(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Gazetteer and biographical record of Genesee County, N.Y., 1788-1890"

Gc M.I- 

974,701 

G28b 

1496986 



X, 



(S(t4^ 



<- 



GENEALOGY COLLECTION 



ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY 



3 1833 01177 0440 



PART FIRST. 



GAZETTEER 



AND 



Biographical Record 



OF 



GENESEE COUNTY, N. Y. 

1788-1890. 



Edited by K. W. BEERS. 



" He that hath much to do, will do something wrong, and of that wrong must suffer 
the consequences ; and if it were possible that he should always act rightly, yet when 
such numbers are to judge of his conduct, the bad will censure and obstruct him by 
malevolence, and the good sometimes by mistake." — Samuel JOHNSON. 



SYRACUSE, N. Y. : 

J. W. VOSE & CO., PUBLISHERS. 

June, 1890. 



D. Mason & Co., 

printers, 
Syracuse, N. Y. 



1496986 



INTRODUCTION 



In presenting to the public the Gazetteer, Biographical Record, 
AND Directory of Genesee County we desire to return our sin- 
cere thanks to all who have kindly aided in obtaining the information 
it contains, and thus rendered it possible to present it in the brief space 
of time in which it is essential such work should be completed. Espe- 
cially are our thanks due to the editors and managers of all the local pa- 
pers for their uniform kindness, and for granting the use of their files; 
to Judge Safiford E. North for the valuable*paper on the Bench and Bar; 
to Dr. William B. Sprague, of Pavilion, for the paper on the Medical 
Profession; to D. R. Bacon for history of the town of Le Roy; to J. Ly- 
man Crocker for assistance on the towns of Le Roy and Pavilion ; to 
David Seaver, of New York, for valuable information pertaining to tiie 
Masonic history of the county ; to John R. Anderson, of Le Roy, for ad- 
ditional Masonic history ; to Charles E. Cook, of ]?yron, for the article 
on the fruit interests ; to the county clerk, Carlos A. Hull, for his assist- 
ance in the use of records in his office ; and to many others throughout 
the county, who have rendered valuable aid. 

That errors have occurred in so great a number of names is probable, 
and that names have been omitted which should have been inserted is 
-quite certain. We can only say that we have exercised more than or- 
'dinary diligence and care in this difficult and complicated feature of book- 
making. Of such as feel aggrieved in consequence of errors or omis- 
sions we beg pardon, and ask the indulgence of the reader in noting such 
-as have been observed in the subsequent reading of the proofs, and which 
-are corrected at the close of this volume. 



INTRODUCTION. 



We would suggest that our patrons observe and become familiar with 
the explanations at the commencement of the Directory on page 3, part 
second. The names it embraces, and the information connected there- 
with, were obtained by actual canvass, and are as correct and reliable as 
the judgment of those from whom they were solicited renders possible. 
Each agent is furnished with a map of the town he is expected to can- 
vass, and he is required to pass over every road and call at every dwell- 
ing and place of business in the town in order to obtain the facts from 
the individuals concerned whenever possible. 

The map, which has been engraved especially for this work, was 
compiled from latest existing plans in the county clerk's office, and 
shows all the new and old railroads, highways, and names of post- 
offices in the county. 

We take this occasion to express the hope that the information found 
in the book will not prove devoid of interest and value, though we are 
fully conscious that the brief description of the county the scope of the 
work enables us to give is by no means an exhaustive one, and can only 
hope that it may prove an aid to future historians, who will be the bet- 
ter able to do full justice to the subject. 

While thanking our patrons and friends generally for the cordiality with 
which our work has been seconded we leave the work to secure that fa- 
vor which earnest endeavor ever wins from a discriminating public, hoping 
they will bear in mind, should errors be noted, that "he who expects a 
perfect work to see, expects what ne'er was, is, nor yet shall be." 



THE PUBLISHERS. 



HISTORY 



OF 



GENESEE COUNTY, 



TO make a history of the importance of a proper one of Genesee 
County, in the Eden of the Empire State, it would be more com- 
plete in itself by introducing, briefly, the early history of the State, 
the foundation of the title of its territory, its early settlement, and the 
prominent position this particular county has and does at present sustain 
in the development of the first State of the Union. 

Within the scope of a work of this character the discovery of the con- 
tinent, and the exploration of its vast territory, need not enter minutely, 
except so far as relates to our portion of it; the history of its discovery 
by Columbus, in 1492, is a fact too well known to be repeated, and the dis- 
covery of the northern portion by Lief, the son of Eric a Norwegian, who 
came across the straits from Greenland to Labrador in the year 1000, was 
only followed by Thorfinn in 1007, who sailed along the same course down 
the eastern coast to Narragansett Bay, in Rhode Island; this land is called 
Vinland, and the record of his discoveries is still extant. After quite 
five centuries had elapsed the intrepid voyager and scholar, Christopher 
Columbus, by sailing west from Palos, across a then unknown ocean, dis- 
covered the Bahama Islands, and was followed by various adventurers 
from other nations of the Old World who sent them for mercenary mo- 
tives. In 1497 Henry VII. commissioned John Cabot to sail to this con- 
tinent, and take possession of it for the Crown of England; and this was 
successfully accomplished in 1498, on the second voyage by his son, Se- 
bastian Cabot 



GENESEE COUNTY. 



In 1524 John Verazzani, in the service of Francis I. of France, sailed 
along the coast from Georgia to about latitude 41, north, and entered a 
harbor, which from his description is said to be New York Bay ; he re- 
mained there 1 5 days, and is believed to be the first European that landed 
on the soil of New York ; he proceeded northerly as far as Labrador, and, 
naming the territory New France, took possession for France so far as he 
could by his rights of discovery. In 1607 Samuel Champlain sailed up 
the River St. Lawrence in the interest of the French nation; he explored 
the tributaries of that '.mighty river, and discovered Lake Champlain, 
which still bears his name. He also took possession of the " New France," 
and that nation assumed still greater rights in the new territory. 

In 1609 Henry Hudson, an English navigator of note, offered his serv- 
ices to the Dutch East India Company, of Holland, a wealthy corpora- 
tion formed for trade and colonization, which was accepted ; and with a 
suitable outfit he arrived on the eastern coast of this continent at or near 
what is now Portland, Me., whence he sailed southward along the coast 
as far as Chesapeake Bay ; from thence he sailed northward again, dis- 
covering Delaware Bay, and on the 3d of September anchored off Sandy 
Hook; he entered New York Bay on the 12th of the same month, and 
sailed up the river which was given his name, and has been since so called. 
He anchored just above where the city of Hudson now stands, and sent 
a boat with a portion of his crew still further up the river on a voyage of 
exploration ; it is supposed, frorn his description, that the crew ascended 
above where Albany is now situated. On the 23d of September Hudson 
descended to the Bay of New York and set sail for home. Holland now 
claimed the territory from the same right of discovery and exploration,^ 
and it will be seen that the three nations mentioned claimed the same; 
and also that New York State was a part. 

It will be no wonder after reading the foregoing that the authority of 
the different nations should clash somewhat The Dutch sent out other 
trading vessels in 161 2; these were followed by still more, and Manhattan 
Island was made the chief depot for trade; the States General granted a 
charter to the merchants for exclusive jurisdiction over "New Nether- 
lands," as it was denominated, and it included all the territory between 
.40° and 45° north latitude. 

In 162 1 James I. granted to Ferdinando Gorges and his mercantile as- 
sociates all lands between the 40th and 48th parallels of latitude, and from 
ocean to ocean ; claim was made of the Dutch for the territory, which was 
refused, and the subject of title was already becoming important. Both 



COLONIAL GOVERNMENT 



had grants of the territory from the highest authority of their respective 
nations. 

In 1638 WiUiam Kieft was made governor of New Amsterdam for the 
Dutch. He by his acts was plunged into war with the Indians, which lasted 
till 1645, when a treaty of peace was made, and Peter Stuyvesant was ap- 
pointed governor in 1 647. To settle the controversy between the Eng- 
lish and Dutch settlements arbitrators were appointed to adjust their re- 
spective claims; this tribunal assigned the eastern part of Long Island to 
the English, and a division line specified the boundary between the Dutch 
New Netherlands and the English Connecticut colonies. 

In 1664 Charles II. of England, regardless of the claims of the Dutch or 
any previous agreement, granted to his brother, Duke of York and Al- 
bany, — afterwards James II., — the whole country from the Connecticut to 
the Delaware River, which included the entire Dutch possessions. The 
Duke claimed the territory, which was so strongly to be enforced, if re- 
fused, that Governor Stuyvesant surrendered the province September 3, 
1664. Thus the possession of New Netherlands passed into the hands of 
the English, and at once the Duke changed the name to Nevv York, and 
Fort Orange to Albany. The Dutch attempted to regain the possession 
of the territory, and nearly succeeded through the treachery of the cap- 
tain of the fort at New York. Peace was declared between the rival fac- 
tions in 1674, leaving the English in full possession, but the Duke of 
York, for his own safety, applied for and received from the Crown a new 
patent. 

The French had not been idle, and in the meantime settlements had 
been made in New France, — the region north of the great lakes and along 
the St. Lawrence River, — and had allied themselves with the Algonquins 
in victories against the Iroquois, which embittered the latter against the 
French; but a peace was concluded in 1667 by the intercession of the 
Duke of York. 

Trade was successfully prosecuted by the French and English in their 
respective territories for a few years, but artful advantages, instigated by 
the Catholic missionaries, disrupted the friendly relations between the 
Iroquois and English, which resulted in a conference, at Albany, of the 
governors of New York and Virginia and chiefs of the Iroquois, in 1684, 
and at which harmony was restored. No sooner was peace restored in 
this direction than discontent arose in another. De la Barre, French gov- 
ernor of Canada, made complaint that the Senecas, — a nation of the Iro- 
quois, — by their hostilities against the Miamas, — a tribe beyond Lake 



8 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Erie, with whom the French were alHed, — interrupted their trade. In 
1687 the French overrun the country of the Senecas, — Western New 
York, — and erected a fort at the mouth of Niagara River. The Five Na- 
tions flew to arms, descended upon the French, and the settlements south 
of the lake were abandoned by that nation. This gave the English the 
government of the territory embraced within the limits of the State of 
New York. 

The revolution in England that placed William and Mary upon the 
throne was followed in 1669 by war between France and England, which 
involved, also, their colonies in the New World. Count Frontenac, gov- 
ernor of Canada, endeavored to alienate the fealty of the Iroquois from 
the English, and in other ways harrassed the latter, even sending an ex- 
pedition, in February, 1690, to massacre the people at Schenectady. To 
allay this feeling among the allies Major Schuyler called a council at Al- 
bany and secured a renewal of friendship. After several invasions and a 
long, bloody war the peace of Ryswick, in 1697, terminated the barbarous 
hostilities between the two nations. 

In 1710 it was thought necessary by England to subdue or repay Can- 
ada for many depredations and hostilities on the part of the French, and 
an expedition was sent the following year for her reduction, but failed to 
make an attack. The treaty of Utrecht, in 1713, terminated the war, and 
the supremacy of the English over the Iroquois, or Five Nations, was con- 
ceded. About this date the Tuscaroras, from the south, joined the Five 
Nations, and the confederation was thenceforth called the "Six Nations." 

A trading post was erected in 1722, at Oswego, by the English, which 
so displeased the French that they erected one at Niagara to intercept the 
trade of the western tribes ; this led to a chain of forts and trading posts 
along west and south of the lakes, and the French then claimed posses- 
sion of the territory west of the AUeghanies. The emmissaries of the 
French again alienated the Six Nations in their allegiance to the English, 
and, notwithstanding the existing nominal terms of peace, let loose hordes 
of Indians on the English frontiers, besides many other overt acts of hos- 
tility committed. Early in 1755 England sent over vast armies, and four 
decisive campaigns were inaugurated against the French in all their pos- 
sessions, viz.: 

First, to subjugate their power in Nova Scotia. 

Second, against Fort Duquesne for the recovery of power west of the 
AUeghanies. 

Third, against Fort Niagara. 

Fourth, against Crown Point at the head of Lake Champlain. 



DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE. 



The varied success of these Expeditions may be learned in more gen- 
eral histories, but suffice to say that in 1758 and '59 the French were glad 
to arrange terms of peace, which was consummated February 10, 1763, 
by the cession of all possessions in Canada to the English. 

During this year the boundary line between the provinces of New 
York, Massachusetts, and Connecticut was fixed ; the line as agreed was 
to extend north and south, and to be 20 miles east of the Hudson River. 
The State of New York was now an English province, with no counter 
claims from the Dutch and French who had so long endeavored to ob- 
tain the ascendency on her soil. 

The representatives of the provinces now began to remonstrate against 
various acts of oppression placed upon them by the British Parliament — 
taxes that abridged their trade and liberties, and the exaction of duties 
that were unbecoming to a lawful subject. The burden of the late war 
with France, by which England acquired vast territory, was yet onerous 
to the provinces, and the arbitrary enforcement of unwholesome collec- 
tions created a feeling of resistance and revolt. Petitions to King and 
Parliament were unheeded; the stamp act in 1765 led the colonies to 
open revolt; its repeal followed in 1767, but in its stead a heavy duty 
was placed upon tea, glass, lead, paper, etc., that should be brought for 
the use of their subjects in America; and this led to establishing custom- 
houses, revenue officers, and arbitrary arrests ; collisions occurred be- 
tween British troops in 1770 in New York and in Boston; blood was shed; 
the tea act followed; the Crown closed the ports of Boston; public meet- 
ings were held in all the colonies, and strong resolutions were passed to 
combine and resist the aggressions of the mother country. 

In September, 1774, delegates met in Congress at Philadelphia ; a bill 
of rights was passed and petitions were sent to the Crown for the removal 
of these grievances ; but again they met with disdain. The aggressions 
of the British troops at Boston in 1775 hastened the call "To arms!" 
After the British were driven from Boston, in March, 1776, the battle of 
Long Island was fought, and the British gained the occupancy of New 
York city. 

The Declaration of Independente, July 4, 1776, the long war, the many 
scenes, and active part assumed by New York are more minutely related 
in general histories. 

The struggle lasted until the surrender of Cornwallis at Yorktown, Va., 
October 19, 1781 ; a primitive treaty was signed November 30, 1782; 
and the final, definite treaty was completed and signed September 3, 



lO GENESEE COUNTY. 



1783, by which these colonies were free and independent. On the 25th 
of November following the British troops left New York and sailed for 
home. 

The short, condensed relation of the discovery of the continent; the 
several grants of the territory comprising the State of New York ; the 
gradual condensation of that title into English possession ; and their final 
quit-claim of all right, title, and interest to the States that gave grants to 
the original purchasers, has been concisely shown with dates from the 
best authorities. Nations and provinces, as has been demonstrated, by 
aggressions in times of peace cause bloodshed ; we will mention the last 
war between our people and Great Britain, and how the latter again at- 
tempted to grapple her lost possessions. 

THE SENECA INDIANS. 

ALTHOUGH much has previously been said in connection with title 
to the Holland Purchase, concerning the Indians denominated the 
" Five Nations," it will be well to speak more minutely of the 
Senecas — the western tribe of this confederacy, and who, by their simple 
rights, occupied the territory of the "Holland Purchase," and particularly 
that of Genesee County. 

The dim ages of the past offer no rational origin to the aboriginal in- 
habitants of this territory, and with the shadowy light of their traditions 
the enlightened world can only speculate as to the beginning. Indeed, 
it is proven by the only records of the Indians — tradition, from genera- 
tion to generation — that the territor}^ of Genesee County contains works 
of which the Indians, who dwelt here when the first white man visited 
it, have no tradition, showing that at still earlier periods yet another and 
perhaps more enlightened people may have occupied these same lands. 
Some mounds seem to have been used as burial-places, and some for de- 
fense ; they certainly present evidence of no little skill and knowledge of 
engineering. Without conjecturing as to any earlier people we will re- 
turn to the Senecas, as found here by the first Europeans. They were 
muscular, reddish brown, black, straight hair, and beardless. They lived 
in huts made of barks fastened to poles by withes and thongs, many fam- 
ilies often living in one cabin. One of the early Jesuits speaks of find- 
ing cabins 40 to 60 feet long " in the Genesee." in which 12 or 14 fami- 
lies were domiciled. They were clothed scantiiy, with skins; their food 
was game and fish, and the corn that was raised by the female portion of 



THE SENECA INDIANS. H 



he tribe; their weapons were the bow and arrow, and tomahawk. Their 
fondness for paints and gaudy ornaments upon their persons was only- 
equalled by their showy rites and ceremonies. 

The chiefs seemed to be the law-makers, and their office was inherited 
or constituted by supreme acts of daring. Polygamy existed, but among 
the Senecas was not so common as among other tribes. No public pun- 
isliment for crime seemed to be enforced by their ideas of law, but jus- 
tice was meted out by private vengeance, and if the ends of justice were 
met retaliation stopped. Their religious ceremonies were simple and 
full of reverence ; they worshiped a great spirit, feared the evil spirit 
(which was a less powerful brother of the good spirit), and strove to go 
to the " Happy Hunting-Grounds " after death ; when the burial took 
place food and weapons were buried with the remains to help the dead 
on their way. 

In war the Senecas were of the bravest, and tradition tells of their con- 
quests among the Eries, Miamas, and tribes of the southwest; it is 
thought that the "Five Nations," of which the Senecas held the western 
door, had carried their conquests to the Gulf of Mexico. They scalped 
their dead enemies, which was done by seizing the hair on the top of the 
head with the left hand, cutting the scalp around in a circle with the 
right, and suddenly jerking the skin from the skull. The greatness ot 
the warrior's exploits was measured by the number of the scalps in his 
wigwam. 

The earthworks, still visible within the limits of the county, are thought 
to be the fortifications of a race earlier than the Senecas, who held un- 
disturbed possession of the virgin soil when first visited by the whites; 
still they may have been thrown up by their ancestors, generations be- 
fore, and the tradition lost by vicissitudes of war. Oakfield has an an- 
cient enclosure, and it has been the most distinctly preserved through 
the lapse of time of any in the county ; northeast of this is another called 
by writers " bone fort," for it seemed to be the receptacle of the bones 
of their slain ; plenty of arrowheads and simple instruments of war and 
for domestic uses have been found in and around these works. Two 
miles north of Le Roy, at Fort Hill, upon a peninsula formed by Ford- 
ham's Brook and Allen's Creek, — high land, and most advantageous for 
defense, — are the remains of another earthwork of mound and ditch, in- 
dicating that in generations past the aborigines were necessarily skilled 
in war. Tney were implacable in war and generous in friendship, tor- 
turing by the most barbarous cruelties a portion of their captives, and 



12 GENESEE COUNTY, 



adopting others with every evidence of family and tribal affection. Mary 
Jemison, whose history is so familiar to the citizens of the whole Hol- 
land Purchase as a captive member of the Senecas, would not return to 
her white relatives when urged by her brother. The trails of the Sene- 
cas were the chosen routes for public roads in later days, evincing un- 
doubted taste in civil engineering. 

As is stated in the general history the Senecas quit-claimed their 
right, title, and interest to the lands of the Holland Purchase and Mor- 
ris Reserve, and in return received stipulated sums and annuities ; they 
also reserved lands sufficient for their habits of life, which is also men- 
tioned and described, and to these they retired where the remnant of the 
once powerful tribe resides. What is true of the Senecas applies to other 
tribes of the confederacy. They have degenerated from their savagery, 
have become more or less imbued with ideas of civilization, are pro- 
tected by the laws, and in time will live only in the " white man's writ- 
ten history." 

Red Jacket. — "This great orator was always bitter against everything 
pertaining to the white race, except whisky, and never became reconciled 
to the criminal law of the white man. He could not understand the 
justice of the law that would punish an offender by as long an imprison- 
ment for stealing a trifling article as a larger one. It happened that an 
Indian was indicted at Batavia for burglary in breaking and entering the 
house of Joseph Ellicott, and stealing some article of trifling value, the 
punishment for which was a sentence of imprisonment for life. At the 
same time a white man, who had stolen a larger amount than the Indian, 
but without the accompaniment of burglary, was sentenced to only a few 
years imprisonment. Red Jacket with his chiefs attended the trial, for 
the purpose of rendering what aid he could to his unfortunate brother. 
The proof was clear and a verdict of guilty followed the trial. When 
the prisoner was arraigned for sentence, and the usual question pro- 
pounded, why the sentence of the law should not be pronounced. Red 
Jacket, who had been watching the proceedings with intense interest, 
asked permission to speak in behalf of the prisoner. The request being 
granted, he rose with his usual dignity, and boldly questioned the juris- 
diction of the court, and asserted the independence of his nation. He 
contended that the Senecas were allies, not the subjects, of the whites; 
that his nation had laws for the punishment of theft ; and that the of- 
fender in the present case ought to be delivered up to them, to be tried 
according to the usages and suffer according to the laws of his own peo- 
ple. 



RED JACKET — INDIAN BURIAL-GROUNDS. 



15 



" His manner on the occasion was particularly fine for him, but his ar- 
gument was not sufficiently powerful to avert the sentence, which was 
pronounced in due form. The orator was dissatisfied with the result. 
Estimating the measure of delinquency by the pecuniary loss he could 
not perceive the justice of incarcerating a man for life, who had stolen a 
few spoons of small value, when another offender, who had stolen a horse, 
was sentenced to but a few years imprisonment. 

" After the proceedings were over, in passing from the court-house to 
the inn, in company with a group of lawyers, Red Jacket discerned upon 
the sign of a printing office the arms of the State, with the emblematical 
representation of Liberty and Justice emblazoned in large figures and 
characters. The chieftain stopped, and pointing to the figure of Liberty 
asked in broken English, ' What him call?' He was answered, ' Liberty.' 
'Ugh!' was the significant and truly aboriginal response. Then point- 
ing to the other figure he inquired, ' What him call ?' He was answered, 
'Justice,' to which, with a kindling eye, he instantly replied, by asking, 
' Where him live now ? ' " 

One of the highest of the arts of war shown by the Plve Nations was 
the placing of the Mohawks at the east door of their " Long House," as 
their name Ho-de-no-saw-nee implied, and the Senecas at the west — the 
two strongest tribes of the confederacy. 

Indian biirial-gronnds. — The following is a copy of a letter written 
July 26, 1845, by D. E. Walker, who was a teacher of a select school in 
Batavia from about 1840 to 1848. This letter was written to Mr. School- 
craft, author of Schoolcraft's Notes on the Iroquois : 

" Mr. Schoolcraft, Dear Sir : I have visited the mound on Dr. Nolton's farm (about 
one and a half miles up Tonnawanda Creek). ... I thmk it about 50 yards from 
the creek, and elevated some eight feet above the general level of the ground. A similar 
one is found about two miles south of this, upon high ground, of circular form, and 
has a radius of about one rod. They were discovered about 30 or 40 years since. Noth- 
ing has been discovered in them save human bones. . . . 

" On some two miles beyond the second was discovered a burial-ground. At that 
place were ploughed up shell, bone, or quill beads. Near this place was found a brown 
earthen pot, standing between the roots of a large tree (maple, I think), and with a small 
sapling grown into it some six inches in diameter. Beads of shell, bone, or porcupine 
quill have often been found. . . . There is also a ridge at the termination of high- 
ground. I say ridge ; it appeared to me a regular fortification. It is, I should judge, 
from 30 to 45 feet in length. It would appear that the ground was dug down from some 
distance back and wheeled (?) to the termination of high ground, until a bank is thrown 
up to a height of some 1.5 or 20 feet. This ridge some think to be natural ; others, from 
the fact that a smooth stone about the size of a pestle was found in it, think it to be 
artificial. : . . All I could learn (and I rode about seven miles out of my way to con- 



14 GENESEE COUNTY. 



verse with an old inhabitant) was that this pestle was found in the ridge, and within three 
or four feet of the surface. We may perhaps infer something from the size of an under- 
jaw found here, which is said to have been so large as to much more than equal that ol 
the largest face in the country. Respectfully, 

"D. E.Walker." 

Ancient works. — This county is peculiarly noted for its ancient earth- 
works, which remain the most perfect of any in the State. Oakfield 
township, just west of Caryville, has an enclosure upon which the eye of 
the white man may gaze and well wonder to what manner of people the 
architects belonged. It is situated on the western slope of one of those 
billowy hills so common there, and is washed on the north by a stream 
making a high bank, showing an artificial grade. The trench surround- 
ing the works is yet in places visible, showing a vast work and no un- 
common engineering skill. Ancient lodges have been traceable to those 
who visited it years ago, and the usual supply of broken pottery. It has 
gateways plainly visible, and was no doubt the stronghold of the ancient 
Senecas when the Eries, Miamas, etc., from the southwest, invaded their 
territory. The " bone fort," a large enclosure a mile or more northeast 
of the first, was also built up in the customs of the past, and by some ab- 
original tenants of this territory. Since the settlement of the county by 
the whites the remains of these enclosures have gradually disappeared ; 
at the present time but little remains to mark the spot of the " bone fort," 
while during the first years of the present century the enclosure con- 
tained a mound of bones six feet high, and 30 feet broad at its base. 

At Le Roy, three miles north of the village, is other evidence of note. 
The work occupies a high bank, or table- land, bounded by Fordham's 
Brook and Allen's Creek, which effect a junction here. The peninsula 
is now high and with steep banks by the long action of the streams upon 
the strata of lime and sandstone. The fortification is about 1,300 feet 
from north to south, and 2,000 feet across its broadest part, narrowing 
to 1,000 at its neck connecting it with the general table-land. There is 
a trace of an embankment and ditch about 1,500 feet in length across 
the broad part, east and west, and either are two or three feet in height 
or depth. Skeletons and pottery used to be found here ; also pipes, 
beads, arrowheads, etc. Heaps of small stones were discovered in the 
enclosure, which seemed to indicate they were used by the ancients as 
missiles of protection. Nothing definite can be concluded as to the ar- 
chitects of these different forts, whether the Senecas, or another tribe be- 
fore their occupation of the soil, were the builders. In 1788 Rev. Sam- 
uel Kirkland, missionary to the Seneca Indians, visited these forts or en- 



INDIAN ANTIQUITIES. 15 



closures, and has left a description of the very perfect condition in which 
he found them at that date. But no historian has gleaned any, evidence 
from the traditions of the Senecas that the race found here were the 
builders. 

Antiquities of Batavia} — Prior to the advent of Joseph EUicott, and the 
survey of the Holland Land Company, what is now Batavia was nothmg 
but a favorite stopping-place and large camp-ground of the Senecas, sit- 
uated on the Wa-a-gwen-ne-go, or great Indian trail, traversing the State 
from the Hudson River to Lake Erie. The locality of this campine-place 
was on the north side of the Ta-na-ivnn-da (swift water) Ga-hiin-da 
(creek), and in immediate proximity to the bridge at the head of Walnut 
street. It occupied a space of some two or three acres, extending from 
the court-house to the old land office. Its area was a grassy plat devoid 
of trees, and contained a large natural spring opposite the land office, 
which is still in use. In the Indian dialect this camp- ground was called 
De o7i-go-waJi (the grand hearing-place) 

The trail mentioned above was a well-beaten or deeply-trodden path 
through the forest, about one foot wide, and worn from three to six 
inches in depth. Crossing the Gen-nis-ye-ho (beautiful valley), near Avon, 
it continued west until it reached the old Roswell Graham farm, about two 
miles east of the court-house. There, to avoid the Mount Lucy ponds 
and marsh in that vicinity, it bore off in a southwesterly direction, across 
the county fair grounds, Levi Otis's farm, etc., and came out on the east 
bank of the creek near the residence of A. S. Pratt, and within a {^V4 
rods of the " great bend of the Tonawanda Creek." Circling this bend, 
and continuing on high ground, it nearly followed the line of what is 
now part of Jackson and Chestnut streets; then near the banks of the 
creek via the camp-ground, to where the State arsenal now stands. 
Here the trail bore off northwest, through the oak openings, to the village 
of Caryville. In addition to this a summer trail, or cut off, was likewise 
in use when the state of the ground would permit, viz., from the Graham 
farm, following our present Main street, to the camp- ground and spring. 
Why is this place called " the bend ? " The Tonawanda Creek is a very 
tortuous stream. Between the villages of Batavia and Alexander, by the 
highway, is eight miles ; but were a person to follow the meanderings of 
the creek he would travel nearly 23 miles. Flowing from the south, in 
a circuitous direction, the stream reaches its extreme easternmost point 
within the limits of the village plat. Here a large bend, or turn, occurs, 



^ By David Seaver. 



l6 GENESEE COUNTY. 



and thereafter a westerly course is pursued. This, also, is the greatest 
or longest^bend during the entire length of the creek. Hence the " bend"^ 
was designated for this locality, as is noticed elsewhere. 

GENESEE COUNTY, 1795-1800. 

THE following extracts are from the pen of the versatile writerr 
David Seaver, of New York city, (to whom we are indebted for 
favors,) contributing to the columns of The Spirit of the Times in 
1874; and referring to a work to which he had access, describing tlie 
journey of one Rochefoucauld Liancourt, a Frenchman, in 1795, from 
Philadelphia to Niagara Falls, through Western New York, says, after en- 
countering the celebrated chief Red Jacket: 

" The road from Ontario to Canawago (Canawaugus) is a good one for this country, 
but as usual it leads through the midst of the woods, and within a space of 12 
miles we saw only one habitation. In this journey we discovered two Indians lying 
under a tree ; though we had seen a considerable number of them, yet this meeting 
had for us an attraction of novelty, as we found them in a state of intoxication which 
scarcely manifested the least symptoms of life. One wore around his neck a long and 
heavy silver chain, from which a large medallion was suspended ; on one side whereof 
was the image of George Washington, and on the other the motto of Louis XIV., nee 
piuribics impar, with the figure of the sun, which was usually displayed with it in the 
French army. This Indian, no doubt, was his excellency in a ditch, out of which we 
made repeated efforts to drag him, but in vain. . . . 

" Canawago is a small town, the inhabitants few, but Mr. Berry keeps there one of 
the best inns we have seen for some time. 

"Wednesday, June 17th, 1795. After remaining half a day at Canawago, we at 
length set out to traverse the desarts, as they are called. A journey through uninter- 
rupted forests offers but little matter for speculation or remark; the woods are in gen- 
eral not close, but stand on fruitful soil. The route is a footpath, tolerably good upon 
the whole, but in some places very miry ; winding through the forests over a level 
ground that rises but seldom into gentle swells. After a ride of 12 hours, in which 
we have crossed several large creeks (Oatka and Black), we arrived at Big Plains (Oak- 
field), which is 38 miles distant from Canawago. We breakfasted at Buttermilk Fall (Le 
Roy), and dined on the bank of the Tonawaugo (Batavia), and for both these meals 
our appetites were so keen that perhaps we never ate anything with a better relish." 

Liancourt next describes his visit to the tribe of Indians settled at Ton- 
awaugo. In another article to the Batavia Spirit of the Times Mr. Sea- 
ver gives extracts from a work of John Maule, published in London, 
wherein the author gives his experiences of a visit in 1800, following 
nearly the same route taken by Liancourt in 1795. The author (Maule) 
was an English gentleman. In August, 1800, Mr. Maule spent several 
days in the locality of Genesee Falls (now Rochester). He speaks of In- 



GENESEE COUNTY, 1795-180O. 17 



dian Allan's mill at that point, and mentions Colonel Fish (grandfather 
of the late Eli H. Fish, of Batavia), who at that time was the only resi- 
dent. Upon leaving the falls he proceeded to the Indian village of Can- 
awaugus (then a mile or so west of what is now Avon), where he found 
the chief ruler to be Hot Bread, or Ga-kwa da, who was a warrior be- 
tween 60 or 70 years of age, and sported a beard two inches long. His 
mother was the royal princess Can-a-ivan-giis, from whom the village 
was named. " She can be proved to be at least 120 years old, and yet 
is able to walk about and plant her own maize." "She lives surrounded 
by 40 of her children, grandchildren, etc., and some of the latter old 
enough to be grandparents." 

August 20, 1800, he proceeded on his journey, "accompanied by Hot 
Bread, who was mounted on a nag, whose ears were rimmed and tipped 
with silver." After passing Peterson's Big Spring (Caledonia) he arrived 
at Ganson's (LeRoy), 297 miles, at 1 1 A. M., and the following entry is 
made: 

" When my friend L. passed this place last year, Ganson's was a solitary house in the 
wilderness, but it is now in the midst of a flourishing township, in which 21 families 
are already settled, A new tavern and a number of dwelling houses are building. Two 
hundred and ninety-eight miles ; recross Allen's Creek ; the bed a flat limestone rock, 
15 or 20 rods wide, with three or four inches of water ; a handsome bridge was building 
This creek is the western terminus of Capt. Williamson's purchase (Pultney tract). 
A very handsome road four rods wide has been cut, and the whole distance from Gen- 
esee River to Ganson's being 12 miles in nearly a straight line. I now entered into 
what is called the Wilderness, but at 2 V. M. reached the Holland Company's store- 
house and Frederick Walther's tavern (Stafford), 304^ miles. 

''The Holland Company consists of a number of merchants and others, principally 
residents in Holland, who purchased a very large tract of land of Mr. Morris. This 
territory, for such it may be called, is on the east bounded by Williamson's purchase, 
and on the west by Lake Erie and Niagara River No part of the land is, I believe, yet 
settled, but at present under survey for that purpose. One of the principal surveyors 
and his gang were at the tavern, and fully occupied the lodging hut ; this, with the ad- 
ditional circumstance of there being no hay for my horses, and no other feed than oats, 
cut green in the straw, induced me to give up the design of sleeping here this night, but 
rather to push on to the next station. . . . At 4 P. M. we left Walther's, and at 
309 miles (Batavia) fell in with the Tonawautee Creek, sluggish, shallow, and broad 
At 6^ p. M. we reached Garret Davis's tavern, 316 miles (Winan's farm near Dunham's. 
Corners), near a small run of good water. This is one of those three stations which the 
Holland Company has this year established for the accommodation of travelers, who 
hitherto have been obliged to sleep in the woods. Davis first began to ply his axe in 
January last; he has now a good log house, a field of green oats, sown i8th of June (the 
only feed I could get for my horses), and a very excellent ga'rden, the most productive of 
any of its size I have seen since leaving New York. He had also cleared a pretty exten- 
sive field for wheat. On this land the logs were now burning, and I passed a greater part 



1 8 GENESEE COUNTY. 



of the night in mal<ing up the fires. This employment I preferred to harbouring with a 
number of strangers, one of whom was sick and not expected to live till morning. This, 
however, was only the fearful conjecture of Davis. I got some maple sugar for my tea, 
and Mr. and Mrs. Davis paid me every possible attention, but I cannot praise them for 
neatness. Perhaps I ought not to expect it when the peculiarity of the situation and a 
larcre family of children are taken into account. From Allen's Creek to Walther's was 
excellent lands, but miserable roads, at times impassable, and the wagoner would take 
his axe to cut a new passage. From WaUher's to Davis's the road is better. At Da- 
vis's the woods are composed of small tall, saplings, closely crowded. This morning: 
we experienced a very keen frost with a bright sun, and so late as 1 1 A. M. I stood 
in the sun to warm myself, my hands being benumbed with the cold. Very scorching: 
sun in the afternoon after leaving Walther's, and troublesome flies and mosquitoes. 

" Thursday, August 21, 1800. Start at daylight, 318 miles ; we leave the thick woods- 
and enter upon the Big Plains. These plains (Oakfield) are open groves of oak, in a 
light shallow soil on limestone. . . . These plains are many miles in extent, and 
it struck me I had seen park grounds in England much like them. At 321 miles the 
oaks are smaller and more compact, and at 322 miles we enter woods of beech and 
maple. At 7i A. M. we reached the Indian town of Tonawautee, 330 miles. This, 
settlement is on the west bank of the creek, which I now crossed for the second time. 
It bore, however, a different character here than at 319 miles (Batavia), being clear and 

rapid. . • 1 j 

" Left Tonawautee and passed through open plains of oak with less of tamarisk and 
more grass to 334 miles, where I fell in with the old road. At loi A. M. reached Asa 
Ransom's station, distance 344 miles (Clarence, Erie County). I was here greatly sur- 
prised with an excellent breakfast of tender chicken and good loaf-sugar for my tea. 
Ransom, like Davis, s^t down in the woods in January; he has 150 acres, ten acres- 
cleared and in oats. ... The Holland Company has laid out a new road from 
Ganson's to Buffalo Creek, which passes to the south of Davis's station, but falls in with 
the present road at Ransom's, and this new road will make a difference of 10 miles in 
42. Ransom informed me that by an account, he had kept, no less than 155 families 
with their wagons have passed his house this summer, emigrating from Pennsylvania 
and New Jersey to Canada. Sixteen wagons passed in one day." 

TITLE TO THE LANDS. 

' N a satisfactory manner every shade of the title to the territory of 
Genesee County has been given in the general history preceding; 
but a few words of summary will here place the Hnk in the chain of 

facts. 

There are no lands in the State of New York that has or can have 
better title to the soil than has the Holland Purchase and Morris Re- 
serve, of which Genesee County is a part. In 1697 a memorial by com- 
■ missioners of trade and plantations relative to the right of the Crown to^ 
the sovereignty of the Five Nations says: ' 

" Those nations by many acts, acknowledgments, submissions, leagues, and agree- 
ments had been united to, or depended on, the colony of New York." 



TITLE TO THE LANDS. jq. 



la 1684, when De la Barre, governor of Canada, commenced an inva- 
sion of the territory of the Five Nations, Governor Dongan. of New 
York, warned the French official that the Indians were the subjects of the 
King of England, who had sent the Duke of York arms to be set up in 
every one of the Indians' castles as far as 0-ney-gra (Niagara). This 
was done and the French governor retired. Charles II. granted the 
province of New York to the Duke of York after the submission and sub- 
jection of the Indians therein — when they were lawful subjects. This 
was the foundation of the claim of sovereignty over the Indians. 

In 1768 the proper State authorities agreed that a line running north 
along the eastern borders of Broome and Chenango counties, to a point 
seven miles west of Rome, should be a boundary line over which the 
white man should not settle without the consent of the Indian. 

In the Revolution the Iroquois espoused the cause of the mother 
country, — employed by the British to help subdue the revolting provin- 
ces, — and most cruelly did they wage their savage warfare against the 
people of their own State who had so often protected them. At the 
close of the war, when England quit-claimed all her right and title to the 
colonies, the territory belonged to the United States, and the Iroquois 
could and should have been dispossessed of all their rights in New York ; 
but the proper legal authorities ceded to them all that portion of the 
State west of the preemption line except the mile-strip along Niagara 
River. Afterwards Phelps and Gorham and Robert Morris purchased 
the lands, obtaining the title from the Indians, also by deed ; Robert 
Morris and wife sold to the Holland Land Company, to the Connecticut 
School Fund, to Cragie, and others; and these became the grantors of 
the settlers. The wars, encroachments, and full particulars of the title as 
related in the general history will be read with additional interest after 
this summary. 

Previously we have shown the foundation of the English claim to the 
sovereignty of the entire territory of the Six Nations, or Iroquois, and 
how they maintained and repeatedly asserted it up to the time of the Rev- 
olution. The first compromise to be recorded between the whites of the 
province of New York and the Iroquois was in 1768. The encroachments 
of the settlers upon their hunting-grounds in Central New York caused 
uneasiness to the Indians, to allay which a council was held that year at 
Fort Stanwix (now Rome, N. Y.) to agree upon a line west of which set- 
tlements were not to be permitted. The line defined was along the east- 
ern boundary of Broome and Chenango counties, and the -Indians agreed 



20 GENESEE COUNTY. 



to surrender to the United States all captives and relinquish all claims to 
the country lying west of a line starting four miles east of the mouth of 
Niagara River, following the river by a line four miles east, southerly to 
Buffalo Creek, thence to the Pennsylvania line, thence to the Ohio River. 

The Iroquois, during the Revolution, were more or less the allies of the 
English, — opposed to the colonies, — and when the struggle ceased were 
left at the mercy of the United States. In justice, after their hostility, 
they had forfeited all rights to their territory in New York and could have 
been driven out; but the magnanimity of the government was shown 
when, in 1 784, — 16 years after the other council, — a proper council met 
at Stanwix (Rome) and recognized the ownership of the Indians to the 
western part of the State of New York — all the territory between the 
line mentioned on the east and the line four miles from Niagara River; 
and it is well to mention here that this last line was afterwards made one 
mile from the river. 

The charters given by the Crown to its favorite individuals, and to 
companies in general terms and from imperfect, unknown ideas of the 
extent of the territory, often conveyed parts of the same, laying the foun- 
dation for conflicting claims. For instance, the grant of the province of 
New York to the Duke of York — mentioned in former pages — extended 
to the Connecticut River, covering a portion of Massachusetts ; also in 
the charter to the Plymouth Company was a portion of the same terri- 
tory, and both charters covered territory extending indefinitely west- 
ward. 

In 1 78 1 New York relinquished to the United States her claim to all 
territory west of the western boundaries of the State; and Massachusetts 
in 1785 relinquished her claim to the same western lands, contenting her- 
self with claiming that part of New York west of the so-called preemp- 
tion line. This preemption line was to be nm for the purpose, was to 
begin on the Pennsylvania line and run due north to Lake Ontario, and 
is easily found now upon any correct map of the State as forming the 
east boundary line of Steuben County, running north through Schuyler, 
through the east edge of Yates, through the foot of Seneca Lake, form- 
ing the eastern boundary of Ontario, and through Wayne County to the 
lake. 

New York asserted her claim to this same tract, west of preemption 
line, and in December, 1786, commissioners from the two States met at 
Hartford to settle this difference; it was agreed that the ownership of the 
lands in dispute be with Massachusetts, the sovereignty with New York, > 



TITLE TO THE LANDS. * 21 



and that the Indians hold and possess it as long as they chose. The first 
right to purchase this land of the Indians was given to Massachusetts; 
hence this east boundary line was called "preemption line." New York 
retained the right to the ownership of the one- mile strip along the Niag- 
ara River. 

In 1788 Oliver Phelps and Nathaniel Gorham, citizens of that State, 
bargained with the State of Massachusetts for its preemption right to all 
lands west of the preemption line, for $1,000,000, to which the pur- 
chasers must extinguish the Indiarr title ; they were to pay the amount 
in three annual payments, in certain securities of the State, then worth 
about one-fifth its face value. In July, 1788, Mr. Phelps met the Indians 
in council at Buffalo and purchased their interest in 2,600,000 acres, as 
estimated, for $5,000 down and a perpetual annuity of $500. The 
boundary of the tract which the Indians relinquished to Phelps and Gor- 
ham was as follows: on the east by the preemption line, north by Lake 
Ontario, south by the State of Pennsylvania, and west by a line that 
should commence in the north line of Pennsylvania due south of the con- 
fluence of Canaseraga Creek with the Genesee River, thence north on 
that line to the confluence, thence northerly along the Genesee River to 
a point two miles north of Canawagus (Avon), thence due west 12 miles, 
thence northerly 12 miles from the river to the lake. On the 2ist of 
November, following, the tract above described was deeded to Phelps and 
Gorham, and has been since known as " the Phelps and Gorham pur- 
chase." 

A land office for the sale of townships and tracts had been opened at 
Canandaigua, and sales were brisk; many townships were settled in 1788, 
and the influx of colonies in 1789 and 1790 to this then wilderness region, 
as given by Turner in his History of the Holland Purchase, forms a re- 
markable page of history. 

We hear of the " Pultney estate " lands intermingled ; let us explain it. 
On November 18, 1790, Phelps and Gorham sold to Robert Morris (the 
financier of the Revolution) the residue of their purchase unsold, amount- 
ing to about 1,200,000 acres, reserving two townships; for this Mr, Mor- 
ris paid ;^30,000 New York currency, and at once sold the same to Sir 
William Pultney, John Hornly, and another for ;^35,000 sterling. These 
lands were scattered over the original Phelps and Gorham purchase, and 
the reader will see why the " Pultney estate " had its land offices. 

Before Messrs. Phelps and Gorham had half paid for their purchase 
from Massachusetts the securities of the State had risen to par, and, find- 
2 



22 , GENESEE COUNTY. 



ing they should be unable to fulfill their agreement, they induced the 
State to resume, its right to that portion of New York which they had 
not yet obtained from the Indians, which the State of Massachusetts did; 
this left that State the preemption right to all Western New York west 
of the Genesee River and western boundary line of Phelps and Gorham's 
purchase; and this agreement was consummated March lo, 1791. 

In March, 1791, Robert Morris contracted with Massachusetts for the 
preemption right to all of the territory of New York west of the pur- 
chase of Phelps and Gorham, and it -was not until after much difficulty 
and delay that he completed his title ; he met a council of Indians at 
Geneseo in September, 1797, who surrendered their interest to the entire 
territory, except 1 1 reservations for their own use, amounting to about 338 
square miles. These, in brief, are the reservations, as it will be of inter- 
est to the younger readers of Genesee County : the Tuscarora reserva- 
tion, of one square mile, east of Lewiston ; the Tonawanda, of 17 square 
miles, both sides of the creek ; the Buffalo, of 130, both sides of the Buf- 
falo Creek ; the Cattaraugus, of 42 square miles, each side of that creek 
on Lake Erie ; the Allegany, of 42 square miles, on each side of that 
river; the Oil Spring reservation, of one square mile, between Allegany 
and Cattaraugus counties; the Canadea reservation, of 16 square miles^ 
along the Genesee River; the Gardeau reservation, of 28 square miles^ 
near Mt. Morris; the Squakie Hill reservation, of two square miles, north 
of Mt. Morris ; Little Beard's and Big Tree reservations, of four square 
miles, near Geneseo ; and the Canawaugus reservation, of two square 
miles, west of Avon. 

On the nth of May, 1791, the State of Massachusetts deeded to 
Robert Morris the whole of said land in five deeds, briefly as follows : 

1st. A strip 12 miles wide, beginning on the Pennsylvania line 12 
miles Irom Phelps and Gorham's southwest corner, and running north to 
Lake Ontario, containing about 500,000 acres. 

2d. A strip 16 miles wide, beginning and running in the same manner 
to Lake Ontario. 

3d. Another 16-mile strip, next west of the last, and to be run in same 
way. 

4th, All the land contained within another line to be run 16 miles 
from the last due north to Lake Ontario. 

5th. This last deed included all the land owned by Massachusetts, in 
this State, west of the last described tract. 

The last four tracts were estimated to contain 3,300,000 acres, and 



LAND OFFICE NOTES. 



23 



this concluded the title of all the available lands of Western New York 
west of that of Phelps and Gorham, in Robert Morris. Mr. Morris re- 
tained the land set forth in the first deed to sell as he chose, and it was 
called the " Morris Reserve." 

On December 24, 1792, Robert Morris and his wife deeded to Hermon 
Le Roy and John Linklaen 1,500,000 acres west of the strip 12 miles 
wide that Mr. Morris reserved. February 27, 1793, he gave a deed 
for 1,000,000 acres to these persons and Gerrit Boon. July 20, 1793, he 
conveyed to the same three parties 800,000 acres. July 20, 1793, he con- 
veyed to Hermon Le Roy, William Bayard, and Matthew Clarkson 300,- 
000 acres, and these four deeds conveyed all the land west of the Morris 
Reserve, except the reservations previously mentioned. These individ- 
uals purchased for others who were aliens and could not hold real es- 
tate in this State; but the legislature of 1798 removed this restriction' 
and the trustees turned over the property to the actual owners. There 
were several gentlemen who became the owners of this vast tract of ter- 
ritory, and who were known as the " Holland Land Company." The 
tract covered the present counties of Niagara (except the mile-strip 
along the river), Erie, Chautauqua, Cattaraugus, the two western ranges 
of towns in Allegany, and all of the counties of Wyoming, Genesee, and 
Orleans except the eastern ranges of towns in each, which are east of 
the " east transit line," and in the Morris Reserve. 

LAND OFFICE NOTES. 

Our younger readers must learn that a land office is a place opened 
for the sale of the lands of any particular tract, and is called by the name 
of its territory ; there is always found the agent assisted by an efficient 
corps of clerks ; such offices are discontinued when the affairs connected 
with the tract are completed. 

The land office of the Holland Purchase was opened at Batavia in 
1 801, and discontinued in 1837. It was opened at Ransom's Corners 
(now in Erie County), and in 1802 an office was built at Batavia, in the 
forks of the road and facing the east. This spot afterwards became the 
center of the flourishing village of Batavia, and Joseph Ellicott was its 
founder. 

The first treaty by Robert Morris with the Indians, which was to get 
their title to the lands he had sold to the Holland Land Company, was 
in 1797. Joseph Ellicott, the first occupant of the land office, was pres- 
ent He came from Philadelphia on horseback, by Wilkesbarre, Tioga 



24 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Point, Elmira, Bath, Dansville, and down the Canaseraga Creek and 
Genesee River to Genesee, where the treaty was held. While here in 
the Genesee country he made all the arrangements for the survey of the 
vast territory, returning the following February on horseback. 

In May, 1798, Joseph Ellicott came into the Purchase to open up the 
lands and arrange for its sale in parcels; he came on horsecack to Avon, 
thence to Buffalo. The stores for the surveyors' and land office use 
were sent from Philadelphia in April, 1798, and were sent in bateaux to 
New York, up to Albany, up the Mohawk to Wood Creek, thence to 
Oswego River, down to Lake Ontario, thence to the mouth of Genesee 
River. Mr. Brisbane, who was in charge, went up the Genesee as far as 
lie could with one load, and the remainder went to Lewiston. Mr. El- 
licott was really the founder of prosperity of Genesee County, and was 
land office and general agent until 1821, when he was succeeded by 
Jacob S. Otto. 

The original intention was first to divide the Holland Company's lands 
into townships of 16 sections, each one and one-half miles square, sub- 
dividing into lots each three quarters mile long and one-quarter wide, 
each lot being 120 acres. This plan, however, was abandoned, and 
finally the bulk of the tract was divided into lots three-quarters mile 
square, or 360 acres each. 

The company had a traveling agent named Timothy Backus, who re- 
lates the fact that he came upon a man making staves from the com- 
pany's timber, and to his question, " What are you doing there ?" re- 
ceived the reply, "You will never catch me here again." About three 
months afterwards Mr. Backus passed that way again, and discovered 
the same trespasser, to whom he said, " I thought you told me, some 
time ago, that I 'd never catch you here again." " Well, now, look 
here," said the stavemaker. " after you 've heard my story you '11 never 
say a word. In the first place I steal my timber, contract with one man 
to let him have my staves, receive half pay from him, and when done 
sell them to another man and get full pay, and can't make a living at 
that ! " He was left to do the best he could. 

In the summer of 18 19 two strong men came to the land office armed 
with very heavy, long-handled axes, and inquired for Mr. Ellicott. 
Upon stating their business it was learned that they had heard he had 
offered lOO acres of land to any two men who would cut down Big Tree. 
They were ready for the job. They were deeply chagrined to learn that 
Big Tree was a noted Indian chief at Geneseo, and it was plain that some 
jokor had imposed upon their credulity. 



LAND OFFICE NOTES. 



25 



Many laughable scenes transpired that were no part of the land 
office records, but are handed down as pleasant recollections of the times. 
An Irishman came one day to purchase a piece of land, but had forgotten 
the lot and township ; as he left the office he said, " Well, Mr. Landlord 
you will plaze kape it till I find out what land it is, wont you? " 

Agencies were established about 181 2 to accommodate settlers, where 
they could deliver wheat and cattle and have the amount endorsed on 
their debts for land ; this was a bad policy for the company, but very- 
pleasing to settlers. 

In ]8o2 a relative of Mr. Ellicott's from Maryland was very solicitous- 
about his social relations, and wrote thus : 

" I observe thee says thou art living without society, that thy nearest neighbor is lO' 
miles. Pray, can a person be justifiable in spending the few years he has to live in a 
way that is not the most agreeable to him ? Think on this and retire from that toil- 
some life thou hast pursued so long, and enjoy thy few remaining years to the fullest 
extent." 

Mr. Ellicott borrowed a horse to go from Schlosser to Niagara while 
he was there on business, and in some manner the horse was missing. 
The owner, knowing he had a good customer, set an exorbitant price on 
the animal, which Mr. Ellicott had to pay after all efforts to recover the 
horse had proved ineffectual. He found afterwards that the Tonawanda 
Indians had need of the animal, and had " confiscated " him. 

In February, 1836, a party of anti- renters broke into the land office 
at Mayville, and purloined the records and burned them. The lands in 
the southern part of the Holland Purchase had been sold to a trust 
company, and an office opened there. Word was received at Batavia 
soon after that the men at Attica and Alexander were about to perpetrate 
a similar burglary upon the office there- Fifty men were posted in the 
land office after the records were removed to a place of safety ; the bells 
rang and citizens gathered well armed ; the mob several hundred strong 
appeared in the street near the land office, and halted. The approach of 
Sheriff Townsend, with 120 men armed with bright, loaded mus- 
kets, added to the already formidable force, saved any open attack, and, 
probably, much bloodshed ; for it is a matter of record that if any at- 
tempt at violence had been made by the mob they would have been 
slain by scores at the delivery of the first fire from the sheriff's force and 
the citizens. 

The old stone office is still intact, occupied as a dwelling, and it is 
hoped sufficient interest will soon be exhibited by the citizens of Bata- 



26 GENESEE COUNTY. 



via to purchase it, and preserve it as a pioneer building, devoted to the 
storing of relics of bygone days. 

ORGANIZATION AND DEVELOPMENT. 

N early colonial days all of Western New York was called Tryon 

County, then Montgomery; after 1788, when the preemption line was 
:. agreed upon, the territory west of that was called Ontario ; after the 
western bounds of the Phelps and Gorham purchase were determined 
the portion of the State west of it was called Genesee County. The county 
was established in 1802 as Genesee, embracing what is now eight coun- 
ties. In 1801 Joseph EUicott erected the land office of the Holland 
Land Company at Batavia, and this became the center ; its judicious 
selection on the main Indian trail, and in the direct path of emigration, 
with its natural advantages and surroundings, has rendered Batavia one 
of the wealthiest and most beautiful villages of Western New York. 

Counties were erected from the original Genesee as follows : 

Allegany, in 1806, with Angelica as capital. 

Niagara, in 1808, with Buffalo as shire town ; Lockport county seat in 
1821. 

Chautauqua, in 181 1, county seat at Maysville. 

Cattaraugus, in 18 17, jail and court-house at Ellicottsville. 

Erie, in 1821, erected from Niagara with Buffalo for its shire. 

Orleans, in 1821, county seat at Albion. 

Wyoming, in 1 84 1, with Warsaw for its shire. 

Genesee, in its present organization, retains the original county seat, — 
Batavia, — with history and importance sufficient to almost render it clas- 
sical. It has been and is the beehive of industry and facts from which 
those counties and colonies have swarmed. 

Prior to the erection of the counties named above Genesee was divided 
into four townships : Northampton, Leicester, Southampton, and Bata- 
via. Northampton embraced the northern portion of Morris Reserve, 
Leicester the central portion, and Southampton the southern ; Batavia 
embraced the entire Holland Purchase. 

PRESENT ORGANIZATION OF THE COUNTY. 

The name Genesee is of Seneca origin, signifying "pleasant valley." 
The county is divided into 13 townships bearing the names of Alabama, 
Alexander, Batavia, Bergen, Bethany, Byron, Darien, Elba, Le Roy, 



COUNTY ORGANIZATION — EARLY SETTLERS. 2/ 

Oakfield, Pavilion, Pembroke, and Stafford. The territory embraced in 
the towns of Byron, Bergen, Le Roy, Pavilion, and the eastern portion 
of Stafford is east of the " east transit line," consequently from the 
Morris Reserve ; and the greater and remaining western portion of the 
county is from the Holland Purchase. All previous history concerning 
title will apply equally to the Morris Reserve and Holland Purchase. 

April 1 1, 1804, the town of Batavia, which, as has been described, in- 
cluded all the Purchase west of east transit line, was divided into four towns. 
The one farthest east retained the old name, and included all the terri- 
tory east of a meridian line from the lake southward that passed through 
the western part of the present Orleans County ; the next town was 
Willink, which included the territory between Batavia and the west 
transit line (running through Lockport) ; the next was Erie, which em- 
braced one tier of townships in the present county of Chautauqua ; and 
the next was Chautauqua, which included the remainder of old Batavia. 
This was Genesee County of that day ; but the rapid settlement of its vast 
territory, and the development of its unlimited resources, soon called for 
the formation of other counties and centers, so that in about 1825 the county 
of Genesee was greatly narrowed in its limits, being 36 miles north and 
south and 26 east and west, with its county site, Batavia, only nine miles 
from its northern boundary. The removal of the county seat to a geo- 
graphical center, or the formation of a new county, was urged, and the 
organization of Wyoming was the result. Its present well-chosen and 
clearly defined outlines will no doubt remain through many generations. 
Jt is now 18 miles by 26 east and west, and its county capital could not 
be removed in any direction to make it more central. . 

The surface is rolling, generally sloping to the north, and lies prin- 
cipally in the second terrace with the south part in the central district. 
It was originally covered with heavy timber of every variety, and for 
salubrity of climate from its peculiar position and richness of soil it may be 
equalled, but not excelled, in the State. It contains about 219,520 acres. 

EARLY SETTLERS AND THEIR EXPERIENCE. 

Previous to the war of the Revolution the tide of emigration had 
commenced its flow from New England, but was arrested by the fear of 
hostile Indians. After peace was declared the tide again set in for this 
section. We are told by competent authority that Charles Wilbur 
settled in Le Roy as early as 1792 and the Gansons in 1798, but the be- 
ginning of the present century must be given as the date of the first high 
tide of immigration. 



28 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Perhaps it is some times thought by those living in the older settled 
sections, where comfort and luxury abounds, where refined society and 
the best educational advantages are clustered, that the pioneer who would 
enter the dense wilderness to build himself a home, for a long time de- 
priving himself of the pleasures of life, must be an inferior being ; but 
they were of the most determined, independent class, and such spirits in 
a few years had for themselves the foundation laid for future wealth and 
greatness. A small log house in some well- selected spot would be rolled 
up and made comfortable ; the furniture scanty, but sufficient ; the fare 
simple, but wholesome. 

The first settlements in Genesee County were along the Indian trails, 
now the course of the principal thoroughfares ; but the more enterpris- 
ing would strike off into the heavy timber, where the sound of his axe 
could not be heard. Some had bid adieu for a time to the young wife 
at home, who watched for the return of the sturdy pioneer; after months 
of solicitude he returns to spend a short time and the better prepared to 
occupy the cabin in the wilderness with all its discomforts, but cheered 
by the presence of the wife. The forest now begins to fall under his 
blows ; a patch is burned off and the crop of corn for the next winter's 
use is planted. 

The improvements must be made in the cabin, also, as necessity and 
health demand ; a door must take the place of a blanket, and with axe, 
nails, hammer, auger and knife, a rude one is made to swing upon its 
heavy wooden hinges ; the wooden latch, with a leather string attached 
and hanging outside, has given rise to the homely but hospitable saying: 
''The latch-string is out." A bedstead must be made, too. Holes were 
bored into the logs in one corner of the cabin, at sufficient height, one 
end of a stake or pole placed therein, the other supported by a crotch, 
then poles cut and placed across these, and then thickly covered with a 
mattress of hemlock boughs; upon blankets over this soft, fragrant, 
clean bedding our first pioneers and their wives slept the sleep of health 
and prosperity. Chairs were composed of blocks hewn from basswood, 
and the legs added to ii by the inevitable axe and auger. Tables were 
often made in the same manner, and with the axe a floor to the cabin when 
they needed one. The utensils for cooking were rude and few; plates 
and trenches of wood often served the early pioneers. The ancient 
"bake kettle" used by the pioneer, an indispensable article of the time, 
now forgotten nearly, should be perpetuated through all time, in story at 
least. It was a shallow iron vessel, with legs to raise it the desired 



EARLY SETTLERS. 29 



height, so a mass of coals could be put under it ; then with a cover with 
turned-up edge to hold the hot coals over the food to be cooked ; and it 
was wonderful how nicely the corn-cake and other bakings could be done. 
In place of a crane a pole with hooks did service. 

This was kitchen, dining room, sitting room, parlor, and bedroom, this 
one cosy room ; and was very often the workshop for making ox-bows 
and rude sleds preparatory to the logging and summer fallowing for the 
first crop of winter wheat, a large patch for which had been felled by the 
industrious pioneer. The rudy blaze of the fire furnished heat and light 
for culinary and evening work, and the usual rag in a small dish of oil 
from some wild animal served upon special occasions. Soon a few sheep 
could pick their living, and the hand-cards and spinning-wheel were 
heard preparing the cloth for garments. The barks for coloring cloths 
were well known to the housewife, and the old " dye-tub " that graced 
every hearth corner in olden time is not forgotten by some of our elder 
readers to this day. 

Nor were the social enjoyments of life entirely ignored, for soon neigh- 
bors a mile away, each with his clearing and his family in the woods 
learned to visit and assist each other ; and the settlement with its little 
store, a few miles away, situated on some main trail, was to be visited 
occasionally for simple necessaries, and to learn the news that may have 
been left by passing emigrants. The anticipations of the future was the 
incentive for all this seeming hardship. 

But the crops of the second year are quite extensive ; the clearings 
broaden, the stock has increased ; the neighbors are plentier; and the 
deprivations are far less onerous. If the pioneer was a single man he 
has passed the winter in his old home with parents, brothers, arid sisters, 
and perfected the arrangements for a companion in the new home. An 
outfit can be taken to the western home now that a road is cut, and the 
ox-team and a few household utensils to improve the convenience of the 
the former year. The garden seeds are properly planted, a larger and 
better prepared piece of corn is planted, many improvements are made, 
fences are built, and the virgin soil yields abundant harvests. Another 
cabin has been built for the animals ; a mill to do coarse grinding has 
been erected on the creek three miles away ; and the settler finds much 
time to still clear away the forest even during the winter months, to en- 
able his animals to brouse. The pigs and fowls are fed at the door daily 
by the wife. The echo of the husband's axe during the day, and the 
hum of the wife's wheel during the evening, was a happy chorus that was 



30 GENESEE COUNTY. 



sure to bring prosperity and wealth. Other settlers had come ; social 
-evenings passed ; no conventionalities were needed ; more could be pres- 
ent at logging bees and house raisings ; no criticisms; no jealousies nor 
bickerings. 

Stick chimnies plastered with mud have been built; a glass window 
has taken the place of the greased paper ; a log bridge spans the creek 
near by ; a better and more spacious log barn has been prepared for the 
largely increased stock; the prattle of the first-born gladdens the wife 
and mother. Still the forest falls, the fields broaden, and plenty 
abounds. 

The tide of immigration has continued ; the curling smoke from the 
""clearings" can be seen near together throughout the vast wilderness; 
roads have been opened ; fences have appeared around the verdant 
fields and meadows ; shouts of merry children are heard ; and the once 
pioneer settlement assumes the high niche of a "rural neighborhood." 

TWENTY years' CHANGES. 

Still greater changes have taken place in the time. The old house is 
the wing of a large, hewed log house, with paneled door and glazed win- 
dows. A lawn is in front; a growing, fruitful orchard in the rear; a 
large barn occupies the site of the log shanty; forests of waving grain 
stand where the forests of trees were. In sight stands the comfortable 
log school-house; the peculiar noise of a saw-mill is heard on the stream 
above ; a good bridge spans the stream in place of the logs ; the first- 
born in the full vigor of manhood has driven by to the barn with a load 
of hay, driving a spirited team in place of the oxen ; the matronly lady 
at the well and the middle-aged, strong man coming from the mill are 
the young, hopeful couple who dared breast the privations of pioneer life 
over 20 years ago. 

Another 20 years has passed. An elegant mansion stands on the 
site of the old log house. Its entire surroundings show the wealth and i 
refinement of its owners. The saw-mill has gone; the stream passes un- 1 
der a stone-arched bridge. Only patches of wood land can be seen, and 
elegant farmhouses dot the landscape. In the distance a train of cars! 
speeds over the plain. A tall spire of a church is plainly discerned in the 
little village beyond. An elderly gentleman is busy with the cattle near 
the barn ; a motherly lady is knitting and listening to the plays of grand- 
•children. These are the worthy husband and wife, who, over 40 years ago, 



CHANGES IN TRADE. 3 1 

came to this very spot, and with hopeful hearts engaged to " make the 
wilderness blossom as the rose." One of the sons manages the farm, 
and two others have gone West to start in life as their father did. 

This, dear reader, is a fair, not overdrawn, painting of the average set- 
tler in Genesee County at the commencement of the present century. 

CHANGES IN TRADE. 

The vast difference between the trade and value of products from the 
first settlement to the present should be noted. Now, all products have 
a cash value and a cash market; then, there was not sufficient money or 
a market for such ; now, all the necessaries and luxuries of life are based 
upon the cash value ; then, the potash manufactured from ashes was the 
only cash article. The little stores of the early day kept only the bare 
necessaries for the settlers, and at high prices because of transportation: 
yarn and log chains, pork and tea, tar and molasses, pins and crowbars — 
everything was kept in a grand chaos. Now, our readers know what a 
store is without explanation. 

Teams hauled the products of this county — after it had been converted 
into saleable compounds by the old-time asheries and distilleries — to Al- 
bany during the first years of trade, bringing in return the goods for the 
frontier store. In after years the canal opened up new changes, other 
markets, more and cheaper goods, and better prices for products ; and 
still greater changes have been produced by the railroads. This change, 
plain to be seen, has been equally operative and beneficial to all branches 
of trade, and has only kept contemporaneous with the improvements of 
the settlers of Genesee as they developed the howling wilderness into 
fruitful fields and thriving villages. All honor to the pioneer settlers of 
Genesee County of four- score years ago! 

Prices sixty years ago} — "An account book of 1826, or 60 years ago, shows up 
some of the prices of our ancestors, and gives us food for thought in comparing with 
the prices of to-day. 

"The location was Rochester, N. Y., and the accounts were of a general character. 
As ladies should always come first I will begin on their goods: Calico, 31 cents per 
yard ; ginghams, 40 cents ; flannels, 50 cents ; dress silks were from $1 to $3 per yard ; 
ladies' shoes, $1.50 per pair; men' s boots from $3 to $5 per pair; ladies' bonnets were 
then seldom changed in style or fashion, and prices ranged from $1 to $8. Elias Howe, 
the inventor of sewing machines, was then unheard of, and tailors received for making, 
coats from 75 cents to .f3 each. Pants and vests were each got up in the then pre- 
vailing style for from 25 to 50 cents each. The hero of these accounts was then a 
bachelor some 30 years of age, and several enterics show where 50 cents per dozen 

1 From the National Weekly. 



32 GENESEE COUNTY. 



was the price paid for laundry work. Old' folks will remember "dickies," a sort of false 
shirt front, which are in several places charged 40 cents each. 

"Of building material, bricks are quoted at $9 per M.; nails, 12 cents per pound ; 
glass, 8 X 10 light, 15 cents; lime per bushel, 15 cents; hauling with team per day, 
$.75. Laborers' wages were 40 to 60 cents per day. Stonemasons, brick layers, and 
carpenters are in several places, in the book, credited with work at $1.50 per day 
Board for workingmen nine cents per meal, or $1.75 per week. Smoked hams were 
seven cents per pound, fresh beef four cents, fresh pork three and one-half cents ; mut- 
ton by the quarter, 22 cents ; butter, 15 cents; eggs, 12^ cents per dozen ; potatoes, 
25 cents per bushel; coffee, 20 cents; tea, Young Hyson, $1.40 per pound ; rice, six 
cents ; sugar, seven cents ; molasses, 40 cents per gallon ; maple molasses and sugar 
were quoted at about the same price ; salt, 70 cents per bushel ; ' locofoco' matches, 
25 cents per box, for about as many as are now sold for three cents, and very few ap- 
peared to be sold as tinder and steel were relied on for fire. Why the matches were 
called 'locofoco' I have never understood, but presume some of our old grandsires 
could tell. Coal for fuel was not then used, and four-foot cord wood is in several 
places charged for at $1 per cord. Cooking stoves were then just coming in use of the 
' horseblock ' pattern, and cost |i8 each. Corn was 65 cents per bushel. Flour 
fluctuated from $4 to $10 per barrel, but the average was nearer the former price. To- 
bacco sold at 40 cents per pound, and cigars appear to have been unknown, at least 
none are charged. Whisky — not our modern tanglefoot, but good — was 35 cents per 
gallon. Santa Cruz, Jamaica, Porto Rico, and various kinds of rum were from 50 to $1 
per gallon. 'Black strap,' a favorite old-time beverage, commanded $1 per gallon, 
and was the favorite tipple for ' general training day,' as the day for general muster of 
State militia was called, and which in those days was a roaring farce. Among the 
items of the spring of 1827 is one as follows: ' Rev. William Patterson, Cr.: By serv- 
ice at wedding, $5,' and about the same time Mr. Patterson is charged 'One hat, 
$5,' from which it is presumed that these were the ruling prices for these necessaries of 
lite. Money was of gold, silver, and paper as to-day, but was very scarce, and ' barter 
or trade' was mostly used in traffic. Only the larger cities and towns had their own 
newspapers, and news was stale. Postage on letters was 12-i, i8f, or 55 cents per 
letter, according to the distance carried, and stamps were unknown for nearly 20 years 
after. At the option of the sender postage on letters could be prepaid or not ; and right 
here one of the most highly esteemed old ladies of this country one day received notice 
of a letter with ' 25 cents due,' that was held in the postoffice for her. Not having 
the money she herself killed and skinned a calf, selling the hide to a tanner for 25 cents 
to redeem the letter." 

WAR OF 1812. 

THE State of New York, particularly the middle and western por- 
tions, after the treaty of peace in 1783 had become settled ; the 
Indian title had been extinguished ; villages, settlements, and 
post roads had become established, which will be fully taken up further 
on. The War of 1812 was of vital importance to the State of New ' 
York, for its northern borders were the frontiers, and its settlers were ' 
compelled to defend their homes, and especially were the occupants of | 
the Holland Purchase. 



WAR OF I8l2. -^ 



The aggressions of Great Britain, for years after peace was declared 
was a subject of anxiety to our government, and notwithstanding the 
strict neutrahty observed by the btates during the war between Enaland 
and France the British government was guiky of many overt acts ^ but 
not until American vessels were searched by British men-of-war' and 
American subjects forced into service regardless of law and justice did 
the States remonstrate. The continuation of such indignities caused the 
declaration of war against Great Britain, June 19, 1812. This measure 
was not fully sanctioned by the people; the Federal party were opposed 
to It, and but a small portion of the Democratic party favored it ; it was 
not from political prejudice so much, they claimed, but because the 
country was so poorly prepared. 

The invasion of Canada was deemed expedient by the administration, 
and preparations were made accordingly by posting forces along the 
frontier from Plattsburgh to Detroit. 

The proclamation of President Madison was announced June 19, 18 12. 
Express riders carried the news which reached Gen. Lewis at Fort Ni- 
agara and Col. Swift at Black Rock on the 26th of June. The news was 
not long in reaching the various settlements of the pioneers on the Pur- 
chase. Up to this time their struggle to make a home had been a se- 
vere one, but now all preparations of clearing the farm and raising crops 
were suspended ; some prepared to leave their homes and bent their 
faces eastward. 

As there were at this time not 1,000 men under arms on the Niagara 
frontier, in pursuance of an act of Congress the governor of the State 
ordered a draft of militia, but generally the military force was composed 
of volunteers. On the loth of July there were about 3,000 men com- 
prising the force on the frontier. Gen. Amos Hall was placed in com- 
mand, and in the spring of 18 13 the force was augmented somewhat by 
the assistance of Red Jacket (who for once cast his influence in favor of 
the United States) and his warriors. 

We do not intend to enter into detail all the transactions of this war ; 
only to make such references to it as most directly concerns the territory 
comprised within the then settlements of the Holland Purchase. 

As a result of the disasters to our forces by the capture of Fort Ni- 
agara the Niagara frontier was desolated. Those Indians (who had 
allied themselves with the English ) plundered, burned, and massacred 
without restraint. The towns of Niagara and Lewiston, and the vil- 
lage of the friendly Indians at Tuscarora, were laid in ashes. Governor 



GENESEE COUNTY. 



Tompkins, on being informed of the removal of the regular troups 
from the Niagara frontier, on the 27th of November gave orders for 
the assembling of sufficient bodies of militia to supply the places 
of those under General McClure, who had charge of the defense of the 
Niagara frontier. Owing to delays incident to such operations they 
failed of arriving until after the capture of Niagara, and the destruct.on 
of the frontier below the falls. General Hall, commanding the west, 
ern division of militia, had assembled at Buffalo and Black Rock 2.00a 
men The enemy attacked on the night of the 29th ; the miht.a were 
ordered out to repel the attack, but they fled at the approach of the 
enemy without firing a gun. One small regiment alone attempted to 
cope with the British, but without avail. Thus the flourishmg villages 
of Black Rock and Buffalo, as well as the neighboring settlements 
were deserted, and fell a prey to the British and Indians. General Hall 
retired with the remains of his dispersed militia to Eleven Mile Creek, 
where he was able to collect only about 300 troups. With these he 
preserved a show of resistance, to cover the flying inhabitants and check 
the advances of the enemy. All the flourishing villages and settlements , 
on the Niagara, between the lakes, and to a considerable distance in the 
rear were laid in ashes ; the Indians were let loose upon the Ay'^S in- 
habitants, and hundreds of them were overtaken and massacred. Ihe 
frontier presented one scene of universal desolation. The miserable in- 
habitants who escaped the Indian tomahawk fled to the interior, without 
shelter or means of support, in the depth of winter, and subsisted on 
the charity of their friends. More than 200 houses, with an immense 
value of property, were pillaged and destroyed, and the wretched inhab- 
itants and owners reduced to poverty. General Hall retired to Batavia, 
CO miles in the rear of Niagara, where he was enabled to collect i 800 
militia for the protection of the public stores and the defense of those 
settlements which had escaped desolation. 
Turner says : 

.'Batavia became the headquarters, the final rallying point, of small remnants of ar» 
army; a halting-place for the fleeing, homeless, houseless citizens .^fj^e frontier ta 
the e;tent of the capacity of all the tenements in the village and neighborhood. The 
most valuable effects of the land office were taken beyond the Genesee R-er^/^e 
house of Mr. Ellicott was converted into quarters for army officers and his office a hos- 
pital ■ private houses were thrown open, barns and sheds occupied; families that 
were separated in the hasty departure from Buffalo became united there their scattered 
member's, male and female, dropping in one after another. AH along the Buffalo road 
as far as the Genesee River, there had been deserted houses, which did not fail to have 
■ new occupants soon after the flight from the frontier commenced. 



WAR AND PENSIONERS OF l8l2. 3^ 



Very high credit was given to Gen. Peter B. Porter, who took part m 
the war, both for his eloquence in engaging the volunteers and his skill and 
valor in leading them. The press sounded his praises; the citizens of 
Batavia tendered him a dinner ; the governor breveted him a major- 
general ; and Congress voted him a gold medal, he being the only officer 
of volunteers to whom that honor was awarded during the War of 18 12. 

Peiisioners of 1812 — By reference to records at the court-house we 
find the following persons were entitled to pensions, recorded in 1819: 
Lieut. Darius Howe, $20 per month ; Sergt.-Maj. Samuel Huntington, 
Sergt. Nathan Parker, Privates Jacob Annis, Timothy Baker, Joseph 
Riddle, Levi Vinton, William Kelly, B. Potts, John Lyman, Nathan 
Sherwood, Samuel Camp, Peter Truman, and John C. Calhoun (then 
Secretary of War), each $8 per month. 

A treaty of peace was concluded at Ghent, December 24, 18 14, but 
the good news did not reach here until Gen. Jackson had fought and 
won the battle of New Orleans. 1496986 

We have given a concise history of all the wars that have affected the 
Holland Purchase except the late Rebellion, which will be given in its 
proper place. The Holland Purchase, in its settlement and prosperity, 
was greatly retarded by the War of 1812, as its borders were the scenes 
of many battles and skirmishes ; its pioneer settlers were compelled or 
volunteered to go " upon the lines " in defense of their homes ; con- 
stant fear of invasions by the foe, especially Indians, caused many to 
abandon their settlements and flee east of the Genesee River. 

The roads and improvements of the Holland Purchase were of much 
importance in the success of the war in this part of the State. The pop- 
ulation of the tract at this time was about 25,000, and the influx of 
settlers had made some quite compact settlements, especially along the 
road to Buffalo. 

The noted Ridge road was not in operation until after the War of 
18 1 2. Soldiers were marched from Rochester to Clarkson, thence to 
Le Roy, thence to Buffalo and Lewiston, because there were no other 
land routes. Batavia was at one time the halting-place — the rallying 
point — of fleeing soldiers and citizens of Buffalo and the frontier ; the 
back settlements of the Holland Purchase were deserted, and Buffalo and 
the western frontiers were a blackened ruin of desolation. It is said by 
historians coteniporary with those times that there were no better sol- 
diers " on the lines" than those from the Holland Purchase. 

After peace was declared aid was generously advanced by the legisla- 



36 GENESEE COUNTY. 



ture of the State, the common councils of New York and Albany, and 
the subscriptions of individuals in those cities, as well as Canandaigua 
and other older towns, for the building up and relief of Buffalo and the 
settlers of the Holland Purchase. The amount of $63,000 was judi- 
ciously distributed among the sufferers, and the wilderness commenced 
" to blossom as the rose." 

HOLLAND PURCHASE LAND TITLES. 

HAVING shown the absolute title of the colony of New York to 
the Duke of York, and the severance of all allegiance to the 
mother country, we will enter minutely into the title of the lands 
-of Western New York, particularly those of the Holland Purchase and 
of Genesee County. 

Prior to the advent of the white man to the State of New York 
nothing was known of its occupants, but the habits of the aborigines, 
their customs and history, have been defined since. The present terri- 
tory of the State was occupied by the " Five Nations," as the English 
called the confederacy of the five tribes, and " Iroquois," as they were 
denominated by the French. This confederacy extended through the 
center of the State, east and west, with the Mohawks at the eastern ex- 
tremity, the Senecas at the western, and the Oneidas, Onondagas, and 
Cayugas between. The Senecas occupied the lands of the Holland Pur- 
chase, and more especially the lands of the " Genesee." 

The superiority of the Iroquois — -the confederacy — has been conceded 
by all writers. It was shown by the original, strong organization of the 
league, the conception of their campaigns, forms of government, and 
wisdom and oratory in council. Their origin, or that of any of the In- 
dian races, has not been satisfactorily given, and the opinions are almost 
as numerous as the tribes. With no written language the traditions of 
generations past was perverted or lost. The Senecas who occupied the j 
western part of the State, — from Geneva to Buffalo, — and whose moc- j 
casined feet had so long trodden the lands of the county of Genesee, were | 
the highest in the confederacy. Red Jacket and other notable braves 11 
conducted their councils, but of the origin of the Senecas nothing wasji 
known. Their traditions told that the tribe, or its progenitors, issued' 
from the large hill near the head of Canandaigua Lake, called by them 
GemindewaJi, and that is its present name. The same hill was used for 
the annual gatherings of the Senecas in some of their rites within the, 



COURT-HOUSE AND JAIL. 3*7 



memory of the first settlers. Mary Jemeson, who hved so long on the 
Gardeau Reservation of the Holland Purchase, has given the most com- 
plete history of the " great hill " people. 

FIRST LANDLORDS AND TAVERNS. 

The original survey of this section, begun by Joseph and Benjamin Elli- 
cottin i798,wascompletedin i799,sofar, atleast, as runningthe township 
and range lines. No settlements having been made, inducements were 
made to such parties as would locate and erect taverns for accommodations 
of would-be settlers. Accordingly three lots were sold, with that end in 
view, first, to Asa Ransom, who settled in what is now the town of Clar- 
ence (Erie County), the condition being " on or before January i, 1800, 
he should erect on the lot a messuage fit for the habitation of man, not 
less than 18 feet square, and should live and reside, or cause a family to 
live and reside, therein during the term of five years next ensuing, and 
that before the ist day of July next not less than eight acres of land 
should be cleared and fenced." Asa Ransom died in Buffalo in 
1835. The second lot sold was to Garret Davis, on the Lewiston road, 
about five miles from Batavia (now in Oakfield), and was known for 
years as the old Erastus Wolcott stand, where a tavern was erected and 
kept for years. The contract was dated September 16, 1799, located on 
Lot 13, Sec. 5, Tp. 13, Range 2, and called for 150 acres at 120 pounds 
(New York currency), or $2 00 per acre, with like conditions as to Ran- 
som's. Garret Davis died in November, 1801. The third lot was sold 
to Frederick Walther, October i, 1799, in Tp. 12, Range i, "beginning 
in the Transit Meridian line, being the Eastern boundary of the aforesaid 
Township, 13 ch. 38 L., S. of the 68 Mile Stone from the North boundary 
of Pennsylvania, containing 150 acres " This lot embraced all the pres- 
ent village of Stafford that lies west of the transit line. The tavern 
house was built on the north side of the old Genesee roadj near the creek 
on the west side. Walther only remained a year or two, then went 
south. 

COURT-HOUSE AND JAIL. 

R. ELLICOTT gave his attention to the building of a court- 
house and jail immediately after the act was passed to form Gen- 
esee County. In May, 1802, Mr. Busti, writing to him, says: 
" I am happy in the promptness with which you have agreed to carry into effect the 
erection of the court-house and jail, as stipulated' to be erected at the expense of the 
3 




38 GENESEE COUNTY. 



company, by Mr. Ogden and myself. This stipulation was one of the principal induce- 
ments towards our effecting the passage of the law establishing the new county." 

Isaac Sutherland and Samuel F. Geer were employed as chief archi- 
tects by Mr. EUicott to adopt and carry out a building plan sent on by 
Mr. Busti. From that plan was created the building now known as El- 
licott hall. It is built of heavy oak timbers, and it took three days to 
raise the frame work. The workmanship was of a superior order for those 
days, and the building remains a monument to the mechanical skill and 
energy of its founder, Joseph Ellicott. It was enclosed in the fall of 
1802, and finished so far as to permit of holding the first sessions of the 
courts in the spring of 1803. The north half was used as a court-room 
and jail ; the south half for a tavern, and occupied as such until about 
1820. The tavern-keeper was then dismissed and the whole upper part 
used as a court-rootn, and the lower part (except the jail) became the resi- 
dence of the jailor, and so continued until the erection of the new jail in 
1850, on West Main street. For several years the old court-room was 
■used as a place for religious meetings, the gallery being put in for addi- 
tional seating capacity. 

In 1819 Mr. Ellicott addressed "the Honorable the Judges of the 
Court of Common Pleas, and the Supervisors of the County," to the ef- 
fect that the needs of the county (Wyoming County not having been 
erected) required an enlargement of the court-room, and proposed, as 
agent of the Holland Land Company, to convey to the supervisors the 
triangular piece of land (now bounded by Ellicott, Main, and Court 
streets), the consideration being for the county to pay $3000 ; also to 
convey to the company the oblong piece of land, lOO feet wide, located 
about midway between Genesee (Main) street and Big Tree (Ellicott) 
road, and extending from a point on what is now Clark Place, back of 
Bieree's store; also a strip about 35 feet wide extending from Genesee street 
to the main strip, known as " lot 81." (It was on this lot the first exe- 
cution by hanging occurred in the county.) The suggestion was ac- 
cepted, and a few years afterwards a new jail was built (now occupied by 
the Hook and Ladder Company) ; also a county clerk's office was built 
in the northeast corner of the triangle. Both were built of brick. This 
was occupied until the present court-house was built, in 1842, when the 
county clerk's office was moved to the basement of the same ; but again 
moved to its present location, when it and the surrogate's office was com- 
pleted in 1873. 

The circumstances that led to the building of the new court-house 



POLITICAL AND CIVIL HISTORY. 



were, first, a strong effort being made to remove the county seat to At 
tica; second, a movement on foot to divide the county; third the old 
court-room being too small and inconvenient. The supervisors'thought 
by this stroke they could defeat the removal of the county seat and divi 
sion of the county. The present court-house was built in 1843, and cost 
about $17,000. 

In 1849 the board of supervisors granted to the village of Batavia the 
old court-house, conditioned upon its being repaired. Repairs were made 
and now the building is used for some town meetings, and is known as 
Elhcott hall. 

POLITICAL AND CIVIL HISTORY. 

AT the earliest settlement of the county two political parties ex- 
isted—the Federal, opposed to the war and friendly to Great Brit 
ain, and the Republican. The Federalists became quite unpopular 
by opposmg the War of 18 12, and in this part of the State gradually 
dropped the name and were stigmatized as "Democrats," which name 
was finally adopted. " Bucktails " was a name given to the Republican 
party of that day, and their opponents were called " Clintonians." Then 
followed the terms "National" and "Democratic" Republicans. 

In 1826 the famous Morgan excitement arose to change the political 
phase of this section, and its origin was at Batavia. William Morgan 
wrote an exposition of the so-called secrets of Free Masonry, and it was 
to have been published at Batavia. It was alleged that for this exposure 
he was abducted and murdered by the Masons ; the details or truth of 
the transaction do not belong in this history. The feeling of the people 
of Genesee County was so aroused that a party, called the " Anti-Ma- 
sonic," at once was formed, and was an overwhelming party for a short 
time in Western New York. U became fully organized in 1828. and a 
coalition was made in 1832 between the Anti-Masons and the National 
Republicans of this State in order to carry the State for the Anti-Masons 
and elect Henry Clay President of the United States. The scheme 
failed and both designs failed. The Anti- Masonic party by this coali- 
tion merged into the " Whig " party, and remained until the " Republi- 
can " party of 1856. was formed. 

In 1833 the agitation of the slavery question commenced and an anti- 
slavery party was formed. No issue has wielded a more potent influence 
upon national or local politics than this. The legislature of this State 
passed an act in 1799 for the gradual extinction of slavery within its 



GENESEE COUNTY. _ 

4Q 1 

borders Although it did not exist in the Holland Purchase, yet it was 
a legal institution in the older settled portions. Subsequent enactments 
entirely obliterated all traces of the dark stain-slavery-from the State 
of New York on July 4, 1 827- Ten thousand slaves were set free by the 
act Anti-slavery meetings were broken up in the early years of this 
excitement by the opposition. Gerrit Smith became the fearless leader 
of the anti-slavery faction, and it gradually developed into formidable 

^Tnesee'county took an active part in this move. In 1836 a strong 
anti-slavery feeling existed here, and was as strongly opposed ; a society 
was formed and wished to hold a public meeting at Batavia. The assur- 
ance by prominent men, although doubtful as to the justice of the claims 
ofthe-Abohtionists," that they should oppose any interference with a 
meetinc in accordance with the right of free speech, that was properly 
conducted, led to a call for a meeting at the court-house in Batavia, 
March 12, 1836, at 2 P. M.. to take into consideration what measure it 
was necessary to adopt with reference to the proposed meetmg of the 
Abolitionists in this village; and the call closed with this appeal: Let 
all opposed to fanaticism, and who value the existence and perpetuity of 

the Union, attend." . 

This meeting was largelv attended and passed strong resolutions against 
the object of the Abolitionists, that they were opposed to any such meet- 
ing in the village of Batavia. and would not be responsible for consequen- 
ces if the Abolitionists held their meeting as proposed. (These resolu- 
tions and full details can be found in Young's History of Warsaw) The 
meeting appointed a committee of 50 to wait upon the Abolition Society, 
should it meet in Batavia, and inform it of the wishes of the village, etc. 

The Anti-Slavery Society met pursuant to notice at the court-house. ^ 
Before its organization the committee of'SO entered the hall, and its chair- 
man read the resolutions of their meeting, and also made a short speech. 
The Anti-Slavery Society appointed a committee of f^ve to prepare a re- 
ply This committee was : Henry Brewster and Seth M. Gates, of Le 
Roy • Gen. John D. Landon, of Castile ; William Patterson, of Warsaw ; 
and Huntington Lyman. In the reply they disclaimed a want of respect I 
for the citizens of Batavia, was not appointed without consultation with 1 
respectable citizens, asserted the right to peaceably assemble to discuss' 
the interests of their common country, and could not acknowledge the 
right of any persons or body of men to molest them or require them to 
cease deliberations. The long report was made to the committee of 50 



POLITICAL AND CIVIL HISTORY. 4'1 

and the Anti-Slavery Society proceeded with its organization, but was in- 
terrupted with stamping and unusual riotous proceedings, and after an 
ineffectual expostulation and remonstrance adjourned to Warsaw one 
week from that day. 

The meeting was held pursuant to adjournment, March 22, 1836, de- 
clared its sentiments, and pledged $1,000 for the first year's support of a 
free paper. Such a paper was established {The American Citizen) in 
Warsaw, and was subsequently removed to Perry, then to Rochester. 

It was at a convention in Warsaw (then Genesee County) that the first 
proposition was made to nominate a President of this stripe, and after a 
stormy debate, in which Myron Holley and William L. Chapin were its 
advocates, James G. Birney was nominated. A division followed, but 
the vote was concentrated on the members of Congress who favored the 
anti-slavery movement. This party was now called the " Liberty party," 
and numbered about 1,500 in the State. In 1848 they joined the " Free 
Soil " party. The people of Genesee were divided, and very significantly 
so, in the campaign of 1848, and were first in the " Hunker" and " Barn- 
burner " division upon the slavery question. The latter division, which 
opposed the introduction of slavery into new territory, received strong 
support in Western New York, and gave Martin Van Buren, its candi- 
date, a hearty support in 1848. In 1850, when Horatio Seymour was 
nominated for governor, the Whig and Democratic parties became di- 
vided into the " Hard " and " Soft " factions, the first supporting President 
Fillmore's administration, the latter led by William H. Seward and op- 
posed. In 1852, on the election of Franklin Pierce by the coahtion of 
the Anti-Slavery or Soft Shell divisions, the Whig Party was practically 
annihilated, and the Republican party sprang into being, carrying the 
anti-slavery element with it. In all these movements no section was 
more active than Genesee County. Tlie " American party," following 
in 1853, called " Know-Nothing party " from its secrecy, had a brief exist- 
ence. In 1856 John C. Fremont was the candidate of the Republicans for 
President, but was defeated. Those opposed were called the Democratic 
party. In i860 the choice of Abraham Lincoln was made by the Re- 
publicans, and he was elected President. The feeling between the slave- 
holding States and the North had been growing during these years, and 
many bitter words and aggressive acts were committed by both sections, 
which led to the passage of ordinances of secession by the slave States, 
the inauguration of the civil war of 1861-65, and the extinction of slav- 
ery forever. 



42 



GENESEE COUNTY. 



The Republican and Democratic parties continue to oppose each other 
on minor issues, alternating the "outs " and " ins," and at this writing the 
Republicans are in the ascendency, with Benjamin Harrison, President. 

Mention should be made of the Prohibition party, which has for the 
past few years steadily gained in numbers in Genesee as well as in other 
counties and States. The party advocates the enactment of laws to pro- 
hibit the manufacture and sale of intoxicating liquors, — a commendable 
object, — but many temperance defenders do not sustain the party. 

The " Greenback party," of which Genesee County has only a few 
adherents, has not yet been able to effect a permanent organization. 

The increase in parties, and the particular complexion of Genesee 
County during the past half century, — since the organization of the pres- 
ent county, — will be seen by the aggregate for each presidential election : 

Liberty 



323 





Whig 


Dem. 


Nat. Am. 


Free Soil 


1844, 


3,604 


2,111 


298- 




1848. 


2,890 


1,180 


55 


1,201 


1852, 


3.358 
Rep. 


2,164 


Am. 




1856, 


3,620 


1. 371 


1,166 




i860, 


4,464 


2,456 




I 


1864, 


4,030 


2,772 






1868, 


4.254 


2,847 






1872, 


4.034 


2,590 


Greenback 


Temp. 


1876, 


4,322 


3.321 


48 


2 


1880, 


4,815 


3.481 


72 


Prohibition 


1884, 


4.631 


3,643 


41 


386 


1888, 


4.952 


3,633 




408 



A careful comparison of the vote for governor, each two years, will 
convey the idea of the local strength of Genesee County : 





Whig 


Dem. 


Free Soil 






1840, 


3,650 


2,130 


20 






1842. 


2,765 


2,010 


116 






1844, 


3.590 


2,135 


345 


Am. 




1846, 


2,910 


1,468 


231 


147 




1848, 


2,927 


1,217 


1,118 


53 




1850, 


3.049 


1,611 






Liberty 


1852, ■ 


3.661 


2,141 




' K.-Nothing." 


184 


1854. 


1,597 

Rep. 


1,102 


"K. -Nothing" 


2,460 




1856, 


3.486 


1,402 


1,218 






1858, 


2,840 


1.409 


584 




26 


i860, 


4.448 


2.262 


230 






1862, 


3.49' 


2.559 









POLITICAL AND CIVIL HISTORY — SHERIFFS. 



43 





Rep. 


Dem. 


1864. 


4,050 


2,760 


1866, 


3.978 


2,495 


1868, 


4.239 


2,863 


1870, 


3,701 


2,548 


1872, 


4,061 


2,604 


1874, 


3,088 


2,672 


1876, 


4,328 


3,321 


1879. 


3-735 


2,939 


1882, 


2,898 


3,518 


1885, 


3.693 


3,014 


1888, 


4,835 


3,722 



Prohibiton 




82 




33 






Greenback 


43 


82 


392 


52 


382 




418 





Genesee County is the oldest county west of Ontario ; its organiza- 
tion is given under the proper title. Its importance in the past and 
present in the affairs of the State is evident; its position among the first, its 
rapid development, and its admirable local government for a brief century 
is directly attributed to the justice and firmness of its rulers and citi- 
zens. We append a list of officers from its organization to the present 
time, and leave its civil and political status to be felt in the councils of 
the State as in former days. Under the first constitution all officers 
were appointed in the counties by the governor, and one senator from 
each of the four districts into which the State was then divided ; this 
constituted the appointing power. Under the constitution of 1821 
sheriffs and county clerks were elected by the people at the November 
elections. In the lists following the years of appointment and election 
are given. 

SHERIFFS. 



Richard M. Stoddard 1803-06 

Benjamin Barton 1807 

Asher Bates 1808-09 

Nathan Marvin 1810 

Aaron Van Cleve 1811-14 

Parmenio Adams 181 5 

William Sheldon 1816-17 

Parmenio Adams 1818-21 

Worthy L.Churchill 1822-24 

William R. Thompson 1825-27 

John Wilder 1828-30 

Earl Kidder (app'd vi'ceWiMer) 1831 

John A. McElvvaine i83r-32 

Nathan Townsend 1833-36 

John Wilder 1837-39 

Rufus Robertson 1 840-41 

Addison Foster, 



James Long 1842-44 

John Sprague '. , . . . 1845-47 

Henry Morrell 1848-50 

Salmon B. Lusk 1851-53 

James R. Mitchell 1854 56 

Alvin Pease 1857-59 

Ferdinand H. Hull 1860-62 

Parley Upton 1863-65 

Arch. D. McLachlin 1866-68 

William L. Parrish 1869-71 

George H. Robertson 1872-74 

John H. Ward 1875-77 

George W. Griffis 1878-80 

Irving D. Southworth 1881-83 

Joseph H. Robson 1884-86 

William J. Reedy 1887-89 

under sheriff. 



44 GENESEE COUNTV. 



COUNTY CLERKS. 

James W. Stevens 1803-09 Timothy Fitch 1831-36 

Isaac Babcock 1810 Horace U. Soper 1837-42 

Simeon Cummins 1811-15 H. H. Carpenter 1843-45 

John Z. Ross 1816-17 Samuel C. Holden 1846-48 

Simeon Cummins 1818-21 Merrill G. Soper 1849-54 

Chauncey L. Sheldon 1822-24 Hiram W. Haskell 1855-60 

Ralph Coffin 1825-27 George H. Holden 1861-66 

David C. Miller 1828-30 Carlos A. Hull 1867-75 

The present clerk is Carlos A. Hull, who has been kept in the office 

since 1867, so efficient is he ; his deputy, George H. Holden, has served 

the office 41 years. 

SURROGATES. 

Previous to 1847 surrogates were appointed as were county judges ; 
by the constitution adopted that year they were elected in counties where 
the population exceeds 40,000 ; in counties of less population the du- 
ties of surrogate devolve on the county judge : 

Jeremiah R. Munson 1804 Ebenezer Mix 1821-39 

Richard Smith 1805-14 Harvey Putnam 1840 

Andrew A. EUicott 1815-20 Timothy Fitch 1841-44 

Samuel Willett 1845-46 

TREASURERS. 
t 
These were appointed by the board of supervisors prior to 1847 ; since 

then elected : 

Joseph Ellicott 1803-09 * Pardon C. Sherman 1843-44 

James Brisbane 1810 Seth Wakeman 1845 

Asa McCracken 181 1 Brannan Young 1846-50 

William Ramsey 1812 Thomas Yates 1851-53 

David McCracken 1813-18 Horace M. Warren 1854-56 

James Williams . . 1819-21 Thomas Yates 1857-59 

Ethan B. Allen 1822-24 Oliver P. Clark i860 

George W. Lay 1825-31 Nathan A. Woodward 1861-66 

Edgar C. Dibble 1832-33 Andrew D. Tryon 1867-72 

William Davis 1834 Hiram K. Buell. . .' 1873-75 

William S. Mallory 1835-39 Orrin C. Parker 1876-78 

Joshua L. Brown 1840-42 Jorome C. Guiteau 1879-81 

John Thomas 1882-91 

FIRST JUDGES, COMMON PLEAS. 

Prior to 1821 they were appointed by the appointing council ; under 
the constitution of 1821 the governor appointed for five years ; under 



COUNTY OFFICERS. 



45 



the constitution of 1846 they were elected for four years ; the term has 
been changed to six : 

Joseph EUicott 1 806 William H. Tisdale 1 827-29 

Ezra Piatt 1807- 11 Isaac Wilson 1830-35 

John H. Jones 1812-20 William Mitchell 1836-40 

Isaac Wilson 1821-22 Phineas L. Tracy 1841-45 

John Z. Ross 1823-26 Edgar C. Dibble 1846 

JUDGES AND SURROGATES. 

Horace U. Soper 1847-50 Randolph Ballard appointed to close the 

Edgar C. Dibble 1851-54 term of Charles Henshaw, deceased. 

Joshua L. Brown 1855-58 Lucius N. Bangs 1870-81 

Moses Taggart 1859-66 Myron H. Peck 1882-88 

Charles Henshaw 1867-70 Safford E. North 1889-96 

JUSTICES OF SESSIONS. 

The constitution of 1846 abolished the office of associate judge, and 
created the office of justice of Sessions — two elected each from among 
acting justices of the peace of the county : 

J. M. Holcomb, William M. Sprague 1847 

James S. Stewart, Thomas Riddle 1 849 

German Lathrop, Miles Wallace 1850 

John D. Safford, Charles S. Cone 1851 

John D. Safford, William Barnett 1852 

Wheaton S. Miller, John C. Cranston 1853 

Abner Hull, Jr., John Munro, Jr 1854 

Augustus Cowdin, Oswald Bond 1855 

John G. Bixby, William H. Davis 1856 

John G. Bixby, James Stewart 1857 

William H. Davis, William Barnett 1858 

Oswald Bond, Luther Crosby 1859 

James S. Stewart, Jonathan M. Foreman i860 

William G. Sherwood, William Barnett 1861 

Halleck Stilwell, John F. Perry 1862 

Halleck Stilwell, William Barnett 1863 

Halleck Stilwell, Samuel Church 1864 

Benjamin F. Harris, Samuel Church •. 1865 

Nathaniel Reed, Sebastian R. Moore 1866 

Joseph W. Holmes, William Barnett 1 867 

Joseph W. Holmes, Lawrence L. Crosby J 868 

Charles Sprague, Lawrence L. Crosby 1869 

Charles W. Rumsey, William L. Rugg 1870-71 

Ansel D. Mills, Thomas J. Dean 1872-73 

Ansel D. Mills, Albert H. Perry 1874 

Philip Cope, Albert H. Perry . . . '. 1875 



46 GENESEE COUNTY. j 

. . — . ■ ■■■ 4 

Philip Cope, Henry O. Bostwick • , .:. ..^j .■. .v i.. . 1876 

Israel M. Peck, Henry O. Bostwick ^. ... .-/... . 1877-78 

Irving D. Southworth, Henry O. Bostwick 1879 

William S. Coe, M. Nelson Moulthrop. .'. 1880-81 

Alexander Campbell, Roswell C. Curtiss 1882 

Roswell C. Curtiss, Alva Babcock /. 1883 

Israel M. Peck, Roswell C. Curtiss. . . . :. 1884 

Roswell C. Curtiss, Charles F. Lewis 1885 

Jay W. Stratton, Charles F. Lewis , 1886 

Frank E. Vosburg, Jay W. Stratton ... 1887 

William G. Pollard, M. N. Moulthrop 1888-89 

DISTRICT ATTORNEYS. 

Act passed in 1801 creating the office ; act passed in 18 18 made each 
county a district for one ; the officers were appointed by constitution of 
1 82 1, and elected after 1846: 

Daniel B. Brown 1818-20 George Brown 1856-58 

Heman J. Redfield 1821-28 James M. Willett 1859-61 

Levi Rumsey 1829-33 William Tyrrell.'. 1862-64 

Daniel H. Chandler 1 834-37 C. Fitch Bissell .1 865-67 

Isaac A. Verplanck 1838-41 William C. Watson 1868-73 

John H. Martindale 1842-44 C. Fitch Bissell 1874-76 

Moses Taggart 1845 Thomas P. Heddon 1877-79 

Isaac A. Verplanck 1846 Safford E. North 1880-82 

John H. Martindale 1847-49 Safford E. North 1883-85 

Seth Wakeman 1850-55 Frank S. Wood 1886-92 

SCHOOL COMMISSIONERS. 

The office of commissioner for the county was created by law in 1853, 
and David Ney was appointed by the supervisors for 1854; Mr. Howe 
was appointed for 1855. The change of 1856 made the election of com- 
missioner for each Assembly district ; for the year 1856 Israel M. Peck 
was appointed for the eastern district, and Homer H. Woodward for the 
western. In 1857 ^^^^ county was made one district ; then was elected: 

Orange S. Throop 1857-62 Charles V. Hooper 1875-80 

D. C. Rumsey 1863-68 William E. Prentice 1881-83 

R. L. Selden 1869-74 Arthur B. Rathbone 1884-86 

William J. Barr 1887-89 

MEMBERS OF ASSEMBLY. 
Genesee and Ontario Coimties. 

Thaddeus Chapin, Augustus Porter \ „ 

Polydore B. Wisner ( '^°2 

Amos Hall, Nathaniel W. Howell ) p 

Polydore B. Wisner C °3 



\ 



MEMBERS OF ASSEMBLY. 



47 



Amos Hall, Daniel W. Lewis ) 

Alexander Rea j ' °°4 

Ezra Patterson, Daniel W. Lewis ) 

Alexander Rea ( '^°S 

Allegany, Genesee, and Ontario Counties. 

Philetus Swift, Asahel Warner ) „ , 

Alexander Rea '. \ '^°^ 

Philetus Swift, Asahel Warner ) „ 

William Rumsey f ■ '^°7 

Genesee County. 

William Rumsey 1 808 

Zacheus Colby 1 8 1 1 

Chauncey Loomis 1809 

Chauncev Lewis 1810 

James Gannon 1 8 1 2 

James Gannon 1813 

Isaac Sutherland , 1814 

James Gannon, Elizon Webster \ o 

John Wilson \ ^ 

James Gannon, Elizon Webster ) o,/; 

Isaac Wilson 



Gilbert Howell, Abraham Matteson ( o „ 

Isaac Sutherland \ 

Gilbert Howell, Abraham Matteson 

Isaac Sutherland . ., 



I i8ii 



Fitch Chipman, Gideon F. Jenkins / ,0,^ 

T-> 1 T. I \r > I O I Q- 

Robert McKay \ ^ 

Fitch Chipman, Jesse Hawley • • ( 1820 

Samuel M. Hopkins \ 

Robert Anderson, Benedict Brooks ) jg^j 

Samuel McWhorter S 

Apollos P. Auger, William Bristol { 1822 

Otis Turner, Josiah Churchill \ 

Shubael Dunham, Orin Follett \ j gj-i 

James Gannon, Horace S. Turner ( 

Jeremiah Brown, Fitch Chipman.... ) ,g2^ 

Shubael Dunham, Gains B. Rich \ 

Josiah Churchill, David Scott ( 1821 

Phineas Stanton ( 

Josiah Churchill, Shubael Dunham / 1826 

John B. Skinner ( 

Dennis Blakely, Trumbull Cary \ 1827 

John B. Skinner ( 

Calvin P. Bailey, John Haskell / 1828 

John B. Skinner \ 

Calvin P. Bailey, Timothy Fitch ) 1820- 

Stephen Griswold ( 

Robert Earl, Jr., Stephen Griswold ( iS^o 

Charles Woodworth S 

Seth M. Gates, Henry Hawkins ( ig^i 

James Sprague, 2d \ 



48 



GENESEE COUNTY. 



Peter Patterson, Rufus Robertson ) 

Charles Woodworth \ 

Truman Lewis, Peter Patterson ) 

Rufus Robertson \ 

Truman Lewis, Samuel Richmond } 

Amos Tyrrell, Sr \ 

Charles O. Shepperd, Samuel Richmond / 

Amos Tyrrell, Sr \ 

Charles O. Shepperd, Reuben Benham ) 

Leverett Seward, John A. McElwaine ( 

Andrew H. Green, Reuben Benham } 

John Head, Leverett Seward 

Andrew H. Green, Horace Healey 

John Head, Alva Jefferson 

George W. Lay, Horace Healey 

John W. Brownson, Alva Jefferson 

Samuel Richardson, John W. Brownson 

David Scott, Isaac N. Stoddard 

Robinson Smiley, Albert Smith 

Robinson Smiley, Ira Waite 

Charles P. Brown, Chester Hannum 

Aaron Long, Chester Hannum .... 

Aaron Long, Heman Blodgett 

Alonzo S. Upham, Heman Blodgett 

Alonzo S. Upham, Tracey Pardee 

Martin C. Ward, Tracey Pardee 

Martin C. Ward, John C. Gardiner 

Albert Rowe, Levi Fiske 

Albert Rowe, Levi Fiske 

Theodore C. Peters, Joseph Cook 

Theodore C. Peters, Joseph Cook 

Ambrose Stevens, David Mallory 

Seth Wakeman, David Mallory 

Seth Wakeman, John J. McPherson 

Frank G. Kingman 

Elbridge G. Moulton 



(■ 



Elbridge G. Moulton. 1859 

George W. Wright i860 

Benjamin Pringle 1861 

Loren Green 1862 

Loren Green 1863 

John W. Brown 1864 

John W. Brown 1865 

Henry F. Tarbox 1 866 

Henry F. Tarbox 1 867 

Edward C. Walker 1868 

Edward C. Walker 1869 

Volney G. Knapp 1 870 

T. F. Miller 



832 
833 
834 
835 
836 
837 
838 

839 
840 

841 

842 
843 
844 

845 
846 

847 
848 

849 

850 
851 
852 

853 

854 

855 
856 

857 



Volney G. Knapp 1871 

Elbert Townsend 1872 

Elbert Townsend 1 873 

Newton H. Green .... 1874 

Newton H. Green 1875 

EH Taylor 1876-77 

John Sanders 1778-79 

Joseph W. Holmes 1880-81 

Robert W. Nichol 1882 

Lucien R. Bailey 1883-84 

Charles A. Seaver 1885-87 

John McKenzie 1888-89 

1 889-90 



LEGISLATORS — BENCH AND BAR. 



4^ 



STATE SENATORS. 

The following persons have been chosen State senators from the 
county : 

Alexander Rea 1808 Trumbull Gary 1831 

Isaac Wilson 181 8 Harvey Putnam 1843 

David E. Evans 1 820 Alonzo S. Upham 1 850 

Heman J. Redfield 1823 George Bowen 1870 

Ethan B. Allen 1826 Edward G. Walker 1886 

MEMBERS OF CONGRESS. 

Samuel M. Hopkins. 181 3 Seth M. Gates 1839 

Benjamin EUicott 1817 Albert Smith 1843 

Parmenio Adams 1825 Harvey Putnam ' 1847 

Phineas L. Tracy 1827 Augustus P. Hascall 1851 

George W. Lay 1 833 Benjamin Pringle 1853 

Harvey Putnam 1 837 John Fisher 1 867 

Seth Wakeman 1871 

The coroners now serving the county are Lucius B. Parmelee and 
Isaac T. Mullen, elected in 1887; and Elliott C. Smith and Alpheus 
Prince, elected in November, 1888. 

Present superintendents of the poor : Cortland Crosman, elected in 
November, 1886; Dwight Dimock, elected in November, 1887 ; Richard; 
Pearson, elected in November, 1888 ; Dwight Dimock, Corfu, elected in. 
November, 1886. 

Robert A. Maxwell, of Batavia, served as treasurer of the State in 1881^ 
and as superintendent of insurance in 1886—89. 

BENCH AND BAR.i 

THE editors of the Gazetteer and Biographical Record have asked 
for their publication a sketch of the lives of the men who in the past 
have been representative members of the legal profession in Gene- 
see County. The scope of this article does not include any lawyer now Hv- 
ing. It is only of those whose earthly labors are ended that we are to speak. 
Within the limit of .space assigned it will be impossible to give more than 
an outline of the lives of these men, many of whom have been among the 
foremost citizens of Genesee County. It is not claimed that mention is 
made of every lawyer who has practiced here, neither does this sketch 
include those who have pursued their studies or practiced in this county 
for a short time, but who have made their reputations elsewhere. In any 

1 By Hon. S. E. North. 



50 GENESEE COUNTY. 



community the members of the bar are always in a large sense public 
men. Many important judicial positions are necessarily filled from their 
ranks, while legislative and other official places are often occupied by 
lawyers. The bar of Genesee County forms no exception to this rule. 
There nas never been a time when it did not include many men of rec- 
ognized ability, and the bar as a whole has always compared favorably 
with that of any other county of anything like equal size. Of those 
whose names are here recorded only Martindale, Wakeman, Hewitt, and 
Taggart were personally known to the writer. The estimates given of 
the professional characteristics of the men who form the subject of this 
article have been derived largely from conversation with those who knew 
them as lawyers and citizens, and partly, of course, from such printed 
sketches as were available. The historical facts have been gathered from 
biographies found in many different places, from newspaper files, court 
records, from recollections of old inhabitants, and in several instances 
from such meagre statements as are chiseled in marble in the cemetery, 
or are written down in not less formal phrase in the books of the surro- 
gate's office. 

The first judge of the county was Joseph Ellicott, the same man who, 
as surveyor, blazed his way through the primeval forests of Western New 
York, and laid out the counties, towns, and villages of the Holland Pur- 
chase. Mr. Ellicott was not a lawyer. He resigned the position of 
judge a short time after his appointment in 1803, and was succeeded by 
Ezra Piatt. Of Judge Piatt but little information is available, except that 
he discharged the few duties of the office until about 1812. His will is 
recorded in book i of Wills in the surrogate's office, at page ii, and is 
the third will entered in the county records. The first was that of Daniel 
Totten, recorded January 20, 1808, and the second, that of David Frank- 
lin, was recorded March 30, 1809, while the record of Judge Piatt's will 
was made January 9, 18 12, making three wills in four years. 

The succeeding judges down to 1847 were John H. Jones, Isaac Wil- 
son, John Z. Ross, William H. Tisdale, William Mitchell, Phineas L. 
Tracy, and Edgar C. Dibble. During the same period the surrogates of 
the county had been Jeremiah R. Munson, — whose name does not appear 
in any of the records of the office, — Richard Smith, Andrew A. Ellicott, 
Ebenezer Mix, Harvey Putnam, Timothy Fitch, and Samuel Willett. 
Mr. Mix filled the office from 1821 to 1840. Under the law as it 
has existed since 1847 the functions of county judge and surrogate have 
been performed by the same official. The duties of surrogate prior to 
that date were few, as estates were seldom settled. 



BENCH AND BAR. 51 



Richard Smith, whose portrait has for many years hung in the court- 
house, over the chair occupied by the presiding judge, was born in Con- 
necticut, February 17, 1779, and died December 31, 1859. He was a 
graduate of Yale College and removed to Genesee County in 1803. He 
was at one time a partner of Daniel B. Brown. Judge Smith seldom, if 
ever, appeared in court. It is not known that any of the other incum- 
bents of the office up to that time were particularly prominent as lawyers, 
neither is much information available as to any county judge prior to 
Phineas L. Tracy. Judge Ross is spoken favorably of as a citizen and 
lawyer. He died October 27, 1826, at the age of 40 years. 

Few men have been more closely identified with the history of Genesee 
County than Judge Tracy. He was born December 25, 1786, at Nor- 
wich, Conn., and graduated at Yale in 1806. He was admitted to the 
bar at Albany in 181 1, and removed to Genesee County in 1813. For 
many years he had an extensive and lucrative practice, and was a man of 
marked force and ability. He was elected to Congress in 1827 and again 
in 1829, and in 1841 was appointed "first judge" of the county by 
William H. Seward, then governor. After his retirement from the 
bench in 1846 he practiced law but little. He was for many years a 
member of the vestry of St. James's Church. His death occurred De- 
cember 22, 1876. An obituary published at that time says : " He would 
have been 90 years old on Christmas day. A good and just man, full 
of years and ripe for the harvest, has gone to his peaceful rest." 

The next county judge was Edgar C. Dibble, who held the office dur- 
ing the year 1846, and again from 1852 to 1856. Judge Dibble was a 
fairly well-read lawyer, a man of good character, and he discharged the 
duties of his office satisfactorily. He died February 28, 1862, at the age 
of 57 years. During the period of his professional career he was at dif- 
ferent times in partnership with Timothy Fitch, John H. Martindale, and 
Martin F. Robertson. 

Judge Dibble was succeeded by Horace U. Soper, who served four 
years. Judge Soper is said to have made a good record upon the bench, 
but was never especially prominent as a practitioner. He was an amiable 
and agreeable gentleman, of attractive manners and large general in- 
formation. He died January 15, 1878, at the age of 72 years, leaving no 
descendants. 

Joshua L. Brown became county judge and surrogate in 1856 and held 
the office four years. He died at the age of 48, June 19, i860, a few 
months after the expiration of his official term, at St. Louis, Mo. Judge 



52 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Brown was a good citizen, and a lawyer of extensive learning and de- 
cided ability. He is said to have possessed less' aptitude for the trial of 
causes before a jury than for the other duties of his profession, although 
he tried a large number of cases. Before the court, or as a counselor in 
his office, he was a strong, safe man. A member of the bar now living 
tells how he had a habit during the trial of criminal causes, where, as 
often occurs, the defense was conducted by some yonng man designated 
by the court, of taking a seat near the junior thus assigned, when, as the 
trial proceeded, he would draw his chair up and make suggestions. 
After a little he would be on his feet arguing a law point, and in one 
case at the close of the evidence he proceeded at once to sum up to the 
jury, much to the discomfiture of the young lawyer who had prepared, 
with great care, an address which was to make his reputation. Judge 
Brown was for many years a partner of Maj. Henry I. Glowacki, who in 
well earned retirement from the active labors of life still survives. The 
firm of Brown & Glowacki enjoyed for many years an extensive and 
lucrative practice, which was at its full height at the time of Judge 
Brown's death. 

Moses Taggart, who succeeded Judge Brown, died at his home in Ba- 
tavia, February 17, 1883, at the ripe age of 82 years. He was the Nes- 
tor of our bar, having been in active and continuous practice for about 
55 years. During his eventful life he had endeared himself to the pro- 
fession, of which he was an honored member, and was universally re- 
spected in the community where he had so long resided. As a lawyer 
he was thoroughly grounded in the elementary principles of legal science. 
Throughout his career he was esteemed for his good judgment, safe 
counsel, and extensive research rather than for any special ability as a 
trial lawyer. He had little liking or aptitude for the work of an advo- 
cate. A strong, helpful friend of young men. he had witnessed the career 
of every man at the bar at the time of his death, and it is safe to say that 
every one of the number felt a sincere attachment for the venerable and 
honored father of the fraternity. Judge Taggart was born at Colerain,. 
Mass., August 21, 1799. At the age of 18 years he left his native town 
to find a home in the newer region of Western New York, and traveled 
all the way to Byron on foot. His legal studies were pursued in the 
office of Phineas L. Tracy. Upon his admission to the bar he became a I 
partner of Albert Smith, who at that time was an able and noted prac- • 
titioner. At different periods of his life he was in partnership with 
Daniel H. Chandler, Charles Henshaw, Seth Wakeman, and during the , 



BENCH AND BAR. 



53 



latter years of his life with his son-in-law, W. Harris Day. He was a 
member of the Constitutional Convention of 1846, and in 1 851 was ap- 
pointed justice of the Supreme Court to fill a vacancy caused by the death 
of Judge Sill. This position he filled until tlie close of 1853, and duiing 
the last year of his service became, under the then existing provisions of 
law, a member of the Court of Appeals. In i860 he was elected county 
judge and surrogate of this county, and filled the office acceptably for 
two terms of four years each. In 1871 Judge Taggart was appointed 
postmaster of Batavia, which position he held for about four years. He 
maintained his excellent health and vigorous bearing almost to the end 
of his life, while his intellectual powers remained unimpaired to the last. 

Charles Henshaw was born at Java, Wyoming County, and studied 
law with Gen. L. W. Thayer at Warsaw. He was elected county judge 
and surrogate in 1868, and died in office September 18, 1870, at the age 
of 48 years. A man of sterling worth, honest through and through, he 
possessed qualifications which rendered him in some respects the most 
remarkable lawyer who has ever practiced at our bar. It is doubtful if 
any other lawyer of this county has acquired so extended a knowledge 
of the law itself. ?Iis memory was unfailing, and his familiarity with 
both elem.entary law and judicial decisions was vast and perfectly at his 
command. He could always say " on such a bcok and page you will 
find the law." He disregarded all forms, and fashioned his papers briefly 
and accurately to suit himself Unwilling or unable to try a case before 
a jury, he seldom if ever appeared in this capacity. His judicial career, 
upon which he had but fairly entered, gave great promi.'-e, and. had he 
lived Charles Henshaw would have filled higher positions upon the bench. 
The incumbents of the office of county judge and surrogate since Judge 
Henshaw's death are, in this year 1890, all living. 

A sketch of the life of the Hon. Heman J. Redfield, prepared for this 
article, has been omitted, since an extended notice of his career is printed 
elsewhere in this volume. 

Among the members of the legal profession who have practiced in Le 
Roy besides Mr. Redfield there may be mentioned Jacob Bartow, Alfred 
F. Bartow and Charles Bartow, his sons, Seth M. Gates, Charles Dan- 
forth, Samuel Skinner, Perrin M. Smith, and Augustus P. Hascall. 

Jacob Bartow, although never distinguished as a lawyer, was a man of 

large attainments and rare scholarly tastes. He was a law student with 

Aaron Burr. He died about 1845. ^^'s son, Alfred F. Bartow, studied 

law with Heman J. Redfield, and later became his partner. He removed 

4 



54 GENESEE COUNTY. 



west and died a few years ago in Chicago. Mr. Bartow was an excellent 
practical business lawyer, and was a prominent and respected citizen of 
Le Roy. He was for many years a member of the vestry of St. Mark's 
Church, and took much interest in the work of that society. Charles 
Bartow studied law with A. P. Hascall, and during the time he practiced 
in Le Roy was in partnership with Hiram W. Hascall, and afterwards with 
John R. Olmsted. He removed to New York, where he died. Augus- 
tus P. Hascall was for a long time an honored and prominent citizen of 
Le Roy. He served as presidential elector in 1848, and was a Represent- 
ative in the 32d Congress. He died June 27, 1872, aged about ']6 
years. Charles Danforth was a graduate of Williams College, and was at 
one time judge of Common Pleas in this county. He was a good law- 
yer and gave satisfaction as a judge. Samuel Skinner was one of the 
earliest lawyers in Le Roy, and is said to have, been an able, well-read 
member of the bar. He was a graduate of Williams College, and was 
possessed of scholarly tastes. He died in Le Roy about the year 1853. 
Perrin M. Smith studied law with Mr. Redfield and became a partner of 
Mr. Skinner. He removed from Le Roy to the West, where he died 
many years ago. Seth M. Gates practiced law in LeRoy for many 
years, and was an able man. He was proficient alike as an office lawyer 
and in the trial and argument of cases. He was elected to Congress in 
1839, and soon after completing his term of service removed to Warsaw, 
where he died about the year 1876. During his residence in Le Roy he 
was 10 years associated in business with D. R. Bacon, who still resides in 
Le Roy, an honored citizen of that village. Mr. Bacon was at one time a 
law partner of James Summerfield, but upon becoming connected with 
manufacturing interests several jears ago retired from active practice of 
his profession. 

A citizen of Le Roy, having at his command sources of information not 
available to the writer of this sketch, has included in an article prepared 
for this work much additional information concerning Le Roy lawyers, 
which might otherwise have been of interest here. 

Among the more prominent of the early Batavia lawyers may be men- 
tioned Albert Smith, who in his day had a wide reputation for extensive 
legal knowledge, and for his power as an advocate. He was a Represent- 
ative to the 28th and 29th Congresses from this district, and served in 
the Assembly in 1842. At different times he was associated as a part- 
ner with the ablest lawyers of the county. Mr. Smith removed west 
soon after his service in the State legislature, and has long since been 
dead. 



fl 



BENCH AND BAR tc 



Daniel B. Brown was born October i8, 1780, and died July 7, 1822, 
leaving, it is said, no descendants or near kindred. He is reputed to 
have been one of the most brilliant advocates who ever practiced in this 
county. He was somewhat intemperate in habits and erratic in disposi- 
tion, and consequently never won for himself the position which he other- 
wise would have gained. It is hardly probable that he is practicing law 
in the other world, yet his tombstone bears the inscription, copied quite 
likely from his sign used while living: " Daniel B. Brown, Attorney and 
Counselor at Law." 

Levi Rumsey was a prominent citizen of this county at an early day, 
and was intimately concerned in that class of law business connected with 
the formative period of our history. But little information concernincr 
him is now available, yet an old citizen of Batavia well qualified to know 
and judge says of him, that in the prime of life he was not only the fore- 
most lawyer of this county, but of Western New York. He was unques- 
tionably a man of high character and of decided ability. Mr. Rumsey 
was district attorney of this county from 1829 to 1834. He was born 
in Connecticut, December 8, 1776, and died December 29, 1833. 

Ethan B. Allen was among the most prominent of the* early lawyers 
of the county, and was a man of high character and unusual attainments. 
In personal bearing he was " a gentleman of the old school." He was 
born in Columbia County, October 21, 1787, and died April 19, 1835. 
He was the father-in-law of that distinguished advocate and jurist, Isaac 

A. Verplanck. Mr. Allen was a State senator from this district from 
1826 to 1830. Upon his tombstone are inscribed the words " intelligent, 
virtuous, and affectionate, he fulfilled the various duties of a legislator, a 
citizen, and a friend." 

Daniel tl. Chandler, who was for many years a prominent citizen of 
this county, was born in 1795 and died March 29, 1864, at Madison, 
Wis., where he had removed in 1847. He was district attorney of this 
county from 1834 to 1838. Mr. Chandler was an able and thoroughly 
equipped lawyer, combining in an unusual degree the characteristics of 
advocate and counselor. He was a partner at one time of Senator Ethan 

B. Allen, and later with Hon. Moses Taggart. Mr. Chandler is well re- 
membered by quite a number of our older residents, all of whom attest 
his worth as a man and his talents as a lawyer. His ability as a trial 
lawyer brought him actively into the management of many rtotable cases, 
where he won for himself high commendation from bench, bar, and 
clients. He was the father of the late Rear-Admiral Ralph Chandler, of 



56 GENESEE COUNTY. 



the United States navy. After his removal to Wisconsin Mr. Chandler 
acquired a large practice, and fully maintained the reputation he bad 
gained here. 

George W. Lay, the fourth son of John Lay, Esq., was born at Cat- 
skill, N. Y., July 27, 1798. He graduated at Hamilton College, N. Y., 
in the class of 18 17. He came to Batavia the same year and studied 
law in the office of Hon. Phineas L. Tracy. After his admission to the 
bar he became a law partner of Mr. Tracy. The firm of Tracy & Lay 
did an extensive law business in the territory now embracing the coun- 
ties of Genesee, Wyoming, and Orleans, and enjoyed a wide reputation 
and extensive acquaintance throughout the State. At that time the 
Genesee County bar was composed of lawyers of marked ability and 
talent. John B. Skinner, Daniel H. Chandler, Ethan B. Allen, Heman 
J. Redfield, Daniel B. Brown, Moses Taggart, Albert Smith, and many 
others attended the courts and were in full practice. Mr. Lay was a 
close practitioner under the old system, and was noted for his skill and 
dexterity as a pleader. The partnership ended in 1832. Mr. Lay was 
at that time elected to Congress. He then became a partner with James 
G. Merrill and Horace U. Soper. In 1840 he was elected to the As- 
sembly of the State of New York, and served as chairman of the canal 
committee. His canal report was characterized as a document of marked 
foresight and ability. In 1842 he was appointed Charge d'Affaires at 
the court of Norway and Sweden, and resided three years at Stockholm. 
After his return home his health failed, he became a confirmed invalid, 
and died October 21, i860. 

Isaac A. Verplanck, who was ranked as one of the of the ablest lawyers 
in Western New York, practiced for several years in Batavia. He was 
born October 16, 1812, and came to Genesee County in 1831. For a 
considerable time he was in partnership with John H. Martindale, the 
two forming a very strong law firm. Mr. Verplanck lacked the indus- 
try and indomitable energy which characterized his distinguished part- 
ner, but compensated by his masterly abilities, by his extensive know- 
ledge of the law, and his great forensic power. He was district attorney 
of this county from 1838 to 1842, and again in 1846. Soon after this he 
removed to Buffalo. He was elected one of the judges of the Superior 
Court of that city, and held the position during the remainder of his life. 
For the last three years he was chief judge. His death occurred Octo- 
ber 15, 1873. 

Elijah Hurty, whose early death terminated a career of marked prom- 



BENCH AND BAR. 



57 



ise and usefulness, was a man of scholarly tastes, genial disposition, 
and excellent character. He was born in Bethany, in this county, and 
when quite a young man became principal of Union School in Bata- 
via. Soon after his admission to the bar he formed a partnership with 
Hon. George Bowen, under the firm name of Hurty & Bowen. He died 
August lo, 1854, at the age of 32 years. 

James G. Hoyt spent but a small portion of his professional life in this 
county, and although a sketch of his career is hardly within the scope of 
this article, yet so well was he known here that his name cannot prop- 
erly be omitted. He was born in Camden, January 25, 1806, and re- 
moved to Genesee County in 181 2. His father died six years later, 
leaving a widow and nine children in such poverty that the future jurist 
was at once thrown upon his own resources. In 1830 he was elected a 
constable, and discharged the duties of his office with so much prompt- 
ness and intelligence as to attract the attention of leading business men. 
In 1834 he was elected justice of the peace, and the same year began to 
read law with Moses Taggart. Shortly after his admission to the bar he 
removed to Attica, which was then included in Genesee County. He 
gained almost immediate recognition as a lawyer of unusual industry, 
thoroughness, and ability. After a few years he removed to Buffalo, 
and was twice elected justice of the Supreme Court. In the discharge of 
the exacting duties of that office he gained a high reputation, and is re- 
membered by all our older lawyers as one of the ablest of the many emi- 
nent men who have filled the position. He died October 23, 1863. His 
widow, to whom he was married in 1831, still survives. 

Probably no firm of lawyers ever enjoyed so varied and extended a 
practice in this county as Wakeman & Bryan, who were copartners 
from 1852 until the death of Mr. Bryan, which occurred in October, 
1867. The combination was one of unusual strength. Seth Wakeman 
was a successful trial lawyer, while William G. Bryan was a counselor of 
learning and discretion. Mr. Wakeman was born in Vermont, January 
15, 181 1. His father was a soldier in the War of 1812, and died in the 
service, leaving a widow and a large family of children in destitute cir- 
cumstances. They soon removed to this county. When quite a young 
man Mr. Wakeman was elected a constable of the town of Pembroke, 
and it was by reason of his occasional duties at justices' courts that he 
became interested in law. In 1838 he was elected a justice of the peace, 
and six years later, at the age of 33, he was admitted to the bar. After 
a brief partnership with Joseph Sleeper the firm of Wakeman & Bryan 



58 GENESEE COUNTY. 



was formed. After Mr. Bryan's death Mr. Wakeman was for a time a 
partner of Judge Taggart, and afterwards, and up to his forced retire- 
ment on account of failing health in 1875, he was associated with Will- 
iam C. Watson, the firm doing an extensive business. Mr. Wakeman 
was a Whig until the dissolution of that party, when he became a Re- 
publican. He was elected district attorney in 1850 and served two 
terms. In 1856 and 1857 he was member of Assembly. In 1867 he 
was a member of the State Constitutional Convention, and in 1870 he 
was elected to the 426. Congress. As a citizen Mr. Wakeman was gen- 
eious, companionable, and kind. Distinctively a self-made man, he was 
always in warmest sympathy with every person whom he found strug- 
gling with adverse fortune. While eminently fair as a lawyer his strong- 
est antagonists al\va}'s found in him " a foeman worthy of their steel." 
He was an admirable trial lawyer, and gained a splendid practice and 
reputation as such. Possessed of few of the graces of oratory, Mr. 
Wakeman was nevertheless a strong, trenchant, and convincing speaker. 
He died January 4, i83o 

William G. Bryan was born January 28, 1822, in Brighton, England. 
He came to America and settled in Le Roy in 1830. His law studies 
were pursued with Albert Smith and with Moses Taggart. In 185 i he 
formed a partnership with John H. Martindale, which was soon dissolved 
by the removal of the latter to Rochester. In politics Mr. Bryan was an 
ardent Democrat, and was a trusted adviser in all party matters. He 
was a lawyer of decided ability, but from choice spent his time inside his 
office, preparing papers, giving counsel, and examining cases. He was 
a man of refined tastes, of scholarly attainments, and great personal 
worth. Betwtcn him and Mr. Wakeman the strongest attachment ex- 
isted. His untimely death, at the age of 45, was the result of an acci- 
dent. He had gone to Burlington, Iowa, on a visit, and while there, in 
endeavoring to control a frightened horse, he was thrown from a car- 
riage and killed. A public meeting of the citizens of Batavia was held 
on the sad occasion. His accomplished and estimable wife, for many 
years principal of the Bryan Seminary, still survives. 

James M. Willett was bom October 10, 1831. He graduated at 
the Albany Law School in 1856. In 1859 he was elected district attor- 
ney, being the first Democrat ever elected to that office in this county. 
He entered the army in 1862 and became major of the famous Eighth 
New York Heavy Artillery. In the fearful ordeal through which that 
regiment passed at Cold Harbor he was severely wounded. Upon re- 



BENCH AND BAR. 



59 



joining his regiment, three months later, he became colonel, and to the 
close of the war commanded a brigade. After leaving the army he en- 
gaged in business in New York until 1870, when he removed to Buffalo 
and formed the well-known law partnership of Laning, Folsom & Wil- 
lett. The firm were the legal representatives of the New York Central 
Railroad, and did a large general practice. Colonel Willett continued to 
suffer from his army wounds, his health gave way, and he died June 6, 
1877. He was a strong, well equipped lawyer, a genial and companion- 
able friend, a Christian gentleman. Few men ever practiced at our bar 
who had so strong a hold on the affections of' his associates and the 
people at large. 

Martin F. Robertson was a native of Genesee County, and passed his 
life in Batavia. He was possessed of decided ability, ^fair legal learning, 
and was a good trial lawyer. As a man he was very companionable and 
popular. He died March 21, 1868, at die age of 48 years, never having 
married. 

Benjamin Pringle, for many years one of the foremost citizens of this 
county, was born in the year 1807, at Richfield, in this State. He came 
to Batavia in 1830 and formed a partnership with Albert Smith, and 
later became a partner of Heman J. Redfield. He was judge of the 
county from 1841 to 1846. In 1852, and again in 1854, he was elected 
to Congress. In 1862 he was member of Assembly, and in 1863 Presi- 
dent Lincoln appointed him judge under a treaty between the United 
States and Great Britain for the suppression of the slave trade. He re- 
mained in the discharge of the duties of this office for seven years at 
Cape of Good Hope. Judge Pringle was a competent equity lawyer, 
but without special taste for the trial of causes. As a citizen he was pub- 
lic spirited and patriotic. In private life he was exemplary. For many 
years he was a warden of St. James's Episcopal Church, of which he v.-as 
a devoted member. During his old age he divided his time between 
Batavia and Hastings. Minn., where his sons lived. He died at the latter 
place June 7, 1887. His remains are buried in Batavia. 

Marlbro W. Hewitt, though never particularly active as a practitioner, 
was a respected member of the bar, and an esteemed and well-known 
citizen of Batavia. He was for a great many years a justice of the peace, 
and discharged the duties of that office with fidelity and unusul intelli- 
gence. Mr. Hewitt died February 23, 1 880, at the age of 64 years. 

One of the most interesting figures in the history of the bar of Genesee 
County and of Western New York was Gen. John H. Martindale. Al- 



6o GENESEE COUNTY. 



though most of his professional life was passed in Rochester, whither he 
removed in 1852, he had prior to that time served two terms as district at- 
torney of this county, and had laid the foundation for his brilh'ant career 
as an advocate and orator. Having received a miHtary education at West 
Point he entered the army at the breaking out of the RebelHon. He did 
active and efficient service in the field quite early in the war, and later 
served as military governor of the District of Columbia, with the rank of 
major-general. He was elected attorney general of this State in 1865. 
General Martindale became famous in his management of actions for 
damages for personal ii>juries brought against railroad corporations, par- 
ticularly the New York Central. His most frequent antagonist was that 
most brilliant and admirable trial lawyer, the late Albert P. Laning, of 
Buffalo. They tried a large number of cases opposed to each other in 
this county, and the memory of those days is an ever recurring delight. 
The court-house was always filled and the audience always entertained. 
The limits of this article forbid what might be made an interesting ac- 
count of this remarkable man. Always eloquent, he had the faculty of 
being most so in cases otherwise commonplace. The writer has heard 
many of his addresses to juries, but the most eloquent is remembered as 
his summing up in the case of Garwood against the New York Central 
Railroad, an action brought to recover damages for injury to plaintiff's 
mill-power by pumping water from the Tonawanda Creek into tanks, 
for the use of locomotive boilers. The theme was certainly not one 
which would seem to afford opportunity for a display of oratory, yet the 
speaker proved superior to the occasion, and the result was an address 
seldom equalled. Although of agreeable disposition General Martindale 
was rather easily ruffled when engaged in the trial of important cases. 
His wily opponent learned well his sensitive points, and never failed to 
take advantage of them. As General Martindale always appeared for 
the plaintiff in railroad cases he had the advantage of the closing address. 
He was quite fond, in talking to a Genesee County jury, of indulging in 
reminiscences, and often referred to his acquaintance with the fathers of 
some of the younger jurymen, and to old associations connected with 
Batavia. On one well remembered occasion, when Mr. Laning thought 
his florid antagonist would be apt to find opportunity for a display of 
this kind, he turned his weapons against him in that quiet and inimit- 
able manner so strikingly in contrast with the exuberant style of his op- 
ponent. He told the jury what the General would shortly proceed to 
narrate in their hearing, including all that Martindale could possibly say 



THE MEDICAL PROFESSION. 6l 



about his early home, his dead partner, " the classic Verplanck," his 
friends and neighbors, the old church, etc. The result was that the ora- 
tor was compelled to change his tactics. The contests between Martin- 
dale and Laning will always be remembered by those who enjoyed the 
privilege of listening to and witnessing the efforts of these remarkable 
but wholly dissimilar men. In private life General Martindale was 
greatly esteemed. His character was above reproach, and he was a man 
of sincere piety. His personal appearance and bearing attracted admira- 
tion at all times. In i88i he went to Europe in a vain search for health, 
but died at Nice, France, on the 13th of December of that year, at the 
age of 66. 

THE MEDICAL PROFESSION. 

N preparing a chapter upon the medical profession of Genesee County 
the writer, by direction of the publishers, has mentioned only those 
physicians now dead, or removed to other localities, leaving to the 
gentlemen canvassing the several towns the furnishing of information 
concerning those now living and in active practice. The scope of this 
work must necessarily be limited to little more than a mention of the names 
of the old physicians, their places of birth and education, the time when 
they practiced here, the dates of their death or removal, and a few items of 
special importance concerning them. It has been in some instances im- 
possible to learn all we desired about the early practitioners, but what 
we have written will, we think, be found reasonably correct. 

The modern doctor who drives in an easy carriage, over smooth roads, 
and with everything needful to protect him from the hot sunshine or the 
storm, who charges good fees and collects the most of them, who has at his 
■command the elegant and chemically accurate medical preparations of the 
present day, can have little appreciation of the labors incident to the 
practice of the pioneer physician, who rode on horseback through the 
woods, carried his medicines in saddlebags, dug out of the ground almost 
everything but calomel he prescribed, and did a very great deal of gra- 
tuitous work for the early settlers, who were not, as a rule, overstocked 
with worldly goods. It may be well to state in this place that in the 
olden time physicians received their diplomas from the medical society 
of die county in which they intended to practice, and not, as at present, 
from medical colleges. 

THE GENESEE COUNTY MEDICAL SOCIETY. 

It appears that thert was an association of physicians in Western New 
York, then nearly all in the county of Ontario, as early as the year 1801, 



62 GENESEE COUNTY. 

» 

for we find the name of Dr. D. McCracken, of Batavia, as member of a 
medical society at that time. As, however, Genesee County was not or- 
ganized until the next year this could not be called in reality the Gene- 
see County Medical Society. Meetings were held each year until 1807, 
when a society bearing the above name was established under the law 
passed the year before, by which the New York State Medical Society 
was legally incorporated. 

The first delegate sent from Genesee County to the State society was 
Dr. Levi Ward, of Bergen, 'who attended a meeting held at Albany, Feb- 
ruary 6, 1 8 10. No other mention is made in the State Transactions of 
any delegate from this county until 1828, when Dr. J. A. Billings, of 
Batavia, was in attendance. The officers of his society at that time were: 
Dr. J. A. Billings, president; Dr. John Cotes, vice-president; Dr. Richard 
Dibble, secretary; Dr. O. P. Smith, treasurer; Dr. Frederick Fitch, Dr. 
Charles C. Ford, Dr. William H. Webster, Dr. J. K. Barlow, and Dr. 
Levant B. Cotes, censors. Several of these names appear in the history 
of the several towns, and some of them became famous. 

The County Medical Society was represented by delegates every year 
until 1883, when a division of sentiment concerning the counselling 
with irregular physicians nearly broke it up. The new State Medical 
Association, formed in 1884, drew away many members, and the old or- 
ganization gradually died out. The officers of the society at the date of 
the last report to the State society (1882) were: Dr. L V. Mullen, presi- 
dent; Dr. Henry Pamphilon, vice-president; Dr. J. R. Cotes, secretary 
and treasurer. The following is a list of the members on the roll at that 
time: Dr. S. Barret, LeRoy; Dr. S. C. Bateman, Alabama; Dr. J. F. 
Cleveland, Le Roy; Dr. John R Cotes, Batavia; Dr. F. W. Crane, Corfu ; 
Dr. G. W. Crofif, Bethany ; Dr. O. R. Groff, Bethany ; Dr. J. C. David- i 
son, Batavia; Dr. A. G. Ellenwood, Attica, Wyoming County ; Dr. B. A. , 
Fuller, Le Roy; Dr. G. B. Gilbert, Byron; Dr. G. U. Gleason, South 
Byron; Dr. A. P. Jackion, Oakfield ; Dr. J. M. Lewis, Elba; Dr. H. A. 
Morse, Batavia; Dr. I. V. Mullen, Alexender ; Dr. Jphn N. Mullen, 
Alexander; Dr. Henry Pamphilon, Stafford ; Dr. William Pardee, Oak- 
field ; Dr. C. F. Rand, Batavia; Dr. A. D. Smith, East Pembroke; 
Dr. E. C. Smith, East Pembroke; Dr. William B. Sprague, Pavilion; 
Dr. M. W. Townsend, Bergen ; Dr. L. L. Tozier, Batavia ; Dr. J. W. 
Warner, Elba ; Dr. R. Williams, Le Roy ; and Dr. A. F. G. Zurhorst, Ala- 
bama. The delegate to the State Medical Society was Dr. A. P. Jack- 
son, of Oakfield. 



THE MEDICAL PROFESSION. 6$ 

The physicians from Genesee County who became prominent members 
of the New York State Society were, from Alexander: Dr. John R. Smith, 
elected in 1854. Batavia : Dr. Charles E. Ford, elected in 1852; Dr. 
John Cotes, elected in 1855 ; Dr. Levant B. Cotes, elected in i860; Dr. 
John Root, elected in 1864; and Dr. J. R. Cotes, elected in 1873. Ber- 
gen: Dr. M. W. Townsend, elected in 1869. Pavilion: Dr. Warren Fay, 
elected in 1858, and Dr. William B. Sprague, elected in 1874. After a 
feeble existence of two or three years Dr. B. A. Fuller, of Le Roy, then 
president of the society, called a special meeting July 27, 1887. Dr. 
E. C. Smith was chosen secretary. A resolution was offered which re- 
scinded so much of the old code of ethics as forbade the memberfe con- 
sulting with irregular practitioners. This was voted on and declared lost, 
and the meeting adjourned. Dr. Sprague then invited the physicians 
present to meet for the purpose of organizing a new society, as a volun- 
tary association, with no connection with any other society. This was 
agreed upon, and Drs. Sprague, Tozier, and Townsend were chosen as a 
committee to prepare a constitution and by-laws. This committee re- 
ported at a meeting held at Batavia, August 9, 1887, Dr. Fuller being 
chairman, and Dr. Wells, secretary. The report was adopted, and the 
new organization formed with the following officers: President, Dr. W. B. 
Sprague; vice-president. Dr. L. L. Tozier; secretary. Dr. W. L. Bol- 
ton ; treasurer, Dr. E. C. Smith. The meetings of the society are held 
in January and June, and several valuable papers have been read. At 
this time (1889) the same officers retain their positions. 

The following physicians filed their certificates in the county clerk's 

office at the dates opposite their names, but we can learn nothing more 

about them ; it is possible they may have resided in places not now 

within the limits of Genesee County : Dr. Jonah Brown, from Columbia 

County, 1813; Dr. Robert H. Henderson, from Washington, 181 3; Dr. 

Myron Orton, from Vermont, 18 14; and Dr. John W. Bronson, from 

Vermont, 18 14. 

ALABAMA. 

Dr. Flint L. Keyes joined the County Medical Society in 1829, Guy 
B. Shepard in 183 I, and Alexander H. Cox in 1839. Dr. Samuel C. Bate- 
man came to the town in 1846, and joined the society in 1859. He was 
killed by the cars at Sanborn, June 15, 1887. Dr. Pettibone came a few 
years after Dr. Batenjan, practiced awhile, and left. Dr. Townsend also 
practiced in Alabama about 1855, and went to Michigan. Another 
physician was Dr. Emery, who died in Batavia. Drs. Cox and Tyler 



64 GENESEE COUNTY. 



lived at South Alabama, and a Dr. Nelson Horning was in practice here 
a short time. Dr. Horning joined the Medical Society in 1866. He died 
from an overdose of aconite. Dr. William M. Wallis was a resident 
about 1870, and Dr. C. R. Pearce about 1872. 

ALEXANDER. 

Dr. Charles Chaffee came to Alexander (then a part of Batavia) in 
1 8 10. It is believed that he was the first physician in that town. A Dr. 
John Hall died there in 1812. We find no record of any other until Dr. 
Ammi R. R. Butler, who came from Stafford in 1823. He was for a time 
associated with Dr. Stephen Martin, about whom little is known. Dr. 
Butler, however, was in active practice nearly to the date of his death, 
which occurred at the residence of his daughter, in Buffalo, in 1858. He 
was an excellent physician, and an exemplary man. 

In 1835 Dr. Amos Walker, in 1837 ^^- Erasmus D. Baker, and in 
1839 Dr. Lemuel McAlpine practiced in Alexander. In i860 Dr. H. B. 
Miller became a member of the County Medical Society, and participated 
actively it its transactions, being its president in 1867. He removed to 
Johnsonsburg, Wyoming County, about 1868, and soon after died there. 

Dr. Isaac V. Mullen, formerly of Stafford, graduated from the Vermont 
Medical College in 1850. He served for four years in the war of the 
Rebellion, and in 1866 located in Alexander. Here he practiced 23 years, 
and removed to West Bethany, where he now resides. His son, Dr. John 
R. Mullen, is now at Alexander, and another son, Dr. I. T., was gradu- 
ated in 1884 at Buffalo, went to Stafford soon afterward, where he re- 
mained about six years, and removed to Oakfield, where he now prac- 
tices. 

BATAVIA. 

Our record gives the names of 46 physicians who formerly practiced 
here, but have died, or removed to other places. It is not at all likely 
we have them all, for some may have staid but a brief time, and left 
leaving no sign. It is believed, however, that those most conspicuous by 
reason of their skill and abilities have been remembered. 

In 1 80 1, the year previous to the formation of the town of Batavia, 
Dr. David McCracken came to " The J3end," as the little settlement on 
the Tonawanda Creek, now the village of Batavia, was then called. We 
have no account of his antecedents, but he was evidently a man of good 
standing in his profession. He moved to Rochester in 18 18. Dr. Asa 
McCracken is recorded in 1805. Whether this related to David is 



THE MEDICAL PROFESSION. 



65 

not known. Among the slain in the attack on Lewiston was Dr. Joseph 
Alvord, who was an early physician (about 1802) from Batavia. In 
1811 Dr. John Z. Ross was here. He died in 1826. In 1809 Dr. 
Ephraim Brown came in. He was quite prominent in medical matters, 
and practiced here until his death in 1826 or 1829. In 181 5 Dr. Orris 
Crosby, who died in 1862, and in 18 16 Drs. Charles S. Rumsey 
and Winter Hewitt, who died in 1824, are registered. Next came 
Dr. John Cotes, who was born in 1794, in Eastern New York. He 
studied medicine in Otsego County, and came to Batavia in 1 817. He 
soon formed a partnership with Dr. Ephraim Brown, above mentioned, 
whose sister he married two years later (18 19). After the death of Dr! 
Brown Dr. Cotes took as a partner Dr. Levant B. Cotes, his brother ; they 
were together two years, and he then formed a connection with William 
Seaver in the drug and medicine business. About this time he took Dr. 
Truman H. Woodruff as a partner in the practice of medicine. In 1830 he 
visited Europe, and spent more than a year studying in the schools and 
hospitals of London and Paris. On his return, in 183 i, he resumed his 
practice here in company with Dr. Woodruff, continuing the partnership 
until the latter's death. Then Dr. Holton Ganson became his part- 
ner, remaining with him until 1855. when Albert Cotes, his youngest 
son, engaged in business with him, for a short time only, and removed 
to the West. For 42 years he devoted himself ardently to his profession^ 
and died in 1859, at the age of 65 years. 

The year following the advent of Dr. Cotes Dr. James Avery Billings 
made his appearance in Batavia. He was the eldest son of Perez Bill- 
ings, of Saratoga County, N. Y., was born in 1795, received a good pre- 
liminary education, and was graduated from the University of New York 
in 181 8. He came to this county the same year, and purchased the land 
upon which he resided until his death. This was the first lot deeded by 
the Holland Land Co. He was a man of sound judgment, and of more 
than ordinary ability. Coming as he did to a new country, he was well 
prepared to sympathize with the early settlers in their varied condi- 
tions, their trials and privations, and he became their friend and neigh- 
bor. He was at one time a partner with Dr. Winter Hewitt, whose com- 
mg m 1 8 16 we have mentioned. He was a member of the Episcopal 
Church, a loyal supporter of the Democratic party, and one of its chosen 
leaders. He was twice married. His death occurred August 2, 1858, 
and at the next annual meeting of the Genesee County Medical Society 
Dr. R. Williams, of Le Roy, then president, delivered an able and well 
prepared eulogy upon him. 



(56 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Dr. Gilbert B. Champlin was here in 1821, Drs. Samuel Z. Ross and 
Amos Towne (died in 1832) in 1823, and in 1826 we are informed that 
Dr. H. Thomas delivered a Fourth of July oration. We know nothing 
more than this about him, but have no doubt his speech was a good one. 
Dr. E. A. -Bigelow was here the same year, and it may be heard Dr. 
Thomas's oration. The year following (1S27) Drs. Richard Dibble and 
C. l^radford were in company. Dr Bradford had been here previously, 
for in The People s Press, of August 20, 1825, we find an account of the 
.operation of bronchotomy performed by him shortly before. 

Dr. Charles E. Ford came in 1 826 and remained until his death in 
1848. He was also postmaster about 1844. In 1827 came Dr. L. B. 
Cotes. Wc copy from the Transactions o{ the New York State Medical 
Society for 1882 the following obituary notice: 

" Levant Ballard Cotes was born in the village of Springfield, Otsego County, N. Y., 
July 15, 1 801, of early English ancestry. His eariy education was under private tutors and 
at academies, principally Fairchild Academy, N. Y. He entered the College of Physicians 
and Surgeons, also located at Fairchild, Herkimer County, N. Y., where he graduated Jan- 
uary 21, 1826, his diploma bearing the distinguished names of Westel Willoughby, T. 
Romeyn Beck, and Jamas McNaughton. He settled in Batavia, after graduation, 
where, for upwards of 50 years he enjoyed a lucrative and successful practice, largely sur- 
gical and obstetrical. He was for more than half a century a member of Genesee County 
Medical Society, during which time he had occupied its several offices ; was a permanent 
member of the Medical Society of the State of New York, elected in i860; and of the 
American Medical Association, elected in 1856. He has contributed papers on medical 
subjects to the local and State societies, and also reports of cases, among the latter be- 
in"- one on Urethrocele, complicated with diseases of the bladder and kidneys. This 
•case was published in the Transactions for 1874. . . . He was curator of the 
medical department of the University of Buffalo for 25 years; was formerly postmaster 
of Batavia; and for the last 10 years of his life was U. S. examining surgeon for pen- 
sions. In 1827 he married Miss Eliza A. Ketcham, who died in 1872. Dr. Cotes con- 
tinued in the active practice of his profession until about four years prior to his death, 
when failing health warned him to relinquish the most laborious part of his duties ; he 
however, still gave the benefit of his large experience and wise judgment, in the way of 
consultations, up to very near his end, which came quietly and peacefully, at his resi- 
dence in Batavia, N. Y., September 11, 1880, its immediate cause being apoplexy. He' 
leaves two sons, the eldest. Dr. John R. Cotes, a physician of 30 years' experience, 
still continuing the practice of medicine at the family residence. [ Dr. J. R. Cotes has 
since died.] Dr. Cotes was a man respected by a large circle of acquaintances, and 
endeared to the community where he lived so long, as only a man can be who has min- 
istered tenderly and skillfully to the sufferings of his fellow-men for nearly two genera- 
tipns." 

In 1828 appeared Drs Jonathan Hurlburt and William H. Webster, 
G. B. Worthington, Esq., an old resident of Batavia, speaks highly of 
Dr. Webster. He practiced here 14 years and died in 1841. Dr. T. H. 



THE MEDICAL PROFESSION. 6/ 

Woodruff, whom we have previously mentioned as a partner of Dr. John 
Cotes, came in 1829, as also did Drs. Eleazer Bingham and Elihu Lee, 
who seem to have been partners at one time. Then in iS3oDrs. J. V. C. 
Teller and R. Belden ; in 1831 Dr. Zebulon Metcalf; in 1833 Dr. E. H. 
Rokewood; in 1834 Drs. S. P. Choate, C. V. N. Lent, E. Farnham, 
and A. F. Dodge, of none of whom can we find much information. Thus 
it is with the human family : they grow up, become active and useful, and 
pass away, many of them to fill unremembered graves. Many "mute, 
inglorious Miltons " of the medical profession have existed, and, it may 
be, will always exist, only to be soon forgotten. 

Dr. Holton Ganson came to Batavia in 1835. He was born in Le 
Roy in 18 10, was a member of the Ganson family of pioneers of that 
town, and received his early education there. We do not know 
where he obtained his medical education, but he went to Europe after 
several years of practice to complete it. He was, as we have seen, 
for -some 20 years a partner with Dr. John Cotes ; and the medical firm 
of " Cotes & Ganson " was known and honored throughout Western 
New York. Dr. Ganson made a specialty of surgery, and performed 
with much skill many of the most difficult operations of that department 
of practice. His practice was large and lucrative, but while still in the 
prime of active life he received an apoplectic stroke, from which he never 
fully recovered. He is known as having been the first to use chloroform 
as an anaesthetic in this region. By the terms of his will his whole 
estate was to be given to charitable objects in Batavia, viz. : $1,000 to 
each of the Christian churchy, and the remainder to a hospital to be 
afterwards established. Unfortunately the Doctor wrote his own will, 
and not being accustomed to that kind of business failed to comply with 
some legal requirements necessary to its validity. The will was set aside, 
and the property distributed according to law. There was in the will 
also a provision for the erection of a monument, at a cost of $550, to 
General Davis, of Le Roy, who was killed in the War of 1 8 1 2. His death 
occurred December i, 1875, from a second apoplectic seizure. 

From 1836 to 1854 there were in Batavia the following: in 1836 Dr. 
Z. S. Jackson; in 1838 Dr. Thomas E. Everett; in 1841 Dr. Caleb H. 
Austin; in 1842 Dr. W. B. Slosson ; in 1847 Dr. L. D. Stone; in 1848 
Dr. C. D. Griswold and Drs. Foote and Baker; and in 1854 Dr. Albert 
L. Cotes, who was in business with his father (Dr. J. Cotes) a short time, 
and then removed to the West. 

Dr. John Richard Cotes was born in Batavia in 1829. He obtained his 



68 GENESEE COUNTY. 



early education in the schools of that village, studied medicine with his 
father, Dr. Levant B. Cotes, and received his diploma from the Buffalo 
Medical College in 1850. He practiced in Batavia a little while, and 
went to Michigan, where he remained four years ; then returning he con- 
tinued in practice seven years until the breaking out of the war. He was 
surgeon of the 151st Regiment N. Y. Volunteers, served during the war, 
then came back to Batavia, where he enjoyed a good practice until his 
death in 1884. He was for many years secretary of the Genesee County 
Medical Society, was a prominent member of the New York State Medi- 
cal Society, was for four years physician to the Blind Institution, and was 
coroner of the county for one term. Dr. Cotes was a man of ripe 
scholarship in medicine, and a thorough and safe practitioner. Disdain- 
ing the petty artifices by which lesser men gain notoriety, he kept con- 
stantly in mind the honor and dignity of his profession, and observed in 
all respects its most trivial as well as its weightier obligations. In his in- 
tercourse with other physicians he was strictly honorable, and adhered at 
all times implicitly to the code of ethics, which should govern all regular 
physicians. He held no truce nor made any terms whatever wiih quack- 
ery either in or out of the profession. His death was occasioned by 
" Bright's disease " of the kidneys. 

Dr. John Root came to Batavia in 1856 or 1857. He was born in 
Sweden, Monroe County, in 1824, was educated in the schools of his 
native town, and was graduated at Union College in 1844. He studied 
medicine with Dr. Van Ingen, of Schenectady, and received his diploma 
from the Buffalo Medical College in 1850. He practiced awhile in Lock- 
port before settling in Batavia. He married Miss Margaret C. Billings, 
daughter of Dr. James A. Billings, and had five children, three of whom 
are now living. Dr. Root was for many years an active member of the 
Genesee County Medical Society, and contributed several papers at its 
meetings. He was scholarly and courteous, and a strict observer of pro- 
fessional etiquette. His death was from consumption, and occurred 
November 29, 1876. The committee which was appointed to draft reso- 
lutions concerning his death, in their report to the Medical Society, paid 
a most flattering though well deserved tribute to his worth as a physi- 
cian, and as a man. 

During the year 1859 Dr. J. Nolton died, aged 61 years. In 1867 
Dr. B. H. Benham came to Batavia from Honeoye Falls. He remained 
a few years, and returned to his former home. He was esteemed by his 
medical associates, and by the community. 



THE MEDICAL PROFESSION. 69 



Dr. Norris G. Clark came to Batavia in 1859. He was born at West 
Bloomfield, Ontario County, in March, 18 18, was educated there, and 
received his diploma from the University of Pennsylvania. He practiced 
awhile at Clarkson, Monroe County, also at Bloomfield, and came to 
Batavia to assist his brother, Dr. Oliver P. Clark, whose health had failed. 
The latter dying soon afterward left Dr. Clark deeply engaged in busi- 
ness. He had a large and profitable practice, which steadily increased 
until his last sickness. His death occurred July 22, 1876, and was suit- 
ably noticed at the next annual meeting of the county society, of which 
Dr. Clark was a member. 

Dr. John L. Curtis was born in Genesee County, and graduated at 
Philadelphia in 1855 or 1856. He practiced for a time at Elba, and then 
removed to Batavia. He advertised extensively in the newspapers and 
otherwise, sold proprietary medicines, and did some other things in vio- 
lation of the code of ethics of the American Medical Association, so that 
when, in June, 1870, he applied for admission to the county society his 
application was rejected. He applied to the Supreme Court for relief, 
and by a writ of mandaniiis issued by the court the society received him 
under protest in January, 1872. Charges were soon preferred against 
him, and he was expelled April 9, 1874, for " gross violation of the Code 
of Medical Ethics." He did a large business both in the sale of his medi- 
cines and by his practice, having at one time offices at Rochester and 
Buffalo, as well as at Batavia. He died June 5, 1880, of hemorrhage of 
the lungs. 

BERGEN. 

Our researches concerning the early medical history of this town have 
yielded but scanty results. When the town was formed, in 18 12, we 
learn that Dr. Levi Ward was in practice there, and his name appears 
upon the roll of the Genesee County Medical Society as early as 1805. 
The Transactions of the New York State Medical Society show that he 
was a delegate in 18 10. He was evidently a good deal of a man, and 
was recognized as an equal by those prominent in the profession all over 
the State. The Ward family seems to have been quite prominent among 
the pioneers as people of character and enterprise. Dr. Ward moved to 
Rochester about 18 17, where he died. 

Dr. Apollos P. Auger did business in Bergen in 18 18, and the records 

of the county society show no other physician from that town until 1826, 

when Dr. Eugene O. Donoghue joined that organization. He practiced 

here until his death in 1868. At the first meeting of the county society 

5 • • 



70 GENESEE COUNTY. 



after his death was announced a committee consisting of Drs. L. B. 
Cotes, Tovvnsend, and O. R. Croff reported resolutions concerning him, 
in which tribute was paid to his faithful membership of the society and 
of the profession, and " the courtesy, kindness, and affection manifested 
in all his professional intercourse, as well as in his private, social, and do- 
mestic life." These resolutions were unanimously adopted by the society, 
and published in the local papers. 

In 1836 Dr. Thomas M. Hendry appears to have been in Bergen, but 
how long a time he remained we are not informed. 

Dr. Levi Fay is registered in 1840. He was president of the Genesee 
County Medical Society in 1853, and excepting those physicians now in 
practice, with whom this chapter has nothing to do, no other name 
appears until 1868, when Dr. M. J. Munger joined the society. He 
atteneded the meetings for a few years, and then appeared no more. His 
residence was at North Bergen. 

In 1868 there were in Bergen Drs. R. Andrews, M. B. Gage, and R. 
Gay, none of whom joined the county society, and we do not know their 
present whereabouts. Dr. Andrews advertised as a cancer doctor. Drs. 
Gilbert Churchill, R. Gay, and Orrin Lee are also mentioned as having 
practiced at some time. 

BETHANY. 

In 1 813 Dr. Benjamin Packard, of Bethany, wa.s elected a member ot 
the Genesee Coirnty Medical Society. As the town was organized the 
previous year he may justly be called the pioneer physician. In 18 16 
Dr. Daniel Spalding and in 1817 Dr. Daniel Rumsey appeared, and in 
18 18 Dr. Jonathan K. Barlow's name is recorded. It is a somewhat sin- 
gular circumstance that in the reports of the Genesee County Medical! 
Society to the New York State Medical Society from 1825 to 1841, in 
each of which the names of the officers are given, Dr. Bai low's name 
is not given twice alike. It is always Dr. Barlow of Bethany ; but it is 
sometimes James Barlow ; next Jotham K. Barlow, again Jonathan A. 
Barlow, etc., etc. It seems that the secretary either of the county society, 
or that of the State, thought with the late Josh Billings, " that it was n't 
much of a man who could n't spell a word but one way." Dr. Barlow 
stood well in the profession, was a man of scientific attainments, and 
somewhere in " the forties " procured the necessary apparatus and went 
about lecturing upon electricity. He explained the magnetic telegraph, 
thunder storms, etc., and gave his audiences an opportunity to be shocked. 
We have no record of him later than 1850 or 185 i. It is believed that 



THE MEDICAL PROFESSION. 



71 



he resided and practiced in Bethany more than 30 years. In 1819 Dr. 
Beriah Douglas was in Bethany. We suppose him to have been the 
same Dr. Douglas who practiced in Le Roy for a time. Dr. William W. 
Markham came in 1829, Dr. Theodore C. Hurd in 1835, and another 
Dr. Hurd (William P.) in 1837. At East Bethany there was for a time 
Dr. Loomis, and at Linden Dr. John G. Meachern, who afterwards re- 
moved to Warsaw, and Dr. John Howard. Old residents speak also of 
a Dr. Alden, at one time partner of Dr. J. K. Barlow, at Bethany Center. 

BYRON. 

Prior to the formation, in 1820, of this town there were residing within 
its present limits in 181 2 Dr. Silas Taylor, and in 1813 Dr. Samuel Tag- 
gart. Of them we know nothing but their names. In 1821 Dr. Oliver 
Hulett is recorded, and in 1828 Dr. Landon D. Woodruff. 

The town of Byron must have been a very healthy place of residence, 
for no other physician is mentioned as having come there until 1840, when 
Dr. Emery made his appearance. Sanford Emery, M. D., was born in 
Vermont, was graduated from the Burlington Medical College in 1838, 
removed to Byron in 1840, and practiced there about 30 years. He then 
went to Alabama, doing business there a short time, thence to the north- 
ern part of Batavia, where he remained until his death in 1880. He mar- 
ried, first, Elizabeth Warner; his second wife was Chloe Beebee, of By- 
ron. He had four children by his first marriage, and three by the sec- 
ond. 

Dr. J. D. Fowler was a son of Deacon David J. Fowler, one of the pio- 
neer settlers of Covington, Wyoming County. He studied medicine with 
his brother-in-law. Dr. Eben Warner, was graduated, and began the prac- 
tice of his profession in Byron. He became a member of the Genesee 
County Medical Society in 1841, and died two years later from the poi- 
son received in 2. post mortem examination. He was a young man of great 
promise, and his early death was much regretted by all who knew him. 

Dr. Appleton W. Billings was born in Barre, N. Y., in 1821. When 24 
years of age he commenced to study medicine with Dr. Willard Eaton, 
of Orleans County, and was with him six years. In 1851 he settled to 
practice his profession at South Byron, and located where he now resides. 
Until 1888 he faithfully and successfully administered to the sick and 
afflicted, and is now on the retired list as much as his old patrons will 
permit him. He married, in 185 1, Mi.ss Lavina T. Thatcher, of Orleans 
County, and they have had seven children. Their son Charles and daugh- 
ter Hattie reside near their parents. 



72 GENESEE COUNTY. 



In 1846 Homer P. Smith, M. D., resided in Byron, and in 1852 Dr. C. C. 
F. Gay recorded his name on the secretary's book of the Genesee County 
Medical Society. Dr. Gay was born at Pittsfield, Berkshire County, 
Mass., January 7, 182 1. While a mere lad his parents removed to Leb- 
anon Springs, Columbia County, N. Y. His early education was received 
at the schools of that vicinity, and at the Collegiate Institute at Biock- 
port, N. Y. In 1844 he began the study of medicine under the precep- 
torship of Dr. Joseph Bates, of Lebanon Springs. He attended lectures 
at Woodstock, Vt., and also at the Berkshire Medical College, Massa- 
chusetts, from which he was graduated in 1846. He took a course of 
lectures at the Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, after his gradua- 
tion. He began practice at Bennington, Vt., and afterward removed to 
Byron, this county. His success here was good, but he desired enlarged 
opportunities, and in 1853 removed to Buffalo, where he remained until 
his death. Here he advanced rapidly in professional esteem, and soon 
took a leading position. He was for many years surgeon to the Buffalo 
■General Hospital, was a prominent member of the Erie County Medical 
Society, and of the Buffalo Medical and Surgical Association. He was 
also a permanent member of the New York State Medical Society, and 
of the American Medical Association. During the last war he was sur- 
geon in charge of Fort Porter. In 1883 he was appointed professor of 
operative and clinical surgery at Niagara University, Buffalo. Aside 
from his knowledge of medicine Dr. Gay was an ardent student of the 
natural sciences, botany being his favorite branch. He died at Buffalo, 
March 27, 1887. 

About 1864 Dr. Earl B. Lounsbury came from East Pembro]<£ to By- 
ron. He was here more than 10 years, when he removed to the West, 
where, after a further service of ii years, he died. During Dr. Louns- 
bury's membership of the county society he was one of its most faithful 
members. He made several reports of cases, participated actively in its 
discussions, and was loyal to its requirements. His wife was Miss F. M. ! 
Rumsey, of Bethany. 

Dr. A. C. Hall, of South Byron, and Dr. Lafayette Carpenter, of By- 
ron Center, are mentioned, but we have no knowledge of the time of their 
residence here. 

In 1873 Dr. B. A. Fuller located at Byron Center, and at about the 
same time Dr. George U. Gleason was at South Byron. Dr. Fuller re- 
moved to Le Roy shortly after the death of his father (Dr. A. W. Fuller) 
in 1877, where he now resides. 



THE MEDICAL PROFESSION. 73 



In the year 1868 there were also in Byron (so it is said) Drs. Joseph C. 
Walker and A. W. Billings. 

DARIEN. 

The physicians of this town have been James E. Seaver, 1 8 1 7 ; William 
P. Harris, 1829; Erastus Cross, 1830; John M. Harrington, 1832 ; Isaiah 
Rano, 1836; and E. W. Marsh, 1870. Other information concerning a 
few early physicians may be obtained by referring to the history of the 
town. 

ELBA. 

In the year 1823 Dr. Amasa Briggs had " a local habitation and a 
name " in the then new town of Elba. He is supposed to have been the 
first physician in the place, although some claim priority for a Dr. Wood- 
ward, of whom we can learn nothing. In 1829 Dr. Benedict practiced 
there, and in 1830 Dr. J. A. Campbell. Soon after this time Dr. Jonas S. 
Billings came to Elba. He joined the County Medical Society in 1833, 
usually attended its meetings, and participated in its discussions. The 
last meeting he attended was in June, 1869; and we believe his death 
occurred soon after. Dr. Francis Smiley died at Elba in 1843, aged 86 
years. We have no details of his residence there. In 1831 Dr. James 
H. Smith is registered, and in 1841 Dr. E. B. Benedict. We do not know 
whether this is the same Dr. Benedict previously mentioned or not; if so, 
he was somewhat dilatory in joining the county society. 

We do not know of any other physicians of Elba excepting those now 

there. 

LE ROY. 

The first physician inhabiting the present town of Le Roy (then Cale- 
donia) was Dr. William Coe, who came in the year 1803. In 1814 he 
lived on the farm now owned by Mr. Osborn, west of the village. He 
had the reputation of being an honest, worthy man, and a good physi- 
cian. 

Dr. Ella G. Smith was here in 1805, and Dr. Fred Fitch moved in in 
1808. He stood well in the profession, and was very stirring and enter- 
prising. He raised a company of artillery, of which he became captain. 
While attending with his company a "training" at Stafford he was 
wounded accidentally in the leg, and suffered amputation in conse- 
quence. He built the house where Rev. Samuel Bowden now lives, and 
also one formerly occupied by R. L. Lawson. We cannot ascertain the 
date of his death. 



74 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Dr. William Sheldon rode into Le Roy on horseback one evening in 
1810, and stopped at the famous " Garnson tavern," where ,is now the 
residence of H. H. Olmsted. He was looking for a place to practice, and 
had with him all his earthly possessions, consisting of his horse, saddle and 
bridle, a pair of saddle-bags, containing a small stock of medicines, with a 
lancet, and turnkey for extracting teeth. He had ridden from Benning- 
ton, Vt., and was wearied with his long journey, and nearly penniless. He, 
however, turned his horse out to grass, made a supper of bread and milk, 
and went to bed hoping something might turn up to enable him to pay 
his bill in the morning. Fortunately for him Mrs. Ganson was taken 
quite ill during the night, and the young M. D. was called up to pre- 
scribe. His efiforts were quite successful, and as there was a good deal of 
sickness in the settlement, and no physician, he was urged by the neigh- 
bors to remain there. This he did, and for many years enjoyed an act- 
ive and lucrative practice. During the War of 181 2 he was for a time 
■captain of a militia company, but afterwards became surgeon and aid-de- 
camp upon the staff of General Davis, and was near him when he was 
killed. He participated in seven battles ; was taken prisoner at Black 
Rock, and carried to Montreal, where he remained for about six months, 
being discharged in May, 1814. He filled, with much credit, several 
positions of responsibility, serving as county sheriff two terms. 
• In June, 1871, Dr. Sheldon, by invitation of the writer, attended the 
•annual meeting of the Genesee County Medical Society. We quote from 
the secretary's report the following: 

" Dr. Sheldon, from Le Roy, one of the pioneers of the society, now old and feeble, 
whose membership dates back to 1810, by invitation proceeded to make a few remarks 
•concerning the early days of the society. He spoke of the progress made in medicine and 
surgery since he had ceased to be an active practitioner, and of many other things rela- 
ting to medicine, which were very interesting, and were listened to with great pleasure." 

Dr. Sheldon died in January, 1874. 

Dr. Chauncey P. Smith came in in 18 14. He lived for a time on the 
Woodward farm north of the village, and afterwards built the stone house, 
on Lake street, now occupied by S. Loucks. A popular and hard work- 
ing man, he saved a large property during the quarter century he prac- 
ticed here, but investing it in the drug business in company with a dis- 
honest partner, he lost nearly all. His friends made him comfortable in 
his old age, until his mental powers gave way from brain disease, and he 
died in the alms house. 

Dr. Elizur Butler, of Le Roy, joined the Genesee County Medical So- 
ciety in 18 16, but we can find nothing more about him. 



THE MEDICAL PROFESSION. 



75 



Dr. Ezekiel Kelsey, born in Greenfield, Saratoga County, N. Y., in 
1 80 1, came to the Genesee country with his father about 18 17, settling 
one mile south of Le Roy. He taught school a number of years, then 
studied for a physician, and opened up an office about 1830, and con- 
tinued a very successful practice till his death in 1840. He was buried 
in what is known as the Van Allen Cemetery 

In 18 1 8 Dr. Lakey moved to Le Roy. He is described as being an 
active and intelligent practitioner, and with a remarkable memory for in- 
cidents. He staid a few years, and went to Palmyra, N. Y. 

Dr. Edmund Barnes resided here at about the same time. He married 
a sister of Henry Olmsted. He built the house just east of Mrs. Bis- 
sell's, on West Main street, and died there a few years later. His widow 
afterwards married Dr. Chauncey Smith, before mentioned. 

In March, 18 19, Dr. Stephen O. Almy received a license to practice 
from the board of censors of Genesee County, and began business with 
Dr. Fitch, his preceptor. Dr. Almy was born in Sterling, Conn., June 
18, 1798. His parents soon afterward removed to Vermont, then to Sar- 
atoga County, N. Y., and finally to the present town of Pavilion. While 
still a lad he spent his summers in clearing off timber, and his winters in 
teaching school. During the summer of 18 15 he cleared off 10 acres of 
land where Roanoke village now stands. After one year's partnership 
with Dr. Fitch he bought out his little drug store, and went twice on foot 
to Albany to purchase drugs. In 1821 he attended medical lectures at 
Yale College, and received a diploma from that institution. In 1823 he 
married Maria B. Brown, and built a cottage where Ingham University 
now stands. After about 15 years of active practice he engaged in the 
lumber business at Clean, in company with Herman Le Roy, sons, and 
grandsons. He remained at Clean until 1841, when he removed to Cin- 
cinnati and engaged still more extensively in the lumber trade. This 
lasted but a short time, for his many friends, knowing his professional 
skill, urged him so strongly to resume practice that he finally consented 
to do so. He practiced about eight years, when his health failed, and 
forming a partnership with Dr. Alfred Wilcox, a former medical associ- 
ate in Le Roy, engaged in a private banking business. The financial 
crash of 1854 nearly ruined them, and Dr. Almy returned to medicine 
agam. He was in Buffalo during 1855 and 1856, and the writer, then a 
student, remembers well his cheerful face and pleasant smile. He soon 
returned to Cincinnati, and practiced there until 1866, when the death of 
his wife, followed soon after by that of his daughter, broke up his house- 



"J^ GENESEE COUNTY. 



hold, and as soon as he could settle up matters he returned to Le Roy 
with the intention of spending the remnant of his days there. In Sep- 
tember, 1869, he was attacked with apoplexy, resulting in hemiplegiay or 
paralysis of one side. He lived after this a little more than seven years, 
in an entirely helpless condition, being an inmate of the home of the late 
S. C. Kelsey. His death occurred January 2, 1877. ^^ quote the fol- 
lowing from a notice of his death which appeared in one of the Le Roy 
newspapers : 

" No man ever enjoyed a fuller measure of popular esteem and affection than did Dr. 
Almy. He was every man's friend, every man's helper. He had a word of good 
counsel and cheer for all, and smiles of approval for all who needed them." 

Dr. Benjamin Hill, a native of Guilford, Conn., was born April 15, 
1765. In 1788 he studied medicine with Dr. Cone, of Pittsfield, Mass. 
He practiced in Klllingworth, Conn., about 40 years. In 1808 he came 
to Le Roy on horseback, and bought 448 acres of land. In 18 19 his son 
Albert came out and began clearing the land. In 1826 Dr. Hill came 
again, and in 1828 he brought his family, locating on 160 acres of an ad- 
ditional purchase, residing there until his death in April, 1849, at Pa- 
vilion. His practice in Connecticut was very extensive, but limited in 
this county. Being contemporary with Dr. Sheldon and others he was 
often called as counsel. He was a self-made man, and respected by all 
his friends and neighbors. 

Of Drs. B. Douglas, who was in Le Roy in 1819 or 1820; Warren A. 
Cowdery, 1820; Daniel Woodward, 1823; and Nicholas D. Gardner, 1828, 
we can find nothing more than the record of their names. Dr. Douglas, 
it is believed, went to Bethany. 

In 1830 Dr. Alfred Wilcox, after two years' practice in Pennsylvania, 
took up his abude here. He was a partner with Dr. Almy, Dr. Pratt, 
and others during the 20 years he resided here. He resumed partner- 
ship with Dr. Almy in Cincinnati, as before mentioned. His health fail- 
ing he went to California and died there. 

Dr. John Codman came to Le Roy when quite young, followed teach- 
ing awhile, and studied medicine with Dr. Almy. He practiced here 
from 1836 to 1840, then removed to Adrian, Mich., and after 10 years to 
Kalamazoo, where he died in 1870, aged 73. He was an excellent phy- 
sician, a consistent Christian, and a pronounced temperance man. 

In 1830 appears the name of Dr. Prescott Lawrence. He had the 
faculty of winning the confidence of his patrons in a very marked degree. 
He lived but a few years and died here. Of Drs. Graham Fitch and 



THE MEDICAL PROFESSION. ^^ jj 



William A. Amy, who resided here in 1830-31, no record except their 
names is found. 

The year 1834 brought to Le Roy Dr. Charles Smith, younger 
brother of Chauncey Smith, and Dr. Ezekiel Kelsey. The latter died 
after a few years. Like many others he taught school to enable him to 
pursue his medical studies. 

Dr. Caleb H. Austin was here from 1836 to 1840. Dr. Benjamin Bliss 
also commenced business here in 1836. He built a house on the present 
site of Mrs. Barrett's, and followed his calling acceptably to the people 
until near his death, which took place in 1843. 

Dr. Almond Pratt came in 1837. ^^ staid about 15 years, when he 
removed to Palmyra, and thence to Rochester, where he died. 

In 1840 Dr. Joseph Tozier came to Le Roy. He had practiced pre- 
viously in York, Livingston County. He removed in 1845 to Clarkson, 
Monroe County, where he died, after many years of successful practice, 
respected by all who knew him. His son. Dr. L. L. Tozier, has been for 
many years the leading physician of Batavia. 

In 1 84 1 Dr. D. C. Chamberlain made his appearance in Le Roy, where 
he remained 37 years. We cannot do better than copy a letter written 
to the present writer by Dr. Chamberlain, in response to some inquiries 
addressed him concerning his life, etc., omitting some paragraphs of a 
purely personal character : 

"■Dear Sir: I am in receipt of yours of the 30th ult., and in answer thereto 
would say : I was born of American parents (emigrants from Vermont), in the parish 
of Mascouche, in the then province of Lower Canada, now called ' Quebec,' and first saw 
the light of day January 8, 1815, the day ' Old Hickory ' fought the battle of New Orleans, 
and at the age of eight was sent from the paternal roof to be brought up under the care 
of a maternal aunt residing in Hubbardton, Rutland County, Vt. Here I passed through 
boyhood into early manhood, acquiring as good a preparatory education as straitened 
circumstances and opportunities would allow. In 1833 commenced the study of medi- 
cine under the instruction, and with the aid, of Dr. Charles W. Horton, in Sudbury, Vt., 
and after three courses of lectures in the Vermont Academy of Medicine was graduated 
in November, 1837. 

"I commenced practice in Cuttingsville, Rutland County, Vt., in July, 1838, and re- 
mained there until January, 1840 ; then 'struck tent,' and took a private course of lect- 
ures on anatomy and surgery at Castleton under instruction of the late Prof Robert 
Nelson, the Canadian patriot and refugee. Soon after, the health of my old preceptor 
failing, I became associated with him in practice at Sudbury, Vt., and there remained 
until 1841, when I again packed up for a move, having in mind this time the 'Genesee 
country,' which was then regarded as quite away West. After debating the pros and 
cons between Le Roy and Warsaw— the latter place having just been designated by the 
commissioner appointed as the site of the county buildings of the newly-organized 
county of Wyoming— I made a choice of Le Roy as my future field of ^labor, and in 



78 ^ GENESEE COUNTY. 



July, 1841, hung out a doctor's 'shingle ' and inserted a card in the Le Roy Gazette. I 
was received as a member of the Genesee County Medical Society at its annual meet- 
ing in January, 1842. 

" For further details of my career in Le Roy I would respectfully refer you to the old 
inhabitants of that town, adding only that I left Le Roy in September, 1878, since 
which time I have enjoyed all the blessings and comforts that human life can expect ; 
— more perhaps than I deserve, — but I enjoy them all the same. 

" As to the practice of our noble profession, I have been egotistical enough to regard 
whatever I have done or may do in that line as more of a favor to others than to my- 
self 

" The old partaker of my joys and soother of my sorrows has gone down the hill of 
life, and sleeps at the foot in Machpelah Cemetery, and I am now also moving down, 
and by and by we both shall ' sleep thegither at the foot,' like good, old 'John Ander- 
son, my Jo.' 

" As regards my military service, I was engaged and interested in 1861, during the 
fall, in enlisting and recruiting men for the suppression of the Rebellion ; was.examining 
surgeon of the recruits that were brought to Le Roy to form the regiment that was 
finally organized and mustered into the United States service as the 105th Regiment, 
N. Y. Inf. Vols., and was commissioned as its surgeon. I went with it to the field, and 
to the front. We were always in the ' Army of the Potomac' I continued my con- 
nection with it until the expiration of my commission, March 26, 1865, and not relish- 
ing a falling from a senior to a junior rank, which would occur in case of new com- 
missions, remained an independent volunteer until Lee's surrender at Appomattox." 

This concludes what we wish to publish of Dr. Chamberlain's letter, 
and inaddition we can most heartily say that no physician of our ac- 
quaintance ever was so universally respected and esteemed as was he. 
During his 37 years of practice in Le Roy he devoted himself entirely to 
his patients, and in attending so carefully to their interests greatly neg- 
lected his own, so that, although doing a large business, he never accum- 
ulated much property. He is now in receipt of a pension, which is suf- 
ficient for his needs, and a seat of honor and a warm welcome always 
await his acceptance in the homes of all his old friends. When, in the 
years 1852 and 1853, typhoid fever prevailed so extensively in and about 
Le Roy, Dr. Chamberlain was one of the first physicians to substitute the 
supporting treatment for the bleeding and purging plan previously in use. 
He gained a well deserved reputation in the treatment of this disease, and 
was called often in consultation to neighboring towns. 

The Doctor says in his letter that he left Le Roy in September, 1878, 
but he says nothing of the farewell banquet given in his honor by his fel- 
low physicians of Genesee County at the residence of Dr. Cleveland, in 
Le Roy, and the presentation to him of a silver tea set. On this occasion 
Dr. S. Barrett, a neii;hbor and professional friend of many years stand- 
ing, made the presentation speech, in the course of which he referred to 



THE MEDICAL PROFESSION. 79 

a time when Dr. Moses Barrett and Dr. Chamberlain occupied adjoining 
houses, and they were wont to sit with their families of a summer evening 
upon the back piazzas. Dr. Barrett played the violin, and Dr. Chamber- 
lain was somewhat terpsichorally inclined, which gave rise to a couplet 
well known in those days : 

" Moses and David were neighbors by chance ; 
Moses did fiddle for David to dance." 

In 1842 Dr. Moses Barrett (mentioned above) settled in Le Roy. He 
was a man of superior scholaiship in his profession and out of it ; fond of 
the study of the sciences, and deeply interested in matters relating to the 
education of the young. He remained here eight years, then went to 
Wisconsin, and was appointed superintendent of the State Reform School. 
He was afterward' elected to the chair of chemistry and natural science in 
the college at Ripon. He died there soon after, aged 58. 

In 1 849 came Dr. G. Taber, and in 1 850 Dr. Solomon Barrett. Dr. Bar- 
rett was born at Rowe, Mass., February 23, 18 10, received his medical 
education at Berkshire (Mass.) Medical College, and was graduated from 
that institution in 1833. ^^ practiced in Buffalo for some time before 
removing to Le Roy. His specialty was surgery, and he made most 
of the operations known to that science. The Taliacotian operation 
for making a new nose was performed by him; also nearly all those 
pertaining to the eye. He had at one time an eye infirmary at Le Roy. 
He became nearly blind in his latter years, and died at Le Roy, February 
3, 1884. Dr. Barrett was an industrious student, and a very skillful oper- 
ator. He was also a sincere Christian. 

In 1856 Dr. Chauncey M. Smith began medical practice. He was a 
student of Dr. S. Barrett, and was for a time partner with Dr. Chamber- 
lain. He was, in his younger days, a school teacher, and became town 
superintendent of schools under the old law. He was possessed of a good 
medical education, and being personally quite popular soon acquired a 
large practice. He died of typhoid fever in 1864. 

In 1864 Dr. Asa W. Fuller made his appearance among LeRoy phy- 
sicians. Mature in years, with long experience in practice, he at once 
gained a large clientage. He was born in the town of Lisbon, Conn., in 
July, 1817, and after having obtained a thorough preliminary education 
commenced the study of medicine. This he continued until he was grad- 
uated from the medical department of Yale College, New Haven, Conn. 
He was married in 1839, and soon after removed to the State of Rhode 
Island, where he practiced his profession for nine years, thence removing 



So GENESEE COUNTY. 



to the town of Middlebury, Wyoming County, N. Y., where he had a suc- 
cessful practice of 14 years, until 1864, when, against the wishes of the 
whole community, he removed with his family to Le Roy, and entered at 
once upon an extensive practice, to which he devoted his whole time and 
talent, with a determination to overcome all obstacles, and giving excel- 
lent satisfaction to his patrons. For the last 13 years of his life, and up 
to the day of his death, he well sustained in Le Roy the reputation of a 
faithful, honest, and skillful physician, a genial companion, and a true 
and tried friend. His death occurred on January 29, 1877. 

Dr. O. P. Barber became a member of the Genesee County Medical 
Society in 1870. He studied medicine with Dr. S. Barrett (whose daugh- 
ter he afterward married), practiced a short time in Le Roy, and removed 
to Michigan. 

Dr. George Emerson was a student, and afterwards a partner, of Dr. 
Chamberlain, remained in Le Roy a few )/ears, and went West — we think 
to Nebraska — in the year 1878. Dr. Emerson made many friends in 
Le Roy, and did a good business while there. 

Dr. George McNaughton came to Le Roy in 1880, but remained a short 
time, and removed to Brooklyn, where, we believe, he still remains. He 
was a student of Dr. Menzie, of Caledonia, and was a very promising 
young man. 

There have been several homeopaths and eclectics in Le Roy at dif- 
ferent times, but we can find out but little concerning them. Dr. Gage, 
one of the former class, was there for some time between i860 and 1870, 
then removed to the South, and, we believe, died there. It is possible 
that the names of some early practitioners have been omitted, but any one 
will recognize the difficulty of finding out about people who died 60 or 
70 years ago. 

OAKFIELD. 

^ Dr. Andrew Thompson was in Oakfield as early as 1830, at which 
date he became a member of the County Medical Society. No other 
physician's name appears upon the roll, from this town, until 1841, when 
Dr. Horace Clark is recorded. He removed to Bergen in 1876, and died 
at that place. It is said that as early as 18 14 Dr. A. Thompson was liv- 
ing within the present limits of the town, and a Dr. Garret Davis is also 
mentioned, but no definite accounts of either have been obtained. Dr. 
William Pardee was in Oakfield in 1868, and for a few years afterward 
until his death, in 1884, by consumption. He was for a time partner with 
Dr. A. P. Jackson. He graduated from the Buffalo Medical College. 



THE MEDICAL PROFESSION. 8 1 



PAVILION. 

When, in the year 1841, the town of Pavihon was formed there were 
within its present limits in practice Dr. Warren Fay and Dr. Abel Ten- 
nant. Dr. Fay was at the village of Pavilion, where he had resided for 
many years, and Dr. Tennant was at South Le Roy, which became, by 
the organization of the new town, Pavilion Center. 

Dr. Fay was born at Walpole, N. H., in 1797. He received a good 
common school education, was for some time a school teacher, and fi- 
nally studied medicine under the tutelage of Dr. Daniel White, who seems 
to have been a prominent practitioner in those early days. He attended 
lectures at the Castleton (Vt.) Medical Academy, received a diploma 
from the Livingston County (N. Y.) Medical Society, June 24, 1823, 
signed by Caleb Chapin, president, and coming to Pavilion soon after 
began an active practice, which continued for a full half century. He 
was what is now called a " heroic practitioner," using the lancet very 
freely, and giving large doses of colomel and jalap. He achieved both 
fame and fortune, and died February 18, 1875. 

" A. Tennant, Botanist," as the sign upon his office read, was a native 
of Connecticut, but where he received his education we have been un- 
able to ascertain. He believed that in the plants which nature provides 
there are all the remedies needful for the cure of disease. He began 
practice about 181 2, and continued it until blindness and rheumatism 
compelled him to abandon it, some 40 years afterward. He published a 
work called Tennaiif s Botany, in 1837. This was printed at Batavia by 
D. D. Waite, for many years editor of the Republican Advocate. Dr. 
Tennant, while in his prime, had a large practice, and an excellent repu- 
tation for skill and success. He removed to Pennsylvania in 1856, and 
died soon after. 

In 1842 Dr. S. C. Upson came to Pavilion. He was born in Bristol, 
Conn., March 29, 1792. He received his diploma at Hartford, Conn, in 
18 1 6, commenced practice at Fabius, N. Y., and remained there until his 
removal to Pavilion. He lived here about four years and removed to 
Nunda, Livingston County, where he died April 20, 1 889. Dr. Upson was 
emphatically a gentleman of the old school, extremely affable, poh'te, and 
kind hearted. He is remembered with affection by many of our old res- 
idents. At one time he made and sold a preparation known as Upson's 
dandelion syrup, which had a great deal of popularity. 

Somewhere about these times Dr. Ira Webb, a root doctor from Ver- 



I 



82 GENESEE COUNTY. 



mont, came to Pavilion. He remained a year or two and went to Le 
Roy. We have not been able to learn much about him, although his 
syrups were considered very useful by many people. 

In 1849 Dr. William M. Sprague resumed the practice which he had 
previously given up to engage in other business. He was born in New 
Marlborough, Mass., in 1803, and came to Covington with his father in 
18 1 2. He attended school at Middlebury Academy, then a noted insti- 
tution of learning, studied medicine with Drs. Daniel White and Warren 
Fay, attended medical lectures at Pittsfield, Mass., and received his 
diploma from the Genesee County Medical Society, John Cotes, presi- 
dent, March 9, 1829. He practiced about three years, and then formed 
a partnership with his three brothers in the mercantile, milling, and farm- 
ing business, which was dissolved in the year above mentioned. During 
his absence from practice he was postmaster, justice of the peace, and 
Sessions justice, and was regarded as one of the best informed politicians 
of the vicinity as well as an excellent general scholar. He died August 
28, 1868, and it is probable no man's death was more generally mourned 
by all his acquaintances than was his. His professional services, as well 
as his friendly counsel, were highly valued by all who knew him. 

Some time during the year 1867 Dr. Charles Morgan, a young physi- 
cian, came to Pavilion. He remained but a short time, and removed to 
Mount Morris, Livingston County. He is spoken of as a promising 
young man. 

It is supposed that about the usual number of traveling quacks have 
visited Pavilion, and made money out of the credulous and weak-minded 
people who believe in such things, but none of them are worthy of rec- 
ord, and we have given all we could ascertain concerning the respect- 
able medical men who lived and practiced here. 

PEMBROKE. 

Dr. Abijah W. Stoddard was the pioneer medical man of Pem- 
broke. He studied medicine with Dr. Sill, of Hartford, Washington 
County, N. Y., and soon after receiving his diploma came to Pembroke 
(then Batavia). This was in 18 10 or 181 1. He located where the vil- 
lage of Corfp has since been built, and commenced practice among the 
first settlers of the surrounding country. He continued in business here i 
until about 1854 or 1855, when he removed to Milwaukee, Wis., where ; 
he died at the home of a friend, in i860. In the course of his long prac, i 
tice in Pembroke and surrounding towns he accumulated a fair fortune- I 
which was absorbed by his son's business in Rochester. 
■ 



THE MEDICAL PROFESSION. 8$ 



111 1820 Dr. Elihu Lee was practicing in Pembroke; in 1830 Dr. 
Aaron Long was registered as residing in Corfu ; but previous to this 
Dr. David Long, with his brother John, had come in as early as 1808, 
and gave the name Long's Corners to the settlement now called Corfu. 
Dr. Long resided for many years in a house occupying the site of Dr. 
Crane's present residence, just north of the principal four corners of the 
village. He is spoken of as a man of energy and enterprise. 

In 1 83 1 Dr. Alanson Owen was in business at Richville, and during 
the same year somewhere in the town were. Drs. J. S. Dodge, James S. 
Grout, and Barton Streeter. 

In 1833 William E. Brown practiced at East Pembroke; in 1840 Dr. 
Samuel S. Knight, of Pembroke, joined the County Medical Society; and 
we find no further mention of physicians coming into the town until 
1864, when Dr. Isaiah Rano came from Darien, and remained until his 
death, in May, 1880. 

Sometime in the year 1864 Dr. John Durboraw came in, and lived 
here two or three years. 

Dr. Earl B. Lounsbury was born in the town of Alexander in 1838, 
was graduated from the Buffalo Medical College, and began practice at 
East Pembroke in 1864. He remained about one and one-half years, 
and then removed to Byron Center. 

In 1867 Dr. L. B. Parmelee was practicing at East Pembroke. He 
remained a few years, went to Rochester for a short time, and thence to 
Batavia, where he. still resides. 

It is believed that Dr. A. G. Ellinwood, now of Attica, was located 
for a short time at East Pembroke, — probably about i860, — but this is 
uncertain. 

In 1868 Dr. Joshua W. Read came to Corfu. He was born in Bata- 
via in 1837. He was a graduate of the State Normal School at Albany, 
and taught school at Peekskill four years. He studied medicine at that 
place with Dr. Knight, graduated in 1866, practiced at Bloomington, 111., 
two years, and then removed to Corfu. After remaining two years he 
went to Newark, N. J., where he still remains. 

In 1868 Dr. H. W. Cobb was at Indian Falls, but soon removed to the 
West. Dr. George H. Norton practiced at East Pembroke from 1868 
until his death, in 1874 or 1875. A Dr. Lund, now of Medina, N. Y., 
was at one time in Pembroke. 

There have been at different times in Pembroke homeopathic physi- 
cians, but none of them seem to have remained long, and we hear only 
of Drs. Scott and MacPherson. 



84 GENESEE COUNTY. 



In 1869 Dr. Absalom Billington was in Corfu. He remained but a 
short time, and we cannot ascertain where he werrt. 

Dr. Albert Crawford moved to Corfu in 1871. He was born in Da- 
rien in 1841, studied medicine with Dr. Milton E. Potter, and received 
his diploma from the Buffalo Medical College in 1862. He commenced 
practice at Cairo, 111., and remained there until his removal to Corfu. 
He was here 10 years, and then sold out to Dr. William Parker and 
went to Buffalo, where he still resides. 

Dr Parker was born at Clarence, Erie County. He was graduated at 
Buffalo in 1880, came to Corfu soon after, remained but a short time, 
then spent one year in Clarence, and finally removed to Buffalo. He is 
at present attending physician to the Erie County alms house. 

The above mentioned are all the physicians we can learn of as for- 
merly practicing in the town of Pembroke. It is quite possible some 
names may have been omitted, but we have striven industriously to ob- 
tain them all. The failure of some to join the County Medical Society 
has prevented a permanent record of their names, and we have been 
obliged to rely upon the recollections of old inhabitants for many things. 

STAFFORD. 

In 1 82 1 Benjamin Davis hailed from the then yearling town of Staf- 
ford as its first Mcdicince Doctor. Dr. Am mi R. R. Butler, however, re- 
moved to Alexander from Stafford some time prior to 1823, and it may 
be that he was in the latter place as early as was Dr. Davis. In 1829 
Drs. Jonathan G. Abbott and Thomas Blanchard are recorded as resi- 
dents of Stafford, and about the same time Dr. Elizur Butler and his 
brother Samuel practiced there. 

In 1 83 1 Dr. W. B. Slawson was in business at Morganville. How long 
he remained we are not informed, but he was a member of the County 
Medical Society in 1837. Dr. Thomas D. Morrison is registered in 1839 
and in 1840 Dr. Lucius M. Haynes. Dr. Haynes married a sister of 
Stephen Crocker, Esq , who, after the death of Dr. Haynes, married Rev. 
Richard Radley. He practiced in Stafford until his death. May 19, 1854. 
In 185 1 Dr. Mark W. Tomlinson came to Stafford, and in 1852 Dr. 
Theophilus S. Looniis. Dr. Loomis removed to East Bethany soon after, 
and died there. 

Iij 1855 Dr. Henry Pamphilon opened an ofifice in Stafford. He was 
born in Hackney, near London, Eng., January 14, 1828. He was edu- 
cated in London, and came to America in 185 i, locating in Lancaster, 



THE MEDICAL PROFESSION — WILLIAM MORGAN. 85 



Erie County. In 1855 ^^^ removed to, Stafford, remaining there until his 
death, which occurred- March 13, 1884. Dr. Pamphilon was an excel- 
lent physician and a most agreeable companion. His knowledge was not 
confined to medicine, but was extensive on many subjects. He was 
quite an elocutionist, and read extracts from Dickens remarkably well. 
He could also dance a hornpipe in good style. He was highly respected 
by his brother physicians, and by the community at large. 

Somewhere about the year 1855 Dr. T. S. King located at Stafford. 
He was born and educated at Plainfield, N. J., and received his diploma 
from the University of New York. He remained in Stafford until his 
death, which took place December 24, 1867, at the age of 42 years. 

Dr. Ayer practiced a few years in Stafford. He is highly spoken of as a 
.practitioner, and is also remembered as a man of decided opinions and 
strong convictions. During his residence at Stafford, in the year 1863, 
when people were greatly excited over war matters, Dr. Ayer was 
arrested and taken to the jail at Batavia for the expression of somewhat 
decided democratic opinions. His imprisonment was, however, of brief 
duration, but the Doctor never recovered from the sense of oppression 
and humiliation which that event occasioned. He soon after went to 
Buffalo, and enjoyed an active and profitable practice there for several 
years, and until his death. His widow resides in Buffalo, as does also a 
daughter, the wife of Dr. Rollin L. Banta, one of the most prominent of 
the younger physicians of that city. 

Dr. F. L. Stone was born at Marcy, Oneida County, in 1834. He 
received an academic education at Whitestovvn Seminary, studied medi- 
cine with Dr. Babcock, of Oriskany, and was graduated at Bellevue Col- 
lege, New York city, in 1865. He remained for a time with Dr. Babcock, 
and in 1868 came to Stafford. He remained seven years, and removed 
to Caledonia, Livingston County, where he practiced five years, going 
thence to Le Roy, where he now resides. Dr. Stone was successful in his 
practice at Stafford, and made many friends there. 

f WILLIAM MORGAN. 

^""^ XCEPTING, perhaps, the events of the War of 1 8 1 2 no occurrence 
\[ in the history of Western New York ever so generally attracted 

^^>..-. the attention of the country as the disappearance of the Free Ma- 
son, Morgan, in the autumn of 1826, with the uprising against the Ma- 
sonic fraternity which his mysterious fate produced. No other event, 
6 



86 GENESEE COUNTY. 



therefore, more fairly demands a chapter in the history of the county 
where the circumstances connected with the affair occurred. 

WilHam Morgan was born in Virginia, and was by trade a stone ma- 
son. He opened a store in Richmond, in 1819, but in 1821 removed to 
Canada and went into the brewing business. His brewery having been 
burnt he moved to Rochester and resumed his trade of mason. While 
here (living next door to a Dr. Dyer, and also near Thurlow Weed) it is 
supposed he wrote out his exposure of Masonry. He had a wife and 
two children. Leaving them, he went to Batavia in order to get his book 
printed. Pretending to be an architect he assisted Thomas McCully in 
building the Eagle Hotel, and lived for a time in McCulIy's house (to the 
east of Eagar's brewery), and also lived where Hewitt's store now is. He 
also worked on the old stone building back of the postoffice. As near 
as can be ascertained Morgan was made a Royal Arch Mason at Le Roy. 
He was represented as being a poor man of indifferent character (which 
latter fact is suggested as the chief consideration which led him to publish 
the secrets of the fraternity of which he was a member); was also intem- 
perate and neglected his family; and because of his habits he was expelled 
from the chapter. Soon after this (presumably in June or July) he began 
(with the assistance of David C. Miller, editor of the Republican Advocate) 
to publish a book on "Jachin and Boaz," with alterations. The work of 
publishing was secretly done, Miller at the time occupying the upper part 
of two buildings on Main street, Batavia. 

On July 25th Morgan was taken into custody by the sheriff, for debt, 
but was soon released. The Ontario Messenger, published at Canan- 
daigua, of August 9, 1826, contained the following notice and caution : 

" If a man calling himself Captain William Morgan should intrude himself upon the 
community, they should be on their guard, particularly the Masonic fraternity. Morgan 
was in the village in May last, and his conduct here and elsewhere calls forth.this notice. 
. . Morgan is considered a swindler and a dangerous man." 

This notice was also copied in the Batavia papers. September loth 
Ebenezer C. Kingsley obtained from Justice Chipman, of Canandaigua, a 
warrant for the arrest of Morgan on a charge of having stolen a shirt and 
cravat, which Kingsley had in fact lent hiin the preceding May. On this 
warrant Hayward, a constable, proceeded to Le Roy (where he got it en- 
dorsed by a justice there), thence to Batavia, where he called at Morgan's, 
told his errand, and no objections being offered Morgan repaired to Dan- 
old's tavern, where he ate breakfast with the constable and his friends. 
While in custody Miller, his bailor, called at Danold's and objected 



WILLIAM MORGAN. 8/ 



to Morgan being taken beyond the jail limits, because of liabilities he 
(Miller) might suffer for. Hayvvard insisted on carrying out his service, 
and did so. Arriving at Le Roy Hayward offered to take him before the 
justice, that he might give bail for appearance at the next term of court. 
Morgan declined acceptance, saying he could convince Kingsley, the tav- 
ern-keeper at Canandaigua, he did not intend to steal. Morgan's arrest 
at Batavia was without force. When taken before Justice Chipman he 
proved his innocence. He was immediately rearrested, on a civil suit 
for $2, the amount of a tavern bill agaiiist him held by one Ackley, 
which had been assigned to Nicholas G. Cheesebro, the master of the Ma- 
sonic lodge at Canandaigua. Judgment was given against Morgan, to sat- 
isfy which he offered his coat. The offer was refused, and he was lodged 
in Ontario County jail. (No connection has ever been established between 
the first persons arresting Morgan and the others who abducted him, ex- 
cept Cheesebro, who was in both actions.) 

This was on the evening of the iith of September, 1826. Twenty- 
four hours later members of the Masonic fraternity called at the jail, and 
in the absence of the jailor advised his wife to release Morgan, telling 
her the judgment against him had been paid by one Loton Lawson. 
The prisoner was liberated, but on reaching the street was suddenly 
seized, thrust into a close carriage, gagged, bound, and driven rapidly 
out of the village, westwardly, or to Rochester, and so on to the Ridge 
road, accompanied by Lawson and two other Masons. Lawson after- 
wards testified "that the Ridge road was followed to Lewiston, and so 
on down to Fort Niagara, near a grave-yard, where the passengers in 
the vehicle got out and the coachman dismissed ; that none but Masons 
were allowed to communicate with Morgan ; that preparations had pre- 
viously been made for his reception" ; and he was taken into the fort, 
blindfolded, bound, and thrown into the magazine, where he was con- 
fined until the 19th, when he disappeared. In October, 1827, over a 
year after his abduction, a dead body was found on Lake Ontario beach, 
and a committee from Batavia and Rochester, deciding after the closest 
scrutiny that it was that of Morgan, they brought it to Batavia, where it 
was exposed to view in James Brisbane's yard, and large numbers visited 
the spot to view the loathsome spectacle. A funeral procession was 
formed, Mrs. Morgan and D. C. Miller being chief mourners, and the 
body conveyed to the grave-yard, where in later years the anti-Masons 
erected a handsome stone to his (?) memory. Later, however, the clothes 
found on this body were thoroughly identified as belonging to one Timo- 



88 GENESEE COUNTY. 



thy Monroe, a man accidentally drowned near the mouth of Niagara. 
In this connection we state that Mrs. Morgan was supported by the 
anti-Masons until she joined her fortune afterwards with a Royal Arch 
Mason's, when she was dropped by the anties. 

A tremendous excitement followed the disappearance of Morgan. 
Investigating committees were everywhere appointed. Governor Clinton 
offered a reward for the apprehension of those who abducted him. Sir 
Peregrine Maitland, governor-general of Upper Canada, offered a re- 
ward of $200. Lodges and chapters of Masons denounced the deed. 
The hostility of feeling between Masons and anti- Masons was of the 
bitterest description. The dividing line ran through families and churches 
even boys on the streets took sides. The Masonic fraternity through- 
out a large section of country was threatened with destruction, many 
lodges being so weakened by withdrawals, expulsions, and lack of appli- 
cations as to be disbanded for years. The order in 1826 numbered 360 
lodges and 22,000 members. Ten years later there were 75 lodges and 
4,000 members. 

While the several committees were pursuing inquiries the contem- 
plated book, Morgan's Revelations of Masonry, appeared. It was in 
pamphlet form, might have cost 10 cents, but sold for $1, copyright se- 
cured. Morgan's partner subscribed under oath not to divulge his se- 
cret regarding the publication of the book ; and from letters found it was 
soon known that avarice, not a love of country or friends, was his prin- 
cipal reason for the undertaking. But a few copies were sold at $1. 
The price was soon reduced to 50 cents, then to 25 cents, finally to about 
10 cents. 

As to the trial of the abductors, evidence was given that Cheesebro 
hired and paid for the carriage, and he with Lavvson, Sawyer, and Shel- 
don were indicted for complicity. The sheriff of Niagara County, Eli 
Bruce, was fined and imprisoned for the part he took in the matter, and 
other prominent and respectable men were convicted. 

The excitement was kept up. Attempts were made to prevent Ma- 
sons from meeting as usual. It being the custom to celebrate St. John's 
day, the Batavia Lodge, in May, 1827, announced their intention to 
celebrate it in public. Miller endeavored to prevent it, but on June 25th 
300 Masons assembled for the purpose. A large concourse of people 
to the number of several thousand were in Batavia. Some were armed 
with knives and guns. But the day passed off without any accident. 
The proceedings were addressed by George Hosmer, of Livingston 



WILLIAM MORGAN. 89 



County, and the Masons endured the scoffs and jeers of an enraged mul- 
titude. The anti-Masons attempted afterwards to exclude Masons from 
the jury. 

We now return to David C. Miller, who attained almost equal noto- 
riety with Morgan. After the intentions of Morgan and Miller relative 
to the book were announced one Daniel Johns, from Canada, came to 
Batavia. He had resided in Rochester, and there became acquainted 
with Miller's friends, by whom, it is said, he was received as a partner. 
Johns had a little money, and offered to make some advances, pecuniary, 
as was desirable at that time. He was therefore accepted without much 
scrutiny as to his motives. It was supposed he wished to procure pos- 
session of Morgan's manuscript. Certainly Miller wanted Johns's money; 
thus a deception was created in the start. Johns obtained a part of the 
manuscript and Miller some of Johns's money, about $30 or $40. This 
small sum was of more value to Miller than the manuscript was to Johns, 
and so trouble arose between them. A few days before Miller's arrest 
(September 12, 1826) a warrant on behalf of Johns was issued by Jus- 
tice Bartow, of Le Roy, against Miller and one Davids, a partner, to col- 
lect moneys advanced by Johns. This warrant was placed in the hands 
of Jesse French, of Stafford, the constable (and father of the late J. 
Homer French, of French's Gazetteer of Neiv York), who, learning that 
Miller had determined to resist arrest, employed several assistants, and 
on September 12th, followed by Roswell Wilcox and Jesse Hurlburt and 
a large party, repaired to Batavia to effect the arrest of Miller and Davids. 
The presence of so many strangers in Batavia excited the apprehen- 
sion of the citizens, many of whom offered their services to resist the at- 
tempt to arrest Miller. French, with his assistants, repaired to Miller's 
office, where he (Davids) and Miller's son were, and although the office 
was fortified with arms none were used. Wilcox arrested Davids, and 
French at the same time arrested Miller. Both submitted, and were 
taken to Danold's tavern. Davids, being a prisoner within the jail limits, 
was soon discharged. Miller was taken to the lodge-room at Stafford, 
against the remonstrances of his friends, kept there for two or three 
hours, then proceeded to Le Roy, kept at Walbridge's tavern, where he 
was discharged, and returned to Batavia. Theodore Talbot was Miller's 
lawyer. "It is supposed by some that the main object of Miller's arrest 
was to obtain possession of Morgan's manuscript." 

The following article appeared in the issue of September 15, 1826, of 
the Republican Advocate : 

9 



90 GENESEE COUNTY. 



"About 2 A. M., Monday morning, September ii,two buildings were set on fire. 
The same morning Captain William Morgan was seized, as was alleged, by virtue of 
process and conveyed off no one knows where, by a sett of ruffians. On Tuesday a 
mob consisting of more than loo assembled in this village, from various parts of the 
country, with the openly-avowed intention of destroying our printing establishment, and 
conveyed the editor of this paper out of town, by ruffian force, in pretence of legal pro- 
cess, to Le Roy, to the magistrate, but no process was exhibited or returned by the office. 
The constable then disappeared, and the prisoner was discharged. 

"Signed : C. W. Miller, son of D. C. Miller." 

The result of this arrest of Miller was an indictment found against 
some of the parties for alleged riot, assault, and battery, and false impris- 
onment. A trial was had before Judges Birdsall, Tisdale, James Tag- 
gart, and Simeon Cummings, judges of the Court of Common Pleas, two 
of whom, as well as a part of the jury, were Masons. French was sen- 
tenced to 1 2 months, Wilcox to six months, and Hurlburt to three months 
imprisonment. 

The most notable effect of the agitation by the anti- Masons was the 
career of that party, which subdivided and distracted all other political 
parties, and drew thousands of adherents from them all ; a subject that 
would require a volume to treat intelligently. • 

TEMPERANCE. 

LD people of this and other counties remember distinctly that in 
their youth the use of spirituous liquors as a beverage was al- 
most universal. Nor was it confined to the laymen. Very many 
of the settlers of Genesee County had such a habit, and it was thought no 
harm in those times, for it would be a breach of hospitality to not offer 
it to visitors. It was the necessary help at the " bees," and the failure 
of such " bees " and gatherings, from its absence, is well remembered. 
It was at home, in the field, everywhere, in olden days, and was the uni- 
versal panacea for wet weather and dry weather, for real and imaginary 
ailments. 

Distilleries sprang up early in many of the towns, and liquor was cheap 
and pure ; the country stores kept it for sale the same as codfish and 
molasses; and its use was sanctioned by all classes — the laborer, the 
clergy, the bench and bar. Indeed, the words of a modern poet, 

" The power enslaved in yonder cask 
Shall many burdens bear ; 
Shall nerve the toiler at his task, * 

The soul at prayer," 




TEMPERANCE. 



91 



seem very apropos of the customs of former days. With the well founded 
ideas of the time is it to be wondered that no moves were made for a 
reform in regard to its use ? It is not known definitely when stringent 
measures were taken in Genesee County; the pulpit always taught tem- 
perance, but that was not the temperance — strict prohibition, touch not 
and handle not — of the present day. 

It is known that about 1830 a reform gradually swept over the land in 
the form of signing a pledge ; but this was only a general restriction not 
to use it to excess, and was not sufiiciently effective. In this county, in 
1836, a society was formed, and after a discussion of two days, with a 
negative vote of two ( who voted so, fearing the advance was too rapid ), 
the total abstinence pledge was adopted. At the present day it hardly 
seems credible that a temperance reform could have encountered any 
opposition. It did receive such opposition in 1836 in Genesee County. 
There were many earnest, zealous workers in the reform here, but after 
a half century, with no records, it is impossible to name them. Much 
good was done, and a check was placed upon the increasing evil, which is 
felt to the present day. 

Like all important reforms it has had its revivals, its new methods of ad- 
vancing the work, and these waves would sweep over the country animat- 
ing the friends to good works. The first of these waves that so greatly in- 
undated the country was the " Washingtonian " movement, that started 
in 1840 at Baltimore. A few confirmed drunkards saw their pe^fil and 
joined together in a resolution to reform ; others joined ; and the whole 
country joined in the good work. Genesee County was remarkably ac- 
tive in the move, but like all superhuman efforts a reaction followed. Still 
much permanent good is directly traceable to that grand movement. Its 
restriction by statute was then urged, and in 1846 the first law went into 
efifect. It was termed the " license or no-license " law, and sometimes 
the " five-gallon " law, but could be consistently called a "local option" 
law. This, for some reason, was not generally successful; not perhaps so 
much from any defect in the law. or that the evil cannot be restricted by 
statute ; but having invoked the aid of the law the temperance workers 
relied too much upon its strong arm and relaxed their efforts in educat- 
ing the public sentiment to sustaining them. 

About 1855 the so-called " Maine law " was enacted, and the friends 
anticipated good results, but the Court of Appeals decided it to be uncon- 
stitutional. This was followed by an act appointing county commission- 
ers to grant licenses, but this was not satisfactory. 



92 GENESEE COUNTY. 



The next move was the present local option statute that allows each 
town to determine, by its votes, if the sale of intoxicating liquors shall 
be tolerated, and the election of the commissioner gives the decision. 
The towns of Genesee County are no exception to others, and the ex- 
cesses of either faction can be held in check by the operation of the 
law. 

Within a few years the Prohibition party has come into existence, which 
claims total prohibition as its platform. Of its merits it is not our province 
to speak, and its votes will be found under another head. This fact 
should be borne in mind by its friends in Genesee County : that all laws 
are not satisfactory in their results unless the people are educated to a 
sentiment of their vvholesomeness, and a strong majority morally pledged 
to their fulfillment. 

EARLY SCHOOLS. 

T must not be supposed that while the pioneers of this section were so 
busy in felling the forest, and laying the foundation of future comfort 
and wealth, they neglected the foundation of those institutions in 
which they had been reared, and without which no community can pros- 
per As soon as a sufficient number of children could be gathered the 
settlers for miles around, by a preconcerted "bee," rolled the logs to- 
gether that formed the primitive school-house. The desks were slanting 
shelves of slabs or boards, supported by pins driven into the logs and a 
brace to the logs below. In front of these was the seat made of a split 
log, hewn smooth, with legs of proper length for the larger scholars ; in 
front of these were similar benches for the smaller pupils. If there was 
a saw- mill within a reasonable distance these rude desks and benches 
would be made of planks or slabs from the mill. Then the plainest com- 
mon branches were taught — reading, writing, spelling, arithmetic, and ge- 
ography. The rude adaptation of the means of instruction in those early 
days was as primitive, and in the same manner deficient, as were all the 
means with which the settlers were provided. The books and teaching 
must be upon the " axe and auger " plan. Not only was there a scar- 
city of books, but the text books of the time were inefficient ; they would 
be as much a wonder to the pupil and parents of the present time as 
would the old-fashioned flax-break; and the students of the common 
school of to-day, if such text books were placed before them, would con- 
sider them of par value with the rough seats and desks of those primitive 
days. But these early pioneers provided for their children all that could 



EARLY SCHOOLS. 



93 



be then, and, in fact it was, proportionately, more than parents do un- 
der the present uniform and excellent school system. The puritan idea 
was " to spare the rod was to spoil the child," and in those primitive 
schools were teachers who could ably demonstrate that branch. The 
pupil of the present would not tolerate the idea of going from two to 
four miles to school, and that, too, along a rough path through a wilder- 
ness, his only guide being the marked trees. Is it, then, not a wonder 
that the Holland Purchase — the territory of Genesee County — could, in 
the early part of the present century, send out into the councils of the 
State and Nation men of the highest statesmanship ? To the pioneer 
teacher, as well as parents, great credit is due. The teacher must " board 
round," and the long walks to the cabins of his patrons, the cheerful hos- 
pitality shown, the simple but wholesome food, and social interchange of 
thought during the long fire-lit visits of the evening were oases in the 
desert of the teacher's life that the present flowery paths of the princi- 
pals in the same section do not possess. The names of some of the early 
pioneer teachers are preserved, and they will generally be noticed in 
their respective towns. The school house of hewn logs after a few years, 
and of larger proportions and sufficient windows, would follow the 12x14 
cabin; better teachers and more modern text books were introduced; 
and uniformity in methods of teaching was adopted. 

" Previous to the year 1828 much difficulty and embarrassment had 
■occurred throughout the Holland Purchase from a provision in the school 
act of the State, ' that sites of school- houses should be secured by deeds 
in fee, or by leases from the possessor of the fee, of the land.' In numer- 
ous instances there were no deeded lands in the district, or if there were 
they were not conveniently located. In the absence of such title or lease 
the trustees of the district could not legally levy and collect taxes for 
building or repairing school-houses. About this period Mr. Evans, then 
land agent of the Holland Land Company, adopted the following plan 
to remedy the evil, and prevent the hindrances that were in the way of 
a full realization of the benefits of the common school system upon the 
Holland Purchase. It was entered upon the books of the office, and the 
benefits of it extended whenever asked : 

" ' In every legally organized School District on the Holland Purchase, where the most 
convenient site for a school-house shall fall on land not deeded from the Holland Com- 
pany, a deed for such site, not exceeding half an acre of land, shall be granted, from 
the company to such district, gratis. Provided that whenever such site shall fall on 
lands held under contract, from the Company, by any person or persons, such district 
shall procure a relinquishment of the right to such piece of land, by virtue of said con- 
tract, to be endorsed thereon by the person or persons holding the same.' " 



94 GENESEE COUNTY. 



In 1835 school libraries were established, and every district received 
its proportionate quota for such library. In 1845 institutes for teachers 
were considered one of the best means of benefit, and the teachers of 
Genesee County eagerly availed themselves of its advantages. 

Simultaneously with the advent of the neat, white farm house of the 
pioneer the school- house appears, bearing the same advancement that is 
warranted by the improvement of the country, and the greatly increased 
value of the surroundings. The growth of the schools can be best 
learned from a careful perusal of statistics relating thereto, and which 
need not be introduced here. Our province was to show the early 
school ; the present excellent system is realized and familiar to all. In 
the histories of the towns each will have its interesting details. 

William E. Prentice, of Batavia, was the school commissioner for the 
county in 1885-87, and William J. Barr, of Elba, the present commis- 
sioner, to serve until 1891. 

The public money apportioned to the towns for 1889 was as follows: 
Alabama, $1,415.62; Alexander, $1,352. 17; Batavia, $5,368.72; Bergen, 
$1,580.30; Byron, $1,294.01 ; Bethany, $1,326.02 ; Darien, $1,523.94 ; 
Elba, $1,202.94; Le Roy, $2,627.83; Oakfield, $1,025.03; Pavilion, 
$1,187.94; Pembroke, $2,228.26; and Stafford, $1,441.79 — a total of 
$23,574.57. There are 1 50 school districts in the county, but 1 5 of them 
are joint districts with the school-houses located in adjoining counties. 



THE CIVIL WAR. 



GENESEE COUNTY REGIMENTS. 

THE bombardment of Sumter aroused the same patriotic feelings in 
Genesee County that were manifested throughout the North, and 
for the time all partisan feelings were forgotten ; men of all parties 
evinced a desire to sustain the government. At once an enthusiastic 
meeting was held at Batavia and 20 volunteers were enrolled ; the same 
evening a meeting was held at Le Roy, and soon afterward others in 
various parts of the county followed ; the same patriotism prevailed 
throughout. 

On the 1 8th of April a call for 500 men was made from the county, 
and a meeting called for Saturday afternoon and evening of April 20th, at 
Concert Hall, Batavia ; 48 young men were enrolled. The following 



THE CIVIL WAR. 95-. 



committee was appointed to solicit funds for the support of the families of 
those who enlisted, and any other expense : Trumbull Gary, John Fisher 
Junius A. Smith, Seth VVakeman, and James M. Willett. For a like pur- 
pose a comm.ittee of three was appointed in each of the other towns, as 
follows : 

Alabama. — Chauncey Williams, George H. Potter, Edward Hersey, 

Alexander. — Heman Blodgett, Earl Kidder, E. G. Moulton. 

BetJiany. — Lemuel Lincoln, A. G. Terry, Carlos Huggins. 

Bergen. — Horatio Reed, Samuel Richmond, Josiah Pierson. 

Byj'on. — J. T. Boughton, Loren Green, Addison Terry. 

Darien. — J. W. Hyde, Col. A. Jefterson, T. C. Peters. 

Elba.—AXvSi Willis, A. T. Hulett, C. H. Monell. 

Le Roy. — Hon. A. S. Upham, Walter Gustin, A. O. Comstock. 

Oakfield. — C. H. Chamberlain, J. C. Gardner, William Dunlap. 

Pavilion. — Oswald Bond, Warren Fay, George Tomlinson. 

Pembroke.— G. D. Wright, D. N. Wells, R. F. Thompson. 

Stafford. — Cyrus Prentice, Robert Fisher, Perry Randall. 

Recruiting went on rapidly. On the 29th of April the first company 
was formed under the command of A. T. Root, and left the county ; it 
became part of the I2th Regt. N. Y. V. On the 14th of May the com- 
pany of J. R. Mitchell, and on the 15th that of Capt. William L. Cowan» 
followed, bearing the adieux and benedictions of all. 

The departure of the first volunteers was an occasion of peculiar inter- 
est, as it was the first time in the history of the county that, men had 
felt the peril of National existence from internal dissension, and was the 
first call of the present generation for volunteers. The feeling for the 
first who went out was more poignant than on similar occasions after- 
wards, for the acuteness was to some extent worn away by frequent ex- 
ercise, and no idle curiosity was felt. The brave volunteers of Genesee 
County, who so nobly left the comforts of home to go forth at their 
country's call, to face death and suffering with no friendly hand to allay, 
deserve a more minute history than the limits of this work will permit. 

In 1 86 1, soon after the outbreak of the Rebellion, the patriotic ladies 
of Batavia and other parts of Genesee County organized associations for 
supplying soldiers in the field with comforts and luxuries that the govern- 
ment did not provide — havelocks, flannels, and articles of clothing, as 
well as supplies for the sick and wounded, which were sent on, and many 
a languishing patriot has blessed the ladies of Genesee County. Among 
those who early and earnestly engaged in this humane work was Mrs. 



-96 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Gad B. Worthington, Mrs. John Fisher, Mrs. Alva Smith, Mrs. E. R. 
Pratt, Mrs. Levi Jackson, Mrs. Richard Cotes, Mrs. Wright, Mrs. Dr. N. 
Clark, Mrs. Putnam, Mrs. Thomas Yates, Miss M. Mallory, Mrs. John 
Wood, Mrs. George Holden, Miss Parsons, Mrs. Seth Wakeman, Mrs. L. 
B. Cotes, Miss Carrie Pringle, Mrs. S. C. Holden, Mrs. Junius A. Smith, 
Mrs. Dean Richmond, Mrs. Macy, and Mrs. H. U. Howard, and many 
others whose names now cannot be learned. 

2 2D N. Y. IND. BATTERY. 

This regiment was organized in this county, its rendezvous being at 
Lockport ; was mustered into the U. S. service October 18, 1862 ; was 
soon consolidated as Co. M of the 9th N. Y. Heavy Artillery ; and par- 
ticipated in the following battles : Cold Harbor, Petersburg, Monocacy, 
Charleston, Cedar Creek, Petersburg again, and Sailor's Creek. The 
officers and men when mustered into service were : Captain, John D, 
Numan ; senior ist lieutenant, Melancthon D. Brown ; junior 1st lieuten- 
ant, D. D. W. Pringle ; senior 2d lieutenant, Robert C. Worthington ; 
junior 2d lieutenant, Edwin F. Clark. 

Sergeants. — James M. Waite, Francis N. Parrish, Asahel M. Abbey, 
Dan E. Waite, William I. Parrish, William E. Wright, John Oldswager, 
and Josiah T. Crittenden. 

Corporals. — Hugh T. Peters, Edward F. Moulton, William \\. Maltby, 
Thomas Walsh, Eugene B. Wing, Robert Fowles, Henry Nulty, Orville 
Thompson, John Connor, John D. Bartlett, Guy A. Brown, and James 
G. Hatch. 

Musicians. — Charles Foster, Edson H. Pond. 

Artificers. — Levi T. Garrett, Henry Wood ; guidon, William M. Moul- 
ton ; stable sergeant, Edwin Lock ; company clerk, George Avery. 

Privates. — Hezekiah Brown, William T. Barrett, E. J. Benton, John 
Bower, Seymour S. Brown, Thomas C. Barnard, Curus W. Brown, 
Charles W. Bradley, Freeman Bailey, Jr., Miles T. Brown, Isaac Bruett, 
Charles J. Cleveland, George T. Chase, Rowland Champion, John Car- 
mel, John Cox, Alva N. Colt, James W. Case, Michael Carney, James 
Carney, Thomas Cook, Henry Connelly, Benjamin Cox, Zina W. Carter, 
Oron H. Conant, William B. Cole, Jerome Canfield, Dioclesian Covey, 
William H. Chappie, George D. Dodson, James Dunn, Earl A. Dodson, 
Sylvester Demary, Dennis Dibble, George Edwards, William R. Eddy, i 
Elias Eastwood, James Emory, Orson J. Forbes, Robert Finley, Charles 
Fairfield, William Faber, Harmon Fitch, Ansel Ford, John E. Field, 



THE CIVIL WAR. 



97 



John Griffis, George Gann, Cyrus A. Gowing, Charles R. Griffin, Paul 
Glor, Amos Humphrey, John Harmon, Ira E. Haight. Edward J. Hol- 
lenbeck, John Hassett, Archie HoUenbeck, David Hill, Henry Johnson, 
John L. Kingdon, Albert Knapp, Patrick Keating, Stephen R. King, 
James Kidder, Silas Knapp, John Kellner, Libbeus King, Henry L. 
Kreatzer, George B. Lawrence, Henry Lapp, Samuel Lathrop, Benjamin 
Lewis, Henry Leverington, James M. Lapp, Eiias Lyons, Charles Lop- 
low, Thomas McManis, Marion F. Meredith, Jacob Moore, Elias Martin, 
David Miller, Albert H. Moulton, Archie McMillen, John Munt, Alexan- 
der McDonald, Angus Mcintosh, Lucius A. Munger, Joseph Marsh, 
Moses Nichols, Michael O'Donnell, Robert Plant, Thomas W. Paden, 
James Porter, John J. Peard, Norman M. Putnam, George Rogers, Fred- 
erick Reichert, Mortimer Rich, Alonzo Rich, Ambrose Rich, Nathan E. 
Rumsey, Charles E. Smead, Henry Shafer, Gilbert Shader, David S. Spring, 
Edwin Shadbolt, John D. Shiller, Edsil Shaw, Charles A. Smith, Wal- 
lace M. Smith, Edward B. Smith, Stephen Thompson, Frederick Tanger 
Homer L. Tisdale, Stephen Taylor, Henry Vishon, Charles VanKuren, 
Frederick Vickens, Gilbert Wade, Jonah C. Wicker, John J. Warren, 
Edwin Ward, John Worthington, Warren West, Stephen T. Wing, Will- 
iam Welch, John W, Williams, Walter S. Wright, and Christian Zwetsh. 
Out of the original i68 only about 65 were in line for discharge at the 
close of the war and expiration of their three years' service. 

CAPT. FENN'S company, 28TH REGT. 

This gallant company was mustered into service May 22, 1861, and 
participated in the following battles : Point of Rocks, Newtown, first Win- 
chester, and Cedar Mountain. In the last engagement the loss was heavy. 
They were also engaged at Susquehanna Court House and Chancellors- 
ville. The officers and men who enlisted were : 

Officers. — Captain, Charles H. Fenn ; ist lieutenant, William W. Row- 
ley; 2d lieutenant, George M. Ellicott ; sergeants, Lucian R. Bailey, 
Charles D. Searles, George W. Sherwood, Edward J. Watts ; corporals, 
Leander Hamilton, Chandler Gillam, Robert J. Whitney, Darwin Fel- 
lows ; musicians, John Prost, Silas Bragg. 

Privates. — Calvin Annis, George Hallen, William F. Albro, Edmond 
Bragdon, Bryon Brinkerhoff, James F. Bennett, Lafayette Barker, Riley 
Blount, George Barnard, Oscar Barnes, Philip Bittinger, George H. Bat- 
ton, Henry Baldwin, John S. Barber, William H. Colburn, Roswell Cod- 
dington, William Howland, Porter Howard, Truman M. Hawley, George 



98 



GENESEE COUNTY. 



M. Hamilton. Isaac Hotchkiss, James G. Lawton, Charles G. Liscomb, 
Joseph Luce, John Moran, Barnard Murray, Lyman B. Miner, William 
McCracken, Richard Outhoudt, Charles A. Perkins, Edward C. Peck, 
Robert Chappie, Henry Close, Charles H. Crandall, Alexander Comyns, 
Henry Dykeman, Joshua T. Davis, Melvin Dodge, Decatur Doty, 
L-vin' H. Ewell, Kirkland Ewell, Theodore Eldridge, Joseph Ennis, 
George Griffin, Cleveland Gillett, Joseph Gibson, Peter Howland, Erastus 
Peckrpranklin Peck, Michael Quirck, Charles B. Rapp, Harlow M. Rey- 
nolds, Michael Ryan, Howard M. Snell, Henry Scott. William B. Sim- 
mons! Stephen Taylor. Riley Thayer, Robert Thompson, Milton Trip, 
George Thayer, John Van Buren, Erancis M. Weatherlow. 

CAPT. A. J. ROOT'S COMPANY, I2TH REGT. 

This was one of the most gallant companies, and first to organize and 

depart. 

Officers.— Z^y^\2:\x\, A. J. Root; ist lieutenant, W. P. Town ; 2d lieu- 
tenant, Lucius Smith ; sergeants, S. Dexter Ludden, Charles F. Rand, 
James F. Taylor, Thomas Tansley ; corporals, Samuel McChesney, Will- 
iam P. Jones, Joshua P. Taylor, Joseph L. Hunt. 

Privafes.—VJ iWiam B. Aird, Oscar Allison, John W. Bartlett, Erank- 
Jin Billings, George D. Baars, John C. Beach, John Briggs, Jafnes Bra- 
ley, Almon G. Bentley, James E. Cross, James Conway, Charles Coppin, 
Zelotus Colby, James Clifton, Henry R. Casler, Michael Delano, Charles 
Durant, Martin W. Dean, Robert Dearlove, Charles F. Davenport, 
William Enwright. Alvin Fox, John B. Foote, Harrison Furguson. Daniel 
N. Ford, Jasper Gibbs, William Graham, John G. Gardner, Patrick 
Ganatty, Charles A. Hickox, Jacob Hiber, James F. Hilts, William 
Johnson, George Keene, John Klansworth, Barney Karker, William H. 
Leonard, William Lathrop, Francis Lincoln, Frank Murphy, Albert A. 
Meade, Peter Meschter, William H. Nichols, Cornelius W. Post, Robert 
Peard, G. W. Reynolds, Michael Ryan, James Shepard, Albert P. Stage, 
George Smith, John Stone, Frank Scamans, Hiram W. Smith, James 
Scott, Horace F. Tracey, William Thompson, Timothy Tirney, Alanson 
Vercillus, William Wheeler, William McGuire, James Preble, Winfield S. 
Popple, Michael Roach. 

105TH REGIMENT NEW YORK VETERANS. 

Very many brave men went out with this regiment, and Company E 
was largely recruited from Genesee County, Other companies had 



THE CIVIL WAR. 99 



Genesee County men, which will be given in the order of th^e companies. 
According to the adjutant-general's report the regiment participated in 
the following battles: Cedar Mountain, Rappahannock Station, Thor- 
oughfare Gap, second Bull Run, Chantilly, South Mountain, Antietam, 
and Fredericksburg. They saw severe service, and were consolidated 
vv^ith the 94th in 1863. 

Officers. — Colonel, James M. Fuller; major, John W. Shedd ; quarter- 
master, Charles Strong ; surgeon, Dr. D. C. Chamberlain ; chaplain, 
B. P. Russell ; quartermaster- sergeant, Jerome J. Shedd. 

Company A. — Andrew Whitney, Abram Van Alstine, Isaiah Thomas, 
William Thomas, John Thomas, Henry E. Thomas. John Tyrrell, Lewis 
Skinner, H. H. Ruland, Malcom G. Pettibone, John Nash, Burr Kenyon, 
John Killen, J. F. Hundredmark, A. D. Harrington, John Free, William 
Dingman, O. N. Campbell, Alonzo Croft, Lorenzo Croft, Jeff Curtain, 
Ed Brower, Fred Bramsted, Sam Averry, Lanson R. Chaffee, Lyman 
T. Miner, George S. Winslow, Clinton Brace, M. Shadbolt, H. Barbet, 
George H. Smith, George W. Dickey. 

Company B. — William Rose, George W. Forster, Philip S. Frost. 

Company C. — Edward Thomson, Joseph M. Cook, Charles H. Hodge, 
Peter A. Mclntyre, M. Mclntyre, Edward Mercer, Erasmus R. Stephens, 
William H. Thompson, Orrin Thompson, John B. Way. 

Company D. — George W. Grififith, sergeant ; John Foster and Emo- 
gme Daniels, musicians ; Charles H. Miller, James Shine. 

Company E. — George Babcock, captain ; Willis Benham, and John 
J. White, lieutenants ; Patrick H. Graham, Lucius F. Rolfe, and Edwin 
J. Hyde, sergeants; Herbert Stacey, Clarence H. McCabe, J. A. Sher- 
wood, George W. Mather, N. J. Hamilton, Taylor Hart, and Edward 
Brennan, corporals. Privates : Sheldon I. Brown, Fred Eelris, George 
Fauset, John Johnson, George Schuab, Sylvester Primmer, Oliver B. 
Olin, Isaac Wakely, Isaac P. Wakely, Franklin Terry, James H. Turner, 
James P. Thomas, H. Trumball, Joseph Scofield, Michael Strief, William 
Riley, J. Parshall, David Powell, Robert Odion, William Martin, John 
Moore, Ezro Maun, J. G. Lawton, John Keenan, Edwin S. Heath, James 
H. Hogan, Wesley Hawkins, L. Hennesey, Jacob Hagisht, W. H. Heal. 
O. Gaskin, Thomas Cady, William E. Crane, Herrick C. Crockr, John 
Barnard, John Blake, Chauncey Bowen, William F. Albro, John F. 
Armstrong, P. Holden. 



lOO GENESEE COUNTY. 



CAPT. MOORE'S COMPANY, lOOTH REGIMENT. 

This gallant company was mostly recruited from Genesee County, 
and stands among the foremost in good work. Its members from this 
county were : Captain, Walter B. Moore ; lieutenants, iM. H. Topping,. 
Martin S. Bogart ; sergeants, Leonard D. Howell, Edward S. Peck, Pea- 
body Pratt, and Myron P. Pierson ; corporals, William Wheeler, W. M. 
Thompson, and Donald McPherson ; musicians, J. O. Price, Samuel 
Makers, and Willard Joslyn. 

Privates. — Robert Brears, Benjamin Bain, Henry C. Bolton, Charles 
Clough, Henry C. Copeland, M. I. Daniels, Fritz Dato, George Eber- 
hart, George C. Fales, Charles D. Foot, B. Growney, John Golland, Phil 
Geize, H. M. Haskins, John Jordan, Joseph Maud, Thomas McCann^ 
Charles Meyrer, James McPherson, Mather Moore, William Newton,. 
John B. Ott, A. J. Pervorce, Joseph P. Pierson, John C. Presby, Albert 
Pursell, Hiram Robison, Philip Ryan, William P. Swift, William See- 
ley, Chester F. Swift, Peter Freehouse, Sanford C. Thompson, Peter 
Tracey, Louis H. Todd, Stephen Wakeley, John G. Wicks, Albert U. 

Ward. 

129TH REGT. N, Y. VETERANS. 

This important regiment was largely recruited from Genesee County/ 
and was worthy of all mention. It was depleted by many decisive 
battles, and its ranks were refilled from the same patriotic element for 
which Genesee County was, and still is, noted. In December, 1862, the 
regiment was changed from infantry to heavy artillery, designated as the 
8th N. Y. Heavy Artillery. It belonged to the 2d corps, and partici- 
pated in all the battles, marches, and duties of the campaign of 1864-65. 
In the latter part of 1865, being severely depleted by battles and the 
discharge of men whose time expired, it was transferred to the 4th H. A. 
to the 4th H. A. 

The casualties of this regiment, during the campaign closing with the 
surrender of Lee, was officially reported at 1,171 ofificers and men. A 
greater portion of these valiant men was recruited from Genesee County,, 
and we give them so far as we have been able to obtain their names 
from many sources. 

James M. Willett, of this county, was major. 

Company G. — E. G. Sherwin, captain; J. R. Cooper and Orrin C. 
Parker, lieutenants ; John H. Nichols, John F. Hutton, John J. Thomas^ 
James W. Young, and George Ford, sergeants ; J. D. Safford, Lewis 



THE CIVIL WAR. loi 



Teller, William H. Bennett, M. M. Kendall, Peter Welch, W. W. Barton, 
M. Manahan, Thomas Cuthbert, James H. Horton. and Peter Barber, 
corporals; M. McNamara, Joseph H. Horton, musicians; John G. F'os- 
ter, artificer. 

The men who went out with the re<;iment were : Albert Amidon, 
John Adams, Nelson F. Bowen, William A. Burris, Charles brooks, 
John Bisher, H. L. Bennett, Charles Buell, L. C. Briggs, M. Birming- 
ham, William Brower, Charles Collins, James H Charles, Christopher 
Cooper, William Cleveland, Geoige A. Cole,* J. Cook, J. Donnigan. L. C. 
Dorman, A. E. Darrow, A. J. Denham, Anthony Davis, Delos Eddy, 
Nicholas Felter, Harry Fernerstein, Ed. W. Flanders, Charles H. Fuller, 
George A. Fuller, Peter Fowldin, Frank Gleaser, Warner Howe, Henry 
Helfman, William Hutton, Christopher Johnson, Henry Johnson, Lyman 
C. Kendall, William H. Kendall, John Kimmerling, Daniel W. Kinnie, 
William Morford, Norman Martin, Moses Millington, Peter McDermid, 
Daniel McDermid, Charles W. McCarthy, Cain Mahaney, Joseph Mur- 
dock, Peter Metzler, George Metzler, S Myres, J. McLaughlin, John 
Munz, George Merlan, Conrad Merlan, Abram Norris, Van A. Pratt, 
Robert Peard, William J. Pindar, M. S. Parker, F. W. Rice, Fernando 
Robbins, Charles H. Rice, Nathaniel Rowan, William H Ship, John J. 
Sherman, William Smith, Devolson Smith, Henry Thomas, Joseph 
Thompson, George W. Thomas, Lewis Van Dyke, G. H. Van Alstine, 
Reuben Van Wart, S. A. Wilson, W. W. Wyman, Wash Ward, W. P. 
Wright, Joseph Willett, Leroy Williams, N. VV. Wakeman, William 
Wood, R. H. Waite, Richard Welch. 

The following were recruited and sent on : F. A. Altmeyer, John W. 
Amlong, N. F. Bowen, William N. Barton, Mark Bossard, Joseph Bon- 
gordon, John W. Babcock, A. J. Bennett, M. F. Bowe, John Brown, 
William Boehme, W. H. Bennett, Peter Barber, P. Colson, Henry Conk- 
lin, G. R. Cochran, John Camp, Hibbard Chase, John Collins, James B. 
Clark, Pat CoHins, Dan Dibble, Hugh Duffy, C. M. Dodge, Robert Den^ 
ham, M. W. Elston, Abram Elston, Robert A. Erwin, Lawrence Flynn, 
Christopher FoUett, K. B. Finley, Matthew Gleaser, J. M. Gilson, 
Charles C. Gilson, George F. Jones, Ezra Kirby, James Moore, John 
McNamara, Virgil Marsh, Hiram Marsh, A. J. .Mahew, F. B. Maynard, 
N. A. Mitchell, M Manion, N. Martin, Charles Nichols. R. Ovendan, 
Thomas E. Peard, John Perkins, George W. Parshall, D. M. Pannell, 
M. W. Parker, George Perry, W. O. Robinson, John Reed, Charles San- 
ford, J. B. D. Sawtell, Martin Steves, William N. Smith, Jacob M. Smith, 



I02 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Joseph Steffin, Horatio Thomas, John Thomas, Cassimere Thomas, O. 
Timmerson, N. Truesdall, Seth J. Thomas, Thomas Wilson, John Was- 
chow, Albert Wilber, Rowley Wilson, Luke White, Edwin Wade, C. M. 
Whitney, J. Walsh, J. M. Wii^^gins, F. F. Waterman, E. A. Perrin, Silas 
Smith. 

Company H. — Stephen Connor, captain ; George Wiard, J. H. Rob- 
son, W. H. Raymond, and Arch Winnie, lieutenants ; Henry Bickford, 
W. H. Roberson, William Grant, Louis Mather, Stephen Vail, O. E. 
Babcock, A. W. Aldrich, R. T. Hunn, sergeants; E. P. Cowles, Charles 
Cox, E. J. Winslow, A. M. Allen, C. Chamberlain, William Jones, W. 
H. Fidinger, VV. H. Griffin, E. A. Whitman, Joseph Webber, H. B. Salis- 
bury, L. H. Robinson, corporals ; C. D. Davis, Henry C. Ward, musi- 
cians ; F. Krager, W. Cole, artificers ; R. Crosby, wagoner. 

Privates. — Orrin Allen, Arthur Allen, Ed. Anthony, Frank Anthony, 
Thomas Anthony, Henry Anthony, J. O. Aldridge, H. L. Austin, Al- 
bert Algo, J. Armidick, D. H. Bailey, F. Burgomaster, J. K. Brown, H. 

E. Brooks, J. C. Beach, Ira leaker, Henry Briiton, James Bush, John S. 
Barber, W. R. Crook, Eli Cope. J. M. Cook, J. W. Chappel, Joseph 
Cheney, Robert Caple, P. Carlton, Robert Conroy, Edward Dyer, Alvin 
Dyer, Ferdinand Dorf, H. E. Duell, Charles Derby, Frank Derson, M. 
T. Bailey, N. J. Eaton, William Fenner, Daniel Fenner, Irvine Fenner, 
Leon Feller, N. Frenberger, C. Foster, J. C. Fidinger, A. J. Frajer, J.'E. 
Friesman, W. B. Graham, Jacob Gleaser, R. L. Gumaer, W. J. Gregg, 
John C. Gray, G. A. Haight, J. E. Haight, Sam Haight, G. Z. Howard, 
J. B. Hescock, J. D. Henderson, S. B. Hulmes, James Heal, Robert Heal, 
Jonas Holmes, John Hix, J. W. Hildun, Charles Havens, E. G. Havens, 

F. M. Harden, O. S. Holccmb. F. Johnson, D. V. Johnson, Frank Jones, 
W. S. Joslyn, H. D. Johns, Thomas Johns, Daniel Johns, F. A. Kenyon, 
W. P. Kidder, J. W. Kasson. B. R. Lamkins, Fred Lord, C. Lafleur, D. 
E. Lamphear, William Lewis, James Laighbody, Charles Lilly, J. D. 
Mason. W. J. Moore, J. K. Merrill, W. A. McMillan, N. N. Morse, Pat 
Murphy, H. D. Myers. J. McDaniels, J. McAllister, W. H. Mattison, J. 
Mahannah, A. T. McCracken, Byron Murdock, W. L. Norton, Alfred 
Riker, G. W. Reynolds, Joiin Radford, A. E. Spaulding. Paul Stevens, 
D. Sherman, Festus Stone, H. T. Sautell, Moore Smith, W. I. Skidmore, 

A. V. Simmons, H. Y . Snook, Arba Shaw, J J^paulding, H. Suits, Daniel 
Suits, H. C. Searls, M. Sutfin, Thomas Steele, H. C.Timby, Samuel Throop, 
George Thomas, M O. Tyrrel, E. Tibbitts, S. D. Turtle, W. B. Taliman, 

B. F. Taliman, H. L. Van Dresser, M. L. Watson. J. A. Wall, Robert 



THE CIVIL WAR. jq^ 



Walker, W. M. Walker, John H. Weaver. B. F. Wood, James W. Wood 
Julius Wies, Jacob Wies, Thomas Warner, Warren West, J. H. William^ 
son, Edson Weed, E. G Webster, J. M. Warren. Alpha 'war^on N H 
Winslovv, A. B. Ward, W. F. Young. Peter Stevens, John Shum, George 
Walker, J. M.Zimmerman. 

Company I.— Alexander Gardner, captain; M. M. Cook, S. R.Stafford, 
E. R. Loomis, and Ed. Giliis, lieutenants ; Thomas J. Dean, Setli c' 
Hall, M. Duguid, M. Van Antwerp, J. B. Arnold, N. S. Nier' John ?. 
Thomas, and E. H. Norton, sergeants ; J. R. Perry. J. H. TaggLrt, L. A* 
Clark, S. J. Feagles, E. B. Randall, W. H. Eluell, Marcus Wilcox^ 
Thomas Houston, Charles Pindar. Fred Walter. W. L. Benedict, Orville 
Bannister, corporals; W. F. Osborne, George W. Lower, mu'sicians ; 
George Kelley, W. F. Perkins, artificers ; W. H. Miller, wagoner. 

Prh'a^cs.—J. D. Ames, James Agett, Jr., James Avery, W. Allen, A. 

C. Bushman, John Byzn, James Byzn, Leonard Bland, J. F. Bell, ]. B. 
Beardsley, C. Cook, Fred Cook, Joseph Cook. Joseph Cook, 2d, John 
Cook. Ebenezer Cook, D. Chamberlain. H. A. Church, W. L. Calvert 
Elias Chappell, H. T. Clark, Jerome Clark. Charles Carpenter. J. B.' 
Curtis, Thomas Cauffield. G. J. Chandler. Peter Campbell. S. B. Doty, 
Albert DeWolf, W. H. Dayton, A. K. Damon, F. Eberhardt, Fidelo 
Eddy, A. Etlierefington, John Fulton. W. H. Fuller. W. L. Farr, Sylvester 
Farr, F. H. Fordiiam. F. Furey, John Folk. W. H. H. Gillett, C. Gib- 
hartt, Peter Gallagher. Nich. Gossie, W. H. Gordon, G. H. Holmes. 
George Heath, E. P. Hoyt, Sylvester Hoyt, John Houston, William' 
Houston, E. N. Henderson, James Hunter, W. A. House, E. VV. Herrick, 

D. Y. Hallock, W. H. Howell, Elmer Howell, Daniel Jones, E. M. Klinei 
John Kelley. Philip Lougle, Joseph Lougle, H. J. W. Lewis, Seymour 
Lewis, Alonzo Lewis, P. McDonnell. Willi.im McGuire, M. H. McNeil, 
D. McMartin, B. F. McHenry, P. Mingus, Michael Mahan, Alfred Mur- 
doch, Dwight Mann, John Monroe. Nicholas Nowe, Alonzo Nichols, F. 
H. Olmsted, W. D. Perkins. J. B. Palmer. Lewis Payne, S. A. Pease, 
George Phillips, D. Russell, Robert Rcid, Ashley Randall, E. P. Ross, A. 
J. Reibling. T. C. Rawson. R. E. Roberson, W. W. Stamp, Ed. Stamp, 
Ed. Sharp, William Sharp, F. A. Shipley, J. A. Sherwood. J. M. Sher- 
wood, L. K. Spafiford, E. D Shader. Delos Shattuck, James Sifert, Almon 
Secor, Ed. Strouch, Riley Stevens, Alexander Shaw, S. L. M. Stafford, 
Emory M. Tone, J. A. Tone, John Thomas, AmosTopliff, H. W. Trobridge, 
A. E. Townsend. A. N. Van Antwerp, William Wayman, J. W. Wilson, 
John Walter, H. A. Williams, Harry Willis, Joel Willis, John Woltz, 



jQ. GENESEE COUNTY. 

Charles Wooliver, E. A. White, F. C. Waltby. E. B. Clark, C. S. Hol 
brook, J. H. Hoyt, John Shipley, W. H. Thompson, A. R. Terry, G. W. 

Terry, J. E. Young. .. x^ , r^ u 

Company L.— S. D. Eudden, captain ; H. H. Van Dake, George H. 
Robertson W. L Totten, lieutenants ; D. L. Fellows, E. T. Forman, 
W O Bartholomew. E. H. Ewell, Joseph Shaw, C. A. Whipple. Ed- 
ward Bannister. W. H. Hunn. sergeants ; D. K. Austin. Allen Buell, 
J A' Clark, Robert Chappie. James Drain, Kirk Ewell. Harrison Fer- 
guson E. F. Ives, G. W. Kendall, George Metzger, William Page, Ed. 
Williams, corporals; Julius Kassler, William Kisor, musicians; G. A. 
Barner Loren Hedger, artificers ; Eugene Plumley, wagoner. 

Privates— W. H. Anderson. R Anthony. N. Armstrong. J. Babcock, 
Charles G. Bale, Samuel Barnes. William Battersby. Joseph Bloedt. M. 
Buck O S Burgess, D. W. Burleigh, George Cacner, A. E Carpenter, 
C b' Carpenter. J. S. Carpenter. E. L. Carpenter. W. T. Chapman, 
James H. Childs, O. A. Churchill. W. H. Clancey, Chauncey Clark, 
Lewis Clark, James Conway. James Courtney, William Craig, I. S. Cross, 
Orrin Crocker, M. M. Cummings. H. V. Day. D. M. Dean. E. M. Doty, 
A J Drake, Thomas Duffy, Harley Dunham, James Ellis, M. Filkms, 
James Fluker, G. W. Freelove, W. M. Fuller. Robert Gibson, C. N. 
Goodenow G. W. Gould, E. J. Stratton. H. N Goodenow, D. R Good- 
rich, David Greening, Adam Grile, Charles Hale. S. Hamilton. John 
Hersch, John G. Hersch, John Hewitt. Thomas Hellman, W. H. H. 
Holden R D Holley, Edwin Hoops, C. A. Howland, Ira Howland, W. 
R"Hovvland, Riley Ingaldsbe, Joel B. Jewett, Jeff Judd. W. M. Kendall, 
Alfred Keyser, Henry Knapp, E. G. Moulton. John Kunst. Lewis Kraft, 
William Lewis, A. W. Lingfield, Mort Lingfield, Charles Loomis, O. D. 
Lvman L. D. Mapes. Morris Marquot, W. C. McCabe, Daniel Mc- 
MuUen, Morris McMullen, Mich Myers, Stephen Myers, Charles Mertz, 
Caleb Miller, James Morton, Wihiam Ni.xon, Dennis O'Connor, H. Z. 
Owen, Isaac Page, F. G. Passmore, R. H. Perkins, A. D. Petrie, G. W. 
R Pettibone, Harris Phillips, E. P. Pierce, F. Prescott, William Radley, 
Frank Reinhart. E. H. Rich, E. Robinson. Wesley Robinson. George 
Rose, E. K. Sage, Frank Sage, I. H. Sanford, Ira Smith, Joseph Sorrell, 
H R Stevens, M. B. Stevens, John Thomas, George Totterdale. D. C. 
Tracey, C. D. Vickery, George Walker, Tooker Walker, W. H. Walker, 
H. I. \\^allace, H. C. Warner, William Welch. E. Wentworth, L. Whipple, 
E. G. Wurtz, Charles Youngs. 

Many men were enlisted in other regiments, and it is impossible, per- 



THE CIVIL WAR. 105 



haps, to mention every one. We find the following in the 49th N. Y. V.: 
Peter Thomas, Ferdinand Thomas, French Fisher, Joseph Mark, Sergeant 
Hare, Charles Hayden, Sergeant Slingerland. 

CAPT. cowan's company, I4TH N. Y. VETERANS. 

This company was recruited in Genesee -County early in 1 861. It 
went to Washington, where it remained till early autumn. Early next 
spring the company went to Fairfax Court House and Alexandria, thence 
to Fortress Monroe. These brave boys did duty at Yorktown, at Cold 
Harbor, at Gaines Mills ; their first open-field fight was at Hanover Court 
House; they were also engaged at Beaver Meadow, Malvern Hilj, etc. 
The 14th greatly distinguished itself while in service, and Company 
D was the banner company. The following are the officers and men 
who went out: William L. Cowan, captain; Robert H. Ford, ist lieu- 
tenant; George E. Gee, 2d lieutenant; Thomas R. Hardwick, Almon C. 
Barnard, Jesse R. Decker, I. H. Crosman, sergeants; David W. Man- 
ning, Harry Parsons, H. H. Van Dake, Thomas L. Ostrom, corporals ; 
James B. Potter and Gregory Shaver, musicians. 

Privates. — O. Aldrich, Charles Archer, Charles Averill, Lucius F. 
Brown, James Bailey, F. F. Barber, William H. Barnett, M. W. Bliton, 
Thomas Bowie, John H. Brown, W. F. Burr, A. A. Bagley, George Car- 
penter. George Chamberlain, Daniel Chamberlain, Martin Coon, Ira S. 
Cross, William E. Crissey, Ellery I. Delano, James Derrick, George Drain, 
Stephen Ennis, H. Farnham, George Fisher, D. Glenn, Clark E. Gould, 
Abram Haner, Bruce Herrington, Henry Hike, N. B. Hopkins, Lowell 
Howe, Nelson Jenkins, Daniel Johns, Phil Lapp, Andrew Lee, James 
A. Lewis, John Lyon, Artemas Maxon, R. P. Merrill, James McDermit, 
Arthur O'Neil, Martin Pilgrim, W. H. Randall. Almon Secore, Robert 
Scovell, Joseph Shaw, William Shaw, William Smith, F. D. Smith, An- 
drew Seiber, Andrew Strobel, Paddock L. Tucker, Charles H. S. Tessey, 
Carmel D. Townsend, Edward Tibbitts, Randolph Tubbs, Arthur Tum- 
alty, Peter Van Valkenburg, Charles B. Vickery, Ira Woodin, Benjamin 
Winans, Amos B. Wyman, Millard D. York, Menden Young. 

THE 25TH IND. BATTERY. 

This valiant company was recruited in the counties of Orleans, Gene- 
see, and Niagara, and we have taken pains to give the Genesee County 
men as correctly as possible. They were mustered in at Lockport, N. Y., 
in September, 1862, and in December went to New York and became 



I 



I06 GENESEE COUNTY. 



part of the forces of Gen. Banks. They sailed to Fortress Monroe, thence 
to Ship Island, but were wrecked on the coast of Florida; were picked 
up by a gunboat and landed at Key West, and in January, 1863, sailed 
to New Orleans. They were in the siege cf Port Hudson, and in the 
Red River campaign. In the spring of 1865 they went on the expedi- 
tion to Mobile, and were mustered out at Rochester, N. Y., in July, 1865. 
The officers and men from Genesee County were: Lieutenant I. D. South- 
worth, mustered out as captain, then of Byron ; Albert Cook, 1st Heuten- 
ant, of Alabama; Lieut. James F. Emery and Henry M. Graves, Batavia ; 
Peter Lester, Addison Gates, J. H. Smock, B. F. Ackerson, and Patrick 
Sage, of Ahibama ; Aaron Hartwell, J. Madigan, Jacob Miller, William 
Shelt, Frank McCann, William Wilgin, Frank D. Murdock, Peter Clinch, 
Paul Nothan, James Darkins, John J. Snyder, Peter Linn, Peter Tharnish, 
Fred Hartwick, Nathan Leonard, John Oberton, Joseph Brill, and Peter 
Busser, of Byron ; Edgar A. P'isher, William R. Fisher, Charles A. Ken- 
dall, Edwin J. Nilcs, Valentine Riker, Wyman P. Fisk, Byron A. Fisk^ 
and William Jones, of Stafford ; William J. Pike, Arthur Little, and 
Cunningham Primrose, of Elba; William P. Bassctt, of Bergen ; Free- 
man Bailey, of Oakfield ; and George Conway, Rodney Alexander, Al- 
mon R. Blodgett and Levi C. Cleveland, of Pembroke. 



SOCIETIES AND ASSOCIATIONS. 



GENESEE COUNTY AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. 

T may not be generally known that this society had its origin in very 
early year-, for June 22, 1 8 19, a meeting was called and met at the 
house of Hiaman Holden. Joseph Ellicott was elected president, and 
Hon. Samuel M. Hopkins was elected president pro tan., and Parmenio 
Adams, treasurer /w tcni. It was agreed to raise $500 for the meeting 
and exhibition in October, $150 of the amount to be for expenses and 
$350 for premiums. A committee was also appointed to examine farms, 
they to be allowed $2 per day each for their time. Col. Green and CoL 
Touner were appointed marshals The annual fair was ordered held on 
the second Monday in October. Another record we find in June, 1832, 
when Jacob Le Roy was chosen president. 

The county has shown an uncommon interest in agricultural affairs, 
establishing a strong, perpetual society very early, and by its continued 
zeal still sustains large and profitable meetings annually. \ 



GENESEE COUNTY AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. I07 

In 1839—51 years ago — the present organization was established, and 
for the first 20 years annual fairs were held at suitable places in and 
around Batavia. About 30 years ago the formidable proportions of the 
society called for greater facilities, and the purchase of suitable grounds 
and erection of adequate buildings was at once effected. A good half- 
mile track for the development of stock has long been a prominent fea- 
ture to the grounds. At this writing (spring of 18S9) there is a project 
on foot to sell the present grounds, purchase elsewhere a more commo- 
dious site, .Hud erect new and larger buildings. ^ The society is strong 
and prosperous, and for the past half century has not failed in its meet- 
ings and fairs The minutes of meetings prior to 1870 cannot be found, 
but we give the names of such officers as the books now in use furnish : 
1870. — L A. Todd, president; L. R. Bailey, secretary; Augustus N. Cowdin, treasurer. 
1 87 1. — George Burt, president ; L. R. Bailey, secretary. 

1872. — E. G. Townsend, president; G. H. Robertson, secretary; A. R. Warner, treas- 
urer. 
1873. — M. N. Moulthrop, president; F. M. Jameson, secretary; A. R. Warner, treas- 
urer. • 
1874. — S. B. Lusk, president; J. H. McCulley, secretary; A. R. Warner, treasurer. 
1875. — Warren J, Tyler, president ; J. H. McCulley, secretary; A. R. Warner, treasurer. 
1876. — Cortland Crosman, president; E. R. Hay, secretary; A. R. Warner, treasurer. 
1877. — L S. Durfee, president; E. R. Hny, secretary ; A. R. Warner, treasurer. 
1878. — Albert Parker, president; J. H. Robson, secretary; E. L. Kenyon, treasurer. 
1879. — C. W. Van De Bogart, president ; N. Bogue, secretary ; R. A. Maxwell, treas- 
urer. 
1880. — C. W. Van De Bogart, president ; N. Bogue, secretary; R. A. Maxwell, treas- 
urer. 
1881. — John H. McCulley, president; George W. Pratt, secretary; R. A. Maxwell, 

treasurer. 
1882. — Eli Taylor, president; J. B. Neasmith, secretary; J. Holley Bradish, treasurer. 
1S83. — D. L. Hodgson, president; Nelson Bogue, secretary; 0. Town, Jr., treasurer. 
1884. — Nelson Duguid, president; J. M. McKenzie, secretary; B. George Kemp, treas- 
urer. 
1885. — N. M. Duguid, president; J. M. McKenzie, secretary; B. George Kemp, treas- 
urer. 
1886. — B. F. Peck, president; J. M. McKenzie, secretary; B. George Kemp, treasurer. 

' March 8, 1 890, by a vote of 269 to 235, the society decided to purchase what is known 
as the Redheld site, the price agreed upon being $6,000. This is the old driving park 
property of 23^ acres and eight and one-half acres additional on the east side of the 
track, with an eight-rod roadway out to West Main street, and includes the race-track, 
stables, wells, fences, judges' stand, etc. The eight and one-half acre addition runs 
east from the driving park 16 rods, and in it there is an oak grove of two ;ind one-halt 
acres. March iglh about two additional acres were purchased of Mr. Redheld for 
$203. The society now has nearly 35 acres of land. 



i 



I08 GENESEE COUNTY. 



1887. — Nelson Bogue, president; J. M. McKenzie, secretary; B. George Kemp, treas- 
urer. 

1888. — E. J. Ingalsbe, president ; Frank B. Redfield, secretary ; William Torrence, 
treasurer. 

1889. — R. R. Losee, president; James Z. Terry, vice-president; Dwight Dimock, sec- 
ond vice-president; L. F. Rolfe, secretary; F. B. Parker, treasurer. 

Tiie directors, one from each town, are chosen each year at the Janu- 
ary meeting, who, with the officers, have the general management of the 
fairs. A healthy premium list, prompt payment of awards, and the gen- 
eral interest taken in the affairs of the society have made the Genesee 
County Agricultural Society a model worthy of imitation, and its long 
years of prosperity are only an earnest of its stability and usefulness. 

The fiftieth annual fair of the society was held on the grounds on Elli- 
cott street in September, 1889 At the regular annual meeting of the 
officers in January, 1 890, it was voted to sell these grounds to the Ge- 
neva and Buffalo Railroad Co., who are to build a railroad. At this 
meeting the following officers were elected : James Z. Terry, president ; 
Dwight Dimock, vice-president; John M. McKenzie, second vice presi- 
dent ; L. F. Rolfe, secretary ; Fred Parker, treasurer. 

GENESEE COUNTY AUXILIARY BIBLE SOCIETY. 

This society was originally organized in July, 18 1 8, but no record has 
been found of its meetings prior to 1833. On the 6th of September, 1833, 
a meeting of the friends of the society and Bible cause was held in Le 
Roy, and it was resolved to reorganize the Genesee Bible Society under 
a new constitution. This was done. One of the articles of the constitu- 
tion adopted was that " the sole object of this institution shall be to en- 
courage a wider circulation of the Holy Scriptures without note or com- 
ment.' The officers chosen at that meeting by the society were Colonel 
Martin O. Coe, president; Deacon Hinds Chamberlain and Samuel Gran- 
nis, vice-presidents; Seth M. Gates, secretary; and Colonel S. M. Gates, 
treasurer. 

During the 70 years of its existence the society has made several can- 
vasses of the county for the distribution of the Scriptures, and ample pro- 
vision has been made for supplying by special agents the inmates of the 
county-house, jail, and all prisoners leaving the jail with Bibles; also for 
supplying all hotels in the county and portions of the trains of cars pass- 
ing through it. The society has kept up its annual contributions to the 
Anrerican Bible Society, to which it is a valuable auxiliary. 

The presidents since 1833 have been : Martin O. Coe, who was chosen 



SOCIETIES. 



109 



that year ; P. L. Tracy, in 1840 ; J. E. Tompkins, in 185 i ; P. L. Tracy, 
in 1853; John Fisher, in 1864; A. J. Bartow, in 1867; John Fisher, in 
1872 ; A. D. Lord, M. D., in 1873 ; R. L. Selden, in 1875 ; Rev. A. D. 
Wilbur, in 1876; Rev. WiUiam Swan, in 1881 ; Rev. John W. Sanborn, in 
1883; Rev. William W.Totherob, in 1884. The officers of 1888-89 were: 
Rev. A. D. Draper, president; Rev. C. W. Mitchell, Hon. E. C. Walker. 
Hon. Eli Taylor, and Rev. W. W. Totherob, vice-presidents; James P. 
Parsons, secretary; F. B. Gleason, treasurer. 

AUXILIARY AID SOCIETY. 

To the State Charities Aid Association. 

In November, 1883, a number of benevolent ladies and gentlemen of 
'Genesee County organized this society by the adoption of a constitution, 
the first article of which read as follows : 

"The name of this association shall be 'The Local Visiting Committee of the Gene- 
see County Poor-House, State of New York,' and its object shall be to visit regularly 
and systematically all the departments of the Genesee County poor-house, with a view 
to the mental, moral, and physical improvement of its pauper inmates ; and to bring 
about such reforms as may be practicable." 

About 40 members combined in this association, and F. C. Lathrop, 
of Le Roy, was made the president; J. B. Worthington, of Batavia, vice- 
president ; Mrs. Gardner Fuller, secretary ; and S. Massey, treasurer. 
An executive committee consisting of the officers and Rev. Dr. Hitch- 
-cock, Rev. Mr. Totherob, and Rev. Mr. Zimmer was appointed. The 
same officers continue, except that Mrs. M. E. Sheffield is the present in- 
cumbent of the positions of secretary and treasurer. Every member of 
the society is a committee for the purposes set forth in, the first article of 
their constitution. The society has had committees of three or four each 
that have made periodical visits to the county house. The society has 
suggested and assisted in the introduction of many improvements that 
have greatly ameliorated the condition of the unfortunate inmates. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL ASSOCIATION. 

This association was organized at a meeting held in the Baptist Church, 
Batavia, in October, 1857. Its object was to advance the great interest 
of Sunday-schools by affording a medium of communication among all 
the schools of the county, and giving facilities for improvements in meth- 
ods of work by an interchange of ideas and views among the workers, 
and exercises in these different methods suggested. In furtherance of the 



no GENESEE COUNTY. 



object of this society meetings have been held regularly in various parts 
of the county; addresses have been delivered; discussions and exercises 
have been successfully engaged in; and the interest in and utility of the 
cause has been greatly promoted. 

The lack of records of the proceedings of the society causes a defi- 
ciency in the mention of the names of those who have done efficient work,, 
and of the many improvemen'.s and much good service done. The pas- 
tors of the churches and many laymen throughout the county have given 
it their hearty cooperation, and. have labored with commendable zeal to 
aid in the success which has crowned the efforts of the association. The 
present officers are A. J. Rumsey, of Bethany, president ; Rev. C. W, 
Sweet, of Elba, secretary ; and a vice-president from each town in the 
county. 

GENESEE COUNTY PIONEER ASSOCIATION. 

This county has ever shown more zeal in its early settlement than its 
neighbors, and has now a large association that bears the name of this 
heading. On the 25th of August, 1869, a large number of pioneers and. 
citizens met at Union Hall, Batavia. to take into consideration the or- 
ganization of such a society. Stewart Chamberlain was appointed chair- 
man of the meeting, and Marcus L. Babcock, secretary. The following 
persons were made a committee to draft a constitution and rules to gov- 
ern the society: Hon. Moses Taggart. Batavia ; Sylvester Willis, Oakfield; 
Alanson Fisher, Darien ; Samuel Scofield, Eden ; Stewart Chamberlain, 
Le Roy; Marcus L. Babcock, Batavia; Augustus P. Hascall, Le Roy. 
This committee reported at a meeting held October 5th, and a suitable 
constitution was adopted. A committee was appointed — one from each 
town — to report a set of officers for the association, who reported the 
following, and who were elected : Heman J. Redfield, president ; Seth 
Wakeman, vice-president; Phineas Ford, secretary; Augustus P. Has- 
call, assistant secretary ; James R. Mitchell, treasurer. A vice-president 
from each town was also elected. 

At the annual meeting June 13, 1871, eight were reported as having 
died during the year, and large numbers joined the association. The offi- 
cers elected were Moses Taggart, president ; David Seaver, secretary. 

1872. — Alden S. Stevens, president; David Seaver, secretary; I I re- 
ported as having died. 

1873. — Benjamin Pringle, president ; David Seaver, secretary; 12 re- 
ported as having died. 

1874. — Benjamin Pringle, president; David Seaver, secretary. 



STATE INSTITUTION FOR THE BLIND. m 



l8'75- — J- R- Mitchell, president; J. M. VVaite, secretary. 

1876. — J. R. Mitchell, president; J. N. Beckley, secretary. 

1877. — Albert Rowe, president; Safford E. North, secretary. 

1878. — Albert Rowe, president ; S. E. North, secretary. 

1879 — Albert Rowe, president; S. E. North, secretary. 

1880. — Israel M. Peck, president; S. E. North, secretary. 

1 88 1. — James R. Mitchell, president ; Frank S. Wood, secretary. 

1882. — Lucius Atwater, president; Frank S. Wood, secretary. 

1883. — Lucius Atwater, president; Frank S. Wood, secretary. 

1884. — Albert Rowe, president; Frank S. Wood, secretary. 

1885. — Lucius Atwater, president; Frank S. Wood, secretary. 

1886. — Lucius Atwater, president; Frank S. Wood, secretary. 

1887. — Lucius Atwater, president; Frank S. Wood, secretary. 

1888. — Hon. E. C. Walker, president; H. F. Peck, vice-president; J. H, 
Gates, secretary and treasurer ; with a vice-president in each town, which 
are named each year. 

The society has accumulated a vast fund of pioneer histor}', and its 
annual meetings in June are very interesting. Hon. Norman Seymour, 
the historian, reported, in an addres.s before the association in 1878, that 
53 of the pioneers who settled between 1801 and 1828 in the county were 
at that date enjoying good health. The officers for 1889 were Rev. L. At- 
water, Batavia, president; O. S. Kidder, Alexander, vice president ; J. H. 
Yates, Batavia, secretary and treasurer. 

STATE INSTITUTION FOR THE BLIND. 

Genesee County was selected for this institution, and its selection 
shows the good judgment of those having it in charge. It occupies a 
beautiful site about half a mile north of the court liouse in Batavia. The 
law for its establishment was enacted April 27, 1865. The act provided 
for the appointment of five commissioners to select a site for the institu- 
tion, three to superintend its building, and a board of trustees to super- 
intend its affairs after its completion. The commissioners to i-electa site 
were Hon, E. W. Leavenworth. Syracuse; B. F. Manierre, New York 
city; James Ferguson, Ovid; O. K. Woods, Chazy ; and M. M. South- 
worth, Lockport. In Ftbruaiy, 1866, the board selected Patavia as the 
site, and that village presented to the State 50 acres of land at a cost of 
$10,000. In May, 1866, grading commedced ; the contract to build 
was let to Henry T. Rogers, of Rochester; and the corner- stone was 
laid with appropriate ceremonies on September 6, 1866. A large 



112 GENESEE COUNTY. 



amount of historical and interesting matter was deposited in the corner- 
stone : copies of the county papers, programme of the day's proceedings, 
copy of the act founding it, a continental bank note, a provincial note, a 
note of the Bank of Attica and history of the bank, postal currency, his- 
tory of Batavia, subscribers to the grounds, copy of minutes of first court 
in Batavia, in 1803, photographs of village trustees, and list of building 
committee, trustees, and State and federal officers. In July, 1868, the 
institution was formally delivered to the trustees. 

The building is of brick, three stories high above the basement, which 
is of limestone quarried from the site ; on this is a broad belt of Lock- 
port freestone ; the building fronts the south, and consists of four struct- 
ures — a front and rear center buildings, and two wings connected by 
corridors. The length of the entire front is 266 feet, and depth, includ- 
ing portico, 185. The basement contains the laundry, bathing rooms, 
water-closets, heating apparatus, etc., and the other stories are conven- 
iently arranged for offices, school-rooms, sleeping-rooms, etc., for 150 
pupils or more. It is heated by steam, and its sanitary arrangements 
cannot be excelled. The amount paid for building, stables, cisterns, 
cooking ranges, engines, etc., was $244,587.24. In July, 1868, Dr. 
A. D. Lord took charge of the institution ; school was opened Septem- 
ber 2, the same year, with 40 pupils during the month.. Seventy- four 
pupils were enrolled during the first year. Mrs. E. W. Lord was ap- 
pointed superintendent in June, 1875. An efficient corps of teachers is 
employed, and the institution takes the highest rank. The annual re- 
port for 1888 shows the number of pupils for the year 140 — 75 boys, 65 
girls ; the whole number who have received instruction since its founda- 
tion is 671. 

Its annual election of officers occurs in June of each year, and the in- 
cumbents for 1888 — to June, 1889 — were Lee R. Sanborn, president; 
Levant Mclntyre, secretary ; and Gerrit S. Griswold, treasurer. 

It is due to the memory of Dr. Lord (the foremost in the organization 
of the institution, and so long in charge) to give a brief notice of his life. 

Asa D. Lord was born in Madrid, St. Lawrence County, N. Y., in 
1 8 16. He taught school at the age of 17, and then pursued a course of 
study at Potsdam Academy. In 1837 he went to Willoughby, Ohio, 
and opened up a private school. In 1839 he was chosen principal of 
Western Reserve Teachers Seminary, at Kirtland, Ohio, where he also 
studied medicine. In 1846 he started the publication of the Ohio School 
Journal, and continued at journalistic work for 10 years. In 1847 ^^ 



STATE INSTITUTION FOR THE BLIND — RAILROADS. II3 

was superintendent of schools in Columbus, Ohio, and in 1856 was ap- 
pointed superintendent of the Ohio Institution for the Blind In 1863 
he was licensed to preach, and in 1868, after 12 years as instructor for 
the blind in Ohio, was invited to take charge of the new institution then 
erecting at Batavia, where for nearly seven years he passed a busy, fruit- 
ful life. He died in 1 875. The wife of Dr. Lord succeeded him in the 
managment (she had been a teacher in the literary department), and re- 
signed her position in 1877. She was succeeded by James McLeod, who 
served one year, then A. D. Wilbor, D. D., a minister of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, was appointed, who served acceptably for five years, 
when the present efficient superinteneent, Arthur G. Clement, M. A., 
took charge, and spares no pains to fully meet the expectations of the 
State at large. 

Arthur Galette Clement, B. A., M. A., superintendent of the Institu- 
tion for the Blind, was born in Bethany, December 31, 1854, a son of 
Orson J. and Anna J. (Wait) Clement. His grandfather (Isaac) and 
wife came from Vermont at an early day, and resided in Bethany until 
their decease. Ira Wait (his mother's father) was also an early settler of 
the same town, living there all his life. The parents of A. G. Clement 
both died in 1876, The father was a teacher and farmer. 

The primary education of Prof Clement was begun in the district 
schools, continued in Batavia, and supplemented by the advantages de- 
rived from attendance at Alexander and Wyoming Seminary. He sub- 
sequently entered the University of Rochester, graduating therefrom in 

1882, with the degree of B. A., since which has been added that of M. A. 
Beginning as teacher in district schools he has always devoted himself 
to educational matters, and was principal of the Bergen public schools. 
In 1883 he was elected superintendent of the Institution for the Blind, and 
has educated himself to a high standard of the requirements of the posi- 
tion, and has held the office longer than any former superintendent 
(March, 1890). At a convention of the American Association for the 
Blind he made an able address, which was highly commended, and will 
yet achieve a still higher position among educators. In September, 

1883, he was married to Miss Emma C, daughter of Henry Ward, 
an old resident of Bergen, and they have two children, Louisa W. and 
Edith M. 

RAILROADS. 

By the wisdom of its founders the center of Genesee County was 
located in the great trail between the East and the West, and the lines of 



114 GENESEE COUNTY. 



railways — not leaving a town without such facilities — are numerous. 
The agitation for railroads began in 1831. The New York Central Rail- 
road was first opened from Rochester to Bergen, and the cars for a time 
were hauled by horses between those two points. The road was built 
and opened to 13.itavia in 1837, '^"d to Buffalo in 1843. This road 
ex'ends in a southwesterly direction from Bergen, tlirough Byron, Staf- 
ford, Batavia, Pembroke, and the northwest corner of Darien. The Can- 
andaigua and Niagara Falls branch of the New York Central Rail- 
road enters the county at Le Roy, passing through Stafford, Batavia, 
and Pembroke. A branch of this road extends south from Batavia to 
Attica. 

The New York, Lake Erie and Western Railroad, main line, passes 
through Bethany, Alexander, and Darien to Attica and Buffalo. The 
Rochester branch of the same corporation, on its line to Buffalo, passes 
through Le Roy. Stafford, Batavia, and Alexander to Attica. 

The " State Line," or Rochester and Pittsburg Railroad, passes through 
Le Roy and Pavilion in a southeasterly course. 

The West Shore Railroad enters the county at Bergen and passes 
through Bergen, Byron, Elba, Oakfield, and Alabama, thence to l^uffaio. 

The Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad passes through 
Pavilion, Bethany, Alexander, and Darien, thence to Buffalo. 

The new line cal'ed the Geneva and Buffalo Railroad, controlled by 
the Lehigh Viilley Railroad Co., is located through the towns of Le Roy, 
Stafford, Batavia, Pembroke, and Darien, and the company expects to 
build and complete the same before 1891. 

No county as a whole in New York State has better railroad facilities 
than Genesee. Its rolling, rich land in every town has a market within 
its own limits for every product, and the facilities for transportation 
render the price of products the highest possible to benefit the pro- 
ducers. 

FRUIT INTERESTS. 

Genesee County, located in the territory known as the lake region 
of Western New York, with its diversity of soil and favorable climatic 
conditions, has long been recognized as peculiarly adapted to fruit 
growing. Its products have been eagerly sought in the markets of the 
country, and the fact that large plantations have been devoted to this 
industry renders the fruit crop an important item in the material and 
pecuniary interests of the county. The early history of the industry was 
mainly the growing of the apple, pear, and peach, and while the labors 



FRUIT INTERESTS. 



115 



of the first propagators would now be considered quite insignificant, yet 
to their efforts and enterprise is the county indebted for much of iis 
past and present progress and success. 

About the year 1820 E. Cook, of Byron, started small nurseries, 
mostly of apples, from which many thrifty bearing orchards are now 
standing. Then followed that of Col. Pettibone, of Elba, in 1824, who 
maintained for many years a well kept and, for that period, extensive 
nursery. Later, Lyman Hollis planted a few acres of fruit and orna- 
mental trees. Following close to these were the diminutive plantings of 
D. H. Bogue, which furnished the rudimental instruction and training of 
liis sons, the " Bogue Brothers," and which in later years enabled them 
the more successfully to conduct their extensive business. 

Later, somewhere in the forties, A. H. Norris, of Stafford, commenced 
propagating peaches, for his own setting, and also selling through the 
county, paying $[ per bushel for the few pits he used, and obtaining 
buds from Rochester. This proved so profitable that he started other 
fruits, — apples, cherries, pears, and quinces, — importing quince stock 
from France for propagating the dwarf pear, and early in the " fifties " 
sending large quantities to California, — 40.000 at one time, — also quan- 
tities of stock to Buffalo, where he found market for thousands of cher- 
ries. He started a quince orchard, and the product found a ready mar- 
ket at $7 per barrel by the car load. He also started orchards of apple, 
pear, peach, and plum trees, of which he has, at present, about 100 
acres apples, 20 acres dwarf Duchess pears, 5 acres of peaches, and 1,000 
yellow-egg plum trees. Following him were Alvirus Loomis, who started 
a small nursery in Byron, afterwards removing to Batavia, under the firm 
name of Loomis & Hall, where they continued till about 1864, when 
both sold out and moved West. 

In the fall of 1865 Nelson Bogue made his first planting of a few rods 
of apple seedlings, on rented ground, near the village of Attica. Here 
he remained, his business, meanwhile, increasing to the extent that lie 
was not able to obtain available land to warrant extensive business, till 
in 1872, with his brother, T. Bogue, he bought the farm of W. C. Moreau, 
three miles north of Batavia, which formed the nucleus of his pres- 
-ent extensive nurseries. 

But in the early history of fruit raising in the county it was not till 
centers of population, the cities of the country, became large consumers 
•of fruit, and the establishment of railroads, as a means of transportion, 
made these markets available, that the production of the larger fruits was 



Il6 GENESEE COUNTY. 



of any commercial or pecuniary value. Before this period no value was 
placed on the apple beyond the home consumption, expecting, perhaps, a 
few sweet ones for stock, and peaches were allowed to rot in quantities on 
the ground. Now the thousands of barrels of apples and pears, which are 
shipped from the county in fruitful years, and the value of the receipts 
to the farmer and fruit grower, are such that a failure of the crop is a 
financial calamity. Probably no section of the country is better adapted 
to the production of long-keeping apples, like the Rox Russet, than the 
southern towns of Bethany and Pavilion, among whose orchards the 
" Smeads " and " Pages " have been famous, whose success has been for 
years attested by the large profits which have been realized from them. 
In this county, too, the Northern Spy is grown in large quantities, and 
nowhere more perfectly, and all the finest varieties of winter fruit are 
here successfully grown and shipped to all parts of the United States 
and Europe. 

The dwarf pear has been quite extensively planted (mostly of the 
Duchess variety), and probably nowhere grown more successfully, many 
orchards proving very remunerative, among which are those of "Bishop," 
of Le Roy, Bond and others, of Pavilion, Eli, Taylor, and Ford, of Elba, 
William Page, of Bethany, who, for the crop of 1888, from less tlian five 
acres, received nearly $2,000; also N. H. Green, of Byron, who, from an 
orchard of a few acres, received for the last three or four crops a net re- 
turn of nearly $200, per acre. Among the first dwarf pear orchards 
planted was that of L. Rathbone, of Oakfield, which produced large 
quantities of fine fruit, but which finally became unprofitable, and has 
been removed. 

In the year 1862 Elias Cook, of Bryon, commenced the planting of 
about the first extensive apple orchard in the county, which finally cov- 
ered about 50 acres, and which contained nearly 2,400 trees in a body, 
embracing principally the leading varieties of winter fruit grown in West- 
ern New York. 

Small fruits of all kinds succeed well in nearly all parts of the county, 
and where properly managed prove fairly profitable, and will undoubt- 
edly continue to do so as the consumption is yearly increasing, besides 
the demand at the canning factory, now located at Batavia, which uses 
large quantities. 



GAZETTEER OF TOWNS. 



ALABAMA. 



TT LABAMA, the northwest town in Genesee County, was erected 
A-A from Shelby, Orleans County, April 17, 1826, and originally called 
/ V " Gerrysville, " in honor of Elbridge Gerry, ex- vice- president. 
The name was changed to Alabama (signifying "here we rest"), April 
21, 1828, and in 1832 a portion of the town of Wales, Erie County, was 
annexed. The Tonawanda Creek flows through the southwest and west 
portions of the town, from which a feeder of the Erie Canal is taken. This 
creek also runs through the lands of " the Reservation of the Tonawanda 
band (or tribe) of the Seneca Indians," occupying a strip of land two 
miles wide, and comprising about one-fourth of the area of this town. 
A portion of the well-known Tonawanda swamp also skirts the northwest 
portion of the town, which by modern drainage has been made some 
of the most productive land in that section. Oak Orchard Creek is in 
the northeast portion. The same vein of limestone that runs in Oakfield 
also forms a portion of the lower part of this town. 

"Alabama Sour Springs," also called "Oak Orchard Acid Springs," 
celebrated for their medicinal purposes, are located on road 7, in the 
northern part of the town, in the "swamp," on a little elevation two and 
a half to four feet above the surrounding surface, within a circle of 50 
rods, and no two alike ; eight in all have been discovered and analyzed^ 
three of which are of an acid nature, one sulphur, one magnesia, one iron, 
and one of a gaseous nature, affording gas enough to light 50 ordinary 
gas burners. In one instance three of them issue from one mound within 
a few feet of each other. An hotel has been erected on road 8, one-half 
mile from the springs, and the water conducted by pipes to that building. 

The earliest settlement in the town of which we have any record is 
that of James Walsworth, in 1806, who also kept the first tavern, whose 



I 



Il8 GENESEE COUNTY. 



children, twins, were the first born in the town. Other early settlers are 
enumerated, as follows, as near in the order of their advent as can be 
ascertained: 

In 1 8 14 John and James Richardson, Jr., and Hannah Carr and Samuel 
Sheldon; in 181 5 William Daniels; in 1817 Jones Kinne and Benjamin 
Gumaer, and Henry Howard, who taught a school in a log house. E. F. 
Norton located in 1819; Robert Harper, James Peter.and Joseph Holmes 
about 1821 ; James Gardner in 1822; Elder Samuel Whitcomb in 1824, 
who erected the first saw-mill ; Samuel Basom in 1825; Selah Vosburgh 
in 1826; and Thomas R.Wolcott in 1827. Jesse Lund, Gideon M. Taylor, 
David Webster and brother Leonard, and Nahum Loring, who opened 
an early store, came in 1828; Sterling Hotchkiss came in 1829; Daniel 
Thayer in 1830, and also Ryal Ingalsbe and Elijah Brooks Ingalsbe. 
Gideon Howland and Parley V. Ingalsbe came in 1832; Elijah and Eb- 
enezer Ingalsbe in 1834; and Samuel Burr, James Burr, and Isaac Dual 
the same year. N. Baker, Jr., was an early merchant, in 1834. Jacob and 
David Martin located in 1835; Anson Norton in 1836; and James Filkins, 
George Wight, and Abbott Wight in 1837. A. Johnson came in 1840, 
was a postmaster, kept hotel in one of the old-time taverns at the Center, 
and was a prominent man of the town. He had four daughters, one of 
whom married the Hon. Albert Rowe, of Alexander, and one married 
Hon. Robert W. Nichols, of Alabama. Later settlers and business men 
were the Piersons; also William Price, who built a steam saw-mill in 1861. 
S. C. Bateman, who was a druggist and physician, and Dr. Pettibone 
came about 1840, and Rogers Macumber in 1841. 

The first annual town meeting was held April 17, 1826, and the fol- 
lowing officers chosen : Benjamin Gumaer, supervisor; Chester Wolcott, 
town clerk; David Goodrich, Charles P. Brown, and Elijah Craig, asses- 
sors. At this meeting $25 was voted for roads and $50 for schools. 
Seven road districts were established, and John S. Wolcott, Joseph Holmes, 
and Ephraim Divinny elected commissioners of highways, by whom over- 
seers of roads in the districts were appointed to work them. The total 
number of persons assessed at this meeting were 73. 

The supervisors for the town have been as follows : Benjamin Gumaer, 
1826-28; Charles P. Brown, 1829-30; George F. Dinsmore, 1831-32; 
Guy B. Shepard, 1833-35; Thomas R. Wolcott, 1836-37; Abraham 
Bolton, 1838-39; Oren Densmore, 1840-41; Charles P. Brown, 1842; 
John Crombie, 1843-44; William McComber, 1845-46; Charles P.Brown, ' 
1847 ; Jacob Winslow, 1848 ; Chester Cabot, 1849-50; Jacob Winslow,. ! 



TOWN OF ALABAMA. up 



1851; Charles P. Brown, 1852-53 ; E.B. Warren, 1854; Jacob Winslow, 
1855-56; Chauncy Williams, 1857-58; B. R. Warren, 1859; Edward 
Halsey, i860; Chauncy Williams, 1861-64; Aden G. Gage, 1865-67; 
Volney G. Knapp, 1868-69; Joseph W. Holmes, 1870-74; Volney G. 
Knapp, 1875-76; Sabert H. Basom, 1877-78 ; R. W. Nichols, 1879-81; 
Charles W. Roberts, 1882-83; Sabert H. Basom, 1884-88; Augustus 
T. G. Zurhorst, 1889. 

About the years 184810 1856 Alabama Center was the scene of a crime 
committed by a woman, Polly Franklin, who married Henry Hoag about 
1844. Their children, Rosa and Viola, died suddenly, and soon the father 
died, then another child, Frances, followed him. After the death of 
Mr. Hoag his widow married Otto Frisch, but soon was deserted by 
him. About this time suspicion was aroused, and S. E. Filkins (counselor) 
caused an investigation to be made, which revealed the fact that some of 
her family had died from the effects of poison, large quantities of arsenic 
having been administered to them. She was arrested and tried three times 
and being finally found guilty was sentenced to be hung, but eventually 
was imprisoned for life. 

"In 1866 a very large white oak tree was cut down upon the farm of 
Mr. True, which was evidence of the wonderful strength and fertility of 
the soil of that section. It measured four feet through at the butt, v/as 
straight for 60 feet to the first branch, where it was three feet in diameter. 
It showed, when cut, 12 circles, or years' growth, to the inch, thus making 
it about 504 years old. The most remarkable feature on splitting up one 
of the cuts about 20 feet from the butt was a cavity in the heart, con- 
taining about one pint of sound beech nuts. How long they had been 
deposited there must be left to conjecture. The trunk was split up, and 
1,200 fence stakes, 500 other pieces, and eight cords of wood were 
chopped from the tree." 

In the town are the villages of Alabama Center, Wheatville, Smithville, 
and Basom, a postoffice on the West Shore Railroad. 

Alabama Center, situated north of the center of the town, is a 
pleasant and enterprising village, on the main road leading from Batavia 
to Lewiston, one of the earliest laid out roads on the Holland Purchase. 
Soon after the town organization, in 1826, Hiram Dual opened up a gen- 
eral store, and, though small, it was a great convenience to the settlers 
in that locality. Soon after James Filkins built the store on the site of 
Zurhorst Hall. The early blacksmithing was attended to by Samuel 
Winchell and Shubael Franklin. James Filkins was a shoemaker, and also 



I20 GENESEE COUNTY. 



a tanner and currier for a large section of country. David Garry kept 
a tavern about one and one- half miles east of the Center, where the first 
town meeting was held. The village contains two churches (Methodist 
Episcopal and Baptist), one store, one hotel, and postoffice (Alabama), and 
there is a daily line of stages from Batavia to the Center, and also a line to 
Medina. In the vicinity of the Center is a fruit evaporator, operated each 
year, and a creamery. There are two steam saw- mills, one three-quarters of 
a mile west, run by William Price, built in i86i, and burned in 1872 and 
rebuilt by him the same season, with a capacity of 150,000 feet of lumber 
annually. There are also a cheese factory, a heading-mill, two blacksmith 
shops, one wagon shop, about 50 houses, and 400 inhabitants. The 
Model Creamery was built in 1888, by S. S. Parker. It takes the milk 
of 400 cows, and makes both butter and cheese. 

The Baptist CJmrch was organized in 1832. Elder Augustus Warren 
was the first minister in charge, and continued as such nearly all of his 
long and well-spent life, or until 1876. The edifice was erected in 1850^ 
at a cost of $2,000, and rebuilt, enlarged, and greatly improved in 1880, 
the seating capacity being for 200 members. The valuation of the church 
property, including parsonage, is about $5,500. In 1877 Rev. L. L. 
Stowell was in charge, followed in 1 879 by Rev. Merrill Forbes, who served 
till 1884. Re\^- H. H.Thomas served in 1885-86, and Rev. J. B. Lenion 
in 1887. At present the Rev. Increase Child is the minister, and the 
acting deacons are Ryal Ingalsbe, Charles Bloomingdale, George Hotch- 
kiss, and Albert P. Tuttle. 

Connected with the Baptist Church organization is the Ladies' Home 
and Foreign Missionary Society. Flor St. John is president; Sarah 
Bloomingdale, secretary ; and Carrie Dewey, treasurer. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church at Alabama Center was rebuilt in 
1 882. It is a frame building capable of seating about 200 persons. They 
have a membership of 75, and their property has a valuation of about 
$4,600. Sunday-school services are held every Sunday. 

The Baptist Church of Oakfield and Alabama, located at South Ala- 
bama, was organized about 1839, when a frame building for worship was 
erected, seating about 250 persons. The Rev. J. C. Newman is in charge, 
with a membership of 50 persons. The church property is valued at 
$4,000. 

Excelsior Lodge, No. 638, /. O. G. T, was organized in March, 1887. 
The officers are Allen Norton, Evelyn Eaton, Daniel Ballou, Matie Eaton, 
William Jones, Minnie Jones, Mrs. S. C. Bateman, Abiah Jones, Anna 

I 



TOWN OF ALABAMA. 121 



Ballou, William Cottringham, Seward Tumalty, and William Phillips. 
They meet weekly. 

The Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Alabama Center was or- 
ganized in 1886. Its officers are Mrs. Albert Tuttle, president; Mrs. J. P. 
Willis, vice-president; Mrs. L. Eaton, secretary; Mrs. William Cot- 
tringham, corresponding secretary ; and Mrs. C. R. Phillips, treasurer. 
They meet each week. 

Wheatville, situated two and one-half miles east of Alabama Center, 
is located on the Batavia and Lewiston road, in a splendid farming sec- 
tion. There are about 40 houses and 200 inhabitants. Its settlement is 
CO- existent with that of the town. Elder Whitcomb built the first saw- 
mill in this vicinity, which was previous to 1820, Mr. Parrish and Levi 
Lee were early merchants, and Aaron Lanckton carried on business as a 
tanner and currier in 1838. John Wolcott kept a tavern here as early as 
1822. A Mr. Young was the early blacksmith, Mr. Upton a shoemaker, 
and a Dr. Shepard looked after the physicial wants of the people and El- 
der Whitcomb the spiritual. The village contains a store, postoffice, two 
churches (Freewill Baptist and Roman Catholic), and two blacksmiths. 

The Freewill Baptist Church was organized in 1824 by Elder Samuel 
Whitcomb, who was also its first minister, and for a long time he was the 
only minister in the town. The valuation of the church property is 
about ^4,000. Rev. S. R. Evans is the present pastor. 

St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church. — There is a small church of this 
denomination in Wheatville, presided over by Father Connery, who is 
located at East Pembroke. When Father Barrett was stationed at East 
Pembroke, about four years ago, he began services in Wheatville, which 
finally resulted in a building being erected and a continuation of the visits 
of the priest who may be in charge in several places in the vicinity. The 
building will seat 150 persons, and cost $2,000. 

Smithville (South Alabama p. o.) contains a Baptist Church, a store, 
and a postoffice, and is a station on the West Shore Railroad. The sta- 
tion is called Alabama. A hotel was built by Henry Ceder in 1884, who 
is the present proprietor. He has lately newly refurnished the hotel, and 
is prepared to accommodate an extensive travel. 

The I. O. of O. F. of Alabama, No. 496, was organized several years ago. 
Its present officers are : L. B. Fisk, M. G.; William Cottringham, V. G.; 
Frank Vail, R. S ; Charles Drake, P. S.; M. Mead, treasurer. They meet 
weekly. 

Basom postoffice was opened October 25, 1889, by Julius Ingalsbg^^, 



122 GENESEE COUNTY. 



postmaster. It is a station on the West Shore Railroad, has a hotel, two 
stores, Rowley & Eddy's lumber yard, and one blacksmith shop. 

The Tonawanda Reservation is located in Erie and Genesee 
counties, and originally contained over 45,000 acres, but has been re- 
duced until now it embraces a tract of 7,547 acres, of which about 3,000 
acres are cultivated to some extent, and of this amount one- half is leased 
to white men. The Indians have occupied and owned this land for more 
than 100 years; and we quote here an extract from an article furnished 
to the Batavia Times in 1874 by David Seaver, who had access to an 
old work published in London in 1799, written by the Duke Rochefou- 
cauld Liancourt, describing a journey taken by him from Philadelphia to 
Niagara Falls in 1795, as follows: 

" From Canawango (near Avon, and latterly called Canawaugus) to Buffalo and Niag- 
ara Falls the journey was made via Tonawango Indian Village, under the guidance of 
one Poudrit (Poudry), a Canadian Frenchman, who, deserting from the English Army 
at the close of the Revolution, married a squaw, settled at Tonawango, became a trader, 
and lived in genuine Indian style." 

Extract from the diary of John Maule, a traveler, in 1800 : 

" At Tonawautee reside from 15 to 20 families of Seneca Indians, who are well sup- 
plied with fish from the creek. Here also has been settled from the year 1794 Poudrit 
(Poudry), a French Canadian ; he very cheerfully gave such refreshments to ourselves 
and horses as his slender means would afford. He converses m very good English, and 
is well acquainted with the Seneca language." 

Thus is verified the inhabiting of this section by the Indians long be- 
fore the advent of our early pioneers. 

The Indians number at this time about 560 persons, including 32 
chiefs. The population increases slowly. The tribe has two sources of 
revenue: one from the " National farm," the land set apart for the man- 
ual labor school, which is leased to individual Indians; and the other is 
rent received from white people for pasture land. From these two 
sources the nation derives about $150 per year. The individual Indian 
also leases land to white men, which is cultivated, but not occupied, by 
them. The nation also receives an annuity of about $6,500 from the 
general government. 

Politically these Indians have two parties, Pagan and Christian, the 
former being largely in the majority and govern the tribe. The law pro- 
vides for the election of a president (for the tribe), who must be a chief, 
and a clerk, marshal, and peacemakers. William Parker, a chief, died in 
1864. He was in the War of 18 12. His wife was a niece of Red Jacket. 
General Ely S. Parker, one of General Grant's staff, was born on the 



TOWN OF ALABAMA. 



123 



Reservation. There are two mission schools upon the Reservation, one 
a Baptist and one a Presbyterian. There are also district schools taught 
by competent teachers. 

Hon. T. W. Jackson is the Indian agent for the Six Nations. James 
Paxton is the assistant Indian agent, and WiUiam Paxton, superintend- 
ent of Indian schools. 

In 1825 the Baptists organized a mission church on the Reservation, 
and built a log chapel. The Rev. Mr. Bingham had charge. At present 
their denomination has a brick church, which cost $4,000, seating 300 
people, and a membership of 32. The Rev. John Griffin is pastor. 

The Presbyterians, under Asher Wright, in 1870 started a mission. 
Their church cost $2,000, will seat 200 persons, and has 40 members, 
under the charge of Rev. John McMaster. The Rev. S. S. Ballou, of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, in 1888 organized a mission under the aus- 
pices of the missionary board. Their house of worship, built of wood, 
will seat lOO persons, cost $400, and they have 18 members, now under 
the care of Rev. T. C. Bell, who officiates at Alabama Center. 

Samuel Basom, son of Peter, born December 12, 1806, came to Ala- 
bama about 1825, settling on road 52, on the farm now owned by his son 
Harrison S. He made the first clearing on the farm and built a log 
house. About 1834 he married Matilda Piper, who bore him four chil- 
dren, Sabert H., Charles W., Harrison S.,all of Alabama, and M. Louise, 
wife of William B. Chapman, of Ontario County. Mr. Basom died 1875, 
and his wife (born 181 1) March 3, 1880. 

Sabert H. Basom was born February 21, 1835, was always a resident 
here, and married Aramintha Starkweather and has three children, Gen- 
evieve, Mabel, and Clare. Mr. Basom has served two terms as justice of 
the peace, one year as highway commissioner, supervisor of the town 
nine years, and one year chairman of the board. He has also been a no- 
tary public, and since he was 25 years of age has been called upon to 
settle estates, having the reputation from the county judge of satisfacto- 
rily settling more than any other man in this part of the county. 

Harrison S Basom was born April 30, 1840, on the farm where his 
father settled, residing there ever since, and of which he became sole 
owner in 1880. He married Eleanora Noble, of Alabama. He is a 
farmer, and has been town assessor since 1884. 

Charles W. Basom was born July 8, 1836, and always resided in the 
town. He married Sarah A. Chamberlain. 

Titus Bement, born 1771, married Eunice Lyke in 1795, and they were 



124 GENESEE COUNTY. 



parents of nine children : Mahala, David, Olive, who married Joel Hill, De- 
lina, Edward, Eunice, William H , who died young, Andrew Z., Philetus, 
who lives in Chautauqua County, and Edward, who was born in Ontario 
County and learned the wagon and blacksmith trade. He married Lydia, 
daughter of John and Deborah (Bates) Bird, located in Mayville, and en- 
gaged in business. Their children were Laura A., who married James D. 
Gregory, of Oakfield, 185 1; Sarah M., who married Austin Ingalsbee, 
1855, and resides at Elba; William, who died 1839; Emily, who died 
1 841 ; and Alpha E., of Alabama. Titus Bement came to Alabama in 
1852, and located on the farm now occupied by his son Alpha E. He 
died March 22, 1866, and his wife March_^i8, 1874. They were members 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Alpha E. Bement, born December||i6, 1844, learned the carpenter and 
builders' trade, and married, January 10, 1866, Olive D., daughter of 
Schuyler and Mary A. (Wincheli) Starkweather, of Alabama. Their chil- 
dren are Myron E., born August 8, 1869, who is now assistant cashier and 
telegraph operator in the W. S. R. R. freight office at Buffalo, and is mar- 
ried ; and Emma Elizabeth, born January 12, 1876. Mr. Bement is a 
justice of the peace and resides at Alabama station. 

James Gardner, born in Tompkins County in 1800, a farmer by occu- 
pation, came to Alabama in 1822. He married Betsey, daughter of Will- 
iam and Sahara (Adams) Wood, in 1831, and they had one daughter, Sa- 
hara Ann. Mr. Gardner was a hard working, industrious man. He died 
in 1853. His wife died in 1871. Sahara Ann married Jeremiah S. Beals 
in 1848. He was the son of Seth and Chloe (Millon) Beals, who was born 
in Skaneateles, N. Y., in 1820, and came to Alabama in 1847. He taught 
school several terms. Their children were J. Adelbert, of Alabama; Al- 
bert G., also of Alabama; and Grace Anna, born 1868, who died 1879. 
J. Adelbert Beals was born 1849, married, January 3, 1871, Mary Eliza- 
beth Vosburgh, and they have two sons and three daughters, viz.: Mattie 
Edith, born September 5, 1872; John A., born September 9, 1874; Daisy 
Estelle, born December i, 1876; Lillie May, born June 27, 1882; and 
Leslie E., born April 21, 1885. Albert G. Beals was born 1857, and mar- 
ried, in 1874, Hannah, daughter of Joseph Safflin, and their children are 
Nora Inez, born 1876; Arthur G., born 1877; Jeremiah S., born 1879; 
Estelle, born 1882; Fanny L., born 1884; and May, born 1885. The 
wife died December 13, 1887. Jeremiah S. Beals is a farmer and resides 
on road 8. J. Adelbert Beals lives on road 15, and Albert G. resides on 
the Gardner homestead on road 14, 



TOWN OF ALABAT<IA. 



125 



William F. Bell, M. D., was born in Westfield, Mass., in 1857. He was 
a graduate of the medical department of the Albany Medical College in 
1880. He settled in Alabama in 1881, and died in 1890. 

Henry Ceder, son of John and Mary (Block) Ceder, was born in Buffalo, 
1856. At the age of 13 years he worked out among the farmers. When 
20 years of age he worked a farm in Erie County. He came to Alabama 
in 1888 and bought the hotel (called Ceder Hotel) at the station, of which 
he is the proprietor, and also carries on a livery business. He married 
Augusta C, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Schradier) See, and their 
children are Belle Mary, born March 30, 1881 ; Edna, born December 22, 
1883; and Henry, Jr., born August 29, 1887. 

Rodman Clark was born in Rhode Island, and married Ruth Lemon. 
Soon after marriage they came to Geneseo, Livingston County, and built 
a log house, in which most of the family were born. Of the children born 
there Rodman and Gardner died on their way to Salt Lake City to join 
the Mormons; Christopher died on the farm; Ruth married David Or- 
ton, and died in Illinois; Huldah married William Bryant, and died in 
1886; and William resides in Oregon. Rodman, Sr., for his second wife 
married Rhoda Markham. 

Aaron Clark, son of Rodman, was born 1803, and died 1869. He 
married, in 1 82 1 , Mary Jane, daughter of Hugh and Jane (McBride) Gray. 
He farmed several years in Niagara County, and located in Alabama in 
1844 and bought the hotel at the Center. Their children were Louisa, 
who married Leander Dutton; Gardner, of Nebraska; William, of Tona- 
wanda ; Jane, who married Ezra Dutton, of Shelby ; Rodman, who died 
in Shelby, 1870; Henry, of Nebraska; John, who died in infancy (1840); 
and Aaron, of Medina. Sarah Jane, wife of Aaron, Sr., died in 1840, and 
he married for his second wife Sarah Totten, widow of Sylvanus Parker, 
by whom he had children as follows: Maria, who married Cyrus Hamil- 
ton, of Sturgeon Bay, Wis.; Alice, who owns and occupies the home- 
stead in Alabama; and Charles, who married Susie Philh'ps, of Sturgeon 
Bay, Wis. 

Aaron Clark was born in Geneseo, October 7, 1827, came to Alabama 
when a young man, and married Elsie Jane, daughter of Gideon and 
Mary (Snyder) Howland, of Alabama, October 4, 1856. Soon after he 
located in Medina, and built the hotel which he occupied up to 1884. He 
was a kind and genial landlord, and justly entitled to the name "Old 
Sport" given him. There were four children born to them, viz.: Adel- 
bert and Ira, who died in infancy; Carrie E., born 1861, married Robert 



126 GENESEE COUNTY. 



McConnell, in 1880, and has a son, Curtis, born November 15, 1882; and 
Mark, born 1866, who is a noted horse trainer. Aaron Clark's wife died 
in 1880, He married, second, Belle Lyon, widow of John Montgomery. 
Mr. Clark is fond of horses, and resides on West street, Medina. 

Fred J. Clawson was born in 1857, reared on a farm, and married Mary 
Elizabeth, daughter of Henry and Bridget (McDermot) Hodges, of Ala- 
bama, February 22, 1884. Their children are Dora Emma, born March,. 
1886, and George Roland, born November 18, 1887. Mr. Clawson is a. 
farmer, leasing the Frary farm, one-half mile east of Alabama Center.. 
The father of Mr. Clawson was John Clawson, of Mecklenburg, and was 
married to Sophia Dora Tesno. They had four children, viz.: Will- 
iam, born 1853; Augusta, who married August Mehnke, of Alabama; 
Charles, who died young; and Fred J. They came to Oakfield in 1864^ 
and to Alabama a few years later. 

Isaac P. Dual, son of Preserved and Mary (Rice) Dual, was born in St. 
Lawrence County, N. Y., in 1810. He was a carpenter and builder hy 
trade, and came to Alabama about 1834. He married, in 1836, Florilla, 
daughter of Amos and Betsey (Benjamin) Starkweather. Their daugh- 
ter Charlotte L. married Myron St. John 1858, and died 1865. Messrs. 
Dual and Starkweather, in 1840, built the hotel at the Center. Mr. Dual 
kept it three years. He also held the office of justice of the peace for 
more than 30 years. He died 1887, aged yy years, much respected by 
all. His wife died 1889. 

George W. Dual, born in town March 21, 1843, at the age of 18 learned 
the trade of blacksmith and wagonmaker, began for himself in 1866, and 
now is owner of a prosperous business. He married Orril H., daughter 
of Levi and Susannah (Bixby) Fisk, in October, 1874. Their children 
are Grace Winfred, born July 11, 1876, and Maud Fisk, born April 28^ 

1879 

William Fenner, son of William, was a native of New Jersey. He mar- 
ried Lucena Jenks, and they were the parents of John F., Lucy Telithie^ 
Melinda, Joseph, Nathaniel, and William. His wife dying, he married, 
again, a woman by the name of Salisbury, and they had one son, Calvin, 
who lives in Herkimer County, N. Y. The father of Nathaniel C. Fen- 
ner married Maria, daughter of William and Anna (Palmateer) Grimes, 
of Fairfield, N. Y. He was a farmer, came to Alabama about 1838, and 
located on the place where the son now lives. He died in i860, and his 
wife in 1888. Both of them were consistent members of the Baptist 
Church. Their children were Lucy Ann, who married John Stock- 



TOWN OF ALABAMA. 127 



ledger, of Michigan ; Adelia, who married John Fishell, of Michigan ; Me- 
linda, who married Alvin Fellows, and second, Henry Sicvens, of Michi- 
gan; Lorena, who married Morrison Jeffers, and died in Monroe County; 
Filipha, who married Jacob Smith, and died in Monroe County; John, of 
Michigan ; Betsey, who married Levi Morse, of Michigan; Asenath, who 
married Isaac Horton, and died in Michigan; James W., who died in 
Darien ; Mary, who married Enos Ingalsbe, of Indian Falls ; Sophia, who 
married Emery Ackerson, of Indian Falls ; Joseph, who died in child- 
hood; William, who was killed at Cold Harbor, in the late war; Giles, 
who died in Michigan 1880; and Nathaniel C, who was born in Henri- 
etta, N. Y., April 19, 1822. The latter came to Alabama in 1837, 
married, in 1840, Eliza, daughter of Gabriel and Clarissa (Dodge) Case, 
of Alabama, and they were parents of three children, viz.: F. Erwin, 
born 1845, enlisted in the army in 1862, and was reported missing at 
Cold Harbor; Clarissa J., who married, first, Daniel McDermott, whose 
children were Emily, George, Effie, and Bertha, and second. William Mar- 
ble, by whom she has one son, Irwin, and lives in Dansville; and Resell, 
who married Margaret Burg, and their children are Rosalia L., Lawrence,^ 
and Ruby. Mr. Fenner's wife died in 1853. His second wife, whom he 
married in 1881, was Maranda, daughter of Ignatus and Maranda (Marble) 
Lewis, widow of William Farmer. Their children are Ceneth E. (Mrs. 
John Wright), of Akron, and Rosabel (Mrs. Charles Moore), of Indian 
Falls. Mr. Fenner is a farmer, and lives one mile south of Alabama 
station. 

James Filkins, son of Abram and Phebe (Saults) Filkins, settled in At- 
tica, N. Y. He was a farmer, and also learned the curriers' trade. He 
married, in 1830, Abigail, daughter of Elder Heman and Clarissa 
(Brown) Jenkins, of Bethany. Elder Jenkins was a Freewill Baptist 
clergyman ; Clarissa Brown was a daughter of Rev. Nathaniel Brown. 
The Filkins family came to Alabama in 1837, and he engaged in his bus- 
iness as currier at the Center. Their children were Dexter J., born 1 83 1,, 
who resides in Michigan ; Augustus R., who died young; Stanley E., of 
Medina; Emily Cornelia, born 1838, who married Joel Smith, and re- 
sides in California (they have one daughter, Jessie) ; Lorenzo, who died 
in infancy; Sarah A., born 1844, who married James Stevens, and died. 
1884; Marion A., of Alabama, born 1842; Ellen M., born 1847, who 
married, first, Thomas Stevens, in 1865, and second, Ed. Tuttle, of Ala- 
bama, in 1887 ; and James, who died aged three years. Mr. Filkins was 
an energetic business man. He died in 1849. Stanley E. Filkins was 



128 GENESEE COUNTY. 



born in Bethany, February 19, 1836, was educated at Austinburg, Ohio, 
read law with Brown'& Glowacki, of Batavia, and was admitted to the bar 
in 1857 ^^ then began practicing at Medina, where he has a large prac- 
tice He was appointed postmaster in 1877, and held the office contin- 
ously until 1889. He resides on West street, Medina. He was married, 
in 1872, to Louise Florence, daughter of Rev. Israel Chamberlain, of 
Lyndonville, and they have two daughters, Bertha Kate, born January 
5, 1874, and Emma Louise, born February, 1877. 

George Farnsworth, son of Joseph, born in Scipio, Cayuga County, 
N. Y., 18 1 5, was brought up on the farm He married Anna Louns- 
ibury, of Scipio, and they had children as follows : Maribath, who mar- 
-ried Orville Adams, whose son George resides in Cayuga County (Mrs. 
Adams died 1889); Laura, who married George Preston, of Fowlerville, 
Mich.; James, who died in Michigan; Wealthy, who married Alonzo Gil- 
bert, and died in Steuben County ; and Philip, who was born in Spring- 
water, N. Y., August 17, 1833, raised a farmer, and married, in 1855, 
Saraette, daughter of Frederick and Elizabeth (McMann) Westbrook. 
They lived several years at Springwater, and came to Alabama in the 
fall of 1864, buying the farm he now occupies. They had three chil- 
dren : Frank W., born 1859; Elizabeth, born 1862. who married Will- 
iam Sparling, of Alabama; and George, born 1872. Mr. Farnsworth 
owns and occupies the homestead where he first settled, near the railroad 
station, on road 53. 

Benjamin Gumaer, son of Peter, was born in Orange County. When 
young he located in Onondaga County. He was a contractor, and came 
to this town in 18 17 and built a log house. He was the first supervisor 
of the town, holding the office several years. He died in 1831, honored 
and respected by all. He married Patience, daughter of Ephraim 
Thomas, who survived him many years. Their children were Benjamin, 
who died in Canada; Lewis, who died in Bethany; Samuel, who went 
West ; Margaret, who married William Lane, and died in Canada ; Mar- 
tha, who married Selah Vosburgh, and died 1849; James, of Alabama; 
Elizabeth, who married a Mr. Kent, and died in Canada; and Reuben, 
who died young. 

James Gumaer was born in 1814; spent his early years on the farm; 
and married Elvira, daughter of Inman and Abigail (Thomas) Whipple, 
in 1841. Their children are Ira J. and Robert L., of Nebraska; Adel- 
bert G., a physician, of Buffalo ; Charles H., who went West; and Min- 
nie E. The latter, born 1845, married Jacob Bloomingdale in 1870, 



TOWN OF ALABAMA. 129- 



whose children are Nelhe Belle, born 1871, who is a teacher; Edith E.^ 
born 1875; Ralph F. A., born 1878; and Emma Maude, born 1881. 
The mother, Minnie E., died June 21, 1884 ; the father, Jacob, died 1887. 
James Gumaer and wife reside on their farm near Alabama Center. 

Joseph Heston, a Quaker, was born in Bucks County, Pa. In 1826 
or '27 he came to Batavia from Baltimore County, Md., and settled near 
Bushville. He died May 19, 1864. He had a family of ii children, 
four of whom only are living, viz.: Martha A , widow of W. H. Potter, 
who resides in ]5atavia ; John E., who resides at Mount Pleasant, Iowa ; 
Rachel L., wife of John Pearson, who resides in Buffalo; and Lewis E. 
The latter was born November i , 1 8 1 2, in Baltimore County, came to Ba- 
tavia with his parents, and has been a resident of the county since. He 
married Elizabeth Mason, of Lancaster County, Pa., and has been on the 
farm where he now resides for about 40 years. Their family were Au- 
gusta, who married A. H. Chase, of Philadelphia ; Elizabeth (deceased); 
and Anna E., who married Peter M. Wise, M. D., of the Willard Asy- 
lum. Lewis E. commenced breeding Jersey cattle in 1877, and is one of 
the largest breeders in Genesee County. At one time he was one of the 
largest breeders of Merino sheep in the county, but has ceased business 
in that line. 

Rev. Philip Houseknecht was born in Lycoming County, Pa., Febru- 
ary 6, 1830. He was educated for the ministry, and graduated at Al- 
legheny College, Meadville, in 1853, and has been a resident of this 
county since. Hejoined the Methodist Conference in 1853, first preached 
in Alexander, and has been active in the work, mostly as a local minis- 
ter. He also has a large farm. His wife, Sarah, is the daughter of Philip 
Buchanan. They have three children: Philo B., Samuel L., and Isabelle, 
wife of Alfred Worthington. 

Lyman Hitchcock came to Alabama in 1 849, from Chautauqua County^ 
and purchased a farm of 48 acres from the Holland Land Company, 
which proved to be Indian land. After clearing it he was obliged to va- 
cate, losing all he had invested. He was born June 16, 1802, married 
Sallie Cabot, and raised 10 children, four of whom are living, two in 
Alabama, Marie, wife of Abel Wight, and W. Q. W. Q. Hichcock was 
born in Westfield, N. Y., January 2, 1842, came to Alabama with his 
parents, and married Alice, daughter of Rev. Benjamin Hunt. They had 
five children, all deceased. One, Walter, lived until four years of age. 

Gideon Howland, son of Elisha and Elsie (Dual) Howland, was born in 
Washington County in 1804, came to Alabama in 1832, followed farm- 



I30 GENESEE COUNTY. 



ing, and in 1827 married Mary Snyder. Their children were Margaret, 
who married Joseph Palmer, of Michigan; John, who died 1854; Peter, 
who died 1834; Elisha, of Michigan; Elsie, who married Aaron Clark 
and died in Medina, 1880; Mary, who died in infancy, 1843; Frances E., 
who married Peter Craine, of Alabama; and Ira P., who was born 1839, 
raised on a farm, and married, January 18, 1861, Margaret, daughter of 
James and Jane (McGowan) Wilson. Their children are Ida May, born 
December 26, 1861, who married Theodore Stafford, November 2, 1881, 
and they have a son, Floyd H., born July 30, 1887; and John G., born 
May 18, 1864, who married Ida Palmer and resides in Michigan. Ira P. 
Rowland owns and occupies the Rowland homestead one mile east of 
Alabama Center. 

Riram Hotchkiss, son of Moses and Lucy (Griswold) Rotchkiss, was 
born 18 1 5. Re married Lucy Sawen, of Bergen, in 1840. Re came to 
Alabama and engaged in sawing lumber, and is a farmer on the Bement 
place. Their children were Eleanor, born 1843, married, first, Warren 
Studley, and had a daughter, Dora, and second, Amasa Rills, and has a 
daughter, Cora, who resides in Michigan ; and George E. The latter 
was born in Alabama, December 3, 1845, reared on the farm, and mar- 
ried, July 3, 1865, Mary Elizabeth, daughter of David and Nancy (Duers) 
Hescock. Their children are George E., Jr., born May 24, 1872 ; Nellie 
Pearl, who died 188 1, aged three years; and Frank S., born March 2, 
1882. Mr. Rotchkiss is a farmer and does general insurance business, 
and resides near Alabama station, on road 52. 

Sterling Hotchkiss, son of Moses and Lucy (Griswold) Rotchkiss, was 
born in Connecticut, 1803, and at the age of 14 came to Bergen and 
worked out among the farmers. Re married, April 27, 1826, Anna, 
daughter of Aaron and Polly (Allen) Jacobs, of Bergen, and located in 
Alabama in 1829. Re built a log house, where most of their children 
were born. They were parents of six children : Charlotte E., who mar- 
ried William Ingalsbe and died 1874; Charles, born 1829, who died 
young; Riley, born 1831, who died in Michigan, 1873; Rialto, born 
1832, who died young; Almira M., born August 18, 1835, who married 
William Duers and had a daughter, Victoria E., who married Charles 
Anthony, and they have a son, Glenn ; and Ann E., born January 14, 
1847, who married Chester Ritchcock, and had a daughter, Ann E., who 
married Arthur J. Anthony in 1876, and had two children, Zella Ann 
and Alson S. Mrs. S. Rotchkiss resides on road 40. 

Ebenezer Ingalsbe was a captain in the English army. Desiring to 



TOWN OF ALABAMA. 



131 



visit America he gave up his commission and secured passage on a ship. 
Arriving here he settled in Massachusetts, where he remained until his 
death. His son Ebenezer, born in Massachusetts, moved to Scipio, 
Cayuga County, where he died in the 70th year of his age. He married 
Phebe Easterbrooks. Their children were Elijah, born September 12, 
1780; Ebenezer, born December 23, 1781 ; Phebe, born March 28, 
1784; Azel.born February 14, 1786; Huldah, born January 4, 1789; Sally, 
born August 20, 1790; Adna, born January 11, 1793; Emory, born 
October 24, 1798 ; and Samuel, born in Hartford, N. Y., August tj, 
1796. The latter located in Scipio, Cayuga County, at an early day, 
and engaged farming. He was a drum-major in the militia. He mar- 
ried. July 15, 1 817, Mary, daughter of John and Baibara (Fishell) Bush- 
man, of Scipio, and their children were Sally, born July 15, 1817, who 
married Ryal Tngalsbe, of Alabama; Ebenezer, born March 5, 18 19, 
who resides in Michigan; John, of Michigan; Mary, who married Will- 
iam N. Walker, and died 1875 ; Phebe, who married Medad Norton, and 
died 1848; William, of Alabama; Clarissa, who married Ira Green, of 
Michigan; Amanda, who married Aaron Green, and died 1879; and 
Almira, who died May 20, 1855. Mr. Ingalsbe located in Alabama in 
1834, on the place now occupied by Alpheus Ingalsbe. He and his wife 
were active members of the Baptist Church. He died 1848, and she 1879. 

Ebenezer Ingalsbe, born in Byron, March 5, 18 19, came to Alabama 
in 1834, and located on the farm where he now lives. He was married, 
June 14, 1840, to Ann Eliza, daughter of John and Chloe (McBride) 
Alexander, of Lockport, N. Y. They had children as follows: Sarah, 
born March 28, 1842, who married Edson Winslow, August 15, 1862, 
whose children are EUie and Vervie ; Martha, born August 15, 1843, who 
married Norman H. Winslow, December i, 1864, whose children are 
Henry, Warren, and Eben ; Charlotte, born April 14, 1845, who mar- 
ried James Gordon, December i, 1864, whose children are Nora, Albert, 
Florence, and Tracy ; Alfred, born 1847, ^^o married Esther Robinson, 
September 28, 1868, whose children are Lottie, Ida, Eda, and Florence ; 
Orin, born June i, 1850, who married Adele Ingalsbe, whose children 
are Eliza, Lois, and Ebenezer; Eliza Jane, born August 28, 1852, who 
married Erwin Brown, whose children are Myron, Frank, Clarissa, 
Manly, Fred, Herbert, and Arthur; and Hattie O , born March 6, 1859, 
who married Sabert E. Roach, whose children are Moses, Alice, and 
Adelbert. Mr. Ingalsbe is a prosperous farmer, and resides on road 49. 

Elijah Ingalsbe, son of Ebenezer, was born in Boylston, Mass., Sep- 



132 GENESEE COUNTY. 

tember 12, 1780, and died in Alabama, 1872. He also located in Scipio 
about 18 14. He married Polly Mitchell, and they were parents of E. 
Brooks, Ryal E., Polly, Pearley, and Sally. His wife, born 1781, died 
18 1 3. He married, second, Nancy, a sister of his first wife. The chil- 
dren by this marriage were Philander, who died in infancy, Phebe, 
Adna, Andy, and Levi. Elijah Brooks Ingalsbe was born 1805, located 
in Alabama in 1830, and took up land and built a log house, in which 
most of his children were born. He married Lucy Eliza, daughter of 
Jesse and Elizabeth (Streeter) Wright, and their children were Elijah B., 
Bela W., Lucinda E., Lodeska, Emily A., who married Orimel Saxton, 
Sarah A., and Riley D. E. B. Ingalsbe's wife died 1849, and he mar- 
ried Barbara Bushman, widow of Thomas Winslow. They had one 
daughter, lone, who died in childhood. 

Deacon Ryal E. Ingalsbe, son of Elijah, was born 1806, located in 
Alabama among the early settlers, and married, in 1837, Sally, daughter 
of Samuel and Polly (Bushman) Ingalsbe. Their children were Warren 
B., who died 1846, aged four years; Harmon, born 1847, who married 
Martha Wells, whose children are George C. and Jennie R.; Marion^ 
born 1849, who is a farmer with his father; and Mary Louisa, who m.ar- 
ried Frank N. Lyday in 1878. Mr. Ingalsbe is a deacon of the Baptist 
Church, and resides on the homestead he has occupied for over 50 years. 

Jacob Martin was born in Rush, N. Y., in 181 5. About 1835 he 
settled in Alabama, on road 85. He married Delilah Fishell, of Rush^ 
and they had a family of eight children. George W., son of Jacob, was 
born September 15, 1843, married Agnes E. Cameron, and they have 
four children. 

Daniel Martin, born in Rush, N. Y., in 18 19, came to Alabama about 
1835 or '36. He married Jane M. Thrall, of East Granby, Conn., and 
they had a family of six children, four of whom are now living. He 
has always been a farmer, and was at one time assessor. Their children 
are Wallace H.; Cornelia A., wife of Elmer Reed, who resides in Ala- 
bama ; Elizabeth, wife of E. C. Selleck ; and Emily, wife of James Beck- 
with, who resides in Quincy, 111. 

Edward Halsey was born December 19, 1809, in Fairfield, Herkimer 
County, N. Y. He was a wagonmaker by trade, and settled in Alabama 
in 1847, ^s a farmer. He married Nancy Goff, of Henrietta, N. Y., and 
they had two children: Alice, wife of Frank Blackman, who resides in, 
Rockford, 111., and Henry, who resides in Oakfield. Mr. Halsey's wifei 
was born December ii, 1812. They reside at Smithville. 1 



TOWN OF ALABAMA. 



133 



Deacon William Macomber was born. in Kinderhook, N. Y., in 1797. 
In 1 83 I he settled in the town of Alabama, on the farm now owned by 
William Macomber. He married Harriet Cutler, of Alabama, and they 
had eight children. His second wife was M. M. Roe. Deacon Ma- 
comber was a prominent member of the Baptist Church of Smithville, 
contributing largely to the building up of the same. He was supervisor 
of the town for many years, and owned a farm of 430 acres in the 
oak openings. He died December i, 1861. Only three of his chil- 
dren reside in the county. Amanda M., widow of Julius Reed, resides 
in Oakfield. Sarah A., wife of P. V. Ingalsbe, also resides in Oakfield. 
John L. Macomber, a son, was born on the old farm in 1833, and always 
resided there. He married Helen G. Willis, and they have one child, 
Alice E. Mr. Macomber is counted as one of the most progressive 
farmers in the town. He has a fine and large farm, and devotes a por- 
tion of it to the breeding of Shropshiredown sheep, having 200 head. 
Judge Francis A. Macomber, of the Supreme Court at Rochester, is a 
son of Deacon Macomber. He was born in Alabama, and graduated 
from the Rochester University. Judson L. Macomber is a lumber mer- 
chant in Chattanooga, Tenn., and William Macomber, a son by the sec- 
ond wife of the Deacon, is a graduate of the law school of Rochester 
University, and is now practicing in Buffalo. 

C. M. Mead, son of Charles A., was born in Alabama, May 29, 1850, 
and has always been a resident of the town. He learned the carpenters' 
trade of his father. He married Mina Bickford, of Alabama, and they 
have five children. Mr. Mead has acted as agent of Rowley & Eddy, lum- 
ber dealers, since March, 1884. His father came here about 1850, from 
the eastern part of the State, and died in 1877. 

Anson Norton,* son of Medad, was born in Goshen, Conn., in 1789, 
and located in Alabama about 1836, on the farm where Daniel Norton 
now lives, and engaged in farming. He became possessed of a landed 
estate of upwards of 700 acres, and was a man of great energy and per- 
severance. He died August 5, 1838. He married Persis Walker in 1814, 
and had seven sons : Alonzo, Medad, Moses, Daniel, Benjamin, Theron, 
and Franklin. Moses Norton was born in 1820, and died November 
19, 1886. He was married, in 1845, to -Ann, daughter of Jeremiah 
Lynch, and began housekeeping in a log house, where their children 
were born. They were Anson, who was accidently drowned in 1847 > 
Albert, a missionary of the Methodist Episcopal Church in India; He- 
man, late of Alabama ; Clara, who married E. J. l-^uUer, of Batavia; and 



J 24 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Joanna, who resides in Batavia. Moses Norton located on the place 
now occupied by Mrs. Heman Norton. 

Heman Norton was born May 2, 1851, and married, November i, 
1 87 1, Kate L., daughter of Reese and Mary (Jones) Lumley. Their 
children are Georgia Margery, born February 26, 1874; Moses L., born 
January 28, 1877 ; and Izona, born July 27, 1887. Heman Norton died 
August, 1889. Franklin Norton married Julia F., daughter of Joseph 
W. and'Eliza (Case) Allen, of Alabama. They have one son, Allen E., 
born April 19, 1870. Mr. Norton has been assessor of his town three 
terms, was postmaster under President Arthur, holding the office ever 
since.'and is overseer of the poor. He is a farmer and has lived at his^ 
present place, Alabama Center, for over 30 years. 

The paternal line of ancestors of Anson Norton are as follows: i, 
Thomas, who came from Guilford, Eng.to Guilford, Conn., in 1639; 
2, Thomas, Jr.; 3, Samuel, who lived in Durham, Conn.; 4, Col. Ebene- 
zer, who lived in Durham and went to Goshen. Conn.; 5, Miles; 6, 
Me'dad, born in 1759; 7, Anson, born December 27, 1789, who married 
Persis Walker ; 8, Moses, born January 1 2, 1 820, in Byron. Moses mar- 
ried Ann Lynch, of Wayne County, N. Y., in 1844, the seventh daugh- 
ter of Susan (McGowan) Lynch. Their children are Anson, Albert, 
Clara, Heman (deceased), and Joanna. His widow survives him, living 
in Batavia at the age of 68 years. 

Harmon J. Norton, son of Lochlin and Laura A. (Wright) Norton, was 
born in Elba in 18 18, and was reared on a farm. He maraied Laura C.^ 
daughter of Charles P. and Sarah Ann (Driggs) Brown, in 1843, and 
spent several years West. He located in Alabama about 1854. Their 
children were Alice L., born in 1844, who married William Ingersoll, of 
Colorado ; Ida B., who married Luman Wilcox, of Da4<ato ; Florence A., 
who married William Amsden, of Wheatville ; Orrella J., who married 
Oscar Burt, of California ; Arthur B., a resident of Idaho; Corabell C, 
who married Edmund E. Palmer in 1876, and they have children Vivian 
Clare and Arthur H.; Rosamond Lincoln, who married William Reed in 
1884, and their children are Norton R. and Laura Belle ; Leoline Clare^ 
who married Asa Pixley, January 22, 1880; and Anna Maria, who mar- 
ried Irwin S. Vincent, whose children are Ivan, Percy, and Catharine,, 
and they live in Shelby. Mr. Norton married for his second wife Mrs. 
Betsey Crandall, and for his third wife Amanda, daughter of Nathan 
Graham. The farm now owned by him was taken up by Charles P. 
Brown, his father-in-law. He was a member of Assembly, justice 



TOWN OF ALABAMA. ,.£. 



of peace 14 years, and supervisor. He married Sarah A. Driggs, daugh- 
ter of George, and they had seven children. Mr. Brown died 1859 ; his 
wife 1885. 

Asa Pixley, son of Joseph and Mary Jane (Jones) Pixley. was born in 
Alabama, March 30, 1852, and was reared on the farm. He married 
Leoline Clare, daughter of Harmon and Laura (Brown) Norton, Janu- 
ary 22, 1880. and their son Jamie L . was born November 18, 1885. 
Mr. Pixfey is a farmer, and occupies the Norton homestead on road 23. 

Jacob Potter, son of Jacob, was born in Cherry Valley, Otsego County, 
N. Y., in 1825, and was raised on a farm. He came to Alabama at the 
age of 20 years, and bought a farm. For a time he was engaged in 
farming in Newstead, Erie County. He married (1850) Margaret, 
daughter of Matthew and Eliza (Hart) Burns, of Shelby. He returned 
to Alabama in i860 and bought the farm he now occupies, and by add- 
ing to it from time to time he now owns 215 acres. Their children are 
Rosella, who died 185 i, an infant ; Abbie Jane, a teacher, who lives at 
home; Almeda P., who died 1885 ; and Abel J., born i8r6. The latter 
married, in 1878, Cora, daughter of William and Elizabeth (Stuffin) Pick- 
with, and their children are Edith, born 1879: Jennie, born 1882; Nora 
born 1884; and Jay Eugene, born 1885. He died November 9, 1888^ 
E. Douglass Potter was born in 1858, and married, in 1884, Emma, 
daughter of William and Jane Dorwin. He is a prosperous farmer, and 
resides on road 39. 

William Donnan was born in Ireland, June 25, 1835. He came to 
America when 19 years of age, and settled in Alabama. He married 
Margaret J. Leighbody, and has one child, Emma, wife of E. D. Potter. 

Charles R. Phillips, son of William H. and Phileta (Pearsons) Phillips, 
was born in Wyoming County, N. Y., in 1831. He was reared on a 
farm, and married Ameha C, daughter of Jacob and Theresa (Bothwick) 
Wheeler, of Erie County, May 6, 1862. He located in Alabama in 1866. 
They were parents of four children, viz: Clarence, who died in infancy; 
Ida Augusta, born October 26, 1864, died October. 1866; Jennie W., 
who married Albert McVeigh in 1883, and their children are Amelia' 
Theresa, Isabella Phileta, and Bertha Adel ; and Willie J., born in Ala- 
bama, July 6, 1869, who is a farmer, living on the homestead. Mr. 
Phillips is an earnest worker in all temperance movements, is a farmer 
and resides in the village on Railroad street. 

William Poodry was of French origin. He married an Indian woman, 
by whom he had three sons and one daughter, one of whom, Lewis, was 



136 GENESEE COUNTY. 



a soldier in the War of 18 12 in the American army. He married Phebe 
Jonas, and reared a large family, of whom three only are living. Maria, 
a daughter, married Levi Parker, of Alabama. 

E. M. Poodry was born on the Tonawanda Reservation, August 15, 
1833. He early manifested an aptitude for learning, and, making the best 
of advantages within his reach, succeeded in obtaining a good business 
education, which enabled him to become one of the chiefs in the councils 
of his tribe. He married Amanda Griffin, November 6, 1856, and they 
were the parents of 11 children, viz.: Malvina, born February 3, 1858, 
married Warren Skye in 1883 ; Thomas J,, born May 5, i860; Sarah J., 
born April 3, 1862, married Asa Skye; William S., born December 4, 
1864, died June 28, 1887 ; Barnum, born March 30, 1867, married Sarah 
C. Brant, February 14, 1889; Anna M., born June ii, 1869, married' 
Charles Doctor, August 12, 1888; Edward, born July 23, 1871 ; Staf- 
ford, born F'ebruary 28, 1875 ; Fanny C, born February 17, 1877; Hen- 
rietta, born November 8, 1880; and Dora, born June 26, 1883. Mr. 
Poodry is extensively engaged in farming, and occupies about 3 50 acres 
of land on road 38. 

Charles W. Roberts was born in Shelby in 1835. He was a son of 
Ziba and Susan (Wolcott) Roberts, and grew up on the farm. He mar- 
ried, in 1859, Huldah A., daughter of Jeremiah and Clarissa (Simons) 
Loucks,' and they had six children, of whom Rolla W., born 1800, was 
educated at Medina, Buffalo, and the State Normal School at Brockport, 
became a civil engineer, and is now in business at East Saginaw, Mich. 
He married Ora A. Tinkham in 1884, and they have three children, 
Charles M., Julia H., and Flora. Carrie, Jennie, and Berthella Roberts 
live at home. Sarah Elizabeth married E. P. Grennell, of Orleans County, 
in 1881, and has two children, Louisa E. and Hugh E., and resides at 
East Saginaw, Mich. Jessie O., another child of C. W. Roberts, died 
1879. Mrs. C. W. Roberts was educated at East Saginaw, Mich. Mr. 
Roberts has held the office of assessor for nine years, supervisor two 
years, and is now acting justice of the peace. He is a farmer and resides 
on road 1 1. 

Jacob Shoemaker, son of Jacob, was born in Montgomery County, May 
19. 1835- He settled in Royalton, N. Y , in 1856. came to Alabama and 
married Catherine, widow of Abraham Champlin, and has resided here] 
since. He is a harnessmaker by trade. They had one child, Mary, who 
is the wife of E. H. Miller. Mrs. Shoemaker died March 30, 1875. Mr.'j 
Shoemaker was town clerk of Royalton for several years, justice of the 



TOWN OF ALABAMA. 137- 



peace four years, and postmaster four years and nine months. He was 
appointed under Taylor's administration He also took the census of 
district No. 2 of Royalton in 1855. 

Orimel Saxton, son of David and Susanna (Spafiford) Saxton, was born 
in Brighton, Ont., in 1828. He engaged as salesman in a store for sev- 
eral years, then took up farming, which he has followed since. He mar- 
ried, May 18, 1858, Emily A., daughter of Elijah B. Ingalsbe, of Ala- 
bama, and their children were Gertrude Aramintha, Jennette Eliza, Ho- 
ratio G" , who married Ida M. West in 1886, and has one son, Arthur A., 
born 1889, Lijetta Irene, Mary Addie, who married, January 6, 1889, 
Loren Reed, William S., Burhanna, Orimel W., Inez Grace, and Emma 
Rebecca. Mr. Saxton located in Alabama in the spring of 1883, ^^^ 
engaged in farming on the E. B. Ingalsbe farm, where he died March 25, 
1889. Mrs. Saxton and family reside on the homestead near Smithville. 

Edward Tuttle, son of Edward and Urana (Orvis) Tuttle, was born in 
York, Livingston County, in 1820, was reared on the farm, and when of 
age came to Alabama. He married Lucretia Lynch, a sister of Mrs. 
Moses Newton, in 1847. Their children were Frances, who married 
Robert Reynolds; Albert P., of Alabama ; and William, who died 1884. 
For his second wife he married Ella M. Stanley, widow of Thomas Stev- 
ens, in 1887. He is a farmer on road 40. 

Moses Vail, son of Samuel and Prudence (Vail) Vail, was born in New 
Jersey in 1797, and was reared on a farm. He was married to his wife, 
Mercy, September 25, 1816. Their children were Prudence, who mar- 
ried William Gardner, and died in Oakfield in 1842; Samuel, of Canada; 
Emeline, who died 1840, aged 18 years ; Eli P., of Alabama; Susan W., 
who married Daniel Zanvitz, of Canada ; Phebe J., who married James 
Craft, and died 1880; Sarah E., who married Lsaac Zanvitz, of Canada; 
Jonah, of Iowa ; and Ephraim and Stephen, of Elba. Moses Vail located 
in Oakfield in 1834, and engaged in farming. He belonged to the Soci- 
ety of F"riends, and practiced the peaceful doctrines of " Penn." He de- 
parted his well-spent life 3d month, 12th day, 1871 ; his wife died 1st 
month, 27th day, 1850. For his second wife, in 1853, he married Har- 
riet Wood, who died 1858. 

Eli P Vail was born 1824, and raised a farmer. He married Mary D., 
daughter of Jacob and Rebecca (Runnion) Drake, the nth month, 30th 
day, 1853. He located at Alabama Center and engaged in farming. He 
has been postmaster 1 1 years, and resides on Railroad street. Their 
children are Mary Elizabeth, who married Aaron C. Dutton, of Buffalo; 



138 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Moses D., of Shelby; Charles A., of Alabama; Eva M. and Eveline, at 
home; Florence Mabel, who was accidentally killed by a field-roller Sep- 
tember 19, 1868, aged three years; Willie, who died 1869, an infant; 
and Frank D. The latter was born in 1854, reared on a farm, and learned 
the carpenters' trade. He married, January 5, 1875, Nellie Jane, daugh- 
ter of Orin and Jane (Fisk) White. Their children are Willie H., born 
July 5, 1878, and Eudora Maude, born October 9, 1883. He is a fruit 
dealer, and resides on Medina street. 

Charles A. Vail, born January 5, i860, married, December 8, 1880, 
Sarah, daughter of James and Susan (McManus) McCauley, and widow 
of Oscar L. Lund. They have two children : Bessie May, born May 28, 
1883, and Stanley A., born July 23, 1885. Mr. Vail is a fruit dealer, has 
an evaporator, and resides on Main street. 

Selah Vosburgh, son of Salem, born in Whitehall, N. Y., in 1807, 
came to Alabama in 1826. He was an early settler, and a gunsmith by 
occupation. He settled upon a large tract of land and engaged in farm- 
ing. He married Martha, daughter of Benjamin Gumaer, and they had 
children as follows: George H., who studied law and died i860, aged 
24 years; Charlotte A., who died 1863 ; James O., who married Lo- 
duskie Peck, whose children were George W., of California, and Anna 
M., who died young; John S., a corporal in the arm}', appointed adju- 
tant with rank of colonel, and was interested with Governor Safiford in 
the Tombstone silver mine, Colorada, now owning a large estate in Los 
Angeles (he married Kate Slawson, and they have two sons : Royden, 
born 1887. and Keith, born 1889) ; Martha A., who married James Peck, 
of Onondaga County, and they have one daughter, Bertha M.; and 
Mary E., who married J. A. Beals. Mr. Vosburgh dealt largely in real 
estate, and was a successful business man. He died in 1873. Mr. Vos- 
burgh's wife died June II, 1849. He married for his second wife Maria, 
daughter of Elijah Hovey. She died in 1873. Their children were 
Charles, who died aged two years ; Jennie, who married Lewis M. Phelps, 
of Michigan ; Willie, who died in infancy ; and Frank E. Frank E. 
Vosburgh was born in 1858, was educated at Medina Academy, and 
spent his early years on the farm. March 16, 1 880, he married Mary 
A., daughter of George W. and Phebe (Freeman) Easton, and they have 
one daughter, Nora Esther, born March 21, 1 88 1, and one son, Orrin 
J. L., born January 9, 1888. Mr. Vosburgh was elected justice of the 
peace in 1885 and justice of Sessions in 1887-88. He built a stave and 
heading mill in 1889, and is a farmer, owning the Vosburgh homestead, 
where he was born. 



^i 



TOWN OF ALABAMA. 



139 



Nelson Vaughn, a native of Washington County, and son of Francis 
and Polly (Green) Vaughn, was born in 18 15. At the age of 10 years 
he came to Niagara County and worked on a farm. He was married to 
Mary Ann Dean, and they had one son, Ula A., of Royalton. His wife 
died 1853, and he married, second, Marie Clarissa, daughter of Peter and 
Betsey (Colson) Beamore. Their children are Helen L., who died 1865 ; 
Wesley F., who came here in 1865, a"d bought the farm where he now 
lives; Oscar D., who married Catherine Hale, and has a daughter, 
Helen L.; and Freeman S., who married Margaret Smith, and has a son, 
Artie. 

Wesley F. Vaughn was born June 8, 1854, was reared on a farm, and 
July 3, 1882, was married to M. Maria Joslin. They have two children : 
Ella May, born September 12, 1883, and William N., born December 
24, 1885. They live on road 14. 

William Joslin, born in England, came to America at an early age. 
He married Mary Baker, of Oakfield, and their children are Henry and 
John, of Alabama; Vienna, Grant, and Frank, of Shelby; Clara, who lives 
at home; Emma, who married George Bickle, of Wheatville ; and M. 
Maria, who married Wesley F. Vaughn. 

Pbineas White, born in Massachusetts in 1783, came to Stafford when 
27 years of age, taking up land sufficient for farming purposes. In 1810 
he married Polly Beswick, and their children were Salma, deceased ; 
Laura, who married James Patterson (deceased); Silas, of Illinois; Alma, 
who married Thaxter Waterman (deceased), and their daughter was 
Almira, also deceased, aged 16 ; Louisa, who married Frederick Barney; 
Mary A., who married Thaxter Waterman; Orrin, who died in Iowa; 
Jane, who married Allen Watson, of Michigan ; and Phineas B., born 
1828, who was reared on the farm. The latter married Harriet N. Graves 
in 1850, who died 1853. He then married (1855) Eima S., daughter of 
Anthony Waterman. Their children were Merton, deceased, aged 14; 
Arthur P., who married Lottie Huffcut, in 1888, of Alabama ; Harriet N. 
(deceased) ; and Anna S., who married H. Selden, of Stafford. For his 
third wife Mr. White married, in 1867, Mrs. Laura Ann (Lawrence) 
Horning, widow of Eli. They have one daughter, Lillian M. Mr. White 
located here in 1867, and is a farmer on road 17. 

William Horning, a native of Schoharie County, came to Alabama 
about 1840, and married Magdelena Wieting. Their children were 
Anna Maria, who married Amos Crosby (both deceased) ; Jeremiah, 
who married Caroline D. Lawrence and had one son, Oscar Lorenzo, who 



I40 GENESEE COUNTY. 



died in Michigan ; Dr. Nelson, who practiced medicine in Alabama, and 
died several years ago; and Eli, born 1828. Eli was reared on the 
farm, and married Laura Ann, daughter of Richard and Betsey (Barker) 
Lawrence, in 1855, and began housekeeping in Alabama. Their chil- 
dren were William, born 1858, died 1876; May, who died in infancy; 
and Nelhe Belle, born 1862, who married, in 1878, Moses D. Vail, of Ala- 
bama, and their children were Eli H., Bertram N., and Homer D. (died 
1886). Eli Horning died October 17, 1864. Mrs. Horning married, 
second,' Phineas B. White.- 

The paternal ancestor of the Wight family was born on the Isle of 
Wight. He located in Massachusetts about 1628. Of the family was 
Ephraim, born 1645, ^^^^^ ^^^^ two sons, Nathaniel (born 1678) and Dan- 
iel. Nathaniel's son Levi was born in 17 12, and married Susanna Bar- 
stow. They had 10 children, of whom Levi, 2d, was born in Thompson, 
Conn., in 1761. He married Sarah Corbin in 1782, and they were par- 
ents of II children. Levi, 2d, died at Centerville, N. Y., in 1830, and 
his wife died 1852. Of this family was Abbott, born in Oxford in 1787 
(died 1863), who married, at Fairfield, N. Y., Alice Cabott, of Dudley, in 
1 812, and they had nine children, viz.: Lorinda. Emeline, and George, 
of Alabama; Angeline, who married Benjamin Hunt, of Alabama; Levi, 
of Pembroke ; Roxy, who married Daniel D. Cole, of Michigan ; Perry, 
who died 1862, aged 31 years ; and Abbott and Abel, of Alabama. 

George Wight was born in Monroe County in 18 16, and located here 
in 1837. He married, in 1846, Esther, daughter of Reuben and Mary 
(Whitehead) Golden, of P21ba. Their son Miles was born in 1855, and 
in 1877 married Etta E. Clark. Their children are Eliza, Irene, Harry 
C , George H., Luella Mabel, and Walter C. 

Abbott Wight was born in Allegany County in 1825, and came to 
Alabama in 1837. He was reared on a farm, and married, in 1853, 
Sarah A., daughter of Ephraim and Minerva (Reed) Hewett. Their 
daughter Nettie Rosaline married Myron Williams, of Batavia, and their 
son P. Hewett resides at home. Mr. Wight is a farmer and resides on 
road 50. 

Abel Wight was born in 1828, and in 1850 married Maria, daughter 
of Lyman and Sally (Cabot) Hitchcock. Their children are Bruce, Hale, 
and Noah, of Alabama; Cabot, who died in infancy (1859); D. Fay, 
born i860, who is a teacher; Grace W., who married Augustus Hunt; 
Orma, who married John A. Hunt in 1883 ; Dan, who died in infancy; 
and Inez, born April 21, 1872. Abel Wight is a farmer and resides on 



TOWN OF ALABAMA. 



141 



road 50. Bruce Wight married (1877) Adaline, daughter of Amasa and 
Elizabeth (Beecher) BHss, and their children are Hattie Maria and Effie 
Irene. Hale Wight married Christina E., daughter of William and Char- 
lotte (Hotchkiss) Ingalsbe, in 1873, and their children are Dean R., born 
November 17, 1878 ; Viola, born November 17, 1881 ; and Owen, who 
died in infancy (1886). Noah Wight married Ida May, daughter of John 
and Lydia Ann (Aucry) Ackerson, December 20, 1874. They have a 
son, Abel J. 

Leonard Webster was born in Berlin, Conn., and died in Alabama in 
1837. He married Alma Rockwell and had children as follows: Sarah, 
who married Zardis Skidmore, of Michigan ; Almira ; Bennett, who died 
1847; Joseph, who died 1888; David, who died 1851; Minnie, who 
married Luther True, of Batavia; and Martha, who married Frank Lund, 
of Alabama. Mr. Webster came here in 1828, and located where his 
granddaughter, Mrs. George E. Stevens, now lives. Of his family Jo- 
seph was born in 1815, and in 1844 married Laura Ann, daughter ot 
Ephraim and Laura (Williams) Hicks. Their children were Ellen A., of 
Alabama; Daniel, who died 1879; Emma, who died 1880; Hattie, who 
married Almon Bristol, and died in Illinois in 1882 ; Laura, who died 
in Batavia in 1884; and Mary, who died 1880. 

Ellen A. Webster married George E. Stevens, November 8, 1868, and 
they were parents of four children, viz.: Orpha L., who died 1887, aged 
18 years; Jennie Bertell, born October 25, 1871 ; Stella R., born Octo- 
ber 19, 1873 ; and Laura A, who died in infancy (1881). Mrs, Stevens 
and family occupy the Webster homestead on road 20, where she was 
born. 

David Webster, born 18 19. came to Alabama in 1828, and was reared 
on a farm. He married, in 1846, Mary, daughter of Allen B. and Sarah 
(Coleman) Holmes, and their children were Leonard, who died young; 
David M. C, who resides at Rocky Hill, Conn.; and Frances Ella, wha 
was born 185 i. May 27, 1875, she married Frank A. Stevens, and they 
have one son, Claude W., born February 10, 1877. David Webster 
died in 185 1. His widow married Solomon H. Dunham in 1859, and 
their children were Anna and Amelia (twins), who died in infancy, and 
Jennie Maria, who resides at Rocky Hill, Conn. Mrs. Dunham died in 
March, 1889. F. A. Stevens and family reside at Kensington, Conn. 
David M. C. Webster married Lumec Ault, and their children are Regi- 
nald A., George D., and Alma May, and they reside at Rocky Hill, Conn. 

Samuel Winchell, born in Monroe County, N. Y., married Cornelia^ 



142 GENESEE COUNTY. 



daughter of Ashur Merrill, and located in Orleans County. He was a 
blacksmith, and came to Alabama about 1854. Their children were 
Mary Ann, who married Schuyler Starkweather ; Melissa, who married 
Lorenzo Horning, and lives in the West; and Lyman W., of Alabama. 
The father died in 1861, and the mother in 1888. 

Lyman W. Winchell was born in 1831, learned the blacksmith trade, 
and married, November, 1855, Harriet Elizabeth, daughter of Albert and 
Emma (Davis) Clark, of Oakfield. They located in Alabama. Their 
sons are Albert S., born January 28, 1857, who married, in 1880, Sarah, 
daughter of Eleazur R. Underhili, and their children are Nora Cornelia, 
born 1 882, and Frank, born 1885; and Merrill E., born September 4, 1 858, 
who married, in 1880, Eva, daughter of Orin and Jane A. (Fish) White, 
and lives in Buffalo. Mr. Winchell enlisted in the late war in August, 
1862, in the 19th Light Artillery, and was at the battles of the Wilderness, 
North Anna, Cold Harbor, Weldon Road, and others, serving until the 
close of the war. He now lives on Medina street in Alabama. 

Joseph Waterstreett, a citizen of Mecklenburg, Germany, married Leo- 
nora Niendoorf, from the same town. He died there in 1863, aged 61 
years. His children were Henry, Christopher, Sophia, Joseph, and Mary. 
Henry came from Germany to the United States in 1864, settled in Oak- 
field, and married Minnie, daughter of John and Mary (Burr) Scroger, of 
Oakfield. Their children are Mary, John, Fred, and George. Mary 
married Charles Dryer, of Oakfield. 

Thomas R. Wolcott was born in Leyden, Lewis County, N. Y., Feb- 
ruary 2, 1 80 1. About the year 1827 he bought a farm in Alabama 
from the Holland Land Company. At the time he was engaged in 
teaching school in Livingston County, which profession he continued 
until 1829 or '30, when he settled on his farm. He married Aurelia 
Underwood, and had one child, Sarah, wife of Daniel Inglesbee, of Pon- 
tiac, Mich. His wife lived two years. In 1835 ^^^ married Orpha Wol- 
verton, daughter of Asher, of Montgomery County, N. Y., and they had 
10 children, four of whom are living. He died April 24, 1887. He was 
supervisor for several years, and justice of the peace for 10 years. His 
widow resides on the old homestead, which has never been out of the 
family. 

George W. Webb was born in Rochester, N. Y., April 28. 1856. In 
1884 he was appointed station agent for the West Shore Railroad at Ala- 
bama, which position he has held ever since. He married.»Mary Zwetsch, 
of Alexander. 



TOWN OF ALEXANDER. I43 

Augustus D. Zurhorst, a practicing physician, son of Frederick Will- 
iam, was born in London, Eng., in 1803. He married Mary Ann 
Estell, and came to America in 1836, continuing the practice of medi- 
cine. He died 1873, and his wife 1855. His children were Catherine T., 
who married Lorenzo Ely, of Castile, N. Y.; Augusta P., who married John 
Pennock and died 1885 ; Octavia,. of Castile ; John E., who died 1853, 
aged 13 years ; Herman S. W., who was a soldier and died 1864, in West 
Virginia; Rosina V., who died 1865, aged 17 years; Henry C, who 
died young ; and Augustus F. G., the subject of this sketch, who was 
born September 27, 1847. He was educated at Genesee and Wyoming 
Seminary, enlisted in the army in 1863 in Co. G, 21st N. Y. Cavalry, 
became quartermaster's sergeant, and served until July, 1866. On his re- 
turn he studied medicine with his father and with Dr. N. G. Clark, of 
Batavia, and graduated at Cleveland Medical College, class of 1869. 
He then practiced medicine with Dr. Clark for two years, after which he 
located at Alabama Center in 1871. He was postmaster in 1885, justice 
of the peace in 1888, and elected supervisor in 1889. Dr. Zurhorst has 
a large and growing practice, and resides on Railroad street. He mar- 
ried, in 1878, Emma A., daughter of Frederick A. and Elizabeth (Flan- 
ders) Cooley. Their daughters are lola Jean, born March 9, 1880, and 
Kathleen Corinne, born October 10, 1884. 



ALEXANDER. 



ALEXANDER was one of the very earliest settled towns in the 
county, the valuable and productive lands along the Tonawanda 
Creek causing the early pioneers to seek homes where the rich soil 
awaited their labors ; and having that in view it is estimated that over 
100 families took up the lands in that township (No. ii) between the 
years 1802 and 18 15, the greatest influx being prior to the War of 
18 12. We are informed that the first log house was built near the site 
of the present cheese factory. In endeavoring to enumerate their names 
and the year of settlement we are unable to be accurate in every instance, 
owing to our sources of information being somewhat uncertain as well 
as contradictory ; but by careful inquiry and verification among the de- 
scendants of most of them we are enabled to lay before our readers a 



144 GENESEE COUNTY. 



more complete list than has ever heretofore been compiled. A confusion 
of dates may exist in some cases, arising from the fact that some who signi- 
fied their intentions of locating did not take possession until sometime after.. 
We will endeavor to present them in their order of date of settlement. 

The first record of deed for purchase in the town is that of Alex- 
ander Rhea (from whom the town was finally named) in 1802. He was 
a surveyor of the Holland Co. and founder of Alexander village, erect- 
ing a saw-mill in 1804. He was brigadier- general of militia and State 
Senator for several years. His first deed was for 17 acres of land in the 
bend of the creek near the present village, and for i i acres on what was 
then called the Allegany road (the first cut through, southerly) ; later, in 
1809, he located a larger tract, since known as the Pearson farm. While 
Mr. Rhea took the first contract for land William Blackman is regarded 
as the first settler. 

In 1803, 1804, ^"d 1805 there came Elijah Root, William Johnson, 
George Darrow, John Olney, William Blackman, who. it is said, raised 
the first crop of corn, and whose child was the first born m the town ;. 
William Whitney, whose death was the first, caused by falling from 
a tree; Lillie Fisher, settling on the farm so-called, and his son Alanson 
T., who died at the age of 98 years; and Caleb Blodgett, whose large 
farm stood on higher ground than any place between Batavia and Buf- 
falo. Near his house stood a tall elm tree, the top of which was visible 
from Bethany and many points in Wyoming County. There also came 
Lewis Disbrow, Joseph Fellows, Elias and John Lee, Samuel Russel, 
Elijah Rowe, Solomon Blodgett, Elisha Carver, and Benham Preston, 
the most of whom took of the land or located in 1804. 

In 1806 the following persons signified their intentions of locating,, 
some of whom did, a few, perhaps, failing to make actual settlement: 
Jonas Blodgett, John Churchill, David Clark, Isaac Chaddock, David Car- 
ter, John Chamberlin, Timothy Fay, Aaron Gale, H. Williams, Elnathan 
Wilcox, Amos Jones (the first school teacher), Capt. Ezekiel T. Lewis, 
Alexander Little, B. Lyman, J. McCollister, and Henry Rumsey. 

In 1807 S. Brad way, Ezekiel Churchill, G. W. Wing, Philo Porter 
(farmer and pensioner of the War of 1812), Joseph Gladden, and Rudol- 
phus Hawkins, who died in 1849, came in. Mr. Hawkins was the father of 
Jesse, John, Harvey, Henry, and Van Rensselaer, and they were at one 
time the largest, if not the most influential, family in town. Timothy 
Hawkins, who came from Tolland, Conn., was one of the first permanent 
settlers near the village, on the farm where Ira T. Hawkins now lives. 



TOWN OF ALEXANDER. 145 



known as the Hawkins farm. He came when only two houses were built 
between Batavia and Alexander. He died at the age of 84 years. 
About this time one William Adams erected a saw mill and grist-mill on 
the site of the present flouring-mill in the village. He was also lieuten- 
ant of militia, and died in 1810. 

. Isaac Parrish was one of the pioneers of Genesee County. He was 
born in the town of Randolph. Vt His father, William Parrish, moved 
from Vermont to this county in 1806, and settled in the town of Alex- 
ander, on a farm just west of the old elm tree. During the War of 1812 
his father directed him to go to Batavia and purchase some necessaries 
for the family. While at Batavia a portion of the army was marching- 
through to Buffalo ; the services of the team and driver were wanted to 
convey some of their camp equipage to Niagara River ; himself and team 
were pressed into service, very much to his discomfort, and was com- 
pelled to proceed with the army to Buffalo, where he was paid for the 
services rendered, and directed to return home, 30 miles away, through 
the forest, where anxious friends were waiting his return, as they were 
very much in want of the articles he was directed to get at Batavia. 
Soon after the war, and in the employ of his uncle (Alba Blodgett), he 
drove a seven-horse team for seven years, between Albany and Buffalo, 
drawing freight for the Western World, before the Erie Canal was in 
operation. He was employed several months during the construction of 
the locks at Lockport. He assisted in drawing the machinery and irons 
from Albany to Buffalo for the second steamboat that ran on Lake Erie. 
In 1834 he purchased the farm where his son, George B. Parrish, 
lived. It was at that time a wilderness ; only about 15 acres of the farm 
were then under cultivation. He was an enterprising and successful 
farmer; a resident of the town of Alexander 66 years; and died in April, 
1872. 

Harvey Hawkins and Hon. Abel Ensign came in 1808, and kept the 
first tavern and store, and Thomas Rice, Lyman Riddle (a soldier of 
1812), John Squires, Edmund Tracy, and Shubael Wing in 1809. 
Moses M. Page, from Connecticut, and Levi Thompson came in 18 10, 
when there were only three settlers on the road between Batavia and 
Alexander. Mr. Page died aged 74 years. The same year Col. Seba 
Brainard became a neighbor to the few who preceded him. He was held 
in great esteem by all, and was a zealous Methodist. His son Harris suc- 
ceeded to his property, and died on the homestead. Harris left two 
sons, Seba and Charles. John and Samuel Latham, about this time, put 



146 GENESEE COUNTY. 



up the first framed dwelling. William Waite, Gehial Stanard, and Spen- 
cer Waldo were settlers during the year. During 181 1 Return B. Cady 
and John and B. Cady located. 

Capt. Elisha Smith was born in W^ashington County, N. Y., October 
19, 1785. In 1807 he united in marriage with Elizabeth Birdsall, of 
Otsego, Otsego County, N. Y.,and in 18 12 emigrated to Genesee County 
and located at Alexander. He performed noble service in the War of 
181 2, and participated in the memorable battle of " Black Rock." His 
estimable companion died May 13, 1855, aged 72 years. He never 
mixed largely in political matters, but his opinions were judiciously 
formed and fearlessly asserted. He was a faithful and consistent mem- 
ber of the Methodist Church, and that organization lost a valuable mem- 
ber in his demise. A friend, speaking of his death, says : 

" Being one of the early pioneers he experienced many of the hardships, privations, 
and labors of the early settlers, but succeeded well in subduing the forest and bringing the 
soil to its present productiveness, and supplying his familv with the competencies ot 
life. His friends were always welcomed with cordiality at his house, and in his death 
they lost a much-esteemed and valuable citizen. He was very child-like in his affection 
for and manner towards his friends, and more than all that can be said of him is that 
he was 2. good man." 

Up to this time settlements upon the Purchase were rapid. Usually the 
coming of one family would be followed by others from their old homes^ 
but rumors of war and preparations for it about this time ( 1 8 1 2) impeded 
somewhat the increase of pioneers, and while we have no particular 
names as coming during the year, we note names of some, among whom 
were Dr. Jonathan Hall, a farmer of genuine worth, and a Presbyterian. 
He died aged 56. There was also John Riddle (father of Lyman and 
Thomas), an honored citizen and the fiirst justice of the peace, and super- 
visor for several years. He died in 1849. Thoinas first settled in Darien. 
He followed mercantile pursuits, was town clerk, postmaster. Sessions 
justice, and justice of the peace for 28 years. He died in 1889. Lyman 
Riddle was a soldier of 1 8 1 2. There were Henry Innis, from Nova Scotia, 
Rodney Wadsworth, Samuel Favor, who died at the age of 95 years, and 
during the later period of his life lived in the village, and Timothy Mooers 
an enterprising mechanic, who was foremost in all movements to build up 
the village. He built the first grist-mill (now standing), and combined 
with it a wool-carding and cloth dressing machine, attracting customers to 
the place. There were also Jerome Dickinson, who died in 1885, and 
whose daughter taught school for 30 years; and Leverett Seward, a good 
citizen, a soldier in the war, and wounded, drew a pension, and who 



TOWN OF ALEXANDER. 



14/ 



was twice elected to the Assembly. He died in 1817, and left two sons, 
Winfield S. and Charles F. 

The Kidder family made their advent in the new settlement sometime 
during this year or 1 8 1 3. One authority gives the year 1 806 ; but we can- 
not verify it. John Kidder came from Massachusetts, and located on the 
farm now occupied by Earl Kidder. He cleared up his place with the 
help of a family of sturdy boys, Alvin, Earl, Hosea, and Sidney. Alvin. 
afterwards moved to Boston and engaged in the leather trade. Earl re- 
mained upon the farm, dying in 1871. He was a justice, supervisor, and 
loan commissioner. Ruth Kidder is on record as having located a farm 
about 1 813. The Kidder family were quite an element in Society in 
those days. 

Gen. Josiah Newton settled at an early day, in 181 5, was a large farmer,, 
owned a beautiful place, and died well off. Captain Marcellus Fellows^ 
Josiah Goodrich, Asahel Warner, Stephen Day, Esq., and Wolcott Marsh 
also located in town, and during the year the Moulton family, consisting 
of Capt. Royal, Benjamin, and E. C, a full sketch of all of whom will be 
found further on. Newcombe Demary, Nathaniel Loomis, and Joshua 
Rix, whose farm was next to the Kidders', were settlers in 18 14. It has 
been stated that Benjamin and Eunice Moulton were the first persons 
married, but we cannot verify it. 

The year 181 5 was memorable for a large influx of pioneers in the new 
settlement. We record the names of Emory and Solomon Blodgett, and 
Fred Balch, who was a farmer and cooper. He married Harriet, Benedict 
at the old Fargo tavern. Samuel Benedict, a liberal benefactor andc it- 
izen, was instrumental in founding the seminary, giving $1,000 towards 
it, and also was an early promoter of the Exchange Bank. He finally 
moved South. The Chaddocks, Luther (who later built a fine cobble- 
stone house on his farm), Thomas, and Dennis B., located in the southeast 
part of the town. There were also C. Williams, Baxter H. Wilmarth, 
Robert Lounsbury, Emory F. Lincoln, Noah North, who came in 1808,. 
and his sons Noah and James A., Eben North, who came in 1816, and 
William Parrish, who was a man of integrity and industry. Ae died in 
1872, leaving a son, George. He was a commissioner of highways for 
18 years. 

In 1 8 16 we have Daney Churchill and Cherrick Van De Bogart, of 
the " Van De Bogart settlement," in the northwest part of the town. 
Nicholas Van De Bogart, a son, afterwards moved to the village and 
kept the tavern. He has several sons living. In addition we have 



148 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Timothy Hoskins, James R. Jackman, Gorama Kelsey, Lyman Brown, 
James Lewis, N. Manson, Ira Newton, who was always at peace with 
his fellowmen, and J. G. Tiffany, a handy mechanic, a farmer, and a 
wool-carder, who moved to Darien. 

The following came in 1817: Silas Southwell, Jonas and James Stimars, 
S. C. Spring, Ezra W. Osborn, and David Halsted, in the north part of the 
town. Philip Cook, Ebenezer Scoville, and Guy Shaw came in 1819. In 
1820 came S. B. Brainard, Daniel F. Bowen, C. J. Hawkins, Sanford Rid- 
dle, and S. B. Smith; Horace B. Houghton, Eliphalet Peck, the first settler 
on the Peck farm, and John and Benjamin Simonds, in 1824 in the north 
part of ^e town. There were also Philo Porter (a soldier of 18 12), 
Moses Dickinson, and O. T. Fargo, of the famous Fargo tavern, which he 
kept for 41 years. It was a favorite place of resort for balls and 
parties. A Mr. Austin formerly kept this tavern up to Mr. Fargo's 
taking possession in 1825. A Charles Austin was an early school teacher, 
in a log house about this time, but it cannot be learned if it is the same 
one. 

As we are now coming to an intermediate period, where not a few of 
the settlers of that time are still living, we do not deem it best to enu- 
merate them all, but will give space to Rufus G. Avery, who came in 1835, 
whose son Rufus G. still resides in town. James Day came in the same 
year, whose daughter, Mrs. Hannah H. Lawton, is still a resident. John 
Dirstine, in 1 830, married Alice Riddle, and occupies the Riddle farm. 
Richard L. VVaite was a blacksmith and farmer, and a son, a Methodist 
minister, survives him. 

The town was organized June 12, 18 12, and we will give as we are 
able some names of those identified with it, and the village, who were 
instrumental in advancing its growth. John and Samuel Latham are 
supposed to be the first who engaged in mercantile business, and some 
contend that Harvey and Henry Hawkins were in advance of them. 
Certainly undue credit cannot be given the latter for their enterprise. 
Horace B. Houghton was an old resident, a mechanic, and regarded al- 
ways as being upright. He was justice for 28 years. James R. Jack- 
man started in life poor, but by hard work became well off. He was 
justice for several years, and was made judge of the County Court by 
Governor Seward. George W. Wing, s6n of Shubael, was a carriage- 
maker. The firm of Wing & Willard supplied the country around with 
wagons of superior make. They also made freight cars, and erected | 
many dwellings in the village. ! 



TOWN OF ALEXANDER. 



149 



Timothy Mooers, who built the present mill, also carried on wool- 
carding. He made woolen rolls, which were then taken by the women 
and spun into yarn, and by looms wove into cloth. Mr. Mooers' then 
fulled, dyed, and pressed the same, ready to be made into wearing ap- 
parel. This industry he kept up until 1835. He was also in the drug 
and grocery business, and postmaster for many years. His son Alonzo 
T. was connected with Judge Rix in the grain and milling business, and 
kept a drug store in 1869. In 1829 Charles Patterson had a carding and 
woolen factory. Solomon Cook was a post rider. Ira Earll was post- 
master in 1831. W. C. Spaulding was postmaster in 1837, and V. R. 
Hawkins in 1841. Rix and Blodgett were merchants in 1832, and Haw- 
kins and Blodgett in 1839. E. & E. B. Foote operated a woolen factory 
in 1841. Blossom & Newton were merchants in 1842, and Heman 
Blodgett & Co. in 1844. Edward T. Squires was a musician, and also a 
farmer. 

Charles Chaffee was said to be the first physician. Alden Richards 
was an early tanner. Abncr Nichols was a boot and shoe dealer in 1846. 
Wells, Adams, and Matteson were old-time cabinetmakers. Orlando Fel- 
lows, 50 years ago, worked at his trade as blacksmith. Cyrenus Wilbor,. 
an early settler (before 1807), was a tanner and currier. The second 
couple married by Father Paddock, in 18 19, was Mr. Wilbor and wife. He 
also kept tavern at one time ; during his occupancy it was set fire to and 
burned, by, it is supposed, the owner of the building. Mr. Wilbor was 
the father of Rev. A. D. Wilbor, once superintendent of the Blind 
Asylum, and grandfather of Rev. W. C. Wilbor, now pastor of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church of Le Roy. 

In 1869 the Messrs. Moulton were extensive millers. George Jones 
was engaged in sash and blind manufacturing. W. L. Dickinson was a. 
merchant, and Horace Hunn had a saw-mill. 

The tavern in early times being quite an element of civilization, we 
wish we were able to devote space to the history of the old stand in 
Alexander, but can only mention a few of its proprietors after Henry 
Hawkins opened one in 1807. N. Perry was proprietor for several years, 
or until about 1837, then a Mr. Lathrop, about 1838, when Nicholas 
Van De Bogart moved from his farm in 1839, opened up the place on an 
improved plan, and for 10 years proved he was able to attend to the 
wants of the traveling public. Alvah Montgomery and Cyrenus Wil- 
bor each kept tavern for a short time. In 1865 C. W. Bowen was pro- 
10 



I50 GENESEE COUNTY. 



prietor, and soon Rufus G. Avery bought the stand and for a long time 
entertained many guests. At present a Mr. Fancher is in charge. 

The unusual fall of water in theTonawanda at this place was early taken 
advantage of, and as soon as a mill was built, in 1808, it caused a large 
business to be done, the products of the soil from a large extent of 
country finding a market at the village. The Hawkinses, the Blodgetts, 
Judge Rix, the Moultons, and others, all by their energy and sagacity, 
aided the farmer to make a sale of his produce, giving an impetus to trade 
and gradually enabling the pioneers to lead a more comfortable exist- 
ence. 

With this new life came a desire on the part of parents to provide for 
the education of their children, something beyond what was afforded the 
first settlers. Preliminary to the move we note the formation of the 
"Alexandrian Library" as early as 181 1, by Alexander Rhea, Henry 
Hawkins, Colonel Brainard, Samuel Latham, Jr., Harvey Hawkins, Noah 
North, and Ezra W. Osborn, who were elected trustees. In 1828 a literary 
society was formed, and in 1837 ^^^ citizens raised $6,000 to build a semi- 
nary, which cost $7,000, the deficiency being made up by Henry Hawkins. 
The name was "Genesee and Wyoming Seminary," and E. T. Crooker 
and E. T. Benedict were the first principals. It was built of stone, and 
flourished beyond all expectation, there being at one time 300 students 
in attendance. By a foreclosure of mortgage Henry Hawkins came 
into possession of the building, and in 1845 obtained a charter from the 
Regents of the University, gave to it the lands and buildings, and en- 
dowed it with $4,000, a large library, and geological specimens. In less 
than three months after it was in operation he died, of small-pox. Har- 
vey Hawkins died of the same disease soon after. 

The building occupied as a union school has now about 100 scholars, 
and Professor O. Warren is the principal. It is situated on Buffalo street. 

The general training day. — In 1807 the military authorities of the State 
organized a regiment on the Holland Purchase, and one of the companies 
being located in this town was honored with some of the principal officers. 
In the fall of 1808 the first regimental or general training was held here, 
and reviewed by Brigadier- General Alexander Rhea. Colonel William 
Rumsey was officer of the day. The regiment was formed on the ground 
east of the village, and on the north side of the road, the right resting 
near the site of the present stone church, on a line parallel with the road. 
" Everybody went to general training — men, women, children, and dogs. 
Some went on foot, some on horseback, and some in ox- wagons. The 



TOWN OF ALEXANDER. 



151 



young fellows wore new 'fine' shirts, about as fine and white as stuff now 
used for bags, but which cost six shillings per yard, and these were the 
first fine shirts worn in this town." 

The Exchange Bank of Genesee. — The business interests of Alexander 
and vicinity were so extensive that its enterprising citizens of 1842 de- 
termined to have more convenient banking facilities than were accorded 
them in Batavia; so that, at so early a date, the small village of Alexander 
became a rival of its larger sister village and county seat. The Hawkins 
family were instrumental in its organization, and later D. W. Tomlinson 
became interested in it, and buying up all the stock removed it to Batavia 
in 1850. Fred Follett and E. S. Warner were cashiers at different times. 

The present grist and flouring-mill is owned by C. S. Thompson. For 
II years prior to his ownership Messrs. Moulton and Null conducted the 
business, buying the same in 1866. E. G. Moulton, the present worthy 
resident of the village, has the credit of being in business longer than any 
one person who has ever lived in Alexander. His mercantile life covers 
a period of 52 years, and his transactions covered a large scope of country, 
and were as varied as they were extensive. W. G. Pollard is a merchant 
in the village. D. G. Thomas is manager of the cheese factory, which 
was built in 1877, by a stock company. They made 272,000 pounds of 
cheese the first year; their capacity is now 1,200 pounds daily, or the 
milk from 500 cows. 

The village of Alexander was incorporated in 1834. Charles R. 
Egleston is now the president. 

At the depot is an evaporator for drying apples and fruits in their 
season, which is owned by Charles Benedict, of Attica. Convenient to the 
railroads is a very extensive storehouse owned by a Mr. Sofsky, of Bal- 
timore, which he uses for storing apples, its capacity being 20,000 barrels. 

The Alexander Cemetery, located near the depots, was surveyed in 1813, 
by Nathan Holmes, and his was the first interment therein. It is beauti- 
fully laid out into lots, and the trustees are constantly making improve- 
ments in it. 

Martin Gray is proprietor of the only saw-mill in town. William Har- 
rington, the dentist, has been a resident for 21 years. Dr. Joel S. Paige 
came about 1849. ^^ <5\^^ in 1855, and his widow still resides here. 
Dr. Edward Smith has lived in town two years, and Dr. E. C. David, a 
graduate of Ann Arbor (Mich.) University, came in May, 1889. 

Alexander has sent out quite a number of men of note, among them 
being William Tilden Blodgett, who for some time lived in New York 



152 GENESEE COUNTY. 



city, and was an influential citizen and a patron of fine arts. He died 
in 1875. Henry Martin was at one time president of the Manufacturers'^ 
Bank of Buffalo. He married a sister of Henry Hawkins. 

The first religious meeting was held in 1S05, Elder Burton presiding. 
The first religious society was of the Presbyterian order, in 1807, organ- 
ized by Harvey Hawkins and Cyrenus Wilbor. A reorganization took 
place in 1818, when there were 10 members connected with it. The Rev. 
Solomon Hebbard was its first pastor, and the first house of worship was 
built of stone in 1 828. The present pastor is Rev. McElroy. The churchy 
built in 1845, wilj seat about 200 persons, and the property is, valued at 
$5,000. 

The Methodists and Presbyterians used in common a house of wor- 
ship erected of wood in 1828. Elder Segar aided in organizing a church 
as early as 1827, with a very few members. Their present church is 
located on Church street, and the property is valued at $8,500. The 
building has a seating capacity of 300 persons. There are 35 church 
members, and nine teachers and 60 scholars in the Sunday-school. 

The Universalist Church in Alexander was begun in 1833, by a few 
members, who organized themselves into a society. Their present house 
of worship was erected (of wood) June 3, 1833. There are about 30 
families connected with the society, and their property is valued at $2,500. 
Rev. Herbert W. Carr attends to their spiritual wants. 

There is also located in the village a church occupied by the denomi- 
nation of Free Methodists, but the following is small in numbers. 

There is a lodge of the I. O. G. T,, No. 796, with the following offi- 
cers : E. P. Lincoln, C. T. ; Minnie Dart, V. S. ; F. J. Churchill, secre- 
tary; John Dart, treasurer; Mrs. M. J. Millington, financial secretary ^ 
and Mrs. Jennie Webb, chaplain. 

The Alexander cornet Z'trw^a' was organized in 1888. It has now 13 
pieces, with Frank Richards as leader, and they meet weekly. 

The officers of the Macedonian Lodge, of Alexander, are: George W. 
Martin, C. T.; Miss Minnie Dart, V. T.; E. M. Allen, R. S.; Delbert Phelps, 
F. S.; Luther Gardner, T.; Mrs. Phelps, C; R. O. Burt, M.; Mrs. Loren 
Pierce, L G. ; Miss Nettie Zwetsch, sentinel ; Mrs. C. F. Lewis, S. J. T. ; 
Emory Lincoln, P. C. T. 

Asahel Avery, a Revolutionary soldier, died in New Britain, Conn., 
at an advanced age. His son Rufus G. was born in 1795, came to 
Alexander in 1834, and died in 1879, aged 84 years. He drew a pen- 
sion by reason of service in 1812. He married Keziah G. Goodwill 



TOWN OF ALEXANDER. 153 



(who died 1879), daughter of J. Munson Goodwill, of Hartford, Conn., 
and his children were Sarah, Ruth, John G., Daniel G., Mary J., William 
C., James M., Julia M., Bradley C., Emma L., Martha E., Charles B., 
George E., and Rufus G., Jr. The latter was born in Stafford, Conn., 
October 21, 1824, and came herewith his father. He married Helen M., 
daughter of Capt. Uriah P. B. Monroe, of Batavia, and his children are 
Florence L. and Walter W. Florence married Ellis R.,son of M. W. Hay, 
of Batavia. She lives on the farm with her father, which place (the Rem- 
sen farm) he bought eight years ago, and is now raising improved stock. 

George E. Avery came to Alexander in 1848. He served in the late 
war in Co. M, 9th N. Y. H. A., for three years, and was in the battles 
of Cold Harbor, Petersburg, Monacacy, Winchester, Charleston Heights, 
Cedar Creek, Sailor's Run, in front of Petersburg, and in the last battle 
given to Lee before the surrender, April 9, 1865. He is now a resident 
of Alexander. 

Harvey Andrews, a native of Vermont, came to Middlebury, N. Y., 
thence removed to Tulare County, Cal., where he died in 1884, aged 84 
years.. His wife, Annie, bore him three children, Marion, Kirk, and 
Carlos »D. Carlos D. Andrews was born in Middlebury and came to 
Alexander in 1887, where he died in 1888, aged 51 years. He married 
Augusta v., daughter of Asa and Clarinda (Alderman) Hogle, and they 
had one son, Harvey A. Mrs. Andrews lives on the farm owned by 
her husband, and is 46 years of age. 

Fred Burr, son of Joseph, was born in Mecklenburg, Germany, and 
came to Batavia before his marriage. In 1862 he enlisted in the 27th 
N. Y. Lt. Art, and died near Richmond, Va., in 1864, aged 30 years. 
He married Sophia Luplow, and their children were Mary, William, Al- 
bert, and Fred E. The latter married Lydia J. White, daughter of Na- 
than and Sarah (Brothers) White, of Le Roy, and is now a resident of 
Alexander. His mother married John Muat, of Le Roy, for her second 
husband. 

William Barnett, father of William H., was in the War of 18 12. Will- 
iam H. was born April 17, 1833, and moved to Roanoke with his parents 
when he was nine years of age. He was educated in the common schools. 
September 28, 1854, he married Mary E. Webber, of Stafford, formerly 
of England. They have had seven children, two of whom survive, 
namely : Jennie M. and Jessie C. Mr, Barnett was a soldier in the late 
war, enlisting twice, first in Co. D, 14 N. Y. Inf. Vols., and second, in 
Co. M, 2d Mounted Rifles N. Y. Vols. He participated in the battles 



154 GENESEE COUNTY. 



of Gaines's Mills, Turkey Bend, Malvern Hill, Antietam, Big BetheL 
Chancellorsviile, second Bull Run, South Mountain, Hanover Court 
House, White Oak Swamp, Fredericksburg, seige of Yorktown, and 
Snicker's Gap. Mr. and Mrs. Barnett reside in the village of Alexander. 
John Brown, born in the north of Ireland, came to Sandy Hill, N. Y., 
thence to Clarkson, where he died, aged about 60 years. He married 
Lucy Barnes, and their chiildren were Phoebe J., David W., George W., 
Lucy J., David, and John H. The latter, a native of Sandy Hill, was 
born August 27, 1826, and came to Alexander in 1887, from Attica. He 
married Salome J. Lyon, and they had one son, Walter N. For his 
second wife he married Mrs. Amanda M. Donaldson, of Bennington, 
daughter of John S. and Betsey (Thompson) Lyon, and now resides on 
road 44, in Alexander. He is a farmer by occupation. He served in 
the late war in Co. D, 14th N. Y. Vol. Inf , and was discharged August 
27, 1862. He was in the seven days' battle of the Wilderness. John S. 
Lyon (who was in the War of 1812) had 20 brothers and sisters, all of 
whom attained their majority. Elias Lyon served in Co. M, 9th N. Y. 
H. A. ; John Lyon was in Co. D, 14th N. Y, Vols.; and Moses Lyon 
went to the war from Oshkosh, Wis. 

Nathaniel Baldwin, son of David, a native of Connecticut, died in New 
Marlboro, Mass., aged Jj years. His wife, Diana, bore him two children, 
Lucy A. and Dudley The latter, a native of Massachusetts, came to 
Alexander in 1861, remaining until his death in 1867, aged 63 years. 
He married Alta, daughter of Lyman Barber, of Canaan, Conn., and 
reared children as follows : Exene M,, Ellen E., Rose D.. Lucy A., John 
S., and Irwin N. Irwin N. Baldwin was born in Massachusetts, and 
married Lucy A., daughter of Harrison Cumins, of Bethany, and they 
have one son, Charles C, who is a hay and grain dealer, and a resident 
of this town. 

Chauncey Cornwell came, from Middletown, Conn., in 183 i, and died 
in 1870, aged 'j'j years. He served in the War of 181 2. He married 
Mary A., daughter of Thomas and Dolly Church, of Middletown, and 
their children were Charles, Fidelia, Mary, Jane, John, Shailor, Angeline^ 
Carlos, George, Leonard, and Henry. The latter, also of Connecticut, 
came here with his father. He married Elizabeth, daughter of David 
and Mehitable (Frazier) Stark, of Bergen. The children of Henry Corn- 
well were Chauncey, Carrie, and George (deceased). Mr. Cornwell lives 
on the farm owned by him the past 12 years; and his mother survives 
her husband at the age of 88 years. 



TOWN OF ALEXANDER. 155 



Thomas, son of Gideon Garrett, was born in Pennsylvania, and came 
to Alexander in 1835, where he died in 1861, at the age of 70 years. 
He married Hannah L. Lewis, of Pennsylvania, who died in 1871. Their 
children were Gideon, Lydia, Abigail, Penrose, Emma, Jane, Rebecca, 
Franklin, and Samuel. Samuel Garrett was born in Philadelphia, Octo- 
ber 21, 1834, and September 13, 1853, he married Adaline M., daughter 
of Daniel and Emily (Cooley) Cooley. Their children are Emma and 
George. The latter married Myrtle Vader, daughter of Cornelius and 
Azuba (Harrington) Vader, of Linden, N. Y., and their children are 
Emma M. and Margery L. Mr. Garrett now resides on a farm on road 
14, with his father, where he has lived 54 years. 

Thomas Chaddock, of Vermont, came to Stafford in 1833, and died in 
1834, aged 70 years. He had 14 children, among whom was Luther, 
who was born in Vermont, and in 1815 came to Alexander, where he 
died in 1874, aged ^6 years. He married Sally, daughter of Capt. 
Washburn, of Attica, and his children Avere Rubey, Joseph, Sewell, Luther, 
Betsey Ann, Mary, Felinda, Benjamin, Pattie A., and Lewis. Lewis 
Chaddock was born in this town September 17, 1825, and married Laura, 
daughter of Calvin and Diantha (Burlingame) Underwood. Their chil- 
dren are Sally A., William L., and Julia D. Mrs. Chaddock is 63 years 
of age, and Mr. Chaddock is 64. He has lived on his place since his 
birth. 

John C. Curtis, a native of Massachusetts, and a son of Edmond who 
was killed in Canada in the War of 18 12, came to Warsaw in 1820, and 
died in 1 878, at the age of 8 r years. He also served in the War of 1 8 1 2, 
and was in Buffalo when that city was burned. He married Lucy, 
daughter of Asahel Croft, of Orangeville, N. Y., and their children were 
Sylvester, Adaline, Edmond, Alfred, Mary Ann, Clarisse, John Harrison, 
and Marcus L. The latter was born in Warsaw, and came to Alexander 
in 1886, where he now resides. He married Mary J., daughter of Hiram 
W. and Rachel (Swan) Davis, of Middlebury, N. Y., and their children 
are Anson D , Elon J., Noble S., Elzie F., and Arthur E. Mrs. Mary 
Jane Curtis has one son, Holsa, by her first husband, John B. Smith. 

James Day, son of Pelatia, was born in Onondaga Hollow, N. Y., and 
came to Alexander in 1835, where he died in 1886, aged 82 years. He 
was the first permanent settler on the farm known as the Day farm, on 
road 27. He married Amanda Jones, who was born on the Day farm. She 
died in 1877, aged 69 years. Their children were James H., William H., 
and Albert H. The latter, born in Pembroke, September i, 1832, mar- 



156 GENESEE COUNTY. 



ried Hannah H., daughter of Edwin R. and Mary (Hopkins) Greene, and 
their children were James E. and Mary A. His widow still survives her 
husband at the age of 60 years. James Elmer Day married Florence, 
daughter of Jerome B. and Hannah (Clark) Colby, and now resides on the 
Day homestead. Mrs. Hannah H. Day married George W. Lawton, of 
Alexander, for her second husband. 

George Muchworthy was born in Yarnscombe, Devonshire, Eng., where 
he lived, and died in 1862, at the age of 65 years. He married Mary 
Punchard, of England, and his children were Mary, George, Jane, Samuel, 
William, Henry, Reuben, Susan, Frederick, Elijah, and Mary Ann. 

Frederick Muchworthy was born in Devonshire, and in 1872 came to 
New York city, thence to Stafford. He married for his first wife Eliza 
Britton, of England, and had four children, Amelia, Susan, William, and 
Alfred. For his second wife he married Helen, daughter of Thomas and 
Elizabeth (Newport) Damphier, of Bristol, Eng., and they have three 
children, viz.: Emily, George, and William H. Mr. Muchworthy resides 
on road 19, where he has lived three years. 

Moses Dickinson, a native of Connecticut, came to Alexander in 1825, 
where he died September 20, 1868, aged 94 yehrs. He married Rebecca, 
daughter of Jacob Hart, of Oneida County, who died in 1868, at the age 
of 87 years. His children were Sophronia, James M., Abbia A., Harriet 
A., and Moses H. The later was born in Paris, Oneida County, in 1803, 
and came here at the age of 21 years, remaining until his death, in 1886, 
aged 83 years. He married Annie, daughter of Gamaliel and Eliza- 
beth (White) Millington, of Shaftsbury, Vt.,and their children are Mary 
L. and Adaline C. Mrs, Annie Dickinson still survives her husband, at the 
age of 75 years, on the home farm on road 6"]. Mary L. Dickinson mar- 
ried Eugene B. Wing, of Alexander, son of George W. and Phoebe A. 
(Bushneil) Wing, and they have a daughter, Minnie D. Adaline C. Dick- 
inson married John Morgan, and his children are Lorraine B. and 
Moses D. 

Schuyler Hindrick was born in Massachusetts and came to Henrietta, 
N. Y., soon after his marriage, where he died i860, aged 73 years. He 
married Abigail Oilman, in Vermont, who died 185 i, and their children 
were Gardner, Melinda, Mary, David, Abigail, Stephen, Warren, Lewis, 
Byron, and Benjamin F. Benjamin F. Hindrick, born at Sand Lake, 
Rensselaer County, N. Y., in 1807, came to Alexander in 1863, and mar- 
ried Sally, daughter of Abel and Eunice (Gibbs) Post, of Henrietta. Their 
children are Francis, Caroline, William, and Lewis. The latter married 



TOWN OF ALEXANDER. 157 



Clarissa, daughter of Ira and Ruth (Wood) Armstrong, of Batavia, and 
lives with his father on the homestead farm. 

Thomas Carnes, from Tiperrary, Ireland, lived and died there, aged 51 
years. He married Julia Higgins, of the same place, who died at the age 
of 70 years. Their children were Michael, Patrick, John, Maggie, Nancy, 
Mary, and Sally. The son Michael was born in Ireland in 1828, came 
to Quebec in 1879, and to Alexander soon afterwards. He married Nora, 
daughter of Thomas and Kittie (Taheny) Flinn, and their children are 
Catherine, Thomas, John, Julia L., and Patrick. Miss Julia L. Carnes 
lives in Alexander. 

Joshua Knight, a native of Massachusetts, came to Bergen in 181 5, 
among the early settlers, and died 18 16. He married Hannah White, of 
Northampton, and their children were Ephraim, Benjamin, Alpheus, 
Electa, and Silas W. The latter was born in Chesterfield, Mass., May 6, 
1 82 1. In 1886 he came to Alexander (from Elba), where he resides. 
He married Lucy Ann, daughter of Anson and Luranda (Ames) Hulett, 
of Stafford, and their children are Ann J., Leathy, Theron, and Addie. 
Ann J. is now Mrs. Thomas Pippin, of Maryland. Leathy married 
Henry Fellows, of Niagara County, N. Y. 

Silas W. Knight served in the late war in Co. H, 78th N. Y. Inf., for 
three years, and was honorably discharged at Baltimore Hospital for dis- 
ability in January, 1863. He was in the battles of Harper's Ferry, Win- 
chester, and Cedar Mountain. The grandfather of Mrs. Silas W. Knight 
(Samuel Ames) served in the war of the Revolution, and her grandfather 
Hulett was an eminent physician in Connecticut, and was an early prac- 
titioner in Byron. 

Daniel Lincoln, from Bennington, Vt., was a very early settler — soon 
after 1800. He located on road 25, remaining there until his death in 
1853, aged 91 years. He married, first, Eunice Bragg, of Vermont, and 
their children were Emory F., Lucius, Appollus, Sophronia, Arathosa, 
Calvin, and Arial. For his second wife he married Sophronia Tubbs, and 
for his third wife Susan Tibbals. His son Emory F., at the age of 12 
years, came from Vermont with his father, and lived on the homestead 
until his death in 1884, aged 85 years. He married Janette Nichols, of 
Alexander, daughter of Thomas and Anna (Duell) Nichols, of Benning- 
ton, Vt. Their children were Arial B., Fisher, Franklin, Eveline, Julia A., 
Warren, Clarissa, and Eunice. Mrs. Janette Nichols survives her hus- 
band at the age of 75 years, residing in the village, 

Arial B. Lincoln married Emily S, Baker, daughter of Elisha and Mary 



l^S GENESEE COUNTY. 



Ann (Tisdale) Baker, of Darien, and his children are Otis W. and Merrill 
F. The last mentioned was born in Darien, and married Mary L., daugh- 
ter of Lewis and Parmelia (West) Munn, and is now living on the old 
homestead of his great-great-grandfather. Elisha and William Baker 
served in the War of i8i2. Fisher Lincoln, son of Emory F., a native 
of Alexander, married Flavilla, daughter of Leverett and Viola (Sander- 
son) Peck, of Bennington. Mr. Lincoln died in 1873, at the age of 36 
years. His children are Lucius D., Belle A. (Mrs. Lewis Johns), of 
Beadle County, Dakota, Emory P., and Miles W. His widow still sur- 
vives, residing on the home farm, aged 49 years. 

The sixth settler among the early pioneers of Alexander was Capt. 
Ezekiel T. Lewis, a native of Connecticut, who came in 1806, and died 
in 1836, aged 65 years. He was captain of militia in early days, owned 
a large farm on the east side of Tonawanda Creek, was a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, and a temperance man. He was married 
three times, first to Phoebe Bushnell, who bore him children as follows: 
Sylvester, Betsey, Phcebe, and James. The latter was born in Oneida 
County, came here when 12 years of age, and remained until his death 
in 1 87 1, aged 73 years. He married Phoebe Mclntyre, of Vermont, 
daughter of Joseph Mclntyre, and their children are Cynthia, Ezekiel P., 
Samantha D., Hester A., and Anson. Anson Lewis was born in Alex- 
ander, and married Mary, daughter of Jabez Peck. Their children are 
Jasper B. and James, who were killed at Petersburg, Va., in 1864, 
and William W. For his second wife Mr. Lewis married Hannah, 
daughter of Hosea and Lavina Rich, and their children are Charles F., 
Mary J., Cora M., and Jennie A. The latter married Alexander H. 
Webb, a conductor, who was killed on the D., L. & W. Railroad in 1888, 
aged 26 years. Anson Lewis spent all his life on the old homestead. 

Loomis Loveridge came from Riga, Monroe County, and located where 
he now resides. He married Emily, daughter of Isaac Butts, of Ogden, 
and his children are Charles A., Joel A., George, Emma R., and Fred B. 
The latter, a native of Ogden, was born February 27, 1858, and married 
Isabel V. Fargo, of Ogden, daughter of John and Abbie (Clark) Fargo. 
His children are Judson F., Erva C, Anna B., and Emma R. Mr. Love- 
ridge is a farmer, residing on road 46, having lived there four years. 

Nathaniel Loomis, of Connecticut, came here in 1806, when there were 
but a few liouses in Batavia. He moved to Wisconsin, thence to Michi- 
gan, and died aged 85 years. He married Anna Higby (born 1 778, died 
1834), of Connecticut, and their children were Sylvester, born December 



TOWN OF ALEXANDER. I 59 

23, 1 8 17; Erastus, born March 21, 1819 ; Rosvvell, born June i i, 1810; 
Mary A., born March 23, 1803; Caroline, born January 17, 1825; Maria, 
born Noi^ember 27, 1807 ; Polly B., born May 30, 181 2; Saniantha, born 
March 13, 1814; Francis L., born July 6, 1816; Hanford, born Septem- 
ber 6, 1818; and Adaline, born April 20, 1820. Francis Loomis, born 
where he now resides, married, first, Fanny Foord, and their children were 
Irwin and Mary. His second wife was Olive Southwell, who bore him 
children as follows : Odell O., Frank A., Sarah J., Scott S., Fred S., 
Jennie C, Perry A., and Clark. His third wife was Mrs. Elvira F. Ran- 
dall, daughter of Norman B. and Lydia (Richards) Raymond. The 
children are all living but two. 

William Miller came from the vicinity of New York city to Batavia, 
where he was a farmer for many years. He finally moved to Alexander, 
living there 25 years, where he died in 1882, aged 68 years. His wife, 
Katherine, bore him children as follows : James, William, and John A. 
John A. Miller was born in the city of New York, came to Alaxander 
with his father, and married Annie E., daughter of John and Margaret 
(Carson) Law. Their children are George L., Grace A., Elliott J., and 
Lina A. Mr. Miller served three years in the late war in Co. C, 151st 
N. Y. Vols., and was honorably discharged. He was in the battles of the 
Wilderness, Fredericksburg, and Cold Harbor. His wife, Annie E. Miller, 
lives in Alexander. 

Benjamin and Royal Moulton, half brothers, were early settlers, coming 
in fSio. The latter was a captain in the Massachusetts militia, and a son 
of Joseph, who was born in that State. He married three times and had 
19 children. Capt. Royal Moulton was born near Springfield, in Decem- 
ber, 1772, and coming to Genesee County was the first settler on the Ba- 
tavia road, remaining there until his death, at the age of 93 years. He 
was the first Whig supervisor elected in the town. A man of extended 
influence, he had not an enemy in the whole country. He married Bet- 
sey Trask, of Springfield, Mass., and his children were Polly, who died 
in Batavia in 1889, aged 92 years ; Lewis, who died aged 82 ; Lucinda 
(deceased) ; Betsey, born 1802, still living at Lancaster, N. Y.; and Mar- 
cia, By ram, and Elbridge G. The latter, born in 181 2, has always been 
a resident of the town. He married Isabelle M. Clark, of Ohio, by whom 
he had three children, Frank G., of Batavia, Helen B., and one deceased. 
For his second wife he married Mary Warren, of Attica, daughter of 
Pomeroy and Harriet (Buell) Warren, and their children are May E., who 
died October, 1888, aged 39, Warren E., Hattie C, and Edith A. Pom- 



l60 GENESEE COUNTY. 



eroy Warren served in the War of 1 812. To E. G. Moulton is entitled 
the credit of having done more business in Alexander, in his day, than 
any other resident. His sales in his store amounted to over $100,000 a 
year. He was an extensive dealer in every thing raised by the farmer, 
and had the confidence of the whole community. Mr. Moulton is highly 
respected and honored by his townsmen. He was supervisor of Alex- 
ander several terms, and town clerk a long series of years. In 1859, and 
again in i860, he represented Genesee County in the Assembly of the 
State. 

Warren E. Moulton, a native of Alexander, and son of E. G. and 
Mary Moulton, married Cora A., daughter of David and Betsey (Chad- 
dock) Johnson, and they have one child, Bessie M. He resides on road 
59, where he has been for the past 15 years. 

The children of Lewis Moulton, son of Capt. Royal, by his wife, Lucy 
L (Benedict), were Jasper, Orsamond B., Lewis, Jr., Allen J., Lucy L., 
Josephine, and Olive Loretta. His son, Orsamond B. Moulton, is a 
native of Alexander, residing on the old Capt. Royal Moulton home- 
stead. He married Emily A., daughter of David and Minerva (Brad- 
way) Thorp, and his children are Elliott C. and Emma F., both of whom 
were born in Cleveland, Ohio. The latter married C. W. Vrooman. 
Thomas Bradway was a soldier of the Revolution. Allen J. Moulton, 
son of Lewis, is also a native of this town, living on his father's farm. 
He married Annette, daughter of Homer and Elizabeth Nestelle, and 
they have four daughters, viz.: Flor M., Edna, Grace, and Bessie. Le^vis 
Moulton, Jr., son of Lewis, also a native of Alexander, married Nettie 
Denslow, and they have one daughter, Minnie, who married Charles, son 
of James and Anna (Gleason) Lawrence, of Montgomery County, N. Y. 
Their children are Harry and Marjory, and they reside on the Denslow 
farm. 

Byram Moulton, son of Royal, an early settler, was born here in 18 18. 
He married Corinna L., daughter of Judah and Louise (Adams) Wells. 
Their children are Edward F., Albert H., Byram, Jr., and Charles W. 
Mr. Moulton is an iron bridge contractor and builder, and also a farmer 
and breeder of American and Spanish Merino sheep. He has a flock of 
500 head. His sons Edward F. and Albert H. served in the late war in 
the 9th H. A., and were transferred to the signal corps, being discharged 
in 1865. Joseph, the grandfather of Byram, served in the Indian and 
Revolutionary wars. Edward F. Moulton was born in Alexander in 
1842. He married Ella E., daughter of Wellington and Phebe (Beards- 



TOWN OF ALEXANDER. i6i 



ley) Colby, and they have one son, Albert E., who is now a proprietor 
of a restaurant on State street, Batavia. 

Byram Moulton, Jr., was born in Alexander in 185 1, and married 
Laura Eleanor, daughter of David and Louisa (Beagle) Fleming, of Ba- 
tavia. He resides on road 12, and is a farmer. 

Gamaliel Millington was born in Bennington, Vt. He came from Ver- 
mont at the age of 3 i years, thence to Alexander, where he died in 1 875, 
at the age of 94 years. By his first wife he had children as follows: 
Gamaliel, Ann, Deborah, Amie, Esther, and Calvin. By his second wife, 
Miss Sprague, he had two sons, Quincy and Moses. His son Calvin, 
now of Alexander, was born in Vermont. He married Martha J., daugh- 
ter of Gilchrist and Tamma (Towslee) Johnson, of Bethany, and his chil- 
dren are Fred and Arthur, the latter a resident of La Crosse, Wis., and 
a train dispatcher on the C. & B. Railroad. He married Belle Meader, 
of Wisconsin. William Johnson (a drum-major) and Gideon Towsley 
were in the Revolutionary war at Bennington, Vt. Gilchrist Johnson 
was a native of Connecticut, and came to Bethany at the age of 78, where 
he died, aged 80 years. He served in the War of 18 12. He had one 
daughter, Martha J. (Johnson) Millington, now living in Alexander. 

John Muhs was born in Germany, where he lived, and died at the age 
of 58 years. He married Mary Morts, and their children were John, 
Frederica, Morris, Charles, Fritz, Martin, and William. William Muhs 
was born in Germany and came here in 1886. He married Henrietta 
Sharnow, of Germany, and their children are Frank, Mattie, and Minnie 

John R. Mullen, M. D., was born in St. Lawrence County, N. Y., 
December 13, 1852. He received a common school and academic edu- 
cation, and in 1871 began to study medicine with his father, Isaac V., 
and graduated from Buffalo University in 1874. He is a Latin, German, 
French, and Italian scholar, and writes scientific articles for the leading 
magazines of the country. In 1870 he married Marion, daughter of 
Charles Hawkins, of Alexander. He is a practicing physician of this 
town. 

Ira Newton, son of Timothy and Abigail, was born in Barnard, Vt,, 
April 28, 1799. At the age of 17 he came to Alexander, and was 
employed by his brother Josiah for 14 years. July 4, 1825, he was 
married to Mary Ann Loomis, and they had two children, Alvira A. and 
Clark C. His first wife died 1839. His second wife was Betsey Frisbie, 
who died 1 870. The crowning attribute of Ira Newton was that he lived 
in peace with all men; was never sued, nor never had a lawsuit. His 



l62 GENESEE COUNTY. 



daughter married John King, of Toronto, Can. Clark C. Newton, his 
only son, was born May 12, 1836, on the farm his father bought soon 
after marriage. He received a good education. December 29, 1856, 
he married Sarah E., daughter of H. G. Lincoln, of Bethany. They have 
two children, Ella M. and Charles Ira. Mr. Newton has been highway 
commissioner for four years. 

Martin North, son of Ebenezer, was a native of Litchfield County, 
Connecticut, where he died in 1806, aged 86 years. He served in the 
war of the Revolution for seven years, and drew a pension. He was a 
wheelwright. He married Mary Agard, daughter of John, who died 
in 1825. Their son Noah was born in Connecticut, came to Alexan- 
der in 1808, and was the first settler on the North farm, so-called, where 
he lived, and died in 1824, at the age of 39 years. He married Olive, 
daughter of Reuben and Olive (Gaylord) Hungerford, of Winsted, Conn., 
and their children were Thetis C, Lot M., Noah, Alcimeda, James A., 
Olive F., Aurelia N., and Zaxie C. His wife, Olive, died March 1 1 , 1 849, 
in Ohio, aged 61 years. Noah North served as drum- major in the War 
of 18 1 2. He was a prominent man in the town, and was engaged in so 
many cases of public trust that on his death a special town meeting was 
called. Eben North, son of Rufus, came to Alexander in 1816. He 
died in 1866, aged ^6 years. He married, first, Etta Betts, who died in 
1 84 1, and second, Mrs. Elizabeth Anderson. 

Henry Mitchell, was a native of Massachusetts, where he lived and 
died. His wife, Elizabeth (now Hving in Detroit, at the age of 83), bore 
him five children: Andrew M., Clara, Mary, William, and Nancy L. 
Nancy L. Mitchell married Henry Banks, of Canandaigua, and had 
four children who died in infancy, and one still living, viz. : Mary E. 
Banks, who married Samuel A. Simpson, of Rochester, N. Y., son of 
Charles and Fanny Simpson. Samuel A. Simpson died in Alexander in 
1887, at the age of 53 years. His wife, aged 38 years, survives her 
husband. 
•■ Eliphalet Peck, born in Danbury, Conn., went to SaratogaCounty, N.Y., 
and came to Alexander in 1824, settling on»the well-known Peck farm, 
where he died 1840, aged 84 years. By his wife, Abigail, he had chil- 
dren as follows: Nathaniel Eliphalet, Samuel, Benjamin, Asa, Abigail, 
Rebecca, Ruth, and Eli. The latter was born in Saratoga County, camel 
to Alexander in 1824, and married Nancy, daughter of John and Mary' 
Smith, of Saratoga County. Their children are Walter, Polly M., Pris- 
cilla, Adelia, Lois, and Asa. Asa Peck married for his first wife Eliza M. 



TOWN OF ALEXANDER. 163 



Van Tassel. For his second wife he married Sultina, daughter of David 
and Dorcas Root, of Elba, and their children are Emma J., Lucy A., 
Pamelia, and Charles E. The latter married Mary A., daughter of Her- 
man and Hannah (Green) Day, of Alexander, and they had two sons, 
Elmer and Harry (deceased). Asa Peck now resides on the homestead 
farm of his father. 

Gehial Stanard was born in New Marlboro, Mass., May 23, 1780 
where he died at an advanced age. His son, John Stanard, a native of 
the above town, came to Alexander in 18 10, and was the- first settler on 
the farm known as the " Stanard farm," on road 29, where he lived until 
his death in 1858, aged 78 years. He married Huldah, daughter ot 
Caleb King, and their children are Mary A., Adaline, Alvira, Eleanora, 
Huldah, and John P. The latter was born in Alexander, July 3, 1823. 
He married, January 14, 1847, Ann J., daughter of Zina and Rebecca 
(Buchanan) Wait, of Darien. Their children are Willis Z., Florence A., 
Wilber C, Butler R., Nellie M., and Horace A. The latter married 
Mattie A, Van De Bogart, daughter of George W. and Sarah (Coe) Van 
De Bogart, of Climax, Mich., and resides with his father on the home- 
stead settled by the grandfather. Butler R. Stanard married Cora M., 
daughter of Willard and Ellen (Merritt) Pixley, and resides on road 25 
corner 26. 

Amos Spring was born in Massachusetts, served in the War of 18 12, at 
the burning of Buffalo, and died in Attica, in 1850, aged 71 years. His 
wife, Reliance Snow, was born in 1780, in Massachusetts, and died in 
Warsaw, December 3, 1874, aged 94 years. Their children were Eras- 
tus, Amos, Harvey, Alpheus, Reliance, Louisa, Rebecca, Olive, and 
Darius N. The latter was born November 21, 18 17, in Le Roy, and is 
now a resident of Warsaw. He married, April 5, 1840, Angeline, daugh- 
ter of Alvin and Sally (Terry) Chaddock, of Middlebury, who was born 
November 14, 1817. Their children are D. Scott, born February 20, 
1842, and Sarah J., born March 19, 1850. David Scott Spring married 
three times. His present wife is Rhoda A., daughter of Azel and Nancy 
(Melvin) Chaddock, of Bennington, N. Y., and his children by her are 
Andrew P. and Ruth E. His first wife bore him four children, Stella L., 
Charles S., Cora A., and Frances H. His second wife was Lucy J. 
Richardson, who bore him two children, Newton L. and Ernest H. He 
served in the late war in Co. M, N. Y. H. A., enlisting at the age of 18 
years, and was honorably discharged, at Baltimore, in 1865. He was in 
the battles of Cold Harbor, Petersburg, Winchester (where his blanket 



l64 GENESEE COUNTY. 



was pierced 1 1 times by the explosion of a shell), Fisher's Gap, and Cedar 
Creek. Mr. Spring lives in Alexander, and is engaged in farming. 

Adam Roth was born on the Rhine, Germany, where he died at the 
age of 75 years. By marriage with his wife Catherine he had children 
as follows: Dabolt, Andrew, Philip, Elizabeth, Catherine, Amelia, Sophia, 
Susanna, Annie, and Adam. The latter was born January 3, 1826, in 
Germany, and came to New York, August 15, 1849, and to Alexander 
in 1854, locating on a farm. He married Mena, daughter of Gottifred 
Bame, of Attica, and their children are Albert, Fred, Hammond, Louis, 
Charles, and Louise. Mr. Roth lives on a farm on road 66, where he 
purchased 21 years ago. 

Ebenezer Shepard and his son Ebenezer, Jr., were natives of Massa- 
chusetts. The latter died in New London, N. H., in 1849, aged 82 
years. He married Sarah Burpee, of New London, daughter of Thomas 
Burpee, and his children were Mary, Daniel, Abigail, Amial, Samuel, Jer- 
emiah, George, Sylvester, Thomas, Benjamin, and James G. The last' 
mentioned was born in New London, N. H., January 4, 18 16, came to 
Alexander in 1 851, and settled on a farm on road 33, known as the Nel- 
son farm, which he now owns. He married Mary A., daughter of Will- 
iam and Mary A. (Dudley) Cogswell, of Pittsford, N. Y., and they have 
one daughter, Mary C, who married Burley, son of Augustus Smith, of 
Alexander. His children are Florence S., Elizabeth B., Burley, and 
James A. James G. Shepard is now a retired farmer and publisher, has 
served as presidential elector in 1858, and is a member of the Grange. 

Theodore Schneider was. a native of Prussia, where he lived, and died 
in 1852, at the age of 39 years. He married Mary Dickman, and his 
children were Gerhard, Henry, and Fred. Fred Schneider, a native of 
Germany, came to Alexander in 1873. He married Mary, daughter of 
Constance Bohle, of Rochester, and they have four children, Annie, Au- 
gusta, Minnie, and Fred C. Mr. Schneider started the the noted green- 
houses located near Attica, in 1881, and has been constantly making 
additions to them, owing to an increase of business. They are the most 
extensive in Western New York, outside the cities. I 

Wilber J. Tallman was born in Wales, Erie County. He served in the 
late war. He married Cornelia, daughter of William Nichols, of Erie 
County, and has one son, Adelbert C, who was born in Erie County, 
and in 1868 came to Alexander. He married Emma E., daughter of' 
Samuel L. and Adaline M. Garrett, and they have one son, Frank G. 
A. C. Tallman is now a resident of Alexander, and is proprietor of a 



TOWN OF ALEXANDER. 165 



saloon and boarding-house on the D., L. & W. Railroad. CorneHa Tall- 
man died in 1857, aged 22 years. 

Cherrick, son of Francis Van De Bogart, a native of Schenectady, 
N. Y., came here in 18 16, and was the first settler on the present Van De 
Bogart farm, bought of the Holland Land Co. He died in 1835, at the 
age of 83 years. He married Sally Adams, of Schenectady, and his chil- 
dren are Nicholas, P>ancis, Nancy, Polly, William, James, Margaretta, 
John, Cherrick, Abram, and Joseph. The latter, born in Charleston, Mont- 
gomery County, came to Alexander in 1 806, where he remained until 
his death in 1865, aged 78 years. He served in the War of 181 2. He 
married Lois, daughter of Alexander Knapp (a native of Connecticut), of 
Alexander, and his children are Cherrick A., James A., Isaac K., Fran- 
cis C, Philetus S., Henry L, and Joseph E. Joseph E. Van De Bogart was 
born here June 10, 1824. and married, in 1844, Ann, daughter of Will- 
iam and Betsey A. Van De Bogart, of the Black River country, N. Y. 
Their children are George F., Henry D., Stephen R., John A., and 
Miles H. The latter married Edith M., daughter of Nial and Josephine 
(Moulton) Cooley, of Alexander, and they have one daughter, Alta F.. 
He is now a resident on the homestead farm of his great-great-grand- 
father, on road 19, with his father, Joseph E. Sarah, a sister of Mrs. 
Van De Bogart, is and has been a member of the family for 40 years. 
Joseph E. Van De Bogart has served his town as assessor for 18 years 
and justice for four years. 

Spencer Waldo was a native of New Jersey, but moved to Rutland 
County, Vt. His children were Loren, Allen, Spencer, and three daugh- 
ters. Allen Waldo came to Batavia (now Alexander) in 18 10, and died 
in Java, N. Y., in 1858, aged 82 years. He married Phoebe, daughter of 
Thomas Rice, and their children were Catherine, Phoebe A., and Allen 
A. Allen A. Waldo came here at the age of three years, with his father, 
in covered wagons, from Vermont. He married Phoebe A., daughter of 
Nicholas and Rebecca (Williams) Van De Bogert, and their children are 
Loren C, Mariette, Edward A., Violetta (a widow with one daughter), 
Emily P., Ellen E., Nathan P., and Clinton. 

David Williams, a native of York County, Pa., came to Rochester, and 
died in 1863, at the age of 65 years. He married Jane Eel, and their chil- 
dren were Mary, James, Joseph, Jane, Susan, Hattie, and David. David 
was born in Pennsylvania, came to Bethany in 1869, located on a farm, 
and in 1886 removed to Alexander village. He married Lucinda Hurl- 
burt, of Naples, N. Y. David, Hattie, and Charles were their children. 



l66 GENESEE COUNTY. 



For his second wife he married Caroline Scribner, of Victor, N. Y. She 
is a daughter of Abram and Henrietta Scribner. Mr. Scribner is a retired 
farmer, hving in Alexander village. 

John D. Egleston, son of Joseph, was a native of Massachusetts. He 
moved to Ohio, and died at the age of 65 years. He married Betsey 
Hoxie, of Marcellus, N. Y., daughter of Rowland and Renhama Hoxie. 
Their children were Eliza, Louisa, Eveline, Renhama, Jeanette, Jane, Mary, 
Lavender, Maria B., and Alexander. The latter was born in Marcellus 
in 18 12, and died at the age of 39. He married Ann E., daughter of 
Ebenezer and Eliza (Snow) Snell, and their children are Jennie E. (Mrs. 
Lucius Roth) ; Frank Lewis, of Batavia ; and Charles R., of Alexander. 
Charles R. Egleston lives with his mother, who is 79 years of age. He 
lias been a school teacher eight years, a justice of peace, constable, and 
president of the village. William Snell and Silas Snow served in the 
Revolutionary war. 

Frank C. Zwetsch, a native of Prussia, came to Alexander in 1852, and 
died in 1865, aged 68. He married Dora Peck, and had nine children, 
among whom was Peter, who came here in 1854. He married Christine 
Woelfley, of Germany, and their children were Emily and John, who re- 
side here. Philip Zwetsch, a native of Prussia, went to Attica in 1852, 
but now resides in Alexander. He married Margaret Weimar, of Alex- 
ander, daughter of George and Margaret, and his children are George, 
Charles, Philip, Lizzie, James, Maggie, and Harry. Mr. Zwetsch has been 
a merchant 32 years, a justice of the peace 13 years, was deputy sheriff 
three years, and notary seven years. John J. Zwetsch served in the late 
war, and died at the age of 60. Christian also served in the late war. 

Daniel Kelsey, son of William, came to this town in 1849, ^^^ died in 
1 86 1, aged 53 years. He married for his first wife Penninah Van Wart, 
of Le Roy, and they had eight children. For his second wife he married 
Sarah Harris, of Le Roy, and had one son, De Forest. Theodore, son of 
Daniel, is a native of Le Roy, came in 1840, and died in 1889, aged 49 
years. He married Lucy Crawford, of Bethany, November 5, 1861. She 
was a daughter of Daniel and Mary (Fuller) Crawford, Their children are 
Charles, Mary, and Arthur, with whom their mother resides. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



167 



BATAVIA. 




ATAVIA. — We here append a list (incomplete as it must be) of 
early settlers and pioneers of the town of Batavia to 1820, repre- 
sented by the present limits of the town. We have taken great 
pains to make the list as full as possible, but difficulties are met with in 
every direction. Many of the names are taken from the books of the 
Holland Land Co., which undoubtedly include names of some who took 
contracts, but never became actual settlers and purchasers. Where no 
date is given the inference is that they were here before 1820: 

Andrew Adams, 1819; Elisha Adams, 1801 ; Joseph Alvord, 1802; John Alger, 1805; 
David Anderson, 1804; Libbeus Allen, 1817; Dr. J. Arnold, 1802; Thomas Ashley, 
1801; James Brisbane, 1798 ; William Blackman, 1801 ; Hiram Blackman, 1801 ; David 
Bovven, 1803; William H. Bush, 1806; Benjamin Blodgett, 1808; Ephraim Brown, 
1809; Isaiah Babcock, 1811; Guilliam Bartholf, 1815; Jeremiah Bennett; J. I. Bar- 
tholf,i8i9; IraBoutwell, 1818; John Branan, 1800 ; T. Beckwith, 1815 ; James A. Bill- 
ings, 1818 ; Thomas Bliss, 1819; James Cawte ; Samuel Benedict; Daniel B. Brown ; 
Richard Buell ; M. Brooks, 1803 ; Clement Carpenter, 1818 ; William Curtis, 1803 ; T.B. 
Campbell, 1814; Russell Crane, 1802; E. M.Cook, 1815; Benjamin Cary, 1804; Ebe- 
nezerCary, 1802; Charles Cooley, 1802; Silas Chapin, 1802; Daniel Curtis, 1802; James 
Clement, 1802; Jeremiah Cutler, 1802; Elisha Cox, 1803; Nathaniel Coleman, 1803; 
Eleazer Cantling, 1811 ; L. L. Clark, 1805 ; Simeon Cummings, 1808 ; John Cotes, 1817 ; 
Trumbull Cary, 1805; James Cochrane, 1802; General Worthy L. Churchill; Daniel 
H. Chandler; Gideon Dunham, 1801 ; Garret Davis, 1801 ; Peleg Douglass^ 1803 ; Levi 
Davis, 1804; Silas Dibble, Jr., 1805; Hugh Duffy, 1805 ; John Dorman, 1808; L. Dis- 
brow, 1810; Andrew Debow, 1813 ; Andrew Dibble, 1816 ; Richard Dibble, 1816 ; John 
DeWolf, 1805; Joseph Ellicott, 1798; Andrew A. EUicott, 1812 ; Gideon Ellicott, 1812 ; 
John B. Ellicott, 181 2 ; Benjamin Ellicott, 1798 ; Dr. C. Chapin, 1801 ; David E. Evans, 
1803; William Ewing, 1805; Seymour Ensign; Phineas Ford, 1809; John Forsyth, 
1802 ; Libbeus Fish, 1806 ; Eden Foster, 1805 ; Ezekiel Fox, 1805 ; Othniel Field, 1807 ; 
Orin Follett, 1816 ; Roswell Graham, 1802; E. Gettings, 1802; Samuel F. Geer, 1801 ; 
David Goss, 1804 ; R. Godfrey, 1805 ; Thomas Godfrey, 1805 ; Linus Gunn, 1806 ; Alan- 
son Gunn, 1806; Horace Gibbs, 1813; Thomas Green, 1817; Libbeus Graves ; Rufus 
Hart, 1802 ; James Holden, 1802 ; Paul Hinkley, 1802 ; Paul Hill, 1802 ; Jesse Hurlburt, 
1802; Hugh Henry, 1803; James Henry, 1803; John Herring, 1805; Hinman Holden. 
1805; Samuel C. Holden, 1806; General Amos Hall, 1809; David Hall, 1S08 ; R. O. 
Holden, 1814; Winter Hewitt, 1812 ; James G. Hoyt,i8(2 ; John Hickox ; Silas Hollister, 
1814; Joseph Hawks, 1802; H. Jerome, 1804; Samuel Jacks, 1811; Seymour Kell- 
ogg, 1807; Zenas Keyes, 1804; Chauncey Keyes ; William Keyes ; Solomon Kingsley, 
1806 ; John Lamberton, 1803 ; John S. Leonard, 1803 ; Henry Lake, 1803 ; William Lu- 
cas, 1803; JohnB. Leonard, 1813; John Lamberton, 1802; Amos Lamberton, 1803; Reu- 
ben Lamberton, 1805; Thomas Layton, 1804; David Locke, 1813; John Lown, 1813; 



l68 GENESEE COUNTY. 



George W. Lay, 1817 ; P. Lewis, 1801 ; A. Lincoln, 1804; Leonard, 1812 ; Da- 
vid McCracl<en, 1801 ; Asa McCracken, 1803; Daniel McCracken, 1802; Rufus Mc- 
Cracken, 1802 ; James McKain, 1802; Benjamin F. Morgan, 1802 ; David Mather, 1802 ; 
Elisha Mann, 1802; E. Messenger, 1804; Azor Marsh, 1804; David C. Miller, 1808; 
Thomas McCulley, 1816 ; Ebenezer Mix, 1809 ; Lemon Miller, 1816; Wheaton Mason, 
1820; William McCormick, 1813; N. Miner, 1804; R. Noble, 1801 ; Zerah Phelps, 
1802; Peter Powers, 1802; William Pierce, 1803; Blanchard Powers, 1806; Patrick 
Powers, 1809; James Post, 1803 ; Tracy Pardee, 1816; Benjamin Porter, 1801 ; William 
Rumsey, 1801 ; Nathan Rumsey, 1807; Stephen Russell, 1801 ; Benjamin Russell, 
1802; H. Rhodes, 1802; Abel Rowe, 1801 ; Amos Ranger, 1802; Samuel Ranger, 
1810; J. Z. Ross, 1811; Calvin Rich, 1813; Alpheus Reynolds, 1814; Daniel Upton, 
1818; Aaron Van Cleve, 1809; Samuel Thomas, 1815 ; Reuben Town, 1803; Rowler^ 
Town, 1802; L Norman Town, 1808; E. Tillottson, 1802; Benjamin Tainter, 1803; 
Joel Tyrrill, 1805 ; P. L. Tracy, 1813 ; Moses Taggart, 1817 ; Ephraim Towner; Henry 
Wilder, 1802; Aaron White, 1801 ; J. Washburn, 1802 ; William Wood (pioneer black- 
smith), 1802 ; Jonathan Wood, 1805 ; Reuben W. Wilder, 1805 ; Oswald Williams, 1806 ; 
Elias Williams, 1807; Abel Wheeler, 1807; John B. Watkins, 1812; Oliver Wilcox, 
1813 ; David D. Waite, 1813 ; Joseph Wheaton, 1814; Richard Williams, 1815; M. 
Wurts, 1815 ; James Walton, 1817 ; James W. Stevens, 1800; Elijah Spencer, 1802; 
Isaac Spencer, 1 802 ; Isaac Sutherland, 1 803 ; Abraham Starks, 1 803 ; Joshua Sutherland, 
1803; David Smith, 1804; Isaac Smith, 1804; Henry Starks, 1806; J. P. Smith, 1810; 
Richard Smith, 1817 ; Alva Smith, 181 5 ; William SuUings, 18 17 ; William Seaver, 1817; 
Erastus Smith; S. Stoughton, 1809; Moses and Aaron Wilcox, 1818 ; William H. 
Wells; William Watkins, 1817; Seth Wakeman, 1820; Benajah Worden ; N.Walker, 
1804. 

It was under date of February 24, 1802, that Joseph EUicott applied' 
for the new county of Genesee. It was taken from Ontario, and erected 
by act of March 30, 1802. Then Mr. Ellicott removed his land office 
from Ransom's to the new building he had erected in " the forks of the 
trail," leading from the Genesee to Lewiston and Buffalo. The first land 
office was really located near where D. E. E. Mix lives. It was only a 
temporary affair. The early settlers stopped in that section of the place 
and unpacked their traps. The town of Batavia at this date included 
the entire Holland Purchase. From this town (or territory) other towns, 
then counties, were formed, so rapid was the influx of settlers until 1812. 
In that year Alexander, Bergen, Bethany, and Pembroke were taken off^ 
and Elba and Stafford in 1820, leaving the present town beautifully 
located in the center of the county. Its surface is level, or gently 
undulating ; a limestone ridge, forming a terrace from 20 to 50 feet high, 
extends east and west through the north part of the town. Tonawanda 
Creek flows slowly northward to Batavia village, and bending westward 
passes through the town near the center to the west border. The other 
principal stream is Bowen's Creek, which flows northwesterly across the 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 169 



southwest corner of the town into the Tonawanda. The soil is a deep 
sandy and gravely loam, very fertile, and has a clay subsoil. The town 
is rectangular in shape, is nine miles east and west, and six miles north 
and south, and contains 34,437 acres of land. 

The first settlers in the township were Isaac Sutherland, who erected a 
log house on his farm two miles west of the village, and Col. William Rum- 
sey and Gen. Worthy L. Churchill, who settled in the east part. Others 
were John Lamberton, Samuel F. Geer, and Benjamin Morgan. The 
first town meeting was held at Vandeventer's tavern (now Newstead, 
Erie County), March i, 1803. The following ofificers were elected: 
Supervisor, Peter Vandeventer ; town clerk, David Cully ; assessors, 
Enos Kellogg, Asa Ransom, Alexander Rhea ; commissioners of high- 
ways, Alexander Rhea, Isaac Sutherland, Sufifrenus Maybee ; overseers 
of the poor, David Cully, Benjamin Porter; collector, Abel Rowe; 
constables, John Mudge, Levi Felton, Rufus Hart, Abel Rowe, Seymour 
Kellogg, Hugh Howell ; overseers of highways, Martin Middaugh, Timo- 
thy Hopkins, Orlando Hopkins, Benjamin Morgan, Rufus Hart, Lovell 
Churchill, Jabez Warren, William Blackman, Samuel Clark, Gideon Dun- 
ham, Jonathan Willard, Thomas Layton, Hugh Howell, Benjamin Por- 
ter, and William Walsworth. 

The settlement for each year up to 1809 was as follows : in 1801 there 
40; 1802,56; 1803,230; 1804,300; 1805,415; 1806,524; 1807, 
607; 1808, 612; and 1809, 1,160. In 1825 there was a population ot 
3,352 in the town and village. In 1840 there was 4,000; in 1875 over 
7,000; and it is presumed there is now a population of 12,000 in the 
town and village, with a sure and steady increase. 

James L. Barton, son of Sheriff Barton, in 1807, in commenting on the 
early settlement of the town, writes : 

" Between Stafford and Batavia were a number of farms taken up by settlers. My 
father was sheriff that year (1807), and executed McLean. Governor Tompkins was 
circuit judge. The great number attending the trial made it difficult to get lodgings, 
and the judge and sheriff slept in the same bed. Near the arsenal in Batavia the road 
divides, one branch to Buffalo, the other to Lewiston via Lockport. The latter was 
called Queenston road. On it, for four or five miles, were only four log houses. The 
first house from Dunham's tavern, after crossing the openings and the Indian village, was 
Walworth's (tavern), 13 miles." 

Gideon Dunham, Sr., a Revolutionary soldier, came in 1804, and kept 
a tavern until his death in 1841. He came from Massachusetts, and was 
mixed up in Shay's rebellion. He had a noted peach orchard, and it 
was a celebrated resort for pleasure parties who went to " Gid's to eat 



I/O GENESEE COUNTY. 



peaches and hear him swear." His son, Shubael Dunham, succeeded 
him in tavern-keeping. He was also a member of the State legislature 
in 1823, and again in 1826, and also a presidential elector. He was a 
very prominent man in his day, and died in 1848. 

We are enabled to give the location of a few of the pioneer settlers. 
Rufus McCracken, in January, 1802, bought lot 6, section 10, 168 acres, 
for $263.37. David McCracken, at the same time, bought lot 8, section 
10, 152 acres, for $418. Abel Rowe, in April, 1803, bought lot 8. Sam- 
uel F. Geer, in October, 1802, bought lots 5 and 6, sections 7 and 8. 
Isaac Sutherland, in November, 1803, bought lots i and 2, sections 7 and 
8. Benjamin Morgan, in November, 1802, bought lot 2, section 6. All 
the above were in the west part of the town. In the east part Col. 
William Rumsey bought, in July, 1803, lot 8, section 4. 

Turner gives some interesting narratives obtained from personal inter- 
views with the early pioneers, which are worth quoting. That of Mrs. 
Anna Foster, wife of Eden Foster, is as follows : 

" In the year of 1805 we settled upon a farm near Batavia. There were then inhabi- 
tants enough to make an agreeable neighborhood. We used to have ox-sleds ; occasion- 
ally it would be out to Gideon Dunham's, where \vc used to avail ourselves of the serv- 
ices of the left-handed fiddler, Russell Noble. 

" Some of our earliest parlies were got up by first designating the log house of some 
settler, and each one contributing to the entertainment ; one would carry some flour, 
another some sugar, another eggs, another butter, and so on ; the aggregate making up 
a rustic feast. These parties would alternate from house to house. Frolics in the even- 
ing ; would uniformly attend husking bees, raisings, quiltings, and pumpkin pearings. 
All were social, friendly, obliging ; there was little aristocracy in those primitive days. 
John Forsyth settled near Dunham's grove in 1802, remaining there until 1807. Joseph 
Hawks came to Batavia in 1802, and moved to Erie County in 1805. It took him three 
days with a voke of o.xen and a wagon to go about 18 miles." 

In the western part of the town William H. Bush, whose wife was a 
sister of James Post, who settled in 1803, was the pioneer miller, carder, 
dresser, distiller, papermaker and farmer, and a narrative of his taken 
from Turner is well worth reading : 

" I moved my family from Bloomfield in May, 1806. The settlers on the Buffalo road 
between my location and Batavia village were Isaac Sutherland, Levi Davis, Timothy 
Washburn, Rufus McCracken, Daniel McCracken, Thomas Godfrey, Linus Gunn, 
Henry Starks, Alanson Gunn, David Bowen, John Lamberton, living on the road west. 
There was then less than 100 acres cleared on the Buffalo road in the distance of six 
miles west of Batavia. I built a log house, covered it with elm bark, — could not spare 
time to build a chimney, — laid a better floor in my house, plastered the cracks, and 
hired an acre of land cleared— just enough to prevent the trees falling upon my house. 
When the mill was built I had it paid for, but to accomplish it I had sold some pork 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



171 



and grain I had produced by working land upon shares in Bloomfield — in fact, every- 
thing but my scanty household furniture. My saw-mill proved a good investment ; 
boards were much in demand at I7.50 per thousand ; the new settlers stocked the mill 
with logs to be sawed on shares. In 1808 I built a machine shop, a carding and cloth- 
dressing establishment. These were the fiist upon the Holland Purchase. On the 
loth of June, that year, I carded a sack of wool, first ever carded by a machine on the 
Purchase. It belonged to George Lathrop, of Bethany. I also dressed a full piece of 
cloth for Theophilus Crocker. There are on my books the names of customers from as 
far south as Warsaw and Sheldon ; from the east as far as Stafford ; from the west to 
the Niagara River and Lake Erie, including Chautauqua County; from pretty much all 
of the settled portion of the Purchase. I carded in the season of 1818 3,029 lbs. of 
wool ; the largest quantity for any one man was 70 lbs., the smallest 4 lbs. The lots 
averaged 18 lbs. Allowing three lbs. to a sheep, the average number of sheep then kept 
by the new settlers would be six ; though it is presumed that the number was larger, 
as in those days much wool was carded by hand. 

" The machinists of the present day may be glad to learn how I procured my ma- 
chinery. I bought my hand-shears of the Shakers at New Lebanon ; my press-plate at 
a furnace in Onondaga ; my screw and box at Canaan,' Conn.; my dye-kettle, press, pa- 
pers, etc., at Albany. My transportation bill for these things was over $200. I built a 
grist-mill in 1809; in 1817 a paper-mill and distillery. I manufactured the first ream 
of paper west of the Genesee River. During all the period of my milling operations I 
was clearing up the farm where I now reside. Coming into the woods, as I have re- 
lated, dependent almost wholly upon the labor of my hands, in the first 20 years suc- 
cess had so far attended my efforts that I had accumulated some $15,000 or .$16,000." 

The above mills were destroyed by fire in 1832. The present mill was 
built soon after by Clifford & Bailey. It is now owned by John Gar- 
wood, and has a capacity of 50 barrels of flour per day. The saw-mill 
built by Mr. Bush in 1806 is now owned by Martin Herbolt. 

At Bushville several years ago there was a very extensive canning fac- 
tory, which made a lively business in its day. But its success was not 
of long duration. Some of the plant was moved to Batavia. 

In 1850 Charles Cornwall commenced making brick on road 50, and 
still continues the manufacture to the extent of about 100,000 yearly. 

In 1875 some 20 members of Friends, at Bushville,built a church. The 
first person in charge of the church and society was Mary G. Weaver, 
now the president of the W. C. T. U. of the State of New York. W. L. 
Dean now attends to the spiritual wants of the society. There are 40 
members cotinected with it. The church is built of wood, at a cost of 
about $500, and will comfortably seat lOO persons. They also have a 
Sabbath school of 25 scholars and three teachers. 

A Dr. Northrup began practice at Bushville about 1840. He died in 
1861. 

At Dawes Corners, in the, north part of the town, on the Elba town line, 



172 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Dr. J. K. Billings settled early. He was a noted physician in his day and 
practiced over a large scope of country. On the Buffalo road, six miles 
from Batavia, was located a tavern, at about 1826, kept by Solomon Fris- 
bie. In the southeast corner of the town one Bartholf kept a tavern stand 
as late as 1854. 

One authority tells us that " Batavia " in the Seneca dialect is 
Ge-ne-un- da-sais- ka, the place of mosquitoes, or " Mosquito Town." 
Another Indian derivation is Deo-on-go-wa (the great hearing place). 

From best information available we learn that early in 1801 (in Janu- 
ary or February) Mr. Ellicott fixed his mind on this location, determin- 
ing to locate the land office and build up a town. February 17, 1801, 
he writes to Richard M. Stoddard, at Canandaigua, as follows: 

" I expect to make my establishment at or near the Bend of Toanewauta, and there 
(or then) let the Genesee Road fork, one to be directed to Buffalo, the other to Queens- 
ton, and place my office in the fork looking Eastward. Should you be inclined to im- 
prove a 40-acre lot there you can have it." 

The fork is where the arsenal stood, opposite the present residence of 
F. B. Redfield. A post route had previously been established, leading 
from Canandaigua, by Avon, to the Bend (Batavia), and thence through 
the " Big Plains," on the Tonnewauta Indian Reservation, to Lewiston. 
Mr. Ellicott, in writing to Paul Busti, May 30, 1801, says : 

" Finding it extremely inconvenient living from the Post Road, I am about making' 
an establishment thereon. I could have wished, howev^er, for a place more central in 
my district, for the Queenston and Buffalo Road to have forked, but the Tonnewauta 
Reservation prevented. This establishment will be situate in the 12th Township and 
2d Range. The Tonnewauta Creek, a stream of Water 80 feet in breadth, will pass 
through the Town, at the Western extremity of which the two most public Roads in this 
Country will fork : one leading to Queenston, in Upper Canada, and the other to New 
Amsterdam (now Buffalo) at the East end of Lake Erie, Presque Isle, and New Con- 
necticut. The Building Lots will contain 40 acres ofland, 20 perches in front, and 320 
in depth, bemg a sufficiency ofland, well cultivated, to raise bread, and support a family, 

'' This place being the first establishment, its local situation cannot otherwise be than 
always a well situated Village, and probably the next County Town, and a Post Town, 
as soon as I can have a building erected for an office. I beg leave to compliment this 
place with the name Bustiville, or Bustia. Several lots are already spoken for, and one 
house erected." 

July 14, 1801, Mr. Ellicott further writes : 
" It is with pleasure that I enclose a plan of Bustia, or Bustiville." 
Calling the place by that name was opposed by Mr. Busti, as convey- 
ing the idea of something ferocious, and Mr. Ellicott yielded to Mr. 
Busti's wishes. July 1 8th Mr. Ellicott, writing to John Thompson, 
directing him to go to Canandaigua, says : 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 173 



" You can return by Big Tree, arid pay Minor for tiie Pork, and from thence you can 
explore the road Big Tree to the new town at the Bend. That place is not to be called 
Bustiville, as I had formally an intention, that gentleman not possessing a wish to have 
his name perpetuated in that way." 

After Mr. Ellicott had abandoned the above name he designed calling 
it Tonnewauta, as appears by his letter of July 31, 1801 : 

'' In my last letter I neglected mentioning that I had given over the idea of covering 
the ' House ' at Tonnewauta Town with bark. Indeed, I have ever considered those kind 
■of coverings as money thrown away, when made use of for Dwelling Houses; as all work, 
•done merely temporary, is labor, time, and money lost ; therefore my object is to have 
■everything e.xecuted for permancey. Mr. Eggleston has engaged to be at Ton- 
newauta in two weeks, and make shingles and cover the House in a good and sub- 
stantial manner. I could have it done sooner, but am of the opinion this is the shortest 
period. If the roads are not too bad to bring some laths from the saw-mill it would be 
better to shingle on than split stuff However, if the laths cannot be procured by the 
period the shingles are made, I suppose rived laths will do. 

" P. S. — The pitch of the roof to be middling flat. I enclose a plan of Tonnewauta, 
which you will find is at last modified agreeably to my ideas when last there ; that is, 
to have the Public Square in the forks of the Big Tree and Connewaugus roads." 

The precise point of these forks is near where Bellinger avenue inter- 
sects Main street, or where the Hon. D. E. Evans built his house (since 
occupied as a school by Mrs. Bryan), a view being obtained of all the 
roads in every direction. It will thus be seen that this place was once 
called " Tonnewauta," for a short time at least, and the " House " above 
noted was important as being the focus of operations of the Holland Land 
Company. 

August 6, 1801, Mr. Busti wrote to Mr. Ellicott as follows: 

''By the sketch of the town whose name deriving from mine, I wish you to suppress, 
and to change to that of its founder, or, if you prefer it, into that of ' Batavia.' " ^ 

Mr, Busti also says : 

" I approve of the cheapness of your prices for the lots, but as it may induce specula- 
tion I leave it to you to consider whether it would not be advisable to oblige the pur- 
chaser to build a convenient House, in a fixed period, on each Lot. The site of your of- 
fice is chosen with judgment, and I liope will stop all travelers to the West, to make 
bargains with you. I suppose that in the neighborhood of the office you will take 500 
acres, the half of the 1,000 allowed to you according to contract." 

September 8, 1801, Mr. Ellicott, writing from Ransom's, says : 
" In respect to the Lots in the Town of Batavia I had anticipated your idea: I dispose 
of none but to absolute settlers, and only one lot to one man. My intention in laying 
out the town was for the purpose of forming a compact settlement, and should I dis- 
pose of four or five Lots to one man my object would be defeated : and if the place 
should ever become of much importance the purchaser of a Town Lot will be enabled to 

1 In honor of the republic to -which the Dutch proprietors belonged. 



174 GENESEE COUNTY. 



speculate upon part of his Iront, which I conceived would be a sufficient inducement to 
encourage the settlement of the place. In respect to the 500 acres, the half of the i.ooo 
allowed by contract, I have not as yet fixed its boundaries." 

The next allusion to the name of Batavia is in a letter from Mr. EUi- 
cott to Mr. Busti, dated West Genesee, October 3, 1 801, and is as follows : 

"In my last of Sept. 12th (from Canandaigua) I promised to write you immediately 
on my return to my office (Ransom's), at which place I expected to arrive in a few days, 
but on my arrival at Batavia I found it necessary to remain there to stimulate the 
hands employed in the erection of a Mill-Dam, at that place; my Brother, who ha.s 
that business in charge, being at times, in consequence of indisposition with a slight 
fever, unable to attend to it. In consequence thereof I was detained so long that I 
did not reach my quarters here until the 30th ultimo." 

The first letter written from this place which would seem to settle its 
name is froin Ellicott to Busti dated "Batavia, 7th Nov., 1801," and 
reads: 

" I have delayed writing until this period, with a hope that I should have been ena- 
bled to inform you that the Saw Mill we are erecting at this place, to accommodate the 
settlement with boards, was in motion, but in this I am disappointed. This season has 
been extremely unfavorable for business, in this part of the country, as well on account 
of the continual rains, as that of almost the whole of the people in the infant settlement 
having been afflicted with the Billious and other Fevers, which circumstance has greatly 
retarded all our operations, as well as the settlement, and add to the catalogue of our 
misfortunes. 

"The snow commenced falling the night before last, and is now 10 inches deep. I 
am happy, however, to be enabled to inform you that, amidst all the difficulties we have 
had to contend with, the Saw-Mill is in such a state of forwardness, that, without some- 
thing very extraordinary occurs, we shall be able, shortly, to supply the settlement with 
boards, an article much wanted. 

" In regard to the name of this place, it heretofore was called the Bend, from the cir- 
cumstance of the Bend of the Creek, and is generally known by that name, but I have 
baptized it by the name oi Batavia." 

The saw mill above alluded to was an object of great solicitude. Its 

construction was of slow progress, but it was completed in December, as 

per letter of Ellicott's, dated "Ransom's, Dec. 4, 1801 ": 

" The Saw-Mill I have been erecting at Batavia, which has cost a deal of labor, not 
being a natural seat, but a place where a convenience of this kind is absolutely neces- 
sary, will, the millwright informs me, be in motion by the loth inst., at which period we 
expect to begin to make ourselves and the settlers comfortable floors, etc." 

This saw-mill, operated until about 1822, was situated directly above 
the grist-mill that stood upon the ground where the present water works 
building now stands. The pine timber cut up at the mill was brought 
from the "Pinery" (now Elba, or Pine Hill), six miles distant, and, the 
demand for lumber being great, Mr. Ellicott employed Isaac Sutherland 



TOWN OF BaTAVIA 1 75 

to cut a road to the "Pinery," and the job was commenced in January, 
1802. 

The building designed for the land office appears to have been com- 
pleted in December, 1801. It was a two-story log building of good size, 
and situated in front of where D. E. Evans's house stood; and in rear of 
it was erected a kitchen for the accommodation of Mr. Ellicott and his 
household. On its completion John Thompson and others in the employ 
of the company occupied it, but Mr. Ellicott did not remove his office 
from Ransom's until the spring of 1802. 

A road through the village being of vital importance, Mr. Ellicott en- 
gaged John Lamberton (with the assistance of one Mayo) to cut a road 
100 feet wide and two miles long, from the west bounds of the village, 
where Mr. Redfield now lives, east, which road is now Main street. The 
contract price was $12 per acre, the timber to be cut up for logging, sub- 
sequently to be removed by the owners of the lots living upon the road. 

A grist-mill was talked of as early as February, 1802, but was not com- 
pleted until early in 1804, which event was hailed with delight, for it was 
sadly needed among even the few residents at that time, who had been 
obliged to go long distances for flour and meal. 

As early as 1801 this place was decided upon for a village and the 
permanent location of the land office, and several people were attracted 
here to look around for a residence, among them being Abel Rowe, who- 
arrived in March, 1801. He located on the lot opposite the present land 
office, raising the first building ever erected in the place. The first 
frame building was erected on what is now the corner of Main and 
Church streets, just west of where the old Presbyterian meeting-house 
stood, and was built by Isaac Sutherland in 1802 as a residence for him- 
self and family. About the same time he and Mr. Geer put up another 
frame building, designed for their use as a joiner's shop, east of the 
dwelling. James Brisbane purchased for $700, in the summer of 1803, 
the first building from Mr. Sutherland, which was occupied as a dwelling 
by James W. Stevens. It afterwards became Mr. Brisbane's residence. 

During the summer of 1802 William Munger erected the west half of 
what was known as Keyes House (or tavern), occupied by him, then by 
Mr. Rowe, and afterwards by Keyes, who enlarged, improved, and kept 
it as a tavern for many years. It was referred to as "Rowe's Hotel," as 
appears in a postscript of a letter of Mr. Ellicott's to John M. Minor, of 
Genesee, in which he says : 

"A line forwarded either to the Transit Store House, or Mr. Rowe's Hotel, at the- 
bend of Tonnewauta, will come to hand." 



176 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Soon after this Stephen Russell put up a log house on the spot where 
the old " Genesee House" stood, and where the Genesee Hotel, a brick 
building, stood, corner of Main and State streets, being the second build- 
ing erected in the village. In March, 1801, Isaac Sutherland erected a 
log house on the Lewiston road northeast of the village. In the summer 
of 1802 Mr. Ellicott erected what was the east wing of the D. E. Evans 
residence, to which place he moved the land office, and the same year 
tore down the old two story land office. 

Hotels and taverns. — Abel Rowe was the first tavern-keeper. He lo- 
cated nearly opposite the land office in 1801, but afterwards changed so 
Mr. Ellicott could locate his tract of 500 acres reserved by him. Rowe 
founded the "Keyes" stand, afterwards called "Frontier House." Under 
the administration of Rowe, and afterwards Keyes, the tavern was widely 
known in early times. It was the home of the early settler, whose busi- 
ness was with the land office. About its yard used to be seen the huge 
covered wagons that transported goods from Albany to Buffalo, and dur- 
ing the War of 181 2 was headquarters for officers of the army. This 
building stood on ground now owned by George Brisbane. A part of it 
was moved to Church street, and is now used as a dwelling. Keyes oc- 
cupied it as late as 1829, and during the Morgan excitement announced 
himself as an anti- Mason. He was also proprietor- of a line of stages. 
He died in 1833. At the court-liouse (now Ellicott Hall), in 181 1, was 
a place of entertainment, the south portion of the building being used 
for that purpose. Aaron Van Cleve was sheriff and landlord. John 
Heacock (or Hickox) kept it in 181 5. That portion of the building was 
so used up to 1820. One Ganson was the proprietor of an hotel in 1823. 

Many of the present residents will recollect the " Genesee House," 
built by C. M. Russell, on the corner of Main and State streets. This was 
the location of the "Old Snake Den tavern" (one-half log and frame), 
which was burnt in ^1833. C. M. Russell kept this place from 1802 until 
his death, in 1809, when Horace Gibbs (father of D. D. Gibbs) took pos- 
session. Mr. Gibbs married Russell's widow. He was a builder by oc- 
cupation, and was also a farmer and proprietor of a daily line of stages 
from Canandaigua to Buffalo, owning 75 horses. Other landlords there 
were, among whom were Burnham, a partner of Russell, Gifford & Put- 
nam, Balden, Monroe, and Gilbert, between 1825 and 1833. There was 
also John W. Stewart, brother of the late James W. Stewart, who kept 
it in 1 826, and where William Morgan boarded. The old Eagle tavern was 
built in 1822, by Gibbs and a company. Erastus Smith, from Buffalo, 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 177 



was its first landlord. Bissell Humphrey, who had worked for Gibbs, was 
one of its most noted landlords. In 1827 he bought the site for $558.75, 
and put up a new tavern. This was of brick and painted yellow, and 
was burned in 1834. Another tavern or hotel soon took its place, and 
was called the " Eagle" until 1868, when Collins & Andrews changed 
the name to St. James. Some of its proprietors up to that period were 
Erastus Smith, E. Hall, Tisdale, Wilson (I857), Bradt, Van De Bogart 
(1863), McLean (1864), and Farnsworth (1866). O. C. Parker was there 
in 1886, when it was burned. A new and handsome brick structure, the 
Richmond, has been erected on its site, and is under the management ot 
W. J. Mann, of Buffalo. 

In 18 1 5 Hinman Holden purchased of James Cochrane a small tavern, 
which he removed, and upon its site built an old-fashioned three-story 
framed "inn." This was about where 112 to 118 Main street is. Mr. 
Holden kept the tavern until 1822, when he leased it. Among its pro- 
prietors were James McKain (about 1825), Russell, Ezekiel Hall (1836), 

A. Smith (1840), J. Chatfield (who kept it as a temperance house m 1842), 

B. G. Tisdale, and others. David Danolds kept it in 1826, and it was 
here that Morgan and Miller were taken during the excitement. S. D. 
Green, an anti- Mason, succeeded Danolds. The American Hotel, a brick 
edifice, replaced it, which was burnt in 1850. 

In 1813a Mr. Leonard built the house now owned by Solomon Masse, 
and used it as a tavern. He died, and Cotton Denio married his widow 
and assumed the duties of landlord. Mr. Denio married for his first wife 
Debby, granddaughter of Benjamin Porter. At the east end of the vil- 
lage, where the Rochester road forks, a place of entertainment was kept 
by one Hurd, who was succeeded by a Mr. Johnson. Lamont Holden 
kept the West End Hotel at an early day. It is now under the manage- 
ment of Stephen W^. Brown. 

The Wilson House was opened in 1869 by one Mossman. O. C. Parker 
succeeded him in 1871, and D. Hooper in 1885, and it is now called the 
Tibbitts House.i The Western Hotel, built a good many years ago by 
Mr. Gast, was burned in 1889. On the present site of the Parker House 
was a tavern called the "Farmers' House," afterwards the "Allen House," 
and finally the " Western Hotel." It was kept by a Mr. Tisdale in 1847, 
by I. Backus in 1848, and by a Mr. Norton in 1859. John Washburn re- 
built it in 1868, calhng it the "Washburn House." It was run by one 



iThe Tibbitts House has recently been purchased by Eugene H. Stone, who has changed 
its name to The Arlington. — Editor. 



178 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Humphrey for a number of years, and L. S. Crocker had it as late as 
1886, when it was changed to the " Purdy House," and O. C. Parker, in 
1889, renamed it the " Parker House." The " Pioneer House " was next 
east of the " Eagle tavern," kept by Ezekiel Hall in 1825, E. Parmelee 
succeeded him in 1 826, and GifTord & Putnam in 1 83 1 , when it was burned. 
Tlie East End Hotel, 508 East Main street, was built in 1843, by An- 
thony Bechtel 

The business of tavern- keeping in early days was a remunerative one, 
and the arrival and departure of stages was atttended with no little curi- 
osity and excitement. Batavia, being on the " Great Bend," was an im- 
portant trading point ; and being on the " State road " from Canawaugus 
to Buffalo all travel necessarily tended in this direction. A grant by the 
legislature was made, in the very early settlement of the place, to Lewis 
Street for carrying mail from Canandaigua to Buffalo, and to one Beach 
for carrying mail from Batavia to Lewiston. The stage started from Can- 
andaigua on Monday mornings at 6 o'clock, and, passing through Bata- 
via and Buffalo, reached Niagara on Thursday. The fare was six cents 
per mile. In 18 17 a tri-weekly mail passed through Batavia. Theadvent 
of the railroads, in about 1837, caused a great depreciation in tavern and 
stage values, and the incentive no longer existed for keeping up the old- 
time hospitality. The stage proprietors continued to run their lines for 
about six years after the opening of the railroads. 

TJie postoffice. — In early days mail for this village was directed to Gen- 
esee court-house, and as early as 1802 it was received and dispatched but 
once in two weeks, sometimes on foot, or on horseback, Canandaigua 
being the distributing point. James Brisbane was the first postmaster, 
his commission being dated July 21, 1802. He holding the ofifice until 
1806, when Ebenezer Cary was appointed in his place. Mr. Cary held 
the ofifice until 181 5, when his brother was appointed in his place, re- 
taining the ofifice for 14 years. Trumbull Cary was clerk for Mr. Bris- 
bane, and also for Mr. Cary, and virtually discharged the duties of post- 
master from 1805 to 1829, or for 24 years. In 1823 Mr. Cary placed 
the ofifice in full charge of William Seaver, allowing him the emoluments 
of the same, which condition was also carried out by Simeon Cummings, 
who became postmaster in 1829, retaining that position until 1836, when 
Mr. Seaver was appointed in his place. The latter filled the position 
until 1842, when, on the accession of Harrison to the Presidency, Dr. 
Levant B. Cotes was given the commission by President Tyler. Fred- 
erick Follett succeeded Mr. Cotes in 1843, who was succeeded by Dr. 
Charles E. Ford in 1849. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



179 



Early merchants. — James Bisbane, the first merchant and postmaster 
on the Holland Purchase, was born in Philadelphia, October 12, 1776, 
of Irish parentage. At the the early age of 22 years he embarked from 
that city with stores for the supply of the large body of men then en- 
gaged in the survey of the Purchase, under Joseph Ellicott. Their first 
destination was Stafford, or the Transit storehouse, so called, where he 
remained a few months, or until January 2, 1800, when he, in company 
with Ellicott, returned to Philadelphia. In the spring of 1802 he opened 
the first stock of goods ever offered for sale in this village. The gooc's 
were shipped via Albany, the Mohawk, Lewiston, and Buffalo. His con.- 
mission as postmaster was dated July 21, 1802, by Gideon Granger, P. M. 
G., and called for an ofiice " in Batavia at the Genesee Court- House." This 
was the second postoffice west of the Genesee River, Lewiston being the 
first one. He hired the building erected by Sutherland and Geer, finished 
it, and opened up his stock. The building was located on the north- 
east corner of Main and Church streets. He soon afterwards purchased 
the building for $300. He had for his clerk one Tiffany, who was pro- 
ficient in the different languages spoken by the Indians, and thus brought 
trade from them. Rochester was an unknown place at that early day, 
and Mr. Brisbane's trade covered a large scope of ocuntry from the Gen- 
esee to the Niagara rivers and the lakes. Benjamin Dorman, of New 
Haven, was another clerk of his, and remained in his employ until 1821. 
when he went to Alabama. In 1806 Mr. Brisbane resigned the office of 
postmaster, sold his goods, and rented his store to Trumbull 'Cary. Eb- 
enezer Cary was appointed postmaster in his place. Mr. Brisbane went 
to New York, engaging in the book business for two years, when he re- 
turned to Batavia, and resumed business in 1808, upon the spot where he 
opened his first establishment. He continued his mercantile pursuits there 
until 1 82 1, when the site was sold for church purposes, when he aban- 
doned them for more lucrative employment. His intimate relations with 
the Holland Land Co. enabled him to take advantage of the purchase of 
lands at low prices, and thus became the owner of large tracts of real 
estate, which in years were greatly enhanced in value by the settlement 
of the country. 

During the agitationofthe building of railroads, and particularly in 1833, 
he associated himself with others and built the Tonawanda Railroad, of 
which he was the largest shareholder and a director. It was to Mr. Bris- 
bane's house that Gen. Scott (wounded in the battle of Lundy's Lane in 
1 8 12) was taken, and where he recovered before going to Geneva. 



i 



I So.,' GENESEE COUNTY. 



In 1807 Mr. Brisbane married Mary Lucy Stevens, sister of Hon. 
James W. Stevens, judge of Genesee County. He died May 29, 185 1, 
and at the time of his death had resided longeron the Holland Purchase 
than any other man. He left two sons, Albert, born 1809, and George, 
born March 15, 1812. George Brisbane is the only direct descendant 
who lives on the original tract, or lot, located by the original settler. The 
number of the original lot is 16. It was located by James Brisbane in 
1809, and has more historic events and interest centered upon it than any 
other place in Genesee County. 

In 1803 Burt & Stoddard put up a small building, using it for a store, 
it being the second in the new settlement. It was located between 
Brisbane's and Rowe's (or Keyes's) tavern. When Mr. Brisbane resumed 
business, in 1808, Trumbull Cary removed his goods and postoffice to 
the Burt & Stoddard store, until his own store and dwelling were erected 
in 1809. 

Brisbane and Cary continued the only merchants until 18 10, when 
E. Hart built a store, and Clark Heacox managed the business for him. 
The growth of the village was very rapid from 1808 until the War of 
181 2. Dr. Dwight, in 1804, passed through the place, and states that 
"it contained from 20 to 30 houses, most of them built of logs, the rest 
small, chiefly one story. The court-house has three stories, the second 
of which is the county jail. When we were there that season so many 
persons were ill of diseases common to this region that those who re- 
mained well were scarcely able to nurse the sick." 

The War of 181 2 retarded the growth of the village as well as the 
whole Purchase, so that accessions to the population, and the erection 
of buildings for business or residential purposes, was not rapid, and 
this state of things existed up to 18 19, at which time, and up to 1830, 
we are enabled to record a few of the new comers, or merchants, that 
contributed to the business life of the place. There were in the mercan- 
tile trade from 18 19 to 1830 James Brisbane, Trumbull Cary & Davis, 
Jonathan Lay, W. H. Wells, J. P. & A. Smith, W. S. Moore & Co., 
I. Norman Town, N. Loring, C. L. Swart, W. Davis, Rich & Allen, 
Finch & Moore, Foot & Ganson, Loring & Palmer, W. R. Thompson, 
Hanford & Filer, R. Henshaw, Cary & Grant, Piatt & Stebbins, Blos- 
som & Swift, H. & E. C. Kimberly, Webster & Reynolds, S. Grant & Co., 
Hewett & Billings, H. Tisdale, R. Dibble, J. & L. B. Cotes, and Cotes & 
Seaver. Other trades were represented as follows: Capt. Hull and one 
Bedford were silversmiths; S. McCain and C. C. Church were watchmak- 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. iSl 



ers; and James Cochrane and Cochrane & Fisher were bell founders 
Simeon Cummings was a saddler and harnessmaker, and also postmaster, 
trustee, and county clerk. In his business he was succeeded by W. 
Manley. Ephraim Towner kept a shoe and leather store, and was general 
of militia. O. Williams was a saddler, and located where the present 
Catholic Church now is. W. L. Graves kept a leather store, and Stone 
& Rice were tanners. Benjamin H. Stevens and N. Follett were hatters, 
and James Cawte, H. B. Pierpont, S Mead, and Samuel Taylor were 
tailors. Bush & Pomeroy were millers and sold plows. Oran Follett 
kept a book store and started the Times. H. Stevenson was agent of 
the " old line of stages" to Albany. Thomas Bliss and John De Wolf 
were cabinetmakers, Amos P. Parker was a merchant and bookseller, 
and Miss Ann Forbes was a milliner and mantuamaker. Philo San- 
ford made carding machines. A Mr. Folsom kept a meat market in 
1 8 19, and a Mr. Hawkins in 1830, for whom Robert Fowler, who came 
in 1 83 1, worked. Isaac Joslyn was a blacksmith, and Thomas McCuUy 
was a builder. Bookstores were kept by Abner Pratt, S. C. Steele, and 
J. P. & A. Smith, and as lotteries were licensed about the year 1827 
drawings were advertised to be made at these stores. 

In this connection we give a list of merchants in 1849, compiled from 
an article furnished by Col. William Seaver in The Spirit of the Times: 

F'orwarding and commission merchants: J. Foot, L. A.Smith, J. Ganson & Co. 
Dry goods ; Wells & Son, Smith & Warren. G. A. Lay, N. T. Smith, Thorn & Holden., 
Hardware : Belden, Otis& Co., R. Haney. Hotels : American, B. G. Tisdale ; Genesee, 
S. N. Bierce ; Western, I. Backus : Eagle, E. Hall ; Railroad Depot, S. Frost ; Dutch, 

A. Biechel. Livery stable : Ferren & McCormick. Cabinetmakers: C. Kirkham, C. T. 
Bu.xton, J. T. Buxton, O. Griffith. Carpenters: O. Dustin, R. Craig, D. Palmer, J. 
Coleman, S. Tuttle, J. Gardner, Lowden, Knapp, Rice, Graham, Hart, and Barner. 
Blacksmiths : F. Baxter, A. Tyrrell, M. Kellogg, G. W. Miller, S. Lyon. J. Clark, \. Joslyn,. 
Trumbull & Son. Gunsmith : L M. Joslyn. Saddles and harnesses : W. Manley, A. J. 
Ensign, J. T. Carr. Masons : T. McCulley, H. Murphey, J. Holton, D. Johnson, A. 
Wilcox. Stonecutters: Fellows & Co. Furnaces: T. Hurlburt, J. R. Smith. Bakers: 

B. C. & O. Page. Cradlemaker : H. Naramor. Cooper: Z.York. Brewer: E. H. Fish. 
Barbers : J. Leonard, D. Leonard. Butchers : R. Fowler, D. Winn. Druggists and 
booksellers : W. Seaver & Son, Fellows & Co. Grocers : C A. Russell, J. C. Wilson, 
J. Kenyon, J. McCullant, S. A. Wilson, Wilson & Austin, G. Knowles, J. & R. Eager.. 
Jewelers : J. A. Clark, E. S. Dodge. Hatters : H. & E. McCormick, P. Warner. Boot 
and shoe stores: T.Yates, A. Joslyn, H. M. Warren, ,M. Rupp, Spencer «& Merrill, 
J. P. Phillips, J. Baker. Milliners : Mrs. Denslow, Blake Griffith, Showerman, and Hal- 
bert. Tailors: G. B. Hurlburt, D. Ferguson, J. Jordan, J. M. Royce, H. Smith, J. Allen," 
Bissenger & Rebstock. Printers : W. Seaver & Son, D. D. Waite. Bookbinder : Gott- 
leib Kiesz. Painters : H. W. Ashling, Howe & Barnard, P. S. Moffett, E. Woolsey, 
O. N. Sanford, W. Mclntyre. Carriagemakers : J. Clark, G. W. Miller, A. Peck. 

12 



l82 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Physicians. — We give here the names of other than regular physi- 
cians, who have been residents of Batavia : 

Reuben Town, came 1803, died 1807 ; William L. Horton, came 1803, removed ; Abel 
Turtlelot, came 1809, removed ; George Anderson, came 1826, died in Ohio, 1834; Abra- 
ham Van Tayl and James Winne, came 1835; Sanford Emory, came 1858, died 1880; 
Richard A. Wells, came 1866, removed to Missouri ; Maxwell G. Waikinshaw, came 
1872, died 1887; Theron K. Nolton, son of Dr. Josiah. came 1854, died in Oakfield, 
1863. 

The following were of different schools of practice: 

Eleazer Bingham, came 1826, removed ; Charles A. Northrup, came 1850, died 1861 ; 
S. H. McCall, (had a water cure), came 1854, removed; L. D. Stone (botanic), came 
1847, removed; Jacob Delamater (botanic), came 1848, removed; John C. McKenzie 
(eclectic), came 185 1; Henry W. Wadsworth (eclectic), came 1854; J. G. Fross (eclectic) ; 
Conrad Backer (eclectic) ; Henry R. Foote, came 1848, removed ; Henry Sheffield, came 
1852, removed; J. M. Blakeslee, came 1852, removed ; George F. Foote, came 1852, 
removed ; Harvey Hutchins, died 1871. 

Educational. — The public as well as private education of the young 
was well attended to, and in addition to the chapter of the " History ot 
Union School District .No. 2 " we are enabled to give the names of some 
of those who opened and taught schools of a private character, with the 
years engaged in such occupation. 

Thomas Layton, who settled in Batavia in 1801, was a teacher of the 
young prior to 1 810. Mrs. Rachel Stevens, wife of Benjamin H. Stevens, 
a hatter, came in 1822 and taught a private school for 27 years, a part of 
the time on Liberty street. Her daughter, aged over 80 years, is still 
living. From that time until 1825 information is meagre regarding 
times. In that year we learn that the Rev. James Cochran and a Miss 
Gardner taught private schools. In 1826 Messrs. Nixon and Stearns 
opened what was termed the " Batavia Academy," and the same year a 
Mrs. Aikin, Mrs. Winchester, a number of maiden ladies. Miss L. Starr, 
Plumb, Colton, and Deshon were advertisers; and the query is, where 
did all the children come from, with the then small population, to furnish 
a livelihood for so many instructors ? 

There were in 1827 M. W. Fletcher and a Mr. Hovey. Horace U. 
Soper taught in 1828; Miss Blanchard (successor to Miss Colton) in' 
1829; Miss H. H. North and R. Hogue, Jr., in 1831 ; Miss Burnham in 
1832-33 ; Mrs. Ford and- H. H. Smead in 1833 ; and E. C. Porter and 
Lester Cross in 1835. A High school was taught in 1836 and 1837 by 
E. A. Hopkins and C. W. Wilson. S. E. Hollister had a school in 1840, 
and Mrs. J. F. Ernst a boarding school, at what is now 422 East Main 
street, in 1841-44. C. N. Chandler taught in 1841 ; Mrs. Rathbun in 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



183 



1842 ; D. E. Walker in 1843-44 ; and Yound and Oliphant in 1844. A 
Batavia female seminary was taught by Misses Beardsley and Smith in 
1844, and Mrs. William G. Bryan, whom nearly all the present residents 
will remember, had her noted school in 1848, where David E. Evans 
used to reside, and conducted it with skill and energy until a very few 
years ago. Miss E. G. Thrall taught in the same place from 1875 to 
1889, and now teaches at East Pembroke. There was a collegiate insti- 
tute in 1864, taught by E. Wildman, and a Miss McCully taught a school 
in 1864. This brings us down to the present time. Miss Ellen K. 
Hooker established, in 1883, " Park Place School," conducting the same 
for four years, or until about 1 887, when the present highly talented and 
and Christian lady, Miss Mary J. Stephens, took the school and has had 
charge of it since. There are accommodations for 12 boarding pupils 
and 50 day scholars. The musical department is under the charge of 
Herve D. Wilkins, A. M., of Rochester. The rooms are large, airy, and 
pleasant, heated by furnace, and lighted by gas. The grounds areshady, 
large, and spacious, with a lawn- tennis court. 

Batavia village. — The village of Batavia is 300 feet higher than Buffalo, 
400feet higher than Rochester, and 685 feetabove Lake Ontario. The high- 
est point of- land on theN.Y. C. &H. R. Railroad west of Albany is two miles 
west of Batavia, called the Summit, it being 923 feet above the ocean. 
The village is surrounded by a very wealthy agricultural region, and its 
railroad facilities are being constantly recognized by manufacturers who 
are seeking locations for pursuing their business. It has, also (more 
than one ordinarily sees), a tasty and desirable class of residences, built 
on the finest streets to be seen, and no other village in Western New 
York can compete with it for beauty and cleanliness. 

In 1825, soon after the village was incorporated, there were only about 
1,400 inhabitants. At that time land was comparatively cheap. The lot 
and one adjoining where the Holden store now is was sold for $150 in 
1830. The site now occupied by St. James's Episcopal Church was 
bought in 1820 for $450. In 181 1 James Cochrane paid $100 for 18 
acres, the land lying on Bank street and fronting on Main street, one-half 
the distance to State street. In 1802 D. McCracken paid $170 for 34 
acres now bounded by Jackson, Main, and Liberty streets. Bank street 
was called, in old times, " Dingle Alley," it being but a lane, wherein 
cows were driven to pasture, and the old fashioned cow-bell being at- 
tached to them in order to find them. 

The early settlers of Genesee County were not wanting in patriotism. 



I 84 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Their diversions and holidays were few, and they made much of the re- 
turn of the only National holiday. The custom then was to listen to the 
reading of the " Declaration of Independence " and, as many as could, 
retire to the tavern for dinner, at which toasts were drank. We give 
herewith the programme in 1826 : 

NATIONAL JUBILEE. 

"The following are the regular toasts which were drank at the celebration in this 
village on Tuesday last (July 4, 1826): 

" 1st. — The Fiftieth Anniversary of American Independence ! ' And ye shall hallow 
the fiftieth year and proclaim liberty throughout all the land unto all the inhabitants 
thereof, and it shall be a Jubilee unto you.' 

" 2d. — Our Common Country ! ' May the blessings we enjoy under its happy form 
of government descend unimpaired to the latest posterity.' 3 cheers, i gun. 

'' 3d. — The State of New York ! ' Without an equal in resources and enterprise : may 
union at home render her respectable abroad.' 3 cheers, i gun. 

"4th. — George Washington ! (Drunk standing with solemn music playing.) 

" 5th. — The Heroes and Patriots of the two wars of Independence ! ' Honor to the 
living and tears of gratitude to the memory of the dead.' 

" 6th. — The Militia ! ' Bunker Hill and New Orleans, the commencement of the first 
and the close of the second war of Independence have proved them a sure defense in 
the hour of trial.' 9 cheers, i gun. 

" 7th. — The Army and Navy of the United States ! ' The guardians of our National 
defense and the protectors of our National nights.' 9 cheers, i gun. 

" 8th. — The youth of our country ! ' Let them remember that virtue and intelligence 
is the life of liberty.' 3 cheers, i gun. 

"9th. — Agriculture, commerce, and manufactures ! ' The true source of a country's 
glory and happiness: let them have equal encouragement.' 3 cheers, i gun. 

" loth. — Party Spirit ! ' Under the dominim of honor and virtue, a ministering spirit 
in the temple of freemen.' 6 cheers, i gun. 

"nth. — Election of President and Vice-President of the United States ! 'Let the 
people act for themselves ; may the present Congress remember from whom they de- 
rived their authority.' 6 cheers, i gun. 

"i2th. — Greece! ' The votaries of liberty throughout the world behold her sorrows 
and are afflicted ; may they soon rally to her standard and wrest the iron sceptre frona 
the " mindless Ottoman." ' 

" 13th.— The Independent States of South America ! 'They followed our example 
and have triumphed ; with liberty for their object may they reach the goal of their 
highest ambition.' 5 cheers, i gun." 

As early as 1827 the traveling showman was around; but we are not 
informed as to the extent and capacity of the house he drew. The weekly 
paper of June, 1827, calls attention to a troupe as follows : 

" Theatre. — Messrs. Gilbert & Trowbridge are now in this village with their theatrical 
corps. They have already performed three nights to respectable houses. We would 
recommend the propriety of stationing someone in the back seats to preserve order. We 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 185 



have witnessed it ourselves, and have heard it complained of by others, that the boys on 
the back seats were too noisy. The bill of fare for this evening is rich and worthy of the 
attention of those who are fond of the theatrical profession. The pieces consist of ' The 
Soldier's Daughter' and 'Poor Soldier.'" 

Imprisonment for debt was in order, as is shown by a notice taken from 
a paper dated June 25, 1826 : 

"A gentleman confined in Batavia jaol, on strong suspicion of debt, offers his services 
to lawyers. Printers, Merchants, Tavern-keepers, Mechanics, in drafting or copying dec- 
larations, making up rolls, wrightmg deeds, Mortgages, Bonds, &c. Posting books of 
every description. Apply at this office for further particulars." 

In 1822 a Mr. Farnsworth was convicted of forging United States land 
warrants, and sentenced to be hanged on the 20th of September. A large 
crowd assembled to witness the execution, when, to their great disgust, 
the President granted a reprieve for six months. The murmurings of the 
disappointed multitude were loud and deep, and before the expiration of 
the six months' respite he was pardoned, as it appeared that he had com- 
mitted no crime against the government. The first execution was one 
McLean, in 1807, who had committed murder in 1807, and was hanged 
the same year in Batavia. November 5, 1830, James Gray was executed 
for the murder of Samuel Davis, a tavern-keeper, of Le Roy. It is esti- 
mated there were over 5,000 persons present to witness the hanging. 
The execution took place south of where the railroad is, near the creek. 

Batavia library. — In April, 1796, an act was passed by the legislature 
for the purpose of encouraging the formation of public libraries. Under 
that act the citizens of the new Genesee country vied with each other in 
organizing libraries. The first one established on the Holland Purchase 
was in November, [804, when a meeting was convened at the house of 
Abel Rowe (tavern-keeper). Joseph Ellicott was chairman. The trustees 
were Richard Smith, William Rumsey, John Branan, Reuben Town, and 
Nathaniel Coleman. 

Village incorporation. — Soon after the fire of 1821 a meeting of the 
citizens was held and a committee appointed to petition the legislature for 
an act of incorporation, which was granted April 23, 1823. The first meet- 
ing (to carry out this act) was held at Ganson's tavern, June 3, 1823. C. 
Carpenter and D. Tisdale (justices) presided; and the following persons 
were chosen as trustees : D. H. Chandler, D. E. Evans, N. FoUett, S. Cum- 
mings, S. Finch, Trumbull Gary, treasurer ; and Parley Paine, collector. 
Subsequently D. H. Chandler was chosen president of the village. The 
present village officers are George Burt, president ; John Quirk, collector ; 
George Roth, treasurer ; and John Glade, assessor. Measures were also 



l86 GENESEE COUNTY. 



adopted in regard to fires, but no company was formed until the 20th of 
April, 1824, composed of the following persons: William Seaver, Jr., 
captain ; Hinman Holden, D. H. Chandler, Frederick Follett, William 
Purcell, Parley Paine, Oran Follett, William Piatt, Daniel Gates, Ralph 
Stiles, Hezekiah D. Piatt, William Dickinson, C. C. Church, Nathan Fol- 
lett, W. M. Seymour, I. Norman Town, William R. Thompson, Benjamin 
Allen, Stephen Grant, Nahum, Loring, John S. Moore, Jonathan Lay, 
Horace Gibbs, David M. Gardiner, and Rufus Burnham. The first en- 
gine-house was under the old jail in the court-house. The Holland Land 
Co. gave the village the lot on Jackson street (now a blacksmith shop), 
which was to be a fire engine-house. Later they took it back and gave 
in return the quarters under the jail, the building being raised upon a 
high foundation, to admit of an engine being run under. 

Batavia has had its share of destructive fires. The first one, on the 
night of December 22, 1821, originated in Mr. Baker's silversmith shop, 
north side of Main street, destroying buildings owned or occupied by 
the following persons: Moore & Finch, L. Baker, J. P. Smith, C. C. 
Church, and D. C. Miller's printing ofiice. The amount of property 
destroyed was estimated at $10,000. 

In April, 1833, fire was discovered in a building nearly opposite the 
Eagle tavern. It burned nearly the whole row of buildings on Main 
street, from Jackson to the Arcade block. In 1834 the Eagle tavern was 
burned, together with all the buildings from the corner of Big Tree 
(Ellicott) street around upon Genesee (Main) street, involving a loss of 
$30,000. In 1850 a fire destroyed the north side of Main street, from 
Bank street west from where the American Hotel stood. In January, 
1884, a large portion of the harvester works was burned, involving a loss 
of over $40,000. 

The Genesee County mills were built by Mr. Ellicott in 1803, enlarged 
to 60x150 feet in 1825, and were owned by Ellicott, Evans, Macomber, 
Jennison, Pierson & Randall, Olmstead, and others. They were de- 
stroyed by fire August 22, 1884, after which the land and property was 
purchased by the village authorities for the purpose of building water 
works, which purpose was carried out, resulting in the erection of a sub- 
stantial brick structure, in which is machinery supplying all the power 
needed for water for fire and village purposes. 

Cemeteries. — The Indians had a burial-place on a chestnut knoll on the 
Dr. Josiah Nolton place, or farm, on Jackson street road, south of the vil- 
lage, as numerous bones and glass beads were found there when the soil 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 187 



was removed to furnish material for a road. The earhest known place 
for burial within the village was the ground on the bank of the creek, sit- 
uated nearly back of the brick school-house on West Main street. It was 
deeded by Benjamin Ellicott, August 10, 1820. Not many interments, 
however, were made there, owing to the liability of the high water from 
the creek washing out the soil. The only evidence of burials remaining is 
the graves of the wives of Oliver Wilcox,, one of whom died in 1807, the 
other in 1824, and the graves of Richard Buell, who died in 18 19, and 
W. T. Stark, who died in 1822, and Wheaton Mason, who died in 1825. 
Many bodies from this ground were transferred to the new cemetery on 
Harvester avenue, formerly Cemetery street, between the railroads, on lot 
43, purchased October 29, 1823, and laid out by Ebenezer Mix into 88 
plats. As is often customary with such enterprises a general apathy and 
indifference was manifested in caring for the plat, and from 1824 to 1840 
it was in a very neglected condition. The latter year a fence was built 
around the grounds, so that the graves and shrubbery were protected 
from the invasion of animals. From 1840 to 1867 but little attention was 
given to the grounds, and the appearance was forbidding. In 1867 a sub- 
scription was raised and a large fund directed towards repair of fences 
and improving the walks and drives, and up to 1875 small subscriptions 
(under the superintendence of the late William S. Mallory) were devoted 
to the care of the grounds. 

In May, 1880, a number of lot-owners organized under the State laws 
and the "Batavia Cemetery Association " assumed practical shape, and a 
systematic effort resulted in plans to purchase land, sell lots, levy and 
collect assessments on lot-owners for the maintenance and care of the 
grounds, and the community now has a resting-place for their dead that 
they may well be proud of The officers of the association are Gad B. 
Worthington, president; J. F. Lay, vice-president; L. C. Mclntyre, treas- 
urer; J. B. Crosby, secretary; and Jacob Miller, sexton. 

Elmwood Cemetery is located on Harvester avenue, south of the Ba- 
tavia Cemetery. It contains about 12 acres of ground In the spring of 
1872 Edward P. Morse opened up the grounds (having become the owner 
one year previous), and commenced grading and setting out^ trees and 
shrubbery. In the spring of 1 889 an organization was formed through the 
efforts of Mr. Morse, and called the Elmwood Cemetery Association of 
Batavia. William C. Simpson was president ; John B. Crosby, secretary; 
and Joseph C. Barnes, treasurer. In April, 1890, it was decided to incor- 
porate. The present trustees are T. F. Woodward, J. C. Barnes, George 



l88 GENESEE COUNTY. 



B. Edwards, J. M. Williams, C. H. Caldwell, W. C. Simpson, E. P. Morse, 
George Scott, and John M. McKenzie. W. C. Simpson is president; 
T. F. Woodward, vice-president; and J. C. Barnes, secretary and treas- 
urer. 

"Joseph Ellicott, son of Joseph and Judith Ellicott, was born November 
1, 1760, in Bucks County, Pa. When 14 years of age his father removed 
to Maryland. He was partly educated in Bucks County, but at his fa- 
ther's death he was obliged to teach school. He began surveying with his 
brother Andrew in 1785, locating the western boundary of Pennsylvania. 
In 1797 he was employed by the Holland Land Company, and came to 
Geneseo to attend a treaty of the Indians. He came alone in Septem- 
ber, on horseback, via Wilkesbarre, Tioga Point, Bath, and Dansville, 
returning to Philadelphia in the following February. In May, 1798, he 
came again, accompanied by his brother Benjamin, and Ebenezer Cary, 
arriving in Buffalo in June. 

" In March, 1 799, Joseph and Benjamin Ellicott went to Philadelphia for 
the purpose of conferring with Paul Busti, the agent of the company, for 
a continuance of the surveys. Returning in the spring Joseph Ellicott 
went to Buffalo, remaining there until the completion of the survey in the 
fall, and then came to Stafford. In January, 1800, he returned to Phila- 
delphia to report on his surveys. November i, 1800, when 40 years of 
age, he was appointed general agent of the company, with liberal salary, 
a grant of 6,000 acres of land, and five per cent, commission on all sales 
of lands. He left Philadelphia in November, arriving in Buffalo in Janu- 
ary, 1 80 1. He moved from there to Ransom's tavern (now Clarence, 
Erie County), and opened an office for the sale of lands. In letters writ- 
ten from that place he says he called it ' Ransomville,' ' Pine Grove,' 
■• Sweetwater Farm,' and 'West Genesee.' At the same time Buffalo was 
known as New Amsterdam, and also as Buffalo Creek. In 1801, fixing 
his mind to locate a permanent land office at Batavia, suitable buildings 
were erected for his occupancy, so that he removed there in the spring 
of 1802. 

" In 1803 David E. Evans, his nephew, came from Maryland to act as 
clerk in the land office. In November, 1804, Mr. Ellicott was appointed 
an elector of President and Vice-President. His whole time was taken 
up in attending to the duties of his office, the place being no sinecure as 
the records show, and up to the War of 1812 no one was more active. 
At the close of the war his house was the asylum for sick and wounded 
soldiers, and all army officers received a hearty welcome. In 1818 he 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 189 



completed the main building of his residence, and by his hospitality was 
■enabled to contribute largely to the social features of the place, and to 
entertain distinguished travelers on their journey to the Falls. He was a 
strong advocate of the Erie Canal from its first inception in 1808 to its 
completion in 1825 ; was one of the canal commissioners in 18 16; and 
foresaw the great wealth it would bring to the Holland Land Company, 
proving, as it did, of great assistance to the settlers in paying for their 
lands. 

" Mr. EUicott's connection with the company enabled him to make for- 
tunate investments in lands, and as he was privileged to take his commis- 
sions in lands at low valuations, his possessions eventually became valua- 
ble. His great wealth, and his desire to advance the interests of his 
nieces and nephews, caused their removal from time to time from their 
different homes in Maryland to new and more desirable homes in West- 
ern New York. 

"About 181 5, and up to 1821, complaints were being made from settlers 
who were unable to pay for their lands, and through them efforts were 
made to have Mr. Ellicott resign his agency. But he refused, and was 
continued until his retirement in October, 1821. He was succeeded by 
Jacob S. Otto, of Philadelphia, the sub-agents in office being retained. 
After his retirement Mr. Ellicott went to Philadelphia and Baltimore, 
and endeavored to interest capitalists in the purchase of unsold lands. In 
this he was unsuccessful, and returned to Batavia in 1822. His health 
began to fail him soon after, and he made trips into Pennsylvania and 
Ohio in order to recruit, but without avail. In November, 1825, he went 
to New York with two of his nephews, Ebenezer Mix and Joseph Nixon. 
He was under medical treatment in the city until August, 1826, and on 
the 19th of that month died in his 66th year. His remains were brought 
from New York and laid to rest in the cemetery in Batavia, where a mon- 
ument has been erected to his memory by his sister, Rachel Evans. 

"Mr. Ellicott was never married. He was a man of great industry, 
careful and systematic in all business, and required of all under him a 
faithful discharge of their duties." 

" John B. Ellicott, son of Andrew and Sarah (Brown) Ellicott, was born 
in 1795, and in early life was in the employ of his uncle, Joseph Ellicott, 
in Batavia, as clerk in the land office. During the War of 181 2 he was 
a volunteer to defend Fort Erie. In 18 17 he was in business in Batavia 
with his cousin, George Brown, under the firm name of Brown & Ellicott. 
He married Helen Griffith, niece of his sister's husband. She was born 



190 GENESEE COUNTY. 



in 1799. Soon after their marriage they resided in Medina. During- 
his residence there he aided in erecting a flouring-mill on Oak Orchard 
Creek, in company with David E. Evans, to whom he sold his interest in 
1828. He afterwards resided on an extensive tract of land in Pembroke^ 
deeded to him by his uncle. His handsome residence on the main road, 
six miles from Batavia, was admired by all travelers. In the spring of 
185 1 he moved to Batavia, and died there August 27, 1872, aged "JJ 
years. His wife, Helen, died a few years afterwards. They had seven 
children, among whom was Mary Jane, born February 9, 1823, who 
married, first, Nathaniel Pitkin. Their son was Harvey Ellicott Pitkin. 
She afterwards married Nate T. Smith." 

James W. Stevens, the first clerk of Genesee County, was a native of 
New Jersey and a graduate of Princeton College. He became connected 
with the Holland Land Co. at the earliest period of its land sales, and 
remained in the office until the affairs of the companj^ were closed up. 
He served as county clerk from 1804 to 18 10. He was a man of fine 
literary taste, of quiet habits, of strict business integrity, careful and 
systematic in his work, and lived a blameless life, respected by all his 
associates. 

Ebenezer Cary was employed by Mr. Ellicott, when he was surveying 
lands in Pennsylvania, as early as 1795, and came with him to the Hol- 
land Purchase, acting as surveyor and clerk, or agent, and was generally 
useful He was an early merchant at Batavia, and the founder of the 
establishment so long continued by his brother, Trumbull Cary. 

Trumbull Cary, the founder of the Bank of Genesee, was born August 
1 1, 1787, and was a native of Mansfield, Conn. He came to Batavia in 
1805, was clerk for five years with James Brisbane and Ebenezer Cary, 
and in 18 10 bought out that firm, and was in the mercantile business for 
30 years. For a time he was of the firm of Cary & Grant, and a part of 
this time was postmaster. He was an adjutant in the War of 181 2 ; was 
elected to the Assembly and also served as State Senator ; and was a firm 
friend of Gov. Seward. June 2, 1817, he married Margaret Eleanor, 
sister of James Brisbane, and they had a son, Walter, who became a 
prominent physician in Buffalo. Mr. Cary was a very successful man in 
all his undertakings, and aided materially in establishing the village on 
the career of growth and prosperity it has ever since maintained. He 
died June 20, 1869, aged 82 years. His grandson, Trumbull (son of 
Walter), is now the cashier of the bank founded in 1829. 

Ebenezer Mix was born at New Haven, Conn., December 31, 1789. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 191 



After learning the masons' trade under his brother, Abiather Mix, he 
came to Batavia, Genesee County, in the spring of 1809, at which place 
he worked at his trade during the summer, and taught school in the 
winter. In March, 18 10, he entered the office of Daniel B. Brown as 
law student, still holding himself ready to do any job of plastering needed 
in the then small town. In the spring of 181 1 Joseph EUicott, then 
agent of the Holland Land Co., hired Mr. Mix to plaster a room, with 
an arched ceiling, by the yard ; after the job was done Mr. Mix made 
out his bill, giving the number of yards and price, and sent it in for pay- 
ment. Mr. Ellicott, upon examining the bill, sent out to know who made 
the calculation. Upon being informed that the mason himself did it he 
sent for Mr. Mix and said : " Young man, I did not suppose that there 
was another man on the Purchase that could make that calculation cor- 
rect. The Holland Land Company needs your services." And in March, 
181 1, Ebenezer Mix went into the employ of the Holland Land Company, 
where he remained for 27 years as contracting clerk, 2 1 years of which time 
he filled the office of surrogate of Genesee County, during which time he 
codified the laws of New York, as to the descent and distribution of es- 
tates, by request of the attorney-general. In the War of 181 2, in a 
crisis of danger with the frontier settlers upon the Holland Purchase, he 
transferred himself from the land office to the camp and post of danger. 
He was the volunteer aide of Gen. P. B. Porter at the memorable and 
successful sortie at Fort Erie, September 17, 18 14. He was at one time 
regarded as the best mathematician in this State, and was the publisher 
of a work entitled Practical Mathematics. He also rendered valuable 
assistance to Orsamus Turner in the compilation of his book. He was 
married, March 30, 181 5, to Jemima Debow. October 8, 1863, he moved 
to Cleveland, Ohio, remaining there until his death, January 12, 1869. 
One of his sons lives in Cleveland, and another, D. E. E. Mix, resides in 
Batavia, engaged in surveying and engineering. 

Aaron Van Cleeve was born in 1768, in New Jersey, and was a coach- 
maker by trade. He married, in 1791, a daughter of Benjamin Stevens, 
and a sister to Judge Stevens. He went to Buffalo in 1795, and joined 
Ellicott later in cutting the west transit line, in 1 799. Returning to New 
Jersey, he resided there 10 years. In 1809 he moved to Batavia, and 
in September of the same year was appointed sheriff and jailer. In 18 10 
he was appointed assistant marshal to take the census of all the country 
west of the Genesee River. He was also a clerk in the land office, and 
high sheriff* in 18 11. In 1814 he was appointed by President Madison 



192 GENESEE COUNTY. 



to take the census of eight westerly counties in New York, and held 
other important offices. 

Orsamus Turner, author of Turner's History of Phelps ajid GorhaifCs 
Purchase and Holland PurcJiase, was born in Ontario County. His 
father, Roswell Turner, came from Connecticut and settled near Honeoye 
Lake. He moved to Sheldon, Wyoming County, being an early 
settler of that town. Orsamus was an apprentice in the printing office 
of the Ontario Repository at Canandaigua, and in 1822 became proprie- 
tor of a paper in Lockport. He was an editor for 25 years. Chipman 
P. Turner, a brother of Orsamus, was born in Black Rock, and assisted 
in the compilation of Turner's Holland Purchase. He is now a resident 
of the town of Elba. 

So closely identified are the village, the town, and the whole of Gen- 
esee County with each other that it is impossible to separate it, and a 
perusal of the early event as given in the town and county chapters 
will aid the reader in connecting the events of the early period. The 
sketches following this chapter, of some of the prominent individuals that 
took part in the early settlement, as well as sketches of the residents of 
the present day, will also be interesting, and connect on important link 
between the past and present. 

Thomas McCully was born in Philadelphia, and came to Genesee 
•County from Schenectady in 18 16. He died in 1865, aged 82 years. 
He was by profession a mechanic, brick mason, and contractor, and built 
a good many structures in Batavia, among them being the present Epis- 
copal Church. He was a prominent man in the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, aiding in founding it, and was a trustee until his death. He 
married Sarah Hollister, daughter of Silas, and they had six children. 

James Cochrane settled in 1802 on lot 24, containing four acres, buy- 
ing the same for $100. He was a bell founder. His foundry was on 
Bank street, where Mr. Southworth now lives. He made the bells for 
all the churches. In 1826 he took into partnership with him a Mr. 
Fisher. Mr. Cochrane built, in 1824, the house where Miss Sarah Stev- 
ens now lives. He died in 1846. 

Richard Smith, whom Judge North mentions in the Bench and Bar 
as surrogate, was also clerk of the board of supervisors for 40 years. He 
lived in a frame house where Baker & Walkinshaw are located. He was 
a prominent Mason and master of Olive Branch Lodge. In seeking a 
continuance of his clerkship of the board of supervisors one year the chair- 
man remarked that " it was not necessary for him to ask it, as he should 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



193 



go for him for clerk as long as he was supervisor, and Mr. Smith was 
alive, and after that would go for Jane, his daughter " (the father's assist- 
ant). 

Dr. David McCracken, located in 1801, took up lot 25, of 34 acres, 
paying $170. This lot is bounded by Main, Jackson, and Center streets. 
Shortly after his purchase he erected a log house, on what is now Will- 
iamson's furniture store. East Main street. He had four brothers, wha 
soon came into the settlement. 

Benjamin Blodgett, the early printer and proprietor of the Times, and 
also of the firm of Handford & Blodgett, located on the corner of Main and 
State streets. He removed to Richville, and for many years kept a most 
famous tavern at that place. He died in Illinois in 1857. 

David E. Evans, a nephew of Joseph Ellicott, came in 1803, succeed- 
ing Mr. Otto ih the duties of the land agency in 1826. His early life 
was spent in clerking for his uncle in the land office, so he was familiar 
with all the responsibilities of the agency. He was elected to the State 
Senate in 18 18, and was there four years. In 1826 he was a member of 
Congress, but resigned, when he was appointed to the agency of the 
Holland Land Company, which position he held until the company's 
affairs were wound up, in 1837. Mr. Evans was an open-hearted, gen- 
erous man, giving liberally to religious purposes, and for the public wel- 
fare. He died in 1850. 

Rear- Admiral Ralph Chandler was born in Batavia in 1829, in the 
house where G. B. Worthington now lives. His father, D. H. Chandler, 
married a daughter of Hon. H. J. Redfield. 

In 1 8 14 Libbeus Fish bought lot 44, on East Main street. He came 
from Vermont in 1806, and died in 1859. He was a man of means, 
liberal in his investments and in his charities. He was a maltster, and 
proprietor of the first enterprise of the kind in the county. His son, Eli 
H. Fish, was born here in 1807, and died in 1879, aged 72 years. He 
was a grocer and maltster for 50 years. He was captain of the 164th 
Regiment, and was vice-president of the National Bank of Genesee. 

The Cotes homestead, on East Main street, is one of the oldest houses 
in the place. It was the residence of Dr. Ephraim Brown until 1826^ 
and of Dr. Levant B. Cotes for 30 years after. They were partners for 
a time. 

Roswell Graham, an old-timer, came in 1801, and settled in the east 
part of the Graham place, on the Le Roy road, residing there until his 
death, at the age of 95 years. A daughter, Mrs. Nacy P. Coddington,. 
resides in Buffalo, and is in her 83d year. 



194 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Isaac Joslyn came in 1828. He was a locksmith and blacksmith for 
53 years. His brother, Aimiran Joslyn, is still Hving on East Main street, 
and is over 90 years of age. 

Another old settler still living is John Green Russell (over 90 years of 
age), on Bank street, son of an early tavern-keeper. bJtill another old 
settler, formerly of Elba, is Phineas Howe, 95 years of age, living on 
East Main street. 

Benjamin H. Stevens, brother of Judge J. W. Stevens, and a brother- 
in-law of James Brisbane, came to Batavia in 1822. He was in New 
Jersey in 1777.. He was the superintendent of a hat factory, and died 
in 1857. His only daughter, Sarah K., was born September 6, 18 10, came 
to Batavia with her parents, and has resided here since. She has lived 
since 1824 in the old house on East Main street, built by James Coch- 
rane in 1822. Her mother taught private school for 27 years. She died 
in 1880, at the age of 97 years. To Miss Sarah K. Stevens we are in- 
debted for many dates and facts connected with the period in which she 
was a prominent factor. 

The old house, 514 East Main street, was built in 181 5 by David 
Locke. 

"The Rev. Lucius Smith, rector of the Episcopal Church from 1823 to 
1833, was a prominent man and minister for those days. He was very 
decided as well as liberal in his opinion, and took a more than usually 
active interest in the perpetuation of the Masonic Lodge, of which he was 
an energetic working member, and an advocate of its doctrines. Dur- 
ing the Morgan episode Mr. Smith's attitude was severly criticised by 
some of his friends, but he stood up unflinchingly in adherence of the 
course he marked out. Marcus L. Babcock, his half brother, was said 
to be one of the earliest born children of the village. His son, Junius A. 
Smith, was a clerk in the land office, and also a representative of the 
Farmers' Loan and Trust Co., which succeeded the Holland Land Co. 
He died in 1864. 

Kimball Ferren, of Le Roy, was superintendent and proprietor of 
"the old line coaches" running to Buffalo, Lockport, etc. He was also 
at one time overseer of the poor, and a member of the Masonic order. 

Benjamin C. and Ones Page came in 1838 from New Hampshire, and 
started a bakery where Baker & Walkinshaw now are. They carried on 
the business for 30 years. Their business was very extensive, at one 
time having 12 teams on the road. A son of Benjamin C. is E. B. Page, 
now, and has been since' 1864, engaged in the music business. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



195 



Col. William Seaver, one of the most prominent citizens of Genesee 
County, was born in Berkshire County, Mass., October 10, 1789, and 
died at Batavia, August 25, 1871, in the 82d year of his age. In early 
life he taught school, and subsequently embraced the medical profession. 
This, however, he abandoned for mercantile ventures, and in 181 7 emi- 
grated from Albany to Genesee County. For nearly half a century fol- 
lowing his removal he was at the head of a large drug, book, and print- 
ing establishment. Col. Seaver grew up with the country. He was 
essentially a "man of affairs," and possessed to an unlimited degree the 
confidence of the public. His ideas were broad and liberal, his knowl- 
edge of men and things was extensive, and during his day and genera- 
tion his influence was hardly second to any one in Genesee County. 
For many years he was editor and proprietor of the Batavia Spirit of the 
Times, and aside from being a forcible writer brought dignity to the edi- 
torial profession. In public life he was a natural leader, and occupied 
many local positions In 1822 he took charge of the Batavia postoffice, 
first as deputy, but soon thereafter as postmaster. His administration of 
that office covered a period of 29 years, and was deservedly popular. 
In 1823, upon the incorporation of the village, he was appointed first 
captain of the first fire company, and subsequently first chief engineer of 
the department. Later he was president of the village. He was a man 
of the highest social standing, and for 40 consecutive years, ending only 
with his death, was senior warden of St. James's Episcopal Church. With 
the advance of years he withdrew from active business, grew old grace- 
fully, lived beyond the allotted four-score, and at the conclusion of an 
honorable and useful life in every sense of the word was held in the high- 
est esteem by his fellow townsmen. Col. Seaver had five sons, all of 
whom were brought up to practical work and became well known busi- 
ness men, viz.: 

I : William A. Seaver removed to Buffalo in 1848, and purchasing the 
Daily Courier, of that city, continued as its editor for the next 10 years. 
Then disposing of the concern he located himself in New York city. He 
was a wonderfully versatile writer and prominent in literary circles. For 
over 20 years he was president of a fire insurance company, and died in 
New York city, January 7, 1883, aged 68 years. 2: Daniel M. Seaver, for 
many years U. S. mail agent between Albany and Buffalo, removed to 
Wisconsin, and was deputy treasurer of that State for some time, but re- 
turned to New York and died April 26, 1862, aged 46 years. 3: Lucas 
Seaver removed to Wisconsin in 1848 and established the Milwaukee 

I 



jg6 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Commercial Advertiser (soon changed to Daily News). In 1850 he was 
elected city treasurer of Milwaukee, and held that office for four years. 
On accession to office he sold the newspaper, and later on returned to 
his native State. He died May 6, 1866, aged 47 years. 4: James F. Sea- 
ver began a promising career under adventitious auspices, but died very 
suddenly of a bilious attack at Batavia on February 27, 1853, aged 32 
years. 5 : David Seaver, the youngest and only survivor of the five broth- 
ers, was the business partner of his father, and subsequently for a long 
time continued the "Seaver establishment" alone. He was a thoroughly 
active man and progressive citizen. Nearly 20 years ago he sold out 
and removed to New York city, where he now (1890) resides. 

Hon. Heman Judd Redfield's life was a long and useful one, devoted 
to the maintenance of Democratic principles, upholding the country in 
the days of its peril, and he was in his early manhood, and up to the last 
days of his life, a power in the politics of the State and a man whose in- 
fluence in party affairs was always exerted on the side of integrity and 
the good of the public service. For half a century and more in Western 
New York most of his life was spent; he was known and esteemed as one 
of the most admirable characters in the State, and has gone to rest with 
a fullness of respect that is accorded to few. 

Mr. Redfield was born in Connecticut, December 27, 1788. His father 
moving to Western New York, he assisted him on his farm until 1808^ 
when he entered the Canandaigua Academy. He remained there two 
years, and then read law with the Hon. John C. Spencer. At the begin- 
ning of the War of 181 2 he volunteered as a private soldier and served two 
campaigns. He was in the battle of Queenstown Heights, and was with 
General Harrison at Fort George, when he received a brevet from the 
commanding general for gallant services. He commenced the practice 
of law at Le Roy in 18 15, was appointed a justice of the peace and master 
in chancery, and soon after district attorney. He was State Senator dur- 
ing 1823, '24, and '25, during which time he was one of the "seventeen" 
Democratic senators who successfully resisted an attempt to change the 
law relating to the election of presidential electors. Prominent among his 
associates at this time were Silas Wright and Charles E. Dudley, both of 
whom were elected Senators, and Silas Wright, governor. In 1825 Mr. 
Redfield was appointed one of the New York commissioners to settle a 
boundary question with New Jersey. He was postmaster at Le Roy for 
more than 20 years. He soon became distinguished as a lawyer. When 
arrangements were being made for the trial of those accused of abducting 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



197 



William Morgan he was offered the position of special counsel to assist 
the attorney- general. He declined the offer and recommended the Hon. 
John C. Spencer, who accepted and acted as such on the trials. In 1835 
he also declined the office of circuit judge tendered him by Governor 
Marcy. He was also appointed canal commissioner, which he declined. 
When the Holland Land Company, in 1836, sold out their remaining 
lands in the five counties he, together with Jacob Le Roy, purchased the 
same; subsequently the new purchasers appointed him their agent, act- 
ing as such for 13 years, for which purpose he removed from Le Roy to 
Batavia. President Pierce tendered him the appointment of naval officer 
in New York, which he accepted, but was very soon transferred to the 
office of collector of the port of New York, which he held until June 30, 
1857, when he resigned, although President Buchanan offered to continue 
him. It was highly creditable to him that, when he rendered his accounts 
as collector of the port of New York, involving the large sum of $143, 493,- 
957, they were promptly settled exactly as he rendered them. Soon- 
after he returned to his home at Batavia, and settled upon his farm as a 
cultivator of the soil, which was ever a favorite employment with him. 

In all the perils to which our country has been exposed he has ever 
been on the side of his government. He sustained Mr. Polk through the 
Mexican war, and exerted himself on the side of the government during 
the late war. He was a member of the Peace Congress at Albany, which 
sent delegates to the one at Washington. He presided at meetings, lent 
his influence to secure the quotas of men called for at different times dur- 
ing the war, contributed largely in raising funds to aid in that purpose, 
and lent his best energies to sustain our side of the conflict, never doubt- 
ing the final result. In his intercourse with men he was frank and 
manly, never misleading; his interests harmonized with those of his 
neighbors. Although he practiced economy he was not greedy for 
wealth, either on his own account or for the distinction it often confers;: 
hence the poor were never turned away starving nor the orphans unpro- 
tected. He was opposed to all class legislation, and to using the govern- 
ment, State or National, as a means of making one class rich and keep- 
ing another poor. It was one of his theories that the less mankind were 
governed the better -for them. He believed the true object of govern- 
ment was to protect men in their person, character, and propert}-, and 
then leave them to work out their own happiness in their own way. 

On Sunday evening, July 22, 1877, he sat with the members of his fam- 
ily on the veranda of his house, enjoying the cool breezes after the heat 

13 



198 GENESEE COUi, ,Y. 



of the day, appearing in excellent health and spirits. About eight o'clock 
he complained of a dizziness in his head, entered the house, gradually 
grew worse, and became unconscious, and about a quarter to 10 o'clock 
he peacefully, painlessly, breathed hi:^ last. Thus closed the earthly ca- 
reer of a good, kind-hearted, and benevolent man, and a true and devout 
Christian. During his long life he was an active and devout member of 
St. James's Episcopal Church at Batavia, serving as vestryman and war- 
den. Many citizens attested their respect and esteem for their old neigh- 
bor and friend by their attendance at the funeral service Wednesday 
evening. The procession was one of the longest ever seen in the village. 
Immediately following the hearse came the venerable roadster, so long 
the favorite riding horse of Mr. Redfield, saddled and bridled, and led by 
the groom. 

Mr. Redfield was married twice. His first wife was Abby Noyes Gould, 
whom he married at Canandaigua, Ontario County, January 27, 18 17. 
She died at Batavia on the i ith of February, 1 841, in the 44th year of her 
age. The following children only survive them both : Elizabeth Gould, 
wife of Robert VV. Lowber, of Bald Mountain, Washington County; Mary 
Judd, wife of Major Henry I. Glowacki, residing at Batavia ; Jane, wife 
of Lawrence Turnure, of New York city; Cornelia, the widow of Rear- 
Admiral Ralph Chandler, U. S. N., lately in command of the Asiatic sta- 
tion, at present residing at Yokohama, Japan ; and Anna M., the widow 
of George Evans, of Albany, N. Y. In 1846 he married for his second 
wife Constance C. Bolles, of Newark, N. Y., of English and French ances- 
try, who survives him, and by whom he had four children, as follows : 
Frank B. Redfield, Abby L. Sunderland, Una Clark (Mrs. Daniel W. 
Tomlinson), all of whom reside at Batavia, and Martha Evans, wife of 
Lieut. Samuel Rodman, U. S. A., now stationed at Newport, R. I. 

Frank B. Redfield, born at Batavia, in 1847, received an academic edu- 
cation, and has followed farming and stock raising. He is now serving 
his fourth year on the executive committee of the State Agricultural So- 
ciety. He was president of the Genesee County Agricultural Society, 
and married, in 1874, Miss Caroline E. Dolbeer, whose people are of New 
York ancestry. Mr. Redfield lives in the house built by Jacob Otto in 
1824. 

Peleg Redfield, father of Heman J., was born May 14, 1762, at Killing- 
worth, Conn. He entered the service of the Connecticut troops for the 
Revolutionary cause in 1778, serving two campaigns, then enlisted in the 
Continental army for three years, and served his full time. He endured 



T( ■ N OF B ATA VI A. jgo 



his full share of the privations and sufferings of those who continued 
steadfast in the Revotutionary cause during its most trying period. The 
retreat of Washington and his army from Long Island, and from York- 
town to Valley Forge, and the severe winter of 1780, were often with him 
a subject of remark. He was present on the memorable occasion of the 
execution of Major Andre, and always spoke of his fate with sympathy 
and regret. He was a true Whig of those days, and a true Republican 
and Democrat in after life. He worshiped his chief. General Washing- 
ton. After the Revolutionary service, and his discharge from the army, 
he remained at Suffield, Conn., and soon after married Polly Judd, daugh- 
ter of Heman Judd, of F'armington, Conn. He exchanged his small prop- 
erty in SufBeld for 200 acres of wild land with Phelps & Gorham, in the 
then far off "Genesee County," and as early as the winter of 1799-1800 
he emigrated to his wild home, now the beautiful and fertile region 
which surrounds Clifton Springs. With a stout heart, and the help of the 
wilHng hands of an excellent pioneer wife and mother, he was fairly un- 
der way as one of the founders of a settlement and of a numerous family. 
He died May 26, 1852, in his 91st year. His wife died in 1844, aged 80 
years. Both were buried at Manchester, N. Y. 

Daniel W. Tomlinson, who died October 5, 1870, aged 57 years, was 
a native of Middlebury, Vt., where he obtained his education. At the 
early age of 18 he went to Mobile, Ala., as clerk in a large mercantile 
house engaged in the cotton trade, where he soon became a partner, ac- 
quiring a comfortable fortune. He came to Alexander in 1845, pur- 
chased the large farm of Peter A. Reiusen, and took up his residence 
there. He became a stockholder in the Exchange Bank of Genesee, was 
made vice president, and finally took entire charge of the management. 
Soon after he bought up the whole stock, and removed the bank to Ba- 
tavia, intending to locate it in a building he had prepared for it adjoin- . 
ing the American Hotel; but that being destroyed by fire (1850) he 
moved into a building adjoining the old Eagle Hotel. He soon after 
moved into the quarters occupied by the Farmers' and Mechanics' Bank, 
now the Bank of Batavia. Mr. Tomlinson was ver)'- active in all that 
tended to develop his town. He was at one time president of the vil- 
lage, and was instrumental in introducing the present water works, he 
having secured the ground (from McDonald) where the present pump- 
house is located. He was one of the organizers of the Batavia Gas Co. 

Lucian R. Bailey died in 1886, aged 53 years. He enlisted as a 
private in 1 86 1 in the 28th Regiment, became lieutenant, and was in many 



200 GENESEE COUNTY. 



battles. After leaving the army he was in Buffalo in the grain business. 
He started a clothing store in Batavia with N. Cross, then with D, Jones,, 
then with J. C. Barnes, was then alone, and finally with Gould & Town. 
He was assessor, president of the village, two terms in the legislature, a 
prominent. Mason, and was treasurer of Western Star Chapter. 

Daniel Upton, father of Gen. Emory Upton, came to Batavia in 1817^ 
and bought the farm in the western part of the town where his daughter,. 
Sara W. Edwards, now lives, which farm has always been in the posses- 
sion of the Upton family. He was the father of 13 children, of whom 
Emory was the most celebrated. The latter was born August 27, 1839^ 
graduated at West Point, May 6, 1861, and immediately entered into- 
active service under the government, taking a prominent part in the 
war of the Rebellion. Perhaps no former resident of Batavia has a 
name that became so widely known during his short career, for he died in 
the prime of life, being only 4 1 years of age. His death took place at Pre- 
sidio, San Francisco County, Cal., March 14, 1881. In 1868 he married 
Emily Norwood Martin, of Auburn, N. Y., but left no children. His 
memory is fresh in the minds of all residents, as well as the whole Nation. 

The names of a few of the old merchants who are living may not be 
out of place. Joseph C. Wilson came about 1830, and was in the gro- 
cery business for 50 years. H. L. Onderdonk came to Batavia in 1839 
and engaged in harnessmaking. He is still .at the same trade, and prob- 
ably no other man living in the village can make out 51 years of con- 
tinuous trade in one line of business. Gad B. Worthington began busi- 
ness for himself about 1845. ^- ^^- Bierce, the dry goods merchant, has 
been in business since about 1850. Homer Bostwick, the real estate and 
insurance agent, came about 185 i, and has been engaged in business ever 
since. 

General training. — "One of the ever- to-be-remembered institutions 
in the earlier history of this section was the militia. There are few in- 
cidents of any nature that are recounted with more pleasure by the old 
men, or listened to more attentively by the rising generation, than those 
of the memorable drills and musters. The militia consisted of all the 
able-bodied white male citizens between the ages of 18 and 45 years. 
State officers, clergymen, school teachers, students, and some others were 
exempt. The major-general, brigade inspector, and chief of the staff de- 
partment, except the adjutant and commissary generals, were appointed 
by the State. Colonels were chosen by the captains and subalterns of 
their regiments, and these latter by the written ballots of their respective 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 20I 



regiments and separate battalions. It was the duty of the commanding 
officer of each company to enroll all military subjects within the limits of 
his jurisdiction, and they must equip themselves within six months after 
being notified. 

" On the first Monday in September of each year every company of 
militia was obliged to assemble within its geographical limits for train- 
ing. One day in each year, between 'September ist and October 15th, 
at a place designated by the brigade officer, the regiment was directed 
to assemble for a general training. All the officers of each regiment or 
battalion were required to rendezvous two days in succession, in June, 
July, or August, for drill under the brigade inspector. Each militiaman 
was personally notified of an approaching muster by a non-commissioned 
officer bearing a warrant from the commandant of his company. A fail- 
ure to appear resulted in a court-martial and a fine, and possibly im- 
prisonment. 

"'General training' was usually regarded as a pleasant occasion to 
meet friends, and the boys, provided with a few pennies to buy the in- 
evitable gingerbread, were happier than the lads of to-day with their 
shillings that are invested in peanuts and a great variety of confections. 
The place of meeting and the extent of the parade ground were desig- 
nated by the commanding officer. The sale of intoxicating liquors on 
the ground could only be carried on by permission of the same officer. 
Total abstinence was not the rule, however, and an officer who had the 
right to seize the prohibited article did not always practice self-denial, 
for often some of it would find its way down his own throat." 

Of " general trainings" a veteran of those days writes as follows: 

" Although the companies exhibited the dlite of our regimental splendors, glittering 
with tinsel and flaunting with feathers, a more unsoldierly parade could scarcely be im- 
agined. There were the elect from the far-off farms, who sometimes marched to the 
rendezvous barefoot, carrying their boots and soldier clothes in a bundle— the ambitious 
cobblers, tailors, and plowboys from cross-road hamlets and remote rural districts, 
short, tall, fat, skinny, bow-legged, sheep-shanked, cock-eyed, hump-shouldered, and 
sway-backed— equipped by art as economically, awkward, and variously as they were 
endowed by nature ; uniformed in contempt of all uniformity ; armed with old flintlock 
muskets, horsemen's carbines, long-squirrel rifles, double-barrelled shot-guns, bell-muz- 
zled blunderbusses, with side arms of as many different patterns, from the old dragoon 
sabre that had belonged to Harry Lee's Legion to the slim basket-hilted rapier which 
had probably graced the thigh of some of our French allies in the Revolution. 

" The officers of the volunteer companies were generally selected for their handsome 
appearance and martial bearing, and shone with a certain elegance of equipment each 
in the uniform pertaining to his company. There was also a sprinkling of ex-veterans 
of the War of 1812, recognizable by a certam martinet precision in their deportment. 



202 GENESEE COUNTY. 



and a shadow of contempt for their crude comrades, but quick to resent any extraneous 
comment derogatory to the service. A city dandy who undertootc to ridicule the old- 
fashioned way in which some officers carried their swords was silenced by the snappish 
reply : ' Young man, 1 've seen the best troops of Great Britian beaten by men who car- 
ried their swords that way.' This harlequinade of equipment, costume, and character 
was duly paraded twice a day, marched through the streets, and put through its man- 
oeuvres on the parade ground adjoining the village, much to the satisfaction of all eman- 
cipated school boys, ragamuffins, idlers, tavern-keepers, and cake and beer venders, and 
somewhat, perhaps, to the weariness of industrious mechanics, who had apprentices to 
manage, and busy housewives, who depended on small boys for help." 

The militia history of Genesee County, like other sections, dates back 
to an early day. Turner says " there was a general training at Alexander 
as early as 1808," but the necessity for its observance grew out of the 
War of 181 2; in fact as early as 1810 or ' ii, when rumors of war be- 
gan to agitate the country, the State authorities contracted with Ellicott 
to build an arsenal. He erected one, of logs, at the forks of the road op- 
posite F. B. Redfield's, 20 feet square. At the close of the war this was 
taken down and a stone building put up for the 15th Regt. U. S. A. 
This was on the north side of the road, but has within a few years been 
demolished. John Baptiste Morris, an old trapper, resided in the old 
arsenal for a time. 

The " general training " was kept up regularly until about the year 
1845. By that time it had become too much of a sham and burlesquc,^ 
and the authorities gradually ceased their efforts in maintaining the dis- 
cipline provided by the laws for the perpetuation of the old militia sys- 
tem. 

The Holland Purc]iase Insjtrance Co. was incorporated April 16, I867^ 
with 26 persons taking shares. Thirteen directors were chosen, of whom 
Hiram Chaddock, George Bowen, and H. T. Cross are the only ones 
living. H. J Redfield was president ; H. M. Warren, secretary ; Hiram 
Chaddock, general agent and adjuster; and Tracy Pardee, treasurer. 
This company closed up business a few years ago. Hiram Chaddock 
was appointed receiver, and closed up the affairs of the company with 
great credit to himself and all interested. Besides paying all policies 
and expenses ( the latter amounting to over $8,000 ) he paid the stock- 
holders $1.20 per share. 

The Exchange Bank of Genesee was organized in Alexander in 1838. 
Among the stockholders were Samuel Benedict, Jr., Earl Kidder, Henry 
Martin, V. R. Hawkins, H. Hawkins, Jesse Hawkins, Stephen King^ 
Josiah Newton, and Charles Kendall, of Bethany. The capital stock 
was $100,000. Heman Blodgett, E. S. Warner, H. T. Cross, J. E. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



203 



Pierpont, and others acted as cashiers at various times. D. W. Tomlinson, 
soon after his coming to Alexander, bought up all the stock and re- 
moved the bank to Batavia, and it was closed up about 1858. 

Farmers and Mechanics Bank, of Batavia, was organized November 
I, 1838, with a capital of $100,000. Among the subscribers to the stock 
were P. P. Kissam, T. Tredwell, John Norton, Jr., D. E, Evans, W. R. 
Gwinn, H. Holden, John Lowber, and John S. Ganson. The bank con- 
ducted business until about 185 i, when its affairs were wound up. 

Newspapers. — Genesee County has had publications of various char- 
acter, of which the following are worthy of mention. The names of the 
live papers are printed in SMALL CAPITALS. 

The first paper issued here, and the first one west of the Genesee 
River, was the Genesee Intelligencer, in the spring of 1807, by Elias 
Williams, who purchased an old Ramage printing press from Manlius, 
N. Y., that had been put aside as useless. He also bought a box of 
old type in "pi." After much labor he got out his paper, a half 
sheet, medium size, with a subscription list of 100. It contained two 
or three columns of advertisements from the Holland Land Company, 
an account of an elopement, and a runaway apprentice boy, for whose 
apprehension a bag of bran was offered as a reward. In July, 1807, 
Benjamin Blodgett with his all ($48.75) joined Williams, and published 
13 numbers, when Williams went to a general training in Alexander 
and never was heard of more.' Blodgett abandoned the enterprise 
then, but in the spring of 1808 he enlisted Samuel Peck with him, 
then publishing the Cornucopia, an enlarged sheet with new type 
and a list of 300 subscribers. Peck died in 181 i, and the publication 
ceased. In 181 1 Benjamin Blodgett and Col. David C. Miller began 
the publication of the Republican Advocate, Miller continuing the same 
until 1828 (soon after the Morgan affair), when he dropped out and 
into politics, and soon moved away. He was succeeded by Charles 
Sentell and other publishers from time to time, among whom were 
Charles W. Miller, Edwin Hough, Andrew W. Young (later of the 
Warsaw Sentinel), assisted by Dr. Z. Metcalf in 1832, Lewis & Brown, 
C. C. Allen, Waite & Cooley, and D. D. Waite, who had charge of 
the paper more or less for 40 years, and who was first associated with 
Andrew W. Young in Warsaw. He was a hard worker, and under his 
management the Advocate was for a long time the leading influential 
Whig and Republican journal of Western New York. He was firm in 
his political opinions and an honest man. He died in 1878, aged 



204 GENESEE COUNTY. 



6"] years. About 1854-55 Kimberly & Goodrich, aided by John R. 
Cooper, a practical printer, who afterwards went to the war, controlled 
the paper, adding to it the name Genesee County Whig; but in 1857 Mr. 
Waite, on resuming the charge, placed the original name at the head, 
aided financially by Hon. Benjamin Pringle. In May, 1859, Mr. Waite 
started the Daily Advocate, continuing the same until 1867. Upon the 
death of Mr. Waite Messrs. Fairman (from Elmira) and Whittle purchased 
the paper, but they only issued it a few months, when it was discontinued, 
the publishers making arrangements by which the subscription list of the 
Advocate was merged in that of the Batavian. Messrs. Fairman and 
Whittle removed to Tioga, Pa., and established an Advocate there. 

In 1852 (?) or prior a split occurred in the dominant political party 
in Genesee County, and two factions, known as the " Silver Grays " and 
" Wooly Heads," came to the surface. The Reptiblican Advocate was 
then allied to the " Silver Gray," or conservative wing, and their oppo- 
nents had no local organ. The late Trumbull Cary, of Batavia, long a 
personal friend of Hon. William H. Seward, then furnished the means to 
establish a paper named the Genesee County Whig, and intended it to 
further the interests of what soon became the Republican party. This 
paper appeared in 1852, with Kimberly & Tyrrell as editors, and its 
columns were constantly filled with the well written and spicy editorials 
of John H. Kimberly and William Tyrrell. It was a pronounced political 
success, and in two years (1854) the proprietors, having purchased the 
Advocate, consolidated the two papers. 

The Progressive Batavian is a weekly newspaper published at 
Batavia by R. S. Lewis, its editor and proprietor. It was established by 
him in 1868, and succeeded the Genesee Democrat, which he acquired by 
purchase. It is Republican in politics, and has been, almost since its es- 
tablishment, the leading paper of that party in the county. It has a cir- 
culation of over 2,000. It is a firm friend and advocate of temperance 
and good morals, and is, as its motto expresses it, " Firm in the Right, 
as God gives us to see the Right." Local news is one of its strong fea- 
tures. In each town in the county it has bright, active correspondents, 
who furnish it, weekly, with the local happenings in their respective towns 
and localities, and thus the Batavian is enabled each week to furnish its 
readers with a very complete report of the local news of the whole 
county. It is an influential and prosperous newspaper. 

The People s Press \w3.s published in 1825 by Benjamin Blodgett, who 
carried it on, with the assistance of several gentlemen, for about one year. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 205 



when it passed into the hands of Martin, Adams & Thorp, and was merged 
into the SPIRIT OF THE TiMES. The Morgan episode, occurring in the 
fall of 1826, was the occasion of numerous publications being started 
for and against Masonry. The Advocate, published by Miller, not being 
able to hold all the invectives directed against the Masons, he supple- 
mented it by the issue of the Morgan Investigator, which was published 
from his office until 1827. During this excitement, and for about one 
year, the Masonic Intelligencer was issued from the office of the People s 
Press, and it is to be inferredthat the whole subject was pretty thoroughly 
ventilated. In September, 1830, the People's Press was united with the 
Spirit of the Times. 

In 1837 Peter Lawrence, a jolly, witty, smart, and shiftless Irish 
printer, went to Alexander and stared the Farmers' and Mechanics' Jour- 
nal. That village was then very small, and though Lawrence was bubbling 
over with Hibernian humor, he could not make the thing pay. In 1840 
Frederick Follett purchased an interest in the concern, and it was then 
removed to Batavia and called the Batavia Times and Farmers and 
Mechanics' Journal. Its removal, however, brought no profit to the 
owners, and Peter Lawrence, who soon left, established a paper at Perry, 
N. Y. Mr. Follett continued' until August 6, 1843, when he sold the 
establishment to William Seaver and his son Lucas, who merged it into 
the Spirit of the Times. 

In 1842, when a phenomenal temperance y>/r<?r prevailed, the Temper- 
ance Herald, a small monthly quarto newspaper, was published by Lucas 
Seaver from the SPIRIT OF THE TiMES office. Branon Young, a lawyer, of 
Batavia, was its editor, and, although the subscription price was only 50 
cents a year, it had a wonderfully large circulation for two years, and 
was then discontinued. 

The first number of the SPIRIT OF THE TIMES was issued at Batavia, 
February 3, 1819, by Oran Follett, a young printer from Canandaigua. 
He was assisted by Daniel P. Adams, also a young printer, and Frede- 
rick Follett, apprentice. Oran Follett continued as proprietor until Jan- 
uary, 1825, when he sold out to his brother and went to Buffalo. Adams 
also went away, but returned a year later. In 1826 Frederick Follett 
added the name Batavia Advertiser, but soon dropped it. Ini 830 the 
People s Press was united with it, both names being used, and published 
by Follett & Adams. Follett run the paper for five years, when it was 
sold to a " Democratic " syndicate, D. E. Evans, William Seaver, H. J. 
Redfield, Stephen Grant, D. H. Chandler, E. Mix, S. Cummings, J. B. 



206 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Skinner, W. B. Collar, and R. H. Smith, William Seaver being sole edi- 
tor, and N. D. Wood the publisher. In 1837 ^^- FoUett returned and 
issued the paper for three years, when Col. William Seaver bought out 
the interests of all the proprietors for his son Lucas, a practical printer. 
He issued the paper for five years, when Col. Seaver and his other sons 
continued the paper until September, 1853, when it was sold to C. S. 
Hurley, who tried to publish it (but unsuccessfully) as a " Know-Noth- 
ing " paper. It was sold (in 1856) under the hammer, and most all the 
material shipped to Central America. Andrew J. McWain, an appren- 
tice with Col. Seaver, in 1856 purchased the Genesee Hej'ald {{hew printed 
at Le Roy), moved all the material to Batavia, and in January, 1857, 
continued its publication under the title of Genesee County Herald and 
Spirit of tJie Times. The late Dr. Chauncy D. Griswold was its editor, and 
a Daily Herald was published in 1858. '59, and '60, and then dropped^ 
Mr. McWain died June 29, i860, aged 25 years, and for a few months 
his administrators carried on the paper, when, in i860, Henry Todd 
bought out the establishment and dropped the Herald designation, re- 
taining the familiar name of the Spirit of the Times, and once more 
made it the Democratic organ of Genesee County. 

Henry Todd, a practical printer, came from England in 1852, and was 
for several months employed as a compositor on the Buffalo Courier, 
then owned by William G. Seaver. In 1852, with the assistance of Messrs. 
Redfield and Richmond, he went to Le Roy and began the publication 
o{ iX^Q Le Roy Democrat. In 1853 he removed the establishment to Ba- 
tavia, and called his paper the Batavia Democrat, continuing the publi- 
cation as such for two or three years, when H. Wilber and his brother- 
in-law became proprietors, and changed the name to Genesee Democrat^ 
but it soon was a non-paying investment, so that the press and type 
were sold to R. S. Lewis, who began the issue of the PROGRESSIVE Ba- 
TAVIAN. Henry Todd published the SPIRIT OF THE TiMKS from i860 
until January i, 1886, when his son, Charles E. Todd, and A. H. Thomas 
leased the plant, continuing the the arrangement for one year, when Mr. 
Thomas became owner and conducted the office alone until April 15, 
1889, when the present proprietors, Messrs. Thomas & Hall, took up the 
work so long pursued by Mr. Todd. They are giving the citizens of the 
county an ably edited, newsy, Democratic journal. 

A. H. Thomas v»'as born in Tarrytown, N. Y., November 8, 1855. He 
learned the trade of printer in the office of the Phelps's Citizen, and for a 
time was with the Netuark Courier, after which he published the Clifton 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 207 



Springs Nezvs, at Clifton Springs, N. Y. For two years he was engaged 
in business at Cincinnati, Ohio, when he came to Batavia, and was local 
editor of the PROGRESSIVE Batavian for t^iree years when he became 
connected with the SPIRIT OF THE TiMES. 

Joseph F. Hall was born in Rochester, N. Y, September 26, 1865. 
After completing his education he became connected with the Joseph 
Hall Manufacturing Co., of Rochester, N. Y., and Oshawa, Ont. He 
came to Batavia in 1885, and was in the employ of the Johnston Har- 
vester Co. for two years. Since attaining his majority Mr. Hall has taken 
an interest in politics, and now occupies a position of considerable prom- 
inence in the Genesee County Democracy. Mr. Hall was married to 
Miss Frances Holden Seaver, daughter of David Seaver, in September, 
1889. 

The Batavia Daily News was established June 25, 1878. by M. D. 
& S. P. Mix. W. H. Bradish was the editor, remaining about three 
months, when G. S. Griswold succeeded him. It was a small four-col- 
umn sheet, but being sold for one cent a copy it soon reached a circula- 
tion of 1,000 copies a day. The paper was enlarged in 1879 and the 
price raised to two cents per copy. G. S. Griswold, who had before re- 
tired from the paper, formicd a copartnership with A. J. McWain, and 
together they bought out the business, which had never reached a solid 
foundation, the circulation having dwindled down to 500 copies. Under 
the new management of Griswold & McVVain they have continued to 
publish the NEWS, enlarging and improving it as their means would al- 
low% and the business has increased until at the present day it is one of 
the most successful village dailies in the State, printing the United Press 
dispatches, having a circulation averaging 3,000 copies daily, and enjoy- 
ing a large advertising patronage as well as doing a job printing busi- 
•ness. The editor is A. J. McVVain; the business manager is G. S. Gris 
wold ; the parents of both were engaged in newspaper work many years 
ago in Batavia. , 

For a short time from October, 1888. the Morning Advertiser was is- 
sued by George B. Herrick. an active, go-ahead man. There were 33 
numbers published. In February, 1890, L. C. Parmer and M. A. Weed 
started the SUN, a weekly issued every Saturday. 

Union School District, No. 2.— In 1811 a deed was executed convey- 
ing to Simeon Cummings and Libbeus Fish the premises which after- 
wards came to be known as the "old brick school-house," standing upon 
the northwest corner of what is now Main and Ross streets. This build- 



208 GENESEE COUNTY. 



ing was torn down in 1873, upon the widening of Ross street, after the 
erection of the present High School building. The earliest official school 
record of the district extant is dated November 25, 18 13, and is as fol- 
lows : 

TOWN OF BATAVIA. 

" School District No. 2 includes all that part of the village of Batavia East of an alley 
on the East side of Lot No. 16, and a line running South from the South end of Said 
alley to the Southern boundary of said village ; the North half of Lots No. 7, 9, and 11. 
Section 8, North third of Lot No. i. Section 12; Lots No. 8, 10, and 12, Section 8; 
Lots No. 7, 8, 9, 10, II, and 12, Section 9; Lots No. 2, 4, and 6, Section 13, T. 12, R. i, 

''To Simeon Cummings, Esquire: You are hereby required and directed to warn all 
the freeholders or taxable inhabitants of District No. 2, a description whereof is above 
given, to meet at the Brick School-House in said District, on Wednesday the first day 
of December next, at One O'clock, p. M., by virtue of an act entitled : An act for the 
establishment of Common Schools. 

"John Z. Ross, ) ^ .• c u 1 r -r- 
■• Eben-r Mix, ( *=°'^- °' ^^,^°°'f ^"'^ T°^" 

•• ISAIAH BABCOCK.f of Batavia. 

"Batavia, November 25, 1813." 

Following this is a list of 43 freeholders, or taxable inhabitants, warned 
in accordance with the above notice. At this meeting, held on the first 
day of December^ 18 13, Simeon Cummings, Libbeus Fish, and Daniel B. 
Brown were chosen trustees of the district ; Richard Smith, clerk ; and 
James Cochrane, collector. This marks the formation and the election of 
the first officers of school distiict No. 2. 

By a report of the trustees to the school commissioners of the town 
dated March 26, 1822, it appears that 155 children had been taught in 
the school during the school year closing at that date ; and that the 
number of children between the ages of five and 15 years residing in the 
■district on the first day of January preceding was 121. At the annual 
school meeting held October 12, 1829, school district No. 2 was divided. 
All that portion of the district west of Center and Bank streets was set 
•off and designated as district No. 12 ; the portion of the district east of 
said streets retained the original title of school district No. 2. The school 
records of the preceding and the following years are very meagre and 
unsatisfactory, as they contain little else than the recital of the election 
of certain persons as officers of the district, and the levying of certain 
small taxes, usually less than $50 annually. In the autumn of 1846 
districts No. 2 and 12 were reunited under the title of "Consolidated 
School District No. 2." 

At a meeting of the inhabitants of the new consolidated district, held 
December 28, 1846, a committee was appointed to ascertain where a 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



209 



suitable site could be obtained for the erection of a new school building. 
This committee reported at an adjourned meeting, held January 19, 
1847, in favor of the lot now occupied by the Baker Gun Company. 
The recommendation of the committee was adopted at the meeting by a 
vote of 36 yeas to 12 noes. April 6, 1847, the trustees were authorized 
to borrow $5,500 for the purpose of purchasing the site and building a 
school-house. With the money thus voted the two-story brick building 
on Liberty street (now occupied by the Gun Company) was erected, 
and made ready for occupancy in the fall of 1848. In November, 1853, 
at a special meeting, it was decided by a vote of 102 to 34 to establish a 
Union Free School. At the same meeting, and by reason of the deci- 
sion to establish a Union Free School, a board of education consisting 
of six members was elected. This board at its first meeting elected 
L. W. Hart principal of the Union School just established. The board, 
also at this meeting, passed the following resolution : 

" Resolved, That we do not deem it expedient, at present, to establish an Academic 
Department." 

In April, 1854, G. W. Starkweather was employed as principal, the 
records leaving us in mystery as to the fate of his predecessor (L. W» 
Hart), employed the November previous. At the annual meeting, 
September 29, 1857, the following action was taken: 

"Resolved, That the trustees, if they deem it proper, establish an Academic Department 
in the school." 

No action on the part of the trustees, so far as the records show, re- 
sulted from this resolution. In January, 1861, the board of education 
made application to the Regents of the University of the State of New 
York for the establishment of an academic department in connection 
with the Union School. This request was granted, and in October of 
the same year the first " Report to the Regents " from school district 
No. 2 was adopted by the board of education and forwarded to them at 
Albany. 

In the year 1871 it was found necessary to provide additional room 
for pupils, as the school building on Liberty street could not accommo- 
date those seeking admission. A dilapidated tenement house in the 
vicinity was rented and fitted up with school furniture. It was soon 
crowded with from 60 to 70 pupils. As the number of those attending 
school continued to increase the subject of additional room forced itself 
upon the attention both of the board of education and the patrons of the 
school. In April, 1872, at an adjourned school meeting held in EUicott 



2rO GENESEE COUNTY. 



Hall, the site of the present school building on Ross street was adopted, 
and $50,000 appropriated for the purpose of erecting a school building 
thereon. The State superintendent of public instruction, upon appeal, 
set aside the action of this meeting. 

Pending the appeal to the State superintendent of schools the trustees 
purchased the present site for the school, there being no stay of proceed- 
ings, and the vote of the district meeting in April, 1872, having author- 
ized it. On the first day of August following this decision the district, 
by a decisive vote, authorized the raising of $40,000, together with what- 
ever money should accrue from the sale of the old school building and 
lot, for the payment of the new site and the erection of a new school 
building thereon. At the annual meeting in October, 1873, $25,000 ad- 
ditional was voted for the completion of the building. 

On the first day of September, 1874, dedicatory exercises were held in 
the completed building, which was pronounced at that time by compe- 
tent judges one of the finest and best equipped school buildings in the 
State. In October, 1874, the district voted the further sum of $5, 000 for 
the furnishing of the building, grading of the grounds, etc. Although 
two rooms (one each upon the first and second floors) were not required 
for school purposes when the new building was first occupied, and the 
remark was by no means uncommon that provision for the wants of the 
district had been made for 50 years to come, yet within five years the 
building was crowded to its utmost capacity. 

October 10, 1882, the annual school meeting voted $10,000 for the 
erection of a school building for the accommodation of the younger 
children living south of the railroads. With this appropriation a site 
was purchased and the Pringle Avenue school building erected. School 
was opened in two rooms of this building in September, 1884, but in 
November following it was found necessary to open the two additional 
rooms to meet the wants of the school. A special meeting of the dis- 
trict was called by the board of education July 21, 1884, to take into 
consideration the subject of providing still further accommodations for the 
children seeking admission to the schools. At this meeting the site of the 
Washington Avenue School was selected, and $8,000 voted for its pur- 
chase and the erection of a school building. The house was completed 
and occupied for school purposes in September, 1885. School district No. 
4 (now West Main Street School) was united with Union School District 
No. 2 in June, 1883, and the district formerly known as district No, 15 
(now Pearl Street School) in January, 1887. The area of the Union 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



211 



School District No. 2, as now constituted, is some 15 square miles. The 
number of children of school age (over five and under 21), according to 
the census of June, 1889, is 2,1 16. 

Principals of the Batavia Union School from its formation in 1853 to 
1889 are: G. W. Starkweather, 1853-54; George Babcock, 1855-59; 
George H. Stowiits, 1859-60 ; N. F.Wright, 1860-67; Gardner Fuller, 
1867-89. 

Table showing the average number of pupils registered during the 
month of September in periods of five years for the last 20 years : 



September, 1868 

1873 
1878 



average number registered 216 

280 

420 

720 



Table showing amount of money appropriated by the Regents of the 
University for academic scholars in periods of five years for the last 20 
years : 

In January, 1868, money appropriated $ 179 00 



1873. 



252 53 
296 07 
317 96 
890 79 
1.049 48 



An event, perhaps the most worthy of commemoration of any in the 
history of the district, occurred March 12, 1889. Mrs. Mary E. Rich- 
mond had erected a beautiful library building and reading room as a me- 
morial of her son, Dean Richmond, Jr. This she deeded, on that day, to 
the trustees of the Batavia Union School District No. 2, and their succes 
sors, for the accommodation of the school library, and to provide a free 
reading room for all the inhabitants of the district. This most munifi- 
cent gift will doubtless prove through all the future an ever widening in- 
fluence for good. At the same time the trustees of the Batavia Library 
Association conveyed to the trustees of the Union School District their 
library of upwards of 3,000 volumes and nearly $4,000 in invested funds; 
the library to be consolidated with the Union School Library, and the in- 
come of the invested funds to be used for the support of a free reading 
room in connection with the Richmond Memorial Library. 

Professor Gardner Fuller, who is at present the superintendent of schools 
of Batavia, was born in Fullerville. St. Lawrence County, N. Y.,and pre- 
pared for college at Falley Seminary, Fulton, and Cazenovia Seminary, 



212 GENESEE COUNTY. 

Cazenovia, N. Y. He was graduated from Wesleyan University, Mid- 
dletown, Conn., in 1858. After leaving college he taught for a time at 
Great Barrington, Mass., and also at Newtown and Bridgeport, Conn., and 
was principal of Macedon Academy, at Macedon, N. Y., from 1865 to 
1867. In 1867 he was employed as principal of the Union Free School 
at Batavia, to succeed Prof N. F. Wright. Professsor Fuller t6ok charge 
of the school, teaching as principal in the academic department, which 
had been established 10 years before. Soon after entering upon his du- 
ties he reorganized every department ; classes were more thoroughly 
drilled ; more attention was paid to the classics and higher branches of 
mathematics ; and a greater thoroughness in all the branches was insisted 
upon. The course pursued by Professor Fuller drew in many pupils from 
surrounding districts, and people began to move into the village to edu- 
cate their children. In 1871 it was found that additional room was re- 
quired for the pupils, and school meetings were held in 1872, which re- 
sulted in the erection and completion of the large and elegant school 
building on Ross street. Upon moving into the new building the school 
was regraded under his supervision. The number of pupils has been on 
the increase ever since, and several private schools have been abandoned 
for the reason that they could not compete with the public school. Large 
additions to the population of the village have been made, and the prices 
of real estate have been kept up by the fact that it was everywhere well 
known that the village had an excellent Union Free School. By his thor- 
ough drill and management a great impetus has been given to the study 
of the classics and higher branches of an English education. A large 
number of students have been prepared for college, and wherever they 
have applied for admission they have been readily received, and in every 
instance have been found fully qualified for the classes they have en- 
tered. Others have prepared for the learned professions and are suc- 
cessful. These things operate as a great stimulus to those in the lower 
classes, who are stretching forward with eagerness to reach the academic 
department and complete the full course adopted in the school. 

It is now over 22 years since Professor Fuller took charge of the school, 
and notwithstanding its multitude of pupils it was never more efficient 
or prosperous than at the present time. As a teacher and organizer of 
schools he has proved a very decided success. This of course requires 
great ability, a large amount of intelligence, and untiring energy and 
perseverance, all of which qualities he fully possesses. He is not only 
an excellent classical scholar and well versed in mathematics, but is well 




I 



:m m^^\ 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



213 



I 



read and keeps up his acquaintance with the literature of the day, as may- 
be seen by the well selected library connected with the school, a large 
portion of its volumes having been selected at his suggestion. 

The school is an institution the citizens of Batavia may well be proud 
of, and by their continuance of Professor Fuller in charge of it for nearly 
a quarter of a century they have shown their appreciation of his work. 
When he came here only four teachers were required to conduct the 
school. Now it requires upwards of 20. There were then four school- 
rooms occupied. Now 17 are in use besides the recitation rooms, and 
more school rooms are needed, and yet the utmost harmony pervades 
every department. The success of the school is due to an intelligent, 
liberal minded public, to its efficient board of education, to its energetic, 
self-sacrificing corps of teachers, and, most of all, to its able and energetic 
principal and superintendent, Gardner Fuller. 

Dean Richmond, who for a long series of years was recognized as a 
vital force in the financial, political, and railroad world of New York 
State, won his way to the front rank of his generation by sheer energy, 
hard work, and a genius for overcoming obstacles and making circum- 
stances the servants of his will. He possessed also the keen vision that 
enabled him to read the signs of the times, and shape his course in ac- 
cordance therewith. He was truly the architect of his own fortune, in- 
heriting nothing from the generations before him but an honored family 
name and the high qualities of character for which the Richmonds of 
New England were noted. He was a native of Vermont, and was born 
March 31, 1804, in the town of Barnard. His parents were Hatheway 
and Rachel D^an Richmond, who early immigrated to that portion of 
New York State now embraced in the corporate limits of Syracuse, where 
his father was engaged in the early salt industry of that region. His 
father, being unfortunate in business, removed to Mobile, where he died, 
leaving a widow, two daughters, and a son, the latter only 14 years of 
age, dependent upon their own exertions. It was at this early age that 
young Richmond showed the material of which he was made, resolutely 
taking up the business abandoned by his father, and with little else save 
the debts of the old concern, and a capital composed of health and en- 
ergy, began his active life. A year later the death of his mother left him 
an orphan. • 

The market for salt had heretofore been limited, but the energy with 
which the young man pushed the sale soon extended it to new districts, 
and ere long the business began to yield a satisfactory income. He soon 

14 



2J4 GENESEE COUNTY. 



after began to interest himself in various other enterprises, in which he 
also commanded success. In 1842 he removed to Buffalo, where he en- 
gaged in the commission and transporting business, dealing principally 
with the products of the great West. Bringing to his business operations 
the wise foresight and judgment which ever characterized him, he be- 
came, in the course of a few years, one of the wealthiest and most influ- 
ential men of the lake region. 

In the midst of this active career he formed his first connection with 
railroad affairs, becoming a director of the Utica and Buffalo Railroad 
Company. When the direct line to Batavia was completed he became a 
resident of that village, which continued to be his home for the remainder 
of his life, although his business headquarters were still retained at Buf- 
falo. His connection with the New York Central Company was one of 
the great events of his railroad career. When competition of rival roads 
forced the consolidation of the seven distinct companies into the New 
York Central, in 1853, Mr. Richmond was foremost in the determined 
struggle, and his sagacity, address, and perseverance alone carried the 
measure in the State legislature. He was the first vice-president of the 
company, which position he held until he was elected president on the 
retirement of Mr. Corning in 1864. He also served as president of the 
L. S. & M. S. Railroad for a number of years. While connected with 
the Central the company relied most implicitly upon his judgment, and 
never undertook any enterprise of importance without first submitting it 
to him for advice and approbation. He was the first American railroad 
man to advocate the laying of steel rails, and after trial, his judgment 
proving correct, a large order was sent to England, but they did not reach 
this country until after his death. 

It is needless to mention in particular all of the various business enter- 
prises with which he was connected through a long an active career; he 
was eminently successful in all. His private business always possessed 
a charm to him superior to the allurements of office or public life. Es- 
teeming it a duty, however, that each man owed to his country he gave 
close attention to politics. His political convictions were very strongs 
and were steadfastly maintained. His views were broad, and he grasped 
National affairs with no more difficulty than matters purely local. While 
a resident of Onondaga County, early in life, he was one of the Demo- 
cratic leaders, and he always enjoyed the unlimited confidence of his 
political associates, and exerted a greater influence in the Democratic 
party of the State than any other man of his time. He served as chair- 
man of the Democratic party from about 1857 until his death in 1866. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



215 



From a speech upon the life-work of Mr. Richmond, in the Demo- 
cratic State convention of September, 1866, by Hon. S. J. Tilden, we 
quote the following: 

" I remember very well in 1864, when the Nation was anxiously looking for a candi- 
date for the highest office in its gift, public opinion turned verv generally to this gentle- 
man. . . . Mr. Richmond firmly and persistently refused to entertain the idea. It 
is my firm conviction that except for that refusal his nomination was entirely possible, 
and his election extremely probable. ... I think he was one of the best informed 
and ablest men whom I have ever had the opportunity to know." 

While Mr. Richmond's mental qualities were all the foregoing de- 
scribes, they were even excelled by his goodness of heart. Many noble 
deeds of his benevolence might be related. His actsof philanthrophy were 
so numerous, and so disinterested and generous, that they defied attempts 
at concealment, and his name became as well known in the State for good- 
ness of heart as it was for business astuteness and political sagacity. In- 
his social relations he was kindly and genial, while in the privacy of the 
family circle his noble qualities shone with lustre. 

In the summer of 1866, after attending the Saratoga convention, he, 
in company with Mr. Tilden. made a trip to Washington and Philadel- 
phia, returning to New York, August 1 8th. The following day, while cal- 
ling upon Mr. Tilden at his residence, he was taken seriously ill, and 
August 27th death relieved him from his sufferings. The marks of respect 
paid his memory by high and low, and the words of sympathy and sor- 
row that came from all sections, voiced the world's appreciation of the 
greatness and goodness of the departed. Mr. Richmond was laid to rest 
in the cemetery at Batavia, where a magnificent mausoleum marks his 
final resting-place. 

The RicJimond Memorial Library, of which we present an engraving, 
was erected by Mrs. Mary E. Richmond in memory of her son, Dean 
Richmond, Jr., who died in 1885. The building stands on the west side 
of Ross street, in close proximity to the Union School. The site has a 
frontage of 179 feet on the street. The building was carefully planned 
by James G. Cutler, of Rochester, to afford the nece.ssary accommodation 
for a combined reference and lending library, and is so arranged that the 
books are housed in a fire-proof building. It is of a monumental and 
elaborate character, befitting its memorial object, and care has been taken 
to so fit the library as not to incur a heavy expense in its maintenance. 
All of the structure as seen from the street is of light gray Fredonia 
sandstone and red Albion stone, which, combined, make two of the finest 
building materials in this section. The style is Romanesque, and is re- 



2l6 GENESEE COUNTY. 



garded as best adapted to the United States, and in which style most of 
the fine modern buildings erected within a few years past have been de- 
signed. A liberal amount of handsome carving gives a sense of com- 
pleteness and richness to the structure, and a warm and agreeable color 
effect is produced by the orange red of the roof and crestings. The gut- 
ters and metal work are of copper. The dimensions are 87 feet across 
the front, and an extreme depth of 87 feet, the plan being in the form 
of the letter T; the reading room, hall, librarian's room, and toilet rooms 
being in front, and the stock rooms projecting from the center to the 
rear of the main building. Ascending the low, broad flight of stone 
steps near the center of the front, the visitor stands first in a wide vesti- 
bule, with a handsome tile floor, and under the large half- circle arch 
which forms the principal entrance. From the vestibule a massive oak 
door gives entrance to the hall, 14 feet wide, at the end of which is the 
window communicating with the stock room. At the right of the hall 
on entering is the toilet and cloak rooms for ladies and gentlemen, and 
the door which connects with the office of the librarian. To the left ot 
the hall a large pair of folding doors open into the reading room, which 
is the most attractive feature of the interior. This magnificant room is 
24 feet wide by 42 feet long, with a height of 15 feet. At the end of 
the room, opposite the entrance, in a recess formed by the half-circle 
arch, is a great fire-place finished in red brick tile and surmounted by a 
handsome oak mantel with rich carving, and above the shelf is a large 
oak frame, on which is a bronze tablet bearing this inscription : "This 
building, erected A. D. 1887, as a memorial of Dean Richmond, Jr., by 
his mother, Mary Richmond." This tablet is oblong in shape, and fits 
in the wood work over the fire-place. A large and very elaborate pair 
of wrought-iron andirons complete the fire-place, which has a brick tile 
hearth. The room is furnished with handsome oak tables and chairs of 
beautiful design ; a handsome outfit of gas fixtures of wrought-iron, in- 
cluding a 24-light central chandelier, which hangs from the ceiling, be- 
tween the heavy oak beams with which this part of the room is finished; 
and bracket lights, with Argand burners, over each table. The room is 
panelled in antique oak for a height of 7^ feet from the floor, on a line 
with the bottom of the high windows, which have plate glass in suitable 
patterns in the transoms. The interior finish of all the rooms in the 
library is of antique oak. An extra room, for the storage of pamphlets, 
etc., has been arranged over the librarian's and toilet rooms, access to 
which is by a winding stair in the octagonal tower, which is a striking 



TOWN or BATAVIA. 217 



feature of the exterior. This fire-proof building was commenced in 1887, 
and completed and presented to the village March 12, 1889. The capa- 
city is for 40,000 volumes; the cost was about $35,000. 

Mrs. Mary Elizabeth (Mead) Richmond, whose many acts of charity 
and benevolence, and whose generous aid to every enterprise to build up 
Batavia and advance its moral and material growth, deserves especial 
mention in the history of Genesee County; was born in Troy, N. Y., in 
June, 1 813, her ancestry being of English and French extraction. Her 
father was a ship chandler, and for many years navigated the Hudson 
River. Her mother died when she was nine years of age, and three years 
later the death of her father left her an orphan. Finding a home with 
her grandparents, in Troy, her early education was commenced in Mrs. 
Willard's Academy. Subsequently she found a home with her only sis- 
ter, the wife of Brig.-Gen. Enos D. Hopping, who died while in the 
Mexican war. In 1849 her sister died, leaving no children. While re- 
siding with her sister she met Dean Richmond, and February 19, 1833, 
they were united in marriage. Nine children were born to them, namel)^ : 
Alfred William, who died in New York in 1881 ; Harriet, who died in 
infancy ; Henry A., the head of the Richmond Lithographic Co., of Buf- 
falo ; Charles, who died in infancy ; Adelaide R. Kenny ; W. Eugene, a 
resident of Buffalo ; Edgar and Edward (twins), the former deceased, and 
the latter a resident of Chattanooga, Tenn.; and Dean, Jr. Dean Rich- 
mond, Jr., was a young man of promise, and died in 1885. He was a 
resident of Kansas City, Mo. Since 1853 Mrs. Richmond has resided 
in Batavia, and here we find her enjoying the autumn of her life, in her 
beautiful home, in a community in which she has done so much to ad- 
vance its welfare and elevate its social and moral life. 

The Richmond Memorial Library, erected by her to the memory of her 
son, Dean Richmond, Jr., will carry to posterity a grateful remembrance 
of her noble and generous nature. 

Mrs. Adelaide R. Kenny has, since her residence in Batavia, been an 
able assistant and promoter of the good works of her mother, and has 
also been conspicuous in charitable, educational, and progressive business 
movements. She was born in Syracuse, but received her elementary 
education in the schools of Batavia, being also under the charge of a pri- 
vate governess. February 2, 1869, she was united in marriage with Dr. 
William J. C. Kenny, of New York city. He died in June, 1873, while 
serving as treasurer of the Buffalo Courier Co., of which he was the 
largest stockholder. Since 1 873 Mrs. Kenny has resided with her mother 



2l8 GENESEE COUNTY. 



in Batavia. She is now serving her second term as a member of the 
school board of education, and is also a director of the Genesee County 
Bank, of which her brother, Dean Richmond, Jr., was one of the found- 
ers Mrs. Kenny and her mother were instrumental in advancing the 
interests of the new Hotel Richmond. 

The First Presbyterian Society of Batavia. — The first organization of a 
society was September 19, 1809. A meeting was held at the Center 
school-house, presided over by Rev. Royal Phelps, of the Hampshire 
Missionary Society of Massachusetts, and a Congregational Church was 
formed. The original membership was as follows: Silas Chapin, David 
Anderson, Ezekiel Fox, Solomon Kingsley, Mrs. Solomon Kingsley, 
Patience Kingsley, Eleanor Smith, Elizabeth Mathers, Mrs. Esther Kel- 
logg, Elizabeth Peck, Huldah Wright, and Mrs. Polly Branard. The 
church became Presbyterian, October 2, 181 8. Its present corporate 
name was legally acquired in 1822. A sacramental service was next 
held in September in Jesse Rumsey's barn, and in June, 18 10, a regular 
meeting was held in Abel Wheeler's barn, a sermon being preached by 
Rev. Reuben Parmelee. Subsequently other meetings were held at 
Phelps's inn, Phelps school- house, Clark's settlement, and the houses of 
Ezekiel Fox and Samuel Ranger. Benjamin Porter (of the Revolution- 
ary war) was a trustee and deacon. In 181 3 services were held in the 
court-house, and continued there until the completion of the "meeting- 
house" on Main street in 1824. The Presbyterian form of government 
was adopted October 2, 18 18. The following are the names of the mis- 
sionaries officiating at intervals up to 18 18: Rev. Reuben Parmelee, Rev. 
John Spencer, Rev. John Alexander, Rev. Messrs. Ames, Bliss, Swift, 
Hanning, Sweezy, Squires, Colton, Duvel, and Chapin. In 1818 Rev. 
Ephraim Chapin was regularly settled, and officiated until 1822, and 
others succeeded as follows : Rev. Ephraim Chapin, 1817-22 ; Rev. Cal- 
vin Colton, 1823-26; Rev. Charles Whitehead, 1827-28; Rev. Russell 
Whiting, 1829-31 ; Rev. Erastus J. Gillett, 1837-39; Rev. William H. 
Beecher, 1839-43; I^^v. Byron Sunderland, 1843-51; Rev. William 
Lusk, 1852-55; Rev. Isaac O. Fillmore, 1855-58; Rev. Charles F. 
Mussey, 1861-69; Rev. Chester W. Hawley, 1871-74; Rev. Thomas B. 
McLeod, 1875-77; Rev. William Swan, 1878-87; Rev. Allan D. Dra- 
per, 1887. 

The first edifice was constructed of wood, at a cost of $3,574, and oc- 
cupied by the society up to the opening of the present beautiful stone 
church edifice, dedicated February 20, 1856. The present church has 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



219 



been improved from time to time, and especially made more commodi- 
ous by the addition of the Sunday-school rooms in 1882 ; by a new gal- 
lery in 1888; and a complete renovation and decoration of the inside 
vi^alls in 1889. The old bell, cast in town in very early days by Coch- 
ran, did duty in its wooden tower until dashed to the ground on the 
night of election in November, 1856. In 1886 a new bell was purchased. 
The board of trustees of the society are Henry F. Tarbox, president; 
Levant C. Mclntyre, secretary ; Theron F. Woodward, treasurer; Leon- 
ard Travis and W. Harris Day. The total membership of the society is 
^T"]. The Sabbath-school has 504 members upon the roll, with 29 
classes, under the superintendence of L. C. Mclntyre. The value of the 
property of the society is between $50,000 and $60,000, and the seating 
capacity of the church is 900. 

Rev. Allan D. Draper, the pastor of the First Presbyterian. Church ot 
Batavia, was born in Phelps, N. Y. His parents were V. V. and Eliza- 
beth Draper. He graduated from the Iowa State University (classical 
department) in 1876, and while there served one year as captain of Co. 
B, Iowa State Militia, University Battalion. In 1879 he was graduated 
from the Union Theological Seminary, New York city. He then served 
a pastorate of nearly six years at Red Creek, Wayne County, when he 
came to Bergen in 1884, remaining until July, 1887, when he was called 
to Batavia. December 29, 1881, he married Bertha F. Stoutenburgh, of 
Phelps, N. Y. 

St. James s Protestant Episcopal CJmrch. — The parish of St. James's 
Church is one of the oldest in this section of the State. The church 
stands to-day upon the same ground it has occupied from the beginning. 
The parish was established chiefly through the labors of the Rev. Alan- 
son W. Welton, a clergyman of the church residing in Ontario County. 
For several years prior to 181 5 he had been invited and officiated in this 
and the neighboring towns, though of necessity but few times each year. 
His labors were rewarded by the organization of the parish at Batavia, 
at a meeting held in the court-house, or Heacock's inn, on Tuesday, 
June 6, 1815. A committee was appointed to wait upon Joseph Ellicott, 
who agreed to give $1,500 if the new structure would be of brick. No 
record has been kept as to the number of members at that time, but 
enough certainly to comply with the law. At this meeting the following 
persons were elected members. of the vestry: John Heacock and Sam- 
uel Benedict, wardens ; Richard Smith, Isaac Sutherland, Isaac Spencer, 
John Z. Ross, Chauncey Keyes, David C. Miller, Aaron Van Cleve, Os- 
wald Williams, vestrymen. 



220 GENESEE COUNTY. 



'^ Steps were taken as early as 1815 for the building of a house of wor- 
ship, but the first (brick) building was not completed so as to be occupied 
until eight years after, and was consecrated by Bishop Hobart, Septem- 
ber 22, 1826. The sum of $5,100 was subscribed towards the debt of 
the church, the parties so contributing owning the pews occupied by 
them. Among the contributors we find the names of Libbeus Fish, 
$500; D. E. Evans, Trumbull Cary, and Joseph Ellicott, $350 each; 
J. Z. Ross and O. Williams, $300 each; J. Brisbane, $200; R. Smith 
and E. Mix, $150 each ; and many others. James Cochran donated the 
bell at present in use, costing $300, and also $75. The majority of the 
subscribers mentioned above agreed to a transfer of their privileges in 
pews on the building of the present edifice. The second or present 
church building, of stone, was erected in 1835—36 ; at the same time the 
main part of the old rectory was built. The lot was given by D. E. 
Evans, who also gave $1,500 and the chandelier. Trinity Church of 
New York gave $i,ooo. Services were continued from the organization 
of the parish by the Revs. Samuel Johnston and L. B. Ives. The list of 
rectors is as follows: Rev. Lucius Smith, 1823-33; James A. BoUes,. 
D. D., 1833-54; Thomas A. Tyler, D. D., 1854-62 ; Rev. Morelle Fow- 
ler, 1863-68 ; Rt. Rev. C. F. Robertson, Bishop of Missouri, a few 
months; Rev. George F. Plummer, 1868-75; George S. Baker, 1875-77; 
Rev. H. L. Everest, 1878-82; Rev. William A. Hitchcock, D. D., 
1883-87; Rev. A. M. Sherman, 1887. 

The church has a seating capacity of 700; number of families 180; 
number of communicants 330. The Sunday-school has 19 teachers and 
150 scholars, with C. W. Stickle, superintendent. The estimated value 
of church prop.rt}' is $39,200. The windows in the present church are 
all memorial, that of the chancel being presented as a gift by Bishop De 
Lancey in 1854, in gratitude for his recovery from an accident while on 
his annual visitation, and for the kindness of the congregation during his 
illness. The parish records denote long service on the part of some of 
its wardens and vestrymen. Among them were William Seaver, 40 
years; Phineas L. Tracy, 25 years; Judge Pringle, 30 years; Trumbull 
Cary, 46 years; H. J. Redfield, 18 years; Junius A. Smith, 26 years; 
G. B. Worthington, 27 years, and now serving. 

St. Johii s MetJiodist Episcopal Cluirch of Batai'ia} — No religious or- 
ganization of any denomination took formal shape in Genesee County 

lAdapted from an article written by David Seaver, Esq., July 19, 1889, and published in the 
Batavian. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 221 



until about 1809, and prior to that time the region was only visited by 
an occasional missionary. Prominent among them was Glezen Fillmore, 
a young man who received a license to preach in 1809, and during that 
year emigrated from Vermont to what is now Clarence, Erie County. 
For a long time he was known as one of the " Fathers of the Church " 
in Western New York. The history of Methodist denomination begins 
with the formation of the Genesee Conference, organized at Lyons, 
N. Y., July 20, 1 8 10, by Bishops Francis Asbury and William McKen- 
dree. The region west of the Genesee River was designated as the " Hol- 
land Purchase Mission, " and connected with the " Susquehanna district," 
then in charge of Rev. Gideon Draper as presiding elder. For the next 
two years John Kimberlin, William Brown, Loring Grant, Elijah Metcalf, 
Marmaduke Pease, and Anning Owen were the only itinerant preachers 
whose names are mentioned on the records. In 18 13 the name of " New 
Amsterdam Circuit and Genesee District " was given to all of the territory 
extending from Batavia to Niagara River, and from the mouth of Tona- 
wanda Creek to 20 miles south of Buffalo, and comprised 28 or 30 sta- 
tions, or appointments, which were each to be filled once in about every 
two weeks. In 1813-14 Rev. Gideon Lanning was the only traveling 
preacher on the circuit. As is well known no church edifice of any kind 
was built until about 1823, and the services in Batavia were held either 
in the court-house or a frame school-house, which formerly stood a short 
distance west of the old land office, on Main street. The itinerant sys- 
tem of course necessitated a yearly change cf ministers, and in 18 14-15 
Rev. James S. Lent succeeded Elder Lanning. In 181 5-16 Rev. Robert 
Minshall took charge of the circuit, jn 18 16-17 Revs. James H. Har- 
ris and William Jones officiated at Batavia and vicinity, and in 18 17-18 
they were replaced by Elders Alpheus Davis and John Hamilton. In 
1818-19 Rev. Aurora Seager and Rev. Peter Foster succeeded them, 
and about the same time Rev. Elisha House became a brief resident of 
Batavia. In 1819-20 Elder Ara Williams succeeded to the circuit, but 
Rev. Elisha House remained in the village. 

At this juncture an organization was formed, called the First Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church of Batavia, and efforts were made to build a church. 
In 1820-21 Rev. James Hall and Rev. Zachariah Paddock governed the 
circuit and officiated at Batavia. In due time, 1821-22, they were suc- 
ceeded by Elders James Gilmore and Jasper Bennett. These in regular 
rotation were foUowedin 1822-23 by Rev. John Arnold and Rev. Asa 
Orcutt. On the i6th of May, 1823, a subscription paper was drawn up 



222 GENESEE COUNTY. 



and a sufficient amount raised to warrant the undertaking. Hon. Joseph 
EUicott made the largest subscription, which was $250 in cash and a lot 
upon which to erect the church, valued at $250, making $500 in all. 
On June 23, 1823, the board of trustees contracted with Thomas McCul- 
ley, Joseph Shaw, and Seymour Ensign for the building of a stone church 
to be 40x45 feet. McCulley was to do the mason work for $762, Shaw 
the outside carpenter and joiner work for $511, and Ensign the inside 
joiner work for $400. On its completion, at a cost of about $2,800, the 
church was dedicated June 13, 1824. The location (corner of Main and 
Lyon streets) was never, however, considered a good one, and after about 
16 years' occupancy the society, desiring a more central location, sold the 
structure in 1839 to the " First Freewill Baptist Church of Batavia," by 
whom it was later occupied. 

Continuing the names of " preachers in charge " I append a list of 
the various ministers who officiated at Batavia from 1822 to 1841 : John 
Arnold, Asa Orcutt, John Beggarly, Andrew Prindel, J. B. Roach, Be- 
najah Williams, Jonathan Huestis, Asa Abell, John Cosart, Ira Bronson, 
Micah Seager, Glezen Fillmore, Chester V. Adgate, S. W. D. Chase, 
Levi B. Castle, John H. Wallace, Gideon Lanning, Richard L. Waite, 
John B. Alverson, William Fowler, G. B. Benedict, Daniel M. Murphy, 
Wesley Cochran, Darius Williams, and D. Nutter. 

After the sale of the " West End " or Lyon street church the society 
regularly assembled, and for about two years held services in the " Nixon 
building," later a district school- house, which stood ( now torn down ) on 
the easterly side of the Episcopal Church on EUicott street. On Janu- 
ary 28, 1841, a subscription was opened and a sufficient amount raised to 
build a new church on the east side of Jackson street. The lot was do- 
nated by John Lomber, and Thomas McCulley contributed the stone 
foundation walls at a cost of $150. The entire cost, which included the 
donations of lot and foundation walls by Messrs. Lomber and McCulley, 
was about $3,000. Rev. Allen Steele was then the " preacher in charge," 
and the structure was dedicated on December 3, 1841, under the name 
of St. John's Church. In this condition it was occupied until February, 
1866, when the property was sold to William M. Terry, then converted 
into a feed store, tenement, and temple of. dramatic art, which was de- 
stroyed by fire on Sunday, July 15, 1888. 

On leaving the Jackson street church the congregation worshiped about 
a year in Concert Hall, on the corner of Main and State streets, but pre- 
viously had purchased the lot adjoining the then residence of David Seaver, 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 223 



on Main street. Upon this site the society erected an elegant edifice at 
an expense of about $20,000. This church, built of brick, is in the Nor- 
man style of architecture, 50x90 feet, with a lecture room in the rear. 
The spire on the corner is 160 feet in height, and contains a town clock. 
Its interior appointments and arrangements are of the most substantial 
kind, and reflect great credit, not only upon the trustees and congrega- 
tion, but upon Rev. Sandford Hunt, D. D., then (1868-70) preacher in 
charge, under whose supervision the edifice was built. The corner-stone 
was laid June 30, 1868, by Rev. E. E. Chambers, then presiding elder, 
with appropriate ceremonies. The first service in the session room was 
held on Sunday, August i, 1869, and the edifice solemnly dedicated 
September 14, 1869. 

The following is a list of the various ministers who officiated from 
1841 to 1870: Allen Steele, five years; Philo E. Brown, one year; 
Joseph Cross, one year ; John Parker, one year ; William R. Babcock, 
one year ; Daniel C. Houghton, one year; Philo Woodworth, one year ; 
J. K. Cheeseman, one year ; William M. Ferguson, one year ; Charles 
Shelling, one year ; E. Everett Chambers, one year ; James M. Fuller, 
two years ; John B. Wentworth, two years ; De Forest Parsons, one 
year ; King David Nettleton, two years ; Joseph H. Knowles, two years ; 
•George G. Lyon, one year ; Schuyler Seager, two years ; Charles R. 
Pomeroy, two years ; Sandford Hunt, two years. 

To complete the history to the present time we add the names of those 
who have been pastors of this church since Rev. Allen Steele, who last 
served the society in 1870-71 : 1871-73, R. C. Brovvnlee, two years; 
1873-76, James E. Bills, three years; 1876-78, A. D. Wilbor, two 
years ; 1878-81, T. H. Youngman, three years ; 1881-82, O. S. Cham- 
berlain, one year; 1882-85, John W. Sanborn, three years; 1885-88, 
C. W. Winchester, three years ; 1888, S. W. Lloyd (now acting). Dur- 
ing the pastorate of Rev. C. W. Winchester the church was re-frescocd, 
the seats elevated in amphitheater style, and a new organ purchased, the 
improvements costing about $3,000. 

The First Baptist CJmrch of Batavia. — On July 8, 1834, a council 
of delegates from Wyoming, Middlebury, La Grange, Bethany, and 
Batavia met, with Elder B. N. Leach, of Middlebury, for moderator, 
and William Smith, of Bethany, as clerk. Resolutions were passed 
"to give fellowship to the brethren and sisters — 24 in number — as 
a sister church in the gospel." Elder Leach preached from Phil, i, 27 : 
^' Only let your conversation be as becometh the gospel of Christ ; 



224 GENESEE COUNTY. 



that whether I come and see you, or else be absent, I may hear of 
your affairs, that ye stand fast in one spirit, with one mind striving 
together for the faith of the gospel." After the sermon Elder Clark^ 
of La Grange, gave the right-hand of fellowship to the members of the 
new church, and the First Baptist Church of Batavia started out upon its 
mission of salvation. On the 9th of November, 1835, ^^^ notice having 
been given, the members met at the court-house in Batavia for the pur- 
pose of organizing a society according to law. Gideon Kendrick and 
P. S. Moffat were called upon to preside at the meeting. It was voted 
that the organization be called the " Baptist Society of Batavia village." 
The following trustees were then elected: Richard Coville, Jr., Johni 
Dorman, William Blossom, William D Popple, and Calvin Foster. A 
special meeting was called in January, 1836, to take into consideration 
the purchasing of a lot and the building of a house of worship. Calvia 
Foster, John Dorman, William Blossom, and Richard Coville were ap- 
pointed a committee for that purpose. The lot now occupied by the 
society was purchased March 17, 1836, of William D. Popple, of Elba,, 
for $400, and the deed was recorded in the clerk's office by the late Ben- 
jamin Pringle, then a deputy clerk here. The church building was 
erected soon after the purchase of the lot, and the prayer room was 
located in the front of the church, upstairs, where the gallery now is. 
About 25 years ago it was remodeled at a cost of $10,000. The edifice 
was as it now stands. In 1877 the society reorganized under the new 
State law, and took its present name. 

Since its organization the church has had 12 pastors. The following 
are their names and the date of the commencement of their work : 1834, 
Ichabod Clark; 1837, William W. Smith; 1840, L A. Esta ; 1844, 
Gideon Williams; 1845, S. M. Stimpson ; 1852, W. Harrington ; 1855, 
J. B. Vrooman ; 1859, L. J. Huntley; 1861, S. M. Stimpson; 1865, 
O. E. Mallory; 1875, D. D. Brown; 1877. William C. Learned; 1882, 
C. A. Johnson. In 1843 Isaac Fargo was granted a letter and a license 
to preach. William Putnam and H. P. Brotherton were also sent forth 
to declare the glad tidings of salvation, the former in 1844 and the latter 
in 1869. Two ladies from this church are now working in the mission- 
ary field, viz.: Mrs. Alice Buell Roberts and Mrs. Lillian Clark Chase. 

The Sunday-school was organized in 1837, with 13 teachers and 60^ 
scholars. The school now numbers six officers, 21 teachers, and 280 
scholars. The membership'has grown from 24 to 327, and during the past 
year, for the support of the church, they gave $2,200 and $460 for be- 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



225 



nevolences. The new lot on East Main street was purchased December 
10, 1883, of Miss Mary L. Douglass, and cost $4,500, and a new church, 
of stone, in process of construction, will cost over $30,000, and will seat 
about 500 persons. The church was never more united and prosperous 
than at present. 

Rev. Cyrus A. Johnson, the pastor of the First Baptist Church of Ba- 
tavia for the past eight years, was brought up in Connecticut, graduat- 
ing from the Wesleyan University there in 1865, and from the Union 
Theological Seminary of New York in 1868. His first pastorate was at 
Cohoes, but his health failing he traveled for two years. Oh his return 
he went to Whitehall, N. Y., and preached in that section for 12 years. 
In 1882 he accepted his present charge, and through his labors the 
church society has largely increased. The new edifice now being erected 
was made possible through his efforts and the harmony of the entire 
society. He was married, in 1872, to Miss Sarah Scott, who died in 
1884, leaving two children, Bertha and Lester, In 1886 he was united in 
marriage to Mrs. Anna Potter, of New York, who shares with him the 
labors of his field. 

The First Freetvill Baptist CJucrch, on Bank street, was organized in 
January, 1885, with about 25 members. The church was built and com- 
pleted in 1889, at a total cost for the whole property of $10,000. It will 
seat 450 persons, is a neat wood structure of churchly design, and in a 
quiet neighborhood. There are about 60 members belonging to the 
church and 70 to the Sunday-school. The pastor is Rev. J. H. Durkee, 
the superintendent is Charles J. Stanley, and the secretary is George 
Redshaw. The church's trustees are Calvin S. Loomis, E. A. Rial, and 
Albert B. Crary. Jacob H. Durkee, the pastor, is a native of Yar- 
mouth, Nova Scotia. He was born in 1847, educated at New Hampton, 
N. H., and took a collegiate course at Bates Theological College. His 
first pastorate was in Meredith village and New Market, N. H. From 
there he came to Phoenix, N. Y., where he remained four years, when he 
went to Pike, N. Y., for four years, and in 1885 located in Batavia. He was 
married, in 1876, to Miss Susan T. Douglass, a native of Maine, whose 
father was a clergyman there. They have one child, Harold K., and 
their residence is at 159 Bank street. Rev. Mr. Durkee is also the editor 
and publisher of the Welcome, a monthly newspaper published in the 
interest of his church and congregation. By his superior executive abil- 
ities he has organized several church societies and erected three new 
churches. 



226 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Evangelical Association of Batavia is located at 27 Center street, with 
the Rev. G. H. Gelser in charge. It was organized in 1862, by M. Pfitz- 
inger and Adolph Miller, the first pastor being Jacob Seigrist. The 
first house of worship was built of wood in 1862. The present house is 
of brick, and was built in 1871, at a cost of $6,000. There are 14 
members. 

St. Pauls German United Evangelical Church was organized April 
20, 1873, by John Friedley, president; Martin Wolfley, treasurer; and 
Louis Uebele, secretary. The first pastor was Rev. George Field. The 
church is located on Ellicott street. Rev. J. Bank, who has been pastor 
for about seven years, has recently resigned. He intends to retire fromi 
the ministry and will reside in Buffalo. 

St. Joseph's Roman Catholic CJmrcJi. — From 1840 to 1843 the few 
Catholics who had settled around Batavia (perhaps not more than 12 or 
14 in all) were occasionally visited by Rev. Father Gannon. No written 
record of his visits remains, but he is yet remembered by some of the 
oldest Catholic residents. Rev. Bernard O'Reilly, subsequently bishop 
of Hartford, Conn., and his brother. Rev. William O'Reilly, both at the 
time stationed at Rochester, attended the settlement from 1843 to 1847. 
These gentlemen officiated at the house of James Ronan, and some- 
times at the residence of Edward O'Connor. Soon the number of Cath- 
olics had so increased that a private dwelling could no longer afford them 
sufficient room to assemble for divine worship, and then, through the kind- 
ness of Messrs. Otis & Worthington, they were allowed, free of rent, the 
use of a large room in the second story of the building still used by G. B. 
Worthington as a hardware store. Rev. Thomas McEvoy attended the 
mission in 1848. April 4, 1849, ^t. Rev. Bishop Timon appointed Rev. 
Edward Dillon to the pastoral charge of Batavia, and on the following 
Sunday, April 8th, which was Easter day. Father Dillon officiated in the 
brick school-house on the corner of Main and Eagle streets. At this 
time the number of Catholics was about 75. Encouraged by the pres- 
ence of their resident pastor they immediately went to work raising a 
fund for the erection of a church. But it was difficult to find a suitable 
lot that would be sold to them for that purpose. In May following 
Bishop Timon lectured in a small hall near the Eagle tavern, now the 
Hotel Richmond, and a few days afterwards Benjamin Pringle sold to 
the Catholics of Batavia a two-story stone building on Jackson street for 
$1,200. This building had been erected for a select school. The Cath- 
olics worshiped in it for several years, and it is now the parochial school 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 22/ 



of St. Joseph's Church, where 300 children are taught in all the branches 
of a practical English education. Mr. Pringle donated $25 towards the 
purchase of the building and lot; Messrs. Redfield, Gary, Smith, Rowan, 
Glowacki, Haney, Ganson, Knowles, and Holden also contributed liber- 
ally. In November, 1850, Father Dillon resigned the pastoral charge^ 
and was succeeded by Rev. Thomas Fitzgerald. Rev. Francis O'Farrell 
succeeded Father Fitzgerald on the 5th of September, 1852. On the loth 
of December, 1855, Father O'Farrell was appointed vicar-general of the 
diocese of Buffalo, and rector of St. Joseph's Cathedral. Rev. Peter 
Brown succeeded him in Batavia. September 28, 1856, Father Brown re- 
signed, and was succeeded by Rev. James McGlew, who resigned on the 
lOth of December, i860, and was succeeded by Rev. Thomas Cunning- 
ham, with Rev. John Castaldi as his assistant. September 15,1 862, Father 
Cunningham purchased the present site of St. Joseph's Church, on the 
site where in early days one Williams owned a tannery, on the corner of 
Main and Summit streets, from Lawrence Timmons, for $2,500, and in 
1864 the edifice was erected at a cost of $45,000. Father Cunningham,, 
having retained the pastoral charge for nearly 13 years, was succeeded 
on the 23d of August, 1 873, by Rev. P. A. Moloy. On the 22d of August, 
"1874, Father Moloy resigned to Rev. Martin McDonnell, who left in April, 
1880. His charge at that time numbered about 2,200 Catholics. At- 
tica was also made a mission. He was succeeded by Father James Mc- 
Manusin January, 1882. He died in Batavia at the age of 40 years. Dur- 
ing his sickness Father Walsh, an assistant, was in charge until February ,^ 
1882, when Father T. P. Brougham, the present priest, was called to pre- 
side over the spiritual wants of the parish. Father Brougham came from. 
Java. He had been previously at Somerset, Niagara County, in charge 
there of three churches for a period of 10 years. During his incumbency 
here great changes in the parish have taken place. The old convent, 
located on Jackson street, was sold in 1882, and the new one erected on 
Summit street the same year, as was also a parochial school adjacent,, 
which accommodates 400 pupils. Sister Felice is in charge of the school. 
St Joseph's Convent of Mercy is built of brick, and is a house for sisters, 
called the Mother house, or Novitiate, novices being taken in here and 
sent to all parts of the State. 

Father Brougham was also instrumental in acquiring additional 
grounds east of the church, where in time will be erected a new priest's 
house. The church also has been completely renovated and newly dec- 
orated inside, making a very attractive edifice. The first convent (on 



228 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Jackson street) was built in 1862, where they remained until 1880, when 
a building on Ross street was leased for two years, until the present edi- 
fice was completed. 

The Bank of Genesee v^-dA incorporated under that name about 1829, 
and March 23, 1830, the first by-laws were adopted. The bank began 
business with a capital stock of $ioo,ooo, which was subsequently in- 
creased the same year to $150,000. Trumbull Gary was elected the first 
president, and William M. Vermilye, cashier. For many years it was the 
only bank in this section, and its business extended all over Western 
New York. The old bank building, corner East Main and Bank streets, 
is one of the old landmarks of Batavia, and is now occupied by the Ba- 
tavia Club. The bank was reorganized in 185 i, as a State bank, and in 
March, 1865, it 'became the National Bank of Genesee, with a capital 
stock of $114,400. Previous to this period the capital stock had been 
changed several times, and for some years was $500,000. The charter 
to the bank was renewed in 1885, and it continued business as a National 
bank until June, 1888, when their charter was surrendered and it was re- 
organized under the State laws, with a capital of $75,000. The business 
office of the bank was removed to its present place, 98 East Main street, 
in September, 1887. 

The officers of the bank from its organization have been as follows : 
Presidents: Trumbull Gary from organization until March 31, 1840; 
Phineas L. Tracy from 1840 to December, 185 1; Benjamin Pringle 
from 1 85 I to June 12, 1855; H. U. Howard from 1855 to July, 1885 ; and 
A. N. Gowdin from 1885 (still serving). Vice-presidents: P. L. Tracy 
from 1834 to 1840; J. G. Ferris from 1840 to 1844; J. B. Skinner from 
1844 to 1849; Benjamin Pringle from 1849 to 185 1 ; Alva Smith from 
i85itoi853; H. U. Howard from 1853 to 1855 ; Alva Smith from 1855 
to 1857; J. B. Skinner from 1857 to 1870; E. H. Fish from 1870 to 
1874; Walter Gary from 1874 to 1880. Gashiers : William M. Vermilye 
from organization to May, 1830; J. S. Ganson from 1830 to January, 
1838; J. E. Robinson from 1838 to 1851 ; T. G. Kimberly from 185 1 to 
1858; M. L. Babcock from 1858 to 1859; A. N. Gowdin from July, 1859, 
to July, 1885 ; Trumbull Gary from July, 1885 (still in office). It is im- 
possible to give a full list of directors who have served this venerable 
and noted corporation, but we subjoin a list of some of them whose 
names will be familiar to old-time residents. The directors elected June 
8, 1830, 13 in number, were Jacob Le Roy, Oliver Benton, Alva Smith, 
James G. Ferris, Henry Hawkins, Gaius B. Rich, T. Gary, Rufus H. King, 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



229 



Jonathan Lay, R. S. Burrows, Israel Rathbone. P. L. Tracy, and Joseph 
Fellows. The following were elected subsequently : John Foot, David 
E. Evans, G. W. Lay, John S. Ganson, James Wadsworth, Horatio Stev- 
ens, Samuel Skinner, C. M. Lee, John B. Skinner, Benedict Brooks, Ho- 
ratio Averhill, Thomas Otis, William M. Sprague, J. E. Robinson, B. 
Pringle, S. Grant, A. D. Patchen, VV. Gary, J. S. Wadsworth, and T. H. 
Newbold. When the bank became a National one, in 1865, the first di- 
rectors were Trumbull Gary, Miles P Lampson, Thomas Brown, Walter 
Gary, Alva Smith, William Lampson, H. U. Howard, E. H. Fish and R. T. 
Howard. The present board consists of five members, viz.: A. N. Gow- 
din, T. Gary, H. F. Tarbox, Dr. Gharles Gary, and J. N. Scatcherd. 

Augustus Gowdin, the father of Augustus N., was born in New Hamp- 
shire in 1803. At the age of 30 years he came to Batavia and engaged 
in the boot and shoe trade. He immediately identified himself with the 
Presbyterian Ghurch, was for 50 years a teacher in the Sabbath school, 
and was ever a willing and valued helper in church work. He always 
proved himself worthy of the respect and esteem of tlie whole commu- 
nity, and held positions of trust at various times. He was justice of the 
peace, supervisor, superintendent of the poor, and a trustee of the Union 
School. He died February 25, 1884 His wife was Jane G. Getty, a na- 
tive of this State. The son, Augustus N., born here in 1840, was reared 
and educated in the schools of his native place, and at the age of 17 years 
entered the bank (of which he is now the head) as a clerk. He filled all 
the intermediate positions, and is now its trusted and honored president. 
For one-third of a century he has been connected with the oldest and 
staunchest monetary institution of Genesee Gounty, and has rounded out 
this long period with a reputation of unsullied honor and integrity. He 
has served as town clerk, as treasurer of the village, and is secretary and 
treasurer of the Gas and Electric Light Gompany. He is also a Knight 
Templar. 

The First National Bank was established in 1864, with a capital stock 
of $50,000, and its number was 340. The first trustees were R. H. Farn- 
ham, G. H. Monell, George Bowen, Tracy Pardee, and Henry Monell, and 
the first officers elected were R. H. Farnham, president, and G. H. Mo- 
nell, cashier. The latter never acted, and subsequently, in June, 1864, 
Marcus L. Babcock was appointed to the ofifice and served over one 
year. May 31, 1865, the capital stock was increased to $75,000, and 
January 9, 1883, was made $100,000, which still continues. The officers 
have been as follows: Presidents: R. H. Farnham from March 21, 1864, 



15 



230 GENESEE COUNTY. 



to June 29, 1865; Tracy Pardee from June 29, 1865, to January 10, 1884; 
Levant C. Mclntyre from January 10, 1884 (still in ofifice). Cashiers: C. H. 
Monell, appointed March 21, 1864; M. L. Babcock from June 4, 1864, 
to February 8, 1865 ; Daniel E. Waite from February 8, 1865, to August 
13, 1866; L. C. Mclntyre from August 13, 1866, to January 16, 1884; 
J. L. Bigelow, appointed January 16, 1884 (still in office.) The office of 
vice-president was created in 1883, and Gad B. Worthington was elected, 
serving in that capacity ever since. The first board consisted of five di- 
rectors, and in 1869 the number was increased to seven. The directors 
have been R. H. Farnham, C. H. Monell, George Bowen, Tracy Pardee, 
Henry Monell, John McKay, Leonidas Doty, John Fisher, Gad B. Worth- 
ington, and Cyrenus Walker. Since 1884 the board has consisted of the 
following members: L. C. Mclntyre, D. W. Tomiinson, Samuel Parker, 
E. C. Walker, G. B. Worthington, and George Bowen. In 1874 the direc- 
tors were Leonidas Doty, Tracy Pardee, John Fisher, George Bowen, Ed- 
ward C. Walker, and Gad B. Worthington. 

Gad B. Worthington, the vice-president of the First National Bank, 
was born in Lenox, Mass., in 1815, where he was educated in part, and 
at Owego, to which place the family moved, remaining there until 1836, 
when our subject came to Batavia, and was a clerk in the hardware 
store of Belden & Otis. Later he became a partner with them, and 
finally controlled the business, in which he has since been engaged. Mr. 
Worthington was one of the organizers of the Batavia Gas Light Co., and 
is now a director. He and family are members of the Episcopal Church. 
His children are Gad D , a partner in the hardware business; Edward W., 
an Episcopalian minister at Cleveland, Ohio ; Amanda C, living with 
her parents; and Sarah, wife of E. De L. Palmer, of Albany, N. Y. 

Tracy Pardee, at one time president of the First National Bank, was a 
man of prominence in the village. He was born in Steuben County, and 
came to Batavia in 1852, where he lived until his death in 1883 He 
was at one time a member of the legislature. His father was in the War 
of 1812, and died in Elba in 1858. 

Levant C. Mclntyre, president of the First National Bank, is a native 
of Genesee County, and was born in 1829. His father, Eden Mclntyre, 
was an early magistrate of the town. His mother was Harriet Dunham, 
a daughter of Col. Shubael Dunham, a very early tavern-keeper, from 
whom Dunham's Corners was named. Mr. Mclntyre received good 
educational advantages, attending Cary Collegiate Seminary, and com- 
menced business as a druggist, pursuing the same for eight years in Ba- 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. ^ 23 1 



tavia. He then went to Romeo, Mich., in the dry goods business, and 
assisted in the organization of the First National Bank of that place, be- 
ing cashier of the same. He remained there until 1865, when he re- 
turned to Batavia, and becarre identified with its banking and business 
interests. Mr. Mclntyre is conservative in the business management of 
his bank, yet withal progressive in spirit. He enjoys the confidence and 
€steem of the entire community. He is a member of the board of edu- 
cation, trustee of the Johnston Harvester Co. and the Cemetery Asso- 
ciation, president of the Y. M, C. A., and is foremost in acts of charity 
and benevolence. In 1852 he united in marriage with Miss Marietta 
Fellows, and they are parents of four children, viz.: Allan F., Mary L., 
Nellie G., and Grove E. The family are members of the Presbyterian 
Church, of which Mr. Mclntyre is an elder and superintendent of the 
Sunday-school. 

TJie Genesee County Bank was organized as the Genesee County 
National Bank, No. 2,421, April 4, 1879, with a capital stock of $50,000. 
The first officers were S. Masse, president ; Dean Richmond, Jr., vice- 
president ; and William F. Merriman, cashier. The first board of direc- 
tors consisted of 1 1 members, viz.: Solomon Masse, Dean Richmond, Jr., 
Dr. H. S. Hutchins, Charles R. Gould, Henry Craft, William C. Watson, 
W. F. Merriman, J. C. Guiteau, Edwin Darrow, H. A. Huntington, and 
F. C. Lathrop. The officers have been as follows : Presidents : Solomon 
Masse from organization until July 14, 1885 ; Royal T. Howard from 
July 14, 1885 (still serving). Vice-presidents: Dean Richmond, Jr., 
from organization until January 12, 1882; Dr. H. S. Hutchins from 
January 12, 1882, until January 9, 1883 ; William C. Watson from Jan- 
uary 9, 1883 (still serving). Cashiers: William F. Merriman from or- 
ganization until June 22, 1880; Charles R. Gould from June 22, 1880, 
until August 28, 1882; Jerome L. Bigelow from August 28, 1882, until 
January 18, 1884; John W. Smith from January, 1884 (still in office). 
H. K. Buell succeeded W. F. Merriman as a director January 12, 1881, 
and Alvin Pease succeeded Dean Richmond, in May, 1882. January 9, 
1883, the by-laws were amended, and the board was reduced from ii 
to seven members. The present board consists of R. T. Howard, Mrs. 
A. R. Kenny, H. A. Huntington, William C. Watson, R. A. Maxwell, 
Henry Craft, and J. C. Guiteau. The charter of the bank was surren- 
dered to the government December 31, 1884, and the bank was at that 
time reorganized under the State laws as the Genesee County Bank. 
The place of business is 103 East Main street. 



232 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Royal T. Howard, president of the Genesee County Bank, is a native 
of Wyoming County, and a son of Samuel and Roxa (Carpenter) How- 
ard, both from Connecticut. Samuel Howard came to Perry in 1811, 
where he married and resided until his death. Royal T. began business 
as a lumberman in Allegany County, pursuing this business for 18 years^ 
and was also engaged in the manufacture of staves and heading in War- 
saw and interested in pine lands in Michigan. Mr. Howard removed to 
Batavia in 1871, purchasing a lumber yard and planing- mill, and soon 
after organized the firm of Howard & Olmsted, which continued business 
three years. The firm then became R. T. Howard & Co., and was such 
until 1882. Mr. Howard engaged in various business enterprises until 
1885, when he became president of the bank. He is also vice-president 
of the Genesee County Permanent Loan and Building Association. 

John W. Smith, cashier of the Genesee County Bank, is a native of 
Batavia, where he was born April 23, 1850, and is a son of George W. 
and Mary A. (Baldwin) Smith. His father was a native of Vermont,, 
and his mother of Connecticut. They have been residents of Batavia 
many years. John W. was educated in the schools of his native town,, 
and early in life began his business career as recording clerk in the office 
of County Clerk Holden, where he was engaged six years. He began 
his banking life as book keeper in the First National Bank, where he was 
employed over one year, and subsequently entered the Bank of Batavia, 
with which institution he served as book-keeper until April, 1879, when, 
upon the organization of the Genesee County National Bank, he became 
identified with that corporation. In January, 1884, he succeeded J. L. Big- 
elow as cashier, which position he has creditably filled, and is still serv- 
ing in that capacity. Mr. Smith was married, August 30, 1871, to Miss 
Emma Fillmore, of Batavia, and resides at 112 EUicott street. He and 
his wife are members of the First Baptist Church, of which he is clerk 
and a leading working member. He is also a member of the K. of P. 
and the Empire Order of Mutual Aid. He is a young man of ability, 
enterprise, and promise. 

The Farmers Baiik of Batavia ^z.% established in i860 by Leonidas 
Doty, who came from Attica, where he had been engaged in the bank- 
ing business with the late Dean Richmond. Mr. Doty came from Greene 
County, where he was born in 18 12. He was in the mercantile business 
at Attica for 20 years, then engaged in banking, and was also identified in 
other business measures in that village. He was also one of the founders 
of the National Bank of Batavia, and a member of the vestry of St. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 233 



James's Episcopal Church, being a liberal contributor to its support. 
He died in 1888, at Buffalo, where he had resided for 12 years after leaving 
Batavia. The Farmers' Bank has lately erected and is now occupying 
an elegant and commodious structure on the corner of Main and Jackson 
streets, having the best facilities for transacting its large and increasing 
business of any bank in Western New York outside of Buffalo. A few 
years since John H. Ward was admitted as a partner in the business of 
the bank, and he is now sole manager of the concern. He was born in 
Bergen in 1846, a son of Henry M. and Adelia C. (Curtis) Ward, who 
are natives of Bergen, and descendants of the earliest pioneers of that 
town. His father, Henry M. Ward, was a merchant, and died in 1857. 
His mother died in 1882. Their children were Emma C, wife of Prof 
A. G. Clement, and John H., who began his business career at the age 
of 13 years as a clerk in Bergen. He was afterwards a member of the 
firm of Green & Ward until 1875, when he was elected sheriff of Gene- 
see County, and removed to Batavia. At the expiration of his term of 
office (three years) he entered the Farmers' Bank. Mr. Ward is the 
U. S. loan commissioner, and is a 32d degree Mason. He was united in 
marriage, in 1871, with Isabella D. Mann, of Syracuse, and they have 
one child, E. Gertrude. 

The Bank of Batavia was incorporated July ii, 1876, with a capital 
of $50,000, the late D. W. Tomlinson being the leading man in its for- 
mation. In March, 1883, the capital stock was increased to $100,000. 
D. W. Tomlinson, son of D. W., is now president; H. F. Tarbox, vice- 
president; and H. T. Miller, cashier. The bank is located in a fine 
brick building at 71 East Main street. 

Olive Branch Lodge, No. 39, was chartered in 181 1, and held its first 
meeting May nth at the pubHc tavern of William Keyes. The first 
master was Ezra Piatt ; senior warden, Richard Smith ; secretary, I. Bab- 
cock, who acted as such for four years. Richard Smith acted in the ca- 
pacity of warden three years. L. Foster was warden in 18 14 and 
master in 18 15. Blanchard Powers was master in 18 16-17, J. Z. Ross 
in 1 8 18, and Powers again in 1819-20, when sessions were held at his 
house in Bethany. The meetings in Batavia were generally held at the 
taverns, for want of regular lodge rooms, and after holding two meetings 
at Keyes tavern an arrangement was made with Aaron Van Cleve, sher- 
iff and landlord at the court-house, for their meetings in his tavern. On 
September 2, 18 11, a plat of ground was bought by the trustees of the 
school district, acting in conjunction with the Free Masons, the sum of 



234 GENESEE COUNTY. 



$5 being paid for the same. The location was on lot 32, north side of 
Main street, on the corner of an alley, and contained 1,500 feet of ground, 
being where 315 Main corner of Ross streets now is. This was sold by- 
Nathan Rumsey, conditioned upon there being a two-story brick build- 
ing erected on the site within one and a half years, the lower portion to 
be occupied as a school, the upper portion for lodge uses. The Masons 
subscribed funds toward the erection of the building (as was understood). 
The War of 1812 prevented the completion of the building until the 
winter of 18 13-14, when it was finished and ready for occupancy. The 
first meeting in their new rooms was held February 28, 18 14, and subse- 
quent meetings were continued there until 18 16, when they tired of the 
location and tried to sell their interests to the school trustees, but failed. 
Other meetings continued to be held at the taverns until about 1819, 
when trouble arose among its members and the lodge was removed, and 
meetings were held at Bethany in Powers's and Huggins's houses and 
C. J. Lincoln's inn. From Bethany it was moved to Le Roy, where it 
is now located. 

A new lodge was again formed in 1824, called " Batavia Lodge, No. 
433," and a charter was granted that year. It was installed December, 
13, 1825, at St. James's Church. William Seaver was the presiding 
officer for 10 years, and Blanchard Powers, senior warden. Richard 
Dibble was junior warden; and Richard Smith, secretary and treasurer. 
Meetings were held at Bissell Humphrey's " Eagle tavern " until it was 
burnt in 1833, and in 1839 the warrant was surrendered. The Mor- 
gan excitement, beginning in 1826, interfered seriously with the cause of 
Free Masonry, and for 16 years, or until 1842, meetings were held only 
at rare intervals. In 1842 the charter was revived, and for 18 months 
the lodge met at O. T. Fargo's tavern, midway between Batavia and Alex- 
ander. Ebenezer Mix Mas master for three years, Joel Allen two years, 
and G. B. Shepard one year. D. M. Seaver was junior warden, and H. 
Humphrey, treasurer. In January, 1844, they moved from Fargo's tav- 
ern to the " Cobble-stone block," and held regular meetings until 1847, 
when the charter was again surrendered. In the course of a year or so a 
new lodge. No. 88, was formed, but did not long survive. The records 
of this lodge were destroyed by fire, so names of officers cannot be given. 
In the winter of 1850-51 the fraternity again organized under the name 
of "Fisher's Lodge, No. 212" (named after Lillie Fisher, a very early 
settler of Alexander). They met for about one year at the old lodge 
rooms in the "Cobble-stone block." For masters until 1859 (when its 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 235 



charter was surrendered) there were Cyrus Pond, Horace M. Warren, 
E. C. Dibble, K. Ferren, Gad Worthington, and S. A. Wilson. H. T. 
Cross was treasurer for a few years, and John Eager and D. Seaver, sec- 
retaries. Meetings were also held at the corner of Main and Jackson 
streets, in the new hall occupied by the Odd Fellows. 

In 1859 the charter of this lodge was surrendered, and what remained 
of Fisher's Lodge was reorganized April 7th into "Batavia Lodge, No. 
475," the charter being granted July 4th. In i860 or 1861 the Masonic 
fraternity desired more independent quarters, and they leased rooms in 
the Champion block, owned by Joseph C. Wilson. Again, in 1865, it 
was decided to make another change, and a spacious series of apartments 
were leased on the corner of Main and State streets, and about $2,000 
expended in fitting up the same. The dedication of these rooms was the 
occasion of drawing together a large assemblage of the fraternity from 
all parts of the county, lodges from Le Roy, Canandaigna, Pembroke, 
and Akron being represented. A delegation of Knights Templars from 
Buffalo Commandery, led by Captain Lockwood, and another from Pen 
Yan, by Hon. Darius A. Ogden, in full regalia, gave splendid effect to 
the scene. The dedication was made by John L. Lewis, P. G. M., who 
delivered a brief address to the fraternity and citizens assembled in the 
park. The brethren, accompaned by the ladies, passed from labor to re- 
freshment in the dining-room of the lodge. The meetings are now held 
in elegant rooms in the Walker block, which were dedicated in 1880. 
The officers are as follows: A. Hays, W. M.; B. F. Showerman, S. W., 
George E. Perrin, J. W.; Wilber Smith, treasurer; Charles W. Stickle; 
secretary; W. D. Sanford, S. D.; A. W. Tyler, J. D.; S. E. North, S. 
M. C; A. J. McWain, J. M. C; H. S. Morse, organist; and W. H. 
Brown, tiler. 

Batavia Commandery, No. 34, K. 71, was organized September 27, 1865, 
with the following officers: W. D. Sanford, E. C; A. W. Caney, G.; W. P. 
Simpson, C. G.; Rev. Pierre Gushing, prelate ; F. M. Jameson, rec; I. D. 
Southworth, treasurer ; A. Hays, S. W.; A. J. McWain, J. W.; A.T. Mil- 
ler, W.; John M. Kurtz, standard bearer; C. B. Austin, sword bearer; 
H. S. Morse, organist ; W. H. Brown, sentinel. The present officers are: 
W. D. Sanford, E. C; A. W. Caney, G.; W. P. Simpson, C G.; I. D. 
Southworth, treasurer; F. M. Jameson, recorder; Charles Pratt, trustee; 
Alexander Hays, S. W.; A. J. McWain, J. W.; A. T. Miller, T.; John F. 
Kurtz, standard bearer ; C. B. Austin, sword bearer ; W. H. Brown, S.; 
J. M. Hamilton, Andrew Hiller, and E. N. Stone, guards. 



236 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Western Star Chapter, No. 35, R. A. J/., was organized March 29, 1813 
The officers of the chapter are A. W. Caney, H. P.; Alexander Hays, K. 
George P. Bovven, S.; F. M. Jameson, secretary; E. N. Stone, treasurer 
A. J. McWain, C. of H.; C. B. Austin, P. S.; George E. Perrin, R. A. C. 
Andrew Hiller, 3d V.; Dr. H. A. Morse, 2d V.; A. T. Miller, ist V. 
W. H. Brown, tiler. 

The Order of I. O. O. F., No. 197, was instituted in Batavia in August, 
1868, by H. S. Andrews, D. G. M., with five original charter members, 
to wit : Weeden T, Bliss (deceased), formerly an attorney of Batavia ; 
William Hoyt, since moved to New York ; Simeon Lothiem, who now 
resides in Germany ; and Thomas Yates and B. P. Fonda, who fire now 
living, the oldest members of the fraternity in the county. The present 
officers are Oscar Netzen, N. G.; Fred Gardner, V. G.; Frank Snyder, 
R. S.; Ira Howe, F. S.; Frank A. Moreau, treasurer. The lodge meets 
every Wednesday evening at their hall in Jackson street. 

Richmond Encampjnent, No. Gj,!. O. O. F., was instituted August 21, 
1872. The chief patriarch is D. B. Pratt, of Alabama, L, B. Fisk is H. P., 
William Toulson is S. W. , and E. W. Davis is scribe. 

Batavia Rebekah Degree Lodge, No. 37, meets in the rooms of the Rich- 
mond Encampment. 

Security Lodge, No. 21, A. O. U. W., has now 121 members. It was 
chartered April 20, 1876, when its officers were C. F. Starks, C. M.; L. L. 
Crosby, M. W.; J. L. Foster, G. F.; A. J. Fox, O. C; C. O. Frost, rec; 
F. T. Schlick, fin.; James Jones, rec; W. C. Mann, G.; M. E. True, I. W.; 
J. B. Neasmith. O. W. The officers for 1889 were A. B. Clark, P. M. W.; 
H. G. Buisch, M. W.; E. A. Perrin, G. F.; Thomas Johnson, O. C; J. O. 
Griffith, rec; L. ¥. Rolfe, fin.; A. E. Brown, rec; David Byum, G.; C. J. 
Crabb, I. W.; M. C Schrader, O. W. 

Batavia Council, No. 14, Royal Templars of Temperance. — The offi- 
cers are Mrs." A. F. Lawrence, S. C; Mrs. M. A. McWain, V. C; George 
W. Pratt, P. C; Mrs. G. H. Ferren, chaplain ; Byron Orendorf, recording 
secretary; Miss Vantia Smith, financial secretary; Mrs. Anna L. Torrey, 
treasurer ; Miss Jessie Tallman, her.; Mrs. Hannah Delbridge, sentinel. 

Upton Post, No. 299, G. A. R., was organized October 25, 1882. with 
30 members. The commander was W. J. Reedy. W. H. Raymond was 
S. V. C; George Thayer, J. V. C; John O. Griffis, Q. M.; M. McMul- 
len, officer of guard ; C. R. Nichols, chaplain ; Peter Thomas, adjutant ; 
O. C. Parker, officer of day; L. L. Crosby, S. M.; Russell Crosby. Q. M. 
sergeant. There were 91 members in 1889, with the following officers: 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



237 



E. A. Perrin, P. C; E. J. Benton, S. V. C; J. R. Colt, J. V. C; A. M. Weed, 
adjutant ; R. E. Churchill, Q. M.; H. J. Patton, sergeant ; A. Benchley, 
•chaplain ; John Thomas, O. of D.; R. Senate, O. of G.; R. C. Odion, 
S. M.; D. H. Wheeler, Q. M. S. 

The Equitable Aid Union, No. 396, has 19 members, who meet bi- 
monthly. Thomas Capp is president; William Wescott, V. P.; I. V. Dib- 
ble, treasurer ; and William Udritz, secretary. 

Batavia Fanners Club was organized in 1872, with P. P. Bradish as 
president; J.G. Fargo, secretary; and Henry Ives, treasurer. The present 
ofificers are Sylvanus Ford, of Elba, president, and John B. Crosby, sec- 
retary. It is one of the oldest clubs in the State. 

The Young Men s Christian Association was organized in the spring of 
1889. L. C. Mclntyre was elected president; Safford E. North, vice- 
president; C. H, Harrington, general secretary; A. H. Thomas, record- 
ing secretary ; and John M. McKenzie, treasurer. The rooms are located 
on Main street, corner of Jackson, being elegantly fitted up for recrea- 
tion for the young men, making an attractive and desirable place in which 
to spend their evenings, with no restraint so far as pleasant games and 
amusement are concerned. Tables of choice serials, magazines, and daily 
papers are at hand for those inclined to a literary taste, and a spacious gym- 
nasium, fitted up with all necessary appliances for healthful exercise, make 
this an inviting place for those interested in the moral and religious wel- 
fare of the young men of Batavia. 

The Philharmonic Society has been organized about six years. The 
■officers for 1889 were S. J. Lawrence, president; F. A. Lewis, vice-presi- 
dent; L. D. Collins, secretary; C. C. Bradley, treasurer; and E. G. Harts- 
liorn, librarian. 

Batavia Lodge, No. 50, Empire Order of Mutual Aid. — This lodge 
meets the first and third Tuesday evenings of each month in Empire Hall, 
84 East Main street. It was instituted March 15, 1879, with 33 charter 
members. Of this number are R. A. Maxwell, L. C. Mclntyre^ W. C. 
Simpson, E. L. Kenyon, N. J. Nobles, M. H. Peck, Jr., E. H. Wood, and 
E. P. Morse. This lodge has lost during its 10 years' existence but two 
-members by death, viz.: Edwin Darrow and H. B. Ferrin, both of whom 
were charter members. The present officers are : President, Whiting C. 
Woolsey; vice-president, William Hoffman; secretary and treasurer, 
John W. Smith ; trustee, L. C. Mclntyre ; representative to Grand Lodge, 
Whiting C. Woolsey. 

The Batavia Gun Club's officers are : President, Dr. Harry Sutterby ; 



238 GENESEE COUNTY. 



vice-president, John McNish ; secretary, A. Wyness ; treasurer, Philip 
Hensner ; captain, John Stein; directors, Charles Herbold, Dr. Patten, 
and L. F. McLean. 

The Genesee County Loan and Building Association was incorporated 
April 21, 1879, the object of the association being to encourage the sav- 
ing of small sums of money weekly, thus accumulating a fund to be 
loaned to other members in such manner that they can repay the loan in 
easy weekly payments, or the amount of ordinary rent, thus helping 
them to secure a home. Its first officers were : President, Wilber Smith; 
vice-president, C. H. Howard; secretary, F. M. Sheffield; treasurer, 
F. S. Wood; attorney, S. E, North. ' There are at present 560 mem- 
bers, with the following officers : George Wiard, president; M. B. Adams, 
vice-president; B. F. Hamilton, secretary; John W. Pratt, treasurer ; 
and S. E. North, attorney. 

Batavia Athletic Association was organized in 1887, with 40 members. 
M. F. Cross was president ; W. S. Wakeman, secretary and treasurer. 
The officers for 1889 were A. E. Brown, president; S. J. Lawrence, sec- 
retary ; and B. G. Tallman, treasurer. Their rooms are in the Ross 
block. 

Batavia cornet band. — The earliest record we have of any band was 
one led by Phineas Todd and a Mr. Hunt in 1820. This was disbanded 
after six years. The present one was organized about 1856, with A. W. 
Gardner as leader, and consisted of 14 members, among whom were Dr. 
Showerman, A. Bowen, E. Locke, W. Locke, and R. B. Pease, who 
loaned the band money to purchase instruments. The present officers 
are : Leader, C. KHmitz ; treasurer, L. M. Smith ; secretary, Leon- 
ard ; and there are 15 pieces. 

The Batavia Club was organized July 28, 1882, under the manage- 
ment of nine directors. The first ones elected were L. R. Bailey, D. W. 
Tomhnson, J. H. Bradish, A. E. Clark, F. S. Wood, A. N. Cowdin, J. H. 
Ward, A. T. Miller, and W. L. Otis. Tlie first officers were D. W. Tom- 
linson, president; J. H. Bradish, vice-president; A. T. Miller, secretary; 
F. S. Wood, treasurer ; L. R. Bailey, W. L. Otis, and A. E Clark, house 
committee. The club-house, situated on Main street near the opera 
house, was opened January 4, 1883. This building was destroyed by 
fire February 16, 1886. On the 17th of April, 1886, the club was re- 
moved to its present building, on the corner of Main and Bank streets. 
This desirable building with location are the former quarters of the Bank 
of Genesee. The club was incorporated April 7, 1888, and shortly af- 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 239. 



terward they purchased the present property. They have now 58 resi- 
dent members and 31 non-resident members. The present directors are 
Henry Todd, D. W. Tomhnson, R. D. Dewey. J. H. Bradish, F. S. 
Wood, A. N. Cowdin, George P. Bowen, Trumbull Gary, and H. B. 
Fisher. The officers are Henry Todd, president ; George P. Bowen, 
vice-president ; F. S. Wood, secretary and treasurer ; D. W. Tomlinson, 
J. H. Bradish, and R. D. Dewey, house committee. 

Batavia Business University was established by W. W. Whitcomb in 
1867, at 92 East Main street. In 1885 the Hon. John M. McKenzie 
became associated with Mr. Whitcomb in the reestablishment of the 
school, with all the later improved methods, Mr. McKenzie acting as 
secretary and treasurer. The school was then located at its present 
quarters. Main corner of Jackson streets. The school has graduated over 
800 pupils since it was established. Many of the young business men of 
Batavia are among its graduates. The " business practice " course of 
about two months is made to cover all possible transactions that may 
ever occur. 

To a limited extent Mr. Whitcomb has become quite proficient in the 
subject of astronomy, having published 2iK\ Illustrated Solar Chart, which 
gives at one view the relative positions of the planets ; their orbital speed 
per hour ; length of years; length of days ; amount of light and heat on 
each ; distance of each from the sun, also from the earth ; inclination of 
orbits; diameter of each; density; gravity; eclipses of the sun and 
moon ; phases of moon ; inclination of axis of earth ; Saturn and moon, 
from photographs ; Saturn's rings and moons ; annual parallax ; sun 
spots and faculae ; moon, Saturn, and Mars, from photographs ; the three 
motions of the sun explained ; tide waves; transit of Mercury and Venus. 
The contents of several books are all before the eye, and in a plain, com- 
prehensible manner. Mr. Whitcomb has also invented and procured let- 
ters patent on a Lunar Globe. The earth globe is confined in a groove 
forming an eclipse, thus showing the sun at \\i^ foci and the earth at a 
corresponding greater distance in June than in December ; also the radius 
vector for each day in the year. The moon ball is so arranged as to fol- 
low the exact path of the moon, climbing in her course for 173 days and 
descending in same length of time, and in passing her nodes will show 
plainly when and how an eclipse is caused. Also how we may have 
seven eclipses in one year and only four in another, and will also pass 
accurately through the Chaldean period, or saros, and repeat the eclipses 
once in about 18 years. The " orbit band" is so arranged that the 



240 GENESEE COUNTY. 



higher part indicates at a glance where, and in what months, the aphehon 
part of the moon's orbit is located — and careful study proves that wherever 
this is found the weather is under its influence : warmer, when between 
the earth and sun in winter, and cooler when from the sun in sum- 
mer ; or, to state it again, when the "orbit band " is tozvard the sun in 
summer we have extremes of heat, and, as when it is to the sun in sum- 
mer, it \s frojH the sun in winter, we have extreme cold. This is proved 
by dates covering over 6o years. 

The Johnston Harvester Company. — In 1868 Johnston, Huntley & Co. 
established at Brockport, N. Y., a manufactory of harvesters, having had 
the machines built on contract for 1867. The principal member of the 
firm was Byron E. Huntley. They first manufactured what was known 
as the Johnston sweepstakes. After a {&\\ years the manufacture of 
these machines was abandoned, being supplanted by the present John- 
ston harvester. In 1870 a joint stock company was organized for the 
manufacture of these machines, with Samuel Johnston, president, and 
Byron E. Huntley, secretary and treasurer. In 1874 Mr. Johnston with- 
drew from the company, although the name of the corporation was not 
changed. In June, 1882, the works at Brockport were burned, and the 
company at once determined to remove to a place offering greater facil- 
ities for transportation, and accordingly they were located here. The 
works now consist of seven large buildings, occupying 17 acres of ground 
on Harvester avenue, between the N. Y. C. & H. R. Railroad and the 
N. Y., L. E. & W. Railroad. Steam engines of 300 horse- power fur- 
nish the propelling force for the machinery, and from 400 to 500 skilled 
mechanics are employed. The original cost of the plant was $300,000. 
The fact that Batavia is a good manufacturing point has been fully dem- 
onstrated, and a number of new manufacturing concerns have recently 
located there; none, however, are equal in magnitude to the Johnston har- 
vester works. 

In November, 1888, the company was reorganized by the election of 
the following cjirectors : George F2. Dana, of Syracuse ; C. C. Briggs, of 
Pittsburg; L. C. Mclntyre, B. E. Huntley, and A. J. Glass, of Batavia. 
The officers are A. J. Glass, president and treasurer ; Byron E. Huntley, 
vice-president; and E. J. Mockford, secretary and superintendent. In 
January, 1889, there was added the manufacturing of the " Continental 
rotary disk pulverizer and corn cultivator," representing about 40 pat- 
ents. They manufacture four styles of mowers, two styles of reapers, and 
two styles of self-binders. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



24r 



Albert J. Glass, president and treasurer of the Johnston Harvester 
Co., is a native of Livingston Count}^, and was born in 1841. Receiving 
an academic education in his native county upon attaining his majority 
he went to McGregor, Iowa, and became engaged in selHng farming 
machinery and agricultural implements. In 1867 he was appointed the 
agent for the sale of Johnston harvesters, and in 1871 was made the 
manager of the Western business of the company, with offices located at 
Chicago. In 1882 he left the service of the company, and was for six 
years the manager of the Janesville Machine Co , at Janesville, Wis. In 
January, 1888, he came to Batavia at the request of Mr. Huntley, and 
was active in the reorganization of the present company. Mr. Glass 
is a man of superior executive ability, and under his supervision the 
affairs of the works are flattering and prospering. 

Byron E. Huntley is the vice-president and European manager of the 
Johnston Harvester Company. His native home was Mexico, Oswego 
County. He moved to Fairport, Monroe County, with his parents, when 
12 years of age, and in 1844 to Brockport. He prepared for college at 
Brockport Collegiate Institute, and subsequently attended the Madison 
University, at Hamilton. Madison County. Owing to failing health, 
however, he was compelled to give up his college course, and soon after 
he took a position as office boy in the factory of Fitch, Barry & Co. 
About 1845 an arrangement was made by Fitch, Barry & Co. with 
McCormick (who had come up from Virginia to Brockport to get his 
reaper built) to manufacture his machines under a license. The McCor- 
mick machine was built for a few years at this factory, which was one of 
the earliest in this line of work. Mr. Huntley spent about five years here 
as employee, and at the expiration of that time he secured an interest in. 
the business, the firm being then known as Ganson, Huntley & Co. But 
few machines had been turned out up to this time ; and the records show 
that Huntley, Bowman & Co. commenced work on the Palmer & Will- 
iams self- rake in 1853, that 50 machines were made that season, that in 
1854 the number was increased to 325, and in the following years to 
825 machines. In 1871 failing health compelled Mr Huntley to seek a 
change, and he spent that year in Colorado, a rest that was of great ben- 
efit*to him, and one of the best investments he ever made, he thinks ;. 
but prior to this he had established a market for their machines in 
Europe, and had opened an office there. As the Franco-Prussian war 
was in progress he did not go over in 1871, but he went the next year^ 
and has gone regularly ever since. Mr Huntley has crossed the Atlan- 



242 GENESEE COUNTY. 



tic 38 times, and is, perhaps, better posted on the European harvester 
and mower trade than any man Hying ; and the aim of the Johnston 
Harvester Company, influenced by his practical suggestions, has not 
been to lead in numbers of machines turned out, but to regularly make 
the best ; audit is this course that has gained for them a world-wide 
reputation. 

Edward J. Mockford was born in England in 1853, and came so this 
country in 1866. He entered the employ of Johnston, Huntley & Co. at 
Brockport in 1869, and has remained with the company ever since through 
all the changes of management. He has filled the positions of book- 
keeper and cashier, and is now the very efficient secretary and superin- 
tendent of the large factory of the Johnston Harvester Co. 

The Wiai'd Plozv Company. — Thomas Wiard was a blacksmith and 
farmer in East Avon, N. Y. In- 1806 he was engaged in the manufact- 
ure of the old-fashioned " bull plow " that was used by the pioneer farm- 
ers. In 181 5 he began to purchase from Jethro Wood (the inventor of 
the first successful cast-iron plow) the necessary castings, and these he 
wooded and completed in his shop. Thus he continued until 18 19, when 
he erected a foundry, made patterns for improved plows, and manufact- 
ured all the parts himself He continued the manufacture of plows at 
East Avon, in connection with his sons William, Seth, Thomas, Henry, 
and Matthew, till about 1830, and one or more of his sons were manu- 
facturing there until 1871. During this period improvements were being 
made in the Wiard plows till they had acquired a reputation above those 
of any other pattern in use. It is worthy of note that all the numerous 
members of the Wiard family from the grandfather down were m,en of 
superior practical ingenuity. 

In 1865 George Wiard, son of William, and president of the present 
company in Batavia, purchased a half interest in the establishment at 
East Avon, and in 1871 Charles W. Hough, treasurer of the company, 
purchased the interest of Matthew Wiard, the firm being Wiard & Hough. 
The firm continued at East Avon until 1876. During its existence at 
East Avon the works were several times burned. In 1876 the business 
had so increased as to necessitate better facilities for transportation, and 
a removal was determined on. The village of Batavia offered better rail- 
road facilities than any other place, and the citizens saw fit to donate a 
site for the works as a further inducement to the company to locate here. 
The works, located on Swan street, between the Erie and Central rail- 
roads, were erected by Wiard & Hough, and on their completion in Sep- 




-- # 



?/2i7^ oy KSEcuTs S' 



nisJf-Y- 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



243 > 



tember, 1876, the present company was organized. The capital stock 
was originally $70,000, but was subsequently increased to $100,000. 
•George Wiard was the president and general superintendent, and C. W. 
Hough the secretary and treasurer. The present officers are the same, 
except that J. J. Washburn is now the secretary. Since the establish- 
ment of the works here the business has been mainly the manufacture of 
plows, of which the company makes an endless variety, adapted to all 
kinds of soils and circumstances, and the more important parts of which 
are covered by letters patent in the United States and Canada. These 
consist of one, two, and three-horse plows, with chilled and steel mold- 
boards, wood, malleable, and cast-iron beams, sulky and walking, flatland 
and side-hill, and particularly swivel plows for level land. The orig- 
inal capacity of the works has been about doubled ; the establishment 
now covers about four acres of ground, and an average of 125 hands are 
employed. The machinery is driven by an engine of 100 horse-power, 
and the shops are heated by steam and lighted by the Edison system of 
incandescent electric light, 'and are provided in all parts with automatic 
sprinklers. One feature, rare in manufactories of agricultural imple- 
ments, is that these works have never, since the company was organized 
in Batavia, for one day been closed for want of something to do. The 
company has also invented important improvements in sulky hay rakes, 
for which patents are pending; and having added this class of implements 
to their business are now engaged in the extensive manufacture and dis- 
tribution of the same. 

George Wiard, the organizer and head of the Wiard Plow Company, 
is a self-made and representative business man of Western New York. 
His parents were William and Lucinda (McLaughlin) Wiard, early set- 
tlers of Western New York, and for several years in East Avon, where 
his father engaged in manufacturing. In 1820 he removed to Canada, 
and was the first to manufacture cast-iron plows in that country. He 
resided there until his death in 1-841 ; his wife also died there in 1864. 

George Wiard was born in Canada in 1833. When 15 years of age he 
went to Buffalo and learned the trade of molder, and thus gained a prac- 
tical knowledge of the requirements of the business he was to follow, and 
has so successfully developed. He has been a resident of Genesee or 
Livingston counties since 1854. Losses from fire, several times, have 
only resulted in renewed energy and perseverance, until at last a model 
establishment is the result. Mr. Wiard is also closely identified with the 
growth and developement of the village. He has been an active and 



I 



244 GENESEE COUNTY. 



influential member of the board of education for many years, serving as 
its president for four terms. He was one of the organizers of the Genesee 
County Permanent Loan and Building Association, serving as president 
for 10 years. He was one of the commissioners appointed to build the 
water works. To religion, charity, and works of benovelence Mr. Wiard 
is a cheerful giver, he and his family being connected with the Baptist 
Church. 

Mr. Wiard has an honorable record of service during the late war^ 
He enlisted in the 129th Regt. N. Y. Vols, in 1862. This regiment sub- 
sequently was changed to the 8th N. Y. H. A. In a battle before Pe- 
tersburg Mr. Wiard received a wound by which he was confined to the 
hospital, from where he was ordered to Washington to instruct fresh 
troops. He was on thestafifof Gen. Hardin and Gen. Haskins, com- 
manding defences of Washington. He was inspector of artillery until 
the close of the war, after which he had charge of dismantling forts south 
of the Potomac, and was finally transferred to the 4th N. Y. H. A., being 
a captain in that regiment when mustered out in October, 1865. In 1856' 
Mr. Wiard married Miss Emeline Warren, of East Avon. She died in 
1870, and in 1872 he was married to Miss Isabella Warren, also of East 
Avon, and they are parents of five children, viz.: May, Louis, Ernest^ 
Henry, and Harry. 

Charles W. Hough, treasurer of the Wiard Plow Company, is a native 
of Cayuga County, N. Y. , where his father was engaged in agricultural 
pursuits. He was born in 1836. Receiving a business education he 
early in life became a clerk in a store. In 1855 he went to Iowa, and 
while there was an assistant in a store, taught school, and served as dep- 
uty county treasurer of Boone County one year. In August, 1862, he 
enlisted in Co. E, 138th Regt. N. Y. Vols., which was afterwards changed 
to the 9th N. Y. H. A. This regiment was assigned to the defence of 
Washington, remaining there for 18 months. Mr. Hough served on the 
staff" of Gen. Haskins as ordnance officer of the defences north of the 
Potomac. He was also on the staff" of Gen. Hardin and Gen. Wilcox^ 
was promoted to first lieutenant, and commissioned captain on the 
mustering out of the regiment. After the close of the war he had charge 
of dismantling the forts around Washington, north of the Potomac, and 
was mustered out in October, 1865. He then resumed his business life^ 
engaging in mercantile trade in his native county, but removed to Min- 
nesota, engaging in the manufacture of farming implements until he be- 
came a member of the Wiard Plow Co. in 1871, where his knowledge of 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



245 



the requirements essential to the sale of farming implements has redounded 
to the benefit of the company. He has been largely interested in real 
estate operations; has opened up an addition to Batavia on Central av- 
enue, Pringle and Wood streets, and the section where the new Union 
School is located. He is also a large owner of plantation property in 
Florida, where he is engaged in cultivating orange and lemon groves. 
In all the enterprises to promote the growth of Batavia he is a valued 
counselor and a liberal contributor. 

Mr. Hough formed a matrimonial alliance, in 1866, with Miss Jennie 
Young, of Cayuga County, and they have two children, Arthur G. and 
Edward W. 

Julian J. Washburn, secretary of the Wiard Plow Company, was born 
in Randolph, Vt., in 1842. He came of old Puritan stock, being a direct 
descendant of the Rev. Robert Cushman, who first obtained the charter 
of the ship Mayflower, and of his son, Thomas Cushman, and Mary Al- 
lerton, both of whom came to Plymouth on the first voyage. Mr. 
Washburn was educated in the grammar schools of his native State, 
and became a teacher, pursuing that vocation until September, 1 802, when 
he joined the 15th Regt. Vt. Vols. (Col. Redfield Proctor), and served 
during its term of enlistment. He was then employed as clerk in the 
U. S Hospital Department until the close of the war, when he engaged 
in agricultural pursuits and teaching until 1870, being officially connected 
with various agricultural and literary associations during the time. He 
next engaged in commercial pursuits, going to Boston, Mass., in Octo- 
ber, 1870, and spending most of the time in traveling for the seven suc- 
ceeding years. In 1877 he became a resident of Batavia. and has ever 
since been connected with the Wiard Plow Co., of which he has been a 
trustee, and the secretary since May, 1880. In this time he has also 
served both as trustee and president of the village of Batavia. Mr. 
Washburn is a genial and cultivated gentleman, and an honored and 
respected addition to the social and business element of the county. 

He was married, in 1866, to Martha K. Bigelow, daughter of the late 
Hon. Abel Bigelow, of Brookfield, Vt. They have two children, Ed- 
ward A., a counselor at law, and Mary V., at present a pupil in the 
Union School of Batavia. The family attends the Presbyterian church, 
and takes the greatest interest in all that pertains to the moral and intel- 
lectual advancement of the community. 

The Batavia Wheel Company was organized May 13, 1887, by Frank 
Richardson, William W. Leavenworth, Dr. W. C. Gardiner, A. M. Colt, 



246 GENESEE COUNTY. 



E. E. Leavenworth, Mrs. Mary E. Richmond, Mrs. A. R. Kenny, 
Moses E. True, John M. Sweet, and James R. Colt. The capital stock 
was placed at $50,000, and the following officers were elected : Frank 
Richardson, president; Dr. W. C. Gardiner, vice-president; William W. 
Leavenworth, secretary ; A. M. Colt, treasurer ; and John M. Sweet, 
superintendent. The business was originally inaugurated in 1880, by 
Colt Brothers & .True. In 1885 Mr. Sweet became associated with 
the old firm, manufacturing hardware specialties and subsequently the 
Sweet wheels. The works were located at Exchange Place, and were 
burned in January, 1886. Upon the organization of the present com- 
pany grounds were secured on Wahiut street, adjoining the Central Rail- 
road tracks, consisting of 254 feet on Wahiut street and 478 feet on the 
railroad. Upon these grounds spacious buildings were erected, consist- 
ing of a main building 40x150 feet, three stories in height, with brick 
engine and boiler rooms, and other buildings consisting of a hub room 
40x20 feet, storage and coal sheds, etc., and a handsome office building. 
A switch from the Central tracks connects the manufactory with ample 
transportation facilities. The machinery is propelled by a 60-horse- 
power engine, and the firm employs an average of 40 workmen, and 
turns out from 50 to 75 sets of wheels per day. The wheels manufact- 
ured by the firm are Sweet's concealed band and the True shell band, 
which rank as the best in the world and find a ready sale all over the 
United States and Australia. The firm also manufactures various other 
hardware specialties. The plant is a model of its kind, and cost, with 
machinery, about $40,000. 

Frank Richardson, the president of the Batavia Wheel Co., is a native 
of Saratoga County, where he was born in 1851. His father was a rail- 
road contractor, and this business was followed by the son, who was con- 
nected with the construction of various lines of road in this country. He 
next engaged in the hardware trade in Watertown, and in October, 1886, 
purchased the stock of Volz Brothers, hardware merchants, of Batavia. 
Three months later he lost his stock of goods by fire. He then organized 
the company of which he is president, and is devoting his exclusive atten- 
tion to the management of this progressive manufactory. Mr. Richard- 
son was united in marriage, in 1883, with Miss Emma P. Johnson, who 
died October 25, 1888, leaving one child, Rufus J. 

William W. Leavenworth is a native of Darien, and was born in 1855, 
a son to Rev. Hobart and Nancy (Gridley) Leavenworth, of English 
descent and of New iMigland nativity. His father was a Baptist clergy- 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



247 



man, and had charge of many pastorates in the State. William W. was 
reared in this county, educated in its schools, and had also the advantage 
of Lima Seminary. His business career began as a drug clerk in Bata- 
via, and for the past five years he has been a member of the well-known 
drug firm of his name. Since entering the service of the Batavia Wheel 
Company he has served as secretary. His wife's maiden name was Miss 
Ida Barber. 

Alva M. Colt, treasurer of the Batavia Wheel Co., was born in War- 
saw, N. Y., in 1842, and is a son of Joseph R. and Sarah A. (Phelps) 
Colt, who moved to Darien in 1853. Learning the trade of blacksmith 
in Warsaw Alva W. followed this calling from 1859 to 1880, in Erie 
and Genesee counties. In 1869 he came to Batavia, where he has since 
resided. He was a member of the firm of Foster & Colt, and in 1880 a 
partner of the Batavia Clamp Co. He was one of the original members 
of the company to start the manufacture of wheels in Batavia, and was 
instrumental in the erection of the plant of the Batavia Wheel Co. He 
married a Miss Hicks, of Erie County, in 1867. 

John M. Sweet, general superintendent of the Batavia Wheel Co., and 
an inventor, is a Canadian by birth, but has been a resident of the United 
States since he was 1 1 years of age. He is a carriagemaker by trade, 
but possesses a talent for general mechanics. He has taken patents on 
four hubs, and is the inventor of various useful labor-saving machines. 
In 1872 he was united in marriage with Mrs. Julia A. Griswold, of Ba- 
tavia. 

William C. Gardiner, the vice-president of the Batavia Wheel Co., is a 
descendant of Roger who came to America in the Mayflower. He was 
born in 1842, in Madison County, N. Y., and went to the war in 1861, 
remaining about two years. In 1864 he began to practice dentistry in 
Wauseon, Ohio, and after visiting several places in the West he settled in 
Batavia, where he is now engaged in practice. He is a Republican, a 
member of the Masonic order, and a member of the Presbyterian Church. 
He married Elizabeth C. Wheeler, of Hamilton, N. Y., and they have 
one son, Charles. 

The New York Lumber and Wood Working Company is now one of 
the leading manufacturing industries of Batavia. In 1884 the Batavia 
Manufacturing Company was formed, with a capital stock of $200,000. 
This firm was soon changed to the Batavia Sewing Machine Company, 
the capital stock authorized to be increased to $300,000, and they con- 
tracted to manufacture the Post combination sewing machine. During 



248 * GENESEE COUNTY. 



the summer of 1884 the company erected, near the eastern boundary 
line of the village, a brick building, 60x300 feet, three stories in height, 
with an engine-house attached. The cost was about $40,000. Financial 
embarrassment prevented the execution of the plans of the company, and 
in 1885 the building became the property of the New York Lumber and 
Wood Working Co., formerly the New York Wood Turning Co., of New 
York city. This company has a capital stock of $100,000, all owned by 
New York parties, where the principal office is located — 173 Broadway. 
The officers of the company are W. C. Andrews, president ; George P. 
Smith, vice-president; Lewis Coon, secretary; and O. P. Shaffer, treas- 
urer. C. Honeck is superintendent of the manufactory, and W. H. Sid- 
way is the local financial representative. The company employs on an 
average 150 workmen, and its principal market is New York city. The 
work produced by the company consists of all kinds of decorative and 
cabinet work for house finishing, besides a vast variety of fancy furniture, 
wood turning, molding, carving, etc. The machinery is of the latest 
improved pattern, and the establishment is a model of its kind. The 
building is protected from fire by the automatic water system. The busi- 
ness of the firm is fast increasing, and their force is now working 10 hours 
per day throughout the year. 

W. H. Sidway, who is the financial manager of the Batavia office of 
the New York Lumber and Wood Working Co., is a native of Buffalo. 
His business experience began as a reporter for the Express of his native 
city. In 1886 he became a clerk in the New York office of his present 
company, and was subsequently promoted to his present position. Mr. 
Sidway is a young man possessing fine business qualities, and represents 
his corporation with energy and fidelity. 

Charles H. Honeck, superintendent of the New York Lumber and 
Wood Working Co., is a native of Prussia, and immigrated to America in 
1856. He learned the trade of cabinetmaker in New York, and evincing 
an aptitude for art designing entered the Plassman School of Art in New 
York city, and was graduated therefrom. He subsequently became the 
superintendent for Brooks & Co., of Brooklyn, retaining that position 
three years, and also had charge of the establishment of R. W. Myers, 
cabinetmaker and interior decorator, for three years. He was then 
placed in charge of the works of his present employers, in New York 
city, and since 1887 has been superintendent of the Batavia works. 

The Syracuse Forging and Gicn Company removed their plant from 
Syracuse to Batavia in the spring of 1889. This company began busi- 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 249 



ness in the manufacturing of an improved fifth wheel for wagons, and 
finally added the manufacture of the new Baker gun. They are located 
in the old brick school building on Liberty street, and with additions made 
by them have in use about 20,000 square feet of flooring, and one and one- 
half acres of ground. The motive power is supplied by three engines ag- 
gregating 75 horse-power, and an average of 100 men are regularly em- 
ployed. An electric light plant furnishes 150 lights for their use. The 
fifth wheel manufactured by them is a combination of valuable patents, 
and ranks as a leader in the trade. The new Baker gun is the invention 
of W. H. Baker, the general superintendent of the company. It is a 
breech- loading, double barrelled shot gun, manufactured in many dif- 
ferent weights, and about 5,000 are sold annually at a list price of $30 
each. The market for the gun extends all over the United States. The 
business of the company will exceed $175,000 annually. Dr. E. L. Baker 
is the president of the company ; Ralph Helm, of Syracuse, vice-presi- 
dent ; W. T. Mylcrane, secretary and treasurer ; and W. H. Baker, gen- 
eral superintendent. The capital stock is $60,000. 

TJie Batavia Preserving Company was orignally started by John Pier- 
son in 1879, who began canning fruits and vegetables at Bushville. He 
supplied himself with all the modern appliances of the trade, but owing 
to want of attention to the details was not pecuniarily successful. In 1 88 1 
the Bank of Batavia became the owner of the establishment, and the busi- 
ness was conducted by it one season at Bushville. In 1882 Sprague, 
Warner & Co., of Chicago, the present proprietors, purchased the estab- 
lishment and conducted the business. In the spring of 1883 they re- 
moved to the corner of School and Liberty streets, in the old school- 
house, then a manufactory of engines. The business as conducted by 
the present company is very successful. All kinds of fruits and vege- 
tables common to this locality are put up in glass or tin, the latter being 
manufactured on the premises. From 175 to 350 hands are employed, 
and 1,350,000 cans are put up in a season. The business increased so 
rapidly that the company was forced to erect larger and more convenient 
buildings, and in May, 1888, they moved to the new quarters on Mill 
street. The main building is 50x209 feet, with wings 80x35 and 40x60 
feet. The motive power is furnished by a 70-horse-power engine. This 
company has also a branch at Spencerport, Monroe County, where 200 
persons are employed during the busy season, producing about 500,000 
cans. 

W. E. Flynn, the manager of these works, was born in Newark, N. Y., 



250 GENESEE COUNTY. 



in i860. He became connected with the firm in 1884, and in 1886 was 
appointed to his present position. He is deserving of the confidence re- 
posed in him. 

Breweries and malt-houses. — In 1827 a brewery and malt-house was 
built by Libbeus Fish on what is now Elm street, on the present site of 
A. H. King's malt-house. It was a wooden building of small capacity, 
though sufficient for the demands of the place and vicinity at that time. 
From time to time the capacity of the establishment was increased 
to meet the demands of the trade, till in i860 it was capable of turning 
out 8,000 barrels annually. It was conducted by Libbeus Fish until 
1835, when Eli H. Fish, his son, became proprietor, and he continued 
the business till 1862. In that year he disposed of the establishment to 
Boyle & Smith, who carried it on as a brewery till the autumn of 1864, 
when it reverted to Mr. Fish. In January, 1865, it was burned. In the 
summer of the same year a malt-house was erected on the site by Mr. 
Fish, who conducted it till 1871, when R. A. Maxwell (now State super- 
intendent of insurance) became a partner. In a year's time that firm 
was succeeded by Maxwell & Ensign. In December, 1872, the buildings 
were again burned, and in 1873 again rebuilt by Mr. Fish. Soon after- 
wards A. H. King became a partner with Mr. Fish. The firm continued 
until 1876, when the interest of Mr. Fish was purchased by King & Son. 
In May, 1883, the establishment was again burned, but was at once re- 
built by King & Son, with about double its previous capacity, and with 
all modern improvements. About 80,000 bushels of barley are annually 
converted into malt in this establishment, and the barley crop of the 
county is the principal one. Mr. King became sole owner in 1886. Up- 
ton & Warner have conducted the business since. The cost of the build- 
ing is $26,000. New York and Boston are the principal ports of sale. 

A. H. King, a native of Monroe County, was reared upon a farm, a^id 
has always been engaged in handling agricultural productions. He was 
for many years a large dealer in grain and wool in his native county, and 
during the late war was an extensive dealer in oats, which he furnished 
the government. He has served as supervisor in Monroe County for 
eight years, and for five years was superintendent and weighmaster on 
the Erie Canal. 

In 1857 Eli H. Fish built spacious ale vaults on the site of the brewery 
above noted, which were used as such till 1870, when they were converted 
into a brewery, which was conducted by different parties fron"! time to 
time till 1880, when William Gamble purchased the property and sue- 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 25 I 



cessfully operated it till 1887, when the buildings were burned. Their 
capacity was 4,500 barrels annually. Mr. Gamble now confines his at- 
tention to bottling beer, handling ale, and retailing liquors, at 508 East 
Main street. 

In 1850 John Eagar purchased the old stone church (built in 1827 by 
the Methodists) on West Main street. This he converted into a brew- 
ery, using it as such till 1862, when it was burned out. He then erected, 
on the south side of the street (opposite), a large brick building, which 
has been used as a brewery and wholesale liquor store from that time. 
The size of the building is 50x125 feet, three stories high, with base- 
ment. After the burning out of the old stone building it was re-roofed 
and fitted up as a malt-house. Mr. Eagar died in 1869, but the busi- 
ness is still carried on under the firm name of Eagar & Co., composed 
of John F. v., H. B., and W. T. Eagar, and Mrs. Emily M. Whitcomb, and 
they are agents for Syracuse ale. After the destruction by fire of the 
Fish malt-house, on Elm street, in 1872, R. A. Maxwell and H. J. En- 
sign erected a new malt house on Union street, near West Main street. 
It was of concrete, three stories high, 100x140 feet. They conducted 
a malting business until 1881, when Craft & Caldwell purchased the busi- 
ness and have carried it on since, malting 35,000 bushels of barley per 
year. 

The Batavia Brewing Company was organized November i, 1889, 
with William Hooker, president, and William Gamble, manager. A 
building 40x60 feet, three stories in height, and an extension, will be 
used for the business. It is expected that 10,000 barrels of ale and 
porter will be manufactured annually. 

House's bottling works are located on West Main street. 

Callender s crayon factory was started in 1887, on Jackson street. Oil, 
lithographic, and lumber crayons are manufactured. 

Giddings s cigar factory is located on Main street and employs four 
hands. 

J. F. Gamier s cigar factory is located over 90 Main street. It was 
started in 1884, and now makes 15,000 cigars per month. 

The Batavia Steam Laundry, located at 202 East Main street, was 
established by Mrs. Nettie Showerman, October 7, 1889. It has all the 
modern appliances for doing first-class work. 

Ellicott street roller-mills, of Batavia, were erected by Frank G 
Moulton in the summer of 1889. The structure is 60x40 feet, five 
stories high, and from foundation to roof is symmetrically and substan- 



252 GENESEE COUNTY. 



tially built. The motive power is furnished by a 6o- horse- power steam 
engine. All the machinery is of the latest paten's and the best manu- 
factured. A requirement in the contract between Mr. Moulton and the 
builder was that the mills should be capable of doing as good work as 
any on the American continent. These mills have a capacity of lOO 
barrels of flour per day. They were constructed with anticipations of 
doubling their capacity. The business is now conducted under the firm 
name of Parsons & Co., with Mr. Moulton as the chief proprietor and 
factor in the firm. 

The Batavia Gas and Electric LigJit Company was organized as the 
Batavia Gas Light Company in 1855, with a capital of $32,500. The 
first directors were George Brisbane, D. W. Tomlinson, G. B. Worth- 
ington, S. C. Holden, Alva Smith, Frank Chamberlin, and R. Merrifield. 
D. W. Tomlinson was president, secretary, and treasurer, and W. H. 
Tompkins, superintendent. The works, located on Ellicott street, near 
the Erie Railroad freight depot, were completed in the antumn. The 
gas holder at that time had a capacity of 13,500 feet. There were 150 
consumers and 20 street lamps. In 1878 a new holder, with a capacity 
of 35,000 feet, was built. From the first construction of the works the 
consumption of gas has steadily increased, till now over 400 consumers 
and 124 street lamps are supplied. The mains have been extended from 
two miles to seven miles. Early in 1885 new works were erected for 
the manufacture of gas from crude petroleum. The gas so manufactured 
is of a better quality and cheaper in price. In 1886 the company aug- 
mented their plant by introducing a dynamo for electric light, using both 
the Jenny and Brush systems. The present officers are Wilber Smith, 
president ; A. N. Cowdin, secretary and treasurer ; and Alexander Wy- 
ness, superintendent, he succeeding Mr. Tompkins. 

Consumers' Electric Light and Pozvcr Company was organized in 
1889, with a capital of $25,000, with Henry Craft, president; C. H. 
Caldwell, secretary ; R. L. Kinsey, treasurer. Tke works are located 
off" Evans street on the Erie Railroad, and the company will furnish light 
for stores, residences, and factories, and power for all who want it.^ 

Schad Wheel Company was organized in December, 1889, with J. J. 
Ellis as president; Bernard Schad, vice-president; Henry S. Allis, 
secretary ; and Frank J. Shultz, treasurer. The capital stock is $40,000. 



1 A new company has recently been formed called the " Consumers' Electric Light and Power 
Co.," the directors of the same having bought out the two above named companies. The par- 
ties interested are S. D. Purdy, H. D. Rhodes, Henry Craft, Charles H. Caldwell, R. C. Gar- 
hari, and R. L. Kinsev. — Editor. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 253 



They manufacture the Schad and other carriage wheels. The superiority 
of the Schad wheel consists of its locked spoke in an iron jacket, with its 
heavy shoulder resting wholly on the wooden hub, making it especially 
desirable for stone pavements. The company contemplates manufactur- 
ing on a large scale this superior wheel. 

In September, 1888, D. K. Chaddock opened up a spacious livery 
stable at No. 8 State street. He keeps from 1 5 to 20 horses. He is 
also owner and proprietor of the Pratt mills at Indian Falls, and is a 
dealer in horses. He resides on the corner of Ellicott avenue and Mix 
Place. 

E. N. Roivell & Co. manufacture paper boxes in every style, their 
heaviest output going to the drug trade. This factory is an offshoot of 
one started by Dr. A. S. Palmer in Utica, N. Y., prior to i860. The 
Doctor made his own pill-boxes, and invented his machinery and tools. 
After Dr. Palmer's death the business was carried on by his children in 
a small way until 1883, when it was moved to Batavia. In 1889 E. N. 
Rowell, finding the old plant inadequate to his business, took in E. G. 
Buell, and they purchased a new outfit of machinery and moved into 
larger quarters, using both plants, to which they are constantly adding 
new machinery for further enlargement of the business. E. N. Rowell 
has invented many new boxes for the drug trade, some of which are now 
made and quoted by every box factory, in the United States and Canada. 
So many new things are being made that it is often called the Novelty 
Manufacturing Company. Their goods are shipped into every State in 
the Union and to Canada. 

The Batavia roller Jlouring-mills, on Evans street, were established in 
1884, by N. D. Nobles. They have a capacity of 65 barrels of flour per 
day. The building is 36x48 feet. 

Cope & Son s pump works, on Harvester avenue, were established in 
1825, by Simon Cope. The business is now in the hands of Orville G. 
and Philip Cope. 

The West End Hotel, located on West Main street, is owned and con- 
ducted by S. W. Brown, he having been in possession for six years. 
The house is 40x40 feet, and has about 25 rooms for transient guests. 

The Cottage restaurajit is located at i State street. It is run as a 
first-class restaurant under the management of Burt Moulton. 

William T. Palniej^' s box factory is located at 56-60 Main street. It was 
moved from Utica in 1881 by Palmer & Rowell. Since 1883 Mr. Palmer 
has conducted the business. He has about 1 5 hands at work making paper 
boxes. 



254 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Watson Bullock manufactures the People's liquid bluing at 39 Liberty 
street. The concern was established in 1882. The bluing has no supe- 
rior for laundry work. Mr. Bullock also has a dyeing and scouring 
establishment, and has been 1 8 years in business. 

Calvin Armstrong, born in New London, Conn., came to Batavia in 
1853, and settled near Bushville, where he remained until his death in 
1857, aged 73 years. His wife was Clarissa, daughter of Amos and 
Edna (Smith) Armstrong, and their children were Mary, Ira, and Edna. 
Ira was born in Wheatland, N. Y.. in 1843. He married Ruth A.^ 
daughter of Jacob and Huldah (Washburn) Wood, of Attica, and their 
children were Nancy L., Ira L., and Clara A. His widow is still living 
in Batavia, at the age of 72 years. Ira died July 9, 1886, at the age of 
72 years. Nancy L. married Charles A. Snell, of Batavia, son of Charles 
and Elizabeth (Seamans) Snell, and their children are Charles I., Frank 
A., and Nettie L. 1 hey now reside on the Snell homestead farm. Cal- 
vin Armstrong served in the War of 1812, and was at the burning of 
Buffalo. 

Egbert A. Bigelow, son of William R., married Lillian F., daughter of 
George and Eliza (Knickerbocker) Kellogg, of Batavia, and their chil- 
dren were George E. and Winifried. For his second wife he married,. 
January 13, 1889, Eugenie M., daughter of Lorenzo D. and Julia S. 
(Strong) Langmade, of Oberlin, Kansas, natives of New York State. Mr. 
Langmade was of Scotch and French ancestry; his wife was of Holland 
and English descent, and was the daughter of George and Julia (Ding- 
man) Strong. Mr. Bigelow is a farmer, residing on road ^6. 

Elisha Bigelow was born in Guilford, Vt., and came to Onondaga 
County, thence to Batavia in 1830, where he died in 1883, aged 89 years. 
His first wife was Maria Reed ; his second wife was Harriet Jerome. 
The children were Horace E., James R., Jerome L , Mary, Sarah, Mariah, 
and William R. The latter was born in Hastings, N. Y., and married 
Jennie A., daughter of John D. and Abigail R. (Wolcott) Safford, of 
Pembroke. Their children were Egbert A., Gertrude S., Florence J., 
and Luella E. Gertrude S. is a missionary in Japan, where she has been 
three years under the auspices of the Presbyterian board. William R. 
Bigelow is a farmer on road "j^. 

. Andrew J. Andrews was born in Attica, May 15, 1830. In April,. 
1846, he commenced driving stage between Warsaw and Batavia for 
J. A. McElwain, being thus employed by him two years, when he bought 
the line and run it until July i, 1852. He also had charge of a livery 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 255 



stable for one year in Warsaw for Mr. McElwain. In 1853 he purchased 
the stable, and Andrews & Kinney run it for four years. He was out 
of business for one year, when he again engaged in the livery business 
for one year in Warsaw. He afterwards bought a livery business in 
Rochester, moved it to Warsaw, and was with his former partner (Kin- 
ney) until i860, when he moved to Batavia and opened a stable, keep- 
ing in the business since. In 1864 he engaged in the rear of St. James 
Hotel, where he has since been located. In 1885 he built a brick stable, 
56x82 feet, with basement and accommodations for 75 horses. He 
keeps from 10 to 15 horses for livery use. At one time he was in com- 
pany with A. G. Collins, under the firm name of A. G. Collins & Co., 
proprietors of the old St. James Hotel. 

Edward W. Atwater, at 212 East Main street, is the business manager 
of the Dean Richmond estate. He is a native of Rochester, was born in 
1842, educated in Providence, R. I., enlisted in the war of the Rebellion, 
served nine months, and became connected with the American Wood 
Paper Co , at Rogersford, Pa. He was there eight years, and was then 
secretary and treasurer of a manufacturing concern until 1874. He was 
engaged in business at Palmyra and Fairport, came to Batavia in 1886, 
and connected himself with the Johnston harvester works for two years. 
Mr. Atwater is trustee of the Railway Register Manufacturing Co. and 
Batavia Wheel Co., and treasurer of Batavia Hotel Co. He was married, 
in 1872, to Miss Fannie A. Langworthy, and they have four children. 

Rev. Lucius Atwater is president of the Pioneer Association, a posi- 
tion he has filled for many years. He has been instrumental also in 
building up many churches. He was at Middlebury for four years, at 
Elba seven years, and has preached to the Tonawanda Indians. 

Libbeus Allen came to Batavia in 18 17 from Otsego County, N. Y., 
and settled in the northwest part of the town. He had a family of 
seven children. His son William was born November 7, 18 19, and has 
always resided in the county. He married Rebecca Carr, and they have 
two children, Franklin W., who resides in Oakfield, and Jennie, wife of 
Alexander Clark, who resides at Lakeville, Livingston County. 

Henry Agar was born in Seneca County, N. Y., April 22, 1829. He 
worked in his father's (John) shop at Ovid, N. Y., and learned the car- 
riage painting trade. In 1854 he came to Le Roy, working at his trade 
until 1857, when his health failed. He then acted as mail agent on the 
railroad until i860, and was conductor from Batavia to Canandaigua un- 
til 1870, since which time he has worked at his trade, and has been en- 



256 GENESEE COUNTY. 



gaged in other business. He has always been in politics and is a Demo- 
crat. He married Elizabeth Hazen, and has a family of three children. 

Miles B. Adams, a successful business man, was born in Saratoga County 
in 1829, a son of Arial and Anna (Dennis) Adams. The father died in 
1848, and the mother is now living in Wisconsin, over 90 years of age. 
At the age of 19 Miles B. Adams began for himself, learning the machin- 
ists' trade, working at it 1 1 years. He next engaged in business in York, 
Livingston County, remaining there seven years. In 1869 he became a 
resident of Batavia, and was for seven years located at 98 Main street, 
and nine years at 99 Main street, during which time, he established a 
large grocery trade. He finally moved to Jackson street. After many 
years of active business he decided to abandon the grocery trade and 
market, and established a coal and wood yard on School street, which 
now occupies his attention, and to which he devotes the same progres- 
sive methods that characterized his former business relations. He has 
also been active in interests to better the condition of Batavia, both ma- 
terially and morally, is one of the directors of the loan association, and a 
staunch Prohibitionist. In 1850 he was united in marriage with Miss 
Polly Dowd, daughter of Joseph and Polly (Dutton) Dowd, of this 
county. Joseph Dowd was a farmer of Stafford, residing there until his 
death. His son, William Dowd, is president of the Bank of North 
America of New York, and prominent in business and political life. The 
Dutton family were among the earliest pioneers, and have been promi- 
nent in the history of the Presbyterian Church of the county. 

Peter Bater, son of Peter, was a native of Canada, and is now a resi- 
dent of Franklin County, N. Y. He married Mary Sampson, of Canada. 
Their daughter Marj^ married Joseph, son of Peter and Olive Votrey, of 
Franklin County, N. Y. Joseph Votrey died in Batavia in 1888, at the 
age of 64 years. His children were Ezra, Joseph, Olive, Helen, Peter, 
Annie, John, Hettie, Mary, Walter, and Frank. His widow, Mary, sur- 
vives her husband, and resides on road 61, in Batavia, at the age of 66 
years. 

John Brown was a native of County Limerick, Ireland. In 1847 he 
came to Batavia, and now resides on Cedar street. His brothers and 
sisters are Margaret, Ellen, Stephen, and Michael. John Brown married 
Ellen Sexton, of Ireland, and his children are John, Johanna, Mary J., 
Kittie, and Stephen W. The latter was born in Batavia, and married 
Sarah Francis, daughter of William and Johanna (Monion) Francis, of 
Bethany. He is now proprietor of the West End Hotel on West Main 
street, Batavia, where he has been four years. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 257 



Asa Burr, a native of Connecticut, moved to Otsego County, thence 
to Henrietta about 1810, where he died in 1835, aged 86 years. He 
married Meh'nda Hoskins, of Connecticut, and their children were Asa, 
James, Warren, Doras, Emily, Melinda, and Maria. James was born in 
G«ranby, Conn., in 1791, and died in Alabama in 1882, aged 91 years. 
He served in the War of 18 12. He married Lorinda, daughter of 
Thomas and Phoebe Norris, of Richfield, N. Y. Lorinda Norris was 
born in 1798. Her parents were from Connecticut. James Burr's chil- 
dren were Alcinda, Asa, Fideha, Mary T., and Norris T. The latter was 
born in Henrietta, October 25, 1819, and married Marietta A., daughter 
of David and Nancy (Clark) Gill, of Barre, N. Y., and they have one 
daughter, Alcinda C, who married Luther H., son of Levi and Mary E. 
(Harmon) Townsend, of Batavia, and their children are Olive G. and 
Ada R. Mr. Burr has lived 22 years on his farm. Mr. Townsend re- 
sides with him. 

Rice Baldwin, of Connecticut, came to Elba in 1825, where he died in 
1874, aged 72 years. He married Phebe McCrillus, and their children 
were Milton, Aaron, Elvira, Eunice, Janette, Eleanor, Joanna, and Will- 
iam H. He married for his second wife Lucy Wheelock, of Batavia, and 
their children were Henry, Adelbert, Charity, Albert, Francis, Freedus, 
and Belle. William H. Baldwin was born in Elba, January 28, 1828^ 
and came to Batavia in 1883. He married Mrs. Jane M. Storms, daugh- 
ter of Henry and Jane (West) Edgerton. Their children are Phebe J. 
and Lillian E. The first husband of Mrs. Storms was John C. Storms, 
and their children were Mary E. and John C, Jr. Mr. Baldwin has 
been engaged in farming, but is now retired and lives in Batavia village. 
His age is 62 years, and that of his wife is 60 years. Mary E. Storms 
married John M. McKenzie, of Wisconsin, son of John and Eunice 
(Baldwin) McKenzie. They hve in Batavia and have one daughter, Bes- 
sie L. 

Herbert B. Booth, the present efficient overseer of the poor in Batavia,^ 
has been in office several years. He was married, in 1865, to the daugh- 
ter of Homer Bostwick. 

Garry Brinckerhofif was a native of the eastern part of the State, served 
in the War of the Revolution, drew a pension, and died in 1840 at Fish- 
kill-on-the-Hudson, at the age of 99 years. His wife, Phebe, bore him 
five children, viz.: Stephen, Daniel, Maria, Emeline, and Cornelius. The 
latter, a native of Dutchess County, came to Batavia in 1840, and died 
in Rochester in 1 881, aged 69 years. He was a master mechanic in 

• 



258 GENESEE COUNTY. 



wood, iron, and steel, was an inventor and manufacturer of agricultural 
implements, built the plow factory in Batavia, and was well known in 
Western New York. His wife was Catherine, daughter of William Rus- 
sell, of Poughkeepsie. Their children were Alonzo, Emma, Byron, 
Phebe, Horace, and Garry R. Garry R. Brinckerhoff was born in Fisli- 
kill, N. Y., and married Olive A Moulton, of Alexander, daughter of 
Lewis and Melvina (Benedict) Moulton. Their children are Elsie L., 
Ralph M., Mabel, Lewis C.,and Mary M. (deceased). Mr. Brinckerhoff 
is a farmer and resides on road 48, where he has lived for three years. 
Cornelius Brinckerhoff built the first successful mowing machine in use in 
Western New York, and is the inventor of the rake for reaping machines, 
and also of the self-holding furrow guage plow, having a diploma 
awarded for the same from the American Listitute in 1853. He was the 
owner and captain for 20 years of the vessel Samuel Coddington, which 
run from New York, and was the inventor of the augur that bores a 
a square hole, the patent of which is now owned by Mayor Parsons, of 
Rochester, N. Y. 

H. H. Benjamin, the oldest practicing dentist in Batavia, is a native of 
Orleans County, where he was born in 1835. He commenced the study 
of his profession in Albion with John A. Straight, remaining with him 
three years. In 1863 he came to Batavia and entered the office of Nelson 
Stevens, the first dentist in the county. Dr. Benjamin soon after began 
practice alone, and is now widely known throughout the county. He 
served as treasurer of the village three years, and is a member of the 
present board of health. 

Joseph C. Barnes, a merchant tailor of Batavia, is a native of Eng- 
land, and when 1 1 years of age came to America, locating in Canada. 
He learned his trade there, and in 1865 came to Batavia. In 1872 he 
formed a partnership with L. R. Bailey, which lasted eight years. Since 
that period he has conducted his business alone. Mr. Barnes is an ar- 
tistic cutter, and carries a large stock of imported and domestic cloths. 
He also has a large line of clothing and gents' furnishing goods. For 
the past 16 years his place of business has been at 96 East Main street, 
where he has spacious salesrooms. He has served as a member of the 
board of trustees of the village, and is foremost in all enterprises. He 
was married, in 1869, to Miss Clara Hawken, of Canada, and they have 
two children, William A. and Eva J., and belong to the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church. 

Dr. Elmina H. Benedict was born in Bath, Steuben County, and mar- 
• 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 259 



ried Dr. H. S. Benedict, of Corning. She studied medicine with him and 
has practiced for the last 25 years. She located in Batavia in 1885, and 
has been a member of the Steuben County Medical Society since 1877. 
Her specialties are female diseases.. She also spent one year at Geneva 
studying medicine. 

William H. Burns was born in Utica, September 25, 1834. In June, 
1852, he began work for the N. Y. C. & H. R. Railroad Co., and has been 
in their employ since. In April, 1873, he settled in Batavia, and has 
been roadmaster since for the Rochester, Canandaigua, and Attica divi- 
sion. 

M. C. Bergman started a barbershop in Batavia in 1878, and has been 
in business here since. In May, 1888, he opened up a first-class shop in 
the Parker House, with three assistants. 

Albert E. Bloomfield was born in Shelbyville, Ky., September 19, 
1 83 1, came to Batavia August 24, 1856, and was a cutter for William 
Mann for two years. In 1868 he opened a merchant tailoring store for 
himself, carrying on the same ever since, having been located at 50 Main 
street since March, 1876. He has a full line of goods connected with 
his trade, and also deals in gents' furnishing goods. 

Martinas S. Badgerow, son of Justin, a native of Markham, 14 miles 
from Toronto, Ont., came to Lockport in i860, and died in 1871, aged 
55 years. He was a carpenter. He married Phcebe A., daughter ot 
William H. and Sarah Smith, of Whitby, Ont., and their children were 
Melinda A., William H., Isaac B., Joseph A., Mary J., Carey E., and 
Isaac B. The last mentioned was born in Mona, Ont., and married 
Helena, daughter of August and Adelle (Boult) Begue, of Buffalo. Their 
children are Howard E. and Elma E. He is now a resident of the vil- 
lage of Batavia, and proprietor of a meat market on Jackson street. 
Anson and Weston Badgerow served in the late war and were honorably 
discharged. Weston is in Oregon on a cattle ranch, and Anson is in 
Dallas, Texas. 

William Briggs, a soldier of the Revolution, of Rhode Island, moved 
to Rensselaer County and died aged 70 years. By his wife, Sarah, he 
had children as follows: William, Alexander, Thomas, Nancy (Mosher), 
Amy (Briggs), Mrs. Justus Aiken, and one deceased. William Briggs, a 
native of Nova Scotia, at the age of three years went to Hoosick, N. Y., 
thence to Batavia in 1826, where he died on the Briggs farm in i860, 
aged 'j^ years. He married Christiana, daughter of James and Margaret 
McGowan, of Scotch origin, who inxnigrated in 1772 to Easton, N. Y. 



26o GENESEE COUNTY. 



Their children were William, James. John, Sarah, Emily, Margaret, and 
George A. George A. Briggs was born in Hoosick, N. Y., February i8, 
i8i6, came to Batavia in 1826, and married Harriet M., daughter of Dr. 
Amos and Hannah Town, of Batavia. Mr. Briggs, at the age of 74 years, 
resides on the Briggs homestead. His wife died in 1879, aged 55 years. 

John Brown, a native of Canada, was accidentally drowned at the age 
of 36 years. He married Betsey Thomas, of Cook's Mills, Canada, and 
their children were John and Joseph. The latter, a native of Canada, 
came to Batavia at the age of 18 years. He married, first, Thetus Ken- 
nedy, by whom he had children as follows: George, Sarah, Mary A., 
Amidon, Henry W., and John. His second wife was Mary Ann, daugh- 
ter of Jacob and Anna (Merrill) Lown, of Batavia. He is now a mer- 
chant at West Batavia. Mary A. married Cyrus Amidon, and they have 
a daughter, Nellie L. Mr. Brown's first wife, Thetus, was born in Otsego 
County, and died in Batavia, May 13, 1888, aged 68 years 

Charles M. Bosworth is manager for W. R. Bosworth, dealer in boots 
and shoes, 69 East Main street. This business was started in 1877 ^y 
the present manager, in the Opera House block, and was subsequently 
removed to its present location, where a full and attractive line of goods 
are constantly in stock. Charles M. Bosworth, son of William R. and 
Susan (Wilcox) Bosworth, a native of Vermont, was born in Stafford. 
His mother's father came from Otsego County, at an early day, and was 
a tanner and currier. William R. Bosworth followed farming until he 
retired from active business. Charles M. was educated in the schools of 
Batavia and Rochester, and began business as clerk in the postofiice, 
where he remained six years. He then established his present business. 
He was married, in 1874, to Miss Fannie Smith, and they have three 
children, Clara L., C. Merton, and Susie L. They are members of the 
Presbyterian Church. 

George P. Bowen, a well-known business man of Batavia, and a native 
of Darien, was born in 1841, a son of Portica Bowen, of Easton, N. Y., 
who came here in 18 12 and resided until his death in i860. George P. 
is the youngest of a family of eight children, all of whom are now living, 
viz.: David, a farmer, of Darien, Rufus, Mrs. Olive Dunbar, Mrs. Flora 
Major, Mrs Betsey Curtis, Richard, and Mrs. Myra Burk. He began 
business in Batavia in 1 865, engaging in the grocery trade, subsequently 
in the crockery trade, which he has since continued. Mr. Bowen has 
been located at 107 East Main street since 1877, where he has attractive 
and commodious salesrooms, and has secured a large and extended trade. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 26 1 



His stock is the largest carried in his Hne in the county. He is a mem- 
ber of Batavia Commandery, No. 34. 

Albert E. Brown was born irt Batavia in i860, a son of William H. 
and Ann (Caple) Brown, from Bristol, Eng. They came to America and 
located in Skaneateles, subsequently removing to this county. William 
H. Brown was a merchant in the furniture trade for 20 years. Albert 
was reared and educated in the Batavia schools, and entered the book 
and stationer)' business for four years. He then worked for C. M. Bos- 
worth in the boot and shoe business for nine years. In 1885 he started 
in business for himself, at 8.2 East Main street, where he is at present 
located, and has an extensive trade. He was elected town clerk in 1886, 
and is now serving his third term. He is a K. of P., an A. O. U. W., 
president of the Athletic Association, and a member of the Alert Hose 
Company. He was married, in 1884, to Miss Frank E., daughter of 
Joseph M. Parker, of Elba 

Martin Brown, an attorney in Batavia, was born in Montgomery 
County, in 1850, and in 1863 enlisted in Co. B, 25th Ohio Vols., serving 
until the close of the war. He was wounded in 1864 during the engage- 
ment at Grahamsville, S. C. After the close of the war he came to Gen- 
esee County, learned the carpenters' trade, following it for 10 years, and 
teaching district school in the winters. Entering the ofifice of Judge 
M. H. Peck he studied law two years, subsequently graduated from the 
Albany Law School, class of 1882, and the same ) ear was admitted to 
practice. He served as justice of the peace in Pembroke six years, and 
in Batavia two years. He was married, in 1882, to Miss Mary J. Mat- 
tison. They have one son, Allen G. 

John F. Baker, M. D., is a native of Delaware County, N. Y., where 
he was born in September, 181 5. His parents, Joseph and Eunice (Fol- 
lett) Baker, from New England, were farmers. Dr. Baker commenced 
the study of medicine in the office of Dr. Jonathan L. Cowles, and grad- 
uated from the Geneva Medical College in 1840. His practice began 
at Otselic, Chenango County, as an allopath, and continued for about 
four years, when he was converted to homeopathy. He moved then to 
Lebanon, Madison County, living there about four years, when he came 
to Batavia, November 18, 1848, being the first practitioner in his school 
in the county and the fifth in the State. In a few weeks after he came 
here Dr. F'oote came and was his partner for nearly a year; when Dr. 
Foote left Dr. C. C. Baker, a younger brother, was taken into partner- 
ship, about 1 85 I, and continued for about one year, when they separated. 



262 GENESEE COUNTY. 



and again became partners in 1862, continuing so for three years. Dr. 
Baker's health failing at this time, he went to Delaware and remained 
five years, returning with improved health, and located in Le Roy for a 
short time, when he finally settled again in this place, where, at the age 
of 74 years, we find him in the full vigor of health and earnestly pur- 
suing his profession, with a practice extended over a large section of 
country. He is a member of the New York Central Homeopathic As- 
sociation, and of the Western Homeopathic Medical Society, in the 
latter of which he has served as vice-president, and is now serving a<s 
secretary. He is also a member of the Masonic order of the 32d degree. 
Dr. Baker is the author of a long article on rupture and hernia, for which 
he has received high econiums from celebrated surgeons in this country 
and Europe. His son, John W. Baker, a native of Batavia, was under 
the instruction of his father from his youth. He graduated from Pulte 
Homeopathic College of Cincinnati in 1887, and is associated in business 
with his father. 

Dr. C. C. Baker came here in 1851, was associated with Dr. J. F. 
Baker for about one year, when he went to Albion, where he remained 
about one year, and then returned as partner with his brother, continuing 
so until 1865. He died in 1887. 

Very prominent among the physicians of Batavia, though young in 
the profession and practice, is Dr. William T. Bolton, who, by his inde- 
fatigable energy and devotion to the responsibilities assumed by him, 
has succeeded in establishing a business second to none in the com- 
munity. Dr. Bolton is a native of Wallingford, New Haven County, 
Conn., and son of William and Harriet (Self) Bolton, residents of New 
England, but of English ancestry. He was born March 21, 1859. Re- 
ceiving the superior primary education afforded by the schools of his na- 
tive town (so well known thtoughout New England), he prepared for Yale 
College at Hopkins's Grammar School, New Haven, and studied with 
Dr. Paul C. Skiff, of the same place. In 1877 he entered the medical 
department of Yale College, graduating therefrom and receiving his 
diploma in 1879. He commenced the practice of his profession in Braid- 
wood, 111., and in 1881 entered Jefferson Medical College of Philadelphia, 
from which institution he graduated in 1882. He was immediately ap- 
pointed resident physician of Charity Hospital on Blackwell's Island 
pursuing the superior advantages which that position afforded him for 
nearly two years. In 1883 he moved to Batavia, depending only upon 
his own native energy to gain the esteem and confidence in a com- 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 263 



munity so necessary to the building up of a successful practice. That 
he has succeeded goes without saying ; for he ranks among the profes- 
sion as a popular and successful practitioner ; being studious in his 
nature he keeps well up with the advance of his profession. Dr. Bolton 
is a member of the Genesee County Medical Society, being elected such 
in 1884, and also as secretary of the society in 1866, and still holds that 
office. He was united in marriage, November 14, 1884, to Alice J. 
Brooks, of Watkins, Schuyler County, N. Y., and they have two chil- 
dren, Robert W. and Elsie B. The family are members of the Baptist 
Society in Batavia, and the Doctor is one of its board of trustees. 

Peter Broadbooks was born in Alsace, France, (now Germany,) in 
1840. He came to America in 1854, settled at Rome, N. Y., and learned 
his trade. He remained there about four years, when he came to At- 
tica, working at his trade three years, and thence removed to Pine Hill 
{Elba), where he lived for three years. He finally removed to Batavia, 
where he has been in business for 12 years as a carriage ironer. He 
is a mechanical genius, and has invented shears for cutting iron, a metal 
punching machine, nippers and pliers, and a tire shrinker, all of which 
are placed on royalty. He has been located at 37 and 39 EUicott street 
for 10 years, and owns his property. Mr. Broadbooks has manufactured 
carriages, but now devotes his time to general repairing, and has suc- 
ceeded to the business of the Batavia Iron Co. 

The firm of Beck & Salway was formed in 1888, by William Beck and 
John E. Salway. Their place of business is in the Exchange building 
on Court street, where they keep a large stock of flour, feed, grain, hay 
and fertilizers. William Beck, the senior member of the firm, is an 
Englishman, and came here in 1870, and for 10 years was engaged in 
raising hops, having charge of the yards of C. D. Lane, of Batavia. He 
was finally employed in Parsons's flour and feed store, and became a 
partner under the firm name of Beck & Parsons. They dissolved in 
1888, and Mr. Beck became a partner of John E. Salway, who is also 
a native of England. He came to America in 1872, and in 1875 ^o this 
county. For 10 years he was with John Garwood, the miller of Bush- 
ville, and subsequently in the employment of Mr. Parsons, until the 
above firm was established. The firm has excellent facilities for the pros- 
ecution of its business, and handles reliable brands of goods only. 

O. R. Clark, an insurance, real estate, and loan agent, is a native of 
Stafford, and was born in 1821, a son of Benjamin and Lucy (Lee) Clark. 
The father was from Vermont, coming at an early day from Madison 



264 GENESEE COUNTY. 



County, where he was married, and came with his wife to Stafford about 
181 2. He was in the War of 1812. Removed to Elba and engaged 
in farming until his death in 1864. The mother died in 1867. Of a 
family of six children O. R. Clark is the only one living. He remained 
upon the home farm until 23 years of age, when he engaged in farming 
for eight years, and then removed to Elba village, engaging in the real 
estate and loan business. In 1865 he removed to Batavia, conducting 
the same line of business, and is now at 1 10 East Main street. Mr. 
Clark has served upon the board of village trustees, and is a Knight 
Templar. He married Cynthia L., daughter of George King, of Stafiford, 
She died leaving one child, Alice, the wife of Samuel Parker, of Elba. 
In 1874 Mr. Clark married Miss Hattie Fisher, and they have three 
children, viz.: Cynthia M., Orlo R., Jr., and Le Roy F. 

Chauncey Cornwell, a native of Middletown, Conn., came to Alexander 
in 1820. He served in the War of 181 2, and died in 1869, aged 81 
years. He was married to Mary A. Church, of Connecticut, and their 
children were Henry, Cordelia, Mary, Jane, John, Shaler B, Corliss^ 
George, Leonard, Charles B , and Angela. Charles B. Cornwell was born 
in Connecticut, March 31, 1820, came to Batavia in 1851, and married^ 
first, Eveline Starges, and they had one daughter, Frances. In 1862 he 
married for his second wife Isabella, daughter of Robert and Elizabeth 
(Town) Burgess, of Scotch descent, and their children are Agnes E. and 
Mattie C. They now reside in Batavia. 

Joseph Campbell, son of Daniel, of Scotch origin, was born in Johns- 
town, N. Y., in 1 8 10, and died in 1869, aged 59 years. He came to 
Caledonia at the age of eight years, where he remained until his death. 
He married Margaret, daughter of Daniel and Catherine (McLaren) Mc- 
Vane, of Caledonia, and their children were Harriet E , Catherine A.,. 
Donald, John J., Duncan, Malcolm, of Kansas City, and Peter C. The 
latter, with John J. and Harriet E., reside on the farm on road 'j6, where 
they have lived for eight years. The wife of Daniel was Catharine 
St. Clair, and their children were Daniel, John (the first minister that 
preached in the Presbyterian Church in Caledonia, being there four 
years), Catherine, Harriet, Elizabeth, and Janette. 

William Crary, a native of Connecticut, went to Cattaraugus County, 
thence to Arcade, where he died at the age of 80 years. His children 
were Benjamin and Sophia. Benjamin was born in Wallingford, Conn., 
July 29, 181 1, and came to Cattaraugus County, where he now resides. 
He married Rhoda, daughter of John Howe, of Groton, N. Y., and their 



TOWxN OF BATAVIA. 265 



children are Lemi, Marianna, and Albert B. Albert B. Crary, a native 
of Humphrey, Cattaraugus County, came to Batavia in 1887, where he 
now resides. He married Ella Roberts, daughter of Joel and Hannah 
(Wight) Roberts, and his children are Alta E. and Mildred. Mr. Crary's 
ancestor was a captain in the War of 18 12, and was of Scotch origin. 

Craft & Caldwell. — C. H. Caldwell started the coal business April i, 
1878, and carried it on one year, when W. F. Merriman joined the firm, 
under the name of Caldwell & Co. In 1880 Henry Craft was admitted, 
the firm then doing business as Henry Craft & Co. Tiiomas H. Combs 
joined in i88i,and the firm was called Craft, Combs & Co., continuing 
as such until 1886, when Combs retired, and Craft & Caldwell have since 
conducted the business. They also conduct a malting business on Union 
street, and are general agents for Armour & Co in the Chicago dressed 
beef business, using one car load of beef every 10 days. 

Abram Coupland was a native of and died in Lincolnshire, England. 
By his wife, Fanny, he had children as follows: John, Joseph, William, 
Edward, Betsey, Jane, Mary, Fanny, and John, the latter of whom was 
a native of England, where he died in 1866, aged 73 years. He married, 
and his cliildren were Edward, Elizabeth, Mary, Jane, Abram, and Jo- 
seph. Joseph Coupland, a native of Gayton, England (1826), came to 
Batavia in 1878, and settled on the farm he now occupies, on road 6^. 
He married Martha, daughter of James and Sarah (Madison) Clark, of 
Gayton, Eng., who died in 1858, at the age of 28 years. Abram Coup- 
land, a native of England, came to Batavia in 1883, and died in 1889, 
aged 48 years. He married Ann, daughter of John and Mary (Jubb) 
Smith, of Branston, Eng., and their children were Annie, Louisa, Rose E., 
Kate S., John W., and Esther J. His widow still survives at the age 
of 49 years. 

Center Street Laundry, located at i 5 Center street, was established in 
May, 1889, by Mary J. Brockway. It is fitted up with modern machin- 
ery, and is prepared to do all kinds of first-class laundry work. 

Samuel Cooper was born September 15, 18 18, in Syracuse, N. Y. 
When 17 years old he went to Hoiley, Orleans County, and learned the 
harnessmakers' trade. In 1837 he came to Batavia and worked a few 
months, and in 1840 started a shop in Lockport, N. Y., where he re- 
mained 12 years. He came to Batavia in 1852 and formed a partner- 
ship with Henry Ensign, under the firm name of Ensign & Co.. continu- 
ing nine years. In 1861 he began business for himself, and has been 
burned out three times. He was appointed village collector in 1; 



266 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Mr. Cooper married Mary Chamberlain, and they had one child, Charles, 
who died at the age of 22 years. 

Robert Clark came to Batavia in 1839, from Pennsylvania. He died 
in 1847. Only two children are living here: Mrs. H. Colby, wife of Jer- 
ome Colby, and Mary Clark. Rachel Spencer lives in Mahomet, 111. 

Francis B Comiskey, born in Ireland in 1846, came to America in 
1866. He learned the tailoring trade at home and the art of cutting in 
New York in 1871. He came to Batavia and was cutter for S, Masse for 
three years, when he moved to Canton, St. Lawrence County, N. Y., and 
was cutter for R. B. Ellsworth five and one- half years. He then re- 
turned to Batavia and opened up a merchant tailoring establishment, 
carrying on the business since, being now located at 1 10 Main street. 
He was in business in New York city for five years previous to coming 
here. 

J. M. Chapin, wholesale and retail lumber dealer at 22 Evans street, 
took charge of the business in 1888. He has a coal trestle with a capac- 
ity of 1,000 tons, the only one in town. He has the best of facilities for 
furnishing any kind of lumber, giving his attention to all kinds of manu- 
factured work for houses complete. The yards are under the manage- 
ment of C. N. Dwight, who has been connected with the business since 
1879. The sales for 1889 were over 2,000,000 feet in this vicinity, and 
are constantly increasing. Mr. Chapin also has two large saw-mills at 
Three Rivers, Ont., and owns timber lands in Michigan and Pennsylvania. 

Dr. N. G. Clark, father of Arthur E. Clark, was a well-known physi- 
cian, whose counsels were of great service to the Democratic party. The 
son, Arthur E. Clark, was born at Clarkson, Monroe County, N. Y , in 
1854. When the father moved to Batavia the son was six years old, and 
the place has b^en his home ever since. He was a student in the public 
schools, and having fitted for college he entered Yale. There he grad- 
uated in 1875. He took a course of legal study with W. C. Watson,' of 
Batavia, and gained admission to the bar in 1878. He associated with 
Mr. Watson, which connection lasted until three years ago, when he 
started out alone on the opposite side of Main street. Mr. Clark is not 
a young lawyer in a legal sense. He has been engaged for some time in 
important railroad business, and managed the right-of way work for the 
D., L. & W. and the Buffalo and Geneva roads through Genesee and 
adjoining counties. His business is largely railroad and land business, 
and his opinion in these matters has unusual weight. Mr. Clark resides 
with his mother at the old homestead in Batavia, and is one of the most 
prominent members of the Batavia Club. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 267 



Caney & Bradley, the most enterprising watchmakers and jewelers in 
Batavia. are located on the site of the oldest established jewelry firm in 
the place, on the southwest corner of Main and Jackson streets, for over 
50 years being associated in that line. C. C. Church began the business 
here in 1830, and was succeeded by G. W. Allen in 1835. Others fol- 
lowed him until Homer Kelsey located there. In 1887 Messrs. Caney 
& Bradley bought out Mr. Kelsey. Ashton W. Caney, the head of the 
firm, came from New York city, possessing a large experience of many 
years' practice as a watchmaker and jeweler, which qualifies him to 
largely control the trade of this section, an evidence of which is shown 
by the full and complete line of goods, and varied assortment of fancy 
articles, carried by the firm. C. C. Bradley, who came from Palmyra, 
N. Y., is a young man of integrity, and a worthy aid to Mr. Caney in 
maintaining the position held by the firm. 

Lawrence L. Crosby, attorney, was born in Bergen in 1835. His 
grandfather, Jedediah, came from Connecticut in 1805, settling on lots 
9 and 10, section 7, of the Triangle tract, about one mile north of the 
village. His wife was Mabel Austin, also from Connecticut. The father 
of Lawrence L. (Luther), born in 1806, was the first white child born in 
Bergen. He married Mary Ann Avery, and resided in Bergen all his life, 
being justice of the peace for 20 years, supervisor several terms, and a 
colonel of dragoons of the old uniformed militia. He died in 1864, and 
his wife in 1857. Of a family of five children Lawrence L. is the only 
one now living. He commenced the study of law in Iowa, and continued 
it in the office of Wakeman & Bryan, of Batavia, being admitted to prac- 
tice in i860. In 1862 he enlisted in Co. I, 5th Mich. Cavalry, and served 
with them 20 months. He was then transferred to the Signal Corps, 
serving there until the close of the war. He commenced practice in 
Bergen, and since 1874 has continued it in Batavia. He served as clerk 
of the village five years, and is now serving as police justice. He is adju- 
tant of Upton Post, G. A. R., and second lieutenant in the National Guard. 
Mr. Crosby was married, in 1866, to Miss Joan, daughter of Briggs Lor- 
ing, an old resident of Bergen They have one child, Harriet D. 

Chaddock &" Hickox, grain and produce dealers on Ellicott street, was 
established in 1886, by John B. Chaddock and George W. Hickox. In 
1889 they had about 500 acres of seed wheat under cultivation. They 
are also largely engaged in raising and handling oats and potatoes, and 
in buying wool. Mr. Chaddock came to Batavia from Wyoming County 
in 1882, and was successfully engaged in the coal business until the 



268 GENESEE COUNTY. 



present partnership was formed. He is a young man with good executive 
abihties, and has established an honorable record in the short period ot 
his residence in Batavia. George W. Hickox was born in Orleans 
County in 184S. but his parents, Edwin and Caroline (Smith) Hickox, 
moved to Alexander in 1850, where they still reside. George W. was 
reared on the farm, and continued that business until 1882, when he en- 
gaged in selling agricultural implements. Two years later he became a 
resident of Batavia and engaged in his present trade.* The firm has been 
very successful and will extend their business to meet their growing 
trade. Mr. Hickox married, in 1877, Miss Sarah Dean, daughter of 
Rev. D. S. Dean, a Baptist clergyman of Rochester. Three children 
have been born to them, viz.: Edwin Dear, Raymond V., and Ethel May. 
Hiram Chaddock, son of Dennis B. and Lydia (Thompson) Chaddock, 
was born in Alexander in 1826. His father was a native of Worcester, 
Mass., and when 20 years of age came from Vermont to Alexander with 
a younger brother, Luther. The father was married in 1 820. Levi 
Thompson, the grandfather of Hiram, came from Washington County in 
1810. Dennis and Luther took up about 400 acres of land in the south- 
east part of the town. Dennis died in 1868, aged 54 years, and his wife 
in 1834. His second wife died in 1881. Hiram was reared upon the 
farm and had the advantage of a seminary education. He made a study 
of the insurance business, and for a number of years traveled through- 
out the State. Ill health caused him to abandon the business, and, hav- 
ing purchased a farm in Bethany, he followed farming for 21 years. In 
1852 he married Harriet A., daughter of Rev. Josiah Keyes, a Methodist 
divine and presiding elder. In 1873 he came to Batavia, purchased the 
Ellicott property of about 40 acres, and opened up streets and laid out 
lots, donating land for Prospect and Richmond avenues and Mix Place. 
He has erected seven dwellings, and lives in one of the best in town. 
Mr. Chaddock was one of the organizers of the Holland Purchase F"ire 
Insurance Co., which was conducted successfully for 17 years. He served 
the company as general superintendent, agent, and adjuster for 13 years, 
and was appointed receiver of the concern and settled up its affairs. By 
his prudent management he paid to the stockholders a premium of 20 per 
cent, on their stock. Mr. Chaddock is the owner of over i,ooo acres of 
land, having given 500 acres to his children. He has three children : 
Walter H., a farmer of Batavia; Dennis K., a liveryman and farmer ; and 
Hattie L., who married the only son of Rev. Dr. Paddock', of Rochester. 
Mrs Chaddock is a member of the First Methodist Episcopal Church of 
Batavia. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 269 



William Drake lived and died in Greene County, N. Y. His son 
Samuel, of Greene County, came to Elba in 181 3, and died at the age 
of 90 years. He was one of the pioneers and cleared the farm where he 
died. He married Sylvia Thorn, of Greene County, and his children 
were Edward, Orin, William, Moses, Mary A., Jane, Stephen, Elvira, and 
Samuel O. Samuel O. Drake, born in Elba, September 7, 1818, married 
Almira, daughter of Stephen and Rebecca (Palmer) Johnson, of Batavia, 
and they have two children, Sarah A. (Chamberlin), of Buffalo, and 
Charles O., of Dakota. 

John A. Eggleston was born in Rush, N. Y., November 15, 1830. 
About the year 1865, while engaged in farming, he discovered he had 
magnetic powers, and has been practicing that profession since, meeting 
with good success. He married Azubah Mann, who is also a magnetic 
healer, and assists her husband in his practice. They have been per- 
manently located at Batavia since 1880. 

John Dellinger was born in Lorraine, P>ance, August 14, 1826, and 
came to America with his father, Peter, in 1840, settling in Wyoming 
County. In 1855 he came to Batavia, where he worked at the carpen- 
ters' trade one year, when he began building and contracting on his own 
account. He had previously worked four years at Capt. Scott's distillery 
on carpenter work. He has erected more structures in Batavia than any 
other man. He built and owns the Dellinger block and Dellinger 
Opera House block, and is a member of the firms of Dellinger & Glade, 
Haitz & Dellinger, and Schad, Dellinger & Glade. He married Clara 
Demon, of Sheldon, and they had eight children, six of whom are living. 

John Glade, born in Westphalia, Prussia, in 1843, came to America in 
1868, and settled ip Batavia. He married Minnie Gizer, and they have 
•five children. Mr. Glade has been a contractor and builder since 1874, 
and is a member of the firm of Dellinger & Glade, who employ about 20 
men. They have built the convent on Summit street, the Masonic 
block. Bank of Batavia. Hotel Richmond, etc 

Bernard Schad was born in Darien, February 10, 1855. In 1877 he 
settled in Batavia, and in 1879 opened a carriage shop on" State street, 
where he carried on the business four years. In 1884 he invented the 
Schad bicycle wheel and began manufacturing the same. In 1887 he 
invented improvements on it, and it is now used in every State in the 
Union. In 1888 he invented a novel carriage wheel, which he has been 
manufacturing since. He also, in 1888, invented the Schad broom- 
holder, which he manufactures. 



270 GENESEE COUNTY. 

William Didget, a native of England, came to Batavia in 1852, where 
he now resides. He married Charlotte, daughter of John and Elizabeth 
Wilkey. of England, and they had one son, John, who married Jemima^ 
daughter of Archibald and Eleanor (Jacoby) Primmer, of Bethany, and 
their children were Frank, who was killed on che railroad in 1889, Ella, 
Lottie M., Minnie, Fred, Walter E., and Albert, the latter of whom is 
now a resident of Batavia, on road 66. Archibald Primmer died in Troy, 
N. Y., in 1877, at the age of 77 years, and his wife, Eleanor, the same year, 
aged 68 years. 

Lemuel Dean, a native of Vermont, and a soldier of the Revolution^ 
moved to Ohio in 1840, where he died in 1859, aged 75 years. His 
wife, Emeline, bore him children as follows : Rockwell, Carl, Abram P.^ 
Fordyce. and Corbin. Abram P. Dean, a native of Vermont, came to 
Orleans County, thence moved to Ohio, and finally to Buffalo, where he 
died in 1862, aged 64 years. He married Patty Winchell, daughter of 
Martin, of Pompey, N. Y., and his children were Mary Wood, Lucia 
Birch, Caroline A., and Fordyce O. The latter was born in Moriah, Es- 
sex County, N. Y., November 9, 1833, and married Myra M., daughter 
of Reuben P. Hauser. Their children are Abram P., Kate M., and 
Myra M. For his second wife he married Mrs Elizabeth. M. Hinchey, 
daughter of R. P. Hauser, and now resides on road 10 in Batavia. 

Michael Dailey was born in County Clare, Ireland, in April, 1843. 
When about eight years of age he came to Batavia with his father, 
Michael. He attended public schools only a short time, and being 
obliged to earn his own living he clerked for Joseph Wilson, and when 
17 years of age started a small grocery store. After paying for his first 
bill of goods he had less than 50 cents left. Being active he prospered, 
and was soon able to purchase the store he occupied, and soon after the 
adjoining building, opening up a grocery and crockery store on Main 
street, opposite the Hotel Richmond. In 1871 failing health caused him 
to abandon the business, but in the following spring he opened two stores 
on the west side of State street, devoted to the furniture business. In- 
creasing trade necessitated an extension of the business, and he bought 
a store on the east side of the street. He built up a large trade, engaged 
in the undertaking business, and finally erected three new stores on State 
street. He died March 13, 1883. At the time of his death he was 
chairman of the Democratic County Committee; was the first Irishman 
elected trustee of the village ; and was also one of the trustees of the 
Blind Asylum, holding the position two terms, or until his decease. He 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 27 1 



took an active part in politics. He married Anna Prindle, of Batavia, 
and they had a family of eight children, five of whom are living with his 
widow, who survives him, at 307 East Main street. 

Fred H. Dunham, of Batavia, was born in Orangeville, Wyoming 
County, October 20, 1861. He was educated at Attica Union School, 
and was graduated at Cornell University. He studied law with Judge 
North, of Batavia, and was admitted to the bar in June, 1889. He is 
now engaged in practice in Batavia. 

Edna V. Dyer was born in Darien in 1850, and has been a clairvoyant 
physician and magnetic healer since 1881. Her practice is principally 
in Genesee County, though she has many patients from other States as 
well as from this vicinity. 

Ferdinand Dorf was born in Germany and came to America about 
1852, settling in Elba, and engaged at farming. He enlisted in Co. H, 
8th N. Y. H. A., and was killed at Cold Harbor, June 3, 1864. He 
had four children, three sons and a daughter. Frank, son of Ferdinand, 
has been in the dry goods business for seven years, six years in a general 
store. August 26, 1889, he opened a dry goods store at 107 Main 
street, and keeps a full line of dry goods, carpets, etc. He was born 
August 8, 1856. 

Stephen A. Dustin, son of Stephen, was born in Buffalo in 185 i. He 
came to Batavia about 1856, learned the drug business, and opened a 
store December 20, 1880, at 108 Main street. His present store, at 57 
Main street, was opened March i, 1888. He carries a full line of drugs 
and school books, and manufactures sarsaparilla compound and man- 
drake pills. 

Isaac V. Dibble was born in Schoharie County, July i, 1845. He 
married Mary Conway, of Lima, N. Y., and they had 10 children, seven 
of whom are living. In 1867 he moved to Avon and entered the em- 
ploy of M. & G. Wiard, remaining with them until they came to Batavia, 
when the firm name was changed to Wiard Plow Co. He was foreman 
for the company until June i, 1889, since which time he has been a con- 
tractor, and now employs eight to 12 men. 

James H. Dewey, son of Otis W., was born in Geneseo, N. Y., May 3, 
1839. When eight years of age he moved with his parents to Bata- 
via. He learned the carpenters' trade in Rochester. In 1833 he settled 
in Batavia, and has been building and contracting since, and now em- 
ploys from 10 to 15 hands. He married Mary P. Bo we, and they have 
three children. He and his family are Christadelphian in their religious 
belief. 



272 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Dudley & Cooley, dealers in drugs, medicines, school books, etc., are 
at 92 Main street. This firm was organized August i, 1888, on the site 
of the oldest drug store in the county, which was started by David 
Seaver. Hall & Co. were Seaver's successors, then E. G. Elmore, Shaw 
& Stiles, then W. Stiles, Stiles & Dudley (1886), and now the present 
firm. 

O. Cooley, son of Levi, was born in Sweden, Monroe County, July 31, 
1839. He is the inventor for most of the machinery for the Johnston 
Harvester Co. In 1873 he went to Europe and set up the first reaper 
that was exhibited in France. He has been to Europe eight times in 
the interest of the Johnston Harvester Co. He operated a machine at 
the Vienna Exposition in 1873, at Paris in 1878, and at Philadelphia in 
1876. 

Henry J. Ensign, whose portrait appears in connection with this 
sketch, was born in Alexander, this county, August 14, 1821. His par- 
ents, Hon. Abial and Abbie (Higley) Ensign, of English descent, were 
natives of Hartford, Conn. His father was a printer, and early in life 
settled in Utica, N. Y. , where he owned, edited, and published the Utica 
Democrat several years, and also represented his district two terms in the 
State legislature. Later he removed to Alexander, where, by his integ- 
rity, intelligence, and fine abilities, he soon gained the confidence and 
respect of his party in Genesee County, who sent him to represent it in 
the legislature three terms. He was also postmaster of Alexander, which 
office, with the office of justice of the peace, he was holding at the time 
of his death. 

Mr. Ensign was liberal in his religious views, and he and his worthy 
wife were members of the Universalist Church. Their children were 
Louis, deceased ; Clara, who married John Parish, and resides in Nevada; 
Emily, who married Robert Kenyon (both deceased); Parmelia, who 
married George Slayton, and resides in Liberty, N. Y.; Horace, who re- 
sides in Illinois; Charles, who lives in Albion, Mich.; and Henry J., the 
subject of this sketch. Henry J. Ensign received an academic edu- 
cation in Alexander Seminary. After completing his school days he 
commenced his business life in Batavia by engaging in the manufacture 
and sale of harnesses and harnessmakers' goods. In 1865 he became 
the partner of Hon. R. A. Maxwell (e.x- State treasurer and present State 
superintendent of insurance) in the business of malting. Mr. PZnsign 
continued his harness business until about six years before his death, and 
was a member of the malting firm at his decease, November 30, 1881. 




''--^JxBSSdc S':n^ iv,'i»155'* 



^^^y^c^^^,, 



'^t^ 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



275 



He was a prominent, earnest, and unswerving Democrat, who gave the 
weight of his great influence to further, strengthen, and build up the 
great party of which he was an acknowledged leader in Genesee County. 
To accomplish this he served as chairman of the State, county, and local 
committees of the Democratic party. He was also an active and liberal 
supporter of the educational, religious, and benevolent interests of the 
community in which he lived and the country which he loved. He 
served as president of the board of aldermen of Batavia, and as director 
of the First National Bank. 

July 12, 1854, he united in marriage with Miss Elizabeth Lee, a native 
of Hammondsport, N. Y., and daughter of Benjamin and Cynthia '(Wards- 
worth) Lee, natives of Connecticut, and descendants of Puritans who 
came to America in the Mayflower. Mrs. Ensign is a lady of culture, 
and has traveled quite extensively in the West. She has spent a year 
in California, visited Nevada, Colorado, and Salt Lake City, and now re- 
sides in a beautiful home in Batavia, where she is most liberal in every 
worthy cause of benevolence. She is a prominent member of the Epis- 
copal Church. 

Richard Edgerton, a native of Massachusetts, came to Elba, accom- 
panied by his wife, very early in the first settlement of the town. He 
died in Batavia at an advanced age. . He taught school most of the time 
after 18 years of age. His wife was Judith Graves, of Massachusetts^ 
and his children were Henry and Richard. Henry was born in Massa- 
chusetts, November 26,»I788, and died in 1873, aged 85 years. He 
came to Barre, N. Y., when 29 years of age, with but $7.50 in his pocket. 
He married Jane, daughter of John and Betsey (Miller) West, of Massa- 
chusetts, who died in 1886, aged 87 years. Their children were Betsey 
J., Henry G., Savilla A., Jane M., Philo A., Rodney R., Mary F., and 
Eva L., all of whom grew to maturity. The sons, men of integrity, are 
residents of the county. One daughter is a resident of this county, 
one of Orleans County, and two of Michigan. Eva L. Edgerton mar- 
ried Eben Noyes, grandson of Rev. John Noyes, of Connecticut. Their 
children are Philo E., Allie E., and Hattie E,, now residents of Batavia 
village. Jane M. Edgerton married William H. Baldwin, of Elba (now 
Oakfield). In the early days of the settlement it was very hard to pro- 
cure enough food for families. Henry Edgerton and family suffered 
many privations, and often times his family were without sufficient 
food, so that the approach of the teams coming from the mill was the 
scene of much rejoicing and anxious waiting. 



274 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Farrar & Farrar, attorneys at law, Batavia : 

Alonzo H. Farrar was born in Middletown, Vt., in 1843. ^^^ was 
educated at Burr & Burton's Seminary, Manchester, Vt., and also at 
Fort Edward Collegiate Institute. He graduated at the University of 
Law, Albany, N. Y., and went to Kinderhook, Columbia County, in 
1866, to practice law, continuing there until 1889. He was elected 
member of Assembly for two years from Columbia County, and was for 
10 years director and vice-president of the National Bank of Kinder- 
hook. He moved to Batavia in 1889, and commenced the practice of 
law, where he now resides. 

Elbert Olaf Farrar, born in Middletown Springs, Vt., June 17, 1846, 
was educated at Burr & Burton's Seminary, Manchester, Vt., and also 
at Fort Edward Collegiate Institute. He was admitted to the bar in 
1872 in Dayton, Ohio. He went to Syracuse in the fall of 1874, liv- 
ing there until 1889, when he removed to Batavia. He was judge ad- 
vocate in the lOth Brigade Staff, N. G. N. Y., with the rank of major, 
and was member of Assembly from the second Onondaga County dis- 
trict for the years 1882 and 1883. 

J. B. Fonda, an energetic business man of Batavia, was born here in 
1855, the son of B. P. Fonda. He was educated in the public schools, 
and began business as clerk for the» grocery house of Griswold & Pendill, 
being in their employ three years. He was then in the employ of Worth- 
ington & Son, hardware merchants, for 13 years, obtaining a knowledge 
of the business, and such an extensive acquaintance with the community 
as warranted him in 1885 in establishing his present business at 70 East 
Main street, where he is engaged in handling all kinds of hardware, 
stoves, furnaces, and house furnishing goods, having built up a good ■ 
trade. In 1877 Mr. Fonda married Miss Nellie A. Sheldon, daughter | 
of F. G. Sheldon, of Monroe County, and they have three children, 
Maud, Roy, and Ethel. The family are Presbyterians. 

George W. Grififis was elected sheriff of Genesee County in 1879, and 
served three years. He was under sheriff for six years previous to that 
time. He died April i, 1882. Mr. Griffis married Anna Alpangle and 
had four children. He was born in Niagara County, October 8, 1839. 

The Green family came to America in 1750. The descendants are 
John, James, Jabez, Rufus, David, and Edwin R. Jonathan David 
Green, a native of Rhode Island, and a sea captain, married Eunice 
Hopkins, and his children are Martha, Edwin R., Mary, and Phoebe. 
Edwin R., of Conanicut Island, R. I., born January 12, 1788, came to 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 275 



Batavia in 1846, and settled the place known as the Green farm, where 
he died in 1869, aged 82 years. He married Mary Hopkins, of Rhode 
Island, and his children were David, Eunice, Joseph, Demaris, Mary, 
Edwin, Hannah, and Jonathan. Jonathan Green, born in Laurens, 
Otsego County, January 17, 1821, came to Batavia in 1847. His first 
wife was Minerva Nash, of Butternuts, N. Y. They had one daughter, 
Minerva. His second wife was Eliza A., daughter of Charles and Olive 
Gould, of Batavia, and their children were Estella, Alice. Nathaniel, 
Edwin, and Mary. For his third wife he married Mary J,, daughter of 
Joseph and Sarah (Underhill) Gurney, of New Baltimore, N. Y., and 
they reside on the Green homestead. Mr. Green is a breeder of Ameri- 
can registered Merino sheep. 

Richard Grice, a native of Griffield, Yorkshire, Eng., came to Batavia 
in 185 1, and died in 1885, aged 55 years. He married Margaret, 
daughter of John and Jane Thompson, and their children were Charles, 
Jennie, Helen, Ida, Eugene, Nettie, Alice, and Richard S. The latter 
married Alice, daughter of William and Betsey Harris, of Batavia, and 
theii; children are Charles and Walter. Mrs. Margaret Grice survives 
her husband, and is 60 years of age. 

John C. Greene, a real estate dealer and a native of Batavia, was born 
in 1856, a son of Edwin and Marietta (Ellsworth) Greene, from Eastern, 
N. Y. He was raised here and followed farming for some years. In 
1884 he commenced dealing in real estate, establishing loans, and repre- 
senting insurance companies, to all of which he gives his attention, and 
has secured a large patronage. He represents the Glens Falls, Girard 
of Philadelphia, the Milwaukee Mechanics' and Employers', the Liability 
Assurance Corporate, and the Limited of London, and does a large loan 
and real estate business, at 61 East Main street. He is a member of the 
K. of P. and A. O. U. W. 

Henry P. Gast, born in Germany in 1826, came to America in 1847, 
and to Batavia in 1854, engaging in the business of making caps. He 
also kept hotel and saloon, and built the Western and West End hotels, 
the latter of which was burned in 1889 and rebuilt. F. J. Gast, son of 
Henry P., established a bakery at 119 Main street, in 1884, and carried 
it on until January, 1890, when he sold out to David McKeown, of 
Toronto, Ont., who now conducts it and a confectionery store. The 
firm of H. P. & J. E. Gast was formed in March, 1890. They deal in 
fine groceries and confectionery. 

The Griffis family are of Welsh descent. Daniel N. Griffis was born 



276 GENESEE COUNTY. 



in Vermont about 1803, and came with his parents to Cambria, Niagara 
Cciinty, N. Y., and to Batavia in 1861. About 1833 he married BeHnda 
Croy, of Troy, N. Y., and they had five children, of whom John J. died 
in infancy, and four grew to adult age, viz.: Charlotte E., George W., 
Daniel W., and John O. Daniel W. was born in Cambria, Niagara County, 
August 22, 1844, and was educated in the public schools. August 2, 
1862, he enlisted 'in Co. C, 151st Inf. N. Y. Vols., was made corporal, 
sergeant, and first sergeant of his company, was discharged at the close 
of the war, and returned to Batavia. November 21, 1 867, he married 
Harriet C, oldest daughter of Hiram P. Flanders, of Batavia. They 
have four children, namely: Guy E., born October 30, 1868 ; Florence 
E., born February 23. 1872; Raymond, born March 19, 1873; and 
May E., born April 22, 1876. 

Henry I. Glowacki has for 50 years been a resident of Batavia. He 
was born in Poland in 1816, a son of a prominent general of the Polish 
war of 1812. At the time of the Revolution, in 1830, Mr. Glowacki^ 
then a youth, was imprisoned for two years in Trieste on account of his 
sentiments. Subsequently, with 300 com- patriots, he was exiled by the 
Austrian government and found refuge with the U. S. Minister to Ghent 
(Albert Gallatin), who was an acquaintance of his father. He was met 
by David E. Evans, of Batavia, while in Ghent, who offered the young 
man a position in the land office. In 1834 he came to Batavia, was asso-. 
ciated with H. J. Redfield in the land office for four years, with whom 
he read law, and was admitted to the bar in 1840. He was appointed 
master in chancery by Gov. Bouck, holding the office until 1846. He 
then practiced law until his retirement in 1879, being a partner of Joshua 
L. Brown for a time. Maj. Glowacki has been chairman of the county 
committee of the Democratic party, has attended four National Demo- 
cratic conventions as delegate, has taken an active interest in local affairs 
for the improvement of the village, and has served as president of the 
board of education for nine years. He was trustee for many years of the 
Institution for the Blind, and was instrumental in the introduction of 
stone sidewalks for the village. In 1847 he was married to Miss Mary 
J. Redfield. They have an adopted daughter. Elizabeth, the wife of Le 
Roy Parker, an attorney, of Buffalo, N. Y. The family are members of 
the Episcopal Church. 

Seth M. Hinman, lately the genial manager of the Hotel Richmond, 
begar\ his life in Cattaraugus County, where he was born in 1844. He 
enlisted in 1861 in Co. C, 64th N. Y. Inf , as a private, and served nearly 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



277 



four years. In 1863 he received a commission as first lieutenant of Co. 
D, and had command of his company until the close of the war. He 
participated in 15 battles with the Army of the Potomac, and at the bat- 
tle of Spottsylvania was severely wounded. After the close of the war 
he engaged in the dry goods business at Ellicottville for about five years, 
and then became a commercial traveler. This engaged liis attention for 
10 years; subsequently he engaged in the hotel business at Attica for 
three years, and then went to Warsaw, where he leased the Purdy House, 
and conducted it about 18 months. He then came to Batavia and was 
connected with the management of the Purdy House until April, 1889, 
when he became manager of the Hotel Richmond. He was well qualified 
to fill that responsible position, having a wide acquaintance among the 
traveling public. He is a Mason and a member of the G. A. R. In 
1867 he was united in marriage with Miss Mary Miller, daughter of 
Dr. H. B. Miller, of Alexander. They have two children, Edward M. 
and Blanche A. 

John Godey, a native of Massachusetts, served in the Revolutionary 
war, and moved to Illinois, where he died about 1840, aged 94 years. 
His children were Libbeus, Aruna, Eliphalet, Anna Elaine, and Asenath. 
His son Aruna, also a native of Massachusetts, at the age of 15 years 
moved to Madison County, and in 18 18 came to Pembroke, where he 
died in 1859, aged 75 years. He married Mercy, daughter of Samuel 
Record, of Morrisville, and his children were Levi and E. Ward. The 
latter, born in Pembroke, December 21, 18 19, married Fannie E., 
daughter of Jacob and Harriet (Hitchcock) Brinstool, of Henrietta, N. Y. 
Their children are Marian E. and Maynard A., the latter of whom mar- 
ried Harriet, daughter of John H. and Mary (Bescoby) Stuffins, of Lin- 
colnshire, Eng., and they have a son, Fred B. Marian E. Godey mar- 
ried Martha E., daughter*of George Spensley, and they have one son, E, 
Ward. 

James Gowen, a native of Massachusetts, served in the war of the 
Revolution, and died at the age of 60 years. His wife was Lydia Well- 
mann, who bore him 12 children, viz.: Lydia, Samuel, Benjamin, Simeon 
Tirzah, Levi, James, Joseph, Esther, William, Asal, and Rosanna. Jo- 
seph Gowen was born in Jaffrey, and died in Dublin, N. H., aged 60 
years. He married Hephzibah, daughter of Asa and Hephzibah Fair- 
banks, and their children were Asa F., Joseph M., Zaman A., Louisa H., 
Amna A,, Charles W., Lavater L., and Lydia R. Joseph M. Gowen, 
who was born in Dublin, N. H., came to Batavia in 1840. He married 
ts 



278 GENESEE COUNTY. 



.Harriet M., daughter of Cyrus and Milla (Lawrence) Brown, of East 
Pembroke. Their children are Adelbert C, who served in the 6th Art., 
and died at Camp Barry, in the late war ; Ida M., who married Ohver 
C. Uphill, of, England, and has two children; Harriet P.; Anna L.; Jo- 
seph D., of Clifton Springs; and Willis C, of Batavia. 

Gurdon Hartshorn was born in Franklin, New London County, Conn., 
May 31, 1798- He married Almira Coats, of Stonington, and in 1824 
came to Genesee County and settled in Darien. He was a farmer, and 
died May 13, 1861. He had two children, namely: Uri, born in 1833, 
died in 1865, and Nelson, born April 12, 1828. Nelson married Helen 
McVean, daughter of John, and they have two children, Eugene G. and 
Cora B. He was justice of the peace in Darien for 16 years. He owns 
the farm his father settled in 1824. Cora married B. H. Re Qua, and 
they reside at Sioux Falls, Dakota. Eugene G. resides in Batavia. 

O. D. Hammond was born in 1836, in Sheldon, N. Y. He learned 
harnessmaking in Attica, N. Y., and carried on business there 15 years. 
In 1870 he located in Batavia, where he has since resided. In 1888 his 
son L. W. was taken into partnership, the firm name being Hammond & 
Son, located at 108 West Main street. They employ several hands. 
O. D. Hammond enlisted in Co. G, i6oth N. Y. V., in 1862, and served 
three years and four months, being honorably discharged. 

Franklin Hartshorn, a native of New London County, Conn., died there 
at the age of 87 years. His children were Uri, Elijah, David, Isaac, 
Gurdon, and Jerusha. Isaac, a native of Franklin, Conn., served in the 
War of 1 81 2, came to Darien, thence to Batavia in 1821, and died in 
1875, aged 80 years. He married Delia, daughter of Samuel Ellis, of 
Connecticut, and his children are Asher, Franklin, Samuel, Elijah, now 
of Indiana, Delia, and Andrew. Andrew Hartshorn, born in Connecti- 
cut, January 23, 1821, married Caroline, daughter of William and Caro- 
Hne (Mather) Brownell, of Batavia, and now resides on the Brownell 
homestead on road 41. 

Claudius Hay, born in Rupert, Vt., was a soldier of the War of 1812. 
He came to Cortland, N. Y., married Fannie Wallace, and in the fall of 
1820 moved to Pembroke. In 1837 he went to Guilford, Ohio, and died 
there in 1850, aged 60 years. He had a family of six children, four of 
whom are living. Michael W., born March 21, 1820, learned the wagon- 
makers' trade, and was also a farmer in Pembroke. He has been con- 
stable and deputy sheriff" four years. In 1863 he opened up a grocery 
store in Batavia and was in business 15 years. He was mail agent two 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 279 



years, from Batavia to Buffalo via Tonawanda, and was keeper of the 
county alms-house three years and one month. He has held the office 
of superintendent of streets for three years, or since April, 1887, and has 
been an F. & A. M. since 1855. He married Lurania Waite, and they 
have four children, Ellis R., Walter H., Charles F., and Fannie L. 

Anson Higley. — The pioneer settlers of Genesee County and their 
children are rapidly passing away, and in a few years all will have been 
gathered to their fathers. But they have a no more worthy representa- 
tive living in this county than Anson Higley. 

John Higley, the eldest child of Jonathan Higley and Katherine Brew- 
ster, his wife, was born in Surrey, England, 30 miles southwest of Lon- 
don, July 22, 1649. When of suitable age he was apprenticed to a 
glover in London for the period of his minority. Family tradition says 
that, in his seventeenth year, he incurred the displeasure of his master, 
who promised him a severe flogging the next morning. To escape the 
lash, and perhaps to satisfy a longing for adventure, or actuated by the 
worthier motive of becoming a free citizen of the new and promising land 
which he no doubt had read and heard of much, he hastily bundled up 
his scanty wardrobe, and Concealed himself in a vessel which was about 
to sail for America. In due time he landed at the trading post of Wind- 
sor, on the Connecticut River, and there he found employment. In 1671 
he married Hannah Drake, daughter of a prominent citizen of the place; 
soon after purchased a home, and became in time one of the most prom- 
inent in the colony. In 1690 he was commissioned a lieutenant, and 
was afterward promoted to the post of captain. He was elected to the 
General Assembly of Connecticut in 1689, and afterwards elected to 28 
of the ly sessions of that body. He was the father of 16 children. 
This runaway boy, John Higley, is the sole ancestor of all who bear the 
name in America. 

In 1808 Isaac Higley, Sr., (the grandfather of Anson,) with his brother 
Eber, (who was in the War of 18 12, taken prisoner, and died in Halifax,) 
and Isaac, Jr., came to Elba and settled on Spring Creek. There were 
seven children, of whom Isaac, Jr., was the eldes^t and the only son. 
The daughters were Abbie, wife of Ellas Pettibone, the father of Col. 
Elias J.; Ruth, wife of 'Squire Daniel Mills, an old justice of h^lba ; Adah, 
wife of Zebulon Woodruff, of Elba ; Anna, wife of Samuel Lampson, of 
Onondaga County; Hannah, wife of William Knapp ; and Candace, wife 
of John Hawkins, of Alexander. The grandf^xther died in 18 10, and was 
the first person buried in the old burying-ground in the southeast part 
of Elba. 



280 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Isaac Higley, the father of Anson, married, in Connecticut, Dorothy 
Killburn, and reared seven children, namely : Emily (Mrs. W. Hoi- 
brook), who died in Ohio; Horace, who died in Elba; Maria (Mrs. 
Isaac Tinkham), who also died in Ohio ; Eber, who died in 1887 in Wis- 
consin ; Isaac N., who died in Elba; Elvira (Mrs. Charles Ames), now 
of Seneca County, Ohio ; and Anson. The father wa.« a farmer in Elba 
from his settlement in 1808 until his death in 1829. 

Anson Higley was born in Elba in 181 1, and is one of the oldest liv- 
ing natives of the county. He followed farming in his native town for 
nearly 70 years, and has obtained by hard work and steady application 
a handsome property, which he has generously divided among his chil- 
dren. Since 1881 he has been a resident of Batavia, where he is enjoy- 
ing a well earned rest from active labor. While a resident of Elba Mr. 
Higley was for several terms assessor and supervisor of his town, and 
was always in favor of improvements to the benefit of town and county. 
He was one of the first highway commissioners, and labored assiduously 
in establishing the roads of his section. He united in marriage, in 1837,. 
with Lydia Newkirk, of Orange County, who died in 1858. They had 
six children, viz. : Mary, wife of M. M. Brown, a leading attorney of 
Osage, Mitchell County, Iowa; Sarah E., wife of F. P. Terry, of Batavia; 
Isaac A., a leading farmer of Elba; Elizabeth W. ; Humphrey (deceased); 
John O., a farmer of Batavia; and Emma, wife of William Robe, a 
prominent farmer of Elba. In 1875 Mr. Higley was united in marriage 
with Lizzie Cassidy, a native of Vermont. They are active members of 
the Baptist Church, and are liberal contributors to its support. Mr. Hig- 
ley is still interested in farming, and in all the relations of life has borne 
himself conscientiously, uprightly, and honorably. He is a man of ge- 
nial personality, of superior mental attributes, and a kindly. Christian 
gentleman. 

Philip Houseknecht, a native of Pennsylvania, is a Methodist minister, 
and resides in Alabama. He married Sarah A., daughter of Philip and 
Margaret Buchanan, and his children are Isabella, Samuel L., and Phi- 
los B. Philos B. Houseknecht, born in Alabama, married Ada P., 
daughter of James A. and Lydia A. (Fonda) Gibbs, and they have one 
son, Joshua L. Mr. Houseknecht is a photographer in Batavia. 

James Hopkins was born in Londonderry, N. H,, served in the war 
of the Revolution, and died in Erie County, N. Y., aged 82 years. He 
was a farmer and a tailor. He married Mary A., daughter of Rev. David 
McGregor, of Londonderry, and their children were Thomas N., Polly^ 




c^^^^^.^.-^^-^^'^-^y^^^ 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 28 1 



David M., James, Margaret, and Robert. Thomas N. was also a native 
of Londonderry, N. H., but went to a place of the same name in Ver- 
mont, where he Hved several years, when he moved to Sardinia, N. Y., 
where he died in 1870, aged 94 years. He married Sally Howe, of Lon- 
donderry, Vt, daughter of Nehemiah Howe, and their children were 
Thomas. Eliza, Dudley, James M., Nehemiah, Nelson, Mary A., Clar- 
issa, and Robert N. The last named was born in Vermont, June 10, 
18 1 2, came to Batavia from Erie County in i860, and married Sarah A., 
daughter of Aaron and Serephina Carnahan, of Picton, Canada. His 
children are Thomas M., William S., Eliza A., and Jesse B. Mrs. Sarah 
A. Hopkins died in Batavia, October 12, 1878, aged 62 years. Mr. 
Hopkins, grandfather of James, was of the old Puritan stock, and at the 
time of the French and Indian war suffered for the necessaries of life. 
It is told of him that prices for inferior provisions at that time were enor- 
mous : for one-quarter of a dog five shillings and sixpence were paid; 
for a dog's head two shillings and sixpence; horse flesh was nearly two 
shillings per pound ; even cats, rats, and mice were used for food. A 
pound of tallow was worth four shillings. William S. Hopkins married 
Prudence E. Jones, of Batavia, and they have two children, Robert J. 
and Eliza. He is now a resident of Buffalo, being engaged in the mal- 
leable iron works at Black Rock. Robert N. Hopkins is a farmer on road 
6^), where he has lived for 29 years. 

Hector Humphrey was born in Marcellus, Onondaga County, N. Y., 
December 25, 1809. When a young man he came to Batavia with his 
brother Bissell, who was proprietor of the old P2agle tavern. He as- 
sisted his brother in the hotel and stage business. He married Hannah 
M. Patterson in 1838, and engaged in the livery business, carrying a 
large stock of horses and vehicles until his health failed. He died June 
5, 1855. Two sons and one daughter were born to him, all of whom are 
deceased but Frances, wife of Reuben H. Farnham, of Attica. His 
widow resides in Batavia. 

Henry W. Homelius was born in Buffalo, N. Y., in 1850. He was the 
first and is now the only architect in Genesee County. Since 1875 he 
has been engaged in contracting and building, and now employs from 
10 to 12 men, making a speciality of fine house building. He has built 
many of the finest residences in the county, and also does work in Roch- 
ester, Buffalo, and surrounding towns. Henry B, Homelius, son of 
Henry B., was born 1830, and came to America when six years of age. 
He married Catherine Knight, settled in Batavia in 1856, and is engaged 
in contracting and building. 



282 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Dr. Horace S. Hutchins, son of Asa and Lydia (Willis) Hutchins, was 
born in the village of Manlius, Onondaga County, N. Y., January 5, 
1829. The father, a descendant of sturdy New England stock, was one 
of the early and efficient pioneers in the early settlement of the central 
part of this State. He died in Genesee County, October i, 1871. The 
mother is from a long-lived family, and the oldest of a family of chil- 
dren each of whom lived to the age of 80 years. She married succes- 
sively two brothers, and by each husband reared two sons and one 
daughter : Oramel, Loren, and Lure Ann ; Sophia, Horace S., and Har- 
vey. Dr. Hutchins's early life was spent upon the farm and in attend- 
ing the district school winters, receiving such knowledge as they afforded 
a half century past. At the age of 16 he commenced his academic work 
in Hamilton Academy in Madison County, N. Y., pursuing a four years' 
course of preparatory study, which enabled him to enter Madison Uni- 
versity, from which institution he graduated and secured the degrees of 
A. B. and M. A. in course. He was teacher of mathematics in the 
Ladies' Seminary of Hamilton two years, and principal of Peterboro 
Academy one year, during which time, having formed a taste for the 
study of medicine, and obtaining from many able physicians a good prac- 
tical knowledge of therapeutics, he naturally developed the faculties 
necessary for the course he marked out for himself, and to which profes- 
sion he has since devoted his energies and life. At the age of 25, seek- 
ing to restore his health and to learn something of the world, he set out 
on an ocean voyage to the West Indies, Central America, across the 
Isthmus, along the route of the Nicaragua Canal, up the San Juan River 
from Greytown to Castillo rapids ; thence across Lake Nicaragua and 
the highlands of Gautem.ala to the Pacific Ocean ; thence with the Coast 
Survey along the coasts of Mexico and California to San Francisco, land- 
ing there in the early years of the gold fever. For three years, and during 
his stay in Nevada City, he had charge of its school work, and also pur- 
sued the study and practice of medicine. He held various official posi- 
tions in that city, whose foundations were laid in gold. It was during 
his visit and stay in California that he was one of many who engaged in 
that terrible struggle for supremacy between law and order, and the 
minions of overt criminality, when the famous Vigilance Committee 
assembled in hosts sufficient to awe and overpower the workers of crime. 
The powers of State were restored, society purified, and an example for 
good was inaugurated which has left its impress upon the whole Nation. 
It may not be out of place here to state, for a comparison, that the last 





^^7--^:^C^ 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 283 



professional act of Dr. Hutchins on the coast brought him the sum of 
$40 in gold, he being the recipient of that amount for a simple prescrip- 
tion, unsolicited on his part. 

In June, 1857, he returned from California to Buffalo, N. Y., engaging 
in active business relations with his brother Harvey, and in September of 
the same year was married to Harriet M., daughter of Corrington Babcock, 
of Madison County, N. Y. In May, 1859, he moved to Batavia, taking 
up his old work — the practice of medicine. Visiting New York city the 
next year, and spending many months in review and study in the old 
and new schools of medicine, he graduated and returned to Batavia, 
where for the past 30 years he has faithfully and successfully labored, ob- 
taining a rank in the profession possessed only by the few, gaining the re- 
spect and confidence of those who are the recipients of his ministrations, 
and by his consistent conduct and steadfastness of purpose has gained 
the respect of the whole community. He has been one of the vice-presi- 
dents of the New York State Homeopathic Medical Society, and one of 
the censors of the same society for years ; a member of the American 
Institute of Homeopathy 23 years; a member of the Western New York 
Medical Society since its formation ; an alumnus of the New York Ho- 
meopathic Medical College Hospital Association; and a director and act- 
ive worker in the banking interests of the village. For nearly 10 years 
he was president of the board of education, and an active and zealous 
promoter of the cause of education. Dr. Hutchins's children are Fanny 
A. and Eleanora, the latter the wife of Dr. John W. Le Seur. The family 
are earnest and devoted members of the Baptist Church, contributing 
generously to its growth and support. 

Dr. John Wesley Le Seur (son of John Le Seur, now in his 85th year, 
and a minister of the Methodist Church in Vermont) was born in Hart- 
land, Vt, in 1857. He was graduated in turn from the Fort Edward 
(N. Y.) Collegiate Institute, class of '77; Rochester University, class of '81; 
Rochester Theological Seminary, class of '84; and the Hahnemann Med- 
ical College of Philadelphia, class of '86. In 1885 he founded the Medi- 
cal Institute of Philadelphia, to which he still contributes articles. He 
began to practice with Dr. Hutchins at Batavia in the spring of 1886. In 
1887 he was appointed by Governor Hill one of the trustees of the Insti- 
tution for the Blind at Batavia. During the same year and the succeed- 
ing one he was town physician, and is now jail physician. Dr. Le Seur 
for three years has been president of the Philharmonic Club in Batavia, 
He is a member of the American Institute of Homeopathy and the West- 



284 GENESEE COUNTY. 



ern New York Homeopathic Medical Society. His family consists of a 
wife, formerly Miss Eleanora Hiitchins, daughter of Dr. Hutchins, and 
two children. He belongs to the Baptist Church, and is also an active 
member of the Young Men's Christian Association. Dr. Le Seur is re- 
garded as one of the most skilled physicians in the place, and commands 
a lucrative practice. 

Hinman Holden was born in Adams, Mass., in 1787, and came to Ba- 
tavia in 1805, and thus was closely identified with the early history of this 
village and county. He was a man of good sound judgment, one to be 
relied upon to help and succor a just cause. In the War of 1 8 1 2 he took 
his sled and oxen and drew flour to Buffalo to supply the soldiers, trav- 
eling night and day, which, in the state of the roads at that time, was no 
light task. At one time (about 1825) he kept the American Hotel. He 
died in 1871, aged 84 years. He was father to Richard O. Holden, who 
was born March 5, 18 14, in a log house on the farm owned by W. H. G. 
Post. Richard O. Holden was a clerk in New York for five years, and on 
his return went into business with G. A. Lay, in a store where the Masse 
block now is. In 1847 the firm was Holden & Thorn, corner of Main and 
Jackson streets. In 1859 ^^^ built the large store now occupied by his 
son, and had as partners Messrs. Glover and Foote. Other (branch) 
stores were operated in Alabama and Warsaw. In five years' time Glover 
and Foote retired, and in 1880 Mr. Holden took his son Hinman into 
partnership, under the title of R. O. Holden & Son. He died May 29, 
1887, aged 73. During his long residence here he made many friends. 
He enjoyed the fullest confidence of all his neighbors, was ever fair, and 
scrupulously honest. His judgment was often sought in matters of public 
interest, and he took a kindly welfare in the eftbrts of others to succeed. 
He married Miss Hannah Wells. Hinman Holden, the eldest son of 
R. O Holden, was born here in 1852. He was educated in the schools 
in this section, and finished his studies in Hamden, Conn. In 1869 he 
entered his father's store, and in 1880 became his partner, but since 1872 
has had the care and responsibility of the business. He possesses the 
rare executive ability which so marked the life of his father, and is a 
worthy successor. He was married, in 1 886, to Miss Eva O. Smith, 
daughter of Wilber Smith, and they have one son, Richard O. The fam- 
ily are Episcopalians. 

Samuel C. Holden was born in Otsego County, N. Y., August 8, 
1794, and died in December, 1881, aged 87 years. He came here in 
1806, and thus spent 75 years of his life in this village. He was a 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 285 



brother of Hinman Holden, and they were sons of James Holden. 
Samuel C. Holden was at one time U. S. loan commissioner, was county 
clerk in 1846, and was in the mercantile business as early as 1822 under 
the firm name of Rich & Holden. His son, George H. Holden, held the 
office of county clerk for six years from 1861, and is now the deputy, 
having given his valuable assistance to the office for 30 years. 

Hayden U. Howard, for many years identified with the banking and 
business interests of this county, was born in 1821 in Livingston County. 
His parents, Talcott and Sally (Tufts) Howard, came from New England 
to Perry, where Hayden was reared. He began life as a clerk, and in 
1840 entered the bank at Le Roy as clerk. For nearly 50 years he has 
been identified with the banking interests of the county. He became 
cashier of the Bank of Le R.oy in 1845, serving until 1852. The two 
years following he conducted a private bank in Buffalo, and then re- 
turned to Genesee County as vice-president of the Bank of Genesee. In 
1855 he became president, serving until 1885, since which time he has 
conducted a loan office. He has been active in educational matters, serv- 
ing as trustee in the school board and of the Institution of the Blind. 
He was also president of the Western New York Life Insurance Com- 
pany. He married Lucy L., daughter of Erastus Bailey, of Le Roy, an 
old resident. They have three children, Charles H., William E., and 
Mary M., and are members of the Presbyterian Church. 

Joseph Hamilton has been a resident of Batavia since 1852. He in- 
herited a taste for engraving, and learned the trade of cutting marble in 
Rochester, and since coming here has established a large trade in the 
marble and granite line. He erected the brick block on East Main street 
in 1872, where he has spacious salesrooms. In March, 1877, he admit- 
ted his son John M. as a partner, and the business is now conducted 
under the firm name of Joseph Hamilton & Son. 

Ezekiel Hackley, a son of Simeon, of Connecticut, was born in Co- 
lumbia County, in 1 794, and came to Batavia in 18 19, settling on the farm 
in the north part of the town, where he now resides with his son Orlando 
D. Mr. Hackley married Sarah Smiley, daughter of Dr. Francis Smiley, 
of Herkimer County, N Y., and they had six children. He is the old- 
est settler in the town, being now over 96 years of age. 

Samuel Jacks, a native of Londonderry, N. H., came to Batavia in 
181 1. He was a blacksmith, but settled on a farm where he died in 1866, 
aged 74 years. He came when but few settlers had located, and had a 
shop at the corner of Bank and Main streets. He married Betsey, daugh- 



286 GENESEE COUNTY. 



ter of Ephraim Husted, of Elba, and his children were James C, John, 
Mary, Samuel, John, Ephraim, and Betsey. James C. Jacks, born in 
Batavia, married Josephine B., daughter of John C. and Eunice (McCril- 
lus) Wilford,and their children are J. Wilford, Mary E.,JuliaW., Josephine, 
and J. Corwin. The latter married Emma, daughter of Joseph and Eliza 
(Staples) Haviland, of Glens Falls, N. Y., and they have one daughter, 
Elma H. Mr. Jacks is a farmer, residing on road 13. J. Wilford Jacks 
is a Presbyterian minister at Romulus, N. Y. Mary E. Jacks married 
Rev. H. H. Kellogg, pastor of the Presbyterian Church at Windham, 
N. Y. Josephine Jacks married Rev. Frank L. Silliman, now a mer- 
chant of Little Falls, N. Y. Julia W. Jacks married William T. Bradley, 
a farmer in Batavia. 

Alva Jones was born February 23, 1820, in Stafford, was a farmer, and 
always resided there. He married Amelia C. Hull, and they had four 
children, viz.: Edwin R.. George F"., Mary A., and P>ances C, all de- 
ceased. Mr. Jones died February 5, 1873, and his widow resides in Ba- 
tavia. The son George F. enlisted in Co. G, 8th N. Y. H. A., in 1863, 
and August 25, 1864, he was captured by the rebels and taken to Libby 
prison, from there to Belle Isle, thence to Salisbury, N. C, where he died 
November 2, 1864. Edwin R. Jones died in Nebraska, November 8, 
1888. 

Obadiah Johnson was a native of Berkshire County, Mass , and a sol- 
dier in the war of the Revolution. He had six children, viz. : Horace, 
Obadiah, Gordon, Anna, Sallie, and John R. John R. Johnson, also a 
native of Massachusetts, came to Monroe County in 1813, and died at 
Riga in 1870, aged 84 years. He married Lucy, daughter of David Tut- 
tle, of Byron, and their children were Rufus, Azubette, Ira, Jane, Lucy, 
Lucinda, Spencer, Sarah, Eunice, and Horace. The latter was born in 
Riga, July 16, 1827, settled in Byron in 1876, and came to Batavia in 
1882, locating on a farm. He married Mary E., daughter of Ephraim 
and Nancy (Hults) Johnson, of Nunda, N. Y., and their children are 
Lewis M., Ernest H., William H., Morris W., Julia E., Cora B., and 
Mary E. Lewis M. Johnson married Martha Judd. Their children are 
Charles J., Cora B., Lena L., and lima M. He resides with his father on 
road 13. 

Prof. Charles A. Klimitz was born September 23, 1826, in Fomerania, 
Prussia. He received a musical education in the city of Stettin. In 
1855 he came to America, and was a resident of Rochester one year, 
and came to Batavia in 1856. He has taught music in the Young Ladies' 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 287' 



Seminary 1 1 years, and has since been a private music teacher. He was 
married to Emily E. Brussow, and they have had six children, four of 
whom are living. 

John Kenyon in 1836 opened a grocery and general store in Batavia. 
After carrying on the business for years he sold out to his sons Edward 
L. and George D. In 1886 Edward L. bought out George D., carrying 
on the business until 1888, when he sold out the store and retired. In 
May, 1889, his son, E. Porter Kenyon, opened a store at No. 80 Main 
street, and is now carrying a full line of groceries. He also controls the 
ice business of Batavia. 

Darius King was born in Pompey, N. Y., April 30, 18 19. When six 
years of age his father, Hiram, settled in the northern part of Batavia, 
where he resided until he moved to Oakfield in i860. He was a farmer 
and building mover, and was supervisor two years and assessor nine years. 
He married Cornelia Showerman, and they had a family of three children, 
two of whom, F. D. and W. E.,are living. He died December 9, 1885. 
His widow lives in Batavia. F. D. King was born March 6, 1846, and 
s a contractor and builder. He married Miss C. Bowers, of Victor, N. Y., 
and they have one child, Everett D. 

Paul Knowlton lived and died in Grafton, Mass. His children were 
Paul, Levi, Daniel, Ruth, and Annie. Daniel was born in Massachu- 
setts, and came to Pavilion in 18 16, remaining there until his death in 
1847, aged 72 years. He married"Polly Hemmingway, of Massachusetts, 
and their children were Mary, Pamelia, Adaline, Venus D., Hephzibah, 
Levi P., and Thaddeus J. The last mentioned was born in Bethany, 
March 30, 1822, and came to Batavia in 1885. He now lives iji Batavia 
village at 24 Wood street. He married. May 28, 1845, Phoebe, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Sarah (Buckbee) Stewart, of Warsaw, N. Y. She was 
born January 16, 1820. Their children are Daniel S., Eva F., and 
Frank J. Daniel S. married Nellie Vernon, of Perry, N. Y. They have 
three children, and reside at La Grange. Joseph Stewart served in the 
War of 1 8 1 2. Richard Buckbee, father of Sarah, died in Saratoga County 
at the age of 82 years, and his wife, Phoebe, in Dutchess County at the 
age of 52 years. Mr. Knowlton also owns a farm of 69 acres in Pavilion- 

KeiiJiy & Rotirke, grocers and wholesale and retail liquor dealers, are 
located at 152 Ellicott street. They started in business in 1884, renting 
the store, and since then have bought the property. They are doing a 
large business, which is increasing each year. 

Charles A. Kibbe, of " Kibbe's farm advertising agency," established 



288 GENESEE COUNTY. 



in 1875, is a native of Fulton County, N. Y., and son of Nathaniel S. 
Kibbe, who came to Batavia in 1870. Previous to living here Charles A. 
was engaged in the glove and mitten business at Gloversville, N. Y. He 
has made a great success of his real estate business, his sales the past 
three years amounting to $2,000,000, and a total of $8,000,000. He 
handles property all over the United States. He makes a specialty of 
advertising, having spent in all over $26,000 for that purpose, or about 
$2,000 per year. He has about 500 cooperative agents in the United 
States. Mr. Kibbe has opened a branch office in room i. No. 8 State 
street, Rochester, with W. P. Hawkins as manager. His work is strictly 
a commission one. He originated this " new idea " of dealing in farm 
properties, and has proved it to be a success. Mr. Kibbe is one of the 
energetic business men of the town ; an active mover in all enterprises 
to build up the place by the introduction of new manufactures. 

Martin L. Kempton in 1888 commenced the manufacture of the Ba- 
tavia combination fence at Elba. In 1889 he located in Batavia at 1 17 
Harvester avenue, and is now using from 10 to 12 tons of wire and 300,- 
000 pickets per year. He also makes ordinary farm fence and fancy 
picket fence of different varieties. 

Lawrence & Lane, attorneys at law. — This association was formed in 
1889 by Spencer J. Lawrence and Louis B. Lane. Mr. Lawrence was 
born in 1864, ^ son of James and Alida (Chase) Lawrence, a farmer who 
died in 1880. After completing his preliminary education Mr. Lawrence 
entered the office of William C. Watson and began the study of law. 
He was admitted to practice in the spring of 1889. Mr. Lane, a native 
of Allegany County, was born in 1862, son of Rev. John W. and Mary E. 
(Watson) Lane. His father was a Presbyterian minister of over 30 years 
of service in Allegany County, and died December 25, 1881. Louis was 
educated under the care of his father, and was also a law student in Mr. 
Watson's office. He was admitted to practice in 1889. 

G. W. Lefler, V. S., was born in Seneca County, N. Y., August 6, 
1834. He graduated at Boston Veterinary College in 1858, was ap- 
pointed chief veterinary surgeon of the Army of the Potomac in 1863, 
and remained there until 1866. He enlisted as farrier in the 30th N. Y. 
Engineer Corps, and was discharged on special order 515 to receive the 
appointment of chief veterinary surgeon. After the close of the war he 
practiced in several cities in the West, and located in Batavia in 1884. He 
has his office and hospital at Exchange Place. 

James A. Le Seur, the efficient clerk and assistant of Judge North in 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 289 



the surrogate's office, is a native of Brattleboro, Vt., where he was born 
November 18, 1861. He was married, December 31, 1884, to Miss Car- 
rie Eckler, of Pittsford, N. Y., and came to Batavia in September, 1887, 
from Boston, Mass. 

Harry Lathrop, born in 1804, is a native of Rutland, Vt., and came to 
Stafford in 18 16. He is now a resident of Medina, N. Y. He married 
Olive, daughter of Moses Chapin, of Massachusetts, and their children 
are Elsie E., Edward F., James E., and Harry E. Harry E. Lathrop, 
who was born in Stafford, married Mary E., daughter of William and 
Eliza (Wilcox) Russell, of Rocky Hill, Conn., and their children are 
Frank E., born February 11, 1873, and Mary E., born November 18^ 
1876. They now reside in Batavia, where they have lived for eight 
years. The father of Harry (Abigal) was a soldier of the War of 1812, 
and was at the burning of Buffalo. Anson Lathrop came to Darien from 
Connecticut in 1818, and settled in the southeastern part of the town. 
He was a farmer. He married Elizabeth Bertram, and had born to him 
eight children, Samuel, son of Aaron, was born March 28, 1834, and 
married Sarah E. Salisbury. He enlisted in Co. M, 9th N. Y. H. A., 
was taken prisoner at Mononacy Junction in July, 1863, taken to Dan- 
ville prison, and died November 9, 1863. Henry Salisbury, born in Co- 
lumbia County, N. Y., married Sallie Owen, of Massachusetts, and settled 
in Darien in 1810. They had eight children. He was a large farmer, 
and died September 26, 1869. He was in the War of 18 12, and was 
stationed at Fort Erie. 

Samuel Lusk, a native of Wethersfield, Conn., moved to Poultney, Vt., 
and died in 1828, aged 'j6 years. He served in the war of the Revolu- 
tion. He married Naomi Bryant, of Connecticut, and their children 
were Samuel, Irena, Alvin, Salmon, Sally, and William. The latter, of 
Castleton, Vt, came to Batavia in 1835, and died in Newstead, Erie 
County, in 1870, aged 84 years. He served in the War of 18 12. He 
married Althea Sanford, of Poultney, Vt, daughter of Oliver Sanford, 
and his children were William H., Reuben S., Marcus, Caroline, Clarissa, 
Ann E., and Salmon. Salmon B. Lusk was born in Poultney, August 
28, 18 1 5, came to Batavia and married Sally, daughter of Jabez and 
Relief (Wheelock) Howe, and their children are Althea, Elizabeth, Helen, 
Mary, Frank R., Clara E., and William B. Mr. Lusk has resided at his 
present place 24 years. He was elected sheriff in 185 1, and served three 
years in the late war; was deputy provost-marshal, and held many offices 
of trust in the county. He was jailer seven years, and deputy sheriff 
three years. He is a breeder of thoroughbred American Merino shee 



290 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Philip Luckel was born in Germany and came to America in 1854, set- 
tling in Batavia in 1855, where he has since resided. He is a tailor by- 
trade, and has carried on that business most of the time. Charles W. 
Luckel, son of Philip, was born in Batavia, April 8, 1858. He learned 
the tailors' trade with his father, finishing in New York city. In 1884 
he started in business for himself He has been in the store at 30 Jack- 
son street since 1889, carrying on merchant tailoring. He carries a 
good line of foreign and domestic goods, giving employment to from 12 
to 15 hands. 

Andrew Lape was born in Germany, and when a young man came to 
Batavia. He married Catherine Michel, and they had two children. 
He enlisted in Co. H, 148th N: Y. Regt., served two years and six 
months, and died from wounds received in service. His only son, Jo- 
seph, was born near Buffalo, N. Y., October 21, 1848, and resides in Ba- 
tavia. Joseph Lape was elected constable in February, 1889. He mar- 
ried Hattie L Johnson, of Shortsville, Ontario County, and they have 
one child, Pearl P. 

Robert A. Maxwell, State superintendent of insurance, is a native of 
Washington County, where he was born in 1840. He is a son of Alex- 
ander and Jane (Alexander) Maxwell, both of Scotch lineage. Robert 
was educated in the schools of his native county, and received the advan- 
tage of a course of study in the State Normal School of Albany. He 
then taught for two years in the schools of Greenwich. Deciding upon 
a larger field of operation he went to Chicago and engaged in mercantile 
pursuits, but was forced to return east on account of ill health, and in 
1869 he became a permanent resident of Batavia. Mr. Maxwell was ac- 
tively engaged in the malting business for 10 years, first forming an as- 
sociation with E. H. Fish in 1871, and later with Henry J. Ensign, in 
the brewery and malt business. He was appointed one of the early trus- 
tees of the Institution for the Blind, and also served one year as village 
trustee. In 1881 he was nominated on the Democratic ticket for State 
treasurer, and was elected by 22,000 majority, the balance of the ticket 
being defeated. In 1883 he was reelected by over 5,000 in advance of 
the rest of the ticket. In January, 1886, Gov. Hill appointed him State 
superintendent of insurance, which office he now holds. He was married 
to Mary McLean, of Washington County. Two children have been born 
to them, viz. : William A. and Marion Grace (deceased, aged nine years). 

John M. McKenzie, of the firm of McKenzie, Ryan & Storms, was 
born in Lockport in 1846. He was educated in the public schools ot 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 29 1 



that place, and learned the trade of cabinetmaker. He moved to Wis- 
consin and there worked at his trade, but came to Batavia in 1868, and 
was engaged at farming four years, when he entered the employ of R. O. 
Holden. with whom he studied the business of general merchandising for 
nine years, attaining the position of head clerk and buyer. In 1881 he 
opened up business on his own account, when there were eight compet- 
ing stores in the line of clothiers and gents' furnishing goods, while at the 
present time only three survive. His strict attention to business, fidelity 
to friends, and thorough regard for his word caused him to be brought 
forward as a candidate for the Assembly in 1887. Such was his popu- 
larity that he was elected by a majority of nearly 1,200, being far in ad- 
vance of the rest of the ticket, and by a greater majority than his prede- 
cessors. Again, in 1888, he was placed in nomination for the same place, 
which resulted in an increased majority (1,311), keeping up with that for 
the presidential ticket. The fact of his being a member of the Ways 
and Means Committee is an honor not often given to Genesee County. 
Mr. McKenzie was married to Mary E. Storms, daughter of the late John 
C Storms. They have one girl, Bessie L. 

Timothy Lynch, proprietor of the Genesee House, was born in Ireland, 
and came with his parents to America in 1847. His father, Daniel 
Lynch, came to Batavia about 1850, and resided there until his death. 
Timothy Lynch was reared and educated in the schools of Batavia, and 
early in 1861 enlisted in Co. E, looth N. Y. Vet. Inf , as a private. Be- 
fore going to the front he was commissioned second lieutenant of his 
company. He was in active service about three and one- half years. 
His regiment saw severe service, and participated in the engagements at 
Yorktown, Williamsburg, Seven Pines, and Fair Oaks, where Lieut. 
X.ynch was taken prisoner and confined for five months in Libby and 
Salisbury prisons. After rejoining the regiment he was promoted to first 
lieutenant to date from the battle of Fair Oakes, having command of Co. 
B. He was finally made captain of his company, and served until No- 
vember, 1864, when he resigned. The latter part of his service he was 
in the engagements at Folly, James, and Morris islands, and before 
Charleston, Richmond, Petersburg, and Fort Darling, where one-half of 
his regiment was lost and he was wounded, Weldon Railroad, Bermuda 
Hundred, etc. Returning to Genesee County Mr. Lynch farmed for 
two years, and in 1867 became owner of the Genesee House on Jackson 
street, Batavia, which he has since conducted, with the exception of two 
years. Mr. Lynch is post commander of Upton Post, G. A. R., and is 



292 GENESEE COUNTY. 

now serving as one of the Grant treasurers of the State for the C. M. B. 
A., a benevolent organization of which he is one of the oldest members. 
He has served as a member of the board of trustees of Batavia, and is 
one of the enterprising men of the town, as well as a genial and deserv- 
ing host. 

Allen D. Lincoln, youngest son of Sylvester, who was the fourth set- 
tler in the town of Bethany, was born in Bethany, December 6, 1821. 
He received a public school and academic education, and until recently 
was a farmer by occupation. He is now a retired farmer, residing on 
Jackson street, Batavia., March 28, 1855, he married Sarah E., oldest 
daughter of Morris Garton, of Wyoming County, N. Y. They have two 
children, viz.: Wallis G., born January 3, 1862, and Kate F., born Octo- 
ber I, 1871. November 2, 1884, Wallis G. married Monica McNerhany, 
of Washington, D. C, and they have two children, Harry G. and Mar- 
garet. He is a telegraph operator in the Western Union office in Chi- 
cago, 111. Kate F. is a music teacher and resides at home with her par- 
ents. 

Harry M. Lay, successor to Blake & Lay, is the young but progressive 
proprietor of a leading business enterprise of Batavia. The business was 
started by John H. Blake, and subsequently became, in 1887, Blake & 
Lay. During the continuance of the firm extensive buildings were erec- 
ted, and the business assumed large proportions. Mr. Lay assumed the 
entire charge and ownership in 1889. The office and yards are on Lib- 
erty street, convenient to railroad transportation, and consist of lumber 
yard, coal sheds, a planing-mill 40x80 feet, two stories in height, and a 
hay barn 40x120 feet and 50 feet high, with a capacity for 2,000 tons of 
hay, which is shipped to eastern markets. Mr. Lay employs about 20 
assistants, and has a promising future. He is a native of Chicago, and a 
son of George W. Lay, Esq., an attorney and descendant of old Gen- 
esee County families. Mr. Lay received an excellent education, gradu- 
ating from Williams College in 1887. The same year he began his bus- 
iness career. 

John Moore, a native of Columbia County, N. Y., came to Batavia in 
1847, where he died at the age of 72 years. He married Cherry Sparks, 
daughter of Benjamin, of Massachusetts, and their children were Abigail, 
Betsey, Louisa, Clarissa, Sabery, John, Benjamin, Andrew, George, and 
Michael. The latter came to Batavia in 1836, from Lima, N. Y. He 
married, first, Sarah Ward, and second, Nancy Ward. His children by his 
second wife are Franklin, Charles, Elmer, Newton, Herbert, Watson, and 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 293 



Libbie L. They now reside near East Pembroke in the town of Batavia. 
Herbert Moore is a merchant at East Pembroke. Libbie L. married 
Cash M., son of PLdvvin and Lucinda (Curtis) Durham, of Batavia, and is 
now a resident of East Pembroke. 

William Martin, son of William., a native of Orange County, N. Y., 
came to Shelby, N. Y., in 18 16, and now resides there. He married 
Sarah, daughter of Daniel Ross, of Shelby, and their children are William 
A., Wallace, Mary, Harriet, Alice, Frances, Albert R., Elizabeth, and 
Charles T. Charles T. Martin was born in Barre, N. Y., March 3, 1843, 
and now resides in Batavia on road 7. William Martin, Sr., was a na- 
tive of County Down, Ireland. He came to New York city in i8oi,and 
thence to Barre, where he died in 1848, aged 82 years He was a linen 
weaver by trade. His wife was Mary Trumbull, who died in Barre in 
1844, aged 72 years. Charles T. Martin married Augusta S., daughter 
of Robert Balmer. of Porter, Niagara County, N. Y., and they had one 
daughter, Maude Snow, now deceased. 

William J. Mann, proprietor of the Hotel Richmond, is a native of 
Buffalo. He was born in 1844, a son of William B. and Aurelia (Arm- 
strong) Mann. His father, an Englishman by birth, came to America 
when a youth, and has been a prominent grain and shipping merchant in 
Buffalo, with an experience of 40 years, and is the oldest member of the 
board of trade in that city. William J. began his business career with 
his father, for a time the firm being William B. Mann & Son, and was 
subsequently interested in other enterprises in the city. He finally em- 
barked in the hotel business as a member of the well-known firm of Staf- 
ford & Co., proprietors of the Tifi't House and Mansion Hotel. He soon 
became proprietor of the Hotel Richmond in, his native village, which 
was destroyed by fire March 8, 1887, in which he lost his wife and only 
child, and nearly perished himself, being severely burned and disabled 
for a long time. Mr. Mann became proprietor of the Hotel Richmond 
upon its completion in May, 1889. He is endowed with a genial per- 
sonality, which, with business attributes of a high order, fit him for pre- 
siding over one of the neatest and best equipped hotels in the Empire 
State. 

Sidney U. Main, a retired merchant, was an active business man for 
many years. He was born in Cazenovia, N. Y., in 181 1, a son of Will- 
iam and Sophia (Briggs) Main, of New England stock. They were mar- 
ried there and settled in Madison County in 1829, whence they removed 
to Bennington, W^yoming County. The father was a merchant and 



294 GENESEE COUNTY. 



farmer there until his death in 1838. The mother died in 1877, at the 
home of her son in Batavia. There were eiglit children, six of whom 
are living, viz.: Mrs. Jane C. Bride, Mrs. Lucy A. Studley, Mrs. Caro- 
hne L. Dorman, Mrs. Margaret Hulett, Mrs. Louisa Shadbolt, and Sid- 
ney U. Main. The latter btgan his bu.siness career when a youth, and 
pursued it untiringly until he retired from active labor. He was for 
some time a traveling salesman. In 1837 he began business in Bergen, 
continuing there until he came to Batavia. In 1854 he formed a co- 
partnership with Dr O. P. Clark in the drug and book trade, and was 
afterwards associated with A. D. Tryon. He was also in business in 
Randolph, N. Y., for 20 years, and was a large real estate dealer. 
Throughout his entire business life he sustained a reputation for honor- 
able dealing. In 1837 he married Miss Ophelia Beecher, of Bergen, 
who died in 1844. In 1849 ^^^ married Adeline E Botsford, who died 
in 185 1. In 1854 he was married to Adeline E., daughter of Aaron and 
Betsey (Bent) Pingrey, of Mount Holly, Vermont, who were early set- 
tlers of Cattaraugus County, N. Y. 

Rufus Monger, a native of Vermont, came to Bethany in the very 
early days of the settlement of that town, and cleared the farm where he 
remained until his death in I 870, at the age of 92 years. He was often 
times obliged to carry wheat to mill to Attica upon his back. He served 
in the War of 181 2. He married Lydia Everest, of Bethany, and their 
children were Rufus, Lydia, Luman, Deliverance, Israel. Sally, Ephraim, 1 
Lavina, and Orange. Luman Monger was born in Bethany, near Lin- 
den, November 22, 18 15. He married Amanda, daughter of Daniel 
Barnes, of Iowa, and they have one son, Charles, now a station agent on 
the Illinois Central Railroad. Mrs. Monger died in 1875, aged 70 years. 
Mr. Monger went to Dubuque, Iowa, in 1845, but now resides in Bata- 
via village, and is a gunsmith. 

Prof Humphrey D. Maddock was born September 25, 1839, in Taun- 
ton, England. In 1857 he came to America and settled in Buffalo, where 
he did such work as a boy could find to do. About i860 he moved to 
Pavilion, and there learned the broom manufacturing business, and was 
there 12 years. He then opened a broom fictory, which he carried on 
until 1882. In October of that year he came to the New York State 
Blind Institution and taught broommaking. He also has charge of the 
gymnasium. He married Susan M. Buck, of Buffalo. 

John Myers, born in Switzerland, came to Batavia in 1849, where he 
died in 1881, aged 75 years. His children were John, Alonzo, Theresa, 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 295 



Elizabeth, Frank, who served in the 49th Regt. of Buffalo, and died in 
hospital at Fort Monroe at the age of 35 years, John, 2d, who also 
served in the 49th Buffalo Regt.. Sefarie, who served in the 8th N. Y. 
H. A., Sophronia, and Peter. The latter was born in Switzerland and 
came to Batavia with his father, John, where he now resides. He mar- 
ried Amelia, daughter of Frederick and Wilhelmina (Schultz) Darrow, 
and they have three children, viz.: Wilhelm (deceased), Herman, and 
Estella. Frederick and Wilhelmina Darrow were born in Berlin, Prussia, 
and in 1853 came to Richville, N. Y. Frederick was killed at that place 
by an accident in a saw-mill, in 1857, at the age of 38 years. His wife 
was 58 years of age at the time of her death. Their children were Will- 
iam, Amelia, Augusta, Minnie, Henry, and Annie R. 

Thomas Mogridge's carriage shops are located at 2 Seaver Place. In 
1877 he started the business here, but previous to that, in 1875, he was 
located for two years on Clark Place. He employs from five to seven 
men, manufacturing all kinds of wagons and carriages, and has a black- 
smith shop connected with his business. Mr. Mogridge was born in 
England. April 18, 1835. I" 1852 he came to Batavia and worked at 
his trade, which he had learned in England. He married Sarah Lyons 
and they have three children. 

M. Moynihan, a merchant tailor and dealer in ready-made clothino- 
was born in Ireland in 1840, and came to Batavia with his parents when 
10 years of age. He entered the clothing store of S. Masse in 1862 
where he was employed for 14 years, when he engaged in business for 
himself, opening a clothing store in the Opera House block, where he 
did a prosperous business for three years. He then purchased a lot on 
East Main street, 41x100 feet, and erected the Moynihan block, which 
contains three stores. He occupies No. 47, wiiere he has a lar^re stock 
of clothing and gents' furnishing goods. Mr. Moynihan has established 
the one price system, and has built up a lucrative and prosperous trade. 

Benjamin F. Morgan, a native of Amboy. N. J., born in 1768, came 
to Batavia, N. Y., in 1802, and settled on a farm. His was the first 
deed of land in the town for 80 acres, and was given to him by the Hol- 
land Purchase. He remained on the farm until his death, February 12. 
1840, aged 72 years. His wife, born in 1773, was Sarah, dauj^hter of 
Ebenezer Mary, of Kinderhook, Washington County, N. Y. She died 
in 1856, aged 83 years. They had nine children — seven daughters and 
two sons. Ebenezer B. Morgan, born in Batavia, January 16, 18 17, 
died November 3, 1882, in the 66th year of his age. He was poor- 



296 GENESEE COUNTY. 



master for a time and supervisor for two years. He married Sarah B., 
daughter of John and Hannah Janson, and his children were Martha, 
Allen J., Kittie E., George E., and William E. George E. Morgan, a 
native of Batavia, moved to Oakfield in 1885, and engaged in the busi- 
ness of buying grain and produce. He married Laura E., daughter of 
James P. and Clara (Rich) Parsons, and they have one daughter, Laura P. 
Mr. Morgan now lives in Batavia. 

Sylvanus M, Nestell was a native of Montgomery County, N. Y., 
where he lived, and died in 1874, at the age of 65 years. His wife, 
Harriet Ellis, bore him seven children, as follows: Daniel, Lorenzo, 
Amenzo, Amelia, Jane, Martha, and Homer. For his second wife he 
married Catherine Ellis, and they had three children, viz.: George, Har- 
riet, and Mary. Homer Nestell was born in Pike, N. Y., in February,. 
1832. He married Mary E. Case, December 12, 1854, daughter of Dan- 
iel and Dolly (Moore) Case, and his children are Annette Frank, Jen- 
nie Edna, and Fred. Mr. Nestell served in the late war in Co. F, 2d 
N. Y, H. A., for three years, or during the war, and was honorably dis- 
charged in 1865. He was engaged in the battles of Cold Harbor, Peters- 
burg, North Anna, Kolopotomy Creek, Reams's Station, and Hatcher's 
Run, and was in the 2d Corps near Petersburg. He is now drawing a 
pension, and lives on road 61 in the town of Batavia. 

Hon. Safiford E. North, judge and surrogate of Genesee County, is a 
native of Alexander, having been born in that town January 27, 1852, 
His father, James A., was a resident of Alexander for 70 years, but is 
now living at Attica. Judge North received his early education in the 
district schools, later attended the Genesee and Wyoming Seminary at 
Alexander, and was also one year at Cornell University, entering at the 
opening exercises of that institution as a member of the first class. At 
the early age of 17 he began teaching school, and during the winter 
months was an instructor of the young. In the spring of 1873 he went 
to Le Roy and entered upon the study of the law in the office of Hon. 
L. N. Bangs, remaining there less than a year, being compelled by fail- 
ing eyesight to give up his studies for a period of two years. In March, 
1876, he came to Batavia and resumed his law studies with William C. 
Watson. January 4, 1878, he was admitted to practice at Syracuse, 
and in May following opened an office in Batavia. He was elected cleric 
of the village in 1879 and '80, and district attorney in 1880-81. He 
has always been successful in his practice, and having been honored with 
the nomination for county judge and surrogate, against one of the ablest 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 297 



lawyers in the county, was elected to that office in 1888, and which he 
now holds. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church. 

William O'Brien, a native of Tipperary, Ireland, came to Canada in 
1850, and to Batavia in 1852. He died in Illinois in 1877, aged 70 
years. His wife was Annie Enestie, of Ireland, and their children were 
William, Michael, John, Ellen, Mary, and Dennis. Dennis O'Brien, who 
came here in 1853, married Margaret, daughter of James and Mary 
(Carroll) Carey, and they have one son, William. He is a farmer. 

Chester Orcutt, son of Moses, a soldier of the Revolution, was born in 
Great Barrington. Mass., and came to West Bloomfield, thence to Riga 
in 1808, and then went to Summit County, Ohio, where he died at the 
age of J'] years. He married Nancy, daughter of John Phillips, of Rich- 
mond, N. Y. Their children were Olive, Parnell, Elizabeth, and Ches- 
ter E. For his second wife he married Jerusha Chamberlain, and their 
children were Esther, Elmira, and Chester E. Chester E. Orcutt was 
born in Richmond, N. Y., March i, 1818. In April 1848, he came 
to Batavia, where he now resides. He married, first, Amelia How- 
ell, of Chili, and their children were Burdette, Louisa A., Jane A., 
and F'rank H. His second wife, Mary A., daughter of Danforth and 
Olive (Sprague) Tounsley, of Gates, N. Y., bore him children as follows : 
J. Elwood, Willis T., Ida, Martha, Charles, Arthur, and George. Mr. 
Orcutt has lived on his farm 41 years, 

Henry L. Onderdonk was born in Monticello, N. Y., April 26, 1818. 
When 13 years of age he came to Genesee County with his mother. 
In 1839 he opened a harness store and shop, and has been engaged in 
that business most of the time since, being one of the oldest business 
men in Batavia. His mother, who was born October 7, 1779, resides 
with him. He was trustee of the village two terms and overseer of the 
poor six years. He married Elmira S. Godfrey, of Geneva, N. Y. 

Owen O'Hara was born in County Lathram, Ireland, June 24, 1828. 
He married twice, first, Catherine McCloughlin, March 17, 185 1, and 
started for America the same day. They had two children, Mary and 
James A. For his second wife Mr. O'Hara married Jane Shean, by 
whom he had three children, of whom two survive, namely: Patrick and 
Kate. James A. O'Hara was born May 10, 1859, in Alabama, was edu- 
cated in the public schools, and began work on the railroad when he was 
14 years old. He was promoted conductor June i, 1887, on the N. Y, C. 
& H. R. Railroad. February 3, 1886, he married Nellie Skahen, of 
Batavia, and they have two sons: Charles, born November 9, 1886, and 



298 GENESEE COUNTY. 



James V., born July 28, 1889. Mr. and Mrs. O'Hara reside at No. 18 
Robinson street, Batavia. 

Albert C. Olmsted, a native of Le Roy, was born in 1847, ^ son of 
Chauncey L. and Marietta (Bailey) Olmsted (both of Le Roy). The pa- 
ternal and maternal grandparents, Stephen Olmsted and Erastus Bailey, 
were natives of Connecticut and early settlers in Le Roy. Mr. Bailey 
was a miller, and built many of the first mills in the Genesee country. 
Bailey's mills, so long and well known, were the result of his energy, and 
were operated by him and subsequently by his son. Chauncey L. Olm- 
sted was a prominent builder; he erected the Oriental mills of Chicago, 
and Orchard City mills, of Burlington, la. His lumber interests caused 
him to spend much time in the Saginaw valley. He was also a banker at 
Burlington, and president of the Orchard City Savings Bank from June, 
1868, to 1872, when he sold out on account of ill health. His son Henry 
B. was cashier, and died in 1872, and the father died the same year. Mr. 
Olmsted also built the Red flouring- mills of Le Roy, and the Batavia and 
Le Roy planing-mills. In 1873 A. C. Olmsted came to Batavia and has 
since resided here. He started in the coal and lumber business in 1878, 
locating at 43 Center street, his present location. He is a stockholder of 
the Le Roy Gas Co. and a prominent member of the Masonic order. Mr. 
Olmsted has always been identified with the milling interests, and is in- 
terested in lumber and coal. He graduated at Poughkeepsie in 1865, 
when he went to Iowa, in charge of the Orchard City mills, where he was 
for seven years. He was married, in 1874, to Grace Clark, daughter of 
the well known Dr. Norris G. Clark, of Batavia, and they have one child, 
Henry B. 

Lucius B. Parmele, A. M., M. D.,isa native of Erie County, N. Y., where 
he was bornin 1840. He is a son of John J. and Joanna (Baker) Parmele, 
both natives of Connecticut. Dr. Parmele commenced the study of 
medicine in 1864, with Dr. Barrett, of Le Roy, having graduated from the 
University of Rochester the same year. He subsequently entered the 
medical department of the University of Buffalo and was graduated there- 
from in 1867. He commenced his practice in East Pembroke, where 
he continued for 15 years. After a short residence in Rochester he lo- 
cated in Batavia, in 1883, where we find him in active practice. Dr. Par- 
mele received the degree of A. M. from the Rochester University in 
1872. He was elected supervisor of Pembroke three years, and in 1884 
was elected coroner of the county. He was reelected in 1 887, and is now 
serving. Dr. Parmele is a member of the Genesee County Medical As- 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 299 



sociation, and also of the Masonic fraternity. He was married, in 1868, 
to Susan A. Allen, daughter of Ebenezer Allen, an old settler of the 
county. Three children have been born to them, viz.: Alice L., Lucius 
A , and Porter L. S. The family are members of the Baptist Church. 

Capt. Orrin C. Parker, proprietor of the Parker House, was born in 
Stafford in 1838, a son of Rev. Aaron C. and Alvina (Watson) Parker, both 
natives of Vermont. His grandfather, James Parker, came from Ver- 
mont to this county about 18 1 5. He served in the War of 181 2, as cap- 
tain, and was a farmer. His mother's father also came from Vermont to 
Stafford. Rev. Aaron Parker was a clergyman of the Christian denomi- 
nation, and was also a farmer. Capt. Parker enlisted in Co. G, 129th 
N. Y. Inf , afterwards in the 8th H. A., and won a commission as cap- 
tain. He was wounded three times, and served until the close of the war. 
On his return home he engaged in various business enterprises, and was 
an active and successful business man. While conducting the St. James 
Hotel it was destroyed by fire in 1886, leaving him with but little prop- 
erty, and several obligations, but he successfully discharged all his in- 
debtedness and is again prosperous. In June, 1889, he leased of C. G. 
Purdy the well known Purdy House, changed the name to Parker House, 
and is now conducting the same. He is also an extensive real estate 
dealer in Western New York. In 1875 he was elected treasurer of the 
county, serving three years. While captain of the 14th Separate Co. N. G. 
he participated in the railroad riots of 1877, and was aid-de-camp to Gen. 
Rogers. He is a 3 2d degree member of the Masonic fraternity. Mr. 
Parker was united in marriage, in 1862, with Miss A. Pember, daughter 
of Leander U. Pember, a native and old resident of Batavia. 

James P. Parsons, a native of Springfield, Mass., was born in 1824, a 
son of David and Cynthia (Comstock) Parsons, natives of Connecticut. 
He came to Batavia in 1 844, and finally went to Albion. The father was a 
farmer and machinist, and was in the government employ for 24 years in 
the Springfield rifle works, and six years at Harper's Ferry. James P. 
was reared as a farmer, following the same 18 years. He has been en- 
gaged in shipping grain, flour, and feed for many years. He was mar- 
ried, in 1849, to Clara, daughter of Calvin Rich, of Batavia, and their 
children are James R., a member of the produce exchange, Laura, Mor- 
gan, Clara A., and David L. The family are Presbyterians. 

Robert B. Pease, a leading merchant and honored citizen of Batavia, 
and son of Alvin and Caroline (Chase) Pease, is a native of Avon. In 
1843 they came to Batavia, where the father still lives. Alvin was a 



300 GENESEE COUNTY. 



farmer, and in 1857 ^^'^s elected sheriff Robert B. became a clerk for 
Otis & Worthington, hardware merchants, remaining with them 12 years, 
thoroughly learning the business. He then became a partner of Hiram 
K. Buell in 1865, under the firm name of Pease & Buell, hardware mer- 
chants, remaining thus 21 years. Since 1886 Mr. Pease has conducted 
the business alone at 54 East Main street. He served as deputy sheriff 
under his father, was trustee for five years, and has served on the board 
of education six years. He married Mary Bainbridge, of Wyoming 
County, and their children are Francis C, Fred A., and Maud E. The 
family are members of the Presbyterian Church. 

The first known of the Perrin family was one John Peryn, who came 
from London, England, on the ship Safety, and landed at South Shore, 
Braintree, Mass. He was born in 1614. Edward A. Perrin, a lineal descend- 
ant of John Peryn, was born in Woodstock, Windham Ctumty, Conn., 
August 10, 1836, and was educated in the public schools with several 
terms at Woodstock Academy. In 1858 he came to Batavia, and July 
28, 1859. married Jane M., second daughter of Daniel Carpenter, of Rome, 
N. Y. They have three children, viz.: George E., born July 28, 1861; 
Florence M., born October 13, 1870; and Charles N., born January 27, 
1873. - September 6, 1864, Mr. Perrin enlisted in Co. G, 8th N. Y. H. A. 
Vols , and in June, 1865, was transferred to Co. F, 4th H. A., and was 
discharged as corporal in September, 1865. He is a member of Upton 
Post, No. 299, G. A. R., and is its present commander. 

Blanchard Powers, a native of Bennington, Vt., came to Batavia about 
1806. He was a civil engineer and school teacher, a prominent Mason, 
and at one time master of the Olive Branch Lodge, meetings being held 
at his house quite frequently during and after the Morgan troubles. And 
for the intense interest taken by him to keep up the meetings he was 
presented with a medal. His son, E. P. Powers, was born in Bennington, 
Vt., in 1803, and came here with his father. He was a farmer, and helped 
to build the Tonawanda Railroad and worked for the railroad company 
around the depot. He married Harriet Case and reared a family of seven 
children, only two of whom are living, viz.: Charles, who has been a sta- 
tionary engineer for the N. Y. C. & H. R. R. R. Co. since 1861, and John 
R., who is a baggagemaster. 

George Prescott was born in Devonshire, England, about 1817, and 
married Mary Clark of the same place, by whom he had two sons, Fran- 
cis, and Thomas F. Francis Prescott was born in England, June 25, 
1843, was educated in the public schools, came to America with his par- 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 301 



ents in 1855, and located in Stafford. He subsequently learned the 
blacksmiths' trade. He married twice, first, in 1870, Lydia Passmore, 
formerly of England. They had three children, Mary J.. Nettie E., and 
Lydia A. Mrs. Prescott died October 17, 1875, and for his second 
wife he married, in November, 1876, Lucy A Simpson. They had five 
children, viz: Myrtia V., Ohve A.. Alice P, Ralph T., and Frank S. 
She died September 15, 1889. December 29, 1863, he enlisted in Co. 
L, 8th N. Y. H. A. Vols., and was afterwards transferred to Co. I, 3d 
Regt. Vet. Reserve Corps, and was discharged at the close of the war. 
Mr. Prescott is now in the employ of the Wiard Plow Co. as general 
blacksmith. 

William E. Prentice, an attorney in the Walker block, Batavia, is de- 
scended from Stephen Randall (a great-grandfather) and Elisha Prentice 
(grandfather), the earliest pioneers of Le Roy and Stafford. William E. 
is a son of John and Sarah (Randall) Prentice, and was born February 
22. 1859. He was a pupil in the district school and later in Le Roy 
Academy, commenced teaching at the age of 16, and entered college 
at 19, but was obliged to leave to provide for his younger brothers and 
sisters. Later he completed a college and post-graduate course, receiv- 
ing degrees from Yale University and Rochester University, and has 
also done special work in Columbia. He was elected school superintend- 
ent of the county in 1881 and again in 1884, each time running ahead of 
his ticket, during which terms the systems were greatly extended and 
benefited. He then became a law student with Wilh'am C. Watson, and 
also with Judge North, and was admitted to the bar in 1885. His prac- 
tice is a lucrative one, and by fortunate investments in the West he has 
shown an unlimited capacity for work and honest devotion to duty. 

Aaron Perry was born in Reading, Conn. He served in the War of 
18 £2, and died in Fairfield, Conn., aged "j^ years. His wife was Esther 
Sanford, of Reading, of English ancestry, and his children were David 
and Andrew S. David was born in Reading, and came to Riga, N. Y., 
in 1840, where he died in 1886. He married Lydia, daughter of Joshua 
Richmond, and his children are Truman A., a farmer of Churchville, 
N. Y., and Frank D., who was born in Churchville, May 15, 1849, ^"^ 
came to Batavia, April i, 1885. Frank D. married Jennie E., daugh- 
ter of Jeremiah and Lucy ( Kelsey ) Sibley, of Rush, N. Y., and they 
have children as follows : Lydia F., Richmond D., and Lucy K. Mr. 
Perry is a farmer on road 46. 

John Parsons, a native of Lyme, Conn., died there in 1813, aged 60 



302 GENESEE COUNTY. 



years. He married Lois Waite, of the same place, and they had 13 chil- 
dren, among whom was Marshfield, who was born in Lyme, and came to 
Le Roy in 181 5, settling upon a farm. He was a carpenter, and died 
in 1 88 1, at the age of 83 years. He married Betsey, daughter of 
Joseph and Mary Keeney. Their children were Mary E., Anna S., Ezra 
K., Emma L., and Thomas G. Thomas G. Parsons, a native of Le Roy, 
was born August 3, 1828, and married Mary, daughter of Hiram and 
Maria (Fowle) Pratt, of Buffalo. Their children are Hiram P., Charles 
F., Bessie M., Jennie L., and Howard M. Mr Parsons resides on road 
7, where he has lived seven years. Hiram Pratt, one of the pioneers of 
Buffalo who settled there in 1804, from Westminister, Vt., was elected 
mayor in 1836 and 1839. He died in 1840, aged 40 years. 

John B. Peckes, born in Belgium in 1852, came to America in 1872, and 
has been a resident of Batavia since 1874. He married Mary Clark, of 
Batavia, and they have three children. 

W. S. & J. J. Patterson's driig store is located at 102 Main street. 
The business was established by them in 1886, and they carry a full line 
of drugs, books, and medicines. 

Henry J. Patten, M. D. is a native of Oswego County, where he was 
born in 1838. His father, George Patten, was a native of Vermont, and 
his mother, whose maiden name was Moot, was a native of the Empire 
State. Henry J. enlisted as a private in Co. H, I22d Regt. Veterans, par- 
ticipated in 18 battles, and served until the close of the war. He practiced 
dentistry in Syracuse for 16 years, then became a medical student in the 
office of Dr. E. L. Baker, of Syracuse, and subsequently graduated from the 
Cincinnati Eclectic College. He is also a graduate of the Poulte Med- 
ical College of Cincinnati, class of 1883. Dr. Patten has been a resi- 
dent of Batavia since 1883, and devotes his practice principally to the 
special treatment of the eye, ear, and throat. He is now serving his sec- 
ond term as health officer of the village. He married Sarah Wilder, of 
Syracuse, and they have one child, Carrie B. The family are Presby- 
terians. 

George Redshaw was born in Derbyshire, England, November 27, 
1822. He married Martha Robinson, of his native town, emigrated to 
America, and arrived in Batavia, June 3. 1850, where he still resides. He 
served an apprenticeship to the trade of carpenter and joiner in England, 
and followed that calling until 1855, when he increased his business and 
became quite an extensive contractor and builder. He continued in the 
business until 1882. Mr. and Mrs. Redshaw are parents of three sons 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 305 



and four daughters, all of whom reside in Batavia. His son, John T. Red- 
shaw, was born in Batavia, February 6, 1851, where he was raised and 
educated. He learned his father's trade, and has been engaged in the 
business from early boyhood, and on his own account for the past 16 years. 
In 1882 he formed a partnership with Asa King, under the firm name of 
King & Redshaw, contractors and builders, which continues. They now 
employ from four to 12 men. Mr. Redshaw is a staunch Republican, and 
although his ward is Democratic by more than 50. such is his popularity 
that he now holds the position of alderman. In 1873 he united in mar- 
riage with Evelyn Johnson, of Batavia, and they have two sons and one 
daughter. 

William J. Reedy, sheriff of Genesee County, is a native of Kent County^ 
Delaware, where his father still resides. He was born in 1841, and in 
1862 entered the U. S. service as first lieutenant of the ist Delaware 
Cavalry, serving until the close of the war. He was promoted to captain,^ 
then to major, and was wounded at the battle of the Wilderness. He was 
then transferred to' the regular army, and February 23, 1866, secured a 
commission as second lieutenant of the 13th U. S. Inf, and was sent to 
the West. In 1867 he was made quartermaster and commissary. Upon 
the reorganization of the army in 1868 he was assigaed to the 22d In- 
fantry, with commission as first lieutenant. He served several years in 
the West, and was transferred to Brooklyn, N. Y., upon recruiting service. 
He was next sent to New Orleans, and participated in the election and 
legislative troubles of 1873-74. In June, 1874, Capt. Reedy came to 
Buffalo with his regiment and served as quartermaster and commissary 
until he came to Batavia in 1877. Since then he has been a resident of 
this county. In the fall of 1887 he was elected to his present position, 
which he fills efficiently and creditably In July, 1877, he was married to 
Mrs. Amelia E. Dewey, widow of Henry Dewey, and daughter of Addi- 
son Foster, an old resident of Batavia. 

Charles F. Rand, M. D., was born in 1839, a son of James and Ange- 
line (Rutland) Rand. His grandfather Rand was killed in the war of 
the Revolution, and his grandfather Rutland was a soldier of 1812. His 
parents came to Genesee County at an early day, residing here until their 
deaths. Dr. Rand was born in the house he now occupies. He was 
educated in the schools of the county, and April 16, 1861, he entered the 
Union service, being the first volunteer in the county. He served as 
private in Co. K, 12th Regt., until June 27, 1862, when he was shot at 
Gaines's Mills, taken prisoner, and sent to Libby prison. His wound re- 



304 GENESEE COUNTY. 

suited in the loss of his right arm. In 1863 he was commissioned lieu- 
tenant, and subsequently captain. He served during the war, and in the 
regular army until 1869. He had made a study of medicine, and dur- 
ing his confinement in the hospital, and in leisure hours, gave further 
attention to it. After leaving the service he entered the University of 
Georgetown and graduated in March, 1873. For six years he practiced 
in Washington, and in 1879 returned to his native place, where he has 
since been in active service. He is a member of the Masonic order, and 
is a learned and cultivated gentleman. J 

Meredith Ross, wholesale dealer in tobacco, cigars, and grocers' sun- ^ 
dries, Park Place, and who resides at 57 Ellicott avenue, has been a resi- 
dent of Batavia since 1884. He built the Ross block on Main street in 
1886, and in 1888 opened a wholesale store at Park Place. His teas, 
coffees, syrups, and molasses are shipped from first hands direct to his 
customers, and no money is invested only as his sales are made, thus en- 
abling him to sell on a small margin, giving his customers the benefit of 
the profits to middle men. He employs three traveling salesmen, who 
travel over Western New York and Pennsylvania. 

Ross Brothers (George and Edwin), carriage manufacturers and paint- 
ers, are located in the rear of the Parker House. They started in busi- 
ness April I, 1888. They are practical carriage manufacturers, prepared 
to do any work in that line. 

George M. Rupp was born in Baden, Germany, and came to Batavia, 
July 4, 1836. He was a shoemaker by trade, and in 1847 he opened a 
shoe store and carried on the business until 1879, when he was succeeded 
by his son Ernst. He died May 22, 1884, and his wife died June 30, 
1876. Six children out of a family of 1 1 are living in Batavia. Ernst 
was born in Baden, October J2, 1834, and came here in 1836. He 
married Margaret Gress, of New York city, and they have five children. 
Andrew Rupp was born May 14, 1840. He is a tinsmith and deals in 
real estate. 

Ephraim Rolfe, a Revolutionary soldier, was a native of Vermont, 
where he died. His wife, Lucy, bore him 12 children, viz.: Ephraim, 
Jonathan, Nathan, Benjamin, Hazen, Charles, Manasses, William, Ira, 
Sally, Lucy, and Sophia. Jonathan, born in Vermont, came to Bethany 
in 1809, thence to Batavia, where he was an early settler, and lived many 
years before he moved to Ellington, N. Y., where he died in 1858, aged 
^6 years. He married Esther Brown, of Strafford, Orange County, Vt., 
and his children are Heman, Mary, Lucy, Mariann, Sarah, and Walker P. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 



305 



Walker P. Rolfe, born in Orange County, Vt., February 15, 1807, came 
to Bethany with his father, and married Mary, daughter of Eleazer and 
Tamzy (Godfrey) Crocker, of Pembroke, and they have one son, Lucius F., 
who married Jennie Egleston, and has one daughter, Amy P. Mrs. Mary 
Rolfe died March 6, 1880, in Bethany, on the homestead farm, at the age 
of 70 years. Walker P. Rolfe is still a resident of Batavia, aged 83 years. 

William E. Richardson, a popular and enterprising dentist of Batavia, 
a native of Michigan, was born in 1858, son of Rev. C. C. and Ann E. 
(Rahl) Richardson, of Pennsylvania. His father, a Universalist clergy- 
man, preached for many years in Corfu, Alexander, and Indian Falls, 
organizing the societies and building the churches at the latter place and 
at Corfu. He also labored in other places in Western New York. Will- 
iam E. began the study of dentistry with Dr. Whitcomb, of Buffalo, and 
also pursued it in Pennsylvania. He began practice in 1877, in Alexan- 
der, and in 1880 removed to Batavia, where he has successfully practiced 
since. He is a skillful and able operator, and has all the latest appliances 
for doing all kinds of work in his line. His office is at loi East Main 
street. He was married, in 1878. to Hattie, daughter of E. G. Moulton, 
of Alexander, and they have one child, Elbridge M. 

Isaac Quance, a native of Southampton, Mass., came to Genesee County 
in 1808, living in Batavia until his death in 185 1, ^t the age of 61 years. 
He married Mehitable Powers, of Phelps, N. Y., who came here when there 
were but two houses built. She was a daughter of Peter and Sally Powers. 
Their children were Sarah, Lyman, Israel, and James M. The latter was 
born in Batavia, October 5, 1824, and January 18, 1849, married Lucy, 
daughter of Nichols and Lucy Barnea. Their children were Rose C. and 
Roselle, both deceased. Mr. Quance resides on road 63. 

Henry Speyer, a native of Bavaria, Germany, lived and died there. 
He had four children, namely : Frederick, Louis, Michael, and Cather- 
ine. Frederick, a native of Bavaria, died there, aged 55 years. He 
married Christine Coonrad, and their children were Julia, Michael, Mar- 
garet, and Conrad. Conrad Speyer came to Batavia in 1859, and mar- 
ried Barbara, daughter of Michael Surieker, of Attica. Their children 
are Frank, Fred, Charles, George, Elizabeth, and Julia. Mr. Speyer is 
postmaster and general merchant at Dawes Corners. 

Ebenezer Shepard, a native of Dedham, Mass., moved to London, 
N. H., where he died. He was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. He 
had seven children, viz.: Ebenezer, Jr., Jesse, John, Susan, Abigail, 
Elizabeth, and Hannah. Ebenezer Shepard, Jr., died in London, N, H., 



306 GENESEE COUNTY. 



aged 83 years. He was a farmer. His wife, Sallie Burpee, bore him 
•children as follows : Abigail. Mary, Daniel, Aniial, Sylvester, Thomas, 
James, and Benjamin. Thomas Shepard, a native of London, N. H., 
came to Batavia in 1868. He married, first, Eleanor Shelden, and their 
children were Helen and Isabella. For his second wife he married Mrs. 
Hannah Hubbard, daughter of Lysander Smith. He now resides in 
Batavia, on road 6, where he has lived 20 years. 

B. F. Showerman, M. D., is a native of Genesee County, and son of 
Dr. J. M. Showerman. He was a medical student in the office of Dr. 
L. L. Tozier, and graduated in medicine in 1886. Since that time he has 
been in practice at Batavia. Dr. Showerman is a Royal Arch Mason. 

Bradley S. Smith is the proprietor of the only news room in Batavia. 
He bought. April i, 1885, the establishment of Mackey Brothers, and 
has since enlarged his facilities for business and extended his trade, so he 
is now able to supply the wants of a large community in the line of 
newspapers, periodicals, and stationery generally. He is ably assisted 
by his brother, Lewis E. Smith. The news-room is at ^'j East Main 
street. 

Joseph C. Shults was born March 17, 1832, in Europe. Aspiring to 
live under a republic he came to America in 1848, on account of the 
condition of the government of h'rance. He spent 25 years in trade in 
Rochester, came to B.itavia in 1872, and has been in the mercantile busi- 
ness most of the time since. He has been a member of the board of excise 
for six years and a trustee of the \ illage for two jears. He is a Demo- 
crat, and takes an active [)art in the politics of the count\^ He married 
Margaret Hagan, of Rochesicr, and they have a family of five sons and 
four daughters. Mr. Shults has made a close study of his present busi- 
ness, and imports the choicest teas to be found in the market. 

Gottleib Scheuing, a florist and vegetable gardener of Batavia, is a 
native of Stuttgart, German}-, where he was born February i, 1833. In 
1852 he came to Le Roy and was engaged in the Le Roy mills until 
1889, with the exception of five )cars. during which time he was travel- 
ing in the West. He married for his first wife Rosa Frank; for his 
second he married Ro'^a Stoll, and they have five children. In the fall 
of 18S9 Mr. Scheuing entered into partnership with Elizabeth Bleyler, 
under the firm name of Ble\ler & Co. They have three greenhouses 
and about 10 acres of ground on VVtst Main street. 

Willis D. Sanford, a native of Jackson, Mich., was born in 1854. He 
is the son of O. D. and Susan (Baker) Sanford, the father being a resi- 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 307 



dent of this county. Willis D. learned the tinners' trade at Pease & 
Buell's, and commenced clerking for O. W. Lord, a dealer in hats, caps, 
and furs, remaining with him five years. He then traveled for R. D. 
Kellogg in the tobacco and cigar line for four years. In 1883 he started 
his present business at ']G East Main street, where he has secured a large 
and profitable trade in the line of hats, gloves, trunks, caps, and furs. 
Mr. Sanford is a member of the Masonic order, the Philharmonics, the 
Alert Hose Company, and I. O. O. F. fraternity. He was married, in 
1876, to Ella Dulmage. 

Charles A. Snell, a native of Connecticut, was born in 1839. He was 
son of a Baptist clergyman, who came to Pembroke in 1851, and died 
in Bethany in 1875. Mr. Snell was first engaged in farming, but 
subsequently engaged in business at Churchville for seven years. In 
1 88 1 he went to Darien, resumed farming for five years, when he came 
to Batavia and formed a partnership with John C. Greene, they remain- 
ing together two years, and in 1886 he embarked alone in the general 
insurance business. He represents the yEtna Life, American, Fire of 
New York, and Geneva Accident. He also deals in real estate and 
loans, representing the Western Trust Co. , of Kansas. He has a farm 
of 25 acres on the Lewiston road, where he lives. He does a large 
business throughout the State and Union. He married, in i860, Nancy 
L. Armstrong, daughter of Ira, of Batavia. Their children are Charles 
I. (a teacher), Frank A., and Nettie L. 

Alva Smith came to Batavia in 18 15, from Connecticut, and was in 
business here for 55 years. He was at first clerk for his brother, J. P. 
Smith, five years, then started for himself as A. Smith & Co., then with 
J. P. Smith for a few years, when J. P. withdrew (in 1827). D. P. War- 
ren was his partner for four years from 1845. He was then alone until 
1856, when his son Wilber was taken in as partner, and the firm was 
continued for 10 years as A. Smith & Son. Alva Smith's business was 
indeed an extensive one ; he had branches at Albion, Holley, Alabama, 
Oakfield, and Pine Hill, and started many young men in mercantile life. 
Nathan Townsend, sheriff of the county in 1834, was the father of Mrs. 
Alva Smith, and a very early settler. Wilber Smith was in the dry 
goods business from 1868 to 1880, in the present "Stone" block, now 
occupied by E. N. Stone. He was born in this village in 1835. Besides 
devoting his life to active business he has taken an active part in the pro- 
gress and growth of the village. He has been president and trustee for 
a number of years, was president of the Loan Association, and also of 



3o8 GENESEE COUNTY. 



the Batavia Gas Co., He is a member of the Episcopal Church, and is 
connected with the Masonic order. He married Eva A. Dolbeer, of 
Perry, Wyoming County, daughter of Col. William Dolbeer. 

James S. Stewart was born in Orange County, N. Y., April 25, 1810. 
When 13 years of age he came to Batavia and finally learned the car- 
riagemaking business. In 1831 he went to Elba and opened a carriage 
shop, and carried on the business about 20 years. He was elected jus- 
tice of the peace in 1840, and held that office for 20 years and the office 
of justice of Sessions for two years. He was also license commissioner 
for six years, and assistant revenue assessor for nine years. In 1854 he 
settled in Batavia, where he had an insurance office from 1857 until 
1889. He died October 8, 1889. 

Horace K. Smith, son of Orr, was born in Wells, Bradford County, 
Pa., April 13, 1847. When seven years of age he moved to Cooper's 
Station, Steuben County. Through an illnes she lost his sight when four 
years of age. He lived on the farm with his father, came to Batavia in 
1872, entered the Institution for the Blind, and in 1879 commenced 
teaching piano tuning, which he has since pursued. He married Min- 
nie E. Newton, of Akron, N. Y., and they have one child, Orr N. 

Schellengers restaurant, located at 49 Main street, was opened Sep- 
tember I, 1883, by the present proprietor, William L. Schellenger, who 
conducts it as a first-class restaurant. 

John Schaefer was born in Prussia in 1834. In 1852 he came to 
America and settled in Batavia. He married Theresa Todt, and they 
have a family of nine children. He is a mason, has been a contractor for 
25 years, and helped to build many of the best buildings in Batavia, 
among which are the Opera House block. Union School, Walker block, 
Washburn House, Wilson House, Richmond Library, and Richmond 
Hotel. 

James Short, born in Dublin, Ireland, came to Batavia about 1846. 
He was a maltster, and followed that business for years. He married 
Margaret O'Brien, and they had a family of eight children, six of whom 
are living. He died March 27, 1889. His widow resides at 320 West 
Main street. James, son of James, was born July 9, 1857, and is a har- 
nessmaker, a member of the firm of Short & Roth. He was elected 
trustee of the village in 1886, and served two years, and was elected 
excise commissioner in 1888—89. 

Herman Schafer was born in Hessen, Germany, in 1848, and came to 
America in 1871. He opened a wholesale and retail liquor store in 
Batavia in 1872, being located at 15 Jackson street since 1885. 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 309 



E. N. Stone, one of the leading merchants of the county, was born in 
Wyoming County in 1841. His parents, Harry and Mary (WiUiams) 
Stone, were descendants of New England ancestry. His father, for many 
years a merchant, resides in Pembroke. Mr. Stone began business life 
when a youth in his father's store, remaining in Pembroke until 1 865, 
when he moved to Batavia, where for three years he was associated with 
George P. Bowen in the crockery trade, and subsequently with John 
Thomas. He finally purchased the interest of Mr. Thomas, and con- 
ducted the business until 1 878. In that year he purchased the stocks of 
Wilber Smith and E. B. McCormick. Since 1878 Mr. Stone has devoted 
his attention to the dry goods and notion trade, and has secured a large 
and increasing patronage. His store at 94 East Main street is filled with 
a choice assortment of goods pertaining to his line. Mr. Stone served 
four years as town clerk. He is a Mason and a member of the I.O.O.F. 
In 1868 he was united in marriage with Elizabeth McCann, of Batavia, 
and their children are Norine R. and Harry. 

Isaac South worth came to Genesee County in 1820 from Cayuga 
County, and resided here until his death. He was born in 1794, served 
in the War of 18 12, settled in Bergen, and served as justice of the peace 
for many years. He was twice married. His first wife, Rachel Tone, 
died in 1836, leaving seven children, viz.: Mrs. E. Miller, Mrs. Luranda 
Case, Andrew J., Mrs. Clara R. Shaw, Edwin M., Samuel, and Irving D. 
His second wife was Elizabeth Bower, who died in 1888, leaving a son, 
John B., now a resident of Michigan. 

Irving D. Southworth was born in Bergen in 1832, and learned the 
carpenters' trade, which he followed for 30 years. In 1862 he enlisted 
and served as captain in the 25th N. Y. Lt. Art. for three years. He 
was elected sheriff of the county in 1881, serving three years, and has 
resided in Batavia since 1881. He served as justice of the peace for 
many years, one term as justice of Sessions, and is now a member of the 
board of trustees. He married, in 1866, Maria A. Prentice, of Stafford, 
and they have four children, viz.: Dollie E., George P., Pear A., and 
Irving D., Jr. 

Daniel Swezey, of German ancestry, was born in Suffolk County, L. I., 
in 1753. He went to Herkimer County and died October 26, 1825, at 
the age of 72 years. He married Sarah Beal, of Connecticut, daughter 
of a celebrated music teacher, and their children were Daniel, George, 
John, Samuel, Sarah, Mary, Eunice, and Matthew B. George Swezey 
was born at Middle Island, Suffolk County, N. Y,, August 9, 1780. His 
20 



3IO GENESEE COUNTY. 



death, in 1851, at the age of 71 years, in the town of Russia, Herkimer 
County, was occasioned by an accident. He married Elizabeth Wood, 
of Orange County, N. Y., and their children were William W., Jane, 
Elizabeth A., Achsah, Harriet, Hiram, and Franklin. Hiram Swezey, a 
native of Russia, N. Y., born October 6, 1824, came to Victor, N. Y., in 
1858, and to Batavia, where he now resides, in 1882. He married Mary, 
daughter of Daniel and Catherine (Sherwood) Silliman, of Salisbury, 
N. Y. Their children are Annie E., George S., Cora J., Edward H., 
May G., H. Eugene, and Carrie L. George S. Swezey is pastor of the 
First Presbyterian Church at Peabody, Kan. Samuel Swezey visited Ba- 
tavia in 1 8 14 and '15 as a missionary from Herkimer County. Daniel, 
upon the death of his father, took upon himself the care of the family. 
In 1796, with his father, he purchased land in Norway, Herkimer County, 
erected a cabin, and made improvements, so that in the spring the whole 
family left Long Island in a boat, coming to Albany, where they pur- 
chased a cart and oxen, and continued their journey to Norway. They 
were three weeks on the road, enduring many hardships. With native 
energy and perseverance they performed the duties of pioneer life, and 
exerted an influence for good that extended to their children as well as 
to the community around. They were prominent in school and church 
matters, and aided in building up both for the benefit of all concerned. 

George Scheer was born in Germany in 1838, came to America in 
1840, with his parents, and located in Buffalo. In April, 1882, he came 
to Batavia and started a store on Ellicott street. In 1884 he built his 
present store at 202 Ellicott street, and has since carried on business 
there. In 1857 ^^^ went to Cincinnati, O., as foreman of the Kentucky 
Central Railroad shops, and in 1861 enlisted in Co. B, 9th Ohio Vols., 
served three years and three months, and afterwards returned to Cincin- 
nati, remaining there until 1882, working in the shops until he came to 
Batavia. 

Harry Sutterby, a veterinary surgeon, was born May 31, 1855, in 
Cambridgeshire, Eng., and came to America with his parents in 1861, 
He graduated from the Ontario Veterinary College of Toronto in 1878, 
and located in Batavia, practicing his profession since that time. He is 
located at 20 West Main street, and has a veterinary hosp tal and phar- 
macy. 

Isaac Stringham, born in Dutchess County, came to Oakfield, and 
died in 1862, aged 70 years. By his wife, Anna, he had children as fol- 
lows: Daniel, Albert, Cora, Peter, Eliza, and Anna. Peter Stringham, 



^ TOWN OF BATAVIA. 311 



a native of Oakfield, died in Rochester in 1886, age 65 years. He mar- 
ried Eliza Sodo, of West Bloomfield, N. Y., and their children are 
Charles A., Clara M., Isaac W., Cara A., and Alonzo H. The latter, a 
native of Oakfield, married Lois L. Quance, of Batavia, daughter of Is- 
rael and Elizabeth Quance. She died in 1884, aged 28 years. They 
had one son, Mortimer E. He is now foreman for H. M. Lay, of Bata- 
via. 

John Sullings, of Cogshall, Eng., came to Rutland in 1775, and died 
there. By his wife, Ruth, he had children as follows : Charles, Harvey, 
David, Henry, William, Phoebe, Elizabeth, Ruth, and John. William 
was born in New Bedford, Mass., and moved to Vermont with his father. 
He came to Batavia in 1817, and settled on the farm where he died in 
^^73y aged 82 years. He married Temperance, daughter of Benjamin 
and Cloil (Branch) Hulbert, of Rutland Vt., and their children are Ruth 
Adelia, F. Julius, Harvey, and David. The last named is now a resident 
on the home farm with his sister Ruth, He married Augusta, daughter of 
Aaron and Sarah Rogers, of Pembroke. She died in 1885, aged 50 
years. Their children were Cora, Georgiana, Alice, and William B. 

Thomas Strong, a native of England, came to New York city about 
1800, and engaged in the brewing business. He died in 1828, aged 42 
years. His wife, Maria, bore him two children, John and James. John 
Strong, born in New York city, now resides in Turin, Lewis County, 
N. Y., and is a farmer. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Sylvester 
Foster, of Turin, and their children are Amelia, Fanny, John, Maria, 
and Sylvester. Sylvester F. Strong, a native of Turin, came to Batavia 
in 1882, and married Louisa M., daughter of Eli H. and Elizabeth (Rose- 
cranz) Fish. He now resides in Batavia on road 7. 

William Tyrrell, of the law firm of Tyrrell & Ballard, was born in 
Darien, October 24, 1823, a son of Amos and Salome (Harroun) Tyrrell, 
early settlers of the county, Amos, a grandfather, came in 18 16 with 
his wife and eight children, and subsequently located in Darien. The 
father of William, a member of the Assembly in 1834 and '35, lived on 
the old homestead until his death in i860. The mother died in 1872. 
When 21 years of age William Tyrrell began to study law with Timothy 
Fitch and Henry Glowacki, and afterwards studied with Verplanck & 
Martindale. In 1849 he was admitted to practice, and since 1852 has 
followed his profession in Batavia. He has served the county as district 
attorney, and in 1866 was appointed postmaster of Batavia. In 1873 he 
was again appointed to that office, serving until 1885. 



312 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Frank W. Ballard, an attorney, was born in Allegany County, in 1 86a 
He is a son of John D. and Cynthia (Bingham) Ballard, now residents of 
Batavia. James, a grandfather, came from New England to Monroe 
County in 1 8 14, and finally moved to Allegany County. Frank W. 
Ballard received a good education and graduated from Pike Seminary in 
1881. He studied law with Richardson & Smith, of his native county, 
and graduated from the Albany Law School in May, 1884. The same 
month he was admitted to practice. In the fall of 1844 he became a . 
partner with William Tyrrell, and has become prominent in the legal 
fraternity of the county. 

Charles W. Tallman, the oldest photographer in Batavia, is a native of 
Wyoming County. He was born in 1833, and learned the rudimentary 
details of his art in Buffalo. His life has been devoted to this valuable 
and pleasant profession, and he has kept pace with its marvelous advances 
and improvements. Mr. Tallman located in Batavia in 1869, and has 
since occupied the third floor over 80 and 82 East Main street. 
He has the latest facilities for all kinds of photographic, stereoscopic, and 
portrait work, and has established a reputation, for superior work and 
finish. His studio is centrally located and admirably adapted for his 
business. 

John Thomas, dealer in hats, caps, trunks, robes, gloves, and mittens,, 
a native of France, was born in 1848, a son of Peter P. and Dorothy 
(Schimpf) Thomas, who came to America when he was seven years old 
(1854), locating in Wyoming County, where he was reared. At the age 
of 13 he became a clerk for Porter Brothers, of Corfu, remaining two years. 
When he was 18 years old he enlisted in Co. G, 8th N. Y, H. A., serving 
until the close of the war. He then came to Batavia, clerked for R. O. 
Holden for four years, and became a partner with E. N. Stone, under 
the firm name of Stone & Thomas, dry goods dealers, at 78 Main street,^ 
continuing thus for eight years. P'or the past 10 years he has been in 
his present quarters, doing a successful and extensive business. He has 
served as village collector and town clerk ; was elected county treasurer 
in 1885, and reelected in 1888, and is still holding that office. He be- 
longs to the F. & A. M., K. of P., and G. A. R. In 1881 he married 
Mary, daughter of Charles Holden, of Le Roy, and they have two chil- 
dren, John F. and James B. 

Dr. Lemuel L. Tozier, M.D., now engaged in the practice of medicine 
in the village of Batavia, located in this town shortly after the close of 
the war, in the summer of 1865. He comes of a family of physicians^ 



\ 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 313 



as both his father, Joseph C. Tozier, of Bangor, Me., and his maternal 
grandfather, Joseph Allen, of Buckland, Mass., followed this profession 
as their calling. Doubtless the unconscious influence of their bent of 
mind, and their lives, tended to intensify his taste, and decide his fitness 
for this department of professional life. It cannot be questioned that Dr. 
Tozier is serving in his proper vocation. He was born in York, Living- 
ston County, March 16, 1839, and is therefore now in the full strength of 
natural life. Receiving the benefits of an academic education, he began 
active work as a teacher at 18 years of age, and many will recall him 
while laboring in this capacity. But the study of medicine was his ob- 
jective, and so, after completing the prescribed course of study with the 
late Dr. Norris Clark, of Batavia, he entered Bellevue Medical College of 
New York city, graduating from that institution in March, 1864. Pre- 
vious to receiving his degree as Doctor of Medicine he had passed his ex- 
amination before the U. S. army medical board and had been appointed to 
service in the U. S. A. Hospital in New York city under Surgeon Alex- 
ander B Mott, — in charge of that institution, — where he remained until 
the close of the war. During his term of service there he graduated as 
an oculist and aurist, and served as a member of the medical army 
board for the enlistment of recruits. 

Upon the closing of the hospital, in June following the close of the 
war, being ordered to distant service, and preferring private practice. 
Dr. Tozier resigned his commission and returned to Batavia, where he 
had previously married his wife, Miss Emily A. Putnam, and began the 
practice of his profession. He served as county coroner from 1869 to 
1884, and has been president and secretary of the County Medical Soci- 
ety. He has always been an indefatigable worker in his profession, 
studiously devoted to its interests, its progress, and its dignity, and has 
built up an extensive and lucrative practice. A daughter and two sons 
have been born to him, the elder of whom came to an untimely death by 
drowning in the summer of 188 i. Although belonging to what is called 
the " old school," he readily recognizes the merits of other systems of 
medicine, and is keenly alive to all that is progressive and valuable in 
professional investigation. 

Joseph Thompson, a native of Vermont, came to Aurora, N. Y., in 
181 1, and died at the age of 83 years. He married Martha Bemis, who 
died in Aurora, aged 76 years. Mr. Thompson was a farmer. His children 
were Albert, Perry, Sarah, Joseph, Adaline, Mary, Aurelia, Susan, Fer- 
nando C, and Sylvanus B. Sylvanus B. Thompson was born in Aurora, 



314 GENESEE COUNTY. 



and June 4, 1854, married Emeline, daughter of Eben and Phila (Wash- 
ford) Salisbury, of Aurora Their children are Cicero H., Newton K., Sey- 
mour B., Lottie M., Myrtle E., J. Minelle, and Charlie S. Mr. Thomp- 
son has been a merchant 46 years, and owns the Almonarch stock farm, 
where he resides. He is also the proprietor of the stock horse "Almon- 
arch," from Paris, Ky. 

Moses E. True, the inventor of the True shell band wheel and other 
ingenious contrivances, is a native of Genesee County, born in 1845, ^^^ 
is a son of Luther and Minerva (Webster) True, natives of Connecticut. 
His grandfather, Moses, was one of the early settlers of Genesee County. 
Mr. True was reared upon a farm, but his inclinations led him to mechan- 
ical pursuits. He is the inventor of several valuable patents. 

William C. Taggart, a native of Schoharie County, settled in Niagara 
County for a few years, then came to Bethany, where he resided a few 
years, when he went to Wyoming County for a short time, and finally re- 
moved to Pembroke, where he died November 17, 1886. His son, P.arl 
W. Taggart, was born in Bethany, August 5, 1841. He has been a 
farmer most of the time. In April, 1883, he started a livery stable on 
Russell Place, and in April, 1888, formed a partnership with his son Fred 
E., under the firm name of Earl W. Taggart & Son. They keep nine 
horses. Mr. Taggart married Emma Strong, and they have four chil- 
dren. 

Benjamin Throop, son of Orange, came to Bergen in 1806, from Mid- 
dlebury, Vt. He was a farmer and settled in the north part of the town 
on Black Creek. He married Anna Shedd, and they have had four chil- 
dren, two of whom are living. O. S. Throop, the only one living in this 
county, was born March 28, 1825. He married Hannah A. Gillett, and 
they had two children. Mr. Throop attended the common schools and 
several private schools, finishing his education at the State Normal 
School in Albany in 1846. He was principal of public school No. 33 in 
Buffalo for 13 years, and taught in Genesee and Monroe counties several 
years. He was school commissioner for six years and town superintend- 
ent of schools in Bergen for three years. 

William M. Tompkins, who was born in County Wicklow, Ireland,, 
came to America when young. He entered the employ of the Batavia 
Gas Co., being the first man to lay gas pipes in the village, and remained 
with that firm until his death, June 19, 1889. He married Sarah Hull, of 
Niagara County, and they had two children, viz.: Walter H., a student at 
Cornell University, and Abbie, who resides with her mother on Jackson 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 315 

street. Mr. Tompkins was a member of the Masonic Lodge and a Knight 
Templar. The family are members of the Episcopal Church. 

Among the very early settlers of Batavia were Dr. Town, who came in 
1803 and died in 1 807, and I. Norman Town, a son, who was in business 
in 1827. Both came from Palmyra, N. Y. The latter died in Elba. 
Dr. Town built the house now owned by Mr. McMillan. Orlando Town 
bought a farm in 1822, and engaged at farming for 55 years. Orlando, 
son of Orlando, was born in Elba in 1845. He was educated at Caryville, 
Canandaigua, and Detroit. He was in business in New York for three 
years, was on the farm for three years, and was supervisor of Elba at one 
time. In 1883 Orlando Town bought out the late Hon. L. R. Bailey, 
and engaged in the clothing business. In a few years the firm was com- 
posed of Gould & Town, continuing such until February 13, 1888, when 
it became O. Town & Son. They have a complete assortment of ready- 
made clothing and gents' furnishing goods. 

William Tozer's brick yard xs located in the rear of 538 East Main street. 
It was started by Mr, Tozer in 1882. He makes about 400,000 brick per 
year, employing nine hands. Mr. Tozer was born in Devonshire, Eng., 
in 1825, and came to America in 1850, settling in Batavia in 1876, where 
he has since been engaged in his present business. 

Richard Torrance was born in Starkey, N. Y., and moved to Avon, 
where he died at the age of 66 years. He married Betsey Dann, of Men- 
don, N. Y., and their children were Charles G., Lucinda P., Underbill, 
Louisa P., Phoebe Ann, Lucy, Henrietta, and Floyd. Charles G. was 
born in Yates County, came to Batavia in 1869, and died in 1876, 
aged 62 years. He married, first, Harriet Chapel, of Avon, by whom 
he had two children, Charles F. and Ella. His second wife Was Eunice, 
daughter of Ezra and Marietta Sherwood, of Avon, and their children 
were William M. and John G. His widow still resides on the home farm 
in liatavia. William M. Torrance married Isabella Harris, November 13, 
1889. Ella Torrance married William Andrew Martin, of Batavia, De- 
cember II, 1889. John G. married Lulu Burke, of Alexander, Septem- 
ber 12, 1889. Charles F. is a resident of Portland, Mich. 

Henry Uebele was born in Wurtemberg, Germany, where he lived, and 
died about 1866, aged 60 years. He married Sophia Elba, of Wurtem- 
berg, and they had one son, Jacob L., who was born in Germany, July 
17. 1833, and came to Batavia in March, 1855, at the age of 22 years. 
He married Elizabeth Burckhardt, of Germany, daughter of Jacob Burck- 
hardt, and their children are William C, Ida E., and Lewis A. The 



3l6 GENESEE COUNTY. 



latter was for sometime the valuable assistant in the Purdy and Parker 
houses. Jacob L. Uebele built a handsome brick block on the north side 
of Main street in 1886, known as the Uebele block, and is the proprietor 
of the bakery in the same building. 

Underhill & Bean, dealers in ready-made clothing and gents' furnish- 
ing goods, opened their store March 27, 1889, They carry a full line 
of choice goods, making a specialty of fine ready-made clothing. They 
are located at No. 88 Main street. 

Union Coal Co. was established in May, 1883, by J. B. Chaddock. It 
was conducted by him until 1885, when Ferrin Brothers rented the yard 
and carried on the business one year. The Union Coal Co. ( J. H. Tan- 
ner and Sarah F. Lincoln) bought the stock in 1889, and August 5th of 
the same year George F. Weaver & Co. purchased the business. They 
handle 3,500 tons of coal a year. Their yard is at 28 Swan street. 

William E. Webster, attorney at law, a native of Ontario County, born 
in 1859, was educated at Canandaigua Academy, and in 1879 became a 
teacher at Cary Seminary, where he remained three years. Deciding 
upoa the profession of law he entered upon a course of study in the of- 
fice of William C. Watson, and was admitted to the bar in January, 1883. 
He commenced practice in company with William Tyrrell, continuing 
two years. He was in the West one year, and returned to Batavia, 
where he is building up a successful practice. He was married, in 1886, 
to Miss Jennie Ward, of this county. 

N. A. Woodward was born in Vermont and came to this State in 1834. 
He prepared for college at Canandaigua Academy under Dr. Howe, grad- 
uated from Union College in 1 845, and taught school at Honeoye Falls 
and Geneseo Academy. He read law in the meantime, and was admit- 
ted to the bar in 1 848, after which he taught school three years at Scotts- 
ville. In December, 185 I, he came to Batavia and opened a law office. 
He was a partner with George Bowen for four years, and with H. F. 
Tarbox a few years. He has held the offices of town superintendent of 
schools, loan commissioner five or six years, and county treasurer two 
terms, during the war. Mr. Woodward has been twice married. He 
has two daughters and two sons. He was the active attorney for defend- 
ant in the great Lent litigation, which was in the courts for several years, 
and won the case. 

Ward Beecher Whitcomb, M. D., is one of the progressive and rising 
young physicians of Western New York. He is a native of Windham 
County, Vt., and was born in 1858. He commenced the study of med- 




ia^c^z %^. /f^i^ 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 317 



icine with Dr. Tozier, and under his excellent tutelage and care remained 
four years. He graduated from the medical department of the Univer- 
sity of New York in 1881, since which time he has practiced in Batavia, 
a small portion of the time with Dr. Tozier. He has in a short period 
established a large practice and secured the confidence of all who know 
him. He is untiring in the advancement of his chosen profession. Dr. 
Whitcomb is an Episcopalian and a member of the K. of P. He married 
Miss Eagar, of Batavia. 

Hon. Edward C. Walker, son of Cyrus, was born in Byron, June 14, 
1 837. His grandfather, Amasa Walker, who was born in Ashford, Conn., 
in 1767, came to Byron with his family in 181 1, when Cyrus was but 12 
years of age. Genesee County at this time was mainly a dense and heavy 
forest. Here this hard}' pioneer located, and by thrift and industry a good 
home was secured in the new Genesee country. Their unmistakable Eng- 
lish ancestry can be clearly traced to Plymouth Colony, Mass., and is dis- 
tinguished for strength of mind, high aims and purposes, industry, and un- 
yielding perseverance. Cyrus Walker united in marriage with Anna 
Hulette, of Byron, in December, 1822. They were industrious, economi- 
cal, hardy, possessed sound judgment, sterling integrity, and were very 
successful. 

Senator E. C. Walker, their. fifth and youngest child, was a studious 
youth, and fortunately had the very best early advantages to acquire a 
thorough literary and business education, which he wisely improved. At 
an early age Mr. Walker was a student at the Cary Seminary of Oakfield, 
and later pursued his studies at Wilson Academy, Niagara County, and 
graduated in June, 1861, at Genesee College, in Lima, N. Y., now Syra- 
cuse University. He studied law and was admitted to the bar in 1862. 
His large and varied business interests have demanded a great portion of 
his time, and left but little for the practice of his profession. He has been 
an extensive traveler through both America and foreign countries. Senator 
Walker has been a citizen of Batavia since 1862, and has been active in 
promoting the general interest and improvements of the town. He Has 
responded nobly to the cause of benevolence and charity, and is especially 
generous to home and foreign missions. He has served some years as 
trustee of the New York Institution for the Blind at Batavia, and trustee 
of Syracuse University; is now a trustee of Ingham University at LeRoy, 
and of the Y. M. C. A. of Batavia. He has also been commissioner of 
Auburn Theological Seminary. Later he was a delegate to the General 
Assembly of the Presbyterian Church of the United States. He has been 



3l8 GENESEE COUNTY. 



a director of the Bank of Batavia most of the time since 1870, and was also 
a director of the Holland Purchase Fire Insurance Company. His political 
life began with his election to the Assembly of the State of New York in 
1868, which position he held two years, and was chairman of the impor- 
tant committee of public education, which reported many bills that became 
laws that improved the State system of public instruction. In 1885 he was 
elected State Senator from the 30th senatorial district, composed of the 
counties of Genesee, Livingston, Niagara, and Wyoming. He was hon- 
orably recognized by being appointed chairman of the important commit- 
tees of banks and the manufacture of salt, and was also a member of the 
committees of railroads, insurance, and engrossed bills. He was reelected 
in 1887 by an increased plurality of 859 over the previous election in 1885. 
In the last Senate (1889) he was chairman of the committee on railroads, 
a member of the committee on general laws, and of several others. It also 
fell to the lot of Senator Walker to be placed on the committee to inves- 
tigate the corrupt ring that procured the franchise of the Broadway Sur- 
face Railway Company ofthe city of New York. This committee did good 
work. In doing their whole duty they built for themselves a monument 
for integrity and virtue that will endure in history when granite and marble 
will have crumbled to dust. The committee relentlessly pursued and shat- 
tered the corrupt ring, exposed the gigantic fraud, and brought the guilty 
perpetrators to condign punishment. 

As a legislator Senator Walker is industrious, and his object is always 
" the best interests of the people." Among the bills that he introduced 
which became laws were a number improving the banking system ofthe 
State; the motor power bill, authorizing street service railroads to change 
from horse to any other power, after obtaining the consent of the major- 
ity of the property owners along the line of the roads, and the consent of 
the railroad commissioners ; and the bill which prevents assignees from 
giving to preferred creditors more than one third of the estate. He also 
introduced the marriage license bill, which would prevent ill-timed mar- 
riages, protect the clergy, and provide a more perfect record for tracing 
the estates of children. This bill passed the Senate twice, and it is hoped 
that the day is not far distant when it will become a law in this State. 
For this Mr. Walker has received complimentary letters from Bishop 
Doane and other prominent clergymen, and also from prominent judges 
and attorneys throughout the State, who appreciate the imiportance of 
such a law. Senator Walker is known throughout his State, and is highly 
respected as a gentleman of sterling integrity, and as a safe and care- 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 319 



ful law-maker. He is a good organizer, and a forcible and logical speaker 
who goes direct to the issue and "hews to the line." In January, 
1890, he was selected by the Hon. William Windom, Secretary of the 
Treasury, one of three commissioners to locate the government and 
postoffice building at Buffalo. He wears his honors modestly, which his 
character and mind richly deserve ; and as a Christian gentleman and 
representative man he is widely known and highly respected. 

January 14, 1861, he was united in marriage with Martha Marsh, of 
Lockport, N. Y., a highly cultivated lady of a cultivated family, and a 
sister of the eminent scientist, Prof. O. C. Marsh, of Yale College. Mr. 
and Mrs. Walker are parents of two sons, Edward C, Jr., and Raymcmd 
Marsh. This Christian family are members of the Presbyterian Church. 

James M. Walkinshaw, a popular druggist and baker, is a native of 
Batavia, and was born in 1840, a son of James and Isabella (Pattison) 
Walkinshaw, natives of Scotland, who came to America in 1839. They 
located in Batavia, where he pursued his trade as a baker until his death 
in 185 I. He was employed by B. C. Page, who started the bakery now 
owned by Baker & Walkinshaw, in 1835. James M. learned the trade, 
and in 1 869, with Lucius Baker, purchased the business, and they have con- 
ducted it since under the firm name of Baker & Walkinshaw. In 1874 
Mr. Walkinshaw added to his business interests a full line of drugs, med- 
icines, and fancy toilet goods, and in this branch has secured a large 
trade. The prescription department is under the charge of a compe- 
tent pharmacist. His place of business, at 63 East Main street, is cen- 
tral and attractive. Mr. Walkinshaw has served as alderman from his 
ward, and as chief engineer of the fire department. He was married, in 
1861, to Martha Winn, of Batavia. Their only child, Onis, is deceased. 

William C. Watson is a gentleman of fine physique and commanding 
presence. His life has been that of a leader, and his face bears the im- 
pression of his character. He has gone down to the very substratum of the 
principles of the law, and his opinion has almost judicial weight. The year 
1837 marked the opening of his career in the little village of Pembroke, 
in Genesee County. He is not a college- trained man. His early oppor- 
tunities were limited. His father tried cases in justices' courts, andfrt^m 
him the son imbibed a love for the profession. A short period was spent 
at the seminary at Alexander, and Col. James M. Willett gave him a start 
in law study. Next he is found in the office of Wakeman & Bryan, and 
in 1865 he was admitted to the bar. He practiced for a short time with 
Mr. Tyrrell and later with Hon. Seth Wakeman. For some 15 years he 



320 GENESEE COUNTY. 



has done business alone, Mr. Watson was the only Republican super- 
A'isor elected in many years. He was twice district attorney, and in 1882 
was candidate for member of Congress. He frequently goes to State 
conventions. Mr. Watson has been on the board of education a number 
of times, and has contributed largely to manufacturing industries 
locating in Batavia. His family consists of a wife and three children. 

Simeon Wheeler was a colonel in the Revolutionary war from Massa- 
chusetts. One of his sons, George, was born in Rehoboth, Mass., 
November 4, 18 15, was educated in the public schools, and came with 
his parents to Monroe County, N. Y., when he was seven years old, and 
to Genesee County when he was 20. February 18, 1838, he married 
Hannah S., second daughter of George Burton, of Byron, and they had 
one son, George H., who was born March 14, 1841, and received acommon 
school and academic education. March 22, 1866, he married Lovina, 
third daughter of John Fishill, of Rush, Monroe County, and they had 
one daughter. August 8, 1862, he enlisted in Co. K, I2th Inf. N. Y. 
Vols. ; March 8, 1863, he was transferred to the 5th Vet. Fire Zouaves, 
N. Y. Vols.; and was honorably discharged May 7, 1865. Mr. Wheeler 
is a breeder of Royal George horses, and is a farmer by occupation. 

Whiting C. Woolsey, president of the village of Batavia, was born in 
1834. His parents were Whiting R. and Alvalina (Post) Woolsey, the 
former a native of Columbia County. The mother was born in Batavia 
in 181 1, and her parents were early settlers of the town, about 1803. 
She is still living. The father, a farmer for 50 years, died in 1884, aged 
■81 years. Three of the children are living, viz. : Henry H., Martha, and 
Whiting C. The latter when a young man went to Galena, 111., and 
learned the trade of carpenter and builder, which occupation he has since 
pursued. He is the proprietor of the limekiln and stone quarries on 
road 13, in the north part of the town. In 1862 he enlisted and served 
as private in the 96th 111. Regt. In 1863 he returned to Batavia, where 
he has since been engaged in business. He served on the board of trus- 
tees, and was elected president of the village in 1888-89. He is a mem- 
ber of the I. O. O. F. and commander of Upton Post G. A. R. In 1852 
he was united in marriage with Sarah E. Worth, of Oakfield. They 
have one daughter, Mrs. Martha E. Nobles. 

David E. Wescott, a native of Massachusetts, moved to Monroe, 
Mich., and died in 1867, aged 68 years. He married Thyrza, daughter 
of John and Deborah A. Bird, of Manchester, N. Y., and their children 
are Jane, Deborah A., E. Myra, Eliza, Elizabeth, Laura, Helen, and 



TOWN OF BATAVIA. 321 



James R. The latter was born in Manchester, March 5, 1824. He 
married Mary Ann, daughter of William and Charity (Cook) Hickey, of 
Arcadia, and their children are George E., Lucy J., Hattie A.,and Mar- 
garet E. Mr. Wescott lives in Batavia on road 13. 

Theron F. Woodward, proprietor of the old and reliable boot and shoe 
store, for the past 18 years at 74 Main street, is a native of Orleans 
County, where he was born 1838, a son of Rev. Franklin and Elizabeth 
(Ross) Woodward. His father was a Baptist clergyman and organized 
the first church at Fairport, N. Y., where he was pastor until his death. 
Mr. Woodward was reared in Fairport, was a clerk in a dry goods store, 
and at the age of 21 years engaged with his brother-in-law in the coal 
and lumber business. Afterwards, and until 1867, he was engaged in 
the manufacture of staves and headings. He then came to Batavia and 
bought the stock of Thomas Yates, and has since been in the boot and 
shoe trade. He carries a large line of goods. He has been a member 
of the board of trustees, was treasurer for a number of years, and is a 
trustee of the Loan Association and of Elmwood Cemetery. He married 
n 1865, Emma C. Adams, of Riga, N. Y., daughter of Asa Adams, and 
they have three children, Grace E., Louis A., and Mabel E. The family 
are members of the Presbyterian Church. 

Frank S. Wood, the present district attorney for Genesee County, was 
born in Detroit, Mich., September 14, 1856. His father was for a long 
time in the employ of an express company. Mr. Wood came to this 
county with his parents from Detroit in 1859, and became a resident ot 
the village in April, 1864. His tastes and inclinations caused him to 
prepare for the study of law, in which pursuit he has been engaged since 
January, 1877, when he became the clerk of the surrogate's court in 
Batavia, remaining there until 1883, when he engaged in the active prac- 
tice of his profession, following the same ever since. In 1887 he was 
nominated and elected to the office of district attorney for the county, 
giving such satisfaction that at the end of the term he was again elected 
to serve until 1893. September 4, 1884, he united in marriage with 
Harriet G. Holden, of Batavia. 

Joseph Weed, of Cheshire County, N. H., died at the age of 40 years. 
His wife, Susan Farnsworth, bore him children as follows : Sally, Abi- 
gail, Susan, James, Elijah, and Joseph. The latter, a native of New 
Hampshire, served in the War of 1 8 1 2, and came to Kendall, N. Y., in 1 8 1 6, 
thence to Batavia, where he died in 1862, at the age of 80 years. He 
married Polly, daughter of Benjamin Clough. She died in 1877, aged 



322 GENESEE COUNTY. 



93 years. Their children were Joseph, Willis, Johanna, Sally, Mary, 
and Harvey. Harvey Weed was born in Kendall in 1817. In 1843 '^^ 
came to Batavia and married Sarah B. Savvdey, daughter of Henry and 
Rhoda, of this town. He has been a resident on the home farm since 
1843. His sister Mary resides with him. 

Daniel Wood, son of Ephraim a Revolutionary soldier, was born in 
1760, and died in 1844, at the age of 84 years. He married Hannah Bar- 
rett, and their children were James, Ephraim, Mary, Elijah, Milly, and 
William. Elijah Wood was born in Concord, Mass., September 18, 1790, 
and died there November 26, 186 J, aged 71 years. He married Eliza- 
beth Farmer in September, 181 5. Their children were Elijah, John, 
Augustus, William, Henry, Charles, George, and Edward F. ■ The last 
named was born in Concord, Mass., November 26, 1821, and came to 
Batavia in 1859, settling on a farm, where he remained four years. He 
js now a resident of Batavia village. He married Mary, daughter of 
Ezekiel N. and Mary (Bryan) Humphrey, of Hillsdale, Mich., and his 
children are Charles E., Edward, William, Frank S., George F., Mary E., 
John H., Augustus, and Robert E. He lived 12 years in Detroit, and 
was one of the first four men who had charge of the United States mail 
to Chicago. 

Matthias Whiting, a native of Massachusetts, moved to Fort Ann, 
N. Y., and died in 1846, aged 96 years. He married a Miss Vaughn, of 
Massachusetts, and their children were Willard, Sarah, Sylvester, Lucy, 
John, Matthias, Susan, Silas D., Laura, and Mary. S>lvester, born in 
Hancock, Mass., came to Riga, thence to Oakfield in 18 1 5. and died 
there in 1856, aged 70 years. He married Laura, daughter of Joel and 
Rachel (Moss) Yale, of Granville, N. Y. His children were Mary Al- 
mira, Celestia, Laura, Matilda, Silas, Nelson, and Sylvester. The lat- 
ter was born in Fort Ann, February 13, 1813, and in 1831 settled in 
Batavia, where he now resides, on road 30. Only three of his children 
survive. Nelson Whiting, a native of Riga, marrit-d Ellen F. Miller, 
daughter of George W. Miller, of Batavia, and they have one son, 
George M. 

George D. Williamson, proprietor of the leading furniture manufact- 
ory and salesrooms in Genesee County, is a native of Wayne County, 
where he was born in 1856. His parents were W. H. and Anna (Cott- 
rell) Williamson, also natives of Genesee County. Mr. Williamson has 
been engaged in business since his youth ; in 1887 he came to Batavia, 
and was of the firm of Weeks & Williamson f.)r one year. He then pur 



TOWN OF BATAVIA- 323 



chased the entire interest, and is now successfully conducting the same. 
His salesrooms and factory are at 1 1 1 East Main street, where he occu- 
pies three floors, with a fine display of furniture and house furnishing 
goods. The factory is located in the rear, where several men are em- 
plo)'ed. Mr. Williamson devotes special attention to undertaking. In 
1879 he was united in marriage with Emma E. Hine, of Palmyra, .md 
they are parents of two children. May A. and Roy H. They are mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

C. A. Weaver, of 104 Main street, commenced business January i, 
1889, where he was clerk for two years previous. He now carries a lull 
line of boots, shoes, and rubbers. 

Erank Wagner was born in Wurtemberg, Germany, September 16, 
1828, and came to the United States in 1854. In May, 1856, he married 
'Catherine Myers, formerly of Byrnes, Germany. They have five children, 
viz.: Louisa, Charles, Emogene, Mary, and Henry. August 1 1, 1862, he 
enlisted in Co. C, 151st Inf N. Y. Vols., and was honorably discharged at 
the close of the war. 

William Ward was a native of Merton, Devonshire, Eng, B)/ his wife, 
Ann, he had children as follows : John, Thomas, Hugh, and William. The 
latter came to Stafford in 1854, was a blacksmith, and died in 1854. He 
married Ann Horden, of Barnstable, Eng., and their children were John, 
Riciiard, Thomas, Sarah, Elizabeth, Ann, and William. William Ward, 
a native of Merton, in 185 i came to Stafford, and in 1888 to Batavia. He 
married Eliza, daughter of Francis and Sarah (Rice) Broadmead, of Eng- 
land, and they have an adopted daughter, Eliza A. Ward, who married 
Augustus Hammer, and now resides on road 65. Mr. Ward is a farmer, 
but was formerly a blacksmith. 

Sylvanus Young, of German ancestry, came from Chenango County, 
N. Y., to Pavilion in i8ri. He removed to Michigan, where he died, aged 
70 years. His wife was Ruth liurgess, who bore him children as follows: 
Almira, Josiah, Lucy, Rachel, Sylvanus, Melissa, William, Henry, and 
Clarissa. William, born in Pavilion, came to Batavia in i860, where he 
still resides. He married, January 20, 1847, Betsey, daughter of John and 
Clarissa (Sparks) Moore, of Massachusetts. Their children are John E. 
and William H. John E. married Clara L. Calkins, and they have a 
daughter, Edith. William H. married Harriet C, daughter of Nathaniel K. 
and Adeline (Brewer) Cone, and their children are Ruth A. and Hobart 
Cone, all residents of Batavia, on road 65. 

The name of John H. Yates, for the past few years, has appeared in con- 



324 GENESEE COUNTY 



nection with a class of homely, popular ballads, which fairly entitles him 
to a prominent place among American poets. He was born November 2 1 , 
1837. He is a nativeofBatavia, of English parentage, and therefore posses- 
ses the simplicity of manners common to that class of people. His mother 
was a schoolmistress, and from her he inherited his literary taste. His edu- 
cation wasnot very extensive, taking in only the common English branches, 
and much of his time since early boyhood has been spent as clerk, yet he 
•s well informed on general subjects, and does good service as licensed 
preacher of the Methodist Church, of which he is a member. His active 
work as assistant editor of the Progressive Batavian, with which he has 
been connected for four years, brings him in contact with all classes of men, 
the better fitting him for the exercise of his excellent taste in subjects for 
poetry. He has written for the Rochester Sunday Morning Times, the 
Batavian, Harper s Weekly, and Harper s Bazaar, and his " Old Man Bal- 
lads" (as they are called), " The Old Man in the New Church," " The Old 
Man in the Stylish Church," " The Old Man in the Model Church," and 
'' Goin' West to Die " will ever appeal to the finer feelings and sympathies 
of all who inherit the love and respect of the aged. 

Park Place School} — Among the leavening influences of the village 
of Batavia, and, in fact, of the county, must be prominently included the 
Park Place School, whose incipient steps were so faithfully watched and 
cared for by its founder, Mrs. Ellen A. K. Hooker, who has so happily im- 
pressed her influence on all its pupils and students whose good fortune 
it has been to be under her guidance; and who now is in charge of the 
lady students of Cornell University; and to whom, being so prominently 
connected with Sage College as principal, those interested in the higher 
education of women look with great confidence. The school was founded 
September 11, 1884, and was organized with a college graduate in each 
position in its faculty; and its design was to prepare young ladies for en- 
trance into the most advanced colleges for ladies in the country. It is 
now presided over by Miss Mary J. Stephens, who maintains its high 
standing, and who is a lady of culture and refinement. 

iThis article was furnished us too late to be printed earlier in the history of Batavia. ^^a'i'/'^r. 



TOWN OF BERGEN. 325 



BERGEN 



^^ERGEN is situated in the northeastern part of the county, is the 
-"'') eastern town of the northern tier, and contains 17,289 acres of 
^^ land. It is a portion of the triangular tract, described as sold to 
Le Roy and others from the Morris Reserve; it also has two tiers of lots 
from the Connecticut tract, on the west side of the town. The town was 
erected from Batavia, June 8, 18 12, then including the present town of 
Byron, which was set off in 1820, leaving Bergen in its present form. 

The soil is a very rich, fertile, and level farming land, with slight undu- 
lations and inclinations towards the north, and is gravelly with clayey 
loam. Black Creek flows easterly through the town, just north of the 
center, which, with its tributaries flowing from every direction, renders 
the entire territory of the town a well-watered, desirable section, and to 
its abundance, excellence may be added. Its agricultural interests excel, 
because of its advantages, and wheat, barley, beans, and potatoes are its 
main products in the order named. 

The first settler in the town was Samuel Lincoln, who took articles for 
land in 1801. In the same year Mr. Lincoln received the following neigh- 
bors: George and William Letson, Benajah Worden, Richard Abbey, Sol- 
omon Levi, Jesse Leach, James Letson, Gideon Elliott, and David Scott. 
These were the pioneers who first built cabins and made clearings in the 
town. Between 1801 and 18 10 the following pioneers settled: John Lan- 
don, Abram Davis, Alexander White, Captain James Austin David Pot- 
ter, Esq., Levi, Aaron, and Alexander Bissell, Amos Hewitt, Jedediah 
Crosby (died in 1834), Samuel Gleason, Esq., Captain William Peters, 
Aaron and Eben Arnold, Oliver Avery, Samuel Butler, Jesse Barber, John 
Gifford. Wheaton Southworth, Orange and Joseph Throop, Isaac Wallace, 
James Landon, and A. E. Wilcox. The following actual settlers came to 
Bergen between 1806 and 18 10 from East Guilford, Conn.: Dea. Benja- 
min Wright, James Munger, Esq., Joarab and Wickham Field, Dea. Tim- 
othy Hill, Joel Wright, Stephen R. Evarts, David H. Evarts, Capt. Phin- 
eas Parmelee, Nathan Field, Uriah Crampton, Capt. Samuel Bassett, 
Selah M. Wright, Bela Munger, T. Wilcox, William H. Munger, Harvey 
Field, Joshua Field. Esq., Dea. Levi Ward, Dea. John Ward, Dr. Levi 
Ward, Col. W. H. Ward, Dea. Pitman Wilcox, Hamilton Wilcox, M. C. 
Ward, and Gen. Daniel Hurlburt 

Those who came from Killingworth, Conn., prior to 1810 settled be- 
tween Bergen Corners and Fort Hill. They were Josiah Pierson and 
his five brothers, — Simeon, John, Philo, Linus, and Russell, — David 
Franklin and his four brothers, — Ishi, Sylvanus. Daniel, and Reuben, — 
Harvey Kelsey, Capt. Daniel Kelsey, Uriah, Martin, and Charles Kel- 
sey, Josiah Buell, Jesse Griswold, Thomas Stevens, Daniel Stevens, Job 
21 



326 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Seward, Abner Hull, Sr., Ebbie Hull, Roswell and Ebenezer Parmelee, 
Samuel and John Smith, Phineas Nettleton, Maj. Nathan Wilcox, Dea. 
Selden, Augustus Buell, Jonathan Wright, and Calvin Seward. Others, 
in 1814-16, were William Gorton, Willian P. Munger, Alvah Stevens, 
and Lathrop Farnham. Lines Beecher settled in West Bergen in 18 16. 

The first church organization was established in December, 1807. The 
first Congregational religious society was organized January 25, 1808, at 
the house of Dea. John Ward. The first temperance society was estab- 
lished in 1826, with only six members — Rev. Josiah Pierson, Rev. He- 
man Halsey, Dea. Pitman Wilcox, Dea. John Spencer, H. H. Evarts, and 
Henry D. Gififord. The first religious meeting on the Sabbath was at the 
log house of David Franklin, and the first sermon preached in the town 
was in Mr. Franklin's barn by Rev. Calvin Ingalls, a missionary. The 
first school was taught by Harvey Kelsey, a graduate of Yale College. 
Titus Wilcox taught the second school, and Joshua Field the third. 
Chloe Wright, daughter of Dea. Benjamin Wright, was the first female 
teacher, Lucy Hill was the second, and Betsey Pierson was the third. 
The first marriage was that of Isaac Wallace and Susannah Brooks, at 
the house of Dr. Levi Ward, and by Judge Ezra Piatt, of Le Roy. 
Luther, son of Jedediah Crosby, was the first male child born in the 
town. The first female born was Louisa, daughter of Orange Throop, 
who became the wife of David Fancher. The first death was the child 
of Capt. Daniel Kelsey; the first death of an adult was Mr. Kelsey's 
wife, both dying the same year. The first frame house in the town was 
erected by Dr. Levi Ward, the second by Dea. Benjamin Wright. The 
first frame barn was built by David Franklin, the second by Dea. Wright. 
The first saw-mill in the town was erected by Jared Merrill, the second 
by Levi Bissell The first store in Bergen was opened in 1808, by Dr. 
Levi Ward; the second in 181 1, by Josiah Pierson; the third in 1812, 
by Titus Wilcox. The first inn opened in the town was in 1809, by 
Samuel Butler, and the first postmaster was Col. W. H. Ward. The 
first supervisor was Dr. Levi Ward, who held the office seven years. He 
died January 4, 186 1, in his 90th year. The first road was opened in 
1 80 1, when the Lake road was surveyed and opened four rods wide from 
Le Roy to the lake. This road is now a very important one, upon 
which is the stone church, and is the principal street of Bergen village. 

Hamilton Wilcox came to the town in 1808 from East Guilford, Conn. 
He taught school here at the age of 16, and was a successful teacher. 
When the call for troops was made in the winter of 18 13-14 he left his 
school to take command of a company, to report at Buffalo, where he 
was when that "village" was burned. He was ordered to Black Rock 
in the night of December 30, 18 1 3, as the enemy were crossing the river 
at that point. In the aff'ray he received a bullet through his chest, lodg- 
ing in his arm. Several days after he was brought back to Bergen. It 
was soon necessary to amputate his arm, from which he died January 25, 
1 8 14, aged 28 years. 



TOWN OF BERGEN. 327 



This town has been devoted to the cause of religion, and can point 
with pride to 12 of its citizens who have been leaders of flocks in the 
cause of the Master. They are Revs. Josiah Pierson, A. C. Ward, 
F. De Ward, H. M. Ward, William H. Spencer, H. W. Pierson, D. D. H.' 
Parmelee, Bela Fancher, Franklin Howe, William H. Evarts, C. Dibble, 
and W. Pierson. 

Solomon and Levi Leach, brothers, whose names are among the early- 
settlers, traded wives, Levi giving Solomon five gallons of whisky " to 
boot." In two weeks, being sick of his bargain, he gave Levi a horse to 
trade back. It is just to presume that the whisky in those " hard " days 
was the great incentive to this unusual occurrence. 

Bergen's town officers for 1889-90 are : Supervisor, Samuel E. Bower ; 
town clerk, E. L. Fisher; justices of peace, J. W. Stratton, S. E. Parker, 
J. Dean, E. H. Parmelee; commissioner of highways, A. A. Sands; 
collector, George W. Sackett ; overseer of poor, M. Seeley ; assessors, 
D. McPherson, E. T. Stephens, James Templeton. 

The Presbyterian Church at North Bergen was organized November 1 8, 
1823, by the following persons, who assembled at the home of Jonah 
Gurthrie : Rev. A. Darwin, Josiah Pierson, John T. Bliss, and David F'an- 
cher. It was denominated the Congregational Church of Bergen, Byron, 
and Clarendon. Its original membership was 21, and at a mdeting held 
April 1 1 , 1 827, at the stone school- house, it was resolved to become a Pres- 
byterian society and unite with the Rochester Presbytery. D. Fancher, 
Milton Bird, Thomas Templeton, and Daniel Robinson were elected the 
first ruling elders, and Milton Bird was ordained deacon. The first regular 
pastor was Rev. N. Clapp, who was ordained and installed February 25, 
1827. On the 2d of April, 1829, the society was called after the postoffice 
of that time, — Lyme, — but in 1840 with the postoffice the name of North 
Bergen was appended to its religious title. In 1832 a framed church edi- 
fice was erected, neat and commodious, with a seating capacity of about 
250, at a cost of nearly $10,000. The society numbers over lOO members, 
and Rev. Lindsey C. Rutter was the pastor as late as 1887. Rev. John 
R. Lewis is the present pastor. 

North Bergen is a postoffice in the northwest corner of the town, 
containing a church, a store, two manufactories, and about 1 50 inhabitants. 

Stone Church (p. o.) is in the southeastern portion of the town, on" 
the Lake road, in direct line with Le Roy and Bergen villages. Good post- 
office facilities are enjoyed by its inhabitants, who number about four- 
score, and it contains one church, one store, and one manufactory. In 
1828 Col. Norton S. Davis built a stone tavern, and kept it for some time. 

West Bergen is still another postoffice in the west part of the town, 
on the Central Railroad, and has a store and shop, with a good commu- 
nity around it. 

The Cold Spring Creamery, on road 8, is owned by a stock company, 
and managed by B. A. Walker. It uses the cream from 900 cows, making 
400 pounds of butter per day in summer, which is sold in Buffalo, Roch- 
ester, and New York. 



328 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Bergen is a pretty, flourishing, incorporated village, pleasantly situ- 
ated on the N. Y. C. & H. R. Railroad between Rochester and Buffalo,, 
and is the principal village in the town, with a population of about i.ooo 
— a trifle more than one-third of the town. It contains four churches, 
two hotels, 14 stores, one machine shop, two grain elevators, eight man- 
ufactories of different kinds, three blacksmith shops, one saw and plan- 
ing-mill, two feed-mills, etc., and is one of the most healthy and pleasant 
hamlets of Western New York, enjoying all the facilities of daily mails 
and the advantages of the best of thoroughfares. This village has been 
unfortunate in being partially burned at two several times — January 16, 
1866, and March i, 1880; the last fire covered an area of five acres in 
the business portion, consuming elevators, stores, shops, ofiices, halls, ho- 
tel, dwellings, and barns, to the amount of oyer $120,000. Bert E. Hall^ 
A. L. Green, and George H. Church were severely burned in their endeav- 
ors to stay the progress of the fire and save property. The burned dis- 
trict was at once built up with substantial brick buildings, with a vigor and 
perseverance peculiar to the enterprise of the place, and the pride of the 
citizens in their neat village is commendable. The Bergen village officers 
are as follows : George H. Church, president; A.T. Southworth, treasurer; 
D. J. McPherson, clerk; trustees, T. J. Tone, two years, James Miller, one 
year, T. D. Richardson, one year. The board of education is composed 
as follows: George H. Church, president; L. D. Arnold, H. S. White; 
G. N. Buell, collector. The officers of the fire department are : James R. 
McKenzie, chief engineer; G. O. Emerson, president; M. F. Bergin, vice- 
president ; D. S. Thompson, secretary; Michael Bower, treasurer; trus- 
tees, J. J. Snyder, D. A. Ide, James Whalen. Bergen Hose Company No. 
I, 10 men, headquarters in Buell block : E. C. Snyder, foreman; E. D. 
Snyder, assistant foreman; equipments, hose cart and 400 feet hose. Ber- 
gen Engine Company No. i, 30 men, headquarters in Buell block: Irv- 
ing Ide, foreman ; G. W. Sackett, assistant foreman ; equipment, hand 
engine. The postoffice is located in the Southworth block on Lake street. 
M. H. Parmelee is the postmaster. He was appointed under the present 
administration and took charge of the oflice June 10, 1889. E. H. Par- 
melee is assistant postmaster and W. G. Woodworth, clerk. 

The First Congregational Church of Bergen was organized in Decem- 
ber, 1807, by Rev. John Lindsley and 13 others. At this time Bergen 
was Northampton. Levi Ward, Sr., and Benjamin Wright were the first 
deacons, and Levi Ward, Jr., the first clerk. The present church organi- 
zation was perfected January 25, 1808, by the following persons, at the 
house of John Ward: Alexander White, John Gifford, Levi Ward, Sr., 
Benjamin Wright, Josiah Pierson, Simon Pierson, John Ward, Selah 
Wright, W. H. Munger, and Levi Ward, Jr. The first trustees were Al- 
exander White, Simon Pierson, and Levi Ward, Jr. This church, except- 
ing a Scotch church at Caledonia, is the oldest one west of the Genesee 
River. Rev. Allen Hollister was its first ordained minister, and was in- 
stalled July 4, 1 8 10. The church edifice was first situated on Cemetery 



TOWN OF BERGEN. 329 



Hill, one mile south of its present location, where it was removed in the 
spring of 1854 Rev. A. O. Whiteman was pastor at the time of its re- 
moval. Although a Congregational Church strictly, it placed itself in the 
Presbytery on the accommodation plan soon after its organization, and so 
it remains to-day. It has a fine frame building that seats about 400 peo- 
ple, and its property is worth $10,000. It has never had missionary aid 
in support of its ministry. Its present pastor is Rev. J. R. Lewis. 

The Second Congregational Church of Le Roy and Bergen is in the 
southeast part of Bergen, which has originated the postoffice " Stone 
Church" in the town. Sixteen persons in 1828, March 1 8th, met and 
organized the society. They chose S. Dibble and J. Ward, deacons, and 
Russell Pierson, David Byam, and Luther C. Pierson as assistants, and 
the five were to be a standing committee. Quite a number from the 
First Congregational Church united with this society by letter early in 
its existence. On September 24, 1828, a stone edifice was erected, 
which has perpetuated the name "Stone Church" to the present time, 
although in 1864 a fine frame edifice was built upon the site, which was 
dedicated in 1865. The first pastor was Rev. Elisha Mason, who ac- 
cepted the call October 20, 1 828. The church property is worth $4,000, 
its seating capacity about 250, and its membership about 65. 

The First Roman Catholic Church of Bergen was erected in 1859. 
An organization had been effected prior to that date (about 1850), and 
meetings held from house to house. Rev. Father McGowan was mainly 
instrumental in the erection of the church, and for several years had the 
pastoral charge of the society. It is under the diocese of Buffalo, 
Bishop Ryan presiding. In 1883 the old church was torn down and the 
present edifice, more commodious and better, was erected, under the 
supervision of Father Maloy. It has a seating capacity of 400, cost 
$7,000, and is a fine frame edifice. It has not had a resident pastor dur- 
ing all these years, until Father O'Riley came in 1886. He was there 
15 months. The Rev. Father H. H. Connery came in September, 1888, 
and now presides over the spiritual wants of the parish. He was born 
May 15, 1853, in County Derry, Ireland, and came to America July 22, 
1875. He was educated at the Seminary of our Lady of the Angels, 
and placed in charge of the parish at Limestone, N. Y. He was there 
two years, at East Pembroke two years, and at Rexville, Steuben 
County, three years. 

In June, 1872, a mission was organized in 'this town by Rev. E. L. 
Wilson, holding services in the M. E. C'hurch and in David Hooper's 
hall. In March, 1874, Mrs. Cynthia L. Richmond presented the trus- 
tees of the parochial fund of the diocese a deed of lot No. 65, as a me- 
morial gift to her late husband, upon which the ceremony of laying the 
corner-stone was held June 6, 1874, by the Rt. Rev. Bishop Coxe, who 
conducted the dedicatory services January 6, 1875. The building, which 
was consecrated June 15, i88o-, is a frame one, with a seating capacity 
of about 200. The society is small, and is supplied by Rev. A. A. 



330 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Brockway, of Attica, N. Y. It is called St. John's Church, and is 
situated on Rochester street. They have no settled rector. 

The First Methodist Episcopal Church was organized April 5, 1831. 
The records of the society show that Rev. Reeder Smith founded a so- 
ciety prior to this date, which was called the " First Society of the M. E. 
Church of Bergen." A small plat of land, located on lot 120, in the 
town of Le Roy, on the 100,000- acre tract, was deeded to the society. 
It is said that the society was born in a revival meeting by itinerants, 
and was made part of the Scottsville circuit. The first place of worship 
was at the stone school-house, Bergen Corners, but the meetings were 
changed to the town-line school-house. A profitable season of rrteetings 
gave courage to build a church, and in 1838 an edifice, costing $1,000, 
was erected. In 1853 the society removed to the present site the former 
edifice, and beautified and enlarged it at a cost of over $2,000. In 1873 
the society numbered 45 members and was apart of the Churchville cir- 
cuit, but under the labors of Rev. T. E. Bell the membership in that 
year was swelled to 118 and 60 probationers, and a separate existence 
was created. In 1876 a parsonage was erected at a cost of $1,500, and 
August 3, 1882, the present elegant brick edifice, built in gothic style, 
was dedicated, with Rev. J. B. Countryman, pastor. Its value in dollars 
is at least $10,000, seating capacity 400, and the membership on Janu- 
ary I, 1887, was 132. It has two endowments — the Doolittle fund of 
$500, and that of Wickham Fields of 17 acres of his town-line farm. 
The present pastor is Rev. J. A. Smith. The Sunday-school numbers 
200 members. 

Wardville Lodge, No. 198, /. O. O. K, — originally No. 412,' — was or- 
ganized September 19, 1849. ^ts founders were Dr. Andrews, Sr., F. T. 
Moseley, John Norton, E. B. Andrews, and H. S. Andrews. Fourteen 
members were initiated at the first regular meeting of the lodge. It is 
the oldest of its order in the county, having been sustained for 40 years, 
and is still strong in its old age. The first N. G. of this lodge was the 
elder Robert Andrews, M. D. Its books, regalia, furniture, etc., were 
lost in the fire of 1866, and again in the great fire of 1880, when Bergen 
suffered so greatly, its property was destroyed ; still phenix-like, it has 
flourished, and has not missed any meetings during its adversity. The 
elegant rooms are now in the Carpenter block, and nearly 100 members 
enjoy the benefits of the fraternity. When the territory of Bergen was 
a wilderness Levi Ward, one of the pioneers, prepared a map of the land 
where Bergen is, and purposed to call it "Wardville." It somehow lost 
his adopted name as to the town, but it is kept in memoriam by the old- 
est and most prosperous order of the county. The lodge has a member- 
ship of about 40. The officers are : E. C. Snyder, N. G. ; J. J. Snyder, 
V. G. ; G. W. Grimes, recording secretary; Fred Lewellyn, permanent 
secretary ; N. J. Davis, treasurer. 

Bergen Lodge, No. 187, /. O. of G. T., was organized July 18, 1885, 
by the installment of the following officers: G. W. Parkerson, W. C. T. ; 



TOWN OF BERGEN. 33 1 



Mrs. Lizzie Murray, W. V. T. ; Richard Bassett, W. chaplain; William 
Gillett, W. secretary; Miss Clara Peck, W. A. secretary; Fremont Peck, 
W. F. secretary; Miss Stella Butler, W. treasurer; Samuel Bassett, W. 
marshal; Miss Rena Gordon, W. A. marshal; John Langham, W. O. 
guard; Bert Sackett, W. I. guard; Miss Ella Fenn, W. R. H. S. ; Miss 
Emma Snyder, W. L. H. S. ; Mrs. C. Clothier, P. W. C. T. The num- 
ber of charter members was 29, and George E. Whittaker was elected 
lodge deputy for the first year. The lodge has been a very active and 
successful one, and numbers now nearly 100 members. Its influence for 
good is felt and respected. The place of meeting is in the Carpenter & 
McKenzie block. 

Wilbtir Fuller Post, No. 412, G. A. R., was organized October 13, 
1883, with a charter membership of 16. The post occupies a fine suite 
of rooms in the Carpenter block, over Carpenter & Son's store. The 
charter members were William H. Randolph, H. C. Matoon, John 
Byrne, M. McFarlane, Jerry Feathers, William C. Kneale, Isaac Bristol, 
James A. Miller, Patrick Kerivan, H. W. Thompson, A. L. Preston, Ben- 
jamin Coxe, Murray Johnson, A. E. Wilbur, James A. Cooper, and Sid- 
ney Richmond. The post is a very strong and flourishing one for its 
age, and will hold its place with any other in the county. The present 
officers are as follows: H. F. Fordham, commander; E. M. Wilcox, 
S. V. C; E. C. Day, J. V. C. ; J. A. Miller, adjutant; J. D. Richard, 
Q. M. ; M. W. Townsend, surgeon ; J. T. Crittenden, chaplain ; G. E. 
Wilber, O. D. ; M. W. Lvman, O. G. ; J. R. Emerson, S. M. ; E. How- 
ell, Q. M. S. 

Bergen Grange, No. 163, was organized in March, 1873. It had a 
charter membership of about 18 members. N. C. Johnson was its first 
master. For a few years they used the Odd Fellows hall. In 1878 they 
had one of their own, but were burned out at the big fire of 1880. After 
the Carpenter block was rebuilt they had their lodge room overhead 
until the fall of 1885, when they sold out to the G A. R. Since then 
they have held their meetings at the homes of different members through- 
out the town. Its present membership is about 60. 

The schools of the town are excellent, and 13 teachers are constantly 
employed in each school year. There are nine districts in the town, 
with a fine graded school in the village. The Union School building, 
which was erected in 1868. is located on Rochester street. The school 
is in a flourishing condition. The average daily attendance is about 140. 
Four instructors are employed, as follows: E. M. Crocker, principal; 
Miss Mary J. Russell, second grade; Miss Ella Wood, intermediate; 
Miss Maud Meyers, primary. 

The early settlers were desirous of keeping abreast of -the times, and 
took measures to foster their literary taste by organizing libraries, one 
such, called " Bergen Moral Library," being organized in 181 5. 

Doran's cider-mill W2is built in 1886 by Michael Doran. It is run by 
steam-power, and has a capacity of 30 barrels of cider per day. It is lo- 
cated on Munger street. 



332 GENESEE COUNTY., 



Aaron Arnold, eldest son of Enoch Arnold, of Berkshire County, 
Mass., was born November 3, 178 1. He engaged in farming till of age, 
when he was a foreman for three years on the turnpike then being con- 
structed between New York and Philadelphia. In 1806 he was married 
to Eliza, daughter of Amos Allen, of Caanan, Conn. In 1807 he came 
with his wife to this town — then Northampton — and began farming. 
He died March 28, 1843, and his wife survived till June i, 1855. He 
filled in his day many offices of trust, being supervisor, etc., for a num- 
ber of years. Three children were the result of the marriage, viz.: 
Charles G.. boin August 12, 1809, died April 17, 1841 ; Harriet, born 
July 18, 1816, married Alson Ostrander, of Poughkeepsie, N. Y., and 
died April 20, 1853 ; and George W., born July 18, 1822, who is the 
only survivor. He married Martha G., daughter of Aaron and Harriet 
Gifford, October 19, 1843. and is a resident of the village, ^l^ey had 
one child, who was born Eebruary 12, 1 848, is a resident of the town, 
and is a carpenter and joiner by vocation. George W. Arnold has given 
much attention to stock dealing in connection with his farming, and has 
been very successful. At the big fire in 1880 he lost nearly all his vil- 
lage property, and indeed has often been a sufferer by fire. Amos 
Allen, father of Mrs. Aaron Arnold, was a Revolutionary soldier, and at 
his death, in 1845, '^'^^ the oldest pensioner in Genesee County. 

Robert Andrews, M. D., third son of Robert Andrews, Sr., was born 
in Wheatland, Monroe County, N. Y., in 1 836, and removed to Bergen 
in 1843 with his father. He received the advantages of a common 
school education. His father was a physician of large practice, which he 
retained till ojie year before his decease, in 1862. Dr. Andrews carried 
on the practice of his father, as a general practitioner, but has been very 
successful as a specialist in curing cancers. He is now in the midst of a 
profitable and wide-spread practice, and is 53 years old. He married 
Julia A., daughter of Joseph Beardsley, and they have four children now 
living — Lewis B., Charles H., Fred E., and Robert M. The eldest, 
Lewis B., is a practicing physician and surgeon.' The entire family are 
members of the First Congregational Church. The second son, Charles 
H., is a graduate of the Buffalo Medical University, and Fred E. gradu- 
ated in the classical course of the Brockport Normal School in 1 887. 

Dea. Ebenezer Arnold, youngest son of Daniel Arnold, came with 
his parents from East Haddam, Conn., in 1802, to this town — then North- 
hampton and afterwards Ogden. Here the father died in 1813, leaving 
the Deacon a lad only 1 2 years old. At the age of i 8 he came to Bergen, 
and purchased the farm now in part owned by James Barr. He pur- 
chased the farm now owned by him in 1854. He first married Chloe, 
daughter of Captain Austin Wilcox, in 1824, who died in 1836, leaving 
two children, of whom Henry W. is the only one living. In 1839 he 
married, second, A. Jannette Cushman, by whom four children were 
born to him, three of whom survive, viz.: Linden D. and Irving R., who 
reside here, and Rose (Mrs. Nelson F. Holman), of the State of Washing- 



TOWN OF BERGEN. 333 



ton. Mr. Arnold acquired the title of deacon from long years of service 
as such in the First Congregational Church. In 1882 he was compelled 
to retire from active life. Linden D. Arnold, the third son of Deacon 
Arnold, was born in this town, January 16, 1843. He has followed farm- 
ing from choice, but makes a specialty of .'^tock, notably the breeding of 
Chester White and Poland China swine. His farm is a fine one of 81 
acres, situated on the Lake road one-half mile south of Bergen village ; 
he also has a farm of 90 acres on the town line road west of the village. 
On the two farms, during the seasons of 1885-86, he produced 3,950 
bushels of. wheat and 1,920 bushels of barley. November 5, 1874, he 
was married to Nellie A., daughter of Abel E. and Elizabeth S. Wilcox, 
of Bergen, and they have three children, namely : Clara A., born Novem- 
ber 14, 1877 ; Percy L., born January 6, 1883 ; and Rose E., born May 
25. 1885. 

Philo P. Bassett, the youngest son of Samuel and Betsey Bassett, was 
born in Bergen, August 26,»i834, and at the age of 20 began life for 
himself, choosing the occupations of carpenter, joiner, and painter, which 
he followed successfully till 1877. February 25, 1859, he married Har- 
riet W., daughter of William H. and Frances E. Keytes, of Owosso, 
Mich. In 1877 he commenced the undertaking business in this town, 
being located then one block south of his present place of business. . Just 
before the big fire of March i, 1880, he had removed to the building 
just south of the Bergen Hotel, and thus escaped. The latter part of 
1885 he removed his business to the Carpenter & McKenzie block. He 
deals in funeral furniture, artists' materials, pictures and frames, station- 
ery, etc., and is a funeral director. As an undertaker he is successful 
and worthily very popular, and his business is largely extended to neigh- 
boring towns. 

Jacob Baird was a resident of Richmondville, Schoharie Counl\', N. Y., 
where John Baird was born P'ebiuary 13, 1827. Allhough reared to 
farming John learned the art of brickmaking when he attained his ma- 
jority, and has followed that business the most of the time since. He 
was two years at Batavia, and made the brick for the Blind Asylum and 
M. E. Church there. Soon after the fire of 1880 he came to this town 
and started a brick yard, from which he has furnished brick for ail the 
business places except two hotels, manufacturing in a single year as 
many as 1,000,000. He is well and favorably known as an upright, reli- 
able dealer. Mr. Baird was married, October 7, 1853, to Agnes Doland, 
of Rochester, N. Y., and one child, Lydia, was born to them, August 7, 
1854, now the wit'e of Frank Jones, of Darien. 

John Bergin, son of Michael Bergin, born in 1837 in Kilkenny, Ireland, 
came to this country February 5, 1865, and located first at Hartford, Conn. 
After two years he went to Brooklyn, N. Y., and for one year engaged in 
the cotton business. He then went to South Amboy, N. J., thence to 
Genesee County, locating at South Byron, where he spent two years in 
farming and work for the N. Y. C. & H. R. R. R. In 1870 he removed to 



334 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Bergen, and has since made his home here. He is baggagemaster at the 
Bergen depot. He married Hanorah Welch, of his native country, in 
1858, and of their eight children only one is living, a son, M. F. Bergen, 
born in Ireland, December 10, 1859. Up to 20 years he was employed 
on a farm, and then began business in this town as proprietor of a first- 
class restaurant and saloon. He married Mary A., daughter of Philip and 
Mary Whalen, of this town, January 15,1 884, by whom he has one child, 
Gregory, born January 2, 1885. In February, 1881, Mr. Bergin opened 
an extensive grocery and wholesale liquor store, of which he is still the 
proprietor. 

Aaron M. Bissell, the third son of Aaron and Lucinda Bissell, of Hebron, 
Conn., was born in Bergen, August 10, 1818. He followed farming, carry- 
ing on 265 acres of land which he owned, and was a breeder of fine horses 
and sheep. On April 29, 1845, he married Avis Mitchell, of this town, 
and died August 24, 1862, leaving, besides his wife, six children, namely: 
James A., born January 27, 1846; Emily L. (Mrs. John R. Emerson), 
born October 24, 1847 ! Franc A. (Mrs. Andrew Gififord), born July 26, 
1849 ; Frederick M., born July 29, 1851 ; William A., born August 24, 
1857 ; and George A., born September 9, 1859. Frederick M. Bissell, 
the fourth son of Aaron M., was born in this town and remained on the 
farm till of age, when he engaged in the occupation of house painting, 
which he has followed since. He married, April 24, 1872, a daughter of 
Maiden and Rhoda C. Gifford, of Bergen. They had five children, as fol- 
lows : George R., born August 6, 1873 ; Carrie A., born August 16, 1875 r 
Clarence G., born January 3, 1880; Earl C, born February 19, 1881 ; 
and Bert L., born September 15,1 883. Mr. Bissell is a professor of music, 
having led the Bergen cornet band for years, and has given instructions 
upon the violin and cornet, of which he is master. He is also leader of 
Bissell's orchestra. William A. Bissell, the fifth child of Aaron M. and 
Avis Bissell, was born here August 24, 1857. ^^> with George A., his 
brother, owns 218 acres of land one mile north of Bergen village. They 
are partners not only in farming, but in the produce and coal business, 
with warerooms at the West Shore freight house. William A. was mar- 
ried, November 30, 1880, to Nellie, daughter of Alexander and Lois Miller, 
of Caledonia, N. Y., and they have one daughter, Jennie, born September 
15, 1885. One remarkable fact worthy of mention is that 208 acres of 
the 218 belonging to these brothers was the original homestead taken up 
by Aaron Bissell in 1807. James A. Bissell, the eldest child of Aaron M., 
born January 27, 1846, was married, January 8, 1880, to Loretta E., 
daughter of George and Catherine Wrightmeyer, of Baraboo, Wis. They 
have one child. Avis M., born July 8, 1883. Mr. Bissell is a farmer, own- 
ing a valuable farm of 42 acres just east of the corporation line, and makes 
a specialty of furnishing fresh milk to the residents of the village. 

William A. Bower, eldest son of Michael and C. Caroline Bower, was 
born in Bergen, October 26, 1855. His grandfather, Jacob Bower, was 
an old resident and pioneer of Bergen, from Cayuga County, N. Y., and 



TOWN OF BERGEN. 335 

followed farming till his death in 1871. William A. Bower, also a farmer, 
in 1878 purchased a farm in Byron, where he resided until March 6, 1886, 
when he removed to Bergen village, into his residence on Buffalo street. 
He married, November 8, 1876, Florence L., daughter of Andrew Y. and 
Harriet A. Weeks, of Bergen, and they have three children. Michael 
Bower, father of William A., was a farmer until 1881, when he removed 
to Bergen village, on Clinton street, where he now resides. 

Benjamin Bower, one of the early settlers, came from Cayuga County 
to Bergen in 1834. His wife and six children located on the town-line 
road west of the village. His wife died in August of the same year. 
Mr. Bower followed farming, renting, until his death September 2, 1864. 
Three of his children survive him, viz.: Mary Ann (Mrs. Ai S. Chase) of 
Byron; Susan (Mrs. J. D. Gifford), of North Bergen; and Abner, who lives 
on the old homestead. The latter was born in Springport, Cayuga 
County, October 23, 1825. He was three years old when his father came 
here, and has always remained on the farm. He was married to Mary E. 
Huff, of Canadice, Ontario County, February 27, 1845. They have bad 
three children, only one of whom is living, Mary A., wife of Chester 
Adams. She was born in 1845. 

Jacob' Bower came to this town from Aurelius, Cayuga County, N. Y.,^ 
in 1833. He located in the western part of the town, on what is known 
as the " town-line road," and lived there until his death, April 21, 1871. 
One of his two children was Michael, who was born in Cayuga County, 
May 19, 183 1, and was reared a farmer, following that occupation to 
the present time. He married, January i, 1855, Cynthia C. Billings, of 
Byron, and their three children were William A., born October 26, 1855 ; 
Rosanna E., born December 25, 1857 ; and Charles M., born February 27, 
1875. The daughter died April 26, 1875, and his wife February 2, 1878. 
He married for his second wife Eliza E. Berry, relict of James Berry, by 
whorr he had two children, namely: Ella F., born August 15, i88i,and 
Joseph L., born July 16, 1886. Mr. Bower still owns the old home farm, 
but resides in the village, though still actively interested in farming, and 
has been master of the Bergen Grange for several years. 

Samuel Carpenter, the fourth son of James and Sarah Carpenter, was 
born in Somersetshire, Eng., February 22, 1826, and was one of a family 
of 13 children, — seven daughters and six sons,— all born in England. 
Samuel was bound out to the tailor trade when 10 years old, and this is 
his business at the present time. In December, 1 849, he came to America 
with only $5 in his pocket, but as an expert at his trade he was soon in 
the employ of James Moore, of Rochester. He moved about some, and 
came to this county, stopping a short time in Bergen, where he was mar- 
ried to Anna A., daughter of Samuel and Betsey Bassett, November i^ 
185 I. He then went to Oakfield in the employ of Chamberlain & Par- 
melee, where in six months he saved up $60, with which he returned to 
Bergen and "opened shop" for himself. Benjamin Wright assisted him 
to put in a comfortable stock for those days, and he soon was able to buy 



336 GENESEE COUNTY. 



out and pay off his interest. After two other partnerships, which lasted 
about four years, he continued alone till 1863, when he formed a partner- 
ship with \A/olfe & Bachman, of Rochester, who purchased the Doolittle 
block of Bergen village. Shipping goods to Canada proved a successful 
venture and resulted in the accumulation of quite a sum. His stock and 
the Doolittle block were afterwards carried away in smoke and flames. 
He at once commenced to rebuild, doing business in the meantime in the 
building just south of where the Bergen Hotel now stands, and in the 
autumn of 1866 opened in the new store. After three years he leased 
to Fisher and Murdock, on a three years' lease, but he had built two 
other stores, one of which he moved into, and here he was when the big 
fire of 1880 occurred, which destroyed again all of his real property. In 
1880 he built the Carpenter block, and in 1882 built the block occu- 
pied by Oathout & Gage as a hardware store. This block, costing 
$2,800, he gave to his youngest son on his 17th birthday. He has three 
children, viz.: George A., born March 2, 1852; Carlos N., born August 
6, 1859; and Burton W.,born October 9, 1866. The elder sons are now 
in partnership with the father, carry,ing on an extensive business in ready- 
made clothing, hats, caps, machines, wall paper, trunks, etc., and keeping 
about 20 employees in the business. Mr. Carpenter is a model business 
man, as his beginning in life and present high standing will attest. 

Thomas Jefferson Dean was the son of Ephraim Dean, and was born at 
Mansfield, Conn., July 7. 1800. In early days he learned the blacksmiths' 
trade, which he followed till two years before his death, which occurred 
August 5, 1848. May 4, 1824, he married Fanny F. Gurley, of Mans- 
field, Conn., and came to Genesee County in the spring of 1835, ^^ Pine 
Hill, in Elba. Here he lived most of the time until he died, leaving seven 
children, of whom only one is living — Thomas Jasper Dean, born Octo- 
ber 29, 1836. The latter learned the shoe trade, which he followed for 10 
years, when he engaged in farming and its kindred duties, whicli suited 
better his taste. He was in the civil war, enlisting as a private in Co. B, 
129th N. Y. v., and was mustered, August 22. 1862, into the U. S. serv- 
ice. His regiment was transferred to the 8th N. Y. H. A., and Mr. Dean 
was in all the battles of that valiant regiment, serving until the close of 
the war. A shell-wound on his left shoulder was the only injury he re- 
ceived during the entire list of battles. He received a commission as 
second lieutenant July I, 1864, dated June 3d. He was mustered out of 
service at the expiration of his term, June 22, J 865. On January 30, 
1866, he married Celestia M., daughter of S H. and Sarah K. Reed, of 
Bergen. Three children were born to them, viz.: Minnie C , born Janu- 
ary 6, 1868; Charles R., born January 25, 1870; and Calvin N.. born 
June 15, 1874. He has filled the offfces of justice of peace seven terms 
and justice of Sessions two. 

John W. Davy, third son of John and Margarette Davy, was born in Can- 
ada, November 22. 1845. and at the age of 17 commenced the trade of 
blacksmithing. In April, 1866, he came to this town, and for eight years 



TOWN OF BERGEN. 337- 



he worked for other parties, but for the past 15 years has carried on the 
business himself He married Anna B. Gordon, of Kingston, Canada, 
September 30, 1867, and has a family of three children, one of whom, 
Ethel E., is an adopted daughter. Willie J. was born December 6, 1869, 
and Grace G. July 9, 1876. Mr. Davy has been very successful in busi- 
ness, and is able to reap the reward of industry by doing business in his 
own brick block on Buffalo street. He enjoys the confidence of his towns- 
men, as is attested by his success in business and the offices of trust he fills 
in the school and other corporations of the village. 

Erastus Emerson, eldest son of Joseph Emerson, was born in Riga, 
N. Y., July 27, 1 8 10. He followed farming till 1854, when he was com- 
pelled to retire by reason of injuries received. Four children were born 
to him, as follows: Joseph T., John R., Jerome E., and George E., all of 
whom are living except the first named. John R. Emerson, the second 
child, of Bergen village, was born in Riga, February 9, 1844, ^"d at the 
age of 15 he went to Colchester, Conn., to learn the trade of tanner and 
currier, remaining there about three years. He enlisted in Co. H, 21st 
Conn. Vols., for three years, or during the war. He was mustered into 
service at Norwich, Conn., August 22, 1862, and left for the seat of war 
September iith. He was attached to the Army of the Potomac, in the 
9th Corps ; was at the battle of Fredericksburg, was marched the length 
of the peninsula to Hampton, July 12th, and on the 15th was marched 
to Portsmouth to act as provostrguard for the city. On the 15th of 
May he joined Butler's army, on the James River, and was assigned to 
the 1 8th Corps. He was at the battle of Drury's Bluff, joined Grant's 
army at Cold Harbor, June ist, and was at the surrender of Lee. He 
arrived at Richmond, June 15, 1865, and embarked for home. Arriving 
at Nev\^ Haven on the i8th he was mustered out July ist, making the 
term of service 34 months. Five battles and three skirmishes were par- 
ticipated in without a scratch. He then attended Eastman's Commercial 
College at Rochester, from which he received a diploma in 1866. March 
18, 1868, he married Emma L., daughter of Aaron and Avis Bissell, of 
Bergen. He followed farming till 1883, when he entered the mercantile 
business as partner of A. B. Enoch. They carried on a general store 
for several years. Mr. Emerson has two children — Clayton B., born 
December 28, 1870, and Bessie E., born July i, 1879. 

Abraham Enoch was born in Wood County (now Wirt), West Vir- 
ginia, January 1 6, 1 804. His father, Isaac, was one of the earliest settlers 
in the " Old Dominion." Abraham married Mary Gibbrus, October 
14, 1830, and to them were born eight children, of whom six are liv- 
ing, viz.: I. L., M. v., J. T., A. F., J. G., and A. B. The first four 
named are now residents of Virginia. I. L. Enoch has served four years 
in the West Virginia legislature. Mr. Enoch was a farmer and lumber- 
man, and at the breaking out of the civil war was a Union man — and a 
Democrat He was the first county judge of Wirt County in the new 
State of West Virginia, and held cqurt contrary to the order of the rebel 



338 GENESEE COUNTY. 



governor, who subsequently offered a reward for his person delivered at 
Richmond. Wirt County was near the borders, and furnished men for 
each army, but pronounced Union men had to suffer from the repeated 
raids and injuries of the rebel bushwhackers. It was nothing to be 
stripped of horses and stock, and also sleep in well-guarded quarters. 
The last eight years Mr. Enoch spent in Henrietta, Monroe County, 
N. Y., where he died in November, 1883. His youngest son, A. B. 
Enoch, was born in Wirt County, as above, February 6, 1849. Al- 
though a boy he belonged to the home guard during the war, and had 
considerable army experience while protecting property. He had one 
brother who served in the 6th W. Va. Regt, and another who raised a 
company for the iith Regt. A. B. Enoch was married, January 12, 
1 87 1, to Mary, daughter of Cornelius S. Dewitt, of Henrietta, N. Y. 
They have one child, Sherman D., born September 25, 1873. Mr. 
Enoch came to this town April 18, 1880, and engaged in the mercantile 
business. He was appointed postmaster March 16, 1886. 

Wickum Field, one of the pioneers of the county, came to Bergen 
from Killingworth, Conn., in June, 1809, and located on what is now 
known as " the town line road," about two miles west of Bergen village. 
Here, until his death, August 11, 1853, he lived, rearing a family of 
seven children, two of whom survive, viz.: Nathan and Charles. Charles 
Field was born in the town April 20, 18 19, and has passed his entire life 
here. He married, November 20, 1849, Abigail J., daughter of Nat and 
Cynthia Spafford, of Byron, and three children were born to them, two 
of whom survive, viz. : Mary E., born September 25, 1857, now the wife 
of George W. Sackett, of Bergen; and Jennie Estelle, born May 27, 
i860, now the wife of Henry A Arnold, of Le Roy. Mr. Field is now 
69 years old, and is still an active man. He remembers the early days 
of the county and has witnessed its rapid development. Mrs. Elizabeth 
Field, wife of Wickum Field, died January 22, 1848, aged 69 years. 

Lathrop Farnham, a native of Connecticut, came to Bergen (then Le Roy) 
in 18 16, where his sons Joseph N. and Stephen L. now reside. He died 
in 1880, aged 84 years. He married Zeurah Tiffany, of Byron, by whom 
he had four sons and five daughters. One son died in infancy. William 
D. died in his 21st year. Joseph N. and Stephen L. live in the town on 
lot 96. The daughters were Mary, Lorinda, Ora Lovina and Ora Louisa 
(twins), and Jane. The latter died June 20, 1888. Mary and Lorinda 
reside in Chicago, 111. Ora Lovina and Ora Louisa reside in Bergen. 

Francis Fordham, born in Vermont, October 31, 1800, came with his 
father to Genesee County about 1806, settling in Le Roy, and followed 
farming. He married Caroline Woodward, of Le Roy, and eight children 
were born to them, five of whom survive, namely: Gideon, of LeRoy; 
Mariette (Mrs A. S. Westlake), of Le Roy; Esther (Mrs. James P. 
Quackenbush), also of Le Roy ; Harlan F , of Bergen ; and Sabrina (Mrs, 
Henry Rowe), of Kansas. Mr. Fordham, the father, died in 1885, and 
was really a pioneer of four-score years. His wife survives him, and re- 



TOWN OF BERGEN. 339 



sides with her daughter, Mrs. Quackenbush. Harlan F. Fordham, the 
younger son, born August 4, 1837, is a farmer on the Lake road about 
two miles south of Bergen village. He enlisted in Co. I, 129th Regt 
N. Y. v., August 9, 1862, serving to the close of the war. He partici- 
pated in the battles of Spottsylvania, Cold Harbor, Hatcher's Run, Peters- 
burg, and several minor engagements. He was severely wounded at Cold 
Harbor, and was honorably discharged June 25, 1865. He was married, 
January 5, 1869, to Sarah, daughter of John D. and Sibyl Seely, of Leon, 
Cattaraugus County, N. Y. They have two children, Ruth L., born July 
24, 1 87 1, and Orwell S., born January 2, 1877. Mr. Fordham has served 
his town as justice. The father, Francis, was employed as a messenger 
in the War of 1812, when 12 years old, and passed through many hair- 
breadth escapes. 

Abner Gay was born in Pittsfield, Mass., June 12, 1806. He learned 
the trade of carriagemaker, but the latter part ofihis life was spent in farm- 
ing. He moved from his native town to Lebanon Springs, where he lived 
till 1837, and came to Byron, this county, in 1856. September 9, 1830, 
he married Rachel M. Rowley, of Lebanon Springs, and died July 15, 1875. 
His son, G. Rowley, was born in Byron, December 26, 1838, and is a 
farmer. He is also agent for Lister Brothers, dealers in standard and 
chemical fertih'zers, and agent for the Western New York Hedge Com- 
pany. He married, first, Aggie A. Grey, December 26, 1865, who died 
June 4, 1866, and second, Emma A., daughter of Jonas and Mary Shaf- 
fer, of Clarkson, N. Y., November 16, 1872, by whom he has a daughter, 
Hattie J., born March 4, 1873. 

Moses M. Gillette came with his family from Kinderhook, N. Y., in 
1830, to this town. He was born in Connecticut, July 30, 1772, and 
had a family of eight children, nearly all of whom died in the prime of 
life. He was a schoolmate with Martin Van Buren, and served in the 
War of 1812, holding the commission of captain. He died September 
17, 1847, and his wife in June 1854. Sylvester Gillette, the only sur- 
viving son, was born at Kinderhook, January 16, 18 16, and came here 
in 1830, when 14 years old. He is a farmer and has resided on the 
same farm over 50 years. November 4, 1852, he married Mary A. 
Hoag, of Ridgway, Orleans County, and three children were born to 
them, viz.: Miller S., now residing at Livonia Station, born April 29, 
1854; Mary O. (Mrs. A. G. Holdridge), born February 11, 1857; and 
Luella A. (Mrs. George M. Gillette), born August 16, 1865, who now 
resides with her father. The mother died March 18, 1886. Mr. Gil- 
lette has filled prominent places in the gift of his townsmen, and was 
postmaster under President Johnson. 

Zalmon Green was born in Lisle, Broome County, N. Y., October 19, 
1795. He married Eliza Patten, of Cayuga County, in 18 18, and in 
1824, with his family, he permanently located in Bergen as a farmer. 
His farm was on the Swamp road, and a part of the 100,000-acre tract. 
He purchased 50 acres in 1825, and subsequently increased his farm to 



340 GENESEE COUNTY. 



I02 acres. In 1867 he sold the farm to Jerome Spafford, removing to 
the village of Bergen, where lie died June 29, 1886, aged nearly 91 
years. He served in the War of 181 2, and passed through the hottest 
of the battle of Fort Erie without injury. His wife died October 14, 
1865. Seven of their lO children are now living. EHas P. Green, one 
of the sons, was born September 17, 1835, and married Elizabeth H., 
daughter of A. M. and Eunice C. Stewart, of Bergen, July 4, 1857. M""- 
Green has followed the vocation of teaching, and has taught successfully 
nearly 60 terms, being for years the principal of a graded school in Ohio. 
He has resided in Bergen village since 1866. He has two children, 
viz.: W. S., born December 27, i860, and Alice E., born November 5, 
1865. W. S. was educated at the Brockport Normal School. 

Seth Hopkins, son of Joseph, was born near St. Albans, Vt., in 1823, 
and at the age of 1 1 years came to this town with his parents. Fie was 
a farmer, and died August 13, 1859, leaving one living child, Bruce. 
Bruce Hopkins was a farmer, but began teaching school winters at the 
age of 20 years, continuing for 34 terms. He was married, August 20, 
1856, to Ora P., daughter of Loren H. Stevens, of Bergen, and they 
have two children living, Frank, born September 12, i860, and Milli- 
cent B., born October 31, 1871. Frank is engaged in the Western 
Union Telegraph office at Mansfield, Pa. Bruce Hopkins was a soldier 
in the civil war, enlisting June 13, 1861, in Co. A, 3d N. Y. Cav. He 
participated in the battles of White Hall, Kingston, Goldsboro, Stony 
Creek, Charles Station, Little Washington, Reams's Station, Petersburg, 
and other minor engagements. After three years of service he received 
an honorable discharge July 17, 1864. 

Abner Hull, a native of Killingworth, Conn., came to Genesee County 
in 1808. He arrived in the North Woods (so-called) after a journey of 
400 miles, in 21 days, with the family. They had two yoke of oxen and 
a cart. He was justice of the peace for many years, and his reputation 
for honesty and integrity was such that he had to perform the duties of 
executor for many estates. He served as supervisor for many years. 
One of his sons, Ferdinand H., was sheriff of the county in i860; 
another, Carlos A., was elected county clerk in 1867, and has held the 
office since. Abner Hull married Rachel Parmalee, and died in 1882. 
They lived where their son Eugene D. now resides. 

Marcena B. Hewes, son of Ralph, was born in Oneida County, N. Y., 
March 7, 1822. He came to Genesee County when about 20 years old, 
locating in the town of Le Roy, where he resided till 1879, when he 
moved to Bergen. He has a fine, large farm of 290 acres, about four 
miles northwest of Bergen village, and also owns 30 acres in Riga. He 
married Cordelia Banister, October 10, 1848, and 10 of their 11 children 
are living. Dayton Hewes, the fourth son, was born in Le Roy, April 3, 
1862, and by occupation is a farmer. He was educated for a teacher, 
and taught a few terms, but the farm duties predominated and he drifted 
to farming exclusively. October 27, 1 886, he was married to Cora, 



TOWN OF BERGEN. 341 



daughter of George and Amelia Snyder, of Bergen. He and his brother 
Otis now work the farm of their father. 

Daniel Ide, Jr., the first son of Daniel Ide, was born at Sand Lake, 
Rensselaer County, N. Y., October 9, 1829, and during his entire life 
has been a farmer. He resided at Sweden, Monroe County, from 1866 
to 1875, when he moved to Irondequoit, same county, where he still 
resides. He married Geraldine Horton, February 9, 1849, ^^id has five 
children. Dorwin A. Ide, the third child, was born in Milton, Saratoga 
County, March 4, 1 853, and began the occupation of saddlery and har- 
nessmaking at the age of 20. In December, 1877, he came to Bergen 
and began business for himself in the Parrish block. By the fire of 1880 
he lost most of his stock, but soon opened up at another place. He is 
now on Lake street, north of the N. Y. C. & H. R. Railroad tracks, 
where a full line of horse furnishing goods are kept. He also manufact- 
ures harnesses. He was married, December 22, 1880, to Anna A., 
daughter of William and Jane Sands, of Sweden, N. Y., and they have 
one child, George I., born March 28, 1882. 

Hiram Knickerbocker, eldest son of Cornelius and Elizabeth B. Knick- 
erbocker, was born at Northeast, Dutchess County, N, Y., October 22, 
18 15. His father moved to Elba, Genesee County, in 1820, and after 
three years removed to Riga, thence to Avon, where he hired 280 acres 
of land of James Wadsvvorth for seven years. At the expiration of the 
lease he removed to Wilson, N. Y., thence to Gates, Monroe County, 
where he died March 27, 1844. The f^ither, of whom mention has been 
made, was a soldier of 18 12, and was honorably discharged at the close 
of that war. Hiram Knickerbocker came to Bergen in 1840, where he 
still resides, and is by occupation a farmer. February 16, 1 842, he married 
Polly, daughter of Charles S. and Amy Wilcox, Sr., who were originally 
from East Guilford, Conn. Mr. Knickerbocker has been prominently 
connected with the Methodist Episcopal Church for over 40 years, filling 
the position of class leader in the Sunday-school and in the district. 

Fred Lewellyn, youngest son of Frederick and Mary Lewellyn, was 
born in Bergen, August 18, 1849. He followed farming till the spring 
of 1885, when he removed to the village, where he now resides, still re- 
taining his fine farm of 100 acres three miles west of the village. He is 
a dealer in agricultural implements. April 7, 1874, he married Minnie E., 
daughter of Barney and Harriet Sprague, of Batavia, and three children 
have been born to them, namely : Dean, born January 8, 1878 ; George, 
born October 31, 1881 ; and Roy, born September 13, 1884. The 
father, Frederick, was an early settler, coming to the town in 1827, and 
followed farming till his death, May 20, 1881. He was much respected 
by the entire community. 

James Miller, second son of John and Mary Miller, was born in County 

Cumberland, Eng., June 6, 1813. He was but little over two years old 

when Bonaparte was defeated at Waterloo, but such was the rejoicing 

throughout England, and the circumstances were of that impressive char- 

22 



342 



GENESEE COUNTY. 



acter, that he remembers it to this day. He has always been a farmer. 
In 1846 he emigrated to this country, coming directly to Genesee County, 
where he has since resided. He married, February 28, 1849, Ann, daughter 
of James and Ann McDonald, of Scotland, who died September 30, 1884. 
They adopted a niece, Nettie, when she was only two weeks old, who is 
now the wife of John Menzie, of Riga, N. Y. She was born August 6, 
1854. Mr. Miller is now 'j6 years of age, yet is active and cares for his 
farm of 46 acres. He has been prominent in politics, by faith a Repub- 
lican, and has filled many representative offices and places of trust. He 
and his wife were connected with the First Congregational Church here in 
1852, and have been very prominent in its workings and support since. In 
1880 he was appointed to take the census of the town, which, with his 
daughter's assistance, was very efficiently completed. 

James A. Miller, son of Henry and Evaline Miller, was born in Coopers- 
town, N. Y., August 3, 1830. He early learned the carriagemaking trade, 
and followed it. At the age of 22 he went to Binghamton, N. Y., worked 
there nine years, marrying in the meantime Sarah A., daughter of Joseph 
and Sally Chalker, of that city. In 1861 he enlisted in the 16th Bat. 
N. Y. V. He removed to Bergen in 1867, engaging at his trade. Their 
four children now living are Orville J., born October 19, 1858 ; Lewis J., 
born October 26, 1863 ; Albion J., born October 6, 1869 ; and Bertha E., 
born March 26, 1874. The first two sons are now engaged in business 
in the town, and both sustain a high reputation for their mechanical inge- 
nuity. Orville has three distinct trades — machinist, brass molder, and 
pattermaker. His accomplishments seem miraculous when considered in 
the light of circumstances. At present the manufacture of brass cylin- 
der force-pumps is his specialty. Lewis J. is engaged at his trade — car- 
riage and cuttermaker. He is considered an expert in mechanism, is only 
23 years old, and yet has plenty of the best of work to do. The remain- 
ing children are yet being educated. 

Daniel Merrill was born December 25, 1791, and died August 12, 18 18. 
Daniel F., liis son, was born May i, 18 18, in this town, and was a merchant 
at North Bergen 18 years. He married Elvira, daughter of Joshua S. 
Hudson, of Byron, March 17, 1841. He removed to Bergen village in 
the spring of 1862. He has filled the offices of supervisor and justice of 
his town for several terms, and also the position of assistant assessor of 
internal revenue for many years. In 1872 he received the appointment 
of a position in the New York custom house, where he has been engaged 
for many years, being promoted three different times. He resides at Brook- 
lyn, N. Y. Mr. Merrill has seven children, namely: Frank M., of Ber- 
gen; Edwin H., of Dell Rapids, Dak ; Sarah J. (Mrs. W. H.Torry), ofTona 
wanda, N. Y.; J. C Fremont, of Chicago, 111 ; Rosa E. and Hattie C.,at 
home ; and Zella S.(Mrs. Lafayette Briggs), of Chicago. Frank M. Merrill, 
the eldest son, was born at Clarendon, N. Y., February 9, 1848. At the 
age of I 5 years he entered his father's store as clerk, when, after four years' 
service, he was made deputy postmaster, and in 1869 was appointed post- 



TOWN OF BERGEN. 343 



master, a position he held over 16 years, and added the office of notary 
to it for three terms. He started the Bergen Herald, but the promised 
support not appearing he discontinued it after a few months. He married 
Sophia A., daughter of Horatio and Betsey Graves, of Wethersfield 
Springs, December 31, 1868. Mr. and Mrs. Merrill have four children, 
viz.: Clinton S., born May 24, 1870; Bertram G., born March 15, 1873 ; 
Lillian S., born October 1 1, 1874; and Daniel H., born December 3, 1878. 
Mr. Merrill's grandfather, Joshua S. Hudson, was a veteran of 18 1 2-1 5. 

A very prominent firm, and one of long standing, is composed of 
"William and Thomas Morton, twin brothers. They were born on the 
Isle of Man, Eng., September 3, 1827, and engaged in the tailors' trade 
at the age of 12 years. When only 18 years old they came to America, 
locating and working at Rochester a short time. In the fall of 1846 
they removed to Bergen, where they have since carried on a successful 
business, and can justly be called " old settlers." William Morton mar- 
ried Olive, daughter of Mr. Fosket, of Bergen, June 5, 1856, who died 
May 15, 1886, leaving one daughter, Harriet A,' now Mrs. E. L. Sny- 
der. Thomas Morton was married, October 26, 1856, to Charlotte L., 
daughter of John and Electa Tone, of Bergen, who died January 15, 
1866, leaving one daughter, Charlotte E., now Mrs. E. G. Callister, of 
Byron. Thomas married, second, August 14, 1874, Susan Cailister. 
These brothers have continued in business and have lived together ex- 
cept about nine years. 

David McKenzie, a native of Inverness-shire, Scotland, was born Feb- 
ruary 2, 1806. He was bound out at the age of 14 to the carpenter and 
joiner trade. This apprenticeship was completed at the age of 21, when 
he came to America and worked in New York city three years, and in 
183 I went to Hamilton, Canada. In 1833 he removed to Franklinville, 
Catcaraugus County, N. Y., where he took up 130 acres of wild land, and 
built a house. While here he, with Lansing Crosly, built several houses, 
mills, etc. In 1843 he came to Bergen, where he lived 40 years, and re- 
moved to Michigan, where he died April 1 1, 1886. In 1830 he married 
Anna, daughter of Nathan and Anna Cochrane, who died July 26, 1880, 
leaving six children, now living, viz.: Thomas, born August 15, 1833; 
James R., born July 12, 1837; Nathan, born December 27, 1839; Anna, 
born December 29, 1841, now Mrs. Jerome Spafiford ; Mary (Mrs. 
George Rathbone), born June lO, 1844; and William, born November 
29, 1846. James R. McKenzie has resided in Bergen village since his 
majority. December 22, 1864, he married Anna, daughter of John and 
Mary Menzie, of Riga, N. Y., and six children were born to them, of 
whom only four are living, namely: Mary, born February i, 1866; Roy, 
born November 29, 1870; Anna C, born January 17, 1877; Kenneth, 
born August 10, 1879; Jennie, born July 26, 1868, died December 29, 
1875 ; and David, born March 4, 1872, died December 17, 1875. 
James R. McKenz'e built the first planing-mill and started the first lum- 
.ber yard in the town, in 1867. A large portion of the buildings in the 



344 GENESEE COUNTY. 



village have been erected under his supervision, and after the large fire 
he erected lO of the fine brick blocks on Lake street. 

William Johnson Mansfield was born in the town of Manchester, Vt.. 
March 22, -1819, and the most of his life has been spent in farming, al- 
though in 1857-58 he was in the grocery business near the site occupied 
by S. E. Spencer. He married Anna, daughter of Harvey and Polly 
Field. March 26, 1846. who died April 2, 1864, leaving three children, 
as follows: Mary J , now the widow of Thomas J. Thompson, of Bergen; 
Sarah A., of this village ; and George W., also of Bergen. He after- 
wards moved to Wisconsin, where he still resides. He served with honor 
in the civil war. George W. Mansfield, his only son, is now a resident 
of Bergen, and a farmer by occupation. He married, December r/, 
1879, Ada L., daughter of Asa and Catharine Clothier, of Mexico, N. Y. 
Two children were born to them, viz : Onnolu W., December 3, 1880, 
and Dayton H., September 22, 1886. 

In the parish of Lagan, Scotland, August 16, 18 14, Donald McPherson, 
the fifth son of John McPherson, was born, and in 1837 ^^^ came to this 
State, settling at Riga, Monroe County. He followed farming till 1840, 
when he came to Bergen, purchased a warehouse, and has since followed 
the produce and coal business. In January. 1840, he married Jane, daugh- 
ter of Duncan and Isabel McPherson, of Wheatland, Monroe County, who 
died in 1845. January i. 1847, he married, second, Margery, daughter of 
John and Catharine Gordon, of Caledonia, Livingston County, and Daniel, 
J., their only surviving child, is engaged in business with his father and 
resides in the village. Donald McPherson is a prominent member of the 
First Congregational Church, which he joined in early life, and has filled 
its offices with fidelity and ability for more than a score- of years. 

Harvey Parmelee, son of Capt. Phineas Parmelee, was born at East 
Guilford, now Madison, Conn , ir. 1794. He came with his father to this 
town in 1 809, when it was a \\ ilderness, where he took up land near what 
is now known as " Stone Church." The father died in 1810, but Harvey 
remained on the farm until 1886 — a period of 77 years. February 9. 1825, 
he married Lucinda B. Ward, of Bergen, who died July I, 1852, leaving 
three children, as follows: Edward H., born November 13, 1825; Lu- 
cinda E., born June 26, 1831 ; and Myron H., born May 12. 1835. ^11 
are living in Genesee County. Myron H., the youngest, resided with his 
father on the farm until 1886. He married Mary J., daughter of Jared 
and Nancy ATiwa^er, of Riga, N. Y., March 31, i860. He has filled many 
prominent positions among his townsmen, and among others has been 
supervisor of his town three terms. 

Samuel Parker removed from Peru. Mass., at an early day, with his 
son, Eleazer. then only eight years old, locating in Byron. The grandson 
of Samuel, Sylvester E. Parker, was born in the town of Elba in 1827, 
and has spent his life in Genesee County. He married Sophia S. Gifford, 
of Bergen, in 1848, and removed to this town in 1871. He followed farm- 
ing for many years, and still owns the farm of 150 acres that was taken 



TOWN OF BERGEN. 345 



up by his grandfather in i8ri. He makes the breeding of fine-wooled 
sheep a specialty. He has filled the office of justice of the peace for sev- 
eral years. 

Hon. Horatio Reed was bdrn in Tolland, Conn., June 13, 1798, and re- 
moved to Otsego County, N. Y., in 1815,10 Orleans County in 1825, and 
to Bergen, January i, 1845. He is a farmer, but has been very promi- 
nent in the affairs of the county. He was inspector of schools in Claren- 
don 16 years, served several years as supervisor, assessor, and justice, and 
served Orleans County in the Assembly during 1838-39. He has spent 
a long life as an active Sabbath- school and Christian worker, and has ever 
acknowledged the guiding hand of Providence to lead him in his ways. 
He married Jane Green, May 22j 1828, daughter of Joshua Green, who 
was also a settler in this town in 1809. Jane Green, his wife, was born 
May 22, 1808, at Rome, N. Y., and died at North Bergen, September 13, 
1883, after residing in Genesee County 74 years. Their family consisted 
of three sons and one daughter, viz.: Andrew H., born November 26, 
1829, died August 13, 1849; Herbert, born April 19, 1832, was killed 
while serving as captain in the 3d Mo. Cav., at Little Rock, Ark., Septem- 
ber 10, 1863 ; Mrs. Harriet S. Lewis, born October 4, 1834, now residing 
at Brockport, N. Y.; and Charles N., born May 9, 1837. The latter at- 
tended Cary Academy and Monroe Institute, and came to Bergen, Janu- 
ary 1, 1845. His occupation is farming. September 25, i860, he mar- 
ried Charlotte A., daughter of Nathan B. and Mary Church Griffin, of 
Bergen, and their family consists of two sons — Herbert Griffin Reed, born 
December 2, 1864, and Charles L6uie Reed, born February 2, 1872. 

Isaac Southworth, the second son of Samuel Southworth, was born in 
Cayuga County, N. Y., December 15, 1794, and e^irly learned the trade 
of carpenter and joiner, which for 20 years he closely followed. He was 
twice married, first, to Rachel, daughter of John and Margeret Tone, 
January ii, 1820, and second, to Elizabeth B, daughter of John and 
Mary Bower, who died April 12, 1836. Eight children were born to 
him by the first and one by the second marriage. Seven of the eight 
are living. Isaac Southworth came here in 1821 and died August 17, 
1872. He was a soldier in the War of 1812-15, although young, and 
received an honorable discharge. Andrew T. Southworth, the eldest 
son, was born in this town August 12, 1824, and remained on his fa- 
ther's farm until 18 years of age. He then hired out for ^ix months on 
a farm for $10 a month, which he drew at the end of that time, plac- 
ing $50 of it at interest, which was the foundation of his future financial 
success. He was married, September 23. 1853, to Eliza A., widow of 
Marlin Mosier, of this town, who died September 2, 1885, leaving no 
children. Mr. Southworth soon became a speculator, buying stock for 
several years, then grain and produce till 1880, when his warehouse and 
dwelling were burned with his barns, furniture, etg. In 1881 he built a 
large brick block, 50x84 feet, the lower floor containing four stores, in 
one of which he opened a flour and feed store. He also engaged in the 



146 GENESEE COUNTY. 



manufacture and sale of harnesses, agricultural implements, etc. He has 
filled honorably and ably the ofifices of justice, assessor, trustee of the 
village, clerk of trustees of the Methodist Episcopal Church, etc. He 
married for his second wife, December 22, 1886, Mrs. Amy A. Gifford, 
a resident of this village. 

John B. Southvvorth, the only son of Isaac Southworth by his second 
wife, was born July 25, 1841, in Bergen, on the home farm. He has 
always been a farmer here except one year that he was employed by the 
N. Y. C.& H. R. R. R. February22, 1862, he married Mary J., daughter 
Maiden and Electa Gifford, who died January 27, 1882, leaving seven 
children, viz.: Esther M., born August 26, 1862 ; Mary E., born Octo- 
ber 23, 1864; Isaac, born February 17, 1866; Minnie A., born April 23, 
1868 ; Rosannah L., born December 13, 1869 ; Catharine, born August 
8, 1871 ; and Ellen A., born May 26, 1874. He married, second, Al- 
mira J. Moore, widow of George Moore, July 24, 1883. Although he 
owns other farms he still retains and works the home farm on which he 
was born. He has filled offices of trust and honor in his town for many 
years. 

William Storer came to this town from Killingworth, Conn., in 1828. 
His family consisted of a wife and six children, two of whom only now 
survive, viz.: Eben, who lives in Flint, Mich., and Danford, of Bergen. 
William Storer died here in 1886, aged 90 years. Danford, the youngest 
son, born February 2, 1820, was about seven years old when he came 
to this town with his father. He has been a farmer since he has resided 
here. He married Emily A., daughter of William Ellis, Jr., of Norwich, 
Conn., whose family consisted of eight children, who are still living, the 
eldest being over 72 years old. Danford Storer has two children by 
adoption — Charles S. Mills, in Michigan, and Julia, now Mrs. Gilbert 
Briggs, of Ovid, Mich. Mr. Storer sold his farm at West Bergen (part 
of which was his father's homestead since 1830), and now lives a retired 
life, enjoying the fruits of his industry. 

Jay W. Stratton was born at Roxbury, Delaware County, N. Y., No- 
vember 21, 1832. He was the youngest son of Walter and Esther 
Stratton, was educated at the Binghamton Academy, and engaged in 
farming till he was about 25 years old, when he taught a few terms, but 
finally learned the trade of carpenter and joiner, which he followed for 
15 years. He has been twice married, first, to Emma, daughter of Jesse 
D. Minkler, of Binghamton, who died April 3, 1882, leaving three chil- 
dren, viz.: Edward E., born January 3, 1863, who has long been the 
station agent of the West Shore depot in this town ; Jessie E., born 
October 25, 1865, now Mrs. Charles Patterson, of Rochester, N. Y.; and 
Nellie E., born October 18, 1873, who has been attending school at Gil- 
boa, N. Y. He married, second, Eva, daughter of John H. Hilyer, of 
New Hudson, N. Y. At the age of 33 Mr. Stratton enlisted in the 193d 
Regt. N. Y. v., as sergeant, and was honorably discharged January 18, 
1866. He came to Bergen in 1874, and has been engaged in the coal 



TOWN OF BERGEN. 347 



business for 10 years, and also as insurance and real estate agent. While 
he was acting justice he was elected as associate justice of the county 
courts. Mr. Stratton was a schoolmate with lay Gould at Roxbury, 
N. Y. 

Eugene L. Seely, the fourth son of Thaddeus and Susannah Seely, was 
born in Orange County, N. Y., November 4, 1804. He was a farmer, 
and married Sally Gilmore, of Churchville, N. Y., who bore him 13 chil- 
dren, nine of whom survive. He died January 6, 1883. Harriet, now 
the wife of Vincent Brown, and Laura, wife of Charles Birge, live in 
Michigan; Elizabeth, wife of John McPherson, lives in Le Roy; Sarah, 
wife of Joseph Farnham, lives in Bergen ; Homer and Eugene L., live 
in Bergen, on the Lake road ; and Maurice Hves at Stone Church. The 
latter is a grocer and postmaster at that place, and was born February 
25, 1 841. He married, February 10, 1884, Mary, daughter of Frede- 
rick Gearing, of Riga, N. Y. He has been a resident of this town his 
entire life except eight years spent in Michigan. Homer Seely, the 
eldest son of Eugene L., was born August 24, 1833, and has followed 
farming, now residing on the home farm of his father. Me was married, 
December 3, 1877, to Lovina Orra, daughter of L. Farnham, of Bergen, 
and they have two children, namely: Sarah, born August lo, i865,and 
Homer L., born December 3, 1870. His grandfather on his mother's 
side served in the War of 181 2. 

John Tone, the fourth son of John A. Tone, was born in Scipio, Cay- 
uga County, N. Y., October 17, 1799. In 1820 he came with his father 
to this town, locating on the farm now known as the Elijah Loomis place, 
which was owned by the Tone family for 46 consecutive years. John A. 
Tone died September 29, 1825. John Tone married Electa E. Hubbard, 
of Oneida County, N. Y., in May, 1 824. He was a builder and contractor, 
and many of the buildings of Bergen, Byron, Sweden, etc., are the wit- 
nesses of his skill. He had a family of 1 1 children, six of whom survive. 
He was a prominent member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, acting 
as trustee and leader for many years. He died February 27, 1861, and 
his wife November 2, 1872. Thomas J. Tone, the eldest son of John A., 
was born in Bergen, June 5, 1830, and received his education at the dis- 
trict school of the town and at the Brockport Collegiate Institute. At 
the age of 22 he went to Claysville, Kentucky, where he taught school, 
thence to Cincinnati, O., where he taught 12 years, and then resigned 
and went into the commission business for a year and a half He after- 
wards returned to Bergen, where he has remained, engaged in the busi- 
ness of dealer in grain, produce, and coal, and proprietor of Tone's eleva- 
tor. October 18, 1858, he married Catharine D., daughter of Sumner 
SpafTord, of this town, and has three children, viz.: S. La Rue. born No- 
vember I, 1864; Frank D., born October 16, 1868; and Florence M, 
born January 3, 1 87 1. Mr Tone has been a prominent member of the 
First Congregational Church, leading the Sunday-school, and acting as 
trustee and clerk of the society. He is also largely interested in all mat- 



348 GENESEE COUNTY. 



ters of public interest, so much so that he has long been one of the board 
of trustees of the public school. 

Dr. W. M. Townsend, born in Mendon, Monroe County, in 1827, was 
educated at Philadelphia and graduated at Jefferson Medical College in 
1853. He married, June 22, 1849, Sarah Lamphier, of Lima, N. Y., and 
came to Bergen in 1859 from Riga, N. Y. He was surgeon in the 44th 
and 47th N. Y. Vols, from New York, from 1861 to 1864, and is now en- 
gaged in a successful and extended practice in Genesee and Monroe 
counties. 

Samuel C. Tulley, the second son of Francis S. and Adaline Tulley, 
was born September 22, 1 837, in the city of New York. His father was 
a well-known dealer in stoves, gas fixtures, etc., in Rochester, where he 
came in 1 840, and died there in 1884. Samuel C. Tulley began busi- 
ness for himself in this town in 1859, and has followed the hardware busi- 
ness since. February 21, 1865, he married Mary I., daughter of James R. 
and Mary Thompson, of Philadelphia. Pa., and three children have been 
born to them, as follows: Loa Belle, December 20, 1865, died April 16, 
1867; James F., January 4, 1868; and Harry L, January 8, 1870. Mr. 
Tulley is a general and extensive hardware dealer. In 1886 he erected 
a fine building, of brick, corner of Lake and Buffalo streets, 50x157 feet, 
and occupies the entire front for his large business. 

Nelson D. Wright was born in the town of Bergen, January 22, 1826. 
His father, Alfred Wright, came to this town from Guilford, Conn., in 
1807, with his father, who was an early settler of the town, one of the 
founders of the Congregational Church, and a prominent citizen of those 
early days. Nelson married Mary F. Green, of Bergen, in 1851. He 
was a farmer for 30 years, and then engaged in the produce business. 
His life has been spent in Bergen with the exception of a few years. 

Hon. Samuel Church, an old resident of Bergen, was born in Sangers- 
field, Oneida County, N. Y., December 16, 1809. He was one of 11 
children. One brother, George H., survives him, and lives in Water- 
ville, Oneida County — a prominent man politically and religiously. 

Mr. Church came to Bergen at the age of 16, in 1825, on a packet 
boat, the year the Erie Canal was opened, and walked from Brockport 
to Bergen. He attended the village school during the winter. In the 
spring he chose the trade of a blacksmith, entering the shop of C. B. 
Bigelow, his half brother, giving attention to his studies during the win- 
ter seasons until he attained his majority. He made great progress in 
learning as well as in business. His earlier days were those of earnest 
toil and struggle. He had no aid of money, only as he earned it by his 
own labor. He soon mastered the trade, hired the shop, and commenced 
business for himself, which he managed successfully until his health began 
to fail He then followed the business of broker. Mr. Church never re- 
covered hishealth, but battled with disease periodically during a life of only 
56 years. May 17, 1835, he married Harriet A., youngest daughter of 
Capt. Austin Wilcox,, a pioneer of the town. She still lives in Bergen. 




"raireaiin Janes. 



TOWN OF BERGEN. 349 



Their children are Mrs. B. F. Taber, of Buffalo ; George H., a lumber 
dealer, of Bergen ; and Charles Samuel, who died in 1875, at the age of 
17 years. 

Of Samuel Church, Ebenezer Scofield, his cotemporary, said : 

" Mr. Church has resided here since 1825, where he was so favorably known and highly 
esteemed for his many virtues and pleasing social qualities. He will long he remem- 
bered by his numerous friends and associates, who ever took pleasure in his society. 
He was a man of more than ordinary mental faculties, whose opinion was looked up to in 
matters of public interest by all who knew him. He had filled many public positions 
with honor to himself and credit to his town and county. His loss will be deeply felt 
by the community, and by his family who are sorely afflicted by the bereavement." 

The Rochester U)iion and Advertiser oi April 14, 1866, had the fol- 
lowing: 

" At the session of Genesee County Court, on Tuesday last, the following resolutions 
on the death of Samuel Church, Sessions justice, were presented by William G. Bryan, 
Esq., and ordered by the court entered at large in the minutes : 

" 'Resolved, That the members of the bar of Genesee County have heard with regret of 
the sad and unexpected intelligence of the sudden death of Samuel Church, Esq., one 
of the justices of Sessions of Genesee County ; that as a magistrate of large experience, 
clear and forcible mind, rare good sense, unquestioned uprightness, and integrity of 
purpose and purity of character, he will be favorably remembered by the community in 
which he has so long resided ; and that we shall miss and lament his absence from the 
bench to which he has twice been chosen by the people of this county. 

" 'Resolved, That, with the permission of the court, these resolutions be entered in the 
minutes, and a cdpy transmitted to the widow of_the deceased.' 

" District-Attorney Bissell seconded the resolutions, adding some remarks referring 
to his long acquaintance with deceased, and the loss the county has sustained in the 
death of so excellent a magistrate. The county judge, in directing the entry of the 
resolutions, spoke at length of the dilligence and aptitude of Mr. Church, both as a 
Sessions judge, magistrate, and business man ; and it being suggested that the funeral 
would take place to-morrow, the court ordered, as a mark of respect to the memory of 
deceased, that the jury be discharged, and the Court of Sessions adjourned until 
Thursday morning." 

Capt. Austin Wilcox, a pioneer of Western New York, was born in 
Madison, Conn., October 28, 1779, and married Clarissa, daughter of 
Ezra Nettleton and Damaris Seward, of Killingworth, Conn., March 
27, 1805. They lived in Westbrook, Conn., he following the business 
of a blacksmith, spiking vessels, till May 20, 18 1 5, when they emigrated 
to Bergen, where he had previously been to explore the country and 
make a purchase in 1813. Their journey of 400 miles was made with 
two yoke of oxen and a covered wagon, containing their necessary valu- 
ables, and a one-horse covered wagon, in which the family, consist- 
ing of the mother and five childreo, rode. All the children were under 
10 years of age. Three more children were added to this family in 
after years. Mrs. Wilcox's life in this new settlement, with her growing 
family, was one of hardship and toil, like that of all the pioneers, a life 
she was not calculated for. She was reared tenderly, in affluence, and 
possessed a slender constitution, predisposed to consumption. At an 
early age, after an illness of 18 months, she feFl a victim, with many 
others of the pioneer mothers, to the prevailing malady of the pioneer 
settlement, — consumption, — leaving her little family of eight children to 



;50 GENESEE COUNTY. 



the care of a tender husband. Her death occurred in June, 1828, at the 
age of 49 years. The Congregational Church on the hill was just com- 
pleted, and hers was the first funeral held there. 

Chloe B., the oldest daughter, married Ebenezer Arnold in 1 825, and 
died aged 31, leaving two sons, H. Windsor, now living in Bergen, and 
Homer W., deceased. Polly N. married William Carey, and removed to 
Fond du Lac, Wis., in 1845. Mr. Carey died in March following their 
removal, and Mrs. Carey in 1866. Their children numbered eight, three 
of whom are now living in Fond du Lac, prominent and useful citizens 
Clarissa married Ira Bidwell. They removed to Adrian, Mich., in 1836. 
She died at the age of 54. They had five children. Austin Scranton, 
the oldest, married Hannah Bodwell, of Bergen, and removed to Adrian, 
Mich., in 1837. ^^^ purchased 80 acres of land west of the village, then 
an unbroken forest. His highest ambition seemed to be to excel in his 
calling, and he was able to look out upon over 200 acres of splendid farm- 
ing land changed from a wilderness to fruitful fields by his own indus- 
try. He always declined office and notoriety. He is deceased. He had 
born to him six children. Elizabeth A. married Josiah Pierson, Jr., of 
Bergen, where they resided during her short life of 31 years. They had 
one son and one daughter. Harriet A., born January 31, 1817, married. 
May 17, 1835, Samuel Church, of Bergen, where she still resides. Their 
children are Mrs. B. F. Taber, of Buffalo ; George H., of Bergen ; and 
Charles Samuel (deceased). William Seward, born April 25, 18 19, lived 
in Bergen until September, 1836, when he went to Michigan in the 
employ of his brother-in-law, Ira Bidwell. He afterwards became a 
partner in the business, and soon after started the hardware store and 
continued the business alone until 1867, when his brother H. H. became 
his partner. After five years the firm was changed to Wilcox Brothers 
& Co., when George A., son of W. S., became a partner. This is the 
name of the firm at the present time. 

In 1848 W S. Wilcox was elected treasurer of the village of Adrian, 
and held the office one year. In 1864 he was elected to the legisla- 
ture of Michigan, which ofiice he held two terms, and was chosen a 
member of the ways and means committee, and during the second term 
acted as its chairman. In the spring of 1 865 he was elected mayor of 
the city of Adrian. In the fall of 1870. he was chosen State Senator, 
which office he held one term, and was chairman of the finance com- 
mittee. In 1869 he was appointed State prison inspector by Governor 
Baldwin, and was immediately chosen president of the board of inspec- 
tors, which he held for 12 years. In 1866 he was elected president of 
the Michigan State Insurance Co., which position he still holds. In 
1884 he was elected one of the presidential electors on the Republican 
ticket In 1879 he became partner in the firm of Whitney & Wilcox, 
Commercial P2xchange Bank, giving his time and attention to the insti- 
tution. • For 50 years successively he has been superintendent of the 
Bapti.st Sunday-school, .^r. Wilcox was first married at Benton, Ind., 






"X 



\ 




-'(^/lA/^a^yn. ci^fe^^^-^ /f/yu>^:^: 



TOWN OF BERGEN. 351 



May 10, 1842, to Sarah Frances, daughter of Rev. Bradbury Clay. 
Mrs. Wilcox died February 12, 1852. His second marriage was, August 
17, 1 854, to Miss Josephine Southworth, daughter of Dr. William South- 
worth, of Avon Springs, N. Y. 

Henry Hamilton Wilcox reached his majority in the fall of 1843. He 
went West to seek his fortune, and found employment in the hardware 
store of George L. Bidwell. In the spring of 1844 he received a letter 
from his father expre=;sing feelings of sadness that his boys had all left 
him in his old age. The next morning found his youngest boy, H. H. W., 
homeward bound, that he might be a comfort to his father in his declin- 
ing years. He remained at Bergen until after the death of his father, 
and in the fall of 1858 he started with his family for Adrian, Mich., again 
with a view of purchasing a farm. He was induced to take a place in his 
brother's hardware store and give his children the benefit of the Adrian 
schools until a favorable opportunity presented for the purchase of a 
farm. Although fresh from the fields, and unaccustomed to business, he 
very soon became master of the situation and the leading salesman in one 
of the largest hardware houses in Southern Michigan. In 1867 he be- 
came one of the firm of Wilcox & Brothers, contributing largely to its 
successful management. Mr. Wilcox was married, in Northampton, 
Mass., in 1844, to Eunice J., 'daughter of Hervey Smith, by whom he 
had five children 

The pioneers of Bergen, who laid at the same time the foundations of 
the church and town, were a noble race of men. Unlike most early set- 
tlements the population was not mixed, but homogeneous. Nearly all of 
them came from Connecticut and Massachusetts, and brought with them 
the sturdy New England virtues of industry, integrity, and high moral 
aim Among them was Capt. Austin Wilcox. W^e wish we could pre- 
sent him to the present and future residents of the town exactly as he 
appeared to his cotemporaries; but that is a difficult matter. His por- 
trait shows that his was a very strong and original character. Mr. 
Lincoln, in preparing a brief sketch of his own life for the Congressional 
Directory, vjyoXq: "Education limited." This describes Capt. Wilcox ; 
but his natural ability and quick wit largely overcame this disadvantage. 

He was a man of stalwart frame and untiring industry. Settling in this 
county before the time of railroads, he soon saw a place was needed where 
man and beast could find refreshment and rest as they sought a market 
for products of Genesee's rich fields, and he soon built up a hotel busi- 
ness, showing tact and ability in that line that in these days would make 
a railroad magnate. When he began hotel life it was in his own house 
on his farm at Bergen Corners. To this building- he made various addi- 
tions as his patronage increased It is impossible for those of the present 
day to understand the enormous travel of those days to Rochester and 
Brockport, when all the produce of the farmers, and all the merchandise 
sold over a large extent of country, passed over these roads. At the same 
time Capt. Wilcox ran a line of stages from Le Roy to Brockport and 



352 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Clarkson, carrying the mails, and also kept the postoffice. But large as 
his patronage was it is difficult to understand how he could have made 
such vast improvements with the very small charges of those days: six- 
pence for lodging; 1 8 and 20 cents for the best of meals. Most of the 
farmers carried their own dinner, a box and oats for their teams, with 
them, and if they paid for a pint of cider and hay to bait their horses, that 
was all it cost them for shed-room and a warm fire before which to eat 
their meals from the ample dinner-pail 

A close observer of men. united with a natural detective ability, made 
him an acute reader of human nature. Quick to detect guilt, and fear- 
less in exposing it, many a rogue has quailed beneath the keen glance of 
his eye, and has been betrayed into a confession of his guilt by his apt 
questions. On one occasion, as a man on horseback rode up to his plat- 
form, he took his horse by the bridle and said to him, in the most abrupt 
manner, "You have stolen this horse !" The man was so startled he could 
only say, " What makes you think so ? " He replied, " If it was your 
horse you would not be riding him with this blind bridle ; he is a valuable 
horse; if you owned him you would not be riding him so hard as you 
are." The men in pursuit soon rode up and captured the thief At another 
time some men in pursuit of a thief,^who was escaping to Canada, stopped 
at his house to dine and feed their horses. At he listened to their con- 
versation he found they were in trouble because they did not know the 
name of the thief and could not insert it in the warrant for his arrest. He 
asked to see the warrant, took his pen, and, after filling the blank, handed 
it back, saying, " What I have written will read any man's name that ever 
lived." Many other acts might be told illustrating his ready detective 
wit. His manner of expressing himself was so striking and original as to 
draw around him a crowd of listeners, not only at home, but wherever he 
traveled. At a meeting of the pioneers in Rochester he was called upon 
to relate his experience as a pioneer. He began : " I was born in Madi- 
son, Conn. 1 remember the day just as well [great laughter] as any other 
man remembers his birthday." With this beginning he did not laclc atten- 
tion to the close of his strikingly original address. 

He was ever foremost in promoting public good and spared neither his 
time or means. The church and its interests were ever dear to him, and 
when, in mature years, he gave to the subject of personal religion, thought 
and study, that same sense of right that ever governed him was acted 
upon, and he became a true, consistent member of the church, making a 
public profession in 1836. This consecration was largely due to the 
power of religious instruction and example of his mother, who was a 
woman whose peculiarities were more strongly marked than his own. His 
peculiar traits of character were chiefly inherited from her. Her religion 
was simple, earnest, genial, and hence influential with her children and 
others. At the age of 60 she came to Genesee County to visit her chil- 
dren. Here she died and is buried in beautiful Mount Rest Cemetery, 
where many of her decendants lie. He ever took a deep interest in re- 



TOWN OF BERGEN. 



353 



Hgious society, and was for many years one of its trustees and burden 
bearers. The burying-ground was also his pride, he giving his particular 
attention to any matters of interest connected with it. This interest in- 
creased with his years, and was also a family trait for generations. 

His hospitality to mini'^ters of the gospel, who, in his time, nearly all 
traveled in their own conveyances, and who, in the capacity of agents or 
missionaries, were far more numerous than now, was ever unstinted. His 
house was always open to old friends from Connecticut, and his journal 
records many such visits. 

From the Genesee Evangelist, written by his pastor. Rev. Sabine 
McKinney, now of Binghamton, N. Y.: 

" Died in Bergen, Genesee County, New York, Capt. Austin Wilcox, aged ^-j years, 
August i8, 1856. 

"Capt. Wilcox was a native of Madison. Conn., froni whence he removed to Bergen 
in the year 181 5. He was widely known as a man of great influence, energy, and deci- 
sion of character. He took a hearty interest in everything which he regarded as of public 
utility, and was especially remarkable for kind attention to and sympathy for the 
sick, and for his attendance at the house of mourning, which won for him the gratitude 
of many. Both as a member of the First Congregational Society of Bergen, and for 
many years one of its trustees, he was liberal and efficient, and the society is largely 
indebted to his efforts for their beautiful church edifice. He ever welcomed ministers 
of the gospel to the hospitalities' of his house, in that respect setting an example worthy 
of all imitation, and while in health was a constant attendant upon divine service. 
Hopefully converted after he was 50 years of age, he made a public profession of his 
faith in 1836. During the past spring and summer he frequently expressed it as his 
conviction that his days on earth were nearly numbered, and though he had not that full 
assurance which God is pleased to give to some of his children, yet he indulged the 
hope that, through grace in the Lord Jesus Christ, his name was written the Book of 
Life." 

Dea. Pitman Wilco.x, one of the pioneer settlers of Genesee County, 
came from East Guilford, Conn., in 1810. He was married to Eliza Wil- 
cox, and they reared a family of five sons, viz.: Thomas F , Abel E., 
Edmund, Harmon, and Pitman, Jr. He died July 13, 1828. The second 
son, Abel E., was born August 12, 1 801, and came to this county with his 
father when about eight years old. He followed farming, and had neces- 
sarily received, from the early condition of the new country, a limited edu- 
cation. He married Clara Richmond, of Cayuga County, N. Y., Novem- 
ber 7, 1825, who died December 25, 1826, leaving no children. Mr. 
Wilcox married, second, Elizabeth, daughter of Deacon John and Eliz- 
abeth Spencer, of Bergen, by whom he had 10 children, seven of whom 
survive, viz.: Clara, A., widows of Reynold Curtiss of Cambdride, Eng.; Ed- 
win M.; Jane E. (Mrs. John Birdsall), of South Evanston, 111.; J. Spencer ; 
H. Halsey ; Ellen A. (Mrs. Linden D. Arnold); and Charles J., of 
Vicksburg, Mich. Abel E. Wilcox became a metnber of the First Con- 
gregational Church of Bergen in 1S34, with which he was prominently 
connected for years as deacon. He died October 2, 1879, aged 76 years. 
Edwin M., the eldest, born March 5, 1 836, was married, December 19, 
1865, to Ella A. Dudley, of Guilford, Conn , and their children are Hamil- 
ton, born February 27, 1867 ; L. Dudley, born May 25, 1870 ; William 
S., born May 14, 1875 ; and Edwin E., born June 23, 1880. Edwin M. 



354 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Wilcox enlisted in Co. G, 14th Conn. Inf., July 27, 1862, and continued 
in the service to the close of the war, participating in the battles of Fred- 
ericksburg, Chancellorsville, Wilderness, Petersburg, and several minor 
engagements. He was wounded at Fredericksburg and agam at the 
Wilderness, and was twice a prisoner, being once in Libby and once in 
Belle Isle. After the war he returned to farming. J. Spencer Wilcox, 
second son of Abel E., was born in Bergen, November 25, 1842, and 
has followed farming April 1 1, 1872, he married Hermoione, daughter 
of William Patten, of Bergen, by whom he had four children, as fol- 
lows: Clarence E., born March 4, 1873 ; Mary E., born December 8, 
1875 ; Nellie G., born September 25, 1877 ; and Russell H., born March 
II, 1882. H. Halsey, third son of Abel E., now living, was born in 
this town November 23, 1847. He has always lived in Bergen as a 
farmer and breeder of thoroughbred sheep. He was married, October 
10, 1878, to Anna M., daughter of William P. Squiers, of Churchville, 
N. Y., and they have three children, as follows: Anna Mabel, born Au- 
gust 19, 1879; Roscoe S., born June 14, 1882; and Marion H., born 
April 15, 1884. 

Charles J. Wilcox, youngest son of Abel E. Wilcox, was born in Ber- 
gen, January 7, 1856, and in his early years worked with his father on 
the farm. At the age of 20 he graduated from Eastman's Commercial 
College. In the spring of 1 879 he went to Kalamazoo, Mich., and re- 
mained there, farming, seven years, when he removed to Vicksburg, 
Mich., where he now resides. He married Elizabeth Adams, of Kala- 
mazoo County, Mich., February 13, 1882, and they have one child, Ina 
Belle, born February 14, 1883. 

Thomas J. Wilcox, fourth son of Elias and Rachel Wilcox, was born in 
Sweden, Monroe County, N. Y., January 26. 1835, removing to Bergen 
with his parents when quite young, where his younger days were spent 
in work on the farm and attending the common schools. At the age of 
17 he began apprenticeship with Carmine Martin, at carpentering, where 
he was employed seven years. In 1859 he married Eleanor, daughter of 
Carmine and Caroline Martin, at Avon, Livingston County, N. Y. He 
enhsted in the service of his country October 5, 1 861, in the 27th N. Y. 
Vols. He was a member of Scott's cornet band of Rochester. From 
Washington, D. C, he was ordered to Western Virginia, where he was 
taken sick with typhoid fever, and died at the 7th Brigade Hospital, Jan- 
uary 26, 1862. His remains were at once brought to Bergen, and now 
rest in Mount Rest Cemetery. He left, surviving him, his wife and one 
son, Sanford H. Wilcox, who is now engaged in the carpenter and joiner 
business. Mrs. Eleanor Wilcox, his widow, still resides here, and is a 
■dressmaker. 

The third child of John and Betsey Walker, born April 30, 1832, was 
William C. Walker. He was from Gates, Monroe County, N. Y., whence 
he was removed to Ogden, on the town line of Riga, at the tender age of 
two years. Here the father died in 1881. William C, at the age of 22, 



TUWN OF BERGEN. 355 



purchased a farm in Riga, one mile east of Bergen village, where he lived 
till 1882, when he removed to the village. The year previous he had 
built a fine brick building on Lake street, corner of Rochester, for a hotel, 
which he opened to the public in the spring as the "'Walker House." 
This is first-class in all its appointments and enjoys the favor of ihe 
public. He married, April 4, 1857, Candace, daughter of Rhoderick and 
Mary Gooding, who died January 5, 1858, leaving no children. August 
21, 1861, he married Elizabeth A., daughter of Leander and Lavia Hitch- 
cock, of Eagle Harbor, Orleans County, and they have five children — 
Gertrude E., Sidney E., Dewitt C, and Lewis E. Mr. Walker, as a farmer, 
made a speciaty of hops, which proved very successful under his man- 
agement. The genealogy of the family is extensive, extending back to 
1620, and has been published down to 1861. W. C Walker, grandfather 
of the present William C, was born at Wtst Becktt, Mass., in 1761, and 
died October 8, 1841. John Walker was also born at West Becket, No- 
vember 18, 1795, married Betsey Sprague in 1823, and died in 1881. 

Dr. Levi Ward, son of Levi, and a native of Connecticut, emigrated 
to Bergen in 1807, accompanied by his brother, John Ward. At Le Roy 
they met R. M. Stoddard, agent of the Triangle tract, and 'were induced 
to locate in what was then called the North Woods (now Bergen village). 
Finding temporary quarters in the newly erected log house of Daniel 
Kelsey, Dr. Ward erected a small frame house and covered it with cedar 
shingles, which were then deemed aristocratic for the new country. His 
brother erected a log house, and both began clearing off the land. It 
was on Saturday that they arrived at their new home in the wilderness. 
Accustomed to regular attendance at public worship their first thought 
was to provide for religious exercises. A meeting was agreed upon at 
the house of the new settler, and 14 or 15 persons assembled from the 
scattered settlements. Prayers were offered, a sermon read, and hymns 
were sung. For nine years Dr. Ward was one of the most active of the 
early pioneers He was an efficient helper in all that was to be done in 
the back woods: in opening new roads, establishing schools, oi'ganizing 
religious societies. He came to the new country to find a home for him- 
self and family rather than to practice his profession. In 181 1 he was 
appointed agent to settle the accounts of the commissioners who built 
the bridge over the river at Rochester. In 1812 he was the means of 
getting mail routes established. At the time of the War of 1812 he col- 
lected all the muskets, rifles, etc., with what ammunition could be found, 
for the use of Gen. Davis. He was supervisor for six years, and judge 
of the county at one time. In 18 17 he moved to Rochester. His eldest 
son, W. H., was postmaster of Bergen. 



356 GENESEE COUNTY. 



BETHANY. 



'"^ETHANY, as will be seen by the list of the early settlers, was 
'"^j among the earliest towns which invited the pioneers to its rich 
^^ lands. The most of the settlements were made before the War of 
1812 On June 8th of that year the town was formed, being taken from 
Batavia. The land is rolling in the upper half, and somewhat hilly as the 
lower bounds are reached. It is a well watered section. Black Creek, 
Tonawanda Creek, and White Creek being the principal streams. 

In 1803 John Torrey, Orsamus Kellogg (who had a child born that 
year), Charles Culver, John Dewey, L. D. and Samuel Prindle, Nathaniel 
Pinney, Jedediah Riggs, M. Scott, Horace Shepard, O. Fletcher, David 
Hall, Capt. George Lathrop, and Richard Pearson either settled on lands 
in the town or declared their intention so to do ; and in 1804 many others 
came ; the sound of the axe was daily heard in the forests, and a musical 
and welcome sound it must have been in those days to all those who had 
determined to deny themselves so many comforts in order to make a home 
in the new Genesee country. Capt. Lathrop, who located in the center 
of the town, is said to be the third person who came. He was a captain 
in the War of j8i2, and died on his farm, aged 92 years. Solomon 
Lathrop, who came in 1804, lost his wife about 1816. He went on a visit 
(soon after) to Cattaraugus County, and was never heard from. Henry 
Lathrop located in 1804, and died on his place, aged 85 years. Richard 
Pearson, Sr., came from Lyme, Conn., to Genesee County about 1803, 
bought 155 acres of land for $426.25, and returned to Connecticut, com- 
ing again to the county in 1806. He returned to Connecticut again in 
1 807, and finally came to the county in 1 8 1 2, in which year he bought 50 
acres in the Craigie tract for $200. He married and settled on his land 
in 1 81 5, coming with a neighbor with an ox- team and one horse, each 
family having one child. He died on his farm in 1853, aged 71 years. 
His son lives on the old homestead. Richard Peck, among the earliest 
settlers (1806), was a lieutenant in Col. Rumsey's regiment in the War of 
181 2 ; he was at Chestnut Ridge and Black Rock. The old commission 
signed by Gov. Tompkins is in the possession of his son, who lives in Staf- 
ford. Another son, Benjamin P., lives on the old homestead. 

The Lincoln family were very prominent in the early settlement. Jede- 
diah, who came in 1805, when last heard from was over 96 years of age. 
He was living in Illinois with a son. Peter Putnam located in the north- 
western part of the town in 1805 or 1806 

Because of the valuable water privileges on the Little Tonawanda, in 
the southwest part of the town, there was greater activity there than else- 
where This locality (now Linden) was first called Gad- Pouch, because 
it is supposed " gadding women " were more numerous than elsewhere. 



TOWN OF BETHANY. 357 



The name " Linden " was first suggested by a clerk in the store at that 
place, and the first sign was put up over the mill, Judge Isaac Wilson being 
the postmaster and a justice. John Wilder, a pioneer of Attica, built 
many mills, among which was one, in 18 10, for Judge Wilson at this place. 
This mill was enlarged in 1833 by Daniel Calkins. It was the first grist- 
mill that served the inhabitants of the northern part of Wyoming County, 
and a great portion of the towns of Darien, Alexander, an 1 Bethany. 
About the year 1809 Calvin Barrows came in, and made the pioneers 
glad by fitting up a carding and woolen mill. He came from Massachu- 
setts, and lived in the town 60 years. He built a log house in the same 
year (which was burned), and lived in it six years. He rebuilt about 1 8 1 7 
where Sexturs, a son, now lives Mr. Barrows was a Master Mason and 
a member of Olive Branch Lodge, which met at Huggins's tavern after 
the troubles in Batavia. 

One Coles built a saw-mill in Linden about 1808. There was a fall of 
24 feet to the dam, and owing to insecure foundation this mill tumbled 
over that distance and hurt some of the operatives. Another saw mill 
was built, which was burned. Several fires have occurred in the place 
from time to time, among which have been the stone distillery (started by 
Nathaniel Eastman), which had also been used as a cooper shop by Col- 
lins ; the old store built by Wilson & Dewey ; the railroad depot in 1 860 ; 
the flour-mill in 1879; and the W. H. Barrows house. After the stone 
distillery was destroyed a wooden one was built in 1 825, and a stone one 
in 1838. Some of the owners of the old (Wilson) mill site have been 
George Perry (an old settler). Collins, Remer & Tuttle, Remer & Barrows,, 
and W. H. Barrows. The latter also started a cabinet shop in 1837, con- 
tinuing it for 1 5 years, when he kept a store for four years, and then moved 
to Attica. 

Among the store-keepers were Judge Wilson, Horace Tripman, Web- 
ster (who also had an ashery), and Collins. One Gardner also had a 
store and ashery in 1820. The first tavern there was kept by Joseph 
Chamberlain, in a house built by Mr. Lusk. E. and Jeduthan Faunce 
in 1835 kept a tavern in the house owned by Myron Kemp. 

The first settlers who arrived at Linden were Calvin Barrows, Samuel 
JoUs, Alexander Grimes, Jacob Grimes, Andrew Grimes, Rufus Munger, 
Jesse Fay, Matthew Alger, Sanford Bowers, Israel Everest, Nathan 
Blood, and a few others. A Mr. Towner was an early m.iller. At the 
time of the advent of the railroad, about 1850 or 1852, business was not 
very brisk in the place, there being only a grist-mill, cider and shingle- 
mitl. and a cooper shop. In 1869 one Bunce had a tannery here. Durgy 
& Huggins and Faunce & Whaley had stores. W. E. Kemp a barrel 
factory, S. Metcalf a saw-mill, and Quale Brothers a flour and saw- mill. 
It is supposed Aaron Bailey, in 1828. taught the first school in Linden, 
but Matilda Wedge, in 1808, is credited with being the first teacher in 
the town. 

Canada, a small hamlet on Black Creek, in the eastern part of the 

23 



35! 



GENESEE COUNTY. 



town, claims to have had a mill erected in 1808, by one Bennett, one of 
a family who came in 1805, and for some time the place was called 
" Bennett's Mills." There was a tavern here in early times. No business 
of importance is transacted at the locality at present. 

Sylv'ester Lincoln, in 1805, had a tavern, said to be the first in town; 
the same one, it is presumed, which, in 1821, was kept by C. J Lincoln, 
who was also postmaster and colonel of militia, and where the Masonic 
meetings of Olive Branch Lodge were frequently held after their removal 
from Batavia. B. R. Brown also had a tavern about 1825, and one 
L. Brown, in 1828, kept an inn on the new State road. Nathaniel Hug- 
gins also kept a tavern, built in 1828, and kept by him until his death in 
1852, where the Masons met. This is now the residence of Thomas J. 
Harding. Mr. Huggins was a postmaster in 1832. W. H. Ramsey 
had a tavern in 1841. Nelson Blood had one in 1859, and very early 
Buell Brown kept an inn. R. A. Taylor, in 1864, kept the hotel at East 
Bethany, and Davis Gray kept the same place in 1869. Elisha Hurl- 
burt opened a store in 1808, the same year Sylvester Lincoln opened his 
tavern, each in a log house. 

'The postoffice. at Bethany was established in 1825 by Orange Allen. 
Phineas Smith was postmaster in 1826; E. C. Dibble in 1829 ;C. J. 
Lincoln m 1831 ; and Harvey Prindle later. The firm of Chipman & 
Lusk was in business in 1 830, Owen & Prindle in 1 844, and Carlos A. 
Huggins in 1869. 

A prominent early settler was Richard Powers, a Mason, who died in 
1849, aged 80 years. His son Blanchard was also an active and prom- 
inent man, especially in Masonic matters. The old lodge often met at 
his house. 

T/ie Genesee Manual Labor S^viinary was chartered in 1832, with a 
capital of $20,000. Subscriptions to the amount of $5,516 enabled the 
organizers to erect the building. R. Whiting was the principal from 
1834 to 1 841, and Joseph Hurty until 1844. 

TJie Genesee County alms-house is located in the south part of the 
town, on roads 40 and 41. It has room for 100 inmates, and is a well 
managed institution. The superintendents are C. Crosman, of Alexan- 
der ; Dwight Dimock, of Pembroke ; and H. O. Bostwick, of Batavia. 
Benjamin W. Hartwell, of Pavilion, is the keeper, and Dr. Ganson W. 
Crofif the resident physician. Connected with the house is a farm of 200 
acres in a fine state of cultivation, and is valued at $11,500. An inven- 
tory taken in 1889 showed a total value of $i8,000. In 1890 there were 
73 inmates, the estimated cost of keeping which was 15 cents per day, 
exclusive of the products of the farm. Tliis includes salaries, excepting 
that of superintendent. Wheat, corn, oats, and pork are raised on the 
place. The value of the products raised in 1889 ^^s $2,587. In 1832 
James Thayer, aged 84 years, and Anny Danforth, aged 86, were mar- 
ried here. 

Linden, the first village of importance, is located on the N. Y., L. E. 



TOWN OF BETHANY. 



359 



& W. Railroad, has 35 houses, one school, three stores, one wagon shop, 
one blacksmith shop, a grist-mill (built by George Perry' in 1 881), with 
three runs of stones, one saw-mill, with a capacity of 3,000 feet of lum- 
ber per day, one cooper shop, built by Daniel Merritt, with a capacity of 
10,000 barrels, and one cider-mill, with a capacity of 4,000 barrels annu- 
ally. The village is without church privileges. 

East Bethany, the next village of importance, is located on the 
D., L, & W. Railroad, in the northeastern part of the town. There are 
24 houses with about 108 inhabitants. It is a post village, has a Pres- 
byterian Church, a school, one hotel, two stores, a harness shop, a black- 
smith shop, and a cider-mill, the latter having a capacity of 400 barrels 
per year. There is now building (May, 1890) a fine school-house, which 
will cost about $1,500. 

Bethany Center, also a post village, is south of the center of the 
town, and has a Presbyterian and Baptist church, two stores, a black- 
smith shop, a town hall, a school, two dressmakers, about 25 houses, 
and 85 inhabitants. 

Little Canada (formerly Bennett's), in the northeastern part of the 
town, has a Free Methodist Church, a school, a grist-mill, with a capac- 
ity of 150 bushels of grain per day, a saw- mill, with a capacity of 2,000 
feet of lumber per day, and a wagon shop. 

West Bethany (p. o.) is a hamlet in the west part of the town. It 
has a grist mill, located on road 29, built by Nathaniel Brown in 181 1, 
and now owned by Joseph Crawford, having a capacity of 50 bushels of 
wheat and 200 bushels of feed per day. The village has also a grocery 
store, a Freewill Baptist Church, a blacksmith shop, and six houses. 

Bethany was the only town in Genesee County but what received a 
donation from the Holland Land Co. of 100 acres of land for religious 
purposes. The earliest record we have of religious services is that of 
the Freewill Baptists, the Rev. Nathaniel Brown being instrumental in 
organizing a church in 1809. In 1839 they put up a wooden edifice. 
They now have 82 members in the society, which is presided over by 
Hiram G. Schoonover. Their property is valued at $1,000. 

The Methodists held camp-meetings at "Bennett's," or Little Canada, 
as earl}^ as 1810, and Benjamin Barlow, a local preacher, held services in 
the town in 181 1, as did also Father Waller and Brother Howe, who 
came from Wyoming County. They also built the church now owned 
by the Free Methodists. This society was organized by Jonathan K. 
Barlow, the pioneer physician, and held its meetings in the same build- 
ing with the Presbyterians, which was afterwards used as an academy. 
A society was organized in 1820, and one January 7, 1832, but soon 
became extinct. A Bethany Union Church Society was organized in 
1828. 

At Little Canada a Free Methodist Society was organized and the 
church, formerly built by the regular Methodists, was purchased, but we 
cannot learn when. The church is small in membership, there being 
now only about 17 persons, with C. W. Bacon, pastor. 



36o GENESEE COUNTY. 



The first regular Baptist Church, located at Bethany Center, was. 
organized May 7, 1820, with 26 members, and John Blain was its pastor. 
In 1826 a building was erected, and the same is still occupied by the 
society. They now have 58 members, and Rev. T. M. Scarff is the pas- 
tor. Their property is valued at $2,000. The Sunday-school, organized 
in 1829, now has about 75 members. 

October 20, 1829, a Presbyterian Church was organized at Bethany 
Center by Messrs. Whiting, Watts, Bliss, and a few others. Rev. W. 
Whiting was the first pastor. They built a structure, of wood, in 1839. 
At present they have 50 members, and about 60 scholars in the Sunday- 
school. 

On June 17, 18 17, a Congregational church was organized at East 
Bethany by John Bliss, a missionary from Connecticut, with ii mem- 
bers. Their first pastor was Rev. Reuben Hard, who came in 1823. . 
The society built a brick edifice in 1824, costing about $3,000. The 
same year they adopted the Presbyterian form of government. In 1825. 
there were 23 members; in 1834, 58; in 1843,65; and in 1846, 35. The 
ministers have been Revs. Wilcox, Kniffen, Miles, Smaller, Clark, Barris,. 
and others. The membership is now only 16, and the Sunday-school 
has about 70 scholars. The Rev. W. M. Modestti is pastor. 

A protestant Episcopal church was built about 1 826 called Zion church. 
At the laying of the corner-stone, July 4th, Judge Mitchell delivered the 
oration, and Masonic ceremonies aided in making the occasion interest- 
ing. In 1845 Bishop Delancey visited the church, at which time Rev. 
M Oaks was the minister. A Rev. Mr. Atwater was a minister at one 
time, but we fail to learn but little about the society. 

The following are names of some of the early settlers of Bethany, with 
the date of settlement: 

In 1803: Charles Culver, John Dewey, O. Fletcher, David Hall, Orsamus Kellogg, 
Solomon Kingsley, Capt. G. Lathrop, L. D. and Samuel Prindle, Richard Pearson, Sr., 
Nathaniel Finney, Jedediah Riggs, M. Scott, HoracexShepard, and John Torrey. In 
1804: Peter Adley, John Boynton, William and W. B. Coggeshall, James and Jerry 
Cowdrey, Lewis Disbrow, Peleg Douglass, N. Eastman, Elisha Giddings, John Grimes,. 
C. Glass, Joseph Hawks, Thomas Harding, John Halstead, Alanson Jones, Henry and 
Solomon Lathrop, Sylvester Lincoln, Sr., John Roberts, John and Phineas Smith, Israel 
Shearer, David Tyrrill, Joel S. Wilkinson, and Isaac R. and William Williams. In 1805 : 
David Anderson, Patrick Alvin, Israel and Abel Buell, Erastus, James, and Jeremiah 
Bennett, Joseph Bartlett, Eli Bristol, Jonathan and Jason Bixby, John Chambers, Eze- 
kiel Fay, John Greenough, John Huntington, Thomas Halstead, Jedediah Lincoln, 
Asher Lamberton, Gershom Orvis, Peter Putnam, Jr., Eli Perry, A. Robbins, Alfred 
Rose, Richard Stiles, Josiah Southard, Elisha Wallace, Peter Wilkinson, Isaac Wilson,, 
and Philo Whitcomb. In 1806 : Joseph Adgate, Elisha Andrews, Lewis Barney, D. W^ 
Bannister, Peter and Chester Davidson, Eben Eggleston, Moses Goodrich, Liberty Judd» 
David Ingersoll, David Morgan, Henry Miller, F. Putnam, Richard and Mather Peck,. 
Henry Rumsey, Thomas Starkweather, David Stewart, Joseph Shedd, and Eben Wil- 
son. In 1807: Heman and Buell Brown, and Sylvester Lincoln, Jr. In 1808: 

Cole, Elisha Hurlburt, Moses Page, and Eliza Peck. In 1809 : Elder Nathaniel Brown, 
Calvin Barrows, and Eleazer Faunce. In 1810: Patience Kingsley, O. Walker 
and W. Waite, Sr. In 181 1: Israel Cook, Alexander Grimes. Daniel Marsh, Jesse, 
Rumsey, Charles Smead, and Judge Wilson. In 1812: Israel Fay and Robert Louns- 
bury. In 1813 : Abner Ashley, S. Bowers, Josiah Churchill, Capt. Lodowick Champ- 



TOWN OF BETHANY. 361 



Hn, W. R. Dixon, John Eastland, I. Everest, John Metcalf, William Odiorne, Harvey 
Prindle, John Page, and Nathan Rumsey. In 1814 : Thomas Adgate, Charles Dixon, 
T. Fay, Alanson D. Lord, Rufus Munger, and W. F. Norton. In 181 5 : James Ben- 
nett, Jr.. Charles'Brisbee, Richard B. French, John treen, John Lincoln, A. Parsons, 
J. Saunders, James Stewart, and Benjamin Smith. In 1816: G. CottrelL J. Rolfe, and 
Asahel and James Shepard. In 18x7: B. Barlow and Daniel Hyde. In 1818: David 

Merritt and Jared S. Lord. IniSig; S. Debow and Gardner. In 1824: James 

Baker. In 1825 : Orange Allen and R. R. Brown. In 1828 : Aaron Bailey. In 1829 : 
E. C. Dibble. In 1832: Nathaniel Huggins. The following came prior to 1825: 
Richard Powers, Ira Waite, Matilda Wedge, Samuel Jolles, and C. J. Lincoln. 

Our readers will find some interesting facts connected with the follow- 
ing sketches of the present prominent living residents and their ancestors, 
the early pioneers. 

The late Martin Armbrewster was born November 24, 18 19, in Baden- 
Baden, Germany. About 1846 or '47 he married Frances Snneeff, of 
the same place, and in 1854 they came to the United States, locating 
first in Bufialo, then in Batavia, and finally in the town of Bethany. 
They had 15 children, of whom three died in infancy, Louisa died aged 
about 22 years, and 11 survive, namely: Caroline, Mary, Francis, Ezra, 
Elizabeth, Sophia, Fred, fVank, Jennie, John, and Ella M. Mr. Arm- 
brewster died September 26, 1879. Mrs. Armbrewster is living on road 
31, in this town. 

Robert Benington, father of John R., was born in England, and was a 
resident of Yorkshire and Lancaster. January 14, 1822, when 21 years 
old, he came to America and located in New Lisbon, Otsego County, 
N. Y. In 1847 hs married Eliza Kenyon, of Edmeston, Otsego County. 
They had 10 children, namely: Charles, Henry G., William, Joh.n R., 
Edwin, Harriet, Phebe, Alfred, Agnes E., and Mary L. John R. was 
born in the town of New Lisbon, Otsego County, September 28, 1852. 
He was educated in the public schools until he was 20 years of age. He 
is a farmer and breeder of grade sheep, and at present is superintendent 
of the James H. Hume farm, on road 2, of 411 acres. February 11, 
1880, he married Jane E., only daughter of Thomas Rathbone, of Bur- 
lington, Otsego County, and they ha\«s one girl, Ethel H., born Febru- 
ary 23, 1882. 

John Boyle was born in Tipperary County, Ireland, in 1846, and came 
to America in 1863. In 1867 he married Kate Dower, of County Wa- 
terford, Ireland. They were married in New York city, and soon after 
returned to Ireland, where they remained five years, when they came to 
this country and located in this town. They have nine children, viz. : 
Patrick W , John R., Lawrence, Mary, Thomas, Kate, Robert, Julia, and 
Edwin. They reside on road 16 corner of 15. Mrs. Kate Boyle is a 
thrifty business woman. 

Rev. Nathaniel Brown, grandfather of Wilder and Walter, came from 
Strafford, Orange County, Vt., in 1809, and located at West Bethany, 
on the place now owned by John S. Baldwin. He was the first Freewill 
Baptist minister west of the Genesee River. He organized the first 
church of that denomination there in 1809. He was a pensioner of the 



362 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Revolution. Rev. Mr. Brown, after coming to West Bethany, preached 
for the people there the remainder of his life without compensation. On 
one occasion he was induced to take one dollar, and before he arrived 
home he gave it away to a poor man. Col. Daniel Brown, his youngest 
son, was born at the old home in Orange County, Vt., August 10, 1806, 
and came in 1 8 10 with his parents to the home his father had located in 
1809. He received a fair education for that early day, and was a man 
well versed in all matters concerning the welfare of his country and 
county. He was a fluent public speaker, and was colonel of the 16th 
N. Y. Cav. He first married Julia Lounsbury, by whom he had three 
children, Jane, Laura, and Marquis. For his second wife he married 
Elanora A. Cook, and they had nine children, viz. : Wilder, Julia, Emer- 
ette, Cassius, Walter, Sarah, Abigail, Marquis, 2d, and Alice. Wilder, 
born May 28, 1841, received a common school education, and is a car- 
penter and farmer by occupation. November 29, 1865, he married 
Frances E., youngest daughter of Charles Lorish, of Linden. They have 
one son, Cassius Stanley, born April 3, 1875. Col. Daniel Brown died 
March 31, 1879. Walter Brown was born February 13, 1847, and re- 
ceived a good education. He has a good intellect with perceptive fac- 
ulties well developed, and is a farmer and general dealer. December 
31, 1872, he married H. Jenne, youngest daughter of the late Harry G. 
Lincoln, of Bethany. They have one son, Leon H. D., born May 14, 
1884. Mr. and Mrs. Brown are living on road 19, adjoining the Col. 
Brown homestead. 

Heman Brown, Sr., grandfather of Benjamin R., was a soldier in the 
Revolutionary war. Heman, Jr., came with his paren/ts from Strafford, 
Vt., to this town when he was 13 years old. He was born May 30, 1794. 
He was in the War of 181 2. They located at Brown's Corners, road 17 
corner 19. He marded twice, first, Maria Huntington, formerly of Litch- 
field, Conn. They had four children, of whom two sons are deceased, 
and two daughters survive, namely: Mary and Harriet. For his second 
wife Mr. Brown married, February 10, 1842, Sophia Ann ConkHn, for- 
merly of Steuben County, N. Y. They had four children, of whom two 
daughters are deceased, and the sons survive, viz.: Lee E. and Benjamin 
R. Benjamin R. was born November 13, 1848. He received a good 
education. September 24, 1874, he married Celia S., second daughter of 
Charles and Elizabeth Snell, of his native town. They have had six chil- 
dren, four of whom survive, namely: Charles H., Fernie E , Jesse R., and 
Bessie M. Mr. and Mrs. Brown reside on land which his father bought 
in 1 82 1, on road 19 corner 27. Mr Brown's mother resides with him, 
being a pensioner of the War of 1 8 1 2, aged 80 years. 

Calvin Barrows, father of Sexturs T., was born near Worcester, Mass., 
in 1783, and came to Seneca Falls, N. Y., in 1808. He married Olive 
Patterson, of Waterloo, Seneca County, and soon after moved to Bush- 
ville, in this town, where he remained two years, and was in charge of the 
cloth factory there for Mr. Bush. In 1809 he came to Linden, when there 



TOWN OF BETHANY. 363 



were only three houses in the place. He built a dam for the purpose of 
utilizing the water- power of Little Tonawanda Creek, and erected a wool- 
carding and cloth-dressing factory, which was completed in 1810. They 
had seven children, namely: John, Volney, William, Franklin, SextursT., 
Jeanett, and Evander H. SextursT., born in Linden, December 25, 18 19, 
was educated in the common schools, and worked in the carding-mill 10 
years. December 21, 1842, he married Rachel, third daughter of John 
Merritt, of Middlebury, Wyoming County. They have four children, 
viz.: Margaretta J., Olive R., George N., and Charles C. Margaretta J. 
married Hiram O. Reddish, of Wyoming village ; Olive R. married Buel 
Rogers, of Linden, now of Attica ; Charles C. married Aurelia J. Rich- 
ardson, also of Linden. Mr. Barrows has lived on the old homestead 70 
years. 

Amos Blood, grandfather of Oscar W., was born March 1 1, 1763, and 
his father was killed in the Revolutionary war. One of Amos's sons, Na- 
son, was born November 4, 1796, at Haverhill Corners, Grafton County, 
N. H. He received a good education, and was a farmer by occupation. 
He came with his father to Alexander, this county, when 15 years old, 
and February 28, 1822, he married, first. Rhoda Everest, of Bethany. He 
served in the War of 1812. They had six children, as follows: Nelson, 
Niles, Warren, Obed, Luman, and Amos. For his second wife he mar- 
ried Mrs. P2unice (Knowlton) West, October i, 1840. They had one son, 
Oscar W., born December 17, 1843, o" the farm upon which he resides 
and owns. Oscar W. received a common school and academic educa- 
tion, until he was 21 years of age. May 9, 1867, he married Mary L., old- 
est daughter of Robert Eastland, of Bethany, and they have six children, 
viz.: Eunice E., Jessie L., Charles R., Walter E., Mary J., and Monroe 
T. Eunice E. is a student at the Geneseo Normal School, and is also a 
school teacher. The family all reside at home. Mr. Blood is a successful 
fruit grower and breeder of thoroughbred Merino sheep, and is one of 
Bethany's enterprising farmers, residing on road 33. 

Mark Bassert, born in Baden, Germany, April 22, 1829, came with his 
mother to America in 1847, ^"^ located at Batavia, N. Y. December 3, 
1853, he married Catherine Miller, of Germany. They have three chil- 
dren, Louis, George, and Ursilla. Louis married Anna M. Dennis, of 
Stafford; George married Lydia Worst, also of Stafford; and Ursilla mar- 
ried Urbon Botmer, of Batavia. Mr. Bassert served his adopted country 
in Co. G, 8th N. Y. H. A. Vols., and was discharged at the close of the 
war. He was wounded in the right shoulder June 16, 1864. in front of 
Petersburg, while charging the enemy's works. Mr. and Mrs. Bassert 
reside in the village of East Bethany. 

Michael Burns, father of James, was born in Wicklow, on the east coast 
of Ireland, about 1833, and married Elizabeth Duffy, of the same place. 
They had 10 children. He came to America in 1852 to prepare a home 
for his family; his wife and three of his children followed in 1854. James, 
who was born at the old home June 25, 1843, came to America about 



364 GENESEE COUNTY. 



1856, and located in the town of Bethany. About November i, 1872, 
he married May Frolicker, of East Bethany, and they had one son, Frank 
M., born October 23, 1873. Mrs. Burns died October 24, 1887. Mr. 
Burns and his son reside on road 14 in this town. 

John Burkel, born in ArHn County. Belgium, October 15, 1850, came to 
America in 1 870, landing in New York, February 22d. He finally located 
in Byron, Genesee County. May lO, 1874. he married Barbara, oldest 
daughter of John and Kate Coltax. of Sheldon, Wyoming County. They 
have had three children, namely: John, Jr., born May 20, 1875 ; Lizzie, 
who died aged one year and nine months; and Sylvester, born September 
29, 1882. Mrs. Burkel's parents are of French extraction. Her father, 
John Coltax, came to America from France in 1846, when he was 2 1 years 
old, and located in Wyoming County, N. Y. He married Kate Coltax, of 
his native country, and they had seven children, viz.: John, Michael, Bar- 
bara, Mary, Libbie, Anna, and Margaret. Mr. and Mrs. Burkel reside on 
road 6, in Bethany. 

James Baker, father of Thomas S., was born in Butternut, Otsego 
County, N. Y., in September, 1804, and came to Stafford, Genesee 
County, in 1824. About 1828 or '29 he married Betsey R. Shedd, of 
Bethany. They had four children, viz : Joseph R., Thomas S., Sarah 
P., and James P. Thomas S. was educated in the common schools. 
November 10, 1854, he married Hannah R., youngest daughter of John 
Reed,of Pavilion, and they have one son, John A., born February 14, 1857. 
John A. was educated in the common schools, and March 9, 1880, he 
married Libbie A. Smith, of Le Roy. They have had two sons and one 
daughter, of whom the latter died in infancy. Edgar T. and Clarence S. 
survive. Mr. and Mrs. Baker reside on road 36. *. 

Ambrose Booth, father of Fred A., was born in Steuben County, N. Y., 
January 24, 1 834. He was educated in the public schools, and is a farmer 
by occupation. Aprij 6, 1857, he married Charity G. Hovey, of Cattar- 
augus County. They have three children, namely: Adna J., Frank D., 
and Fred A. The latter was born in Dale, Wyoming County, March 14, 
1865. He received a good education, and is a farmer. August 9. 1888, 
he married Sadie L. youngest daughter of Philip Moyer, of Alexander. 
They reside near the village of Linden. 

Adam Cacner was born in Hesse- Darmstadt, Germany, about 1776. 
He married Mary A. Winterman, and they had seven children, three of 
whom were born in Germany. George, born December 25, 1841, came 
to Bethany when he was 12 years old, and made his home with Israel E. 
Judd. December 18. 1863. he enlisted in Co. L, 8th N. Y. H. A Vols., 
and was discharged from Zekel's General Hospital, May 27, 1865. He 
was in the battles of the Wilderness, Cold Harbor, and in front of Peters- 
burg, where he was disabled June 23, 1864, by a gun-shot wound in the 
leg. December 25. 1865, he married Sarah Jane, oldest daughter of Ed- 
ward Smith, formerly of Canada. They have six children, namely : Mary 
O., Kattie M., Frank J., Emily S., Clary A., and Charles W. Mr. and 
Mrs. Cacner are residing in this town on road 20. 



TOWN OF BETHANY. 365 



John Covey, born in Saratoga County, N. Y., in 1787, of English an- 
cestry, married Betsey Althouse in 1809. Alvah Covey, his eldest son, 
was born at Half Moon, Saratoga County, July 22, 1810, and married, 
February 6. 1837, Jane, daughter of John Hardick. She was born Sep- 
tember 3, 1816. Her father was born in Athens, Greene County, in 1783. 
Ten children were born to Alvah and Jane (Hardick) Covey, five of whom 
survive, namely : Alvah S., Charlotte I., Eugene, Emma J., and Frank H. 
The latter, born April 9, 1861, in Penfield, Monroe County, received a 
common school and commercial education, and was associated in business 
with his father, who came to Penfield about 1838 and was a successful 
nurseryman there. By energy, perseverance, and strict integrity he laid 
the foundation for his afterwards ample fortune. July 13, 1882, Frank H. 
Covey married Minnie J., third daughter of Henry and Louisa (Groom) 
Palmer, of Glenville, N. Y. She was born in Clifton Park, Saratoga 
County, December 18, i860. They have a daughter, Minnie Ethel, born 
September 20. 1883. Mr. Covey came to Bethany in the spring of 1888. 

Elisha Chadwick, born in Lyme, Conn., June 2, 1788, married Betsey 
Russell, of the same place, February 15, 181 5. They came to Bethany 
about 1823, with an ox-team and cart. They had eight children, namely: 
Nancy M.. Daniel R., Israel M., Mary E., Harriet. Joseph H., J. Edward, 
and David R J. Edward was born April i, 1829, in this town. He re- 
ceived a public school and academic education, and September 9, 1857, 
married Emeline M. Dutton, of Pavilion, who was born August 6, 1 830. 
Mr. Chadwick is doing a general insurance business in the adjoining 
towns and counties, and resides on road 24 in the town of Bethany. 

Patrick H. Cannon was born in Galway, Ireland, March 17, 1836. 
March 4, 1863, ^^^ married Mary Galman, of his native place, and April 
3, 1864, they landed in New York, and located at Roxbury, Mass. They 
have had nine children, one of whom died in infancy, and eight survive, 
namely : Mary A., Patrick H , Jr., John J., Kattie T., Fannie E., Nellie M., 
Thomas E., and James. Mr. and Mrs. Cannon are living on road 22. 

Joseph Crawford was born October 10, 1833, in Rochester, N. Y. , re- 
ceived a practical education, and in tarly life was a farmer. He moved 
with his parents to Attica, Wyoming County, in 1841. In 1854 the.y 
moved to the town of Bethany, and located on road 17 corner 19 April 
10, 1 86 1, he married Julia, oldest daughter of Col. Daniel and Eleanora 
Brown, of Bethany. She was born February 7, 1 840. Mr. Crawford 
learned the milling business about 1873, and is now proprietor of the 
grist-mill and grocery store at West Bethany. He was appointed post- 
master, during President Grant's second term, in 1876, which office he 
still holds. 

Stewart Copeland was born in County Down, Ireland, in December, 
1807. He married Agnes Fennon, of his native place, and came to 
America in 1833, first locating in Rochester, and finally came to Beth- 
any, Genesee County. They had nine children, as follows: Thomas 
Robert, John, Elizabeth, Stewart, Jr., Agnes, James, Marion, and Will- 



^66 GENESEE COUNTY. 



iam W., of whom Thomas, Robert, James, Agnes, and Marion are deceased. 
Stewart, Jr., a bachelor, is a fruit grower and farmer, and his father re- 
sides with liim. John Copeland married Nellie Neff, of Liecester, Liv- 
ingston County, and they had seven children, as follows : Thomas, Katie, 
Everett, Fennon, Nancy, James, and John, Jr. Thomas and Nancy are 
deceased. He enlisted in 1861 in Co. E, 9th Inf. N. Y. Vols., and was 
discharged in August, 1863. Both John and Stewart, Jr., reside on road 
34, in this town. 

Calvin Curtis was born in Berkshire County, Mass., July 25, 1778. 
He was married three times, first to Jemima Thompson, and second to 
Polly Clapp, and five children were born to him. For his third wife he 
married Mrs. Nancy (Hibbard) Storrs, of Wyoming County, by whom he 
had four children, namely: Samantha, Martha, Daniel S., and Roger H. 
Daniel S., born September 5, 1829, was educated in the public schools 
until he was 16 years old. January 10, 1850, he married Amanda H., 
fifth daughter of Clark Eldridge, of Canandaigua, Ontario County. They 
have three children, of whom Calvin died at the age of three years,* and 
two survive, namely: Frank R., born January 3, 1857, and Lottie B., 
born July 3, 1858, who married Andrew B. Morris, of Middlebury, Wy- 
oming County. Frank R. married Sarah Boyce, of Wyoming village. 
Mr. and Mrs. Curtis reside on road 14, in the hamlet of Little Canada. 

Dr. Orlando R. Crofif was born three miles west of Warsaw village, 
August 10, iSiy, at two d clock in the afternoon. He received a com- 
mon school and academic education, studied medicine with Dr. Jonathan 
K. Barlow, of Bethany Center, graduated in 1843, and has practiced 
medicine since (46 years), April 14, 1844, he married Mary E., second 
daughter of Dea. Elisha Chadwick, of Warsaw. They have two chil- 
dren, namely: Ganson W., born April i, 1845, ^"d Nella M., born May 
28, 1866, who resides at home with her parents. Ganson W. is a prac- 
ticing physician He studied medicine with his father, attended lectures 
at Ann Arbor, Mich., and graduated from the University of Buffalo in 
1867. He married Clara S , fifth daughter of Edmond Brainard, of this 
town, and they have had 10 children, viz.: Orlando W , James B., R. D., 
Belle, Effie M., Betsey, Lois, Ganson W.,Jr, Clara M.. and D. Olive. 
They all reside at Bethany Center. 

Samuel E^e, born in the town of Mayfield, Montgomery County, 
N. Y., June 20, 18 18, came with his parents to Springwater when 13 
years of age. In 1841 he married Sarah Bevins, of Springwater. They 
had eight children, now hving: Samuel H., William R., Jennie M., Julia A., 
Ada M., Eudora H., and George E. Samuel H. owns a fruit farm on 
road 20. In the war of the Rebellion he enlisted, August 30, 1862 in 
Co. I, 136th Inf. N. Y. Vols., and was discharged on surgeon's certificate 
of disability by loss of use of left leg, from a gun-shot wound received in 
the battle of Gettysburg, from the hospital at Philadelphia, Pa. At the 
same time he was shot in the right arm near the shoulder, which was 
broken, and also through the third finger of the right hand, the ball pass- 
ing through the fleshy part of the hand, under the thumb, into the wrist. 



TOWN OF BETHANY. 367 



Charles Dixon came from Chatham, Conn., to Bethany, and located 
on road 23 in 18 14, leaving his family at home while he built a log 
house. In 'the spring of 1815 he returned for his wife and 12 chil- 
dren. Their conveyance was an ox-team and cart and a one-horse 
wagon. Two children were born to them in their new home, two also 
died, and 12 survived. One of them, William R., who was born on the 
old homestead in Bethany, May 13, 1822, was educated in the public 
schools, and was a farmer by occupation. December 24, 1863, he mar- 
ried Sophia, oldest daughter of Nicholas Chilson, of Pavilion. They 
have had five children, three of whom died in infancy, and two survive, 
namely: W. Walter, born September 21, 1866, and Charles A., born 
December 24, 1871. Mrs. Sophia Dixon and her two sons reside on the 
Dixon estate in this town. 

Caleb Ellison was born in Orange County, N. Y., in 1803, and after his 
father's death went to Canada with his mother, where he remained 40 
years. He married Jane Wilkins, of Ancaster, County Wentworth, Can- 
ada, and they had seven children, as follows : Nelson C, Eleanor, Ma- 
tilda, Louisa, Jane, John, and William. Nelson C. was born in Canada, 
August 2, 1828. He received a common school education, and August 
23, 1859, married Caroline, second daughter of Aaron Taylor, formerly^ 
of England. They have eight children, namly: Roenna, Mary J., Delila 
v., Florence, Milton, Robert, Courtney J., and Lilly B Mr. and Mrs. 
Ellison reside on road 28. 

Daniel Edwards, who was born in Rutland, Vt., March 27, 1807, came 
to New York State when a young man. He crossed the Genesee River 
at Rochester before any bridges were built, and located in Monroe County. 
December 22, 183.6, he married Abby M. Conlee, of Stillwater, and they 
had two children, Sylvester C. and Charles D. The latter was born in 
Sweden, Monroe County, November 21, 1840. He received a public 
and Normal school education, began teaching school when he was 16 
years old, and taught 17 terms August 11, 1862, he enlisted in Co. A, 
140th Inf. N. Y. Vols* and was discharged December 18, 1864, for physi- 
cal disability. He acted as company commissary- sergeant. January I, 
1865, he married Caroline, third daughter of Lawrence Cooper, of Clark- 
son, Monroe County. They have had eight children, viz : Arthur Alger, 
who died in 1873, aged 19 months ; Sheridan, born November 25, 1865; 
Ida M., born June i. 1868 ; Belle J., born May 8, 1870 ; Henry C, born 
April 12, 1874; Lillie E., born August 21, 1878; Erwin B., born Au- 
gust 13, 1883 ; and Carrie, born May 24, 1887. Mr. and Mrs. Edwards 
reside on road 3 in this town. 

The first known of the Elliott family was in East Cocker, Somerset- 
shire, England. Oae Andrew Elliott came to Beverly, Mass., about 
the year 1668, joined the first church there in 1670, and died in 1703 or 
'04. The Rev. Je.sse Elliott was born in Mason, N. H., in 1799, was ed- 
ucated in the theological college of Hamilton. N. Y., graduated in the 
class of June, 1826, and afterwards taught in the Oneida Indian Mission. 



368 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Station. For 54 years he was a faithful minister of the gospel in the 
Baptist denomination. He married twice, first, June 21, 1827, Phebe, 
■daughter of Nathaniel and Betsey Yeomans. of Greenville^, N. Y., by 
whom he had five children, of whom one son died in infancy, and four 
survive, namely: Emily R., Elizabeth, William, and Nathaniel His 
first wife died October 22, 1840. and May 16, 1841, he married, second, 
Mary C, seventh daughter of Hezekiah Willis, of Western, Oneida 
■County, who bore him one daughter, now Mrs. Jerome H. Filkins, of 
Bethany Center, and one son, S Willis, born April 17, 1848, in Middle- 
bury, Wyoming County The latter received a good common school 
and academic education until he was 16 years old. He was engaged in 
mercantile business i i years, has taught school several terms, and is a 
farmer by occupation. September 28, 1869, he married Angela A., 
seventh daughter of Edmund Brainard. They have had five children, 
three of whom are deceased, and two survive, namely : A. Grace, born 
September 17, 1874, and Brainard W., born September 21, 1879. Rev. 
Jesse Elliott died March 24, 1880. S. Willis Elliott has been actively 
engaged in purchasing and helping to survey land for the new line of 
railroad from Geneva to Buffalo during the fall and winter of 1889-90. 

David Filkins was born in Dutchess County, N. Y.. in 1807, an.d 
■came with his parents to Pavilion in 1809. About 1834 he married Je- 
mima Peck, who was born in Lyme, Conn. They had five children, 
namely : Angeline M., Caroline P., Sarah E.. Jerome H., and Albert D. 
Jerome H. was born in this town November 7, 1839 He was educated 
in the public schools and is a farmer by occupation. He married twice, 
first, April 14, 1864, Emily O. Stevens, who died December 24, 1865, 
and second, June 23, 1868, Mary C, third daughter of the late Rev. Jesse 
Elliott, formerly of Churchville, Monroe County. They had two chil- 
dren, viz.: Jessie M., born October 25, 1869, and Angela E., born Au- 
gust 30, 1877, both of whom are deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Filkins reside 
in the village of Bethany Center. 

John Folk, who was born in Germany, June 17,' 18 12, married Cathe- 
rine Shelabarger, also of Germany, and they had five children, as follows: 
Casper, John (who was killed in the late war). Catherine, Michael, and 
Mary. Casper Folk, eldest son of John, was born in Germany, January 
24, 1849, ^^^ came with his parents to America in 1853, locating in 
Bennington, Wyoming County, N. Y. November 17, 1868, he married 
Mary Crouse, of Lancaster, Erie County. They have 10 children, 
namely: Kate, George, John, Mary, Sarah, Lizzie, Clara, Michael, Frank, 
and Julia. 

The French family came from England on the ship Mayjiozver, and 
first located in the East. Richard B. French was born in the northwest 
part of the town of Bethany iii 1815. He received a common school 
and academic education, was a farmer, school teacher by occupation, and 
July 4, 1843, lis married Esther, only daughter of Nehemiah Tracy, of 
Alexander, and they had three children: Carson F., W. Gary, and Ernie. 



TOWN OF BETHANY. 369 



W. Gary, born November 20, 1847, was educated in the common schools 
and in Pike Seminary, Wyoming County. Mr. French has held the of- 
fice of highway commissioner of his town. June 25, 1874, he married 
Zorada, seventh daughter of Edmund Brainard, of Middlebury, Wyom- 
ing County. They have had three children, of whom one son is deceased^ 
and two survive, namely: Irma E., born June 30, 1875, and C. Tracy, 
born December 23, 1881. Mr. and Mrs. French reside on road 35, on 
the old Brainard place. 

Caleb Gifford was born in .Lyme, Grafton County, N. H., April 10, 
1805, ^nd came to Genesee County with his parents when he was two 
years old. They located in Warsaw (old Genesee County), and their 
mode of conveyance was an ox-team and cart. He married Julia, second 
daughter of William Raymond, of Warsaw, and they had four children, 
viz.: William R., James H., Mary E., and Frances J. James H. was born 
in Bethany, June 22, 1835, and received a common school and academic 
education. He is a farmer and fruit grower. February 28, 1872, he mar- 
ried Martha A., oldest daughter of Edmund Stebbins, of his native town. 
They have two children, William C, born January 8, 1879, and Mabel, 
born September 23, 1881. They reside near East Bethany, on road 22. 

Seba Granger, grandfather of Byron, was a resident of Cherry Valley,. 
Otsego County. One of his sons, John, married Elizabeth Cleaveland, 
formerly of Vermont. Tin y had eight children, as follows : Chester,, 
Seba, Jr.. Byron, Elizabeth, Mary, ChJoe A., Almira,and Abigail. They 
located in Monroe County about 181 5. Byron, born in Penfield, Mon- 
roe C'ounty, August 28, 1 8 19, was a carpenter and joiner by trade. Feb- 
ruary 19, 1852, he married Lucetta S. Disboro, of Stafford, and they had 
five children, only two of whom, Sanford B. and Charles D., survive. 
Charles D. married Barbara Harsch, of Le Roy. Byron Granger served 
in Co A, 1st Dist. Columbia Cav. Vols., and now resides on road 6 in 
Bethany. 

James Gillard, who was born in Devonshire, England, in 1820, married 
Ann Warren, of the same place, and they had children as follows : Mary 
A , William, Ellen, Edward, Emma, John, Walter A., and Jessie. Wal- 
ter A. Gillard was born in North Devon, May i, 1859. He was educated 
in the common schools, and in 1879 came to America, locating in Staf- 
ford, this county. October 7, 1884, he married Mary L., second daughter 
of Hiram Porter, of Bethany. Mr. Porter was a native of Vermont. He 
resides in Little Canada in the town of Bethany. 

John Gartner, born in Wurtemberg, Germany, about 1 789, married Cath- 
erine Bessinger, and they had lO children, only three of whom are living, 
namely : Jacob, Barbara, and George. They came to America and located 
in Lancaster, Erie County, where Jacob was born October 3, 1839. He 
received a common school education, and is a farmer by occupation. May 
8, 1 86 1, he married Elizabeth, second daughter of Alexander Lewfs, of 
Clarence, Erie County. Her father was born in Vermont, of Scotch an- 
cestry. They reside on road 31. 



370 GENESEE COUNTY. 



John Harper was born in Devonshire, England, June 22, 1824. He 
married Susan Holland, of his native place, came to America in 1852, 
and located in the town of Staftbrd. They have five children, viz.: Emma, 
Charles W., Kate, George, and Elizabeth. Charles W. Harper was born 
in Stafford, August 4, 1855, received a common school education, and 
is a carpenter and joiner by occupation. September 18, 1884, he married 
Ellen R., oldest daughter of Elias Lyon, of Attica, by whom he has two 
children, Edna A. and Charles L. Mr. and Mrs. Harper reside on road 

24-^ , • 

Ephraim Harding, grandfather of Erastus D., served from Connecti- 
cut as a soldier in the Revolutionary war under General Putnam. Al- 
fred Harding served in the War of 1 8 1 2. Erastus D. Harding was born in 
Lyme, Conn., February 14, 1815, and when 10 years of age came with 
his parents to Genesee County, where they arrived October 5, 1824, and 
located three-quarters af a mile north of Bethany village. February 22, 
1838, he married Mary H., oldest daughter of William Nott, formerly of 
Devonshire, England, but now of Bethany. They have had 10 children, 
of whom eight survive, namely: Eveline B., Mary E., Erastus G, Jen- 
nie M., Estella A., Flora C, William E , and Herbert H. Erastus G. 
Harding is a physician and surgeon in Wyoming County ; William E. 
is professor in the literary department of the Institution for the Blind in 
Batavia ; Jennie M. resides with her parents ; and Herbert H. is married 
and takes charge of the farm. Mr. Harding has been deacon in the 
Baptist Church for many years. 

David Hyde was born in Essex, Vt., in 1792. He learned the cabinet- 
makers' trade, went to Boston, Mass., at the age of 21 years, and worked 
at his trade, and also carpentering. He left Boston in 18 1 7 and located 
on the Little Tonawanda, on road 27^, in the town of Bethany. About 
1826 he married Theirsy Alger, of Bethany, and they had two children, 
Edgar and Edwin J. The latter was born June 6, 1830, on the old 
homestead, where he spent his boyhood, alternately on the farm, in the 
saw-mill, and in school. July 5. 185 i, he married Jane E., oldest daugh- 
ter of Erastus L. Norton, of Alexander. They have had five children, 
of whom three are deceased, and two survive, namely : Charley E. D. 
and Lillian E., the latter a graduate of the New England Conservatory 
of Music, in Boston. Mr. Hyde served as first sergeant in Co. E, 105th 
Inf. N. Y. Vols., and was discharged for disability. He is a teacher of 
vocal music and leader of the Genesee and Wyoming Musical Association. 
His grandfather, Ephraim, served in the Revolutionary war, and his 
father in the War of 1812. 

John Jenne was born in Rutland, Vt, in 1791, and when a boy came 
with 'his parents to Cayuga County, N. Y. He married Sarah F., oldest 
daughter of William Freeman, and soon after located one-half mile south 
of Bethany Center. They had three children, namely: Lansing K., 
William N., and Jerusha F., the latter of whom married Harry G. Lincoln. 
William N. was born on the old homestead, August 19, 1831, received 



TOWN OF BETHANY. 371 



a common school and academic education, and is a progressive farmer. 
January i, 1855, he married, first, Sophia, N., daughter of Henry W. 
Gardiner, of Attica, Wyoming County, and they had one son, Charles G., 
born October 16, 1857. He, too, received a good education, and is a 
farmer and speculator. April 15, 1886, Mrs. Jenne died, and October 5, 
1887, Mr. Jenne married for his second wife Mrs. Hattie L. (Stewart) Nor- 
ton, who died February I, 1889. February 15, 1882, Charles G. Jenne 
married Nellie, only daughter of Charles W. Cone. She died November 
17, 1885. 

Israel E. Judd was a soldier in the Revolution, and very likely was 
killed, as he was never heard of again. His son was born at the close 
of the war, and was named Liberty in honor of the victory achieved by 
the colonies. He was a soldier of the War of 1812. He was born 
August 27, 1775, and was married twice, first to Miss Hannah Thomp- 
son, and second to Abigail Everest, October 4, 1807. He had born to 
him seven children, namely: Hannah, 1st., Israel E., Abigail, Anna M., 
Rhoda, Philip, and Hannah W. Israel E. Judd was born February 8, 
181 1, in the town of Bethany, and is now living on the farm his father 
located in 1806. He received a common school education. January 
29, 1852, he married Mary, sixth daughter of Reuben Wright, of Alex- 
ander, and they have one son, Franklin I., born June 20, 1853, who re- 
ceived a common school and academic education. September 3, 1879, 
he married Sarah J., third daughter of A. D. Waldo, of Elba. They have 
four children, namely: Everest A, Mark W., Florence M., and Frank- 
lin H. Israel Everest, grandfather of Israel E. Judd on his mother's side, 
was captured by the Indians, and sufTered untold hardships during his 
prison life in Montreal, Canada, and during his escape. 

John Kemp was born in New Hampshire, December 20, 1786, and 
came to Marcellus, Onondaga County, N. Y., when a young man. He 
married Charity Barrows, of Skaneateles, and in 1832 they came to Mid- 
dlebury, Wyoming County (old Genesee) They had eight children, 
namely: Harriet, Milo M., Emily, Maria L., George B., Myron J., Will- 
iam E., and Caroline A. Myron J. Kemp was born in Marcellus, May 
6, 1822, and came with his parents to the Genesee country when 10 years 
of age. He received a common school education, and has been a farmer 
by occupation. May 17, 1848, he married Louisa M., second daughter 
of Jonathan Gates, formerly of New Hampshire. They have no children. 
Mr. Kemp is now a gentleman of leisure, and resides on East Main 
street, in the village of Linden. 

Sylvester Lincoln, Jr., walked from Castleton,Vt.,to Batavia in 1803, and 
helped to survey lands in what is now the town of Elba. He returned 
to Vermont in 1803 '^^ 04 ^"<^ married Eleanor Wallace, of HuBbard 
ton, Vt.. and came with his young wife and his father's family to Beth- 
any. They were the fourth family that located in the town, and one of 
his sons, Harry G., was the second child born in the town. Charles F., 
late husband of M. Jennie Lincoln, and son of Sylvester, was born Au- 



372 GENESEE COUNTY. 



gust 29, 1833, in Middlebury, Wyoming County. He came with his 
parents to Bethany when very young, and received a hberal education. 
February 25, 1862, he married M. Jennie, only daughter of Thomas 
Cathcart, of Corfu. They had four children, namely: Harry T., who is 
a farmer with his mother; John S., a graduate of the Normal School of 
Geneseo, N. Y., who is now teaching as principal of a High school in 
Steuben County; Florence M., also a teacher, who resides at home with 
her mother; and Anna L., who also resides at home. After his mar- 
riage Mr. Lincoln united with Presbyterian Church at Bethany Center, 
was always a consistent Christian, and for many years was an elder until 
his decease, May 29, 1886. He left a widow and family and a large 
circle of friends to mourn his death. 

The first known of the Lounsbury family was three brothers who came 
from England at an early day. One of them had a son by the name of 
Robert, who married Elizabeth Pinkney, of Dutchess County, N. Y., and 
went to Canada, being tempted by liberal offers of land which he secured 
by settling there. One of their nine children was John, who was born 
in C?^iada, May 10, 1802, and in 18 12 came with his parents to the 
United States. His father incurred the enmity of the Canadians for his 
unflinching loyalty to the United States. His 800 acres of land they con- 
fiscated, and he barely got away alive. He purchased 300 acras of land 
situated mostly in the town of Alexander. Very little of this land was 
cleared at this time. Deer and bears were plentiful. John's father died 
before he attained his majority, and the care of the family early devolved 
upon him. In 1826 he married Abigail Hayes, of Bethany, and they 
had eight children, of whom four survive, namely : Cordelia, Edwin, 
Henry, and Emily. Edwin Lounsbury was born March 18, 1 828, on the 
old homestead in Alexander. He worked on the farm and attended 
school, and has always been a farmer. March 22, i860, he married Nora, 
daughter of Jonn Welch, and they have two children, viz.: Thomas E., 
a farmer with his father, and M. Isabel, who married Frank J. Prue, of 
Alexander. Mr. and Mrs. Lounsbury reside on a part of the original 
purchase in the town of Bethany. 

Cordelia Lounsbury was born in the east part of the town of Alexan- 
der, November 27, 1826, and received a good education. She has been 
twice married, first to Permina A. Cogswell, of Alexander, April 11, 
1843, and second to Thomas Hoyle. formerly of England, in November, 
i860. Both are deceased. Mrs. Cordelia Hoyle resides on road 29, 
near the old homestead. 

Shadrack Lent was born in Montgomery County, N. Y., June 2, 1802, 
and came to Genesee County with his parents when 10 years old. He 
heard distinctly the reports of the guns of the contending armies at the 
battle of Buftalo, in the War of 181 2. They first located in Pavilion. He 
married Prudence A. Dixon, of Bethany, formerly of Chatham, Conn. 
They had five children, namely: Lucy A., Charles H., William B., George 
V. N , and Charlotte E. George V. N., born August 10, 1841, was edu- 



TOWN OF BETHANY. 373 



cated in the public schools, and is a fruit grower and farmer. January 29, 
1879, he married Minnie O Burton, of Cambridge, Mass., by whom he 
had one daughter, Harriet A., born January 6, 1883. Mrs. Lent died 
February 14, 1887. Mr. Lent's sister, Charlotte E., is keeping house for 
him. He resides on road 21. 

Frederick Leitz was born in Germany, April 21, 18 17. He received 
a good education, and in 1852 came to America, landed in New York 
city, and first located at Lancaster, Erie County, and finally in Wyoming 
County. November 8, 1858. he married Bridget Haley. In August, 
1862, he enlisted in Co. E, 136th Inf. N. Y. Vols., and participated in the 
battles of Chancellorsville and Gettysburg. On the third day of the latter 
battle, at 3 P. M., he was wounded in the left wrist by a minie-ball, was 
sent to Jarvis Hospital, Baltimore, and was transferred to West Building 
Hospital, being in both 15 months. After leaving the hospital he served 
in the Veteran Reserve Corps until his discharge, October 1, 1864, for 
disability. He came to Bethany in 1871. Mr. Leitz's wrist is much dis- 
figured and entirely useless. He resides on road 35 in this town. 

Alanson D. Lord was born in 1806, in Herkimer County, N. Y., and 
about 1814 he came with his brother, Smith Lord, to Bethany. Febru- 
ary 4, 1835, he married Mary M., fifth daughter of James Stoughton. of 
Bethany, and they have had six children, of whom three survive, viz.: 
Laura M. (Mrs. David Denton); Ann M. (Mrs. Luin L, Munger); and 
James S., born October 27, 1844. in Wheatland, Monr(>e County. In 
early life he was a mechanic, but is now a fruit tree jobber, apiarist, and 
farmer. June 19, 1873, he married Laura A., second daughter of Ira 
Wait, Jr. They have had six children, namely: Frank J. and Minnie L.^ 
deceased ; and Mary E., Mark D., Anna L.. and Trac}' T., who survive. 
Mrs. J. S. Lord is a breeder of thoroughbred Wyandotte and lava fowls. 

Jared S. Lord was born in Durham, Greene County, N. Y., May 17, 
1798. and died December 15, 1885. When he was 20 years old became 
to Western New York, and finally located in Bethany. He married twice, 
first, in April, 1821, Polly Everest, by whom he had two children. Sep- 
tember 16, 1828, he married, second, Hannah Curtis, formerly of Ply- 
mouth, Chenango County, and they had three children, namely: Jared 
C, Mary J., and Hattie C, the latter of whom resides in the village of 
Linden. 

James Millerick was born in Ireland in 1838, came to America in 1856, 
and located in Bethany. Marcli 5, 1866, he married Ann, fourth daughter 
of Thomas Benson, of this town. They had five children, as follows : 
Fannie A., Richard, Mary, John, and Nellie C. Mr. Millerick died in 
February, 1888. Ann Millerick, his widow, resides on road 34 in Beth- 
any. 

Isaac V. Mullen, M. D., was born in Hector, Tompkins County, Feb- 
ruary 16, 1827, and spent his boyhood days on the farm and in the store. 
In 1848 he began to study medicine with Hon. Charles D. Robinson, of 
Hornellsville, Steuben County, and graduated from the Castleton (Vt.) 

24 



374 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Medical College, June i8, 185 i. He married Laura D., youngest daugh- 
ter of Royal Aldrich, of Castleton, and they have four children. He be- 
gan the practice of medicine in St. Lawrence County, N. Y., where he re- 
mained until he went into the army as assistant surgeon of the 13th Inf. 
N. Y. Vols. When the 14th H. A. was organized he became its surgeon, 
and was retained in hospital service six months after the war closed. He 
has a good practice in the towns of Alexander and Bethany. 

Salmon Munger, grandfather of Luin L., was a soldier in the War of 
1812. He went from Connecticut and served on the frontier near Buffalo. 
His son Anson was born in Schoharie County, N. Y., and in 1844 mar- 
ried Lydia, eighth daughter of Asa Thompson. They had two children. 
Luin L. Munger, born July 28, 1845, i^i Bethany, received a liberal edu- 
cation, and February 15, 1862, he enlisted in Co. E, 105th Inf N. Y. Vols. 
He was engaged in the battles of Cedar Mountain, second Bull Run, and 
Antietam. At the latter battle, which occurred September 17, 1862, he 
was wounded in the left leg, with a 12-pound solid shot, which caused its 
amputation, which operation was performed in the Smoke Town Field 
Hospital, where he remained until he was discharged, April 2, 1863. 
July 4, 1865, he married Ann M., second daughter of Alanson D. Lord, 
of this town, but formerly of Herkimer County. Mr. and Mrs. Munger 
reside on road 28. 

Benjamin F. Norton was born in the town of Bethany, October i, 18 16. 
His parents came from Vermont He received a good education, and in 
1832 he married Edna Frary, who died March 8, 1848. He married for 
his second wife Elizabeth, second daughter of David Locke, of Batavia, 
and they have had four children, namely : Charles, Walter Frank, Fred 
L., and William. The last two named are deceased. Walter I^rank, born 
January 3, 185 I, received a common school and academic education, and 
January 23, 1872, he married Mattie K., oldest daughter of Erastus Wood, 
of Little Canada, in the town of Bethany. Mr. and Mrs. Norton have 
adopted two children, namely : Cora L. (Wood) and Arthur. They are 
living on road 27, on the old Ira Waite place. 

George Prescott was born in Devonshire, England, in 1819. He mar- 
ried Mary Clark, of the same place, and they have two children, Frank 
and Thomas. In 1834 they came to America, and first located in Staf- 
ford, Genesee County. Thomas Prescott was born January 6, 1850, was 
educated in the public schools, and is a farmer and fruit grower. March 
21, 1 88 1, he married Mary, oldest daughter of Richard Watson, of Dun 
kirk, N. Y. They have three children, namely : George F., born Febru- 
ary 19, 1882; Ruth W., born June 2, 1883 ; and Charles F,, born Decem- 
ber 27, 1888. They reside on road 7 in this town. 

Setli M. Peck, who was born in Lyme, Conn., January 4, 1 800, served 
as waiter, for Major Lord in the War of 18 12. September 9, 1824, he 
married Sarah Pierson,of his native place, and came to Bethany and located 
where his son now resides, on road 24, corner 35. They had six chil- 
dren, namely : Sarah E,, Phebe, Laura, S. Marvin, Almira, and Henry. 



TOWN OF BETHANY. 



375 



S. Marvin was born April 14, 1831, received a liberal education, and is a 
farmer by occupation. May 17, i860, he married, and has had born to 
him two children : a daughter who died in infancy, and Robert C, born 
July 12, 1 86 1, who survives. Robert C. Peck married Mary Bolt, of this 
town, January 8, 1 889. 

Richard Peck, who was born in Lyme, New London County, Conn., 
February 5, 1786, came to this town in 1806, and located where Benja- 
min F. Peck now resides. He returned to Connecticut the following 
spring, and returned with his grandmother and mother, with a two-horse 
wagon. About 181 5 he married Catherine Hope Comstock, of Bethany, 
formerly of Haddam, Conn. They had 12 children, 10 of whom grew 
to maturity, viz.: Elizabeth M., Maria L., Nathaniel, Richard, Israel M., 
Catherine H., Mary A., Benjamin F., Lucy J., and Charles A. Benjamin 
F. Peck was born on the homestead July 16, 1829, and received a public 
school and academic education until lie was 18 years of age. February 
24, 1853, he married Phebe R., second daughter of S. Marvin Peck, of 
Bethany. They have three children, namely: Florence, born July 17, 
1855 ; Richard, born October 12, 1857 i ^^^ Mary A., born July 15, 1869. 
Richard Peck was educated in the public schools and an academy, and is 
farming for his father, Benjamin F. October 25, 1883, he married Helen 

C, second daughter of Freeman M. Sanford, of Jackson County, Mich., 
and they have two children, Franklin H. and Helen S. 

The first known of the Putnam family was three brothers who came 
from Holland to America, and located in Vermont. Peter Putnam, grand- 
father of Orrin, served in the Revolutionary war and held the position of 
major. Peter Putnam, Jr., was born October 21, 1785. and came to 
Bethany in 1805 or '06 February 26, 1809, he married Prudence John- 
son, who was born in Connecticut, November 15, 1784. They had seven 
children, namely : Orrin, Warren, David, Philotheta, Osgood, Seymour, 
and Emeline. Orrin Putnam, born February 21, 18 10, married, April 4, 
1 83 1, S6phia Huntington, and they had six children, namely : Edmond, 
Alfred, Emogene, Hartson O., Lewis V., and Marion. Lewis V. is in 
Red Canon, Wyoming Territory; Edmund resides in Rossville, 111.; and 
Emogene is in Albion, Mich., the wife of Joseph Shepard. Hartson O. 
Putnam was born December 12, 1.849, ^^ Batavia. He received a com- 
mon school education, and is a farmer and fruit grower. About 1870 he 
married Rozelle Quance, of Batavia, by whom he had one son, Herbert 

D. Mrs. Putnam died when they had been married five years, and Feb- 
ruary 22, 1882, he married, second, Alice, third daughter of John C. Kin- 
ney, of Albion, Mich. They have three children, viz.: Lester O., born 
June 8, 1883 : Persis A., born May 15, 1886; and Mary L.,born Feb- 
ruary 10, 1888. They reside on road i. 

Elijah Rogers was born at Lyme, Conn., in 1785. He married Maria 
Beckweth, of the same place, and they had four children. They came 
to Genesee County in 181 1, and located in Stafford. William E., born 
April 9, 1809, in Lyme, received a pioneer education. May 13, 1834, 



376 GENESEE COUNTY. 



he married Mehetabal P. Banning, of his native place, and they have no 
children. Her father, Calvin Banning, was also born in Lyme, January 
22, 1785. William E. Rogers and wife have been married 56 years, and 
have resided on road 24 for 54 years. 

Bethel Stavely was born in Yorkshire, England, in 18 17, and in early 
life married Ann Clayton, of the same place. They had four children, 
namely: Eliza J., Sarah A., Jonathan, and Henry C. In November, 
1856, they came t(> the United States, and located near Geneva, Ontario 
County. Jonathan was born in England, March 1, 1843, ^^^ when 15, 
years of age, at Geneva, he enlisted in Co. E, ist Vet. Cav. N. Y. Vols. 
He was discharged at the close of the war at Rochester, N. Y. Mr. 
Stavely was a brave soldier. He located at East Bethany, this county, 
and September 12, 1869, married Annie E., 3/oungest daughter of Ed- 
ward Fullerton, of Buffalo. They have had five children, of whom 
Charles W. and Sarah A. survive. Mr. and Mrs. Stavely reside in the 
village of East Bethany. 

Andrew Showerman was born in Alexander about 1846, and when iS 
years old he became a railroad man, first as brakeman on the N. Y. C. & 
H. R. Railroad, and afterwards on N. Y., L. E. & W. Railroad, where he 
was conductor for 20 years He is now baggage and express agent on 
the same road. He married twice, first, Lucy Vandebogart, by whom 
he had four children, of whom two died in infancy, and two survive, viz.: 
Frank C. and John. For his second wife Mr. Showerman married Agnes 
Carl. Frank C. was born June 20, 1866, and received a good academic 
education until he was 17 years old. He is now station agent, telegraph 
operator, and express agent at Linden. 

George South was born in the village of Stratton, Warwickshire, Eng- 
land, October 10, 1830. At the age of 13 he was apprenticed for severk 
years to learn the trade of a carpenter and joiner. There are now few 
men who equal him as a carpenter and builder. He has a good educa- 
tion for the short time he attended school. Mr. South married twice,. 
first, Mary Wyatt, of London, England, about 1855. They had two chil- 
dren, Mary and Julia. In 1869 he came to America, and located in 
Rochester, N. Y. His wife died in 1872, and for his second wife he mar- 
ried Mrs. Emerett (Brown) Judd, of Bethany. They have one daughter, 
Clara E., born April 16, 1883. Mrs. South had three children by her 
first husband, viz.: Thomas, Oscar "D., and Walter E. Mr. and Mrs. 
South reside on the Col. Daniel Brown homestead, on road 19. 

James Shepard was born in Otsego County, N. Y., November 29,. 
1804, came with his father, John, to this town in 18 16, and married 
Amanda Putnam, January 2, 1827. She was born October 2, 1806. 
They had 10 children, all of whom grew to maturity, viz.: Debora C. 
(deceased), Phebe M., Maria, Franklin P., Daniel, Harlan J., Ransom A., 
Ordelia A., David M., and Ellen. Daniel Shepard, born in Batavia, 
April 10, 1835, received a common and Normal school education, and 
is a farmer and speculator. March 2, 1859, he married Carrie, second 



TOWN OF BETHANY. 377 



daughter of David Filkins, and they have had two children, namely : 
Effie. born February 22, 1862, died December 13, 1885 ; and Dwight D., 
born April 10, 1865. The latter was educated in the public schools, also 
in the high schools of Batavia, and August 26, 1886, he married Rubie E., 
second daughter of Augustus Woodworth, of this town. They reside 
on the farm he purchased on his wedding day, on road 4. 

Thomas Squires was born in Barnstable, England, in 18 19, and mar- 
ried Ann Ward, of the same place. They came to America in 1854, and 
located in Stafford, this county. They had seven children, namely : 
Lizzie, George, Susan, William, Charles. Emma, and Frank. George 
Squires was born in England, January 27, 1849, and came with his 
parents to America in 1854. November 23, 1870, he married Clara H., 
oldest daughter of Hiram Porter, of Bethany, and they have four chil- 
dren, viz.: Frank H., born April 21, 1874; Albert J. and Alfred B. 
(twins), born December 20, ,1875; and Floral., born June 4, 1872. 
The latter attends a select school at Alexander. Mr. and Mrs. Squires 
reside on road 28 in this town. 

John Staub, who was born in Alsace, Germany, in 18 14, came to 
America when he was 16 years old, and first located in Buffalo, N. Y. 
He married Elizabeth Wrestle, of Alsace, and they had 12 children, 
seven of whom survive. One of his sons, John Jr., was born in Lancas- 
ter, Erie County, February 6, 1844, and was educated in the common 
schools. April 28, 1868, he married Anna M., youngest daughter of 
John Kelley, of New York city. They have six children, namely : 
William, Libbie, John R., Anna M., Kattie, and George. They reside 
on road 25. 

Orlando M. Smiley was born in Oneida County, near Utica, N. Y., 
received a good education, and when a boy moved with his parents to 
the town of Elba. He married Eunice Knickerbocker and they had two 
children, Frank J. and Mary Eunice. Frank J. Smiley was born in Elba, 
and received a common school and academic education. He is a farmer 
and a traveling man. May 14, 1867, he married Mary I., oldest daugh- 
ter of Edward T. Squires, of Alexander. They had three children, of 
whom two survive, namely : Earl F., born Maich 27, 1878, and Ruth M., 
born August 7, 1884. The family reside on road 31. 

Norman G. Thomas was born in Williamstown, Mass., of Welsh ances- 
try, and June 6, 1809, he came with his parents to Cazenovia, N. Y. 
He was a carriagemaker by trade, and in his latter years a farmer. 
January 14, 1835, he married Lucy E., oldest daughter of Alexander 
Patterson, of Livonia. They had two children, of whom the daughter 
died in infancy. Mr. Thomas died December 17, 1878. George R. 
Thomas was born October 24, 1839 ^" 1841 he moved with his parents 
to Genesee County, and in 1866 he engaged in mercantile business. 
October 21, 1866, he married Emogene McKay, of Groveland, Living- 
ston County, and they have seven children living, viz.: Heman S , Nor- 
man G., Irene H., Lesley, Cecil R., Adelbert, and Grover. 



3/8 GENESEE COUNTY. 



Samuel J. Toll, born in Schenectady, N. Y., August 24, 1829, was 
educated in the common schools, and when 20 years old he went to Ohio, 
Indiana, Michigan, Illinois, and finally located at Lyons, Iowa, where he 
followed the occupation of auctioneer. August 10 1861, he enlisted in 
the 1st Iowa Cav. Vols.; was discharged October 10, 1862 ; and was 
then mustered into the United States service as mustering officer with the 
rank of second lieutenant. January 31, 1863, he received his commis- 
sion as second lieutenant of Co. A, 6th Iowa Cav. Vols., and was in 
command of the company one year and six months. He was discharged 
at the close of the war, and resided in Chicago, 111., and Nashville, Tenn., 
each four years. He then returned to Bethany, where he is now a farmer 
on road 124-, near East Bethany village. 

Frederick F. Wilson was born in County Kent, England, March 4, 
181 1, and came to America in 1830, locating in Phelps, Ontario County, 
N. Y. About 1832 he married Harriet Price, and they had eight chil- 
dren, viz.: Charles, Jane, Ellen, Franklin S., Emma, Harlo, Mary, and 
George V. The latter was born in East Bloomfield, Ontario County, 
November 27, 1854. He received a common school education until he 
was 14 years of age, and in his boyhood worked on a farm. At the age 
of 18 he began to learn the blacksmith trade, and is a first-class mechanic. 
March 21, 1874, he married Alice J., oldest daughter of William H. 
Hedger, of Attica, Wyoming County. They have one son, William F., 
born January 10. 1875. They reside at West Bethany village. 

Harry Woolf was born in Rochester, Kent, England, August 23, 1861. 
He received a commercial education, and in 1884 came to America, 
and located in New York city as a book-keeper. He finally came to 
Linden, Genesee County, where he began his career as a merchant by 
peddling goods thr