(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Genealogical and biographical record of New London County, Connecticut : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens and genealogical records of many of the early settled families"

■BK9H 



Gj 




•fttfi.— »• 



■ 



«• ■, " 



.*?*# 



«V«i 









Hrita 









t-Vi 









« 



B**' 



5W 



■'■-." 



."-■•■• 
...... 






TMM 



^8 



*^»^». 



F 



,r '-' ■ " 

■*■■•■' 

■■'■■■■-■'■ 



A 






Do Not 



LIBRARY 
Brigham Young University 




97^.6 
G28 



221509 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 
in 2011 with funding from 
Brigham Young University 



http://www.archive.org/details/genealogicalbiog1905chic 






GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL 



RECORD 



OF 



NEW LONDON COUNTY 



CONNECTICUT 






CONTAINING 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES OF PROMINENT AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 
AND GENEALOGICAL RECORDS OF MANY OF THE EARLY 

SETTLED FAMILIES. 



ILLUSTRATED 

221 sag 



CHICAGO 

J. H. BEERS cS; CO. 

1905 



PROVO, UZ 



PREFACE 




HE importance of placing in book form biographical history of representative citizens — 
both for its immediate worth and for its value to coming generations — is admitted by all 
thinking people : and within the past decade there has been a growing interest in this com- 
mendable means of perpetuating biography and family genealogy. 

That the public is entitled to the privileges afforded by a work of this nature needs no assertion 
at our hands ; for one of onr greatest Americans has said that the history of any country resolves itself 
into the biographies of its stout, earnest and representative citizens. This medium, then, serves more 
than a single purpose ; while it perpetuates biography and family genealogy, it records history, much 
of which would be preserved in no other way. 

In presenting the Genealogical and Biographical Record to its patrons, the publishers have to 
acknowledge, with gratitude, the encouragement and support their enterprise has received, and the 
willing assistance rendered in enabling them to surmount the many unforeseen obstacles to be met with 
in the production of a work of this character. In nearly every instance the material composing the 
sketches was gathered from those immediately interested, and then submitted in typewritten form for 
correction and revision. The volume, which is one of generous amplitude, is placed in the hands of the 
public with the belief that it will be found a valuable addition to the library, as well as an invaluable con- 
tribution to the historical literature of the State of Connecticut. 

THE PUBLISHERS. 



INDEX 



•'li 



PAGE 

Abel, Elijah 11 663 

Abel Family 664 

Abell, Charles J 370 

Abell Families 370. 77X 

Abell, Myron R 77S 

Aborn, Alonzo R 188 

Aborn Family 188 

Aborn, Frank C 189 

Adams, Andrew A 434 

Adams Families 433, 773 

Adams, Jeremiah K 434 

Adams, Walter L 775 

Aiken Family 77 

Aiken, John 77 

Aiken, Gen. William A 76 

Aiken, William B 76 

Alexander Family 830 

Alexander, George W 830 

Allen Families 7^2, 857 

Allen, Miss Ruth E 753 

Allen, Mrs. Ruth W 753 

Allen, Capt. William H 857 

Allis, Hon. Wallace S 78 

Allyn, Carlos \Y 364 

Allyn Families 182, 362. 048 

Allyn, Gurdon S 649 

Allyn, Henry A 184 

Allyn, Louis P 648 

Allyn, Mrs. Louis P 437, 649 

Allyn, William 1 183 

Almy-Ballou Families 144 

Almy, Major Leonard Ik, M. D. . 145 

Anderson, Axel F 544 

Andersi >n Family 275 

Anderson, Jerome S 275 

Andrews. Benjamin F 512 

Andrews Family 512 

Appley Family 481 

Armstrong Family 773 

Armstrong, Frederick S 773 

Ashbey, William A 528 

Astheimer, William 650 

Atwood, Eugene 835 

Atwood Family 835 

Auclair. Douglas P 321 

Austin Family 40 

Austin, James L 163 

Austin-Rogers 40 

Austin, Mrs. Sarah A 164 

Austin. Willis R 41 

Auwood, William 3^7 

Avery, Albert G 859 

Avery. Allen 878 

Avery, Mrs. Cornelia C 561 

Avery, Dwight 548 

Avery Families . 

347. 548. 560. 780, Sv. 878 

Avery, Griswold G \ ^60 



PAGE 

A\xry, Isaac G 780 

Avery, Sherwood G 842 

Avis, Woodburne R.. M. D. . . . 933 

Aver Families 498, 536, 692 

Aver, Lloyd P 498 

Ayer, Hon. Nathan H 536 

Ayling, Nelson J 460 

Babcock, Charles D 595 

Babcock Families 354, 543 

Backus, Asa 193 

Backus, Cynthia M 193 

Backus Families 192. 695 

Backus. William W 235 

Bacon Families Ill, 331 

Bacon, Morris W 11 1 

Bacon, Nelson A 331 

Bailey Families ...587, 642, 889, 907 

Bailey, Henry L 907 

Bailey, Jefferson 890 

Bailev. Marvin L 642 

Bailey, Ralph H 880 

Bailey, Stephen A 587 

Baker Family 510 

Baldwin Family 756 

Baldwin, Wilbur E 756 

Ballon Family 146 

Ballon. Leonard 147 

Barber Family 213 

Barber, Hon. Noyes 213 

Barber, Oscar M., M. D 507 

Barber, Pelcg S 895 

Barker Family 242 

Barker, Nathaniel C 241 

Barstow Family 738 

Barstow, John P 593 

Hartlett, Charles G.. A. M 703 

1-artlett Families 459, 703 

Bartlett, Reuben S 459 

Beach, Mrs. Ann E 789 

Beach Family 788 

Beach. John T 788 

Beckwith, Annie E 907 

Beckwith, Ansel A 332 

Beckwith. Ansel E 334 

Beckwith, Benjamin F 906 

Beckwith, Elias II 135 

Beckwith, Airs. Emma P 852 

Beckwith. E. Park 850 

Beckwith, Eugene K 881 

Beckwith Families 

332, 348, 540- 737- 850, 906 

Beckwith. Francis E 541 

Beckwith, Fred A 737 

Beckwith, Joseph M 348 

Beckwith, Justin 667 

Beckwith, Mrs. Margaret J 135 

Beckwith, Raymond C 881 



PAGE 

Beckwith. William U 869 

Beebe, Sherman A 443 

Belden Family 170 

Belden, Commander Samuel .... 170 

Benham, Mrs. Ida W 841 

Benjamin Family 753 

Benjamin, Capt. George G 136 

Benjamin, Jacob D 753 

Bentley, Andrew J 818 

Bentley, Rev. David N 817 

Bentley Families 817, 940 

Bentley, Wareham W 940 

Benton Family 94 

Benton, Rev. Josiah T 95 

Bill Families 82, 665 

Bill, Frederic 168 

Hill, Frederic A 83 

Bill, Hon. Henry 81 

Bill, Hon. Jephthah G 664 

Billings, Byron 814 

Billings Families 62, 813 

Billings, Capt. James A 158 

Billings, Sanford N 814 

Bills Family 217 

Bills, George C 217 

Bindloss Family 485 

Bingham Family 189 

Bingham, Nathan A 189 

Bishop, Edson S 786 

Bishop, Elias 343 

ihop Families 341, 786 

Bidiop, Gilbert 342 

Bishop, Henry 344 

Blackstone Family 4 

Blackstone, Mrs. Grace W 7 

Blackstone, Hon. Lorenzo 5 

Black-tone. Louis L 7 

Blackstone, Timothy B 5 

Blackstone. William N 6 

Bodenwein, Theodore 3 2 4 

Borthwick, Alexander C 422 

Boss, Charles D., Sr 128 

Boss, Mrs. Elizabeth M 128 

Boss Family 127 

Bosworth, Mrs. Mary 664 

idbury, John H 421 

Bradford Family 508 

Bradford, George H 508 

Bradlev Family 35 r 

Bradley. Robert D 351 

Brainard Family 344 

Brainard,- Martin V. B 344 

Brandegee, Hon. Augustus .... 53 

Brandegee Family 52 

Brandegee, Frank B 54 

Brayton. Charles E.. M. D 320 

Brayton Family 320 

Breed, Andrew H 3-5 



1XDEX. 



PAGE 

Breed Families 325, 652 

Breed, Mrs. Sarah A 653 

Breed. William S 652 

Brewer. Arthur H 134 

Brewer Family 133 

Brewer, Frederick 11 929 

Brewster Families No. 767 

Brewster, Frank W 88 

Brewster, John D 87 

Brewster, .Mrs. M. Adaliza .... 87 

Brewster, Simon 767 

Briggs, Charles E 397 

Briggs, Charles S 310 

Briggs. Charles W 29 

Briggs, Ezra 156 

Briggs Families 152, 319, 396 

Briggs, ( ieorge T 157 

Briggs, George W 155 

Briggs, Horace A 396 

l'.riggs, Ira G 153 

Briggs, Hon. Lucius 28 

Briggs. Wanton. Jr 15; 

Brockway Family <<oo 

Brockway. Lee L 600 

Bromley Family 399 

Bromley. John G 399 

Bromly. Charles B 470 

Bromly Family 470 

Brooks, Charles II 227 

Brook- Family 226 

Brooks. Henry L 226 

Brown. Mrs. Annie E. M 904 

Brown, Hon. A r ;nur M 793 

Brown, Edward T 140 

Brown Families . .784. 929. 933. 941 

Brown, 1 [on. Frederick J 462 

Brown. Frederick 463 

Brown. Israel F 140 

Brown. James E. F 941 

Brown, Palmer A 784 

Brown, Robert 627 

Brown, Russell M 929 

Brown, Samuel S 905 

Brown. William 11 945 

Brown. William W 100 

Browne. Daniel M 105 

Browne Families 105. 309 

Browne. Jeremiah H 310 

Bn wne, Randall 310 

Browne. William T 107 

Brownell, Augustus G 546 

Browning. Arba 

Browning, Ezekiel H 854 

Browning Families . 397, 551. 854, 867 

Browning, Frank W 397 

Browning, Mrs. Lillian M 551 

Buckingham, Hon. William A.. 

LI. 1) 1 

Buckley. Samuel H 476 

Buell Family 352 

Buell, llarley P 352 

Burdick. Mrs. Joseph M 732 

Burleson. F.dward F 279 

Burleson Family 270 

Burnham Family 84 

rnham, Waterman R 84 

Burrows Family 476 

Burtch, Francis D 955 

Burton. Mrs. Margaret 591 

Burton, William 590 

Bushnell Family 171 

Bushnell, Deacon Henry P 171 

Butler. Hon. Charle< \V 771 

Biu'cr Family 771 

Butt-, Charles R 951 



KAOE 

Butt- Family 951 

Butts. Henry L 052 

Buzzell Family 582 

Buzzell, Orrin' A 382 

Byles Family 720 

Byles, George S 720 

Byrne Family 896 

Byrne, John F 896 

Calkins. Arthur B 803 

Calkins Family 803 

Camp Family 385 

Camp, Frederick S 386 

Camp. Mrs. Harriet B 386 

Campbell Family 869 

Card. Edwin A 24 3 

Carpenter. Albert X 490 

Carpenter Family 496 

Carrier, Erin -t E 661 

Carrier Family 661 

Carroll. Adams P 761 

Carroll. Mrs. Emma F 763 

Carroll Family 761 

Carroll. George W 761 

Carroll, Lucius W 7 1 <2 

Caruther<. Hon. William 623 

Carver. William R 

Casey. Thomas W 431 

Champlin. Charles F 793 

Champlin Family 793 

Champlin, John R 228 

Champlin. Mrs. Orline 228 

Chandler, Charles E 716 

Chandler Family 715 

Chaney. Mrs. Clara M 291 

Chapel Family 831 

Chapman. Amos R 519 

Chapman. Charles B 345 

Chapman. Charles K 921 

Chapman, Dudley P 34" 

Chapman. Enoch F 89 

Chapman Families 

80. 345- 347, 355- 860. 921 

Chapman. Frank 860 

Chapman. Lyman A 888 

Chapman. Lyman L 335 

Chapman, Sara A 861 

Chappell. Alfred H 683 

Chappell, Edward 51 

Chappell Families 293. 683. 824 

Chappell, Griswold A 825 

Chappell. John 1 825 

Chappell. Oliver A 293 

Chappell. William H. H 825 

Chase. Albert H 114 

Chase. Mrs. Albert H 8. 115 

Cheesebrough Family 177 

Cheesebrough, Gideon P 177 

Chesebro. Erastus S 939 

Chesebro Family 353 

Chesebro, Samuel H 353 

Chesebrough. Dyer L 356 

Chesebrough Families ..177. 356, 938 

Chesebrough, Mrs. Nancy D... 357 

Chester. Augustine S 874 

Chester Family 158 

Chester. Wayland M 159 

Cbipman. Edwin C. M. D 500 

Cbipman Family 500 

Church. Mrs. Anstiss W \<- 

Church, Mrs. Eliza M 207 

Church, Capt. Erastus 166 

Church Families. . .165, 206, 201. 932 

Church. Capt. James L 167 

Church, Lewis R 261 



r.M.E 

Church. Rollin R 931 

Church. Captain Simeon 207 

Church. William A 208 

Clark. Mrs. Augusta M 578 

Clark, Byron 228 

Clark. Elizur 578 

Clark Families 229. 350. 918 

Clark, James X 350 

Clark. William F 423 

Clarke. Alfred M 730 

Clarke, Elbert W 731 

Clarke Families 729. 849 

Clarke. John 849 

Gift Family 447 

Coates. Frank A. M. D 643 

Coates. Frank A 643 

Coggeshall Family 200 

Coggeshall. John A 200 

Coggeshall. Mrs. Mary S 202 

Coit. Augustus 132 

Coit, Charles 13*1 

Coit, Col. Charles 130 

Coit, Col. Charles M 130 

Coit Families 12. 128 

Coit, Deacon George 132 

Coit. George D 132 

Coit. James D 132 

Coit. Robert 13 

Coit, William B 14 

Collins. Anson B 

Collins, Daniel 484 

Collins, Daniel P 484 

Collins Family 35 

Collins. Hon. Gilbert 

Collins. Jerome J 524 

Colver. Courtland E 816 

Colver Family 816 

Comstcck Family 257 

Comstock. John J 257 

Cone, Charles H 524 

Cone Family 622 

Cone, George W 622 

Converse, Hon. Abiel 120 

Converse Family 120 

Cook Families 168. 805 

Cook, Hiram 168 

Cook. James A 805 

Cottrell, Arthur M 37 

Cottrell. Calvert B 36 

Cottrell. Calvert B.. Jr 

Cottrell. Charles P tf 

Cottrell. Edgar H 37 

Cottrell Families 36. } 

Coult Family 615 

Coult. William E : 

Coult. William F 615 

Crandall, Mrs. Charlotte E 749 

Crandall Family 747 

Crandall. Herbert L 749 

Crandall. Lewis 748 

Crane. Everett L 928 

Crary Family 306 

Crary. Jesse D 308 

Cummings. Edwin L 760 

Cummings. Mrs. Ida E 761 

Daniels. Austin P 466 

Daniels. Court b ... C 4 - 

Daniels FamiU 464 

Danielson, Edwin L.. M. D 624 

Danielson Family 

Darrow Courtland S 115 

Darrq Iv Family 115 

Dav [son, William H 905 

D" s. Charles B 537 



IN HEX. 



vn 



PAGE 

Davis Families 

99. 401. 537. 55-'. 743. 852 

Davis. Capt. Henry E 852 

Davis, J. Daniel 403 

Davis, Joel H 552 

Davis. Warren R.. M. D 743 

Dawley, Arthur J 638 

Dawley, Charles H 798 

Dawley Families 638, 798 

Dawley, Herbert F 638 

Day Family 705 

Day, James 1 705 

Denison, Daniel B 682 

Denison Families . .250. 258, 487, 682 

Denison, Frederic 258 

Denison, Ralph H 250 

Denison. Walter R 486 

Devotion Family 697 

Devotion. Col. John L 697 

Dewey Family 557 

Dewhurst. Rev. Eli 231 

DeWolf. Asahel R 713 

DeYYolf Family 712 

DeWolf, George W 713 

DeWolf. John A 713 

DeWolf. Roger W 713 

Dickinson. Mrs. S. Spicer 34 

Dimmock Family 530 

Dimmock, Leverett N 530 

Dion, Philias 439 

Dolbeare Families 752, 899 

Dolbeare, John 899 

Donovan, Joseph T 415 

Douglas, Albert G 44 

Douglas Family 43 

Douglass. Edmund P., M. D.... 412 

Drake. Norman L.. M. D 861 

Duchette, Napoleon 563 

Dudley Family 765 

Dudley, Samuel 765 

Eaton, Dwight M 785 

Eaton Family 785 

Fccles, John 231 

Eccleston Family 671 

Edgcomb, Howard A S32 

Edgecomb Family 955 

Edgecomb, W. Carey 955 

Ely Families 236, 859 

Ely, Judge George 859 

Ely, J. Griffin, M. D 216 

Ely. Gen. William G 236 

Evarts, Daniel R 79 

Faitoute. Mrs. Harriet B 888 

Fanning Family Si 1 

Fanning. Frederick H 81 1 

Farnsworth Family 60 

Farnsworth, Dr. Frederick 62 

Farnsworth, Ralph, M. D 60 

Faulkner Family 836 

Faulkner. Francis W 836 

Fay. Xahum 464 

Fenner Family 437 

Ferguson, Charles F 427 

Finn, Hon. James H 801 

Fish, Alden 296 

Fish, Alden (1808) 296 

Fish, Hon. Asa 296 

Fish Families 294, ?J ) 

Fish, John 295 

Fish, J. Randall 297 

Fish, Julia A 580 

Fish, Nathan S 297 

Fish, Simeon 297 



PAGE 

Fitch Families 45, 646 

Fitch, Horace M 442 

Fitch, James 646 

Fitch, William H 47 

Fletcher Family 714 

Fletcher. William S 714 

Fones Family 416 

Fones, William A 416 

Foote Family 222 

Foote, Horace 222 

Ford, Mrs. Elizabeth J 805 

Ford Family 804 

Ford, Henry N 804 

Forsyth, John 324 

Foster, Hon. Lafayette S., LL. D. 57 

Fournier, Albert A 867 

F( umber. Alexander 877 

Fowler Family 821 

Fowler, Frank P 821 

Fowler. Mrs. James 116 

Francis. Alvah 286 

Francis, Dr. David P 660 

Francis Family 286 

Francis, George F 287 

Freeman, Samuel H 463 

Frink, A. Elizabeth 290 

Frink Families 289, 668 

Frink, George A 669 

Frink, George W 668 

Frink, Henry 670 

Frink, Lemuel W 669 

Frink, Solomon A 289 

Frink. Wayland B 670 

Fuller, Mrs. Angelina X 10 

Fuller. Daniel T 865 

Fuller Family 865 

Gager Families 68. 597. 724 

Gager, Othniel 68 

Gallup, Charles D 99 

( lallup. E. Byron 864 

Gallup Families 96, 390, 86_i 

Gallup, Henry H 98 

Gallup. Isaac 98 

Gallup. Origen S 503 

Gardiner Family 513 

Gardiner, John N 513 

Gardner, Benjamin B 454 

Gardner, Douglas W 887 

Gardner Families 393, 452. 946 

( lardner, George H 452 

Gardner, Henry 946 

Gardner, Horace 453 

Gardner, Maj. Nathan R 483 

Gardner, Noel B 453 

Gardner. Stephen 454 

Gardner, Washington R 303 

Gardner. William B 453 

Gates Family 184 

Gates. Hon. William F 184 

Gavitt, F. Ft 483 

Gay, William R. 78 

( ieer, David A 440 

Geer. David H / 4- >iS 

Geer. Erastus S 582 

Geer Families 

... .55. 414, 428, 440. 582. 739, 914 

Geer, Nathan 9*4 

( leer. Dr. Sidney L 413 

Geer. Thomas II 55 

Gilbert Family 707 

Gilbert, Nathan S 707 

Gillette Families 388, 874 

Gillette. Isaac 388 

Gillette. Deacon William W. . . . 874 



PAGE 

Glasbrenner, Paul P 952 

( iledhill, Eli 424 

Grant, Charles W 441 

Grant, Daniel W 603 

Grant Family 441 

Grant, George G 545 

(.ray. William IF, M. D 362 

Greene, Augusta B 57 

Greene Families 141, 678 

Greene, Gardiner 680 

Greene, Mrs. Mary A 143 

Greene, Capt. Samuel 141 

Greene, William P S7- 679 

Greeneberg, Louis W 880 

Greenman, Hon. George 256 

Griffin Family 127 

Griswold, Elizabeth 659 

Griswold Families 91. 658. 691 

Griswold, Richard S 91 

Grumley. Capt. Edward M 876 

Guile, Daniel S 758 

Guile Family 758 

Guile, Mrs. Lydia A 759 

Haley. Albert 506 

Haley. Caleb ^ij^ 

Halev Families 50^. 815. 893 

Haley, John R 815 

Hall Family 618 

Hall. Nathan H 618 

Halsey, Hon. Jeremiah 15 

Hamilton, Col. Richard J 8gr 

Hamilton, Hon. Thomas 375 

Hancox Family 456 

Hancox, Lucy A 457 

Hancox, Nathaniel 457 

Hancox, Peleg 457 

Hanford Family 502 

Hanford. Dr. William J 502 

Hanover, Clinton D 4;r 

I lanover Family 451 

Hardwick, Mrs. Cassie V 306 

Harland. Gen. Edward 248 

Harris Families 70. 556 

Harris, George R., M. D 557 

Harris, Hon. Jonathan N 70 

Harvey. Allen W 617 

Harvey, Uriah D 616 

Harvey. William E 893 

Harwood, Hon. Calvin L ^,22 

I [awkins Family 458 

Hawkins, Frank 457 

Hazen. Charles T 700 

Hazen Family 700 

Heath. Charles R 945 

Hebard Family 326 

Hempstead Family 598 

Hempstead, George R 636 

Hempstead. William S 598 

Henderson, Ro! t 299 

Herrick, Alonzo 90 

Merrick. Burrill A 90 

Herrick Family 90 

Hewes, Frank W., M. D 253 

Hewitt. Albert F 873 

Hewitt, Alden W 859 

Hewitt, Charles E 886 

I [ewitt, Charles T 859 

Hewitt Families. . . . 122. 466. 858. 885 

I I ewitt, George E 122 

Hewitt. George W 466 

Hewitt. Mrs. Rachel B 859 

Higgins, Michael 813 

1 [illard Family 149 

Hillard, William A.. M. D 152 



\ 



V11I 



INDEX. 



PAGE 



Hillard, William II 

I tinckley, Judge Elias B 

Hinckley Family 

1 linnian. Capt. Elisha 

I [olbrook, Charles S 

I I olbrook Family 

llolbrook. Hon. Supply T 

Holmes Families 357, 70s, 

Holmes, George N 

Holmes, Capt. Joseph \Y 

Holmes, Shubael 

I [olmes, William K 

Holt Family 

Holt, William A 

Home, Dan D 

1 Ionic Family 

Home, William II 

I lopkins, Charles L 

1 lopkins, Charles W 

Hopkins Family 

Hopkins. Henry 11 

1 lough Family 

I lough, Jabez B 

House, John C 

Hovey Families 268. 

1 Iovey, Henry 

Hovey, James A 

>enison E 

Hoxie, Edward A 

Ffoxie Families 446, 629 

Hoxie, George H 

1 [oxie, John II 

Hubbard, Charles L 

Hubbard Family 

1 [ubbard, Howard A 

1 lull Family 

Hull, G. Curtis 

Huntington, Channing M 

Huntington Families. -.'. -28r, 683, 

Huntington, Lucy A 

Huntington, Lynde L 

Hurlbut, Alfred 

Hurlbut, Mrs. Elizabeth B 

Ibut Family 

Hurlbutt Family 

Hurlbutt, Henry VV 

1 1\ de, Albegence 

Hyde, Burrell W 

1 lyde. Eugene P 

1 lyde Families 

-'47. -'40, 322, (.oj. 828, 

1 lyde, Frank E 

. Rev. Frederick S 

Hyde. Janus II 

I lyde. Samuel N 

. William II 

Jensen, Mrs. Susan M 

me, Benjamin W 

] Families 37..', 

Jeromi . Franklin S 

Jerome, I [enry G 

Richard A I 

] uilily 

Laban R 

1 iin, Raymond J 

on, ( lharles S 

Johnson, I 'avid A . Jr 

Families 

+07, 562. 72. 

Mr-. !■'. Eliza 

. I lenry I ) 

Johnson, Jehiel 1 

Nathan, M. I) 

Johnson, Oliver I 



152 

-'45 

245 

706 

12 

11 

11 

833 
833 

359 
795 
360 

159 
159 

4-7 
4-'7 
428 

235 
234 

232 

233 
315 
315 

461 
709 
268 
709 
629 
636 
7'>7 
797 
446 
20 
r8 
505 
534 
534 
743 
74-' 
283 
283 
764 
-65 
764 
872 
872 
894 
870 
804 

870 

-'47 
222 
602 
828 

392 

523 

37.} 
438 
404 
438 
372 
118 
[l8 
448 
407 
"54 

70 
547 

7?" 
713 

OK) 



PAGE 

Johnson, Samuel 561 

Johnson. Dr. Samuel 723 

Johnson, Samuel G., M. D 723 

Johnson, Samuel H 70 

Johnson, Samuel N 954 

Johnson, William G 407 

Johnston, Mrs. Clarina B. (an- 
cestry of) 569 

Johnston, Cornelia 572 

Johnston, William S. (ancestry 

of) 568 

Jones Family 635 

Jones, Frank J 636 

Jones. Deacon Gurdon A., Jr... 635 

Jones. Isaac S 635 

Jordan Family o.22_ 

Jordan, Frederick D 923" 

Jordan, William P 923 

Kampf, George 58 1 

Keeney Family 845 

Keener, Frank G 845 

Keeney, George A 847 

Keigwin. Daniel A 500 

Kelsey, Dwight 843 

Kenyon. Charles H 163 

Kenyon, Edward C 52$ 

Kenyon, Mrs. Emeline 1! 163 

Kenyon Families 334, 525 

Kies Family 371") 

Kies, ( ieorge W 370 

Kies. Marietta 376 

Kilbourne Family 514 

Killeen, Joseph F 034 

Kilroy Family 488 

Kilroy, William 488 

King Family 807 

King, J. I lenry 807 

Kingsley, 1 lenry II 319 

Kingsley. Hon. Henry W 317 

lie. Charles II.. Ph. D 403 

Kinne, Mrs. Charlotte B [03 

Kinne Family 503 

Knapp Family 391 

Knowles, Edwin II.. M. D 882 

Ladd, Andrew T 034 

204 

Ladd, Deacon Austin 477 

Ladd. Charles II 412 

Ladd Families. .202, 260. 412. 477, 716 

Ladd, Frank M 718 

Ladd. Mrs. Louise P> 261 

Ladd. Marvin 717 

I. add, N. Austin 478 

Ladd. William 260 

Lamb. Charles W 882 

Lamphere, Bertha M 630 

Lanphear Family 193 

Lanp P 196 

Lanphere, Albert H 605 

Lanphere Families 695. 606 

1 arkin, William H 550 

Lan \dam on 

1 .arrabee Familv qtt 

tham, Capt. Benjamin W 380 

ham Families 70. 588, 800 

Latham, 1 renry "... 588 

Latham. Mrs. ('• 678 

ipt. Silas I! 677 

Latham. Thomas A 672 

Latham. Cant. William IT 588 

Latham. Williai 1 W 450 



PAGE 

Lalhrop, Arthur I) 411 

Lathrop, Edwin II 410 

Lathrop Families 103, 408, 676 

Lathrop, Frank L 105 

Lathrop, John P> 411 

Lathrop, James H 410 

Lathrop, Jonathan L 104 

Lathrop, William B 676 

Latimer, Mrs. Arabella P 220 

Latimer Family 225 

Latimer, Joseph S 224 

Lawrence Family 755 

Lawrence, Francis W 756 

Lawrence, Sebastian D 755 

Lawton. Harold 417 

Learned, Major Bela P 100 

Learned. Billings P 701 

Learned Families 101, 701 

LeClaire, Jean 1! 950 

LeCount, Mrs. Georgiana 396 

LeCount, Thomas E 305 

Lee. Charles B 384 

Lee Families 384, 

Lee. John H I 

Leffingwell, 1 Janiel C 600 

Leffingwell Families. .. .430, 502. 

Leffingwell, John 430 

Leffingwell, John H 593 

Leffingwell, Orrin B 593 

Lester Family • 

Lester, Reuben II 7 

Lewis Families 202. 444. ! 

Lewis, Henry 93c 

Lewis, I [orace G 444 

Lewis, Capt. Ira F 8 

Lewis, Hon. John N 292 

Lewis, Mrs. Lucy A 820 

Lewis. Napoleon 15., M. D 

Lewis. Nathan B $20 

Linicus, Jacob 855 

Linnell, Edward II.. M. D 652 

Linnell Family 651 

Linnell, Jonathan E 65; 

Lippitt, Mrs. Charles C 373 

Lippitt, Costello 80 

Lippitt Family 80 

mis, Alba W 298 

harles C 790 

Loomis, Charles IT 490 

1 ,( 11 imis, Edwin A 

mis Families 

. .. .92, 298, 490. 511. 54->, ; 

Loomis, Hon. Francis B 

Loomis, Mrs. Phebe S 543 

rniis, William B 542 

d Families 126, 492 

I.i rd, < r - 

L - mily 520 

ing. George II 5- >r 

Loring, W ; 

Lucas, Aaron 529 

Lucas, Benjamin 526 

Lucas. Samuel 7'<- 

Lucas, Hon. Solomon 884 

I. nee. Cathcart 666 

Luce. Edward 666 

Luce, Edward C 1 

Luce. Francis C ' 

I. nee, Capt. James V : 

Luce. Tohn F 667 

e, John W 1 

Ludington, Charles II 124 

Ludington Family i-'4 

Lyman Family 5*8 

Lyman, George W 518 



INDEX. 



IX 



PAGE 

McCall Family .' 53 1 

.McDonald Family 311 

McDonald, Tohn E 310 

McDonald, John W 674 

McDougall, John 838 

McNicol, Archie 948 

MacDonald Family 227 

MacDonald, Michael B 227 

Main, Alonzo 629 

Main, Appleton 340 

Main, Charles E 421 

Main Families 338, 628 

Main. Isaac 944 

.A I am, Seth W 34° 

Main, William L 629 

Main, William L. (dec'd) 628 

Maine, Albert B 266 

Maine, Charles H 863 

Maine Families 266, 786 

Manierre Family 647 

Manierre, William B 647 

Manning Family 108 

Manning, Francis M 108 

Manwaring, Mrs. Ellen B 213 

Manwaring Families 208, 329 

Manwaring, James H 329 

Manwaring, Robert A 208 

Manwaring, Wolcott B 213 

Maples, Capt. Charles 558 

Maples Families 558, 805 

Maples. Frank T 316 

Marquardt Brothers 917 

Marshall. Rufus W 617 

Marvin Family 512 

Marvin, Hon. William 512 

Mason Family 160 

Mason, Mrs. Frederick T 149 

Mason, James F 160 

Mason, Hon. Jeremiah 162 

Matson Family 48 

Matson, Mrs. Harriet H 49 

Matson, Col. Israel 48 

Matthewson Family 617 

Maxson, Charles P 437 

Maxson Family 436 

Maxson, William E 436 

Maynard Family 330 

Maynard, Sylvester H 330 

Meech, Andrew H 745 

Meech, Charles S 589 

Meech, Dwight T 607 

Meech Families 607, 745 

Meeker Family 107 

Meeker, George W 107 

Meeker, Mrs. Louise L 108 

Middleton, Mrs. George W 735 

Miller, Albert B 902 

Miller, Calvin M 611 

Miller, Charles W 902 

Miller, Herbert T 533 

Miller, John P 532 

Miner, Alton T 913" 

Miner, E. Jndson 432 

Miner, Elisha M 197 

Miner, Mrs. Emily 197 

Miner, Erastus D 109 

Miner Families. 109, 196, 273, 432, 913 

Miner, Frederick R 275 

Miner, Sidney 272, 

Miner, Sidney H 275 

Miner, Thomas- A 197 

Miner, William H 197 

Minson, John H 610 

Mitchel Family 890 

Mitchel, Henry A 891 



PAGE 

Mitchel, Mrs. Sarah A 891 

Mitchell, Albert G 84 

Mitchell, John 83 

Moon, Jesse A 506 

Morgan, Augustus V 279 

Morgan, Benedict W 186 

Morgan, Christopher 374 

Morgan, Elias F 826 

Morgan, Elijah A no 

Morgan Families. ..42, no, 186, 
277, 284, 290, 357, 374, 471, 

480, 545, 644, 696, 826, 897, 904 

Morgan, Francis W 279 

Morgan, Frederick P 644 

Morgan, James A 480 

Morgan, Capt. John A 827 

Morgan, John A 284 

Morgan, John C 286 

Morgan, John S 291 

Morgan, John W 897 

Morgan, Luther A 696 

Morgan, Nathan M., M. D 544 

Morgan, Nelson 278 

Morgan, Robert A 291 

Morgan, Deacon Roswell A.... 279 

Morgan, Samuel N 471 

Morgan, Mrs. Sarah S 291 

Morgan, Stanley G 43 

Morgan, Walter C 187 

Mowry Family 148 

Mowry, Col. William C 148 

Murray, James 794 

Newbury Family 577 

Newbury, Thomas H 577 

Newton Family 704 

Newton, George L 704 

Newton, John M 427 

Nichols, Franklin 51 

Norman Family 559 

Norman, Samuel G 559 

Norton, Clarence H .883 

Norton Families 8, 386, 883 

Norton, Henry B 9 

Norton, Mary F 10 

Norton, William A 10 

Norton, William T 10 

Nott, Rev. Samuel, D. D 63 

Noyes, Benjamin F 375 

Noyes, Charles R 7 20 

Noyes, Edwin B 206 

Noyes Families. .. .204, 554, 718, 746 

Noyes, Franklin B 746 

Noyes, Henry 7 2n 

Noyes, Henry B. (1873) 747 

Noyes, Henry B. (1837) 204 

Noyes, Nathaniel P 554 

Noyes, Walter C 719 

O'Brien, John T 956 

O'Hea, John 583 

Osgood, Charles, M. D 220 

Osgood, Charles H 220 

Osgood Family 218 

Osgood, Frederic L 221 

Osgood, Gilbert 220 

Osgood, Hon. Hugh H 16 

Osgood, Mrs. Mary G 220 

Osgood, Mrs. Mary R 17 

Osgood, William C 221 

Ostman, Frederick J 892 

Otis Family 493 

Owen, John A 287 

Packer, Daniel F 72 



PAGE 

Packer Family 72 

Palmer, Benjamin H y^ 

Palmer, Charles C 895 

Palmer, Edward A 66 

Palmer, Hon. Elisha H 65 

Palmer, Elisha L 67 

Palmer, Mrs. Emeline 820 

Palmer, Eugene 381 

Palmer Families. 64, 381, 612, 819, 910 

Palmer, Frank L 67 

Palmer, Franklin W 819 

Palmer, George S 68 

Palmer, Henry F 612 

Palmer, Henry M 819 

Palmer, Mrs. Isabelle M 66 

Palmer, James B 910 

Palmer, Noyes S 819 

Palmer, Hon. Robert 116 

Palmer, Robert, Jr 118 

Palmer, Shepard B 368 

Palmer, Hon. William H 179 

Palmer, William W 660 

Parish Family 288 

Parish, Nathaniel 288 

Parish, Raymond N 288 

Park, Angus 312 

Park, Burrows R 744 

Park Family 364 

Park, William 364 

Parker, Augustus A 750 

Parker, Ebenezer F 522 

Parker Families 521, 750 

Parker, Gerard L '. 523 

Parker, Henry F 523 

Parker, Henry L 523 

Parker, John F 523 

Parker, Theodore R 752 

Parsons, Hon. George E 308 

Peabody Family 263 

Peabody, Joseph 263 

Peck, Charles L 577 

Peck Family 810 

Peckham Families 823, 924 

Peckham, John 9 2 4 

Pecor, Thaddeus 935 

Pember, Andrew G 919 

Pember Family 9'9 

Pendleton, Alexander B 728 

Pendleton, Charles A 728 

Pendleton, Charles M 7^7 

Pendleton Families 191, 726 

Pendleton, Moses 191 

Pendleton, Moses A 192 

Perkins, Charles A 366 

Perkins, Charles C 926 

Perkins Families 366, 630, 925 

Perkins, Thomas A 630 

Perreault, Rev. Joseph P 423 

Phelps, Hon. Erskine M 179 

Phelps Family 178 

Phillips, Charles H 449 

Phillips Families 449, 831 

Phillips, John W 878 

Phillips, Thomas D 831 

Pierce, Moses 21 

Piatt, Charles B 738 

Piatt Family 74° 

Piatt. Mrs. Olive W 741 

Pollard, Mrs. Ann E 181 

Pollard, William J. H 180 

Pope Family 763 

Potter, Elihu H 901 

Potter, Hon. Elisha 361 

Potter Families ,^2, 901, 902 

Potter, John 361 



INDEX, 



PAGE 

Powers, ( ieorge H 7- s 

Pratt Family 578 

Pratt, George II 578 

Prentice, Hon. Amos W 7 

Prentice, Andrew T 641 

Prentice, Charles W 621 

ntice, Ephraim 621 

Prentice Families ~. 621, 640 

Prentice. Deacon Samuel 640 

Purdy, Alexander M., M. D.... 255 



Randall, Benjamin F 

Randall, Erastus R 

Randall Families 585, 

Randall. Capt. Jason L 

Ransom. Mrs. Emeline T 

Ransom. Rev. George R 

Rathbun Family 

Rathbun, Judge Herbert W 

Rathbun, J. Alden 

Rathbun, Capt. Latham 

Rathbun. Walter P 

Rathbun, William O 

Raymond Families 276, 

Raymond, James L 

Raymond. J. Lawrence 

Raymond, Richard 

Raymond, Richard II 

Reade. Mrs. Faith B. P 

Reade, Hezekiah L 

Reed. James L 

Richmond, Albert E 

Richmond Family 

Richmond, George J 

Richmond, 1 lenry A 

Richmond. Tohn M 

Riley. William J 

Riple\ Family 

Ripley, George B 

Ripley, Hannah L 

R.x. Orrin S 

th, Edwin A 

Roath Family 

Re >ath. Frank A 

Roath. Louis P 

Robinson, Mrs. Anna K 

Robinson, Capt. Charles 

Robinson Families 

371. 4^4- 616, 625, 

Robinson. Francis 

Robinson, Frank E 

Robinson. John 

Robinson, Deacon Lavius A. ... 

Rogers, Albert W 

Rogers, F.lisha 

Rogers, Mrs. Elizabeth 

Rogers Families. 40, 223, 054. S44. 

rs, Deacon (Ieorge W 

Rogers, John P> 

Rogers, President M 

Reuben P 

Ruggles Family 

Ruggles, 1 ton. I lenry ■. . . 



58S 
531 
861 

861 
400 
400 
238 

240 

239 
240 
240 
239 
404 
277 
277 
404 
406 
122 
121 



-jo 
253 
- 7 54 
-'54 
253 
947 
112 
112 
114 
591 
199 

197 
200 

199 
486 
625 

73-' 
7V 
615 
486 

4-'4 
657 

04S 

845 
948 
223 

844 

538 
312 
312 



Family 40S 

Sawyer Family 879 

Sawyer. Roswell P SSo 

Scholfield, Benjamin F 303 

Scholfield, Charles F 302 

Scholfield Family 300 

Scholfield, John F 302 

it Family 304 

[bhn \ 305 

itt, Capt. Thomas A 304 

•t. Thomas A., Jr 444 



W. 



N 



Smith. 
Smith. 
Smith 
Smith, 



Scranton, Mrs. Mary F. . . 

Seymour. Maxcy 

Shaw, Alexander F 

Shay. Clarence M 

Sheffield Family 

Sheffield, Mrs. Harriet P. . 
Sheffield, Dr. Washington 
Sheldon. Mrs. Mary L. . . . 
Sherman, Mrs. Caroline M 

Sherman, Frederick M 

Sherman, John F 

Sherman. Lucy A 

Sherman. Oliver 

Sholes Family 

Sholes, Jeremiah F 

Sholes. Ransom S 

Sisson Family 

n. 1 lenry B 

Si stare Family 

Sistare, Capt. James H 

Smith, Charles 11 

Capt. Charles 11 

Emma A 

Families. .. .175, 378. 90S, 

Capt. 1 lenry A 

Smith. Rev. James J 

Smith. John C 

Smith, Joseph E 

Smith, Owen S 

Soule, Mary 

Soule. William, M. D 

Spalding, Archibald S 

Spalding. D. Burrows 

Spalding Families 539, 

Spalding, Mrs. Henry A 

Spencer, Charles E 

Spencer Families 516, 

Spencer. Wilbur L. L 

Spicer, Edward E 

Spicer. Elihu 

Spicer, Capt. Elihu P 

Spicer Families 32, 137. 

Spicer, James C 

Spicer, John S 

Stafford, Albert 

Family 

Amos G 

Benjamin F 

Families. 29, 172, 257.632 

Howard L 

John D 

Oscar F 

Stanton. Robert A 

Starbuck. Mrs. Richard H 

Stark. Everett X 

Stark Families 248, 

Steiner. John 

Stevens Family 

Stevens, William R 

Steward. Herbert 

Stewart Charles E 

Stewart Family 

Stiles. Edward A 

Stiles Family 

Stoddard. Mrs. Dorcas R 

Stoddard. I lenrv 

Stoll, Charles B 

Stoll, Mrs. Louisa 

Storer, Egbert 

i" Family 

Storer. John II 

Story, Mrs. Mary T. F 

Story, William T 

Strong. Charles B 

Stron-. Edward F 



Standish 

Stanton, 

Stanton, 

Stanton 

Stanton. 

Stanti m. 

Stanton. 



PAGE 

■ 95 

■ 953 

• 382 
. 812 

■ 435 

• 43C 

• 435 

■ 283 

• 77" 
. 848 

• 737 

• 730 

• 675 
675 

. 720 

• 853 

■ 853 
782 

. 782 
911 
175 
177 
936 
90S 

5L5 
93o 
634 
380 

165 
164 
606 

539 

606 

137 
516 
596 
596 
691 

34 

33 
687 

139 

517 
796 

754 
889 

172 

70S 

05-' 

173 

29 

- 

265 
265 
687 

770 

770 
77" 
048 
948 
875 
875 
r77 

576 

580 

58] 

474 
475 
47" 
551 
55-' 
481 
455 



PAGE 

Strong. Edward L 454 

Strong Family 481 

Sullivan, James P 442 

Sutton, James B 263 

Swan. Coddington W 927 

Swan Families 731. 927 

Swan. Lucius 73 r 

Swan. Mrs. Susan 92S 

Sweet, Dr. Charles 328 

Sweet Family 327. 

Sweet, Dr. J. Byron 335 

Swift, Caroline L 712 

Swift Family 711 

Swift. Solomon E., M. D 712 

Taylor. Charles H 456 

Taylor, Charles M 456 

Taylor Family 455 

Taylor, John C. M. D 515 

Taylor. Nelson 514 

Taylor, William 546 

Terry, William H 710 

Thomas, Elisha S 650 

Thomas Families 472, 649 

Thomas, George H 474 

Thomas. Deacon James V 473 

Thomas, William G 474 

Thomas. William S 650 

Thompson Family 777 

Thompson, Isaac W 777 

Thompson. Mary E 778 

Thompson, Dr. George 451 

Thompson, (ieorge D 671 

Throop Family 598 

Tift Families 1 s7. sS4 

Tift. Henry H 585 

Tift. William H 856 

Tompkins, Deacon Benjamin W 56 

Tompkins Family s6 

Tompkins, Odell D 1S7 

Tracy Families 39. 782 

Tracy, Henry B., Esq 241 

Tracy. John II 783 

Trumbull Families 22. 693 

Trumbull, Frank 692 

Trumbull, Horace X 693 

Trumbull, Jonathan 26 

Tucker. Thurston 77 

Turner, Edward L 917 

Turner Family 917 

Tyler Family 135 

Ulmer, Mrs. Eleonore 490 

Ulmer, Frank 489 

Walden Family 604 

Walden, William B 604 

Walt mi. William 772 

Ward Family 510 

Ward. Capt. William D 510 . 

Warner. Edgar M 27 

Warner Family 27 

Way Family 340 

Webb. Charles f> 

Webb Families 251. 693 

Welib, I. Theodore 2^2 

Wells, Hon. David A 49 

Wells Family 40 

Wheeler, Arthur G I 

Wheeler, Charles E 202 

Wheeler. Charles II 271 

Wheeler. Dudley R 41 S 

Wheeler Families .. 269, 418, (120. (>Sr 
Wheeler, Fernando 6S2 



IN HEX. 



XI 



Wheeler, George A 

Wheeler, Grace D 

Wheeler, Henry D 

Wheeler, Horace N 

Wheeler. Joshua B 

Wheeler, Nelson H 

Wheeler, Richard 

Wheeler, Judge Richard A. 

Wheeler, William E 

Wh 
Wh 
Wh 
Wh 
Wh 
Wh 
Wh 
Wh 
Wh 
Wh 
Wli 
Wh 
Wh 



pple Families 634, 

pple. Timothy T 

pple, W. F 

te, Charles D 

te, Edwin F 

te Family 

te, James R 

ton, David E 

ton Family 

ton, Lucius E 

ttlesey Family 

ttlesey, George D 

ttlesev, Mrs. George D...94, 

Wiggin, Charles D., M. D 

Wiggin Family 

Wilbur Families 389, 

Wilbur, James T 

Wilbur, Capt. Robert P 



PAGE 

. 682 

• 505 

• 419 
. 271 
. 400 
. 68l 
. 620 

• 504 
2/0 
840 
840 

634 
802 
672 
672 
645 
337 
336 
338 
252 
252 
253 
73J 
733 
903 
808" 

903 



PAGE 

Wilbur. Prof. William A 389 

Wilcox, Capt. Elias F 468 

Wilcox Family 468 

Wilcox, Leander 468 

Wilcox, Orrin A 469 

Wilcox, Capt. Rowland H 469 

Willard Family 789 

Willard, Rev. Samuel G 789 

Willard, Samuel P 790 

Williams, Benjamin F 264 

Williams, Charles C 479 

Williams, Charles M 724 

Williams, Mrs. E. A. W 505 

Williams, Elias 609 

Williams. E. Winslow 38 

Williams Families 38, 

88, 264, 479, 527, 564, V5, 

608, 654, 724, 735, 912, 920. 94-' 

Williams, Hon. George 143 

Williams, George C 144 

Williams, Giles 736 

Williams, Horace 912 

Williams, Capt. Jerome W 368 

Williams, Joseph S 609 

Williams, Leonard N 920 

W r illiams, Mrs. Nancy B. (ances- 
try of) 567 



PAGE 

Williams, Nathaniel B 574 

Williams, Simeon B 564 

Williams. William A 942 

Williams, William C. (ancestry 

. of) 566 

\\ illiams, Winslow T 40 

Winchester Family 554 

Winchester, Isaac 554 

Winship, Theophilus Y 244 

Winters, Charles J 47_8 

Witter Family 134 

Wood, Howard L., M. D 957 

Woodward, Ashbel, M. D 74 

Woodward Family 229 

Woodward, Henry R 230 

Woodward, Russell G 229 

York, Benjamin F 886 

Young, Adelbert R 311 

Young, Alfred A 809 

Young. Alfred A. (1864) 811 

Young, Charles 393 

Young Families i8r, 673, 809 

Young. Mrs. Phillipina 393 

Young, William B 181 

Young, William P 673 




ClfMuJz 




BIOGRAPHICAL 




ator Buckingham in 



ON. WILLIAM A. BUCK- 
INGHAM, LL.D., former 
governor of Connecticut and 
United States Senator, a 
resident of Norwich. (The 
sketch as follows was pre- 
pared by the late Noah Por- 
ter, D.D., LL.D., at the time 
president of Yale, and ap- 
peared as a Memoir of Sen- 
the New England Historical 
and Genealogical Register of January, 1876, and 
without question it is the most complete character 
sketch of Mr. Buckingham in print, and one most 
appropriate for the Commemorative Record of his 
native county. "The writer of this sketch knew 
Senator Buckingham from before the beginning of 
his public career to the end of his life, and had fre- 
quent opportunities to judge of him in almost every 
one of the relations which have been named. After 
abating all that might be required from the partic- 
ulars of personal friendship, he can honestly give 
his testimony that a conscientious sincerity and a 
graceful symmetry gave the strength and beauty to 
a character which other generations may reasonably 
hold in the highest honor.") 

William Alfred Buckingham was born in Leba- 
non, Conn., May 28, 1804. His father, Samuel, was 
born in Saybrook, and was a descendant in the direct 
line from the Rev. Thomas Buckingham, the minis- 
ter of Saybrook (1665-1709), one of the ten found- 
ers of Yale College, and one of the moderators of 
the Synod which framed the Saybrook Platform. 
Thomas was the son of Thomas, one of the original 
members of the New Haven Colony, but soon re- 
moved to Milford, where he was one of the "seven 
pillars" of the Church at its organization. His 
mother, Joanna Matson, was born in Lyme, Conn., 
Jan. 25, 1777, died Dec. 9, 1846. The parents began 
their married life at Saybrook, but soon removed to 
Lebanon, where they died and were buried. Will- 
iam was the second of six children, the others being 
Abigail, born March 26, 1801, died June 2y, 1861 ; 
Lucy Ann, born Oct. 25, 1806, died Sept. 2, 1853 ; 
Samuel Matson, born July 12, 1809, died Nov. 26, 



1810; Samuel Giles, born Nov. 18, 1812; Israel 
Matson, born Aug. 5, 1816. 

Lebanon is a quiet, pleasant country town, 
scarcely a village, eleven miles from Norwich, on the 
high road to Hartford. Its broad and grassy street 
is bordered by a few farmhouses, comfortable and 
neat rather than elegant, which are distributed at 
convenient distances for the uses of the more than 
usually comfortable farmers who own them. Near 
the meeting-house are a few dwellings a little more 
distinguished, as the former residences of the Gov- 
ernors Trumbull, with the "store," which, during 
and ever since the war of the Revolution, has been 
dignified by the name of the "Old W r ar Office." 
Lebanon had been for nearly fifty-four years — from 
December, 1772, to February, 1826 — trained and 
honored by the ministry of Solomon Williams. D. D., 
brother of Elisha Williams, Rector of Yale College, 
and himself a leader among the Connecticut divines. 
Here was born, in 17 10, the first Jonathan Trumbull, 
who graduated at Harvard College in 1727, and was 
chosen Governor of Connecticut annually from 1769 
to 1783 — which office he resigned after fifty years 
of public service. His son Jonathan, born at Leb- 
anon, graduated at Harvard College, 1759, was pay- 
master to the army, 1776- 1 778 ; secretary and aide to 
Washington, 1780-1783 ; in 1789, member of Con- 
gress ; in 1791, Speaker of the Lower House; in 
1794, senator; and from 1798 to 1809, Governor of 
Connecticut. An academy also graced this village 
green, and had been sustained for many years with 
more or less regularity. 

Here were all the conditions for the training of a 
character like that of Senator Buckingham. A small 
population all known to one another ; nearly enough 
upon a level to be animated by a common sympathy, 
and yet sufficiently varied in position and culture 
to be able to give without condescension, and to re- 
ceive without servility ; all devout in their habits, 
and worshiping with simple rites in the one church 
which their fathers had planted ; all laboring for a 
livelihood, and therefore industrious in habits and 
simple in manners ; all believing in intelligence and 
courtesy as only inferior to godliness. No thought- 
ful vouth could live in such a community without 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



special incitements to public spirit and the love of 
country. The traditions of the old war office would 
stir the heart of any aspiring boy who saw with his 
own eyes the marks of the spurs left by orderlies and 
aides-de-camp as they sat waiting for dispatches, 
and listened with bated breath to the stories of the 
Revolution, which fell from the lips of all the elders 
of the town, and heard them describe, as they had 
seen, the persons of Washington, LaFayette, Knox 
and Rochambean. Xor could such a boy stand be- 
fore the Trumbull tomb in the old burying ground. 
where were garnered the sacred dust of the two gov- 
ernors, of Joseph, the first commissary-general in the 
war of the Revolution, and of William Williams, 
one of the signers of the Declaration of Independ- 
ence, without imbibing some of that patriotism. 

Living from his earliest vears under such influ- 
ences, the dignity of a life of public duty, and of 
sacrifice for God and country, could not but be 
impressed upon a nature so sensitive and high- 
minded as was that of young Buckingham. Most 
influential of all was the atmosphere of his own 
home, over which the grave but gentle father pre- 
sided with unpretending dignity, and which was 
pervaded by the cheerful sunlight of an active and 
loving mother, whose ministries of love and blessing 
filled the whole community. Besides the education 
of his home, with its lessons of industry and duty, 
of self-sacrifice and courtesy, and the education of 
the community, with its patriotic memories and 
pride, Mr. Buckingham had the best advantages 
of the public schools and academy of Lebanon, and 
of the Bacon Academy at Colchester, which at that 
time was much resorted to. One of his schoolmates 
at Colchester, from a distant part of the State, had 
described him as being in his youth what he was in 
manhood, singularly manly, earnest, noble and at- 
tractive. He labored upon the farm with a willing 
heart and strong hands. He taught a district school 
at Lyme a single winter, when eighteen years old, 
with great success. When twenty years of age he 
entered a drv floods house in Norwich as clerk. 
After a year's experience there and a few months 
in a wholesale bouse in New York, he opened a 
dry goods store in Norwich. In 1830 he engaged in 
the manufacture of ingrain carpets, which he con- 
tinued for eighteen years. In 1848 he relinquished 
both these occupations and embarked in the manu- 
facture of India-rubber goods, and was made the 
treasurer and an active director in the Hayward 
Rubber Company. Subsequently he became inter- 
id in several important manufacturing enter- 
prises. As a man of business he was distinguished 
for industry, integrity and promptness. He uni- 
formly fulfilled his engagements, and his credit was 
unquestioned for any sum which he required for 
himself, or for his country. 

( )n Sept. 27. 1830, he was married to Miss Eliza 
Ripley, daughter of Dwight Ripley, of Norwich, she 
being eminently fitted to make his life cheerful and 
public-spirited, and whose hospitality was as cordial 



and liberal as his own. Mrs. Buckingham died 
April 19, 1868, leaving his home and heart desolate. 
His only son, William Ripley, died in early child- 
hood, and his surviving daughter, Eliza Coit, born 
Dec. 7, 1838, was married Aug. 28, 1861, to William 
A. Aiken, who served upon his staff, as quarter- 
master general, during the war, and since his mar- 
riage has made his home in Norwich. 

In 1830 he became a communicant in the Second 
Congregational Church, and was prominent in the 
organization of a new church in 1842, of which he 
was a deacon, and a conspicuous and most zealous 
friend and benefactor. He was a Sunday-school 
teacher for thirty-seven years of his life, excepting 
four years during the war. He was principal chair- 
man of the National Congregational Council in Bos- 
ton in 1865. He was always in public and private 
pronounced in the avowal of the Christian faith, 
and always fervent and decided in the expression of 
Christian feeling. The prayers which hallowed his 
home and edified many Christian assemblies will not 
soon be forgotten by those who heard them. His 
Christian liberality was from the first to the last uni- 
formly generous, cheerful and systematic. He was 
in principle and in practice a decided friend of tem- 
perance, and from the beginning to the end of his 
public life, which was distinguished for lavish and 
refined hospitality, he never deviated, in public or 
in private, from the letter or the spirit of his avowed 
pledges and principles. His interest in education 
was intelligent, constant and most liberal. He was 
foremost in all the movements of his fellow citizens 
for the improvement of the public schools, was active 
and generous from the first in the endowment and 
management of the Norwich Free Academv, and 
was a princely benefactor of Yale College, especially 
of the Theological Department. Some of his liberal 
contributions were the spontaneous offerings of his 
conscientious and willing generosity. He was not 
content with giving himself, but was active in 
prompting others to contribute, and always with 
refined courtesy. His benefactions were by no 
means confined to public societies and institutions. 
To the poor and unfortunate he was a sympathizing 
and tender-hearted friend, giving with a cheerful 
heart, with wise discretion, with a delicate regard 
to the feelings of those whom he helped, and with 
unfeigned modesty. Before he entered political life, 
he was known as a quiet and modest citizen, unob- 
trusive in manners, though firm in principle, rarely 
if ever participating in public discussion, conspicu- 
ously intelligent, courteous and refined, and as con- 
spicuously unobtrusive in the public manifestations 
of his opinions. 

Though decided in his political sympathies and 
opinions, and though not infrequently solicited to be 
a candidate for a seat in the Legislature of the State, 
he consented but once, and was defeated. In 1849, 
1850, 1856 and 1857 he was mayor of Norwich. In 
1858 he was elected Governor of Connecticut, not so 
much on the ground of his eminent political services 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



or any special gifts of statesmanship, as on account 
of the universal confidence which was reposed in his 
good sense, his integrity, his courtesy, and his emi- 
nent moral worth. He had not been known to the 
people of the State as a public leader. He had been 
least of all prominent as manager or leader in any 
party relations, although he had been decided and 
zealous at home in the councils of the Republican 
party from its first organization, as he had previously 
been in the \\ 'big party before it. He had never 
had the opportunity of being known to the leading 
men of the State as a speaker in legislative assem- 
bly, or in any other than small assemblies of men, 
and in them only as they were gathered for some 
philanthropic or religious object. But he was well 
known and thoroughly respected in Norwich, and 
in all eastern parts of the State, as an honest, single- 
minded, firm-hearted, public-spirited Christian gen- 
tleman, who united in himself a rare combination of 
qualities which are fitted to command the respect and 
to win the confidence and love of his fellow men. 
He was first elected by a small majority, later 
elections giving him very large majorities, and for 
eight years was continued in the office, until he re- 
signed its duties and honors. 

At the time of his election to the office of Gov- 
ernor, neither he nor his friends anticipated what 
was before him. Had he either known, or even dimly 
foreboded, that the office, from being little more than 
a place of easy routine and formal administration, 
would be suddenly transformed into a post of the 
most serious responsibility, involving perplexity, 
toil and anxiety, both he and his friends would have 
hesitated in thinking that he was the fittest man to 
fill the place and to fill it so long. No one would 
have dared to predict that he would meet all its 
responsibilities with such distinguished success. 
But in review it may be confidently affirmed, that 
from the time when the first mutterings of war were 
heard, to the moment when they died into silence, no 
citizen of the State was ever thought of as in any 
respect superior to, or comparable with, the noble 
"war Governor" who represented the State of Con- 
necticut. Whether his relations are considered to 
the Executive of the United States, to the Governors 
of the other States, to the party of Connecticut op- 
posed to the war, to the soldiers and officers from 
Connecticut, to the men who were recruited or 
drafted, who were sick or in prison, to the banks and 
men of business all over the country, or to the 
American people as far as they knew of him, his 
fitness for his place was unquestioned. Whether on 
horseback at an election parade or in a public recep- 
tion, whether reading his own messages or speaking 
at a sudden call, often under very trying circum- 
stances, whether writing stirring letters to Presi- 
dent Lincoln, or addressing regiment after regiment 
as each was hurried away to the field, whether con- 
ferring with his staff or trusted friends in sudden 
exigencies, he was always heroic, patient, self-con- 



trolled and courteous. He met the demand of every 
public occasion with dignity and self-possession. At 
the time when he was elected he had been little ac- 
customed to public speaking, or to writing anything 
more than letters of business. Though familiar with 
political topics, he had not been trained to write or 
speak on them in public, because the necessity of 
defending and enforcing his political opinions had 
never been imposed upon him. 

His friends could never doubt that he would suc- 
cessfully meet all the practical demands of his office, 
while they might reasonably question whether he 
would meet its intellectual requisitions with any 
special eclat. It was interesting to see how quickly 
he came up to the requirements of the position in 
these respects ; how well from the first he wrote and 
spoke on the many occasions on which he was called 
upon. It was still more interesting to notice, when 
the country was first aroused to defend its life, how 
clearly his mind was enlarged and his heart glowed 
with patriotic feeling, and how nobly he spoke and 
wrote. His messages and correspondence were not 
only important documents in the history of the war, 
but they reflect the highest honor on the mind and 
head of their author. His own clear and practical 
intellect discerned earlier than many practiced states- 
men what the issues were, and how stern and lasting 
the struggle would be. His decisive and ringing 
words bespoke serious and painful forebodings on 
the one hand, but they breathed only courage and 
triumph on the other. He wrote and spoke as a 
prophet, because he wrote and spoke from those 
firm convictions which were inspired by his faith in 
the right, and in God who had defended the right in 
the past and could not desert it in the present. The 
people of Connecticut believed in him, because they 
recognized in his measured yet fervent words, and 
read in his consistent character and acts, their own 
strong convictions and their unshaken purposes. 
Whatever might have been thought of single acts 
of his, no Connecticut man who believed in the war 
failed to believe in Governor Buckingham. He re- 
flected so perfectly the wishes and resolves of his 
fellow citizens, and they did not hesitate to accept 
him as their leader. In multitudes of households 
his portrait was conspicuously displayed, and his 
name is still pronounced with love and honor. The 
services rendered by him to Connecticut and to the 
Union were also self-sacrificing and laborious. His 
private business was to a great extent transferred 
to others. His days and nights were spent in un- 
remitted labor. His mind was oppressed by public 
care and his heart was tried by ready sympathy. 
While it was also true that he had grown in intellect 
and character under the noble opportunities to which 
he so nobly responded, it was also true that he had 
given to others the best strength and the best days 
of his life. It was not surprising that after he re- 
signed his office, in 1866, he was elected in May, 
1868, to fill the first vacancy which occurred in the 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Senate of the United States. In that office he con- 
tinued until his death, which occurred one month 
before his term expired. As a senator he was digni- 
fied, courteous and conscientious, and won the re- 
spect and affection of men of all parties. In debate 
he was always clear, pointed and brief. 

He comprehended with great clearness the politi- 
cal and financial difficulties incident to the process 
of reconstruction, and he endeavored to meet these 
difficulties with entire fidelity to his convictions. No 
man ever doubted his honesty or his uprightness 
during the years of experiment and doubt in which 
he filled his high position. If it is premature to 
pronounce upon the wisdom of every measure which 
he supported, or of every individual action which he 
performed while a Senator, it is not premature to 
assert that he retained his personal and his political 
integrity from the beginning to the end. His home 
in Washington was elegant and hospitable, and it 
was hallowed by domestic worship ; and in his public 
duties he never overlooked or lightly esteemed his 
duties to God, or to his own Christian profession. 
In the summer preceding his death he showed symp- 
toms of debility. These increased as the winter 
came on. In the anticipation that his life might soon 
be terminated, he was entirely serene, and on the 
night of Feb. 4, 1875, he died. 

Senator Buckingham was especially remarkable 
for the symmetry of his constitution and character. 
In person, in bearing, in manners, in disposition, in 
intellect, in industry, in patience, in reserved energy, 
in the knowledge of affairs, in an affectionate and 
sympathizing nature, in scrupulous conscientious- 
ness, in fervent and enlightened religious feeling, he 
was harmoniously endowed and moulded into a rare 
example of human perfection. In his own home 
this example shone most brightly. To his friends 
he was frank and open-hearted. To the poor and 
friendless he was ever sympathizing and helpful. 
To his fellow-citizens he was the soul of probity and 
honor. To the community he was eminently public- 
spirited and generous. To the State and the coun- 
try he gave all that he was and all that he could 
perform. To God he gave a filial and trusting heart 
and an obedient and conscientious life, in which he 
followed his Great Master in meek and humble dis- 
cipleship. 

A bronze statue of Governor Buckingham was 
unveiled in the State House at Hartford, Conn., on 
June 18, 1884. 

His residence in Norwich — now known as "The 
Buckingham Memorial" — is owned and Occupied by 
Sedgwick Post, No. 1, Department of Connecticut, 
< i. A. R., and also used by its affiliated organizations, 
the Womans Relief Corps and the Sons of Veterans, 
who cherish it and its historic associations (as also 
connected with visits from Lincoln, Grant and many 
other noted men), with the most scrupulous tender- 
ness. Upon his granite monument in Yantic ceme- 
tery, Norwich, is the following inscription: 



William Alfred Buckingham, 
Governor of Conn. 
1 858- 1 866. 
U. S. Senator, 1869-1875. 
His Will Was Inflexible; His Courage Daunt- 
less; His Devotion to Duty Supreme; His 
Faith in God Absolute. 

The paternal lineage of Senator Buckingham is 
as follows, the Roman characters indicating genera- 
tions : 

(I) Thomas, the Puritan settler, and his wife 
Hannah. He came from England to Boston, 1637; 
New Haven, 1638; and Milford, 1639. 

(II) Rev. Thomas and Hester (Hosmer). 

(III) Daniel and Sarah (Lee). 

(IV) Daniel and Lydia (Lord). 

(V) Samuel and Lydia (Watrous). 

(VI) Deacon Samuel and Joanna (Matson). 

BLACKSTONE. In the death of Hon. Lo- 
renzo Blackstone, Norwich lost one of its leading and 
honored citizens and grand old men, one who, for 
nearly one-third of a century, was identified with 
the manufacturing interests of Connecticut. 

Born in the town of Branford, New Haven Co.„ 
Conn., June 21, 1819, he was a descendant in the 
seventh generation from Rev. William Blackstone. 
The latter was a graduate in 161 7 of Emanuel Col- 
lege, Cambridge, England. He received ordination 
in that country after graduation, but soon became 
of the Puritan persuasion, left his native country on 
account of his non-conformity, and became the first 
white settler on the neck of land opposite Charles- 
town, which is now the city of Boston. Upon his 
invitation the principal part of the Massachusetts 
Colony removed from Charlestown and founded the 
city of Boston on land Mr. Blackstone desired them 
to occupy. Rev. Mr. Blackstone was the first in- 
habitant of Boston, and the first man admitted a free- 
man of that town. Soon after 1635 he removed to 
Rhode Island, residing near Providence until his 
death, which occurred May 26, 1675. He was a 
religious man with literary tastes, of correct, indus- 
trious, thrifty habits, and of kind and philanthropic 
feelings. He married, in July, 1659, widow Sarah 
Stephenson. From this immigrant settler, Rev. 
William Blackstone, the late Lorenzo Blackstone's 
lineage is through John, John (2), John (3), Tim- 
othy and James Blackstone. 

(II) John Blackstone, only son of Rev. Will- 
iam, married in 1692, and about 1713 removed to- 
Branford, Connecticut. 

(III) John Blackstone (2), son of John, born in 
1699, married and died in Branford, passing away 
Jan. 3, 1785, aged nearly eighty-six years. 

(IV) John Blackstone (3), son of John (2), 
born in 1731, in Branford, died Aug. 10, 1816, aged 
eighty-five years. 

(V) Timothy Blackstone, son of John (3), bom 




^Cc>Oc.S2-*^f* 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



in 1766, in Branford, died there in 1849, when 
eighty-three years of age. 

(VI) James Blackstone, son of Timothy, and 
father of Lorenzo, was reared on the homestead 
which had been occupied by five generations of the 
family, all of whom possessed the traits of char- 
acter of the immigrant ancestor — industry, modesty 
and marked executive ability. Like his forefathers, 
James Blackstone was a farmer. At the age of 
twenty he was chosen captain of a company of Con- 
necticut militia, and was in command of same for 
several months while serving as coast guard during 
the war of 18 12. He was chosen to a number of 
town offices, serving as assessor and selectman ; was 
several times a representative from his town in the 
General Assembly of the State; and in 1842 was a 
member of the State Senate from his district. His 
political affiliations were with the old Federal and 
Whig parties, and later with the Republican party. 
A man of fine intellect and good judgment, his 
•counsel and advice were sought by persons of Bran- 
ford and other towns. He was a man of character 
and remarkable ability, and "if his tastes had led 
him to a larger place for the exercise of his ability 
no field would have been so large that he would not 
have been a leader among men." Mr. Blackstone 
was a cousin in the fifth degree to Sir William 
Blackstone, the great authority upon the common law 
of England, and the portraits of the two men bear 
a marked family resemblance. Mr. Blackstone's 
useful life of prominent citizenship covered only a 
little less than a century, for he lived to the re- 
markable age of ninety-three years, dying Feb. 4, 
1886, in Branford ; he was buried in the beautiful 
•cemetery of that town. 

Mr. Blackstone married Lucy Beach, of Bran- 
ford, Conn., and six children were born to this 
union: (1) George died unmarried in 1861. (2) 
Mary died May 10, 1900. She married Samuel O. 
Plant, and resided in Branford with her daughter, 
Ellen Plant. Her grandchildren through her daugh- 
ter, Sarah, are William L., Paul W., and Gertrude 
Harrison. (3) Lorenzo is mentioned below. (4) 
Ellen married Henry B. Plant, late of New York 
City, who died in 1900. She died in 1861, leaving 
one son, Morton L. Plant, who married and has one 
son, Henry B. Plant. (5) John died some years 
ago, leaving three children, George, Adelaide and 
Mrs. Emma Pond. (6) Timothy B. is mentioned 
"below. 

Timothy B. Blackstone, the youngest son of 
the above family, was born in Branford in 1829. 
In 1868 he married Miss Isabella F. Norton, of Nor- 
wich, Conn., who was a descendant of early Con- 
necticut settlers. After his marriage his home up 
to the time of his death, which occurred May 26, 
1900, was at No. 252 Michigan avenue, Chicago, 111. 
He left the East nearly fifty years ago. For more 
than thirty years he managed with consummate skill 
the affairs of the most successful of all the great 



railways of the West, and was best known as presi- 
dent of the Chicago & Alton Railway Company. 

Timothy B. Blackstone was the donor of the 
handsome and costly library at Branford, Conn., 
which is styled "The James Blackstone Memorial 
Library." This building he had erected, and pro- 
vided an endowment for the maintenance of the 
library, in memory of his father. The library build- 
ing is one of imposing beauty, standing on high 
ground in the main street of the town. It is designed 
in the purest Grecian Ionic style, the architectural 
details being taken from the beautiful Erechtheum of 
the Athenian Acropolis ; it is constructed of Tennes- 
see marble of a very light tone. The public exercises 
of dedication were held in the building June 17, 
1896, and the building was thereafter open for use. 
In June, 1901, the library contained 11,800 books. 
Over a hundred periodicals are taken for the main 
reading room, and twelve for a branch library which 
was opened in Stony Creek in February, 1900. 
Surely the people of Branford have reason to rejoice 
that James Blackstone lived there and gave to them 
a son whose affection for his native town, and filial 
devotion to his father's memory, led him to place 
there this enduring monument of architectural 
beauty. 

Hon. Lorenzo Blackstone was born in Bran- 
ford, Conn., June 21, 1819. His boyhood was spent 
in his native town, where he attended the district 
school and the academy. Early in life young Black- 
stone had inclination for business activity, and spent 
some time in clerical and practical business work. 
In 1842, when but twenty-three years of age, he 
concluded to go into business for himself. Going to 
Liverpool, England, he there established an agency 
and commission house for the sale of American mer- 
chandise. In this line of business he was a pioneer. 
Taking into consideration his years and the business 
ability requisite in such an undertaking, its success 
from the first only reflects great credit upon him. He 
entered into the business with energy and persever- 
ance, and it rapidly increased until he had branches 
in London and Manchester, and his transactions 
reached every part of Great Britain, even extending 
to the continent and Australia. Some few years 
later he added to the business the sale of rubber over- 
shoes, and was the first to introduce the Goodyear 
rubber goods into Great Britain. He had built up a 
large trade in this particular line of business when 
he was notified by Charles Mackintosh & Co., the 
great rubber manufacturers of Manchester, that he 
was infringing on their rights as owners of the 
patents of Thomas Hancock, who was in litigation 
with Charles Goodyear. It was at this time that the 
characteristic foresight and business tact of Lorenzo 
Blackstone came prominently to the front. He at 
once entered into an arrangement with Messrs. 
Mackintosh & Co., which gave him the exclusive 
right to sell rubber boots and shoes in every part 
of Great Britain, thus at the same time securing 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



himself against the competition of American manu- 
facturers and their English agents. For a time he 
purchased goods indiscriminately of various Ameri- 
can companies, but in 1846 he began to sell the goods 
of the Hay ward Rubber Company, of Colchester, 
Conn., in which concern he was later extensively 
interested. The sales of rubber boots and shoes 
through Mr. Blackstone's agencies amounted to sev- 
eral hundred thousand dollars per year. Mr. Black- 
stone continued in this business until 1855, when he 
returned to Branford, Conn. His house, however, 
continued the business with its branches in England 
until about 1859. 

Lorenzo Blackstone's intimate relations with his 
brothers-in-law, the Messrs. Norton, who were 
prominent merchants in Norwich, Gov. Bucking- 
ham, and other officers of the Hay ward Rubber 
Company, resident in Norwich, were instrumental in 
causing him to select Norwich as a place of resi- 
dence. In 1857 he removed there, intending to re- 
tire from business, and he built the mansion on 
Washington street where he resided until his death. 
However, his intention of retiring from business was 
never carried out, as inactivity was impossible to 
a man of such busy instincts, so full of varied inter- 
ests. As a successful business man, active, far- 
seeing, energetic and public-spirited, he became and 
remained a progressive capitalist, as such contribut- 
ing much toward the development and wealth of 
his adopted city. 

In 1859 Mr. Blackstone built the Attawaugan 
Mills, at Dayville, and engaged in the manufacture 
of cotton goods. In 1865 he purchased the Leon- 
ard Ballou Mill property, at Dayville, and erected 
a new mill. Both of these mills were subsequently 
enlarged, and have since been successfully and 
profitably operated by the Attawaugan Manufactur- 
ing Company. He purchased, in 1870, the Totoket 
Mills, at Occum, which were formerly utilized in 
the manufacture of woolen goods, and converted 
them into cotton mills. In 1877 the company added 
to their already extensive mill property, erecting the 
Pequot Mills, at Montville. As a promoter of cot- 
ton mill industries and a manufacturer of cotton 
goods Mr. Blackstone's efforts were crowned with 
the same signal success that attended his earlier 
career in other business lines. 

Mr. Blackstone was greatly interested in the wel- 
fare of his adopted city, and was a most busy man. 
He was ever a most useful one, and in various ca- 
pacities performed the duties of good citizenship 
with that grace and dignity characteristic of the 
man. Possessed of wealth, he was largely interested 
in many corporations and enterprises. He was a 
director and one of the executive committee of the 
Ponemah Manufacturing Company of Norwich, 
one of the largest cotton manufacturing companies 
of New England ; was a director in the Thames 
National Bank ; and for thirty years was the presi- 
dent of the Chelsea Savings Bank. He was for 
some vears a member of the board of trustees of 



the Norwich Free Academy. He served for a num- 
ber of years as a member of the common council of 
Norwich ; served four years ( 1866-1870) as the hon- 
orable mayor of the city ; represented Norwich in 
the General Assembly of Connecticut in 1871 ; and 
in 1878-79 represented his district in the State Sen- 
ate. Mr. Blackstone was largely interested in West- 
ern railways, and was a director in the Chicago & 
Alton Railway Company, of which his brother was 
the president. Himself a man of great ability and 
achievement, he was a member of a great family, 
as one readily sees by reading between the lines of 
the foregoing family sketch. In every particular in 
life he proved capable and efficient, and was as 
highly esteemed for his private virtues as for his 
superior business qualifications and public service. 

Mr. Blackstone was married in October, 1842, 
in Branford, to Emily Norton, a native of Bran- 
ford, daughter of the late Capt. Norton, and sister 
of the late Henry B. Norton, of Norwich. Six chil- 
dren blessed this union, three of whom were born in 
England: (1) James De Trafford married Lillian 
Osburn, and left one son, Lorenzo, who married a 
Miss Caruthers, and lives in Norwich. (2) Harriet 
B. married F. S. Camp, and has three children. Wal- 
ter Trumbull, Talcott Hale and Elizabeth Norton. 
(3) Ella F. married F. J. Huntington, and resides 
abroad. (4) William Norton is mentioned below. 
(5) Mary Elizabeth died in 1861. (6) Louis L. is 
mentioned below. The mother of this family passed 
away Oct. 1, 1896, and was laid to rest in the Yan- 
tic cemetery. 

William Norton Blackstone, son of Hon. 
Lorenzo, is one of the leading manufacturers of 
Norwich, and a worthy successor to his father. He 
was born in the city of Norwich, Sept. 1, 1857, was 
educated in the public schools of his native city, 
and finished at the Free Academy of Norwich. 
After leaving school he entered the employ of his 
father, where he learned the business in detail, and 
at the death of the latter he became the head of the 
business, which he has continued ever since with 
uniform success. He has also been prominently 
identified with banking interests, being a director of 
the Chelsea Savings Bank and of the Thames Na- 
tional Bank, and was president of the Uncas National 
Bank for a number of years until he resigned, in 
January, 1903. In 1903 he was elected vice-presi- 
dent of the Thames National Bank. Mr. Black- 
stone is also interested in other enterprises, and is 
noted for his honorable standing among his business 
associates. He takes no part in politics, only doing 
his duty as a citizen by voting for the candidates of 
his choice. He is a stanch supporter of the policy 
of the Republican party. In his religious connection 
he is a member of the Park Congregational Church. 
His home on Washington street, one of the finest in 
Norwich, was remodeled a few years ago under his 
supervision. 

Mr. Blackstone was married in New York, in 
June, 1883, to Julia Squire, a daughter of Louis L. 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Squire, of New York, and a descendant of an old 
Branford family. 

Louis Lorenzo Blackstone, youngest son of 
the late Hon. Lorenzo Blackstone, was born in Nor- 
wich, March 17, 1861. He received his early edu- 
cation in his native city, attending the public schools 
and the Free Academy, and later was a pupil at the 
"Gunnery," Washington, Conn. His school days 
over, he entered the manufacturing business under 
his father, and for several years held a responsible 
position with the Attawaugan Company, proving 
himself a capable and reliable business man. He 
suffered much for several years before his death, 
which was quite sudden — in December, 1891. His 
remains rest in the family lot in the Yantic cemetery 
at Norwich. 

On Nov. 19, 1887, Mr. Blackstone was married, 
in Christ Episcopal Church, Norwich, to Grace 
Prentice Webb, who was born in Norwich, daugh- 
ter of Julius and Martha (Thompson) Webb, the 
former of whom is deceased. Two children, Justine 
and Phyllis, came to this union. Mrs. Blackstone 
and her children are members of Christ Episcopal 
Church, Norwich, which Mr. Blackstone also at- 
tended. He was a Republican in political senti- 
ment. 

HON. AMOS W. PRENTICE, late of Nor- 
wich. In every community, large or small, there are 
a few men who by their force of character are intui- 
tively recognized as leaders, men who are success- 
ful in their business undertakings, generous and 
fair in their relations with others, and who perceive 
and warmly advocate those measures which insure 
the public well-being. In the city of Norwich there 
is no name better known than that of the gentleman 
whose name appears at the opening of this sketch. 
He was intimately associated with those enterprises 
through which the city has attained a higher and 
broader life. He aided or led in every movement 
for the public good, and as a merchant and banker, 
as well as popular and eminent citizen, he was prom- 
inent in its material growth. 

Mr. Prentice was a native of what is now the 
town of Griswold, Conn., born Dec. 20, 18 16, a son 
of Amos and Lucy (Wylie) Prentice, and a de- 
scendant in the eighth generation from Capt. 
Thomas Prentice, of Cambridge, Mass., his lineage 
being through Thomas (2), Samuel, Joseph, 
Eleazer, John and Amos Prentice. 

(I) Capt. Thomas Prentice, born in England in 
1621, appears early at Cambridge. Mass., the birth 
of two of his children being of record there in 1650. 
The family lived in the eastern part of Cambridge 
village and later in Newtown, Mass., where Mr. 
Prentice died July 6, 17 10. He was appointed cap- 
tain of the troop of horse in the Indian war, June 24, 
ID 75- The Christian name of his wife was Grace. 
She and their eldest child accompanied Mr. Pren- 
tice to this country. Their children were : Grace, 
baptized in England in 1648; Thomas, born in 



1649; Elizabeth, baptized Jan. 22, 1650; Mary, born 
in 1652; John, baptized in 1653; and Hannah, born 
in 1 66 1. The mother, Grace, died Oct. 9, 1692. 

(II) Thomas Prentice (2), born in 1649, mar- 
ried March 20, 1675, Sarah, daughter of Capt. 
Thomas and Ann (Lord) Stanton. Mr. Prentice 
died April 19, 16 — 5, and his widow married (sec- 
ond) Capt. William Denison, and died in 17 13. 
Children: Thomas, born Jan. 13, 1676; Grace, 1678; 
Samuel, about 1680 ; and John, 1682. 

(III) Samuel Prentice, born about 1680, mar- 
ried Esther, daughter of Nathaniel Hammond, of 
Newtown, Mass. Before 1700 Mr. Prentice owned 
a large tract of land in Stonington, Conn., and went 
there to live not far from 1709. His children were : 
Samuel, born Nov. 25, 1702; Joseph, Jan. 26, 1704; 
Grace, Jan. 16, 1705; Mary, April 12, 1708; Jonas, 
Sept. 28, 1710; Esther, Dec. 12, 1713; Eunice, Dec. 
8, 1717; Thomas, Oct. 25, 1719; Oliver, Oct. 25, 
1720; Dorothy, Dec. 13, 1723, and Lucy, May 20, 
1727. 

(IV) Joseph Prentice, born Jan. 26, 1704, in 
Newtown, Mass., married Nov. 10, 1725. Mary 
Wheeler. Their children were : Joseph, born Aug. 
24, 1727; Priscilla, Jan. 20, 1729; Eleazer, Sept. 28, 
1735 ; Elisha, Jan. 1, 1737 ; Jonathan, May 28. 1740; 
Mary, June 19, 174 — ; Hannah, March 7, 1747: and 
Manassah and Ephraim (twins), July 22, 1749. 

(V) Eleazer Prentice, born Sept. 28, 1735, in 
Preston, Conn., married there, Oct. 19, 1757, Sarah, 
daughter of John Stanton (3), of Preston. She 
died in December, 1805, aged seventy years. Their 
children were: Sarah, born March 8, 1759: Lucy, 
March 27, 1761 ; Olive, Oct. 9, 1763; John, Sept. 1, 
1766; Desire, June 16, 1771 ; Nathan, Aug. 4, 1773 ; 
and Rufus, Dec. 24, 1776. 

(VI) John Prentice, born Sept. 1, 1766. married 
Dec. 25, 1791, Betsey Cleft, and resided in Preston, 
Conn. Their children were: Amos, born Aug. 5, 
1792; Sally, May 21, 1794; Frederick, May 14, 
1796 ; John, Nov. 28, 1800 ; Charlotte, Oct. 26, 1802 ; 
Betsey C, April 15, 1805; William C, March 6, 
1807; Frances H., March 5, 1809; and Caroline A., 
March 12, 1812. 

(VII) Amos Prentice, born Aug. 5, ij\ )2. was 
a farmer, and resided jn Griswold, Conn. He mar- 
ried Jan. 16, 1816, Lucy Wylie, and their children 
were: Amos W\, born Dec. 20, 1816, and Samuel 
T., born Jan. 9, 1820. The latter served in the Civil 
war, and died in New York. 

Amos W. Prentice, the subject proper of this 
article, was but a small boy when his father died, 
and when about seven years old, in 1823. came to 
Norwich and made his home with his uncle, Freder- 
ick Prentice, who resided there. He received some- 
what meagre educational advantages, but improved 
every opportunity. When a boy he was a clerk in 
the store of William A. Buckingham, and in 1831 
he entered the hardware store on Water street kept 
by Joseph and John lireed. This business was 
founded in 1764 by Gershom Breed, who was sue- 



8 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ceeded by Jesse and Simon Breed, and they in turn 
by Joseph and John Breed. Mr. Prentice proved to 
be industrious and competent, and in 1840 was ad- 
mitted to membership in the firm, the name being 
changed to John Breed & Co. After the death of 
Mr. Breed Mr. Prentice became the senior partner, 
and in 1864 the firm name became A. \Y. Prentice 
& Co. Mr. Prentice continued in active business 
lyitil 1889. when he retired, and the firm was 
changed to Eaton, Chase & Co. Mr. Prentice's 
career as an active business man covered a period of 
fifty-seven years. Such a record is seldom equalled, 
and is one of which any man might well feel proud. 

Being public-spirited and progressive, and de- 
siring to see Norwich advance, Mr. Prentice took a 
deep interest in public affairs early in life. In poli- 
tics he was an old-time Whig, and, after the exit of 
that party, a stanch Republican. Bi 1854 he repre- 
sented the Eighth District in the State Senate, 
among his colleagues in that body being James 
Dixon, of Hartford (afterward a United States 
senator). Henry B. Harrison (afterward governor), 
of Xew Haven, and ex-Gov. William T. Minor, of 
Stamford. From 1858 to i860 he was mayor of the 
city, and in 1877 ne represented the town in the State 
Legislature in company with the late Horace Whita- 
ker. Besides being mayor he was a member of the 
court of common council for a period of ten years. 
He possessed rare ability as a presiding officer and 
often guided the deliberations at town and city meet- 
ings. He sometimes served on commissions to settle 
disputes and questions, and never failed to give 
satisfaction. Mr. Prentice did not seek prominence 
at the hands of his fellow citizens, for in his case it 
can be truthfully said the office sought the man. He 
was always fair in politics, and never tried to force 
his political opinions on any one. Mr. Prentice 
always took a deep interest in religious matters and 
in 1842 aided in organizing the Broadway Congre- 
gational Church, of which he served as clerk and 
member of the Society's committee. In 1875 he suc- 
ceeded the late Governor Buckingham as deacon of 
the church. He was a liberal contributor to all kinds 
of religious work. Mr. Prentice was a trustee of 
the Free Academy for many years and always at- 
tended the graduating exercises. In him education 
always had a firm friend. 

Mr. Prentice occupied a prominent and enviable 
position in business circles. For many years he was 
a director of Norwich Savings Society, one of the 
largest and oldest institutions of its kind in the 
State, succeeding the late Franklin Nichols as presi- 
dent on Nov. 15, 1890. He was a director of the 
First National Bank and also of the Richmond Stove 
Company, and also held other positions of trust. He 
was one of the very first in New England to suggest 
the name of Abraham Lincoln for the office of Presi- 
dent of the United States, doing this in a public 
meeting when Mr. Lincoln was just beginning to 
gain fame. Before and during the Civil war, when 
meetings were held in Norwich to discuss the ways 



and means of helping the soldiers and Union, Mr. 
Prentice almost invariably presided at such meetings, 
and no man in Norwich did more than he for the 
cause. During the dark days of the war he was 
Gov. Buckingham's true friend and adviser, and did 
all in his power to aid the cause of the Union and 
assist the soldiers. 

Amos \Y. Prentice was easily the ideal citizen 
of Norwich. He was the soul of honor, and enjoyed 
the full confidence of the people of this vicinity. 
He possessed a broad mind and a kindly disposition, 
and was charitable to all in need. One of the best 
testimonials to his high character is that during 
all his years in business those in his employ held 
him in high esteem, and the best of feeling prevailed 
between employer and employe. His family rela- 
tions were happy. His death occurred after a short 
illness, on Dec. 14, 1894. and he is buried in Yantic 
cemetery, at Norwich. 

On May 18, 1840. Mr. Prentice was married to 
Hannah E. Parker, a native of Middletown, Conn., 
a daughter of Elias and Grace (Mansfield) Parker. 
Mrs. Prentice passed away Dec. 24, 1887, aged 
sixty-five years. 

Air. and Mrs. Prentice had four children, viz. : 

( 1 ) Mary Tyler married Francis A. Dorrance, who 
died in Norwich. Their only son, Amos Prentice, 
now resides in Helena, Mont. Mrs. Dorrance for 
her second husband married John Willard, and she 
died in Norwich May 30, 1892, aged fifty years. 

(2) Grace Caroline died at the age of ten years. 

(3) Amy Breed died when six months old. (4) 
Anna E. is the wife of Albert H. Chase, of Norwich, 
a member of the firm of Eaton, Chase & Co. 
Their children are: Pauline, born Jan. 24, 1891 ; 
Anna Prentice, Aug. 20, 1893 ; Amos Prentice, Dec. 
30, 1894; Elizabeth, July 13, 1897. 

NORTON. The Norton family of Norwich, of 
whom the late Henry B., Timothy P. and William 
T. were the founders, is one of the oldest families 
of Connecticut. Thomas Norton, the founder of 
the family in New England, was born in the County 
of Surrey, England, and was a descendant in the 
fourteenth generation from 

(I) Le Sieur de Norville, who came to England 
with William the Conqueror and was his constable. 
He married into the house of Yalois. 

(II) Sr. de Norville married into the house of 
Barr. 

(Ill) Sr. de Norville married into the house of 
Dolbermmonto. 

(IV) Sr. de Norville married Auelina. daughter 
of Neuil De Witt, of Raby. 

(V) Sr. de Norville married Jorica, daughter of 
Sieur Dumpre de Court. 

(YI) Sr. de Norville, alias Norton, married the 
daughter of Sir John Hadsooke. 

I YII) Sr. de Norville, alias Norton, married the 
daughter and co-heiress of Monseigneur Bassing- 
bourne. 





Iri/^u 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



(VIII) Sir John Norton, alias Norville, married 
the daughter of the Lord Grey de Ruthyn. 

(IX) John Norton, of Sharpenhow, in Bedford- 
shire. 

(X) John Norton, of Sharpenhow, married a 
daughter of Mr. Danie. She married for her second 
husband John Cowper. 

(XI) Thomas Norton, of Sharpenhow, married 
(first) Elizabeth Merry. 

(XII) Richard Norton married Margery, daugn- 
ter of Wingar, of Sharpenhow. 

(XIII) William Norton married (first) Mar- 
garet, daughter of William Howes. Among his 
children was Thomas (of Guilford, Connecticut). 

(XIV) Thomas Norton married in 1625 Grace 
Wells, and with his wife and children came from 
Ockley, in Surrey, near Guilford, England, to Bos- 
ton, Mass., 1639. There he remained a short time, 
and while there his wife gave the land on which the 
old South church was built. He joined Rev. Henry 
Whitfield's company to the New Haven Colony, lo- 
cating at Guilford, where he spent the remainder of 
his life and where he died. He and his wife had 
four children: Thomas (born about 1626, who set- 
tled in Saybrook, Conn.), John, Grace, and Mary 
(who married Samuel Rockwell). 

(XV) John Norton, son of Thomas and Grace 
(Wells) Norton, born in England, came to the New 
World with his parents and located at Guilford, 
Conn., where he spent the remainder of his life, 
and where he died. He married (first) Hannah 
Stone and (second) Elizabeth Hubbard. Children: 

(1) John, born Nov. 18, 1666, died Jan. 10, 1667. 

(2) John was born May 29, 1668. (3) Samuel, 
born Oct. 4, 1672, married Abigail Ward Jan. 25, 
1693. (4) Thomas, born March 4, 1675, married 
Rachel Starr. (5) Hannah, born Feb. 4, 1678, mar- 
ried Ebenezer Stone Jan. 16, 1702. (6) Jeruiah 
married Simon Leete. (7) Elijah. (8) Benjamin. 
(9) Martha. 

(XVI) Thomas Norton, son of John, born in 
Guilford March 4, 1675, married May 28, 1701, 
Rachel Starr. She died Sept. 30, 1755, and he died in 
1744. Children: Rachel, born May 12, 1702; 
Thomas, Oct. 4, 1704; Daniel, Jan. 17, 1707; Reu- 
ben, April 6, 171 1 (married Hannah Hooker) ; Leah 
April 3, 1715 ; Evin, Nov. 8, 1718 (married widow 
Ruth Everts) ; Timothy, Feb. 3, 1721 (married July 
1, 1748, Elizabeth Ward). 

(XVII) Thoma.s Norton, son of Thomas and 
Rachel (Starr) Norton, born in Guilford Oct. 4. 
1704, died Sept. 8, 1789. His wife, Bethiah, died 
Sept. 28, 1776. Children: Thomas, born in 1732, 
who married Mary Tyler ; Ashael ; Jediah ; and Be- 
thiah, who married Deacon Peletiah Leete, of Guil- 
ford, in 1770. 

(XVIII) Thomas Norton, son of Thomas and 
Bethiah Norton, born in 1732, died May 4, 1797, in 
Branford, Conn. He married March 26, 1762, Mary 
Tyler, who was born in Branford in 1737, and died 
Oct. 21, 1824. Children: Timothy, born Dec. 19, 



1762: Thomas, Sept. 11, 1765 (died Oct. 28, 1805) ; 
Bethiah, May 29, 1768 (died Oct. 10, 1809) ; Mary, 
Sept. 2, 1772 (died Dec. 6, 1797) ; Elizabeth, Sept. 
24, 1775 (died Oct. 1, 1802) ; Timothy, Aug. 10, 
1777; Asa, Dec. 8, 1783. 

(XIX) Capt. Asa Norton, son of Thomas, born 
in Branford Dec. 8, 1783, grew to manhood there, 
and followed a seafaring life. He was master of a 
packet line between Branford and New York, and 
spent his life in Branford, where he died in 1854. 
He was buried in Branford cemetery. He married 
Sophia Barker, who was born in Branford, daugh- 
ter of Edward Barker and Sarah (Brown), who 
were married May 24, 1763. He was a son of Ed- 
ward Barker, who on March 9, 1732, married Han- 
nah Baldwin, born Nov. 7, 17 14, daughter of John 
and Hannah (Tyler) Baldwin. John Baldwin was 
a native of Branford, a son of George Baldwin and 
grandson of John Baldwin. Mr. and Mrs. Norton 
had children as follows : ( 1 ) Henry Barker, born 
May 5, 1807, in Branford, died Oct. 25 1891. (2) 
Jehiel L., born April 5, 1809, died Jan. 13, 1861, in 
Mentone, France. (3) Elizabeth, born Oct. 24, 
181 1, married Abrahm Rogers, and died April 10, 
1897. (4) Mary, born April 21, 1814, never mar- 
ried, and died June 4, 1886. (5) Timothy P., who 
was born Nov. 23, 1816, passed away Dec. 3, 1877. 
(6) Emily, born July 19, 1820, died Oct. 1, 1896; 
she married Lorenzo Blackstone, who has a sketch 
elsewhere in this volume. (7) William G., born 
Aug. 23, 1823, died June 13, 1826. (8) William T., 
born Dec. 5, 1826, died Nov. 22, 1871. 

Henry Barker Norton was reared in his na- 
tive town and given a common-school education. In 
1824 he cast his lot with the people of Norwich, and 
at the time his cash capital consisted of only one 
dollar. He began his career there as a clerk with 
the firm of Willis, Gray & Co., and three years later 
became associated as a partner in the wholesale gro- 
cery business of Backus & Norton, continuing in 
business in that connection and the successive 
changes in the firm of Norton, Converse & Co., and 
Norton Bros., until his retirement from active busi- 
ness, in 1877, a period of fifty years. At this time 
(1877) tne wholesale grocery house of Norton Bros, 
was one of the largest in Connecticut, and its reputa- 
tion second to none. 

Through his long and active career as merchant, 
manufacturer and citizen in his adopted town and 
city, Mr. Norton was deeply interested in all that 
pertained to its interests. All measures for the de- 
velopment of material, religious and educational af- 
fairs found in him an earnest supporter and gener- 
ous contributor. His many acts of benevolence were 
appreciated by all. He was one of the original in- 
corporators of the Norwich Free Academy in 1854, 
and for years was president of the board of trustees 
of that institution of which for years he was presi- 
dent. He was the first president of the Norwich & 
New York Transportation Company. For some 
years he was a large stockholder and the president 



10 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



of the Attawaugan Manufacturing Company of 
Norwich. Ho was a director of the Norwich Bleach- 
ing, Dyeing & Printing Company and the Richmond 
Stove Company. He was interested in a number of 
western railroads and outside corporations. He was 
a director in the Bulletin Company, and in the Peo- 
ple's Line of Steamers between New York and Al- 
bany, being for some years president of the line. 
Mr. Norton's religious connections were with the 
Broadway Congregational Church, in which he was 
a deacon. His political affiliations were with the 
Republican party. During the Civil war his services 
were of great value to Gov. Buckingham. 

"Henry B. Norton was another of our citizens 
whose services, ever generous and unceasing, en- 
deared him to all Norwich soldiers. His name is 
one which they speak to this day with the warmest 
feelings. Quick to perceive what should be done, 
and eager to help wheresoever he could, he rendered 
the most timely assistance to the Governor. Super- 
intending the transportation of troops, the charter- 
ing of vessels, the purchasing of the army supplies 
in the early period of the war, and thereafter at- 
tending personally to the wants and comforts of our 
men in the field, his labors were invaluable. Sol- 
diers came to feel that if he was on the lookout for 
them they would not suffer for the lack of anything 
his thoughtful care and means could provide. Mem- 
bers of the Fourteenth and Eighteenth Regiments 
write him down as their friend, one whose presence 
and aid tided them over many a day of pressing 
need. His services, from first to last, were the free- 
will offering his patriotism alone inspired him to 
render in the way of compensation." 

Mr. Norton was chosen a Presidential elector on 
the Republican ticket in 1880. He never sought 
political preferment. He acquired and retained dur- 
ing his long life the esteem and respect of the com- 
munity, and as a beautiful result he seemed to be 
without enemies. "Seldom has the death of a citi- 
zen of Norwich excited so deep and such profound 
regret. It was a loss that was felt in the circles of 
business and public improvements, and in the de- 
partments of education and philanthropy." 

Mr. Norton was personally popular, was genial, 
kind, affable and hospitable. In his death, which 
occurred at his home in Norwich Oct. 25, 1891, there 
passed away one of New England's sterling char- 
acters, a man who, by his upright life, industry, en- 
ergy and thrift, impressed himself upon the com- 
munity in which he had lived the greater part of a 
century. He was a man, too, of the self-made mold, 
one who was calculated to inspire confidence and 
bear incentive for those beginning a life wherein self- 
reliance and self-depending is their only hope. 

On June 19, 1831, Mr. Norton married, in Bran- 
ford, Emeline Frisbie, daughter of Calvin and Polly 
(Harrison) Frisbie. She was born in. Branford, 
May 29. 1808, and died in Norwich May 14, 1887. 
and is buried in the Yantic cemetery, where Mr. 
Norton is also interred. Seven children, two sons 



and five daughters, were born to this union, four 
living to maturity : Isabella Farnsworth, who mar- 
ried Timothy B. Blackstone, and resides in Chicago, 
111., and Emeline Frisbie, Mary Fowler, and Ella M., 
all of whom reside in Washington street, Norwich. 

William Tyler Norton, brother of Henry 
Barker Norton, was born in Branford, Dec. 5, 1826,. 
and there attended the public schools, finishing at the 
Norwich Academy. He spent his younger manhood 
in New York, and later joined his brothers in the 
wholesale grocery business, being a member of the 
firm of Norton Brothers, the Attawaugan and Pe- 
quot Companies, and other concerns, up to the time 
of his death, which sad event took place while he was- 
on his way from New York to New London, on 
board the steamer "City of New London," which 
took fire. Mr. Norton, instead of saving himself, 
aided an elderly woman by getting her a life pre- 
server, and also assisted an elderly man, sacrificing 
his own life, and dying the death of a hero, Nov. 
22, 187 1. His body was not found until Jan. 20, 
1872; it was laid to rest in Yantic cemetery. Mr. 
Norton was a man popular with all classes, and dur- 
ing the Civil war he aided the cause in many ways,, 
being a friend and supporter of the war governor, 
Buckingham. He equipped three substitutes for the 
war. Mr. Norton was a Republican, but not a poli- 
tician. He was a member of Broadway Congrega- 
tional Church, a good Christian man, and a devoted 
father and husband. 

On Nov. 9, 1852, in Branford, Mr. Norton was 
married, by Rev. John P. Gillett, to Mary Elizabeth 
Plant, who was born in Branford, Conn., Oct. 13, 
1826. She died Sept. 19, 1879, an d * s buried in Yan- 
tic cemetery. Mrs. Norton was a daughter of John 
and Angelina (Beach) Plant. She was a lady of 
culture and refinement, and was much devoted to her 
family. The untimely death of her husband was a 
great burden of sorrow to her, and she died from 
its effect while still in middle life, and was buried 
beside her husband. She was a member of the 
Broadway Congregational Church. The following 
named children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Norton: 

(1) Angelina Plant Norton, born Aug. 30. 1853, 
was educated in Norwich and in Miss Porter's 
School at Farmington, Conn. She married Oct. 5. 
1876. Edward D. Fuller, of Norwich, and they had 
one child, Mary Norton, born Dec. 25, 1880, who 
died Aug. 15, 1881. 

(2) Henry Asa Norton, born Aug. 15, 1859, 
married Sept. 12, 1883, Elizabeth Roath Parker,, 
daughter of Henry Lester and Ann M. (Roath) 
Parker, and they reside in Norwich, Conn. Henry 
A. Norton attended the Norwich public schools and 
Norwich Academy, and graduated from the "Gun- 
nery" at Washington, Connecticut. 

(3) William Anderson Norton, bom March 
10, 1866, was educated in the public schools of Nor- 
wich, the Free Academy, and the Boston Institute 
of Technology. He then spent four months abroad, 
visiting several foreign countries and many places 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ii 



of interest, including the North Cape of Norway. 
He worked in the Attawaugan Mills, filling differ- 
ent positions, for three years, after which he trav- 
eled through the Western States, Mexico and 
Alaska. On his return he was employed in the 
wholesale dry-goods commission house of Tibbitts, 
Harrison & Robbins, at New York, during which 
time he became connected with the wholesale gro- 
cery firm of E. D. Fuller & Co., successors of Nor- 
ton Bros., and after the assignment of the New 
York house he returned to Norwich. In 1898 he 
became a member of the firm of The Edward Chap- 
pell Co., and was elected secretary and assistant 
treasurer, which position he has filled the past six 
years. He attends the Park Congregational Church. 
Socially he is a member of the Norwich Club, and 
of the Chelsea Boat Club. In politics he is a Re- 
publican. 

In 1898 Mr. Norton married Martha Witter 
Brewer, daughter of Arthur H. Brewer, of Norwich, 
and they have three children : Arthur Brewer, born 
June 9, 1899; Eleanor Plant, June 4, 1900; and 
Louise Tyler, July 6, 1902. 

HON. SUPPLY TWYNG HOLBROOK. In 
the death of Judge Holbrook, which occurred at 
his home on River avenue, Laurel Hill, Norwich, 
on April 19, 1895, the community lost one of its 
best known and most prominent citizens. 

Born Sept. 7, 1822, in Roxbury, Mass., Judge 
Holbrook was a son of Sabin and Mary (Whitte- 
more) Holbrook, and came on both sides from 
early New England ancestry. On his father's side 
he was a descendant in the eighth generation from 
Thomas Holbrook, of Weymouth, Mass., from 
whom his lineage is through Thomas (2), Peter, 
Joseph, Joseph (2), Seth and Sabin Holbrook. 

The name of Holbrook is one both ancient and 
distinguished. As early as the reign of Richard II 
one of the name was advanced to the order of 
knighthood and a coat of arms given him. In books 
of heraldry there are many coats of arms under the 
name. The details of the generations referred to 
above and in the order there named follow : 

(I) Thomas Holbrook, of Weymouth, Mass., 
as early as 1640, is thought by Morse to have prob- 
ably come with the colony of settlers from Wey- 
mouth in Dorsetshire, England, in 1624. For a 
number of years betweeen 1641 and 1654 inclusive 
he was a selectman of the town. He died in 
1674-76. His widow, Joanna, died before April 24, 
1677. Their children were: John (born in 1617), 
Thomas, William and Ann. 

(II) Thomas Holbrook (2) was a resident of 
Scituate, Weymouth and Braintree, and was a man 
of enterprise and wealth. He died in 1697, and was 
survived by his wife, Joanna. Their children were : 
Thomas ; Mary ; John, born 15th of 8th month, 1653, 
at Braintree ; Peter, born 6th of 7th month, 1655 ; 
Joanna, born 30th of 8th month, 1656; Susanna; 
and Joseph, born 10th of 12th month, 1660. 



(III) Peter Holbrook, born 6th of 7th month, 
1655, married (first) Alice and settled at Mendon^ 
and (second) Elizabeth Poor. Alice died April 29, 
1705. Mr. Holbrook was an important man for his 
day, and laid the foundation of great good to his 
race, many of whom are still enjoying it within the 
circle of his former influence and possessions. The 
lands which he left to his sons were mostly subse- 
quently included in Bellingham. He died May 3, 
1712. His children were : John, born Sept. 24, 
1679; Peter, Oct. 16, 1681 ; Joseph, May 8, 1683;. 
Silvanus, Aug. 15, 1685; Jonah, March 7, 1686-87; 
Richard, May 30, 1690; Eliphalet, Jan. 27, 1691-92; 
William, March 28, 1693-94; Samuel, Feb. 2.7 y 
1695-96; and Mary, Oct. 14, 1702. 

(IV) Joseph Holbrook, born May 8, 1683, mar- 
ried Dec. 29, 1710, Mary Cook, was a husbandman^ 
and resided in Bellingham, Mass. He died April 
25, 1750. His children were: Alice, born Feb. 14. 
1712, at Mendon; Joseph, Nov. 24, 1714; Rachel, 
Jan. 16, 1716-17; Asahel, Jan. 3, 1718-19; David, 
March 15, 1721 (at Bellingham) ; Mary, Oct. 13, 
1723 ; and Martha, Dec. 28, 1726. 

(V) Joseph Holbrook (2), born Nov. 24, 17 14, 
died July 14, 1784. His wife, Grace, died May 13, 
1791. Their children were: Esther, born April 1^ 
1739; Bethia, April 13, 1741 ; Phebe, Nov. 28, 1743 ; 
Jonathan, May 31, 1746; Joseph, Oct. 15, 1748; 
Seth, Nov. 24, 1751 ; and Melatiah, Feb. 28, 1755. 

(VI) Seth Holbrook, born Nov. 24. 1751, mar- 
ried, in 1775, Dinah Holbrook, and resided in Bel- 
lingham. He was a soldier of the Revolution, being 
a member of a company of militia which marched 
from Bellingham, Mass., April 19, 1775, under com- 
mand of Capt. Jesse Holbrook. He was also a ser- 
geant of Capt. Cowell's company in the Suffolk 
and York Regiment, commanded by Col. Robin- 
son, in March, 1776. Mr. Holbrook became a Uni- 
ted States pensioner. He died Nov. 13, 1839. His 
children were: Rachel, born Jan. 17, 1777: Clary, 
Jan. 22, 1779; Esther, Nov. 5, 1780; Roxanna, July 
24. 1782 ; Luke, July 12, 1784; Sabin, Oct. 19, 1786; 
Seth, July 29, 1789; Persis, Oct. 14, 1791 ; Merinda, 
Sept. 3, 1794: and Valentine R., Dec. 14, 1800. 

(VII) Sabin Holbrook, born Oct. 19, 1786. re- 
sided in Dorchester and Bellingham, Mass. He died 
in 1833, and his wife, Mary, born March 27, 1787, 
died in 1824 or 1825. Their children were: Sabin, 
born Sept. 18, 1813: Mary, Nov. 5, 1815: Joseph 
Warren, Jan. 18, 1817; Amanda, June 2, 1819; Sup- 
ply Twyng, Sept. 7, 1822. 

Supplv T. Holbroook was given a good educa- 
tion by his parents, and being musically inclined 
proper attention was given to his talents in this line 
until he became well versed and proficient in music. 
In early manhood he became a resident of Hartford, 
and while there was a member of a brass band. 
From Hartford he went to New London, and after a 
year there, in about 1844, located at Norwich, which 
ever afterward for fifty and more years was his 
place of residence. Here he soon was identified 



12 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



with the musical interests of the town. He accepted 
the position of organist of the Second Congrega- 
tional Church, at that time under the pastorate of 
Rev, Dr. Bond, and for many years most efficiently 
and to the satisfaction of the congregation sustained 
such relations to the choir and church. In his earlier 
years Mr. Holbrook also taught vocal music in the 
basement of the Universalist Church. He bore the 
reputation of being a good teacher and was popular 
with his scholars, among whom was the late Judge 
Charles W. Carter, of Norwich. 

Acting on the advice of the late Henry Bill Mr. 
Holbrook decided to prepare himself for the legal 
profession, and began the study of law in the office 
and under the direction of the late Hon. Jeremiah 
Halsey, of Norwich. He was admitted to the Bar 
in New London county in 1856, and in that same 
year was elected judge of probate, a position he held 
by re-election with intelligence, ability and to the 
satisfaction of the people of the district for twelve 
consecutive years. After an intermission of a de- 
cade he was again, in 1879, chosen judge of pro- 
bate, and held the office by continuous re-election 
until 1892, when he became legally disqualified from 
further tenure of office on account of having reached 
the age limit — seventy years. While serving as pro- 
bate judge he was several times elected president of 
the Connecticut Probate Assembly. "Judge Hol- 
brook was a man of broad culture, and was looked 
upon as an authority in matters connected with prac- 
tice in the probate court. His studies extended into 
various fields of learning." During his long period 
of service as judge of probate — twenty-five years — 
he fulfilled the obligations with dignity and grace, 
and although he was by virtue of his office entitled 
to fees, they were rarely taken by him from people 
who could ill afford to pay. Between the periods of 
Judge Holbrook's service as judge of probate he 
■was chosen to preside over the county court, whose 
jurisdiction was similar to that of the present court 
of common pleas, and held the position until the 
court was abolished. 

Judge Holbrook was twice elected a member of 
the State Legislature, first in 1873, when he had for 
a colleague the late Hon. John Turner Wait; and 
second in 1876, at which time his brother member 
from Norwich was Hon. George B. Hyde. During 
both terms Judge Holbrook took an active and 
prominent part in the business of the House. When 
not in office Judge Holbrook was engaged in the 
practice of law and did not lack clients. He was 
often chosen to settle estates. The loss of his law 
library and a portion of his other collection of 
books, by fire, about a year before his death, was a 
serious one, as his annotations in his law books could 
not be replaced. He was a member of the Second 
Congregational Church at Norwich. He was a man 
of sunny and cheerful disposition, the kind of man 
it was a pleasure to meet in the daily walks of life. 
His home was perfect. As a citizen he was always 
above reproach. He was a kind friend and neigh- 



bor, and went to his reward with the high esteem 
and regard of the community in which he had moved 
so long. 

Judge Holbrook was married first to Sarah 
Shepard, of Norwich, and (second) to Miss Carrie 
Stark. His widow and children still survive. The 
two sons are Charles S., of Norwich, and Frank W., 
of New Haven. The daughters are Mrs. E. G. 
Tewksbury, of China ; Mrs. Robert A. France, of 
New Haven; and Mrs. B. P. Sands, of Boston. 

Charles S. Holbrook, son of the late Judge 
Supply T. Holbrook, and the present town clerk of 
Norwich, was born in the city of Norwich Oct. 28, 
1856. He attended the public schools of his native 
city and the Norwich Free Academy, and at an 
early age entered the store of Lee & Osgood, where 
he learned the drug business and where he spent 
twenty-five years as a druggist. In 1900 he was 
elected town clerk, to succeed the late Samuel H. 
Freeman, and he fills that office with dignity and sat- 
isfaction to the general public. He is noted for his 
genial manner and gentlemanly demeanor, and is 
popular with all classes. Politically he is a Republi- 
can. Mr. Holbrook attends the Congregational 
Church, and socially is a member of the Arcanum 
Club of Norwich. He was married in Norwich, 
June 15, 1892, to Ella P. Plummer, daughter of 
Frank J. and Josephine (Wyman) Plummer, of 
Norwich, and they have one child, Josephine A. 

COIT (New London Branch). For upwards of 
250 years the Coits have been prominently identified 
with the interests of the ancient town of New Lon- 
don, in the social life and in public affairs, in which 
members of a number of generations during this 
long period have figured more or less conspicuously. 
Until June 19, 1904, active in the town's life was 
Hon. Robert Coit, president of the New London & 
Northern Railroad and of the Union Bank, and an 
honored and respected citizen. Still left is Judge 
William B. Coit, the only son of Hon. Robert Coit, 
who is judge of the city and police court of New 
London. 

The progenitor of the New London and Nor- 
wich Coits was John Coit, the first of the name in 
New England, who came probably from Glamorgan- 
shire, Wales, between 1630 and 1638. He was in 
Salem, Mass., where he had a grant of land in 1638. 
In 1644, he removed to Gloucester, and in 1648 was 
selectman there; he was a freeman in 1647. He had 
considerable land on Wheeler's Point and Planter's 
Neck, and received a grant of land in New London, 
Conn., in 1650, to which he came the next year. In 
England he wedded Mary Ganners, or Jenners, and 
in that country all of his children were born pre- 
vious to emigration. He died Aug. 29, 1659, and 
his widow died Jan. 2, 1676. Their children were : 
John, Joseph, Mary and Martha. 

From this John Coit the lineage of Robert Coit, 
late of New London, is through Deacon Joseph, 
John (2), Joseph, Hon. Joshua and Robert Coit. 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



J 3 



(II) Deacon Joseph Coit, born about 1633, prob- 
ably came with his father from Gloucester to New 
London about 165 1, and passed the most of his life 
there, carrying on the trade of ship builder with 
his brother-in-law, Hugh Mould. He married, July 
15, 1667, Martha, daughter of William and Edith 
Harris, of Wethersfield ; both joined the church in 
1 68 1, he later becoming a deacon. He died March 
27, 1704, and Mrs. Coit passed away July 14, 1710. 
Nearly, if not all the Coits of America, says the gen- 
ealogist of the Coit family, are descended from him. 
His children were : John, Joseph, William, Daniel, 
Solomon and Samuel, all born between 1670 and 
1692, inclusive. 

(III) John Coit, born in New London, Conn., 
Dec. 1, 1670, married Jan. 25, 1693, Mehetabel 
Chandler, daughter of John and Elizabeth Chandler, 
of Woodstock. Mr. Coit passed a long life in New 
London in ship building, for which business in 1699, 
the town granted him land for shipyard near the 
Point of Rocks, where in 1729 he built a wharf. 
Mr. Coit died Oct. 22, 1744. His wife survived 
him, dying Nov. 3, 1758. Their children were: 
John, Joseph, Samuel, Thomas, Elizabeth and Mar- 
tha, all born between 1696 and 1706, inclusive. 

(IV) Joseph Coit, born Nov. 15, 1698, in New 
London, married, in June, 1732, Mary, daughter of 
Rev. Nathaniel Hunting, of Easthampton, L. I. ; 
she died March 29, 1733, leaving one child only — 
Jonathan, born in that year. He married (second) 
Jan.9, 1 739-40, Lydia Lathrop, of Norwich, and their 
children were : Elizabeth, Lucy, Lucretia, Joseph, 
Thomas, Daniel, Jerusha and Joshua, all born be- 
tween 1 74 1 and 1758, inclusive. The mother of 
these was born in 1718, and died Jan. 10, 1794. The 
father died April 27, 1787. He passed the most 
of his early life in sailing as master from New Lon- 
don, and later in mercantile and commercial pursuits 
until the disturbance of Revolutionary times, when 
he removed to Norwich. In middle life he was act- 
ive in matters of public interest. He was received 
into the church in 1718. 

(V) Hon. Joshua Coit, born Oct. 7, 1758, in 
New London, married, Jan. 2, 1785, Ann Boradill, 
born in 1764, daughter of Nicholas and Elizabeth 
Hallam, of New London. Mrs. Coit was a superior 
woman and brought up her children with singular 
discretion. She died March 22, 1844. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Coit were born the following children : Rob- 
ert, born Nov. 6, 1785; Lydia, born Dec. 12, 1787; 
Leonard, born Nov. 12, 1789; Fanny, born Feb. II, 
1792; Nancy, born June 10, 1795; and Susan, born 
April 28, 1798. Joshua Coit was a rare man. He 
was graduated from Harvard in 1776, studied law 
and early settled in practice in New London. There 
he attained an honorable position, receiving numer- 
ous offices of trust from his fellow citizens. He 
represented the town in the lower house of the 
General Assembly in 1784, 1785, 1788, 1789, 1790, 
I79 2 and 1793, serving repeatedly as clerk and 
speaker. He was a representative in the United 



States Congress from 1793, until the time of his 
death, Sept. 5, 1798, when but forty years of age. 
In politics he adhered mainly to the" Federal party, 
but separated from that party on particular points 
in Congress, illustrating his own independent char- 
acter and incurring some displeasure. In 1798 yel- 
low fever prevailed in the central part of New Lon- 
don, and he fell a victim to that scourge. 

(VI) Robert Coit, born Nov. 16, 1785, married 
Oct. 15, 182 1, Charlotte, daughter of David and 
Elizabeth (Coit) Coit. After making a few voy- 
ages on commercial business to the West Indies, 
Mr. Coit settled in New London in the ship-chand- 
lery business, and later was a dealer in lumber and 
coal. Mr. Coit passed a long life of honorable and 
successful industry, receiving in many ways tokens 
of the respect and esteem of his fellow citizens. He 
was for a period the president of the Union Bank, 
withdrawing from the office prior to 1867, but re- 
tained the presidency of the Savings Bank, of 
which he was one of the founders. He served as a 
deacon in the Congregational Church in New Lon- 
don. He died in October, 1874, and his wife passed 
away in January, 1874. Their children were : Fanny 
L., born Feb. 16, 1823, was married on Aug. 26, 
1 86 1, to Rev. Aaron L. Chapin, a former president 
of Beloit College, Wis., and she died at Beloit in 
September, 1904; Charlotte, now deceased, born 
May 27, 1825, was married May 9, 1866, to Rev. 
Thomas P. Field, D. D., a former pastor of the First 
Congregational Church in New London ; Ann Bor- 
adill, born March 5, 1827, died unmarried; Robert, 
born April 26, 1830; Joshua, born Feb. 4, 1832, 
was married Oct. 2, i860, to Mary L. Chandler, and 
is a Congregational minister at Winchester, Mass. ; 
Alfred, born May 2^, 1835, married Ellen Hobron, 
and became the father of Judge Alfred Coit, of New 
London; and Ellen, born Nov. 3, 1837, married Rev. 
Thomas P. Field, D. D., now deceased, and she re- 
sides in Beloit, Wisconsin. 

Robert Coit, late president of the Union Bank 
and of the New London Northern Railroad Com- 
pany, a son of the late Robert Coit, was born April 
26, 1830, in New London. He was prepared for 
college in private schools in his native town and 
Farmington, Conn. He entered Yale College, and 
was graduated with the class of 1850. Studying law 
with William C. Crump, and at the Yale Law 
School, he was admitted to the Bar in New London 
county in 1853, and commenced the practice of law 
in his native town. In i860 he was elected judge 
of probate for the New London district, and effi- 
ciently performed the duties of that office for four 
years. Following this service he was for a time, 
and continuing in office as long as it was in force, 
Register in Bankruptcy, for his district. After 
1867, when chosen treasurer of the New London 
and Northern Railroad Company. Mr. Coit's active 
business life was greatly taken up with the interests 
of that corporation, and he lived to see the value of 
its business more than doubled, and the value of its 



14 



GEXEAL0G1CAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



stock increased in like proportion. He was elected 
mayor of New London in 1879, and directed the 
affairs of the city with ability and good judgment 
In that same year he was elected to the lower house 
of the General Assembly of Connecticut, and served 
on the Judiciary committee and the committee on 
Constitutional Amendments. Following this serv- 
ice he was for four years a member from the Ninth 
District of the State Senate, where he served on 
various committees, being chairman of the commit- 
tee- on Corporations, Cities and Boroughs and on 
Insurance. During his second term of two years, 
Senator Coit was President pro-tempore of the 
Senate. In 1897 he was again elected to the Gen- 
eral Assembly, and was chairman of the committee 
on Corporations. While in the House and Senate 
Air. Coit was recognized as one of the most influen- 
tial members. He had been elected to both branches 
by handsome majorities, and in the Eastern part 
of the State, where he' was most widely known, his 
popularity was and remained great. His ability, 
conscientiousness and acumen were recognized by 
those of both political parties. For many years Air. 
Coit was identified with the banking interests of 
Xew London, and, too, with other corporations and 
enterprises, being president of the Union Bank, 
vice-president of the Xew London Savings Bank, 
president of the Xew London Steamboat Company, 
and also of the Xew London Gas & Electric Com- 
pany. He was secretary and treasurer of the Smith 
Memorial Home, and a trustee of the J. X. Harris 
estate. 

The following complimentary notice of Mr. 
Coit. written by his fellow townsman, Hon. Augus- 
tus Brandegee, appeared some years ago in the Xew 
London Telegraph. 

He was just entering upon a successful career at the 
Bar, when some evil genius persuaded him to take the 
position of treasurer of the Xew London Northern Rail- 
road, from which he was ultimately promoted to be its 
president. He had every quality to have made a great 
lawyer and ultimately a great judge. He was cultured 
in ancient and modern literature. He was familiar with 
the useful, as well as graceful sciences and arts. He had 
a diction and power of speech when once aroused that car- 
ried not only persuasion but conviction with it. He knew 
how to express his thoughts with the pen as well as 
the tongue in pure English, undehled. He had studied law 
as a science from its deep English foundations, and his - 
mind was broad enough and strong enough to apply it 
with its limitations and adaptations' to the whole business 
of life. And then he had a character as pure as the 
sun-light which had come to him through a long line of 
noble ancestors, with whom honesty, fidelity, integrity 
and honor were hereditary transmissions, and to whom a 
stain was a wound. So equipped. I hoped to see him pass 
from the front rank of the Bar to the front rank of the 
Bench, as one of the great names in our judicial history. 
But just as his sun began to mount to its meridian he left 
the Bar for the more congenial activities of a business life 

resident of the Xew London Xorthern Railroad. To 
him more than any and all others, it is due, that the stock 
of that local corporation, in which so many of the people 
of this vicinity are interested, stands higher in the mar- 
ket, with but two or three exceptions, than any other rail- 
road in the United States. 



On Aug. I, 1854. Air. Coit was married to Lu- 
cretia Brainard. daughter of William F. and Sarah 
(Prentis) Brainard, of Xew London, and to them 
came children as follows: (i) Alary Gardiner, 
born Jan. 21, 1857, died in childhood. (2) William 
Brainard was born July 23, 1862. 

William Brainard Coit was reared in Xew 
London, Conn., his present place of residence and 
field of operation. He was graduated from Phil- 
lips' Academy. Andover, in 1881. and from the Yale 
Scientific School in 1884. He pursued his law stud- 
ies in the office of Hon. John C. Crump, of New 
London, and was admitted to the Bar in Xew Lon- 
don county, in 1887, and has since been identified 
with the legal profession in the courts of that coun- 
ty. He has served efficiently as prosecuting attor- 
ney for the city of Xew London, and has long been 
the assistant clerk of the Court of Common Pleas of 
Xew London county, a genial and popular official 
and a citizen of the highest type. He succeeded his 
father as secretary and treasurer of the Smith Ale- 
morial Home. He is vice-president of the Union 
Bank. In 1901. and again in 1903, he represented 
Xew London in the State Legislature. In the for- 
mer session he was chairman of the committee on 
House Rules, also member of the committee on cities 
and boroughs, and a member of the committee on 
Revision of Statutes. In the latter session he was 
chairman of committee on Cities and Boroughs. In 
1903 he was elected by the General Assembly. Judge 
of the city and police court of Xew London. On 
Oct. 20, 1886, Air. Coit was married to Anna Blan- 
chard Bancroft, a daughter of Alajor E. A. Ban- 
croft. U. S. A., and Eleanor (Croes) Bancroft. 

The Hon. Robert Coit passed away on Sunday 
night June 19, 1904. As late as the Wednesday be- 
fore he had been down town, and the news of his 
death, so unexpected, caused universal and sincere 
regret among all classes of society. His strong per- 
sonality, his high attainments, his sterling intergity, 
and his great good heart were appreciated by his 
fellow citizens, who revered him as a man and 
citizen — one who reflected credit on the town and 
the business interests with which he was identified. 
The flags on the city hall and the liberty pole were 
at half mast in his honor. 

Air. Coit believed strongly in birth, feeling it a 
duty he owed to his ancestors to maintain unsullied 
the family escutcheon. He was an active worker 
in the Society of Colonial Wars in Connecticut, and 
he was chairman of the commission to place a bronze 
statue of John Winthrop in Xew London. In his 
death the whole State mourns with the bereaved 
widow and son, for the noble man who entered into 
rest. 

Of him the Xew Haven Register said : 

The death of Robert Coit of Xew London removes 
from the life of that city one of its foremost citizens. He 
had reached a ripe old age, and at the moment of his 
death was enthusiastic in a state service designed to honor 
the first governor of Connecticut, and the city of New 
London in which he lived. Personallv he was a most 






GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



charming man. fond of his friends and delighting in their 
company. Keen as 1 a man of affairs, his probity of char- 
acter and his rare sense of humor made him a representa- 
tive son of old Connecticut. 

The Norwich Bulletin of date June 20, 1904, 
paid this tribute to his memory : 

Endowed with keen intelligence, marked executive 
ability and conservative judgment in financial affairs, he 
always held the confidence of the public, faithfully dis- 
charging the duties of a number of important offices. He 
-was an esteemed member of the Republican party. 

HON. JEREMIAH HALSEY (deceased). 
The Connecticut Bar lias given to New London 
county some of the most brilliant legal minds the 
-world has ever known, and among these none held 
a more honored place, won not alone by his clear 
reasoning, sound conclusions, and thorough mastery 
of the technicalities, but by his native nobility and 
dignity of character, than the late Jeremiah Halsey, 
■who entered into rest on Sunday, Feb. 9, 1896, at 
Washington, D. C. 

Mr. Halsey was born in Preston, Conn., Feb. 8, 
1822, a son of Jeremiah S. and Sally (Brewster) 
Halsey. and a grandson of Col. Jeremiah Halsey, of 
Preston, who was an active officer in the Continental 
army. Mrs. Sally (Brewster) Halsey was a de- 
scendant in the sixth generation in direct line from 
Elder William Brewster, of the "Mayflower" 
company. 

Jeremiah Halsey received his literary training in 
the public and private schools of Preston, and for a 
time was a student at Norwich Academy. It had 
been his intention to enter Yale, but ill health made 
that an impossibility, and he was obliged to go 
South in search of a milder climate. He located at 
Hawkinsville, Ga., and became a student in the law 
office of Polhill & Whitfield. On April 23, 1845. he 
was admitted to the Bar in Georgia, and on Decem- 
ber nth following to that of Windham county, Conn. 
His health had not improved sufficiently for him to 
engage in continued work, so that until September, 
1849. ne passed his time in travel and study. He 
then opened a law office in Norwich with the late 
Samuel C. Morgan, and from that time until his 
death was actively engaged in the practice of the 
profession he so loved. When, as a young lawyer, 
he faced the Bar of New London county, he found 
many there who had acquired far more than a local 
fame, but Mr. Halsey in a very short time displayed 
the ability and erudition that made him their equal, 
and that firmly fixed his place in the front rank of 
the foremost lawyers of the State. In April, 1863, 
he was admitted to the Bar of the United States 
Circuit court, and on Feb. 20, 1870, to the Supreme 
court of the United States. In the courts of the 
State and nation his practice was most varied, but 
in all departments of law he seemed equally at home. 

Mr. Halsey preferred his profession and the hon- 
ors of legal battles, bravely and honorably fought 
and won, to distinction in the political arena. Or- 



iginally he was a Whig, but later became a Repub- 
lican. While he held many offices, the office always 
sought him. In 1852 and 1853 he represented Nor- 
wich in the State Legislature, and again in 1859 and 
i860. In 1873 he was appointed by Gov. Ingersoll 
one of the commissioners to supervise the construc- 
tion of the new statehouse at Hartford, and he so 
served until the completion of the building, in 1880. 
This statehouse. to the honor of the commissioners 
be it said, was built within the appropriation. In 
1853 ^ r - Halsey was made city attorney, and for 
fifteen years efficiently discharged the duties of that 
office, and for several years he was corporation 
counsel. Men of all parties reposed confidence in 
him. because of his uncompromising honesty and his 
absolute impartiality. Among the lawyers of the 
State he early became first. His cases were always 
well studied, and his logical reasoning and perfect 
command of language literally gave to his opponent 
no loophole. Judges and lawyers admired him as a 
brilliant member of their profession, and they re- 
spected him as a man among men. His life was 
pure, his habits simple and democratic, and his ca- 
reer showed no shadow or stain. While his disposi- 
tion was somewhat retiring, his friends knew him to 
love him. His pupils found in him a sympathetic 
listener and a most congenial companion, and in his 
home he was a most devoted husband. 

Mr. Halsey was a trustee of the Norwich Free 
Academy; a member of the advisory council of the 
United' Workers ; a member of the citizens corps of 
Sedgwick Post, G. A. R. ; trustee and counsel of the 
Norwich Savings Society ; director of the First Na- 
tional Bank ; counsel for the Chelsea Savings and 
Thames National Banks ; director of the New Lon- 
don Northern Railway Company ; and, associated 
with Rev. W. W. Sylvester (former rector of Trin- 
ity) and Hon. John T. Wait, was one of the original 
incorporators of the Huntington Memorial Home. 

In his religious belief Mr. Halsey was an Epis- 
copalian, and a member of Christ Church parish, 
taking an active interest in its welfare. His death 
occurred at the "Hamilton Hotel," in Washington, 
D. C. whither he and his wife had gone for the 
winter. His health had been poor for some time, 
but such was his power of endurance and self-efface- 
ment that few realized his race was so nearly run, 
and the sad intelligence that all was over was a 
severe shock to the many friends at home. Services 
at the capital were attended by many whose names 
are household words all over the land — men whom 
he had met in public life and who had learned to 
admire him for his upright character and his great 
abilitv. All gathered to pay a last tribute to this 
sturdy son of Connecticut. Final services were held 
at his Norwich home, and were attended by the 
mayor, the city council, town and county officials, 
representatives of the great financial institutions of 
the county, and a large number of the members of 
the New London county Bar. Besides these, noted 
judges from all over the State came to do honor to 



i6 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



one they loved and esteemed. The interment took 
place in Vantic cemetery, the burial services being 
read by Rev. Erit B. Schmitt, of Stonington 
(formerly of Trinity, this city), and closing with 
the beautiful hymn, "Now the Laborer's Task is 
Done." 

On June I, 1854, Jeremiah Halsey was united 
in marriage with Elizabeth Eairchild, of Ridgefield, 
Conn., who survives him. 

HON. HUGH HENRY OSGOOD (deceased), 
for a number of years one of the leading druggists 
of the State of Connecticut, at the time of his death 
president of the Norwich Druggists' Association, 
and associated with numerous other enterprises, 
commercial and otherwise, in his city, county and 
State, was one of the most progressive, successful 
and altogether creditable citizens Norwich has ever 
had the honor to claim. Perhaps no better descrip- 
tion of the character of the man could be given than 
that which appears on the tablet at the entrance to 
the beautiful parish house of Park Congregational 
Church, erected to his memory : "An interested and 
generous member of Park Congregational Church 
from its organization ; a sincere and earnest Chris- 
tian ; a public-spirited citizen; a broad-minded pa- 
triot ; a wise counsellor ; a devoted and unselfish 
friend ; a man of noble powers, nobly used." The 
last clause is the keynote to his whole life. 

Col. Osgood was born Oct. 10, 1821, in South- 
bridge, Mass., son of Artemas and Saloma (John- 
son) Osgood, and passed his earlier years at his na- 
tive place. At the age of ten he came to Norwich, 
and first lived with an uncle, but his parents came 
hither later, from Pomfret, and the family resided 
in what is now the Young block, on Franklin Square. 
Mr. Osgood's early ambitions inclined him toward 
the drug business, and he entered the employ of 
Samuel Tyler & Son (afterward Tyler & Devotion), 
who conducted a drug store in a small wooden build- 
ing on Water street, where the Tyler Building now 
stands. In March, 1842, in company with his uncle, 
Dr. Charles Lee, he opened a drug store under the 
firm name of Lee & Osgood, occupying the room 
later used for part of their wholesale business. Dr. 
Lee remained as a member of their firm until his 
death, in the middle sixties, and Mr. Osgood con- 
tinued in the business for over half a century, until 
his death on Oct. 22, 1899. The concern prospered 
beyond all expectation, in time requiring two large 
buildings, and Mr. Osgood came to the front not 
only in that line, but in every branch of commercial 
enterprise in his section. At the time of his death 
he was president of the Uncas Paper Company, the 
Goodwin Cork Company, the Dime Savings Bank, 
and the Sterling Dyeing & Finishing Company of 
Sterling, Conn. He served a long time as president 
of the Worcester Thread Company, of Worcester, 
Mass., and the Glasgo Yarn Company, of Glasgo, 
Conn., until they were absorbed by the American 
Thread Company. He served a long time as presi- 



dent of the Norwich Bleaching, Dyeing & Printing 
Company, and when it was merged into the United 
States Finishing Company, of New York, he be- 
came vice-president of the new concern. He was a 
director of the Thames National Bank, the First 
National Bank, the Ashland Cotton Company, of 
Jewett City, the Norwich Gas & Electric Company, 
the Yantic Woolen Company, and the Richmond 
Stove Company. Ever on the alert to advance the 
interests of his own city, he was one of the early 
promoters of the Norwich Bulletin, and acted as 
president of the Bulletin Association and the Bulle- 
tin Company ; and he was one of the prime movers 
in the organization of the Norwich Board of Trade, 
was the first president of that body, and never lost 
his interest in it. 

Mr. Osgood was equally active in the public 
life of the community. He served several terms as 
a member of the court of common council, and was 
subsequently honored with the mayoralty of the city, 
serving from 1875 to 1876, and from 1877 to 1886, 
with what satisfaction may be best judged from the 
length of his term. Whenever he consented to run 
he was elected with flattering majorities, which were 
fully explained by the character of his administra- 
tion. Many public improvements were inaugurated 
and carried through while he was in office, among 
the most important being a sewer system in the cen- 
tral part of the city, and the introduction of the fire 
alarm telegraph. He was always interested in the 
fire department. When the Wauregan Steam Fire 
Engine Company was organized, his name headed 
the list, and he was foreman several years, and al- 
ways a warm friend of the organization, in which he 
retained an honorary membership until his death. 
Public education was another matter to which he 
gave especial attention. He was a Fellow of the 
Corporation of the Norwich Free Academy, and for 
over forty years served as treasurer of the Center 
school district. 

During the Civil war Mr. Osgood was an ardent 
Union man, aided in raising and sending troops to 
the front, and was a member and on the executive 
committee of the Loyal League, an organization 
formed to advance the Union cause. While William 
A. Buckingham was governor Mr. Osgood was a 
member of his staff, ranking as colonel, and he was 
the only one on the staff who served through that 
governor's entire administration. He was a pro- 
moter of the organization of the Buckingham Rifles. 
His political allegiance was originally given to the 
Whig party, and he joined the Republican party at 
its organization, and was ever after one of its stanch- 
est supporters. 

Socially Mr. Osgood was one of the organizers 
of the Kitemaug Association, of which he was presi- 
dent ; was a charter member of the Norwich Club ; 
and held membership in the Arcanum Club. Fra- 
ternally he stood high in Masonic circles. In i860 
he joined Somerset Lodge, Xo. 34. F. & A. M., and 
in 1872 he became a charter member of St. James 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



17 



Lodge, No. 23, F. & A. M. ; he also affiliated with 
Franklin Chapter, No. 4, R. A. M. ; Franklin 
Council, No. 3, R. & S. M. ; Columbian Command- 
ery, No. 4, K. T. ; and all of the Scottish Rite bodies. 
He was one of the trustees of the Masonic Temple 
Corporation bonds. 

Air. Osgood's religious connection was with the 
Park Congregational Church, of which he was one 
of the constituent members, and he served for years 
as chairman of the Society's committee. He attend- 
ed services regularly, and was active in every branch 
of work undertaken by the congregation, but he was 
particularly interested in the Parish House Asso- 
ciation organized to promote Church work and build 
a parish house to accommodate the needs of an in- 
creasing membership, and afford room for the vari- 
ous entertainments and social functions of the con- 
gregation. In February, 1895, it was voted to pur- 
chase a piece of land south of the chapel, which had 
been offered to the association for $3,000. Col. Os- 
good purchased the land himself, and before his 
death deeded it to the association. He was much 
interested with the idea of having this needed build- 
ing, and on the Easter morning after his death it 
was announced that Airs. Osgood would make a gift 
of a parish house in memory of her husband. The 
beautiful building, complete in every detail, and 
ample for every requirement, was dedicated on Sun- 
day, November 2, 1902, and is a fitting memorial to 
the high Christian character in whose honor it was 
reared. It is the most beautiful structure of the kind 
in eastern Connecticut. Colonel Osgood was inter- 
ested in all benevolent and charitable work, was a 
vice-president of the Y. Al. C. A., was a member of 
the advisory committee of the United Workers, and 
for two years was president of the Norwich City 
Alission. In all these organizations, as, indeed, in 
every body with which he was connected, Air. Os- 
good was a power for good, possessing much influ- 
ence with all his associates — the result of a life of 
unimpeachable integrity, combined with ability of 
a high order. The welfare of his employes was al- 
ways a matter of concern to him, and he had their 
unbounded confidence and esteem, and the same 
might be said of his relations with his patrons, 
among whom he was regarded with feelings of the 
utmost respect. He was often chosen to act as 
chairman at public meetings, and invariably gave 
satisfaction in such positions, his remarks being few 
and well chosen, typical of his unassuming and re- 
tiring disposition. All the honors he received came 
to him entirely unsolicited, and Dr. Howe expressed 
the general sentiment when, in his funeral address, 
he said: "No office in his reach could have brought 
him added honor. The few offices of trust and re- 
sponsibility which his fellow townsmen thrust upon 
him added nothing to the name he won, and were 
only accepted as the means of rendering his city a 
needed service." Such was the impression he made 
upon those with whom he daily associated. 

On June 23, 1892, Air. Osgood was married, by 
2 



Rev. Dr. S. H. Howe, to Miss Mary Ruth Lee, of 
Manlius, X. Y., who survives him. He was also 
survived by his twin sister. Miss Jane E. Osgood 
(now deceased), and several nieces and nephews. 
Mrs. Osgood is a most estimable lady, and, like her 
husband, deeply interested in works of a benevolent 
and charitable nature. She has been connected with 
the W. W. Backus Hospital since it was established, 
and is chairman of the advisory committee of that 
institution. Airs. Osgood is a member of the local 
chapter of the D. A. R. 

On Oct. 7, 1899, Air. Osgood and wife left Nor- 
wich for Niagara Falls, where Air. ( )sgood attended 
the National convention of wholesale druggists. On 
the return trip he was taken ill, but not regarding his 
cold as serious proceeded to Manlius, N. Y.. near 
Syracuse, where Airs. Osgood resided before her 
marriage. There he was again prostrated, and be- 
came sick with penumonia, which, with heart failure 
caused his death, on Oct. 22. His health had not 
been good for the last several years. The death of 
a citizen whose interests were so numerous, whose 
sympathies were so wide, caused universal grief in 
Norwich and throughout that part of the State in 
general, and many were the expressions of sorrow 
at his demise. A number of prominent citizens met 
the remains at the depot, and all honor was shown 
to one who had throughout life shown himself 
worthy and highly deserving. During the funeral 
almost every place of business in the city was closed, 
and the court house bell was tolled for half an hour 
at noon that day — the first time such an honor was 
ever paid to a private citizen. There were many 
other unusual marks of respect. At the funeral 
services in the church were members of the city and 
town government, bank officials and representatives 
from the various organizations to which Air. Osgood 
belonged, and the members of Sedgwick Post, No. 
1, G. A. R., were present in a body, in citizens dress. 
Relatives, friends, neighbors, business associates, 
employes — all came to do honor to the memory of 
one who had ever commanded their respect and 
affection, and a most touching address was delivered 
by his pastor, Rev. Dr. Howe. Among the resolu- 
tions of sympathy passed by the organizations with 
which he had been connected, Coolcy's Weekly of 
PYiday, Oct. 2.7, 1899, published those from the 
common council, the Norwich Board of Trade. Sedg- 
wick Post, No. 1, G. A. R., the Alasonic Temple 
Corporation, Hugh H. Osgood Lodge, I. O. O. F., 
Al. U., the Wauregan Steam Fire Engine Company, 
the Dime Savings Bank, the Norwich Savings So- 
ciety, the Thames National Bank, the First National 
Bank, the Norwich Druggists Association, the Lu- 
cas Paper Company and the Crescent Fire Arms 
Company. A few extracts from these will not be 
out of place in this connection. From the Alasonic 
Temple Corporation : 

At a meeting of the directors of the Masonic Temple 
Corporation, held in Masonic Temple Monday evening, the 
following minute and vote were unanimously passed : 



i8 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



While Hon. I!. 11. Osgood, 326 degree, was not a 
director. n< r even an incorporator, of this corporation, it 
IS felt that his death should receive something more than 
a passing notice from us. In spite of the almost innumera- 
ble interests, public, corporate or private, which demanded 
his attention, he took a deep interest in the formation and 
success of this corporation, subscribing liberally for our 
bonds, willingly consenting to act as trustee for the bond- 
holders, in which capacity his autograph appears upon all 

the bonds. 

He was ever ready with his mature judgment, to give 
us the benefit of his vast experience at the time of our 
organization and later in the conduct of affairs, and the 
success which has attended the corporation was a source 
of deep gratification to him. 

It is therefore voted: That a page in the records of 
this' corporation be set apart to the memory of Hon. Hugh 
Henry Osgood, the upright citizen, the incorruptible public 
official, the firm and devoted friend, in short the consistent 
Mason, with all that is implied thereby. 
Official : Arthur H. Brewer, 

Chas. B. Chapman, Secretary. President. 

The Thames National Bank : 

By the death of the Hon. Hugh H. Osgood there is 
lost to the state and community a patriotic and public- 
spirited citizen of the best type, to our business interests 
an exemplar of enterprise, thrift and honorable conduct 
of affairs, to the poor friend ever sympathizing, helpful 
and generous. 

Full of years and honors he has gone to his rest with 
the respect, the esteem and the love of all to whom he was 
known. No man has been more widely identified with all 
the varied interests of a community, with its political and 
social life, its churches and schools, its manufacturing, 
mercantile and financial enterprises', and in all he was a 
leader, not by reason of self seeking, but by the common 
consent of his fellows, who have recognized in him a 
superiority in wisdom, in self control, in tact and disin- 
terestedness. 

Kindly in heart, and genial in bearing, he invited con- 
fidence and from the stores of his large experience, gave 
counsel to the inexperienced or perplexed. No measure 
for the public welfare, no plan to relieve private distress, 
but enlisted his ready sympathy and active assistance. 

Always progressive he kept pace with the advance of 
the age, and in appreciation of every material improvement 
in social, scientific and industrial affairs he was as one 
entering upon a career and desirous of equipping himself 
with the best instruments of success. Large minded and 
far seeing, he wrought for the best interests of the com- 
munity in which he lived, and among the successful insti- 
tutions of his town, there are few which do not bear the 
impress of his energy, knowledge and public spirit. 

In voicing its own severe loss this board but joins' in 
sympathy with a community which is bereaved of its 
foremost citizen. 

Voted: That this banking house be closed during 
the hours of the funeral and that the directors attend the 
services in a body. 

Chas. W. Gale, Cashier. 

The First National Bank: 

The death of Hon. Hugh H. Osgood has fallen upon 
this community with suddenness, and with almost par- 
alyzing force. On every side spontaneous expressions of 
respect and affection are heard, and sincere regret that this 
community has lost its first citizen. 

No eulogistic expression can completely portray his 
character, which had for its broad foundation truth, honor 
and integrity and all those characteristics which marked 
the moral, the social, the religious and the business life of 
an upright man. 



He was in touch with and his force was felt in busi- 
ness enterprises to a greater extent than is the choice or 
possibility with few men only. He yielded his personal 
comfort and pleasure at the solicitation of friends, who 
leaned upon him in association for advice and assistance. 
In business his was notably the strong arm. 

In church and school, and in the broader walks of life, 
he was an intelligent, sympathetic and strong leader, the 
supporter of all that is good and true. 

In charities the kindest sympathies and the generous 
impulses of a Christian philanthropist took expression in 
the deeds done, the number of which none can know. 

Joining in the universal expression of sorrow, and in 
sympathy and love for a true friend, this hoard desires 
to record their appreciation of the man, and their pleas- 
ure in having so long enjoyed his friendship and asso- 
ciation, as well as his valuable advice and co-operation in 
its affairs. 

It is' further ordered that the bank be closed on the 
afternoon of Thursday, 26th, and that the directors attend 
the funeral services. 

F. S. Jerome, Cashier. 

Following is the editorial which appeared in the 
paper mentioned, and in which the foregoing no- 
tices appeared : 

In the death of Hon. Hugh H. Osgood, Norwich, as 
a community, suffers an almost irreparable loss, that is 
universally recognized and sincerely felt. The many large 
business interests with which he was so long and closely 
identified are deprived of a wise counsellor and hundreds 
of individuals mourn the departure of a personal friend 
whose substantial aid has time and again been unosten- 
tatiously tendered them. 

Col. Osgood was a self-made man, who achieved the 
highest measure of usefulness and influence in both public 
and private life. He was successful not only in promoting 
business enterprises but also in winning by honest and 
able effort the hearty esteem of his fellow citizens. Firm 
in his own convictions, he was yet tolerant of opposing 
opinions, and his advice for years had been sought by men 
of affairs in all walks of life. His going out creates vacan- 
cies many and varied. He will be sadly missed, yet the 
genuine public sorrow that marks his passage from the 
scenes of his life work is mellowed by the realization that 
his years of activity were prolonged nearly a decade beyond 
the allotted life of man. His work is done, and the mem- 
ory of it will long be gratefully cherished by his appre- 
ciative townsmen. 

HUBBARD. For nearly two hundred and seventy 
years the name of Hnbbard has been a conspicuous 
one in New England history. Perhaps for a century 
and a quarter the name has been continuously identi- 
fied with the history of Norwich, where either to- 
gether, or in turn, the posterity of Capt. Russell 
Hubbard has figured prominently, especially in com- 
mercial and manufacturing lines. Such names as 
Capt. Russell, Thomas, Amos H.. James L., and 
Charles L. Hubbard, are indelibly stamped upon the 
community in the development of the city's natural 
resources and its commercial and manufacturing 
growth. The ancestors of Capt. Russell Hubbard, 
and the allied families by marriage of his posterity, 
have been those of the best of New England. Of 
the Hubbards, many of the early generations were 
graduates of cither Harvard or Yale, and men of 
the learned professions, as will be observed in the 
following family sketch of the Norwich Hubbards 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



l 9 



and their lineage. From William Hubbard, of Bos- 
ton, the emigrant ancestor, the present Charles L. 
Hnbbard's lineage is through Rev. William, John, 
Rev. John, Daniel, Capt. Russell, Thomas, Amos H., 
and James L. 

(I) William Hubbard was born about 1595. He 
was graduated from Cambridge University, Eng- 
land, in 1620, and in 1635 sailed from London, in 
the ship "Defence," coming from Tendring Hun- 
dred, County Essex, and landed at Boston. He was 
accompanied by his wife Judith (Knapp), daughter 
of John and Martha (Blosse) Knapp, and six chil- 
dren, namely : Martha, Mary, John, William, Na- 
thaniel and Richard. Mr. Hubbard was made a 
freeman in 1638, and was Deputy to the General 
Court for six years between 1638 and 1646. He was 
the founder and principal benefactor of the Ipswich 
Grammar School in 1636, and there held many im- 
portant offices and was considered a very learned 
man. He removed to Boston in 1652, where he died 
Aug. 19, 1670. 

(II) Rev. William Hubbard, born in 1621, in 
County Essex, England, was graduated from Har- 
vard College in 1642, in the first class ever graduated 
from an American college. He also studied medicine 
in connection with his other work there. He was 
made a freeman in 1653. He married about 1646, 
Mary (or Margaret) Rogers, the only daughter of 
Rev. Nathaniel and Margaret (Crane) Rogers, 
formerly of Coggeshall, County Essex, England. Mr. 
Hubbard began preaching in Ipswich, Mass., in 1656, 
and was ordained in 1658. Many of his sermons 
have been printed. He was the author of a number 
of works, among them "Indian Wars" (1677), and 
""History of New England." He remained pastor of 
the Ipswich Church until 1703, resigning owing to 
advanced age. He died in September, 1704. He 
had married (second) Mary, widow of Samuel 
Pearce. His children born to the first marriage were 
Margaret, Nathaniel and John. 

(III) John Hubbard, born in 1648 in Ipswich, 
Mass., united with the Church in 1673T' He married, 
in 1671, Ann Leverett, born Nov. 23, 1652, daughter 
of John and Sarah (Sedgwick) Leverett. Mr. Hub- 
bard and his family removed to Boston in 1680, 
where he soon became a leading merchant, and he 
was for many years treasurer of Suffolk county. 
He died Jan. 8, 1709-10. His children were : Mary, 
Sarah, John, William, Nathaniel and Richard. 

(IV) Rev. John Hubbard, born Jan. 9, 1677, 
in Boston, was graduated from Harvard College in 
1695, and in 1698 he was settled as pastor of a 
church in Jamaica, L. I. He was a Congregational 
clergyman, and the first buried there. On June 12, 
1701, he married Mabel Russell, only daughter of 
Rev. Daniel Russell and his wife Mehetabel (Wyl- 
lis), the latter a daughter of Samuel and grand- 
daughter of Gov. George Wyllis, of Hartford. Rev. 
Hubbard's children were : John and Daniel. 

(V) Daniel Hubbard was born probably in New 
Haven, Conn., April 3, 1706, and was graduated 



from Yale in 1727. On Aug. 13 (or 18), 1731, he 
married Martha, younger daughter of John and 
Mehetabel (Chandler) Coit, of New London, Conn., 
and settled in that town in the practice of law. He 
was appointed sheriff of the county in 1735, and so 
continued until his death, March 24, 1741-2, at the 
age of thirty-six. He left three sons and two daugh- 
ters. His widow married Thomas, son of Nathaniel 
Greene, of Boston, Sept. 6, 1744, by whom she had 
four children; she was left again a widow in 1763, 
and later resided in Norwich, Conn., dying in 1784, 
at the age of seventy-eight. Daniel Hubbard's chil- 
dren were: Russell, born in 1732; Lucretia, born in 
1734; Daniel, born in 1736; Elizabeth, born in 
1738; and William, born in 1740. 

(VI) Capt. Russell Hubbard, the eldest child of 
Daniel Hubbard and Martha (Coit) Hubbard, was 
born in New London, Conn., June 28, 1732. When 
he was ten years of age his father died, and two 
years later his mother married Thomas Greene, of 
Boston. Mr. Hubbard was graduated from Yale 
College in 1751, and settled as a merchant in his 
native town, and was largely interested in the ship- 
ping trade of that port; he had previously gone in 
person on some voyages, as shown by his title of 
"Captain." His house and shop being burnt by the 
British in 1781, he then removed to Norwich, where 
he died Aug. 5, 1785, in his fifty- fourth year. The 
inventory of his estate amounted to i2,300, and in- 
cluded sixty volumes of books. He married in Bris- 
tol, R. I., on Jan. 30, 1755 (or 1754), Mary, daughter 
of Ebenezer and Mary (Prentice Coit) Gray, then 
of New London, formerly of Newport, by whom he 
had four daughters and two sons who grew to ma- 
turity; of the daughters, one married Elijah Backus 
(Yale, 1777), and another married his classmate, 
Ebenezer Bushnell. The Hubbards of Norwich are 
a branch of the New London family and it of the 
Boston Hubbards. The family is one of distinction 
in New England, where it has figured conspicuously 
for nearly 270 years. The Norwich branch has been 
especially prominent in commercial and manufactur- 
ing lines and this point has been their field of opera- 
tion since about 1781. Such names as Capt. Russell 
Hubbard and James L. Hubbard, Thomas Hubbard, 
and Amos Hallam Hubbard, men all now deceased., 
and that of the son of James L. Hubbard — Charles 
L. Hubbard — have been conspicuous in Norwich 
history a century and a quarter. Russell Hubbard's 
children were : Mary, born in 1756 ; Thomas, born in 
1758; Lucretia, born in 1762; Russell, born in 
1764; Martha, born about 1766; and Susan, born in 
1768. 

(VII) Thomas Hubbard, born in 1758, married 
in 1781, Mary Hallam, born in 1760, daughter of 
Amos and Sarah (Denison) Hallam, of New Lon- 
don, Conn., and resided in New London and Nor- 
wich. He died in 1808, and she in 1825. Their chil- 
dren were: Thomas, born in 1783 ; Russell, born in 
1785 ; and Amos Hallam, born in 1791. 

(VIII) Amos Hallam Hubbard, born in 1791, 



20 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



married, in 1821, Eliza Lanman, born in 1800, 
daughter of Hon. James and Mary Anne (Chan- 
dler) Lanman. Mr. Hubbard died Dec. 17, 1865, 
and Mrs. Hubbard passed away April 7, 1872. Amos 
Hubbard was one of the leading and wealthiest citi- 
zens of eastern Connecticut. In 1817, according to 
Miss Caulkins, Amos H. Hubbard returned to his 
native town of Norwich from Batavia, Java, where 
he had been living for about five years. In 18 18, 
in company with his brother, Russell Hubbard, he 
established the business of papermaking at the Falls, 
removing to Greeneville in i860. On Dec. 14, 1827, 
he bought from James Lanman the land on which 
the new postoffice is located, and there built the 
massive and elegant residence which he occupied 
during the rest of his life. Not only was this, at the 
time it was built, the finest residence in this section, 
but in the entire city. 

The present A. H. Hubbard Company of Nor- 
wich, of which company Charles L. Hubbard is 
president and treasurer, is the legitimate successor 
of Christopher Leffingwell, the first maker of paper 
in Connecticut. He began the manufacture of paper 
above the Falls of Yantic in 1766. It is also the suc- 
cessor of Andrew Huntington, who began making 
paper below the falls in 1790. In 181 1 the executors 
of the Leffingwell estate sold the mill property to 
Russell Hubbard and others. Mr. Hubbard pur- 
chased the interests of his partners in 1815, and in 
1818 Amos H. Hubbard bought of Andrew Hunt- 
ington the paper mill below the Falls. In 1829 
Amos H. Hubbard placed and operated the first 
Fourdrinier machine made in America. Paper had 
been previously made by hand, a sheet at a time. 
After the land adjoining each mill had been in- 
creased by further purchase, in 1837, Russell Hub- 
bard and Amos H. Hubbard (brothers) each con- 
veyed their several mills to the firm then formed, to 
be known as R. & A. H. Hubbard. This partnership 
and ownership continued for twenty years, and until 
the death of Russell Hubbard, whose executors con- 
veyed his share in all the mills to Amos H. Hub- 
bard. In i860 Amos Hubbard bought of the Nor- 
wich Water Power Company the land now used by 
the A. H. Hubbard Company, at Greeneville, and 
moved the business. In 186 1 he conveyed the mills 
at the Falls to the Falls Company. Amos H. Hub- 
bard died in 1865, and his son, James L. Hubbard, 
continued the business under the name of A. H. 
Hubbard & Company. 

(IX) James L. Hubbard, born Dec. 25, 1833, 
received a substantial education. In early youth he 
entered the employ of the firm of R. & A. H. Hub- 
bard at the Falls, and after the death of his uncle, 
Russell Hubbard, he became associated with his 
fatber in the firm of A. H. Hubbard & Co. (the 
business having been removed to Greeneville), un- 
der which name the business of manufacturing of 
paper was carried on the rest of his life. He thor- 
oughly understood the paper manufacturing'business 
in all its details. Mr. Hubbard died Dec. 30, 1890, 



after having suffered from poor health for many 
years. He was a very well known man in his line,, 
and accumulated a large property. He was a di- 
rector of the Thames National Bank. Politically he 
was a Republican, but his interest never extended to 
that of accepting office. He was interested in the 
erection of the Park Congregational Church, and 
presented to that society the splendid organ there,, 
which was made to his order abroad. He was an 
attendant of Christ Church, Norwich, and a very 
liberal supporter. 

On April 12, 1854, Mr. Hubbard married Miss 
Charlotte P. Learned, a native of Norwich, born 
May 15, 1835, daughter of Ebenezer and Matilda 
Denison (Hurlbut) Learned. Mrs. Hubbard was 
an excellent woman, of many virtues. She suffered 
from poor health for a number of years previous 
to her death, which occurred at her summer home 
at Eastern Point, Aug. 2, 189 1. Their children 
were: Charles L., who is mentioned below; and 
Matilda D., born Mav 4, 1858, who died May 12, 
1866. 

(X) Charles Learned Hubbard, born July 
21, 1855, president and treasurer of the A. H. Hub- 
bard Company, is a leading citizen and one of the 
most prominent members of the Masonic fraternity 
in the State. He was educated in the schools of his 
native town, and at the age of nineteen years entered 
the employ of his father, acquiring a thorough and 
practical knowledge of the business. His father's 
poor health made it necessary that the active work 
of the business in later years should be attended to 
by Charles L., who after the death of his father 
became president of the company, continuing as such 
to the present time. He is also a director of the 
Thames National Bank, the Norwich Savings So- 
ciety, the Occum AYater Power Company, and the 
Berkshire Cotton Manufacturing Company. 

Mr. Hubbard is a member of St. James Lodge,. 
No. 23, F. & A. M. ; Franklin Chapter, No. 4, 
R. A. M. ; Franklin Council, No. 3, R. & S. M. : and 
is past eminent commander of Columbian Com- 
mandery, No. 4, Knights Templar, at present serving 
on the standing committee in that body, and is grand 
warden of the Grand Commandery of Connecticut. 
In Scottish Rite Masonry he has been equally pro- 
ficient. He is a member of King Solomon Grand 
Lodge of Perfection ; Van Rensselaer Council, 
Princes of Jerusalem ; Norwich Sovereign Chapter 
of Rose Croix ; Connecticut Sovereign Consistory of 
Norwich ; on September 18, 1894, was made a 
member of the Supreme Council of Sovereign Grand 
Inspectors General of the Thirty-third and Last 
Degree for the Northern Masonic Jurisdiction ; and 
on Sept. 15, 1903, he was crowned an active member 
of the Thirty-third degree and also made Deputy of 
State of Connecticut. He is a member of the board 
of directors of The Masonic Temple Corporation. 
Mr. Hubbard is vice-president of Backus Hospital ; 
President of the Norwich Club ; a Fellow of the 
Norwich Free Academy ; member of the New York 




c 




4>- 



~^ 



GEX LA LOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



21 



Yacht Club : of the Arcanum Club ; the Chelsea Boat 
Club : the Citizens' Corps of the Grand Army ; the 
American Paper and Pulp Association ; and a di- 
rector in the United States Finishing Company. 
Politically he is a Republican, and has repeatedly 
declined candidacies on local and State tickets. 

( )n June 6, 1877, Mr. Hubbard was married to 
Katherine Frances Mather, daughter of Capt. 
Samuel and Frances (Tiffany) Mather, and they 
have had three children: (1) Rosalie was educated 
in the Norwich public schools and select schools at 
New York. She is a member of Connecticut So- 
ciety of Colonial Dames of America. (2) Samuel 
M. is deceased. (3) James Lanman is attending 
Yale University, Class of 1907. Mr. Hubbard is a 
member of Christ Church, and one of the wardens. 

MOSES PIERCE, whose death, Aug. 18, 1900, 
removed from Norwich, one of her most useful and 
progressive citizens, was born in Pawtucket, R. L, 
then known as North Providence, July 3, 1808, 
eldest of the eight children — five boys and three 
girls — of Benjamin B. and Susan (Walker) Pierce, 
the former a native of East Greenwich, R. L, and a 
tanner by trade, but later in life a cotton manufac- 
turer. 

Moses Pierce received his literary training in 
the district schools of his native State, between the 
ages of four and twelve, at the latter age beginning 
work as a chore boy in a factory store, at the muni- 
ficent wages of seventy-five cents per week. At the 
age of fourteen years he became the bookkeeper, 
and from that time until he was twenty he was en- 
gaged in that and other capacities in the cotton mill 
business, thereby gaining a thorough knowledge of 
•cotton manufacturing. In 1828 he located in Willi- 
mantic. Conn., and as superintendent took charge of 
a small cotton mill, one of the first in that now thriv- 
ing manufacturing center. The bleaching business 
had begun to attract attention, and at the solicitation 
of men of capital Mr. Pierce became the junior 
member of an enterprising firm, and built, started 
and superintended mills in Rhode Island and Mass- 
achusetts. 

In October, 1839, on the invitation of the late 
Jedediah Leavens, Mr. Pierce came to Norwich to 
consider the outlook for the bleaching business. 
The following May, having concluded his other en- 
gagements, he secured a lease of water from the 
Water Power Company, and the ground was broken 
for the first mill on the site of what was, until re- 
cent years, the Norwich Bleaching & Calendering 
Company. On Sept. 10, 1840, the machinery started, 
and the history of that great company was begun. 
From 1840 to 1888 Mr. Pierce was the real head of, 
first, the company, and, afterward, the corpora- 
tion. 

In 1863 Mr. Pierce, with about twenty others, 
chiefly of Norwich, united to form the Occum Com- 
pany, to acquire lands and flowage rights which 
should enable them to control the Shetucket river 



from the tail race of the Baltic mill to the upper end 
of the Greeneville Pond. Three years later Taft- 
ville began its career. Associated with .Mr. Pierce 
in this enterprise were E. P. and Cyrus Taft, of 
Providence, and James L. Arnold, of Plainfield. 
A charter was obtained from the Legislature, 
though violently opposed because of the large 
amount of money involved, permitting a capital of 
$1,500,000. The stock was marketed, and when the 
company was organized Mr. Pierce became a direc- 
tor, holding this place until 1887, when, by a sale 
of certain stock, the management passed into other 
hands. 

Among other ventures in which Mr. Pierce 
played a conspicuous part was the Ashland Cotton 
Company at Jewett City, of which he was president 
for thirty-five years. Another was the Aspinhook 
Company of the same village. From 1873 tne water 
power at Jewett City, easily made serviceable by a 
dam across the Quinebaug, was a pet project of 
Mr. Pierce. Twenty years later he saw his dream 
realized by the erection of a printing, bleaching and 
calendering plant on the plateau south of the falls, 
and of this company he was president up to the time 
of his death. In all the various concerns with which 
Mr. Pierce was prominently connected, about 2,000 
persons are constantly employed, and the annual 
payroll cannot be less than a million of dollars. 

In the political world Mr. Pierce was, from 1831, 
a strict advocate of temperance principles, giving of 
his time and money to further the cause. He was an 
Abolitionist until the close of the war, and after- 
ward voted with the Republican party. In 1854 he 
represented his district in the State Legislature. 
Although positive in his own opinions he was tol- 
erant toward the views of others. While residing at 
Fall River, in 1834, Mr. Pierce united with the 
Congregational Church, for many years was a mem- 
ber of the Church at Norwich town, and remained 
connected with that denomination for the remainder 
of his days, later transferring his membership to the 
Park Church, in Norwich. 

Mr. Pierce's charities were legion. From the 
beginning of his career he gave in proportion to his 
means. In 1878 he gave to the United Workers the 
large house at Norwich town, now known as the 
Rock Nook Children's home. One of the buildings 
connected with the training school for Negroes and 
Indians at Hampton, Ya., made famous by its 
founder. Gen. Armstrong, costing way up into the 
thousands, was built with Mr. Tierce's money. His 
practical consideration has assisted many an object 
whose end was the good of humanity. Until a few 
years before his death his constitution was robust, a 
fact which he attributed to his temperance in all 
things. He was able to ride out up to within ten 
days of his death. Mr. Pierce was a very method- 
ical man, and possessed of a great deal of energy, 
his native energy being far superior to his strength 
in his old age, and he was always in danger of over- 
taxing himself. He loved to be doing something, 



22 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



and always did as much as his strength would allow. 
He retained every faculty until the last. 

Wholly without any solicitation on his part Mr. 
Pierce was called to many public positions. In Fall 
River, at the age of twenty-two, he was captain of 
a fire company of eighty-six men. In 1858 he was 
elected director of the Norwich & Worcester Rail- 
road. He was president of the Norwich & New 
York Steamboat Company for eleven years, and was 
for years a member of the board of directors of the 
Second National Bank and the Chelsea Savings 
Bank. In the forties he was vice-president of an 
Association of Inventors, holding their meetings in 
the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia. He was trus- 
tee of the Hampton school, which he often visited. 
At the time of his death he was a member of the 
Metropolitan Museum, of New York; a fellow of 
the American Geographical Society in New York, 
and of a library association in Boston ; and a member 
of the Cotton Manufacturers' Association, and of 
the Home Market Club of that city. 

Mr. Pierce had traveled extensively, crossing 
the Atlantic eight times for business and rest. His 
faith in the future of his own country made him 
venture much, and amply was he repaid. In his 
business affairs he was ever found honest and prog- 
ressive, faithful to duty, and considerate of his em- 
ployes. His life, showing what one man can ac- 
complish by industry, honesty and perseverance, sug- 
gests possibilities and gives courage to those aspir- 
ing youths who are obliged to hew their own way. 
In this age when the worker — the doer — is the man 
most honored, the career of Moses Pierce cannot 
fail to give a lofty conception of right and pur- 
poseful living. His remains rest in Yantic ceme- 
tery at Norwich. 

TRUMBULL. The Trumbulls of New London 
county. — Seven successive generations of the Trum- 
bull family have resided in what is now New Lon- 
don county. The first of the name residing within 
these limits was Joseph Trumbull, who was a grand- 
son of John, the emigrant ancestor of his line, a 
cooper, who came to New England from Newcastle- 
on-Tyne, and settled in 1640 at Rowley, Mass., 
where he held the position of town clerk and school- 
master. He brought with him his wife, Ellinor, 
whose maiden name was Chandler, and a son John. 
The family line runs as follows : 

(II) Children of John and Ellinor (Chandler) 
Trumbull, who were marrried in 1635 : Beriah, born 
in 1637, died in infancy ; John, born in 1639, mar- 
ried Deborah Jackson, and died in 1690. 

(III) Children of John and Deborah (Jackson) 
Trumbull : John, born in 1670, died in 1751, married 
Elizabeth Winchell (removed to Suffield, Conn.) ; 
Hannah, born 1673 I Mary, born 1675, married Capt. 
Job Ellsworth ; Joseph, born 1678, died June 16, 
1755 (removed to Lebanon, Conn.), married Han- 
nah Higley, Aug. 31, 1704, who was born at Wind- 
sor, April 22, 1683, and died Nov. 8, 1768; Ammi, 



born 1 68 1 (removed to East Windsor), married Ann 
Burnham; Benoni, born 1684 (removed to Hebron). 

(IV) Children of Joseph and Hannah (Higley) 
Trumbull: Joseph, born March 27, 1705, died 1732,. 
marrried Sarah Bulkley, Nov. 20, 1727. Jonathan,, 
born Oct. 12, 1710, died Aug. 17, 1785, married Dec. 
9, 1735, Faith Robinson. Mary was born Aug. 21 , 
1713. Hannah, born 1715, died young. Hannah 
(2) was born Sept. 18, 1717. Abigail was born 
March 6, 1719. David, born Sept. 8, 1723, died July 
9, 1740. 

(V) Children of Jonathan and Faith (Robin- 
son) Trumbull: Joseph, born March 11, 1737, died 
July 23, 1778, married March, 1777, Amelia Dyer. 
Jonathan, born March 26, 1740, died Aug. 7, 1809,. 
married March 26, 1767, Eunice Backus. Faith,, 
born Jan. 25, 1743, died Nov. 24, 1775, marrried 
Col. (afterward Gen.) Jedediah Huntington. Mary, 
born July 16, 1745, died Feb. 9, 1831, married Feb. 
14, 1771, William Williams, signer of the Declara- 
tion of Independence. David, born Feb. 5, 1751-52, 
died Jan. 17, 1822, married Dec. 6, 1778, -Sarah 
Buckus, who was born Feb. 7, 1760, died June 2, 
1846. John, born June 6, 1756, died Nov. 10, 1843, 
married in London. 

(VI) Children of Jonathan and Eunice 
(Backus) Trumbull: Jonathan, born Dec. 24, 1767, 
died young. Faith, born Feb. I, 1769, married Dan- 
iel Wadsworth, of Hartford. Mary, born Dec. 2."j y 
1777, died young. Harriet, born Sept. 2, 1783, mar- 
ried Prof. Benjamin Silliman, of Yale College, 
Sept. 17, 1809. Maria, born Feb. 14, 1785, married 
Henry Hudson, of Hartford. 

(VI) Children of David and Sarah (Backus) 
Trumbull : Sarah, born Sept. 6, 1779, died Oct. 3, 
1839, married William T. Williams. Abigail, born 
Jan. 2, 1 78 1, married Peter Lannan. Joseph, born 
Dec. 7, 1782, died Aug. 4, 1861, removed to Hart- 
ford. John, or John M., born Sept. 19, 1784, mar- 
ried (first) Ann H. Gibbons, of Savannah, Ga., 
March 15, 1810; second, Hannah W. Tunis, of 
Elizabeth, N. J., Jan. 17, 1819; third, Eliza Bruen, 
of Belleville, N. J., Jan. 11, 1825. Jonathan George 
Washington, born Oct. 31, 1787, died Sept. 5, 1853, 
married Jane Eliza Lathrop, who was born July 26? 
1795, died Oct. 21, 1843. 

(VII) Children of John M. and Ann H. (Gib- 
bons) Trumbull : Thomas Gibbons, born Jan. 30, 

181 1, at Norwich; John Heyward, born Feb. 24, 

1812, at New York ; Ann Heyward, born Dec. 8, 

1813, at Hartford; Sarah Backus, born June 25, 
1815, at Elizabethtown ; Joseph, born May 29, 1817, 
at Elizabethtown (died young). 

Children of John M. and Hannah W. (Tunis) 
Trumbull: David, born Nov. 1, 1819, at Elizabeth- 
town; Susan Landis, born March 21, 1821 (died 
young) ; Julia Gorham, born March 5, 1823 (died 
young) . 

Children of John M. and Eliza (Bruen) Trum- 
bull : Caroline Ward, born Feb. 4, 1826; James 
Hedden, born Jan. 16, 1828; Jane Lathrop, born 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



23 



June 6, 1830; Joseph, born Nov. 24, 1832 (died 
young) ; Harriet Silliman, born March 13, 1835. 

(VII) Children of Jonathan George Washing- 
ton and Jane E. (Lathrop) Trumbull: Daniel Lath- 
rop, born Aug. 21, 1816, died March 31, 1873, mar- 
ried Nov. 16, 1841, Alexandrine Navarre Wilson. 
Lvdia Lathrop, born Oct. 13, 1818, died Oct. 2, 
1822. Joseph, born June 11, 1821, died Jan. 23, 
1826. William Williams, born March 28, 1825, 
died Oct. 19, 1830. 

(VIII) Children of Daniel Lathrop and Alex- 
andrine Navarre (Wilson) Trumbull: Jane Lath- 
rop, born Sept. 9, 1842, died March, 1869, married 
Lieut, (afterward Col.) Robert Watkinson Hun- 
tington, U. S. Marines. Jonathan, born Jan. 23, 
1844, married Dec. 17, 1868, Harriet Roosevelt 
Richards, of Poughkeepsie, New York. 

(IX) Children of Jonathan and Harriet Roose- 
velt (Richards) Trumbull: Jonathan, born Nov. 
19, 1869 (died Sept. 26, 1871) ; Harriet Roosevelt, 
born March 19, 1871 ; Alexandrine Navarre, born 
Feb. 25, 1873; Thomas Brinckerhoff, born June 1, 
1877; Elizabeth Maria, born July 13, 1882. 

Of the first of the Trumbulls of New London 
county, loscph, who was of the third generation of 
his line in America, we find that he removed from 
Suffield, then in Massachusetts, now in Connecticut, 
to Simsbury, Conn., in 1703, where in 1704, he mar- 
ried Hannah Higley, removing to Lebanon in the 
following year. At this time the town had been 
organized by act of the General Assembly for about 
four years, but the boundaries of the proprietors 
and of the township were not definitely established 
until 1705, when Lebanon sent her first delegates to 
the General Assembly, and commenced her career 
as a part of Windham county. 

Joseph Trumbull established himself as a mer- 
chant and farmer in Lebanon, buying the homestead 
of Rev. Joseph Parsons, the first minister of the 
town, and mortgaging it for £340 at the time of 
purchase. He appears to have been enterprising 
and probably prosperous, as we find him later send- 
ing ships to foreign ports and sending his son to 
Harvard College. During his residence in Lebanon 
he was a lieutenant, and later a captain, in the troops 
of the county. 

loscph, his eldest son, was, during his short ca- 
reer, his father's right-hand man. In June, 1732, 
while on a voyage to London, in the interests of his 
father's growing business, he was lost at sea, thus 
ending a promising career at the age of twenty- 
seven. 

Jonathan, the second son of the first Joseph, was 
destined to an important career, especially through 
the eventful period of the Revolution. His long, 
eventful life can only be sketched in outline in this 
connection. In 1727, at the age of seventeen, he 
graduated from Harvard College, with a good rec- 
ord for proficiency in the studies of the day, in 
which the dead languages, including Hebrew, were 
prominent. He commenced the study of divinity 



under Rev. Solomon Williams, of Lebanon, and in 
due time became a licensed clergyman. At the time 
of the death of his brother Joseph he had under con- 
sideration a call to become pastor of the church 
in Colchester. The loss of this brother, however, 
changed the current of his life, for his father needed 
the assistance of his son to take the place of the 
lost brother. Duty, perhaps, rather than inclination, 
called the son Jonathan to fill this place. His busi- 
ness career and his public career commenced within 
the following year. In 1733 he was elected a dele- 
gate to the General Assembly, which position he 
again held continuously from 1730 to 1739. in which 
year, at the age of twenty-nine, he was made 
Speaker of the House of Representatives. In 1740 
he was elected Assistant, which position made him 
a member of the Council of the Colony. He occu- 
pied this position for twenty-two years. At the 
same time, he occupied several judgeships. In 
1766 he was elected deputy governor of Connecticut 
and in 1769 was elected governor, to fill the unex- 
pired term of Gov. Pitkin, who died in office. From 
that time until 1783 he was annually re-elected, de- 
clining re-election at the close of the Revolution, 
thus completing a period of public service covering 
exactly fifty years. His mercantile career extended 
over a large portion of this time, proving a failure 
in 1766, but resumed until the outbreak of the Revo- 
lution, from which time to the close of his public 
career he devoted himself exclusively to the cause 
of his country. 

From the beginning of the oppressive measures 
of Great Britain which finally resulted in our inde- 
pendence, Jonathan Trumbull was a firm and stead- 
fast supporter of the rights of the Colonies. When 
Gov. Fitch, in 1765, insisted on taking the required 
oath to enforce the Stamp Act, Trumbull, with six 
of his associates, withdrew from the council, refus- 
ing to sanction this hateful ceremony by their pres- 
ence. And when, in March and April, 1768, appli- 
cation was made to him as Chief Justice of the 
Superior Court to issue Writs of Assistance to cus- 
toms officers of the Crown, he refused the applica- 
tion; and with this refusal the General Assembly 
when appealed to, declined to interfere. From the 
outbreak of the Revolution to its close he was in 
constant correspondence with Washington, who 
continuallv applied to him for men. money and mate- 
rials, and never applied in vain. Of all the govern- 
ors of the thirteen Colonies at the beginning of the 
war he was the only one who was not a Loyalist 
or Tory, as they were then called. The relations be- 
tween Washington and Trumbull were of so con- 
fidential a nature that a cherished tradition of Con- 
necticut tells us that when supplies or counsel were 
needed in the darkest days of the war a favorite re- 
mark of Washington's was, "We must consult 
Brother Jonathan." From this, it is said, origi- 
nated the popular name of the American people. 

The War Office at Lebanon, now preserved and 
owned In the Connecticut Society of Sons of the 



24 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



American Revolution, was during the Revolution 
the customary place of meeting of the Council of 
Safety — a council appointed to assist the Governor 
when the General Assembly was not in session. 
Within the walls of this little building more than 
eleven hundred meetings of this council were held 
during the war. 

The wife of Gov. Trumbull, Faith Robinson, 
was a daughter of Rev. John Robinson, of Duxbury, 
Mass. It is stated by Stuart that she was a lineal 
descendant of John Robinson, of Leyden, the Puri- 
tan leader, but this statement lacks proof, though 
much research has been made to establish it. She 
was, however, a lineal descendant of John Alden, the 
pilgrim ; and such memorials as are left of her show 
that she was a patriotic and devoted wife and 
mother, and was held in the highest esteem in the 
community. 

Gov. Trumbull lived but two years after retiring 
from public life. These two years were passed in 
study, and in carrying out the intention expressed 
in his farewell address, where he says * * * 
"that at the evening of my days, I may sweeten 
their decline, by devoting myself with less avoca- 
tion, and more attention to the duties of religion, 
the service of my God, and preparation for a future 
happier state of existence." 

The children of Gov. Trumbull were, as might 
be expected, all ardent patriots. loseph, the eldest 
son, was destined to a career which, if less distin- 
guished than that of his father and two of his 
brothers, was no less important. A Harvard grad- 
uate, like his father, he also in close imitation of his 
father's early career engaged in business, becoming 
a partner in his father's firm at the age of twenty- 
seven, and losing his all in the subsequent failure 
of the firm. From 1767 he was for six years a dep- 
uty from Lebanon in the General Assembly, and 
during this time was a captain in the First Company 
of the Twelfth Regiment of Connecticut militia. 
He was a member of the "Committee of Correspond- 
ence and Enquiry" in 1773, and in 1774 was ap- 
pointed as an additional or substitute delegate to 
the Continental Congress. It does not appear, how- 
ever, that he was a member of this Congress. In 
April, 1775, he was appointed by the General As- 
sembly Commissary-General of Connecticut. This 
position sent him at once to the seat of war. On 
the arrival of Washington at Cambridge, in July, 
1775, to assume command of the army, he com- 
mends especially, in a letter to Congress, the com- 
missariat of Connecticut, and recommends the ap- 
pointment of Joseph Trumbull as Commissary- 
General of the Continental Army. This appoint- 
ment was immediately made. The duties of this 
newly created office were of a most perplexing and 
exacting kind. The lack of money, the difficulties 
of transportation and the dissatisfaction occasioned 
by jealousies between men of different Colonies, 
were some of the burdens of the situation. The con- 
flict of authority with commissaries appointed by 



their own Colonies and by Congress formed still 
another burden. At last, in June, 1777, the Con- 
tinental Congress, which had already hampered the 
department by orders and commissions which con- 
stantly interfered with its usefulness, undertook a 
complete re-organization of the commissary depart- 
ment, which rendered the position of Commissary- 
General so ineffective that Joseph Trumbull at once 
resigned his office. This criminally foolish piece of 
legislation resulted in the terrible winter at Valley 
Forge, and with this lesson before it Congress prac- 
tically re-instated the former organization of the 
commissary department. 

On the 27th of November following his resig- 
nation Joseph Trumbull was elected a member of 
the Board of War, but failing health prevented him 
from active service in this capacity, and he was 
obliged, for this reason, to resign in the following 
April. From this time his health continued to fail 
until his death, on the 23d of July, 1778. The in- 
cessant care and overwhelming difficulties of the po- 
sition in which he was placed undermined his natur- 
ally vigorous constitution, and brought him to a 
comparatively early grave. His services were fre- 
quently commended by Washington. A portion of 
the inscription on his tombstone at Lebanon reads 
as follows : 

"Sacred to the memory of Joseph Trumbull, eld- 
est son of Governor Trumbull, and first Commis- 
sary-General of the United States of America, a 
service to whose perpetual cares and fatigues he fell 
a sacrifice, A. D. 1778, AE 42." 

Jonathan Trumbull, Jr., the second son of Gov. 
Trumbull, was more distinguished in his public serv- 
ices and offices than any of his brothers. Like his 
father and elder brother, he was a graduate of Har- 
vard College, in which institution he completed his 
course with honor in 1759. The opening of the 
Revolution finds him a deputy from Lebanon to the 
General Assembly of Connecticut. In 1775 he was 
appointed Deputy Paymaster-General for the North- 
ern Department of the army, a position which he 
held until the close of the northern campaign of 
1778. Upon the death of his brother Joseph, it 
was necessary that his accounts should be settled, 
and this duty devolved upon his brother Jonathan, 
necessitating his retirement from the army, for the 
time being. During this interval he was re-elected 
as a deputy to the General Assembly. During the 
presentation of his brother's accounts to the Con- 
tinental Congress at Philadelphia he became ac- 
quainted with the leading members of this Congress, 
who recognized his financial abilities in such a way 
that in November, 1778, he was appointed Comp- 
troller of the Treasury, under Roger Sherman's 
plan of organization, being the first holder of this 
important office, a position which, as Roger Sher- 
man wrote his father, placed him at the head of the 
Treasury Department. During the following year 
this department was re-organized by placing it in 
control of a board of five commissioners, of whom 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



25 



he was made one. The salary of each of these com- 
missioners was fourteen thousand dollars in Con- 
tinental money ; but it mnst be remembered that 
this was a very uncertain value, and that before the 
close of this year a dollar in "hard money," or 
specie, was worth forty-five Continental dollars. In 
the following year, 1780, he was appointed secre- 
tary and first aid to General Washington, a position 
which placed him in intimate relations with that 
great man during the remainder of his life. He 
remained in the field until the close of the war, and 
.was present at the surrender of Cornwallis. 

After a short interval of private life he was, in 
1788, elected once more a deputy to the General 
Assembly, and was made Speaker of the House of 
Representatives. He was, in the following year, 
called to the more important position of a represen- 
tative from Connecticut in the first Congress of the 
United States under the Constitution. In 1791 he 
was made Speaker of the House of Representatives 
of that body, and in 1794 he was elected a Senator 
in the Congress of the United States. Upon his 
election as Lieutenant Governor of his native State, 
in 1796, he resigned his seat in the Senate of the 
United States, and devoted himself to the duties of 
the new office to which his State had called him. 
Upon the death of Gov. Oliver Wolcott, in 1798, 
Trumbull was elected Governor, and held that posi- 
tion by continuous re-elections until his death, in 
1809, a period of nearly twelve years. 

He bore, in a marked degree, the distinguishing 
traits of his father — punctuality, close and patriotic 
attention to duty, and fixedness of purpose when 
once convinced that he was in the right. His dis- 
position, like his father's, was benevolent, and his 
manners and bearing entirely free from that for- 
bidding dignity and pomp which were sometimes to 
be noticed even among his compatriots in the then 
budding great republic. Like his father, too, he 
left behind him a clean record. It is said by his 
contemporaries that in the times of bitter political 
controversy through which he passed his personal 
character was never assailed, and only his public 
measures were criticised. 

Daz'id, the third son of Gov. Trumbull, pursued 
a career which, while it has not enrolled him among 
the heroes of the Revolution, entitles him to credit 
for continual and active service to the cause. Of 
the four sons of the Governor, he was the only one 
who was not a Harvard graduate. At the time when 
he was prepared to enter college the disastrous fail- 
ure of his father in business rendered the expense 
of a college course for this son impracticable. He 
received, however, a good education, at the then 
famed school of Nathan Tisdale, of Lebanon. The 
growing cares and increasing responsibilities of his 
father's public position at this time rendered it nec- 
essary that, at the beginning of the Revolution, one 
of his sons should remain at home as his father's 
right hand man. It fell to the lot of the son David 
to occupy this position. In addition to this duty lie 



was entrusted by the Council of Safety with many 
important duties, conspicuous among which were 
the care and custody of arms and ammunition, the 
purchase of supplies for the departments both of the 
Commissary and the Quartermaster, and the furnish- 
ing of transportation of these supplies. He was 
also entrusted with large sums of money by the 
State and by Congress, for all of which, as for the 
munitions of war in his custody, he appears to have 
accounted with scrupulous exactness. His services 
were of such a nature that, although he never bore 
a military title, his widow was granted a pension by 
Congress after his death. Although each of his 
brothers attained much higher official positions than 
he did, none served as continuously in the incon- 
spicuous but important duties which devolved upon 
him. 

John, the fourth and youngest son of Gov. 
Trumbull, pursued a career which distinguished 
him from his brothers, and which, as it proved, was 
almost unique for the times in which he lived. In 
his boyhood his health was delicate, and he joined 
but little if at all in the sports of his companions. 
He lived, however, to the ripe old age of eighty- 
seven years. Although his military career is worthy 
of notice, he is principally remembered as a painter, 
and as one of the pioneers in American art. He 
graduated from Harvard College in 1773, having 
entered at the age of fifteeen in the middle of the 
Junior or third year, graduating in full standing at 
the age of seventeen, and having, to the surprise of 
his family, learned the French language by private 
instruction during his college course. His taste for 
painting developed in his boyhood, and he pursued 
the study and practice of the art at his home in 
Lebanon, soon after his graduation, though he was 
interrupted by being called to take charge of Mr. 
Tisdale's then celebrated school during the illness 
of the schoolmaster, which continued for nearly six 
months. In 1774 he became intensely interested 
in the impending struggle with the Mother Coun- 
try, and made careful studies of military science to 
prepare himself for the life which seemed to open 
before him. In the following year he joined the 
army, as an aid to Gen. Spencer. Learning, soon 
after the arrival of Washington at Cambridge, that 
he was anxious to procure a plan of the enemy's 
works, Trumbull stealthily approached the works, 
and, being skilled in drawing, made a plan which 
proved to be so accurate that Washington's atten- 
tion was called to the young draughtsman, who 
was soon made second aid-de-camp to the Com- 
mander-in-Chief. This position was not congenial 
to Trumbull, owing to the formalities, both social 
and military, which it involved. He was soon ap- 
pointed to the more congenial office of Major of 
Brigade, and became a favorite officer of ( Jen. 
Gates, by whose authority he was appointed adju- 
tant and quartermaster-general, with the rank of 
colonel. 

The Continental Congress was slow in recogniz- 



26 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ing such appointments, and when, at last, Trum- 
bull's commissison arrived, it bore a date several 
months later than the date of the appointment, at 
which he took great offense, returning his commis- 
sion to Congress, accompanied by a letter, written 
Feb. 22, IJ/J, which was rather more spirited than 
respectful. This terminated his official connection 
with the army. It was during his service in the 
Northern army that he made a discovery, which, 
had his advice been followed, would have made a 
great difference in the campaign. In August, 1776, 
when the army was posted at Fort Ticonderoga 
and in its vicinity, Trumbull insisted that the posi- 
tion would be untenable if the enemy should occupy 
Mount Defiance, bringing artillery to bear from 
that commanding point. He was laughed to scorn 
by his seniors, who claimed that the point was out 
of range and that it would be impossible to carry 
even light artillery to the summit. Both these state- 
ments Trumbull had the satisfaction of controvert- 
ing by actual experiment, but the position remained 
unoccupied by the Americans. Burgoyne later ad- 
vanced upon the position, "established a battery of 
heavy guns on the summit of Mount Defiance, the 
shot from which plunged into the old French fort 
and lines, so that, as I [Trumbull] had predicted, 
the whole position became untenable, and was im- 
mediately abandoned." 

In this year, 1777, he went to Boston for the 
purpose of resuming his studies in art. but finding 
no suitable instructor, he was at last persuaded to 
go to London, with letters of introduction to Ben- 
jamin West, under whose auspices he was much 
helped and encouraged in the pursuit of his chosen 
profession. While in London, on the 15th of No- 
vember, 1780, when the news of the capture and 
execution of Andre was received, Trumbull was 
arrested on the charge of being in the military serv- 
ice of the Americans, and was kept in prison for 
seven months, still practicing painting, and finally 
released on bail, West and Copley being his sureties. 
His release was upon the condition of his leaving 
the kingdom within thirty days, not to return until 
peace should be declared between Great Britain and 
America. 

After a trip to Holland and a perilous voyage to 
America he remained at or near his home, engaged 
principally in assisting his brother in carrying out 
a contract for supplies for the army. He passed a 
part of this time at headquarters on the North river, 
where he renewed his acquaintance with Washing- 
ton, who received him kindly. Upon the declaration 
of peace, and contrary to the advice of his father 
and the previous advice of the President of Har- 
vard College, he resumed his career as an artist, 
continuing it uninterruptedly to the time of his 
death, passing much of his time in London and in 
Continental Europe. He married, rather mysteri- 
ously, an English lady in London, a woman of rare 
beauty and of noble birth. 

Trumbull is principally known as an historical 



painter, who, far more than any other American 
artist, has commemorated the important events of 
his times by paintings familiar to every schoolboy 
of to-day. Principal among these are : The Battle 
of Bunker Hill, The Death of Montgomery, The 
Sortie from Gibraltar, The Declaration of Independ- 
ence, The Surrender of Cornwallis, Capture of the 
Hessians at Trenton, The Battle of Princeton, The 
Surrender of Burgoyne, The Resignation of Gen- 
eral Washington. He was also noted as a portrait 
painter. The largest collection of his works, which 
is in the Yale School of Fine Arts, was given to 
Yale University during his life, under an agreement 
for an annuity, at a time when he had reached ad- 
vanced age. [See Autobiography, Reminiscences 
and Letters, by John Trumbull, 1841 ; John Trum- 
bull : a brief sketch of his life, to which is added a 
catalogue of his works ; by John F. Weir, N. A., 
M. A.. 1901.] 

Of the children of David and Sarah (Backus) 
Trumbull, loscpli removed to Hartford soon after 
graduating from Yale College. He was first ad- 
mitted to the Bar of Windham county in 1803, but 
commenced the practice of law in Hartford in the 
following year. In 1828 he was made president of 
the Hartford Bank ; was. a member of the General 
Assembly of Connecticut in 1832 and 1848; member 
of Congress, 1834-35. filling the vacancy caused by 
the resignation of William W. Ellsworth. He was 
again a member of Congress, 1839-43. In 1849 ne 
was elected Governor of Connecticut, and served 
for one term. In the year of his election to this 
office he received from Yale College the degree of 
LL. D. He was connected with many of the indus- 
trial and educational interests of Hartford. 

His brother, lolvi M., after a business career in 
Georgia and New Jersey, returned to Connecticut, 
and settled in Colchester, where he died at an ad- 
vanced age. His children removed from the County, 
his son David going to Yalparaiso. Chili, where he 
established the first American mission, which he 
conducted with marked success. Another son, 
James, also removed to South America, and estab- 
lished himself as a physician in Yalparaiso. 

Jonathan George Washington, the third son of 
David Trumbull, established himself at Norwich 
after graduating from Yale College. He com- 
menced the practice of law at Norwich, but soon 
abandoned it for manufacturing and mercantile pur- 
suits, becoming in later life identified with the man- 
agement of banking and industrial corporations of 
Norwich. 

His son, Daniel J^athrop Trumbull, was the 
only son who lived to manhood. He was also a 
business man, being connected principally with 
banking and manufacturing interests. 

His son. Jonathan Trumbull, also pursued a 
business career for some thirty years, but aban- 
doned this for literary pursuits. He is now libra- 
rian of the Otis Library of Norwich ; president of 
the Connecticut Societv of Sons of the American 



GEXEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



27 



Revolution ; treasurer of the William W. Backus 
Hospital ; president of the Connecticut Library As- 
sociation ; honorary member of the Society of the 
Cincinnati; president of the Board of Education of 
the Central School District of Norwich ; besides be- 
ing a member of the Connecticut and New London 
County Historical Societies, and occupying several 
other positions in charitable and banking institu- 
tions. He has contributed several articles on the 
study of Shakespeare, to the magazines ; and has 
also contributed to the historical and patriotic soci- 
eties of which he is a member several papers on 
Connecticut history which these societies have 
printed. He has also contributed for the Encyclo- 
pedia Americana an article on Connecticut and has 
written for a history of Connecticut now in the 
hands of the publisher that portion which covers 
the Revolutionary period. He has also contributed 
to the Library Journal articles on library history 
and administration. 

WARNER. The representatives of this family 
in the present generation come through several lines 
from a sturdy New England ancestry of the Colon- 
ial period and of the first comers to the old and his- 
toric county of Windham. 

(I) Andrew Warner, the American ancestor of 
the family, is of record at Cambridge, Mass., in 
1632, and was admitted a freeman of the colony May 
14, 1634. He removed to Hartford with the body of 
original proprietors of that town, and thence with a 
new wife, Esther, widow of Thomas Selden, to Had- 
ley, Mass., in the first settling of that point. Mr. 
Warner died Dec. 18, 1684, aged nearly ninety-three 
years, and his widow, Esther,' died in 1693. His 
nine children, all born to a former marriage, were : 
Andrew, Robert, Jacob, Daniel, Isaac, Ruth, a 
daughter whose name is not given, Mary and John. 
Of these, Robert and Andrew died in Middletown, 
Conn., and John also resided in that town. 

(II) Isaac Warner, born about 1645, married 
May 31, 1666, Sarah, daughter of Robert Boltwood. 
In about 1686 Mr. Warner removed from Hadley to 
Northfield, and thence to Deerfield, where he died in 
1691. His widow married, in 1696, Deacon John 
Loomis, of Windsor, Conn. Mr. Warner's fourteen 
children were: Sarah, Isaac. Mary, Andrew (set- 
tled at Saybrook), Hannah, Ebenezer, Daniel, Sam- 
uel. Ruth, Mercy, Ichabod, Lydia, Thankful and 
Mehitable. 

(III) Ichabod Warner, born about 1687. married 
March 5. 1712. Mary Metcalf, and seems to have 
lived in Lebanon, where the births of his children 
are recorded. The names and dates of birth of his 
children are: Ichabod, Dec. 10, 17 12; Daniel, July 
10, 1714; Isaac, Jan. 4, 1717; Ebenezer. March 20. 
1 7 1 9 : Nathaniel, Feb. 18, 1722: Timothy, Dec. 21, 
[724; Samuel, Aug. 21, 1720; .Mary and Hannah 
(twins), Sept. 13, 1730; Ruth. Oct. 17, 1732: and 
John. May 22. 1734. An Ichabod Warner, of Leb- 
anon, bought land in Windham of James Babcock, 



June 29, 1721, and there is of record in Windham 
the death of Mary Warner (wife), April 26, 1747, 
and of Ensign Ichabod Warner, Jan. 18, 1767, and 
filed the inventory of Ichabod Warner, March 23, 
1767 ; also a record of the deaths of children of Icha- 
bod and Mary Warner, viz. : Mary died Jan. 29, 
1747; Samuel, June 21, 1747; and Hannah, Sept. 
28, 1750. 

(IV) John Warner, born May 22, 1734, married 
Feb. 28, 1762, Priscilla Wood. The inventory of 
John Warner was recorded Jan. 2, 1775. 

(V) Ichabod Warner married Hannah Collins. 
Their children were : Betsy, Emily, Lucia, Earl, 
William, Nancy, John and George. 

(VI) Earl Warner married (first) Harriet Gil- 
bert and (second) Adeline Lester. His children 
were (by second marriage) : Adeline E., of Nor- 
wich, unmarried ; Earl, of New London, who mar- 
ried Hattie Champlin and had two children. Jewell 
and Harry ; Frances Lester, widow of George A. 
Robinson (he was librarian of Otis Library, Nor- 
wich, Conn., from 1875 to 1892, and she is now 
assistant librarian of same ; her children are Frank 
Tyler and Juliet W.) ; Sarah Belton, who died when 
nineteen months old ; Louis Belton, of St. Joseph, 
Mo., unmarried; Edgar Morris; and a twin sister 
of the latter who died when one day old. 

Edgar Morrls Warner, son of Earl, was born 
June 16, 1850, in Worcester, Mass. He attended 
the common schools of the neighborhood in which 
his youth was passed, and the Bartlett high school, 
at New London, Conn. He taught school for sev- 
eral years and also sold books for a time, and for 
some two years clerked in a store at New London. 
He began the study of la wwith Judge Hiram Wil- 
ley, of New London, with whom he remained a 
couple of years, when for a time he again taught 
school to aid in the furtherance of his legal studies. 
He then entered Harvard Law School, from which 
institution he was graduated in June, 1872. being 
admitted to the Bar in New London county in Sep- 
tember, 1872. He began the practice of the law at 
Norwich, entering the office of Hon. George Pratt, a 
leading lawyer there. Remaining in Norwich 
three years, he removed to Central Village, Plain- 
field, Conn. In 1885 he opened an office in Putnam, 
removing thither in 1887. Between 1875 and [885 
Mr. Warner passed one year — 188 1 -1882 — at Little- 
ton. N. H.. but the climate not agreeing with him he 
returned to Connecticut. 

Mr. Warner was clerk of the Connecticut Gen- 
eral Assembly in iSyj-J^-jy), and clerk of the Senate 
in 1880. He represented the town of Putnam in the 
Legislature of 1895. and although serving his first 
term as a legislator was a prominent candidate for 
Speaker. However, he withdrew in favor of 
Speaker Samuel Fessenden. lie served as chairman 
of the committee on Incorporations, and his legis- 
lative record was one of distinguished value. Mr. 
Warner was frequently called to the chair during the 
absence of the Speaker, and gave a fitting address 



28 



GENEALOGICAL AXD 'BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



of welcome in his capacity as presiding officer upon 
the occasion of the visit of Gov. William McKinley, 
of Ohio. Yet perhaps the greatest service ever ren- 
dered to the public by Judge Warner occurred in 
1895-96, during the prosecution of the Putnam liquor 
case, when he acted as attorney for the Law and 
Order League of Connecticut, and succeeded in ob- 
taining the conviction and imprisonment of the 
liquor dealers who had been selling without a license. 

Mr. Warner took an active part in the incor- 
poration of Putnam as a city, and was a member of 
the committee which formed a charter for presen- 
tation to the Legislature, and was appointed by the 
Legislature of 1895 to the position of first judge of 
the City court of Putnam, which position he held 
from Jan. 1, 1896, until September, 1901, resigning 
to assume the clerkship of the Supreme and Superior 
courts, to which office he was appointed June 4, 
1901. Judge Warner also served for a number of 
years on the school board of Putnam, during which 
time he was acting school visitor. 

The Judge and his wife are members of the Sec- 
ond Congregational Church at Putnam, and the 
Judge for several years' was superintendent of the 
Sunday school of the church. 

On Aug. 3, 1887, he married Jane Elizabeth Car- 
penter, eldest daughter of Judge John A. and Mar- 
cia (Chandler) Carpenter, both of old and prom- 
inent New England families, and the union has been 
blessed with children as follows, all born in Putnam : 
Frances Lester, born July 19, 1888 ; Gertrude Chan- 
dler. April 6. 1890 ; and John A. C. July 12, 1893. 

Judge Warner justly takes pride in his ancestry 
and family connections. John Warner Barber, the 
Connecticut historian, was a cousin. On the mother's 
side the Judge descends from Capt. John Avery, of 
Groton, a patriot of the Revolution. 

HOX. LUCIUS BRIGGS. In the death of Mr. 
Briggs, which occurred at his home in Norwich, 
Jan. 27, 190 1, the community in which he resided 
lost an upright man and good citizen, his household 
a devoted parent and husband, and the business 
world one of its zealous and leading characters. 
Born Dec. 21, 1825, in Coventry, R. I., Mr. Briggs 
was for fifty years identified with the manufacturing 
interests of Connecticut, and was a conspicuous 
character in the industrial life of that section, 
which included those interests in the neighboring 
States. He was the fifth son and sixth child of 
Wanton and Mary (Tift) Briggs, a full history of 
which family appears elsewhere in this volume. 

As a boy Lucius Briggs went and came to the 
ring of a factory bell until nineteen years of age, be- 
tween times and at intervals attending the neighbor- 
hood schools, which training was supplemented by 
one year's attendance in the Smithville (R. I.) 
Academy. In these years he became proficient in 
the several departments of cotton manufacturing. 
At nineteen he entered the shop of Nicholas Potter, 
in Coventry, and served an apprenticeship of three 



years at the machinist's trade. For the next two 
years he was the machinist in the mills of Gov. Har- 
ris, in that town. In 1849 tne discovery of gold in 
California allured young Briggs and his brother 
Wanton, Jr., to the New Eldorado. They sailed 
from Warren, R. I., on January 28 of that year, in 
the ship "Hopewell," and on the 9th of August fol- 
lowing reached San Francisco. Two years later Lu- 
cius decided he would return, and return he did. 
married, and located at Mason ville, a point in the 
town of Thompson, Conn. There he entered the 
employ of the Masonville Manufacturing Company, 
and soon was in charge of the repairs in all t'rree of 
that company's mills. This relation was agreeable 
all around, and led to Mr. Briggs's becoming super- 
intendent of the mills and the local agent or all die 
company's business and interests in the village. In 
less than one year after be became superintendent 
Hon. William Grosvenor, of Providence, the agent 
for the mills, and a son-in-law of Mr. Mason, pur- 
chased all of the holdings of his father-in-law, ex- 
cepting 1- 16 inherited, which Mr. Briggs bought. 
Soon thereafter Mr. Grosvenor and his sons pur- 
chased all ether interests excepting that held by Mr. 
Briggs. These purchases marked an era in the con- 
cern's life, and, too, in that of its owners. The three 
small mills then operated less than 8,000 spindles 
and only 189 looms, the machinery in main was old 
and out of date, as was nearly all of the equipment. 
The new holders modernized the property. The two 
upper mills were made into one, making a mill of 
11,000 spindles. The third mill was converted into 
tenements, and a new mill of brick, with 20.000 
spindles of the very best patterns, took the place of 
the 2,700 worn-out ones and the wooden mill. In 
1864 Mr. Briggs and Mr. Grosvenor bought the 
mill at Fisherville, a village just above Masonville, 
the mill being one of 5,000 spindle capacity, but with 
much undeveloped water power. This property 
was soon developed to its full proportions. An im- 
mense brick factory was built, of splendid architec- 
tural design, capable of holding 60.000 spindles, and 
was put in operation in 1872. This brought the 
number of spindles owned and operated by the com- 
pany to about 96,000. In the meantime, and while 
these great changes were in progress, the names of 
Fisherville and Masonville had given place to Gros- 
venor Dale. At that time this company possessed 
one of the finest manufacturing plants in New Eng- 
land, and the masterful mind and hand of Mr. 
Briggs were conspicuous in the transformation 
made. From the day of the new ownership to the 
close of his connection with the property, in 1883, 
Mr. Briggs had full charge of manufacturing and 
building, and was the deviser of all plans and pro- 
jects for developments and enlargements, purchased 
all machinery and material of every kind, made all 
contracts for building, etc. From the start Mr. 
Briggs gave his entire time and abilities to the con- 
ducting of the manufacturing and the development 
of the property. His health became so impaired that 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



29 



he was ordered by his physician to go abroad, and in 
December, 1875, with his daughter Evelyn for a 
companion, he sailed from New York for Liverpool, 
and they passed six months in travel in England, 
France, Italy and the East, visiting Alexandria, 
Cairo and other points in Egypt, Constantinople and 
minor cities in Turkey, the Ionian Islands, Athens, 
and various other interesting localities in Greece. 

In 1883 Mr. Briggs sold his interests in the 
Grosvenor Dale Mills, and became half owner and 
manager of the Glasgo Yarn Mill Company, of 
Glasgo, Conn., taking np his residence at the latter 
point. In 1898 he sold his interest in the Glasgo 
Company to the American Thread Company, and 
at that time retired from active business. After 1896 
he resided in Norwich, which city is the home of his 
son Charles W. Briggs, for years a prominent busi- 
ness man of Xew York City, and now a leading citi- 
zen of Norwich. 

Lucius Briggs was president of the Thompson 
Savings Bank, was a director in the Thompson Na- 
tional Bank, and at the time of his death was a di- 
rector in the Thames National Bank at Norwich, in 
the Uncas Paper Company of that city, and in the 
Manufacturers Insurance Company ; for years he 
was a director in the Greeneville Bleachery. Mr. 
Briggs's political affiliations were with the Repub- 
lican party. He was a representative from the 
town of Thompson in the Lower House of the State 
Assembly in 1867, and in 1875 served in the State 
Senate from the Fourteenth District. He was a 
Presidential elector on the Republican ticket at the 
time of the second election of Gen. Grant as Presi- 
dent. Mr. Briggs was a well-read man. 

Soon after his return to Rhode Island from Cali- 
fornia, on April 21, 1851, Mr. Briggs was mar- 
ried to Miss Harriet Taylor Atwood, of Coventry, 
R. I.. Rev. Thomas F. Waterman officiating. This 
union was blessed with four children — two sons and 
two daughters — two of whom, a son and a daughter. 
died in infancy; the others are Charles W. Briggs 
and Evelyn Clara. The latter married Floyd Cran- 
ska, of Moosup, Conn., a successful manufacturer 
of fine combed yarns, and died on March 26, 1900. 
Mrs. Briggs died Sept. 9, 1887. 

Charles Wanton Briggs, son of the late Lu- 
cius Briggs, was born in Grosvenor Dale, in the 
town of Thompson, Windham Co., Conn., Oct. 2, 
1855. He attended the public schools of Thompson, 
and later the Highland Military Academy, at Wor- 
cester, Mass., where he graduated in 1874. After 
leaving school he entered the employ of the Gros- 
venor Dale Company, where his father was super- 
intendent, beginning at the bottom, and working 
himself up to the position of assistant superintend- 
ent, which position he filled until 1870. In that year 
his father bought a mill at Haydenville, Mass.. and 
Charles W. was appointed superintendent of same. 
continuing thus until his father bought the mills at 
Glasgo and consolidated both mills. Then tin 
went to Boston as special agent of the company for 



two years, when he was sent to New York, filling the 
same position there until 1898, when his father sold 
his interest to the American Thread Company. 
Charles W. Briggs then engaged in the manufacture 
of folding box-board paper at Bogota, Bergen Co., 
N. J., acting as treasurer and general manager of 
the Bogota Paper Company, and he conducted the 
business for five years, during which time he in- 
creased the capacity of the factory from seven tons 
to twenty-five tons of paper per day, it being one of 
the six largest establishments of that kind in the coun- 
try. In July, 1902 the company sold out to the paper 
trust, and Mr. Briggs came to Norwich, where he is 
now residing in the beautiful home left by his father. 
He has not relinquished business activities alto- 
gether, being a director in the Davenport Fire Arms 
Company, and is also interested in several other en- 
terprises in Norwich. Mr. Briggs is a Republican 
in political faith. 

In February, 1880, Mr. Briggs was married, 
to Sadie Elizabeth Home, who was born in Somers- 
worth, N. H., daughter of Samuel P. and Mary 
Home. They have had three children: (1) Lu- 
cius, born in 1882, was educated in a New York high 
school, in the New York City College and in Pack- 
ard's Business College. New York. He was subse- 
quently engaged with his father at the head office in 
New York. He married Miss Mary Goffe Brewer, 
daughter of Arthur H. Brewer, of Norwich, and 
they have one son, Lucius Goffe. (2) Charles 
Walter, born in October, 1885, was educated in what 
is now the Morris high school, New York, and Nor- 
wich Free Academy. (3) Robert Elmer, born in 
June, 1893, is attending the Norwich Academy. The 
family attends the Congregational Church. 

OSCAR FITZALLAN STANTON, Rear Ad- 
miral. United States Navy, now living in retirement 
in New London, was for many years one of the 
most distinguished figures in the naval service in 
this country. In that connection he voyaged over 
all the globe, visiting the principal ports and many 
interesting parts of the world, and the record of his 
experiences is most entertaining. He is a descend- 
ant of one of the oldest families i<i Xew England, 
one which has held an honored place in the annals 
of American history from the days of Winthrop 
and the early Puritans. 

Thomas Stanton, his first ancestor in America, 
known as Capt. Thomas Stanton, was i.n English 
birth. He was educated for a cadet, but not liking 
the profession of arms, and taking a deep interest in 
the religious principles o\ the migrating Puritans, 
he came to the Colonies in the ship "Bonaventura," 
in 1635, embarking at London, England, Jan. 2. 
He landed in Virginia, thence going to Boston, 
where he was recognized by Winthrop and his asso- 
ciates as a valuable man. worthy of their unlimited 
confidence. The next year he was selected by the 
Boston authorities to accompany Mr. Fenwick and 
Hugh Peters as interpreter on a mission to Say- 



30 



GEXEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



brook. Conn., to hold a conference with the Pequot 
Indians relative to the murder of Capts. Stone and 
Newton. He possessed an accurate knowledge of 
the language and character of the Indians which 
gave him prominence in the new settlements of 
Connecticut. In 1637 he took up his home at Hart- 
ford, where the General Court declared he should be 
a public officer to attend the court upon all occa- 
sions, either general or particular, at the meetings 
of the magistrates, to interpret between them and 
the Indians, at a salary of ten pounds per 
year. He became the intimate and special friend of 
Gov. YVinthrop of Connecticut, acting as interpreter 
in all of his intercourse with the Indians. He was 
the first white man who joined William Chese- 
brough in the new settlement in the Pawcatuck 
Valley, and in the spring of 1650 or 165 1 he estab- 
lished a trading house in Stonington, on the west 
bank of the Pawcatuck river. For a few years his 
family resided in Xew London before permanently 
locating in Stonington, in 1657. After this he took 
an active part in town affairs, becoming prominent ; 
and he was elected to almost every position of pub- 
lic trust in the new settlement ; he served as magis- 
trate from 1662 until his death, was appointed a 
judge of the court in 1666, and was a deputy to 
the General Court, 1666-1675. Mr. Stanton mar- 
ried in Hartford, in 1637. Anna, daughter of Dr. 
Thomas and Dorothy Lord, and they had ten chil- 
dren : Thomas, John, Mary, Hannah, Joseph, Dan- 
iel, Dorothy, Robert, Sarah and Samuel. Through 
these they became the progenitors of a numerous 
race in the country about Stonington. Thomas 
Stanton died Dec. 2. 1677, aged sixty-eight years, 
and his wife passed away in 1688. Before the 
removal of the family from Hartford they had come 
into possession of a considerable quantity of land, 
and were considered well-to-do for the times. 

Joseph Stanton, grandfather of Oscar Fitzallan 
Stanton, died in 1840 or 1841. He married Fanny 
Miner, and they had two children, Frances (known 
as Fanny, who died when about twenty, unmarried), 
and Joseph. 

Joseph Stanton, father of Admiral Stanton, was 
born April 12, 1804. in Stonington, Conn. By call- 
ing he was an architect and builder, but he also, for 
many years, ran a sawmill at Sag Harbor, L. I., and 
furnished fresh water for vessels plying Long Is- 
land Sound, his being the first steam engine used 
for that purpose in that section. He led a useful, 
industrious life, throve well in his business affairs, 
and was a respected member of the community 
where the greater part of his active life was spent. 
He was actively interested in the State militia, being 
captain of an artillery company. In political senti- 
ment he was a stanch Republican, and in religion 
he was a consistent member of the Methodist 
Church of Sag Harbor, where he passed away Oct. 
22, 1866. Joseph Stanton was married, in June, 
1833. to Elizabeth (Havens) Cooper, of Sag Har- 
bor, daughter of Elias Matthus Havens, and she 



survived him many years, dying Feb. 26, 1892. at 
Sag Harbor. The children of this union, all born 
in Sag Harbor, were as follows : ( 1 ) Oscar Fitz- 
allan, the eldest, is further mentioned below. (2) 
William Cooper went to sea, sailing to Chinese 
ports, and later settled in San Francisco, where he 
was engaged in the grocerv business. When the 
war of the Rebellion broke out he enlisted in the 
United States navy, and he died in Key West in 
1863. He never married. (3) Charles Wesley and 
(4) Harriet Frink died young. (5) Mary Eliza- 
beth, who is still living at Sag Harbor, has never 
married. (6) Joseph Briggs is a resident of Ruther- 
ford, X. J., where he is engaged in the domestic 
goods business, having been associated with James 
Talcott & Co.. of Xew York, since the Civil war. 
He married Jennie Eden, of Brooklyn, and has one 
son, William, who married Mary Bell, of Mt. Ver- 
non, and has one son. (7) Emma died young. (8) 
Helen Augusta is the widow of Harold Booth, of 
Brooklyn, and is now living in Sag Harbor. She 
has two daughters — Florence, who married Regi- 
nald Seeley, and Ethel, who married, in September, 
1904, William Youngs, of Sag Harbor. Long Island. 

Oscar Fitzallan Stanton was born July 18, 1834, 
in Sag Harbor, Long Island, and there pursued his 
education until fifteen years old. In 1849 ne entered 
the Xaval Academy at Annapolis, to which he was 
appointed from the First Congressional District 
on the recommendation of John A. King, at that 
time Congressman, who later became governor of 
Xew York State. After almost a year's stay at the 
academy he went to sea as midshipman on the steam 
frigate "Susquehanna.'' bound for China, the voyage 
lasting until June, 1853. He was then transferred 
to the sloop of war. "Saratoga." as midshipman, 
remaining on that ship until she arrived in Boston 
in September. 1854, during which time they were 
with the fleet of Commodore Perry, on the Japan 
expedition. Returning to Annapolis, he took a 
year's academic course, the four years' course in the 
meantime having been inaugurated. In June, 1855, 
he became passed midshipman and sailed on the 
"Constellation"' to the Mediterranean Sea. that voy- 
age covering a period of three years, during which 
time, in September. 1855. he was promoted to mas- 
ter in the line of promotion. On April 2, 1856. he 
became lieutenant and finished the cruise in that ca- 
pacity, in August, 1858. He next sailed as lieuten- 
ant on the Paraguay expedition, on the "Memphis,"' 
which was chartered and fitted out as a cruiser by 
the United States Government. Coming back from 
this expedition in 1859, he sailed to the west coast 
of Africa on the store ship "Supply." and upon his 
arrival on the southwest coast of Africa was trans- 
ferred to the "Portsmouth." and later to the sloop 
of war "Marion." finishing the cruise on the last 
named vessel, at Portsmouth. X. H.. in October, 
i860. 

In December, i860. Lieut. Stanton sailed to 
Colon on a mail steamer, to join the sloop of war 






GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGR.iril ICAL RECORD. 



3i 



"St. Mary's." of the Pacific Squadron. After land- 
ing- at Colon, the company went by rail across the 
isthmus of Panama to Panama, where the ship was 
at anchor, this cruise lasting until March. 1861, 
when he was ordered to the East by a mail steamer 
to the gunboat "Tioga," of the James River and 
Potomac River flotilla. In July, 1862, he was pro- 
moted to lieutenant commander, which office had 
just been established by Act of Congress, and he 
continued to serve on the same vessel, with the 
Flying Squadron, in the West Indies, until Novem- 
ber, 1863, when he was ordered to the command of 
the gunboat "Pinola," of Admiral Farragut's West 
Gulf Squadron. On this boat he participated in the 
famous blockade at Mobile, the "Pinola" being one 
of the fleet with Farragut when the admiral raised 
the blockade by successfully passing the forts of 
Mobile, and he remained on her until relieved, in 
November, 1864. Proceeding North, he was 
ordered to Ordnance duty at the New York Navy 
Yard, where he remained until March. 1865, when 
he went to Norfolk, Ya., joining the "Powhattan" 
as executive officer of the East Gulf Squadron, with 
which he continued until Oct. 1, 1865, returning to 
Boston. 

Lieutenant Commander Stanton was next or- 
dered to the New York Navy Yard again, until 
November, 1865. when he went to Annapolis as 
assistant to the superintendent, acting as such until 
the summer of 1866, when he was put in charge 
of the practice vessel "Winnepec" for a short time. 
In the fall of 1866 he returned to the Annapolis 
Naval Academy, where he remained until the fol- 
lowing April, when he was ordered to the gunboat 
"Tahoma," of the Gulf Squadron, as commander, 
retaining that command until October, 1867. Dur- 
ing this time he cruised in the Gulf of Mexico, and 
was engaged in the laying of the telegraph cable 
from Havana to Key West. In December, 1867, he 
was promoted to the full rank of commander, and 
ordered to the vessel "Purveyor" in that capacity in 
1868, on her cruising to the west coast of Africa, 
where he broke up the Government storehouse, 
bringing the stores back. He arrived in New York 
in April, 1869. His next orders were to proceed to 
Portsmouth, N. H., where he took charge of the 
receiving ship "Yandalia." on which he remained 
until April, 1871. In January, 1872, he was ordered 
to China by way of San Francisco, where he took 
passage on a mail steamer for China, becoming 
commander of the "Monocacy," on which he re- 
mained until June. 1873. His next command was 
the "Yantic." of the China Squadron, with which 
he continued until October, 1874, when he returned 
home. 

In November. 1874. Commander Stanton was 
ordered to the Norfolk Navy Yard, as senior aid 
to the commandant, and was thus engaged until 
March. 1877, when he was sent to the Newport 
(R. I.) torpedo station, together with other com- 
manders, to attend a three mouths' course of instruc- 



tion. This concluded, he became commander of the 
sailing frigate "Constitution," at New York, on a 
voyage to Hampton Roads and the West Indies, and 
during this cruise, which lasted until May, 1881, 
he was appointed captain, being thus honored June 
19, 1879. In November, 1881, he went to the United 
States Naval Home at Philadelphia as executive 
officer and acting governor, remaining there until 
October, 1884, when he was ordered to another 
command, taking the steam frigate "Tennessee," the 
flagship of the North Atlantic Squadron, on which 
he remained until October, 1885. That month he 
was ordered to the New London Naval Station, as 
commandant, in which capacity he served until 
April, 1889, and in June of the following year he was 
placed in command of the Naval Training Station at 
Newport, R. I. On May 19, 1891, he was promoted 
to commodore, and on July 1, 1891, became governor 
of the Philadelphia Naval Home. Commodore Stan- 
ton remained at that post until August, 1893, when 
he was ordered to the command of the South Atlan- 
tic Squadron, with the rank of rear admiral, on the 
flagship "Newark," cruising to Rio Janeiro. Re- 
turning home in November, he took command in 
December of the North Atlantic Squadron, on the 
flagship "Kearsarge," the command of which he re- 
tained until she ran on the rocks during the night 
of Feb. 2, 1894, at Roncador, off Nicaragua, about 
one hundred miles southwest of Jamaica. The crew 
were compelled to take to the small boats, the 
"Kearsarge" becoming a total wreck, and the Ad- 
miral was saved by taking to a raft, in that way 
reaching the small boats anchored on the reefs. 
His flag was then transferred to the "San Fran- 
cisco," of the same squadron, on which he remained 
until July 30, 1894, when he applied for retirement, 
after nearly forty-five years of active service. 

Admiral Stanton had established his home in 
New London, Conn., in 1893. and thither he retired 
to enjoy a well-earned rest. In 1898. when war 
was declared against Spain, he was made command- 
ant of the Naval Station at New London, serving as 
such until ( )ctober of that year. He continues to 
make his home at that place, and is deservedly 
ranked among its honored citizens. Admiral Stan- 
ton has numerous social connections, being a mem- 
ber of the Military ( )rder of the Loyal Legion of the 
United States; of the Society of American Wars; 
of the United States Associated Veterans of Far- 
ragut's Fleet, of which he is one of the vice-presi- 
dents ; of the Naval ( )rder of the Naval Station, 
New York Commandery; of the Army and Navy 
Club, of New York; and of the Thames Club, 
New London. 

( )n July C), 1859, Oscar F. Stanton was united 
in marriage with Caroline Eliza Gardiner, ^\ Sag 
Harbor, daughter of Charles Fox and Eliza Ann 

re) ) Gardiner, the former of whom was a mer- 
chant in Sag Harbor Un many years. Mrs. Stanton 
also comes of an old Colonial family, being a direct 
descendant of Lyon Gardiner, after whom Gardi- 



32 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ner's Island was named. He was a friend of Capt. 
Thomas Stanton, the earliest of these Stantons in 
America, and kept up a correspondence with him. 
To Oscar F. and Caroline Eliza (Gardiner) Stan- 
ton came two children : ( i ) Fanny Gardiner, born 
in Sag Harbor, became the wife of Daniel Latham, 
of New London, and they are now living in London, 
England, Air. Latham being manager of the Sym- 
onds Stores Company, of America, with headquar- 
ters at City Road, London. They have one son, 
Stanton Latham. (2) Elizabeth Havens, born in 
Sag Harbor, married William Seeley Burrell, of 
Xew York City, where he is engaged in business 
as a dealer in imported linings, etc. They reside in 
Xew York City. They have one son, Gardiner 
Seeley Burrell. 

The Admiral and his wife hold membership in 
the Presbyterian Church of Sag Harbor. His 
. political support is given to the Republican party. 

SPICER. The Spicer family of New London 
county is an old and numerous one. The ancestral 
line of Levi Spicer, of Noank, is traced through 
Silas, Edward, John, Edward and Peter. 

Levi Spicer was born in that part of Groton 
that is now Ledyard, Feb. 20, 1767, and he died 
April 26, 1850. He married (first) Lavina Chese- 
brough, who died April 13, 1794, leaving one son, 
Levi C, born Dec. 7, 1793, and who settled in Ash- 
tabula county, Ohio. Levi Spicer married (second) 
Prudence Palmer, who was born June 5, 1771, 
daughter of Elihu and Ruth Palmer, and a direct 
descendant of Walter Palmer, who came from Eng- 
land to New England as early as 1628, and later to 
Stonington, Conn. Airs. Prudence Spicer died Aug. 
14, 1846. 

Levi Spicer received a common school education, 
and was reared a farmer, also learning his father's 
trade of wheelwright. When about twenty-eight 
years of age he removed to Stonington, where he 
became acquainted with Aliss Palmer, whom he mar- 
ried, and they soon after removed to Noank, where 
he built a home and engaged in agricultural pursuits 
along with shipbuilding, continuing until after the 
death of his wife in 1846. He then made his home 
with his son Elihu, and there died April 26, 1850. 
For many years Air. and Airs. Spicer were esteemed 
and honored members of the Baptist Church. He 
was fond of his home and family, was of a social, 
genial nature, and had hosts of friends. Loving a 
good story he enjoyed its hearing or telling. His 
political affiliations were with the Democratic party. 
The six children of Levi and Prudence (Palmer) 
Spicer were : 

(i) Elihu Palmer, born Oct. I, 1796, is men- 
tioned farther on. 

(2) Eldridge, born June 23, 1798, was in early 
life a sea captain, but later a farmer, and he died 
Jan. 30. 1865. On Alay 31, 1821, he married, in 
North Stonington. Lydia G. Stanton, daughter of 
Deacon John Stanton, a soldier in the war of the 



Revolution; she died June 19, 1854. He married 
(second), Oct. 31, 1861, Airs. Prudence Latham 
Reynolds. His nine children, all born in Groton, 
were: (a) William Eldridge, born April 12, 1822, 
was a sailor in early life and resided at Noank un- 
til his death in 1904. He married, Alarch 22, 1846, 
Narcissa Ingham, who died Oct. 7, 1887, the mother 
of three children, Judson, born June 6, 1848, died 
June 23, 1848, Alarion, born Sept 2, 1849, married 
Eugene H. Davis, of Noank, and has a daughter, 
Edna, and William Albert, born in 1847, married 
June 9, 1870, Jane A. Douglas, resides at Noank, 
and had three children, George A., Jane (deceased) 
and Eliza, (b) Lydia Ann, born June 14, 1824, 
married Sept. 20, 1855, George E. Tripp, and died 
Nov. 24, 1887, at Alystic, leaving no children, (c) 
John Stanton, born Alarch 3, 1827, died Feb. 28, 
1894, in Calaveras county, Cal., unmarried, (d) 
Hannah, born April 22, 1829, died in Poquetanuck, 
Sept. 16, 1859. On Oct. 15, 1848, she married 
Gurdon Wilcox, of Preston, Conn., born Alarch 20, 
1825, died Dec. 27, 1883, son of Gardner U. and 
Nabby (Egglestone) Wilcox; their children were: 
Josephine, born July 19, 1849, married Edward 
Steere, died Oct. 11, 1880, leaving two daughters, 
Annie who married Gustave A. Johnson, and resides 
at Norwich, and Eva, who married John Smity, and 
resides at Poquetanuck. Everett and another son, 
both born Aug. 3, 1858, the former dying July 8, 
1863. C e ) Lucy Latham, born June 3, 1831, mar- 
ried, Alay 24, 1853, Winthrop Ward, of Stonington, 
Conn., and in 1866, they removed to Alystic. They 
had children: Lucibell, born June 19, 1854, mar- 
ried Oct. 29, 1877, Ira C. Hoxie, and lives in Chi- 
cago; Flora, born Oct. 15, 1858, died Nov. 26. 1865 r 
and George E., born Jan. 19, 1868, married Sept. 6, 
1894, E. Bertha Cheney, of Alystic, a graduate of the 
New York College of Dentistry, and is engaged in 
practice at Alystic. (f) Silas, born July 19, 1835, 
married (first) Hattie Brewster; (second) Celia 
A. Hurlburt of South Carolina, who bore him three 
children, Sarah, Addie and Lydia; and (third) Airs. 
Agnes (Abbott) Wood, by whom he had two chil- 
dren, Edward and Stanton. Silas Spicer is now 
superintendent of the 14th street ferry, having been 
deputy-harbor master at Port Royal, and master of 
the port of Savannah, (g) Alary E., born Dec. 2, 
1837, died April 2, 1858. (h) Charles H., born 
Feb. 14, 1840, married, Nov. 2j, 1872, Nancy W. 
Gates, of Worcester, Alass. He served in the war 
of the Rebellion and lives at Cleveland, Ohio, (i) 
Emmeline married, Alay 20, 1861, her brother-in- 
law, Curdox Wilcox, and had children — a daughter 
born in 1864; Charles, born Alarch 10, 1866, died 
Jan. 30, 1867; and William, a resident of Poqueta- 
nuck, born Aug. 20. 1862, married. Nov. 30, 1882, 
Lillian Parkhurst, daughter of Chauncy and Susan 
(Chapman) Parkhurst, and they have four chil- 
dren, Alaurine, Harry, Ward and Hope. 

(3) Lucy C, born June 8, 1803, died Alarch 28, 
1866. On Oct. 6, 1822, she married Henry Latham, 






GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



33 



born Oct. 24, 1797, son of William and Sabrina 
Latbam. They had the following children: Will- 
iam Henry, born July 13, 1823; Catherine Crarey, 
born March 22, 1827; Charles and Albert. 

(4) Sarah P., born Nov. 10, 1806, died April 13, 
1867. On Nov. 18, 1827, she married Peter D. 
Irish, and had two children William O., who resided 
in New London and there died; and Sarah, who 
married a Mr. Cutter and died in New York. 

(5) John Palmer, born Sept. 14, 1808, died May 
3, 1877. On Sept. 30, 1830, he married Abby Jane 
Latham, daughter of William and Sabrina Latham, 
born May 2y, 1810, died Dec. 22, 1889. They had 
eight children: (a) Sabrina, born June 21, 1831, 
married Sept. 12, 1852, Henry Rockwell, of Groton, 
and has two children, Edward Kidder and Grace 
Middleton. (b) Prudence Abbie, born Feb. 14, 
1834, married, Oct. 26, 1853, George P. Wilbur, 
son of Nathaniel and Angeline Wilbur, and died 
Jan. 10, 1874, leaving one daughter, Emma Estelle. 
(c) John Dennison, born Aug. 22, 1835, married 
Sarah Jane Hill, born July 22, 1841, daughter of F. 
Austin and Mary Jane Hill. They had children, 
Sarah, born in May, 1867, died in May, 1867; and 
Harrie Austin, born Aug. 11, 1871. (d) Twin sons, 
born in 1844, died in infancy, (e) Jane Steward, 
born June 27, 1846, died Aug. 7, 1875. (f) Adelaide 
was born March 6, 1848. (g) Alice Hunter was 
born Aug. 24, 1850. 

(6) Silas, born April 29, 181 1, was a mariner, 
and settled at Noank, and there he died Oct. 8, 
1888. He married, Dec. 4, 1839, Mary Ann Mor- 
gan, daughter of Gilbert and Catherine (Edge- 
court) Morgan, and their six children were: (a) 
Mary Helen, born Oct. 22, 1841, married, Feb. 14, 
1862, Charles H. Fitch, and died April 29, 1866, 
leaving no children, (b) Sarah P., born Nov. 2J, 
1843, tue d April 3, 1867. (c) Catherine, born 
March 27, 1846, married, Oct. 22, 1872, Joseph Y. 
Adams, of Westerly, R. I., and resides at Noank. 
Her one daughter Helen B., born April 18, 1874, is 
deceased, (d) Prudence A., born Dec. 20, 1847, 
married, Sept. 9, 187 1, Walter Chesebro, of Noank, 
and has two children, Katherine Spicer and Lyle S. 
(e) Silas, born Feb. 9, 1850, died in infancy, (f) 
Ludlow C, born May 25, 1856, died unmarried, 
Feb. 25, 1891. 

Capt. Elihu Palmer Spicer, eldest son of Levi 
and Prudence (Palmer) Spicer and father of the 
late Capt. Elihu Spicer, of Noank, was born Oct. 
I, 1796. Like his father and grandfather before 
him he was trained for life's duties on the farm and 
secured his fragmentary education in the district 
schools of Noank. He was only a lad when he went 
first to sea, becoming cook on the "Thetis," one of 
the first fishing smacks engaged in the business in 
that locality. From that time on until a man of 
about forty-five years, he followed the sea, and rose 
successively from cook to captain. During the war 
of 1812, while fishing in open boats, he was often 
compelled to run the British blockade, was a num- 
3 



her of times chased by their cruisers, and had many 
narrow escapes. The first vessel of which he was 
master was the fishing smack "Luzerne," which was 
engaged in Southern waters, and also, in addition 
to being in the fishing, he was in the wrecking 
business. Later on he commanded the schooner 
"Empress," which was engaged in the Southern 
coaling and West Indian trade. For several years 
he was master of the schooner "Magellan," which 
also was engaged as above, and following these 
commands, he had charge of the big transport "Apa- 
lachicola," which transported the troops under Gen. 
Scott to take part in the Seminole war. Still later 
he continued in the Southern coasting trade. He 
had the reputation of being a careful, skillful, pru- 
dent and successful mariner. Through his long, 
active sea-faring life he never met with serious loss 
or accident. During the war of 18 12, when the 
town of Stonington was attacked by the British, 
Capt. Spicer was on duty, assisting in repulsing the 
enemy in their attempts to land, and in extinguish- 
ing the fires caused by the bursting of the enemy's 
shells. 

Elihu Palmer Spicer died March 17, 18S5. While 
a man of reserved manner, he possessed strong opin- 
ions, and was known for his positive character, as 
well as for the warm and sincere friendships he 
cherished. His considerate treatment of the large 
body of men who, at various times, were under his 
command, and often in most trying conditions, elic- 
ited universal commendation and won him undying 
regard. In business he was an excellent manager 
and a very successful financier. 

For years Capt. Spicer held the government ap- 
pointment of United States Tide Master of the Mys- 
tic river. His political affiliations were with the 
Democratic party, of the times when Jeffersonian 
principles prevailed, and to the close of his life he 
never swerved in his admiration for and support of 
those cardinal principles of true Democracy. He 
was twice elected representative from the town of 
Groton in the State Assembly, and he stood high in 
that body as a legislator. During many years he was 
a consistent member of the Baptist Church, liber- 
ally contributing to its support. He was a repre- 
sentative member of a most honorable family and to 
his numerous descendants left a spotless name. 

Capt. Spicer was twice married. I lis first wife, 
Jemima Fish, who was born July 21, 1S17, daughter 
of Ebenezer and Lydia Fish, died May 22, 1849. 
They had these children: (1) William, born Aug. 

1, 1819, died Jan. 15, 1820. (2) Prudence, born 
May 19, i82r, married. August 4. [842, Capt. Par- 
don Taylor Brown, and died Nov. 21, 1850. Her 
three children were: Pardon and Levi, who both 
died young; and William Hiram, born April 26, 
1850. (3) Emeline, born June [6, [823, died Sept. 

2. [836. (4) Elihu, born April 13. 1825. is men- 
tioned in full farther on. (5) Levi, horn June I, 
[830, married Aug. 31, [859, Caroline Manchester. 
daughter of Shadrack and Clarissa (Coe) Man- 



34 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Chester, and died March 26, 1897. He was a mer- 
chant of Xoank, where his family still reside. His 
children were : Annie Coe, William I. and Sarah 
D. ; (6) Sarah, born May 20, 1833, married Oct. 
6, 1857, Andrew G. Dickenson, of Brooklyn, X. Y., 
and they had three children, Mary, Sarah and Car- 
rie, all of whom died young. (7) Hiram, born Nov. 
27, 1839, died July 8, 1842. On April 30, 1850, 
Elihu Palmer Spicer married (second) Eliza Huldah 
Roath, who died Nov. 1, 1874. 

El 1 11 u Spicer, fourth in the family born to 
Elihu Palmer and Jemima (Fish) Spicer, was born 
in Xoank, Conn., April 13, 1825. With the open 
sea before him from his birth, he instinctively adop- 
ted the profession of a sailor. From cabin boy he 
rose to the command of the bark "Fanny" at the age 
of twenty-two, and successively to that of the ships 
''Hound," "Samuel Willetts" and the "Mary L. 
Sutton." In them he sailed every sea, meeting with 
all the vicissitudes of a sailor's life, including ship- 
wreck, and he made many prosperous voyages dur- 
ing the years when San Francisco and China were 
the only stopping places in circling the globe. These 
voyages were made by clipper ships, carrying the 
American flag, and their fleetness has never been 
exceeded by sailing vessels. In 1861 Capt. Spicer 
left his ship at San Francisco and came home by 
way of Panama, in company with his life-long friend 
and brother sailor, Charles H. Mallory. They 
formed a partnership founding the present firm of 
C. H. Mallory & Co.. of which company Capt. Spicer 
served as president for several years until his death. 
This company inaugurated a line of steamers in the 
coasting trade between Xew York and Galveston. 

During the Civil war the demands for vessels 
for the use of the Government, as transports, re- 
quired the services of all available steamers, and the 
closing of the Southern ports of the United States 
having put an end to all coastwise trade, this firm 
engaged their vessels to the Government, and Capt. 
Spicer commanded the steamer "Victor" for a time. 
At the close of the war, the Galveston trade again 
occupied the firm's attention, and from this time 
forward, to the running of their ships and the build- 
ing new vessels, Capt. Spicer gave his attention. 
His long experience at sea had made him familiar 
with all the requirements of this work, and to the 
small and ill-adapted vessels of 1861, there succeeded 
a fleet of eleven ships, designed especially for the 
work they had to do, and able to carry cargoes safe- 
ly over a bar where there is little tide and the sands 
are constantly shifting. 

However, with all his prosperity, the man never 
changed, still finding his greatest happiness at his 
home in Mystic, surrounded by old friends. His at- 
tachment to his birthplace was as strong in his ma- 
ture age as though he had never left it, and the 
memories of his deceased wife and child were ever 
fresh and unfailing. His disposition was full of 
sweetness and friendship for everyone. With a 
vigorous and determined temperament, strong in his 



opinion when formed, yet, under the most trying 
circumstances, when deceived by those in whom he 
had placed great trust, he displayed no feeling to- 
ward them but that of sorrow for their fault. With 
his increasing wealth, in the words of his favorite 
poet: "Large was his bounty and his soul sincere." 

He gave liberally in charity, but of this little was 
ever known. He presented a library to the Poly- 
technic Institute of Brooklyn, in memory of his son, 
Uriah D. Spicer, together with a large sum of money 
to which he added in his will. At the time of his 
death he was erecting a building for a library, which 
he designed to present to the people of Xoank and 
Mystic. It has since been completed by the heirs, 
its shelves filled with books and presented to trus- 
tees who will manage it for the people's benefit and 
thus carry out the wishes of the donor. 

Capt. Spicer gave a farm, with buildings on it, 
and a large sum of money for the use of the indigent 
of the town of Groton, during his lifetime, and he 
left an additional amount to this charity in his will. 
The schools of Xoank were frequent beneficiaries 
also. At the time of his death he was a member of 
the Chamber of Commerce of Xew York, and a 
Pilot Commissioner of the Port of Xew York, a 
trustee of the Sailors' Snug Harbor, and a member 
of the Marine and Xew England Societies, as be- 
came "a man who loved the sea." 

Xew England has produced few better men than 
Elihu Spicer. His were the qualities of solid worth, 
having no care for idle display. Beneath his unas- 
suming exterior there beat as warm a heart, as gentle 
a spirit, as kindly and generous a disposition as in a 
century adorns and sweetens humanity. There was, 
in his mental equipment and moral make up, some- 
thing suggestive of the serenity of the sea he had so 
long and often traversed, and his nature seemed to 
alternate between the profound peace of an ocean 
calm, and the musical ripples that, sunlighted, wel- 
come the coming of the morning breeze. His soul 
seemed free from storms, and the tempests of earth- 
ly contention never disturbed his courteous demean- 
or, or ruffled his clear and elevating mind. Without 
vain pretense, he harbored qualities that made him 
the valued associate, the trusted adviser, and the 
congenial companion of the very flower of our citi- 
zenship. 

The career thus too briefly told, is that of an up- 
right and honorable figure in the life of this com- 
munity. It could be said of him accurately that he 
"nobly bore, without reproach, the grand old name 
of gentleman." His gentle spirit took flight, Feb. 
15, 1893, from his home, Xo. 7 South Oxford street, 
Brooklyn, X. Y., and he was buried in the town of 
his birth. His memory will survive in the record of 
public and private benefactions, in the wide range of 
reputable commercial distinction, in the annals of 
refined and healthy social association and in the 
hearts of all who knew and liked him. 

On Jan. 21, 1852, Elihu Spicer wedded Mary 
M. Dudlev, now deceased. Of the three children 





V / 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



35 



born to them, Mary and William both died young: 
■and Uriah D. died at the age of twenty- four in the 
flower of young manhood. 

HON. GILBERT COLLI XS. ex-mayor of Jer- 
sey City and a Justice of the Supreme Court of New 
Jersey, is a descendant of a family prominent in 
Stonington, Conn., for many generations. 

(I) Daniel Collins, the progenitor of the family, 
was born in 1710, and died July 16, 1797. His 
birthplace is not known, but at the time of his mar- 
riage he dwelt in New London, afterward removing 
to Stonington. On Feb. 7, 1731, he married Alice 
Pell, of Xew London, and had one son, Daniel, Jr. 
On July 7, 1754. he married (second) Rebecca, 
widow of Samuel Stanton. She died childless in 

1755- 

It is supposed that Daniel Collins, Sr., built, 
about the middle of the eighteenth century, on the 
old Boston Post Road, opposite the present meeting- 
house of the First Congregational Church, the tav- 
ern house which was taken down only a few years 
ago. This was a large double, wood-colored house, 
with roof sloping nearly to the ground at the rear, 
and two stories in front — being thus built it escaped 
the tax upon two story houses. At the west end of 
the house, hung a swinging sign, ornamented by the 
figure of an Indian, and the word "Tavern." From 
the front door entrance the stairs leading above and 
below were in plain sight. At the right was the great 
east room — the favorite resort for friends upon the 
Sabbath Day before meeting began, or when any 
gathering was held at the Road. At the rear of that 
room was the long kitchen, with a small bed room at 
either end, while in a large room up-stairs occasional 
dances were held. At the left of the front door was 
a smaller room with a fireplace in it and windows on 
the south and west sides, which was called the "bar 
room." On the north side of the room was the coun- 
ter running east and west, and completely shutting 
oft the narrow room where were kept the jugs of 
West India rum, sugar, tea, and decanters of vari- 
ous kinds of liquors. A red painted door, suspended 
from the ceiling, was lifted or closed at will by the 
person behind the counter, and was supported by 
two long, narrow sticks, arranged to hold it in posi- 
ti' m. In those days even the minister and best people 
regaled themselves, and no one was considered hos- 
pitable who did not offer to his guest some good 
rum, home-made wine or cider. 

The Tavern was kept for years by Lieut. Daniel 
Collins, son of Daniel Collins, Sr., and by his son, 
Gilbert Collins, grandfather of Judge Gilbert Collins. 

(II) Lieut. Daniel Collins, only child of Daniel 
Collins, was born March 10, 1732, in Xew London. 
He died April 6, 1819, after passing the greater part 
of his life in Stonington. From 1775 he served in 
the Continental army, and was First Lieutenant in 
the First Regiment of the Connecticut Line, forma- 
tion of 1776. ( )n Dec. 26, 1756, he married Dorothy 
Wells, by whom he had eight children : William, Pell. 



Hannah, Daniel, Lydia. Polly, Eley and John Wells. 
I lis children all migrated west, and their descendants 
live in Xew York State and in Toledo, ( )hio. He mar- 
ried (second) Anne Potter, widow of John Hilliard, 
by whom he had six children : Robert, born April 14, 
1788, who married Ruth Browning; Gilbert, born 
April 14, 1790; Rebecca, who married Henry Wor- 
den; Maria, who married Justin Denison; Betsey, 
who died young; and Anne, who married John D. 
Noyes. 

(III) Gilbert Collins was born April 14, 1790, 
and became a farmer in Stonington, where he was 
long prominent in public affairs, for several terms 
representing the town in the State Legislature. He 
died March 24, 1865. On May 3, 1807, he married 
(first) Prudence Frink, born Oct. 6, 1788, a de- 
scendant of John Frink, who came to Stonington in 
1666. To this marriage came three children: Ben- 
jamin Franklin, born Sept. 10, 1808, married Mary 
Denison ; Anne married John Robbins ; and Daniel 
Prentice, born Aug. 21, 1813. died in February, 1862. 
Gilbert Collins married (second) April 28, 1816, 
Lucy Breed, born May 20. 1787, daughter of Joseph 
and Mercy (Holmes) Breed. The six children of 
this union were: Gilbert William, born Feb. 19, 1817, 
married Mary Randall, and died Jan. 19, 1865; 
Ethan Allen, born Nov. 24, 1818, married Lucy 
Grant, and died in 1896; John Xoyes died young; 
Thomas B., born Feb. 10, 1823, married (first) 
Frances Morgan, (second) Lucy Ann Morgan, and 
(third) Susan A. Collins, daughter of .Robert Col- 
lins; Francis Marion died young; and John Pierce, 
born Oct. 21, 1827, married Mary Margaret Palmer, 
and died Feb. 28, 1857. For his third wife Gilbert 
Collins married Mrs. Susan (Wells) Dickens. 

(IV) Daniel Prentice Collins was born Aug. 21, 
1813, and died Feb. 17, 1862. He spent his boyhood 
in the Road District of Stonington. and after his mar- 
riage lived in the borough of Stonington, where he 
and his brother, Gilbert William, under the firm 
name of D. P. & G. W. Collins, engaged in the man- 
ufacture of sash, doors and blinds, also keeping a 
lumber yard and hardware store, and taking con- 
tracts for buildings. They had a resident agent in 
Jersey City, X. J., and did an extensive business out- 
side of Stonington, shipping large quantities of 
goods. Mr. Collins, however, was a legal resident of 
Stonington all his life, and was prominent in social 
as well as business life. In February, 1839. he mar- 
ried (first) Maria E., daughter of Roland and 
Maria (Palmer) Stanton, who bore him three 
children, as follows: Daniel Webster, born Dec. 
13, 1839, died Feb. o. [858; Maria Smith, born Dec. 
3. 1840, married in June, 1867, Lewis Xeil, and 
died Jan. 5. [868, in Jersey City. X. J.; and Han- 
nah Elizabeth, died in infancy. On Dec. 25, 1843, 
Mr. Collins married (second) Sarah, daughter of 
John and Clarissa (Wells) Quinn, and to them was 
born one son, Gilbert, Aug. jo. 1S40. Mrs. Collins 
died in 1894. 

(V) Gilbert Collins was born in Stonington bor- 



36 



GEXEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ough Aug. 26, 1846. Up to the time of his father's 
death in 1862, he attended the schools of the borough, 
and also Dr. Hart's private school, where he pre- 
pared for the sophomore class at Yale. After his 
father's death the family removed to Jersey City, 
X. J., where Mr. Collins read law. He was ad- 
mitted to the New Jersey Bar in February, 1869, and 
began practice in Jersey City, where he has ever since 
remained. In March, 1897, he was appointed a jus- 
tice of the Supreme court of New Jersey, which office 
he resigned in January, 1903, resuming practice as a 
member of his former firm of Collins & Corbin. 
From 1884 t0 1886 he was mayor of Jersey City. In 
1899 the honorary degree of LL. D. was conferred 
upon him by Rutgers College. 

The Judge was married June 2, 1870, to Harriet 
Kingsbury Bush, of Jersey City. N. J., and they have 
had a family of six children : Gilbert. Jr., who died 
in infancy; Walter, born Aug. 9, 1872, who was 
graduated from "Williams College in 1893, was ad- 
mitted to the New Jersey Bar in 1896, and died Nov. 
1 1, 1900 ; Mabel, who died in infancy ; Blanche, born 
Feb. 9, 1875; Harriet, who died in infancy; and 
Marjorie, born June 15, 1885. 

The summer home of Judge Collins in Stoning- 
ton, though remodeled and seemingly almost new, 
is in fact the oldest house in the town. It was built 
by John Hallam in 1683, and has been owned only 
by the Hallam family, Charles H. Phelps, James \Y. 
Noyes and the present occupant. 

COTTRELL. This is one of the oldest families 
in Rhode Island, and one made conspicuous not only 
in America, but in foreign countries, through the 
wonderful achievements in mechanical lines of the 
late manufacturer and inventor — Calvert Byron 
Cottrell, of Westerly. This town for upward of 
260 years has been the abiding place of his fore- 
fathers and is now the home of his immediate fam- 
ily, his several sons, Edgar H., Charles P. and Ar- 
thur M., being, respectively, president, treasurer and 
secretary of the C. B. Cottrell & Sons Company, 
whose plant is not only one of considerable magni- 
tude, but of celebrity, owing to the almost universal 
use of its product by the printers of magazines and 
periodicals of the world. 

Nicholas Cottrell, the original ancestor and pro- 
genitor of the Rhode Island Cottrells, appears in the 
list of inhabitants of Newport, May 20, 1638, and 
he was admitted a freeman of that town in 1655. 
He represented his town (Westerly) in the Colonial 
Assembly in 1670. He was one of the signers of 
the Misquamicut (Westerly) Purchase. He was 
twice married, and died in 1680. In his will are 
mentioned eight children, namely : Nicholas, John, 
Gershom, Eleazer, Mary, Hannah, James and Jabez. 

From this Nicholas Cottrell, of Newport and 
Westerly, the lineage of the late Calvert Byron Cott- 
rell is through Nicholas (2), John, Major John, 
Elias and Lebbeus Cottrell. 

( II ) Nicholas Cottrell (2) was admitted a free- 



man of Westerly, Oct. 28, 1668, and was a soldier 
in the Narragansett war of 1675. He held a num- 
ber of important offices evidencing his character as a 
citizen. Like his father he represented his town in 
the Colonial Assembly. He served as constable,, 
then an important office, and his name appears as a 
juryman, fence viewer and councilman. He was 
married, the name of his wife not being known, and 
died in December, 171 5, in Westerly, leaving a will 
in which are mentioned children as follows : Nich- 
olas, John, Mary, Elizabeth and Dorothy. 

(III) John Cottrell and wife Penelope. 

(IV) Major John Cottrell and wife, Lois Board- 
man, of Preston, Conn. Major Cottrell died in 
Westerly in 1778. 

(V) Elias Cottrell married Nov. 7, 1776. Phalley,. 
born May 13, 1752, daughter of John and Thank- 
ful Gavitt, and to them were born children as fol- 
lows : Thankful, born Sept. 2^, 1779; John, May 
19, 1781 ; Elias, Dec. 2, 1782; Russell, March 31,. 
1785 ; Phalley, March 3, 1787; Lois, April 11. 1789; 
Lebbeus, Jan. 29, 1792; and Joshua G., Feb. 10, 
1794. 

(VI) Lebbeus Cottrell, born Jan. 29, 1792, mar- 
ried Lydia Maxson, who was a descendant of Rich- 
ard Maxson, of Portsmouth, R. I., in 1638, and of 
Newport a year later. 

(VII) Calvert Byrox Cottrell, born Aug. 10, 
182 1, in Westerly, R. I., married May 4, 1849, Lydia. 
W. Perkins, daughter of Elisha and Nancy (Rus- 
sell) Perkins, a descendant of John Perkins, of Ips- 
wich, 1632, and six children blessed this union : 
Edgar Henry, Harriet Elizabeth, Charles Perkins,. 
Calvert Byron, Jr. (deceased), Lydia Anngenette 
(deceased), and Arthur Maxson. 

Calvert B. Cottrell received his education in the 
public schools. In 1840, when nineteen years of age,, 
he apprenticed himself to the firm of Lavalley, 
Lamphear & Co., manufacturers of cotton machinery 
at Phenix, R. I. He remained with this concern 
some thirteen years, most of the time in the capacity 
of employing contractor. During this period his in- 
ventive genius was brought into action, and he made 
many improvements in labor-saving tools and ma- 
chinery. The success that followed his efforts was 
such that he determined on beginning business for 
himself. A partnership was formed with Nathan 
Babcock. in 1855, and under the firm name of Cott- 
rell & Babcock the manufacture of machinery in 
general was begun, but gradually the firm devoted 
itself entirely to the production of printing presses 
and printing mechanisms. At a later date Mr. Cott- 
rell determined to devote himself exclusively to in- 
vention and improvements in matters belonging to- 
printing press manufacture. Among the first of his 
devices was an improvement on the air spring, for 
reversing the bed of the press. The peculiar feature 
was the yielding plunger, a vacuum valve, and a 
governing attachment. The air springs, as applied 
bv him to cylinder presses, lessened in a marked de- 
gree the jar of the press in its action. His inven- 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



37 



tions, increasing as they did the capacity of the 
printing presses from twenty-five to thirty per cent, 
for fine as well as fast work, were so far-reaching 
in their effects that they immediately brought Mr. 
Cottrell into the notice of the printing and mechan- 
ical world as one of the leading inventors of the 
day. Among his many important inventions is the 
tapeless delivery, for delivering printed sheets with- 
out the use of tapes ; the patent hinged roller frames ; 
patent attachment for controlling the momentum of 
the cylinder, insuring perfect register at any speed ; 
a patent sheet delivery for delivering the sheets in 
front of the cylinder without the use of tapes ; a 
patent rotary color printing press feeding from a 
roll of paper, and printing 300,000 labels in three col- 
ors per day. One of his latest and most successful 
inventions is a shifting tympan for a web perfecting 
press, which prevents offset on the second cylinder, 
and enables a press, which has heretofore been ca- 
pable of printing only the ordinary newspaper, to 
execute the finest class of illustrated printing. This 
invention was generally adopted and successfully 
operated. Mr. Cottrell was granted over one hun- 
dred patents in this country and Europe. The first 
one was granted in 1858; subsequent patents were 
nearly all on improvements in printing presses. 

In 1880 the firm of Cottrell & Babcock was dis- 
solved, Mr. Babcock retiring. Mr. Cottrell contin- 
ued the business under the firm name of C. B. Cott- 
rell & Sons, associating with him his three sons, all 
•of them inheriting the father's genius for invention. 
The new firm doubled the capacity of the works in 
Westerly, and entered upon a degree of prosperity 
eminently satisfactory. Mr. Cottrell died in May, 
1893, and was buried in the town of Westerly, where 
all of his ancestors, with the exception of Nicholas 
(1), were buried. The extensive works located in 
Westerly, R. I., are an evidence of the busy life he 
led, and the accomplished facts which bear the im- 
press of his name. He was one of the influential 
men of the town, and his labors in its behalf prob- 
ably had more to do with the town's growth than 
those of any other person. The business was in- 
corporated in 1892, being capitalized at $800,000. 
The concern has offices at No. 41 Park Row, New- 
York, and No. 279 Dearborn street, Chicago. Mr. 
Cottrell's four sons have taken active part in the 
affairs of the company, aiding materially in produc- 
ing up-to-date improvements, and in advancing the 
interests of the concern. The death of the third son. 
Calvert B. Cottrell, on April 8, 190 1, was a sad 
event for the town, and a great blow to the company, 
as he had made his personality an important factor 
in the business of the concern. 

This company is now manufacturing printing 
presses, including rotary web printing presses for 
high-class work, two revolution, stop cylinder, litho- 
graph and drum cylinder presses. Probably none 
of the numerous large manufacturing companies of 
Rhode Island has given the State so striking a rep- I 
utation as this printing press concern in the town of 



Westerly, because there is scarcely a magazine or 
periodical of any kind issued in the United States 
with a circulation of any extent, which it not printed 
upon one of their presses, and there are very few 
printers in this country who aim to do the finest work 
who are not using the Cottrell printing presses, 
which produce the finest illustrated work that is 
possible to be obtained by the art of printing. 

Edgar H. Cottrell, son of Calvert B. Cottrell, 
president of the C. B. Cottrell & Sons Co., of Wester- 
ly, R. I., has been actively engaged in the business of 
the company since his boyhood, and no little of the 
success of this great manufacturing plant is due to 
his efforts. For a number of years Mr. Cottrell was 
a trustee of the Westerly Savings Bank and a di- 
rector in the Washington National Bank. He now 
holds the office of director in the Washington Trust 
Co., of Westerly. While he claims Westerly as his 
residence Mr. Cottrell's time is mostly spent in New- 
York City at the offices of his company, which are 
located at No. 41 Park Row. 

Charles P. Cottrell, treasurer of the C. B. 
Cottrell & Sons Co., was born in Westerly, on the 
Connecticut side of the Pawcatuck river, March 9, 
1858, and has had charge of the works at Westerly, 
R. I., since 1880. His duties have kept him a resi- 
dent of Westerly, and the town owes much to him 
for the active interest which he has taken in public 
affairs. Mr. Cottrell was a trustee of the Westerly 
Savings Bank and vice-president of the Washing- 
ton National Bank. He is now a director in the 
Washington Trust Co., also secretary and a trustee 
of the Westerly Memorial and Library Association. 
On May 26, 1886, Mr. Cottrell was married, in the 
town of Stonington, Conn., to Harriet Morgan, 
daughter of John Avery Morgan, and to them were 
born: Calvert B. (3), born in Stonington, Conn., 
Dec. 4, 1888; Margaret, born in Stonington, July 20, 
1890; L. Anngenette, born in Stonington, March o. 
1896; Charles P., Jr., born in Westerly, R. I., May 
11, 1898. 

Arthur M. Cottrell, secretary of the C. B. 
Cottrell & Sons Co. since 1901, was born in Wester- 
ly, R. I., Dec. 8, 187 1. He was graduated from 
Brown University in 1897 and since that time has 
been identified with the works at Westerly, K. I. In 
1901 he was made plant superintendent, a position 
which he holds at the present time. On Dee. 1, 
1903, Mr. Cottrell married Kate Virginia Hunkins, 
of Chicago, 111. To them was born a daughter, 
Kate Virginia, on Dee. 20. 1904. 

Calvert Byron Cottrell, Jr., the fourth child 
of the late Calvert I!. Cottrell, was born at Pawca- 
tuck, in the town of Stonington, New London I 
Conn., Aug. 12, i860, and died April 8, 1901. He 
received his education in the public schools of that 
town and in Westerly. R. I., graduating from the 
Westerly high school with the class of 1S7S. After 
leaving school he at once associated himself with 
the business <<i his father, and in July, [88o, he be- 
came a member of the firm ^i C. P>. Cottrell & Sons. 



38 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



When the firm was incorporated Mr. Cottrell was 
chosen secretary, a position which he occupied at the 
time of his death. Mr. Cottrell married Nov. 24, 
1891, Agnes Clark, daughter of the late William 
Clark, of the William Clark Thread Company. 
Children as follows came to their union : Donald 
Clark, born Aug. 17, 1892 ; Kathryn, May 27, 1895 ; 
and Mary Stuart, July 7, 1901. 

E. WINSLOW WILLIAMS. For three gen- 
erations — a period covering the greater part of the 
nineteenth century — the branch of the Williams 
family of which this gentleman was a member has 
been prominent in the social and business circles of 
Norwich, especially conspicuous in the city's indus- 
trial life. The male members of the generations 
referred to have been grandfather, son and grand- 
son, in the persons of Capt. Erastus, E. Winslow, 
and Winslow Tracy Williams, successively at the 
head of the Yantic Mills, now the Yantic Woolen 
Company. 

To those familiar with Xew England annals the 
mere mention of the names Williams, Winslow and 
Tracy indicates alliance with the first families of 
this commonwealth and of the Colonies before it, 
and of an historic connection in their formative 
period. The Williams family traces back to Charles 
Williams, who died in Saybrook (now Essex), 
Conn., in 172^. His son, Benjamin, had a son 
Samuel, who was born in 1751, and died in 1822. 
His son, Capt. Erastus Williams, was born April 
14, 1793, in Essex, Conn. Retiring in early man- 
hood from the active life of his shipping interests, 
he located in Norwich and became interested in the 
various manufacturing operations. In 1824 he pur- 
chased at Yantic the premises of R. R. Baker, a 
native of Scotland, who through his agents, John 
and George Tisdale, had erected about 1820 a 
cotton mill on the old site of the iron works of 
Elisha Backus, which were of historic note and great 
usefulness in the war of the Revolution. On this. 
the present site of the fine mills of the Yantic 
Woolen Company, in the village of Yantic, there 
had been at an early date grist and saw mills, and a 
carding machine later. As stated, Capt. Williams 
purchased the premises and erected a woolen mill. 
and was engaged in the manufacture of woolen 
goods the remainder of his active business life. The 
property in 1865 passed into the hands of his only 
son, E. Winslow Williams. The old mill was de- 
stroyed by fire in that year, and the present fine stone 
mill was erected in its stead by E. Winslow Will- 
iams, who also was identified with the business 
through his lifetime, and was succeeded by his son, 
Winslow Tracy Williams, who has since been active 
in the business of the concern, which, since 1877. 
has been operated as a joint-stock company. 

The principal mill of the Yantic Woolen Com- 
pany is 170 feet by 54 feet, five stories high, with 
wings about 200 feet by 50 feet, three stories high. 
60 feet by 120 feet, and 44 feet by 96 feet, one stor) 



high. About 175 horsepower is furnished by a fall 
of 12 feet in the Yantic river, acting on wheels 48 
and 42 inches in diameter. The dam is located about 
half a mile above the mill, and the water is led to 
the wheels through a natural cleft in the ledge, of 
great picturesqueness. The mill is finely and mod- 
ernly equipped throughout. Ten sets of cards and 
88 broad looms are used in making about 2.250.000 
yards of flannels and dress goods annually. The 
goods are dyed and finished at the works, anil are 
sold through Boston and Xew York houses. The 
mills give employment to some 150 hands, and pay 
them about $60,000 annually. Capt. Williams was 
one of the charter members, and the first president 
of the Norwich Bleachery (now the United States 
Finishing Company), and held a controlling influ- 
ence in the institution. 

Capt. Erastus Williams had married, in 1829, 
into one of the prominent old Colonial families of 
Norwich — the Tracy family, of which more will be 
said farther on. He was one of the leading citizens 
of his community throughout his life, which closed 
April 16, 1867. For a term of two years, beginning 
in 1853, he was the honored mayor of Norwich, 
succeeding in that office the distinguished son of 
Franklin, Hon. LaFayette S. Foster. Capt. Will- 
iams was an active member of Christ Church, at 
Norwich, was warden for many years, and served 
on the building committee when the present church 
was erected. He was a soldier in the war of 18 12. 

E. Winslow Williams was born in Norwich, 
Aug. 16, 1830. He was prepared for college at the 
school in Flushing, N. Y., taught by Dr. Muhlen- 
berg, and entered Trinity College, at Hartford,. 
Conn., from which he was graduated in 1853. Soon 
thereafter he began a career in his native town as a 
woolen manufacturer with his father, succeeded him 
at his death, and in turn at his own death was suc- 
ceeded by his son, Winslow Tracy Williams, all 
identified with the business in the establishment 
whose history is outlined in the foregoing. 

E. Winslow Williams was married in 1858 to 
Lydia Marvin McNulty, of New York, and the 
union was blessed with four children : Louis 
Brinckerhoff. who died in 1884, aged twenty-eight 
years, was superintendent of the Yantic mill ; Wins- 
low Tracy is mentioned below ; Jessie Huntington 
and Lilian Marvin are unmarried and reside in 
New York. 

Mr. Williams' political affiliations were with the 
Republican party. His church relations were with 
Christ Church, Norwich, and Grace Episcopal 
Church, at Yantic, of which he was a liberal sup- 
porter. During a busy career he found time to take 
part in public affairs, and all measures tending to 
advance the interests of his native town found in 
him an earnest advocate and a ready helper. He 
was one of the leading citizens of the town. Al- 
though never having held public office, he took an 
active part in town and State politics, and was ever 
a liberal contributor to his party's needs, both of 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



39 



work and money. He was one of the incorporators 
of the Norwich Free Academy and for years one 

of its trustees. He was a trustee and Fellow of 
Trinity College, and for many years, until his death, 
was on the executive committee. In October, 1887, 
he was appointed chairman of the committee named 
at a town meeting to investigate the affairs of the 
town and read the report at an adjoined meeting, 
which, with some modification, was accepted. Air. 
Williams was a man of positive opinions and strong 
personality. His memory remains green and his 
influence is still felt in the town and community to 
which he devoted his life. He was a kind friend and 
was greatly respected and admired. His death oc- 
curred rather suddenly on July 31, 1888, from an 
affection of the heart, at his residence in Yantic. 

On his mother's side, she being formerly Eliza- 
beth Dorr Tracy, Air. Williams was a descendant in 
the seventh generation from Lieut. Thomas Tracy, 
the immigrant ancestor, his lineage being through 
John, Capt. Joseph, Dr. Elisha, Col. Elisha and 
Elizabeth Dorr (Tracy) Williams. 

(I) Lieut. Thomas Tracy, born in 1610, in 
Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire, England, probably a 
son of Sir Paul Tracy, Baronet, and his first wife 
Anna, daughter and heiress of Raffe (Ralph) Shar- 
kerly, of Ayno-on-the-hill, County of Northampton, 
and grandson of Richard Tracy, Esq., of Stanway, 
in early manhood crossed the sea to the Massachu- 
setts Lay Colon}-. In 1637 he removed from Salem 
to Wethersfield, Conn. He was in Saybrook in 
1649, 1652 and 1653. In 1645 ne arR l Thomas 
Leffingwell, with others, relieved Uncas, the Sachem 
of the Mohegans, with provisions, when he was be- 
sieged at Shattuck's Point by Pessachus, Sachem of 
the Narragansetts, which led to the subsequent grant 
of the town of Norwich in 1659. In 1660 he and his 
family removed to Norwich, of which town he was 
one of the proprietors. He was deputy to the ( len- 
eral Court at nearly all of its sessions from 1667 to 
1678, and from Preston in 1683 and 1685. He was 
a man of education, held other offices of importance 
and was a man of consequence in the community. 
In 1641 he married (first), at Wethersfield. Mary, 
widow of Edward Mason. She was the mother of 
his seven children, and died in Saybrook. He mar- 
ried (second) in Norwich, before 1679, Martha, 
widow of Gov. Bradford's son John, and a daughter 
of Thomas Bourne, of Marshfield, Mass. He mar- 
ried (third), in Norwich, Mary, a daughter of 
Nathaniel and Elizabeth ( Deming) Foote, of Weth- 
ersfield, and at the time twice a widow, lli- chil- 
dren were: John, horn in 1642; Thomas. [644; 
Jonathan, 1646; Solomon. 1651 ; Daniel, 1652; Sam- 
uel, 1054; and Miriam, [648. 

(II) John Tracy, born in 1642, in Wethersfield, 
Conn., married Aug. 17, 1070. Mary Winslow, who 
was born in 1646, daughter of Josiah Winslow, bom 
in [606, at Deitwich, England, and Margaret Bourn, 
born in Marshfield. Mass.. a niece of Gov. Winslow, 
of the "Mayflower." Mr. Tracy was one of the 



original proprietors of the town of Norwich, was 
a justice of the peace, and represented the town for 
six sessions in the General Court. He died in Nor- 
wich, Aug. 16, 1702, and his widow- died there July 
21, 1721. Their children were: Josiah, born Aug. 
10, 1671 ; John, Jan. i<;. [673; Elizabeth. July 7, 
1678; Joseph. April 20, 1682; and Winslow, Feb. 
9, 1689. 

(III) Capt. Joseph Tracy, born April 20. 1(^2, 
in Norwich, married Dec. 31, 1705, Margaret Abel, 
who was born in 1685, in Norwich, daughter of 
Caleb and Margaret (Post) Abel. She died Jan. 
17, 1751. He died April 10. 1765. Their children 
were: Joseph, born Oct. 17, 170'): Mary. Jan. 4, 
1708: Margaret, May it, 1710: Elisha, May 17, 
1712; Zervia, Dec. 14, 1714: Lydia, Dec. 10. 1; 
Irine, Jan. 15, 1719; Phineas, Jan. 1. 1721 : Jerusha, 
Ala}- 2},, 1/27,: and Elizabeth. 

(IV) Dr. Elisha Tracy, born May 17. 1712, in 
Norwich, married (first) June 16, 1743. Lucy, 
daughter of Ebenezer and Sarah (Leffingwell) 
Huntington and settled in Norwich. Air. Tracy was 
the earliest college graduate from Norwich West 
Farms (now Franklin). He was graduated from 
Yale in 1738. It was the wish of his friends that he 
should enter the ministry, but following his own pre- 
dilections he began the study of medicine under the 
direction of Dr. Theophilus Rogers, of his native 
village, and settled to practice in Niorwich. His 
wife Lucy died Oct. 12. 1751, leaving five daugh- 
ters. He next married .April 10. 1754. Elizabeth, 
daughter of Edmund and Mary (Griswold) Dorr, 
of Lyme, Conn. She bore him four sons and four 
daughters, and died Alarch 27,, 1781. He married 
(third) Oct. 19. 1781, Lois, widow of Nehemiah 
Huntington, of Bozrah Society, in Norwich, and 
daughter of Gersham and Mary Hinckley, i^i Leb- 
anon. She survived him, dying in Norwich. ( )ct. 
3, 1790. He died in Norwich West Farms, May 1, 
17S3, leaving two sons and seven daughters. Lis 
children were: Lucy, born July 20, 1744: Alice, 
Oct. 11. 1745: Lucretia, Sept. 5, 1747; Lydia. Dec. 
2(), i74<): Philma, Sept. 30. 1751: Phineas, June 
29, 1755: Philemon, May 30. 1757: Elizabeth, June 
20. 1760; Charlotte. June 27. [762; Mary. May 3. 
T7O4: Elisha, May 27, [766; Joseph. Aug. 11. [769; 
and Deborah I).. Nov. 7. 1770. 

Dr. Tracy represented Norwich in the General 
Assembly at four sessions — in 1752. 1753 and 1755. 
In 1755 he was appointed on the committee to ex- 
amine all candidates for positions as surgeon. For 
his earnest advocacy of inoculation for the small- 
pox he encountered a storm of prejudice and even 
persecution. lie was distinguished for social at- 
tainments, as well as for professional -kill and for 
moral and social qualiti* 

(V) Col. Elisha Tracy, born May 27. 1766, in 
Norwich, married Oct. 31. [796, Lucy Coit Hunt- 
ington, of Norwich, daughter of Judge Andrew and 
Hannah (Phillips) Huntington. Col. Tracy was a 
lawyer by profession and settled in the practio 



40 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



the law in Norwich. He was frequently a member 
of the General Assembly, was a justice of the peace, 
and a colonel of the militia. He died May 10, 1846. 
His children were: William S., born Feb. 4, 1799; 
Winslow. Jan. 13, 1801 ; Elizabeth D., July 22, 1803 ; 
Lucy H.. May 11, 1808; Hannah P.. April 13, 
1809; Elisha, Jan. 4, 1810; Stephen D., July 4. 
1812; Mary G.. May 1, 1816; Charlotte I., Sept. 3, 
1819 ; Elisha \\\. April 8, 1823. 

(VI) Elizabeth Dorr Tracy, born July 22, 1803, 
in Norwich, married Oct. 29, 1829, Capt. Erastus 
Williams, and settled in Norwich, where she died 
Sept. 13, 1855. Their children were: Erastus 
Winslow. born Aug. 16, 1830: and Elizabeth Tracy, 
born Sept. 17, 1832. 

Winslow Tracy Williams was born in Nor- 
wich Jan. 29, 1863, and was prepared for Yale at the 
Norwich Free Academy. He was in his Junior year 
at Yale when his brother died, and he left college to 
come home and assist in the mill and learn the busi- 
ness. He began at the bottom and learned every 
detail of the business, and upon the death of his 
father succeeded him in the position of secretary 
and treasurer of the Yantic Woolen Company. He 
is a director of the Chelsea Savings Bank of Nor- 
wich. Mr. Williams was an incorporator of the 
Norwich Free Academy. 

Mr. Williams is a Republican, and in 1900 he 
was chosen a Presidential elector to express the will 
of the people in re-electing William McKinley for 
the Presidency. Socially he is a member of the 
Yale Club of New York, the Union Club of Boston, 
the Norwich Club and the Society of Colonial Wars 
of Connecticut. His religious membership is with 
Grace Episcopal Church, toward which he is a very 
liberal contributor, and he serves as senior warden 
of same. 

Mr. Williams was married in New York, Jan. 
17, 1889, to Florence Prentice, of that city, and 
they have had two children : ( 1 ) Erastus Winslow, 
born Oct. 8, 1891, and (2) Florence Arietta, born 
Sept. 1, 1897. 

Mrs. Williams is in the eighth generation from 
Henry Prentice, the planter, who died in 1654, and 
she is a member of the Society of Colonial Dames. 
Like her husband, she holds membership in Grace 
Church. 

AUSTIN-ROGERS. These families allied by 
marriage are among the oldest of the Common- 
wealth of Connecticut, their coming to the Amer- 
ican colonies reaching back to the middle of the 
Seventeenth century. The especial family here 
treated is that of the late Hon. Willis Rogers Austin, 
a lawyer and long a prominent citizen of Norwich, 
and whose only representative, his namesake, Willis 
Austin, is now a citizen of that city. 

The name of Austin appears among those of the 
earlier settlers of New Haven, and frequently and 
prominently in the records of the town since. The 
name is said to have been derived from the sect of 



Christians who were followers of St. Augustine. It 
is certain the Austins who came to Connecticut were 
devout Christian people, as is evidenced by the de- 
vices of their antique coat of arms, which they 
brought from England, and which was in the 
possession of the late Willis R. Austin, who was a 
descendant in the sixth generation from John Austin, 
the immigrant ancestor of this branch of the Austin 
family, his lineage being through David, David (2), 
David (3), and John Punderson Austin. The de- 
tails of each of these generations follow and in the 
order indicated. 

(I) John Austin, of New Haven, married 
(first) Nov. 5, 1667, Mercy, born Feb. 29, 1647, 
daughter of the first Joshua Atwater; she died in 
1683, and he married (second) Jan. 21, 1684, Eliza- 
beth Brockett. Mr. Austin was one of the Green- 
wich petitioners in favor of New Haven in 1650. 
His children were : John, David. Joshua, Mary, John, 
Mary (2), a son unmarried, and Sarah. 

(II) David Austin, born Feb. 23, 1670, married 
April 5, 1699, Abigail, daughter of John Ailing, and 
their children were : Abigail, David, Stephen, Jona- 
than, Mercy and Lydia. 

(III) David Austin (2), born Oct. 25, 1703, 
married (first) Feb. 11, 1732, Rebecca Thompson, 
born Feb. 26, 1709, and (second) Hannah Punder- 
son. His children were : David, Samuel, John, 
Hannah, Punderson and Jonathan. 

(IV) David Austin (3), born March 6, 1733, 
married (first) Dec. 14, 1752, Mary Mix, born in 
1733; she died Sept. 3, 1781, and he married (sec- 
ond) Esther, widow of Daniel Allen. Mr. Austin 
was a deacon in the North Church in New Haven 
from 1758 to 1 80 1, a period of forty-three years. He 
was the founder and first president of the New 
Haven Bank, and to him and Hon. James Hillhouse 
New Haven is indebted for the stately elm trees 
that have for so many years adorned the New Haven 
Green. He was collector of customs for the port of 
New Haven. He served as a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion, going to the defense of New Haven July 5, 
1779, and was wounded there. Mr. Austin lived on 
the southwest corner of Church and Crown streets, 
and built two large houses on opposite corners for 
his sons David and John P. He died Feb. 5, 1801. 
His children were: Rebecca, born Dec. 16, 1753; 
Mary, born Oct. 24, 1755; Sarah, born in 1757; 
David, born March 19, 17 — ; Ebenezer, born June 
18, 1761 ; Sarah (2), born July 4, 1763; Elizabeth, 
born June 1, 1765; Hannah, born Oct. 26, 1767; 
Elisha, born March 2^, 1770; John Punderson, born 
June 28, 1772; Ebenezer E., baptized Feb. 16, 1772; 
and Mary, born in 1776. 

( Y) John Punderson Austin, born June 28, 1772. 
in New Haven, married Sept. II, 1797, Susan Rog- 
ers, born Sept. 15, 1778, and to them came thirteen 
children, all of whom grew up and married. Mr. 
Austin was graduated from Yale College, from 
which institution an older brother had also been 
graduated and became an eminent divine, and from 








c^CCcJ 





GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



4i 



which institution younger members of the family 
have since been graduated. The father of John P. 
Austin had been a man of wealth, which on his 
death had unfortunately been lost through an older 
son, and this embarrassment caused the removal of 
John P. to Norwich, Conn., where he passed the 
remainder of his life. He was an intellectual and 
cultured gentleman of the old school. On going to 
Norwich he engaged in teaching, and gave his time 
largely to the rearing of his large family of children, 
thirteen in number, three of whom were born in 
Norwich. Mr. Austin died June 24, 1834, while 
temporarily absent from home, in Brazos, Texas. 
His wife survived until 1870, dying Aug. 24th, when 
aged ninety-one years. 

Willis Rogers Austin, son of John Punder- 
son Austin, was born in Norwich, Conn., Jan. 31, 
18 19. He was educated for the legal profession, was 
graduated from Yale Law School in 1849, an< ^ 
shortly after this event visited Texas. It was his 
intention to have located there in the practice of the 
law, but after some successful operations in cotton 
he concluded to return North, and, locating in Phila- 
delphia, he engaged in the banking business. In this 
he was also successful, and, having gathered in a 
few years a fair amount of this world's goods, he 
determined to retire from business and take relaxa- 
tion in travel. He first traveled extensively in this 
country, and then went abroad and traveled over 
Europe and Asia, spending three years on his tour. 
Upon returning to the United States he fixed upon 
Connecticut, the State of his ancestors, and Norwich, 
his native city, as his future home, and there he 
spent the rest of his life. Mr. Austin died March 4, 
1896, and was buried in Yantic cemetery. He was 
fond of out-door life, and remained active until his 
•death, which was unexpected, coming after a brief 
illness. He was very fond of hunting, of his horses 
and his dogs, owning a number of blooded animals. 

Mr. Austin had never sought political preferment. 
Personally popular, however, he had often been 
urged to accept office, but steadily refused until, at 
the urgent solicitation of his fellow citizens of Nor- 
wich, he consented to be one of their representatives 
in the General Assembly of 1874. In 1875 he was re- 
elected a representative in the General Assembly, 
and in 1876 he was elected senator from the Eighth 
District of the State. His service in the Legislature 
was characterized by the most constant and faithful 
attendance and attention to his duties. During the 
sessions of which he was a member he served upon 
the committees on Finance and Railroads, and on 
'Constitutional Amendments. 

After Mr. Austin's term of service in the Senate 
he was induced to serve as a member of the Repub- 
lican State Central Committee for a period of five 
years, and during the years 1877-80 he was president 
of the New London County Agricultural Society. 
These four years the society experienced marked 
prosperity, the grounds were enlarged, new buildings 



erected, premiums and expenses all paid, and a con- 
siderable sum of profit remained each year. He also 
served as chairman of the Connecticut Board of 
Charities. Mr. Austin was a confirmed believer in 
the maxim that occupation and usefulness are re- 
quirements for the health and happiness of mankind ; 
hence he selected his home with ample grounds, that 
he might see the growth of various objects of orna- 
ment and necessity. He always held himself ready 
to discharge all the duties of friend and citizen. 

For nearly thirty years Mr. Austin was a prom- 
inent resident of Norwich and stood high in business 
circles. In all public matters he took a deep in- 
terest, and was anxious to see Norwich progress. 
He was vice-president of the Dime Savings Bank 
and a director in the Second National Bank. While 
"The Elms" existed he was a prominent member, 
was an incorporator of the Norwich Club, and a 
member of the Arcanum Club. He was also an 
active worker in the Board of Trade. For many 
years he was a member and faithful attendant of 
Christ Church. 

At the first meeting of the Norwich Club, some 
years ago, Mr. Austin was elected president, which 
office he held at the time of his death. He was a 
Mason, holding membership with a Philadelphia 
lodge, and at the centennial meeting of Somerset 
Lodge, in Norwich, a short time previous to his 
death, he occupied the seat of honor in the East. 
"Mr. Austin is one of the most cultured men in the 
State. He is a clear and forcible speaker when oc- 
casion requires, and his judgment is entitled to the 
fullest deference." He was widely known as Col. 
Austin, having been colonel of a regiment of local 
militia during his residence in Philadelphia. Mr. 
Austin was a member of the Connecticut Society of 
the Sons of the American Revolution, admitted as 
a descendant of David Austin, of New Haven, Conn., 
wounded in the defense of New Haven during 
Tryon's raid, July 5, 1779, and of David Rogers, a 
surgeon in the army. 

In 185 1 Mr. Austin was married to Louisa, 
daughter of the late E. 1!. M. Hughes, of New Ha- 
ven, well remembered for her personal attractions 
and true excellence of character, whose death oc- 
curred in Philadelphia, where they resided, in 1854. 
She left a daughter of two years, who died at the 
age of eighteen. In 1864 Mr. Austin married (sec- 
ond) Mary McComb, a very accomplished woman, 
who was born in Geneva, X. Y., daughter of John 
McComb, of a well-known and prominent New York 
family, and granddaughter of John McComb, who 
was identified with almost all the progressive im- 
provements of the day. One child, a son, named 
Willis Austin, was born of this union I Vt. 18, 1S7S. 
He was educated in Norwich Free \cademy. and 
under private instruction, and when in his early teens 
spent three years abroad. He was married Nov. 
26, loot, to Annie Huntington Brewer, daughter of 
Arthur H. and Mary (Young) Brewer, and they 



42 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



have a son. Willis Phipps. born Oct. 21, 1903. Mrs. 
Willis R. Austin died Feb. II, 1894, aged fifty-four 
years. 

The Rogers lineage of the late Willis Rogers 
Austin follows, and as in the foregoing in regular 
order from the immigrant ancestor. John Rogers. 

(I) John Rogers, born about 161 5, of New Lon- 
don, Conn., is generally conceded to have been the 
John Rogers who at the age of twenty embarked 
in the ship "Increase," in 1635. for America. He 
married, at Stratford, Conn., Elizabeth, daughter of 
Samuel Rowland, and became an inhabitant of New 
London, Conn., as early as 1660. He died there in 
1687. and his widow in 1709. 

(II) James Rogers, born Feb. 15, 1652, married 
in Milford, Conn., Nov. 5, 1674. Mary, daughter of 
Jeffrey Jordan. Mr. Rogers died Nov. 6, 1714. 

(III) James Rogers (2), born Feb. 2, 1676, 
in Xew London, Conn., married (first) Elizabeth, 
and (second) June 29, 1713, Freelove Hurlbut. Mr. 
Rogers was prominent in public affairs, was deputy 
to the General Court sixteen times, and served as 
the speaker of that body. He died July 9. 1735, in 
Xorwalk, whither he had removed in 1726. 

(IV) Dr. Uriah Rogers, born Oct. 10, 1710, 
married, about 1734. Hannah, daughter of James 
and Lydia (Smith) Lockwood. He died in Nor- 
wich Conn., May 6, 1773. 

(V) Dr. David Rogers, born Aug. 21, 1748, 
married Martha, daughter of Charles Tennent. of 
Maryland, and twelve children, ten sons and two 
daughters, were born to them. Dr. Rogers was a 
distinguished physician of Xew York City, and for 
years was city physician. He served in the Con- 
tinental army in the Revolution. He passed the 
last vears of his life in Norwich, Conn., residing: 
with his daughter. Mrs. John Punderson Austin, 
and died there in 1831. 

MORGAN. The Morgan family represented in 
the present generation by Stanley G. Morgan, of 
Water ford, is descended from (I) Richard Rose 
Morgan, who arrived at Boston in 1660. In the 
record of his marriage at Charlestown. Mass., to 
Hopestill Merrick, Oct. 7, 1664, his second name, 
which is the very common Welsh name Rhys — often 
found there written Rees — is spelled Rose and he 
seems to have adopted and retained that method of 
spelling it to distinguish his family from the James 
Morgan family. After his marriage he and his wife 
removed to New London, taking up their residence 
in the western part of the town known since as 
Waterford. He was one of the first settlers, and 
lived there until his death in the year 1698, leav- 
ing his widow. Hopestill. and sons. John, Richard 
Rose, Benjamin, and several daughters. His wife, 
according to the History of New London, was born 
Feb. 20. 1643, and died June r. 1712. 

(II) John Morgan married Ann. daughter of 
Richard Dart, of New London, and their children 
were: Bethia, born April 2, 1700; Stephen. Sept. 23, 



1701 ; Richard, Dec. 9, 1703 ; Ann. March 16. 1705 ; 
Elizabeth. May 30. 1708: John, Jr.. Jan. 16. 171 1; 
Peter. July 10, 1713 ; Hannah. April 18. 1714. 

(III) John Morgan, Jr.. was born Jan. 16, 171 1. 
On Oct. 16, 1735. he married Grace Morgan, prob- 
ably daughter of Abraham and granddaughter of 
Richard Morgan, and their children were : Edward. 
John, Isaac, George, Lucy, Mary, Martha, Rebecca 
and Phebe. 

(IV) Edward Morgan, born May 23. 1736. 
married, April 9. 1760, Zerviah Shipman, who was 
born Jan. 13, 1735. daughter of William and Han- 
nah Shipman. Their children were : Anne, born 
Aug. 2. 1761, died March 3, 1762: Guy. born Nov. 
20, 1762, died April 26. 1763 ; Grace, born March 4, 
1764, married a Mr. Douglas: Stephen, born July 
19, 1765, is mentioned below ; Hannah, born May 
26, 1767, married a Mr. Waterman ; Martha was 
born Aug. 28. 1768 ; Ezra, born April 30. 1770. mar- 
ried Desire Tinker: Anne was born July 16. 1771 ; 
Sarah, born May 27. 1774. married a Mr. Thomp- 
son: Zerviah was born Sept. 10, 1776. 

(V) Stephen Morgan, born July 19. 1765. died 
in Waterford. He married Mary Douglas, born 
Dec. 25, 1757. daughter of William and Mary 
(Lucas) Douglas. They removed to Wethersfield. 
The children born to them were as follows : Guy. 
born Sept. 17. 1786. married Nancy Clark Griswold : 
Maria, born Aug. 11, 1788, married Daniel Wolcott ; 
Mary Ann. born June 7, 1799. married Romanta 
Wells; Martha, born Aug. I. 1801. died July i6 r 
1804: Elizabeth Douglas, born May 14, 1804. died 
April 21, 1822: Mary was born Aug. 9. i8o'>. Mrs. 
Mary (Douglas) Morgan died Dec. 14. 1817. and 
is buried in the Wethersfield (Conn.) cemetery. 

(VI) Guy Morgan, born Sept. 17. 1786. in 
Wethersfield. Conn., was married Oct. 19. 1806. to 
Nancy Clark Griswold, of Wethersfield, daughter of 
Ozias and Anne (Stanley) Griswold, of Wethers- 
field. She was born Sept. 10, 1788. and died Oct. 
3. 1853. in Waterford. whither she had come on a 
visit. When a young man Guy Morgan removed to 
Ohio, where he remained until his death, which oc- 
curred Oct. 9. 1842. at Prairie Depot, that State. 
He was extensively engaged in farming there. He 
and his wife became the parents of the following 
named children: Justus, born May 2. 1807: Stephen, 
Feb. 28. 1809: Nancy Ann Maria. Feb. 1, 1811 (died 
in infancy) ; Griswold, June 5. 1813: Guy Douglas, 
Jan. 29. 1816: Edward. Aug. 15. 1818: Ezra. March 
11, 1821 ; Stanley. March 6. 1824; Riley. Feb. 13. 
1827: Andrew Jackson. May 10. 1829. The first 
three children were born in Berlin, Conn., the others 
in Wethersfield. New Vork. 

(VII) Edward Morgan, born Aug. 15. 1818. in 
Wethersfield. Wyoming Co.. N. Y., died March 12. 
1888. in Waterford. He was sent back to Water- 
ford when twelve vears of age. to live with his 
grandfather Morgan, with whom he remained until 
twenty-one years of age. He then married and took 
up his father-in-law's farm of about one hundred 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



43 



acres, to which he added until there are now about 
200 acres. Able, energetic, persevering and hard- 
working 1 , he became a prominent citizen. He was a 
man of military tastes, and was captain of a com- 
pany for many years. In political faith he was a 
stanch Democrat, and he served as selectman, town 
collector, and in other important town offices, taking 
an active interest in public affairs in his younger 
days. During his young manhood he became a mem- 
ber of the Baptist Church. Mr. Morgan was stout 
and thickset, weighing about 185 pounds, was always 
very healthy and rugged, and in disposition was 
genial, jovial and good-natured. 

On Oct. 15, 1837, Mr. Morgan married Sarah 
Margaret Gibson, only child of George and Sarah 
(Powers) Gibson, both of Waterford. Her grand- 
father resided in Xew London until his house was 
sacked and burned by the British in 17S1. when he 
settled on the farm now owned by Stephen Morgan. 
Mrs. Sarah M. (Gibson) Morgan passed away July 
12, 1902. She was the mother of the following 
named children: (1) Nancy married Edgar Smith, a 
farmer, of YVethersfield, Conn. (2) Martha M. is 
the widow of Henry Way, of East Lyme, and now 
lives in Xiantic, Conn. (3) Stanley Griswold, born 
May 9, 1846, is mentioned below. (4) Stephen, born 
April 7, 1853, is unmarried. He has been running 
the home farm, since his father's death. For six 
years, from the age of fifteen until he was twenty- 
one, he was clerk for J. D. T. Strickland, in his gro- 
cery and coal yard in Xew London, and for two 
years he was traveling in the interest of a garden 
seed firm. (5) Rowena married Martin Cadwell, of 
\\ ethersfield. who was a tobacco commission mer- 
chant. She is now residing in Hartford, at the "Lin- 
den Hotel.'' (6) Strong is a traveling salesman in 
the hardware line, and his home is in Meriden, 
Conn. He married Mary Leary. (7) Kittie Lucrctia 
is unmarried, and living at the homestead : she took 
care of her mother in the latter's declining years. 
Mrs. Morgan having been feeble and quite helpless 
for several years before her death. (8) Lottie mar- 
ried Frank S. Seymour, of Hartford, where he is en- 
gaged in the teaming business. 

Stanley G. Morgan was born in "Waterford 
May 9, 1846, and received his schooling in Lake's 
Pond district, Xo. 1. Leaving school at about fif- 
teen years of age. he then remained at home until 
1889, when his father-in-law died and he removed to 
his present farm. He has about 330 acres where he 
carries on general farming, and keeps from eighl to 
ten cows. He has prospered steadily in this line. 
The family are members of the First Baptist Church 
in Xew London, although one daughter attends the 
nd Congregational Church in Xew London. 
He has served as road commissioner and grand juror 
in his town, but has not taken a particularly active 
interest in public affairs, having refused many p< 
tions of trust. His political support is given to the 
iblican party. 

Stanley G. .Morgan was married Sept. 28, [88 



to Julia Alice Douglas, daughter of Albert G. and 
Lucy A. (Fox) Douglas, of Waterford, where Mr. 
Morgan now lives. Three children have come to 
this union, all born in Waterford: (t) Anna Haven 
attended the district schools of her native town, and 
graduated in 1901 from Williams Memorial Insti- 
tute, of Xew London, later taking the post-gradu- 
ate course in that institution, finallv entering Welles- 
ley College. She is preparing herself for teaching. 
(2) Stanley Douglas attended the district schools, 
and is now in the Nathan Hale Grammar School of 
Xew London. (3) Christine E. attends the Robert 
Bartlett school at Xew London. 

Douglas. "Douglas is one of the most 
ancient and honored names in the annals of Scot- 
land." [See article on the Douglas family in Cham- 
bers Encyclopaedia.] (I) William Douglas, born in 
1610, probably, in Scotland, and a son of Robert 
Douglas, married Ann Mattle, born in 1610, only 
daughter of Thomas Mattle, of Ringstead, North- 
amptonshire, England, and with their two children, 
Ann and Robert, they came to America in 1640. For 
a time they were at Gloucester, Mass., but in that 
same year removed to Boston, thence to Ipswich 
and back to Boston, where he purchased property 
in 1646. He there followed his trade, that of a 
cooper. In December, 1659, he bought property in 
Xew London. Conn., and removed thither in 1660. 
taking with him his family, which comprised his 
wife and children, Robert, Sarah and William. Mr. 
Douglas was chosen one of the first two deacons of 
the church in 1670. He was one of the townsmen in 
1663, 1666 and 1667; was chosen deputy to the 
General Court in 1672, and held other offices, show- 
ing him to have been one of the active and prom- 
inent public men of the town. He died July 20. 
1682. His children were: Ann and Robert, horn in 
Scotland ; Elizabeth and Sarah, born in Ipswich ; and 
William, horn in Boston. 

ill) Robert Douglas, born in 1639, in Scotland, 
married Sept. 28, [665, .Mary, daughter of Robert 
Hempstead, of Xew London, she being the first 
child of English parents horn in the town of which 
her father was one of the founders. Mr. Douglas 
had lauds set off to him in Xew London in [663, and 
he inherited a house on Xew Street, and also had 
other property. By trade he was a cooper. His 
name occurs frequently on both church and town 
records. From time to time he served on important 
town committees. Me died Jan. 15. 1715-10. and his 
wife died Dec. 26, 171 1. Their children were: 
William, born Nov. 11. [666; Mary. June 13. [668; 
Ann, Dec. 2^. [669; John, July 17. 1071 ; Hannah, 
May 14, 1073: Sarah, Dec. _'. 1074; Elizabeth, April 
jo. [677; Thomas, May 15. [679; Phebe, Jan. 20, 
1681 : Susanna, about [683; and Ruth, about [685. 

(Ill) Thomas Douglas, born May 15. 0.7.,. in 
Xew London, married. Nov. -'5. 1703, Hannah 
Sperry, of Xew Haven. Mr. Douglas was admitted 

hurch privileges April 9, 1710. and was a prom- 
inent member of the Xew London Church. He held 



44 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



several important town offices, was chosen collector 
in 171 1, and died March 3, 1724-25, leaving prop- 
erty inventoried at £776. His widow married Sam- 
uel Chapman, and died in 1758. Mr. Douglas's 
nine children were: John, born Sept. 7, 1704; Rob- 
ert, Dec. 28, 1705; Thomas, Feb. 18, 1707; James, 
April 5, 1710; Daniel, Sept. 18, 1713; Mary, Feb. 
13, 1715-16; Stephen, May 18, 1719; Nathan, April 
15, 1 72 1 ; and John, April 8, 1724. 

(IV) Robert Douglas (2), born Dec. 28, 1705, 
in New London, married, Aug. 5, 1731, Sarah 
Edgecomb, and they resided on the farm which had 
been his father's. Both he and his wife were mem- 
bers of the church Oct. 5, 1735. His house was fre- 
quently the place of church meetings, and at one 
time nine were baptized there. Mr. Douglas died in 
October, 1786, and his widow in about 1797 removed 
with her son Daniel to Wallingford, Vt., where she 
died in a few months. Their children were : Han- 
nah, born June 5, 1732; Thomas, Aug. I, 1734; 
Sarah, July 15, 1738; Robert, Aug. 7, 1740; Mary, 
Dec. 4, 1742 ; Samuel, Feb. 26, 1744-45 ; Mehetabel, 
Sept. 8, 1747; Joseph, June 1, 1750; and Daniel, 
May 22, 1752. 

(V) Thomas Douglas (2), born Aug. 1, 1734, in 
New London, married in 1761, Grace, daughter of 
David and Elizabeth (Edgecomb) Richards of New 
London, and they resided on the old Douglas place 
on the Colchester road (near the late residence of 
Albert G. Douglas), settling there many years before 
the Revolutionary war. He was a farmer, and in 
his leisure time engaged in tanning and shoemaking. 
He died in Water ford in 1826, aged ninety-two, 
and his widow died July 13, 183 1, aged ninety-four. 
Their children, all born in New London, were : 
Guy, born Jan. 7, 1762; Elizabeth, in 1764; Mary, 
in 1766; Sarah, in 1768; Hamill, June 1, 1771 ; 
Esther, February, 1772; Robert, Jan. 18, 1774; 
Grace, January, 1776; and Abigail, in 1779. 

(VI) Robert Douglas, born Jan. 18, 1774. in 
New London, Conn.,' married, June 13, 1802, Abiah 
Douglas, born May 25, 1775, daughter of George 
and Elizabeth (Lucas) Douglas. Robert Douglas 
and his family lived on the Douglas homestead. 
They were farmers in good circumstances. He died 
in Waterford, Oct. 8, 1834, and she died June 30, 
1 85 1. Their children, born in what is now Water- 
ford, Conn., were: Abiah, born May 4, 1803, mar- 
ried William Gorton, of Waterford. Henrietta, born 
July 18, 1805, married, Oct. 16, 1856, Isaac Watrous, 
of Waterford, and both are now deceased, he dying 
Sept. 5, 1857, an d sne Sept. 23, 1863. Thomas was 
born March 29, 1807. Albert Gallatin, born Feb. 
11, 1809, is mentioned below. John, born Feb. 23, 
181 1, married Ann E. Raymond. Robert, born 
Jan. 18, 1813, was educated at Phillips Academy, 
Andover, and was a railroad civil engineer living in 
the West. Guy, born Jan. 18, 181 5, married Eme- 
line Browning. Elizabeth Lucas, born July 14, 181 7, 
married the late Hon. H. P. Haven, of New London, 
•Conn. Thev are all now deceased. 



Robert Douglas was a prosperous farmer, and 
owned and operated a sawmill which stood near his 
home, and which remained there many years after 
his demise as a monument to his thrift and frugal- 
ity. His was a devout Christian character, and he 
was a worthy member of the First Congregational 
Church of New London. In politics he was an old- 
line Whig, and took an active part in the councils 
of that party. 

Albert Gallatin Douglas was born Feb. 11, 
1809, in Waterford, in the house where his daughter, 
Mrs. Stanley G. Morgan, now resides. He received 
a common-school education, supplemented by one 
year at Hamilton (New York) Academy, during 
which time he had for a classmate, the late Hon. 
Henry B. Payne, who later became United States 
Senator from Ohio. Returning from school at the 
age of twenty-one years, he went to live with his 
uncle, Guy Douglas, with whom he remained for 
twenty years, or until the death of his uncle, which 
occurred in May, 1849. In March, 1851, Mr. Doug- 
las removed to the old home farm adjoining, and 
there continued to reside during the remainder of 
his life. This old home, which has been in the pos- 
session of the family for several generations, is still 
occupied, by a descendant, Mrs. Stanley G. Morgan. 
Mr. Douglas was a prosperous and successful 
farmer, and was also extensively engaged in lumber- 
ing. He was an extensive land-owner, having had 
in his possession over 600 acres of land. 

In political faith Mr. Douglas was an old-line 
Whig, and upon the organization of the Republican 
party in 1854 he became an adherent of its prin- 
ciples, and was active in the councils of the party. 
He served his native town as selectman several 
years, and also held other town offices of trust. He 
represented the town in the State Legislature two 
terms. Although not a member Mr. Douglas was 
an attendant and liberal supporter of the Baptist 
Church, to which his wife belonged. Mr. Douglas 
was an acknowdedged leader in the community in 
which he resided. He was a careful, conservative 
business man, whose advice was often sought and as 
often given, yet he was a man of few words, and 
given to keeping his own counsel except when called 
upon. In disposition he was quiet and reserved, but 
possessed a genial, pleasant manner, by which he 
gained many stanch and warm friends. He was 
charitable and benevolent, always ready to assist 
the needy and unfortunate. 

Mr. Douglas was married, Oct. 10, 1849, to Lucy 
A., daughter of Otis P. and Mary Ann (Thompson) 
Fox, of Maine, and to them came two children, both 
born in Waterford : ( 1 ) Julia Alice, born July 28, 
1850, married Stanley G. Morgan, of Waterford. 
(2) Albert, born May 4, 1854, married Mira Fisher, 
of New London, where they reside ; they have two 
children, Lucy Wilhelmina and Williams Douglas. 

Albert G. Douglas passed to his reward Dec. 11, 
1889, and his wife died Feb. 18, 1885, both passing 
away at the old homestead in Waterford. In the 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



45 



summer of 1876 Mr. Douglas had torn down the 
old house, which had stood for over a century, and 
erected upon the site a new one of modern style. 

FITCH. From the very dawn of the settlement 
of Norwich through a period of nearly two and a 
half centuries, the name of Fitch has been con- 
spicuous in the annals of that or neighboring towns. 
For a hundred years and more, from soon after the 
middle of the eighteenth century, Col. Asa Fitch, 
his sons, and in turn some of his grandsons, have, 
with little exception, been among the foremost men 
of business activity, enterprise and public spirit 
among their contemporaries in their locality. En- 
ergetic, active men, they were not content with the 
old New England farm and forge, but went to the 
East — across the sea, and some to the Golden Gate, 
and were there as at home princes among business 
men and most successful in their pursuits. Such 
names as Rev. James Fitch, the first minister of Nor- 
wich, Col. Asa Fitch, Asa Fitch (2), Stephen, Doug- 
lass Woodworth, William, Asa Douglass, and Will- 
iam Huntington Fitch will long live in connection 
with history of the old town of Norwich and Bozrah, 
and some of them as well with cities in France, on the 
Pacific coast, and in our Eastern Metropolis — New 
York. 

It is with these men and their Fitch lineage this 
article is to treat. The last of this group of men, 
William Huntington Fitch, a leading citizen and 
wealthy man of Norwich, passed away Oct. 28, 
1904. 

The Rev. James Fitch, a native of the County of 
Essex, England, born Dec. 24, 1632, was brought 
by his mother, with other sons, to America in 1638. 
It appears that the father of the family had previ- 
ously died. All that is known of young Fitch 
previous to his ordination, in 1646, is the statement 
of his birth, emigrating at the age of sixteen, and 
seven years of theological instruction at Hartford 
under Revs. Hooker and Stone. After a pastorate 
of fourteen years at Saybrook he with the larger 
portion of his Church removed to Norwich in 1660. 
He was a useful and valued citizen, one of the most 
prominent of the founders of the town. "As a pas- 
tor he was zealous and indefatigable. In addition 
to his other labors, he trained several young men for 
the ministry, as he himself had been trained by 
Mr. Hooker. Rev. Samuel Whiting, of Wind- 
ham ; Taylor, of Westfield ; and Adams, of New 
London, received a part at least of their theological 
instruction from him." Mr. Fitch was twice mar- 
ried and had fourteen children, the first six of whom 
were born at Saybrook. He married (first) in 
October, 1648, Abigail, daughter of Rev. Henry 
Whitefield. She died at Saybrook, Sept. 9, 1659, 
and in October, 1664, he was married to Priscilla 
Mason, who survived him. Rev. Mr. Fitch, in the 
in the year 1701, retired to the new plantation of 
Lebanon — a plantation in which he took great in- 
terest, having figured in lands there, and where 



several of his children had established their homes. 
Here he died November 18 or 19, 1702, when in the 
eightieth year of his age. Of his sons, James went 
to Canterbury; Samuel settled on a farm in Preston ; 
Daniel became an inhabitant of the North Parish 
of New London, in the immediate neighborhood of 
Norwich, but not within its bounds ; John went to 
Windham ; Jabez pursued his ministerial calling at 
Ipswich and Portsmouth, and the four others took 
up farms in Lebanon. The five daughters of Rev. 
Mr. Fitch were connected in marriage as follows: 
Abigail with Capt. John Mason (2) ; Elizabeth with 
Rev. Edward Taylor, of Westfield, Mass. ; Hannah 
with Thomas Meeks, or Mix; Dorothy with Na- 
thaniel Bissell ; and Anna, the only daughter of the 
second marriage, with Joseph Bradford. 

From the foregoing source came the Fitches of 
whom we write, and through Stephen Fitch of tin- 
Lebanon branch of the family. From this Stephen, 
William H. Fitch, of Norwich, descended through 
Col. Asa and Stephen Fitch, sketches of whom with 
others of the family follow. 

Col. Asa Fitch, son of Stephen of the Lebanon 
branch, born Feb. 14, 1755, in Bozrah, married 
(first) Feb. 8, 1781, Susanna Fitch, born June 4, 
1757, in Bozrah, and after her death, which occurred 
April 22, 1814, he married (second) Mary House. 
The children born to the first marriage were : Ne- 
hemiah H. ; Lois F. ; Clarissa; Asa, born May 6, 
1787; Susan; Stephen, born Aug. 21, 1790; Fannie; 
Douglass W., born Feb. 18, 179''); William, born 
October 27, 1800; Clarissa (2). born June 5. 1802 
(married Oct. 14, 1824. Major John W. Haughton, 
and died in Bozrah Oct. 8, 1886). 

Mr. Fitch, familiarly called "Col. Fitch." was a 
farmer and manufacturer of iron at Fitchville. He 
lived to advanced years, and his career was one of 
usefulness. He was industrious and energetic in 
business affairs, and active in matters pertaining to 
the welfare of the town, having held various town 
offices, the duties of which he performed with effi- 
ciency. He and his wife were members of the Con- 
gregational Church. His political affiliations were 
with the Democratic party. His upright character 
and purity of purpose were known and admired by 
all. Col. Fitch died Aug. 19. 1844. Miss Caulkins 
in her History of Norwich ( [866) thus refers to 
Col. Fitch: "Col. Asa Fitch, the proprietor of the 
old iron works at this place ( Fitchville), was a man 
of marked character, full of energy and decision. 
In the Revolutionary war. whenever an alarm was 
sounded that the enemy were threatening the Con- 
necticut coast, he was almost invariably the first of 
his company to shoulder the musket and start for 
the scene of action. I le was a son of Stephen Fitch, 
of the Lebanon line of descent from Rev. James. 
His first wife, Susanna, was a daughter of Rcnajah 
Fitch, of East Norwich, or Long Society." 

Stephen Fitch, son of Col. Asa. born Aug. 21. 
1700. in Bozrah, Conn., married March 23, 1S17. 
Mary I. Rogers, ln.rn Jan. 4. 1794, in Norwich. 



4 6 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Mr. Fitch was reared on the farm in Bozrah, and 
to the iron business with his father, and he con- 
tinued thus occupied until his marriage. He then 
removed to New Hartford. X. Y.. and was there 
engaged in agricultural pursuits until 1832, when he 
returned to his native State, settling in Norwich. 
Here he remained until after the death of his wife, 
Sept. 22, 1837. After this event he removed to 
Bozrah. and for many years was actively engaged in 
the manufacture of cotton goods, associated in busi- 
ness with his brother Asa, at Fitchville. Mr. Fitch 
held a number of town offices, and was a representa- 
tive in the General Assembly of Connecticut. He 
was an energetic and active business man of good 
ability and judgment and he held the esteem and 
respect of his fellow townsmen. His political affilia- 
tions were with the Democratic party — the party 
of his forefathers. He died in Bozrah, Oct. 6, 
1868. 

The children of Mr. Fitch and his wife were : 

(1) Sophia Ingraham Fitch, born Dec. 10. 1817. 
married William S. Cruft. of Boston, and died in 
Paris, July 1, 1873. 

(2) Asa Douglass Fitch was born March 27, 
1820, at Xew Hartford, X. Y. In early boyhood he 
attended common and select schools, and later en- 
tered Washington Institute in Xew York State. 
(where he was a schoolmate of William H. Yander- 
bilt), from which he was graduated in 1837. After 
his graduation young Fitch began a business career 
as a clerk in the Xew York house of his uncles, Asa 
and William Fitch, who were then engaged in the 
wholesale commission business. In 1842 the nephew 
left Xew York, and took charge of the stores of 
his uncle and father, located at Fitchville, Xew Lon- 
don Co., Conn. He remained so occupied until 
1849, when he went to Stockton. Cal., via Cape 
Horn. After a year's residence in Stockton, he went 
to Portland. Oregon, where for ten years he was as- 
sociated with his brother, William Huntington 
Fitch, in mercantile pursuits. True to the family 
and education, he was a Democrat of the old school. 
While in the West he held a number of public trusts, 
and was a prominent citizen of Portland, being a 
member of the common council of the city and for 
several terms served as treasurer of the county in 
which Portland is located. He was also commis- 
sioner of the penitentiary during the building of that 
institution, and while Oregon was yet a territory. 
He died Xov. 2j, 1891. at the home of his brother, 
William H., in Xorwich Town. 

(3) Mary Elizabeth Fitch, born July 27, 1827, 
married (first) Hon. R. H. Winslow. of Westport, 
Conn., and (second) Dr. R. C. M. Page, of Yir- 
ginia. Mrs. Page is a woman of superior accom- 
plishments, and has been a liberal contributor to the 
Episcopal Church of Westport. 

Mr. Winslow in his lifetime began the erection 
of a new church, but he died before he had it fairly 
started. His widow as a memorial to him built the 



church (Holy Trinity), and is a most liberal con- 
tributor to its support. 

(4) William Huntington Fitch is referred to 
farther on. 

Asa Fitch (2), son of Col. Asa. born May 6, 
1787. in Bozrah. never married. In youth he was 
possessed of a delicate constitution and broke down 
in an attempt to pursue an academic course of study, 
a clerkship in Xorwich, and also to obtain a mechan- 
ical trade. At eighteen years of age, in the hope of 
bettering his physical condition by a sea voyage, he 
embarked as a passenger in the brig "Walton," 
bound on a fishing and trading- vovage to Green 
Island, Newfoundland and Europe. He left the 
vessel at Lisbon in October. 1805, just prior to re- 
ceipt of the news there of the battle of Trafalgar and 
the death of Lord Xelson. Finding the climate 
invigorating and beneficial he went to Alicante, and 
for a time was employed in the office of the Ameri- 
can consul. Later he engaged in mercantile affairs, 
and remained some ten years, during which period 
he made the reputation of a substantial man and 
merchant. In 18 14 he removed to Marseilles, where 
he established a commission and banking house that 
soon became recognized as a link in the chain of 
commerce between France and the United States. 
At Alicante Mr. Fitch had favored in monetary 
matters certain royal exiles, who, when later re- 
turned to power, showed their appreciation of the 
accommodations, and through them he was wel- 
comed to the best society in France, and he afterward 
entertained at his table nobles, statesmen and lit- 
erary men of the first reputation in the country. 

Mr. Fitch was there joined by his brother, 
Douglass Woodworth Fitch, under the firm name of 
Fitch Brothers & Co. Yessels from many of the 
large ports of the United States were consigned to 
this house. These men were also agents of the 
United States navy, furnishing supplies and making 
payments to the government vessels in the Med- 
iterranean. They executed orders from America 
for the purchase of French goods, and had corre- 
spondents in the United States to receive consign- 
ments of French produce from the merchants and 
manufacturers in France. 

In 1828 Asa Fitch returned to America to take 
charge of the affairs of the house in this country. 
The office of the Xew York house was on Exchange 
place. In that city Mr. Fitch purchased a number of 
lots on Broadway. Xew street and Exchange place, 
upon which subsequently he built a number of stores 
which proved most profitable investments. Grad- 
ually Mr. Fitch retired from the details of business, 
and returned to his native place, where he lived ; ' 
and for more than twenty-five years was fairly 
occupied in the improvement of a naturally rough 
country district. He built a mansion house beside 
the old iron works, where his father and elder 
brother had labored. Here, too. he built a cotton 
mill, a grist mill and a church — and even a village 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



47 



itself. He here purchased farm after farm until his 
domain was measurable by miles, and his outlay of 
money in these, and his operations, amounted to 
more than a million of dollars. 

In body and mind Asa Fitch was ever alert and 
active. He was full of energy, one of his chief 
characteristics being ceaseless activity. He was 
a remarkable man in many ways, especially in plan- 
ning, laying out and constructing work, and few 
persons have had a more eventful life. His death 
occurred Oct. 31, 1865. The following reference 
to Fitchville and its founders is from the history of 
Norwich (1866) by Miss Caulkins : 

"No part of the nine miles square has a stronger 
claim to notice in our history than Fitchville. It is 
not only a striking example of what may be done 
bv persevering enterprise in softening the sterile 
and homelv features of nature into productiveness 
and beauty, but it furnishes a pleasing link to con- 
nect our reminiscences with the founders of the 
town. 

The present proprietor, from whom the village 
derived its name, is a descendant through both 
parents from the Rev. Mr. Fitch, the first minister 
of Norwich , of whose parish this was a part ; the 
Abells and Huntingtons, the first owners of the land, 
were members of the church and congregation of 
Norwich town plot, etc. 

'"We can not close this sketch of Bozrah with- 
out adverting to the improvements that have been 
effected in a portion of the town since 1832, by 
wealth, energy and perseverance, under the control 
of Asa Fitch, Esq. The taste and efficiency that 
have converted an ancient iron works and a rugged 
farming district into the village of Fitchville, with 
its large agricultural area, its mansion house beauti- 
fully embowered and skirted with landscape beauty, 
its symmetrical, well-built church, its cotton-mill, 
its lines of heavy stone wall, and its two miles of 
graded road, prepared for a railway, command our 
unqualified admiration." 

Douglass W. Fitch, son of Col. Asa, born Feb. 
18, 1796, in Bozrah, Conn., married in October, 
1834, Louisa Clemence Beck, of Marseilles. Mr. 
Fitch became associated with his brother at Mar- 
seilles, France, and shared with him the development 
and successful operation of their extensive business. 
With his wife and family Mr. Fitch visited America 
in 1838. Of their children, Harold, born Oct. 10, 
1837, died in Marseilles ; and Charles D., born Oct. 
10, 1845, resides in Marseilles. The father died 
June 11, 1848. 

William Fitch, son of Col. Asa, born Oct. 27, 
1800, in Bozrah, Conn., was reared on his father's 
farm, and there assisted in season in the farming 
operations, and in the winters attended the neigh- 
borhood schools. He had manifested at an early 
age a desire for study, became deeply interested in 
books, and at about fifteen years of age furthered his 
studies at Bacon Academy, Colchester, from which 
institution he was graduated. He taught several 



terms of school before he was twenty years of age, 
entering the New York branch of the Fitch estab- 
lishment in 1820. There he remained until 1848, 
and was in charge of the correspondence of the 
house. Owing to failing health he returned in 1848 
to his native town, and for several years thereafter 
was engaged in the manufacturing business, asso- 
ciated with his brother, Asa. In the summer of 1858 
Mr. Fitch settled in the town of Norwich, Conn., and 
there resided until his death, Dec. 23, 1880. He was 
for several years postmaster at Fitchville. Mr. 
Fitch "was a member of Trinity Church and was 
characterized for benevolence among that people. He 
was a man of generous impulses, and will be missed 
by many poor families. His was a long and useful 
life, peacefully closed with a full hope of im- 
mortality." 

On Oct. 14, 1857, Mr. Fitch was married to 
Mary E. Williams, born June 23, 1825, in Bethle- 
hem, Conn., daughter of Dr. Elias and Mary Ann 
(Hillhouse) Williams. Six children were born to 
the marriage, namely: William Asa (who died in 
infancy), Marian H., Susan L., Elizabeth M., 
Fanny R., and Sarah G., all born in Norwich. 

William Huntington Fitch, son of Stephen, 
was born Nov. 4, 1830, in New Hartford, N. Y. 
Though a native of the Empire State, he was by in- 
heritance, education and residence a son of New 
England. When he was two years old his parents 
and family returned to Connecticut, residing in 
Norwich until the death of the mother, in 1837. In 
that year the family removed to Fitchville. William 
H. received good common-school advantages in 
Norwich and vicinity, and then furthered his studies 
in the Cheshire Academy, from which he was grad- 
uated. When about twenty years of age, in the 
spring of 1850, he turned his course westward, go- 
ing to California by way of the Isthmus. There he 
tarried for a time, and there he joined his brother, 
Asa D., and thence proceeded on to Portland, Ore- 
gon, in which place the brothers established a mer- 
cantile business. Young Fitch was associated in 
business with his brother until 1859, in which year 
he returned East, and became associated in a part- 
nership with his uncle, Asa Fitch, at Fitchville, 
under the firm title of W. H. Fitch & Co., manufac- 
turers of cotton goods. This partnership was con- 
tinued until the death of Asa Fitch, and then con- 
ducted by the nephew until 1867, in which year he 
retired to a farm of some 300 acres, beautifully situ- 
ated between Fitchville and Yantic. This extensive 
farm is one of the best in the locality, well-watered 
and improved, its buildings commodious and mod- 
ern. Mr. Fitch (as was his father) was fond of 
blooded and speed horses, and on his farm he had 
one of the best half-mile tracks' in the State. He kept 
some very fine horses. A couple of years ago he dis- 
posed of the farm. His late residence is near the 
Green, in Norwich Town, and there he died Oct. 28, 
1904 ; he was laid to rest in the family burial lot in 
Bozrah. Mr. Fitch for a number of years past was 



48 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



a director of Uncas National Bank, and in 1903 was 
elected vice-president of that institution. At a meet- 
ing of the directors of the bank the following min- 
utes were entered upon its records : 

Upon the occasion of the death of William H. Fitch, the 
vice-president of this - bank, his fellow directors desire 
to place upon record their appreciation of his efficient 
services in the interests of this institution and of those 
personal qualities which he possessed, and which so well 
entitled him to the respect and confidence of this com- 
munity. 

Mr. Fitch has been a director of this bank since 1896, 
and since 1903 its vice-president. His extensive and varied 
business training and practical knowledge of human nature 
as well as a prior service as director in another bank in 
Norwich and his close touch with many of the financial 
interests of the city, entitled his judgment to much con- 
sideration and rendered his services with us of much more 
than ordinary value. 

He was a man of independent views, positive convic- 
tions and the strictest integrity. With him there was no 
such thing as any deviation as a matter of policy from 
what he considered as right. His own rights were no more 
sacred with him than those of others. His presence upon 
the board of any institution was an element of safety in 
its financial management. 

Altogether, Mr. Fitch was a man of rugged and 
marked personality. He possessed qualities which justly 
entitled him to the regard and respect with which he was 
held by those who knew him. Such men are too few 
among us, and s'eem sometimes to belong, too often only, 
to the training of a past generation. In his death, not only 
this institution, but this community has suffered a great 
loss. 

In his memory we enter this minute upon our records, 
and direct that this bank be closed at one o'clock on the 
day of the funeral, and request that its directors attend 
the services in a body. 

Mr. Fitch's political affiliations were with the 
Democratic party, the party of his forefathers. He 
never sought political preferment or offices of any 
kind, but he had various honors bestowed upon him, 
among them the position of judge of probate for his 
district. While in Oregon (and, by the way, this 
was before that territory had assumed Statehood) 
he served as assistant commissary during the Indian 
troubles on the frontier. A man of means, Mr. Fitch 
was also one of influence and power in eastern Con- 
necticut. He ably sustained the reputation made 
by the earlier generations of the family. 

On Jan. 13, 1870, Mr. Fitch was married to 
Louise C. Smith, born Dec. 3, 1844, in Bozrah, 
Conn., daughter of Capt. William Smith of Nor- 
wich. Three children blessed this union, namely : 
Mary L. now deceased; Stephen D., also deceased; 
and William D., born Oct. 25, 1879, who graduated 
from Norwich Free Academy and then entered Yale 
Law School, graduating with the class of 1903. 

COL. ISRAEL MATSON, late of Old Lyme, 
and one of the most highly esteemed citizens of the 
town, was born there Dec. 25, 1826. Tradition says 
that the first Nathaniel Matson resided in Boston, 
was a shipmaster, married a sister of Ray Thomas, 
and died when his son was about two years old, his 
widow dying soon after. 



(II) Nathaniel Matson (2), son of Nathaniel,, 
born in 1684, died in 1776. By occupation he was a 
ship carpenter. He married Ruth Roe, by whom 
he had no children. He then came to Lyme, where 
he married Joanna Ely, daughter of William Ely, 
and they lived where his descendant, the late Col. 
Israel Matson, lived. His children by the second 
wife, Joanna (Ely), were: Ruth married Joseph 
Sill. Elizabeth married Timothy Mather; Nathan- 
iel married Dinah Newton, of Colchester ; Rechama 
married Travers Avers, of Saybrook ; Joanna mar- 
ried Joseph Mather, of Lyme ; Mary married Joseph 
Smith, of East Lyme ; Abigail married John Coult, 
of Lyme ; William married Eunice Skinner ; and 
Deborah married Samuel Sanford. 

(III) Nathaniel Matson, born in 1727, in Lyme,, 
died in 1787. He married Dinah Newton, and their 
children were: Susanna married Remick Waite; 
Abigail died unmarried; Nathaniel married (first) 
Polly Sill (by whom he had no children), and 
(second) Anna Ely, daughter of Elihu Ely; Dinah 
died unmarried ; Israel married (first) Catharine 
Johnson, and (second) Phoebe Ely, daughter of 
Elihu Ely ; Lois died unmarried ; and Joanna mar- 
ried Samuel Buckingham. Of these, Nathaniel was 
a merchant in New London in early life, but re- 
turned to Lyme, and was for many years deacon in 
the Congregational Church, and was active in 
church and benevolent organizations. 

(IV) Israel Matson, father of Col. Israel, was 
born in Lyme, Conn., April 6, 1770, and died Sept. 
4, 1853. He spent his early school days in Lyme. 
He was married (first), in what is now Old Lyme,, 
to Catharine Johnson, of Lyme, who lived only a. 
short time, and who bore him one son, Stephen 
Johnson Matson, who married and has three sons 
and two daughters living in New York State. Israel 
Matson married (second), in what is now Lyme, on 
Feb. 11, 1821, Phoebe Ely, of Lyme, who was born 
Aug. 1, 1787, and died Feb. 26, 1874. They had 
three children : Catherine Ann, born Jan. 28, 1823,. 
became the wife of Rev. James P. Terry ; Nathaniel,, 
born Oct. 18, 1824, was a lawyer in Hartford, 
and died Jan. 24, 1851, unmarried; and Israel was 
born Dec. 25, 1826. Israel Matson, the father, re- 
sided all his life in Old Lyme, and there built the 
house where his son Israel lived to the time of his 
death. He engaged in farming all his life. He was 
a leading member of the Congregational Church and 
Society, and in political sentiment was an old-time 
Whig, and was very active in town matters. Socially 
he was a member of the Masonic fraternity. 

Rev. James P. Terry, who married Catharine 
Ann Matson, was a native of Enfield, Conn., born in 
181 2. He was pastor of the Congregational Church 
at Somers, Conn., and at South Weymouth, Mass. 
Mr. and Mrs. Terry were the parents of seven chil- 
dren, born as follows : Nathaniel Matson, April 6, 
1844; James Luther, May 23, 1846; Anna Ely, Sept. 
21, 1848 (died Oct. 20, 1851) ; Israel Newton, Feb. 
20, 1851; Catharine Margaret, April 28, 1853 (died , 





^^ ^tu^e 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



49 



April 30 1864); Frank Augustus, July 24, 1855; 
Charles Appleton, March 2, 1858. Of these, 

Prof. Nathaniel Matson Terry was born in Old 
Lyme, graduated at Amherst College, and then 
spent two years at Heidelberg and Guttenberg, 
Germany. For about thirty years he has been con- 
nected with the Naval Academy at Annapolis, Mary- 
land. 

James Luther Terry, born in Old Lyme, grad- 
uated from Amherst College, and the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons, and is settled in practice in 
Philadelphia. 

Israel Newton Terry, born in South Weymouth, 
Mass., graduated from Amherst, and studied theo- 
logy in Hartford and the Theological Seminary in 
New York. He has been located in New Hartford, 
N. Y., and Utica, N. Y. He married Emily Butler, 
of New Hartford, New York. 

Frank Augustus Terry, born in South Wey- 
mouth, Mass., graduated from Yale Scientific School 
and is a chemist in Philadelphia. He took a year's 
post-graduate course at Harvard. 

Charles Appleton Terry, born in South Wey- 
mouth, Mass., graduated from Amherst, studied law 
in New York City, and is now attorney for the West- 
inghouse Electric Company. In 1886 he married 
Mary E. Cady, of New Haven, and they have had 
two children, Catharine Louisa and Matson Cady. 

Col. Israel Matson spent his early school days in 
Old Lyme and Old Saybrook, Conn. He engaged 
in farming and resided in Old Lyme all his life, be- 
ing one of the town's best citizens. Col. Matson was 
in the State Legislature three terms, and served on 
the staff of Gov. Buckingham (his cousin) for four 
years. He was married (first) Sept. 14, 1864, to 
Sarah McCurdy Lord, who died July 10, 1865, and 
on Sept. 27, 1887, at South Weymouth, Mass., he 
married for his second wife, Harriet Howe, daugh- 
ter of Dr. Appleton Howe, a physician of South 
Weymouth for over fifty years. Her mother was 
Eliza Loud, of Weymouth, Mass. Col. Matson was 
a member of the Congregational Church, in which 
he was very active, serving as superintendent of the 
Sunday School for over thirty years. He was one 
of the most active and influential men in the So- 
ciety affairs of the Church, and his death, which 
occurred July 9, 1903, was deeply mourned in re- 
ligious circles, as well as in other activities of the 
town. 

HON. DAVID AMES WELLS, economist, 
Norwich. For many years this city, the "Rose of 
New England," was honored as the home of this 
distinguished man and writer, a sketch of whom, 
with that of his family and lineage, follows : Dr. 
Wells was in the eighth generation from his Amer- 
ican ancestor, Thomas Welles, his line being through 
Thomas Wells (2) Ichabod, Jonathan, Jonathan (2), 
Lieut. James and James Wells (2). 

Thomas Welles, born in 1598, in Essex, Eng- 
land, came to Saybrook, Conn., as secretary to Lord 



Save and Sele, for the purpose of co-operating in the 
founding of a settlement. Lord Save and Sele re- 
turned to England, and Thomas Welles removed 
with the company to Hartford, where he was chosen 
one of the nine magistrates of the new Colony in 
1637, holding the office until his death. He was 
treasurer in 1639 ; secretary in 1641 ; one of the 
commissioners of the United Colonies in 1649; dep- 
uty governor of the Colony ; and governor in 1655- 
58. He died in Wethersfield, Conn., Jan. 14. 1660. 
It is stated in "American Ancestry" that Gov. Welles 
was probably related to William Shakespeare's fam- 
ily, as Dame Elizabeth, wife of Sir John Barnard, 
the granddaughter of Shakespeare, bequeathed in 
her will £50 to be given to her cousin, Thomas 
Welles, of Carlton, Bedford, England. Thomas 

Welles married (first) in 1618, in England, 

Hunt, who died in Hartford about 1640, and he mar- 
ried (second) in Wethersfield, Conn., in 1646, 
Elizabeth Foote, daughter of John Deming, of Eng- 
land, and widow of Nathaniel Foote. Gov. Welles 
had issue : Anne, born about 1619 ; John, about 1621 ; 
Robert, about 1624; Thomas, about 1627; Samuel, 
about 1630; Sarah, about 1632; Mary, about 1634; 
and Joseph, about 1637. 

(II) Thomas Welles (2), born about 1627, in 
Northamptonshire, England, came with the family 
to America in 1636, landing at Saybrook. He was 
taken to Hartford the same year, and to Wethers- 
field in 1637, where he passed the remainder of his 
lifetime, and died in the spring of 1668. "He was 
the largest and tallest man of his time, in Hartford, 
with a strong mind, and sterling and honorable 
character." He was quartermaster under Major 
John Mason, of Hartford, and a deputy magistrate. 
He was married in Hartford, June 29, 165 1, to Han- 
nah, widow of John Pantry, of that town, and 
daughter of William Tuttle, of Boston. His chil- 
dren, all born in Wethersfield, were : Rebeckah, born 
in May, 1655 ; Thomas, in October, 1657 ; Sarah, in 
April, 1659; Ichabod in November, 1660; Samuel, 
in October, 1662 ; Jonathan, in September, 1664 : an d 
Joseph, in August, 1667. The mother of these died 
in Hartford Aug. 8, 1683, aged fifty years. 

(III) Ichabod Welles, born in November, 1660, 
in Wethersfield, died in Hartford after 1706. 

(IV) Jonathan Welles, born Sept. 17, 1689, in 
Wethersfield, died in West Hartford in 1752. 

(V) Jonathan Welles (2), born in 1718, in West 
Hartford, died in 1795. 

(VI) Lieut. James Welles, born in 1753, died 
in 1837. Mr. Welles was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion, serving as a lieutenant in the 2d Regiment, 
Connecticut Light Dragoons, Col. Sheldon's Com- 
pany, I777-I783- 

(VII) James Wells (2), born November 14, 
1783, in Hartford, Conn., married Rebecca, born in 
1787, daughter of David Ames, who was born in 
West Bridgewater, Mass., in February, \y6o, and 
died in Springfield, Mass., in August, 1847. James 
Wells resided in Springfield, Mass., and died No- 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



49 



April 30 1864) ; Frank Augustus, July 24, 1855 ; 
Charles Appleton, March 2, 1858. Of these, 

Prof. Nathaniel Matson Terry was born in Old 
Lyme, graduated at Amherst College, and then 
spent two years at Heidelberg and Guttenberg, 
Germany. For about thirty years he has been con- 
nected with the Naval Academy at Annapolis, Mary- 
land. 

James Luther Terry, born in Old Lyme, grad- 
uated from Amherst College, and the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons, and is settled in practice in 
Philadelphia. 

Israel Newton Terry, born in South Weymouth, 
Mass., graduated from Amherst, and studied theo- 
logy in Hartford and the Theological Seminary in 
New York. He has been located in New Hartford, 
N. Y., and Utica, N. Y. He married Emily Butler, 
of New Hartford, New York. 

Frank Augustus Terry, born in South Wey- 
mouth, Mass., graduated from Yale Scientific School 
and is a chemist in Philadelphia. He took a year's 
post-graduate course at Harvard. 

Charles Appleton Terry, born in South Wey- 
mouth, Mass., graduated from Amherst, studied law 
in New York City, and is now attorney for the West- 
inghouse Electric Company. In 1886 he married 
Mary E. Cady, of New Haven, and they have had 
two children, Catharine Louisa and Matson Cady. 

Col. Israel Matson spent his early school days in 
Old Lyme and Old Saybrook, Conn. He engaged 
in farming and resided in Old Lyme all his life, be- 
ing one of the town's best citizens. Col. Matson was 
in the State Legislature three terms, and served on 
the staff of Gov. Buckingham (his cousin) for four 
years. He was married (first) Sept. 14, 1864, to 
Sarah McCurdy Lord, who died July 10, 1865, and 
on Sept. 27, 1887, at South Weymouth, Mass., he 
married for his second wife, Harriet Howe, daugh- 
ter of Dr. Appleton Howe, a physician of South 
Weymouth for over fifty years. Her mother was 
Eliza Loud, of Weymouth, Mass. Col. Matson was 
a member of the Congregational Church, in which 
he was very active, serving as superintendent of the 
Sunday School for over thirty years. He was one 
of the most active and influential men in the So- 
ciety affairs of the Church, and his death, which 
occurred July 9, 1903, was deeply mourned in re- 
ligious circles, as well as in other activities of the 
town. 

HON. DAVID AMES WELLS, economist, 
Norwich. For many years this city, the "Rose of 
New England," was honored as the home of this 
distinguished man and writer, a sketch of whom, 
with that of his family and lineage, follows : Dr. 
\\ ells was in the eighth generation from his Amer- 
ican ancestor, Thomas Welles, his line being through 
Thomas Wells (2) Ichabod, Jonathan, Jonathan (2), 
Lieut. James and James Wells (2). 

Thomas Welles, born in 1598, in Essex, Eng- 
land, came to Saybrook, Conn., as secretary to Lord 



Save and Sele, for the purpose of co-operating in the 
founding of a settlement. Lord Save and Sele re- 
turned to England, and Thomas Welles removed 
with the company to Hartford, where he was chosen 
one of the nine magistrates of the new Colony in 
1637, holding the office until his death. He was 
treasurer in 1639 ; secretary in 1641 ; one of the 
commissioners of the United Colonies in 1649 ; dep- 
uty governor of the Colony ; and governor in 1655- 
58. He died in Wethersfield, Conn., Jan. 14. 1660. 
It is stated in "American Ancestry" that Gov. Welles 
was probably related to William Shakespeare's fam- 
ily, as Dame Elizabeth, wife of Sir John Barnard, 
the granddaughter of Shakespeare, bequeathed in 
her will £50 to be given to her cousin, Thomas 
Welles, of Carlton, Bedford, England. Thomas 

Welles married (first) in 1618, in England, 

Hunt, who died in Hartford about 1640, and he mar- 
ried (second) in Wethersfield, Conn., in 1646, 
Elizabeth Foote, daughter of John Deming, of Eng- 
land, and widow of Nathaniel Foote. Gov. Welles 
had issue : Anne, born about 1619 ; John, about 1621 ; 
Robert, about 1624; Thomas, about 1627; Samuel, 
about 1630; Sarah, about 1632; Mary, about 1634; 
and Joseph, about 1637. 

(II) Thomas Welles (2), born about 1627, in 
Northamptonshire, England, came with the family 
to America in 1636, landing at Saybrook. He was 
taken to Hartford the same year, and to Wethers- 
field in 1637, where he passed the remainder of his 
lifetime, and died in the spring of 1668. "He was 
the largest and tallest man of his time, in Hartford, 
with a strong mind, and sterling and honorable 
character." He was quartermaster under Major 
John Mason, of Hartford, and a deputy magistrate. 
He was married in Hartford, June 29, 165 1, to Han- 
nah, widow of John Pantry, of that town, and 
daughter of William Tuttle, of Boston. His chil- 
dren, all born in Wethersfield, were : Rebeckah, born 
in May, 1655 ; Thomas, in October, 1657 ; Sarah, in 
April, 1659; Ichabod in November, 1660; Samuel, 
in October, 1662; Jonathan, in September, 1664; and 
Joseph, in August, 1667. The mother of these died 
in Hartford Aug. 8, 1683, aged fifty years. 

(III) Ichabod Welles, born in November, 1660, 
in Wethersfield, died in Hartford after 1706. 

(IV) Jonathan Welles, born Sept. 17, 1689, in 
Wethersfield, died in West Hartford in 1752. 

(V) Jonathan Welles (2), born in 1718, in West 
Hartford, died in 1795. 

(VI) Lieut. James Welles, born in 1753, died 
in 1837. Mr. Welles was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion, serving as a lieutenant in the 2d Regiment, 
Connecticut Light Dragoons, Col. Sheldon's Com- 
pany, 1 777- 1 783. 

(VII) James Wells (2), born November 14, 
1783, in Hartford, Conn., married Rebecca, born in 
1787, daughter of David Ames, who was born in 
West Bridgewater, Mass., in February, 1760. and 
died in Springfield. Mass., in August, 1847. James- 
Wells resided in Springfield, Mass., and died No- 



50 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



vember 14, 1843. His wife survived him, dying in 
1871. She descended from William Ames, who was 
born in 1605 in Breton, England, and died in Brain- 
tree, Mass., in 1654, her line being through John 
Ames, of West Bridgewater (1647-1725), Thomas 
Ames (1682- 1 774), Capt. John Ames (1738- 1805) 
and David Ames. The latter was one of the lead- 
ing iron manufacturers in America. He was a sol- 
dier of the Revolution, and by reason of his ac- 
knowledged ability and large experience in business 
was selected by President Washington in 1794 to 
construct a national armory at Springfield, Mass., of 
which he was made the first superintendent in 1794, 
serving until 1805. Later he was a pioneer in the 
manufacture of paper in the United States. He was 
commissioned a colonel in the United States army. 
(VIII) Hon. David Ames Wells, M. D., LL. D., 
D. C. L., economist, was born June 17, 1827, at 
Springfield, Mass. He was graduated from Will- 
iams College in 1847. He was associate editor of 
the Springfield Republican in 1848-49, and was ap- 
pointed assistant professor at the Lawrence Scien- 
tific School, Harvard University, in 1850. In 1852 
he received the degree of B. S. from Harvard, and 
in 1863 tne honorary degree of M. D., from the 
Berkshire Medical College. In 1857-58 he was en- 
gaged in the general book and publishing business 
in Xew York, as a member of the firm of G. P. 
Putnam & Co. He removed to Troy, N. Y., in 
1858, and thence to Norwich, Conn., in 1870. In 
April, 1865, he was made chairman of the United 
States Revenue Commission, and was appointed 
special commissioner of Revenue of the United 
States in 1867. The same year he was sent on a 
mission to Europe by the United States Government. 
He retired from the office of special commissioner 
of United States Revenue by limitation of term of 
office in July, 1870, and received on retirement a 
letter of thanks for his official services from a ma- 
jority of both branches of Congress. In July, 1870, 
he was appointed by the governor of Xew York a 
commissioner to revise the laws for the assessment 
and collection of taxes in the State of New York, 
and in this new position he prepared and submitted 
to the Legislature, in 1872 and 1873, two reports 
and a code of laws. All of these reports have been 
since reprinted in the United States, and in Europe ; 
and one of the first acts of the French National As- 
sembly, after the conclusion of the German war, was 
to order the translation and official publication of 
Mr. Wells's reports as special commissioner for 
1868-69. This compliment was further supple- 
mented, in the spring of 1874, by the unanimous 
election of Mr. Wells by the Institute of France to 
fill the chair of Foreign Associate, made vacant by 
the death of the late John Stuart Mill; and later by 
the voting to him of the degree of D. C. L., by the 
University of Oxford, England. The honorary de- 
gree of LL. D. had been given him by the college 
of his graduation — Williams, and on his retirement 
from Washington a testimonial of the value of sev- 



eral thousand dollars was also presented him by the 
merchants of New York, without distinction of 
party, as a "token of their esteem for his unsullied 
integrity, high personal character, and as a slight 
recognition of his inestimable services to his coun- 
trymen." 

In 1872 the corporation of Yale College elected 
Mr. Wells university lecturer on Political Science. 
In 1873, on invitation of the Cobden Club, he visited 
England and delivered the address at the annual 
meeting and dinner of the Club. The name of Mr. 
Wells was brought prominently forward in the 
spring of 1874 as a candidate for United States sen- 
ator for Connecticut. In the spring of 1875 he was 
elected president of the Democratic State convention 
of Connecticut ; and as such firmly committed the 
party in the State to the doctrine of hard money and 
taxation for revenue only. In March, 1876, he was 
chosen president of the American Association for the 
Promotion of Social Science. Originally he was a 
believer in the economic system of protection, but 
his experience abroad, in investigating the indus- 
tries in competition with those of the United States, 
resulted in his acceptance of free trade doctrines. He 
was a delegate to the Democratic National Conven- 
tions of 1872 and 1880, and in 1876 he was a can- 
didate for Congress from Connecticut. He was ap- 
pointed by the United States court in 1876 one of 
the trustees and receivers of the Alabama & Chat- 
tanooga Railway Company, and in fourteen months 
rescued the corporation from bankruptcy and ex- 
pended a considerable sum for improvements and 
repairs, without incurring an additional dollar of 
indebtedness. In 1877 he was appointed by the 
State Board of Canal Commissioners chairman of a 
commission to consider the subject of tolls on the 
New York canals, and in 1878 made an exhaustive 
report. He was one of the trustees of the bond- 
holders that bought under foreclosure and sale, and 
reorganized, the Erie Railway Company. In 1879 
he was elected by the associated railways of the 
United States a member of the board of arbitration, 
to which they agreed to refer all disputes and ar- 
rangements for "pooling" or apportioning their re- 
spective earnings. Mr. Wells was elected a foreign 
associate of the Academy dei Lincei of Italy, receiv- 
ing its medal of honor in 1863. He was president 
of the American Social Science Association in 1875- 
79; president of the New London County (Conn.) 
Historical Society in 1880, and of the American 
Free Trade League in 1881. 

Mr. Wells was a prolific writer in pamphlets on 
economic subjects, some of the best known of which 
are "The Creed of the Free Trade" (1875) ! "Pro- 
duction and Distribution of Wealth" (1875) ; "Why 
we Trade and How we Trade" (1878) ; "The Silver 
Question or the Dollar of the Fathers vs. the Dollar 
of the Sons" (1878) ; and "Principles of Taxation" 
(1886). In book form he published "Year Book of 
Agriculture" (Philadelphia, 1856) ; "Wells' Science 
of Common Things" (New York, 1856) ; "Report 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



5i 



of United States Revenue Commission" (Washing- 
ton, 1866) ; "Reports of United States Special Com- 
missioners of Revenue" (4 Vols., 1866-69) ; "Rob- 
inson Crusoe's Money" (New York, 1876) ; "Our 
Merchant Marine ; how it Rose, Increased, became 
Great, Declined, and Decayed" (1882) ; "A Primer 
of Tariff Reform" (1884) ; "Practical Economics, a 
Collection of Essays" (1885) ; "A Study of Mexico" 
(1887) ; "A Short and Simple Catechism" (1888) ; 
and "Relation of the Tariff to Wages" (1888). 

With others Mr. Wells published "History and 
Sketches of Williams College" (Springfield, 1847). 
In Cambridge he began with George Bliss, in 1849, 
the publication of the "Annual of Scientific Dis- 
covery," which he continued until 1866. He com- 
piled "Science of Common Things" (New York 
1857) ; "Elements of Natural Philosophy" (1857) 
■"Principles and Applications of Chemistry" (1858) 
and "First Principles of Geology" (1861), of which 
works two were translated into Chinese, and that on 
chemistry was adopted as a text book at the United 
States Military Academy. 

On May 9, i860, Mr. Wells was married to Mary 
Sanford D wight, born Oct. 13, 1826, daughter of 
James Sanford and Elizabeth Dwight, he a mer- 
chant of Springfield, Mass. After her death, Mr. 
Wells married (second) June 10, 1879, Ellen A. 
Dwight. One son, David Dwight Wells (now de- 
ceased), was born to the first marriage, April 22, 
1868. David Ames Wells passed away at Norwich 
Nov. 5, 1898. 

EDWARD CHAPPELL. The death of this 
gentleman removed one of the best known and most 
successful business men of eastern Connecticut, and 
was a distinct loss to the city of Norwich. He de- 
scended from one of the oldest families in New Lon- 
don county, being a son of Ezra and Wealthy Chap- 
pell, and was born in New London Nov. 3, 1815. 

Mr. Chappell came to Norwich in 1839 and as- 
sociated himself in business with John G. Hunting- 
ton. After a year or two the copartnership was dis- 
solved, and he went into business for himself. He 
made a hard struggle for success, but in 1848 he 
became embarrassed and failed, with large liabilities. 
His creditors had faith in his strict business ability 
and integrity, and he immediately resumed busi- 
ness on a new basis. Enoch F. Chapman then en- 
tered his employ as clerk, and became his partner in 
1863, remaining his business associate for forty- 
three years ; the association was only broken by the 
death of Mr. Chappell. The firm prospered, and 
the business grew to its immense proportions, 
Arthur H. Brewer being added to the firm, he hav- 
ing acquired a one-third interest in the business. 
Mr. Chappell left Norwich with his wife and daugh- 
ter Miss Julia Chappell, for a business and pleasure 
trip to New York. He was as well as usual when 
he left the city, but while in New York was taken 
suddenly ill, and died Oct. 13, 1891, and his death 
was a surprise and shock to his family and the 



public. His remains were brought to Norwich and 
interred in Yantic cemetery. 

In politics Mr. Chappell was a Republican, and 
at one time represented his ward in the common 
council. He was not a man who sought office, but 
office sought him, and he had been urged to accept 
the nominations from his party as representative to 
the Legislature, and as mayor of the city. But he 
always declined public honors, and showed no taste 
or ambition for political or ecclesiastical offices. He 
was a member of Christ Church, and a liberal sup- 
porter of same. He was a man who disliked osten- 
tatious display and the laudation which so often 
marks generous giving. He was a liberal giver to 
all good works, and was a large dispenser of private 
charity, but he placed upon all his personal dona- 
tions the seal of silence, and only those whom his 
bounty blessed were ever permitted to know any- 
thing about it. He was a shrewd business man, and 
as he increased his capital he became interested in 
manufacturing establishments in his vicinity, and at 
the time of his death was the largest stockholder in 
the Ashland Mills at Jewett City ; the largest local 
stockholder in the Ponemah Mills at Taftville ; and 
the largest stockholder in the Falls Company. A 
tribute from a friend published at the time of his 
death was as follows : 

The sudden death of Mr. Edward Chappell, Tuesday 
noon, at the "Marlborough Hotel," New York, fills the 
hearts of a host of friends in Norwich and elsewhere 
with profound sorrow. To know him was to esteem him 
for his* many sterling qualities of character. Among 
business men his strong, active mind won respect, which 
was fully warranted by his more than usual success. His 
sense of honor was of the highest order, and his word was 
considered as" good as a gold-bearing bond. Like many 
another man he had met disasters in his business career. 
At the age of thirty-two years he failed for over one 
hundred thousand dollars. Ten years later, by dint of 
tremendous energy and great economy, he was again on 
the road to prosperity. Unlike many another man, he 
paid his creditors in full and with interest. And in his 
prosperity he took sincere pleasure in saying that he was 
ever grateful to those who treated him with consideration 
when he was down. Norwich has lost one of her most 
valued citizens, who at the time of his death was most 
largely interested in its commercial and manufacturing 
enterprises. The church to which he belonged and chari- 
table societies of the city found a reliable supporter in 
Mr. Chappell, and when he gave he was a cheerful giver, 
and many of his' charities were marked by our Savior's 
injunction, "Let not thy left hand know what thy right 
hand doeth." 

Mr. Chappell married Elizabeth E., daughter of 
Lyman Brewer, of Norwich, and she survived him, 
with two daughters, but all are now deceased. One 
of the daughters, Mary Brewer, married Edwin S. 
Ely, of Norwich, and died March 19, 1895, leaving 
four children. Mrs. Chappell passed away on May 
10, 1897, and the remaining daughter, Miss Julia 
Chappell, died in San Francisco in 1899. 

FRANKLIN NICHOLS, whose death occurred 
Oct. 30, 1890, at Norwich, was widely and prom- 
inently known throughout eastern Connecticut from 



52 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



his long connection with the banking business, be- 
ing at the time of his death, and for many years prior 
thereto, president of the Thames Bank, and for fifty 
and more years engaged in the banking business. 

Born Aug. n, 1805, in the town of Thompson, 
Conn., he was a son of Elijah and Millicent (Brack- 
ett) Nichols. Young Nichols passed his boyhood 
in his native town, and in the public schools of the 
locality received his elementary book training. He 
inherited extensive farming lands from his father, 
and early in life began the improvement and develop- 
ment of these, in this work being associated with an 
older brother until 1840. In that year he removed 
to Norwich, in the same State, where he became as- 
sociated in a partnership with Mr. Eddy in the whole- 
sale grocery business, which was carried on under 
the firm style of Nichols & Eddy. The firm later 
became Nichols & Evans, and, still later, Nichols, 
Evans & Almy. Air. Nichols withdrew from the firm 
in 1844, an d m company with the late Leonard Bal- 
lon engaged in the cotton business, a connection that 
lasted some two years. Ever afterward Mr. Nichols 
was engaged in banking. He had, in the spring of 
1833, assisted in obtaining a charter for the Thomp- 
son Bank, which was organized in the fall of the 
same year, with eleven directors. Of these eleven 
men Mr. Nichols was the sole survivor at the time of 
his death. In 1846 he became identified with the 
Thames Bank at Norwich, with which he remained 
prominently connected until the time of his demise 
— a period of more than forty years, during which 
he was the bank's president thirty-nine years, from 
185 1. He was trustee of the Norwich Savings Bank 
for thirty-nine years, from 185 1, and its president 
from 1879. He was the last survivor of the forty 
trustees of that institution at the time of his election. 
He was one of the Thames Loan & Trust Company 
in 1869, and for several years its president. On the 
organization of the gas company at Norwich, Mr. 
Nichols was chosen a director, and, at the time of 
his death, was the sole survivor of the original board. 
He also served as president of the Gas Company. 
He was one of the promoters of the Bank of Mutual 
Redemption in Boston, and again he survived all of 
the original board. Like the old oak of the forest, 
venerable and grand, this distinguished financier out- 
lived all of his contemporaries. Mr. Nichols, too, 
was a director of the Norwich & Worcester Railroad 
Company. Such a record needs no comment — the 
life of such a man no eulogy. One has only to read 
between the lines to measure the prominence and 
worth to a community of the man. 

On Oct. 17, 1839, Mr. Nichols was married to 
Hannah T. Fairfield, of Pomfret, Conn., and to the 
union came oiie child, Franklin, who is now de- 
ceased. Mrs. Nichols died July 12, 1894. 

BRANDEGEE. For a hundred and fifty and 
more years the name of Brandegee has been identi- 
fied with Connecticut history, and at least since the 
period of the Revolution, the family, and those 



allied with it through marriage, have played a con- 
spicuous part in American history. New London 
has given to the country two sons of the name — in 
the personages of Hon. Augustus Brandegee and 
his only living son, Hon. Frank Bosworth Brande- 
gee — whose achievements have reflected honor upon 
themselves, upon the family name, the city of their 
birth and their country. Each in turn has served as 
a member of the General Assembly of the State,. 
Speakers of the Lower House of that body, and each 
a member of the United States Congress, and both 
as members of the law firm of Brandegee, Noyes & 
Brandegee, of New London. 

Jacob Brandegee, Jr., the progenitor of the 
Connecticut family, came to the locality about New 
Britain toward the middle of the eighteenth century, 
and when only a lad in his teens. He was a weaver 
by trade, and was born in 1729, at Nine Points,. 
N. Y., where his brothers, David and Joseph, were 
also born. The Newington records show his mar- 
riage, on Oct. 11, 1753, to Abigail Dunham, presum- 
ably- a sister of Solomon Dunham, who came from 
Martha's Vineyard to that locality, where he was for 
many years a magistrate and prominent man. Mr. 
Brandegee kept a store at Great Swamp Village,, 
and was engaged in the West India trade, running 
vessels from Rocky Hill. His death occurred at 
sea in March, 1765, when he was aged thirty-six. 

John Brandegee, a descendant of Jacob, and the 
father of the late Hon. Augustus Brandegee, was 
born in Berlin, Conn. He was but a young man 
when he went to New Orleans, where he engaged in 
business as a cotton broker, in which line he ac- 
cumulated a competency. He was an officer in the 
City Guards there, and took part in the famous 
battle of New Orleans, Jan. 8, 181 5, under Jackson. 
About 1818 he came to New London, Conn., and 
here became interested in the whaling industry, and 
was one of the founders of the Whaling Bank. 
Many other local enterprises claimed his interest and 
attention, such as the old Bartlett school, of which 
he was one of the incorporators, and the New Lon- 
don, Willimantic & Palmer railroad, in the building 
of which he was largely interested. He also dealt 
very extensively in real estate. That he had an un- 
usually good bank account for the times is evidenced 
by the fact that in 1820 he advertised in the Repub- 
lican advocate, a newspaper then published in 
New London, for a check which he had lost, and 
which was drawn to himself for $5,000. Soon after 
his removal to New London, Mr. Brandegee mar- 
ried Mary Ann Deshon, and they lived in the brick 
house built by the well known Dr. S. H. P. Lee ; it 
stood on what is now the site of the "Crocker- 
House," with the side toward the street. Mr. Bran- 
degee was a man of remarkable ability and force 
of character, was enterprising and progressive to 
the last degree, and was a leader in the business act- 
ivities of the times. He died in 1857. Mrs. Brande- 
gee was a lineal descendant of Daniel Deschamps,. 
a Huguenot who fled from France on the revocation 






^-^2 




GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



53 



of the Edict of Nantes. Capt. Daniel Deshon, her 
father, was appointed in 1777 to command the 
armed vessel "Old Defence," which was built and 
commissioned by the State of Connecticut for serv- 
ice against the British in the Revolution. Two other 
members of this Deshon family — John and Richard 
— also served with conspicuous gallantry as captains 
of Connecticut forces in the Continental army in the 
Revolution. Through the veins of the Brandegees 
courses the blood of both Puritans and Huguenots, 
one branch of the family tracing back to Elder 
Brewster, of the "Mayflower." Mr. and Mrs. Bran- 
degee had three sons, all of whom inherited the in- 
tellect, ability and energy which characterized their 
father. John became an Episcopal clergyman. Frank 
was a physician and practiced in New London, where 
he died. 

Hox. Augustus Brandegee, like his brothers, 
became a professional man, and was well known all 
over the State of Connecticut as a member of the 
legal fraternity. He was born July 12, 1828, in 
New London, and laid the foundations of a classical 
-education at the Union Academy in that town. He 
completed his preparation for college at the Hopkins 
Grammar school, New Haven, under the tuition of 
the celebrated Dominie Olmstead, and entered Yale 
in 1845, during the last year of President Day's ad- 
ministration, graduating with the class of 1849. 
Although he was necessarily absent during the 
.greater part of his sophomore year, he was grad- 
uated fourth in a class of students, an unusual num- 
ber of whom afterward became distinguished. 
Among these, President Fiske, of Beloit University 
(who ranked first in the class), President Timothy 
Dwight of Yale (who ranked third), Judge Finch, 
of the New York Court of Appeals, and William D. 
Bishop, may be named as conspicuous examples. 
After studying a year at the Yale Law School, at that 
period under the superintendency of Ex. -Gov. Bis- 
sell, and Dutton, Mr. Brandegee entered the law 
office of the late Andrew C. Lippett, then the leading 
-attorney of New London, with whom he soon after- 
ward formed a partnership which continued until 
1854, when Mr. Brandegee was elected to repre- 
sent his native city in the House of Representatives 
of the State of Connecticut. The old Whig party 
was then in the throes of dissolution after the disas- 
trous political campaign under General Scott ; and 
the proposed repeal of the Missouri Compromise 
had stirred the moral sense of the North to its 
foundations. Mr. Brandegee threw himself with 
the ardor of a young and enthusiastic nature into the 
anti-slavery movement. Although the youngest 
member of the house, he soon developed talents of a 
very high order as a parliamentarian and debater, 
and became its leader. He was appointed by Speak- 
er Foster — afterward Senator — a member of the 
Judiciary committee, and also chairman of the se- 
lect committee to carry through the "Bill for the 
Defense of Liberty," a measure drafted by the late 
Henry B. Harrison, subsequently governor of the 



State, the practical effect of which was to prevent 
the enforcement of the Fugitive Slave Law in Con- 
necticut. He was also appointed chairman of the 
committee on the Maine Law, and, as such, carried 
through the Assembly the first and only prohibitory 
liquor law ever passed in Connecticut. Mr. Bran- 
degee was largely instrumental in the election of that 
section of Speakers Foster and Francis Gillette to 
represent the anti-slavery sentiment of Connecticut 
in the United States Senate. 

Returning to his practice Mr. Brandegee was 
elected judge of the city criminal court of New 
London. In the enthusiastic campaign for "Free 
Speech, Free Soil, Freedom and Fremont," which 
followed the anti-Nebraska excitement, Mr. Bran- 
degee took an active and conspicuous part. He made 
speeches in the principal towns and cities of Con- 
necticut, and soon became noted as one of the most 
popular and well known campaign orators of his 
party. He was chosen as one of the electors of the 
State on a ticket headed by ex-Gov. Roger S. Bald- 
win, and with his colleagues cast the electoral vote 
of Connecticut for the "Path-Finder," and first can- 
didate of the Presidential party, John C. Fremont. 
In 1858 he was again elected to represent the town 
of New London in the Connecticut House of Rep- 
resentatives, and in 1859 he was a third time chosen. 
Although selected by his party, then in a majority, 
as their candidate for speaker in 1859, he was obliged 
to decline the office on account of the death of his 
father. In 1861 he was a fourth time elected to the 
House, and was honored by being elected its speaker. 
This was the first "war session" of the Connecticut 
Legislature. The duties of a presiding officer, al- 
ways difficult and delicate, were largely enhanced by 
the excited state of feeling existing between the two 
parties, and the novel requirements of legislation to 
provide Connecticut's quota of men and means for 
the suppression of the Rebellion. The duties of the 
chair were so acceptably filled by Speaker Brande- 
gee that at the close of the session he was presented 
with a service of silver by Hon. Henry C. Deming, 
the leader of the opposition, in the name of the 
members of both political parties without a dissent- 
ing voice. 

Air. Brandegee took a very active part in the 
great uprising of the North which followed the 
firing on Fort Sumter. His services were sought 
all over the State in addressing patriotic meetings, 
raising troops, delivering flags to departing regi- 
ments and arousing public sentiment. In 1863 he 
was elected to the NXXVIIIth Congress of the 
LJnited States as a representative from the Third 
Congressional District of Connecticut, and in 1865 
he was re-elected, and served in the XXXIXth 
Congress. Although the youngest member of the 
body, he at once took a prominent position, and was 
selected by Speaker Colfax as a member of the com- 
mittee on Naval Affairs, at that time next after the 
Military committee, one of the most important. He 
was also one of the committee on the Auditing of 



54 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Naval Accounts, and chairman of a special commit- 
tee on a Post and Military Route from New York 
to Washington. Mr. Brandegee continued a member 
of the House during the four historic years covered 
by the Civil war and the re-construction period, act- 
ing with the most advanced wing of his party, and 
was trusted and respected by his associates, among 
whom were Garfield, Blaine, Schenck, Conklin, 
Dawes, Winter, Davis and Thaddeus Stevens. He 
was admitted to frequent and friendly intercourse 
with President Lincoln, who always manifested a 
peculiar interest in Connecticut, and who was wont 
to speak of Gov. Buckingham, its executive at that 
time, as the "Brother Jonathan" upon whom he 
leaned, as did Washington upon Jonathan Trumbull. 
In 1864 Mr. Brandegee was a member of the 
Connecticut delegation to the National Republican 
Convention, held at Baltimore, which nominated 
Lincoln and Johnson. It was largely due to this 
delegation that Johnson was selected instead of 
Hamlin for the vice-presidency, the Connecticut dele- 
gation being the first to withdraw its support from 
the New England candidate. In 1871, notwithstand- 
ing his earnest protests, he was nominated for the 
office of mayor of the city of New London. He re- 
ceived very general support and was elected, but re- 
signed after holding office two years, being led to 
this step by his large and growing legal practice. 
In 1880 Mr. Brandegee was chairman of the Con- 
necticut delegation to the Republican National Con- 
vention, held in Chicago, nominating Washburne for 
the- Presidency. His speech attracted favorite no- 
tice not only in the convention, but throughout the 
country, and gave him wide reputation as an orator 
and party leader. In 1884 he was again chairman 
of the Connecticut delegation to the Republican Na- 
tional Convention, also held at Chicago, and made 
the nominating speech for General Hawley, the can- 
didate of the State for the Presidency. 

For, perhaps, the last decade Mr. Brandegee was, 
of choice, gradually retired from public life and de- 
voted himself almost exclusively to the practice of 
law at New London ; and although he was repeated- 
ly urged by the leaders of his party to take its' nom- 
ination for governor, and was frequently talked of as 
an available candidate for the United States senator- 
ship, he uniformly declined this and all other public 
offices and honors, preferring to devote his entire 
time and energies to professional work, in which he 
was actively engaged until his death, having as as- 
sociates his only son, Frank B. Brandegee, and Wal- 
ter C. Noyes. As a lawyer Mr. Brandegee was 
ranked as one of the very foremost in the profession ; 
as a politician, one of the highest ability and integ- 
rity ; and as a citizen, one of the most honored and 
respected. His death, Nov. 10, 1904, removed from 
Connecticut one of the strongest men in her history. 
Frank Bosworth Brandegee, son of Augustus 
and Nancy (Bosworth) Brandegee, is a native of 
New London, where he was born July 8, 1864. He 
attended the common schools of his native town and 



was graduated from Bulkeley High school in 1881. 
After this event he immediately entered Yale Uni- 
versity, and was graduated with honor in 1885. 
While in college he took a lively interest in athletics 
and for three years pulled the bow oar on his class 
crew. Following his graduation he traveled abroad 
for a year making an extensive tour of Great Britain 
and the Continent. Mr. Brandegee has also trav- 
eled extensively in his own country, visiting nearly 
every state and territory and Alaska, as well as the 
Hawaiian Islands and Canada. Since 1888, in which 
year he was admitted to the Bar in the county of his. 
birth, he has been settled in the practice of his pro- 
fession in New London, as a member of the law 
firm of Brandegee, Noyes & Brandegee, one of the 
leading and most successful in Eastern Connecticut. 

Mr. Brandegee is rapidly following in the foot- 
steps of his distinguished father, the two careers thus 
far being quite alike, furnishing an example seldom 
occurring in one family. In November, 1888, he was. 
elected to the Lower House of Representatives of 
Connecticut and served with conspicuous ability as 
chairman on the committee on Cities and Boroughs. 
In 1889 Mr. Brandegee succeeded Major John M. 
Tibbits to the office of corporation counsel of the city 
of New London, and for seven years served with 
ability, good judgment and discretion. Mr. Brande- 
gee is one of the most prominent Republicans in his. 
section of the State. He was chosen a delegate to 
the Republican National Convention held at Minne- 
apolis in 1892. From youth he has enjoyed a large 
acquaintance among the leading Republicans of the 
State. In 1894 he was favorably spoken of for gov- 
ernor as the candidate of the younger element of his 
party. In 1898 he was chosen a member of the 
Republican State Central Committee, and the deci- 
sive Republican victory in that portion of the State 
demonstrated that the interests of the party were 
committed to competent hands. He is still a member 
of that committee. Mr. Brandegee was again elected 
to the Lower House of Representatives of Con- 
necticut in the fall of 1898, and on the convening 
of the session following he was chosen the Speaker 
of that body and served with signal ability, making 
a model Speaker. He is widely known throughout 
the State, and by his frank and cordial manner and 
winning personality makes friends wherever he goes. 

At the Republican Convention held at Norwich, 
Oct. 28, 1902, Mr. Brandegee was nominated unan- 
imously as Representative to the United States Con- 
gress from the Third district, as successor to the late 
Charles A. Russell for the rest of the unexpired term 
as well as the following term. At the election which 
followed on Nov. 4th, Air. Brandegee*s plurality 
was 4,183. He was unanimously renominated as 
representative in Congress in October, 1904, and 
elected by a majority of 5,625. He is a member of 
the committee on Naval affairs. 

Of Mr. Brandegee a writer has said : "He is art 
easy and forcible writer, a strong and persuasive 
speaker, and has the courage of his convictions. 





j&' /4404 i*w$ 



n 




Cs 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



55 



His character is unblemished, and his public and 
private life without stain." 

The only other surviving child of Augustus 
Brandegee is his daughter Helen, who is the wife 
of Major M. G. Zalinski, of the United States Army. 

GEER. The family bearing the name of Geer 
is one of the oldest in New London county. The 
lineage herewith given is that of the late Captain 
Nathaniel Bellows Geer, of Ledyard, one of the most 
beloved and highly esteemed citizens of that town, 
and of his son Thomas H. Geer, of Cleveland, Ohio, 
one of the leading and best known local insurance 
agents in the United States. 

The Geers in America are descended from 
George and Thomas Geer (brothers), who came to 
America in 1635, and landed in Boston. Thomas 
settled in Enfield, Conn., in 1682, and George came 
to New London about 165 1, in 1653 settling at the 
place now known as the Geer homestead, which has 
since been continuously in the possession of his de- 
scendants, and which was located in that part of the 
town which has since been set off as the North So- 
ciety of Groton, and is now the town of Ledyard. 
In 1658 he married Sarah Allyn, and they had eleven 
children. From them the line of descent is through 
Robert Geer and Martha (Tyler), Ebenezer Geer 
and Prudence (Wheeler), Robert Geer (2) and 
Lucy (Fitch), James Geer and Sarah (Lewis), to 
Nathaniel Bellows Geer. 

Captain Nathaniel Bellows Geer was the second 
son of his parents, and was born at the Geer home- 
stead in North Groton (now Ledyard), Jan. 31, 
1801. He was reared to farming, which he followed 
in his earlier years, afterward teaching in the public 
schools of Ledyard and adjoining towns. He also 
followed surveying. In 1832 he was appointed to the 
captaincy of the Fifth Company of the Eighth Regi- 
ment of Infantry in the State, and always retained 
the title. In politics Capt. Geer was an active Re- 
publican, and he held the offices of constable, as- 
sessor, tything man, justice of the peace, and treas- 
urer of the town deposit fund. As judge of probate 
he served several successive terms, and on reaching 
the age of compulsory retirement from that office, 
he was continued in charge as clerk of the court. 
He was one of the original trustees of the Bill Li- 
brary Association, and a president of the Poqueta- 
nuck Cemetery Association. In early life he became 
a member of St. James Church, Poquetanuck, of 
which he was an active member until his death, serv- 
ing as Sunday-School teacher, member of the choir, 
player of the bass viol, vestryman, collector, delegate 
to the convention, parish clerk (for sixty years) and 
warden (for twenty-six years). 

The following is from the Nciv York Church- 
man : "Capt. Geer, as he was affectionately styled for 
the half century following his meritorious service in 
the organization of the militia of his native State, 
was a man of mark, one of those whom a commun- 
ity easily counts among pillars of Church and State. 



He combined with the sweet humility of a disciple 
of the Christ, the power which qualifies a guide and 
leader of men. His silent example was a living 
force. Such men as he, combining high ability with 
the modesty which never seeks official promotion, are 
thev who have been and continue to be the 'makers' 
of this nation. And such men as he, as humble- 
minded as they are brave and true-hearted, are they 
whose light of Christian living, shining in a naughty 
world, gives truest glory to Almighty God." 

On Nov. 19, 1837, Capt. Geer married Julia 
Davis, born Feb. 8, 181 4, eldest daughter of Thomas 
and Mary (Shaw) Davis, of Preston, Conn., and 
they had a wedded life of nearly sixty years, Mrs. 
Geer dying Feb. 17, 1896, and Mr. Geer on Aug. 18, 
1898. Mrs. Julia Davis Geer traced her lineage from 
John Davis, of England and" Easthampton. L. I., 
through Thomas Davis and Abigail (Parsons). John 
Davis and Catherine (Talmage), Thomas Davis (2) 
and Mary (Conklin), Thomas Davis (3) and Mary 
(Shaw). Soon after his marriage Capt. Geer pur- 
chased the farm adjoining the Geer homestead on 
the south, and there lived fifty years, in 1887 return- 
ing to the ancestral home, where he passed the re- 
mainder of his days. He was survived by two sons 
and three daughters : ( 1 ) Thomas Henry is men- 
tioned below. (2) Albert D. resides in Binghamton, 
N. Y. He married Alice C. Cook, and has one child, 
Harold M. Geer. (3) Juliette and (4) Mary A. are 
unmarried. (5) Maria Adaliza is the widow of John 
D. Brewster, of Norwich. 

Thomas H. Geer was born Sept. 3, 1840, in Led- 
yard, and there his boyhood days were passed. His 
educational advantages were excellent. After re- 
ceiving a good foundation in the public schools of 
his native town, he went to Irving Institute, at Tar- 
ry town, N. Y. He then attended the State Normal 
School at Westfield, Mass., from which he was grad- 
uated in 1859. At this time he looked upon the 
teacher's profession as his life's work, and he began 
teaching in the Haskell Grammar School at West 
Gloucester, Mass., meeting with unqualified success 
both as an instructor and as a disciplinarian. In 
i860 he was elected to the principalship of the high 
school at Rockport, Mass. His devotion to his work 
was marked, and he was ambitious to equip himself 
further in the higher branches. He entered upon a 
special classical course at Norwich Free Academy, 
where he gave evidence of a deep and logical mind. 
In the spring of 1862 he became a tutor in Burling- 
ton College at Burlington, N. J., and there continued 
through the summer term of 1865. Close application 
to study undermined his health, and he was obliged 
to give up his school work and to find some other 
avenue of usefulness. In April, 1866, he became 
special agent in Eastern Massachusetts for the Char- 
ter Oak Life Insurance Company, of Hartford, 
Conn., and so well did he meet the exigencies of that 
position that in the following October, he became 
resident agent for the company at Cleveland, Ohio. 
In 1876 he added fire insurance to his work, and has 



56 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



since continued in general insurance at Cleveland, 
with spacious offices at Xo. 158 Superior street. He 
has built up one of the largest agencies in that line 
in the city, representing a fine list of companies. Mr. 
Geer is one of the best known local agents in the 
country, and has always been interested in associa- 
tions organized for the benefit of the various 
branches of insurance. He has been secretary and 
president of the Cleveland Life Underwriters Asso- 
ciation, secretary of the Life Underwriters Asso- 
ciation of the State of Ohio ; president of the Cleve- 
land Board of Underwriters in 1894-95, of which he 
had previously been treasurer and vice-president. He 
was active in the organization, and served as first 
chairman of the executive committee, of the Ohio 
Association of Local Fire Insurance Agents for 
three years. In 1903 he served as president of the 
National Association of Local Fire Insurance 
Agents, having previously served as vice president 
of that body. 

In the financial world in Cleveland Mr. Geer is 
well known. He was one of the organizers, and he 
served as vice-president, and a director of, the Sav- 
ings, Building and Loan Company, and when it was 
merged into the present Reserve Trust Company, he 
became a director and a member of the Finance com- 
mittee of that organization. 

Politically Mr. Geer is an uncompromising Re- 
publican. At the age of eighteen he was confirmed 
in St. James Episcopal Church at Poquetanuck. 
Conn., by the late Rt. Rev. John Williams, bishop of 
Connecticut. Since his residence in Cleveland, he 
has been a communicant of Trinity Cathedral, and 
for many years a member of the vestry and Cathedral 
Chapter, chairman of the Music committee and for 
twenty years a member of the vested choir. 

On June 30, 1868, Thomas H. Geer was married 
in Poquetanuck, to Fanny Halsey Brewster, who was 
born in Ledyard, daughter of Hon. John and Mary 
Esther (Williams) Brewster. To this union came 
one daughter, Mary Brewster, who married Edwin 
L. Thurston, a graduate of Brown University, and 
now a member of the firm of Thurston & Bates, lead- 
ing patent attorneys of Cleveland, and they have a 
son, Thomas Brewster, born May 9, 1899. In spite 
of nearly four decades that Mr. Geer has been a resi- 
dent of Ohio, he still has a great love for the home of 
his youth, to which he is a frequent visitor. Suc- 
cess has attended his efforts, and today he stands at 
the head of his profession, honored and respected, 
as a man whose word is good, and whose character 
is above reproach. 

DEACON BENJAMIN WILDMAN TOMP- 
KINS was one of the venerable and esteemed citi- 
zens of Norwich, where he resided for considerably 
over half a century, and occupied a prominent place 
among the best citizens of that city, and a foremost 
position among the successful manufacturers of Con- 
necticut. His ancestral line is as follows : 

(I) John Tompkins was of Concord, Mass., in 



1640, and of Fairfield, Conn., in 1644. His children 
were: Ruth, born April 1, 1640; John, born Aug. 
25, 1642 ; and Nathaniel. 

(II) Nathaniel Tompkins, son of John, died in 
East Chester, N. Y., Sept. 6, 1684. His wife's 
Christian name was Elizabeth, and their children 
were : Nathaniel, Stephen and Elizabeth. 

(III) Nathaniel Tompkins (2), son of Nathaniel, 
married, and he died in East Chester, N. Y., Feb. 
15, 1732. His children were: Edmund, born in 
1702, and perhaps Nathaniel. 

(IV) Edmund Tompkins, son of Nathaniel (2), 

was born in 1702 ; married Hannah , and he died 

June 30, 1783, in Waterbury, Conn., and their chil- 
dren were: Edmund, Else, Hannah, Jerusha, and 
Susanna, the place of birth of whom is unknown ; 
Elizabeth, born Dec. 4, 1735, in Woodbury, Conn. ; 
Nathaniel, born March 20, 1738, in Woodbury, 
Conn.; and Rachel, born Jan. 23, 1740-41: .Mary, 
born March 11, 1742-43; Philip, born May 6, 1748, 
all in Waterbury, Connecticut. 

(Y) Edmund Tompkins (2), son of Edmund, 
married July 10, 1754, Bertha Wetmore, daughter 
of Benjamin Wetmore. The record of his children 
is as follows: Edmund, born May 21, 1757; Ina, 
born Oct. 18, 1758; infant, born and died in 1756; 
Mercy, Feb. 24, 1760; Elizabeth, born Oct. 18, 1761 ; 
Joseph, born Oct. 10, 1763: Philip, born March 25, 
1765; Benjamin, born Jan. 30, 1767; and Frances, 
born Feb. 14, 1769. 

(VI) Edmund Tompkins (3), son of Edmund 
(2), born May 21, 1757.. married Aug. 29, 1783, Lu- 
anda Wildman. 

(VII) Elihu Tompkins, son of Edmund (3), 
father of Benjamin W., was the next in line. 

(YIII) Deacon Benjamin Wildman Tompkins 
was born in Southbury, Conn., Sept. 3, 1808. He 
grew to manhood in his native town, and in 1837 
he came to Norwich, where he became connected 
with the Bozrahville Manufacturing Company, 
where he continued up to 1878 serving as president 
of the company for many years, after which he re- 
tired from active business life. He was a stanch 
Republican, and represented the town in the State 
Legislature one term. On Jan. 6, 1852, he was 
elected Deacon of the Broadway Congregational 
Church, and held that office for over forty-one years 
until his death. He was deeply interested in relig- 
ious work of all kinds, and was widely known as a 
true and devout supporter of the Gospel. In 1869 he 
was elected president of the National Congrega- 
tional Council that was held at Chicago. He was 
much interested in the cause of temperance, and 
was president of the Connecticut State Temperance 
Society for a number of years. His generosity to 
the Church and all good work was best known to 
those who were intimately connected with him. and 
many deeds of charity were hidden — one of his 
most lovable characteristics as any parade of be- 
nevolence or publicity of his goodness was exceed- 
ingly distasteful to him. In all his transactions he 




'A ///// ////// /////////////. '/>///////< 



////////.) 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



57 



-was as upright and straightforward as it is possible 
for men to be, and he left a name unsullied by any 
unworthy word or deed. He died Feb. 3, 1892, at 
his home on Washington street, and was buried in 
Yantic cemetery. 

On April 4, 1830, Deacon Tompkins was united 
in marriage with Miss Eliza A. Album, who was 
born Sept. 23, 1807, in New York City, a member of 
a prominent and wealthy family there. One child 
came to this marriage, Theodosia, who married Will- 
iam P. Greene, of Norwich (a sketch of whose life 
appears below), and became the mother of two chil- 
dren : Augusta Borland and Benjamin Tompkins. 
Mrs. Greene died Oct. 14, 1896, survived by her hus- 
band, who died June 7, 1898. Benjamin Tompkins 
Greene passed away just nine days before his father. 

Miss Augusta B. Greene, the only surviving 
descendant of the subject of this sketch, resides a 
portion of the year in Norwich, the rest of her time 
being spent in travel. 

Mrs. Benjamin W. Thompkins lived to the ripe 
old age of ninety-two years, her death occurring 
April 12, 1900, after an illness of only a few days 
duration. In reference to her death the Norwich 
Evening Record said in part: "Mrs. Tompkins was 
in many respects the most remarkable old lady of 
Norwich. She retained all her faculties up to the last 
day of her illness. Her mind was unusually reten- 
tive, and her memory was as strong and green as a 
person's a score of years younger. She was rigidly 
methodical in her habits, and was a regular attend- 
ant at the Broadway Congregational Church up to 
a few days prior to her death. Neither rain or snow 
kept her away from divine service, and her's was a 
familiar figure in the church, sitting as she always 
did in the family pew, two rows from the front. 
She had been a member of the Broadway Church 
since 1849, and for several years before that was a 
member of the Sachem Street Church, while it was 
a Congregational church. Mrs. Tompkins was an 
honest believer in open air exercise, and within a 
few weeks of her death she could daily be seen in her 
garden in the rear of her house, carefully tending the 
plants and giving directions regarding" the care of 
the grounds. Her open air work she believed was 
the cause of her wonderful activity and excellent 
body health. Regularly she enjoyed her morning 
ride. 

"The deceased's energy found a willing chan- 
nel in many charitable works. She endowed a bed 
in the Backus Hospital, the endowment fund 
•amounting to $5,000, and in many ways needy and 
worthy persons had cause to be deeply thankful for 
her thoughtful generosity and unostentatious char- 
ity. Her interest in religious matters was great, and 
her pride in the growth and prosperity of her 
Church intense. Her Christianity was sincere and 
earnest. Her deeply religious nature, her beautiful 
character and her strong and earnest personality, 
won for Mrs. Tompkins many warm friends, who 
will sincerely mourn her death?' 



William Parkinson Greene (deceased), who 
during his life was one of the best known citizens of 
Norwich, was born in that city March 26, 1831, a 
son of the late Hon. William Parkinson Greene and 
brother of the late Gardiner Greene, sketch of whom 
appears elsewhere. Mr. Greene received his early 
education in the schools of his native city, and in the 
Norwich Free Academy. He also attended the 
Episcopal Academy of Cheshire, Conn., under Pro- 
fessor Paddock. After returning from school, he 
became associated with his father in the manufactur- 
ing business, and was for many years director in the 
Shetucket Mills, and also in the Mills at the Falls, 
and when the Bozrah Mills came under new man- 
agement, in 1879, M f - Greene became one of the 
principal stockholders and a director, and during his 
life he was quite active in business affairs. 

On Oct. 18, 1854, Mr. Greene married, in Nor- 
wich, Theodosia Tompkins, daughter of Benjamin 
Wildman Tompkins, to which union two children 
were born, Augusta Borland and Benjamin Tomp- 
kins. Mr. and Mrs. Greene were members of the 
Centre Congregational Church. He was a stanch 
supporter of the Republican party, but never sought 
office. His death occurred at his home on Washing- 
ton street, June 7, 1898, and he was buried in Yan- 
tic cemetery. He was a man noted for his charity, 
and for his devotion to his family. His only son, 
who was his inseparable friend and companion dur- 
ing life, died just nine days before the father, May 
29, 1898, and he too, sleeps in Yantic cemetery. He 
was a young man of pleasant disposition and was 
much devoted to his parents. Mrs. Greene died Oct. 
14, 1896, and was buried in Yantic cemetery. She 
was a lady of culture and refinement, and found her 
chief enjoyment in her home. 

HON. LAFAY'ETTE SABIN FOSTER, 
LL. D., scholar, lawyer, statesman and jurist, was 
one of New London county's sons whose ripe schol- 
arship, legal acquirements and statesmanship car- 
ried him out and beyond town, county and State 
lines into the nation. 

Born Nov. 22, 1806, in the town of Franklin, 
Conn., Mr. Foster was a son of Capt. Daniel and 
Wealthea (Ladd) Foster, both of whom were also 
natives of Franklin. The mother was a woman of 
more than ordinary intellectual gifts and remarkable 
energy, and was connected by blood with many 
of the leading colonists in this section of Connecti- 
cut. Capt. Foster distinguished himself for gal- 
lantry, and efficiency as a military commander, in 
several of the battles of the Revolution, serving 
under Gen. Gates in the battles of White Plains, 
Saratoga and Stillwater. His stirring patriotism 
and the stories of the war, which formed the earliest 
recollections of his son, probably had much to do in 
establishing indelibly that love and pride in his na- 
tive land which was so manifest in the after life of 
the subject of this sketch. Mr. Foster was a di- 
rect descendant from Capt. Miles Standish, the 



5§ 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



eminent Puritan leader, and also a lineal descendant 
of Dr. John Sabin, a citizen of Connecticut who was 
prominent in the list of its early settlers. 

Young Foster's only inheritance from his parents 
was an honored name and an unstained character. 
He had to depend upon his own resources to gain an 
education, which in his childhood was begun in the 
common schools. At the age of sixteen he studied 
for nine months under Rev. Abel Flint, D. D., of 
Hartford, and during the two following winters 
taught school in his native town. In 1824 he com- 
pleted his preparatory studies with Rev. Cornelius 
B. Everest, of Windham, and in February, 1825, 
entered Brown University, where he was graduated 
in September, 1828, with the highest honors of his 
class. 

The following narrative of Mr. Foster's career 
is taken, owing to its reliability, from the memoir of 
him published in Vol. I, Records and Papers of the 
New London County Historical Society (1890) : 

"Ardent and aspiring, he had decided at an 
early age to pursue the profession of law. Animated 
by an honorable ambition, determined to succeed in 
this controlling purpose, confident in his own ability 
to overcome all ordinary obstacles, from means prin- 
cipally obtained by teaching, supplemented by such 
pecuniary aid as a devoted mother could render, Mr. 
Foster qualified himself to enter and sustain himself 
through college and acquired his profession. At the 
November term of the New London County court, 
1 83 1, he was admitted to the Bar of the county, and 
at once commenced to practice in the courts. The 
early friends of Mr. Foster will recollect that he at- 
tracted attention at that time as a young man of un- 
usual promise, and his future prominence as a jurist 
and advocate was then anticipated. At the time that 
he commenced practice, the Bar of New London 
county presented an array of gifted men, who had 
already won distinction. Goddard, Strong, Child 
and Rockwell, at Norwich ; Law. Isham, Brainard, 
Perkins and the younger Cleveland, at New Lon- 
don ; and McCurdy, at Lyme, were the recognized 
leaders, and were formidable competitors of the 
young aspirant for professional honors. But though 
the task was arduous and the struggle severe, it was 
not many years before Mr. Foster succeeded in win- 
ning a high reputation as a lawyer. He had been a 
close student, not only when preparing for admission 
to the Bar, but also in the early years after he was 
admitted, when he had leisure to familiarize himself 
with the principles of the common law. the statutes 
of the State and the practice of the courts ; so that 
when he was subsequently called to the trial of im- 
portant causes he realized the fruits of the course 
of study, and was prepared to successfully contend 
with men who enjoyed the advantages of a larger 
experience and longer established reputation. Mr. 
Foster's exertions to take a high rank in his profes- 
sion and obtain a lucrative practice were soon 
crowned with success. His retainers rapidlv in- 
creased, his engagements multiplied, litigants that 



appreciated his great ability eagerly sought his serv- 
ices, and not only his rise at the Bar of his county 
but that of the State was marked and rapid. He 
was soon enrolled in the highest rank of counselors, 
and advocates. Even when in the full enjoyment of 
public honors, he clung to his profession. On his 
retirement from the Senate he returned to that pur- 
suit to which he had devoted his early life, and of 
late years has often been engaged in the trial of im- 
portant causes. In the argument of cases Mr. Fos- 
ter's manner was easy and impressive, his voice was 
clear and well modulated, he had a wonderful com- 
mand of language, an adroitness in grouping the 
telling facts developed by the testimony, and a forc- 
ible mode of presenting the same, that had a potent 
effect on the court or jury. All through his long 
and brilliant professional career he so conducted 
himself as to win the respect of his associates at the 
Bar, and to lead the public to place unlimited con- 
fidence in his professional honor and integrity. 

"It was not as a lawyer of rare ability only that 
Mr. Foster at an early age became favorably known 
to the public and won merited distinction. While 
engaged in the study of the law he took a deep in- 
terest in public affairs, and immediately after enter- 
ing his profession connected himself with the Na- 
tional Republican, and subsequently with the Whig 
and present Republican parties. He loved his pro- 
fession, but at the same time he had a laudable am- 
bition to take a prominent part in the exciting" and 
arduous duties of public life. His political friends 
in Norwich felt, if he would consent to enter the 
General Assembly of the State, that they would have 
in him a faithful and efficient representative, and his 
party an able and reliable champion. He was many 
times elected a member of that body — from 1839 to " 
1854 — and was three times chosen Speaker of the 
House. He entered that service in the freshness of his 
youth, and he was called from it to a higher and 
broader field of public duty in the maturity of his 
manhood. He had remarkable gifts for a successful 
performance of the duties of the speakership. He 
was quick, self-possessed, firm of purpose, had an 
iron control over his temper, and thoroughly under- 
stood those parliamentary rules that clothed him 
with authority and commanded the obedience of the 
House. Each time that he retired from the Speak- 
er's chair, the members of the House, without dis- 
tinction of party, bore ample testimony to the abil- 
ity, courtesy and impartiality that he displayed as its 
presiding officer. 

"In 1855 Mr. Foster entered the Senate of the 
United States and remained a member of that body 
twelve years. He was elected its president pro 
tempore in 1865, and held the position until his retire- 
ment from the Senate in 1867. After the assassina- 
tion of Mr. Lincoln and the advancement of Mr. 
Johnson to the Presidency he became the acting 
Vice-President of the United States, and held that 
office while he remained a member of the Senate. As 
the presiding officer of the Senate he maintained the 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



59 



same reputation for great ability that he had earned 
as Speaker of the Connecticut House of Representa- 
tives : and by blandness of language, firmness of 
purpose, and personal dignity, commanded the 
respect and won the esteem of the members of that 
body. 

"While Mr. Foster was connected with the Sen- 
ate it numbered among its members some of the 
most illustrious statesmen that this republic has ever 
produced. Fessenden of Maine, Foot and Collamer 
of Vermont, Anthony of Rhode Island, Seward of 
New York, Trumbull and Douglass of Illinois, Sum- 
ner and Wilson of Massachusetts, Sherman and 
Wade of Ohio, Grimes of Iowa, Breckenridge and 
Davis of Kentucky, Salisbury of Delaware, Mc- 
Dougall of California, and Frelinghuysen of New 
Jersey, were among his intimate Senatorial as- 
sociates. 

"As a scholar, a lawyer and a statesman, Mr. 
Foster ranked among the most distinguished mem- 
bers of the Senate, and the record that he made, dur- 
ing the twelve years that he was a member of that 
body, is one of which the State that honored him by 
placing him there may well be proud. When he first 
took his seat in the Senate the slavery question, 
which had long and violently agitated the country 
had nearly reached its culmination. Mr. Foster 
united with his associate senators from the northern 
States in resisting the arrogant demands of the 
slave power, and by voice and vote sustained the doc- 
trine of human freedom, and the equality of all men 
before the law. In the great struggle to save the 
life of the nation and to preserve our free institutions 
for posterity, from the day when the first Southern 
State attempted to secede from the Union till the final 
surrender of the Rebel leaders at Appomattox, he 
took no hesitating nor uncertain part. All his declar- 
ations and acts, in the National council or at home, 
were such as loyalty inspired and love of country 
demanded. 

"In 1870 the town of Norwich again sent Mr. 
Foster to the Legislature of the State ; he was once 
more chosen Speaker ; and, before the close of the 
session, he was elected a judge of the Supreme court, 
a position which he filled until 1876, when, having 
reached seventy years of age, he was disqualified by 
a provision of the Constitution. As a member of the 
court Mr. Foster so conducted himself as to win 
favorable opinions from lawyers and litigants. His 
courteous manner to counsel, the patient attention 
which he exhibited in the trial of cases, his digni- 
fied demeanor on the Bench, and the strict impar- 
tiality and unbending integrity that governed him in 
his decisions, led the people of the State to hold him 
in high estimation. His opinions, which he gave as 
a judge of the court of last resort, and are contained 
In the recent published volumes of our State re- 
ports, disclose extensive research, great legal ac- 
quirements and a clear, active and. well-balanced in- 
tellect. 

"Other honors were at different times bestowed 



upon Mr. Foster. He was twice elected mayor of 
Norwich ; twice he was the candidate of his party for 
the office of Governor of the State; and in 185 1 his 
Alma Mater conferred upon him the honorary de- 
gree of Doctor of Laws, a distinction eminently due 
to his well-known attainments as a scholar as well 
as a jurist. 

"He was also interested in all that pertained to 
the history of his country, State and locality, and 
from its incorporation, in 1870, to his death, was 
president of the New London County Historical So- 
ciety, evincing an interest in its object, and an en- 
thusiasm in its work, that was inspiring to those 
associated wiith him. His addresses before the 
Society were, like his arguments at the Bar and in 
the Senate, careful and logical productions, always 
interesting and useful, often rising, as in the case 
of his oration at Fort Griswold, to impassioned elo- 
quence. This was but the natural result to be ex- 
pected from a man of Mr. Foster's ability and ac- 
quirements. 

"The friends of Mr. Foster who knew him in- 
timately can bear testimony to the versatility of his 
genius, his untiring industry in the pursuit of knowl- 
edge of every kind, and his familiarity with ancient 
and modern history, and English and American lit- 
erature. His mind was a storehouse of interesting- 
and valuable information ; and his fertile imagina- 
tion, great command of language and easy utter- 
ance made him a most interesting and instructive 
companion." 

On Oct. 2, 1837, Mr. Foster was married to Jo- 
anna Boylston Lamman, daughter of Hon. James. 
Lamman, a judge of the Supreme court of the State 
and a United States senator. Mrs. Foster was born 
March 29, 1808, and died April 11, 1859. To this 
marriage were born two daughters and one son, all 
of whom died in early childhood. Mr. Foster mar- 
ried (second) Oct. 4, i860, Martha Prince Lyman, 
a daughter of Hon. Jonathan Huntington Lyman, 
of Northampton, Mass., a prominent lawyer of his 
day in that State, who died in comparatively early 
life. The second Mrs. Foster shared with her hus- 
band the excitements and interests of the greater 
part of his public career, and has given to the world 
in a most interesting volume, a memorial of him. 
Of this the late Phillips Brooks said : "It ought to be 
in every Young Men's Library in the land.*' With 
her Mr. Foster enjoyed such leisure as he was able 
to snatch from a life filled with political and profes- 
sional obligations. Their chief pleasures were in 
the summers spent at their beautiful home in Nor- 
wich, and in later years in trips to the South in the 
winter. Mr. Foster passed away Sept. 19, 1880, 
and she survived him many years, dying Jan. 20, 
1903. 

"Those of us who through his married life have 
seen him in his home can truly say that he was be- 
loved beyond expression in the family circle, and 
that his house was the abode of generous hospitality 
and of unalloyed domestic happiness." 



6o 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



FARXSWORTH. Through much of the last 
century there have resided at Norwich several gen- 
erations of the family whose name introduces this 
article. Reference is made to the late Dr. Ralph 
Farnsworth, his children and grandchildren. The 
Doctor, himself a prominent man and forceful char- 
acter, practiced medicine in Norwich for almost fifty 
years, came of a prominent ancestry, and married 
into a prominent family — that of Billings. This 
New London county Farnsworth family is of the old 
Groton (Massachusetts) family. Of the Norwich 
branch — that of Dr. Ralph and lineage — this article 
is to deal. From the immigrant New England set- 
tler — Matthias Farnworth — to the present the gen- 
erations in detail follow : 

(I) The Farnsworths in the United States are 
of English origin, and without doubt derive their 
names from one of two places in Lancashire, Eng- 
land, and most likely from Farnsworth, in the parish 
of Dean, not far from Manchester, in Salford Hun- 
dred. Matthias Farnworth, as first written, and 
pronounced "Farnoth,'' appears first in America in 
1657, at Lynn, Mass., but he is believed to have been 
here at Lynn some years before that. He was prob- 
ably married twice, second to Mary Farr, daughter 
of George Farr, of Lynn. Mr. Farnsworth later 
removed to Groton. He died Jan. 21, 1689, at which 
time he was about seventy-seven years of age. His 
widow died in 1717. Mr. Farnsworth was a member 
of the church, as were all his children. He filled 
many town offices, among them those of constable 
and selectman. He was a weaver by occupation. 
His children were : Elizabeth, Matthias, John, Ben- 
jamin, Joseph, Mary, Sarah, Samuel, Abigail and 
Jonathan. 

(II) Benjamin Farnsworth, born about 1667, 
married in 1695 Mary, born Feb. 3, 1674, daughter 
of Jonas and Mary (Loker) Prescott. Mr. Farns- 
worth owned considerable land in Groton. He 
held several town offices, among them that of select- 
man. Both himself and wife were members of the 
church, and their children were all baptized ; they 
were : Mary, Martha, Benjamin, Isaac, Ezra, Amos, 
Lydia, Aaron, Martha, Jonas and Deborah. The 
father died Aug. 15, 1733, and the mother passed 
away Oct. 28, 1735. 

(III) Amos Farnsworth, born Nov. 27, 1704, 
married Nov 20, 1735, Lydia Longley, born June 26, 
1716, daughter of John and Sarah (Prescott) 
Longley, the latter of whom witnessed the murder of 
his parents and several of their children by the In- 
dians, and he himself was captured, taken into Can- 
ada and retained five years. Amos Farnsworth was 
a man six feet, four inches, in height, and of striking 
appearance. He was possessed of much energy, 
and was well-educated for a farmer of his time. 
After the conquest of Canada, when the lands opened 
for settlement, he went thither, engaged in survey- 
ing and received grants of land. He erected build- 
ings thereon and prepared to remove his family 
there. He placed agents on the property and re- 



turned for his wife and children, and took them on, 
but during his absence the agents had through cer- 
tain misrepresentations to the officials of the Nova 
Scotia government had the title to the lands trans- 
ferred to them. He was crowded out and returned 
to Groton in 1774 with a part of his family. The 
Revolutionary war soon followed, in which he took 
great interest, but on Dec. 5, 1775. he and his young- 
est son, Benjamin, were both drowned by the upset- 
ting of a boat in the Nashua river. His widow died 
in 1810. Their children were: Sarah, Rachel, Ly- 
dia, Susanna, Lucy, Amos, Jonas, Mary, Amos (2), 
and Benjamin. 

(IV) Major Amos Farnsworth, born April 28, 
1754, in Groton, married May 7, 1782, Elizabeth 
Rockwood, born April 17, 1757, in Groton, daughter 
of Elisha and Elizabeth (Adams) Rockwood. At 
the age of eleven years Mr. Farnsworth went with 
his father to Nova Scotia, and returned with him in 
1774. Directly on his return he united himself with 
a company of "minute men"' that was organized in 
Groton under the command of Capt. Henry Farwell 
for the defense of popular rights. On the Lexing- 
ton Alarm young Farnsworth marched with the 
company for the scene of action, but arrived too late 
to participate in the fight. Mr. Farnsworth at the 
battle of Bunker Hill fought behind the breastworks 
until they were captured by the British forces ; in 
the retreat his right arm was shattered by a ball. 
In 1776 he was ensign in Capt. Shattuck's company 
at Ticonderoga. The next winter he was in New 
Jersey. In 1780 he helped to organize the artillery 
company of Groton, with which he remained as lieu- 
tenant, captain and major until 1798. Major Farns- 
worth had the reputation of being an efficient and 
very popular officer. In addition to his military 
services he was for several years a deacon of the 
church in Groton, and he served the church in many 
business ways until old age diminished. his powers. 
He died Oct. 29, 1847, in his ninety-fourth year, 
and his widow passed away Dec. 11, of that same 
year, aged ninety years. Their children, all born in 
Groton, were : Luke, Amos, Elizabeth, Ralph and 
Walter. 

Ralph Farnsworth, M. D., was born Sept. 20, 
1795, in Groton, Mass., the fourth child and third 
son of Major Amos Farnsworth. 

After working on his father's farm until he had 
arrived at the age of twenty-one he determined to 
acquire a thorough education. His was naturally a 
strong intellect, and he was able to fit himself for 
college at the Groton Academy in eleven months, and 
entered Harvard in 181 7. There, by sheer force of 
intellect and hard work, he graduated among the 
first seven of the noted class of 1821. This was a 
noted class, inasmuch as many of its members be- 
came eminent men in their professions, among them 
being Ralph Waldo Emerson, philosopher ; Edward 
Kent, LL. D., eminent lawyer, ninth and eleventh 
governor of Maine ; Robert Woodward Barnwell, a 
noted Southern lawyer ; Josiah Ouincy, son of Presi- 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



61 



dent Quincy of Harvard, and fourth mayor of Bos- 
ton ; Oliver Hunter Blood and Cyrus Briggs, eminent 
physicians. 

After graduating Ralph Farnsworth taught 
school for a time at Portsmouth, N. H., where he 
stood so well as an educator that Dartmouth College 
gave him the honorary degree of A. M. in 1825. He 
studied medicine with Dr. John C. Warren, of Bos- 
ton, and took his degree of M. D. at Harvard Medi- 
cal School in 1826, and the thesis which he prepared 
for the occasion was so well appreciated by the ex- 
aminers that it was awarded the Boylston prize. He 
located at Norwich, Conn., that same year, and began 
the practice of medicine, which he pursued with en- 
thusiasm to the end of his life, which came to him 
July 16, 1875. He was a -splendidly developed man 
physically, capable of enduring any amount of con- 
tinuous work, and he was also as well equipped men- 
tally. Dr. Willard Parker spoke of him as "several 
men in one." He brought to his professional labors 
a mind fit for the work, thoroughly equipped with 
all that was then known to his profession, and he 
never ceased adding to his knowledge by carefully 
examining all the current medical literature of his 
time, and making it subservient to the wants of his 
practice. He was unfitted by nature to be a mere 
routine physician, bringing all new discoveries, not 
only in his profession, but in general science, to as- 
sist his work, and he won a reputation for skill and 
capability as a practitioner throughout the State. 
He enjoyed one of the best practices of any physi- 
cian in eastern Connecticut. 

The Doctor took a strong interest in all public 
movements, and was a man of very strong opinions. 
He was among the first to take the position that 
slavery was a great wrong, and was to be attacked 
wherever it could be reached. He did not, however, 
favor the formation of a third political party to se- 
cure the desired end, but thought slavery could be 
best opposed in the old Whig party until the forma- 
tion, by a sort of natural selection, of the Republican 
party, with which he united, and his strong convic- 
tions made him an ardent supporter of it. Such a 
constitution, with such convictions, usually aroused 
opposition ; they did so in this case. Weaker and 
less positive minds do not see things with the dis- 
tinctness with which they appear to the stronger 
man. But he usually expressed his opinions with 
such clearness that they could be understood by all, 
and they were acceded to because his logic was in- 
vincible. Yet he was a man of the kindest heart and 
tenderest sympathies. No man was ever looked to 
by people of all grades and associations in times of 
real trouble with more confidence that he would 
both understand and appreciate their conditions than 
Dr. Ralph Farnsworth. Dr. Farnsworth was a large 
and well-proportioned man, six feet in height and 
weighing nearly two hundred pounds. 

Dr. Farnsworth married, Nov. 25, 1828, Miss 
Eunice Williams Billings, iof New London, the 
daughter of Coddington Billings, Esq., and Eunice 



(Williams) Billings. Mrs. Farnsworth died Sept. 
26, 1877, and is buried with her husband in the 
family lot in Yantic cemetery, Norwich. The chil- 
dren of Dr. Farnsworth, all born at Norwich, were : 
Coddington Billings, born Sept. 9, 1829; Walter W., 
born Oct. 10, 1830; Isabella S., born Dec. 11, 1832; 
William W., born Nov. 4, 1834; Charles, born Jan. 
30, 1836; Noyes B., born April 12, 1839; George E., 
born Aug. 20, 1840; Frederick, born Dec. 5, 1842; 
and Elizabeth R., born May 5, 1845. Of this family 
three sons lived to maturity, Coddington Billings, 
Charles and Frederick. The first named was a prac- 
ticing physician and succeeded his father. He died 
at Norwich, Conn., May 5, 1897. 

Charles Farnsworth, at the breaking out of the 
war of the Rebellion, enlisted Oct. 18, 1861, in the 
1st Regiment, Connecticut Volunteer Cavalry, and 
at once was commissioned adjutant by Gov. William 
A. Buckingham. He was mustered in as captain of 
Company B, and Oct. 1, 1863, was promoted to 
major, on Jan. 20, 1864, being made lieutenant-col- 
onel. This latter commission was revoked at his 
own request, and his resignation as major took place 
May 17, 1864. In April, 1862, while scouting with 
twelve men, he was attacked by a strong force of 
Rebels, and was severely wounded. He halted his 
men and formed them into line of battle, but fainting 
from loss of blood he was brought into camp. Recov- 
ering from his injuries, he rejoined his command. 
He was appointed major as a recognition of his val- 
iant services. His regiment had headquarters much 
of the time at Camp Cheeseborough, Md., and Capt. 
Farnsworth had charge of the camp. 

On July 14, 1863, at the engagement of Bolivar 
Heights, he was ordered with forty-nine men to re- 
connoitre the enemy's position. He did so, charged 
upon a cavalry picket of two hundred men and drove 
them within their lines, capturing many prisoners. 
The enemy, finding that his force was small, rallied, 
and a hand-to-hand fight followed. His horse was 
shot, and he, with twenty-six of his men, was taken 
prisoner and put in Libby prison, where he re- 
mained for nine months. He was then appointed 
lieutenant-colonel, but his health was so broken by 
wounds and imprisonment that he resigned, and 
was honorably discharged May 17, 1864, with the 
rank of colonel, and with the record of a brave and 
spirited officer, well adapted to his arm of the serv- 
ice. The report on Rebel prisons says : 

' Among those who contributed testimony, based 
on personal knowledge, was Lieut.-Col. Charles 
Farnsworth. His letters were of great interest ; his 
evidence on points of fact emphatic, exposing clear- 
ly the suffering and horrors incident to life in Libby 
prison and at Belle Isle." 

In another place the report says : ''Lieut.-Col. 
Farnsworth of the 1st Connecticut Cavalry was also 
an inmate of Libby, and while there did what he 
could to see that those of his command captured 
with him, as well as others whom he knew, shared 
with him the good things sent to him from his home. 



62 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



His thoughtfulness and zeal in this particular were 
remembered with devout gratitude by those who re- 
turned to speak of it, and who felt their own pre- 
servation from death by starvation was due to him. 
When he was exchanged and returned home he not 
only had words of testimony concerning the in- 
human treatment which prevailed at Richmond, but 
he forwarded as early as possible to those he left 
behind him in confinement a box containing such 
things as he knew from experience would comfort 
and cheer them." 

By the time Col. Farnsworth had recovered from 
the effects of his wounds and imprisonment, the 
bitter struggle had come to an end. He married, 
Nov. i, 1865, at Norwich, Conn., Harriet Peck 
Lester, and removed to Savannah, Ga., and was en- 
gaged in rice culture. His death, by drowning, 
caused by the sinking of his boat during a storm on 
the Ogeechee river while en route from his residence 
to his rice plantation, occurred April 15, 1867. He 
left a posthumous son, Charles, born June II, 1867, 
who graduated from Brown University with the de- 
gree of A. B. in 1889, and then took a law course at 
Harvard University. He married Miss Edith Win- 
slow, of Brookline, Mass., and now resides at Colo- 
rado Springs. He has extensive mining interests in 
the West. 

Dr. Frederick Farnsworth, youngest son of 
Dr. Ralph, born Dec. 5, 1842, in Norwich, married 
Nov. 12, 1878, in Philadelphia, Lydia W. Sanderson, 
who died in 1888 in New London. Dr. Farnsworth 
was liberally educated, taking the degree of Ph. B. at 
Yale University in 1864, and studied medicine in 
Bellevue Medical College, receiving the degree of 
M. D. in 1867. During 1867 and 1868 he was pro- 
fessionally employed in the Nursery Hospital, New 
York. He soon thereafter went into the manufac- 
turing business in Philadelphia, where he resided 
until his retirement from active business, in 1887. 
In the latter year he removed to the city of New 
London and has since made his home at No. 25 
Federal street, in one of the old Colonial houses of 
that ancient and historic city. It was the mansion 
home of a member of the old Ledyard family, and 
afterward for some fifty years the home of the late 
William W. Billings, the Doctor's uncle. This 
mansion is one of the generous architecture of a 
century ago. 

BILLINGS. The family bearing this name in 
Eastern Connecticut, itself one of the leading famil- 
ies of that region, has allied itself by marriage with 
the best families there and given to the communities 
of that section of the State and county men of learn- 
ing and achievement. Among these were Codding- 
ton Billings, and his sons — the Hon. Noyes Billings 
(Yale, 1819), lieutenant governor of Connecticut in 
1846; and Hon. William Williams Billings (Yale, 
1821), one of New London's most prominent and 
successful business men. This article deals espec- 
ially with the lineage of these men. 



(I) William Billings, says Somersby, the noted 
genealogist of Massachusetts, came from Taunton, 
England, to New England, appearing first in Febru- 
ary. 1658. at Dorchester, Mass. His name appears 
at Stonington, Conn., among the planters. He be- 
came by grants and purchases a large land owner. 
He died in 1713. and the following knowledge of 
his children comes through his will : William, born 
in 1660; Margaret; Mary; Abigail: Dorothy; Pa- 
tience and Ebenezer. 

(II) Ebenezer Billings, son of William, married 
March 1, 1680, Anna Comstock. Mr. Billings per- 
formed service in the early Colonial wars. His 
children were : Anna, born Oct. 7, 1681 ; Ebenezer, 
Jan. 1, 1684: William, April 4, 1686; James, Oct. 4, 
1688; Margaret, in 1690; Zipporah, April 4, 1693; 
Jemima, April 15, 1695; Increase, May 13, 1697; 
Thankful, Feb. 8, 1699; and Benjamin, Sept. 15, 
1708. 

(III) Lieut. Ebenezer Billings, son of Ebenezer, 
born in 1684, married April 2, 1706, Phebe Deni- 
son, daughter of John B. and Phebe (Lay) Deni- 
son, of Saybrook. Mr. Billings lived in Stonington, 
Conn., and served as ensign in 1721, and lieutenant 
in 1 73 1. His children were: Abigail, born March I, 
1707; John, Dec. 8, 1708; Ebenezer, March 20, 
171 1 ; Phebe, April 4, 1714; Grace, May 27, 1716; 
Ann, Jan. 21, 1718; John, Sept. 29, 1720; Christo- 
pher, Feb. 10, 1725 ; Nathan, April 9, 1727 ; and Ann 
Borodell, April 18, 1732. 

(IV) Ebenezer Billings (3), son of Lieut. Eben- 
ezer, born March 20, 171 1, married (first) Nov. 20, 
1733, Mary, baptized Jan. 26, 171 1, daughter of 
Capt. Thomas and Elizabeth (Sanford) Noyes, of 
Newport. R. I., and granddaughter of Rev. James 
and Dorothy (Stanton) Noyes, Rev. Noyes being 
ordained pastor of the Congregational Church in 
Stonington in 1674. Mr. Billings married (second) 
Mrs. Sarah (Cheesebrough) Geer, born Aug. 14, 
1 71 5, daughter of Samuel Cheesebrough and his 
wife Priscilla Alden, great-granddaughter of John 
Alden and Priscilla Mullins of the "Mayflower," 
and of Duxbury. Mass. The children of Ebenezer 
Billings were : Elizabeth or Abigail, born Aug. 6, 
1734; Sanford, April 20, 1736; Phebe. March 21, 
1738; Ebenezer, Feb. 26, 1740; Rebecca, April 5, 
1742; Gilbert, Sept. 15, 1744; Mary, April 5, 1747; 
and Elisha, Aug. 6, 1750. 

(Y) Sanford Billings, son of Ebenezer (3), 
born April 20, 1736, married, Jan. 24, 1760, Lucy 
Geer, of Groton, Conn., and they died, he April 25, 
1806, and she April 9, 1810. Their children were: 
Ebenezer, born Jan. 21, 1761 ; Sanford, April 15, 
1763 ; Robert, Dec. 15, 1764; a son born and died in 
April, 1767; Gilbert, Nov. 25, 1768; Coddington, 
Oct. 25, 1770; Noyes, March 20, 1773: Lucy, June 
20. 1775 ; James Geer, Oct. 4, 1777: Sarah, July 17, 
1781 : and Washington, Dec. 21, 1783. 

(YI) Coddington Billings, son of Sanford, born 
Oct. 25, 1770, married (first) Sept. 13, 1797, Mrs. 
Eunice (Williams) Wheeler, born Jan. 30, 1767, 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



63 



daughter of William and Eunice (Prentice) Will- 
iams, of Stonington. He married (second) July 18, 
1819, Mrs. Ann (Wilcox) Babcock. Mr. Billings 
died Feb. 6, 1845. His children were by his first 
wife: Coddington, born Sept. 3, 1798; Noyes, 
March 31, 1800; William, Feb. 16, 1802; Eunice W., 
June 15, 1804 (married Dr. Ralph Farnsworth, an 
eminent and successful physician of Norwich, 
Conn.) By his second wife: Ann, born May 14, 
1821 ; Harriet, Jan. 13, 1832; Coddington, Feb. 8, 
1834 (married Nov. 15, 1855, Mary B., born Sept. 
20. 1835, daughter of Charles P. and Betsey Smith 
Williams). 

REV. SAMUEL NOTT, D. D. (deceased), of 
Franklin, was born in Saybrook, Conn., son of 
Stephen and Deborah (Selden) Nott, and was of the 
fifth generation from John Nott, Sr., of Wethers- 
field. It is said that he was favored with an ex- 
cellent mother, "and it is doubtless due to the fos- 
tering care of this tireless woman," says the bio- 
grapher of Rev. Eliphalet Nott, D. D., a brother of 
Stephen, "that the foundations for his future em- 
inence were early and securely laid." This same ex- 
pression no doubt, is also applicable to the subject of 
this sketch. Samuel Nott was graduated at Yale 
College in 1780. "He was licensed at Durham in 
1781, and commenced preaching in Franklin, Conn., 
in October of the same year. His ordination oc- 
curred in March, 1782. From the beginning he gave 
himself with characteristic energy to the labors of 
the ministry. For several years after his settlement 
his health was so feeble that no one would have 
ventured to predict for him a long career. But his 
physical strength gradually improved and during his 
long ministry he was very rarely prevented by sick- 
ness from the performance of official duty. That 
ministry was, from the beginning, one of marked 
success. He has left interesting memoirs of it in 
two published sermons, whose statements need not 
be re-capitulated here. At the time of his settlement 
the church numbered seventy-two. The number 
received into it by him was 427. For forty years 
there was no very marked revival of religion, but 
there were almost constant accessions to the church. 
\\ itli Dr. Nott it seems to have been always seed- 
time and always harvest. By the blessing of the 
Spirit he was ever reaping what he had sown in 
earlier years, and ever sowing what he was to reap 
in the years to come. The years 1821, 1831, and 
1843 were marked by special outpourings of the 
Spirit, and large additions to the church. 

"Of Dr. Nott's characteristics as a man and a 
preacher, it is difficult for one who had no personal 
acquaintance with him to speak to those who were 
familiar with his character and life. His image will 
rise vividly before the minds of many of you who 
have gathered here today as associated with much 
that is most precious and most hallowed in the 
memories of by-gone years. Here are those to whom 
in infancy the seal of God's covenant was applied by 



his hand ; those who even in childhood learned to 
venerate, and at the same time to love him ; those 
who by him were united in the sacred bonds of mar- 
riage ; those who at the funeral of many a loved one 
listened to his words of instruction and sympathy ; 
those who felt honored in receiving him as a guest 
in their houses ; those who Sabbath after Sabbath 
were led by him to the throne of grace, and heard 
the divine word clearly and faithfully explained ; 
some who went to him in periods of trial and per- 
plexity for counsel, and received sage advice, for 
which they have never ceased to bless God and re- 
vere his servant ; and many whose opinions and 
character to-day bear the clear impress of his sound 
and faithful teachings. 

"As a man, Dr. Nott was distinguished for his 
energy and decision of character. The circumstances 
in which he obtained his education illustrate this. 
Until he was twenty years old his life was passed 
in mechanical labor. Then, with little to depend 
upon but his own exertions, he resolved to secure an 
education ; and through many embarrassments he 
persevered until the end. So in his ministry, what- 
ever he did was done heartily and with a will, and 
the momentum of' his own determination carried 
others along with him. For punctuality he might be 
ranked with Gen. Washington himself. He came 
and went, began and ended by the clock, and ex- 
pected others to do the same. He was a man of great 
industry. 'One duty follows another,' was his motto, 
and he was ready for each duty as it came round. He 
accomplished a larger amount of labor than many 
others, because he kept doing while other men were 
resting or deciding what to do. His working power 
was increased by his remarkable cheerfulness of 
spirit, the result both of his native temperament and 
of his Christian faith. With usual serenity of soul 
he passed through the many domestic and public 
trials appointed to him, maintaining habitually that 
rare qualification for usefulness, 'a heart at leisure 
from itself.' In addition to his ministerial labors and 
the cares of a large family, he gave instruction for 
many years to young men placed in his household. 
He fitted many for college, and not a few ministers 
received their theological training with him. Thus 
he became 'a maker of public men.' 

"He was a man of sound judgment, discreet in 
dealing with men, and in managing the affairs of his 
parish ; possessing much of that common sense 
which is often worth more than learning or elo- 
quence, and without which the wisest will often play 
the fool ; skilled in estimating men and things at 
their true value. He was also of a highly affection- 
ate and social disposition, entering readily into the 
joys and sorrows of others, even to the last of life, 
and having a peculiar aptness in introducing relig- 
ious themes in conversation. 'He was a man,' says 
Dr. McEwen, 'whose social affections never wore 
out. Rarely has a very aged minister lived who, 
having buried his generation, could be so social, so 
happy, and so useful among survivors.' 



6 4 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



"As a preacher, Dr. Nott has been thus described 
by one who was a native of his town, and who knew 
him well : 'His sermons were marked by great sim- 
plicity of thought and style, and were devoted to the 
inculcation of the great doctrines and duties of re- 
ligion. He was not learned, but had a quick and 
strong sense, an imagination of sufficient power 
to illustrate his thoughts often by bold figures, and a 
tenderness and fervor of feeling that gave them a 
deep impression on his hearers. He never indulged 
in abstruse speculation, nor wasted his efforts, on 
trifles. In the pulpit he was grave, dignified, earnest 
and impressive, and had eminently the air of an em- 
bassador of God. When animated, his attitude and 
air often became commanding, and occasionally 
thoughts and emotions flashed from his lips that were 
strikingly beautiful and impressive. In prayer he 
was simple, pertinent, and fervid, and he read the 
Scriptures with unusual propriety and force.' — [See 
Sprague's Annals of the American Pulpit, Vol II, 
p. 190, etc.] 

"This church has great reason to bless God that 
such a man was given to, it for so many years of 
usefulness, as its teacher and guide. As it was a 
privilege to enjoy his ministrations, so the recollec- 
tion of his faithful teachings and his faithful life 
should make us all stronger and more true to the 
work which God has assigned us. 

"At the age of ninety-three Dr. Nott was no 
longer able to perform the stated duties of the min- 
istry, and Mr. George J. Harrison was ordained as 
associate pastor in March, 1849. In May, 1852, Dr. 
Nott, at the age of ninety-eight, passed away to his 
reward." — [Sermon of the Rev. Franklin C. Jones, 
Franklin, Conn., 1868.] 

PALMER. For several generations, and all 
through the nineteenth century, members of the 
Palmer family have been engaged in manufacturing 
of one kind and another on the site of the present 
extensive bed-quilt manufacturing plant of the 
Palmer Brothers Company, sons of the late Elisha 
H. Palmer, of Montville, long a prominent citizen of 
that community. These brothers are in the eighth 
generation from Walter Palmer, the emigrant an- 
cestor of their branch of their family, their lineage 
being through Deacon Gershom, George, Gershom 
(2), Elder Reuben, Gideon and Hon. Elisha H. 
Palmer. 

(I) Walter Palmer, who was born in England 
as early as 1598, came with a brother, formerly a 
merchant in London, England, and others to the 
American Colonies as early as 1629. He settled at 
Salem, and was one of the founders of Charlestown, 
where, it is said, he built the first dwelling house in 
the town. In 1643, he removed to Plymouth Colony, 
and with others joined in the organization of the 
town of Rehoboth, Mass. After figuring conspicu- 
ously there and in other points in Massachusetts, he 
finally located in Stonington, Conn., in 1653, where 
he died Nov. 10, 1661. He was twice married, his 



second marriage occurring June 1, 1633, to Rebecca 
Short. His children by the first marriage were : 
Grace, William, John, Jonah and Elizabeth, while 
those by the second marriage were : Hannah, Elihu, 
Nehemiah, Moses, Benjamin, Gershom and Re- 
becca. 

(II) Deacon Gershom Palmer, born in Rehoboth, 
Mass., located permanently in Stonington, and there 
died in 1719. He served in the Colonial wars of his 
time. On Nov. 28, 1667, he married (first) Ann,, 
daughter of Capt. George and Ann (Borodell) Den- 
ison, who died in 1694; he married (second),. 
Nov. 11, 1707, Mrs. Elizabeth (Peck) Mason. His 
children, all born to the first marriage, were : Mercy, 
Gershom, Ichabod, William, George, Ann, Walter, 
Elihu, Mary and Rebecca. 

(III) George Palmer, born May 29, 1681, mar- 
ried, March 24, 171 1, Hannah Palmer. Their chil- 
dren were : Christopher, Zebulon, Joseph, George 
and Gershom. 

(IV) Gershom Palmer (2), born Oct. 13, 1722,. 
lived in Preston. On Nov. 5, 1747, he wedded Dor- 
othy Brown, of Preston, Conn., and their children 
were: Prudence, Dorothy, Zervia, Reuben, Naomi, 
Lois, Esther, Lucretia, Keturah and Amy. 

(V) Elder Reuben Palmer, born June 12, 1759,. 
was ordained a Baptist elder in North Ston- 
ington, and while pastor of a church there re- 
ceived a call to the old Baptist Church at Montville. 
He was its active pastor from May 3, 1788, to Dec. 
2 5> J 793> at which date, a council having been called, 
he was publicly installed pastor of the church, in 
which office he continued until his death, April 22,. 
1822, when he was aged sixty-three years. On Nov. 
16, 1780, he married Lucretia Tyler, daughter of 
Caleb and Hannah ( Barnes) Tyler, of Preston. She 
survived him, and passed away Aug. 15, 1855, aged 
ninety-one years. His children were: Hannah, 
Sally, Reuben, Lucretia, Mary, Caleb, Tyler, Gideon, 
Joshua, Samuel, Gershom, Rhoda, Peter P., Achsa, 
Louisa, Emma and Thankful. 

(VI) Gideon Palmer, born Oct. 2^, 1793, mar- 
ried July 11, 1813, Mercy Maria Turner, daughter 
of Isaac and Anna (Comstock) Turner, and settled 
in Montville, where they owned large tracts of land 
on both sides of the Oxoboxo stream, controlling 
several water powers. In his earlier years, he was 
associated with his father in various occupations, 
among which was the extraction of oil from flax 
seed. While thus engaged he developed and obtained 
a patent for extracting oil from cotton seed, now 
one of the large industries of our country. This 
interesting patent document, which is now in the 
possession of his son, I. E. Palmer, of Middletown, 
Conn., reads as follows : 

The United States of America, To all whom 
these Letters Patent shall come : 

Whereas, Gideon Palmer, a citizen of the Uni- 
ted States, hath alleged that he has invented a new 
and useful improvement in the mode of extracting- 
oil from Cotton Seed, which improvement he states 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



has not been known or used before his application ; 
hath affirmed that he doth verily believe that he is 
the true inventor or discoverer of said improve- 
ment; hath paid into the treasury of the United 
States the sum of thirty dollars, delivered a receipt 
for the same, and presented a petition to the Secre- 
tary of State, signifying a desire of obtaining an ex- 
clusive property in the said improvement, and praying 
that a patent may be granted for that purpose. These 
are therefore to grant, according to law, to the said 
Gideon Palmer, his heirs, administrators or assigns, 
for the term of fourteen years, from the fourteenth 
day of December, one thousand, eight hundred and 
thirty, the full and exclusive right and liberty of 
making, constructing, using and vending to others 
to be used, the said improvement ; a description 
whereof is given in the words of the said Gideon 
Palmer himself, in the schedule hereto affixed, and 
is made a part of these presents. 

In Testimony Whereof I have caused these 
Letters to be made Patent, and the Seal of the Uni- 
ted States hereto affixed. 

Given under my hand, at the City of Washing- 
ton, this fourteenth day of December, in the year of 
Our Lord one thousand eight hundred and thirty, 
and of the independence of the United States of 
America the fifty-fifth. 

Andrew Jackson, 

The President. 
(Seal) M. Van Buren. 



City of Washington, To-wit: 

I do hereby certify, That the foregoing Letters 
Patent were delivered to me on the fourteenth day 
of December, in the year of our Lord one thousand, 
eight hundred and thirty, to be examined ; that I 
have examined the same, and find them conformable 
to law, and I do hereby return the same to the Sec- 
retary of State, within fifteen days from the date 
aforesaid, to wit: on this fifteenth day of December 
in the year aforesaid. 

(Signed) M. MacPherson Berrin. 

Attorney General of the United States. 



The schedule referred to in these Letters Patent, 
and making part of the same, containing a descrip- 
tion in the words of the said Gideon Palmer himself 
of his Improvement in the mode of extracting oil 
from Cotton Seed : 

Be it known that I, Gideon Palmer, of Mont- 
ville, in the County of New London, and State of 
Connecticut, have made an improvement in the 
mode of extracting oil from Cotton Seed, which is 
described as follows : 

The seed being hulled in the usual way is ground 
in an oil mill like flax-seed. About three quarts of 
water are mixed with about 75 lbs. of seed. The 
flour is then put into an iron cylinder and heated 
over a fire until steam is produced. It is then put 
into my patented oil press, and the oil extracted. 



The effect of the process is to extract much more 
oil than in the common mode of pressing the seed 
with the hull on. The oil cakes are also made much 
more valuable. 

What I claim as my invention, and which I wish 
to secure by Letters Patent, is the before described 
mode of extracting oil from cotton seed with the 
hull off, and not in the usual way with the hull on. 

Gideon Palmer. 
Witnesses : 
W. B. Elliot, 
Charles M. Keller. 

Previously Mr. Palmer had invented and patented 
an oil press, the principles of which are used in one 
of the popular baling presses of the present time. 
In time his son, Hon. Elisha H. Palmer, became as- 
sociated with him in business, establishing the cot- 
ton seed oil business in several parts of the South. 
Through this channel he became interested in the 
cotton gin, and established at his home in Connect- 
icut a foundry and machine shop for the manufac- 
ture of cotton gins. Later they added to these sev- 
eral industries the manufacture of cotton twine, rope, 
batting, etc. 

Gideon Palmer was a man of public spirit, and 
favored enterprise in all matters of public interest. 
He was ever aiming and planning public improve- 
ments ; was the projector of the mill privilege first 
occupied by Francis B. Loomis, and afterward by 
R. B. Hooper & Co., and also the water privilege 
afterward occupied by C. M. Robertson on the 
stream next above his own. It was mainly due to 
his untiring energy that a highway along the north- 
erly side of the Oxoboxo stream from the Rockland 
Paper Mill to Uncasville was built. He was a 
strong advocate of temperance and the Abolition of 
slavery, and fought for both with much ardor and 
zeal until his death, which occurred July 12, 1854. 
His widow died Sept. 17, 1870. Their children 
were: Elisha H., born June 23, 1814; Gideon, born 
Oct. 30, 1816; Sarah A., born March 30, 1818; 
Cornelia, born Oct. 14, 1819; William H., born Oct. 
14, 1821 ; Matthew T., born Sept. 26, 1823, died in 
1828; Reuben T., born Sept. 24, 1825; Maria T., 
born July 30, 1830; Joseph C, born Jan. 22, 1833; 
Isaac E., born Feb. 27, 1836, and Herbert F., born 
Oct. 23, 1838. 

(VII) Hon. Elisha H. Palmer, son of Gideon, 
born June 23, 1814, in Montville, married Nov. 30, 
1837, Ellis Loomis, born Jan. 26, 1814, daughter of 
Joel Loomis, of Lyme, Conn., and his wife, Ellis 
Chappell. Mr. Palmer early in life became engaged 
in the manufacturing business in Montville, and 
continued in it through life with success, and while 
thus actively engaged he did not lose sight of the 
interests of his native town, in the promotion of all 
moral reforms, in which he ever took a leading part. 
Party ties had but little weight with him, and he 
was an enthusiastic advocate of the prohibition of 
the use, manufacture and sale of alcoholic liquors,. 



66 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



and devoted much of his time in the last thirty years 
of his life to public speaking in the cause of tem- 
perance. In any office or position where he could 
serve the cause, he never faltered nor failed to put 
forth all his powers to make prohibition a success. 
He was an early advocate of anti-slavery principles, 
and fought against the slavery of the African to the 
last, and lived to see the day when slavery was 
abolished. He was elected a representative to the 
State Legislature by the citizens of his native town 
in 1854, and voted in the Legislature for the "Maine 
law"; he again served in 1864; two years later, in 
1866, he represented the Ninth Senatorial district 
in the Senate ; he held the office of town clerk for 
four years, was selectman for several years, and 
was for several years the nominee for member of 
Congress on the Prohibition ticket for the Third 
Connecticut district. He was president of the Pal- 
mer Reunion Association, and enthusiastically en- 
gaged in the gathering of names of those who were 
descendants of the first American ancestor. He 
was an upright citizen, a good business man, and a 
model father. He had exceptionally good health all 
his life, and his death was unexpected. Mr. Palmer 
died Jan. 17, 1895. His wife passed away Jan. 9, 
1893. Their children were : Elisha L. ; Edward 
A., deceased; Frederick C, born May 18, 1845, who 
married Estelle Darrow ; Mary Alice, born Dec. 26, 
1847, wno married William S. Mitchell; Arabella, 
born March 3, 1849, wno married Joseph S. Lati- 
mer ; Frank Loomis, and George S. 

The Palmer Bed-Quilt Mills are located on the 
Oxoboxo stream in Montville, and consist of two 
stone structures, connected with each other, and 
run by both stream and water power. These mills 
stand, one on the right of the old oil mill built by 
Elder Reuben Palmer in 1798; and the other on the 
opposite side of the stream. In 1797 Elder Reuben 
Palmer purchased the water privilege at this point, 
and converted the old building there into an oil 
mill. A grist mill was added a short itime previous 
to 1814. The grist mill was afterward converted 
into a distillery, which was run by Elder Palmer 
and others, until it was sold to Gideon Palmer in 
1820. The distillery was soon abandoned, and only 
the oil business was carried on. In 1850 Elisha H. 
Palmer and others bought the privilege, together 
with the oil mill, and commenced the manufacture 
of cotton rope, twine, batting, etc., which business 
was continued until the present owners came into 
possession. Elisha H. Palmer, in 1866, built the 
stone mill on the north side of the stream, and great- 
ly enlarged the business. The old oil mill was burned 
down and a small stone one was erected in its place, 
and the factories have been enlarged by Palmer 
Brothers. Mr. Elisha H. Palmer continued to carry 
on the cotton business until his sons commenced the 
manufacture of bed-quilts, when he gave up the 
plant to them, although he retained the oversight of 
a portion of it. 



EDWARD A. PALMER, born in Montville, 
Conn., May 28, 1843, died m nis native town, Jan. 
13, 1899, where his widow still resides. Mr. Palmer 
was the son of Hon. Elisha H. and Ellis (Loomis) 
Palmer, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere. 

The New London Day, under date of Jan. 14, 
1899, in speaking of the death of Mr. Palmer, said: 

"The town of Montville mourns the loss of one 
of its most highly esteemed citizens. In every house- 
hold in the community there is genuine sorrow at 
the death of Edward Augustus Palmer, which oc- 
curred at his home in Uncasville, on Friday evening. 
Mr. Palmer's sickness was of brief duration. A 
week ago, returning home from New York, he had 
symptoms of the grip. He was attended by a phy- 
sician, but the disease proved to be of a more serious 
character and all that. medical science could do for 
him was unavailing. He gradually grew worse until 
death ended his useful career. 

"The firm of Palmer Bros., the extensive bed- 
quilt manufacturers, of which Mr. Palmer was a 
member and practically the founder, has been built 
up into an immense business, and no small part of 
its success is due to the ability and energy of .Ed- 
ward A. Palmer. Mr. Palmer had charge of the 
firm's New York office, and was a most capable 
business man. 

"The deceased had a great love for his native 
town and its interests were always dear to his heart. 
His public-spiritedness is evidenced by the gift of a 
large, sum of money for the construction of an im- 
proved highway, and the part he took in giving the 
town the magnificent schoolhouse at Palmertown, 
which will be an enduring monument to the family. 

"His liberality was one of the unobtrusive kind, 
and was by no means confined to public benefactions. 
His heart was full of sympathy for the unfortunate. 
Many men and women have cause to revere his 
memory for the help he has given them in their time 
of need. 

"Socially, Mr. Palmer was one of the most 
charming men one could meet. He was of a happy 
disposition, and to know him was to love him. The 
fact that he has attained wealth and success in life, 
did not make him one whit the less companionable, 
and the poorest operative in his employ was as sure 
of a kindly word of greeting, as his best customer. 
No one appreciates better the worth of the de- 
ceased than the common people in Montville. To 
them his death is indeed a sad loss. 

"Mr. Palmer owned a beautiful home on the 
banks of the Thames river, a short distance south 
of the Montville Station. He was also an extensive 
traveler, generally spending the winter abroad." 

Edward A. Palmer served his country as a sol- 
dier in the War of the Rebellion, enlisting from New 
York, and was a brave and gallant man. 

On May 28, 1870, Mr. Palmer married Isabelle 
Mitchell, daughter of William Minott and Delia 
(Silliman) Mitchell, the former a prominent attor- 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



67 



ney in New York, and the latter a daughter of Will- 
iam Silliman, and a descendant of Benjamin Silli- 
man, who has justly been called "The Father of 
Natural Science" at Yale University, which depart- 
ment of investigation he created at that famous 
school of learning, where he was a professor for 
some fifty years, his appointment having been given 
him when he was but twenty-three years of age. 
President Woolsey, of Yale, said of him at the time 
of his death: "I think we can truly say today 
(after an interval of nearly forty years) he was 
among all the men who have lived in New Haven 
City during the century, as I think will be conceded 
by everybody, the most finished gentleman, and this 
was true of him in the highest sense. I mean that it 
pertained not to his exterior, but to his character 
and his soul." 

Mrs. Palmer is also a descendant of Roger Min- 
ott Sherman, who was one of the signers of the 
Declaration of Independence. Her father was a 
prominent attorney of New York City, and asso- 
ciated with him in the firm of Mitchell & Bar- 
ney, attorneys-at-law, was Hiram Barney, ex-col- 
lector of the port of New York. Minott Sherman 
Mitchell, the paternal grandfather of Mrs. Palmer, 
was a successful lawyer of New York City, and for 
a number of years served as a judge at White 
Plains, New York. 

Mrs. Palmer is closely related to the Mitchell 
family, from which Hon. Chauncey Mitchell De- 
Pew descends. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Edward A. Palmer were born 
children as follows : Edward Augustus, who grad- 
uated from Thacher's school in California, and later 
entered Yale, where he was compelled to give up his 
studies on account of ill health; Grace Estelle, at 
home ; Percy Silliman, who is associated with the 
Palmer Bros, at their Fitchville mill, and who mar- 
ried Edna Pratt, daughter of George H. Pratt, of 
Norwich. 

ELISHA LOOMIS PALMER, vice-president 
of the well-known corporation, The Palmer Broth- 
ers Company, of New London, is one of the well 
known business men and citizens of New London, 
was born in Montville, Conn., Feb. 14, 1840, son of 
the late Hon. Elisha H. Palmer, and is a member of 
the Palmer family, the ancestral record of which has 
been given heretofore. 

The early training of Mr. Palmer was received 
in the Montville district schools, but he later spent 
a year in the Connecticut Literary Institute at Suf- 
field, Conn., and then took a course in a business 
college at Providence, R. I., leaving the same at the 
age of eighteen years. Going to New York City, he 
was engaged as a clerk in a wholesale house for 
about three vears. 

About this time, the War of the Rebellion broke 
out, and Mr. Palmer enlisted in April, 1861, in 
Company I, 57th N. Y. V. I., as a private, serving 
until the close of the war. During this term of service 



he was a prisoner in Libby Prison for nine months, 
and was in the prison at Columbia, Charlestown, for 
nine months more. He was promoted several times, 
and returned home with the commission of Her ten- 
ant. 

At the expiration of his war experience, Lieut. 
Palmer returned to Montville, and a year later en- 
tered business in New York City, forming a part- 
nership with his brother Edward A., under the firm 
style of Palmer Brothers, commission merchants. 
This enterprise was continued for about twelve 
years, when Elisha L. Palmer returned to Montville, 
and became identified with the extensive bed-quilt 
manufactory, conducted under the firm style of Pal- 
mer Brothers, and in 1900, at the incorporation of 
the above named concern, he was made vice-presi- 
dent, which office he still holds. In 1880 he took up 
his residence in New London, purchasing the well 
known "Mount Vernon House." 

Mr. Palmer is prominently identified with the 
interests of New London and Montville, where one 
of the plants of The Palmer Brothers Company is 
located. He is a member of a number of clubs, 
among them being the Thames Club of New Lon- 
don ; the Loyal Legion of New York ; the Army and 
Navy Club of New York ; the National Arts Club, of 
New York; the Grolier Club of New York; the 
Bibliophile Society of Boston. Mr. Palmer affili- 
ates with the Republican party. He has been a 
vestryman for several years of the St. James Episco- 
pal church of New London. 

On June 6, 1866, Mr. Palmer was married to 
Miss Cornelia Kissam, of Brooklyn, N. Y., daugh- 
ter of James A. Kissam. The children born to them 
were: (1) Courtland K., who married Mary L. 
Rudd, daughter of Arnold Rudd, of New London, 
is associated in the grain and feed business in New 
London, with Mr. Rudd. One son and one daugh- 
ter have been born to them. (2) Adeline E. mar- 
ried Alfred S. Chappell, son of William S. Chappell, 
of New London, and he is associated with the firm 
of F. H. & A. H. Chappell Company, wholesale and 
retail coal dealers of New London. One son and 
one daughter have been born of this marriage. (3) 
Emily Gertrude is at home. 

FRANK LOOMIS PALMER, of New Lon- 
don, Conn., president of the extensive bed-quilt 
manufacturing concern, known as The Palmer 
Brothers Company, and one of the most prominent 
and influential citizens of New London, was born 
at Montville, Conn., June 9, 1851. He began his 
early scholarly training in the Montville district 
schools, but later spent two years at Claverack-on- 
the-Hudson, New York. Returning home from the 
latter institution at the age of seventeen years, he 
took up the manufacturing line, becoming associated 
with his brothers, and has continued the extensive 
manufacturing interests, greatly enlarging the field 
of operation. 

At the age of sixteen years Mr. Palmer made 



68 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



an extended western business trip, covering many 
of the largest cities in the interests of his father's 
output. In 1900, the firm of Palmer Brothers was 
incorporated, and Mr. Frank Loomis Palmer was 
elected president, an office he has since held. 

Socially Mr. Palmer is a member of a number of 
clubs, among which may be mentioned the Thames 
Club, of New London. He affiliates with the Re- 
publican party. 

On May 16, 1876, Mr. Palmer married Miss 
Louisa Townsend, daughter of Samuel Townsend, 
of Yicksburg, Miss. The children born of this mar- 
riage are : Charles Townsend, who attended Brown 
University for two years, and is now associated 
with Palmer Bros. ; and Theodora and Virginia, 
both at home. 

The business of The Palmer Brothers Company 
has, by their industry, ingenuity, tact and ability, 
developed from a small beginning into one of large 
proportions. At first the work was done by hand, 
the sewing of the goods being done at the homes of 
the farmers by their wives and daughters. Grad- 
ually they brought machinery and inventions into 
use until the corporation is now able to compete with 
the world in quality and in price in their line of man- 
ufacture. 

GEORGE S. PALMER, youngest son of the 
late Hon. Elisha H. Palmer, and one of the prom- 
inent manufacturers of eastern Connecticut, was 
born March 20, 1855, in Montville. He received his 
education in the schools of his native town, later 
attending the Norwich Free Academy, where he 
prepared for Yale, and entering that institution, he 
graduated from the academic department in 1878. 
He then returned to Montville. and became asso- 
ciated with his brothers in the Palmer Brothers' 
corporation, continuing his interests in that organ- 
ization to this day. In 1880 Mr. Palmer removed 
to Norwich, where he lived until 1904, when he re- 
moved to Pequot avenue in New London. 

On Dec. 10, 1879, Mr. Palmer married Ida 
Amelia Cook, born Aug. 10, 1855, daughter of 
Dwight and Abbie (Avery) Cook, the former a 
successful citizen of Norwich. Mrs. Palmer died 
June 7, 1896. Two children were born of this mar- 
riage : Arthur Cook, who died in infancy ; Howard 
Palmer, born Nov. 28, 1883, attended' the Free 
Academy, and is now a student at Yale. On Sept. 
17, 1 90 1, Mr. Palmer was married to Neva L. Fen- 
no, of Geneseo, N. Y., daughter of Willis W. and 
Annie (Clark) Fenno. One child has been born to 
them, Neva, born Aug. 11, 1902. Mr. Palmer, like 
the other members of his family, is a Republican, 
but has never sought office. While at Yale, he be- 
came a member of D. K. E. and Phi Beta Kappa 
fraternities. 

In addition to his connection with The Palmer 
Bros. Company, Mr. Palmer is a director of the 
Thames National Bank, and of the Uncas National 
Bank ; is a member of the board of trustees of Otis 



Library ; one of the corporators of the William W. 
Backus Hospital ; a director and one of the organ- 
izers of the Broadway Theatre Corporation. He is 
a vice-president of the board of trustees of the Con- 
necticut Agricultural College, and is also one of the 
trustees of the Free Academy at Norwich. He is a 
member of Park Congregational Church, Norwich. 
Mr. Palmer is one of the influential business men 
and public-spirited citizens of New London county. 
He is not only successful and prominent, but he is 
honored for his many excellent traits of character, 
and is recognized as one of the most representative 
men of New London county. 

OTHNIEL GAGER, in his life time an honored 
and esteemed citizen who served as town clerk of 
Norwich for forty-nine years, descended from one 
of the oldest families of the county. 

The founder of the family of Gager in America 
was Dr. William Gager, who came to the United 
States in 1630, with Gov. Winthrop, and died the 
same year, from disease contracted at sea from poor 
diet, many of the emigrants dying from the same 
malady. Contemporary records speak of Dr. Gager 
as a skillful surgeon, a right godly man and one of 
the deacons of the church. His son John, the only 
child that has been traced, was one of the company 
that settled at New London with John Winthrop, 
the younger, and his name is found on the earliest 
extant list of inhabitants. John Gager(i)had a grant 
from the town of New London of a farm of 200 
acres, east of the river, near the straits, now in Led- 
yard. Conn., to which he removed soon after 1650, 
and there dwelt until he joined in the settlement of 
Norwich, removing thither. His house lot in the 
new town bears the date of the oldest survey, No- 
vember, 1659. In 1674 and 1688 he was constable 
of Norwich. He died Dec. 10, 1703, at an old age, 
leaving two sons and one daughter, one of the 
former being Samuel Gager. 

Samuel Gager was a man of good repute and 
considerable estate, a resident of the parish of New 
Concord (now Bozrah), Conn., but was interred, at 
his own request, in the old, neglected graveyard in 
the town of New London. In 1695, he married Mrs. 
Rebecca (Lay) Raymond, w T idow of Daniel Ray- 
mond. Their children were : Elizabeth ; John ; Sam- 
uel ; William, who graduated from Yale College in 
1721, and was pastor at Lebanon, Conn., until his 
death, in 1739; Sarah; Simon; and Rebecca. 

John Gager (2), son of Samuel, was a farmer, 
who located at what is now North Franklin, Conn. 
He married Jerusha Barstow, and their children 
were : Jerusha, John, Jason, Samuel, Lydia, Daniel, 
Simon, Aaron and Levi. 

John Gager (3), son of John, was born in what 
is now Franklin, and there resided all his life, fol- 
lowing the occupation of farmer on the farm now 
owned and occupied by his granddaughter, Mrs. 
Elizabeth E. Hyde. He was prominent in town af- 
fairs, having held a number of the local offices. His 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



69 



death occurred Nov. 10, 1817, when he was aged 
eighty-one years. He was married first to Lydia 
Avery, who died Nov. 9, 1785, aged forty-seven 
years. Their children were : Irene, who died young ; 
Lydia, who married Cherub Abell; John, who died 
unmarried ; Asenath, who married Greene McCall, 
of Lebanon ; Othniel ; Amos, who married Sarah 
Throop, and had a son, Dan T., who located in Leb- 
anon (a granddaughter, Kate E., is wife 'of W. L. 
L. Spencer, of that town) ; a son that died in in- 
fancy ; and Alvan and Annie, who both died young. 
The second wife of John Gager was Phebe Hyde, 
who died Oct. 24, 1838, aged eighty-three years. 
To this marriage were born : Phebe, who lived to 
an old age, and died unmarried ; Hermon, who mar- 
ried (first) Elizabeth Hartshorn, and (second) 
Emeline Gager (one of his two children by his 
second wife is Elizabeth E., now the widow of 
Joseph Isham Hyde, residing at North Franklin, to 
whom we are indebted for the data pertaining to the 
Gager family) ; and Job, who died unmarried at the 
age of ninety years. 

Othniel Gager, son of John (3), was born Aug. 
25, 1769. By occupation he was a farmer, and he 
also operated a sawmill. He died at his home in 
North Franklin April 18, 184.1, at an advanced age, 
and was buried in the Gager cemetery there. He 
was a member of the Franklin Congregational 
Church. His wife, who was Rebecca Rudd, of 
Franklin, survived him, and died March 30, 1857, 
aged ninety years. Their children, two in number, 
were Becca (Rebecca), who died young; and Oth- 
niel. 

Othniel Gager, son of Othniel and Rebecca, was 
born in North Franklin, Jan. 11, 1794, and he re- 
ceived a good education in the district schools, and 
in a select school on Franklin Hill, kept by Rev. 
Samuel Nott, D. D. Owing to a frail constitution 
in early life, he found farm work too taxing for his 
strength, and he was obliged to follow some less 
strenuous occupation. He began teaching school in 
his native town, and later taught in the towns of 
Preston and Norwich. For some time after he 
quit teaching, he was employed as an accountant 
and in similar clerical work, but this work, prevent- 
ing as it did any original effort on his part, was not 
particularly congenial, and he determined to enter 
the business world for himself. He then engaged in 
the crockery business with Horatio Willes, under the 
firm name of Willes & Gager, their store being lo- 
lated on Water street. Later in the same line his 
partner was R. M. Havens, when the firm was 
known under the name of Gager & Havens. Mr. 
Gager was a man who made a thorough study of 
whatever he undertook, and when he entered busi- 
ness for himself, he mastered every detail, kept him- 
self posted on all the work, and by his ability and 
painstaking care made a success of his line. His 
obligations were promptly met, and he stood high in 
commercial circles for his open, honest methods, and 
his unwavering personal integrity. 



First a Whig, and then a Republican, Mr. Gager 
was a power in his party. He held decided views 
on the public questions, and never allowed his per- 
sonal advancement or prosperity to prejudice him in 
favor of any measure he did not deem absolutely 
just to every other interested citizen. In 1839 ne 
was elected town clerk of Norwich, and held that 
office continuously for the remarkable period of 
forty-nine years, relinquishing it in 1888. This 
period marks the longest term in that office ever 
served by an individual in the county, if not in the 
State. During this time Mr. Gager was elected town 
treasurer and agent of the town deposit fund, which 
positions he held at the time of his death. The pub- 
lic interests confided to his keeping were held as a 
sacred trust, and he never allowed anything to in- 
terfere with the conscientious performance of these 
duties. A local paper said of him at the time of his 
death: "Mr. Gager's life was quiet and uneventful, 
but it was that of a truly honest, honorable, modest, 
industrious and model citizen. He was also a model 
town clerk, and it has been well said that his best 
monument is the 'forty nine volumes of records in 
the town vaults,' which for accuracy, neatness and 
precision of writing, are hardly to be equalled any- 
where." For a man of his age he accomplished his 
work with remarkable endurance, nor did the ad- 
vancing years make him more careless — his last 
work in no way giving evidence of any laxity in the 
methodical manner that characterized it from the 
start. In his religious views he was a Congregation- 
alist, first uniting with the Second Congregational 
Church at Norwich, later transferring to the Broad- 
way Church, when it was organized in 1842. He 
was a strict churchman, and always gave as liber- 
ally as his means permitted. For many years he 
held the office of deacon ; but when the infirmities 
of age prevented his assuming too many burdens, 
he resigned. His mind remained unclouded to the 
last, and he died June 15, 1889, a man honored by 
all who knew him. He was buried in the Gager 
cemetery at North Franklin. The three selectmen 
and town clerk acted as pall bearers, and the flag 
on the city hall floated at half mast. 

Othniel Gager was twice married. On Oct. 12, 
1820, he wedded Free love Ayer, who was born in 
Franklin, a daughter of Bailey Ayer. Of the three 
children born of the union, the first and third, Re- 
becca R. and John, died young; the second, Oliver 
A., who married Mary Willard, became a well known 
and prosperous manufacturer of crockery and china, 
and was associated with the Havilands, but he died 
in Brooklyn, N. Y., in 1889. For his second wife, 
on Jan. 28, 1827, Othniel Gager married Eliza 
Backus, who was born Nov. 10, 1801, a daughter of 
Oliver and Dice (Hyde) Backus, of Bozrah ; she 
died in 1883, aged eighty-two years. Two children 
blessed this union ; ( 1 ) Freelove Eliza was born 
Dec. 5, 1827. (2) Rebecca Rudd, born Dec. 7, 
1839, is the widow of Alfred A. Peck, a successful 
insurance man, who was engaged in business in New 



70 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



York, but who resided in Brooklyn, where he died 
Dec. 10, 1896. Their two children were: Helen G., 
who died young ; and Alfred C, a promising young 
man who died in early manhood. 

On Dec. 20, 1847, Freelove Eliza Gager was 
married to Samuel Hyde Johnson, and their chil- 
dren were : Abbie E., widow of Henry A. Speeler, 
of Norwich ; Samuel Hyde, Jr., employed in Xew 
York, by G. F. Bassett & Co., crockery dealers ; and 
Lillian R. and Frederick, at home. 

Samuel Hyde Johxsox was born in Franklin, 
Aug. 30, 1822, son of Capt. Oliver and Abigail 
(Hyde) Johnson. For many years he was engaged 
in the crockery business both as a manufacturer 
and as a salesman. He made the trip to California 
in 1852, but remained only a year or so. Later he 
returned to the Golden Gate and engaged in the 
lumber business. He died near San Francisco July 
20, 1878, and was buried at San Rafael, Cal. Airs. 
Johnson and her family reside in Norwich, at the late 
home of her father, the lamented Othniel Gager, and 
they also have a pleasant summer home situated on 
a high hill in North Franklin. Airs. Johnson is a 
representative of an old and honored family, and 
though crowned with more than three score years 
and ten, is an active, gracious mistress of a cultured 
home, and she is greatly beloved in the city she has 
known so many years. 

HON. JONATHAN NEWTON HARRIS, 
late of New London, merchant and philanthropist, 
whose death occurred Oct. 18, 1896, was long one 
of that city's foremost business men and useful 
citizens. Born Nov. 18, 1815, in the town of Salem. 
Conn., Air. Harris was a son of Jonathan and Lu- 
anda (Jones) Harris, farming people of that town. 
and in the paternal line a descendant in the sixth 
generation from James Harris, of Boston, from 
whom his lineage is through Lieut. James, Jonathan, 
Nathaniel and Jonathan Harris (2). These gener- 
ations in detail follow in the order named. 

(I) James Harris, of Boston, born about 1640, 
married, in 1666, Sarah Denison, of that place. The 
births of seven of their eleven children are recorded 
in Boston ; all excepting one who died an infant and 
the youngest three were baptized in "Old South 
Meeting House," Boston, in 1683. Air. Harris and 
his wife and all three of their sons — James, Asa and 
Ephraim — came from Boston to New London, 
Conn., about 1690. Issue (Boston record) : Sarah, 
born Alarch 2, 1668; Deborah, born July, 1670: 
James, born April 4, 1673 ; Alargaret, born Jan. 16, 
1675 J Alan-, born Feb. 3, 1677 ; Elizabeth, born in 
June. 1678; Asa, born Nov. 10, 1680; Hannah, born 
April 22, 1682; Ephraim born in Alay, 1684: Alary 
(2), born in June, 1686 ; and Ephraim (2), born July 
11, 1688. 

(II) Lieut. James Harris, born April 4, 1673, 
married, in 1696, Sarah, born in 1676, daughter of 
Samuel Rogers of New London. She died Nov. 13, 
1748, and he married (second) in 1750 Widow 



Sarah Jackson (nee Harris), daughter of Lieut. 
Joseph Harris, of New London. In 1698 Air. Harris 
removed to Alohegan and settled on a tract of land 
granted by Owaneco to his wife Sarah, adjoining 
the lands of her father, who had already settled 
there, being the first white settler, in about 167 1. 
Lieut. Harris, weaver and husbandman, became an 
extensive landholder. Between the several genera- 
tions of the Sachems and the Rogers family their 
existed a strong and intimate friendship, and in this 
family relation James Harris and his wife, Sarah,, 
warmly participated. Owaneco and his successors 
were lavish in their grants of land to Lieut. Harris 
and his wife. In 17 14 Air. Harris was commis- 
sioned lieutenant of the North Company of New 
London, and by this title was ever known, although 
afterward he was commissioned captain of a com- 
pany in Colchester. He removed in 17 18 to the 
south part of Colchester, now Salem, and there con- 
tinued to live until a short time before his death, in 
1757. He was a man of position and importance in 
his town, was selectman of Colchester in 1730, 1731 
and afterward, and served in relations of importance 
in public affairs. Lieut. Harris and his wife were 
admitted to the Alontville Church in 1732. He died 
Feb. 10, 1757. His second wife died Oct. 8, 1752. 
His children, all born to the first marriage, were : 
Sarah, born Sept. 27, 1697; James, born Jan. 26, 
1699 > Mary, born Nov. 1. 1702 ; Jonathan, born June 
15, 1705 ; Alpheus, born Feb. 29, 1708 ; Abigail, born 
Alay 17, 1711; Lebbeus, born Aug. 11, 1713 ; Al- 
pheus (2), born Aug. 31, 1716; and Delight, born 
Oct. 17, 1720. 

(III) Jonathan Harris, born June (or Jan.) 15, 
1705, in Alohegan. now Alontville, married July 28„ 
1735, Rachel, daughter of Hon. Joseph Otis, of what 
is now Alontville, and a man of distinguished serv- 
ices who came from Scituate and became a large 
landholder in a number of towns in Connecticut. 
Air. Harris and his wife settled at first in Salem. 
He was admitted a freeman in Colchester Sept. 3, 
1739, and in 1756 and several other years served as 
selectman. He was a man of commanding force 
and dignity of character, and fine personal presence. 
His wife Rachel was a woman of marked natural 
abilities, a noble mate to her husband. Both died in 
September, 1761. Their children were: Alpheus, 
born Alarch 22, 1736: Rachel, born Sept. 30. 1737; 
Jonathan, born June 6, 1739 ; James, born Dec. 13, 
1740; Nathaniel, born April 2, 1743; Hannah, born 
Oct. 13, 1746; Abigail, born Dec. 22, 1748; Bethia^ 
born Sept. 14, 1752; Joseph, born Oct. 17. 1754; 
Alary, born Jan. 1, 1756; Ruth Ann. born Alay 10, 
1758; and Delight and Dolly, born in 1760. 

(IV) Capt. Nathaniel Harris, born April 2, 1743,. 
in Salem Parish, Colchester, married Feb. 1, 1764, 
Alary, daughter of Samuel Tozer, of Colchester. 
They settled on the old Harris homestead in Salem 
Parish, now Salem town, where they lived and died, 
and where all their children were born. Air. 
Harris was a farmer. He served in the Revolution 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



in the summer and fall of 1777 for at least six 
months. He is said to have been a proud and high- 
toned man — proud of his lineage and blood ; proud 
of his little wife and of his daughters ; proud of his 
farm stock, etc. Of stalwart form and stately bear- 
ing, he was ever tender and gentle as a belted knight 
to all womankind and to children ; but among men 
he was dignified, austere and even imperious and 
lordly. He died March 12, 18 12, and his widow 
died March 22, 1834. Their children were : Leb- 
beus, born Sept. 19, 1764; Joel, born July 8, 1766; 
Lois, born July 1, 1768; Mary, born Sept. 14, 1770; 
Sarah, born Sept. 10, 1772; Maria, born Feb. 3, 
1775; Nathaniel, born Feb. 24, 1777; Samuel, born 
Dec. 10, 1780; Rachel, born Jan. 17, 1783; Lydia, 
born Nov. 16, 1784 ; Hannah A., born Sept. 19, 
1786; and Jonathan, born Aug. 21, 1788. 

(V) Jonathan _ Harris, born Aug. 21, 1788, in 
Salem, Conn., married April 7, 1813, Louisa Jones 
born Oct. 27, 1794, daughter of Capt. Daniel Jones, 
of Salem, and settled on the old Harris homestead of 
his father and grandfather in Salem, as a farmer. 
There he died April 28, 1850. His widow died July 
13, 1861, in Rockville. Their thirteen children were: 
Louisa M., born Feb. 28, 1814; Jonathan N., born 
Nov. 18, 1815; Fannie L., born May 3, 1818; Leb- 
beus, born March 14 1820; Mary A., born April 15, 
1822; Joel, born April 15, 1824; Caroline L., born 
Sept. 18, 1826; Nathaniel, born Feb. 3, 1828; Na- 
thaniel (2), born June 2, 1829; Henry Wesley, born 
Dec. 24, 1 83 1 ; William W., born Aug. 20, 1835; 
George W., born Aug. 16, 1837; and Robert H., 
born March 6, 1842. 

The career of Jonathan Newton Harris, the sub- 
ject proper of this article, affords a striking ex- 
ample of what is within the possibilities of any 
American boy, and its simple story is an encourag- 
ing example to the youth of our land and an inspira- 
tion. Reared to toil and on a small and hard farm, 
he was placed when in his seventeenth year as a 
clerk in a small country variety store in Hamburg, 
Conn., where he remained some two years. From 
1836 to 1838 he was a clerk in the grocery store of 
Smith & Cady, of New London. In the latter year,- 
with a capital of $100 only, he engaged in the gro- 
cery business on his own account and was success- 
ful in its conduct. In 1844 ne to °k into partnership 
with him his brother-in-law, George W. Brown, the 
business being conducted under the firm name of 
Harris & Brown. This partnership continued until 
1848, in which year Mr. Harris became sole owner of 
the business and carried it on alone until 1853, m tne 
meantime greatly extending it and adding a large 
line of farm tools and agricultural implements, and 
also hardware, iron, steel, etc., of his own importa- 
tion, he being the first direct importer of these ar- 
ticles in New London. In 1853 Mr. Harris asso- 
ciated others with him in the business, the firm title 
becoming Harris, Ames & Co., and in 1857 the firm 
changed to Harris, Williams & Co., and continued 
with increasing success in the business until 1865, 



when Mr. Harris retired from merchandising with 
a handsome fortune. 

In June, 1848, Mr. Harris, in company with Mr. 
Perry Davis, of Providence, R. I., established the 
extensive medical house of J. N. Harris & Co., at 
Cincinnati, Ohio, a concern which has continued in 
business for upward of fifty years, and been emi- 
nently successful ; and from 1862 to 1873 Mr. Har- 
ris was a partner and the capitalist of the firm of 
Hill & Harris, owners and operators of the cele- 
brated "Hill & Harris" coal mine in Pennsylvania, 
which was another success. 

For forty and more years Mr. Harris was an ac- 
tive director in the Bank of Commerce, later the 
National Bank of Commerce, at New London. In 
1876 he was elected president of the New London 
City National Bank, and sustained such relations to 
it from that time on until his death. He was one of 
the organizers of the Fellows Medical Manufactur- 
ing Company, of Montreal, Canada, with branches 
in New York and London, England, and for several 
years was its president. He was a director in the 
Davis & Lawrence Company of Montreal, a director 
in the New London Northern Railroad Company, 
in the New London Steamboat Company and in 
other companies. 

Mr. Harris was a member of the city government 
of New London for a number of years and mayor of 
the city from 1856 to 1862. He represented New 
London in the Connecticut Assembly in 1855, and 
served as a member of the joint standing committees 
on Banks and Finance. In 1864 he served ably and 
effectively as State senator from the New London 
district, and was chairman of the joint standing com- 
mittee on Banks. 

In religious work and educational matters Mr. 
Harris ever took a deep interest. He was an early 
and firm friend of the late evangelist Dwight L. 
Moody, and aided materially in founding Mount 
Hermon School and Northfield Seminary. He was 
chosen president of the board of trustees of this in- 
stitution in the autumn of 1893. "This honor," said 
the College paper, "is a most fitting one to bestow 
upon him because of his long connection with the 
school as trustee, and his untiring interest and aid 
in its development. A more satisfactory choice could 
not have been made. As students of Mount Hermon 
we feel that the interests of our school will be looked 
after under a president so eminently fitted for that 
position in the management — and we hope he may be 
spared to us many years to aid in the fuller develop- 
ment of the institution which he knows from its in- 
ception." 

Mr. Harris took a deep interest in the religious 
and educational work in Japan. In 1889 he founded 
and endowed the Harris School of Science, the 
scientific department of the Doshisha University at 
Kioto, Japan, his contribution amounting to $100,- 
000. The School of Science was opened in 1890. 
Mr. Harris built and presented to the city of New 
London the Memorial Hospital which was opened 



7^ 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Aug. i. 1893. The Harris Building in New Lon- 
don stands as a monument of his public spirit and 
enterprise. In 1875 Mr. Harris was made chairman 
of the State Executive Committee of the Y. M. C. 
A. of the State of Connecticut, and he devoted him- 
self to the high objects of that association with a 
liberality, energy and zeal even more fervent and 
effective than he ever manifested in his own private 
enterprises. He was a charter member of the Con- 
necticut Bible Society ; a corporate member of tne 
American Board of Commissioners for Foreign 
Missions ; a charter member and president for sev- 
eral years of the board of trustees of the Interna- 
tional Committee of the Y. M. C. A. of Xew York ; 
was a charter member and president of the Y. M. C. 
A. of Xew London, and a member of the board of 
trustees. From 1874 to 1894 he was president of the 
board of trustees of Bradley Street Mission. He was 
a director of the Evangelical Association of Xew 
England. Through the summers for many years 
Mr. Harris was active in sustaining open-air relig- 
ious meetings on the streets of Xew London. He 
held membership in the Second Congregational 
Church at Xew London, and was one of its deacons. 

"The same faithful and diligent attention to bus- 
iness ; the same high sense of honor and the same 
unspotted integrity of character, which first gave to 
this young grocer, with a capital of only a hundred 
dollars, an unlimited credit wherever known, have 
ever been the marked and distinguishing characteris- 
tics of his whole life." He was a man about whom 
there can not be truthfully said anything but good. 
Many of his kind and extremely generous acts have 
been hidden from the public, and those that have 
become known have been told of by the recipients 
of his generosity. Xo man could hand down to 
posterity a cleaner, better record, as a useful man 
whose influence was always exerted for good. 

On May 8, 1843, Mr. Harris was married to 
Jane M. Brown, daughter of Benjamin Brown, of 
Xew London, who was the mother of his eight chil- 
dren, all of whom are now deceased. He married 
(second) July 19, 1869, Martha Ann Strong, 
daughter of Hon. Lewis and Maria (Chester) 
Strong, of Xorthampton. Mass., and granddaughter 
of Hon. Stephen Chester, former high sheriff of 
Hartford County. 

DAXIEL F. PACKER. In the death of Daniel 
F. Packer, on April 16, 1904, at Mystic, Conn., there 
was removed from life one of the successful manu- 
facturers of Xew England, and one whose success 
was solely the result of his own efforts. With char- 
acteristic originality and business shrewdness, he 
originated and developed a manufacturing business 
whose product not only became a household word, 
in America, but found ready sale in the markets of 
the world. Mr. Packer descended from an old Xew 
England family. 

The first member of the old and honorable fam- 
ily of Packer that came to this part of America, of 



whom we have any information, was John Packer, 
who settled in Xew London in 1651, and the next 
year was one of the three purchasers of a tract of 
land extending more than a mile north and south, 
and a half mile east, embracing the most of a tract 
of land upon the southern and eastern. slope of the 
Pequot and Prospect Hills, and the hills and valley 
lying between Old Field and Palmer's Cove. He 
settled on these lands as early as 1655, and was re- 
puted to be the largest proprietor. When the Xoank 
Indians, a remnant of the Pequots, squatted on his 
lands, he complained to the General Court of the 
Colonw The question was not finally settled until 
his son's day, when a commission was appointed by 
the Court, the results of which are given further on. 
Captain James Packer, christened Sept. 11, 1681, 
died April 24, 1765. He married (first) Abigail 
Avery, born June 18, 1679, and died Xov. 16, 1722, 
daughter of John, granddaughter of James, and 
great-granddaughter of Christopher Avery. They 
had children as follows: Ichabod, born June 15, 
1707, died May 10, 1758, married Abigail Eldredge ; 
Abigail, born Oct. 2^, 1708, married Thomas Eld- 
redge; James, born Xov. 2, 1710, married Saviah 
Eldredge; Desire, born Sept. 11, 1712, married Capt. 
John Burrows ; Lucretia, born Aug. 2, 1717, married 
John Fish ; Ann, born Feb. 9, 1719, married William 
Havens ; John, born Sept. 16, 1720, died March 4, 
1797, married Hannah Avery ; Joseph, born Xov 2, 
1722, died Xov. 28, 1804, married Eleanor Ashbey. 
Capt. James Packer married (second) Elizabeth 
Springer, and they had children : Samuel married 
Freelove Satterly ; Molly married Philip Covil ; 
Thankful married James Chester ; Elizabeth mar- 
ried Edward Ashbey ; and Rebecca married Christo- 
pher Ellis. Captain James married (third) Thank- 
ful Fanning. 

Captain James Packer had a controversy about 
the title to a portion of his estate with the town of 
Groton, as well as that with the Xoank Indians. In 
1735 a compromise was effected by commissioners 
appointed by the General Assembly. This was an 
occasion of great local interest, and on Aug. 5. 1735, 
when the commissioners — Major Timothy Pierce, 
Mr. West of Lebanon and Sheriff Huntington of 
Windham — left Xew London on their way to view 
the contested premises, they were accompanied from 
Xew London by 40 mounted men from the town 
and found their train constantly increasing as they 
proceeded, by farmers from Groton Ferry. Poquo- 
nock and other places, while on the ground a large 
assembly had already convened. The neighboring 
farmhouses of Smith, Burrows, Xiles, Fish. Pal- 
mer, Park and Packer were filled to overflowing 
with g-..ests. Xo such turnout of the yeomanry of 
the land, of a like nature, is recorded in these parts. 
At this time, the place of crossing the Mystic River 
was called Packer's Ferry, and was so called both 
in the town records and in newspapers until the 
building of the bridge across the river in 1818. Capt. 
James Packer's house was situated a few rods from 




c^^T^/tt^- 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



73 



the West Mystic depot. Capt. James met death by 
fire, being burned in his own barn. 

James Packer, son of Capt. James, was born 
Nov. 2, 1 710, and died prior to 1765. He married 
Saviah Eldredge, born Oct. 6, 171 5, daughter of 
Daniel Eldredge, and they had children as follows : 
Saviah married James Brown; James, born 1734, 
died Aug. 24, 1803 ; Charles ; Eldredge, born Jan. 
1, 1756, died May 19, 1834; Basheba married John 
Ashbey ; Joshua was drowned in Long Island 
Sound; Nathan; and Molly married Samuel Fox. 

Eldredge Packer, of the above family, was mar- 
ried Jan. 7, 1779, to Sabrina Packer, born June 4, 
1760, daughter of Daniel Packer ; she died April 
26, 1843. They had one son, Charles, born June 6, 
1780, who died Sept. 10, 1840. Eldredge Packer 
was a man of attractive and remarkable personality, 
and a man of exceptional business ability. He was 
the father of ship-building in Mystic, the first fleet 
of fishing vessels being mainly built by him. He 
was the builder of the "Fox," which was captured by 
the British, and was used as a fast privateer, with 
which they captured twenty-seven vessels in two 
weeks in the spring of 181 3. He also built the 
"Hero,'' fitted out as a privateer, to recapture the 
"Fox." The "Hero" overhauled and captured .the 
older vessel, ten miles southeast of Block Island, 
with the British squadron in sight to the southwest, 
and brought the prize into Mystic. 

Charles Packer, son of Eldredge, married Abi- 
gail Latham, born Sept. 14, 1782, died Oct. 19, 1828, 
and they had children : Eldredge, born Aug. 18, 
1799, married (first) Christina Mead, and (second) 
Mary Morton; Saviah, born March 17, 1801, mar- 
ried Daniel Chesbrough ; Abby Ruth, born Sept. 6, 
1804, died March 14, 1882, married (first) Dr. Che- 
valier, and (second) a Mr. Bissell ; Adelia, born in 
January, 1808, married George Holdredge ; Latham, 
born Nov. 7, 1810 ; James, born March 4, 1812, mar- 
ried Mary Ann Appleman ; Hannah Williams, born 
Jan. 11, 1814, married Samuel S. Latham; Augusta, 
born Dec. 25, 1816, married Alfred Ashby ; Henry, 
born May 7, 1817; Sabrina, born Nov. 25, 1818, 
died in 1825 ; and Daniel F., born April 6, 1825. 

This long and interesting family record brings 
to attention Daniel F. Packer, the inventor and 
founder of the Packer Manufacturing Company, of 
New York. To recapitulate briefly Mr. Packer's 
great-grandfather came to New London county, 
Conn., from Plymouth, Mass., in the seventeenth 
century and settled at Mystic, Conn. Here was born 
his son, Eldredge, who became a noted shipbuilder 
and launched the first large vessel in the Mystic. It 
is supposed that he owned or commanded a priva- 
teer during the war of the Revolution. He attained 
the age of four-score-and-four years. His son, 
Capt. Charles, was born at Groton, near Mystic, 
June 6, 1780, and was a mariner, engaged princi- 
pally in the coast trade. For some years he did an 
extensive fishing business as captain of a fishing 
smack. In the great Christmas snowstorm of many 



years ago in this locality, he had a narrow escape 
from death, being one of the castaways of Long 
Island Sound. He was very successful in his busi- 
ness ventures, and through industry and thrift ac- 
quired a fortune. The mother of our subject was 
born in Mystic. The only survivor of the original 
eleven children is Hannah W., widow of Samuel S. 
Latham, residing at Noank and previously men- 
tioned. The father died in 1834, aged three-score, 
and the mother in 1829, at the age of forty-seven 
years. They and the grandparents, with three of 
Mr. Packer's sisters and his brother Eldredge, are 
laid to rest in the Packer burial ground in Mystic. 

Daniel F. Packer, who won a world-wide reputa- 
tion as a manufacturer of choice soaps, was born 
April 6, 1825, in the historic town of Groton. The 
greater part of his life was spent in Mystic. His 
early education was obtained in the district school of 
Fish-town and he completed his studies at a board- 
ing-school at Weston, Fairfield Co., Conn. At the 
age of fifteen years, in 1840, he went to New York 
to assist his brother Eldredge, who was conducting 
a poultry market in that city, and in the following 
year he shipped before the mast on the packet ship 
"Emerald," under Capt. George Howe, a most daring 
and able skipper. With Capt. Howe, Mr. Packer 
made two voyages to Havre, France, each lasting 
from thirty-four to forty-five days. Subsequently 
he was engaged in the market business in New York 
City for four years. In 1847 ^ e went to Key West, 
Fla., with Capt. C. H. Mallory, and was afterward 
employed for a year by Capt. Latham Brightman. 
Six days before attaining his majority he bought 
and assumed charge of the "Plume of Mystic," hav- 
ing for first mate, Augustus Williams, of North 
Stonington, and for two years coaster along the 
reefs of the Tortugas and Florida. 

The gold fever found a victim in him in 1851, 
and during that and the two succeeding years he was 
in California mining for gold. While on the Pacific 
coast he began the manufacture of different soaps, 
to which he ever afterward devoted his attention 
with such great success. He was the originator 
of the pine tar soap which was the nucleus of the 
famous "Packer's All Healing Tar Soap" so well 
known all over this continent and Europe, and it can 
be bought in far-away China. In expanding his 
business he engaged in the manufacture of another 
product, making a specialty of "Packer's Cutaneous 
Charm." Beginning in a very modest way, he con- 
tinually found it necessary to enlarge and expand 
until his business reached immense proportions. 
His largest enterprise w r as the manufacture of 
"Silver Pearl" soap at Pittsburg, Pa., which was 
before the time of his beginning the manufacture of 
his famous product. Thirty-four years ago Mr. 
Packer established a factory at Mystic, which has 
since been one of the leading industries of the place. 
In 1900 Mr. Packer sold the rights of the "All-heal- 
ing" soap to E. A. Olds, retiring because of ad- 
vanced as^e and ill health, and the firm is now known 



74 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



as The Packer [Manufacturing Company of New 
York, though the manufacturing is continued in 
Mystic under the original name. Mr. Packer, with 
business judgment, brought his goods before the 
public by attractive advertising. 

On June 7, 1849, Air. Packer was married to 
Margaret M. Norcross, of New York City, who died 
in 1855, leaving one child, Arline M., who married 
(first) Robert A. Packer, (second) Benjamin Mil- 
ler, and (third) John S. Rathbone, of Mystic. On 
Feb. 21, 1 86 1, Mr. Packer married (second) Carrie 
A. Randall, of Ridgefield, Conn., who survives him. 
The only child of this union, Samuel Edward, died 
at the age of four years and eight months. 

After his return from the West Mr. Packer re- 
sided in New York and New Jersey until coming 
back to Mystic, where his substantial and commo- 
dious residence on High street was erected in 1868 ; 
it is beautifully located on the hillside of the Mystic 
river, commanding an extensive view. In politics 
Mr. Packer was a Republican. He was long one 
of the leading members and a trustee of the Method- 
ist Church, and before his illness attended services 
faithfully. Air. Packer passed away April 16, 1904, 
and was laid to rest in Elm Grove cemetery. 

In studying the lives and characters of prominent 
and prosperous men we are naturally led to inquire 
into the secret of their success and the motives which 
have prompted their action. Success is a question 
of genius, as held by many, but is it not, rather, a 
matter of experience and sound judgment? For 
when we trace the career of those who stand highest 
in public esteem we find, in nearly every case, that 
they are those who have risen gradually, fighting 
their own way in the face of all opposition. Self- 
reliance, conscientiousness, energy, honesty, these 
are the traits of character that ensure the highest 
emoluments and the greatest success. To these may 
be attributed the business success of Daniel F. Pack- 
er, whose name is known the world over. He was 
a conservative man, honest and upright in all his 
dealings, and was held in the highest esteem by all 
who knew him. His death was widely mourned in 
the communitv with which he had so long been iden- 
tified. 

ASHBEL WOODWARD. M. D. The death of 
Ashbel Woodward. M. D., of Franklin, Conn., Dec. 
20. 1885, closed a long, laborious and eminently use- 
ful career. He was born June 26, 1804, in Willing- 
ton, Conn., the ancestral farm lying on the border 
line, partly in that town and partly in Ashford. He 
was in the seventh generation in descent from Rich- 
ard Woodward, who embarked in the ship "Eliza- 
beth" at Ipswich, England, April 10, 1634, and whose 
name is on the earliest list of proprietors of Water- 
town, Massachusetts. 

Graduating at the Medical Department of Bow- 
doin College in May. 1829, Dr. Woodward settled 
two months later in Franklin, where he continued to 
reside till the end. As a physician he was noted for 



quickness and accuracy of perception. In the sick 
room nothing escaped his attention. He was espe- 
cially successful in desperate cases, detecting with 
the rapidity of intuition the slightest change in the 
condition of the patient, and anticipating every emer- 
gency. The estimation in which he was held by 
medical brethren is shown by the trusts confided to 
him, and the distinctions conferred upon him. Be- 
sides filling many other positions he was. from 1858 
to 1861, president of the Connecticut Medical So- 
ciety. His annual addresses on "Life," '"Medical 
Ethics" and "An Historical Sketch" of the Society, 
attracted much attention at the time, and are still re- 
membered. He was also from its formation an active 
and deeply interested member of the American Medi- 
cal Association, and an honorary member of several 
State societies. 

In the early days of the Rebellion he was ap- 
pointed by Governor Buckingham one of the board 
to examine surgeons for the volunteer regiments of 
the State. Into the conflict for the preservation of 
the union he threw his feelings and efforts with the 
ardor which characterized all his undertakings. As 
the drain upon the resources of the country became 
more pronounced, he decided to go to the front him- 
self, and as surgeon of the 26th Connecticut, shared 
in the siege and capture of Port Hudson. He was 
then nearly sixty years of age, and his friends at- 
tempted to discourage the purpose on the ground that 
he was too old to bear the privations and hardships 
of life in camp. Indeed the warnings nearly proved 
true, for on his return home, after serving out the 
term of enlistment, he was long and dangerously ill 
with malarial fever. 

Although driven with professional work. Dr. 
Woodward in some way found time to accomplish 
much with the pen. In addition to the addresses al- 
ready referred to, he contributed numerous papers 
which are preserved in the "Proceedings" annually 
published by the Connecticut Medical Society. At 
the request of the family of Gen. Nathaniel Lyon, he 
prepared for the Union a biography of that early 
martyr, whose skill as a soldier was not less conspic- 
uous than his devotion as a patriot. He had previ- 
ously written a memoir of Col. Thomas Knowlton, a 
grand-uncle of Gen. Lyon on the maternal side. Col. 
Knowlton commanded the Continentals stationed be- 
hind the rail fence at Bunker Hill, and was killed in 
battle at Harlem Heights, Sept. 16, 1776. Joel Mun- 
sell, of Albany, in 1878, published a small volume 
written by Dr. Woodward, upon "Wampum" — a 
subject to which he had given long attention. As a 
member of the committee of arrangements, he took 
an active part in the celebration of the two hundredth 
anniversary of the settlement of the town of Nor- 
wich, Sept. 7 and 8, 1859, and for the book contain- 
ing the records of that event, furnished the paper on 
the "Early Physicians of Norwich." 

On Oct. 14. 1868, the Congregational Church of 

Franklin celebrated the one hundred and fiftieth an- 

| niversary of its organization, when Dr. Woodward 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



75 



delivered the historical address. This was after- 
wards expanded into a "History of Franklin." 

Dr. Woodword had great fondness for local his- 
torical, and especially for genealogical, investiga- 
tions. His knowledge of the lineages of old New 
England families was extensive, and at instant com- 
mand. His writings on this class of subjects are to 
be found in the "New England Historical and Gen- 
ealogical Register," and in other publications. In 
accumulating a library he made a specialty of town 
and county histories, and of monographs on im- 
portant events. He was one of the most thorough 
and reliable Xew England antiquaries, and had ac- 
cumulated a vast fund of information upon family 
and local history, particularly of his native State, 
which he was always ready to communicate to those 
engaged in investigating these subjects. He took 
much interest in the Xew England Historic Genea- 
logical Society, of which he was elected a corre- 
sponding member in 1853. He manifested his in- 
terest in the "Register" by subscribing for two cop- 
• ies of the work, and contributed many valuable 
papers for its pages. He was a collector of rare 
books, pamphlets, coins, Indian relics, and auto- 
graphs. 

In the early autumn of 1879 the neighbors of Dr. 
Woodward, on a sudden impulse, improvised a social 
gathering to celebrate the semi-centennial anniver- 
sary of his settlement among them. Informal verbal 
invitations were passed from one to another to meet 
at his residence on the afternoon of Sept. 5th. Short 
as was the notice, people came in throngs from near 
and far till the house was filled, while the overflow 
mingled in conversation on the lawns and beneath the 
trees without. Some drove fifteen miles and more. 
The inclosures, swarming with vehicles and ani- 
mated groups, presented an appearance as pictur- 
esque as it was unusual. The day proved to be one of 
rare beauty, cool for the season, coming and going in 
cloudless splendor. Floral testimonials decorated the 
tables, including several of rare flowers and of elab- 
orate arrangement. As the shadows from the western 
hills began to fall across the valley Rev. C. F. Jones, 
from the front steps, in the presence of the guests, 
addressed Dr. Woodward in a few sentences ex- 
pressive of the esteem and affection of the com- 
munity. 

"I have been commissioned to the pleasant duty 
of making the presentation address to you. You have 
outlived nearly all who began practice with you as 
your contemporaries. To have lived long is a dis- 
tinction, but to have lived well is a still greater dis- 
tinction, and that distinction we regard . as yours. 
Few occupations afford more opportunities for doing 
good than that of a physician. We recognize your 
sincerity, integrity and professional enthusiasm. In 
summer and winter, sunshine and storm, by night 
and by day, you have gone over these hills and 
through these valleys, seeking to relieve distress, pro- 
longing many lives and affording much happiness. 
Faithful, true and self-sacrificing, you have endeared 



yourself to many, and it is with thanks that we 
gather here to-day. We desire to recognize your 
services in public affairs, educational, civil and re- 
ligious. Through your writings, professional skill 
and reputation, you have honored this community. 
It is with sentiments of this kind that I am commis- 
sioned to present to you this testimonial of our affec- 
tion, esteem and enduring friendship. May it be an 
emblem of the strong, unbending attachment of those 
gathered here." 

Dr. Woodward was then presented with an ele- 
gant gold-headed ebony cane. On it was engraved : 

1829. 

Presented to 

Ashbel Woodward, M. D., 

as a memorial 

of 50 years 

of professional 

service. 

1879- 

In accepting the gift, the recipient with much 
feeling made a few personal remarks, substantially 
as follows : 

"I came here fifty years ago with an uncertain fu- 
ture before me, but I desired success only on the con- 
dition that I should be fully qualified for the prac- 
tice of my profession, and should so discharge its 
duties as to entitle me to the favor of my employers. 
I posted no bills ; I had no runners ; I did not adver- 
tise. I procured a shingle, but did not put it out. I 
never sought business. The favors which came were 
spontaneous. But I do not stand here to boast. My 
career with you has been ~a living epistle to be read 
by all. And now I desire to thank you most sin- 
cerely for the gift which you have placed in my 
hands. Nothing could be more appropriate for an 
antediluvian to lean upon than a trusty staff. I shall 
esteem it a precious reminder of your favor." 

Hon. La Fayette S. Foster, a native of Franklin 
and ex-United States Senator, then added a few 
words appropriate to the occasion, after which re- 
freshments were served. 

During the active career of Dr. Woodward great 
changes were effected in the distribution of the in- 
tellectual and social energies of New England. In 
relative importance and prosperity the country towns 
steadily declined. Early in the century divines of 
conspicuous ability labored contentedly in rural par- 
ishes, while physicians of eminent skill found ample 
scope for ambition in serving the scattered popula- 
tion around them. Meanwhile the development of 
manufactures and the construction of railways have 
accomplished a revolution. Shadowed by growing 
cities, rural communities must now struggle to avoid 
palpable retrogression. So preponderant are the cen- 
trifugal forces, that from many the old family names, 
with their traditions and pride, have well nigh dis- 
appeared. Dr. Woodward preferred rural scenes. 
Located in a quadrangular valley of remarkable 
beauty, amid orchards and vines of his own plant- 
ing, devoted to his profession and to his home, he 



76 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



could heartily quote the remark often repeated by the 
venerable Samuel Xott, D. D., whose residence 
crowned the neighboring hill, and whose pastorate in 
Franklin, beginning in 1782, covered a period of 
sixty-five years, "Our lines are cast in pleasant 
places.'"' 

There are solid reasons for believing that the for- 
tunes of our country towns will ere long experience 
a marked and permanent revival. Indeed, at various 
points the improvement has already made substantial 
headway. The West, which has remorselessly 
drained us of our youth, is filling up. She no longer 
offers boundless areas of virgin soil to tempt immi- 
gration. At home the financial extravagance dis- 
played in the government of cities, enhancing both 
directly and indirectlv the cost of living, will more 
and more direct attention to the fair fields and limpid 
brooks once threatened with desertion. What is 
lost in the heroic virtues by the withdrawal of the 
hard conditions of the past, will be made up by the 
growing cultivation of the beautiful. Gardens will 
bloom, art will be pursued, homes will be made 
lovely, the surroundings of life will become attrac- 
tive, where communities now find difficulty in keep- 
ing alive the religious and educational institutions 
established by the fathers. 

From early manhood Dr. Woodward was a mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church of Franklin, and 
never wearied in efforts to sustain and strengthen it. 
He was not only a devout but also an unquestioning 
believer in the teachings of Christianity. His last 
Sunday on earth found him in his accustomed place, 
officiating as deacon. 

During his long term of active service Dr. Wood- 
ward ministered in sickness to at least six succes- 
sive generations, and from the beginning to the end 
commanded the unqualified confidence of his clien- 
tage. Often appealed to for counsel and guidance, 
he was never known to discuss or even mention a 
matter that came to his knowledge in the sacredness 
of professional intercourse. Scrupulous in perform- 
ing the work of each day, thorough in all undertak- 
ings, intolerant of sham and pretense, direct in aims 
and methods, he pursued uncompromisingly the 
paths marked out by his conceptions of duty. In 
some respects he seemed to belong more to a former 
age than to the present. On the maternal side inher- 
iting from a clerical ancestry the stern theological 
opinions of early New England. Dr. Woodward him- 
self in beliefs, sympathies and character was a 
marked survival of the Puritans. 

His wife, Emeline Bicknell, to whom he was 
married in May. 1832. with two sons, survived him. 
— ["New England Historical and Genealogical Reg- 
ister,"' for April, 1886.] 

GEN. WILLIAM APPLETOX AIKEN, born 
April 18, 1833, in Manchester, Yt.. married in 
Norwich, Conn., Aug. 28. 1861, Eliza Coit Buck- 
ingham, born Dec. 7. 1838. daughter of Gov. (and 
afterward Lnited States Senator) William A. 



Buckingham, of Norwich. Their children were 
as follows: (1) Eliza B.. born May 21. 1862, mar- 
ried Prof. Benjamin W. Bacon. D. D., of Yale 
Divinity School, and has two children. Dorothv 
Buckingham (born Nov. 13. 1886) and Benjamin 
Selden (born April 6. 1888). (2) William B., 
born Jan. 24, 1864, is mentioned below. (3) Mary 
A. was born April 5. 1866. (4) Jane McG. was 
born Aug. 4, 1867. (5) Alfred L., born July 6, 
1870, graduated from Yale in 1891, and is now as- 
sistant cashier of the State National Bank at Boston, 
Mass. He married Elizabeth Peck Hopkins, daugh- 
ter of Col. W. S. B. Hopkins, of Worcester, Mass. 

(6) John, born Nov. 3, 1871, is mentioned below. 

(7) Edith M., born April 5, 1873. married Charles 
H. Palmer, Esq., of Milwaukee, Wis., had one 
daughter, Gertrude Buckingham, and died May 8, 
1898. 

During the Civil war Gen. Aiken served first 
as paymaster in the United States Navy, and later 
until the close of the war as quartermaster general 
on the staff of Gov. Buckingham, and he is said 
to have been one of the first to reach the seat of 
government at Washington with dispatches from 
the North after hostilities were under way, and 
when the capital was beset with enemies and the 
avenues of approach were all obstructed. He left 
Norwich, Conn., for Washington. April 22, 1861. 
Since the war Gen. Aiken has been a manufacturer 
in Norwich. He is now president of the Norwich 
Nickel & Brass Company, also president of the 
board of trustees of the Otis Library, chairman of 
trustees of Broadway Congregational Church, com- 
mander of Sedgwick Post, No. 1. G. A. R.. a com- 
panion of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion 
of the Lnited States, a member of the Army and 
Navy Club of Connecticut, of the Sons of the Amer- 
ican Revolution, of the Executive Council of the 
National Civil Service Reform League, and of 
other organizations. 

William Buckingham Aikex was born in 
Norwich, Jan. 24, 1864. In 1878 he entered the 
Free Academy, and in 1882 he entered Amherst 
College, where he became a member of the Psi 
L'psilon fraternity. At his graduation in 1886. he 
took a prize of S60 awarded for the highest im- 
provement of the college course. He was much be- 
loved by all at college, and made there many firm 
friendships which lasted through life ; and he was 
secretary and treasurer of his class at Amherst after 
his graduation. On the completion of his college 
course he returned to Norwich, and after 
studying law. with the late Jeremiah Halsey and 
Willis A. Briscoe, was admitted to the Bar Dec. 
8. 1888. He practiced law in the office with W. S. 
Allis until 1893. when, upon the death of his brother. 
John, he took his place in the Norwich Nickel & 
Brass Company, afterward becoming its secretary, 
which position he held at the time of his death. He 
was made one of the corporators of the Norwich 
Free Academy, in which institution he always took 




? /^. 6UJ. 




GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



77 



the deep and reverent interest of an alumnus. For 
some time he was president of the Young People's 
Union of the Broadway Congregational Church, 
was a member of the Church, and for about two 
years taught a class of young men in the Sunday 
School. He was a companion of the second class 
of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the 
United States. He was a member of the Arcanum 
Club at one time, and was a member of the Norwich 
Club at the time of his death. 

John Aiken, the youngest son, was born in 
Norwich, in 1871, and was educated at the Free 
Academy and the Massachusetts Institute of Tech- 
nology. In 1892 he entered the employ of his 
father in the Norwich Nickel & Brass Company, 
which position he held at the time of his death in 
February, 1893. 

W. A. Aiken was descended from a New Hamp- 
shire family, his descent being as follows : 

(I) Edward Aiken came to Londonderry, New 
Hampshire, in 1718, from Londonderry, Ireland, 
to which his ancestors had emigrated one hundred 
years previously from Lanarkshire, Scotland. His 
wife was Barbara Edwards. 

(II) Nathaniel Aiken married Margaret Coch- 
ran. He lived on his father's farm which remained 
in the possession of the family for more than a 
century. 

(III) John Aiken removed from Londonderry, 
New Hampshire, to Bedford, that State. His wife 
was Annis Orr. 

(IV) Phineas Aiken was a soldier of the Revo- 
lution, in Capt. Jonas Kidder's Company, Colonel 
Moses Nichols Regiment, New Hampshire Militia. 
He was a prominent man, and held offices in State, 
town and Church. His wife was Elizabeth Pat- 
terson. 

(Y) John Aiken was twice married. His sec- 
ond wife was Mary Means Appleton, eldest daugh- 
ter of Jesse Appleton, D. D., President of Bowdoin 
College. He was graduated at Dartmouth College, 
studied law, and became principal of Burr Semi- 
nary, Manchester, Yt. Upon the establishment of 
the city of Lowell, Mass., he became agent succes- 
sively of the Suffolk, Tremont, and Lawrence Man- 
ufacturing Corporations, and later treasurer of the 
Cocheco and Salmon Falls Manufacturing Com- 
panies. He was a prominent member and officer of 
the Congregational Churches of Lowell and Ando- 
ver, Mass. ; president of the board of trustees of 
Andover Phillips Academy and Theological Semi- 
nary ; also for many years a prominent member of 
the Prudential Committee of the American Board 
of Commissioners for Foreign Missions, and a mem- 
ber of the Executive Council of Gov. George N. 
Briggs, of Massachusetts. 

THURSTON TUCKER, who passed away at 
an advanced age, after a busy and well spent life, was 
one of the most highly esteemed citizens of Lebanon, 
of which town, he was a resident for nearly forty-five 



years. The Tucker family is a very old and numer- 
ous one in Rhode Island. 

Augustus Tucker, father of Thurston, was born 
in South Kingston, R. I., where he followed the oc- 
cupation of farmer, until he moved to Connecticut 
and located at Lebanon, on the farm now occupied by 
his grandson, Edgar J. Tucker. At a later date he re- 
moved to Columbia, Conn., where he resided for a 
number of years, and then returned to Lebanon, 
where he lived for a time on Cook Hill and still later 
on Liberty Hill. His old age was spent in the home 
of his son, Ira Tucker, where he died at the age of 
eighty-six years. He was buried at Willimantic. He 
was twice married, first to Mercie Johnson, who was 
the mother of all his children, born as follows : Azel, 
a sailor, was lost at sea in young manhood ; Ira, a 
farmer married Elizabeth Brown, and died in Leb- 
anon ; Augustus, who engaged in farming, married 
Annie Tucker, and died in Lebanon, and one of his 
sons, Elisha Tucker, still resides there ; Ezekiel, also 
a farmer, married Mary Brown, and died in Leb- 
anon, leaving two sons, Edgar J. and Alfred L. ; 
Thurston, born April 6, 1818; and Mercie married 
Joseph Tucker, a farmer, and resided at Lebanon. 

Thurston Tucker was born at South Kingston, 
R. I., and was reared there. While still a small boy 
he became a sailor in the coasting trade between 
Providence and New York, and followed the sea for 
some years. At the age of eighteen years he went 
to Dutchess county, N. Y., accompanied by his 
brothers Ira and Ezekiel, and they all were engaged 
there for three years in farm work, all returning 
then to South Kingston, where Thurston Tucker en- 
gaged in a fishing business, in which he continued 
until he removed to Columbia, Conn. There he 
rented a farm on Pine street and remained upon it 
for seven years. In 1858 he came to Lebanon, and 
purchased from Amos Babcock, the Dr. Comstock 
place, a tract of twenty-two acres, where he erected 
new buildings, made many improvements of a sub- 
stantial character and brought the land to a high 
state of cultivation. He was enthusiastic in the pro- 
ducing of fine fruit, and was eminently successful in 
his efforts. Mr. Tucker continued active in the man- 
agement of his farm until about 1887, when his son, 
Orlando C, assumed its operation, and from that 
time until his death, Mr. Tucker remained retired. 
After a decline of six months and an illness of a few 
weeks, he passed away July 30, 1902. He was a self- 
made man whose industry and frugality in youth 
were rewarded in age by a comfortable competency. 
In politics Mr. Tucker belonged to that class of 
Whigs, who adopted the principles of the Republican 
party on its formation. He never sought or de- 
sired public office. Both he and wife united with the 
Baptist Church at South Kingston, and the latter 
transferred by letter to the Lebanon Church. 

On Jan. 4, 1841, in South Kingston, R. I., Mr. 
Tucker married Amy P. Tucker, born April 28, 1820, 
a native of South Kingston, a daughter of Nathan 
and Fanny (Champlain) Tucker, the latter of whom 



78 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



died Oct. 6. 1884. in Lebanon. They had the fol- 
lowing children born to them : Phebe C, born Jan. 
17, 1842, married Dec. 11. 1862, George Irish, a 
farmer residing in Lebanon ; Mercie F., born Jan. 

11. 1844. is the wife of Judge Isaac Gillette, of Leb- 
anon ; Azel T., born Feb. 25. 1846, married Mary 
G. Fowler, and was a farmer residing in Goshen So- 
ciety of Lebanon, where he died Oct. 4, 1877 : Or- 
lando C.. born Aug. 25, i860, married Dec. 29, 1881, 
in Amherst. Mass., Minnie C. Bronson born Sept. 
14. 1859. a daughter of Rev. Asa C. and Catherine 
(Congdon) Bronson the former of whom was a 
Baptist clergyman, and their children are : Hattie 
Maud ( born Nov. 14. 1882), Ella Mercie (born Sept. 

12. 1886) and Fannie May (born June 10, 1888). 

WILLIAM REED GAY was one of the leading 
and substantial citizens of Lebanon, at which place 
his death occurred March 21, 1900. 

Asahel Gay, grandfather of William Reed, was a 
distiller and farmer by occupation, and settled in 
Lebanon, where he lived until his death, March 24. 
1843, m his eighty-eighth year. Temperance, his 
wife, died Sept. 27, 1843. in her eighty-eighth year. 
Their daughter, also Temperance, died Feb. 17, 1864, 
aged eighty-two years. 

Asahel Gay, Jr., son of Asahel and father of 
"William R.. was born in Connecticut. He married 
Mary Reed, and had two sons. Francis La Fayette, 
who died young: and William Reed. By occupa- 
tion the father was a merchant. His death occurred 
Nov. 30. 1828. aged thirty-eight years and two 
months. His wife died Nov. 24. 1827. aged twenty- 
nine vears. and both are buried at Whitesboro. New 
York'. 

William Reed Gay was born in Floyd. N. Y.. 
June 17. 1827. and as his mother died when he was 
only five months old. and his father when he was 
seventeen months of age. he was left to the tender 
care and sympathy of his paternal grandparents, and 
his Aunt Temperance, who was always a mother to 
him. and whose memory he cherished as long as he 
lived. 

After attending the common schools of his 
neighborhood, Mr. Gay received the further advan- 
tage of one term at the academy at Westfield. Mass. 
Being brought to Lebanon when only two years old, 
he spent his life upon his grandfather's farm. The 
house now standing thereon, was erected by him in 
1858. and in 1859 he made other important and 
necessary improvements. During a long and suc- 
cessful career, he conducted his farm and became one 
of the most prosperous farmers of the place, and for 
many years he served as president of the Lebanon 
Creamery. In politics Mr. Gay was a stanch Republi- 
can, but he never aspired to office. Both he and his 
wife were consistent members of the Consreg-ational 
Church, in which he served as clerk until his death. 
In appearance he was a man of medium height, of 
light complexion, and he possessed a modest and 
retiring disposition, and industrious and frugal hab- 



its. For his many virtues he was beloved bv all 
who knew him. 

On May 24. 1853. Mr. Gay married Catherine 
Wetmore, born April 14, 183 1, a daughter of Augus- 
tus and Sarah (Hinckley) Wetmore : she died Feb. 
16. 1902. at the house of her daughter. Mrs. Edwin 
L. Danielson of Lebanon. The children born of this 
union were : Emma Frances, who married Dr. Ed- 
win L. Danielson. of Lebanon ; Mary Reed, who 
married William A. Mason, of Franklin. Conn. ; and 
Sarah Jane, who died when two years old. 

HOX. WALLACE S. ALLIS. lawyer of Nor- 
wich, president of the Uncas National Bank of that 
city, and a former Senator from the Tenth District, 
while not a native of Connecticut, is bv education, 
business and professional training and achievement a 
full-fledged citizen of the State, and of the city of 
his adoption. 

Allis is an old New England name, especiallv of 
long and honorable standing in the Commonwealth 
of Massachusetts, and as well in Connecticut. The 
parents of Wallace S. Allis were Andrew S. and 
Laura M. (Walbridge) Allis. the former an exten- 
sive farmer and raiser of choice high-grade stock in 
the town of Brookfield. Yt., where the subject of 
this sketch was born Aug. 7. 1862. The boy received 
the rudiments of an education in the district school 
of his neighborhood in Brookfield. He furthered his 
studies at Norwich. Conn., to which point he came 
in 1877. and was graduated with honors from the 
Free Academy ; then he entered Yale University, 
and was graduated therefrom also with honors, in 
1884. being one of the five Townshend prizes speak- 
ers, and being chosen a commencement speaker. 
Following his graduation at Yale he was for five 
years a member of the Faculty of the Norwich Free 
Academy, discharging his duties ably and satisfac- 
torily to all concerned. One year of this period, in 
addition to his academy work, he studied law in the 
office, and under the direction, of the late Hon. Jere- 
miah Halsey. He was also for a time in the office 
of Wait & Greene, and was admitted to the Bar 
in New London countv June 22. 1888. two years later 
beginning the practice of his profession at Norwich. 
His scholarly attainments, studious habits and in- 
dustry commanded the attention of the public and 
brought him position and influence and merited suc- 
cess. He soon won the confidence of the commun- 
ity and has held it. For two years he was city at- 
torney for Norwich. Mr. Allis was elected to the 
State Senate in the fall of 1900. and in the session 
following — January. 190 1 — was a member and chair- 
man of the important committees on Banks and Re- 
vision of the Statutes. He is a member of a number 
of social and business clubs, among the former the 
Chelsea Boat Club and the Arcanum Club, being an 
officer in the former and he is eligible for member- 
ship in the Sons of the American Revolution. He 
was vice-president of the Uncas National Bank for 
several years, until January, 1903. when he was 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



79 



elected president. He is also a corporator of the 
Norwich Free Academy, a trustee of the Chelsea and 
the Dime Savings Banks, and is attorney for the 
Chelsea Savings Bank. Fraternally he is a member 
of Shetucket Lodge, Xo. 27. I. O. O. F. His re- 
ligious connection is with the Second Congregational 
Church, and he is chairman of the Society's Com- 
mittee. Mr. Allis is unmarried. 

DANIEL REDFIELD EYARTS (deceased) 
was one of the most highly respected citizens of 
Norwich. Conn., where his death occurred May 1. 
1899. He was born in Athens, N. Y., a son of 
George and Susan (Howland) Evarts, and of a 
family long an old and numerous one in Guilford, 
Conn., and vicinity. 

George Evarts, the father, was engaged in trans- 
portation along the Hudson river between Athens 
and New York City. Both he and wife were thor- 
oughly upright Christian people, and, although they 
were removed from earth while their six sons were 
still young, the good advice and pious example they 
had set cast an influence which was reflected through 
the lives of these children. They all became honored, 
successful and useful men. 

Daniel Redfield Evarts was survived by only one 
brother, Charles E., who has since also passed away. 
He was for many years cashier in the Railroad 
offices of the Pennsylvania road in New York, hav- 
ing been connected with that corporation for forty 
years. 

Daniel R. Evarts received a common school edu- 
cation, and as he was still young when he lost his 
parents, heavy burdens fell on him as the second 
oldest of the family. Early in his teens he sought 
employment as a clerk in the store of an uncle at 
Athens, and some time after went to New York, 
where he accepted a position as head clerk with the 
Dispatch line of boats running between New York 
and Philadelphia. This line did an immense busi- 
ness in transportation, and as his superior officer was 
very frequently absent, much of the work and re- 
sponsibility fell upon the young clerk. At times the 
line was operating twenty-eight vessels. He contin- 
ued in the position of chief transportation clerk in 
New York for a period of twenty-eight years, and 
it was said of him that in this capacity he had no 
superior. In 1875 the business was sold to the 
Pennsylvania company, and he then resigned and 
came to Norwich, which city remained his home 
during the balance of his life. He lived in quiet re- 
tirement, but when health permitted, met his friends 
and performed social obligations with enjoyment. 
His remains lie in the Yantic cemetery. His pleas- 
ant home was erected by him in 1884. at No. 13 Lin- 
coln Avenue, and is now occupied by his widow. 

On Aug. 6. 1 86 1, Mr. Evarts was married to 
Elizabeth "Woodward, a daughter of Daniel J. and 
Mary A. (Griffin) "Woodward, the former of whom 
was a native of Worcester. Mass.. and for forty 
years was connected with the paper manufacturing 



business of the A. H. Hubbard Co. Both Mr. and 
Mrs. Woodward died at Norwich, and of their five 
children, only two survive: Mary A., widow of Earl 
S. Martin, resides at Norwich: and Mrs. Evarts. 
Mrs. Evarts survives her two children, of whom ( 1 ) 
Mary Elizabeth died in 1879, at the age of sixteen 
years. She attended the Norwich Free Academy, 
and was a bright pupil, an excellent musician and a 
young lady of extraordinary goodness, and amia- 
bility of character. Her death was a blow from 
which her parents never recovered. At the age of 
fourteen she united with the Park Congregational 
Church and her father dedicated a library fund to 
the Church Sunday School as a memorial to her. 
(2) Daniel Woodward died in 1868, aged three 
years. 

Mr. Evarts was a Republican in political views, 
and always cast his vote, but would never accept 
office. He united with the Park Congregational 
Church, and was always in attendance upon the 
services when his health permitted. He was a man 
of great sincerity, despising shams of all kinds, and 
by nature he was sociable and friendly, kind and 
benevolent. He attracted attention by his distin- 
guished and dignified appearance. 

LATHAM FAMILY. The available facts in re- 
gard to the Latham ancestry are as follows : William 
Latham, then a youth in charge of Gen. Carver, was 
a passenger on the "Mayflower" in 1620, and though 
not named as one of that company of venturers his 
passage on the first ship is vouched for in Bradford's 
history. Young Latham was at Duxbury in 1637, at 
Marshfield in 1643 and 1648, and the same year went 
to the Bahamas, where he died. 

Robert Latham, who was a constable in Marsh- 
field in 1643. is made a son of the "Mayflower" voy- 
ager by Mitchell, in his Family Register, published 
in Bridgewater. Mass., in 1840. Robert lived at 
Cambridge for several years, and took the oath of 
fidelity at Marshfield in 1657. removing to East 
Bridgewater in 1667. In 1649 ne married Susanna, 
daughter of John Winslow (a brother of Gov. Ed- 
ward Winslow) and of his wife, whose mother was 
the historic Mary Chilton, said to be the first female 
to set foot on Plymouth shores. Mary Chilton was a 
daughter of James and Susanna Chilton, both of 
whom died the first winter after reaching America 
in 1620. The children comprising Robert Latham's 
family were as follows : Mercy, born at Plymouth 
in 1650 ; James ; Chilton ; Joseph ; Elizabeth ; Han- 
nah, and Sarah. 

Cary Latham, whom Savage declares probably 
a brother of Robert the constable, married Eliza- 
beth, daughter of John Masters, who married the 
widow of Edmund Lockwood. To Cary Latham and 
his wife were born children whose births are re- 
corded in Boston as follows : Thomas and Joseph, 
born respectively in September, 1639. and October, 
1642. Mr. Latham removed to New London, Conn., 
and became prominent in affairs of the town, serving 



So 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



for sixteen years as selectman and as deputy to the 
General Court from 1664 to 1670, inclusive. He 
died in 16S5. His children born in New London 
were : Elizabeth, Jane, Lydia and Hannah. 

Thomas and Joseph, the two sons of Gary La- 
tham, settled on the Groton side of the river, in New 
London, where the name has been perpetuated, many 
of the descendants residing in that vicinity. On Oct. 
15. 1673. Thomas married Rebecca, daughter of 
Hugh Wells, of YVethersfield, and had but one son, 
Samuel. Thomas died in 1677. I n New Found- 
land Joseph married his wife Mary, by whom he had 
Gary, born July 14, 1668, besides ten other children 
born in New London. Joseph Latham died in 1706. 
leaving seven sons and one daughter. 

COSTELLO LIPPITT. secretary and treasurer 
of the Norwich Savings Society, at Norwich, and 
one of the most prominent Masons in the State, is 
one of the leading men of the city. He descends 
from an old Rhode Island family. 

(I) John Lippitt is the sixth name in a list of 
fifty-two persons, who. in 1638. had "home lots*' in 
Providence. R. I. Two years later. May 2~j. 1640. 
he signed a compact containing proposals for a 
form of government, and in 1647 ne was on a com- 
mittee from Providence, which, with other commit- 
tees from Portsmouth, Newport, and Warwick, met 
at Portsmouth "for the purpose of organizing a 
government." under the first charter. He removed 
to Warwick. R. L, where his name is found in 
1665. on "Ye Roll of Freemen." His children were: 
Nathaniel. John, Moses, Joseph and Rebecca. 

(II) Moses Lippitt married, Nov. 19. 1668. 
Mary Knowles. a daughter of Henry Knowles. Mr. 
Lippitt was one of the Deputies for Warwick, at 
the General Assembly at Newport in 1681, 1684. 
1690 and 1698. He died Jan. 6. 1703. He was the 
father of children, as follows : Mary. Martha. Re- 
becca and Moses. 

(III) Moses Lippitt (2). born about 1683. mar- 
ried. Nov. 20. 1707. Ann Phillis Whipple, daughter 
of Joseph and Alice Whipple of Providence. Mr. 
Whipple was admitted a freeman of the Colony in 
1704. and was a Deputy to the General Assembly 
six years between 171 5 and 1730. He died Dec. 

12. 1745, and was buried in his own ground at 
Warwick, his funeral sermon being preached by 
Rev. James Sparran. D. D. The children of Mr. 
and Mrs. Lippitt were: Moses, born Jan. 17. 1709: 
Jeremiah. Jan. 27. 171 1; Christopher. Nov. 29. 
1712: Joseph. Sept. 4, 1715; Ann Phillis. Aug. 29. 
1717: Freelove. March 31, 1720: Mary, Dec. 2. 
1723: John. Dec. 24. 1731. 

(IV) Christopher Lippitt. born Nov. 29. 1712. 
married. Jan. 22. 1736. Catherine H olden, born Oct. 

13, 1717. daughter of Anthony and Phebe (Rhodes) 
Holden. Mr. Lippitt removed from Warwick to 
"Lippitt Hill." in Cranston, where his father built 
for him a large house. Mr. Lippitt died Dec. 7. 
1764: his widow died May 4, 1807, and both are 



buried in die family grounds on "Lippitt Hill." 
Their children were : Anthony, who died Oct. 2^, 
175 1. aged thirteen years; Freelove: Mary: Chris- 
topher, born Oct. 28. 1744. the Colonel and General 
Lippitt of Revolutionary note ; Catherine ; Warren ; 
Phebe. born Dec. 6. 1749: Moses, Sept. 10. 175 1; 
Charles. March 2, 1754; London. April 17 1756; 
Waterman May 2. 1758: and John. Feb. 14. 1763. 
Of these Christopher. Moses. Charles and John 
were soldiers of the Revolution, two of them being 
officers. 

(V) Moses Lippitt, born Sept. 10. 175 1 . married 
j Jan. 8. 1775. Anstis Holden, a daughter of Charles 

Holden. They had thirteen children. Mr. Lippitt 
moved to Killingly. Conn., about the beginning 
of the Nineteenth century, and lived there the rest 
of his life. He was an officer in the 3d Company 
of the Cranston Militia in 1780. and 1781. and re- 
ceived a pension for his services at that time. 

(VI) Edward Lippitt was married, .Dec. 24. 
1815. to Lois, born April 29. 1794. daughter of 
Zadoc and Mary (Cady) Spaulding. at Killingly. 
Conn.; she died in Norwich. March 31. 1887. m ner 
ninety-third year. 

(VII) Norris G. Lippitt was born in Killingly, 
Conn., in October. 1817. The common schools fur- 
nished a good foundation for his superior educa- 
tion, which was all later self acquired. When four- 
teen years old he was converted to Methodism at a 
camp meeting held at Thompson, in which town he 
was baptized and received into the Church. In 1846 
he was licensed by the Rev. R. W. Allen as a local 
preacher, and entered the service of the Methodist 
Church : in 1851 he was ordained a local deacon, and 
in 1858 a local elder. He preached seventeen 
months at North Killingly. and. moving to Nor- 
wich in 1852. supplied the church at Eagleville in 
1853 and 1854. The following three years he 
preached at the North Church in Norwich, and 
also preached at Greeneville, and at some time in 
his life in nearly every church in Windham and 
New London counties. Previous to 1852 he was en- 
gaged in the cotton manufacturing business at East 
Killingly, being associated with a Mr. Truesdell, 
under the firm name of Truesdell & Lippitt. 

Mr. Lippitt was a member of Franklin Chap- 
ter. R. A. M.. of Norwich. As citizen, pastor, hus- 
band, father and friend, he was a most estimable 
man. 

Norris G. Lippitt was twice married, first to 
Eliza M. Leffingwell. daughter of Calvin and Lucy 
I Buck) Leffingwell. of Killingly. and a descendant 
of Lieutenant Thomas Leffingwell, one of the orig- 
inal proprietors of Norwich, her descent being 
through Samuel. Samuel (2). Jeremiah, Prosper 
and Calvin. She died in Norwich Dec. 17. 1863, 
aged forty-four, leaving one child. Costello. For his 
second wife Mr. Lippitt married Mrs. Harriet Bart- 
lett. who survives him. He died Feb. 4, 1887. and 
was buried in Yantic cemetery. 

Costello Lippitt was bora Dec. 12. 1842. in East 









■ - 

; ■. .. ■ | 1 










,.->^'. 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



8r 



Killingly, and was ten years old when his parents 
moved to Norwich. He received his education in 
the district school of East Killingly, the public 
schools at Norwich, and the Free academy. He 
then entered Wesleyan University, was graduated 
from there with the degree of A. 15., and in 1867 
the degree of M. A. was conferred upon him by 
that institution. After his graduation he returned 
to Norwich, and in the following October (1864), 
he was employed as clerk in the Thames National 
Bank, being in charge of the stock book; he was 
there when the capital stock of that bank was raised 
from $500,000 to $1,000,000. In January, 1865, he 
accepted a clerkship in the Norwich Savings Soci- 
ety, his position being the lowest one in the bank. 
Charles Johnson was president of the Institution at 
that time, and Benjamin Huntington was secretary 
and treasurer ; the deposits then were about $4,000,- 
000. Mr. Lippitt through industry and ability 
worked his way up, and in 188 1 was elected secre- 
tary and treasurer to succeed Mr. Huntington, 
which position he now holds. The Norwich Sav- 
ings Society was organized in 1824, and now has a 
savings deposit of nearly $15,000,000, being the 
second largest in the State, and one of the largest 
in New England. Mr. Lippitt is the leading active 
official. 

Costello Lippitt is a Republican, but has never 
accepted an elective office. For fifteen years pre- 
vious to July, 190T, he served as a member of the 
board of trustees of the Connecticut Hospital for 
the Insane at Middletown, when he resigned, and 
was succeeded by David A. Billings, of Norwich. 
He is a member of the board of directors and trus- 
tees of the Norwich Savings Society, and is senior 
member of the board of directors of the Merchants' 
National Bank. He has also been made a trustee 
of the Norwich Free Academy, and is secretary and 
treasurer of the Eliza Huntington Memorial Home 
at Norwich, succeeding his father on the board. In 
1903 he was elected the first president of the board 
of trustees of the new Norwich Hospital for the 
Insane, and he is a director of the Norwich Street 
Railway Companv. 

Mr. Lippitt is one of the best known members 
of the Masonic fraternity in the State. He was 
made a Master Mason in Somerset Lodge, No. 34, 
F. & A. M., Norwich, and when St. James Lodge, 
No. 2$, was formed in 1873, he was a charter mem- 
ber of that lodge. He is a member of Franklin 
Chapter, No. 4, R. A. M. ; Franklin Council, No. 
3- R. & S. M. ; and is Past Eminent Commander of 
Columbian Commandery, No. 4, Knights Templar. 
For thirty consecutive years he has held office in the 
Commandery, at present holding the office of Pre- 
late. He is Past Grand Commander of the State ; 
Treasurer of the Grand Commandery of the State ; 
and President of the Past Grand Commanders' As- 
sociation Knights Templar of Connecticut. In 
Scottish Rite Masonry he has been equally profi- 
cient : He is a member of King Solomon Grand 

6 



Lodge of Perfection ; the Van Rennselaer Council 
of Princes of Jerusalem ; Norwich Sovereign Chap- 
ter of Rose Croix ; Connecticut Sovereign Consis- 
tory of Norwich, and has served three years as 
Commander-in-chief of the last body. He is at 
present a member of the finance committee. He 
also belongs to the Sphinx Temple, Mystic Shrine, 
at Hartford. On Sept. 20, 1898, at Cincinnati, he 
was made a member of the Supreme Council of the 
Sovereign Grand Inspectors General of the Thirty- 
Third and Last Degree for the Northern Masonic 
Jurisdiction. He is a member of the board of direc- 
tors of the Masonic Temple corporation, and treas- 
urer of the same. 

At the age of fourteen years Mr. Lippitt united 
with the East Main Street M. E. Church, and later 
transferred his membership to the Central M. E. 
Church, and then to the Sachem Street M. E. 
Church; in 1895, when the Trinity Methodist Epis- 
copal Church was organized, he was one of the lead- 
ing spirits and became president of the board of 
trustees, holding that office to the present time. For 
the past twenty years he has served as superin- 
tendent of the Sunday School, and over forty years 
as organist of the churches, only lately resigning. 
He is yet Sunday School Superintendent. He is a 
member of the American Missionarv Board of the 
Alethodist Church, and has a wide acquaintance in 
Methodist circles, and also belongs to one of the 
societies in connection with the Weslevan Uni- 
versity. 

On Aug. 16, 1864, Mr. Lippitt was united to 
Emily Hyde Standish, of Norwich, adopted daugh- 
ter of Nathan Standish. Mrs. Lippitt died May 20, 
1889, aged forty-six years. She bore her husband 
two children: (1) Mary 15., born July 28. 1805, is 
the wife of C. J. Wolcott, of Norwich, and has two 
children, Marion Belle, and Marguerite Standish. 
(2) Norris S.. born Dec. 25, 1867, ls assistant teller 
in the Norwich Savings Society, and is a 33d de- 
gree Mason ; he married Inez P. Doolittle, and they 
have one child, Mary Esther. 

On May 31, 1891, Mr. Lippitt married for his sec- 
ond wife, Gertrude H. Lamphere, a direct descend- 
ant of Stephen Hopkins, one of the signers of the 
Declaration of Independence. Mrs. Lippitt is a 
member of the Faith Trumbull Chapter, D. A. R. 
Mr. Lippitt is well known, is very kind and oblig- 
ing, and holds the entire confidence of a large circle 
of friends, in both the business and social world. 

HON. HENRY BILL, late of Norwich, a 
former State Senator, useful citizen, and prominent 
business man, himself a New Englander of the best 
type, reflected in that life an ancestry no less sturdy 
and patriotic. 

Born May 18, 1824, in that part of the town of 
Groton now Ledyard. Conn., Mr. Bill was a son of 
Gurdon and Lucy (Yerrington) Bill, and a repre- 
sentative in the seventh generation from John and 
Dorothy Bill, the progenitors of this branch of the 



82 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Bill family in America. From them Mr. Bill's line- 
age is through Philip, Joshua, Phineas, Joshua (2), 
and Gurdon Bill. 

(I) John and Dorothy Bill were of record in 
Boston in 1638-39, the year in which Mr. Bill died, 
and the one in which Dorothy Bill, a widow, was of 
the household of Richard Tuttle. It is assumed by 
the author of the Bill genealogy that John and Dor- 
othy were man and wife ; that she was a sister of 
Tuttle ; that they came from England prior to 1635, 
and brought with them several children. Their chil- 
dren were : James, Thomas, Philip, John and Mary. 

(II) Philip Bill, born about 1620, in England, 
was early in Boston and vicinity. He was in New 
London in 1668, and settled on the east side of the 
Thames river in that portion of the town which 
became Groton in 1705. He became possessed of 
considerable property. He died July 8, 1689. His 
widow, Hannah, married Samuel Bucknall, of New 
London, and died in 1709. The children born to 
Philip Bill and his wife Hannah were : Philip, Mary, 
Margaret, Samuel, John, Elizabeth, Jonathan and 
Joshua. 

(III) Joshua Bill, born Oct. 16, 1675, in New 
London (now Ledyard), Conn., married (first) Nov. 
1, 1699, Joanna Potts, born in May, 1679, daughter 
of William Potts, of New London ; she died Nov. 
3, 1718, and he married (second) Oct. 4, 1719, Han- 
nah, born in December, 1697, a daughter of Will- 
iam Swodel, of Groton, and in the latter town Mr. 
Bill became a prominent public man, and was held in 
high esteem. He died in 1735. His wife Hannah 
survived him, and was the administratrix of his es- 
tate. His children by his first wife were : Joshua, 
Edward, Benajah and Mary ; and those by the second 
were: Phineas, Naomi, Orpha, Hannah, Sarah, 
Esther, Joanna and Phebe. 

(IV) Phineas Bill, born Sept. 3, 1720, in what is 
now the town of Ledyard, married Mehetabel Wood- 
worth, and lived in Ledyard. He was a cooper by 
trade, and an industrious and honorable man, and 
enjoyed the respect and confidence of his neighbors. 
He died in February, 1780. His widow survived 
him many years, and died in Ledyard, in July, 18 13. 
Their children were : Phineas, Mehetabel, Mary, 
Benajah, Joshua, Gurdon and a daughter whose 
name is unknown. 

(Y) Joshua Bill (2), born May 14, 1762, in 
what is now Ledyard (then Groton), married Abi- 
gail Miner, born Dec. 15, 1759, and settled in the 
town of his nativity. He learned the cooper's trade 
and followed it in connection with farming. He pos- 
sessed many estimable traits of character, was 
strictly temperate in his habits and exhibited eminent 
Christian virtues. While serving his country as a 
soldier in the Revolution he was wounded in one of 
his legs, and late in life was granted a pension by 
the Government. He died Dec. 20, 1841, when in 
the eightieth year of his age. His wife Abigail died 
Feb. 14, 1813. The children of Joshua and Abigail 
Bill were: Gurdon, born Jan. 18, 1784; Sabrina, Jan. 



14, 1786; Sarah, Sept. 16, 1787; Phineas, Sept. 16, 
1789; Abigail, Aug. 29, 1791 ; Betsey, Aug. 24, 
1793; Fanny, March 9, 1795; Avery, Oct. 1, 1796; 
and Nancy, June 2, 1798. 

(VI) Gurdon Bill, born Jan. 18, 1784, in Groton 
(now Ledyard) married Nov. 18, 1820, Lucy Yer- 
rington, born Jan. 6, 1795, daughter of Joseph and 
Anna (Witter Park) Yerrington, of Preston, Conn. 
Their children were: Edward M., born April 24, 
1822; Henry and Joshua (twins), May 18, 1824; 
Joseph, Feb. 12, 1826; Gurdon, June 7, 1827; Fred- 
eric, April 6, 1829, died in infancy; Eliza, May 7, 
1831 ; Frederic (2), Sept. 7, 1833 ; Ledyard, May 14, 
1836; Harriet, April 28, 1838; and Charles, June 7, 
1840. 

Nature had endowed Gurdon Bill with mental 
faculties of no common order. At the age of twen- 
ty-one, feeling greatly the want of an education, he 
resolved to make an effort to obtain it. He was 
admitted to the Plainfield Academy in one of the 
lower classes. He rapidly rose from class to class, 
and on leaving the institution he was among the fore- 
most. His aim had been to fit himself for a teacher, 
and on returning to his native town he at once en- 
gaged in that calling, and pursued it for seven suc- 
cessive winters. The intervening summers he spent 
in farming. He taught the first grammar school held 
in Groton. Long before the close of the seven years' 
period he had acquired a wide and honorable reputa- 
tion as a teacher and citizen. During the war of 1812 
he was temporarily stationed on picket duty at Ston- 
ington, while the British fleet was cruising off that 
port. Mr. Bill was for a brief period in the whole- 
sale fish trade at the old "Fly Market," in New York 
City ; leaving there he embarked in mercantile busi- 
ness with Philip Gray in Groton (Ledyard), where 
afterward he purchased land and resided. Later he 
bought the interest of his partner, and continued the 
business on his own account until his family had con- 
siderably increased in numbers. His children being 
most boys, he deemed best to engage in farming, so 
as to rear them in habits of industry. He had already 
purchased parts of two farms. Mr. Bill's voice and 
influence as a citizen was always on the side of truth 
and justice; he despised a mean action, and was the 
friend of the defenseless, and was charitable every- 
where. "Do unto others as you would have them 
do unto you," was his rule in life. In 1828 he rep- 
resented his native town in the State Legislature. 
Few men in the State led so quiet a life, and yet 
impressed society as much as he. In the division of 
the old town of Groton he was chiefly instrumental. 
Mr. Bill died Sept. 10, 1856, and was buried with 
ceremony by the Masonic fraternity, in the family 
burying ground located on his farm. His wife died 
Oct. 1, 1846. Her character, as her person, was one 
of great loveliness. ■ She expressed but one wish for 
which she desired to live, and that was that she 
might see her children grow to man's estate. She 
was a member of the Baptist Church at Preston, and 
her life ever exemplified that of the true Christian. 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



83 



Henry Bill, at the age of fourteen, was appren- 
ticed to John J. Hyde, in the office of the old New 
London Gazette, but remained only four months, 
when he returned home to assist his father on the 
farm. He returned to New London in a few months, 
and engaged for a short time as a clerk for Robert 
Chapman, in a confectionery store. The following 
winter he engaged as a teacher in the Broadbrook 
district, Preston, receiving for his services nine dol- 
lars per month. Having decided on teaching as a 
profession, to this end he attended in the succeeding 
fall a teacher's preparatory school, in Plainfield, 
Conn. The following winter he taught a school in 
Plainfield, and at Groton the next winter: In 1842, 
at the age of eighteen, he, after the fashion of enter- 
prising boys of that day, purchased his time until he 
should arrive at the age of manhood. He now en- 
gaged with his cousin, James A. Bill, of Lyme, as a 
traveling agent for the sale of books. At the age of 
twenty-three, having acquired a practical knowledge 
of this business, and having married, he went to 
Norwich, Conn., and established himself as a book 
publisher on his own account. Here he passed the 
remainder of his life. Although at the start he had 
no capital and no influential friends, he became pros- 
perous and successful at once, and for about thirty 
years continued an unbroken career of prosperity. 
While a traveling agent Mr. Bill had traveled exten- 
sively through several of the Western and some of 
the Eastern States, and it was through the encour- 
agement of Messrs. Harper & Brothers, of New 
York City, that he had in 1847, engaged in the pub- 
lication and sale of books by subscription. 

Among the celebrated works Mr. Bill published 
were the "Travels of Stephens and Catherwood in 
Central America," "Chiapas and Yucatan," "Dr. 
Kitto's Illustrated History of the Bible," "A History 
of the World," and Abbott's "Civil War in Amer- 
ica," which last he issued in conjunction with his 
brothers Gurdon and Ledyard. In the dissemina- 
tion of these books he gave employment to thousands 
of agents. Mr. Bill was one of the oldest subscrip- 
tion book publishers in the country. Subsequently 
he put his business into a joint stock company, plac- 
ing the management into the hands of others, and 
gave his whole time to the care of other interests, 
which had accumulated on his hands, and the recup- 
eration of his health, which had became seriously im- 
paired. 

In 1850 Mr. Bill, in company with two other gen- 
tlemen, engaged in developing a large tract of land 
on the south bank of the Shetucket, at its junction 
with the river Thames, now Laurel Hill. He was the 
active partner in this enterprise, and lived to enjoy 
the satisfaction of seeing what was a ragged and 
apparently worthless tract of land, when he put his 
hand to it, one of the most flourishing villages in 
the State, connected with Norwich by a substantial 
bridge. Here he had his residence, and enjoyed all 
the comforts and luxuries of a New England home. 



Later he purchased a fine home on Broadway, which 
was his residence at the time of his death. 

Mr. Bill devoted much time to politics. In 1853 
he was nominated by the Democrats to represent the 
Eighth Senatorial District in the State Senate. Mr. 
Bill was elected, and was the youngest member in 
the Senate. In 1856 he espoused the Free Soil cause, 
and was ever, from this time on, an earnest worker 
in the ranks of the Republican party, but never ran 
for office save that one time. During the Civil war 
he was a trusted counselor of Gov. Buckingham, and 
gave largely of his time and money to the support 
of the Government. Mr. Bill never forgot his na- 
tive town. His love for it and its people was unfail- 
ing. During his life he endowed an ample free pub- 
lic library for the town, and by his will he left a sum 
sufficient to build a fire-proof building for the books, 
besides giving to the Congregational Church of the 
town his family homestead as a parsonage, and a 
large sum of money. 

Mr. Bill was an earnest patriot, strongly attached 
to his country and her institutions, was a true friend, 
a good neighbor, and all in all, one of the best pro- 
ducts of the institutions of old Connecticut. 

Mr. Bill maintained a summer residence at East- 
ern Point, in the town of Groton. Here his death oc- 
curred Aug. 14, 1891, this event being sudden and 
unexpected although he had been for twenty years in 
impaired health. 

On Feb. 10, 1847, Mr. Bill was married to Julia 
Octavo Chapman, who was born in Groton, Conn., 
Dec. 14, 1824, a daughter of Simeon Chapman ; she 
died in November, 1903. This marriage was blessed 
with children as follows : Henry Gustavus, born 
Nov. 18,1847, cue d Nov. 3, 1853 ; John Harper, born 
June 21, 1851 ; Henry Sumner, born June 19, 1856; 
Julia Florence, born April 29, 1858; Jennie Eliza, 
born April 8, i860 ; and Frederic Abbott, born March 
12, 1864. 

JOHN MITCHELL, who passed away at his 
home in Norwich Jan. 7, 1901, full of years and 
honor, was truly one of that city's grand old men, 
and was throughout his active life closely identified 
with the commercial progress of Norwich and vi- 
cinity, the line of his chief interest being the iron 
business, with which he and his father were con- 
nected for over forty-five years. 

Mr. Mitchell was a native of Stourbridge (near 
Birmingham), England, born Aug. 29, 1819, son of 
Thomas and Elizabeth (Williams) Mitchell, the 
father born in 1798. In 1828 the family, consisting 
of parents and five children, came to America, the 
father to enter the employ of the Sterling Iron Com- 
pany, of New York City, whose works were located 
on Broadway. After three years' residence in New 
York City the family removed to Wareham, Mass., 
where Mr. Mitchell conducted the Washington Iron 
Works, and in 1845 * ne y settled in Norwich, where 
he took the management of the Cold Springs Iron 



8 4 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Works, at Thamesville, which he purchased in 1850. 
He was also interested in the Gosbold Mills, at New 
Bedford, Mass. In 1852 James M. Huntington (de- 
ceased) became interested in the Cold Spring 
Works, which were conducted by the firm of J. M. 
Huntington & Co., until 1862, when Mr. Huntington 
withdrew. In 1867 Thomas Mitchell died, aged 
sixty-nine years, and his sons, John and Thomas, 
carried on the business under the firm name of 
Mitchell Brothers. Thomas Mitchell was killed in 
the works May 9, 1865, and subsequently John 
Mitchell's elder son, Albert G., and Azel W. Gibbs 
(now deceased) entered into partnership with him; 
in 1879 ^ r - Mitchell's younger son, Frank A., was 
given an interest in the business, and the same year 
the company purchased the Thames Iron Works. 
Both works enjoyed a profitable patronage until 
Western competition spoiled the business in the East, 
and Mr. Mitchell close the plant in 1891. During the 
Civil war the Cold Spring Iron Works were quite 
important, supplying quantities of iron to the United 
States Government for the Armory at Springfield. 

John Mitchell received scarcely any schooling 
whatever, as he only attended in New York, and the 
methods of instruction being very crude in those 
days he had little of the benefits of what is now 
called education. He early went into the mill, and, 
beginning at the bottom, mastered every detail of 
the work. Having a wonderfully retentive memory, 
by study and observation he became well informed. 
acquiring by his own exertions, and in contact with 
men of intellect, the breadth of mind and intellectual 
grasp which his early opportunities did not supply. 
He was a kind and courteous gentleman of the old 
school, admired, loved and respected by all. ( Jut- 
side of the iron business, to which he devoted his 
principal attention, Mr. Mitchell was interested in 
various other commercial enterprises of Norwich and 
vicinity, having ever been ready to give practical 
aid and encouragement to any project which would 
promote the growth or advance the welfare of his 
adopted town. For thirty years he was connected 
with the Norwich Savings Society, of which he 
acted as president during the last five years of his 
life : for twenty-seven years he was a director of the 
Thames National Bank ; was one of the founders, 
and for seventeen years president, of the Richmond 
Stove Company ; was a member of the Uncas Paper 
Company, of which he was one of the original board 
of directors ; and was a director of the Crescent 
Fire Arms Company. He also took a patriotic in- 
terest in the public affairs of the city, and served as 
a member of the court of common council for two 
years, being elected to that body by the Republican 
party, of which he was a stanch member. Free ed- 
ucation was a matter of particular interest to him, 
and he was trustee of the Free Academy, and a 
fellow of the corporation. He was also interested 
in the Y. M. C. A. and the United Workers. 

On June 6, 1841, Mr. Mitchell married Miss 
Joanna Dexter Gibbs, daughter of Capt. Joshua and 



Deborah (Washburn) Gibbs, of Wareham, Mass., 

and they had a family of four children, two of whom 
died in infancy. Of the survivors. Albert G. is a 
resident of Norwich ; he married Martha S. Laigh- 
ton, and has one son, John L., a clerk in the First 
National Bank, who married Helen S. Gilbert. 
Frank A. married Martha H. Collins, and 
has one daughter, Joanna D. Frank A. Mitchell 
was for several years engaged in the iron business 
in Belleville, Canada, but now resides in Norwich; 
in 1885 he represented Norwich in the State Legis- 
lature. Mrs. John Mitchell also survives. Mr. 
Mitchell was also survived by two sisters and two 
brothers, Charles, William. Mrs. George W. Geer 
and Mrs. Francis Davis, all of Norwich. 

Mr. Mitchell found his chief recreation in fish- 
ing, and he was one of the most enthusiastic of fish- 
ermen, indulging in the sport as long as he was able. 
He attended the Second Congregational Church, of 
which he was a generous supporter, and he was 
always active and zealous in church work and 
benevolent enterprises, being liberal and kind to 
those less comfortably situated than himself. In 
business a man of great industry and sterling integ- 
rity, in his home relations thoroughly domestic and 
kindly, in society a congenial and pleasant compan- 
ion, both because of his intellect and happy disposi- 
tion, his death was mourned in many places, and he 
was even where spoken of in terms of the highest 
praise. 



WATERMAN RUFUS BURNHAM, one of 
the well-known citizens of Norwich, living retired 
after a successful business career, is descended from 
an old Massachusetts family, whose coming to Amer- 
ica dates back almost to the founding of that Colony. 

(I) Deacon John Burnham, and his brothers 
Thomas and Robert, sons of Thomas and Alary 
(Andrews) Burnham. of Norwich, county of Nor- 
folk, England, while they were yet boys came to 
America, in 1035, in the ship "Angel Gabriel." in 
care of their maternal uncle, Capt. Andrews, and set- 
tled in Chebacco, in the Colony of Massachusetts 
Bay. John became a deacon in the church there. 
He joined the expedition against the Pequots in 
1637, and received grants of land for his services, 
becoming thereby the owner of a large tract of land 
on the east side of Haskell's creek. He died in Che- 
bacco, Nov. 5, 1694. The Christian name of his 
wife was Mary, and their children were John. Josiah, 
Ann and Elizabeth. 

(II) Josiah Burnham was born May 9. 1662, 
and married July 12, 1687, Abigail, daughter of 
Thomas Yarney. They lived in Ipswich, where he 
died Oct. 25, 1692. His wife died Oct. 31, 1692. 
Their children were Josiah, Jacob and Ebenezer. 

(III) Ebenezer Burnham was born Dec. 28, 
1691, and lived in Hampton, Conn. In 1733-34 he 
purchased a farm bounding on Merrick's brook. He 
and his wife Dorathy joined the church in Hampton 
Oct. 20, 1734. Mr. Burnham died March 10. 1746, 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



85 



and Mrs. Burnham passed away June 26, 1760, aged 
sixty-three years. Their children were Joshua, 
Ebenezer, Joseph, Andrew, Isaac and Dorathy. 

(IV) Andrew Burnham, born March 28, 1726, 
married May 11, 1757, Jane, daughter of William 
Bennett, and lived in Hampton, Conn. He died 
in 1787, leaving eight children: Andrew, William, 
Elizabeth, Sarah, Adonijah, Mercy, Rufus and 
Enoch. 

(V) Deacon William Burnham was born March 
5, 1764, and resided in what is now Scotland, Conn., 
where he was quite extensively engaged in farming. 
He was a man of influence and prominence in town 
affairs, and held many of the town offices. He was 
a deacon of the church for many years. He died at 
Scotland, April 20, 1847. He was married Dec. 2, 
1790, to Lois Grow, of Eastford, Conn., an aunt of 
the Hon. Galusha A. Grow, of Pennsylvania. She 
died Nov. 22, 1843, the mother of the following chil- 
dren : Elisha, who died in infancy; Elisha (2); 
William ; Rufus ; Lucius ; Marcus ; Mason ; Lois ; 
and Marvin. 

(VI) Rufus Burnham was born Jan. 25, 1799, 
in Scotland, Conn., and followed the occupation of a 
farmer all his life, in the town of Windham, meet- 
ing with much success financially. He held a num- 
ber of town offices, and was a man much beloved and 
respected. He was an earnest Christian, and was a 
member of the Christian Church whose place of 
worship was known locally as the "Burnham Meet- 
ing House," which was located in the town of Scot- 
land. Politically he was a Whig. His death, which 
occurred March 16, 1847, was caused by pneumonia, 
and he was buried at North Windham. He married 
Maria Smith, born in 1797 in Vermont, who after 
the death of her first husband became the wife of 
Capt. John Day, of Dayville, Conn., to whom she 
was married in 1849. She survived him, and died 
at the home of her daughter, Mrs. F. M. Lincoln, at 
North Windham, June 25, 1866, at the age of sixty- 
nine years. Her children were all by her first mar- 
riage : (1) Mary Ann, born April 2, 1823, was 
married Nov. 22, 1846, to Frank M. Lincoln, a mer- 
chant and a prominent citizen of North Windham, 
Conn. She died Aug. 21, 1884, leaving one daugh- 
ter, Edith M., wife of M. Eugene Lincoln, a prom- 
inent citizen of Willimantic. (2) William, born 
Feb. 22, 1826, married Miss Ellen Bass, of Scotland, 
Nov. 26, 1848. He was a farmer and resided in 
Windham. He died April 13, 185 1, leaving one 
son, Rufus W., who is manager of the Southern 
California agency of R. G. Dun & Co., and resides 
at Los Angeles, Cal. (3) Waterman Rufus. 

Waterman Rufus Burnham was born Dec. 4, 
183 1, in Windham, and attended the district school 
and the village school kept at Windham Center, by 
Miss Jane Fuller and others. He later attended the 
Connecticut Literary Institute, at Suffield. Conn. 
After completing his schooling he entered the drug 
store of Col. Samuel Tyler, of Norwich, Conn., in 
the capacity of clerk, remaining there four years, 



and then, in company with his brother-in-law, F. 
M. Lincoln, bought the drug store of Edward Moul- 
ton, Willimantic, and engaged in business there un- 
der the firm name of Burnham & Lincoln. Later he 
purchased the interest of his partner, and for a time 
conducted the business alone. Mr. Burnham dis- 
posed of the drug business in 1855, and at the re- 
quest of his 'father-in-law became connected with 
the business owned by Mr. Wood, known as the 
Uncasville Manufacturing Company. Mr. Burn- 
ham was at first an accountant, later became assist- 
ant treasurer, and finally treasurer. He was serving 
in the later capacity when he retired from the posi- 
tion, in 1897, after a term of service with that firm 
covering forty-two years. 

Mr. Burnham was married, Dec. 25, 1853, to 
Miss Julia A. Wood, daughter of Willet R. and Julia 
A. (Reed) Wood, the former a successful cotton 
manufacturer at Uncasville. Mr. and Mrs. Burn- 
ham had one son, William, who died at the age of 
three months. Since 1873 Mr. Burnham has been a 
resident of Norwich, where he has a handsome resi- 
dence located on the corner of Alain and Park 
streets. 

Mrs. Burnham died Jan. 21, 1882, and Mr. Burn- 
ham was married again Dec. 4, 1883, to Miss Ella 
A. Bradford, a daughter of Rev. E. B. Bradford, a 
minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Hyde 
Park, Mass. They have had two children : Harold, 
who died in infancy, and Rufus Bradford, born 
April 11, 1886, who graduated from the Thacher 
School, at Nordhoff, Cal, and concluded his pre- 
paration for Yale at the Norwich Free Academy. 

Mr. Burnham is a Republican in politics, and 
during his residence at Uncasville was called to 
many positions of honor and trust. In 1862 he rep- 
resented the town of Montville in the Legislature; 
he also served as chairman of the board of relief in 
Montville, and was for many years school visitor in 
that town. He took a very active interest in educa- 
tional matters and was instrumental in securing the 
building of the present school house at Uncasville. 
Mr. Burnham attended the Congregational Church 
at Windham when a boy, during the pastorate of 
Rev. John Tyler, and 011 removing to Lncasville, 
where there was no Congregational Church, he at- 
tended the Methodist Church. When the question 
of building a new Methodist Church at Uncasville 
arose, it was Mr. Burnham who raised the funds, 
and served on the building committee. When the 
edifice, which was a much more elaborate one than 
it was thought possible to have, was dedicated, 
it was entirely free from debt. His interest and 
activity in church work by no means ended with 
this, as, in addition to being one of its main stays, 
he took a foremost part in its Sunday-school work, 
serving as superintendent for a number of years. 
Since his residence in Norwich he has been quite 
active in the affairs of the Broadway Congrega- 
tional Church, where he served as superintendent 
of the Sundav-school for many vears, and is a dea- 



86 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD, 



con in the church. Mrs. Burnham and her son are 
also members of this church. Mr. Burnham was 
one of the State Sunday-school representatives at a 
large number of the International Sunday-school 
Conventions, serving on various committees, and for 
some years was a member of the International Sun- 
day-school Executive Committee. In 1880 he rep- 
resented Connecticut at the Centennial of Modern 
Sunday-schools in London, at that time spending 
several months in travel in the Old World. As a 
conductor of Sunday-school institutes, and a leader 
at conventions throughout the State, as a presiding 
officer and as a practical and earnest speaker, his 
words and work will long be remembered. The in- 
tense and active interest taken by Mr. Burnham in 
all kinds of religious and charitable work is best 
shown by his prominent and extensive connection 
with such societies. He was for years chairman of 
the State Sunday-school Association ; was for years 
chairman of the New London County Sunday- 
school Union ; is a corporate member of the Amer- 
ican Board of Commissioners of Foreign Missions ; 
is a corporate member of the Connecticut Bible So- 
ciety; was the first president of the Norwich Y. M. 
C. A. and served in that office for five years ; is one 
of the oldest members of the State Y. M. C. A. com- 
mittee and for many years has been the State Cor- 
responding member of the International Y. M. C. 
A. committee. "When the Norwich City Mission, an 
organization now under the auspices of The United 
Workers, was in existence, he served as its presi- 
dent for several years. In his long and useful life, 
the work which stands out most prominently is that 
done in religious and charitable bodies, a work that 
has been to him the most pleasant, and marked by 
zeal and sincerity. 

Mr. Burnham in business circles is equally as 
well known. He is vice-president and one of the di- 
rectors of the Dime Savings Bank, and when the 
Second National Bank was in existence he served 
as one of its directors for seventeen years. For 
some time he was a director of the New London 
Fire Insurance Company. He is an active member 
of the New England Cotton Manufacturing Asso- 
ciation ; member of the Home Market Club ; and a 
member of the Norwich Board of Trade. 

As a citizen, none in his city enjoys to any great- 
er extent the respect and high esteem of all who 
know him. A man of the strictest intesrritv, he en- 
joys to an unusual degree the marked confidence of 
his business and social acquaintances. Personally 
he is a man of most pleasing address. His friends 
are numerous, and in business and social life he has 
always been a prominent figure. Mr. and Mrs. 
Burnham spend considerable time in travel. For 
several years past they have made annual trips to 
the Pacific coast. 

BREWSTER. This honored family is one of 
historic prominence in New England. This article 
treats of the branch of the family of Capt. John 



Brewster, late of Ledyard — one of New London 
county's most highly esteemed and well known citi- 
zens, and one of God's noblemen — and two of Capt. 
Brewster's sons, the late John Denison Brewster, of 
Norwich, and Frank W. Brewster, who resides on 
the old homestead. 

Two of Capt. Brewster's great-grandfathers, 
Lieut. Parke Avery and Capt. William Latham, were 
heroes of the Revolution. The first of the Brewster 
family in America was 

(I) Elder William Brewster, born in 1590, in 
England, "the excellent elder of Plymouth." who 
came to America in the ''Mayflower." in 1620. He 
died in 1644. His wife was Mary (presumably) 
Love. 

(II) Jonathan Brewster, came to New London in 
1649, from Duxbury, Mass.. and later bought land 
from Uncas at Brewster's Neck, and there estab- 
lished a trading post. He was the first town clerk 
of New London. His wife was Lucretia Oldham. 

(III) Benjamin Brewster, born in 1633, married 
Anna Dart. He died in 1710. 

(IY) Jonathan Brewster married Judith 
Stephens. 

(V) Joseph Brewster married Dorothy Witter. 

(YI) Jabez Brewster was the next in line. 

(ATI) John Brewster, grandfather of John D. 
and Frank W.. was born in Preston, Dec. 15, 1782,. 
and died Nov. 12, 1848. His wife was Mary (com- 
monly called Polly), daughter of Capt. Israel Mor- 
gan, a soldier of the Revolution. In 1820 John Brew- 
ster purchased the homestead, then known as the 
"Capt. Israel Morgan farm.'' and there resided until 
his death. His family consisted of three sons and 
one daughter. 

( YIII) Hon. John Brewster was born May 13, 
1816. in Preston, and grew to manhood on the farm. 
He was educated in the common schools and Bacon 
Academy, at Colchester. When in his eighteenth 
year he enlisted as sergeant in a rifle company from 
Groton and Stonington, and afterward was chosen 
captain, by which title he was well known throughout 
life. Previous to his marriage he taught school for 
several winters. Shortlv after his marriage Mr. 
Brewster brought his wife to the home where he 
lived for over eighty years, and with his wife over 
sixty years. This farm, situated in the town of 
Ledyard. and just South of the village of Poque- 
tanuck, four miles from Norwich, contains about 
140 acres. In addition to farming Capt. Brewster 
bought wool in company with the late L. W. Car- 
roll, of Norwich, and also for the Yantic Woolen 
Company. In the capacity of appraiser, trustee and 
administrator, he often assisted in settling estates, 
some of them requiring the handling of large 
amounts of property and involving knotty and 
troublesome problems. He was always conspicuous 
for broad intelligence and sound judgment, and was 
honest, kind hearted and generous to a fault. With 
his family he always attended St. James Episcopal 
Church, of Poquetanuck, and was a liberal supporter 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



87 



of the same. He represented the town of Ledyard 
in the House of Representatives in 1847, 1851, and 
1878, and the Tenth district in the Senate in i860, 
1885 and 1886. For several years he held the office 
of selectman (first and second), was probate judge 
of the town of Ledyard, and president of the Bill 
Library Association. He was president of the Mer- 
chants' National Bank of Norwich for twelve years, 
and several years was first vice-president of the 
Norwich Savings Society. In addition he was a di- 
rector, president and treasurer (until his health 
failed) of the New London County Agricultural So- 
ciety, and for several years a member of the State 
Board of Agriculture. In politics Mr. Brewster was 
a Republican. "Capt. Brewster and his wife were 
noted in their own neighborhood for their charity to 
the needy, and sympathy in sorrow. No poor neigh- 
bor ever went to them in trouble who did not come 
away with a more hopeful heart and heavy purse. 
Their generous deeds were not the impulse of the 
moment, but the fruit of their religious principles." 

Capt. Brewster died April 22, 1902, and his 
widow a week later, on April 30, 1902. Both were 
buried in the old Brewster cemetery on Brewster's 
Neck which was established in 1660. 

Mr. Brewster was married April 2, 1840, to Mary 
Esther Williams, born March 13, 1818, daughter of 
Denison Billings and Hannah (Avery) Williams, 
and they had children as follows: (1) Mary Han- 
nah, born Jan. 19, 1841, died Sept. 2, 1842. (2) John 
Denison, born Jan. 29, 1843, is mentioned below. 
(3) Fanny H., born Sept. 14, 1845, is the wife of 
Thomas H. Geer, a leading citizen of Cleveland, 
Ohio, who has a sketch elsewhere. (4) Phoebe 
Esther, born July 21, 1848, was married Oct. 22, 
1873, to Benjamin F. Lewis, Jr., and resides in Nor- 
wich. (5) Frank Williams, born April 24, 1854, is 
mentioned farther on. 

John Denison Brewster, eldest son of Capt. 
Brewster, in early life engaged in teaching, and was 
most successful in that calling in various schools in 
New London County. In 1867 he engaged in the 
mercantile business, which he followed assiduously 
for more than a quarter of a century, in the building 
located on the Northwest corner of Main and Ferry 
streets, Norwich. He was held in high esteem in 
commercial, banking, municipal and social circles, as 
evidenced by the important positions of trust which 
he had been called to fill, and by the resolutions of 
respect which were adopted by the various bodies of 
which he was a member at the time of his death. Ac- 
tion was taken at a special meeting of the common 
council of the City of Norwich, called by Mayor 
C. L. Harwood, who, in opening the council, said : 
"It is my painful duty tonight to inform you in this 
official manner of the death of Councilman J. D. 
Brewster. In his death the city has lost an honest, 
upright public servant, and the council has lost one 
of its most respected members. Good judgment, 
business ability, and firm convictions, a genial and 



social disposition made him many warm and lasting 
friends." The resolutions presented by Alderman 
Palmer, and adopted by the council, referred to 
Councilman Brewster as one "whose genial nature 
and unfailing courtesy endeared him to all his fel- 
low members," and "whose sound judgment, ster- 
ling integrity and knowledge of city affairs, made 
him a most useful public servant. His conduct was 
controlled by strong convictions which were always 
at the service of his fellows, but never obtruded. 
Shunning prominence with an almost morbid sensi- 
tiveness, he spared neither his time nor his strength 
in the modest discharge of his official duties, and 
almost the last act of his life was in the service of 
the public." 

At the time of his death Mr. Brewster was a 
trustee of the Norwich Savings Society, and a di- 
rector in the Merchants' National Bank of Norwich, 
whose recorded resolutions recite that his "manly 
character, his fidelity in attending to his official du- 
ties, his good judgment and conservative ways, his 
independence in presenting his views upon business 
matters, his inclinations to be considerate and help- 
ful, combined to exemplify in him a true and able 
director. In the death of our associate we are made 
sensible of a severe loss. To each one of us comes 
with unmistakable force the feeling that a safe and 
reliant counselor and honored and honorable friend 
has been taken from our board. We shall miss the 
support and encouragement of his valued and con- 
spicuous services. In thus bearing testimony to the 
merits of his official life, we do not forget to record 
our appreciation of the fact that he stood high in the 
community, and that as a citizen his name was en- 
rolled among the worthiest and best." 

At the time of his death Mr. Brewster was also 
treasurer of the New London Agricultural Society, 
which also placed in its records its "high apprecia- 
tion of the valued services he had rendered the so- 
ciety as the custodian and manager of its finances," 
and bearing testimony of him as one "whose pure 
life and Christian character as a citizen has always 
been marked by unsullied integrity and a high sense 
of honor in the discharge of his duties in public and 
private life." He died suddenly April 30. 1894. 

Mr. Brewster was a Republican in politics. His 
religious connections were with the Protestant Epis- 
copal Church. 

On Oct. 18, 1 87 1, John D. Brewster was married 
to Maria Adaliza Geer, born in Ledyard, Conn., 
daughter of Nathaniel Bellows Geer, of Ledyard, 
and his wife Julia (Davis), a native of Preston, 
Conn., and to the marriage came two children, both 
born in Norwich ; Clara Louise on May 8, 1878, and 
Arthur M., on May 11, 1880. Clara Louise was mar- 
ried April 29, 1901, to James Morton, Jr., of New 
York City, and they reside in Melbourne, Australia, 
where he is manager and agent for the Crucible 
Steel Company, of America. They have had two 
children : John Brewster, born Feb. 20. 1902 ; and 






88 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Geer, born May i, 1903. Mrs. Morton is a mem- 
ber of the D. A. R., having the right to membership 
through several lines. 

Frank Williams Brewster, youngest of the 
children born to Capt. Brewster and his wife, was 
born April 24, 1854. in the house he now occupies, 
and received his education in the district school, East 
Greenwich Academy, and the Mystic Valley Insti- 
tute, at Mystic. He taught school three terms in his 
native town, two terms in the Avery District, and one 
term in the Lester District of Ledyard. At the age 
of twenty-four years he took the management of the 
farm, his father having many other interests to en- 
gage his attention, and conducted the farm for his 
father as long as the latter lived, after his death com- 
ing into full possession of same. The place com- 
prises 240 acres, located in the towns of Ledyard and 
Preston. Mr. Brewster also conducts a milk route 
in the neighboring villages of Poquetanuck and Hall- 
ville. 

On Oct. 24, 1878, Mr. Brewster was married to 
Mary L. Brown, of Preston, daughter of Lott K. 
and Elizabeth (Burdick) Brown, and they have had 
three children: (1) Frank died in infancy. (2) 
Hannah Elizabeth is a graduate of Miss Bard's In- 
stitute at Xorwalk, Conn. (3) Phoebe Halsey is a 
member of the class of 1904 of the Norwich Free 
Academy. 

Mr. Brewster is a Republican, and in 1901 was 
elected a member of the board of selectmen, the 
following year being chairman of the board for one 
year, and declining a re-election in 1903. He suc- 
ceeded his father as a trustee of the Norwich Savings 
Society, and director and one of the vice-presidents 
of the New London County Fair Association. All 
of the family are members of St. James Episcopal 
Church at Poquetanuck, and he is one of the vestry- 
men. Mr. Brewster personally is popular, and is 
one of the leading men of the town. 

Williams. The Williams family to which 
Mrs. Mary Esther (Williams) Brewster belonged, 
figured conspicuously during the Colonial period, in 
the struggles of the early settlers against the Indians. 
(1) Robert Williams, the emigrant ancestor of this 
branch of the Williams family, was born in 1598, a 
son of Stephen and Margaret (Cook) Williams, and 
was baptized in Great Yarmouth, England. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Stalham, of Great Yarmouth, and 
sailed for America in the ship "Rose," landing in 
New England in 1635. Mrs. Williams died July 28, 
1674, aged eighty years, and he married (second) it 
is assumed, Martha Strong. She died Dec. 22, 1704. 
Mr. Williams died in Roxbury, Mass., Sept. I, 1693. 
His children were : Elizabeth, Deborah, John, Sam- 
uel, Isaac, Stephen and Thomas. 

(II) Isaac Williams, born Sept. 1, 1638, in Rox- 
bury, married Martha Park, born March 2, 1641, 
daughter of Deacon William Park of Roxbury. She 
died Oct. 24, 1674, and he married (second) Judith, 
daughter of Peter and Elizabeth (Smith) Hunt. Mr. 



Williams died Feb. 11, 1707. The second Mrs. Will- 
iams died in 1724. His children were: Isaac, Isaac 
(2), Martha, William, John, Eleazer, Hannah, Eliz- 
abeth and Thomas, born to the first marriage, and 
Peter, Sarah, Mary and Ephraim, born to the sec- 
ond marriage. 

(III) Eleazer Williams, born Oct. 22, 1669, mar- 
ried in 1695. Mary (Rediat) Hyde, of Newton, 
Mass. Mr. Williams went first to Lebanon, Conn., 
whence he removed, in 171 2, to Stonington, Conn., 
and there he purchased a large tract of land on 
Ouaugutaug Hill, and built him a house, where he 
lived the remainder of his days. He died May 19, 
1725. His children were : Nehemiah, Martha, Mary, 
Hannah, Elizabeth and Priscilla. 

(IV) Nehemiah Williams, born Feb. 4, 1696, 
married (first) June 16, 1719, Deborah Williams, of 
Stonington; she died Jan. 31, 1756, and he married 
(second) March 2, 1757, Hannah Stoddard, who 
died Aug. 7, 1818, aged seventy-seven years. Mr. 
Williams died Aug. 25, 1788. His children, all born 
to the first marriage, were : Deborah, Nehemiah, 
Eunice, Martha, Eleazer, Lucretia and Prudence. 

(V) Deacon Eleazer Williams born Aug. 1, 
1730, married March 14. 1754, Abigail Prentice, who 
died Aug. 18, 1786. Their children were: Martha, 
Deborah, Eleazer, Gilbert, Martha, Amos, Daniel, 
Prentice, Fanny, Elam and Hannah. 

(VI) Eleazer Williams (3), born June 27, 1759, 
married Nov. 5, 1786, Mary Billings, of Stonington. 
He died March 20, 1814. Their children were : Mary, 
Eliza, Eleazer, Denison, Matilda, Frank, Noyes, 
Giles, Austin, Alfred, Phebe and Ira. 

(VII) Denison Williams born March 2, 1793, 
married Hannah born March 3, 1794, daughter of 
Youngs and Eunice (Latham) Avery, of Groton, 
Conn., and granddaughter of Lieut. Parke Avery, 
and of Capt. William Latham, both of Groton, Conn., 
and heroes of the Revolution. 

Lieut. Parke Avery of Groton, Conn., was en- 
gaged in the battle of Groton Heights, Conn., Sept. 
6, 1781, where he was wounded by a bayonet which 
took off part of the cranium, and destroyed his right 
eye. He was left for dead, but he came to his senses 
while being carried out of the fort on the shoulders 
of those who were collecting the bodies, recovered 
and lived to old age. 

Capt. William Latham of Groton, served under 
Washington, near Boston in 1775. He was captain 
in command at Fort Griswold, Sept. 6, 1781, until 
the arrival of Col. Ledyard, who had general com- 
mand of the defenses of New London harbor.. Capt. 
Latham was wounded in the battle of Groton 
Heights, taken prisoner and carried off to New 
York. 

The children of Denison B. Williams and his wife 
Hannah (Avery), were: Mary Esther, born March 
13, 1818; Denison, June 30, 1819; Celia, July 9, 
1822; Luke L., Jan. 12, 1824; Parke A., Feb. 28, 
1826; Eunice March 1, 1828; Frank, April 26, 1830; 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



89 



Youngs A.. May 25, 1833; and Elam V., July 1, 

1837. 

(\ III) Mary Esther Williams born March 13, 

18 1 8, married April 2, 1840, Capt. John Brewster. 

EXOCH F. CHAPMAN, long of the firm of E. 
Chapped & Co., extensive coal and lumber dealers on 
Central Wharf, and whose death occurred Jan. 24, 
1898, at his home on Laurel Hill, was identified with 
Norwich from his early boyhood, and became one 
of the leading" citizens and substantial men of that 
place. 

Mr. Chapman was born Feb. 25, 1828, in the city 
of New York, a son of the late Enoch C. and Eliza- 
beth (Demarest) Chapman, latterly residents of 
Norwich. He was of English origin, and a descen- 
dant in the fifth generation from his immigrant an- 
cestor, John Chapman. 

(I) It is traditional history that one John Chap- 
man, a son of John and Joanna (Sumner) Chap- 
man, residents of the neighborhood of fifty miles of 
London, England, was forced or pressed into the 
British navy, the vessel of which he was aboard 
later arriving at- Boston, where Mr. Chapman re- 
gained his liberty. He fled, and for a time took up 
his abode with one Samuel Allen, in what is now 
Wakefield, R. I. He was a weaver by trade, and 
went from Wakefield to North Stonington, Conn., 
where he followed that occupation the remainder of 
his life. On Feb. 16, 1 7 10, he married Sarah 
Brown. He died in 1760. Their children were: 
Sarah, born Nov. 25, 1710; Jonah, Sept. 2, 1712; 
John, Sept. 9, 1714; William, Dec. 19, 1716; An- 
drew, March 3, 1719 ; Thomas, about 1721 ; Sumner, 
about 1723 ; and Eunice. 

(II) Sumner Chapman, born about 1723, mar- 
ried Feb. 23, 1756, Elizabeth Herrick, and they re- 
sided in Westerly, R. I. Their children were : John ; 
Sumner; Elizabeth; Timothy, born May 28, 1760; 
Joseph, born in 1767 ; Israel, born in 1769 ; and Case, 
oorn in 1771. 

(III) Capt. Timothy Chapman, born May 28, 
1760, married Nancy Pendleton, born June 19, 1766, 
daughter of Major Joseph Pendleton, of Westerly, 
R. I. Both Capt. Chapman and his wife died in 
Franklin, Conn., he Aug. 29, 1827, and she Aug. 20, 
183 1. Their children were: Nancy, born Aug. II, 
^83; Joseph P., March 21, 1789 (died Nov. 22, 
1825) ; Demarious, Jan. 31, 1792 (died October 4, 
1871) ; Betsey, Dec. 8, 1795 (died in July, 1859) ; 
Oliver R., Feb. 5, 1797 (died Sept. 15, 1814) ; Sum- 
ner, April 1, 1798 (died Dec. 27, 1805) ; John C, 
Sept. 13, 1799 (died Aug. 27, 1825) ; Enoch C, 
March 22, 1802 (died July 31, 1868) ; Freeman C, 
Oct. 9, 1804 (died in Norwich) ; William P., Feb. 
16, 1808 (resided in Sandusky, Ohio) ; Dudley B., 
June 15, 181 1 (died in Norwich). 

(IV) Enoch C. Chapman, son of Capt. Timothy, 
and father of Enoch F., was born March 22, 1802. 
He spent his early life in New York and later came 
to Norwich, where he passed the remainder of his 



days, and where he died July 31, 1868 ; he was buried 
in Yantic cemetery. Mr. Chapman married in New 
York City, Nov. 24, 1826, Elizabeth Demarest, a de- 
scendant of an old French Huguenot family, who 
was born in New York Nov. 19, 1803, and died in 
Norwich Aug. 14, 1875 ; she, too, was laid to rest in 
Yantic cemetery. Their children were : ( 1 ) Enoch 
F., born Feb. 25, 1828, died Jan. 24, 1898. (2) 
Simon D., born May 7, 1829, died May 13, 1853. (3) 
Joseph P., born May 6, 1831, died Sept. 30, 1863.(4) 
Ann Elizabeth, born Nov. 14, 1833, resides in New 
York City. (5) George Washington, born Oct. 6, 
1835, died Jan. 3, 1856. (6) William H., born March 
30, 1839, is a well-known citizen of Norwich. He 
married Nov. 16, 1881, Miss Ella L. Herrick, and 
they have one child, Ruth Herrick, born Aug. 2, 
1890. (7) Sarah W., born Dec. 14, 1844, died July 
21, 1867. She married Hon. Charles P. Stnrtevant, 
and left one child, Lillian C, who married Dr. John 
Kurrus, of New York City. 

Enoch F. Chapman, when a small boy, was 
brought by his parents to Norwich, where he was 
reared, schooled and ever afterward resided. He 
was for a time a clerk in a store, and during his 
father's term of service as postmaster assisted in the 
duties of that office. In 1848 he became an assistant 
in the office of the late Edward Chapped, 
a lumber and coal merchant of Central Wharf. In 
1863 Mr. Chapman became associated with his em- 
ployer in a partnership, and the business was there- 
after conducted under the firm name of E. Chapped 
& Co. Later on these gentlemen took into partner- 
ship Arthur H. Brewer. Mr. Chapped died in 1891, 
and the business until the death of Air. Chapman, in 
1898, was continued by Messrs. Chapman & Brewer. 
These men all— Chapped, Chapman and Brewer — 
were successful in business, among the substantial 
and leading business men of Norwich, and Mr. Chap- 
man had a good reputation for shrewdness in busi- 
ness affairs. 

Mr. Chapman was a plain man, unostentatious, 
and rather quiet, utterly devoid of show. He gave 
generously to the poor and to charitable and worthy 
causes in state and church. The success with which 
he managed his own business afl'airs, with his fidel- 
ity and integrity, made him an available man for pub- 
lic trusts, but he had no taste for such, and declined 
overtures in that direction. He took a great inter- 
est in public affairs, believed in the future of Nor- 
wich, and was enterprising and public-spirited. He 
was a member of the court of common council for a 
number of years. He was a member of the board of 
managers of the Central Baptist Church, of which 
he was an attendant and a generous supporter. 

Mr. Chapman was one of the oldest members of 
Somerset Lodge, No. 34, F. & A. M., at Norwich, in 
which he held membership for upward of forty years, 
and was a Knight Templar, belonging to Columbian 
Commandery, No. 4 : he was a member of Uncas 
Lodge, No. 11, I. O. ( ). F. ; and was a charter mem- 
ber of Wauregan Lodge, No. 6, K. of P. He pos- 



90 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



sessed a kindly disposition, and was a great home 
man. 

On Sept. 24, 1857, Mr. Chapman married Phebe 
Noyes, who died July 27, 1868, and was buried in 
Yantic cemetery. They had two children : Charles 
E., of New York City ; and Elizabeth D., who mar- 
ried Burrill A. Herrick, of Norwich. 

HERRICK. The Herricks in England are an 
ancient family, to whom were granted a coat of arms. 
Here in New England the history of the family be- 
gins with the early Colonial period, and from early 
in the Eighteenth century a branch of the family 
has lived in the old town of Canterbury, and later in 
Norwich, Conn., where died on June 9, 1901, the 
late Alonzo Herrick, father of the present Norwich 
druggist, Burrill A. Herrick. It is with the family 
of the late Alonzo Herrick and his lineage this 
article is briefly to treat. 

Born Dec. 18, 1827, in Bozrah, Conn., the late 
Alonzo Herrick was a son of Daniel and Olive 
(Adams) Herrick, of Canterbury, and a descendant 
in the eighth generation from Henry Herrick, of 
Salem, Mass., the emigrant New England settler of 
this branch of the Herrick family, from whom his 
lineage is through John, John (2), Robert, John (3), 
Daniel and Daniel Herrick (2). These generations 
follow in detail and in the order given. 

(I) Henry Herrick, of Salem, Mass., the fifth 
son of Sir William Herrick (this based on circum- 
stantial rather than direct evidence), was born at 
Beau Manor, Leicestershire, England, in 1604, and 
probably came first to Virginia. Upham, in his 
"Salem Witchcraft" (Vol. I, p. 153), has the follow- 
ing : "Henry Herrick, who, as has been stated, pur- 
chased the Cherry-Hill farm of Alford, was the fifth 
son of Sir William Herrick, of Beau Manor Park, in 
the parish of Loughborough, in the County of Lei- 
cester, England. He came first to Virginia, and then 
to Salem. Herrick became a member of the First 
Church at Salem in 1629, and his wife Editha about 
the same time." Mr. Herrick was a husbandman in 
easy circumstances. He settled on the Cape Ann 
side of Bass river (now Beverly). He married 
Editha, daughter of Hugh Laskin, of Salem, and 
their children who survived infancy were : Thomas ; 
Zachariah, baptized Dec. 25, 1636; Ephraim, bap- 
tized Feb. 11, 1638; Henry, baptized Jan. 16, 1640; 
Joseph, baptized Aug. 6, 1645; Elizabeth, baptized 
July 4, 1647; John, baptized May 25, 1650; and 
Benjamin. The father purchased several farms at 
Birch Plains and Cherry Hill, on which he settled his 
sons Zachariah, Ephraim, Joseph and John. He died 
in 1671. 

(II) John Herrick, baptized May 25, 1650, mar- 
ried March 25, 1674, Mary, daughter of John and 
Mary (Gould) Redington, of Topsfield, Mass., who 
was born May 4, 165 1. Mr. Herrick settled on a 
farm given him by his father, at Birch Plains. He 
died in Beverly, Mass., in 1680. His children were : 



John, born in April, 1675 I Mary, born in 1677 ; and 
Daniel, born and died in 1679. 

(III) John Herrick (2), born in April, 1675,. 
married, in 1696, Sarah Kimball, and lived in Bev- 
erly, Mass. He died Jan. 29, 1722-23. His chil- 
dren were: John, born March 2, 1698-99; Robert, 
born May 2, 1701 ; Daniel, born Aug. 17, 1706; and 
Jonathan, born Aug. 10, 1710. 

(IV) Robert Herrick, born May 2, 1701, mar- 
ried in September, 1722, Mary Edwards, and settled 
first in Wenham, Mass., removed to Manchester,. 
Mass., in 1725, and thence to Canterbury, Conn., in 
May. 1 75 1. His child was John. 

(V) John Herrick (3), born Aug. 7, 1723, in 
Wenham, was of Manchester, Mass., and removed 
to Canterbury, Conn., in 1751. He married (first) 
Nov. 30, 1744, Rachel Driver, of Manchester, and 
their children were: Rachel, Robert, Rachel (2) 
and John. After the death of Rachel Mr. Herrick 
married (second) Elizabeth Smith, and their chil- 
dren were: Robert, Daniel, Elijah, Joseph, Mary, 
Ann and Ruth. 

(VI) Daniel Herrick, of Canterbury, Conn., 
married Olive Fiske, and their children were : Daniel 
and Orra. 

(VII) Daniel Herrick (2) married Olive Adams, 
a descendant of the old Braintree Adams family, and 
their children were : Eliza, Alonzo and Augustus D. 

Alonzo Herrick, son of Daniel Herrick (2), 
was reared and bred a farmer and also prepared for 
the business of a millwright. For years he was en- 
gaged in farming, but not to the exclusion of what 
business came to him in the other line of his trade. In 
1876 he located in Norwich, and from that time on 
followed his trade, passing the remainder of his life 
in that town, where he was an esteemed and re- 
spected citizen. His vocation brought him in contact 
with many people throughout that section, making 
him widely known. He held a number of local of- 
fices in his native town, and discharged them with 
efficiency and to the satisfaction of all interested. He 
was an attendant of one of the Congregational 
Churches. 

In 1853 Mr. Herrick was married to Freelove A. 
Ladd, daughter of Luther and Wealthy Ladd, of 
Franklin, Conn., and a descendant of one of the old 
and prominent families of this commonwealth. Mrs. 
Herrick died Jan. 15, 1895. She was a good Chris- 
tian woman and a devoted wife and mother. This 
marriage was blessed with two children, namely r 
Burrill A. and L. Ella. 

Burrill A. Herrick, son of the late Alonzo 
Herrick, was born Nov. 26, 1857, in Bozrah, and 
after receiving a common school education in the 
public schools of Norwich he learned the drug bus- 
iness in the establishment, and under the direction of 
Lanman & Sevin, of Norwich. In 1884 he went into 
business for himself, and is now conducting a suc- 
cessful drug business in the Wauregan block. Mr. 
Herrick is worthily bearing the family name, is a 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



9i 



good citizen and useful man in the community, and 
is deservedly popular. He is a member of the State 
Pharmacy Association. 

On Nov. 19, 1879, Mr. Herrick was married to 
Miss Elizabeth D. Chapman, a daughter of Enoch F. 
Chapman, and two children have come to them : 
Earle C. and Edith D., both of whom are still in 
school. 

GRISWOLD. The Griswold family has been 
one of prominence in Lyme from its earliest settle- 
ment, representatives of the family in every gener- 
ation being among the most honored citizens of the 
town. 

Richard Sill Griswold, who died suddenly at 
his home in Old Lyme June 30, 1904, was a descen- 
dant in the eighth generation of George Griswold, 
through Matthew, Matthew (2), Rev. George, 
George, George, and Richard Sill (1). 

(I) George Griswold was born in England, and 
his birth is recorded in the Solihull registry, April 

23, 1548. 

(II) Matthew Griswold, son of George, was born 
in 1597, and with his brother Edward came to Amer- 
ica in 1639. He located first at Windsor, then went 
to Saybrook, and was the pioneer in the movement 
from Saybrook to Lyme. He received his grant of 
land from Col. Fenwick, sometime in the year 1639, 
and called it Blackball. He passed the remainder of 
his life in Lyme, dying in 1698. His wife, Anna, 
daughter of Henry Wolcott, died in 1693. Matthew 
Griswold was a typical Englishman — hardy, ven- 
turesome, energetic, and with all of an Englishman's 
hunger for land, the number of a man's acres, in 
England, being supposed to be the measure of his 
respectability. He was a stone cutter by trade, and 
there is registered at Saybrook a receipt for 700 
pounds, dated April 2, 1679, and signed by Mat- 
thew Griswold, in payment for the tombstone of 
Lady Fenwick. To Matthew and Anna (Wol- 
cott) Griswold were born the following children: 
(1) Elizabeth, born in 1652, who married (first) 
John Rogers, (second) Peter Pratt, and (third) 
Matthew Beckwith ; (2) Matthew, born in 1653, 
who married (first) Phebe Hyde, and (second) 
Mary DeWolf Lee; (3) John, who died without 
heirs ; (4) Sarah, born in 1655, who married Thomas 
Cotton; and (5), Martha, born in 1656, who mar- 
ried Lieut. Abraham Brownson, the latter being 
buried at Old Saybrook. 

(III) Matthew Griswold (2) lived at Blackball, 
in a house built by himself, which was blown down 
in the September gale of 1815. He was a man of 
great size and strength, and was the champion se- 
lected by the citizens of Lyme, who fought and won 
in the great battle with New London. He married 
(first) Phebe Hyde, and (second) Mary DeWolf 
Lee, and died in 171 5. He was the father of eleven 
children, as follows: (1) Phebe, born Aug. 15, 
1684, who died in 1702 ; (2) Elizabeth, born Nov. 
19, 1685, who died in 1704; (3) Sarah, born May 



19, 1687, who died in 1706; (4) Matthew, born Sept. 
15, 1688, who died in April, 1712; (5) John, born 
Dec. 22, 1690, who died in 1764; (6) Rev. George, 
born Aug. 13, 1692, who died Oct. 14, 1 76 1 ; (7) 
Mary, born April 22, 1694, who married Edmund 
Dow, and died Feb. 21, 1776; (8) Deborah, born in 
1696, who married Col. Robert Denison, and died in 
1730; (10) Patience, born in 1698, who married 
John Denison, and died Nov. 8, 1776; (9) Samuel, 
born in December, 1697, who died June 10, 1727; 
and (11) Thomas, born in February, 1700, who died 
July 27, 1716. 

(IV) Rev. George Griswold was pastor of the 
Congregational Church at Niantic, for thirty-nine 
years, and is buried in the church yard near where 
stood his church. He married (first) Harriet Lynde, 
and (second) Elizabeth Lee, and had the following 
children: (1) George, born in 1726, who married 
Elizabeth Lee, and died in 1816; (2) Elizabeth, who 
married I. Raymond; (3) Lucretia, who married 
I. Latimer ; (4) Sylvanus, who married Elizabeth 
Marvin; (5) Samuel, who married Mary Marvin; 
(6) Hannah, who died without heirs ; (7) Eunice, 
who married E. Weeks ; and (8) Andrew, who mar- 
ried Eunice Prince. 

(V) George Griswold (2) lived at Giant's Neck, 
and died in 1816. He married Elizabeth Lee, by 
whom he had the following children: (1) Matthew, 
who died without heirs; (2) Hannah, who married 
S. Sill; (3) Elizabeth, who married J. Sill; (4) 
Candace ; (5) Anice and (6) Matthew, who died 
without heirs; (7) Jane, who married J. Lee; (8) 
Nathaniel, who married P. Hayden ; (9) Ursula, 
who married E. Wells; (10) George, who is men- 
tioned below ; ( 1 1 ) Phebe, who married E. Calkins ; 
and (12) Eunice, who married A. Gillette. 

(VI) George Griswold (3), was born March 6, 
1777, and died in 1858. He removed to New York 
when a young man, where he was one of the found- 
ers of the firm of M. L. and George Griswold, East 
India merchants. He married (first) Elizabeth 
Woodhull, and (second) Maria M. Cummings, and 
became the father of seven children, as follows : ( 1 ) 
Richard Sill, who is mentioned below; (2) Maria, 
who married George Winthrop Gray; (3) Cornelia, 
who married Joseph W. Haven; (4) Sarah Helen, 
who married John C. Green; (5) Matilda, who mar- 
ried Frederick Frelinghuysen ; (6) George Catlin, 
who married Lydia Alley; and (7) John Noble Al- 
sop, who married Jane Emmett. 

(VII) Richard Sill Griswold was born in New 
York City, in 1809, and died in Lyme, April 2, 1847. 
He graduated from Yale College with the class of 
1829, immediately after which he went as his father's 
agent to China, where he remained several years. Be- 
fore his return from China he was taken into part- 
nership by his father, and throughout his life was a 
capable and successful business man. About 1840 
he built a mansion in Old Lyme, and there made his 
home, although still carrying on his business in New 
York City. He married (first) Louisa Griswold 



9 2 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Mather, who was born June 15, 181 5, and died 
March 21, 1840; and (second) Frances Augusta 
Mather, who was born June 4, 1822, and died Dec. 
17, 1889. These two ladies were sisters, daughters 
of James and Caroline (Tinker) Mather, and de- 
scendants of Rev. Richard Mather, who died in Dor- 
chester, Mass., in 1669. Richard Sill Griswold had 
three children, as follows: (1) Louisa Mather, who 
married Gen. Joseph G. Perkins, and had these chil- 
dren : Edith Green (who married Wolcott G. Lane), 
Louisa Griswold and Griswold; (2) Richard Sill 
(2), who is mentioned below ; and (3) Frances Au- 
gusta, who married Prof. Nathaniel Matson Terry, 
of Annapolis, and had these children, Fanny, Gris- 
wold. Nathaniel Matson. and Louisa Griswold. 

(VIII) Richard Sill Griswold (2) was born 
in Lyme, June 3, 1845, and died June 30, 1904. 
His childhood was passed in Lyme ; at the age of 
eleven he went to New Haven where he entered the 
Hopkins Grammar School, and later he attended 
school in Xew York City. He made nearly twenty 
voyages across the Atlantic. Ids business for a num- 
ber of years being on Xew York and Liverpool 
packets. He was also in business with Brown & 
Brother, brass manufacturers of Waterbury. for 
seven years. On Feb. 9, 1869, he married, in Water- 
bury, Rosa Elizabeth Brown, daughter of Dr. Janus 
Brown, of that place. Mrs. Griswold was born in 
Aberdeen. Miss., Nov. 25, 1849. an( -l traces her de- 
scent through her father Dr. James Brown. Col. 
James. Stephen. Stephen, Capt. Francis and 
Samuel, to Francis Brown, an early settler 
in Connecticut, who was one of the seven 
men who stayed in New Haven, through the hard 
winter of 1639, at the place which is now the corner 
of Orange and Church streets. The children of 
Richard Sill and Rosa E. | Brown) Griswold. were 
as follows: Richard Sill (3), born Nov. 15, 1869. in 
Waterbury, attended the Bartlett School in Lyme, 
and graduated as a physician from Bellevue Hos- 
pital, in Xew; York City. He practiced medicine in 
Hartford for a time, and at the breaking out of the 
war with Spain enlisted in the 1st Connecticut, as 
surgeon. He went to the Philippines with the 26th 
U. S. V. I. as lieutenant and assistant surgeon, and 
was killed in the massacre at Samar Sept. 
28, 1901. (2) James Brown, born Dec. 10, 
1870, in Waterbury, lives in Morristown, X. 
J. He is a graduate of the Bartlett School, 
in Lyme, of Dartmouth Medical College, and 
of the College of Physicians and Surgeons in Xew 
York City. He married Mary A. Stokes, of East 
Hampton, L. I. (3) Daniel Eddie, born April 11. 
1874, in Lyme, attended the Bartlett School and 
graduated from Williams College, and from the Co- 
lumbian Law School, and is a practicing attorney in 
Lyme and Xew London. He married Helen, daugh- 
ter of Major Bancroft, of New London. (4) George, 
born March 8, 1876, in Lyme, is a graduate of the 
Bartlett School, and of the Biltmore School of For- 
estry. He is engaged in the insurance business and 



resides in Lyme. (5) Harry Todd was born Jan. 22, 
1879, m New Haven ; he attended the Bartlett School 
and studied music in Xew York City. He is in the 
engineering department of Westinghouse, Church, 
Kerr & Co.. with his headquarters in Xew York. 
(6) Rosa Elizabeth, born Jan. 29, 1880. in Xew 
Haven, is a graduate of Miss Porter's School in 
Farmington, Conn. (7) Joseph Perkins, born Sept. 
15, 1881, in Lyme, is a graduate of the Bartlett 
School. (8) Woodward Haven, born July 28, 1885, 
is also a graduate of the Bartlett School. 

Richard Sill Griswold was a well known man in 
fraternal circles, being a thirty-second degree Mason, 
and member of the lodge, chapter, council and com- 
mandery. in Waterbury. He is also a member of 
Lodge of Perfection, Cyrus, Goodale Chapter. Rose 
Croix, Hartford. Connecticut Sovereign Consistory. 
Norwich, Mecca Temple. Xew York City, and the 
Yeteran Masonic Association. He represented 
Lyme in the Legislature in 1878 and 1879. In 1890 
the Boxwood School for Girls was established in 
Lyme, which is under the direction of Mrs. Gris- 
wold. The school, with its ample grounds, is 
ideally situated between the Connecticut river and 
the Sound, and every care is taken to insure the well 
being of its pupils, the aim being to secure for them 
the best physical, mental, moral and spiritual devel- 
opment. 

HOX. FRANCIS B. LOOMIS, late of Xew 
London, whose death occurred July 13. 1892, at the 
home of his daughter in Hartford, had for forty 
and more years been a prominent and influential 
citizen of Xew London, as manufacturer, banker, 
legislator, etc. He was descended in paternal lines 
from a family known in England, and one of dis- 
tinction for 450 years, and of earlier existence in 
Lombardy and Spain. 

Born April 9, 1812, in Lyme, Conn., a son of 
Joel and Ellis (Chapped) Loomis, the deceased was 
a descendant in the seventh generation from To- 
seph Loomis, the immigrant ancestor of this branch 
of the family in the United States, his lineage being 
through Deacon John, Deacon Samuel, Daniel, John 
(2) and Joel Loomis. 

(I) Joseph Loomis, a woolen draper in Brain- 
tree, County of Essex, England, born probably 
about 1590, came to Boston in 1638. sailing from 
London in the ship "Susan and Ellen." It is of 
record in Windsor, that in 1640, he had granted him 
from the Plantation twenty-one acres of land adjoin- 
ing Farmington river, on the west side of the Con- 
necticut river ; also several large tracts on the east 
side of the Connecticut river (partly by purchase), 
the Judge Loomis home there still standing. His 
wife, whose name seems not to be known, died Aug. 
2T, y 1652. He died Nov. 25, 1658. There came with 
them eight children, all born in England, as fol- 
lows : Joseph, a daughter, Elizabeth, John, Thomas, 
Nathaniel, Mary and Samuel. 

(II) Deacon John Loomis, born in 1622, in Eng- 





a 




GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



93 



land, married Feb. 3, 1648-49, Elizabeth, daughter 
of Thomas Scott, of Hartford. He was admitted 
to the Church in Windsor in 1640, and in 1643 had 
granted him from the Plantation forty acres of land. 
From 1652 to 1660, he resided in Farmington, then 
returned to Windsor, and was a deacon in the church 
there. He was deputy to the General Court in 
1666, and in 1667, and also from 1675 to 1687. He 
died Sept. I, 1688, his wife surviving him. Their 
children were : John, Joseph, Thomas, Samuel, Dan- 
iel, James, Timothy, Nathaniel, David, Samuel (2), 
Isaac, Elizabeth and Alary. 

(III) Deacon Samuel Loomis, born Aug. 12, 
1666, married (first) July 2, 1688, Elizabeth, born 
Nov. 13, 1667, daughter of Daniel White, of Hat- 
field; she died Feb. 10, 1736, and he married (sec- 
ond) Oct. 25, 1738, Mrs. Elizabeth Church, a widow, 
who died Aug. 10, 1751, aged seventy-six years. 
Deacon Loomis removed to Colchester in 1700, 
where in 1702 he was chosen deacon. His death oc- 
curred May 20, 1754. His children were: Eliza- 
beth, Samuel, Samuel (2), Isaac, Jacob, Azariah, 
Elizabeth, Sarah, Caleb and Daniel. 

(IV) Daniel Loomis, born Feb. 20, 1709, mar- 
ried Oct. 7, 1 73 1, Hannah Witherell, and resided in 
Colchester. He died March 28, 1784, and his wife 
passed away March 1, 1779, aged seventy-six years. 
Their children were: Hannah, Mary, Daniel, Eliza- 
beth, John, Israel and Samuel. 

1 V) John Loomis, born June 6, 1741, married 
Dec. 18, 1760, Rachel Harris and lived in Salem. 
Mr. Loomis died May 4, 181 1, and his widow passed 
away June 23, 1827, aged ninety-two years. Their 
children were: Jacob, John, Rachel, Elizabeth, El- 
sie, Harris, Joel, Hubbel, Guy, Elias and Elijah. 

(VI) Joel Loomis, born May 6, 1773, married 
(first) Hannah Angel; she died June 12, 1806, aged 
twenty-eight years, and he married (second) Ellis 
Chappell, who died May 17, 1853, aged seventy-four 
years. They lived in Lyme, Conn., where Mr. 
Loomis died March I, 1867. Their children w r ere 
Hannah, James, Eliza, Charlotte, Joel, Almena, 
Sarah G., Francis B., Christopher, Emma A., Ellis 
and Cordelia F. Joel, the father, "was an influential 
public man, a frequent representative of his town in 
the General Assembly, judge of probate for many 
years, for a brief period an associate judge of the 
County Court, and an intimate friend of the late 
Chief Justice Wait, of Connecticut." ' Ezekiel 
Chappell, the father of Ellis (Chappell) Loomis, 
was a soldier of the Revolution, serving throughout 
its long period. 

In boyhood Francis B. Loomis had the benefit 
of a five years' tuition in a private school. On at- 
taining his majority he engaged in the manufacture 
of woolen goods in Lyme, Conn. Success followed 
him in this business from the very beginning. Later 
on he erected woolen mills at Montville, and became 
the owner of the Rockwell mills at Norwich and 
other factories in that town. He removed to New 
London in 1848, and with the business interests of 



that city and vicinity he was ever afterward prom- 
inent through the active period of his life. He then 
built, and for a time managed, the steam woolen mill 
at that city — the first factory ever built there for the 
making of textile fabrics, and of this he was the 
sole owner. He erected the woolen mill in Coventry, 
Conn. Subsequently he acquired the exclusive title 
to the large steam cotton mills at Sag Harbor, N. 
Y. In these enterprises Mr. Loomis was alone. In 
the development of woolen manufacture in this coun- 
try between 1840 and 1870, Mr. Loomis was one of 
the conspicuous factors. During the Civil war his 
manufacturing was conducted on a more extensive 
scale than that of any other man in Connecticut. 
His numerous establishments were running night 
and day, and his employees numbered a thousand or 
more. He possessed great ability as a financier. He 
organized the First National Bank, of New London, 
which was one of the first of its class in the county. 
He was the owner of nearly the whole of the capital 
stock of that institution, and in person directed its 
operations from its organization until it went out of 
business in 1877. It proved, as an investment, lu- 
crative, dividends for many years averaging twelve 
per cent in gold, and the surplus accumulations more 
than equal to the capital. The First National Bank 
was the government depository for Eastern Con- 
necticut throughout the Civil war, and for a long 
time held average government deposits of upwards 
of $4,000,000. It was also trusted with the sale of 
government bonds, and floated over $20,000,000 of 
the several issues. 

In early life Mr. Loomis paid some attention to 
military affairs, and at twenty-one years of age was 
chosen colonel of the Third Regiment of Connecticut 
Militia. His political affiliations were with the 
Whig party, with which he acted until it ceased to 
exist, after which he was with the Republican party. 
On the breaking out of the Civil war he as a patriot 
supported the government. He was liberal to the 
fund for raising the first company of volunteers sent 
from New London. In 1864, an< f J ust before the 
carnage and horror of the battle of the Wilderness, 
he offered to furnish and equip at his own expense 
1,000 men for 100 days in order to relieve the gar- 
rison at Fort Trumbull, that the regulars stationed 
there might be sent to the front." This offer was not 
accepted, but the patriotic act brought a compliment 
from President Lincoln who wrote him in part : — 
"I cannot pass unnoticed such a meritorious instance 
of individual patriotism. Permit me, for the govern- 
ment, to express my cordial thanks to you for this 
generous and public-spirited offer, which is worthy 
of note among the many called forth in these times 
of National trial." The letter from which this is 
taken is in the possession of the granddaughter, 
Miss Julia Loomis Havemeyer. 

In 1872 Col. Loomis acted with the Liberal Re- 
publican movement. He was nominated an elector- 
at-large on the Greeley and Brown ticket, and from 
that time on he was identified with the Demo- 



94 



GEXEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



cratic party. In that same year he declined the un- 
animous nomination as candidate for Senator of the 
Seventh district, and soon thereafter the Congres- 
sional nomination of the Third district. He was a 
delegate to the National Democratic Convention held 
at St. Louis, which nominated Tilden and Hen- 
dricks for President and vice-president. He was 
also made a presidential elector-at-large on that 
ticket from the State of Connecticut. He was 
elected lieutenant-governor of Connecticut on the 
Democratic ticket in November, 1876, and presided 
over the Senate with dignity and skill, and so accept- 
ably that the Senate presented him with a large 
photograph of the old State House, with the picture 
of the 21 senators grouped around it (the session 
over which he presided being the last held in that 
building), as a testimonial of friendship and es- 
teem. In this farewell of the Senate to its presiding 
officer Senator Browne, in part, said: "In your 
official position, on every occasion, you have treated 
all questions fairly and honorably, and in a manner 
to command the respect and approval of all. Strange 
as it may seem, yet it is true, that during the two 
years that you have presided over this body no ap- 
peal has been made from the rulings of the chair. 
In all personal relations, coming together strangers 
to each other as it were, we have come to love and 
esteem you, and no member of this Senate will sever 
the relations which have bound us together without 
feelings of pain and regret at the parting which will 
extend far into the future ; but that pain will be 
softened by a pleasure in the new friendships which 
have been the growth and product of this session, 
which we seriously hope will only terminate with 
life. It brings feelings of sadness as we review the 
history of this session to think of parting ; but we 
must not let its sadness oppress us. We must re- 
member that life is like a picture, it has its sunshine 
and its shadow ; let us not forget that we have for 
weeks walked together with you in the sunshine, in 
this parting hour we stand within the shadow. But 
as we part, whether in sunshine or in shadow, may 
God be with us all." 

In 1880 Col. Loomis was a prominent candidate 
for the Governorship, but before the assembling of 
the convention withdrew his name from that con- 
nection. 

On Dec. 20, 1836, Mr. Loomis was married to 
Miss Betsey Ingham, of Saybrook, who died March 
20, 1839. 'He married (second) May 3, 1842, An- 
genora Beckwith, of Kentucky, who survived him, 
dying Jan. 5, 1895. One daughter, Betsey Ingham, 
was born to the first marriage, and to the second 
came three, two of whom died in infancy, the other 
being now Mrs. Charles YV. Havemeyer, of Hart- 
ford, who has two children. Julia Loomis, and 
Loomis. Betsey I. is now the widow of the late 
George D. Whittlesey, of New London (mentioned 
elsewhere), in which city she still resides. 

At the time of the death of Col. Loomis, the 
New London Telegraph said editorially: ''Francis 



B. Loomis. who died yesterday morning, was a 
familiar figure in Xew London, where his death is 
greatly regretted by men of both parties. Mr. 
Loomis was a Democrat of the good old fashioned 
kind. He had been a prominent man here for a half 
a century. He was a quiet and exceedingly unos- 
tentatious man, who loved to live in a simple un- 
assuming way. He possessed a fund of varied in- 
formation with regard to the affairs of State and 
country, and had an extensive acquaintance with 
leading men in both parties. Though not a great 
speaker, it was everywhere conceded he was a man 
of individual thought and unquestioned ability." 

The New London Day on the same occasion 
said: "Though an especially active and energetic 
man in all the affairs of life in his earlier days, he 
was not known to the present generation. He 
amassed a fortune, at one time a great one, and made 
it the instrument of much good in helping those who 
had a claim on his interest, and many who had no 
special claim, and in extending a generous hospitality 
to his friends. To the younger men about him, 
whose ability he recognized, he was ever a warm 
friend, and encouraged them with advice and ma- 
terial aid." 

BEXTOX. Among the Xew England families 
that have been represented in all walks of life since 
the days of the Pilgrims, is that bearing the name of 
Benton. This family was planted on the strange 
shores of the Xew World by Andrew Benton, who 
was born in the County of Essex, England, in 1620, 
and who came to America between 1630-1635 with 
an older brother Edward. In 1639 ne ^ s recorded as 
a license holder in Milford, Conn., and his first house 
was built probably in 1648-49. On March 5, 1648, 
he was admitted to the church. He moved to Hart- 
ford about 1660. and was a prominent member of the 
First Church there, but with others organized the 
Second Church Feb. 12, 1669. From allotment and 
purchase he became the owner of considerable land 
in Hartford, and was one of the wealthy men of those 
days. It is known that he was twice married, first 
to Hannah Stocking, who bore him eight children, 
and second to Anna Cole, who bore him four chil- 
dren. Xo record of either marriage, nor of the first 
wife's death, is extant, but Hannah was admitted to 
the Milford Church Oct. 13, 1650. He died at 
Hartford July 31. 1683, and is buried near First 
Church in that place. 

(II) Samuel Benton, sixth child of Andrew and 
Hannah, was born in Milford, Aug. 15. 1658, and 
he was but two years of age when his parents re- 
moved to Hartford, where he spent the rest of his 
life. From the records it would seem that he was 
quite an important citizen. He owned land in Tol- 
land. Conn., which he gave to his son, Samuel. His 
death occurred April 10, 1746. when he was aged 
eighty-eight years. His wife was Sarah Chatterton, 
of Xew Haven. 

(III) Samuel Benton (2), son of Samuel, was 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



95 



the eldest of nine children. He was born in Hart- 
ford, Conn., Jan. 28, 1680, and on reaching manhood 
went to Tolland, where he lived most of his life. 
He married Alary Pomeroy, of Northampton, Mass., 
Jan. 2, 1704, and his death occurred in Tolland Feb. 
8, 1763, aged eighty-three years. 

(IV) Samuel Benton (3), next to the youngest 
of the seven children in the family of Samuel (2), 
was born Aug. 11, 1717. On Dec. 22, 1743, he mar- 
ried Jane Bradley, of Tolland, and they became the 
parents of ten children, of whom four, Elisha, Jon- 
athan, Samuel and Zadoc, served in the Revolution- 
ary army. There is no record of the death of Sam- 
uel Benton (3). 

(V) Ozias Benton, third child of Samuel (3), 
was born Feb. 25, 1748. On Nov. 19, 1772, he mar- 
ried, at Tolland, Sarah Day, of East Windsor. He 
and his wife, and three of their children died in 
March, 18 16, with what is recorded as an epidemic 
of congestive pneumonia. 

(\T) Adonijah Benton, eldest of the seven chil- 
dren of Ozias and Sarah, was born May 11, 1775. On 
Nov. 25, 1803, he married Anna Post, of Tolland, 
and his death occurred March 24, 18 16. He was a 
prominent member of the Congregational Society. 

(VII) Erastus Benton, the first of five children 
born to Adonijah and Anna, was born in Tolland, 
Jan. 17, 1805. His education was acquired in the 
district schools, and for some years he engaged in 
teaching in Connecticut and Massachusetts. It was 
not until after the birth of his two children that he 
entered the ministry. In 1833 and 1834 he was pas- 
tor of the Church at Plainfield and Sterling. He 
later was pastor successively in the Franklin Circuit 
in New London county, Eastford, Mansfield, Uncas- 
ville and Montville, Thompson, Woodstock and 
South Glastonbury. In 1847 ne was appointed pre- 
siding elder of the New London district, and resided 
at Norwich as such for four years. Resuming the 
regular duties of pastor, he had charges in Norwich 
town. North Bridgewater (now Brockton), Mass., 
Wellrleet, Mass., and Stafford Springs, Thompson- 
ville and Portland, Conn. After another two years 
as presiding elder of the New London district, with 
residence at Stafford Springs, Conn., he served as 
pastor at North Dighton, Mass., and Rockville, 
Conn. The last years of his life were passed in 
Stafford Springs. For fifty-one years he was a mem- 
ber of what is now known as the Southern confer- 
ence of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Erastus 
Benton was twice married. On May 24, 1827, he 
married Almira Towne, of Belchertown, Mass., who 
died at Stafford Springs, Conn., Oct. 4, 1871, the 
mother of two children : Josiah Towne and Man- 
Fletcher. His second wife was Mrs. Louisa 
(Towne) Phelps, a sister to the first wife. Erastus 
Benton died Jan. 24, 1884. 

This family presents a remarkable record for 
ministerial and religious work. As stated above 
Erastus Benton devoted fifty-one years of his life to 
the Church ; his son, Josiah Towne Benton, spent 



fifty years as a minister ; and his daughter, Mary 
Fletcher, who became Mrs. Scranton, was for nine- 
teen years treasurer of the Woman's Foreign Mis- 
sionary Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
in Corea, and while there organized the first school 
ever known for girls in that far-away land, while 
her son, Rev. W. B. Scranton, M. D., who graduated 
from Yale in 1878, a classmate of Gov. Taft, now 
Secretary of War, and who received the degree of 
M. D. from the College of Physicians and Surgeons 
of New York, was superintendent of missions in that 
country. When his mother returned to America on 
account of ill health, he accompanied her, and for two 
years was engaged in the practice of medicine in 
East Hartford. In August, 1904, he and his family 
and his mother returned to Corea, he having again 
been made superintendent of missions. Rev. Stephen 
Olin Benton, son of Rev. Josiah Towne, has had thir- 
ty-five years of faithful work in the Master's cause, 
and his sister, Emma Jane Benton, went to Yoko- 
hama, in 1882, and remained as a missionary in 
Japan seven years. She married Rev. G. W. Elmer, 
now a member of the New England Southern Con- 
ference. If the services of the Rev. Paul Townsend, 
uncle of Rev. Josiah T. Benton, and those of his son- 
in-law. Rev. Elmer, are added, there is a total of two 
hundred and fifty years of ministerial and mission- 
ary work in this family, and those closely allied to it 
by marriage. 

(VIII) Rev. Josiah Towne Benton was born 
in Tolland April 10, 1828, and was educated in the 
schools of Plainfield, the high school at Thompson, 
and a private school in Glastonbury. After leaving 
school he engaged in the mercantile business in Glas- 
tonbury, and for a time was accountant in Collins 
Brothers' cotton factory in the same place. In 1853 
he was licensed to preach, and his first charge was in 
his native town of Tolland. Afterward he preached 
in the following parishes : Lyme, East Lyme and 
Lebanon, Conn. ; New Bedford, Fourth Street ; First 
Church, Taunton ; Provincetown, Mass. ; Stafford 
Springs, Conn. ; East Greenwich, St. Paul's in Prov- 
idence and Centerville, R. I. ; and in Thompsonville, 
Lncasville and Niantic, Conn. In 1879 on account 
of ill health he was obliged to give up active regular 
work in the ministry. On Nov. 24, 1847, ne married, 
in South Glastonbury, Maria E. Granniss, who died 
Feb. 22, 1899. Their children were: Stephen Olin; 
Elizabeth Almira ; Herbert Granniss, who died aged 
seven years ; and Emma Jane, who married Rev. G. 
W. Elmer, and has five children, Eva, Irvin, Herbert, 
Ernest and Mildred. On Oct. 31, 1903, in Niantic, 
Rev. Josiah T. Benton entered into rest at the age of 
seventy-five years. 

(IX) Stephen Olin Benton, eldest son of Rev. 
Josiah T., was born in Middletown, Conn., April 30, 
1849, an d was educated in the public schools, gradu- 
ating from the high school in Providence. For a time 
he engaged in teaching, and then pursued an ad- 
vanced course in East Greenwich Academy. \\ nen 
only seventeen years of age he was licensed to 



96 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



preach, and when about twenty he joined the con- 
ference. The degrees M. A. and D. D. were con- 
ferred upon him by Wesleyan University. He served 
as pastor successively at Dighton, Mass. ; Vernon, 
Conn.; Norwich; East Main St., East Greenwich, R. 
I. ; Danielson, Conn. ; Burnside, Conn. ; New Lon- 
don. Conn.; County Street, Xew Bedford. Mass. ; 
and Chestnut Street, Providence, R. I. He then 
spent six years as presiding elder of the Providence 
District, after which for five years he was pastor of 
the First Church, Fall River, Mass. He was later 
presiding elder of the Xew Bedford district. In 
August, 1902, he was elected recording secretary of 
the Missionary Society of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, and now resides in Mt. Vernon, X. Y., 
with his office at Xo. 150 Fifth Avenue, Xew York 
City. For eighteen years he was secretary of his 
conference, and was five times a delegate to the Gen- 
eral Conference, for three of which he led his dele- 
gation, and for three times he was one of the secre- 
taries of the General Conference. Ten years of 
efficient services as one of the managers of the Mis- 
sionary Society have greatly advanced the practical 
and beneficent work of that body. During one 
quadrennium he was a member of the Book com- 
mittee. 

In 1869 Rev. Stephen O. Benton was married, at 
Stafford Springs, Conn., to Nellie M. Taft, of that 
village. To this union came one daughter, Eva May. 

(IX) Elizabeth Almira Benton, daughter of Rev. 
Josiah Towne, received an excellent education, grad- 
uating from the East Greenwich Academy. For some 
years she was an efficient and popular teacher in the 
schools at Thompsonville and Centerville, and for 
nineteen years she was engaged most successfully in 
the drug business at Niantic. She is one of the few 
women of the State to be a licensed pharmacist. She 
retired from business in 1896, and continues to reside 
in Niantic. 

GALLUP. The Gallup family of Connecticut 
is one of 270 and more years' standing in Xew Eng- 
land, and of only a few years less in this Common- 
wealth. Its usefulness in the very dawn of our 
cultivation, in the conspicuous part it bore in the 
struggles against the Indians, its large representa- 
tion in the war of the Revolution, as well as the 
part it has taken in the subsequent affairs of the 
State, are matters of history. 

The branch of the family under consideration 
here is that of Hon. Henry Haskell Gallup, now 
serving his second term as treasurer of the State 
of Connecticut, and one of the leading and influen- 
tial citizens of Xorwich, and his younger brother, 
Charles Davis Gallup, sons of Isaac and Maria T. 
(Davis) Gallup, of Preston. They are descendants 
in the ninth generation from John Gallop, the immi- 
grant settler, their lineage being through Capt. 
John, Benadam, Lieut. Benadam, Col. Benadam, 
Isaac, Isaac (2), and Isaac (3). 

(I) John Gallop came to America from the 



Parish of Mosterne, County Dorset, England, sail- 
ing from Plymouth in 1630, in the ship "Mary and 
John," and arriving at what is now Hull. His 
wife Christobel and children followed in 1633. Mr. 
Gallop was a son of John Gallop, and a grandson 
of Thomas and Agnes (YYatkins) Gallop, of Xorth 
Bowood and Strode, and whose descendants still 
own and occupy the Manors of Strode. John Gal- 
lop, the immigrant, went first to Dorchester and 
soon to Boston, where both himself and wife were 
admitted to the First Church in 1634. He owned 
Gallup's Island. He was a skillful mariner, and 
achieved distinction by piloting the ship "Griffin," 
in September, 1633, through a newly found channel, 
when she had on board Rev. John Cotton, Rev. 
Thomas Hooker, Rev. Mr. Stone and others among 
her 200 passengers. Mr. Gallop died in Boston, 
Jan. 11, 1055. and his wife died there Sept. 27, 
1655. Their children were: John, Joan, Samuel 
and Nathaniel. 

(II) Capt. John Gallup, born in England, came 
to this country in 1633. He married at Boston, in 
1643, Hannah, daughter of John and Margaret 
Lake. Mr. Gallup became distinguished as an In- 
dian warrior. It is supposed he was with his father 
and assisted him in the capture of John Oldham's 
vessel off Block Island. He was engaged with his 
father and with Massachusetts forces in the Pequot 
war and for his services the General Court of Con- 
necticut in 167 1 gave him a grant of 100 acres of 
land, and in 1650 or 165 1 he came to Xew London. 
He was also given other tracts of land, and in 1654 
he with his family removed to the east side of the 
Mystic river, now Stonington. He represented the 
town in the General Court in 1665 and 1667. Capt. 
Gallup at the head of the Mohegans joined the 
Xew London County Company under Capt. John 
Mason of Xorwich, and with others of the Colo- 
nies was engaged in the fearful "Swamp fight" at 
Xarragansett Dec. 19. 1676. Here, while at the 
head of his men storming the fort, Mr. Gallup was 
one of the six captains who fell in the fight. His 
children were: Hannah, John, Esther, Benadam, 
William. Samuel. Christobel, Elizabeth, Mary and 
Margaret. 

( III ) Benadam Gallup, born in 1655, in Stoning- 
ton, married Esther Prentice, born July 20. 1660, 
daughter of John and Esther Prentice, of Xew 
London. Both were members of the Stonington 
Church. He died Aug. 2, 1727. His wife died 
May 18, 1751. Their children were: Hannah, born 
in 1683 ; Esther, born in 1685 ; Mercy, born in 1690; 
Benadam, born in 1693 : Joseph, born in 1695 : Mar- 
garet, born in 1698: and Lucy, born in 1701. 

(IV) Lieut. Benadam Gallup, born in 1693. in 
Groton, married, Jan. 11, 1716, Eunice Cobb. He 
died Sept. 30, 1755, and his wife died Feb. 1. 1759, 
aged sixty-three. Their children were : Benadam, 
born Oct. 26. 1716: Esther, born Feb. 24. 1718; 
Eunice, and Lois (twins), born March 29, 1721 ; 
William, born July 4, 1723 ; Henry, born Oct. 5,. 









GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



97 



1725; Nathan born in 1727; Ebenezer ; Thomas P., 
baptized July 28, 1734; Hannah; and Sarah. 

(V) Col. Benadam Gallup, born Oct. 26, 1716, 
married Aug. 11, 1740, Hannah Avery, of Groton. 
Col. Gallup was a brave officer in the Revolution. 
He served with the militia in the Second Battalion 
of Wadsworth's Brigade, raised ; n June, 1776; and 
was at the Brooklyn front, battle of Long Island, 
Aug. 2", 1776; in the retreat to New York, Aug. 
27-30 ; in the retreat from New York City, Sept. 
15, with the main army at White Plains. Col. Gal- 
lup died at Groton, May 19, 1800, and his wife died 
July 28, 1799. Their children were: Benadam, 
born June 29, 1741 ; Isaac, Dec. 22, 1742; Hannah, 
Nov. 4, 1744; Esther, Dec. 9, 1746; James, May 1, 
1749; Jesse, Feb. 2, 1751 ; John, Jan. 13, 1753; Pru- 
dence, Jan. 30, 1755; Susan, in 1756; Josiah, in 
1760; and Abigail, in T762. 

(VI) Capt. Isaac Gallup, born Dec. 22, 1742, 
married Oct. 5, 1786, Anna Smith, born Dec. 8, 
1765, a daughter of Nehemiah and Abigail (Avery) 
Smith. Capt. Gallup served with such rank in the 
war of the Revolution. He died in Ledyard Aug. 
3, 1814. His widow remarried, marrying Jan. 30, 
1825, Seth Williams, of Ledyard, and died Dec. 
21, 1848. Capt. Gallup's children were: Anna, 
born Sept. 3, 1787; Isaac, Jan. 21, 1789; Russell, 
April 11, 1791 ; Sarah, Nov. 9, 1792; Jabesh, Aug. 
23, 1794; Avery, April 6, 1796; Elias, April 14, 
1798! Erastus, July 31, 1800; Shubael, March 6, 
1802; and Elihu, Dec. 12, 1806. 

(VII) Isaac Gallup, born Jan. 21, 1789, in 
Groton, married March 12, 1812, Prudence, daugh- 
ter of David and Mary (Stanton) Geer. Their 
children were: Mary Ann, born Dec. 10, 1812; 
Prudence Almira, March 4, 181 5 ; Emeline, Feb. 27, 
1818; Isaac, Nov. 13, 1820; and Julia, April 4, 1823. 

Isaac Gallup began life in a good home, and 
springing from a strong, brave, patriotic and capa- 
ble ancestry, and possessing a robust constitution, 
a keen and active mind and a resolute spirit, in youth 
he seems to have been a natural leader and an ex- 
ample to his younger brothers in the energy, earn- 
estness and faithfulness with which he accomplished 
his tasks. He early acquired the rudiments of a 
sound practical education, was active and thorough 
in scholarship, and at an early age showed a taste 
for solid, substantial reading. He always had an 
aptitude for acquiring practical knowledge, and 
learned so well how to use his mental powers that 
he was able to meet the requirements of the varied 
pursuits of a long and busy life. Being of an ener- 
getic temperament, his mind readily turned to active 
pursuits, and in his youth he served an apprentice- 
ship in the trade of a carpenter with Col. Joseph 
Smith, one of the leading contractors and business 
men of Stonington. He seems also to have culti- 
vated a taste for good architecture and the thor- 
oughness of construction so characteristic of his own 
work all through life. While still a young man 
Mr. Gallup went into the business of building and 
7 



contracting on his own account. Much of his work 
later centered about Norwich Falls, and he felt it 
advisable to remove his family to that point, which 
he did in the spring of 1828. In the spring follow- 
ing he removed to Greeneville, then a mere hamlet, 
but soon to be the scene of great and varied activity. 
Here Mr. Gallup found full scope for his business 
talents and executive ability, for in 1829 was begun 
a great enterprise there, the construction of a dam 
and the bringing into use of the wonderful water- 
power. Mr. Gallup superintended the work of the 
large force of carpenters employed in the construc- 
tion of the dam. At the end of the year, the work 
being virtually completed, Mr. Gallup purchased a 
farm in Preston, adjoining the Geer homestead, the 
birthplace of his wife. His connection with Greene- 
ville continued for some time longer, although his 
family removed to Preston in 1830, and he held for 
a number of years the position of agent of the Nor- 
wich Water Power Company. 

Mr. Gallup took a great interest in improving 
his farm in Preston, and in building the large, com- 
fortable and well-appointed house which he felt 
would be a fitting and permanent home for his 
family. That house, now standing and still in the 
name of the family, has a beautiful and healthful 
situation, and, with its well-tilled fields, large 
orchards and substantial buildings, is a good speci- 
men of the Connecticut country home. For many 
years after his removal to Preston Mr. Gallup car- 
ried on business as a builder, handling many im- 
portant contracts. Though often absent from home 
he skillfully directed the labor of his farm, on which 
he was constantly making improvements. In addi- 
tion to other business he was much occupied in sur- 
veying. His father had followed this pursuit to 
some extent, and of him he likely acquired some 
knowdedge of it. His work was always marked by 
the thoroughness, accuracy and nice regard for de- 
tails which were characteristic of the man. 

Possessing a strong mind, a positive character 
and sound judgment, Squire Gallup, as he was gen- 
erally called, was held in the highest regard by his 
friends and townspeople, who often sought his ad- 
vice and always valued his counsel. With his fine 
administrative ability, his wide experience and per- 
fect integrity, he was singularly well qualified for 
the adjustment of estates, and his services were in 
demand in his own and neighboring towns. For 
many years he transacted business for the Treat 
and Doane families of Preston, whose affairs he 
managed to their entire satisfaction. 

Mr. Gallup was a man of strong convictions, 
and took an active part in the early movement for 
temperance reform, uttering a resolute protest 
against the habit of treating and the drinking cus- 
toms of society, and aiding many of his friends and 
neighbors to shake off the bondage of alcohol. In 
his mature manhood Mr. Gallup united with the 
Congregational Church of Ledyard, of which he 
was a strong supporter all through life. His pastor 



9 8 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



and lifelong friend. Rev. Timothy Tuttle, found 
him a ready helper and counted him his strong 
right hand in every good work. He exerted an ex- 
cellent influence on the young men who served him 
as apprentices. Though a kind master, he was an 
earnest advocate of good morals, correct habits 
and honest work. Of a broad and progressive 
spirit, he always welcomed signs of enterprise and 
ambition in the young men of his town, whom he 
often aided in making a start in life by friendly 
encouragement and practical assistance. 

Mr. Gallup was devoted to his home and happy 
in the relations of domestic life. He had married 
when twenty-three years of age a young woman 
fully as energetic, ambitious and capable as himself, 
who proved herself a faithful wife and helpmeet 
during all the years of their married life. They 
began housekeeping in a small but comfortable 
home in what is now the town of Ledyard. During 
the first year of their married life occurred the 
bombardment of Stonington, and the young hus- 
band did duty as a soldier in the war of 1812. The 
house referred to. in which they began housekeep- 
ing, continued to be their home for sixteen years. 

Mr. Gallup was truly a public-spirited citizen, 
a friend and promoter of good schools, sound gov- 
ernment and public improvements. He was the 
worthy head of a good family, and a tower of 
strength in his day and generation. He died May 
2, 1867, and his widow passed away July 6, 1871. 

( YIII) Isaac Gallup, born Nov. 13, 1820, in 
Preston. Conn., was a school teacher for several 
years. He married March 23, 1845, Maria The- 
resa Davis, who was born May 23, 1823, daughter 
of Thomas and Mary (Shaw) Davis, and settled 
as a farmer near Poquetanuck, in Preston. They had 
children as follows: (1) Henry H. was born June 
2, 1846. (2) Ella M., born April 29, 1850, married 
Nov. 2. 1870, Avery D. Wheeler, of the firm of 
Wheeler Brothers, on Cliff street, Norwich. Mr. 
and Mrs. Wheeler have two children — Nellie May, 
the wife of Leon F. Hutchins, of Norwich, and 
Louis A., who married Maude E. Perkins. (3) 
Charles Davis was born May 16, 1857. 

The venerable Isaac Gallup and wife, who at 
this writing (1904) are aged eighty-three and 
eighty-one years, respectively, are passing the even- 
ing of their lives amid the scenes of their long, 
happy and useful married life, in comfort and ease, 
surrounded by children and grandchildren. What 
memories cluster about this old homestead, to which 
Mr. Gallup came when nine years old! He is now 
the only surviving member of the large family of 
his parents. Here were born his children, and by 
its hearthstone they were so trained that they went 
forth in the world to become useful men and women, 
and occupy high public positions in the State. Here 
nearly sixty years of wedded life have been passed, 
and here was celebrated the golden wedding on 
March 23, 1895. Here for years it has been the cus- 
tom of children, grandchildren, and now great- 



grandchildren, in holiday season, to gather about 
the family table, partake of its repast, and listen to 
the story of the years. Each Thanksgiving Day 
the family gather at the homestead, and on that day 
in 1903 three children, and their sons, daughters, 
sons-in-law and daughters-in-law, with the latter's 
children, in all nineteen, were gathered there. And 
here, in the possession of remarkable mental and 
physical activity, both are now only awaiting the 
final summons. Mr. and Mrs. Gallup are members 
of St. James Episcopal Church, and he has been 
warden many years, also treasurer of the church. 

Hexry Haskell Gallup, born June 2, 
1846, in Preston, received his education in public 
and private schools, and then for four winters taught 
school, working on the home farm through the sum- 
mers. When twenty-two years of age he began his 
business career as a clerk in a store in Norwich. 
Soon thereafter he was employed as bookkeeper for 
Barstow & Palmer, with whom he remained three 
years. On March 1, 1871, in that city, he became 
associated as a partner with George S. Smith, estab- 
lishing the firm of Smith & Gallup, engaged in the 
leather and findings trade. Associated with Frank 
Ulmer and Mr. Smith purchasing the tannery of the 
late Charles N. Farnam, he in 1873 established the 
Norwich Belt Manufacturing Company, with which 
he has ever since been associated, and from Decem- 
ber, 1892, he was the sole proprietor of the business, 
Mr. Smith retiring in 1883, and Mr. Ulmer in 1892. 
In January, 1902, the Norwich Belt Company was 
incorporated, and H. H. Gallup became treasurer 
and general manager. At these plants of Mr. Gal- 
lup — the tannery at Greeneville and the factory in 
Norwich — an extensive business is done, giving em- 
ployment to many hands. The concern maintains 
an office and sales house in the city of Chicago. 

Mr. Gallup was chosen a director of the Thames 
National Bank at Norwich in 1888, and has since 
continued in that relation with the bank. He has 
been president of the Norwich Industrial Building 
Company since its organization. He was chosen 
second president of the Norwich Board of Trade, 
and served in that capacity for two years. He is 
president of the Norwich Bulletin Company, vice- 
president of the Chelsea Savings Bank, president of 
the Crescent Fire Company, treasurer of the W. H. 
Davenport Fire Arms Company, president of the 
Smith Granite Company, of Westerly, R. I., and in 
1903 became president of the New London County 
Fire Insurance Company. 

Mr. Gallup, as a Republican, was elected a treas- 
urer of the State in 1900, was unanimously renomi- 
nated, and re-elected in 1902. One has only to read 
between the lines to judge of the man. He is a 
warden in Christ Episcopal Church, at Norwich, of 
which his family are all members. The elegant fam- 
ily residence is on Washington street. 

On Sept. 26, 1871, Mr. Gallup was married to 
Irena H. Breed, daughter of Edward and Harriet 
L. (Hebard) Breed. Children have been born to 





<A^t , 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



99 



them as follows: (i) Walter Henry, born April 
13, 1873, received his education in the high school 
and Free Academy. He is now secretary of the 
Norwich Belt Manufacturing Company. He married 
Maude A. Morgan, and they have two children, 
Maria Theresa and Henrietta Hebard. (2) Fannie 
Ella, born Dec. 8, 1876. died Sept. 26, 1878. (3) 
Clarence Breed, born Dec. 25, 1880. died June 16, 
1881. (4) Susie Irena, born April 17, 1884, grad- 
uated from the Norwich Free Academy in the class 
of 1903, and is now attending Lasell Seminary, Au- 
burndale, Massachusetts. 

Mrs. Gallup is very active in religious and char- 
itable work and is chairwoman of the Employment 
Bureau of the United Workers. She is a member 
of Faith Trumbull Chapter, Daughters of the Amer- 
ican Revolution, and Mr. Gallup is a member of the 
Connecticut Society, Sons of the American Revolu- 
tion. 

Charles Davis Gallup was born May 16, 1857, 
in Preston, and received his early education in the 
district school, later attending the Norwich Free 
Academy. In the fall of 1875 ne entered the employ 
of the Norwich Belt Manufacturing Company, and 
has held a responsible position with that concern up 
to the present time. In January, 1902, when the 
Company was re-organized and incorporated, he be- 
came a member of the board of directors. He has 
been, a director of the W. H. Davenport Fire Arms 
Company since its organization. 

Politically, Mr. Gallup is not bound by party 
ties, voting for the best men and issues regardless 
of party. Fraternally, he is a member of Somerset 
Lodge, No. 34, F. & A. M. ; Franklin Chapter, No. 
4, R. A. M. : Franklin Council, No. 3, R. & S. M. ; 
Columbian Commandery, No. 4, Knights Templar ; 
of all the Scottish Rite bodies ; and of Sphinx Tem- 
ple, Mystic Shrine, Hartford. He was a charter 
member of Norwich Lodge, A. O. L T . W., and is 
a past master workman of that lodge. He is also 
a member of the Connecticut Society, S. A. R. In 
religious connection, he is a member of Christ 
Church, Norwich. He was clerk of the parish for a 
time, served as choirmaster for several years, and 
assisted in organizing the first boy choir in that 
Church. 

On May 12, 1880, Mr. Gallup was married to 
Grace Rogers Aldrich, a native of Norwich, daugh- 
ter of Harrison Randolph and Mary (Rogers) Aid- 
rich. Grace Rogers Aldrich was born Jan. 16, 
1861. She is a descendant on the paternal side, in 
direct line, of George Aldrich, who came to this 
country from England in 163 1. On the maternal 
side she is a descendant in a direct line of James 
Rogers, one of the early settlers of New London. 
Her father, Harrison Randolph Aldrich, lost his 
life in the terrible disaster of the burning of the 
steamer "City of New London," in the Thames 
river, on Nov. 22, 1871. Mrs. Gallup is also a mem- 
ber of Christ Church. She has for several years been 
prominent in musical circles, and is member of Faith 



Trumbull Chapter, D. A. R., at Norwich. Mr. and 
Mrs. Gallup have one son, Harry Wallace, born 
June 8, 1 88 1, a most promising young man. He 
received his early education in the public schools 
and was graduated from Norwich Free Academy in 
1899, with honors. He entered the Massachusetts 
Institute of Technology, and took a course in chem- 
istry and metallurgy with the class of 1904; he is 
a member of the American Chemical Society. The 
family hold a high place in the community. Their 
residence is at No. 186 Laurel Hill avenue, in the 
house Mr. Gallup built in 1885. 

Davis. The maternal lineage of Messrs. Gallup 
is set forth in the following, each generation from 
the immigrant ancestor appearing in its order and 
designated by a Roman character. 

(I) John Davis, born in England in 1612, with 
wife and four children came to America and settled 
in Easthampton, L. I., where the wife died Dec. 
17, 1696. Mr. Davis was married again Nov. 3, 
1703, this time to Susanna Osborne, who died in 
July, 1704. Mr. Davis died Dec. 22, 1705. His 
children were: John, born in 1676; Hannah, born 
in 1680; Thomas, born in 1686— all born in Eng- 
land ; a child which was born to the last marriage 
died in infancy. 

(II) Thomas Davis, born in 1686, married Jan. 
11, 1722, Abigail Parsons, who died in December, 
1745, aged sixty years. Mr. Davis was a merchant 
in the village of Easthampton, where he died Aug. 
30, 1751. His children were: John, born March 
(or May) 4, 1723, and Abigail, born April 26, 
1725, both in Easthampton. 

(HI) John Davis, born May (or March) 4, 
1723, married (first) Dec. 31, 1744, Catherine Tal- 
mage, only child of Enos and Catherine (Baker 
Townsend) Talmage. of Easthampton. Mrs. Davis 
died April 11, 1759, and he married again. Mr. 
Davis died Dec. 15. 1798, in Easthampton. His 
children by the first marriage were : Catherine, born 
March 13, 1746; John, Jan. 20, 1748; Benjamin, 
Jan. 4, 1750: Thomas, Nov. 27, 1751 ; Benjamin 
(2). May 15, 1754; Enos, Oct. 14, 1755: and Cath- 
erine and Abigail (twins), April 5, 1758 — all born 
in Easthampton. The father was a farmer of East- 
hampton. and carried on in connection with farm- 
ing the manufacture of leather and shoes. In 1765 
he rented a farm in Stonington, Conn., purchased 
it in 1772, and removed his family thereto. Here 
he resided until 1784, when he returned to East- 
hampton. 

(IV) Thomas Davis, born Nov. 27, 175 1, mar- 
ried Dec. 25, 1780, Mary Conklin, born Aug. 30. 
1756, in. Amagansett, L. L, and soon after his mar- 
riage removed to the house of his father in Ston- 
ington, Conn. He was a tanner and currier, and 
worked at that business and the manufacturing of 
shoes with his father. In the spring of 1802, in 
company with his brother Enos, he purchased of 
Jonathan Brewster land which they later divided, 
located some two miles below Norwich city. Here 



IOO 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Thomas resided, carrying on in addition to farm- 
ing- the business of making leather and shoes, until 
his death, Jan. 23, 183 1, when in the eightieth year 
of his age. His children were : Thomas, born Sept. 
21, 1781 ; Mary, July 12, 1784; Henry, Aug. 26, 
1788; Dudley T.. March 18, 1795: Julia, Aug. 24, 
1796; and Clarissa, Feb. 25, 1800 — all born in 
Stonington. 

(V) Thomas Davis, born Sept. 21, 1781, mar- 
ried April 4. 1813. Mary Shaw, born March 14, 
1797, daughter of Peleg and Lucretia (Billings) 
Shaw, of Westerly, R. I. Mr. Davis died in Pres- 
ton, Conn., Feb. 4, 1848. Mrs. Davis died March 
29, 1871, in Norwich, Conn. Their children were: 
Julia, born Feb. 8, 1814; Lucy, April 4, 1816; 
Albert H., July 19, 1819; Maria Theresa, May 23, 
1823 ; Charles L., May 19, 1827 ; and Mary L., Oct. 
20, 1 83 1 — all born in Preston, Connecticut. 

WILLIAM WASHINGTON BROWN, a ven- 
erable citizen of Lebanon who passed away on Feb. 
16, 1903, descended from an old family in Rhode 
Island. 

William Brown, his grandfather, resided in Mid- 
dletown, R. I., where he was an extensive and well- 
to-do farmer. During the Revolutionary period, he 
was a soldier, and also in the War of 1812 he was 
very active in espousing the American cause. He 
attained a position of prominence, and lived to be 
an old and honored man. Religiously he was a 
member of the Second Baptist Church of Newport, 
R. I. William Brown married Mary Coggshall, 
of Newport, and her death occurred many years 
, prior to his. Sixteen children were born to them — 
twelve sons and four daughters. To each of his 
sons he gave a farm, ten being in the vicinity of 
Tioga, N. Y. The daughters were given the equiv- 
alent of the farms. Two of his sons, Abraham and 
George, remained in Rhode Island, the latter being 
a farmer and resident of Newport, where his death 
occurred. 

Abraham Brown, father of William W., was 
born in Middletown, R. I., and was brought up to 
farm work. He remained on the homestead and 
took care of his parents, and after their death, he 
came into possession of the farm. There he made 
his home until his death July 31, 1830, aged forty- 
nine years. His death resulted from cholera, con- 
tracted during an epidemic, and he was buried at 
Middletown. He was a lieutenant in the local mil- 
itia and served in that capacity during the war of 
1812. Like his father he was a member of the 
Baptist Church. Abraham Brown married Lucy B. 
Little, of Little Compton, R. I., daughter of Nathan- 
iel Little. After the death of Abraham Brown, his 
widow and children made their home until 1840, 
with Mr. Little, her father, at Little Compton; she 
then removed to Lebanon. Her death occurred at 
the home of our subject. July 20. 1878, aged seven- 
ty-nine years. The children, born to Abraham and 
Lucy B. (Little) Brown were : William Washing- 



ton ; Charles Feques. a farmer residing on Scott 
Hill in the town of Colchester, Conn., married 
Emma Spicer, and, having no children of their own, 
they have reared a number of homeless little ones; 
Mary Burr married Edward Hubbard, a spinner in 
early life, but later a farmer, and he died in Kill- 
ingly, Conn. ; Lydia Briggs married Hezekiah Cong- 
don, a carpenter and died in Willimantic, her hus- 
band and one child, Herbert Trueman (who married 
Teresa Tilden, and resides in Willimantic), sur- 
viving ; Abraham Trueman was a sailor for many 
years, visiting the different foreign ports, but died in 
1880 at the Marine hospital, N. Y., aged fifty-one 
years, unmarried ; Lucy Electa, born in Middle- 
town, R. I., March 24, 1831, was nine years of age 
when her mother moved to Lebanon, and she at- 
tended Lebanon Academy under Julius Strong, later 
a member of Congress, and she took care of her 
mother and brother, being kindhearted, generous 
and tenderly sympathetic, and a most consistent 
member of the Lebanon Baptist Church. 

William Washington Brown was born May 17, 
1821, in Middletown, R. I., and was ten years of age 
when his mother removed to her father's home at 
Little Compton. When eighteen years of age he 
shipped as a boy before the mast, from Fall River, 
Mass., and made several successful whaling voy- 
ages. He was in the merchant marine, and at one 
time was captain and part owner in a merchant ves- 
sel. He spent sixteen years on the water, having 
many interesting and exciting adventures, and visit- 
ing numerous foreign ports. Nothing pleased Mr. 
Brown and his friends more than for him to relate 
some of these adventures, which were quite enter- 
taining. 

Retiring from the water, Mr. Brown located in 
Lebanon, and there purchased of Alvin Lyman a 
farm of sixty-two acres, to which he added until he 
owned 185 acres, and had long been noted as a gen- 
eral farmer and fruit grower. All of his life he had 
been a hard working man, although for the last 
couple of years he hired all of the heavy work done 
for him. He never married, but he and his sister 
Miss Lucy Electa resided together. In politics he 
was a Republican, but never desired office. 

MAJOR BELA PECK LEARNED. The New 
London and Norwich branch of the Learned family 
springs from the old Killingly (Conn.) branch, and 
it from the ancient Massachusetts family which 
dates back to onlv a little later than the coming of 
the Pilgrim Fathers. It is the purpose here to treat 
briefly only of the family and lineage of the late 
Ebenezer Learned, of New London and Norwich, 
some of whose children and posterity are now active 
and prominent in the social and business life of that 
city, among them Major Bela Peck Learned, the 
latter's son, Ebenezer Learned, and Charles Learned 
Hubbard, a son of Mrs. Charlotte Peck (Learned) 
Hubbard. The children of the late Ebenezer Learn- 
ed, referred to, were in the ninth generation from 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



101 



William Learned, their emigrant ancestor, their line- 
age being through Isaac, Isaac (2), William (2), 
Ebenezer, Hon. Amasa, Ebenezer (2), Ebenezer 
Learned (3). 

(I) William Learned appears an inhabitant of 
Charlestown in 1630. He was admitted a freeman 
May 14, 1634. His name and that of his wife, 
Goodeth, are the first two on the list of members of 
the present First Church of Charlestown, to which 
they were admitted "1632 10 mo., day 6." Mr. 
Learned was highly esteemed for his intelligence and 
virtue, as is evidenced in his appointment with others 
of the Church to "consider some things tending to- 
wards a body of laws." He was a subscriber to the 
town orders from W'oburn, drawn up at Charles- 
town, Dec. 16, 1640; was one of the seven original 
members of the Church in Woburn, which was 
gathered Aug. 14, 1642-43 ; was one of the first 
board of selectmen, chosen in 1644, and was re- 
elected the following year. He was also elected con- 
stable from 1644 to 1645. He died in Woburn, 
March 1, 1645-46, leaving a widow. His children 
were: Sarah, born about 1608; Bethia, baptized 
Oct. 29, 1612; Mary, baptized Sept. 15, 1615 ; Abi- 
gail, baptized Sept. 30, 1618 ; Elizabeth, baptized 
March 25, 162 1 ; and Isaac, baptized Feb. 25, 1623- 
1624. 

(II) Isaac Learned, baptized Feb. 25, 1623, in 
Bermondsey Parish, County of Surrey, England, 
probably came to New England when about seven or 
eight years old, and when about seventeen or eight- 
een went with his father to Woburn. He married at 
Woburn, July 9, 1646, Mary, daughter of Isaac 
Stearnes, of Watertown. She was a native of Eng- 
land, baptized Jan. 26, 1626, in the Parish of Way- 
land, Suffolk. Mr. Learned removed to Chelmsford 
probably in 1652, and there died Nov. 27, 1657. 
He was chosen selectman of Chelmsford in 1654, 
sergeant of the trainband in 1656, and served on 
committees, etc. His widow, Mary, was married, 
in 1662, to John Burg. Isaac Learned's children 
were : Mary, born Aug. 7, 1647 ! Hannah, Aug. 24, 
1649; William, Oct. 1, 1650 (all born at Woburn) ; 
Sarah, Oct. 18, 1653 ; Isaac, Sept. 16, 1655 ; and 
Benoni, Nov. 29, 1657 (all born at Chelmsford). 

(III) Isaac Learned (2), born Sept. 16, 1655, 
married, July 23, 1679, Sarah Bigelow, who was 
born Sept. 29, 1659, daughter of John and Sarah 
(Warner) Bigelow, of W r atertown, and settled in 
Framingham, near Learned's Pond, which was so 
named from him. As a soldier he took part in the 
Narragansett fight, and was wounded. He served 
in Capt. Davenport's company. His children were : 
Isaac, born May 10, 1680; Sarah, March 16, 1682; 
Abigail, March 11, 1684; Mary, April 12, 1686; 
William, Feb. 12, 1688; Ebenezer, Aug. 31, 1690; 
Samuel, Oct. 4, 1692; Hannah, Sept. 16, 1694; 
Elizabeth, July 27, 1696 ; Moses, April 29, 1699 ; and 
Martha, May 21, 1702. 

(IV) William Learned, born Feb. 12, 1688, 
married Nov. 24, 171 5, Hannah Bryant, born in 



1696-97, daughter of Simon and Hannah Bryant, 
of Killingly, Conn, (formerly of Braintree, Mass.) 
Mr. Learned had removed from Framingham to 
Killingly, purchasing land in what is now Putnam 
in 17 12. Later he removed to Sutton, and there was 
one of the original members of the Church in 1720. 
He later (1721) bought land in Killingly, and prob- 
ably removed there soon after. He was admitted to 
the Church in Thompson, Conn., in 1731 (Thomp- 
son Parish had formerly been the North Society of 
Killingly). He was chosen a deacon in 1742. He 
was surveyor of highways in 1729; selectman from 
1740 to 1744, and town treasurer from 1742 to 1746. 
He died June 11, 1747. His widow, Hannah, mar- 
ried Oct. 17, 1755, Joseph Leavens. Mr. Learned's 
children were : Hannah ; Samuel, born Dec. 28, 
1718; Simon, Feb. 10, 1721 ; Ebenezer, March n, 
1723; William, April 15, 1725; Abijah, April 26, 
1729; James Dec. 24, 1733; and Asa, March 29, 
1736. 

(V) Ebenezer Learned, born March 11, 1723, 
married Dec. 28, 1749, Kesiah Leavens, who was 
born March 8, 1730, daughter of Justice Joseph 
Leavens, of Killingly, Conn., one of the first settlers 
of the town. Mr. Learned was for many years a 
deacon in the Church at North Killingly. He was 
selectman in 1760. His death occurred Dec. 6, 
1779. He was one of the original proprietors of the 
Connecticut Susquehanna Company, and took part 
in organizing it. At the Lexington Alarm, 1775, 
he was in the company of Capt. Joseph Cady, 
Eleventh Regiment. His children were : Amasa, born 
Nov. 15, 1750; Noah, Oct. 20, 1752; Joseph, Aug. 
28, 1754; Ebenezer, Aug. 12, 1756; Theophilus, 
July 1, 1758; Asa, May 30, 1760; Judith, April 30, 
1762; Chloe, June 14, 1764; Keziah, March 8, 1767; 
Erastus, Sept. 20, 1769; and Sarah, Feb. 25, 1772. 

(VI) Hon. Amasa Learned, born Nov. 15, 1750, 
married, April 1, 1773, Grace Hallam, of New Lon- 
don, Conn., who was born Oct. 14, 1754, daughter 
of Nicholas and Elizabeth (Latimer) Hallam. Mr. 
Learned was graduated from Yale College in 1772, 
and soon after went to New London as a teacher in 
the Union school. He studied theology with Rev. 
Mr. Atkins, at Killingly, and was licensed to preach 
by the Windham County Association, Oct. 12, 1773. 
He preached, it is said, for some time at Newport, 
R. I. He resided in Killingly until 1780, and then 
moved to New London, and settled there. It does 
not appear that he was ever ordained or settled as a 
clergyman, or that he continued long in the ministry. 
His wife's family were influential merchants of New 
London, and he became somewhat prominent in po- 
litical affairs. In 1788 he was a member of the 
Convention which ratified the Constitution of the 
United States, and voted for it. He was in the Uni- 
ted States Congress from 1791 to 1795, and was 
also an "assistant" of the State. He was a member 
of the Council. While in Congress he became en- 
gaged in some land speculations, which resulted dis- 
astrously, and this result seemed to have changed 



102 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



the current of his life. From about 1798 he gave up 
all active business pursuits. Mr. Learned was a 
man of courteous manners, general information and 
remarkable acquisitiveness as to all the topics of in- 
terest of his day. He died of pleurisy May 4, 1825. 
His wife died Nov. 20, 1787. Their children were 
as follows (the first four born in Killingly, and the 
others in New London) : Elizabeth, born Jan. 31, 
1774; Frances, Jan. 20, 1776; Grace H., Feb. 21, 
1778; Ebenezer, March 27, 1780; Nicholas H., 
March 10, 1783; Ann, June 16, 1784; and Edward, 
April 2, 1786. 

(VII) Ebenezer Learned (2), born March 27, 
1780, married (first) Oct. 10, 1808. Charlotte Peck, 
daughter of Bela and Betsey (Billings) Peck, of 
Norwich. She died March 8, 18 19, and he married 
(second) March 28, 1820, Lydia Coit, who was 
born Dec. 12, 1787, daughter of Joshua and Ann 
Boradill (Hallam) Coit, of New London, Conn. 
She died March 19, 1877, and he died Sept. II, 1858. 
Mr. Learned entered Yale College at fourteen, but 
was unable to finish his course on account of his 
father's misfortune. He, however, received his 
diploma of A. B., with his class in 1798. He taught 
in the Union school in New London in 1799 ; studied 
law and settled first at Groton, Conn. After prac- 
ticing his profession for twenty years or more, he 
took the position of cashier of the Union Bank, of 
New London, and continued in that office for sev- 
eral years and then retired from active business. 
For one or two years he held the office of bank com- 
missioner, but declined all other public offices. He 
was a man of the purest and most estimable char- 
acter, the friend and adviser of all who were in 
trouble ; of perfect integrity and admirable good 
sense. For man}' years he was deacon of the First 
Congregational Church of New London ; and was 
always ready to aid in any benevolent work. He 
was a man six feet tall and of corresponding size ; 
he inherited his father's swarthy complexion, with a 
countenance rather severe at first appearance, but 
warmed with a quiet humor and tender feeling. His 
children were : ' Betsey Peck, born Nov. 25, 1809 ; 
Ebenezer, Nov. 3, 181 1; Billings Peck, June 24, 
1813; Charlotte, Oct. 11, 1815; and William Law, 
July 24, 1 82 1. 

(VIII) Ebenezer Learned (3), born Nov. 3, 
181 1, in New London, married (first) Aug. 20, 
1834, Matilda D. Hurlbut, daughter of Samuel and 
Matilda (Denison) Hurlbut, of New London. She 
died March 23, 1837, and he married (second) 
April 9, 1842, Mrs. Harriet M. (Vail) Townsend, 
of Troy, N. Y. Mr. Learned was graduated from 
Yale College in 183 1. After his marriage he settled 
in Norwich, where he engaged in mercantile pur- 
suits in partnership with William McEwen, of New 
London. This partnership was soon dissolved, and 
Mr. Learned began the study of law. In November, 
1839, he was admitted to the Bar, and at once 
opened an office in Norwich, where he continued in 
practice until he was appointed secretary of the 



1837, 
Nor- 

Har- 

1891, 

Y., and 

born in 

engaged 



Norwich Fire Insurance Company, of which com- 
pany he was afterward made president. Through- 
out life he was identified with the most important 
public interests of the city, holding various positions 
of trust. His services as a trustee and treasurer of. 
the Norwich Free Academy, during its entire organ- 
ization, were especially valuable, as also his interest 
in the organization, and his earnest support of the 
Park Congregational Church ; he served on the 
building committee when the Church was erected. 
He gave largely of his time, money and energies for 
the advancement of the Union cause in the Civil war. 
Mr. Learned died at his home in Norwich July 29,. 
1887. His second wife survived him until Dec. 31,. 
1898. His children were: (1) Charlotte Peck, bom 
May 15, 1835. married, April 12, 1854, James L. 
Hubbard, of Norwich, and their children are : 
Charles Learned, born July 21, 1855, who married 
June 6, 1877, Katherine F. Mather ; and Matilda D.„ 
born May 4, 1858, who died May 12, 1866. (2) 
Bela Peck is mentioned below. 

Maj. Bela Peck Learned, born March 9, 
married, Oct. 31, 1867, May Y\". Bulkley. of 
wich, and their children are as follows : ( 1 ) 
riet W, born in 1868, was married April 22, 
to Dr. George T. Howland, of Athens, N 
has one child, Elizabeth. (2) Ebenezer, 
1876, graduated from Yale in 1899, and is 
in the insurance business in Norwich. He was mar- 
ried April 29, 1903, to Roberta Traill Howard, of 
Washington, D. C, and they have one child, Con- 
stance Traill, born May 28, 1904. (3) Mary was 
born in 1882. 

Major Learned was graduated from Yale Col- 
lege in 1857. Early in the Civil war. Feb. 21, 1862,. 
he joined Company D, First Volunteer Heavy 
Artillery, being mustered in as second lieutenant of 
the company. He was promoted to first lieutenant 
of Company A, May 26, 1862; was made adjutant 
of the Regiment Oct. 13. 1862; promoted to captain 
of Company I, Jan. 2, 1865 ; and on April 9th of the 
last named year, was breveted major. He was mus- 
tered out of the United States service Sept. 25, 1865,. 
with an honorable war record. The engagements of 
the First Heavy Artillery were : Siege of York- 
town, Ya., April 30 to May 4, 1862 : Hampton Court 
House, Ya., May 27, 1862 ; Gaines Hill, Ya., May 31 
to June 20, 1862 ; Chickahominy, Ya., June 25,. 
1862; Golden Hill, Ya., June 27, 1862; Malvern 
Hill, Ya., July 1, 1862 ; siege of Fredericksburg, Ya.,. 
Dec. n-15, 1862 (Companies B and M) ; before 
Fredericksburg, Ya., June 5 to 13. 1863 (Company 
M) ; Kelley's Ford, Ya. (Company M), Nov. 27,. 
1863; Orange Court House, Ya. (Company B)„ 
Nov. 30, 1864; siege of Petersburg and Richmond,. 
Ya., May, 1864, to April, 1865 : Fort Fisher, N. C.„ 
Jan. 14 and 15, 1865 (Companies B, G and L). 

Major Learned returned to Norwich in October, 
1865. and has since been quite successfully engaged 
in the insurance business. He holds many positions- 
of trust and honor, among them that of vice-presi- 






GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



103 



dent of the Norwich Savings Society and trustee of 
the Norwich Free Academy. He is a past com- 
mander of Sedgwick Post, No. 1, G. A. R. ; past 
junior vice-commander of the Department of Con- 
necticut, a member of the Army and Navy Club, of 
Connecticut, and a companion of the Military Order 
of the Loyal Legion of the United States ; a member 
of the Sons of the American Revolution ; lieutenant 
governor of the Society of Colonial Wars, in the 
State of Connecticut ; and a member of the Society 
of Founders of Norwich. He is a member of Park 
Congregational Church, and quite active in its af- 
fairs, at the present time serving as deacon. Po- 
litically he is a Republican. 

Airs. Learned is a member of Faith Trumbull 
Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, 
and has served as regent of the same. She is also a 
member of the Connecticut Society of Colonial 
Dames of America. 

LATHROP. For nearly two and a half cen- 
turies the name of Lathrop has had an important 
place in the social, commercial and religious life of 
Norwich. At the present time it is worthily rep- 
resented by Jonathan L. and Frank L. Lathrop, 
father and son, comprising the successful insurance 
firm of J. L. Lathrop & Son, of that city. 

(I) In direct line Jonathan L. Lathrop traces his 
ancestry to Rev. John Lathrop, minister at Egerton, 
in Kent, England, who in 1624 removed to London, 
where he was pastor of an Independent (now called 
Congregational) Church. The archbishop caused 
his arrest and that of forty-three members of his 
flock April 29, 1632, the majority of them being im- 
prisoned for two years for the offense of practicing 
the teachings of the New Testament, as they under- 
stood it. During the time he was in prison Rev. 
Mr. Lathrop's wife died. Upon the condition of 
their leaving the country he and a few members of 
the church were released, and they accordingly came 
to New England. Mr. Lathrop and his children ar- 
rived in 1634, and soon thereafter he organized a 
church at Scituate, Mass. He was admitted a free- 
man of Plymouth Colony in 1636-37, and two years 
later, with the principal part of the church, he moved 
to Barnstable. Pope's "Pioneers of Massachusetts" 
says : "He married a second wife whose name is 
not on our records, who came here with him, joined 
the church June 14, 1635, and survived him." Rev. 
Mr. Lathrop was a man of deep piety, great zeal and 
large ability. His children were : Jane, Barbara, 
Thomas, Sarah, Samuel, Joseph, John, Benjamin, 
Barnabas, Abigail, Bathshua, and two that died in 
infancy. 

(IT) Samuel Lathrop, son of Rev. John, was 
born in England, and came with his father to Scit- 
uate in 1634. He became a housebuilder in Boston, 
and afterward combined with that occupation exten- 
sive farming operations. He later settled in Barn- 
stable, and from there moved to Pequot (now New 
London), Conn., where he became one of the judges 



of the local court, organized in 1649. 1° J 668 he 
removed to Norwich, where he served as constable 
and townsman. On Nov. 28, 1644, in Barnstable, he 
married Elizabeth Scudder, who had been dismissed 
from the church in Boston Nov. 10, 1644, to remove 
her church relation to that in Barnstable. Their 
children were: John, baptized Dec. 7, 1645; Eliza- 
beth, born in March, 1648 ; Samuel, born in March, 
1650 ; Sarah, born in 1655 ; Martha, born in January, 
1657 ; Israel, born in October, 1659 ; Joseph, born in 
October, 1661 ; Abigail, born in May, 1665 ; and 
Anne, born Aug. 7, 1667. The mother died, and in 
1690 Samuel Lathrop married (second) Abigail 
Doane, born Jan. 29, 1632, daughter of Deacon John 
Doane, of Plymouth. He died in 1700, and his "wife 
survived until 1734. On her one hundredth birth- 
day a large concourse of friends assembled at her 
home, and a sermon was preached by the pastor of 
the church. At this time she had preserved in a 
remarkable degree the intelligence and vivacity of 
her earlier years. 

(III) Israel Lathrop, son of Samuel, was born 
in October, 1659. He located in Norwich, where he 
became a prominent man of affairs, acquiring by 
thrift and industry a considerable property. On 
April 8, 1686, he married Rebecca, daughter of 
Thomas Bliss, of Saybrook and Norwich. He died 
March 28, 1733, and his wife on Aug. 22, 1737. 
His gravestone is the oldest in the cemetery at Nor- 
wich. Their children were: Israel, born Feb. 1, 
1687; William, Sept. 20, 1688; John, Oct. 2, 1690; 
Samuel, July 12, 1692; Rebecca, April 20. 1695; 
Mary, Nov. 15, 1696; Martha, Nov. 15, 1696; Ben- 
jamin, July 21, 1699; Ebenezer, Feb. 7, 1702-03; 
and Jabez, Jan. 11, 1706-07. 

(IV) William Lathrop, son of Israel, born Sept. 
20, 1688, settled on Plain Hill, in Norwich, and be- 
came a well-to-do farmer. In religion he was an 
earnest and zealous worker. On Dec. 18, 171 2, he 
married Sarah Huntington, daughter of Deacon 
Simon and Lydia (Gager) Huntington. She died 
April 20, 1730. On Aug. 5, 1731, he married 
(second) Mary Kelly, who united with the church 
the same year. They became leaders in the Separ- 
atist movement. To this second union were born 
four sons : Eben, born July I, 1732 ; Jonathan. July 
3, 1734; John, May 17, 1739; and Jack, April 6, 
1742. Mrs. Mary (Kelly) Lathrop died April 19, 
1760, and on May 20, 1761, Mr. Lathrop married 
Phebe French. He died Sept. 27, 1778. 

(V) Jonathan Lathrop, son of William, born 
July 3, 1734, resided on Plain Hill, Norwich, where 
he followed farming and became a large landholder, 
owning property in both Norwich and Bozrah, and 
at his death left a large estate. He was a man of 
considerable importance in the town, and took a 
prominent part in public affairs. On March 16, 
1758, he married Thede Woodworth, who died Dec. 
27, 1816, aged eighty years. He died Dec. 14. 1817, 
and was buried at the side of his wife in the old 
cemeterv in Norwich Town. Their six children 



io| 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



were: Betsey, born Feb. 2, 1759. died unmarried 
Oct. 13, 1822; Darius, born July 14, 1760, is men- 
tioned below : Roger, born Nov. 9, 1762, located at 
Coventry, Conn., where he died ; Jesse, born May 6, 
1765, married Rhoda Hyde, and located in Franklin, 
where he died; Lucy, born Feb. 28, 1767, married 
Dyer McCall, and lived in Franklin : and Ezra, born 
Dec. 9. 1770, married (first) a Mrs. Huntington 
and (second) Mary Lester, and located in Bozrah 
on the farm now occupied by his grandson, Edwin 
Lathrop. 

(VI) Darius Lathrop, son of Jonathan, was born 
July 14. 1760. He made his home on Plain Hill, 
where he followed farming all his life. Like all his 
family he was an active member of the church, be- 
longing to the First Congregational Church at Nor- 
wich, as did also his first wife. On Nov. 23. 1786, 
he married Lydia McCall, who was born Feb. 4, 
1759, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Ford) 
McCall. and died March 22, 1814. On May 6, 1818, 
Darius Lathrop married, for his second wife, Man- 
Little, of Columbia. Conn. She survived him, and 
after his death, which occurred Sept. 15, 1827, she 
returned to her old home in Columbia, where she 
died. The children of Darius Lathrop, all born of 
his first marriage, were: Sophia, born Sept. 15, 
1788, married Daniel Morse, a fanner of Plain Hill, 
and survived him, dying Aug. 26, 1854, at the home 
of her brother, John B., in Lisbon, Conn. ; Mira, 
born Jan. 27,, 1792, married Chester Bill, a farmer, 
and died on Plain Hill, leaving one son, Orrin H., 
who died in young manhood ; Elizabeth, born Feb. 
11, 1797. married Seymour Morse, a farmer on 
Plain Hill, and, surviving her husband, died May 
27), 1886, aged eighty-nine years, leaving one daugh- 
ter, Lydia E., wife of Stephen X. Yerrington, of 
East Great Plain ; John Backus was born Jan. 25, 
1800. 

(VII) John Backus Lathrop, son of Darius, was 
born on Plain Hill, Norwich, Jan. 25, 1800, and, be- 
ing the only son in the family, he remained at home, 
assisting his father in the management of the home 
farm. After the death of his parents he succeeded 
to the farm, which he continued to make his home 
until about 1848, when he sold it and purchased an- 
other in Hanover Society, Lisbon, now known as 
Sprague. There he made his home until his death, 
which occurred Sept. 11, 1854. His remains rest 
in the cemetery at Norwich, known as Yantic cem- 
etery. He was very public-spirited and always in- 
terested in the affairs of his town and country. In 
politics he was a Whig, and during his residence in 
Norwich he held some minor offices, while after his 
removal to Lisbon he became selectman, grand 
juror and member of the board of relief. While in 
Norwich, too. he was a member of the old artillery 
company. He was a very religious man. He united 
with the First Congregational Church at Norwich, 
and after his removal to Lisbon became a member 
of Hanover Congregational Church. 

On Nov. 27, 1823, Mr. Lathrop married in Nor- 



wich, Harriet Mary Lester, who was born Aug. 24, 
1800. daughter of William and Elizabeth (Burgess) 
Lester, and survived her husband, dying Feb. 16, 
1878 ; she was buried in Yantic cemetery. They 
were the parents of six children, as follows : ( 1 ) 
Richard B., born July 31, 1825, was a farmer in Lis- 
bon, where he died Nov. 10, 1859. He married 
Nov. 3, 185 1. Katherine Waters, who bore him two 
children, Clinton L., deceased, and John V., who re- 
sides in Montrose, Colo. (2) Harriet E., born Sept. 
5, 1827, married Charles T. Smith, and resided in 
Norwich, where she died March 12, 1880. Her chil- 
dren were Emma E.. Addie A., Charles T., and 
Carrie F. and Annie E. (twins). (3) Jonathan Les- 
ter was born July 10, 1829. (4) Jane M., born 
March 17. 1831, was married Oct. 30. 1854, to Jo- 
seph A. Fargo, and resides at West Woodstock, 
Conn. She had one son, Joseph O., who died May 1, 
1865, aged eight years. (5) Lucy S.. born Dec. 13, 
1832, married (first) Oct. 15, 1857, Nelson F. Allen, 
and for her second husband Charles S. Miner; 
she resides in Norwich. (6) William D., born 
June 24. 1837, enlisted for sendee in the Civil war 
becoming a private in an Illinois regiment, and took 
part in the battle of Pittsburg Landing, where he 
was wounded, dying a few days later, April 22, 
1862 ; he was buried at Paducah. Ky. He married 
Amelia R. Hayden, and resided in Illinois. He left 
no children. 

(VIII) Joxathax Lester Lathrop was born 
on Plain Hill, Norwich, and there his boyhood and 
youth were spent. He was nineteen years old when 
the family moved to Lisbon. His education had all 
been acquired previous to that time, first in the dis- 
trict schools and later in the old Norwich Academy, 
which was then presided over by a Mr. Pettis. He 
was brought up to the hard work of a farm, and 
previous to his marriage he had been engaged as a 
farm laborer, working by the month. When he 
married he rented a farm in Franklin, where he 
began housekeeping, but later he purchased a farm 
at Peck Hollow, in the same town, where he re- 
mained for two years. Disposing of his property, he 
moved to Lisbon and there rented a farm for a time, 
later purchasing one in Newent Society, which was 
his home until 1877. when he located in Putnam, 
Conn., to become local agent for the Agricultural 
Insurance Company, of Watertown, N. Y. For a 
number of years previous to that time he had been 
an agent for the company, and had met with such 
great success that the local agency at Putnam came 
in the light of a promotion. The agency at Putnam 
had not been yielding satisfactory returns, and the 
company asked Mr. Lathrop to go there and see 
what he could do in the way of building up the bus- 
iness. This responsibility he accepted, and in a com- 
paratively short time he had increased the business 
beyond the expectations of those concerned. Three 
years later he located at Plainfield. where he met 
with his usual success, but at the end of two years, 
in August, 1881, he located in Norwich, where he 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



IO: 



formed a partnership with his son, Frank L., under 
the firm name of J. L. Lathrop & Son, and they have 
since been successfully engaged in a general insur- 
ance business. The firm of J. L. Lathrop & Son is 
one of the largest of its kind in eastern Connecti- 
cut, now representing seventeen different compan- 
ies, and handling all kinds of insurance except life. 
However, the greater part of their business is in the 
line of fire insurance. Their methods are clear and 
business-like, and they are prompt in meeting all 
their obligations, so that their standing in the bus- 
iness world in unquestioned. Both are exceedingly 
popular, being pleasant, genial men of good social 
qualities, who win warm friends and make most 
pleasant companions. J. L. Lathrop is senior direc- 
tor of the Xew London County Mutual Fire Insur- 
ance Company. 

On July 17, 1853, Jonathan Lester Lathrop was 
linked in marriage with Harriet E. Bliss, who was 
born Nov. 17, 1832, daughter of Austin Bliss, of 
Norwich, and died Oct. 4, 1875. Three children 
blessed this union: (1) Hattie Lester, born Oct. 15, 
1854, married, July 5, 1876, Charles A. Witter, and 
died at Redlands, Cal., in June, 1893, leaving one 
daughter, Martha Lathrop. (2) Frank Leslie, born 
Sept. 26, 1856, is mentioned below. (3) George 
Austin, born Sept. 21, 1858, is a traveling salesman 
for a wholesale jewelry house, and fraternally is a 
thirty-second degree Mason ; he married Carrie B. 
Curtis, and resides in Norwich. 

On Feb. 3, 1876, Jonathan L. Lathrop married, 
in Sprague. Jane E. Chapman, who was born in 
Plainfield March 31, 1850, daughter of Josiah Fuller 
and Harriet Elizabeth (Haxton) Chapman. This 
marriage was also blessed with three children, 
namely: (1) Alice Chapman, born Jan. 25, 1877, 
was married Oct. 19, 1898, to Henry Downer John- 
son, clerk in the Chelsea Savings Bank, Norwich, 
and has three children. Jonathan Lathrop, born Dec. 
14, 1899; Robert Ebenezer, May 2, 1901 ; and Henry 
Downer, Jr., May 16, 1903. (2) Jennie Crary, born 
Feb. 15, 1878, died in infancy. (3) Chester Arthur, 
born Sept. 8. 1881, graduated from the Norwich 
Business College, and is a bookkeeper in the office of 
J. L. Lathrop & Son ; he is a member of Somerset 
Lodge. No. 34, F. & A. M, and of the Y. M. C. A., 
being particularly active in the latter, in which he 
has served on several important committees. He is 
very active in the Second Congregational Church. 

Jonathan L. Lathrop is a firm believer in the 
principles advocated by the Republican party, and is 
always ready to uphold by logical argument the 
measures of his party. In 1873 he was the repre- 
sentative from Lisbon in the General Assembly, 
serving on the committee on Constitutional Amend- 
ments. He has also been a member of the board of 
selectmen (in. Lisbon), was chairman of the board 
one year, and has also been assessor, grand juror 
and tax collector, holding the last named office sev- 
eral years. He is a member of Mt. Vernon Lodge, 
No. 75, A. F. & A. M., at Jewett City. He and his 



.family are valued members of the Second Congre- 
gational Church. Since his removal to Norwich he 
has shown himself to be an acquisition to the town, 
as he is not only a good business man, with the 
genial nature that makes him a power socially, but 
he is a fine example of the noble Christian gentle- 
man, upright in his own life and ever ready to do his 
part for the betterment of humanity. 

Frank Leslie Lathrop was born in Franklin, 
Conn., and received a good substantial education, at- 
tending -first the district schools and later Plainfield 
Academy. At the age of nineteen he began work 
at the machinist's trade in the factory of Hopkins & 
Allen, and remained there until August, 1881, when 
he became associated with his father in the insurance 
business. On Sept. 25, 1884, he was married to 
Gertrude J. Barrows, who was born April 15, 1857, 
daughter of Henry E. Barrows, of Norwich. She 
died April 17, 1888, leaving one child, William 
Barrows, born Aug. 26, 1887. On Sept. 27, 1892, 
Mr. Lathrop was married to Agnes M. Wheeler, of 
Stonington, Conn., and two children have come to 
this marriage : Bertha Lillian, born July 26, 1893, 
died Oct. 1, 1901 ; Marion Wheeler was bora June 
9, 1895. Mr. and Mrs. Lathrop attend the Baptist 
Church, in which he is one of the trustees. Fra- 
ternallv he is a member of Somerset Lodge, No. 34, 
F. & A. M. 

Since January, 1903, Mr. Frank L. Lathrop has 
been secretary of the New London County Mutual 
Fire Insurance Company, in which he is a director. 
The offices of the company are located at No. 28 
Shetucket street, Norwich. 

DANIEL M. BROWNE, who in his life time 
was one of the leading citizens of Lisbon — a citizen 
upon whom all others relied in any and every emer- 
gency, and one who never betrayed the trust — came 
of the Browne family, long known in eastern Con- 
necticut. 

In direct line the lineage of the Browne family 
is traced to (I) Edward Browne, who was born in 
1570, at Inchboro, Worcestershire, England. He 
married Jane, daughter of Thomas Lyde, and in 
their family of children was a son, Nicholas. 

(II) Nicholas Browne, born about 1600, by his 
wife Elizabeth, became the father of several chil- 
dren, among them a son, Thomas. Nicholas Browne 
came to America and settled in that part of Lynn (at 
first called Lynn Village) , which in 1644 was char- 
tered as a town under the name of Reading. 

(III) Thomas Browne, born in England in 1628, 
accompanied his father to America. In 1658, he 
married Marv Newhall, who was born in 1637, 
daughter of Thomas Newhall, of Lynn. Their chil- 
dren were: Thomas, Joseph, John, Eleazer, Eben- 
ezer, Daniel and Mary. 

(IV) Thomas Browne (2) removed from Read- 
ing or Lynn with his brothers, John and Eleazer, 
and settled in Stonington. Their cattle marks are 
recorded in the latter place in May, 1688, and they 



io6 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



purchased farms near the eminence known as 
Browne's Mountain. On Jan. 8, 1677, Thomas' 
Browne married Hannah Collins, daughter of John 
Collins, of Lynn. They had children before their 
removal to Stonington, and after that event were 
born : Jerusha, Thomas, Elizabeth, Daniel, Pris- 
cilla and Humphrey. 

(V) Daniel Browne was born in Stonington, 
Oct. 9, 1696. On June 21, 1721, he married Mary 
Breed, daughter of John and Mary (Palmer) Breed. 
Among their children, they had a son Samuel. 

(VI) Samuel Browne was born Oct. 14, 1722. 
In 1748 he wedded Phcebe Elizabeth Wilbur, of 
Little Compton, R. I., and they had several children, 
of whom the next in direct line is William. 

(VII) William Browne was a farmer by occu- 
pation, and was for many years a resident of the 
town of Preston. He married Elizabeth Tyler, 
daughter of Deacon John Tyler, of Preston, and 
their children were : William, Betsy, Tyler, and 
others. 

(VIII) Tyler Browne, son of William and father 
of Daniel M., was born in Preston, and spent his early 
life there. Upon reaching manhood he removed to 
Lisbon, and opened a general store, a business he 
continued all his life. He was charitable, not only 
of his time and means to the aid of the needy, but to 
the faults and weaknesses of others. His friendship 
was highly prized, and he was very popular with all 
classes of people. Fraternally he was a Mason. His 
death, which occurred April 25, 1836, when he was 
aged but fifty-five years, was a sad blow to his fam- 
ily and to the community at large, and his remains 
repose in the Ames cemetery at Lisbon. On Feb. 
22, 1810, he married Rhoda Morgan, of Preston, 
daughter of Daniel and Joanna (Brewster) Morgan, 
the latter a lineal descendant of Elder William 
Brewster, of the "Mayflower." She survived him 
until Sept. 30, 186 T, when she died at the age of 
seventy-five. To Tyler Browne and wife were born 
children as follows: (1) George Morgan, who grad- 
uated from Yale University, and became a success- 
ful attorney in Boston, Mass., was for many years 
president of the Eastern railroad, and he became 
quite wealthy. He died in Washington, D. C. He 
was three times married, and his third wife, Caro- 
line Cabot, bore him a son, George Morgan, Jr., an 
attorney in New York. (2) Ann Elizabeth died 
unmarried. (3) William Tyler died at the age of six- 
teen years. (4) Joseph died in infancy. (5) Daniel 
M. completed the family. 

Daniel M. Browne was born in Lisbon. Feb. 23, 
1819, in a house that stood near the site of his late 
home. He acquired a good education by attendance 
at the district schools and Plainfield Academy. His 
natural tastes inclined him toward the legal pro- 
fession, but just as he was about to enter upon his 
studies to that end, his father died, and his services 
were needed at home. Cheerfully putting aside his 
own ambition he sold the store, and applied himself 
diligently to the management of the farm — a work 



he continued to pursue all his life. He became very 
successful, and carried on operations on a large 
scale, cultivating at one time over 300 acres, but 
later he disposed of a large portion of it. He made a 
specialty of vegetable produce, and was one of the 
first to sell his products in the surrounding villages. 
He was a man of rare foresight and sound judg- 
ment, and by economy and wise management be- 
came one of the most successful men of the town. 
For some ten years prior to his death he suffered 
from ill health, and he entered into rest Aug. 13, 
1900, and was buried in Ames cemetery. 

Politically Mr. Browne was a stanch Republican, 
and while always attentive to his personal affairs, 
he did not neglect those duties incumbent upon every 
good American citizen. He held at various times 
about every office in the gift of his fellow towns- 
men. In 185 1 he represented the town in the Leg- 
islature, and among the minor offices held mav be 
mentioned those of town clerk, treasurer and select- 
man. In 1861. when a portion of the town was set 
off to become a part of the town of Sprague, he 
was called upon to look after the interests of Lisbon 
before the Legislature, and very ably did he perform 
his task. The confidence of the people was his, and 
he bent every energy to the honorable and success- 
ful performance of the duties imposed upon him. 
His word was as good as a bond, and his decisions 
when once given were regarded as unalterable. As 
a trustee of the Jewett City Savings Bank, he proved 
his intimate knowledge of financial affairs. He was 
an attendant of the Newent Congregational Church, 
which he liberally supported, and he was a member 
of the Ecclesiastical Society. When the present 
church edifice was erected, he was one of the active 
members of the building committee. 

On Feb. 11. 1856, Mr. Browne was united in 
marriage with Phcebe Bidwell Burnham, who was 
born in Kinsman. Trumbull Co., Ohio, of Pilgrim 
stock, daughter of Jedediah and Sophia (Bidwell) 
Burnham, natives of Lisbon, and Canton, Conn., re- 
spectively. Her grandfather. Jedediah Burnham, 
was a surgeon in the Revolutionary service. Jede- 
diah Burnham (2), her father, went to Ohio in 
young manhood, and died there, at the age of eighty- 
four years, while his wife passed away at the age of 
fifty-four. He served as a captain in the War of 
1812, and his son Jedediah (3) was in the United 
States signal service in the Civil war. The remains 
of son, father and grandfather lie side by side in 
the cemetery at Kinsman, Ohio. Jedediah Burnham 
(2) and wife were the parents of twelve children, 
all but four of whom are now deceased. Mrs. 
Browne graduated from the famous Grand River 
Institute at Ashtabula. O.. and previous to her mar- 
riage engaged in teaching. She now resides at the 
old home in Lisbon, dearly beloved by all who know 
her. She is an earnest worker in the Xewent Con- 
gregational Church. To Daniel M. Browne and 
wife came one son, William Tvler, born Dec. 26, 
1856. 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



107 



William Tyler Browne attended school in Lis- 
bon, and then spent three years in the Friends 
School at Providence, R. I., later attending Phillips 
Academy, Andover, Mass., and he graduated in 
1878, from the Sheffield Scientific School at Yale. 
In 1882 he received his medical degree from Har- 
vard University. Locating at Lisbon for the active 
practice of his profession, he built up a good prac- 
tice. After some years he located in Norwich, 
where he has made a specialty of diseases of the 
eye, ear, nose and throat, and of treatment by elec- 
tricity and the X-Ray, meeting with unqualified 
success. On Dec. 25, 1889, he married Gertrude 
Bell, of Monson, Mass., a graduate of Monson 
Academy, and a daughter of George Edward Bell 
and Jane M. (Bailey) Bell, and granddaughter of 
Dwight Bailey, of Franklin, Connecticut. 

GEORGE WATERMAN MEEKER (de- 
ceased), was one of New London's leading citizens, 
and his memory is held in loving remembrance by 
those who knew and appreciated him. He was 
born April 29, 1839, m Norwalk, Conn., and died 
May 17, 1897, in New London, Connecticut. 

William Meeker, his father, was born Oct. 22, 
1807, in Fairfield County, Conn., and died Feb. 
20, 1872, in New London, Conn., aged sixty-five 
years. On March 18, 1828, he married Caroline 
Hawkins, born March 24, 18 10 and died Nov. 4, 
1870, in New London, Conn. Their family was as 
follows : George W. ; Sarah Elizabeth, born July 28, 
1833, married Capt. Joseph Tinker, of New London, 
where they both died ; Charles Henry, born Jan. 12, 
1845, died in infancy. 

William Meeker was a merchant in New Lon- 
don for a number of years, and he and his son 
George W. conducted a hat and cap store in that 
city, in which business they were successful. He 
was a man of strong personality, who endeavored 
to do what he felt was his duty, and he endeared to 
himself a host of friends. He possessed a pleasing 
manner and kindly disposition, and his death was a 
public loss. 

Sillimano Meeker, father of William and grand- 
father of George W., was born Feb. 3, 1769, in Fair- 
field, Conn. He married Sarah Thorpe, and they 
had children as follows : Burr, Eunice, Sarah, 
Easter, William, Walter, Aaron Burr, Eliphalet and 
Abby. 

Benjamin Meeker, the father of Sillimano 
Meeker, was born in November, 1741, on land in 
Fairfield, Conn., still in the possession of members 
of the family. On Feb. 3, 1765, he married Abigail 
Burr, a relative of the famous Aaron Burr, vice 
president of the United States under Thomas Jef- 
ferson, and children were born to them as follows : 
Sarah, Anne, Sillimano, David, Rachel, Benjamin, 
Jr., Stephen, Abigail, Burr and Jonathan. 

Samuel Meeker, father of Benjamin, was bap- 
tized Aug. 25, 1700. On Aug. 1, 1722, he married 
Abigail Gregory, and died between January and 



March, 1770. The children born of this marriage 
were: Abigail, Seth, Daniel, Benjamin, Molly, 
Stephen and Joseph. 

Daniel Meeker, father of Samuel and great- 
great-great-grandfather of George Waterman, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Ogden, daughter of Richard Ogden, 
the first Ogden in Fairfield, Conn. Their children 
were as follows: Joseph, Benjamin, Samuel, Jona- 
than, Isaac, Rachel, Daniel, David, Hannah, Eliza- 
beth and Esther. 

Robert Meeker, father of Daniel and great- 
great-great-great-grandfather of George W., died in 
Fairfield between Nov. 12, 1693 (the date of his 
will) and Nov. 25, 1694-5 (the date of the inven- 
tory). He had three children according to the will : 
Daniel, John and Mary. 

Robert and William Meeker, no doubt brothers, 
are first found in the New Haven Colony, and prob- 
ably settled there about 1640, where they took the 
oath of fidelity July 1, 1644. They were sailors, and 
from New Haven William Meeker went to New Jer- 
sey. He married Sarah Preston and had two sons, 
Joseph and Benjamin, and from them have de- 
scended what is called the New Jersey branch of the 
original family. Robert Meeker (younger than 
William) married Susanna Turberfield in New 
Haven, Sept. 16, 165 1, and removed to Easttown, in 
the New Netherlands, about 1657. He afterward 
removed to Fairfield, Conn., before 1664, and as 
early as Feb. 8, 1668, he is mentioned in a drawing 
of lots, so that he had probably been a resident of 
Fairfield for some time. He also took a contract 
from the town to do a certain amount of fencing, 
for which he was granted land by the town. In 
December, 1681, we find him possessed of 387 acres 
of land besides an interest in the "common lands." 
Included among his possessions was a "long lot." He 
probably took part in the French and Indian war in 
1670, and is mentioned as receiving various lots of 
sacking and canvas to make bedding for the soldiers 
(he being a sailor, this work was known to him). 
Among the articles mentioned of personal prop- 
erty in the inventory handed in by Susanna Meeker, 
his widow, is a gun and a sword. At present noth- 
ing is known beyond the above documentary men- 
tion. The native land of William or Robert is not 
known, although the family has been traced in the 
early history of England, and before that in some of 
the German provinces. 

George Waterman Meeker, our subject, now de- 
ceased, was born as before mentioned, in Norwalk, 
Conn., April 29, 1839. He came to New London 
with his parents during his childhood, and attended 
the schools of that place, after which his father and 
mother desired him to study for the ministry, but he 
was of an active and somewhat roving disposition, 
fond of travel and pleasant company, and he disliked 
to think even of entering the ministry. However, 
although strenuously refusing to enter the sacred 
calling which he felt himself so utterly unfitted for, 
he was as honest, upright and manly a young fellow 



io8 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



as any one could find. The family having finally 
concluded that there was no way of overcoming the 
young man's convictions, he was taken by his father 
into his hat and cap business, when it was located 
in the Lawrence block on Bank street. After serv- 
ing as clerk for a time, the son was taken into part- 
nership, and the father and son so continued very 
harmoniously for a number of years. 

At the outbreak of the Rebellion, he early en- 
listed in the army, and joined Company K, 5th 
Conn. V. I., June 28, 1861, was given a commis- 
sion, but resigned Xov. 24, 1862, his health having 
been greatly impaired. Later he went out West, but 
returned to' spend his last days in the old home he 
loved so well. He never united himself with any 
church, but in the latter years of his life was quietly 
and deeply meditative, thinking profoundly upon 
religious subjects. 

On May 20, 1857, George W. Meeker was mar- 
ried to Miss Louise Lax Crandall, daughter of Josh- 
ua and Emeline (Tinker) Crandall, New London. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Meeker was born one daughter, 
Carrie Louise, born Aug. 1, 1858, in New London, 
who was married July 2, 1877, to Capt. William Mer- 
cer, of New London^ an officer in the United States 
armv, and at present superintendent of the Indian 
School at Carlisle, Pa. They have one daughter, 
Edith, born April 19, 1881, in Columbus Barracks, 
Ohio, now the wife of Dr. George H. Gosman, of 
the United States Army. 

Mr. Meeker was a man of striking presence in 
his youth and prime, and an active, energetic busi- 
ness man who in a larger field would have controlled 
vast enterprises. He possessed. all of the qualities 
which endear others, and was an agreeable com- 
panion in a marked degree. In the days before the 
war, the young people of the city counted upon him 
to lead all social gatherings. In spirit he was genial 
and generous, quick to see the humorous side of 
things, and was very loyal to his friends. All 
through life he was devotedly attached to his fam- 
ily. Mr. Meeker was a stanch Republican, and 
served his town in several capacities, being faithful 
to his duties in all. 

FRANCIS MASOX MAXXIXG, one of the 
substantial and influential business men of Mystic, 
in the town of Stonington, Conn., was born at Old 
Mystic, town of Groton. Aug. 21. 1822, and he 
descends from a long and honorable line of an- 
cestry. 

(I) William Manning, the emigrant ancestor 
of the family of the town of Stonington. and his 
wife Susannah, came to New England with its early 
planters, and settled in Cambridge, Mass., where 
he purchased valuable real estate in 1638. 

(II) William Manning (2), born in 1614, 
in England, was brought by his parents to Massa- 
chusetts, and inherited their mansion at Cambridge. 
He engaged in a mercantile business, and became 
a prominent and successful merchant. His wife, 



Dorothy, died July 26, 1692, aged eighty years. He 
died March 14, 1690, aged seventy-six years. 

(III) Samuel Manning, born July 21. 1644, re- 
moved to Billerica where he became prominent in 
business, social and political circles, representing 
the town in the Massachusetts General Court in 
1695-1696. He married (first) Elizabeth Stearns, 
of Watertown, Mass., born April 13, 1844. Their 
children were : Samuel and John. On May 6, 1673, 
Mr. Manning married for his second wife, Abia 
Wright, and they had twelve children. 

(IV) Samuel Manning came back in early life 
to Cambridge to live, where his father in 1698, gave 
him a deed of the real estate which his grandfather 
had purchased in 1638. For reasons not now fully 
understood, he became dissatisfied with Cambridge 
as a place of residence, and between 1720 and 1724, 
sold nearly all his real estate there, and removed 
the family to that part of Windham now known as 
Scotland. Conn., where he passed the remainder 
of his life, dying Feb. 24, 1755. His wife, Deborah, 
died June 30, 1723. 

(V) Hezekiah Manning, born Aug. 8, 1721, 
married, Sept. 22, 1745, Man- Webb. Their chil- 
dren were: Calvin, born March 4, 1747; Luther, 
born Sept. 5, 1748; Jerusha. born Dec. 14, 1750: 
Lucy, born July 1, 1753; Elizabeth, born July 7, 
1755. He was a man of shrewd common sense, had 
a clear, incisive way of arriving at truth, and a 
quaint, original way of expressing himself. He 
served as justice of the peace for many years to the 
satisfaction of his townsmen. 

(VI) Luther Manning, born Sept. 5, 1748, 
studied medicine and practiced successfully as a 
physician in that part of Xorwich now known as 
the town of Lisbon. During the Revolutionary 
war, he held the position of assistant surgeon, and 
was stationed at New London, when the town was 
burned by the British. He was often called into 
consultation with the leading physicians of eastern 
Connecticut, and was prominently connected with 
the organizations of the State and county medical 
societies. He was a selectman, and represented 
Lisbon in the Legislature for several terms. Until 
his death, which occurred May 7, 1813, he was 
in active practice, and was regarded with the high- 
est esteem. In religious affiliation he was a Con- 
gregationalist. He married Sarah Smith, and their 
children were : Olive married Abiah Perkins ; 
Luther was a physician at Scotland, Conn., where 
he died ; Lucius died young ; and Mason. 

(VII) Dr. Mason Manning was born in Xor- 
wich Town, Conn., Aug. 27, 1796, and received a 
common school education, supplemented by attend- 
ance at Yale College, where he was graduated from 
the Medical Department with the class of 1818. He 
at once entered into co-partnership with his brother 
Luther, a practicing physician of Scotland. Two 
years later he went to Milltown. and soon there- 
after to Stonington, where he settled at the head of 
the Mystic river, and entered into practice. 







7\ #/^Ct«x^c< 



7 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



109 



On Nov. 20, 1 82 1, Dr. Manning married Fanny 
Hovey. born Jan. 8, 1799, daughter of Dudley and 
Mary Hovey. of Scotland, and to them was born 
one son, Francis Mason Manning. Mrs. Manning 
died Sept. 23, 1822, her remains being first interred 
at Scotland, but later removed to Elm Grove cem- 
etery at Mystic. For his second wife Dr. Man- 
ning married Harriet C. Leeds, who survived him. 
He enjoyed a large and lucrative practice, and not 
being content to rest with the knowledge already 
acquired, he was always a close student, and took 
rank with the best physicians of the county. His 
quiet, unobtrusive manner, and sympathy with all 
suffering, made him extremely popular, and his ac- 
knowledged skill did not cause him to relax any 
of his efforts to keep abreast of medical discoveries. 
He was an active member of the New London 
County Medical Society, and the Connecticut Medi- 
cal Society, and was several times elected delegate 
to the annual meetings of the National Medical As- 
sociation. Dr. Manning continued in active prac- 
tice, until disqualified by age. He was too much 
occupied by his professional duties to accept of pub- 
lic office, but always voted first the Whig, and later 
the Republican tickets. In early life he affiliated 
with the Congregational Church, later uniting with 
the Methodist Episcopal Church at Old Mystic. 
Dr. Manning was also very prominent socially for 
many years. The best people gave him their confi- 
dence and warmest friendship, and none were more 
esteemed, and none occupied a higher position in 
their regard. He was ever modest and unpreten- 
tious, and a man of sterling character, upright, hon- 
orable and possessed of great sympathy and kind- 
ness of heart for all with whom he came into contact, 
and especially for those in need. Morally, he was 
an example to the rising generation. His death 
occurred Feb. 10, 1883, and he was buried in Elm 
Grove cemetery at Mystic. 

(VIII) Francis Mason Manning was educated in 
Old Mystic, the Connecticut Literary Institute, Suf- 
field, which he attended in 1839, and the East Green- 
wich Academy of Rhode Island. He learned the 
trade of a druggist at Norwich, Conn., under Col. 
John L. Devotion, where he remained two years, 
and then in 1846, he embarked in the drug busi- 
ness in Mystic, and later building the store where 
Wheeler's drug store is now located. He continued 
there until 1880, when he disposed of it to Mr. 
"\\ "heeler. He became director of the Mystic River 
National Bank, later being chosen its president, in 
which capacity he still serves. He has also been 
deeply interested in the grain business with his son. 
He is - one of the substantial citizens of his town, 
and in addition to his other interests, he is presi- 
dent of the Elm Grove Cemetery Association ; pres- 
ident of the Mystic Oral School, trustee of the 
Mystic & Noank Library, and has always taken an 
active part in every measure calculated to prove 
beneficial to the town. 

On Dec. 8, 1847, Mr. Manning was married. 



at Old Mystic, to Ann E. Williams, daughter of 
Eleazer and Nancy (Avery) Williams. The only 
child born of this happy marriage was John Leeds. 

(IX) John Leeds Manning was born at Old 
Mystic Sept. 15, 1848. He engaged in the grain 
business at Mystic, and has continued in the same 
for many years, his father later becoming associated 
with him. Their firm is one of the prominent and 
most reliable in the town. 

Mr. John Leeds Manning married Julia 
Wheeler, daughter of Joseph Wheeler. Their one 
child is 

(X) Mason Manning, born Jan. 29, 1883. 

ERASTUS D. MINER. The surname of the 
Miner family originated in England in the 14th 
century, and the descendants of the present day can 
trace their lineage in direct and unbroken line as far 
back as the days of King Edward III. 

While preparing for war with France, King Ed- 
ward made a royal progress through Somerset and 
arriving at Mendippe Hill, found a man there named 
Bullman, who by extraordinary efforts had suc- 
cessfully gathered a company of 100 powerful vol- 
unteers for the King's service. In recognition of 
this patriotic loyalty and devotion to the cause, the 
King granted him a coat of arms with the name of 
Henry Miner thereon. This (I) Henry Miner died 
in 1359, leaving four sons, Henry, Edward, Thomas 
and George. 

(II) Henry Miner (2) married Henrietta Hick. 

(III) William Miner married a Miss Greeley. 

(IV) Lodowick Miner married Anna Dyer. 

(V) Thomas Miner married Bridget Hervie. 

(VI) William Miner married Isabella Harcope. 

(VII) Clement Miner married Sarah Pope. 

(VIII) Thomas Miner, born April 23, 1608, 
married April 2^, 1634, Grace, daughter of Walter 
Palmer, in Charlestown, Mass. He served in the 
Indian wars of the Colonial days. 

(IX) Ephraim Miner, baptized May I, 1642, 
was married, June 20, 1666, to Hannah Avery. He 
was a soldier in the war against King Philip, the In- 
dian chieftain. His remains were buried at Taug- 
wonk. 

(X) James Miner, born in November, 1682, 
married Abigail Eldredge, Feb. 22, 1705. 

(XI) Charles Miner, born Nov. 15, 1709, was 
married Dec. 9, 1740, to Mary, widow of Isaac 
Wheeler and sister of Paul Wheeler. 

(XII) Christopher Miner, born March 16, 1745, 
married Aug. 17, 1765, Mary Randall, daughter of 
Lieut. John and Dorothy (Cottrell) Randall. 

(XIII) Elias Miner, born March 4, 1775, mar- 
ried (first) Phcebe Brown and (second) Betsey 
Brown. His children were : Christopher ; Thomas ; 
Mary, wife of Benjamin Spaulding ; Phcebe, who 
married (first) James Wheeler and (second) Clark 
Davis; Alfred, born March 14, 1809, who married 
Minerva Niles : Latham, March 4, 1814, who mar- 
ried (first) Lydia Dodge and (second) Maria John- 



no 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



son ; Almira, wife of Rev. I. B. Maryott ; Elias, Nov. 
23, 1825, who married Clarissa Miner; Erastus Den- 
ison, Dec. 16, 1829, who married Jane Breed; and 
Martha, wife of Noyes Chapman. 

(XIV) Erastus Denison Miner was born in 
1829, in Taugwonk Valley, Stonington, and lived 
on the home farm until he was twenty-four years 
old, when he moved near Avondale, R. I., and en- 
gaged there in farming for four years. In 1857 he 
bought his present farm in Stonington, the Ichabod 
Dickerson place, and later bought the Noyes farm, 
adjoining, having in all about 95 acres, upon which 
he has been actively and successfully engaged in 
agricultural pursuits. 

On Aug. 15, 1852, Mr. Miner married Jane P. 
Breed, who was born Nov. 15, 1831. The follow- 
ing children blessed this union : ( 1 ) Herman E., 
married (first) Fanny Gavitt and (second) Fanny 
Wilcox. He lives on a part of the Noyes farm, 
which he bought Aug. 9, 1882. (2) Sarah J. mar- 
ried Herman C. Brown, and has five children, 
Ethel, Howard, Lewis, Emma and Wilson. They 
reside in Stonington, within two miles of the Miner 
homestead. (3) Mary E. is the wife of Frank Wil- 
cox, and resides on the home farm where she was 
born. (4) Annie E. married John Seymour, and 
they live in a comfortable home in Pawcatuck, built 
in 1898. Erastus D. Miner early in life became a 
professor of religion, and has throughout his long 
life taken a deep and active part in all religious 
work, and for nearly forty years has been deacon of 
the Broad Street Christian Church in Westerly, 
R. I., and of this same church, his son, Herman E. 
was chosen deacon in 1902. 

ELIJAH A. MORGAN, of old Mystic, who 
passed away May 6, 1904, was a descendant in the 
seventh generation from James Morgan, the founder 
of the family in America. 

(I) James Morgan, the emigrant, was born in 
1607, in Wales, and came to America, being made a 
freeman at Roxbury, Mass., May 10, 1645. ^ n l ^S° 
he had lands granted him in Fequot, now New Lon- 
don, was selectman there, and deputy to the General 
Court ten terms. On Dec. 25, 1656, he sold his 
property in Pequot, and moved across the river near 
what is now Poquonnock. He served in the Colon- 
ial wars. On Aug. 6, 1640, he married Margery 
Hill, of Roxbury, and died in 1685. 

(II) James Morgan, son of James, was born 
March 3, 1644, and married, Nov. 3, 1666, Mary 
Vine, of England. 

(III) William Morgan, son of James (2), born 
March 4, 1669, married, July 17, 1696, Margaret 
Avery. 

(IV) Solomon Morgan, son of W T illiam, born 
Oct. 5, 1708, married, July 1, 1742. Mary Walworth. 

(V) Nathan Morgan, son of Solomon, born Jan. 
2, 1752, married, Sept. 8, 1774, Hannah Perkins. 

(VI) Elijah Bailey Morgan was born March I, 
1809, at Groton Bank. In early youth he went to 



sea, serving as a ship's boy, and in 1843 was captain 
of the ship "Herald," of Stonington. He was con- 
cerned wholly with whaling vessels, being mate 
with Capt. George Brewster, of Stonington, and a 
sailor with Capt. Billings Burtch. During the gold 
excitement of 1849-51 he was in California. He died 
suddenly, of heart disease, while in command of 
the ship "Contest," of New Bedford, in 1861, off 
the coast of Brazil. On March 6, 1832, he married 
Mary Ann Perkins, who died in 1841, leaving one 
son, Elijah A., born Aug. 11, 1836. His second mar- 
riage was to Jane M., daughter of Rev. John G. 
Wightman, and they had children : John C, of New 
Lisbon, Wis. ; Anna, wife of Charles Chapman, of 
Center Groton, Conn. ; Myron, a policeman of Nor- 
wich, Conn. ; George R., deceased ; and Emma, wife 
of Edgar Crumb, also deceased. Mr. Morgan rep- 
resented Groton in the State Legislature. Early in 
his political career he was a Democrat, but later a 
Republican. 

Elijah A. Morgan, whose name introduces this 
sketch, spent his boyhood days in Center Groton, 
where he was born, and obtained his education in the 
public schools. At the age of fourteen years he ac- 
companied his father on a two-years voyage to 
Desolation Island, afterward named Kerguelen 
Island, discovered by Capt. Cook. Mr. Morgan then 
passed one year at the Connecticut Literary Insti- 
tute, at Suffield, Conn., and for a few months was in 
business at the Fulton Market, New York. In 1854 
he came to Old Mystic to close out a stock of goods, 
and during the next eight years kept a store there. 
In i860 he embarked in the ice business, which he 
followed for over forty years, when, on account of 
ill health, he sold the business to John W. McDon- 
ald. In 1873 Mr. Morgan erected one of the finest 
dwellings in Old Mystic, in which he continued to 
reside until his death, one of the most esteemed 
citizens. He was prominently identified with public 
affairs, serving as selectman of the town of Stoning- 
ton in 1877, 1878, 1880 and 1881, and in the latter 
years represented Stonington in the State Legisla- 
ture, doing good service as a member of the com- 
mittee on Roads and Bridges. For six years he was 
county commissioner, and the records of his incum- 
bency show that he was a useful official, careful and 
diligent in protecting the interests of the public. 

In 1858 Mr. Morgan was united in marriage with 
Mary F. Davis, daughter of Capt. Daniel and Mary 
(Heath) Davis. She died in 1886, the surviving 
children being: Elijah D., who is in the ice business 
at Hartford, Conn.; and Fannie M., who married 
John E. Hart, president of the Elroy (Wis.) Bank, 
and has had three children, Jeannette, Raymond and 
Edmund. In 1888 Mr. Morgan married (second) 
Sarah Lawton, of Newport, R. I., and they had one 
son, Earle, now a resident of Elroy, Wis. Frater- 
nally Mr. Morgan was a Mason, affiliated with 
Charity and Relief Lodge, No. 72, F. & A. M., of 
Mystic. For many years he was a member of Old 
Mystic Methodist "Church. Known throughout the 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



1 1 1 



State as a man of honesty and integrity, he was 
genuinely respected, while his genial, social nature 
won him many friends. 

M ORRIS W. BACON, of New London, now 
retired from business, has engaged in many enter- 
prises which have left lasting monuments along 
the road of progress in this city, and he has also 
won renown in the world of sport, both through his 
horses and his yachts — one of his yachts a few years 
since, being a cup winner at New York City. 

( I ) The Bacon family was founded in New Eng- 
land by Nathaniel Bacon, one of the original pro- 
prietors of Mattabassett, now Middletown, Conn., 
who was born in 1630, in the Parish of Stratton, 
Rutlandshire, England, and who came to America 
about 1649. I 11 tne fall of 1650 he settled in Middle- 
town, Conn. He was twice married, first to Ann 
Miller, who became the mother of all his children. 
Nathaniel Bacon died Jan. 27, 1705. 

(II) John Bacon (known as "Elder John") son 
of the above, born March 14, 1662, in Middletown, 
married Sarah Whetmore, and for his second wife 
wedded Mary, widow of Jacob Cornwall, and daugh- 
ter of Ensign Nathaniel White. "Elder" John died 
November 4, 1732. 

(III) Lieut. John Bacon (son of "Elder" John), 
born Jan. 30, 1695, in Middletown, Conn., married 
Sarah White, of Upper Houses. He died Aug. 8, 
1781. 

(IV) John Bacon (son of Lieut. John and the 
^reat-great-grandfather of Morris W. Bacon), born 

April 21, 1723, in Middletown, settled in Westfield, 
Conn. On March I, 1748, he married Rhoda Gould, 
daughter of John and Mabel Gould, of Cromwell, 
and children as follows came to them : ( 1 ) Thomas 
Gould, born May 9, 1749, removed to Susquehanna, 
Pa., and died there leaving a large estate. (2) John, 
(great-grandfather of Morris W.), born Jan. 22, 
1 75 1, is fully mentioned farther on. (3) Ebenezer, 
born Aug. 4, 1755, removed to Cohoes, N. Y., mar- 
ried there when well advanced in life, and had a 
family. (4) Rhoda, born July 12, 1757, married 
Josiah Churchill. (5) Sarah, born in 1760, died in 
infancy. (6) Sarah (2), born Jan. 29, 1765, also 
died in infancy. John Bacon's second wife was 
Molly Ely, of Lyme, Conn., who bore him one child, 
Mollie, born in 1768; she married Seth Wilcox, and 
had four children. 

(V) John Bacon (great-grandfather of Morris 
W. Bacon), born Jan. 22, 1751, in what is now Mid- 
dlefield, Conn., settled on the homestead as a farmer. 
He was twice married, first, on Dec. 28, 1774, to 
Grace Griswold, of Wallingford, and to this union 
came children as follows: (1) Rhoda, born Nov. 5, 
1775, married Joel Miller, .Feb. 11, 1796. (2) Sarah, 
born Nov. 19, 1777, married Joseph Clark, Jan. 30, 
1800. (3) John (grandfather of Morris W. Bacon), 
born Dec. 15, 1779, is fully spoken of farther on. 
(4) Anne was born March II, 1781. (5) Daniel was 
born July 28, 1783. (6) Matthew, born Sept. 9, 



1785, located in Middletown, later settling in 
Lyme, Conn. (7) Joseph, born June 28, 1787, 
removed to South Carolina. (8) Jonathan born 
May 10, 1789, removed to the Black river 
country, New York State. The mother of these 
died Sept. 30, 1797 ; and on Jan. 4, 1798, John Bacon 
married Olive Atkins, daughter of Joel and Mary 
Atkins. By this marriage there were no children. 
John Bacon died Sept. 17, 1804. 

(VI) John Bacon, born Dec. 15, 1779, in Mid- 
dlefield, Middlesex county, managed a farm and 
kept a hotel in his native town. At one time he was 
considered wealthy, but through indorsing papers 
for a friend he lost some $15,000, and at his death 
Dec. 6, 1859, he had little to leave his family. His 
homestead, however, is still in the possession of the 
family. On Jan. 27, 1803, John Bacon was married 
to Amy Coe, who bore him five children, as follows : 
(1) Curtiss, born April 17, 1804, married Ann Stow, 
and died July 7, 1883. (2) William is mentioned 
below. (3) John L. was for a time associated with 
his brother William in the hotel business, removed 
to Middletown, and died there. (4) Lucy, twin to 
John L., married Oliver L. Foster, and resided in 
Westfield. Their only child wars Amy A., who mar- 
ried Henry Wetherell, and had a son Frank W., 
who was in business in New London, until his death 
in 1904. In 1872 she married Joel Guy, of Meriden, 
and is now his widow, residing in Middlefield, Conn., 
and (5) George W. married Phoebe Birdsey, and 
lived in Middlefield. Mrs. Amy (Coe) Bacon, a 
noble woman, strong in the Methodist faith, died 
Oct. 30, 1865, when over eighty years old. She 
was a daughter of Nathan and Abigail (Parsons) 
Coe, and a descendant in the seventh generation 
from Robert Coe, a native of Suffolkshire, England, 
who with his wife Anna and three sons, in company 
with seventy-nine others, sailed from Ipswich in the 
ship "Francis" April 10, 1634, reaching Boston in 
June following. Robert Coe and family settled in 
Watertown, Mass. From Robert Coe, Amy (Coe) 
Bacon's lineage is through Robert Coe (2), and- 

Hannah ; John Coe and Mary Hawley ; Capt. 

Joseph Coe and Abigail Robinson ; Capt. David Coe 
and Hannah Camp ; and Nathan Coe and Abigail 
Parsons. 

(VII) William Bacon, son of John, was 
born in Middlefield, July 20, 1805. His first 
venture toward making his own way was 
in partnership with his brother Curtiss. They 
purchased a farm of 100 acres for $1,200, 
giving a mortgage for the purchase price. Energetic 
and capable, the young men soon paid for the farm. 
On April 18, 1839, William Bacon took charge of 
the "Bacon Hotel" in New London, which was 
owned by his uncle, Matthew. In this sphere of ac- 
tion he was very successful, and became very popu- 
lar. His kind hearted and ready sympathy never 
permitted him to turn any one away hungry because 
he had no money : yet he himself asked no favors, 
always paying one hundred cents on the dollar. He 



112 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



died in Lyme, Conn., May 28, 1882, aged seventy- 
seven, and he is survived by his second wife, form- 
erly Anna M. Lay, of Lyme, and now living in that 
town. On April 21, 1828, William Bacon wedded 
his first wife Elmira Johnson, one of the six chil- 
dren of Asa and Molly (Ward) Johnson, of Middle- 
field, whose other children were : Timothy, of 
Charleston, S. C. ; Harriet, who married Amos Coe ; 
Levin, who married Louisa Brainard ; Mary, who 
married John Couch ; and Ellen, who married 
Henry Tilton. Asa Johnson died in early manhood, 
but his wife lived to be seventy years of age, pass- 
ing away in 1846. Mrs. Elmira (Johnson) Bacon 
died July 22, 1866, aged fifty-nine years, the young- 
est of her family to pass away. She had two chil- 
dren, Morris W., of New London ; and Watson Coe, 
who died the day he was nine months old. 

Morris W. Bacon was born Oct. 11, 1830, on the 
100-acre farm purchased by his father and his uncle 
Curtiss in Middlefield. He acquired his primary 
education in the district school in that neighborhood, 
and completed his studies in the public schools of 
New London. At the age of fifteen years he went 
to work, engaging as a clerk for Cady & Xewcomb, 
with whom he remained three years, his salary being 
raised as his services became valuable. On Nov. 22, 
1849, he assumed the duties of passenger clerk on 
the steamer "Connecticut," remaining in the employ 
of the steamboat company until 1874. Between 
1855 and 1872 he was also a member of the jewelry 
firm of Gordon & Bacon, whose place of business 
was at the corner of Main and State streets, New 
London. 

Mr. Bacon was engaged in some important trans- 
actions in real estate that have caused a marked 
improvement in property in New London. He 
erected a handsome marble block on State street 
containing spacious stores and a hall, and for ten 
years prior to 1890 he managed a billiard room in 
this block, which was one of the finest in this part 
of the country. The room was eighteen feet in 
height, and 62 x 41 feet in dimensions, and not a 
post broke the harmony of the space. It was fitted 
with seven billiard tables. Mr. Bacon purchased a 
handsome residence property on State street in 
1876, and building a fine barn, bought a number of 
thorough-bred horses. Some noted animals were 
bred on this place, and at one time he was the owner 
of twenty-one. He brought out "William H. Allen" 
and "Mary A. Whitney," and others known to the 
racing world. This State street property he sold in 
December, 1895, disposing of his horses at the same 
time. Mr. Frank A. Munsey, who was induced by 
Mr. Bacon to come to New London, purchased the 
estate for $30,000 and erected what is now the 
Mohican Hotel and apartments building. Mr. Ba- 
con's identification with real estate matters in New 
London has resulted in the building of some of the 
city's finest homes, and invariably improvements of 
the highest class. 

Prior to 1877 Mr. Bacon was actively inter- 



ested in yachting, owning a number of boats, some 
of which he had built. He was licensed as a captain 
while he was in the employ of the steamboat com- 
pany, and he always sailed his own boats, being his 
own pilot. In 1859, with the sloop yacht "Rowena" 
he won the cup in the New York Yacht Club 
regatta, for several years being a member of that 
famous club. For some years he was manager of 
the Pequot and Ocean Transit Company. 

On Oct. 11, 1853, Mr! Bacon was married to 
Jane E. Gordon, daughter of Abram and Betsey 
(Gorham) Gordon, of New London; she died July 
19, 1 89 1, leaving two children, Charles G. and 
Lizzie J. 

Charles G., who was educated at Exeter, N. H., 
died Feb. 22, 1901, in New London, and Lizzie J., 
who was educated at Auburndale, Mass., and is an 
accomplished artist, married Henry M. Whittemore, 
of New York, now of New London. 

Mr. Bacon contracted a second marriage, Oct. 
3, 1892, Jane D. Carroll, daughter of the late Will- 
iam Carroll, of this city, becoming his wife. William 
Carroll, who was extensively engaged in teaming, 
died in 1882, leaving a widow, Mrs. Ellen Carroll,. 
and two daughters, Martha and Jane D., all resi- 
dents of New London. In politics Mr. Bacon is 
nominally a Democrat, but he reserves the privi- 
lege of voting for the candidate he deems best fitted 
for the office. He has refused all offers of public 
preferment. He attends the First Congregational 
Church of New London. 

GEORGE BURBANK RIPLEY, whose death 
occurred at his home in Norwich, July 9, 1858, was 
close to the hearts of the people of that community : 
"no man was better known among them, or more 
beloved." 

A native of the town, a son of Major Dwight 
Ripley, who for nearly half a century was a promi- 
nent merchant in Norwich, and his wife Eliza 
(Coit) Ripley, the daughter of Capt. William Coit, 
captain of militia in the Revolution, Mr. Ripley 
came on both sides from the first families of the 
town. He was a direct descendant from Gov. Wil- 
liam Bradford, of the "Mayflower." In the paternal 
line he was a descendant in the seventh generation 
from William Ripley, the emigrant ancestor of the 
family, from whom his lineage is through John, 
Joshua, Joshua (2), Ebenezer and Major Dwight 
Ripley. 

(I) W'illiam Ripley, with his wife, two sons 
and two daughters, came from England in 1638, 
and settled in Hingham, Mass. He was admitted 
a freeman May 18, 1642. On Sept. 29, 1654, he 
married (second) Elizabeth, widow of Thomas 
Thaxter. He died July 20, 1656. His widow mar- 
ried John Dwight, of Dedham, and died July 17, 
1660. His children, all born in England, were: 
John, Abraham, Sarah, and a daughter whose name 
is not known, 

(II) John Ripley, who was born in England, 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ii3 



died in 1684. He married Elizabeth Hobart. 
daughter of Rev. Peter Hobart, first pastor of the 
Church at Hingham. Mass. Their children were: 
John. Joshua. Jeremiah and Peter. 

(III) Joshua Ripley, born May 9. 1658, died 
May 18, 1730- He married Nov. 28, 1682. Hannah 
Bradford, born May 9, 1662. who died May 28, 
1738. She was a daughter of William Bradford, 
Jr., deputy-governor of Plymouth Colony, and 
granddaughter of Gov. William Bradford, of the 
"Mayflower. "' 1620. Mr. and Mrs. Ripley settled 
first in Hingham. Mass., removed to Norwich, 
Conn., Oct. 10, 1688, and to Windham, March 23, 
1691. He was chosen clerk and treasurer of Wind- 
ham at the first town meeting, June II, 1692, and he 
also served as a justice of the peace. Their children 
were: Alice, born Sept. 17. 1683: Hannah, March 
2. 1685: Faith. Sept. 20. 1686; Joshua, May 13, 
1688: Margaret. Nov. 4, 1690: Rachel and Leah, 
(twins), April 17. 1693: Hezekiah, June 10, 1695; 
David. May 20, 1697; Irene, Aug. 28, 1700; and 
Jerusha and Ann, Nov. 1. 1704. As far as can be 
traced this is the inscription on the stone at the 
grave of Joshua Ripley in the old Windham Cem- 
etery : "Here lies peacefullv interred the body of 
Joshua Ripley. Escp. one of His Most Worshipful 
Majesty's Justices of the Peace, for the County of 
Windham." The town record says he died May 
8, 1739. The inscription on his wife's tombstone is 
more easily traced — "Here lies interred the body 
of that most worthy, and virtuous, and most inge- 
nious gentlewoman, Mrs. Hannah B. Ripley, the 
well beloved consort of Joshua Ripley, who after 
she had led a most lovely and eventful life, fell 
asleep in Jesus. May 28, 1738, in ye 76th year of 
her age." 

(IV) Joshua Ripley, born May 13, 1688, mar- 
ried Dec. 3, 171 2. Mary Backus, daughter of John 
and Mary (Bingham) Backus, of Windham, Conn. 
Mr. Ripley died Nov. 18, 1773. Their children 
were: Mary, born Nov. 18, 1714: Phineas, Nov. 
21, 1716; Hannah, Jan. 12, 1 7 1 9 : Nathaniel, June 
30, 1721 ; Elizabeth. Nov. 4. 1724: Joshua, Oct. 30, 
1726: Ebenezer, June 22, 1720: William, Feb. 12, 
1734: and John, March 31. 173S. 

(V) Ebenezer Ripley, born June 22, 172c). mar- 
ried June II, 1752. Mehetabel Burbank. He died 
June 11, 1811, and she passed away May 20. 1813, 
aged eighty-four, at Windham. Conn. Their chil- 
dren were: Hannah, born April 28, 1753 (died 
Feb. 16, 1803); Eleanor, Aug. 16, 1754: Jerusha, 
May 28, 1756: Juliana, July 31, 1757: Justin, Jan. 
I, 175*): Abraham. Feb. 2^,, 1761 ; Abiah, Dec. 12. 
1702 : Dwight. Aug. 7, 1764; Ebenezer, March 26, 
1766; Thaddeus, Oct. 22. 1767; Anna, June 20, 
1770. and Horace, Aug. 20. 1772. 

(VI) Major Dwight Ripley, born Aug. 7, 1764, 
married Feb. 24, 1796, Eliza Coit, of Norwich. 
Conn., daughter of Capt. William Coit. Major 
Ripley died Nov. 18, 1835, in Norwich, and his wife 
passed away July 30, 1846. Their children were: 

8 



Martha, born March 15. 1797; Eliza C. April 3, 
1798; William D.. Sept. 2. 1799; George B., March 
13, 1801 ; Lucy C. Jan. 11, 1803; Joseph, Aug. 17, 
1804; James L., March 18, 1806; Eliza? March 22. 
1808 (married Hon. William A. Buckingham, gov- 
ernor and United States Senator); Harriet, April 
7. 1810: Daniel C, July 8, 1812 (died in Washing- 
ton, D. C. ( )ct. 2-, 1893) ; and Jane, May 16, 1815 
(died in Norwich Dec. I, 1891). 

Major Ripley removed to Norwich, Conn., 
where he became associated in the drug business 
with Benjamin Dyer, the firm Dyer & Ripley ap- 
pearing first in 1793. This partnership was not of 
long duration, the firm title changing to Ripley & 
Waldo, and the goods sold were drugs, dry goods 
and groceries ; and this was the first firm in Norwich 
to start in a wholesale trade. Major Ripley was a 
druggist and merchant in Norwich for forty-five 
years, while his residence for forty years was in 
the house on Broadway previously occupied by 
Joseph Howland, who removed to New York, he' 
and his sons becoming prominent merchants in 
the metropolis. The mansion is now gone, and the 
Y. M. C. A. building stands on the site of the old 
homestead. Major Ripley was a man of great force 
of character, and early Norwich owed much to his 
determined efforts in its behalf. His wife was a 
woman of singular sweetness and gentleness, which 
characteristics found full play in the bringing up of 
her eleven children. 

George Burbank Ripley, son of Major Dwight 
and the subject of this article, was born March 13, 
1801, in Norwich, and there married, Oct. i»;, 
1825, Hannah Gardiner Lathrop, who was born 
March 9, 180Y a daughter of Thomas and Han- 
nah (Bill) Lathrop. of Norwich. The marriage 
was blessed with children as follows: William L.. 
born April 30, 1827: Dwight, June 8. 1829 ; Hannah 
L., Nov. 4, 1830: Harriet, Sept. 6, 1832; James 
Dickenson, Nov. 14, 1837 ; George (Ait. Aug. 24, 
1839; and Emily Lathrop. June 15. 1841. 

George 1'.. Ripley was graduated from Yale Col- 
lege in 1822, and among his classmates were Will- 
iam H. Law and John A. Rockwell, both of whom 
were from Norwich, and subsequently rose to dis- 
tinction at the Bar of New London County ; and also 
William L. Lathrop, of Norwich, who died before 
entering the legal profession. Young Ripley was a 
student of law in the office of Judge Swift, at Wind- 
ham, Conn., until the latter's death, in 1823, and 
thereafter he continued and completed his studies 
under the direction of Judge Staples, at New 
Haven. He was admitted to the Bar and entered 
the legal profession in 1824. but a natural fondness 
for agricultural pursuits soon allured him from the 
law, and he became a farmer. He was a man of 
high literary and scientific attainments. o\ elevated 
and religious character, and of unusual urbanity of 
manner and warmth of heart. He was chosen to 
various municipal offices by his fellow townsmen. 
and. it is needless to say, performed their duties 






II 1 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



with intelligence and efficiency. For a number of 
years between 1850 and the time of his death he was 
judge of probate for the Norwich district. His 
rare wit and charm in conversation made him the 
center of a large circle of admiring friends. 

.Mrs. Hannah Gardiner (Lathrop) Ripley lived 
to the age of ninety-one. '"with keen appreciation 
of all about her. in nature, in art, and society, love 
of the beautiful and good, with ready sympathy and 
large hospitality," and with deep love for her church 
and its work at home and in mission fields. She died 



Sept. 17. [897. She was descended in the paternal 



line from 

Rev. John Lathrop. who came from England to 
Scituate. Mass.. in 1634, her lineage from him be- 
ing through Samuel. Samuel (2). Thomas. Joshua 
and Thomas Lathrop. and in the maternal line she 
descended from John Bill, through Philip, Sam- 
uel. Samuel (2), Ephraim and Hannah (Bill). 

Thomas Lathrop, the father of Airs. Ripley, was 
born, reared and died in Norwich, 'die well sus- 
tained the social position to which he was born. He 
was especially held in remembrance as one who 
used his large wealth generously for the deserving 
poor, and as exhibiting to his generation a noble 
specimen of the old-time gentleman.'" He passed 
away Dec. 28, 1817. and his widow lived to be 
ninety-two years of age. passing away Jan. 28, 
[862. Mrs. Lathrop was said (by .Mrs. Sigourney) 
to be the most beautiful woman, who, in the old 
times, ever entered the Uptown Meeting House. 
Her faculties remained clear to the end of her long 
life, and her Christian faith never faltered. 

Following is a brief record of the children of 
George B. and Hannah Gardiner (Lathrop) Rip- 
ley: 

William Lathrop Ripley, born April 30, 1827. 
was a merchant in Michigan. During the Civil war 
he was in the commissary department, holding the 
rank of major in a Michigan regiment. In 1854 he 
married Jerusha Gilchrist, and they had three chil- 
dren: Mary Lathrop, born Jan. 15. 1855 (died April 
23. 1874); George Bradford, Feb. 10. 1857; and 
Charles D wight, Feb. 2$, 1858. The sons reside in 
Minnesota. William Lathrop Ripley died at Sauga- 
tuck. Mich., April 8. 1878. 

Dwight Ripley, born June 8. 1829. was a mer- 
chant in New York, as a member of the firm of 
Crane. Hamilton & Ripley. He was in the South 
when the Civil war began, and became a major in 
the C. S. A., on duty in Texas and Mexico. After 
the war he was a member of the firm of Melius, 
Trask & Ripley, in New York City. He married 
July <,i. 1873, in Loudoun county, Va., Eliza Chinn 
McHatton, and they have one daughter, Elise, born 
in New York May 2^. 1874, who on April 5, 1902, 
married Joseph Ripley Noyes, and has one daughter, 
Katherine, born Dec. 15, 1902. 

Hannah Lathrop Ripley, born Nov. 4. 1830, re- 
sides in the old homestead at Norwich. Connecticut. 

Harriet Ripley, born Sept. 6, 1832, by profession 



an artist, resides at the old homestead. Norwich, 
Connecticut. 

James Dickenson Ripley, born Nov. 14, 1837. 
was acting assistant surgeon of the 18th Connecticut 
regiment during the Civil war, in which he served 
three years. At the commencement of his services 
he was a medical student, and he served as hospital 
steward before he became assistant surgeon. He 
lost his life in the burning of the steamer "Common- 
wealth.'' at Groton, Conn.. Dec. 29, 1865. 

( leorge Coit Ripley, born Aug. 24. 1839, grad- 
uated from Yale College in 1862. He enlisted in the 
10th Connecticut Regiment, was appointed aid to 
( ien. ( ). S. Terry, and was on his staff until the 
close of the war. On Nov. 14. 1867. at Harrisburg, 
Pa., he married Lizzie Mann. They had two chil- 
dren : Faith, born Aug. 10, 1869, was married at 
Buenos Ayres, Argentina. S. A., Sept. 10, 1900. to 
Howard E. Atterbury; Eleanor Ihicher. born Eel). 
8. 1872. died at Colorado Springs, Colo., May 2, 
[893. George Coit Ripley is a lawyer in Minne- 
apolis in the firm of Ripley & Lum. 

Emily Lathrop Ripley, born June 15. 1841, mar- 
ried May 23. 1871, Charles Avery Collin, Yale, 
[866, law professor at Cornell for seven years, now 
a lawyer in Xew York City, of the firm of Shehan 
& Collin. Mr. and Mrs. Collin have had two chil- 
dren: ( 1 ) Dwight Ripley, born Jan. 26, 1873. edu- 
cated at Cornell, is an architect for the Brooklyn 
Rapid Transit Co. in Brooklyn, X. Y. : he was mar- 
ried at Buffalo, X. Y., Oct. 16, 1901, to Julia Town- 
send Coit. and they have one son. Charles Avery, 
Jr., born Aug. 10, 1902. (2) Grace Lathrop. born 
March 22. 1874. Smith College, 1896. Columbia, 
[899, journalist ami author, resides in Brooklyn. 

ALBERT HI' XT CHASE, member of the well- 
known Norwich firm of Eaton, Chase & Co., whole- 
sale and retail hardware dealers, was born April 3, 
l86l, in Middletown. Middlesex Co., Conn., and 
comes of one of the oldest families in the State, be- 
ing a descendant of Aquila Chase, who came to 
America prior to 1639. 

Daniel H. Chase, LL. D„ father of Albert H.. 
was born March 8. 1814. in Hoosick. X. Y.. and 
still survives, making his home in Middletown. 
Conn., of which place he is one of the oldest resi- 
dents. He was graduated from Wesleyan Univer- 
sity in 1833. and for nearly a quarter of a century 
has been the only survivor of his class. For many 
years he conducted a select school which became 
famous as an educational institution, the Doctor 
ranking among the ablest educators in his State, if 
not in Xew England. He married Caroline E. 
Smith. 

Albert H. Chase attended the public schools of 
Middletown. and prepared for college under the 
private tuition of his father. He entered Wesleyan 
University, which he left at the beginning of the 
Junior year, however, to go to Buffalo, X. Y. In 
that city he was employed as bookkeeper by an 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ii 



elder brother engaged in business there. He re- 
mained in Buffalo four years, at the end of that 
period going to New York City, where he became 
bookkeeper in the New York office of W. & B. 
Douglas, of Middletown, with whom he continued 
until April, 1888. He then came to Norwich, and 
was connected with the hardware firm of A. W. 
Prentice & Co. for a few months, when, Mr. Pren- 
tice retiring from business, the present firm of 
Eaton, Chase & Co., was formed, in February, 1889. 
They continued in business at the old location on 
Water street, where the business was established in 
1764, until early in 1903, when they removed to their 
present quarters, at No. 129 Main street, where they 
have five floors and basement. Mr. Chase has been 
prominent in the business life of Norwich ever since 
his removal to that city. After the death of his 
father-in-law, Mr. Prentice,, he was chosen to suc- 
ceed him as a director of the First National Bank, 
and is also a director of the Richmond Stove Com- 
pany. He has taken a leading part in the progress 
of his community, and is one of the corporators of 
the Norwich Free Academy. But his attention has 
been given principally to the direction of his busi- 
ness affairs, and he has avoided public preferments 
of any kind. 

Mr. Chase was married, June 5, 1888, to Miss 
Anna E. Prentice, daughter of Hon. Amos W. and 
Harriet E. (Farker) Prentice, and four children 
have blessed this union, born as follows : Pauline, 
Jan. 24, 1891 ; Anna Prentice, Aug. 20, 1893; Amos 
Prentice, Dec. 30, 1894; Elizabeth, July 13, 1897. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Chase hold membership in the 
Broadway Congregational Church of Norwich. So- 
cially he is a member of the Alpha Delta Phi Society 
of Wesleyan College.. His political support is given 
to the Republican party. 

COURTLAND S. DARROW (deceased), one 
of New London's best known citizens, was de- 
scended from a family identified with that city for 
over two hundred years. 

(I) Sergt. George Darrow is first known of in 
New London between 1675 and 1680; he married 
Mary, the relict of George Sharswood, whose death 
occurred previous to 1678. Their children were : 
Christopher, George, Nicholas, Jane and Richard, 
all baptized between 1678 and 1704. Many of the 
descendants of Sergt. Darrow have been noted min- 
isters of the Gospel in the Baptist denomination. 
Nearly every generation has furnished one or more 
of the name who have adorned the profession. 

(II) Nicholas Darrow, baptized May 20, 1683, 
married Millicent Beeby, and probably settled in 
Waterford or New London. Their children were : 
Nicholas, Sarah, Mary, Daniel and Nathaniel. 

(III) Nicholas Darrow (2) married Mary 
Griffin. 

(IV) Nicholas Darrow (3) married Sarah 
Rogers. 

(V) Joseph Darrow rnarried Sabra Maynard, 



and they became the grandparents of Courtland S. 
Darrow. They had six children : Caroline* who 
married Nicholas Rogers, and has two children, 
Nicholas and Euretta (who died in 1868) ; Elias 
Lewis, who is mentioned below ; Charles, who mar- 
ried Amanda Hempstead, and died in June, 1899 ; 
Edward ; Catherine, born Nov. 19, 1827, who mar- 
ried William Parker, (born Oct. 23, 1827), and died 
in February, 1855 ; and James. The mother of this 
family died April 22, 1865. 

(VI) Elias Lewis Darrow, born Jan. 23, 1812, 
died in 1890. He married Mary Tinker, who was 
born Feb. 24, 1824, and five children came to bless 
their union : Courtland Shepard, born Jan. 9, 1845 ; 
Annie Williams, Sept. 1, 1848; Elias Mortimer, Feb. 
7, 1854, who married Henrietta Hodson, and had 
two children, Mortimer Suthard and Arthur ; Eu- 
gene Augustus, Sept. 1, 1855, who married Annette 
Neff; George Everet, Nov. 22, 1857, who married 
Olive Curtis, and had two children, Annie Williams 
and Viva. 

(VII) Courtland S. Darrow was born Jan. 9, 
1845, i n New London, in a house on Coit street. His 
early education was obtained in the public schools 
of New London, and he graduated from the Bartlett 
high school when he was less than fifteen years of 
age, being one of the youngest pupils who ever grad- 
uated from that school. When the Civil war broke 
out, he was full of patriotism and gladly offered him- 
self as a volunteer. His youth prevented his accept- 
ance in the service in the city, but he was determined 
to go to the front, and enlisted in Company I of the 
Seventeenth Connecticut Infantry on March 28, 
1 86 1, and served his country faithfully until he was 
mustered out on July 19, 1865. The hardships and 
exposures that he encountered as a soldier under- 
mined his health and laid the foundation for the dis- 
ease that finally caused his death. Returning from 
the war, Mr. Darrow took up his residence in New 
London again, and was variously occupied till 1876. 
For one year he tried the fishing business ; he then 
went into the revenue service for four years, and 
next was occupied in the express line, which he 
followed for sometime. It was in this business that 
he was able to save up a little and really start in 
life. His first venture was to buy out the grocery 
business of Charles Brown, which was small, and 
which in those days had a small ship chandlery bus- 
iness. He began in the building at what is now 
No. 128 Bank street, and there he laid the founda- 
tion for the success of the firm which he founded 
and of which he was the senior member during his 
lifetime, the other member being Fitch L. Comstock, 
and the firm name Darrow & Comstock. Later the 
firm bought and moved to the stone building, which 
they still occupy, and extended the business, adding 
ship hardware and a variety of other articles and 
building up a large trade. In 190 1 Mr. Comstock 
retired from the firm and the business is now car- 
ried on by the Darrow & Comstock Co. incorpor- 
ated, Mr. Darrow's son, William M. Darrow, being 



n6 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



secretary and treasurer, and Mr. Darrow's widow- 
being the president of the company. 

For the last few years the feeble condition of his 
health had compelled Mr. Darrow to avoid the rigors 
of the winter in his vicinity by going South, and he 
spent the cold months in Florida. Not only in bus- 
iness affairs had Mr. Darrow made an enviable rep- 
utation, but also as a representative of the city in the 
court of common council. He served the city well 
as a councilman and was later chosen as alderman, 
in which capacity he acted for several terms. He 
was at the head of important committees, and so 
well did he look after the interests committed to 
him that he was at one time strongly mentioned as a 
candidate for the office of mayor, and could no doubt 
have had the nomination from the Republican party 
had he wished to accept it. 

Mr. Darrow was a chartered member of YY. W. 
Perkins Post, Xo. 47, Grand Army of the Republic, 
and for many years served as post commander. In 
the councils of the Department of Connecticut he 
had taken an important part, and his interest in the 
organization was rewarded a few years since by 
his choice as senior vice-commander of the Depart- 
ment. Mr. Darrow was for many years connected 
with the Masonic fraternity, and was a member of 
Brainard Lodge, Xo. 102, F. & A. M., Xew Lon- 
don. His religious connection was with the First 
Baptist Church. 

On June 5, 1867, Mr. Darrow was married to 
Miss Sarah A. Manning, daughter of William and 
Charlotte Manning, of Xew York City. Two chil- 
dren came to them: William Manning, born Jan. 5, 
1869, married Miss Grace Crandall, by whom he had 
three children, Grace Elizabeth, Sarah Manning and 
Courtland Shepard : for his second wife he married 
Sarah Magowan. Carrie Scott, born Sept. 13. 187 1, 
is the wife of James Fowler, a contractor of Xew 
London, by whom she has had one son, Lester 
Courtland, born April 20, 1900. Mr. Darrow passed 
away Jan. 11, 1903. 

HOX. ROBERT PALMER, one of the best 
known and most successful ship builders in America, 
is a representative of an old Xew London County 
family. At Xoar.k, Conn., the residence of Robert 
Palmer, is located the plant of the Robert Palmer 
& Son Shipbuilding and Marine Railway Company, 
one of the foremost concerns in their line on the At- 
lantic coast. This immense business was founded 
nearly one hundred years ago by John Palmer, the 
father of Robert, and from the time of its incep- 
tion, three generations of this family have borne a 
most conspicuous part in its affairs. From time to 
time the firm name has undergone changes, until 
on Dec. 10, 1897, a stock company was formed, un- 
der the laws of Connecticut, with Robert Palmer, 
president ; Robert P. Wilbur, Vice-president : Robert 
Palmer, Jr., Secretary and Treasurer ; and John E. 
McDonald, Superintendent, comprising the Robert 



Palmer & Son Shipbuilding and Marine Railway 
Company. 

In the ancestral history of Robert Palmer, his 
great-grandfather, Elihu Palmer, was a native of 
Xew London county, and a resident of Ledyard in 
early life. He was a farmer by occupation, and a 
man much esteemed. He married Ruth Eldredge, 
who bore him two children, Elihu, the grandfather 
of Robert Palmer ; and Prudence, who married 
Francis Clark, of Greenport, Long Island. 

Elihu Palmer, the grandfather, was a seafaring 
man, and was lost at sea about 1789. He left a 
widow and one son John, who at the time of his fa- 
ther's death was but a child of two years. The 
widow, who was formerly Miss Ann Latham, after- 
ward married Benjamin Ashby, and bore him five 
children, viz.: Moses, Benjamin, Latham, William 
and Nancy. 

Deacon John Palmer, father of Robert Palmer, 
was born June 11, 1787, at Xoank, in the town of 
Groton. His opportunities for an education were 
found in the common schools of his time. He en- 
gaged in fishing for a few years, but early learned 
the trade of boat and shipbuilding, which he began 
at Xoank. When he started in the business for 
himself it was in a very small way, and in this man- 
ner it was continued until about 1832, when he en- 
tered into partnership with James A. Latham. They 
enlarged and extended the business somewhat, 
sometimes employing help, and often doing the work 
themselves. Along about 1836 they began building 
fishing smacks. The superior quality of their prod- 
uct soon built up quite a reputation, and the business 
steadily increased. About 1845 J onn Palmer, re- 
tired from active labor, and Mr. Latham formed a 
co-partnership with his brother John D., and upon 
the death of Mr. Palmer in 1859, his two sons, John 
and Robert, became his successors. 

John Palmer was a man of industry, persever- 
ance and activity in every direction. He was a man 
of firm personal and political convictions, a strong 
supporter of first the Whig, and later the Republican 
party, always being very outspoken. In his religious 
life he was a faithful and devoted Christian, for 
nearly forty years being a deacon in the Baptist 
Church. He was constantly interested in church 
and religious work, and was always at the service of 
the congregation, on many occasions materially as- 
sisting an over-worked pastor by holding various 
meetings for him. Stern and unyielding where 
principle was at stake, his whole life was an example 
of Christian charity. His liberality might almost 
have been called a fault, for no case of distress 
brought to his notice, was ever forgotten or disre- 
garded, worthy or unworthy. In connection with 
his deep piety and great scriptural knowledge, he 
was a wise and discreet councilor, and one of the 
pillars of the church. Probably no man in the 
Xoank Baptist Church, contemporary with him, did 
so much to advance her interests and usefulness. His 






&7> 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



117 



loving, Christian influence made itself felt, not only 
in the early development of religion in his children, 
but through the entire community, doing good good 
to many and manifesting itself a power which is yet 
of potent influence. 

Deacon John Palmer, as he was commonly 
known, was twice married, first on October 19, 
1809, to Abby, daughter of John Fish, of Groton. 
She was the mother of his children, and passed away 
Dec. 10, 1856. On Dec. 22, 1857, Deacon Palmer 
married Asenath Whittlesey, who survived him, his 
death occurring on July 16, 1859. ^ s children were 
as follows : Prudence, born in August, 1810, and 
died Oct. 11, 181 1 ; Lucy, born Oct. 14, 181 1, mar- 
ried (first) Capt. William A. Wilbur, and (second) 
Capt. Jeremiah Wilbur, a surviving son being Rob- 
ert P. Wilbur, a sketch of whom will be found else- 
where ; Abby, born Dec. 25, 1812; Mary, born Oct. 
11, 1814, married M. T. J. Sawyer; Caroline, de- 
ceased, born June 10, 1816, married M. P. Chip- 
man; John, born July 16, 1818, died Sept. 30, 1876; 
Sally, born in April, 1820, died Oct. 21, 1820; Elihu, 
born Oct. 20, 1823, died June 10, 1824; Lydia, born 
Sept. 2, 1821, married John D. Latham, deceased ; 
Robert, born May 6, 1825 ; William, born April 5, 
1827, died Feb. 28, 1881 ; and Roswell, born April 
19, 1828, died Oct. 1, 1858. 

Hon. Robert Palmer was born May 6, 1825, at 
Noank, Conn. The public schools of his native town 
which he attended until about the age of twelve 
years, afforded him his literary training. Inheriting 
a love of the sea he began going on the water when 
but ten years old. When he was thirteen, he went 
on a fishing trip to Nantucket, and for several years 
after he went on fishing trips regularly to different 
places, being for two years on a vessel commanded by 
his brother, John. 

When about nineteen years old he went to Ston- 
ington, where he began work at the trade of boat 
builder under Samuel Bottom, and later for Stiles 
West. After about one and one-half years there he 
worked for Charles P. Williams on the ship "Betsey 
Williams," then under construction. As his services 
were needed by his father in his shipyard at Noank, 
young Palmer returned home, and entered upon an 
active business life at that place, where he has con- 
tinued ever since. On the withdrawal of Mr. La- 
tham from the business, John and Robert Palmer, 
our subject and his brother, entered into a partner- 
ship, which continued until 1855, when Robert, in 
company with his cousin Daniel E. Clark, of East 
Marion, purchased the lower shipyard. After sev- 
eral years Mr. Clark sold his interest to John and 
Robert Palmer, who continued the work in both 
yards until the partnership was closed by the death 
of John, in 1876. In i860 the firm made many im- 
provements, putting in a set of marine railways, then 
the largest between New York and Boston, into the 
upper yard, the Civil war giving them an immense 
■amount of work. 

In 1879 Robert Palmer bought his brother's 



interest, at which time he made added improvements, 
putting in gigantic steam marine railways, which at 
that time were probably the largest in the world. 
The first vessel placed on them was the steamer 
"Narragansett" of the Stonington line, to rebuild 
in. the winter of 1879-80. In August, 1880, she was 
launched after having been repaired, during the 
previous two months, of damages received in col- 
lision with the "Stonington" in June, 1880. The 
growth of the business was rapid and substantial, 
and in 1880, Robert Palmer, Jr., and Simeon W. 
Ashbey became members of the firm of Robert Pal- 
mer & Sons — a firm name which was retained un- 
til supplanted by the present stock company in 1897. 
This firm conducts a large and strictly up-to-date 
general merchandise business at Noank. 

The Palmer plant has turned out more than 550 
vessels, varying in size from the ordinary fishing 
vessel to the palatial Sound steamer, and is one of 
the largest plants for wooden shipbuilding in this 
country, with a reputation second to none. Their 
work has been exclusively devoted to coasting con- 
struction, together with extensive repair work. The 
growth of the coasting service can well be followed 
in the increased dimensions of the car floats con- 
structed by this company. Formerly they were from 
160 to 180 feet long, with a capacity for eight cars ; 
while today it is a common thing to build floats 330 
feet long, having three tracks, and a capacity for 
22 cars. The size of barges, too, has been greatly 
increased, until now the popular size is one carry- 
ing 3,300 tons, with good freeboard. 

The name of Robert Palmer is a familiar one 
among shipping interests the country over, and his 
acquaintance is a most extensive one. His career 
has been most successful, not alone in the accumula- 
tion of worldly possessions, but as a citizen, and as 
an individual. The wholesome influence he has 
wielded, has been felt in his community for more 
than half a century. He enjoys to an unusual de- 
gree the marked confidence of his business and so- 
cial acquaintances ; with a keen sense of honor, a 
kindly affectionate nature, his friends are numerous. 
A consistent Christian, his active zeal has done much 
for the church and society of his locality. Since 
1839 he has been a member of the Baptist Church, 
of which he has been a deacon for over fifty years, 
and he is now serving in his fifty-ninth year, as 
superintendent of the Sabbath school. While he 
does not let it be known he is the largest contributor 
to religious and charitable work in that section of 
the country, giving away for this purpose every year 
many times more than he spends for his own living. 
His long and prominent connection with the church 
has caused him to become known as Deacon Palmer, 
and where he is best known, he is invariably referred 
to as such. 

In public affairs Mr. Palmer has never shirked 
the duty of a public spirited and progressive citizen. 
A stanch Republican, he represented the town of 
Groton in the Legislature in 1858, and again in 



n8 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



1869. He is president and chairman of the board of 
trustees of the Mystic and Xoank Library, and trus- 
tee of of the Mystic Oral School for the Deaf and 
Dumb. Notwithstanding his active and busy life, 
and though now in his eightieth year, Mr. Palmer 
is remarkably well preserved, vigorous in mind 
and body, and with a seemingly undiminished ca- 
pacity for work. 

It is doubtful if elsewhere in Connecticut will be 
found an industry so much an actual and essential 
part of a town's thrift and prosperity, as is the Pal- 
mer shipyard to Xoank, where, outside of the fish- 
ing and lobster business, it may be truly said that 
nearly every resident of the place is dependent 
upon, or in some way is connected with, this insti- 
tution. Mr. Palmer distinctly remembers the town 
when it contained but thirteen houses. 

As an individual Mr. Palmer is in many respects 
a remarkable man. During his long and active 
business career, he has taken but one vacation, 
at that time spending one week at Vineyard Haven, 
during the annual camp meeting of the Baptist 
Church. His wonderful vigor is but the reward for 
a most exemplary and temperate life. His personal 
acquaintances and many of his warmest friends 
are to be found among men of wealth, as a result of 
business relations. Often a guest at their homes or 
on board the craft of this hale, well-met class, Mr. 
Palmer has had abundant opportunity to partake of 
their lavish hospitality, which is done to the exclu- 
sion of intoxicants. In the use of tobacco he has 
been equally as abstemious. Naturally possessed of 
a strong constitution, and with boundless energy and 
a resolute purpose, he is in the best sense of the word 
a self-made man. Courage, fidelity, thrift and in- 
tegrity are the price that has been paid, and Mr. 
Palmer has settled in large and overflowing measure 
for all that favoring fate or fortune has brought him 
in the gold of character. 

On Oct. 15, 1845. ^ r - Palmer married Harriet 
Rogers, daughter of Deacon Ebenezer and Grace 
(Gallup) Rogers, and granddaughter of Gurdon 
Gallup. Of their children, Robert died in infancy ; 
Harriet died aged three years ; Jane is the widow of 
Benjamin Humphrey, of Noank, and has one daugh- 
ter, Jessie; Harriet married (first) Henry Knapp, 
had one child, Grace, and (second) Rev. William L. 
Swan, of Westerly, R. I. : Robert, Jr. ; and Jessie, 
who died at the age of five years. The married life 
of Mr. Palmer has been a most congenial one. For- 
tunate in his selection of a wife, his abundant suc- 
cess can in no small degree be attributed to her faith- 
ful co-operation, his industry being fully equalled by 
her thrift and providence. Now in their sixtieth 
year of married life it is notable that Mrs. Palmer 
is physically able to attend personally to the care 
of their elegant home, and this to her is one of her 
greatest pleasures. 

Robert Palmer, Jr., was born Feb. 15, 1856, 
and he received his education in the schools at 
Noank and Mystic, and at Scholfield's Business Col- 



lege, at Providence, R. I., finishing the latter at the 
age of twenty-one. He entered his father's employ,. 
and has thoroughly familiarized himself with every 
branch of the business. In 1877 he was admitted to 
partnership, the firm name being Robert Palmer & 
Son, which was afterward changed to Robert Pal- 
mer & Sons. On Dec. 10, 1897, when a stock com- 
pany was formed, Mr. Palmer became the secretary 
and treasurer, and has proved himself a most im- 
portant factor in the progress of the Palmer ship- 
yard. He has shown himself a genius as a ship- 
wright, and under his direction the Company has 
built several fast boats of unique design, which have 
carried off a number of regatta prizes. 

The 'Trma." built in 1894, and owned by Fred 
Allen of Galveston, Texas, was one of the first of 
these prize winners, showing remarkable adaptabil- 
ity for racing in both the calm waters of the Bay,, 
and the rough waters of the Gulf. She was thrice 
a prize winner, and became known as the "Queen 
of the Gulf." 

The "Novice," built a year later, strictly of or- 
iginal design, a sail boat 27 feet long and 10 feet 
wide, proved a wonder, easily distancing all class 
boats, and taking the prize over all the noted boats 
and yachts in Southern waters. She was of the 
skimming dish type with an overhanging end, and a 
center-board. 

The "Jennie,'' a steam yacht 33 feet long. 8 feet 
beam, attracted much attention among yachtsmen 
along the Atlantic coast. 

The "Gleam," a 24-foot cat boat, but eligible to 
the 20- foot class, was built in 1895, and won three 
of a series of races at Bushby Point, July 11, 25, and 
31, 1896. 

In March, 1881, Mr. Palmer married Miss Eliza- 
beth L. Murphy, of Noank, daughter of Charles and 
Nancy Murphy. Their only child, Bernard Led- 
yard. died March 5, 1885, aged two years and eleven 
months. Like his distinguished father, Robert Pal- 
mer, Jr., has long been an interested participant in the 
political life of his locality, a representative and 
influential member of the Republican party. The 
same high standard of citizenship that has so long 
characterized the Palmer family at Noank, is 
found in him. In 1886 he represented the town in 
the Connecticut Legislature, serving on the commit- 
tee on Appropriations. He is a prominent member 
and liberal supporter of the Baptist Church. 

CAPT. LABAN RUSSELL JEWETT, who for 
more than half a century was identified with the 
business interests of Norwich, and who for many 
years commanded vessels bound to all ports of the 
globe, was born in the town of Lisbon. New London 
county, April 12, 1833, a descendant of one of the 
oldest families in the county. 

The Jewett family in Connecticut comes from 
English stock and the first emigrant to the New 
World was a son of Edward Jewett. of Bradford,. 
Yorkshire. In 1634. this Edward married Mary„ 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



119 



daughter of William Taylor, also of Bradford, and 
in February, 1615, died there, leaving four children: 
William, born Sept. 15. 1605 ; Maximilian, Oct. 4, 
1607; Joseph, Dec. 31, 1609; Sarah, in 1613. Joseph 
and Maximilian came to America in 1639, an d the 
latter settled in Rowley, Mass., where he was a dea- 
con in the Church forty-five years, and many times 
a representative to the General Court. He had 
married before leaving England his first wife, Ann, 
who died in Rowley, Nov. 9. 1667, and in 1675 ne 
was united with his second wife, Ellinor Boynton. 
His death occurred in Rowley, Oct. 19, 1684, and he 
left seven children. 

(II) Joseph Jewett married in Bradford, York- 
shire, Oct. 1, 1634, Mary Mallinson, and five years 
later brought his wife and their son, Jeremiah, to 
America ; they, with Maximilian, formed a part of 
the congregation of the Rev. Ezekial Rogers, who 
embarked at Hull, England, in the fall of 1638, on 
the ship "John," and arrived in the spring of 1639, 
at Boston. The whole company settled in Rowley, 
forming the first Church of that town. Mrs. Alary 
Jewett passed away April 12, 1652, leaving the fol- 
lowing children : Jeremiah, born in 1637 ; Sarah, 
1639: Hannah, 1641 ; Nehemiah, 1643; Faith and 
Patience, twins, 1645. In May, 1653, Air. Jewett 
married Airs. Ann Allen, a widow, and they had one 
child, Joseph, born April 1, 1656, wdio was in turn a 
carpenter, a merchant and a captain, and who mar- 
ried Ruth Wood, and died Oct. 30, 1694, while his 
wife died Nov. 29, 1734. The parents, Joseph and 
Ann Jewett, passed away Feb. 25, 1661, and Feb- 
ruary — , 1661, respectively. 

(III) Jeremiah Jewett was about two years old 
when brought to Rowley, and there he spent his 
whole life, dying in Alay, 1714. In Alay, 1661, he 
married Sarah Dickinson, who survived her hus- 
band ten years. They were the parents of seven 
children: Jeremiah, born Dec. 30, 1662, deceased 
Feb. 15, 1732, married Jan. 4, 1688, Eliza Kimball, 
who died in August, 1728; Joseph, born in 1665; 
Thomas, 1668; Eleazer, 1670; Nehemiah, 1675; 
Ephraim, 1680; Caleb, 1681. 

(IV) Eleazer Jewett, born in 1670, was baptized 
in 1673, an d grew to manhood in Rowley. In 1698 
he moved to Connecticut, bought a large tract of 
land in what is now Lisbon, and spent the remainder 
of his life there in agricultural pursuits. There is 
no record of his death, but it must have been later 
than 1747. On April 1, 1700, he was married to 
Alary, widow of E. Lamb, whose death occurred 
Jan. 16, 1 715. For his second wife he chose Alary, 
widow of Jonathan Tracy, the marriage occurring 
Sept. 3, 1717. By her death Sept. 18, 1723, he was 
again left a widower. His five children, all by the 
first wife, were: Alary, born in 1700, died the same 
year; Sarah, born in July, 1702, married, June 29, 
1730. Thomas Perkins ; Eleazer, born Sept. 22, 
1704; Hannah, born in 1707, married Nov. 5, 1729, 
B. Knight; Caleb, born June 25, 1710, married Re- 
becca Cook, Feb. 3, 1736, had five children, and 



went to Sharon, Conn., in 1741, was elected repre- 
sentative eleven times, and died in 1778. 

(Y) Eleazer Jewett, born in Norwich, now Lis- 
bon, married Alarch 17, 1726, Elizabeth Griggs. He 
died Jan. 5, 1747, and his widow passed away in 
April, 1781. They were the parents of: Eleazer, 
born Aug. 31, 1731 ; Alary, 1733; Thomas, July 19, 
1736; Ichabod, Feb. 5, 1738; Hannah, Aug. 10, 
1741 ; Sarah, Aug. 5, 1743; Elam, Alarch 5, 1746, 
married a Aliss Richardson and removed to Wey- 
bridge. Yt., and left numerous descendants. 

(VI) Eleazer Jewett, born in Lisbon, settled in 
Griswold, then Preston, in the borough now called 
Jewett City in his honor. At first a farmer, he after- 
ward operated a gristmill and a sawmill, located on 
the Pachaug river. In 1790 he was joined by John 
Wilson, his son-in-law, a clothier from Alassachu- 
setts, and, encouraging the latter to set up a fulling 
mill, a flourishing village began to grow up around 
these industries. A pioneer in nearly all the busi- 
ness enterprises of the place. Air. Jewett lived on 
there in the place he had really made, to the good 
old age of eighty-seven. His tombstone in the cem- 
etery at Jewett City bears the following inscription : 
''In memory of Air. Eleazer Jewett, who died De- 
cember 17, 1817, in the 87th year of his age. In 
April, 1 77 1, he began the settlement of this village, 
and from his persevering industry and active benev- 
olence it has derived its present importance. Its 
name will perpetuate his memory." 

Eleazer Jewett married Olive Chapman, a 
daughter of Rufus Chapman, and children were born 
to them as follows: Lydia, born June 1, 1756, who 
married John Wilson Aug. 1, 1782, and died Alay 
15, 1794; Olive, Oct. 23, 1757; Elizabeth. April 11, 
1759, who married Jonas Boardman, June 12, 1788; 
Eleazer, Jan. 11, 1761, deceased in 1776; Joseph, 
Dec. 12, 1762. 

(VII) Joseph Jewett, grandfather of Capt. 
Laban R. Jewett, spent his life in his native town of 
Lisbon, engaged in farming and died in 1833. On 
Oct. 13, 1785, he married Sally Johnson, and after 
her death, was united to his second wife. Betsey 
King, Alarch 4, 1790. She died in 1838, the mother 
of nine children: (1) Betsey, born in 1790. married 
a Air. Palmer. (2) Sarah, 1792, married a Air. Dex- 
ter. (3) Lydia, 1794. married a Air. Bottom. (4) 
Ann, 1796, was the wife of a Air. Bliss. (5) Eleazer 
was born Jan. 4, 1799. (6) Henry L., April 2, 1801, 
married first Harriet Bentley, by whom he had one 
child, Harriet. By his second wife, Eliza Chapman, 
there were four children: Joseph H. (of Westerly, 
R. I.), Eliza, Adelaide and Anna, the last named of 
whom married John C. Kellogg and resides on 
Laurel Hill, Norwich. (7) Joseph King, born Dec. 
18, 1802, married, in 183 1, Abigail Simons, who was 
born in 1798, and died in 1877, seventeen years after 
her husband's death. Three children were born to 
them: Joseph, in 1831; Lydia, 1835; Jemima. 1837. 
(8) Thomas, born Sept. 30, 1804, married Eliza 
Godfrey, and had three children : Jane, Thomas and 



120 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Arthur. (9) Charles, born Sept. 5, 1807, married 
May 5, 1830, Lucy Adams Tracy. He died April 
3, 1879, leaving a family of eight, viz. : Charles, born 
in 1831, deceased in 1887; William, 1832; Richard, 
1834; Lucy, 1840; John, 1842; Frank, 1844; Sarah 
Eliza, 1846; William Parker, 1848. The father of 
these children was Dr. Charles Jewett, for many 
years State Temperance Lecturer of Massachusetts, 
and Prof. Jewett, Professor of Chemistry in Ober- 
lin University, is one of the sons. 

(YIII) Eleazer Jewett, born in Lisbon, Jan. 4, 
1799, was a manufacturer by occupation, engaged in 
making nails at Norwich Falls. Later he returned 
to Lisbon and was occupied in farming till his death 
in December, 1.837, m tne verv prime of life. His 
remains were interred in the Lisbon cemetery. He 
was a well-known and enterprising citizen, and in 
every way a good man. He was married first in 
1820 to Mary Clark, who died in 1824, leaving one 
son, Eleazer, born Jan. 2, 1821. This son was mar- 
ried Jan. 2, 1842, to Sarah Sherman, and died March 
17, 1895, leaving one son, also named Eleazer, born 
in 1844, wno married Mary Greenhalgh, and has two 
daughters, Leila and Harriet. For his second wife 
Mr. Jewett married, in 1829, Mary A. Russell, who 
was born May 10, 1803, and died Aug. 14, 1883. 
Their children numbered three. (1) Washington 
was born in 1830, and died at the age of fifteen. 
(2) Marshall, born Oct. 23, 1831, married, in 1866, 
Sarah Burr, and had two children : Edward, born in 
1867, who died in Leavenworth, Kan., in 1901 ; and 
Henry, born in 187 1, died in Leavenworth, 1901. 
Marshall Jewett, the father, died in Leavenworth 
in 1900. (3) Laban Russell was the youngest. 

(IX) Laban Russell Jewett, born April 12, 1833, 
was only nine years old when he left Connecticut 
and was taken to Rye, N. Y., where he attended 
school and received a good education. When the 
California gold excitement struck the country in 
1849, Capt. Jewett, though only in his teens, was 
one of those who rushed to the West, but having a 
liking for the sea, he soon entered upon his sea-far- 
ing career. Beginning as a sailor he rose rapidly to 
the command of a vessel of his own, and for thirty 
years he was an expert navigator, commanding clip- 
per ships to China from both New York and San 
Francisco. He was also in charge of vessels in the 
East India trade, owned in London, Liverpool or 
New York, plying between London and Calcutta. 
Capt. Jewett was an officer on the first side-wheel 
steamer "Washington," owned by an American com- 
pany, that crossed the Atlantic, and he has com- 
manded vessels for both American and English 
owners, and has sailed around the world several 
times, on many occasions entering the harbor of 
Manila. He was a commander of unusual force, 
combined with tact in handling men, while his tech- 
nical knowledge was fully adequate to every situ- 
ation. 

In 1876 Capt. Jewett gave up the sea, engaged in 
the coal business in Norwich, and for a quarter of a 



century was at the head of an extensive enterprise 
in that line, but has now retired and is living quietly. 
He is one of the prominent men of the city, well- 
known and highly respected, and a conspicuous fig- 
ure in both social and municipal life ; he is a mem- 
ber of the Broadway Congregational Church, be- 
longs to both the Norwich and the Arcanum clubs, 
while in the political arena he was elected in 1900 
as an Independent Republican to the city council, 
where he served one term, a member of the Public 
Grounds and Police commission. 

In 1864 Capt. Jewett was married to Miss Eliza- 
beth L. F. Robinson, a lady of culture and refine- 
ment, whose devotion to her husband and home has 
made their domestic life a most happy one. Like 
her husband, Mrs. Jewett belongs to the Broadway 
Church. 

HON. ABIEL GONVERSE, a retired lawyer 
of Putnam, Conn., venerable in years and full of 
honors, comes of an historic family, one ancient in 
the history of this as well as the old world. 

The Converse family of America dates back hun- 
dreds of years to Normandy, France, where it held 
a distinguished place among the Norman nobles of 
the day in the possession of large estates around the 
Chateau Coignir. Roger De Coigniries accompanied 
William the Conqueror in his invasion of England 
in 1066, was one of his trusted captains, and was 
distinguished at the battle of Hastings, his name be- 
ing entered upon the Roll of Honor in the record of 
Battle Abbey. The name after the conquest was 
changed to Coniers or Conyers, and was transmitted 
with vast estates by lords and barons and nobles for 
more than five hundred years as the records show. 
In that line was. born in 1590 Edward Conyers, who 
came to America in the fleet with Winthrop in 1630, 
his wife, Sarah, accompanying him. Mr. Conyers, 
Convers or Converse, as; the name is variously 
spelled, settled first in Charlestown, where he was 
made a freeman in 1631, served as selectman in 
1635-40, was one of the founders of the church there 
(First Church, Boston) in 1630, and was dismissed 
in 1632 to form the First Church of Charlestown. 
He became one of the first settlers of Woburn, 
Mass., and one of the founders of the church there, 
being chosen one of the first deacons' and continuing 
in office until his death in 1662. He was long a 
selectman of Woburn, from 1644 until his death. 

From this emigrant settler Abiel Converse's lin- 
eage is through Samuel, Samuel (2), Ensign Ed- 
ward, Jonathan, Elijah and Riel Converse. 

(II) Samuel Converse, born in Charlestown 
(baptized March 12, 1637), married in 1660 Judith, 
daughter of Rev. Thomas Carter. He settled in Wo- 
burn, and was there made a freeman in 1666. 

(III) Sergt. Samuel Converse (2) was born 
April 4, 1662. In 1710 he located in Thompson 
parish, in Killingly, Connecticut. 

(IV) Ensign Edward Converse, born Sept. 25, 
1696, in Woburn, Mass., came to Thompson with 








v-^ 



GEXEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



121 



his parents when fourteen years old. On Aug. 6, 
171 7, he married Elizabeth, daughter of John and 
Elizabeth Cooper. She died Feb. 19, 1774, and he 
died July 9, 1784. 

(V) Jonathan Converse, born in Thompson, bap- 
tized April 28, 1723, married June 19, 1743, Keziah 
Hughes, daughter of Jonathan Hughes. 

(VI) Elijah Converse, born June 20, 1745, died 
June 14, 1820. In 1790 he built a house in Wilson- 
ville, where Albert Converse, his grandson, now 
resides. He was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. 
On Jan. 25, 1770, he married Experience Hibbard, 
who was born Sept. 5, 1746, daughter of Jonathan 
and Experience Hibbard. Their children were : 
Sarah, born April 26. 1772, married Daniel Barrett; 
Lois was born March 4, 1775; Elijah, born April 
10, 1777, died April 22, 1846; Riel was born Feb. 
24, 1782. 

(VII) Riel Converse married (first) Ada Barnes 
of Dudley, and for his second wife married Alice 
Bixby, daughter of Jacob and Eunice (Leavens) 
Bixby. His third wife was Sarah Pierce. By trade 
Mr. Converse was a house carpenter and joiner, 
which he followed throughout life in connection with 
farming. He was a well known and well liked citi- 
zen, doing what he thought right in every relation 
of life, and his death, which occurred Oct. 26, 1874, 
was deeply mourned ; he is buried in Wilsonville 
cemetery. He was, by his second wife, the father of 
two children, Abiel and Albert, who now reside on 
the old homestead. Mr. Converse was a Democrat 
in politics. 

(VIII) Abiel Converse, son of Riel, born Dec. 
13, 1815, in Thompson, Conn., married Nov. 17, 
1842, Matilda Sly, daughter of Xathan and Cynthia 
(Corbin) Sly, of Dudley, Mass., and to their mar- 
riage came two children, as follows : Mary Ellen, 
born July 17, 1847, died Nov. 19, 1884. Martha 
Anna, born Oct. 28, 1848, married Dec. 26, 1871, 
Major Charles C. McConnell, U. S. A. ; she died 
at Fort Adams, Newport, R. I., Jan. 9, 1874. 

Abiel Converse spent his early life and received 
his education among the primitive people, amid 
primitive scenes and in the most primitive schools. 
From childhood to manhood, in keeping with the 
conditions about him, and the circumstances of the 
times, he was subjected to exacting labor upon a 
rugged New England farm. The vigor of such a 
life, however, was not without its good side, for it 
strengthened his constitution and made it possible 
to live these nearly four-score years and ten in the 
possession of good health and unimpaired faculties. 

During his later youth Mr. Converse was accus- 
tomed to teach school through the winter months, 
but continued his work upon the farm during the 
rest of the year. At about nineteen years of age he 
entered the YVesleyan Academy, at Wilbraham, 
Mass., where he was prepared for college. He next 
matriculated at YVesleyan University, Middlefown, 
Conn., from which institution he was graduated with 
the class of 1839. At intervals during his college 



course he taught school to aid in defraying his ex- 
penses. He commenced the study of law upon his 
graduation, in the office of and under the direction 
of Hon. Peter C. Bacon, of Worcester, Mass., pur- 
suing his studies with this gentleman for some two 
years, after which he became a student of Hon. L. 
F. S. Foster, of Norwich, Conn. In February, 1842, 
he was admitted to the Bar in New London county, 
Conn., and began the practice of law at Danielson, 
Conn. There he remained until 1854, in which year 
he located in New London, continuing some twenty 
years in active practice, when he retired and moved 
to the town of Thompson, his birthplace. There he 
lived, in the enjoyment of the fruits of a well-spent 
life, until 1904, when he changed his residence to 
Putnam, Connecticut. 

Mr. Converse was born and bred a Democrat of 
the Old School, and has been a party worker and 
leader through much of his active career. Of stu- 
dious and industrious habits, he possessed the neces- 
sary ability and qualifications for useful citizenship, 
all of which made him a valued member of the com- 
munity. A man of integrity and honor, he won 
and held the confidence of his fellow citizens. In 
1844 he received the appointment of the court as 
attorney for the State and for Windham county, and 
by appointment held the office for a number of years. 
In 1845 he. represented the town of Killingly in the 
General Assembly. He was appointed in 1848, and 
again in 1849, by the General Assembly, as judge of 
probate for the Killingly district, and after his re- 
moval to New London was clerk of the court of 
probate for that district, judge of the city police 
court and also of the city civil court. He was also 
city attorney for several years. Directly after the 
Civil war Mr. Converse was his party's candidate 
for Congress in his district, and though not elected 
polled the full party vote. Mr. Converse has also 
been active and ever deeply interested in educational 
matters, and has served on school boards in all of 
the places in which his lot has been cast. He is still 
quite active in public affairs, and is in full posses- 
sion of his faculties, now, in his ninetieth year, en- 
joying good health. 

HEZEKIAH LORD READE, who passed 
away at noon, Jan. 28. 1903, at the Owaneco home- 
stead in the town of Lisbon. New London county, 
was one of the most able and prominent citizens of 
eastern Connecticut. Seldom has there lived so 
many-sided a man. Equally successful in manu- 
facturing, financial and literary enterprises, he was 
eminently fitted for the leadership of men. and he 
bent his marvelous energy and executive ability to 
the reforms that best further the higher moral de- 
velopment of the race. 

The ancestry of the Reade family is traced back 
to the early days of the New England colonies, the 
early emigrants coming from England to Ipswich, 
Mass., but subsequently moving to Norwich, Conn., 
where was purchased of Owaneco, half-brother of 



122 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Uncas, the famous Mohegan chief, a tract of land 
one mile long by one-half mile wide, a portion of 
which is still in the possession of the family, as is 
also the original deed bearing the date 1686. 

Hezekiah Lord Reade is in the seventh gener- 
ation from John Read, who came to this country 
from England in 1630, and the name of John Read 
is five times repeated in the direct line of descent 
from the first-named ancestor. On Mr. Reade's ma- 
ternal side tradition traces the line back to a Col. Wal- 
bridge, of the Scottish army, who, for his heroic 
deeds and because a price was put upon his head, 
was obliged to flee and came to this country. He is 
said to have landed at Newport. R. I., and to have 
married a daughter of King Philip, chief of the 
Xarragansetts. 

Hezekiah Lord Reade was born Oct. 1, 1827, 
only child of Silas and Sarah (Meech) Reade, was 
educated in the common schools of Lisbon, and later 
attended the select schools of Jewett City and Plain- 
field Academy. During his early manhood he 
worked on the old farm, spending his evenings in 
study by an open fire, with the aid of a tallow candle. 
For sixteen winters he taught school, five of these 
acting as principal of the graded school at Jewett 
City. In 1864 he added to his farm work and other 
occupations that of manufacturing paper. He 
bought out a paper mill, which under his good man- 
agement was highly prosperous, and the business 
eventually grew into the Reade Paper Company, 
which owned and operated three mills. Five years 
later, being called to take charge of the Agricul- 
tural Department of the Hearth & Home, a leading 
New York illustrated journal, edited by Donald G. 
Mitchell. Mr. Reade sold out his interest in the 
paper-mills, and from that time until his last sick- 
ness devoted much of his time to literary work, for 
which he developed a fondness and ability far be- 
yond the ordinary. 

Mr. Reade was an able writer. Among the 
books from his pen are: "Money and how to Make 
It and Use It," "Boys' and Girls' Temperance 
Books," "Reade's Business Reader," "Story of a 
Heathen and His Transformation," "The Way Out," 
and others which have been widely read. He first 
became interested in temperance and Sunday school 
work in 1849, and in evangelistic work in 1875. He 
was the originator of the system of compulsory tem- 
perance teaching in public schools, and introduced a 
bill into the Connecticut Legislature to that end in 
1 88 1. the first ever submitted to a legislative body for 
consideration and adoption. Mr. Reade traveled ex- 
tensively in furtherance of this system, speaking 
before legislative committees, and publishing leaf- 
lets on the subject which have been widely quoted. 
The work was afterward taken up by the Woman's 
Christian Temperance Union. He commenced writ- 
ing for the newspapers at the age of twenty-two, 
had been a constant contributor to the religious and 
secular press, and had editorial connection with 
Connecticut journalism for a quarter of a century. 



All this time he had been active in church and evan- 
gelistic work, and it may be said that every good 
cause had his sympathy, and. so far as he could give 
it. his substantial help. He was a director of the 
Missionary Society of Connecticut, and had often 
represented a wide constituencv in the meetings of 
the Congregational churches of his State and the 
c< luntry. 

In spite of the time taken by his journalistic and 
evangelistic work Mr. Reade was never content with 
one form of activity. In 1873 ne conceived the idea 
of founding a Savings Bank in Jewett City, and 
upon its organization was chosen president, serving 
in that capacity continuously until his death. Dur- 
ing and after the Civil war he served as assessor, 
while in 1848-1850 he was deputy sheriff, and for a 
number of years, until a short time before his death, 
he served as treasurer and a member of the board 
of education of his town. His politics were Re- 
publican. 

In 1867 Mr. Reade was united in marriage with 
Faith Bingham Partridge, who survives him. They 
had no children, but have educated in the schools 
of this country Mary Ella Butler (Reade) and given 
a university education (both in America and Ger- 
many) to Riechiro Saikii, a Christian Japanese. The 
former was for many years a missionary in Japan * 
she suffered from poor health, and while on a voy- 
age in the vicinity of Martinique the vessel she was 
aboard took fire during the eruption of Mont Pelee, 
and she received burns from which she died a few 
hours later. May 8, 1902. Her remains were 
brought home and deposited in the cemetery at 
Jewett City. Riechira Saikii is a prominent officer 
in the Japanese navy, a writer of books, member of 
the faculty of the Japanese University at Kioto, and 
a most influential Christian leader in the empire. 

Mr. Reade had been in ill health about two 
years before his death. He was much beloved, and 
many expressions of affection and many eulogies ap- 
peared in print at the time of his death. His re- 
mains rest in the cemetery at Jewett City. In even- 
walk in life he proved himself a man whose large 
heart pulsed in sympathy with the ills of mankind, 
yet whose sunny nature kept him cheerful and 
happy, and all who came within the radiance of his 
hopeful Christian nature felt the inspiration of his 
presence. 

GEORGE ELI HEWITT, one of the oldest 
and most substantial, as well as highly respected, 
citizens of Lebanon, is descended from one of the 
early settled families of Xew England. 

'(I) Thomas Hewitt is referred to and first 
known of in Stonington. in the diary of Thomas 
Miner. Sr.. who speaks of him as in command of his 
vessel in Mystic river in 1656 : he was receiving the 
surplus products of the early planters there, in ex- 
change for Boston goods. He married April 26, 
1659, Hannah, daughter of Walter Palmer. Pur- 
chasing land on the east side of Mystic river, he 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



123 



there built a dwelling-house, pending which he con- 
tinued his coasting trade, extending his business to 
the West Indies. He is supposed to have been lost 
at sea in 1662. 

(II) Benjamin Hewitt, born in 1662, married 
Sept. 24, 1683, Marie, daughter of Edward and 
Ellen Fanning. 

(III) Major Israel Hewitt, baptized July 24, 
1692, married March 8, 1714, Anna Breed, who was 
born Nov. 8, 1693, daughter of John and Mercy 
(Palmer) Breed. 

(IV) Charles Hewitt, born Aug. 16, 1730, mar- 
ried Oct. 28, 1756, Hannah Stanton, who was born 
Aug. 8, 1736, daughter of Joseph and Anna 
(Wheeler) Stanton. 

(V) Eli Hewitt, born July 31, 1764, married 
April 24, 1796, Betsey Williams, who was born Aug. 
II, 1772, daughter of Bednam Williams and Han- 
nah (Lathrop) of Stonington, Conn., and Chelsea, 
Mass., respectively. Eli Hewitt was a resident of 
Xorth Stonington, where he followed the occupa- 
tion of farmer. He was quite successful, owning a 
large tract of land, and erecting a house thereon. He 
was buried at Xorth Stonington. He and his wife 
Betsey were the parents of the following named chil- 
dren : George is mentioned farther on ; Charles, a 
farmer on the homestead, married (first) a Miss 
Randall and (second) a Miss Wheeler; Benadam, a 
farmer, married a sister of the first wife of his 
brother Charles, and died in Xorth Stonington ; Eli, 
a wealthy farmer, married Mary Lamb, and died in 
South Windham ; Hannah married Rowland Stan- 
ton, and died in Xorwich, Connecticut. 

(VI.) George Hewitt, son of Eli and father of 
George Eli, was born in North Stonington, Jan. 26, 
1797. He was brought up to farm work, and re- 
ceived such education in the district school as was 
usifal for a farmer's boy of that period. When he 
was sixteen years old his father died, and, being the 
eldest of the family, he remained at home and man- 
aged the farm for the others. When the children 
became of age so that the estate could be distrib- 
uted he disposed of his interest to his brother 
Charles, who resided on the old homestead the rest 
of his life. Several years previous to this time 
George Hewitt had been married, and he then re- 
moved to a rented farm in the same town, soon 
after purchasing a farm in North Franklin, to 
which, however, he did not move for about twenty 
years afterward. Until 1843 ne continued to reside 
on the rented farm in Stonington, and that year re- 
moved to Xorth Franklin, where he was success- 
fully engaged in farming the rest of his active life. 
He spent his latter years in retirement, and died at 
Groton, Conn., where he was then residing. His 
death, which occurred Oct. 16, 1884, was due to a 
cancer on his hand. He was well-to-do, a good bus- 
iness man, and was self-made. In politics he was 
firmly convinced of the good in Republican prin- 
ciples, but cared nothing for the holding of office. 
He was a member of the Congregational Church, 



and was regular in his attendance on its services. 
On Xov. 26, 1818, George Hewitt married Bridget 
W'heeler, who was born in North Stonington March 
9, 1799, daughter of Nathan and Desire Wheeler, 
and died in Franklin, Conn., May 30, 1874; her re- 
mains lie beside those of her husband. Their chil- 
dren were: George Eli, born May 27, 1820; Giles 
W., who died young; Bridget W., born July 8, 1823, 
who married Dec. 12, 1844, Thomas A. Miner, a 
farmer in Groton, where she died Feb. 15, 185 1 ; and 
Elizabeth Stanton, born April 1, 1831, who was mar- 
ried Jan. 23, 1856, to Thomas A. Miner (for his 
second wife) and has one son, George Owen, who 
resides in Groton, engaged in the grain business. 

George Eli Hewitt was born in Xorth Stoning- 
ton, in the house erected by his grandfather. He 
attended first the district school and then select 
schools presided over by Major Francis Peabody 
and Latham Hull, who had a school at Milltown, in 
the town of Xorth Stonington. He was early trained 
to farm work, and he remained at home, assisting 
his father, until about the time of his marriage. He 
was married at the age of thirty-five years, up to 
which time he was in the constant employ of his 
father, at no fixed wages. When he was married 
his father gave him five shares of bank stock, a 
dozen steers and some farming tools. The spring 
following his marriage Mr. Hewitt removed to the 
farm of his father-in-law, in Lebanon, and assumed 
the management of that farm, where he resided until 
1869, 'when he removed to his present home, which 
was known as the "Priest Ely farm." It was pur- 
chased by Mr. Hewitt some time previous to his 
removal. Mr. Hewitt has added other land to his 
possessions, and now owns 150 acres of land in the 
town of Lebanon, and several tenement houses. He 
has followed general farming, at which he has been 
quite successful. In past years he was engaged in 
the buying and selling of live stock, and he made 
frequent trips to the famous stock market at Brigh- 
ton, Mass., to buy cattle and bring them to Lebanon 
and fatten them for butchering. A close student of 
the markets, he profited much thereby. Being natur- 
ally neat, he has made many improvements on the 
farm and in the buildings, and his home is one of 
the most pleasantly situated in the town. 

Mr. Hewitt was one of the prime movers in the 
organization of the Lebanon Creamery, and when, 
through mismanagement, the property was in dan- 
ger of being lost, he took charge of its affairs, had it 
incorporated under State laws, and through splen- 
did business judgment and management it was placed 
on a paying basis, to-day ranking as one of the best 
in the State. He has been a director since its or- 
ganization, was treasurer for many years, and is the 
heaviest stockholder in it. 

In his political affiliations Mr. Hewitt is a Re- 
publican, and in 1873 he was a representative from 
Lebanon to the State Legislature at the last meet- 
ing of that body in the city of Xew Haven. During 
his residence in Xorth Stonington he held the com- 



124 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



mission of a lieutenant in the local militia for three 
3 r ears. He united with the Congregational church 
shortly after his marriage, and has been a constant 
attendant since. 

George Eli Hewitt was united in marriage with 
Anzeline Williams, who was born in Lebanon Oct. 
28, 1825. daughter of Henry and Harriet (Babcock) 
Williams, the former a wealthy farmer of Lebanon. 
Mrs. Anzeline (Williams) Hewitt was a very su- 
perior woman, possessing many lovable traits of 
character, splendid business ability and a most 
kindly disposition. Her death, which was a severe 
blow to her family, occurred Sept. 3. 1899. The 
children of this union were : George Henry, born 
Aug. 9, 1857, attended Wilbraham Academy, and is 
a farmer in Lebanon ; he was married Aug. 13, 1881, 
to Louise Josephine Xoyes, who was born Feb. 28, 
1850, and they have two children, Ethel Beatrice 
and Hazel Adele. Harriet E. (twin of George 
Henry ) is unmarried and resides at home. Erwin 
Wheeler, born Oct. 10, 1859. attended Wilbraham 
Academy, and is now engaged in farming in Leb- 
anon ; he was married Nov. 18. 1880, to Nellie Eliza 
Stiles, who was born Sept. 19, 1863, in Lebanon, 
Conn., daughter of Edmund Anlonzo and Sophia 
(Sweet) Stiles, and they have had eight children, 
Arthur Erwin (born June 20, 1881, married Elsie 
Gardner), Lawrence Alonzo (born May 6, 1883, 
died A.pril 1. 1885), Charlotte Eliza (born June 5, 
1884. married John E. Burgess, and has one son), 
Everette Delos (born March 1, 1886) , Rodney Will- 
iams (born Aug. 4, 1889), Bernice Anzeline (born 
June 8, 1892), Gladys Eva Miriam (born Dec. 24, 
1894), and George Edmund (born Feb. 9, 1898). 

CHARLES HEXRY LUDIXGTOX, a well 
known merchant of Xew York, comes of a family 
which settled early in Massachusetts and Connect- 
icut, and to him is Old Lyme indebted for exten- 
sive public improvements. Chief among his many 
benefactions to the town was the building and en- 
dowment of the Phoebe Griffin Xoyes Library, a 
memorial to the mother of Mrs. Ludington. 

Charles Henry Ludington was born at Carmel, 
Putnam Co., X. Y., Feb. 1, 1825, grandson of Col. 
Henry Ludington, a prominent officer in the Revolu- 
tionary war, one of the foremost citizens of Dutch- 
ess (afterward Putnam) county, and a direct de- 
scendant of William Ludington, of Branford, Conn., 
who died in 1662. The children of (I) William 
Ludington were as follows : William, Henry, Han- 
nah, John and Thomas. 

(II) William Ludington (2) married Martha 
Rose, and their children were : Henry, Eleanor and 
William (born Sept. 25, 1686). By a second mar- 
riage, William Ludington (2) had several other 
children. 

(III) Henry Ludington married, in 1700, Sarah 
Collins, and their children were: Daniel, William, 
Sarah, Dinah. Lydia. Xathaniel, Moses, Aaron, 
Elisha, Sarah (2) and Thomas. 



(IV) William Ludington (3), born Sept. 6. 
1702, married, in 1730, Mary Knowles, and they had 
children : Submit, Elisha, Mary, Col. Henry, Lydia, 
Samuel, Rebecca, Anna and Stephen. This family 
lived in Branford, where their house was burned, 
May 20, 1754, Rebecca and Anna perishing in the 
flames. 

(Y) Col. Henry Ludington was born May 25, 
1738, and at the age of seventeen enlisted in Capt. 
Foote's Company, of the 2d Regiment of Connect- 
icut troops, commanded by Col. Xathan Whiting. 
He served through the French war, from 1756 to 
1760, and took part in the battle of Lake George, 
where he witnessed the death of his uncle and 
cousin. Xear the close of the war, through which 
he had served as a private, he was chosen to conduct 
home from Canada, a party of invalided soldiers. 
This difficult task he accomplished in safety, leading 
his feeble band through the sparsely settled wilder- 
ness of northern Xew England back to their homes. 
On May 1, 1760, he married his cousin. Abigail, 
who was born May 8, 1745, daughter of Elisha 
Ludington, the direct ancestor of Major General 
Marshall I. Ludington, late Quartermaster General 
of the United States Army. Soon after his mar- 
riage he moved to Fredericksburg precinct, which 
has since borne the name of Ludingtonville, in Put- 
nam count}", X. Y. From the time of his locating 
in Dutchess (now Putnam) county to the day of his 
death, Col. Ludington was prominent in public af- 
fairs. His military career was marked by the great- 
est energy and patriotism, and the same qualities dis- 
tinguished him as a member of the committee of 
Safety, consisting of three members, Col. Henry 
Ludington, John Jay and Col. Thomas, from the 
counties of Dutchess and Westchester. Col. Lud- 
ington received a commission as captain from Will- 
iam Tryon, the last British governor of the Cofony 
of Xew York, while his first commission as colonel 
was from the "Provincial Congress of the Colony of 
Xew York" June 10, 1776, Xathaniel Sackett. sec- 
retary (a very rare document), and his second from 
George Clinton, the first governor of the State of 
Xew York, May 28, 1778. These three commis- 
sions are now in the possession of Charles H. Lud- 
ington, of Xew York and Lyme. From 1778 to 
1 78 1, and from 1786 to 1787, Col. Ludington was a 
member of the Legislature from Dutchess county 
(of which Putnam county was then a part). At the 
battle of White Plains he was an aide of Gen. Wash- 
ington, the regiment of Col. Ludington participating 
in that battle, and also in the battle of Ridgefield. His 
death occurred Jan. 24, 1817, his widow surviving 
him until Aug. 3, 1825. Their children were as fol- 
lows : (1) Sybil, born April 5, 1761. married Henry 
Ogden, and died in 1839, an d ner grandson. Major 
Ogden. of the United States army, died while con- 
structing Fort Riley. Kans. ; (2) Rebecca, born Jan. 
24, 1763, married Henry Pratt ; (3) Mary, born July 
31. 1765, married David Travis ; (4) Archibald, born 
July 5, 1767; (5) Henry, born March 28, 1769; (6) 





&^lsC*-~7 




JV*^*-' fl^lstsU 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



12: 



Derick, born Feb. 17, 1771, died in 1840; (7) Ter- 
tullius, born April 19, 1773; (8) Abigail, born Feb. 
26, 1776; (9) Anna, born March 14, 1778, married 
Joseph Colwell, and her sons, Lewis and Joseph, 
were the builders of three of the "Monitors;" (10) 
Frederick, born June 10, 1782, died July 23, 1852; 
(11) Sophia, born May 16, 1784, married a Mr. 
Ferris; and (12) Lewis, born June 25, 1786, died 
Sept. 3, 1857. 

(VI) Lewis Ludington was born in Fredericks- 
burg, Dutchess Co., N. Y. (now the township of 
Kent, Putnam county). [An extended account of 
his life may be found on pages 378-380 of the "His- 
tory of Putnam County" (1886).] Lewis Luding- 
ton went to Wisconsin in 1838, and was early iden- 
tified with the settlement and history of that State, 
having founded the firm of Ludington & Co., in the 
city of Milwaukee, in 1839. His partners, who 
conducted the business (Mr. Ludington never re- 
sided in Wisconsin) were, Harrison Ludington, a 
nephew, afterward governor of Wisconsin, and Nel- 
son Ludington, afterward president of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Chicago. Lewis Ludington founded 
the city of Columbus, Wis., and his son, James Lud- 
ington, founded the city of Ludington, Mich. His 
death occurred Sept. 3, 1857, at Kenosha, Wis., in 
the seventy-second year of his age. He married 
Polly, eldest child of Samuel Townsend, and their 
children were as follows : Laura Ann, Delia, Will- 
iam Edgar, Robert, Charles Henry, James, Lavinia 
Elizabeth, Emily and Amelia. 

(VII) Charles Henry Ludington was born in 
Carmel, N. Y., Feb. 1, 1825, and attended the acad- 
emy in that place, when it was the charge of Valen- 
tine Vermilyea. He was also a pupil in the Poly- 
technic School conducted by Rev. Dr. Hunter, at 
Owensville (now Croton Falls), and in the Gram- 
mar school held in the house formerly occupied by 
"Peter Parley" at Ridgefield, Conn. The master of 
this latter school was Hugh Stocker Banks, a faith- 
ful and able instructor. At the age of seventeen, 
Sept. 18, 1841, Mr. Ludington went with his father 
to New York City, where he became a clerk in the 
wholesale dry-goods store of Woodward, Otis & 
Terbell. This store was located at No. 53 Cedar 
street, near the old Middle Dutch Church, now the 
site of the magnificent building of the Mutual Life 
Insurance Company. He remained with this house 
until 1846, when Harrison Gray Otis severed his 
connection with the firm, and, in partnership with 
Edward Johnes, formed the company of Johnes, 
Otis & Co., by which concern Mr. Ludington was 
employed as a salesman until Jan. 1, 1849. ^ n Feb- 
ruary of that year he became a member of the im- 
porting and wholesale dry-goods house of Lathrop 
& Ludington, established at No. 18 Cortlandt street, 
Richard D. Lathrop and Charles Henry Ludington, 
general, and James W. Johnson and Charles T. 
Pierson, special, partners. Notwithstanding the 
gloomy predictions of many of the older business 
houses, this young firm, with two others, like- 



minded, crossed Broadway, leaving the time-honored 
localities of Hanover Square, Pearl, William and 
Cedar streets, and became the pioneers in a move- 
ment which soon completely changed the location, 
and even the character, of this important branch of 
business. Their energy and enterprise made them 
successful from the start, and after eight years they 
moved to a much larger store in Park Place. This 
store, running through to Murray street, was built 
on the site of the former residence of Dr. Valentine 
Mott. On the retirement of the special partners, 
the firm name was changed to Lathrop, Ludington 
& Co., and partners afterward included were, John 
H. Morrison, Robert J. Hunter and William Faxon. 

During the Civil war the business of Lathrop, 
Ludington & Co. grew steadily, and increased to 
what, for that time, was of great magnitude — the 
annual sales ranging from $8,000,000 to $11,000,- 
000. The house sold goods to every part of the coun- 
try north of Mason and Dixon's line, from the At- 
lantic to the Pacific, and possessed the respect and 
confidence of the entire trade. Their southern trade, 
never very extensive, was fortunately much reduced 
when the secession agitation first began, for their 
name was among the first to be published in the cele- 
brated "black list,'' or list of Abolition houses, 
printed by the Southern Confederacy, and various 
notorious papers of Georgia and other Southern 
States. This list was published with the design of 
injuring, or ruining, in the South, the trade of such 
firms as, in the words of Henry C. Bowen, editor 
later of the Independent, "Sold their goods, but 
not their principles," and included at first the firms 
of Bowen, Holmes & Co., Lathrop, Ludington & 
Co., and a few others ; it was afterward extended 
until it included about forty of the leading whole- 
sale business houses in New York, Philadelphia, 
Boston and Baltimore. Unable to go to war him- 
self Mr. Ludington sent a substitute, and, person- 
ally, as well as in connection with his firm, assisted 
by large contributions in the raising of regiments in 
New York. One entire regiment was recruited 
mainly through the efforts of this house. After the 
war the firm of Lathrop, Ludington & Co. moved to 
the elegant store at Nos. 326, 328 and 330 Broad- 
way, which was built on the site of the old Broadway 
Theatre. 

In 1868 Mr. Ludington retired from business, 
and has since occupied himself with the care of his 
private interests in New York and the West. He is 
a director in a number of leading institutions in the 
city, trust, insurance, and other companies. His 
home has been for the last forty years at No. 276 
Madison avenue. 

At the opening of the Phoebe Griffin Noyes Lib- 
rary in Old Lyme, Daniel C. Gilman, LL. D., Presi- 
dent of the Johns Hopkins University, in his ad- 
dress, said in part : 

"It is fine to see the spontaneous recognition of 
the obligation which men owe their fellowmen, to 
contribute their best, whatever that may be, for the 



126 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



promotion of those among whom they have dwelt. 
That is what Mr. Ludington has done. He has pro- 
vided a commodious, spacious and attractive build- 
ing to be the literary center of Lyme. It furnishes 
a suitable place for the books already brought to- 
gether by the members of the Library Association. 
The ample shelves are suggestive of future acces- 
sions. The reading room silently invites the neigh- 
bors to enjoy the quiet companionship of the best of 
contemporary writers and illustrators. Here, too. 
is a place for occasional lectures and readings, and 
for exhibitions of historical mementoes or works of 
art. The building is placed on a beautiful site, and 
it is associated with the life of a woman whose rare 
gifts and noble character are to be perpetuated as a 
memory and an example." 

Miss Elizabeth Griswold, president of the Ladies' 
Library Association, said in her acceptance of the 
Library for the Association : 

"Our dear friend, Mr. Ludington, most gener- 
ously came forward, and anticipating every need, 
planned this touching memorial and has erected this 
building for the use and benefit of this town and the 
surrounding towns that wish to avail themselves of 
it. Truly it is a good and noble work, and we honor 
him and extend to him our heartfelt thanks.'* 

This Library was built by Mr. Ludington in 
1898, on the site of the former home of Phoebe Grif- 
fin Noyes, and Sept. 1, 1899, it was endowed by Mr. 
Ludington, together with Daniel R. Xoyes and 
Charles P. Xoyes, of St. Paul, Minn., sons of Mrs. 
Noyes. 

In the spring of 190 1 Mr. Ludington with char- 
acteristic public spirit bought and remodeled what is 
now known as "The Old Lyme Inn," for the benefit 
of the town, making it one of the most comfortable 
hotels along the Sound. 

Mr. Ludington married Josephine Lord Xoyes, 
fourth child of Col. Daniel Rogers and Phoebe 
Griffin (Lord) Xoyes, both prominent people, who 
are mentioned at length, below. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Ludington have been born three sons and three 
daughters. Col. Daniel Rogers Xoyes, father of 
Mrs. Ludington, was born Aug. 22, 1793. at Wester- 
ly, R. I. He was the fifth son of Col. Thomas 
Xoyes, who was born Oct. 3, 1754. and who married 
Jan. 31, 1781, Lydia, daughter of William and Sarah 
Rogers, of Xewport. Col. Thomas Xoyes was an 
officer in the Revolutionary army, and died at Wes- 
terly, R. I., Sept. 19, 1819. He was the eldest son 
of Joseph Xoyes, who was born Oct. 9, 1727, at 
Stonington ; grandson of Capt. Thomas Xoyes. of 
Stonington, born Aug. 14. 1679, and his wife, Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Gov. Peleg Sanford, of Rhode 
Island. His great-grandfather was Rev. James 
Xoyes. born March 11. 1640. the first minister of 
Stonington, who married Dorothy Stanton. Rev. 
James Xoyes was one of the founders and first trus- 
tees of Yale College, and was Moderator of the As- 
sembly which drew up the Saybrook Platform. 



Mrs. Phoebe Griffin (Lord) Xoyes, mother of 
Mrs. Ludington, was a remarkable woman, of great 
ability and strong religious principles. She was 
born Feb. 20, 1797, second child of Joseph and 
Phoebe (Griffin) Lord, the latter a woman of rare 
intelligence and distinction. Mrs. Phoebe Griffin 
(Lord) Xoyes was educated in Xew York, in the 
family of her uncle. George Griffin, a distinguished 
lawyer. Even in childhood she manifested a great 
aptitude for teaching, and was finally led to estab- 
lish in her own home a family school, of unusual 
excellence for the time. She had spent much time 
in Xew York in the study of water color painting, 
and also excelled in miniature painting on ivory, an 
art which she taught with great success to the many 
young girls of the two generations who were edu- 
cated in her school. Some of her pupils lived to be 
ornaments of the highest society, in this country and 
in Europe, and it would be impossible adequately to 
estimate the value of her refining and elevating in- 
fluence upon her school and her neighborhood, to 
which, in large degree, must be attributed the marked 
intelligence and refinement to be found in Old Lyme. 
Mrs. Xoyes died Oct. 12, 1875. She was the mother 
of the following children : Caroline Lydia, born in 
1828, who married E. B. Kirby, of St. Louis, Mo.; 
Julia Lord, born in 1833, who married George Love- 
land, an attorney, of Wilkesbarre, Pa. ; Daniel Rog- 
ers, born in 1836; Josephine Lord, born in 1839, 
who married Charles Henry Ludington ; and Charles 
Phelps, born in 1842. Of these, Daniel Rogers and 
Charles Phelps Xoyes founded the extensive whole- 
sale drug house of Xoyes Brothers & Cutler, at St. 
Paul, Minnesota. 

LORD. The Lord Family, from which Mrs. 
Ludington is descended through her mother, was 
also one of note from the earliest days of Connecti- 
cut. 

(I) Thomas Lord, born in England in 1583, came 
to America, and was in Xew ton, Mass., in 1635-36. 
He became an original proprietor, and the first set- 
tler, in Hartford, Conn., in 1636. He and his wife 
Dorothy, who was born in 1589, and died in 1675, 
came over in the ship "Elizabeth and Ann." He 
was a merchant and mill owner, and lived on the 
north side of Hartford, fronting Mill river. 

(II) William Lord, of Saybrook and Lyme 
about 1645. was born in 1623, and died May 17, 
1678. He married (first) Dorothy, and (second) 
Lydia Brown. They came to Xewton, Mass., in 
1635, and moved from there in 1636 to Hartford, 
where they had land assigned to them. In 1645 they 
settled in Saybrook. William Lord being a large land 
owner there and in Lyme, purchasing from the In- 
dians one large tract in the latter place. William 
Lord died in 1678, and his wife in 1676. They were 
the parents of thirteen children. 

(III) Lieut. Richard Lord, born in 1647. died 
20, 1727. He married, in 1682, Elizabeth, 






Aug 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



127 



daughter of Samuel Hvde. Mrs. Lord was the first 
white child horn in Norwich. Conn. She died July 

(I\ ) Judge Richard Lord, born in Lyme in 
1690, died there Aug. 20, 1770. In 1720 he married 
Elizabeth Lynde, who died in 1778. He was com- 
missioner of the peace, and judge of the quorum. 

{V) Capt. Enoch Lord, born Dec. 15, 1725, died 
Eeb. 16, 1814. His wife, whom he married March 
31, 1749, was Hepzibah Marvin, who died in 1813. 
They were the great-grandparents of Mrs. Luding- 
ton. 

{VI) Richard Lord, son of Capt. Enoch, born 
Sept. 15, 1752, was a soldier in the Revolutionary 
war. He married Dec. 9, 1790, Ann, daughter of 
Capt. William Mitchell, of Chester, and they were 
the grandparents of Mrs. Salisbury. 

CVI) Joseph Lord, another son of Capt. Enoch 
and Hepzibah (Marvin) Lord, was born at Lyme. 
June 3, 1757, and died March 15, 1812. He in- 
herited a Marvin farm, and married, Nov. 25, 1794, 
his third cousin, Phoebe, daughter of George and 
Eve (Dorr) Griffin, and sister of the distinguished 
lawyer, George Griffin, of New York City. As a 
girl Mrs. Phoebe (Griffin) Lord studied the college 
books of her talented brothers, and was considered 
their equal in mental ability. She was eminently 
fitted to adorn any position in life which might have 
opened to her, and her daughters followed in her 
footsteps. She became the acknowledged leader in 
the intellectual society that surrounded her, and was 
one to whom all her neighbors turned for wise and 
kindly advice, and for ready sympathy and help in 
times of sickness and trouble. Her memory will al- 
ways be cherished by those who know of her life. 
The children of Joseph and Phoebe (Griffin) Lord 
were as follows: (1) Harriet, born Sept. 25, 1795. 
died June 5, 1882. She was a woman of strong 
character, a great student of history and literature, 
well informed as to public affairs, a woman of warm 
feelings, and of a generous, self-sacrificing spirit. 
(2) Phoebe Griffin, born Feb. 20, 1797, married 
May 16, 1827, Col. Daniel Rogers Noyes ; they were 
parents of Mrs. Ludington. (3) Hepzibah, born in 
1799, died in March, 1844. (4) J u ha Ann. born 
March 6, 1803. died Dec. 31, 1884, a woman of 
some peculiarities, but possessing much talent, and 
a faithful and active Christian. (5) Lucy, born 
March 6. 1805, died Aug. 31, 1884. (6) Catherine. 
horn in 1807, married Enoch Noyes, and died Nov. 
25, 1844. (7) Frances Jane, born in 1810, died Feb. 
13, 1888. (8) Josephine, born in 1812, married. 
March 17, 1837, Alexander Lynde McCurdy. 

(VII) Stephen Johnson Lord, son of Richard 
and Ann ( [Mitchell) Lord, was born in Old Lyme. 
March 26, 1797, and was married Aug. 24, 1829, by 
Rev. Chester Cotton, to Sarah Ann McCurdy, only 
daughter of Richard McCurdy. Their children 
were as follows: (1) Richard Henry, born Aug. 
24. 1830, died at the age of five years. (2) Dr. 
Robert McCurdy, born Jan. 10, 1833, died May II, 



1894: he practiced in New York City, and was ex- 
amining surgeon during the Civil war ; later he re- 
sided in Kansas City, Mo., and his death occurred 
in San Diego, Cal. He was of good height and 
figure, with dark curling hair, a man of firm char- 
acter, but very reticent and sensitive in tempera- 
ment. For some years he was a merchant, and he 
devoted much time to public interests. He married 
Lucy Johnson, and their children were, Robert Mc- 
Curdy (deceased), Richard Lynde (deceased) and 
Henry Johnson. (3) John McCurdy, born June 24, 
1835, lives in Kansas City. (4) Sarah McCurdy, 
born April 14, 1838, married Col. Israel Matson, 
and died July 10, 1865; Col. Matson married 
(second) Harriet Howe. (5) Gertrude McCurdy, 
born March 3, 1840, married Dr. Edward Dorr 
Griffin, who is mentioned below. (6) Charles Mc- 
Curdy, born Jan. 31, 1842, died Feb. 7, 1877. He 
was in the regular army, rose to the rank of captain, 
and was stationed at various posts in the South. 

GRIFFIN. The Griffin family has given many 
distinguished men and women to the country, among 
whom special mention is here made of Dr. Edward 
Dorr Griffin, who was born at Catskill, Greene Co., 
N. Y., Oct. 2, 1839. His descent is traced to (I) 
Jasper Griffin, and his wife Hannah, through (II) 
Jasper and Ruth (Peck) Griffin, (III) Lemuel and 
Phoebe (Comstock) Griffin, (IV) George and Eve 
(Dorr) Griffin, (X) George Griffin, a celebrated 
New York lawyer, and his wife, Lydia, daughter of 
Gen. Zebulon Butler, and (VI) George and Ann 
Augusta (Neilson) Griffin. 

Dr. Edward Dorr Griffin spent his early school 
days in a boarding school at Boonetown, N. J., and 
graduated from the College of Physicians and Sur- 
geons in New York City. He was a prominent Free- 
mason, and a member of the Order of the Cincinnati. 
He practiced medicine in Old Lyme from 1864 until 
his death. May 10, 1887. The loss of this "beloved 
physician" was felt as the greatest bereavement to 
the town where his cheerful cordiality, Christian 
helpfulness and tender sympathy, as well as his pro- 
fessional skill, had won him the love and confidence 
of all. Dr. Griffin married Gertrude McCurdy Lord, 
daughter of Stephen Johnson and Sarah Ann (Mc- 
Curdy) Lord, and their children were, Augusta 
Neilson and Sarah Lord. The latter married Prof. 
Horace L. Wells, of New Haven, and they have two 
children. Gertrude Griffin, and Evelyn McCurdy 
Salisbury. 

BOSS. The family of this name at New Lon- 
don, the head of which was the late Charles D. 
Boss, who for a half century was one of the leading 
business men of that city, and whose son. the present 
Charles D. Boss, has for more than half of that 
length of time successfully continued the business 
established by the father and worthily perpetuated 
the name, is one of nearly two hundred years' stand- 
ing in the State of Rhode Island. 



128 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



It is set forth in American lineage that the name 
Boss, formerly Bosch, then Bos, is of Dutch origin. 

Edward Boss, the progenitor of the Rhode Island 
family of the name, appears of record there in 1 710, 
when, on May 17th ot that year, he, in company with 
seventeen others, purchased 7,000 acres of land in 
Narragansett. This pioneer married Susannah Wil- 
kinson, born Feb. 6, 1662, daughter of Lawrence and 
Susannah (Smith) Wilkinson, and to them came 
children as follows : Edward, born Jan. 20, 1684-85 ; 
Susannah, born July 21, 1687; Peter, born Sept. 15, 
1695; and Jeremiah, born Aug. 15, 1699. The Mat- 
ter son married, March 22, 1722, Martha Spencer, 
born Sept. 8, 1700, daughter of Robert and Theo- 
dosia (Whaley) Spencer, and was of Westerly and 
Richmond, R. I. His death occurred in 1774. His 
children were: Richard, born Feb. 26, 1724; Ed- 
ward, April 20, 1725 ; Susannah, Feb. 19, 1728; Jer- 
emiah, May 17, 1729; Martha, Feb. 12, 1731 ; Peter, 
Sept. 30, 1732; Joseph, March 2, 1734; John, Oct. 
14, 1735; Hannah, Oct. 11, 1737; Philip; and Jon- 
athan. 

Edward Boss (2), the eldest son of the pioneer, 
born Jan. 20, 1684-85, married, April 20, 1709, 
Phillip (likely Phillipa) Carr, born Dec. 28, 1688, 
daughter of Caleb and Phillip (Greene) Carr, and 
they were of Newport, R. I., he a merchant there. 
Their first child, Mary, was born in Narragansett 
Sept. 1, 1 7 10, and the others were born in Newport, 
as follows: Freelove, Dec. 5, 1712; Abigail, Feb. 18, 
1715; Edward, Nov. 23, 1716; Hannah, April 17, 
1719; Susannah, Nov. 2, 1720; Joseph, Jan. 20, 
1723; Philip, Sept. 16, 1725; and Benjamin, July 
23, 1727. 

Concerning the posterity of Peter Boss, the other 
son of the pioneer, nothing definite has been ascer- 
tained. 

From the foregoing source came the New Lon- 
don branch of the Boss family of Rhode Island. The 
late Charles D. Boss, of New London, was born 
March 27, 1812, in Newport, R. I., where for a 
few years he received instruction in the public 
schools. When ten years of age he started work in 
his native town wheeling a bread cart, and began an 
apprenticeship at the baking business, continuing 
with his employer, George Allen, for nine years, 
until nineteen years of age. His mother had died 
when he was only eight years old, and his father 
when he was but twelve. In 1831 William Gray, of 
New London, a pioneer in the cracker line and the 
principal cracker manufacturer of New London, 
went to Newport for a baker, and Mr. Boss, being 
recommended to him, came to New London to en- 
ter his employ. He lived with Mr. Gray's family 
until shortly before his marriage. After one year's 
service with Mr. Gray, young Boss, associated with 
his brother, Philip Martin Boss, began the manu- 
facturing of crackers on his own account, their place 
of business being on Potter street, where they had 
converted a barn into a bake shop. About a year 
later, as Mr. Gray wanted to sell, the Boss brothers 



purchased his establishment, and a year later Charles 
D. Boss purchased the hard bread factory, and con- 
tinued that branch of the business alone, Philip M. 
running a bakery on Potter street, making cakes and 
bread for about a year. Some years after that he 
entered the employ of his brother, Charles D. In 
1863 Charles D. Boss, Jr., a son of the proprietor, 
became associated in the business with his father, 
and from that time on the style of firm has been 
and remains C. D. Boss & Son. These two men, 
father and son, have built up one of the largest 
cracker and biscuit manufactories in the country,. 
and in that business have been most successful. At 
this establishment over one hundred different kinds 
of crackers and biscuits are made. 

Charles D. Boss, Sr., was for fifty years identi- 
fied with that business, and with the city of New 
London, during which long period he did much 
toward the city's advancement in a commercial line, 
and for the good and welfare of the people's morals. 
He was a member of Second Congregational Church 
of the city, and a strong advocate of temperance, 
and by his life and work set an example worthy any 
young man to follow. He was first a Whig, then a 
Republican in his political affiliations. He passed 
to his reward Jan. 16, 1896, after several years of 
poor health. He bore the esteem and respect of the 
entire community. 

On May 18, 1835, Mr. Boss was married to Miss 
Elizabeth Mason, who was born in New London 
June 10, 18 1 7, and to this union came children as 
"follows : Thomas, who became a minister in the 
Congregational Church, married Anna Lee, of Mad- 
ison, Conn., and died at Leavenworth, Kans., in 
1898, survived by his widow and four children, 
Edith S., Roger C, Charles L. and Agnes; Charles 
D., Jr. ; Eliza Edith, married Robert R. Congdon, 
and died in November, 1903, leaving two sons, Carey 
and Charles L. Mrs. Boss was the only child of 
Thomas and Elizabeth (Potter) Mason, of Hart- 
ford, Conn., the former of whom was first mate on 
a brig and died at sea soon after his marriage; 
Thomas Mason was a son of Isaac and Rebecca 
(Kilbourne) Mason, of Hartford, Conn., though the 
Mason family came originally from Rhode Island. 

COIT. (Preston-Norwich Branch). The 
Coits of eastern Connecticut have been prominently 
and conspicuously identified with the history of that 
section of the Commonwealth for upward of 250 
years, the earlier generations figuring especially in 
the town of New London and Plainfield, and later 
generations as well in Preston and Griswold, and 
since the Revolutionary period in the ancient town 
of Norwich. The earlier generations of the family, 
especially in New London, were men of avocations 
pertaining to a seafaring life, builders of vessels, 
masters and men of commerce, but among them were 
men of the learned professions and some farmers, 
in particular, perhaps, in Plainfield and Preston ; 
later generations have pursued the law, in which 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



129 



they have distinguished themselves, and others led 
mercantile lives. Many have filled positions of high 
public trust. 

Under the head of the Preston-Norwich branch 
of the Coit family it is designed to treat briefly of 
the lineage and family of the late Col. Charles Coit, 
a merchant of Norwich, and a soldier of the war of 
1812, including his sons, the late Col. Charles Mor- 
gan Coit, a gallant soldier of the Civil war and for- 
mer postmaster of Norwich, and George Douglas 
Coit, treasurer of the Chelsea Savings Bank of that 
city, and their sons, Charles Coit, Augustus Coit 
and James Dana Coit ; also of Deacon George Coit, 
a brother of Col. Charles, and for many years one 
of the most worthy citizens of Norwich. 

John Coit, the emigrant ancestor of the New 
London and Norwich Coits, came probably from 
Glamorganshire, Wales, between 1630 and 1638. 
He was in Salem, Mass., where he had a grant of 
land in 1638. In 1644 he removed to Gloucester, 
and in 1648 was selectman there. He had consider- 
able land on Wheeler's Point and Planter's Neck. 
He was a freeman in 1647. I n 1 ^>S° ne received a 
grant of land in New London, Conn., and came to it 
in 165 1. He married Mary Ganners, or Jenners, in 
England, where all of his children were born pre- 
vious to emigration. He died Aug. 29, 1659, 
and his widow passed away Jan. 2, 1676. Their 
children were : John, Joseph, Mary and Martha. 

From this ancestor the lineage of the late Col. 
Charles M. Coit and the present George D. Coit, of 
Norwich, is through Deacon Joseph, Rev. Joseph, 
Col. Samuel, John, Nathanael and Col. Charles 
Coit. 

(II) Deacon Joseph Coit probably came with 
his father from Gloucester to New London about 
165 1, and he passed the greater part of his lifetime 
in the latter place, carrying on the trade of ship- 
building with his brother-in-law, Hugh Mould. 
On July 15, 1667, Deacon Coit married Martha, 
daughter of William and Edith Harris, of Wethers- 
field ; both joined the church in 1 681, he later becom- 
ing a deacon. He died March 2y, 1704, and Mrs. 
Coit passed away July 14, 1710. Nearly, if not all, 
the Coits of America, says the genealogist of the 
Coit family, are descended from him. His children 
were : John, Joseph, William, Daniel, Solomon and 
Samuel, all born between 1670 and 1692, inclusive. 

(III) Rev. Joseph Coit, born April 4, 1673, in 
New London, married Sept. 18, 1705, Experience 
Wheeler, daughter of Isaac Wheeler, of Stonington, 
Conn., and the union was blessed with ten children, 
namely: Elizabeth, born Feb. 19, 1706-07; Samuel, 
in 1708; Joseph, baptized in 171 1 ; Martha, born in 
1713; Isaac, Dec. 26, 1714; Abigail, about 1716; 
Mary, about 1718; William, Nov. 20, 1720; Ex- 
perience, about 1722; and Daniel, in 1731. Mr. 
Coit was graduated from Harvard College in 1697, 
and was admitted to the Master's degree at the first 
commencement at Yale College in 1702. In the 
latter part of 1698 he preached at Norwich, and was 



invited to settle there, but he soon went to Plainfield, 
where he preached the greater part of the time for 
five years. In 1704 he received and accepted a call 
to settle as pastor of the church at that point, and 
for forty-three years, until 1748, he sustained such 
relations with the church, at the close of which pe- 
riod, owing to age, he asked for dismissal. Rev. 
Mr. Coit continued to reside in Plainfield until his 
death, July 1, 1750. Mrs. Coit passed awav Jan. 

8, 1759- 

(IV) Col. Samuel Coit, born in 1708, in Plain- 
field, married (first) March 30, 1730, Sarah, daugh- 
ter of Benjamin Spalding, of Plainfield. Col. Coit 
settled in the North Society, Preston (now Gris- 
wold), and there spent a long and honored life, dy- 
ing Oct. 4, 1792, when eighty-four years of age. 
In military life he rose to the rank of colonel, and in 
1758 had command of a regiment raised in the neigh- 
borhood of Norwich which wintered at Fort Ed- 
ward. Col. Coit represented Preston in the Gen- 
eral Assembly in 1761, 1765, 1769, 1771, 1772 and 
1773. In the time of the Revolution he sat as judge 
on the Bench of the county court and of a maritime 
court. He also served in other public capacities. 
He was received into the church at Preston in 1742, 
and his wife in 1733. His wife, Sarah (Spalding), 
died July II, 1776, aged sixty-five years. Their 
children were: Benjamin, born March 28, 1731 ; 
Samuel, July 23, 1733; William, Feb. 13, 1735; 
Oliver, Feb. 23, 1736-37; Wheeler, Feb. 24, 1738- 
39; John, June 4, 1741 ; Sarah, May 12, 1743; Jo- 
seph, baptized May 2, 1746; Isaac, baptized Oct. 3, 
1748; and Olive, baptized April 5, 1752. 

(V) John Coit, born June 4, 1741, married Feb. 
6, 1766, Mehitabel Tyler, daughter of John Tyler, of 
Preston, and passed his life there. Mr. Coit was 
the owner of a large farm in Preston, and occupied 
himself in its oversight. His death occurred March 
3, 1808, and the death of his wife Jan. 3, 1806. 
Their children were: Lydia, born Dec. 13, 1766; 
Nathanael, May 5, 1768; Sarah, May 1, 1770; Olive, 
Feb. 22, 1772; John, Dec. 20, 1773; Sophia, Oct. 
14, 1775; James Tyler, Oct. 1, 1778; Rebecca, Feb. 
2, 1783 ; and Roger, Jan. 25, 1786. 

(VI) Nathanael Coit, born May 5, 1768, in 
Preston, married (first) March 14, 1792, Betsey 
Morgan, of that town, daughter of Daniel and Eliza- 
beth (Lord) Morgan. Capt. Coit (by which title 
he was known and which he acquired in military 
service) settled in Preston as a farmer, in which 
pursuit he was quite successful. A number of hon- 
ors were bestowed upon him by his fellow towns- 
men, who had great confidence in his judgment, in- 
tegrity and faithfulness. His moral character was 
beyond reproach, but not until late in life did he 
make a profession of religion, then uniting with the 
church in Jewett City. Capt. Coit died at that place, 
which was formerly included in Preston, March 11, 
1848.. His wife died March 13, 1831. Their chil- 
dren were: Charles, born Feb. 19, 1793: Martha, 
Dec. 12, 1795; Charlotte, Aug. 11, 1797; Olive, Oct. 



130 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



12, 1799; Betsey, Jan. 10, 1802; a son, March 2, 

1804 (died in infancy) ; Charlotte (2), Sept. 20, 

1805 ; Hannah M., May 28, 1808; George, April 29, 
181 1 ; and William. 

(YII) Col. Charles Coit, born Feb. 19, 1793, 
married (first) May 21, 1821, Lucretia Tyler, 
daughter of Col. Moses and Olive (Coit) Tyler. She 
died in 1822, and he married (second) Lydia Tyler, 
a sister of his first wife. She died in October, 1834, 
and he married (third) Sarah Perkins Grosvenor, 
daughter of Gen. Lemuel Grosvenor, of Pomfret. 
Col. Coit took part in the war of 1812, and after- 
ward continued in the militia service, rising to the 
rank of colonel of artillery. In about 18 17 he re- 
moved to Norwich and engaged in mercantile busi- 
ness, which, in various forms, particularly in the 
grocery line, he carried on until his death, Oct. 26, 
1855, when aged sixty-two years. Col. Coit united 
with the Second Congregational Church in Norwich 
in 1822 and for many years officiated as deacon and 
as superintendent of the Sabbath school. In all the 
relations of life he exhibited a character seldom 
equalled for blamelessness and faithfulness. His 
fellow citizens generally acknowledged him to be a 
pillar in society, contributing essentially to the 
strength and beauty thereof by his intelligence, dig- 
nity, uprightness, sincerity, discretion and benevo- 
lence. Two children were born to the second mar- 
riage of Col. Coit, Lucretia and one unnamed, both 
of whom died in infancy. Four children were born 
to the last marriage, namely : Ellen Grosvenor, Nov. 
15. 1835; Charles Morgan. March 28, 1838 (died 
July 3, 1878) ; Sarah Perkins, Oct. 16, 1840 (died 
May 17, 1843) ; and George Douglas, Jan. 2, 1845. 

(VIII) Miss Ellen Grosvenor Coit resided at 
Norwich until a few years ago, but she now spends 
her winters in Brooklyn. N. Y.. and her summers at 
her cottage at Eastern Point, town of Groton, Con- 
necticut. 

(VIII) Col. Charles Morgan Coit, son of Col. 
Charles, was born in Norwich, March 28, 1838. 
During his seventeenth year the death of his father 
changed all his plans for life, and led him with deep 
regret to exchange a college course for a business 
situation. He first entered the Uncas Bank, but at 
the age of twenty-one was made treasurer of the 
Chelsea Savings Bank, which responsible position 
he occupied at the breaking out of the war of the 
Rebellion. Although ardently desirous of enlisting 
under the first call for troops, the claims of his fam- 
ily, of which he was the oldest male member, seemed 
to render imperative for him the duty of remaining 
at home. But as reverses occurred to our armies and 
President Lincoln's second call for troops was made, 
young Coit, after mature and prayerful deliberation, 
decided that the claim of his country was paramount 
to all others, and entered the service as adjutant of 
the 8th Conn. V. I., then being organized under. 
Col. Edward Harland. His military record in brief 
is as follows: Enlisted Sept. 18, 1861, mustered 
Oct. 5, 1861 ; promoted from adjutant of the 8th 



Connecticut Volunteer Infantry to captain of Com- 
pany B, of that regiment, March 2/, 1862; wounded 
Oct. 28, 1864, at Fair Oaks, Ya. ; promoted lieuten- 
ant-colonel by brevet March 13, 1865; discharged 
May 2y, 1865. But to give more in detail the man- 
euvers of the 8th Regiment and Col. Coit's identity 
with it the following is appended, taken from a 
sketch of Col. Coit in the chapter on the military 
history of Connecticut published in the History of 
New London County by Hurd : 

"This regiment left the State Oct. 17, 1861, 
joining the Burnside expedition to North Carolina, 
and on the 8th of January following had its first ex- 
perience of actual battle at the capture of Roanoke 
Island, when by their coolness and good discipline 
the men won the heart}' approval of Gens. Burnside 
and Foster. From this time onward until the close 
of the war the career of this gallant regiment was 
one of unusual hardship and honor. Almost unin- 
terruptedly in the front and in active service, its 
engagements were many, its losses, both from the 
casualties of the field and from the exposures inci- 
dent to the service, terribly severe, and the record 
always of work well and bravely done. After its 
North Carolina campaign, in which the regiment 
had borne a prominent part at the siege of Fort 
Macon and the capture of Newbern, .and during 
which Adjutant Coit had been promoted to a cap- 
taincy, the 9th Army Corps, to which the regiment 
was attached, was ordered north to join Gen. Mc- 
Clellan, and participated in the fiercely contested 
battles of South Mountain and Antietam. Espec- 
ially in the latter action was the gallantry of the 8th 
Regiment conspicuous and of the highest service to 
its whole corps. Nine color-bearers were struck down, 
yet another always stood ready to fill the vacant place 
and uphold the fiag. The entire list of casualties in- 
cluded more than one-half of those who entered the 
battle. The regiment was in front of Burnside's ad- 
vance with the Army of the Potomac, helping to 
lay the pontoon bridge at Fredericksburg, and after 
the battle serving on the picket line beyond the city, 
and being among the last to recross the river. In 
the spring of 1863 the 8th saw active service at the 
siege of Suffolk and the brilliant storming of Fort 
Huger. During the following fall and winter, 
while the regiment was enjoying its longest experi- 
ence of the comparative comfort of quiet camp life, 
Capt. Coit was ordered to duty at the conscript camp 
at New Haven, a service which, though in some re- 
spects an exceedingly agreeable change from field 
service, was in other respects most unpleasant and 
difficult. Returning to the regiment before the 
commencement of active operations in the spring of 
1864, he was constantly on duty with his command 
through the terrible campaign on the James, com- 
mencing with the severe engagement at Walthall 
Junction, in which the regiment lost seventy-four 
men, and immediately followed by the four days' 
battle at Drury's Bluff, with further heavy loss. 
During the 'battle summer' that followed, in the ab- 





c^< 




Z> 



■ 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



131 



sence of the field-officers, the regiment was com- 
manded by Capt. Coit. Its history and his is a 
record of marches and battles almost daily, until 
the latter part of June, when it was ordered to the 
front of the line investing Petersburg. From June 
21 to Aug. 27, under the scorching summer sun, 
the men lay in their rifle-pits, rarely by day or night, 
beyond the range of the enemy's cannon. In one of 
the regiment's charges on the enemy's works so gal- 
lantly did the men do their work that their com- 
mander, Gen. 'Baldy' Smith, said he 'felt like giving 
a commission to the whole regiment that had done 
that gallant deed.' The last severe fighting of the 
regiment at Fort Harrison, Sept. 29, was another of 
its most gallant achievements. Charging across 
nearly a mile of open field, still commanded by Capt. 
Coit, the men stormed the fort, driving the gunners 
from their places and planting their flag on its ram- 
parts. The regiment lay in the trenches about the 
fort nearly a month, repulsing in the meantime all 
the attempts of the enemy to regain their lost 
ground. When at the end of the month the men 
were relieved and assigned to lighter duty, the regi- 
ment had become so reduced by the casualties of the 
field, 'fatigue duty, watching, picketing, storms, and 
lack of even shelter tents, which were not then al- 
lowed at the front,' that but ninety muskets could 
be mustered. 

"Soon after the capture of Fort Harrison, Capt. 
Coit was assigned to duty as assistant adjutant-gen- 
eral on the brigade staff, and while here received a 
commission as major of his regiment, which he de- 
clined. He had been with his regiment in every 
action in which it had taken part without receiving 
a wound ; but Oct. 28, while on staff duty at Fair 
Oaks, in one of the latest engagements of the army 
before Richmond, he was wounded, it was supposed, 
mortally. He was removed to Chesapeake Hospital, 
Fortress Monroe, where he remained four months, 
lying for many weeks with the scales trembling be- 
tween life and death, suffering not only from his 
wound but from the almost fatal effects of the se- 
vere service of the past summer. But skillful treat- 
ment and the tender care of loving friends, aided 
by his naturally strong constitution and good habits, 
were finally blessed to his recovery. As soon as 
health would permit he returned to his regiment, 
but the war being over, army life had no charms 
for him, and he resigned May 30, 1865. He was 
brevetted lieutenant-colonel from March 13, 1865. 

''Soon after his return to Norwich from the war 
Col. Coit was chosen to his former position as treas- 
urer of the Chelsea Savings Bank, and filled the po- 
sition with marked ability and to the entire satis- 
faction of all interested. He served one term as 
postmaster of Norwich. He was an aide on the 
staff of Gen. Joseph R. Hawley, when that gentle- 
man was governor of Connecticut. Col. Coit was 
prominent among the founders and early supporters 
of the local post of the G. A. R., and was a member 



of the Boston Commandery of the Loyal Legion of 
the United States. 

"Col. Coit was a consistent and active member 
of the Second Congregational Church, holding the 
offices of deacon and treasurer of the Church, and 
librarian of the Sunday school. Col. Coit lost his 
life on July 3, 1878, by drowning in New London 
harbor ; his little son had fallen overboard from a 
yacht and in an effort of the father to rescue him, in 
which he was successful, he lost his own life." 

On June 18, 1872, Col. Coit was married to Miss 
Mary B. Hillard, and to them came two children, 
both of whom are living: Charles, born March 28, 
1873, and Augustus, born April 29, 1876. 

At a meeting of the directors of the Chelsea Sav- 
ings Bank, held July 5, 1878, the following resolu- 
tions were unanimously passed : 

Resolved, That in the recent sudden death of Col. 
Charles M. Coit, our secretary and treasurer, this bank has 
suffered the greatest loss which it has 1 ever been called upon 
to bear. We have lost one who has been identified with the 
bank for nearly twenty years, in whose sound judgment 
and business capacity we have always had the greatest 
confidence, one whose integrity, both in thought and deed, 
was such that it seems impossible to replace him. 

Resolved, That in Col. Coit's death this community 
suffers a loss of one who, having passed his entire life 
among them, except that portion given to his country, had 
gained their confidence, respect, and love to a very unusual 
degree. As a citizen, a patriot soldier, and a public officer, 
he has always shown those qualities of mind and heart 
which endeared him to all who were brought in contact 
with him. Though cut off in his prime, the example of 
such a life is of incalculable value to the community. 

Early profess'ing his love for Christ, Col. Coit ex- 
hibited through the pleasures of youth, the trials and 
temptations of army life, and the cares of business, such 
a sincere, unostentatious, but decided Christian spirit as 
left no room for question or cavil. His unswerving 
allegiance to his God controlled all his life, and has, we 
believe, won for him at the judgment on high the same 
verdict so heartily given by all who knew him here. — "Well 
done, good and faithful servant." 

Charles Coit, born at Norwich, March 28, 1873, 
since his graduation from Yale College, in the class 
of 1896, has been almost constantly engaged in rail- 
roading. His first experience was in the general 
offices of the New York Central & Hudson River 
Railroad Company, in New York City. While there 
he was offered a very promising position in the em- 
ploy of the Honduras Syndicate, an organization of 
New York Central capitalists who were building 
and operating a railroad and other valuable conces- 
sions in Honduras. Mr. Coit shared the novel ex- 
perience of railroad builders in the tropics for be- 
tween one and two years, until the Spanish war so 
interfered with the business of the company as to 
bring it to a practical standstill. He returned to this 
country in the summer of 1898, and after a short 
stay at his home entered the service of the Great 
Northern Railway Company, by whom he has since 
been employed in various capacities, at the general 
offices at St. Paul, and in the division offices at 
Everett, Spokane, Grand Forks, and elsewhere. 



132 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Augustus Coit. born at Norwich April 29, 1876, 
was graduated in 1S97 with high honor from the 
Sheffield Scientific School of Yale University, be- 
ing elected to membership in the Sigma XI. He was 
for a time in the superintendent's office of the Nor- 
wich & Worcester division of the New York, New 
Haven & Hartford railroad, at Norwich, and since 
1899 has been connected with the Uncas National 
Bank of Norwich, being now its assistant cashier. 

George Douglas Coit, son of Col. Charles, and 
brother of Col. Charles Morgan Coit, was born in 
Norwich, Jan. 2, 1845. He was graduated from the 
Sheffield Scientific School of Yale College in the 
class of 1866. Entering the employ of the Norwich 
Fire Insurance Company, he was made assistant 
secretary, but on account of ill health was obliged 
to resign his position early in 1868, and give up all 
business for more than a year. In the fall of 1869 
he was made treasurer of the Dime Savings Bank, 
just organized, and which was eminently successful 
under his management until July, 1878, their de- 
posits being about one million and a quarter. At 
this time, on the death of his brother. Col. Charles 
M. Coit, he was chosen to succeed him as treasurer 
of the Chelsea Savings Bank, which position he still 
retains. 

While public life has been distasteful to Mr. 
Coit, and he has never held a political office, he has 
been called to many positions of trust and responsi- 
bility in financial, church and community affairs. 
He has been connected as executor and trustee with 
some of the largest estates which have been settled in 
this probate district ; is a director in several manu- 
facturing concerns ; and has been treasurer of vari- 
ous organizations, including the Otis Library, City 
Missionary Society, Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation, and of the Chapel and other associations at 
Eastern Point, his summer home. For many years, 
until obliged by ill health to give up his work, he 
was very active in church and Sunday school, hav- 
ing at one time or another filled all the various of- 
fices of the church. Ecclesiastical Society and Sun- 
day school of the Second Congregational Church. 
It is somewhat remarkable that for more than forty- 
five years the superintendency of this school was 
held practically continuously by three members 
of this family. Deacon Charles Coit was elected 
Aug. 1, 1 84 1. and was succeeded on his death, in 
1855. by his brother. Deacon George Coit, who, ob- 
liged by failing health to retire in 1872. was in turn 
succeeded by his nephew. George D. Coit, who, ex- 
cepting for an interval of less than two years, held 
the office until 1889, when he also was obliged by ill 
health to decline a re-election. 

In 1870 Mr. Coit was married to Frances Hen- 
rietta, daughter of Prof. James D. Dana, of Yale 
University. They have had four children : George 
Grosvenor, born Sept. 29, 1873, died Oct. 4, 1885; 
a son, born Nov. 4, 1875, died Nov. 7. 1875; Helen 
Grosvenor. born Feb. 9. 1879. died Jan. 2J, 1880; 
and James Dana, born Dec. 5, 1880. 



James Daxa Coit was prepared for college at 
Holbrook's Military Academy, at Sing Sing on the 
Hudson, and entered the Sheffield Scientific School 
of Yale University in 1900, but in his second year 
was obliged to give up his studies on account of his 
eyes. He has since resided in Norwich, and is at 
present a clerk in the Merchants' National Bank. 

Deacox George Coit, who passed away at his 
home in Norwich May 6, 1879, aged sixty-eight 
years, was throughout his exemplary life one of the 
most esteemed citizens of that community. Mr. Coit 
was born April 29, 181 1, at Griswold, Conn., son of 
Nathaniel and Betsey (Morgan) Coit, who had a 
family of ten children. The father owned a large 
farm, where George passed his boyhood, meantime 
receiving the advantages the local schools afforded, 
and finishing at Plainfield Academy, a well-known 
institution of learning. His school days over Mr. 
Coit came to Norwich, and there passed the remain- 
der of what proved to be an eminently useful career. 
He entered business life as a clerk in the store of 
his brother, Col. Charles Coit. and was afterward in 
partnership with him. For some time he was en- 
gaged in the steamboat business with Capt. William 
W. Coit, and subsequently, for many years, carried 
on a lumber business on Central Wharf, leaving 
same in 1862, at which time he took an interest in 
the rolling-mill of Messrs. Mitchell Bros. & Co. In 
1874 he retired from all active business, because of 
a nervous affection of the right hand — the beginning 
of the infirmity which caused his death, and which 
toward the last caused him much suffering. 

As a business man. as a patriotic citizen, in re- 
ligious and social circles, everywhere, in fact, that 
his name was known, Mr. Coit commanded the high- 
est respect. He was scrupulously honest, prompt in 
the settlement of every obligation, and invariably 
courteous to his associates in whatever walk of life. 
And, as he prospered, he gave others the benefits of 
his industry and good management, giving liberally 
and gladly to those less fortunate than himself, and 
making no display in the distribution of his charities. 
He was the champion of every good cause, and was 
one of the early advocates of temperance and the 
anti-slaverv movements, at a time when such alle- 
giance called forth ridicule and scorn. However, it 
was his high Christian character and activity in re- 
ligious circles that made Mr. Coit best known and 
beloved. He lived up to the tenets of his faith in 
his daily walk through life. "He was singularly 
pure and upright in all his walk and conversation, 
his sympathies ever ready to be enlisted in even- 
good cause, while the refinement and geniality of his 
nature always awakened confidence and affection in 
return.'' 

In 183 1 Mr. Coit joined the Second Congrega- 
tional Church of Norwich, in which he retained 
membership to the time of his decease, active in all 
the work of the congregation, and holding various 
official positions. In 1858 he was elected deacon, 
and continued to hold that office until 1876, when 





Jy ^^OchX 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



133 



failing health made it necessary for him to decline 
re-election. But his special interest was in the Sun- 
day school, for he was a lover of little children. In 
1855, on the death of his brother Charles, he suc- 
ceeded him as superintendent of the Sunday school, 
and was actively engaged as such for a period of 
seventeen years, until 1872, when the state of his 
health obliged him to relinquish the work. But he 
was annually honored with re-election until his 
death, an assistant relieving him of the responsibil- 
ity. He always tried to keep in close touch with the 
Sunday school pupils, making himself personally 
acquainted with each and every one, looking after 
the sick and needy, and endeavoring by his own life 
to teach the beauty and truth of the religion he pro- 
fessed. 

On April 23, 1835, Mr. Coit married (first) 
Elizabeth Bull, who died the following year. On 
Aug. 27, 1838, he married (second) Mary Bull, 
sister of his first wife, who, although for many years 
in delicate health, lived until May 1, 1858. On Dec. 
20, i860, he was married (third) to Mary H. Belden, 
who survived him fourteen years, dying May 17, 
1893, at her house in Norwich, aged seventy. While 
modest and unassuming to a marked degree, Mrs. 
Coit's life was one of constant usefulness and help 
to others. Through the church and Sunday school, 
to which both she and her husband were devotedly 
attached, the United Workers, the City Charitable 
Organization, of which she was an officer and faith- 
ful worker, and in the more personal ministries of 
her private life, she served the Master whose name 
she professed with a charity so generous, a sym- 
pathy so tender, and a friendship so strong and true, 
that to an unusual extent the community at large uni- 
ted with the smaller circles of her intimate relatives 
and friends to mourn her death as a public loss and 
to call her memory blessed. 

BREWER. The Brewers have long been prom- 
inent and influential at Norwich. Reference is made 
to the late Lyman Brewer, his children and grand- 
children. Members of this family have been allied 
by marriage to the first families, both as to time and 
position, of the ancient and historic Norwich. It is 
here the purpose to refer briefly to the posterity and 
lineage of the Lyman Brewer family and especially 
to Lyman Brewer, his son, Charles, and the latter's 
son, Arthur H. Brewer, men prominent in the social, 
religious, financial and mercantile life of the city for 
nearly a century, and the latter at this time one of 
the city's most prominent and influential citizens. 

From Daniel Brewer, the immigrant New Eng- 
land ancestor of the family under consideration, the 
lineage of Arthur H. Brewer is through Daniel (2), 
Rev. Daniel, Isaac, Lieut. Isaac, Lyman and Charles 
Brewei . 

(I) Daniel Brewer, husbandman, came from 
England to Boston, in the ship "Lion," in 1632, and 
settled at Roxbury. He was made a freeman May 
14, 1634. His wife was Joanna, and their children 



(as mentioned in his will) were : Daniel, Nathaniel, 
Ann, Joanna and Sarah. The father died March 28, 
1646, and his widow, Joanna, died Feb. 7, 1688, aged 
eighty-seven years. 

(II) Daniel Brewer (2), born in 1624, married 
Nov. 5, 1652, Hannah Morrill, daughter of Isaac, 
and lived at Roxbury. He died in 1708. His 
widow, Hannah died in 1717. His children were: 
Hannah, born July 5, 1665; Daniel, born Feb. 7, 
1669 ; and perhaps others. 

(III) Rev. Daniel Brewer, born Feb. 7, 1669, in 
Roxbury, Mass., married Catherine Chauncey, 
daughter of Rev. Nathaniel Chauncey, and their 
children were : Catherine, Eunice, Isaac and prob- 
ably others. Mr. Brewer was graduated from Har- 
vard College in 1687. On May 16, 1694, he was or- 
dained a minister, and settled at Springfield, Mass. 
He died Nov. 5, 1733. 

(IV) Isaac Brewer, born in November, 1713, in 
Springfield, Mass., settled in W Abraham, Mass. He 
married (first) in April, 1736, Mary Bliss, born 
March 14, 1716, daughter of Ebenezer Bliss, of Wil- 
braham. She died in 1759, and he married (sec- 
ond) in that same year, Widow Stebbens. Mr. 
Brewer was a farmer in Wilbraham, where he died 
in May, 1788. 

(V) Lieut. Isaac Brewer, born in August, 1742, 
in Wilbraham, married in 1769, Sybil Miller, of 
Ludlow, Mass., and lived in the latter town where 
he died in July, 1788. He was a large land holder in 
Ludlow. His wife died in July, 1834. Their chil- 
dren were : Daniel ; Catherine ; Betsey : Chauncey ; 
Abigail ; Isaac, born Sept. 5, 1784 ; and Lyman, born 
in 1786. 

(VI) Lyman Brewer, born in 1786, married 
Harriet Tyler, daughter of Rev. John and Hannah 
(Tracy) Tyler, of Norwich. Eleven children were 
born of this marriage. Mr. Brewer settled in Nor- 
wich, Conn., where in early life he was engaged in 
mercantile business for a few years, and when the 
Thames National Bank was organized, in 1825, he 
became its first cashier, and served for over thirty 
years, until his death, which occurred June 19. 1857. 
He was one of the founders of that bank, and also 
one of the founders of the Norwich Savings So- 
ciety. He left behind him a name for honesty and 
benevolence. His residence, what is known as 
the "old Brewer house," at No. 92 Washington 
street, is now occupied by his daughter. Miss Louisa 
J. Brewer, the only survivor in Norwich of his 
eleven children. This house, now over a hundred 
years old, has been occupied by members of the 
family for about ninety-three years. Harriet 
(Tyler), his widow, died Nov. 3, 1880, aged ninety 
years and eleven months. The family went forth 
into the country, and everywhere they settled be- 
came excellent citizens. 

(VII) Charles H. Brewer, born Aug. 9, 1824, 
in Norwich, Conn., married in 1847, Martha L. Wit- 
ter, born in 1828. She died Dec. 9, 1873 ; Mr. 
Brewer died Jan. 10, 1891. Their children were: 



134 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Arthur H., born in 1848; Frank C, born in 1856, is 
comptroller of Provident Institute for Savings, of 
Boston, Mass., an institution with deposits of over 
$44,000,000 ; Annie Louise, born in 1858, is the 
wife of "Walter Wellington, a wholesale dry goods 
merchant of Brooklyn, N. Y. ; and Kate Tyler, born 
in i860, is the wife of Robert DuBois, who is also 
engaged in the wholesale dry goods business, and 
resides in Brooklyn, New York. 

Charles H. Brewer passed little of his career in 
his native city. For about a dozen years he lived at 
San Mateo, Cal., where he was associated with his 
brother. Rev. Alfred L. Brewer, D. D., in conduct- 
ing a military school. In November, 1890, he left 
his home in Norwich for California to look after 
some real estate there. He was attacked with heart 
failure, dying suddenly in San Francisco, Jan. 10, 
1891. His remains were brought to Norwich, and 
interred in the Yantic cemetery. He was a man of 
high character and spotless integrity, always agree- 
able and kind. 

Arthur H. Brewer, son of Charles H., was 
born May 17, 1848, in Norwich, and received his 
education in Boston, where he remained until enter- 
ing the employ of the late Edward Chappell, some 
years later acquiring a one-third interest in the busi- 
ness (the other was held by Enoch F. Chapman). 
Upon the decease of Mr. Chappell, the business re- 
verted to the remaining partners, and after the death 
of Mr. Chapman in January, 1898, Mr. Brewer, be- 
came the sole owner. Since 1898, the firm has been 
The Edward Chappell Company. The concern 
handles coal and lumber, and is one of the largest, 
and, perhaps, the oldest, in its line in eastern Con- 
necticut. It is one of the best mercantile establish- 
ments in the city. Mr. Brewer is a stanch Republi- 
can, but never would accept office and has declined 
many. He was a delegate-at-large from Connecti- 
cut to the Republican convention in 1896, which 
placed the late President McKinley in nomination. 
To enumerate all the institutions, Mr. Brewer is, 
and has been, connected with, would require con- 
siderable space ; a few, however, are given. He is 
president of the Hopkins & Allen Arms Company ; 
president of the Falls Company ; president of the 
Ashland Cotton Co., at Jewett City ; one of the vice- 
presidents of the Norwich Savings Society ; director 
in the Thames National Bank ; ex-president of the 
Board of Trade ; secretary and treasurer of the 
Uncas Hall Company ; and vice-president of the 
Norwich Club. Mr. Brewer is a member of the 
Arcanum Club, and was one of the prime movers in 
its reorganization. He is trustee of the Norwich 
Free Academy ; Mr. Brewer is a member of the 
Society of Colonial Wars in Connecticut ; was vice- 
president of the Ponemah Mills Company, for sev- 
eral years, and when Mr. William A. Slater, the 
president, made his trip around the world, Mr. 
J hewer was the acting president. He is a director 
of the Eliza Huntington Memorial Home, of the 
Norwich Gas & Electric Company, the Crescent Fire 



Arms Company, the Norwich Water Power Com- 
pany, the Uncas P'aper Company, the Bard Union 
Company, and sundry other corporations. He is 
one of the most prominent members of the Ma- 
sonic fraternity in the State, a member of Somer- 
set Lodge, No. 34, A. F. & A. M. ; Franklin Chap- 
ter, No. 4, R. A. M. ; Franklin Council, No. 3, R. 
& S. M. ; Columbia Commandery, No. 4. Knights 
Templar ; and Sphinx Temple, Mystic Shrine, at 
Hartford. In Scottish Rite Masonry he has been 
equally as proficient : Member of King Solomon 
Grand Lodge of Perfection, of which he is one of 
the trustees : Van Rensselaer Council, of Princes of 
Jerusalem ; Norwich Sovereign Chapter of Rose 
Croix, Connecticut Sovereign Consistory. On Sept. 
14. 1886, he was made a member of the Supreme 
Council of Sovereign Grand Inspectors, General of 
the Thirty-third and Last Degree for the Northern 
Masonic Jurisdiction. In the Council of Delibera- 
tion he is Grand Master of Ceremonies. He is 
president of the Masonic Temple Corporation, and 
holds honorary membership in St. James Lodge, the 
only Mason holding membership in both lodges. 

On Aug. 4, 1873, Mr. Brewer was united in 
marriage to Miss Mary P. Young, born Oct. 26,. 
1847, a native of Norwich, daughter of Caius C. and 
Mary G. (Phipps) Young. Their children are: 
(i) Martha W., born Dec. 7, 1876, was married 
Nov. 2. 1898, to William A. Norton, who is secre- 
tary of the Edward Chappell Company. Their chil- 
dren are Arthur Brewer (born June 9, 1899), Elea- 
nor Plant (June 4, 1900), and Louise Tyler (July. 
6, 1902). (2) Annie H., born Oct. 10, 1878, was 
married Nov. 26, 1901. to Willis Austin, of Nor- 
wich, and has one child, Willis Phipps, born Oct. 
21, 1903. (3) Mary Goffe, born April 12, 1882, 
was married to Lucius Briggs, of Norwich, and they 
have one son, Lucius Goffe. Mrs. Brewer died 
quite suddenly Feb. 22, 1903. She was a woman of 
fine personal qualities, a devoted, loving, and kind 
wife and mother, and was greatly admired and re- 
spected for her generous hospitality and extensive 
charities. She was a member of Christ Episcopal 
Church. A memorial has recently been placed in 
the chancel of the church. 

Witter. Mr. Arthur H. Brewer's maternal 
lineage from his first American ancestor, Ebenezer 
Witter, follow- : 

(I) Deacon Ebenezer Witter, born in 1668, in 
Scotland, came to America, and settled in Preston, 
Conn. He died in 1712, aged forty-four years. His 
widow, Dorothy, died in 1750. aged eighty-four 
years. Their children were Joseph. Ebenezer, Will- 
iam and four daughters. 

(II) Ebenezer Witter (2), born in 1699. mar- 
ried in 1729, Elizabeth Brown, born in 1708. and 
resided in Preston. Six of their fifteen children were 
sons, namely: Nathan, Jacob, Jonah, Josiah, John 
and Asa. 

(III) Nathan Witter, born in 1731. married 
Keziah Lranch. of Boston, and settled in Brooklyn, 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



U35 



Conn. Their children were thirteen in number, the 
sons being : Jacob, Josiah and Ebenezer. 

(IV) Jacob Witter resided in Brooklyn, Conn. 
His children were : Sophia, John, Amos, Eunice, 
Asa, Lana, Lucas, Fanny and Iris. 

(V) John Witter, born in 1785, married Eliza 
Buckley, and resided in Plainfield, Conn. He was a 
professor at Yale University, and later principal of 
the academy at Plainfield. Their children were: 
Mary A., born in 1821 ; Martha L., born in 1828; 
and Henry M., born in 1830. 

(VI) Martha L. Witter married Charles H. 
Brewer. 

Tyler. Through his grandmother, Harriet 
(Tyler) Brewer, and great-grandmother, Hannah 
(Tracy) Tyler, Mr. Arthur H. Brewer descends 
from Rev. John Tyler (Yale, 1765), the first rector 
of Christ Episcopal Church, Norwich, which he 
served for fifty-four years, and from Lieut. Thomas 
Tracy, of Tewksbury, England, and America, whose 
lineage is traced back to several of the Anglo-Saxon 
kings of England, to Egbert, the first Saxon King 
of all England, who was eleventh in descent from 
Cerdic, the Saxon who founded the West Saxon 
Kingdom of the heptarchy at the commencement of 
the Sixth Century. Mr. Brewer also descends from 
Col. Thomas Leffingwell, one of the original settlers 
of Norwich, Conn., who was a large land owner 
of that section. 

ELIAS HILLARD BECKWITH (deceased) 
was for many years one of the most highly respected 
citizens of Norwich, where a long and useful life 
was spent. Mr. Beckwith was born in Norwich, 
June 23, 1822, a son of Israel and Eunice (Hillard) 
Beckwith. His early life was passed in Chesterfield 
and Colchester, and his education acquired in the 
district schools and at the famous Bacon Academy 
at Colchester, which was the Alma Mater of many 
of the leading citizens of that section of the State. 
In young manhood he became a book canvasser, and 
traveled by team all through New York and Ohio, 
gaining much experience of men and things, and at 
the same time making a success of his business. 
Through life he possessed the same pleasant, en- 
gaging manner, which served him so well when dis- 
posing of his literary wares at the beginning of his 
business career. Upon his return to Connecticut he 
became associated with his father in a factory store 
at East Lyme, and was located there for a number of 
years, then removing to Colchester, where he mar- 
ried. He located at Norwich, in 1863, at which time 
he entered upon his duties as jailor at the Norwich 
jail. This appointment came from Sheriff Richard 
A. Wheeler, with whom he remained until the ex- 
piration of Mr. Wheeler's term of office. When a 
change of sheriffs took place, and Sheriff Orlando 
Raymond entered into office, Nathan Bates was 
made jailor, but when Mr. Bates succeeded Mr. 
Raymond as sheriff, he appointed Mr. Beckwith as 
his jailor, although they were of different political 



parties. This position Air. Beckwith most efficiently 
filled continuously until 1884, when he resigned, 
after having been jailor of Norwich jail for a 
period of twenty years. He left the office without a 
stain upon his record, having been under all trying 
circumstances an official of uncorruptible integrity. 

In the intervening time between his two terms 
of office, Mr. Beckwith had engaged in a successful 
grocery business, being associated with Thomas L. 
Reynolds, under the firm name of Beckwith & Rey- 
nolds. After resigning from the arduous duties at 
the jail, he embarked in the real estate business in 
partnership with Charles F. Setchell, and the firm 
was known as Beckwith & Setchell, a business as- 
sociation which lasted until Mr. Setchell removed to 
Colorado, where he is now located. Mr. Beckwith 
continued in the real estate business during the re- 
mainder of his life, in which line he was remarkably 
successful. He possessed that keen, business ability 
and foresight which enabled him to judge accurately 
the safety of investments and their earning power. 
He became a heavy owner of land on West Thames 
street, and laid out Cahoon street, Kinney avenue 
and Newcomb street, and there he displayed great 
public spirit in making the locality attractive, and 
much is due to his enterprise in that direction. In 
1896 he erected his own handsome residence at No. 
no West Thames street, which is yet the home of 
his widow. 

Mr. Beckwith was one of the best known men 
in the count}', and few of the old residents were 
strangers to him. He handled in a business way 
many of the farms of New London county, and he 
was regarded as such an excellent authority on 
values that his advice w r as often sought by both 
buyers and sellers. He possessed an infinite amount 
of information on all subjects, and was a most enter- 
taining talker. Had Mr. Beckwith been given the 
advantages which are offered the young men of to- 
day, he had the natural ability to have become prom- 
inent in the professions. His personal appearance also 
commanded attention, he being of large frame and 
well-proportioned, while his friendly manner made 
it a pleasure to know him. After being in declining 
health for several years, he passed away at his home 
in Norwich, Dec. 20, 1898, leaving a bereaved 
widow and one son, together with a very wide 
circle of friends. 

In his political views, Mr. Beckwith was a Re- 
publican, but he never sought rewards at the hands 
of his party. For many years he was a member of 
Somerset Lodge. No. 34, F. & A. M., and of Frank- 
lin Chapter, R. A. M. He was an active member 
of Central Baptist Church, and when the present 
building was erected he served on the building com- 
mittee, and was a most liberal contributor to relig- 
ious purposes. 

On June 4, 1862, Mr. Beckwith was united in 
marriage with Miss Margaret J. Davis, born in 
Preston, Conn., daughter of Joseph and Watie 
(Crandall) Davis, mention of whom will be found 



136 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



elsewhere. The one son born to this union, Will- 
iam W., born June 23, 1863, was given an excellent 
business education, and married Lillian W. Sears, 
by whom he has one son, Myron Hillard. William 
W. Beckwith is engaged in business as a traveling 
salesman, but his home is located in Norwich. 

Mrs. Beckwith enjoys the esteem of a large circle 
of congenial friends in Norwich. She is a lady of 
education and business ability, and was on many 
occasions a counselor whose advice was valued by 
her husband, and to which he attributed a consid- 
erable portion of his success. For twenty years 
prior to her marriage, she engaged in teaching 
school in the towns of Preston, North Stonington, 
and for the last seven years, was located at Jewett 
City. Mrs. Beckwith is a member of the Central 
Baptist Church. Through her grandfather, Shora 
Davis, who was a Revolutionary soldier, she is elig- 
ible to membership in the D. A. R. 

CAPT. GEORGE GREENE BENJAMIN (de- 
ceased), one of the best known citizens of his town, 
and one whose death caused a wide-spread feeling 
of sorrow, was descended from an old New England 
family. 

Major Asa Benjamin, grandfather of Capt. 
George Greene, was a native of Connecticut, where 
he followed his trade of harness maker and saddler. 
He served as a soldier in the war of the Revolution. 
He left one son, Ephraim. 

Captain Ephraim Benjamin resided in the town 
of Preston, where he was engaged in farming. Po- 
litically he was a Democrat, and was prominent in 
public affairs, holding a number of offices. He was 
a captain of the State Militia, and was widely known 
and as widely respected. In his young manhood he 
married Sarah Greene, daughter of Peter and Sarah 
Greene, of East Greenwich, R. I. His death oc- 
curred in 1859 or i860, when he was aged seventy- 
three years, and his wife survived him till 1876, 
when she passed away, aged eighty-two years ; both 
were buried in the cemetery at Long Society. They 
were the parents of eight children. (1) George 
Greene was the first born. (2) Harriet married 
George Palmer, a farmer of Griswold, and died 
there. She had three children : George B., of Gris- 
wold ; Eunice M., deceased ; William D., in Meri- 
den, Conn., president of Brown & Dowd Company, 
manufacturers. (3) Charles was the captain of a 
whaling vessel, and was drowned in the harbor at 
New Bedford, Mass. (4) William, who was also 
the captain of a whaling vessel, married Cynthia 
Palmer, and resided in Mystic, Conn., where he died 
leaving two sons : William, deceased ; Charles, of 
Mystic. (5) Sarah is the widow of Reuben Heath, 
and resides in Mystic. She has two children : 
Charles R., of Mystic; and Bessie, the wife of Her- 
bert Wolf, of Mystic. (6) Asa, who was in the 
whaling trade, died very suddenly in Norwich, un- 
married. (7) Mary married George Washington 
Crandall, a well known business man, and died in 



New London, where they resided. Their children 
were : Frank A., of Yonkefs, N. Y. ; and Minnie, 
the wife of J. Paul Les Strade, of Providence, R. 
I. (8) Edwin married Phrozenia Barnes and re- 
sides on the home farm in Preston. They have had 
three children : Mary, who died aged nineteen 
years; Frederick E., of Preston; and Grace S., a 
school teacher. 

Captain George G. Benjamin, the immediate 
subject of this sketch, was born in the town of Pres- 
ton, Feb. 11, 1813, and remained on the home farm 
until he was seventeen years of age, his educational 
advantages being limited to the schools of his na- 
tive town. From boyhood he cherished the idea of 
going to sea, and as soon as he was old enough 
presented himself to Major Thomas W. Williams, 
of New London, who immediately employed him, 
and sent him out as a common sailor before the mast, 
in his ship "Connecticut," Capt. Robert Tate in com- 
mand. This first voyage was a whaling expedition 
to the South Seas, and Mr. Benjamin was gone ten 
months. He made six different voyages to the 
South Seas, and elsewhere, before he himself was 
made captain of a vessel named "Clematis," owned 
by Williams & Barnes ; in this he made two voyages, 
both successful, but the first voyage in "Clematis" 
was the one of his whole career, which per- 
haps merits special notice. The "Clematis," fitted 
out by Williams & Barnes, arrived July 4, 1841, 
after a voyage around the world of ten months and 
twenty-nine days, and brought home two thousand, 
five hundred and forty-eight barrels of oil. This 
voyage, when the time, the distance sailed, and the 
quantity of . oil brought home are considered in 
connection, deserves to be ranked among remark- 
able achievements. 

In no associated line of business were the profits 
more equitably divided among those engaged in it 
than in the whale fishery. The owners, agents, of- 
ficers and crew were all partners in the voyage, and 
each had his proportionate share of the results. It 
operated, therefore, to enlarge the means and multi- 
ply the comforts of the many, as well as to add to 
the wealth of the few. The old West India trade, 
which preceded it, was destructive in a remarkable 
degree to human life and health, besides engender- 
ing habits of dissipation, turbulence, and reckless 
extravagance. The whaling business was a great 
advance upon this, not only as regards life, but in its 
relation to order, happiness and morality, and the 
mass of the people, the public as well, certainly 
gained by the exchange. 

Captain Benjamin made two voyages in the ship 
"Lowell," owned by Messrs. Williams & Barnes, and 
then was given his third ship, the "Montezuma." 
Besides visiting the South Seas very frequently, he 
circumnavigated the globe seven times, and visited 
nearly all the important islands. He commanded 
different vessels for sixteen years, working in all 
more than twenty-three years as a whaler, until 1854, 
when he settled in Preston, in that part of the town 



\ 




:^^^._- tf S^, t/ r< 






GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



137 



known as Poquetanuck, and there lived retired until 
his death. He suffered a decline of health for many 
years, and the death of his wife was a severe blow 
from which he never recovered ; it undoubtedly has- 
tened his own death, which occurred March 27, 
1893. He was buried in the family lot at Poque- 
tanuck. where rest the remains of his wife and 
daughter. 

The narrative of such lives should not end with 
the mere mention of their termination by death. 
Men like Captain Benjamin leave an influence which 
survives them, as the roseate hues of a glowing sun- 
set linger long after the sun has sunk to rest. Faith- 
ful in every relation of life, the architect of his own 
career, he left to his family a handsome competence, 
bequeathing to them at the same time a legacy of 
far greater worth — a name unsullied and a reputa- 
tion without a blot. 

Captain Benjamin in his political principles was 
a Democrat, as were his ancestors. In 1856 he was 
elected to the Legislature by both parties, only one 
vote being cast against him. He also held at various 
times the other principal offices of the town. The 
captain was a liberal supporter of the Episcopal 
Church, of which his daughter is a member, al- 
though his wife belonged to the Baptist denomina- 
tion. 

On March 29, 1843, Capt. Benjamin married 
Elizabeth M., daughter of Henry C. and Sarah 
(Chapman) Avery, who was born in Preston, June 
22, 18 17, and passed away Dec. 11, 1886. Two 
daughters were born to them, of whom Hen- 
rietta A., the elder, died in 1864, a ged fifteen years. 
Amanda W. was born June 28, 1855. and became 
the wife of Henry A. Spalding, who was born Sept. 
I. 1850, in Brooklyn, Conn., and spent his boyhood 
days in Jewett City. He was in poor health for 
many years and died July 9, 1900. His widow re- 
sides at Xo. no Washington street, Norwich. Mrs. 
Spalding is eligible to the Society of Colonial Dames 
and to the Daughters of the American Revolution, 
but has never cared to present her claims to mem- 
bership in either. 

Capt. Benjamin was a genial, free-hearted man 
and was greatly esteemed, was a fine looking man, 
nearly six feet tall, well proportioned, of great physi- 
cal strength and of commanding presence, while his 
kindly face was a truthful index to his genial free 
hearted nature. The loss of few men would have 
been felt so widely or have touched men so deeply. 

SPICER. The family of Spicer, most worth- 
ily represented in the town of Preston, New London 
county, by James C. Spicer, and in the town of Gro- 
ton. same county, by John O. Spicer, has long been 
known in Connecticut. Members of it have taken 
active part in historic events of the State and Na- 
tion, and all have been honorable, upright citizens. 
The first of whom there is any definite data was one 
(I) Peter Spicer, whose son (II) Edward became 
the father of a son (III) John. 



(III) John Spicer grew to manhood and married 
Mary Geer, and of his children there is record of 
two sons, Edward and John (2). 

(IV) John Spicer (2), son of John and Mary 
(Geer) Spicer, was born in Groton, Conn., Feb. 17, 
1724. He died in the same place June 28, 1769, of a 
strange disorder of his throat, which, according to 
tradition, grew together so that it was impossible 
for him to eat. By his will, which was probated at 
Stonington, Conn., he left quite a goodly estate to 
his sons and daughters. On Oct. 25, 1744, he mar- 
ried, in Groton, Mercy Chapman, who was born Oct. 
13, 1723, daughter of William and Mary (Stoddard) 
Chapman ; she died in Pittstown, N. Y., Sept. 21, 

1812, at the home of her son Cyrus, and at that time 
was the widow of Daniel Ellis. The nine children 
of John and Mercy (Chapman) Spicer were all born 
in Groton, and were as follows: (1) Mercy, born 
Aug. 4, 1745, died Aug. 7, 1745. (2) Mary, born 
Jan. 28, 1747, died Jan. 10, 1750. (3) John, born 
April 20, 1749, died Oct. 8, 1826, in Groton. He 
married, Dec. 29, 1774, in Groton, Mary Parke, 
daughter of James Parke, born Dec. 1, 1756, died 
July 19, 1839, in Ledyard. John Spicer served in 
the Revolutionary war, in 1775, as a corporal in a 
company under Capt. Abel Spicer, regiment com- 
manded by Col. S. H. Parsons, and participated in 
the battle of Bunker Hill, and he was also in the 
siege of Boston. In 1776 he served as sergeant under 
Col. Smith, in Capt. Oliver Spicer's regiment, in the 
campaign about New York. To John and Mary 
(Parke) Spicer were born, all at Groton, children 
as follows: (a) Mary, born Nov. 24, 1775, died 
June 16, 1866, in Ledyard Union, (b) Hannah, born 
in December, 1777, married a Brumley, had a son 
John, and died in Greeneville in 1841. (c) James, 
born Nov. 30, 1779, married (first) Lydia Pride 
(daughter of William and Abigail (Stoddard) 
Pride), who died Jan. 3, 1812, and (second) Eunice 
Pride (sister to his first wife), and he died April 
22, 1867, the father of the following children: 
William (born Feb. 9, 1803, married Polly Part- 
ridge, and died Sept. 19, 1869), John Grant (born 
Nov. 26, 1804, married Feb. 26, 1834, Mrs. Clarissa 
(Kimball) Stoddard, daughter of William and Bet- 
sey (Harvey) Kimball, and died Aug. 2J, 1882), 
Herbert Pride (born Nov. 17, 1806, married, Feb. 
7, 1836, Hannah Spicer, born Oct. 12, 1804. daugh- 
ter of Abel and Sarah (Park) Spicer, died Sept. 12, 
1859, anc l ne died July 12, 1886), Lydia (born July 
21, 1809, married March 29, 185 1, Ira Judd. and 
died March 25, 1879), Mary (born Nov. 21, 181 1, 
married Feb. 12, 1832, Francis Averill of Jewett 
City, and died May n, 1895). Abigail (born in 

1813, married, Jan. 29, 1854, Jacob Maclin), Sarah 
(born in 1814, married Nov. 29, 1838, Butler Benja- 
min, and died Aug. 3. 1898), James (born June 25, 
181 7. married Oct. 8. 1848, Susan Ann Griswold, 
daughter of Samuel and Hannah (Darrow) Gris- 
wold, was a prosperous farmer, and died Sept. 29, 
1878), and Charles (born Jan. 31, 1820. married, 



138 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Aug. 19, 1844, Lucy Dennis, daughter of James Den- 
nis, of Griswold, \vhere she died Feb. 24, 1862, and 
he died April 9, 1882). (d) Eunice, born Feb. 26, 
1782, married Palmer Stanton, (e) Clarissa, born 
Dec. 30, 1785. married, May 24, 1807, Randall 
Stanton, son of Rev. Robert and Elizabeth (Palmer) 
Stanton, the former a Baptist minister. She died at 
Belchertown, Mass., Dec. 12, 1822, the mother of 
children as follows: Randall (born July 21, 1808, 
married Lucy Hamiten or Hamilton). Mary Eliza 
(born June 8, 1810, married Cyrus Williams, of 
Lebanon, and died in Iowa April 25, 1891), James 
Park (died unmarried), John Whitman (born Aug. 
30, 18 14, married (first) Betsey Kimball, (second) 
Caroline D. Hinckley, has a son William, and resides 
in Hinckley, X. Y.), Rev. Robert Palmer (born 
Jan. 20, 18 1 8, married, Jan. 17, 1848, Harriet Jones, 
has two children, and is a Baptist minister), Clar- 
issa Alvira (born April 20, 1820, married William 

Henry Palmer, and died April 17, ), and 

Charles Bromley (born Aug. 10, 1821, died May 5, 
1826). (4) Cyrus, born March 13, 1750, died Feb. 
1, 1826, in Pittstown, X. Y. He married, July 28, 
1771, in Groton, Mary Eddy, born Dec. 16, 1750, 
daughter of Constant and Mary (Winslow) Eddy; 
she died in Pittstown, X. Y., July 31, 1828, the 
mother of seven children born in Groton, and of one 
born in Pittstown. They resided in Groton until 
1788, when they removed to Pittstown. Cyrus 
Spicer was a prosperous man and his descendants 
have all been successful. (5) Molly was born Jan. 
27, 1753. (6) Keziah was born March 13, 1755. 

(7) Solomon, born Oct. 6, 1757, died Oct. 11, 1757. 

(8) Abel, born June 1, 1760, died in Preston, 
Conn., July 7, 1849. He was married three times, 
first, Nov. 13, 1788, in Groton, to Sarah Park, born 
May 23, 1769, daughter of Abijah and Elizabeth 
(Morse) Park; she died in Preston July 27, 1815. 
He married, second, Elizabeth Morse, born May 15, 
1776, died July 27, 1817; his third marriage, which 
occurred on March 18, 18 18, was to Sarah Rose, 
born Jan. 28. 1777. daughter of Peleg and Mary 
(Spicer) Rose; she died May 5, 1874. He learned 
the trade of blacksmith, but never followed it, as he 
preferred school teaching, and after his marriage he 
purchased a farm in Preston. At the age of sixteen 
he was drafted in the army for the war of the 
Revolution, and served in Rhode Island, and after 
that was a volunteer on the Continental frigate 
"Confederacy." In 1780 he went with Capt. Hunt- 
ington's Company to Danbury, Conn., and from 
there formed part of the Ninth Regiment, com- 
manded by Col. Huntington, of Norwich, which was 
stationed near the place where Major Andre was 
hung. He, with others, was sent to West Fbint 
to assist in drawing in the chain which had been 
stretched across the Xorth river to keep out the 
British. By his first wife he had children as fol- 
lows : (a") Sarah, born Oct. 18, 1789, married, on 
Dec. i, 1814. Cyrus Newton, of Preston, Conn., son 
of Abel and Sylvia Xewton, and died Aug. 25, 1861, 



in Des Moines, Iowa, the mother of the following 
children: Abel (of Wilkes Block, Louisville, Ky., 
who married in Kentucky, and has two sons, Thomas 
and Clarence, the latter of Butte, Mont.). Dwight 
(who married at Medina, Ohio, and has six chil- 
dren, Dexter, Curtis, Jennie, Orlando of Oakville, 
Wash., Cornelia and Grace), Sophia (who resides 
at Des Moines, Iowa, the wife of Curtis Bates) , 
Lucy (who married Ruel W. Mills, and resides at 
Sharon, Medina Co., Ohio), Orinda (who married 
Augustus Griswold, and resides at Robinson, 111.) 
and John (who married Emma Xewton McCracken, 
of Rush county, Kans.). (b) Peter, born Dec. 7, 
1791, married, Oct. 15, 1815, Mary Park, daugh- 
ter of Simeon and Annie (Button) Park," and died 
June 24, 1861, in Westminster, Conn. His children 
were: Mary (born Sept. 29, 1816, died Jan. 2. 1832, 
leaving a son. George, residing in Connecticut), 
Sarah Maria (born May 18, 1819, at Westminster, 
married Thomas Palmer, and they had a son. Vir- 
gil), Abigail (born May 29. 1822, married James D. 
Ransom, had a daughter, Mrs. William Imes, of 
Westminster, Conn., and died Sept. 7, 1877), Har- 
riet Persis (born Aug. 1, 1824, married Orrin V. 
Franklin, and resides at Westminster), Flora Mar- 
cella (born Sept. 23, 1828, died Oct. 19, 1831), Mar- 
cellus (born May 16, 1832, resides at Westminster), 
Lucy (born Aug. 18. 1836, married for her third 
husband Edward Smith, of Easthampton. Conn.), 
Elmira (born Oct. 9, 1837, resides at Webster, 
Mass.) and Albert (born Jan. 2, 1840). (c) Park, 
born Feb. 23. 1794. married Oct. 30, 1823, Adah 
Griswold, and died Nov. 8, 1879. at Homer, Cort- 
land Co., X. Y. His children were: Abel F. (born 
Aug. 2, 1827, at Cortland, X. Y.. has two children, 
Henry and Agnes, of Cuvler, X. Y.), David H. 
(born June 8, 1830, has two children, Anna and 
Clinton, and resides at St. Cloud, Minn., where 
he is the patentee and manufacturer of Spicer's 
kitchen cabinet and refrigerator combination), Al- 
bert L. (born June 3, 1840, resides at Homer. X. Y., 
and has a son, Clarence) and Sarah Adah (born July 
4, 1842. married Deloss Williams Burdick. and re- 
sides at Whitney Point, X. Y.). (d) Abel C, born 
July 29, 1796. married Dec. 23. 1825, Lucy Bab- 
cock, daughter of Gideon and Tryphena Babcock, 
and he was drowned in the Thames river Feb. 24, 
1859. Of his four children, only Addison lived to 
maturity, and he had two sons, of whom one is liv- 
ing, Walter Edwin, who was lately of Xew Lon- 
don, but now resides at Xew Haven, Conn, (e) 
Isaac, born Jan. 7, 1799, married Feb. 2$, 1827, 
Francina Chapman, daughter of Avery and Wealthy 
Chapman, and died in Xorwich, Conn., in May, 
1856. He was a builder and inventor and became 
prominent in local affairs. His children were: Hon. 
Worthington (who left a son George W., the father 
of three children, now orphans, who reside at Xor- 
wich. Conn.), Ellen (who died unmarried) and 
Sarah (who married Charles Warren Clark, and re- 
sides in Xew London), (f) Daniel, born Sept. 2^, 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



139 



1801, married, Dec. 18, 1827, Phoebe Butts, and died 
July 5, 1873. (g) Hannah, born Oct. 12, 1804, mar- 
ried Herbert Pride Spicer, as before stated, (h) 
Eunice, born Sept. 20, 1808, married April 23, 

1843, John D. Kingsley, had two daughters, Sarah 
and Phebe, and died July 26, 1888. (i) Mary, born 
May 6, 1813, married, Dec. 10, 1848, Noah Gates, 
and is still living, residing with her sister, Mrs. 
Rachel Packer, of Preston City, Conn., and she is 
a real Daughter of the Revolution, (j) The only 
child of the second marriage of Abel Spicer was 
born in 1817, and lived but a day. (k) Elizabeth, 
the first child of the third marriage of Abel Spicer, 
born Aug. 6, 1820, married, Feb. 17, 1846, Findley 
Fox, resided at Woodstock, Conn., and she, too, is 
a real Daughter of the Revolution. Her only child, 
Justina, died some years ago. (1) Rachel, born Sept. 
n, 1822, married Nelson G. Packer, July 1, 1875, 
and lives at Preston City, Conn. (9) Mercy, born 
Aug. 5, 1764, died Feb. 21, 1842, in Sweden, N. Y., 
married Joseph Randall, who was born in North 
Stonington Aug. 6, 1758, son of Benjamin and 
Ruth (Brown) Randall. They had six children, 
their descendants now being scattered throughout 
the West. 

Herbert F'ride Spicer, son of James and Lydia 
(Pride) Spicer, by his wife, Hannah Spicer, had the 
following children: Herbert, born Aug. 7, 1839, 
married March 31, 1867, Esther S. Sweet, daughter 
of Peleg (Briggs) Sweet, and has two children, 
Gorton P. and William; Hannah, born Sept. 15, 

1844, married Sept. 30, 1868, William Lewis, son of 
Pardon and Susan (Peckham) Lewis, and resides at 
Giles Ferry, Conn. ; Park, born Sept. 30, 1846, mar- 
ried Sept. 16, 1869, Cynthia A. Carpenter, and died 
in 1902, leaving four children, Jennie Bell (who 
married Walter Johnson), Mary Josephine (wife of 
Charles Saunders of Jewett City), Lizzie and 
Frances. 

Mary Spicer, daughter of James and Lydia 
(Pride) Spicer, married, as above stated, Francis 
Averill, of Jewett City. Their daughter, Frances 
Mary Louise, born Jan. 24, 1833, married Feb. 24, 
1850, Samuel Griswold. 

Abigail Spicer, daughter of James and Eunice 
(Pride) Spicer, by her marriage with Jacob Maclin 
had one daughter, Eunice Elizabeth, born April 29, 
1855, who married Ogden Stanton, has two daugh- 
ters, and resides at Long Society, Preston, Con- 
necticut. 

Sarah Spicer, daughter of James and Eunice 
(Pride) Spicer, married Butler Benjamin, and of 
their three children, James Elan, born Sept. 28, 
1839, died J un e 13, 1866; Lucy died young; and 
Abigail resides at Long Society, Preston. 

James Spicer, son of James and Eunice (Pride) 
Spicer, by his marriage with Susan Ann Griswold 
became the father of James C, who has been twice 
married, first, in 1876, to Josephine Spicer, had 
three children, Lucy M., James H. and Bessie, 
and lives at Long Society, Preston. 



Charles Spicer, son of James and Eunice (Pride) 
Spicer, married Lucy Dennis, and of their children, 
Charles served in the war of the Rebellion, and died 
from the effects of exposure ; James Elisha lives 
near Norwich ; Lucy E. married a Mr. Franklin, and 
lives at Jewett City; Eunice P. died in 1857; Jose- 
phine, born Aug. 23, 1852, married James C. Spicer 
and died June 29, 1899 ; Ellen married Edwin T. 
Haszard, and lives at Providence; Emma married 
George Wheat, and died several years ago. 

Cornelia Newton, daughter of Dwight Newton, 
granddaughter of Cyrus and Sarah (Spicer) New- 
ton, great-granddaughter of Abel Spicer, and great- 
great-granddaughter of John and Mercy (Chap- 
man) Spicer, married Watson Allen, and resides at 
Seattle, Wash. Her daughter, Delia M. Medcalf, 
is living in Oakville, Chehalis Co., Washington. 

James Spicer, mentioned above as son of James 
and Eunice (Pride) Spicer, was born in Ledyard 
June 25, 18 1 7, and died in Preston, Sept. 29, 1878. 
By occupation he was a lifelong farmer. In his 
boyhood his parents removed to Preston, locating 011 
the farm now occupied by his son, James C. His life 
was one of industry, and in time he prospered, be- 
coming quite well-to-do. In appearance he was tall 
and slender, while in disposition he was quiet and 
reserved. He was a Whig in early life, but later 
became a Republican, and while he held some minor 
town offices he did so because he felt a citizen should 
never shirk his duty, his own personal inclinations 
leading him to a quiet private life. On Oct. 8, 1848, 
James Spicer was married to Susan Ann Griswold, 
who was born June 3, 1822, in Brooklyn, N. Y., 
daughter of Samuel and Hannah (Darrow) Gris- 
wold, and a descendant of Roger Griswold, of 
Lyme, Conn., governor of the State in 1811-12. The 
only child of this marriage was James C, and with 
him the mother made her home, until her death Oct. 
15, 1904. 

James C. Spicer was born in Preston,. 
Conn., Sept. 20, 1849, and received his education in 
the district schools of that town, supplemented by a 
three years' course in the Norwich Free Academy. 
Leaving school at the age of seventeen on account 
of the ill health of his father, he assumed the respon- 
sibilities attendant upon the cultivation of the home 
farm. He took up the work with a will, and proved 
himself master of the situation. Since the death of 
his father he has continued on the farm, and now 
has about eighty acres under a fine state of cultiva- 
tion. He recently sold off 1 10 acres. He also runs 
a milk route in Norwich, which he began some 
twenty years asjo, and is still delivering milk to 
some of those who were among his first customers. 
He keeps from fourteen to sixteen cows, and uses 
all the best methods of sanitation, thus insuring good 
pure milk to his patrons. Like his father. Mr. 
Spicer is a stanch Republican in political faith, but 
has always declined to accept any office. 

Mr. Spicer has been twice married. On April 
6, 1876, he wedded Josephine Spicer, daughter of 



140 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Charles and Lucy (Dennis) Spicer, of Griswold, 
Conn. She died June 29, 1899, in Preston, aged 
forty-six years. Three children were born of this 
marriage: Lucy M., who married Stephen E. Peck- 
ham, and has one son, Lester Allen, and one daugh- 
ter, Laura Susan ; James Harry, who died Dec. 26, 
1894, aged fourteen years ; and Bessie, who is un- 
married and at home. On April 19, 1901, Mr. 
Spicer married Emeline Jennings Bradbury, daugh- 
ter of Charles Wesley and Lena Elizabeth (Bald- 
win) Bradbury, of Norwich. Mr. Spicer and his 
family all attend the Greeneville Baptist Church. He 
is a progressive and successful farmer, and is a 
representative of the sterling upright Xew England 
citizen. 

EDWARD T. BROWN, president of the Brown 
Cotton Gin Company, is one of the leading residents 
of New London, and his father was a time-honored 
citizen of that place. Mr. Brown was born July 20, 
1839, in Macon, Ga., and his father, Israel F. Brown, 
was born Dec. 31, 1810, in Salem, Connecticut. 

William Fanning Brown, grandfather of Ed- 
ward T., was born in the year 1771, at Gale's Ferry, 
Conn., and died in 1837, in Macon, Ga. He was a 
son of William Brown, who was one of seven 
brothers, all of whom were musicians in the war of 
the Revolution. Having learned the trades of cab- 
inetmaker and shipjoiner, William F. Brown was 
engaged for some time in the manufacture of fur- 
niture in Montville, Conn., sending his goods to the 
West Indies. In 1823 he went South, and for some 
five years was in the furniture business in Macon, 
Ga., where his son, E. E. Brown, was afterward the 
proprietor of '* Brown's Hotel." E. E. Brown erect- 
ed this hotel and was a prominent man in Macon, 
serving as a justice of the peace for several years, 
and was associated with Gen. Winfield Scott in mil- 
itary service at the time of the Seminole war in 
Florida. 

William F. Brown was married, in 1795, in Nor- 
Avich, Conn., to Sarah G. Edgerton, of that place, 
who also died in 1837 in Macon, Ga. They were 
the parents of five sons and two daughters, of whom 
Eunice died at the age of sixteen years. Elizabeth 
Leffingwell was the wife of Samuel Jacob Hicks, of 
Brooklyn, N. Y., and died at the age of eighty-three 
years, in Prattville, Ala. Alexander D. was a skill- 
ful mechanic and inventor; he died in Columbus, 
Ga., when eighty-three vears of age, leaving a fam- 
ily. 

Israel F. Browx received his schooling in Nor- 
wich, in the common schools, having been left with 
a brother in that city when his parents went South, 
in 1823. Two years later, on Dec. 31, 1825, he and 
his brother followed, and in 1828 he was engaged 
with Samuel Griswold in the manufacture of cotton 
gins at Clinton, Ga. After spending three years in 
that employment, he returned to Macon, whence 
he went to Girard. Ala., across the river from 
Columbus, Ga.. where he was engaged for 



some years in the same industry. Then with 
Dr. E. T. Taylor, of Columbus, Ga., he formed 
the firm of E. T. Taylor & Co., and carried 
on a successful business, manufacturing cotton gins 
at Columbus, Ga., for the ensuing eight years. In 
1858 Mr. Brown returned to Connecticut and es- 
tablished a cotton gin factory in New London, the 
firm being known as W. G. Clemons, Brown & Co., 
until 1 861. About this time Mr. Brown began mak- 
ing these machines for New York firms in his own 
name. The war of the Rebellion put an embargo 
on the trade in the South, but he soon found a ready 
market for his machines in Brazil and other Span- 
ish-American countries, until after peace was de- 
clared. In April, 1869, he formed a stock company, 
the Brown Cotton Gin Company, of which he was 
made president, in which capacity he continued un- 
til his death, which occurred March 24, 1900, in 
New London. 

In 1882 the Brown Cotton Gin Company pur- 
chased the Dawson property on Pequot avenue and 
erected a new and commodious brick structure, nec- 
essary for its rapidly growing business. This plant 
has been still further enlarged from time to time by 
numerous new buildings, large additions to the old 
ones, by the replacing of old machines with new 
ones and by the introduction of the most modern and 
labor-saving tools, until today it has one of the 
largest and best equipped shops of the kind in this 
country. Mr. Brown invented many machines in 
connection with the gin, among which may be men- 
tioned especially a machine for filing the teeth of 
saws, used in gins. He was active until his death. 
The original capital of the company was $20,000. to 
which has been added a very substantial surplus. 
One of the leading industries of its kind in the Uni- 
ted States, the business gives employment to up- 
ward of 500 hands, and has turned out as many as 
1,800 cotton gins in one year, ranging in price from 
$180 to $250 each. In addition to the manufacture 
of cotton ginning machinery they run general found- 
ry and machine shops. 

Mr. Brown was an interested member of the Ma- 
sonic organization, being enrolled as a member of 
the Columbus (Ga.) Lodge, and he was also a mem- 
ber of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at 
Columbus, Ga. In political belief he favored the 
Democratic party, and took an active interest in its 
affairs, and he served as councilman in New Lon- 
don. He was well-read, and was possessed of unus- 
ually good judgment. In disposition he was quiet 
and retiring. His religious belief was that of the 
Universalist Church, to which he was an adherent. 

Israel F. Brown was married (first), about 
1835, to Maria L. Martin, of Jones county, Ga.. who 
lived but a year afterward. On Dec. 26. 1837. he 
was again united in marriage, this time to Miss Ann 
Smith, of Macon, Ga., daughter of William and 
Elizabeth Smith. She passed away Jan. 12, 1865. in 
New London, in her forty-sixth year, the mother of 
five children, as follows: (1) Edward Tracy was 




/S/0 *2*^c+-c^<??^V^ri*si^ /Joo 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



141 



born July 20, 1839. (2) William Rodney, born 
March 25, 1843, died young. (3) Sarah Angeline, 
born April 18, 1846, married George Colfax, of 
New London, who died in 1903, in New London. 
(4) George Chalmers, born May 3, 1849, was em ~ 
ployed by the American Bank Note Co., of New 
York, some ten years, and then went to Georgia to 
take charge of "Brown's Hotel" in Macon, where he 
died in 1886, in the very prime of life. He married 
Kate F. Shorter, of Columbus, Ga., daughter of 
Ruben S. Shorter, and they had three children, 
Kittie, George C. and Edward L. (5) Charles Wise, 
born March 24, 1852, died young. 

On May 17, 1866, Mr. Brown married for his 
third wife Miss Emma Conant Albertson, daughter 
of William Albertson, of New London. By this 
union there were no children. 

Edward T. Brown attended school in Columbus, 
Ga., until about fifteen years of age, and then went 
to work with his father in the cotton gin business. A 
little later on he became the "Co." in the firm of 
Albertson, Flynn & Co., furniture 'manufacturers, 
continuing there for two years, and learning the 
business. He then went to Albany, N. Y., and took 
a course in Bryant & Stratton's Business College, 
which he left in May, 1858. In August of that year 
he came to New London and entered the shop with 
his father, remaining there for a time, and finally 
becoming secretary of the Albertson & Douglass 
Machine Co. He left this position in 1865 to be- 
come secretary and treasurer of the Wilson Manu- 
facturing Co., with which he continued for four 
years, until 1869. In that year, on the formation of 
the Brown Cotton Gin Co., he was made secretary 
and treasurer, and continued to serve in that ca- 
pacity until the death of his father, when he was 
made president and treasurer. His son was then 
made secretary and assistant treasurer, which ar- 
rangement still continues. Edward T. Brown is a 
director of the Union Bank of New London and of 
the Lyceum Theater Company, of which latter he is 
secretary and treasurer. 

Fraternally Mr. Brown is a prominent Mason, 
being a member of Brainard Lodge, No. 102, F. & 
A. M. ; Union Chapter, No. 7, R. A. M. ; Cushing 
Council, No. 4, R. & S. M., and Palestine Com- 
mandery, No. 6, Knights Templar, of New London. 
He is also vice-president of the Brainard Lodge Ma- 
sonic Corporation, of which he is also one of the 
trustees. His social connections also include mem- 
bership in the Thames Club, of New London, of 
which he has served as treasurer for a number of 
years. He is an attendant of the First Congrega- 
tional Church, of New London. In politics Mr. 
Brown is a Democrat. He has served as city clerk 
of New London, and represented the town in the 
State Legislature in 1873, during his term serving 
on the Finance committee. He has also been coun- 
cilman of the city. In 1887 he was elected a member 
of the board of Water Commissioners and served 



until October, 1902. He was secretary of the board 
from 1893 until his retirement. 

Mr. Brown was married, April 24, 1866, to 
Sarah A. Lee, daughter of Daniel Lee, of New Lon- 
don, and they have had two children : ( 1 ) George 
T. attended the schools of New London, and later 
studied for two years in Germany. He married 
Gertrude V. Shepard, daughter of the late Julius T. 
Shepard, of New London, and they have one daugh- 
ter, Patricia. (2) Nancy Lee married George C. 
Morgan, a practicing attorney of New London, and 
has one child, Adelaide Matilda. 

CAPT. SAMUEL GREENE (deceased) was 
one of the best known and most highly esteemed 
whaling captains of New London. His' parentage 
on both sides was of old New England stock, his 
mother being a direct descendant of Gov. William 
Bradford, of Plymouth, who came over on the 
"Mayflower," and his father being of the eighth 
generation in direct line from Robert Greene (or 
Green, as the name was sometimes spelled) of Not- 
tingham, England, whose descendants were among 
the earliest settlers in New England. 

The Green or Greene families of W T aterford and 
Montville, are descended from (III) John Green, of 
Warwick, Rhode Island, son of (II) Richard, and 
grandson of (I) Robert Green, of Nottingham, 
England. (Ill) John Green was born about 1597, at 
Bowridge Hall, Gillingham, Dorsetshire. England, 
and was a surgeon in Salisbury, where he married 
his first wife, Joan Tattersall, Nov. 4, 1619. On 
April 6, 1635, J onn Green, his wife, Joan, and 
their children, sailed from Southhampton, in the 
ship "James," arriving at Boston, June 3d, of the 
same year. For a time they lived in Salem, Mass., 
but in August, 1637, John Green appeared in Prov- 
idence, R. I. He was one of the twelve persons to 
whom Roger Williams, Oct. 8, 1638, deeded land 
which had been purchased of Canonicus and Mian- 
tonomi, chiefs of the Narragansetts, and was also 
one of the twelve original members of the first 
Baptist Church in Rhode Island. On the death of 
his wife Joan he married (second) Alice Daniels, a 

widow, and (third) Phyllis , who died March 

10, 1688. John Green died in 1658. His seven chil- 
dren, all by his wife, Joan, were born in England, 
between the years 1620 and 1633, and baptized in 
St. Thomas Church, Salisbury. They were as fol- 
lows : John, Peter, Richard (who died young), 
James, Thomas, Joan and Mary. 

(IV) John Green (2), eldest son of John and 
Joan (Tattersall) Green, was born in England about 
1620, and married Ann Almy, born in 1627, daugh- 
ter of William Almy. He was quite a public man, 
holding many offices in the town of Warwick. R. I., 
and in the colony. He was commissioner from 1652 
to 1663, recorder for three years, general solicitor in 
1655, attorney-general from 1657 to 1660, and as- 
sistant and deputy of the colony. He was one of 



I-p 



GEXEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



several who sent a letter of congratulation to Will- 
iam and Mary on their accession to the English 
throne, and Dec. 22, 1686. received his appointment 
by Gov. Andros, as a member of his council. On 
June 2y, 1 69 1, he was voted ten shillings by the As- 
sembly for drawing up an address to their majesties. 
He died Nov. 27, 1708, and his wife May 17th, of 
the following year. Their children, all born in War- 
wick, R. I., between the years 1649 and 1671, were 
as follows : Deborah, John, William, Peter, Job, 
Philip, Richard, Anne, Catherine, Audrey and 
Samuel. 

(V) Samuel Greene, youngest son of John (2) 
and Ann (Almy) Green, was born Jan. 30. 1671. in 
Warwick, R. P, married Mary Gorton, and had one 
son, Benjamin. 

( VI) Benjamin Greene, son of Samuel and 
Mary (Gorton) Greene, was born in Warwick, about 
1702, and about 1730 married (first) Almy Angel, 
daughter of James Angel. She died about 1740. 
and he married (second) Margaret, daughter of 
Peter Strickland. His children were all born in 
Warwick, between the years 1732 and 1757. and 
were, by his first wife, Mary, Christopher, Delight, 
Stephen and Almy; and by his second wife, Benja- 
min. Samuel. Margaret and Anne. 

(VII) Benjamin Greene (2), eldest son of Ben- 
jamin and Margaret (Strickland) Greene, was born 
April 7, 1752, and married, Jan. 11. 1776, Abigail 
Dodge, born Aug. 18. 1759. He settled at Quaker 
Hill. Waterford, Conn., where he engaged in farm- 
ing. His wife died Sept. 9, 1834, and he passed 
away Aug. 14. 1839. Their children were as fol- 
lows: (1) Sarah, born Sept. 2, 1777. who married 
Elkanah Comstock : (2) Margaret, born July 27, 
1779. who married Zebediah Bolles : (3) Nancy, 
born March 5, 1783, who married Alexander Rog- 
ers: (4) Samuel, born Dec. 30, 1784, who married 
Betsey Holmes: (5) Stephen, born Feb. 1, 1794. 
who married Sarah Bolles: and (6) Frances, born 
Sept. 9. 1796. who married (first) Malcomb Cul- 
pepper, and (second) Christopher Greene. 

(YIII) Samuel Greene, eldest son of Benjamin 
(2) and Abigail (Dodge) Greene, and father of 
Samuel, of this sketch, was born in Waterford, Dec. 
30. 1784, and died Jan. 17, i860, in Montville. In 
181 1 he married Betsey Holmes, who was born in 
1787, and died April 28, 1827. She was a daughter 
of Dr. Seth Wyman and Mary (Bradford) Holmes, 
of Boston. Mass., and later of Montville, Conn., the 
latter a direct descendant of Gov. William Brad- 
ford. Samuel Greene spent his life as a farmer in 
Montville and that vicinity, where he enjoyed the 
honor and respect of the entire community. His 
children were as follows : ( 1 ) William Henry, born 
in Montville. July 8. 181 2. who died in his native 
town, unmarried: (2) John, born Aug. 21, 1813. in 
Montville. who died there, unmarried: (3) Samuel, 
born Nov. 11, 1815, who is mentioned below; (4) 
Mary Holmes, born Jan. 20, 1817, who married 
Benjamin G. Rogers, of Montville, where she died 



June 8, 1896: (5) Isaac, born Feb. 4, 1819, who 
died at the age of nineteen: (6) Abby Ann, born 
March 19, 1820, who married John P. Hempstead; 
Harriet, born May 4. 1821, who died in Mont- 
ville, unmarried; (8) Louisa L., born Aug. 7, 1822, 
who married Nicholas C. Stebbins, of Montville ; 
and (9) Orrin, born Feb. 20, 1827, who died at sea 
at the age of seventeen. 

(IN) Samuel Greene (2), third son of Samuel 
and Betsey (Holmes) Greene, was born in Water- 
ford. Conn., Nov. 11, 1815. He remained at home 
on the farm, and attended school until he was four- 
teen, when, preferring a seafaring life to that of a 
farmer, he went to New London, at that time the 
headquarters of the whaling industry. There he 
shipped under Thomas W. Williams, for a whal- 
ing voyage on the ship "Neptune/' Capt. Nathaniel 
Richards, master, a thorough sailor and an honor- 
able and upright man. Whaling voyages in those 
days often covered a period of several years, the 
route being around the Cape of Good Hope, into the 
Indian Ocean, alid frequently into the Arctic Ocean, 
as the whales there were double the size of those 
found in lower latitudes. Some idea of the enor- 
mous size of these whales may be formed when it is 
understood that the tongue alone sometimes pro- 
duced twenty-five barrels of oil, and 2500 pounds of 
bone might be taken from the head. Three of the 
large whales captured by Capt. Greene when on the 
ship "Morrison" yielded about 800 barrels. 

Capt. Greene made seven voyages under differ- 
ent sailing masters, before he became master of a 
ship. He sailed twice in the "Julius C:esar." under 
Capt. Frank Smith, and Capt. Hobron ; twice in the 
"Flora," under Capt. Richard Smith, and Capt. 
Sylvester Keeney ; twice in the "Neptune,'' the sec- 
ond time under Capt. Warren Andrews ; and made 
a year's voyage in the famous "Tuscarora." The 
latter was the vessel which figured so prominently in 
the political speeches of the late John Bishop, when 
he alluded to the prosperity of New London in the 
days when that gallant ship came sailing up the har- 
bor filled with oil. When he was twenty-three years 
of age Capt. Greene sailed as master of the "Nep- 
tune." having worked his way up from the place of 
helmsman to be second, and then first, mate, and 
finally captain. After three voyages as captain of 
the "Neptune." he sailed in the "Morrison." on the 
longest voyage of his experience, being gone three 
years and seven months. On his return from this 
voyage he had his first glimpse of his eldest son, 
Orrin, then a child of three years and three months. 
The "Morrison" was the finest vessel that ever 
sailed from the port of New London, the largest 
with the exception of the "Atlantic," owned by 
Lawrence & Co. Her timbers were of live oak, and 
she was built for the East India trade by old Stephen 
Girard — the last ship which he built. 

Capt. Greene's first season in the "Morrison" was 
the most unfortunate that he ever knew. After fast- 
ening to a whale, and killing him according to the 






GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



143 



most approved method, when everything was ready 
to tow him to the ship, he would suddenly sink, and 
in order to prevent the small hoat from going down 
with him, it was necessary to cut the line. This 
meant the complete loss of the whale, for while a 
whale that sinks in water of thirty fathoms will 
usually rise after thirty-six hours, in deep water 
the pressure keeps him down. Capt. Greene es- 
timated that during the first season he lost fully 
2000 barrels of oil in this manner. The remainder 
of the voyage was more fortunate, the "Morrison" 
bringing home 4300 barrels of oil — Capt. Greene's 
largest catch. The largest amount of oil ever 
brought into Xew London port was 4800 barrels, in 
a vessel commanded by Capt. Lorenzo Baker, of 
Groton. The next voyage made by Capt. Greene 
was in the ship "Catherine." whose principal owner 
was Thomas Fitch, who fitted her out for the trip. 
This voyage, of which Mr. Fitch never tired of tell- 
ing, was very successful. It was during this voy- 
age that a monster whale, into which the captain's 
practiced hand had hurled the harpoon, raised him- 
self straight into the air, overturned the boat, and 
brought his gigantic head down upon it with such 
force. that no piece large enough to pick up was ever 
found. All the men. fortunately, were rescued, by 
another small boat sent out from the ship. 

Capt. Greene sailed next in the "George and 
Mary," owned by Capt. Lyman Allyn, of Xew Lon- 
don : and after that in the "Neptune," which was 
then at the Sandwich Islands, fitting out for the Arc- 
tic Ocean. His next voyage was in the "Ockmulgee," 
owned by Abram Osborn. of Martha's Vineyard. He 
then sailed from Xew Bedford, in the "Nassau," 
Swift & Perry, owners. This vessel was one of the 
last victims of the Confederate privateer "Shenan- 
doah." and was the only ship lost by Capt. Greene. 
She sailed from Xew Bedford in December, 1864, 
and in June. 1865. was off the coast of Siberia, fif- 
teen miles east of Cape East. Suddenly the "Shen- 
andoah" appeared upon the scene, and captured all 
the whalers in the vicinity, taking the clothing and 
money of the crews, and burning the whalers, many 
of them laden with oil. The sailors were crowded 
onto two vessels, one of them the "Nile" of Xew 
London, and carried to San Francisco. Capt. Greene 
was on the "Nile," and from San Francisco came 
home by way of Panama. It was such acts of re- 
prisal as this of the "Shenandoah," the "Alabama," 
and other Confederate privateers, that led to the 
Alabama claims. After this adventure Capt. Greene 
sailed for the Arctic Ocean from the Sandwich 
Islands, in the ship "Jairy Perry," owned by Swift 
& Perry, of Xew Bedford. His next, and last, voy- 
age was in the "Trident." Swift & Perry, owners, 
sailing from the Sandwich Islands. On this voyage 
Capt. Greene had a miraculous escape from being 
crushed by ice-bergs, and the horror of this experi- 
ence led him to abandon whaling. Nothing could 
induce him to tempt the Arctic waters again, al- 
though Swift & Perry offered to build him a new 



vessel and let him sail on his own terms. He re- 
turned home from San Francisco by the Union Pa- 
cific railroad, then newly completed, and remained in 
Xew London until his death, May 6, 1898. He had 
made altogether eighteen voyages, eleven of them as 
captain, and, with short intervals of rest, had been 
on the high seas over forty years. 

On April 22, 1839, Capt. Greene married Mary 
Ann Crandall, born May 2^, 1821, in Xew London, 
daughter of Lewis and Bathsheba (Crandall) Cran- 
dall. The children of this union were as follows : 
(1) Orrin, born March 25, 1845, m ^~ ew London, 
died Oct. 13, 1890, in Xew York, unmarried. He 
was connected with the Atlantic Mutual Insurance 
Company for a number of years. (2) Alice, born 
Jan. 5, 1854, in Xew London, married Herbert L. 
Crandall, of the same place. (3) Frank Stanton, 
born Nov. 2, 1862, in Xew London, married Laura 
Doane, of that place, and has children, Samuel Stan- 
ton, Clark Doane and Alice Crandall. He is con- 
nected with the Xew London City Xational Bank. 
Capt. Greene was independent in politics, voting for 
the man whom he considered best qualified for the 
office. A quiet, unostentatious man, he never sought 
nor cared for office, nor for the activity of public 
life, preferring the quiet of his own home, to which 
he was greatly devoted. He was a member of the 
First Baptist Church of Xew London, to which 
he was a liberal contributor. 

HON. GEORGE WILLIAMS, in his lifetime 
prominent in affairs of state, and one of the useful 
public-spirited citizens of Xew London, was a son of 
Edward and Jane (George) Williams, the former 
one of the Queen's Guards, and was born in Buck- 
ingham Palace, London, May 25, 1814. The greater 
part of his life was spent in Xew London, Conn., 
and his death occurred there Aug. 10, 1902. 

Edward Williams saw service in the battle of 
Waterloo under Wellington. Two of his brothers, 
George and John, were also in the Queen's Guard, 
all three being men of fine physique and over six feet 
tall. Edward Williams died when his son George 
was only seven years old, and he left three other 
children, viz. : Joseph, a sea-faring man who em- 
barked on a whaling vessel and was heard from 
again in California ; Thomas, born Dec. 8, 1819 ; and 
Jane Ann, who married a Mr. Chandler, of Leaming- 
ton, England. Thomas Williams settled in Xew 
York, on first reaching America, but later went to 
Meriden, Conn., then to Tarrytown, X'. Y., and 
Westerly, R. I., in all the places following his trade 
as a baker. He married Miss Frances Sweet, of 
Xew Haven, but no children were born to them. 
Mr. Williams died May 30, 1895, and was buried in 
Meriden. Connecticut. 

George Williams first visited America in 1837, 
and was so favorably impressed with all that he saw 
that he determined to make it his permanent abode. 
He returned to England, however, as he had origi- 
nallv intended, married, and did not come back with 



144 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



his wife to make their home here till 1840. They 
settled first in New York, and remained in that city 
till 1845, when Mr. Williams removed to New Lon- 
don, and started anew there, with no capital save his 
hands and brain. He had learned the baker's trade 
in England, and for three years after his advent in 
New London he worked at that as a journeyman. 
At the end of that time his employer failed and he 
managed to secure the possession of the remnant of 
the business. He made a success where his prede- 
cessors had failed, and as his trade steadily increased 
Mr. Williams, in 1856, transferred his plant to the 
. corner of Greene and Golden streets, where he made 
his business headquarters for forty years. When 
his son, George C., returned from the war he was 
given an interest in the concern, and the firm was 
known as G. Williams & Son until a few years ago, 
when they disposed of their business to John O'Hea. 

George Williams married Miss Comfort Byett, 
who was born in Gloucester, England, July 3, 1804. 
Mrs. Williams died March 1, 1893. She was the 
mother of four children, viz. : George Cornelius, born 
Dec. 8, 1839 ; Ellen, Sept. 18. 1841 ; Jane A., wife of 
Joseph Robert Hammond, of Xew London, who has 
one daughter. Ellen, married to Henry M. Dunham, 
a professor of music in the Xew England Conserva- 
tory, and organist at Shawmut Church ; Josiah 
Charles, Sept. 1, 1848, who died Dec. 26, 1887. 

Mr. Williams never in the slightest degree 
sought official preferment, but so apparent were his 
qualifications for political life, as a representative of 
his fellow citizens, that he was repeatedly chosen for 
positions of trust and responsibility. For more than 
twenty years he occupied a seat in the common coun- 
cil and the aldermen's board. In 1877, 1885, 1886, 
1888 and 1889 he was elected to the State Legisla- 
ture, and during three of these years he was on the 
committee on Military Affairs, while he also served 
on the State's Prison committee. In the fall of 1890, 
although he was opposed by an exceptionally strong 
candidate, Mr. Williams was chosen mayor of Xew 
London ; this office he resigned because of dissatis- 
faction with some of his party associates in the coun- 
cil. The fire department is yet another field in which 
Mr. Williams' ability was displayed : he acted as 
chief engineer, and also as chairman of the commit- 
tee on that Department, and it was entirely due to 
his instrumentality that steam fire engines were in- 
troduced into Xew London at the time they were. 
He belonged to the Veteran Firemen's Association, 
and served as its president from the time of its or- 
ganization. Mr. Williams was also chairman of the 
committee on Police, and prepared many of the rules 
which now govern the force. 

In social organizations also Mr. Williams did his 
part, and took an active interest in the two fraternal 
bodies to which he belonged, Union Lodge, F. & 
A. M.. and the Palestine Commandery, of Xew 
London. In church work, too, he was prominent, 
serving for many years as senior warden of St. 
James Episcopal Church. 



It is evident that Mr. Williams' life was an ex- 
ceptionally busy one, and one with an unusually close 
connection with the municipal welfare. Time, how- 
ever, dealt gently with him, and not till almost the 
very end of his life did he show the burden of his 
ninety years. His sturdy physique and strong men- 
tality illustrate forcibly the value of a temperate and 
well spent life. He was a man of strong convictions, 
and was ever faithful to them, while his keen and 
ceaseless interest in the home of his adoption re- 
sulted in a constant giving of himself to the public 
welfare, a proof of the truest citizenship. 

George Cornelius Williams, eldest son of 
Hon. George, was born in Gloucester, England, and 
was only an infant when his parents came to Amer- 
ica. He was educated in Xew London, but as he 
was taken out of school when only thirteen, his edu- 
cation was necessarily a limited one. He went into 
his father's bakery to learn the trade, and was kept 
there until the war broke out. On July 16, 1861, he 
enlisted in Company F, 14th Conn. V. I., under Gen. 
Stone, the second man to enlist in that regiment. 
That company was known as the "fighting 14th."" 
and as such earned a wide-spread reputation. Mr. 
Williams was detailed as quartermaster's clerk,, and 
in 1 86 1 promoted to quartermaster-sergeant. He 
was under fire in all the battles in which the regiment 
was engaged, and an active participant in that at 
Gaines' Mills, where he was given a medal of honor 
for brilliant service, an honor recommended by two 
captains. Mr. Williams was one of the bravest men 
in line, and was offered a commission as second lieu- 
tenant if he would remain in the regular service. He 
was mustered out July 16, 1864, having never missed 
a day with his regiment. 

Returning home when the war was over. Mr. 
Williams went into his father's business, and they 
built up what was truthfully known as one of the 
best in Connecticut. This continued to be his pre- 
dominating interest until he retired. He is at 
present a trustee of the Mariner's Savings Bank. 
Fraternally he belongs to Brainerd Lodge. F. and 
A. M.. and religiously is an attendant upon the Sec- 
ond Congregational Church. In his politics he is 
essentiallv independent, but takes no active part in 
public affairs, although he has been school visitor 
and was once elected a selectman. This latter office 
he resigned. 

George C. Williams was married May 5, 1865, 
to Anna Sistare Raymond, born Dec. 9. 1841, daugh- 
ter of Edmond A. and Lucy (Coit) Raymond, of 
Xew London. They have one son, George Ray- 
mond, born Jan. 27, 1867. 

ALMY— BALLOU. The Almy and Ballou 
families were among the earliest of the Colonial 
families of Rhode Island, and Maturin Ballou. the 
founder of the latter family, was a co-proprietor 
with Roger Williams in his Providence Plantation. 
Since early in the nineteenth century both families 
have been prominently identified with the history of 





ML * 


i 









£yOvi^CL^t^ S3 CuLCen+j 



C&CcU^y 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



J 45 



eastern Connecticut, especially with the develop- 
ment of its industries. The forerunners of this 
branch of these families were the late Humphrey 
Almy and Leonard Ballou, who finally located and 
lived and died in Norwich. Of these men, their 
families and lineage, it is the purpose of this article 
to deal. At Norwich these families are now worth- 
ily represented by Major Leonard Ballou Almy, M. 
D., one of the leading physicians of the city. 

(I) William Almy, of Sagus, near Lynn, Mass., 
from whom the Rhode Island and Connecticut 
branches descend, was of that town, perhaps, as early 
as 1 63 1. He returned after a time, but again came 
over June 13, 1635, in the ship "Abigail," bringing 
with him his wife, Audrey, and children, Annis and 
Christopher. He removed, in 1637, to Sandwich, 
and in 1641, to Portsmouth, Rhode Island. 

(II) Christopher Almy, born in England in 
1632, came to this country in 1635, and in 1690 was 
a Deputy from Portsmouth, R. I., to the General 
Court, and assistant to Gov. Andros. In 1693 he 
was elected governor, and refused to serve. That 
same year he was sent by the Colony of Rhode Is- 
land and Providence Plantation to England to pre- 
sent the grievances of the Colony to the Crown. He 
was a captain in 1692. In July, 1661, he married 
Elizabeth Cornell, daughter of Ensign Thomas 
Cornell, who served under Gen. Kief against the In- 
dians. She died in 1708, and Mr. Almy passed away 
on June 30, 1713. 

(III) William Almy, born Oct. 27, 1665, died 
July 6, 1747. On July 12, 1688, he married De- 
borah Cook. 

(IV) Job Almy, born April 28, 1696, died Jan. 
10, 1766. He was married in East Greenwich, R. 
I., in July, 1717, to Lydia Tillinghast, who was born 
Oct. 6, 1 70 1, and died May 17, 1746. 

(V) Job Almy, born Oct. 10, 1730, died Sept. 6, 
1793. On April 27, 1750, he was married to Annie 
Slocum, who was born March 6, 1732. 

(VI) Tillinghast Almy, born March 16, 1754, 
died Sept. 22, 1830. He was married in 1777 to 
Hannah Chase, who was born March 16, 1750, and 
who died Jan. 6, 1840. 

(VII) Humphrey Almy, grandfather of Major 
Almy, was born July 25, 1789, and died Feb. 16, 
1873. On Jan. 15, 1816, he married Sarah Burgess. 
Early in the nineteenth century Humphrey Almy, 
one of the descendants of William, of Lynn and 
Portsmouth, associated with Joseph K. Angell, Na- 
than Burgess and other non-residents of Plainfield, 
Conn., arranged to occupy the water privileges long 
owned by Nathan Angell, under the name of the 
Moosup Manufacturing Company. 

Humphrey Almy and his wife celebrated their 
golden wedding Jan. 15, 1866, at the residence of 
their son, William T. Almy, at Norwich, Conn., 
where he resided for a number of years previous to 
his death, which occurred there Feb. 16, 1873. "Mr. 
Almy was a director in the Norwich Water Power 
Company ; he was never brought prominently into 
10 



public notice, leading rather a quiet, retired life. 
He was a man of amiable character, universally es- 
teemed and respected." — Norwich Bulletin, Feb. 18, 

1873- 

(VIII) Albert Henry Almy, father of Dr. L. B. 

Almy, was born Aug. 3, 1820, in Ashford, Conn., 
and his early life was spent there. He received only 
a common school education. In about 1840 he came 
to Norwich, and soon after engaged in the manu- 
facturing business, which he followed for many 
years. During the Civil war he was engaged in the 
manufacturing of firearms, on the site of the factory 
of the Hopkins & Allen Manufacturing Company. 
Later he was connected with the New York Tribune 
as financial editor, and since 1897 he has lived re- 
tired. He was one of the original corporators of 
the Norwich Free Academy, and is the oldest living 
member of that body. His home is in Buffalo, New 
York. 

On Oct. 4, 1847, Mr. Almy married Amelia 
Ballou, and their children were : Frank Ballou, 
born Aug. 23, 1848, who died Sept. 9, 1850; Leon- 
ard Ballou, born July 17, 185 1 ; Anna Eliza, born 
Oct. 9, 1854, who died Oct. 12, 1856; and John Bur- 
nett, born Sept. 23, 1857, who died Feb. 2, 1858. 
The mother of these died July 1, 1887. Her death 
was noticed by one of the Norwich papers, in which 
appeared the following : 

In the death of Mrs. Amelia Almy, wife of Mr. A. H. 
Almy, there falls upon a wide circle of friends a sense 
of personal bereavement and loss which is irreparable, if 
not inconsolable. Taken away in the fullness of life and 
in the full maturity of what has been to those who knew 
her a superb, albeit an ideal, womanhood, she leaves a 
place in the social life of the city and in the hearts of 
her friends which cannot be filled. The daughter of the 
late Leonard Ballou, she came by inheritance into a herit- 
age of rare advantage and refining influences, which assured 
to her culture of a high order and yet these alone were 
insufficient to account for the rare and rounded complete- 
ness of her character, for the gracious and winning 
courtesy of her manners, which won and charmed all who 
came in her presence, or for the wealth of womanly vir- 
tues, which would give her eminence among the best and 
truest of her sex. Those who knew her well, her zest 
for and interest in life, her unfailing good cheer, her 
facile ease and grace of conversation, her love for and 
exact knowledge of art, and the rare charm of her generous 
hospitality, will bear testimony to the difficulty of speaking 
of her except in seeming terms of extravagance. She was 
a Christian, a faithful and valued member of Park Church, 
on which falls a sense of sore bereavement in her death. 

Major Leonard Ballou Almy, M. D., was 
born July 17, 1851, at Norwich. He was educated 
at the Highland Military Academy, Worcester, 
Mass., 1864-65 ; Edwards Place school, Stockbridge, 
Mass., 1865-69 ; Yale University, A. B., class of 
1873 ; and attended three courses of lectures at Belle- 
vue Hospital Medical College, from which he was 
graduated in 1876, being ambulance surgeon to 
Bellevue Hospital in 1875-76. He then, 1876-77, 
pursued his medical studies in La Pitic, L' Hotel 
Dieu, and L'Ecolle de Medecine in Paris, Moor- 
fields Hospitals in London, and the Rotunda Hos- 



146 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



pital in Dublin. Returning to the United States in 
1877, he has practiced medicine in Norwich ever 
since. Dr. Almy has a large practice among the 
very best class of people in the city, the standing 
and intelligence of his patrons being a high tribute 
to his own worth and skill. Dr. Almy has served as 
president of the city, county and State medical so- 
cieties ; as vice-president of the surgical section of 
the Connecticut Medical Society, centennial meet- 
ing ; is a charter member of the Association of 
Military Surgeons of the United States ; presi- 
dent of the Executive Board of the William W. 
Backus Hospital at Norwich, and since 1893 has 
been surgeon and gynecologist to the same ; 
has served as a member of the medical board of 
examiners of Connecticut ; physician to the Eliza 
Huntington Memorial Home for old ladies ; State 
delegate to the Pan-American Medical Congress, 
section on military surgery ; and is also a member of 
the board of medical visitors, Hartford Retreat for 
the Insane. In 1886 he became major and surgeon 
of the Third Regiment, Connecticut National 
Guard ; in 1892 he became lieutenant-colonel and 
medical director to the Connecticut National Guard, 
and held that position until he was placed on 
the retired list in 1897. Shortly after the outbreak 
of the Spanish war he was offered (unsolicited), by 
Surgeon General Sternberg, the position of chief 
surgeon of United States Volunteers, with the rank 
of Major, and left a large practice to accept same, 
his commission to date from May 20, 1898. He was 
mustered into the service of the United States 
May 30th, and assigned to Second Army Corps; re- 
ported for duty June 27th, and same day was made 
chief surgeon, Second Division, Second Army 
Corps ; was in Camp Alger till August 3d, then 
marched across Virginia to Thoroughfare Gap, 
Aug. 12th, relieved from duty of chief surgeon, 
Second Division, Second Army Corps, and ordered 
to report at Camp YVykoff, Montauk Point ; Aug. 
20th ordered annex built to United States General 
Hospital, and was chief surgeon-in-charge until 
Sept. 25th when Annex Hospital was closed. He 
served until Oct. 5, 1898, and was honorably dis- 
charged. Dr. Almv was one of twenty-seven ap- 
pointed in the United States at that time, and the 
only one from Connecticut, and he was the medical 
man from Connecticut to be appointed by the 
President. Dr. Almy now holds the rank of 
Lieutenant-colonel in the Connecticut National 
Guard, and Major in the United States 
Volunteers. He is a member of the Naval 
and Military Order of Spanish War ; of the Mili- 
tary Order of Foreign Wars ; an associate member 
of the Military Service Institution ; a member of the 
Army and Navy Club : of the Sons of the American 
Revolution, and is eligible through eight lines to the 
Society of Colonial Wars, of which organization for 
many years he was a member, until he resigned. 
While in college Dr. Almy was a member of the Psi 
Upsilon Society. 



Dr. Almy gives his attention to surgery, as well 
as to general practice, and has devised instruments 
for taking false membrane through small tracheo- 
tomy tubes, and a pocket double spud for foreign 
bodies in the eye. His medical writings include arti- 
cles on : "Pyoktanin," published in transactions of 
Connecticut Medical Society (1891) ; "Camp Hygp- 
ene ;" "Diseases of the Ear following Scarlet Fever ;" 
"Cancer of the Uterus ;" "Some old Doctors of Nor- 
wich ;"' and a "Manual of Litter Drill for Hospital 
Corps," published by the Adjutant-General's office, 
Connecticut, and adopted by the State for use in the 
National Guard. 

On Jan. 21, 1876, Dr. Almy was married to Caro- 
line S. Webb, daughter of Julius Webb, mentioned 
elsewhere. Their children are: (1) Lydia Ballou, 
born Nov. 5, 1879, was educated in private and select 
schools, and on Oct. 28, 1903, married Donald Chap- 
pell. (2) Marguerite Leonard, born Aug. 1, 1885, 
had the same educational advantages as her sister. 
The family attend Christ Church. Their beautiful 
home is at No. 173 Washington street, in the house 
erected by the Doctor's grandfather, Leonard Ballou. 

Ballou. The Ballou family is descended from 
(I) Maturin Ballou, born probably between 1610 
and 1620, of a good family, in Devonshire, Eng- 
land, who came to New England, and was a co- 
proprietor with Roger Williams, the Colonial found- 
er of Rhode Island, in his Providence Plantations. 
Ballou appears first on record there in 1646. "The 
strong probability, if not absolute certainty, is that 
we (the Ballous of America) are the remote de- 
scendants of a Norman chieftain, who, in 1066, came 
over from France into England with William the 
Conqueror." Maturin Ballou was admitted a free- 
man at Warwick May 18, 1658. He married, be- 
tween 1646 and 1649, Hannah Pike, daughter of 
Robert. Mr. Ballou, with Robert Pike and family, 
located in Providence as early as January, 1646. He 
died between 1661 and 1663. His children were: 
John, James, Peter, Hannah, Nathaniel and Samuel. 

(II) James Ballou, born in 1652, in Providence, 
R. I., married Susanna Whitman, born Feb. 28, 
1658, daughter of Nathaniel and Mary Whitman 
(alias Weightman). Their children, all probably 
born in what is now Lincoln, R. I. (originally Prov- 
idence), were: James, Nathaniel, Obadiah, Samuel, 
Susanna, Bathsheba and Jeremiah. The parents 
settled in Lincoln soon after their marriage, in the 
vicinity of Albion Factory village, on the Blackstone 
river. He died probably soon after 1741. His wife 

'probably passed away during the year 1725. Mr. 
Ballou was a man of superior abilities, enterprise, 
judgment and moral integrity. 

(III) Nathaniel Ballou, born April 9, 1687, in 
Providence, married Mary Lovett. born in 1696, 
daughter of James Lovett. Their children, all born in 
what was then Wrentham, Mass., afterward Cum- 
berland, R. I., were: Hannah, Ruth, Amariah, 
Noah, Stephen, Sarah and Mary. The parents im- 
mediately after their marriage settled on what was 








; , ^nj^o^cc 



"V 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



147 



afterward called "Beacon Pole Hill," from its use in 
the Revolutionary war as an alarm signal station. 
There they reared their seven children. Mr. Ballou 
was one of the first town council and court of pro- 
bate chosen by the citizens of Cumberland after its 
corporation in 1746-47, and he held that office at his 
decease. He died Jan. 11, 1747-48, and his widow 
passed away Oct. 14, 1747. 

(IV) Noah Ballou, born Aug. 31, 1728, in 
Wrentham, Mass. (afterward Cumberland, R. I.), 
married (first), Oct. 17, 1750, Abigail Razee, daugh- 
ter of Joseph, and their eleven children were : Ab- 
salom, Mercy, David, Keziah, Noah, Silence, Abi- 
gail, Oliver, Ziba, Elsie and Amariah. The mother 
lived to see all of these children grow up to man- 
hood and womanhood, and she departed this life 
Sept. 10, 1794, in the sixty-ninth year of her age. 
Mr. Ballou married (second), July 7, 1796, Abigail, 
widow of Daniel Cook, and whose maiden name was 
Blackmore. Mr. Ballou lived in the Ballou neigh- 
borhood — east of "Beacon Pole Hill." He was a 
very religious man, a devout and constant reader of 
the Bible, a scrupulous attendant on public worship, 
and an exemplary professor of Baptist Christianity. 
He died March 20, 1807. His second wife and 
widow died Sept. 18, 1808, aged sixty-five. 

(V) Noah Ballou (2), born July 29, 1759, in 
Cumberland, R. I., married (first), June 10, 1784, 
Lydia Ware, born in Wrentham, Mass., Dec. 11, 
1758, daughter of Henry and Esther (Cheever) 
Ware. She died March 5, 1786, aged twenty-seven, 
and he married (second), April 12, 1787, Abigail 
Thurston, born about 1763, daughter of Dr. James 
and Phebe (Perkins) Thurston. To the second 
marriage were born children as follows : Lydia, born 
Oct. 2j, 1789, married, Nov. 26, 1815, Lewis C. 

Brown; Susanna, born Sept. 16, 1791, married 
(first) Feb. 14. 1810, Cyrus Ballou, and (second) 
L. C. Brown; Leonard was born Feb. 23, 1794; and 
Thurston, born Nov. 30, 1803, married, Nov. 23, 
1823, Caroline Follett. Noah Ballou, his wives and 
children earned a good reputation, and their memory 
is deservedly honored. At the age of sixteen, just 
after the battle of Bunker Hill, he went to Cam- 
bridge and took his brother Absalom's place in the 
Continental Army (Absalom had enlisted for six 
months, but became too ill for duty) and served out 
the term of enlistment. He subsequently served 
through several short campaigns and became a ser- 
geant. He later became a seafaring man, and still 
later followed the occupation of boatbuilding, being 
the first boatbuilder in his native town, where he 
also farmed, and was prosperous. He rose in mili- 
tary affairs to the rank of major. He finally went 
to live with his son Thurston, in Franklin, Mass., 
where he and his wife both died in the same year — 
1843 — s he Sept. 12, and he Dec. 20, aged eighty and 
eighty-four, respectively. 

(VI) Leonard Ballou, born Feb. 23, 1794, 
in Cumberland, R. L, married (first), Nov. 6, 1822, 
Ann Eliza Amsbury, born March 25, 1801, daughter 



of Jabez and Nancy (Miller) Amsbury, of Cum- 
berland, R. I., and to the union came : Lydia, born 
May 22, 1824, in Cumberland, married John B. 
Young, of the firm of Tiffany & Young, now Tif- 
fany & Co., of New York, and died in Norwich (she 
had no children) ; Amelia, born June 27, 1828, in 
Killingly, Conn., became the wife of Albert H. 
Almy. The mother of these died in Norwich, 
Conn., May 9, 1852, and Mr. Ballou married (sec- 
ond), Nov. 13, 1854, Dolly A. (Tracy) Kingsley, 
widow of Simon, of Franklin, Conn., and daughter 
of Guidon Tracy, of Windham, Conn. She died 
in Norwich, Conn., May 13, 1862, without issue. 
Mr. Ballou died at his residence in Norwich, Conn., 
Aug. 5, 1880, at the age of eighty-six years. His 
death was due to a fall which he received a few 
weeks previous. 

Mr. Ballou in youth was prepared for a class- 
ical education, but because of circumstances a col- 
lege course was abandoned. He taught school for 
a time, but early turned his attention to mechanical 
pursuits, and soon became a skilled millwright. His 
services were much sought after by the Wilkin- 
sons, the Slaters and the Browns, who were the lead- 
ing manufacturers of that period. In 1825 he pur- 
chased a mill privilege on Five-Mile river, in Kill- 
ingly, Conn., and from this small mill he developed 
the Ballou Mills, which now run 26,000 spindles. 
In this enterprise there was associated with him his 
father-in-law, Jabez Amsbury, the firm being Ams- 
bury & Ballou. In the spring of the next year these 
gentlemen removed their families to the locality 
named. Mr. Ballou became the sole owner of the 
mills, which had several times been increased in 
capacity, in 1836. His success in the manufacture of 
cotton goods was unusual, and his unimpeachable 
integrity, and promptness in meeting his payments, 
contributed to make him respected and honored by 
all who knew him. His opinions were sought on all 
occasions with reference to manufacturing changes 
and methods, even to the last years of his life. He 
closed his career as a manufacturer in 1864, when 
three-score and ten years old, and sold all his prop- 
erty in Killingly to the Attawaugan Company. The 
village where he first commenced operations is now 
known as Ballouville. During the long business 
life of Mr. Ballou he never sued any person, and 
was never sued himself for any obligation. 

Mr. Ballou was a resident of Killingly for twenty 
years, and in the autumn of 1845 removed to Nor- 
wich, where he passed the remainder of his life. 
He had been for years a member of the Congrega- 
tional Church in North Killingly, and on his removal 
to Norwich joined the Second Congregational 
Church there, and afterward became identified with 
the Park Congregational Church. He was an active 
promoter of the enterprise for erecting the church 
edifice for that religious society in 1873. He was a 
director in the First National Bank of Norwich for 
thirty-five years, and trustee of the Norwich Sav- 
ings Society, the second largest institution for sav- 



148 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ings in the State, and until increasing years rendered 
the work too onerous, his services were of great 
value to the institution. He was president for many 
years of the Norwich Water Power Company, and 
at the time of his death was president of the Occum 
Water Power Company, a director of the Norwich 
Bleaching & Calendering Company, and of the Nor- 
wich City Gas Company. 

In politics Air. Ballou was a Whig of the old 
school, and a decided Republican. He was a man 
of strong convictions and uncompromising for the 
right. To a fine, manly physique he added superior 
intellectual qualities, a well-balanced mind and sound 
judgment, with great kindness of heart and a calm 
and even temperament. Always a consistent Chris- 
tian he was peace maker in all difficulties. 

(VII) Amelia Ballou, born June 27, 1828, in 
Killingly, Conn., married Oct. 4, 1847, in Norwich, 
Conn., Albert H. Almy. 

COL. WILLIAM C. MOWRY. The Mowry 

family is one of long and honorable standing in 
Rhode Island and Eastern Connecticut. For one 
hundred years several successive generations have 
been prominent in the industries in and about Nor- 
wich, Conn., among them in turn Havilah, Deacon 
Samuel, James D. and the late Col. William C. 
Mowry, whose name introduces this article and who 
was prominent, too, in public affairs and in Masonry, 
having represented his town several times in the 
General Assembly of Connecticut and served as sec- 
retary of the Commonwealth. 

Born June 26, 1850, in Norwich, Col. Mowry 
was a son of the late James Dixon and E. Louise 
(Smith) Mowry and a descendant in the ninth gen- 
eration from Nathaniel Mowry, the first American 
ancestor of this branch of the family, from whom his 
lineage is through Capt. Joseph, Capt. Daniel, Capt. 
Joseph (2), Thomas, Havilah, Deacon Samuel and 
James Dixon Mowry. The details of these several 
generations and in the order given, follow : 

(I) Nathaniel Mowry, born in 1644, appears 
among the early settlers of Providence, R. I. He 
married in the fall of 1666 Johannah Inman, daugh- 
ter of Edward Inman. Mr. Mowry was admitted 
a freeman in Providence, May 1, 1672. He died 
March 24, 1717-18, aged seventy-three years. His 
children were : Nathaniel, John, Henry, Joseph, 
Martha, Sarah, Mary, Johannah, Patience, Marcy 
and Experience. 

(II) Capt. Joseph Mowry was married on June 
3, 1695, to Alice Whipple. In 1708 Capt. Mowry 
built a fine large house, one of the largest in the 
Colony, which was still standing in 1878 and lo- 
cated probably one mile northwesterly from the vil- 
lage of Stillwater. Here Capt. Joseph lived and 
died, and was buried in the family burial lot upon the 
farm, where many of his descendants from the sev- 
eral generations since his time now sleep. But 
little is known of his character more than a few 
meagre facts, which, however, are sufficient to show 



that he was a man of strong purpose, great deter- 
mination, an inflexible will, and was honored and 
respected by his fellow citizens. His children were : 
Daniel, Joseph, Oliver, Alice and Waite, all born 
between 1697 and 1716 inclusive. 

(III) Capt. Daniel Mowry, born Sept. 6. 1697,. 
married Mary, daughter of Thomas and Catherine 
Steere; Capt. Mowry died May 27 or 28, 1787, aged 
nearly ninety. Mary, his wife died Jan. 2, 1776, in 
her seventy-fifth year. Their children were : Joseph, 
born Nov. 10, 1723; Thomas, born May 27, 1726; 
Daniel, born Aug. 17, 1729; Elisha, born March 28, 
1735 ; Mary born Sept. 7, 1737 ; and Alice, born Dec. 
2 7> I 739- Two of these sons — Judge Daniel and 
Col. Elisha took a prominent part in town and State 
affairs during the long period comprised in the 
French and Indian war, the Revolutionary war, and 
the intervening years. 

(IV) Capt. Joseph Mowry (2), born Nov. 10, 
1723, married Feb. 12, 1743, Anne Wmipple. Mr. 
Mowry was a lawyer — a man of good abilities. He 
had many cases at the several terms of the courts 
from 1757 to 1764. He received from Gov. Hop- 
kins, in 1 76 1, a commission as captain of the 3rd 
company of the town of Smithfield. He died in the 
autumn of 1764. His children were: Job, born 
Jan. 24, 1744; Manor, born March 15, 1746; Rich- 
ard, born Feb. 11, 1748-49; Andrew, born April 4,. 
1751; Ruth, born Aug. 13, 1753; Anne, born Dec. 
14, 1755 ; Phebe, born Nov. 14, 1758; and Augustus, 
born Aug. 9, 1761. 

(V) Thomas Mowry, born March 15, 1746, mar- 
ried Rhoda Aldrich. Mr. Mowry was a man of in- 
telligence ; was a good penman and taught school. 
He built a house, which he painted red, on Chip- 
munk Hill. During the Revolution he raised a liber- 
ty pole, from which the British vessels in Newport 
Harbor could be seen. In 1813 he removed to 
Killingly, Conn., and afterwards to New York State. 
His children were : Thomas ; Jared, Havilah, Cy- 
rus, Polly and Rhoda. 

(VI) Havilah Mowry, born in November, 1776, 
in Scituate, R. I., married Fanny Dixon, born June 
14, 1774, in Killingly, Conn. He early removed to 
Connecticut, where he resided some years, then went 
to the State of New York. He taught school in 
Connecticut and in New York State. He died April 
11, 181 1, at Warren, N. Y. His wife died Aug. 9, 
1809. Their children all born in Killingly, Conn., 
were: Samuel, born June 14, 1796; Achsah. born 
Sept. 3, 1798; Sally, born Sept. 12, 1800; Havilah, 
born March 22, 1803; Harriet, born June 22, 1805; 
and Jared, born June 16, 1809. 

(VII) Deacon Samuel Mowry, born June 14, 
1796, in Killingly, Conn., married (first) Oct. 5, 
1817, Cynthia Cary. Deacon Mowry moved to Nor- 
wich, Conn., and became identified with the manu- 
facturing interests there from the start in 183 1, be- 
ginning with the first mill, that of the Thames Manu- 
facturing Company, having the management of the 
business, and also superintending the factories at 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



149 



Norwich Falls and Bozrahville, until the spring of 
1852. After a period of ill health he resumed active 
business in 1857, as a manufacturer of machinery, 
springs, axles, etc. He was one of the founders of 
the Congregational Church in Greeneville, and from 
1834, up until the time of his death, was one of its 
deacons. He was at one time a member of the State 
Legislature. He lived to be upwards of eighty years 
of age. Two children were born to the first mar- 
riage of Deacon Mowry, namely : Ann R., born Feb. 
26, 1819, in Coventry, R. I. and James Dixon, born 
Nov. 5, 1820, in Canterbury, Conn. Deacon Samuel 
married (second) April 7, 1825, Rebecca Story, -and 
their children were: John S., born Jan. 1, 1826; 
David S., born March 10, 1827 ; Stephen J., born 
June 26, 1828 ; and Cynthia R., born Nov. 13, 1830, 
all born in Bozrahville, Conn. Deacon Samuel mar- 
ried (third) June 10, 1833, Elizah Miller, and to 
them were born: William H., born June 8, 1835, 
and Eliza R.. born Xov. 10, 1837, both at Greene- 
ville, Connecticut. 

(VIII) James Dixon Mowry, born Nov. 5, 1820, 
in Canterbury, Conn., married March 19, 1844, E. 
Louise Smith, daughter of David Smith, and their 
children were : David S., born March, 1845 > Will- 
iam C, born in June, 1850; S. Louise, born in 
August, 1858 ; and Lucy C. married Frederick T. 
Mason, and has one daughter, Louise Mowry Ma- 
son. The father, as his father had been before him, 
was prominent in the affairs of the town, and a man- 
ufacturer. "In January, 1862, James D. Mowry con- 
tracted to furnish the government with 30,000 rifle 
muskets of the latest Springfield construction. The 
barrels were made at Cole & Walker's, Norwich, 
the locks by C. B. Rogers & Co., of West Chelsea, 
and other pieces at Mowry 's factory, Greeneville." 
He died February 22, 1895, in Norwich. 

William C. Mowry, the subject proper of this 
article, received his education in the Broadway 
Grammar school, and the Norwich Free Academy, 
being graduated from the latter institution in 1868. 
He had prepared himself for a course in the Shef- 
field Scientific school of Yale, but was prevented 
from entering that institution on account of an af- 
fection of his eyes. Later, having recovered the use 
of his eyes, he accepted a position in the Mowry 
Axle and Machine Company, in Greeneville, for the 
purpose of obtaining a practical knowledge of the 
business. Remaining in the mechanical department 
two years he was promoted to the business depart- 
ment of the company, which place he retained until 
1876. A short time afterwards the Page Steam 
Heating Company was organized for the purpose 
of making steam heaters, and Mr. Mowry was 
treasurer and business manager for a long time. 
Later he was the managing director of the Hopkins 
& Allen Manufacturing Company. He was identi- 
fied with a number of the business enterprises and 
institutions of Norwich. He was a director in the 
Norwich Savings Society, First National Bank, 
Norwich Water Power Company and Norwich Gas 



and Electric Company. He was one of the organ- 
izers of the Norwich Club and was a member of the 
Arcanum Club and Board of Trade. In all these 
organizations he took an active interest. 

Col. Mowry was a Republican and took an act- 
ive interest in the advancement of. the party, and 
was always ready to aid with his time and means. 
In company with W. T. Lane he represented Nor- 
wich in the Legislature in 1889, and in 1893 he was 
again a member from this town in company with W. 
H. Palmer, Jr. Mr. Mowry filled positions on im- 
portant committees, one of which investigated af- 
fairs in the state prison. He was an aide on the 
staff of Gov. Harrison in 1886. He was elected sec- 
retary of State in 1894 and received the largest vote 
of any candidate on the ticket. He proved to be a 
capable official and was popular. His religious con- 
nections were with the Park Congregational Church, 
Norwich, of which he was one of the Society Com- 
mittee. 

Col. Mowry was prominently connected with Ma- 
sonry in Norwich. He was made a member of Som- 
erset Lodge, No. 34, F. & A. M., in 1882, and took 
the thirty-second degree in Connecticut Sovereign 
Consistory April 21, 1890. He belonged to Frank- 
lin Chapter, Franklin Council and Columbian Com- 
mandery in the York Rite and to all the bodies of 
the A. and A. Scottish Rite in this city. In the 
building of the Masonic Temple in 1893 and 1894 
Mr. Mowry was closely connected with the work. 
He represented Columbian Commandery in the Ma- 
sonic Temple Corporation, and during the erection 
of the temple was a member of the building com- 
mittee, serving faithfully as far as his health would 
allow, which at that time was poor. He was vice- 
president of the corporation at the time of his death 
and was also on the board of directors. He held 
next to the highest office in Connecticut Sovereign 
Consistory, thirty-second degree, that of illustrious 
first lieutenant commander. Among his Masonic 
brtheren he was most popular, and his genial pres- 
ence among them was always desired. 

Col. Mowry had positive convictions on all mat- 
ters in which he was interested, and he had the 
courage of his convictions, but he was willing to 
give his opponents all due consideration. He was 
always cheerful and regarded highly by all who 
knew him. He was well-known throughout this 
state. His death occurred July 2, 1898, at Watkins, 
N. Y., where he had gone for the benefit of his 
health. 

HILLARD. (I) Hugh Hillard. the progenitor 
of the family in America, came from England prob- 
ably about 1630 and located at Salem, Mass. He 
became a freeman Sept. 3, 1634, but is not named in 
Felt's list of church members. He married Mar- 
garet, whom he left a widow about 1640, and she 
married John Elson, who died in 1648 at Wethers- 
field, leaving his estate to the widow and two boys. 
Mrs. Margaret Elson married for her third hus- 



150 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



band Thomas Wright, of Wethersfield, and died in 
1671. In her will, dated 1670, she names her de- 
ceased son Job Hillard and his children, and her son 
Benjamin Hillard, whom we may presume to have 
been the older. She had no children by her sec- 
ond marriage, and probably none by her third. The 
children born to Hugh Hillard and his wife Mar- 
garet were: (1) Benjamin, who may appear in the 
town records of Wethersfield as "Benoni," keeper 
of town herd in 1648 ; there is also the following 
record — "Benjamin, a fisherman of Salem, 1653, 
killed by the Indians at Hampton, June 13, 1677." 
(2) Job died in March, 1670. 

(II) Job Hillard and his wife Sarah had two 
children : William (born in 1642, died Jan. 24, 1714) 
and Sarah. Mrs. Sarah Hillard died Oct. 14, 1660, 
and Job Hillard married (second) April 1, 1661, 
Mary Oliver, said by Savage to have been the 
daughter of Thomas Oliver, of Salen. In Septem- 
ber, 1670. she administered the estate of Job, which 
amounted to 123 pounds and thirteen shillings. By 
his second marriage Job Hillard had children as 
follows: Abigail, born July 26, 1662; Benjamin, 
May 4, 1664; Job, June 1, 1669 (who died un- 
married). 

(III) William Hillard married Deborah in 1676, 
at Little Compton, R. I., where he died Jan. 24, 
1714. She was born in 1652, and died Feb. 15, 1718. 
By trade William Hillard was a cooper. His will. 
proved Feb. 1, 1714, names his wife Deborah as 
executrix, giving her a life interest in all his estate. 
Deborah Hillard's will, dated Jan. 23. 1717, proved 
March 3, 1718, names her son David as executor. 
William's estate amounted to 866 pounds, three shill- 
ings, two pence. Deborah's estate amounted to 100 
pounds, sixteen shillings. The children born to 
William and Deborah Hillard were: (1) David, 
born in 1677, died Jan. n, 1749. (2) Deborah, 
born in 1685, married Nov. 11, 1706, John Pad- 
dock, son of John and Ann (Jones) Paddock. (3) 
Esther married Jeremiah Gears, son of George and 
Sarah (Allyn) Gears, and had issue, Oliver, Han- 
nah, Esther, Zebulon, Ziporah and Jerusha. (4) 
Mary, born April 3, 1687, died in 1717 ; she married 
Dec. 25, 1704, John Palmer, son of John and Eliza- 
beth Palmer, who was born Nov. 24. 1687 ; and they 
had issue. Bridget (born March 17, 1706), Amy 
(born May 24, 170S), Deborah (born July 30, 
1710), and John (born Oct. 20, 1712). (5) Abigail, 
born July 12, 1690, married April 25, 1714, Warren 
Gibbs. (6) Sarah was born June 28, 1692. (7) Jon- 
athan, born Nov. 8, 1696, married Abigail Wilbur, 
daughter of William, May 13, 1716; she was born 
April 1, 1697, and died Oct. 5, 1741, the mother of 
David (born Sept. 3, 1718), Azariah (born Nov. 
30, 1719, died June 16, 1724), Joanna (born May 24, 
1722, married Dec. 30, 1740, Nathaniel Hancox), 
Isaac (born Oct. 2. 1726, married April 5, 175 1, at 
Westerly. R. I.. Victorious Coats, and had chil- 
dren — Abigail, born March 30, 1752, Jonathan, Feb. 
2 7> 1 754< Jorriah, Feb. 14, 1758, Elizabeth, Feb. 5, 



1763, Delight. Aug. 18, 1764, and David, Feb. \j y 
1767), John (born March 12, IJ29, married March 

5, 1 76 1, Hannah Rosseter), and Ambros (born Feb. 

6, 1731, died Jan. 24, 1732). 

(IV) David Hillard and Joanna Ambros were 
married in Stonington, Conn., July 13, 1699, by 
Joseph Church, J. P. She died April 14, 1716, in 
her thirty-ninth year. They were both taken into 
the Road Church, Stonington. Conn.. April 4. 1708,. 
and he was dismissed to the church in Little Comp- 
ton, R. I.. May 16, 1717. He lived in Stonington 
and New London, Conn., and Little Compton, R. L 
He owned land in Plainfield, Conn., which he sold 
Sept. 15, 171 1, and also bought and sold land in 
Stonington, Conn., and Salem. Mass. His will, dated 
Aug. 1, 1748, proved Feb. 7, 1749, names his wife 
Susanna as executrix. He was a military officer, 
and up to the time of his death was called captain. 
By will he left his swords to his sons. The children 
of his first marriage were : ( I ) Deborah, born April 
4, 1700. baptized at Stonington. Conn., April 8„ 
1708, married June 29, 1719, Isaac Wheaton. (2) 
Lydia, born Oct. 4, 1702, died young. (3) William 
was born Oct. 28, 1703. (4) Priscilla, born Nov. 2, 
1705, baptized at Stonington, Conn.. April 8, 1708, 
married Sept. 1, 1725, Job Palmer, and had four 
children legatees under the will of David ; her death 
occurred at Norwich, Conn. (5) John, born Nov. 

17. 1707, baptized at Stonington, Conn., April 8, 
1708, died young. (6) Oliver, born in 1709, bap- 
tized Nov. 28, 1709, by Rev. James Noyes, at Road 
Church, Stonington, Conn., married Nov. 18, 173 1, 
Sarah Wilbur, of Little Compton, R. I., who was 
born Feb. 28, 17 13. He had part of his father's 
farm in Little Compton. and was a deputy from 
there in 1762. They had children. Joanna (born 
March 26. 1733). John (April 5, 1735). Isaac (April 
1. 1737, married Feb. 28. 1759, Sarah White). David 
(April 21, 1743). William (twin of David, died in 
!756), Joseph (May 8, 1745). Oliver (Aug. 15, 
1747, died Oct. 18, 1756), and Sarah (Aug. 15, 
1747). (7) Joseph, born in August. 171 1, baptized 
Aug. 12, 171 1, by Rev. James Noyes, at Road 
Church, in Stonington, was married Feb. 25, 1735- 
36, by Joseph Fish, to Freelove Miner. (8) Dorothy, 
born in 1713. baptized May 24, 1713. married June 

18, 1736, Joseph Cole. (9) Benoni. born March 12, 
1716, baptized by Rev. James Noyes. at Road 
Church, April 22, 1716, married (first) Martha Lord 
and (second) Fatience Pierson, and died Aug. 19. 
1801. 

David Hillard, father of the above given nine 
children, married for his second wife Susanna 
Luther. She was born in 1686. and died April 6, 
1777. Their children were: (1) Mary, born June 
23, 1718. died Aug. 8, 1740; she married June 24, 
1737, William Shaw, Jr. (2) Joshua, born Oct. 27, 
1719. married, in 1744, Esther Burgess. (3) Han- 
nah, born Oct. 11. 1721. married Dec. 12, 1746. John 
Wilbur, Jr. (4) Samuel, born March 19, 1723, died 
Aug. 6, 1 741. (5) David, born Sept. 21, 1726, died 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



151 



in July, 1816; he married Sept. 19, 1746, Ann Mercy 
Irish, and he was doubtless a lieutenant-colonel in 
the 2d Regiment, Militia, of Providence, in 1776. 
(6) Susanna, born June 9, 1730, died Aug. 26, 
1730. (7) Abigail, born Oct. 11, 1732, married Dec. 
15, 1750, Champlin Potter. In May, 1774, Oliver, 
Joseph and David Hillard were three of the eighty- 
three who petitioned the Assembly of Connecticut 
for permission to build a church at Long Point, in 
Stonington. 

(V) William Hillard was baptized April 8, 1708, 
at Stonington, and was living in Stonington on 
lands given him by his father in 1745. He died 
Oct. 4, 1783. in the eightieth year of his age. 

(VI) William Hillard, jr., son of the above 
William, was married Feb. 20, 1755, in Stoning- 
ton, to Mary Denison, born Jan. 24, 1735, daughter 
of Beebe Denison, granddaughter of Daniel Deni- 
son, great-granddaughter of John Denison, and 
great-great-granddaughter of George Denison. 
William Hillard, Jr., died June 7, 1815, in his eigh- 
ty-fourth year. The children born to him were : 
John, born Oct. 4, 1756, died March 1, 1826; Will- 
iam was born Jan. 10, 1759: Azariah, born Jan. 25, 
1761, married Nov. 20, 1788, Sarah Brown; Mary 
was born April 13, 1763; Phebe was born Oct. 24, 
1765; Priscilla, born March II, 1769, married Feb. 
15, 1807, Jonathan Records; Guairden (Gordon) 
was born Feb. 10, 1771 (his wife's name was Pe- 
curah). 

( VII) John Hillard and Betsey Worthington 
Mather were married in Stonington May 25, 1783. 
She was born Dec. 16, 1763, and died Feb. 9, 1817. 
Their children were: Sarah, born Jan. 30, 1784, 
married Jesse Miner; Betsey, born June 9, 1786, 
married a Jenks, and became the mother of Phy- 
lander and Sally; Charlotte was born Feb. 14, 1788; 
John, born Feb. 14, 1790, died May 21, 1790; John, 
born April 9, 1791, removed to Ohio; Nabby, born 
Sept. 5, 1793, married David Brient, and they re- 
moved to Pennsylvania ; Clarissa, born Feb. 14, 
1795. married Martin Winchester, of Marlboro, 
Vt. ; William Mather, born May 26, 1798, died Aug. 
10, 1885 ; Elias, born Oct. 30, 1800, married Oct. 10, 

1824. Eliza Hewitt, and died Nov. 14, 1868, the 
father of Frank, Charles, Frances, Albert Clinton 
and John ; Hiram was born April 2lj 1803 ; Worth- 
ington was born Nov. 6, 1805. John Hillard was 
corporal in Capt. Hyde's Company, Fourth Regi- 
ment, Connecticut Line, Formation of 1777-81. He 
enlisted for the war, Jan. 1, 1777, and was honor- 
ably discharged Jan. 1, 1780. 

'(VIII) W'illiam Mather Hillard, born May 26, 
1798, died Aug. 10, 1885. He was married Aug. 7, 

1825, by Elias Hewitt, J. P., to Cynthia S. Wheeler, 
who was born Aug. 26, 1803, and died in 1829. They 
became the parents of the following children : Will- 
iam Horace, born Aug. 8. 1826, is spoken of ex- 
tensively hereafter ; Albert Wheeler, born Oct. 18, 
1828, married, Nov. 25, 1851, Emily Miner Ran- 
dall, daughter of William Randall. William Mather 



Hillard was married (second) May 18, 1830, by 
Rev. Asher Miner, to Lucy Morella Dewey, born 
Feb. 4, 1810, daughter of Christopher and Margaret 
(Brown) Dewey. Mrs. Hillard is yet living (1905), 
spry and active for her years. Their children were : 
(1) Lucy Morella, born April 18, 1831, married Oct. 
13, 1852, Charles Henry Crandall, son of Nathan and 
Catherine (Brown) Crandall, who was born March 
25, 1828, and who died Jan. 2, 1898; he was the 
father of Charlie, born March 21, 1854, died April 
18, 1854: Cornelius Blackledge, born Feb. 21. 1856, 
married Nov. 11, 1891, Mabel Gertrude Swift, and 
their children are Maurice Hillard (born March 21, 
1893) and Mildred (born July 14, 1899) '■> Geneva, 
born Sept-. 22, 1858, married Charles Pendleton 
Trumbull, March 2, 1881, and their children are 
Eliza Niles (born Jan. 29, 1882, married Edwin 
Loomis King, June 29. 1904), Maria Babcock (born 
March 22, 1884, died Jan. 13, 1896), Geneva Hil- 
lard (born March 30, 1886), Horace Niles (born 
Jan. 23, 1890) and Charles Pendleton (born Dec. 1, 
J &97)- (2) Margaret, born Feb. 13, 1833, married 
Oct. 9, 1867, Benjamin Franklin Sisson, son of Gil- 
bert and Desire (Maine) Sisson, who was born 
April 11, 181 1, and died Sept. 8, 1885 ; their children 
were : Fannie Abbott, born July 2, 1868, died Feb. 
15, 1871 ; Edward Carlton, born March 11, 1870, 
married Aug. 22, 1895, Edith Jones, and became the 
father of Edward Albert (born July 18, 1896), 
William (born May 6, 1898) and Margaret Carlton 
(born May 15, 1901) ; Cora, born July 26, 1872, 
died March 7, 1876; and Madge, born Dec. 12. 1876. 
(3) Eliza Ann, born Feb. 20, 1835, married Feb. 22, 
i860, Charles Edwin Hewitt, of North Stonington, 
Conn. He was the son of Stanton and Mary 
( Avery) Hewitt, and was born Feb. 1, 1834. Their 
children were : Mary Eliza, born Jan. 18, 1862, died 
Marcb 6, 1889; Jennie Morella, born Nov. 14, 1863, 
married Frank Elwin Bentley, and became the 
mother of Elwin Hewitt (born April 2, 1898), Har- 
old Stanton (born June 5, 1899) and Fernando 
Waterman (born Dec. 18, 1900) ; Kate Amelia, born 
Dec. 11, 1865, died May 28, 1888: Margaret Hil- 
lard was born Nov. 22, 1867 ; Edna, born Nov. 7, 
1877, married April 30, 1901, George Wyman 
Tryon. (4) Luke, born April 19, 1838, married 
Oct. 9, 1866, Minnie L. Nichols, daughter of John 
D. and Mary E. (Webster) Nichols, who died Feb. 
18, 1888. (5) Paul Herman was born Jan. 13, 1842. 
(6) Sabrina was born March 11, 1849. 

William Mather Hillard was a member of the 
Baptist Church in North Stonington, of which he 
was a trustee. He was a man of sterling qualities 
an I held many offices of trust in his native town. 
Prior to him the family name was spelled Hilliard, 
but he dropped the "i," and since then it has been 
spelled Hillard. 

(IX) Paul Herman Hillard, born Jan. 13, 1842, 
was married Jan. 16, f868, in New London, Conn., 
by Rev. A. P. Buell. to Caroline Matilda Noyes, who 
was born Dec. 15, 1846, daughter of Avery Denison 



i;2 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



and Bathsheba (Dickens) Xoyes. On Aug. 20, 
1862, he enlisted, becoming a private in Company 
G, 2 1 st Regiment Conn. V. I., and was honorably 
discharged July 5. 1865. After the war he re- 
ceived an appointment in the office of the adjutant 
general of Connecticut as clerk in charge of pensions, 
back pay and bounty claims, which position he held 
for three years and then resigned for political rea- 
sons. He then engaged in mercantile business at 
Binghamton. X. Y., until the spring of 1871. Since 
that time he has resided in Pawcatuck, where he has 
been engaged in the manufacture of novelties, and 
also in the life and accident insurance business and 
as a pension attorney. Mr. Hillard has always been 
prominently identified with the Masonic fraternity 
and with the Grand Army of the Republic, and is 
one of the leading men in his locality. 

( X ) William Avery Hillard, M. D.. physi- 
cian and surgeon of Pawcatuck, town of Stonington, 
was born in Binghamton. X. Y.. Aug. 20, 1870. The 
young man graduated from the 'Westerly high 
school, and then, following his natural bent, entered 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Xew 
York City, from which he was graduated June 14. 
1893. In the fall of that same year he located at 
Pawcatuck, where he remained for six months. 
The succeeding three years were spent in active 
practice at Manchester. X. H., but in April, 1897, 
he returned to Pawcatuck. where he has since built 
up a large practice, which extends throughout the 
neighborhood and into Rhode Island. 

On Dec. 25. 1895, Dr. Hillard was united in 
marriage, by Rev. George F. Babbit, with Miss 
Addie Woodbury Palmer, who was born at Haver- 
hill, Mass., April 22. 1874. daughter of Osmer Asa 
and Abbie Jane (Cummings) Palmer, at Ames- 
bury, Mass. One child, in the eleventh generation, 
Paul Xoyes. was born to Dr. and Mrs. Hillard 
March 21, 1898. Dr. Hillard is a member of the 
Xew Hampshire State Medical Society, the Ameri- 
can Medical Association, the Washington Countv 
(R. I.) Medical Society (of which he is an ex-pres- 
ident) and of the Sons of the American Revolution 
in five different lines. He has spent a great amount 
of time and energy in historical and genealogical 
research, and is a verv scholarlv man. thorou^hlv 
abreast of modern research and medical discoveries. 
As a physician he stands high in his profession, and 
socially is very popular. 

(IX) William Horace Hillard, now one of 
the venerable residents of Xorth Stonington, Conn., 
and one of its representative and prominent men, 
who has nobly borne his part in its development, 
was born in District Xo. Nine, of Xorth Stonington. 
Aug. 8. 1826, and spent his early school days in that 
district, where he was educated. Until he was 
twenty-six years of age he farmed, and then for a 
few years was a teacher in Xorth Stonington and 
Rhode Island. In i860 he began clerking for 
Charles X. Wheeler, who kept a general store in 
Xorth Stonington. and a year later bought him out, 



and since then has carried on the business alone, be- 
coming very successful. Mr. Hillard is a man who 
has always taken a deep interest in political matters. 
Prior to the formation of the Republican party, he 
was a Whig, and since then has been a strong sup- 
porter of the principles of the new party. Mr. Hil- 
lard has had a busy life, having been called upon, in 
addition to his business cares, to fill more than one 
position of trust and responsibility, among which 
may be mentioned those of school visitor ; town 
clerk, for a period of twelve years ; j*udge of pro- 
bate for the same length of time : town treasurer of 
deposit fund : and from 1877 to 1878 he was a mem- 
ber of the Legislature. Since 1861. with the excep- 
tion of the two terms when President Cleveland 
ruled, Mr. Hillard has been postmaster, and fills 
the position ably and to the entire satisfaction of 
the patrons of the post office. Religiously Mr. Hil- 
lard has been connected with the Baptist Church 
since he was twenty years of age. and he is now 
deacon and trustee, serving with Henry E. Breed 
and George A. Pendleton. 

Mr. Hillard has been married three times, his 
first wife having been Miss Maryette Burdick. In 
1878 he married Miss Nancy Mary Y\ "heeler, and on 
March 15, 1903, he was united to Miss Mary E. 
Chapman, daughter of Rev. Daniel Franklin and 
Rebecca (Getchell) Chapman. The Rev. Mr. Chap- 
man was pastor of the Pendleton Hill Baptist 
Church for twelve years, until his death in 1892, 
and was a most excellent man and eloquent preacher. 

This old and highly honored family is one of the 
best known in Xew London county. From earliest 
times, as may be seen by the records given above, 
its members have been connected with the history 
of the several localities in which they have resided, 
and there is nothing but good written of them. Those 
bearing the honored name to-day are manfully up- 
holding the standard of excellence, and following 
the examples set by those who helped to make our 
nation what it is to-day. and who assisted in estab- 
lishing and maintaining law and order when what is 
now a flourishing commonwealth was almost a 
wilderness. 

BRIGGS. The branch of this family which for 
nearly a half century has been identified with manu- 
facturing interests in eastern Connecticut is an old 
one in the State of Rhode Island. 

We have been able to trace to John Briggs. who 
is recorded in Kingston, R. I., in 1671. as a clerk of 
a military company, and the next year as a land pur- 
chaser. He was a freeman in 1673. and constable 
in 1687. It is assumed by Austin, in his Genealogi- 
cal Dictionary of Rhode Island, that Thomas Briggs. 
of Kingston and Greenwich, and Daniel Briggs. of 
East Greenwich, were his sons, his other children 
being : John, of Xorth Kingston : James, of East 
Greenwich and Kingston. Portsmouth and Crans- 
ton ; Frances : Richard, of Kingston and East Green- 
wich ; and Robert, Marv Ann and Sarah, who seem 










/ 



. 



/ 




yjs). 



'/ 




GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



153 



to have left no posterity. Frances, the wife of John 
Briggs, died in 1697, the same year as her husband. 

James Briggs resided in East Greenwich, where 
he became the father of the following children : 
Henry, who served in the French and Indian war, 
and died at East Greenwich ; Anderson, who was a 
soldier in the war of the Revolution, and died in 
West Greenwich ; and Jonathan, 

Jonathan Briggs, son of James, was born in 
1755, in East Greenwich. As a boy he went with 
Giles Pierce to Block Island, where he worked on a 
farm. During the Revolutionary war he enlisted 
and served nearly seven years. At first he belonged 
to Capt. Thomas Hughes's Company, and in 1779 
he was assigned to Col. Israel Angell's regiment. 
In 1782 he became corporal. He participated in the 
historic battles of Germantown, Monmouth and 
Yorktown, and for some years was a United States 
pensioner, receiving S8 per month. After the close 
of the war he engaged in farming at Coventry, R. 
I., near Greene Station. While taking a load of 
potatoes from the field he was caught between the 
gatepost and the hub of the cart wheel, and his 
thigh was crushed, from the effect of which he died 
Dec. 23, 1837. at the advanced age of eighty-two 
years. He was buried on the homestead farm. He 
was a man much respected by the community and 
beloved by his family. His wife, Abigail Greene, 
who was born June 17, 1758, at Harkney Hill, Cov- 
entry. R. I., daughter of Nathaniel Greene, died 
July 9. 1847. Jonathan Briggs and wife were the 
parents of the following children : Giles, born in 
Coventry, went to Medina county, Ohio, where he 
died, leaving several children ; Wanton is mentioned 
below : Olney, born in Coventry. R. I., July 9, 1791, 
married Eleanor Arnold, and died on the homestead 
farm at the age of ninety-two ; Polly, who married 
a Jordan, died in Coventry ; Xiobe married a Blan- 
chard (by whom she had two children, Almira, who 
married Williard Yickery, and Hulda, who married 
John Carpenter), and second Albert Brown: Hulda 
became the second wife of James L. Ross, of Cov- 
entry. R. I., and Clarissa, her daughter, married 
Lawton Corey, and settled in Bureau county, 
Illinois. 

Wanton Briggs, son of Jonathan, was born Oct. 
5- 1788, and was a farmer in his native town of 
Coventry. He served as a soldier in the war of 
1812. At a time when cotton factories were spring- 
ing up all over New England, and particularly in 
Rhode Island. Mr. Briggs decided to leave his farm 
and locate in the factory village of Harrisville, R. 
I., which continued to be his home for many years, 
and where he reared his children to a thorough 
knowledge of the cotton business, which several of 
them followed successfully as a life occupation. He 
was a man of good ability and sound judgment. As 
a justice of the peace, his decisions were marked for 
their impartiality and good common sense. His 
death occurred at Phenix. R. I.. March 27, 1849. anc ^ 
he was laid to rest in the Manchester cemeterv in 



Coventry, R. I. On Dec. 22, 1816, he married Mary 
Tift, who was born May 13, 1792, daughter of 
Solomon and Eunice (Burrows) Tift, of Groton, 
Conn. This marriage was blessed with the follow- 
ing children: (1) Eunice A., born in Coventry, 
Feb. 5, 1818, died May 18, 1833. (2) Jonathan, 
born April 22, 1819, died July 6, 1819. (3) Ira 
Greene was born April 29, 1820. (4) Wanton was 
born Nov. 25, 1821. (5) Jonathan T., born May 3. 
1823, lives in Sheridan, Cal., where he is engaged 
in mercantile business. He married Maria Wood- 
worth, and they have six children, Jonathan, Laura, 
Lucy, Susan, Ira and Mary. (6) Lucius, born Dec. 
21, 1825, has a sketch elsewhere in this volume. (7) 
Sarah B., born July 7, 1827, married Thomas Wil- 
bur, of North Grosvenor Dale, Conn., a sketch of 
whom appears elsewhere in this volume. (8) George 
Washington was born April 19, 1829. (9) Ezra 
was born Oct. 9, 1830. (10) Mary A., born March 
17, 1832, married Jonathan L. Spencer, now de- 
ceased, of Providence, R. I. They had nine chil- 
dren, among whom were Grace, who married John 
W. Tinkler, of Providence ; Flora, wife of Howard 
Preston, of Providence ; Robert L., of Providence ; 
Mary T., wife of Harry Holmes ; and Ralph, who 
died young. (11) James Henry Clay, born Nov. 
16, 1834, died May 8, 1857. (12) Eunice Ann, born 
July 21, 1836, is the widow of Levi Bowen Arnold, 
and lives in Putnam, Conn. They had six children, 
Ernest M., Walter S., Mary E., Lucius F., Clifford 
B. and Edwin T., the last named deceased. Mrs. 
Wanton Briggs died at Yoluntown, Conn.. July 9, 
1866, and was buried beside her husband in the 
Manchester " cemetery. Wanton Briggs was a 
Whig, and a member of the Baptist Church at Rice 
City, Rhode Island. 

Ira Greene Briggs, born in Coventry, R. I., 
April 29, 1820, received a district school education. 
He worked on the farm until he was twelve vears 
old, when his father removed to the village since 
known as Harrisville, where he was employed by 
Elisha Harris, a well known manufacturer and after- 
ward governor of the State. Ira entered Mr. Har- 
ris's factory, beginning in the picker-room, where 
he remained four years. He then worked about two 
years in the other parts of the factory, and became 
expert in all the processes of cotton manufacturing. 
At eighteen he entered the machine shops of Laval- 
ley, Lanphere & Company, in the adjoining village, 
Phenix, and worked there three years, becoming fa- 
miliar with the building of cotton machinery. Hav- 
ing attained his majority, he again entered the em- 
ployment of Mr. Harris, continuing with him for 
seven years, having charge of the repairs of the ma- 
chinery. At the end of that period the factory of 
Brown & Ives, at Hope Village, two miles above 
Harrisville, on the same stream, was being built un- 
der the supervision of David Whitman, and Mr. 
Briggs was employed to superintend the erection of 
the shafting and to get the machinery in running 
order. Having finished this task, he was engaged 



154 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



by Brown & Ives to take charge of the machinery 
and repairs, and he remained in that capacity in the 
Hope factory until 1852. He was then appointed 
superintendent of the Rockville Mills, at Hopkin- 
ton, R. I. These mills, built in 1845, were then 
owned by John C. Harris, Oliver D. Wells and Har- 
ris Lanphear. The latter, a brother-in-law of Mr. 
Briggs, had been superintendent. The business had 
not been successful, and the company was embar- 
rassed in its finances. In the four years of Mr. 
Briggs's agency, by his able administration, the in- 
debtedness was materially reduced, and the affairs 
of the company became more prosperous. 

Early in 1856, with other gentlemen, he pur- 
chased from the insolvent estate of James S. Treat, 
the mills and adjacent real estate formerly belong- 
ing to the Industrial Manufacturing Co., at Yolun- 
town, Conn., and at once commenced business as the 
Beachdale Manufacturing Co., in the manufacture 
of cotton cloth. In the same year such changes in 
the ownership took place that at its end Mr. Briggs 
owned two-fifths and Jonathan R. Wells and Thomas 
R. Wells three-fifths of the whole interest, and in 
this proportion it was held by the same persons un- 
til Nov. 20, 1857, when the Messrs. Wells sold their 
interest to John L. Ross, of North Providence, R. 
I. This partnership continued for three years. It 
was then dissolved, Mr. Briggs purchasing the in- 
terest of his partner and becoming sole proprietor 
Nov. 17, i860. On Dec. 12th, ensuing, he sold 
an interest of two-fifths to his brother-in-law, Jona- 
than L. Spencer, of Hopkinton, R. I., forming with 
him the firm of Briggs & Spencer. On Feb. 15, 
1861, Briggs & Spencer bought a mill and privilege 
half a mile below the Beachdale mill, on the same 
stream, from Samuel Gates. Mr. Gates had several 
years before built the mill and a temporary dam, but 
had not operated the mill. Briggs & Spencer did 
not occupy it, but leased it to Hiram Jencks for four 
years as a twine mill. The partnership continued 
until Oct. 1, 1863, when Mr. Spencer sold his inter- 
est to John L. Ross, the style of the firm being 
changed to Ross & Briggs. 

On July 1, 1865, Mr. Briggs sold to his young- 
est living brother, Ezra, one-fifth of his interest, 
amounting to one-tenth of the whole interest, the 
business being afterward conducted in the name of 
Ross, Briggs & Co. On Aug. 21, 1868, Ira G. 
Briggs purchased John L. Ross's interest and sold to 
his brother, Ezra, an additional one-tenth of the 
whole business and mill property, forming with him 
the firm of Ira G. Briggs & Co. Their interests in 
it were, respectively, four-fifths and one-fifth. -Dur- 
ing both the periods of the partnership of Ira G. 
Briggs and John L. Ross, the latter had no active 
connection with any part of the business, his capital 
only being invested. On Sept. 21, 1870, Ira G. 
Briggs & Co. purchased for further uses the mill 
privilege below the Gates mill formerly belonging to 
Alice Branch, having a fall of twenty-four feet, and 
-a capacity nearly double that of either of the privil- 



eges owned by them, which had been leased to sup- 
ply power to a sawmill, a gristmill and a shoddy- 
mill. The next year, 1871, they purchased the 
Doane mill, on the same stream, below the Branch 
privilege. This property had passed from the own- 
ership of Joseph H. Doane by the foreclosure of a 
mortgage, Dec. 7, 1852. During the period between 
that date and its purchase by the Messrs. Briggs it 
had been owned by different firms, neither of whom 
had been successful in operating it. Since it came 
into the hands of its last proprietors it has been 
profitably used for the manufacture of yarns and 
warps. After Mr. Briggs acquired, in i860, the con- 
trolling interest in the Beachdale mills, he expended 
large amounts out of the profits in increasing the ca- 
pacity and facilities of the mills by erecting new 
buildings, introducing improved machinery, and 
providing a larger and more continuous supply of 
water-power. He purchased the right of persons 
controlling the outlet and flowage of Beach pond, a 
principal means of supply of water power to the 
mills in Yoluntown, and below on the Pachaug river, 
erected a new dam at the outlet of the pond, and 
raised the highway for half a mile. These works 
enlarged this natural reservoir to some 1,200 acres, 
and increased the depth of the water by ten feet, 
thus enabling the Messrs. Briggs to run their mills 
throughout the year instead of nine months. The 
work was done under the supervision of Ira G. 
Briggs, and mainly at the expense of the firm. 

In 1873 Mr. Briggs became a stockholder, and 
the next year a director, in the Rockville Mills, at 
Hopkinton. R. I., in which, from 1852 to 1856, he 
had had his first experience in mill management. 
He was the general manager and agent after 1874, 
with the personal supervision of the purchase of ma- 
terial and the manufacture and sale of the goods. 
There are three of these mills, situated on successive 
privileges of the same stream, like the mills of the 
Messrs. Briggs of Yoluntown. The Rockville Mills 
were ably managed, and, in a period of general de- 
pression, were kept in constant operation, paying 
their current expenses, together with the interest on 
a large debt and heavy expenditures in improve- 
ments in the mills and machinery. In the same year, 
1873, Ira G. Briggs bought an interest in the Still- 
man Manufacturing Co., at Westerly, R. I. Their 
mill was engaged in the manufacture of cassimeres. 
Mr. Briggs continued as the head of most of these 
industries until 1896, when he retired from active 
work. He still retained, however, a large interest 
in the Briggs Manufacturing Co., the successor of 
Ira G. Briggs & Co., of which he was president until 
his death. 

While Mr. Briggs was engaged in these enter- 
prises he occupied many positions of trust and 
honor. He was first selectman of the town nine 
years in succession, a member of the lower branch 
of the General Assembly in 1865, 1866 and 1868, 
and of the Senate in 1870. In the Senate he was 
a member of the joint committee on Banks and 












u^iu^/^A 



GENEALOGICAL 'AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



155 



Banking. During the Civil war he actively engaged 
in the raising of money for the equipping of troops, 
and, in 1884, he was a delegate to the Republican 
National Convention which nominated James G. 
Blaine. In politics he was a stanch Republican. 

Mr. Briggs was a man of splendid character, 
strong and honest in his purposes, and of lofty am- 
bition. He was energetic and straightforward in 
all his business relations, and, as can be seen by a 
glance at the sketch of his business career, was never 
idle, but was laboring ceaselessly for the interests 
which he owned and represented. He was also kind 
and charitable, and he numbered many friends all 
over Connecticut and Rhode Island. He was a sin- 
cere Christian gentleman, and was a member of the 
Baptist Church in Phenix, R. I. He was a frequent 
contributing member, and held a seat there until he 
died. His death is a distinct loss to Voluntown. 
Fraternally he was a member of Somerset Lodge, 
No. 34, F. & A. M., of Norwich. 

On Oct. 1, 1846, Ira G. Briggs was united in 
marriage with Lydia Andrews, who was born June 
7, 1824, in Coventry, R. I., daughter of Holden 
Andrews. Holden Andrews was born in Warwick, 
R. I., Sept. 16, 1793, and died in 1875, in Coventry, 
R. I. Airs. Briggs died Oct. 17, 1892, and was 
buried in Manchester cemetery. The children of 
this worthy couple were : Lucy Ella, born Oct. 2, 
1850, in Scituate, R. I., married, Sept. 8, 1874, 
Thomas H. Peabody, of Westerly, R. I.; Emily 
ces, born May 8, 1854, died July 4, 1856; Emma 
Frances, born Jan. 27, 1861, in Voluntown, Conn., 
married, Oct. 1, 1884, George Wyman Carroll, of 
Norwich, Conn., and has one child, George Wyman, 
Jr., born May 9, 1886 (Mrs. Carroll belongs to the 
D. A. R.) ; Ira Elmer, born March 3, 1864, died 
July 23, 1864; and Ira Everett was born Aug. 26, 
1866, in Voluntown. Ira Greene Briggs died at his 
home in Voluntown, Conn., Jan. 6, 1902. 

Wanton Briggs, Jr., was born in Coventry, R. 
I., Nov. 25, 1 82 1. Like his brothers he attended the 
district schools, and commenced work in the mills 
at Harrisville at the age of eleven years, afterward 
attending school during the winter season. He con- 
tinued in the mill for several years, but being de- 
sirous of obtaining more of an education he attended 
the Pawcatuck Academy at Westerly, R. I., and 
Smithville Seminary, at North Scituate, R. I. For 
two terms he taught school, in Coventry and 
Knightsville. In January, 1849, during the gold 
fever, he and his brother Lucius went to California 
by way of Cape Horn, and Wanton spent fifteen 
years in the Golden State, during twelve of which 
he was engaged in ranching in Placer county, near 
Sacramento. In August, 1864, he returned East, 
and after a short residence in Voluntown went to 
Hope, R. I., where he bought a place and settled 
down to gardening, etc., spending twenty-five years 
there. At the end of that time he sold out and moved 
to Danielson, Conn., where he bought a three-acre 
tract of land on which he has since resided, and en- 



gaged in gardening. He built a home and is nicely 
located. 

In Voluntown, Conn., in 1865, Mr. Briggs mar- 
ried Julia A. Douglass, who was born in Griswold > 
Conn., daughter of George Douglass, and they had 
two children: Alice M., who is at home; and J. 
Herbert, a printer, who married Edwina Burdick, 
and resides in Danielson. 

Mr. Briggs from early childhood has had a crav- 
ing for the knowledge to be found in books, and 
steady persistency has enabled him to master many 
of the branches for which he has shown special apti- 
tude. He is a constant reader, and is continually 
adding to his store of information. One of his fav- 
orite studies is astronomy, a subject which he is 
fond of discussing, and upon which he can discourse 
very entertainingly. In politics he is a stanch Re- 
publican, but he has never had a desire for political 
preferment, the absence of any wish for prominence 
being one of his marked characteristics. Although 
he has passed the four-score mark he is still quite 
active. He is a good Christian man, temperate in 
his habits, and enjoys the respect of all who know 
him. 

George Washington Briggs, superintendent 
of the Briggs Manufacturing Company at Volun- 
town, was born in Coventry, R. I., April 19, 1829. 
He attended the district schools until seven years 
old, when he started to work in the mills of the Har- 
risville Company. There he remained until sixteen, 
and during that time attended school a few short 
terms. For one year he worked on the home farm. 
In 1845 ne became a clerk in Gov. Harris's store, 
where he worked one year, at the end of that time 
starting to learn the trade of machinist with the 
Lavalley & Lanphere Company. He continued with 
that concern until 1849, when he caught the gold 
fever, and with sixty-four other boys and men 
formed a company which started for California 
around Gape Horn in the 260-ton barque "Rio." 
The company was formed for three years, and Mr. 
Briggs, though little over eighteen years old, was 
made a director. After spending one year in the 
gold fields he had to give up on account of ill health, 
and returned home by the Panama route, which was 
then being surveyed for a railroad. After returning 
home he worked at the machinist's trade in Peck's 
machine shop for a short time, when he accepted a 
position as foreman in the machine shops of Brown 
& Ives, at Hope, R. I., where he spent fifteen years. 
In 1867 he came to Connecticut, locating at Gros- 
venor Dale, where he became superintendent of the 
lower mill, which was under the management of his 
brother, Lucius Briggs. He was thus engaged for 
six years, when he came to Voluntown, in 1873, and 
bought an interest in the mills of Ira G. Briggs & 
Co. After a short stay there he returned to Gros- 
venor Dale and for fourteen years was master me- 
chanic for the Grosvenor Dale Company. On ac- 
count of ill health he resigned and in company with 
his wife went to California, on a five months trip, 



156 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



recuperating. On his return he bought a home in 
Danielson, Conn. In 1890 he came to Voluntown 
and became superintendent of the Briggs Manufac- 
turing Company, where he has continued to fill that 
position for fourteen years, still making his home in 
Danielson, however. Socially Mr. Briggs is a mem- 
ber of Warwick Lodge, No. 16, F. & A. M., at 
Warwick, R. I. He unites with the Republican 
party on political issues, but is not active in such 
matters. 

In 1852 Mr. Briggs was married, in Hope, R. I., 
to Mary Jane Eldred, who was born in North Kings- 
ton, R. I., daughter of Ezra Eldred, and they had 
one child, Edna J., who married William Kelly, and 
has had four children, Robert, George, Arabella and 
Henry. Mrs. Briggs died in i860, and was buried 
in the family lot in Manchester cemetery. In 1861 
Mr. Briggs married Mary Anna Arnold, daughter 
of Hervey Arnold, and they have had four children : 
(1) Mary married George E. Elliott, of Grosvenor 
Dale, and had two children, Ruth F. and Rose, the 
latter now deceased. (2) Ezra Justin died when 
twenty-one months old. (3) Justus attended Wor- 
cester (Mass.) Academy, graduating therefrom at 
the head of his class, and in 1893 graduated from 
Yale College ; he is now residing in Kobe, Japan, 
where he is engaged in mercantile business. On 
Sept. 28, 1902, he married Sarah Gibberson. (4) 
Elizabeth Warner married Andrew S. Parsons, of 
New Britain, Conn., and has one child, Clifford 
Briggs. 

Mr. and Mrs. Briggs are members of the Baptist 
Church at Phenix, R. I. George W. Briggs is a 
representative of the best type of American citizen- 
ship. Faithful in every relation of life, he is re- 
spected most where best known. 

Ezra Briggs was born in Coventry, R. I., Oct. 
9, 1830. In his native place he attended school un- 
til he was eight years old, when he began working 
in the cotton mills at Harrisville, and later at Phenix, 
where he continued until he was nineteen, with the 
■exception of one year spent on the farm. In the 
spring of 1849 ne entered the machine shops of the 
Lavalley & Lanphere Company, where he spent two 
years in learning the trade. Desiring to acquire 
more education he left the shop and entered East 
Greenwich (R. I.) Academy, where he took a gen- 
eral course and fitted himself for teaching. He 
taught school for five terms in Coventry and Smith- 
field, during intervals working at the machinist's 
trade. In 1854 he accepted a position as bookkeeper 
with the Harris Lime Rock Company, with which he 
spent two years, and in the spring of 1856 he kept 
books for James H. Read & Co., cloth merchants, 
of Providence. In the fall of the same year he ac- 
cepted the position of bookkeeper with the Brown & 
Ives Cotton Manufacturing Company, at their mills 
in Hope, R. I., and was also paymaster, continuing 
to discharge the duties of that position of trust and 
responsibility for nine years. In 1865 he came to 
Voluntown, Conn., buying an interest in the mills 



of his brother, Ira G., under the firm name of Ira 
G. Briggs & Co., which company was formed into 
a corporation in 1886, until which time he had 
charge of the financial management of the business. 
On the formation of the new company he became 
secretary and treasurer, continuing as such until 
1901. In that year, on account of his age, he 
dropped active interest in the business except as an 
adviser, but still retains the positions of secretary 
and assistant treasurer. In March, 1897, Mr. 
Briggs bought a controlling interest in the Briggs 
Manufacturing Company. He is now practically 
retired from business, spending his leisure hours in 
his library, among his books, of which he has a fine 
collection. Mr. Briggs is well-read and well in- 
formed on all the leading events of the day. He 
takes a deep interest in the family history, as on 
both sides of the house he is a descendant from Revo- 
lutionary stock, and takes great pride in one of his 
possessions — the sword carried by his grandfather, 
Jonathan Briggs, who served more than six years in 
the regular army during the Revolution. 

In 1883 Mr. Briggs took his first holiday and 
with his daughter went to Europe, visiting the prin- 
cipal cities and places of interest on the continent. 
Since then he has traveled through the Southern 
and Western States with his wife and daughter, as 
far as the Pacific coast and lower California, visiting 
all the places of interest. He is a keen observer of 
men and things, and travel and reading have de- 
veloped these qualities notably. Mr. Briggs is noted 
for his genial disposition and pleasant manner. Al- 
though now in his seventy-fifth year he is still active, 
and possesses a wonderful store of knowledge. In 
politics he is a Republican, and during his residence 
in Voluntown has taken a deep interest in school 
matters, serving as a member of the school board for 
a number of years. In 1872 he was elected to the 
State Legislature, and served on the committee on 
Cities and Boroughs. In 1898 he was again elected 
to the Legislature, and during the session served as 
a committeeman on Manufactures and Judicial 
Nominations. Socially he is a member of Warwick 
(R. I.) Lodge, A. F. & A. M., which he joined in 
1863. In religious views he regards the Golden 
Rule as the highest standard, and attends the Bap- 
tist Church, which he liberally supports. While 
living at Hope, R. I., during the Civil war, Mr. 
Briggs was in 1863 commissioned captain in the 
local militia. 

On Sept. 28, 1857," in Olneyville, R. I., Mr. 
Briggs married Christina Knight, who was born in 
Abington, Pa., daughter of Zuroyal and Lucinda 
(Tompkins) Knight. Zuroyal Knight's father, 
Barzilla Knight, of Rhode Island, was a Revolu- 
tionary soldier. Mrs. Briggs is a member of the 
Baptist Church of Voluntown, a good Christian 
woman, devoted to her home, husband and family, 
of whom she feels proud. We give the following 
record of their children : ( 1 ) George Tift, born Dec. 
11, 1858, is mentioned fully below. (2) Marion Jo- 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



157 



sephine, born Sept. 18, 1861, married Arthur H. 
Eddy, of Hartford, Conn., and died April 17, 1890; 
she was buried in Cedar Hill cemetery. She had 
two children, Gertrude Briggs and Norman Tift. 
(3) Arthur Lincoln, born May 7, 1864, was educa- 
ted in the Yoluntown public school and the mili- 
tary school at Worcester, Mass. He resides in Vol- 
untown, and is vice-president of the Briggs Manu- 
facturing Company. He married Helen Rose, of 
Hartford, who is now deceased. (4) Sarah Lil- 
lian, born Jan. 20, 1871, was educated in the Volun- 
town public school and graduated from the Hart- 
ford high school. She married Will H. Barron, Jr., 
of Providence, R. I., and they reside in Danielson, 
Conn. They have had two children, Elizabeth Cate 
and Margaret Briggs, the latter deceased. (5) 
Emily Frances, born Feb. 23, 1875, attended school 
at Yoluntown and later graduated at a young ladies' 
seminary in Windsor, Conn. She also graduated 
from the Boston University with the degree of M. 
D., in the class of 1898, and now practices her pro- 
fession in Danielson. (6) Ezra Knight, born April 
7, i860, died Sept. 7, 1864, and (7) James died in 
infancy. 

George Tift Briggs, president and general man- 
ager of the Briggs Manufacturing Company, was 
born at Hope, in the town of Scituate, R. I., Dec. 11, 
1858, eldest son of Ezra Briggs. He came to Yolun- 
town with his parents, and there grew to manhood, 
attending the public schools, and later was a pupil 
in the Connecticut Literary Institute, at Suffield, 
Conn., and the Plainfield Academy. From there he 
entered the Polytechnic Institute at Worcester, 
Mass., where he graduated in the class of 1880, 
with the degree of Bachelor of Science. On return- 
ing from school he entered the mills of Ira G. Briggs 
& Co., and learned all the branches of the business, 
becoming superintendent. From there he went to 
Westerly, R. I., where he was agent for the Still- 
man Manufacturing Company, and where he spent 
nine months. 'When the Briggs Manufacturing 
Company was incorporated, in 1886, he became a 
stockholder and director. In 1888 he went to Hart- 
ford, Conn., and became a stockholder and director 
in the Eddy Electric Manufacturing Company, at 
Windsor, Conn., and during his connection there- 
with he was general superintendent. Resigning his 
position in April, 1897, he returned to Voluntown, 
and was elected general manager and vice-president 
of the Briggs Manufacturing Company, as his uncle, 
Ira G., on account of age, was withdrawing from 
the active management of the business. After the 
death of his uncle, in January, 1902, Mr. Briggs was 
elected president and continues as general manager 
of the business. During his administration the 
Griswold Cotton Company's mill, known as the 
stone mill, was bought and put into operation, mak- 
ing four mills under his able management. Mr. 
Briggs is a man of ability and a worthy successor 
of his uncle in this responsible connection. In man- 
ner he is genial, and he is popular with his employes 



and much devoted to his home, wife and children. 

On Sept. 24, 1884, Mr. Briggs married, in Dan- 
ielson, Conn., Marion B. W. Hovey, who was born 
in Killingly, Conn., daughter of Dr. Daniel and 
Alary (Butts) Hovey, and niece of the late Judge 
Hovey, of Norwich. Mrs. Briggs was educated in 
the schools of Killingly and the high school at Dan- 
ielson, and taught school in Killingly, Plainfield, 
Brooklyn, Sterling and Voluntown. She is a woman 
of culture and of refined tastes, and is a very devoted 
wife and mother. Three children blessed the union 
of Mr. and Mrs. Briggs : Marion, Katharine Knight 
and Christina Mary. 

Mr. Briggs is a member of the A. F. & A. AL, 
Washington Lodge No. 70, at Windsor, and of 
Pythagoras Chapter, at Hartford, and also affiliates 
with the Royal Arcanum of Hartford. He is one of 
the prominent residents of Voluntown, prominent in 
every department of that town's activities, and a 
worthy representative of a family of high standing. 
In politics he is a Republican. 



Alary Tift, the wife of Wanton Briggs, Sr., was 
a daughter of Solomon Tift, who was born in South 
Kingstown, R. I., Alay 28, 1758, son of Joseph and 
Lucy (Brewster) Tift. He was a soldier during the 
Revolutionary war. At Arnold's attack on New 
London, Sept. 6, 1781, he was made a prisoner of 
war by the British, and was put on board the prison 
ship "Jersey," where he came near dying of fever. 
He was a United States pensioner in 1832, and re- 
ceived from the government $40 per year. He en- 
listed in Rhode Island in Alarch, 1777, and in a pri- 
vate company called the "Kingston Reds" served 
three months under Col. John Gardner, and in July, 
1778, he enlisted for nine months in the company of 
Capt. West, under Col. Laphan, of New Jersey. 
His wife was Eunice Burrows, of Groton. He died 
Dec. 2, 1850. 

(I) John Tift (or Teft or Tefft as the name is 
variously spelled), a brother of William Tefft, of 
Boston, lived in Portsmouth, Kingston, R. I. He 
died in 1676, and his wife Alary died in 1679. Mr. 
Tift was a freeman, 1655, an< ^ vvas recorded as an 
inhabitant of Pottaquamscott in 1671. Issue: Sam- 
uel, Joshua, Tabitha. 

(II) Samuel Teft, born in 1644, in Providence, 
married Elizabeth Jenckes, who was born in 1658 
and died in 1740, a daughter of Joseph and Esther 
(Ballard) Jenckes and a sister to Joseph Jenckes, 
deputy-governor of Rhode Island. Issue : John, 
Samuel, Peter, Sarah, Elizabeth, Esther, Mary, 
Tabitha and Alercy. Samuel Teft was a freeman, 
1677 ; was taxed in Kingston, 1687, and was one of 
twenty-seven who, in 1709, bought the tract of land 
called Swamptown, being part of vacant lands in 
Narragansett ordered sold by the General Assembly. 

(III) John Tefft married Joanna Sprague, 
daughter of Jonathan and Mehetabel (Holbrook) 
Sprague, and resided in South Kingstown. He died 



158 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



in 1760, and she in 1757. Issue: John (born Dec. 
4, 1699), Joseph, Samuel, James (born April 21, 
1715), Nathan, Mary, Mercy, Mehetabel, Tabitha 
and Sarah. Mr. John Teft was one of those engaged 
in the Shannock Purchase in 1703. Previous to his 
death he had given his son Joseph a tract of land in 
Richmond, Rhode Island. 

(IV) Joseph Tefft married Feb. 22, 1729, Esther 
Brownell (of record in South Kingstown), and had 
issue : Elizabeth, born Dec. -20, 1730 ; William, Feb. 
29, 1732; Joseph, March 19, 1737; Benjamin, June 
3, 1741 ; Esther, Aug. 6, 1743; Thomas, Nov. 10, 
1745; Sarah, Aug. 24, 1747; and Samuel, Aug. 2J, 
1749 (all born in Richmond). 

(V) Joseph Tefft was born March 19, 1737. He 
was the father of Solomon. 

(VI) Solomon Tift married Eunice Burrows, 
daughter of Amos and Mary (Rathbun) Burrows, 
of Groton, Conn., Dec. 2, 1779. 

(VII) Mary Tift married Wanton Briggs, 
Senior. 

CAPT. JAMES ALLYN BILLINGS (de- 
ceased) was one of the prominent citizens of Led- 
yard, where he was held in high esteem by his fel- 
low townsmen. He was born in Ledyard on the 
farm which for many generations had been in the 
possession of the Billings family, and which is now 
occupied bv his granddaughter, and her husband, 
William I. Allyn. 

Capt. Billings was the son of Stephen and 
Martha (Allyn) Billings, and received a good, sound 
education. He began, when quite young, to teach 
school, and was a successful teacher during winter 
and summer seasons in Ledyard and neighboring 
places, until he was thirty years of age. He then 
settled down to farming on the home place, and there 
passed the remainder of his life, dying Dec. 7, 1896. 
On Dec. 28, 1852, Capt. Billings married Margaret 
J. Allyn, who was born in Ledyard, Nov. 17, 1834, 
daughter of Abel and Mary (Hakes) Allyn. Their 
children were as follows : ( 1 ) Martha B. married 
Orrin E. Stoddard, who is a wealthy retired grain 
merchant of Middletown, Conn. Of their four chil- 
dren, two daughters and one son are living, one 
daughter having passed away. (2) Mary Jane mar- 
ried Benjamin J. Gardner; their home was in Gro- 
ton, where Mrs. Gardner died, leaving two chil- 
dren. One of these has since died ; the other, Martha 
A., is the wife of William I. Allyn, of Ledyard. (3) 
Stephen Allyn married Blanche Hall, and they have 
five children. Their home is in Meriden, where Mr. 
Billings is in the grain business. (4) Anna Estella 
married Henry P. Hallock, and became the mother 
of five children, of whom four are living. Mr. Hal- 
lock is manager of a large 'dairy establishment at 
Brooklyn, N. Y., and the family home is at Wood- 
haven, Long Island. 

Capt. Billings served in the old local militia, and 
there gained his rank and title. In early life he was 
an adherent of the Whig party, and later became a 



Republican. At one time and another he held nearly 
every office which was within the gift of his fellow 
citizens. He represented his town in the Legislature 
for one term, was town clerk for a number of years, 
and held the office of judge of probate until ex- 
empted from office by age. He was a man of means 
and of great capability in many directions and pos- 
sessed the respect and confidence of everyone. He 
was an earnest member of the Ledyard Congrega- 
tional Church, as is also his widow. Mrs. Billings 
still lives on the old farm, where her entire married 
life was passed. 

CHESTER. The Chester family is one of the 
oldest in Connecticut, and Nathan Chester, the pa- 
ternal great-grandfather of Wayland Morgan Ches- 
ter, was born April 14, 1765, on the Chester farm 
near Eastern Point, in Groton, New London county. 
He passed his entire life in his native town, follow- 
ing farming on the old homestead (which is now oc- 
cupied by Judge A. S. Chester), and lived to the 
good old age of ninety-one years. He married Abi- 
gail Walworth, daughter of Elijah Walworth, and 
they became the parents of nine children, all now de- 
ceased, and of whom we have the following record : 
Nathan removed to Delaware, Ohio, and became 
president of the Ohio Wesleyan University. Charles, 
the grandfather of Wayland Morgan, is mentioned 
below. Elijah was a resident of Noank. Abigail 
died in infancy. Emily married Frank Ingham, and 
lived in Cleveland, Ohio. Asa and Eldredge, twins, 
were residents of Kankakee, 111., and Albion, N. Y., 
respectively. Daniel lived in Noank. Albert resided 
at Noank. 

Charles Chester was born in Noank, Feb. 25, 
1793, and passed the greater part of his life in that 
place, engaged in the fishery business and boatbuild- 
ing. He was industrious and unassuming, a man 
of very quiet disposition, and an earnest member of 
the Baptist Church. He married Betsey W T ilbur, 
who was born Nov. 3, 1800, and they had a family 
of four children, viz. : William, born July 22. 1822, 
who died in 1863 ; Delia, born June- 22, 1825, widow 
of George Chipman, of Noank ; Charles Ira, born 
May 2, 1834; and Daniel Webster, born Jan. 14. 
1839. The father of these died Dec. 28, 1849, the 
mother surviving until 1884. 

Capt. Charles Ira Chester was born May 2, 1834, 
near his present residence in Noank, and there re- 
ceived his education. But his school days were soon 
over, for he was but ten years of age when he went 
on the water with his father, and after the latter's 
death he engaged with other fishermen. At the age 
of twenty-two vears he became master of the sloop 
"Fulton,''' fishing off Nantucket. Later he built the 
"Restless," which he ran until he sold her in 1869. 
Capt. Chester was engaged in the coasting trade for 
sixteen vears, and besides the commands mentioned 
already he served as master of the "Triumph" 
(which was lost near Stamford), "Agnes" (five 
years), and "William C. Bee" (ten years). In 1885 






GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



159 



he retired from the coasting trade, and he has since 
followed the water only in summer time. 

On Feb. 2, 1869, in Xoank, Capt. Chester mar- 
ried Miss Harriet Morgan, daughter of Roswell 
Augustus Morgan, and three sons have blessed this 
union: Waylahd Morgan, born March 10, 1870; 
Harry Wilbur, born Nov. 27, 1872, who died Oct. 
22, 1887; and Daniel Webster, born Oct. 31, 1876. 
The Captain and his wife reside on Pearl street, in 
Noank, and he is one of the most highly respected 
residents of his locality. 

Wayland Morgan Chester, born March 10, 
1870, began his education in the public schools of 
Noank, and subsequently attended Mystic Valley 
Institute — in preparation for Colgate University, 
from which he was graduated in 1894, with the de- 
gree of A. B. He further pursued his studies in 
Colgate University, where he took post-graduate 
work in biology, receiving the degree of A. M. from 
that institution in 1896. Since then he has been en- 
gaged there, first as instructor, and now as profes- 
sor of Biology. During the summer of 1896, he 
studied in the Biological Laboratory of the Brooklyn 
Institute of Arts and Sciences, at Cold Spring Har- 
bor, L. I. ; in the summers of 1898 and 1900 he 
studied at the Marine Biological Laboratory, Wood's 
Holl, Mass. During his post-graduate life at Col- 
gate he was assistant in geology and natural his- 
tory. He was a member of the Beta Theta Pi and 
the Phi Beta Kappa fraternities. Mr. Chester mar- 
ried Laura Davis, daughter of Capt. Henry E. Davis, 
of Xoank, and thev have had three children : Mor- 
gan Elliott, born Jan. 15, 1900; Harry Wilbur, born 
July 24, 1 90 1, and Margaret Ashbey, born Jan. 21, 
1904. His religious connection is with the Baptist 
Church. 

Daniel Webster Chester received his early educa- 
tion in Noank, and later was a pupil at the Bulkeley 
high school, in New London, and the Connecticut 
Literary Institute, at Suffield, before entering Col- 
gate University, from which he was graduated in 
1900. He has, like his brother, made a specialty of 
Biology, and did post-graduate work in that line at 
Harvard in 1902-03. For two years he was engaged 
in teaching at New London, N. H., and he is at 
present teaching biology in Colby College, Water- 
ville, Maine. He was a member of the Beta Theta 
Pi while at college. In religion he is a member of 
the Baptist Church. 

WILLIAM A. HOLT, in his lifetime one of 
New London's leading business men and prominent 
and substantial citizens, is descended from a long 
and honorable ancestry. (I) William Holt, born 
about 1610, is the first of whom there is definite 
knowledge. On July 1, 1644, he was a signer of the 
New Haven constitution. His original home lot 
was on Water street, and it comprised ten acres. 
About 1675 he removed to Wallingford. His wife's 
Christian name was Sarah, and three of their chil- 
dren were baptized in her right in July, 1656. Mr. 



Holt died in Wallingford Sept. 1, 1683, aged seven- 
ty-three years. His widow married (second) Dea- 
con William Peck. To William and Sarah Holt 
were born children, as follows : John, Nathaniel, 
Mercy, Eleazer, Thomas, Joseph and Benjamin. 

(II) Sergeant Nathaniel Holt, son of William, 
was born in 1647, m New Haven. In 1673 ne re ~ 
moved to New London. He held the rank of ser- 
geant in King Philip's war, was at the Great Swamp 
fight in the Narragansett country, and was wounded 
in one of his shoulders, on that occasion, Dec. 19, 
1675. While a resident of New London he fol- 
lowed the trade of ship carpenter. He married 
(first) April 5, 1680, Rebecca, daughter of Thomas 
and Millicent (Ash) Beebe, who died in 1689. After 
her death Mr. Holt removed to Newport, R. I., and 
there had a second wife of whom little is known. He 
died at Newport May 28, 1723. 

(III) Nathaniel Holt (2), son of Sergeant Na- 
thaniel, was born July 18, 1683, in New London. On 
Dec. 20, 1706, he married Phebe Tomlin, who died 
at New London Jan. 3, 1739. He died March 19, 
1751. Their children were: Elizabeth, William, 
Phebe and Nathaniel. 

(IV) Nathaniel Holt (3), son of Nathaniel (2), 
was born in New London, Feb. 28, 171 5. On July 
2 9' I 735< ne married Mary, daughter of Thomas 
Strickland. She died Feb. 14, 1793, aged seventy- 
six years, and he died about 1770. Their children 
were: Nathaniel, Nathaniel (2), Thomas, James, 
Peter, Phebe, and several who died in infancy un- 
named. 

(V) Thomas Holt, son of Nathaniel (3), was 
born in New London, in 1743. On Sept. 24, 1769, 
he married Martha Morgan, and they had twelve 
children. Their family, however, seemed pursued 
by some fatality as nine of their children died before 
reaching the age of seventeen. The children were: 
Thomas, James, Nathaniel, Dolly, James (2), 
Martha, Nathaniel (2), Mary, Martha (2), and 
three unnamed. 

(VI) James Holt, son of Thomas, was born 
March 19, 1778. In 1797, he. married Jerusha, 
widow of John Coffrey. Mr. Holt died in 1824. His 
children were: Nancy, Thomas, Nathaniel, Harriet, 
Mary and Phebe. 

(VII) Nathaniel Holt, son of James, was born 
April 3, 1804, and in 1825, he wedded Hester Mor- 
rison. He died in 1832, and his widow then married 
Jefferson Avery, of New London. To Nathaniel 
and Hester Holt were born the following children : 
Nathaniel, born May 26, 1827, died in 1832; and 
William A., born Feb. 23, 1829, both in New Lon- 
don county. 

William A. Holt, mentioned above as a son of 
Nathaniel, acquired his education in the common 
schools of his native town. At the early age of 
twelve years he entered upon his business career as 
a clerk in the grocery store of John Douglas, and 
before he attained his majority he was familiar with 
the wavs of the commercial world. Going to New 



i6o 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



York City, he spent several years with his uncle, 
Benjamin Gomperts, manufacturer of awnings. In 
1850 he went to California, sailing around Cape 
Horn, in the schooner "Cynosure." They began the 
long trip in March, and reached the land of golden 
promise the following September. For eight years 
Mr. Holt was engaged as a salaried agent to sell 
miners' supplies in Calaveras county, Cal. Re- 
turning to Connecticut, he made the homeward 
journey by way of the Isthmus of Panama in 1858, 
and at once engaged in the grocery business on his 
own account. Later he had as a partner Jefferson 
Avery, under the firm name of Holt & Avery. They 
were first located at Xo. 16 Main street, later remov- 
ing to Xo. 50 Main street. Mr. Avery died in 1884, 
and Mr. Holt then carried on the business alone 
until his own death Dec. 29, 1897. He was a strict 
business man, meeting all his obligations with unfail- 
ing prompitude. While generous to the failings of 
others, he ruled himself strictly, and his standing 
either in business, social or private life was above 
reproach. 

On Aug. 16, 1858, soon after his return from 
California, Mr. Holt was united in marriage with 
Sarah Skinner, of Xew London, Conn., daughter of 
Deacon Joseph Skinner, and his wife, Betsey Searles, 
of Groton, daughter of John Searles. Deacon Skin- 
ner was in the trucking business for a number of 
years, retiring a few years prior to his death, which 
occurred when he was aged seventy-eight years : he 
was a deacon in the Universalist Church. Mrs. 
Betsey (Searles) Skinner died in Xew London, in 
i860, aged sixty-seven years. Of the children of 
Deacon and Mrs. Skinner, besides Mrs. Holt, but 
one is living — Mrs. Laura A. Meade, of Xew Lon- 
don ; the other four children died in youth. To 
William A. Holt and wife were born six children, 
namely : Thomas C, who died in infancy ; Jennie 
Sarah, who died at the age of four years ; Edward 
Stanley, who was educated in the common schools 
and in Buckley school, graduating from the latter, 
and who managed the business left by his father 
until his own death, June 13. 1904, in the prime of 
promising young manhood ; Emma Louise, at home ; 
Xellie Mary, who married Franklin MacCamraon, 
of Little Falls, X. Y.. and they now reside in Xew 
York, where he is engaged in the clothing business ; 
and William A.. Jr., who graduated from Harvard 
in 1897, who was for some time salesman for the 
Xational Cash Register Company, but at present is 
manager of the mercantile interests of his father's 
estate. 

Mr. Holt was long identified with the Demo- 
cratic party, and from the time of the adoption of the 
new city charter in 1874, until his death, he was in 
some capacity or other connected with city affairs. 
He served for several years as a member of the 
board of aldermen, and during his incumbency he 
was instrumental in bringing about many improve- 
ments. While his connection with the Democratic 
party began with the Republican nomination of 



Fremont for the Presidency, he was liberal in his 
views, and was always read} - to find good in the 
other side. His interests were centered in Xew 
London county, and he was naturally very much in- 
terested in the upbuilding of the city and county. 
From the time of its organization he was a member 
of the Board of Trade, and for two years was its 
president. Fraternally he was a Mason, being affili- 
ated with Union Lodge Xo. 31, F. & A. M. Of the 
Universalist Church, of which he was a member, 
he was a generous supporter, and to those in need 
he was an ever helpful friend. Xo man in Xew 
London had more friends than William A. Holt, and 
he had won them by his upright, manly traits of 
character, and his pleasant, charitable disposition. 

JAMES F. MASOX, a successful farmer of 
Franklin, resides upon a fine farm in the latter town 
which has for many generations been in the posses- 
sion of the family, the Masons being old and estab- 
lished residents of this section. The Mason family 
of Xew London county are descendants of the fa- 
mous Capt. John Mason, who was born in England 
in 1600, and who was Sir Thomas Fairfax's com- 
panion in arms in the Xetherlands, and probably 
bore the rank of lieutenant. He seems to have been 
made captain between 1630 and 1632. We quote: 

"The first occurrence of his name in the history 
of Xew England is in the year 1632-33 when he and 
Capt. Gallup, a kindred spirit, were appointed by 
the magistrate of Massachusetts to suppress the 
rapine and cruelty of Bull's band of pirates on the 
coast. The court granted to him, for his services, 
ten pounds, and in the terms of the grant he is called 
Lieutenant Mason." 

In Xovember of the year 1633 he was named by 
the court, Captain Mason, when Sergeant Stough- 
ton was chosen the ensign of his company in Massa- 
chusetts. Having settled at Dorchester he was ad- 
mitted a freeman in 1634-35, and represented this 
town at the General Court in 1635- 1636. He re- 
moved with Mr. Warham's party from their first 
location, and thus became, in 1636, one of the first 
planters of the new colony at Windsor. He is to be 
distinguished from his contemporary, Capt. John 
Mason, governor of X'ew Foundland, the associate 
of Sir Ferdinand Gorgee and others, who claimed 
the territory of Xew Hampshire. He and his friend 
\\ 'hiting were for many years distinguished leaders 
of the people, celebrated for their care and protec- 
tion of the colonies. 

Xinety men for the Pequot war were furnished 
by the three settlements of Hartford. Windsor and 
Wethersfield, and these, together with seventy Mo- 
hegans and other friendly Indians soon proceeded on 
their expedition towards Saybrook fort. The friend- 
ly Indians were led by the celebrated Uncas, sachem 
of the Mohegans, and the whole force was under the 
command of Capt. Mason. Xot long after the term- 
ination of the war, on March 8, 1638, Captain Ma- 
son was appointed Major-General of all the Con- 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



161 



necticut forces, and so remained until the close of 
his life. From 1642 to 1660 he was chosen a mag- 
istrate ; 1647, 1654, 1657 and 1661 a commissioner 
to the congress of the United Colonies ; 1664 to 1670 
chief judge of the county court; and for nine years 
from 1660 to 1669, deputy-governor. On the set- 
tlement of the town of Saybrook, as early as the year 
1637, he was one of the five principal planters, and 
in 1647 ne resided there, and was chosen one of the 
two magistrates to whom was confided the govern- 
ment of the town. In testimony of their apprecia- 
tion of his services, and especially of his exploit at 
the Mystic river, the General Court, after the ex- 
ample of the ancient Greeks who gave portions of 
land to their victorious heroes, in 1641 bestowed 
upon their valiant captain 500 acres of Pequot terri- 
tory, and a tract of equal extent for distribution 
among his comrades. On a previous occasion, 1639, 
the Court had granted him ten pounds "for his good 
services against the Pequots and otherwise." 

While Gov. YVinthrop was absent in England on 
the business of the colony, for a renewal of their 
charter, at the accession of King Charles II, on De- 
puty-Governor Mason devolved the chief conduct 
of civil affairs ; and when the charter was sanctioned 
by the royal authority, he was appointed, in 1662, 
by the king, deputy-governor until an annual election 
could be had, and at that election his appointment 
was continued. He was one of the nineteen peti- 
tioners to the king who were selected to sign the 
document in the colony's behalf. 

Having for many years resided at Saybrook, 
Major Mason in 1660 removed to Norwich, where, 
advanced in years and disabled by bodily infirmities, 
he excused himself from the service of the common- 
wealth, and soon after died, previous to the 4th day 
of June, 1672, in his seventy-third year, honored and 
lamented. He was no more a sagacious, valiant and 
intrepid military leader than he was a wise and just 
legislator and magistrate. His house at Norwich 
was a little south of the old Court House, on the old 
road leading to New London, near the bridge over 
the Yantic, and was bought by the town in 1692, for 
a parsonage. In a neighboring field of graves re- 
pose the ashes, where a monument designates the 
last resting place of the first military officer and the 
deputy-governor of the colony of Connecticut. He 
left three sons and four daughters by his second 
ife, whom he married at Windsor. They were : 
riscilla, born October, 1641 ; Samuel, born Jul}-, 
1644 ; John, born August. 1646 ; Rachel, born Octo- 
ber, 1648; Anne, born June, 1650; Daniel, born 
April, 1652 ; and Elizabeth, born August, 1654. To 
hese children are to be traced the genealogies of 
ery many descendants conspicuous for intellectual 
endowments and moral worth. 

Lieut. Daniel Mason, the third son of Captain 
John, resided at Lebanon, and was, for a time, in 
1679, a school master at Norwich. He died in 1736 
at Stonington, at the age of eighty-five years. 

Daniel Mason, son of Lieut. Daniel, was born in 
11 



1676, at Roxbury, his mother having been sent 
thither to her friends on account of the Indian 
troubles at Norwich, and he was baptized there Feb. 
9, 1676, by the pastor of the first church at Rox- 
bury, Rev. John Eliot, the apostle to the Indians. 
Daniel Mason was married April 19, 1704, to Dor- 
othy, daughter of Rev. Jeremiah Hobart, of Had- 
dam, and died July 4, 1706, a resident of Lebanon. 

Jeremiah Mason, only child of Daniel, was born 
March 4, 1705, and married May 24, 1727, Mary, 
daughter of Thomas, son of William Clark, one of 
the first settlers at Haddam. After his marriage he 
removed to Franklin, Conn., and there had born 
to him four sons and four daughters. The farm on 
which he settled is now owned by James F. Mason. 
Jeremiah Mason was a deacon in the Congregational 
Church, and an influential man in the town. He 
died in 1779, and his widow died at the advanced 
age of ninety-six years in the house in Lebanon, 
Conn., where their great-great-granddaughter, 
Nancy Fitch Mason, now resides. 

Jeremiah Mason (2), son of Jeremiah, was born 
in 1730, at Franklin, Conn., and married Elizabeth, 
a descendant of Rev. James Fitch, who was born at 
Bocking, County Essex, England, Dec. 24. 1632, 
and settled at Saybrook, Conn., removing thence to 
Norwich, where he was the first pastor of the Con- 
gregational Church. He passed away at Leb- 
anon, Nov. 18, 1702. Elizabeth Fitch was born in 
1732, and died in 1809. Jeremiah Mason served 
with distinction in the Revolutionary War, and was 
known as Colonel Mason. He was prominent in 
town and county affairs, and ever endeavored to be 
a good and useful citizen. By occupation he was a 
farmer, and he reared his children in habits of in- 
dustry and sobriety. He is recalled as a good man, 
one who was affectionate to his family, kind and 
obliging to his neighbors, and faithful and strict in 
the observance of all moral and religious duties. His 
death occurred in 1813. We have the following 
record of his children : Abigail, married Capt. An- 
drew Fitch, a captain in the Revolutionary war 
Elizabeth married John Hillhouse, of Montville 
Ann married Christopher Raymond, of Montville 
Mary married John N. Peabody : Rhoda married 
Mumford Dolbeare ; James Fitch, was our subject's 
grandfather ; Jeremiah became a United States Sen- 
ator and a renowned lawyer of Boston ; and Daniel 
married Eunice, daughter of Capt. William Hunt- 
ington, a farmer and manufacturer of woolen goods. 

James Fitch Mason, sixth child of Jeremiah Ma- 
son (2), was born in 1762, at Lebanon, was a farmer 
and resided in the house now occupied ( 1904) by 
his granddaughter, Nancy F. Mason. Shortly after 
his marriage he settled there and spent his whole life 
in the same home, dying May 7, 1835. He was 
known as a man of impulse and nervous tempera- 
ment, and of precise habits of life. He married 
Nancy, daughter of Joseph Fitch, of Montville, who 
died June 10, 1832, aged sixty-six years, leaving 
children as follows: Elizabeth married Hon. Elisha 



1 62 



GENEALOGICAL AXD BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Waterman, who was one of the most prominent citi- 
zens of Lebanon ; Nancy F. died Sept. 4, 1850, aged 
fifty-eight years, unmarried ; Jeremiah is mentioned 
later : James Fitch entered Yale College at the age 
of seventeen years, being at that time the youngest 
student ever admitted, became a lawyer at Hartford, 
and defended the Masonic order during the Morgan 
episode, but owing to the strong factional feeling 
he left that city and went to Lockport. X. Y., and 
died there May 25. 1836; Sarah died unmarried. 
April 9, 1866. aged sixty-six years ; Alfred went 
West in early life, and died there ; William was a 
farmer and died in Lebanon. May 28, 1840.. aged 
thirty-five years ; and Edward. 

Hon. Jeremiah Mason, above mentioned, was 
born in the family home. March 4. 1795. His edu- 
cational advantages were of a liirrited nature, yet by 
that same energy which had always marked his 
progress, he acquired a good, practical education. 
His life work was farming, and by frugality, per- 
severance and sound business judgment he became 
one of the largest and best fanners of Lebanon. In 
family relations he was in every way admirable, 
serving as a kind and tender father to the children 
of his deceased brother Edward. After the latter's 
death he invited the widow and the three children, 
the eldest thirteen, and the youngest three years of 
age, to make their home with him and his two sis- 
ters, expressing a wish that the family might be 
kept together, and he spared no expense that a father 
could bestow upon his children. This was but one 
phase of his character, for he was very liberal to the 
church as well as charitable to the poor. Through 
life he was always attracted by children, and they 
reciprocated his kind feelings. He never married. 
Jeremiah Mason was a man of progressive ideas and 
kept abreast of the times, attending to the demands 
of business according to modern methods. In poli- 
tics he was a Republican, and while of a quiet, pa- 
cific nature, delighting most in his own home fire- 
side, his realization of the duties of good citizenship 
induced his acceptance of the office of representative 
in 1862. He was universally respected, and had a 
wide circle of most attached friends. Mr. Mason's 
days were prolonged on the earth, his death taking 
place May 7. 1886. at the age of ninety-one years, 
and he was buried in the cemetery west of Lebanon 
Green. 

Edward Mason, the youngest child of James 
Fitch Mason, was born in Lebanon, and was reared 
to farm work. He obtained his education in the dis- 
trict schools and remained at home until his mar- 
riage. Soon after this event he removed to the town 
of Franklin, near Yantic. where he engaged in a 
butchering business. Later he removed to a farm in 
Goshen, the Jeremiah Mason (2) farm, and was 
prospering when he was stricken with some fell 
disease, while apparently in the best of health, and 
died March 30. 1849. aged thirty-nine years. In 
politics he was a Whig. In 1834. he married Phy- 
lura O. Stiles, born Jan. 4. 1814, at Guilford, Conn., 



daughter of Edmund and Wealthy (Loomis) Stiles, 
extended mention of this prominent family being 
found elsewhere. She in widowhood married Gid- 
eon Hoxie, of Lebanon, and she died in November, 
i860, leaving one child, George H. Hoxie. The 
children of Edward and Phylura O. Mason were: 
James Fitch ; Xancy Fitch resides on the homestead 
in Lebanon; George Edward died April 10, 1842, 
aged four years : William Alfred enlisted in the 8th 
Reg. Conn. Y. I., at the age of seventeen years, dur- 
ing the Civil war, and lived but six months, dying 
at Xewbern. X. C. May 2, 1862, an early victim of 
the Rebellion ; and Jeremiah died Feb. 20, 1846, 
aged four months. 

James Fitch Mason, the eldest of the above fam- 
ily, was born Dec. 22, 1835, near Yantic, in the 
south part of the town of Franklin. He was but a 
youth when his father died, and he was reared under 
the kind care of his uncle Jeremiah. His education 
was secured in the district schools and the Connecti- 
cut Literary Institute at Suffield, and after leaving 
school he returned to the farm, and assisted his uncle 
until the time of his marriage. This event was made 
possible by the continued kindness of his relative, 
who presented him a farm of 175 acres, to 
which he removed, and where he has ever since re- 
sided. This home place is now a very valuable and 
desirable piece of property, owing its improvements 
in the way of buildings to our subject, who in 1884- 
85 erected the present handsome residence, one of 
the best in Franklin. He has also added acreage to 
his farm, and now owns some 600 acres of land, part 
of which are located in both the towns of Lebanon 
and Franklin. Mr. Mason has made the growing of 
stock his leading employment, and has met with ex- 
cellent success. In past years he has been partial 
to Durham cattle, and always kept large herds which 
have attracted much favorable attention and have 
been exhibited many times. He has also fattened 
and shipped beef for market, by his thorough knowl- 
edge and good management making this a very prof- 
itable business. As he has the management of his 
sister Xancy's farming interests in his care, he 
operates about 1.100 acres of land, and handles a 
large amount of live stock, but during the past few 
years has turned much of his agricultural business 
over to his son and son-in-law. Mr. Mason may be 
said to have one fad, if fad it be. and that is. the 
possession of some fine, high-bred horses. He is an 
admirer of the noble beast, and is one of the most 
enthusiastic members of the Gentlemen's Driving 
Club at Xorwich. 

On Nov. 5. 1 86 1. Mr. Mason was married to 
Fannie G Hoxie. born April 18, 1833. daughter of 
Samuel and Phebe A. (Lillibridge) Hoxie. extended 
mention of this family being found elsewhere. The 
children of Mr. and Mrs. Mason are: (1) William 
Alfred, born March 25. 1863. obtained his educa- 
tional training in the district schools. Williston 
Academy and Eastman's Business College at Pough- 
keepsie, X. Y. He assists his father and relieves 




HAM MA. 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



163 



him of many of the active duties of the large estate. 
On Jan. 26, 1888, he married Mary R. Gay, born 
Nov. 15, 1858, daughter of the late William R. Gay, 
of Lebanon, and they have children as follows : Al- 
fred Gay, born Feb. 13, 1889; Harold James, born 
Jan. 11, 1891 ; Edward William, born May 29, 
1897; and Marion Nancy, born March 9, 1900. (2) 
Fanny Fitch, born Aug. 12, 1871, married, Nov. 16, 
1893, Frederick W. Hoxie, a farmer who assists in 
the operation of Mr. Mason's estate. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hoxie have had children as follows : Frederick 
James, born July 3, 1896, died in April, 1900; Her- 
bert Mason, born Aug. 19, 1897 ; and Mabel Gladys, 
born Nov. 5, 1899. 

In politics Mr. Mason has always been identified 
with the Republican party, but has had no political 
aspirations. He has been active, however, in all 
matters pertaining to the advancement of the agri- 
cultural interests of this section, and served for 
many years as president of the Lebanon Creamery 
Association. Through his encouragement and that 
of George E. Hewitt, the business was continued and 
made profitable to the stockholders, at a time when 
it was threatened with disaster. He was a charter 
member of the Grange, but at present does not be- 
long to that organization. Mrs. Mason is an active 
member of the Congregational Church, and Mr. 
Mason has been its chorister for the past forty-six 
years. His early musical talent was cultivated at the 
Boston Conservatory of Music. Mr. Mason is 
known all through this section of the State, and en- 
joys the esteem of those with whom he has either 
business or social relations. He impresses a stranger 
as a man of character and firmness, and such is the 
estimate given by his fellow-citizens. 

CHARLES H. KENYON, in his lifetime a well 
known figure in the manufacturing world of Con- 
necticut, was born in Richmond, R. I., Aug. 21, 
1825, a son of Lewis and Ann (Sherman) Kenyon 
(the father also a native of Richmond), and a grand- 
son of Elijah Kenyon, an early settler of "Little 
Rhody" — Rhode Island. Of the eleven children of 
Lewis Kenyon but one, Miss Susan, is living, and 
she resides at the old home at Kenyon, Rhode 
Island. 

Mr. Kenyon received a liberal education in the 
schools of his native village and in an Academy at 
North Scituate, R. I., and then made use of his ad- 
vantages by teaching in Richmond. His early work 
was in the mills with his father, and in young man- 
hood he came to Connecticut, locating at Laurel- 
glen, this State. There he became engaged in wool 
manufacturing, and continued in that line until 
186 1, when he located in Norwich and bought the 
mills in South Coventry, Tolland Co., Conn., which 
he devoted to wool manufacturing as long as he 
lived. While he always devoted the greater part 
of his time and attention to wool manufacturing, he 
was interested in the cotton mills at Bozrahville, 
Connecticut. 



Mr. Kenyon was a Republican in politics, but, 
while always interested in public matters, he was of 
too retiring a disposition to care to pose in the 
fierce light that shines on those in official position. 
He was of kindly disposition, charitable in his views, 
and consistently carried into the walks of every-day 
life the simple, unaffected manners of the old-time 
Quakers, in whose faith he had been reared. His 
ideas were progressive, and he was ever ready to 
adopt new methods in his business. He was just 
and considerate in his rule, and his employes looked 
to him as a friend they honored and respected, and 
who would, in need, stand faithfully by them. He 
died Sept. 20, 1 891, and was laid to rest at Kenyon, 
Rhode Island. 

In 1861, in Stonington, Conn., Mr. Kenyon was 
united in marriage with Emeline Newell Bentley, 
who was born in that town, a daughter of Russell 
and Susan (Stanton) Bentley. Three children 
blessed this union: (1); Carrie Stanton married 
William S. Slocum, a merchant at Brookline, Mass., 
and has two children, Rodney Kenyon and Stanton 
Farrier. (2) Charles Henry, who is treasurer of 
the National Machinery Co., at Providence, R. I., 
married Clara Hankey, of Arlington, N. J., and has 
one child, Clarice. (3) A son died in infancy. Mrs. 
Kenyon survives her husband, and still plays an im- 
portant part in the social life of Norwich. She is a 
member of Faith Trumbull Chapter, D. A. R., and 
is a member of Broadway Congregational Church. 

The Bentley family, to which Mrs. Kenyon be- 
longs, is descended from William Bentley, who came 
to New England in the ship "Arabella" in 1671. 

The Stanton family, to which Mrs. Kenyon is 
related in the maternal line, is traced to Capt. 
Thomas Stanton, the first ancestor in America, who 
embarked at London, England, Jan. 2, 1635, in the 
merchant ship "Bonaventura," bound first for Vir- 
ginia, and thence to Boston. He settled in Hart- 
ford, Conn., in 1637, and there married Ann, daugh- 
ter of Dr. Thomas and Dorothy Lord, of Hartford. 

JAMES LEWIS AUSTIN (deceased) was one 
of the leading and prominent farmers of the town of 
Franklin, and he belonged to an old and honored 
family of Rhode Island, of which State he was a 
native. 

Pardon Austin, father of James Lewis, was born 
Aug. 20, 1788, and during his active life, was a 
resident of Charlestown, R. I. He learned the trade 
of tanner, at which he worked in early life, but later 
devoted his attention exclusively to farming. After 
giving up active work, he went to Franklin in 1872, 
and there resided with his son James L., until his 
death, which occurred April 29, 1877. His remains 
were buried in River Bend Cemetery, Westerly, 
R. I. His death was due to old age, for he had been 
a man of excellent health. In politics he was first 
a Whig, and later a Republican ; and his religious 
connection was with the Baptist Church at Charles- 
town. R. I. He married Nancy Sheffield, born Nov. 



164 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



20, 1792, in Charlestown, R. I., and she died in that 
town in 1859. The children born of this union were : 
(1) Stanton, Sept. 14, 1812, was a Methodist min- 
ister, and was located for many years at Hopkinton, 
R. I., where he died. He was married twice. (2) 
Mathew, born Feb. 14, 1817, married Mary Hull. He 
was a stone mason, and lived and died in Westerly, 
R. I. (3) Charles P., Sept. 10, 1822, was drowned 
at sea when a young man. (4) James Lewis was 
born Oct. 22, 1829. (5) Ann Maria, born Sept. 9, 
1832, married George Boss, and resides at Hope 
Valley, Rhode Island. 

James Lewis Austin was born in Charlestown, 
R. I. In the winter seasons he went to the district 
school, and during the summers he worked at farm 
tasks. While a boy yet in his teens, he went to 
sea on a whaling vessel, and made several voyages, 
some of them covering one or more years. He gave 
up whaling voyages, however, and was engaged in 
the coasting trade as mate, for two years. He then 
began farming on a rented farm in Charlestown, 
and there continued three years. In 1862 he re- 
moved to Norwich Town, Conn., and resided on two 
different rented farms, which were located along the 
Baltic road, remaining nine years, until 1871, when 
he settled in Franklin, again upon rented land, ad- 
joining the farm which he later purchased. The 
latter is now owned by Abial Browning, but was 
then in the possession of George E. Hewitt. There 
he lived for about eleven years, or until 1882, when 
he purchased the adjoining farm from Lathrop 
Williams, consisting of 130 acres. He added to this 
property, and at the time of his death owned over 
180 acres. Upon this farm he made very exten- 
sive improvements, erecting a large barn and a silo, 
and was recognized as one of the prominent dairy- 
men in the town. He also had a reputation for 
breeding fancy Swiss stock, and was successful in 
all his undertakings. 

On Oct. 1, 1855, Mr. Austin was married in 
Stonington, Conn., to Sarah A. Gavitt, a native of 
Westerly, R. I., daughter of Charles P. and Hannah 
(Gavitt) Gavitt. She now resides upon the home 
farm at North Franklin. The children born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Austin were: Benajah, born Dec. 30, 
1856, died at the age of thirteen years ; Sarah Louise, 
born April 17, 1859, married James O. Babcock, of 
Westerly, R. I., and has one child, Lewis Austin; 
Mary Elizabeth, born May 31, 1862. married Dea- 
con Archibald Gallup, of Scotland, Conn., and they 
have one child. Winslow Sprague ; a daughter and 
a son died in infancy unnamed : Minnie Carrie, born 
Nov. 25, 1868, is the widow of William T. Bab- 
cock, and resides in Franklin (she has one daugh- 
ter, Martha). 

In politics Mr. Austin was a Republican, and 
had served as a member of the board of selectmen 
of Franklin for many years, and he also held many 
of the other town offices, being active and influential 
in town affairs. Mr. Austin was one of the incor- 
porators of the Lebanon Creamery Association, and 



served for a number of years as a director in the 
same. Early in life he united with the Baptist 
Church at Baltic, but after removing to Franklin, 
he attended the Baptist Church in Lebanon, and 
later the Congregational Church at Franklin. His 
death was preceded by failing health for several 
months, and the end came Sept. 26, 1902, when he 
passed peacefully away, sustained by his faith in his 
religious creed, and the love of those dear to him. 
The funeral services were very largely attended, 
friends and acquaintances gathering in large num- 
bers to do honor to one who in life had never failed 
in any duty, either as a private citizen or public of- 
ficial. The remains were tenderly laid to rest in 
the Yantic cemetery in Norwich. 

Mr. Austin was a self-made man, progressive 
in his ideas, and his methods of conducting his 
affairs were, and are, followed by many of the best 
farmers and dairymen of the town. During their 
long happy married life Mr. and Mrs. Austin la- 
bored together, he always declaring that a large 
measure of his success was due to her industry and 
thrift, both in the household and in the management 
of their children. With him she always enjoyed the 
highest confidence of the community, and now in her 
widowhood there is added for this most excellent 
lady, the sympathy of those who knew Mr. Austin 
and appreciated his many noble traits of character. 

WILLIAM SOULE, M. D., entered into rest on 
May 15, 1900, in Jewett City, after an active life 
filled with good deeds. With respect to age he was 
the oldest physician in the city, while the years of 
his practice were more than a quarter of a century 
in excess of any other practitioner here. He was 
essentially one of that fast-disappearing class — the 
family physician. For generations he administered 
to the ailments of his patients, from grandparents to 
grandchildren — all knew him, employed him and be- 
lieved in him. He was the confidant of all the 
troubles — physical, mental, or financial — that beset 
the families in his clientele. Patient, gentle and 
sympathetic, he was always the same courtly gentle- 
man, whose own trials were put aside while he so 
constantly ministered to others. 

Born Aug. 24, 1827, in Chaplin, Conn., son of 
Ivory and Marilla (Bingham) Soule, he was a de- 
scendant of George Soule, who came to America in 
the "Mayflower," and was the thirty-fifth signer of 
the Cape Cod Compact, November, 1620. He was 
at Plymouth, and afterward (1643) settled Dux- 
bury. He had a grant of one acre of land at Ply- 
mouth, which he sold to R. Hicks and Thomas 
Southworth. He was among those taxed in 1633. 
He was a representative in 1645, and some years 
later was among the proprietors of Bridgewater, 
Mass., as, in 1652, he had been among the purchas- 
ers of Dartmouth. Mr. Soule married Mary Becket, 
and their children were : (1) John. (2) George in- 
herited one half of his father's lands in Dartmouth. 
(3) Benjamin was killed by the Indians in the 



GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



165 



spring of 1675. (4) Zachariah lived at Powder 
Point and died in 1663. (5) Nathaniel inherited 
land in Dartmouth. (6) Elizabeth married Francis 
Walker, of Middleboro, Mass. (7) Susannah. (8) 
Mary married John Patterson. 

George Soule, the pilgrim, was one of the peti- 
tioners for a church in Duxbury. He died in 1680, 
very old, and his wife passed away in 1677. There 
followed the name in New England a long line of 
sea captains — men always to the front in maritime 
affairs. 

William Soule passed his early years in a typi- 
cal New England home. Taught habits of industry 
and frugality by his father, who at one time con- 
ducted a large boot and shoe factory, his Christian 
mother instilled in his mind those stern principles of 
morality that characterized the early Puritans. His 
nature was gentle, and his disposition studious. His 
preparatory studies were pursued in Woodstock 
Academy, and he became proficient in the ordinary 
literary branches taught in the schools of the day, 
and early engaged in teaching. Determining to en- 
ter the professional world, he began the study of 
medicine, and graduated from Yale in 1851. After 
receiving his degree in medicine he first located for 
practice at Pascoag, R. I., and then went to Hamp- 
ton, Conn. On October, 1854, he located at Jewett 
City, where he made his home until his death. For 
many years he conducted a drug store in connection 
with his practice. When the Civil war broke out he 
was appointed assistant surgeon, with rank of cap- 
tain, of the 1st Connecticut Heavy Artillery, and at 
the end of a year he was promoted to the position of 
surgeon of the 21st Conn. V. I., and with the latter 
regiment was present at the battle of Fredericks- 
burg. 

Dr. Soule was twice married. His first wife, 
Harriet A. Hall, daughter of Jeremiah Hall, of 
Chaplin, died in 1857. Three children of that union 
survive : Mary, teacher in the Jewett City schools ; 
George, a physician at Wickford, R. I. ; and Delia, 
wife of George Robinson, of Willimantic. For 
his second wife Dr. Soule married Martha P. Chap- 
man, of Voluntown, who bore him two children : 
Carrie, who married E. D. Cady, of Oxford, Mass. ; 
and William O., at home. The family home was 
erected by Dr. Soule in 1857. In his political faith 
the Doctor was a Republican, and in his busy life al- 
ways found time to keep abreast of the times. For 
twelve years he was a member of the board of edu- 
cation, and for twenty-five years justice of the peace, 
during twenty of which he was principal trial justice 
of the town. His religious connection was with 
the Congregational Church, of which for several 
years he was senior deacon, and for twenty-five years 
superintendent of the Sunday-school. Fraternally 
he affiliated with the K. P., holding membership in 
Undaunted Lodge, in which he passed all the chairs, 
and he belonged to the Grand Lodge of Connecticut, 
and was Supreme Representative of the Grand 
Lodge of the World for four vears. The Doctor's 



mind was well stored, and he possessed the gift of 
easy, fluent speaking, never being at a loss for some- 
thing to say. He was a prominent figure at public 
meetings, and his genial presence has been greatly 
missed. In his death