

died 19th Oct. 1932. 



1929 



DAVID BRUCE NICOL, M.C., for 
merly of Skelmorlie (q.v.), trans, 
from St Mark s, Dundee, 5th Sept. 
1929; died 23rd March 1930. His son, 
Thomas James Trail, Chaplain to Forces. 
Addl. issue David Wotherspoon, born 
19th July 1926; Kenneth Mair, born llth 
Dec. 1928. 

GOVANHILL 

(now Govanhill South) 

JOHN MUIR, died 16th Jan. 1931; his 
widow, Margaret Picken Pollock, 
daugh. of Robert Sim, Stewarton, 
died 2nd Feb. 1933. 

THOMAS STOBO GLEN, trans, to 
1916 Dollar 14th Feb. 1929. 



1929 



WILLIAM DARLING GUTHRIE, 

born at Leven 23rd Sept. 1900, son 
of William G. and Janet Baynes; 
educ. Leven H.G. School, Univ. of St 
Andrews, M.A. (1922), and Edinburgh; 
licen. by Presb. of St Andrews 1924; 



GLASGOW] 



GOVANHILL KELVINHAUGH 



295 



assistant Kingsbarns 1924; St Matthew s, 
Edinburgh, 1925; ord. to Thornton 17th 
Dec. 1925; trans, and adm. 18th June 1929. 

GREENHEAD 

EDWARD GILLESPIE, born 13th Aug. 



1920 



1859; ord. to Ardeer Free Church 



1909, adm. with his congregation 
from Free Church by General Assembly 
1915; pres. by Presb. of Glasgow jure 
develuto; adm. 28th Sept. 1920; dem. on 
union with Greenhead East 19th Nov. 
1937; died 18th June 1939. Marr. 2nd June 

1882 Jane and had issue Margaret 

C, born 30th Nov. 1883; John M., born 
8th Dec. 1887; Agnes A., born 22nd Dec. 
1891. 

HILLHEAD 

DAVID STRONG, died 25th June 1923; 



1872 



his widow, Barbara Jane Hamilton 
Thomson, died 9th Dec. 1931. 

WALTER ROLAND LACEY, M.A. 

(1895), trans, to Buchanan llth 
Sept. 1922. 

ALFRED ERNEST WARR, born 29th 
July 1889, elder son of Alfred W., 



1914 



1923 

min. of Rosneath; educ. at Glasgow 

Academy, Univ. of Edinburgh, M.A. (191 1 ), 
B.D. (1914); licen. by Presb. of Dunbarton 
1914, assistant at Hamilton; served in 16th 
Royal Scots and as Major taken prisoner at 
Armentieres in April 1918; locum tenens 
High Church, Inverness; ord. to Cold- 
stream 4th Dec. 1919; trans, and adm. 1st 
March 1923; chaplaincy at Simla and 
Lahore in India under General Assembly s 
Overseas Committee 1932-3; trans, to St 
Mary, Dundee, 8th Nov. 1933; died at 
London 13th Sept. 1936. Marr. 24th June 
1915 Hilda Smallpage, youngest daugh. of 
John Bayley Lees, Oaklands, Handsworth, 
and Emilia Smallpage, and had issue 
Hilda Nevyth Sheila, born 7th Aug. 1916 
(marr. 15th June 1945 Wing Commander 
George E. B. Christie, O.B.E., R.A.F.V.R.); 
Jean Audrey Lascelles, born 4th Nov. 1920 
(marr. 15th Nov. 1946 Robert Stanley 
Norim, Fleetwood, Knutsford, Cheshire); 
Charles Alfred Wellesley, born 21st July 
1933, Major, Black Watch. 



HUTCHESONTOWN 

CHARLES HEUGHAN, trans, to Con- 
1917 dorrat 7th Dec. 1921. 

DUNCAN MAcGILLIVRAY, trans. 



1921; dem. 28th May 1931; died 2nd 
Dec. 1938. Addl. issue Esther Evelyn, 
born 14th March 1920; Elizabeth, born 
25th April 1923; Agnes, born 7th March 
1926; Mary, born 8th Feb. 1929; George 
Alexander, born 1 1th Aug. 1936; his sons 
Archibald, died 10th Aug. 1895; Alexander, 
died 10th July 1900; his daugh., Mary 
Webster, died 8th Feb. 1929. 
(United to Bridgegate 28th May 1931.) 

HYNDLAND 

JOHN SERVICE, his widow, Jessie 



1878 



Bayne, died 5th May 1921; his son, 
John, died 27th March 1943. 



HENRY GREY GRAHAM, his widow, 
Alice Carlyle, died at London 4th 
April 1928, aged 82. 

MATTHEW GARDNER, died at Edin- 



1906 



burgh 20th Dec. 1939; his wife, 
Marion Plumer Semple, died 1st 
Nov. 1939, aged 77; his daugh., Florence 
Marguerite (marr. 7th April 1920 William 
Hugh Hamilton of Cairns Castle, W.S.). 



1923 



JOHN LAMB, trans, from Fyvie (q.v.) 
A. and S. 3rd Oct. 1923; trans, to 
Crathie 6th May 1937; M.V.O. (Jan. 
1947); Domestic Chaplain to H.M. the 
King; has issue Catharine Beatrice How- 
den, born 23rd Feb. 1915 (marr. 3rd June 
1938 George Speirs); John, architect, born 
16th June 1917. 

KELVINHAUGH 

Now incorporated with St Enoch s, 
Kelvingrove (formerly U.F.), to form St 
Enoch s, Kelvinhaugh, 8th March 1935. 

DONALD MACMILLAN, dem. 3rd 

Oct. 1923, died at Knapdale, Forest 

Row, Sussex, 27th March 1927. 

Addl. publications Life of Professor 

Has tie (Paisley, 1926); Representative Men 

of the Scottish Church (Edinburgh 1928). 



296 



KELVINHAUGH LANGSIDE 



[PRESB. OF 



GEORGE MACLEOD DUNN, trans. 



1924 



from West Wemyss 13th March 



1924; trans, to St Nicholas, Prest- 
wick, 8th June 1927. 

ARCHIBALD BELL, born Aberlour 
192? 3rd June 1892, son of Neil Bell and 
Mary Sinclair; educ. Islay and Kin- 
gussie Schools, Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. 
(1920), and Edinburgh; licen. by Presb. of 
Edinburgh 1920; app. assistant Northern 
Suburbs, Beunos Aires, 1921; adm. 1st 
Nov. 1927; trans, to Broomknoll, Airdrie, 
24th Jan. 1933; trans, to Resolis 28th June 
1945. Marr. 5th June 1928 Elizabeth, 
daugh. of James Nicol, and has issue 
Elizabeth A., born 2nd April 1929; Mary 
Sinclair, born 12th March 1931; Aluinn 
Neil, born 5th June 1934. 

KELVINSIDE 

(now Kelvinside Old) 

JOHN ANDERSON, dem. 10th April 



1877 



1930, died 21st June 1933. Marr. 



1925 



(1) April 1878 Margait Hamilton 
(died 23rd June 1879); his wife, Margaret 
Stevenson Paton, died 22nd Feb. 1927. 

ALEXANDER DOUGLAS FRASER, 

born Glasgow 27th July 1898, son 
of James Fraser and Helen Steed- 
man Douglas; educ. Albert Road Academy, 
Glasgow, Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1922); 
licen. by Presb. of Glasgow Dec. 1923; 
student assistant Govan 1922-3; assistant 
St Nicholas, Prestwick, 1924, St Andrew s, 
Glasgow; ord. A. and S. 23rd June 1925; 
trans, to Skelmorlie 29th Oct. 1929, and to 
The Park, Glasgow, 3rd March 1938. 

KINGSTON 

(19th Dec. 1938 united with Union (for 
merly U.F.) Church.) 

JAMES GIBSON, his sons Robert, 



1839 



born Aug. 1844, died 17th Feb. 



1846; John Campbell, born 10th 
Jan. 1849, died 25th Nov. 1919; his daughs. 
Jane Kinnear, born Feb. 1840 (marr. 
James McNaught, D.D., min. of Abbots- 
ford); Isabella, born 17th April 1842 (marr. 



Oct. 1889 James Main, M.A.), died 24th 
Feb. 1913; Elizabeth, born 7th Dec. 1845 
(marr. 21st Jan 1881 Rev. George Smith), 
died 15th Feb. 1891. 

JOHN GUNSON, died at Gareloch- 
1882 head 15th June 1926. 

JAMES CAMPBELL, trans, to Glen- 
1916 cairn 15th May 1922. 

JOHN LAURIE FARQUHAR, ord. 



1922 



A. and S. 19th Sept. 1922, trans, to 
Moffat 5th March 1926. 



JOHN TORRENS DOUGHERTY, 
1926 M.A., born 29th Jan. 1887; ord. 
1908; adm. by General Assembly 
from Presb. Church of Ireland 1915; assis 
tant Dalziel 1920; adm. to Forth 29th June 
1921; trans, and adm. 17th Nov. 1926; 
dem. 19th Dec. 1938; died 12th April 1940. 

KINNING PARK 

WILLIAM EDGAR, B.A. (1905); B.D. 
9 8); Ph.D. (Glasgow), 1934; died 
28th Jan. 1940; his wife, Rosa Eliza 
beth Cullen, died 7th Dec. 1933. Publica 
tion Thesis on Ideas of Life; Religion in 
Scotland, with special reference to Mediter 
ranean Sources. 



LANGSIDE 

(now Langside Old) 

JOSEPH McNEILL FRAZER, dem. 



1897 



2nd June 1926; died at Edinburgh 
7th Jan. 1929. 



JAMES ANDERSON, born at Spring- 
1926 burn, Glasgow, 5th Aug. 1896, son 
of John Johnston A. and Isabella 
Cowan; educ. at Hanley High School and 
Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1922), B.D. 
(1926); licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 1924; 
student assistant at Queen s Park, Glas 
gow, 191 9-24; assistant at Langside 1924-6; 
ord. 5th Oct. 1926; trans, to South Leith 
17th May 1938; trans, to Brechin Cathedral 
30th Sept. 1942. Marr. 5th Feb. 1936 
Catherine Wilson, daugh. of David Alex 
ander and Agnes Arbuthnot Porteous. 



GLASGOW] 



LAURIESTON MAXWELL 



297 



1905 



LAURIESTON 

AUGUSTINE WENTWORTH SCU- 
DAMORE FORBES, line 4, for 



"Dec." read "Sept." 



WILLIAM EWART GLADSTONE 



1920 



MILLER, trans, to St Margaret s, 
Arbroath, 1923. 



JOHN YOUNG CLARK, adm. 3rd 



1924 



June 1924; trans, to Inch 23rd Sept. 
1926. 



THOMAS MILLER McKENDRICK, 

1927 b m 27th March 1871 educ - at 
South Kennington College, Univ. of 

Glasgow, Evangelical Hall; licen. Oct. 
1896; ord. to E.U. Innerleithen Nov. 1896; 
trans, to Masson Memorial, Clydebank, 
Nov. 1900; served in France in war; adm. 
on probation May 1921; licen. by Presb. of 
Dunbarton 1922; ord. to Overton 13th 
Dec. 1922; trans, and adm. 24th Feb. 1927; 
dem. 12th Nov. 1934; died 31st Dec. 1935. 
Marr. 30th March 1897 Agnes Macdonald 
(died 1st March 1921), and had issue 
William, born 6th March 1894; Elizabeth, 
born 16th March 1899; Jemima, born 28th 
Jan. 1901; James, born 10th April 1904; 
Thomas George, born 8th March 1906; 
Agnes Jennie, born 26th May 1908; 
Ethelwyn, born 22nd Sept. 1912. 



MACLEOD 

EDWARD WALTERS, line 9, for 

\/fuv rfiiH * Qf-Vi Tnn# V 

1881 



"May" read "9th June"; his wife, 
Mary Rue, died 8th Feb. 1937. 



1919 



FRANCIS GILBERT GEDDES, dem. 
31st Oct. 1929 on appointment as 
Chaplain to the Glasgow Infirmaries; 

his daugh., Emily Alison Dorothy (marr. 

12th July 1935 Neville Gordon Sutton); 

his son, Francis Lennox, Civil Engineer. 

(United to Brunton A^rch 1930, and to 
Barony 1th Jan. 1944.) 

MARTYRS 

THOMAS GRAHAM, his daugh., Mary 
1859 Mathers Nairn (marr. Dr William 
Skinner, Ballindalloch), died 2nd 
April 1932. 



JAMES FORFAR, died 21st Oct. 
1879 1931. 

ANDREW BURNETT, trans, to New 
1917 Cumnock 25th Nov. 1926. 

JAMES MILLER, trans, from Invera- 
rity 17th May 1927 (q.v.); trans, to 
Orwell llth April 1935; his daugh., 

Naomi (marr. 27th March 1943 Captain T. 

Swinbank, R.A.); his son, Colin Finnic, 

min. of Auchtergaven. 

( United with Robertson Memorial 3rd June 
1945.) 

MARYHILL 

JOHN COLVIN, pres. by Crown 26th 
1854 Nov. 1853. 

WILLIAM SPEIRS SHANKS, pres. by 
1859 Crown 25th May 1859. 

JOHN OLIVER, dem. 16th May 1922, 
1888 died at Edinburgh 3rd Jan. 1925; 
his widow, Isabella Kellie Dunlop, 
died at Boscombe 17th Oct. 1942. 

PETER COWAN, born Larbert 17th 



1922 



Sept. 1896, son of Alexander C. and 



Euphemia Muir; educ. Falkirk High 
School and Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1920); 
licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 1922; assistant 
New Kilpatrick; ord. 12th Dec. 1922; dem. 
30th Sept. 1940; adm. to Raploch, St 
Mark s, Stirling, 31st Jan 1943. Marr. 17th 
Jan. 1923 Marion Annie Grice, daugh. of 
Egbert Piers Sumner, Stony Park, Aber- 
foyle, and Agnes Yuill Watt, and has issue 
Alexander, born 2nd Feb. 1924; Agnes 
Yuill Watt, born 30th March 1926; Effie 
Muir and Marion Sumner (twins), born 8th 
Feb. 1928; Peta Ruth, born 20th Nov. 1934. 

MAXWELL 

WILLIAM WEIR TULLOCH, his 

1877 w idow, Esther Procter Hamilton 
Adamson, died at Greystones, Wick- 
low, 28th Aug. 1929. 

ALFRED BROWN, dem. 31st Aug. 

1942. Lecturer in Practical Theology 

1943; McNeill - Fraser, Lecturer 

1943-4; Lecturer in Pastoral Theology 



298 



MAXWELL PARTICK 



[PRESB. OF 



(Glasgow, St Andrews and Aberdeen); his 
wife, Petrina Marion Campbell, died 30th 
April 1928; Hon. T.C.L. (1940); D.D. 
(Glasgow, 1944); his daugh., Marion (marr. 
29th June 1937 William Ian Gordon, M.B., 
Ch.B., F.R.C.S., Edinburgh); his son, Wil 
liam died 16th Nov. 1938; Alfred Finlay, 
M.B., Ch.B., F.R.C.S.E. 

MERRYLEA 

JOHN MACLAGAN, D.D. (Edinburgh, 



1919 



8th July 1949); his wife, Mary 



Chilton Lind Smith, died 12th July 
1927; his son, Ian Addison, Lt. 1st Battn. 
Seaforth Highlanders. Marr. (2) 23rd April 
1941 Roberta Helen, widow of Thomas 
Miller of Auchenheath House, Lanark 
shire. 

MILTON 

JOHN DUNCAN, his daughs. Annie 

1836 ( marr - ~ ~ Lochee 

of St Thomas); Maria (marr. Adolph 
Spaeth of Philadelphia). 

THOMAS ROBERTSON, born Bal- 



1920 



thayock, Perth, 9th Sept. 1868, son 



of David R. and Annie Brough; 
educ. at Kinnoull Public School, Perth 
Academy, and Univ. of Edinburgh; U.P. 
College, Edinburgh; licen. by U.P. Presb. 
of Perth, June 1900; assistant Paterson 
U.F., Kirkwall, 1902; Cowcaddens U.F., 
Glasgow, 1903-4; ord. 29th June 1904 to 
Ashington, Northumberland; trans, to 
Burnbank U.F., Hamilton, 5th Sept. 1917; 
adm. 17th Feb. 1920; dem. 25th Jan. 1922; 
Kirkcowan U.F., 13th Nov. 1922; adm. to 
Bower U.F. 1927; dem. 30th Sept. 1940. 
Marr. 9th Aug. 1906 Anne, daugh. of 
Ebenezer Shepherd and Jean Chalmers, and 
has issue Jean Chalmers, born 18th Jan. 
1911; Alice Brough, born 7th July 1914. 

WILLIAM SERIGHT, ord. 27th June 



1922 



1922; trans, to Hurlford 28th Feb. 
1929. 



NEWHALL 



JOHN NELSON MACDONALD, dem. 
1903 2nd April 1940, died 31st Jan. 1942. 



NEWLANDS 

GEORGE ALLAN, died 15th Sept. 
ioft 19 ^0; his widow, Jeanie Walker, 
died 29th July 1937. 

NORTH ALBION STREET 
CHAPEL 

JOHN MACLEOD, younger son of 
1782 Malcolm M., merchant; his son, 
John, merchant burgess of Glasgow 
22nd Nov. 1811. 

OATLANDS 

Incorporated with St Bernard s to form 
Oatlands St Bernard s 28th May, 1932. 

ARTHUR WELLESEY WOTHER- 



1883 



SPOON, dem. 31st Oct. 1923; died 
at Edinburgh 15th March 1936. 

JOHN THOMSON WOTHERSPOON, 
1924 born Glasgow 28th April 1897, son 
of Alex. Baird W. and Ann Thom 
son; educ. at Whitehill H.G. School, Glas 
gow, and Univ. of Glasgow; licen. by 
Presb. of Glasgow, 1923; assistant, St 
Paul s; ord. 12th Feb. 1924; adm. to united 
charge of Oatlands and St Bernard s 28th 
May 1932; trans, to Kinglassie 9th Oct. 
1935; dem. 20th Nov. 1948. Marr. 24th 
July 1935 Evelyn Margaret (died 30th Jan. 
1937), daugh. of John Anderson, min. of 
St Kenneth s, Glasgow, and had issue 
Margaret Ann Evelyn, born 6th May 1936; 
died 30th Jan. 1937. Marr. (2) 18th April 
1945 Flora Macdonald Barbour. 

PARKHEAD 

DUNCAN HUNTER BRODIE, died 
23rd Dec. 1930; his widow, Mar 
garet Gibb Gray, died 8th Nov. 
1940. 

PARTICK 

JOHN SMITH, Moderator of General 



1886 



Assembly 1922, died suddenly at a 



meeting at Glasgow 9th June 1927; 
his son, John Sydney, died at West Kilbride 
27th Sept. 1928; his daugh., Jane Briggs 
Burns, died 21st April 1919. A distin 
guished educationist, for many years Chair 
man of Govan School Board. 



GLASGOW] 



PARTICK QUEEN S PARK 



299 



JOHN ANTHONY MACRAE, trans. 



1928 



from St John s, Dundee (q.v.), 10th 



Jan. 1928; trans, to Redgorton 30th 
April 1946. Publication For Kirk and 
King (Edinburgh, 1911). 

ST MARY S, PARTICK 

WILLIAM ROSS, dem. 26th April 1922; 
died at Dulnain Bridge 8th July 



1893 



1929. 



1922 



GEORGE DAVID HENDERSON, 

trans, from East Parish, Greenock, 
30th Nov. 1922; dem. 29th Oct. 1924 

on app. to Chair of Church History, Univ. 

of Aberdeen, 1st Oct. 1924. 

SYDNEY HERBERT RUTT 



1925 



WARNES, M.A., born London 



18th Sept. 1892, son of Henry 
George Charles Alexander Rutt W. and 
Sarah Clara Mary Page; educ. at Giggles- 
wick School and Univ of Glasgow; M.A. 
(1922); licen. by Presb. of Glasgow 1924; 
assistant Riccarton 1924; ord. 12th May 
1925; trans, to St Francis in the East 22nd 
Jan. 1930, and to South Church, Buckie, 
29th Aug. 1934; dem. 22nd July 1941; 
Chaplain to Forces 1941; adm. to Creich, 
Cupar, 16th Aug. 1945. Marr. 15th April 
1914 Helen Arthur, daugh. of James A. 
Hogg, min. of Galston, and has issue 
Helen Arthur, born 22nd Feb. 1915; Clara 
Page, born 4th Nov. 1916; David MacMath 
Rutt, born 3rd Oct. 1925. Publication 
"Scottish Herring Fishing Industry," 
Scots Independent, Nov. 1937. 

PLANTATION 

JAMES WALLACE, his widow, Chris- 
1872 tina Macfarlane, died 1st April 1929. 

JOHN MAIR HUTCHEON, trans, to 
1916 Stromness 7th Jan. 1925. 

JOHN COOPER, born Cambuslang, 
1925 1st April 1886, son of John C. and 
Isabella McNeil; educ. at Allan 
Glen s School, Glasgow, and Univ. of 
Glasgow, M.A. (1916); licen. by Presb. 
of Glasgow June 1918; assistant at St 



Andrew s, Glasgow; ord. 23rd June 1923, 
as Associate Minister of Central Presb. 
Church, Brooklyn; adm. 12th May 1925. 
Marr. 8th Jan. 1934 Jenny, daugh. of 
George Russell Dick Gilchrist and Janet 
McNaughton Wiseman. 

POLLOKSHIELDS 

The Mission Chapel in Tradeston was 
closed before 1911. 

THOMAS BROWN WILLIAM 



1876 



NIVEN, his son, Thomas Brown 
William, died 21st Jan. 1930. 



SAMUEL JAMES RAMSAY SIB- 
191 BALD, D.D. (Aberdeen 1926), 
extra Chaplain to King Edward VII 
1907, Chaplain in Ordinary 1908-10; to 
King George V 1910-36; to King Edward 
VIII 1936; and to King George VI 1936; 
Examiner in Divinity, Univ. of Edinburgh, 
1905-8, Aberdeen, 1915-18, and Glasgow 
1930-4; Lecturer in Divinity, Univ. of 
Aberdeen, 1915, and New Testament 
Language and Literature, Univ. of Glas 
gow, 1932-3. Marr. 14th July 1898 Eliza 
beth (died 29th June 1946), daugh. of 
Henry Farquharson Begg of Tillyfour, and 
has issue Samuel James Ramsay; Edward 
Ramsay. 

( United with Titwood \5th June, 1941 .) 



POSSILPARK 

WILLIAM McCULLOCH STEVEN, 

dem. 10th Jan. 1933, died 26th June 
1935, unmarr. 



1902 



1868 



QUEEN S PARK 

DONALD MAcCORQUODALE, his 

widow, Elizabeth Colville, died 24th 
May 1921; his daugh., Eleanora 

Emma (marr. 22nd June 1921 George 

Herbert, Bearsden). 

ADAM MACKAY, trans, to Huntly 
1915 24th July 1924, died 25th Jan. 1931. 

DONALD DAVIDSON, trans, from 
Campbeltown 20th Jan. 1925; trans, 
to South Leith, Feb. 1928. 



300 



QUEEN S PARK ST COLUMBA S 



[PRESB. OF 



JOHN LENNOX HOW AT, trans, from 

Johnstone (q.v.) 7th Sept. 1928; died 

26th Aug. 1946. Marr. 5th Aug. 

1915 Christina Lennox, daugh. of Alex 

ander Bennie, J.P., and has issue William 

Prentice (B.D., Glasgow), ord. C.F. 4th 

June 1940, min. of Chalmers, Bridge of 

Allan, 1947, born 21st May 1916; Marie 

Roberton, born 21st Nov. 1921; Alastair 

John, born 5th April 1926. 

RENFIELD 

MICHAEL WILLIS, father a Burgher 
1839 min. 

ROBERTSON MEMORIAL 

JOHN POTTER, his widow, Mary 
io<v> Young Thomson, died 13th March 
1928. 

JAMES ANDERSON, trans, to Ruth- 
1919 ven 20th July 1927. 

ALEXANDER ANDERSON, trans. 
fr m Mains and Strathmartin (#.v.) 
12th Jan. 1928; dem. 15th May 1929. 
(United with Martyrs 3rd June 1945.) 



1018 



ST ANDREW S 

JOHN GEDDES, line 8, for "June" 
1832 read "Jan." 

FREDERICK LOCKHART ROBERT 
SON, his daugh., Flora Isabella 
Douglas, died 30th April 1948, 
aged 85. 

JAMES THOMSON, died 19th July 



1894 



1Q22 

dem. 



1926; his widow, Anne Dundas 
Glover, died 14th Nov. 1942. 

ARTHUR JOHN HOWISON GIBSON, 

trans - (A. an< 3 S.) from St Stephen s, 
Inverness (q.v.\ 18th May 1922; 
12th Dec. 1929 on appointment as 
Secretary of Church and Ministry Depart 
ment. Addl. issue Marjorie Waugh, born 
6th July 1926. 

ST BERNARD S 

ROBERT NICHOLSON THOMSON, 

dem. 28th May 1931; died 7th 
March 1940; his widow, Margaret 
Chisholm, died 22nd Oct. 1944. 
(United with Oatlands 2Sth May 1931.) 



ST BRIDE S, PARTICK 

JAMES MACKENZIE KIRK- 
PATRICK, trans, to Caddonfoot 



1897 



9th Dec. 1926. 



NORMAN MACLEOD, trans, from 
Belhaven (^.v.), 8th June 1927; died 
26th Jan. 1942. Addl. issue- 
Norman, born 6th Sept. 1920; his daugh., 
Mary Lyon Campbell (marr. 21st June 
1934 Frederick Neville Davidson Kelly, 
LL.B., S.S.C.). 

ST CLEMENT S 

DAVID WATSON, born 7th Nov. 1859; 
1886 dem. 31st Dec. 1938; died 5th Nov. 
1943; his wife, Janet Martin, died 
12th Nov. 1932; his son, David Crawford, 
min. of Lenzie; his daughs. Florence Jean 
Crawford (marr. 17th Sept. 1929 Professor 
William Lillie, M.A., B.D., Murray College, 
Sialkot); Janetta Martin (marr. Dr Thomas 
Anderson, Norwich). He was a recognised 
authority on all matters affecting social 
welfare, particularly among the depressed 
and criminal classes. Gunning Lecturer, 
Univ. of Edinburgh, 1910; Lecturer, 
Queen s College, Belfast, 1917; Chaplain, 
Barlinnie Prison, 1910-14; Convener of 
General Assembly s Committee on Social 
Work, 1929-35; Founder and President, 
Scottish Christian Social Union, 1901-38; 
Chairman, Scottish Council for Women s 
Trades, 1914-15; Vice-President, Scottish 
Churches Council, 1938. Addl. Publica 
tions "Hooliganism" (Hastings Diction 
ary of Ethics); Chords of Memory (Edin 
burgh, 1935); Memorial of A. D. Ross of 
Laurieston (1938). 

THOMAS SMITH, trans. A. and S. 
from Anstruther Easter (#.v.) 4th 
Oct. 1928; dem. 31st May 1942. 

ST COLUMBA S 



1928 



ALEXANDER McKINNON, trans, to 
1918 Kilmonivaig 20th Feb. 1925. 

JOHN MALCOLM MUNRO, trans, 
from West St Giles, Edinburgh, 1 8th 
June 1925; trans, to Kilmartin 4th 
Jan. 1928. 



GLASGOW] 



ST COLUMBA S ST GEORGE S 



301 



ALEXANDER MACDONALD, for 
merly of Glassary (q.v.)\ trans, from 
Alloa 6th June 1929; D.D., Glasgow 
(1944); Moderator of General Assembly 
May 1948. His sons William Uist, min. 
of St Nicolas, Carntyne; Donald Macaulay, 
M.A., assistant Dunblane Cathedral, min. 
St Paul s, Milngavie, 1941. 

ST CUTHBERTS 

FINLAY McCULLOCH, dem. 28th 
May 1924; his wife, Anna Taylor, 
died 10th March 1935; s.p., died 
29th Sept. 1949. 

JOHN RODERICK MACPHERSON, 



1924 

1928. 



trans, from Evie 9th Dec. 1924; 
trans, to Greenknowe 27th March 



1928 



SAMUEL IVAN BELL, born Ballyna- 

gilly Oma S h Co T y rone > 12th 
Aug. 1 878, son of John Armstrong 

B. and Catherine Mayne; teacher in Mayne 
National School, Omagh, Ireland, 1897-9; 
local preacher; studied Arts and Theology 
under Wesleyan Conference; student of 
Free Church 1905; Congregational Hall, 
1906-8; Univs. of Aberdeen and Glasgow; 
min. of Stead Memorial Congregational 
Church, Newcastle-on-Tyne, 1908; Kilsyth 
Congregational Church, June 1909 to 1917; 
Bon Accord Church, Aberdeen, 1917; 
White Street Congregational Church, Glas 
gow, July 1924; adm. on probation as 
licentiate 26th May 1927; assistant at Old 
Monkland and Kirkintilloch; ord. llth 
Sept. 1928; died 23rd Nov. 1936. Marr. 
1908 Agnes Janet, daugh. of John Banks, 
and had issue Kathleen Lillian Bell, born 
5th Dec. 1908 (marr. L. R. Beesly); Ray 
mond McKean, doctor, born 2nd Oct. 
1910; Leonard John Armstrong, min. of 
Laurieknowe (Maxwelton), born 31st Oct. 
1912. 

ST DAVID S, RAMSHORN 

JOHN MAcLAURIN, of the marriage 



1723 



of his daughter with Andrew Craig, 



surgeon, Glasgow, was born Agnes 
Craig, who married James Maclehose, 
writer, Glasgow, and was "Clarinda" of 



Burns songs and correspondence. [Glas 
gow Test., Ixix, No. 28; Poetical Works of 
Robert Burns, 382-3, W. M. Rossetti s Ed.] 

JOHN GORDON LORIMER, his son, 
Alexander Gordon, born 12th July 
1843, died 30th May 1845; his 
daughs. Joanna Gordon, born 6th May 
1845 (marr. 21st July 1875 William Wright), 
died 9th April 1910; Agatha, born 5th Sept. 
1847, died 18th Sept. 1931. 

ROBERT DICKSON, his widow, Agnes 



1880 



Smith, died 22nd Aug. 1927; his 
daugh., Agnes Margaret, died 26th 
June 1948. 

JOHN ARBUCKLE SWAN, wife s 

mother Helen Buchanan; his son, 

John Herbert St David, born 7th 

March 1922; Helen Isobel Sinclair, born 

19th Feb. 1927; Donald, Officer, Mercantile 

Marine (R.N.R.). 

ST ENOCH S 

JAMES HENDERSON, his son, Archi- 
1832 bald, died 16th April 1927. 

ARCHIBALD MACLAREN, died 15th 
1899 July 1923. 

WILLIAM McCAIG WIGHTMAN, 

1924 D.D. (St Andrews 30th June 1937); 

trans, from Boharm (q.v.) 17th June 

1924; dem. 26th Oct. 1927 on app. as 

Director of Religious Instruction. 

(The decrees erecting parish of \lth July 
1782 and 1th June 1820 were annulled and a 
new parish at Hogganfield erected \2th Jan. 
1885 as St Enoch s- Hogganfield; St Enoch s 
Church was demolished.) 

ARCHIBALD COWAN KENNEDY, 

trans, from Arbirlot (q.v.) 8th May 
1928; trans, to Chair of Hebrew, 
Aberdeen, 16th May 1932; D.D. (Edin 
burgh, 23rd June 1944). 

ST GEORGE S 

JAMES CRAIK, his daughs. Mar- 

1843 garet died 2nd Feb 1929 Jane 
Paterson, died Kensington 1st Aug. 

1932; his son, Sir Henry, died 16th March 
1927. 



302 



ST GEORGE S ST JOHN S 



[PRESB. OF 



GEORGE GIBSON GUNN, his widow, 
Elizabeth Robertson Kinnoch or 



1882 



Wilson, died 8th July 1928. 



DUNCAN ALEXANDER CAMERON 
REID, Convener of General Assem 
bly s Committee on Chaplains to 
H.M. Forces, died 16th Sept. 1941. 



1907 



ST GEORGE S IN THE FIELDS 

THOMAS SLATER, his widow died at 
1859 Edinburgh 17th Jan. 1921. 

PETER SINCLAIR MENZIES. Publi- 
1865 cation Sermons (1875). 

ANDREW LAIDLAW, died 25th Aug. 
1921; his widow, Lilias Jane Ander- 



1875 



son Dickson, died 15th March 1929. 



COLIN MACKAY KERR, trans, from 
Kettins (q.v.) 16th May 1922; dem. 
24th Dec. 1925; app. to St Andrew s 
Church, Halifax, Nova Scotia, 1926. 

LESLIE DUNCAN, born at Fyvie 26th 
April 1886, son of William Duncan, 
millwright, and Agnes Mackinlay; 
educ. at Robert Gordon s College, Aber 
deen, and Univs. of Aberdeen, M.A.(1909), 
and Edinburgh; served with Balkan Ex. 
Force 1916-17; Service Officer, North 
West Persia; Captain, Cameron High 
landers, 1917-19; licen. by Presb. of Edin 
burgh April 1919; ord. locum tenens Liber- 
ton 24th Aug. 1919; adm. to Cockburns- 
path 28th Sept. 1920; trans, and adm. 17th 
May 1926; app. Organising Secretary, 
Foreign Mission Committee, 10th July 1928 
and dem. 31st Oct. 1928. Marr. 12th April 
1913 Jean, daugh. of Alexander Anderson, 
schoolmaster, Aberdeen, and Charlotte 
Cockerill, and has issue Alastair Robert 
Campbell, Lecturer in Philosophy, Univ. 
College, London, born 12th July 1915; 
Elizabeth Charlotte Mackinlay, student, 
Univ. of Edinburgh, born 28th July 1920. 

JAMES CHALMERS GRANT, born 



1929 



Glasgow 14th March 1903, son of 
James Grant, M.P.S., and Isabella 
Smith; educ. at Glasgow High School, 
Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. (1925), B.D. 
(1928); licen. by Presb. of Glasgow May 



1928; assistant St Mungo s, Glasgow, 1928; 
ord. 9th April 1929; trans, to Uddingston 
19th Oct. 1933; to Queen s Park, St 
George s, Glasgow, 18th May 1939; trans, 
to Dunblane Cathedral 26th Sept. 1945. 
Marr. 31st July 1931 Alexandra Brown, 
daugh. of David Baird and Martha Brown 
and has issue James Gordon, born 5th 
July 1932; David Norman, born 31st Dec. 
1934. 

ST GILBERT S, POLLOKSHIELDS 

THOMAS JOHN BUNTING, trans, to 

St Andrew s, Dundee, llth Feb. 

1942; had issue Thomas, born 25th 

died 26th June 1920; Marie, born 13th 

Dec. 1922; John Smith Gilbert, born 19th 

Aug. 1927. 

(United with Sherbrooke 20th Nov. 1942.) 

ST JAMES 

JOHN PARKER, previously min. of 
1890 South Shields Presbyterian Church. 

JOHN DALL GLASS, died 25th Sept. 
1910 1924; his eldest son, John Knox. 

ROBERT DALY, trans, from Glasford 



1925 



(?.v.) 18th March 1925; died 29th 
Sept. 1948; his son, Allan Sinclair, 
Lieut. Anti-tank Regiment, Glasgow Yeo 
manry. 

ST JOHN S 

THOMAS CHALMERS, p. 447, line 1, 
1819 for "23" read "18." 

ANDREW JAMES CAMPBELL, D.D. 



1909 



(Glasgow, 31st June 1933), Hastie 
Lecturer, Univ. of Glasgow, 1924; 
Depute Clerk of Presb. of Glasgow 27th 
Feb. 1929; Joint Clerk Oct. 1929; dem. 30th 
Nov. 1936; trans, to Evie 3rd Dec. 1936; 
dem. 15th May 1948; Moderator of 
General Assembly 20th May 1945; his 
wife, Caroline Cumming, M.A., daugh. of 
Robert Spence, died 8th Jan. 1924. Marr. 
(2) 7th March 1927 Anna Mary, M.A., 
daugh. of William Robertson, Lerwick. 
Publications The Things which cannot be 
Shaken, a Sermon (Lerwick, 1914); Two 



GLASGOW] 



ST JOHN S ST MARK S 



303 



Centuries of the Church of Scotland (Paisley, 
1930); Fifteen Centuries of the Church in 
Orkney (Kirkwall, 1938); Christianity in 
History (Bible Class Textbook) (Edinburgh, 
1931); The Story of the Church (joint author 
with J. Aulay Steele) (Edinburgh, 1934). 

ST KENNETH 

GEORGE BELL, died 6th March 
1901 1923. 

NORMAN MACLEOD WRIGHT, 



1923 



adm. 15th May 1923; trans, to 
Kilmory, Arran, 23rd Sept. 1926. 



JOHN ANDERSON, trans, from Dairy, 



1927 



Galloway (q.v.) 18th May 1925; app. 

Joint Presbytery Clerk 3rd Nov. 
1936; D.D. (Aberdeen, 1944); his daugh., 
Evelyn Margaret (marr. 24th July 1935 
John Thomson Wotherspoon, min. of 
Oatlands), died 30th Jan. 1937. 

ST KIARAN S 

DUNCAN MACNAIR CONNELL, 



1879 



his daughs. Jessie, died 4th Dec. 
1937; Laura, died 7th Oct. 1943. 



DUNCAN MACLEAN, his three sons, 



1904 



Duncan, Hector and Norman, 
served with Canadians in Great War. 



JOHN MAcCALLUM, trans, to Dores 
1919 llth April 1924. 

ALEXANDER MACDONALD, ord. 
5th Aug. 1924; trans, to Ardchattan 
20th July 1926. 



1924 



1928 



JOHN McKECHNIE, born 2nd March 
1897, son of Donald M. and Kathe- 
rine McNeill; educ. at Copland Road 
Academy, Glasgow, Univ. of Glasgow, M. A. 
(1921), B.D. (1927); M.A. National Univ. 
of Ireland, M.A. (1937); licen. by Presb. of 
Glasgow May 1927; assistant at Govan, 
St George s-in-the-Fields, Linwood, and 
Paisley Abbey; ord. 17th Jan. 1928; trans, 
to Newlands East 3rd March 1931. Marr. 
25th Nov. 1921 Ailie Muriel Mackenzie, 
daugh. of William Lucas and Ella Mac- 
donald, and has issue Donald Kenneth 



Macdonald, born 1 1th May 1923; Elizabeth 
Eilidh, born 10th March 1928; Ailie Muriel 
Katherine Susanna, born 1941. Publica 
tions Instructio Pie Vivendi (Irish Texts 
Society) (London, 1933); The Owl Remem 
bers (Stirling, 1933); Gaelic without Groans 
(Stirling, 1934). 

( United to Dean Park by General Assem 
bly 1st June 1932.) 

ST LUKE S 

DAVID DICKIE, D.D. (Glasgow, 
1871 1919), died 12th May 1924. 



1922 



ALEXANDER MACKENZIE, born 
Old Deer 27th Nov. 1891; son of 
Alexander M., Baker, and Laura 
Elizabeth Mackie; educ. at Old Deer 
School, Robert Gordon s College, Aber 
deen, and Univ. of Aberdeen, M.A. (1914), 
B.D. (1919); licen. by Presb. of Deer 1919; 
assistant South Dalziel; ord. A. and S. 24th 
April 1922; served in R.A.M.C. with the 
British Expeditionary Force at Salonika 
1916-19. 



ST MARGARET S, POLMADIE 

FRANCIS DAVID BROUN, dem. 21st 
Dec. 1927; died at Ayr 17th Aug. 



1902 



1946. 



JOHN BELL, trans, from Rathen (q.v.) 



1928 



23rd April 1928; trans, to Amster 



dam 10th May 1936; dem. and 
joined Scottish Episcopal Church, deacon 
1938, curate of St John s Church, Dum 
fries. 

ST MARK S 

MURDOCH LAMONT, trans, to 
1916 Rothiemurchus 10th Feb. 1925. 

JOHN LIVINGSTON, born 30th Nov. 



1925 



1883, son of John L., engineer, and 
Mary Duggan; licen. by Presb. of 
Glasgow May 1923; assistant Barrowfield 
1922; ord. 10th June 1925. Marr. 23rd 
Dec. 1919 Elizabeth, daugh. of James 
McKenna and Sarah Gillespie; s.p. 



304 



ST MATTHEW S ST MUNGO S EAST 



[PRESB. OF 



1914 



ST MATTHEW S 

United to Blythswood by Court of 
Teinds llth June 1920. 

ALEXANDER SPARK, ind. to united 
charge 29th June 1920. Addl. issue 
Margaret Enid Hendry, born 12th 

March 1924; Alexander Graham Oatt, born 

12th Oct. 1926. 

ST MARGARET S, TOLLCROSS 

Mission work was begun here in 1 898 by 
the Min. of Shettleston Rev. John White. 
A chapel was built shortly thereafter and 
the parish was disjoined from Shettleston 
and erected on 25th June 1920. 



DAVID ALEXANDER MILLER. 

Addl. issue Christian Mary, born 
17th May 1921; David Alexander 
Ramage, born 18th Feb. 1925. 



1919 



ST MUNGO or HIGH CHURCH 

On 31st March 1464 Pope Pius II granted 
plenary indulgence to people dying within 
the poor Hospital of St Nicholas the Con 
fessor, in Glasgow, founded near the 
Episcopal Houses by Andrew Muirhead 
(de Durrisdeer), Bishop of Glasgow, who 
"proposes" to endow the hospital and 
chapel. On 20th June 1506 the Chapel of 
St Roche, situated "without the north 
gate" of Glasgow, was described as 
"founded and about to be built." The 
founder was Mr Thomas Muirhead, Canon 
of Glasgow and Prebendary of Stobo, and 
also Prebendary of Govan, who died before 
24th Nov. 1512. On or about llth June 
1511 he founded a chaplainry in the chapel, 
or church as it was sometimes called. On 
1 8th March 1 506-7 there is reference to the 
lands of the Chapel of St Mungo founded 
in the Church of the Gallowgate generally 
called "St Mungo s Kirk without walls" 
or Little St Mungo in contradistinction 
to the cathedral. [Cat. Papel Reg., Letters, 
xi, 662; Diocesan Reg. of Glasgow, i, 349, 
365, 505, 509, 537, 539.] 

HENRY SINCLAIR, Bishop of Ross, 
held parsonage 1561 and vicarage 
1563. [Comps. Gen. Coll., and Sub 
Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 



JAMES HAMILTON, M.A., app. 

reader 1561, still in office 1566-7. 



1561 



Privy Council Reg., i, 188.] 



JOHN HOUSTON, vicar 1563 and 1566. 
[Comps. Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stir- 

.. , i 

ling, etc.] 

DAVID WEMYSS, M.A., designated 

1565 parson 8th June 1581; his pres. in 
1601 was on dem. of Archibald 

Douglas; his son, William, advocate and 
commissary of St Andrews, father of David, 
min. of Scone. [Cal. of Charters, xi, 2588; 
Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixxii, 187; Gen. Reg. ofSas., 
1 Ser., xix, 336, xxviii, 317.] 

ALEXANDER LAUDER, M.A., par- 

1566 son 5th Oct. 1566, on which date he 
was charged by the Privy Council 

to furnish bread and wine for Communion 
"conforme to use and wont"; Henry 
(Sinclair), Bishop of Ross, last parson, had 
furnished the same "sen the Reformation 
of religion within this realme"; Lauder 
died before 20th Aug. 1571. [Reg. Privy 
Council, i, 492; Reg. Pres. to Benefs., i, (2), 
19.] 

ARCHIBALD DOUGLAS, his pres. in 
1571 was on death of Alexander 
Lauder. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, (2), 
19; Cal. of Charters, xi, 2395.] 

ROBERT BOYD, son of James B. of 



1571 



Hutterhill; pres. to vicarage pen 
sionary 2nd Sept. 1571 on dem. of 

David Wemyss. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, (2), 

20.] 

JOHN ALLANSON, M.A., reader 1603. 
1603 [Comps. Surplus of Thirds.} 

ROBERT SCOTT, his eldest son, John. 
1616 [Reg. of Deeds, 492-142, 1629.] 

ST MUNGO S NORTH 

ADAM GORDON, line 1, for "Adam" 
1680 read "James." 

ST MUNGO S EAST 

JOHN GLENDIE. [Books of Council 



1664 



and Session, 6th Sept. 1676, 4th Oct. 
1678, 8th Jan. 1672; Inventory of 
Fordel Writs.] 



GLASGOW] ST MUNGO S WEST ST MUNGO S SOUTH 



305 



ST MUNGO S WEST 

ROBERT CRAIGHEAD, for "1690" 
1689 read "1689." 

ST MUNGO S SOUTH 

ALEXANDER LAUDER, parson 1567. 
[Acts and Dec., xl, 299; xlii, 401; 
xliv, 141, 222, 424; xlvii, 93, 170.] 



1657 



ROBERT SCOTT, his eldest son, John. 
1616 [Reg. of Deeds, dxcii.] 

JAMES DURHAM, son of Sir James 
D.; his daugh., Grizell, bapt. 31st 
Dec. 1644; line 17, for "1st May" 
read 30th April. 

WILLIAM TAYLOR, marr. Anne, 



1651 



1780 



daugh. of Matthew Stewart and Jean 
Gait Arnot of Lochrig, Stewarton. 



JOHN ROBERTSON, pres. by Crown 
1858 25th Jan. 1858. 

GEORGE STEWART BURNS, pres. 
1865 by Crown 13th March 1865. 

PEARSON McADAM MUIR, died at 



1896 



Manse of Cambuslang West 13th 
July 1924; his son, John Joseph 
Johnston, died at Aberdeen 28th Oct. 1945. 

JAMES McGIBBON, died 16th Nov. 
1919 1922. 

LAUCHLAN MACLEAN WATT, born 



1923 



Grantown 24th Oct. 1867, son of 



Andrew and Margaret Gillanders 
M. W. (Skye); educ. various parish schools 
and Edinburgh Univ., M.A. (1893), B.D. 
(1897), D.D., Edin. (1920), LL.D., Glas. 
(21st June 1933), F.R.S.E., F.S.A. (Scot.); 
J.P. of the County of the City of Glasgow; 
missionary, Lochcarron, 1894; Mission 
Church, Lochinver, 1895; Church work, 
Dalkeith, 1896; licen. by Presb. of Dal- 
keith 1896; assistant, Lady Glenorchy s 
Parish Church, 1896; ord. to Turriff 
Parish 7th April 1897; Alloa and Tullibody 
12th May 1901; St Stephen s, Edinburgh, 
16th Feb. 1911; Glasgow Cathedral 26th 
June 1923; Moderator of General Assembly 
1933; retired 15th May 1934 to Kinloch, 
Lochcarron, Ross-shire. In Iceland repre 
senting The Times, Scotsman, Manchester 



U 



Guardian and Daily Graphic during visit of 
the King of Denmark, 1907; Chaplain, 
Great War, 1914-17, retired Hon. Lt.-Col.; 
Commissioner from H.M. Gov. to U.S.A. 
and Canada 1918; President, Pan-Celtic 
Congress, London, 1930; Grand Chaplain, 
Grand Lodge of Scotland, 1933; Murtle 
Lecturer, Aberdeen Univ.; Warrack Lec 
turer and McNeil Frazer Lecturer on 
Pastoral Theology, Univs. of Glasgow, 
Edinburgh and St Andrews, 1930; in 
Australia as Turnbull Preacher, Melbourne, 
and visited churches and colleges in Vic 
toria, New South Wales and New Zealand, 
1932; created Bard at Welsh Eisteddfod, 
Amonsford title "Gwylan yr Ynys" 
( Seagull of the Islands ). Marr. 8th June 
1897 Jennie Hall (died 8th March 1927), 
daugh. of John A. Reid of New Kelso, 
Strathcarron, and had issue Hector, B.A. 
(Oxon), Order of the Nile, Sudan Political 
Service (marr. Gwynydd, granddaugh. of 
Chief Justice Sir Wm. Grantham, died at 
Khartoum 9th June 1943). Publications 
God s Altar Stairs , The Communion Table; 
By Still Waters; Prayers for Public Worship; 
The Saviour of Men; The Minister s Manual; 
Gates of Prayer; The Soldier s Friend; Life 
and Religion; (Verse) The Tryst, a Book of 
the Soul; In Poet s Comer; In Love s Gar 
den; The Grey Mother and Songs of Empire; 
The Land of Memory; Britannia s Answer; 
(Fiction) Edragil 1745; Moran of Kildally; 
The House of Sands; The Advocate s Wig; 
By the Christmas Fire; Oscar; (History) 
Scottish Life and Poetry; Burns; Carlyle; 
Great Britain, for Schools 1714-1914; 
Alloa and Tullibody; In the Land of War; 
In France and Flanders with the Fighting 
Men; The Heart of a Soldier; Scottish 
Covenanters; (General) Attic and Eliza 
bethan Tragedy; Douglas s Aeneid; The 
Scottish Ballads and Ballad-Writing; The 
Book of the Beloved; While the Candle 
Burns; The Minister s Life and Work 
(Pastoral Theology Lectures}; Literature and 
Life. Edited the Dunedin Magazine. 
Smith s Summer in Skye, Mrs. Stowe s 
Dred, etc. Contributor to Spectator, West 
minster Gazette, St James s Gazette, 
Scribner s Magazine, Chambers s Journal, 
Temple Dictionary of the Bible and leading 



306 



ST MUNGO S SOUTH ST THOMAS 



[PRESB. OF 



newspapers and magazines in prose and 
verse, on folklore, antiquities and history, 
especially Celtic and Gaelic. 

ST NINIAN S 
JAMES BRYCE, his daugh., Margaret 



1877 



Williamson (marr. 25th July 1895 



1887 



Alec Leiper Mackay); his son, John, 
died 16th Aug. 1935; his daugh., Leggat 
Watson (marr. Alan Cant, min. of Creich). 

WILLIAM SEATH PROVAND, Hastie 
Lecturer, Univ. of Glasgow, 1914; 
Depute Clerk of Presb. 30th April 
1919 to 1st Oct. 1929; Clerk of Synod of 
Glasgow and Ayr 14th April 1924, res. 8th 
Oct. 1929; dem. his charge 31st Dec. 1923; 
D.D. (Glasgow, 24th June 1925); died 12th 
June 1943; his son, Ninian, electrical 
engineer, born 2nd Dec. 1 897. Publication 
Puritanism in the Scottish Church (Paisley 
1923); Editor St Andrew, 1903-6. 

JOHN BAYNE, ord. 8th April 1924; 
1924 trans, to Dunlop 14th Feb. 1929. 



1929 



1691 



ALEXANDER McCLYMONT 
ADAMS, trans, from Sauchie 
(q.v.) llth June 1929; dem. 12th; 
adm. to Arngask 26th June 1934; trans, to 
Aberdour, Deer, 26th Nov. 1936. 

(Incorporated 23rd Nov. \934with Wynd 
(formerly U.F.) to form St Ninian s Wynd.) 

ST PAUL S 
(now St Paul s Outer High) 

ALEXANDER HASTIE, in the com 
pany of the Earl of Argyle he landed 
from Holland at Campbeltown on 
20th May 1685 and preached in the church 
there four days later; he returned to Hol 
land before 2nd Jan. 1686, and after visiting 
various places, including Rotterdam, Delft, 
Leyden, Utrecht and Haarlem, he came 
back to Scotland soon after 8th Jan. 1687; 
had issue Alison. [Erskine of Carnock s 
Journal, 110, 119, 172, 185, 189, 196, 219; 
Deeds, Durie, 1705, No. 1205.] 

1713 JOHN SCOTT, marr. Grizel Kid. 

ROBERT JAMIESON, his son, William 
1844 Andrew, died 12th Jan. 1935. 



GORDON QUIG, trans, to Monifieth 
1913 28th Sept. 1921. 

CHARLES MACKINNON, M.A., 

1011 trans, from Dundyvan (q.v.) 8th 

March 1922; died 15th June 1940. 

Collegiate Ministers 
ROBERT McCUARD, born Glenluce. 



1656 



His letter to my Lord Warriston in 



Prison in Edinburgh in Assembly 
Library, 1662. 

ST PETER S 

MALCOLM MACLELLAN, died 15th 



1886 



June 1921; his widow, Jane Emily 



1921 



Robinson, died at London llth 
April 1929. 

JOHN FAIRLIE, trans, from Inver- 
keithney 16th Dec. 1921; trans, to 
Wallacetown, Dundee, 18th May 

1931. Addl. issue Andrew Addison, born 

6th March 1925. 

ST STEPHEN S 

JAMES BELL GRANT, dem. 30th 



1892 



Sept. 1922, died Edinburgh 22nd 
March 1943. 



THOMAS WYLIE SHARP, born Glas- 



1923 



gow 30th April 1893, son of Robert 
S. and Mary Auld Wylie; educ. at 
Woodside School, Glasgow, and Univ. of 
Glasgow, M.A. (1914); licen. by Presb. of 
Glasgow 1920; assistant St Ninian s, Glas 
gow, 1920, Springburn 1921; ord. 20th 
Feb. 1923; trans, to St Machan s, Larkhall, 
10th Sept. 1930, to High Ch., Paisley 
(C. and S.), 16th Sept. 1937. Marr. 9th 
June 1925 Janet Fulton, daugh. of Thomas 
Rodger and Jessie Leckie, and has issue 
Jessie Leckie, born 1st Nov. 1926; Robert 
Wylie, born 24th Oct. 1930. Publication 
The Centenary Book, Larkhall, 1935. 
(United with Buccleuch 14th Oct. 1943.) 

ST THOMAS 

(CHAPEL OF EASE) 
Retained by Free Church in 1843, after 
wards sold to Wesleyan Methodist Church 
and now used by them. 



GLASGOW] 



ST THOMAS THE PARK 



307 



ST THOMAS 

ANDREW BRYSON, dem. 3rd March 
1938; died at Prestwick 10th Nov. 
1920 1940. 

(United 3rd March 1938 with Gallowgate 
(U.F.) Church.} 

ST VINCENT 

Incorporated 1934 with Kent Road (for 
merly U.F.) Church, to form Kent Road- 
St Vincent s. 

JAMES BELL HENDERSON, licen. 
by Presb. of Edinburgh 18th May 



1899 



1886. 



1916 



THOMAS SMITH MACPHERSON, 

trans, to Highland Charge, Camp- 



beltown, 23rd Dec. 1925. 



JOHN AULAY STEELE, trans, from 



1926 



Mannofield (q.v.} 17th June 1926; 

trans, to Lerwick llth April 1934; 
dem. 12th Jan. 1944; adm. to Cleish 4th 
July 1945. 

SANDYFORD 

Incorporated with Henderson Memorial 
(formerly U.F.) Church to form Sandyford- 
Henderson Memorial 8th June 1938. 

JOHN ROSS MACDUFF, his first wife, 

1855 ^ nme Joan S eton died 1st Sept. 
1847 and had issue Alexander 
Ross, born 27th Jan. 1845. 

JAMES ELDER CUMMING, his 



1871 



daughs. Janet Parker, died 27th 



April 1925; Ella Stead, died at St 
Andrews 5th Dec. 1930. 

WILLIAM STEVENSON STUART, 
ioni trans, to East Church, Stirling, 6th 
June 1923. 

JAMES PITT WATSON, trans, from 
Dalmuir 18th Dec. 1923; trans, to 
Alloa 12th Sept. 1929. 

SPRINGBURN 

DAVID ANDREW ROLLO, his widow, 
., ftA _ Lizzie McConachie, died 25th Dec. 
1907 1943. 



DUGALD CLARK, assist. West Church, 
Aberdeen, 1900-1; died 24th Nov. 
1925. 



1918 



JOHN STUART CAMERON, trans. 



1926 



from St Clement s, Aberdeen (q.v.) 
17th May 1926; dem. 1936 to be 
come min. of Malone Presbyterian Church, 
Belfast, 6th Oct. 1936. 



DENNISTOUN 

ROBERT WALKER MUIR, first min. 
of parish on erection, 19th March 
1920; trans, to Stewart Church, 
Whiting Bay, 8th Feb. 1933; died 24th June 
1941; Lily Craig, first wife, died 17th Nov. 
1917, leaving issue James Laurence, in 
Manchester; Campbell Craig, clerk; Ruby 
Walker (marr. 1st July 1937 Hugh Mc- 
Kenzie, M.A., teacher); Norman Dennis- 
toun, ship s sick berth attendant; marr. (2) 
10th Sept. 1919 Martha Cameron, daugh. 
of James McMunn and Agnes Scouler; she 
re-marr. 18th Dec. 1945. 



STRATHBUNGO 

ROBERT McMILLAN, died 1st July 
1876 1920. 

CHARLES GUTHRIE COOPER, 



1917 



trans, to Hawick Wilton 17th May 
1926. 



JOHN MACLAINE MUNRO, trans. 
1926 ^ rom Ferrv P rt on Craig (#.v.) 16th 
Nov. 1926; issue Catherine Living 
ston, born 7th Sept. 1925; served with 
R.A.M.C. and Argyll and Sutherland High 
landers at Salonica in Great War. Publica 
tion Strathbungo and its Church, 1833- 
1933. 

THE PARK 

DONALD MACLEOD, his widow, 
AO Isabella Anderson, died at Caputh 
1869 7th Oct. 1923. 



1915 



JAMES ALAN CAMERON MUR 
RAY, Chaplain to the Forces, 15th 
and 51st Divisions, 1917-18; marr. 
Ellen, only daugh. of Sir John Mackintosh 
Macleod, Bart., M.P., C.A., Glasgow, and 



308 



THE PARK KILSYTH 



[PRESB. OF 



Edith Fielden; dem. 2nd Feb. 1932; adm. 
to Kerse 31st May 1935; trans, to Tolbooth, 
Edinburgh, 15th Oct. 1943. Issue Ellen 
Catriona Cameron, born 3rd Feb. 1922 
(marr. 22nd Sept. 1942 Rev. Lumir Soukup, 
Ph.D., Prague); Alan Norman Macleod, 
born 30th Nov. 1925. Publication Intro 
duction to Christian Psycho Therapy (Edin 
burgh, 1938). 

ST OSWALD S WOODSIDE 

Erected as Woodside Parish by Court of 
Teinds 1921. 

DAVID WATSON, died 12th Feb. 
1877 1934. 

JOHN MITCHELL KERR, adm. first 
min. of parish 28th Jan. 1922; trans. 
19 to Whiting Bay 27th May 1942. 
Marr. 29th Nov. 1922 Isabella Black, 
daugh. of John Morrison; his daugh., 
Jessie, died 3 1st July 1933. 

TITWOOD 

DAVID PRESTON, Convener of 
Colonial and Continental Com 
mittee, 1935. 

( United with St Kentigern *s 1 5th June 1 94 1 .) 



1918 



TOWNHEAD 

ROBERT PRYDE, died at Morebattle 



1879 



llth Jan. 1925; his wife, Margaret 



Drysdale, died 9th Jan. 1924; his 
daugh., Crichton Jane Isobel (marr. W. 
Weir Breen, Newport). 

ROBERT LOVE HUNTER, trans, to 
1915 Kirkgunzeon 15th Jan. 1926. 



1926 



CHARLES WHITEHEAD HUTCHE- 
SON, trans, from Aberfeldy (q.v.} 
17th May 1926; dem. 16th May 
1935; died 17th Sept. 1935; his widow, 
Isabella Martin, died 31st May 1946. 

TRON 

JOHN BELL, line 17, delete "John, 
1594 Min. of Blackfriars, Glasgow." 

1628 JOHN BELL, delete parentage. 



HEW BLAIR, line 9, for "1657" read 
1644 "1651." 

JOHN ANDERSON, marr. (2) Marion, 
daugh. of Walter Menzies, min. of 
Erskine. 



1730 



ROBERT BUCHANAN, his daugh., 



1833 



Charlotte Elizabeth, died 29th 
March 1932. 



WILLIAM RATTRAY, died 29th Nov. 



1903 



1942; his daugh., Catherine (marr. 

1925 John Boyd, Trinidad); his 
widow, Catherine Stevenson, died 1st Aug. 
1947. 

WHITEINCH 

Disjoined 1875, not 1865. 

QUINTIN JOHNSTON, assistant at 
1872 Duffus 1857. 

DONALD NESS, trans, to Savoch 16th 
1894 Aug. 1928. 



WILSON SIMMS LESLIE, trans, from 
MacdurT(<7.v.) 13th Dec. 1928; trans, 
to Falkirk Old 22nd Nov. 1940. 



1928 



1912 



WILTON 

JOHN LIVINGSTON, trans, to Teviot- 
head 12th Nov. 1929. Addl. issue- 
Stewart Kennedy, born 18th Jan. 
1919; Robert H. D. (third son), now a 
C.A.; his wife, Janet Brackenridge Mary 
McCallum, died 26th April 1948. 

HOGGANFIELD 

JOHN FERGUSON ANDISON, died 
1887 18th Jan. 1938. 

KILSYTH 

ALEXANDER LIVINGSTON, parson 



1560 



before 1560 and 18th May 1584.- 



[Cal. of Charters, xii, 2728; Reg. 
Abbrev. Feu Charters of Church Lands, i, 
105.] 

SIR GILBERT LAW, parson and vicar 
1568-72. [Comps. Sub Coll. of 
Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 



GLASGOW] 



KILSYTH KIRKINTILLOCH 



309 



ARCHIBALD GRAHAME. [G. R. 
1615 Sas., 2 Ser., vii, 259.] 

GABRIEL CUNYNGHAME, son of 

William C. of Craigends and Eliza 
beth Napier. [G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., 
vii, 332, vi, 156.] 

JAMES HAY, his daugh., Marian 
(marr. James Anderson of Dowhill, 
provost of Glasgow.) 



1637 



1682 



ROBERT RENNIE, pres. 13th June 
1789 1789. 

HENRY DOUGLAS, pres. by Crown 
1843 14th July 1843. 

ALEXANDER HILL, pres. by Crown 
1849 29th Aug. 1849. 

ALEXANDER SPIERS, pres. by 
1861 Crown 29th Nov. 1860. 

ROBERT HOPE BROWN, pres. by 

Crown 25th March 1 871 ; his widow, 

Agnes (died llth Aug. 1923), only 

child of Adam Duncanson, bank agent, 

Enniskillen. 

PETER ANTON, his widow, Mary 

1881 Alice Heggie, died 3rd July 1927; 

his daugh., Florence Heggie (marr. 

19th Jan. 1920 Sir Thomas Guthrie Russell, 

K.C.B., K.C.). 

DUNCAN CAMERON, app. Assistant 

Clerk of Assembly May 1928; died 

30th July 1929; his son, Donald 

Ewen, M.B., Ch.B.; his daugh., Aileen 

Isabel (marr. 7th Oct. 1930 Dr William 

McC. Harrowes, Glasgow). 

KIRKINTILLOCH 

Before 1195 William, son of Thorald, 
Sheriff of Stirling, gave the Church of 
"Kirkintulach" to Cambuskenneth Ab 
bey. The grant was confirmed by Alexan 
der II 27th March 1226-7. On 23rd July 
1451 Robert Fleming of Biggar founded a 
chaplainry at the High Altar of St Ninian s 
Church of Kirkintilloch, alias Lenzie, the 
endowment being the 10 merk lands of 
Auchinrivoch in the lordship of Auchtyr- 
moyne in Stirling, 6 merks annual rent 



U* 



from the lands of Panmure in Forfar, 
2 merks from the lands of Kirkintilloch, 
and a tenement in Kirkintilloch. It will be 
noted that at that date Lenzie appears as 
an alternative name to Kirkintilloch; and 
in 1 530 the church is designated St Ninian s 
Church of Lenzie. There was also in the 
church an altar dedicated to the Virgin 
Mary. In 1621 the Earl of Wigton and the 
parishioners petitioned Parliament for 
licence to transport the church from the 
west end of the parish to the middle of it; 
but at that time nothing was done. The 
church, however, was included in Cumber- 
nauld when that parish was erected in 1649; 
and thus it lost its parochial status. The 
church has disappeared. Its precincts, 
situated in the churchyard, are designated 
"The Old Aisle." By Charter, confirmed 
by Robert III on 17th Aug. 1399, David 
Fleming, Lord of Biggar, mortified to the 
Chapel of the Virgin Mary at Kirkintilloch 
his whole lands of Drumtieblae in Lenzie. 
On the site of the chapel there was built in 
1644 a church which became the church of 
the parish of Kirkintilloch five years later. 
Alterations were made to the church in the 
early part of the 19th century, when 
galleries were introduced; but it is still a 
good example of a 1 7th century attempt to 
revive the Gothic tradition in architecture. 
It stands in the old churchyard, on the line 
of the Roman fortifications. [Reg. Epis. of 
Glasgow, ii, 309; Diocesan Reg. of Glasgow, 
ii, 406-7, 421; Acts Scott. Parl., iv, 6076; 
Reg. Pres. to Benefs., i, 68; Chart of 
Cambuskenneth, 175-6, 195; Charter Chest 
of the Earl of Wigton, Nos. 12, 13, Scott. 
Rec. Society.} 

ALEXANDER DRYSDALE, M.A., 

1568 VJCar 1568 ~ 72 - [Comps. Sub Coll. 
of Thirds, Dumfries, etc.] 



1574 



NINIAN DREW, M.A., min. in 1589; 
pres. to vicarage 29th Sept. 1594 on 
death of Richard Herbertson. 

[Reg. Sec. Sig., Ixvi, 217; Comps. Gen. Coll. 

of Thirds.} 

JOHN FORSYTH. [G. R. Sas., xx, 
1620 f. 1, 2 Ser., ii, 25.] 



310 



KIRKINTILLOCH RUTHERGLEN 



[PRESB. OF 



ROBERT FLEMING OF BALLOCH, 

his sons Charles, apprenticed to 
Alexander Murray, merchant, Edin 
burgh, 18th Feb. 1708; Robert, apprenticed 
to Andrew Simpson, sometime min. at 
Kirkinner, 8th Feb. 1710, afterwards book 
seller and printer, Edinburgh. [Edin. App. 
Roll] 

SAMUEL TELFER, his son, John, 



1709 

1728. 



apprenticed to William Carmichael, 
merchant, Edinburgh, 4th Sept. 



THOMAS ANGUS MORRISON, died 
21st June 1941; his daughs. Janet 
Galloway Angus (marr. (1) 7th Sept. 
1921 Arthur Poole, M.B., Ch.B., Man 
chester; (2) 21st April 1934 Rev. John 
Whitehead Cheshire, B.A., C.F., Rector of 
Utrecht, Natal); Mary Bethia Galloway 
(marr. 9th April 1937 Robert Mclnnes, 
advocate). 



KIRKINTILLOCH ST DAVID S 

FRANK ROBERTSON, trans, to Mon- 
1919 quhitter 6th June 1924. 

DAVID FYFE McMATH, M.C., trans. 



1924 



from Sorn (q.v.) 15th Oct. 1924. 
Addl. issue Margaret Cargill, born 
4th April 1922. 



TEWCHAR 

Disjoined from Kirkintilloch and erected 
Jan. 1922. 

WILLIAM DEANS, died at Alexandria, 



1911 



Egypt, llth Nov. 1934; his wife, 
Minnie Scott, died 8th Jan. 1930. 
He marr. (2) 5th Sept. 1933 Nurse Agnes 
Daffa, Jaffa, Palestine; she died at Ham 
burg 8th June 1935; his daugh., Minnie 
Hunter, died 30th Oct. 1922. 

THOMAS MURRAY INGLIS, trans. 
1917 to Quarter 14th Sept. 1920. 

THOMAS JAMES CAMPBELL 



1922 

1926. 



CRAWFORD, ord. 15th May 1922; 
trans, to Helensburgh 10th Nov. 



ROBERTSON McCALLUM MILLAR, 

1Q2 trans, from Ladyburn, Greenock, 
7th April 1927; dem. 30th Oct. 1928; 
adm. to Stronsay 6th Feb. 1929. 

GORDON MILNE EWAN, born Glas- 

1929 8 W ^k May ^ 9 ^ S0n ^ James 
Gordon E. and Kate Nelson Twad 

dle; educ. Albert Road Academy, Glasgow, 
and Univ. of Glasgow; licen. by Presb. 
of Glasgow 26th March 1924; assistant 
Campsie 1924; ord. to Forgandenny 17th 
May 1926; trans, and adm. here 12th June 
1929; trans, to St Peter s, Glasgow, 2nd 
May 1939. Marr. 17th Sept. 1929 Annie 
Mitchell, daugh. of Daniel Duncan and 
Anne Mitchell, and has issue Audrey 
Mitchell Duncan, born 10th Aug. 1930. 

LENZIE (now Lenzie Old) 

WILLIAM BROWNLIE, dem. 30th 



1891 



June 1926; died 1st Jan. 1933; 



originally a teacher at Castle Doug 
las and Dundonald; his widow, Isabella 
Anderson Simpson, died 23rd Aug. 1946. 

DAVID CRAWFORD WATSON, 
1Q1 _ trans, from High Kirk, Kilmarnock 
(<7.v.), 19th Jan, 1927; dem. 31st 
Dec. 1948. Addl. issue David George 
Martin, born 29th July 1923; his daugh., 
Lorna Martin Turnbull (marr. 10th Aug. 
1943 Fred Young, son of Rev. Alexander 
Frazer). Wife s name for "Mary" read 
May, daugh. of George Turnbull, ship 
owner, and Janet Go van." 

RUTHERGLEN 

There were in the church Altars of the 
Holy Rood and St Nicholas. [Reg. Sec. 
Sig., 1, 67.] 

THOMAS INCH, exhorter, 1563 and 



1563 



1568, called min. 1569. [Comps. 
Sub Coll. of Thirds, Stirling, etc.] 



JOHN MUIRHEAD, his pres. in 1586 
was on death of Robert Herbertson. 



1586 



[Reg. Pres. Bene., i, 75.] 



ROBERT YOUNG, son of a burgess of 
Glasgow. Burgess Roll, 27th May 
1643.] 



GLASGOW] 



RUTHERGLEN WARDLAWHILL 



311 



JOHN DICKSON. [G. R. Sas., 2 Sen, 
1635 188.] 

HEW BLAIR, M.A. It may have been 
his widow, Ann Blair, and her 
children, Jean and Marjorie, resident 

in the Canongate, Edinburgh, 14th Nov. 

1694. [Canongate Poll Tax Book.} 

JAMES FURLONG, father a mer- 
1780 chant. 

WILLIAM FERRIE STEVENSON, his 



1862 



widow, Anne Paterson, died 20th 
Nov. 1921. 



GEORGE SIMPSON YUILLE, died 
1909 20th May 1932. 

WALLACE NEWMAN JAMES, born 
Welshpool, Montgomery, 7th Nov. 
1877, son of Thomas J. and Julia 
Elvina Keeling; educ. at Stonehouse School 
and Collegiate Academy, Welshpool, Dids- 
bury Theological College (affiliated to 
Univ. of Manchester); entered as candidate 
for Wesleyan Ministry 1900; ord. in 
Wesleyan Church 1907; held the following 
charges Hamstreet, Ashford, Kent; 
Thrapston, Northants; Kettering, do.; 
Burnley, Lancashire; St John s Wesleyan, 
Glasgow (12 years); adm. by General 
Assembly, 24th May 1928; licen. by Presb. 
of Glasgow June 1927; assistant Barony; 
ord. A. and S. 12th Dec. 1928; trans, to St 
George s in the Fields, Glasgow, 16th May 
1934; died 8th Aug. 1946. Marr. 1st Aug. 
1916 Lilian, daugh. of Thomas Andrew 
Hayward and Jennie Hamar. Publications 
Contributions to Scottish Pulpit. 

RUTHERGLEN WEST 

WILLIAM VALLANCE, died 17th Jan. 
1896 1923. 

ANDREW VEITCH, trans, to East 
191? Church, Tarbert, 15th Sept. 1937; 
dem. 15th May 1945; has issue 
Thomas, born 10th July 1912, M.A. Glas 
gow, student of Divinity, assistant (student) 
at Kirkintilloch. 

SHETTLESTON 

Was disjoined from the Barony; a new 



church was built and opened during the 
ministry of Rev. John White, 1903. 

MATTHEW RODGER, pres. by Crown 
1861 18th Sept. 1861. 

GILBERT JOHNSTON, pres. by 



1864 



Crown 14th Sept. 1864; his son, 



George Burns, died 28th April 1921. 

ALEXANDER (also ALISTAIR) 
MACLEAN, trans, to Daviot and 



1913 



Dunlichity 1st Dec. 1922. 

JAMES McCARDEL, trans, from Dun- 

- lop (q.v.) 5th June 1923; trans, to 

New Kilpatrick 19th Nov. 1931. 

Marr. 4th April 1916 Agnes, daugh. of 

Philip Mackie, marine engineer, Burma, 

and Janet Watt, and has issue James 

Dunlop, born 3rd Nov. 1919; Philip 

Mackie, born 3rd June 1922. 

STEPPS 

GEORGE CONDIE, line 4, for "July" 
1904 read "Dec." 

MALCOLM SHENNAN, born Glas- 
1913 gow; dem. 24th Jan. 1948. 

WARDLAWHILL 

DAVID JACK, dem. 30th Sept. 1922, 
^ ec ^ at Hornchurch, Essex, 1 st Aug. 
1925; his wife, Isabella McLean 
Finlayson, died 28th Oct. 1920. 

CHARLES McARTHUR, trans, from 



1923 



Gardenstown 21st March 1923; dem. 



16th Dec. 1925; became Chaplain 
to Fleet; adm. to St Fittock s, Aberdeen, 
28th Dec. 1928. 

WILLIAM WRIGHT, born Paisley, 5th 



1926 



Sept. 1890, son of Walter W. and 
Mary Scott; educ. at Paisley Gram 
mar School and Univ. of Glasgow, M.A. 
(1914), B.D. (1921); licen. by Presb. of 
Paisley, 1920; ord. to Mills and Steamers 
Chaplaincy, Calcutta, 28th March 1920; 
assistant Barony, Glasgow, 1925; adm. to 
Wardlawhill 25th March 1926. Marr. 9th 
July 1930 Elizabeth Jamieson, daugh. of 
James Branagan and Alison Scott Jamie- 
son, and has issue Alison Scott, born 6th 
July 1931; Walter Andrew, born 18th July 
1933; James William, born 1st Aug. 1938. 



SYNOD OF ARGYLL 



PRESBYTERY OF INVERARAY 



ARDRISHAIG (Q.S.) 

JOHN McRORIE KAY, trans, to 
1918 Lochlee 19th May 1922. 

JOHN PAUL GLEN, trans, to Strone 
1920 6th Nov. 1925. 

WILLIAM McPHAIL, trans, from 



1926 



Kilbrandon far.v.) 3rd March 1926; 



dem. 15th April 1945; died Oban 
3rd Dec. 1948. 

(Charge united with North Church 1 5th 
April 1945). 

CRAIGNISH 

NEIL CAMPBELL, son of Archibald, 
son of John C. of the Melfort 
family, parson of Luing, 20th Dec. 
1558; rector and vicar 24th July 1580; 
chaplain at the Altar of the Virgin Mary in 
Kilmartin Church; died between 1591 and 
1602. His daugh., Bessie (marr. 6th Jan. 
1587-8 James, son of Alexander Kincaid, 
maltman, Stirling). [Reg. Mag. Sig., v, 
131; Cal. of Charters, x, 2303; xii, 2796.] 



1571 



COLIN CAMPBELL, after his deposi 
tion the church was vacant till at 
least 10th Oct. 1649. [G. R. Sas., 
xlv, 294.] 



1617 



JOHN MACLACHLAN, son of John 
1669 M., min. of Kilninver. 

FRANCIS STEWART, his daugh., 
Grace, died at Carlisle 24th Aug. 
1891, aged 82. 

NEIL MACMICHAEL, his daugh., 
Elizabeth Davina Colville, died at 
Edinburgh 9th Sept. 1923. 



1860 



JAMES KEITH WILKIE, dem. 15th 
May 1945; died 14th Feb. 1947. 
Marr. 30th April 1925 Janet Riddell, 

daugh. of John Pendreich, Park Road, 

Trinity, and Elizabeth Riddell. 

CUMLODDEN 

In 1840 the presbytery resolved to build 
a church at Cumlodden for the people in 
that area of Inveraray and in the adjacent 
part of Glassary parish. The church was 
built in the following year at a cost of 548, 
towards which contributions were made by 
General Assembly s Committee on Church 
Extension, 225; Duke of Argyle, 200; 
Sir Archibald Campbell of Garscube, 100. 

MR JACKSON, a probationer, was 
appointed in 1841, to "preach and 
visit"; his salary was forthcoming 
from the General Assembly s scheme for 
the employment of probationers 20, from 
Sir Archibald Campbell 10, and contribu 
tions from other individuals in the district 
and presbytery; apparently he was identical 
with Donald Jackson who was ordained to 
Lochgilphead in 1843. 

WILLIAM EADIE, died 25th Nov. 
1926; his widow, Mary Danks, died 
29th Nov. 1945. 



1841 



1917 



1927 



DONALD MACKINNON, trans, from 
Assynt 19th Aug. 1927; died 10th 
Nov. 1939. 



GLASSARY 

1575 JOHN WHYTE, rector. 



ARCHIBALD McCALLUM, his sons, 
Duncan and Donald. [Argyll Sas., 
xxxii, 68, 15th Feb. 1672.] 



1639 



312 



PRESB. OF INVERARAY] 



GLASSARY INVERARAY 



313 



ARCHIBALD CAMPBELL, his son, 
1687 Nigel [Argyll Sas., iv, 294.] 

DONALD CAMPBELL, his son, 
Colonel Donald Graham, died at 
Balerno 14th Dec. 1928; his daugh., 
Jessie Campbell Graham, died at Guild- 
ford 7th Nov. 1940. 

ALEXANDER MACDONALD, his 



1914 



son, William Uist, min. of St 
Nicholas, Cardonald. 



JOHN CAMERON, his sons James, 

killed on Campsie Hills 7th June 

1936; Gilleasbuig, died 3rd Aug. 

1942; his daugh., Jessie Russell, marr. 18th 

Dec. 1948 Terence Laurie, only son of 

Rev. William Monaghan-Combs, Egham, 

Surrey. 



GLENARAY 

On 27th Dec. 1651 the Commissioner for 
the Plantation of Kirks modified stipends 
for the respective Irish (Gaelic) and English 
Churches of Inveraray. [Recs. of Synod of 
Argyll, 251, S.H.S.] 

DONALD MACILVORICH or Mo 
1595 ILVORIE; on 1st May 1650 his 
widow, Janet Campbell, represented 
to the Synod of Argyle that she was "in 
great necessity, and that through the burn 
ing of Mr Donald s parish, houses and 
dwellings (by the Irish under Alexander 
McDonald in 1644) she is disappointed of 
that composition which ministers wifes 
get either from Ann or for contentation of 
glebe and manse, and so left very poor and 
indigent"; the Synod granted to her the 
share of her husband from the money 
granted by the Estates for distressed mins. 
of Argyle. His daughs. Anna (marr. cont. 
22nd March 1624 Alexander Maclver or 
Campbell of Pennymore); Katherine (marr. 
Niall Malcolm, min. of Kilchrenan). 
[G. R. Sas., xxii, 36; xxix, 328; Records, 
Synod of Argyll, 181.] 

NEIL MACPHERSON, his sons 
Malcolm, died 4th May 1939; God 
frey, died 18th Dec. 1932. 



PETER NEIL MACKICHAN, his 
18 o 7 daugh., Muriel Gladys (marr. 15th 
Oct. 1922 Frank Macdonald Hoi- 
man of Pen Harbour, Hurstpierpoint, 
Sussex); his widow, Harriet Kathleen 
Whitfield, died at Edinburgh 7th March 
1940, aged 85. 

JOHN MACLACHLAN, trans, from 
t 2 Lochcarron 4th Jan. 1923, died at 
Glasgow 17th Oct. 1927; his daugh., 
Margaret Morris (marr. 19th July 1933 
Hugh McLure, son of James McArdle, 
Airdrie). 

(Charge united to Inveraray, March 1930.) 



INVERARAY 

The saint of the old Church of Glenaray 
at Kilmalew, Kilmaliew, is said to have 
been Liubha or, in its earlier form, Liba, 
Kilmalieu being Cill Mo Liubha, "my 
Liubha s Church." There are various 
saints of that name. Another view is that 
Kilmalew is "Church of St Maluog" or 
Moluoc, probably a friend of Columba, 
and equivalent to my dear little Leu or 
St Lupus. The site was at the old town on 
the north shore of the bay where the river 
Aray joins the sea. About 1778 the old 
town was removed and the present town of 
Inveraray built. The church was de 
molished at the same time as the town; and 
for fifteen years there were only temporary 
places of worship. Eventually in 1794 the 
existing two churches, with a steeple 107 ft. 
high, were built at Inveraray from a design 
by Mr Milne, London. They were repaired 
in 1838, having suffered serious damage 
from lightning in the previous year. The 
steeple, having become dangerous, had to 
be taken down in 1941. The name Kil 
malew remained with the churchyard. 
Mundu or Munnu is an affectionate form 
of the name of St Fintan. Hence Kilmun, 
the name of the place on the west side of 
Glen Aray, where stood the chapel dedi 
cated to that saint. [Watson s Celtic 
Place Names, 304-5, 307; Johnston s Place 
Names of Scotland, 220.] 



314 



INVERARAY NORTH KNAPDALE 



[PRESB. OF 



ALEXANDER GORDON, one of the 



1650 



leading characters of Neil Munro s 
"John Splendid." It is stated that 
he was min. of a church at Tynemouth, 
Northumberland, now Howard Street 
Church, North Shields. He had sasine in 
the lands of Knock in Ayrshire on adjudi 
cation 16th April 1670. [Brit. Weekly, 
llth Jan. 1931; G. R. Sas., 3 Ser., xxiv, 
310.] 

ALEXANDER McTAVISH, marr. 
Margaret, daugh. of John Campbell 
of Lerags; his son, John, went to 
Jamaica. 

JOHN FINLAY DAWSON, dem. 21st 
19Q4 Nov. 1930; died 24th June 1941; his 
wife, Flora, daugh. of John Thom 
son, burgh chamberlain, Inveraray, died 
21st July 1939; he dem. to facilitate union 
21st Feb. 1930. 

(Both charges united March 1930.) 



KILMARTIN 

There was in the church an altar dedi 
cated to the Virgin Mary, the endowment 
of which included the lands of Pennykill 
and Darrok in the barony of Craignish, 
3 merks of the lands of Auchafyne, and the 
40 sh. lands of Aithaned in the barony of 
Ardskeodenis. [Reg. Great Seal, v, 131, 
2249.] 

NEILL CAMPBELL, son of Neill C., 
t __ 4 Bishop of Argyll, became Bishop of 
Argyll in 1580, rector 8th July 1585, 
on which date his natural son, Nigel, re 
ceived letter of legitimation, apparently 
identical with Mr. Nigell, rector of Craig 
nish. [/&#. Mag. Sig., v, 839.] 



DONALD CAMPBELL, had issue 
Nei11 Robert - [G. R. Sas., 2 Ser., 
viii, 33 , 6th June 1654.] 

WILLIAM MACLACHLAN, his sons 



1669 

1696.] 



Archibald; William of Fearnoch. 
[Auchendarroch Writs, 16th July 



DONALD CAMPBELL, marr. Isobel 
1699 Campbell, who survived him. 



HECTOR CAMERON, trans, to Oban 
1912 12th Oct. 1922. 



1923 



ALEXANDER MACKENZIE, trans. 

fr m Duirinisn (#- v -) llth A P r il 
1923; trans, to North Bute 25th 
Nov. 1927. 



JOHN MALCOLM MUNRO, son of 

1929 John M., Chief Officer, Clyde Train 
ing Ship, and Jane Mitchell; trans. 
from St Columba s, Glasgow, 4th Jan. 
1929; dem. 19th May; died 16th June 1942. 
Marr. (2) 16th Jan. 1929 Adelaide Mary 
Louisa Fletcher, daugh. of James Bapty 
and Anne Renton; his daugh., Margaret 
(marr. 3rd Aug. 1926 William Christopher 
Miller, M.R.C.V.S., Edinburgh). 

NORTH KNAPDALE 

In the second quarter of the 1 5th century 
there occur references to the Perpetual 
Vicarage of St Ferchanus s in Knapdale, 
probably Kilberry, Ferchan being an 
erroneous form of Bearchan, Saint of Kil 
berry. The writer of the new Statistical 
Account states that the mother church of 
the two Knapdales, built by Cormaig Mac 
O Charmaig, was called Kilvic O Char- 
maig. The saint may be either Baetan 
Maccu Cormaic, abbot of Cluain mac Nois, 
who died 1st March 664, or Abban Maccu 
Cormaic of Magh Arnaide, whose day was 
27th Oct. The Church of Kilmichael Inver- 
lussay was built in 1 820, and the Church at 
Tayvallich in 1827. [Cal. Papal Regs., 
Letters, viii, 596, 625; Watson s Celtic 
Place Names, 282.] 

DUNCAN MACPHAIL, vicar. [Acts 
and Dec., 25th July, 1567-8, 113, 



1567 



149.] 



PATRICK MACQUEEN, parson, 
grants a tack of teinds to Campbell 



1595 



of Auchenbreck, 1595. 



DUGALD CAMPBELL, his daughs. 

t , lft Elizabeth (marr. cont. 15th July 

1655); Mary (marr. cont. 10th Dec. 

1659), alive 18th Dec. 1670. [G. R. Sas., 

xxxviii, 217; 3 Ser., vii, 247; xxxiii, 102.] 



INVERARAY] 



NORTH KNAPDALE TARBERT 



315 



JOHN McGILCHRIST, son of John ML, 
1715 writer, Kilmichael-Glassary. 

JOHN CAMPBELL, M.A. (King s 
1811 College, Aberdeen, 1782.) 

DUNCAN CAMPBELL, pres. by Queen 



1846 



Victoria 26th April 1846; his sons 
John Archibald, born 9th April 
1844, died Jersey 25th Oct. 1906; Francis 
Stewart, born 1846; his daughs. Cathe 
rine, born 1841, died 3rd Oct. 1910; 
Eugenia (marr. Roderick Maclaren, M.D.); 
Jane Macdiarmid, died at Bath 30th Aug. 
1926, aged 75. 

DONALD MACLACHLAN, pres. 15th 
1871 June 1871. 

LACHLAN MACLEAN, his widow, 

187g Annie Miller, died 4th Aug. 1928; 

his sons Lachlan, died Makalapye, 

Bechuanaland, 18th June 1934; Thomas 

Finlay, died 27th Nov. 1934. 



1914 



DONALD MCDONALD LAMONT, 

his wife, Sarah Lamont. died 5th 



Feb. 1940. 



DONALD GRANT, dem. 31st May 

1921 1944. 

SOUTH KNAPDALE 

The Churches at Achahoish and Inver- 
neil were both built about 1775. For the 
saint of Eilan-mor-vic-O Charmaig, see 
North Knapdale. [Watson s Celtic Place 
Names, 282.] 

ALEXANDER MACKENZIE, pres. by 
1843 Crown 30th Dec. 1842. 

DONALD ALLAN CAMERON, trans. 
1896 to Westray 10th May 1922. 

ANGUS MACDONALD, born North 

1922 ^ St ^ cen - b v Presb. of Glasgow, 
1921; assistant St Michael s, Dum 



fries; served in Navy during war for three 
years; ord. 27th Sept. 1922; dem. 16th May 
1925. 

HECTOR CAMERON, trans, from 
Small Isles (q.v.) 12th Nov. 1925; 
trans, to Kilfinan, 23rd Dec. 1930. 



LOCHGILPHEAD 

DONALD JACKSON, pres. by Crown 

1843 10th May 1842. 

JOHN MACKAY, pres. 30th Sept. 

1844 1844. 

JOHN MACFARLANE, pres. 8th June 
1847 1847. 

PETER NEIL MACKICHAN, pres. by 
1863 Crown 1st Jan. 1863. 

ALEXANDER CAMERON ROBERT 
SON, D.D. (Aberdeen 1923), died 
18th Jan. 1933 unmarr. 



TARBERT 

A mission with a missionary was estab 
lished here about 1775. 

DONALD MACINTOSH LOGAN, 
1914 trans, to Arisaig 27th April 1927. 

JOHN MACDONALD GILLIES, born 



1927 



Laggan, Kingussie, 10th Dec. 1894, 



son of James G., grocer, and Jane 
Mackintosh; educ. at Kingussie School and 
Univ. of Aberdeen, M.A. (1918); licen. by 
Presb. of Abernethy, 12th May 1921; 
assistant Wemyss 1921; ord. to Murthly 
12th May 1925; trans. 31st Aug. 1927; 
trans, and adm. 31st Aug. 1927; trans, to 
South Knapdale 4th Nov. 1931. Marr. 
28th April 1932 Chrissie, only daugh. of 
Lauchlan Scott, Burrelton, Coupar Angus. 



PRESBYTERY OF DUNOON 



ARDENTINNY 

JAMES PATTERSON, born Kilsyth 

26th Jan 1 830; ord. to Hemmingford 

8th Sept. 1865; D.D. (Montreal 

Presb. College, 1915); was chaplain of 

prisons for Montreal for 35 years; Clerk of 

Presbytery 1858-1917; died April 1932, 

aged 102. Marr. 8th April 1863 Rosina, 

daugh. of F. W. Sherriff of Huntingdon, 

and had seven children. 

ROBERT CRAIG, his daugh., Jean 
186Q Sarah, M.A. (marr. 26th Oct. 1932 
Malcolm Smith, rector of St Paul s 
Episcopal Church, Rothesay). 



1903 



ALEXANDER WILLIAM MIT 
CHELL, dem. 2nd June 1932, died 
20th July 1935; his wife, Janet 

McGibbon Stalker, born 4th Aug. 1887, 

died 22nd April 1924. 

(Charge united to Strone \st June 1932.) 

CRAIGMORE 

THOMAS NELSON ALLEN, adm. to 
1903 Savoch of Deer 22nd Feb. 1924. 



JOHN MORELL McWILLIAM, trans, 
to Dean Park, Go van, 17th May 
1928. 



1916 



JOHN DUNLOP BROWN, trans, from 
Whiting Bay (q.v.) 25th Oct. 1928; 
died 16th July 1948. 

DUNOON 

On 12th March 1439-40 Lord Duncan 
Campbell of Lochow gave \ merk from the 
lands of Ardenslate for the maintenance of 
lights and wax candles before the image of 
the Virgin Mary in the church. The church 
was dedicated to St Mary; and by Bull of 



Pope Pius II 4th March 1461-2 it was 
united to the mensa of Lismore. In the 
church there was an Altar of the Holy Rood, 
founded on 21st Aug. 1420 by John Camp 
bell, inhabitant of Dunoon. The church 
was enlarged in 1911 by addition of tran 
septs and the flat ceiling opened up and 
supported with transverse beams of pitch 
pine at a cost of 5,200. [Cal. of Scottish 
Supplications, 226 S.H.S.\ Theiner s Vet. 
Monumenta, 434-5.] 

1560 JOHN CAMERON. Delete entry. 

JOHN CAMERON, probably Treasurer 
1610 of diocese. 



1626 



EWEN CAMERON of Dunloskin, had 
also issue Margaret (marr. cont. 
24th June 1686 Edward Gillespie, 

merchant, Edinburgh). [Deeds, Mack., 

1705, No. 1241.] 



HECTOR McLAINE, line 2, for "5th 
Aug. 1666" read "20th March 
1665." 



1666 



ALEXANDER MACKAY, marr. cont. 
1?40 18th and 19th Aug. 1725 Elizabeth, 
daugh. of John Campbell, Captain 
of Dunoon. 



1844 



JOHN CLARK, line 7, for "1818" 
read "1828"; line 8, for "ord." 
read "adm." 



JOHN CAMERON, his daugh., 
Williamina Buchanan, died at Van 
couver 9th Sept. 1932. 



1901 



WILLIAM HOWIE, died 1st Nov. 1929; 
his wife, Mary Catherine McNeill, 
was born at Entre Rios, Argentina, 
22nd May 1881. Addl. issue William 
Bruce, M.B., Ch.B., born 20th Jan. 1924. 



316 



PRESB. OF DUNOON] 



INNELLAN KILFINAN 



317 



1919 



INNELLAN 

ARCHIBALD EWING MACINTYRE, 

trans, to Pollokshaws 7th March 
1928. 



DOUGLAS GORDON McLEAN, born 



1928 



19th Dec. 1893, son of William 



George Green M., min. of Cullen; 
educ. at Boddam School, Fordyce Academy 
and Univ. of Aberdeen, M.A. (1920); 
served with Gordon Highlanders in Great 
War, wounded at Hooge 1915, Company 
Commander and Brigade Bombing Officer 
1917-18; tutor in Glasgow; licen. by Presb. 
of Edinburgh 16th March 1928; assistant 
Lady Glenorchy s; ord. 7th June 1928. 
Marr. 22nd June 1918 Jessie Cormack 
Shaw, M.A., daugh. of James Shaw, 
auditor, Indian Railways, and has issue 
William James, born 28th May 1920, died 
26th Nov. 1943; Wendy Moira, born 1st 
Jan. 1926. Publications The History of 
Fordyce Academy (1936); Life at a Banff- 
shire School, 1592-1935. 

TOWARD CHAPEL 

RONALD MACDOUGALL, died 4th 
1885 Feb. 1942. 

WILLIAM GRAHAM BROWN, went 
1918 to Canada, died 13th Dec. 1928. 

JOHN ALEXANDER, app. 15th Jan. 



1922 



1922, died 29th March 1926, aged 
73. 

(St Bride s Church was rebuilt and restored 
Aug. 1935.) 

INVERCHAOLAIN 

The Churches of Inverchaolain and Kil- 
morie in Strathlachlan were united, appa 
rently some time after the Reformation; 
on 27th Dec. 1651 the Commission for the 
Plantation of Kirks dissolved the union, 
made Inverchaolain "a distinct kirk" and 
modified to the same a stipend with manse 
and glebe. The church was rebuilt in 1745. 
At Toward Point there was a chapel dedi 
cated either to St Fillan, but which of that 
name is uncertain, or, as the designation 



Kyllenane also occurs, to St Finan. [Recs. 
of Synod of Argyle, 250, S.H.S.; Watson s 
Celtic Place Names, 285, 518.] 

DUGALD CAMPBELL, his pres. in 

1574 was on the death of John 
1 5/4 

Lamond. [Reg. Pres. Bene., i, (4), 

24.] 
JOHN SCOULAR THOMSON, dem. 



1918 



llth Nov. 1938; died at Edinburgh 
30th March 1939; his son, Ian 
Alastair Cameron, min. of Latheron llth 
May 1946. Addl. issue Roland Malise 
Fraser, born 16th March 1923; Madeline 
Ruth Veronica, born llth March 1930. 
Publications Editor British Students Song 
Book, and Editor Glasgow University 
Magazine. 

KILFINAN 

The church was granted to Paisley Abbey 
by 1230-40 by Duncan, son of Ferchar or 
Ferhard, and Laumann, son of Malcolm 
and nephew of Duncan confirmation by 
Angus, son of Duncan, 9th July 1270; in 
1253 the church was designated "the 
Church of St Finan which is in Kethrome- 
congall" (in the quarter of Cowal), and at 
that time it was known as "Kerry or 
Caathramh," i.e. "the fourth part." Of 
a Charter of 6th July 1452 Sir Robert 
Dewar, "vicar of St Serf s of Kilfinnan," 
is a witness; but of this dedication nothing 
further is known. There was in the church 
an altar dedicated to St Fynnan, to which 
pertained the 4 lib. lands of Awchingyle. 
Whether this was a second altar to St Finan 
is not clear. At Ardmarnock, St Marnock s 
Field, there was a chapel dedicated to that 
saint. A small portion of the chapel still 
exists. A short distance above the chapel 
there was a cell, to which St Marnock was 
wont to resort for fasting, penance and 
devotion. [Reg. Great Seal, iv, 791, v, 
2095; Reg. of Paisley, 132-3, 137-9.] 

JOHN Mc